(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Piatt County; together with a brief history of Illinois from the discovery of the upper Mississippi to the present time"

LI E> R.AR.Y 

OF THE 

UN IVERSITY 
OF ILLINOIS 



?57 

coo. 



ILUKOtS HISTORICAL SURVP,' 



HORARY 
THE 

; / OF ILLINOIS 












HISTORY 



OF 



PIATT COUNTY 



TOGETHER WITH A 



FROM THE 



DISCOVERY OF THE UPPER MISSISSIPPI TO THE PRESENT TIME. 



BY 

EMMA C. PIATT. 



"Go, little booke, God send thee good passage, 
And specially let this be thy prayre, 
Unto them all that thee will read or hear, 
Where thou art wrong, after their help to call, 
Thee to correct in any part or all." 

Chaucer. 



WITH MAP AND ILLUSTRATIONS. 



DEDICATION. 



TO MY FATHER TO MY MOTHER, 

AS A TRIBUTE TO THE FORTITUDE WITH WHICH THEY ENDURED THE 

TRIALS OF PIONEER LIFE, 

AND BECAUSE OF MY LOVE FOR THEM, DO I AFFECTIONATELY 
DEDICATE THIS BOOK. 

EMMA C. PIATT. 






WK do not present this book to tlie public as a model literary 
effort, but expect it to be classed with county histories only. 
Neither do we claim it to be a complete history, since no complete 
history was ever written. But we do claim it to be a record of 
the most important items that could be collected by one person in 
over two years of unceasing labor. The object of the book is to 
preserve certain valuable items relative to the county's past and 
present, which, but for the preparation of such a book, could not 
have been collected. With the failing memories of the citizens, 
and the passing away of many of the pioneers, the opportunity for 
obtaining such items would soon have been lost. 

The writer has spared neither time, trouble nor expense, and in 
addition to riding 172 miles by rail within the limits of the county, 
has traveled, by actual count, in a carriage, 883 miles, stopping 
for neither cold nor stormy weather. Doubtless some mistakes occur; 
but our best judgment has been used, and we have conscientiously 
striven to keep out as many errors as possible. Since not more 
than ten men out of every hundred interviewed could give the 
exact date of their marriage, it will not be strange if some of the 
dates are wrong. A number of men could not give the number of 
their children without stopping to count them up. Several would 
have left out one. of their children's names had not the child 
appeared during the interview. One man averred he had ten 
children, but upon counting them over time and again, said, "I 
guess there are only nine, but I thought there were ten !" Upon 
asking one man if any of his children were in the army, he said, 
"Yes, a boy and, a girl," which statement he afterward contra- 
dicted. Frequently people are unable to give the names of their 



PKEFAOE. 



married sisters, their grandchildren, and, in some cases, their own 
children, even. One or two men actually had to study awhile 
before they could give the names of their own wives. After such 
answers having been given relating to personal items supposed to 
be well established in each person's mind, if mistakes occur in this 
book, they will be the more readily excused, or at least the people 
will know some of the disadvantages we have labored under in 
obtaining facts. 

There are some worthy and important persons in the county 
whom we failed to see, which fact is regretted, but it would take 
many more than one trip over the county ere all of theflT'over 
fifteen thousand of the county's inhabitants could be found at home, 
or at leisure sufficient to be interviewed. Although we advertised 
in the county papers for personal matter, many that we wished to 
hear from did not reply. Although over one hundred pages have 
been added that were not promised to our patrons, still we were 
obliged to cut out some of the personal items. We have endeav- 
ored, however, to leave out the sketch of no person who encouraged 
us to go on with the publishing by agreeing to take one of the 
books. 

In our travels among the old settlers we heard a great deal 
about the hospitality of the old times, and we want to take this 
opportunity to assure the public that the county still retains a great 
deal of that estimable virtue. In the majority of cases we were 
greeted cordially by the people, and many times were we enter- 
tained cheerfully in the homes in the county. 

We wish to extend thanks to the people who have encouraged 
and befriended us in any way in the preparation of this work. 
Especially do we thank the old settlers who took the pains to 
recite their deeds of years ago. We also acknowledge the assist- 
ance of Mrs. N. D. Scovell in the preparation of the article on 
geology, and we are grateful for the assistance rendered by Miss 
Nettie Adams in the arrangement of some of the final notes for 
the book. 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



RESIDENCE OF JAMES A. PIATT, 

(Frontispiece) 

COUNTY COURT HOUSE, .... 23 

COUNTY JAIL, 57 

MAP OF PIATT COUNTY, . . . . 105 

COUNTY POOR HOUSE, .... 137 

RESIDENCE OF EZRA MARQUISS, . 171 

PORTRA'IT OF JAMES A. PIATT, Sr., . 205 

PORTRAIT OF MRS. JAMES A. PIATT, 239 

RESIDENCE OF F. E. BRYANT, . . 273 

RESIDENCE OF JOHN DICKSON, . . 307 



PORTRAIT OF WM. H. PIATT, . . 341 

PORTRAIT OF MRS. WM. H. PIATT, . 375 

RESIDENCE OF RICHARD MONROE, . 409 

RESIDENCE OF WM. H. PIATT, . . 443 

PORTRAIT OF F. E. BRYANT, . . 477 
RESIDENCE OF MICHAEL HARSII- 

BARGER, 511 

PORTRAIT OF EZRA MARQUISS, . . 545 

PORTRAIT OF J. O. SPARKS, . . . 579 
RESIDENCE OWNED BY SAM'LALLER- 

TON, 613 



A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 



CHAPTER L 

TOPOGRAPHY OF ILLINOIS. 

TLLINOIS, in common with several other states, has the proud dis- 
-*- tinction of lying within the Mississippi valley. This fact alone 
places it on an equality with some of the most magnificent states in the 
Union. 

In area, Illinois contains about 55,531 square miles of territory. 
The greatest length from north to south is near 380 miles. The ex- 
treme breadth is a little over 200 miles. It lies between 37 3' and 
42 30' north latitude. Extending thus through a range of over five 
degrees of latitude, its climate is quite varied, permitting the growth 
of semi-tropical plants as well as those which are common to the north 
temperate zone. An excellent system of drainage is furnished by the 
2,000 miles of navigable rivers which bound, or take their course 
through, portions of the state. 

v Illinois is bounded on the north by Wisconsin. The waters of 
Lake Michigan, the only one of the great lakes wholly within the 
United States, form a northeastern boundary line of about sixty miles 
in length. Indiana and the Wabash river form the eastern boundary 
line, while the Ohio river, on the southeast and south, separates the 
State from Kentucky. Illinois is separated from Iowa and Missouri by 
the Mississippi river, which forms a boundary line about five hundred 
miles long. 

The general surface of the country is level or slightly rolling. 
Near the large streams, especially in the southern part of the state, 
quite good-sized hills are found. The highest lands, however, are " The 
Mounds," in the northwestern part of the state. From these mounds, 
which have an altitude of over 1,000 feet above the level of the sea, to 
the southern part of the state, there is a gradual slope of the land 
toward the southwest. This slope of the country causes the general 
course of the streams to be toward the Mississippi river. 

The Desplaines river, rising in the southeastern part of Wisconsin, 
and the Kankakee river, which rises in northern Indiana, unite in 



10 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

Grundy county, Illinois, to form the Illinois river the largest in the 
state. The Illinois flows almost directly west across La Salle county, 
until, in Putnam county, it makes a bend, and from thence on to its 
mouth, about twenty miles above the mouth of the Missouri, the gen- 
eral course is southwest. This river is near five hundred miles long, 
and is navigable by steamers to La Salle. The Illinois and Michigan 
canal, .extending from this plftce to Chicago, opens communication by 
water between the Mississippi river and the Great Lakes. The Rock 
river in the northern and the Kaskaskia in the southern part are the 
other principal tributaries of the Mississippi within the state. The 
Wabash receives the waters of the Embarras, Little Wabash, and 
Saline Creek, which are the principal streams in southeastern Illinois. 
Besides the streams mentioned there are many of smaller size, the ma- 
jority of which flow toward the Mississippi. This state is somewhat 
remarkable for the small number of lakes and ponds within its 
boundaries. 

Although Illinois is known as the " Prairie State," still it contains 
a great amount of timber, which is found along all the water-courses. 
It is a noticeable fact that the amount of timber is constantly on the 
increase. The prairies, which were once covered with tall grass and 
flowers, are now dotted here and there with groves of trees, and the 
cereals have taken the place of the grasses. 

The material resources of Illinois are many. Its minerals are a 
constant source of wealth. Zinc, copper, fire-clay, and many varieties 
of building stone are found. The Galena lead mines alone would 
make the state famous, while the coal mines seem exhaustless. 

But the agricultural products go beyond all these. It has been 
said that " perhaps no other country of the same extent on the face of 
the globe can boast a soil so ubiquitous and its distribution so univer- 
sally productive." Illinois " is a garden four hundred miles long, and 
one hundred and fifty miles wide." Portions of the state have been 
under constant cultivation since the beginning of the French occupa- 
tion at Kaskaskia, over oue hundred and fifty years 



CHAPTER IL 

ORIGIN OF THE PRAIRIES. 

TLLINOIS has long been known as the " Prairie State." By this 
J- appellative her fame has been carried from country to country all 
around the world. Nor has this state been made unjustly famous. 
The prairies are her pride, and well they may be, for it is owing to 
their extent and fertility that Illinois has made such rapid advances in 
civilization. At first their great beauty was their chief attraction. 
All early writers on the subject, as well as the early settlers of the 
state, agree in the statement that the vegetable growth on the prairies 
was, in their time, more profuse than now. The grass grew very high, 
and when it waved to a summer's breeze it seemed to the pioneer that 
a sea of great extent stretched out before his vision. A feeling of awe 
came over him, that feeling which always comes upon beholding 
Nature's great handiwork. Marquette, in his account of his first voyage 
on the Illinois river, over two hundred years ago, made special men- 
tion of the beauty and fertility of the prairies. 

After their beauty and grandeur, the prairies' next attraction was 
their utility. Gov. Reynolds said of them : " It is one of the great 
elements in the rapid growth of Illinois that such large and fertile 
prairies exist in the state. Nature has made the prairies the finest and 
most fertile fields in the Union, and has prepared them for, cultivation." 
The experience of persons who have lived since Gov. Reynolds' time 
proves that his statement is still a truthful one. 

One cannot look upon the broad and beautiful prairies without a 
feeling of wonder as to their origin, which has been a subject of thought 
for years, and of which there can yet be only conjecture. 

In dealing with this subject we can but give the opinion of persons 
who have given it their long and thoughtful attention. Judge Caton, 
of Ottawa, Illinois, and H. W. Beckwith, of Danville, Illinois, have 
both written very instructive and interesting articles on the subject. 
The unwritten opinions of many of the early settlers of the state should 
not be disregarded, for such men, although in many cases having but 
little scientific knowledge of geology and botany, are remarkable for 
their deep insight into the visible workings of nature. 

The various prairies in different parts of the earth have originated, 
most likely, through various causes. It would, then, be wrong to 

attribute the origin of all to the supposed causes which led to the 

11 



12 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

origin of some special prairie. Illinois prairies, it may be, had an origin 
entirely different from that of the prairies in the western part of the 
United States. 

One of the first theories, and one that is still held by many, is that 
our prairies here were produced by fire. It is certain that at an early 
day great fires swept over this state. Ofttimes, within the remem- 
brance of some of the early settlers here, portions of forests have been 
entirely burnt down. In course of time these settlers have seen the 
prairie grass take complete possession of the ground where great trees 
had stood. 

Gov. Reynolds said : " Many learned essays are written on the ori- 
gin of the prairies, but any attentive observer will come to the conclu- 
sion that it is fire burning the strong, high grass that caused the 
prairies." He further said, in speaking of the forests of southern Illi- 
nois: "I have witnessed the growth of the forests in the southern 
counties, and know there is more timber in them now than there was 
forty or fifty years be'fore. The obvious reason is that the fire is kept 
out. This is likewise the reason the prairies are generally the most 
fertile soil. The vegetation in them was the strongest, and the fires 
there burnt with the most power." "It will be seen that the timber 
in the north part of the state is found only on the margins of streams 
and other places where the prairie fires could not reach it." 

A later opinion, and one that is held by some of the best geologists 
in the United States, is that the prairies were formed by water rather 
than by fire. Judge Oaton says : " That the prairies, that is, the land 
itself, have been formed under water, except the very limited portion 
of the surface which has been added from decomposed animal and veg- 
etable matter since their emergence, will not be questioned by anyone 
of the least observation ; but that is not the main question involved in 
the present inquiry. Why are they not covered with forests?" 

Judge Caton agrees, in general, with Prof. Lesquereaux, who pre- 
pared a paper for the Geological Survey of Illinois, and thinks that 
the prairies were formed under water. He, however, disagrees with 
the Professor in the particular process of formation under water; and 
the fact that the elements of the soil of the prairies are such that are 
not conducive to forest growth. The Judge further says: "I en- 
tirely concur in the popular opinion that among the most important 
of the causes which have produced this interesting result is fire, while 
the exhaustion and replenishing the soil with their particular elements 
have, no doubt, had their influence." " The hard, impenetrable char- 
acter of the sward, formed by most of the herbaceous vegetation of the 
prairies, forms a serious impediment to the germination of seeds of 



ORIGIN OF THE PRAIRIES. 13 

trees, when, by accident, they fall upon it. It is not the composition 
of the soil that prevents the germination of this class of seeds, but 
whatever difficulty is experienced in this regard arises from the me- 
chanical cause above suggested." " The cause of the absence of trees 
on the upland prairies is the problem most important to the agricult- 
ural interests of our state, and it is the inquiry which alone I propose 
to consider, but I cannot resist the remark that wherever we do find 
timber throughout this broad field of prairie it is always in or near 
the humid portions of it, as along the margins of streams, or upon 
or near the springy uplands." "If the head-waters of streams on the 
prairies are most frequently without timber, so soon as they have at- 
tained sufficient volume to impede the progress of the fires, with very 
few exceptions, we find forests on their borders becoming broader and 
more vigorous as the magnitude of the streams increases." " Another 
fact, always a subject of remark among the dwellers on the prairie, I 
regard as conclusive evidence that the prairie soils are peculiarly 
adapted to the growth of trees is, that wherever the fires have been 
kept from the groves by the settlers, they have encroached upon the 
prairies, unless closely depastured by the farmer's stock or prevented 
by cultivation. This fact 1 regard as established by careful observa- 
tion of more than thirty years, during which time I have been an in- 
terested witness of the settlement of this country, from a time when 
a few log cabins, many miles apart, built in the borders of the groves, 
alone were met with, till now nearly the whole of the great prairies, in 
our state at least, are brought under cultivation by the industry of the 
husbandmen. Indeed, this is a fact as well recognized by settlers as 
that corn will grow upon the prairies when properly cultivated. Ten 
years ago I heard the observation made, by intelligent and observing 
men, that within the preceding twenty-five years the area of the tim- 
ber in the prairie portions of the state had actually doubled by the 
spontaneous extension of natural groves. However this may be, cer- 
tain it is that the encroachments of the timber upon the prairie have 
been universal and rapid, whenever not impeded by fire or other phys- 
ical causes, without regard to the constituents of the soil." 

Hon. J. D. Caton's article on the origin of the prairies delivered 
before the Chicago Historical Society, is so to the point that we have 
quoted quite extensively from it. 

Mr. H. W. Beckwith says, in the conclusion of his article on the 
subject in his " Historic Notes of the Northwest " : " The prairies of 
Illinois and Indiana were born of water and preserved by fire for the 
children of civilized men who have come to take possession of them." 



CHAPTER III 

THE MOUND BUILDERS. 

~TTT~HO were they? "What were they? Whence came they? "What 
VV became of them? These are questions which the civilized world 
has for nearly four centuries been trying to answer. Although some of 
the best minds of the world have been at work for years trying to 
solve the mystery connected with these people, still their conclusions 
are but conjectures. The astonishment of the Europeans when first 
they knew that the New World was peopled with a race different from 
any before known, was more than equaled by that produced when, 
many years later, it became known that a race was here long previous 
to Indian habitation. Antiquarians say, now, that the Europeans are 
the fourth race to people America. 

Evidence in regard to the early races was not obtained from the 
Indians. Their earliest traditions told nothing of the builders of the 
wonderful and magnificent cities, the remains of which are found in 
various parts of Mexico and Central America. Neither could any- 
thing be obtained from them in regard to the earthworks of the United 
States, which are so numerous in places, and are scattered all the way 
from the southern shore of Lake Ontario southwesterly to Mexico. 
The original inhabitants of this great country passed out of existence 
leaving almost nothing for the later inhabitants to know of them save 
what is inherent in the grand and ofttimes magnificent ruins scattered 
from the Great Lakes to the Andean Plateau. 

The inhabitants of Mexico and Peru at the time of the Spanish 
conquest had some traditions relating to their predecessors, but all 
were of so conflicting a nature that but very little could be obtained 
from them. Aztec traditions indicate that Mexico was once occupied 
by a savage people, supposed to be the first owners of the land. These 
savages were displaced by a more civilized race which came in ships. 
This people was, in turn, conquered by another civilized people, who 
united with the former inhabitants. Allowing that there may be 
truth in these traditions, it has been suggested that the original mound- 
builders were a branch or colony of the second of the races which emi- 
grated to Mexico, and that they finally were attracted to the warmer 
climates, where they conquered and united with the people already 
there. These three peoples probably furnished the curious and mag- 
nificent structures the ruins of which have been objects of wonder- 
ment for so many modern minds. 

14 



THE MOUND BUILDERS. 15 

The great number and magnitude of the ruins in Mexico, Central 
America, and South America, show that these countries were once 
quite densely populated. The time of the building and occupation of 
the cities now in such utter ruin and desolation is almost beyond con- 
jecture. From the present crumbling condition of the once massive 
stone structures, it would seem that, in point of tune, they long ante- 
date the Egyptian and other noted ruins of the Old World. Judging 
from their art displayed in various utensils, and in the" construction of 
the magnificent edifices, the inhabitants of ancient Mexico and Central 
America were much more civilized than those of the United States. 

The great number and rnassiveness of the earthworks found in the 
United States are no less a matter of speculation than are the. more 
artistic ruins found farther south. These earthworks are of divers 
shapes, and were evidently designed for various purposes. Some of 
them are ruins of forts ; of these some are rectangular, others are 
square; some are protected by outer embankments, while almost all 
are surrounded by ditches. Ohio, probably, contains the greater num- 
ber and the most interesting forts. On the banks of the Saline river, 
in Illinois, there was found the remains of a stone fort having walls 
four or five feet high. The remains of a walled town was found on 
Paint creek in Ohio. 

Mounds of various sizes have been found in many of the states. 
In many instances these mounds seem to have been originally intended 
for burial-places. In general, these earthen tombs were for single fami- 
lies or persons, the size of the mound indicating the rank held by the 
persons while living. The Indians used some of these mounds for burial- 
places, which accounts for the many skeletons sometimes found in 
them, Illinois has the honor of containing the largest mound in the 
United States. It is called the Caho*kia Mound, and is about six miles 
northeast of St. Louis. This mound was, ere modern improvement 
marred its shape and diminished its size, in the shape of a parallelo- 
gram, having sides seven hundred and five hundred feet respectively 
in length. Its height was ninety feet. A large terrace on the south- 
west was reached by a winding road. The summit was truncated, and 
in the middle of the large platform thus formed was a conical mound 
about ten feet high. This mound contained human bones, as well as 
the remains of various articles and utensils. The most probable sup- 
position is that a temple of wood, or other perishable material, origi- 
nally stood on this mound. Here high priests performed religious rites, 
which were witnessed by multitudes of people from below.* 

Illinois contains a great number of smaller mounds. These are 

* Foster's " Prehistoric Races." 



16 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

often arranged in groups. Mr. Foster, in his " Prehistoric Races," 
mentions a group of fifty-nine mounds found on the banks of the 
Merom river. Some of the earthworks assume the shape of gigantic 
animals. Adams county, Ohio, contains a mound in the shape of a 
monstrous serpent one thousand feet in length. Northern Illinois and 
Wisconsin contain the majority of these animal mounds. 

It is supposed that the mound-builders were sun-worshipers. This 
conclusion was deduced from various facts. The finding of mounds, 
such as that at Cahokia, which were evidently used as the bases for 
temples ; the placing of the dead with their heads toward the east, 
the openings of tombs and forts being toward the east, and finally the 
finding of rude carvings, representing the sun, all lead to the conclu- 
sion that the mound-builders were sun-worshipers. 

What remains that have been found of this curious people show 
that in civilization they were far in advance of the Indians. They 
mined and quarried stone; they were acquainted with the curative 
properties of salt ; they had a national religion, and they built a great 
line of defense for protection from their enemies. The great size and 
number of their works showed that the government must have been 
such that the many were ruled absolutely by the few. No similarity 
can be found between this government and that of the Indians. 
There is certainly a similarity between the works of the mound-build- 
ers and those of the ancient inhabitants of Mexico. It is Dr. Foster's 
opinion that the mound-builders were expelled from the Mississippi 
valley by a barbarous race, and that refuge was taken in and about 
Central America, where their civilization became more complete. 
They thus left behind them the magnificent edifices the ruins of 
which have elicited the admiration of so many. 

Quite an excellent proof of the antiquity of the mound-builders 
was evinced when a comparison was made between the bodies found 
in the earthworks and some of those found in the Old World having 
a known time of burial. Considering the unfavorable conditions for 
preservation of the latter as compared with the favorable conditions of 
the former, the condition of the bodies when found in works of 
the mound-builders show a much longer interment. The conclusion 
is arrived at that the mound-builders were here at least two thousand 
years ago. 

Now, when these massive stone and earthen works have silently 
and majestically borne down to us, through the long vistas of centu- 
ries, the undeniable fact that this was, in reality, a sister land to that of 
the most ancient Romans, Greeks and Egyptians, we pause in awful 
wonderment. It is with a feeling akin to reverence that we think of 

~ 

the beings who were here such ages and ages ago. 



CHAPTER IV. 

THE FRENCH IN ILLINOIS. 

IN 1534, seven years before De Soto discovered the Mississippi river, 
Jacques Cartier, a French explorer, discovered the gulf and river 
St. Lawrence. The name was given to the gulf the next year, at the 
close of Cartier's second voyage. Cartier's discoveries were soon made 
known, and France immediately attempted to execute a plan for the 
colonization of New France, as Canada was first called. Various 
attempts were made, but all proved failures. For a time, while 
France was employed with domestic troubles, no attempts at coloniza- 
tion were made. It was not, therefore, until 1608, when France had 
peace at home, that the first permanent settlement was made in Can- 
ada. In this year Quebec was founded by Samuel Champlain. In 
writing of Champlain, Mr. Ridpath says that to him " more than to 
any other man, more than to the French government itself, the 
success of the North American colonies of France must be attributed." 

Champlain, upon his return in 1615 from a visit tp France, brought 
with him some Recollet monks, who came actuated solely by religious 
motives. After establishing many missions, they found their field of 
labor too great for so few laborers, and the Jesuits of France were 
appealed to. They came, actuated by the same religious zeal that the 
Recollet monks possessed. Illinois, and in fact all the great North- 
west, owes not a little to the pure lives and deep religious bearing of 
the French missionaries. 

Nicholas Perrot was the first European to tread the soil of Illinois. 
Over two hundred years ago, in 1670,* he was sent as an agent of the 
Canadian government to call a meeting of the western Indians at St. 
Mary's. This peace convention was a movement preparatory to what 
finally led to the discovery of the Mississippi river. Perrot, after 
visiting other tribes in the Northwest, proceeded to the village of the 
Miamas, at what is now Chicago. Illinois did well to rear her great- 
est city where her earliest European visitor placed first his foot upon 
her yielding soil. 

In 1672* two Jesuit ministers, Allouez and Dablon, starting from 
their mission on Green Bay, passed through the northern part of Illi- 
nois to visit the Fox, Masquotine and Kickapoo Indians. 

Not yet was the idea of the western passage to the Pacific given up. 

* Bancroft. 
17 



18 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

M. Talon, the intendant of Canada, selected Louis Joliet and Jacques 
Marquette to assist in unvailing the great mystery. Before definite 
arrangements for the expedition were made, the intendant and gov- 
ernor were succeeded by other men. The new governor, Count Fron- 
tenac, upon the recommendation of Talon, placed Joliet and Marquette 
in charge of the western expedition. 

Joliet was a native of Quebec, and was born in 1645. He was 
energetic, had a good education, and was well qualified for the task 
before him. He had been educated for a priest, but he found his life- 
work in another direction. For some time previous to his appoint- 
ment with Marquette he had been a trader among the Indians. After 
his voyage with Marquette he did further service for the king. As a 
reward for all of his services he received the island of Anticosti. He, 
after this, caused his name to be written Joliet d'Anticosty. Some of 
his descendants are still living in Canada, and are yet in possession of 
his seigniory.* 

Marquette was the greater man of the two. He was born at Laon, 
France, in 1637. He united with the Jesuits at an early age, and in 
1666 was sent to America. On account of his wonderful determina- 
tion and integrity, his kindness and his deep religious feeling, he 
became the mosfbeloved and most successful of all the Indian mission- 
aries. 

Joliet joined Marquette at Mackinaw. Marquette said in speaking 
of their appointment, " Onr joy at being chosen for this expedition 
roused our courage and sweetened the labor of rowing from morning 
to night." From Mackinaw Strait, in company witli several other 
Frenchmen, these men started May 17, 1673, on their renowned ex- 
pedition. Green Bay was reached, and on the Fox river an It\dian 
village was found. After stating their mission to the wondering Al- 
gonquins, and after obtaining two Indian guides, the voyagers pro- 
ceeded up the Fox river and across the Portage, when the Wisconsin 
river was reached. The guides returned leaving the Frenchmen 
" alone in an unknown country in the hands of Providence." 
"France and Christianity stood in the valley of the Mississippi. "f 
Passing down the Wisconsin river, in all its early June beauty, the 
voyagers reached the Great River on the 17th of June 1673. With 
untold joy they looked upon the mighty water. With thrilling 
hearts they eagerly entered the swift current and "the two birch-bark 
canoes, raising their happy sails under new skies and to unknown 
breezes, floated down the calm magnificence o f the ocean stream." f 

* o 

*H. W. Beckwith's "Historic Notes of the Northwest." 
f Bancroft. 



THE FRENCH IN ILLINOIS. 19 

About sixty leagues below the mouth of the Wisconsin a little foot- 
path was seen leading westward from the river. Joliet and Mar- 
quette, the first white men in Iowa, went alone in search of the In- 
dians. After going six or eight miles they found, on the banks of the 
Des Moines river, some Illinois Indians, who received them kindly. 
An aged chief addressed them thus : " How beautiful is the sun, O 
Frenchmen, when thou comest to visit us! All our town awaits thee, 
and thou shalt enter all our cabins in peace." After six days' delay 
Marquette and Joliet, escorted by many of the savages, returned to 
their canoes. As the voyagers journeyed on down the river each day's 
travel brought new beauties to their view, and ere long the mouth ot 
the Illinois river was reached. The muddy waters of tke Missouri 
soon furnished to them a new object of wonderment. After passing 
the rnouth of the Ohio, and upon neariug the mouth of the Arkansas, 
they were convinced that the waters of the Mississippi did not reach 
the Pacific ocean. They therefore decided to return. 

Indians had been encountered at various places during the down- 
ward voyage. The return voyage was begun in the heat of July. 
Upon reaching the mouth of the Illinois river the Indians persuaded 
the travelers to follow up that river, thus finding an easier trip to 
Green Bay. While moving rapidly against the gentle current of the 
Illinois river, Marquette, though suffering from an illness contracted 
in the south, found ready enjoyment in the magnificent scenery which 
was continually being presented to their view. The blossoming 
flowers, the bounding deer, the roaming buffalo, all added to the in- 
terest of the scene before them. As they passed up the river, almost 
reluctantly their lingering eyes left the beauties in their rear, yet 
with eagerness they anticipated what was before them. 

Upon arriving at Kaskaskia, a town of the Illinois Indians on the 
present site of the town of Utica in La Salle county, they procured 
guides and the party soon reached Chicago. From thence they jour- 
neyed on to Green Bay. Upon i caching this place Marquette decided 
to remain at his mission while Joliet went with accounts of their dis- 
coveries to Quebec. 

After nearly a year spent in trying to regain his health, Marquette 
started on what proved to be his last missionary expedition. In Oc- 
tober, 1674, he started, with two Frenchmen and some Indians, to 
Kaskaskia, where he proposed to found a mission. His malady re- 
turned upon his reaching Chicago, and the winter was spent in a hut 
on the banks of the river. The following March he continued his 
journej 7 to Kaskaskia, and the first Jesuit mission was founded in Illi- 
nois. The Indians took regretful leave of the good man when he 



20 _ A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

started for Mackinaw, which he hoped to reach ere his death. 
But it was not thus to be. On the 19th of May he was obliged to 
pause in his journey. His companions built a hut for him on the 
banks of the st'Nsam which bears his name. Here, in America's great 
wilderness, where he had ever loved to tell of his unshaken faith, Mar- 
quette's spirit passed upward to his Maker. 

After Champlain, Robert Cavalier de La Salle was the next great 
French explorer to leave the " vine-clad hills of sunny France " and 
brave the trials and misfortunes in the New World. Robert de La Salle 
was the son of a wealthy burgher in Rouen, and was born in 1643. 
He was deprived of his patrimony by his early connections with the 
Jesuits. Finding his sphere somewhat limited, he made an honorable 
withdrawal from the Jesuits and followed his brother, a St. Sulpitian 
priest, to America. While preparing for the settlement of the grant 
of land which was presented to him, he became acquainted with nine 
different Indian languages and dialects. 

Upon hearing of the Ohio river from Seneca Indians, La Salle re- 
solved to attempt to discover the Western Passage to Asia. Although 
he failed to obtain help from the government, he was not to be baffled 
in his desire. He sold his grant of land and thus prepared for his 
expedition. A missionary expedition, which the Seminary was pre- 
paring for the northwest, was merged into La Salle's expedition, and 
in July, 1669, the explorers began their journey. The missionary part 
of this expedition proved a failure. La Salle, however, amid perplexing 
trials, won for himself an everlasting crown of glory, won the honor 
of discovering the Ohio river. 

After returning to France, La Salle came back to America with 
renewed energy and additional means for carrying on his pet project. 
In 1679 a vessel, the Griffin, was constructed on the Niagara river, 
and was destined for an expedition on the Great Lakes. La Salle, in 
company with Tonti, Hennepin and others, embarked in the vessel in 
August 1679. Green Bay was reached, and the fated Griffin was sent 
toward Canada, while La Salle with his remaining men started in 
canoes to the St. Joseph river. Upon the completion of Fort Miama, 
on the St. Joseph river, La Salle continued his journey, and sought to 
find the Illinois river. Before the end of December, La Salle, Tonti 
and Hennepin, with two other men, glided joyfully down the Illinois 
river and soon reached the Indian village of Kaskaskia. The six hun- 
dred cabins were deserted, and La Salle, after helping himself to some 
stored corn, passed on down the river. They soon entered Lake 
Peoria, and at its lower extremity the friendly Illinois Indians were 
found. 



THE FRENCH IN ILLINOIS. 21 

Notwithstanding the friendship of the Indians dark days were 
ahead for La Salle. He already feared the loss of the Griffin, and, too, 
his men became discontented. When La Salle planned and began to 
build a fort on the banks of the Illinois river, below the Peoria lake, 
thwarted by destiny and almost despairing he named the fort "Creve- 
coeur," or the " Broken Heart." 

These trials afforded but another opportunity for La Salle to show 
forth his great determination and will power. His men were led to 
construct a bark on the Illinois river. Hennepin was sent on an expe- 
dition to the upper Mississippi ; Tonti was left in charge of Fort Creve- 
cceur, while La Salle, with but three companions, started on foot for 
Fort Frontenac, in Canada. On his way up the river La Salle visited 
the Illinois Indians, who had returned to Kaskaskia. While here he 
explored the elevation since known as Starved Rock. This rock is 
near one hundred and fifty feet in height, and is situated on the south 
bank of the Illinois river, about one and one half miles from the 
present town of Utica. La Salle, pleased with the rock, afterward 
sent word to Tonti to fortify it. After this short pause, La Salle con- 
tinued his journey toward Canada. He reached his destination safely 
after a long and perilous journey. 

Notwithstanding the loss of the Griffin, the receiving of a discour- 
aging letter from Tonti at Fort Creve-coeur, and the hearing of the 
destruction of Fort St. Joseph, still La Salle was not dismayed. He 
obtained necessary supplies, and with twenty-five men returned to Illi- 
nois. Upon reaching Kaskaskia they found it deserted. The houses were 
burned, and buz/ards feasted on the fetid remains of the slaughtered 
Indians. The dreaded Iriquois had evidently made their threatened 
invasion. After searching in vain for Tonti, La Salle went on down 
the river. The deserted and partially destroyed Fort Creve-coeur was 
found but no Tonti. La Salle sadly continued his course to the 
Mississippi river, when, in despair of finding the missing ones, he 
resolved to return to Fort Miama. 

Tonti, in the meantime, after the desertion of some of his men, 
had found refuge with the Indians at Kaskaskia. Here he remained 
until the arrival of the Iriquois. Previous to the open attack, Tonti 
had worked hard on both sides endeavoring to obtain peace. He had 
risked his life in vain, and finally, being distrusted by the Indians, he 
started with what remained of his company for Green Bay. 

La Salle next conceived and executed .the plan of getting the 
Illinois and Miama Indians to unite for defense against the Iriquois. 
He started again for Canada, and on his way met Tonti at Mackinaw. 

Upon reaching Canada another expedition was fitted out for the 



22 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

valley of the Mississippi. This party reached the Mississippi on the 
6th of February 1682. On the 6th of April the Great Gulf was be- 
fore them, and on the 9th of April, 1682, La Salle, in the name of 
Louis XIV of France, took possession of the Mississippi valley. The 
anticipated goal was reached, and the travelers made preparations for 
returning to Mackinaw. 

From Mackinaw La Salle expected to go to France, but hearing of 
the Indian troubles in Illinois he returned and built Fort St. Louis on 
Starved Rock. La Salle next went to Canada, leaving Tonti in charge 
of Fort St. Louis. From Canada he went to France to fit up an expe- 
dition via the Gulf of Mexico to the Mississippi valley. He succeeded 
in starting from France with four ships and two hundred and eighty 
men. Unfortunately the mouth of the Mississippi was passed, and the 
party landed at Matagorda bay. A fort was built here, and named St. 
Louis, in honor of the king. 

La Salle, failing to find either gold or the Mississippi river, started 
with twenty men overland toward Canada. His men were dissatisfied, 
and finally in one of their quarrels La Salle's nephew was killed. 
While seeking for his nephew La Salle was shot by one of his men. 
Such was the death of this bold adventurer. 

" For force of will and vast conceptions; for various knowledge and 
quick adoption of genius to untried circumstances; for a sublime mag- 
nanimity that resigned itself to the will of heaven, and yet triumphed 
over affliction by energy of purpose and unfaltering hopes, he had no 
superior among his countrymen." * 

De Soto discovered the lower Mississippi, and Joliet and Marquette 
discovered the upper part of the river; but to La Salle will be yielded 
the honor of starting colonization in the great central valley of the 
west. 

In the preparation of this article on the French explorations the 
following works have been consulted : Bancroft's " History of the 
United States," vol. iii; Ridpath's "History of the United States"; 
Davidson and Stuve's "History of Illinois"; H. W. Beckwith's "His- 
toric Notes of the Northwest"; Peck's "Annals of the West," and 
Parkman's " Northwest." 

* Bancroft. 



IARY 

THE 
RSSlV OF ILLINOIS 



CHAPTER V. 

INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 

"Alas ! for them their day is o'er, 
Their fires are out from hill to shore ; 
No more for them the wild deer bounds ; 
The plough is on their hunting grounds ; 
The pale man's axe rings through their woods ; 
The pale man's sail skims o'er their floods ; 

Their pleasant springs are dry; 
Their children look ! by power oppressed, 
Beyond the mountains of the west 

Their children go to die." 

CHAS. SPRAGUE. 

present Indians of the United States constitute, it is sup- 
J- posed, the third distinct race which has inhabited North America. 
Their origin is still but a matter of conjecture. The most common 
supposition, however, is that they sprang from some of the early peo- 
ples of Asia. According to Indian tradition they came from the 
northwest. Their "happy hunting grounds" were always toward the 
west. The Algonquin and Iroquois branches of the American Indians 
are the only ones which played a conspicuous part in Illinois history. 

The principal part of the Iroquois country was in what is now the 
State of New York. The five principal tribes of the Iroquois the 
Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, Cayugas and Senecas constituted the 
famous Five Nations of New York. It has been considered by some 
that these nations showed the Indian in his most favorable aspect 
that the Iroquois Indian was the bravest, most patriotic and most 
eloquent of all the Indians. A later opinion, however, is that the Algon- 
quins, from the same latitude, were fully their equals in courage, 
patriotism and eloquence. 

The territory of the Algonquin Indians completely surrounded that 
of the Iroquois, arid extended far to the north, south and west. The 
Algonquins were on the St. Lawrence at the time of the French dis- 
coveries there ; they were found as far south as South Carolina, and 
Marquette and La Salle found them in the Mississippi valley. The 
Algonquins embraced the Ottawas, Chippewas, Pottawatomies, Sacs 
3 



26 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

and Foxes, Kickapoos, Illinois, and several other tribes. The majority 
of the Indians who made Illinois their home belonged to the Illinois 
tribe. 

ILLINOIS INDIANS. 

The word Illinois is derived from Illini, an Indian term meaning 
"real or superior men." The French have left their impress upon our 
state by giving to its name a French termination. 

Originally the Illinois confederacy was composed of four tribes, 
the Kaskaskias, Cahokias, Tamaroas and Peorias. Not a great while 
previous to the appearance of the French in the west, a foreign tribe, 
the Michigamies, were taken into the confederacy. 

Previous to the discovery of the upper Mississippi by Marquette 
the Illinois Indians had been driven west of that river by the Iroquois. 
They afterward returned to their former home, and when Marquette 
and Joliet passed up the Illinois river they found some of their tribe 
near the present town of Utica, on the Illinois river. After the repul- 
sion of the Illinois tribe by the Iroquois the former Indians were in 
constant fear of renewed attacks ; and they had ground for fear, for in 
1680 the Iroquois again made their appearance. 

Consternation and fear were depicted in the countenance of "every 
inhabitant of the Kaskaskia village .when a Shawnee Indian, after 
starting for home, hurried back with the news of the invaders 1 arrival. 
With hurried preparations for war the Illinois crossed the river and 
barely reached the plain beyond when the Iroquois emerged in vast 
numbers from the woods of the Yermilion river. Some shots were 
discharged on both sides, but a partial treaty of peace was made and 
the Iroquois reserved their attack until later, when they plundered the 
village and pursued the Illinois down the river. Near the mouth of 
the Illinois river seven hundred women and children of the Tamaroas 
were taken prisoner. Throughout the entire attack the butcheries 
were fearful ; men, women and children were unmercifully slaughtered. 
After the appeasing of their fiendish thirst the Iroquois retired from 
their field of conquest and the remaining Illinois returned to their 
desolated homes. 

The Iroquois were great warriors, could not remain idle, pre- 
tended to subject all other nations to themselves, and never wanted a 
pretext for commencing hostilities. They, however, were not always 
successful in their campaign into the Illinois country, and into other 
parts of the west. According to tradition, four hundred Iroquois were 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 27 

defeated at the moutli of Des Moines river by three hundred Sioux. 
Again, on the banks of the Illinois river, some Illinois Indians, at the 
instigation of an Indian maiden,* returned after a partial defeat and 
completely routed the Iroquois. 

The founding at the Kaskaskia village of the earliest Jesuit mission 
in Illinois has already been alluded to. This mission, founded in 
1675, was removed by Father Gravier to Kaskaskia, in southwestern 
Illinois, some time previous to 1690. Kaskaskia, the oldest town in 
Illinois, was the last abiding place of the Illinois Indians within the 
limits of the state. 

Although the Illinois Indians were considered cowardly, treacher- 
ous and deceitful, yet the French never had any more faithful allies. 
Charlevoix, in the "History of New France," said of them: "If we 
except the Abenaqui tribes, they are the only tribe that never sought 
peace with their enemies to our prejudice." 

In 1684 there were twelve hundred Illinois warriors in their single 
village at La Salle's colony, at Fort St. Louis, on the Illinois river. 
These Indians assisted the French in many instances. They assisted 
in the Chickasaw war, and fought against the Katchez Indians in 1729. 
They became involved in Pontiac's great conspiracy, but they had 
seemingly lost much of their old thirst for warfare ; and as they did 
not show the zeal which Pontiac expected they would, he threatened 
them severely. In 1767,f when Pontiac lost his life in the Illinois 
country, the other nations that had answered to Pontiac's mighty word 
of command sought revenge upon the Illinois confederacy. During 
this persecution, shortly after the death of Pontiac, occurred the siege 
of Starved Rock. Tradition says that a war party of the Illinois 
sought refuge at the old Fcrt St. Louis, on Le Rocher, as the French 
called it. Their enemies besieged these warriors until, when near 
starving, they grew desperate. One dismal, stormy night they at- 
tempted to escape, but they were soon overpowered by their blood- 
thirsty enemies. It is said, however, that a few escaped down the 
river and joined the remaining Illinois Indians near Kaskaskia. Hence 
the name, Starved Rock, by which this rocky promontory is known at 
the present time. In 1794 the Illinois Indians were defeated in a war 
against the United States. A treaty of peace was made and an annuity 
was granted them. They made several moves after this, selling their 

* Watseka, the county seat of Iroquois county, perpetuates the name of this 
maiden. H. W. BECKWITH. 
f H. W. Beckwith. 



28 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

land as they left. According to a letter of Gen. Harrison's, written 
in 1814, the Illinois confederacy was reduced, in 1800, to but thirty 
warriors, while in 1745 their warriors numbered four thousand. By 
various treaties their lands were ceded to the United States. They 
were moved west of the Missouri, and in 1854 were in eastern Kansas. 
In 1867 they moved farther west. There remained, in 1872, but forty 
persons, men, women and children, of the once great and powerful 
Illinois confederacy. 

According to the accounts given by some of the early French mis- 
sionaries, the Illinois Indians originally possessed their full share, 
probably more than their full share, of Indian vices. Upon the arrival 
of the French missionaries they were warmly welcomed by the Illinois, 
and soon Christianity had "produced a change such as she alone can 
produce in morals and disposition." In the use of the bow and arrow 
they were more skillful than any of the surrounding tribes. They 
were tall and graceful, and were noted for being swift of foot. 

Previous to the coming of the Iroquois the Illinois Indians had lived 
on the banks of the Illinois river in primitive content'edness. Long 
"before Perrot reached Illinois these Indians had lived, fought, loved 
and worshiped in the beautiful valley of the river which bears their 
name. Their swift arrows pierced the hearts of scores of timid bound- 
ing deer. The buffalo, in all his mightiness, fell to the ground no less 
Surely than did the deer when the Illinois bow was raised. They 
hunted that they might live. They lived in great simplicity, but with 
a kindness to relatives and a royal hospitality to friends and strangers, 
that some of their pale-faced successors would do well to imitate. 
They fought in defense of kindred and homes, and for their dead. 
Cupid's arrow was no less potent then than now. Triumphantly the 
"persistent god" started the mystic dart that pierced with all surety 
the hearts of dusky youths and maidens. And here on this broad 
rolling prairie, or in the midst of the great forest, which Marquette 
said was the Indian's paradise, these Indians thought ever of the Great 
Spirit their God. 

SACS AND FOXES. 

These tribes originally lived on the banks of the St. Lawrence 
river; but hostile tribes drove them westward, and they fought their 
way separately to the vicinity of Green Bay. Here, for mutual pro- 
tection, these tribes made an alliance which has never been broken. 
The Jesuit Allouez found them near Green Bay as early as 1669 or 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 29 

1672. He was at first received by them with contempt, but with 
Jesuitic patience he labored and finally succeeded in gaming their 
confidence and friendship. AVhen Marquette, several years afterward, 
passed through this region he beheld with joy the cross which had been 
erected at Allouez's instigation. 

The combined tribes continued their warlike machinations when 
they moved to northern Illinois, and while residing there formed 
alliances with other nations, and for years harassed the Illinois 
Indians on their river and ultimately helped to drive this tribe south- 
ward. They warred frequently against the French, and aided the 
British against the Americans as late as 1812. They' made several 
cessions of land to the United States, and in 1830 that cession was 
made which led to the Black Hawk war. After this war these tribes 
went to their lands in Iowa. They were afterward removed to the 
Indian Territory. From the year 1825 to that of 1850 these tribes 
had suffered a decrease in numbers of some 3,000 souls. 

THE KICK A POOS. 

In 1672* Allouez found the Kickapoos on the Milwaukee river. 
In 1763 they were situated in tli3 country around the southwestern 
shore of Lake Michigan. They afterward moved farther south ; and 
still later, at the time of the first settlements in Piatt county they 
lived in the vicinity of the Sangamon river, and had a village on 
Kickapoo creek, at Elkhart Grove, and at several places in eastern 
Illinois. 

It is said that the Kickapoos were somewhat more civilized than 
the surrounding tribes ; but be that as it may, in warfare, at least, they 
were barbarous. They were very bitter in their hatred of the Illinois 
Indians, and for near a century did their share in helping to extermi- 
nate that powerful tribe. The Kickapoos reaped their coveted reward, 
for they afterward occupied a portion of the coveted Illinois hunting- 
grounds. They gained possession of this ground shortly after the 
war which followed Pontiac's death, and were not content to let the 
Illinois Indians alone after their retreat to the southern part of the 
state. The Kickapoos, in general, had a deep feeling of animosity 
toward the whites. They, in connection with several other tribes, did 
so much damage by murdering and stealing during the war of 1812 
that Gov. Edwards was necessitated to suppress them by military force. 

* Bancroft. 



30 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

After their submission annuities were granted them. Some emigrated 
to Mexico, where they still showed their hatred to the whites by mak- 
ing inroads over the border. 

THE POTTAWATOMIES. 

The French found this tribe lying just east of the southern part of 
Lake Michigan, and the Jesuits founded a mission among these Indians 
on the St. Joseph river. The Iroquois had been instrumental in driv- 
ing this tribe westward. A portion located as above mentioned, while 
some went farther north. 

These Indians were ferocious, and long had strong hatred toward 
the English and Americans. They were friendly toward the French 
and assisted them in some of their battles. In Pontiac's war they were 
strongly allied to him. They were merciless, and often disguised their 
evil intentions under the garb of friendship. By thus doing they 
massacred almost the entire garrison of a military post on the St. 
Joseph river. These Indians, in conjunction with parts of the Ottawa 
and Chippewa tribes, were very ferocious and vindictive in the wars 
which marked the advancement of the whites toward the west. In the 
destruction of life they were the most daring, cruel and fiendish. 
Pontiae did well when he gained them as co-workers in his great 
satanic scheme of cruelty and bloodshed. 

In 1812, under British influence, the Pottawatomies enacted at Fort 
Dearborn* one of the most merciless crimes that human beings have 
ever perpetrated. Fort Dearborn was built and garrisoned in 1804. 
The traders who came from time to time to this place managed to keep 
up a friendly feeling with the Indians. In 1812, during the English and 
American war, word was sent for the garrison at this fort to evacuate. 
Captain Heald, commander of the garrison, made known, in council 
with the Indians the intended evacuation. Signs of hostility were 
observed among the Indians, but all fears were mostly quieted upon 
the arrival of Captain Wells with some Miami Indians from Fort 
Wayne. Early on the morning of August 15 the fatal day -Mr. 
Kinzie, one of the principal traders at the post, received word from a 
friendly Indian that mischief was on foot. At nine o'clock the party, 
escorted by Captain Wells and 500 Pottawatomies, left the fort to the 
sound of martial music. Notwithstanding the Pottawatomies had 
pledged their honor to see the party safe to Fort Wayne, before they 
were beyond the present limits of Chicago these treacherous fiends 

* Xo\v Chicago. 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 31 

made a terrible attack upon the whites, sparing neither men, women nor 
children. The American troops fought bravely, and until over half 
were killed, before a surrender was made. The Indians soon had 
control of the wagons and baggage, and the helpless were massacred 
without mercy. The most tearful of all these dread deeds was that 
performed by a single young savage who climbed into a wagon and 
with his tomahawk dispatched twelve innocent children. Captain 
Wells, then a prisoner, upon witnessing this scene, exclaimed : "If 
this be your game, I can kill too," and he started toward the Potta- 
watomie camp. But he soon became a prisoner again, and although 
some friendly chiefs tried to save him, a Pottawatomie rode up in the 
rear and killed him by a single blow. This man's heart was cut to 
pieces and distributed among the Indians for a token of bravery. 
Wells street in Chicago perpetuates the name of this brave man. 
During all this terrible scene Mr. Kinzie's family were guarded by 
friendly Indians near the fort. The prisoners taken by the Indians 
were widely distributed to various tribes in Illinois and Wisconsin. 
The majority were ransomed at Detroit the next year, while some were 
detained a year longer. 

The Pottawatomies also took part in the outbreak against the Illinois 
Indians, and were benefited by the removal of the latter from their cher- 
ished land. They were finally removed from Illinois. They found 
their way to the Indian Territory, and in 1850 the Pottawatomies only 
numbered about 1500 persons. 

SHABBONA. 

Shabbona was a peace chief of the Pottawatomies, and was born 
near the Maumee river, in Ohio, in 1775.* His commanding physical 
structure, as well as the noble attributes of his mind, caused him to be 
respected by Indian as well as by white man. He was a companion of 
Tecumseh in the war of 1812, and was fighting by his side when the 
great brave fell, in 1813, at the battle of the Thames. Upon the death 
of his wife's father he became a chief of the Pottawatomies. After 
the war of 1812 he was always a friend of the Americans. The 
whites owe this Indian an everlasting debt of gratitude for the prompt 
action in favor of the whites taken by him during the Black Hawk 
trouble. Black Plawk endeavored to gain Shabbona's assistance in his 
war, telling him, as an argument, that if they united their tribes they 
would be in numbers as the trees of the forest. Shabbona replied, "Yes, 
* Lecture before the Chicago Historical Society, by Mr. Win. Hickling. 



32 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

and the army of the palefaces you will have to encounter will be as 
numerous as the leaves on those trees. " After finding that war must come 
Shabbona traveled, night and day that he might save the frontier white 
settlers. Had the white settlers of Indian Creek heeded Shabbona's 
' words of warning, that fearful massacre might have been averted. Many 
of the people of La Salle county owed the preservation of their lives to 
this old peace Indian. For the services rendered by Shabbona to the 
whites the government reserved a portion of land at Shabbona's Grove, 
in what is now De Kalb county, and presented him with a pension 
of $200. 

When his tribe moved to the Pottawatomie reservation, west of 
the Mississippi, Shabbona went also, but he, with his family, returned 
to his individual reservation. He again went west, but affer one of 
his sons was killed he returned to Illinois, in 1855. Supposing that 
Shabbona had deserted his reservation, some speculators sold his land 
during his absence. Upon his return Shabbona was hurt by this act, 
and sorrowfully said, "Shabbona has nothing now." The citizens of 
Ottawa raised by subscription a sufficient amount of money to pur- 
chase twenty acres of land in Grundy county, upon which Shabbona 
and his family lived until his death, in 1859. His wife, who weighed 
400 pounds, was drowned in Mazon creek, six years after her hus- 
band's death. 

Let those who would ruthlessly push the Indians to the very verge 
of our continent pause and remember Shabbona. His life shows what 
nobleness there can be in the Indian's character. He is a striking 
example of the people who hate their enemies and love their friends 
with all their soul. It may be said of him, however, that while his 
friendship was of the strongest, his hatred was not so bitter nor so 
lasting as that of some of his people. 

ILLINOIS IN PONTIAC'S CONSPIRACY. 

Pontiac was born in 1712. His native tribe has long been a mat- 
ter of controversy, as several tribes have claimed him. The most 
favorable opinion at present, however, is that he belongs to the Sac 
tribe. He closely resembled these Indians, and it was the first to 
answer his call against the whites. It is well known that he was a 
chief of the Ottawas, but that probably was because of their being 
greater warriors. 

Pontiac was first known as an ally of the French. After the fall of 
Quebec, in 1759, the long war between France and England was at an 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 33 

end, and Pontiac was too politic to adhere to the cause of the van- 
quished, so he made friends with the English upon their taking pos- 
session of the French posts. It was when Maj. Robert Rogers was. 
sent to take possession of the frontier French posts that the great 
Pontiac appeared first upon the scene. After passing Fort Niagara 
the major landed at the farthest point west the English troops had 
been. Soon after their landing Indians made their appearance, evi- 
dently to design the purpose of the whites. 'Twas then that Rogers 
first saw Pontiac, who addressed the whites in rather an arrogant style 
and seemed disposed to prevent their continuance to Detroit. But the 
next morning the sagacious, politic Pontiac reappeared, offered the 
peace pipe and designated his desire to live in peace with the English. 
The party proceeded, and, owing to Pontiac's influence among the 
hostile tribes, reached Detroit safely. The French commander w r as 
evidently incensed at the appearance of Rogers, but nevertheless the 
French garrison filed out of the fort, laid down their arms and gave 
place to the English. The Indians who witnessed the transfer could 
not understand how a few English could take the place of the French 
garrison. When all was explained to them their opinion of the English 
began to be exalted, but still they could not understand why the lives 
of the conquered French were not taken.' Pontiac expected all the 
deference from the English that the French had been wont to pay him, 
and the English not bestowing this deference, had not been long in 
the possession of the country ere an awful cloud began to hover in 
their horizon. The Indians, instigated somewhat by the French, be- 
gan to nourish a silent, fearful hate of the English. Pontiac's mind 
had not been inactive while these feelings were being aroused among 
the other Indians. He began to realize what English supremacy 
meant, and he resolved to resist with an awful strength their advance- 
ment, and if possible to "drive the red* dogs into the sea." 

By his own power, and with the assistance of the French, Pontiac 
became the leader of at least fifteen Indian nations. His messengers 
had been sent near and far until a mighty war cloud was close upon the 
unsuspecting English. 

Pontiac's plot was to attack all the English posts on the same day 
and, after gaining possession, to kill all the English men, women and 
children. Illinois, being still under the French flag, was the rendezvous/ 
for both French and Indians, and the origin of the great scheme might 
be traced there. The principal scene of action, however, was east 

* Referi-in r to the red <Mtits of the F.ndish. 



34 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

of Illinois, up and about Detroit. Although the plot came near being 
discovered, the great day soon arrived. 

Through artifice nine British posts were captured. In some cases 
the garrison was completely surprised. Again the officers were secured 
while the Indians were pretending to transact business with them. A 
squaw betrayed the officer at Maumee by enlisting his sympathies with 
a dying man outside the fort. At Michillimackinac opposite the 
present Mackinaw Strait the Indians played a game of ball in honor 
of the king's birthday, and the officers and soldiers of the garrison 
were artfully tempted to witness the scene, some even engaged in 
betting for the winners. The ball w r as finally artfully tossed over the 
pickets of the fort, and the reckless tumultuous crowd followed it. Then 
came the terrible war-whoop, and before the English could scarcely 
think the fort was in the hands of the Indians. 

The formidable Detroit post had been left for Pontiac to gain the 
glory of its victory. But he was to reap disappointment. A pretty 
Ojibwa maiden who was attached to G-ladwyn, the commander of the 
fort, went to take him some moccasins and revealed Pontiac's intricate 
plot for the morrow. Accordingly Gladwyn was ready when Pontiac 
came for a council meeting the riext day. Pontiac's deep-laid plot was 
foiled and he made many professions of good will toward the English. 
The following day, amidst throngs of his swarthy followers, Pontiac 
approached the fort, and, upon finding it- barred, asked the cause of his 
exclusion. He was told that "he might enter, but his rabble must 
remain without. 1 ' With his entire being expressive of unutterable 
disappointment and rage the foiled warrior turned and strode alone to 
the river, and started with defiant speed to the village of the Ottawas. 
Quickly were the revengeful, exasperated feelings of the leader inter- 
preted, and soon from off the surrounding plains scores of yelping 
satanic beings arose and begun preparations for their direful work of 
carnage and bloodshed. The war-dance was heard that night, and ere 
dawn the fort was attacked by the savage multitude. The Indians 
expected to take the fort by a single blow, but failing in this, they, 
although scarce of food, began preparations for a protracted siege. 
Indians arrived daily from the west. The besiegement was conducted 
for a period of eight months. This persistency on the part of the 
Indians is without parallel in all Indian history. 

This is but an instance of the several years of bloody war begun by 
Pontiac. Destruction of life and property did not cease in the forts. 
The borders of the frontier states were the scenes of multitudes of 
Indian atrocities too frightful to relate. 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 35 

After a time a portion of the Indians began to retire from the 
contest, and not long afterward the plans of Pontiac received a terrible 
blow. The French in Illinois had long been the secret allies of Pontiac, 
who had been artfully kept in the dark in regard to the English power 
in Illinois. A letter was sent to the commander of the principal French 
post in Illinois, instructing him to make known to Pontiac the full 
extent of the treaty between the English and French. Pontiac, upon 
the receipt of this news was enraged, and in company with some of his 
most faithful countrymen, started for the Maumee country, hoping to 
excite the Indians sufficiently to renew hostilities in the spring. In 
1764 Pontiac, with some 400 warriors, began intercessions with the 
tribes in Illinois. It was at this time that Pontiac had to use threats to 
enlist the aid of the Illinois tribe. 

By this time Gen. Gage was convinced that as long as Illinois 
remained virtually in the hands of the French, it would be impossible 
for the Indians not to expect the assistance of the French, and he there- 
fore determined to send out a sufficient force to terminate the war. 
Accordingly George Croghan, a western trader, was sent with Lieut. 
Frazer toward the west, through Ohio. The result of this visit was 
a conference held in Detroit, where Pontiac had begun his satanic 
scheme. At this conference Pontiac not only accepted the King of 
England as his father, but he promised to go to Oswego the following 
spring and enter into a treaty with Sir Win. Johnson. Soon after this 
conference, ere the winter snows had fallen, Capt. .Stirling led a regi- 
ment down the Ohio and to Fort Chartres, where the English colors 
took the place of the old French flag. 

Pontiac did not forget his promise to Croghan, and when the 
peaceful spring glided gently in he started for Oswego. And there, 
for the last time before the representatives of English sovereignty, 
Pontiac concluded his speech with, "I promise to keep this covenant 
as long as I live." From the council meeting he, with sad heart, turned 
westward, and for three years lived with his family in the gloom of the 
forest. 

In 1767 the last scene in the drama of Pontiac's life was enacted. 
A disturbance occurred in Illinois among some French traders and 
some of the Illinois Indians, not far from St. Louis. Pontiac soon 
appeared at the place, and not long after his arrival repaired to St. 
Louis to see an old French friend who commanded the Spanish gar- 
rison. While there he moved about with great dignity in the full 
French uniform which Montcalm had presented him. lie was received 



36 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

quite cordially, and when Pontiac heard of an Indian social gathering 
at Cahokia his French friends, fearing English design, tried to prevent 
his going. Pontiae, however, in his usual fearless manner, boldly set 
forth, and was soon under the influence of liquor in the midst of the 
surging, drunken throng. 

An English trader in the village, looking with distrust on Pontiac, 
resolved to work his destruction. Accordingly a Kaskaskia Indian 
was bribed with a barrel of whisky to slay the white man's foe. 
Pontiac. after participating for a time in the drunken pleasures, started 
for the neighboring woods, singing his medicine songs the while. In 
this case he was not safe within the mystic spell of his magic songs, 
for the lurking Illinois Indian drew near and treacherously sunk his 
tomahawk into Pontiac's brain. Thus perished the greatest Indian 
warrior that history has portrayed. 

With their usual impulsiveness his friends sought to take immedi- 
ate vengeance on the murderer, but the Illinois Indians protected their 
brother and Pontiac's followers were driven off. The Sacs, Foxes, 
Pottawatomies, Ottawas, and other tribes who had answered to Pontiac's 
command in time of war, combined in their mighty efforts to wreak 
vengeance on the Illinois tribe. Whole villages were destroyed, and 
the grassy plains of Illinois stained with Indian blood. 

Pontiac's body was procured by the French commander and buried 
with warlike honors near the fort of St. Louis. "Neither mound nor 
tablet marks the burial-place of Pontiac. For a mausoleum, a city has 
risen above the great hero, and the race whom he hated with such 
burning rancor trample with unceasing footsteps over his forgotten 



grave."* 



WIXNKBAGO AND BLACK HAWK WARS. 



^Lfter the treaty of peace following the war of 1812, the Indians on 
the northwestern frontier remained in peace and friendship with the 
whites until 1827. The Winnebagoes, notwithstanding the fact that 
the Sacs and Foxes had, by the treaty of 1804, ceded to the whites the 
land between the Illinois and Wisconsin rivers, felt that they really 
owned land in the northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin. A por- 
tion of this land was subsequently retroceded to several tribes; the 
AVinnebagoes, however, not being mentioned in the treaty. The 
Indians, quarreling about the boundaries of their lands, caused the 
United States commissioners to make a new arrangement in 1825, ad- 
mitting that the Winnebagoes had a right to some of the land. 

* Parknian. 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 37 

The miners began to work the lead mines near Galena despite the 
remonstrances of the Winnebagoes, who claimed the land thereabout. 
This greatly incensed these Indians, but when they attempted to pro- 
tect their property in the usual Indian manner they were promptly 
repulsed. More incensed than ever, some of the Winnebagoes started 
to get help and advice of some of their principal chiefs about Prairie 
du Chien. They also quite readily obtained the assistance of the 
Sioux, who had begun to feel hostile toward the whites on accouut of 
their having captured some Sioux Indians and having given them over 
to their Chippewa enemies. In July, 1827, some Winnebago Indians, 
Laving previously killed two white men, collected for plunder or mur- 
der around some boats bound for Fort Snelling, which had landed at 
their encampment above Prairie du Chien. The whites adroitly made 
the Indians drunk and were up the river out of reach ere the Indians 
realized what was being done. As the boats retuined down the river 
the crew, anticipating an attack from the Indians at this same place, 
armed themselves. One of the boats succeeded in getting by in the 
night, but the other was attacked with all vengeance by the savages. 
Although the boat became grounded the crew succeeded in compelling 
the Indians to retire from the contest. A few only of the whites were 
killed, but so many were wounded that it was a difficult matter for 
the remaining men to reach Galena. 

Upon hearing of this hostile attack the residents about Galena and 
the state officers took prompt action, and companies and regiments 
were soon ready for work. Before companies from the southern part 
of the state could reach the scene of action, Gen. Atkinson, with some 
regulars, and the Galena militia under Gen. Dodge, had,*in the vicinity 
of the Fox and Wisconsin rivers, compelled the savages to sue for peace. 
Several Indian chiefs were taken prisoner, among whom were Red 
Bird, of the Sioux tribe, and Black Hawk, of the Sac and Fox tribes. 
Hed Bird died in prison, but Black Hawk, with several others, were 
acquitted in about a year afterward. 

This sudden outbreak of the Indians struck terror to the whites 
living in the northern part of the state. A portion of the Pottawa- 
tomies contemplated joining the Winnebagoes against the whites, and 
according to Gurdon S. Hubbard, anticipated an attack on Fort .Dear- 
born. Shabbona, the peace chief, communicated to the whites the 
Indians' intentions. These hostilities begun by the Winnebagoes 
were but a prelude to those begun. 1831, under Black Hawk. 

Black Hawk was a chief of the Sacs, and was born in 1767 or 1768, 



38 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

on the Rock river. He distinguished himself in early life as a brave. 
In all his difficulties with the Indians it is said that he never lost a battle. 
"He was distinguished for courage and for clemency to the vanquished. 
He was an Indian patriot, a kind husband and father, and was noted 
for his integrity in all his dealings with his tribe and with the Indian 
traders."* He was aid-de-camp to the great Tecumseh, and during the 
war of 1812 was in the service of the English. After the close of the 
trouble in 1812, Black Hawk, instead of making peace with the United 
States, still kept up his friendship with Canada, and accordingly cher- 
ished an implacable hate toward the Americans. He was gloomy 
and morose in disposition, and his annual visit to his favorite daugh- 
ter's grave on the Mississippi caused gloomy and melancholy feelings. 
He was thus led to look back on the supposed wrongs committed by 
the whites, and to lift the shadowy veil of the future and see his peo- 
ple gradually retiring from the hunting-grounds that had been theirs 
so long. He saw the dreaded whites taking entire possession of the 
broad rolling prairies; he saw their "big canoes" gliding over the 
peaceful waters of the winding streams ; he heard the woodman's ax 
making sad havoc among the noble trees of the grand old forest, and 
saw the white man's houses on the site of their old villages arid over 
the graves of their dead. With such mingled thoughts of love, 
patriotism and revenge 'tis scarce a wonder that he sounded the war 
cry against the advancing enemy. 

The Sacs and Foxes, however, had no right to the Rock River 
couritry, as it originally belonged to the Santeaux tribe before the 
incoming of these tribes from the north. 

In 1804 a treaty was made by which the Sacs sold to the United 
States their country on the Rock river. That portion of the Sac and 
Fox tribes which joined the English in the war of 1812 violated this 
treaty. This treaty was confirmed by that portion of the tribe which 
remained at peace, and in 1816, Black Hawk, with other hostile 
Indians, professed repentance, and, obtaining pardon, recognized the 
treaty of 180-1, which was re-enacted. Still another treaty was made in 
1825, hoping thus to settle the hostilities among the northwest tribes. 
In 1830 a treaty was made with the Sacs and Foxes, in which they 
confirmed the former treaties and agreed to remove to the territory west 
of the Mississippi. According to the former of these treaties the Sacs 
and Foxes had the privilege of hunting on the grounds while they were 
the property of the United States. In 1829 portions of land around 

*Gov. Ford. 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 39 

the mouth of the Rock river were sold for settlement, and soon after 
there was begun a series of depredations among these settlers and the 
Indians. Each party brought charges against the other, and probably 
there was trouble on both sides. 

At this time the Sacs and Foxes were divided into two factions. 
One, the larger, was Tor peace, and was under Keokuk, who had 
sound judgment, and who ultimately became sole chief of the nation. 
Keokuk, according to the stipulations of the treaty, withdrew across the 
river. 

In the spring of 1831, Black Hawk, who commanded the hostile 
faction of the tribes, declared all treaties void, and with his families, 
some Kickapoo and Pottawatomie allies, and three hundred warriors, 
recrossed the Mississippi to take possession of their former village and 
the hunting-grounds thereabouts. 

Black Hawk claimed that the treaty of 1804 was made by some 
chiefs after being made drunk. He said that these chiefs, while in St. 
Louis seeing about some prisoners, sold their land without the knowl- 
edge of the tribe, and that they came home loaded with presents, knew 
they had sold some land, but could tell nothing more. But be all this 
as it may, Black Hawk was among those to confirm the treaty when its 
full purport was known. It seems, then, that it was rather tardy 
patriotism mingled with his hate for the Americans which caused him 
to recross the Mississippi river. 

When Black Hawk appeared again among the whites, tearing down 
their fences, taking their food, ordering them away and threatening 
them with death, the settlers were not tardy in making complaints to 
Gov. Reynolds. The governor hastened to notify Gen. Gaines, of the 
United States army, and superintendent of Indian affairs, of the Indian 
invasion. Volunteers were called for and 1.600 men answered the call. 

The entire force was divided into two regiments, an odd battalion 
and a spy battalion. Col. James D. Henry commanded the first regi- 
ment ; Col. Dan Lieb, the second ; Maj. Nath. Buckmaster, the odd 
battalion, and Maj. Sam'l Whiteside the spy battalion. Maj. Gen. 
Joseph Duncan, of the state militia, commanded the entire brigade. 
This was the largest military force that Illinois had ever raised, and 
its appearance was truly grand as it traversed with anxious speed the 
far-reaching prairie. 

In the short space of four days the army reached Rockport, about 
eight miles below the mouth of Rock river, where Gen. Gaines was met. 
The two generals formed a plan of operations for the morrow, and in 



40 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

the morning the volunteers started across the country toward the 
Indian town, while the steamboat ascended the river. It was supposed 
that the battle would be fought on an island opposite the Indian 
town, and their preparations were made accordingly. The steamboat 
approached the island, firing grape and canister to find if the enemy 
were there. While traversing the island, the spy battalion and main 
"body of volunteers became confused and mixed together, but no trace 
of the Indians was discovered. Some time was spent in ferrying the 
troops over the deep and rapid stream on the other side of the island, 
but when the village was reached no Indians were there. Long before 
the army reached the place the Indians had quietly departed for the 
western side of the Mississippi. It has been thought that fhis move- 
ment on the part of the Indians was partially anticipated by the two 
generals. There was a carelessness shown in the movement about the 
islands that would tend to confirm such an idea, but the exact facts of 
the case will probably never be known. In lieu of the enemy the feel- 
ing of vengeance prompted the soldiers to attack the village itself, and 
it was set on fire. Soon only ashes remained of the once flourishing 
village. 

From this place the volunteers proceeded to Rock Island, where 
they encamped for several days. While at Fort Armstrong, on this 
island, Gen. Gaines threatened to pursue the hostile Indians unless 
they presented themselves for a peace council. Black Hawk finally 
was induced to make his appearance, and in company with many other 
chiefs of the British* band of the Sacs, signed a treaty in which they 
agreed to stay on the west side of the river, and to cross it only on per- 
mission of the governor of Illinois or the president of the United 
States. In such manner did the British Sacs finally ratify the old 
treaty of 1804. 

Black Hawk, like Tecumseh, had his prophet. This prophet, 
White Cloud, had great influence among the tribe. He was cunning 
and used every means in his power to gain influence. Previous to the 
troubles about the Rock River village, he had gone to Canada, hoping 
to gain the British to their interest. Upon his return he reported 
favorably to the Indians, and soon after their crossing to the west side of 
the river in 1831, a murmur of discontent ran through Black Hawk's 
tribe. Ever since the last treaty they had been alert for some new 
excuse for beginning hostilities. White Cloud's assurance that not 
only the British, but the Ottawas, Chippewas, Pottawatomies and 

* Those in sympathy with the British. 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 41 

Winriebagoes would assist them in regaining their land, caused them 
to set aside their treaty of peace. 

Notwithstanding the sagacity and judgment of Keokuk, which 
prompted his bold and eloquent speeches, "Black Hawk's warlike and 
revengeful nature claimed for him all the daring and malicious warriors 
of the nation. Black Hawk, being quite an old man at this time, was 
easily flattered at thus seeing so many young braves flock to him for 
leadership. 

He, accordingly, with flve hundred of the nation's chivalry, 
equipped for Indian warfare, again, in 1832, started across the Mis- 
sissippi river. Their deceived eyes saw before them a ready and 
complete rictory over the hated Americans. 

After crossing the river they started to the Rock River country, 
expecting to continue their course up the river and gain the Pottawato- 
mies and Winnebagoes as allies. The whites, knowing of Black 
Hawk's movements, were somewhat alarmed, and ere they reached 
their destination several couriers from Gen. Atkinson overtook the 
Indians, ordering them to recross the Mississippi. This they refused to 
do, stating that they were peacefully going to their Indian friends' 
ground to raise corn. Gov. Reynolds, upon becoming acquainted 
with the facts, immediately called for volunteers. The imminent dan- 
ger to which the frontier settlers were subject caused, as in 1831, a 
goodly number of the state's brave and eminent men to respond to the 
call. In a few days' time 1,800 men met at Beardstown, the former 
place of rendezvous. The volunteers were organized into four regi- 
ments and a spy battalion. The first regiment was commanded by 
Col. DeWitt ; the second, by Col. Fry ; the third by Col. Thomas ; 
the fourth by Col. Thompson, arid Col. James D. Henry commanded 
the spy battalion. Brigadier Gen. Samuel W. Whiteside, who com- 
manded the spy battalion in the former campaign, had charge of the 
entire brigade. 

Gen. Whiteside, in company with Gov. Reynolds, took up his line 
of march April 27. Upon reaching the mouth of Rock river it was 
arranged that Gen. Whiteside, with volunteers, was to march up the 
river to Prophetstown and there await the regulars, who were to come 
with the provisions in keel-boats. Gen. Whiteside, however, set fire to 
Prophetstown and proceeded up the river to Dixon. Upon the arrival 
at Dixon Majors Stillman and Bailey were found with near three hun- 
dred men. These men were ready to win their laurels, and accordingly 
made known their desire to hazard danger. It being rumored that 
4 



42 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

some hostile Indians were in the vicinity of "Old Man's Creek" 
now called Stillman's Run Major Stillman was ordered to find the 
enemy. Soon after reaching the creek and camping for the night, a 
small party of Indians was descried about a mile away. Some of 
Stillman's men, thirsting for Indian blood, mounted their horses without 
orders and started in pursuit of the Indians, who retreated displaying 
in defiance the red flag. These brave men had not thought of the pos- 
sibility of Black Hawk being near, and accordingly, when he rallied his 
men and started in pursuit, their valor changed rapidly to ungovern- 
able fear and they retreated to camp with their horses on a full run. 
Hearing that Black Hawk was in pursuit the entire company precipi- 
tately joined in the retreat. Major Stillman tried in vain to have his 
men fall back and form on higher ground, but the "higher ground" 
was not found, and the entire company reached Dixon several at a time. 
Some of the boldest of the men, however, covered the retreat, fighting 
bravely, and eleven only of the men were killed. 

The accounts given by the returning men were various. The most 
ludicrous was that given by a man from Kentucky, who, in a very bom- 
bastic manner, told of the wonderful mode of attack of the enemy and 
of the bravery of some of the men of himself particularly. Although 
the retreat of Stillman's men caused a high degree of merriment for a 
time among the remainder of the troops, still no great blame could be 
laid upon Major Stillman or any of his men, as they were undisciplined 
and under the circumstances almost any company would have done" the 
same. 

After this adventure a council was held in the camp at Dixon, and 
it was decided that the army should start toward Stillman's creek the 
next morning. When the volunteers arrived at the scene of the dis- 
aster of the night before, not an Indian was to be seen. Some had 
gone farther up the Rock river and some sought revenge on the nearest 
white settlers. 

As soon as Shabbona, the Pottawatomie peace chief, heard of the 
murderous designs of Black Hawk, he hastened to inform the white 
settlers on Indian creek. They had had so many false alarms that the 
usual precaution was not taken. On May 20 a party of about seventy 
Indians massacred fifteen persons of the families of Messrs. Hall, 
Davis and Petigrew, and took two young ladies, Rachel and Silvia 
Hall, prisoners. The accounts given by J. W. Hall, who escaped, and 
by the Misses Hall afterward Mrs. Horn and Mrs. Munson are 
authentic and are rite with the horror of the massacre and the fear and 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 43 

suffering experienced by the two prisoners.* These young women, after 
a weary march of many miles, were finally bought for $2,000 worth of 
goods by some Winnebago chiefs, at the instigation of Mr. Gratiot. 
Mrs. Munson died in 1870 ; Mrs. Horn is still living in Nebraska. 

General Whiteside, not finding the Indians where he expected, 
buried the dead found and returned to Dixon. The majority of the 
volunteers were now anxious to be discharged, and knowing that 
little could be done against the will of the men, they were first 
marched for a time in pursuit of the Indians and then on to Ottawa, 
where they were discharged. 

Previous to this, however, the governor had made a call for more 
volunteers, and after the discharge a volunteer regiment was soon 
formed of the discharged men at Ottawa. Jacob Fry was elected 
colonel ; John Thomas, major, and James D. Henry, lieutenant-colonel. 
On June 15 three brigades, commanded respectively by Gen. Posey, 
Gen. Alexander and Gen. J. D. Henry, were formed at the place of 
rendezvous. The entire frontier force now amounted to over three 
thousand men. Soon attacks were made by Indians on Apple River 
fort, twelve miles from Galena, and on Fort Hamilton in the lead 
mines. Galena also was in imminent danger. The fears of the whites 
in this were soon somewhat quieted, for the Illinois forces were put into 
motion by June 22, and ere long were almost in the heart of the Indian 
country. Colonel Dement had pushed forward to Kellogg's Grove, 
where he, while endeavoring to find the whereabouts of the Indians, 
was attacked by about three hundred of them. The Indians, after losing 
near fifteen men, retreated under the well-aimed fire of the whites. 
After this battle portions of the troops were stationed at various 
places throughout northern Illinois, while Gen. Atkinson, accompanied 
by Gen. Henry's brigade, marched up Rock river toward four lakes, 
where he heard that Black Hawk had fortified his position for an 
attack. While traveling in this direction he encamped for one night 
at Turtle Village, a deserted town of the Winnebagoes. Frequent 
alarms were given that night by the sentinels, and the whole command 
was paraded for battle several times. The next morning the march was 
resumed, and at Lake Kush-ka-nong was joined by Gen. Alexander's 
brigade. After the surrounding country was examined in search of the 
enemy the entire force was marched up the Rock river to the Burnt 
Village, another Winnebago town, where Gen. Posey's brigade, Gen. 
Dodge's battalion, joined it. 

* Printed in Baldwin's History of La Salle County. 



44 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

During this march the scouts brought in frequent reports of Indian 
trails discovered. Much time was frequently spent in looking up these 
trails, but all to no avail. At one time the AVinnebago Indians assured 
the general that Black Hawk's entire force was fortified on an island 
opposite the Burnt Village. After examination this was proved to be 
another false -alarm. By this time eight weeks had been spent in search 
of the enemy. The volunteer force had been reduced nearly one- 
half. Still the enemy were weeks in the advance, and owing to lack 
of provisions Gen. Atkinson thought it necessary to disperse his com- 
mand for procuring supplies. Gen. Posey marched on to Fort Hamil- 
ton ; the governor went to his home at Belleville ; Henry, Alexander 
and Dodge went to Portage, Fox and Winnebago, while Gen. Atkin- 
son made his headquarters at Lake Kush-ka-nong, where he remained 
until the volunteer general returned with supplies. An unfortunate 
circumstance happened to the forces bound for Fort Winnebago. The 
horses stampeded, and many were lost and others disabled. After 
reaching the fort two days were occupied in collecting food, when some 
Winnebago chiefs reported Black Hawk to be within thirty-five miles 
of Gen. Atkinson. 

Gens. Alexander, Henry, and Maj. Dodge held a council, at which 
it was decided to inarch without orders direct upon Black Hawk. 
But at the time appointed to march Gen. Alexander reported his men 
unwilling to go, while Maj. Dodge reported his horses too much dis- 
abled by their late march. Gen. Henry was naturally indignant at 
such a state of affairs, and announced his intention to go alone if fifty 
men would follow him. Soon some mounted volunteers arrived, 
which augmented, somewhat, the number ready for duty. When Gen. 
Henry returned to his brigade he found his own men on the point of 
mutiny. A written protest signed by all except one of the officers was 
handed to the general. Gen. Henry, with the commanding sternness 
of a brave and complete soldier, made no other reply than to order the 
officers under arrest for mutiny, appointing a regiment as a guard to 
escort them to Gen. Atkinson. This action created a real sense of fear 
among the officers, and Gen. Henry consented to consult with them 
before the decisive step was taken. The officers very gladly returned 
to their duty, and from that time oji no charge could be brought 
against them. 

Gen. Henry took up his line of march on July 15, in quest of the 
Indians. After three day's march they encamped upon the Rock 
river. Here, learning from some Winnebago Indians that Black 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 45 

Hawk was further up the river, Gen. Henry resolved to make a forced 
march upon them the next morning, and two men were sent with dis- 
patches to Gen. Atkinson. These men had a chief, Little Thunder, 
with them as guide, and when eight miles from camp came upon 
the fresh trail of the enemy. The Indian guide was terrified and 
started back without permission. Upon reaching the camp he was about 
to effect the escape of the other Indians when they were stopped and 
taken to Gen. Henry's tent. Here they confessed that they had been 
deluding the army, hoping to give the Indians more time for escape. 
Gen. Henry succeeded in getting from them all they knew of Black 
Hawk's movements. The next morning other dispatches were sent to 
Gen. Atkinson, and the army, dispensing with everything that was not 
absolutely necessaiy, was ready for a forced march. Notwithstanding 
that upon the afternoon of the first day a violent storm overtook them, 
the army inarched cheerfully forward, inspired by the sight of the fresh 
trail to renewed energy. After four and a half days of weary march- 
ing, the advance guard came upon the rear of the retreating enemy. 
The Indians seemingly began to make feints of forming for battle, hop- 
ing thus to gain time. The Indians were not overtaken for three or 
four hours after they were first seen. The advance guard was fired 
upon by the Indians, but they were soon caused to retreat by a bat- 
talion and two regiments charging upon them. The fight was kept up 
for some time during their retreat until dark. The next morning when 
Gen. Henry advanced to the Wisconsin, he found that the Indians had 
all crossed it and escaped to the mountains. 

On account of lack of provisions Gen. Henry resolved to fall back 
to Blue Mounds. Arriving at this place he found Gen. Atkinson with 
the regulars and Alexander and Posey's brigades. It became evident 
soon to Gen. Henry and his men that the regular officers and 
Gen. Atkinson did not enjoy Henry's success. They envied him. 
After a few days of preparation the army was again put on the inarch, 
Henry being placed in the rear to mind the baggage. Henry and his 
men bore this insult with grave dignity. 

On the morning of the fourth day after crossing the Wisconsin the 
advance reached the Mississippi bluffs. When within about three or 
four miles of the camp the army was attacked by about twenty-eight 
Indians. They adroitly retreated up the river, followed by the entire 
army except Henry's brigade that was left without orders. After a 
council among his officers, Henry hastily concluded to continue on the 
main trail. Upon arriving at the foot of a bluff' Henry halted and the 



46 A BKIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

horses were left. When the advance men came within sight of the 
river they were tired upon by the Indians. Henry came up with the 
main body and a general battle ensued. The fifty advance Indians 
retreated upon the others and in the surprise all was confusion. The 
Indians were driven from place to place and finally, at the point of the 
bayonet, were forced into the river, some reaching an island in the 
river. By this time Gen. Atkinson with the other part of the men 
arrived. Gen. Atkinson soon formed the regulars and Dodge's 
battalion for an attack upon the island. Wading through the 
deep water a tierce battle began on the island. The Indian loss 
here was very great. A number of the Indians had escaped across the 
river ere the action began. Black Hawk, who led the twenty that 
Gen. Atkinson followed, escaped up the river. Black Hawk and his 
party were captured while on the Wisconsin river by some Winnebago 
chiefs, who brought them to Prairie du Chien and delivered them up 
to the United States Indian agent there. Gen. Atkinson, with the 

o 

regulars, went to Prairie du Chien in a steamboat, while the volunteers 
went by land. Here Gen. Scott was met, who had been sent from the 
east to take chief command in the war. While on the way his army 
was afflicted with Asiatic cholera, so that he did not reach the Missis- 
sippi until the decisive battle was fought. Gov. Ford considers Henry 
tl ic hero of the entire war. From Prairie du Chien the volunteers were 
sent to Dixon, where they were discharged. The prisoners were sent 
down to Rock Island, thence on to Jefferson barracks. A treaty was 
here made with the Sacs and Foxes by which the United States gained 
a large portion of the territory between the Des Moines and Turkey 
rivers in Iowa. From Jefferson barracks the prisoners were taken to 
Washington. They were also taken to Baltimore, Philadelphia, Xew 
York and other cities, that they might see the power and number of 
the whites. They were returned to their own country in June, 1833. 
Black Hawk died in 1840, at the age of eighty, and was buried by his 
people on the banks of the Mississippi. 

INDIAN MANNERS AND CUSTOMS. ' 

The Indians depended, for their sustenance, upon hunting, fishing, 
and primitive tilling of the soil. They knew nothing about herding 
animals. They had but few domestic animals, the principal being the 
horse and the dog. They pursued their game with arrows tipped with 
horn, pointed stone, or some similar substance. Fish were taken in 
nets or witli the spear. Their meat was preserved by smoking. The 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 4:7 

fruit and berry season was a happy time for them and the young girls 
went joyfully forth to gather the luscious food. Nearly all the Indians 
of America cultivated the soil. The articles cultivated were few : 
maize, the tobacco plant, the squash and the bean, complete the list. 
Their women did the farming, and often, after their stores were col- 
lected, all was squandered in some great festivities. They made but 
little preparation for the future, thus showing their lack of thriftiness. 

Everyone has heard of the hospitality of the Indian. A stranger 
may enter his cabin in the day or in the night, be freely entertained, 
and no questions, as to why he came or when he will go, are asked. 
An Indian will often give up his own resting-place that his guest may 
be comfortable. 

The Indians are sociable creatures. Their living together, many 
families in one cabin, and the collecting of houses into towns, proves 
this statement. Polygamy was allowed, but there was an unwritten 
law in regard to who should marry. An Indian could not marry his 
own kinfolks, those who used the same totem or family symbol, but 
his wives could bear the closest relationship. The marriage ceremony 
consisted of the groom making a few presents to the bride's father. If 
the presents were accepted the contract was complete, and for a time 
the husband lodged with his wife's family. Divorces were allowed, 
and the marriage tie could be severed as easily as it was made. When 
divorces occurred, the mother, of necessity, claimed all the children. If 
a mother died, the innocent little babe shared her grave. Thus she 
alone had care of the babe in death even as in life. No restraint 
whatever was put upon the Indian children. They, by exposure, 
became hardy. The Indian boy learns to be courageous by hearing the 
daring tales of Indian exploits told around the wigwam fire. The bow 
and arrow are among his first playthings. His ear early hears the 
war song, and its purport soon is recognized. With exquisite joy he 
looks forward to joining, for the first time, in the war-dance. While the 
Indian boy, from the example of his elders, thus becomes a warrior, 
and learns to be proud of idleness, in like manner the girl learns to be 
a drudge. The wife is but a slave. 

The Indian's idea of a Supreme Being is very indefinite. A spirit 
lies in everything ; he recognizes it in every action and in every object. 
Yet they believed in the Great Spirit. It is said that the Illinois 
worshiped a god under the name IhuiHou, and this they found in 
every animal. The medicine-man boasted of a power over the spirits, 
and was a sort of magician. The Indian had great faith in his sub- 
verting every evil and curing all ills. 



48 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

The waking Indian recognized his dreams as glimpses into the 
invisible world. It was thus he received messages from his god. They 
professed no fear of death ; they believed the dead still lived, and 
therefore buried with them their earthly belongings. The superstitions 
among the different Indians of America are various. Some of the 
southern tribes, upon the death of a lord or chief, killed two finely 
formed Indians that they might act as servants to the lord of shadows 
and death. 

Bancroft quotes from Brebeuf, a Jesuit missionary, the substance 
of a statement in regard to the living sometimes visiting the remote 
region of the shadows. Orpheus-like, a brother went in search of 
his Eurydice, in this case a sister, and but for his uncontrollable curios- 
ity would have secured her from the society of the dead and restored 
her to her family. Festivals were often held in honor of the dead. 
Some of the tribes every few years gathered and cleansed the bones 
from their various burial-places, and amid their most .solemn cere- 
monies buried them in a common grave. 

All over America the Indians practiced placing the dead in a sitting 
posture for burial. 

The red man imitates rather than invents. He equals the white 
man in the acuteness of the senses, but his moral and reasoning facul- 
ties are inferior. 

The Indians had no musical genius among them equal to a Mozart, 
nor did they have a Raphael as an artist ; but all recognized music, and 
danced ofttimes with grace to their wild melodies, and the decoration 
on their clothing and bodies was harmonious and sometimes elegant. 
"We call them cruel, yet they never invented the thumb-screw, or the 
boot, or the rack, or broke on the wheel, or exiled bands of their 
nations for opinion's sake ; and protected the monopoly of the medi- 
cine-man by the gallows, or the block, or by fire. There is not a 
quality belonging to the white man which did not also belong to the Amer- 
ican savage ; there is not among the aborigines a rule of language, a 
custom, an institution, which, when considered in its principles, has 
not a counterpart among their conquerors. The unity of the human 
race is established by the exact correspondence between their respective 
powers ; the Indian has not one more, has not one less, than the white 
man; the map of the faculties is for both identical." 

In this great age of improvement the Indian, too, has caught the 
spirit. The Indians of to-day are greatly in advance of those the 
whites first found here. The gun with modern improvements has in a 



INDIANS IN ILLINOIS. 4:9 

measure replaced the deadly arrow. The white man's ax and knife 
soon pushed their primitive counterparts into the background. Among 
some of the tribes the water of the stream has been made to subserve 
their purpose, and water-mills have taken the place of the old-time 
stone mortar. 

The old plan of writing hieroglyphics on pieces of bark has in 
a degree been abolished, and some of the Indians of to-day make 
use of the printing-press. Instead of traveling mile after mile of 
forest and prairie for all their game, herds and flocks are now kept by 
them. They have learned the use of the plow, and their agriculture is 
more extensive. The idea of one ruling Great Spirit is now prevalent 
in every Indian wigwam. The felicity of the white man's home-life 
has been noised abroad, and the Indian is beginning to cherish his one 
wife as his equal. When one remembers the slowness with which the 
peasantry of Europe have advanced, even when surrounded by that 
country's greatest intellect, and then reflects upon the length of time 
the American Indian has been in contact with the white man's intel- 
lectual culture, he is compelled to pause and give a tribute to the red 
man, confessing that he, in spite of all the war of words to the con- 
trary, deserves a good shai'e of' credit for his position of to-day. 



CHAPTER VI. 

ILLINOIS A DEPENDENCY OF CANADA. 

French were the first white people to lay claim to any of 
the soil of Illinois. As has been stated, Marquette's mission 
was founded in 1675, and the first military occupation was at Fort 
Creve-ccfiur in 1680. The first settlement was at Fort St. Louis on 
the Illinois river in 1682. The oldest permanent settlement in Illi- 
nois and in the valley of the Mississippi is Kaskaskia,* made about 
1690.f 

After the settlement at Kaskaskia others were made at Cahokia, 
Prairie du Roche, Prairie du Pont and Port Chartres. The Jesuit 
priests were the temporal as well as spiritual rulers of these mis- 
sions. The quiet rule of these pious men gave to the early French 

* Bancroft. f Stuve. 



50 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

settlers such feelings of justice, integrity and brotherly love, that for 
nearly a century they had no need of a law court. They lived peace- 
fully by the side of the Indians, and some time elapsed before a local 
government was established. 

l^-nr'ntce of Louix'xi IKI. In 1711 the French settlements of the 
Mississippi valley were united, the province was named Louisiana, and 
Mobile was made the capital. This province included all the country 
lying north and south between Canada and Gulf of Mexico and east 
and west between the Alleghaiiy and Rocky Mountains. France con- 
ceived the idea that this could be made a great commercial country, 
and accordingly sent over one Crozat with a party of men to develop 
its resources. Although some advance was made in settlements, 
Crozat's expedition was counted a failure ; he had neglected agriculture, 
the best resource of the country. Crozat was recalled. 

About the year 1716* Fort Rosalie was erected on the present site 
of Natchez. This is the oldest permanent settlement of the Mississippi 
valley south of Illinois. 

Company of the West. At the time of Louis XIY's death, and 
when the Duke of Orleans was made regent, France was greatly in 
debt. It was then that John Law, a gambling Scotchman from Edin- 
burgh, first brought forward his scheme for liquidating debts. The 
regent listened with willing ear and it was not long until Law's bank 
was astonishing the people with its wonderful achievements. Law 
next brought forward his Mississippi scheme, and with a word from 
this irresistible man the imaginative French brain saw in the early 
future, upon the soil of distant Louisiana, immense commercial cities, 
vast fields of grain and fruit and exhaustless mineral mines. In 1717, 
under Law's direction, the western company was organized. 

The eyes of the people were at last opened, investigations were 
made which resulted in the banks stopping payment. The company 
in the west, however, did not meet with quite such an inglorious failure 
as did the bank of France. Before much was accomplished the 
company was merged into the company of the Indies. From the 
expenses caused by the Spanish and Indian war, and as a partial result 
of Law's failure, the company became embarrassed and a surrender of 
their charter was granted. 

At this time the settlements of Louisiana were in a prosperous con- 
dition. Illinois was the principal agricultural region of the province. 

f r it </<'/ Royal Governors. The first thing to be done after the 

* Bancroft. 



ILLINOIS A DEPENDENCY OF CANADA. 51 

French government again had Louisiana, was to conquer the Chickasaw 
Indians. Several victories were gained by the Chickasaws, but at last, 
in 1740, peace was concluded without bloodshed. 

About 1750 the French colonists in the Mississippi valley began 
seriously to take part in the fierce controversy that had been taking 
place between France and England. The treaty oi peace between 
these countries had left undefined the boundaries between their posses- 
sions in America. 

Neither the French nor the English were idle in their machinations 
to obtain the Indian alliance for strife on the contested lands. 

On October 30, 1753,* George Washington began his renowned 
journey across the forests to Ohio. In the next year was the English 
commencement and the French completion of Fort Du Quesiie, at the 
junction of the Monongahela and Alleghany rivers. Not long after, in 
the battle of Little Meadows, Washington was the first of the English 
to discharge his gun. "It was the signal gun, whose reverberations, 
following the flight of years, announced the revolution which banished 
from the new world the institutions of the middle ages, and -c.^cted 
upon their ruins a free government." A force from Fort Chartres soon 
repaired to Fort Du Quesue'and Washington fell back to Fort Necessity. 
At this place Washingto was compelled to capitulate, and this was a 
signal for the mother countries to take an interesting part in the contest. 
In 1755 occurred the terrible disaster known as Braddock's defeat. In 
1758 the French retired west from Foit Du Quesne. The English were 
now gaining ground, and Ticonderoga, Crown Point and Niagara fell 
successively into their hands. Quebec fell in 1759, and the great contest 
was at an end. Illinois was no longer a French province. 

I Hi noi$ a British J'/'or/iicc. : P<iti(t<?s Conspiracy. Although 
Quebec fell in 1759 it was not until 1765 that the English had actual 
possession of Illinois. Capt. Sterling was the first English commandant 
of Illinois. 

In 1708 the commandant, Lieut. -Col. Wilkins, established a civil 
court. This was held December 6, 1768, and was the first jurisdiction 
by common law ever held within the present boundaries of Illinois. 
The court was not popular, and in 1774 the old government was in part 
resumed. 

It was about this time that the English colonists began seriously to 
be antagonistic to the home rule. England succeeded during the first 
years of the war in enlisting the French with her. 

* Irving's Life of Washington. 



52 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

While this struggle was going on the Indians revived their ever-ready 
feelings of jealousy to the whites who advanced toward their lands. The 
western frontiers were again the scenes of horrifying Indian warfare. 
To put a stop to such dire disaster the Americans thought to send a 
company westward toward the Mississippi. George Hogers Clark was 
intrusted with the command of this expedition. This man was found 
to be equal to all emergencies. His penetrating eyes were the first to 
realize the great advantage to the colonists subsequent to the acquisi- 
tion of the French settlements in Illinois to their own territory. Upon 
stating his views to Gov. Patrick, Henry Clark, with his men, was 
ordered to proceed westward in great haste and with all possible 
secrecy. His men even for some time did not know the object of the 
expedition. It was on July 4, 1778, that Clark and his 160 men 
reached the hills east of Kaskaskia. Clark so successfully manoeuvered 
that he, with some of his men, entered the fort, while the others simul- 
taneously entered the village. The people were so thoroughly sur- 
prised that in less than three hours the invaders had control of the vil- 
]age._,.]^r^eveirJ da\ .-< r<1 .'" i k stayed in and about Kaskaskia, keeping 
the people in the most abject icar. After sufficiently frightening them 
he explained the cause of his sudden appearance before them and 
offered such magnanimous terms that their former fear gave place to 
sudden joy and thanksgiving. Clark, in his own peculiar way, subdued 
all the French provinces in Illinois, as well as St. Vincent, or Vin- 
cennes, in Indiana, in an original manner with the Indians. .Not one 
drop of blood was shed. 

Clark's later success in taking St. Vincent, which had been retaken 
by Hamilton, is well known. This bold and hazardous enterprise on the 
part of Clark settled the ownership of the beautiful country along the 
Wabash and Mississippi rivers. It has ever since belonged to the 
Americans. 

Clark died in 1818, and his body rests near Louisville, Kentucky. 
This country certainly owes a debt of gratitude to him. In looking 
over the strong points of his character it seems that he surely belongs 
to that rare class of men of whom our Washington is the type. Illinois 
would do well to erect a monument in honor of George Rogers Clark's 
noble work. 

Illinois a County. In October, 1778, the country lying northwest 
of the Ohio river was made into a county of Virginia, and was called 
Illinois county. Virginia claimed it by right of private conquest. In 
1784 Virginia ceded the country to the Continental Congress. 



ILLINOIS A DKl'KNDKNCY OF CANADA. 53 

Northwestern T<'i'i'it<>rij. By the ordinance of 1787 the whole of 
the country northwest of the Ohio was considered as one district for 
temporaiy government. For the good of the original states and of the 
future states six articles were drawn up which were to constitute a per- 
petual contract between the people of the territory and those of the 
original states. According to these articles, there was to be religious 
tolerance in the territory ; trial by jury ; education was to be encour- 
aged ; the territory was always to be a part of the United States, and 
there was to be no slavery tolerated. This compact, thus partially 
quoted, has exerted from then till no.w an influence in this country which 
could scarcely have been anticipated by the originators of the articles. 

Maj. Gen. Arthur St. Clair was elected the first governor of the 
Northwestern territory. St. Clair was a Scotchman and came to 
America in 1755. He served in the French and Indian war, and later 
was president of the congress of the United States. In 1788 St. Clair 
county was organized, which included all of the present State of Illi- 
nois south of the mouth of Little Mackinaw creek on the Illinois river. 
Three judicial districts were made and a court of common pleas was 
established. John Edgar, John B. Barbeau and J. D. Moulin were 
appointed judges to hold courts in their respective districts. Justices 
of the peace were appointed throughout the country. Cahokia was 
made the county seat. Thus began the existence of United States law 
in the territory. John Rice Jones was the first man who practiced law 
in Illinois. He was a very energetic lawyer and a fluent speaker. At 
the time of his death in 1824 he was judge of the supreme court of 
Missouri.* 

About the year 1790 a series of misfortunes arose which soon 
caused the French settlements to decline. These misfortunes were of 
various kinds, such as inundations of the Mississippi, severity of the 
seasons, and supplies granted to troops with no requital. Besides 
these causes, the cheerful, free and passive nature of the Frenchmen 
was not. altogether congenial with the stern, sturdy, active natures of 
the, Puritans who now thronged in great numbers, and French immi- 
gration was fast ceasing. 

TecumseKs Conspiracy : Indians again on the war-path.^ It 
must be remembered that France made no extensive purchases of the 
Indians ; consequently in the treaty of Paris only small portions of 
land were transferred to the English. The English then had but little 
to transfer to America, save what she had received from France. Con- 

*Stuve. f Annals of the We.st. 



54: A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

gress felt that as the Indians had adhered mostly to the English they 
were conquered too. Congress felt that the land of the Indian was 
rightfully won, and settlements were made accordingly. At the same 
time efforts were being put forward to establish certain peace. Treaties 
with various tribes were made in 1784, 1785 and in 1789. With all 
these precautions it was found that most of the tribes in the west 
were not bound by agreement to yield land north of the Ohio. The 
Indian confederacy had sullenly determined that the Ohio should form 
a perpetual boundary between the Indians and the whites, and accord- 
ingly organized and began a war against the Americans. 

The main theater of- this war was within the present limits of Ohio 
and Indiana, while Illinois had little part in it save in resisting the 
Indian hostilities on the frontier. The Kickapoo Indians seemingly 
were the most hostile and early began their depredations. All through 
the years from 1778 to 1794 Illinois was the theater where many bar- 
barous murders were enacted. 

For six years the war raged, when finally, through the efforts of 
Gen. Wayne, a treaty was drawn up and signed by all the principal men 
of the Indian confederacy. In this treaty various tracts of land in the 
Northwest were ceded to the Indians. In Illinois there was one at the 
mouths of the Chicago and Illinois rivers and one at the Peoria's fort. 

Peace had come -at last, and the eager whites started forward the 
checked tide of emigration. 

In 1788 the population of Illinois was about 1220.* 

In 1778 there was but one professor of religion in the colonies of 
Illinois. This was a lady and a member of the Presbyterian church. 

James Smith, a Baptist minister, preached the first Protestant ser- 
mon in Illinos. He also made the first Protestant converts. 

The first regularly organized Protestant church in Illinois was that 
organized in 1796 at New Design, by David Badgley. The first school 
for American settlers in this state was taught by Samuel Seely in 1783. 

In 1795 Gov. St. Clair made a division of St. Clair county, naming 
the lower county Randolph, in honor of Edmund Randolph, of Vir- 
ginia. A 

In 1796 the white population of Ohio was over 5000, and accord- 
ing to the ordinance of 1787 the country was entitled to another grade 
of government. In the latter part of 1799 the new order of govern- 
ment was in full working order. 

Indiana Territory. On May 7, 1800, congress passed an act 

* Stuve. 



ILLINOIS A DEPENDENCY OF CANADA. 55 

dividing the Northwestern territory ; and the Indiana territory was 
formed. In this territory the present states of Illinois, Wisconsin, 
Michigan, and almost all of Indiana, were included. The government 
was to be somewhat similar to that of the h'rst grade of government. 

On May 13, 1800, William II. Harrison was appointed governor of 
the Indiana territory. By March of 1801 it was in full working order. 
By the act of congress March 26, 1804, Louisiana was annexed to the 
Indiana territory. In the previous year, through the efforts of some of 
America's deep-thinking men, Louisiana had been purchased of France. 
Before a year had passed after its admission to Indiana territory 
Louisiana was made into a separate territory. Ohio was admitted to 
the Union as a state in 1802. 

In 1803, 1804 and 1805 treaties were maxle with various Indian 
tribes by which the greater part of Illinois was divested of its Indian 
title, and the land, even in the Indian's wavering judgment, was a part 
of the United States. Some of the Indians, however, were loth to 
fulfill their promises and retire from their old hunting-grounds, and it 
was some time before Indian depredations ceased. 

According to the laws adopted by the territory of Indiana only the 
will of a majority of the freeholders was necessary for changing the 
government from the first to that of the second grade of territorial gov- 
ernment. The change of government was made in 1805. Part of the 
old laws were re-enacted, while some new ones were made. 

Territory of Illinois. Michigan had been erected into a separate 
territory in 1805, and the people of Illinois as well desired a separation 
from the Indiana territory. 

By the act of congress February 3, 1809, all of the present Illinois 
and Wisconsin was to constitute the new territory of Illinois. Hon. 
Ninian Edwards was appointed the first governor and Nathaniel Pope 
secretary of the territory. The seat of government was fixed at Kas- 
kaskia. 

At the time of the organization of the territory the population was 
about 9,000. In 1810 there were over 12,000. The immigration, it 
will be seen, was steadily on the increase. But soon there was to be 
a check in the growth of the settlements. Already in the dark forests 
might be heard the war-whoop of the secret friends of the English. 
After the treaty of peace between England and America, the Indians 
had desisted in their warfare only when they had no further hope of 
aid from the English. They were ready then and quickly interpreted 
the signs of ill-feeling between the United States and Great Britain, 



56 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

just previous to the war of 1812. In 1810 Tecumseh, chief of the 
Shawnees, took measures which placed the nature of his future actions 
beyond a doubt. The immediate cause of Tecumseh's excitement was 
the treaty of Fort Wayne, in 1809. He was not at the council and 
claimed that a part of his land had been illegally sold. His theory 
was that the lands of the Indians could not be disposed of without the 
consent of all the tribes. His plan was to substantiate this principle 
by uniting all the western tribes and, if necessary, force the United 
States to give back the land ceded at Fort Wayne. This conspiracy of 
Tecumseh had only been excelled by that of Pontiac. 

Tecumseh boldly avowed, at a council meeting called by Gov. Har- 
rison, at Vincennes, his intention to retain the land. He was ordered 
to leave the village, and ere long Gov. Harrison began preparations to 
resist hostilities. 

Gov. Harrison started north with his army. When near Prophets- 
town "he told the Indians he had no hostile intentions, provided they 
adhered to their treaties. Encampment was made for the night, but 
ere daylight dawned the Indians attacked the camp. Thus began the 
famous battle of TipJDecanoe. The end was not what the Prophet 
anticipated, for the surprise was not a complete one. With but a 
moment's warning the Governor's army fought valiantly, and the 
Indians were repulsed with a loss equal to that of the Americans. 

Tecumseh was in the south at the time of this, and upon his return 
he, in dismay, saw his grand conspiracy dashed to the ground, and 
finally departed for Canada, where he joined the British standard. 
While such a crisis had been reached in Indiana hostilities were grow- 
ing more manifest in Illinois. Preparations for defense began to be 
made throughout the state. Forts, blockhouses and stockades were 
soon built. Fort Russell, a little northwest of Edwardsville, was 
established by Gov. Edwards, and was the strongest stockade fort in 
Illinois. 

Gov. Edwards tried in vain to make peace with the Indians of the 
state. 

During the winter of 1811-12 the British in the east kept up their 
insulting actions toward the Americans, and the result was that on the 
19th of June, 1812, the United States declared war against Great 
Britain. 

In August of this year occurred the massacre, already spoken of, 
at Fort Dearborn. 

The next day after this disaster at Chicago Gen. Hull "crowned 



lARY 

THE 
VZRSriY OF ILLINOIS 



ILLINOIS A DEPENDENCY OF CANADA. 57 

his course of indecision and unmanly fear"* by giving into English 
hands the town of Detroit and territory of Michigan. 

Thus the English arid their allies were in possession of the entire 
Northwest, with the exception of one or two forts. Every citizen in 
the pioneer states seemed thrilled with one desire to wipe out the dis- 
graces of the year and to protect the people from the horrors of savage 
supremacy. . Gov. Edwards organized and started an expedition against 
the Indians on the Illinois river. They at least succeeded in frighten- 
ing the Indians, who retreated upon their approach. After thirteen days 
absence Gov. Edwards' army, without loss, returned to Fort Chartres. 

At the beginning of 1813 everything was gloomy in the west. 
Stronger preparations were made to resist the wily foe. Ranging com- 
panies w r ere formed, but in spite of all precautions the savages con- 
tinued to perform some terrible deeds. In the summer of 1813 a joint 
force from Illinois and Missouri was sent up the Mississippi river. 
Quite an exten1|pf country was gone over and the army reached Camp 
Russell in October, 1813. During this entire campaign not a battle 
was fought; no foe was seen. This campaign, however, served to 
show the strength of the whites and the result was that the settlers 
were not molested by the Indians during the entire winter. 

The next year several expeditions were made up the Mississippi 
river, but only partial success was attained. 

The gloom in the west was soon dispelled by the joyful news of 
the treaty of peace made at Ghent. The war of 1812 was at an end. 

In 1812 the government of the Illinois territory was changed to 
the second grade of government for territories. By a proclamation 
of the governor the members of the first legislature of Illinois con- 
vened in Kaskaskia, the seat of government, November 25, 1812. f 
The place of meeting was in the upper room of an old stone building 
that had been used as headquarters of the French commandant after 
Fort Chartres was abandoned. What a comparison that old building 
with steep roof and unpainted board gables presents to the magnifi- 
cent structure in "which the legislature of to-day assembles ! 

On December 13, 1812, some of the old laws were re-enacted, 
while some new ones were made. Under the authority of Nathaniel 
Pope the territorial laws were revised, and they were printed in 1815. 
To an inhabitant of Illinois to-day it seems almost incredible that not 
eighty years ago the punishments for crime frequently were whipping 
on the bare back, standing in the pillory, confinement in stocks and 

* Annals of the West, f Stuve. 
5 



58 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

branding witli red-hot irons. Yet so it was, and people could even be 
cast into prison for debt. Happily such laws are not of our time. 

Three general assemblies were elected by the people while Illinois 
was a territory. 

Edwards county was the first county formed by the legislature, and 
was named in honor of the governor. 

After the close of the war of 1812 Illinois seemed to begin a new 
growth. The tide of immigration, which had been retarded for a time, 
set in with redoubled force. New settlements were made in every 
direction. Agriculture still continued to be. the leading occupation. 
Owing to the difficulties to be met with in transportation there was but 
little commerce in the early times of Illinois. Articles from the east- 
ern states came in wagons over the mountains, then down the river in 
flatboats. Keelboats passed slowly to and fro between St. Louis and 
New Orleans, carrying needful articles to both cities. But this was 
not long to last, for steamboats soon came into use. A 



CHAPTER VII. 

ILLINOIS A STATE. 

" What constitutes a State ? 

****** 

Men who their duties know, 

But know their rights, and, knowing, dare maintain. 

****** 

And sovereign law, that states collected will 

O'er thrones and globes elate, 

Sits empress, crowning good, refreshing ill." 

ANEW era in the history of Illinois began in 1818. The people 
for some time had been wishing for a change of govern- 
ment, and accordingly Nath. Pope, the delegate to congress, was 
instructed to plead for the admission of Illinois into the Union. Judge 
Pope's discernment led him to make some amendments to the bill for 
admission, by which the port of Chicago was brought within the 
boundaries of the state. This addition to the new state connected her 
interests more firmly with the east, the south and the west. Thus 
while greatly advancing Illinois, another link was added to the chain 
which bound the states in union. 



ILLINOIS A STATE. 59 

Another amendment of great importance in the future well-being 
of Illinois was the appliance of three per cent of the fund from the 
sale of public lands to the advancement of education. 

A convention was called to meet in July, 1818, at Kaskaskia, for 
the purpose of drafting the first constitution of the State of Illinois. 
Elias K. Kane was the principal member of this convention, and to 
his talent are we indebted for many worthy features of the constitution. 

An election for the officers of the new state was held in September, 
1818. Shadrach Bond was elected as the first governor of the State of 
Illinois. Gov. Bond was a native of Maryland, and was a plain man, 
who made no pretentions to learning, but was possessed of good com- 
mon sense. Pierre Menard was made the first lieutenant governor of 
the state. He being a foreigner, and not having been a citizen thirty 
years, the people of the state showed their belief in his worth by alter- 
ing a part of the constitution for his special benefit. 

These two men both had counties named in their honor. 

In October, 1818, the legislature convened at Kaskaskia and elected 
Joseph Philips chief justice, while Thomas C. Brown, John Reynolds 
and William P. Foster were made associate justices. Ninian Edwards 
and Jesse B. Thomas were elected Illinois' first senators to congress. 
Elias K. Kane was appointed secretary of state, while Daniel P. Cook 
was elected first attorney general ; Elijah C. Berry, auditor of public 
accounts, and Jesse B. Thomas, state treasurer. 

By the men whose names are here recorded, Illinois, as a state, was 
launched upon the sea of time. She was only launched as yet ; her 
voyage began when on December 3, 1818, congress declared her one 
of the United States, and placed her upon an equal footing with the 
original states. At the time of the adoption of the constitution only 
about one-fourth of the state was organized into counties. Fifteen 
counties were formed, and of these Bond was farthest north. The 
settled portion of the state was all south of this county. In 1820 the 
population of Illinois was 55,211. The increase during the preceding 
decade had been enormous. With the exception of the French and 
Canadian settlers most of the inhabitants came in from the south. 

At this time the majority of the people of Illinois were in debt. 
This had come about by the anticipations of the settlers to become 
suddenly wealthy. A crisis came and the legislature sought to remedy 
the evil by creating state banks. Several banks were founded, the 
principal one being at Vandalia. This banking scheme, however, 
proved a failure. During Bond's administration the seat of govern- 
ment was moved to Yandalia. 



60 A BKIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

GOVERNOR COLES. 

Ed. Coles was elected governor in 1822. The slavery question 
was thoroughly discussed at this election. Anti-slavery gained the 
day. Mr. Coles was a native of Virginia, and, upon leaving that 
state for Illinois, had emancipated his slaves. This election came 
while the people were still agitated upon the settlement of the 
Missouri question of slavery. Although with the election of Gov. 
Coles the slavery party was defeated, it was not by any means anni- 
hilated. This party expressed themselves as determined to carry their 
measures in the sessions of the legislatures of 1822-3. Soon the entire 
state was in an unheard of condition of excitement. A furious contest 
began which w^ to last for some eighteen months. Contributions 
were raised for the benefit of both sides. Gov. Coles cheerfully con- 
tributed $4,000, his entire term's salary. 

The day of election finally arrived, and both parties exerted them- 
selves to the utmost to show a full vote. At last the decision was made 
and again anti-slavery gained the day. Illinois had never witnessed 
such an exciting and angry election as took place that day. But all 
ill-feelings soon subsided and before a year had passed all seemed 
pleased with the existing state of affairs. 

The summer of 1825 was noted for the great increase in the number 
of immigrants. The majority of the people seemed bound for Sangamon 
county, which at this time was the most populous county of the state. 

Some space will readily be used just here to make mention of Gen. 
La Fayette's visit to Illinois. Gov. Coles had met Gen. La Fayette in 
France, and upon hearing of his arrival in the United States had 
requested him to visit Illinois. This visit was made in May, 1825. 
Great numbers of people extended to La Fayette a patriotic welcome. 
Keceptions weft given him at vandalia and at Shawneetown. From 
this place La Fayette took a kindly and affectionate leave of his Illinois 
friends. 

GOVERNOR EDWARDS. 

In August, 1826, Ninian Edwards was elected governor. Gov. 
Ford's description of Gov. Edwards is quite brilliant. His "princely 
appearance" and "florid eloquence" are made special mention of. 

At this same election there was an exciting contest between Dan P. 
Cook and Joseph Duncan, the candidates for congress. Mi-. Duncan 
gained the victory. This election may be considered, aside from the 
troubles in 182-i, the beginning of party princij^es in Illinois. 



ILLINOIS A STATE. 61 

Gov. Edwards no sooner entered the duties of bis office than he 
began to complain of the condition of the state finances. He thought 
he detected wrong acting in the officers in some of the banks, and did 
not hesitate to make known his charges. Many of the influential men 
of the state opposed Gov. Edwards in this movement, and the result 
was, that all the men were acquitted of the charges brought against them. 

.During Gov. Edwards' administration, in 1827, occurred the Winne- 
bago w r ar, or scare as it is sometimes called. This trouble has already 
been referred to. In 1827 Galena was fast attracting men to the lead 
mines.* Already there were six or seven thousand miners in and 
around Galena. It was there at this time that the offensive name of 
"suckers" as applied to Illinoisans originated. Many people from the 
central and southern part of the state were in the habit of going up 
the Mississippi to the lead mines to work during the summer, but went 
back down the river to winter. Some one saw a resemblance between 
such movements and those of the fish known as suckers. Hence the 
Illinoisans were termed "suckers." Some other accounts are given of 
the origin of the term, but this seems the most plausible. It is to be 
hoped that the use of this odious term, as well as of those terms applied 
to the inhabitants of some of our neighboring states, will ere long be 
done away with. 

In 1830 the population was 157, 447. f From Alton to Peoria set- 
tlements were quite plenty, principally near the streams. As yet the 
people had strenuously avoided settling on the open prairies. 

GOVERNOR REYNOLDS. 

John Reynolds was elected governor in August, 1830. Gov. Rey- 
nolds was a native of Pennsylvania. He came from Tennessee to 
Illinois in 1800. He had long lived among the frontier people and he 
had thoroughly imbibed their ways. Stuve styles him "one of the 
public oddities in the annals of the state." Gov. Ford styles him as 
a "man of remarkably good sense and shrewdness for the sphere in 
which he chose to move." He had a kind disposition, and was always 
ready to bestow a favor. He was in public life a great deal, and died 
in 1865. The Black Hawk war, which has already been mentioned, 
occurred during Gov. Reynolds' administration. 

The session of the legislature in 1832-3 was especially distinguished 
by the fact that at this time the first serious efforts were made for the 
construction of railroads in the state. 

*Ford. fFord. 



62 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

GOVERNOR DUNCAN. 

Joseph Duncan was made governor of the state in 1834. Gov. 
Duncan was a native of Kentucky, distinguished himself during the 
war of 1812, and later held several state offices. During the session 
of 1824-5 he greatly distinguished himself by framing and introducing 
the first bill in regard to a system of free schools in the state. In Gov. 
Duncan's message he recommended many state improvements, which 
were quite fully carried out. Public highways were made throughout 
the state and a good deal of attention was paid to the canal and railroad 
charters. At the time of Gov. Duncan's election the state was in an 
unusually prosperous condition and the people were free from debt. 

During his administration several banking schemes were brought 
forward with the hopes of bettering the condition of affairs ; but it was 
soon discovered that this was a mistaken idea. 

Under his administration, too, was begun the ''State internal 
improvement system," and at the close of his administration people 
had not ceased to be dazzled by this grand scheme. 

In 1837 the Love joy riot occurred.* Lovejoy had tried to start an 
abolitionist paper in St. Louis. Being compelled to leave that city he 
went to Alton. He was strongly urged not to start such a paper in Alton, 
but notwithstanding sucli urging, and in spite of threats, he started a 
religious paper. Soon his abolition principles began to be manifest, 
and the community was roused against him. The final result was that 
a riot occurred, in which Lovejoy lost his life. 

In 1837 Ex-Gov. Reynolds, with others, built the first railroad in 
the state. This road was six miles long, and connected a coal mine 
with the Mississippi river opposite St. Louis. The first locomotive 
in Illinois was put upon the Meredosia & Springfield. railroad Novem- 
ber 8, 1838. 

GOVERNOR CARLIX. 

Gov. Carlin, of Irish' lineage, was elected in 1838, and was a native 
of Kentucky. He came to Illinois from Missouri in 1812. He was a 
commander of a spy battalion in the Black Hawk war. He held 
several public offices. His death occurred in 1852. 

Although some began to see the folly of the system, yet Gov. 
Carlin was decidedly in favor of the state internal improvement 
system. Before a year had passed, however, the governor began to 
change his mind in regard to such a plan. In 1810 the end came. 

* Reynolds' " My Own Times." 



ILLINOIS A STATE. 63 

The state improvement system had proved an absolute failure. Illi- 
nois had not been alone in this species of folly. Several other states 
had learned a like lesson. The state was now in debt, and hard times 
had come. Gov. Ford, speaking of the year 1841, says: "For want 
of full knowledge of her condition abroad, and of the condition of 
other new states in a short time, Illinois and some others in the west 
became a stench in the nostrils of the civilized world. The people at 
home began to wake up in terror ; the people abroad, who wished to 
settle in a new country, avoided Illinois, as they would pestilence and 
famine, and there was great danger that the future emigrants would be 
men who, having no regard for their own characters, would also have 
no regard for the state where they might live. 

An additional trouble came to the people of Illinois when in 
February and in June, 1842, the state bank and the bank at Shaw- 
neetown exploded. Certain ruin seemed impending over this and its 
neighboring states. 

GOVERNOR FORD. 

Thomas Ford was elected governor of Illinois in 1842. He was 
born in Pennsylvania in 1800. His father was killed by the Indians 
in 1802. After his father's death his mother with her family moved 
west and finally settled in Illinois. 

Gov. Ford was quite a good lawyer. As an author, too, he ranked 
quite high. 

Gov. Ford thus sums up the condition of the state at -the time 
he became governor: "The domestic treasury of the state was 
indebted for the ordinary expenses of the government to the amount of 
about $31 3,000. Auditor's warrants on the treasury were selling at fifty 
per cent discount, and there was no money in the treasury whatever, 
not even to pay postage on letters. The annual revenues applicable to 
the payment of ordinary expenses amounted to $130.000. The treasu rv 
was bankrupt ; the revenues were insufficient ; the people were unable 
and unwilling to pay high taxes, and the state had borrowed itself out of 
all credit. A debt of near $14,000,000 had been contracted for canals, 
railroads, and other purposes. The currency of the state had been 
annihilated, and there was not over $200,000 or $300,000 in good 
money in the pockets of the inhabitants, which occasioned a general 
inability to pay taxes. The whole people were indebted to merchants, 
nearly all of whom were indebted to the banks or to foreign 
merchants ; the banks owed everybody, and none were able to pay. 



64: A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

The governor and legislature set themselves to work to extricate 
the state from some of her embarrassments. In spite of many dis- 
couragements success was the outcome. At the close of Gov. Ford's 
administration the state government expenses were reduced from $313,- 
000 to $31,212. The treasury contained $9,260. About $3,000,000 
of the public debt had been liquidated. All this had been done be- 
sides other things not mentioned, so that the credit of the state became 
sufficient to borrow enough money to finish the Illinois fe Michigan 
canal. Mr. Stuve says: "The year 1845 was the turning point in her 
financial embarrassments and marks the beginning of her since una- 
bated prosperity and march to greatness." 

Gov. Ford was certainly the right man in the right place. It would 
be impossible for Illinois to estimate how much of her present pros- 
perity she owes to the genius and fidelity of this honored man. After 
his term of office closed Gov. Ford retired to private life, and during his 
retirement prepared his history of Illinois. Upon his deathbed in 
1850 he placed the manuscript in the hands of Gen. James Shields, 
with the request that he should have it published for the benefit of his 
family. 

GOVERNOR FREJMCH. 

In the election of August, 1846, A. C. French was chosen to suc- 
ceed Gov. Ford. Gov. French was a native of New Hampshire, and 
was born August 2, 1808. His father died when he was young, and 
most of his early education devolved upon his mother, who died when 
her son was but nineteen years old. Notwithstanding his fatherly care 
of four brothers and sisters, he attended Dartmouth College for a time 
and afterward read law, and was admitted to the bar in 1831. After 
this he removed to Illinois and became a warm friend of Stephen A. 
Douglas. After the close of his services as governor he occupied the 
chair of mathematics of McKendrie College at Lebanon. Gov. 
French being, as he was, at the head of the state, found himself equal 
to the emergency, and through his economy, prudence and discretion 
the credit of the state, which had been partially regained by Gov. 
Ford, was completely restored. Stuve says of him : "He was zeal- 
ously devoted to the best interests of the state, ever acting for the 
public good without regard to personal advantage or aggrandizement. " 

When Illinois was admitted into the Union a compact was made by 
which all lands sold within her boundary were exempt from taxation 
for a period of five years after their sale. After several appeals to 



ILLINOIS A STATE. 65 

congress the legislature gained its object, and finally, by act of February 
19, 1847, it was provided that lands were subject to taxation immedi- 
ately after their sale. By this act the revenue of the state was greatly 
increased. 

In 1847 the Northern Cross railroad, now the Wabash, was sold. 
With these and other judicious acts by the governor and legislature the 
state continued in a prosperous condition, and in 1850 "for the first 
time since 1839, the accruing state revenue, exclusive of specific appro- 
priations, was sufficient to meet the current demands upon the treasury." 

It was in 1849 that the legislature passed the first township organi- 
zation act, which was revised in 1851, and again in 1871. 

After repeated advisals in Gov. French's messages, the legislature 
in 1851 passed an act to exempt homesteads from sale on execution. 
Toward the close of his administration quite an excitement was raised 
in Illinois and in the city of St. Louis by the latter's attempting, without 
permission from Illinois, to change the main current of the Mississippi 
river to the St. Louis side by constructing a dyke across the eastern 
channel of the river from Bloody Island to the Illinois side. A com- 
promise, however, was ultimately made and the dyke was completed, 
and East St. Louis is the result. 

In 1849 the Illinois legislature began and kept up for several years 
work on what was known as "State policy." The object of this state 
policy was that Illinois was to fix the termini of all railroads crossing 
the state, and that these should be placed so as not to build up cities of 
other states to the detriment of her own. One of the prime causes 
which first brought forward "state policy" was that Illinois had no 
disposition to assist in building up St. Louis, since it seemed she had 
so lately, in case of the "Bloody Island" dyke, been trying to take 
undue advantage of Illinois. But finally the narrow state policy gave 
place to a more liberal view, and when this was done Illinois had sur- 
mounted another obstruction which had checked her onward progress. 

Congress, in September 1850, granted to Illinois 3,000,000 acres 
of land, for the completion of the Illinois Central railroad, which had 
originally been a part of the state internal improvement system of 
1837. Not only the government, but the state, was vastly benefited 
by the building of this railroad. Immigration increased and the value 
of lands in the vicinity of the railroad advanced rapidly. 

GOVERNOR MATTESON. 

The democracy gained the victory in 1852, and Joel A. Matteson 



66 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

was made governor. He was born in Jefferson county, New York, 
August 8, 1808. He received a common school education, and prior to 
his settling in 1833 in Kendall county, Illinois, he had spent a good 
deal of time in traveling in the east and in the southern states. Upon 
arriving in Kendall county he opened a large farm. In 1836 he moved 
to Joliet, and in 1842 he was elected state senator. 

Gov. Matteson had proved himself a very successful business man, 
and when the helm of the state was placed in his hand, he, by his 
liberal views and sense of justice, was amply fitted for his task. 

Gov. Matteson, in his message, spoke at length upon the increasing 
advancement of the state. He recommended the building of a northern 
penitentiary. He also advocated the adoption of a free-school system ; 
but it was not until 1855 that the law for maintaining free schools was 
passed. 

The educational interests of the state began to advance rapidly 
under the working of the new school system. The proportion of pupils 
attending school increased rapidly, and the wages of teachers were 
advanced. 

During Matteson's administration over $7,000,000 of the public 
debt was paid. The population of Chicago during this time was 
doubled, and about 2,500 miles of railroad were built in Illinois. 

GOVERNOR BISSELL. 

In 1856 Wm. II. Bissell was elected governor. He was born 
April 25, 1811, in Yates county, New York. After gaining a fair 
education he came west and located as a physician in Monroe county, 
Illinois. He soon found that he had mistaken his calling, and so 
began the study and practice of law. In 1840 he was elected to the 
legislature, after which time he was admitted to the bar. In 1846 

o 

he enlisted in the Mexican war, and was elected colonel of his regiment 
and greatly distinguished himself. Upon his return home he was 
elected to congress and served two terms in that office. A disease 
contracted by exposure in the army caused him to be unable to walk 
without crutches. His death occurred in 1860, nearly a year before his 
term of office as governor expired. Mr. Stuve thus quotes from 
Gov. Palmer's funeral oration : "When it is remembered that Win. 
H. Bissell, in the short period of sixteen years, without early educa- 
tional advantages, abandoned, at the mature age of thirty years, one 
profession quitting the dull and laborious routine of a country doctor 
and resolutely turning his attention to the profession of the law, as 



ILLINOIS A STATE. 67 

affording him a wider field for his active imagination and aspiring 
ambition ; attained speedily at the latter eminence as an irresistible 
advocate; distinguished himself as a soldier; as an accomplished 
orator took front rank in the halls of national legislature ; and, as 
the standard-bearer of a new party marching toward national freedom, 
was elevated to the first position of his state by the partiality of a 
grateful and confiding people, his life may be considered a brilliant 
success." 

After Gov. Bissell's inauguration a stormy session of the house 
ensued. Logan made a speech which lasted two days, and which ' ' in 
severity of language excels, perhaps, anything that that gentleman has 
ever uttered." 

Another stormy discussion occurred in 1859 over the apportion- 
ment bill. 

Gov. Bissell made many mistakes while in office which may in part 
be traced to the state of his health. 

It was also in 1859 that the great fraud known as the "Canal 
script fraud" was discovered. The excitement subsequent to the 
discovery was greatly increased by the fact that the feeling of confidence 
and respect, which the people had had for Ex-Gov. Matteson, was 
suddenly reversed. Gov. Matteson, upon his retirement from office, 
was respected very highly indeed, but with the discovery of the frauds 
soon the public opinion was turned against him. 

GOVERNOR 'YATES. 

In 1860 the republicans of Illinois gained a grand victory. Lin- 
coln was elected president of the United States, and Richard Yates 
governor of Illinois. Richard Yates was born January 18, 1818, at 
Warsaw, Gallatin county, Kentucky. His father moved to Sangamon 
county in 1831. In 1837 he graduated with the first honors from the 
Illinois college at Jacksonville. He afterward served three or four 
terms in the legislature. He held the chair of state during the most 
exciting term of four years that our country has ever seen. At this 
time he had the implicit confidence and trust of the people of Illinois, 
and his love for the Union led him to work always in its behalf. He 
gave a ready second to all the military efforts of the state. His procla- 
mations and special messages are noted specially for the depth of feel- 
ing and elegance of expression portrayed. The civil events during 
Governor Yates' administration were not of very great importance. 
The time was mostly taken up by bitter party quarrels. Much party 



68 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

excitement prevailed during the constitutional convention of 1862, 
and again at the last democratic legislature of 1863. 

GOVERNOR OGLESBY. 

Again in 1864 the republicans of Illinois gained a victory and 
Richard J. Oglesby was elected governor. Governor Oglesby was 
born in 1824, in Oldham county, Kentucky. He was left an orphan 
at eight years of age, and when twelve years old came to live with an 
uncle at Decatur, Illinois. Here he, at various times, studied law and 
worked at the carpenter's trade, and at farming. He volunteered 
in the Mexican war, was elected first lieutenant of Co. C, 4th 
Illinois reg., and took part in the battle of Cerro Gordo. He has 
traveled considerably in this country, in Europe, and the Holy Land. 
He was elected state senator in 1860, but when the war broke out he 
was made colonel of the 8th 111. reg. He was distinguished for his 
bravery in battle, and upon his partial recovery from an almost fatal 
wound, he was promoted to a major-generalship. His wound, however, 
led him to retire from active service in less than three months. 

Notwithstanding the great draft of the war upon Illinois at the 
close of rebellion, in prosperity she was the peer of any state in the 
Union. This was the case, although at its beginning times seemed 
unusually hard. 

Peace was made in 1865, and since then the elections in the state 
have, in general, had a republican majority. Ex-Gov. Yates was 
elected to the United States senate in 1865. Illinois was the first to 
ratify the 13th amendment to the constitution of the United States 
abolishing slavery. This legislature gave itself up quite thoroughly to 
the enactment of local and private laws. 

The legislative session of 1867 continued through fifty-three days, 
and a very great amount of work was accomplished. Besides the 
passing of some very important public laws there were great contests 
over the location of the Industrial University, the Southern Peniten- 
tiary and the Capitol. The location of the Industrial University had 
been under discussion for two years, and in order for Illinois to reap 
any benefit from the act passed by congress July 2, 1862, this legisla- 
M're had to decide upon a location. As Champaign county made the 
highest bid the University was located there. 

Another absorbing topic was the new State Capitol building and its 
location. Several cities of Illinois, Peoria, the most earnest, were clamor- 
ing for the seat of government, but Springfield finally triumphed. 



ILLINOIS A STATE. 69 

GOVERNOR PALMER. 

John M. Palmer was elected governor in 1868. He was born in 
Scott county, Kentucky, September 13, 1817. His boyhood days 
were spent mostly in western Kentucky. In 1831 the family removed 
to Madison county, Illinois. In 1834, John, with his brotl^r Elihu, 
entered Alton College and remained about eighteen months. In 1838 
he formed Douglas' acquaintance, and soon after his purpose was h'xed 
to study law. After studying by himself awhile he entered a law 
office at Carlinville. In 1843 he became probate judge, and in 1852 
was elected to the state senate. When the war broke out he volun- 
teered his services and was elected colonel of the 14th regiment. For 
his gallantry at Stone river he was made major-general. In February, 
1865, he was made military governor of Kentucky. 

Gov. Palmer has received great praise as to his abilities as a lawyer 
and as a statesman. 

In 1870 the state constitution was revised. This was an impor- 
tant act and one which had long been needed. s Many very necessary 
changes were made in it, and among other things the fees system to 
officers was done away with and h'xed salaries substituted. The veto 
power of the governor was also strengthened. 

GOVERNOR BEVERIDGE. 

John L. Beveridge was elected lieutenant governor for four years, 
January 10, 1873. On the 23d of January, 1873, Hon. Eich. J. 
Oglesby resigned the office of governor, and on the 29th of the same 
month John L. Beveridge subscribed to the oath of office and entered 
on his duties as 'governor of Illinois. 

GOVERNOR CULLOM. 

In 1876 Shelby M. Cullom was elected to the governor's chair. He 
was born in Wayne county, Kentucky, in 1820, and in 1829 his parents 
moved to Tazewell county. When about twenty years of age he 
became a student in Mount Morris University, where he remained 
nearly two years. He entered the law office of Stuart & Edwards and 
was soon admitted to practice. He held the office of city attorney for 
one year, and in 1856 was elected to the legislature. In 1860 he was 
again elected to the legislature and became speaker of the house. He 
was elected to the 39th congress in 1864, and in 1866 was re-elected to 
the 40th congress, and took prominent part in all matters of public 



TO A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

interest. He was again re-elected, in 1868, to the 41st congress, and 
became one of the leading members of the republican majority. He- 
introduced the bill for the control of polygamy in the territories, 
known as "Cullom's Utah bill." He was elected to the legislature in 
1872, and became speaker of the. house. He was in the legislature 
again in 1874, and was unanimously the choice of the republicans as 
speaker of the house. 



CHAPTER VIII. 

ILLINOIS IN THE MEXICAN WAR. 

"TTTTTHOUT going into all the details connected with the origin of 
V V this war we will simply say that it grew out of the annexation of 
Texas. Texas, after throwing off the Mexican yoke, had been clamoring 
for admittance into the Union for some time. The United States had at 
first declined her admittance, but at the presidential election of 1844 
this was the great issue upon which the people divided. Pope was elected, 
and as he had been brought forward by the party in favor of the admis- 
sion of Texas, there was no longer any hesitation and the "Lone Star 
took its place in the constellation of the states." As soon as congress 
had adopted the resolution to annex Texas, the Mexican minister at 
"Washington left the country. 

The union was completed when, on July 4, 1845, the Texan legis- 
ture ratified the act of annexation. Texas immediately asked the presi- 
dent for an army for protection. Accordingly, Gen. Zachary Taylor 
was sent to occupy Texas. Mexico, in rearranging her civil adminis- 
tration after the revolution of 1821, had united two frontier states east 
of the Rio Grande. Texas having gained independence naturally 
claimed Coahuila. Mexico also claimed the state and insisted that 
the river Neuces should be the dividing line, while Texas claimed the 
Rio Grande as the dividing line. Mexico scornfully refused the United 
States' proposition to settle the difficulty by negotiation, and accord-' 
ingly it was felt that the Mexicans were in the wrong, and Gen. Taylor 
was ordered to advance as near as possible to the Rio Grande river. He 
therefore established a camp in November. 1845, at Corpus Cliristi. 
On the 9th of the next March the army began its march to the Rio 
Grande. Gen. Arista, having arrived at Matamoras and taken com- 



ILLINOIS IN THE MEXICAN WAK. 71 

mand of the Mexican forces on the frontier, notified Gen. Taylor, on 
April 26, that hostilities had begun, and on the same day a body of 
American troops was attacked by the Mexicans east of the Rio Grande. 
Upon the report of this attack reaching "Washington, congress, with 
unusual alacrity, passed an act declaring war, appropriated $10,000,000 
to carry on the war and authorized the president to accept 50,000 vol- 
unteers, to serve in the war. 

A call was soon made for volunteers. The western and southern 
states were expected to furnish the greater part of the men. Illinois 
was required to furnish three regiments of infantry or riflemen. The 
enlistments were for twelve months, and the selection of officers was- 
left to the volunteers in accordance with the state militia laws. Gov- 
Ford, as commander-in-chief of the state militia, on May 25 issued 
his order to the militia officers to aid in both raising and organizing the 
regiments. The people of Illinois responded readily to this call, and 
great patriotism was soon manifest in various parts of the state. 
Martial music and patriotic speeches did their full share in rousing the 
people to their country's need. Thirty-five companies were organized 
in ten days' time, and there were forty companies more than the 
requisition required by the middle of June. As there were so many 
more companies than the requisition required many of the volunteers- 
were disappointed. As soon as thirty full companies were in uniform 
they were ordered to attend the place of rendezvous. 

On the 2d of July the first regiment of Illinois volunteers was orga* 
ized. It consisted of two battalions, each of which was composed of 
five companies, commanded by five captains. Gen. J. J. Ilardin was 
elected colonel. Capt. Wm. Weatherford was elected lieutenant- 
colonel and W. B. Warren, major. 

The second regiment was organized and Wm. II. Bissell was elected 
colonel, Capt. J. L. D. Morrison, lieutenant-colonel, and Capt. H. F. 
Trail, major. The third regiment was organized with Capt. Forman, 
W. W. Wiley, lieutenant-colonel, and Sam. D. Marshall, major. The 
first regiment numbered 877 men ; the second, 892 ; and the third, 
906. The men presented a very fine appearance and there was but 
very little intoxication among them. 

The secretary of war gave authority to Hon. E. D. Baker to raise 
another regiment of Illinois volunteers. It was composed of ten 
companies. E. D. Baker was elected colonel, Ex-Lieut. -Go v. John 
Moore, of McLain, lieutenant-colonel, and Capt. T. L. Harris, major. 
With such preparation, Illinois, having raised a larger number of vol- 



72 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

miteers than any other state in the Union, was ready to begin work 
in the Mexican war. 

The American forces, for the purpose of invading Mexico, were 
organized into three divisions. The Army of the West was under Gen. 
Kearney, and was sent to conquer the northern provinces of Mexico. 
Gen. Scott commanded the Army of the Center, and was to march 
from the Gulf into the center of Mexico. Gen. Taylor, who com- 
manded the Army of Occupation, was to subdue the country about the 
Rio Grande. 

Instead of the Illinois regiments all being formed into one brigade, 
as many had desired, the first and second, under Gen. Wool, were sent 
to join the Army of the Center, while the third and fourth were assigned 
to the Army of Occupation. The first and second started down the 
Mississippi from Alton, July 17, and disembarked on Mattagorda Bay. 
They started on their march across the tropical country to the San 
Antonio on the llth of August. The northern men were almost over- 
come by the heat. On the 26th of September the army started on 
from San Antonio, crossed the Rio Grande at San Juan, after which 
the troops continued in a circuitous route to Monclova. Here they 
halted a month, and then the line of march to Parras was taken up. 
After some ten or twelve days' stay at this place, Gen. Wool left 
Pan-as* to station himself at Agua Nueva, in the probable route of 
Santa Anna, who, it was thought, contemplated a descent, not only 
ilpon Saltillo, distant twenty miles from Agua Neuva, but upon all the 
ground for which the Army of Occupation had fought. Gen. Taylor 
now joined Gen. Wool at Agua Neuva, and on February 22, 1847, at 
the "Narrows," near the pass of Buena Vista, between Agua Neuva 
and Saltillo, was begun the most important battle of the war. In honor 
of the day Gen. Wool's troops' watchword was "The memory of 
Washington." Who will doubt but the memory of Washington was 
a grand stimulus to the Americans in this battle? Our Illinois men 
did nobly at Buena Yista, and many of the officers fell, among which 
were Cols. Hardin and McKee. Twenty-nine were killed out of the 
first and (>2 out of the second regiments. After long and severe 
fighting on both sides, the Mexican forces retreated and the Americans 
bore the crown of victory. 

The third and fourth Illinois regiments started down the Mississippi 
river the latter part of July, and arrived at its destination, Carnargo, 
in the latter part of September. Upon landing at Vera Cruz, Gen. 
Shields' brigade, which consisted of the third and fourth regiments 



ILLINOIS IN THE MEXICAN WAR. 73 

from Illinois and one from New York, with Gen. Pillow's brigade, 
succeeded in causing the Mexicans to retreat almost precipitately before 
them as they advanced. The complete investment of the city was 
made in a few days 1 time, but it was some weeks when, after a bom- 
bardment of some four or live days, the city surrendered. 

On April 12, after a four days' march, Gen. Scott's army reached 
the pass of Cerro Gordo, where Santa Anna had concentrated a force of 
15,000 men after the battle of Buena Vista. Santa Anna had so 
fortified this pass, that Gen. Scott considered their only chance of 
advancement to consist in cutting a new road which would unite with 
the national road in the rear of the enemy. The persistent Americans 
were equal to this difficult and unexpected labor, and the road was 
nearly completed ere the enemy was aware of it. After the comple- 
tion of this road Gen. Shields brigade of Illinois and New York 
regiments, in the midnight darkness, performed the difficult task of 
lifting up "hundreds of feet," to the top of a height, a twenty -four 
pound battery. 

The battle- of Cerro Gordo resulted in another victory for the 
Americans, and it proved to be one of the most important in the war. 
Gen. Scott now had almost an open road to the capital of Mexico. 
This was the last battle in which Illinois troops took part. Throughout 
the entire time they were out, the Illinois troops did their part bravely 
and well. They have had much deserved praise showered upon them. 
All the Illinois troops returned home about the same time. Col. 
Hardin's remains were brought back and interred at Jacksonville. 
A six-pound gun was taken by the Illinois troops from near Santa 
Anna's headquarters at Cerro Gordo. It is now in the arsenal at 
Springfield and serves as a trophy of the Mexican war. 

Previous to the return home of the Illinois troops two other regi- 
ments were raised. The fifth Illinois regiment was organized at Alton 
June 8, ISttT, with E. W. B. ISewby as colonel. Its destination was 
Santa Fe. Upon reaching Santa Fe, the war being almost over, the 
fifth Illinois regiment had no conflict with the enemy. 

A sixth Illinois regiment was organized, with Capt. Collins as 
colonel, very soon after the organization of the fifth Illinois regiment. 
A division was made in the regiment, the first battalion being sent to 
Vera Cruz while the second did only garrison duty at Tampico. The 
first battalion did no fighting except some little skirmishes with Mexican 
guerrillas. Both battalions lost many men by sickness. 

Several companies of cavalry were raised, and others authorized to 
6 



74: A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

be raised, when the report of the fall of the city of Mexico came. 
The treaty of peace between the two nations was concluded at Guada- 
lupe, Hidalgo, February 2, 1848. The rivers Rio Grande and Gila 
were fixed as the principal boundaries between the countries, and at 
last the United States extended from ocean to ocean. 



CHAPTER IX. 

ILLINOIS IN THE LATE WAR. 

"Oh, gales that dash th' Atlantic's swell, 

Along our rocky shore ! 
Whose thunders diapasons well 
New England's glad hurrahs. 

'' Bear to the prairies of the west 

The echoes of our joy, 
The prayer that springs in every breast 
'God bless thee Illinois!' 

"Oh! awful hours, when grape and shell 

Tore through th' unflinching line ; 
'Stand firm, remove the men who fell, 
Close up, and wait the sign.' 

"It came at last, 'Now, lads, the steel! ' 

The rushing hosts deploy ; 
'Charge, boys!' the broken traitors reel 
Huzza for Illinois ! 

"In vain thy rampart, Donelson, 

The living torrent bars ; 
It leaps the wall, the fort is won, 
Up go the stripes and stars. 

" Thy proudest mother's eyelids fill 

As dares her gallant boy, 
And Plymouth Rock and Bunker Hill 
Yearn to thee Illinois."* 

SUCH was the tribute to Illinois patriotism extended by a New Eng- 
land man upon hearing of the noble deeds of her (Illinois) soldiers 
at Fort Donelson. Illinois has well earned her tributes, and we are 
proud to acknowledge her, in ardor of patriotism, second to no state in 

* " Patriotism of Illinois." 



ILLINOIS IN THE LATE WAK. 75 

the Union. In giving our prominence to Illinois in this article, we have 
no desire to underrate her sister states. Illinois is not the only state 
that stands to the front with her record of noble deeds. Illinois, in 
common with the other states of the northwestern territory, had, in the 
ordinance of 1787, designated her views in regard to slavery ; so when 
that great issue came up, previous to the great rebellion, she still was 
for anti-slavery ; and when finally the amendment making slavery 
forever impossible in the United States was passed, Illinois was the 
first of all the states to telegraph her approval to congress. 

Slavery was the primary cause which led to the great civil war. 
The southern states, fearing that their institution of slavery would 
ultimately be overruled by the opposers to slavery in the north, 
resolved to secede from the Union. 

After the bombardment of Fort Sumter, the first act in the 
drama of the rebellion, President Lincoln immediately issued a procla- 
mation calling for 75,000 volunteers. Gov. Yates was informed that 
the quota of Illinois was six regiments, and on April 15, 1861, he 
issued the following proclamation : 

"I Richard Yates, governor of the State of Illinois, by virtue of the 
authority vested in me by the constitution, hereby convene the legisla- 
ture of the state, and the members of the twenty-second general assembly 
are hereby required to be and appear in their respective places in the 
capitol on Tuesday, April 23, 1861, for the purpose of enacting such 
laws and adopting such measures as may be deemed necessary upon 
the following subjects : The more perfect organization and equipment 
of the militia of the state, and placing the same on the best footing to 
render assistance to the general government in preserving the Union, 
enforcing the laws and protecting the property and rights of the people ; 
also, the raising of such money and other means as may be required to 
carry out the foregoing object, and also to provide for the expense of 
such sessions." 

Enlistments began immediately after the call for troops was made, 
and in ten days 10.000 volunteers had oifered their services, and near 
one million of money was offered for the cause of liberty. Only six 
regiments, however, could be accepted according to the quota, and these 
were designated by beginning with the number seven, in respect to the 
six regiments that served in the Mexican war. This entire force was 
styled the First Brigade of Illinois Volunteers. There were many 
more men than were accepted, and it is said that some of them wept 
when refused admission. By the time there was need for more troops 



70 A URIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

the law provided that each congressional district should furnish one 
regiment. Over 200 companies volimteed at once, and from this 
number the necessary force was accepted. Under the next call for 
men only six regiments were again the quota for Illinois, and the patri- 
otic state sent a messenger to Washington urging the acceptance of 
the entire force, which was ultimately done. At the close of the first 
year of the war, Illinois had in instruction over 17,000 men; had sent 
to the field about 50,000, thus exceeding her quota about 15,000. 

In 1862, when the call for 300,000 volunteers came, and later, 
when 300,000 militia was wanted, Illinois was again enthusiastic, and 
the adjutant-general heard from all parts of the state a demand for 
the privilege of volunteering, that the draft might be avoided. .It fol- 
lowed that in a very short time a great many volunteers w r ere to be 
raised, and these must come principally from the farmers and mechan- 
ics of the state. -'The farmers. were in the midst of harvest, and it 
is no exaggeration to say that, inspired by, a holy zeal, animated by a 
common purpose, and firmly resolved on rescuing the government from 
the very brink of ruin, and restoring it to the condition our fathers left 
it, that over 50,00.0 of them left their harvests ungathered, their 
tools and their benches, the plows in their, furrows, and turning then- 
backs on their homes, the demands of the government w r ere met, 
and both quotas were tilled. Proud, indeed, was the day to all Illi- 
noisans when the announcement was made that the enlistment was 
full ; and when the historian shall record the eventful days of August, 
1862, no prouder record can be erected to the honor and memory of 
a free people than a plain and full narrative of actual realities. When 
I remember the patriotism and unselfish impulse which animated every 
soul, and the universal liberality of those who were either too young 
or too old to enlist, to aid those who were 1 eager to join their brethren 
in the field ; when I remember the holy ardor which aged mothers and 
fair daughters infused into husbands, sons and brothers, I say, when 
I remember all these things, I cannot but feel justified in departing 
from the dull routine of statistics and bestow upon the subject this 
parting notice." 

After the last call for troops, on December 19, 186-1, permission 
was granted for the state to raise ten additional regiments. Many of 
the persons who had distinguished themselves in the war began each 
to raise a single company. Volunteers came in rapidly until April 
13, 1865, when recruiting ceased throughout the United States, and 
at this time Illinois only lacked 4,896 of completing her quota. This 



ILLINOIS IN THE LATK WAR. 77 

number would soon have been raised had not the close of the war 
made it unnecessary. 

The two principal camps in Illinois were those of Camp Butler, 
situated near Springfield, and Camp Douglas, of Chicago. Both 
places were provided with the necessary equipments for an extensive 
encampment, and it was from these camps, especially the former, 
that volunteers were prepared for, and sent into, the army, and that 
troops were mustered out of service. Prisoners were also kept at 
these camps. The site of Camp Butler now forms a part of a national 
cemetery. 

Illinois had some trouble in obtaining arms for use during the war. 
At one time a messenger returned from Washington with orders to ob- 
tain 10,000 muskets from the arsenal at St. Louis. This was a difficult 
thing to do, as St. Louis was filled with traitors, but Capt. Stokes, of 
Chicago, volunteered to undertake the hazardous work. Capt. Stokes 
ordered a steamer down from Alton to reach the arsenal in the middle 
of one night. With some difficulty the muskets were seized and the 
steamer passed the secession battery and reached Alton by five o'clock in 
the morning. Fearing that he would be pursued, Capt. Stokes, as 
soon as he landed, rushed to the fire-bell and rang it with such vigor 
that the citizens came en masse to the river. Upon hearing the state of 
affairs, men, women and children began unloading the steamer and 
climbed up the levee with the freight to the cars. With these arms, 
thus narrowly rescued from the enemy, the first regiments of the state 
were made ready for the war. 

It will be impossible in this work to go into detail and speak of the 
battles participated in by the memfrom Illinois. Suffice it to say that 
her sons did her credit wherever they were. " How much the nation 
is indebted to Illinois for the auspicious termination of the war may 
be inferred from the fact that in the two great movements which 
severed the insurgent states, and so greatly paralyzed their efforts, her 
soldiers were more largely represented than those of any other mem- 
ber of the Union. Furthermore, we must place on the credit side of 
her balance sheet a large amount of legal talent, superior generalship 
and executive ability ; for Trumbull was our lawyer, Grant our soldier, 
and Lincoln our president. " 

After the grand review of the armies of the east and west, on Penn- 
sylvania avenue, in Washington, the " mighty host v dispersed, and by 
regiments, returned to their homes. A joyous welcome home did Illi- 
nois give to her brave and honored victors in the great struggle. 



78 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

Brilliant receptions were prepared for them and happy greetings were 
being exchanged everywhere. But alas ! there were some who did 
not return for their welcome greeting. They died in their brave efforts 
in behalf of the honor and glory of their country, and passed to the 
home above, where their greeting is now waiting for the friends left 
behind. 



CHAPTER X. 

ORGANIZATION AND CONSTRUCTION OF THE PRINCIPAL RAILROADS 

OF ILLINOIS.* 

THE Baltimore and Ohio and Chicago railroad was organized as the 
Baltimore, Pittsburgh and Chicago Railway Company, March 13, 
1872, and in 1877 was changed to the present name. It was put in 
operation November 17, 1874, from junction of the Illinois Central 
railroad to Chicago Junction, Ohio, a distance of 262.5 miles. The 
proportion of the road in Illinois is 5.90 miles. 

The Cairo and St. Louis railroad was chartered February 16, 1865, 
and the main line was put in operation from East St. Louis to Cairo 
March 1, 1875 a distance of 151|- miles. The road had been oper- 
ated, however, as construction progressed, for two years previous. The 
aggregate length of all its tracks in Illinois is 161 miles. 

The Cairo and Vincennes railway was organized under the general 
railroad laws of Illinois, July 9, 1880. The length of the main line, 
from Cairo, Illinois, to Vincennes, Indiana, is 157+ miles, 150+ miles 
of which are in Illinois. 

The Chicago and Alton Railroad Company was organized at 
Chicago on October 16, 1862. The original name of this company was 
the "Alton and Sangamon Railroad Company," and the date of the 
original charter was February 27, 1847. At the time of the fourth act 
of amendment, June 19, 1852, the name was changed to Chicago and 
Mississippi Railroad Company, and at the third amendment after this 
change, and on Febrilary 14, 1855, the name was changed to the 
Chicago, Alton and St. Louis Railroad Company. By an act of Janu- 
ary 21, 1857, the name was changed to St. Louis, Alton and Chicago 
Railway Company, whose railroad and property was acquired by the 
Chicago and Alton Railroad Company. 

* From " Report of the RR. and W. Commission, 1881.". 



ORGANIZATION AND CONSTRUCTION OF RAILROADS. 79 

On April 5, 18TO, this company purchased the unfinished road of 
the "Hamilton, Lacon and Eastern Railroad Company," and on Sep- 
tember 5, 1879, the road and branch road of the Chicago and Illinois 
River Railroad Company was purchased. The former road was incor- 
porated March 7, 1867, and the latter February 28, 1867. The follow- 
ing roads have been leased to the Chicago and Alton Railroad Com- 
pany : The road of the Joliet and Chicago Railroad Company, incor- 
porated February 15, 1855 ; the road of the Alton and St. Louis 
Railroad Company, incorporated February 4, 1859 ; the road of the 
St. Louis, Jacksonville and Chicago Railroad Company ; the road of 
the Louisiana and Missouri River Railroad Company, incorporated 
March 10, 1859 ; and the roads of the Kansas City, St. Louis and 
Chicago Railroad Company. 

The length of the main line of the Chicago and Alton road, from 
Chicago to East St. Louis, is 280.70 miles. The branch lines in Illi- 
nois aggregate 295.58 miles in length, while the aggregate length of all 
the tracks, including sidings, double tracks, etc., is 754.17 miles. The 
number of stations in Illinois is one hundred and fifteen. 

The Chicago, Burlington and Quincy railroad, with its branches, is 
made up of several short lines. The Chicago and Aurora Railroad 
Company, which was first chartered June 22, 1851, and the Central 
Military Tract Company united their roads July 9, 1856, and formed 
the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy railroad. This company owns 
several branch roads, and the aggregate length of the main lines and 
branch roads in Illinois is 1,131+ miles, and there are one hundred 
and sixty-eight stations in this state. 

The Chicago and Eastern railroad was first organized as the Chicago, 
Danville and Yincennes railroad, and was chartered February 16, 1865. 
Several changes and consolidations have been made in connection with 
the road, the last of which was on March 8, 1881, when the Chicago 
and Eastern Illinois railroad and Danville and Grape Creek railroad 
consolidated as the Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad Company. 
The aggregate length of track in Illinois is 177 miles, and the number 
of stations is thirty-five. 

The Chicago and Grand Trunk Railway Company was formed by 
the consolidation of a number of railways under the laws of Michigan, 
Indiana and Illinois. The consummation of these consolidations was 
made April 7, 1880, and the present name was given to the corpora- 
tion. Only 34.89 miles of the track lie within Illinois, but there are 
fifteen stations. 



80 A BEIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

The Chicago and Iowa railroad was put in operation May, 1872, 
and was formed by the consolidation of the Ogle and Carroll County 
and the Chicago and Iowa railroads. The former was chartered 
February 18, 1857, and the latter March 30, 1869. The aggregate 
length of track in Illinois, including the leased line from Flagg Center 
to Rockford, is 115.93 miles, and there are twenty-two stations. 

The Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railway was organized on 
May 5, 1863, under the name of the Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway 
Company. The present name was given it on February 11, 1874. 
There are 295.77 miles of the track and seventy-four stations in Illi- 
nois. 

The present Chicago and Northwestern railway was begun in 1848 
by the Galena and Chicago Union Railroad Company, under a charter 
which dated January 16, 1836. The Chicago and Northwestern Rail- 
way Company was organized June 7, 1859. Many purchases, leases 
and consolidations have been made, and now the company owns 636.25 
miles of track in Illinois, along which there are one hundred and 
twenty-one stations. 

The Chicago, Pekin and Southwestern Railroad Company owns 
92 miles of track in this state, and there are nineteen stations on the 
road. 

The Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway Company was formed 
August 20, 1866, by the consolidation of the Chicago, Rock Island 
and Pacific Railroad Company, of Iowa, which was chartered February 
7, 1851, and the Rock Island and La Salle Railroad Company, which 
was chartered February 27, 1847. The main line from Chicago to 
Rock Island was put in operation July 10, 1854. This company 
operates 397.51 miles of track, in Illinois, along which there are fifty- 
four stations. 

The Chicago and Western Indiana Railroad Company was organ- 
ized June 6, 1879. This line was open for operation to Twelfth street, 
Chicago, in December, 1880. It is made use of as a terminus into the 
city by the Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railway Company, Chicago 
and Grand Trunk Railroad Company, and the "YV abash, St. Louis and 
Pacific Railway Company. In all there are only 48.38 miles of track 
and eleven stations in Illinois. 

The Cincinnati, Indianapolis, St. Louis and Chicago railway, in 
addition to several other roads, operates the Cincinnati, La Fayette and 
Chicago railroad, 33.05 miles of which is in Illinois. 

The Danville, Olney and Ohio River railroad was chartered March 



ORGANIZATION AND CONSTRUCTION OF RAILROADS. 81 

10, 1869, and was built first a narrow gauge, but was changed to the 
standard gauge. The length is 52.02 miles and there are fifteen, 
stations. , 

The Danville and Southwestern railroad was chartered March 23, 
1869, under the name of the Paris and Danville Railroad Company. 
The road was put in operation from Danville to Paris in 1872. There 
are 108.57 miles of track and thirty-three stations in Illinois. 

The East St. Louis and Carondelet railway exists under a charter 
approved February 18, 1857. The main line was put in operation 
September 26, 1872, and the name was changed to the present one 
April 19, 1873. The aggregate length of tracks is 13.50 miles. 

The East St. Louis connecting railway was put in operation Octo- 
ber 28, 1879. The articles of incorporation were filed with the secre- 
tary of state of Illinois January 4, 187j. There are but 3.30 miles of 
track in the road. 

The Fulton County Narrow Gauge Railway Company was organized 
in the month of August, 1878, and the w r hole line was put in operation 
in December. 1880. The length of the track, from Havana, Illinois, 
to Fairview, Illinois, is 28.05 miles, and there are six stations. 

The Grand Tower Mining, Manufacturing and Transportation 
Company was named April 9, 1869. An act to incorporate the Mount 
Carbon Coal Company was dated January 24,- 1835. The name was 
changed from the Mount Carbon Railroad Company to present name 
on the date above mentioned, and the main line began operation in 
1866. The length of all tracks is 31 miles, and the number of stations 
is six. 

The Havana, Rantoul and Eastern Railway Company, which was 
organized January 11, 1873, after several consolidations with other 
roads, was merged into the W abash system May 1, 1881. The length 
of the main line in Illinois is 67.5 miles, and the number of stations 
is eighteen. 

The Illinois Central railroad was originally chartered February 10, 

1851, and the first portion of the road was put in operation May 2-4, 

1852. A number of consolidations and leases have been made and 
now the road operates 1,108.33 miles of track in Illinois, along which 
there are two hundred and four stations. ' 

The Illinois Midland railway is a consolidation of several railways. 
The first portion of the road was chartered February 18, 1861. The 
length of the entire track in Illinois is 179+ miles, and there are thirty- 
eight stations. 



S2 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

The main line of the Illinois and St. Louis Railroad Company was 
put in operation April, 1871. There are thirteen stations in Illinois, 
and the aggregate length of track is 26 miles. 

The present company took possession of the Indiana, Bloomington 
and Western railway August 9, 1879. In March, 1881, this company 
was consolidated with the Ohio, Indiana and Pacific Railroad Company. 
The company leases some roads. The entire length of track in Illinois 
is 144.37 miles, arid there are thirty stations. 

The Indianapolis, Decatur and Springfield Railway Company is a 
consolidation of two companies chartered under the name of Indiana 
and Illinois Railroad Company. The final consolidation, by which the 
present company's full possession was effected, was made November 
16, 1875. There are 80.27 miles of track and thirteen stations in 
Illinois. 

The Indianapolis and St. Louis railway operates 218 miles of track 
in Illinois, along which are forty-four stations. 

The Jacksonville Southeastern Railway Company was organized 
June 28, 1879. The company operates 56.78 miles of track, along 
which are thirteen stations. 

The Lake Erie and Western Railway Company was organized Janu- 
ary 1, 1880, by the consolidation of a number of roads, and operates 
87.06 miles of track in Illinois. There are seventeen stations in this 
state. 

The first charter for any portion of the Lake Shore and Michigan 
Southern Railway Company was granted April 22, 1835. This present 
company was formed in 1869, by the consolidation of several com- 
panies. The length of track in Illinois is 54.50, while there are seven 
stations. 

The present Louisville, New Albany and St. Louis Railway Company 
was formed by the consolidation of two companies August 15, 1878. 
There are 18 miles of track and six stations in Illinois. 

The Louisville and Nashville railroad was incorporated by an act of 
the Kentucky legislature, approved March 5, 1850. It controls many 
branch roads and operates 207.3 miles of track in Illinois. There are 
seventy stations in Illinois. 

_ The date of the original charter of the Michigan Central Railroad 
Company is March 28, 1846. The building of the road, however, was 
begun by the Detroit and St. Joseph Railroad Company. The com- 
pany controls several roads under leases, and operates 67.44 miles in 
Illinois. The number of stations in Illinois is ten. 



ORGANIZATION AND CONSTRUCTION OF RAILROADS. 83 

The Moline and Southeastern Narrow Gauge Railway Company was 
organized March 27, 1878, and the construction of the road was com- 
menced in September, 1878. There are but ten miles of track and two 
stations in Illinois. 

The original charter for the Ohio and Mississippi railroad in Illinois 
was granted February 12, 1861. The company operates several branch 
lines, and the aggregate length of track operated in Illinois is 417.62 
miles. The number of stations in Illinois is eighty-five. 

The Pennsylvania company operates 52.72 miles of track in Illinois, 
along which are seven stations. 

The road now owned by the Peoria, Decaturand Evan sville Railway 
Company was commenced in 1869. Several consolidations and leases 
liave been made by the present company. The aggregate length of 
track is 220.1 miles, and the number of stations in Illinois is fifty-three. 
The original charter of the Peoria, Pekin and Jacksonville Railroad 
Company was approved June 11, 1861. Several changes have been 
made in the property of the company, and since December 15, 1879, 
the road has been operated under the present name, but the reorganiza- 
tion is not yet complete. There are, twenty-two stations in this state, 
and the aggregate length of the track is 83+ miles. 

The Peoria and Pekin Union Railway Company was organized Sep- 
tember 28, 1878, and the line was put in operation by this company 
February 1, 1881. It also operates some leased track. The company 
operates 33.09 miles of track, along which are four stations. 

The Pittsburgh, Cincinnati and St. Louis Railway Company operates 
43.7 miles of track in Illinois. 

The Rock Island and Mercer County railroad was organized in 
May, 1876, and was constructed the same year. The aggregate length 
of track is 28.85 miles, and there are six stations. 

The present Rock Island and Peoria Railway Company was organized 
October 9, 1877. The company operates 95.5 miles of track in Illinois. 

The St. Louis, Alton and Terre Haute Railroad Company was 
incorporated June 24, 1872, under an act approved February 28, 1861. 
It has control of several branch roads, while a part of the road is leased 
to the Indianapolis and St. Louis Railroad Company. The aggregate 
length of track in Illinois is 355 miles, and there are forty-five stations. 

The St. Louis Coal Railroad Company was organized October 15, 
1879, and the main line was completed August, 1880. It operates, 
under lease, the railroad between Carbon dale and Marion. The entire 
length of track is^29 miles, and the number of stations seven. 



, 84 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

The Rockford, Rock Island and St. Louis railroad was sold to the 
St. Louis, Rock Island and Chicago Railroad Company. This road 
was then sold to and is now operated as a branch of the Chicago, 
Burlington and Quincv railroad. The entire length of all the tracks is 
344+ miles, and there are sixty-one stations in the state. 

The Springfield, EfKngham and Southeastern Railway Company 
was formed by the consolidation of two other companies. The aggre- 
gate length of track is 58.75 miles, and there are eleven stations along; 
the road. 

The original charter of the Springfield and Northwestern company 
was dated March 24, 1869. The main line was put in operation 
December, 1874. The Wabasli company is now operating the road. 
The aggregate length of tracks is 47.7 miles, and there are nine stations 
on the road. 

The Sycamore, Cortland and Chicago Railroad Company took the 
present name in 1877. The road was chartered in 1858 under the 
Sycamore and Cortland Railway Company. There are but 6.90 miles- 
in the track. 

The Terre Haute and Indianapolis Railroad Company was named 
March 6, 1865. It was incorporated January 26, 1847, under the 
name of Terre Haute and Richmond Railroad Company. This road 
operates 188.03 miles of track in Illinois, upon which there are thirty- 
nine stations. 

The Toledo, Peoria and Warsaw railroad is owned and operated by 
the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific Railway Company. The aggregate 
length of track in Illinois is 281.87 miles. 

The Union Stock Yards and Transit Company, of Chicago, was 
organized under a charter of February 13, 1865, by which it was 
required to construct a railway from the yards so as to connect the 
same with all the tracks of railroads which terminate in Chicago' 
between the lake sb,ore and southwest corner of the city. The length 
of track now constructed and used for that purpose is about 45 
miles. The above named company has no organization as a railroad 
company, and operates no railroad, but owns and keeps in repair the 
above-mentioned track. 

The AV abash, Chester and Western Railroad Company was organ- 
ized February 20, 1878, and is formed by the consolidation and pur- 
chase of several roads. The aggregate length of track is 45.55 miles 
and the number of stations fifteen. 

The Wabasli, St. Louis and Pacific Railway Company is a con soli- 



OFFICERS OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS. 85 

elation of several companies. The Great Western Railway Company 
was organized in 1859 and the Toledo and Wabash railway was organized 
inr!S62. These two roads consolidated in 1865 and took the name of 
Toledo Wabash and Western railway. This railway was placed in 
the hands of a receiver in 1875, and in February, 1877, the Wabash 
Railway Company acquired the property of the Toledo, Wabash and 
Western railway. November 10, 1879, the Wabash railway con- 
solidated with the St. Louis, Kansas City and Northern railway, 
taking the name of the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific Railway Com- 
pany. The aggregate length of track belonging to this company in 
Illinois is 1,265.68 miles, and there are two hundred and eighty-four 
stations. 



OFFICERS OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS. 



ILI.IXOIS TERRITORY. 

Date of Commission or 
Inauguration. 

Nathaniel Pope Secretary of Territory March 7, 1809. 

Ninian Edwards Governor April 24, 1809. 

H. H. Maxwell Auditor Public Accounts 1816. 

Dan. P. Cook. Auditor Public Accounts January 13, 1816. 

Joseph Phillips Secretary December 17, 1816. 

Robert Blackwell Auditor Public Accounts April 5, 1817. 

Elijah C. Berry Auditor Public Accounts August 29, 181.7. 

John Thomas '. Treasurer 1818. 

ILLINOIS STATE. 

Shadrach Bond Governor '. . . . .October 6, 1818. 

Pierre Menard Lieutenant-Governor October 6, 1818. 

Elias J. Kane Secretary of State , . . .October 6, 1818. 

Elias ( '. Berry Auditor Public Accounts. . . , 1818. 

John Thomas Treasurer 1818. 

Robert K. McLaujihlin Treasurer .August 2, 1819. 

Edward Coles. . . . : Governor December, 1822. 

Adolphus F. Hubbard Lieutenant-* J-uvernor December, 1822. 

Sam. I). Luck wood Secretary of State December 18, 1822. 

Abner Field Treasurer January 14, 1823. , 

David Blackwell Secretary of State April 2, 182:5. 

Morris Birbeck Secretary of State October !">, 1824 

G fnnie Forquer Secretary of State January 1"), 182-">. 

Xiniaii Edwards Governor December, 1826. 

AVm. Kinney Lieutenant-Governor December, 1826. 

James Hall Treasurer February 12, 1827. 



86 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

Alexander P. Field Secretary of State January 23, 1829. 

John Reynolds Governor December 9, 1830. 

Zadock Casey Lieutenant-Governor December 9, 1830. 

John Dement Treasurer February 5, 1831. 

James T. B. Stapp Auditor Public Accounts August 27, 1831. 

Joseph Duncan Governor December, 1834. 

Alexander M.Jenkins Lieutenant-Governor December, 1834. 

Levi Davis Auditor Public Accounts November, 1835. 

Charles Gregory Treasurer December 5, 1836. 

John D. Whiteside Treasurer March 4, 1837. 

Thomas Carlin Governor December, 1838. 

Stinson H. Anderson Lieutenant-Governor December, 1838. 

Stephen A. Douglas Secretary of State November 30, 1840- 

Lyman Trumbull Secretary of State March 1, 1841. 

Milton Carpenter Treasurer March, 1841. 

James Shields Auditor Public Accounts March, 1841. 

Thomas Ford Governor December 8, 1842. 

John Moore Lieutenant-Governor December 8, 1842. 

Thomas Campbell Secretary of State March 6, 1843. 

Wni. L. D. Ewing Auditor Public Accounts March 6, 1843. 

Thomas H. Campbell Auditor Pub. Accts. (fill vacancy) March 26, 1846. 

Aug. C. French Governor December 9, 1846. 

Joseph B. Wells Lieutenant-Governor December 9, 1846. 

Horace S. Cooley Secretary of State December 23, 1846. 

John Moore Treasurer (vacancy) August 14, 1848. 

Wni. McMurtry Lieutenant-Governor January, 1849. 

David L. Gregg Secretary of State (vacancy) April 3, 1850. 

Joel A. Matteson Governor January, 1853. 

Gustavus Koerner Lieutenant-Governor January, 1853. 

Alex. Starne Secretary of State January, 1853. 

Ninian W. Edwards Superintendent Pub. Inst March 24, 1854. 

Wm. H. Bissell Governor January 12, 1857. 

John Wood Lieutenant-Governor January 12, 1857. 

Ozias M. Hatch Secretary State January 12, 1857.. 

Jesse K. Dubois Auditor Public Accounts .January 12, 1857. 

James Miller Treasurer January 12, 1857. 

Wm. H. Powell Superintendent Public Inst January 12, 1857. 

Newton Bateman Superintendent Public Inst January 10, 1859. 

Wm. Butler Treasurer (vacancy) September 3, 1859.. 

Eich. Yates Governor January 14, ]861. 

Francis A. Hoffman Lieutenant Governor January 14, 1861. 

Ozias M. Hatch Secretary State January 14, 1861. 

Jesse K. Dubois Auditor Public Accounts January 14, 1861. 

Wm. Butler Treasurer January 14, 1861. 

Newton Bateman Superintendent. Public Inst January 14, 1861. 

Alexander Starne Treasurer January 12, 1863. 

John P. Brooks Superintendent Public Inst January 12, 1863. 

Rich. J. Oglesby Governor January 16, 1865. 

Wm. Bross Lieutenant Governor January 16, 1865.. 



OFFICERS OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS. 8T 

Sharon Tyndale Secretary State January 16, 1865. 

Orlin H. Miner Auditor Public Accounts December 12, 1864. 

James Beveridge Treasurer January 9, 1865. 

Newton Bateman Superintendent Public Inst January 10, 1865. 

Geo. W. Smith Treasurer January 10, 1867. 

Jno. M. Palmer Governor January 11, 1869. 

John Dougherty Lieutenant Governor January 11, 1869. 

Edward Rummell Secretary of State January 11, 1869. 

Chas. E. Lippincott Auditor Public Accounts January 11, 1869. 

Erastus N. Bates Treasurer November 8, 1870. 

Rich. J. Oglesby Governor January 13, 1873. 

John L. Beveridge Lieutenant Governor January 13, 1873. 

George H. Harlow Secretary of State January 13, 1873. 

Chas. E. Lippincott Auditor Public Accounts January 13, 1873. 

Ed. Rutz Treasurer January 13, 1873. 

John L. Beveridge Governor January 23, 1873.. 

John Early Lieutenant Governor January 23, 1873. 

S. M. Cullom Governor January 8, 1877. 

Andrew Shuman Lieutenant Governor January 8, 1877. 

George Harlow Secretary of State January 8, 1877. 

Ed. Rutz Treasurer January 8, 1877. 

T. B. Needles Auditor Public Accounts January 8, 1877. 

S. M. Etter Superintendent Pub. Inst January 8, 1877. 

J. P. Slade Superintendent Pub. Inst January 8, 1879. 

J. C. Smith Treasurer January 8, 1879. 



CHAPTER XI. 

UNIVERSITIES. 

THE ILLINOIS NORMAL UNIVERSITY. 

THIS institution, located at Normal, Illinois, was founded by the 
act of February 18, 1857, and began operations October 5, 1857. 
The whole number of students who have received instruction since 
the institution was founded is about 7,000. The average attendance in 
the Normal department is 275, and in the Model department 175. 

The university building is one hundred and sixty feet long, lias- 
three stories and a basement, and stands in a beautiful park of fifty-six 
acres, ornamented with line evergreens and other trees. The original 
cost of the building was about $150,000. The lands and most of the 
cost of building was donated, of which donations, McLean county 



90 A BRIEF HISTORY OF ILLINOIS. 

THE SOUTHERN ILLINOIS NORMAL UNIVERSITY. 
[From Illinois Legislative Manual.] i 

Tliis institution was founded by act of the legislature, approved 
April 29, 1869. Its location was fixed at Carbondale by a commission 
appointed by Governor Palmer, and the corner-stone was laid with 
appropriate ceremonies May 17, 1870. The work of instruction began 
within its walls July 2, 1874. On September 0, 1874, the regular ses- 
sions of the Normal University commenced. 

The building is brick, in the Norman style of architecture, with 
trimmings of sandstone in two colors. It is two hundred and fifteen 
feet in extreme length and one hundred and nine feet in width. It has 
a basement story, two stories, and a mansard story. The basement is 
devoted to the apparatus for heating, and for laboratory and dissecting 
rooms, exercises in unpleasant weather, and as a residence for the jani- 
tor. The mansard is for lecture hall, library, museum, art gallery and 
rooms for literary societies. The other two stories are for purposes of 
study and recitation. 

The faculty consists of eleven professors and teachers, who have 
been selected from the best institutions in the west. There are also 
employed twenty-five or more pupil teachers or tutors. Rev. Robert 
Allyn, D.D., became principal about 1874. He had been at the head 
of several other institutions and was remarkably successful. 



HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY, 



PERSONAL SKETCHES OF MANY INHABITANTS OF THE 

COUNTY. 



" Temperance, morals, courteous bearing, 

And the hand to help all round, 
Each another's burden sharing, 

Generous traits like these abound ; 
Energetic, self-confiding, 

And religious and sincere, 
Patient, duteous, law-abiding, 

Men like these are common here." 



THE HISTORIAN'S TASK. 

DEDICATED TO EMMA C. PIATT BY WILSON F. COX. 

A truly patriotic task, to hand 

To future generations yet unborn, 

The treasured annals of your native land, 

Where grows the waving wheat and golden corn. 

A truly patriotic task, to tell 
Of hardy pioneers who, from afar, 
Sought out the fertile land we love so well, 
As led by " Empire's westward beacon Star." 

A truly patriotic task, to speak 
Of times of danger, peril and of fear, 
When oft was heard the agonizing shriek 
Of victims of the tomahawk and spear. 

A truly patriotic task, to write 
Of times that tried the souls of bravest men ; 
When fond adieux were spoken by each at night 
Lest they in life should never meet again. 



92 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

A truly patriotic task, to teach 

The story of those troublous times of yore, 

That, filled with love and gratitude, we each 

Due honor give those heroes for the scars they bore. 

A truly patriotic task is yours, 
To delve into the mysteries of the past, 
And drag from thence, the legendary stores, 
Revealing deeds of bravery unsurpassed. 

A truly patriotic task, to weave 

In web historic, scenes of toil and strife; 

Of dangers boldly met at morn and eve, 

From lurking foes who sought each patriot's life. 

A truly patriotic task, to blend 

In story true, the struggles of our sires, 

Who periled life and fortune to defend 

Their country's honor, and their homes and fires. 

A truly patriotic task, to wield 
The pen (a weapon mightier than the sword), 
Portraying deeds of bravery on the fields, 
By which our glorious union was restored. 

A truly patriotic task, to shed 
Through hist'ry's page, the light that shall reveal 
Those virtues of the brave and honored dead, 
Which nought can tarnish, cancel or conceal. 

A truly patriotic task, to trace 
The course of progress in its onward way; 
Annihilating distance, time and space, 
And bending all beneath its mighty sway. 

A truly patriotic task, to stand 
Between the ages past mid those to come, 
Bind this to that, as with a m; gic band 
Of sacred memories surrounding home. 



CHAPTER I. 

PIATT COUNTY- ITS TOPOGRAPHY, AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS AND 

RESOURCES. 

LOCATION. Near the center of one of the richest and most influ- 
ential states of the Union, and about midway between Chicago and 
St; Louis, the chief cities of central United States, is located the little 
county of Piatt. It lies right in the midst of the great agricultural 
region of Illinois, and the neighboring counties being influential in the 
state, thus aid in advancing the interests of Piatt county. McLean 
and DeWitt counties form the northern boundary ; Champaign and 
Douglas bound it on the east ; Moultrie forms the southern boundary , 
while it is bounded on the west by Macon and DeWitt counties. 

Area. Piatt county comprises an area of 438 sections, or 280,320 
acres of land. This land is divided into eight townships, as follows : 

Monticello Township 48 Sections 

Bement Township 48 Sections 

Sangarnon Township 48 Sections 

Unity Township 48 Sections 

Goose Creek Township 56 Sections 

Cerro Gordo Township 59* Sections 

Blue Ridge Township 64 Sections 

Willow Branch Township 66] Sections 

According to the assessor's list of 1879, the acres and value of im- 
proved and unimproved lands were as follows : 

Improved land 262,068 acres 

Unimproved land -. 13,509 acres 

Total value $3,635,177 

Within the last three years much of the formerly " raw " land has 
been improved, and the value of all the land has been greatly ad- 
vanced. Preparations are being continually made for the improving 
of the low lands in the county. Tiling has already done much in this 
direction, but its value in preparing the soil for cultivation is not, as 
yet, half realized. It will not be long before every foot of soil in this 
county will be under cultivation. 

Topography. The physical features of the county are similar to 



94 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

those of the surrounding counties. However, the amount of timber 
and prairie land is probably more nearly equal here than in some of 
the neighboring counties. The surface, in the most part, is undu- 
lating, the northern part of the county, however, being more rolling 
than the land of the southern townships. 

Hydrography. In the main, the county has excellent natural 
drainage. A ridge, striking the county line a little north of Cerro 
Gordo and extending northeasterly through the county, passing 
between Bement and Monticello and extending into Champaign county, 
forms the water-shed between the Illinois and Kaskaskia rivers, both 
tributaries of the Mississippi river. From this ridge magnificent views 
of various parts of the county can be seen. A beholder, some sunshiny 
day in harvest time, standing on the ridge at a point east of Monti- 
cello, could ask for no grander view in any agricultural region of the 
state. The eye leaving the timber, which is visible as far as the eye 
can reach to the northeast, and turning slowly to the east and south- 
east, is first attracted by the undulating prairie, dotted everywhere 
with fast growing groves of trees. A protracted glance takes in the 
beautiful effect produced by the various fields of grain and corn, and a 
practical eye readily sees a "mint of money" literally growing on the 
ground. This is but an illustration of what may be seen at any point 
of the ridge. 

A little north of this ridge, and coursing southwesterly across the 
county, flows the Sangamon river, through quite a belt of timber. The 
principal tributaries of the Sangamon on the north are Madden's Run, 
Goose Greek, Wild Cat Creek and Friend's Creek, which runs through 
a very small portion of the western part of the county. Camp Creek 
and Willow Branch are the principal tributaries on the south. The 
extreme northern part of the county is drained by Salt Creek, another 
tributary of the Sangamon. The southern and southeastern part of 
the county drains into the Kaskaskia through the West Okaw and Lake 
Fork of the Okaw. It is in the southeastern part of the county that the 
drainage is most inefficient. The fall of the country along the Lake 
Fork is very slight, and during the rainy season of the year acres of 
rich and valuable land are submerged. A movement is under foot 
now which we hope will be successful. It is proposed to deepen the 
channel of the Lake Fork in eastern Bement township and southern 
Monticello, or in other words dig a big ditch which will be of size 
sufficient to drain all the swamp lands in that section of the county. 
This is a wane long felt and we trust the wished for result is near at hand. 



TOPOGRAPHY, AGRICULTURE, RESOURCES. 95 

There are a few living springs in the county. Probably the most 
noted of these is Coon's spring, on the south bank of the Sangamon, 
a little above the Marquiss ford. This is quite a resort, and serves 
alternately for camp-meeting and picnic grounds. Another spring near 
the Wabash railroad bridge, has also attracted pleasure seekers. From 
the bluff above this spring, probably the most beautiful view of the 
Sangamon in the county can be seen. 

The main dependence of the people for water is in wells, and an 
abundant supply of excellent drinking water can be had at a- moderate 
depth of digging. In some cases, upon boring for water, a seemingly 
exhaustless supply has been obtained. 

Mounds. Up the river, a little way from the spring just referred 
to, are a number of mounds, commonly known as Indian mounds. 
According to Mr. McAdams, of Otterville, Illinois, who has given 
."American antiquities" many years of study, it is impossible to 
definitely ascribe these mounds as being the work of the Indians, the 
"Pottery-makers," or the mound-builders, without an examination of 
the remains and implements which are now, or were once probably 
contained in them. 

Climate. In regard to the climate of the county we quote the 
following : "Closely bordered on the east by the vast forests of In- 
diana ; sheltered by the fringes of forest that line the banks of the 
sinuous streams and the island-like groves of forest ; located out of the 
direct route of the trade-winds from the southwest, though these are 
mildly deflected to us by the river forests of the Kaskaskia and Sanga- 
mon rivers, and little subject to the cold currents from the polar plains, 
that press down the valley of the upper Mississippi, making a variance 
in the isothermal lines that mark the several seasons," this county 
shows a more equable climate than most other parts of the country. 

Agricultural Product^. " When the county was first settled the 
rank grasses presented an impediment to evaporation, and the result 
was a moist climate, ,that gave a too luxuriant growth to wheat and 
oats. This resulted in the lodging of the latter and producing rust in 
the former, but culture and pasturage have so modified these conditions 
that the latter is becoming one of our great staples, and the former, 
both in its spring and winter varieties, is becoming more and more 
popular as we learn better how to manage this crop." 

The soil of the county is well adapted to the grasses, and there is 
often good grazing for nearly nine months in the year. Portions of 



96 ' HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

many of the farms in the county have been used for no other purpose 
save that of grazing. 

Sorghum has met with encouraging results in this county. The 
potato crop averages well. All cereals are at home on this soil ; but 
the grand staple of the county is Indian corn. In all the fifty years 
since the first settlement of this county, the time has not been known 
when there was an absolute failure of the corn crop. Some large farms 
in the county are devoted entirely to the raising of broom corn. 

Fruit. This county produces as fine a quality of fruit as any 
tract of land of similar size in central Illinois. Many varieties of the 
apple and pear trees, and many varieties of the grape, blackberry, 
raspberry and other small fruits are grown. About every other year 
peaches of good quality grow in abundance. The several nurseries and 
maiiy fine orchards testify to the fact that this is a fruit growing county. 

In order io more fully portray the adaptability of this soil for agri- 
cultural products, we quote from the assessor's report of 1879 the 

following: 

CROPS IN ACRES. 

Other 
Wheat. Corn. Oats. Meadow. Products. 

M.mtdcellt) , 497 8,994 1,429 1,176 <>:',1 

Beinent 403 10.39:', ] ,453 2,203 2,254 

Unity ...:.. 923 10,221 904 1 ,223 862 

Cerro tfordp. 1,203 14.96JI 2,199 2,391 1,597 

Willow Branch 628 13.741 1,655 2,551 593 

Goose Creek 486 12,289 2,392 1,750 1,311 

Blue Ridire 264 21 ,465 3,505 3. 1 52 704 

Sanranion 1,000 11,371 1,555 1.7S1 1,473 

Acqording to the same report, in 1879 there were 44,153 acres of 
inclosed pasture ; 2,274 acres in orchard ; and 49,463 acres of woodland 
in the county. 

Stock. -But a glance over the reports just given suffices to indicate 
that stock-raising must be carried on in this county. For fifty years 
this has been one of the great industries of the county. According to 
the assessor's report of 1882 the county contained 6,321 sheep ; 10,064 
mules and horses ; 16,218 cattle, and 27,493 kogs ; the aggregate 
value. of the same being estimated at $564,238. 

The grade of stock in the county is continually improving. In 
regard to cattle the short-horns seem to have the preference of the 
people, and consequently there are several herds in the county. The 
dairy stock is also improving. In this the Jerseys and Alderneys 
have the preference. The Berkshire, Poland China and Red-rocks or 
Jersey-red hogs are the principal improved grades in the county. Of 
horses, the draft stock has been principally in demand. Of late years 



TOPOGRAPHY, AGRICULTURE, RESOURCES. 97 

several importations of horses have been made from Great Britain and 
France. Trotting horses have been introduced into the southern part 
of the county from a Kentucky grade of stock. The influence of these 
superior grades of stock for the road and for work has already been felt, 
and we are glad to note the increasing interest in this direction. 

Markets. Subsequent to statements relating to the agricultural 
products and the stock of the county $ there conies a query relating to 
the markets and shipping facilities. In regard to railroad facilities 
this county is second to none in central Illinois. ISTot a foot of ground 
lies farther than six miles from a railroad ; ay, and we are very near the 
truth when we say that every foot of land is within six miles of a rail- 
road station. Five railroads cross the county in a general direction 
from east to west, making abundant facilities for marketing in the east- 
ern cities. The railroad extending north and south through the middle 
of the county connects the rival cities of Chicago and St. Louis, and 
affords ample means for shipments to either place. We quote the 
following, showing the distance of Monticello from some of the neigh- 
boring cities and principal market places in the United States. 



Miles. 

Champaign . : . 20 

Decatur 26 

Bloomington 46 

Danville 515 

Springfield (>"> 

Havannah 86 



Miles. 

St. Louis : 135 

Indianapolis 139 

Toledo 303 

Baltimore . . . : 936 

New York 1024 

"Boston. 1098 



Chicago 146 

Manufactures, etc. - In manufactures, Piatt county is extremely 
limited. Agricultural implements, wagons, buggies, etc., are made, 
but in limited quantities. Brick kilns are in several parts of the county, 
while tile manufactories are becoming quite plentiful and very profit- 
able. The county is well supplied with flour mills : Monticello, Bement, 
Cerro-Gordo and Mansfield, each contains mills, while there is a water- 
power mill about a mile north of Monticello, on the Sangamon river. 
There is a steam saw-mill in connection with the latter mill. Piatt 
county needs more manufactures. With its good railroad facilities we 
see no reason why almost any manufacturing establishment would not 
do well. Within the last year or two several tow-mills have been 
started, and with success. We are glad of it and trust that mills of 
various kinds will follow suit. 

In the foregoing manner have we related some of the advantages, 
the resources and needs of^ Piatt county. No attempt has been made 
to overrate it, while we have conscientiously striven to give it due 
mention. 



CHAPTER H. 

GEOLOGY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

is an older history of this little speck of the vast globe which 
-L we call Piatt county than the traditions of the log cabin, or even 
those roving tribes that preceded the cabin, can tell us. For this oldest 
history we must look to the first and oldest settlers the rocks. But 
the record of so small and uniform a space must necessarily be brief. 

The great geological revolutions which have rent and upheaved 
and turned the strata in other portions of the globe by which the clue 
to that long dark past is discovered, seem not to have disturbed this 
locality ; or, if such disturbances took place they have been carefully 
covered over and hidden by the peaceful action of later ages. 

Beneath us may be the relic of an ancient sea-floor, overlaid by 
the traces of a vanished land surface, over which again the waters 
may have left marks of their dominion. There may be great coal 
measures with their buried forms of extinct vegetation. Perhaps there 
are traces of a sea-shore, where huge animals left the prints of their 
ponderous tread, or a tiny raindrop its impress, to tell us of its missive 
then as now. There may be indications of great forests, or vast 
marshes where gigantic reptiles floundered. But if there are such 
records they are sealed in that great tomb beneath us to which we 
have had, as yet, no admittance. 

While the region around the great lakes and the Alleghanies were 
rearing their heads above the waters, as the forerunners of this great 
continent, this, with the adjoining counties of central Illinois, was a 
part of a vast ocean bed. Not until during what is called in geology 
the Carboniferous age is it supposed that it emerged from its watery 
depths. There are no formations to be seen, however, older than the 
Drift. 

One vast age, the Tertiary, had begun and ended its unknown 
myriads of years, and another, the Quaternary, has begun since the 
Carboniferous, before what is called the Drift or Glacial period was 
formed. The phenomena representing this period seems to have been 
caused by a great refrigeration of the climate, which reached such a 



GEOLOGY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 99 

height that the whole continent north of 39 degrees was loaded with 
immense accumulations of ice and snow which overrode hill and 
valley, removing soil and surface material to the southward. In this 
way those large stones called bowlders scattered over the county are 
accounted for. They were carried here and left by the powerful gla- 
cier. Not only the bowlders are accounted for in this way, but the 
clay, sands and pebbles. 

The survey taken of the county under the authority of the States in 
1868 gives the following observations : 

Appearance of the drift at the Sangamon river bridge near Monti- 
cello : 

1. Yellowish-brown clay 5 feet. 

2. Clay, sand and bowlders 5 feet. 

3. Dark ash, brown clay, fine sand and pebbles 4 feet. 

4. Black clay 1 foot. . 

5. Clay streaked brown and black and with ochrey red 8 feet. 

Sangamon bluffs : 

1. Brown clay 6 feet. 

2. Pebbles and clay 10 feet. 

3. At top dark-brown clay, below reddish brown finely com- 

mingled sand and clay 14 feet. 

Between Monticello and Centerville the road washings disclose 
three to four feet of bright brown clay, sometimes brown sand, pebbles 
and bowlders. On the prairies there are bowlders of granite of vari- 
ous colors : gray, red, sienitic, granite, quartzite, and altered sandstone, 
gneiss and greenstone ; and in the altered drift Devonian fossils and 
fragments of coal measure rocks. 

Springs highly colored with oxide of iron are found. On Sec. 
29, T. 19 N., R. 5 E., there are many such springs. Some of them 
are strongly chalybeate. In one gas arises, and a quantity of brown 
sediment is deposited on its sides, and it is marshy around. Some of 
the wells dug and bored from sixty to one hundred feet are supplied 
with a seemingly exhaustless amount of water. This great vein of 
water is thus reached at 'various depths throughout the county. In 
Goose Creek township a well was bored 120 feet, but the vein was not 
reached. On the fair-grounds it was reached at fifty-two feet. Accord- 
ing to the state geological survey, in the northern part of the county, 
water is reached at a depth of from twelve to twenty feet. Bement, 
fifteen to thirty feet, and on the prairie near Monticello at from twenty 
to thirty feet. For surface water, wells in the timber are dug deeper 



100 HISTORY 'OF PIATT COUNTY. 

than in the prairie, but r itis vice versa in regard to the never-failing 
stream. 

One of the wells dug in the county showed a fine deposition of 
conglomerate, supposed to have been from the bottom of Lake Michigan 
when its' outlet was the Mississippi river. Pieces of wood have been 
found in various wells of the county. Mr. Jesse Warner reports a 
piece of wood resembling a crab-apple branch, well preserved, and 
at the depth of twenty-five feet. We might mention other similar 
remains oi former geological periods, and we suppose there have been 
some depositions discovered which have not come under our notice. 



CHAPTER III. 
FLORA OF PIATT COUNTY * 

BY A. B. S. 

THE object of this article is to give a list of the plants growing 
spontaneously in Piatt county. Such a list may be utilized in 
various ways. To the botanist, it answers the purpose of an elaborate 
flora, for, having a manual of botany, he can refer from that to the list or 
the reverse, and so has all the necessary information at his command. 
It greatly facilitates the study of botany to the beginner, for instead of 
having to find the place of any species among the two thousand six 
hundred described in Gray's Manual, covering all the Northern States, 
he has only to find its place among the few hundred growing in this 
county. It is also valuable as an index to the character of the region, 
its soil and capabilities of production. Woods, prairie, high ground 
and low, each has its peculiar vegetation, which the botanist recognizes 
at once. 

In addition to the bare list, a few notes are given under the more 
important families, which it is- hoped will increase its interest to the 
general reader. The common names are also given, when there are 
any, and the kind of place in which the plant grows. 

The list is known to be incomplete, especially in certain groups 

* Since this is not a scientific work, but only an ordinary one, a strictly scientific 
manner has not been followed in the printing of the following list of plants. The 
paragraphs following the name of the order are begun with generic names, while 
other scientific names in the same paragraph are names of species. 



FLORA OF PIATT COUNTY. 101 

such as the sedges and some genera of composites, and this is regretted, 
but is unavoidable, owing to the limited time available for making 
observations and collecting specimens. Additions will be welcome. 

Ranunculacese Crowfoot family. This family is notable for the 
simplicity of structure of its flowers. The parts are all inserted sepa- 
rately on the receptacle. In many species the corolla is wanting, in 
which case the calyx is colored like a corolla. The stamens are usually 
numerous and often the pistils also. A number of our common spring 
flowers belong here ; also some cultivated species, such as the pseony. 

Clematis (virgin's bower). Pitcheri, T. & G. River banks. Virginiana, L. 
(common virgin's bower). Banks of streams. 

Anemone. Virginiana, L. (Virginian anemone). Woods. Pennsylvania, L. 
(Pennsylvanian anemone). Low grounds, mostly in woods. 

Hepatica. Acutiloba, DC. (liver-leaf). Woods; common. This is the name 
under which our form is commonly placed, but there are good evidences that all 
the forms belong to one species, and H. triloba is probably the oldest name. The 
acute-lobed form sometimes has five-lobed leaves, but a specimen five-lobed with 
very rounded lobes has been found in the county. 

Thalictrum. Anemonoides, Michx. (rue-anemone). Woods; common. Dio- 
icum, L. (early meadow-rue). Woods and fields. Purpurascens, L. (purplish 
meadow-rue). Fields and damp grounds. 

Ranunculus. Aquatilis, L., var. trichophyllus, Chaix. (white water-crowfoot)^ 
Shallow ponds. Multifidus, Pursh. (yellow water-crowfoot). Shallow ponds. 
Abortivus, L. (small-flowered crowfoot). Damp grounds and banks of streams; 
common. Recurvatus, Poir. (hooked crowfoot). Woods; peculiar for its hooked 
styles. Repens, L. (creeping crowfoot). Damp woods and meadows; common. 

Isopyrum. Biternatum, Tow. & Gr. Damp woods ; much resembling Thalic- 
trum anemonoides, and often mistaken for it. 

Caltha. Palustris, L. (marsh marigold). Wet meadows. 

Aquilegia. Canadensis, L. (wild columbine). High banks of the Sangamon; 
more graceful than the garden columbine (A. vulgaris). It is itself often culti- 
vated. 

Delphinium. Tricome (larkspur). Woods. 
Hydrastis. Canadensis, L. Rich woods; rare. 

Actsea. Alba, Bigel (white baneberry). Hillsides in woods. The red bane- 
berry may also occur, but can hardly be distinguished without the fruit. 

Anonacese Custard-apple family. 

Asimina. Triloba, Duval (common pawpaw). River bottoms, also dry 
woods ; much more abundant southward than here. 

Menispermacese Moonseed family. 

Menispermum. Canadense, L. (common moonseed). Woods, thickets, etc. 

Berberidaceae Barberry family. 

Podophyllum. Peltatum, L. (May-apple). Rich woods; common. 

Nymphaceae Water-lily family. 

Nuphar. Advena, Ait. (yellow pond-lily). Shallow ponds and streams. 



102 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Papaveracese Poppy family. 

Sanguinaria. Canadensis, L. (blood-root). Hillsides in rich woods. 

Furnariaceee Fumitory family. 

Dicentra. Cucullaria, DC. (Dutchman's breeches). Rich woods. 

Cruciferae Mustard family. The flowers have four sepals, four 
petals placed in the form of a cross (whence the family name), six 
stamens, two of which are shorter than the rest, and a pod divided 
into two cells by a false partition. The two valves split away and 
leave the partition. It includes such cultivated plants as the cabbage, 
turnip, radish, cress and sweet alyssum. 

Nasturtium (water-cress). Sessiliflorum, Nutt. Wet places. Palustre, DC. 
(marsh cress). Low grounds. Armoracia, Fries (horseradish). Escaped from 
cultivation. 

Dentaria. Laciniata, Muhl. (toothwort; pepper-root). Rich woods. 

Cardamine. Rhomboidea, DC. (spring cress). Wet places. Hirsuta, L. (small 
bitter cress). Wet places. 

Arabis (rock cress). Leevigata, DC. Hillsides in woods. Hesperioides, Gray. 
Banks of streams. 

Sisymbrium. Offlcinale, Scop, (hedge mustard). A weed common 'in waste 
places. 

Brassica. Nigra, Gray (black mustard). Fields and waste places; common. 

Capsella. Bursa-pastoris, Mcench (shepherd's purse). A weed; common. 

Lepidiuni. Virginicum, L. (wild peppergrass). A common weed, often with 
the last. 

Violacese Violet family. 

Viola. Cucullata, Ait. (common blue violet). Moist places. Pubescens, Ait. 
(downy yellow violet). 

Hypericacese St. John's-wort family. 

Hypericum (St. John's-wort). Sphserocarpon, Michx. Dry prairies. Corym- 
bosum, Muhl. Damp places. 

Gary ophyllacese Pink family. 

Silene (catchfly). Stellata, Ait. (starry campion). Woods. Anthirrhina, L. 
(sleepy catchfly). Dry prairies and fields. 
Cerastium. Nutans, Raf. Damp places. 

Portulacacese Purslane family. 

Portulaca. Oleracea, L. (common purslane). A weed common in gardens 
everywhere. 

Claytonia. Virginica, L. (spring-beauty). Woods. 

Malvaceae Mallow family. This is the family to which the cot- 
ton plant belongs. The family is characterized by numerous stamens 
whose filaments are united into a tube, around the styles and at the 
base, to the cohering bases of the petals and several to many pistils 
which form in fruit either a several-celled pod or a collection of one- 



FLORA OF PIATT COUNTY. 103 

seeded carpels. The flower is often subtended by an involucre. A 
number of graceful cultivated plants belong here, and some not so 
graceful, such as the hollyhock. The family is largely tropical. 

Malva. Rotundifolia, L. (common mallow). Roadsides and waste places. 

Sida. Spinosa, L. Roadsides. Sida. 

Abutilon. Avicennse, Gtertn. (Indian mallow; velvet-leaf). Cultivated 
grounds and waste places. "This is the somewhat troublesome weed that is 
being successfully utilized as a textile plant at Springfield, 111." Several beau- 
tiful cultivated plants belong to this genus. 

Hibiscus. Militaris, Cav. (halberd-leaved rose-mallow). Wet places and 
borders of ponds; not common; a large and showy plant; it does well in culti- 
vation, and is well worth cultivating. 

Tiliaceae Linden family. 

Tilia. Americana, L. (linden; basswood.) Rich woods and river banks. 
Linacese Flax family. 

Linum. Usitatissimtim, L. (common flax). Found springing up from seeds 
scattered along the railroad at Monticello ; it is also cultivated in this county. 

Geraniaceae Geranium family- The cultivated geraniums belong 
to the genus Pelargonium of this family. Most of them grow wild 
at the Cape of Good Hope. The pods of the wild touch-me-not burst 
at maturity with the slightest touch, like the garden balsam, and 
often throw their seeds several feet.' 

Geranium. Maculatum, L. (wild cranesbill). Woods and fields. 

Impatiens. Fulva, Nutt. (spotted touch-ine-not). Shady moist places. 

Oxalis. Violacea, L. Shady places. Stricta, L. Often in cultivated grounds. 

Rotaceffi Rue family. 

Zanthoxylum. Americanum, Mill, (prickly ash). Banks of streams. 

Anacardiacese Cashew family. 

Rhus. Glabra, L. (smooth sumach). Hillsides, undisturbed fence-rows, etc. 
Toxicodendron, L. (poison ivy). Woods, thickets, fence corners, etc.; common. 
The climbing form, var. radicans, grows luxuriantly along the river near Monti- 
cello. It has recently been discovered by Prof. T. J. Burrill, of the State 
University, that bacteria constitute the poisonous property of this plant. They 
are minute vegetable organisms belonging with the lowest fungi. This plant, 
with its three leaflets, should not be confounded with the Virginia creeper, 
which has five. 

Vitacese Yine family. 

Vitis. JSstivalis, Michx. (summer grape). Wooded river-banks. Cordifolia, 
Michx. (winter or frost grape). Woods and thickets. 

Ampelopsis. Quinquefolia, Michx. (Virginia creeper). Woods ; often climb- 
ing trees to a great height. 

Rhamnacese Buckthorn family. 

Rhamnus. Lanceolatus, Pursh. (buckthorn). River banks. 

Ceanothus. Americanus, L. (New Jersey tea). Prairies. " The leaves were 



104: HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

used for tea during the American Revolution, and the manufacture has been 
recently revived in Pennsylvania. 

Celastraceae Staff-tree family. Remarkable for its brilliant fruit. 
Celastrus. Scandens (wax-work ; climbing bitter-sweet). Thickets. 
Euonymus. Atropurpurens, Jacq. (burning-bush; waahoo). Rich woods. 
Americanus, L., var. obovatus, T. & G. (strawberry-bush). River banks. 

Sapindaceae Soapberry family. 

Staphylea. Trifoiia, L. (American bladder-nut). Near streams; in woods ; 
remarkable for its inflated pods. 

JSsculus. Glabra, Willd (fetid or Ohio buckeye). Near streams in woods. 

Acer. Saccharinum, Wang, (sugar or rock maple). Rich woods, especially 
on lower grounds. Dasycarpum, Ehrh. (white or silver maple). River banks. 
This species is commonly called soft maple. 

Legumiiiosae Pulse family. Most plants belonging to this family 
have compound leaves, a papilionaceous or butterfly-shaped corolla, 
ten stamens and a single simple pistil. The corolla is composed of 
five petals. The two in front are usually more or less united and. 
inclose the stamens and style. They form what is called the keel. 
The two at the sides are the wings, and the large one at the back is 
the standard. It incloses all the others in the bud. The filaments of 
the stamens are either all united or nine united and one free. The 
fruit is a simple pod or legume, but in a few genera it is jointed. 
This is a large and important family. It is widely distributed and in 
some regions the species are much more numerous than with us. 
There are many in the far west. Of six thousand five hundred species 
known in the world, the United States has three hundred and fifty, 
Illinois seventy-three, Piatt county twenty-four. Among plants of this, 
family cultivated for use or ornament are clover, sweet clover, lucerne, 
pea, bean, peanut, sweet-pea, Wistaria, sensitive plant. 

Trifoliuni. Pratense, L. (red clover). Common in fields, etc. -Repens, L. 
(white clover). Common in fields, lawns, etc. 

Melilotus. Alba, Lam. (sweet clover; white melilot). Roadsides and waste 
places. 

Petalostemon. Candidus, Michx. Prairies. 

Amorpha. Fruticosa, L. (false indigo). Banks of streams. Canescens, Nutt. 
(lead -plant). Prairies. 

Desmodium (tick-trefoil). Remarkable for its jointed pods, which are mostly 
covered with hooked hairs, and stick tight to the clothing or the hair of animals; 
whence the name tick-trefoil. Acuminatum, DC. Woods and thickets. Cuspi- 
datum, T. & G. Woods. Paniculatum, DC. Woods, thickets, etc. Illinoense, 
Gray. Prairies. * 

Lespedeza (bush clover). Repens, T. & G. Banks and hillsides in open 
woods. Violacea, Pers. Woods. Capitata, Michx. Prairies. 

Lathyrus. Palustris, L. (marsh vetchling). Low grounds; Sangamon river 
bank. 



m IGEI m 




i.ARY 
THE 
-RSnY OF ILLINOIS 



FLORA OF PI ATT COUNTY. 105 

Apios. Tuberosa, Moench (ground-nut ; wild bean). Banks of streams. 

Phaseolus (kidney-bean). Diversifolius, Pers. Sandy banks. 

Amphicarpsea. Monoica, Nutt. (hog pea-nut). Rich woods. 

Baptisia (false indigo). Leucantha, T. & G. Prairies. Leucophaea, Nutt. 
Prairies. 

Cercis. Canadensis, L. (red-bud). Woods along streams. 

Cassia. Marilandica, L. (wild senna). Banks of streatns. Chamfecrista, L. 
(partridge-pea). Prairies, especially in sandy soil. 

Gymnocladus. Canadensis, Lam. (Kentucky coffee-tree). Woods near 
streams. 

Gloditschia. Triacanthos, L. (honey-locust). 

Rosacese Rose family. This is one of the most important families, 
because it contains so many fruits. The apple, peach, pear, plum, 
cherry, strawberry, raspberry, blackberry and others belong here; 
also many plants cultivated for ornament. The flowers are regular 
and five-parted ; the numerous stamens are inserted with the petals on 
the calyx. The fruit is of various kinds, and its morphology is in 
many cases very interesting. The family as a whole is not near so 
large as the preceding one, having only about a thousand species, but 
a larger proportion of them are native here. 

Primus. Americana, Marshall (wild yellow or red plum). Woods and 
thickets. Virginiana, L. (choke-cherry). Eiver banks. Serotina, Ehrh. (wild 
black cherry). Woods. This is a large tree ; the preceding species seldom more 
than a shrub. They may also be distinguished by their leaves, those of this 
species having blunt teeth ; those of the preceding, sharp ones. 

Spireea. Opulifolia, L. (nine-bark). Banks of the Sangamon ; a fine shrub. 

Gillenia. Stipulacea, Nutt. (American ipecac). Hillsides or banks in woods. 

Aurimonia. Eupatoria, L. (common agrimony). Woods. Parviflora, Ait. 
(small-flowered agrimony). Woods. 

Geum (arens). Album, Gmelin. Woods. 

Potentilla (cinquefoil; five-finger). Norvegica, L. Open grounds. Cana- 
densis, L. (common cinquefoil or five-finger). Dry soil. Arguta, Pursh. Prairies. 

Fragaria. Virginiana, Ehrh. (strawberry). Prairies, etc. 

Rubus. Occidentalis, L. (black raspberry). Open woods. Villosus, Ait 
(blackberry). Borders of woods, thickets, etc. 

Rosa. Setigera, Michx. (climbing or prairie rose). Thickets. Lucida, Ehrh 
(dwarf wild-rose). Hillsides, prairies, etc. Rubiginosa, L. (sweet-brier. Escaped 
from cultivation. 

Cratsegus. Coccinea, L. (scarlet-fruited thorn). Woods and thickets. To- 
mentosa, L. (black or' pear- thorn). Woods and thickets. Var. mollis, Gray. 
Same as the typical form, but more common. This is the species commonly called 
red-haw. Crus-galli, L. (cockspur-thorn). Woods. 

Pyrus Coronaria, L. (American crab-apple). Woods and thickets. 

Amelanchier. Canadensis, T. & G. Var. botryapium, Gray (June-berry; 
shad-bush ; service-berry). 

Saxiiragacese. Saxifrage family. 

Ribes. Rotundifolium, Michx. (gooseberry). Woods. 



106 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Crassulacesea. Orpine family. 

Penthorum. Sedoides, L. (ditch stone-crop). Wet places. 

Hamamelacese. Witch-hazel family. 

Hamamelis. Virginica, L. Woods. Collected by John Marquiss. 

Onagracese. Evening primrose family. 

Cimea. Lutetiana, L. (enchanter's nightshade). Woods ; frequent. 

Gauva. Viennis, L. Open ground, fields, etc. 

(Enothera. Biennis, L. (common evening primrose). Fields. 

Ludwigia (false loosestrife). Polyearpa, Short & Peter. Very wet places. 

Lythraceae. Loosestrife family. All our species grow in wet 
places. 

Ammannia. Humilis, Michx. Latifolia, L. 
Lythrum. Alatum, Pursh. 

Cucurbitacese. Gourd family. 
Licyos. Angulatus, L. River banks. 

Umbelliferse. Parsley family. The flowers are in umbels, but in 
one case the umbel is contracted into a dense head. The majority 
have perfectly regular compound umbels. The fruit consists of two 
carpels, each containing a single seed. Each carpel has several oil- 
tubes which contain an aromatic oil. Some of the cultivated species 
are the carrot, parsnip, anise, dill, caraway. The poison hemlock of 
classical fame belongs here. 

Sanicula (black snakeroot). Canadensis, L. Open woods. Marilandica, L. 
With the preceding. 

Eryngium. Yuccsefolium, Michx. (rattlesnake-master; button snakeroot). 
Moist prairies. 

Daucus. Carota, L. (common carrot). Escaped from cultivation; collected 
by Miss A. E. Butts. 

Heracl^eum. Lanatum, Michx. (cow-parsnip) Damp places in woods. 

Pastinaca. Sativa, L. (common parsnip). Fields, roadsides, etc. 

Archemora. Rigida, DC. (cowbane). Damp grounds. 

Thaspiurn (meadow-parsnip). Barbinode, Nutt. Prairies. Aureurn, Nutt. 
Moist prairies, etc. 

Zizia. Integerrima, DC. High banks of streams, hillsides, etc. 

Cicuta. Maculata, L. (spotted cowbane ; musquash root ; water hemlock). 
Wet grounds. " The root is a deadly poison." 

Lium. Lineare, Michx. (water parsnip). Wet grounds. 

Cryptotsenia. Canadensis, DC. (honewort). Woods. 

Chserophyllum. Procumbens, Lam. (chervil). Moist woods. 

Osmorrhiza (sweet cicely). Longistylis, DO. (smoother sweet cicely). Rich 
woods. Brevistylis, DC. (hairy sweet cicely). With the last. 

Eulophus. Americanus, Nutt. (White Heath). Moist grounds. 

Araliacese. Gensing family. 

Aralia. Racemosa, L. (spikenard). Rich woods. 



FLORA OF PIATT COUNTY. 107 

Cornaceae Dogwood family. 

Cornus. Sericea, L. (silky cornel, kinnikinnik). Wet places. 

Caprifoliacese Honeysuckle family. This is the first of the 
monopetalous families, those having their petals united. 

Symphoricarpus. Vulgaris, Michx. (Indian currant; coral-berry). Woods 
along the Sangamon. 

Lonicera. Flava, Sims (yellow honeysuckle). River banks. 

Triosteum. Perfoliatum, L. (feverwort; horse-gentian). Rich woods. 

Sambucus. Canadensis, L. (elder). Borders of woods, thickets, etc. 

Viburnum. Prunifolium, L. (black haw). Woods and thickets. 

Rubiacese Madder family. The coffee tree, Peruvian-bark tree 
and other useful plants belong to this family. 

Galium. Notable for its slender stems and whorled leaves. The number of 
leaves at a joint varies in different species from four to eight; in most of our 
species they are narrow. The slender, decumbent stems sometimes reach a 
length of six feet, and their angles are usually roughened. Aparine, L. (cleavers ; 
goose-grass).. Moist thickets. Concinnum, T. & G. Rich woods. Trifidum, L. 
(small bedstraw). Wet places. Triflorum, Michx. (sweet-scented bedstraw). 
Rich woods. Circsezans, Michx. (wild liquorice). Rich woods. 

Cephalanthus. Occidentalis, L. (button-bush). Wet placesand often in water. 

Houstonia. Purpurea, L. Fields and woods. 

Composites Composite family. To this family belong all such 
flowers as the asters, golden-rods, daisies, sunflowers, thistles and 
many others. Many flowers are collected together in a head, and, to 
those who have not studied them, may appear like a single flower. 
In the sunflower, for instance, each of the parts that appears like a 
petal is a flower, and each of the parts in the central part or disk is a 
flower, perfect and complete in itself. The former are called ray 
flowers ; the latter, disk flowers. The green leaf-like bodies outside 
of the ray flowers form, not the calyx, but the involucre. Each flower 
has its calyx, which takes various forms in different species. In the 
sunflower, it consists of a few teeth ; in beggar-ticks, the teeth are 
barbed ; in the thistle, dandelion and many others, it is composed of 
many fine hairs. The calyx is called the pappus. The corolla is 
usually fine-parted. In the disk flowers it is regular ; in the ray 
flowers, strap-shaped. Some species, as ironweed and boneset, have 
no ray flowers ; but in one whole sub-family, that to which the dande- 
lion belongs, the flowers are all strap-shaped. The stamens, five in 
number, are inserted on the corolla and their anthers united into a 
tube around the style. The style has two branches. The fruit is a 
one-celled ovary containing a single erect seed. This is the largest 
family of flowering plants : it contains about a thousand genera and 



108 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

ten thousand species. In Illinois there are two hundred species. It 
contains a comparatively small number of directly useful plants, the 
commonest being lettuce. Many are cultivated for ornament. 

Vernonia. Fasciculate, Michx. (iron-weed). Prairies, woods and banks of 
streams. The leaves are very variable. 

Liatris. Cylindracea, Michx. (button snakeroot ; blazing star). Prairies. 
Scariosa, Willd. Prairies. Pycnostachya, Michx. Prairies. 

Kuhnia. Kuhnia. Eupatarioides, L. Prairies. 

E ipatorium. Purpnreum, L. (Joe-Pye weed; trumpet-weed). Low grounds 
in woods, etc. Perfoliatum, L. (thoroughwort; boneset). Wet places. Serotinum, 
Michx. Near the Sangamon. Ageratoides, L. (white snake-root). Rich woods. 

Conoclinium. Ccelestinum, DC. (mist-flower). Banks of the Sangamon. It 
has beautiful blue flowers, appearing like those of Eupatorium. 

Aster (starwort; aster). Shortii, Boott. Rich woods. Sagittifolius, Willd. 
Hillsides, etc., in woods. Multiflorus, Ait. Dry soil. Miser, L. Woods, fields, 
etc. 

Erigeron. Canadense, L. (horse-weed; butter-weed). Cultivated grounds; a 
common weed. Philadelphicum, L. (common fleabane). Damp grounds. Annuum, 
Pers. (d;.isy fleabane ; sweet scabious.) Low grounds. Strigosum, Muhl. (daisy 
fleabanc)- Fields and prairies. 

Boltonia (boltonia). Gastifolia, L'Her. Low grounds. 

. Solidago (golden-rod). Latifolia, L. Rich woods. Rigida. Prairies. Rid- 
dellii, Frank. Wet grounds. Altissima, L. Copses, borders of fields, etc. Ulrni- 
folia, Muhl. Banks of streams, etc., in woods. Canadensis, L. Fields, borders of 
woods, etc. ; common. 

Silphium. Laciniatum, L. (rosin-weed ; compass plant). Prairies. Terebin- 
th inaceum, L. (prairie-dock). Prairies. Integrifolium, Michx. Prairies. Per- 
foliiitum, L. (cup-plant). Rich alluvial soil. 

Parthenium (parthenium). Integrifolium, L. Prairies. 

Ambrosia. Triflda, L. (great ragweed). Fields ; common. Artemisisefolia, L. 
(hog-weed). Fields, waste places, etc. ; common. 

Xanthium. Strumarium, L. (cocklebur). Fields, banks of streams, etc. ; 
a troublesome weed. 

Ei'lipta (eclipta). Procumbens, Michx. Banks of Sangamon. 

Heliopsis. Lsevis, Pers. (ox-eye). Banks and copses. 

Echinaceu. Purpurea, Mcench (purple cone-flower). Prairies. 

Rudbeckia (cone-flower). Laciniata, L. Damp woods, along streams, etc. 
Subtomentosa, Pursh. Pr.,iries. Triloba, L. Dry soil. Hista, L. Dry soil. 

Lepachys (lepachys). Pinnata, T. & G. Prairies. 

Helianthus (sunflower). Rigidus, Desf. Prairies. Mollis, Lam. Prairies. 
Divariratus, L. Dry woods. Hirsntus, Raf. Dry open grounds. Tracheliifolius, 
Willd. Woods. Decapetalus, L. Woods. 

Actinomeris (actiiiomeris). Squarrosa, Nutt. Woods. Helianthoides, Nutt. 
Prairies. 

Coreopsis (tickseed). Palmata, Nutt. Prairies. Tripteris, L. (tall coreopsis. 

Bidens. Frondosa, L. (common beggar-ticks). Low grounds and wa^te places. 
Connata, Muhl. (swamp beggar-ticks). Low grounds, b..nks of streams, etc. 

Dysodia (fetid marigold). Chrysanthemoides, Lag. Roadsides and waste 
places. 



FLORA OF PI ATT COUNTY. 109 

Helenium. Autumnale, L. (sneeze-weed). Low grounds. 

Maruta. Cotula, DC. (May-weed). Roadsides ; very common. 

Achillea. Millefolium, K (yarrow; milfoil). Prairies. 

Antennaria. Plantaginifolia, Hook, (plaintain-leaved everlasting). Dry woods 
and open grounds. 

Erechthites. Hieracifolia, Raf. (fireweed). Woods, etc. 

Cacalia. Tuberosa, Nutt. (Indian plantain). Damp prairies. 

Senecio. Aureus, L. (golden ragwort; squaw-weed). Wet grounds. 

Cirsium (thistle). Lanceolatum, Scop, (common thistle). Roadsides and 
open grounds. Discolor, Spreng. Meadows and copses. Altissimum, Spreng. 
Fields and copses. 

Lappa (burdock). Officinalis, All. var. major. Waste places; common. 

Cynthia. Virginica, Don. Banks of Sangamon. 

Taraxacum. Dens-leonis, Raf. (dandelion). Fields, roadsides, etc.; common. 

Lactuca. Canadensis, L. (wild lettuce). Rich soil, borders of fields, etc. 

Mulgedium. Floridanum, DC. Rich soil. 

Lobeliacese Lobelia family. 

Lobelia. Cardinalis, L. (cardinal flower). Wet ground. Syphilitica, L. 
(great lobelia). Wet ground. Inflata, L. (Indian tobacco). Woods. 

Campanulacese Campanula family. 

Campanula. Americana, L. (tall bellflower). Woods and thickets. 

Specularia (Venus' looking-glass). Perfoliata, A. DC. Dry open grounds. 

Ebenacese Ebony family. 

Diospyros. Virginiana, L. (persimmon). Reported to grow in the vicinity 
of Lake Fork. 

Plantaginacese Plantain family. 

Plantago. Major, L. (common plantain). Waste places; common. 

Primulacese Primrose family. 

Dodecatheon. Meadia, L. (American cowslip; shooting-star). Prairies; a 
fine plant for cultivation. 

Lysimachia (loosestrife). Ciliata, L. Low grounds. Lanceolata, Walt. 
Shaded or low grounds. Longifolia, Pursh. Low grounds. 

Bignoniacese Bignonia family. 

Tecoma. Radicans, Juss. (trumpet creeper). Black Ash swamp. 

Orobanchacese Broom-rape family. 

Aphyllon. Uniflorum, T. & G. (one-flowered cancer-root). Woods and 
prairies, rare; a curious little root-parasite without leaves and bearing single 
flowers on scapes. 

Scrophulariacese Figwort family. In this family the corolla is 
almost always irregular, and usually two-lipped. In a few cases there 
are five perfect stamens, but in the rest there are four in pairs, or only 
two ; the remainder of the five are often represented by rudiments. 
In pentstemon there are four perfect stamens and a hairy filament lying 
in the tube of the corolla like a tongue, whence it is called beard- 



110 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

tongue. The ovary is two-celled, and contains many seeds. The 
genus gerardia contains some root-parasites, which turn black in 
drying. The snapdragon and foxglove are cultivated plants of this 
family. 

Verbascuni. Thapsus, L. (common mullein). Roadsides and fields ; common. 

Scrophularia. Nodosa, L. (figwort). Woods. 

Pentstemon (beard-tongue). Pubescens, Solander. Dry banks. Digitalis, 
Nutt. Damp grounds. 

Mimulus (monkey-flower). Ringens, L. Banks of streams. 

Conobea. Multifida, Benth. Sandy soil and banks of streams. 

Ilysantb.es. Gratioloides, Benth (false pimpernel). Wet places. 

Veronica. Virginica, L. (Culver's-root ; Culver's physic). Woods. Peregrina, 
L. (neckweed ; purslane speedwell). A common weed in cultivated fields. 
Arvensis, L. (corn speedwell). Fields and waysides. 

Gerardia. Purpurea, L. (purple gerardia). Low grounds. Tennifolia, Vald. 
(slender gerardia). Hillsides, etc., in open woods. Grandiflora, Benth. Borders 
of woods. Auricnlata, Michx. Moist prairies. 

Acanthaceae Acanthus family. 

Ruellia. Ciliosa, Pursh. Dry prairies. Strepens, L. Rich woods. 

Verbenacese Vervain family. 

Verbena. Hastata, L. (blue vervain). Low ground. Urticifolia, L. (nettle- 
leaved or white vervain). Roadsides. Stricta, Vent, (hoary vervain). Dry 
roadsides. Bracteosa, Michx. (bracted vervain). Same as the preceding, but 
less frequent. 

Lippia. Lanceolata, Michx. Wet grounds, margins of ponds, etc. 

Phryma. Leptostachya, L. (lopseed). Rich woods. After flowering, the 
fruit is turned downward and pressed close to the stem. 

Labiatse Mint family. Plants in this family have square stems 
and opposite leaves. The flowers have a two-lipped corolla and four 
stamens in pairs, or only two. The fruit consists of four, little seed- 
like nutlets surrounding the base of the two-cleft style. The leaves are 
usually dotted with small glands containing the oil which gives the 
mints their aromatic odor. The various mints, sage, catnip, horehound, 
belong to this family. 

Teucrium. Canadense, L. American Germander. Low grounds. 

Mentha. Canadensis, L. Wild mint. Low grounds. 

Lycopus (water horehound). Europseus, L. Var. integrifolius, Gray. Wet 
grounds. Var. sinuatus, Gray. Wet grounds. 

Pycnanthemum (mountain mint, basil). Pilosum, Nutt. Dry woods. Lanceo- 
latum, Pursh. Woods and open ground. Linifolium, Pursh. With the last. 

Hedeoma. Pugelioides, Pers. (American pennyroyal). Dry woods. 

Monarda. Fisttilosa, L. (wild bergamot). 

Blephilia (blephilia). Hirsuta, Benth. Rich woods. 

Lophanthus (giant hyssop). Nepetoides, Benth. Borders of woods, scroph- 
ulamefolius, Benth. Same as the last. 



FLORA OF PIATT COUNTY. Ill 

Nepeta. Cataria, L. (catnip). Roadsides and fence corners near dwellings. 
Physostegia. Virginica, Benth. (false dragon-head). Moist prairies. 
Brunei la. Vulgaris, L. (common self-heal or heal-all). Woods and open 
ground. 

Scutellaria (skullcap). Versicolor, Nutt. Rich woods. Parvula, Michx. 
Dry soil. Lateriflora, L. Wet places. 
Stachys. Palustris, L. (hedge-nettle). 
Leonurus. Cardiaca, L, (mother wort). Fence corners and waste places. 

-Borraginaceae Borage family. 

Lithospermurn. Latifolium, Michx. Woods. Canescens, Lehni. (hoary puc- 
coon ; alkanet). Dry prairies. 

Mertensia. Virginica, DC. (Virginian cowslip ; lungwort). Woods. 

Myosotis. Verna, Nutt. (scorpion-grass ; forget-me not). Dry hills. 

Cynoglossum. Officinale, L. Woods and roadsides in open ground. Morisoni, 
DC. Woods. 

Hydrophyllacese Wateiieaf family. 

Hydrophyllum (waterleaf). Virginicum, L. Rich woods. Appendicula- 
tum, Michx. Rich woods. 

Ellisia (ellisia). Isvctelea, L. Fields and open woods. 

Polemoniacese Polemonium family. 

Phlox (phlox). Maculata, L. (wild sweet-william). Rich shady grounds and 
woods. Pilosa, L. Prairies. Divaricata, L. Rich woods. 

Convolvulacese Convolvulus family. 

Ipomoea. Purpurea, Lam. (common morning-glory). Escaped from cultiva- 
tion, sometimes becoming a troublesome weed in fields. Pandurata, Meyer, (wild 
potato-vine; man-of-the-earth). River banks. 

Calystegia. Sepium, R. Br. (hedge bindweed). Low grounds. 

Cuscuta (dodder.) Glomerata, Choisy. A leafless yellow-stemmed vine, 
parasitic on various plants in moist prairies and producing dense clusters of small 
white flowers. 

Solanacese Nightshade family. 

Solanum. Nigrum, L. (common nightshade). Waste places. Caroliuense, L- 
(horse-nettle). Sandy soil. 

Physalis. Viscosa, L. Dry soil. Pennsylvania, L. Dry soil. 

Datura. Stramonium, L. (common stramonium; thorn-apple). Waste places. 
Tatula, L. (purple-thorn apple). Waste places. 

Apocynacse Dogbane family. 

Apocynum. Andros&emifolium, L. (spreading dogbane). Borders of woods. 
Cannabinum, L. (Indian hemp). Open grounds and banks of streams. 

Asclepiadacese Milkweed family. Plants of this family have a 
milky juice, but many other plants have the same ; among them are 
those of the preceding family, most of the Spurge family, and the sub- 
family Composite, to which the dandelion belongs. 

Asclepias. Cornuti, Decaisne (common milkweed). Rich ground. Sulli- 
vantii, Engelm. Low grounds. Phytolaccoides, Pursh. (poke milkweed). Rich 



112 HISTORY OF P1ATT COUNTY. 

woods and copses). Incarnata, L. (swamp milkweed). Wet grounds. Tuberosa, 
L. (butterfly-weed; pleurisy-root). Dry hills and fields. 

Acerates. Longifolia, Ell. (green milkweed). Moist prairies. . 

Olcacere Olive family. 

Fraxinus. Americana, L. (white ash). Moist woods. Viridis, Michx., f. 
(green ash). Woods near streams. Sambucifolia, Lam. (black ash). Black Ash 
swamp. 

Aristolochiacese Birth wort family. 

Asarum. Canadense, L. (asarabacca; wild ginger). Hillsides in rich woods. 
Chenopodiacese Goosefoot family. 

Cheno,podium. Album, L. (lamb's quarters; pigweed). Cultivated grounds 
and waste places. 

Amarantacese Amaranth family. 

Amarantus. Retroflexus, L. (pigweed). Cultivated grounds; a common 
weed. Albus, L. Roadsides, etc. 

Polygonaceae Buckwheat family. 

Polygonum (knotweed). Pennsylvanicum, L. Rich, damp soil. Acre,H.B.K. 
(water smartweed). Low grounds. Amphibium, L. (water persicaria). Ponds 
and wet places. Virginianum, L. Rich woods. A viculare, L. (knotgrass; goose- 
grass ; doorweed). Door-yards ; waste places, etc. Var. erectum, Roth. With 
the typical form. Rarnoisissimum, Michx. Waste places and banks of streams. 
Convolvulus, L. (black bindweed). Fields and waste grounds. Dumetorum, L. 
(climbing false buckwheat). Moist thickets. 

Rumex. Britannica, L. (pale dock). Low grounds. Verticillatus. L. (swamp 
dock). Water or wet places. Crispus, L. (curled dock). Low grounds and waste 
places. Obtusifolius, L. (bitter dock). Low grounds. 

Lauraceae Laurel family. 

Sassafras. Omcinale, Nees (sassafras). Rich woods. 

Lindera. Benzoin, Meissner (spice-bush). Reported to grow in this county. 

Santalacese Sandalwood family. 

Comandra. Umbellata, Nutt. (bastard toad-flax). Dry prairies. 

Saururaceae Lizard's-tail family. 

Saururus. Cernuus, L. (lizard's-tail). Wet places and swamps. 

Euphorbiacere Spurge family. The principal genus is Euphorbia. 
In that germs, especially, the plants have a milky juice. The flowers 
have neither corolla nor calyx, and are collected in small clusters 
surrounded by an involucre, which often resembles a calyx. The 
stamens and pistils are in separate flowers ; each involucre incloses a 
number of staminate and one pistillate flowers. Staminate flowers 
have but a single stamen each ; pistillate flowers have a three-celled 
ovary which is often raised on a pedicel above the others in fruit. 
The cultivated " snow-on-the-mountain " is Euphorbia marginata, from 
the West. 



FLORA OF PIATT COUNTY. 113 

Euphorbia (spurge). Maculata, L. Fields, roadsides, etc. Hypericifolia, L. 
Same as the last. Corollata, L. Open grounds and borders of woods. Obtusata, 
Pur^h. Damp grounds. 

Acalypha. Virginica, L. (three-seeded mercury). Common in cultivated 
grounds and .shady places. 

Urticacese Nettle family. This includes four sub-families, the 
Elm family, Bread-fruit and Fig family, Nettle family proper, and 
Hemp family. All are represented in Piatt county. The Bread-fruit 
and Fig family are represented by the mulberry. 

Ulinus. Fulva, Michx. (slippery or red elm). Banks of streams; collected 
by John Marquiss. Americana, L. (American or white elm). With the last, but 
more common. 

Celtis. Occidentalis, L. (sugarberry ; hackberry). Woods and river banks. 

Morus. Rubra, L. (red mulberry). Rich woods near streams. Alba, L. 
(white mulberry). Rich woods; introduced. 

Urtioa. Graeilis, Ait. (nettle). Fence rows and waste places near dwellings. 

Pilea. Pumila, Gray (richweed; clearweed). Moist, shaded grounds. 

Humulus. Lupulus, L. (hop). Banks of streams. 

Platanaceae Plane-tree family. 

Platanus. Occidentalis, L. (plane-tree; sycamore; buttonwood). Banks of 
streams. 

Juglandacese Walnut family. 

Juglans. Cinerea, L. (butternut). Banks of streams. Nigra, L. (black wal- 
nut). Banks of streams. 

Caryei. Alba, Nutt. (shell-bark hickory). Dry grounds. Sulcata, Nutt. 
(western shell-bark hickory). River bottoms. Amara, Nutt. (bitter-nut; swamp 
hickory). Moist woods. 

Cupuliferse Oak family. 

Quercus. Alba, L. (white oak). Rich woods. Macrocarpa, Michx. (burr- 
oak). Rich soil. Imbricaria, Michx. (laurel oak ; shingle oak). Open woods. 
Nigra, L. (black-jack oak; barren oak). Barren lands; collected by John Marquiss. 
Coccinea, Waug. ; var. tinctoria, Gray (yellow-barked oak ; black oak). Both rich 
and poor soil; collected by John Marquis. Rubra, L. (red oak). Both rich and 
poor soil ; collected by John Marquiss. 

Corylus. Americana, Walt, (hazel nut). Dry grounds, open woods, etc. 

Ostrya. Virginica, Wilkl (hop-hornbeam). Rich woods. 

Carpinus. Americana, Michx. (iron-wood). Along streams. 

Salicacese Willow family. 

Salix. Cordata, Muhl. (heart-leaved willow). Wet prairies and along streams. 
Nigra, Marsh (black willow). Banks of streams. Longifolia, Muhl. (long-leaved 
willow). Wet places. 

Populus. Monilifera, Ait. (cottonwood; necklace poplar). Along streams. 

Coniferse Pine family. 

Juniperus. Virginiana, L. (red cedar; savin). Reported to grow at Cedar 
Bluff, on^the Sangamon. 



114 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Araceae Arum family. 

Arissema. Triphyllum,Torr. (Indian turnip; Jack-in-the-pulpit). Rich woods. 
Dracontium, Schott. (green dragon; dragon-root). Woods along streams. 

Lemnaceae Duckweed family. 

Lemna. Polyrrhiza, L. (duckweed; duck's-meat). Still water. 

Typhaceae Cat-tail family. 

Typha. Latifolia, L. (cat-tail). Marshy places and borders of ponds. 

Sparganium. Eurycarpum, Engelm. (bur-reed). Wet places. 

Alismacees Water-plantain family. 

Alisma. Plantago, L. ; var. Americanum, Gray (water-plantain). Shallow 
water. 

Sagittaria (arrow-head)'. Yariabilis, Engelm. Shallow water or wet places. 
Heterophylla, Pursh. With the last. 

Orchidaceae. Orchis family. 

Orchis. Spectabilis, L. (showy orchis). Rich woods; scarce. 

Amarylladaceae Amaryllis family. 

Hypoxys. Erecta, L. (star-grass). Meadows and open woods. 

Iridaceae Iris family. 

Iris. Versi color, L. (larger blue flag). Shallow water or wet places. 

Sisyrinchium. Bermudiana, L. (blue-eyed grass). Moist meadows. 

Dioscoreaceae Yam family. 
Dioscorea. Villosa, L. (wild yam-root). Thickets. 
Smilaceae Smilax family. 

Smilax. Hespida, L. (greenbrier). Woods and thickets, herbacese, L. (car- 
rion flower). Woods and open grounds along streams. 

Liliaceae Lily family. Plants of this family have regular flowers 
consisting of a perianth of six sepals, six stamens and a free, three- 
celled ovary. The divisions of the perianth are all similar except in 
trillium, which has the outer set green and the inner colored. Among 
the useful plants of the family are the onion and asparagus. 

Trillium. Recurvatum, Beck, (trillium; three-leaved nightshade). Rich 
woods. 

Uvularia. Grandiflora, Smith (bellwort). Rich woods. 

Smilacina. Racemosa, Desf. Rich woods. Stellata, Desf. High banks of the 
Sangainon. 

Polygonatum. Giganteum, Dietrich. Woods. 

Lilium. Philadelphicum, L. (wild orange-red lily). Prairies. 

Erythronium. Albidum, Nutt. (white dog's-tooth violet). Rich woods. 

Scilla. Fraseri, Gray (eastern squamash; wild hyacinth). Moist prairies and 
open woods. 

Allium (onion; garlic). Striatum, Jacq. Prairies and open woods. 

Jimcaceae Rush family. 

Juncus (rush). Tenius, Wild. Low grounds, fields and roadsides. Nodo- 
sus, L. ; var. niegacephalus, Torr. Water or wet places. 



FLOKA OF PIATT COUNTY. 115 

Commely nacese Spiderwort family. 

Tradescantia. Virginica, L. (spiderwort). Moist woods and meadows. 

Cyperaceae Sedge family. Grass-like plants, distinguished from 
the true grasses by their solid stems, three-ranked leaves with closed 
sheaths, and the single scale subtending each flower. Since most of 
them grow in places more or less wet, their habitats will not be given. 

Cyperus (galingale). Diandrus, Torr. ; Acuminatus, Torr. ; Strigosus, L. ; 
Michauxianus, Schultes. 

Dulichium (dulichium).- Spathuceum, Pers. 

Eleocharis (spike-rush). Obtusa, Schultes; Palustrus, R. Br. ; Acicularis, R. Br. 

Scirpus (bulrush; club-rush). Validus, Vahl. ; Fluviatilis, Gray; Atrovirens, 
Muhl. ; Lineatus, Michx. 

Carex (sedge). Vulpinoidea, Michx.; Sparganioides, Muhl.; Rosea, Schk. ; 
Lagopodioides, Schk.; Cristata, Schw., var. Mirabilis, Boott; Straminea, Schk.; 
Stricta, Lam. ; Grisea, Wahl ; Davisii, Schw. & Torr. ; Laxiflora, Lam. ; Pennsyl- 
vanica, Lam.; Lanuginosa, Michx.; Hystricina, Willd; Grayii, Carey; Lupulina, 
Muhl. ; Smithii, T. C. Porter. 

Graminese Grass family. The grasses are distinguished by their 
hollow stms, leaves in two ranks, and with open sheaths and two 
scales for each flower. The flowers are arranged in spikelets, each 
spikelet containing one or more flowers ; each flower has a floral 
envelope of two scales called palets,' and each spikelet is subtended by 
two scales called glumes. The grasses form one of the largest families, 
comprising three thousand eight hundred species. Some, such as the 
bamboo, are woody. Two woody species grow in Illinois. 

Leersia. Virginica, Willd (white grass). Damp, shaded grounds. Oryzoides, 
Swartz (rice cut-grass). Wet places. 

Zizania. Aquatica, L. (Indian rice; water oats). Sloughs and margins of 
ponds and slow streams. 

Phleum. Pratense, L. (timothy). Fields and roadsides; introduced. 

Agrostis. Perennans, Tuckerm. (thin-grass). Damp woods. Scabra, Willd 
(hair-grass). Dry soil. Vulgaris, With, (red-top). Moist meadows. 

Cinna. Arundinacea, L. (wood reed-grass). Rich woods. 

Muhlenbergia (drop-seed grass). Mexicana, Trin. Low grounds. Willde- 
novii, Trin. Banks in woods. Diffusa, Sehreber (drop-seed, nimble-will). Shady 
places. 

Brachyllytrum. Aristatum, Beauv. Rich woods. 

Stipa. Spartea, Trin. (porcupine grass). Prairies. 

Spartina. Cynosuroides, Willd (fresh-water cord-grass). Wet places. 

Diarrhena (diarrhena). Americana, Beauv. Rich woods. 

Dactylis. Glomerata, L. (orchard grass). Escaped from cultivation. 

Eatonia. Pennsylvania, Gray. Moist woods and meadows. 

Glyceria. Nervata, Trin. (fowl-meadow grass). Low ground. Fluitans, R. Br. 
Margins of ponds. 

Poa. Compressa, L. (wire-grass). Dry soil. Pratensis, L. (green or common 
meadow-grass; Kentucky bluegrass). Common everywhere. 



116 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

Eragrostis (eragrostis). Reptans, Nees. Borders of ponds. ^Poaloides, Beauv. 
Cultivated grounds. Var. Me^astachya, Gray. With the last. Pilosa, Beauv. Road- 
sides. Frankii, Meyer. River banks and moist places. 

Festuca. Elatior, L., var. Pratensis, Gray (meadow fescue). Grass lands. 
Nutans, Willd. Open woods. 

Bromus. Secalinus (cheat ; chess). Grain fields, waste places, etc. Ciliatus, L. 
Hillsides and woods. 

Triticum. Repens (couch-grass). Fields. 

Elymus (lime-grass; wild rye). Virginicus, L. Banks of streams. Cana- 
densis, L. Prairies and banks of streams. Striatus, Willd. Woods. 

Gymnostichum. Hystrix, Schreb. (bottle-brush grass). Rich woods. 

Danthonia. Spicata, Beauv. (wild oat-grass). Dry soil. 

Panicuni (panic grass). Sanguinale, L. (crab-grass; finger-grass). Cultivated 
grounds; common. Proliferum, Lam.; fields and waste places. Capillare, L. (old- 
witch grass). Cultivated grounds. Virgatum, L.; prairies. Latifolium, L.; woods. 
Clandestinum, L.; damp woods and river banks.' Dichotomum, L.; dry or damp 
grounds. Crus-galli, L. (barnyard grass). Waste places, damp grounds, etc. 

Setaria. Glauca, Beauv. Cultivated grounds. Viridis, Beauv. With the pre- 
ceding. 

Andropogon (beard-grass). Furcatus, Muhl. Dry grounds. Scoparius, Michx. 
Dry grounds. 

Equisetacese Horsetail family. 

Equisetum. Arvense, L. (common horsetail). Damp places. 

Filices Ferns. The leaves of ferns are called fronds. The stems 
on which they grow are usually subterranean, but in some foreign 
species they grow erect and appear above ground, growing to a height 
of from a few inches to many feet, and thus becoming tree-ferns. Ferns 
have no flowers, but on the backs or margins of the fronds are formed 
many minute spore-cases in clusters, and each of these contains many 
seed-like bodies called |pores, which are too small to be seen with the 
naked eye. Under proper circumstances a spore will germinate and 
form on the surface of the ground a heart-shaped leaf-like expansion, 
a quarter or half inch across. On the under surface of this, organs 
corresponding to the stamens and pistils of flowers are formed ; they 
unite their products and form an embryo from which a fern develops 
like the original one. About two thousand five hundred species of 
ferns are known in the world, a hundred and fifty of which grow in 
North America ; thirty-seven in Illinois. Some of the most beautiful 
ferns in the world, as the maiden-hair and the lady-fern, grow in Piatt 
county. 

Adiantum Pedatum, L. (maiden-hair). Rich woods. 

Asplenium. Filix Foemina, Berash. (lady-fern). Rich woods. 

Aspidium. Thelypteris, Swartz (marsh fern). Black Ash swamp. Achrosti- 
coides, Swartz (Christmas- fern). Hillsides and banks in woods; an evergreen 
species. 



FAUNA OF PI ATT COUNTY. 117 

Cystopteris. Fragilis, Berash. (brittle-fern). Woods; the commonest species. 

Onoclea. Struthiopteris, L. (ostrich-fern). Damp grounds near the Sanga- 
mon. Sensibilis, L. (sensitive fern). Damp or wet places. 

Ophioglossacese. 

Botrychium. Virginianum, Swartz. Rich woods. It may be called a fern, 
but differs from the true Filices in some essential points. 



CHAPTER IV. 

FAUNA OF PIATT COUNTY. 

"T)B,OBABLY but few of the inhabitants of the county appreciate the 
value of a knowledge of its natural history. We are apt to look 
upon the study of insects, birds and plants as a pastime, rather than 
as a useful and profitable employment ; but the sooner we become 
acquainted with nature the sooner will we be prepared to utilize her 
bounties and obtain the greatest benefits from the advantages she 
offers us, and to meet difficulties with nature's own means. For 
instance : a few years ago, about 1854, there first appeared in the 
county an insect known as the "potato-bug." It gradually increased 
in numbers until the raising of pocatoes was almost an impossibility. 
"Bug pickers" and paris-green vould never have annihilated the 
pest, for there were enough who did not care to spend the time and 
means to preserve the crop and so surrendered their potato-patches as 
breeding-grounds. While bugpickers and poison were doing their 
feeble work, there came to our relief two or th'ree species of insects 
that silently did a powerful work, and now have almost rid the country 
of that pest. It is true the little "lady-bug" and squash-bug have 
done their work of destroying eggs and young potato-beetles in spite 
of our indifference to them, but may it not be that in many cases we 
may assist these insect friends by becoming acquainted with them? 
Many birds, as the quail and swallow, destroy millions of chinch-bugs, 
flies, etc., every season. . The poor snake is persecuted on every hand, 
because of the curse laid upon him in the Garden of Eden, in spite of 
the fact that he has labored faithfully ever since that time, destroying 
thousands of mice, grub- worms and insects every year. If we could 
overcome our prejudice for these unfortunate creatures, and instead of 
ruthlessly killing every one we see, let him go his way in peace, we 
would assist very greatl} 7 the means nature offers us in destroying pests 
to crop raising. 



118 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

The rattle-snake is the only poisonous serpent in the state, in spite 
of those blood-chilling names so miscellaneously applied, as adder, 
viper, copperhead, etc., and now there are very few rattle-snakes in 
the state. These are some of the practical purposes for which we 
should become better acquainted with the animal life of the county. 
Then there is another side, in cultivating observation, comparison, 
and appreciation of life, but we will leave that side for our schools and 
leisure hours, and look "only to the practical side. 

Before the county was settled the buffalo and black bear might 
have been found on the prairies, or in the forests along the Sangamon, 
when the red man alone claimed the soil ; but they have all fled at 
the approach of civilization, leaving only trails, bones, etc., to tell 
of their existence here. The Virginia deer were not all exterminated 
until a few years ago. In 1869 a deer was run through the public 
square of Monticello. Badgers also were found when the first settlers 
came, but have all disappeared. As early as 1833 there disappeared 
a beautiful bird of the parrot family, Carolina parroquet, and the 
wild turkey now found in many parts of the state was once an 
inhabitant of the county. The Canada lynx and wild cat were found 
up till 1860 and the wild boar was abundant formerly. 

Among the carnivorous animals of the Dog family, or Canidse, now 
found in the county are : 

The gray or prairie wolf, Canis lupus *red fox, Vulpes fulvus ; gray fox, Urocyon 
cinero-argentatus. 

Mustelidse, or Weasel family. 

Common weasel, Putorius ermineus ; mink, P. vison ; otter, Lutra canadeiisis 
(very rare) ; skunk, Mephitis mephitica. 

Procyonidse Raccoon family. 

Raccoon or "coon," Procyon lotor. 

Of the Yespertilionidse or Bat family we have at least two species : 

The little brown bat, Vespertilio subulatus, and silver black bat, V. noctivagans 

Talpidse, or Mole family, one representative : 

The prairie mole, Scalops argentatus. 

Rodentia, or gnawers. 

Sciuridye. Squirrels. Flying squirrel, Sciuropterus volucella; fox squirrel, 
Sciurus niger ; gray squirrel, S. carolinensis ; chipmunk, Tamias striatus ; striped 
gopher, Spermopilus tridecernlineatus ; gray gopher, S. franklinii ; woodchuck, 
Arctomys monax. 

Muridse Mice family. 

Norway rat, Mus decumanus ; common mouse, M. musculus. 

Leporidse Hares. 

Gray rabbit, Lepus sylvaticus. 



FAUNA OF PI ATT COUNTY. 119 



Of Marsupialia, one representative : 

The opossum or " possum," Didelphys virginiana. 



The number of species of birds found in the county during the 
year is too great to give here, except a few of the most important. 
There are a great many birds that pass through the country in the 
migrating season, stopping only a few days to take food, but as 
they come and make us a visit once or twice a year, we may regard 
them as part of the fauna just as well as those that come to remain 
all summer and rear their young. Not half enough can be said 
in favor of these little songsters that come every spring to help 
the farmer by destroying insects, worms, etc. There are perhaps 
one or two exceptions to this, and perhaps only one worthy of 
mention : I refer to the English sparrow. It is becoming a great 
nuisance everywhere. These birds live upon grain instead of in- 
sects, and are driving out the useful birds. The streets of our 
towns and cities are full of these little brown robbers, and it is 
quite probable that before long means will have to be taken to 
destroy them. 

Among the most important species are the following : 

Incessores or Perch ers. Passeres. 

Turdidse, Thrush family. Robin, Turdus migratorius ; Hermit, thrush, T. 
pallasi ; olive-backed thrash, T. swainsoni ; brown thrush, Harporhynchus, rufus ; 
mocking bird, Mimus polyglottus ; cat bird, M. carolinensis. 

Saxicolidse. Blue bird, Sialia sialis. 

Paridse. Titmouse, Parus atricapilus. 

Sittidse. Nut-hatch, Sitta canadensis. 

Certhiidse. Brown creeper, Certhia familiaris. 

Troglodytidse. House wren, Troglodytes aedon. 

Alandidse. Shore lark, Eremophila alpestris ; Sylvicolidee, warblers ; golden 
warbler, Dendrceca sestiva; yellow rumped, W., D. coronata; magnolia, W., D. 
maculosa ; chestnut sided, W., D. pennsylvanica ; yellow-breasted chat, Icteria 
virens ; redstart, Setophaga ruticella. 

Tanagridse. Scarlet tanager, Pyranga rubra ; summer red-bird, P. oestiva, 

Hyrundinidse. Barn swallow, Hirundo horreoruin ; eave swallow, Petero- 
chelidon lunifrons ; bank swallow, Cotyle riparia ; purple martin, Progne subis. 

Ampelidse. Wax wing, Ampelis cedrorum. 

Vireonidse. Warbling vireo, Vireo gilvus. Yellow-throated vireo, V. flavifrons. 

Laniidse. Shrike, Collurio ludovicianus. 

Fringillidae (finches). Wild canary, goldfinch, Chrysomitris tristis ; English 
sparrow, Passer domesticus ; lark finch, Chondestes grammaca ; field sparrow, 
Spizella pusilla ; chippy, Spizella socialis ; song sparrow, Melospiza melodia ; 
swamp sparrow, Melospiza palustris ; snow bird, Junco hyemalis ; fox sparrow, 
Passerella iliaca ; black-throated bunting, Euspiza americana ; indigo bird, Cyano- 
spiza cyanese ; ground robin, Pipilo erythophthalmus. 



120 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Icteridse. Bobolink, Dolichonyx oryzivorus ; cow-bird, Molothrus pecoris ;: 
red-winged blackbird, Ageleeus phoeniceus ; meadow lark, Sturnella magna ; Bal- 
timore oriole, Icterus baltimore; orchard oriole, I. spurius; rusty grackle, Scoleco- 
phagus ferrugineus ; purple grackle, Quescalus purpureus. 

Corvidse. Crow, Corvus americanus ; blue-jay, Cyanurus cristatus. 

Tyrannidae. King bird, Tyrannus carolinensis ; pewee, Sayornis fuscus ; fly- 
catcher, Empidonax acadicus. 

Caprimulgidse. Whippoorwill, Anthrostomus yociferus ; night hawk, Chor- 
deiles virginianus. 

Cypselidpe. Chimney swift ("chimney swallow "), Chaetura pelagica. 

Trochilidse. Ruby-throated humming bird, Trochilus colubris. 

Alcedinidse. Kingfisher, Ceryle alcyon. 

Cuculidse. Yellow-billed cuckoo, Coccygus americanus. 

Picidse. Red-headed woodpecker, Melanerpes erythrocephalus ; golden- 
winged woodpecker, Colaptes auratus. 

Raptores Strigidse. Short-eared owl, Brachyotus palustris; screech owl, 
Scopsasio ; great-horned owl, Bubo virginianus. 

Falconidse. Sparrow hawk, Falco sparverius ; chicken hawk, Accipiter 
cooperi ; hen hawk, Buteo borealis ; golden eagle, Aquila chryssetus. 

Cathartidse. Turkey buzzard, Cathartes Aura. 

Columbae. Wild pigeon, Ectopistes migratorius ; mourning dove, Zinsedura 
carolinensis. 

Gallinse Tetraonidse. Ruffed Grouse, Bonasa umbellus; prairie hen, Cupido- 
nia cupido. 

Perdicidse. Quail, Ortyx virginianus. 

Limicolse Charadriidie. Golden plover, Charadrius fulvus ; killdeer plover, 
./Egialitis vocii'erus. 

Scolopacidse. Woodcock, Philohela minor; Wilson's snipe, Gallinago wilsoni ; 
least sandpiper, Tringa minutilla. 

Herodiones Ardeidae. Great blue heron, Ardea herodius ; great white egret, 
Herodias egretta; stake driver, Botaurus minor. 

Alectorides Gruidse. White crane, Grus americanus ; sandhill crane, G.. 
canadensis. 

Lamellirostres Anatida?. Brant goose, Branta bernicla; Canada goose, B. Cana- 
densis ; mallard duck, Anas boscha ; blue-winged teal, Querquedula discors;. 
green-winged teal, Xettion carolinensis ; wood duck, Aix sponsa. 

Pygopodes. Podicipidse. Pie-billed grebe, Podilymbus podiceps. 

Of reptiles, fishes and insects, and the lower forms of animal life, 
such a limited number of species have been identified that we can 
notice only a few without giving even a partial list. 

There are at least three turtles the snapping turtle, painted or 
mud turtle, and the soft-shelled turtle. 

There are no lizards, but there is a lizard-like reptile called a sala- 
mander (Amblystomea punctatum), and which is usually called a lizard 
by those not acquainted with it ; but it is nearer related to the frogs 
than to the lizards. If there is a representative at all of the order of 



FAUNA OF PIATT COUNTY. 121 

lizards it is the so-called glass snake another misnomer. It resem- 
bles a snake in having no limbs, but upon examination it will be found 
that it has movable eyelids, while the true snakes have not. By the 
popular tradition this reptile will break into pieces by a slight blow 
and then crawl together again, while the truth is, it has a very long 
tail in proportion to its body, and when the animal is excited the 
muscles of the tail become very rigid and so brittle that they break 
like glass by a slight blow; so that only the tail breaks off and the 
animal crawls away without it. It is perfectly harmless and can be 
handled without fear. 

Among the snakes proper there are the black snake, blue racer, fox 
snake, milk snake, three or four kinds of garter snakes, water snakes, 
and formerly two kinds of rattle snakes ; the latter being the only 
poisonous snakes in the country, no matter how terrible or threatening 
they are. The snakes, though valuable aids to the farmer, are fast dis- 
appearing on account of a barbarous custom, so universally practiced, 
of killing every snake that is so unfortunate as to be found in our 
reach. 

Of batrachians there are probably a half-dozen representatives. 
Besides the salamander above spoken of, there are two or three frogs, 
the toad and the mud puppy . 

The fishes are represented by two species of cat-fish, buffalo-fish, 
one or two sun-fish, bass, pike, perch, and gar-pike. It is very prob- 
able that many times this number may be found, but little has been 
done with them. 

Years of labor would not exhaust the insect world of a square mile 
of the county chosen at random ; but a little investigation and well- 
directed study will give one a good understanding of at least those 
insects most injurious to crops, and the insect enemies of the same. 
To be able to treat of them properly, one must know something of 
their nature and habits. 

The Colorado potato-beetle (Doryphora ten-lineata) appeared in 
about 1854, but as stated above it has nearly disappeared, owing largely 
to its many insect foes. 

The ' ' wild potato-bug " (Ly tta marginata), comes occasionally, and 
can be driven off by switching the vines. 

The cabbage butterflies (Peiris), and especially the species rapes 
a small white butterfly is now a great pest to cabbage growers. 

The cut-worm is the larvse or young stage of a little gray moth ; 
and another the larvae of a beetle which we call the June bug or May 
9 



122 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

beetle. The former is the brown grub that cuts off young corn ; the 
latter a large white grub. 

The ground squirrel destroys a great many of the beetles. One 
beetle will lay hundreds of eggs in a year, so the ground squirrel, 
though he may destroy a few hills of corn, may save many a hundred 
by killing the beetles. 

The army-worm (Leucanium unipuncta), is also the larvae of a small 
gray moth. 

The chinch-bug (Micropus leucopterus) is probably the worst pest 
to the farmer. It was first noticed in this county in 18-i-t. 

Other injurious insects are the Hessian-fly, curculios, etc. 

The lists of species is a very small one indeed, and it is to be hoped 
some one will complete the work by making a note of the species not 
contained in the above. 

J. E. ARMSTRONG, B. S., 
Asst. in Nat. Hist. 111. State University, 

Champaign, 111. 



CHAPTER V. 

CUSTOMS OF THE OLDEN TIME. 

" There are gains for all our losses, 
There are balms for all our pains, 
But when youth, the divani, departs, 
It takes something from our hearts 

And it never comes again." 



few lines contain a germ of truth, and one of the reasons 
-L that the old settlers of the county look back with longing eye and 
throbbing hearts to the days of "Aukl Lang Syne." The youthful eye 
of the pioneer saw bluer skies, and greener trees, than the aged eye 
now sees ; the luxuriant grasses waved to gentler breezes ; cooler, 
clearer water from rippling brook or refreshing spring laved his heated 
brow, or quenched his ardent thirst ; his quickened ear caught sweeter 
strains in the nesting-songs of the feathered tribe, and when twilight 
clo> (! the busy day he was "lulled into pleasant dreams by happy 
toil." Such is some of the glamour which youth sheds over the 
kw good old times." However it was not all poetry, the early days in 
this county. There was a stern and practical side to the life of every 



CUSTOMS OF THE OLDEN TIME. 123 

pioneer. Trials and hardships found their way into each home. But 
interwoven with this life of simple pleasures, primitive joys, of alter- 
nate smiles and tears, of imdiminished labor, there are many life 
lessons which we of later days would do well to pause and ponder. 

Directed by the faithful, sturdy hand of a dear old man, whose 
cheerful presence yet gladdens many homes of the present time, let us 
gaze backward into the past and glean some of the gems from Memory's 
treasure-house. Lured "on by whispered tales of the abundant resources 
and future greatness of the new states, the first settlers of this county 
left their timber-bound homes of Ohio, Kentucky or Indiana and 
drifted with the tide of immigration into the great ''prairie sea." No 
doubt, had their pen been as mighty, they would have said of Illinois' 
magnificent prairies, as Bryant : 

"My heart swells while the dilated sight 
Takes in the encircling vastness. Lo, they stretch 
In airy undulations far away, 
As if the ocean, in its gentle swells, 
Stood still, with all his rounded billows fixed 
And motionless forever." 

Nurtured under the protecting forests of their native states, the 
immigrants sought timbered land for their new home. In fact it -was 
years after the first settler came to this county ere it was known that 
prairie soil could be successfully cnltivated. Upon reaching the water- 
courses of the county, the timbered region, the new comers pitched 
their tent, and with their ax, " the first weapon of offense against the 
forests," began to fell trees, thus clearing land for cultivation, and at 
the same time preparing to build the primitive log cabin of the county. 
For years aftqj the first settlements were made in the county, all the 
men living therein collected together to aid in the raising of each new 
cabin. These cabins were usually from 14 to 16 feet, and rarely twenty 
feet, square. They were usually built in the following manner: "First- 
large logs were laid in position as sills ; on these were placed strong 
sleepers, and on the sleepers were laid the rough-hewed puncheons 
which were to serve as floors. The logs were then built up till the 
proper height for the eaves was reached ; then on the ends of the 
building were placed poles, longer than the other end-logs, which pro- 
jected some eighteen or more inches over the sides, and were called 
" butting pole sleepers "; on the projecting ends of these were placed 
the "butting poles," which served to give the lines to the first row of 
clapboards. These were, as a matter of course, split, and as the gables 



12-i HISTORY OF PIATT COUXTY. 

of the cabin were built up, were so laid on as to lap a third of their 
length. They were often kept in place by the weight of a heavy pole 
supported by what was called knees, which was laid across the roof 
parallel to the ridge-pole. The house was then chinked, and daubed 
with coarse mortar." 

In the first cabins of the county huge fire-places, occupying nearly 
the entire end of the room, were built. These were large enough for 
persons to sit in chairs on either side of the burning fire, and being 
entirely within the fireplace they could look up the chimney and out 
at the sky above. At these fireplaces our mothers cooked, and our 
fathers tell us that the bread from the "dutch-oven," the corn bread 
from the "pone" board, the venison from above the coals, and the 
potatoes from out the ashes, were sweeter far, and formed more deli- 
cious food, than any of the dishes of modern device. 

In a few of the first cabins in the county, a log being left out of 
one side, sheets of paper greased with "coon grease" covered the 
opening and feebly let in the daylight to the inmates. Nearly all the 
furniture of these first cabins were "home made." A single puncheon 
board with four legs projecting from the underside formed the dining 
table, and blocks of wood on three legs were their chairs. The bed- 
stead corresponded with the rest, and sometimes was made with but 
two poles united at a right angle, and projecting into the side and end 
of the room. Boards resting on this framework formed a spring bed 
compared to the hardness of the puncheon floor. 

Come with me for a moment and we will take a peep into one of 
these primitive cabins, after more modern furniture came into use. 
Here we are on the hewn threshold of the one door, which is in the 
south side of the house. The latch-string, which is "always out," is 
drawn and the wooden latch lifts with a sharp click. slowly the mas- 
sive door swings back from the generous opening and we in truth see 
some of the charms of "ye olden time." In spite of carpetless floor, 
limited space and crude furniture, there is an air of comfort about the 
interior that cannot be denied. After our return we will relate our 
experience and what we saw in the cabin. At first our entire attention 
was attracted to the fireplace on the west side of the room, and we saw 
verified Whittier's twilight scene in "Snow-bound." We saw 

"The oaken log, green, huge, and thick, 
And on its top the stout hack-stick ; 
The knotty forcstick laid apart, 
And tilled between with curious art 



CUSTOMS OF THE OLDEN TIME. 125 

The ragged brush ; then, hovering near, 
We watched the first red blaze appear, 
Hoard the sharp crackle, caught the gleam 
On whitewashed wall and sagging beam, 
Until the old, rude furnished room 
Burst, flower-like into rosy bloom. 

-::- * -::- * * * -::- 

Shut in from all the world about, 

We sat the clean-winged hearth about, 

Content to let the north-wind roar 

In baffled rage at pane and door, 

While the red logs be 'ore us beat 

The frost-line back with tropic heat; 

And ever, when a louder blast 

Shook beam and rafter as it p.issecl, 

The merrier up its roaring draught 

The great throat of the chimney laughed. 

The house-dog, on his paws outspread, 

Laid to the fire his drowsy head. 

And, for the winter fireside meet, 

Between the andirons' straddling feet, 

The mug of cider simmered slow, 

The apples sputtered in a row, 

And, close at hand, the basket stood 

With nuts from brown October's wood." 

Sitting there in the mystic light from this charmed fireside we gazed 
about the room. The sand-scoured puncheon floor reflected the lire- 
light to wall and ceiling. Chairs, stools, benches and chests were 
scattered about the room. Three curtained beds with narrow pass- 
ways between, and mayhap a trundle bed beneath, stood with heads 
to the east at the back part of the room. Under the spotless curtained 
windows the one at the west and the other at the north of the room 
stood a stand and dining table. In the corner to the left of the lire- 
place an old-time cupboard rested against the wall. Rows of blue 
and white plates lined the uncurtained shelves, while a huge onion or 
a ripe tomato ornamented the top. High over the fireplace the narrow 
mantle with its medicine bottles, candlestick, and what not, rested ; 
while, at various places about "the room, boards resting on sticks driven 
into auger holes formed shelves for bedding and other things. The 
pioneer's friend and weapon of defense, his gun, rested on wooden 
hooks fastened to the centermost joist of the ceiling. Hanging on 
wooden pegs against the wall in the back part of the room were the 
" linsey woolsey," drawstring tow, or eight-yard calico dresses, of the 
economical and thrifty women, of the household, and the stocking-pole 



126 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

or line found its place in the corner of the cabin. The spinning 
wheels, both large and small, had their place in the corner of the 
room. From the joists and about the wall, dried herbs of various 
kinds were hanging. From these, soothing beverages were made by 
the family nurse of the home the good house-wife for healing the 
wounded and curing the sick. On peeled hickory poles resting on 
pegs driven into the joists there hung numberless rounds of dried 
pumpkins and strings of dried apples. 

While viewing all these numerous articles we sat in the midst of 
the inmates of the house. With genuine pleasure and good will beam- 
ing in their kindly faces, they had made us welcome and with generous 
hand and open heart had entertained us well. 

As we reluctantly left this genial home and turned our steps to a 
modern one, we thought along the years from then till now the old 
days to the new, and we grievingly saw many dear old customs that 
had gradually dropped out of use, so that perhaps but a shadow of 
their influence reaches the present time. 

Very much of the free-hearted hospitality which used to make each 
cabin a home to the stranger is gone. There is less of the genuine 
neighborly feeling which existed between the early inhabitants of the 
county. In the early days here there was not much need for lawyers ; 
the good-natured judgment of the pioneers quietly settled all disputes. 
There was a simplicity of demeanor, and a wonderful amount of gen- 
uine upright integrity in the character of the pioneer, whose counter- 
parts are seldom found in the character of people of to-day. 

There is one thing of which the early settlers of the county all had 
an equal share, they all had a generous portion of poverty. It being a 
common article no feeling of degradation accompanied it. However, 
they had one comfort, what little they did have was their very own. 
They lacked many of the conveniences of life and some of what now 
seem necessaries, but with patient hearts and laboring hands they toiled 
on, hoping for brighter days. 

The first settlers did most of their farm work with oxen. The 
ploughs first brought here were of little use in breaking the grass- 
matted prairie soil. This was a drawback to the cultivation of the lat- 
ter, after the truth was made clear that the prairie soil would grow grain 
as well as the timber ground. When the county was first settled the 
nearest sawmills were on the Wabash river, and some of the houses 
are yet standing, the lumber of which was brought from the banks of 
the said stream. The Wabash region and Sangamon county furnished 



CUSTOMS OF THE OLDEN TIME. 127 

the grist-mills for a number of years. The groceries came from the 
same regions, while the salt mines of Vermilion county were fre- 
quented. These, too, were the market-places, while many hauled 
their grain all the way to Chicago and exchanged for groceries. It has 
not been over thirty years since a family in this county hauled peaches 
in a wagon to Chicago and sold them. For a number of years all 
blacksmithing was done outside the limits of the county. It would be 
utterly impossible to give an accurate idea of all the suffering and hard- 
ships undergone by the people living under such inconvenience. 

The people on coming to make a new settlement were generally pre- 
pared with breadstuifs and groceries to last until a crop could be raised. 
Corn-meal seemed to be the staple article of diet. Johnny-cake and 
pones made of this were relished for breakfast and dinner, while mush- 
and-milk or " hasty pudding" was the usual dish for supper. The 
"truck-patch" contained about the same kind of vegetables we find in 
modern ones. All kinds of wild fruit were plentiful. Honey was 
found in great abundance in the forests, and maple sugar was success- 
fully made, though the sugar camps were never as extensive as those 
in more eastern states. Wild meat was very plentiful. Venison and 
wild-turkey meat abundantly supplied their tables. 

The thrifty housewife of the early days of the county not only kept 
her house neatly and in order, cooking for a large family, and ofttimes 
for a whole wagon-load of travelers, but she manufactured nearly all 
of the clothing worn by the family, and made much of the bedding. 
Many women in the county are yet using blankets woven by their own 
hands. " Linsey-woolsey " was made into winter gowns for the women, 
while blue and butternut jeans suits were worn by the men. The men, 
too, often wore buckskin shirts, and, in fact, entire suits of the same. 
The early settlers upon coming to the county found the Indians here, 
and some of their athletic sports were copied. Most of the sport in 
way of games were those testing muscular strength or the skill with 
the gun and bow and arrow. Shooting matches were sometimes in- 
dulged in. 

The first settlers were located, some of them, miles apart, but they 
were never too far to refuse to obey a call to a house-raising, log-roll- 
ing or corn-husking. "We're going to raise to-morrow," was all the 
invitation needed to obtain abundant assistance to erect a cabin. 

For a number of years after the first settlement was made in the 
county, the inhabitants made yearly preparations for the sickly or ague 
season, which usually began about August and lasted several months. 



128 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

During this time often the entire household would be "shaking" at 
one time, and neighbors who lived at a distance of from sixteen to 
twenty miles willingly left their home work to minister at the bedside 
of sick friends. 

One great annoyance to the settlers in the early days of the county 
was land speculators, who often entered land before the settler who 
anticipated entering it could get time to travel some seventy miles to 
the land office. One instance is already recorded relating the fact that 
one of the ladies now living in the county rode horseback to Danville, 
swimming the Vermilion river on the way, and reached the land office, 
entered her land, and walked out of one door of the office just as the 
speculator came in at the other. 

In such way have we related some of the manners and customs of 
the long ago. If by such relation we have succeeded in pleasantly 
recalling to some of the old people of the county their early days here, 
we will feel amply repaid for our labor. 



CHAPTER VI. 

PIATT COUNTY. 

" Sweet clime of my kindred, blest land of my birth ! 

The fairest, the dearest, the brightest on earth, 
Where'er I may roam, howe'er blest I may be, 
My spirit instinctively turns to thee." 

PREVIOUS to the coming of the first white settlers to this county, 
the small portion of the state now known as Piatt county served 
no higher purpose than as grazing land for herds of deer and buffalo, 
and as camping ground for the Indians during the hunting season. 
The buffaloes disappeared ere the coming of the whites, leaving as evi- 
dence of their habitation here some decaying bones, and a portion of 
some of their trails to the water-courses. A small part of one of these 
trails can yet be seen about half a mile west of Mr. Macintosh's mill on 
the Sangamon river. 

The deer remained long after settlements began, and, in fact, some 
were seen in the county not over sixteen years ago. These timid, 
graceful creatures were the pride, as well as the chief support of the 



PI ATT COUNTY. 129 

early settlers of the county. They furnished much of the sport, too, 
for the old as well as the young. Deer hunts were greatly in vogue, 
and the children spent days in playing with their pet fawns. Some of 
the old settlers have at hand many jokes and incidents relative to the 
deer hunts of their youthful days. Most of the early settlers were 
hunters, some excelling the others, however. "Uncle Nath" Henline 
was always a hunter and we expect him to remain one for many years 
to come. Mr. Simon Shonkwiler has killed many a deer, while 
"Uncle Joe " Moore has well earned his sobriquet of " Buckskin Joe." 
"Uncle Ezra" Marquiss is one of the few early settlers who spent 
very little time with the gun. He sometimes relates his early disap- 
pointments in that direction and his subsequent decision to spend his 
time at something else. He never killed a deer in his life. Dr. Hull 
was a noted deer hunter in his day here. The Maxwells, just beyond 
the line, in Champaign county, were the companions of Mr. Henline 
and others of the early settlers in their hunting expeditions. Joseph 
Mallory says that he shot his first deer December 9, 1835, on what is 
now Mr. Thomas Reid's place. He was in company with William 
Piatt, and the latter undertook to have his nag carry both himself and 
the dead deer. Upon crossing a little stream and when the horse went 
to drink, he was so frightened by the deer's legs swinging and striking 
him, that both the deer and Mr. Piatt were tossed into the stream. 
Many other similar incidents might be related which would but serve 
to emphasize the fact that the hunting was a hard necessity, yet once 
in a while a little sport tempered the hardness. 

Wolves were at one time and are still in some parts of the 
county a great annoyance to the early settlers. Many ways and 
means were devised for exterminating them. They were chased with 
bloodhounds, were dug from their lairs, and in some cases were 
caught in traps. Mr. Piatt has seen the remains of a wolf trap sup- 
posed to have been erected by Mr. Daggott, which had the skeletons 
of deer and wild hogs which had been used for bait scattered around 
it. According to Mr. Henline the wolf traps were made similar to 
those for prairie-chickens. The bait was so fixed that, when the wolf 
jerked it, the lid of the trap came down and the wolf was a prisoner. 
Some of the ladies in the county had a little share in wolf and deer 
hunts. One lady, now living in the county, told us how astonished 
she once was to have a wolf bound over the fence, alighting at her 
side as she stood in the garden. From the garden the wolf went 
from one lot to another and then lay down in the pig-pen to 



130 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

rest. The neighbors with their dogs were out on the trail, and 
as the barking of the dogs began to be heard plainer, the wolf 
started from the -hog-pen and ran in another direction. In the 
meantime, and ere the men came in sight, the lady referred to had 
mounted a horse and was quickly oft', taking the lead in the chase and 
witnessed the killing of the wolf by the hounds. Several equally 
interesting incidents are remembered by the pioneers. The howling 
of the wolves was one of the disagreeable sounds the people had to 
listen to in the early days. Some of the now men and women can 
jet, in imagination, hear the frightful noise as it sounded in their 
childish ears. 

Indians in the county. Indians of various tribes used to pass 
through and camp in Piatt county, but the Pottawatomies and Kicka- 
poos frequented the place more than any others. Mr. Henline was 
well acquainted with many of these Indians. They taught him their 
language, their arts of hunting and trapping, and the use of snow- 
shoes. Shabbona, the peace chief, has been in the county, and Mr. 
Henline knew him. He was also acquainted with Shaw-nes-sah, an 
under chief of the Pottawatomies. Mr. Henline assisted in opening 
an Indian grave that of a chief in the war of 1812, near Coon 
spring, and he yet has some of the trinkets taken from it. 

There was one old Indian, named Capt. John, who wintered 
for several seasons just a little west of the Wabash cattle-yards, near 
Monticello. He considered Mr. James Piatt's folks, who lived in a 
cabin just north of the depot in Monticello, his friends. One summer 
Indian John wanted to stay and plant corn, and Mr. Piatt showed 
him ground on the present site of Monticello where he could plant. 
John, however, wanted to plant in the pasture, but upon Mr. Piatt's 
assuring him the horses would eat it he went off contented, returning 
in the fall to find a fine lot of corn on the ground he would not use. 
He pointed to the corn telling what a patch of corn he had. Mr. Piatt 
told him to go cut it, but the old Indian only laughed adroitly and 
turned away. Just before the Black Hawk war, this Indian went to 
Mr. Piatt and bade him good-by, telling him that there was going to 
be war. 

One morning several Indians called at Mr. Piatt's for food. 
Although it was after breakfast time Mrs. Piatt gave them a good 
meal. While in the house one of the Indians saw a book on the shelf 
and took it down, asking William Piatt to read for them under the 
trees in the yard. The latter read until the Indian reached for the 



' PIATT COUNTY. 131 

book and began to read as well as William, after wliich he drew forth 
a Testament from his pocket. 

At the time that Mr. James Piatt was helping Mr. Fry to build his 
cabin, an Indian came out of the woods and beckoned to Mr. Piatt, 
who was on the house. He got down from the house and followed 
the Indian, who presented him a part of a deer in remembrance of the 
time Mr. Piatt fed him during the war of 1812. 

Part of the land Mr. Piatt owned in and about Monticello was 
paid for by money received from Indian agents. At one time five or 
six hundred Indians on their way west were camped in his neighbor- 
hood and he furnished the agents provisions for them. 

A pond several miles north of Monticello commemorates the name 
of a Delaware brave. A Delaware squaw killed two Kickapoo chil- 
dren and was -sentenced to death. An Indian married her to save her 
life and she was banished. Her husband chose banishment too, and 
they settled in the fall upon the banks of the Sangamon river. Upon 
the rising of the river they moved back just above a pond on C. "W. 
Piatt's place. Here the squaw was taken sick and her husband gave 
her steam baths by pouring water on hot stones, but to no purpose, for 
she died. Nathan Henline was a boy at this time and was at the 
burial. The grave was dug on the bank of the pond, puncheon 
boards were placed therein, and into this r-ude sepulcher- the body was 
placed. The next morning old Buck and his ten-year old son, Calish, 
started to camp, and ever since the pond has been known as Buck's 
pond. Some time after the burial of the squaw a band of Kickapoo 
Indians passed through this section of the country, and the grave was 
robbed of its dead, the bones were scattered on top of the ground. 
A number of years afterward the Marquiss boys found the old squaw's 
skull and took it home with them. Traces of the grave are yet visible. 

Organization and name. At the time of the first settlements in 
what is now Piatt county it was a part of Macon and DeWitt counties. 
About 1837 the people located here began to think themselves too far 
offTrom tEe~county seats, and they decided to try to have a new county 
struck off. Accordingly a meeting was held to see what could be done 
to advance such decision. The result was that Isaac Demorest and 
William Wright were instructed to carry a petition, which was made out 
by George A. Patterson, in Champaign county, for the purpose of 
getting some portion of it for the new county. Abraham and Ezra 
Marquiss and William Barnes were to canvass DeWitt county, while 
George A. Patterson, James Piatt and John Piatt were to work in 



132 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Macon county and over the southern part of what is now Piatt county. 
The canvassers in Champaign county accomplished nothing, but the 
others succeeded in getting their petitions quite well filled out, and 
George A. Patterson was appointed to lobby in the legislature for the 
formation of the new county. Mr. Patterson called a meeting at the 
house of Abraham Marquiss for the purpose of deciding upon a name 
for the probable county. Isaac Demorest proposed the name of Web- 
ster, and made a speech in its favor, while William Barnes proposed 
that of Piatt, and spoke at length in favor of the same. Only seven 
or eight votes were cast and Piatt gained the day by a majority of 
about one vote. Mr. Patterson went to Springfield, and wrote a letter 
to 'Squire Wiley, January 7, 1811, from which we quote the following: 
"I have become acquainted with many of the members and my busi- 
ness is favorably received. The petitions were introduced New Years' 
day, and referred to the committees on counties. I had the privilege 
of drawing the bill and with only one amendment it was presented and 
read yesterday for the first time. One gentleman has hinted that he 
would propose to alter the name of our county to that of Grundy, but 
I have opposed it, because we agreed to have no party political name, 
and so the name of Piatt will be sustained." 

The result of all this was that by an act of the legislature in Jan- 
uary, 1841, Piatt county was formed. The following, from the "Laws 
of Illinois for 1841," defines the boundaries of the said county: 

".?<? it enacted Inj the People of the State of Illinois, represented 
in the General Assembly : That all of that part of Macon and .DeWitt 
counties, included within the following boundaries to-wit: Beginning 
where the north line of town fifteen, north, intersects the middle of 
range four, east, and running thence north through the middle of range 
four to the middle of town nineteen ; thence east to the west line of 
range five; thence north to the northwest corner of town nineteen, 
north, range five, east ; thence by a direct line to the southwest corner 
of section seven, town twenty-one, north, range six ; thence east to the 
east line of range six ; thence south along the east line of range six to 
the nortli line of town fifteen, north ; thence west along the north line 
of town fifteen to the place of beginning, shall constitute a new county 
of Piatt." 

Alter the county was thus organized, Monticello, which had been 
laid out and named in 1837, was chosen as the county seat. At once 
the first county election, in April 1841, was held, and John Hughes, 
W. Bailey and E. Peck comprised the first county commissioners' 



PI ATT COUNTY. 133 

court. Hon. Samuel H. Treat presided over the iirst court held May 
1-i, 1841. Joseph King was made the first circuit clerk; James Reber, 
probate judge, and John Piatt, sheriff. 

For a number of years the county was divided into the following 
precincts : Liberty, Monticello, Sangamon and Okaw, and the people 
living therein, voted accordingly. In 1861 the present organization 
into townships was made. 

First- settlements. It seems that the southern states, though in 
some cases in a roundabout way, were the first to send settlers to our 
little county. Mr. Hayworth, who came in 1822 and built the first 
house in the county, moved from- Tennessee to. Illinois, with a colony 
of Quakers. Mr. James Martin, who settled here in 1822 and built 
the second house, was formerly from Kentucky, but he moved to Ohio, 
thence through Indiana and to Piatt county. Mr. Henline's people, 
who settled here in 1824, were originally from Kentucky, but moved 
from Ohio to Illinois. Mr. York, who moved to this state from Ken- 
tucky, was formerly from J^orth Carolina. Thus, at the outset, the 
characteristic eleme-nt of the southern people hospitality was im- 
planted on Piatt county soil. Soon other people came in from Indi- 
ana, Ohio, and other states. 

The Furnaces Mrs. Furnace, her son Samuel, and daughter Xancy, 
carne here with Mr. Martin and his nephew, John Martin. 

In 1822 Mr. Daggott bought Mr. Martin's improvements, lived 
on the place a short time, and then deserted it, moving to Big 
Grove, Urbana. About the same year Mr. Daggott came, Mr. Holli- 
day reached Piatt county. On his way here he stalled, and had to re- 
main a day or two in a big slough east of Lynn Grove. The place 
was known for a number of years as Holliday's Hole. LTpon reaching 
the county he built a cabin a little southwest of Mr. Hayworth's, on 
land that is now a part of Monticello. Mr. Solomon Carver bought 
Mr. Ilolliday out, and in 1829 William Cordell bought the property 
and moved on to it. Just previous to this, however, Mr. James Piatt, 
while traveling through Illinois, stopped over night with Mr. Carver. 
Upon hearing that Mr. Ilayworth wished to sell out, Mr. Piatt went 
to Danville, bought him out, and in 1829 moved his family from Indi- 
ana to the Ilayworth cabin, a picture of which appears in this book. 
In 1830 the father of William Cordell, built the first house on what is 
now Madden's Run. He afterward sold out to Mr. Stout, and the 
stream was known for a time as Stout's Branch. In this same year 
(1830) Mr. David Cordell built a cabin on what is known as the Wool- 



134 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNT V. 

ington place. Previous to this, however, in 1824, Mr. York built a 
cabin near Mr. George Varner's present residence, and this was the 
first house on Goose creek. It is said that in 1830 these last two 
cabins mentioned were the only ones on the north side of the Sanga- 
mon river, between Friends Creek and Cheney's Grove. Mr. York 
lost his wife here, and returned to Kentucky. Mr. Cordell moved to 
Friends Creek and thence to Missouri. In the fall of 1830 a Mr. Fry 
put up a cabin north of the mouth of Goose creek, on w r hat is -now Mr. 
Fithian's place. In this same year (1830) Mr. Terry came to the 
county and built two cabins, one for himself and one for his mother- 
in-law, Mrs. Randolf, in the southern part of the present fair grounds. 

These people, so far as we can learn, are all who settled in Piatt 
county previous to the deep snow of 1830-31. During the next decade 
settlements were made quite rapidly. 

Soon after the deep snow, probably in the fall of 1831, Mr. Olney, 
a captain in the revolutionary war, came to the county and built a 
cabin on what is now Mr. Ezra Marquiss' place. His son-in-law, Mr. 
Lawrence, began building the cabin which afterward became "Uncle 
Ezra's " tirst house, a cut of which appears in this book. One of Mr. 
Olney's sons took possession of the house vacated by Mr. Fry, while 
the other built a cabin on the site of William Piatt' s present residence. 
Old Mr. and Mrs. Olney died here and were buried at Hickory Point, 
just opposite Mr. Oliver Marquiss' present residence. Their remains 
were long afterward disinterred by a grandson and placed in the bury- 
ing ground near the Piatt school-house. The Olneys became dis- 
satisfied with the county and movied away. In 1833, when Mr. Abra- 
ham Marquiss with his family came to the county, he took possession 
of the cabin that stood where William H. Piatt's present residence is, 
which was vacated by one of the Olneys. 

During the decade from 1830 to 1840, settlements began to be made 
rapidly. During the first half of this time Mr. Abraham Marquiss, 
Ezra Marquiss, William Barnes, John and Richard Madden, Samuel 
Olney, Joseph Mai lory, Isaac Williams. Samuel Suver, Cyrus Widick and 
Michael Dillow settled in the county. About the middle of the decade 
the Aters, the Baileys, James Hart, Jesse, William and Richard Mon- 
roe, James Utterback, Joseph -and Luther Moore, Ezra Fay, Daniel 
and Samuel Harshbarger, Simon and Nathaniel Shonkwilerand Samuel 
Ilavely, came to the county. ISot far from 1840 Abraham Collins, 
John Tenbrook, Samuel West, A. J. Wiley, A. Rizeor, John Argo, 
John Welch, William Smock, Peter Adams, George and Silas Evans, 



PIATT COUNTY. 135 

the Armswortlis, the Coons, Dr. Burrill, and a number of others, 
settled in the county. Some of these early settlers of the county 
are yet living, but others have ended their worldly career. 

Prominent among the settlers at this time, in the neighboring 
counties, we will first mention Mr. Henry Sadorus, who came with 
his family and made, in 182-1, one of the first settlements in. Cham- 
paign county. Mr. Sadorus was born in Bedford county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1783. He married Mary Titus in 1811. He served thirteen 
months in the war of 1812, but never received his pension. In his 
last years he became ambitious to obtain it, but his last illness pre- 
vented the signing of the papers. Upon Mr. Sadorus' settling at the 
grove, which still bears his name, his house became a regular stopping 
place for all travelers bound for Macon and other counties west. Sev- 
eral people now living in this county are ready to affirm that the meals 
prepared by Mrs. Sadorus seemed the best they had ever eaten. This 
family was hospitable in the extreme and too great credit cannot be 
given them for their good deeds. Mr. Sadorus was married in 1853 
to Mrs. Eliza Canterbury. In this connection we will mention an 
instance referred to in Lothrop's History of Champaign County. At an 
early day here horse-thieves were quite annoying. Mr. James Piatt 
having lost three valuable horses started in pursuit, and he and Mr. 
Sadorus, after several days' ride, caught the thief with his prize. 
Although the prisoner was handcuffed, he made several attempts to 
escape as they were on the way to the sheriff of Macon county. At 
each attempt of escape made by the prisoner, Mr. Sadorus dropped a 
bullet into his gun, and when the thief was safe in the sheriff's hand 
only "twenty-nine balls " were found in the gun. 

The Dickeys, of Macon county, were also kind neighbors to the 
people of this county. Mr. Win. Dickey, a native of Alabama, 
settled on Friends Creek about 1828 or 1830, and lived there until 
his death a few years after. His son John died while on his way 
to Chicago with produce for the markets. Several descendants of 
these men are yet living in Macon county. The Ho wells, some of 
whom now live in Piatt county, were in Macon county a long time. 
The Maxwells, of Champaign county, were also friends of the people 
in this county. A number of other people, both in these and sur- 
rounding counties, might be mentioned, which would also serve to 
show that the pioneers of this county were not without friends. 

The majority of the people now living in the county are Americans, 
but within the last twenty years a number of English, Irish and 



HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

German settlements have been made here, and they all bid fair to 
become among the very best of our citizens. 

First births and deaths in the county. -The first white child born, 
in the county was that of a family of movers, who, at the time, were 
camped near Camp Creek bridge, near where Mrs. Raymond now> 
lives (1881). This family only remained in the county a month or so. 
The next child born after that of the movers was a daughter of Mr.' 
Henry Sadorus, born at Mr. James Piatt's house in the spring of 
1830. Jacob Piatt, born in January, 1831, was the first male child 
born to white settlers in Piatt county. Frank Williams, daughter of 
Isaac Williams, who came to the county in 1835, and Mary E. Monroe 
(now Mrs. Gamaliel Gregory), were probably the next children born 
in the county. 

There was a walnut tree, which stood on an island a little below 
the Bender ford of the Sangamon river, which for fifteen years was 
known as the ".coffin tree." The several first people who died in the 
county were buried in coffins made by the neighbors from this tree. 
The first coffin, according to Mr. Henline, was made for Mrs. Martin, 
and the same tree furnished coffins for Mrs. Randolph, Mrs. Terry 
and Mrs. Olney. The coffin of the latter named person was in good 
condition when taken up thirty years after. These people- except 
Mrs. Olney were buried a little southwest of Rhoades Park, in 
Monticello. Mrs. York, Mr. Holliday and Mr. Ayers also had coffins 
from the tree and were interred in the same place. No trace of this 
burial-ground now remains. This tree just referred to was used for 
other purposes. Mr. Abraham Marquiss and Ezra Marquiss made a 
good table out of it, and Win. Piatt made several bedsteads from the 
same tree. 

The "deep snow" and "sudden freeze" mark two eras in the 
history of Piatt county which were not soon forgotten by the inhabit- 
ants of the county at that time. "The deep snow is one of the land- 
marks of the early settler. It is his mile-stone, from which he counts 
in dating preceding or succeeding events. He reckons the date of his 
coming to the county, his marriage and the births of his children from 
it." "You may locate a certain event as occurring Anno Domini 
so-and-so, and your ante-deep snow resident will at once commence 
counting on his fingers the intervening years between the deep snow 
and the particular time in question in order to verify your date. 
The fact is, that the deep snow was an important and very extraor- 
dinary phenomenon. There has been nothing equal to it in this 



.ARY 
1 

RSii/ OF ILLINOIS 



PI ATT COUNTY. 139 

latitude for the last hundred years if the Indian traditions are 
correct as to what occurred before the white man's advent. Accord- 
ing to their traditions, as related to the first settlers, a snow fell 
from fifty to seventy-five years before the settlement of the white 
people, which swept away the immense herds of Buffalo and elk that 
then roamed over our vast prairie." 

Early in the fall of 1830 the snow began to fall, and continued to 
fall at near intervals through the entire winter. Frequent sleets with 
the snows formed alternate layers of snow and ice, which was from 
three to four feet deep on the level. The weather was intensely cold 
throughout the season, and the snow did not melt. It was drifted in 
places so that the fences could not be seen. For weeks people were 
positively "snow-bound," and did not venture forth except to prevent 
starvation. As the season advanced and the snow became packed, 
teams drawing heavily loaded wagons were driven right on top of the 
snow and over stake and rider fences. 

Wild game was very easily captured that winter. The deer being 
unable to travel through the snow were often caught without the aid of 
fire-arms. For several seasons following that of the deep snow, deer, 
prairie-chicken and other game were very scarce. 

After this great snow began to melt as the warmer season advanced, 
the country was almost deluged with water, and for weeks it was 
nearly as difficult to travel about the country as it was in the winter. 

We understand there was no one perished in the snow of that 
fearful winter, but we have heard several tales of the hardships under- 
gone by the settlers of the county. At this time there was one little 
hand-mill in the county at Mr. Henline's, and all their neighbors had 
to struggle through the snow to use this one mill to prepare the 
"breadstuff." One old settler relates the fact that, when a boy, he 
was detailed from his family to carry grain or "breadstuff" to a 
family across the river to keep them from starving. He wore nothing 
on his limbs but buckskin breeches, and as he came over the point of 
the bluff reaching the prairie not far from where Mr. Woolington now 
lives, the cold wind from off all that prairie of deep snow would blow 
his clothes and strike his now and then unprotected knees with such 
force as to almost paralyze him with cold. 

But at last this dread season came to an end, and not another such 
has been experienced by the inhabitants of the county since. 

January of 1836 marks the era of the "sudden freeze." This resulted 
in more loss of human life than did the deep snow, and, from the sud- 
10 



140 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

denness of the storm, there was probably more intense suffering for 
the time being. Some of the incidents related in regard to this storm 
seem almost incredulous, but when we hear so many tell the same 
kind of stories, we know all could not be mistaken. For a time pre- 
ceding the storm the ground had been covered with snow, but upon, 
the day in question, the rain falling during almost the entire forenoon 
had made with the snow a "slush" several inches in depth. The 
storm came from the northwest and reached this county some time in 
the afternoon. The cloud appeared dark and threatening above, while 
below it had a white frosty appearance and the air seemed filled with 
particles of frozen mist. Almost instantaneously the climate seemed 
changed from that of a temperate to a frigid one. The change came so- 
rapidly that one could seemingly see the slush congealing, and the feet 
of chickens, hogs, sheep and cattle were held ice-bound in the frozen 
slush. Mr. Ezra Marquiss describes the day in the following manner : 
"It was raining the fore part of the day and I had been gathering 
hogs. I reached home about ten o'clock, ate my dinner, arid started 
out to see how the weather looked. As I went out of the south side 
of the house, which w.is Itf X 18 feet square, it was still raining. I 
walked slowly to the west side of the house to find it snowing, and by 
the time I had reached the north side the slush on the ground was 
frozen over." He further remarked : "The second or third day after 
the ' freeze ' a hired man and I started to take our horses over to Salt 
Creek to be shod. Father helped us to start and we got the horses 
over the creek which was from bluff to bluff quite easily, by car- 
rying ashes and scattering for them to walk on J but when we reached 
the prairie the horses could scarcely move in some places. In order 
to get them over sloughs and ponds one of us would, take hold of the 
bridle-rein and pull while the other woitkl push the horse ; but though 
the start was made early in the morning, and notwithstanding the 
pushing and pulling, night found us only half way over about five 
or six miles from home. We left the horses standing on the icy plain 
and returned home for the night. In the morning we returned to the 
horses, and the remainder of the journey seemed less difficult." 

William Piatt was pitching hay with a pitchfork when the storm 
struck him. Almost instantly, it seemed to him, the handle of the 
fork, which had been wet with rain, was c vered with ice. 

Xathan Henline says he was riding when the storm reached him, 
and before he had gone a mile the froze i slusli would bear up his 
horse. 



PIATT COUNTY. 141 

Mr. William Monroe, while going with Mr. James Utterback to 
East Fork, was so nearly frozen that when he reached a neighbor's he 
had to be helped off the horse. His clotnes were actually frozen to 
the hair of the horse. 

At the time of the sudden freeze Jacob and Samuel Deeds were 
frozen to death while on their way to West Okaw. Mr. Joseph Moore 
says that these men had been over to the Lake Fork timber hunting 
hogs and had started home. It was twelve days before their bodies 
were found. There were several other deaths of people who were 
neighbors to the people of this county. 

tiirly mills. Mr. Henliiie says the} used to prepare their corn- 
meal in what was called a hominy block. This was made by making 
a hole about one and a half feet deep in a, block of wood three 
feet long and from two to two and a half feet in diameter. A block 
of wood with a wedge in it was then fastened to a pole with one 
end fastened to a joist of the cabin. The hominy block was placed 
under the sweep, which when forced to the bottom of the block in 
pounding the corn therein, would spring back to its original position. 
The finest part of the pounded corn was made into bread while the 
coarse part was used for hominy. The next arrangement for preparing 
cornmeal was a hand mill. Mr. Henline's folks bouerht two stones that 

o 

were about sixteen inches in diameter. These were fixed in a section, 
of a hollow tree and the top stone had a hole in it in the center and one- 
near its circumference. A staff was fastened with one end in the outer 
hole, and the other to one of the joists of the cabin. By taking hold, 
of the staff a rotary motion could be made by the top stone. Only a, 
handful of corn could be put into this mill at a time, and it took 
about three men to grind three bushels of corn a day. 

Mr. Wm. Monroe thus describes the making of tfre first mill Unity 
Township had. ''When we returned home after the sudden freeze, 
Mr. Christopher Mosbarger, who was a millwright, and who had 
brought his tools along, was at our house. We were without bread- 
stuff, and he said to us : u Boys, get your axes and grub-hoes and cut 
the ice, and by gracious, we makes a mill with prairie ' nigger-heads. " ; 
All went to work and in about four days a mill was made. This mill 
was afterward moved from Mr. Jesse Monroe's to where Atwood now 
is, and was run by horse-power, grinding ten to twenty bushels a day. 

The first large mill in the county was a water-power mill, built 
about 1838, near where Mr. Mclntosh's mill is now located. It was 
owned by the following named men, who comprised the stock company : 



1 J-j IIISTOUY OK I'IATT bonm . 

Major McL'-ynolds, James Piatt, Abraham Mart|iiiss, William P>arnes, 
Mr. Satlorus and William I'iatt. 

I'.'iii'l;/ administration <>/ jn*li<-<>. The pioneers usually found a 
way, and sometimes 'twas a way peculiarly their own. to punish per- 
sons tor their misdeeds. There was a famous rail-pulling in Macon 
county about 1S:>1, in which many persons from what is now I'iatt 
county participated. Some movers passing through the county stopped, 
upon invitation, for lod^intr at the house of a man who was living on 
government land. At this house the mover was advised to enter some 
land. lie accordingly left his family with these hospitable people and 
went to a land otlice and entered the very land his new acquaintance 
was living on: and more than this, he returned and ordered him off 
the place. The one who really had the best ri^ht to the place 1 quietly 
left the cabin and built another on some land of his own, and notified 
his neighbors of the rascality of the man he 1 had befriended. Twas 
enough! People to the number of one hundred collected one niiriit 
from Sadorus drove. Salt Creek, what is now Piatt county, and Macon 
county, and planned to move the improvements to some land on which 
the new cabin was and which had been entered by the man who had 
befriended the mover. A captain was chosen and t he " rail-pulling" 
was fairly be^un, when the guilty party made his appearance and a 
compromise was made. The company contentedly dispersed t<> their 
several homes. 

Several years later a company was orpini/ed for the purpose of 
administering justice in cases that the law could not well ijet hold of. 
Ainonu; themselves they were known as "The ( 'alithumpians." They 
were in or^ani/.ation ei^ht or ten years and 'tis thought they did a 
ii'ood deal of ii'ood with tar and feathers; for, while some Were quite 
severely punished for misdeeds, others were afraid to do wron^ 1 . The 
captain and tirst lieutenant of the company are still living in this 
county, and the chaplain is now preaching in Kansas. 

Jntln'titrti, count ij ojfn; i-x dud NOIH<> of // election /'>h'/'/ix. 
Hon. Samuel II. Treat, nowjud^e of the Tinted States district court, 
presided over the 1irst court in a room ot the "Old Fort " or Devore 
House. The first tour terms of court did not occupy one half a day. 
lion. David Davis, who is now vice-president, was the second jud<;v 
of this district. He was succeeded by Hon. Charles Kmerson, of 
Decatur, who presided nearly fifteen years, and though "a man of 
tew words, was very highly revered." He died in April. 1S70. Hon. 
A. el. (iallau'her was the next juduv, and his ability for jud^in^ points 



I-IATT rorvry. II.". 

was great. Few of his decisions were reversed. After six years he 
was succeeded by Hon. C. B. Smith, who says IK; held the first term of 
court in Piatt coifnty in 3873, and has held newly every term in the 
county since;. Judge Smith is a native of Virginia, and received a 
portion of his law education under Governor Benjamin Stanton, of 
Ohio. In the last few years Judge Nelson, of Decatur, has held a 
few terms of court in the county. 

lames McDougal, who has since been United States senator from 
California, was the first prosecuting attorney. lie was followed suc- 
cessively .by David Campbell, Mr. liust, John It. Eden, afterward 
congressman from Illinois; Col J. P. Boyd, D. L. Bunn, M. V. Thomp- 
son, Samuel It. Reed, Albert Emerson and Charles Hughes. 

The names of the probate justices and county judges are as follows : 
James Reber, John Hughes, James Ater, A. G. Boyer, II. C. McComas, 
G. L. Spear, Hiram Jackson, William McReynolds and W. G. Cloyd. 

Dr. Joseph King, the first county clerk, was followed by the fol- 
lowing persons successively: Dr. J. D. Ilillis, .lames F. Outten. J. 
L. Miller, Wilson F. Cox, J. A. Helman, Watkins L. Ryder, John 
Porter and A. L. Rodgers. 

James Reber, J. C. Johnson, A. G. Boyer, L. J. Bond, William 
T. Fo>t.cr ;md William H. Plunk, are the names in succession of the 
circuit clerks. 

For quite awhile the sheriffs acted as treasurers. The first tr< a- 
urer elected was N. E. Rhoades, followed by S. E. Langdon, J. T. 
Vangundy, Nelson Reid and Theodore; Gross. 

John Piatt was the first sheriff of the county, and the following 
men succeeded him in the order of their names: Edward Ater, Charles 
Harris, George Heath, Samuel Morain, G. M. Bruffett, Peter K. 
Hull, Reuben Bowman. F. II. Lowry, K. I*. Fisher, W. B. List, George 
Miller, John Kirby, William II. Plunk, E. P. Fisher and William X. 
Holmes. 

The following are the names of the county school commissioners 
and superintendents : Joseph King, William II. Piatt, George A. 
Patterson, Joseph Kee, Thomas Milligan, John Huston, J. W. Coleman, 
Caleb A. Tatrnan, C. J. Pitkin, Mary I. Reed and G. A. Burge . 

The following men have been masters in chancery : A. G. I 'over, 
A. T. Pipher. S. It. Reed, E. A. Barringer and Albert Emerson. 

James Reber, the first county surveyor, was -ucceeded by George 
Heath, James Bryden, C. D. Moore, William McReynolds and C. I). 
Moore, in succession. 



HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 



Monticello. 

75 


Okaw. 
8 


Sangamon. 
68 


14 


11 


26 


41 


4 


8 


2(5 


5 


8 


Monticello. 
119 


Okaw. 
17 


Sanjramon. 
18 


30 


O 

o 


13 


Montic;ello. 

57 


Okaw. 
11 


Sanjramon. 
2:5 


79 


3 


69 



The subjoined results of some of the elections in the county will 
serve to show the companions in the number of voters in the county in 

various years : 

COUNTY OFFICERS. 

ELECTION OF 1852, BY PRECINCTS. 
Sheriff. 
Liberty. 

Samuel Morain 5 

M. C. Wlch 

A. J. Wiley 44 

Jeremiah lihoades 11 

Circuit I'lt-rk. 
Liberty. 

A. G. Boyer .' 4!) 

J. C. Johnson 4 

Coroner. 
Liberty. 

Benjamin Markel 7 

\Villi m Motherspaw 39 

The following, showing the official vote of Piatt county, are taken 
from tlie "Monticello Times" of November 6, 1856 : 

President Filmore 350, Biu-hanan 310, Fremont 85; Governor Morris 315, 
IMdiardson 313, Bissel 93; Lieutenant-Governor Bond 339, Hamilton 311, Wood 
95 ; Secretary of State Hatch, 429, Sriyder 311. 

Con re s Vacancy, Archer 412, Allen 318. Full term, Brornwell 411, Shaw 
313. Senator Scott 407, Post 321. Representative Gorin 427, -Warner 83. 

Sherili : Morain 349, Osborn 348. For Convention 87, Against Convention 409. 
Constable \Viinmer 160, Dove 109. Justices of the Peace Robinson 150, 
McComas 107. Coroner Ilickman 348, Markel 298. Attorney Eden 379, Moore 
296. C erk Bond 391, Boyer 2<)5, Mitchell 11. 

187(5. 

Suite's Attorney Albert Emerson 17(51, W. G. Cloyd 1425. Circuit Clerk 
W. H. Plunk 1910. Sheriff William Holmes 1870, John Vail 1351. Coroner- 
Henry Ktherton 1802. 

1877. 

County Ju l<re William McReynold-i 1322, Harvey E. Huston 11:53. County 
Clerk A. L. R>d',"rs 1324, Robert L. Bart m 1152. Co-inty Treasurer Nelson 
Reid 1294, J. T. Van:;undy 1186. County Superintendent Mary I. Reed 1247, 
John II. Ea>ton 1183. 

1878. 

Sherii; William Holmes 1384, John Vail 1080, Joseph Zorger 252, John 
Quick 1. Coroner Jacob B.irnes 1339, John Quick 1124, H. Welch 25(i. 

SPECIAL ELECTION FOR COUNTY JUDGE, JUNE 5, 1879. 
County Jud.L'e W. G. Cloyd 754, Lewis I. Bond 633. 

1SSO. 

State's Attorney Charles Hu- lies 1800, M. R. Davidson 1(594. Circuit Clerk 
W. II. Plunk 1858, D. G. Cantner 1637. Sheriff William M. Holmes 1834. 
Tho. Moffitt 1649. Coroner Jacob H. Barnes 1833, E. F. Dallas 1649. 



PI ATT COUNTY. 145 

The present county board consists of the following named gentle- 
men : William H. Katz, of Monticello township; Y. S. Ruby, of 
Bernent township; D ivid Moyer, of Willow Branch township; John 
Kirby, of Goose Creek township ; A. J. Langley, of Blue Ridge town- 
ship ; W. Mossgrove, of Sangamon township ; W. L. Pitts, of Cerro 
Oordo ; and J. A. Hawkes, of Unity. 

Lincoln. Even a history of this little bit of the sfate's territory 
cannot be written without an allusion to this great and good man to 
Abraham Lincoln. During the first years after the organization of the 
county he came to Monticello for the purpose of practicing law. 
McDougal, Kirby Benedict, C. H. Moore and Mr. Gridley, were also 
lawyers here during that time. 

In 1856, during the presidential campaign, Lincoln came to Monti- 
cello to make a speech. The speaking was to be in the court-house, 
and when the time came to proceed to said place, only two persons 
could be found who were willing to walk with Abraham Lincoln 
through the streets and to the court-house. These men were Ezra 
Marquiss, Sr., and Joseph Guy, who carried the flag. The speaking 
began, with these two men for audience, but gradually the number 
increased until the court-room was nearly full. 

During the senatorial campaign in 1858, a very different greeting 
awaited Lincoln, who was called by his party to speak at Monticello. 
A procession, nearly a mile long, came down from Champaign county, 
arid another delegation arrived from DeWitt county, with the Piatt 
county delegation in addition. A magnificent display was made as the 
throng proceeded to meet Lincoln as he came from Bement. Douglas, 
who had just fulfilled the appointment made by his party for him in 
Monticello, met Lincoln on the hill, one mile south of Monticello, and, 
according to Judge Spear, they arranged to meet at Bement, in F. E. 
Bryant's house, upon Lincoln's return to the place. At the time of 
their meeting arrangements were concluded for the great senatorial 
debate, which soon followed. 

In the procession that went to meet Lincoln were carried many 
banners with suggestive mottoes. One was: "Cham paign for Abe; 
real pain for Dug." After the crowd of some five thousand persons 
reached the old park, just west of Monticello, Lawrence Weldon, of 
DeWitt county, made the first speech. Lincoln followed him with a 
two hours' concise and logical speech. Dinner was sumptuously served 
in the park. Altogether 'twas the greatest day Piatt county had ever 
seen. 



146 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

It seems almost incredible that so great a change could come 
over the public sentiment of the people of the county during two short 
years. In 1856 the people would scarcely pause in their work to look 
at him, while, in 1858, they were ready to literally carry him in their 
arms. 

The press. Mr. James D. M^udy was the editor of the first paper 
in Piatt county. A copy of this paper, which was printed in Novem- 
ber, 1856, and called "The Monticello Times,'" lies before us, and in it 
we notice the advertisements of some of the men who are yet in business 
in Monticello. Mr. Moudy, who only edited the paper a short time, 
sold out to Mr. J. C. Johnson, who published the paperunderits original 
name for a time. He sold out to Mr. James Outten, who edited it 
under the same name for a time. Pie then took Mr. Hassett as his part- 
ner and the name was changed to ' ' The Sucker State. " Messrs. Gilliland 
and Tritt bought these men out and were running the paper in 1859. 
Thomas Milligan succeeded them, and edited "The Conservative " until 
1862. At this date W. E. Lodge bought him out and edited the paper 
until 1864-. During -a part of this time J. M. Holmes assisted him. 
Mr. Lodge sold out to N. E. Rhoades and the paper was conducted 
under the auspices of the tTnion League. Mit. A. Bates was the edi- 
tor and publisher during the political campaign of 1864-, and the paper 
was called "The Piatt County Union." 

Mr. James M. Holmes was the next person to buy the paper, and 
he printed the first copy of Yol. I of "The Piatt Independent," No- 
vember 23, 1865. 

Mr. Holmes published this paper under the same name for about 
seven years, and then changed it to "The Piatt Republican." At the 
end of about three years Mr. Holmes sold to Mr. Wagner, who im- 
mediately sold out to H. B. Funk, and in 1876 the paper became 
known as "The Monticello Bulletin." After running the paper four 
or five years Mr. Funk sold out to Messrs. Mise and Wagner, who in 
turn sold to Mise Brothers. In 1882 Mr. Funk again bought the paper, 
and under his present able management we have reason to expect a 
good paper for the people. 

In 1874 H. D. Peters came to Monticello and began work on "The 
Herald," which was under the management of Scroggs and Peters. 
Soon Mr. Peters became both editor and publisher. Pie has been suc- 
cessful in his work, and still furnishes a very good paper for the county. 
For the following items incident to "The Bement Press," we are 
indebted principally to Judge Spear and Mr. Eli Drum. 



PIATT COUNTY. 147 

In April, 1860, Mr. James Shoaff, of Decatur, and Mr. Outten, 
began publishing the "The Bement Union," in Freese & Go's ware- 
house. Mr. Shoaff made his editorial farewell in the paper of April 
18, 1861, and went to the army. After this ' Mr. Sanches served as 
publisher for several months, when the paper was discontinued. The 
next editors in the town were John Smith and John S. Harper, 
after which Mr. Mit Bates started "The Farmers' Advocate." J. H. 
Jacobs next published "The Bement Register," and was succeeded 
by Mr. Connor. On the first day of January, 1878, Mr. Ben Biddle- 
come issued the first number of "The Independent." This -paper was 
begun under unfavorable circumstances, but for several years made its 
way quite well. "The Independent" was followed by "The Bement 
Gazette," published by F. E. Bills. "The Bement Gazette" was next 
started by J. I. Chilson, who sold out to Mr. Eli Drum, the present 
editor of the paper. A citizen of the town remarked that this was 
Mr. Drum's first editorial effort and that he was "getting along finely." 

Cerro Gordo had one newspaper, "The Cerro Gordo Times," edited 
by J. H. Jacobs, but it was discontinued long since. 

Some pioneer physicians in the county. The very first settlers of 
the county were their own physicians. They were herb doctors, 
though a few had imbibed some ideas from physicians they had seen 
in other states. 

Dr. Burrill, who was here in 1838, was one of the first physicians 
in the county. 

Dr. King located in Macon county in 1839, and began practicing 
both there and in what is now Piatt county. He received his medical 
education in Cincinnati, Ohio. There were but two or three physicians 
in Macon county upon his coming west. Dr. King has honored hi& 
profession, and is now enjoying a ripe old age in Decatur. 

Dr. Ilillis came to the county a short time after Dr. King, and 
remained for a short time. 

Following these were the revered Dr. Hull, who came to this little 
county in 1841. He seemed to possess just the right qualities for a 
physician. "The memory of him, as a genial friend, companion and 
citizen, yet lingers in the hearts of hundreds of people ; and as a high- 
toned, skillful physician he has left an impress upon the minds of his 
professional brethren, who were associated with him, that will not fade 
away during their lives, lie was an ardent lover of nature and out- 
door manly sports, which contributed -no little to his generosity of 
heart. His ear was ever open to the tale of distress and his hand 



148 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

ready to give. In fine, he was one of those strong natures, mentally 
and physically, full of individuality, the type of which is fast falling 
away." 

Dr. C. R. "Ward located in Monticello in 1845. He soon worked 
himself into a very lucrative practice, the extent of which has not been 
surpassed by any physician in the county. His death, which occurred 
April 22, 1881, was lamented by all who knew him. 

Dr. Coffin, now living in Monticello, came to the county in 1847; 
Dr. Noeckerin 1853; Dr. Knott in 1855, and Dr. Coleman in 1860. 
(See their personal sketches.) 

We notice in "The Monticello Times," of November 6, 1856, that 
T. Wheeler, A.M., M.D., was located in Monticello at that time. 

Dr. Mitchell, now living in Bement, moved on to Lake Fork in 
1853, and was the first physician at Mackville. Dr. Prosser was 
located at Cerro Gordo previous to 1860, and was piobably the first 
physician of the place. Dr. Taylor was in Bement previous to 1860. 
Dr. J. H. Leal also located in Bement a few years previous to the war. 
He was in partnership with Dr. Taylor, and built up a fine practice. 
(See his sketch.) 

The pioneer physicians of the county had trials that those of a later 
date know nothing of. It was a frequent occurrence for them to be called 
to see a patient twenty or thirty miles distant. And ofttimes it was 
not the distance that was to be dreaded. The ride would often have 
to be made on a dark night, along muddy roads, and through swamps 
and ponds. Sometimes the horse would have to swim streams, while 
the rider on his knees on the saddle, held his medicine case OK the 
bridle-reins in his teeth. 

We heard a good joke told not long since relative to a physician of 
a neighboring county. He was called to see a patient who lived on the 
Sangamon, and accordingly, after bidding his wife good-bye, he started 
in the dark night to ride across the prairie. After riding a long time 
he came to a house. He alighted, knocked at the door, to hear the 
question "Who's there? " He answered by asking the way to the house 
of the patient he started to see. What was his astonishment to hear, 
instead of the requested directions, a lady's voice questioning: "Why, 
William, is that yon ( " and the worthy physician found that he had 
alighted at his own door, and was talking to his own wife. 

Pioneer latryers. As has been stated, there was little work for 
lawyers during the first few years of settlement in Piatt county. The 
lawyers who were here came from Decatur. Among the first who 



PI ATI COUNTY. 149 

located in this place were Mr. Milligan, II. C. MsComas, and A. T. 
Pipher. Charles Watts was also one of the first lawyers here. W. E. 
Lodge came to the county in 1859. A. T. Pipher and W. E. Lodge 
have been in the county longer than any others now located here. The 
personal sketches of the majority of the lawyers in the county appears 
further on in the book. 

Poor Farm. The Piatt County Poor Farm contains two hundred 
and ninety-three acres, and is situated about three miles west of Monti- 
cello. A portion of the farm is in Monticello township, while the rest 
lies in Willow Branch township. The farm contains sixty acres of tim- 
ber land. There are six acres in the garden and three in the orchard. 
The almshouse proper is of brick, and its two stories and basement con- 
tain eighteen rooms, six on each floor. The insane department is 
apart from the main building, and consists of a building 14x24 feet, 
which contains two rooms. These rooms are ceiled inside with un- 
dressed lumber. There is no corridor. The windows are 1^X4 feet, 
and are protected by iron bars. On the outside of this building is a 
.yard 40 X 50 feet, which is inclosed as an airing court. 

Mr. Seits, the present keeper of the Poor Farm, took possession 
March 1, 1877. At that time there were but seven inhabitants of the 
house ; since 1877, however, there has been as high as fifteen at a time. 
All inmates are expected to work about the house or farm, if able. 
When Mr. Seits moved to the place it was in rather a poor condition ; 
since his coming the amount of fencing on the place has been doubled, 
two hundred rods of tile ditching has been done, two hundred trees 
have been planted, and many other improvements have been made. 
The farm at present is self-sustaining. The keeper's salary is $(!()(), 
besides his family's living. The county's relief outside the Poor Farm 
is about $800 per year. 

Piatt county jail. This is in the rear of the sheriff's residence, on 
the jail lot, one block north of the court-house. The walls are of br.ick, 
lined with scantling and two-inch plank driven full of spikes. There 
are six iron cells in double block, with back to back. There is a cor- 
ridor on three sides, while the jailor's corridor is on the fourth side. 
There are six long, narrow windows, with cross-bar grating. It is 
heated by two stoves, and ventilated by the doors and windows. There 
is a guard-room next to the prison, next to which is a cell for female 
prisoners. The building was erected in 1867. 

Court-It on xe*. The first one was put up by Judge Rickets, in 1843, 
right where the present court-house stands. It was of frame, and was 



150 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

afterward moved to the west side of the square, and was ultimately 
destroyed by fire. The present brick court-house was erected about 
1856, by Judge Rickets, George Dernpsey and John Lowry. It 
originally had a cupola on it, but a storm, some seven or eight years 
ago, demolished it and, in addition, tore off a portion of the gable end 
and roof of the building. The lower floor of the building is occupied by 
the county officers principally. The court-room proper and two small 
rooms are on the second floor. 

Agricultural society. This society was first organized in 1856, 
and it now has between four and five hundred members. Nearly eight 
hundred shares have been issued at $5 per share. The fairground con- 
tains twenty -five acres, and its improvements and real estate are valued 
at about $10,000. The society is out of debt, and has about $1,500 in 
the treasury. For the last few years the fairs have been decidedly suc- 
cessful, the first two or three davs 1 receipts being sufficient to cover all 
expenses. The present officers are Jesse Warner, president ; E. P. 
Thompson, vice-president ; C. A. Tatrnan, secretary ; and Theo. 
Gross, corresponding secretary. The board of directors are "W. H. 
Plunk, John Kirby, Oscar Mansfield, Horace Calef, Jesse Yoakum, 
William Voorhies, A. D. Newton and John Goodson. 

Roads. The primitive roads of the county were the buffalo trails. 
Following these came the Indian paths, and upon the white man's 
arrival, and for years after, the traveling was done in these tracks of the 
red-man. However, the time came when the continual incoming of 
settlers formed a few roads. Probably the first visible road of the 
county was that which led from Sadorus Grove to James Piatt's cabin, 
and on to the trading-house near the mouth of Friends creek. Not long 
since we saw traces of this old road in John Piatt's present door-yard. 
After a number of families were located here, it was sometimes the 
custom to break roads between the settlements by hitching oxen to a 
log and dragging it throughout the distance, and ofttimes a furrow was 
made to show where the road ?/v/.v. 

During high waters the Sangamon was crossed by means of ferry- 
boats. Nathan Henline and his brother kept a ferry near where the 
wagon-bridge, one mile west of Monticello, is located. 

The first state road intersecting the county was that leading from 
Danville, via Big Grove (Urbana), through what is now Monticello, and 
on to Springfield. The road extending diagonally across Blue Ridge 
township, and which is known as the State road, according to one of 
the early settlers in that vicinity, was never surveyed as such. The 



riA.TT COUNTY. 151 

road was gained by people settling on it. It was used as early as 
1832, and used to go by Cheney's ( irove. Probably Mr. Richard Webb 
was the first to settle on it in this county. 

It was five years after the first settlement was made on Lake Fork 
ere officers of any kind found the people. William Monroe got up a 
petition that led to the location of the first local road, which extended 
from Monticello to the head of Lake Fork, and on down the east side 
of the same stream. John Tenbrooke surveyed the road, and William 
Monroe made the farrow with Hiram Heath's ox team. After a time 
William Monroe got up another petition, and this time 'twas for a state 
road extending from Charleston to Bloomington, and in this county, 
following in almost the direct route of the former road. Daniel Stickle 
and Judge Hughes were appointed commissioners, and George Heath 
surveyor. A mail route was established, and the mail carrier rode on 
horseback. 

For quite awhile the mail of the county was all carried on horse- 
back, and ofttimes unlocked saddle-bags contained the precious load. 
Letters formed the principal bulk of mail matter, and the postage on 
each one was from ten cents to twenty-five cents, and they were some- 
times weeks in reaching their destination. According to the postage 
law then, the postage could be paid at either end of the route, and more 
often the receiver paid the expense than did the sender of a letter. 

AVhen the stage routes wers established, about 1839, the mail was 
carried by stage. There are not many living in the county who remem- 
ber the first stages that passed through the county on the state road 
from Urbana to Decatur. The arrival of the stage coach was a great 
event in the week, and as the first stage driver sprang from his elevated 
seat to the tavern door, for the time being he was the most important man 
of the county. How curiously the collected villagers eyed each traveler ; 
and the boys of the place weekly or bi-weekly surveyed the horses, 
harness and all the rigging of what seemed to them the most wonder- 
ful vehicle that was ever constructed. 

The last stage-coach route of the county was between Monticello 
and Bement, after the building of the T. W. & W. railroad. k ' Uncle 
Billy" Motherspaw was the able and successful manager of this route, 
and did we have nothing else to remember this man by, the many 
deeds, of kindness done by him while making hr regular trips between 
the said places, would be sufficient to cause the peopii; to hold him in 
remembrance a long time. Mr. Motherspaw is at present located in 
Carthage, Missouri. 



152 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Rullroads. It was not long after the building of railroads through 
the county ere all stage-coaching was done away with. 

What is now the main division of the Wabash railroad was con- 
structed through this county across Bement and Cerro Gordo townships 
in the years of 18.^5-50. Both ends of the road were being worked 
at once during the time stated, and the connection was made, according 
to an old settler in that vicinity, between the present towns of Milmine 
and Cerro Gordo. 

The following statistics relative to the railroads in the county were 
furnished us by Mr. L. J. Bond : 

The road now connecting Champaign and Decatur was chartered in 
1861 as the Monticello railroad, but nothing further was done toward 
the road until after the war. The charter was amended and the com- 
pany was fully organized in 1865, but the work did not commence 
until 1867. The road was put in operation from Champaign to Monti- 
cello in December, 1870, but it was not completed to Decatur until 
about two years afterward. It continued under the same name until 
the road was completed, after which it was consolidated with the 
Havana, Mason City, Lincoln and Eastern road. The consolidated, 
company was transferred to that of the Indianapolis, Bloomington and 
Western, and it remained a part of that road until the foreclosure sale 
by which it was re-organized as the Champaign, Havana and Western, 
company. It is now a part of the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific road. 

The Indianapolis, Bloomington and Western railroad was chartered 
as the Danville, Urbana, Bloomington and Pekiri railroad, and was 
built and put into operation through this county about or a little before- 
1870. The road was consolidated with the Indianapolis and Danville 
road, and then became known as the Indianapolis, Bloomington and 
Western railroad. 

The Chicago division of the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific railroad 
was chartered in 1867 as the Bloomington and Ohio River railroad. It 
was afterward consolidated with the Streator and Fairbury company, 
and named Chicago and Paducah Railroad Company. It was com- 
pleted and put in operation through this county about 1873. ' It 
became a part of the Wabash system in 1880. 

The Havana division of the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific railroad 
was chartered in 1867 as the Havana, Mason City, Lincoln and Eastern 
railroad, and was built through this county about 1872. The same 
year it was consolidated with the Monticello railroad, and with it was 
transferred to the Indianapolis, Bloomington and Western road. After 



PIATT COUNTY. 153 

the foreclosure sale it became a part of the Champaign, Havana and 
Western road, but was again consolidated, and now is a part of the 
Wabash system. 

The Indianapolis, Decatur and Springfield railroad was originally 
known as the Indiana and Illinois Central road, and was commenced 
about 1847. The company was kept alive, but nothing further was 
done at the road until about 1872 or 1873, when the work was pushed 
along to the completion of the road from Decatur to Montezuma. 
Within the last few years the road was finished to Indianapolis, 
Decatur and Springfield. In 1882 the road was consolidated with and 
is a part of the Indianapolis, Bloomington and Western company. 

The following shows the amount of railroad business done at some 
of the stations in the county : 

REPORTS FROM RAILROAD AGENTS AT SOME OF THE STATIONS IN THE 

COUNTY. 

Mr. Barnard, of Bement, makes the following report for the year 
ending August 8, 1881 : 

Tickets sold .$13,700 00' 

Freight received 18,500 00- 

Freight forwarded 23,274 00 



Total $55,474 00 

The business on the Wabash railroad at Monticello for September, 
1882, is as follows: 

Pacific Express 221 56 

Ticket sales 1,195 15 

Freight forwarded 3,028 96 

Freight received 4,055 99 

Total $8,501 66 

Jame's Mahan, agent of the Indianapolis, Bloomington and Western 
at Mansfield sends a report for six months ending May 31, 1882. He 
considers it a light receipt for the office. Usually the freight forwarded 
amounts to about $30,000 per year: 

Tickets sold $ 2,392 50 

Freight received : ' 1,925 62 

Freight forwarded 13.547 85 



Total $17,865 97 

The report from Cerro Gordo is that the business done per month 
is as follows : 

Freight received, about $2,000 00 

Freight forwarded, about 3.0(10 00 

Tickets sold, about 500 00 



Total $5,5CO 00 



CHAPTER VII. 

THE SCHOOLS OF THE COUNTY.* 

IN regard to its educational prosperity, Piatt county has made 
advancement equal to any county in the state, considering its age. 
During its first decade its school-houses were few and far between. 
They were built by donations of material and labor, and the teachers 
depended upon the subscriptions of the patrons for a subsistence. 

The school-houses were built of logs and the pupils sat upon slab 
seats. The writing desks consisted of boards laid upon wooden pins 
driven into the logs, and the pupils when writing faced the wall. The 
windows in the earlier days consisted of greased paper, as a substitute 
for glass, and the room was warmed by a fire-place. 

The last of these primitive school-houses passed away in 1871, 
when the old house on " Stringtown Lane" gave way to the present 
improved and commodious structure. To-day the county is dotted 
with its school-houses, most of which are comfortably and conveniently 
arranged, with patent improved furniture ; with folding seats and often 
with folding desks ; with slated blackboards on which are used beau- 
tiful crayons in place of the lumps of chalk ; with school-books finely 
illustrated, sometimes with maps, charts and pictures adorning the 
walls ; with sufficient means for rapidly heating the often high ceiled 
capacious apartments ; and with teachers who are generally, trained 
by experience and special preparation for the work of educating the 
young. This change has occurred within the space of forty years, 
and yet there is much to be done before we reach the ideal in education. 

The estimated value of public school property, grounds, buildings, 
furniture, apparatus, etc., in Piatt county as given June 30, 1882, is 
$78,927. 

JVIonticello, Bernent and Cerro Gordo have well-graded schools, 
accompanied by high-school departments. The graduates of the high- 
schools of Monticello and Bement are admitted to /the Illinois 
Industrial University at Champaign without examination. Mans- 

* The greater part of facts for and arrangement of this article is due to the 
kindness and labor of G. A. Burgess, county superintendent of schools. , 



TIIK SCHOOLS OK THK corx'i v. 



155 



field, Milmine and Hammond have graded schools, and Maekville 
employs an assistant, but lias not two distinct departments. 

T K ACHE US' I X STIT UTE8. 

During the winters of 1867-8 and 1808-1) teachers' institutes on the 
old-fashioned plan were held in Mcnticello, under the management 
of J. W. Colernan, county superintendent. During the winter of 
1869-70 an enthusiastic meeting was held at Bement, managed by 
County Superintendent 0. A. Tatman. At these meetings Dr. J. M. 
Gregory, regent of the Illinois Industrial University, and President 
Richard Edwards and E. C. Ilewett, of the State Normal School at 
Normal, were the leading instructors. Prominent among those who 




MONTICELLO NORTH SCHOOL. 

attended one or more of these three institutes, some of whom conducted 
exercises, were H. A. Coffeen, T. J. Mitchell, II. E. Huston, Mary I. 
Reed, T. C. Fuller, J. A. Hawks, C. D. Moore, the Poland brothers, 
Amos Norris, Aunt Lettie and Aunt Rachel Huston, the Suver 
sisters, Anna Combes, Pamelia (Combes) Hughes, A. D. Beckhart, R. I. 
Tatman, A. T. Pipher, J. A. McComas, J. A. Williams, John Garver, 
Nellie (Piatt) Moffitt, Fannie McFaddin, Olive (Bryden) Piatt, and 
Charles and Rudolph Welch. 

During the seasons of the two institutes from 1867-9, C. A. Tat- 
man was assistant principal of the Monticello schools, and on both occa- 
sions exhibited class-work before the institute. At the first he brought 
11 



IIISTOKY OF 1'IA'IT CO['NTV. 

forward a class of pupils aged from twelve to fourteen years and 
showed how well they could solve problems by cancellation. Before 
beginning he invited members of the institute to volunteer to work 
with the class. H. A. Coffeen, principal of the Bement schools, and Dr. 
T. J. Mitchell, of Mackville, stepped forth and expressed a willingness 
to show how well they could cancel factors. The conductor read the 
problems from the book and the crayon in the hands of the children 
kept close pace with his voice. As soon as the inflection of the voice 
at the close of the reading indicated that the entire problem had been 
given, almost with the rapidity of thought the children detected the 
common factors and triumphantly wrote the result, while the older 
heads were waiting to see if there was something more to be given, 
and on the first problem Dr. Mitchell had not begun the cancellation 
when the children gave the proper answer. Shouts of laughter accom- 
panied the discomfiture of the two old teachers, and although they did 
better with the problems following, they showed that the} 7 were no 
match for the children on problems in cancellation. It transpired 
afterward that the pupils had been specially drilled in those same 
problems for the occasion, but the delight of the children and the* 
amusement of the spectators are remembered by many to this day. 

The instructors (those conducting exercises) at the institute of 
1868-9 were H. E. Huston, C. A. Tatman, J. W. Lewis, J. A. McComas. 
John Garver, John A. Williams, W. B. Sweitzer, Miss Kate Suver, 
Miss Anna Combes, and Frank Tippett. Public lectures were given 
by J. M. Gregory, E. C. Ilewett, and George L. Spear. The institute 
began Wednesday. January 0, and continued four days, as reported by 
Dr. Coleman to the state superintendent. In those days it was the 
Custom to give to the teachers while attending the institute free enter- 
tainment. 

The pressure against permitting teachers to take time to attend 
institutes was so strong that Superintendent Tatman did not attempt to 
hold another, and as Superintendent Pitkiti held none, the next one 
held in the county was under the supervision of Superintendent Mary 
I. Reed in 1878. This one was conducted according to the modern 
plan. Instructors were employed, a tuition fee was charged, and the 
teachers attending were arranged into classes and subjected to daily 
drill in the various branches for a term of two weeks. About one 
hundred teachers attended this institute. The leading instructor was 
Jasper X. Wilkinson, a former teacher in the county, assisted by the 
county superintendent, Miss Olive Coffeen, of La Place, Edwin B. Smith, 



THK SCHOOLS OK THK (.'OL'XTV. IT)! 

of Cerro Gerdo, and G. A. Burgess. The next year one hundred and 
thirty-nine attended the institute, a number of whom were not expect- 
ing to teach. The corps of instructors remained the same, excepting 
that Prof. II. 0. De Motte, of Illinois Wesleyan University, was 
employed in place of Edwin B. Smith, who had gone to Chicago to 
study law. The following year about eighty-five teachers attended. 
John W. Cook and M. L. Seymour, of Normal, were the chief instruc- 
tors, and the receipts, together with the balance on hand, fell short of 
the expenditures twenty-five dollars, which loss was wholly sustained 
by the county superintendent. In 1881 no institute was held, owing 
to the resignation of Mary I. Reed as county superintendent early in 
July. In 1882 one hundred and five attended the institute. J. N. 
Wilkinson served as leading instructor for one w.eek, and owing to 
sickness was succeeded by Robert L. Barton, of Cerro Gordo, principal of 
schools at Galena, Illinois. The other instructors were Olive E. Coffeen, 
of La Place, principal of Shipman, Macoupin county, schools, B. F. 
Stocks, principal of Cerro Gordo schools, and W. II. Skinner, now 
principal of Monticello schools. The session was three weeks in 
length, and was held in the north school-building, Monticello. The 
tuition has invariably been one dollar per week, and the balance on 
hand from the last institute is sixteen dollars, which will form part of 
the institute fund for 1883. 

Since August, 1878, there has been in active operation a monthly 
teachers' association, which has met in various parts of the county, but 
is now confined to Bement and Monticello, at which places it holds 
alternate meetings on the second Saturday of each month. The 
interest in these meetings has been well maintained, about forty per- 
cent of the teachers actually at work in the county attending. 

G. A. Burgess was presiding officer of the association the first, 
second and fourth years, Miss Reed the third year, and F. V. Dilatush 
the present year. The other officers for the year are John J. Wilkinson, 
of Milmine schools, vice-president ; Miss Cora Pitts, of Cerro Gordo 
schools, secretary, and Miss Alice Godwin, of Moma school, treasurer. 

The association has this year formed a circulating library for use of 
its members, which opened with twenty volumes, and which will soon 
increase to forty volumes. Nineteen out of every twenty of out- 
teachers take one or more educational papers or journals. A higher 
standard is constantly being demanded of our teachers. The certifi- 
cates of other county superintendents are no longer indorsed, and the 
time will soon come when no certificates will be renewed, thus 



loh HISTORY OF PIATT COl'NTY. 

requiring teachers constantly to study to endeavor to improve. Experi- 
ence lias shown that where little or no effort is required to get a certifi- 
cate the teacher rests content ; he feels that he, knows almost enough; 
all progress is at an end ; the teacher stagnates ; the school shows the 
effect of it, and the money expended in that district is worse than 
thrown away, for the teacher has done incalculable injury by per- 
mitting the minds of his pupils to grow uncultivated and untrained. 
Often such a teacher instills wrong ideas and wrong principles, which 
can never be eradicated. In this county the grades on a scale of 100, 
attained by the holder of a teacher's certificate, are placed upon it, so 
that school boards may know the judgment of the superintendent upon 
the work. 

Our schools lack system in the daily routine of work. Each teacher 
follows his own idea or the idea of the text-books used, as to the order 
and method of pursuing, often without any regard to what has been 
done by the teacher preceding him. System and supervision are the 
two things that cause the town schools to be superior to the rural 
schools, and much more may be done in the rural schools in the way of 
systematizing the work. To this end a course of study was adopted at 
the last institute, and a detailed outline of study to accompany it has 
been issued to the schools and school officers. Blank certificates of 
attendance and reports to parents have been sent to teachers, with a 
view to introducing them into use in the schools. 

It is contemplated holding monthly and annual examinations, 
under the management and supervision of both teacher and superin- 
tendent, for the purpose of unifying and stimulating the efforts of the 
schools, believing that when the people understand the plan and its 
objects they will cooperate in the work of introducing it into every 
school district. 

Wall maps, reading charts and an unabridged dictionary should 
constitute part of the helps of every school-room, and, when possible, 
a globe and a box of geometrical forms or solids should be supplied. 
Good blackboards with good crayons and erasers are now admitted by 
all to be a necessity, and no school-room is ready for use till these are 
in place. 

Our teachers need to think, to study, to get out of straightforward 
methods of asking questions strictly in the order of the books and 
requiring the verbatim text-book answers thereto. They too often 
make themselves slaves to the text-book, instead of making the text- 
book their servant, Boards of directors make too little difference 
between teachers. A few dollars on the month causes the removal of 



T1IK SCHOOLS OF THK COUNTY. 159 

a tried and competent teacher to a more lucrative field, and the employ- 
ment in his stead of an inexperienced stranger. The worth of a good 
teacher cannot be estimated. The district would be benefited often 
by giving the poor teacher his wages and never allowing him to begin 
his school. Our schools are expensive, and it behooves everyone to 
do everything he can to make them do the greatest possible good, that 
the community may get the best possible return for their investment. 

Common school funds. The funds authorized by law for the 
maintenance of the public schools arise from the following sources : 

1 C3 

1. The state school fund, which now consists () of the tax 
annually levied by the state for educational purposes, and which in 
1881 was twelve cents on each $100 ; (b) of the interest on the surplus 
revenue distributed by the general government to the states during 
Jackson's administration, and set apart by Illinois as a school fund, 
and (c) of the interest on the proceeds of three per cent of the sale of 
public lands within the state, less one-half of one per cent. 

The state holds the school funds named in the last two cases and 
pays to the schools of the state six per cent interest thereon. The dis- 
tribution is made on the basis of population under twenty-one as taken 
from the government census report by the state auditor, who draws 
his warrant for the amount due the county upon the county treasurer 
against the state tax in the treasurer's hands and in favor of the 
county superintendent. 

2. The county school fund, consisting of the proceeds of the sale 
of the swamp lands lying within the county. This fund is loaned by 
the county superintendent, and the interest thereon, together with the 
fines and forfeitures paid during the year to the county superintendent, 
is annually distributed to the several township treasurers of the county 
on the basis of population under twenty-one years of age. At the 
same time and upon the same basis is the distribution of the state 
school fund made by the county superintendent. 

o. The township school fund, consisting of the proceeds of the 
sale of the sixteenth section in each congressional township, donated 
by the general government for the support of schools. In many of 
the townships the section of land was sold when the value of it was so 
low that the fund therefrom is quite small. Town sixteen, range five, 
sold its section for $13,660, and has much the largest township fund in 
the county. 

i. By special district taxes, which are levied by the directors each 
year in nearly all the districts to make up the amount needed to sup- 
port the schools. 



160 



HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 



The township fund is loaned by the township treasurer, and the 
interest on it, together with the amount received from the county 
superintendent, is distributed by the township trustees to the school 
districts. 

The special tax levied is paid when collected to the township treas- 
urer for the benefit of the district levying the tax. 

The distribution of the state school fund to Piatt county is now 
$5,591.16. 

The county school fund of Piatt county is reported this year as 
about $8,000, but part of it furnishes no revenue, as it is undergoing 
litigation. 

TOWNS II I T TREASURERS AND TOWNSHIP SCHOOL Kl'NDS OK THE RKSl'EC.TI VE 
CONKUKSSIONAI, TOWNSHIPS. 

Tp. and Range. Name of Treasurer. Tp. Fund. 

16. ... 6 J. A. Hawks $1,548 00 

17 6 F.E. Bryant 5,916 28 

18. ... 6 C. A. Tatman 502 00 

19 6 John E. Andrew 1,066 00 

20. ... 6 P. E. Carberry 1,520 10 

21. ... 6 E. L. Drake 4,979 46 

16 5 Thomas J. Kizer 13,660 00 

17 5 Thomas Lamb, jr 3,014 96 

18. ... 5 Willam J. Mcliitosh 1,066 44 

19. ... 5 . R. B. Moody 827 37 

20 5. . Elijah Campbell 4,569 36 

21 .... 5 Chris Garver Tp. fund reported to De Witt Co. 

16. ... 4. . . Reuben Groff' Tp. fund reported to Macon Co. 

17- ... 4 Philip Pobson Tp. fund reported to Macon Co. 

18. ... 4 Caleb Hedges Tp. fund reported to Macon Co. 

19 4 James McConkey Tp. fund reported to De Witt Co. 

The following statistical table shows items of interest compared for 
the past fifteen years, beyond which no records appeal- in the county 
superintendent's office : 



'^ ear - schools. 


No. 

teachers. 


No. pupils 
attending. 


Ain't special 
district tax 
collected. 


Ain't exp'd 
for all school 
purposes. 


1 s< IS i 62 


l l> 7 


3 35(5 


S"5(l31 S-> 


s: ',3,796 22 


1869 6'> 


127 


3.215 


21 87 k> "0 


'8 401 73 


1870 66 


110 


:; ->8-> 


30593 70 


34 -; 94 32 


1871 77 


1 34 


4 093 


3d ''59 70 


40492 47 


1872 s:; 


140 


380.) 


39'761 98 


52 771 66 


1 S73 80 


139 


3 7 IS 


3fi47 97 


46 395 18 


1874 !!' 


1 50 


4,366 


38 351 59 


48 605 26 


1875 95 


1 (50 


4 11 


37 979 1 1 


48 7,",- > 74 


|S76 91 


]!) I 


4 396 


35 607 02 


48 279 1(1 


1877. . . !;; 


173 


4 719 


41 592 40 


54 357 31 


1878 9:5 


172 


4 '206 


37,029 1(1 


45215 68 


1879 97 


1 53 


4 456 


13815 97 


33,118 79 


1880 98 


1<>4 


4500 


4:! (C'8 39 


49(534 21 


] 881 96 


147 


5 087 


33312 25 


46 763 35 


|ss-> : 95 


154 


4 347 


33 840 23 


43,101 15 













TUP; SCHOOLS OK THK cor.vrv. 161 

Monti-cello Township. The first school in this township was 
taught in a log house which stood on the river bank just above the 
river bridge near Monticello. James Outten and George A. Patterson 
were teachers in this school. Another school was opened somewhat 
later about one mile farther up the river, near John Woolington's late 
residence. The first school in Monticello was taught by George A. 
Patterson in the first court-house. The first school-house of the place 
was built by Esq. A. J. Wiley and others on a lot donated by the 
cs<|uire. This house stood on the site of the present residence of 
George Lewis. Thomas Milligan, afterward county school commis- 
sioner, was one of the early teachers of this school, as were also Major 
David Longnecker and Andrew McKinney. 




MONTICEI.I.O IIKill SCHOOL. 

The brick school-house was built in 1857-8, and consisted of two 
rooms below and one above, besides the cloak-rooms. Isaiah Stickle 
was the first to teach in the new school-house. In 1869 or 1870 the 
upper room was divided, giving four rooms, as in the present arrange- 
ment. The school bell was formerly set on a platform elevated on 
high posts. It remained there but a few years, when the belfry now 
in use was erected and the bell placed in it. The bell was formerly 
used on the old Methodist Episcopal church. 

C^Inl877 the north school-building was erected, but during the first 
year only three of its four rooms were in use. The building was not 
fenced until 1880. The hedge fence around the brick school-house 
was set out and has ever since been cared for by William Worsley, 
who has been janitor of the building almost continuously since a 
janitor has been employed. In the early days each teacher built his 
own fires and swept his own room. 



162 HISTORY OK 1'IATT COUNTY. 

. The following persons have served as principals of the Monticello 
school, but perhaps not in the order named : Isaiah Stickle, Mr. Bab- 
cock, Mr. Scovell, W. F. Gilmore, A. T. Pipher, J. A. McComas, Mr. 
Porter, Mr. Mclntosh, Arthur Edwards, P. T. Nichols, Jesse Hubbard, 
Amelia E. Sanford, G. A. Burgess, H. F. Baker, and W. H. Skinner. 
P. T. Nichols began in 1872, and taught for five years, with one year 
of rest intervening. Mr. Mclntosh died during the school year and 
was succeeded by Arthur Edwards. Mrs. Mclntosh has for five years 
been a teacher in the Bement schools. 

Mrs. Amelia E. Sanford succeeded Mary I. Reed as first assistant 
in the high school in December, 1877, upon her resignation to accept 
the county superintendency, and was elected principal for the next 
year. Miss Reed had been first assistant for several years. 

The high school was formed in 1877, with Mr. Nichols and Miss 
Reed teachers. The first class, composed of five girls, graduated in 
1878. The class of 1879 consisted of four girls and two boys; the 
class of 1880, of six girls and one boy ; the class of 1881, of eleven girls 
and one boy, and the class of 1882, of seven girls and two boys. The 
high school has gradually grown in efficiency till it ranks equal to that 
of many of the larger towns. 

In the winter of 1879-80 the members of the high school were 
formed into two literary societies, now known as the Nervian and 
Monticellian societies. Each elects its own officers and conducts its 
own exercise's. The high school began a reference library in 1870. 
which has increased to more than fifty volumes. The grammar school 
began a library in 1882, devoting the proceeds of an entertainment 
to it. 

The teachers at present are W. II. Skinner, principal ; M. Ella 
Child, Eva Winchester, F. V. Dilatush, An/a Minear, Lulu Parks, 
Nellie Espy, Jane Conoway, and Anna M. Kirkpatrick. Messrs. 
Charles Watts, A. J. Dighton and C. P. Davis taught in Monticello 
township years ago. The Stringtown school-house, the last of the log 
school-houses of tin county, was situated in the western part of this 
township. 

Benn'nt Township. The -first school was taught in the village of 
Bement by Henry 0. Booth, in ls."><5. The term was for three 
months and the salary $4-0 per month. 

Rented buildings were used until 1851), when one wing of the 
present building was completed. F. E. Bryant was the contractor and 
J. M. Cam]) the builder. The block of ground now used for school 



THE SCHOOLS OK THK COUNTY. 



163 



purposes was donated by L. B. Wing and William liea, and forms a 
beautiful campus containing the buildings near the northwest corner. 
In 1866 the building was enlarged to its present size, although the 
entire room was not used for school work until several years later. 

The present school-bell was bought by Mr. Bryant in St. Louis, 
and formerly belonged to a Mississippi steamboat. 

The. first board of directors consisted of Joseph Bodman, sen., 
Aaron Yost and H. Booth, since which time J. O. Sparks, George 
Dustin, George L. Spear, Thomas Postlethwaite, S. K. Bodman, N. 
G. Hinkle and Royal Thomas have served as directors two or more 
terms, and many others have served one term. 




UKMKXT ITHUi' S 'IIOOI.. 



The following is a list of principals of the Bement schools : II. ( '. 
Booth, S. K. Bodman, J. W. Eichards, C. D. Moore, J. B. Lovell, 
A. S. Norris, .1. A. IMman, ,1. Russell Johnson, J. ]Sf. Patrick, E. M. 
Cheney. Mrs. Shirk, Frank M. Fowler, Asa W. Mason, II. A. Coffeen, 
W. J. Cousins, J. A. McComas, G. C. Gantz, A. C. Butler, Thomas 
Sterling, Miss Hollo Sterling, II. O. Hickman, T. C. Clendenen, J. N. 
Wade and W. Iv Mann, the present principal. 

A. C. Butler taught five ye:irs. The school reached a degree of 
enthusiasm under the management of IT. A. Coffeen, in 1867-68, 
which is yet felt in its effects upon the town. The Bement library 
gained a strong hold upon the people, and was largely increased 



104- HISTORY OF 1'IA'IT ('()[ XTV. 

through Mr. Coffeen's efforts. A literary society formed at this time 
maintained an organization for ten or twelve years. 

The present course of study was planned and put into operation by 
T. C. Clendeiien. The high-school w r ork requires four years for its 
completion. Last year (1881) the high school was admitted to the 
accredited list of high schools of the Illinois State University at Cham- 
paign, and its graduates can now enter any of the courses of study of 
that institution without further examination. The high-school refer- 
ence library was started under the auspices of T. 0. Clendenen. The 
school manages two literary societies the Baconian and Edmund 
Burke. The class of 1881 was the first to graduate, and consisted of 
five girls ; the class of 1882 consisted of three girls and two boys, 
and the class for 1883 now has eight members. 

In 1878 a school-house was built in the southern part of the dis- 
trict to accommodate those who lived too far from Bement. Miss 
Joanna Fleming was the first teacher in this school, and Luther 
Thompson the present teacher. 

The present corps of teachers in the Bement school is as follows : 
W. E. Mann, principal ; Lucy J. Stockwell. assistant principal ; Julia 
C. Mclntosh in grammar department ; Joanna Fleming and Anna 
Pettit in the intermediate departments, and Lucy Sprague and Sara J. 
Haldeman in the primary departments. Miss Haldeman has been a 
teacher in the Bement schools for fourteen years. 

Mr. G. L. Spear, the oldest teacher in the county, lias charge of 
the Davis school, in the northwestern part of Bement township. 

Cerro (Jordo T<nmxldp. The first school in which this township 
was interested was taught in a log school-house one-half mile west of 
the village of Cerro Gordo, just over the line in Macon county. 
Andrew- Mclvinney was the first teacher of whom we have account. 
The first school-house in the village and the first in the township was 
built about 1857, on the site of the present school-building. Andrew 
McKinney taught in this house for three years. 

In 1807 a two-story brick school-building was erected at a cost of 
$6,000. About 1873 a wing of the same size and material was added, 
at. a cost of $3,000, and in 1881 a frame addition of one room was 
built, costing $000. 

The first board of directors of this school consisted of A. L. Itod- 
gers, Isaac Wilson and AV. L. Pitts. 

The following is the list of principals of the school, and the order 
in which thev served : Mr. Green. John Garver. Mr. Welch, P. IT. 



TIIK SCHOOLS OK TIIK corxTV. 165 

Harris. E. Duncan, A. D. Beckhart, T. 0. Fuller, Miss Olive E. Coffeen, 
Joshua Thorpe, A. R. Jolly and B. F. Stocks. 

The school is well graded, and has lately adopted a course of study 
of eight years in the lower grades and three years in the high school. 
The first class of the high school will graduate in 1884. At the county 
fair in 1882 the schools secured more premiums awarded to graded 
schools, not including high schools, than all the other graded schools 
of the county taken together. The following persons form tlte present 
corps of teachers : B. F. Stocks, principal ; Mary A. Kaufman, Ida F. 
Frydenger, Eva Huff and Cora A. Pitts. 

The present two-story brick school-house in Milmine was built in 
1S71, at a cost of $4,500. Jasper N. Wilkinson was its first principal, 
and was followed by A. D. Beckhart, W. H. Chamberlain, Allen S. 
Stults, John A. Smith, Frank East, - - McKinney, Charles Hughes, 
M. M. Morrison, Joel Dunn, George E. Stuart, and John J. Wilkinson, 
the present principal. Among the assistant teachers were Mary 
(Mitchell) Hawkes, Ella (Newman) Conway and Hortense Klapp. 
Two teachers are employed during the winter term and one only 
during the summer. 

The La Place school is situated outside the village at some dis- 
tance, and the school-house is far behind the wealth and intelligence of 
the community, being too small and too inconvenient for the demands 
made upon it. A building with two rooms on the lower floor and a 
hall above, which might in the future be used for a school-room, would 
add greatly to the village and the school district. Miss Sue Gregory 
and Mr. Thurber were among its early teachers, Miss Olive Coffeen 
and E. ( ). Humphrey among the later. Mr. Humphrey is the teacher 
at present writing. Several of the former pupils of this school are 
now prominent teachers of the county. 

Prominent among the teachers of Cerro Gordo to\vnsliip\in the past 
were the East brothers, whose home is one mile south of Milmine. 
Klric taught the Gulliford and Haird schools and then went into 
graded school work. lie died in California about two years ago, 
where he had gone to regain his health. Frank taught the Pleasant 
View, Ridge, La Place and Milmine schools, and died about one year 
ago. Oscar taught the I'aird, Pleasant View and Gulliford schools, 
and is at present living in Chicago. Homer taught the Gulliford 
school one term, and is now managing the home farm. They are a 
family of natural teachers, but the, confinement of the school-room did 
not agree with their health. 



166 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

Goose Creek Town-ship. The first school was taught by George A. 
Patterson in a log school-house which stood by the gate at the entrance 
to W. H. Piatt's residence grounds. Formerly the Piatt and Moral n 
schools were the principal ones of the township, the average attendance 
in each running from sixty to eighty scholars. Among the early 
teachers of the Piatt school were Mr. Winstead, Margaret Patterson, 
Delos Tew, now a professor in one of the colleges or academies of 
Iowa; Louis Bonnet, now a wealthy resident of Iowa; Miss Lizzie 
Shattuch, S. K. -Bod man, who taught the writer of this book her 
letters, and who is now postmaster and druggist in Bement; George 
Marquiss, and Misses Louisa Craft, Louisa Gale and Mollie Bondurant. 
Miss Shattuck was sent here under the auspices of an organization in 
New England, for the purpose of advancing education in the west. 
She afterward went as a missionary to the West Indies. 

The old log school-house of the Piatt district gave place about 186f 
to one of the neatest and most commodious rural school-houses in the 
county. Mr. A. S. Poland was a most successful teacher in this 
school for several consecutive years. He now resides in Ohio. Of 
the later teachers, John and Emma Marquiss were pupils of Mr. Poland. 
The district 'has of late been divided and a new school-house, the 
Harmony, has recently been dedicated. 

Among the names of the teachers of the Morain school are Samuel 
Morain, Kate (Piatt) Bryden, Jack Bryden, Charles AVelch, Mr. Johnson, 
Philip Lewis, and many others. Others teachers of the township are 
Ilachel Huston and William Smith, now deceased. 

The De Land school, the only village school in the township, 
employs but one teacher. The De Land district maintains also 
another school one and a half miles from the town. E. E. Carrier 
teaches the village and L. S. Kidd the rural school. Benjamin F. 
Stults, now of the Wei don school, taught the De Land school for several 
terms. 

Sa/ngamon '/'</ n.^/i! p. The first school in Sangamon township 
was taught by George A. Patterson in a log school-house, which 'stood 
south of where the White school-house now stands. James Outten, 
who was one of the first teachers also in Champaign county, taught this 
school at an early day. Soreno K. Bodman, of Bement, William H. 
Heese, Harry Timmons, Charles Hughes, Pamelia (Combes) Hughes, 
Sadie Reed, and others, have taught in the schools of Sangamon town- 
ship. Centerville, Gales ville and Slabtown have school-houses, while 
White Heath and Lodge depend upon the rural schools about one 



TITK SCHOOLS OK TIIK COUNTY. 167 

mile from home. The Sangamon river forms the boundary line 
between all districts touching it. In this respect it is unlike any other 
township in the county. John E. Andrew is township treasurer of 
town 19, which lies wholly in Sangamon township, and D. E. Carberry, 
of town 20, a part of which lies within the township. Camp Creek and 
Slabtown districts have lately built new school-houses. 

As an incident showing some of the old ways of creating sport in 
connection with the early schools would be interesting, doubtless, to' 
some of our readers, we subjoin the following, as related to us by one 
of the old settlers. 

One teacher, having school near what was then known as Souder's 
Branch, declared to the gentleman he was boarding with that if the 
scholars locked him out at Christmas time he would treat, provided the 
boys would come out and attack him. The man went over to see- 
the fun. Sure enough, the teacher was locked out, and after a time the 
scholars came out and attempted to get him down. There were two 
boys about thirteen or fourteen and four or five from ten to twelve 
years of age, and. several little girls. The teacher was a great strong 
man and for a time was entirely too much for the scholars. Finally 
they got the better of him, and with the girls' assistance succeeded in 
tying him with ropes. The children had taken the precaution to 
bring over a wheelbarrow to take him to the stream. They tried, but 
could not keep him on it. Finally one of the boys said, "III fix him," 
and off he went for a horse and sled. They got him on the sled at 
last, and finally they reached the side of the branch. A long debate 
followed about tin-owing him into the cold water. Finally one of the 
boys said. ''Well. I'll throw him in," so with an effort he rolled him 
over and in he went. The man w r ho had gone to witness the sport 
enjoyed himself hugely. When the teacher was in the water, and it 
began to fiow almost entirely over him, the man told him he had better 
sign the article for treating the scholars to a bushel of apples. The 
agreement was made, but the boys would not let him out of the branch 
till the other man went his security to treat if he failed to do so. The 
teacher was released and started to the house for change of clothes. 
By the time he reached the place his clothes were frozen stiff. The 
apples were given to the scholars forthwith. That teacher is now a 
preacher in Iowa and his name is John Lyons. 

Willow Branch Township. -The first school in this township was 
taught by Judge Edward Ater, about 1840, in a log school-house on 
Willow Branch. There are no village schools, as Cisco is divided by a 



168 HISTORY OF PI.VIT ( or.NTY. 

district line and is one mile distant from a school-house. Robert L. 
Barton, J. Hull Brown. Caleb and Riley Tat in an, the Suver sisters and 
Thomas Lamb, jr., are among the early teachers of this township. 
Mr. Barton once taught the Willow Branch school, and once in the 
district which now includes the Oak Grove and the East Cisco schools. 
Concord, Shady Nook, Wildcat and Oak Grove are suggestive names 
of some of the districts of Willow Branch township. 

Unity TowmJup. The first school was taught about 1842, by John 
(Mlins, in a little house with paper windows and on land now 
belonging to the Benjamin Quick estate. 

The first school in Mackville was taught by James Lewis, in the 
present school-house, which was built in 1858. Peter A. Hamilton 
once taught here before studying law. Later teachers were the 
present county superintendent, 1867 ; George W. Poole, now of 
Bement, 1868; J. A. Hawks, present supervisor of Unity township, 
1869-70, and was followed by John TL Easton, who taught several 
terms. The village had by this time increased in population so much 
that an assistant teacher was employed. Mrs. J. A. Hawks was one 
of the first assistant teachers. Joseph Trenchard, now of Windsor, 
John A. Hardenbrook and wife, now of New Mexico, C. H. Righter 
and Miss Anna Davies have been teachers here. The latter is now 
again in charge after a lapse of several years. Other teachers in the 
township were Frank Landers, of Moultrie county, in the Harshbarger 
school, and Joel Dunn and Samuel McDowell, Shonkwiler school. John 
H. Easton taught for several years in various schools of the township, 
and is now in charge of the Baker school. The first school in the 
Mackville district was in a log house on land now owned by the widow 
of Adam Shonkwiler. 

Atwood is in the Mackville district, and has no school-house of its 
own. 

Hammond has just completed a new school-building of two depart- 
ments. George S. Morris, of Lovington, is principal and Miss Emily 
Godwin, of Bement, assistant. 

Rlw Ridge Township. So far as we could learn the first school- 
house in this tow T nship was the "Stringtown" school-house, near where 
Gardner switch now stands. Isaac Thomas helped to plaster the 
house and says it was built in 185L It has been moved from its 
former location. Others say that the Cope school-house was the first 
and was built in 185-i. This house is reported as having been moved 
into Mansfield. 



TIIK TKMI'KKAXCK MOVKMKXT. 169 

The Mansfield schools consist of two departments. George IS T . 
Snapp, of Sullivan, is principal, and Miss Clara Kline, of Le Roy, 
assistant. The school-building is large, not all the room being in use. 
Former teachers of this school are Frank Pittman, of Monticello ; 
W. A. Wetzell, of Ford county; George R. Shawham, now county 
superintendent of Champaign county, and Allen S. Stults, now prin- 
cipal of schools at Farmer City. 

John T. Carle, now principal of Wapella schools, taught one year 
in the Klinger district. Edwin L. Drake, now treasurer of town 
No. 21, range 6, taught the West Point school for several years, 
and Reed Matheny taught the Blue Ridge school for two or three 
years. One obstacle to education in Blue Ridge township is the large 
size of many of its school districts, which tends to cause irregular 
attendance. 

In the preparation of this article on the schools of the county we 
have taken up all the facts we could obtain. If more items occur 
relative to any school or township than to others it is because the 
people, or some one of them, have contributed more items to us. We 
are proud of all the schools of the county and wish them continued 
prosperity. 



CHAPTER YIII. 

THE TEMPERANCE MOVEMENT IX THE COl'NTY. 

MY MKS. K. 1'. MOKI'ITT. 

IN the pioneer days of Piatt county the use of alcoholic liquors, both 
as a medicine and as a beverage, was very common. They were 
kept in every family and brought out on all extra occasions, at harvest 
time, log-rollings, barn-raisings, etc. 

While some drank to excess, nearly every one drank moderately. In 
those days drinking was not considered an evil only so far as it was 
taken in excess. This sentiment prevailed not because the people were 
naturally bad or immoral, but because it was not generally known that 
alcohol was a poison, and because its effects on the human tissues were 
not understood or even dreamed of. It was thought as long as a man 
drank moderately that he was safe; not understanding that it irritated 
and inflamed the mucous membrane of the stomach ; that it gradual Iv 



170 HISTORY ()K 1'J.VIT Co t:\TY. 

became thickened and corrugated ; that the gastric juice was vitiated, 
hindering digestion; that the hlood. the supporter of .life, was made 
morbid and impoverished, and that, therefore, the moderate drinker 
\vas less able to withstand disease, and was in constant danger of be- 
coming the victim of an increased and depraved appetite. Neither was 
it understood that the appetite for the; drink, with all its attendant 
physical and mental conditions, strengthened and intensified, were 
transmitted to the offspring; that the offspring of moderate drinkers 
might be the drunkards of the next generation. 

However, as the county progressed in other lines of civili/ation, so 
it began to improve in public sentiment on drinking habits. As the 
county began to be settled from older counties, as educational and 
church facilities increased, so in proportion did the people begin to 
think of the evils of drink. It began to be noticed that the boy not. 
only followed the example of his father in drinking moderately, but 
that he did not stop at that point. This set parents to thinking, and 
for the sake of the boy alcoholic liquors began to be excluded from use 
in individual families; thus a sentiment .against drink slowly but, surely 
arose. 

About, the year IS.");") a (iood Templars' lodge was organized in tin- 
town of Monticello, which for a time did some active work by draw- 
ing within its fold many who had been long addicted to drink, many 
of whom have ever since been total abstainers. This organization was 
also instrumental in organizing other lodges throughout the county, 
thus laying the foundation for a healthy sentiment necessary to root 
out the traffic. This was accomplished for the first time about five 
years ago, the last saloon being closed out at Mansfield through the 
aggressive efforts of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of that, 
place. 

The county has at different times had a numberof temperance organi- 
zations, among which were the I. O. G. T., a County Alliance, some 
two or three juvenile temperance organizations or "Bands of Hope," 
a county organization of the W. C. T. IT., and four local societies of 
the Woman's Christian Temperance Union. Scientific temperance text 
books, treating of the effects of alcohol on the human tissues have 
been used in some of the public schools of the county. It is hoped 
that the good people of Piatt county will look into this matter and see 
that their boys and girls are taught the evils which drink brings to 
them mentally, physically and morally. Let the youth of the county 
be so fortified against strong drink by an intelligent understanding of 



,ARY 
THE 

RSi! / OF ILLINOIS 



THE TEMPE^\A r CE MOVEMENT. 173 

the evil effects of alcohol that we need have no fears for the manhood 
of the rising generation. Five years of practical prohibition in the 
county have done much, as nearly all agree, to advance the real interests 
of the people. This is true in nearly every respect, as has been ascer- 
tained by actual investigation, and by comparison with the official 
records in other counties where saloons abound. The towns of Piatt 
county are out of debt and have money in the treasury. The expenses 
for crime and pauperism are comparatively light. 

Only occasional murders have occurred, and very seldom a convict 
has been sent to the State prison. The towns have good sidewalks, 
good churches, and the state of intelligence and morality is good. Piatt 
county would no doubt have a still better record were it not for the fact 
that it is joined to counties on either side where saloons abound in great 
numbers. 

This state of affairs has been brought about by prohibition under local 
option, and it is claimed by some that this method is more effectual 
than prohibition by constitutional amendment. While 'local option is 
perhaps better than nothing, and may have served a good purpose, it 
has many objections : 

First Local option in its results is not a legal obligation, only a 
moral one. It is the sole prerogative of a city council or town board to 
say whether or not a vote for license or no license shall stand ; cases 
being on record where towns have voted no licenses, and the board has, 
notwithstanding, granted license, and vice versa. 

Second The work against the saloons has, as a rule, to be done over 
every year, causing men and women to spend much time and money, 
besides the towns being in danger every year of coming under license 
rule. 

Third Under local option, where the question of license or no 
license is voted on by towns, the farming portion of a community can 
have no voice in deciding the matter. And yet he may, against his 
will, through his family, be forced to submit to the evil effects of the 
saloons of the town, \vhile prohibition by constitutional amendment 
gives all an equal chance. 

This question of prohibition by constitutional amendment will, 
sooner or later, come before the people of Illinois for final settlement, 
and it is earnestly hoped that the citizens of Piatt county will be as 
progressive in this as in other matters. Let the voters investigate this 
subject for themselves. It is not well to depend on newspapers for 
reports on prohibition. Remember many of them are paid by the line 
12 



JY4 HISTORY OF PIAJT COUNTY. 

for publishing reports unfavorable to prohibition. Let convictions be 
formed from the 'examination of official records in states where prohi- 
bition has been tried (see J. N. Steam's "Is Prohibition a Success?" 
and the "Prohibitionists' Text Book," National Temperance Publishing 
House, 58 Reade street, New York), and whatever is done let Piatt 
county not. fall 'behind in the good work of elevating humanity. Let 
the citizens be foremost in throwing aside all selfish motives and narrow 
prejudices and do their part to rid the country of the greatest curse of 
history. 

We quote the following article, prepared by Mrs. Blair, President of 
the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of the nineteenth congres- 
sional district. 

STATISTICS OF FOUR LICENSE COUNTIES IN THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, COMPARED WITH 
THOSE OF FOUR ANTI-LICENSE COUNTIES IN THE SAME STATE. 

Nearly every item has been taken from official records, and where 
no qualifying statement is made they may be depended upon as accu- 
rate. They all cover a space of twelve months, either wholly in the 
year 1879, or partly in_18^9-and partly in 188JL The four counties 
~ r rehteenth congressional district are reported as follows: 

MACOUIMN COUNTY. 

Number of voters 8,000 

Breweries. ] 

Distilleries 

Saloons, about 50 

Number 'of barrels of beer manufactured, about 100 

Convicts sent to State prison 10 

Persons committed to jail '. . 1(> 

Persons maintained in almshouse 33 

Expense of jail $2,329 76 

Expense of almshouse $4,118 40 

Number days occupied by terms of court 90 

MONROE COUNTY. 

Number of voters 3,000 

Breweries 1 

Distilleries " 

Saloons 55 

Barrels of beer 1 ,585 

Convicts sent to State prison 

Pei-soiis in jail (when reported) 2 

Persons in almshouse 8 

Expense of jail $153 40 

Expense of almshouse $1 ,019 20 

Number days occupied by term of court ](i 



TI-IK TEMPERANCE MOVEMENT. 1 7~> 

MADISON COUNTY. 

Number of voters 7,6:>7 

Breweries 4 

Distilleries 4 

Baloons. 217 

Number barrels of spirituous liquors manufactured 658 

Beer manufactured 1 0,185 

Cou victs sent to State prison ] 

Persons sent to almshouse 395 

Expense of jail $4,020 08 

Expense of almshouse $7,498 92 

Number days occupied by term of court 75 

ST. CLAIR COUNTY. 

Number of voters : 12,000 

P>re\veries, about 11 

Distilleries 2 

Saloons 317 

Number of barrels of spirituous liquors manufactured 3,650 

Beer manufactured 54,076 

Cou victs sent to State prison 22 

Number of persons committed to jail 150 

Persons in almshouse 125 

Expense of jail, about $4,500 

Expense of 'almshouse $10,920 

T< >1al expense of pauperism, about. $15,920 

Number of days occupied by terms of court, from 120 to 150 

With these we will compare four temperance, or no license, 
counties : 

1'IATT COUNTY. 

Number of voters 

I iivweries 

I Hstilleries 

Sal< >ons 

( Yin victs sent to State prison 

Persons committed to jail (belonging to the county) 

Persons maintained in almshouse 

Expense of jail 

Almshouse or county farm, partly self-sustaining 

Number days occupied by term of court 

(Time largely spent on old cases; only three new ones.)..: 

All the towns are out of debt and have money in the treasury. The 
calaboose built in saloon times at the county seat is now of no use, 
except as a lodging place tor tramps. The sidewalks of Monticello 

are said to be the best of any town of its size in the state. Some of 
us have been hearing for years that we owe our sidewalks to the 
revenue from the liquor traffic. 

WAYNE COUNTY. 

Number of voters 4,800 

Breweries 

Distilleries 

Saloons 




176 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Number convicts sent to State prison 

Persons committed to jail 7 

Persons maintained in almshouse 1H 

Expense of jail $52 00 

Expense of almshouse $850 00 

Number days occupied by terms of court :>K 

\VA1JASH COUNTY. 

Number of voters 2,000 

Breweries , 

Distilleries 

Saloons 

Convicts sent to State prison 1 

Persons committed to county jail 11 

Persons committed to city jail "...., i':> 

Number of persons maintained, in almshouse, average 6 

Expense of county jail $404 26 

Expense of city jail $200 00 

Expense of pauperism for the whole county .\ $800 00 

Number days occupied by terms of court 7 

EDWARDS COUNTY. 

Number of voters, near 1,700 

Breweries 

Distilleries 

Saloons '. 

Convicts sent to State prison 

Persons committed to jail 5 

Expense of jail $52 00 

Total expense of paupers and temporary relief for the destitute.. . . $2,256 68 



CHAPTER IX. 

PATRIOTISM OF PIATT COUNTY. 

* * * -x- -x- * 

." 'Mid storm of shot and shell, 
Contending nobly for the right, 

Her heroes fought and fell ! 

For in the battle's fiercest shocK, 

Where charging squadrons met, 
Where gory sabers rose and fell, 

Where gleamed the bayonet, 
Where the dying and the dead 

Most thickly strewed the ground, 
Amid the thickest of the fight, 

Her sons were ever found ! 

All honor to her noble slain, 

To her heroic dead ; 
Soft be the turf, and bright be the flowers, 

Above their lowly bed! 
The story of their gallant deeds, 

Engraved on history's page, 
To future ages shall descend, 

A priceless heritage!" 

has ever been a patriotic county. Almost ever since its organi- 
-L nation, Fourth of July celebrations have been held at the county- 
seat. Judge Emerson delivered the first Fourch of July oration in the 
county in 1837, and his toast on that occasion, "May this Monticello 
bring forth another Jefferson," is yet remembered by many of the 
older citizens. Of late years n6t only has Monticello held celebrations 
on the day mentioned, but Bement and almost all the towns of the 
county have shown their individual patriotism. 

The citizens of this small portion of the state's territory are justly 
proud of the part Piatt county played in the rebellion. It has been 
published more than once that this was the banner county of the state 
for sending soldiers to the war in proportion to its population. Piatt 
county even outranked Illinois in this particular. Reckoning on the 
census of 1860 as a basis, Illinois sent out 100 soldiers for every 742 
inhabitants, while Piatt county sent -out 100 men for every 580 inhab- 



178 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

itants. Out of a population of 6,124 Piatt county sent out 1,055 
soldiers, which was 240 men in excess of the county's share. 

In no better way can we portray the patriotic spirit of the county 
than in quoting some from a speech by our fellow-citizen, Mr. C. D. 
Moore. 

Referring to the late war he remarked : k 'It is difficult for us to 
realize what our little county did. It is easy enough for us to read the 
simple statement that Piatt county sent out 1,055 men, but that, when 
compared with the vast armies that were marshalled upon the field of 
strife, is a very insignificant number. It can only be made a large 
number in a relative sense. Suppose there were 2,500 to 3,000 of the 
able-bodied men of the county drawn up and ready to march from the 
county to-day. Think, if you can, what a depletion that would make 
in the present population of the county. Why that number of men 
would have made, in the days of the revolution, a very respectable 
army, a rather formidable force ; and yet the number would be no 
greater in proportion to population than 1,055 was at that time." 

While it is true that Piatt county takes a position in the front rank, 
and the same is easy to say, "yet the full brightness and glory of that 
record cannot be seen and fully appreciated without taking into con- 
sideration a fact or two. Piatt county more than filled her quota, and 
that, too, without a draft. She did her duty by making an enrollment 
of all her able-bodied men, according to law, yet she passed through 
the fiery ordeal without even the 'smell of the draft being found on her 
garments/" 

" Not one of that brave band of 1,055 men were induced to. go to the 
front by the offer of a bounty. No bounties were necessary. The only 
thing in the shape of a local inducement held out was that the county, 
through the authorities, guaranteed the protection' of their families 
while th^l were absent at the front doing battle for the right. This 
guarantee was made good by the county. No, there were no drafted 
men or bounty-jumpers among them. They were volunteers, in the 
highest and noblest sense of the term. They saw that the nation's 
life was in jeopardy ; they saw the uplifted hand of treason prepared 
to strike at her vitals; they beheld her in a deadly grapple with gigan- 
tic rebellion ; they heard her call for help, and bravely and heroically 
answered that call. To them it was no holiday parade, no boy's play, 
but work- earnest, terribly earnest work. The}' placed their lives upon 
their country's altar, and dedicated their best energies to the preserva- 
tion of the country's integrity, the vindication of the nation's honor, 



PATRIOTISM OF PI ATI' COUNTY. 

and the re-establishment of the glory and supremacy of our flag. All 
honor to the soldiers of Piatt county." 

War Incident* and Anecdotes. In this connection we cannot 
refrain from relating a few items that have come under our 
notice relative to life in the army. We give almost verbatim 
the majority of war incidents that have been given to us. Doubt- 
less these few will awaken in the minds of the readers many 
equally interesting tales that might be told, }^et the following will serve 
as examples of the alternating grave and humorous sides of army life. 

A soldier of the Mexican war now living in this county remembers 
a little joke on a Dutch sentinel. While on duty the sentinel heard 
some one coming, and called out "Who comes there?" The answer 
came, "A friend. 1 ' The sentinel called, "Halt! You cannot pass 
until you give the countersign, which is Mexico." 

In the early days of the late war a number of men in this county 
organized themselves into a company for drilling purposes, and styled 
themselves "The Home Guard." Their object was to be the better 
prepared when their turn came to enlist in the army. One morning, 
when the men were drawn up ready for drill, the captain suddenly read 
an order or telegram for men to go to the war. The captain then 
spoke to the men, asking all wlro could answer the call at once to ride 
forward. Alas, where was the patriotism of the men? One lone horse 
struggled for ward against the will of the rider, and Joseph Mallory's credit 
was saved. It was s< >< >n discovered that the order to the front was a false 
one, and the order of the Home Guards was revived. They resolved 
next time not to show such tardy patriotism, and they kept their word. 
The joke was too good, however, to be soon forgotten. 

Another organization, known as the Home Guards, was made in the 
county, in the southeastern township. The object of the organization 
was the protection of the people. One of the ladies of tjtep vicinity 
reported the fact that she saw some rebels making an embankment 
preparatory to an attack on the neighborhood. Further observations 
were made, and, sure enough, one of the guards reported seeing the 
confederates, as lie supposed. The information seemed to be sufficient 
to call out the company. After numerous deployments in sight of the 
supposed rebels, the captain gave the order to "open tire." After a 
few minutes of rapid firing they were ordered to advance. The advance 
was anxiously made, and the enemy was discovered to be dead sheep. 
It afterward was found out that the lad ivin the first alarm had 






only seen a man in the distance fixing fence. 



180 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

A member of the 107th 111. reg. relates the following: "We had 
a Michigan regiment in our brigade as we were on the Atlanta cam- 
paign ; and aU the Michigan men were noted foragers. Once, two of 
the men from the regiment referred to stepped from the ranks as the 
regiment was on the march, climbed a fence, killed a sheep, got back 
to the company, skinned the sheep, marched along the while, and 
never lost the step. 

One of the soldiers of the county gives the following as his experi- 
ence in foraging for chickens : The cook had promised a pot-pie as 
soon as a good fat hen came in. The forager watched his chance and 
secured an old hen, while the rest of the party captured geese. Just 
as each of them secured a goose the provost-marshal came around and 
"ordered the geese back, and they filed back." The old hen, however, 
went into a knapsack aud under a coat tail, the owner of which articles 
was enabled to salute the marshal with no poultry in sight. But all 
danger was not yet over. A fence had to be climbed by the man 
carrying the knapsack, during which operation his gun caught in his 
clothing and went off, thus attracting, general attention. However, 
the camp was reached and the pot-pie was made. 

One of the captains now living in this county was once encamped 
with his company near a rich farmer's residence in the South. Soon 
some of the boys started to the large farm for the purpose of decoying 
some turkeys that were in sight. The fowls seemed excited by the 
unusual stir and began showing tjieir distress as some were being 
caught. One old turkey flew up and over the tree-tops even. As he 
did so a young lady of the house, who had just stepped out, clapped 
her hands, exclaiming, "Goody! goody! I wish you would fly to 
England." 

Some of the soldiers grew very brave in their foraging expeditions. 
Three of the "boys" once went to a house to get some salt, and after 
being refused several times a negro said there was some in the smoke- 
house, but warned them not to go in, as a blood-hound was there. One 
of the men, however, opened the door enough for the dog to put his 
head out, while another of the men "put his bayonet against the dog, 
which caused it to lie down," and the salt was easily obtained. 

One of the men just referred to, at another time and in company 
with another man, came near being entrapped by three bushwhackers. 
The two were out scouting for dinner, and just chanced to get the 
"drop" on the three bushwhackers. A mutual agreement was made 
to let each other alone and the scouts were safe. 



PATRIOTISM OF PIATT COUNTY. 181 

One inan, for years a resident of this county, assisted in catching 
a rebel spy. Two of them went into a yard to get some water and 
found a man bundled up in rags, apparently crazy. One of the men 
said to the other, "Go punch that man with a bayonet." Before he 
had been punched very often the man's crazy spell was gone. His 
rags were taken off and a man in rebel uniform stood before them. A 
union captain happened to be near, and as he outranked the men who 
found the spy he received the credit of the capture. The spy was 
executed in twenty-four hours after being found. 

The pickets of a certain company began h'ring one night at a sup- 
posed enemy which they could dimly see. Soon the reserve force 
came up, assisting in the tiring, and the whole regiment was roused 
ere it was discovered that the supposed enemy was an old horse quietly 
picking grass, and that not a single shot had hit him. 

One union man while foraging saw seveftil rebels, and upon 
attempting to get away met five union men, whom he warned of 
danger. The five went on, however, and the next day were found 
hung on a tree right near where they had been warned the previous 
day. 

A little joke perpetrated by one of the Piatt county boys was told 
in the following manner: "Our regiment once stopped under a tall 
pine tree and gave the road to Gen. Cox and his staff. Just as the 
general rode under the tree one of the boys called out, 'Come down 
Jim; we're going now; the general has passed.' Gen. Cox looked 
up and tried to see a man in the pine tree that was too tall for almost 
any man in America to climb. Upon the immediate cheering of the 
' boys ' the general dropped his head and spurred his horse rapidly 
forward." 

The trials during the siege of Knoxville will not soon be forgotten 
by the soldiers. Fortunate was the soldier if he chanced to have an 
acquaintance living in Knoxville. One of the men was secretly 
furnished with an oyster can of meal a day for a "sick man," until his 
comrades watched him in order to share the prize. The result was 
that the allowance was stopped. 

The neatest foraging we have ever heard of occurred during this 
siege. One night a regiment was ordered to march into the town, and 
upon reaching the center of the place was ordered to halt and stay 
there over night. In the night two of the boys left the guns and went 
into a frame house to get something to eat. The German woman living 
there said she had nothing to eat. but, while in the house, one of the 



182 HISTORY OF P1ATT COUNTY. 

boys chanced to see her pour some water through an auger-hole in the 
floor. He kept his own counsel, however, and the men left the house, 
without food ; but later in the night these two men dug a trench to the 
cellar of this house, found a hog, which, by the way, did not even 
squeal, killed it, and the regiment had it eaten up before morning. For 
quite a while no one except the two concerned knew where th^t hog 
came from. 

Record of Platt County Soldiers. The following history of regi- 
ments and record of soldiers have been prepared by carefully leafing 
through eight large volumes of the adjutant-general's reports of Illinois 
soldiers. No pains have been spared to make the report as complete as 
possible, yet there may be some mistakes ; for example, throughout 
the reports two different Monticelios were given ; in some cases men 
reported themselves from places the names of which have since been 
changed, and in several instances we found the same person's name 
spelled in two and even three different ways. With one exception, 
only histories of regiments are given the original of which appears in 
the adjutant's reports, and histories are given only of those regi- 
ments having the greatest number of Piatt county soldiers : 

NINTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Co. D Keller, Mathias, enl. February s, Y4 ; mus. out July 
9, '65. 

FoFRTKKNTir ILLINOIS INFANTRY KK< >Ii! i ANI/KI). 

Co. K Clark, Braxton, recruit ; enl. and mus. in April 10, '<!.">. 

SFVKNTFKNTIl ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Co. II Recruits: Morgan, Reuben A., enl. December 7, '<>>; 
tr. to Co. F, 8th 111. Inf.; mus. out July 25, '61. Shaw, Albert R., 
enl. December 12, '63 ; tr. to Co. F, 8th El. Inf. Wheeler, Peter A, 
enl. December 5, '63 ; tr. to Co. F, 8th 111. Inf. 

HISTORY OF TWK.VI Y-FIRST ILI.INOIS INFANTRY. 

It was organized at Mattoon, Illinois, on the 9th of May, 1861. 
Was mustered into state service May 19, 1861, by Capt. U. S. Grant. 
Was mustered into United States service .for three years, June 28, by 
Capt. Pitcher, with Col. U. S. Grant, who was commissioned brig, 
gen. August 6, 1861. Participated in battle of Fredericktown, 
October 21. Marched with Gen. Steele's expedition to Jacksonsport, 
Arkansas. Was ordered to Corinth, and arrived at Hamburg Landing 



PATRIOTISM OF PI A IT COUNTY. 183 

May 24, 1802. Was ordered to join Geri. Buell's army in Tennes- 
see, August 24, 1862. Arrived at Louisville September 27, 1862. 
Engaged in battle of Perryville and Chaplin Hill ; from thence 
marched to Nashville, Tennessee. Was in a severe engagement near 
Murfreesboro, December 31, 1862, where it did gallant duty, losing 
more men than any other regiment engaged. Was in a severe 
skirmish at Liberty Gap, June 25, 1863. In the battle of Chickamauga, 
September 1!) and 20, 238 officers and men were lost. Mustered out 
December 16, 1865, at San Antonio, Texas. Discharged at Camp 
Butler, January 18, 1866. 

Officers Col. William H. Jamison ranked as 1st lieut. of Co. C, 
May 3, '61 ; promoted as capt. March 14, '62 ; promoted as maj. 
November 15, '64; promoted to lieut. col. July 2, '65 ; promoted to col. 
July 13, '65 ; mus. out December 16, '65. 

Co. A 2d Lieut. Joseph C. Alvord enl. June 15, '61; pro- 
moted 2d lieut. October 24, '62; killed December 31, '62. 2d 
Lieut. Theodore Gross enl. June 22, '61 ; promoted 2d lieut. 
January 1, '63 ; resigned May 12, '65. 2d Lieut. Alvin Colmus 
ranked as 2d lieut. and mus. out December 16, '65. 

Co. C Capt. Josiah W. Clark ranked as capt. May 3, '61 ; 
resigned March 14, '62. Capt. Lundsfield J. Linder enl. June 14, 
'61; promoted 2d lieut. December 31, '62; promoted to capt. 
November 15, '64; mus. out December 16, '65; 1st Lieut. Walter 
B. lloag ranked as 2d lieut. May 3, '61 ; promoted 1st lieut. 
March 14, '62 ; mus. out May 2, '65. 1st Lieut. Andrew J. Clark 
enl. as serg. June 14, '61 ; re-en 1. as veteran March 24, '64; 
promoted 1st lieut. June 8, '65; mus. out December 16, '65; 2cf 
Lieut. Emanuel Weigle enl. as 1st serg. June 14, '61 ; promoted 2d 
lieut. March 14, 62; killed December 31, '62. 2d Lieut. George 
W. Roberts enl. .June 14, '61; re-enl. as veteran January 4 V '64 ; pro- 
moted 1st serg.; promoted 2d lieut.; mus. out December 16, '65. 

Non-commissioned and privates Caklwell, John, enl. June 14, 
'61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 14, '64 ; promoted q. m. serg. ; mus. 
out December 16, '65. 

Co. A Dines, Serg. Robert, enl. June 15, '61 ; killed at Stone 
River, December 30, '62. Colvig, Serg. Clarkson S., enl. June 15, 
'61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. Bell, Jonathan, enl. June 15, '61 ; re-enl. 
as veteran February 27, '64 ; mus. out December 16, '65, as corp. 
Bercher, Alexander, enl. June 26, '61 ; killed at Stone River December 
30, '62. Bonser, James, enl. June 15, '61 ; died at Ironton, Mo., 



184 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

January 1, '62. Cornell, William, enl. June 22, '61 ; mus. out July 
5, '64. Hickman, Jacob, enl. June 22 ; killed at Chickamauga Sep- 
tember 19, '63. Henry, James, enl. June 22, '61 ; mus. out July 5, 
'64. Miller, James, enl. June 26, '61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. Peters, 
Charles, enl. June 26, '61 ; killed at Stone River December 31, '62. 
Slusser, John, enl. June 21, '61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. Thompson, 
Richard, enl. June 15, '61 ; discharged October 11, '62 ; disability. 
Upton, Benjamin, recruit ; died January 9, '62. 

Co. C Gorhon, Serg. Samuel E., enl. June 14, '61 ; discharged 
August 4, '61 ; disability. Stark, Serg. Benjamin F., enl. June 14, 
'61 ; discharged April 17, '63 ; disability. Dawson, Corp. William S., 
enl. June 14, '61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. 

Corporals Holdren, Marvin, enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran 
January 4, '64; mus. out December. 16, '65. Dove, John R., enl. 
June 14, '61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. Hensley, William W., enl. June 
14, '61 ; mus. out July 19, '65. Dyer, John W., enl. June 14, '61 ; 
mus. out July 5, '64. Randall, Isaac M., enl. June 14, '61 ; died 
January 3, '62. Dawson, Geo. R., enl. June 14, '61 ; discharged 
Decembers, '61 ; disability. Lowry, Lucien W. B., enl. June 14, '61 ; 
killed at Stone River December 31, '62. 

Privates Abbott, Shadrach T., enl. June 14, '61 ; died October 5, 
'61. Argo, David J., enl. June 24, '61 ; died at St. Louis August 15, 
'63. Baker, Henry J., enl. June 24, '61 ; mus. out November 26, '64, 
Bowman, Daniel, enl. June 24, '61 ; dis. April 17, '63 ; disability. 
Bradley, Daniel C., enl. June 24, '61; mus. in 'June 28, '61. Bray, 
Conrad, enl. June 26, '61; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64; mus. 
out January 17, '66. Carson, Samuel, enl. June 24, '61; mus. in June 
28, '61. Cummings, Abraham S., eid. June 14, '61 ; mus. in June 28, 
'61. Edwards, *Jesse M., enl. June 26, '61 ; died May 8, '62. Frank, 
David E.', enl. June 14, 61; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64; mus. 
December 16, '65, as serg. Falon, John C., enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. 
January 4, '64; mus. out December 16, '65. Fogy, Henry, enl. June 14, 
'61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. Gum, Moses, enl. June 24, '61 ; died in 
Anderson ville prison January 4, '64. Grooms, Isaac, enl. June 24, '61 ; 
killed at Stone River December 30, '62. Gallagher, Patrick, enl. June 
14, '61 ; died at Anderson ville prison March 21, '64. Grames. Isaac, 
enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64; mus. out Decem- 
ber 16, '65. Garver, John, enl. June 24, '61 ; mus. out February 22, 
'65. Gay, George, enl. June 14, '61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. Hane- 
line, William, enl. June 14, '61; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64; 



PATRIOTISM OF 1'IATT COUNTY. 185 

mus. out December Hi, '65. Hilliard, William J., enl. June 24, '61; 
tr. to Marine Brigade March 30, '63. Hannah, Peter II., enl. June 
14, '61 ; died at Andersonville prison June 23, '64. Jones, John, enl. 
June 14, '61 ; missing at Chickamauga September 20, '63. Kirkland, 
Hiram J., enl. June*L4, '61 ; mus. out July 5, '64. Keller, John, enl. 
June 14, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64 ; absent, sick at mus. 
out December 16, '65. Keller, Edward W., enl. June 14, '61 . ; re-enl. 
as veteran January 4, '64; mus. out December 16, '65. Lesley, Wiley, 
enl. June 14, '61 ; killed at Stone River December 31, '62. Levenway, 
Reuben, enl. June 26, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64 ; dis- 
charged January 8, '65 ; disability. McGinnis, Theodore W., enl. June 
24, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran. Moore, Aaron, enl. June 26, '61 ; mus. 
out July 5, '64. Moffitt, Thomas, Jr., enl. June 14, '61 ; tr. to signal 
corps November 1, '63. Marshall, Abraham, enl. June 14, '61 ; mus. 
out July 5, '64. McLaughlin, John W., enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. as 
veteran January 4, '64. Mann. Thomas, enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. as 
veteran January 4, '64. McShane, James, enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. 
as veteran January 4, '64 ; mus. out December 16, '65. Mattix, 
Edward, enl. June 24, '61; discharged October 12, '61; disability. 
Newland, Robert, enl. June 24, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64 ; 
mus. out December 16, '65. Nichols, Jacob, enl. June 14, '61 ; re- 
enl. January 4, '64 ; mus. out December 16, '65. Rogers, Henry, enl. 
June 22, '61 ; re-enl. January 14, '64 ; mus. out December 16, '65. 
Rasor, James, enl. June 14, '61 ; discharged April 22, '62 ; disability. 
Rathbun, James, enl. June 14, '61 ; killed at Stone River December 
31, '62. Staley, Geo. II., enl. June 14, '61; mus. out July 5, '64. 
Sanders, William, enl. June 14, '61; mus. out July 5, '64. Still, 
Jesse C., enl. June 26, '61 ; tr. to Co. D. as veteran ; mus. out Decem- 
ber 16, '65. Seymour, William, enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran 
January 4, '64; mus. out December 16, '65. Tat man, Abia, enl. 
June 14, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 4, '64; mus. out December 16, 
'65. Thorn, William D., enl. June 14, '61 ; re-enl. January 4, '64. 
Turby, Joseph, enl. June 14, '61 ; discharged May 6. '63 ; disability. 
Kiser, Lewis, enl. a.s veteran January 4, '64 ; mus. out December 16, 
'65. Sargeant, Phillip E., enl. as veteran January 4, '64; mus. in 
January 7, '64. 

Recruits PmitFett, David E.. enl. February 1, '64; mus. out 
December 1(5, '65. Buckley, Sylvester, enl. .March. 31, '64 ; mus. out 
December 16, '65. Claspill, William, discharged November 16, '63 ; 
disability, llaneline, Elijah, enl. January 27, '64; mus. out June 22, 



186 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

'<>.">. Newport, Allen J., tr. to (Y>. D as veteran ; mus. out December 
16, '65. Patterson, II ami in, enl. April 14, '64; mus. out December 
16, '65. Snyder, James, mus. out July 5, '64. Skillen, John, enl. 
January 27, '64 ; mus. out December 16, '65. ^ 

TWENTY-SIXTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Privates Co. I Creen, Charles, enl. .November 8, '61 ; tr. to Co. 
H ; mus. out July 20, '65. Marvin, Andrew J., enl. November 8, '61 ; 
died at Cairo March 16, '62. Marvin, Joshua, enl. November 8, '61 ; 
discharged July 1, '62; disability. Smith, James W., November 8, 
'61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 1, '64 ; mus. out July 20, '65. Work- 
man, Francis W., enl. November 8, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 1, 
*64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out July 20, '65. 

THIRTY-FOURTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Co. E Recruits from 78th 111. Inf. Drager, Augustus J., enl. 
October 20, '64 ; mus. out July 12, '65. Grewell, Christopher II. , enl. 
October 20, '64 ; mus. out July 12, '65. Moore, Enos P., enl. Octo- 
ber 14, '64 ; mus. out July 12, '65. Wilson, John IT., enl. October 
20, '64 ; mus. out July 12', '65. 

HISTORY OF THIRTY-FIFTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. . 

It was organized at Decatur on the 3d of July, 1861 ; was engaged 
in the battle of Pea Ridge March 6 and 7, 1862. Took part in the 
siege of Corinth. Joined Buell's army at Murfreesboro', Tenn., Sep- 
tember 1, 1862. Engaged in the battle of Perryville October 8. 
Engaged in the battle of Stone River. Engaged in the battle of Chick - 
ainauga September 11) and 20. Engaged in the capture of Mission 
Ridge November 25. Was in the Atlanta campaign. Went into 
camp at Chattanooga, then started for Springfield, 111., and was mus- 
icred out September 27, 1864. Total distance marched, 3,056 miles. 

Officers Co. A Tabler, Capt. Benjamin M., enl. July 3, '61 ; 
resigned December 20, '61. Thomas, Capt Pierre W., enl. July 3, 
'61 ; promoted from 1st lieut. to capt. December ~2.~>, '61 ; resigned 
January 31. '64. 

Sergeants Co. A Sowash, John, eril. July 3, '61 ; discharged 
for disability at St. Louis. Schoonover. Jeremiah, enl. July 3, '61 ; 
died in St. Louis, October 16, '61 ; Kirby, Westwood C., enl. July 3, 
'61 ; absent, sick, at mus. out of reg. 

Corporals Foster, George W. T., enl. July 3, '61 ; discharged 
January X, '62. Kirby, Francis M.. enl. July 3, ? 61 ; tr. to invalid 



PATRIOTISM OK IMATT COUNTY. 187 

corps. Oilman, Noah, enl. July 3, '61 ; detailed 8th Wis. battery. 
Jiidd, Watson W., enl. July 3, '61 ; died in St. Louis, January 13, 
'62. Mahaft'ey, John, enl. July 3, '61 ; tr. to invalid corps, Ilinchey, 
Michael, enl. July 3, '61 ; in us. out December 27, '64. McDowell, 
Sylvester L.. musician, enl. July 3, '61 ; inus. out September 27, '64. 
Privates Band, William, enl. July 3, '61 ; mus. out September 27, 
'64. Cherester, Ephraim, enl. July 3, '61 ; died at St. Louis, January 
16, '62. 

THIRTY-EIGHTH INFANTRY. 

Co. C Frank, Frederick, enl. August 4, '61 ; discharged Febru- 
ary 6, '63 ; disability. Coon, Alonzo P., enl. as veteran February 
20, '64 ; mus. out March 20, '66, as 1st serg. 

THIRTY-NINTH INFANTRY. 

Co. H Davis, Isaac T., enl. June 28. HoweH, William, enl. 
June 28 ; killed August 16, '64. 

Co. I Johnson, Tho. J., enl. February 12, '04 ; rnus. out Decem- 
ber 6, '65, as serg. 

FORTY-FIRST INFANTRY. 

2d Asst. Surgeon Coleman, Jno. W., enl. September 30, '62; 
term expired 1864. 

Co. A Buck, JS T atlian, enl. December 18, '63 ; tr. to Co. A, vet. 
liftt. Cole, Aaron, enl. January 4, '64 ; tr. to Co. A, vet. bat. 

Co. C Short, John, enl. August 5, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran, and tr. 
to Co. A, vet. bat. Lacy, Benj. F., enl. August 5, '61 ; discharged 
October 19, '62 ; disability. 

HISTORY OF FORTY-XTNTH INFANTRY. 

The 49th Inf. vol. was organized at Camp Butler, Illinois, Decem 
ber 31, 1861, by Col. W. R. Morrison, and was at Fort Donelson Feb- 
ruary 11, 1862. Was in battle of Shiloh April 6 and 7, and was in 
the siege of Corinth. In August, 1863, moved to Arkansas, returning 
after the capture of Little Bock to Memphis, on November 21, 1863. 
On January 15, 1864, three-fourths of the regiment re-enlisted, and on 
March 10 was assigned to the Red River expedition. 

Mustered out September 9, 1865, at Paducah. Kentucky, and was 
discharged at Camp Butler, September 1 5, 1 S65. 

Officers Co. D Captain Samuel Goshorn, ranked as captain May 
10, '65 ; mus. in May 19, '65 ; mus. out September 9, '65. 

Co. E First Lieut. James M. Maguire, ranked as such October 
23, '61 ; mus. in December 30, '61 ; died of wounds May S. '63. 



188 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

Privates Enlisted men of Co. D Byron.,.- Noah, enl. October 11), 
'61 ; mus. December 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran. Burt, Harrison, 
enl. October 19, '61 ; mus. December 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran. 
Cleverstine, John, enl. November 15; mus. December 30; tr. to V. R. 
C. June 15, '64. Frump, Stephen, enl. November 15; mus. December 
30; re-enl. as veteran. Farro, Thomas, enl. November 15; mus. De- 
cember 30; re-enl. as veteran. Gray, Salathiel F., enl. November 15; 
mus. December 30; re-enl. as veteran. Moore, Jacob, enl. December 
1 ; mus. December 30; died of wounds February 20, '62. Moore, Will- 
iam, enl. December 1; mus. December 30; re-enl. as veteran. Peck, 
John, enl. December 1; mus. December 30; discharged August 26, '62; 
disability. Rinck, John J., enl. December 1; mus. December 30; 
re-enl. as veteran. Welch, Samuel J. ; enl. October 19; mus. Decem- 
ber 30 ; discharged May 4, '62; disability. 

Veterans of Co. D Goshorn, Samuel C., promoted 1st serg., then 
capt. Gray, Salathiel T., mus. out September 9, '65, as serg. Moore, 
William, enl. January 1, '64; mus. January 16, '64; mus. out Septem- 
tember 9, '65. Rinck, John J., mus. in January 28, '64; mus. out 
September 9, '65, as corp. Ward, John, mus. in January 23, '64; 
mus. out September 9, '65, as serg. 

Privates Co. E Boyd, William II., mus. in December 30, '61; 
re-enl. as veteran. Patterson, William S., enl. December 21, '61; mus. 
December 30, '61 ; mus. out January 9, '65. 

Veterans Pembroke, William K., enl. January 20, '64; mus. 
January 21, '64 ; mus. out September 9, '65, as 1st serg.; commissioned 
2d Kent, but not mus. Boyd, W. H., enl. January 20, '64; mus. 
January 21, '64; mus. out September 9, '65, as serg. Ben well, John 
H., enl. January 1, '61 ; mus. January 12, '61 ; mus. out September 
9, '65. 

Recruits Lyles, William, enl. January 1, '62 ; killed at Fort Don- 
elson, February 13, '62. Pembrook, William K., enl. January 1, '62; 
mus. June 11, '63 ; re-enl. as veteran. 

HISTORY OK FIFTY-FOURTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

This regiment was organized at Camp Dubois, Anna, 111., by Col. 
Thomas W. Harris, in November, 1861, as a part of the "Kentucky Bri- 
gade." Was ordered to Cairo, 111., February 24, 1862. On May 
30, 1863, left Jackson for Vicksburg as a part of the Third Brigade. 
July 24, 1863, ordered to Helena as part of Gen. Steele's expedition 
against Little Rock, Arkansas. January, 1864. three-fourths of the 



PATRIOTISM OF PIATT COUNTY. 

regiment re-enlisted as veteran volunteers. A part of the regiment 
was captured in 1864, while guarding a portion of the Memphis A: 
Little Rock railroad. Were paroled and arrived at Benton Barracks 
September 9, 1864. Mustered out October 15, 1865, and discharged 
from Camp Butler October 26. 

Officers Co. F 2d Lieut. Joshua Tatinan, enl. December 15, '61 ; 
mus. in February 16, '62; re-en 1. as veteran; mus. out October 15, 
'65, as 1st serg. ; commissioned 2d lieut. but not mus. Serg. James 
Camp, enl. December 15, '61; mus. in February 16, '62 ; re-enl. as vet- 
eran January 1, '64; mus. out October 15, '65. Corp. Henry Wild- 
man, enl. December 15, '61 ; mus. in February 16, '62; re-enl. as vet- 
eran. Campbell Postlewait, musician ; enl. December 15, '61 ; mus. 
in February 16, '62. 

Privates Alvord, Oscar, enl. December 15 ; mus. in February 16, 
'62. Birch, Daniel, enl. December 15, '61 ; mus. February 16, '62 ; 
re-enl. as veteran. Hildreth, William, enl. December 15, '61 ; mus. 
in February 16, '62; re-enl. as veteran January 1, 1864; mus. out Oc- 
tober 15, '65. Linder, William EL, enl. December 15, '61 ; mus. in 
February 16, '62; re-enl. as veteran January 1, '64; mus. out January 
31, '65. Pickens, William, enl. December 15, '61; mus. in February 
16, '62 ; re-enl. as veteran January 1, 64 ; mus. out October 15, '65. 
Tatman, Riley, enl. December 15, '61 ; mus. in February 16, '62 ; re- 
enlisted as veteran, January 1, '64; inns, out as corp. October 15, "65. 
Watson, William, enl. December 15, '61 ; mus. in February 16, '62 ; 
mus. out February 17, '65. 

Veterans Campbell, John F., enl. January 1, '64; mus. in Janu- 
ary 25, '64; mus. out October 15, '65. Davis, Joseph M., enl. Janu- 
ary 1, '64 ; mus. in January 25, "64 ; mus. out October 15, '65. 

Recruits Kerns, Shepherd L., enl. March 26, '64; mus. out Octo- 
ber 15, "65. Peck, George, enl. March 26, "64; mus. out October 15. 
'65. 

SIXTY-SKCOND ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Recruits Eichinger, Daniel B.,enl. January 19, '64 ; tr. to Co. A; 
mus. out March <">, '66. 

HISTORY OK THE SIXTY-THIRD ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Was organized at camp Dubois December, 1861. Mustered into 

United States' service April 10, 3862. Participated in the battle of 

Mission Ridge, Xovember 23 and 24. After going into winter quarters 

at Huntsville, a portion of the men re-enlisted as veterans, and after a 

13 



190 HISTORY OF 1'IATT COUNTY. 

furlough rejoined the command at Iluntsville, June 15. On Novem- 
ber 11 was ordered to join Sherman. In January, 1865, started on a 
trip through the Oarolinas, and participated in the battles and skir- 
mishes of this famous campaign. Was complimented by the inspector- 
general of the Army of the Tennessee for the appearance of the camp 
and soldierly bearing of the men. Was in grand review at Washing- 
ton, May 24, 1865. Mustered out July 13, 1865, having traveled in 
all 6,453 miles. 

Veterans Co. D Beasley, Thomas, enl. January 4, '64 ; mus. out 
July 13, '65, as serg. Case, James F., enl. January 1, '64; mus. out 
July 13, '65. Dawson, Lewis N.,. enl. January 1, '64 ; mus. out 
July 13, '65. Siders, William, enl. January 1, '64 ; mus. out July 
13, '65. Smith, Charles, enl. January 1, '64 ; mus. out July 13, 
'65, as corp. 

Recruits Burton, Lorenzo 1)., enl. June 1, '62 ;"~"TTius. out May 
30, '65. 

Veterans Co. H Barnes, William II. , enl. January 1, '64 ; mus. 
out July 13, '65. Burch, Geo., enl. January 1, '64; mus. out July 
13, '65. ' Cadwallender, Andrew, enl. January 1, '64 ; mus. out July 
13, '65. Freeman, Richard J., enl. January 1, '64 ; 1st serg., dis- 
charged September 26, '64 ; disabled. Harmon, Jesse, enl. January 1, 
'64 ; mus. out July 13, 1865. 

Recruits Freeman, William, enl. July 19, '62; died at Jackson, 
Tenn., November 18, 1862. 

In regard to the 72d 111. Inf., we give the following from items 
furnished by M. A. Adams, of this county. About 94 were enrolled 
in Co. E, nearly one-fifth of whom, Mr. Adams reports as being from 
Piatt county. 

"The regiment rendezvoused at Chicago (Camp Douglas) and was 
mustered into United States service August 18, 1862, and started to 
Cairo August 23. Left Columbus, Ky., for the field November 21, and 
marched six miles south of Oxford, Miss., with apart of Grant's army. 
Left Memphis, March 1, 1863, with the forces that went on the Yazoo 
Pass expedition. Marched from Milliken's Bend to Hardtimes land- 
ing. Crossed over to Grand Gulf and marched to Raymond, Miss. 
At Champion Hills the rebels were compelled to retreat after a hard 
fought battle. At the Big Black River the rebels were pushed so 
close that they set fire to the bridge too soon, and cut off several hun- 
dred prisoners to us. We had to bridge this stream when we ad- 
vanced to within four miles of Vicksburg, May 19, 1863, and with 



PATRIOTISM OF PIATT COUNTY. 191 

Sherman and others formed line of battle to correspond with their line 
of forts and breastworks twelve miles long. The face of the country 
was almost impassable. We had to assist each other to climb some 
of the hills ; besides it was difficult getting over the felled timber. On 
May 22 we charged the whole line, lost one-half our company, but 
did not take the works. We had to lay down to a siege which lasted 
46 days. During this time flags of truce were sometimes put out and 
the Union boys and rebels met for trading purposes. On June 25 we 
were all called out in line of battle to take Vicksburg, when Gen. 
Logan blew up the Southern Confederacy, or rather a hole through 
the bottom of it They dug under Fort Hill and planted a magazine, 
which was exploded. The 45th 111. rushed into the fort, but as 
soon as the rebels saw the joke they rallied and compelled the 45th 
to retire with heavy loss. We never learned how much damage the 
rebels sustained, but we know they lost one negro. He was blown 
clear over to Gen. Logan's grounds was not hurt, only emanci- 
pated and scared. His photos were on sale for a year at fifty cents. 
On July 3 the rebels hoisted a flag of truce in token of surrender, and 
on the 4th we marched into the city. On August 27 our regiment 
was called out to arrest the Marine Brigade, which refused to go ashore 
.and do infantry duty. October 6 we left Vicksburg for up the river, 
and arrived at Paducah, Ky., November 9. Left Nashville November 
14, and reached Columbia. On the 24th Hood's army attacked our 
pickets, and on the 28th made a. flank movement. On the 29th we 
started toward Franklin and marched all the time, and though we 
could see the rebel camp fires at night we reached Franklin before the 
rebels did. November 30 was spent in making breastworks. The 
enemy, who came on to us about 4 P.M., looked splendidly coming 
over the hills several columns deep, in line of battle. When they 
reached level ground we soon destroyed their nicely drawn lines. 
A number of rebels were taken prisoner here. After midnight we 
marched to Nashville, the rebels following at a respectable distance. 
At this place we received reinforcements, and on December 15 started 
for Hood's army. We soon captured all their works and a few of 
the men. We went into winter quarters at Eastport, Miss., 
and during the winter suffered some from scarcity of rations. 
Reached New Orleans February 20, and camped on Gen. Jackson's 
camping grounds. From there we went to Mobile Bay, and secured 
Fort Blakely and Mobile. After marching some time in Alabama, 



192 HISTORY OF 1'I.VTT COrXTV. 

we started home July 19, and were mustered out at Chicago August 

14, 1865."* 

SKVENTV-SECONU ILLINOIS INFA.NTRV. 

Privates Co. E Adam, Madison A., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. 
out August 7, '65; as corp. Dean, William S., enl. August 1, "':> : 
mus. out August 7, '65. Mencli, John A., enl. August 1, '62 ; died at 
Columbus, Kentucky, October 29, '62. Ellicott, Peter F., enl. August 
9, '62 ; discharged April 13, '63; disability. Hammer, Jeremiah, enl. 
August 11, '62 ; discharged January IS, '64 ; disability. Ingram, 
Jno. W., enl. August 9, '62 ; mus. out as corp. August 7, '65. 

Privates Co. G Grofft, Amasa L. De, enl. August 14, '62 ; mus. 
out July 15, '65. 

MEMORANDA OF SEVENTV-THIRD REGIMENT. 

The regiment was organized at Camp 'Butler August, 1S62, and 
became a part of Gen. Buell's army. Fought nobly at Perryville. 
"Was in every battle fought by the army of the Cumberland, from 
October, '62, to the route of Gen. Hood's army, at Nashville, and 
winding up of the whole matter. Was in -the engagements at Perry- 
ville, Murfreesboro, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge and the succes- 
sion of battles from Chattanooga to the fall of Atlanta. Formed a part 
of Opedyke's brigade at Franklin, which saved the day and lost its 
last man killed in driving Hood's army from Nashville. It left the 
state one of the largest, and returned one of the smallest, regiments, 
and the officers and men were noted for bravery. It is supposed that 
nearlv two-thirds of the organization wasted awav bv disease, death, 

/ O f / 

or battles during the three years' engagement. 

SKVKXTV-TIIJRI) IXFAXTRV ILLINOIS VOLl'XTEKRS. 

Officers Maj. Thomas Motherspaw ranked as captain of Co. D, 
and mus. in August 21. '<>:> ; promoted to major, September 20, '63 ; 
mus. June 27, '64 ; died of wounds. December IS, '64. 

Co. I) Capt. Jonas Jones ranked as 1st lieut. 'August 21, '62 ; 
promoted to capt. September 20, '<53 ; mus. in October 10, '64; honor- 
ably discharged May 15, '65. 1st Lieut. Henry A. Bodman, enl. as 
serg. July 26, '62 ; mus. in August 21, '62 ; promoted 2d lieut. 
December 19, '62 ; promoted to 1st lieut. September 20, '63 ; mus. in 
October 10, '<!4 ; resigned March !'.. '!5. 1st Lieut. Harrison M. Alvord 

'-'This history is -iven more in detail than some <>f the other histories, because 
a soldier of the county took the trouble to write it up. 



PATRIOTISM OF I 'I ATT COUNTY. 193 

cnl. July 24, '62 ; mus. in August 21, '62 ; promoted 1st lieut. 
April 11, '65; mus. out June 12, '65. 2d Lieut. Reuben B. Win- 
chester ranked as such, and mus. in August 21, '62 ; resigned Decem- 
ber 16, '62. 

Sergeants Jones, John S. enl. July 21, '62; mus. in August 21, 
'62 ; mus. out June 12, '65, as 1st serg. Glasgow, Martin V. B., mus. 
in July, '62 ; mus. in August 31, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Rickets, 
Barnabas, enl. July 18, '62 ; mus. in August 21, '62 ; tr. November 25, 
'63, to accept promotion in Colored Reg. 

Corporals Jones, Thomas S., enl. July 22, '62 ; mus. in August 
2, '62 ; died of wounds September 20, '63. Hopkins, Richard S., enl. 
July 26 ; mus. in August 21, '62 ; mus. out June 12, ''65, as serg. 

Corporals Co. D Rush, Thomas S., enl. July 28, '62 ; mus. out 
June 12, '65, as serg. Garver, Samuel B., enl. July 25, '62; mus. 
out June 12, '65 ; wounded. Gay, John, enl. July 22, '62 ; died at 
Kingston, Georgia. Wiley, Allen, enl. July 23, '62 ; discharged 
November 10, '64 ; wounds. McFadden, Benjamin, enl. July 16, '62 ; 
tr. to V. R. C. October 17, '64. Deter, Martin V., enl. July 22, '62 ; 
tr. to English corps July 20, '64. Newton, Robert, musician, enl. July 
20, '62 ; rnus. out June 12, '65. 

Privates Abnett, James Y., enl. July 20, '62 ; tr. to Y. R. C. 
Albert, John M., enl. August 7, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Barnes, 
John, enl. July 26, '62 ; died May 16, '64 ; wounds. Bruffett, Rob- 
ert, enl. July 26, '62 ; discharged February 10, '63 ; disability. 
Branch, Edward, enl. July 26, '62 ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, 
December 16, '62. Bradshaw, Joseph N., enl. July 25, '62 ; tr. to 
English corps July 10, 62. Brown, John F., enl. July 24, '62 ; mus. 
out June 12, '65. Beall, William, enl. August 7, '62 ; died at Nash- 
ville, Tennessee, December 23, '62. Brady, Elishman, enl. July 21, 
'62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Brown, David S., enl. August 4, '62 ; 
discharged April 4, '63 ; disability. Brunch, James M., enl. July 26, 
'62 ; died April 5, '65 ; wounds. Cooper, Levi G., enl. July 30, '62 ; 
died at Murfreesboro, March, '63. Crouise, John, enl. July 26, '62 ; 
discharged August 26, '63 ; wounds. Clover, David, enl. July 28, 
'62; tr. to invalid corps. Cooper, Joshua B., enl. August 12, '62; 
died Nashville February 12, '63. Crevisson, Thomas, enl. August 6, 
'62 ; discharged May 26, '65 ; wounds. Duvall, William, enl. July 
25, '62 ; discharged February 12, '63 ; disability. Duvall, Benjamin, 
enl. August 7, '62 ; discharged February 17, '63 ; disability. Duvall, 
Jeremiah, enl. August 4, '62 ; discharged December 13, '62 ; disabil- 



194 HISTORY OF PrATT COUNTY. 

ity. Dence, Wesley, enl. August 7, '62 ; died Nashville, Tennessee, 
December 5, '62. Ewbank, William M., enl. August 8, '62 ; dis- 
charged February 12, '63 ; disability. Frump, Joseph, enl. July 26, 
'62 ; tr. to invalid corps. Furgurson, Nathaniel L., enl. August 3, 
'62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Grundy, William H., enl. July 26, '62 ; 
mus. out June 12, '65. Galbreath, Hugh, enl. July 26, '62 ; tr. to 
invalid corps, January 16, '64. Graham, James, enl. July 26, '62; 
mus. out June 12, '65. Garver, Jonas B., enl. August 7, '62 ; mus. 
out June 12, '65, as serg. Hughs, Thomas, enl. July 23, '62; died 
Nashville, Tennessee, December 3, '62. Howard, Henry M., enl. 
July 24, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Ploward, James, enl. July 24, 
'62 ; discharged May 1, '63 ; disability. Hold, James W., enl. July 
28, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Heath, Sam'l, enl. July 26, '62 ; died 

, at Nashville, Tennessee, December - 8, '62. llotts, Hiram, enl. July 
26, '62 ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, December 17, '62. Heathj 

,/ Allen, enl. August 12, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Hobbs, Isaac, enl. 
August 7, '62 ; tr. to English corps July 20, '64. Havely, Warner, 
enl. July 26, '62 ; died Nashville, Tennessee, December 2, '62. Idle- 
man, Edward B., enl. Augusts, '62 ; died at Murfreesboro, Tennessee, 
February 9, '63. -Johnson, Alexander, enl. August 7, '62 ; died at Nash- 
ville, Tennessee, November 20, '62. Knowles, William C., enl . July 23, 
'62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Knapp, Hiram, enl. August 4, '62 ; mus. out 
June 12, '65. List, Frances M., enl. July 26, '62 ; mas. out June 12, 
'65. Langdon, Lucien, enl. July 26, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65, as corp. 
Le Varnnay, Francis, enl. August 7, '62 ; died at Nashville, Tennes- 
see, February 23, '63. Long, William J., enl. August 9, '62 ; mus. 
out June 12, '65. Mussleman, John, enl. July 21, '62 ; supposed 
killed November 30, '62. Mussleman, William, enl. July 26, '62 ; 
mus. in August 21. Miller, Elias M., enl. July 26, '62 ; mus. out 
June 12, '65. Mull, Sam'l, enl. August 8, '62 ; died at Nashville, 
Tennessee, June 16, '63. Martin, Joseph, enl. August 7, '62 ; tr. to 
English corps July 20, '64. Mcdrdle, Leonard, enl August 4, '62 ; 
mus. out June 12, '65. McMillen, John C. E., enl. July 26, '62 ; mus. 
out June 12, '65, as corp. Murkle, James II , enl. August 7, '62 ; died 
at Nashville, Tennessee, December 25, '62. Madden, William, enl. 
July 26, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65, as corp. Piper, James II., enl. 
August 7, '62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Quick, Ellsbury, enl. August 
4, '62 ; mus. in August 24. Ricketts, Sam'l T., enl. July 21, '62 ; 
mus. out June 12, '65. Reynolds, John, enl. July 26, '62 : mus. out 
June 12, '65. Rainwater, John, enl. July 26, '62 ; died at Nashville, 



PATRIOTISM OF PIA'IT COUNTY". 195 

Tennessee, February 6, '63. Rice, William II., enl. July 28 ; dis- 
charged December 5, '63 ; disability. Richards, Sam'l, enl. August 7, 
'62 ; mus. out June 12, '65. Sturnes, Richard M., enl. July 28, '62 ; 
mus. out June 12, '65. Spencer, James C., enl. August 7, '62 ; mus. 
.out June 12, '65. Spencer, Samuel C., enl. August 7, '62 ; discharged 
February 4, '63 ; disability. Secrist, William H., enl. August 11, '62; 
inns, out June 12, '65. Thorn, James L., enl. July 26, '62 ; died at 
Stevenson, Ala., November 19, '63. Talbert, John T., enl. August 7, 
'62 ; mus. out June 12. '65. Yail, Jackson, enl. July 26, '62 ; mus. 
out June 12, '65. Vail, Stephen, enl. July 26, '62 ; discharged Feb- 
ruary 8, '63 ; wounds. Williamson, Edward, enl. July 26, '62 ; mus. 
out June 12, '65. Watrous, Henry, enl. July 25, '65 ; discharged 
March 8, '63 ; wound. Weddle, John, enl. July 20, '62 ; died Decem- 
ber 9, '63; prisoner Danville, Va. Weddle, John H., enl. July 26, 
'62; mus. out June 12, '65. Watson, Hiram L., enl. August 2, '62 ; 
died September 20, '63 ; wounds. Watson, Charles A., enl. August 
1, '62 ; died Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, May 10, '65. Williamson, 
John, enl. August 4, '62 ; mus. in August 21. Wilson, Sam'l, enl. 
August 4, '62 ; died Nashville, Tennessee, January 23, '63. Wiley, 
Charles M., enl. August 8, '62 : discharged October 9", '62: disability. 
Wiley, Geo. N., enl. August '8 ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, Decem- 
ber 12, '62. Zorger, Jesse, enl. August 7, '62 ; died September 2, 
'63 ; wounds. Yost, Aaron, recruit, mus. out June 12. '65. 

NINETY-NINTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Co. E Lonzadder, George, enl. October 20, '64, tr. to 46th III. 
Inf. and mus. out October 8, '65. 

HISTORY OF THE ONE HUNDRED AND SKVEXTII ILLINOIS VOLUNTEER 

INFANTRY. 

It was mustered into the United States service at Camp Butler 
September 4, 1862, and consisted of six companies from Dewitt and 
four from Piatt counties. Pursued and assisted in the capture of John 
Morgan. Engaged with enemy near London. Had an encounter 
with enemy at Campbell's station November 16, and at Danbridge 
December 21. Was in battle at Resaca May 14 and 15, and at Kene- 
eaw Mountain June 18, and in the engagements thereabout and the 
subsequent fighting around Atlanta. Began the pursuit of Hood's 
army September 28, which was met November 22 at Columbia, where 
several days' skirmishing began. Near Columbia Pike regiment suffered 
a severe loss in the death of Col. Lowry, who fell mortally wounded. 



HISTORY OF PIATT COI'-NTY. 

Was in the battle of Franklin November 30. Was in the battle near 
Nashville. Left camp January 26, 1865, and arrived at Washington 
February H. After skirmishing with and pursuing the enemy until 
March 19, they arrived at Goldsboro March 21, where they awaited 
clothing and supplies for Sherman's army. Remained at Raleigh until 
the surrender of Johnson. Mustered out at Salisbury, N. C., June 21, 
1865. Discharged July 2, 1865. 

Officers Col. Francis II. Lowry, commissioned capt. of Co. E 
September 4, '62; mus. in Septembers, '62; promoted as lieut.-col. 
February <!, '63 ; promoted as col. November 10, '63 ; died of wounds 
received at battle of Franklin, Term., January 1, '65. 

Lieut. -Col. Hamilton C. McComas, commissioned September 4, '62 ; 
mus. in September 4, '62 ; resigned February 6, '63. Lieut. -Col. Jno. 
W. Wood, commissioned 1st Kent, of Co. E September 4, '62 ; pro- 
moted as capt. February 6, '63 ; promoted as maj. January 1, '65 ; 
promoted as lieut.-col. June 20, '65 ; mus. out (as maj.) June 21, '65. 

Maj. Uriah M. Lawrence, commissioned capt. Co. K September 4, 
'62 ; promoted as maj. January 9, '64 ; mus. in May 1, '64 ; honorably 
discharged September 25, '64. 

Adjt. Silas II. Hubbell, became adjt. September 4, '65 ; mus. in 
September 4, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 

1st Asst. -Surgeon Nelson G. Coffin, commissioned September 2, 
'62. 

Co. C Capt. David J. Ford, commissioned and mus. in Septem- 
ber 4, '62 ; resigned February 1 0, '64. 1st Lieut. George Hummel, 
enl. August 13, '62 ; promoted as 1st sergt. ; commissioned 1st lieut. 
February 10, "64 ; mus. in March 24, '64 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
2d Lieut. Wm. F. McMillen, commissioned and mus. in September 4, 
'62 ; resigned December 15, '63. 2cl Lieut. Wm. H. Plunk, commis- 
sioned June 20, '65 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 

Co. E Capt. John C. Lowry, enl. August 11, '62; promoted as 
2d lieut. February (!. '63 ; promoted as 1st lieut. December 14, '64 ; 
promoted as capt. January 1, '65; mus. out June 21, '65. 1st Lieut. 
Griffin M. Bruffitt, commissioned 2d lieut. September 7, '62 ; promoted 
as 1st lieut. February 6, '63 ; resigned December 14, '64. 1st Lieut. 
James M. Holmes, enl. August 11, '62; promoted as 1st sergt., then 
2d lieut. January 1, '65; mus. out June 21, '65. 2d Lieut. Thomas 
Hearing, enl. August 11, '62; commissioned 2d lieut. but not mus.; 
mus. out June 21, '65. 

Co. II Capt. Alonzq Newton, commissioned September 4, '62; 



PATRIOTISM OF PIATT COUNTY. 197 

resigned February 13, '63. Capt. Edgar Camp, enl. August 8, '62; 
promoted as 1 sf . Kent. February 9, '63 ; promoted as capt. February 
13, '63 ; killed June 16, '64. Capt, Samuel J. Kidd, enl. August 11, 
'62; promoted as 2d lieut. February 13, '63; promoted as 1st lieut. 
February 13, '63; promoted as capt. June 16, '64 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. 1st Lieut. Aaron Harshberger. commissioned 1st lieut. Septem- 
ber 4, '62 ; resigned February 9, '63. 1st Lieut. Andrew J. Williams, 
enl. as 1st sergt. August 11, '62; promoted as 2d lieut. February 13, 
'63 ; promoted as 1st lieut. June 16, '64 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 

Co. K 1st Lieut. Benjamin Brittingham ranked as 2d lieut. Sep- 
tember 4, "62 ; promoted to 1st lieut. January 9, '64 ; mus. out June 
21, '65. 2d Lieut. Andrew Kodgers ranked as 2d lieut. June 20, '65 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65. 

Co. C 1st Serg. Geo. L. Manmiss enl. August 13, '62; dis- 
charged October 18, '62 ; disability. 

Sergeants Hummel, Geo., enl. August 13, '62 ; promoted 1st 
serg., then 1st lieut. Adkins, Benjamin F., enl. August 13, '62 ; 
absent sick at mus. out of regiment. Downes, Samuel E., enl. August 
13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Martin, Henry, enl. August 13, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, 65. 

Corporals Warner ? Keuben, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 
21, '65. Bondman, Geo. W., enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged April 
11, '65 ; disability. Phillips, Joseph D., enl. August 13, '62 ; died as 
serg., Woodsville, Kentucky, March 12, '63. Marquiss, Ezra, enl. 
August 13, '62; discharged July 11, '62 ; disability. Bush, Jesse, enl. 
August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 65. Bond, B. C., enl. August 13, 
'62 ; discharged March K), "64; disability. Dove, Emanuel H., enl. 
August 13, '62 ; discharged December 16, '62 ; disability. Cowen, 
Jacob, enl. August 14, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65 as serg. Coon, 
Elias M., musician, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged October 11, '63 ; 
disability. Holt, Peter, wagoner, enl. August 13, '62 ; died Ander- 
sonville prison September 3, '64. 

Privates Barnes, William II., enl. August 13, '62 ; absent sick at 
mus. out. Byerly, Lewis K., enl. August 13, '62; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Benden, Thomas, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged January 3, 
'63 ; disability. Burget, Samuel, enl. August 13, '62 ; furloughed May 
7, '64. Barden, William B., enl. August 13, '62; mus. in September 
4. Bradford, John T., enl. August 13, '62 ; died at Glasgow May 12, 
'63. Crystal, Thomas T., enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
Crystal, Calvin, enl. August 18, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Carey, 



198 HISTORY OF PIATP COUNTY. 

Edwin, enl. August 13, '62 ; reported to have died in rebel prison. 
Coflfelt, John R., enl. August 13, '62 ; killed near Dallas, Georgia, 
May 31, '64. Cowen, John, enl. August 14, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Coffin, James B., enl. August 13, '62 ; was absent at mus. .out. 
Dyer, John, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65, as corp. 
Dean, Charles, enl. August 13, '62 ; tr. to Co. E; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Elsea, Jacob, enl. August 13, '62 ; reported to have died in rebel 
prison. Elsea, Abraham, enl. August, '62; died at Glasgow, Ken- 
tucky, June 21, '63. Ellis, John R, enl. August 14, '62 ; tr. to Col- 
vin'slll. Battery April 30, '64. England, Isaac W., enl. August 13, 
'62 ; died at Atlanta, Georgia, October 28, '64. Fitztvater, Wesley, 
enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Fogleseng, Martin, enl. 
August 14, '62 ; detached at mus. out of regiment. Gross, Henry, 
enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged January 3, '63 ; disability. Graham, 
Joseph, enl. August 13, '62 ; tr. to Y. R. C. January 13, '64. Gar- 
wood, Silas D., enl. August 13, '62 ; died at Camp Nelson, Kentucky, 
December 13, '63. Hollorin, Hugh, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged 
May 12, '63 ; disability. Hudson, AVilliarn, enl. August 22, '62 ; died 
Andersonville prison, August 18, '64. Haneline, Peter, enl. August 
22, '62 ; discharged October 11, '63 ; disability. Hubbart, Thomas C., 
enl. August 13, '62 ; absent sick at mus. out Ilaneline, David, enl. 
August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Hannah, James II., enl. 
August 13, '62 ; died Wooclsonville, Kentucky, December 31, 62. 
Hannah, Hugh Y., enl. August 13, '62 ; died in prison at Richmond 
March 27, '64. Huffman, George, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 
21, '65. Houser, John, enl. August 14, '62 ; died Elizabethtown, Ken- 
tucky, November 18, '62. Havener, John A., enl. August 13, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65. Ingum, Harrison, enl. August 13, '62 ; dis- 
charged November 19, '62 ; disability. Izer, John, enl. August 14, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65. Lefever, John A., enl. August 11, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65, as corp. Lefever, David S., enl. August 
11, '62 ; discharged October 11, '63, as corp. ; disability. Kesner, 
Simeon, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, ? 65, as corp. 
Kearney, Hinton, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged October 13, 
'62. Knott, John M., enl. August 14, '62; discharged October 
11, '63 ; disability. Miller, Jacob, enl. August 13, '62 ; tr. to 
Colvin's 111. Battery April 30, '64. Miller, John N., enl. August 
13, '62 ; killed near Dallas, Georgia, May 27, '64. Milligan, Thomas, 
enl. August 13, '62; mus. in September 4, '62. Madden, John S., 
enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. in September 4, '62. Montgomery, John, 



PATRIOTISM OF PI AIT COUNTY. 199 

enl. August 13, '62 ; died at Richmond prison December 19, '63. 
Mitchell, Nelson, enl. August 13, '62 ; tr. to Colvin's 111. Battery April 
30, '64. Morse, James, enl. August 15, '62 ; mus. in September 4. 
Norris, Elislia B., enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged September 3, '63 ; 
disability. Nowlan, Michael, enl. August 13, '62 ; died in Richmond 
prison December 13, '63. Plunk, John E., enl. August 14, '62; died 
in Piatt county June 14, '64. Plunk, William H., enl. August 14, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65, as 1st serg. Rodgers, John B., enl. August 18, 
'62 ; died at Elizabethtown, Kentucky, November 29, '62. Roberts, 
Aaron B., enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Reid, Nelson, 
enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65, as corp. Ross, Aquilla, 
enl. August 13, '62 ; absent sick at mus. out. Rowlin, Leonard, enl. 
August 11, '62 ; tr. to Colvin's 111. Battery April 30, '64. Rowlin, 
Henry, enl. August 13, '62 ; tr. to Colvin's 111. Battery April 30, '64. 
Ritchbark, Isaac, enl. August 13, '62 ; absent sick at mus. out. Shep- 
pard, John, enl. August 14, '62 ; died at Knoxville, Tennessee, Janu- 
ary 10, '64. Smith, Alexander, enl. August 13, '62 ; tr. to Colvin's 
111. Battery April 30, '64. Schlenoker, Jacob, enl. August 13, 62 ; 
died near Atlanta, Georgia, August 8, '64. Steel, Sam'l, enl. 
August 13, '62 ; killed near Resaca, Georgia, May 14, '64. Sensetiy, 
James, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Sanders, Andrew 
J., enl. August 14, '62; died Woodsonville, Kentucky, March 6, '63. 
Smidts, Michael, enl. August 14, '62 ; died Woodsonville, Kentucky, 
July 9, '63. Shaffer, Henry, enl. August 18, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Taylor, John L., enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged April 4, '63 ; 
disability. Templin, Sam 1 ! J., enl. July 14, '62 ; absent sick at mus. 
out. Uhl, John, enl. August 15, '62; mus. out June 21, '65, as corp. 
Wmgard, Andrew J., enl. August 14, '62 ; discharged April 18, '63 ; 
disability. 

Corporals Co. E Tritt, Francis M., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out 
June 21, '65. Moore, George, enl. August 11, '62; mus. out May 
20, '65. Sutherland, Orange B., enl. August 1, '62 ; mus. out June 
June 21, '65. Albert, Jacob, enl. August 11, 1862 rnus. in Septem- 
ber. Wescott, Joel, enl. August 11, '62; mus. out June 21, 1865. 
McCann, William, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Tim- 
mons, William II. II., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
Herron, James II., musician, enl. August 11 ; tr. to V.R.C. February 
6, '64. Seppel, Ambrose, enl. August 11, '62 ; died Andersonville 
prison, April 1, '64. Bush, Jesse, wagoner, enl. August 1.1, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65. 



200 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

Privates Anderson, William, enl. August 11, '62 ; discharged 
March 27, '63 ; disability. Albert, James M., enl. August 11, "62 ; died 
Elizabetlitown, Ky., December 8, '62. Allman, Edwin J., enl. August 
11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, *65. Applegate, Elias, enl. August 11, '62 ; 
mus. in September 5, '62. Applegate, Randolph, enl. August 11, 
'62 ; died at Knoxville, Tenn., June 16, '64. Andrews, John, enl. 
August 11, '62 ; discharged January 19, '63 ; disability. Bush, 
Jacob, enl. August 11, '62 ; discharged February 19, '63 ; disability. 
Bailey, James, enl. August 11, '62 ; discharged February 19, '63 ; 
disability. Burch, John W., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Blacker, Joseph, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
Blacker, William H., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Babcock, Elias. enl. August 11, '62 ; tr. to Colvin's Bat- 
tery July 8, '63. Brady, Elias, enl. August ; died Piatt county, 
February 4, '64. Beasley, Calvin, enl. August 11, '62 ; corp., 
absent sick at mus. out. Carlin, Daniel, enl. August 11, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65. Coles, John W., enl. August 11, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65. Carter, William, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. 
out June 21, '65, as corp. Cornprobst, David, enl. August 11, 
'62; mus. out as serg. June 21, '65. Coonrod, John H., enl. August 
11, '62 ; detained at mus. out of regiment. Deardoff, David W., 
enl. August 11, '62 ; discharged January 19, '63 ; disability. Dodd, 
Thomas, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Dodd, 
Emanuel, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Dodd, John, 
enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Dodd, John, jr., enl. 
August 11, '62 ; died at Richmond, Va., February 5, 1864. Dress- 
bach, John P., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Dress- 
bach, William H., enl. August 11, '62 ; died at Woodsonville, Ky., 
February 8, '63. Duvall, Jacob, enl. August 11, '62 ; absent sick at 
mus. out of regiment. Eatherton, Henry H., enl. August 11, '62 ; tr. 
to Colvin's Battery July 8, '63. Fowler, James E., enl. August 11, 
'62 ; tr. to V.R.C. September, '63. Foust, George W., enl. August 
11, '62 ; died at Knoxville, Tenn., April 3, '64. Hays, Elijah, enl. 
August 11, '62 ; tr. to Colvin's Battery, January 26, "63. Hubbart, 
Thomas, enl. August 11, '63 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Ilubbart, 
Hamilton J., enl. August 11, '62; discharged March 19, '65; dis- 
ability. Hubbart, William C., enl. August 11, T2 ; mus. out June 
21, '65. Hubbart, James F., enl. August 11, '65 ; absent wounded at 
mus. out. Hart, James C., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65, as corp. Hall, James M., enl. August 11, '65 ; died at Knox- 



PATRIOTISM OF 1'I.VTT COUNTY. 201 

ville, Term., March 20, '6-4. Hickmau, Simon W., enl. August 11, 
'63 ; serg., sick at mus. out. Huston, Henry 0., enl. August 11, '65 ; 
tr. to Colvin's Battery, January 26, '63. Hussong, Cornelius C., enl. 
August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Hoclson, Eli, enl. August 
11, '62 ; mus. in September 5, '62. Hearst, Thomas, enl. August 11, 
'62 ; discharged .January 9, '63 ; disability. Hickman, George W., 
enl. August 11, '62; died at Woodsonville, Ky.; February 23, '63. 
Large, Stephen, enl. August 11, '62 ; absent sick at mus. out. Merritt, 
Jos., enl. August 11, '62 ; discharged April 5, '65 ; disability. Hear- 
ing, Thomas J., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Miles, 
James V., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Miles, John 
S., enl. August 11, '62 ; absent sick at mus. out. Matsler, John, enl. 
August 11, '62 ; tr. to Y.K.C. January 26, '65. Moore, John S., 
enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65, as corp. Moore, Jacob 
D., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65, as corp. Marvin, 
Thomas, enl. August 11, '62 ; absent wounded at rnus. out. Mooney, 
Lawrence, enl. August 11, '62 ; died at Woodsonville, Ky., January 
3, '63. Morgan, Samuel ]>., enl. August 11, '62 ; discharged June 
20, '64 ; disability. McKinley, Alexander, enl. August 11, '62 ; absent 
sick at mus. out. Miles, Thomas S., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out 
June 21, '65, as corp. Xorris, Daniel, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out 
June 21, '65. Orrison, Samuel, enl. August 11, '62 ; died at Eliza- 
bethtown, Ky., December 13, '62. Piter, Henry, enl. August 11, '62 ; 
tr. to Colviirs Battery, January 26, '63. Payne, John, enl. August 11, 
'62 ; mus. out June 21, 65. Rawlins, Charles F., enl. August 11, '62 ; 
died at Woodsonville, Ky., January, '63. Rhoades, John, enl. 
August 11, '62 ; discharged September 30, '63 ; disability. Smith, 
James, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '(55. Sherman, 
Edmond, enl. August 11, '62 ; tr. to Cohan's Illinois Battery, July 8, 
'63. Sherman, John, enl. August 11, '62; tr. to Colvin's Illinois Bat- 
tery, July 8, '63. Stinson, James W., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out 
June 21, '65. Simmons, Thomas A., enl. August 1 L, '02 ; died at 
Knoxville, Tenn., November 22, '63. Stout, Amos, enl. August 11, 
'62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Sutherland, Edwin J., enl. August 11, 
'62 ; mus. out as serg. June 21, '65. Terwilliger, William, enl. 
August 11, '62; discharged September 4, '63 ; disability. Woolington, 
Harrison, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65 as corp. Wat- 
son, Jacob, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '('55. Wilson, 
William, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '(55. Welsh, Thomas 
F., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out as serg. June 21, '65. Warner, 



202 HISTORY OK IT ATT COUNTY. 

George, eril. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Williamson, 
William, enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Wolf, James, 
enl. August 11, '65 ; discharged February 24, '63 ; disability. 

<>NK HUNDRED AND SEVENTH ILLINOIS INKANTRY. 

Officers Co. II 1st Serg. Anderson J. Williams, enl. August 11, 
'62 ; promoted 2d. lieut. 

Sergeants Kidd, Samuel J., enl. August 11, '62; promoted 2d 
lieut. Linder, George W., enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
Hays, William, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Wise, 
Lafayette, enl. August 14, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 

Corporals Parks, Joseph B., enl. August 13, '62; tr. to 
V. II. C. August 12, '63. Maxey, Peter, enl. August 13, '62 ; absent 
sick at mus. out. Vedder, Isaac, enl. August 9, '62 ; died at Bacon 
Creek, Ky., May 1, '63. Gulliford, Richard, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. 
in September 4. Davis, Henry, enl. August 14, '62; died at New Al- 
bany, Ind., June 8, '64, as serg." Alexander, Richard IL, August 18, 
'62; rnus. out June 21, '65, as serg. Moore, Geo., enl. August 18, 
'62 ; died at Bement March 14, '64. Conway, Dempsey M., enl. Au- 
gust 11, '62 ; mus. out Junj 21, '65. Quick, Ellsberry, musician, enl. 
August 8, '62; mus. out June 21, '65 ; Sturm, Lemuel, wagoner, enl. 
August 13, '62 ; serg. detached at mus. out of reg. 

Privates Ater, Richard, enl. August 15, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Boss, Enoch L., enl. August 11, '62 ; tr. to V. R. C. November 
15, '63. Barker, William, enl. August 13, '62 ; transferred to Colvin's 
111. Bat. July 7, '63. Burch, James, enl. August 12, '62 ; mus. out 
June 21, '65, as corp. Bryson, John A., enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. 
out June 21, '65. Babb, Geo. W., enl. August 13, '62; tr. to Col- 
vin's Bat. July 7, '63. Clark, William, enl. August 9, '62 ; mus. out 
June 21, '65. Chadd, John, enl. August 9, '62 ; died in Libby prison 
February 22, '64. Clapp, James, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged 
November 7, '63 ; disability. Comb, John, enl. August 13, '62 ; 
mus. out June 21, '65. Crane, John S., enl. August 13, '62 ; absent 
wmmded at mus. out. Collins, Jacob, enl. August 11, '-62 ; tr. to Col- 
vin's Bat. January 27, '63. Drake, Capt. F., enlisted August 9, '62 ; 
died at Bement, 111., January 11, '63. Decker, John S., enl. August 
18, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65 ; Eperson, Charles T., enl. August 22, 
'62 ; discharged September 11 ; disability. Everett, Wilson, enl. 
August 11, '62 ; tr. to Colvin's 111. Bat. January 27, '63. Fay, Jesse, enl. 
August 13, '62 ; mus. in September 4. Fay, Richard, enl. August 13, 



. PATRIOTISM OF 1'IA.TT COUNTY. 203 

'62 ; inns, in September 4. Frazell, Josiah, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. 
in September 4. Fitzpatrick, Samuel, enl. August 17, '62 ; transferred 
to V. R C. November 15, 63. Gtilliford, William, enl. August 9, 
'62; mus. in September 4. Harper, John O., enl. August 12, '62; 
mus. in September 4. Harshbarger, Samuel, enl. August 13, '62 ; 
mus. in September 4. Hill, John, enl. August 18, '62 ; mus. in Sep- 
tember 4. Hine8, William, enl. August 15, '62. ; discharged June 2, '63 ; 
disability. Hastings, Thomas, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Jarvis, Levi, enl. August 13, '62; discharged May 1, '63 ; disability. 
Kidney, Oliver, enl. August 11, '62; died at Knoxville, Tenn., Feb- 
ruary 15, '64. Long, Nicholas, enl. August 8, '62 ; discharged February 
9, '63 ; disability. Lewis, Erastus, enl. August 18, '62 ; tr. to Co. A. 
Leary, Dennis, enl. August 18, '62 ; died at Knoxville, Tenn., 
November 15, '63. McLaughlin, .Tames, enl. August 9, '62 ; dis- 
charged January 10, '63 ; disability. Morgan, Richard, enl. August 9, 
'62 ; died in Piatt county June 1, '65. Martin, Daniel L., enl. August 
11, '62 ; mus. in September 4. Mossbarger, Peter, enl. August 13, 
'62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Moore, Allen, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. 
out June 21, '65. Moore, Alexander, enl. August 13, '62 ; tr. to Y. 
R C. February 19, '63. Mitchell, Thomas J., enl. Aug. 13, '62 ; 
detached at mus. out. McGaffey, William, enl. August 9, '62 ; mus. 
out June 21, '65, as corp. Naughton, Rsuben D., enl. August 9, '62; 
mus. out June 21, '65. Neal, John M., enl. August 14, '62; dis- 
charged January 30, '63 ; disability. Quigel, James, enl. August 9, '62 ; 
discharged January 14, '63, disability. Quick, Isaac, enl. August 13, 
'62 ; mus. out June 21, '35, as corp. Quick, Isaiah, enl. August 14, '62 ; 
tr. to V. R C. November 15, '63. Rubel, Jonathan, enl. August 
9, '62 ; killed at Nashville, Tenn., November 21, '64. Rose, William, 
enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. in September 4. Randall, Ebenezer, enl. 
August 12, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65, as corp. Rowan, Robert, enl. 
August 13. '62 ; died at Woodsonville, Ky., February 10, '63. Stash- 
rote, John, enl. August 8, '62 ; mus. in September 4. Spangler, 
Marion, enl. August 9, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. Smetters, George, 
enl. August 12, '62 ; discharged September 9, '63 ; disability. Shonk- 
wiler, N. B., enL August 13, '62; mus. out June 21, '65. Shonkwiler, 
J. W., enl. August 13, '62; tr. to Colvin's III. Bat. January 27, '63. 
Sanders, Jackson, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged September 29, '63 ; 
disability. Stinehouser, John, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged August 
1, '63 ; disability. Sorrels, Marquis, enl. August 11, '62 ; died at New 
Albany, Indiana, May 14, '61. Trowbridge, Enoch, enl. August 13, 



204 HISTORY OF 1MATT OUXTY. 

'62 ; died at Woodsonville, Ky., January .'51, '03. Terry], J. X., enL 
August 17, '02; discharged April L, '03; disability. Willis, Joshua, 
enl. August 11, -(12; mus. out .June 21, '05. Wildnwn, Frances M., 
enl. August 13, '02; killed at Lost Mountain June 17. '04. Wilhelm, 
Martin, enl. August 13, '62; mus. in September 4. Wilburn, John 
T.,enl. August 13, '02 ; tr. to V. II. C. Xovember 15, '03. White. 
Fountain F., enl. August 14, '02 ; discharged September 17, '02 ; disa- 
bility. Wollington, Jacob, enl. August 1.1, '02; died at Bement, HI., 
July 5, '04. Williams, Clarkson, enl. August 13, '02; tr. to Co. K. 
Willis, William E., enl. August 11, '02 ; died at Knoxville, Tenn., 
March 10, '04. 

Recruits Babb, Thomas J., enl. December t. '<>:> ; discharged 
December 2, '04 ; wounds. Boles, John, enl. December 11, '03 ; died 
at Chattanooga .Tune 19, '04 ; wounds. Bogard, William E., enl. 
December 9, '03; died at Louisville, Ky., December 19, '04 ; wounds. 
Kidney, Henry, enl. December 11, '03; killed at Franklin, Term., 
Xovember 30, '04. 

Co. K -1st Serg. Andrew Hutsinpellar, enl. August 11, '02; 
mus. out June 21, '05, as serg. 

Sergeants Jones, Geo. B., enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out May 
13, '05. Higman, Chas. L., enl. August 11, '02; tr. to V. R. C. 
December 1, '03. Peck, David, enl. August 11, '02; mus. out June 
21, '05. 

Corporals Hodges, Augustus M.,'enl. August 13, '02 ; mus. out 
May 13, '05. Temple, A.dam, enl. August 11, '02 ; inus. out June 21, 
'05. Morris, George, enl. August 1, '02; mus. out .June 21, '05. 
Patterson, Crawford, enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out June 21, '05. 
McKinney, Thomas X., enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out June 21, '05. 
Peck, Peter II., musician, enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out June 21, '05. 
Rickets, Alexander, enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out June 21, '05. 

Privates Ater, John, enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out June 21, '05. 
Brown, Marion, August 11, '02 ; died, Knoxville, Tenn,, Decem- 
ber 23, '03. Cole, Monroe, enl. August 11, '02; mus. out June 21, 
'05. Cornell, John, enl. August 11, '02 ; mus. out June 21, '05. 
Cornell, Joseph, enl. August 11, '02 ; absent sick at muster out. Coom 
Franklin, enl. August 11, 05 ; died at Jeffersonville, July 4, '04. 
Drum, Eli, enl. August 11, '02; mus. out June 21, '05. Drum, 
Jacob, enl. August 11, '02 ; absent sick at muster out. Denmon, 
Theodore F., enl. August 11, '02; discharged March 31, '05; dis- 
ability. Funk, Sam'l, enl. August 11, 02 ; mus. out June 21, '05. 




A 




THE 
"RSil/ OF ILLINOIS 



PATRIOTISM OF 1'IATT OOUNTY. 207 

Fleraming, James, enl. August 11, '62 ; inns, out June 21, '65. Grove, 
Robert C., enl. August 11, '62 ; nius. out June 21, '65. Gale, 
William II., enl. August 11, '62; mus. out June 21, '65. Hallstead, 
Elliott, enl. August 11, '62 ; died near Kenesaw Mountain, July 1, '64. 
Howell, William, enl. August 11, '62 ; discharged August 25, '63 ; 
disability. Heath, Frederick, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Heminger, Andrew, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
Jones, Shepherd II., enl. August 11, '62; mus. out July 21, '65. 
Linton, Walter, enl. August 16, '62 ; died at Madison, Indiana, April 

7, '64. McKay, Charles S., enl. August n, '62; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Morgan, John, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
McCollister, Isaiah, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 21, '65. 
McKay, Thomas, enl. August 15, '62 ; detached at mus. out of regi- 
ment. Peck, Amos, enl. August 11, '62 ; died at Cerro Gordo, 
January 26, '65. Rhodes, Alexander, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out 
June 21, '65. Stickel, Valentine B., enl. August 11, '62; mus. out 
June 21, '65. Sheppard, James, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 
21, '65. Williams, James II., enl. August 11, '62; mus. out June 21, 
'65. Ward, William C., enl. August 11, '62 ; died July 11, '64 ; 
wounds. Williams, Joseph, enl. August 11, '62 ; mus. out June 
21, '65. 

Unassigned recruits Kidney, Sam'l, enl. December 11, '63 ; tr. to 
65th 111. Randall, Geo. W., enl. December 9, '63 ; tr. to 65th 111. 

ONE IIUNDKED AND FIFTEENTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Co. F Helms, Jacob A., enl. August 9, '62 ; discharged January 

8, '65 ; wounds. 

ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTEENTH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Corporals Co. A Rodgers, William M., enl. August 9, '62 ; died 
Marietta, Ga,, September 20, '64; wounds. Havely, Lafayette R,, 
enl. July 21, '62; tr. to invalid corps January 15, '64. 

Privates Bouser, CaryT., enl. August 21, '62; died June 17, '63; 
wounds. Caulk, Albert, enl. August 9, '62; died April 9, '64; And- 
erson ville prison. Falconer, Enoch McL., enl. August 6, '62 ; died 
Milliken's Bend, La., April 18, '63. Fields, John, enl. August 9, '62; 
mus. out June 7, '65. Jones, George A., enl. August 21, '62; died 
Yazoo Bottom, Miss. , December 31, '62. 

Recruits Bailey, James A., enl. January 26, '64 ; died Larkins- 
ville, Ala., February 27, '64. Belzer, James M., enl. January 26, 
14 



208 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

'64 ; tr. to Co. H, 55th 111. Bouser, Thomas, January 26, '62 ; tr. 
to Co. H, 55th 111. Ely the, Joseph H., cul. January 28, '62; 
tr. to Co. H, 55th III. Clay, William, enl. January 26, '62; tr. to Co. 
H, 55th 111. Davis, Alexander K., enl. January 4, '62; tr. to Co. H, 
55th, 111. Gromley, Aquilla, enl. January 26, '62 ; tr. to Co. H, 55th 
111. Gromley, Jiles W., enl. January 28, '62; tr. to Co. H, 55th 111. 
Lesley, John, enl. January 26, '62 ; died at Rome, Ga., September 20, 
'64. Lux, Peter, enl. January 26, '62 ; tr. to Co. II, 55th 111. McKcc, 
James W., enl. January 4, '64 ; tr. to Co. H, 55th 111. Minick, Josiah, 
enl. January 28, '64; tr. to Co. H, 55th 111. Miller, Joseph, enl. January 
26, '64 ; tr. to Co. II, 55th 111. Peck, James, enl. January 26, '64 ; 
tr. to Co. H, 55th 111. Peck, Jerome, enl. January 26, '64 ; tr. to Co. 
H, 55th 111. Steweard, Josiah D., enl. January 26, '64; killed at 
Jonesboro, Ga., August 31, '64. Steweard, John W., enl. January 
26, '64 ; died at Marietta, Ga., July 18, '64. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTIETH ILLINOIS INFANTRY. 

Officer Co. G 2d lieut. William H. Smith, commissioned Feb- 
ruary 14, '65; resigned June 20, '65. 

SECOND ILLINOIS CAVALRY. 

Officers Co. F Bowman, Reuben, ranked as capt. August 24, '61 ; 
resigned June 17, '62. Musser, Mel villeH., ranked 1st lieut. August 24, 
'61 ; promoted to capt. June 17, '62 ; tr. to Co. A. Shannon, NeilT., 
ranked as 2d lieut. August 24, '61 ; promoted 1st lieut. June 17, '62 ; 
killed in battle August 30, '62. Stickel, Isaiah, ranked as 2d lieut. June 
17, '62 ; promoted 1st lieut. August 30, '62 ; tr. to Co. A as consoli- 
dated ; inns, out April 4, '66. Leib, Levi II., ranked as 2d lieut. 
August 30, '62 ; died of wounds. Cox-, Joseph E., ranked as 2d 
lieut. September 26, '62 ; resigned February 28, '63. Wildman, 
Stephen C., ranked as 2d lieut. February 28, '63 ; honorably dis- 
charged June 14, '64. Kirby, John, enl. July 30, '61 ; re-enl. a 
veteran January 5, '64 ; ranked as serg. June 14, '64, and tr. to Co. A 
as consolidated; mus. out November 22, '65. Clark, Warren C., 
hospital steward, enl. July 30, '61 ; promoted serg.-maj. Inlow, 
Harrison, enl. July 30, '61 ; furloughed July 8, '62. Skillings, 
Charles II., enl. July 30, '61 ; died Bird's Point, Missouri, December 
26, '61. 

Corporals Weedman, Thomas S., enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged 
August 11, as quarter master-serg. Madden, Silas W., enl. July 30, '61 ; 



PATRIOTISM OF 1'IATT COTXTY. 209 

re-enl. as veteran January 5, T>4 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 
22, '65. Monroe, James, enl. July 30, '61 ; killed at Holly Springs 
December 20, V>2. Storey, Andrew T., enl. July 30, '61; killed at 
Holly Springs December 20, '62. Carney, Robert, enl. July 30, '61 ; 
re-enl. as veteran January 5, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out July 21, '65. 
Tinder, Americus B., bugler, enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged August 14, 
'63 ; wounds. Moore, Samuel, enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged May 8, 
'62; disability. Wildman, Stephen C., enl. July 30, '61 ; promoted 
2d Kent. Stedman, Byron W., wagoner; enl. July 30, '61 ; re-enli as 
veteran January 5, '64 ; tr. to Co. A; mus. out November 22, '65. 

Privates Anderson, James W., enl. July 30, '61 '; re-enl. as vet- 
eran ; t*. to Co. A; mus. out November 22, '65, as 1st serg. Bradley, 
Caleb, eUl: Jirty 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 5, '64 ; mus. out 
November 22, '65, as serg. Bowman, John, enl. July 30, '61 ; dis- 
charged May 12, '62. Barnes, John^M., enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged 
April 24, '62. Burns, Robert L., enf. July 30, '62; discharged April 
24, '62. Bushee, John E., enl. July 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran. 
Batty, Edmond, enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged June 14, '63 ; disability. 
Dennis, Francis, enl. July 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran. Diller, John 
E., enl. July 30, '61; discharged April 24, '63. Doran, Peter, enl. 
July 30, '61 ; discharged August 11, '64; term expired. Elerton, 
Chester, enl. July 30, '61 ; killed at Bolivar, Tennessee, August 30, 
'62. Emerson, Albert, enl. July 30, '61 ; enl. as veteran January 5, 
'64 ; tr. to Co. A as consolidated ; mus. out November 22, '65. Gil- 
bert, Truman, enl. July 30, '61 ; tr. to Co. E. Holl ings worth, James 
H., enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged December, '61 ; disability. Hide, 
William, enl. July 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 5, '64 ; tr. to 
Co. A ; sick at mus. out of regiment. Huston, Henry, enl. July 30, 
'61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 5, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out Novem- 
ber 22, '65. Huddleston, Samuel W., enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged 
March 26, '63 ; disability. Ilubbart, Harrison, enl. July 30, '61 ; re- 
enl. as veteran January 5, '64 ; corp. discharged for promotion in 4th 
U. S. col. cav., April 18, '64. Jones, Albert, enl. July 30, '61 ; killed 
at Holly Springs, Missouri, December 20. '62. Knight, Arad, enl. 
July 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran. Lute, Joseph, enl. July 30, '61 ; re- 
en], as veteran January 5, '64; tr. to Co. A. Leigh, George A., enl. 
July 30, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 5, '64 ; mus. out June 24, '65, 
as serg. Linton, John Z., enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged May 26, '62; 
List, William E., enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged August 11, '64 ; term 
expired. Morris, Jeffrey, enl. July 30, '61 ; discharged December, '61 ; 



210 IHSTOUY (>K 1MATT < orNTY. 

disability. Miller, George, enl. 'July 30, '01; re-eiil. as veteran Janu- 
ary 5, '64; tr. to Co. A; inns, out November 22, '05, as serg. 
McFadden, John M., enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged August 11, '04 ; 
term expired. Miles, Edward B., enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged 
August 11, '04. Marton, Frank M., enl., July 30, '01; re-enl. as vet- 
eran January 5, '04. Moore, George W., enl. July 30, '01 ; re-enl. as 
veteran January 5, '04 ; tr. to Co. A as consolidated. McComb, 
Cyrus C., enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged December 10, '02 ; disability. 
Maranville, Francis M., enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged August 11, '04 ; 
term expired. Millisson, Omer II., enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged 
August 11, '04, as serg. Pattisoii, Lysander W., enl. July 30; '01 ; 
promoted bat. adj. Payne, George W., enl. July 30, '01 ; re-enl. as 
veteran ; tr. to Co. A. Pemberton, Richard II., enl. July 80, '01; 
mus. in August 12. Pifer, Theodore, enl. July. 30, '01 ; re-enl. as vet- 
eran ; tr. to Co. A; mus. out November 22, '05, as serg. Ryder, 
Watkins L., enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged August 11, '04, as 1st serg. 
Settle, Abraham, enl. July 30, '01 ; re-enl. as veteran January 5, '04 ; 
tr. to Co. A. Sullivan, Benjamin F., enl. July 30, '00 ; re-enl. as vet- 
eran January 5, '04 ; tr. to Co. ; mus. out November 22, '05. Sparks, 
Samuel J., enl. July 30, '01; discharged July 20, '02; disability. 
Shumaker, Jeremiah, enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged August 14, '03 ; 
wounds. Shafer, Peter, enl. July 30, '01 ; discharged August 11, '04 ; 
term expired. Tilth ill, .John W., enl. July 30, '01 ; re-enl. as veteran 
January 5, '04 ; mus. out June 24, '05, as 1st serg. Weaver, George 
R., enl. July 30, '01 ; re-enl. as veteran ; tr. to Co. A as consolidated; 
mus. out November 22, '05. Watson, Martin W., enl. July 30, '01; 
killed at Bolivar, Tennessee, August 30, '02. Workman, Isaac L., 
enl. July 30, '01 ; re-enl. as veteran .January 5, '(54 ; tr. to Co. A. 
Wimmer, William, enl. July 30, '01 ; re-enl. as veteran January 5, 
'04; tr. to Co. A; mas. out November 22. '05. Webb, Richard, enl. 
July 30, '01 ; discharged July 24, '02. 

Veterans Alban, John T., enl. January 5, '05 : tr. to Co. A ; mus. 
out November 22, '05, as serg. Donahoe, Hugh, enl. January 5, '04 ; 
mus. out June 11, '05. Goodspeed, William, enl. January 5. '04 ; 
mus. out June 12, '05. Jelly, Cornelius, enl. January 5. '04 ; mus. 
out March 20, '05. Riley, Patrick, enl. January 5, V>4 ; tr. to Co. A. 
Stickel, Fletcher A., enl. January 5, "04 ; mus. in February 5. 

Recruits Anderson, John, enl. February 12, '04 ; tr. to Co. A ; 
mus. out November 22, '05, as serg. Arrowsmith, John W.. enl. 
February 29, '04 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out August 24. '05. Betts, 



PATRIOTISM (IF PIATT COUNTY. 211 

Jonathan, enl. August 13, '62 ; mus. out June 11, '65. Bowdel, 
Jesse W., enl. November 21, '03 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 
22, '05. Burns, William II., enl. November 21, '63 ; tr. to Co. A ; 
mus. November 22, '65. Bailey, William F., enl. January 15, '64 ; tr. 
to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. Coon, .William, enl. November 

21, '63 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 4, '65. Copeland, Marion, enl. 
January 19, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. Dixon, Will- 
iam, enl. November 21, '63 ; tr. to Co. A; mus. out November 4, '65. 
Deai'dufF, David W., enl. January 19, '64; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out No- 
vember 22, '65. Durham, Samuel, enl.* February 29, '64; tr. to Co. 
A. Follensby, David, died at I)u Quoin February 8, '63. Hill, 
Thomas, enl. August 13, '62 ; discharged August 14, '63 ; wounds. 
Huffman, Cyrus 8., enl. August 13, '02 ; discharged February 27, '63 ; 
disability. Hall, Robison, enl. March 17, '64 ; died at Baton Rouge, 
La., September 5, '64. Haney, Robert, enl. February 14, '64 ; tr. to 
Co. A; mus. out November 22, '65, as corp. Hubbart. Jacob P., 
enl. February 10, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. 
Hall, Erastus, enl. February 8, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 

22, '65. Jones, Taylor, enl. January 4, '64; tr. to Co. A; mus. out 
November 22, '65. Kious, John, enl. August 14, '62 ; died La 
Orange, February 4, '63. Kelley, Henry C., enl. January 5, '64 ; tr. 
to Co. A; mus. out November 22, '65. Lacey, Benjamin, enl. Jan- 
uary 5, '64 ; mus. out June 22, '65; List, John D., enl. February 9, 
"64 ; died Montrcello, February 15, '64. Moore, Joseph, enl. August 
13, '62 ; discharged November 15, '63 ; disability. Morris. John D., 
enl. August 19, '62 ; died June 27, '63. McMillian, William, dis- 
charged November 21, '64. Moore, John, enl. November 21, '(53 ; tr. 
to Co. A; mus. out November 4, '65. Moftett, Edward II., enl. 
February 5, '(54 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '(55. Mussel- 
man, Jacob G., enl. .January 25, '64; tr. to Co. A; mus. out 
November 22, '(55. Musselman, Benjamin, enl. January 15, '64 ; tr. 
to Co. A; mus. out November 22, '(55. Monham, William, enl. Jan- 
uary 4, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. Nelson, 
James B.. enl. January 19, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out September 25, 
'65. Pifer, Cornelius, enl. August 14, '64; died at Memphis Sep- 
tember 30, '63. Perry, David P., enl. November 21, '63; killed near 
Alexandria, La., May 1, '64. Patterson, William P., enl. February 19, 
^04 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. November 22, '65. Robertson, George P., enl. 
March 12, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. Robbins, 
John W., enl. January 15, '04 ; tr. to Co. A. Stein, William II., 



212 HISTORY OF 1'IA'IT COUNTY. 

enl. March 23, '64 : tr. to Co. A ; mus. out. November 22, '65. 
Six, Daniel G., enl. March 19, '64; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out Novem- 
ber 22, '65. Six, Dorson, enl. March 17, '64; died June 4, '64. 
Swisher, Calvin, enl. January 19, '64 ; tr. to Co. A. Stickel, 
Charles W., enl. January 15, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out September 
18, '65. Welsh, David 'C., enl. March 23, '64; tr. to Co. A ; mus. 
out November 22, '65. Williams, Samuel T., enl. March 23, '64 ; 
died Monticello, January 18, '65. West, Hiram, enl. February !), 
'64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. Bolen, John, enl. 
September 8, '64 ; tr. to Co. A. Carter, Peter, enl. Sept. 8 '64 ; tr. 
to Co. ; mus. out July 22, '65. Field, John, enl. September 8, '64 ; 
tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. Grant, Charles, enl. Sep- 
tember 15, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. 

Co. I Veterans: Coffman, Aaron, enl. January 5, '64; mus. out 
June 10, '65. Nowlin, Elijah B., enl. January 5, '64 ; mus. out June 
10, '65. 

Recruits Blasdell, James W., enl. August 16, '62 ; mus. out June 
10, '65. Blasdell, Jacob W., enl. August 16, '62; discharged January 
1, '64 ; promoted. Crosby, Lewis, enl. November 17, '63 ; killed at 
Mansfield, Louisiana, April 8, '64. Friesner, Henry C., enl. August 
16, '62; discharged August 10, '63; disability. Kauflfman, E. B. 
enl. August 11, '62 ; tr. to Co. C. 

FIFTH ILLINOIS CAVALRY. 

Co. B Privates : Bell, Joseph, enl. August 27, '61 ; tr. to V. It. ( '. 
October 1, '63. Davis, Thomas E., enl. August 27, '61 ; discharged 
May 12, '63 ; disability. Dowdirig, John C., enl. August 27, '61 ; 
died at Helena, Arkansas, March 4, '63. Honnman, James, enl. 
August 27, '61 ; died at Benton Barracks, December 31, "63. Ityce, 
Daniel, enl. August 27, '61 ; died at Vicksburg, October 11, '63. 
Itiggen, Wilson, enl. August 27, '61 ; died at St. Louis, February 21, 
'63. Itiggeu, Geo. W., enl. August 27, '61 ; died at St. Louis. 
February 21, Y>3. Shire, Jeremiah, enl. August 27, '61 ; died at 
Helena, Arkansas, March 5, '63 ; wounds. 

SKVKXTII ILLINOIS CAVALRY. 

Co. I Privates: Merricks, Akmzo X.. enl. December 24, '63; 
mus. out November 4, '65. 

HISTORY OF THK TENTH ILLINOIS CAVALRY. 

Was organized at Camp Butler, Illinois, November 25, 1861. 
After November 13, 1862, formed a part of the Army of the Frontier 



1'ATKIOTISM OF 1'IATT C.orXTV. 213 



and operated from Springfield, Missouri, to Kane Hill, Arkansas ; 
portion of cavalry participated in battle of Prairie Grove, Arkansas, 
December 7, 1862. Regiment mustered out of service November 22, 
1865, at San Antonio, Texas ; ordered to Springfield, Illinois, for 
final payment and discharge. 

Co. A Officers: Samuels, David A., corp.. enl. September 21, '61; 
re-enl. as veteran. Halderman, Samuel N., farrier, enl. September 21, 
'61 ; discharged October 24, '63 ; disability. Wolf, Emerson, wagoner, 
enl. September 21, '61 ; discharged May 20, '62. 

Privates Conner, Edward, enl. September 21, '61 ; died at Spring- 
field, Mo., July 15, '62. Coneen, Michael, enl. September 21, '61 ; 
re-enl. as veteran. Connelly, John, enl. September 21, '61 ; died 
Rapp's Landing, Ark., September 29, '62. Hardman, Patrick, enl. 
September 21, '61 ; died at Coldwater, Miss., December 8, '62. 
Kofler, Joseph, enl. September 21, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran, January 3, 
'64. Lynn, John A., enl. September 21, '61; died at Oldtown Landing, 
Ark., September 9, '62. Miller, John G., enl. September 21, '61 ; 
re-enl. as veteran January 3, '64. Rodgers, Joseph, enl. September 
21, '61; mus. out December 30, '64. Sindle, Thomas J., enl. Septem- 
ber 21, '61; died Little Rock, Ark., September 16. '63. 

Veterans Coneen, Michael, enl. January 3, '64 ; tr. to Co. A ; 
mus. November 22, '65, as corp. O'Brian, John, enl. January 3, '64 ; 
tr. to Co. A; mus. November 22, '65. Samuel, David A., farrier, enl. 
January 3, '64 ; tr. to Co. A; absent sick at mus. out. 

Recruits Brushwiler, Hanson, enl. January 17, '62 ; discharged 
April 13, '63 ; disability. Green, Gilbert, enlisted January 2, '64; tr. 
to Co. A; mus. out November 22, '65. "VVilkins, Lewelin, enl. December 
31, '63; tr. to Co. A ; mus. out November 22, '65. 

Co. L Officers Swart/, Jacob, corp.; enl. September 21, '61; 
re-enl. 'as veteran January 3, '64 ; mus. out November 22, '65, as corp. 
Irwin, John, farrier, enl. September 21, '61; discharged June 17, '62; 
disability. 

Privates Cole, William IL, enl. September 21, '61 ; died at Camp 
Bloomington, Mo., February 18, '62. Graham, Thomas, enl. September 
21, '61 ; re-enl. as veteran January 3, '(54; mus. out November 22, '65, 
as corp. Madden, James N.. enl. September 21, '61 ; mus. out De- 
cember 30, '64. Madden, Francis M., enl. September 21, '61; mus. 
out December 30, '64, as bugler. 

Recruits Barber, Charles W.. enl. August IS, "02 ; discharged 
March 30, '63; disability. 



214 HISTORY OF 1'IATT COUNTY. 

SIXTEENTH ILLINOIS CAVALRY. 

Private Co. L Ivey, Peter, enl. August 6, '63 ; was prisoner ; 
absent at mus. out. 

FIRST REGIMENT LIGHT ARTILLEKY. 

Battery K (Colvin's Battery) Babcock, Elias, enl. August 11, '62 ; 
inus. out June 19, '65. Barker, William, enl. August 15, '62 ; mus. 
out June 19, '65. Babb, George M., enl. August 13, '61 ; mus. out 
June 19, '65. Collins, Jacob, enl. August 11, '61 ; mus. out June 19, 
'65. Etherton, Henry PL, enl. August 11, '111 ; mus. out June 19, '65, 
as 1st serg. Evertt, Wilson Y., enl. August 11, '61; mus. out May 
25, '65. Ellis, John R.. enl. August 14, '61 ; died near Knoxville, 
Tenn., January 28, '64. Hays, Elijah, enl. August 11, '61 ; rnus. out 
June 19, '65, as corp. Miller, Jacob, enl. August 13, '61 ; mus. out 
June 19, '65, as corp. Nassalrod, Jesse, enl. August 13, '61 ; mus. 
out June 19, '65, as corp. Mitchell, Nelson, enl. August 13, '61 ; 
mus. out June 19, '65. Pifer, Henry, enl. August 11, '61 ; mus. out 
June 19, '65. Rowlen, Leonard, enl. August 13, '61; mus. out June 
19, '65, as artificer. Rowlen, Henry, enl. August 13, '61 ; mus. out 
June 19, '65. Shonkwiler, Jacob W., enl. August 13, '61; mus. out 
June 19, '65, as corp. Smith, Alexander, enl. August 13, '61 ; dis- 
charged October 26, '64. Sherman, John, enl. August 11, '61 ; died 
at Monticello November 9, '64. Sherman, Edmund, enl. August 11, 
'61 ; mus. out May 25, V>f>. 



CHAlTKPt X. 

TIN-; < SNOW-BIRDS" AND T1IKIK RKLATIVKS." 

"A /T R. GEORGE HAYWORTII was the first man to settle within the limits 
-L'_L of what is now Piatt county. He came to Illinois from Tenne- 
see with a colony of Quakers. Some went to Tax well county, and 
some to Vermilion county, while Mr. Play worth came to this county in 
the spring of 1822. He built a small log cabin on what is now W. E. 
Lodge's place in Monticello. Soon after he, with the assistance of 
some Indians, built near the other a larger cabin, which is still stand- 
ing. Mr. and Mrs. Hayworth had four children, two girls and two 

*In thi.s chapter we include the sketches of those persons who came to the 
county previous to the deep snow. 



THK ''sxow-KiKns" 1 AND THKIR RELATIVES. 215 

boys. Mr. Hayworth lived in his new home about three years when 
lie went to Danville to school his children. In 1829 he owned a hewed 
log house, the largest residence in Danville. 

MR. JAMES MARTIN, formerly from Kentucky, came from Ohio to 
Illinois in 1822. In the fall of 1822 he settled in what is now Piatt 
county. lie built a little log cabin near where Mr. Nath. Rhoades' 
barn now stands. During Mr. Martin's first season at his new home 
his wife died, and he sold out his claim to a gentleman by the name of 
Daggot. Mr. Martin then went back to Indiana and persuaded his 
niece, Mrs. Furnace, and nephew, John Martin, to move to Illinois. 
They all came west, and camped from fall to spring near where Mr. 
Jim Blacker now lives. In the spring a cabin was built near the 
camping place. These people were living in their camp when Mr. 
Abraham Ilenline, sr., made his first visit to this section of the coun- 
try, Mrs. Furnace had two children, Nancy and Sam. Nancy is still 
living. Her first husband's name was Jacob Oline. Mr. Ingram, who 
is now dead, became her last husband. Mrs. Furnace and Mr. John 
Martin both died in the old cabin where they moved in the spring 
after their season of camping out. Their remains lie in the Wright 
burying ground. Mr. James Martin went to Indiana about 1831 and 
died there. 

MR. DAGGOTT bought Mr. Martin's claim on what is now a portion 
of Mr. lihoades' land. Mr. and Mrs. Daggott had five children, two 
girls and three boys. After living here about two years they left their 
claim and went to Big Grove Urbana in Champaign county. It is 
related by the old settlers of the county that Mr. Daggott spent one 
winter in capturing and penning up wolves, with the hope that the 
legislature would pass a law pay ing a bounty for wolf skins. Mr. D. 
had several wolf traps in different parts of the county. Quite a num- 
ber of years afterward the remains of some of the traps could be seen. 
The bones of deer and hogs were scattered in their vicinity. At one 
time Mr. Daggott had as many as ten or twelve wolves in a rail pen 
in his dooryard. Mr. Daggott had a tanyard near the bridge, not far 
from Mr. Nath. lihoades' house. 

MRS. HARDING INGRAM nee Nancy Furnace, who came to the county 
in 1822, thus having lived longer in Piatt county than any one else, 
was born in Kentucky in 1818. Her folks came to the county in Octo- 
ber, 1822, and stayed at what was afterward known as the Terry place. 
The next fall they moved to where Jim Blacker now lives and camped 
there. The family included her mother, brother, uncle and herself. 



216 HISTOKY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

In the spring of 1824 a house was put up and Mr. Henline's people 
came the same year. Mrs. Ingram, when a child, was a warm friend 
of the Indian children and used frequently to play with them. She 
first married Mr. Jacob Cline. He died leaving three children, only 
one of whom is living. Jane married John Wilson. One child, Nancy 
J., is still living. Jacob Cline married E. Caroline Story, has four- 
children Jennie, Steven, Gertrude and Aimer M. and lives with his 
mother. Mr. Harding Ingram became Mrs. Cline's second husband. 
Two of their children are now living. Of these, Susan first married 
Samuel Shoe, by whom she had one child, Charles. She next married 
William Baker. Maggie, the wife of Aimer Heath, has one child, 
Ora May, and lives in Sangamon township. Mrs. Ingram's youngest 
son was killed by being thrown from a horse in 1865. In about two 
months afterward Mr. Ingrain was killed almost instantly by being 
thrown from a loaded wagon on his way home from Champaign. 

MR. NATHAN HKNLINE. The next season after the siege of Boones- 
borough, a family moved on pack-horses from North Carolina to 
Kentucky. Abraham Henline, a lad eighteen years old, was a mem- 
ber of this family, which remained in Kentucky for a time. Mr. A. 
Henline married Elsie Mosslander, who formerly was from New 
Jersey. After the birth of one child these people moved to Ohio, and 
while living there nine more children were born. Of this family of 
ten children, the next to the youngest was named Nathan, and it is he 
who is the subject of this sketch. Nathan was born November 22, 1815. 

In 1822 Mr. Abraham Henline with his wife and four of his sons 
Abraham, Jacob, James and Nathan moved to Illinois. They 
stopped for a time on Fancy creek, within nine miles of Springfield. 
Mr. Henline did not feel quite satisfied to remain there permanently 
without first looking over the country somewhat. In the midst of his 
indecision he met with Mr. Martin, a man whom lie used to know in 
Ohio. Mr. Martin had come west previously and had decided to 
locate within the present limits of Piatt county. He had gone to 
Springfield to have a pair of shoes made, and while in that vicinity 
had heard of Mr. Henline, and upon meeting him, spoke so highly of 
the country where he expected to live that. Mr. Henline was induced 
to accompany him home. 

Mr. Henline, taking his son Abraham along, started to look up 
a place for permanent location. 

He was satisfied with the country in Mr. Martin's vicinity and went 
back home to prepare for moving. 



THE "SNOW-BIRDS" AND THEIR RELATIVES. 217 

During the short time that Mr. Ilenline had lived on Fancy Creek, 
death had come into his family, and the wife and mother had been 
taken away. Accordingly, then, Mr. Ilenline, with only his four sons 
started to their new home in the spring of 1824. The first house they 
saw on their way was at Mechanicsburg ; the next was owned by 
Mr. Stevens, on Stevens creek. The trading-house on the Sangamon, 
about two miles below the mouth of Friends creek, was .the next 
house they reached. Mr. Hay worth's, within the present limits of 
Monticello, was the fourth house they had seen since leaving Fancy 
Creek. 

Mr. Ilenline took a claim of 160 acres and built a cabin near 
Coon's Spring, north of Monticello, and with his sons kept batchelor's 
hall a number of years. This new home was taken possession of in 
April of 1824, and immediately was begun the work of clearing a 
place for corn. After fifteen or twenty acres were cleared, and after 
the crop was laid by, a misfortune came to these new settlers. All 
but one of the five horses they brought with them died from the 
effects of fly and mosquito bites. Everything that could be thought 
of was resorted to during the season to destroy or- keep off these 
dreaded insects. Fires were built, near the horses with the hopes 
that the smoke would keep them away, and the horses were sometimes 
seen to roll in the very midst of the coals of fire. After the loss of 
the horses, oxen were used instead. 

At this time there were plenty of wild hogs all through the woods. 
One day Nathan and his brother James found two wild sows with 
their pigs in a bed of leaves and straw. James slipped up and caught 
one of the sows by the hind legs, which action caused a great scat- 
terment among the pigs, but James held fast to his prize, while 
Nathan and the dogs secured the other hog. These hogs with their 
pigs, were kept penned up for awhile and then let out. when their 
natural instincts led them to seek their home in the forest again. The 
little pigs had become tame and were readily kept at home. 

It will be seen by the dates mentioned that Nathan Ilenline was 
about nine years old when he came to the county. At this time 
he was a hale, hearty, fun-loving .boy. He early learned the use of a 
gun and has been a hunter ever since. The Kickapoo and Pottawa- 
tomie Indians in this vicinity outnumbered the white people, so it was 
to them that Nathan looked for company. He soon made many last- 
ing friends among the Indian boys, and for several years was almost 
constantly with his swarthy playmates. He learned to be almost as 



HISTORY OF PI ATT roiNTY. 

swift on foot as the Indians, and' their arts of fishing and trapping wore 
made known to him. 

An Indian squaw made him a present of a buckskin hunting 
shirt. This was of great service to him and was in us"e for many 
years. 

It would have been very romantic had this palefaced youth fallen 
in love with some beautiful Indian maiden but he didn't. He did 
something vastly more sensible. He met, loved and married Sarah 
Souders, who lived in the northeast part of what is now Piatt county. 

Sarah, the daughter of Peter and Mary Souders, was born in Yir- 
ginia, in August, 1818. Her parents moved from Lee county, Virginia, 
to Edgar county, Illinois, in 1830. In 1832 they moved to what is 
known as the Argo settlement, in Piatt county. Mr. and Mrs. Sou- 
ders lie buried near this home, where they both had selected their 
burying-placc. Of the family of eleven children, only two are now 
living Mrs. Henline and one brother in Missouri. 

Mr. and Mrs. Souders somewhat reluctantly gave their consent to 
the marriage of their daughter to Mr. Nathan Henline. His worldly 
possessions were quite meager, and, too, the extreme youth of both 
parties was an objection. 

However, all arrangements that could be made in those times 
were resorted to for the approaching marriage. Maple sugar was pre- 
pared and sold in Pekin for breadstuff and for Sarah's wedding dress. 
The dress was made of white goods that cost 75 cents per yard, and its 
style was very simple. A draw-string drew it together at the neck and 
another string answered for a belt. Mr. Souders tanned leather and 
made Sarah's wedding shoes. 

Mr. Henline bought his wedding clothes in Pekin. 1 1 is wedding 
shoes were the third pair he had ever had, and his wedding shirt was 
done up by a little boy. The 12th of November, 1833, was chosen for 
the wedding day, and when the eventful time arrived, Mr. Abe Hen- 
line started to Big drove now Urbana -for Squire Byers to perform 
the marriage ceremony. When he arrived at Big Grove, the squire 
was not there and Mr. Henline had to hunt him up. This additional 
ride delayed him so that the folks at Mr. Souders' had given up their 
coming that night. Near eleven o'clock, when preparations for retir- 
ing were about to be made, Mr. Henline arrived with the squire. 
Hurried preparations were made, and the couple were about to step 
forward to be united, when some one remembered that the license was 
gotten in Champaign county. As Mr. Souders resided in what was 



THE "SNOW-BIROS" AND THEIR RELATIVES. 

then Macon county, the marriage would be illegal it' performed in his 
house. Again the marriage was delayed until the wedding party, 
bearing burning sticks of wood for torches, marched over beyond the 
county line into Champaign county. There, in the woods, near mid- 
night of the 12th of November, 1833, the young couple were made 
one. The company returned to Mr. Souders' for the night. In the 
midst of the remaining night Sarah was awakened by her mother rush- 
ing into the room and saying: "Sally, get up and prepare to meet 
your God, the stars are all falling ! " The folks all rushed to the doors 
and windows and beheld that great meteoric shower of 1833. There 
was a good deal of superstition in the world even at that late day, and 
it is not strange that many, upon beholding that unusual scene, felt 
that some great judgment was laid upon them. 

After staying with Mrs. Henline's folks awhile, Mr. Henline, with 
the labor of making 100 rails, bought a claim and cabin near the Cham- 
paign county line. 

Mr. Henline, in speaking of his early married days, says : "I tell 
you, we were poor we were worse than poor." "We hadn't a plate, 
and were obliged to make pieces of bark serve the place of plates.'' 
" We had just one fork, which we have yet." This fork was presented 
to Mr. Henline by the Indians, and is known to be fifty-three years old. 
Mr. Henline also has a kettle, which has been in his family eighty-four 
years. 

Shortly after their house was built, Mr. Henline borrowed a team 
and with but five dollars, which he had earned by splitting rails, he and 
his wife started fora store called Homer, on the Salt Fork of the Vermil- 
ion river, to buy things to begin housekeeping with. By the time a 
skillet, oven, set of blue-edged plates, and knives and forks were 
selected the money was all gone. The merchant, Michael Coffin, who 
was acquainted with Mr. Henline, urged him to take five dollars' worth 
more of goods, and said that he would willingly wait until fall, when Mr. 
llenline could send in otter skins to settle the debt, Somewhat 
reluctantly Mr. llenline consented to go in debt, and so they started 
home with just ten dollars' worth of goods to go to housekeeping with. 

For a bedstead in the new house Mr. Henline made what was known 
us a prairie bedstead. This was made by inserting the end of a pole 
into the logs of the cabin, about four feet from the corner and two feet 
from the floor. At the end of this eight or nine-foot pole, another about 
lour feet in length was joined, and it projected at right-angles toward the 
side of the house and was inserted in the logs. Upon these poles boards 



220 ursTORy OF IMATT ror.vry. 

were laid and the bedstead was completed. Mrs. Senders had fortu- 
nately presented the newly married couple with good bedding and a good 
feather bed, so with the new bedstead they were quite comfortable. 
When company came, a pole- sled was brought into the house and a bed 
was made upon it. 

The other articles of furniture in the house were similar in construc- 
tion to that of the bedstead. 

Although Mr. Henline saw many discouraging times, he gradually 
began to see better days. During the summers he farmed, and for three 
winters he worked a saw-mill at Centerville. 

During his married life Mr.' Henline has moved several times, but 
always within the limits of'Piatt county. After going to housekeeping 
his first move was to Mr. John Madden's place. He next moved to 
Mr. Martin's place, and then back to where lie first lived. Finally he 
moved to the place about one and one-half miles southwest of Monti- 
cello, where he now lives. 

Mr. Henline has spent two summers of his life in Chicago. He 
was a teamster there, and his principal business was to carry emigrants 
from the lake landing out into northern Illinois. When not occupied 
in transporting emigrants, he did various kinds of teaming. He 
helped to haul brick for the first brick church that was built in 
Chicago. At this time Mr. Henline remembers but one brick build- 
ing in Chicago, and that was owned by Guerdon S. Ilubbard, who is 
still living there. At this time there were but four houses on the west 
side of the Chicago river. At the time of his working there, Chicago, 
in his estimation, was not "'half as big" as Monticello. He was at 
Chicago when the last payment was made to the Pottawatomie Indians, 
when they started for Kansas. 

Mr. Henline was well acquainted with many of the Kickapoo and 
Pottawatomie chiefs. He knew Shabbona, the peace chief of the 
Pottawatomies, and Shawnessah, a war chief of the Pottawatomies. 
He witnessed on the Illinois river, near Dresden, the inauguration as 
chief of a son of old Wawpawnsah. A great number of white people 
were present. The ceremonies began by getting in readiness a great 
tire some twenty steps in length. On this fire almost every delicacy 
that an Indian could prepare was cooked. The Indians danced around 
this fire, the one in front walking backward and rattling a gourd that 
was partially filled with fish-teeth. He was followed by an Indian 
with a drum, and this one was followed by the rest of the dancers. 
After dancing for some time a new blanket was spread down, and -the 



THE "SXOW-HIKDS" AM) THKIK KKLATIVKS. 



221 



man to be inaugurated as chief was conducted to the blanket. The 
retiring chief made a speech, and then other Indians addressed the 
people. Finally the young chief, who was dressed as fantastically as 
their customs would permit, arose and made a grand speech. Then 




INDIAN IMl'LKMKXTS. 



after some more dancing the feast was ready. About three hundred 
Indians were present. Mr. Henline says that he and the gentleman with 
him were placed to eat out of the same ladle with three Indians. Mr. 
Henline, in speaking of his relishing the dinner, says, " I tell you I 
was hungry hungry as a houseful of school-children." Mr. Hen- 
line lived in communication with the Indians long enough to learn their 



222 HISTORY OF 1'IATT roTNTY. 

language. In speaking of sonic Indian stories, Mr. Henline related 
the following. One of the party of white 1 men who had stolen five 
ponies from the Indians, stopped at Mr. Ilenline's house, and said he 
had bought the ponies for ten bottles of whisky. Mr. Nathan Hen- 
line recognized the ponies as belonging to some of his Indian friends, and 
after the man had started for Salt Creek, lie, disbelieving the story of 
the purchase, went and informed the Indians of the route of the thieves. 
One of the Indians insisted upon Mr. Ilenline's joining in the pursuit. 
He went, and one of the theives was overtaken in Randolph Grove, in 
McLain county. The Indian frightened the man nearly to death by 
first threatening to shoot him, and then by flourishing his tomahawk. 
By Mr. Ilenline's persuasion the man's life was spared and the Indians 
secured all they had lost. This horse-thief, who was so frightened, after- 
ward came back and stole some horses of Mr. James Piatt. Later, at 
Decatur, he received punishment in shape of forty-five to fifty lashes for 
stealing horses. Mr. Henline used often to scare out deer for the 
Indians to shoot. There was one bald-headed Indian named Que-a- 
the-hun, whom Mr. Henline considered the best marksman he had 
ever seen. In speaking of this Indian he says, "One might as well 
lie down and die as to start to run in hopes of dodging the fire from 
his gun." During the Black Hawk war some of the settlers in this 
section of the country moved in order not to be so much on the frontier. 
Mr. Henline's folks remained here, and there were no molestations by 
Indians in this vicinity. 

As has been stated, Mr. II. was a great trapper and hunter. He 
has caught many an otter by trapping. As is quite generally known, 
the otters have quite an original pastime, which consists in sliding 
down the banks of streams into the water. The otters evidently enjoy 
this very much, for they have been seen to repeat the operation many 
times in quick succession. Mr. II. used to place the traps at the base 
of these kt otter slides, "and the unsuspecting sporting otter, instead of 
making his usual dive into the water, would suddenly find himself en- 
trapped. Mr. N". Hcnline tells of being frightened nearly to death 
once by a wild cat. lie, followed by one of his hounds, started up 
the river to look after his otter traps. After going a distance the hound 
began barking, and Mr. H. went to the river bank to sec the cause 
of his excitement, There on a log, which was lying partly in the water, 
was a very large wild cat. Mr. II. was not at all afraid of a wild cat, 
so approached and began to throw clubs at the animal. He succeeded 
only in arousing the animal's ire, so that when he stooped for another 



TIIK SXOW-UIK'Ds AM) T1IKIU KKI.ATI \ '!>. 

club, a short distance from tlu i cat, it made a spring and lit upon his 
hack. Mr. IF. remembers of climbing the river bank "in si hurry."" 
The hound came to the rescue and dragged the cat to the ground. It 
started again for the log. and while there was finally- killed by Mr. 
IT. Mr. II /s aim was not as good a,< usual, owing to his unexpected 
excitement. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ifenline have had seven children .lames. Mary .Jane, 
Peter, Elizabeth, Ann Emily, John and Sarah Harriett. These chil- 
dren have all married. Two moved to Kansas, one to Missouri and 
one to Oregon. Peter and Elizabeth are still in this county. 

Mr. William Piatt remembers an. act of generosity exhibited by 
Nathan Ifenline's father that might well be inserted here. Mr. 
Abraham Ilenline took dinner with Mr. James A. Piatt the day the 
latter moved into the Hay worth cabin. The children of the family 
while at dinner fretted for milk, and Mi-. Piatt inquired if Mr. Hen- 
line had any cows to sell. The latter replied that he had not, as 
only one of his cows was giving rnilk. After the meal was over, and 
when Mr. Henline started to leave, Mr. Piatt invited him to come 
again. Mr. Henline replied, "Yes, I will be back to-morrow, and 
will bring you a cow/' "Why,*' exclaimed Mr. Piatt, " I thought 
you had none to sell." "Neither have I,'* said Mr. Henline ; but the 
boys and I can do without milk better than sick children can/' He 
brought down the cow the next day and left her with Mr. Piatt for 
two years. 

Mr. and Mrs. Nathan Ilenline still live in sight of Monticello, and 
with the exception of Mrs. Nancy Ingrain are the earliest settlers who 
are yet living within the limits of Piatt county. Mr. Henline at the 
present day is a hale and hearty man. His gray hair betokens an age 
which his activity scarcely warrants. His early friends as well as 
his friends of- later years characterize him us a man of generosity and 
of general goodwill toward his fellow beings. 

Mi;. AIJHAIIAM HKNLI.VK. JK.. in 1834 married Miss Luc\ Reynolds, 
a step-daughter of Mr. Senders. They went to housekeeping near 
Coon's spring, and lived there for a short time. They moved from 
this place to the upper part of the county, where they lived for fifteen 
or twenty years. From here they moved down near Monticello, to 
the place where Mr. .Jim Ilenline now lives. Both Mr. and Mrs. 
Henline died at this place. They left six children, of whom four are 
now living: Mary Ann married Henry (m-s^el. and is now living in 
the southwestern part of the state. Sarah Ann married John Conan, 
15 



224 HISTORY OF PI ATT roi'NTY. 

and now lives near Mansfield. Elijah married Mary Spencer, and 
their present home is east of Monticello. Two of the sons were lost 
in the army, one near Shreveport and the other at Little Rock. 

MR. JAMES HENLINE, the next to the eldest of the four boys who 
came with Mr. Abraham Henline to this county in 1824, married 
Jane Lockwood. They lived for a time near what is now White Heath, 
and then moved to Iowa. 

MR. JACOB HENLINE was the only one of the four Henline brothers 
who lived through life in "single blessedness." He was a very strong, 
hard-working man. He was considered by some the strongest man in 
the county. It was a custom in those days for neighbors to come 
together from their ofttimes distant homes to assist in " cabin raisings.'* 
People were known to travel for twenty miles for this purpose. Mr. 
Jacob Henline, on account of his superior strength, was always 
especially welcome at k ' cabin raisings." One of the early settlers of 
the county remembers of having seen Jacob Henline carry a log at a 
cabin raising that would have been a good load for three ordinary 
men. It is the verdict of some of the early settlers now living, that 
Mr. Henline wore himself out by so repeatedly exerting his strength 
while helping to build cabins. In 1854 he went down into Coles 
county, this state, where his death occurred. 

THE PIATTS AND THEIR RELATIVES. 

MR. JAMES A. PIATT, for whom this county was named, was born 
April 21, 1789, probably in Pennsylvania. His father, Abraham 
Piatt, moved from New Jersey to Penn's Valley, Pennsylvania, and set- 
tled on land obtained for surveying for some company. James Piatt was 
but a small boy when his father died. The family soon moved to 
Ohio, reaching Cincinnati when there were but two log cabins in it. 
They soon settled near Oxford, Ohio. James A., when still quite young, 
went back to Pennsylvania to settle up his father's estate. Only 
about six months of his life was spent in school, but he succeeded in 
giving himself a very fair education. He was a good scribe, and 
while in Pennsylvania settling up his father's estate, he taught one 
term of school. Being thrown on his own resources quite early in 
life, the discipline only served to make him the better prepared for his 
later life as a pioneer. After returning from Pennsylvania he, on 
December 21, 1815, was united in marriage to Jemima Ford, who was 
then in Cincinnati, and who was born in Maryland, January 10, 1792. 
Jemima, with her sister, Delia Ford, came over the mountains and to 



THE 1'IATTS AND THKIK RELATIVES. 225 

Cincinnati during the last of the war of 1812. Jemima stayed for a 
time with Mr. McHenry, of Cincinnati, and while there became 
acquainted with Mr. Piatt, who had been a contractor in the war of 
1812 for his uncle, Mr. John H. Piatt. Delia Ford had her choice, to 
be adopted by a lady in Philadelphia or to come west with her sister. 
She loved her sister too much to leave her, and so, for a number of 
years, made her home with her. She married Mr. Tompkins, of 
Cincinnati, and after his death she came, in 1866, to Piatt county, 
where she now makes her home with William H. Piatt, the eldest son 
of her beloved sister. Mr. James Piatt, after his marriage, settled at 
Brookville, Ind., where he merchandised for a time. He then built a 
mill at the mouth of Little Cedar, on the White Water. He next 
moved to Elizabethtown, and while living there took live hogs to the 
island of Cuba. While living in Lawrenceburg he kept hotel a time 
and then moved to Indianapolis. While in this city he was a tinner, 
and while carrying on this business, and when traveling in Illinois in 
the interest of his business, he first conceived the idea of locating in 
what is now Piatt county, Illinois. It did not take him long to decide 
upon the matter, to buy the land, and to move to the present site of 
Monticello in the spring of 1829. He bought the Hay worth claim 
for $150, and paid for it all in tinware, except about $18. Some time 
after moving to the place he entered more land. He had a cornfield 
fenced on the present site of Monticello, and William and John Piatt 
broke up the land for the same. For a number of years he was, prob- 
ably, the principal man of the new settlement. He entered and 
bought about 600 acres of land, right in the immediate vicinity of 
Monticello. Mr. Piatt was a characteristic frontier man ; a number 
of persons now in the county are ready to affirm that he was an 
extremist in hospitality and in favoring early settlements. He was 
a perfect terror to horsethieves, and took many a hard ride in order to 
bring the thief to punishment ; and he rarely missed his purpose. He 
once followed two thieves to Indiana, caught them, and brought them 
to Macon county for trial. About 1837 he and his son, William II. 
Piatt, followed a thief to Kentucky, and by riding day and night 
they secured their prize. The result of all this energy was that 
horsethieves soon learned to steer clear of Piatt county. 

The following anecdote will serve to show the amount of work the 
tax collectors in the county used to have. The tax collector of Macon 
county came up to Mr. Piatt's, and thought to enjoy a little hunt while 
there. After staying a day or two he told Mr. Piatt that his taxes 



22C> HISTORY OF 1'IATT CorXTY. 

amounted to seventy-five cents. " Very wejl," said Mr. Piatt. "we're 
even then, for your board will amount to about that much." After 
thus teasing the man for a time. Mr. Piatt paid his tax and let him go, 
but the tax collector did not hear the last of the joke for some time. 

The following will show one of Mr. Piatt' s characteristic ways of 
obtaining pay for entertaining travelers, if he ever took pay at all. 
One time a young Methodist minister and wife, in passing through the 
county, stopped at Mr. Piatt's over night. When he asked his bill in 
the morning, he was told that it was nothing. They started on their 
way, but in crossing a creek not far distant the buggy was upset, 
broken, and the lady was thrown into the water. Mr. Piatt had to go 
and spend some time in mending the broken buggy. During the day 
the minister remarked, "You must charge for /A/*.'* He was assured 
by Mr. Piatt that he would be charged, and by and by it was 
announced that in payment the minister must preach them a sermon. 
The minister agreed to do so if the neighbors were notified. A 
messenger was sent out, and the one neighbor, Mr. Tern> came, and 
the sermon the first Methodist sermon preached within the boundary 
of Piatt county was preached in the first house in the county, and 
to not more than one dozen persons. 

MRS. , I AMES PIA'TT died March l(i, 1X3U. of what was called quick 
Consumption. Her seven children survived her. On December 12, 
1837, Mr. Piatt married Mahala Oxley. James A. Piatt died of 
typhoid pneumonia October 22, 1838. In a few months after his 
death, his wife gave birth to a daughter. Mrs. Piatt died November 
16, is-iO. 

The following are the names of Mr. .lames A. Piatt's children in the 
order of their birth: William 11., John, James A., Kichard F., Anna 
'Belle. "Noah N., Jacob, and Mary J. 

MK. WII.UAM II. PIATT was born near Brookville. Indiana, Octo- 
ber 23. IS 1C. He came to what is now Piatt county iu the spring of 
1829. and that place is still his home. Upon the death of his father 
in 1838, as he was thcj eldest one of the family, William had the care 
of his brothers and sisters until they were of age. He and Clarinda 
Marquiss were united in marriage April Id. 1S3S. and went to house- 
keeping on the site of the present county fail' grounds. Afteu living 
there a few months he moved over the river to what is now (loose 
(''reek township, and in 1840 located on the farm he now lives on. His' 
present residence was riveted in ls<54 "> Mr. and Mrs. Piatt have 
had seven children, six of whom are now living. A. J.. or .lames, the 



TIIK TIATTS AM) THKIU UKLATIVI.S. 221 

eldest of the family, and Knima (, 1 ., the youngest, are still living at 
home. A. M. Piatt and Mattie E. llollis were united in marriage 
December 20, 18MJ. After living in Monticello until 1879 they moved 
to Chicago, where they still reside. Four children, Will H., Edward 
Scott, Donn and Josephine 0., have blessed their union. Frank A. 
Piatt became the wife of W. E. Lodge. (See his sketch.) C. W.- Piatt 
and Mary Kate Sparks were united in marriage January 12, 1875. 
They make their home at William H. Piatfs, and C. W. has charge of 
his own farm as well as his father's home place. E. J. or Mima .Piatt 
married W. E. Smith, of Monticello. (See his sketch.) 

AN ANNIVERSARY RHYME." 
\VKITTEN JANUARY 12, 1881. 

" Dear grandpa, tell to us a story true." 
So said a bright-haired girl with eyes of blue. 
" And more, I'll bring my chair and sit so still, 
But for my smile so aly you'd think I'm ill." 

" All right, my lass," the old man said, " we'll see 
If you for once as still as a mouse will be. 
Now list: Last night I dreamed a dream so bright 
A dream which not to tell seems hardly right. 

"I saw a low, unpainted house; some trees 
So close their leaves did touch with ev'ry breeze. 
Beyond these rows of trees the house did stand 
Than this no dearer place in all the land. 

" A home in ev'ry sense this was I saw, 

A home where only love laid down the law. 

Six children in this yard and house had played, 

Three boys, three girls in cherry trees had swayed. 

" Some good [ saw in all these children dear, 
Hut why inv thoughts would turn to one, I fear 
E'en now I cannot all. nor half make out 
My eyes saw him whate'er he was about. 

" The youngest boy he was, J soon could tell ; 
Abused by all the rest, IIP knew full well ; 
Else why must he the wood so oft bring in, 
Or why the game of ball his brothers win? 

"In school quite oft the teacher's wrath he got, 
Then sure his hand would feel the rod why not? 
His fatal laugh would him in truth betray, 
Tho' others laughed and lirst led him astray. 
* Printed by special request. 



228 HISTOKY OF P1ATT COUNTY. 

" Too bad it was that he should thus be 'bused. 
He older grew, and all were much amused 
When he would tell his old-time troubles all 
Now trifles, but were then not quite so small. 

"To town he went one da}', in suit bran new 
His ' likeness ' he would have ; in truth he knew 
Event so great he ne'er had heard, and thought 
Such work nor now, nor never, be done for nought. 

" And such a picture, sure you ne'er did see. 
Right prim lie sat, as straight as straight could be ; 
With thumbs in pockets, fingers spread in sight. 
Think you he thought himself some one? You're right. 

He looked the picture o'er from foot to head. 
' ' I didn't know I was so pretty,' he said. 
A good opinion of himself you see he had. 
So frank withal, to us he ne'er seemed bad. 

"Much more of him to you I might relate, 
But I must haste e'en now it grows quite late. 
About his college days you'd like to hear, 
Of happy times, of friends, of schoolmates dear. 

My time's quite short, but I will let you know 
The place where he from home to work did go. 
In prairie stood the town, both small and gay. 
Quite well he thrived, and happy was each day. 

" He thrived because he worked. The joy from whence ? 

Ah, here's the part that I with joy commence. 

The ' willful god ' at last did send his dart 

Which pierced this lad's, and, too, a maiden's heart. 

" That story old, tho' new, again was told. 
The maiden sweet replied ; and he, made bold, 
In haste did go the parents both to see, 
If they for e'er not two but one might be. 

"Consent from all was gained, and they for life 
Were joined ; the husband he, and she the wife. 
The time wore on apace. Much joy they had. 
If I the half might tell, I'd be right glad. 

" At last their home in town no more they made. 
A country life this time the better paid. 
His childhood home again his work did need ; 
And here we find them both content indeed. 



THE PIATTS AND T1IEIK RELATIVES. 229 

"Now hark! and hear what lie to her did say 
When they together sat at close of day; 
And listen to the answer she did make, 
And showed the while that all was for his sake. 

" ' And now six years, dear Kate, have passed away ; 
Tii all six years since then, our wedding day. 
Ah, happy, happy were we then, I vow ; 
But dearer, sweeter happiness we've now.' 

'" Yes, husband dear, six years ago to-day 
Our hands, our hearts, our lives were joined for aye ; 
The clouds, they've gathered oft since then, 'tis true, 
But scattered, and the bluer seems the blue.' 

" And now, my girl, I've done; and you quite well 
Did list; nor once did break your quiet spell. 
Tell you of whom I spoke? .lust think awhile ; 
Ah, now you know I see by that sweet smile. 

" But late it is, and you to bed must go ; 
Come here, my child; a loving kiss just so. 
For you I wish sometime such joy as they 
This day have got for such and more I pray." 

The child was gone, the good old man looked 'round, 
And there his wife and children four he found. 
The others were in cheerful homes not far ; 
Their happiness no one nor dared nor cared to mar. 

And now, kind friends, a toast let's send to two 
Whose lives in part the old man told quite true. 
Let's wish for them their love to last for aye 
The love that's theirs, their annivers'ry day. 

Mr. JOHX Pi AIT, farmer, Monticello, was born near Brookville, 
Indiana, June 13, 1818. He came when a boy with his father, James 
A. Piatt, to what is now Piatt county, and lias remained here ever 
since. For a number of years lie resided on a farm one mile from 
Monticello, but now his home is six miles east of the town, near the 
border line of Champaign county. Mr. Piatt assisted in getting this 
county struck off by carrying petitions, and subsequently became its 
iirst sheriff. He has always been interested in .the county, and has 
done his share for its advancement. On the 4th of September, 1846, 
John Piatt was united in marriage to Eliza Lowry, who was born 
February 1, 1827. They have had eight children, six of whom are 
now living. Eleanor is the- wife of Dr. James Moffitt, of Monticello. 



'230 HISTORY OF 1M.VIT rorXTY. 

William M. nuirried Penelope Minear, September 22, 1880, has one 
son, Samuel Milton, and resides on a 320-acre farm, six miles 
from Monticello. Belle Piatt and William Carnahan were married 
June 10, 1875, have four children, and live in Champaign city. B. T. 
Piatt arid Sarah Minear were married September 9, 1875, have had 
four children, two of whom, Laura and Anzaletta, are living, and 
reside on their fine farm of 320 acres, six miles east of Monticello. 
Jennie, a* graduate of the Monticello High School, and John are still 
living with their parents. Two of Mr. .John Piatt's children, Emeline 
arid Robert, are dead. 

Mr. . I AMES A. PIATT, JR., was born near Brookville, Indiana, 
January 7, 1821, and when eight years old came with his parents to the 
present site of Monticello. With the exception of about five years in 
California, his entire life was spent in the immediate vicinity 
of Monticello. On the 18th of January, 1849, he was united in 
marriage to Katherine Bryden, a native of Kbva Scotia, and one of 
the early school teachers of the county. Mr. and Mrs. Piatt, with 
their one child, Alice, started overland April 12, 18,52, to California, 
via St. Louis and Kansas City then Kansas Landing. Mrs. Piatt 
remarked in speaking of the trip, " I was not in a house from the 
time we left Kansas Landing until we reached California, and our little 
party had no company whatever from Humbolt Lake to Iloncut. 
California. We saw plenty of Indians, but they were peaceful." 
After living there five years Mr. Piatt and family came back by way 
of the Isthmus of Darien and located on the farm he had previously 
bought near Monticello. In 18W) he built a nice brick house, which 
was burned about sixteen years ago. The house was rebuilt, and a 
brick barn has since been constructed. Mr.' Piatt improved over 
1,400 acres of land near Monticello. At the time of his death, April 
8, 1873, he-was living one mile south of Monticello, where his wife and 
daughter now reside. Alice Piatt and William JL Ivratx were mar- 
ried January 7, 1x75, and have two children, Laura and James Piatt. 
Mr. Kratx carries on quite an extensive lumber business in Monti- 
cello. 

MK. IliciiAKD K. PIATT, of Napa City. California, was born in 
Elizabethtown, Indiana, March :'>!. Is23. After coming with his 
parents to Illinois he made Piatt county his home until near lsr>o, 
when he went to California. lie returned to Illinois about 1856, and 
remained until the spring of 1S57, when he went back by water to 
California. On his way there he became acquainted with Miss Fannie 



TIIK 1'IATTS AND TIIKLi; KKLA'I IV KS. '2?>\ 

Peasley, who afterward became his wife. Two of their children, 
II. II. and Ida, are living. Mr. Piatt has discovered several valu- 
ahle mines, and though having never been repaid for his long years of 
work in that direction, is still mining. 

Mr. XOAH NOIU.K PIATT was born in Indianapolis, February 24, 
1828. He was the babe of the family when Mr. James A. Piatt 
moved to the I Lay worth cabin, on the present site of Monticello. His 
boyhood and youthful days were spent in Piatt county. In 1855 
he married Hannah Philipps, who was making her home at Win. 
Piatt's. In 1857 he went to California, where he farmed near Marys- 
ville until about 18<>8. His wife died about this time, and Mr. Piatt 
witli his daughters, Mattie, Clara and Kate, and son Willie, returned 
to Piatt county. After living here a time he married Miss Olive 
Hryden and soon went onto his farm, one mile east of Monticello. 
He sold this farm and went to Kansas about 1879, and now resides 
in Greenwood county, of that state. Mr. and Mrs. Piatt have three 
sons, Frank, Phil, and .James. 

Mr. .JACOB PIATT, deceased, was born February 17, 1831, and is 
recorded as the first male child born within the limits of Piatt county. 
His entire life was spent in the immediate vicinity of his native place. 
When but a boy he resolved on being a merchant and began clerking 
for Daniel Stickel. lie went to Cincinnati for the 'purpose of com- 
pleting his commercial education, and while there became acquainted 
with Mary A. Ilubbell, who became his \vifc March 1, 1853. During 
the rest of his life he was a merchant in Monticello. For a number 
of years previous to his death he was consumptive and an intense 
sufferer. His death occurred .July 4, 1871. Six children survived 
him, five of whom are living now. Mary is now the wife of Dr. .1. II. 
Carper, a successful physician of Monticello. Ford is successful as an 
express agent of St. Paul, Minnesota. Silas is a member of the 
class of 1883 of the Illinois University of Champaign. Jacob is in 
Monticello, while Will makes his home with his grandfather, Mr. 
Ilubbell, of Cincinnati. Mrs. Jacob Piatt was married in 1877 
to Mr. Harvey Benson. Her death occurred in the spring of 18X0. 

A.NNAIJKLU: lYviT, who was born at Lawrcnceburg, Indiana, May 
16, 1825, became the wife of Daniel Stickel. (See his sketch.) 

MARY .1. PIATT, who was born .January 1.0, 1830, fell heir to a land 
warrant issued for services rendered by Mr. Jam.'S A. Piatt during 1 
the Black llawk war. The land is located in Nebraska. On .lime 5, 
she became the wife of Win. I'ryden, who for a number of years 



232 HISTORY OF PI AIT COUNTY. 

was a merchant of Monticello. During the last years of his life he 
was an invalid, and his death occurred February 5, 1866, in Savannah, 
Georgia. He had gone south for his health and was then on his way 
home. His last words were, " Peace on earth and good will to all." 
Mrs. Bryden and her two sons, Charles and Will, are still residing in 
Monticello. 

The following facts relating to the first Piatts in America were ob- 
tained by Abram Piatt Andrew, Jr., of La Porte, Indiana, from a letter 
written by an old relative of the Piatts in Watsontowri, Pennsylvania. 

The first Piatt (John) was originally from France. In the city of 
Amsterdam, Holland, he married a widow, Mrs. Wycoff, 'nee Frances 
Vleet. They settled in New Jersey some years previous to the revolu- 
tionary war, and in 1760 were living at Six Mile Run, near the city ot 
New Brunswick. This fact is shown by the following letter written by 
the same John Piatt from the Island of St. Thomas, in the West Indies, 
to his son in New Jersey. 

Letter to John Piatt, addressed "Six Mile Run. New Jersey" : 

Dear Son, I hereby let you know that I am yet alive and when I have said 
that I have said all I can say, for I am so very low and weak that I can scarcely 
hold my pen. I therefore only write you two or three lines, to let you know I 
have not forgot you. I am not able to stir out anywhere to see to getting some 
trinkets or other to send you by your brother Abraham, which otherwise I would 
have done. You told me in your letter you intended to come and see me as soon 
as your time was out. But I would not have you attempt it until you hear from me 
again, for if I live I shall leave this island very soon in order to recover my health, 
and if I live till next summer you may depend on seeing me at home. I would 
therefore advise you to stick close to your business and do the best you can for 
yourself. As to any further news, your brother Abraham can tell you. (Jive my 
love to your mother and all your brothers, and all inquiring friends. 

I remain, your affectionate father. 

St. Thomas. July 7, 17(>o. .Jxo. PIATT. 

This letter was probably his last writing, for before it reached New 
Jersey John and William Piatt, his sons, started for St. Thomas, 
and on their arrival found their father dead and buried. From another 
account other than that sent us by Mr. Andrew we understand that 
this John Piatt was poisoned by his negroes, and that his sons not only 
found their father dead, but his property all destroyed. 

The sons, John, Abraham and William, returned to New .Jersey, 
and John married Jane Williamson, March 27, 1763. In 1791 he 
was living in Pennsylvania, on the Susquehanna river, .near Milton. 
He afterward moved farther up the river, and died at the age of sev- 



TIIK 1'IATTS AM) TIIKIK KKLAT1VKS. 233 

enty-nine years and nine months, lie had five children, Jane, John, 
Frances, William and Catherine, all born in New Jersey. Jane mar- 
ried John Sedam, and had five children. Frances married William 
McKinney, and in 1818 moved to Wood county. West Virginia, when; 
her descendants now live. Catherine married Abraham Tenbrook, 
and moved, in 1818, to Brookville, Indiana, and two of her children, 
John Tenbrook and Mrs. Ann Houselman, now live in Piatt county, 
Illinois. John Piatt married Elizabeth Cline, and two of their children 
are living at Watsontown, Pennsylvnia Mrs. Elizabeth McCormick, 
eighty-eight years of age, and Mrs. Jane P. Allen, in her eighty-sec- 
ond year. William Piatt married Mary Brady, and in 1881 three of 
their children were living, two at Watsontown, Pennsylvania, and one 
in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania. 

It seems that the first John Piatt referred to had four sons, John, 
lacob, W 7 illiam and Abraham. John, as has just been related, settled 
in Pennsylvania, as Abraham also did, and the other brothers came 
west to Ohio and Kentucky. 

MR. ABRAHAM PIATT, son of the first Piatt who came to America, 
and father of James A. Piatt, for whom this county was named, was 
born in New Jersey and afterward moved to Pennsylvania, where it 18 
supposed he died November 13, 1791. His wife nee Anna Belle 
Andrew, died April 10, 1822, at the house of her eldest son, Jacob, and 
was buried in Hamilton, Butler county, Ohio. They had ten children, 
four sons and six daughters. 

Jacob, the eldest son, moved to Ohio, was twice married, and lived 
there 1 till his family was nearly grown, when he moved to near Perry- 
ville, Indiana. He then moved to Henry county, Illinois, where Wm. 
H. Piatt thinks he died. Some of his children's names are : Abraham, 
who died in Altona, James who moved to near St. Mary's, Kansas, 
and John, who for twenty-three years was county commissioner and 
supervisor in Henry county, and died there a short time ago ; while 
Anna Belle and William are names of other members of the family. 

Abraham Piatt settled in Butler county, Ohio. (See Michael Piatt's 
sketch. ) 

John Piatt was never married. At an early day he went to New 
Orleans to trade, and while there was murdered and robbed. 

For Jas. A. Piatt, see his sketch. 

Catharine Piatt became the wife of Mr. Jas. Andrew. (See Jno. 
Andrew's sketch.) 

Fannie Piatt married James Watson, and had three sons, 



HISTORY OF PIATT ror.NTY. 

Abraham, William and James, who settled near Crawfbrdsville, 
Indiana, and who are all dead now. 

Eleanor married John McDonald, and had three sons and one 
daughter, now Mrs. F. A. Marsh. Joseph McDonald, ex-senator of 
Indiana, is eminent as a lawyer in Indianapolis. For James 
McDonald, see his sketch. Zeke McDonald now resides in California. 

Jane Piatt. married James Oarnahan, and had three sons, William, 
Abraham and John. Of these William is the only one living. Of 
the four daughters, Anna married the Rev. Theo. Adams, of the 
Christian church, and they both are dead. Mary married Mr. 
Ilubbell, has her sister Amanda with her, and lives in Cincinnati. 

Anna Piatt married Wm. Hart and settled in southern Indiana. 
She had several sons, who are supposed to be living in Clinton county. 
Iowa. 

Margaret Piatt married Mr. John Ecles, a preacher of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and had a number of children. 

Hon. Donn Piatt, of Mac-o-cheek, Ohio, writes us that all he 
knows of his ancestors was obtained through his father of his grand- 
father, Jacob Piatt, of IJoone county, Kentucky. This Jacob Piatt 
was a native of New Jersey. He entered the revolutionary war as a 
private, fought his way up to colonel, and was at one time on the 
staff of Gen. Washington, taking part in all the important battles 
of the war. k ' lie was a Puritan of the purest type, having the 
lEugenot traits strongly marked in him." Me gave his pension to the 
support of a clergyman. His tomb at Federal Hall bears the following 
suggestive epitaph : 



A SOl. 1)1 Kl! OF THE IIKVOU'TION 

A N I ) 
A SOUMKIi OF TIIK CROSS. 



This Jacob Piatt told Donn Piatt's father that the first Piatts in 
America were two brothers, who went from France to Amsterdam. 
and, after marrying there, came to Xew York. One of these settled 
in New Jersey, while the other went to the West Indies, where he was 
murdered by his negroes. 

Gen. Piatt. a brother of Donn Piatt, also resides at Mac-o-cheek, 
Ohio. 

WILLIAM PIATT was born June 20. .17!>.">, at La Grange, Lycoming 
county, Pennsylvania, and died there in December 18~.~>. His father. 
John Piatt, settled in Pennsylvania. William was a farmer and tanner by 
profession. lie was a captain of the 1st Lycoming Troop Cavalry for 



Till: 1MATTS AND T1IKIR RELATIVKS. 

some twenty years, a ruling elder of the Presbyterian church for twenty 
years, a member of the Pennsylvania legislature, and associate judge of 
Lycoming county. He married Hannah Brady, who was born at Mil- 
ton. Pennsylvania, April 2, 17 ( ->!, and who was a niece of ('apt. John 
Brady and (ien. Hugh Brady, the celebrated Indian fighters. Of their 
children, .lames B. Piatt. who was born July 10, 1821. in La Orange, 
Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, was a captain in the Lycoming Troop 
( 'avalry for ten years. He is now a farmer atTipton, Iowa. II. 0. Piatt, 
born March 2-k 1X2-1-, is a graduate of the Jefferson College. Pennsyl- 
vania, and is TIOW a wealthy lawyer of Tipton, Iowa. McCall Piatt was 
born August 4, 1X2 ( J. and is carrying on a tan-yard on the farm where 
his father was born and where lie died. His eldest sister, Mary, lives 
with him. Betty married William McCormick and died some thirteen 
years ago, leaving six children. Charlotte Piatt married Frank Porter 
and died about five years ago. Mr. Aimer Piatt was born in La Grange, 
Lycoming county, Pennsylvania. March 27, 1827. His youth was spent 
as a tanner and civil engineer, and he was educated at Lewisburg Acad- 
emy. For ten years he was a member of the 1st Lycoming Troop Cav- 
alry, and he was also major of a military company of Lycoming county. 
For a number of years he has been a stock commission merchant in 
Chicago. Illinois. He married Anne M. Murphy, and has four children: 
Hammond, Harry, Emma and Anna. 

MR. MICHAEL PIATT, St. Louis, is a native of Butler county, Ohio. 
His education was obtained and his youth was spent in that state. He 
moved from Cincinnati, Ohio, in ixr>7. and at present resides at 3614 
!N. Ninth street, St. Louis, Missouri. He was horse inspector for three 
and a half years during the war, at present is a veterinary surgeon, and, 
in fact, has been in the horse business all his life. He was married in 
1S.>7, to E. D. Kirk, and they have had eight children. 

Mu. ABRAHAM PFATT, father of Michael Piatt. was born in Pennsyl- 
vania, and was a farmer, having held the offices of constable and sheriff. 

MK. .JOHN ANDREW, brother of Anna Belle (Andrew) Piatt, was a 
surgeon in the patriot army during the entire revolutionary war. He 
was married twice, and had a large family of children. 

MR. .IAMKS ANDREW, the eldest of the family, married Catharine 
Piat.t. sister of .lames A. Piatt. She died June 27. 1X2X, and her hus- 
band March 21, 1851. They had eight children: the youngest, Anna 
Bella, died when a babe, and .John died September 2, 1S1!>. The rest, 
of the family are all living, and. with the exception of .Jacob P.. reside 
in La Porte. Indiana. .James is in his eiirht v-fourth vcar. Abraham P. 



286 HISTOKY OK PIATT CorNTV. 

Andrew is in his eighty-second rear, is in "good health and active in 
mind and body." The 1st of October. ls,s2, was the fifty-third anni- 
versary of his marriage to Viola .1. Armstrong, who is in her seventy- 
seventh year. Lewis C. Andrew is in his seventy -fourth year, while 
William is seventy-two years old. Itachel married Sutton Van Pelt, 
who died not long ago. Jacob Piatt Andrew is in his seventy-ninth 
year, and has been a preacher of the Christian church for over sixty 
years. He graduated at the Cincinnati Medical College, and for over 
fifty years was a practicing physician. His eldest son, Lieut. A. C. 
Andrew, was killed in the Union army September 20, 1863. Hb 
youngest son, William H., died in his fifteenth year. His daughter, 
Phebe A. Clark, has several children. 

DK. E. A. PYATT, of Bethany, Illinois, writes that his grandfather, 
named Joseph, was born in Coventry, England. His father, also named 
Joseph, was born in Bush county, North Carolina. Dr. Pyatt was born 
October 9, 1832, in North Carolina, and lived on a farm and went to school 
in the country up to the age of eighteen, when he entered Burnsville 
College, and remained two years. He studied medicine, and in 1856 
began practicing the same in Sullivan county, Tennessee. Soon after ho 
graduated in the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia. He was 
surgeon in the late war three years, and at the close of the war married 
a lady of Abingdon, Washington county, Virginia. In 1868 he located 
at Bethany, Moultrie county, where he has been in active practice since. 

Mrs. Ann Honselman, daughter of Catharine and John Piatt, was 
married in 1832, and in 1839 came to Piatt county. Of her children, 
William was born in 1834, James, in 1836 ; Abraham, in 1838 ; 
Caroline, in 1841, and Melissa, in 1843. She still resides in Monticello 
and is yet a characteristic pioneer woman. Let one who would like to- 
catch a glimpse of the early days step into her cabin, and she, in the 
midst of her pioneer surroundings, will delight to tell of the days that 
are no more. She has a kind heart, a good memory, and is always* 
pleased to take you back into the past, where she will find for you 
many a gem by the wayside. 

Chas. O. Piatt, Decatur, Illinois, was born near Bellefontaine. 
Logan county, Ohio, August 16, 1847. His mother died when he was 
thirteen months old, and he then lived with his grandmother Piatt 
until he was thirteen years old. His father married again, and with 
his family moved to DeWitt county in 1854, where he still resides. In 
1860 C. O. Piatt came from Ohio to his fathers farm, where he stayed 
until he was eighteen years old, since which time he has been making 



MOXTICKLIX) TOWNSHIP. 237 

his own way. lie had gained a good common and high school 
education, and taught several terms of school in DeWitt county. He 
afterward went into the grain trade, which business he is still in, and 
is associated in the tirm W. L. Dumont & Co., of Decatur. Mr. 
Piatt was married March 7, 1871, to Flora C., granddaughter of 
Win. Clagg. They have had two children, one of whom died at the 
age of four years, and the other is still living. Mr. Piatt's name was 
John and his grandfather, also named John, moved from Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania, to Ohio at an early day. 



CHAPTER XL 

M XTICE LI/) TO WNSH 1 1 '. 

FTYHE center of Piatt county .lies within Monticello township, which 
-J- may justly be called the principal township of the county, since it 
contains the; county seat, and has more inhabitants than any other in 
the county. In size it is one of the four smallest townships in the 
county. The distance across the township from west to east is eight 
miles, wink' from the northern boundary to the southern it is six 
miles; the entire township thus contains forty-eight square miles or 
30,720 acres of land. On the north the township is bounded by Goose 
Creek and Sangamon townships ; a portion of Champaign county forms 
flu' eastern boundary ; while Bernent township bounds it on the south 
and Willow Branch on the west. 

A ridge strikes the township in the southern-western or southern 
part, and runs diagonally to the northeast, thus making some of the land 
of the township slightly rolling. The drainage except in the extreme 
southeastern part, where the sluggish waters of the Lake Fork stand a 
portion of the year is very good. The entire western, northern and 
northeastern parts drain into the Sangamon river, which crosses the 
northwestern corner of the township. A generous belt of timber fol- 
lows the course of this river, but the greater portion of the township is 
tine tillable prairie land. Some clay is found on the hills near the 
Sangamon river, but the greater portion of soil is a rich black loam, 
such as all farmers rejoice to see. 

The early settlements of the township coincide with those already 
mentioned of the county, since the first settlements of the county were 



HISTORY OF 1MATT roi'XTY. 

made in what is DOW Monticello township. The Ilaywortlis. Daggotts 
and Martins all located in the northwestern corner of this township, 
and others of the pioneers made settlements within its boundaries. 
Since the location of many of the first settlers of the township is 
alluded to elsewhere in the book, it is not necessary to mention the 
same in this connection. 

Monticello township, in common with other portions of the county, 
was once a part of Macon county. After the formation of Piatt county 
it became a portion of one of the precincts of the new county, and it 
was not until 1860, when the township organization was introduced, 
that it became a township. 

Two railroads, both of which arc now in possession of the W abash 
Railroad Company, pass through a portion of the township. The one 
originally known as the Champaign A: Decatur railroad, and which 
was first constructed, strikes the northern line of the township about 
two miles from the western boundary line, runs nearly south about 
two miles, making an abrupt bend within the city limits of Monticello, 
and then extends west nearly three miles to the western boundary line 
of the township. The other railroad, which was built under the name 
of the Chicago A: Paducah, passes almost directly north and south 
through the township, about two miles from the western boundary line. 
These roads intersect, at Monticello, where one depot serves the pur- 
poses of both roads. 

In regard to the wagon roads of this township, as also we might 
say of all the townships, that in some places they are comparatively 
good, but. portions of the roads are in very poor condition. Some of 
the grades are all right but the bridges seem invariably out of order. 
Again, the bridges are all right, when the roads are not graded or 
drained as well as they might be, even with the proper materials 
at hand for doing so. What is the cause of all of this ( Can it be that 
the people of Piatt county do not take an interest in their roads? No, 
the trouble does not lie there, for certainly there is scarce a business 
person in the county who is not financially interested in the roads of 
the county. Of course all are interested in having good roads, but do 
they apply their interest in the best way for removing the obstacles 
in the way of the best possible roads for the least money and labor? 
AVhich would be the best for any set of roads to have several "road 
bosses," with a number of men, ofttimes those who si-em to take no 
interest save to work out their taxes, and many times green hands 
at the work, and those who perhaps do not even live in the county, 



LIBRARY 

THE 
' OF ILLINOIS 



MONTICKLLO TOWNSHIP. 241 

hut are taken by some fanner from the field to work out his tax ; 
or to employ one man who was to obtain a set of hands and keep 
the road in order for the season ? If one man had a road in charge, 
he, as well as everybody else, would know whose business it was to fill 
up a chuck-hole, to drain the water from a low place in the road 
before a great mud-hole resulted, or to mend a broken plank in a 
bridge. If he did his duty and it would be very easy to get rid 
of him if he did not we would not hear so many expressions as the 
following: "Why don't some one fix this grade?" "Why don't 
they scrape these roads?" etc. It is our opinion, as well as of them 
with whom we have talked, that such arrangement would vastly 
improve the condition of the roads, while, instead of being more 
expensive, it would really be money in the pockets of the people. 
What farmer can afford to wait until his summer work is done, and 
then work out his tax on the road, just in time for the fall rains to 
prevent the grades settling for the winter season ? Would it not have 
been better for him to take the money out of his pocket and pay his 
tax toward securing a man to do the work in proper season than 
to work out his tax at a wrong season, and then later in the year 
jostle over the side-boards of his wagon enough grain, wear out enough 
of his wagon, and lose enough time over bad roads, to more than pay 
for his tax? Let us have fewer men on the road, and see that they 
are under a good leader, and have the roads worked when they need 
it, not when most convenient to the people, and we feel convinced 
that the roads of the county will soon be in a vastly better condition 
than they now arc. 

Improvements. Outside of the city of Monticello, there are not 
very many improvements other than those formed by the putting of 
the farms into good shape. A mill on the Sangamon river has been of 
good service to the entire county. The original mill was owned by a 
stock company. Mr. Zorger probably bought the mill of the stock- 
owners, and Mr. Collins bought of him, and built a part of the present 
mill building. Mr. Collins sold out to Emanuel Rhoades, who sold to 
Mr. Martin Mclntosh, the present owner. At present some ten or 
fifteen thousand bushels of grain are ground a year, and preparations 
are being made for more extensive work. For many years a saw mill 
has been in connection with the grist mill. In 1881 a new forty-five 
horse power engine from the Decatur Novelty works was put in the 
mill. 

Monticello. In 1837 the citizens of what is now Piatt county con- 



242 lITSTom OF 1MATT COUNTY. 

eluded that it was too far to go to Decatur for trading purposes, and 
they resolved to have a town of their.own. Abraham Marquiss. William 
Barnes, Major McReynolds and .James A. Piatt formed the committee 
which, after searching up and down both sides of the Sangamon river, 
decided that the present site of Monticello was the most appropriate 
place for the location of a village. This land was once owned by 
James A. Piatt, who sold part of his land. A joint stock company 
was formed by these men and a town was laid out on the site of a 
portion of the present city of Monticello. On July 1, 1837. the town 
of Monticello was recorded. It was platted by James A. Piatt, sur- 
veyed by Mr. McClelland, and named by Major Me Reynolds after the 
Jionie of Jefferson. Right here let us remark, that one would have to 
search long and well ere a prettier name for the town could be found. 

On July 4, 1837, a grand barbecue was held. Beeves, hogs and 
sheep were roasted, and altogether there was a regular feast and jubilee. 
The prime object of the gathering was the sale of lots in the new town, 
and the result was the sale of some $2,700 worth of lots. 

The original- plat of Monticello did .not include the II ay worth 
house, which is still standing north of the Wabash depot. So this first 
house in the county was not the first house in the original Monticello. 
However, as the limits of Monticello now extend far beyond this cabin, 
it is justly called the oldest house in the city. In about 183!> there 
were but four houses in the new town. The first house put up was a 
small storehouse, which stood on the present site of Dr. Noecker's 
drug store. This house was built about 1837 by Mr. Cass, who dealt 
in merchandise on a very small scale. In 1830 Mr. Nicholas Devore 
began the erection of the first dwelling house in Monticello as origi- 
nally laid out. This building originally had four rooms, and was not 
completed for several years. Judge Rickets assisted in the building of 
the house and it existed for a number of years, bearing the name of 
'"old Fort," Jno. Tenbrooke built, on the site of Jno. Lowry's store, 
a log house in which he kept hotel, and which was the second dwell- 
ing house in the village. The third dwelling house was erected by 
James Outten just opposite the present jail. About this time, too, a 
Mr. Hull had a little blacksmith shop near where Mrs. Ann Honsel- 
man lives. 

Such was the beginning of Monticello. It was not long, however, 
until more residences were erected, business buildings were put up and 
a number of other improvements were made. Daniel Stickel, in 1841," 
opened the first regular store in the town in a building just east of WJ 



MOXTICKI.I.O TOWNSHIP. 243 

II. Reese's drug store; J. C. Johnson opened the first drug store and 
was the first regular postmaster. Dr. King was the first physician 
who settled in Monticello. The first lawyer of the town (we could not 
learn his name), after living here three or four months, started for Cali- 
fornia, but died on the way'. The first preaching in the town was at 
Mr. Outten's house, where a circuit-rider of the Methodist Episcopal 
church used to stop once a month. In 1843 and 1844 the Itev. Peter 
Cart wright held meetings in the old court-house. "Rev. Cartwright also 
conducted several camp-meetings in this county. Mr. Mosher con- 
ducted the first camp-meeting of the county in a grove a little south- 
west of the present Wabash depot. The first church in the town was 

built in ISiS by Judge Rickets and others. It belonged to the 
^-""> ' ~ ~ 

Methodists aTTd stood on the present site of Mr. Riser's residence. In 

~~~-~^ . . 

1848 Judge Rickets built the first court-house. The second was built 

about 185(1 by Judge Rickets, George Dempsy and Jno. Lowry. 

In 185t! quite a good deal of business was done in Monticello. In 
the "Monticello Times" of that date we find that T. Milligan and II. 
C. McComas advertised as attorneys-at-law ; N. G. Coffin, Xoecker A: 
Hull and T. Wheeler as physicians ; li. 13. Winchester as saddle and 
harness maker; Marbleston & Bro. as clothiers; .1. K. Duncan as 
tailor; Young cV Co. as furniture dealers; J. II. Hoi lings worth, O. 
Bailey, Piatt & Kerr, and Bruffett & Foster as dry-goods merchants ; 
J. C. Johnson & Bro. as druggists; Dunseth cV: Shroeder as brick- 
layers ; 1). Kelleher as boot and shoe merchant ; B. T. Meeks as hard- 
ware merchant ; David Cornpropst as grocer, and John Painter as 
butcher. Were we to go into details and mention each business firm 
in Monticello of to-day a great improvement would ^be seen in the 
amount of business done now and that done in 1856. 

Under (yen. (i rant's second term the postoffice of Monticello was 
changed from a fourth to a third class office. Mr. Samuel Webster is 
the present able postmaster. His bond is $10,000. It seems to be the 
opinion of the people that Monticello could not have* a better post- 
master than Mr. Webster has proved to be. 

Monticc'Uo a City. On the 10th of April. 1872, the president and 
trustees of Monticello met for the purpose of taking steps to change tin- 
village government to that of a city. 

At that time L. J. Bond was president; ("has. Watts, E. G. Knight, 
J. M. Holmes and Samuel Bender were trustees, and W. D. Shultz, 
clerk. The population of the town was reported to be 1,0>0 souls, and 
the government was changed so as to comply with theTaw in regard 



244 HISTORY OK IM.VIT < ofNTY. 

(_tjH8ity government. A mayor and six aldermen were elected, but the- 
city is not yet laid off' in wards. 

At the election of December IT, 1*72, Daniel Stickel was made 
the first mayor, and Win. T. Foster, B. B. Jones, E. G. Knight, J. A. 
Hill, John Keenan and James M. Holmes, alderman. Wm. D. Shultz 
was made clerk, A. T. Pipher, attorney, and J. T. Varigundy, treas- 
urer. Daniel Stickel was mayor two terms. The term of C. P. Davis 
was finished out by S. II. Hubbell. Samuel Reed and Win. II. Plunk 
each held the office one term, and Mr. Bert Emerson is the present 
mayor. Wm. Shultz has been clerk most of the time since city gov- 
ernment was enforced. There has been no saloon license since the 
organization under city government. At present the population of the 
city is about 1,800 persons. 

Monticello was held back, and grew slowly, a number of years on 
account of having no railroads ; but since the building of the first rail- 
road a steady and quite rapid improvement has been going on. 

Monticello of to-day contains three churches : the Methodist, Pres- 
byterian and German Methodist ; two school buildings and two hotels. 
The High school building is of brick and is in the south part of the 
city, while the frame building is in the northern part. The brick hotel 
is under good management and is near the public square. Joseph 
Mallory has recently become proprietor of the other hotel, and with his 
ability as landlord and with his wife's culinary skill, we may anticipate 
a first-class hotel. The first grain elevator in Monticello was erected 
in 1872, by Piatt, Hubbel & Co. Its capacity is about 15,000 bushels. 
In 1878 a grist mill was connected with the elevator, and both are now 
owned by E. A. Townly & Co. In 1876 Knight it Tinder erected an 
elevator on what was then the Chicago & Pacific railroad. Its 
capacity is 20,000 bushels. There are two lumberyards and two lively 
stables in the place. J. W. Race & Co. have three rooms on the east 
side of the public square, which are devoted to merchandising purposes. 
There are a number of other grocery, clothing and merchandising stores 
in the city, mention of which will be found elsewhere. The business 
center of the city is found in" the vicinity of the public square. 

Rhodes block, on the northeast corner of the square, was built in 
1874. It contains an opera hall 40x90 feet, which has a seating 
capacity for over 500 persons. The building is of brick and has three 
stories and a basement. 

Dr. Noecker's block, in connection with the brick hotel, a little 
northwest of the square, is another addition to the appearance of the- 



MOXTICKLJ.O TOWNSHIP. 245 

place. The brick block formed by the buildings occupied by Mr. 
Julius Brown, Mr. John Davison, Messrs. Bohn & Vangundy, and Mr. 
Dickerson, adds greatly to the appearance of the southwestern corner 
of the square. Another brick building is on the south side of the 
square, while the eastern side is also partly built up with brick build- 
ings. While the people are very well satisfied with the appearance of 
the public square, yet all are waiting anxiously for the removal of some 
of the old one-story frame business houses and the erection of brick build- 
ings in their stead. Monticello is improving rapidly now, and we hope 
to see this change soon. 

Monticello has two cemetries, the old one which joins the west side 
of the city, and the new one which is situated over a mile north of 
Monticello. Not a city of its size in central Illinois can boast of nicer 
and neater residences than some in Monticello. 

The Churches* There was preaching in Piatt county a number of 
years before there was any organized church, and this preaching was 
done by ministers of various denominations. After a time there were 
some resident ministers in the county, among whom we can mention 
Mr. Welch and Mr. Harshbarger, of the Christian church. 

In regard to the Methodist Episcopal churcTPof Monticello, we 
could not gain a great deal from the records. The first quarterly 
conference recorded is that of November 23, 1X43, with W. I). Trotter, 
presiding elder, and Addison God rid, pastor in charge. 

The first Methodist Episcopal church building was begun when 
James C. Rucker was pastor in charge. A great revival meeting was 
held in 1X.">7, when about 400 joined the church by letter and on 
probation, ("amp Creek church was built about 1860, dedicated by 
Granville Moody, of Ohio, and a subscription was raised to liquidate 
the debt. The war reduced the membership on the circuit very much. 

In September, 1X6X, Monticello was constituted as a station, with a 
membership of 138, in two classes four local preachers, one exhorter, 
K. W. Travis, presiding elder, and Ira Emerson, pastor in charge. 
During 1868-70 the new Methodist church was begun. We have been 
informed that Mr. B. F. Harris, of Champaign, nominally donated the lot 
to the church. The building is of brick, and was dedicated to church 
purposes December 17, 1870, by the Rev. II. Buck. This church has 
been existing a number of years under a load of debt amounting to 
over $3,000. Owing to the undiminished labors of G. S. Alexander, 
who has recently left his field of labors in Monticello, this debt has 
been lifted. 



240 HISTORY OF PIATT COl'NTY. 

The following are the names of the presiding elders and pastors in 
charge, as recorded in the Methodist Episcopal church record-book : 

Presiding Elders John S. Barger, 1847; (1 D. .lames, 1851 ; G. 
W. Fail-bank, 1854; Samuel Elliott, 1885; L. C. Pintner, 1857; 
Hiram Buck, 1850 ; R. W. Travis, 1861. 

Pastors in Charge L. C. Pitner, 1840; James C. Rucker, 1S47; 
I. L. Green, 1848; W. ,T. Newman, 1849; Joseph Lane, 1849; A. 
Doncarloss, 1850; William C. Blundell, 1852; Christain Arnold, 
1854; Miles A. Wright, 1850; John H. Scott assistant pastor; 
Edward liutledge, 1857 ; B. F. Lodge, assistant pastor ; A. K. (Tamer,. 
1859 ; W. B. Anderson, assistant pastor; Isaac Grove, 1801-02; D. 
P. Lyon, 1804 ; J. B. Ilouts, 1805; James T. Orr, 1807; Ira Emer- 
son, 1868 ; J. S. Orr, 1868-70; W. II. H. Adams, 1870-72; P. C. 
Carrol], 1872; George M. Fortune, 1873; I. Villars, 1874; Mr. 
Everhart, 1875; J. Montgomery, 1870; J. A. Muse, 1877; D. Gay, 
1878 ; G. S. Alexander, 1879-80-81. 

The membership of the church is nearly 200. 

.V/v/V'/i of fin' Presbyterian Church of Monticello* as reported />;/ 
Rev. Onnxby. The Presbyterian church of Monticello was organized 
JL Saturday, October 27, 1842, by Rev. Joseph Adams, then preach- 
ing to the church of Ashmore, Coles county. But previous to that time 
there had been occasional Presbyterian preaching, and Rev. William 
Ilutchinson, a Cumberland Presltyterian of Champaign county, Imd 
preached statedly as often as once a month for perhaps a year. So far 
as I have been able to ascertain, lie was the first Presbyterian minister 
to preach in Monticello. Mr. Adams was appointed a committee to 
organize the church, by Palestine presbytery, ( )ld School. It consisted, 
at the organization, of the following ten members, all of them uniting 
by letter from other places, namely: James Huston, Sarah Huston, 
Mary Neyhart, Archibald Moftitt, Samuel Moftitt, James J. Patterson. 
Anna Patterson, Elizabeth Young. Hugh O'Neal and Mary O'Neal. 

At an election held the same day. James Huston and Archibald 
Mofh'tt were chosen ruling elders. The church remained, however, 
without regular services for about a year, when, in December, 1S.">1, 
liev. It. H. Lilly, of Champaign, was engaged to preach half his time 
for one year. He may have continued longer. The church was then 
destitute for several years, and became very much reduced by deaths 
and removals, losing both its elders by death. However, a committee 
of Palestine presbytery again visited it, and on October 31, 1857. 
received five additional members, and took measures tor its reorgani- 



MONTH 'KLI.o TOWNSHIP. 'J47 

/ation. About the Beginning of 1S5S Rev. John Huston took charge. 

He remained some six years, preaching part of his time in Monticello, 
and the rest in neighboring school-houses, especially the Morain school- 
house, and another near what is now I)e Land, where there was at that 
time a small Presbyterian organization, since disbanded. Mr. Huston 
is well entitled to be considered as the real founder of the church, and 
endured toils and self-denials for it such as few other men would have 
done. Some time in the summer of 18H5 he removed to southern 
Illinois, and is now supplying the churches of Goshen and Princeton. 
Missouri. 

In the fall the services of Rev. T. P. Emerson were obtained part 
of his time for one or two years. He was succeeded by Rev. J. H. Dins- 
more, of Louisville presbytery, who was so much of an invalid that he wa 
employed to preach only so much as "his state of health might enable 
him." Early in 1869 the services of Rev. S. A. Hummer were obtained, 
who continued in charge about three years. During the last year of his 
Rtay with the church, 1.S71, its house of worship was built. Previously 
the public services had been held in the court-house, and part of the time 
in the old Methodist Episcopal church. The house is of wood, on a 
brick foundation, having a pleasant audience room of 35x60 feet, and 
a tower and belfry in front. It was built under the supervision of 
J. M. Combs, architect, and cost about $4,000. It was paid for by 
subscriptions of money and work given in the community, and a grant 
of $700 from the Board of Church Erection. The ladies' aid society 
of the church purchased its furniture stoves, chandeliers, chairs, 
carpets, etc. and paid for the frescoing. It seats comfortably about 
300, and has a bell weighing one thousand pounds. 

After Mr. Hummer left, the church remained unsupplied for about 
a year, when Rev. William R. (rlen became its pastor, and continued 
in that relation two years, the only regularly installed pastor the church 
has ever had. After his removal it had only occasional and transient sup- 
plies until July 1, 187(>, when Rev. A. l<\ Ashley took charge of it. 
Under his ministries, in the following January, occurred the most con- 
siderable revival it has ever enjoyed in all its history. As the fruits of 
that revival twenty -one stood up together at the February communion 
to profess their faith in Christ, ranging from the grey-haired man of 
seventy to the child often. Several others were received later. Mr. 
Ashley remained in charge some three years, after which he labored a 
short time in neighboring churches, and in the spring of isso removed 
to Ishpeming. Michigan, where lie is at present. 




248 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

June 13, 1880, Rev*. M. P. Ormsby became stated supply, and is 
still occupying the field. 

Owing to its frequent destitutions of preaching, the many changes 
that have taken place in the community, and other causes, the church 
has had but a slow growth. Out of nearly 200 members, first and 
last connected with it, it has only eighty remaining at present. But 
the last ten years, since the building of its house, it has been making 
constant progress, and has promising prospects for the future. 

Fraternal Lodge, No. 58, A. F. and A. M. The charter of Fra- 
ternal Lodge, No. 48, is dated October 4, 1848, and is consequently 
among the older charters in the state. It is signed by William 
Lanely, the then Grand Master of Masons of the State of Illinois, and 
also by E. R. Roe, D.G.M., J. C. Ketcham, G.S. W., Win. C. Hobbs, 
G.J.W., and Wm. Mitchel, G. Sec. The charter members were 
Peter K. Hull, Master; Win. Laforge, S.W.; R. Carlyle, J.W.; also 
Patterson, W T m. Marquiss, John P. Tenbrook and J. C. Johnson, 
first meeting of the lodge was, however, held under dispensation 
the night of the 1st Monday in March, 1848." At this meeting 
what were afterward charter members were present, and in 
addition thereto we find the name of Samuel Bender on record. At this 
meeting the petition of Robert O. Parantea, of Logan county, was 
received and referred to a committee. At a regular communication 
held May 1, 1848, the lodge did its first work, the degree of E.A. 
being at that time conferred upon Allen Sadorus, George Matsler, G. 
W. Fisher and Henry Zorger. *The regular communications of the 
lodge are held on the evening of Saturday of each month coming on 
or before the full of the moon. The meetings are held in the hall 
owned by the lodge, comprising the third floor of the brick block 
northwest of the public square in Monticello. At the present time 
the lodge consists of eighty-one members. The officers' names are as 
follows : Joseph E. Evans, W.M. ; Henry W. Keyes, S.W. ; Samuel 
Cole, J.W. ; W. J. Britton, Treas. ; J. A. Hill, Sec. ; G. A. Burgess, 
S.D. ; Joshua Tatman, J.D. ; Henry Sackriter, Jr., S.S. ; William 
Baldwin, J.S. ; Wm. Worsley, Tyler; J. H. Carper, Marshal. 

Markwdl Cliapttt'. No. $>', R- A. M. Markwell Chapter was 
orgaiii/A-d January :>.">, 1S.VJ, under a dispensation granted N. I). 
Elwood, Grand High Priest of the Grand Royal Arch Chapter of the 
State of Illinois, by Companion Levi Lusk, acting as high priest. At 
this meeting the chapter conferred the degree of Mark Master on 
Charles Watts, it being their first work. The returns to the grand 



MXUS'TICKLLO T( )\\ XSII1 1'. 249 

chtiptcr show the following named companions as officers and mem- 
bers for the year 1859, viz: Peter K. Hull, H.P. ; flames .1. Patted 
son, King; A. G. Boyer, Scribe; Win. Noecker, C.H. ; B. Cassell, 
P.S. ; James A. Hill,* E.A.C. ; Charles Watts, G-.M. 3d V. ; Win. 
T. Foster, G.M. 2d V. ; L. J. Bond, G.M. 1st V. ; Charles Watts, 
Sec. ; John Mosgrove, Treas. ; M. M. Harshbarger, Sent. Members : 
J. O. Sparks, F. E. Bryant, T. T. Pettit, Charles Marquiss and S. H. 
Bender. At the present time the chapter consists of forty-four mem- 
bers and the following named officers, viz : Harvey E. Huston, H.P. ; 
Caleb A. Tatman, King ; Richard T. Ayer, Scribe ; Henry W. Keyes, 
C.H. ; Gilbert A. Burgess, P.S. ; Wm.. J. Britton, R.A.C. ; Joshua 
Tatman, M. 3d V. ; Samuel Cole, M. 3d V. ; Joseph E. Evans, M. 
1st V. ; Henry Sackriter, Treas. ; Samuel B. Webster, Sec. ; Wrn. B. 
Worsley, Sent. The charter is dated September 30, 1859. The regular 
convocations have been held, ever since the organization of the chapter, 
on the evening of Thursday on or before the full of the moon in each 
month. 

^"" Monticello Council, No. 27, R. and S. M. This council was organ- 
ized, under dispensation on August 31, 1866. The charter was dated 
October 4. 1 860, and the following are the names of the first officers, 
who were also the charter members : A. T. Pipher, T.I. G.M. ; Charles 
Watts, D.G.G.M. ; J. C. Johnson, P.C.W. ; E. P. Fisher, M. of E. ; L. 
J. Bonn, Recorder; Wm. Noecker, C. of G. ; N. Henline, C. of C. ; 
J. A. Piatt, Sent. The council at present consists of nineteen members, 
and the following named officers, viz : E. A. Barringer, T.I. G.M. ; 
A. T. Pipher, D.I. G.M. ; J. R. Dove, P.O. of W. ; James M. 
Holmes, Recorder; J. C. Johnson, M. of E. ; Win. Noecker, C. of 
G. ; L. J. Bond, C. of C. ; E. P. Fisher, Steward; Wm. Worsley, 
Sent. The regular convocations of the council are held on the 
evening of tlfe second Tuesday in each month, at the Masonic Hall in 
Monticello. 

The foregoing matter relative to the several lodges was furnished 
us by H. E. Huston. 

" Fraternal JSncampment. The Fraternal Encampment, No. 145, 
^JJ^O.F., was organized July i), 1873. The charter members were 
Joseph T. Yan Gundy, Wm. E. Smith, James Honselman, Louis 
Katz, John Kousho, Henry Sackriter and James C. Harrington. The 
following presiding officers were installed when instituted : Jos. T. 
Van Gundy, C.P.; Louis Katz, H.P. ; Jas. C. Harrington, S.W.; Jas. 



250 HISTORY OF 1MATT OOIXTY. 

Ilonselnian, .). W. ; Wm. E. Smith, Scribe; John Ivousho, Trcas. 
The presiding officers installed January 2, 1*82, are .los. T. 
Van Gundy, C.P.; Win. K. Smith, H. P.; .1. A. Brown, S.W.: 
Win. A. Baldwin, J.W. ; Einmott II. Ormsby, Scribe; Francis A. 
Tate, Treas. The membership is thirty and the encampment meets on 
the first and third Mondays of each month in the Odd-Fellows' hall. 
over J. A. Brown's store. 

~~ Sdah Lodge. The Selah Lodge, Xo. 401-3, I.O.O.F., was organized 
August 2<>, 186!*. The following are the names of the charter 
Numbers : Alon/o T. Pipher, James C. Harrington, Wm. 1). Shultz, 
Michael Hazzard, Jacob McClain, Pierre Halm. The following 
presiding officers were installed at time of organization: Alonz<> 
T. Pipher, KG.; James (\ Harrington, V. G.; Win, D. Shultz, Eec. 
Sec.; Michael Ilazzard, Treas. The presiding officers installed in 
July, 1882, are Geo. R. Baldwin, KG. ; Francis A. Tate, V.G. ; 
E. II. Ormsby, Rec. Sec.; F. G. Stevens, Per. Sec.; Christian 
WengenrotJi, Treas. The membership is fifty-two. The lodge 
meets on Tuesday evening of each week in their hall over J. A. 
Brown's hardware store, on the west side of the square. Monticello, 
Illinois. 

^Montictllo Mat ii'il I )>i Hi/! n</, Li HI )i <m<l Jfinnfxt^Kl . I xw/W /"//. 

'This association was organized in 1873 with a capital of $100,000 
^divided into 1,000 shares of 100 each. The original stock was 
held by 1H9 different persons, who took from one to twenty shares 
each, on which they paid at the rate of fifty cents a month for each 
share held, respectively. The money arising from these payments, 
together with the interest accumulating on the same, was loaned and 
re-loaned to the members of the association. It was the design that 
everything paid to the association in the way of fees should be applied 
to advancing the value of the stock until it should arrive'at par value, 
at which time the association would go into liquidation, and the 
mortgages executed by the borrowing members would be offset and 
canceled by their stock. The association flourished until the hard 
times came on, when it was thought advisable by the board of direct- 
ors to wind iij) the affairs as soon as possible, which has accordingly 
been done, excepting as to a few matters that are in litigation in 
the supreme court, in one of which, being the Smythe case, the 
constitutionality of the law under which such associations are organ- 
ized has been attached. This case was once decided adverselv to the 



HKKJKAl'llirAI. SKKTCIIKS. 



association, but a re-hearing \vas granted. These associations have 
been successful in other states, particularly in Pennsylvania and Ohio, 
and are claimed to be very beneficial to communities. There have 
been no losses by the stockholders in Monticello, and probably some 
money will be made. At present there are twelve stockholders. 



CHAPTKK XII. 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH KS. 

MR. THOMAS ATER was born in Loudoun county. Virginia, in 
1795. When but seven years old his father's family emigrated 
to Pickaway county, Ohio. After reaching the Ohio river they went 
down the stream in a "bitter-head" boat, and while on this voyage 
young Thomas came near losing his life ; he fell overboard, and the 
folks had given him up just as his head appeared above the surface of 
the water, when an older brother seized him by the hair and dragged 
him into the boat. When seventeen years of age Thomas took the 
place of a brother who had been drafted in the war of 1812, and 
served throughout the entire war. He was under Gen. Harrison at 
Tippecanoe, and for his services in the war received a land warrant for 
160 acres of land, but never received any benefit from the warrant. 
His wife, though, through the efforts of their son Edward, made use of 
the warrant after Mr. Ater's death. Mr. Thomas Ater, and Elizabeth 
Brown, who was born in Delaware iii 1795, were united in marriage 
in l!Sl'->. Of their five children, who were boi*n in Ohio, Edward was 
born in 1X15; Solomon, in 1S17; Willis, in 1819; Celia. in 18iM ; 
and -lohn, in 182?>. On October 11, 1827, Mr. Ater, with his family, 
started for Illinois. They readied Vermilion county the same month, 
and camped out until a homestead was procured. After living in 
Vermilion county eleven years, the entire family moved to what is 
now Piatt county, and settled near the Willow Branch. Mr. Ater 
died in 1S52, and was buried near his last home. His faithful wife 
survived him many years, but died in 1877, and was buried beside her 
husband. A gentleman who was a resident of the county when Mr. 
Ater lived here, savs of him : "' lie was a tall, well-made man. 



252 HISTORY OK 1MATT COUNTY. 

Though uneducated, he had a fine mind, was an excellent fanner, and 
was noted far and near for his genial hospitality." 

MB. EDWARD ATKR was born in 1815 in Pickaway county, Ohio. 
When about twelve years old he moved with his parents to Vermilion 
county, Illinois. In 1838 he came to Piatt county to close up" a 
contract for land, which his father had made. Upon reaching the 
county Edward expected to spend the first night at Mr. Clover's, but 
upon arriving there found the family all sick with the ague. He next 
went to Mr. Reber's, to find the same disease in the household. At 
Mr. "West's he also found all sick, and when he reached the Piatt 
cabin Mr. Piatt had the typhoid fever, but a night's lodging was 
secured. This incident serves as but an illustration of what the early 
settlers suffered from the then prevalent malarial diseases. When Mr. 
Ater's family moved into Willow Branch township the following 
persons were residing there : Emanuel Clover, Washington Zinii, 
John Sea, Thomas Henderson, John West, .James Reber, William 
Pratt, John Moore, Mr. Shunian, Mr. Widich and Mr. Dillow. Mr. 
Edward Ater gfid Lydia Greene were married in 1837. They had four 
children, two of whom were girls and died quite young. William 
Ater served four years in the late war, and died at thirty-six years of 
age, when on his way home from Missouri. Frank still lives in Piatt 
county. Mrs. Lydia Ater died in 1857, and Mr. Ater took as his 
second wife Margaret Cramer, of Ladoga, Indiana. Mr. Ater taught 
the first school in Willow Branch township, and was the second sheriff 
of the county, serving four years, and never drew any fee for his 
services. In 184:6 he moved to Urban a, and while there served as 
county judge four years, and was also Mayor of Urbana four years. 
In 1871 he moved back to Monticello, and has since resided here. 
Mr. Ater is the only one of his father's family now living. 

MR. FRANK ADKINS, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, and has 
been in Piatt county for many years. He was married to Mrs. H. 
Harris nee Nancy Jones in 1860. She is a native of Kentucky, her 
parents were of English and Irish descent. Mrs. Adkins married her 
first husband, Chas. W. Harris, a native of Virginia, and they moved to 
this county in the summer of 184-4. He died of lung fever in 1858. 
They had four children: Martha P., who is the wife of L. W. Patter- 
son, lives in Manhattan, Kansas, where they have lived for nearly eight 
years; William T. is a druggist, lives in Solomon, Kansas, and 
married Miss Hannah Rodgers ; Fannie is the wife of Martin Fogle- 
song, and has four children, Eloise, Charlie, Daisy and Frank; they live 



I'.IOIJKAIMIICAI. SKKTCHKS. j?,>:> 

in Champaign ; Edward lives on the home place, married Jane Perse 1, 
and has three children, Grace, Nannie and Charles. Nannie C. 
and her husband live on their farm near Abilene, Kansas. I>. F. is 
at home. 

REV. GKORUK S. ALEXANDER was born July 10, 1832, in Cumber- 
land, Rhode Island. His youth was spent on a farm, and in a woolen 
factory, and his education was obtained in Rhode Island. He was 
married first on Cape Cod, March 11, 1856; again at Philo, Illinois, 
September 20, 1877, and has six children. Mr. Alexander has been a 
Methodist minister for number of years, arid the last three years have 
been spent in doing most excellent work in the Monticello Methodist 
church. A short time ago he removed to Nebraska, where he is pastor 
of the Methodist Episcopal church of Syracuse, and editor of the Syra- 
cuse Journal, a weekly republican paper. Mrs. Alexander and Mr. 
Arthur Alexander gained quite a reputation as artists in the vicinity of 
Monticello, where they had a painting class during their stay here. 

MR. SAMUEL ALLERTON, of Chicago, is the largest land-holder of 
Piatt county. He owns 7,100 acres of land, most of which he has 
improved. Three houses have been erected on the land, a cut of 
one of which appears in this book. Mr. Allerton is quite an advocate 
of tiling, having had some fifteen miles of the same put in in 1882. 
In attempting to have an artesian well at Allerton Station, a well 286 
feet deep was bored, which is the deepest well in the county. Some 
seven hundred head of cattle are fattened and. sold each year from 
Mr. Allerton's farms. Mr. Allerton has traveled a great deal and his 
verdict is that nowhere in the old or new world has he found agricul- 
tural land surpassing that of Piatt county. 

Mit. JOHN AUNDT is of German descent and is u native of Pennsyl- 
vania. He moved from Pennsylvania to Ohio, and thence to Illinois. 
His father and mother came with him and lived in this county until 
their death, which occurred in 1807 and about 1865 respectively. After 
coming to this county Mr. Arndt married Mrs. Fannie Boyer. Her 
first husband, Mr. William Boyer, died leaving two children, George, 
who is now married and living in Champaign county, and Alice, who 
married Mr. A. Lord and lives in Sangamon township. They have 
four children, Frank, Fannie, Willie, and a babe. Mrs. Arndt died 
about 1803. leaving one child, Hattie. who still makes her home with 
her father. Part of her time, however, is spent in school teaching. 
Mr. Arndt was married the second time in 1867, to Mrs. Eliza Miller 
nee Eliza J. Graham. She was a native of Kentucky, and was married 



254- HISTORY UK IMA'IT rolNTY. 

in that state in 1852, to Mr. James Miller, a school teacher. They 
moved to Monticello, Illinois, in 1852, and after one year's residence 
there moved to Mr. George Hover's place near Centerville, where they 
lived until Mr. Miller was elected county clerk, when they moved to 
Monticello and lived till Mr. Miller's death in 1859. Mr. Wilson Cox 
finished out Mr. Miller's unexpired term as county clerk. Mr. Miller 
taught school several terms after coming to the county. He taught one 
term in the first school-house in Monticello. Two of Mr. Miller's 
children are now living. William A. Miller was married in May, 1881, 
to Ella Norris. He has taught quite a number of schools in this 
county, but at present is in a clothing store in Monticello. Miss 
Adeline is unmarried and lives at home. 

Ireland is MK. JAMKS ALLMAN'S native 1 country. When but fifteen 
years old he moved from the southwestern part of the county of Kerry 
and landed in Piatt county in 1854. The sailing vessel in which they 
came over was wrecked near Nantucket Island. It struck some rocks 
and got fast on a sand-bar. No lives were lost but all the merchandise 
was unloaded. Two tugs succeeded in pulling the vessel into safe waters 
again. For eight and a half days the crew were apportioned one and a 
half pints of waterfor both drinking and cooking purposes. Two of Mr. 
Allman's brothers were already in America. Patrick was educated for a 
priest in Dublin, Ireland. lie died in Piatt county without fulfilling 
the mission for which he was educated. John Allman was married, in 
Ireland, to llonora Cronan. After her death John went west and is 
supposed to be dead. His daughter, Mary, is keeping house for Mr. 
Edward Allman, who came to America at the time Mr. James Allman 
did, and who now lives on a fine farm in Monticello township. Mr. 
Allman's sister, Catharine, married Mr. Amos Stout, a farmer in I>e- 
ment township. They have four children. For three years after coming 
to Piatt county Mr. James Allman worked on Mr. Calefs place; then 
for four or five years he worked for Mr. John Piatt. lie soon bought 
240 acres of land of Mr. James Bryden. To this amount of land he next 
added 360 acres which he bought of Mr. James Johnson. I le also bought 
land of Mr. M. T. Scott, and some railroad land. lie bought a portion of 
the farm he now lives on of Mr. (ieorge Campbell. In 1877 Mr. All- 
man married Miss Anna McSheffry. a native of Pennsylvania, but who 
at that time was a resident of Champaign county. She graduated at 
St. Mary's, Indiana, after an attendance of six years. They have had 
three children : Mary, Agnes C. and Margaret. Mr. James Allman 
is an example of what can be done by perseverance and hard work. 



UKKJUAPIIirAI. SKKTCIIKS. 255 

All that hi 1 has he made by sheer hard labor. He is a gentleman who 
is held in high esteem by the church and all his neighbors. 

Mi;. WILLIAM ANDKKSO.V, fanner. Monticello, is ;i native of Ohio. 
In <1 850 he moved to Illinois and has lived in the county ever since, 
lie was married in 1X54, to .lane Brady, and has had sixteen children, 
thirteen of whom are living. Joseph is now in Kansas. Charlotte is 
the wife of Mr. Perry Dewees, of Goose Creek township. The names 
of the other children are Alice, Melissa, George, Henry, Samuel, 
Martin, Delilah, Peter. William, Sarah and Ollie. Mr. Anderson 
went to the army, from Piatt county, in QJL A, 107th 111. reg., and re- 
mained ten months ; most of this time was spent in the hospital. He 
was on duty but a short time and never shot off a gun. He stood guard 
with one once which was tilled with mud. 

MR. It. T. AYKK, of the firm of It. T. Ayre A: 1 5 ro., butcher, Mon- 
ticello. is a native of England. He came to America when eight years 
old and located in Illinois, coming to Piatt county in 1873. At that 
time he located in Monticello, where he owns a residence, a business 
house and three acres of ground. He was married in July. 1870, to 
Delia Hay, and has had six children: Charles ()., John ('., Annie, 
Lizzie. Richard and Golde. 

MK. JOHN V. AYUK, of the firm It. T. Ayre & Bro., came in Novem- 
ber 1878, to Monticello. He was married October 8, 1871, to Bettie 
Ogden. and has one son, .Jonas. 

MK. AY 1 1. MAM BAKXKS (deceased) was born in 1792, and in 1813 
married Sarah Marquiss, who was born in 1794. In 1833 they, with 
their family, moved to Piatt county from Ohio, and lived through the 
first winter in a little cabin near Monticello. During the winter Mr. 
Barnes built a cabin northwest of Monticello, on the place where Mr. 
Woolington now lives, and in the spring of 1834 the family moved 
onto this farm. Of their children only two are now living in this 
county. Abraham died at the age of two years. Henry was born in 
ixio, and in 1840 married Sarah Ann Norris. They had six children, 
two of whom are now living. William Harrison (or ''Tip"") was 
married about 1878, to Catharine Hoover and now lives in Monticello. 
Ann married Hiram Smock. Susan Barnes, who was born in 1817, 
married Nicholas Devore (see account of Mr. Woolington). Elizabeth 
married Mayhew Stewart in 1837. They lived in \Yillo\v Branch 
township for a time and then moved to Sangamoii township. Mr. 
Stewart died then- and his widow afterward married Solomon Osburn. 
She died in the same neighborhood. Mr. and Mrs. Stewart had four 



256 HISTORY OF IT ATT COUNTY. 

children, two of whom died when young. Sarah married Frank 
Brady and moved to Kansas, where she died, leaving two children. 
Levi Stewart was in Jacksonville when last heard from. Sarah Louisa 
was born in 1820. She was married to Samuel Morain while he held 
the office of sheriff. After his term of office ended they moved to 
what is now the poor farm. Their next move was to Monticello, 
where Mr. Morain engaged in the mercantile business. After Mr. 
Morain's death Mrs. Morain lived for several years on Goose Creek,, 
and then moved to Monticello, where she and her one living child, 
Eva R., now reside. Johri-^Earquiss Barnes married Nancy Winsted. 
He now lives in Neosho county, Kansas, and has three children living. 
William Mills Barnes married Ellen Tulley, who died leaving five- 
children. He is now living in Kansas. Caroline Barnes married M. 
P. Winsted and is living in Barton county, Missouri. They have three 
children, all married. Jemima Barnes died at the age of eighteen. 

MR. JOHX BARNES (deceased) was born July 1, 1823, in Ohio. He 
came to Piatt county in 1833, and on October 15, 1846, was united in 
marriage to Martha M.. Philippe, who was born January 12, 1828. 
Seven of their eight children are still living. Hannah R. married Mr. 
John W. Fitzwater December 19, 186T, and one of their three children, 
Emma M., is living. Mr. Fitzwater died March 19, 1873. Mary E. 
was married in September, 1882, to Mr. C. F. Chamberlain. Ellen 
married James Fitzwater February 25, 1873. George A. Barnes 
married Sadie A. Hiatt July 4, 1877. They have had two children, 
Alta J. and Maud M.. who died recently. Joseph L. Barnes is now 
in the railroad office at Mansfield. John G. Barnes is a member of 
the class of '83 in the Monticello High School. Etta is also in school. 
We subjoin the following from Mr. Barnes' obituary: u Died, Febru- 
ary 4, 1871, at his residence near Centerville, Mr. John Barnes, aged 
forty -eight years. He emigrated to this state when the country was 
new and sparsely settled. Hence, during his residence here, he became 
identified with the growing interests of the country, more especially 
with his immediate locality. Having a progressive spirit, he took an 
active interest in all measures that pertained to the welfare of the 
community, and in this particular his counsel was often obtained. As 
a citizen he was peaceable, and sought to allay all disturbing elements 
that threatened peace and harmony.- Quiet and unostentatious in his 
movements, never seeking to make a display, or to gain a conspicuous 
elevation, and somewhat distrustful of his own powers ; yet when the 
right had to be maintained in opposition to error, he never faltered for 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 257 

a moment, but perse veringly pursued the path of duty. In his com- 
mercial relations he was prompted by the principles of moral upright- 
ness and integrity of purpose. Among all with whom he mingled he 
was distinguished by honesty and truthfulness. Pie was an instance 
of God's noblest work, 'an honest man.' He cultivated moral senti- 
ment and was a regular attendant at church and the Sabbath school. 
Being a man of musical talent he invariably conducted the singing. 
He took an interest in inviting ministers to his neighborhood, and his 
home was often their abode during their transient visits. By his per- 
severing industry he amassed considerable wealth, arid was liberal with 
his means. The various objects of charity and the general enterprises 
of Christianity were fully met. He was kind and indulgent to his 
family, and sought to render the home circle desirable and happy. He 
had recently built a handsome brick residence, and everything that 
contributed to make home a loved retreat flowed in uninterrupted 
harmony. The surroundings were pleasant and highly attractive. To 
all appearances he had reached the summit of earthly ambitions. But 
in the midst of this tide of social prosperity he was suddenly called to 
cross 'death's shadowy valley.' His sickness was of short duration, 
during which time he gave the future some consideration. When 
asked by a friend in regard to his preparation for death, he answered : 
'That is all settled ; my mind is perfectly clear.' His funeral was 
attended by the largest assemblage convened here on a like occasion. 
Mind possesses the mysterious power of assimulation, and may the 
surviving emulate his virtues, revere his memory, and cherish his rich 
legacy of an unsullied character. 

MR. SAMUEL BENDER, merchant, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, 
who came to Piatt county, Illinois, in 1842. His parents, Mr. and 
Mrs. John Bender, with their family, settled in Monticello at this time 
and lived for awhile in the Piatt cabin. But two of their five child ren r 
Samuel and Jerry, are now living. Henry Bender, who married 
Mary Ann Barnes, died leaving one son, John Bender, now living in 
Goose Creek township. Harriet, who first married James Campbell 
and then A. J. Wiley, is now dead. Ann, who married James 
Jacobs, is also dead. Mr. Samuel Bender owns several hundred acres 
of land in Goose Creek township, which he has improved himself, and a 
business residence and five lots in Monticello. He married Elizabeth 
Marquiss in 1846. She died in six years, leaving one daughter, Effie, 
who died January 10, 1869, being stricken down in the very bloom of 
her young womanhood. In 1853 Mr. Bender was united in marriage 
17 



258 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

to Rebecca Rea, who died in California in 1877, leaving six children. 
Of these, Ida is the wife of L. M. Taylor, of Monticello, and has two 
children, Roy and Ethyl ; Bertie is the wife of J. J. Hobson, of 
California, and has two children. The names of the other children 
are Will, Dick, Louise B. and S. R. In July, 1882, Mr. Bender and 
Inez Jamison were united in marriage. Within the last decade Mr. 
Bender has been to California several times, having lived there in all 
seven years. 

MR. JERRY BENDER, merchant, Monticello, came to this county 
from Ohio, his native state, in 1842, and has resided here ever since, 
having been in business at Monticello for at least twenty-four years. 
He owns his present store building, a residence, and over one block in 
Monticello. Mr. Bender was married about 1860, to Miss M. J. 
Moffitt, who died in June, 1872, leaving two children Charles, now 
in Idaho, and Annie, who is in Colorado. 

Mr. L. J. BOND, Monticello, is a native of West Virginia, from 
which state he mo\ed to Indiana in 1849. He remained in that state 
at Wabash and Lafayette until 1854, when he came to Piatt county, 
and in 1856 located in Monticello, where he still resides, owning 44 
acres of land just outside of the city limits, and one of the most 
attractive residences of the vicinity. He was married October 25, 
1849, to Margaret V. Bond, and has had eleven children, six of whom 
are now living. Lona is the wife of Mr. P. Keenan, of Monticello. 
Oswick is quite a musician, and. has traveled a good deal over the 
United States. Bert, Ada, Lena and Louis are at home. Alice died 
at the age of fourteen. Mr. Bond was supervisor of Monticello town- 
ship ten or twelve years, has held several local offices, was circuit 
clerk two terms, and was a member of the legislature one term. He 
belongs to the Masonic lodge, blue lodge, chapter, council and com- 
mandery, of Decatur. At present Mr. Bond is connected with railroad 
business, and, though he is from home a great deal, we count him one 
of our most earnest and worthy citizens. 

Mr. JOHN BRITTON (deceased) was a native of Pennsylvania. He 
married Miss Jane Graham, a native of Ohio, and for ten years, 
until 1846, made that state his home. They then moved near 
Monticello, Illinois, on a farm, where they remained until the death 
of Mr. Britton in 1856. Two children survived him. Wm. J. 
Britton married Miss Laura Dyer and at present is living in Monti- 
cello. They have had four children, two of whom, J^ellie and Willie, 
are living. Johnny, the eldest of the family, showed remarkable 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 259 

artistic and mechanical talent for one so young. Mr. Britton has 
been road commissioner of Monticello township for nine years. He 
is school director at present, and reports the Monticello schools in a 
good condition, financially. Mr. Britton is a member of the Masonic 
lodge 58, A. F. and A. M., Markwell chapter 48, R. A. M., Monti- 
cello council No. 48, and the Urbana commandery No. 16. Miss Ella 
Britton married Dr. Noecker, a resident physician of Monticello. 
Mrs. Britton remained a widow until December, 1879, when she 
married Mr. David P. Bunn, a Universalist minister of Decatur, 
Illinois. He has been a resident of that city for a number of years. 
He used to preach quite frequently in this county, and from the 
time Mr. Britton first settled near Monticello, made his home a 
stopping place. 

Mr. JOHN A. BETTTENHAM (deceased) was born in Ross county, 
Ohio. His mother was a native of Maryland. Both parents remained 
in Ohio until their death. Mr. Brittenham received a common 
education in Ohio and came to Illinois about 1839 or 1840. He 
settled near Naples, and while there he entered the Illinois conference 
and began preaching on the Pontiac .circuit. His second circuit 
included Monticello. During this second appointment he was married, 
in 1840, -to Miss Martha Harshbarger, of Pittsburg, Indiana. After 
his marriage he traveled on various circuits, including that of McLean 
and Carlinville, but finally in 1851 located in Monticello, Illinois. 
While located here he dealt in real estate for a time. He built some 
fifteen or twenty houses in the town. After dealing for a time in 
real estate he farmed awhile and then went into merchandise. He 
had just gone out of this business at the time of his -death, May 28, 
1872. His death was quite sudden. In the morning of May 28, he 
had been preparing some horse medicine. Just a little while before 
he died he went into the kitchen at his home and asked for his sons, 
remarking that lie thought he was going to die. In spite of all efforts 
to save him, he died in a very short time. Mr. Brittenham belonged 
to the I.O.O.F. lodge, and was an honored and respected citizen. His 
first wife died in 1857. Two of her children are still living. Chas. 
K. Brittenham is married, has one child, and is a merchant at or near 
Pontiac. Win. R. married Ellen Emig in 1880. They have one child. 
Wrn. li. Brittenham Is living in Monticello and farming. Mr. John 
Brittenham, the principal subject of this sketch, was married in 1858 
to Sarah J. Funk, of Heyworth, McLean county, Illinois. She is 
still living and at present resides in the same house in Monticello 



260 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

in which she went to housekeeping. She has four children living, 
John Richard and Thomas L., who are both farming, and Allen O. 
and Sarah J., who are both at home. His sister, Mrs. Howes, in 
speaking of Mr. Brittenham, says that he was always of a religious 
turn of mind and united with the church when about seventeen years 
old. He was made class-leader in Ohio when eighteen years old, 
began his work as a local preacher in Illinois about 1 839, and in 1 S43 
joined the Illinois conference. 

MR. REUBEN BOWMAN'S life began July 4, 1806, in Pennsylvania, 
in which state he remained until he was ten years of age. His parents, 
Peter and Christina (Fagley) Bowman, died in Ohio, the one near 
seventy years of age and the other eighty-eight years old. They had 
a family of fourteen children, of which Reuben is the youngest and the 
only one living. Some of the children lived to be ninety years old. 
His father was in the revolutionary war and three of his brothers were 
in the war of 1812. He started to the Mexican war, but returned. 
When the late war began, he went out for over a year, until he was 
crippled by the falling of his horse. After leaving the army he lost the 
use of one of his eyes. Major Bowman had three sons and almost a 
whole company of nephews in the rebellion. Mr. Bowman was 
married in 1832, to Miss Sarah Bradley, who died in 1874. Their 
daughter, Samantha, died after her marriage to John Albert. One of 
their children is now married and living in Champaign county. Julia 
Bowman married Mr. G. M. Bmffitt and lives in Mansfield. They 
have three children. Harriet was married to Mr. David Robinson. 
They have no children. Mary Bowman is still living at home, while 
George is also at Monticello. Both of his wives are dead. Two of his 
children are living. John Bowman is married, has four children, and 
is living in Bates county, Missouri. Milton Bowman died in Piatt 
county in 1876, while his brother, James K. P., died in Missouri. 
Harrison Bowman is married, has several children, and is living in 
Shelby county. Major Reuben Bowman has lately received a pension, 
and, with at least a portion of this, has purchased property just south 
of the fair grounds. During the summer of 1881 he put up quite a 
nice frame residence on the place. The major doubtless expects to take 
comfort in his old days. 

MR. JAMES BROWN (deceased) came from Virginia to Piatt county 
November IB, 1857, and bought a farm on Goose Creek of Dr. Hull. 
He lived on the farm at the time of his death, October 22, 1878. lie 
was married in 1844. to Margaret A. Hull, a graduate of the Kalorama 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 261 

Seminary in Stanton, Virginia. Several of their children were born in 
Virginia. Belle was married September 1, 1869, to James A. Shepherd 
and has one child. Bettie was married July 3, 1873, to Joseph M. 
Woolington and has three children. Emma is the wife of Mr. Joseph 
H. Ran kin. Mollie was married November 30, 1880, to Robert Hays. 
J. Hull Brown was a promising young man who attended school at 
Lebanon and at Ann Arbor. He taught school for several years in the 
county. He died January 21, 1879. Lucy was married February 8, 
1876, to Rufus C. Gordon. Ada E. was married March 14, 1878, to 
Ellis Reed. Floyd F., Clara M. and Olive F. are still at home with 
Mrs. Brown, who now lives in Monticello. 

MK. JEREMIAH BAKER, farmer and stock-raiser, Monticello, is a 
native of Pickaway county, Ohio. His parents were natives of Ohio, 
and died there. He came directly from Ohio to Piatt county in 1843. 
He immediately entered 700 acres of land, one mile north of Milmine. 
David Kuns now lives on the place. Mr. Baker improved 400 acres, 
besides two other farms ; 400 acres where Jesse Yoakum lives, two 
hundred of which was bought of Gov. Oglesby, and one which he sold 
to Samuel Allerton. His nearest neighbors were three miles distant. 
In 1854 Mr. Baker lodged part of the surve} ors of the Wabash road. 
Deer were quite plenty then, and even after he had been there a year, 
one morning he counted sixteen walking off his wheat. He moved 
from where Mr. Kuns lives to where Jesse Yoakum lives, and re- 
remained there during the war ; then bought the Suver farm, now owned 
by Mr. Allerton. He traded that for property in Decatur, and moved 
there for two years, when he came to Monticello, and has recently 
built a nice house on one of the most desirable lots in town. Mr. 
Baker is a member of the Masonic lodge of Decatur. Mrs. Baker nee 
Jane Ater was born in Ross county, Ohio. Her parents were 
natives of that state and she was the eldest of ten children. Mr. 
Bakers father was in the war of 1812, and the Black Hawk war. 
While in the war of 1812, was taken sick and brought home in a 
litter carried by two horses. He never did a day's work afterward, 
and though he had a pension offered him, would not accept it, some 
$4,000 coming to him. 

MR. HARRISON BARTLEY. a farmer in Monticello township, began 
his worldly career in 1808, in the State of Ohio. He is of German 
descent and his parents were from Virginia. He was married in 1835, 
to Elizabeth Newhouse, who was born in 1816, in Pickaway county, 
her husband's native county. Her father was a private in the war of 



262 HISTORY OF PIA1T COUNTY. 

1812. (Mr. and Mrs. Bartley lived in Pickaway county until 1868^ 
when they moved to Piatt county, Illinois. They have six- children 
living and three dead. Edward Bartley married Sarah Fry and 
is a farmer in Sangamon township. They have six children living : 
Lucy, Elmer, Clinton, John, Will and Claude. JSarah Bartley 
married John Hildinger. At the time of his death, they, with their 
two children, Delia and William, were living at Deeatur. Mrs. Hild- 
inger married Mr. R. Williams, and is now living in Monticello town- 
ship. They have three children : Winnie, Olive, and Maud. Mr. 
Williams had been married before and had one child, Harry. Catha- 
rine Bartley married Mr. Jacob McLain, and with her two children, 
William and Ella May, lives in Monticello township. Louis Bartley 
married Miss A. Coon, and they, with their children, Charles and Fan? 
nie, live in Sangamon township. Nelson Bartley married .Emma 
Coon and lives in Monticello township. They have two children, 
Nellie Myrtle and a babe. Lemuel Bartley is a farmer in Ohio, while 
his brother Reuben is a farmer at home. Two of Mr. Hartley's family 
who died reached the age of maturity. Ella married Abraham Long 
and at her death left four children. William was twenty-four yeara 
old when he died. Benjamin died in Ohio. 

MR. ALEXANDER GEORGE BOYER, Monticello, was born in Ohio, 
August 5, 1825. His parents were natives of Pennsylvania. His 
father kept hotel in Ohio. His mother's death occurred in January^ 
1875. Mr. A. G. Boyer was married in this county in 1849, to 
Hannali Duckett, of Butler county, Ohio. They had eight children: 
Lenora, who died when a babe ; Olive, who is at home ; Frank, dead ; 
James, living at home ; Dolly, Marti ia and Douglas are dead ; and 
Berta, who is at home. Mr. Boyer attended business and law college 
in Chicago, previous to his marriage, and taught school several terms 
in this county. At one time he lived on a farm. He belonged to the 
Masonic lodge of Monticello, and died April 11, lsi;s. 

Mu. WILLIAM BAKI.OW. carpenter. Monticello. is a native of Ver- 
mont, from which state lie moved to New York. From there lie 
moved to Ohio, and in 1854 came to Monticello. He \vas married in 
1S42, to Marietta Stecley. They have four children living in the 
county. Eli/a, who married Mr. Norforth. lives in Monticello. and 
has two children. Frank, Cyrus and Ada are at home. 

ME. JONATHAN BKTTS is a native of Ross county, Ohio, lie camo 
with teams from Pickaway count} 7 , Ohio, to Piatt county, in 1856. 
After coming to this place, he first worked on a farm for Mr. William 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 263 

H. Piatt, and has followed farming most of the time since. He was in 
the late war from 1862 to June 1865. He went in Co. F, 2d 111. Cav., 
and was in the battles of Hollow Springs, Mississippi, and Sabiiie Cross 
Roads. He was wounded in the hand and face, but was never taken 
prisoner. 

DR. EDWARD BLACKSHAW, dentist, is a native of Staffordshire, Eng- 
land, and came to America about 1 852, and was in Wisconsin until 1858, 
when he moved to Urbana, which has since been his home. He obtained 
his dental education at Fond clu Lac, Wisconsin, with Dr. J. R. Cole, 
has followed this business while in Urbana, and since 1862 has made 
professional visits monthly to Monticello. At present, and for some 
time since, these visits have been made the first Monday and Tuesday 
of each month. For a time he was with Dr. Coleman, but of late years, 
and in general, has been with Dr. Noecker. Dr. Blackshaw was mar- 
ried in England in 1852, to Elizabeth Jones, when after three days of 
married life he came to America, leaving his wife, who followed the 
next spring. She died May 7, 1881. He recently married a Mrs. 
Strachan, of Urbana. Dr. Blackshaw's trips to Monticello have been 
made overland. He used to travel most of the way across open prai- 
rie, has several times been mired in the swamps, and once his horse 
had to swim a slough. At one time he was lost in a rain-storm. It 
was often his experience to come through severe storms, and all for the 
sake of u teething" people. Dr. Blackshaw was the first dentist in this 
part of the state to introduce artificial dentures on rubber, the work pre- 
viously having been done on gold and silver. 

MR. D. S. BOND, farmer, is a native of Virginia, and moved from 
there to Indiana about 18-t7, then came to Champaign county about 1851, 
and to Piatt county about 1852. He owns 160 acres of land, which he has 
improved himself. Mr. Bond was married about 1859, to Mary Gates, 
and has had ten children, of whom eight are now living: Edwin, 
Albert, Earnest, Lillie, Florence, Charlie, Irving and IS r ellie. After 
traveling in the north and west, he returned to Piatt county, satis- 
fied this place is the best for a home. He has held some township 
offices. 

MR. O. P. Brsn, carpenter, Monticello, was born in 1829, in Ohio. 
He moved from his native state to Illinois in 18o6, and on the 2ith of 
January, 1853, located in Monticello, where he now owns one house 
and two lots, lie was married in 1851, to Barbara J. Clark, and has 
had four children, three of whom are living. Wm. J. married Miss 
L. J. Kendel, and has one child, Mabel. Maria J. married James 



264 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Graham, and, with one child, lives in Champaign county. Charles W. 
Bush is at home. 

MR. WILLIAM BEATTIE, Monticello, is a native of Dumfriesshire, 
Scotland. He was born in 1808, came to Canada in 1827, thence to 
New York in 1835, and to Piatt county in 1864. He was married in 
Canada in 1833, to Jeannet Hudgert, who died in 1874. Mr. Beattie 
has three children living. Kate, who is the wife of Mr. Brown, a native 
of Scotland, was married in New York city in 1864, and came to this 
county with her parents, Mr. Brown following the next year. They 
moved from Quincy here in May, 1866, and have six children: William, 
Robert. Nettie, James, Charles and Katie. William Beattie is now in 
California, and James lives in Piatt county. William Beattie paid a 
short visit to Scotland in 1879, but had no desire to remain. 

MR. J. BOHN, druggist, Monticello, is a native of Germany, and 
came to America in 1847. In 1860 he came to Illinois and in 1867 
located in Monticello. He studied chemistry at the Illinois State Uni- 
versity and attended a course of medical lectures at Keokuk, Iowa. He 
went into partnership in drugs with Mr. Van Gundy in 1878, and still 
remains with him. Mr..Bohn was lately elected a member of the 
school board, and already shows himself a proficient worker for the 
interest of the city schools. 

MR. JOHN BECK, harness-maker, Monticello, is a native of Ireland, 
from which country he came to America in 1847. He moved from 
Ohio to Monticello in 1875. He was married in 1851, to Lucy M. 
Bond, who died in Monticello in December, 1881. His daughter May 
was a music teacher in Monticello for some time. Mr. Beck went to 
the army from New Jersey in Co. E of the 1st N. J. Lt. Art. He was 
in the engagements at Drury's Bluff and at Richmond. 

MR. G. A. BURGESS, superintendent of schools, is a native of Iowa. 
His parents died when he was quite young and he returned to Illinois 
in 1866 to make his home with his uncle. Mr. Burgess left the farm 
in 1876, graduating at the State Normal School in 1878. He owns a 
farm of 120 acres in Bement township, which he has improved, in 
addition to his residence property in Monticello. He was married in 
1874, to Jane Conoway and has three children, Louis, Fred and an 
infant. Mr. Burgess was in the Monticello schools three years, two of 
which he was principal. For the last year he has successfully held the 
position of superintendent of schools. 

MR. C. BULLA, confectioner, Monticello, is a native of Wayne 
county, Indiana, which place he still calls home. He came to Piatt 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 266 

county in 18T7, and for two years was in the drug store with W. H. 
Reese, after which time he went into business for himself. 

MK. EZRA CLINE (deceased) was a native of Ohio. His father 
moved from Ohio to a farm on Stringtown Lane about 1839. He had 
been married four times. The subject of our sketch had three brothers 
and four sisters, all of whom are dead now. John, Jacob and David 
died in this county. Jacob left two children, one of whom is still liv- 
ing on the home place. John left six children. Ezra Cline's half- 
brother Samuel lives in Warren county, Illinois ; Martin died in the 
Andersonville prison ; Simeon lives in Missouri ; Reuben is married 
and lives in Piatt county. Ezra Cline was married in 1854, to Mrs. 
Willis Ater nee Eliza Williams, a native of Indiana. After her first 
husband's death she went home to live with her father, who died in 
one month after Mr. Ater's decease. Five of Mr. Cline's children are 
living. John T. is in the sheep business in Uvalde county, Texas ; 
Jacob C. was married in 1881, to Amanda Class, and lives on the Cline 
place ; Sarepta C. was married in July, 1879, to Cyrus Peck, and lives 
in Willow Branch township; Joseph D. and Mary M. still live at 
home. Mr. Cline died in 1877, and his widow still owns the home 
place. 

DR. NELSON G. COFFIN is of English descent, and was born in 
North Carolina in 1820. When he was but two years old his people 
moved to Vermilion county, Indiana. He moved to Piatt county, 
Illinois, in 1847. Two of his sisters and one brother are still living. 
In the spring of 1848 Dr. Coffin married Ptuebe D. Johnson, who was 
a native of Rhode Island, and who came to Piatt county about 1847. 
After their marriage they settled in Monticello, and this has been the 
doctor's home ever since. Mrs. Coffin died in 1857. Of the three 
children which blessed their union, but one is living, Eugene, who is 
unmarried and at present (1881) is in Kansas City, in the Western 
Union telegraph office. He gained a portion of his education at Jack- 
sonville, Illinois. Dr. Coffin obtained hie medical education at the 
Medical College of Ohio, in Cincinnati. He studied in the regular 
school. He began his practice in Vermilion county, Indiana, in 1843, 
and remained there until his settlement in Piatt county. His early 
practice extended all over this county and ofttimes beyond its limits. 
He, in common with other early physicians in the county, suffered 
many inconveniences in traveling over the almost roadless country, 
which was traversed by swollen streams and covered with swampy 
ponds. Dr. Coffin was in the army from August, 1862, until July, 1865. 



HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

He was assistant surgeon in the 107th "111. reg. and spent most of his 
time in hospitals. He was at the battle of Franklin, Tennessee, and 
at Nashville. During the year of 1881 Dr. Coffin changed his old 
office for a more commodious one of brick. This office, within half a 
block of the public square in Monticello, is quite a place of resort, both 
for his business and his social friends. 

MR. ABNER CONNER (deceased), stock buyer and dealer, Monticello, 
was born in West Virginia. His parents were natives of Virginia, and 
moved from there to Ohio, and thence to Piatt county in 1851. Mr. 
Conner was married in 1840, to Rachel Motherspaw, and moved onto 
the farm now owned by Col. Smith. They also lived for a time on a 
part of the Allertoii farm, then moved to Monticello in 1858, into the 
house where Mrs. Conner now lives. They had eight children, four 
of whom are living. Edward was in the army, in the 10th 111. 
Cav., and died from sickness in 1862, while there, and was buried 
in Springfield, Missouri. Kate married George "Weaver and has three 
children, Maud, Edna and Nellie. Louisa is the wife of Jesse Warr 
ner and has two children, Ollie and Edward. Olive married Barnurn 
Harmon, a farmer, and lives in Champaign county ; they have two 
children. Ella is at home ; she attended school at Valparaiso, and is 
a teacher. Mr. Conner died. May 23, 1880. 

MR. JAMES CLASS' father, Barnabas Class, was a native of New 
Jersey. He" was of German descent, .lames Class was born in New 
Jersey in 1822. He was married in 1850, to Ph<eba llennion, of Mor- 
ris county, New .Jersey, and in 185.") moved to Piatt county, Illinois. 
Two of their children were born in Xe\v .lersey. Asa married Miss 
Ella Tinsman ; they have two children. Sarah married \V. (). Doo- 
ley and lives in Willow Branch township. .Jane married Michael 
Hemmings ; they have three children. Clara and Ella are unmarried 
and at home. Amanda married Mr. ("line in 1881. She and her 
sister Ella are both graduates of the Monticello high school. Willie, 
the youngest of the family, is still at home. Mr. .lames Class has 
followed blacksmithing ever since coming to Monticello. lie has held 
the offices of school director, school trustee and town marshal. He is a 
member of the Masonic lodge. 

.Jonx W. COI.KMAN, M.D., Monticello, was horn in Montgomery 
county, Ohio, January s, is.'Jl His father was a Pennsylvania!!, and 
his mother was from Maryland. Dr. Coleman received his academic 
education at Miami University, Oxford, Ohio, and at the Farmers' 
College, at College Hill. Ohio. He graduated at the latter school in 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 267 

1853, and was one of a class of twelve, among whom were AVilliam 
Penn Nixon, of the "Chicago Inter Ocean," and Hon. William P. 
Fishback, of the United States court at Indianapolis, Indiana. His 
medical education was obtained at Miami College, Cincinnati, Ohio, 
where he graduated in 1856. Upon leaving college he located at 
Leroy, McLean county, Illinois, where he practiced for a time in 
partnership with Dr. S. W. Noble, then one of the most prominent 
physicians of central Illinois. In 1860 the subject of our sketch 
moved to Montioello, where he pursued the practice of his profession 
until 1862, when ; he was commissioned as assistant surgeon in the 
army in the 41st 111., under Col. Pugh. During his three years' service 
he was with the army of the Tennessee in all its campaigns in the 
west, at the siege and final surrender of Vicksburg, with Sherman at 
Atlanta, in the march to the sea, arid the final march through the 
Carolinas- and Virginia to Washington. After the memorable grand 
review of the armies of Grant and Sherman at Washington, Dr. Cole- 
man returned home. Dr. Coleman was married at Leroy, June 8, 
1858. ; Mrs. Coleman is a native of Terre Haute, Indiana. Her 
parents; moved to Leroy about 1852. Dr. and Mrs. Coleman have had 
several children, only one of whom, Lida, has lived to reach maturity. 
Lida is a graduate of the Monticello High School, and has recently 
been attending school at College Hill, Cincinnati. Since the war Dr. 
Coleman has uninterruptedly practiced his profession in Monticello, 
and is one of our most able and worthy physicians. He owns one of 
the neatest homesteads of the city, and one needs but to glance at his 
yard in the summer time to observe that he has taste and ability in 
landscape garden ing 

Mit. WILSON F. Cox, Nashville, Missouri, was born February 28, 
1827, in Spencer county, Indiana, and removed with his parents to 
Vermilion county, Indiana, in 1831. Pie attended subscription school 
most of the- time from 1833. to 1836, after which his school days were 
restricted to from six to ten weeks per annum. By devoting most of 
his spare time to study he was enabled, at the age of nineteen, to 
obtain the position of teacher in a neighboring country school. In 
November. 1S-M>. he mounted his horse and, with his earthly 
possessions made into a small bundle, he set his face \vt -tward, and on 
the 7th arrived at "Greasy Point," four miles southwest of Mahomet, 
and near the, line between Piatt and Champaign counties. From 1850 
to 1857 he> divided his time between teaching and farming. He was 
united iu .marriage with Mrs. .lane Smith -nee Willard, on the 



268 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

23d of September, 1851. In July, 1857, he removed with his 
family to Monticello, where he was successively engaged as deputy 
recorder in the office of L. J. Bond ; circuit clerk ; clerk in the store of 
J. H. Hoi lings worth ; deputy assessor, with Mr. Win. F. Foster ; dep- 
uty sheriff, with Dr. P. K. Hull until July ^ 1859, when he was chosen 
clerk of the county court to fill vacancy caused by the death of James L. 
Miller. In December, 1861, his term of office having" expired, he 
enlisted in Co. H, 63d 111. Yol. Inf., being mustered in with the 
regiment April 10, 1862, as 2d sergeant ; was made 1st sergeant in 
June, 1862 ; 2d lieutenant April 3, 1863, and was promoted to 1st 
lieutenant February, 1864. He was mustered out of service and honora- 
bly discharged May 24, 1865. In August, 1865, he was appointed 
postmaster at Monticello, but resigned in February, 1866, and in 
the following June removed to Champaign county, and from thence 
to Barton county, Missouri, in October, 1867, where he still lives. 
His father, Jesse F. Cox, was born in North Carolina, May 11, 
1782, and removed to Madison county, Kentucky, in 1825, and in the 
following year to Spencer county, Indiana, and from thence to Vermilion 
county, Indiana, in 1831, where he died in April, 1847. His mother, 
Elizabeth Cox, whose maiden name was McLary, was, born in Clarrard 
county, Kentucky, April 1J., 1797, and married William H. Steen in 
1816, and after his decease married Jesse F. Cox in 1826. She died" in 
Missouri, in August, 1872. Mrs. Wilson Cox, nee Jane Willard, was 
born near Nashville, Tennessee, January 19, 1825. Her parents both 
died during her childhood, and in 1834 relatives took her to Johnson 
county, Indiana, thence to Vermilion county, and thence, in 1840, to 
Piatt county, Illinois ; at that time it was a part of Macon county. She 
was married in 1843, to Joshua Smith, and some years after his death 
was married to W. F. Cox. 

WILSON F. Cox, of Barton county, Missouri, in writing of his 
sojourn in Piatt county, remarked that "in 1849 the settlements were 
confined to the immediate vicinity of the timber on either side of the 
Sangamon river, very few of the farm houses being one-fourth of a 
mile from the timber line, and many people thought that the prairies 
would never be settled as far out as three or four miles. The first man 
I heard speak of settling at the Irish Grove, now the ' Uncle Tommy 
Branch farm,' was deemed a proper subject for the lunatic asylum, and 
doubtless any man who would have attempted to settle east of the Blue 
Mound would have been deemed an incurable idiot. Yet ere I left 
Piatt county farms and farm-houses dotted the broad prairie east and 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 269 

west of the Sangamon river, to and far beyond Tolono on the east, and 
to Friends creek on the west." He further says that since the close of 
the war a number of Piatt county citizens have removed to southwest 
Missouri. Among them are Charles Marquiss, of Joplin, Jasper 
county, Missouri ; John Elsea, Joseph Wright and Samuel Franklin, 
at Webb City, Jasper county, Missouri; M. P. Winstead, John Dyer, 
Henry Morain, John 8. Herron and H. .D. Moffitt, Nashville, Barton 
county, Missouri ; Braxton Acree and William Robinson, at Golden 
City, Barton county, Missouri ; Harry Hubbart, J. P. Hubbart, Jacob 
Freeman, Reuben Warner and William Motherspaw, at Carthage, 
Jasper county, Missouri; Mrs. Sarah E. Hubbart (formerly Mrs. 
J. D. Phillips) and S. S. Wimmer, at Opolis, Kansas ; James Newell, 
at Webb City, Missouri ; Mrs. Nancy Alexander (formerly Mrs. G. C. 
Anderson), and Mrs. "'Betty" Anderson, relict of John Anderson, 
and mother of Mrs. W. H. Plunk, at Nashville, Barton county, Mis- 
souri ; Frank Gulick, Preston, Jasper county; Elijah Souders, Avilla, 
Jasper county; Benjamin Bartlett, J. Collins, John Wolf and Mrs. 
William Sides (nee Elizabeth Coffman, daughter of Noah Coft'man), 
at Diamond City, Missouri ; William M. Collins, at Preston, Jasper 
county; and William S. ("Doc") Boyd, at Leroy, Barton county, Mis 
souri ; John C. Hubbart is near Bozeman, Montana, and Henry M. 
Phillips and George Fisher are near Mound City, Kansas. 

DK. J. H. CARPER, Monticello, was born in Shelby county, Ohio, 
and came with his people to Piatt county. His father, John Carper, 
came to the county in 1854, settled near Centerville, and lived there 
until his death, February 7, 1866. He was married in Ohio, to Lydia 
A. Strunk, who died leaving two children, Dr. Carper and William 
A., who lives in Crawford county, this state. Mr. Carper was married 
three times. One daughter, by his last wife, now Mrs. Alice Wrench, 
is living in the county. Dr. Carper is a graduate of the Eclectic 
Medical College, Cincinnati, and is one of our most successful phy- 
sicians. He was married June 8, 1882, to Mary II . Piatt, and resides 
in Monticello. 

MK. DANIEL CAUIJN, farmer, Monticello, a native of Ireland, came 
to America in 1854, locating in Piatt county in 1856. He owns 120 
acres of land, upon which lie has put most of the improvements. 
When he first came to the place there were no trees in sight of his 
farm, and there was not a house between the Scott farm and Sadorus'' 
Grove. Mr. Carlin went to the army from Piatt county in Co.'E of 
the 107th 111. reg.. and was in the battles of the Atlanta campaign and 



270 HISTOUY OF PI AIT COUNTY. 

those at Nashville and Franklin. He was taken prisoner by Morgan 
and retained eight months. 

MR. LAWRENCE CASEY, farmer, Monticello, was born in Ireland. 
He came from his native country to America in 1849, locating in 1855 
in Piatt county, where he has lived ever since. He owns 80 acres of 
land, which he has improved himself. 

MR. AMOS CONARD, -farmer, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, from 
which state he moved to McLean county, Illinois. He came to Piatt 
county about 1869, and now owns 160 acres of land in Monticello 
township, which he has improved. He was married in 1832, to Sarah 
Smoots, and has had eleven children, six of whom are living. Hiram 
married Dannie Gordon, has three children, Edith, Alpha and Eliza, 
arid lives on the home place. Jonah married Mary Rabb, lives in 
Missouri, and has six children. P. H. married Orrilla Davis. Frank 
married Lizzie Suver, has three children and lives in Warren county. 
John married Lena Stiles, lives near Camp creek, and has six children, 
Lulu, Grace, James, Solon, '.Joe and Amos. Eli Conard is now in 
Arizona. 

MR. P. II. CONARD, farmer, is a native of Ohio. . He came to Piatt 
county with his father about 1868. He now owns 200 acres oi land in 
Monticello township, which he has improved himself. His present 
residence was built in 1872. He was married in ' the same year to 
Orrilla Davis, and has had four children, Amos, Arthur, Frank and 
Clyde. They have an adopted' child, Annie Flynn. : 

Mr. D. G. CANTNER, express agent, Monticello, is >a native of 
Pennsylvania. Owing to losses by lire, he moved from Pennsylvania 
to Dwight, Illinois, in 1868. He lived in Winona, Streator, moved to 
Kansas, where he experienced the effects of the great grasshopper raid, 
and then in 1S74 located in Monticello as agent of the Chicago & 
Paducah railroad. In all, he has had six years of practice in tele- 
graphy, lie owns a house and one lot in Monticello. lie was 
married September 15, 1864, to Lettie M. Johnson, and has three 
children, Grace, Jennie and Charlie. Mr. Cantner, while attending 
school at Gettysburg in 1863, joined Co. C of the College Guards, 
26th P. V. V., and was under Col. Jennings. 

MR. JAMES E. CAMPBELL, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Ross 
county, Ohio. His parents were from Kentucky and Pennsylvania, 
but lived and died in Ohio. Mr. Campbell came to Sangamon county 
in 1849 and visited in Piatt county, but did not move here until 1865, 
when he settled in Sangamon township.- He moved 1 to Sangamon 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 271 

county again in 1872, and in 1881 returned to Piatt county and at 
present is living one mile east of Monticello, on the place until lately 
known as the John Piatt farm. Mr. Campbell was married in 
Sangamon county, to Nancy J. Gipson. Seven of their ten children 
are living. Mary Alice married .John Hickman ; she died leaving two 
children. Mr. Hickman married again and lives on Stringtown Lane. 
George W., butcher, married Charity Bensil, lives in Monticello, and 
has four children. Permelia Catharine, Ruth, Theodore, Emma, 
Allen, Eva and Robert are at home. Mr. James Campbell had a 
brother, Williamson Campbell, who came to Piatt county in J 847 or 
1848 and settled on what is now Sam Bender's farm. He died in this 
county in 1872. His widow is still living here. 

MR. NICHOLAS DEVORE (deceased) was born in 1808, in Ohio. He 
came to Piatt county in 1834. The first winter he was in the county 
he sawed wood for Mr. Abraham Marquiss. It was during this time 
he h'rst saw his future wife. After doing a good deal of sawing for 
various persons in the neighborhood Mr. Devore and his brother-in-law 
walked and dragged their whip-saw to Chicago. After a spell of 
sickness in the early fall he returned to Piatt county, and in December, 
1835, married Susan Barnes. The newly married couple moved on to 
a farm nine miles southwest of Monticello. Sickness soon compelled 
them to return to Mr. Barnes', where they remained a year. As soon 
as Mr. Devore was able to be about, and while using crutches, he 
helped to put up a house which was the, original k 'Old Fort" in 
Monticello. Before the house was completed lie rented it to Mr. 
Edward Ater and Judge Rickets, who were to plaster the house for the 
use of it. Mr. Devore was again living at Mr. Barnes" 1 when he took 
his death sickness, in 1842. Two of Mr. and Mrs. Devore's five 
children are still living. Sarah M. married Mr. J. N r . Bondurant, 
February 18, 1867. They are now living in Ford county, Illinois. 
William C. married Mattie A. Kimler, November 19, 1877, and at 
present is living in Farmer City and is editor of the Farmer City 
''Journal." They have one child. Mr. IS T . Devore, while in Chicago, 
became acquainted with many of the early settlers there. He knew 
Guerdon S. Hubbard and the Kinzies there. Mrs. Devore married 
Mr. John Woolington. (See account of John Woolington.) 

MR. ANDREW J. DIGHTON (deceased) was born in Erie City, 
Pennsylvania, and moved to Ash tabula county, Ohio. He was one of 
a family often children, and was educated at Kingsville and Transyl- 
vania University. Going to Kentucky, lit- taught school and attended 



272 HISTORY OF PIA'IT COUNTY. 

law school there. Though he was admitted to the bar, he never 
practiced. He started to work for himself when fourteen or fifteen 
years old with but $1.50. By careful industry he was enabled to 
purchase land, and, in partnership with Mr. Donaldson, bought a farm 
of John Stiver in this county, locating here in 1853, at first living in a 
double hewed log house. Because of two spare beds, a rag carpet, big 
pillows, flowered window curtains, and chairs, it was considered the 
finest furnished house in all the neighborhood. He soon bought Mr. 
Donaldson out, his farm then consisting of 800 acres. They at first 
lived not far from where the present house now stands. At the time 
of his death he owned 1,520 acres of land, part of which is in Cham- 
paign county, besides a home of 500 acres ; also had one-third interest 
in the bank of Houston, Moore & Dighton. The home farm was the 
best improved of any, the nice farm residence being built soon after 
coming to the county, but it has since been remodeled. He also owned 
a farm of 197 acres at Cisco, which is some improved. Mr. Dighton 
was married in Kentucky, in 1854, to Sarah C. Netherton. They 
have had eight children, five of whom are living. John 1ST., who is 
married, lives in Monticello (see his sketch). Elvira and Anna 
attended Monticello Seminary for two years. Andrew died when 
twelve years old. Ida died December 30, 1881, twelve years old. 
Willie and Mary are twins. Mrs. Dighton was one of a family of 
eight children, three of whom lived on farms. They were formerly 
slave owners. Mr. Dighton's parents were of English descent. His 
father was born in New York state, held the position of county judge 
and was in the war of 1812. His grandfather was in the revolutionary 
war under Burgoyne. Before leaving England he determined not to 
fight the Americans but to desert to their side. At this time he was 
in college preparing for the church, and was a good Greek and Latin 
scholar. He deserted while in Canada and went through woods to the 
American side ; was followed by Indians, and so closely beset that he 
threw away his arms and sunk himself all but his nose under a log in 
the water. The Indians actually walked over the log and their dog 
came and smelled of him. He was so exhausted and about to give up 
when he heard a rooster crow and crawled to the house and finally got 
to the army. He received several wounds during engagements, was 
given an office, and at the time of Burgoyne's surrender was on the 
American side. After leaving the army lie taught school the rest of his 
life. Grandfather Dighton lived here seven years, died about 1867, and 
is buried in Piatt county. Mr. Andrew Dighton died December 25, 1878. 



LIBRARY 

/ OF ILLINOIS 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 275 

MR. JOHN DIGHT^X, farmer, Monticello, was born in Kentucky, and 
reared in this county, where he received his early education. He also 
attended the state university at Champaign. He was appointed ad- 
ministrator of his father's estate, and since his death has had charge 
of and managed the business for all the heirs. He owns individually 
now at least 500 acres besides town property and brick store. He is a 
very shrewd business man. Mr. Dightoii was married June 29, 1881, 
to Miss Mary I. Reed. They spent two months in California, return- 
ing to locate in Monticello. Mrs. Dighton is a native of Monroe county, 
Ohio, and came to Illinois about 1864 to teach. Her brother Samuel was 
married and living here at that time. She first taught at Madden's 
school two terms, and next taught at Cerro Gordo. She attended Monti- 
cello Seminary near Alton three years in all, graduating about 1870, 
teaching in the meantime. She then taught in Bement one year, and 
, was first assistant in Monticello for three years. For a year she taught 
private pupils. Mrs. Dighton, nee Mary Reed, was elected county 
superintendent in 1877, but resigned ere her time was up. She revived 
the institute after a cessation of several years, held the first long term 
institute, and did excellent work. She conducted three institutes. Mrs. 
Samuel Reed, her mother, died in Monticello in 1878. Miss Sarah 
Reed has taught in Cerro Gordo, Bement and Monticello, and is a 
member of the class of '82 at Oberlin, Ohio. Dr. William Reed 
practiced a number of years in Cerro Gordo. He is a graduate of the 
Detroit Medical College, and was a soldier in the late war. Mr. Reed 
married Mary L. Sartwell, and lives in Kansas City, Mo. Mr. James 
Reed was a druggist in Cerro Gordo, married Sarah S. Thomas, lives 
in Liverpool, Ohio, and has three children. 

MR. ISAAC DYER, a resident of Monticello, was born in 1812, in Vir- 
ginia. His parents were natives of the same state and were of English 
and German lineage. They moved to Fayette county, Ohio, in 1827, 
and their earthly days ended in this state. Mr. Dyer was married in 
1833, in Highland county, Ohio, to Miss Catharine J. Carothers. Her 
parents, Mr. Thomas and Mrs. Sarah (Bothwell) Carothers, were 
natives of Ireland. They came to America comparatively wealthy. 
Mrs. Dyer was born in 1812, in Virginia. She had three brothers, one 
of whom was killed in the Mexican war. Four daughters and one son 
came with Mr. Dyer to Piatt county in 1857. The son, Thomas C., 
returned to Ohio, and is now living there. Mary became the wife of 
Mr. William Webster, of Monticello. She died leaving several children 
to mourn a mother's loss. Ann is the wife of Mr. Sam Webster, while 
18 



276 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Laura rules the home and heart of Mr. William Britton, of Monticello. 
Merab is still at home with her parents. Mr. and Mrs. Dyer first 
landed in this county at Bement. Here one of the children was taken 
sick and the disease proved to be putrid sore throat. As they came 
into Monticello the next day after arriving in the county Mrs. Dyer 
caught sight of the old Methodist church, and thought it was a bake- 
shop. They first settled in a portion of the house in which the Misses 
Huston now live. Mr. Dyer paid $20 in gold a month for rent, and 
the building was only one story. Every room but one in the house 
leaked. Mi-. Dyer has been a carpenter all his life. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Dyer have been zealous workers in the Methodist Episcopal 
church of Monticello. 

MR. MERRITTM. DICKERSON, grocer, Monticello, was born in McLean 
county, Illinois, in 1845. His father was also a native of McLean 
county. From McLean county Mr. Dickerson moved to Arkansas,- 
where he lived about three years', and then came to Piatt county about 
the first of May, 1873. At this time he Opened a grocery store in the 
old court-house, then standing on the west side of the square and 
owned by Mr. Kaiser. This building burned down, and the grocery 
was then opened on the southeast side of the square. After remaining 
in partnership with Mr. Kaiser about two years, Mr. Dickerson bought 
him out, and since that time has been in business for himself. In Sep- 
tember, 1881, Mr. Dickerson moved into the brick store building 
lately built by Mr. J. 1ST. Dighton on the southwest side of the square. 
He says he can have no reason to complain of the trade, as it has been 
on a constant increase ever since he came to town. He owns a house 
and two lots in Monticello. Mr. Dickerson was married August 27, 
1867, to Martha Gilmore, of Arkansas, and has had four children, two 
of whom, Clarence M. and Roy E., are living. He went to the army 
from McLean county in 1863, in Co. G of the 68th 111. reg. ; he next 
went into the 94th 111., and was mustered out from Co. G of the 37th 
111. reg. During the last six months of service he was detailed as 
clerk at the headquarters at Galveston post. We chanced to see his 
discharge, and we were pleased to note that the lieutenant-colonel in 
charge of the post said some very good things about him. Upon our 
asking Mr. Dickerson to relate some of his narrow escapes in the army, 
he spoke of being detailed to take orders to the ambulance corps in the 
rear. While standing by a wagon talking to the wagon master, a 
solid shell, sixty pounds weight, struck and killed three mules which 
stood at his side. After recovering sufficiently from the shock, he, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 277 

with several men, dug the ball from the ground where it struck twenty 
feet from the mules. 

MB. D. W. DEARDURFF, grocer, Monticello, is a native of Ohio. 
He moved from there in 1857 to Piatt county, and located in Monti- 
cello. After farming for a time he went into the grocery business. 
He owns a residence and one block in Monticello. He was married in 
1877, to Nannie M. Davis, and has two children, Lavina M. and 
William F. Mr. Deardurff went to the army in 1862, in Co. E of the 
107th 111., and was also in Co. F of the 3d 111. Cav. He was in 
the battle at Fort Blakely, besides several skirmishes. He returned 
from the army in 1866. In Monticello he has been a member of the 
I.O.O.F. for seven or eight years, and also belongs to the Knights of 
Honor. 

MR. GEORGE R. DAWSOX, stock dealer, Monticello, is a native of 
Pickaway county, Ohio, and came to Piatt county about 1856. He has 
remained in the county ever since, and for the last three years has 
been engaged in the stock business for himself. On the 19th of April, 
1861, he was the seventh man to enlist in the army from Piatt county. 
He went out in Co. C of the 21st 111., and was corporal. He was 
discharged in December, 1861, on account of disability. Mr. Dawson 
is now a member of the Odd-Fellows lodge of Monticello. 

MR. JOHN R. DOVE, hardware merchant, Monticello, is a native of 
Clark county, Ohio. He moved to Logan county, Illinois, in 1845, 
and in 1853 came to Piatt county from Indiana. His father, George 
W. Dove, and family moved into this county and was living here at 
the time of his death. Mr. John Dove moved into Monticello in 1870, 
and now owns a residence and a part of a lot in the place. In 1879 he 
went into the hardware business with Mr. Lumsden. He went to the 
army from Piatt county, April 19, 1861, and returned in August 1864. 
He was in Co. C of the 21st 111. Vols., and engaged in the following 
principal battles : Perrysville, Stone River, Chickamauga and Resaca. 
Mr. Dove was married in 1866, to Catharine Williams, a native of 
Ohio, and has seven children : Lillie, Willie, Edward, Addie, John, 
Alice, and an infant. 

MR. C. P. DAVIS, deputy United States marshal, Monticello, was 
born March 7, 1835, in Indiana. He moved from his native state to 
Piatt county in 1866, arid opened a merchandise store in Monticello, 
where he has since resided. He has been in the house of represen- 
tatives two sessions and in the senate four years. In January, 1880, 
lie was appointed to his present position. He and Miss Hettie M. 



278 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Close were united in marriage March 20, 1856. Three of their five 
children are living: Nannie J., now wife of Prof. M. A. Scovell, is a 
resident of Champaign; Marietta, Monticello's sweetest singer, and 
Jeptha are still at home. Prof. Scovell, as well as all of Mr. 
Davis' children, are graduates of the State University and belonged to 
the following classes respectively, 1875, 1878, 1881 and 1882. When 
the war broke out Mr. Davis was commissioned first lieutenant of the 
Indiana state militia, and the company was organized the next day 
after the fall of Fort Sumter. In August, 1862, this same company 
formed part of Co. F of the 66th Ind. Inf. Yol. Mr. Davis remained 
with the 16th Army Corps until the fall of Atlanta, when he was 
transferred to the 15th Army Corps. He was in every fight of the 
regiment, the principal of which were Richmond, Corinth, those of 
the Atlanta campaign, Resaca and Dallas. The regiment was veter- 
anized in 1863, and Mr. Davis was elected captain of the veteran 
company. 

MR. M. R. DAVIDSON, lawyer, Monticello, is a native of Macon 
county, who, after first locating in Moultrie county, moved in 1878 to 
Monticello, where he now owns a residence and two lots. He was 
married March 5, 1874, to Emma M. Reeme, a native of Pennsyl- 
vania. They have three children, Myrtle F., Mable R. and Cloyd. 
Mr. Davidson read law with Nelson & Roby, of Decatur, and in 1876 
was admitted to the bar. 

MR. JOHN DRKSBACK, fanner, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, from 
which state he moved to Illinois in 1855. He improved a place of 
160 acres, which is now in his sons' possession. He was married 
in Ohio to Mary Wensel, who is still living. They have had eight 
children, three of whom are living. Ephraim married Samantha Brady, 
and has six children, Willie, Cora, Charles, Frank, Jennie and Mary. 
Mary Dresback became the wife of George Brady, and has nine 
children, Luther, Frank, Meda, lona, George, James, John, Lona 
and Charles. Edward married Bessie Kimber and has two children, 
Mamie and Luther. 

MR. JEREMIAH DUVALL, a farmer in Monticello township and a 
native of Pickaway county, Ohio, came to Piatt county in 1852, and 
in 1865 married Miss Rose Altha Johnson, a native of Illinois. They 
have had six children, George F., Benjamin E., Francis E., William 
Nelson, Olive H. and Ora Florence. Mr. Duvall owns a farm of 
120 acres. He went to the late war in Co. D of the 73d 111. reg. 
He was out six months, but was taken sick during the first month 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 279 

and did not recover till long after his return home. During his 
sickness he was in four different hospitals. 

MR. JOHN W. DAVISON, jeweler, Monticello, is a native of Wales, 
and came to America in 1856, to Illinois about 1866, and to Piatt 
county about 1872. He went into the jewelry business in Monticello 
at that time, has been so occupied ever since, and has been the only 
jeweler in the place for a number of years. Mr. Davison was married 
June 8, 1880, to Lizzie Knight, and has one son, Willie K. He owns 
his house and store building, which he built in 1882, and two lots. 
His uncle, John Davison, who was in the same business, died in 
Monticello. 

HON. CHARLES EMERSON was born in New Hampshire April 15, 
1811. He came to Illinois in 1833, and in 1834 began the practice of 
law in Decatur. While in this county the people of Piatt county first 
learned to know him. He was elected to the legislature in 1850 and 
again in 1851, and in 1853 was elected judge of the circuit court, which 
position he held until 1867. His death occurred in 1870. He was a 
very impartial judge and was revered by everybody. " But, after all 
that may be said of his fame in the eyes of the world, that which in a 
just sense was his highest glory was the purity, affectionateness, liber- 
ality and devotedness of his domestic life." 

MR. ALBERT EMKRSQN, son of Hon. Charles Emerson, is a native 
of Macon county, Illinois, and was born February 5, 1842. From 
Macon county he moved to Kansas, where, he remained three years and 
then moved, in 1875, to Monticello, where he went into law practice, 
having been admitted to the bar in 1868. While in Kansas he was 
superintendent of public instruction of Sedgwick county, and since 
coming to Monticello he has been master in chancery, state's attorney, 
and is at present mayor of Monticello. For over a year he was right- 
of-way agent of the middle division of the Illinois, Bloomington & 
Western railroad, but is now attorney on the whole road. Mr. Emer- 
son and Sarah R. Phipps were united in marriage in 1866, and have 
had six children, one of whom is dead: Leonard C., Nora, Nellie, 
Warren E., Charles Fay and Joseph. Mr. Emerson went to the late 
war from Piatt county in Co. F, of the 2d 111. Cavalry, and was out 
over four years and was veteraned. He was in the battles at Vicks- 
burg, Champion Hills, and Holly Springs, at which place he was taken 
prisoner and paroled after six months. Though he was in some severe 
battles, and had two horses shot from under him, yet he was never 
wounded, and did not even have a ball strike his clothes. 



HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

MR. JOSEPH E. EVANS, a native of Pennsylvania, moved from there 
to Illinois in 1S65, locating in Piatt county in 1866 and in Monticello 
in 1877, at which time he began dealing in farming implements. He 
has held a few of the township offices. In 1862 he went into the army 
in Co. D of the 140th regiment, and was in the battles of Fredericks- 
burg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg and those of the Wilderness, having 
been wounded at Chancellorsville. Mr. Evans and Julia Vedder were 
united in marriage in 1867. They have three children, Delia, Harry 
and Ida M. 

MR. ZACHARIAH EMIG is a native of Pennsylvania. From this state 
he moved to Ohio, and from there to Illinois, in 1852. He has been a 
resident of Piatt county ever since, with the exception of a short time 
during which, even then, he called Piatt county his home. After 
living on Mr. Dan Stickel's place for a number of years, he moved on 
to his present home place in 1865. He owns 160 acres of land, 
which he bought of the railroad company. He has put all improve- 
ments on the place, including the setting out of fifteen hundred 
trees, and the planting of a hedge all around it. Mr. Emig was 
married in 1857, to Miss Mary Piper, a native of Pennsylvania. They 
have had eight children, seven of whom are living. The eldest, Ella, 
married Mr. Britteuham, and lives in Monticello. Kate married 
Mr. Nelson Reid, and lives in Monticello township. The other 
children, Lizzie, Charles, Dolly, Minnie and PVancis, are at home. 
Mr. Emig is a member of the Methodist church, and an elder in the 
congregation which meets in the New York school-house. 

MR. A. T. ENGLAND, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Sangamon 
county, Illinois, and moved from Logan county to Piatt county in 
1861, where he now owns over 900 acres of land. Four hundred 
acres of this land are in the home farm, upon which he has put 
most of the improvements. He was married in 1865, to Harriet E. 
Plunk, and has had three children : Edward, George and Wm. Herbert. 
Mr. England went to the army in 1862, in Co. F of the 2d 111. 
Cav., and was in the following principal battles: Holly Springs, 
Vicksburg and Richmond. He was taken prisoner by the enemy, and 
was retained six weeks. Mr. England is a member of the Masonic lodge. 

MR. W. ESHEI.MAX, tailor, Monticello, is a native of Pennsylvania, 
from which state he moved to Illinois, and in about 1878 located in 
Monticello, where he owns a residence and two lots. He was married 
about 1860, to Hannah Leininger, and has seven children : Mary, 
Kate, Sadie, Jennie, Willie, James and Hattie. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 281 

MR. E. P. FISHER, Monticello, is a native of Pickaway county, 
Ohio, from which state he came to Piatt county in 1851, and has 
remained here most of the time since. He owns his residence property 
in Monticello. In 1858 Mr. Fisher and Tirzah R. Ferren were united in 
marriage. She died about June, 1871, leaving five children. Of these, 
Anna is the wife of Mr. Josh Tatman, of Monticello, and has one son, 
Harry ; Frances graduated in the Monticello high school. The names 
of the other children are Margaret I., Laura and Willie. In 1872 
Mr. Fisher married Mrs. Wm. Ward, nee Caroline West, and they 
have three children: Mary J., Callie M. and George I. Mrs. Ward 
had two children : Henry, who married Miss Ida Curtis, and lives in 
Missouri, and Miss Maggie. Mr. Fisher has successfully held the office 
of sheriff three times. He is a member of the Masonic lodge of 
Monticello. Two of his brothers came to Piatt county. Of these, 
George died, leaving a small family; Reuben still lives in the county. 
His cousin, Mr. Abs Fisher, lived in the county a number of years, 
but now resides in Chicago. 

MR. WILLIAM FOSTER, farmer and route agent, Monticello, is a 
native of New York, and came to Piatt county in 1853. He was 
married to Mary E. Thomas in 1852. She was born in Pendleton, 
Indiana, and moved to Bloomington, McLean county, when eight years 
old. Her father was a native of Virginia, and her mother of New 
York, and of German and English descent. They are both dead. 
Her mother died here in 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Foster have nine 
children living, and one dead. Charles, at home ; Louie E., working 
in express business at Decatur ; Mary Althea, graduated in the high 
school in 1881. She is at home, as are also George B., Anna 
Elizabeth, Martha E., Willie G., Theodore B. and Fred Roy. Mr. 
Foster has held the offices of county treasurer, assessor, and circuit 
clerk. 

MR. II. B. FUNK, Monticello, was born in Morgan county, Illinois. 
From there he moved to Macon county, and thence to Piatt county in 
1876. Mr. Funk has been in the editing business since 1869. At 
that time he started "The Independent" at Jacksonville, and in 
Macon county published "The Maroa Xews." Upon coining to 
Monticello in 1876, he began editing "The Monticello Bulletin," 
which paper he is now publishing, it having been, however, in other 
hands during one year of the time since he came to the town. Mr. 
Funk has also composed and published several songs, and now has 
ready for publication a musical instruction book for classes and 



282 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

conventions. He obtained his musical education in Chicago and in 
Bloorningtori, has taught music to some extent in Monticello and the 
vicinity thereabout, and is instructor of the Monticello reed and 
cornet band. In 1865 Mr. Funk and Libbie Cooper were united in 
marriage. Three of their four children are living, Nellie B., Allie 
M. and Fred W. 

MR. CHARLES FAMULENER, farmer, Monticello, was born in Ross 
county, Ohio. He moved from his native state to Piatt county, Illinois, 
in 1865 or 1866. He now owns some 400 acres of land, and lives on 
the place Mr. Daniel Stickel improved south of Monticello. Mr. 
Famulener was united in marriage to Sally Ann Piper, and has had 
eleven children, ten of whom he raised. Six of the children are now 
living. Catharine married James McRoberts. They both died in 
Kansas, and their two daughters, Anna and Katie, now live at Mr. 
Famulener'e. Elizabeth married Mr. Minear. John lives in Monti- 
cello township. William died after he was of age. George married 
Rebecca Alexander, and lives in Missouri. Charles is also married, 
and lives in Missouri. Philip N. and Jonathan are both in Missouri. 

MR. A. J. FOUST, farmer, was born in Ohio, and came to Illinois in 
1855, and to Piatt county in 1856. He owns 40 acres of land, and has 
improved it himself, having the advantage of good crops. Mr. Foust 
was married in 1860, to Elizabeth Anderson, and they have five 
children living, Emma, Olive, Jennie, Mattie and Frank. 

DR. R. H. FARRA. hardware merchant, Monticello, was born in 
Morgan county, Ohio, in 1820. He moved to Randolph county, Indiana, 
where he remained for ten or twelve years, coming to Piatt county 
about 1862. He first settled in Willow Branch township, but in 1872 
moved to Monticello, where in 1873 he began the hardware business. 
His place of business at present is on the north side of the square. 
He was married in 1863, to Mrs. Douglas Tall man, and has had one 
son, Frank. Dr. Farra was a practitioner of medicine in Indiana, but 
has done no practicing since coming to the county. He owns a good 
sized house and ten or more lots in Monticello. 

MR. SAMUEL GARVER, a retired farmer living in Monticello, was 
born March 6, 1806, in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. From there 
he moved to Dauphin county. He was married in Pennsylvania to 
Anna Boyer, who is of English and German descent, and who was 
born May 8, ISO!'). They moved to Macon county, Illinois, in 1855. 
After six months'' residence in this county they moved to Stringtown 
Lane. Pi at! co-untv. At one time Mr. Garver owned 140 acres of land 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 283 

on this lane, 80 acres on Goose creek, 160 acres near Farmer City, 
besides some timber land. He sold his land, and, after a residence of 
aboiit eleven years on the lane, moved to Monticello, where he still 
resides. Mr. and Mrs. Garver had very few neighbors when they first 
moved into this county. There were no houses west of them for five 
or six miles. The nearest school-house stood across the road from 
where Mr. Henry Woolington until lately has lived. This school-house 
was afterward moved on to the lane to the site of the present school- 
house. The deer were not yet extinct in this county when the Garvers 
settled here. They had a pet deer, 'which became very tame, and of 
which they grew quite fond. Mr. and Mrs. Garver have raised quite 
a large family; death, however, has come into their midst a few times. 
Elizabeth married Mr. Jacob Keller, and now lives on Stringtown 
Lane, on Mr. Garver's old place. They have had eight children, John, 
Joe, Mary, Jacob, Jonas, Nancy, Jesse and Lydia. John, a school 
teacher, married Miss Eliza /Rock, March 15, 1881. Ere a whole 
year had come to them in their new found happiness she died, and he 
was left to tread life's pathway alone. Joseph married Elma Dresbach 
and lives on the lane. Mr. Ephraim Garver was born in Pennsyl- 
vania. He came to this county in 1858, after a two years' residence in 
Macon county. He was a farmer until five years ago, when he began 
clerking in Monticello. At present he is employed in Hazzard & 
Hott's store. Mr. Garver was school director and trustee for a good 
many years. He married Elizabeth Brown, and they have six children 
living : Will, Anna, James, Samuel, Chris and Ora. Mr. Jonas 
Garver married Mary Watrous, and they have had six children. Mr. 
Garver was in thirteen battles in the late war, but never received a 
scratch. Anna Garver man led Mr. George Hummel. Mrs. Hummel 
died in Cisco, leaving two children, Ephraim and George. Mr. Samuel 
Garver, a druggist in Farmer City, married Elizabeth Gay. They 
have four children. Mr. S. Garver was als'o in the late war. Mary 
Garver married William Combs and lives in Goose Creek township. 
Mr. John Garver married Delia Hubbell. He went to the army, and 
after being wounded was made a prisoner for fifteen months. He 
suffered a portion of the time in Anderson ville. flis death resulted 
from exposure in the army. His widow married Mr. Reber Huston, 
of Monticello. Catharine A. married Mr. Henry Ilott and lives in 
Monticello. Mr. Christian Garver, a druggist, with his wife, nee Miss 
Eva Petit, and two children, lives in Farmer City. 

MK. J.. T. GRAY has taken the pains to furnish to us, in writing, an 



284 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

interesting account of his life, and we place the substance of the entire 
sketch before our readers : U I was born December 14, 1819, in Sussex 
county, Delaware. My grandfather, Isaac Gray, was of the Anglo- 
Saxon race and came to America previous to the revolutionary war. 
My mother's father was of Irish descent. He came to America previous 
to the revolutionary war and was a private in that war under Gen. 
Marion. My father was born on the eastern shore of Maryland, about 
1T82. He was a sailor up to the time of his marriage and made one 
trip afterward. He married Miss Margaret Magee, who was the 
daughter of Samuel Magee, and who was born in Sussex county, 
Delaware, about the year 1787. My father died February 28, 1836, 
leaving six children, the two eldest, Jacob and Sarah, being married. 
The following fall we emigrated to Pickaway county, Ohio. We 
started September 27, 1836, and came to Baltimore by water. "We 
crossed the mountains to Wheeling, Virginia, in a freight wagon and 
from there were conveyed in a wagon to Zanesville. Here we stopped 
for about two months, nearly all of the family having a spell of sick- 
ness, and I came near dying. After Christmas we hired a farmer to 
take us to Circleville, Ohio, and January 12, 1837, reached the home 
of Mr. James T. Magee, my mother's brother, about twelve miles west 
of Circleville. I was married at his house, April 4, 1838, to his 
daughter Jane, my first cousin. In the fall of 1856 we started for 
Illinois. My youngest brother, John, started with me. We left 
Pickaway county October 29. Had some bad weather, which made the 
roads miserable. On one occasion, when traveling on a plank road in 
Indiana, for which we had to pay heavy toll, one of the wheels slipped 
into a hole made by one of the boards moving aside /and the coupling 
pole broke. Although the forward end of the wagon went down, 
providentially nobody was hurt. We were delayed over one day in 
getting the wagon fixed. I found the president of the road and claimed 
damages, but he would do nothing. I threatened to sue the company, 
but he kindly told me that although he thought I could recover 
damages, that I could not wait for a lawsuit, and the best thing I could 
do was to mend the wagon and go on. 1 took his kind advice. On 
another occasion we got anxious to reach our journey's end and con- 
cluded to drive awhile after night. Accordingly, after feeding our 

O O t> ' _* 

horses and cooking and eating our supper out in the woods, we hitched 
up and drove five or six miles, when wo came to a bridge. We found 
boards up across the road in front of the bridge and we concluded 
there was danger ahead. After looking around and going back a short 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKKTCIIKS. 285 

distance we found a muddy road which, at an angle of about forty-five 
degrees, led down into the river. I unhitched one horse and found 
where the going out place was on the other side. After riding across 
the river several times, in order to find the best road, we started the 
wagon across. The road out of the river on the west bank was very 
steep and had a short turn in it. I knew if the horses faltered the least 
bit, or if anything broke about the wagon, that the wagon could not 
escape turning over into the river. I think it was the most dangerous 
event I ever passed through, and it almost makes my head swim yet 
when I think of it. But we got through all right, and the next morn- 
ing, after feeding our horses and getting breakfast, we reached the 
prairie the almost boundless prairie. The effect it produced on me 
seems indescribable. The morning was slightly foggy, and looking 
before me I could see no timber and the prairie brought to my mind 
the boundless ocean. When the sun was about an hour high the fog 
cleared away and before me was spread a view that would certainly be 
appreciated by one who had always lived in a wooded country. I can 
still look with delight upon the wild prairie. When we passed through 
Bement I counted the houses and there were fifteen, all told. We 
stopped about seven miles northeast of Decatur. The weather was 
getting cold and I was almost out of money, so I went to work husking 
corn, but I soon found that I could not do that. Not long after I heard 
a man complaining that his clock had stopped. I told him that I 
could fix it. As he seemed anxious to have it done I went home with 
him. WJiile I was fixing the clock Mr. Jacob Garner, a neighbor, 
came in and watched me until I was done. He then told me that I 
could make good wages and have lots of such work to do if I would go 
around and look for it. Accordingly I started and traveled until 
February 15, 185T, on which day I got to Monticello, and I have been 
here ever since. I worked through the winter, generally going home 
every Saturday. I did very well financially, making from $10 to $15 
per week, but it was a very cold winter and I often suffered intensely 
with the cold. In the month of March I moved my family here. 
There were three or four families living in the fort. I went to work 
repairing clocks and watches, and have followed that business more or 
less ever since. In the spring of 1859 I connected with it the making 
of ambrotypes, and I have the- honor of being the first resident artist of 
Monticello. A Mr. Butler, of Decatur, and Mr. Cathcart both worked 
here for awhile, and, too, there was a car here for a time. I made the 
first photograph that was ever made in the county, in the spring of 1862. 



286 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

I followed the business until four years ago, when I found my eyes 
were getting too old for photography. We have five children living. 
Salathiel, a soldier of the war, in the 49th 111. reg., married Sarah 
Magee ; Sarah Margaret married David Garver and lives in Macon 
county ; William W. married Sydney McDivett, has two children, 
and lives in Monticello ; James married Melissa Gifford and has two 
children ; John married Hattie Cole." Mr. Gray has twenty-three 
grandchildren. He served a part of a term as justice of the peace. 

MR. THEODORE GROSS is a native of Germany, and came to America 
in 1856, locating near Atwood. He lived there, where he still owns 
property, until he was elected to his present office, county treasurer, in 
1879. He married Julia Zuber, a native of Germany, in 1868, and 
has five children living: Hedwig, Theodore, Ella, Albert and Julia. 
Mr. Gross went into the army as a private in 1861, in Co. A, 21st 111. 
Inf., and remained four years, participating in the battles of Stone 
River and Chickamauga, at which place he was taken prisoner. He 
spent nineteen months in Libby and several other rebel prisons ere he 
made his escape. He went out as private and returned as second 
lieutenant. 

MR. JAMES HART left Kentucky, his native state, when he was 
eleven or twelve years old. He remained in Indiana until he was 
grown and then came to Illinois. He did not like the state, arid re- 
turned to Indiana. His granddaughter says, " he then found grandma 
and thought he could stand it out here."" He married Miss Rebecca 
Bradford, a native of North Carolina, August 15, 1830. He moved 
to Green county, Illinois, in 1831, and in 1836 settled in Piatt county. 
They lived for a time in the same house with William H. Piatt and 
wife, who were then living on what is now the Piatt county fair 
grounds. In 1839 they moved onto the present homestead place. 
Mr. Hart's grandfathers were both in the revolutionary war, and he, 
with two brothers, was in the Black Hawk war. One brother died in 
the rebellion. Three of Mr. Hart's children died when quite young. 
Ann Eliza married Mr. William H. Harris, and their home was about 
two miles from Mr. Hart's. She died, leaving four children, Henry 
Payne, Rebecca J., Sally A. and James William. Mr. Harris 
married again, but died in 1869, leaving another son. His widow is 
now the wife of Mr. William Branch. Marietta Hart married Samuel 
Smock and lives in Monticello township. Martha J. married Mr. C. 
H. Plaster and has three children, Annetta, Emily and James Edwin. 
Since taking the notes for Mr. Hart'^ personal sketch, he, after a linger- 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 287 

ing illness, died. He was considered an excellent farmer and an 
upright, honest man in all his dealings. 

MR. JACOB HOTT (deceased) was married in Pickaway county, Ohio, 
to Miss Margaret Fisher. Her father moved to Piatt county and 
bought land of Mr. Abraham Marquise. Probably it was through the 
influence of his father-in-law that Jacob Hott came to this county. He 
left Ohio soon after his marriage, and about 1838 or 1839 settled on 
what was then known as Dr. Hull's farm. He afterward moved onto 
his father-in-law's place and remained there till his death in 1856. He 
left seven children, three of whom are now living. Mary married 
John Hughes ; she died, leaving one daughter, Emma, who is still 
living. Hiram Hott died in the army. Henry Hott was married in 
1864, to Catharine A. Garver. They have five children living, Lucy, 
Mary, John, Media and Ida. Mr. Hott went into the merchandise 
business with Mr. Hazzard in 1870. They occupied a building on the 
west side of the public square in Monticello till, 1875, when they 
moved to their present location on the east side of the square. 
Previous to going into merchandise Mr. Hott had been a farmer. 
Harriett married Mr. R. Williams. She died about 1872, leaving one 
child, Perry. Mr. Williams married again. Martha married Mr. Eli 
Ater, a farmer living in Willow Branch township. They have had 
three children, Edward, Charles and Jesse. A sad accident happened 
to John, the youngest son of this family. The people of Monticello 
were celebrating the Fourth of July, 1866, by firing off a canon which 
stood on Bender's corner. The canon seemed overloaded, and this 
boy, fifteen years of age, fearing that it would burst, retired to where 
Mr. Zyble's shoe store now is. His fears were more than realized ; 
the canon did burst, and a piece of it, striking the boy, quenched the 
spark of his young life in fifteen hours after. Elizabeth is still single 
and is living with her mother, who is now the wife of Mr. Solomon 
Ater. 

DK. P. K. HULL was born about 1810, in what is now Highland 
county, Virginia. His parents were also from Virginia. Dr. Hull 
moved to Circleville, Ohio, when lie was about twenty-four years of 
age. He studied medicine in Jefferson College, Philadelphia. After 
practicing medicine in Ohio for a time he moved west. He married 
Mary J. Huston, March 31, 1839. Three children reached maturity. 
Renick Huston, who married Rebecca Williams, was frozen to death 
on the prairies near Goose Creek. Estelle became the wife of Mr. 
Frank Williams, and lived for a number of years at Monticello. She 



288 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

was a successful music teacher of the place. Mr. and Mrs. Williams 
have four children. They have recently sold their farm near Monti- 
cello and have moved to Kansas. Mary is the wife of Ren ick Buckles, 
of Champaign, and has three children. Monticello was her home also 
for several years. Dr. Hull moved to Monticello late in the fall of 
1841. He made his home for a time on what is now a part of the 
Allerton farm. His wife died in 1849, and he rented out his farm and 
returned with his children. About 1855 the doctor returned to Monti- 
cello. He bought the property now owned by Lettie Huston, and died 
at this home November 20, 1850. During a scourge of cholera in 
1852 and 1853, in Ohio, Dr. Hull was very successful. He was one 
of the first physicians in Piatt county, and was regarded by the early 
settlers almost as an oracle in matters of disease. One who was inti- 
mately associated with him says he was a man of big heart and noble 
impulses, and was generous to the extreme. Widows and orphans 
never claimed his attention without getting it. Dr. Hull was one of 
the charter members of the Masonic lodge of Monticello, and upon his 
death, in 1860, was buried by the Masonic orders. 

MR. WM. HUNTER is a native of Ireland. His father was born in 
Ireland in 1796. His mother was a native of Scotland. Of Mr. and 
Mrs. Hunter's live children, who were born in Ireland, William, born 
January 25, 1836, was the youngest. He was but a babe when the 
family emigrated to America. They settled in Ohio, and in this state 
both of William's parents died. Two of his sisters also died in Ohio, 
the other two went to Iowa in 1853 and settled there. One of these 
sisters was born in Ohio. William's only brother went west some years 
ago and his whereabouts is not known. Mr. Win. Hunter came from 
Pickaway county, Ohio, to Piatt county in 1857, and was acquainted 
with quite a number of people who had emigrated from Ohio to this 
county. He first worked for Dr. Hull, with whom he was acquainted 
in Ohio. In 1859 he began working for Wm. H. Piatt. He went 
back to Ohio and was married January 1, 1861, to Minerva A. Trego, 
who was born about 1840. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Hunter 
came to W. H. Piatt's, and remained there until September of 1861, 
when they moved onto a farm of W. H. Piatt's. They remained on this 
place until 1875, when they moved onto a farm of their own. In 1881 
Mr. Hunter sold his farm to Mr. Parr and bought property in Monticello. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hunter have had four children : Emma Francis, born 
October 7, 1861 ; James, born July 20, 1863 ; Nellie, born March 14, 
1865, and Wm. P., born September 26, 1868. Their eldest daughter, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 289 

Emma, was married in 1880, to Geo. Miller ; she died in the spring 
of 1881, leaving one child. 

The HARRIS brothers were quite influential men in this county a 
number of years ago. They were all farmers and did an extensive 
stock business in the county. Mr. Payne liarris, now of Champaign, 
was the eldest of the brothers. B. F. Harris, now a prominent banker 
of Champaign, first carne to Piatt county in 1835, and on the 22d of 
June of that year entered eighty acres of land in the county. For ten 
years he dealt extensively in stock. He bought stock in the fall and 
fed through the winter, thus for ten years furnishing stock and grain 
markets for the farmers of this county. One year he fed 900 head of 
cattle near Monticello. He drove his cattle to the eastern states for 
marketing. In 1844 one drove was sent to Boston and brought $56 
per head. The last drove, which was taken by Wm. Marquiss to 
Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, consisted of 430 cattle, which cost $14 
per head and were sold for $28 per head. Mr. Harris certainly had a 
great deal to do with helping the farmers of Piatt county along. He 
is still a farmer as well as a banker, and owns at least 5,000 acres 
of land. Mr. Charles Harris and Mr. John "Harris died in this county. 
Wm. Harris died near Canon City, Colorado. 

MR. ABRAHAM HENNION, formerly of Monticello, moved from New 
Jersey to Piatt county in 1852, and began improvements on a farm of 
160 acres south of Monticello. After remaining here several years 
he moved back to New Jersey, but still has some 330 acres of land in 
Piatt county. He was married in 1851, to Mary A. Wintermute, a 
native of New Jersey, and has three children : Gilford, who is married 
and lives in New Jersey, Foster and Ida. 

MR. JAMES HOLMES, a former editor in Monticello, is a native of 
Pickaway county, Ohio. He is of English descent, and was left an 
orphan when but six years old. He made his home with an aunt, 
Dr. B. B. J one's mother, until ten years of age. He came to Piatt 
county in 1859, and, after farming one season, was engaged in the 
printing business until the war broke out. He went to the army in 
1862, in Co. E of the 107th Inf., and remained throughout the war. He 
enlisted as a private and came out as 1st lieutenant. The principal 
battles in which he took part were Knoxville, Resaca, Nashville, 
Franklin and siege of Atlanta. He was never wounded or taken 
prisoner. Mr. Holmes married Mary E. Ward, December 21, 1865. 
They have three children, Nannie, Ward and Paul. Mr. Holmes 
began publishing a paper in Monticello in 1865, and has been occupied 



290 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

in this business the most of his time since, until quite recently, when 
lie moved to Chicago. 

MR. J. A. HILL was born in Fairtield county, Ohio, in 1832. He 
is of German and Scotch" descent. His parents moved to Pickaway 
county in 1839. In 1853 Mr. Hill came to Piatt county, in the employ 
of Messrs. A. N. & W. H. Cochran, cattle traders, in Ohio. Soon 
after coming to this county he was employed in Mr. Ralph Tenney's 
store. In 1855 he was employed by Piatt & Co., and has worked in 
the same store under different firms most of the time since. Mr. Hill 
was married in May 1862, to Lucia A. Piper. They have four chil- 
dren, Emma, Richard J., Charles W. and Louis, all of whom are at 
home. Mr. Hill was secretary in the Masonic lodge for six or seven 
years. He is a member of the blue lodge, arid of the commandery 
of Knight Templar. 

Miss SUSAN HUSTON, Monticello, is a native of Pennsylvania. She 
cam from Ohio to Illinois about 1870. She at present (1882) is in 
Ohio. She owns some 160 acres of land in Kansas, besides some town 
property. 

Miss LKTTIE HUSTON, Aunt Lettie, as she is known to all Monticello 
folks, is a native of Pickaway county, Ohio, from which state she 
moved to Monticello at the time Dr. Hull settled here, in 1841. After 
a residence of five years she returned to Ohio, but came back to Piatt 
county in 1S59, and has made this county her home more or less ever 
since. She taught in the Monticello schools for seven consecutive 
years, and has long been a prominent member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church of this place. She owns quite a good deal of town 
property. 

Miss RACHEL HUSTON is also a native of Pickaway county, Ohio, 
from which place she moved to Illinois in 1855, and has taught school 
in Piatt county at least ten years. She is still living in the place and 
owns several, houses and town lots. 

MR. JOHN HUSTON came to this county in 1859, and lived in Goose 
Creek township most of the time, and was also on the Allerton farm. 
He moved to Macon county, thence to Missouri, where he died, leaving 
a wife and four children. Anna is the wife of H. D. Peters, Monti- 
cello ; James has recently been working in Decatur ; Emma and Rachel 
live in Monticello. 

MR, HARVEY E. HUSTON, lawyer, Monticello, is a native of Pick- 
away county, Ohio, from which place his people moved about 1859, to 
Jackson county, Missouri. At this date the subject of our sketch 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 2ll 

was about fifteen years old. He remembers very distinctly the 
breaking out of the war, and the effect it had upon the people of 
Jackson county. The vast majority of the people in that county were 
rebels. It was there that Quantrel's band of guerrillas was organized, 
and Mr. Huston knew many of the boys who joined the organization. 
Jesse James, whose recent murder has caused so much excitement, 
was a member of this band. AVhen it "got too hot" for them in 
Jackson county, Mr. Huston's people moved, in 1862, to Douglas 
county, Kansas, near Lawrence. They remained at this place until 
within two or three months of the massacre, in 1863, of the citizens 
of Lawrence. Mr. Huston was acquainted with many of these citizens. 
After relating some of the war scenes he had witnessed, Mr. Huston 
remarked that though he was not in the war, he had seen enough 
of the horrors of it. In 1863 his family moved back to "Will county, 
Illinois, near Joliet, where they lived four years, and then moved to 
Logansport, Indiana. On the 1st of January, 1868, Mr. Huston 
''jolted across the prairie from Bement to Monti cello in Billy 
Motherspaw's old hack," and he has been in Piatt county ever 
since. He taught school for two years at Wild-Cat, while studying 
law under the direction of Mr. Chas. Watts, of Monticello. In March, 
1870, he was admitted to the bar, and very soon after went into part- 
nership with W. E. Lodge, and has been with him ever since. When 
asked if he had held any offices in the county he very soberly remarked, 
"I ran for county judge once and did not get elected, because I did 
not get votes enough." Mr. Huston was married December 29, 1870, 
to Miss Susie Stickel, who died January 21, 1872, leaving a little 
daughter, Susie, who died in August of the same year. He was married 
the second time on March 7, 1876, and to Miss Martha Ward. One 
son, Ward T., has blessed this union. Mr. Huston's father, Mr. 
Thomas Huston, who died in Monticello about 1878, was drafted in 
the war of 1812. He hired a substitute, who was killed ere the war 
ended. He was a prominent citizen of Ohio, having served i;i the 
state legislature about 1840. 

MR. S. H. HUBBELL, grain merchant, Monticello, is a native of 
Cincinnati, Ohio. He first came to the county in 1855, stayed a few 
months and returned to Cincinnati. In 1860 he came back and stayed 
until he entered the army. After the war was over he located perma- 
nently in Monticello. For a number of years he was a member of the 
merchandise firm of Piatt, Hubbell & Co., but now is working in the 
mill and elevator owned by E. A. Townley & Co. He went to the 
19 



292 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

army in 1862, and stayed until the close of the war. He held the 
positions of adjutant and first lieutenant, and was in the following 
principal battles: Knoxville, Franklin, Nashville, and those of the 
Atlanta campaign, i He had his horse taken by Morgan, but was never 
wounded or taken prisoner. He was married in November, 1866, to 
Miss Jennie Townley, of Cincinnati. They have had two children : 
Edward Townley and Harry Piatt. 

ME. JOHN HAYS, a farmer in Monticello township, was born in 
Ireland in 1830. He left Ireland and landed in New York in 1851. 
In speaking of this fact Mr. Hays very dryly remarked, " I ought to 
have left there twenty years before." There was small-pox on board the 
ship which brought him to America, but Mr. Hays escaped its clutches. 
He was raised a farmer, and, in coming to this country, thought to find 
a better opening for farmers than the old country afforded. Mr. Hays 
has owned land in several townships in this county. He landed here 
first in 1859, after a three years' residence in Macon county. He was 
married in New York, to Miss Anna Ryan, a native of Ireland. They 
have had five children, three of whom, Nanno, James and Will, are 
living. Mr. Hays was school director for eight years, and during this 
time was instrumental in the building of the school-house which is 
now at Hammond. He is a member of the Catholic church. 

MR. WILLIAM HANKS" is a native of Kentucky. His father, John 
Hanks, a native of the same state, moved from Kentucky to Indiana. 
In 1828 he moved to Stevens Creek, Macon county, Illinois. Previous 
to his moving to Illinois he lived for a time with Mr. Robert Lincoln 
in Spencer county, Indiana. Mr. Lincoln came to Illinois the next 
spring (1829) after Mr. Hanks did, and moved into the house vacated 
for that purpose by him. Mr. Lincoln remained with his family in this 
place for two years and then moved to Coles county. His son Abraham 
(our martyred president) the meantime breaking prairie. Abraham 
remained after his father had gone, and he and Mr. John Hanks built 
a flat-boat and went down the river to Springfield. They were hired 
by a man in Springfield to go on the flat-boat to New Orleans. They 
shipped bacon and flour to said city, sold the boat and then returned 
on a steamer. Lincoln got $100 for his job, and with it entered eighty 
acres of land in Coles county. His father lived on this place until his 
death. Mr. John Hanks entered his first land with money obtained 
from the use of the flat-boat. After entering the land for his father. 
Lincoln became postmaster in a town near Springfield. Probably the 
next move was in the Black, Hawk war, and Mr. John Hanks was with 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. '293 

him there. In the winter of 1829 he made rails for Mr. Hanks and 
others near Springfield. After Lincoln became a lawyer Mr. Hanks' 
was his stopping place while attending court at Decatur. Just before 
liis inauguration he sent word for Mr. John Hanks to accompany him 
on a visit to his father.' While on this trip Lincoln planned for Mr. 
Hanks to go with him to Washington. He did so and remained two 
weeks. During the visit to his father Lincoln told Mr. Hanks that he 
would never see home again. Mr. Hanks was in the army and saw 
Lincoln again at the White House. Mr. John Hanks is eighty years 
old and still lives in Macon county, on the old farm where he first 
settled. Mr. William Hanks was married in 1853, to MaryE. Henson, 
who died in 1876. They had two children. Charles married Elizabeth 
Newhouse. They, with their daughter Sarah, reside in Monticello 
township. Emma Hanks lives with her grandfather. Mr. Hanks 
came to Piatt county in 1872, and now lives on what is known as the 
Scott land in Monticello township. 

ME. J. B. HICKS, Monticello, was connected with the brickmaking 
interests of Piatt county for a number of years. On March 10, 
1864, he and his son-in-law, Mr. II. Shepherd, arrived in Monticello, 
and at once contracted to make brick for and put up the wall of Piatt 
and Bryden's store building on the southwest corner of the square. 
They also made the brick for W. II. Piatt's residence, and for Mr. 
Bell's house in Bement, in all making near a million brick that 
summer. In 1865 he bought Mr. Shepherd's interest, and for several 
years made from five to seven thousand brick a year. Mr. Hicks still 
resides near Monticello, has been married twice and has several 
children. 

MR. MICHAEL II AZZARD, a merchant in Monticello, was born in 1841, 
in Indiana. His parents were natives of the same state, and left him 
an orphan at the age of six. He was married at Little York, Indiana, 
to Asenath S. Davis, a native of the same state and born in 1844. 
They have had eleven children, five of whom were of one birth. The 
quintette were born in Monticello, September 18, 1880. The longest 
life which either of the five had was twenty-two days. They have four 
children living, William Albert, Edgar N., Charlie and Nellie. In 
J866 Mr. Hazzard brought a stock of goods to Monticello, where he 
located. He has been a merchant since 1863. He held the office of 
city treasurer for four years, and for six years was alderman. He 
belongs to the Masonic lodge and to the Knights of Honor. In 1861 
Mr. Hazzard went to the army in Co. C of the 38th Ind. Inf. After 



294 HISTORY OF PIATT (OIXTY. 

about ten minutes of fighting at Perryville (his first battle) lie was 
wounded quite severely in his right shoulder, lie spent some time in 
the hospital at Louisville, Kentucky. 

MR. RKBER HUSTON, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, from which 
state he came to Illinois, and in 1874 went into business for Lodge & 
Huston, of Monticello. He is still in the same business, and owu< a 
residence and three lots in the town. He was married in July, 1875, 
to Mrs. John Garver, nee Anna, D. Hubbell, and they have had two 
children, Charles and Earnest. Mr. Huston's uncle, Mr. .lames Reber, 
who was the first probate judge in this county, lived in Monticello for 
a time. Mr. Reber died, leaving a wife and several children, who now 
reside in Ohio. 

MR. CHARLES HUGHES, lawyer, Monticello, is a native of Madison 
county, Ohio. When but two years old his parents came west, and 
Charles has lived in Piatt county ever since. His father, Daniel 
Hughes, came west in 1864 or 1865, and has never been heard of 
since. His mother died, leaving five children, three of whom are living. 
Mr. C. Hughes was a farmer until seventeen or eighteen years of age. 
when he began teaching school. From this time he alternated his 
teaching with his going to school and studying until he entered the 
bar. During this time he attended the state university at Champaign 
for a year. He was united in marriage, in 1878, to Miss Pamelia Combs. 
Mr. Hughes is one of the self-made young men of the county. His 
own efforts have placed him where he now stands. In 1880 he was 
elected to the office of state's attorney. 

MR. PETER HITCHENS, Monticello, was born in Ohio, moved to 
Indiana, thence to Vermilion county, Illinois, then to Piatt county in 
1862, locating at Bement. In 1863 he went to Monticello, in 1872 
moved to Mansfield, and has since returned to Monticello. Mr. 
Kitchens married Susan Doll, of Ohio, and has six children living. 
Sarah Ann is the wife of John May, lives in Indiana and has four 
children; John married Sarah E. Ray, and lives in Iowa; Martha 
married Mr. Pender, and died, leaving one child ; Margaret married 
Wm. Ray, and lives in Virginia ; America married Riley Tatma.ii : 
George married Sarah Carr, has one child, Clarence, and is a black- 
smith in Mansfield ; William married Lina Coiioway. lias two children 
and is a blacksmith in Mansfield. 

MR. L. HAMMEBSMIDT, furniture dealer. Monticello. was born in Ger- 
many, and came to America and located in Monticello in ls>r. He 
has lived in Monticello ever since, and owns his residence, a business 



I;IO<;KAPITKJAL SKETCHES. 295 

house and two lots in the place. He was married about twenty-six 
years ago to Henrietta Rump and has one daughter, Ella. 

MR. ELI AS ILoKKiiixKs is a native of Ohio, and moved from thereto 
Piatt county in 1869, locating where he now lives. He owns eighty 
acres, which he partially improved himself. Mr. Hoft'hines was mar- 
ried about 1861, to Martha Robinson, also a native of Ohio, and has 
had twelve children, of whom nine are living, Isaac, Newton, Zelda 
.1., Sarah E., Homer, David, Oassius, whose twin died, Daniel, and 
the twins Mary and .Clara. 

MK. JAMES HAKDIXG is a native of Ohio; came from there to Piatt 
county in 1869. He was married in 1878, to Mary Prouse, and has 
one child, George. His father and mother, Mr. and Mrs. Jas. Plarding, 
live in the county and have had eleven children, two of whom reside 
here, James and Taylor. Taylor married Sarah Robins and has four 
children, Wilburt, Edward, Frank and Jesse. 

MR. W . M. 1 1 KTTIXGER, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Ross 
county, Ohio, from which state he moved to Piatt county, Illinois, in 
1^52. He now owns 200 acres of land, upon eighty acres of which he 
has put all the improvements. The residence was built in 1879 and 
the barn in 1880. His crops have been good. In 1880-1 the crops 
averaged sixty bushels and fifty-live bushels respectively. Mr. 
Hettinger and Margaret Morrison were united in- marriage in 1852, 
and have had eleven children, ten of whom are living. Martha J., 
married Emanuel Kerns, has four children and lives in Strawn. The 
names of the other children $re James, kelson, *ohn, William, 
Franklin, Edward, George, Oscar and Dora. 

MR. .1. ('. .1 1>] ix sox, a farmer near Monticello, is of English descent, 
and was born and raised in Rhode Island, his parents' native state. 
He moved from this state to Ohio, where he taught school for four 
years, after which he moved back to Rhode Island, and in 1839 
married Miss Hoxu Maria Thomas, a native of the" same state. After 
their marriage they moved to Ohio, where both taught school for a time 
and then moved to Indiana. While in Vincennes, Mr. Johnson taught 
the only Protestant school in the place, lie moved from there in 
1841 to Clark county, Illinois, and taught school for two years. In 
the winter of 1842 he was agent for Messrs (). and D. Bailey, merchants 
of Edgar county, Illinois. He continued in this business until August 
8, 1844, when he moved to Monticello and opened a general mer- 
chandise store for the same lirm. He continued working for the 
Messrs. Bailey until 1X45, when he opened a store on a small scale 



296 HISTOKY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

for himself. From that time he kept store off and on until 1872. 
He began keeping hotel in 1845. He bought the house of Mr. Ed. 
Ater. It was very roughly finished. Split rails formed the studding, 
while it was weather-boarded with four-foot clapboards. Mr. Johnson 
completed the building and owned it till 1859. He kept the Old Fort 
for about eight years. He finished the brick hotel in Monticello in 
1860 and kept it for several years. He owned the building until 1874, 
when he sold it to Mr. Ed. Ater. In 1844 Mr. Johnson was appointed 
collector to fill a vacancy caused by Mr. Ater's moving away. In the 
fall of 1845 he was elected justice of the peace for four years. He 
served as county commissioner for four years. In all, he was justice 
of the peace for twelve years. In 1848 he was elected the first clerk 
of the circuit court under the new constitution and served four years. 
He was appointed postmaster in 1852 and served until 1859, when 
Mr. David Co'rnprobst was appointed in his place. Mr. Johnson 
had more of an education than the majority of early settlers in this 
county. He prepared for college in Franklin Academy, Massachusetts, 
and attended the Brown University in Rhode Island. Mr. Johnson's 
education, as well as his sterling qualities, has caused him to exert 
quite an influence in Monticello. While he was actively engaged in 
business there, J. C. was a name familiar to every household in the 
place. He moved on to his farm a little south of Monticello in 1859. 
At present he owns quite a number of lots in Monticello. Mr. and 
Mrs. Johnson have had nine children, seven of whom are living. 
Harriet married 1 ' John Q. Adams, and lives in ISTeosho Falls. Kansas. 
Her husband died in 1880 arid she is left alone with her three children. 
She and her brother George are carrying on the hardware business. 
Theresa Ilortense is unmarried and still lives at home. Franklin 
married Miss Xancy Turk, lives on Mr. Johnson's place and has five 
children, Allie, Etta, Edward, Jessie and Louis ; Walter and Isadore, 
twins, are both at home. George II. is in the hardware business in 
Kansas. Mary Adelaide married Mr. -E. Miller, who is a lumber 
merchant in Kansas. Mr. George Johnson came to Piatt county soon 
after his brother, J. C. Johnson, settled here. For a time they were 
partners in the merchandise business. He married Miss Vashti 
Fowler, who died. One son lived to be of age. Edward married 
Miss Alice Gilford, but is now dead. 

DR. B. B. JO.VKS was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, in 1828. He 
began studying medicine under Dr. Hull, in Ohio, and graduated at the 
Starling Medical College, at Columbus, Ohio, in 1854. On September 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 297 

16, 1856, Dr. Jones reached Piatt county, and has been practicing 
medicine here ever since. His first practice in the county was in a 
great siege of typhoid fever, with which he was quite successful. At 
an early day his practice extended far beyond the present limits of the 
county into all the adjoining counties. He was married in Sangamon 
county in 1857, to Sadie E. Short, of Median icsburg, whom he met in 
Ohio. Dr. Jones remarked that notwithstanding Dr. Hull's advice to 
come to Illinois, that he would most likely have remained in Ohio had 
it not been for the young lady now Mrs. Jones. They have had two 
children, one of whom, B. P., is living, and was recently married to 
Miss May Kious. 

MR. HENRY JACKSON, Monticello, is of English and German descent, 
and was born in Virginia. His parents were natites of the same 
state and were born in 1803. They were married about 1826. His 
father, "William Jackson, and family moved from Virginia to Indiana 
in 1838, and from there to Missouri in 1848, coming to Illinois in the 
same year. He came to Piatt county in 1854 and remained until 1862, 
when he went to Oregon, where he died there in December, 1873. Of 
his children, Jacob is living in Monticello, as is also Nancy (Jackson) 
Tinsman and Henry ; Mary Elliott is in Randolph count}' and Eliza 
"Wiltermute is in Piatt county ; Joseph is now in Boise, Idaho terri- 
tory ; Kate is at home in Monticello, and John lives in Randolph 
county. Mr. Henry Jackson has been carpentering most of the time 
since living in the county. Upon our asking if he were married, he 
exclaimed, "Never a marry ! Why I thought all the young ladies in 
Piatt county knew that ! " 

MR. T. L. JONES, farmer, Monticello, was reared in Kentucky, from 
which state he moved to Piatt county about 184-4 and settled in Monti- 
cello township, where he has lived ever since. He owns a farm of 
120 acres, upon which he has put all the improvements. Near two 
acres of fruit and forest trees have been planted out. Mr. Jones was 
married in Piatt county to Nancy L. Savage, and lias liad sc-ven chil- 
dren, six of whom are now living : Charles, who married Charlotte 
O'Neil and has two children, Clay and Edna; and Henry, Martin, 
Albert, Elma and May. Mr. Jones held the office of school director 
for nine years, and at present is school trustee. 

MR. JOXAS .IOXKS, tanner, Monticello, is a native of Kentucky, from 
which- state he moved to Piatt county in 1853, at which date he settled 
in Monticello and has been here over since. He was married in Piatt 
county to Miss Belle Jamison and has had two children, both now dead. 



298 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

Mr. .Jones went to the army in August, 1862, in Co. D of the 73d 111. 
Inf. reg. He was commissioned as first lieutenant, but was promoted 
to captain in November, 1864. On May 17, 1865, he was discharged 
on account of wounds. Company D was in about seventeen battles. 
Of these Mr. Jones was in the one at Perry ville, at Resaca and at 
Franklin, at which place he was wounded, November 30, 1864. He 
receives a pension at the present time. 

MR. LEVI JAMISON, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Washington 
county, Maryland. He moved from Clark county, Ohio, to Piatt 
county in 1851. He settled on Mr. Charles Harris' place at that time, 
and has been here ever since. He owns a farm of eighty acres, upon 
which he has put all improvements. Several hundred trees have been 
planted and the residence was remodeled in 1881. He was married in 
1850, to Sarah Foley, whose father was one of the pioneer settlers of 
Ohio. They have had eight children, six of whom are living, Thomas, 
William, Emma, Susan, Mary Belle and Rebecca. 

MR. FRANKLIN' JOHNSON (deceased), farmer, was a native of Vermont. 
lie moved to Ross county, Ohio, and from there to Piatt county, in 
1855, locating one and one-half miles east of Monticello. He owned 
120 acres of land, which he partly improved. Mr. Johnson was married 
in 1847, to Hephzibah Dresbach, and had two children. Rosaltha, who 
married Jerry Duvall, and Georgians, who married Mr. Pursel. The 
subject of our sketch died in .May, 1<S61. 

MR. S. H. JONES, farmer, was born in Ohio, and moved from there- 
to Piatt county, Illinois, in 1805. He owns 160 acres where he now 
lives, having put all the improvements on the place in the last thirteen 
years. Mr. Jones was married in 1866, to Sarah 0. Bronser, and has 
had two children, Charlie and Elmer. He went to the late war from 
Piatt county in 1862, in Co. K of the 107th 111. Inf., and was in all 
the battles of the regiment until they reached Atlanta. He returned 
in 1865. 

ME. JOSKIMI A. KKK (deceased), merchant, Monticello, was a native 
of Virginia, from where he moved to Piatt county about 1835. Fora 
while he farmed and then went into merchandise with Mr. Bailey, and 
was a merchant when he died, July 4, 1855. Mr. Kee married 
Elizabeth Rhoades and had three children : Kate, who married P. A. 
Hamilton about 1869 ; she died about 1872, leaving one child, now 
dead. Nathan E. married Emma F. Hill, December 24, 1873. -They 
have two girls, ,<f Gertie and Florence. Mr. Joseph A. Kee was a 
Master Mason. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 299 

t 

MR. J. F. KISEK, grocer, Monticello, is a native of Ohio. He came 
to Illinois in September, 1854, located on a farm for a few weeks, then 
moved into Monticello, went into the grocery business, and is the 
oldest grocer there. He owns his residence, store building, and seven 
lots in Monticello. Mr. Riser was married in 1844 to Ellen Sipple. 
They have had eight children, five of whom are living. Edna married 
"W. F. Gilmore, a Methodist Episcopal minister now located at Harris- 
town, near Decatur, and has two children. Emma is at home. Dora 
is the wife of Mr. Van Gundy. Florence now teaches music in 
Monticello. Harry is at home. Of the girls, Edna attended school at 
Bloornington, the others at Jacksonville. Mr. Kiser is a member of 
the Masonic lodge of Monticello. 

ME. E. G. KNIGHT was born in Essex .county, Massachusetts, and 
moved from there in 1856 to Piatt county, where he has been ever 
since. He resides in Monticello, where he owns a residence and lot 
and an interest in an elevator. He was married in 1858, to Anna 
'Curran, and has four children: M. Lizzie, wife of Dr. Davison, Ella 
Y., a graduate of the Monticello high school, Harry and Jessie F. 

MR. M. W. KKYES, lumber merchant, Monticello, is a native of 
Littleton, Massachusetts. He came from Massachusetts . direct to 
Chicago in 1869, and in 1879 moved to Monticello, where he located 
as a lumber dealer, now having probably the most extensive stock in 
the city. He also deals in a full line of mixed paints, and is agent for 
the Bodine patent roofing. At present he is erecting a lumber ware- 
house, 50x70 feet. Mr. Keyes was married in Chicago to Agnes 
Stevens, and has two children, Frank M. and Ida F. Mr. Keyes has 
come among us comparatively recently, but we anticipate in him a 
good citizen and a successful business man. 

MR. JOHN Korsiio, shoemaker, Monticello, is a native of Poland, 
and came to America in 1867, and to Monticello in June, 1868, where 
he has been working at his trade ever since. He commenced business 
for himself in 1869, and was married January 3, 1869, to Mrs. Mary 
Ann Soape nee Mary Ann Magette. She had four children by her first 
husband, but they are all dead. She is a native of Belgium, came to 
America in 1845, and to Monticello in 1857. and speaks German, 
French and English. He speaks Polish, German and English, and is 
a member of the Odd-Fellows lodge and the Encampment. 

DK. A. B. KNOTT moved from Pennsylvania, his native state, to 
Ohio and thence to Piatt county in 1855. He first settled in Sanga- 
mon township, and moved, in 187'), to Monticello, where he now owns 



300 HISTORY OF P1ATT COUNTY. 

a residence and two lots. Dr. Knott is one of the best physicians of 
the county. He graduated in the Eclectic Medical College in Cincin- 
nati in 1855. and is also a graduate of the Hom<Bopathic College in St. 
Louis, besides having attended lectures at Philadelphia and Chicago. 
Dr. Knott was married in 1850, to Mary Law, and has had five chil- 
dren : Dr. F. H. Knott, now in . Ohio ; Josephine, the wife of J. H. 
Cliiie ; Mary A., wife of Ezra Cline ; Sarah, wife of William Elsea r 
and Jeptha, a student of the Hahnemann Medical College, Chicago. 
In 1868 Mary B. Williams became Dr. Knott's second wife. 

W. E. LODGE, Monticello, was born at Mt. Hope, Hamilton county, 
Ohio, and came with his parents to Edgar county, Illinois, about 1837. 
He is a self-educated man, and studied law under Green & Eads, of 
Paris, Illinois, for two years. He came to Piatt county, February 4, 
1859 ; in the following March was admitted to the bar, and has been 
practicing law in the county ever since. On January 30, 1868, Mr. 
Lodge arid Francis A. Piatt were united in marriage. Four children, 
William F., James P. and Charles V. (twins), and Paul E., have 
blessed their union. 

MR. BARON T. LOWRY (deceased), was a native of Kentucky. He 
moved to DeWitt county at an early day, and, in common with other 
pioneers, underwent the hardships in connection with the times. His 
father was a member of the convention at the time Illinois was struck 
off from the territory. He was a noble man, and spent a great deal 
of money in aiding to make the state a free one. Mr. and Mrs. Baron 
Lowry moved to Piatt county from DeWitt about 1851. Mrs. Lowry, 
nee Jane Newcomb, was born in Kentucky in 1807. Her grand- 
father, who was a captain in the revolutionary war, died in 1*21 while 
on his knees in family prayer. Her father, William iSTewcomb, moved 
from Kentucky to Indiana, and from there to Illinois, at an early day. 
He entered land in various parts of the state, but lived most of his time 
in Edgar county. Jane Newoomb was one of ten children. She was 
married, February 2, 1826, to Baron T. Lowry, who died June jj:J. 
1835. Their eldest daughter, Elizabeth J., was born in 1S27, and is 
now the wife of Mr. John Piatt (see his sketch). America died in 
1855. William Milton died in 185-i. Reuben A., who was born May 
24, 1833, married Rebecca Miles, and lived a few miles east of Monti- 
cello. He died in 1875. Mrs. Reuben Lowry has one son, Frank 11., 
living, and is still living on the farm. Col. Francis II., born June 21, 
1837, was killed in the late war in 1864. He married Eliza Client- 
worth, of Clinton, who died, leaving one daughter, Susie, who 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 301 

made her home with her grandma until her marriage, in June, 1881, 
to Mr. Charles G. Armstrong, of Ottawa. Mrs. Lowry's home in 
Monticello was for a number of years the stopping place for Methodist 
ministers who came to the town. They were always cheerfully 
welcomed by the good woman. On November 2, 1870, Mrs. Lowry 
became the wife of Mr. Joshua Knight, who died a few years ago. 

MR. JOHN C. LOWRY, grocer, Monticello, was born in Chillicothe, 
Ohio, and moved from there to Illinois in 1852. He came to Monti- 
cello in 1856, following carpentering for a number of years, contracting 
for the present court-house, jail, south school-house, and other buildings. 
In 1880 he went into the grocery business. Mr. Lowry was married 
in 1860, to Nancy Bannan, formerly of Ohio. They have had four 
children, Catharine, Robert M., William and Ellen. He entered the 
army in Co. E of the 107th 111., and returned as captain, participating 
in the principal battles from Strawberry Plain to Franklin. Pie was in 
every engagement of the regiment, and lost his hearing while in the 
army. 

MR. REUBEN A. LOWRY (deceased), Monticello, was a native of 
DeWitt county. He was married August 27, 1858, to Sarah R. Miles, 
and has had four children. Of these, William Milton died at eighteen 
years of age, and Thomas S. and Eliza J. are also dead. Francis 
Hubert is living with his mother on the home farm of 80 acres, 
which, in addition to another SO acres, has been improved by the 
family. Mr. Lowry died March 8, 1874, aged forty-one years. 

MR. S. A. LODGE, Monticello, is a native of New York city, from 
which place his parents moved to Zanesville, Ohio. While there, his 
father, Mr. Benjamin F. Lodge, invented the California quartz mill 
for making turnpike roads. He then went to Kentucky to make use 
of the mill, but soon located in the vicinity of Cincinnati, where he 
worked at such roads quite awhile. His next 'move was to a farm 
near Paris, Illinois, where he lived until 1857, after which he went 
into the hard ware business in Paris, where 1 he died in June, 1863. The 
subject of our sketch is the oldest living member of the family. When 
the war broke out he went to the army as a private in the l^th 111. 
reg. After a three-months' service, he re-enlisted in the same regi- 
ment, serving- as 1st sergt. until after the battle of Shiloh, when he 
was promoted to captain in the 9th Ky. reg. He engaged in the 
battles of Ft. Donelson, Ft. Henry, Shiloh, Corinth and Perryville. 
Upon his resignation in 1862, on account of poisoning, he was 
presented with testimonials of respect by some of his brother soldiers 



302 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

and officers. We saw the paper, and think Mr. Lodge has reason to 
be proud of the same. After somewhat recovering his health, Mr. 
Lodge went into business again, remaining in Edgar and Douglas 
counties until about 1874, when he began the grain business in 
Bement, Piatt county. This county has been his home ever since, 
and within the last year he has built a nice frame residence in 
Monticello. . He was married March 15, 1882, to Miss Ellen Clayton, 
of Deer Park, La Salle county, Illinois. 

MR. GEORGE B. LEWIS, wagon-maker, Monticello, is a native of 
iSeAV York state, and moved from there to Piatt county in 1866. He 
began wagon-making, and went into partnership with Mr. Mulford in 
1866. He owns four houses, four and one-half lots, and one-half 
interest in his business house. Mr. Lewis was married in 1866, to 
Mary E. Roberts, and has six children, all living: Winifred, Alice, 
Rosa, Ilena, Emma and Henry. He belongs to the Odd-Eellows of 
Monticello, and is at present, and has been for ten or twelve years, the 
leader of the Monticello cornet band of ten instruments. Mrs. Lewis 
is a music teacher. 

MR. E. W. LUMSDKX, hardware merchant, Monticello, is a native 
of Morgan county, Illinois, to which county his father, who is still 
living, moved when there was nothing of Jacksonville except a few 
log houses. Mr. Lurnsden moved to Champaign county, and from 
there to Piatt county in 1872, at which time he began the butchering 
business in Monticello. He went inco the hardware business with 
Mr. Dove in 1879. At the present time he owns a house and two lots 
in Monticello. He \vas married in 1864, to Pathaney Ayre, and has 
live children, Walter, Jonas A., James, Anna and Olive E. 

Mr. D. O. LOY, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, from which state 
he came to Illinois and located in Piatt county in is<;r>. He began 
manufacturing tile in 1878, and started the first steam tile works in 
the county, and at present has the largest steam works in the county. 
He is just completing a brick building, 20X30 feet, and two stories in 
height, in which he expects to carry on his manufactures during the 
winter season. Several years ago Mr. Loy obtained a patent for well^ 
brick and paving brick which he invented. We anticipate that at 
jsome day he may realize something from his patent. 

DR. LEVI M. LEI: was born in Edmundson county, Kentucky, and 
was educated at Cloverport, in the same state. He removed to 
.Louisville. Kentucky, in 1859, and in 1861 joined the 10th reg. of the 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 303 

Ky. Vol. Inf., remaining as quartermaster clerk during over three years 
of service in the war. After leaving the army he began the study of 
medicine, and graduated at the Medical University of Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, March 1, 1870, and has been in constant practice since. Dr. 
Lee joined the Methodist Episcopal church in 1876, belongs to the 
Pioneer Lodge, No. 8, Knights of Pythias, Louisville, Kentucky, and 
is a member of the I.O.O.F. Lodge of Monticello. He was united in 
marriage June 18, 1874, to Miss S. B. Silver. Both of his parents are 
living in Indianapolis. 

MR. BENJAMIN MAKKEL (deceased) was a native of Pennsylvania, 
from which state he moved to Ohio. He came to Illinois in Decem- 
ber, 1840, and the following spring located as a carpenter in Monti- 
cello. He followed his trade until his health failed. A number of 
houses now in Monticello were built by him. He was married in 
March, 1832, to Eliza Luginbeel, a native of Frederick county, Mary- 
land. Three of their ten children are now living. Kate married 
Mr. John Lincoln, and has one son, Otis. She has been a successful 
mantna-maker in Monticello for twenty-one years. Sarah was the wife 
of Henry Woolingto'n. Her death occurred in I860. Oliver Markel 
married Melissa Russel, who died in 1879, leaving two children, 
Orville and Earnest. Miss Ella has followed the dressmaking business 
for a number of years. Mr. Markel died in 1868. 

MR. THOMAS MOFFITT (deceased) was born in Pennsylvania. He 
was of Irish and Scotch descent, and his mother was a daughter of 
Col. Patterson, of Brownville, Pennsylvania. He moved from Pitts- 
burg to Piatt county about 1857, and lived here until he moved to 
Kansas. He moved his family to Canon Cit\ T , Colorado, but he died 
in Cherry vale, Kansas. Lie had nine children, who lived to be grown. 
Eliza married Dr. Bradbury and lives in Canon, Colorado. Matilda 
married Jerry Bender, but died leaving two children, Charles and 
Anna. Thomas N. married Ophelia J. White, of Columbus, Ohio, 
and lives in Gales ville. They have had two children, only one of 
whom, Blanche, is living. We cannot refrain from making mention of 
T. JST. Moffitt's talent in art. In fact he is a natural artist, and we can 
but hope that he will educate himself in this direction, for we feel sure 
that success \vould await him. Of late years in this country there is 
such a demand for designers, wood engravers and artists that an 
opening certainly awaits him. Edward Moffitt is in Ketchum, Idaho. 
Elvira, the wife of Prof. Morgan, has two children and lives in 
Kansas. 1 lenrietta, who married Louis Combs, died, leaving one child. 



304 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Grantley married Maggie Mitchell, and is in the Black Hills. Belle, 
the wife of Wm. Gordon, has one child and lives in Colorado. When 
Mr. Thomas Moffitt was in Monticello, he was a bridge carpenter. 
He superintended the building of the levee out from Monticello to the 
river bridge. After going to Kansas, he was a minister in the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church. 

MR. JAMES McMiLLBN, of Monticello, is of Scotch lineage, and a 
native of Highland county, Ohio. His parents lived and died in the 
same county. His father was under Gen. Harrison in the war of 
1812. His brother, Thomas, came with him to Piatt county about 
1854. They had lived previously, however, a number of years, near 
Logansport, Indiana. After farming for Mr. Ezra Marquiss for four 
years, Mr. McMillen moved into Monticello, where he has lived ever 
since. He was married in Highland county, in 1835, to Miss Maggie 
Huston, a sister of Mr. John Huston, who preached in the county a 
number of years. They have six children. John C. E. married Flora 
Langdon, and lives in Monticello, and has five children. He was in 
thirteen battles of the late war, but was neither wounded or taken 
prisoner. Susan E. is the wife of Mathew Jacobs, a farmer of Cham- 
paign county, and has two children. A. H. McMillen and Lizzie Foster 
were married in 1877. They have two children, and are now living 
in Iowa. Sarah J. became the wife of John LeFever in 1876, has two 
children, and lives in Macon county. Alice McMillen has been 
working in "The Herald" printing office in Monticello for several 
years. Emma S. is living with an aunt in Ohio. 

MR. JOSEPH MALLORY, a resident of Monticello, was born May 23, 
1816, near the Antietam battle-field. His parents were raised in 
Virginia, his father in Stafford county and his mother in Jefferson 
county. His father was of English and Irish, while his mother was 
of French and German descent. After their marriage they made 
their home in Jefferson county, spending some of their summers, 
however, in Washington county, Maryland. His lather was in the 
United States service ; was inspector of arms, and lived at Harper's 
Ferry. Mr. Joseph Maliory says that his father was the first man 
Gen. Harrison appointed to office after his inauguration, and that it 
was Daniel Webster who recommended him to the position of super- 
intendent of Jefferson barracks. Mr. Mallory's grandfather on his 
father's side was on the ordnance corps, and was under the immediate 
command of Gen. Washington in the revolution. His grandfather on 
his mother's side was with Gen. St. Clair. Mr. Mallorv moved from 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 305 

I 

Virginia to Pickaway county, Ohio, in 1828. A portion of the family- 
moved to Piatt county in 1835, while the rest came in 1837. Mr. 
Joseph Mallory was of the h'rst party. The family settled upon the 
8angamon river about eleven miles from Monticello. The father, Mr. 
George Mallory, who was born ifl 1778, died on this place in 1841. 
The mother lived to the age of eighty-six years, and died in 1857 in 
Nebraska. Mr. Joseph Mallory was married January 1, 1856, to Mrs. 
J. P. Smith, nee Cassandria F. Longnecker, a native of Montgomery 
county, Kentucky. Her father and mother were natives of Kentucky ; 
the one was of German and English descent, the other of French 
descent. She was married first in 1848. Mr. Smith died in 1852. 
One daughter, Helen, born the Same year her father died, is now the 
wife of Richard Stickel, of Monticello. Mrs. Smith moved to this 
county in 1849. Mr. and Mrs. Mallory have but one daughter, Lizzie. 
Upon our speaking to this young lady of 'her birthplace, she remarked, 
*' I was born and raised here, and I suppose I will die here if I have 
good luck. ' In speaking of his early days in this county, Mr. Mallory 
remarked that the first deer he ever killed was in 1835. Mr. Mallory 
thinks he, in 1840, took the first drove of cattle that was ever taken from 
Piatt county to New York city. While in the city during this trip he did 
quite a bold thing for a "green Illinois drover" to do. In those days 
it was the custom for drovers to wait some fifteen or twenty days for 
the butchers to pay for their stock. While waiting for his money Mr. 
Mallory became acquainted with quite a strong whig, who happened to 
mention that Daniel Webster was at the Astor House. Now it had 
long been Mr. Mallory's great desire to see the great orator, and he 
immediately resolved to go to this house and see if he could get a 
glimpse of the man. When he reached the hotel, and as he, probably 
in a very "green and awkward manner," began to gaze about him, he 
was accosted by an individual who wished to know what was wanted. 
Upon learning his desire and his name, the gentleman said : "Come 
this w r ay." Soon Mr. Mallory found himself standing in an open door, 
while within the room was a person whom the usher had just called 
"Mr. Webster." The frontiersman, who had been in many critical 
positions, suddenly found himself more thoroughly frightened than he 
had ever before been. His tongue cleaved to the roof of his mouth, and 
his intense pallor only disappeared at the good-naturedly, deep and 
kindly tones of Mr. Webster, who bade him come in. Mr. Mallory, in 
all frankness, acknowledged that it was only curiosity led him to intrude 
his presence, but Mr. Webster so thoroughly placed him at his ease 



306 HISTORY OF TIATT COUNTY. 

that be soon felt it his duty to make known to him all his knowledge 
of the West and its people. Mr. Mai lory was provost marshal of this 
county during the war. It is conceded by all that lie performed bis 
duty faithfully and well. This county bad the credit of some :<)<> men 
more than was called for. 

MB. C. D. MOOKK, county surveyor, Monticello, is a native of 
Ohio. "Not from Pickaway," as he replied when interrogated, but 
claims Muskingum county as his birthplace. He moved from Ohio 
to Illinois in 1856, and came to Piatt county in 1858, locating in 
Bement, taught school one term, and then began surveying, which 
occupation he still pursues. He has laid out ten additions to Bement. 
seven to Monticello, and has laid out or assisted in laying out every 
town in the county. Mr. Moore was married in 1858, to Louisa B. 
McMillen, of Ohio, who died in 1865, leaving two children, Otis and 
Mary Louisa, both graduates of Monticello High School. He was mar- 
ried again in 1867, to Emily Hubbell, a native of New York, who came 
to Illinois about 1864. They had one daughter, Una Cornelia, who died. 
Mr. Moore moved to Monticello in 1874. He has been town collector, 
commissioner of highway, and was the first supervisor from Bement 
township. He held the position of township treasurer of schools for 
fourteen years, and was county surveyor and drainage commissioner. 
He is a member of the Masonic lodge at Bement. Mr. Moore 
attended Martinsburg Academy, Knox county. Ohio, and had charge 
of this school at a later time. 

MR. WILLIAM MeKi-:vxoLi>s (deceased) was born February 13, 1842. 
and was his father's second child. His father, Allen McReynolds, was 
born in Washington county, Virginia, in 1807. He moved to Tennes- 

d> / ' o 

see, and from there to Missouri, soon after the state was admitted to 
the Union, and settled in Saline county. He was married January 15. 
1840, to Miss M. A. Cooper, and they had thirteen children. The 
subject of our sketch was reared on the farm, and attended the public 
school of the neighborhood, until in his sixteenth year he was sent to 
college at Miami, where he remained two years. Upon returning 
home he w r as constable for a time in Saline county, and then, when the 
war broke out, came to Illinois to attend to the settlement of the estate 
of James McReynolds. He lived in Monticello a number of years, 
and then married. His wife was born in Tazewell county, Illinois. 
Her maiden name was Jennie Pendergast, and she was married in 
1859, to Andrew Beard, who died June 17, 1861, and left one child, 
Frankie, who died in 18(52. Mrs. Beard- was married October 18, 



IARY 

I 
RSli V OF ILLINOIS 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 309 

1866, to Mr. William McReynolds, and moved to Monticello, where 
hey lived until 18T6, when they moved onto the farm one mile east 
of Monticello. Mr. McReynolds died May 13, 1879, leaving four 
children, Willie, John A., Logan Mary and Myra. Their twin girls, 
Bettie and Mattie, died. Mr. Beard, at the time of his death, was in 
the law office with Charles Watts, and had been for some time. Mr. 
McReynolds first worked in the county for William Piatt, and held the 
office of county surveyor, and was county judge for the second term at 
the' time of his death. 

MR. MARTIN MC!NTOSH is of Scotch descent, and was born in Ohio. 
He moved from Ohio to Illinois in 1861, arid to Piatt county in 1867. 
His father was a native of Ohio, and his mother of JSTew Jersey. He 
was married in 1855, to Catharine J. Wilson, a native of Virginia. 
She is of German and of Irish descent, and her parents were natives 
of Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. Mclntosh have had four children, three 
of whom are living. Their eldest son, William J., was married in 
1881, to Mary Herrington. He lives at his father's, and is in partner- 
ship with him in the milling business. John W. and Martin I. are 
both at home. The original mill, which stood on the site where Mr. 
Mclntosh's mill now stands, was the first mill built in the county, and 
was owned by a stock company. The company sold it to Mr. Zorger, 
who sold out to Mr. William Collins. Mr. Collins put up the main 
part of the mill now standing, and sold out to Mr. Emanuel Rhoades. 
Mr. Mclntosh bought the mill of Mr. Rhoades. Mr. Mclntosh grinds 
some 10,000 or 15,000 bushels a year. He is making preparations for 
more extensive work. A saw-mill has been connected with the flour 
mill for many years. During the last three years some 200,000 logs 
have been sawed. Probably more walnut logs have been used than 
any other kind. A new boiler has just (1881) been put into the mill. 
It is from the Decatur Novelty Works, and is twelve feet long, with a 
diameter of fifty-five inches, and has fifty-eight flues. Mr. Mclntosh 
was township trustee for two terms. His father was in both the Black 
Hawk war and war of 1812. For his services he received two land 
warrants. 

MR. DAVID McWiLLiAMS, lawyer, Monticello, is a native of Ohio. 
His parents moved from Pennsylvania to Ohio at an early day, and on 
horseback, leading two pack-horses loaded with their housekeeping 
utensils. His father died in Ohio, but his mother followed her 
children to Illinois in 1853, where she died in 1879. The family 
settled in DeWitt and McLean counties. The subject of our sketch 
20 



310 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

studied law in Springfield, where he was admitted to the bar on 
February 13, 1857. After practicing law in Taylorville, he went, in 
1860, to Waynesville, from which place he came to Monticello. He 
was married in Clinton to Mrs. Vienna Roberts, and has had two 
children, one of whom, Vinnie B., is living. 

MR. MARTIN McCuNE, farmer, is a native of Ohio. He moved 
from Wisconsin to Illinois in 1856, and from there to Piatt county in 
1880. Mr. McCune was married in 1845, to Miss Mary E. Carl. 
They have had twelve children, all of whom are living. Sarah 
married Mr. John Richie, and is living in Macon county; John 
married Miss Haffman, and is living in Decatur ; Jane married Mr. 
Bannon, and is living in Mason county ; James, who married Sirena 
Dean, is living near Bement; Martin married Belle Whitnie, in 
Bement; Warren married Esther Boyer ; George is unmarried ; Mary 
is the wife of Henry Bassette, lives in Marion county, and is twin to 
Eliza, who is at home ; Alice married Will Boyer, and lives near 
Bement. Frank and Samuel are at home. Mr. McCune was in the 
late war, enlisting from Macon county. 

CAPT. MELVILLE H. MUSSER was born April 23, 1822, in Pickaway 
county, Ohio, and came to Monticello in 1857. Upon the breaking 
out of the war Mr. Musser went into Co. F of the 2d 111. reg., served 
through the entire war with distinction, and was promoted several 
times. His death occurred February 22, 1868, after an illness of but 
thirty-six hours. His wife and three sons are still living. Charles is 
in Decatur, and Melville resides with his mother in Monticello. The 
following resolutions show the feeling that some of Mr. Musser's 
friends had upon his death : , 

WHEREAS, It has pleased an All-wise Ruler of the Universe to 
remove from among us Capt. M. II. Musser, our late comrade in 
arms ; as a token of our regard and esteem for the deceased, be it 

Resolved, That the soldiers who participated in the funeral cere- 
monies of Capt. M. H. Musser, of Co. F, 2d 111. V. C., extend our 
sympathies to his bereaved family. 

Hesolved, That in the person of Capt. Musser we have always 
found a friend in whom we could confide, a gentleman for whom we 
have always had the greatest regards, and a soldier who served the 
country in time of need. G. F. MILLER, Pres. 

C. P. DAVIS, Sec. 

MR. II. V. MOORE, a prominent banker of Piatt county, is a native 
of Fulton county. From that place he went to Champaign, and thence 
came to Piatt county in November, 1870, and has since resided in 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 311 

Monticello. He owns two farms, 480 acres, in the county, and his 
residence in the north part of Monticello is one of the most com- 
modious in the city. Mr. Moore was marrieti in 1866, to Alzina W. 
Freeman, and has five children, Mary H., Allen F., Arthur F., 
Dwight L. and George M. 

DR. JAMES MOFFITT, Monticello, was born in Ohio, in June, 1840, 
and came to Piatt county October 18, 1862. His youth was spent on 
a farm in Ohio, and his education was obtained in the public schools 
of Ohio and Illinois. He has been a farmer, a teacher, and for a 
number of years has been practicing medicine in Monticello, having 
obtained his medical education at the Rush Medical College, Chicago. 
He was united in marriage October 21, 1872, to Eleanor Piatt, a 
college graduate. They have three daughters, Jennie B., Marietta D. 
and Frances Willard. Mrs. Moffitt has for several years been 
connected with the temperance work in this vicinity, and has done 
excellent work. 

MR. A. F. MORRISON, Monticello, is a native of Pike county, 
Illinois, from which place he moved to DeWitt county in 1856, thence 
to Piatt county March 22, 1869, and has lived in the county most of 
the time since. He owns a residence and lot in' Monticello. On 
October 1, 1865, Mr. Morrison and Margaret Shurtleff were united in 
marriage. Four of their six children are living, Emily E., Blanch, 
Sylvanus S. and Mabel F. 

MR. JAMES H. MURPHY, of Monticello, Illinois, was born near 
Morgantown, county-seat of Burkes county, North Carolina, November 
8, 1817. His father, Silas Murphy, was of Scottish descent, a master 
mechanic, and belonged to the Quaker church. His mother, Nancy 
(Greene) Murphy, was of English descent. James H. attended com- 
mon school until. fifteen years of age, when his parents moved to 
Indiana, in the year 1834; but they, not being satisfied with the 
climate, only remained two years, then moved to Canton, Illinois, in 
1836. The subject of this sketch then attended school for a short 
time, after which he taught school two or three years, then served an 
apprenticeship for master mechanic, which, in connection with his 
occupation also, of lumber merchant and mill-owner, he followed for 
twenty-five years or more. In the year 1872, March 11, he concluded 
to change "location, and came to Monticello, going into the lumber 
business, and also contracted for and built some of the finest buildings 
in the place. His family followed in May, 1872. He was married in 
September, 1846, to Elizabeth Scott, daughter of Dr. John Scott, a 



312 HISTORY OF 1>I ATT COUNTY. 

Baptist minister, and granddaughter of "Grandfather" Parker, the 
celebrated Baptist minister of Washington, D. C., also granddaughter 
of Hosea Ballon, the widely-known Universalist minister, and is the 
father of five children, three boys and two girls. The two girls and 
one boy are still living. One daughter is married, the other is a 
successful music teacher, and the son, a No. 1 job printer, is foreman 
of the "Piatt County Herald." He joined the Methodist Episcopal 
church at Canton when he was about twenty years of age, and has 
been connected with the same denomination ever since. He has also 
been connected with several other societies, secret and otherwise. His 
wife also has been a member of the same denomination for many 
years. He has held numerous offices of public trust in Canton, 
Illinois, and in Monticello, Illinois. 

MR. EBENEZER McGuFFEY, a farmer in Monticello township, is of 
German and Irish descent, and was born in Indiana. He married 
Nancy A. Hanson, and in 1855 moved to Illinois. In 1861 they 
moved from the southern part of Illinois to Piatt county. They have 
had nine children, four of whom are living. John F. makes his 
home with his parents. Martha E. married Benjamin Duvall, and has 
one child, Henry. Sylvester and Mary are both living at home. Mr. 
McGuffey owns about 50 acres of land. 

MR. SMITH MULFORD, blacksmith, Monticello, is a native of New 
Jersey, from which state he moved to Illinois and located in Piatt 
county in 1856. He began his trade in Monticello at that time, and 
has been following it ever since. He is a member of the Masonic 
lodge of said place. In 1860 Mr. Mulford and Julia Hennion, of 
New Jersey, were united in marriage. They have had five children, 
Flora, Marcus, Almeda, Rodney and Jesse. 

MRS. SAMUEL MINEAR, a native of Ohio, came to Piatt county 
about 1865. There are about 160 acres in the home place. Mr. 
Minear died in Ohio. Six of Mrs. Minear's children are living. Sarah 
and Penelope, the wives of Trerick and Will M. Piatt, respectively; 
Anzaletta, a teacher of the county, who graduated in 1880 at the 
Wesleyan University ; Samuel, who lives at home, and Sherman and 
John Clark. 

MR. A. M. McKiNNEY, of Achilles, Rawlins county, Kansas, 
writes that he has never seen a county of richer lands or better adapted 
to agricultural pursuits than Piatt county. When he began house- 
keeping, in a small frame house, where the brick store building 
occupied by W. E. Smith now stands, Monticello was then a village of 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 313 

300 or 400 inhabitants. Decatur was the nearest village, and of less 
enterprise than Monticello. Springfield was the nearest town where a 
cook stove and set of chairs or bedstead could be purchased. There 
were two stores of general merchandise in Monticello, Joseph Kee's 
and Daniel Stickel's. James Hollingsworth kept some groceries, J. 
C. Johnson and John Tenbrooke were hotel proprietors. Dr Ward 
had a practice extending some twenty-five or thirty miles around. 
There was a church organization, but only occasional preaching. 
Daniel Stickel was superintendent of the Sunday-school, which was 
held in the court-house. The literary society was the chief entertain- 
ment, and prominent among its leaders were Jacob and Noah Piatt. 
That was a memorable winter in the history of Monticello and Piatt 
county. When the heavy winter snows began to melt, the river mills 
were so damaged by the surplus water that all milling had to be done 
at the Springfield steam mills. Mr. McKinney also mentions the 
suffering caused by a traveler who stopped at Tenbrooke's hotel, and 
brought small-pox into the county. The first death was that of Mrs. 
Bailey's little girl at the hotel, and there were but few families that 
entirely escaped the disease. Death and mourning were in almost 
every house, and there was much suffering from want of care. Two 
young men, the Crane boys, would surely have died for want of care, 
had not George Young, of Friends Creek, offered to nurse them 
without charge. It was a terrible winter, and will not soon be 
forgotten by those who lived there. 

WM. NOECKER, M.D., the parents of Dr. Noecker, were of German 
descent and natives of Pennsylvania, and at the time of their death 
were living in Northumberland county, of that state. His father 
enlisted in the war of 1812. Dr. Noecker was born in Northumber- 
land county, Pennsylvania, in 1825. In January, 1840, he went to 
Ohio, and afterward studied medicine at Circleville in that state, under 
the supervision of Dr. Hull, who was then residing in that place. 
After graduating at the Starling Medical College in Columbus, Ohio, 
Dr. Noecker came west, and in March, 1853, located at Monticello, 
Illinois. A great many people having already emigrated to Piatt 
county from Pickaway county, Ohio, the doctor found himself quite 
among friends. Soon after his arrival here he went into partnership 
with Dr. Ward, who for some little time had been the only physician 
in the place. Their partnership lasted one year, during which time 
they carried on a practice which extended not only throughout Piatt 
county, but also into portions of Champaign, Douglas and Macon 



314 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

counties. After their dissolution of partnership Dr. Noecker began to 
practice alone, and soon built up an extensive and lucrative practice 
from which he has amassed considerable wealth. In 1865 he went 
into the drug business, which from that time until now he has carried 
on in connection with his practice as a physician. Since 1868, when 
he built the comer brick building, a portion of which he now occupies, 
the doctor has turned his Attention principally to the drug business. 
Dr. Noecker was married in December, 1861, to Miss Ella Britton. 
Little Willie, who died when but four years old, was their only child. 
In 1875 Dr. Noecker built one of the finest brick residences in Monti- 
cello. He and his wife, now in the prime of their life, are enjoying 
that greatest of all earthly blessings, a beautiful and happy home. Dr. 
Noecker has long belonged to the Masonic order in Monticello. For 
three years he held the office of high priest, and at the present time he 
is recognized as past high priest of the Markwell chapter. He is also 
a charter member of the Urbana commandery of Knights Templar, and 
attended the Knight Templar encampment at New Orleans in 1874, 
and again at Cleveland in 1877. ' Dr. Noecker is recognized by his 
friends of Monticello and vicinity as a shrewd and successful business 
man. 

MR. SAMUEL NEAL (deceased), farmer, was born in Maryland. He 
moved to Ohio, and about 1846 came to Illinois, and lived in and about 
Monticello until his death. He built a brick house on the ridge, where 
in 1851 he died. Mr. Neal was married in Ohio, to Margaret Painter, 
who died in 1870. They had twelve children, three of whom are now 
living, and are in Piatt county. Sarah is the wife of L. B. Weaver. 
Rachel married Chas. Van Gundy, who died, leaving two children ; 
John, who married Susy Best, lives in Monticello township, and has 
three children ; and Mattie, who is the wife of Wm. Porter, lives in 
Monticello, and has two children, Lula M. and Rachael E. Catharine 
married Jesse Bush. They have had five children, three of whom are 
living. Sarah, who married Mr. Fry, has one son, Harry. Samuel 
married Miss Ella O'Neal, and has one child, Eddie. Mr. J. Dee Bush 
is the name of the other son. Samuel Neal married Miss Cox, and lives 
in MontL-ello. 

MR. P. T. NICEIOLS, merchant, Monticello, was, born in Maryland. 
When he was small, went to eastern Ohio, and came from there to 
Illinois. He came to Piatt county in 1872, immediately taking charge 
of the Monticello schools, and in all held such position for five years. 
He graded the school, and the high school was established in 1877, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 315 

under his supervision. The first class to graduate, which consisted ot 
five girls, went out during his principalship, and the north school 
building was erected while he held such position. In 1878 Mr. Nichols 
began merchandising, and is still in the same business. At the present 
time is a member of the school board. He was educated at Madison 
College, eastern Ohio, and is a graduate of a mercantile college. 

MR. TIMOTHY O'CONNOR, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Ireland, 
who came to America in 1853, locating in Piatt county in 1876, having 
come to the state, however, in 1857. He owns 100 acres of land upon 
which he has put all the improvements save $500 worth. He has a 
good house, and the barn was built in 1881. Mr. O'Connor was 
married about 1871, to Jane Loughlyn, and they have two children, 
Dennie P. and Joseph. The family attend the Ivesdale Catholic 
church. 

MR. CHARLES OSBORNE, a native of Jersey county, Illinois, came to 
Bement, Piatt county, in August, 1880, and moved to Monticello in 
December of the same year. He was married in 1874, to E. A. Gilman, 
and has one child, Louis M. 

MR. A. T. PIPHER, Monticello, was born in Jefferson county, New 
York, in 1831, moved from New York in 1854, and came to this county 
in 1858. His parents were of French and English descent, were born 
in Rhode Island, and in 1854 moved from Jefferson county, New York, 
to Aurora, Kane county, Illinois, thence to Miama county, Kansas, in 
1870. They both died in Kansas, his father in 1875 and mother in 
1881. Immediately after Mr. Pipher came to this county, in 1858, he 
began practicing law and has been here ever since. He received his 
education in Black River Institute, Jefferson county, New York, and 
was a member of the class of 1854 in Hamilton College, Madison 
county, the same state. His health failed and he had to quit a few 
months before graduating. Mr. Pipher's license, issued January 6, 
1858, admitting him to the bar, was signed by J. D. Caton and O. C. 
Skinner. Mr. Pipher was married in 1860, to Sophia K. Skinner, 
in Bloomington, who died in Lincoln, Nebraska. He has five children, 
Ella L., Albertina S., Florence M., Alonzo S. and Sophia M. Ella 
graduated from the Monticello high school in 1879 and Bertie in 1881. 
Mr. Pipher was again united in marriage, May 5, 1880, to Mrs. C. H. 
Mentz. He has lived where he now does since 1861. He formerly 
lived where Mr. Patterson did, which property is now owned by A. M. 
Piatt. Mr. Pipher was appointed Master in Chancery in 1868 and 
held the office for six years, was police magistrate for nearly five years 



316 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

and notary public about sixteen years of the time lie has been here. 
Among his important law cases was People's case against Dick Turpiri, 
(assumed name), James Erwin and John Riley, indicted for the murder 
of Sylvester H. Buckley, of Bement, about 1873. He was appointed 
by Judge Gallagher to defend Erwin, Turpin and Riley. The trial 
resulted in the acquittal of Erwin and Riley and the conviction of 
Turpin and his imprisonment in the penitentiary for fourteen years. 
Mr. Pipher was principal of Monticello schools two years in succession 
about 1861 and 1862, then served as principal another year in 1866 or 
1867. 

MR. ALEXANDER PERKINS, deceased, moved from Ohio, his native 
state, to Piatt county in 1856. Enticed by relatives living in the 
county, he had visited the place the year before moving. Mrs. 
Perkins, nee Elizabeth Blacker, was born in Virginia, in 1817. When 
sixteen years old she moved to Ohio, in which state she was married. 
Her father was in the war of 1812. In about a year after coming 
from Ohio and settling in Goose Creek township, Mr. Perkins died. 
There were nine children in all, six of whom are living. Mrs. 
Perkins still survives her husband, and at present makes her home 
with her daughter, Mrs. White. The eldest son in Mr. Perkins' 
family, James L., was married in 1861, to Rebecca Bailey. He 
served three years in the late war. One child, Edward, survived his 
father's death, which occurred in 1870. Mrs. Perkins died in one 
short year after her husband. Mr. William H. Perkins married 
Elizabeth Dubson, in 1862, and has lived in Goose Creek township 
ever since. He has been justice of the peace and road commissioner. 
They have six children, James, John, Amy May, Ebanina, Elizabeth 
and William H., or Harry. Mary Ann married Edward Chase, in 
1859. For a time their home was in Oregon. She died, leaving six 
children. Catharine C. married James Bailey, in 18^61. Their home 
at present is in Harrison county, Iowa. Seven of their children are 
living. Diantha married Thomas White, in 1864. They have seven 
children, William, Mary E., Charles A., Henry L., John F., Earnest 
and Thomas A. Mr. White is a farmer, and is now living in Monti- 
cello township. For a time he has had charge of the water-tank near 
Camp creek, on the W abash railroad. He is a native of England, 
and came to America when four years old. He has lived in this 
county for twenty years. He was in the late war over a year, and 
was wounded at Telegraph Point, Missouri, by an accidental discharge 
of a canon. The principal battles he was in were those at Liberty, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 317 

Missouri, Lexington and Corinth, Mississippi. John Perkins married 
Mary Warner, in 1873. They have five children, Lulu Delia, Bertha, 
"William and Harry A., and live in Monticello township. George W. 
Perkins is unmarried, and makes his home with his brother, Alex- 
ander. Alexander Perkins married Sarah J. Stucky, a native of Pick- 
away county, Ohio, in 1879. They reside in Goose Creek township. 

MB. HERBERT D. PETERS, editor, Monticello, is a native of Steuben 
county, Indiana. His youth was spent on a farm in Monroe county, 
Michigan. He graduated in Monroe high school in' 1868, and took the 
degree of B. Ph. in the University of Michigan in 1873. He was con- 
nected with a daily paper in 1873 as assistant editor, and in the same 
year came to Illinois, and in 1874 began the publication of the "Piatt 
County Herald," in connection with George Scroggs, of Champaign. 
In 1875 he secured the whole interest, and in 1876 took the degree of 
M. Ph. in the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. In 1880 he was 
elected as a member of the thirty-second general assembly. On the 
17th of June, 1879, Mr. Peters and Anna Huston were united in mar- 
riage, and they now have two children, Charlie and an infant. 

MR. JAMES PRESTON, farmer, Bemerit, is a native of Canada, who 
moved from Ohio to Piatt county in 1874. He was married in 1861, 
to Caroline Barndhouse, and has three children, Eliza L., Emily F. 
and Chester H. 

MR. ABRAHAM PING, carpenter, Monticello, was born in Indiana, 
and came to Piatt county in 1879, having previously lived in Moultrie 
county about eighteen years. He was married in 1856, to Catherine 
Powell, of Ohio, and has had the following children : Thomas A., 
George A-, Charles, Elmer, Claudie and Frank. He went to the army 
in Co. G of the 6th Ind. reg., and was in the battles of Shiloh, 
Pittsburg Landing, Stone River, and several others. 

MR. F. M. PATTON, farmer, Monticello, was born in Fountain 
county, Indiana, from which state he moved to Kansas, returning to 
Piatt county about 1875. He now owns 120 acres of land, which he 
has principally improved. He was married in 1868, to Alice Paugh, 
and has three children, Jennie, Ida and Joseph. 

MR. T. S. PAUGH, farmer, Monticello, moved from Indiana, his 
native state, to Kentucky. He next moved to Illinois, and in 1882 
came to Piatt county. He was married in 1876, to J. M. Rusint, and 
has two children, Hardie and Fay. 

MR. WILLIAM H. PLUNK, a native of Ohio, moved from there to 
Illinois and located, in 1856, in Piatt county, where he now owns a fine 



318 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

farm of 400 acres of land. He was united in marriage in 1860 to 
Maria M. Anderson. Mr. Plunk went to the army in Co. C of the 
107th 111. "Vol. Inf., and, in addition to many skirmishes, was in the 
engagements at Knoxville, Nashville, Franklin and Resaca. Mr. Plunk 
held the office of sheriff from 1870 to 1872, when he was elected circuit 
clerk, which position he still holds. 

MR. GEORGE PURSEL. farmer, is a native of New Jersey. He 
moved to Ohio, from there to Iowa, returned to Ohio, and came to 
Illinois in 1864, locating in Monticello township. He owns 160 acres, 
having put all the improvements on the place. Mr. Pursel was 
married about 1847, to Sarah Sample, who is his second wife. They 
have had six children : Alonzo, who married Georgiana Johnson, is 
living in Piatt county, and has four children, Gertrude, Wilbur, Frank 
and Eugene. Rebecca, who married Virgil White, lives in Monti- 
cello township ; they.have three children, Marion, George and Harold. 
Jane was married to C. E. Harris, and lives in Kansas. Erie B. lives 
at home, and also Seymour and Jerry. John lives in Kansas. Alonzo 
is the son of Mr. Pursel's first wife, whose name was Elizabeth Sample. 
Mr. Pursel has held a few offices in the township. 

MR. FRANK PITTMAN, attorney, Monticello, is a native of Butler 
county,, Ohio, and moved to Piatt county about 1854. He was 
married December 24, 1874, to Laura A. Clouser, and has two 
children living, Pauline and Logan. Mr. Pittman attended the 
Wesleyan University for three years, after which he studied law under 
Mr. Samuel Reed, and was admitted to the bar in January, 1878. 

MR. GEORGE R. PINCKARD, railroad agent, Monticello, is a native 
of Macoupin county, Illinois. He moved from Macoupin county to 
Springfield, and on April 25, 1861, went to the army in Co. F of the 
14th 111. Inf., participating in the battles of Ft. Donelson, Ft. Henry, 
Shi loh, Corinth, Hatchie, Atlanta, Allatoona, and others. He was 
captured by the rebels in Georgia, October 3, 1864, and in several 
prisons, spending most of the lime in Andersonville. He was released 
on parole April 4, 1865. In 1870 Mr. Pinckard moved to Bement, 
and has been in the employ of the Wabash and Chicago & Paducah 
railroads ever since. He was married in 1865, to Miss E. J. Gilman, 
and has three children, Frank, Pearl and Lynn. 

MR. DANIEL RHOADES (deceased) moved with a family of five 
children to Piatt county about 1844, and settled on a farm southwest 
of Monticello, which was lately owned by Mr. Beckhart. Mr. 
Rhoades died on that place about 1853. His widow lived on the farm 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 319 

for a time, and then moved to Monticello, where she lived at the time 
of her death, in March, 1873. Emanuel Rhoades, the eldest of their 
children, lives in Monticello. Jeremiah married Ann Bryden, and 
lives in Kansas. Elizabeth married Mr. Joseph Kee, and both are 
now dead. Mary, who was the wife of Samuel Hopping, after living 
in Monticello a time, moved to Decatur, where she died, leaving 
several children. jSTathan E. married Mary Ross. 

MR. NATHAN E. RHOADES, merchant, Monticello, is a native of 
Franklin county, Ohio, and is of German and English descent. He 
came to Piatt county about 1853. After marrying Miss Mary E. Ross, 
a native of Madison county, Indiana, he has made his home in 
Monticello. Their eldest son, Charles, who is with his father in the 
clothing store, was married in 1881, to Miss Lou Yoorhies. Corwin 
is a student of a business college of Jacksonville. Mr. Rhoades has 
done much to improve Monticello in various ways. An addition 
known as Rhoades' Addition was made by him. He owns a park just 
north of the town. Rhoades' opera-block was built in 1874, and with 
the exception of the bank room and basement beneath, and two offices, 
is owned by Mr. Rhoades. He built in 1868 'a brick house of fourteen 
rooms, which is one of the finest residences of Monticello. He also 
owns other property in and about Monticello. Mr. Rhoades was 
treasurer of Piatt county during the war. He has also been deputy 
county clerk and deputy circuit clerk. 

MR. E. RHOADES, teamster, Monticello, sold his farm on Camp 
creek, and bought a mill of Mr. William Collins, then, after about two 
years, sold it to William Mclntosh, then moved to Monticello, where 
he has been living since. 

MR. A. L. RODGERS, county clerk, Monticello, was born in Wash- 
ington county, Ohio, from which state he moved to Piatt county, 
Illinois, in 1849. His stepfather, Mr. John McKinney, entered land 
in the vicinity of Mr. Croninger's present home. Mr. Rodgers located 
in Cerro Gordo in 1856, and put up and opened, with Mr. McKinney, 
a general merchandise store, the first business house in the town. 
He remained there until 1875, and in 1877 moved to Monticello. 
In 1861 he was united in "marriage to Jennie E. Campbell, and has 
had six children, five of whom are living, Wm. E., Earnest L., Fred C., 
Mabel and Harry. Mr. Rodgers has been supervisor of Cerro Gordo 
township, and was in the legislature after the adoption of the constitu- 
tion of 1870. He entered the army in 1862, in Co. K of the 107th 111. 



320 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Inf., and took part in the following battles: Resaca, those of the 
Atlanta campaign, Franklin and Nashville. 

MK. S. R. REED, lawyer, Monticello, is a native of Monroe county, 
Ohio, from which place he moved direct to Piatt county in 1860, and 
has been here ever since. He taught school and farmed a number of 
years, and then, in April, 1866, was admitted to the bar, having studied 
law under Judge Smith. He has been attorney and master in chancery 
and is one of the successful lawyers of the place. He owns some town 
property and two farms, one in Sangamon and the other in Goose Creek 
township. Mr. Reed and Miss Jennie C. Clouser were married in 
1863 and have five children, George M., E. E., Maggie L., Carl S. and 
Agnes Daisy. 

MR. GEORGE F. RHOADES, a farmer in Monticello township, was 
born in Ohio. He moved from his native state to Piatt county April 
1, 1865. In September, 1867, he married Savannah Coberly, a native 
of Madison county, Ohio. She taught school previous to and after 
settling in this county. They have five children living, Allen J., George 
E., William D., Charles B. and Daisy M. Mr. Rhoades has held some 
of the minor offices in flie county, such as school director, road com- 
missioner, 'and path-master. By the way, we find some who seemingly 
shun the mention of having held these thankless offices. We take it 
that those who fill such offices well deserve more credit than a vast 
number who hold higher offices. Mr. Rhoades went to the late war 
from Ohio, in Co. I of the 58th Ohio Yols. The principal battles in 
which he took part were th< se of Fort Donelson, Chickasaw Bayou, 
Vicksburg and Arkansaw Post. He was never taken prisoner or 
wounded. When camping Mr. Rhoades happened to have a very 
neatly arranged tent. One night some one put up over the door, 
"Rhoades' Row and Happy Home" and thus 'twas ever known. Mr. 
Rhoades is now living prosperous!}' on his farm of 260 acres. He has 
made many improvements on the place, including the planting of about 
five hundred trees. 

MR. THOMAS RHODES, farmer, Bernent, is a native of Lincolnshire, 
England. He came to America in 1854, locating in Pike county, 
Illinois, and moving to Piatt county in 1873. He owns 320 acres of 
land in the county. The present residence was built in 1872 and 1874, 
and he has put all the other improvements on the farm. Mr. Rhodes 
was united in marriage, in England, to Ann Trigg, a native of Lincoln- 
shire. Their five children are all living. Thomas married Ann Payne 
in 1881 and lives in Bement township. Charles William married 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 321 

Hattie Wright in 1880, lias one child, George, and lives in Bement 
township. Jane married Simon Priestly, of Bern ent. Samuel married 
Retta Wright in 1881. George is at home. 

MR. W. H. RANKIN, farmer, Monticello, claims Kentucky as his 
native state. From that state he moved to Coles county, Illinois, in 
1833, thence to Sangamon county, and in 1881 located in Piatt county. 
He was married in 1855, to Matilda A. England, of Logan county, and 
has had eight children, seven of whom are living. John W. married 
Ella Landerman, has two children, and resides in Livingston county. 
Anna married F. A. Mulvain, has three children, and lives in Cham- 
paign county. Charles married Bllla Mangold and lives in Champaign 
county. The names of the other children are Mary, Stephen, Lizzie 
and Emma. 

MR. JOHN RUSSEL, farmer, Monticello, moved from Ohio, his native 
state, to Illinois, and to Piatt county about 1872. He was married in 
1876, to Mary Pierce, and has three children, Willie, Charlie and 
Grace. 

MR. HENRY ROYSE, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Indiana, came 
to Illinois in 1867, and immediately to Piatt county. He owns eighty 
acres of land, which he has partly improved himself. Mr. Royse was 
married in 1870, to Hannah Milens, and has three children, Charles A., 
Oscar and Stella. 

MR. SAMUEL SUVER was born in 1805, in Burkes county, Pennsyl- 
vania. He was reared in Virginia, but moved to Ohio, from which 
state he moved to Piatt county about 1834. He was married in 1837, 
and Mrs. Suver died August 30, 1877. Mr. Suver's adopted daughter, 
now Mrs. Eliza Timmons, is living on Mr. Suver's old home-place. 
Mr. Henry L. Timmons is one of the old teachers of the county. Mr. 
Suver is one of the worthy old settlers of the county, and, like some 
of the others, has become "uncle" to all the citizens. 

MR. DANIEL STICKLE, Monticello, is a native of York county, 
Pennsylvania, was born in 1816, and is of German extraction. His 
parents moved from Pennsylvania to Macon county, where both died. 
Six sons and three daughters lived in Macon county. The subject of 
our sketch came from Decatur to Monticello in April, 184-1, and opened 
the first general-merchandise store in Monticello. He was at first in 
partnership with other men in Decatur, but in a few years bought them 
out. He first occupied a room owned by Mr. Titus Hubbard, which 
stood just east of what is now William E. Reese's drug store. From 
that place his stock of goods was moved to the east, north and west 



322 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

side of the square, respectively, and when he was located on what is 
now known as Bender's corner, he quit merchandising, in 1854. In 
1856 he moved onto a farm of 830 acres, upon which he remained 
until the spring of 1865, when he returned to Monticello, and soon 
after built a brick house, one of the best in Monticello, which he lived 
in until 1880. He now resides in the south part of Monticello. Mr. 
Stickle came to the county first in 1837, and at that time stopped at 
Mr. James Fiatt's cabin. While here he first saw his future wife in a 
"potato hole." That is, she was getting potatoes from an excavation in 
the ground under the cabin floor near the hearth, where the vegetables 
were kept. Annabel Piatt and Daniel Stickle were united in marriage 
May 31, 1842, in the first house in the county. They have six children 
living. Charlie, who went into the army about 1862, married Addie 
Bogle, and has one son, Richard. Susie Stickle, one of Monticello's 
best and most-loved daughters, was united in marriage to Harvey 
Huston, but, after but a year of wedded bliss, was taken away ere her 
prime. Richard Stickle married Miss Helen Smith December 15, 
1870, and has five children, May, Charlie, Fred J., Roy and baby, and 
lives in Monticello. Mina is the wife of Charles 'Kroell, of Blue Ridge, 
and has four children, Suella, Fred, Lou, and an infant. Anna, a suc- 
cessful music teacher of Monticello ; Nellie, a graduate of the Monti- 
cello high school, and Kate, are still at home. Mr. Stickle has been a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church for fifty-two years, and has 
taken active part in all the church meetings. While young he taught 
several terms of school. He was postmaster at Monticello under 
Buchanan, was the first mayor of the city, and at present is police 
magistrate. He has been supervisor of Monticello township, and in 
1858 was elected as representative to the state legislature. 

MR. JACOB SMITH, Monticello, was born in Dauphine county, Penn- 
sylvania, 1817. His parents were natives of America, but were of 
German, English and Irish descent. He moved directly to this county 
in the spring of 1857, having acquaintances here. Mr. Smith was 
married in Pennsylvania to Nancy Shenk, of German descent. They 
had five children : Henry Augustus, who married Margaret Bright-bill, 
from ^near Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, has five children. He served 
three years in the late war and was of the 2d 111. Cav. Catherine, the 
wife of John Diller, lives in Nebraska and has three children. J. G. 
W. Smith is a teacher. James Monroe, Mary Elizabeth and William 
Penn Smith are at home. Mr. Smith came bv railroad to Bement and 
settled on the land which lie had bought the fall before, when looking 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCEIKS. 323 

for a home. He has lately moved to Monticello. While in Pennsyl- 
vania he held the office of county commissioner. His grandfather 
served nine years in the revolutionary war. 

MR. SAMUEL SMOCK, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, and 
moved to Illinois about 1840. He own 200 acres of land where he 
now lives, and has partly improved the place himself. He was married 
in 1861, to Marietta Hart, arid has had four children, John, Augusta, 
Charles and Edwin. Mr. Smock has been school director about twenty 
years, and has held some of the small township offices. 

MR. WILLIAM STODDARD, a farmer near Monticello, was born in 
Maryland. He moved from his native state to Ohio, and thence to 
Piatt county, Illinois, in 1867. lie was married in Ohio, to Margaret 
Vinson. They have had six children, four of whom are living. 
Martin is married and lives in Ohio. Louis married Miss T. A. Sulli- 
van, a native of Virginia. They have had six children, Lemuel, Kate, 
Mattie, Hurby, Oliver M. and John. Mr. Stollard was in the army 
in Co. K of the 155th Ohio reg. Melinda married Mr. Philip Baum, 
and died, leaving two children. Mr. Baum married again, and is now 
in Michigan. Amos Stoddard, married Sarah C. Jones, and lives in 
Monticello township. They have two children, Elmer and Wilbert. 
Mary died after she was grown. Minerva was married in 1881, to 
Mr. Hood. 

MR. ISRAEL STEEL, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Pennsylvania, 
from which state he moved to Indiana, and thence to Piatt county in 
1856. After three years' residence in this county he moved to Cham- 
paign county, where he remained a number of years, returning to 
Piatt county about 1870. He owns eighty acres of land, upon which 
he has put all the improvements, including the planting out of near a 
thousand trees. Mr. Steel was married in 1838, to Susan Harshbarger, 
and has had nine children, five of whom are living. Martha A., the 
wife of James Ballard, lives in Indiana ; Samuel was killed in the 
army ; Jno. Webster married Lizzie Plaster, has six children, and 
live in Champaign county ; Hiram married Elizabeth Smith, has two 
children, Lulu and Florence, and lives in Galesville ; Charles and 
Vida are still at home. 

MR. MOSER P. SAVAGE, Rossville, Illinois, is a native of Old Vir- 
ginia, moved from there to Ohio, then to Illinois, in 1847, and rented 
land 'of Squire Hughes for three years, then lived on Madden's Run, 
and when the land office was opened, entered 160 acres, and after living 
for thirteen years in this county, moved to Champaign county. Mr. 



HISTORY OF PIATT COUXTV. 

Savage was married in 1827, to Sarah Lee, and are both living. 
They have had thirteen children, eleven of whom are living : two in 
Bloomington, one in Danville, four in Kansas, one in Arkansas, 
one in Piatt county, one in Rossville, and one in McLean 'county. 

MR. W. E. SMITH, merchant and grocer, Monticello, is a native of 
Mt. Sterling, Madison comity, Ohio, but, as he says, was "raised all 
over that state." He entered the army July 24, 1802, in Co. F of the 
94th O. Vol. Inf. The first battle he was in was near Lexington, 
Kentucky, where he and about two hundred other men were taken pris- 
oner by Gen. Kirby E. Smith. They were paroled, however, in about 
six hours. At the battle of Chickamauga he was wounded in his right 
hand with buckshot. He was in the .battles of Resaca, Ringgold and 
Peach-tree creek. "When we left Peach-tree we were going right 
into Atlanta, but it took us a month or two to get there. While at 
Atlanta we suffered many hardships, were under fire nearly all the 
time and in a continuation of battles, the siege winding up with the 
battle of Jonesboro." He was with Sherman to the sea, and the last 
battle he engaged in was that of Bentonville, and besides had several 
skirmishes in South Carolina. From Bentonville he went to Golds- 
borough, thence to Raleigh and Martha's Vineyard, and there heard of 
Lincoln's assassination. He marched 190 miles to Richmond in six 
days, thence to Washington, was in the grand review there, and when 
mustered out his company of over one hundred men contained but 
thirteen. In Georgia he was detailed to forage for horses and used to 
have great times. Once when riding he came to an open ground on 
the other side of which was a house. They let the fence down and 
twelve men galloped across toward the house, and found that two or 
three hundred men had just left, thinking Kilpatrick's advance cavalry 
guard was approaching ; the horses were generally hidden in swamps 
and the colored people were instrumental in finding them. After the 
war, he went to Logansport, Indiana, where he was in the Logansport 
" Journal " office, and attended a commercial college at Dayton, Ohio. 
He came to Piatt county June 24, 1866, and began clerking in the 
store of which he is now proprietor. He belongs to the I.O.O.F. 
lodge and has been a member of the city council for four years. Mr. 
Smith was married June 3, 1873, to Mima Piatt, a native of this county, 
and student of the seminary at Charlotteville, New York. They have 
two children, William Piatt and Clarence Kirby. Mr. and Mrs. Smith 
own a farm and their residence property. 

MR. WM. D. SHULTZ, tailor, Monticello, was born in Maryland, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 325 

from which state he moved to Virginia, thence to Illinois in 1 865 and 
located in Urbana. In the same year he moved to Monticello, and has 
lived in the place ever since. Most of the time he has been the only 
tailor in the town. He was married in 1844, to Mary Walker, a native 
of Maryland. They have had twelve children, six of whom are living. 
William was in Utah territory when last heard from. John is married 
and lives in Philadelphia. Katie, who was the wife of Jesse Warner, 
is dead. Albert married Mattie Fisher, has two children, Kate and 
Charlie, and lives in Monticello. Robert is in Utah. Edward is in 
Freeport, Illinois, and Anna is at home. 

MR. ANDREW STEVENS is a native of Canada. He came to Illinois 
in 1 876, and began buying grain at Mansfield. He moved to Monti- 
cello in 1877, and is still in the grain business. He was united in 
marriage in September, 1879, to Fannie Conklin, daughter of the 
superintendent of the Chicago & Paducah railroad. One son, Henry 
C., has blessed their union. 

MR. S. W. SECTS, farmer, took charge of the Piatt county poor- 
farm in March, 1877, and has done a great deal in getting the farm into 
its present prosperous condition. His people are Americans, but of 
German descent. He was married in 1868, to Mary Allen, whose people 
were from Pennsylvania. They have three children, Lovie W., Ida J. 
and Gertie S. 

MR. F. G. STEVENS, dentist, Monticello, is a native of Corydon, 
Indiana. He moved from there to Tuscola, Illinois, and in 1871 
located in Monticello, where he worked at photography for a time, but 
for several years now has been the only resident dentist in the place. 
His practice extends to Atwood and Plammond, where he makes regular 
visits. He owns a residence and lot in Monticello. At present he is a 
member of the I.O.O.F. lodge of Monticello. May 1, 1873, Mr. 
Stevens and Amanda Hodge were united in marriage. Three children 
have blessed their union, Henry M., Frank A. and Delia A. 

MR. HENRY SACKBITER, grocer and restaurant keeper, Monticello, 
is a native of Germany. He came from his native country to America 
in 1854 and moved from Ohio to Piatt county, locating in Goose Creek 
township in 1864, and in 1876 moved to Monticello, where he owns a 
residence and two and one-half lots. His residence was constructed in 
1881. Mr. Sackriter and Sophia Stuckey were married in 1857, and 
have had nine children, seven of whom are now living. William H. 
married Minerva Beard. Sarah, Katie, J ulia, Annie, Carrie and Etta 
are living at home. 
21 



320 HISTORY or PIATT COUNTY. 

MR. LKVI P. SQUIER, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Ohio, from 
which state he moved to Indiana, thence to Illinois, and in 186-1 located 
in M-icon county, from which plase he moved to Piatt county in 1880. 
He was married about 1858, to Elizabeth Bryte, of Ohio, and has had 
eight children, all of whom are living, Frank B., John II., Eva M., 
Sarah E., Morrison L., Clarence A., Charles E. and Belle. 

MR. II. H. SAINT, Monticello, moved from Indiana, his native state, 
to Urbana, Illinois, and thence in 1881 to Monticello, where he is 
dealing in farming implements. He was married in November, 1865, 
to Emily Cook, and has six children, Cora, Albert, Walter, Elsie, 
Myrtle and Lena. Mr. Saint went to the army in the 71st 111. Inf., 
and in the 19th Ind. Bat., being out over two years the last time. He 
took part in the battles of Resaca, Chattahooeh.ee and others of the 
Atlanta campaign. 

MR. ASHKR W. TINDER, deceased, farmer, was born hi Virginia, 
moved to Ohio, and was married there to Delilah C. Lewis, a native of 
Ohio, of Scotch descent. They moved back to Virginia, where their 
three eldest children were born, then returned to Ohio, and in 1853 
came to Piatt county. For the first two years they lived on the John 
Madden farm, and then bought what is now the McReynolds farm. 
They moved to Monticello in 1860, lived a year or two in the Patterson 
house, then went into the brick hotel owned by J. C. Johnson. Mr. 
Tinder died there. They had eight children : seven came here, the 
eldest brother being in California ; six are living in Piatt county. 
Francis A. married E, B. Winchester in March, 1852, in Madison 
county, Ohio (see his sketch). Lewis B. Tinder went to California 
in 1853, and in 1860 was heard from for the last time. It is supposed 
that he was killed by Indians at Virginia City, Nevada. Martha J. 
married Capt. Jamison. Lundsfield J. married Anna Heath and 
moved to Kansas. Mrs. Tinder died there in 1874, leaving two 
children, one of whom, Mattie, is here. Mr. Tinder was again mar- 
ried in 1880, to Mrs. Ellen Walters. They are living at Galesville, and 
he is in the grain business. Mr. Tinder was in the army, received 
several promotions, and once was promoted over other officers for 
gallantry in battle. Americus B. was married April 12, 1881, to 
Elizabeth Greenland they have one child. He was in the army in the 
2d 111. Cav., and was wounded in 1862 at Holly Springs and laid aside 
by surgeons as dead. The ball is still in his body. Mr. Tinder lives 
in Monticello, is mail agent on the Wabash road, and has been for the 
past eight years. Linneas B. Tinder married Elizabeth Babcock, who 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 327 

died, leaving two children, Gladys and Sadie. He was again married 
in 1870, to Helen Babcock, who died, leaving one child, Linneas F. 
Lucy is the wife of J. Allen Heath, and lives in Hurnboldt, Allen 
county, Kansas, and has one child living, Irene. Dolly L. married 
Samuel Stewart, of Kansas, in 1866. Mrs. A. W. Tinder bore her 
seven years' affliction of palsy with most Christian fortitude, and during 
the last eight months could not feed or dress herself, yet was never 
heard to complain nor be low-spirited. A harmful word was never 
known to be said of her. Her last words were : "To live is Christ, 
to die is gain." 

MR. HENRY THOMAS, a farmer in Monticello township, was born in 
Ohio. He is of Welch and English descent. In 1855 he moved from 
Ohio to Piatt county, having previously married Harriet Painter, who 
died, leaving three children. The eldest, Emma, married Isaac Kyle, 
a farmer in Macon county. They had two children. Anna married 
Albert Fithian and lives in Monticello. They have one child, Harry. 
Jane married Jeff Hiatt and lives in Kansas. Mr. Thomas next mar- 
ried Mrs. Martha Dresbach, who had two children : Marietta, who 
married William Duvall, and Elma, who married Joseph Keller. In 
1877 Mr. Thomas married Mrs. Zorger, nee Nancy Garver. Mrs. 
Zorger had seven children, four of whom are now living. Philander 
Zorger married Lizzie Rock, and now lives in Macon county. Talitia 
married Alfred Payne, and lives in Monticello township. They have 
two children, Nora and Nettie. Phebe married David Deter, and they, 
with their one child, William, live in Willow Branch township. Jesse 
lives at Warrensburg, Macon county. 

MR. JAMES TIPPETT'S parents were Americans, and lived and died 
in Maryland. He was born within sixteen miles of Washington City. 
He was married in 1823, in Loudoun county, Virginia, to Miss Elizabeth 
Dodd, and in 1834 moved to Licking county, Ohio. Mr. Tippett's son, 
Cumberland, came to this county in 1864, and for a number of years 
was a minister in the Methodist church. He died October 2, 1875, 
from the effects of a fall from a fruit tree. His widow, nee Helen 
Heath, and two children survived him. She is now living in Champaign 
county. Miss Ellen and Miss Martha are living with their father in 
Monticello. Mr. Fenton Tippett is in the west, while the youngest 
daughter, Frankie, is now Mrs. W. D. Dickinson, and with her husband 
and child lives in Bernent. Mrs. James Tippett died July 7, 1871, and 
lies buried in the Monticello cemetery. Mr. James Tippett, after 
coming to this county, lived about four years east of Monticello 



328 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. . 

and about twelve years on Mr. Silver's place northwest of the city. 
Mr. Tippett has long been a zealous church member, and as he grows 
older his religious zeal seems to wax stronger. 

MR. RILEY TATMAN, Monticello. His father came to this county 
in 1852, when Riley was but eight years old, and lived on what is now 
the C. W. Piatt place. Mr. Riley Tatmaii received his education in 
this county and was married in 1868, to America Hitchens, of Ohio, 
who came to this county in 1864. Maud S. is their only child. Mr. 
Tatman was in the late war, and of Co. F, 54th 111. reg. He was in 
the battles of Corinth, Vicksburg, Sabine River, and was captured 
August 16, 1864, near Little Rock. He served in rebel prison until 
May, 1865 ; first in Monticello, Arkansas, then in Camden, Arkansas, 
Shreveport, Louisiana, and Tyler, Texas. His rations were one pint 
unsifted cornmeal a day, mixed with cold water, no salt, and baked on 
chips ; three ounces fresh beef every third day, roasted without salt. 
He was fortunate in not being wounded, and reached home in Novem- 
ber, 1865. Mr. Tatman kept a journal on the margins of newspapers 
all during imprisonment, but has since lost it. He escaped five differ- 
ent times, and each time was caught by bloodhounds. Three times he 
escaped through tunnels, once by burying himself while moving from 
one prison to the other, and last by overpowering the guard, shooting 
his arm off by slipping up where he was asleep and putting his foot on 
the trigger of the gun. After returning from the war, he finished his 
common education, and taught from 1866 to 1872. For two years he 
was in the drug business, then two years a carpenter, and since in 
abstract business and law. 

MR. C. 1ST. THOMPSON is a native of Fulton county, Illinois, from 
which place he came to Piatt county in 1879, and located on a farm 
owned by Mr. Samuel Allerton, of Chicago. Mr. Thomson was 
married in 1860, to Caroline Putman, and has five children, A. C., 
Charles Nelson, Jessie L. and Berintha M., who are attending the St. 
Mary's School at Knoxville, and Pamilla. Mr. Thompson went to the 
army from Fulton county in Co. E, of the 103d regiment. He was in 
the commissary department most of the time, but was in the battle of 
Vicksburg and others. Mr. Thompson is now residing on the farm 
lately owned by Messrs Frank and Ed. Williams. 

MR. A. B. TROWBRIDGE, farmer, Monticello, was born in Ohio, 
from which state he moved to Illinois about 1849. He was married in 
1861, to Ann C. Moore, and has had four children, William Thomas, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 329 

Samantha Josie, Albert Levi and Opha Belle. They moved into Piatt 
county in 1879. , 

DR. CHRISTOPHER K. WARD was born August 6, 1809, in Abington, 
Washington county, Virginia, of Scotch-Irish parentage. While yet 
quite young he removed toTazewell, Claiborne county, East Tennessee, 
where he lived until he arrived at the years of manhood. While yet 
almost a boy he made a trip into the then newly discovered gold 
country of northern Georgia and Alabama, and spent some months in 
searching for gold. The territory in which gold was found then 
belonged to the Cherokee Indians. For a time the excitement in regard 
to the discovery rivaled that which, after many years, occurred on the 
discovery of gold in California. Notwithstanding the treaty with the 
Indians and the proclamation of the President, the gold-bearing terri- 
tory was overrun with fortune-hunters, until at length, by authority of 
the government, they were forcibly removed by United States troops 
sent there for that purpose. The subject of our sketch studied medicine 
at Knoxville, in East Tennessee, and finally removed to Edgar county, 
Illinois, in 1832, where he was married to Miss Elizabeth Hobbs, by 
whom he had one son, T. G. Ward, who now resides in Missouri. 
After her death he was married to Miss Nancy Somerville, then resid- 
ing in Edgar county, who survives him. The children of this marriage 
were John Ward, who adopted his father's profession and was quite 
successful as a physician, practicing at Lovington, Illinois, until his 
death, which occurred in 1875; Sarepta, who married C. W. Noyes 
and now resides in St. Joseph, Missouri ; Mary, who married James 
Holmes, now of Chicago, and Martha, who married H. E. Huston and 
still resides in Monticello, Illinois. Soon after his second marriage he 
concluded to remove to Piatt county and try practicing his profession. 
Up to that time he had tried farming and school teaching and a little 
of everything that came to hand. He arrived in Monticello with his 
young family in the year 1845, and before he had had time to unload 
his few household goods he was called upon to visit professionally 
one of the citizens who was dangerously ill, and from that time until 
he was finally compelled, in 1870, to relinquish his practice, by the 
premonitions of heart disease, he never knew what it was to rest from 
his labors. Through sunshine and storm, daylight and' darkness, sum- 
mer and winter, he was always ready to go in answer to the cry of 
distress. At the time of his location in Monticello the county and 
town was but sparsely inhabited, and he was the only practicing 
physician in the county. His practice for years afterward extended 



330 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

from Sadorus Grove on the east to Friends Creek on the west, from 
Mackville in the south to Mahomet in the north ; or in other words, 
about fifteen miles in all directions from Monticello. Such was the 
urgency and frequency of his calls, that repeatedly he was compelled 
to get what little slumber he could while riding horseback over the 
the then trackless prairies from one lone cabin to another. The greater 
part of the settlers at that time were very poor, yet he never let the 
fact that he would probably have, to take his pay in produce, and as 
likely get nothing for his services, make him hesitate when the call for 
assistance came. Nevertheless he had his reward in the universal 
esteem in which he was and is held by this community. He was a con- 
sistent member of the Methodist Episcopal church. Relinquishing his 
practice in 1870. he immediately set about putting his affairs in order 
to receive the summons which he felt would sooner or later call him 
from his earthly labors. But few persons have left their financial 
matters in better shape. Finally, after facing the destroyer manfully 
for years, he gently and peacefully passed over the river on April 22, 
1881. His remains were buried in the cemetery north of Monticello. 45 ' 
SQUIRE WILEY. Addison J. Wiley was born November 1, 1810, 
and was named for Joseph Addison, of literary renown. His father, 
Moses Wiley, was born in Virginia, on the Rappahannock river, was 
of Welch and German descent, and was in the revolutionary war at the' 
age of fourteen. He married Miss Rachel Lehew, who was of French 
descent. They had ten children, seven of whom were boys. Mr. 
Wiley and his family moved to Indiana while it was yet a territory. 
Mr. A. J. Wiley remembers that while his folks were in Indiana, in 
181, Mr. James A. Piatt, when assistant provision contractor for Gen. 
Harrison, fed pack-horses on his father's farm. A. J. Wiley was 
married in Indiana in 1834, to Sarah Tenbrooke. They had nine 
children, three of whom were born in Indiana. Charles Wiley died 
in 1864, leaving a wife (now Mrs. Johnson) and four children. Amelia 
is the wife of Albert Miner. George Wiley died in the army in 
Nashville, Tennessee. Rachel married Wesley Goodwin. James 
Wiley makes his home in Monticello. Allen Wile}' married Fannie 
Wood. On the 13th of August, 1860, Mr. A. J. Wiley and Mrs. 
Campbell were married. The second Mrs. Wiley died October 5, 1876, 
leaving three children, Belle Campbell and Frank and Lena Wiley. 
In 1837 Mr. Wiley came to Illinois to look up a place for a new home. 
He bought land, 40 acres of which was timber and 40 acres prairie 

* We are indebted to II. F. Huston for the above sketch. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 331 

land, of Mr. Abraham Marquiss and Mr. William Barnes in what 
is now Piatt county. He then returned to Indiana and remained until 
1839, when he moved out to his new home. His wife had come out a 
few months previous with Mr. Tenbrooke's family. They lived on 
their farm until 1840, when they moved into the cabin in which four of 
James A. Piatt's sons were then living. After boarding for a time 
with these persons Mr. Wiley moved into the town of Monticello, in 
which there were about three houses in 1840. In 1840 Mr. Wiley was 
made constable, which office he held two years, when he became justice 
of the peace, and he still has the position, having been out of the office 
only about four and a half years during forty years' time. We noticed 
in an old county paper not long since that of- the several hundred 
decisions Mr. Wiley had made in his position as squire only two have 
been reversed. Mr. Wiley relates the following incident of Abraham 
Lincoln. When Lincoln & McDougal were practicing law here,' they 
entertained each other in various ways, and at one time tried to see 
which could throw an old meat-axe the farthest. The two were stand- 
ing in the street a little west of the southwest corner of the public 
square. After each had thrown the axe a time or two Mr. Lincoln 
tookit and, after swinging it around his head, slung it westward and 
into the Lizard run. Upon seeing where the axe lit, McDougal 
exclaimed : "Why didn't you do that before ? Here I've been almost 
throwing my arms off trying to beat you !" Lincoln enjoyed the joke 
very much. 

MR. CHARLES WATTS (deceased) was born March 25, 1835, in Cale- 
donian county, Vermont. He came to Monticello about 1855, taught 
school the first year, and began practicing law the next year, and 
became a most successful lawyer of the county.. He was school and 
county treasurer for a number of years in the county. He went back 
to Vermont, and married Lodoskey A. Spencer, November 22, 1858. 
Four of their children are living, Willie E., Charles P., Lena M. and 
Harry S. Mr. Watts died February 4, 1875, and Monticello thus lost 
one of her most honored and respected citizens. Mrs. Watts' sister, 
Phebe Spencer, now Mrs. Henry Bodwell, came to Monticello i i 1859. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bodwell have two children, Bertie and Agatha. 

MR. L. B. WEAVER, farmer, Monticello, is a native of Virginia, 
from which state he moved to Ohio, and then came to Monticello in 
1843. He lived in the old Piatt cabin for a time, and has lived in the 
vicinity of Monticello ever since. He owns 80 acres of land, where 
he now lives, and has improved the place himself. He was married 



332 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

August 17, 1837, to Sarah A. Neal, and has had fifteen children, 
twelve of whom are living, and all are within a radius of eight or ten 
miles. Not many families so large remain so near each other. Mary 
J. married J. B. B. Fowler, and has three children, Berry, Charles 
and Louis, and lives in Monticello. George, who was in the late war, 
married Kate Connor, and has three children, Maud, Edna and Nellie. 
Margaret was the wife of Daniel Bush, who died, leaving five children, 
George, Mary, Frank, Alice and Bertie D. Mrs. Bush next married 
Mr. William Barnhart, who had several children. Martha A. Weaver 
married Daniel Russell. Elizabeth is the wife of Henry Martin, and 
has four children, Harry, Irving, Sadie and Elsie. James Weaver 
married Mary Johnson, and has three children, Linnie, Claud and 
Ollie. Eliza Weaver became the wife of Franklin Sellers, and has one 
son, Leonard B. Charles Weaver married Minnie Jones. Kate 
Weaver married John Dresback, and has three children. Winfield 
married Ella Lowe. Nannie and John E. Weaver are still at home. 

MR. JOHN WOOLINGTON is a farmer, and lives about three miles 
northwest of Monticello. He is a native of Ohio, from which state he 
moved to Illinois about 1843 or 1844. He married Isabella Kyle, 
who died in 1848, leaving four children, two of whom are now liying. 
Sarah married James Davis, and now lives in Monticello. They have 
one daughter. Ida Isabelle, who graduated in the Monticello High 
School in 1881. Henry N. married Charity Parker. They, with their 
three children, Otho, Adelbert and May, have quite recently moved 
to Iowa. Mr. John Woolington married Mrs. Susan Devore, in 1849. 
They are living quietly and contentedly in a neat frame house on the 
farm that Mr. William Barnes lived on for so many years. 

MR. A. H. WILDMAN, photographer, Monticello, is a native of 
Trnmbull county, Ohio, from which state he moved to Piatt county, 
Unity Township, in 1850. A portion of the time since, he made his 
home in Douglass county, but in January, 1871, he moved to Monti- 
cello, where he has since resided. At present he is the only photo- 
grapher in the place. He owns the property where his business office 
is, and also- owns his residence property. He was married to Hannah 
J. Hodge, and has two children, Maud A. and William T. In 1861 
he went to the army in Co. G of the 13th 111. Cav. He was 
discharged later on account of disability, but re-enlisted in November, 
1862, in Battery I, of the 2d 111. Lt. Art., and was discharged 
June 14, 1865. He was in nearly all the battles from Chattanooga to 
the sea, and to Goldsborough. North Carolina. While in the army he 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 333 

lost his hearing by a premature explosion, and was otherwise injured, 
so that he deservedly draws a pension at the present time. Mr. Wild- 
man's father, Mr. Thomas Wildman, settled in Unity township in 
1850. His wife died after the family had started to move from Ohio 
to Illinois. Mr. Thomas Wildman was a constant suiferer for nineteen 
.years before his death in 1870, and for thirty-two months previous to 
his decease he never spoke a word aloud. He left six children, five of 
whom are living in Piatt county. Thomas P. Wildman married 
Elizabeth Shonkwiler, and lives in Unity township. Eunice Arvilla 
became the wife of Aaron Harshbarger, but died, leaving six children. 
Henry Wildman married Sarah E. Quick, has six children, and lives 
on the old home place. Electa is the wife of Napoleon B. Shonkwiler, 
has a large family of children, and lives in Unity township. Emer- 
zilla is the wife of Samuel Harshbarger, of Unity township, and has 
six children. 

MR. R. B. WINCHESTER, harness maker. Monticello, is a native of 
Madison county, Ohio. His father was from New York, his mother 
from Tennessee, and of English descent. They had ten children, two 
of whom lived in Piatt county. Mr. Winchester was married in 1852, 
to Frances A. Tinder, in Madison county, Ohio. They moved to Piatt 
county in 1853, settled in Monticello, where he has been in the harness 
business ever since. They have had four children, the eldest dying 
when eighteen months old. Lewis E. married Annie E. Maddy, of 
Muncie, Indiana, in October, 1876. They have one child, Eva. Mr. 
Winchester is a druggist, in Mnncie, Indiana. Lucy Winchester died 
July 3, 1876. Eva is at home 5 she is a graduate of the Monticello 
high school, in which school she is a successful teacher. Mr. Win- 
chester went to the army in 1861, in Co. C of the 73d 111. Inf. He 
held the position of 3d lieut.. and was out about five months, coming 
home on account of sickness. The battle of Perrysville is the principal 
one in which he participated. Mrs. Winchester has been a mantua- 
maker and milliner in Monticello for the past twenty years. She has 
always been one of the principal milliners, and ofttimes the only one, 
but she is never too busy to make use of her rare faculty of good nurs- 
ing at the bed-side of the sick in her community. Clara, Mr. R. B. 
Winchester's sister, married James Hall, and lives in Indiana. She 
came here in 1856 or 1857, met Mr. Hall, who went to Indiana, married 
her, then came here and lived for several years. 

MR. C. B. WENGENROTU, furniture dealer, Monticello, is a native of 
Germany. He came to America in 1853, and in 1856 located in 



334 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Monticello, where he opened the first furniture store in the place. He 
now owns two business houses, three residences and seven lots in 
Monticello. He belongs to the Odd-Fellows lodge of the town. Mr. 
Wengenroth was married in 1858, to Catherine Minick. Only one, 
Lillie, of their five children is living. 

MR. SAMUEL B. WEBSTER, Mr. Webster's father, was a native of 
Kentucky, his mother of Virginia, while Ohio bears the honor of his 
nativity. He was one of a family of four, two of which are now 
living in this county. Mr. Webster moved to Champaign county in 
1856, and in 1858 settled in Piatt county. He located in MonticeUo 
as a saddler, which occupation he continued until he was appointed 
postmaster, December 20, 1866. He was first appointed by post- 
master General William Denison, during the administration of Andrew 
Johnson, and through the recommendation of the retiring postmaster, 
Wilson Cox, to the postmaster-general. He was reappointed under 
U. S. Grant, and again under R. B. Hayes. Mr. Webster was 
married in 1861, to Ann M. Dyer. Four children have blessed their 
union, three of whom, C. Kate, Isaac W. and Lena B., are living. 
The people in and about Monticello will long remember the genial 
face of the present postmaster, as he greets and distributes mail to the 
eager inquiring throng that fills the office so frequently. 

MR. WILLIAM C. WEBSTER, formerly a harness dealer in Monticello, 
was born in Ohio. He moved from his native state to Piatt county in 
1857 and located at Monticello, and that has been his home ever since. 
He remained in the saddlery business until 1879. The winter of 1881-2 
he made a trip to California with anticipation of locating in that state. 
He is lavish of praise for the Golden State, but did not move to it as 
he anticipated. He is now living just outside the corporation line of 
Monticello. He was married in December, 1854, to Mary Dyer, who 
died in August, 1870, leaving five children, four of whom are now 
living. Charles, her eldest son, died of consumption when but fifteen 
years old. James married Miss Hattie Burgess in 1880, and is running 
a book and stationery store in Monticello. Miss Lillie, after her 
mother's death, did ample credit to herself as her father's housekeeper. 
She and her brother and sister, Eddie and Katie, are still at home. On 
June 25, 1872, Mr. Webster married Louisa Rue, a native of Xew 
Jersey. She has had four children, three of whom, Lulu May, Pauline 
and Myrtie Belle, are living. Mr. Webster has not escaped the office 
of school-director, and was once elected coroner. 

MR. G. R. WARRK K. farmer, Monticello, is a native of . Pike 



BEMENT TOWNSHIP. 335 

county, and moved to Piatt county in 1878. He was married in 18T3, 
to Lucy E. Burch, a native of Pike county. They own a farm of 
eighty acres, which is all under cultivation. There is a good house on 
the place, some five hundred trees have been planted out, and a new 
barn is being built. 

MR. A. ZYBELL, Monticello, is a native of Prussia, who came to 
America in 1851, and in 1858 located in Monticello, where he is now 
engaged in the boot and shoe business. He was married in 1857, to 
Louisa Hammersmidt and has six children. Robert is in Iowa ; Bertie 
married Will Wall, has one child, Allie, and lives in Monticello ; 
Albert, Willie, August and Emma are at home. Mr. Zybell owns a 
residence, two business houses, and four lots in Monticello. He also 
owns a farm of two hundred dcres in Goose Creek township, and has 
put all the improvements on the place. A barn and residence was 
erected on the farm in 1882. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

BEMENT TOWNSHIP. 

S township lies directly south of Monticello township, and also 
-1- contains forty-eight sections of land. A portion of Champaign 
county bounds it on the east, Unity township on the south, while 
Willow Branch and Cerro Gordo townships form the western boundary. 
A ridge running across the northwestern corner of the township 
causes the land there to be a great deal higher than it is in the southern 
and eastern part of the township. In fact the lowness of the land in 
the southern and eastern part debarred settlement therein for a number 
of years, and even yet it is thinly settled in some parts. Bat since 
tiling has begun to be used in the county much has been done to prepare 
the exceedingly rich soil for cultivation. A very much greater portion 
can be cultivated now compared with the tillable land of twenty years 
ago, and much more improvement is anticipated, too, in the next few 
years. 

The extreme northwestern portion of the township drains toward 
the Sangamon, while all the rest of the township is drained by the 
Lake Fork of the Okaw, which comes into the township in its north- 



336 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

eastern section, runs southwest and then southeast, leaving the township 
about the middle of its southern boundary line. The fall in the stream 
is very slight. After the rainy season the banks are soon overrun, and 
then for days and weeks the stream, through miles of its course, has the 
appearance of a lake or swamp ; and because of this slowness in 
discharging its waters, we suppose, the stream has been called Late 
Fork. The land traversed by the Lake Fork is very rich indeed, and 
when the channel of the stream is once deepened so that the surplus 
water can be turned from off the farming land, we anticipate that the 
finest crops in the country can be raised on what is now untillable 
land. 

Two railroads pass through this township. The Wabash road strikes 
the eastern boundary line about one mile from the northern boundary 
line, runs southwest through the township, crossing the western 
boundary line about three and one-half miles from the northwestern 
corner of the township. This road was the first one built in the 
county, and it has assisted greatly in the growth of the same. A road 
formerly known as the Chicago & Paducah railroad crosses the 
township nearly two miles from and runs parallel with the western 
boundary line of the township. This road now belongs to the great 
Wabash system. These roads cross at Bement. 

The following, from an article written December 25, 1879, by Mr. L. 
B. Wing, will show the condition of at least a part of Bement township 
a quarter of a century ago : 

"It is just twenty-six years ago to-day since I first saw the spot 
where this town is located. On Christmas clay, 1853, three 'solitary 
horsemen ' halted upon the ridge which divides the waters of the San- 
gamon and the Kaskaskia, and looked southward. It was a beautiful 
day like autumn, rather than winter. A magnificent view, limited 
only by the powers of vision, was before us. It was like looking out 
upon the ocean. No farm or orchard, no living thing or sign of human 
habitation ! Everything, so far as we could see. was just as it had been 
for centuries. We knew that in the groves of timber that skirted the 
water-course a few pioneers had built their cabins, and for years had 
supplied their simple wants by hunting and by a little farming of the 
most primitive sort. But their proximity was not apparent to us and 
in no way dispelled the sense of complete solitude that oppressed us. 

"The government of the United States still owned this land, and 
offered it in small parcels at the minimum price of $1.25 an acre. 

" We dismounted and threw ourselves upon the sunny slope to 



BEMENT TOWNSHIP. 337 

enjoy the view, and debated the question whether it was likely that this 
prairie, after remaining hundreds of years unoccupied, was now about 
to attain any particular value. All who had preceded us had evidently 
come to the conclusion that it was like air and water, valuable and 
necessary, so far as it could be used, but was in too large supply to be 
worth buying. Was it likely that in the little span of time represented 
by our lives, that this condition of things would greatly change ? 

"But we had come to the state predisposed to own a small piece of 
it, and after we had consulted maps and rode over the land we drove 
stakes, selecting adjoining tracts, so that we might not lose each other, 
and in 1854 we secured titles to as much as our slender means would 
pay for. The year following the deer and prairie wolves were startled 
from their homes by an engineering corps surveying the route for what 
is now the Wabash, St. Louis & Pacific railway. With this prospect in 
view we at once gave attention to our new purchase. This town was 
laid out on the tract as the nearest railroad point to the county seat, 
and I fell into the line of improvement by first hauling with ox teams, 
from Urbana, in Champaign county, the materials for a house, the 
third built in the town. The next season the ' iron horse ' made his 
way through Bement, from the Wabash river to Springfield. At this 
date the land was all bought up and the immigration was rapid. A 
large tract was purchased by Col. John S. Williams, now United States 
senator from Kentucky, who, with his brother, made this county their 
residence. With the same energy and pluck which won for him his 
sobriquet of 'Cerro Gordo Williams' in the Mexican war, he pushed 
his improvements and rapidly transformed the prairie into cultivated 
fields. 

" Other railroads were projected and built, and new homes were 
established at a rate of increase unknown in the older states. The 
brothers Bodman, of Massachusetts, four of them, were of the first 
settlers and largest land owners ; men of enterprise, wealth and influ- 
ence. The brothers Scott, from Lexington, Kentucky, Joseph and 
Isaac, honored by all who ever knew them, did their full share in the 
development of this county. 

' ' There are many immigrants from old Licking, that have dropped 
in here at various dates. The Hon. Francis E. Bryant, who built the 
first warehouse in Bement, though a native of New Hampshire, was 
educated at Granville, and still remembers his college associates and 
teachers with a lively interest. Then in different parts of the county 
are, Gardner, Gregory, Mitchell, Fristoe, Orr, Caughenbaugh, Dickin- 



338 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

son, Dyarman, Somers, Tippett, Wright, Wetherell, Beck, Keese, 
Partridge, and others whose names I do not now recall. 

"I desire, in closing, to bear witness in one thing more, to the 
credit of the settlers. It came to me with great force, on a summer 
day, while lying in dreamy reverie upon the same slope from which so 
long ago I first saw this broad prairie. The spires, the shaded dwell- 
ings, the shops and stores of Benient, a mile or two away, now obstruct 
the range of vision. Hedges and orchards, farm-houses, distant moving 
trains of cars, and things of life arrest the eye. But the transforma- 
tion in all this is not greater than that which has come to this very 
spot. Now, hundreds of silver maples and groups of evergreen 
shelter and adorn this ridge of ground, and attest the good taste and 
civilization of the people. Their 'city of the dead' is here laid out in 
no stinted measure, as though they grudged 'God's acre,' but with 
broad, well-kept avenues and walks, with shrubs and flowers, they have 
made it a spot worthy of the dust it is to receive, and the associations 
with which their children will regard it. Already rising monuments 
tell of the mother, the child, the village favorite, the soldier brought 
from southern battle-field, of strong men fallen by the way, and mark 
the spot where the hardy pioneers of the county 

' The rude forefathers of the hamlet sleep.' " 

Early settlements. From all accounts we consider that the first 
settlement in Bement township was made by "William Bailey, not 
long previous to 1854, in section 5. Another early settler was John 
Hughes, who lived near the head of Lake Fork timber. The first elec- 
tion in the township was held in his log house. There were not more 
than six voters in the entire township, and Jos. Moore was one of 
the judges. Mr. Smith Quick bought out Jno. Hughes, and Mr. 
Joseph Moore bought land of Mr. Bailey. Both Mr. Moore and 
Mr. Quick are yet living in the township. 

These settlements were made previous to the building of the 
present Wabash railroad through the township. After the building 
of the said road settlements began to be made quite rapidly. 

JBement. Bement is situated seven miles south of Monticello, the 
county seat, and is a village of about 1,500 inhabitants. The land 
upon which Bement is located was purchased in 1854 by Joseph Bod- 
man, who bought about 6,000 acres of land, which are now owned by 
himself, L. B. Wing and Lewis and Luther Bodman. [t was through 
Joseph Bodman's influence that Bement was located on its present 



BEMKXT TOWNSHIP. 339 

site. L. B. Wing, Joseph Bodman and Henry P. Little donated 
ground upon which the original town was laid out. L. B. "Wing sold 
in 1854: to Hunt & Carter, agents for the Great Western railroad, 
thirty -three acres of land in section 19 for $1. The railroad buildings 
and some of the business houses of the town were located on this 
land. In fact Joseph Bodman is connected with every link of Bement's 
history. He assisted in laying out the town, as did also Joseph Mai- 
lory, Sullivan Burgess and James Bryden, and made an addition to 
the town of Bement. The Wabash railroad crossing is on his addi- 
tion. Bement was surveyed during the summer of 1854 and recorded 
by Josiah Hunt in January 1855. 

Joseph Bodman, J. H. and J. M. Camp, William Ellis, and Thomp- 
son and Marion Fettit were the first settlers of Bement. Mr. Joseph 
Alvord moyVd into a log house on Dr. Bodman's farm, which belongs 
to the estate of the late Chris Kesner, and boarded the men who built 
the first house in Bement. Mr. Alvord also hauled lumber from 
Champaign for the first house which was built in the town. In April, 
1855, this first house, which stood just west of the present Christian 
church and was owned by Joseph Bodman, was erected under the 
supervision of T. T. Pettit and J. M. Camp. Joseph Nye and 
wife kept boarders in this house. They were succeeded by Mr. Crip- 
pen. Mr. Bodman also erected the second house in town, which stood 
just west of the first one. Soon after he erected a small office build- 
ing, which was the first business house of the town. It served for 
various purposes, and until the Wabash depot was moved from Decatur 
was used as a depot until the winter of 1856. 

Mr. and Mrs. Force came to Bement in 1855-56, Mrs. Force 
reaching the place in January, 1856. In the spring of 1856, after 
boarding in Monticello for a time, they moved into the third house in 
Bement. About this time Joseph Alvord, who had been living for a 
time in the second house of! the town, moved into a house built on his 
farm, now owned by Mr. Martin. Mr. and Mrs. Aaron Yost came to 
Bement April 29, 1856. Mr. Yost built on the ground now owned by 
Mr. J. C. Evans, but ere a great while moved on to his farm north of 
Bement which is still owned by his family. 

Near the time the first settlements were made in Bement Mr. B. G. 
Hopkins moved onto a farm since known as the Elihu Fisher farm. 
He only remained a few years. Mr. F. E. Bryant moved to Bement 
in 1856, and his family made the seventh in the place. He started the 
first store, bought Joseph Bodman's warehouse, and began handling 



340 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

grain. Mr. Bryant's building, where Mr. Cooper has his store, was the 
first brick building of the town, and probably the first public entertain- 
ment was a dance held in Mr. Bryant's old warehouse. For several 
years each new building was dedicated by a dancing party. 

Before the establishment of a postoffice in Bement the mail, though 
brought first to Bement, was distributed in Monticello. Mr. Joseph 
Bodman was the first postmaster of the town. The present one, Mr. 
S. K. Bodman, has ably filled his position for a number of years. 

Mrs. Yost reports the following : The first couple married in 
Bement were Mr. Thomas W. Bane and Martha W. Hadsall, who were 
married at Aaron Yost's in June, 1856. Mr. Charles Evans is now 
living in the house where the ceremony was performed. 

A Methodist minister preached the first sermon in the town at Mr. 
Crippen's. 

The first birth and death in the town was that of Mr. James' child. 
The child was buried in 1856 near Mr. Haldeman's mill. 

The first Sabbath-school, a union one, was organized in May, 1856. 

Mrs. Yost says that the first she knew of the public square, Mr. 
Alvord took his father and mother, Mr. and Mrs. Stan ton, Mr. and 
Mrs. Henry Booth, Mr. and Mrs. Force, and Mr. and Mrs. Yost, 
saying, "Now, ladies and gentlemen, I will take you a drive around 
the public square," and they, with laughter and jokes, went around the 
present public square, which then was but staked out. 

Mr. T. T. Pettit thinks that the first sermon in the town was preached 
by Mr. Samuel Harshbarger, in the depot, and that Mr. Huston was the 
first stationary minister. 

The first hotel of the place, the Sherman House, was built in 1857, 
and until the erection of the elegant masonic building, stood on the 
main business street of the town. It now stands to the rear of the 
masonic building. John Townsend built and kept the hotel for a time, 
until his death, when his widow undertook the supervision of the same. 

In the spring of 1858 James McDowell came to Bement, and with 
Mr. Tho. Postlethwaite erected the hotel known as the Pennsylvania 
House. This building is still standing, and, under the name of 
Bement House, is kept by its worthy proprietor, Mr. Royal Thomas. 

Mr. C. F. Tenney moved to Bement in 1859, and says that at that 
time Mr. Bryant's was the only dry goods store in the place. There 
were no sidewalks, the streets were not graded, and there was not a 
tree in the town. There were just enough ladies in the town who 



ARY 
THE 
?.3:<Y 'OF ILLINOIS 



BEMENT TOWNSHIP. 343 

danced to form one set. School, and sometimes church, was held in 
a house built by Mr. Harper. 

Mihmne & Bodman had the first bank of the town ; Freese & Co., 
the second ; Fisher & Gregory, the third ; and Bryant & Bodman, the 
fourth. The first three of these were in a building in which the 
" Bement Gazette " office is now located, but the building then stood 
on the present Site of D. S. Cole's shoe store. The only bank of the 
town is now known as the Bank of Bement. 

In 1861 or 1862 some of the old settlers of the town, Messrs. 
Bryant, Bodman, and others, made preparations for and held the first 
fourth of July celebratiom of Bement in the school yard. Mr. C. D. 
Moore made the first speech, and was succeeded by Dr. Mitchell. 
Bement has held a number of celebrations since, and is surpassed by 
none as a patriotic town. 

The names of a number of early settlers, not mentioned so far in 
this article, will be found among the biographies. 

Bement of to-day. A traveler on the Great Western road twenty- 
five years ago could find no point of resemblance in the present busy, 
energetic town as compared with the little station of a quarter of a 
century ago. To-day it has more beautiful trees than any town in the 
county ; then not one could be seen within three miles of the depot. 
Well built and substantial sidewalks have taken the place of the cob- 
walks of the early days. A number of quite elegant residences have 
taken the place of the first modest little cottages. The business houses 
have increased in size and number. 

Since the Wabash railroad took possession of the Chicago and 
Paducah railroad an exceeding rapid improvement has been going on. 
Near a hundred new houses have been erected since then, and the 
population has made an increase of about four hundred. The Wabash 
company built an elegant new depot, by far the best in the county, in 
addition to a number of other railroad buildings near the crossing of 
the two roads. 

Bement is " booming" just now, and persons desiring to locate in a 
thriving, energetic place cannot find a better one of its size in central 
Illinois. 

THE CHURCHES. 

In speaking of the churches of this town, as well as those in other 
parts of the county, we have endeavored to mention the most impor- 
tant items that have been furnished us. In some cases more items 
have been given than in others, and we thus have made more 



344 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

extended notice of such. We were disappointed in several instances 
in regard to the small amount of facts we could collect relating to the 
churches. 

Methodist Episcopal church, The Methodist church was organ- 
ized in 1858, under the pastorate of Rev. Edward Rutledge, and Mr. 
C. D. Moore, C. Schoolcraft, Thomas Postlethwaite, William Stillwell, 
Robert McDowell and James McDowell were among the most promi- 
nent members. Their meetings were first held in the school-] louse, 
and afterward in Bryant's Hall. In 1863 a subscription was taken up 
for the purpose of building a church, and in 1864 the building was 
begun. In October of the same year Rev. H. Buck dedicated the 
church. During the period from the opening of the subscription to the 
dedication of the church, Rev. I. Groves, and D. P. Lyon were pastors. 
Until the conference of 1865 Berne nt was included in the Monti- 
cello circuit, but at this date it was detached from Monticello, and with 
Mil mine and Cerro Gordo formed a new circuit. Rev. C. McKaskill 
was placed in charge. He soon was compelled to resign on account of 
ill health, and Rev. J. C. Lewis supplied his place. 

In the fall of 1867 Bement was formed into a station, and Rev. H. 
S. Tryon was put in charge. About this time a belfry was built on the 
church, and a $150 bell was purchased. In 1876 a commodious par- 
sonage, worth $1,600, was erected for the use of the pastor. 

The following are the names of some of the ministers : Rev. N. S. 
Buckner, 1868 ; Rev. J. Montgomery, 1870 and 1871 ; Rev. Geo. M. 
Fortune, 1872 ; Rev. I. Villars, 1874 ; Rev. G. E. Ackerman, 1874 ; 
Rev. Jos. Winterbottom, 1875, and Rev. T. M. Dillon. 

Protestant Episcopal church. The first Episcopal preaching in 
Bement was done by Rev. J. W. Osborne, who was in the town in 
September, 1861. Soon it was planned that a parish should be formed 
and a meeting for the same was called ; the name, the Church of 
the Atonement, was chosen and the following persons were elected to 
office : George Milmine and Tho. Cooper, senior and junior wardens 
respectively, and Frank M. Speed, F. E. Bryant, C. F. Tenney, 
Robert D. Niles, Jos. Bodman, Chas. Fisher and Edward Bod- 
man, vestrymen. J. W. Osborne was made president, and Frank 
M. Speed, secretary. Judge Spear gives the names of about twenty- 
five communicants. The growth of this church has been some- 
what slow, but of late the society has been making a good deal 
of advancement. Their church fairs are very interesting and suc- 
cessful. Preparations are being made for the building of a church 



BEMENT TOWNSHH'. 345 

there. This church has had an interest in the Christian church build- 
ing, and their meetings have been held there. 

Christian church. The organization of this church dates in 
January, 1862, and according to Judge Spear, James Connor, jr., was 
the organizer, and the meeting was held at William Monroe's. The 
following names show the membership at the above date : B. G. Hop- 
kins, Mary B. Hopkins, Samuel J. Hopkins, Sarah J. Hopkins, 
William Monroe, Jane Monroe, John J. Gosney, America S. Gosney, 
Martin R. Ruble, Johnathan Ruble, Joseph Shelton, Thomas Dunn, 
Elizabeth Evans, Caroline Yost, Ann E. and Susan Gosney. The 
following were the officers : William Monroe and S. Ruble, elders, 
and Thomas Dunn and Samuel Hopkins, deacons. The names ot 
some of the ministers of the church are James Conner,. A. J. North- 
cut, Elder Osborne, J. W. Perkins, S. M. Conner, Americus Conner, 
E. J. Hart, and Messrs. McFadden, Matthews, Carter, Munser, Rice, 
McCorkle, Johnson, Frame, Speer, Pointer, Hodson and others. 

The church building was erected in 1867, and cost about $800. 
Lately a bell has been purchased, and the new belfry adds much to the 
appearance of the church. Since the organization of the church there 
has been a total of over two hundred names enrolled, and the member- 
ship the present year is about ninety-six. The Sunday-school has an 
attendance of one hundred and twenty-live persons, with thirteen 
teachers. W. A. Godwin is superintendent. The trustees of the 
church are G. C. Evans, B. G. Hopkins and J. J. Gosney. The 
elders are G. W. Thompson, H. Martin and William McGaffey. 
Calvin Boake is deacon. 

Presbyterian church. The following extracts from a sermon by 
Rev. A. W. Ringland will tell the story of the Bement Presbyterian 
church better than can be told with other material which we have 
collected: 

"August 29, 1868, this church was organized in the Methodist 
Episcopal church, Bement, by Revs. Thomas A. Chestnut and T. P. 
Emerson, with eight members, whose names are as follows : E. C. 
Camp, Elizabeth J. Camp, Mary E. Camp, Wm. Newton, Margaret 
Newton, Sarah E. Bryant, Emily F. Swaney and Mrs. Scott, with E. 
C. Camp and Wm. Newton as elders. January 30, 1870, six trustees 
were elected, as follows : Jos. Bodman, president, with F. E. Bryant, 
Warren A. Pierce, A. G. Gregory, Jos. M. Scott, and Wm. M. Camp, 
who, the records tell us, with the congregation began to consider the 
expediency of building a house of worship. Financial energy marks 



34:6 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

the very first pages of the records. The salary, though very modest, 
is paid. Within three months of the time when the church was 
organized there is a record of a contribution of $7 to the board of 
home missions, and within seven months of its organization another 
contribution of $13 to the board of church erection. A church which 
might have put on beggars' airs a church without a building, 
worshiping in a town hall, giving to other churches that they may 
have buildings. These were two of the best days' work this church 
could possibly have done. It may not be business, but it is decidedly 
Christian, to esteem others better than ourselves. And there is more 
danger of churches dying outright from supreme selfishness than from 
prodigality in benevolence. 

"For convenience let me speak of matters, first, ecclesiastical, and 
second, secular. 

"1. Ecclesiastical. (1) Pastors. The first supply of the pulpit, 
Rev. Thos. M. Chestnut, seems not to have remained to exceed ten 
months, probably only seven. Rev. S. A. Hummer occupied the 
pulpit for about fifteen months, Rev. B. F. Sharp beginning October 
1, 1871, ending his engagement with the church April 1, 1878. July 
18, the present pastorate began, in the same year, which has just 
reached its fourth anniversary. In the strict construction of terms, the 
church was under a system of stated supplies until 1880, when your 
present pastor was regularly installed. '(2) Elders. The church has 
had, in all its history, eight elders, as follows : E. C. Camp, Wm. 
Newton, Geo. Sandford, W. M. Camp, Jno. H. Murphy, L. W. 
Bodman, Geo. F. Miller and T. W. Scott. E. C. Camp alone remains 
of the original bench, after fourteen years of uninterrupted service. 
Two have removed from the bonds of the congregation, four are active, 
and one, at present, is inactive. (3) Deacons. On April 6, of present 
year, this office was filled for the first time by the election of Louis 
H. Alvord and Henry M. Hays. (4) Members. The whole number 
of members received from the foundation of the church has been 154. 
One has been excommunicated, six have been placed on the "retired 
list" because their whereabouts are not known to the session, ten 
have died, thirty-one have been dismissed to other churches, while 
108 still remain upon the roll of membership. (5) The Sabbath 
school has been one of unwavering prosperity. It was organized about 
1871, with L. W. Bodman as superintendent. His energy and zeal 
are notably linked with its organization and early success. After two 
years' service Jno. H. Murphy became his successor for one year, who 



BEMEjfr TOWNSHIP. 347 

in turn was succeeded by Win. M. Camp, who now holds and has 
since held the position with favor and capability, combining enough of 
the military with the Christian to give symmetry to the movement of 
the school. The maximum enrollment is 255 for any year. (6) The 
Ladies' Missionary Society, originally ' Foreign, ' but latterly 'Home 
and Foreign,' has been one of marked activity, both in gifts and mis- 
sionary spirit. Under its tuition a children's band, known as 'The 
Sunbeams,' with about eighty names on its roll, has been kept in 
active operation for a number of years. Beyond the monthly meetings 
of each of these, there has been kept up ,a ladies' society for general 
work, and since January, 1879, a ladies' prayer meeting, with varying 
numbers and interest. Intermittent instruction has been given by the 
pastor in the shorter catechism to primary pupils, and in historical 
portions of the Old Testament by the pastor's wife, at the parsonage, 
on Tuesday evenings, to academic youth. 

" 2. The Secular. (1) The trustees. The original bench of trustees 
was Joseph Bodman, F. E. Bryant, Warren A. Pierce, A. G. Gregory, 
Joseph M. Scott, Wm. M. Camp and L. W. Bodman. The only 
changes ever made in this board have been suggested by vacancies 
occasioned by removals from the bounds of the congregation. Warren 
A. Pierce, Jos. M. Scott, A. G. Gregory and L. W. Bodman having 
removed to other places, their seats were filled by the election of C. F. 
Tenney, Abram Hays, A. D. Newton and J. C. Miller. The same 
president holds office to-day who was called to the chair at its first 
election. Three of the original six members remain. Two who were 
elected when the organization was very young are still there. All are 
living except Mr. Gregory. This board, which has been its own 
successor very largely, has piloted the finances of the church through 
all kinds of weather, to the present outlook of permanency which we 
now witness. This board was no mere honorary body. At its first 
meeting, as soon as officers were elected, we find the ' subscription 
book accepted with its conditions.' Immediately following this it is 

" k Resolved, That we take immediate measures to erect a church 
building, and obtain such additional subscriptions as can be obtained.' 

"A committee was appointed to receive proposals for locating 
church, and report to the board at its next meeting. It was at once 

"'"Resolved, That the trustees will expend $6,000 in erecting a 
church and purchasing ground.'" 

In speaking of the building era, Rev. Ringland divides it into three 
divisions. During the first over $6,000 was subscribed, less than 



k 

348 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

$250 of which was given by actual members of the church, and the 
church building built and the basement completed. The audience room 
was next completed, and the church was dedicated. Under the third 
division Rev. Ringland mentions April 18, 1880, as the time when the 
wind lifted seventy-five feet of the church spire during church service. 
Ere noon the next day $200 was subscribed for its repair. In this 
period, too, was mentioned the building of a $1,700 parsonage. 

" Summing up in rude outline what has been accomplished by this 
church and congregation, it may be said : 

" 1. That for purposes of building and repairs alone, the trustees 
of this church, first and last, have given from their own private funds 
$5,275. This includes nothing given by them on salaries or for 
benevolence. It includes no amount given by other members of their 
families. You know me too well to charge me with catering to senti- 
ment when I say that their record as officers, taking the burden of care 
on their .own hearts, for the completion of a very generous building 
for a 'town like this, giving their time, and leading every one in the 
matter of generosity, deserves to be noted beyond the limits of this 
congregation. It deserves to be held up as a chapter of unwritten 
church history, that others may take knowledge of how a consecrated 
zeal can clear away difficulties of a very grave character. They have 
been leaders to you, not drivers. They have shouldered the heavy 
end of the beam and then said, come. And I believe that if you read 
their motives by their past acts, if they ever say 'come' again, you 
will be more ready than ever to heed their bidding. 

"2. The grand total given by this church and congregation with 
such foreign help as has been given you, is more than $32,000. I have 
traced with ease $31,598.21. The benevolence of this church, from 
its beginning up to 1877, is not included, for want of sources of 
information. But it will add a considerable sum to the amount really 
audited. It has been a giving church and congregation from the 
beginning. It has paid its debts. It has sought to carry honor unto 
the sanctuary, as the records show. Nor has it grown poor, but rather 
'increased in goods.' It would be an omission not to speak of aid 
granted by the ladies of this church and congregation. Their labors 
have been so diversified as to elude detail. They put themselves on 
record first with $200 aid toward the construction of the church. 
Aside from their matronly oversight, their contributions rose, first 
and last, to a sum exceeding $1,000." 

Catholic church. Rev. A. Yoght, of Decatur, was the first 



KKMENT TOWNSHIP. 349 

Catholic minister in Bement. He visited the town occasionally until 
1866, when the present church building, costing about $2,100, was 
erected. About this time Rev. P. Toiler was stationed in Champaign 
county, and Bement came under his charge. He came to the town 
once a month until a- church was built at Ivesdale, when the resident 
minister of that place took charge of this station. The church at Ives- 
dale was organized in 1865, as a mission of Champaign, by -Rev. P. 
Toner. Rev. P. Burmingham then became the resident priest in 1868. 
The Rev. Burmingham died, and about seven years ago the Rev. Tho. 
Shanley, the present priest, succeeded him. Rev. Shanley is reported 
as being a finely-educated man and a gentleman in every respect. 
His congregations, both at Ivesdale and Bement, have all confidence in 
him. The membership at Ivesdale includes over one thousand persons. 
A number of these people reside in Piatt county and are good workers 
and earnest citizens. The original church at Ivesdale was built about 

1865, but in 1876 an addition was made to the same. 

SOCIETIES AND ASSOCIATIONS. 

Bement Library Association. A preliminary meeting of those 
interested in procuring a library for public use was held November 16, 

1866, in the school-house. George L. Spear was chairman and R. S. 
Hopkins, secretary. At this meeting a report was given in of a 
subscription list amounting to $134. Committees were appointed for 
getting further subscriptions and soliciting donations of books. The 
subscribers met in December, 1866, and a constitution was adopted. 
The first officers were George L. Spear, president ; R. S. Hopkins, 
vice-president ; Joseph Bodman, treasurer ; and H. A. Coffeen, librarian. 
It was originally called the Bement Library Association, but was char- 
tered October, 1878, under the name of The Library Association of 
Beinent. The present officers are Dr. Yance, president ; II. D. 
Newton, secretary and treasurer ; Mrs. Force, librarian, which position 
she has held for six years. The directors are Mrs. Knapp, Mrs. 
Bacon, Mrs. Bodman, Dr. Vance, and Mr. Joseph Bodman. At 
present the books in the library number 1,224, and somewhere near a 
hundred are added each year. The circulation is about 3,000 books a 
year. By paying $10 any one can become a life member and pay no 
dues. By paying $5 one can become an elector and pay fifty cents each 
year. Annual members pay $1. Two books each are allowed a week. 
The rest of the money is raised by subscription. It is open once a 
week, on Satunlav afternoons, for two hours. The association is in a 



350 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

very flourishing condition, the number of members and amount of 
money received increases each year. Bement lias reason to be very 
proud of the library, as it is by far the best in the county. 

Lodges. The items in regard to the Masonic lodge were kindly 
furnished by Mr. C. F. Tenney. 

The Bement Masonic Association was chartered under the laws of 
the State of Illinois, October 4, 1875, "for the purpose of purchasing a 
site and erecting thereon a building for masonic purposes for the pro- 
motion of universal benevolence and charity." The first directors were 
Joseph Bodman, W. M. Camp, C. F. Tenney, S. A. Lodge, J. O. 
Sparks and Robert Fisher. They organized by electing Joseph Bod- 
man president ; F. E. Bryant, treasurer, and C. F. Tenney, secretary. 
The directors issued and sold stock, and with the proceeds purchased a 
lot on the southeast corner of Bodman and Piatt streets and erected 
thereon a two-story brick building with basement. The corner-stone 
was laid by the grand lodge, A. F. and A. M., with the usual formali- 
ties, on May 25, 1876. The hall was dedicated to Masonry by the 
same body in the autumn following. The present board of directors 
are J. O. Sparks, Horace Haldennan, Robert Fisher, D. D. Kimmel, 
W. M. Camp and C. F. Tenney. The present officers of the board are 
D. D. Kimmel, president ; F. E. Bryant, treasurer, and C. F. Tenney, 
secretary. 

Bement Chapter, No. 65, Royal Arch Masons, received its charter 
October 7, 1864. The charter members were Joseph Bodman, F. E. 
Bryant, J. O. Sparks, A. G. Gregory, C. Fisher, Jr., J. M. Taylor, 
C. F. Tenney, George Milmine, T. T. Pettit, E. C. Bodman, E. B. 
Sprague, J. M. Camp, O. C. McConny, S. B. Hawkes, George S. Dus- 
tin, James Wharton, Joshua Hill. The first officers were Joseph Bod- 
man. high priest ; F. E. Bryant, king ; J. O. Sparks, scribe ; S. B. 
Hawkes, treasurer ; E. C. Bodman, secretary ; George Milmine, cap- 
' tain of the host ; C. F. Tenney, principal sojourner ; J. M. Taylor, 
royal arch captain ; C. Fisher, Jr., grand master of the third veil ; A. 
G. Gregory, grand master of the second veil ; T. T. Pettit, grand mas- 
ter of the first veil ; Joshua Hill, tyler. The present officers are V. S. 
Ruby, high priest ; A. T. M. Wetherall, king ; W. W. Vance, scribe ; 
"W. M. Camj), treasurer ; E. B. Sprague, secretary ; G. A. Stadler, 
captain of the host ; F. A. Jones, principal sojourner ; B. B. Bacon, 
royal arch captain ; Isaac Witherspoon, grand master of the third veil ; 
J. C. Klapp, grand master of the second veil ; J. F. Knapp, grand 
master of the first veil ; T. T. Pettet, tyler. Present membership, fifty. 



BEMENT TOWNSHIP. 351 

Bement Lodge, No. 365, A. F. and A. M., received its charter 
October 1, 1861. The charter members were F. E. Bryant, H. A. 
Bodman, Charles Fisher, Jr., A. G. Gregory, G. M. Gregory, J. W. 
C. Gray, John A. Helman, T. T. Pettit, W. L. Kyder, J. O. Sparks, 
William Stilwell, E. B. Sprague, J. M. Taylor and Aaron Yost. The 
first officers were F. E. Bryant, worshipful master ; J. O. Sparks, 
senior warden ; William Stilwell, junior warden ; T. T. Pettit, treas- 
urer ; E. B. Sprague, secretary ; J. A. Helman, senior deacon ; C. 
Fisher, Jr., junior deacon ; Aaron Yost, tyler. The present officers 
are W. M. Vance, worshipful master ; G. A. Stadler, senior warden ; 
V. S. Ruby, junior warden ; W. M. Camp, treasurer ; Thomas Lamb, 
Jr., secretary; Charles McGaffey, senior deacon; John C. Klapp, 
junior deacon ; J. F. Knapp, senior steward ; William Parker, junior 
steward ; T. T. Pettit, tyler. Present membership, sixty-four. 

Order of Odd-Fellows. The Irwin Lodge, No. 344, Bement, was 
chartered October, 1867, with R. F. Jones, past grand ; Aaron Misen- 
helter, past grand ; D. C. Moffitt, past grand ; and E. O. Wallace, Peter 
Caughenbaugh and J. N. Bills as charter members. At the first 
meeting the following named persons were elected and installed in their 
respective offices : E. O. Wallace, noble grand ; J. N. Bills, vice grand; 
R. F. Jones, recording secretary; and Peter Caughenbaugh, treasurer. 
Grand Master Ilerr was the installing officer. At this first meeting the 
following persons were admitted to membership : C. Schoolcraft, 
Samuel Bearing, Joseph W. Fristoe, J. A. Force, C. Newton, Wm. L. 
Finley, John Hughes, H. A. Starks and Peter Shaffer. The total 
membership of the lodge since its institution is over one hundred, 
while the present membership in good standing is near fifty. The total 
amount of revenue during the existence as a lodge is near $2,000. Some 
help has been given to families of brethren, there is some cash on hand, 
some notes at interest, and the value of regalia and other belongings 
is over ,$500. 

Chosen Friends. This order was organized in Bement, April 18, 
1881, and at present there are forty-three members. It is a mutual 
benefit society, in which the members receive one, two or three thousand 
dollars, owing to the grade they take, one-half of which is paid upon 
total disability, either from disease or accident, and the whole amount 
to be paid at death or when the member lives to the age of seventy-five 
years. Either lady or gentleman can become a member any time 
between the ages of eighteen and sixty -one. The current expenses are 
kept up by quarterly dues, and the relief fund is raised on the 



352 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

assessment plan. The organization now numbers, ir. the United States, 
from twelve to fifteen thousand persons, and is but three years old. 
This is the only order in Piatt county, and the first officers who held 
the highest positions were E. B. Sprague, Past @. C., and T. J. 
Mitchell, C. C. Those holding the corresponding offices now are M. 
M. Sprague and G. W. Poole. Dr. Mitchell was the organizer in this 
county and is deputy supreme counselor. 

Knights of Honor. This lodge was organized April 11, 1879. 
There are forty members at present. The order is nine years old in 
June, is conducted on the assessment plan, and is run much like the 
order of Chosen Friends, except it does not receive lady members. 
The highest officers at present are Dr. Mitchell, past dictator ; Robert 
Fertig, dictator ; James A. Klapp, recorder ; H. Halderman, treasurer. 

Temperance Union. The Woman's Christian Temperance Union 
was organized at Bement, November 27, 1879, by Frances E. Willard, 
with twenty-one charter members. At present there are about fifty- 
seven members. Miss P. A. Duncan is president ; Mrs. J. Y. Cooper, 
secretary; Miss Irene Barnes, corresponding secretary ; Mrs. Wein- 
stein, treasurer, and Mrs. Peairs, Mrs. Swaney and Mrs. Martin, vice- 
presidents. Mrs. Pettit is local editress. A juvenile temperance 
society was organized in Bement about a year ago. 

IVESDALE. 

About the time the Great Western railroad was built, or soon after, 
a switch was made at the present Ivesdale and the station was named 
Norria for one of the owners of the road. But when Mr. Cliapin, 
general superintendent of the railroad, and one of the men most inter- 
ested in the station, died, the town was nipped in the bud. After a 
time the name was changed to Ivesdale, in honor, it is supposed, to Mr. 
Ives, of Providence, Rhode Island, who owned land in the vicinity. 
The town was laid off about 1867 on land owned^by Messrs. King, 
Harbinson and Cliapin. After about two years an addition was made 
by S. K. Donovan. 

The business part of the place lies in Champaign county, but some 
forty acres of land owned by W. H. Johnson in Piatt county was in- 
corporated in 1870 or 1871. The school district extends into Piatt 
county. The first school was taught in 1863 by Miss L. White in a 
log house. 

The post-office was established in 1864, and W. H. Johnson was 
made postmaster. He retained his position as such with little inter- 
ruption until 1881, when Mr. Charles Groves became postmaster. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 353 

The town contains eight or ten business houses and three churches, 
Catholic, Methodist and Lutheran. There are about three hundred 
inhabitants. Mr. Patrick G-allavan is one of the oldest settlers in the 
vicinity* and W. H. Johnson has been identified with the town almost 
through its entire existence. 

Ivesdale is a good shipping point, and has great need of a flour- 
mill and elevator. 



CHAPTER XIV. 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

ME. JOSEPH F. ALYORD, Bement, is of English and German 
descent. His parents were 'natives of Massachusetts, and lived 
and died in their native state. His father died in 1825, but his mother's 
death did not occur until after Mr. Alvord went west. Mr. Alvord 
settled in Ohio in 1853, and in 1855 moved to Piatt county, and located 
on what is known now as the Kesner estate. He lived there in a log 
house, and boarded the men who built the h'rst house in Bement. 
The lumber for this first house was hauled from Champaign, and 
Mr. Alvord helped to do the hauling. On the 6th of November, 1835, 
Mr. Alvord was united in marriage to Marietta Clapp. Of their chil- 
dren, Joseph C. was killed in 1862, in the late war. Harrison M. has 
been twice married, and is living in Ohio. Oscar L. died in the 
army in 1862. George B. married Eunice Upton, has four children, 
and lived for several years in Kansas. Wilbur C. married Emma 
Clark, and lives in Bement. Albert F. is now in New Mexico or 
Arizona. Louis H. was united in marriage to Ella Williams, and is 
living in Bement. 

ME. JOSEPH BODMAN was born September 20, 1819, in Williams- 
burg, Hampshire county, Massachusetts. His parents were born in 
the same state, and their ancestors were among the early settlers of 
that state. Their name first appeared in 1644 on the records of the 
old South church in Boston. After obtaining such education as he 
could in a country school, he served a regular apprenticeship in a 
country store. After he was twenty-one years old he began travel- 
ing, both in his own and in other states. He spent a good deal of time 
in Ohio, but still retained his residence in his native state, and such 
continued to be his home until he came to Piatt county, in the spring 



354: HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

of 1855. He first visited the county, however, in 1853. He entered 
land for himself and brother, returned east, and then came back for the 
purpose of getting a station on or near the land, and succeeded in 
securing the location of what is now Bement. He owns a farm of some 
1,400 acres adjoining Bement. It is all under cultivation, has fine farm 
houses on it, and is inclosed by ten or twelve miles of hedge and 
fence. Mr. Bodman was one of the charter members of the Bement 
Masonic lodge, and was the first high priest. We cannot give Mr. 
Bodman too much credit for the interest he has shown, throughout his 
residence here, in the town of Bement. 

MR. LUTHER BODMAN entered his land in Bement township about 
1856, and owns 1,240 acres, all in one tract. It was first entered in 
partnership with Louis Bodman, but afterward divided. He has put 
all the improvements on his farm, having put up nine dwelling-houses 
for laborers. He raises each year from four to five hundred acres of 
broom-corn, and it is probably the best equipped broom-corn farm in 
the state, the brick mill alone costing $4,500 or $4,600. The water is 
pumped by engines into tanks and then into feed lots \>y pipes. Much 
money has been expended to place it in its present excellent condition. 
The broom-corn is cut and cured there, and sent east for manufacture. 
There are five groves on the farm, from three to five acres in each, and 
twenty-five miles of osage orange hedge. A great amount of ditching, 
both open and tiling, has been done. All the land is under cultivation, 
and under the supervision of one person. 

MR. FRANCIS E. BRYANT, banker, Bement, was born in Nelson, 
New Hampshire, February 3, 1818. His parents were natives of 
Massachusetts, but moved to New Hampshire in 1815. His grand- 
father Bryant was in the battle of Bunker Hill, and received a pension 
for his services there during the rest of his life. Mr. F. E. Bryant 
has the pocket-book his grandfather carried at the battle of Bunker 
Hill, also a continental bill which he received for services in this battle. 
Upon our questioning if he was related to Wm. C. Bryant, the poet, 
he replied that his father was a cousin to Wm. C. Bryant, and that 
another cousin, S. F. Smith, is the author of the poem "America." 
Mr. Bryant's parents moved to Ohio in 1833. His father was a farmer, 
and his mother, in an early day, taught school. Mr. Bryant was once 
prepared for college, but owing to a change in arrangements he studied 
surveying, and on June 15, 1837, he started to Schuyler county, Illinois, 
where he followed the compass for six years. He remained nineteen 
years in Schuyler county, and while there, on July 4, 1840, he was 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 355 

united in marriage to Sarah E. Briscoe, a daughter of Col. Geo. H. 
Briscoe, a soldier of the war of 1812, and formerly a resident of Mercer 
county, Kentucky. Thinking that he would have a better chance for 
advancement at Bement than where he was living, he moved to that 
place July 26, 1856, and began buying grain and selling lumber and 
salt. He opened the first merchandise store of the place May 18, 
1857. From then until the present time he has been an energetic 
business man of the place ; indeed he has been one of the principal 
business men of Bement, and has done a great deal for the advance- 
ment of the town. He has now been in the banking business for ten 
years. Mr. Bryant was elected county surveyor in Schuyler county in 
1839, and served four years. In 1852 he represented that county in 
the eighteenth general assembly. He was also elected, in 1872, member 
of the twenty-eighth general assembly, from the counties of Piatt and 
Champaign. He took an active part in the organization of the Masonic 
lodge of Bement, and was appointed by the grand lodge its first 
master, serving as such for three years. Mr. Bryant has traveled 
somewhat, both in this country and in the old world. He spent the 
summer of 1878 in Europe. He owns six stores, the bank building, 
an elevator, several offices and twelve improved lots, in addition to 
other property. In 1882 he erected an elegant cottage, one of the 
finest in the jpmnty: No expense has been spared in making it one of 
the most complete homes in the west. Mr. and Mrs. Bryant have had 
six children, only one of whom, Mrs. Bruce Sprague, is living. Mollie 
died at the age of seventeen. Two grandchildren, Eddie and Frank, 
are here to bring joy and gladness to the old age of Mr. and Mrs. 

Bryant. 

" From youth to age this wedded pair 

Have journeyed on together 
Not always gentle was the wind, 

Nor always bland the weather; 
Yet few and light have been their cares, 

And light and few their crosses, 
And God has shown his pitying face 

Amid their griefs and losses. 
Oh, sore the travel and the toil 

To reach the roseate present, 
Had no affection cheered the way 

And made the journey pleasant. 

What if the cheek has lost its bloom, 

The eye its olden lustre ? 
"What if the locks are thin and blanched 

Which on the temples cluster? 



356 HISTORY or PI ATT COUNTY. 

Still hope is fresh and hearts are young, 

And love is unabated. 
And men and angels hail to-day 

The married and the mated. 

The loveliest thing on earth is love, 

The loveliest and the purest ; 
The dearest thing on earth is love, 

The dearest and the surest ; 
And not alone is heavenly sweet 

The honey of its kisses: 
The very tears of love are sweet, 

Its very pangs are blisses ; 
And they who love with love the best, 

The fondest and the strongest 
Love with the loveliest love of all 

Are they who love the longest. 

Ah ! love's dear veterans well deserve 

Our greetings and our praises, 
Since where we looked for Winter's snows 

They point to Spring's sweet daisies ; 
Since when the sea is smooth and fair, 

Or black the tide is flowing, 
Through all the voyage of the years 

They keep their fond hearts glowing ; 
Since, though the frame may show the trace 

Of many a blight and fever, 
The teeming vineyards of the soul 

Are fresh and green as ever ; 
Since, through the long, sweet married days 

THeir faith and fervor proving, 
They make a noble thing of life, 

A Godlike thing of loving. 

Oh, happy, true and honored pair! 

Oh, ever leal and loyal ! 
We pay you willing court to-day, 

For love has made you royal ! 
All gentle thoughts and hopes are yours, 

All wishes, sweet and tender 
What richer tributes can we bring, 

What worthier homage render? 
God's cherubs still your steps attend, 

His peace your fond hearts strengthen, 
As o'er the sky above your heads 

The evening shadows lengthen ; 
And wh" en the night conies on, at last, 

And brings its welcome slumber, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 357 

Sweet angels from the wondrous h< si 

Which none may nainwuH* number, 
Shall 1'ead your Htill united souls 

Through shining arch and portal, 
To gardens fair and pastures green, 

Where love shall be immortal ! " 

MR. S. K. BODMAN, druggist and postmaster, Bement, is a native 
of Massachusetts. His parents moved to Ohio in 1833, when lie was 
but one year old. He came to Piatt county about 1855, and taught 
school for about five years. He returned to Ohio, where he remained 
a year or two. He then came back to Piatt county, and opened a 
drug store in Bement. His store was built in 1866. He was made 
postmaster during Lincoln's administration. He was removed while 
Johnson was in office, but he was reappointed. He has been town 
clerk, treasurer and school director several terms. Mr. Bodman was 
married in Massachusetts in October, 1865, to Martha M. Lyman, 
whom he had met in Ohio. Their union has been blessed by six 
children, Clara S., Joseph L., Angie M., Mary E., Mattie C. and 
Edgar. 

MR. THOMAS C. BODY (deceased) was a native of England, and 
came to America when a young man, locating on a farm in Piatt 
county about 1858. He moved into Decatur twice, and then for the third 
time located in Bement in 1867, in which town he lived until his death, 
with the exception of a short time spent on a farm. He was married 
in 1856, to Hannah D. Turnbolt, and they had seven children, six of 
whom are living. Fannie married Isaac Witherspoon, and had three 
children, two living, Grace and Edith ; Charles L. is in the livery 
business with Albert Godwin ; Darlington is clerking in Mr. 
Webster's grocery store, and Edward, William and Harry are at 
home. Mr. Body died in 1876. Mrs. Body still owns a farm of 319 
acres, which they have partially improved. She also owns her 
residence, livery stable, six lots and a store room. 

MR. T. GEORGE BELL (deceased) was a native of Pennsylvania, 
from which state he moved to Bement, Piatt county, during the war. 
He married Sarah Sample, who still survives him, and had two chil- 
dren. Mr. John D. Bell (see his sketch) is living in Bement. Mary 
Bell became the wife of Mr. Jacob Mutherspaugh, but died, leaving 
five children. Mr. Bell died in 1880, and his wife owns a house and 
lot in Bement, in addition to a small farm. 

MR. JOHN D. BELL, druggist, Bement, is a native of central Penn- 



358 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

sylvania, moved from there to Illinois in March, 1864, and has been 
in this county ever since. Most of the time he followed farming, 
building the house and improving the farm lately bought by Mr. 
Moyer just north of town. He owns some town property, residence, 
several lots and sixty acres of land east of town. In 1853 he was 
married to Mrs. George Oliver, who had three children, all living. 
Mary, the wife of Dr. W. "W. Houser, lives in Lincoln, is quite an 
artist, and has five children. John L. married Miss Herrington, and 
lives in Nebraska. George is in New Mexico. Since the last 
marriage he had five children, three of whom are living. Sadie is 
now in California. Anna is at home. Elmer graduated at Evanston 
Garrett Institute in 1882, and expects to become a minister. Mr. Bell 
belongs to the Knights of Honor, organized about three years ago, 
and which has a membership at present of thirty-six. He also belongs 
to a benevolent society and an insurance society, each member 
carrying an insurance of $2,000. 

MR. B. B. BACON, cashier in Bryant's Bank, Bement, is a native of 
Schuyler county, Illinois, from which place he moved to Bernent in 
1872, when he went into the bank of Bryant & Bodman. He belongs 
to the Masonic lodge of Bement, and owns a residence and six lots in 
the town. He was married June 17, 1875, to Miss S. E. Burgess, a 
native of Marshall county, Illinois. Two children, Ethyl and Max, 
have come to bless their union. 

MR. A. J. BOGGS, harness-maker, Bement, was born in Pennsyl- 
vania, and moved from there to Butler county, Ohio, thence to the 
state line, where he kept hotel for several years; thence to Wayne 
county, and kept hotel there eight years. From there he moved to 
Coles county, Illinois, in 1859, where he farmed and kept harness-shop 
for eight years, and then moved to Bement, and has since been in the 
harness business. He owns two residences, two business houses and 
several vacant lots ; in all he has put up seven buildings. He belongs 
to the organization of O'dd-Fellows. Mr. Boggs was married in 
Butler county, Ohio, in 1844, to Elizabeth Russel, and has had eleven 
children, six of whom are living. The eldest child lived to be thirty- 
one, and died in Kansas. Russel married Susan Glower, and lived in 
Bement. She was playing with her baby, when her dress caught lire, 
and, running outdoors, she was so badly burned that she only lived 
from Thursday to Saturday, and died February 18, 1872, leaving one 
child, Emory. Russell was married the second time, to Melissa 
Burton in Nebraska, and moved back to Bement, where he died in 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 359 

1876, leaving one child by his second marriage ; Maggie died March 
24, 1882, of cancer of the stomach ; Louisa is the wife of George 
Warden, lives in Kansas, and has two children ; Viola married Ralph 
Evans, a farmer, lives at Hammond, and has two children, Cecil and 
Earl. The names of Mr. Boggs' other children are A. Yinton, Belle, 
Albert, who was a twin, and Cora, the youngest. Mrs. Russel makes 
her home with her sister, Mrs. Boggs, in Bement. 

MRS. ALEXANDER BOGGS, Bement, was born in Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1783, moved from there to Wayne county, Indiana, 
in 1846, and came to Illinois with her son, A. J. Boggs. Her 
husband, Alexander Boggs, was born in 1777, and died in Wayne 
county, Indiana, in 1855, of cholera. She has two other children in 
this state. Dr. P. S. Boggs is a dentist at Lovington, and has five 
children. Catharine is the wife of O. S. Crider, lives in Homer, and 
has one child. Mrs. Boggs has also a daughter in Wayne county, 
Indiana, and a son in Kansas. Her father was in the revolutionary 
war, and was ninety-nine years old when he died. Her brother was in 
the war of 1812, and her grandfather was killed by Indians in 
Pennsjdvania. Her youngest aunt was taken prisoner by the Indians, 
kept for seven years, was married to one, and finally released. Mrs. 
Boggs does not seem very old, has her second sight, and is not very 
hard of hearing. 

MR. JACOB H. BARNES, carpenter, Bement, is a native of old 
Virginia, from which state he moved to Ohio in 1827. In 1866 he 
located in Bement, where he now owns a residence and two lots. He 
has held the office of school trustee and has been coroner for four 
years. In 1844 Mr. Barnes and Elizabeth Kimmel were united in 
marriage. They have four children living : Orre, who married 
Robert Haseltine, a civil engineer of Ohio ; Marcelous, who married 
Mary Chapins, has three children, John, Louis and LeRoy; and Iren 
and Kimmel, who are both at home. 

MR. HENRY B. BURGESS (deceased), farmer, Bement, lived in 
Illinois a number of years, and improved 360 acres of land in Bement 
township. His death occurred about 1876. Mr. Burgess was married 
in Indiana, to Mary Miller, who is still living. Four of their five 
children are living. Of these, Mrs. B. B. Bacon, of Bement, is the 
eldest. Clark M. Burgess, who now lives on the home farm, was 
married October 6, 1880, to Mary Robinson. They have one 
daughter, Ruth Angie. Hattie and Mr. James Webster were united 
23 



360 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

in marriage in 1880. Grow, the youngest of the family, is living with 
his mother in Bement. 

MR. JOHN F. BENTLEY, farmer, Bement, moved from Ohio, his 
native state, in 1871, to Piatt county, where he owns 120 acres of 
land, which he has improved himself. He was married March 26, 
1870. to Susan Savior, and has two children, Allie F. and Carrie 
Pearl. 

MR. OLIVER BALL, farmer, Ivesdale, is a native of Indiana, who 
moved from there to Illinois, and in 1868 located in Piatt county. He 
was married the same year, to Sarah A. Patton, and has had five 
children, four of whom are living, Marietta, Clara, Flora and Rufus. 
Mr. Ball went to the army from Indiana in 1862, in Co. K of the 86th 
reg., and returned in 1865, having participated in battles at Stone 
River, Chickamauga, Nashville, Atlanta and Kenesaw Mountain. 

MR. C. H. BRIDGES, merchant, Bement, is a native of Sangamon 
county, Illinois, moved from there to Niantic, Macon county, thence 
to Sangamon county, then to Shelby county, finally locating in 
Bement in 1882. His father and uncles were among the first settlers 
in Sangamon county, as there was but one log store building in Spring- 
field when they moved there. Mr. Bridges has recently erected a 
frame store building 20x90 feet, which is the largest dry-goods room 
in Bement. He has been in the mercantile business for sixteen years, 
and still has a store in Moawequa. Mr. Bridges was married Decem- 
ber 4, 1862, to Miss Fannie A. Mathews, a native of Christian 
county, and has four children living, Joseph, Marshall, Montie and 
Myrtle. 

MR. JAMES H. CAMP, Bement, came from Ohio to Piatt county in 
1855. He came for the purpose of putting up houses for Mr. Joseph 
Bodman for $1.50 a day. He was not out here long, however, until 
he received $3 per day. After putting up two houses and an office for 
Mr. Bodman, he went to Monticello, where he worked for a time and 
then returned to Bement. He remained in the carpenter business until 
1873, when he went into a cabinet shop. He was in the army four 
years, but fortunately escaped all battles. The regiment came near 
being captured several times, but he escaped each time. Mr. Camp 
was married June 19, 1866, to Catharine Holm, of Marion, Ohio. 
They have three children living, Norman H., Jesse Jewel and Edwin. 

MK. WM. M. CAMP, hardware merchant, Bement, came from Ohio 
to Piatt county June 8, 1858. He was a carpenter at that time and 
helped to build Mr. McDowell's hotel and several buildings north of it. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 361 

He remained in Bement two years and then went south until the 
breaking out of the war, when he enlisted at the iirst call for soldiers. 
He enlisted as private in Co. K of the 4th Ohio Inf., and became suc- 
cessively corporal, sergeant, orderly-sergeant, 2cl lieutenant, 1st lieu- 
tenant, quarter-master and captain. The principal battles in which he 
engaged were those of Fredricksbnrg, Bull Run, Chancellorsville, 
Gettysburg and the siege of the wilderness. At Gettysburg he went 
out with 100 men in two companies at four o'clock in the evening. By 
nine o'clock only nineteen of the men were left, the rest having been 
killed or wounded. The brigade was called the " Gibraltar Brigade." 
At Chancellorsville the men had camped for the night when the word 
came to prepare for fighting. In three minutes they were ready for 
work, and in less than fifteen minutes were fighting on the camping 
ground. Mr. Camp was injured May 10, 1864, while in the "wilder- 
ness." He was attempting to get a captured gun from the enemy's 
works when he had three of his ribs broken. He returned to Ohio 
and was mustered out of service in June, 1864. He was married in 
October, 1864, to Mary Ellen Peters. He came to Bement and 
bought out Mr. John Hinkle's hardware store. After remaining alone 
in the business for four years, Mr. C. F. Tenney became his partner in 
1868. Mr. and Mrs. Camp have had the following children : Luella, 
Mary M., Emily A., William, Frederick, Edgar W. and Edwin H. 
Mr. Camp is one of the leading members of the Presbyterian church 
of Bement. He has been an elder in the church since 1873. He was 
member of the board of trustees for four years, and was president of 
the board for two years. 

MR. J. M. CAMP, Bement, was married in 1860, to Sarah M. Holm, 
who died leaving no children. He was married again in 1875, to 
Frances P. Kimber, and has two children, Courtland M. and Ringland 
W. Mr. Camp owns residence and lot in Bement and is in the grain 
business. % 

MR. CURTIS CAMP, grain merchant, Bement, is a native of Ohio. 
After, moving to Michigan he finally located in 1874 in Bement. He 
spent three years in the late war. Mr. Camp was married in 1869, to 
Orissia Cole. They have no children of their own, but little Maud, 
their adopted child and Mrs. Camp's brother's daughter, makes their 
hearts glad. 

MR. H. N. CAMP, hardware merchant, Bement, was born in Ohio, 
and moved from there direct to Illinois in 1865, first locating on a 
farm two miles from Bement, then moved into town in 1870. He was 



362 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

in the hardware business with Camp & Tenney for fourteen months, 
and then went into partnership with J. F. Knapp and has been so 
connected since. He owns his residence and twelve lots. He is a 
member of the Odd-Fellows lodge. Mr. Camp was married in 1881, 
to Miss Minnie Bodman, of Massachusetts. 

MR. E. C. CAMP, Bement, is a native of New York, from which 
state he moved to Ohio, where his wife died, about 1863. He came 
to Bement about 1865, and still resides here. His daughter Emily and 
the following sons are living in Bement, J. M. Camp, James H., 
William M., C. H., Hanson and Henry N". Mr. Camp was married 
again, and one daughter, Belle, is the result of the union. 

MR. W. G. CLOYD, attorney and county judge, Bement, is a native 
of Kentucky and "emigrated early" to Missouri. He moved from 
Missouri to Macon county, Illinois, in 1865, and in September, 1871, 
located in Bement, where he says he soon "got so poor he could not 
get away." He studied law with John R. Eden, at Decatur, and was 
admitted to the bar in September, 1871, at which time he began prac- 
ticing law in Piatt county. He was elected county judge June 5, 1879, 
and again in 1882. 

A loyal judge, and in no feeble sense ; 

The widows, orphans, each and all in anxious race, 

Are asking favors from kind Providence. 

He favors all and turns to each a smiling r ace. 

MR. WILLIAM D. COFFIN, farmer, Bement, moved from Indiana to 
Piatt county about 1857. His father came out about that time, but 
died after three years had passed. Mr. Coffin was married in 1866, to 
Mary Holtz, a native of Indiana. Their children's names are Eva 
A., Homer and Horace, twins, and Emma A. Mr. Coffin has lived 
on the present home place in Bement township for about fourteen years. 
He went to the late war, was wounded twice, and lost the sight of one 
of his eyes. His health was also injured ty exposure in the army. 

MR. FRANK CORSER, station and baggage agent, Bement, is a native 
of New York, and moved from there to Piatt county and to Bement in 
1866. He has lived in the county ever since. Mr. Corser was married 
in 1877, to Emma Hubbell, and has had two children, one of whom, 
Lulu, is living. 

MR. J. B. COOPER, merchant, Bement, is a native of Ohio, from 
which state he moved to Illinois in 1876. In 1877 he moved to 
Bement and went into partnership with W. A. Godwin, in the store 
building which Mr. Cooper now occupies. In 1878 Mr. A. Stock well 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 363 

bought Mr. Godwin's interest and the firm became Cooper & Stock- 
well. Mr. Stockwell, a native of Virginia, was for years a successful 
pln r sician holding a diploma as an allopathist as well as a homceopathist. 
He was a surgeon in the late war. His death occurred in Bement, 
December 8, 1879. His wife retains his interest in the business with 
Mr. Cooper. Mr. Cooper married Miss Mary Stockwell in 1873 
and has one daughter, Bessie. Miss Lucy Stockwell has been for 
two years a teacher in the public schools of Bement. Miss Flora 
Myers, an adopted member of Mrs. Stockwell's family, is now assisting 
in Cooper and Stockwell's store. Mr. Cooper was a soldier in the late 
war. He went out in 1864, in Co. E of the 130th O. V. I. and 
returned in 1865. 

MR. D. S. COLE, boot and shoe merchant, is a native of New 
Jersey, from which state he moved to Illinois in 1856 and settled in 
McLean county. He moved to Monticello, Piatt county, in 1875, and 
about 1878 located in Bement. At present he owns a house and lot in 
the last named place and is a member of the Masonic lodge of 
Monticello. He was married in 1858, to Leanna Yeamons, and has had 
eight children, seven of whom are living. Thomas A. married Nellie 
Sollars and Hattie is the wife of John Gray and the mother of one 
child, Lelah. The names of the other children are James, Daniel, 
Ethyl, Joseph and Bertie. 

MR. D. A. CORRELL, Bement, is a native of Ohio, and came to 
Illinois in 1868, when he was nine years .old, and has been here ever 
since. He entered the army from Macon county in Co. E of 145th 
111. Vol. Inf., going first from Fayette county in Co. D of 68th reg., 
and was in the second Bull Run battle, but not as a soldier. He was 
hospital steward a part of the time, and remained longer than the regi- 
ment. At one time he had the pleasure of having the rebels take all 
the negro drivers from the ambulances. In 1870 Mr. Correll was 
married to Naomi Harshbarger; has had -three children, two living, 
Laura M. and Wm. G. 

MR. THUS. COXNOR, farmer, Bement, moved from Ireland to America 
in 1857. and to Piatt county in 1861. He was married in 1860, to Mar- 
garet Conoway, and lives in Bement township, where he owns 60 
acres of land. 

MR. PATRICK CAIN, farmer, Bement, is a native of Ireland, who 
came to America in 1856, and to Piatt county in 1871. He owns 
80 acres of land, which he has improved himself. He was married 
in 1861, to Bridget Doyan. 



364 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

MR. JOHN DEHART, farmer, Bement, is a native of Roekingham 
county, Virginia. When he was a year old his parents moved to Ohio. 
From that state he moved to Indiana, and about 1854 settled in Piatt 
county, Illinois. After living in Sangamon township until 1869, he 
moved to Bement, where he owns a house and four acres of land. Mr. 
Dehart was married in 1837, to Hannah Shomaker, a native of Ross 
county, Ohio. They have had nine children, two of whom are living. 
Eliza married Mr. Jessie Clouser, and Mary became the wife of Mr. 
Adam Spear, who lives on the farm where Mr. Dehart settled in 
Sangamon township. 

MR. DAVID DAWSON, farmer, Bement, is a native of Delaware. He 
moved from his native state to Scott county, Illinois, and in 1854 set- 
tled near his present farm in Bement township. He now owns 160 
acres of land, which he has improved himself. It is all under cultiva- 
tion, is well hedged in 20 and 40-acre fields, and at least 150 trees are 
growing on it. A fine brick residence of eight rooms was erected 
in 1874. Mr. Dawson's first wife, Caroline, died, leaving six chil- 
dren. Of these, Belle married Jos. Medaris, and has two children; 
George married Emma Ragland, and lives in Bement; Clara is the 
wife of Geo. Ruby, of Martinsville; Zeb, Kate and Frank E. are at 
home. Mr. Dawson was married again, to Mrs. Hiram Madden, nee 
Ella Holderman. 

MR. EDMUND DAVIS, farmer, Bement, is a native of Shropshire, Eng- 
land. He came to America about 1841 and settled in Ohio. He went 
to California for a time, and finally, about 1854 or 1855, settled in Piatt 
county. He owns 320 acres of land in Bement township, which he 
entered and has improved. A good house has been built, hedges have 
been put out, and a good deal of ditching has been done. Mr. Davis 
has never married. A blind sister, Elizabeth Rose, lives in the county. 
His brother, William E. Davis, who lived adjoining him, died, but his 
family still lives there. 

MR. ELI DRUM, editor of the "Bement Gazette," is a native of 
Ohio, and is of German descent. He moved from Ohio direct to 
Illinois in 1 856, and located in Cerro Gordo township. He moved 
into the town of Cerro Gordo in 1860, and was a druggist in the place 
for a number of years previous to moving to Bement in March, 1882. 
He served one term as assessor of the township, and was post-master 
at Cerro Gordo from 1874 to 1879. At present he is a member of the 
Masonic lodge, No. 600. He was married in 1868, to Mary E. Stewart, 
a native of Connecticut, and has five children, Stewart M., F. Lilian, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. .'!<>5 

Arthur, Hattie and Bennie. In 1862 Mr. Drum went to the army in 
Co. K of the 107th 111. Inf. reg., was in fifteen or twenty battles, the 
principal of which are Franklin, Nashville and Resaca, and remained 
until 1865. 

MR. THOMAS DUNN (deceased) was a native of Kentucky. He 
moved from his native state to Moultrie county, and from theiv, in 
1859, to Piatt county. For a number of years, until his health failed, 
he was in the mercantile business in Bernent. At the time of his 
death, January, 1879, he owned 160 acres of land in Piatt county, 200 
acres in Moultrie county, besides a good deal of town property. He 
improved the 160 acres of land where his son Thomas now lives. 
At least 200 trees were planted on it. In 1843 the subject of our 
sketch married Catharine Freeman, a native of Tennessee. She is 
still living and is in Bernent. They had ten children, five of whom 
are living. Their daughter Sarah died when a young lady. Mr. 
Thomas A. Dunn was married in 1867, to Jennie Meek, a native of 
Woodford county. They both received their education at Eureka 
College, this state. One child, Edith, brightens their life. Mr. Dunn 
has taught school for seven years. For a time previous to the year 
1877 he was in the mercantile business, but since that date has been 
living on the farm. While in Woodford county, he held town offices 
most of the time. Mr. Joel Dunn, a graduate of Eureka College, 
married Josie Smith. They have one son, Earnest. Mr. Dunn has 
taught school since his graduation, and at present is principal of the 
Lovington schools. Miss Bettie and her sister Geneva, graduates of 
the Bement high school, are both school teachers. Bettie gained a 
portion of her education at Eureka College, and at Valparaiso, Indiana. 
Anna, who was next in age to Bettie, married, in 1877, Mr. Thomas 
Sterling, a graduate of the Wesleyan University of Bloomington. 
Mr. Sterling was principal of the Bement school for a time, after which 
he studied law in Springfield, in which place he is now practicing. 
Mrs. Sterling died in 1881, leaving one child, Cloyd. 

MR. GEORGE DAWSON. farmer, Bement, is a native of Delaware, 
from which state he moved to Scott county, Illinois, 1836. In 1868 he 
moved on to a farm in Bement township, and in 1882 moved into 
Bement, where he owned five lots and has recently built a new six-room 
residence. He still owns a farm of 120 acres near Bement. He 
improved this place himself, putting up house and barn, building 
fences, and planting out some 200 trees. He was married in 1873, 
to Miss Kate Parks, a native of Illinois. Two of their three children, 



366 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Lucy and Charlie, are living. Mr. Dawson went to the army from 
Scott county, in Co. D of the 129th reg., and was out from 1862 to 
1865, taking part in the battles of Resaca, Peach-tree Creek, Atlanta, 
those of the campaign to the sea, and various other battles. 

MR. M. E. DUELL, farmer, is a native of New York, and moved to 
Illinois in 1858, locating in Piatt county in 1859. He was married in 
1865, to Hattie Minskey, and four of their six children are living, 
Nelson, Gertrude, Albert and Guy. He went to the army in August, 
1862, in Co. D of the 72d 111., and was out until 1865, having been 
slightly wounded at the siege of Yicksburg. Mr. Duel! has taught 
school two terms in the township. 

MR. THOMAS DONOHUE, farmer, Ivesdale, came from Ireland, his 
native country, to America in 1847, and in 1857 moved to Monticello, 
and has been in Piatt county ever since. He owns 200 acres of land, 
upon which he has put all improvements, including the planting of 
near 200 trees, and the building of a good house and barn. Mr. 
Donohue was married May 14, 1850, to Nellie Donohue, of Buffalo. 
She died, leaving one son, who died of age. He next married another 
Nellie Donohue, who died, leaving three children, Cornelius F., Mat- 
thew and Julia. Mr. Donohue was married in 1881, to Kate Dimsey. 

Miss P. A. DUNCAN, milliner and-dress-maker, Bement, is a native 
of Paris, Edgar county, Illinois. Her mother was born in Kentucky, 
in 1801. and moved from Indiana to Illinois about 1834, moving to 
Piatt county about 1869. Mrs. Duncan was a pioneer settler of 
Indiana and Illinois, and up to the time of her death her memory, 
which was remarkably good, was rife with scenes of her pioneer lite. 
She died in Bement, December 18, 1881. Miss Duncan bought the 
milliner-shop in 1868, and has been in the same business ever since. 
For three years she had a partner, but since that time has been in 
business alone. She has lately built a residence of seven rooms on 
Main street, and uses a part for business room. She also owns a 
house and two lots in another part of town. Miss Duncan began with 
little, but business has made an increase since, so that all her property 
was made in Bement. She taught school two terms in the county. 

MRS. A. E. DANIELS, tailoress, Bement, is a native of Virginia, 
who came to Monticello, Illinois, in 1875. From this place she moved 
to Bement, where she owns part of a town lot. Three of her four 
children live iu Bement. Alice, the wife of Richard Cresse, lives in 
Iowa. May is the wife of Mr. Reinhart, and Delia and Gertrude arc 
at home. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 367 

MR. A. C. DOUGLAS, druggist, Bement, is a native of Ohio, moved 
from there to Macon county, Illinois, in 1859, and to Piatt county in 
1879, where lie immediately opened a drug-store in Bement. He owns 
the store building, business room, over which is the hall, five lots and 
a residence. In 1861 lie was married to 1$. E. Robertson, and has 
eight children, all living: Lulu J., who married Albert Godwin in 
1881, Maggie O., Louis, Mollie R., Nancy May, William A., Mattie 
and George R. Mr. Douglas went to the army from Macon county in 
1862, in Co. E, of the 115th 111., and remained twenty-two months. 
He enlisted as private, was appointed hospital steward, and afterward 
made surgeon. Mr. Douglas is also a practicing physician, receiving 
his medical education at Cincinnati and Chicago, and graduating from 
the Rush Medical College. He has held no office, nor cares for any. 

MR. J. C. EVANS, lumber merchant, Bement, is a native of Ken- 
tucky. He moved from his native state to Illinois in 1832, and about 
1 858 located on a farm two and a half miles from Bement. He moved 
into the town in 1870. Previous to this date, however, he went into 
the hardware business in Bement, and upon moving into town went 
into partnership with Mr. D. Vaughan in the lumber business. He 
owns 160 acres of land in Willow Branch township, which he has 
improved. He also owns two houses and four lots in Bement. His 
present residence was built in 1881. While living in Willow Branch 
township he was justice of the peace, and has also been supervisor 
from Bement township. He was married in Winchester, Scott 
county, Illinois, to Mary E. Hopkins. Nine of their thirteen children 
are living. Their eldest son, William, is living in Bement. Charles 
married Jennie Miller, has an infant son, and lives in Bement. Dora, 
who was recently a student at Eureka, is now at home. The names of 
the other children are Ella, Oda, Albert, Dolly and Darling (twins), 
and Grade. 

MR. JAMKS A. FORCE, Bement, was married in Charlemont, Mas- 
sachusetts, November, 1852, to Hannah W. Booth. At the instigation 
of Mr. L. B. Wing they came to Illinois in 1855 direct from Massa- 
chusetts. Mrs. Force stopped in the northern part of the state for a 
time, and in January, 1856, reached Bement. She got off the train at 
what is now Bement, in the evening, and went to Monticello for 
supper. She boarded there a portion of the time until spring, when 
she went back to Kane county. After settling in Bement, Mrs. Force 
was counted as a scholar for three years in order that school money 
might be drawn. Mr. Force is a member of the I.O.O.F. lodge, and 



368 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

owns a house and two lots in Beraent. Mr. and Mrs. Force have one 
son, Albert E. 

MR. HUGH FISHER, farmer, Bement, moved from Green county to 
Piatt county about 1856, and settled near Bement. He owns 480 
acres of land in Piatt county, and improved the farm he lives on. He 
has planted out two good-sized orchards and three small walnut 
groves, and about four years ago he built a good house and barn. He 
was married in Green county, to L. Jane Rollins, and has had ten 
children, all of whom are living. Emma, who married Robert Lamb, 
has three children, John, Rufus and James, and lives in Bement town- 
ship. Delia is the wife of Joseph Zorger, of Bement township. 
William married Lettie Duell, and has one child, Ada, and lives on 
his father's place in Cerro Gordo township. He has improved this 
place. The names of the other children are John Burgess, James, 
Effie, Charles, Katie, Minnie and Freddie. Mr. Fisher has served his 
share of time in such offices as trustee, school director and road com- 
missioner. 

MR. CHARLES FISHER, grain and lumber merchant and banker, came 
to Bement, Piatt county, in 1858, and went into the grain and lumber 
business, the firm being then Scott & Fisher. About 1870 went into 
grain, lumber and banking with A. G. Gregory. Was one of the 
leading business men in Bement for a number of years. About 1875 
he moved to Hutchinson, Kansas, and now lives in Newton, Kansas. 

MR. JOHN FRY (deceased), farmer and carpenter, Bement, was born 
in Virginia ; moved from there to Ohio, and thence to Piatt county 
about 1856. He first made his home on the Savage farm, north- 
east of Monticello, and moved to Bement township about 1857. 
Mr. Fry improved the home farm of 160 acres ; built his house, 
barn, carpenter shop, and planted hedges. At one time he sold 
corn at five cents a bushel to pay a school board bill for his son 
in Monticello. Mr. Fry was first married in 1831, to Matilda Dore, 
who died in 1844. He was married again in 1847, to Margaret H. 
Conkle, who has one son, William Theodore, now in Colorado mining. 
Mr. Fry died October 31, 1861. Mrs. Fry still survives him. She 
owns the farm and a house and two lots in Bement. 

MR. ROBERT FISIIKR, lawyer, Bement, is a native of New York ; 
moved from there to Illinois, and in 1869 to Piatt county. He located 
as a farmer, and the next year went into law and was admitted to the 
bar in 1874. He studied law under William P. Chase, who was after- 
ward made surrogate of Monroe county, New York, same as county 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 369 

judge here. Mr. Fisher has been village attorney for six years, and 
belongs to a masonic lodge in New York. He owns a house and lot 
in Bement, and was married in 1871 to Mrs. Ellis nee Lou A. Miller, 
from Knox county, Ohio. She died in 1872, leaving one daughter, 
Etta M., now keeping house for Mr. Fisher. 

MR. ELIHU FISHER, farmer, Bement, is a native of Greene county, 
Illinois. He moved from that county to Piatt county in 1858 and 
located on 160 acres, a part of his present home farm of 320 acres. The 
farm is in good condition, an orchard, several hundred trees and three or 
four miles of hedge are on the place. Mr. Fisher and Lydia J. Rawlins 
were married in 1851. All of their ten children are living. Emily is the 
wife of Robert Lamb, Cordelia married Joseph Zorger, and William mar- 
ried Miss Duell. The names of the other children are John Burgess, 
James, Effie J., Charles P., Katie B., Minnie E. and Freddie. Mr. 
Fisher went to the Mexican war in Co. B of the 1st regiment, and was 
in the battle of Buena Vista. 

MR. E. L. FARNSWORTH, carpenter and hotel-keeper, Bement, was 
born in 1827 in New York. He moved from there to Wisconsin in 
1846, and thence to Illinois about 1862, coming to Bement in Septem- 
ber, 1871. He at once began wagon-making, at which he has worked 
most of the time since. He keeps the hotel, which was the first in 
town, and was built by Mr. Townsend. Mr. Buckley, one hotel- 
keeper, was killed in the house in 1872. Mr. Farnsworth has been 
twice married : to Agnes Holland about 1850, and to Mrs. Robert 
Hunter nee Miss T. J. Fletcher about 1864. 

MR. JOSEPH FAHRNKOPF, farmer, Bement, is a native of Germany 
who came to America about 1852. In 1871 he located in Bement 
township, where he owns one hundred acres of land, which he has 
partly improved. The farm is in quite good condition, there being on 
it good hedges, a good orchard and quite a grove of maple trees. Mr. 
Fahrnkopf was married in 1858, to Anna Offenstein, who died leaving 
four children. Rudolf, who married Mary Bricker, has one daughter 
and lives at home. The names of the other children are Joseph, 
Henry and Annie. In 1877 Mr. Fahrnkopf married Mrs. Charles 
Young nee Josephine Haider. Mr. Young died January 6, 1875, 
leaving six children, five of whom are living : Annie, the wife of 
Frank Fahrnkopf, Alfred, Frank and Mable. 

MR. TIMOTHY FOOHY, farmer, Ivesdale, was born in Ireland, and in 
I*.")!) came to America, locating in Piatt county in 1875. He now 
owns 120 acres of land, which he has partly improved. He was 



370 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

married in 1864, to Catharine Conolly, and lias nine children living: 
Timothy, Mary K., John M., Johanna, Bride, Margaret, Ellen, 
Michael and Ann. John Foohy owns 120 acres of land in Bement 
township. He married Sabina McKee, who died leaving four chil- 
dren : Timothy, Catharine, Thomas and Johanna. His mother keeps 
house for him. Both of these families belong to the Catholic church 
of Ivesdale. 

MR. W. A. GODWIN, merchant, Bement, was born in Greene county, 
Illinois. His father emigrated to Tennessee when he was sixteen years 
old. He moved to Illinois in 1828, and was in the Black Hawk war, 
under Gen. Whiteside, at Stillman's Run. Mr. Godwin's parents both 
died of typhoid fever on the same day. After his wife had died, Mr. 
Godwin, sr., asked, " Is Sarah dead? 1 ' Upon being answered in the 
affirmative, he said, "Then I have lived long enough," and in a short 
time he was dead. Mr. W. A. Godwin was married in 1 856, to Ellen 
Hopkins. They have two children living: Albert, who was married in 
1881, to Belle Douglas, and Frederick. After their marriage Mr. and 
Mrs. Godwin moved onto a farm in Christian county for five years, 
when he returned to Piatt county and went into business with Mr. 
Hopkins. They remained together for fourteen years, during which 
time they had a store in Homer, Bement and Chicago, all at one time. 
Mr. Godwin has now been in business alone in Bement for several 
years. He owns one of the most pleasant residences in the place. 
Mr. and Mrs. Godwin have celebrated both their crystal and silver 
wecklings. 

MR. WILLIAM GANLEY, farmer, Bement, was born in Ireland, and 
came to America in 1855, locating in Piatt county in 1857, and 
settling on his present farm of 160 acres in 1869. He is fast getting 
his farm in good condition. It is well hedged, and in 1881 a nice barn 
and a six-room frame house were erected, in all making the place one 
of the neatest in the neighborhood. Mr. Ganley was married January 
1, 1862, to Ann Flanigan, and has had eleven children, four of whom, 
Mary A., Maggie W., E. Ellen, and Sarah J., are living. 

MR. BENJAMIN GOLD HOPKINS' parents were of English descent and 
natives of Connecticut, where they lived and died. The subject of our 
sketch was born March 4, 1811. in Cornwall, Connecticut. In 1831 he 
was married to Mary Stanton, of Salisbury, Connecticut, and in 1839, 
with his wife and family of four children, moved from Connecticut to 
AYaverly, Morgan county, Illinois. For the benefit of the curious 
whom they might meet^m their way, on one side of the wagon was 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 371 

printed "From Connecticut," while on the other side was "To Illi- 
nois." This, however, seemed to only partially satisfy the people, for 
through whatever section of the country they passed they were the 
recipients of innumerable messages to brothers, sisters, sons and 
daughters in Illinois. These innocent message-senders believed, seem- 
ingly, that all the inhabitants of Illinois were acquainted and neigh- 
bors. About 1855 Mr. Hopkins moved from Greene county, Illinois, 
to a farm about one and one-half miles from Bement, which place lie 
improved. It is now owned by Mr. Elihu Fisher. Upon his arriving 
at Bement he found but about three buildings in the place. These 
were two dwelling houses and an office owned by Mr. Joseph Bod- 
man. There were but two women in the town, and one of these was 
nicknamed "Curly," because of the abundance of her curling locks. 
After remaining in the vicinity of Bement for over two years Mr. 
Hopkins moved to Christian county, where he remained for about four 
years, and then returned to Bement for the purpose of opening a 
grocery and provision store. He estimates that during the fourth year 
he was in this business he sold $70,000 worth of goods. After remain- 
ing in this business about sixteen years he moved again. Since leaving 
Bement he has lived in various places, but most of his time has been 
spent in Champaign county, where he opened a merchandise store in 
Homer about four years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Hopkins had nine chil- 
dren, four of whom were born in Connecticut. Samuel J. was married 
in Greene county, where he lived at the time of his death, two years 
ago. He left a wife and large family of children. Frank G. married 
Clara, a daughter of Senator Greene, of Missouri. He kept hotel in 
Bement for a time, but now fias three children and lives in Canton, 
Missouri. Mary E. is the wife of Mr. J. C. Evans, of Bement. Ellen 
G. is the wife of William Godwin, of Bement. (See his name.) Julia 
is the wife of IS". L. Furgeson, has five children and lives in Kansas. 
Edward S. is unmarried and lives in Kansas. Richard Hopkins was a 
member of the first school taught in Bement. He enlisted when 
seventeen years old in Co. D, 73d 111. reg. He was in about twenty 
battles and was wounded in the arm at Chickamauga. After the war 
he returned to Bement and worked in Hopkins & Godwin's store. He 
next was in the hardware business with Mr. Evans. He was married 
in 1868, to Damie Coffeen, has three children and lives in Homer. 
Belle Hopkins, who received $100 a month while helping in the store 
in Bement, was married October 3, 1872, and has several children. 
Mr. B. G. Hopkins survives his wife, who died about 1878. 



372 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

MK. STEVEN B. HAWKES, Bement, came from Milwaukee to Piatt 
county m 1857. His parents were from Charlemont, Massachusetts, 
and he was one of a family of nine children. He was married in 
December, 1857, to Catharine T. Booth, and they have had three 
children, M. Miller, who died, Chas. F. T. and J. Williard Booth. 
Upon settling in Bement, Mr. Hawkes began farming. In August he 
began working at the tank for, the railroad company, and has been 
working there ever since. Both Mr. and Mrs. Hawkes are members 
of the Methodist church. 

MR. JOSHUA HILL, farmer, Bement, is a native of Ohio, from which 
state he moved to Piatt county, Illinois, in 1858 and located in Sanga- 
mon township. In 1862 he moved to Bement, where he now owns a 
house and three lots. He was married in 1868, to Lydia Peoples, and 
has had eight children, six of whom are living, William H., Sarah E., 
Charles, Edward, Louis and Franklin. 

MR. CHAS. B. HUBBELL, carpenter and builder, Bement, is of 
English descent, and was born in 1820 in New York. He moved 
from there to Green county, Illinois, about 1852, and then to Bement 
in 1857, where there were then but two or three houses. He began 
farming, and well improved 106 acres of land just east of Bement. 
He now owns seventeen acres and residence just out of the corporation. 
He planted at least 500 trees near Bement. Mr. Hubbell has held 
some of the smaller offices in the county. His father was in the war of 
1812 and his grandfather was in the revolutionary war. Mr. Hubbell 
was married in 1845, to Maria C. Vedder, a native of New York, and 
they have had six children, five living : Julia E., who is the wife of Wm. 
Putman, lives in New York ; Delia married Mr. Jno. Garver, then 
Reber Huston ; Emma C. is the wife of Frank Corser ; Helen died 
when about twenty years old ; Francis F. and Lucius L. 'are at 
home. 

MR. JOHN HETISHEE, farmer, Ivesdale, is of German descent, and 
was born in Switzerland. He left Switzerland in 1843, and remained in 
Havre de Gras, France, until the war broke out there in 1848 and the 
times grew hard. He came to America that year and thinks he has 
never known anything but hard times until right now he begins to see 
his way clear. He moved from New York to Ohio, and from thence 
to Illinois, about 1853, and since that date he has lived most of the 
time in Piatt county. He now owns 480 acres of land, upon which he 
has planted u good many trees, and has made all other improvements. 
He was married in New York to Elizabeth liuf, and has had six 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 373 

children, William, Minnie, the wife of Jacob Rapp, of Kansas, Henry, 
Caroline, George and Frank. 

MR. N. G. HINKLE, hardware merchant, Bement, is a native of 
"West Virginia, moved from there to Ohio in 1861, and then to Illinois 
in 1867. Lived in the country north of Bement for a time and moved 
into Bement in 1874. He owns residence and lot, besides another 
house and lot. He went to the army from* Ohio in Co. C of the 12th 
Ohio Cav., and was out three years, participating in the battles of 
Nashville, Mount Sterling, Abington, Virginia, and several skirmishes. 
He has held several offices in the township, being commissioner of 
highways for live years, and school-director nearly ever since he has 
been in the state. He is a member of the Odd-Fellows of Bement. 
Mr. Ilinkle was married in 1866, to Alice Hannah, and has two 
children, Bettie and Ida Maj^. 

MR. W. W. HAMMOND, nurseryman, Bement, is a native of New 
York, from which state he moved to Texas and remained three years. 
In 1869 he moved to Bement, and the next year started a nursery near 
the town, and has had as high ten or twelve acres in stock. His is the 
only nursery which has been in Bement. He owns a house and two 
lots in Bement. Mr. Hammond was. married October 11, 1866, to 
Alvira Worthing, a native of New York. All of their six children are 
living, Lena, Wilbur, Winifred, Alvira, Emma and Carrie. Mr. Ham- 
mond's grandfather was in the revolutionary war, and his father fought 
in the war of 1812. 

MR. HORACE HALDEMAN, miller., Bement, moved to Illinois in 1856, 
and to Piatt county in 1868. His father, mother, and sister Lucetta, 
also came to Bernent ; the father died in 1874, the mother in 1879. 
In 1868 Mr. William and Horace Haldeman and G. C. Nichols built 
the mill, the only one in town, and probably the largest in the county. 
In 1872 Lucetta bought out G. C. Nichols' interest. The two brothers 
and sister own residences and property in Bement. Their cousin 
Sarah has lived with them since 1865, and has taught for a number of 
years in the Bement school. 

MR. WILLIAM HALDEMAN, miller, Bement, was born in Pennsyl- 
vania, and came to this county in 1868. He went to the army in 
1862 from Scott county, in Co. II of the 129th reg. 111. Vols., and 
remained three years. He was in several battles, the principal of 
which are Buzzard Roost, Resaca and a part of the Atlanta campaign. 
He was wounded at Atlanta and sent to rear. In the battle of Peach- 
tree Creek he thought every man in the regiment was down except 



374 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

himself, and lie expected to go every minute. Mr. Haldeman was 
married in 1867, to Mary Ferrington, and has four children, Lee, Mag- 
gie, Ella and Brandt. Mr. William Haldeman and his brother Horace 
are the proprietors of the Bement flour mill. 

MR. H. M. HAYS, farmer, Bement, is a native of Ohio, and moved 
in 1861 from Champaign county to Piatt county, where he owns eighty 
acres of land, upon which he has put all the improvement, including 
the planting of two hundred trees and over one mile of hedge. He was 
married December 25, 1873, to Ollie C. Holm, and has two children, 
Mamie M. and Lulu L. 

MR. ABRAHAM HAYS, farmer, Bement, was born in Ohio, and from 
there moved to Champaign county, Illinois, locating in April, 1861, in 
Piatt county, where he owns 160 acres of land, which he has improved 
himself, planting out over two miles of hedge in addition to doing 
some ditching. He was married in 1865, to Dorothea B. Moma, who 
died, leaving three children, one of whom, Ida B., is living. He next 
married Nancy E. Wilkin in 1873, and has three children, Charles E., 
Ada and William M. Mr. Hays went to the army in 1861, in Co. C 
of the 25th 111. reg., returning in September, 1864, having been in 
engagements at Pea Ridge, Corinth, Perryville, Peach-tree Creek, 
Mission Ridge, Resaca and Kenesaw Mountain, and having been 
wounded three times. 

MR. GEORGE H. HACKLKR, farmer, Bement, was born in Tennessee, 
from which state he moved to Illinois, and in 1874 came to Piatt 
county. He was married February 28, 1852, to Miss K. Jones, and 
has six children living, Tryphena, John Byron, Elsie Jane, George 
Thomas, Owen and Charles W. His second daughter married Mr. 
Warren Cain, has two children, Etta and Leonard, and lives in 
Bement township. 

MR. LEVI HOFFHKINS, farmer, Bement, was born in Pennsylvania, 
and moved to Ohio with his father when eleven years old. After 
^remaining there about forty years he moved to Piatt county in 1872. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hoffheins own 106 acres of land. Mr. Hoffheins was 
first married about 1845, to Lavina Sim maker. Ten of their children 
are living. Oran married Mary Brillman, has three children, and lives 
in Bement township. Samuel H. married Laura Koeher and lives on 
the same section. William X. married Abbey Quick and lives in 
Champaign county. George lives in Missouri. Lucinda, the wife of 
William Alexander, has one child. Ella is the wife of Charles Martin. 
Sarah is married and lives in Bement. Rosa is the wife of Charles 



IARY 

RSh/ OF ILLINOIS 




BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 377 

Holderman. Clinton and Emma are at home. Mr. Hoffheins married 
KachelWolf in 1851. 

MR. ABRAHAM HOLDERMAN, farmer, Bement, is a native of Ohio, 
who, in 1867, moved to Piatt county, where he owns 320 acres of land, 
which he has principally improved. He was married about 1850, to 
Eliza A. Barnthouse and has four children : Ella, the wife of David 
Dawson ; Alice, who married Mr. L. Campbell ; Laura, the wife of 
Samuel Campbell and mother of two children ; and J. C. Holderman, 
who married Miss Hoffheins and has one son, Holly. Mr. Holderman's 
farm has yielded fair crops. * 

MR. JOSEPH HARTMAN, boot and shoe merchant, Bement, is a native 
of Germany, who came to America in 1856, and to Bement, Piatt 
county, in 1870. He owns a house and lot in Bement. He was 
married in 1857, to Catharine Hawk. 

MR. F. A. HEBERLINE, jeweler, Bement, was born in Pennsylvania. 
Moved from there to Illinois in 1881, and to Piatt county the same year. 
He is the only jeweler in Bement, and was married in 1881, to Anna 
Ganno. 

MR. WILLIAM A. JOHNSON, farmer, Ivesdale, was born in Boston, 
Massachusetts. From Boston he went to New York, thence to Troy, 
where he was married, in 18-11, to Catharine Legal, who died of cholera 
in 1848, leaving three children, two of whom are now living, Adaline, 
the wife of James Gillman, of Bement township, and mother of six 
children, Wilhelmina C., Sarah, Louisa, Adaline, Edward, Augusta 
and Katie. Sarah Johnson became the wife of Henry Egbers, of 
Quincy, and has two children. About 1851 Mr. Johnson went to 
Cuba on business as a machinist. He was married while in Cuba to 
Louisa Rosenplenter, a native of Hanover, Germany. The second day 
after their marriage his wife took the cholera and her physicians gave 
her up, but Mr. Johnson continued the use of remedies and she recov- 
ered. After she got well they came to New York on a visit, but on 
account of the cholera they did not return. Their old neighbors all 
died off, and they never heard a word of any of their household goods 
they had left there. After living awhile in New York he sold out and 
started west on account of his health. Upon reaching Chicago he met 
some land buyers and came to Piatt county to look at land. While in 
the vicinity of the present Ivesdale he took a sudden notion to buy 
some land. He bought eighty acres of the railroad company and went 
to Chicago to buy farming implements. He settled on the place in 
1856, his family coming in the fall. A Mr. Brown also settled here 

24 



378 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

about the same time, but grew discouraged and left. Mr. Johnson, 
however, bought more land and has been living here since. He 
now owns 480 acres of land in Piatt county. For the last sixteen 
years, until 1881, he kept a merchandise store in Ivesdale. Mr. and 
Mrs. Johnson have two children living, William A., who married 
Mary Senters, has four children, and lives in Decatur, and Maola, who 
is not married. They also have two adopted children, Charles and 
Elizabeth, who take the name of Johnson. For years Mr. Johnson has 
been one of the most influential men in the vicinity of Ivesdale. He 
has kept a good nursery for a number of years and also deals in stock. 
He now has quite a herd of short-horn cattle. 

MR. J. P. JONES, farmer, Bement, is a native of Licking county, 
Ohio, from which place he moved to McLean county, Illinois, 
locating .in Piatt county in 1870. He married Hannah Crawford in 
1870, and has two children, Arthur arid Kolla. Mr. Jones went to the 
army from Licking county in Co. I, of the 129th O. V; L. and, in 
addition to several skirmishes, was in the engagement at Cumberland 
Gap. 

DR. JOHN R. KLAPP, Bement, is a native of Dutchess county, N cw 
York. His father was in the war of 1812 as quartermaster, and was a 
member of the Xew York legislature in 1824. His father heard 
Webster deliver his celebrated reply to Gen. Hayne. His mother was 
a daughter of Gen. Barker, who served through the revolutionary war, 
and came out a general on Lafayette's staff. He was almost the only 
officer on the staff who could talk French, and Gen. Lafayette 
pronounced him the best French scholar he met in America. He 
must have been a favorite of Lafayette, for upon his return to America 
Gen. Lafayette inquired particularly for Gen. Barker. Dr. Klapp 
moved from his native state to Ohio, and from there emigrated to 
Illinois, where in 1866 he located in Bement. Since coming to the 
county he has lived on a farm for a time, but is now living in Bement, 
where he owns five residences and seven lots. He is a graduate of 
Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, and has practiced medicine 
for fifty years. We chanced to see his medical diploma, and among 
the professors" names thereon we found that of the father of Gen. 
McClelland. In 1832 Dr. Klapp and Catharine Van Ostrand, a native 
of Dutchess county, New York, were united in marriage. They have 
had eight children, seven of whom are living. Eugenia S. is the wife 
of Mr. Charles T. Webster, <i grocer of Bement. Augustus B. is 
farming near Bement. James A. married Phcebe Fontenell, has two 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 379 

children, John F. and Anna, and lives in Bement. Edward P. mar- 
ried Hannah Shafer, and lives on a farm in Bement township. Helene 
D. and Josephine E. are married, and live in Ohio, the former having 
four and the latter two children. John C., a grocer in Bement, mar- 
ried Jennie Taylor, and has five children, Harry, Etta, Kate, Jesse R. 
and Carl. Uortense, who attended the state Normal, was a thorough 
and faithful teacher of the county for four or five years previous to her 

death, June 24, 1881. 

HORTENSE. 

IN MEMOHIAM. 

There's a sadness and pain in our lives this dark day, 
And our hearts have a sorrow that goes not away; 
There's a hush of low voices and silence of feet 
In the house, in the door yard and along the street ; 
For Hortense, our dear one, is now gone from our sight. 
All the sunshine seems gone, all is dark as the night; 
So lovely and so pure was her life, that from birth 
To her death she appeared as an " angel on earth." 

A soul that we knew had been true to its aim, 
And a hand reached to one or to all just the same; 
A name which was spotless, and forgotten by none 
That dwelt in our hearts, and affection had won. 
Ah ! Hortense, our sweet friend, has gone to her rest, 
And her dear hands lie bloodless and chill on her breast; 
But her name in remembrance we'll cherish for aye, 
And to us a beacon light 'twill be for alway. 

Though this shadow has come from the Valley of Death, 

And in grief we must shed bitter tears, let each breath 

Be a prayer in thanksgiving to God for the dear 

And sweet friend who to our lives bro't peace and good .cheer. 

Dear Hortense is now gone, but all of us can say, 

" We are better for her having lived." From to-day 

AVith her bright example before us, we will try 

To so live that we'll meet her in the by and by. 

MR. J. F. KNAPP, hardware merchant, Bement, is a native of 
Elkhart county, Indiana. He began the tinners' trade in Goshen. 
Indiana, and finished at Rockingham county, New York. For one 
year he was in Jersey City, New Jersey, connected with the New York 
& Erie railroad. He spent a half year, in Chicago, returning to 
Goshen, and from there went to Canada, and was for a time engaged 
in the oil works. He moved from Goshen to Bement in 1866, and 
worked five years for Camp & Tenney, then went into the hardware 
business with Henry Camp in 1872. In 1881 they built a large brick 



380 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

store-room 26 X 90 feet, probably the largest store-room in the 
county. Knapp & Camp have also been in the livery business four 
years, having the principal livery stable in the place. Their business 
in each department has been rapidly increasing. Mr. Knapp was 
married November 20, 1873, to Inez B. Sparks. They have had 
three children, two of whom are living, Duaiie and Charlie. Their 
youngest, little Fannie, died recently. 

DK. D. D. KIMMEL, dentist, Bement, is a native of Trumbull 
county, Ohio, who, after moving to Pennsylvania, settled in Mercer 
county, Illinois, about 1868 or 1869. In 18TO he located in Bement, 
and at once began the practice of his profession, and now is the only 
dentist of the place. He obtained his dental education under a 
graduate of the Philadelphia Medical College, and for a time was his 
partner while living in Pennsylvania. He was married in July, 1872, 
to Ada C. Fogg, a native of Stark county, Ohio, has three children, 
Fannie H., Florence G. and Edith O., and owns a house and four lots 
in Bement. The doctor went to the army in 1862, in the brass band 
of the 19th O. V. I., and was out three years, being in the following 
engagements : Pittsburgh Landing, Cloyd's Mountain, Perryville, 
Cedar Creek, Lynchburg, and two battles each near Winchester and 
Strausburg. 

MR. JOHN A. KIMEL, harness-maker, Bement, is a native of Ohio, 
and moved from there to Illinois, September 21, 1867. He located in 
Bement township on the Boclman farm, and then in 1870 moved to 
Bement, where he has since been in the harness business. He owns 
his residence and two lots. He went to the army from Ohio in 1864, 
in Co. C of the 171st O. V. I., and was in a battle near Cynthiana, 
where he was taken prisoner and kept forty-eight hours, when he was 
paroled. He was used in a very rough manner when a prisoner, and 
some of the boys were killed by their forced marching. Mr. Kimel 
was married in 1860, to Sarah M. White, a native of Ohio, and they 
have had four children, three living. Eva, a music teacher of the 
town, has paid considerable attention to vocal culture under Prof. 
Turnell, and is a fine singer. Lellie and Ada A. are the names of the 
others. 

MR. WILLIAM KENNEDY, farmer, Ivesdale, is a native of Ireland, 
who came to America in 1861, and in 1878 to Piatt county, where he 
owns 80 acres of land. He married Bridget Carey, in 1862, and has 
two children, Christy and Mary Ann. Mr. Kennedy went to the army 
from Brooklyn in the 17th N". Y., and was out three years. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 381 

DR. J. H. LEAL (deceased) came to Bemcnt about 1857, and 
remained about ten years. He had a good literary education, and was 
a graduate of Rush Medical College of Chicago, and at one time was 
hospital physician of Cook county hospital. While in Bement he was 
in partnership with Dr. Taylor for seven years, and their practice 
extended from this county into Champaign, Douglas and Moultrie 
counties. While here he was considered the best surgeon in the 
county. Mr. Leal was a hard worker, and accumulated quite a little 
fortune, wlien, his health failing, he went west, spending the most of 
what he had made here in traveling in the territories, finally locating 
in Los Angeles, California. He built up quite a practice there, going 
to his office after he had to be carried. He died there about 1878. 
Mr. Leal married Mrs. Dr. Cranes, of Decatur, who is still living in 
California. 

MR. JOHN A. LUCAS (deceased) was a native of Illinois. He 
moved to Piatt county, dying here about 1869. He had been married 
about 1867, to Matilda Freeman, who has four children, Franklin, 
Sarah, Henry C. and Emily J. The family live on 160 acres of 
land, which they have improved. 

MR. ROBERT LAMB, farmer, Bement, is a native of England, and 
came to America in 1855, locating in Piatt county in 1859. He mar- 
ried Emma Fisher in 1874, and has three children, John Charles, 
Rutherford and James. 

DR. TIIO. J. MITCHELL, Bement, is a native' of New York. His 
grandfather was in the revolutionary war, and his father fought the 
English in the war of 1812. He moved from his native state to Ohio, 
where he remained until he came to Piatt county in the fall of 1853. 
His main object in coming west was to go into farming and stock 
raising, but he went into his old profession and was the first resident 
physician at Mackville. After practicing medicine there and at Atwood 
until 1872, he moved to Milrnine, where he resided until he came, in 
1878, to Bement, where he owns a house and three lots. The doctor 
studied medicine in New York, and is a graduate of the Louisville 
(Kentucky) Medical University. He was married in 1851, to Mrs. 
E. A. Tabor nee Nancy A. Boyle, a daughter of Judge Boyle, of 
Louisville, Kentucky. She had one daughter, who married Charles H. 
McCoy, and has two children, Edward T. and Fred. H. Dr. Mitchell's 
daughter, Mary A. , is the wife of Mr. James II. Hawks. Dr. Mitchell, 
after assisting in raising nine companies for the army, went into Co. 
H of the 107th 111. reg., in 1862, and remained until 1865. He 



382 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

went in as a private, was in the battles of Resaca and Buzzard Roost, 
and returned as assistant sergeant, though he was not mustered in as 
such. 

MR. JOSEPH MOORE, farmer, Bement, is a native of Ohio, and came 
from Indiana to Piatt county in 1854. He now owns some 300 
acres of land in Bement township, upon which he has put all of 
the improvements. A good orchard is on the place, and a nice frame 
residence was erected in 1871. Mr. Moore was married in 1852, to 
Harriet Hixson, who died leaving two children, one of whom, Eliza J., 
is still living and is the wife of James Ellers, of Douglas county. In 
1862 Mr. Moore and Lydia Moore were united in marriage and have 
had five children, Anna, Elmer D. and Emory C., twins, Lucy and 
Francis E. Mr. Moore has held some of the smaller offices since 
living in the county. He was the first township trustee of schools, 
and was one of the judges of the first election in the township. 

MR. JOHN MURPHY, farmer, Bement, is a native of Madison county, 
Illinois, and in 1856 moved to Piatt county, where he is the owner 
of a farm of 160 acres of land. He moved on to this place in 
1868, and has the place in good condition. Over six hundred trees 
have been planted, and, in addition to some open ditching, some two 
hundred rods of tiling has been done. Mr. Murphy was married 
April 8, 1868, to Sarah Hays, and has one son, John D. On August 
11, 1862, Mr. Murphy enlisted in the army, in Co. D of the 72d 111. 
Inf., and remained until 1865, partaking in the engagements at Vicks- 
burg, Champion Hill, Franklin and Mobile. He has held a few of the 
local offices of the township in which he resides. 

MR. JOHN H. MOMA, farmer, Bement, was born in Augusta county, 
Virginia, in 1797. He moved to Ohio, and about 1859 located on 
Madden's Run in Sangamon township. He was married in Ohio to 
Mary Benner and has had nine children, three of whom are living. 
Maria, the wife of Noble Crawford, died leaving several children ; 
Austin died at the age of twenty-seven years ; Sarah died in Ohio, and 
Milton's death occurred* in the army. Caroline is now the wife of 
Mr. A. T. Pipher; Frank is the wife of Mr. William Woods, of Chilli- 
cothe, Ohio; Dorothea married Mr. Abraham Hays; William D. mar- 
ried Kate Peoples in 1865 and has five children, John E., Fannie, 
Bert, Stella L. and Wm. Milton. He owns one hundred acres of land 
in Bement township. This farm is all under cultivation. Mr. John 
Moma took for his second wife Mrs. James Hays, who is still living. 

MR. GE<>K<;K \V. MAXFIELD, farmer, Bement, is a native of Ken- 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 3*3 

tucky, and moved from there to Jacksonville, Illinois, in 1827; thence 
to line between Macoupin and Greene counties in 1835; then to Win- 
chester county in 1840, and from there to Bement township in 1860. 
He moved into Bement in 1864, and owns his residence and one lot. 
His grandfather was in the revolutionary war. Mr. Maxfield was 
married February 17, 1830, to Mary Berry, a native of Kentucky. 
They have had no children of their own, but adopted four. Mrs. 
Wilbur Alvord nee Emma Clark is the only one living in the county. 
Her husband is now operator on the Wabash railroad and at present in 
Bement. Mr. and Mrs. Maxfield celebrated their golden wedding in 
1880. A great many of the townspeople came in (about two hun- 
dred and fifty) and gave the old people a surprise. Their friends from 
a distance got an inkling of the surprise, and letters of congratulation 
were sent, and, as they expressed it, " W T e never had anything to do us 
so much good/' The following is a poem by the Rev. Mr. Thompson. 
written for the occasion : 

GOLDEN WEDDING. 

George, well do you remember, 
It's as fresh as if to-night, 
How fifty years ago this eve 
You stood and sealed your plight 
With her by your side, and vowed 
" To love her and protect," 
And so confessed to (iod and man 
Mary your elect. 

Mary, what a wife you've made 
For George here, your lord ; 
A faithful helpmeet yon have been 
In every work and word. 

When heaviest laid affliction's hand, 
And darkest seemed the cloud, 
His sorrow you have nobly shared, 
And 'neath his burdens bowed. 

Yes, sainted pair, we reverence you, 

And with one common voice 

Ascribe to you all honor, 

And inwardly rejoice 

"That you are spared by Him who rules 

With glory and with might," 

To celebrate as rare a feast 

Your Golden Wedding Night. 



384 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

Your lives are in their sunset now, 

And lovely is the scene ; 

For over all your noble past 

Is cast a golden sheen. 

Its glory shall increase until 

Your sun shall shine no more ; 

And then a little twilight, 

And then the golden shore. 

And, oh, the rapturous glories 
Of that city paved with gold! 
Where, hand in hand, the glorified 
Shall walk, and ne'er grow old. 
There'll be no rocky steps to climb, 
No snare or stumbling stone ; 
But robed in white, with golden harps, 
We'll worship at God's throne. 

When George and Mary, 
Once more a groom and bride, 
We know altho' your vigor's gone 
You are still each other's pride. 
And please hear the sentiment 
To-night of every heart : 
" What God has joined together, 
Let no man put apart." 

MR. J. C. MILLER, merchant, Bement, is a native of Indiana, and 
moved from there to Piatt county in 1857. He went west soon after, 
returning in 1875 to Monticello, where he remained until 1879, when 
he went to Bement and the firm of Miller Bros, was organized. He 
went to the army from Adams county in Co. A, 10th Inf., for three 
months, the first company from Illinois ; was mustered out and then 
enlisted in the 3d Mo. Cav. Mr. Miller enlisted as private, was pro- 
moted sergeant, 2d lieutenant, 1st lieutenant and then captain. He 
was in the army nearly four years, but never east of Mississippi. He 
was in the battle of Mt. Zion and several skirmishes, Little Rock, 
Saline river and Camden, and was taken prisoner but released in four 
days. Mr. Miller was married in 1866, to Carrie L. Hallam, and has 
three children, Guy H., Inez and Carl G. He was enumerator of 
census in Bement township. 

MR. GEORGE MILLER, merchant, Bement, is a native of Delphi, In- 
diana, his father having built the first house in that city. He moved 
from Indiana to Piatt county in 1856, farming until 1861. He went 
into the army July 10, 1861, in Co. F, 3d 111. Cav., enlisting as private, 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 385 

but was promoted to sergeant, and also served as musician a portion of 
the time. He was in eighteen or twenty battles, the principal ones 
being Vicksburg, Ft. Gibson, Champion Hill, Raymond and Black 
River. He returned from the army in January, 1866, was elected 
sheriff and served for three years, then went into merchandising in 
1870 or 1871, which he has since followed. He came to Bement in 
1879. Mr. Miller was married in January, 1858, to Nellie J. Russell, 
and has two children, Ida and Anna, both young ladies. 

MR. CHARLES AfcGAFFEY, farmer, Bement, is a native of Illinois. 
He came with his father to Piatt county about 1856. His father, Cor- 
rin McGaffey, came to this county and died here, leaving a wife and 
two children. Of these, Charles, married Rebecca Postlethwaite and 
has one son, George. Mrs. McGaffey married Mr. Smith, who died, 
and one of their children, Effie, is living. Mrs. Smith and son own 
ninety-five acres of land, which they have improved. 

Mr. HARVEY MULLIKIN, farmer, Bement, is a native of Kentucky, 
who moved to Indiana and thence to Piatt county, Illinois, in 1864. 
He owns 160 acres of land, upon which he has put all improvement, 
planting several hundred trees and getting the place all under cultiva- 
tion. He was married about 1830, to Emily Tucker, and has had ten 
children, eight of whom are living. Of these, Arthur died at the age 
of thirty-five years ; Rachel, who has six children, and is the wife of 
Mr. Deitch, lives in Indianapolis ; James M. married Nancy Kindle, 
has six children and lives in Wayne county, Illinois ; Maria J., mar- 
ried Mr. M. T. Shepherd, has two children and lives in Lovington ; 
John married Mollie Cannon, has two children and lives in Kansas ; 
Maggie is at home, and Lydia is her father's housekeeper ; Alice mar- 
ried Mr. George Wingate and, with two children, lives in Lovington ; 
Thomas is at home. 

MR. JACOB MUTIIERSHAUGH, butcher, Bement, is a native of Penn- 
sylvania. He came directly to Bement in 1863, and for the last eight 
years has been butchering. Pie owns a house and two lots. Mr. 
Muthersbaugh was married in 1853, to Mary J. Bell, who died in 1876. 
They had five children : Sarah, at home ; James A. married Miss 
Hadley and lives in Bement, has one child, Mabel ; William T., David 
Harvey and Mary M. 

Mr. EMOR H. MITCHELL, farmer, Bement, was born in Knox county, 
Ohio. His grandparents were among the first settlers of Ohio, and his 
parents, who are still living, are natives of that state. His grandfather 
Mitchell was a captain in the war of 1812. He was taken prisoner at 



386 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

the time of Hull's surrender. Mrs. Mitchell's grandfather is still living, 
and quite lately, at the age of ninety-eight years, he went to Kansas all 
alone. Mr. Mitchell is the eldest of a family of twelve children. A 
family reunion was recently held in Ohio, at which nine of the chil- 
dren and twenty-one grandchildren were present. Mr. Mitchell was 
married December 33, 1860, to Emily S. Reynolds. They have had 
six children, Walter R., Ollie M., Lizzie M., Pauline M., Anna and 
little Charlie, who died recently. They moved from Ohio to Piatt 
county in 1864, and settled in Bement township. They have been on 
the present home-place for thirteen years. Not long since Mr. Mitchell 
went to Ohio for the purpose of buying land there, but he returned to 
live contentedly on Piatt county land. The farm was bought of the 
Illinois Central Railroad Company, and a few acres had been broken by 
a Mr. Bailey, who was an early settler of the township. The farm of 
120 acres is now in excellent condition. One hundred and twenty-five 
fruit trees and 1,200 maples have been planted. The place is divided by 
hedges into forty-acre fields. The entire place presents a fine appear- 
ance, and we think Mr. Mitchell should feel paid for the work expended 
on the farm. 

MR. H. MARTIN, wagonmaker, Bement, is, a native of Kentucky, 
moved from there to Illinois, in 1854, locating in Moultrie county and 
thence came to Bement in 1862. He owns his residence and twenty 
acres of land in Bement. He is a member of the town board, and also 
of an organization known as the " Chosen Friends," organized about a 
year ago, which has for its object mutual insurance. Dr. Mitchell was 
the main mover in establishing it, and it now has a membership of 
forty. Mr. Martin was married in 1859, to Camilla Purvis, a native of 
Illinois, and they have six children : Allen, a student of Wesleyan 
University, has taught three terms in this county ; Joseph, Harry, 
Leonard, Ralph and Nellie. Mrs. Martin is also a member of the 
"Chosen Friends." 

MR. J. C. McCoRD, lumber merchant, Bement, is a native of Penn- 
sylvania, from which state he moved to Illinois in 1866, and located on 
a farm in Bement township. In 1877 he moved into Bement, and has 
been in the grain and lumber business ever since. He owns an eleva- 
tor on flie Wabash railroad, besides four lots in Bement. Mr. McCoi-d 
went to the army from Pennsylvania in Co. K of the 4 ( Jth Penn. reg., 
and was out four years. He was in fourteen battles, the principal of 
which were Williarnsburg, Richmond, Antietam, Fred e rick sburg, 
Gettysburg and the Wilderness, at which place he was wounded. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 387 

In 1872 Mr. McCord and Ada W. Nichols were united in mar- 
riage. 

MR. D. C. W. NILKS, grocer, Beinent, moved from Philadelphia to 
Bourbon, Douglas county, Illinois, in 1856. His father was from Balti- 
more, Maryland, and was editor of the "Nile's Register" a number of 
years. Mr. D. C. Niles was one of a family of eight children. His 
brother Robert was in this county from 1860 to 1865, when he returned 
to Philadelphia. He moved from Douglas county to Bement, and the 
brothers opened a general merchandise store in 1860. Mr. D. C. Niles' 
has been in the grocery business now for the past twelve years. He 
was married in the fall of 1861 in Ohio, to Miss Virginia Norris, a 
native of "West Virginia. They have four children : Cora L., who 
graduated in the Bement high school in 1882, Chas. R., Willie and 
Freddie. Mr. Niles belongs to the Masonic Order, and has held 
offices as high as king of the chapter and warden of the blue lodge. 

MR. G. C. NICHOLS, carpenter and farmer, Bement, was born in 
Massachusetts. He moved from there to New York, and then to 
Springfield, Illinois, in 1849, and "walked tne length of the only rail- 
road in the state.' 1 He lived in Springfield two years, then came to 
Decatur, where in 1855 he was married, to Caroline Rowe. They had 
three children, none of them living. Mr. Nichols moved from 
Decatur to Bement 1856, and had charge of the carpenter work of the 
present Wabash road from Decatur to Danville, bringing the first 
depot from Decatur and putting it up in Bement. He saw the first 
train that came into Bement, and it ran off the track. Mr. Nichols 
has put up many houses in town, among them Mr. Bryant's bank and 
Mr. Godwin's house. He owns a house and several lots in town, and 
a farm of 240 acres in Bement township. He has put all the improve- 
ments on his farm, has it well hedged in fields, built residence and 
barn, and planted several thousand forest trees and two hundred fruit 
trees. He has two miles of tiling in, and in 1880 had an extra crop of 
clover seed, five bushels to the acre. Mr. Nichols has always been a 
strict temperance man, and voted so strongly. 

MR. A. D. NEWTON, farmer, Bement, is a native of Massachusetts, 
and moved Irorn there to Piatt count\, Illinois, in 1866. He has been 
a farmer and stock-dealer most of the time since being in the broom- 
corn business with Mr. Bodman. He owned a farm, until quite 
recently, of 350 acres north of Bement, putting many of the improve- 
ments on it. Mr. Newton has held several of the smaller offices, 
"belonged to the Home Guards," and is a member and director of 



388 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

the agricultural society of this county. He was married in 1857, to 
Lavina J. Ingram, and has three children living : Ada, who married 
George Stadler (see his sketch), and Nellie and Walter. 

MR. WILLIAM PARKER, blacksmith, Bement, was born in Jefferson, 
Harrison county, Ohio. Pie moved thence to Crawford county, Ohio, 
in 1831, living there in the wilderness among wolves and bears, under- 
going many privations, and even getting meal ground on a horse-mill. 
After several years a new county was formed. He was then in Wyan- 
dotte county, and moved to Illinois in 1854, finally settling in Piatt 
county. He first located in Sangamon township, near White Heath, 
and partially improved 40 acres of land, bought at that time of Joseph 
Kee, and sold it for $600 in three years to Mr. Banghard. He left 
that place on account of sickness, moved to Bement in 1859, and 
resumed his old occupation of wagon-making and carriage business, 
which business he has followed for forty years. He thinks he made 
and finished the first wagon in the county in 1859. After following 
this business some fifteen years, he began dealing in implements, at 
which he still continues. He has lately moved his shop to the lot 
where the first blacksmith shop was built in the place, by J. A. Force. 
Mr. Parker now owns this one-half lot. He also owns six acres of land 
adjoining town, for which- he paid $100 an acre, six lots where his 
residence stands and two other lots. Mr. Parker was married in 
Seneca county in 1843. 

MR. T. T. PETTIT, hardware merchant, Bement, is a native of 
Pennsylvania, from which place he moved to Ohio, and from there to 
Bement, Illinois, about 1855. He came west to farm for Mr. Joseph 
Bodrnan. He and Joseph Bodman made the first track from Bement 
to Monticello, and boarded at that place for a time until buildings were 
erected on the farm. He superintended the building of the first house 
in Bement. Mr. Pettit has held some of the small offices since living 
in Bement ; has been a member of the town board for fifteen years. 
He owns a residence and lot in the town. In 1859 he was united in 
marriage to Lydia Hawkins, who died, leaving one daughter, Anna, 
who recently graduated in the Bement High School. At his second 
nuptials, in 1875, he married Miss Alice Webster, who had been a 
teacher in the Bement schools. They have two children, Ralph 
Everett and Lessie L. 

MR. MARION PETTIT, brick mason, Bement, came to the count}' 
about the same time Mr. T. T. Pettit came, and has seen the town of 
Bement reach its present size. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 389 

MR. THOMAS POSTLETHWAIT (deceased), carpenter, Bement, familiarly 
known as " Uncle Tommy," was born in Pennsylvania, moved from 
there to Illinois, and in 1858 to Bement. He owned a house and five 
lots, and nine and three-quarter acres adjoining town. He was married 
in 1848, to Mary Cross, and they had four children, two of whom are 
living. James C. died in 1870, at twenty-three years of age ; Anna 
was the wife of John Davis, and died in 1869. Rebecca married 
Charles McGaffey, lives in Bement township, and has one child, George. 
Sue lives with her mother. Mr. Postlethwait died in August, 1869. 
Even his own children called him "uncle." He was school director 
for years, assisted in building the Methodist church, and was one of 
the leading men of the place. 

MR. J. S. PKAIRS, merchant, Bement, was born in Pennsylvania, 
1813 ; moved from there to Ohio, thence to Wisconsin in 1838, and to 
Greene county, Illinois, in 1839. He came from Jersey county to 
Piatt county in 1870, located in Bement, and was a book-keeper until 
1878, when he opened a notion store. He is also in the real estate 
and insurance business. The main business of his life, however, has 
been teaching. He owns his residence and two lots in Bement ; has 
been one of the board of trustees on two occasions, and has held the 
office of township collector for the past four years. He is also trustee 
and steward in the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Peairs was 
married in December, 1839, to Miss E. Godwin, a native of Tennessee, 
and they had five children, two of whom are living. Lavinia A. is 
the wife of Mr. H. S. Nichols, formerly a merchant in Bement, now 
in Ogden, and has had six children, two living. Mary died at the age 
of sixteen. Emily J. died aged 22 ; she was the wife of John Camp- 
bell, in Jersey county. M. Augusta married George E. Trotter, who 
is now a merchent in Shenandoah, Iowa. 

MR. S. B. PRIESTLY, blacksmith, Bement, is a native of England. 
He came to America and settled in Piatt county in 1871. His father, 
John Priestly, lives with him in Bement. He has one sister, Mary A. 
Allison, also living in Bement. Mr. Priestly was married in 1879, to 
Miss E. J. Rhoades, and they have one child, John T. Mr. Priestly 
owns his residence and two lots, and an interest in business house 
and lot. 

MR. SMITH QUICK, Bement, was bom November 20, 1816, in New 
York, and is the youngest of a family of eight. His parents were 
natives of New York, from which place they moved west. His mother 
died in Ohio, and his father near Crawfordsville, Indiana. Mr. Smith 



300 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

Quick was married in Ohio December 20, 1838, to Mahala Try on, who 
was born November 13, 1822. Of their children, Isaiah B., who was 
born in 1840, married Francis Pickens, and has five children ; Elsbary 
married Mrs. Elizabeth Coffin, has four children, and lives in Bement 
township ; Charlotte Quick, who was born in 1845, died in April 1881. 
Isabelle J. married Geo. Pool, of Bement ; Mary Eliza married John 
Ellars, has two children and lives in Champaign county. Frances A. 
became the wife of Noble Huffines, and lives near Atwood ; Jasper N., 
Viola F. and Cora (). are unmarried. Mr. Quick's eldest sons were 
both in the late war. He was one of the very iirst settlers in Bement 
township. He built a house on his farm in a year after he came to the 
county and lived there until he moved to Bement. He moved back to 
his farm again, but in 1874 located again in Bement, where he now 
resides. 

MR. JAMES QUICK, farmer, Bement, is a native of Unity township, 
and owns 120 acres of land in Bement township. He has put most 
of the improvements on the place. Mr. Quick, formerly a student of 
Merom, Indiana, was married March 28, 1878, to Anna Bryson, a 
student of the State Normal, and who had taught nearly eight years in 
the county. One daughter, Maud Lillis, blesses their union. Mr. 
Quick went to the army for a year when quite young, but was soon 
more anxious to get out of than he had been to enter the war. 

MRS. JAMES ROUTH, nee Margaret Fergeson, physician, Bement, was 
born in Bedford county, Virginia. She is of English and Scotch 
descent. Her parents moved from Virginia to near Whitewater river 
in Indiana. Their next move was to Cincinnati, in which city Margaret 
married Dr. James Routh in 1840. Dr. Routh made several moves 
after his marriage, and finally settled in Springfield, Illinois. He 
next moved to Decatur, where he lived until his death. During the 
war he went out to service as a surgeon and was sent to Milligan's 
Bend, where he died of malarial and typhoid fever. Dr. Routh was a 
graduate of the Eclectic College in Cincinnati. Mrs. Routh also 
attended this college in Cincinnati. She moved to Bement about 
1865. Her three sons are practicing physicians and her daughter 
married a physician. Dr. James W. Routh, who graduated in St. 
Louis, married Fannie Devore, has one daughter, and is a resident of 
St. Paul. George E., a graduate of Miami College, Cincinnati, 
married Mary Webb, has one daughter, and lives in Austin, Texas. 
Fannie P. is the wife of Dr. N. N. Vance, a successful physician of 
Bement. He is also a graduate of Miami College, Cincinnati. Three 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 391 

children have blessed their union. Walter Routh married Lottie Ray, 
and is a practicing physician in Fort Worth, Texas. Mrs. Routh is an 
estimable lady, has good success in her practice, and is probably the 
only resident lady physician who has ever been in this county. 

DR. W. S. RUBY, druggist and physician, Bernent, was born in 
Springfield, Illinois. He moved from Decatur to Bementin 1870, and 
began practicing in the homoeopathic school, and is still the only 
physician of that school in Bement. He graduated in 1870 from the 
Homeopathic Medical College of St. Louis, and also studied three 
years under Dr. Sibley, of Decatur. His practice extends throughout 
the county. He went to the army in Co. I, 7th 111. Cav., remaining 
four and a half years. He was in the battles of Belmont, Corinth, 
(first and second); Fort Henry and various skirmishes, being taken 
prisoner twice. 'He enlisted as a private, but was discharged, and the 
rest of the time served as scout and spy. Dr. Ruby was married in 
August, 1866, to Eliza Rickets, and has three children, J. M., William 
and Emma. 

MR. VIRGIL S. RUBY, grain merchant and farmer, Bement, is a 
native of Knox county, Indiana. His grandfather was in the war of 
1812. His parents were natives of Kentucky. Mr. Ruby came to 
Sangarnon county, Illinois, in 1843. He was married in that county, 
to Mary A. Crane, in 1858. Her parents came to Illinois when 
young, and were married in this state. Mr. and Mrs. Ruby have two 
children, William, a student of the Wesleyan University of Blooming- 
ton, and Ada. Mr. Ruby owns a nice residence in Bement, and is 
rapidly improving the place. He also owns a farm in Cerro Gordo 
township. He is one of the influential men of Bement, and at present 
is supervisor of Bement township. 

MR. A. W. RINGLAND, pastor of the Presbyterian church, Bement, 
is a native of Pennsylvania, and moved with his father's family to 
Iowa. His grandfather, Col. Thomas Ringland, was in the war of 
1812, and about 1830 was speaker of the house in the Pennsylvania 
senate. He was a "'Scotch-Irishman, an ardent democrat and a 
plodding reader." The subject of our sketch graduated at Center 
College, Dawville, Kentucky, in 1872, and in September of the same 
year entered the Seminary of the Northwest, at which school he 
graduated in 1875, and in 1880-81 took a post-graduate course. His 
first pastorate was at Dubuque, Iowa, and he came from Tuscola to 
Bement, his third pastorate. He was united in marriage April 29, 
1875, to Miss E. H. Potter, a native of Cleveland, Ohio, and a 



392 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

graduate of a seminary at Mt. Pleasant, Iowa. One daughter, Mamie 
C., has blessed their union. 

MR. PETER RUSH, farmer, Bement, is a native of Ireland, who 
came to America about 1837, and about 1852 located in Piatt county. 
He owns 120 acres of land, upon which he has put all the improve- 
ments. He married Mary Gallard, in 1852, and has had five children, 
Celia, the wife of Edward Monohan, Bridget, John, Mary and Peter. 

MR. JOHN HAY, farmer, Ivesdale, came from Ireland, his native 
country, to America, in 1853, and in 1856 located in Piatt county. 
He now owns 120 acres of land. ' which he has improved himself. 
Mr. Ray was married November 28, 1843, to Margaret Anderson, and 
has nine children living. Of these, James is unmarried, Eliza married 
Pat Butler, Mary married Louis Sharer, and lives in Livingston 
county; John, William, Anna, Samuel, Robert and David L. are still 
at home. 

MR. CHRISTOPHER ROSE, farmer, Ivesdale, was born in Glasgow, 
Scotland, and came to America in 1865, locating in Piatt county in 
1830. He owns 80 acres of land, which is all under cultivation, and 
on which there is a good orchard. 

MR. S. REINHART, tailor, Bement, is a native of Germany, who 
came to America in 1851. From Philadelphia he came to Piatt 
county, Illinois, in 1875, and located in Bement, where he owns a 
residence and a business building. He first married Fannie Ziller, 
who died, leaving three children, Chris., Jacob and Clyde. He was 
married in 1877, to May Daniels, who has three children, Roxy, Leo 
and Cresse. 

MR. PATRICK RUAN came from Ireland to America in 1853, and 
to. Piatt county in 1875. He owns 80 acres of land, which he 
improved himself. He was married in 1865, to Bridget Tucker, and 
has one daughter, Anna. 

MR. J. O. SPARKS, Bement, was born in Ohio, in 1820. His 
parents were natives of Pennsylvania. They moved into the "Pan- 
handle " of West Virginia after their marriage, and from there moved 
to Adams county, Ohio, where both died, his father in 1838, and his 
mother in 1858. Mr. Sparks was one of a family of twelve, only 
three of whom are living now. He became acquainted with Anna 
Barbara Bradford in Adams count} 7 , and on January 8, 1851, they 
were united in marriage. They moved from Adams county to LTigh- 
land county, ot the game state, and from there to Illinois in 1856, 
when they located in Decatur. Mr. Sparks went into the dry goods 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 393 

business there, but in 1858 moved to Bement, where he began the 
merchandise business. He began buying grain in 1859, dropped the 
merchandise in 1860, and has continued in the grain trade ever since. 
For a number of years now he lias been buying- grain at? Milmine, 
though still residing at Bement. Mr. Sparks joined the Masonic order 
in 1844 in Ohio, and has been Knight Templar ever since 1851. He 
attended the encampments at Baltimore, New Orleans, Cleveland and 
Chicago. Mr. and Mrs. Sparks have had two children. Inez B., who 
was born in Winchester, Ohio, was married November 20, 1873, to 
J. Ferd Knapp, a hardware merchant of Bement, and has had three 
children, Duane, Charlie, and Fannie, who died recently. Mary Kate 
Sparks, who is a native of Hillsboro, Ohio, was married January 12, 
1875, to C. W. Piatt, of Monticello. 

JUDGE G-. L. SPEAR, Bement, was born in New York in 1823. He 
moved to Shelby county, Illinois, and taught school there three years 
before moving to Piatt county, February 22, 1860. He has lived in 
this county ever since, most of the time in Bement, where in 1860 he 
was appointed postmaster, and in 1863 elected police magistrate of 
the village. He was justice of the peace eighteen years, and has also 
been county judge. Pie now owns 80 acres of land, which he has im- 
proved himself. At present he is teaching, and is probably the oldest 
teacher in the county. In 1844, October 2, G. L. Spear and Laura C. 
Segar were married. Mrs. Spear died, leaving two children, Emory, 
who married Marion Reynolds, and Laura, who died at four years of 
age. Mr. Spear was again married October 10, 1853, to Clarissa Abbey, 
at Clifton Springs, New York. They have two children, Abbey, the 
wife of J. A. Hardenbrook, of Silver City, New Mexico, and Elmer E. 

MR. ISAAC; W. SCOTT, Bement, was born in Lexington, Kentucky, 
and moved from there to Piatt county in 1874, having previously 
passed through in 1836. In 1865 he began farming operations here, 
and between 1865 and 1868 bought over 4,800 acres of land in Piatt 
Bounty. He cultivated and improved some of this land and bought 
some of it improved. At present time his children own over 1,300 
acres here. His brother and three sisters at Lexington, Kentucky, 
own 1,920 acres in this county, which is a part of the amount he orig- 
inally purchased. This land is all improved and in good farming con- 
dition. Eight dwelling-houses and barns are on the land owned by the 
Scotts. The houses are better than tenants usually have. An elevator 
belonging to Mr. Scott burned in 1868, and was at that time the largest 
between Springfield and Danville. About $4,000 worth of grain was 
25 



391 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

destroyed. A nice residence in Bement, belonging to Mrs. Isaac Scott, 
burned in 1881. Mr. Scott passed through in 1836, stopping at Mr. 
Sadorus', then taking dinner at Mr. Piatt's, and went on to Spring- 
field, whene he entered 2,000 acres of land for his father, which proved 
to be a very profitable investment. Mr. Scott's uncle was lieutenant 
under Gen. Wayne. Mr. Isaac Scott was married in 1838, to Susan B. 
Mitchell, a native of Philadelphia, and they have had seven children, 
four of whom are living. M. Thompson married Kate Williams, and 
has five children living, Isaac W., Margaret, Matthew T., John W. 
and Henry S. ; Mary M. makes her home here ; Joseph M., after living 
here seven years and improving a farm, moved to Kentucky in 1875. 
He married Mary Campbell and has three children. Miss Sue B. lives 
at home, and she and her sister Mary are very active members in the 
Presbyterian church here. They graduated at Lexington and attended 
Sayre Female Institution. Mr. Mat. Scott, Isaac's brother, formerly 
owned considerable land in Piatt county, some of which he improved, 
and entered in this and adjoining counties some 20,000 acres. He is 
now in business in the coal mines in Bloomington. Mr. Joseph Scott, 
another brother of Isaac's, owned some 1,280 acres of land in this 
county; lived here seven years, dying in 1865. 

MR. F. H. SMITH, nurseryman, Bement, is a native of Winchester, 
Cheshire county, New Hampshire; moved fromthere to Winchester, Scott 
county, Illinois, in 1856, and from there to Bement in 1859. He began 
farming near town, but his principal business has been his present oc- 
cupation, though from 1861 to 1861: was keeping hotel. He owns his 
residence and two lots. Mr. Smith was married in November 1856, 
in AVilliamstown, Vermont, to Sarah A. Bruce. They had one daugh- 
ter, Etta May. Mr. Smith has held the office of assessor of Bement 
^township, and is a member of the Knights of Honor. His father was 
.11 the war of 1812. 

MR. MARO SPRAGCE, furniture dealer, Bement, is a native of Co- 
shocton county, Ohio, and moved from there to Illinois in -1871, locat- 
ing in Bement. For a number of years he was in the grocery business 
with his brother, and has only been in the furniture business a year. 
He owns a house and three acres and business house and lot. Mr. 
Sprague was married in Ohio in 1860, to Elizabeth McKee, who died, 
leaving three daughters, Nellie, Lucy (a graduate of the Bement high 
school and a teacher in the county) and Lizzie. He was again married 
in 1875, to S. Maggie Beall, of Ohio. They both belong to the society 
of " Chosen Friends." Mr. Sprague's father was born in 1796, in New 



BIOGKAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



395 



Hampshire, and made his home in Piatt county for several years. He 
died January 6, 1877. 

MR. GEORGE STADLER, grocer, Bement, of the firm Stadler 
Brothers, is of German descent and a native of Cincinnati, Ohio. He 
moved to Indiana about 1856, and to Vermilion county, Illinois, 1867, 
coming to Bement in 1874. He went into the grocery business in 
1877, and carries the heaviest stock of groceries in the county, doing a 
strictly cash business, and lias been successful right along. His pres- 
ent grocery building consisting of two rooms, basement and public 
hall, was completed in 1880. Mr. George Stadler is at present super- 
visor of Bement township, and was a member of the town board for 
four years, and also township clerk for several years. He is a member 




STADLKR BROTHERS HARDWARE STORE. 



of the Masonic lodge, No. 365, and chapter 65, and Beaumanoir, 
No. 9, Decatur commandery. Mr. Stadler was married in August 1877, 
to Ada L. Newton, and has one son, Warren. Mr. Stadler's father 
was a regular soldier in Germany for nine years, and was in the late 
war here. He came to America in 1848 with Siegel and Schurtz, and 
organized and was captain of the 12th Ind. bat. He resigned when 
lieut.-col. on account of sickness. 

MR. AMOS STOUT, farmer, Bement, was born in Pickaway county. 
Ohio, and moved from there to Piatt county about 1855. He first set- 
tled at Monticello, remained there a time, then went on to a farm. 



396 HISTORY OF P1ATT COUNTY. 

In 1866 he was married to Catherine Allman, and has had four 
children, Edmund S., John W., James C. and Mary Catharine. Mr. 
Stout went to the army from Piatt county in 1862, in Co. E of the 
107th reg. He stayed three years and was in the battles of Franklin, 
Nashville, Kenesaw Mountain, Peach-tree Creek, Resaca and the 
Georgia campaign. He was wounded by a bullet in the head at 
Kenesaw Mountain, and has not received a pension. He owns a farm 
of 120 acres, upon which has put most of improvements ; built barn, 
planted sixty fruit trees, one mile and a half of hedge, and has it well 
tiled and all under cultivation. 

DR. EDWARD SWANEY, is a retired physician who came to Bement 
in May 1867. He owns quite a good deal 6f property in the place, 
and was married May 10, 1860, to Miss Emily Camp. He is a native 
of Maryland, and obtained his medical education in Hanover, Ohio. 
He has not practiced medicine since coming to Bement. He owns a 
good deal of real estate in the town, and is one of its most worthy 
citizens. 

MR. G. W. SHOW, baker, Bement, is a native of Pennsylvania, and 
moved from there to La Salle county, Illinois, about 1862 ; thence to 
Macon county, and then to Piatt county in 1877, when he immediately 
opened a bakery and confectionery store at Bement, which is the only 
bakery in town. He is doing a thriving business and gives good 
satisfaction. He owns a portion of his business house. Mr. Show was 
married in 1872, to Mattie Mavity, a native of Illinois. They have one 
daughter, Gertie. 

MR. MARTIN SUNDERLAND, farmer, Bement, was born in Allen 
county, Ohio, from which state he moved to Illinois, and in 1866 to 
Piatt county. He owns 100 acres of land, upon which he has put all 
the improvements. He was married about 1853, to Millie J. Greer, 
and has had six children : Ebon, who married Susie Plikard, and has 
one child ; William, George, Eliza Ann, Martha D. and Mary E. 

MR. CHARLES F. TENNEY, hardware merchant, Bement, is a native 
of New Hampshire, his parents' native state. He is the youngest of a 
family of eight children. His brother Ralph, now in Chicago, was 
formerly a resident of Piatt county. Mr. Tenney moved from New 
Hampshire to Henry county, Illinois, when he was twenty-one years 
old. He was a school teacher previous to coming west. He moved 
to Decatur in 1857 or 1858, and then 1859 he settled in Bement. 
Until 1866 he was in the dry goods business. In 1867 or 1868 he went 
into partnership with Mr. William Camp in the hardware business. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 397 

He was married in 1864, to Clara Keese, and lias had the following 
named children: Mabel, Frances, Olive E., Charles, Frederick and 
Carrie B. Mr. Tenney has belonged to the Masonic order since 1862, 
and is one of the Knights Templar of the Decatur commandery. He 
has held several town offices, and is now a member of the state legisla- 
ture. Mr. Tenney owns one of the finest residences in Bement. The 
arrangement of the house and the plan of the surroundings show a cul- 
tivated taste in the owners. 

ME. ROYAL THOMAS, hotelkeeper, Bement, is a native of Massachu- 
setts. From there he moved to Pennsylvania, where he lived five 
years, and then came to Bement in 1869, having previously been there 
in 1867. It was owing to Mr. Wing's influence he located here. His 
grandfathers on both sides were in the revolutionary war. He. came 
of a long-lived family. His great-uncle lived to be one hundred and 
twelve years old, and his great-grandmother walked half a mile to 
church after one hundred years old and died at one hundred and six. 
Of his great-grandmother's family of twelve children, the eldest lived 
to be one hundred and twelve and the youngest one hundred and six. 
His grandfather died at ninety-six and his father at eighty-six. Mr. 
Royal Thomas has seen many changes in the country since he first 
came. The land is now well drained and the trees increased in num- 
ber. The first summer he was here he saw about five thousand cattle 
herding where now are fruitful farms. Mr. Thomas, in 1871, began 
keeping the hotel, which is the largest in the place, and has had it 
since. Mr. Wharton sold the building to Mr. Sparks, who sold to 
Mr. Thomas. Besides the hotel and three lots he owns fifteen other 
lots in Bement. He was police magistrate for three years, justice of 
the peace for two years and member of the school board for four years. 
Mr. Thomas was married in 1848, to Adeline M. Mayhew, and has 
three children living : Frank J. , who is the wife of Mr. Frank Jones 
and has two children, Royal and Charles ; Mary and Lucius W. 
are the names of the other children. 

MR. W. C. TRABUE, farmer and in real estate business, Bement, is 
a native of Kentucky, who moved from there to Indiana, and to 
Bement in 1867. He improved a farm of 68 acres adjoining town on 
north side and owns three buildings, two of which are residences, and 
three lots in Bement. He was married in Indiana, to Ellen Ceders, a 
native of Kentucky, and they have had four children : Albert, a grad- 
uate of Cincinnati Medical College, is practicing in Bement ; William 
Bennett, at home ; Yiola, married in 1881 to Mr. William Tenney, 



398 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

has one daughter ; and Dora. Mr. Trabue is a member of the masonic 
lodge of Bement. 

MR. G. W. THOMPSON, formerly a minister, Bement, is a native of 
Pennsylvania, and moved to Bureau county, Illinois, in 1866. He 
then went to DeWitt county and came from there to Bement in 1878. 
He received his ministerial education in Pennsylvania and was a min- 
ister in the Christian church for eighteen years. At present he has no 
charge, but frequently fills pulpits. He owns his residence and three 
lots. Mr. Thompson was married in 1855, to Alice A. Ramsey, a 
native of Pennsylvania, and they have had nine children, five of whom 
are living, Mollie R., Anna M., J. Formey, George M. and Carl R. 
Mr. Thompson went to the war from Pennsylvania in Co. G, 143d 
Penn. Vols., remaining two years. The principal battle was that of the 
Wilderness, beginning on the Rapidan and ending with Spottsylvania 
Court House. He was wounded at the latter place. 

DR. N. N. VANCE, Bement, is a native of Kentucky, moved to 
Indianapolis, Indiana, about 1846, and then to Bement in October, 
1868, and began practicing medicine at once. When he first came 
here he practiced in Champaign, Douglas, Moultrie and Piatt counties ; 
now is in a smaller territory but has larger practice. One year lie was 
located in Cerro Gordo. Mr. Vance gained his medical education at 
medical college of Ohio, in Cincinnati, graduating from there in 1868. 
He was for a time in partnership with Dr. Leal, who died in Califor- 
nia. Mr. Vance is a member of the lodge and chapter and master of 
the blue lodge of Bement. He is surgeon of the Wabash Railroad 
Company. He went to the army in Co. A, of the "Bloody" 132d reg. 
Ind., and has, in common with others, a certificate of thanks signed 
by Abraham Lincoln. Was out three months, enlisting June, 1864. 
Mr. Vance was married December 24, 1872, to Fannie Routh, and has 
four children, Noble, Willie, Harvey and James St. Glair. 

MR. D. VAUGHAN, lumber merchant, Bement, is of English and Ger- 
man descent and a native of New Jersey, from which state he moved 
to Illinois in 1863. After locating in Bement for three months he 
went to Decatur, where he remained for about three years. He then 
returned to Bement about 1867, where he was in a bank for three 
years. In 1870 he and Mr. J. C. Evans went into partnership in the 
lumber business. Mr. Vaughn owns his residence and four lots in 
Bement. He has held several offices since living at this place. He 
was married in 1867, to Emma J. Reynolds, a native of New York. 
The}' have one daughter, Lily,F. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 399 

9 

MR. L. B. WING, though never a resident proper of Piatt county, 
has been identified with the history and interest of Bement township 
since its settlement. He was born in 1822, at Wilmington, Vermont, 
was educated at Williston Seminary, Massachusetts. For five years lie 
was clerk of a steamboat on Lake Erie, an 4 finally settled in Newark, 
Ohio, where he still lives. Late in the year of 1853 Mr. Joseph Bod- 
man and Mr. Wing came to Monticello, making their home with Mr. 
Barney Winchester ; surveyed and located their lands they now own in 
Bement township. In 1854 Hunt and Cartel 1 , engineers and financial 
agents of the Wabash railroad, bought thirty-three acres in Sec. 19, 
T. 17, R. 6, of Mr. Wing for $1, and upon this tract was located the 
railroad grounds and the principal business houses of this town. In 
1858 Mr. William Rea and Mr. Wing gave to the village of Bement 
the square upon which the public school buildings weie erected. Mr. 
Wing has for many years maintained on his farm near Bement a valu- 
able herd of Short-horn cattle, and has introduced improved breeds of 
other domestic animals. In general, Mr. Wing has manifested a will- 
ingness to assist in whatever tends to the improvement of the town and 
neighborhood. 

MR. C. T. Webster, grocer, Bement, is a native of New York. He 
located in Bement in 1866. and opened a grocery store, which business 
he has remained in since. In 1880 his brother-in-law, Mr. Klapp, went 
into business with him. Mr. Webster owns two residences and two 
and one-half lots in Bement. He was united in marriage to Miss 
Eugenia S. Klapp, and has three children, Ida E., Eugene K. and 
Charles M. In 18^ he went to the army from Michigan in Co. E of 
the 20th Mich. Inf., and remained until 1865. In all, he was in twenty- 
three engagements, the principal of which are South Mountain, 
Antietam and the Wilderness. Near Petersburg he was buried alive 
by the explosion of a sixty-four pound mortar shell, during an engage- 
ment. He was under the ground nearly half an hour before the boys 
could release him. He escaped with but an injury to his back, while 
those who stood at his side at the time of the explosion were severely 
injured. He was taken prisoner while near the same fort, but succeeded 
in escaping ere long. Mr. Webster's father and mother moved from 
New York to Missouri, where his mother died and his father married 
again. His father was killed by being thrown from a horse. His 
mother is now the wife of Mr. Simon Shonkwiler. Mr. Webster first 
came to Illinois about 1848, but after remaining a few years, went to 
New York, where his uncle gave him his education. 



400 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 



MR. EDWARD WEINSTEIN, Bement, is a native of ]S"ew York, but 
was raised in Kentucky, and came to Illinois about 1857. The second 
year of the war he went south, engaged in cotton raising, and, return- 
ing to Illinois about 1868, located in Bement. For two years he was 
in a clothing store in Bement, then, in 1870, began traveling for a 
clothing house in Cincinnati. He owns his residence and two lots. 
Mr. Weinstein belongs to several societies, the Odd-Fellows, Masonic 
Lodge and Knights of Honor. He was instrumental in organizing the 
Odd-Fellows' encampment, which was instituted about 1869. Mr. 
Weinstein was married in 1864, to Mary E. Fulghum, of Richmond, 
Wayne county, Indiana, and has three children, Lena M., Romeo A. 
and Walter P. Mrs. Fulghum lives with her daughter. 

MR. PATRICK WELCH, farmer, Bement, carne from Ireland to Amer- 
ca in 1839, and in 1873 located in Piatt county. He was married in 
1847, to Eliza McElroy, and has five sons, Peter, who married Miss 
Morgan ; John, who married Miss Slaven ; Nicholas, Frank and Bar- 
nard. 

MRS. CAROLINE YOST, Bement, is a native of Belmont county, Ohio. 
She moved from Monroe county, where she married Mr. Aaron Yost, 
to Bement, April 29, 1 856. Mrs. Yost's father, Jacob L. Colvig, was 
born and educated in Paris, France. We saw an ear-ring he wore 
while a student in Paris. After gaining his education he learned a trade 
and after coming to America worked as a cabinet maker. He made 
furniture for the house of George Washington's brother. Mrs. Yost's 
father and mother moved to Ohio, where they lived until their death, 
which occurred within seven days of each other. Mrs. Yost's sister, 
Josephine Grabonski, after living in this county for a time, died, and 
is buried in the Bement cemetery. Another sister, Mrs. Peter Shaffer, 
moved to Reno county, Kansas, in 1872. Mr. Aaron Yost died in 
1871, leaving four children. Robert, their eldest son, when ten years 
old, was killed by a wagon running over him. Ezra Yost is a carpen- 
ter in Bement, and owns the house and two lots where Mrs. Yost now 
lives. Alice is the wife of F. M. Bell, has one son, Herbert, and lives 
on the farm near Bement, where Mr. and Mrs. Yost lived a number of 
years. Mary and John Yost are living with their mother. Mrs. Yost's 
nephew, Clark Colvig, made his home with her, and was one of the first 
young men to come to Bement. He went to the army in the 21st 111. 
Inf., and was captured at Chickamauga, and was taken to Richmond 
and to Danville. From the latter place he, with others, escaped by 
tunneling under the ground 100 feet. He traveled until his feet were 



UNITY TOWNSHIP. 401 

sore and bleeding. Through a negro's influence he found shelter in a 
cave, where he remained until he was able to continue his journey and 
rejoin his regiment. Mr. Colvig is now mining in Globe City, Ari- 
zona. 



CHAPTER XV. 

UNITY TOWNSHIP. 

township is one of the earliest settled townships of the county. 
-L In size it is equal to Bement and Monticello townships. It lies 
directly south of the former, and the surface of the land is very similar 
to the same. Douglas county borders on the east, Moultrie county on 
the south, while Cerro Gordo township forms the western boundary 
line. 

The surface of the land is level, and for a number of years a great 
portion of it was covered with swamps, but since the settlements began 
to be scattered throughout the township sufficient ditching has been 
done to make the greater portion of the township tillable. 

The main slope of the ground, imperceptible though it may be, is 
toward the east and southeast, and the greater portion of the land is 
drained into the lake fork of the Okaw. This stream strikes this town- 
ship about three miles west of the northeast corner of the township, 
flows southeast and Jeaves the township almost exactly at its southeast 
corner. This stream has a shallow bed, flows very slowly, and well 
deserves its name of Lake Fork. Quite a good belt of timber follows 
the course of this stream, which breaks the monotony of the prairie 
land. 

Relics ofla former race are found in this township. On the banks 
of Lake Fork and on Mr. Livengood's place there are some mounds at 
least three feet in height and two rods in circumference. Trees eight 
inches in diameter grow on these mounds, human bones have been 
found in them, and stone axes and arrow-points have been found in 
their vicinity. 

Two railroads cross Unity township. What was originally known 
as the Chicago & Paducah road strikes the northern boundary line 
about two miles from the northwestern corner of the township, runs 
south nearly five miles, and then bends a little to the southwest, 



HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

leaving the township about one mile east of the southwest corner of 
the township. This road has two stations, Voorhies and Hammond, 
which is at the intersection of this road witli the Indianapolis, Decatur 
& Springfield railroad. The Indianapolis, Dacatur & Springfield road, 
which has lately become a part of the Indianapolis, Bloomington & 
Wabash system of roads, crosses the southern part of the township 
from east to west, and just half a mile from the southern township line. 
There are three stations on this road, Hammond, Pierson and Atwood, 
the latter lying only partly within the limits of Piatt county. 

Earhj settlements. The Monroes, Shonkwilers, Harshbargers, 
Moores, and Mr. James Utterback, were the first settlers in Unity 
township. These people settled on the Lake Fork during the years 
1836 and 183T, and part of them still live there. Other old settlers 
were the Quicks, Grains and Gregorys. Most of these people, or 
their descendants, have successfully built up homes in this township, 
and in every way are well-to-do people. From our transient contact 
with the people in this section of the township we think that they 
probably retain more of the good old ways of pioneer life than any 
other people in the county. We found here several of the old substan- 
tial two-story hewn log-houses, with their great fireplaces. We also 
found the second brick house of the county. We observed a great deal 
of the good old-time neighborly feeling, and we fpund characteristic 
pioneer hospitality. There was not a great deal of ceremony about this 
hospitality, but with it all you could not fail to see that you were 
welcome in every sense of the word. We also found here one of the 
oldest church organizations of the county. 

Unity township has had a "neighborhood detective society," which 
has been in existence over twenty years. Some twenty or thirty of the 
best citizens comprise the organization, and much good has resulted in 
the way of keeping order in the neighborhood. 

Harshbarger church. This church, of the Christian denomination, 
was organized in 1842, and for a time the society met at houses and 
schoolhouses, until 1858, when the present church building, the 
second in the county, was erected on land donated by Mr. Harsh- 
barger. The first man who preached on Lake Fork was Nicholas 
Prior, and the first sermon was preached in 1837, to about ten persons, 
comprising the entire neighborhood of men, women and children. 
John Collins was the next preacher, Thomas Holden the next, and then 
Thomas Welch came. After that Father Wilkins dedicated the church 
building just referred to. The Christian conference has been held six 



UNITY TOWNSHIP. '403 

times in Unity township, four of which times it was held in the Harsh- 
barger church. 

first birth, death, marriage, etc. Mr. Daniel Harshbarger was the 
first person to make a profession of religion and the first person who 
was baptised on Lake Fork. 

Mrs. Gamaliel Gregory was the first person born in Unity town- 
ship. 

Harrison and Jessie Monroe were the first who died within the 
limits of Unity township. They were buried on the bank of Lake 
Fork. 

Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Harshbarger's twins were probably the first 
who were buried in the Harshbarger cemetery. This cemetery, which 
contains two or three acres of ground, was deeded to the public by 
Mr. Daniel Harshbarger. 

Mr. Joseph Taylor and Sarah Monroe (now Mrs. Thomas Goodson) 
were married in 1838, on the site of Richard Monroe's present home, 
and were the first couple married in the township. 

Mr. Daniel Harshbarger was the first justice of the peace of Unity 
township, and Jonathan "Wildman the first school-teacher. 

Coffins for the dead were made by the neighbors of the deceased. 
Mr. Joseph Moore has an old drawing knife which he used many a 
time to make coffin s. 

Mr. Moore says that it was over twelve years after the first settle- 
ments were made in the township before there were any bridges over 
the Lake Fork or before there was a blacksmithshop in the neighbor- 
hood. Before blacksmithing was done it was customary to put buckskin 
boots on the horses for them to slide over the ice with. 

Mackville. There used to be a beaver dam near where Mackville 
now is. There was also another land-mark, an eagle's nest; and it was 
not uncommon to hear the question, "How far are you from the eagle's 
nest?" *. 

Mackville was started by a Mr. MeNutt (according to "Buckskin 
Joe " Moore), who rented a house that stood on Mr. Moore's present 
field, and used it for two years as a store. He then bought three acres 
of land of Nathaniel Shonkwiler where Mackville now is, and put up 
a storehouse now owned by Mr. Jarnes Sampson. We suppose that 
the village was probably first called Mack's village, which was soon 
shortened to Mackville. According to Mr. J. Sampson, Mr. McNutt 
kept the first store in the present Mackville, in a house which stood on 
the west side of Ltke Fork, and which is still standing. The first 



404 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

school in the district was taught in a log house on the place now owned 
by the widow Shonkwiler, and Mr. James Lewis taught the first school 
in the present school-house of Mackville in 1858. The first church was 
held in the school-house in 1858. 

The church building was dedicated in 1872. Mr. Riley and Col. 
Buckner were probably the first preachers in Mackville. 

Dr. Mitchell was the first regular physician of Mackville, and he 
was followed by Dr. Jas. Lewis, Dr. Lucas and Dr. Marshall. 

At the time of our visit to Mackville there were over twenty-five 
houses, seven or eight business houses, a Methodist church building 
and a school-house. We understand, however, that a number of these 
buildings have been moved to Atwood, the nearest railway station. 

Atwood. Mr. Joseph Moore reports that Mr. Christopher Moss- 
barger was the first resident where Atwood now is. He owned a horse 
mill at this place, and did good work in the way of grinding grain for 
the neighborhood. He and Mr. Geo. Heath once laid off a town, and 
upon Mr. Moor's laughing and asking why he did so, Mr. Mossbarger 
solemnly answered, "Why, people come here. Railroads come here." 
The neighbors, however, thought such was nonsense. After a town was 
thus laid off, it did go back for a number of years, and trees grew up 
again. Mr. Andrew Richey bought out the heirs of Mr. Mossbarger, 
and still lives there. 

Atwood was laid out in 1873 on land then owned by Geo. Nolind 
and Harvey Otter. In 1881 an addition was made to the town and 
called Randal's addition. At the time of the laying out of the town, 
however, this land was owned by Mr. Levi Budd. 

It was related to us that the name was given to the town by lawyer 
McCoutry, and that originally in speaking of the town it was customary 
to say "at the wood." Hence the name. 

Atwood is only partly within the limits of Piatt county, a portion 
of it lying in Douglas county. The first house in the place was a store 
building, erected in August 1873, by Rich. Helton and David Barrett. 
They each moved a dwelling-house over from Mackville, and these 
became the first residences of the town. The first school was sustained 
by subscription. As Atwood is in the Mackville district it has no 
school-building of its own. 

L. C. Taylor was the first postmaster of Atwood ; Dr. Bennerfield, 
now Ivesdale, the first physician ; Jno. Lucas put up the first drug store, 
and Joseph Moore kept the first hotel. 

Freddie A. Richey was the name of the first child born in Atwood, 

f 



UNITY TOWNSHIP. 405 

and Clarence B. Snodgrass, who died December 14, 1873, the name 
of the first person who died there. 

The members of the Christian church erected a church building, 
which was dedicated August 15, 1880, by Rev. J. Phillips, of Grays- 
ville, Indiana, and Rev. "W. H. Orr, of Philo, Illinois. 

Atwood of to-day is growing rapidly. There are from fifteen to 
twenty business firms in the place, and new buildings are continually 
being erected. Over thirty new buildings were put up last year. The 
town contains nearly 500 inhabitants, which is twice what it contained 
five years ago. 

Atwood is in the midst of a good territory, has good people in it, 
and we predict that it will continue to make rapid advancement. 

, Royal Templars of Temperance. The Atwood Council of Royal 
Templars of Temperance was instituted July 1, 1879, by Mr. Martin 
J. Watson, grand lecturer, in Drew's Hall, on the Piatt county side of 
the county line. The following are the names of the charter members : 
J. S. Marshall, Albert C. Lucas, Theodore J. Richey, Joseph W. Merritt, 
W. R. Marshall, J. C. Mathes, W. P. Myers, W. H. Mosbarger, 
Adam Starr, Mrs. R. J. Mathes, Mrs. Hannah M. Mosbarger, G. W. 
Snodgrass. The first officers were A. C. Lucas, select councilor ; 
I. J. Richey, vice-councilor ; J. W. Merritt, past councilor ; J. C. 
Mathes, chaplain ; W. R. Marshall, secretary ; J. S. Marshall, treas- 
urer ; W. P. Myers, herald ; A. Starr, sentinel ; G. W. Snodgrass, 
guard ; W. H. Mossbarger, financial secretary. 

Mutual Aid Association. The Indiana Mutual Aid Association 
of Terre Haute, Indiana, has several agents in Piatt county. It is 
formed on the same plan as the Royal Legal Friendly Society of 
England, and is similar to the Masonic, Odd-Fellows and other mutual 
associations. 

The object of the association is to furnish protection to all. All 
beneficiaries must be of kin to the members. There are no annual 
dues and no premiums. Assessments are made upon the loss of 
members, according to the class to which each member belongs. The 
membership in this county amounts to quite a number, and Mr. T. A. 
Wilson and Mr. Ritchie, of Atwood, and W. J. Porter, of Monticello, 
are agents. 

Hammond. It has not been a great many years since there was 
scarcely a trace of inhabitants in the vicinity of Hammond. A few 
people ventured to locate in prairie round about, and they had a 
trial to get a start in such place. The people who lived near the 



406 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

timber wanted the prairie land for grazing purpose, and they took no 
pains to keep their stock at home. One of the early settlers told us 
that for the first few years after he located on the prairie, he used to 
get up night after night to ride around his place to see if any stray 
stock was on it. However, such trials were finally overcome and 
comfortable homesteads are dotted all over the prairie land. 

Hammond is located at the crossing of the railroads originally 
known as the Indianapolis, Decatur & Springfield, and the Chicago & 
Paducah. The town was laid out in July, 1873, by C. D. Moore, 
assisted by C. H. Love. The place was first called Shumway, but the 
name was soon changed to Unity, and the people still being dissatis- 
fied, the owners of the town site, Warren and Powers, of Decatur, 
selected the name of Hammond, in honor of the president of the 
Indianapolis, Decatur & Springfield railroad. 

The very first building put up in what is now Hammond was a 
grain office erected by Mr. Sanford, of Bement. Olonzo Newton put 
up and kept the first store building in the town. He also erected the 
first residence, which is now a part of the hotel kept by Mr. Jno. Ten- 
brooke, and his wife cooked the first meal of victuals eaten in the town. 
Mr. J. R. Wortham opened a mercantile house in 1873, and he is still 
in business in the town. J. M. Baldwin opened the second general 
merchandise store. M. D. Cook, who was the first postmaster, had the 
first drug store. W. R. Evans, at present a grain merchant, had the 
first hardware store. George Ragland was the first blacksmith and 
Dr. Abram the first physician of the place. 

Hammond of to-day contains from fifteen to twenty business firms, 
over 200 inhabitants, and bids fair to become quite a place. In 1876 
the Chicago & Pacific railroad built an elevator with the capacity for 
storing 3,000 bushels of grain. In 1881 Brown & Boyd, of Indian- 
apolis, built a large grain elevator in the town, with a capacity for 
35,000 bushels of grain. John S. Metcalf was the superintendent and 
J. R. McCormick the foreman of this building. The town is fast becom- 
ing quite a grain center. There have been as high as 200,000 bushels 
of grain cribbed there at one time. 

Hammond had the first tow-mill that we have heard of in the 
county. It was begun by G. W. Folkerth, but is now owned by Davis 
& Finney. of Tuscola, and the Kiser Brothers, of Hammond. Monti- 
cello has followed the example set by Hammond, and also has a tow-mill. 

Hammond has a very neat and attractive school building, erected 
in 1882, of which the people are justly proud. 



UNITY TOWNSHIP. 407 

Two church organizations are in existence at the place. The Meth- 
odists, who organized in 1876, recently dedicated a new church build- 
ing. Dr. W. II. H. Adams dedicated this church in 1882. There are 
over thirty members in this denomination. The Christian church was 
organized by Elder Culley, of Decatur, in 1877, and though the mem- 
bership is not large, it is hoped that ere a great while they may be 
enabled to erect a house of worship. 

Good Templars. While many of the citizens of Hammond belong 
to lodges in other towns, this is the only local organization in the place. 
This lodge was organized in December, 1880, by Col. J. D. Long, of 
Kentucky, and contains over thirty active members. We are glad to 
find these temperance organizations in various parts of the county. 
They show that the people are striving for better things; that they are 
endeavoring to reach a higher plane of existence. 

Pierson. The railroad switch at this place, which is on the Indi- 
anapolis, Decatur & Springfield railroad, was laid about 1876, and it 
was named Pierson probably for the man who owned land in that 
vicinity. The postoffice was started in 1877, under the name of Dry 
Ridge, but the name was soon changed to Pierson. Francis F. Flack 
was the first postmaster, and Mr. Reuben Willey the second. 

Nothing was done in 1876 save the laying of the switch and the 
putting up of one grain office, but in 1877 Mr. Willey put up a grocery 
store. The town itself was not laid off until May 1881, when C. D. 
Moore surveyed it on land owned by Mr. W. C. Pierson. The first 
dwelling-house erected in the town as laid off at that date is one built 
the same year and in which Chas. W. Weaver resides. Mr. Willey 's 
house, built in 1875, was the first residence erected near the switch. 
There are now several business houses at the station. 

Baptist church. This church organization has had an existence 
of about thirteen years, and, as far as we could learn, is the only Bap- 
tist church in Piatt county. The first minister who preached after the 
. organization was Rev. Geo. Christ. Nathan Griffen was the minister 
in 1SS1. In 1881 a church building was erected in the town of Pier- 
son, which cost $1,000. This building presents a neat appearance, 
and was the first house erected in the town as laid off. The member- 
ship is about seventy-five. 



\ 

CHAPTER XVI. 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

MR. J. H. BAKER, a farmer of Unity township, began his earthly 
existence August 29, 1833, in Coles county, Illinois. His father 
died about 1830, and his mother married Mr. Tyre Hayes, and about 
1849 moved to Piatt county. Mr. Baker's sister Martha married Mr. 
James Drew, a native of Hamilton county, and who settled on land he 
now owns just over Piatt county's southern line, in 1839. Mr. Drew has 
owned some 120 acres in Piatt county. He remembers when there 
was scarce a house between his place and Monticello. He has furnished 
some interesting items relating to the settling of the southeastern part 
of Unity township. Mr. Baker's mother had five children by her last 
marriage, only one of whom,. Eliza Hays, wife of Rich. Hultz, is liv- 
ing. Three of her sons were triplets, all of whom were in the late 
war. John F. died of small-pox in Missouri. The others returned 
from the army. Mark died here, and Andrew went to California and 
died there. Mrs. Hays died about 1859. Mr. J. H. Baker married 
Sarah Harshbarger, April 12, 1860. Six children have blessed their 
union, five of whom are living. Florence and husband, Jno. McKin- 
ney, live in Douglas county ; Daniel Leslie, John Wesley, Barbara 
Ellen and Cordelia are all at home. Mr. Baker moved onto his 
present place about 1855. He owns eighty acres, upon which he 
has put most of the improvements. There was but a log cabin on it 
when he was married. Now (1881) he is building a fine ten-room 
frame residence; it has an east front, and will soon be one of the 
most beautiful residences in all the country about. Mr. Baker has 
been road commissioner, and formerly belonged to the Masonic lodge. 

MB. ISAAC BAKER, a native of Coles county, born 1831, came to 
Piatt county in 1849. He first lived on Mr. Simon Shonkwiler's place, 
and next where Mr. Joe. Baker now lives. He married Miss Huldah 
Quick and moved onto the farm where he now lives. He owns 248 
acres, upon which he has planted 160 orchard trees. Mrs. Baker died 
in 1875, having had six children, five of whom are living, John 
Franklin, Alice Matilda, Martha, Benjamin L. and Naomi. Mr. Baker 
has been assessor, collector, road commissioner and school director. 

MR. SAMUEL BRYSON, a farmer, is of Irish arid German lineage, and 



lARY 

THE 
RSilY OF ILLINOIS 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. -ill 

was born in 1811, in Pennsylvania. In 1833 he moved to Ohio, and 
in 1855 emigrated from there to Piatt county and settled on his present 
home place in 1857. He owns 125 acres in this county. He was 
married in 1838, to Anna Nicewander, and seven children have blessed 
their union, six of whom are living. Francis E. married B. F. 
Schooley, and they with their four children, Samuel, Anna, Otis and 
Earnest, live on a farm in Unity township. John Bryson (see his 
name) lives in Hammond. Mary, the wife of John Quick, has three 
children, Nora, Carrie and Ivy. Eva is the wife of J. R. Brown, a 
farmer; two children, Millard M. and an infant, have come to cheer 
them in their life's journey. Anna married James Quick, who is a 
farmer in Bement township ; they have one little girl, Maud. Lou. 
the youngest of Mr. Bryson's family, is at home. . Mr. and Mrs. 
Bryson, with noteworthy pride, make the statement that " all our girls 
were school teachers." Eva attended school at Decatur, while Anna 
was a student at the State Normal. 

MR. J. A. BRYSON, dealer in farming implements at Hammond, 
claims Licking county, Ohio, as his birthplace. He came to Unity 
township in 1855 and has remained in it till the present time. He 
was married in 1868, to Melissa Wildman, and one child, Delia May, 
has blessed their union. Mr. Bryson went to the army in Co. H of 
the 107th 111., and Knoxville, Franklin, and those of the Atlanta 
campaign, were the principal battles in which he was engaged. He 
was taken prisoner at Goldsboro, Kentucky, but was paroled the same 
evening. He relates that Dennis O'Leary, who went from Monticello, 
was the first man killed in his regiment. O'Leary was shot in a 
regular battle at Loudon, Tennessee, by one of Longstreet's men, who 
were dressed in Union uniform. The poor fellow died thinking that 
he had been shot by a Union soldier, but the mistake was afterward 
ascertained; a convincing of which was the mark of a bullet and 
three buck-shot through a tin cup in his haversack. 

MR. JOHX BARRITT, hotel keeper in Atwood, is of German and 
Irish descent and is a native of Kentucky. He moved from there to 
Coles county, Illinois, and then to Piatt county, in 1856. He moved 
to Atwood and opened a hotel there in 1876. He was married in 1825, 
to Elizabeth Reese, of Kentucky, who is still living. They have had 
eight children, five of whom are living. Sarah J. married Nathaniel 
Shonkwiler, and lives in Atwood. David married Lydia Ann Shelby, 
and lives in the hotel ; they had one child, Tadie E., who is the 



412 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

wife of Tho. D. Smith and lives in Atwood. Margaret married Jas. 
Browning and lives in Moultrie county. Peter married Belle Mullen 
and lives in Moultrie county. Isaac married Mary Shonkwiler and 
has four children, Emma, Nathaniel, John and Elizabeth. 

MR. THOMAS BLACKWELL, farmer, native of Kentucky, his parents' 
native state, was married in 1853, to Margaret Dills, a native of Ken- 
tucky. They moved from Kentucky to Clay county, Illinois, and from 
there to Fayette county, and in 1872 settled in Piatt county. He 
bought his present home in 1875 and now owns about 160 acres. 
He has been successful as a farmer and his neighbors testify to his 
worth and honor as a gentleman. Mr. Joel Blackwell married Clara 
Metzger, and they with their two children live in Edgar county. 
Martha E. married Harry Metzger, a farmer in Bement township, and 
has one child, Jno. Thomas. Mary, the wife of William Anderson, 
lives near Hammond. The names of the other children are Minerva T., 
Benjamin, Nancy Ann, Jno. William and Alta Florence. Mr. Black- 
well went to the army from Kentucky, and was in the state service. 
They had to come to Illinois to organize to keep from being pressed 
into the rebel service. He served about two years. 

MR. P. J. BUTLER, a farmer of Unity township, was born in Ire- 
land, and came to America about 1851. He was married about 1876, 
to Mary J. Ryan. ' They have had two children, one of which, William 
Francis, is living. Mr. Butler has put all the improvements on his 
place of 160 acres. He has planted out some two hundred and fifty 
trees, and built the house they live in. He went to the army in Co. E, 
85th Ohio reg. He was only in skirmishes. His principal work was 
the guarding of prisoners. 

MR. FRANKLIN BROWNING, farmer in Unity township, is of Scotch 
lineage and is a native of Kentucky. He moved from there to Coles 
county in 1856, and to Piatt county in 1857. He was married in 1852 
to Priscilla Barritt, who died leaving two children, Sarah Margaret, 
who married Abner Fisher, and lives in Atwood with their three chil- 
dren, James, Jessie and an infant ; and John Henry, who married 
Kate Wren and lives in Douglas county. Mr. Browning was married 
to Angeline Duvall, in 1863. They have had three children, two of 
whom, Alvah and Maria, are living. Mrs. Browning thought the 
prairie a desolate place to live when she first settled there. She was 
unreconciled to the place for eight years, but after she made a visit 
home about ten years ago she was content with her prairie home. 
Mr. Browning bought the present home about 1864, and now owns 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 413 

about forty acres. He has been school director and trustee, and is a 
member of the Masonic lodge at Mackville. 

MR. AZOR BUNYAN (deceased) was a native of England, and came 
to America, Ohio when fourteen years of age. He, moved from 
Ohio to Indiana, where his father died. He went feack to Ohio and 
married Catharine Carpenter, and lived there till 1864, when he moved 
to Piatt county. He bought the land where his family live upon his 
coming to the county, and lived there till their house burned in 1873, 
when he moved to Bement, where he died in 1874. Mrs. Bunyan 
with her children moved to the farm, and in 1875 built their present 
frame dwelling of five rooms. Mrs. Bunyan has had ten children, 
eight of whom are living. Lucinda, the wife of Henry Keller, lives in 
Kansas. Albert, a soldier in the army, married Caroline Scott and 
lives in Kansas. Harriet, married Wallace Davy, a carpenter of 
Michigan. Silvester is at home. George married Rebecca Clark, who 
died, leaving three children, Daisy C., Jesse B. and Cora. John 
married Nora Wallace, and is a farmer near Windsor. Emma, the 
wife of Jno. Brown, of Hammond, has three children, Simeon, Allie 
May and Albertus. Clara was the wife of Tho. Strickler, of Lovington ; 
she died, leaving one child, Mattie. William married Laura Reams, 
and lives in Unity township ; they have one child. Mr. Bunyan was 
in the late war as sanitary agent. 

MR. JNO. GRAIN, farmer, has lived on the farm where he now lives 
the greater share of his life. His parents are both dead ; his mother 
died in Illinois and his father in Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Jno. Grain 
have had five children, Thomas H., Otis, Charles, Yirgil and Walter. 
Mr. Grain went to the army in 1862, in Co. H of the 107th 111. reg., 
and remained until 1865. The principal battles in which he engaged 
were those at London, Knoxville and Atlanta. He was slightly 
wounded while in Georgia. 

MR. FRANK GRAIN, Gainesville, Texas, was united in marriage in 1874 
to Mary E. Layson, who died in 1877. He was next married to Lizzie 
Tutin, of Wisconsin, and in 1877 moved to Texas, where he deals in 
stock. He has one daughter. Mr. Grain's father improved a 3,700 
acre farm in Piatt county, spending the latter years of his life here. 
Upon coming to the county, however, he was not able to enter forty 
acres of land. 

MR. YOLNEY SNYDER, farmer and carpenter, Pierson, is a native of 
Ohio, and moved to Piatt county in 1854, coming into the southern 
part of the county in time to fight prairie fire many a time. He 



414 HISTOKY OF PIA'IT COUNTY. 

remembers of fighting fire all night once on the Grain farm. Mr. 
Snyder was united in marriage to Mrs. Cook nee Lydia Monroe, who 
died in 1877, leaving seven children, two of whom were Mr. Snyder's. 
William H. farms with his father, and Andrew J. is farming in 
Kansas. Mr. Snyder owns 160 acres of land, upon which he is 
putting improvements. 

MR. JAS. BOWLS (deceased) was a native of Pennsylvania, from 
which state he moved to Ohio and then to Illinois, settling in Piatt 
county in 1856. He had nine children, two of whom are living. 
Margaret became the wife of Wm. Thompson, who died leaving five 
children. Of these Rebecca married Mr. Frank True, and the names 
of the other children are John J., Geo. W., Wm. W. and Rachel. 
James A. Bowls married Lucy Brown, has four children, Chas., Jno., 
Jas. and a baby, and lives in Unity township. Jno, W. Bowls died 
in the army. One grandson, Marion W., lives with Mrs. Bowls in 
Bement. 

MR. J. R. CANTRALL, a farmer near Hammond, is a native of 
Dewitt county, and moved to Piatt county in 1870. His grandfather, 
Levi Cantrall, was an early settler of Dewitt county, having moved 
there about fifty years ago. Mr. J. R. Cantrall went to the army in 
Co. D of the 107th 111. reg., and was in a hospital, on account of sick- 
ness, a good deal of the time. His principal battles were those of 
Franklin and the siege of Nashville. He considers himself ten years 
older than he would have been had he not gone to the war. He tells 
of one man who was known to die in the army from homesickness. 
Mr. Cantrall married Captain Love's daughter,' Jennie, and they live 
on a place adjoining Mr. Love's. They have had three children, 
Alva L., Edna E. and Myrta M. 

MR. ALFRKD ("LARK, farmer, was born in 1817, in Kentucky. He 
is the last of a family of eleven children. His grandfather's posterity, 
up to the time of the war, numbered 3,500 persons. It would now 
reach near 10,000. His father was in the war of 1812. Fifty years 
ago Mr. Clark attended a Sunday school in Kentucky with one hun- 
dred children, and out of that number he is one of the five who are 
still living. He moved from Kentucky to Sangamon county, Illinois, 
about thirty years ago, and in 1870 moved to Piatt county. He has 
lived on his present home farm of eighty acres, which he has improved 
himself, for about eight years. He was married in Kentucky, to 
Mary E. Chevis, who died leaving two children, Sarah A., the wife of 
Benj. Fpham, county clerk at Jacksonville, and the parent of five 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 415 

children ; John II.. now in an abstract office at Charleston, and a 
soldier for five and one-half years in the late war, married Susan 
MclSTutt. Mr. Clark was married the second time, to Nancy A. Tout- 
man, who is the mother of nine children, all of whom are living. 
Chas. A. married Jennie Kinzer, and lives in Cerro Gordo township. 
They have one child, Lyman. Thomas married Francis Lindsay, 
farms in Cerro Gordo township, and has two children, Horace and 
Benjamin. Henry Clay and wife, nee Hannah Thompson, with three 
children, live in Missouri. Francis married Mary Hedges, and they, 
with their one child, live on Friends creek. Wm. E. is at home. 
Lid a, the wife of Thos. Killian, a farmer in Morgan county, has one 
child. Alfred, Mary N. and Jennie D. are at home. Mr. Clark has 
never lost a child, nor has either of them ever deprived him of a whole 
night's rest. Mr. Clark relates that his son, John H., was on the 
frontier during the war, and that, after his time Was out, the regiment 
was ordered to proceed farther. J. H. wrote to his father of the affair, 
and Mr. Clark was advised to see Mr. Oglesby, and he wrote to him, 
referring to several leading men of Springfield. As a result Mr. 
Oglesby wrote an excellent letter to Mr. Clark, stating that the regi- 
ment was .ordered back within three-quarters of an hour after the 
receipt of the letter. 

MR. O. T. CHAMBERS, native of Indiana, moved from that state to 
Piatt county, Illinois, in 1864. He first rented a farm one mile from 
where he now lives, and then bought a farm near Pierson station. He 
and his wife own 280 acres of land. He was married in 1871, tp Sarah 
Wildman, and has three children living, Augustus, Hattie Daisy and 
Jesse Orville. Mr. Chambers went into the army from Indiana in 
1861 in Co. F, 31st Ind. reg. The principal battles he engaged in 
were those of Fort Donelson and Shiloh. He was wounded at the latter 
place in September, 1862, and was discharged on account of the wound, 
which did not heal until two years afterward. 

MR. HENRY P. CHAMBERS, farmer, moved from Indiana, his native 
state, directly to Piatt county in 1864. He owns 40 acres of land, 
which he has improved himself. He was married in 1875, to Sarah E. 
Stark, a native of Indiana. They have had two children, Elmer P. 
and Myrtie Stella. 

MR. G. W. CARTER, a farmer in the southwestern part of Unity 
township, was born in Ohio and reared in Kentucky. He moved from 
the latter state to Vermilion county, Illinois, in 1852. From this 
county he moved to Macon county and, in 1869, settled on the place 



416 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

where Le now lives. At that time the place was raw prairie. He has 
put all improvements on it, including the setting out of about four 
hundred and fifty trees. Mr. Carter made mention of a deer which 
was killed in Unity township in 1870. This was probably the last deer 
killed in the county. On March 12, 1835, Mr. Carter and Miss Sarah 
M. Fugate were married. They have had sixteen children, only five 
of whom are living. Sarah married Mr. John B. Starr, who died, 
leaving one child, Fannie ; she married Mr. A. Foreman, and they 
with their one child live in Champaign county. Mrs. Starr married 
Mr. John J. INeyhard and lived in Piatt county until her death ; she 
left five children. Cora B., Sally, Anna and George are now living 
with their grandfather, Mr. G. "W. Carter. Joseph Carter married 
Rebecca E. Ward ; he died, but three of his children, Rosa, Dora 
and Taylor, are still living ; Mrs. Carter married again and is now 
living in Macon county. Richard A. Carter married Margaret Clifton ; 
they had five children, George, Jared, William, Joseph and D. Rich- 
mond. Zachariah T. Carter married Jane Davenport ; she died, 
leaving two children, one of whom, Addy Nevada, is now living ; he 
married Mrs. Fannie Fisher, and now is a farmer in Missouri. Mary 
C. married W. Benjamin McDaniel, a farmer, who lives in Kansas ; 
they have five children. Lemuel S. Carter married Katie A. Brown 
and lives on a farm in Unity township ; they have two children, 
Clara M. and Leon M. Mr. Lemuel Carter is probably the only pro- 
fessional hunter in this county. He has been a hunter ever since he 
was a child. He ships yearly on an average 700 clucks, 1,200 rabbits, 
1,500 prairie chickens, 2,500 quails and 2,500 snipe. He ships to 
Chicago over $1,000 worth of game a year. He has killed as high as 
forty-two prairie chickens in one day, and in one day's hunt he has 
shot, one at a time, sixteen dozen snipe. ITe sold this lot to another 
hunter on the ground for $25. He considers that he handles the 
finest dogs in the state ; they are imported, and are Irish setters, 
English pointers and Scotch pointers. He owns one dog now for 
which he has a standing bid at St. Louis of $300. Mr. G. W. Carter 
was ordained a Baptist minister in 1844. He has preached in Ver- 
milion, Champaign and Christian counties in this state. Mr. Carter's 
eldest son, George, married Martha V. Foreman, and has four children, 
Charles T., Mississippi, Susan and Flora Belle. 

MR. J. W. LOWTHER, farmer, Voorhies, is a native of Ohio, who 
moved from there directly to Illinois and settled in Piatt county in 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 4:17 

1869. He owns 120 acres of land. He went into the army from Ohio 
in the 140th Ohio reg., national guards. 

MRS. GEORGE DEEDS, nee Eunice Wildman, is a native of New 
York. She moved to Pennsylvania, from there to Ohio, and then 
came to Piatt county in 1845. She was married in 1846, and moved 
to Will county, where she lived till 1861, when she came back to 
Unity township, where she has lived in one house for eighteen years. 
Mr. Deeds went to Missouri, and while at his brother's he took sick 
and died. Mr. Deeds was a farmer. They had no children. Some of 
Mrs. Deeds' nieces have from time to time lived with her. 

MR. S. S. DUDLEY, a farmer in Unity township, is a native of Ash- 
land county, Ohio. He moved from Ohio to Connecticut, and from 
that state to Illinois in 1864, and in 1866 settled in Piatt county on the 
land where he now lives. He owns 240 acres of land, and has put all 
the improvements on it, including the planting out of some two 
hundred fruit and ornamental trees. He was married in 1867, to Miss 
Elizabeth J. Porter, of Moultrie county. They have two children, 
Eddie Earnest and Mary Ethel. Mrs. Dudley has been afflicted with 
the third-day ague for six years, three weeks being the longest absence 
of the chill during that time. This fact shows that the malaria is not 
yet all out of Piatt county. Mrs. Dudley, in speaking of her early 
home on the prairie, stated that it was quite customary for herself and 
her several mile distant neighbors to exchange visits, taking their cows 
and staking them out to enjoy a new field of grass while the women 
chatted over knitting or sewing. While making these visits Mrs. 
Dudley became quite an expert snake-killer. In speaking of the first 
settlers in his immediate neighborhood, Mr. Dudley stated as his 
opinion that a Mr. J. P. Way, who settled in T. 16, R. 5, Sec. 
23, was the earliest settler in his vicinity. Mr. Way was from 
Connecticut, and moved from this county to Nebraska. The most of 
the land in the southern part of this county was formerly owned 
by speculators. Those who settled in the prairie tried to open farms 
without fences, and immediately trouble arose between the stockmen, 
who wanted plenty of range for their stock, and the farmers, who 
wanted to till the land. They almost fought over the matter. A 
gentleman who is now a prominent citizen of Moultrie county was 
once known to watch his stock all clay with a gun in hand. The first 
few years Mr. Dudley farmed he used to get up each night and ride 
over the place to see if stock was on the farm. Wolves have 
frequently been seen in Mr. Dudley's neighborhood since the war. A 



418 HISTORY OF PI ATT COUNTY. 

deer was killed by Tom Loyd, of Macon county, in section 23 of 
Unity township, in 1867, which was one of the last killed in Piatt 
county. The first six winters Mr. Dudley was in this state he was a 
school teacher. He taught two schools at Milmine, two at Ridge 
Chapel, and two at Lovington. He was school treasurer for six years 
of district No. 6, township 16. He was the third treasurer, William 
Bouser being the first, and John Garothers the second. In 1870 
school land was sold in this township for $13,660. At first the whole 
school township was laid off into four districts, but finally, after quite 
a struggle among the people, it was laid off into nine districts. Mr. 
T. J. Kiser, of Hammond, is the present treasurer of the township. 
Mr. Dudley was not in the army, but during the . war was in the 
government employ, and helped to rebuild Fort Hale, at New Haven, 
Connecticut. Since being in this county he has been connected with 
the Sabbath-school movement. For two years he was president of the 
Unity Township Sunday-school convention. He is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

ME. JAMES DA VIES, a farmer of Unity township, was born in 
England in 1812. His parents were natives of the same country. He 
came to America, in 1856, at the instigation of a brother then in 
California, and who afterward moved to that state. While crossing 
the ocean they encountered a fearful storm, which lasted two days and 
nights. Mr. Davies' mother came to America, and died at the age of 
seventy-nine. Upon landing in America he moved to Ohio, and from 
there, in 1863, he emigrated to Coles county, Illinois. He next 
moved to Douglas county, and in 1867 he settled in Piatt county. 
Mrs. Davies, nee Anne Phillips, was born in England in 1815, and in 
1840 her marriage with Mr. Davies was celebrated in Shropshire, 
where they lived until their emigration to America. Both have 
relatives in England and in America. They have had six children. 
Walter was killed at the battle of Murfreesborough. Elizabeth mar- 
ried Mr. Easton (see his name). The rest of the family are all 
school teachers. Diana attended school at Valparaiso. Anna has 
taught about twenty-four terms of school, and attended school at 
Valparaiso. Hortense H. has attended the State Normal and the 
school at Valparaiso. Her school-teaching experience lasts through 
twenty terms. 

MR. JOHN H. EASTON, farmer, is a native of Ohio. His father was 
a native of Massachusetts, and his mother of New York. He is of 
English lineage. In 1854 he moved from Ohio to Illinois, spending 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 419 

the winter in Will county, but was bound for Piatt county. After 
farming for others for five years, he began teaching, and has taught in 
this and other counties for sixteen years. He bought land with the 
fruits of his educational labors. He bought his present home, a farm 
of 120 acres, in 1881. His first wife, nee Elizabeth Helton, died March 
25, 1865. She had one son, Henry O. He next married Elizabeth 
Da vies, August 12, 1868. She has had three children, Alberta D., 
Maud Mary and Walter. Mr. Easton went to the army, in Co. F, of 
the 2d 111. Cav., and was out thirteen months, but, though in plenty 
of skirmishes, was in no regular battles. Owing to sickness, lung and 
typhoid fever, he had to come home. Mr. Easton taught eight terms 
of school at Mackville. He has been township assessor. 

MR. JAMES M. EYRSE, farmer, Unity township, is of Scotch and Irish 
lineage, and a native of Virginia. He can trace his ancestors back to 
Virginia colony days. He moved from Virginia to Tazewell county, 
Illinois, in 1854, thence to Macon county, and from there to Piatt 
county in 1871. At that time he bought his farm of 120 acres, where 
he now lives. In 1849 he married Ann Eliza Whisman, who died in 
1859, leaving three children. Eliza Y. married David Lewis, a farmer 
in Douglas county. They have one child. Virginia A. is unmarried, 
and lives at home. Henry J. married Sally M. Galford, a native of 
Ohio, and lives in Unity township. They have one child, Laura 
Belle. At the time of Mr. Eyrse leaving Virginia, he ranked as 
major in the militia of that state. He served in the Mexican war in a 
light infantry company from Virginia. He was in the 1st Va. reg., 
Augusta volunteers, under General Taylor. He was in no regular 
battle, and the principal skirmishing was done in opening communi- 
cation after the battle of Beuna Vista between Camargo and Monterey. 
Upon our asking for camp-fire stories, Mr. Eyrse remarked that their 
company was made use of, and had "no chance to joke over camp- 
fires." Mr. Eyrse is regarded as quite a good drill master at the 
present day. 

MR. EZRA FAY (deceased) was born May 27, 1813, in New York. 
He was of German and Irish descent. Moved from New York to Ohio, 
and from there to Illinois in 1835. His widow lives on the land he 
bought soon after coming to the county. He married Acena Holden, 
October, 1831. She died in 1839, leaving one daughter, who married 
Samuel Vanfleet, of Indiana. He next married Elizabeth Hogland. 
Three of their children are living. Hi chard, a 'farmer in Unity, town- 
ship, married Mary Frellinger, and has four children ; Sarah J. mar- 



420 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

ried John Nighswander ; Riley is living with his mother in Unity 
township. Mr. Fay died April 6, 1877. 

MR. JOHN FORD, a farmer in Unity township, is a native of Ireland. 
He came to America and to Monticello in 1859. He moved onto the 
present farm of about two hundred acres near thirteen years ago. He 
has been a hard worker, and got his farm by feeding cattle and work- 
ing by the month. He was married in 1866, to Elizabeth Madden, a 
native of Ireland. They have six children living : Maggie, Patrick, 
Malci, Jane, John and Kate. Mr. Ford is a, member of the Catholic 
church. 

MR. ISAAC FULTON, proprietor of the second store (grocery) in 
Pierson, started in business there in 1881, and anticipates making 
Piatt county his home. He was married in 1878, to Miss Anna 
Wacaser, and has one child, Harry Lee. 

MR. GAMALIEL GREGORY, farmer, is a native of New York. He 
moved to Ohio, and in 1855 to Piatt county. His father, Josiah 
Gregory, was of English descent. He settled in Champaign county 
in 1858, and moved to Bement in 1878. Mr. G. Gregory married 
Mary Monroe, November, 1856, born in this county July 29, 1837. 
Her parents both died in this county. She has five sisters and two 
brothers living. She has three children living. Wm. G. Gregory 
married Kate Crawford, has one child, and is a druggist in Coles 
county ; J. R. is farming at home ; Rosalia married George Mumper, 
a farmer in Champaign county. Mr. Gregory has been town col- 
lector and town clerk, and is a member of the masonic lodge at 
Bement. 

MR. GILBERT GREENE, farmer, was born in Tennessee in 1824. He 
lived in Kentucky until he was twenty-five, and in 1854 came to Piatt 
county. He started to Champaign county, "got out of the way a little, 
found this county good enough, and so stopped." He first settled 
about one and a half miles below his present home, then, after two 
years' residence in Champaign county, settled on the Prairie in 
Bement township. The next move was to the place he now lives on, 
which he has improved. He has a fair sized orchard, which bears a 
good deal of fruit. He was married in 1845, to Martha Ramsey. Of 
Mr. Greene's children, Wm. Boyd married Mary Lane, and in 1871 
moved to Nebraska ; they have four children. Ruth married Shannon 
Fristoe, and lives in Bement ; they have three children, Horace, 
Walter and Jesse Pearl. Margaret C. married Allen Moore, and lives 
in Neosho county, Kansas ; they have five children. Susan married 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 421 

Wm. Curren, and lives in Sangamon township. John, Simon, Frank D. 
and Ella R. are at home. 

MR. JOHN W. C. GRAY, farmer, is a native of Pickaway county, 
Ohio. His mother is a native of Ohio and lives with one of her chil- 
dren in Iowa. His father was a native of Iowa. Both of Mr. Gray's 
grandfathers were in the revolutionary war, and two of his brothers 
went to the late war. one of whom served throughout the rebellion. 
Mr. Gray is one of a family of six children. He would not have 
settled in Piatt county had it not been for Mr. Jack Riddle. While on 
business in the county for Mr. Kious, Mr. Riddle persuaded him to 
work for Mr. John Piatt. While working for him he was hired to ship 
cattle in 1856. A portion of the year 1856 he herded cattle at Blue 
Mound for Mr. John Piatt. Mr. Gray relates some interesting items 
in regard to snakes, which were found on the prairie at an early day 
here. He says that by actual count and record in the season of 1856 
he killed 1,100 rattlesnakes, and has killed as high as thirty-three in one 
day. That same season he saw as many as from nineteen to twenty- 
nine deer in one herd, and he captured eleven fawns, some of which 
were sent back to New York. Mr. Gray was married in October, 
1861, to Mrs. Eliza Crain, who died February 26, 187H. In April, 
1877, he married Mrs. R. (Murry) Myres, who had one child at the 
time of her last marriage. She is a native of New Hampshire and 
came with her parents to Menard county, Illinois, in 1846. When Mr. 
Gray began improving his farm, it was overrun with hazel-brush and 
willows. His ten acre orchard is in as good a condition as any orchard 
in the county and contains all small fruit that will succeed in growing 
in this part of the state. Pie built his present residence about nine 
years ago. He thinks he has the best cellar in the county. He settled 
on his present farm in 1869, having previously lived where Mr. James 
Wharton now lives. Mr. Gray's well selected library of at least two 
hundred volumes shows that he is one of the farmers of the county 
who believes in keeping up with the times. He was justice of the 
peace for six years and has been elected road commissioner and 
supervisor. 

MR. HENRY GROSS, a merchant and farmer of Mackville, is a native 
of Germany. He came to America in 1853, and for eight years 
remained in New York, and then moved to Chicago, where he remained 
till 1857, when he moved to Marion county. In 1858 he moved to 
Piatt county and settled on the land where Mackville is located. Mr. 
Gross came alone from Germany, the rest of his family came after- 



422 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

ward. He now has four brothers and one sister in the county. His 
parents, Casper Gross and wife, came to America during the war. Mr. 
Henry Gross married Sophia Gross, a native of Germany, in 1861. 
They have had eight children, two of whom are dead. Sigel T. Gross 
is bookkeeper in the store of Gross & Biggs, of Mackville. Anna, 
Alexander, Thusnelda, Henry and Sophia are at home. Mr. Henry 
Gross is the first and only postmaster that Mackville has had. He 
was school director for ten or twelve years, and filled a vacancy as 
justice of the peace. He has also been collector, clerk and supervisor 
of Unity township. 

ME. JNO. GORDON (deceased) was a farmer in Unity township, and 
owned 120 acres of land. He married Anna Sloam. Both were 
natives of Ireland, came to America in 1863, and to Piatt county in 
1866. They had eight children, six of whom are living, Felix G., 
Rosealla, Maggie, Mary, Ida May and Catharine S. On the 17th of 
March, 1879, one of their boys was buried; on the 18th of the same 
month their house burned down ; on the 29th of the month an infant 
was born ; and about a year from this time Mr. Gordon died. 

MR. GEORGE GOODSON (deceased) was a native of Douglas county, 
Illinois. He moved in Piatt county in 1873. He was married in 
1871, to Candacy Pierson. She has no children. Her parents were 
from Indiana, and moved to Piatt county in 1867. Mr. Charles 
Goodson was married, January 28, 1882, to Emma Gow, who until 
recently made her home at John Harshbarger's. They reside near 
Goodson station. 

MR. JNO. GOODSON, farmer, was born in Douglas county, Illinois, 
and came to this county in 1878. In 1862 he went to California and 
began farming and stock raiding, and remained there fourteen years. 
He was married in California, to Miss Julia Ingerham. They have 
one daughter, Mollie. Mr. Goodson came back in 1879 and built a 
nice farm residence of nine rooms. He is fast getting things in good 
shape about the farm, and it bids fair to be one of the best places in the 
county. He is a stock dealer and has some fine sheep and cattle. 
Mr. Goodson went to the army, was taken prisoner and sworn not to 
fight until he was exchanged. He was not exchanged and so went to 
California. 

MR. ROBERT GRIFFEX (deceased) was married in Indiana, to Louisa 
Thompson, and moved to Piatt county in 1870. He lived on Mr. 
Quick's place for a time, and then moved to the place he lived at the 
time of his death about five years ago. He left a widow and five 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 423 

children. Laura married John Bogard, and moved to Missouri. 
Harriet, the wife of Christopher Denny, lives with her child, Myrtle 
Olive, in Unity township. Mary Ellen, Henry Charles and William 
Edgar are at home. Mrs. Griffin owns about twenty-one acres of land. 
Mr. Griffin was a soldier in the late war. 

MR. DANIEL H.VRSUBA.RGKR, a retired farmer, was born in Cham- 
paign county, Ohio, and is of German descent. His father moved 
from Ohio to Montgomery county, Indiana, and in 1823 made the 
.second settlement in that county. He died in Illinois in 1857. His 
wife died in Indiana in 1853. Mr. Daniel Harshbarger was married 
in 1834, to Miss Huldah Quick, of Montgomery county. They moved 
to Piatt county in 1837, and for the first summer lived with Daniel's 
father in a cabin built the same year. In the fall Daniel went into his 
own round-log cabin covered with clapboards and containing a hickory 
pole bedstead. When he came to the county he had $200 in money, 
five sheep, one horse, one cow, one hog, and some spinning wheels 
upon which Mrs. Harshbarger did all the spinning for the family. Mr. 
Harshbarger now has a walnut chest which is a hundred years old and 
a pair of steelyards, which came from Germany, that are one hundred 
and fifty years old. This family remained in their round-log cabin until 
1848, when they built the second brick house in the county. The brick 
was burned by Jim -Sennet on Mr. Harshbarger's place. Mr. and Mrs. 
Harshbarger still occupy this with their son John and his family. 
When about fifty-five years of age Mr. Harshbarger stopped his long- 
continued hard labor and deeded his ten or eleven hundred acres of 
land to his children, with the proviso that they were to keep himself 
and wife. After stating this fact to us he very contentedly remarked, 
u the children all appear to be reconciled to the way I divided it." Mr. 
Michael Harshbarger is Mr. Daniel Harshbarger's oldest living son 
'(see his name). His daughter Sarah married Mr. Joseph Baker (see 
his name). Mr. John Harshbarger was married in 1868 to AnnaGaw, 
from Indiana. Their children are Carrie, William D. and Frank 
Merritt. John is a farmer and stock dealer and lives on the old home- 
stead place where he has lived all his life. Miss Emma Gaw, Mrs. 
John Harshbarger's sister, is making her home with them at present. 
Miss Emma seems to possess natural talent for drawing. We suggest 
that she should embrace all possible chances of cultivating such talent. 
Barbara Harshbarger married William Carroll and is living in Douglas 
county. Their children's names are Ivory Belle, Ivol, Icel Lee and 
Florence Mabel. Mr. Daniel Harshbarger was the first justice of the 



4:24 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

peace in his section of the county. He served as such for twelve years, 
until they began lawing, when he refused to serve longer. A gentleman 
who has known "Uncle Dan " a long while *&ays that he is " as honest 
as the day is long," and that his extreme sense of justice led him to be 
considered one of the best peacemakers in the county. His law was, 
"Do right whatever the consequences," and he has been known to 
prevent suits many times by going out of his way to see the men and 
persuading them to come to settlement. He married the first couple 
who united in the bonds of matrimony in Unity township, and for six 
or eight years performed the marriage ceremony for all who were 
married in Lake Fork timber. "We must tell a little joke on " Uncle 
Dan " which was related to us by a neighbor of his. What we have 
already told of his peace-making abilities would lead one to think that 
it would grieve him very much to have a neighbor think ill of 
him. One morning when out he met a neighbor, Mr. Thomas Good- 
son, who, instead of giving his usual "good morning !" said in a very 
sober tone of voice "I thought I would tell you there is a coolness 
between us." " Uncle Dan," with a surprised and anxious look, and 
in that deep and earnest tone of voice of his, said, "Why, Tommy, 
Tommy, what is it ! I never had a hard feeling toward you in the 
world." Mr. Goodson, after carrying his joke to the desired extent, 
remarked that "it was the sharp breeze which caused the coolness 
between them." Mr. Harshbarger held the office of supervisor for one 
year. He was the first person to make a profession of religion on Lake 
Fork and was baptized June 28, 1842, by Mr. John Collins, and in the 
same fall Mrs. Harshbarger, Mrs. Joseph Moore and Mrs. James 
Utterback were baptized. Mr. Harshbarger relates that in early days 
in their neighborhood the people used often to get quite lonesome. At 
Mr. Monroe's they used to go on top of the house to watch across the 
prairie, hoping to see some one coming. In case they should, word 
would soon be sent around and all the neighborhood would collect at 
one house. Since writing the above we have received the following 
items from Mr. John Harshbarger. He took the measure of twelve of 
the apple trees which his father set out in 1839 and found that they 
averaged in circumference five feet and one inch- the largest measur- 
ing seven feet and three inches. The tallest tree was forty feet and 
seven inches in height, and in the twelve the following varieties are 
represented, Early Harvest, Golden Pippin, Vandaver Pippin and 
Spitzenburg. These trees are in a thriving condition and in 1.881 some 
of them bore as high as twenty-five bushels of apples apiece. Mr. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 425 

Harslibarger has in his possession a Seth Thomas clock which has kept 
good time for fifty years. 

MR. SAMUEL HARSHBARGER, farmer, was born in Ohio in 1811. 
He moved from Ohio to Montgomery county, Indiana, in 1823, and 
from there to Piatt county in 1837. He was married in Indiana, to 
Sarah Quick, who had eleven children, seven of whom are living. 
Clarrissa was the wife of Nathaniel Shonkwiler. Aaron married 
Arvilla Wildman, who had seven children. He moved to Texas, and 
next married Jennie Romine. His third wife was a Miss Waters. 
Elizabeth Harshbarger married Alfred Taylor (now deceased), and has 
five children. She lives in Champaign county. Ambrose Harsh- 
barger married Margaret Richardson and lives on the old homestead 
place. They have six children, Samuel, Caroline, who married 
Wm. Taylor, and lives in Douglas county, Lucy, Effie, William and 
Henry. Jefferson Harshbarger married Francis Sexton and has four 
children. He lives in Champaign county. Isaac married Mary J. 
Goff. He has a large family of children, and lives at Atwood. 
Samuel married Emmazilla Wildman, and lives in Unity township. 
They have a family of children, some of whose names are : Delia, 
Arthur, Clara B. and' Reuben Horace. Naomi Harshbarger is the 
wife of David Corell, a sewing machine agent of Bement. They have 
two children living, May and William. Sylvia Harshbarger, deceased, 
was the wife of David Cade, of Douglas county. He was married 
again in 1881, and lives in Champaign county. The death of the first 
Mrs. Harshbarger occurred in 1853. Mr. Harshbarger next married 
Mrs. Melissa Holden, the widow of an old settler in that part of the 
county. She died about 1870, and Mr. Harshbarger took for his third 
wife Miss Eliza Randolph. The second year after Mr. Harshbarger 
moved to the county, there were seven families in the neighborhood, 
and at one time every member of the seven families was sick except 
himself and son Aaron. Mr. Harshbarger had to leave the sick and 
go to mill at Eugene, Indiana, seventy miles distant. Before going 
he threshed the grain- by having the horses tramp it. He was gone 
eight days, and upon his return did not expect to find all the family 
alive. Mr. Harshbarger relates one of his deer hunts in the following 
manner: '"I was standing in the woods on a log when I saw a big 
buck coming toward me. I let him come close and then shot. The 
gun cracked and the deer came bawling and jumping toward me, 
and I climbed up a sapling." Mr. Harshbarger has long been 
regarded a ' ' bee hunter. " He has worked with bees ever since he was 



426 HISTORY OF PI ATI 1 COUNTY. 

fifteen years old. He has had bees every year since. He has made 
hundreds of dollars with his -bees alone. He lias found at least seventy 
bee-trees in his lifetime. The most honey he ever got out of a tree 
was ten gallons after it was strained. Mr. Harshbarger was ordained 
a minister in the Christian church in \ 843, and has preached on a large 
circuit extending throughout this county and into Macon, DeWitt, 
Champaign, Vermilion, Douglas and Moultrie counties. He has 
evidently done a great deal of good in his lifetime, and his kindly 
countenance and earnest words indicate that he will do much more 
yet. 

MR. MICHAEL O. HARSHBARGER, farmer, near Atwood, is a native of 
Indiana, and came to Piatt county in 1837. He was married October 
30, 1862, to Emeline Stevens, who died in 1865, leaving one boy, 
Charles M. He next married Arvilla Whetsel in 1869. She had two 
children, Dora May and John Lee. Mr. Harshbarger owns about 460 
acres of land, part of which lies in Douglas county. He has evidently 
been a hardworking man, as the result of his labors shows. In 1876 
he built one of the finest houses in the county. It contains fifteen 
rooms and cost $8,000. The brick for the house were made on his 
own farm. He burnt some 180,000 brick and "Sold enough to pay for 
putting up the walls of his house. This is an example of thrift and 
energy not often shown in this country. In 1881 he built one of the 
best frame barns in the county. It is 68 X 60 feet, is two story, will 
hold sixteen horses and contain one hundred ton of hay. Mr. 
Harshbarger has made his money by farming and raising stock. 
When he was married he had $600 and some land which his father, 
Mr. Daniel Harshbarger, gave him. In conversing with Mr. Harsh- 
barger we quite readily discovered strong filial devotion, which most 
men of his age, if they have it, are quite successful in covering up. 
Since taking the above notes from Mr. Harshbarger, we have regretted 
to hear that his wife died on January 9, 1882. 

MR. RICHARD HELTON, merchant, was born in 1822, in North Caro- 
lina. His parents were natives of the same state, from which they 
moved to Wayne county, Indiana, sixteen miles in the woods from 
Newport. They, with eight children, landed at this place between 
Christmas and New Year's, and the snow was knee-deep. They lived 
here beside a big log and a camp-fire until spring, hauling all pro- 
visions on a one-horse sled from Newport. Mr. Helton moved to 
Douglas county in 1857 or 1858. He was married in 1838, to Ann 
Willis. They have lived for ten or twelve years in Piatt county. He 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 427 

was the first person who built a house in Atwood. His store was the 
first in the town and he opened the first grain office in the place. 
Henry Helton and wife, nee Josephine Willingham, have one child, and 
live in Douglas county. Joel married Francis Smitson and is a grain 
trader in Atwood. Alexander married Mary Faulhaber, lives in At- 
wood and is also a grain dealer. He has three children, Birdie and 
Gertie, twins, and Alfred. George and Rebecca, the youngest 
daughter, lives at home. Janie married Thomas Barnes, a carpenter, 
and lives in Atwood. Mr. Helton is a member of the masonic order 
and of a life insurance society. 

MR. J. A. HAWKS, a miller and tile maker, of Mackville, is of 
English and German descent, and is a native of New York. He came 
west in 1869. He taught school at Mackville for four terms after he 
first came to the county. He was in the general merchandise business 
for a time with Mr. Gross and then began milling. In 1876 he bought 
the mill which Griggs & Marshall had built. He was married in 1877, 
to Mary Mitchell, a native of Ohio. They reside in Mackville and 
have no children. Mr. Hawks went to the war from New York, in 
Battery G, 3d ]ST. Y. Lt. Art. Roanoke Island, Plymouth and 
Kingston were the principal battles in which he engaged. He was 
never wounded, but was taken prisoner and was one month bby 

prison. Mr. Hawks has been superintendent of a Sunday school and 
township treasurer and supervisor. 

MR. S. Y. HAGEMAN, hardware merchant, Hammond, is a native of 
Pike county, Illinois. He moved from there to Logan county in 1863 
or 1864, and in 1875 settled on a farm in Piatt county. After staying 
there five years he left his farm, not selling it, however, and moved 
into Hammond, built a store building and, with his brother, A. J. 
Hageman, opened a hardware and grocery store in June, 1881. He 
was married in 1874, to Lizzie Rathbun, of Pike county. They have 
had three children, two of whom are living, Oscar Y. and Silas. 

MR. JOHJST "W. KAGEY, a farmer of Unity township, is a native of 
Virginia. He moved from that state to Illinois in 1869, and in 1870 
moved to Piatt county. In 1876 he bought his present home of 80 
acres. He was married in 1865, to Mollie E. Shaver, a native of 
Yirginia. Two children, B. Frank and C. Claudius, have blessed 
their union. 

MR. SAMUEL KARICOFE, farmer, Yoorhies, was born in Yirginia, 
from which state he moved to Indiana, and thence to Piatt county, 
where he bought land in 1869, and now owns 160 acres. He was 
27 



428 HISTORY OF MATT COUNTY. 

married in 1868, to Mary Aim Cummins, and has three children, 
Minnie, Charles and Sylvester. 

MR. T. J. KISKR, n lumber merchant of Hammond, is a native of 
Macon county. He came to Piatt county in 1873, and began his 
present business. He is school treasurer of his township. He was 
married in December, 1873, to Eliza Adamson. They have two 
children, Ethlyn E. and Loran P. 

MR. WILLIAM K. KISKR came to Piatt county in 1876 and went 
immediately into partnership with T. J. Riser in the lumber business. 
He was married in 1879, to Miss May Baldwin. 

MR. JOHN LOVE ("Capt. Love"), a farmer near Hammond, is a 
native of Pike county, Missouri. His father was a native of South 
Carolina, and his mother was born in Ireland. They moved from 
South Carolina to Pike county, Missouri. His father was one of a 
little colony that went out in 1815, and in 1818 he died in Missouri. 
Capt. Love's stepfather, Mr. Welch Allison, moved to Macon county 
in 1834 or 1835, and his mother died near Decatur in 1836. Capt. 
Love was one of a family of four children. His brother Andrew 
moved from Decatur to near Lovington, on the old Snyder place. 
Andrew had a post-office in his house, which was named Lovington. 
After the town was built it was named the same. Capt Love came to 
Macon county from Missouri in 1834, then returned to Missouri, and 
again in 1835 came to Decatur, and in January, 1836, began clerking 
for Mr. William Cantrall. After about seven months he began 
clerking for Renshaw & Finley (afterward Renshaw alone), and 
remained here for several years. From what we hear of Mr. Love 
at this time, he must have been considered quite a business manager. 
Although but eighteen years old, he had a man's business entrusted to 
him. His health having failed somewhat, Mr. Love went to his 
brother's farm, near Lovington, and went into the stock business. Pie 
was with his brother most of the time from this on, until his marriage, 
in 1842, to Charlotte Emerson, a sister of Judge Emerson. He then 
settled on a farm of his own near Lovington, which place he afterward 
sold, and moved to Judge Emerson's place, in Macon county. In 
1853 he stopped farming, and bought out a little store in Lovington, 
and remained there till 1856. He sold out then, and somewhat unex- 
pectedly went to Sullivan, where he remained till 1851), when he sold 
out. During the year 1860 he was out of business. After his return 
from the army, he bought a farm in De Witt, and remained there till 
1868, when he moved to the farm he now lives on. He owns all the 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 4:29 

section except 160 acres, which he gave to his daughter. Capt. Love's 
first wife died in 1869. Their eldest daughter, Mary Ellen, married 
Dr. J. W. Snyder, and they, with their two children, live in Oilman. 
M. Jennie married John R. Cantrall (see his name). Mr. C. H. 
Love married Adaline Evans, and lives in Christian county. They 
have two children. He helped Mr. C. D. Moore to .lay out the town 
of Hammond, and was the second grain merchant in the place. Capt. 
Love was married in 1871, to Sarah A. Cooper, a native of Iowa. 
Her mother, sixty years of age, is living with Mrs. Love. Her 
parents moved to Iowa in 1844, in which state her father died, after 
which her mother moved to Sangamon county. On June 28, 1861, 
Mr. Love went to the army as captain of Co. E of the 21st III., 
Grant's own regiment, organized from the seventh congressional 
district. He did a great deal of traveling about, but was in only one 
regular battle, that of Frederickstown. He was taken sick with a 
severe attack of pneumonia, and was ultimately discharged because of 
chronic diarrhoaa. Although sick, he had been with the company 
several times. Upon Capt. Love's leaving the regiment the officers 
and his men gave him articles in sealed envelopes, with the injunction 
that he was not to open them until he reached Nashville. Upon our 
urgent and repeated appeals, and against his protestations, we have at 
last succeeded in gaining his permission to have these testimonials 
printed in connection with the sketch of his life. 

TESTIMONIALS TO CAPT. JOHN LOVE. 

CAMP 21sT ILL. VOLS., NEAR MURFREESBORO, TENX. 

February 20, 1863. 

WHEREAS, Owing to long and almost irreparable ill health, our honored com- 
rade in arms and fellow officer, Capt. John Love, of Co. E, 21st 111. Vols., has been 
compelled to retire from our present field of labor ; therefore be it 

Resolved, I. That Captain John Love has our warmest sympathies in his 
afflictions, and that it is with feelings of sincere and profound regret the decrees 
of an inevitable fate have declared that we must give him the hand of along and 
perhaps final farewell. 

II. That in Capt. Love we recognize all the attributes of a refined gentleman, 
an agreeable associate, a noble companion in arms, and that in him the Govern- 
ment loses one of his brightest ornaments, most valuable, patriotic, devoted and 
faithful in all of his duties. 

III. That bidding adieu to our old associate the ever faithful companion of 
all our hardships, privations and dangers, such as only a soldier can realize we 
can heartily breathe an earnest " God bless you," and when in the future we are 
engaged in the arduous duties of the soldiers' life, we will recur with memories of 



430 HISTOKY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

sweet pleasure and an honorable pride to the days and times when Captain Love 
made one of our number. 

IV. That we make this voluntary testimonial to his virtues and moral worth, 
because such are alone due to the brave, earnest, hopeful and uncompromising 
defenders of the right the Government of our Fathers. 
Signed by officers 

WM. P. CARLIN, Col. Commanding Brigade, 38th Vols. 

WM. E. McMACinx, Lieut.-Col. Commanding, 21st 111. Vols. 

J. E. GALLOWAY, Major, 21st 111. Vols. 

W. C. HARRIS, Captain. 

WALTER E. CARLIN, Lieut, and Brigade Inspector. 

S. VORIS, Brigade Adjutant. 

ALBERT WOODBURY, Lieut. 

C. B. STEELE, Adj., 21st 111. 

GEO. F. EATON, Capt. Co. A, 21st 111. 

E. D. Cox, 1st Lieut. Co. A, 21st 111. 

J. P. H. STEVENSON, Capt. Co. B, 21st 111. 

PHILIP WELSHIMER, 1st Lieut. Co. B, 21st 111. 

B. F. REED, Capt. Co. D, 21st 111. 

J. S. TAYLOR, 2d Lieut. Co. D, 21st 111. 

JNO. A FREELAND, 1st Lieut. Co. E, 21st 111. 

DAVID S. BLACKBURN, Capt. Co. F, 21st 111. 

J. W. VANCE, 1st Lieut. Co. F, 21st 111. 

W. J. HUNTER, 2d Lieut. Co. F, 21st 111. 

A. GEORGE, Capt. Co. G, 21st 111. 

A. W. SONGER, 1st Lieut. Co. G, 21st 111. 

EDWIN HARLAN, Capt. Co. H, 21st 111. 

N. S. MC-KEEN, 1st Lieut. Co. H, 21st 111. 

CHAS. HOWE, 1st Lieut. Co. I, 21st 111. 

J. S. Cox, 2d Lieut. Co. I, 21st 111. 
. J. L. WILSON, 1st Lieut. Co. K, 21st 111. 

E. M. SEELEY, Surgeon, 21st 111. 

E. D. WILKIN, Chaplain, 21st 111. 

J. E. JONES, Quartermaster, 21st 111. 

DICK L. SMITH, 2d Lieut., 21st 111. 

MEMORIAL OF RESPECT. 

Presented to Capt. Love on the morning of his departure from Co. E 
21st 111. Vols. 

About to take farewell of your company and rejoin your family in Illinois, it 
may be a pleasure to yourself and friends, that your company thus express their 
lasting friendship and esteem for one who has been so long their captain, and our 
serious regret for the misfortune, and sympathy for the long and lingering sick- 
ness that has at length deprived us of one whom we will so sadly miss. 

We shall always admire the high sense of duty that stamped all your actions ; 
try to imitate the purity of morals and principles that characterized all your con- 
duct ; reflect the indefatigable zeal that has always actuated in all your effort to 
suppress this foul rebellion ; and feel grateful for the anxious care you always 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



431 



manifested even in your sickness for your company. In you we feel not only the 
loss of an earnest, dutiful officer, but a sincere, tried and impartial friend. While 
we remain in the field with a determination to fight to the last, the execrable 
friends' fiends of this hideous rebellion, we hope health may be restored, that 
your life may be spared for many years of usefulness, that you may long enjoy the 
sweets of social intercourse, a blessing to your family, an honor to your friends. 

JOHN A. FREELAND, 1st Lieut. Co. E, 21st 111. EICHARD BENETT, 

JNO. W. NAZWORTHY, Serg. Co. E, 21st 111. 

GEO. W. LYNN, Serg. Co. E, 21st 111. 

A. W. McPHEETERS. 

J. H. McGuiRE, Corp. Co. E, 21st 111. 
JAS. A. FRUIT, Corp. Co. E, 21st 111. 
JAS. M. MOORE, Corp. Co. E, 21st. 111. 
ENOCH WALKER, Corp. Co. E, 21 still. 
SAMUEL BOGGS, Corp. Co. E, 21st 111. 



A. M. ASHMORE, 
CHISTOPHER BICK, 
H. A. SMITH, 
A. M. BONE, 
ROBERT BEAN. 
PETER CORFER, 
ANDREW K. BONE, 
E. M. McGuiRE, 
E. HANEY, 
GEO. W. SHERWOOD, 
J. A. MITCHELL, 
A. M. MITCHELL, 
THOMAS FARREL, 
FINIS E. KENNEDY, 

W. I. C. McCLURE, 

JNO. GAULDING, 
PATRICK KENEDY, 



WILLIAM MILLISON, 
EZEKIEL NORRIS, 
ALFORD NASH, 
W. B. THOMPSON, 
PETER BURG, 
PERRY HOSKINS, 
JAS. H. NAZWORTHY, 
JAS. R. DUNCAN, 
JNO. WILBURN, 
J. B. REESE, 
JEFFERSON BROWN, 
THOMAS SMITH, 
MORGAN J. RAY, 
DAVID P. CLARK, 
DANIEL CLIFFORD, 
HENRY BAKER, 
JNO. ABBOTT, 
MORRIS MACKABOY, 
W. H. HOSKINS. 
MARLETUS HILL, 
MOSES HILL, 
JAMES HILL, 
JOHN E. HINES, 
GEO. K. JENKINS, 
GEO. P. MCDOWELL. 



MR. JOHN LOWE, farmer, is a native of Kentucky. He moved 
from there direct to Illinois in 1861, and to Piatt county in 1869. He 
lived for a time in Sangamon township. He married Sarah T. Atkin, 
who has three children, Edward, William and Albert, living. Mr. 
Lowe went to the army from Vermilion county in Co. B of the 
25th 111. He was out four years, serving one year in the 149th reg. 
He engaged in the battles of Pea Ridge, Perryville, Murfreesborough, 
Mission Ridge, and also those of the Atlanta campaign. He was never 
wounded or taken prisoner. 

MR. T. F. LIVENGOOD, farmer and minister, is of German descent, 
and was born in 1830, in North Carolina. He moved from there to 
Indiana, and thence to Moultrie county, Illinois, and to Piatt in 1861. 
He married Catharine Pearson, of Indiana, in 1850. His son, Athan 



432 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

A., married Margaret Moore, and lives in Champaign county. David 
F. married Barbara Meeker, and lives in Douglas county. Permelia 
is the wife of Yinceiit Quick, and has two children, Oscar and Lena. 
The names of the remaining children are Mathias E., Albert, Sarah, 
Lilley, Cora, Ella Pauline and Addie. Mr. Livengood was ordained as 
a minister in the Christian church in 1866. He formerly preached on 
a circuit running through Champaign, Piatt, DeWitt, Moultrie, Doug- 
las and Vermilion counties. Now he travels only in Douglas, Ver- 
milion, Champaign and Piatt counties. He has organized seven 
churches in Champaign county, where most of his preaching has been 
done, one in DeWitt and one in Piatt county. When he settled in this 
section of the country he found the people hospitable. At an early 
day here the people always called upon the new settlers, congratulating 
them on coming into the county. Mr. Livengood preached his first 
sermon in the Taylor school-house in Douglas county. Upon our ask- 
ing him in regard to the first couple he married in this county, he said: 
"I remember how I was scared, but don't remember their names." 
He told us of once going fifteen miles, swimming the West Okau and 
traveling bad roads, to marry a couple. He says he " had a good time 
otherwise, but got no pay." Since he was ordained a minister he has 
made an average of one hundred conversions each year. The largest 
amount he has ever received in one year from one church has been 
$140; the least amount, nothing. 

MR. WILLIAM G. LEAVITT, farmer, Hammond, was born in 1825, 
in New Hampshire. He was married in his native state, to Mary 
French, a widow. They had ten children, eight of whom are living. 
Sarah and Margaret are married and living in New Hampshire. Har- 
riet, the wife of V. C. Sleeper, lives in Wellington, Kansas, and has 
three children. Abbey married Scott Moonan; has six children, Willie 
Walter, Fred, Park, Charles and Sarah. James William is married, 
has one child, and lives in Cerro Gordo township. Herbert married 
Elnora Simms, has one child, and lives in Kansas. Harry W. and 
Luther M. are living at home. Mrs. Leavitt died in 1872, and Mr. 
Leavitt, in 1873, was married to Mrs. Mary T. Osgood. Mr. Leavitt, 
upon moving from New Hampshire, settled in Menard county, from 
which place he moved to Piatt county, and bought the half section of 
land upon which he still lives. At present, however, he owns 240 
acres of land. He improved the farm himself, and has planted out at 
least five hundred trees. 

MR. WILLIAM A. LISTOX, carpenter and farmer, of Hammond, was 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 433 

born in Ohio in 1822. He moved from that state to Macon county, 
Illinois, in 1859, and to Piatt county in 1872. At a previous time he 
moved into Piatt county, but only remained two years. He was justice 
of the peace for about six years. About 1843 he and Phebe Cooper, 
born in Ohio in 1825, united their lives, and ten children, nine of 
whom a*re living, is the result of their union. Jeremiah E. was killed 
in the late war ; Rachel L. is married and lives in Maroa ; Albert is 
married and lives in Missouri ; William is in Decatur ; Sarah C. is mar- 
ried to N. B. Wallace, and lives in southern Illinois ; Walter H. is a 
barber in Decatur, while Joseph, Jacob, Matthew and Zarelda A. are 
at home. 

MR. J. W. LYNCH, blacksmith, Hammond, is a native of this state, 
and moved from southern Illinois to Christian county, and thence to 
Piatt county in 1868. He was raised a blacksmith, and Was the 
second blacksmith in Hammond, having bought out George Ragland, 
of that place. Mr. Lynch first married Miss Nancy Booker, who 
died, after having one child, William Henry. He next married 
Elizabeth Balmer, who is the mother of six children, Edward, Sally, 
John, Myrtie, James and Charles. 

MR. JESSE MONROE (deceased), a farmer, was born in Maryland. 
His father was a soldier in the revolution. He married Sarah 
Gordon, a native of Ohio. Pier father was a captain in a spy company 
in the revolutionary war. At an early day, 1828, Mr. and Mrs. 
Monroe settled in Indiana. Later, in 1836, after some of their family 
were married, they moved to Piatt county, Illinois, to help locate 
their children. William Monroe and James Utterback came and 
entered land for themselves and Mr. Jesse Monroe, in 1836, which 
was the first entry of land in Unity township. Mr. Monroe, the 
subject of our sketch, had seven daughters and six sons. Four of his 
sons died in their youth. At the time .of his settling in this county, 
four of the children were married. Two of them, however, moved 
with their father, and the others came at a later date. William 
Monroe married Sarah J. Moore in Indiana, and moved to Piatt 
county in 1836. Eliza married Mr. William Crain, and lived on 
what is yet often called the Crain farm, although owned by a near 
dozen different persons. She had three boys and two girls. Harvey 
married Cynthia Lane, of Indiana. After living two years in this 
county, he moved to Indiana, where, after coming home from the 
army, he died, leaving three children. Sarah E. married Samuel 
Hamilton, and moved into Douglas county. They have three 



434 HISTORY OF PIATT COUNTY. 

children. John Grain is married, and lives on a part of the Grain 
farm (see his name). Emily married John Clapp, and lives on the 
old Grain homestead. Frank Grain, now of Gainesville, Texas, was 
married in 1874, to Mary E. Layson, who died in 1877. He next 
married Lizzie Tutin, a native of Wisconsin. They have one daughter. 
He went to Texas in 1877, and is a stock dealer there. Martha 
Monro