Skip to main content

Full text of "A History of Preston County, West Virginia"

See other formats


3 3433 08188256 9 













, R 13!8 L 

(■l^iar-fcgjB-IT^ T "if *' f --^-^^ 1^^-..^ - . I 


All RiffhU Reserved 


The sketches of which this volume is com- 
posed, and which constitute the Biographical 
Department of the History of Preston county, have 
with two exceptions been furnished by Mr. 
J. R. Cole. 


The reader is to disregard any reference to 
pages elsewliere whicli may appear in one or more 

of these sketches. 






The Brown family was of Scotch ancestry, and when James First 
ascended the Throne of England, James Brown moved to Ireland to 
take charge as steward of the estates of Lord Montgomery, who had 
been given by the Crown large holdings of confiscated land in Ireland. 
The oldest son of each generation served Lord Montgomery in this 
capacity until about 1780, when James Brown, the father of William 
G. Brown, St., and the grandfather of the subject of the sketch, espoused 
the cause of Ireland and joined the Iri&h Secret Societies against 
England. His activity brought upon him the enmity of the English 
government, and a hundred pounds were placed upon his head whether 
captured dead or alive. For safety he fled to America in 1786, but 
before leaving Ireland he married Rachel Hawthorne, who subsequently 
joined him in Philadelphia. James Brown was later joined in this 
country by two brothers, John, who settled at St. Johns, Newfoundland, 
and Peter Brown, who settled near Ellicott City. Maryland, and two 
nephews, who later settled in Monongalia and Preston Counties. Rachel 
Hawthorne had three brothers residing in this country at that time, 
one in Philadelphia; one near Morgantown, Virginia; the third was a 
sea captain and commissioned as a privateer in the War of the Revolu- 
tion. Robert Brown, the eldest son of James Brown, was born on the 
ocean during his mother's voyage to Philadelphia. After a short visit in 
Philadelphia, James Brown, and Rachel, his wife, and Robert, the little 
son, started westward, intending to locate somewhere in Ohio. Two 
horses were procured and on them they started on their journey through 
almost a trackless forest. The wife upon the horse she rode carried 
all the household and kitchen utensils, including 'bed and (bedding, and 
her greatest treasure, a small spinning wheel, for she had worked at 
the looms in Ireland and was an expert linen weaver. Upon the other 
horse her husband rode, carrying the baby in a poke strung around his 
neck, and in one 'hand his trusty rifle as a protection against the savages 
and a means of procuring game along the way, and in the other, his 
bridle rein. They followed the trail across the Susquehannah and up 
the Juniata, w'hich led to old Fort Duquesne. In those days there 
were no bridges or ferries and all rivers encountered must be forded or 
swum, in this way they proceeded, to a point 25 or 30 miles east of 
Fort Pitt, where fhey were informed that the Indians had gathered in 

572 Preston County, West Virginia 

force around the Fort and were very hostile, so they diverted their 
course to the south by way of Old Fort Redstone near Uniontown, 
and from there to Morgantown. There the brother of Mrs. Brown, 
James Hawthorne, dissuaded them of their purpose of going to Ohio 
and told them of some good settlements across the mountains near 
what is now Kingwood, where land could be had at a reasonable price. 
In accordance with the advice of his brother-in-law, James Brown rode 
over to the settlement at Kingwood and boug^ht a piece of land, which 
was located at and around the old Green Cabin, about one mile' from 
Kingwood. where Green had been killed the fall before by the Indians, 
and without waiting further he moved into the Green Cabin and began 
preparations for raising a crop the following spring. His wife the next 
year superintended the clearing of a piece of ground for flax, w'hich 
she prepared and spun into linen, and the following year her husband,, 
bearing on horseback tihe precious product of her loom, went to the 
nearest market, which was at Hagerstown, Maryland, and disposed of 
his merchandise and brought back salt and wrought nails. These 
wrought nails were used in building a new cabin, w'here James Brown 
and his wife subsequently lived and died. Here they raised a family 
of seven children; Robert, grandfather of Senator Dolliver, who lived 
and died on the farm now owned by the S'haw boys near Kingwood; 
Thomias, who lived on the old homestead ; John, who moved to Cincin- 
nati at an early day; Joseph, who lived in the town of Kingwood; 
William G., Sr., who likewise lived in Kingwood ; Jane, who married a 
gentleman by the name of Bowen and moved to Wisconsin, and Anna, 
who married Lucien Hagans and moved to Chicago. 

William G. Brown, Sr., was ^born in a cabin, w^hidh stood on the 
site of the Parks ihome near the town of Kingwood, where the family 
had come to spend the winter in order that the children might have the 
advantages of schooling which t'he little hamlet of Kingwood then 
afforded, and died and is buried within sight of the place of his birth. 
His first wife was Julia Byrne, daughter of Samuel Byrne. He subse- 
quently married Margaret Gay, of Morgantown. To this union was 
horn one child. William G. Brown, Jr. 

William G. Brown, Jr., the subject of this sketch, was educated in 
the common schools of West Virginia and in the University at Morgan- 
town, from which school he graduated in 1877, receiving the degree of 
A. B. He was admitted to the bar and engaged in the practice of law. 
In 1883 he was married to Miss Jessie Thomas, of Tyrone, Pa., who 

Preston County^ West Virginia 573 

died in 1886. To this union was torn one child, Jessie Thomas Brown, 
who at present is living with her father. In 1902 he married Miss 
Flora B. Martin, of Kingwood, who died in 1912. Besides his profes- 
sional and banking interests, Mr. Brown has taken an active interest 
in agriculture. He loves the farm and devotes much of this time to it. 
He has studied improved methods of farming and is not only successful 
in the growing of cereals but is an ardent advocate of the improved 
breeds of live stock. He is no idle agricultural theorist but practices^ 
what 'he preaches on his farm. He' has always taken an active part 
in both state and national politics, and in 1896 was nominated by his 
party for Congress and made a losing fight in that memorable campaign 
in which Wm. Jennings Bryan ran for President. He was elected to 
the 62(i Congress and re-elected to the 63d Congress. Among the 
important laws passed by Congress with which he was closely identified 
he points with pride to his connection with the new Banking and 
Currency law and the recent law regulating the' pensions of the soldiers 
who fought in defense of the Union. He and his daughter, Miss Jessie, 
are at the present time making their home in Washington, where he is 
attendance upon his official duties. 


Abraham Lincoln once said: "No men living are more worthy to 
be trusted than those who toil up from poverty; none less inclined to 
take or touch aught which they have not honestly earned." To this 
class of honest toilers William G. Conley belongs. He worked on 
the farm for several years, and later drove miules on railroad construc- 
tion work, dug coal, drew coke, worked in the stone quarries, on the 
sawmills, and whatever honest labor he could find to do to help support 
a widowed mother and his sisters and to obtain an education. Those 
earlier years of Mr. Conley's life will ever stand as a splendid monu- 
ment to his memory. 

William G. Conley is a grandson of John Conley, an industrious 
farmer who resided near Tunnelton and died there in the year 1852. 
at the advanced age of over eighty years. He had a large family of 
sons and daughters. One of these sons was Major William Conley, the 
father of William G., a highly educated man in hi's day and a successful 

574 Preston County, West Virginia 

educator. Major Conley's early life was spent on a farm and in teach- 
ing school. He was principal of the Kingwood Academy for fourteen 
years. He was also a contractor for a numfber of years and was one oi 
the builders of the Northwestern Turnpike and the Morgantown and 
Kingwood Turnpike. To the older generation Major Conley was known 
also as a man of considerable military ability and for some years was 
in command of the militia of the county just (before the war with the 

Major Conley married Mary Fre^burn, who was born in Galway- 
shire, Scotland, October 7, 1828. Through the Lairds, she was a 
descendiant of the noted Scotchman, Archibald Douglas, earl of Angus, 
mentioned by Sir Wialter Scott in the poem entitled "Marmion." In 
1837, she came with her parents and other members of the family to 
America and first located at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, but soon after- 
wards came to Preston county where she resided until iher death in 
March, 1897. Mary Freeburn was the daughter of Robert and Mary 
Laird Freeburn. Her sisters and brothers were William, Robert, Susan, 
Jane and John, all born in Galwayshire. Scotland, except John, who 
was 'born in America. The children of Major William Conley and 
Mary 'his wife, are Mary Ellen, John Allen, Edward Bunker, Ellen, 
Williiami G., the su'bject of this sketch, and Mattie. 

William G. Conley was born near Kingwood, Preston county, West 
Virginia, January 8, 1866. He attended the district schools, the summer 
normals, and subsequently the West Virginia University, from which 
he graduated in June, 1893, with the degree of LL.B. His honorary 
degree of LL.D. was conferred upon him by the Nashville College of 
Law in April, 1903. After performing manual labor as mentioned above, 
he taug^ht school five terms and was superintendent of schools of 
Preston county one term, beginning July i, 1891. Upon graduation at 
the West Virginia University he began the practice of the law at 
Parsons, West Virginia, and was soon elected a member of the town 
council and later mayor. His legal attainments were soon recognized 
and he was nominated and elected prosecuting attorney of Tucker 
county in 1896, without being a candidate, and was re-elected in 1900. 
He moved to Kingwood in March, 1903, and served as councilman and 
mayor of that town. On May 9, 1908, he was appointed Attorney 
General of West Virginia without solicitation and the following July 
was nominated by the State Republican Convention for bot'h the short 
and the long term, and at the general election that fall was elected by 
the largest plurality of any candidate on the state ticket. His term 



^.p ^.],\^ VOKK 

{ pubIic library 

Preston County, West Virginia 575 

as Attorney General expired March 4, 191 3, when he again resumed the 
general practice of the law. 

Attorney General Conley is considered one of the really strong 
men of West Virginia. In the numerous important matters submitted 
to and determined iby him, and the many grave constitutional questions 
raised in and out of court upon which he was called to pass, during 
the five years he served as the Attorney General of the State, he 
exercised a judgment seldom equaled and rarely excelled. His name 
will 'be favorably linked for all time to come with the jurisprudence of 
his state as the official reporter of the Supreme Court of Appeals, and 
because of the number and importance of the litigation in the state 
and federal courts in which he participated as counsel. A few of the 
noted cases follow : The State of Maryland v. the State of West 
Virginia, the boundary dispute, in the Supreme Court of the United 
States; the Commonwealth of Virginia v. the State of West Virginia, 
the Virginia Debt Suit, in the Supreme Court of the United States; 
the Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Company v. Conley, Attorney General 
and others, t'he two cent rate case, in the state and federal courts; the 
Coal & Coke Railway Company v. Conley & Avis, the two cent rate 
case, in Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia; the Norfolk & 
Western Railway Company v. Conley, Attorney General and others, 
and the Virginian Railway Company v. Conley, Attorney General and 
others, two cent rate cases, in the state courts; the King Land Cases, 
attacking the constitutionality of our land tax system, in state courts 
and the Supreme Court of the United States ; the National Bank Cases, 
attacking the constitutionality of the law assessing national stock, 
in the federal courts ; the numerous Tax Appeal Cases against the Board 
of Public Works attacking the method of and the amount assessed 
against the public service corporations. 

General Conley was not a candidate for re-nomination, but in the 
republican primary of June, 1912, he was nominated for Congress 
in the 'Second District of West Virginia without opposition, and in 
the general election that fall camie within fourteen votes of election, 
notwithstanding the republican party was badly disorganized and his 
democratic opponent was the most popular and one of the wealthiest 
men in the district, and at the election preceding had been elected by a 
plurality of four thousand, four hundred and ninety-two. General 
Conley has always affiliated with the republican party, is active in 
support of its principles and nominees, and contributes largely of his 
time and means. He was twice a delegate to the National Convention 

576 Preston County, West Virginia 

of Repuiblican League Clubs, was assistant secretary of the Republican 
National Convention that nominated William McKinley at St. Louis in 
1896, was six years chairman of the Republican Executive Committee 
of Tucker county, and several years a member of the Congressional 
Committee of the Second District and twice its secretary. At the 
session of the legislature of 1913, in the Republican caucus, he received 
a large vote for United States Senator, without solicitation and without 
being a candidate. His name has been favorably mentioned as a 
candidate for the Republican nomination for governor of West Virginia. 

On July 14, 1892, he married Miss Bertie Ison Martin, daughter of 
Samuel M. and Harriet J. Martin, of Preston county. Her father was 
a prominent farmer and a soldier in the Union Army. Mrs. Conley is 
a descendent of the Morgans, the noted Indian fighters and Revolu- 
tionary soldiers. The children born to General and Mrs. Conley are as 
follows: Lillian May, born August 3, 1893; William G., born July 8. 
1895, deceased; Marian, born December 26, 1896, deceased; Donald M., 
born December 15, 1899; James S., born June 12, 1905. 

General Conley is a member of the Presbylterian Church at King- 
wood; Knight of Pythias; I. O. O. F. ; Modern Woodmen of America; 
A. F. of A. M., Commandery and Shriners ; The American Academy 
of Political and Social Science, and t'he Southern Sociological Congress. 


The subject of this sketch is the oldest son of Rev. Calvin H. and 
Catherine' Finney Lakin andvwas born in Moundsville. W. Va., March 
I, 1864. The other members of this family are Lessie (deceased), 
Joseph William, Annie Belle, and Finney Lee. 

Of these', Lessie married J. M. King, M.D., and at her death left two 
children, Lessie and Jennings, who now live with their father in Buck- 
hannon, W. Va. ; Joseph William married Maude R. Rinard, and lives 
in Huntington, W. Va. ; Annie Belle married Jacob Sheets, and lives 
in Huntington, W. Va.; Finney Lee is unmarried, and lives at Terra 
Alta. W. Va. 

On November 14, 1889, James S. married Lura Olivia Lakin, daugh- 
ter of George W. Lakin, of Columbus, Ohio. At the time of their 
marriage they were not aware that they were in any degree related. 


THE ml;' , A 

PUBLIC lib: \ry 

TILDEN four;ii 

Preston County, West Virginia 577 

but invesitigation later disclosed that they were descended from a 
common ancestor several generations removed. 

Rev. Calvin H. Lakin, father of James S., was born June 29, 1838, 
near Freeport, Harrison County, O'hio, and married Catherine Finney 
of Tuscarawas County, Ohio, March 26. 1863. He was an active 
minister in the West Virginia and Iowa Conference's of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church for almost fifty years, having been during that time 
Presiding Elder of Oakland and Huntington Districts. 

William Lakin, father of Calvin H., was born in Cumberland, Md., 
January 2, 1791, and married, first Sarah Chapman, second Lewessa 
Packer, and died near Freeport, Ohio, March 7, 1855. 

Thomas Lakin. father oi William, was born March 26, 1763, married 
Priscilla Sullivan, Montgomery County, Md., January 15, 1782, and 
died February 23, 1834. Thomas, William and Lewessa Lakin and 
others of their generation are buried on the Moses Wright Homestead 
ne'ar Freeport, Ohio. Of Thomas Lakin, the "History of the Old 
Baltimore Conference from the Planting of Methodism in 1773 to the 
Division of the Conference in 1857", says: "Thomas Lakin. a native of 
Montgomery County, Md., united with the Methodists 1780. Soon 
after he settled in Bedford County, Pa., one of tihe first Methodists. 
He possessed talent above mediocrity and filled frequently the appoint- 
ments of the itinerants. He' ended his life in Ohio, 1834, in his sventy- 
first year' leaving the odor of a good name." 

Benjamin Lakin, father of Thomas, was born December 21, 1748, 
was married October 23, 1760 (1770?), to Rebecca Fee, and died April 
6, 1776. 

Abraham Lakin, father of Benjamin, was born October 16, 1713. 
and died in 1796. He received title deeds for a tract of land in Frederick 
County, Md., from King George of England, and willed it to his son 
Abraham. Jr.. who willed it to his son William, who willed it to his 
youngest son Henry Deaver Lakin, Leander, Frederick County. Wm. 
Gerry Lakin resided on this homestead in 1911. 

Many members of the' older generations of the family are buried 
in the old graveyard at Leander, where many of the records and data 
concerning the family are to be found. 

Mrs. Lakins's brothers and sisters are as follows: Edmund, who 
married Clara Barnard of Westernport, Md., Herbert H., who mar- 
ried Annie Pheneger, and Florence, unmarried and living at her father's 

57g Pheston County, West Virginia 

George W. Lakin, father of Mrs. Lakin, was the son of Daniel 
Lakin, Jr., son of Daniel Lakin, St., son of Abraham Lakin. Jr., son 
of Abraham Lakin, Sr. 

Mr. and Mrs. Lakin 'have three children, James Offutt, Marion 
Elizabeth, and Florence Catherine. 

Mr. Lakin obtained his education in the common schools of West 
Virginia, at Fairmont Normal ISchool, and at the Ohio Wesleyan 
University, Delaware, Ohio, at which last place he first met the lady 
who afterward became his wife. 

In September, 1889, Mr. Lakin and Mr. D. E. Offutt began the 
mercantile business at Terra Alta. under the firm name of Offutt & 
Lakin, Mr. Lakin having full cha/ge until 1909, since which time his 
brother, F. L. Lakin, has been manager. The business was successful 
from the start, and is now located in a substantial three story brick 
"building. From the strictly mercantile business the firm branched out 
into coal, timber and other lines, and now owns large acreages of 
timber lands in West Virginia, Virginia and Arkansas. 

Mr. Lakin is also interested in banking, having been president of 
the First National Bank of Terra Alta. and director of the Terra Alta 

Political and public affairs have always been of great interest to 
Mr. Lakin, and for many yefars he was a member of the Republican 
Executive Committee of Preston County. In 1905 he was the Repub- 
lican candidate for congress in the Second Congressional District of 
West Virginia, to succeed Hon. A. G. Dayton, but was defeated by a 
small majority by Col. Thos. B. Davis, of Keyser, brother of Hon. 
Henry G. Davis. 

He was appointed by Governor A. B. White a director of the West 
Virginia Asylum at Huntington, and re-appointed to the same position 
by Governor Wm. M. O. Dawson. 

In 1909 Governor Wm. E. Glasscock appointed him a member of 
the State Board of Control, which body elected him as its president, and 
where he proved his ability as an organizer. 

In the campaign of 1912 he served as Chairman of the Republican 
State Executive Committee, the campaign resulting in the election of 
the entire Reput»lican state ticket. 

In 1913 Governor H. D. Hatfield appointed him a member of the 
new Public Service Commission, of which commission he was elected 
Chairman. Inasmuch as it subsequently was held that he was ineligible 
to this position because of a provision of the law governing the State 


THE f 7' p ; ;;y 


ASTOR, ^..ri-,-0 

Preston County, West Virginia 579 

Board of Control, he resigned, and was re-appointed a member, and 
re-elected president, of the latter body. 

He' is a 52° Mason, Knight Templar and Shriner ,and also belongs 
to the Knights of Pythias, 

All his life he has been a hard worker, and is an apostle of the 
strenuous life. 


The name Guseman is associated with much that is pioneer in the 
history of Preston county. Abraham Guseman, the original emigrant, 
came from Germany to America a short time before the Revolutionary 
War, and died here in 1821. He was born in 1753, learned the gun and 
silversmith trade, and settled first at Old Baltimore. He enlisted as a 
soldier from Frederick county, Maryland, was wounded by a bullet 
shot in the leg during the first year of his service, and in the sixth 
year of the war was wounded in the head by a stroke from a saber, 
which incapacitated him for further duty in the field. He was then 
put in the Armory at Harper's Ferry, where he' applied his trade as 
a gunsmith until the close of the war. 

Frotn 1789 until 1798, Mr. Guseman lived in Martinsiburg, Virginia, 
and then moved to Monongalia county, Virginia, where he built a 
mill on Decker's Creek, and where he was killedNby accident on the day 
the mill was completed. Jacob J. Guseman, of Morgantown. has an 
eight day clock that was made by his grandfather that is over one 
hundred years old. It keeps the time of day, and the age of the month 
as exactly as it did when first made. 

Abraham Guseman was married three times. His first wife only 
lived nine days. The children by his second wife, Mrs. Catherine 
Bernard, were: (i) Abraham, who settled in Taylor; (2) Joseph, who 
settled in Harrison county; (3) Isaac, a preacher who settled in Marion; 
(4) John and Sophia, who settled in Monongalia county; (5) Jacob, 
who settled in Monongalia, now Preston. His third wife was Elizabeth 
Ralphsnyder, and by her he had nine children : Mary, w^ho married 
Jacob Newman; Catherine, who married Harmon Watts; Elizabeth, 
who married James Reed, from whom Reedsville was named; Sarah, 
who married Joseph Meeks; .■Xnn, who married a Mr. Patton; Rebecca, 

580 Preston County, West Virginia 

who married Samuel Ryne; William D., who married a Miss Drabelle 
of Morgantown; and Henry, now ninety-seven years of age, living at 
Was'hington, Iowa. 

Jacob Guseman was born February 14, 1786, and died March 15, 
1878. When in his fourteenth year he came with his parents to Monon- 
galia county, and soon after that went to sea and was gone three years. 
He visited Liverpool and all the West India Islands. He settled first 
at Albright, where he ran a carding mill, then located on Muddy Creek, 
Pleasant township, Preston county, where he spent a very active and 
useful life' until his death, which took place at the age of ninety-two 
years, one month and one day. 

Mr. Guseman was a very large man with a strong frame, and he 
was a hard worker. He owned and operated a large farm, ran a tan- 
nery, a fulling mill, an oil mill, a grist mill, a saw mill, had a big store, 
and as a merchant and manufacturer did a big business. When mer- 
chandise was hauled from Baltimore, his teams would be started off 
and about one week afterwards he would mount a horse, overtake his 
wagons on the way, and by the time they would reach their destina- 
tion the stock of goods would be purchased and ready for their return. 

In 1813. Mr. Guseman married Miss Christina Susan Wolfe. She 
was born September 12, 1795, ^"^ ^^^^ September 12, 1880. Their 
children were (i) Mary G., born October 8, 1817. died March 16, 
1909, aged 91 years; (2) Susan, born October 7, 1819, died August 27, 
1902; (3) Sophia G., born April i, 1882. died February 27, 1888; (4) 
John A., se'e page 8; (5) Abraham, born July 31, 1824, died June 6, 
1825; (6) Isaac, born May 16, 1826; (7) John W., born June 25, 1828; 
(8) Joseph, born November 14, 1830; (9) John Abrabam. who died 
in infancy; (10) Jacob J., born August 8, 1835; (11) Amos, born 
December 26, 1839. 

Colonel John Wesley Guseman, now eighty-four years old, but 
with the vigor of a man balf that many years, is a Prestonian of the 
old school, and an aristocrat of "ye olden times." His stately mansion 
on the broad acres of rich glade lands around Reedsville is situated 
well up on a plateau and is a sign post of peace and plenty, and of 
sociability and hospitality. The house was built by the Colonel in 
1874, one' year after the farm iwas purchased. It was in the parlor room 
of this house that the charter members of the Morgantown and King- 
wood Railroad Company first met for consultation about that great 
enterprise: and to Colonel Guseman. who made the first survev for the 

Preston County, West Virginu 381 

road and ibccatne one of its chief promoters* is due the thanks of a 
grateful public for the success of that undertaking as much as to any 
other one man connected with it. 

Colonel Guseman's early life was a busy one. In the mills, on the 
farm and about the store, incessant activities were kept up and a sturdy 
growth of character was evolved, honesty and industry being the 
proud attainments of the Guseman family. In 1849, Mr. Guseman went 
to Monongalia county to take charge of his grandfather's property, and 
in 1873 he became the owner of the mills at Dellslow. For fifty-five 
years he has followed surveying, having done much work of that kind 
in Preston, Monongalia, Taylor, Randolph and Barbour counties. He 
seems to be a natural born surveyor, with an eye for original land- 
marks and a knowledge of variations not often equaled by men of that 

Colonel Guseman was married February 28, 1850, to Elanorah 
Drabelle of Monongalia county. She was born March 5, 1837. and by 
her he had three daughters, all living, and married as follows: Josephine, 
wife of William A. Wolfe of Cuzzart; Jennie, wife of Elijah Livengood 
of Morgan's Glade; and Frances E., wife of E. M. Watson, near Reeds- 
ville. Mrs. Guseman, the Colonel's first wife, died March 12, 1857; then 
he married Caroline Malinda Snyder, daughter of John E. Snyder. The 
fiftieth anniversary of the marriage of this notable couple was fittingly 
observed on Tuesday, iMarch 12, 1907, at their home near Reedsvillc. 
It was a pleasant and interesting occasion, with the presence of many 
people, and many gifts were made to them. Among those present were 
eig'ht children, twenty-two grandchildren (there were thirty-four in all), 
and two great-grandchildren, out of four in all. Thirteen children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Guseman, of whom nine are living, six. boys and two 
girls, all married. There are four dead — Jacdb, Ozola, May and James. 
Of those living, Samuel R. Guseman of Bretz is the oldest; Christine, 
wife of A. F. McMillen of Masontown, comes next ; then William A., of 
Reedsville; Ella, wife of Elmer A. Ashburn, near Reedsville; Robert, 
of Williamstown, Mo. ; Amos, of Reedsville ; Mrs. Ida Smith of Reeds- 
ville, Pryor, of North Dakota, and Stanley, of Reedsville. 

Colonel Guseman is an active Democrat and has been the nominee 
of his party for the State Senate, House of Delegates, County Surveyor, 
member of County Court, and, in fact, almost every office in the county, 
time and again, and always ran ahead of his ticket. He has always 
been known for his work as a surveyor, and has done more of it than 

583 Preston County, West Vibginu 

any man in the' county. His title of Colonel comes from his service in 
the militia before the War of the Rebellion. He was commissioned a 
lieutenant when but eighteen years of age by Governor Wise. He has 
been known as a Mason since 185 1. His charming helpmate is a 
gracious .woman of gentle ways, and with 'her wise counsels in house- 
hold affairs has done much for her husband, her family, and for those 
about her. Both Mr. and Mrs. Guseman are crowned with silver hair, 
but are still lovers at seventynfive and eighty-four. A reunion of the 
family occurred on Thanksgiving Day, 1910. Out of twelve children 
living, eleven of the children, five boys and six girls, visited the old 
homestead during the time' of their father's sickness. 

Jacob J. Guseman of Morgantown, born August 8, 1835, married. 
Lavina Conner October 23, 1856. She died July 6, 1873. Their children 
were John W^, died August 10, 1903; Cyrus L. ; Clara Phelieia, wife of 
Ezra A. Feather, died March 27, 1896; Theodore J., who married 
Catherine Feather; Mary Florence, wife of Willey M. Forman, died 
May 2, 1907; James A., who married Marcella McVicker. 

The present wife of Mr. Guseman, Eliza M. Arnold, was born March 
19, 1840. They were married June 4, 1874. 

Mr. J. J. Guseman was iScrgeant of Company E. 6th W. Va., Vol. 
Cavalry, 1861-1865. In Libby prison ninety-six days; Supervisor of 
Roads seven years; Overseer of the Poor five years; President Board of 
Education three years and Mayor of Kingwood 1898-99, 1901. 


The Hartleys are of Quaker origin. They came from the Mother 
Country, England, to America probably about 1682 or 1683. They 
are English on the father's side and Welsh-Irish on the mother's. 
Prior to 1702, Anthony, James, Edward and Henry Hartley, probably 
brothers, came to this country. Edward and Henry, known to be 
brothers, settled in Solebury township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
near Philadelphia. Edward had a deed of land consisting of 300 acres 
made to him. May 28, 1702, and on which he lived until he died in 1745. 
The land was located near the line of Buckingham township, and less 
than a mile from Buckingtham Meeting House, where the Friends of 
both townships worshiped until 1810, w'hen a meeting house was 





THE lu\f y.K 


TiLDEiJ fgc:;d,-'.tions: 


Preston County, West Virginia 583 

Edward Hartley made his will June 13, 1744. devising his estate 
to his daughter Jenet Hughes, his son Thomas Hartley, his son Roger's 
seven children, Thomas and John Hartley. 

Thomas Hartley, son of Edward, born about 1700, died in 1787, 
made application for membership in Buckingfham Meeting of the Society 
of Friends, October i, 1724, and was admitted a couple of months later. 
In February, 1725, or 1726, he declared his intention of marrying, before 
this meeting, Elizabeth Paxson, daughter of John Paxson of Sole- 
bury, and on March i, 1725, or 1726, they were granted permission 
according to the good order maintained among Friends. On June 19, 
1725, his father conveyed to him 100 acres of land, a part of the old 
homestead, and to this he had at his death added about 500 acres more 
of land. His will, dated January 2^, 17^7, devised to 'his sons, Anthony, 
Benjamin and William, and daughter Letitia Rice and to son Joseph, 
one hundred pounds. 

The children of Thomas and Elizabeth (Paxson) Hartley, married 
March i, 1725 or 1726, were: (i) Sara'h. born 1725; Mary, 1727, died 
1746; Thomas, Jr., 1729, died 1746; Anthony, born 1730, twice married; 
William, 1732, married Katherine Fisher in 1757, died without issue in 
1805. Elizabeth, born in 1753, married in 1774, to John Fell; Martha, 
born 1735, married Luke William; Anne, 1758, married James Hill; 
Rachael, 1740, married Ephraim Smith; Joseph, October 18, 1742, mar- 
ried May 27, 1765, (i) Sarah Richards, (2) November 8, 1767, Elizabeth 
Wasson; Benjamin, born 1745, married in 1760 (?) to Elizabeth Sin- 
cook; Mahlon, born in 1749, married 1773, Hannah Moon. 

Joseph Hartley's second wife, Elizabeth, married November 8, 1767, 
daughter of John and Ann Wasson, was born October 12, 1747, and 
died Deceniber 6, 1834. Their children were: (a) Benjamin, born June 
8, 1766; (b) Camelia. born August 28, 1768, died June 2, 1838; (c) 
Ulysses, -born October 2,1, 1770, died August 5, 1793; (d) Joseph, born 
February 10, 1773, died June 28, 1868; (e) Polly, born September 21, 
^775; (f) Horatio Gates, born December 6, 1777, died February i, 1851; 
(g) Elisha. born July 28, 1781, died February 12, 1785; (h) Edward, 
born October 19, 1783, died February 27, 1863; (i) Elijah, born August 
I9» 1785, died December 24, 1864; (j) Elizabeth, born July 7, 1789, died 
August 25, 1793; (k) Amos Garrett, born March 20, 1792, died August 
2S, 1837. The house of John Hartley* now standing on Pricket, Marion 
county. West Virginia, was built a'bout 1760 or 1770. 

Edward Hartley, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch above 
mentioned, married Margaret Miller, Decemfcer 20, 1808, and moved to 

5g4 Pbebton County, West Virgiku 

West Virginia, settling near Fairmont, this state. She was born 
October 3, 1788, and died May 5, 1843. From a record left by Edward 
Hartley himself we copy the following: "Peter M. Hartley (his oldest 
son) was born January 9, 1810; Elizabeth, January 2y> 1812; Charlotte, 
May 13, 1813; Mary, March 22, 1815; Calder, November 6, 1817; Joseph, 
December 5, 1819; Emily, February 21, 1823; Henry, May 29, 1825; 
Nancy, January 23, 1826 (1827?) ; Amos, May 20, 1829; Margaret, June 
29, 1832." 

The grandfather, Edward Hartley, was called into the War of 1812, 
but hired a substitute, and soon afterwards moved with his family to 
Masontown, locating first in a little log house below where the bank 
now stands. This land was deeded by Samuel Hanway to Joseph 
Hartley, father of Edward, in 1805, deed acknowledged May i6th of 
that year. The farm, consisting of 640 acres, preempted 'by John Pier- 
pont and Samuel Hanway in 1788. Peter Hartley inherited part of 
this land, erected his house on the lot now occupied by the residence 
of Amos Hartley, which the latter built in 1880, 

He was an extensive farmer, a large stock raisen a justice of the 
peace for twenty years, county supervisor, and a member of the county 
board also for a long time. He was chairman of the County Conven- 
tion which declared, "We are for the Union Unquestionably." 

Peter Hartley married Susan Swindler, January 8, 1835. She died 
in 1872. He died September 22, 1882. Her father and a little girl 
erected a grist mill on Bull Run and operated it about twenty-five years. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Hartley were as follows: 
(i) Edgar M., born February 28, 1836, died November 10, 191 2. He 
was a merchant in Masontown for about thirty years and left consider- 
able property. He was also a stock raiser and farmer. (2) Henry 
Amos, born December 3, 1837. (3) Katie, born April 24, 1840, married 
Sanford Watson. (4) Joseph M., president of the First National Bank 
fifteen years, now president of the Brownsville Woolen Mills, was born 
October 20, 1842. He is a merchant in Fairmont. (5) Samuel W., 
born June 5, 1845, "ow a resident of Morgantown. He is a retired 
faritier and interested in streeft railways. (6) S. Calvin Hartley was 
born April 17, 1848, married Mary Elizabeth Smoot, June 6, 1878. They 
had four children: Charles H., Pearl S., Earl S.' and J. Ray. He lo- 
cated in Meyersdale, Pennsylvania, in 1873, and embarked in the mercan- 
tile business ; was a member of the town council ; a member of the school 
board twelve years; superintendent of the M. E. Sunday school for 





•Hi^ — 



















































, 1 



























— ' 















■^ r — 

C 7: ~ 

rt) ft j:; 

X iT t— I 

X -- - w 

"-^ r: CD 

c i5 "^ ^ 

- s 

■1 o 

3 H 

c s s a - 

— "^ 

3 H 

3 _ 

n 1 

'■fl c 

ft f^ 

Ot re 

>; t a: 3 












































THE i:ev/ ■wRK 


Preston County, West Virginia 585 

twenty years ; director of the Citizens' National Bank ; director of Pitts- 
burgh & Connellsville Railroad, Union Cemetery, and Cooperative 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company. He was prominent in his church, town 
and community. (7) Luther E. Hartley, born November 29, 1S50. He 
was educated at the West Virginia University, spent several years in the 
retail drygoods business in partnership with his brothers, and finally 
drifted to New York where he engaged in manufacturing. He is at 
present secretary of the Chemical Refining Company of New York, but 
spends much of his time at Wildwood, his country place in western 
Massachusetts. In 1900, he married Elizabeth Pierce Towns, daughter 
of the late Ora Pierce, first cousin to President Franklin Pierce. 

Homer P. Hartley was <born November 3, 1853. He attended school 
at the West Virginia University and Mount Union College. On Sep- 
tember 5, 1882, he was married to Lulu Collins, daughter of Johnson 
Collins. Two children were born to them: Frank C, born December 
2, 1891, died June 20, 1892; Nelly Katherine, born June 11, 1897. He 
resides at Beaver, Pennsylvania, and is in the shoe business at Beaver 
and Rochester. He is vice-president of the First National Bank of 
Rochester and president and treasurer of the Rochester Realty 

With the exception of his three years of military service in the 
Civil War, Henry Amos Hartley has spent his whole life on the farm 
where he was born and now lives. He received a common school 
education, is a man of business, an agriculturist and raiser of fine stock. 
He is known as a successful farmer and has been a member of the State 
Board of Agriculture since the year 1904. During the war he was 
commissary sergeant of the 14th W. Va. Inf.. and served in the 8th 
Corps. His regiment took part in the Shenandoah campaign. He 
served two terms in the legislature. He was elected delegate in 1890 
and again in 1892. 

On November 16, 1865, Mr. Hartley was married to Martha Vander- 
vort, daughter of William and Margaret (Jenkins) Vandervort of 
Monongalia county. 'She died March 11, 1910. No issue. 


John E. Hartley, a cousin of these brothers, is a son of Henry 
Hartley, above mentioned, who died February 6, 1898. His death took 

586 Preston County, West Virginia 

place very suddenly while at church. He was a farmer and a fine stock 
raiser, and a resident of the old Edward Hartley homestead. The house 
now occupied by the widow was built in 1874. Mr. Henry Hartley was 
a large, fine-looking gentleman in appearance, much like his brother, 
Peter M. Hartley, whose engraving stands at the head of this chapter. 
His wife was Miss Ann Bayles of Monongalia county. She was a 
daughter of John and Ora Bayles — he being of Welsh descent and 
having lived nearly a hundred years before he died. Agnes Bayles was 
born April 5, 1837, and was married to Henry Hartley, March 30, 1862. 
Two children were born of this union: (i) Alice Bell, born February 
6, 1863, died August 30, 1887. She had one child. Miss Myrtle Lemon, 
by her husband Benjamin E. Lemon, born August 31, 1889. John 
Edward Hartley, the second child, was born March i, 1866. He owns 
the original Hartley homestead and operates it as a stock farm. On 
April 2, 1890, he married Elvira Robey, daughter of Albert and Louisa 
(Cornwell) Robey, for history of which see pages 106, 479. Three 
children were born to this union, namely: Florence, born June 22, 1894; 
Laura, born August 5, 1896, and May, born SeptemT^er 18, 1901. 

The above picture, seven boys and one girl, children of Peter M. and 
Susan Hartley, was taken September 3, 1909, at a family reunion at the 
home of S. C. Hartley, Meyersdale, Pennsylvania. Their positions are 
according to age, from the oldest to the youngest, September 5, 191 1, 
a reunion was held at the home of H. A. Hartley, on the old home 
farm, near Masontown, West Virginia. The average age at this time 
was over 68 years. Two months after this the family record was 
broken by the death of the oldest brother, E. M. Hartley. They have 
all been successful in business, interested in farming, stock raising, mer- 
chandising, banking and real estate.. They were born Methodists and 
Republicans and adhered to both. 


The subject of our sketch, Hon. Neil J. Fortney, was born near In- 
dependence, Preston county, November 22, 1849. He was the youngest 
son of ^e family of ten children of David H. and Angelina S. Fortney. 

Mr. Fortney, who ranks among the leading lawyers of our 
state, is of French descent on the paternal side, and German on the 


THE IJEV' ''wrK 


Peeston County, West Virginia 587 

maternal side. His grandfather, Daniel Fortney, a native of France, 
came to this country about the year 1780, and settled in Frederick 
county, Maryland, and from there removed to Preston county about 
the year 1796. 

Mr. Fortney's early education was received at Independence, 
Preston county, and he removed with his parents to Indianola, Iowa, 
in 1865, at which place he attended the public schools for two years. 
He then took a three-year course at Simpson Centenary College of 
that place. 

Leaving Iowa in 1872, he spent some time in traveling over Western 
and Northwestern states and territories, engaged in school teaching 
and other employments, and among them, in order to develop a rugged 
and necessary stock of muscle, spent some time on the "river craft" of 
the Missouri River. 

It is plain to see that Mr. Fortney is thoroughly familiar with life 
in practically all its various conditions. 

Finally his native state' and county appealed to him, so in 1873 he 
returned to Independence, near where he was born and had spent his 
early youth, decided upon entering the practice of law, and during 
his studies taught school and also clerked in stores. In 1877 he was 
appointed deputy clerk of the county court of Preston, which place he 
filled for two years ; then in 1897, having passed examination before 
the Supreme Court of Appeals of the state, he was admitted to the bar. 

One year later he was elected prosecuting attorney of Preston 
county, in which position he served well nigh continuously for twenty 
years. By display of great ability and the exercise of the most careful 
attention to the needs of the people of his county, coupled with absolute 
fairness in the discharge of his duties, he became and continued to be 
very popular as an officer, but voluntarily declined to offer himself for 
re-election, and since then has devoted all his ability and energy 
exclusively to the practice of his profession. 

Combining the alert and constructive quality of mind, peculiarly 
belonging to the French, with the certain and compact reasoning of 
the German, endows him with ready ability in digesting matters of 
law and fact, and true discernment of equity. His possession of these 
qualities, together with his untarnished record for honesty and fairness 
in his long practice as an attorney was so well known among the repre- 
sentative citizens of the Judicial Circuit now composed of Preston and 
Taylor counties, that it resulted in securing him a most flattering 

5g8 Preston County, West Viroinu 

plurality for nomination for the office of Judge of the circuit at the 
Republican primary election which was held in the two counties on 
June 4, 191 2. over two other very popular competitors, one of them 
being a resident of his own (Preston) county, and was elected by a 
handsome majority, and at the regular election in the following 
November was elected Judge by the next largest majority obtained by 
any of the Judges of the state. 

Mr. Fortney took up his residence in Kingwood in 1874, and on 
June 3, 1879, was married to Alice Edna Godwin, daughter of Captain 
Joseph M. Godwin of Kingwood, and they have one son, L. Vernon, 


John Fortney was born in 1789. He was the son of Daniel, the 
original pioneer of that family so well and favorably known in Preston 
county. (See sketch of Judge Fortney.) His wife, Keziah Fortney, was 
born in 1792. Their children were: Elisha, born in 1813; Nancy, born 
in 181 5; Emily, born in 1817; Buckner. born in 1823; Charlotte, born 
in 1830; Thomas, born in 1835. 

The subject of this sketch was reared on the farm and has been a 
successful agriculturist all his life. He received a high school educa- 
tion under Martin R. O'Gorman, a college graduate educated for the 
priesthood in the Roman Catholic Church, and under that careful train- 
ing Mr. Fortney became both a successful teacher and superintendent 
of schools himself. He taught school twelve years, and in 1875 was 
elected county superintendent of schools. Subsequently he became 
president of the Board of Education, and his work as an educator 

Mr. Fortney also iilled other important offices in Preston county. 
In 1877, he was elected assessor of the West Side,, and re-elected for 
the next term. He was sent to the State Legislature subsequently, 
being elected a delegate in 1885. 

Mr. Fortney's record as a county and state official is a very credit- 
alble one, but he finds life on the farm more congenial to him. He is 
a great reader, a close student, and naturally retired in his habits. 

In 1887, Mr. Fortney was married to Christianna, daughter of 




Preston County, West Virginia 589 

William J. and Christianna Guseman Kelly, near Gladesville. (See 
sketch of the Kelley and Guseman families.) Her father was a farmer, 
and his children were Jerome, Albert, Jacob, John, Katherine, 
Christianna, Abraham, Elizabeth and Sarah. The children by this mar- 
riage are Carrie Welton, born in 1887. She married Orvill Rechtine 
and moved to Kentucky. R. Brook, born in 1893. has remained at home 
on the farm. 



The grandfather of Summers McCrum. Sr., came to Miflfiintown, 
Pa., from Ireland (Belfast) some time previous to the marriage of his 
son Robert (father to Summers, Sr.) to Anna Dailey, daughter of Jesse 
Dailey, born December 7, 1760, and his wife, Mary Turner, born April 

2, 1775, said Jesse Dailey being a son of Hugh, born 1711, and Eleonor 
O'Brien Dailey, born 1724. They left Belfast also, probably in the 
year 1760. though we have? no means of knowing how long they re- 
mained at the Isle of Wight, where Hugh Dailey died. Eleanor Dailey 
came to Fairfax county, Va., where her youngest son, Jesse, must 
have toeen born shortly after her arrival. iShe had at least one other 
child, John. They left Ireland on account of either political or religious 
troubles, proba'bly the latter, the family being Protestant. Jesse 
Dailey, father of Anna Dailey McCrum, was a Revolutionary soldier. 
The mother of Robert and grandmother of Summers McCrum, Sr., was 
a Miss Campbell of Scotland, a descendant of the clan of that name. 
There were three other sons besides Robert : William, who settled near 
Lexington! Va., John, and Michael. One perhaps settled in Ohio, the 
other in Pennsylvania. Robert lived and died at Beverly, Va., now 
West Virginia. He was born August 8, 1791, his wife, Anna, November 

3, 1794. He married Anna Dailey at Leesburg, Va., March 14 or 15, 
1816, and died at Beverly, Va., December 24, 1835. His wife married a 
second time a Mr. Taggart, and died at Centreville, Tyler county, W. 
Va., January 6, 1877, at the age of eighty-three. They had seven 
c'hildren, as follows: (i) Cornelia Ann, born January 6, 1817, married 
Adam Trainor, removed to Louisiana, Missouri, and died there leaving 
a family. (2) Mary Louisa, born January 25, 1819, married William 

590 Frestox County, West Virginia 

Jenks, removed to Savannah, 111., and died leaving one child, Alonzo 
Jenks. (3) Caroline Matilda Thayer, born January 25, 1821, and died 
in infancy. (4) Robert James William, born March 21, 1823, married 
Miss Lydia Wagner of West Union (now Aurora, W. Va.), removed 
to Louisiana, Missouri, and died leaving a large family. (5) 
Serena Hanks, born March i, 1825, married James Taggart, 
who died in Tyler county, W. Va., 1862, leaving her with 
several children. She died Felbruary 28, 1909; was married 
to Mr. Taggart in 1844. (6) Summers West McCrum, the 
youngest son of Robert and Anna McCrum, a sketch of whose life 
has already been given, as has also before been stated, was born Jan- 
uary 19, 1827, was married three times, and died February 10, 1905, at 
Aurora. (7) Adaline Ellen, last child of Robert and Anna McCrum. 
was born July 3, 1829, and died in infancy, at Beverly. The first wife 
of Summers McCrum, Sr., was Eliza Nicklin, daughter of Dr. Samuel 
Nicklin and Martha Thomas, and granddaughter of Dr. John 
Nicklin and Elizabeth Hough, the latter being a lineal descendant of 
John Clows, Richard Hough, Philip Taylor, Thomas Janney and 
Valentine Hollingsworth, Quakers of Penn's Colony. William Biles, 
another Quaker in some way connected with the family, though I do 
not think in the direct line of ancestry, was prominent in the colony as 
officer and preacher among the first settlers, as he appears to have 
taken up lands under Governor Andreas prior to Penn's grant. Valen- 
tine Hollingsworth was born about 1630 in Cheshire, England, and 
married Catherine Cornish, daughter of Henry Cornish, high sheriff 
of London. He was a member of the Society of Friends, and with 
his family came over with William Penn in 1682, and settled in New^ 
Castle county, now Delaware, and filled many prominent positions. 
He was member of the Assembly in 1683, 1687, 1688, 1695 and 1700; 
also judge of the different courts, superintendent of the Newark 
monthly meetings from 1686 to 1710, and they were generally held at 
his house. He was buried near his residence, on the east side of the 
Brandywine, in the Friends' burying ground, which he donated. The 
coat of arms of the family are on the old hall and church of the ancient 
home of the family in England. 

Thomas Janney, son of Thomas and Elizabeth Worthington Janney, 
was born at Styall, parish of Wilmshire, McCheslfield Hundred, county 
Cheshire, England, in 1633, baptized January 11. 1634, and came to 
America March 29, 1683, in "The Endeavor" of London. He was a 

■^7,17 rEVf ''^^'^ 

Preston County, West Virginia 591 

minister in the Society of Friends and had suffered imprisonments and 
fines in England on account of his belief. He was related by blood 
and marriage to the leading families of Penn's Colony and was Penn's 
intimate friend, as was shown by the letters written by Penn — many 
of which have been published. In writing back to America to James 
Harrison from Worminghurst, in 1684, the next day after his arrival, 
Penn sends love to seven friends, including Thomas Janney and 
William Yardley (Janney's brother-in-law), mentioning Janney on one 
or two other occasions — in one of which he says : "Much love to J. Sin- 
cock, Thomas Janney, William Yardley, and thyself especially. Glad 
that three such honest friends, whom I love in my heart, are in that 
station of service as yours, being the provincial judges. I know also 
that you are men of good understanding and friends to me, and my 
honest interest ; but I could have wished you an easier and better 
work." Thomas Janney died while on a visit to England, on the 12th 
of March, 1696, and was buried on the 15th in the Friends' burying 
ground at Moberly, in Cheshire, England, where his parents, daughter 
and other relatives had previously been buried. He had been a minister 
forty-two years and was sixty-three at the time of his death. He was 
married September 24, 1660. Philip Taylor was also a Friend and a 
member of Penn's colony. He lived at Tacony, Philadelphia county, 
but at his death his children sold his land and most of them removed 
to Bucks county. Pa. 

John Clows of Gosworth, Cheshire. England, and Margery, his wife, 
with their three children, Margery, Rebecca and William, and three 
servants, came to America in "The Endeavor" of London, July 29, 
1683. They had been preceded by three of their children — John, Jr., 
Joseph and Sarah — who came in "The Friends' Adventure," July 28, 
1682. He was a member of the Assembly, 1683 and 1684. He died 
July 4, 1687, and his wife Margery died February 2, 1698. 

Richard Hough of McChesfield, Cheshire county, England, came to 
Amercia in "The Endeavor" of London, July 29, 1^3. He was a mem- 
ber of Penn's colony and member of the Assembly, 1684, 1688, 1690, 1697 
and 1700, and again elected in 1703 and 1704. He was a member of the 
Provincial Council 1693 and 1700, took an active part in all public 
affairs, and was one of Penn's closest friends. He was drowned in the 
Delaware River on his way to Philadelphia, March 26, 1705. When 
Logan wrote the news of his death Penn wrote in reply: "London, 
7 mo., 14, 1705. I lament the death of honest Richard Hough. Such 
men must needs be wanted, where selfishness and forgetfulness of God's 

592 Pbeston County, West Vibgikia 

mercies so abound." The first marriage on the records of Falls Meet- 
ings is that of Richard Hough and Margery Clows. 

Line of descent of Eliza Nicklin from the Qaukers of Penn's colony: 

John Clows married Margery ; 2nd, Margery Clows married 

Richard Hough; (i) John Hough married Elizabeth Taylor; (2) John 
Hough married Sarah Janney; (3) John Hough married Lydia Hol- 
lingsworth. Elizabeth Hough married Dr. John Nicklin. 

Dr. Samuel Nicklin, born August 12, 1799, died March i, 1870, mar- 
ried Martha Thomas, who was born April 8, 1799, and died at the home 
of her daughter, at Aurora, West Virginia, July 10, 1882. 

Eliza Nicklin. daughter of Dr. Samuel Nicklin and Martha Thomas, 
his wife, married Summers MdCrum, Sr., May 15, 1851, in Tyler county, 
Virginia, died at Aurora, August 14, 1881. She was the mother of 
Page R., Lloyd L. and Alvin A. McCrum, and also of Mrs. Lillie M. 
Trotter of Washington, D. C. 

The second wife of Summers McCrum, Sr.. was Hattie T. Moore, 
born in Portland, Maine. Her father was a sea captain and was 
drowned while on a voyage, while she was an infant, the youngest of 
three children. On the death of her mother, soon after her father's 
death, she was adopted by a family by the name of Hale, of Massa- 
chusetts. Her first husband was a Mr. Barker, who was taken ill and 
died in hospital during the Civil War, soon after their marriage. 
She afterward married Mr. Hartnell of Colebrook, N. H., and after his 
death married Summers McCrum, Sr. She died August 26, 1893, after 
long suffering, having been a helpless invalid for several years. She 
left no children. 

The third wife of Summers McCrum, Sr., was Mary Dailey (Brown) 
MoCrum, his cousin, and a descendant, like himself, from Hugh and 
Eleanor Dailey of Belfast, Ireland. She was a daughter of Hugh Dailey 
(son of Jesse Dailey of Leesburg, Va.) and his wife Edith Butcher 
Dailey, and through her mother was a lineal descendant of John Hart, 
the Signer of the Declaration of Independence, having had six other 
ancestors who assisted in estaiblishing American Independence: (i) 
Edward Hart, son of John the Signer; (2) Moses Stout, Edward's father- 
in-law, both of New Jersey ; and (3) Jesse Dailey, (4) John Humphreys, 
(5) Thomas Drake, and (6) Samuel Butcher of Va., and beside this 
the fathers of John Hart and Samuel Butcher fought in the Colonial 
wars, both being officers. Her first husband was Bernard L. Brown 
of Beverly, Randolph county, who came to Beverly in the early forties 
of the 19th century. His ancestors came to Virginia as early as 1621, 




pSbuc library 

pRESTOK County, West Yirgikia S93 

and held important offices in the colony. They came from England, 
Wales and France. The Brown family removed from Hanover county, 
Virginia to Albemarle county as early as 1747, and entered lands on 
which a good many of their descendants still live. Bernard L. Brown 
and his wife Mary Dailey Brown were the parents of Mrs. Page R. 
McCrum, also Mrs. Archibald Earl of Fort Worth, Texas; Mrs. S. N. 
Bosworth of Beverly, West Virginia; Charles Bernard Brown of Clin- 
ton, Iowa; Mrs. E. A. Williamson, Cordova. Illinois, as well as Oscar 
L. Brown, Clarence Hugh Dailey Brown and Mrs. Alice Porter, the 
last three being dead. Bernard L. Brown died at Beverly, February 
10, 1868, at the age of fifty-two; she May 18, 1907, at the age of eighty- 
two — two years after Mr. McCrum's death. 

Since writing the above I have chanced to find in the family Bible, 
where Mr. McCrum has himself written, dates as follows : 

"Moved from Beverly, Randolph county, to Cheat River (near Holly 
Meadows — near Parsons, W. Va.) in 1838 or 1839. Moved from Cheat 
River, Randolph county, Va.. to West Union, Doddridge county, Va., 
May, 1845 J from there to Centreville, Tyler county, October, 1845, ^"^ 
I came to German Settlement, Va., now Aurora, Preston county, W. 
Va., in June, 1846." 


Arlington Bliss McCrum, son of Lloyd Logan and Emma Shaffer 
McCrum (see pages no. iri, 112, 503, 506 and 509 for the history of 
the Shafer family) is the junior partner of the well-known law firm 
of Crogan & McCrum, Kingwood, West Virginia. He is a graduate 
of the common schools of Preston county, of the graded schools and 
Central High School of Washington, D. C, and of the West Virginia 
University at Morgantown, from which last named institution he took 
the degrees of A. B. and LL. B. in the year 1901. After graduation 
from the University, Mr. McCrum took up his future abode in King- 
wood, becoming associated with Mr. P. J. Crogan in the practice of law 
from 1901 to 191 1. In 1912, a partnership was formed under the firm 
name of Crogan & MoCrum, a name already very generally known 
by the bar and business fraternity of West Virginia. 

Although a young man, Mr. McCrum was put in nomination by the 
Republican party of Preston county and elected a member of the House 

594 Peeston County, West Virginia 

of Delegates, where he served two terms in the State Legislature, from 
1906 to 1910. During his incumbency he was successively chairman 
of the Committee on Railroads and on Taxation and Finance. In 1912 
Mr. MoCrum was elected to the State Senate from the Fourteenth Dis- 
trict, which office he at this time holds. He was on the Judiciary Com- 
mittee as well as other important committees, 

Mr. Mc'Crum is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Knights of 
Pythias, Elks. Modern Woodmen, and member of the Phi Kappa Sigma 
college fraternity. He was twice Master of Preston Lodge, No. 90, 
A. F. & A. M., and once Chancellor Commander of Brown Lodge, No. 
312, K. of P. Mr. McCrum is one of the directors of the Bank of King- 
wood, also The People's National Bank, of Rowlesburg, W. Va. The 
record made by Mr. MoCrum is a brilliant one so far, and not yet fairly 


Samuel Beauregard Montgomery, noted for his brilliant record as a 
legislator and political economist, was born on May 15, 1876, in the 
Digman homestead, Laurel Creek, Bafbour county, West Virginia. 
He was a son of Adam and Susan Digman Montgomery, being the 
descendant of a family which for four generations has lived amongst 
the hills of West Virginia. Their earliest known ancestor was one 
Roger de Montgomerie. a Norman, who came over to England with 
William the Conqueror, and settled in Ireland where he was given a 
large grant of land by the king and made an esquire. 

Roger's descendants longed for the freedom of the New World, 
and in 1729 there landed at the port of Philadelphia two brothers, one 
of whom settled in Baltimore and from whom sprang the West Vir- 
ginia branch of the family. 

In 1861, when the war broke out and the call for volunteers went 
ringing over the country, the Montgomery family eagerly responded 
and Company H, 7th West Virginia Volunteer Infantry, was formed, 
with John Montgomery its captain, and his kinsmen, Adam, Samuel 
and Asibury — the latter also an officer — as members. With their regi- 
ment they saw service in many engagements, in addition to the battles 
of Antietam, Fredericksburg^ Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, and the 
Battle of the Wilderness. That regiment- famous as "The Fighting 






^.rrrr DAT IONS' 

Preston County, West Virginu 595 

Seventh," returned home depleted of many brave men, among whom 
was Asbury Montgomery, who fell at the battle of Antietam, and wher 
Adam Montgomery was desperately wounded, and by reason of which 
he received an honorable discharge, having been slightly wounded in 
two other engagements. 

Previous to the war, Adam Montgomery was a man of perfect 
health, skilled in the games and pastimes of that day, but in conse- 
quence of his service for his country he became a great sufferer, having^ 
hemorrhages of the lungs which fendered him gradually unfit for any 
active employment. He died on May 15, 1889, in his forty-fourth year. 
While unable to bequeath worldly wealth to his children he yet left 
them a more precious and lasting heritage — the wealth of an honorable 
name, integrity of purpose, lofty ideals and high principles. 

On December 11, 1863. Mr. Montgomery married Susan Digman, 
descended also from sturdy mountain stock — a woman of sweet and 
gentle disposition but strong character, a 'fitting helpmate for a man 
who is still remem'bered by the older inhabitants of Preston and Bar- 
bour counties as one having a personality of great charm, deepened and 
softened by years of suffering. 

Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery were, after their marriage, first members 
of thef Dunkard Church, and later at Newburg they became members 
of the Metlipdist Protestant Church. 

They had eleven children : John, Sarah, Sophronia, Nancy, Mary, 
Samuel, Berta, William, and three" who died in infancy. v 

iSamuel. the sixth child, whose life very fully exe'mplifies a strenuous 
career had the good fortune, perhaps, to be born in humble surround- 
ings, making necessary a hard struggle for the maintenance of a mere 
physical existence. It might not have been so easy for him to have 
attained the enviable position he now holds as a rising West Virginian 
and he may not have been so well equipped to fight the battles of the 
weak and ffail or had so practical an understanding of the daily grind 
of the wage earner had his early life been one of plenty instead of 

At the age of eight years he sold papers before school, and after 
school ran errands and did other odd jobs. At thirteen years of age 
his father died and thefn life began in earnest, for school had to be 
given up and every day devoted toward the support of his mother and 
the smaller memibers of the family. 

It was during this period that he was first employed on publiq 
works, as coke drawer with his elder brother in the yards of the New- 

596 Preston County, West Virginia 

burg Orrel Coal & Coke Company, and again as coke drawer, day 
laborer on the tipple, boss of a gang of Italians and mule driver with 
the Monongah Coal & Coke Company, which was afterwards merged 
into the Fairmont Coal Company, and now the Consolidated Coal 

Here it was that Mr. Montgomery received his first instruction in 
the hardships of the miners for whom his after life was spent in an 
effort to better their conditions, and at this time he joined his first 
labor union. The United Mine Workers of America, in 1895. 

In 1896 the young man was employed by the Baltimore and Ohio 
Railroad Company as a brakesman on the Parkersburg Branch, and 
later on the Cumberland Division, but a long and severe attack of 
typhoid-pneumania deprived him of his position, and the next step was 
an attendant at the Second Hospital for the Insane at Spencer. Pro- 
motion followed until he became night watchman at that institution. 

When Mr. Montgomery was not yet of age, in 1896, he made his 
first speech in favor of William McKinley for President. This speech 
was made in the historic town of Evansville, and so well did he succeed 
that he became in demand as a campaign speaker in that section of the 

In 1898 he was delegate to the Roane County Republican Conven- 
tion, and supported the candidacy of Governor John Wesley Atkinson 
for the United States Senate, and in the fall he campaigned over the 
county in behalf of General Romeo H. Freer and the Republican ticket. 
Returning to Preston county in 1899, he located at Tunnelton, and 
in 1900 was elected a delegate to the Republican State Convention. 
That fall he campaigned in Lewis, Taylor and other counties, and in 
the election was made justice of the peace for Kingwood district. In 
1902 he was elected Mayor of Tunnelton and again served in that 
capacity in the years 1903 and 1908. In 1905-6 he served on the Town 
Council. In 1903, having been appointed postmaster by President 
Roosevelt, he resigned as justice. 

In 1904, Mr. Montgomery was a candidate for the nomination as 
State Senator in the Fourteenth District, comprising the counties of 
Preston, Tucker, Mineral, Grant and Hardy, and although opposed by 
the county, state and federal machine of his party, he was nominated and 
elected by a large majority, running ahead of the Presidential ticket. 
Mr. Montgomery also did his share of the work in the campaign of 
1904, speaking in Tucker, Mineral, Grant and Preston counties, and 
campaigned in Monongalia and other counties in 1906. 

Peeston County, West Virginia S97 

In 1908, Senator Montgomery was again placed in nomination for 
the Senate, but because of his activities while in the Legislature, when 
he voted for the two-cent rate law. the eight-hour telegraphers' law, 
and for the submission of the Prohibition amendment, and was a fear- 
less exponent of all reform and labor measures, the railroad and coal 
companies and other interests combined to drive him out of public life. 
That year he was again a delegate to the Republican State Convention 
and helped to write the platform of his party. 

The following December, Theodore Roosevelt appointed him a 
Special Agent in the Department of Commerce and Labor. Later he 
was promoted to Chief Special Agent, which position he held until 
he resigned to take up the study of law and labor problems at the 
West Virginia University. 

In 1912 he was elected by acclamation a Delegate at Large to the 
Repuiblican National Convention at Chicago. As early as September, 
1910, he declared in favor of the nomination of Theodore Roosevelt, 
and steadfastly supported Col. Roosevelt in the Convention. The West 
Virginia delegation selected him to represent the state on the platform 
committee, and with Governor Arthur T. Hadley of Missouri, George 
A. Knight of California, and William Draper Lewis of Pennsylvania, 
he contested with the reactionaries in control of the committee, and 
attempted to have adopted the progressive program that was later 
written into the Progressive Party Platform. 

On July 20, 1912, he was elected chairman of the Republican Execu- 
tive Committee of Preston County. Announcing his unalterable pur- 
pose to support Theodore Roosevelt for the Presidency, he turned the 
conduct of the campaign over to the secretary of the committee — an 
adherent of Mr. Taft — and both by pen and voice vigorously cham- 
pioned the cause of Col. Roosevelt. 

As a legislator. Senator Montgomery made a good record. Through 
hi;s untiring efforts many laws were enacted which made his state richer 
and the government better. The well known "Montgomery Statutory 
Attorney Bill," which directed the fees of foreign corporations from 
the Secretary of State to the State Treasury, saves not less than 
twenty thousand dollars annually to the state. It was hard fought 
and was only made a law by the combined votes of the Republican and 
Democratic insurgent members of the Senate. 

He also fathered "the Corrupt Practices in Elections Act" and 
fought it to victory over the protest of the "bosses." He framed and 

598 . Preston County, West Virginia 

succeeded in having a bill passed to prevent trespass "by cutting 
timber lands without the consent of the owners of the property. This 
measure was opposed by railroad and other corporations. 

He voted for the submission of the Prohibition Amendment and 
introduced and battled through both branches of the legislature, backed 
by the Protestant ministerial associations of the state, the bill known 
as the "Sunday Closing Act," being the most drastic anti-liquor law 
that had ever passed the legislature up to that time. 

He also voted for an amendment to the license law prohibiting the 
shipment of liquor from wet counties into dry counties. 

Senator Montgomery, called the "Silver-tongued Insurgent" because 
of his ready command of English and ibrilliant diction, raised his voice 
in earnest protest against the "Guard System" around which had grown 
up the "coal police." He warned the senate at that time that a gravtf 
error was being committed and that dire disaster would follow. Four 
years later his prediction proved to be a correct one for the "System" 
had grown so vicious and un-American that the miners in despair 
revolted with a consequent result of loss of life. Martial law was 
declared and it cost the state more than five thousand dollars in a 
vain effort to restore peace. 

Other bills which owe in great part their passage to the activity of 
Senator Montgomery, are one against the sale of narcotic drugs; one 
to raise the salary of school teachers ; and another important measure to 
prevent minors, male and female, under the age of fourteen years, work- 
ing in factories and mines during the free school term. 

He voted for a state-wide primary election law and was the only 
Refpublican member of the Senate who voted for the Initiative, Refer- 
endum, and Recall. In 1905 and again in 1907 he led the fight on the 
iioor of the senate to place a production tax on oil and gas, and was 
one of two Republican members who appealed to the senate both in 
1905 and 1907 to submit an amendment to the constitution granting to 
women the right to vote. 

He served on the following committees, Mines and Mining, and 
Labor, and was called by the president to preside over the senate both 
at the regular session of 1907 and at the extra session of 1908. 

On October 10, 1912, he was elected permanent chairman of the 
Citizens' Organization of West Virginia, a sociological survey, which 
was organized in the Hall of the House of Delegates as a result of the 
coal miners' strike on Paint and Cabin Creeks. 

Preston Countt, West Virginu 599 

As "chairman of the Citizens' Organization, Senator Montgomery 
went before the people of the state in the fall election of 1912 and 
declared for the abolishment of the mine guard system ; the abolishment 
of child labor; a workmen's compensation law. legislation prohibiting 
water power monopoly, state pensions for widowed mothers who arc 
destitute, initiative, referendum, and recall, the legal right of miners to 
belong to a labor union. At the following session of the legislature the 
odious mine guard system was abolished; a workmen's compensation 
law was enacted. Proposed amendments to the constitution providing 
for the establishment of the minimum wage, the initiative, referendum, 
and recall, and state pensions for widowed mothers, were defeated on 
close votes. The legal right of a miner to belong to a labor union was 
recognized by the state government and a law greatly restricting the 
granting of water power franchises was enacted. 

Senator Montgomery has been active in fraternal circles. On 
November 26, 1901, he joined the Order of the Knights of Pythias, 
being a charter member of McKinley Lodge No. 135, Tunnelton. In 
the following month he was made Outer Guard and continued to 
advance until he reached the summit of Pythian distinction when at 
Elkins, on September 15, 1910, he was installed as Grand Chancellor. 
His record as Executive was so brilliant that he was elected Grand 
Keeper of Records and Seal at Wheeling, August 18, 191 1, which 
position he now holds. 

He is also an active member of Kingwood Lodge No. 107. 1. O. 
O. F., a member of the Woodmen of the World, of Invincible Council 
No. 147, Jr. O. U. A. M, of Tunnelton, and of Shiraz Temple No. 29, 
D. O. K. K. of Charleston. He is also serving his third term as Vice- 
President of the Laymen's Association of the West Virginia Conference 
of the 'Methodist Episcopal Church of Oakland District; is a member 
of the Board of Stewards of the General Conference of West Virginia, 
and among the Societies which claim him as a memiber are the American 
Academy of Social and Political Science of Philadelphia; the Southern 
Sociological Congress of Nashville; the National Conservation Con- 
gress, the National Geographic Society, Washington, D. C. ; the Citi- 
zens' Organization, the Progressive Club of Chicago, and the Beta: 
Theta Pi Chapter, West Virginia University. 

A man of magnetic personality, Mr. Montgomery commands the 
immediate attention of those who first come into his presence, an^ 
nowhere is this so apparent as when he appears on the speakers' plat- 

600 Preston County, West Virginia 

form. He is noted throughout his state as a Ibrilliant political and 
fraternal speaker. A gifted orator, he has become a power upon the 
platform, having a rare command of the English language and speaking 
with a diction as fluent as it is perfect in style. 

His address on "West Virginia and Its Future", delivered before the 
West Virginia Editorial Association, and his discourse on the writ of 
injunction and the right of free speech before the West Virginia Feder- 
ation of Labor, also his lecture on John Wesley, are among the pu'blic 
utterances that have attracted wide and favorable comment. 

On February 29, 1896, Senator Montgomery married Miss Grace 
K. Orr, a daughter of Major and Mrs. U. N. Orr, of Kingwood. See 
history of the Orr family. Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery have two children, 
William Newton, born July 8, 1900, and Mary Susan, born November 
10, 1902. Their firstborn, Orville Orr, died in infancy, 

Mrs. Montgomery has proven herself a very efficient aid to her 
husband. At the time of his resignation as postmaster at Tunnelton, 
Mrs. Montgomery succeeded him in the office and most successfully 
discharged the duties of that position. Since then she has assisted him 
ably in the .pffice of Grand Keeper of Records and Seal. Mr. Mont- 
gomery speaks of her in one of his most eloquent passages as "my 
helpmate- the indulgent sovereign who finds much to commend and 
shares in a work which has divided with her the allegiance of her 
willing subject." 


The history of the Monroe family is distinctive. From the first' 
nobleman of the Monroes, the record is replete with barons, and great 
generals, of both Irish, Scotch and English history. The first of whom 
mention has been made was Donald, son of Occaon Ro, a nobleman in 
the County of Derry, Ireland, who went to Scotland with his forces to 
the assistance of King Malcolm II. That was in a war waged against 
the Danes. In this contest Donald rendered great service to the Scottish 
King, for which lands east of Dingwall were given to him, called Ferrin- 
Donald — i. e. Donald's lands, and he was called Donald Bonro in respect 
of his father's residence on the waters of Ro, Ireland. Afterwards by 
the change of the letter "B" into "M", his descendants were called 
Monroe." They also got other lands in Scotland, which they called 
Fowlis, from a place in Ireland called Lock Fowl. 




Preston County, West Virginia 601 

From the above Donald, son of Occaon, were descended a long 
list of barons, of whom Sir George IX, baron, was slain at the battle of 
Bannockburn, in 1314; Robert the XVIII, Baron, fought for Mary 
Queen of Scots and died in 1588. Robert the XIX, was the first Protes- 
tant of his family, and was called the Black Baron, During the i6th 
and 17th centuries, the Monroes of Great Britain were firm defenders 
of the Protestant religion. Colonel William Monroe, of Lexington, 
speaking of the bravery of the Monroes in the Revolutionary War, 
said,. "No wonder, they have Irish, Scotch and Yankee blood in them." 
(iSee history of Dr. Doddridge as an appendix to the life of Colonel 
Gardner, also Locke's History of the Monroe family, where it is stated 
that one', William Monroe, is presumed to have been a member of that 
Company who was taken prisoner in the battle of Worcester, England, 
which was fought by King Charles, who commanded the Scots on the 
side and by Cromwell on the other, in 1652.) 

Tradition has it that "Peggy" Long came from Scotland with a 
Presbyterian minister to Virginia in 17 — . Soon after, or about that 

time, Monroe left Scotland, ostensibly for the purpose of 

marrying "Peggy" Long, as there appeared to be some legal barrier 
in Scotland. They were afterward married. This is supposed to be 
the origin of the Monroe family in America. 

The first authentic record is of George, John, James, Mollie, and 
Alexander; George lived in Eastern Virginia; John, a Baptist preacher 
and physician, lived on Big Capon, Virginia, and died there. Alexander 
went to Kentucky, probably Hamilton County, James settled near 
Slane's Cross Roads in Hampshire County, probably in 1780, and mar- 
ried Malinda Suttle. The following children were born: John, Alex- 
ander, William, Robert, and Elizabeth. James Monroe died about 1820. 
Robert, son of James and Malinda Suttle, born April 26, 1796; 
married Elizabeth Simpkins, daughter of Gossage and Eleanor Simp- 
kins, March 20, 1817. The following children were born: 

Alexander, born December 29, 1817, 

Eleanor, August 25, 1819, \ 

Augustine, October 9, 1820, 

Malinda, August 5, 1823, 

James, May 25, 1825, 

John Walker, June 6, 1828, 

David Marion, April 7, 1830, 

Sarah Ann, June 12, 1832, 

Rdbert William, February 13, 1834. 

502 Preston County, West Virginia 

Robert William Monroe — youngest son of Ro^bert and Elizabeth 
Simpkins Monroe— was born near "Slane's Cross Roads" in Hampshire 
County, Virginia, February 13, 1834; his mother died when he was 
about four years old ; he came to Harrison County with his older brother 
about 1850. He taught school in Harrison County until about the age 
of twenty years, when he came to Independence, Preston County, — 
taught school and practised land surveying. He was married to Caroline 
Norissa Fortney, daughter of David and Angelina Fortney, April 23, 
i860. Eight children were born of this union, four of whom are now 
living; viz: Mollie Shannon, wife of C. Jerome Menear; Julius Kemble; 
Isa Waters; and William Wright. While residing at Independence he 
studied law and was admitted to the Bar, March 3, 1873. He removed to 
Kingwood in June, 1876, and engaged in the practise of law in Preston 
and adjoining counties until his death, June 15, 1907. 

The West Virginia Argus when speaking of Colonel Monroe at 
the time of his death said : "Of Colonel Monroe it may be truthfully 
said that he was one of God's nobleman within the full meaning of 
that term or expression. He was equipped with a splendid mental 
capacity, and had a mind stored with an accumulation of all that belongs 
to the highest education in the profession he adopted as his life's work. 
He had a commanding presence; was a strong and forceful debater, 
always maintaining that courteous and gentle bearing which marks the 
true gentleman ; and he won the hearts of all with whom he came in 
contact, both in business and on the social side of life. 

"He never allowed himself to be governed or swayed in the least 
degree by anything other than that which appealed to the highest and 
best conception of Justice and Equity. His integrity was unassailable. 
He was public spirited, and always active in the promotion of any and 
all enterprises and movements calculated to produce the greatest 
good to the community; and was always trusted as among the wisest 
and safest of counsellors in public affairs. A most generous and kindly 
spirit pervaded and was a part of every act of his life, both public 
and private. 

"It has been said that no man was ever successful without making 
more or less enemies in the struggle of life, but it is doubtful if any 
man, within the knowledge of those who knew Colonel Monroe, ever 
attained the prominence and was as widely known as he, who ever 
passed to the "great bevond" leaving as few who bore him ill-will as 
he did." 

Preston County, West Virginia 603 

Julius Kemble Monroe, subject of this sketch, son of Robert William 
and Caroline Norissa Monroe, was born near Evansville, in Preston 
County, West Virginia, August nth, 1864. Removed to Independence, 
Preston County, in 1870 or 187 1. Resided there until June, 1876, when 
he removed with family to Kingwood, where he has lived until the 
present time. 

Attended common schools until about sixteen years of age. Began 
study and practice of land surveying about this time. Studied teleg- 
raphy. Assisted in the organization of the Kingwood and Cranberry 
Telegraph and Telephone Company in the early 8o's, which constructed 
and operated h telegraph line between Kingwood and Cranberry Sum- 
mit (now Terra Alta). Was operator in conjunction with John M. 
Crane at the Kingwood office until about 1883, when he went to Oak- 
land, Maryland, as private operator and clerk at the "Glades Hotel." 
In fall of 1884 was transferred to Altamont, Garrett County, Maryland,* 
as Baltimore & Ohio Railroad operator; and later, upon completion of 
ne\v_ B. & O. station at Oakland, was transferred to that place as 
operator and ticket agent. Resigned this position early in 1885 and 
returned to Kingwood and resumed practice of land surveying and* 
engineering. In 1887 retraced and laid out center line of the Tunnelton, 
Kingwood & Fkirchance Railway, the narrow gauge railroad then being 
constructed from Tunnelton to Kingwood (now West Virginia Northern 
Railroad) ; and later, upon its completion, was for a time agent and 
operator for this railroad at Kingwood. 

Was married to Jennie L., daughter of Daniel R. Jackson- Septem- 
ber 15th, 1887, (Died 1892). 

Resumed practice of land surveying and engineering and later 
clerked in D. R. Jackson's general store until latter part of year 1888. 
Served as Deputy under Daniel R. Jackson, Sheriff, during his term 

Was twice elected Grand Chief Templar of the State of West 
Virginia I. O. G. T. Engaged in general hardware business in King- 
wood for several years, first with W. H. Murdock under firm name of 
W. H. Murdock & Company. Later with George A. Walls, under trade 
name of Monroe & Walls ; and with D. R. Jackson, as Monroe & 

Married Minnie Chaloner, daughter of John T. and Minerva Jane 
Neflf, November 25th, 1893. 

Was appointed "Engineer on behalf of the State" in the famous 
boundary line dispute between Maryland and West Virginia. Made 

^4 Preston County, West Virginia 

all the surveys and maps in connection with this controversy for the 
State of Wsst Virginia, until the case was finally submitted to the 
Supreme Court of the United States. In 1910 the Court handed down 
its opinion in which it held that the *'01d State" or "Deakins Line" as 
claimed by the State of West Virginia was the true 'boundary, and 
appointed Julius K. Monroe, (West Virginia) M. McCulloh Brown. 
(Maryland) and Samuel S. Gannett of the United 'States Geological 
Survey, Commissioners to lay out upon the ground, and mark with 
suitable monuments, the "Old State" or "Deakins Line." This work 
was performed hy the three Commissioners during the years 1910 and 
1911, and later the Supreme Court entered a final decree establishing 
the line so laid out and marked as the "boundary between the States of 
Maryland and West Virginia forever" — thus settling a controversy 
which had existed for more than a century. 

Served several terms as Councilman and Mayor of the Town of 
Kingwood. Charter member of the Masonic and Knights of Pythias 
Lodges in Kingwood. 

Was appointed by Governor Albert B. White, Engineer in charge of 
the surveys of Marion, Monongalia, and Wetzel Counties to determine 
accurately their areas, with a view to creating a new County (Augusta) 
out of a portion of each. This work was only partially completed on 
account of failure to provide funds. 

In 1904, after making preliminary surveys and a report, was appointed 
Chief Engineer of the Morgantown & Kingwood Railroad, and made 
all the surveys and ifinal location for extension of thirty miles from 
Bretz to Rowlesburg. Let contracts and was in charge of its construc- 
tion until completed in 1907, at a cost of three quarters of a million 
dollars. Continued in active charge of engineering department of this 
railroad until 191 1. 

In fall of 1912 accepted (present) position with American Water 
Works and Guarantee Company of Pittsburgs. Pennsylvania, later 
Hydro-Electric Company of West Virginia, as Resident Engineer in 
charge of "Big Sandy Development" in Preston County, West Virginia. 


I reliably trace my ancestry back eight generations to Focken Jansz, 
who sailed from Reymen, in the Province of Drenthe, Holland, landing 
in what is now New York City, April 15, 1660. His family consisted 




PUBLIC 11^^^^^ 


Preston County, West Virginia 605 

of a wife and seven children, the oldest nineteen and the youngest a 
nursing babe. After a time the family settled in Dutchess County, New 
York. The records of the Holland Society, of New York, from which 
part of this family record was obtained, state that the children of the 
Dutch ancestor. Focken Jansz, assumed the name "Heermans," either 
because it was the surname of a maternal ancestor, or because it was 
more easily spelled and pronounced than the original. 

Jan (John) Focken Heermans was the third child of Focken Jansz, 
and the one through whom our branch of the afmily descended, so this 
is our lineage from 1660: 

First: Focken Jansz, 

Second : Jan (John) Focken Heermans. 

Third: Andries Heermans. 

Fourth : Jacob Heermans. 

Fifth : John Heermans. 

Sixth : Philip Heermans. 

Seventh : John Heermans. 

Eighth : Francis Heermans. 
Second: The children of Jan (John) Heermans were seven: (i) 
John; (2) Focken; (3) Hendrick; (4) Greitje; (5) Andries (third in our 
line); (6) Phillipus; and (7) Pieter. Each child in its infancy was 
baptized into the Dutch church. Jan (John) Heermans married a 
second time, in 1692, Elizabeth Blanshan, daughter of Mathew Blanshan, 
and widow of Peter Cornelius Low. 

Third : Andries Heermans married Neeltje, daughter of Gerrit and 
Clara Aartson. To them were born fourteen children, the third of 
whom, Jacob, was fourth in our line. 

Fourth : Jacob 'Heermans. married at Kingston, New York, Jan- 
uary 29, 1748, Catherine Vosburg; he was elected an elder of the Red 
Hook, Dutchess County Church, April 22, 1769. Their children were 
five : Cornelia, John, Jacob, Martin and Dorthea — the second one, John, 
being fifth in our line. 

Fifth: John Heermans married at New Hackensack, Dutchess 
December 4, 1779, Catherine Griffin of Rombouts. Their children were 
five: Maria, born July 5, 1781 ; Philip (my grandfather), born April 18, 
17^5 > John, born January 28, 1788 (this John was captain of a company 
that served in the War of 1812) ; Henry, born June 27, 1791 : and Clara, 
no date of her birth ascertained. John Heermans, with his sons, Philip 

006 Preston County, West Virginia 

and Henry, removed from Dutchess county, New York, to Hyde Park, 
Pennsylvania, now within the limits of the city of Scranton. 

Sixth : Philip Heermans (my grandfather) married June lo, 1808, 
Mary Fellows, who came with her father's family from England soon 
after the close of the Revolutionary War. 'Note: Up to this marriage 
the line of descent had remained purely Dutch, but the children of this 
union were Dutch-English.) They settled at Hyde Park, now Scranton, 
Pennsylvania. To them ten children were 'born: (i) Sylvanus, born 
June 4, 1810; (2) Elizabeth, born May 21, 1812; (3) John (my father), 
born at Hyde Park, Pennsylvania, March '3^, 1814; (4) Edmonds, born 
at Hyde Park, Pennsylvania, April 6, 1816; (5) Phebe, born July 4, 
1818, still living at her home in Chemung, New York, with her two 
daughters, Josephine and Catherine; (6) Sarah, born May 23, 1820; (7) 
Philena, born April 6, 1822; (8) Mary, born March 20, 1824; (9) 
Catherine, born July 19, 1826, still living, at the home of her daughter, 
Harriet, in Norwalk, California ; (10) Philip, born February 24, 1828. 


John Heermans, my father, was brought up in Hyde Park, Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania. He learned the trade of blacksmith with his 
older brother, Sylvanus, and followed it for a time, but books and edu- 
cational work lured him from the anvil to the school room, so he became 
a teacher in the public schools, where he successfully worked until his 
marriage. In the the meantime, there came to Hyde Park, from Fair- 
field county, Connecticut, the family of Henry Pepper, consisting of his 
wife, Electa, two children, Mary and Wanzer; also the father and 
mother of Electa Pepper, Gideon Wanzer and Susanna Wanzer. Mary 
Pepper, black-eyed and handsome, was a pupil in the young man's 
school, and soon became his sweetheart, and they were married Feb- 
ruary 19, 1834. Soon after the marriage he returned to the anvil and 
for several years pursued ^profitably his trade as a blacksmith. In 1842, 
he removed to Ottawa, Illinois, but because of sickness in the family, 
tarried but a year, returning East to Rush, Susquehanna county Pennsyl- 
vania, where he engaged in the mercantile and lumber manufacturing 
business. On the 8th of June, 1847, Mary, the wife of his youth, died. 
He settled his business affairs at Rush, and in 1848 went with his 

Preston County^ West Virginia 607 

brother, Sylvanus, to Preston county, Virginia (now West Virginia) ; 
later he returned to Abington, Pennsylvania, and married Nancy Travis, 
whose parents were friends and neighbors of the Heermans family. 
In 1849, he, with his family, removed to Fellowsville, Virginia, the lo- 
cation selected on his former visit in 1848. There he engaged in busi- 
ness as a country merchant until 1862, when he went to Bath, New 
York, as a confidential clerk and business manager for his uncle, Joseph 
Fellows, and when the latter removed to Corning, a few years later, 
he continued in his employ and removed there with his family. The 
following is part of a sketch which appeared in the "Corning Journal," 
dated January 26, 1882: 

**Mr. John Heermans died at his residence in Corning, on Monday, 
January 23, 1882. The fact of his alarming illness was not known 
generally until Monday morning, and the announcement that he could 
not survive the day produced a painful shock in this city. He was 
one of the most prominent and influential citizens of Corning and had 
been seventeen years a resident. He was conspicuous for his zeal, liber- 
ality and services as an advocate of temperance. He made a strong 
and persistent effort to secure a temperance Board of Excise, and when 
it was defeated he was not discouraged, but sought to correct public 
sentiment by all fair and practical means. He believed in legal enact- 
ments to prohibit the manufacture and sale of alcoholic liquors. He 
was a zealous and consistent member of the Republican party, seek- 
ipg no personal advantage for himself or friends. He did much as a 
regular or an ocqasional writer on political topics. When the War be- 
gan he was in West Virginia, and he volunteered to edit a weekly news- 
paper to stem the tide of secession ; he went to Wheeling, and for some 
time edited a daily newspaper, making earnest efforts on behalf of the 
Union. Even in the loyal states there were many who denied 
the constitutional right to suppress the Rebellion by force of arms. 
A $200 prize essay was called for to demonstrate this power of the 
Government, and eminent men at Washington were the committee. Mr. 
Heermans wrote an essay which was awarded the prize. After his 
removal to Corning he frequently contributed political articles to the 
'*Corning Journal" and the "Elmira Advertiser." He also wrote for 
this paper a series of articles for the benefit of young men; these were 
later published in a book, under the title, "Nuggets of Gold." One of 
the most powerful articles in favor of a protective tariff that we ever 
read was the one that he published in the "New York Tribune." Horace 

608 Preston County, West Virginia 

Greeley never wrote a more concise, comprehensive and conclusive argu- 
ment in favor of protecting American industry. 

"In Octolber, 1868, he was appointed by his uncle, Joseph Fellows, 
trustee of his large estate, which position he held until the estate was 
successfully administered according to the terms of the deed of trust. 

"He has closed a busy life of great and varied responsibilities. He 
was a Christian, whose life exemplified the teachings of the Master, in 
that he loved his fellow men; was a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. In his family he was kind, gentle, and yet firm, and his 
children are greatly indebted to him for their self-reliance, and whatever 
success they have attained." 

This family record would be incomplete without a reference to my 
maternal ancestry. My mother, Mary Pepper, was a lineal descendant 
of Robert Pepper, who settled in Hartford, Connecticut, in 1643 ; she 
was born in New Fainfield, Connecticut, as were her mother. Electa 
Wanzer, and her grandparents, Gideon Wanzer and Susanna (Darrow) 
Wanzer. It is certain that at least four generations preceding them 
were also natives of 'Connecticut. A letter written by Mr. E. A. Jones 
(whose wife was a Pepper) of Hartford to my brother, George Heer- 
mans, dated July 30, 1897, says: "There is one thing of which I am 
proud, and that is, the Pepper family can say they are true Americans, 
as their first ancestor of whom they have knowledge, Robert Pepper, 
came here in 1643, whence we know not." From Robert Pepper to the 
birth of John Pepper, in 1699, we are unable to trace accurately our 
'lineage, because of the destruction by fire of the records in the public 
offices in New Fairfield and Sherman. That this record may be abso- 
lutely correct, we begin with : 

1. John Pepper, born in Killingly, Connecticut, in 1699. 

2. Stephen Pepper, born in Fairfield county, in 1726. 

3. Dan Pepper, born in Fajrfield county, in 1761. 

4. Henry Pepper (my grandfather), born in New Fairfield, Con- 

necticut, January 11, 1792. 

5. Mary Pepper (my mother), born January 2^, 1816. 

To John Heermans and his wife, Mary (Pepper) Heermans, were 
born five children : 

1. Francis, born at Hyde Park, Pennsylvania, March 24, 1836. 

2. George, born at Hyde Park, May 29, 1838. 

3. Philip Henry, born at Hyde Park, May 7, 1840. 

4. Mary Electa, born at Ottawa, Illinois, February I, 1843. 

5. Florilla, born at Rush, Pennsylvania, April 2, 1847. 

Preston County, West Virginu 609 

To John Heermans and his second wife, Nancy (Travis) Hecrmans, 
were born five children : 

1. Alice Bell Virginia, born in Fellowsvilie, West Virginia, June 

i8, 1850. 

2. Harry Clay, born in Fellowsvilie, June 3, 1852. 

3. Clinton, born in Fellowsvilie, July 10, 1855. 

4. Leonora C, born in Corning, New York, November 18, 1870. 

5. John, Jr., born in Corning, June 6, 1873. 

I was eleven years of agef when my mother died, but pleasant 
memories cluster about the home where her tender administrations and 
motherly devotion to her children in affectionate co-operation with 
the father, inspired a mutual love that continued with us in later years. 

The second mother, though young when she came into the family, 
had learned the art of good housekeeping, and proved herself to be a 
good homemaker. We older children (the boys) soon went from the 
home, one by one, to take upon ourselves, in the business world, such 
duties and obligations as, when faithfully performed, promote character- 
building and good citizenship. We always met a cordial welcome on 
our frequent visits to the home. The family, except myself, removed 
to Bath, New York, in 1862. As I am the only member of the Heer- 
mans family in Preston county now living, and have resided continuously 
therein for more than sixty-three years, I have written the following 
brief sketch concerning myself, simply a record of facts connected with 
my life as a plain, unassuming citizen ; and if my conduct and reason- 
able success in life should seem to have been in any measure meritorious, 
I share the credit with those who have lovingly presided in my home 
and whose companionship has proved a constant inspiration to high 
ideals. To have lived and mingled with the good people of Preston in 
a business and social way for all these years has been a constant source 
of pleasure, for which I have endeavored to show my appreciation. 

I was born at Hyde Park, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, March 
24, 1836; came to Preston county, Virginia, in April, 1849, worked on 
a farm near Brandonville for a year, and then went with my father's 
family to Greigsville, then the largest town in the county, but which 
rapidly declined to a mere hamlet on the completion of the railway 
tunnel through the hill. In the spring of 1851, the family removed to 
Fellowsvilie, removing the store there also, of which my father had 
charge. There he continued the business, in which I assisted in such 
part as would fall to the boy's lot to perform. On the 20th of October 

610 Preston County, West Virginia 

of that year I entered the employ of Mr. James C. McGrew, at King- 
wood, as second clerk in his store and "boy of all work," remaining 
until 1854. I consider these three years of service to have been of 
great value to me, not in money return, for the wages were very low, but 
in the training and e'xperience received at the hands of so thorough, 
methodical and strictly honest business man as was Mr. McGrew. I owe 
much to his good wife, whose kind, motherly treatment towards me. 
and the purity of her Christian life, inspired me to do my best. In 
1854, I went to Fellowsville to take charge of a store at an increased 
salary, whereby, in the practice of economy, I was able to save a por- 
tion of my earnings. In 1858, I purchased the business from my em- 
ployer (Joseph Fellows), paying down what had been saved during four 
years of service, and gave my notes payable in annual instalments with 
interest, for the balance. To a young man with but a few hundred 
dollars saved, this debt ($7,000) seemed enormous, but I had faith 
in myself, a willingness to work, a determination to succeed. The 
business prospered, and shortly before the maturity of the last instal- 
ment, payment was made and I found myself the owner of a profitable 

On the 20th of August, 1857, I was married to Mary Jackson, a 
daughter of Samuel Jackson. Her mother died while Mary was yet 
an infant; she was taken by the Honorable William G. Brown and his 
wife and reared by them. For nearly ten years she was the light of 
the home; an industrious and frugal housekeeper, and a loving help- 
mate. Her marriage was on the 20th anniversary of her birth ; she 
died on the ist day of January, 1867, leaving a daughter, Mary, two 
years of age. She spoke often in affectionate and appreciative terms 
of her benefactors, Mr. and Mrs. Brown, 

In 1862, I sold my store in Fellowsville to the Bishop Brothers 
(James R. and C. McC.) ; and the same year was appointed deputy 
collector for Preston county to collect the United States internal 
revenue. In April, 1863, I made a tour of collecting, returning to my 
home in Fellowsville with over three thousand dollars of Uncle Sam's 
cash, Saturday evening. On Sunday evening, about eight o'clock, a 
regiment of General Jones' Confederate cavalry made its appearance 
on the streets of the village, to the consternation of the citizens. The 
Colonel having seen at Aurora one of the collector's notices to tax- 
payers, immediately made inquiry for me, presuming that I might have 
on hand a goodly sum of United States treasury funds that he, the 
Colonel, would like to transfer to the Confederate treasury. Our loyal 

PREaTON County, West ViRomiA 611 

citizens had been on the alert for a month, expecting a raid from the 
Confederates into our section, so I discovered their presence soon 
enough to escaipe before the Colonel made his call at my house. I 
placed the cash in a ibelt about me and quietly went out of the back 
door, climbed the hill towards the west and made my way towards 
Newburg, stopping at the home of Eugenus Wolfe, a mile away. He 
and I spent a portion of the night in notifying the neighbors to hide 
their horses from the raiders. Their depredations in the village were 
confined to the pillaging of Job Jaco's store and the writer's dwelling; 
from the former they took goods to the value of several hundred dollars. 
Smarting under the failure to secure the United States funds in the 
collector's custody, they were not slow in transferring from his home 
everything they could get away with — all things eatable, wearable, in- 
cluding wife's wardrobe, blankets, quilts, jewelry, not forgetting a good 
horse from the pasture. But the tax money was saved, and within a 
few days was placed in Uncle Sam's treasury. 

In the meantime, I became a candidate for the office of sheriff, and 
at the election on the fourth Thursday in May, 1863, was elected by a 
large majority over my competitor, Joseph Brown. The affairs of the 
office were conducted carefully, promptly and successfully, so that at 
the end of a four years' term there was but little unfinished business 
remaining. On the 20th of Jun, 1863 (the birthday of the new State 
of West Virginia), I removed to Kingwood, where has been my home 
since. In 1866, was elected to the State Legislature, re-elected in 1867 
and 1868 — three terms — the term then being only for one year. During 
my third term I was chairman of the Committee on Taxation and 
Finance, and was also a member of the special committee which pre- 
pared the Code of 1869, sitting at Wheeling during the summer of that 

On the 3rd of September, 1868, I was married to Sarah Martha* 
McGrew, the only daughter of Honoraible James C. McGrew and Persis 
Hagans McGrew, of Kingwood. Together we have journeyed thus far 
along the way, cheerfully and with mutual forbearance and helpfulness, 
lovingly striving for success in all that pertains to Christian living and 
nobility of character. To my motherless Mary she was a good and 
true mother, during her girlhood, and to this day there continue be- 
tween them the kindest and most efTectionate relations. 

In 1869, I went into the National Bank of Kingwood as assistant 
cashier, and on the resignation as cashier of Mr. McGrew, who entered 

612 Preston County, West Virginia 

upon his duties as a member of Congress from this district, I was ap- 
pointed cashier by the board of directors, which position I continued 
to fill until 1893, when impaired health warned me to give up the work 
that had been so pleasant and congenial, and, I believe, also acceptable 
to the shareholders and patrons of the bank. In January, 1902, I was 
appointed to the office of national bank examiner; six months thereafter 
was detailed by the Comptroller of the Currency for special work, and 
was commissioned receiver for the First National Bank of Belmont, 
Ohio, which had failed. At the end of a year and a half the work of 
the receivership was completed and the creditors of the failed bank 
received more than 90 per cent of their claims. The Comptroller com- 
mended the receiver for his successful work in winding up the bank^s 
affairs, and especially for the low rate of expense incurred in accom- 
plishing the work. The cost of the receivership was but a fraction of 
I per cent over one-half the average cost of receiverships thus far re- 
ported to the Comptroller's office. I was much pleased that the Comp- 
troller voluntarily added to the regular salary a special increase in con- 
sideration for the faithful work performed. 

Increasing years and impaired health warned me of the danger of 
continuing to hold a public office requiring so great mental and physical 
la'bor, so at the close of this receivership I resigned my commission, 
since \vhich my years have been spent in the quiet of home and social 
life, giving attention to my personal affairs and enjoying the partial 
rest that should come at the end of fifty-five years of active, hustling, 
business life. 


Of first marriage : Juliet, died March 7, i860, aged eight months ; 
John, died August 16, 1866, aged four months; Mary (usually called 
Minnie), 'born in Kingwood, January 13, 1865. She attended the public 
schools of Kingwood, attaining a standing which admitted her to the 
State Normal School of Maryland, in Baltimore, from which she gradu- 
ated. She is glad to express in affectionate terms appreciation of the 
good woman whom she loves as a mother, and who has been to her 
from her infancy all that a devoted mother could be. On the 6th of 
April, 1887, she was married to AVilliam Ware Wright, who was born 
in Preston county, April 5, 1861. He was early inclined towards the 
mercantile business, and as a boy, engaged himself to a reputable mer- 

Preston County, West Virginia 613 

chant whom he faithfully served until the way opened up for him to 
engage? in business on his own account, first in Kingwood ; the busi- 
ness prospered and he sought a wider field, so in partnership with J. 
M. Hartley, he took charge of a store which they established in Cadiz, 
Ohio. He soon purchased the interest of his partner and for more than 
twenty years he successfully conducted a constantly growing business 
until 1910, when he sold his business to a joint stock company, in which 
he still holds a block of the stock. Later he sold his home in Cadiz, 
Ohio, and removed to Cleveland. He there joined with other prominent 
business men in the organization of a joint stock comipany, which took 
over a large department store on Euclid Avenue. Mr, Wright is vice-' 
president of the company, and one of the active managers of the 

To Mr. and Mrs. Wright two sons were iborn : Francis Ware, born 
March 19, 1891, and William Heermans, born July 18, 1900. Francis 
attended the public schools of Cadiz, was graduated from the High 
Sdhool, entered the Ohio State University in 1908, from which he was 
graduated in June, 1912. William is in the public school. He seems 
inclined towards the business in which his father has been successful. 

Of the second marriage two children were? born : Edward McGrew 
was born March 19, 1870, at Kingwood ; he attended the public schools, 
in which he made fair progress. At t'he age of sixteen he entered Ohio 
Wesleyan University, remaining one year. He manifested a fondness 
for newspaper work, in which he became proficient, and for more than 
twenty years he worked on prominent newspapers, first as a reporter 
and news-gatherer, and later as editorial writer. 

On the 17th of September, 1891, he was married to Florence Ann 
Elliott, a daughter of Mr. Isaac Elliott, a most estimable young woman. 
They are now farmers, making their home on a 70-acre farm near Reeds- 
ville, in Preston county. They ihave no children. 

Persis Hagans, the baby of the family, was born at Kingwood, Feb- 
ruary 28, 1873. She attended the home public schools until 1887, then 
entered the Ohio Wesleyan University, remaining there two and a half 
years; then studied two years in the Woman's College, Baltimore, 
graduating in the art course in 1892. After a year as teacher in the 
Art departmemt of the Wesleyan Institute, Staunton, Virginia, she 
studied in the Chicago Art Institute one year, then for two years was 
in charge of the Art department of the West Virginia Conference Semi- 
nary. Her school life as student and teacher did not detract from her 
interest in acquiring a thorough knowledge of housekeeping and home- 

614 Preston County, West Virginia 

making, in which she became efficient. On the 5th of October, 1898, 
she was married to James Russell Trotter, who was then serving a 
four-year term as State Superintendent of Schools. A faithful student 
in the public schools, industriously at work during vacations,' his serv- 
ices were soon in demand as a teacher — his first certificate was number 
one. In 1887, he entered the West Virginia University, from which he 
graduated in 1891 with the' degree of A. B. He taught in the West 
Virginia Conference Seminary; was principal of the North Western 
Academy at Clarksburg for two years; from 1894 to 1896, he was a 
student at Harvard University, receiving the degree' of A. B. in 1895, 
and of A. M. in 1896. In 1901, he entered the Law department of the 
West Virginia University and was graduated in 1902 with the degree 
of L.L. B. and Ph. D. He was a member of the Board of Regents of 
the University from 1901 to 1908, serving as president for several years; 
was appointed in 1906, by Governor Dawson, member of a commission 
to revise the school laws of the state. He has been Professor of Law 
in the West Virginia University since 1908. 

Three children have been born to them : Martha Elizabeth, born 
February 19, 1901 ; James Francis, born August 11, 1902; John Heer- 
mans, born February 17, 1904. 

My 'brothers and sisters still living are : 

George Heermans, Rochester, New York. 

Alice Bell, married to Lovasso Field ; their home is in Rochester, 
New York. 

Harry Clay Heermans, Olympia, Washington. 

Clinton W. Heermans, Corning, New York. 

Leonora, married to Dr. Harrison H. Boswell, Buffalo, New York. 

John Heermans, Jr., Olympia, Washington. 
My home has been in Morgantown since October, 1911. In my 
seventeenth year I 'began my religious Life and became a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, to which I am greatly indebted for past, 
present, and future helpfulness in the Christian pathway. 


The Flynns are of Irish descent. James W. Flynn is a grandson 
of James Flynn, who came with his family from Fauquier county, 
Virginia, and settled on a farm in Preston county, that was later 
developed into a part of the plant of the Austen Coal Company. See 
pages 44 and 185, 186. 


THE V''^^ 

:i voRK 

-r 1 




^ ,\rUNDATlON5 

Preston County, West Virginia 615 

James Flynn, Sr., was born in 1810, and died in 1858. His son 
Benjamin W. Flynn, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born 
near Warrenton, Fauquier county, Virginia, and his mother at Win- 
chester, Frederick county, Virginia, and both came with their parents 
to Preston county in 1848. Her name before marriage was Lydia 
Bunculler. Their son, James W. Flynn, of whom we now speak, was 
born in Lyon District, Preston county, March 13, 1861. He was educated 
in the public schools of the county, and in Fraser's Business College of 
Wheeling, West Virginia. 

In early life, Mr. Flynn was employed at the iron furnaces then 
operating in the county, and later was manager of Irondale furnace in 
Lyon district. In 1889, he moved to Kingwood and engaged in the 
mercantile business with the late Charles M. Bishop, under the firm 
name of Bishop & Flynn. 

In 1886, Mr. Flynn was married to Annie V. Klauser, daughter of 
Levi Klauser of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, who in the year of 
1866, had moved with his family from Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, to 
Kingwood and established the Preston County Journal, at that time 
the only newspaper in the county. The children fborn to this union were 
two sons: Benjamin L. Flynn, now a Civil and Mining engineer; 
Charles W. Flynn, an Electrical Engineer, and a daughter, Nellie M. 
Flynn, still in school. 

James W. Flynn was Mayor of Kingwood at one time, a Justice 
of the Peace at another time and recently held a membership in the 
West Virginia State Senate. During the last sixteen years htf has 
been Chairman of the Republican County Committee, having always 
been a staunch Republican in politics. He is a member of Preston 
Lodge No. 90, A. F. & A. M., and of the Presbyterian church. 

Mr. Flynn has been of eminent usefulness in his business relations 
with the people of his native county. As one of the organizers of the 
Kingwood National Bank ,he aided in founding an institution which 
has kept financial interests of Preston county at home, whenever it 
could be done by accommodating and extending favors to Prestonians 
instead of parties abroad. The people have not been slow to appreciate 
these favors and support the enterprise, while the stockholders have, 
been much pleased to have the bank pass its capitalization in surplus 
and undivided profits in less than ten years. Mr. Flynn was not only 
one of the organizers of this bank, but he has been its Vice President 
and a member of the Board of Directors, since its organization. 

616 Preston County, West Virginia 


The name of Smoot is truly American if length of year's residence 
Americanizes a name as well as the man. One of the record books in 
the Land office at Annapolis, Md. evidences the fact that William Smoot, 
the progenitor of the Smoot family in America, transported himself, his 
wife, family and servants into the province of Maryland at his own 
expense on or about April 6, 1646 and that in consideration thereof 
certain lands lying on the Potomac river were conveyed to him by 
indenture dated June 12, 1646, at St. Inegoes Fort. This William Smoot 
was a prominent man in the business transactions of his time and 
neighborhood. He was a native of England, having in 1633 employed 
men to work for him in Virginia while still living in England. He 
traded largely in lands, cattle and tobacco. That he opposed England's 
tyranny he exemplified in shipping his tobacco to other countries than 
England and claimed for so doing his share of the "Dutch Crestones" 
then in operation under Lord Baltimore. William iSmoot owned vessels, 
one of which he boug'ht from Leonard Calvert. He was one of the 
appraisers of the Leonard Calvert estate, for which he received two 
thousand pounds of tobacco from Margaret Brent, who purchased that 
estate. There are records of many business transactions between Mrs. 
Margaret Brent and William Smoot. That he was a man of influence 
is verified by the court records — if he sued a man who failed to appear 
in defense, William Smoot would be awarded so much for his trouble 
in coming to court. If William Smoot was sued and acquitted he also 
was awarded ''tobacco and hogshead to hold it, for his trouble in 
comjng forty miles to court." He also sat on the juries of that day. 
In 1667 the court of Maryland decided that "upon Smoot's Creek in 
Charles County shall be one of the places mentioned and appointed 
for a town." 

The two sons of William Smoot, Richard and Thomas, each 
married a sister of Lieutenant-Colonel William Barton, as each in 
his will referred to Lieutenant-Colonel William Barton as "brother- 
in-law." Thosam Smoot in his will 1704 mentions "Barton" as eldest 
son. The name of "Barton" was retained by the line of Smoots who 
early became residents of Preston county, and this afifords evidence 
of the connection of the Preston County families to those of early 
colonial times. 


TIL-DEN t-C-j:;D,.TiONS 

Preston County, West Virginia 617 

Smoot I: 

One John Smoot, w'hose wife's name was Mary, bought land in 
Hampshire County, Virginia, in 1790. Of his family of twelve children, 
"Barton" was the eldest, "Solomon, second son," "James, deceased." 
'IChildren and wife of deceased James," also William Jacob, Joshua, 
Joseph, Mary Cornet, Susanna Haize, Lucrecy, and two youngest 
daughters, Charity and Priscilla, according to his will recorded in 
Hampshire County, Va., in 1808. Of the above family it is known 
that James Smoot was a member of the Hampshire County Militia in 
1790, and that Barton Smoot was a miller at a merchant mill in Fox's 
Hollow — a mill built in 1818 — and he being the fourth miller. The same 
mill still in operation as late as 1897. 

Smoot n : 

JOSHUA S'MOOT, the son of John and Mary Smoot, married 

Mary Haines, born March, 1794, in Baltimore County, Md. They were 
married previous to 1817, as in that year they executed a deed to prop- 
erty in Hampshire Co., Va. The farm they owned and occupied as a 
home was on the waters of the Great Cacapon river in Hampshire 
county. They executed a deed for this in 1835 after they had taken up 
their residence in Preston County, Va. 

They first located south of Newiburg near old "Scotch Hill," but 
shortly 'bought land on the present site of Newburg, and "built the first 
dwelling house there, which still remains in state of good preservation, 
now owned by the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company. Joshua 
Smoot was a member of the Baptist church and his body lies buried 
in a cemetery of that denomination at "Scotch Hill" above Newiburg, 
he having died in 1847. I'he children of Joshua and Mary (Haines) 
Smoot were: Samuel, Walker, Henry, William, Minor Barton, Sarah, 
Eveline, James Reason, (further mention) Julia and Harriet. 

Smoot HI : 

JiAlMES REASON SMOOT, son of Joshua and Mary (Haines) 
Smoot, was born in Hampshire County, 1834. He married (first) 
March 5, 1854, in Preston County, Susan Howard (iSee Howard Sketch) 
and their children were: Mary E.. married S. C. Hartley. Ethel O., 
married James N. Berthy, Charles Howard, married Alice L. Paul, (See 
Paul Sketch) and Hattie D., married C. F. Hammond. 

In 1885 he married (second) Susan Powell, daughter of John M. 
Powell and Martha (Howard) Powell. To this union the following 

618 Preston County, West Virginia 

children were born: J. Ray, married Mollie Fromhart, of Newburg, 
1909; Grace, Clara, Calvin, Cora, Earl, Edgar. 

In a sketch printed in the Wheeling Daily Intelligencer 1889, during 
the life time of Mr. James R. Smoot, 'twas written that "Perhaps the 
most extensive lumber manufacturer as well as man of all business 
in the vicinity of Newburg, Austen and Tunnelton, is Mr. James R. 
Smoot of Newburg. He commenced the lumber business in 1869 and 
now owns and operates four mills, three of which are in Preston county 
and one in Summers county, the capacity of these mills being 45 
thousand feet of lumlber per day, much of which is exported to Liver- 
pool, England. Mr. Smoot fs a fair sample of what may be accom- 
plished by a young man of energy without resources. By the death of 
his father, Joshua Smoot, he was left an orphan at the age of thirteen 
with the whole family to support. 

He applied himself early and late to anything he could get to do. 
During the building of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad he worked 
as a laborer on the cut just east of Newburg. He was so industrious 
and frugal that at the age of 18 he was able to go into business on his 
own account. He commenced business at Independence remaining 
there one year then removed to Newburg. His chief occupation has 
been connected with the lumber business. He also has been a large 
dealer in rea lestate and now owns 'besides his private residence, the 
extensive business block on Railroad street in which he conducts his 
mercantile affairs, and aibout thirty other houses and lots in Newburg. 
He also owns and operates the Independence Steam-Roller Mills and 
deals largely in flour and grain. He also deals considerably in cattle. 
In addition to these possessions he owns several improved farms in 
Preston County, and extensive timber rights in various parts of the 
state. He has but recently purchased the Major McGrew farm of 
200 acres in the vicinity of Kingwood which is said to be one of the 
finest pieces of property of its kind in the county. He is also a stock- 
holder in the Tunnelton, Kingwood and Fairchance Railroad, and 
president of the Kingwood Coke Co." Thus wrote a neighbor of the 
business ability of a "self-made man," as 'twas said, but Mr. James R. 
Smoot, aside from inheriting through the Smoots great business qualifi- 
cations, always gave his mother, Mary Haines Smoot, much credit for 
his ability to manage and accumulate property, saying she had a rare 
capacity for good management. She made her home with her son, 
James, after the death of her husband, Joshua Smoot, except for a short 

d^e^^^^^-e. t^^^d-^s^/^^r^c.^^-/^ 





Preston County, West Virginia 619 

time during the life of her second husband, Zedekiah Waldo, when she 
resided with him in Harrison county until his death ; then she returned 
to again reside with said son James the remainder of her days, and died 
at his home and is buried where he lies in the new cemetery at Newburg. 
The neighbor who wrote while Mr. Smoot lived was thinking 
financially and did not mention more than industrial facts, but Mr. 
Smoot was a benefactor to his town. He was sought far and near for 
advice. People took to him their troubles and business affairs for him 
to pass judgment upon. He was a peaceful and law-abiding citizen, 
never entering into law to test its merits. His religious training was 
in the old school Baptist, but he attended with his family the Methodist 
Protestant Church in Newburg, 'which building lot was given to that 
congregation by Mr. Smoot, while the building of the church was 
largely assisted by his family. In politics he was a Republican. He 
belonged to no secret societies. He was always a friend to the aspiring 
young and assisted many such to a foothold on life's business. He 
organized the First National Bank of Newburg and from its organiza- 
tion was the president to the close of his life. He was a liberal friend 
of the schools, and when each of his children had completed the town 
school term he sent them away to higher educational institutions. 
James Reason Smoot died in 1905, at his home in Newburg, having 
lived a life of deeds rather than words and leaving an enviable record 
of many years of usefulness and honor. 

Smoot IV : 

CHARLES HOWARD SMOOT, representing the fourth generation 
of authentically connected families of this name who have for more than 
two centuries been identified with progress of Maryland and Virginia, 
is the son of James Reason (see Smoot III.), and Susan (Howard) Smoot. 
He was born March 23, 1866, in Newburg, Preston county, West Vir- 
ginia, being the only surviving son born to this union (one brother, 
John, having died in infancy). His preparatory education was received 
in the public schools of his native town, followed by three years in 
school at Adrian College, Adrian, Michigan. Charles Howard Smoot 
was a keen student but had time for the social organizations of school, 
his interest centering in the Alpha Tau Omega fraternity as a member. 
After securing an education he joined his father in the mercantile busi- 
ness, where for nine years he was the junior member of the firm of 
James R. Smoot & Son, at Newburg. In 1896 he located in Webster 
county. West Virginia, to engage in the lumber industry owned by 

620 Pkeston County, West Virginia 

his father and himsdf. Having for this purpose gone to virgin timber 
lands, Mr. Smoot, our subject, was following in the footsteps of his 
ancestors as a pioneer; and for the convenience of t'he colony which he 
founded a post office was established and named Prestonia, honoring 
Preston county, from whence employer and employees eame — the latter 
having been likewise engaged by Mr. J. R. Smoot on his mills in 
Preston county. At this post office Mr. C. H. iSmoot was the post- 
master. In 1900, the firm, of C. H. Smoot & Company, at Prestonia, 
having manufactured the timber on more than two thousand acres into 
lumlber, moved their plant to Nicholas county, farther into the interior, 
and again a colony was founded named Allingdale, a post office estab- 
lished, and the duties of postmaster again thrust upon Mr. Smoot. 

Mr. Smoot's plan of lumber manufacturing has (been along lines of 
conservation, as he has with few exceptions, and always where practic- 
a,ble, bought the land with his timjber property and has cared for the 
unmarketable small trees; also has developed farming and grazing 
where the timber has been removed. In the year 1904, Mr. James 
Reason Smoot, the senior member of C. H. Smoot & Company, with- 
drew from the firm and Charles Ho'ward 'Smoot has since been sole 
owner and manager of the firm C. H. Smoot & Co., at Allingdale, where 
he has a comfortable home property facing Gauley River at the mouth 
of historic Stroud's Creek, 

Mr. Smoot is one of the charter members of the Lanes Bottom 
Bank, at Lanes Bottom, Webster county, one mile north of Allingdale, 
being its first vice-president and for several years past and at present, 
the president of this thriving institution. 

Politically, Mr. Smoot is a Republican, and was once elected mayor 
of Newburg but did not qualify, preferring to remain a private citizen — 
always strongly upholding the government. He is an official member 
of the Methodist Protestant Church at Newburg, and while living there 
was twice a delegate to the general conference of that denomination. 
Mr. Smoot is a Thirty-second degree Mason, a member of the Knights 
0/ Pythias, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. He is quiet, unassuming and reserved 
in his manner; relishes society in general, fbut chooses few close friends. 
Mr. Smoot married, June 12, 1890, at the home of her parents in New- 
burg, Alice L. Paul. (See Paul IV.) The children of this union being: 
Raphael, born March 22,1891 ; Charles Howard Paul, born January 17, 
1893, died, as did his elder brother, in infancy ; Bithiah, born January 7, 


THE rtw -^l^l 


Preston County, West Virgin i\ 621 

1901 ; Ralph Omar, born Februaryi7, 1907. This daughter and son 
attend the pubHc schools of Fairmont. In 1907, Mr. Smoot purchased 
in Fairmont, W. Va., on one of the best residence avenues, a dwelling 
which is the winter home of himself and family, while the Allingdale 
property is continued principally as a summer home. 

Alice L. Paul, wife of Charles Howard Smoot is the eldest child 
of John Emory and Bithiah (McCool) Paul. (See Paul IV.) Her 
birthplace, Newbury, Preston county. She completed the course of 
study in the graded schools of Newlburg, also that of the Fairmont State 
Normal School, graduating from the latter on her seventeenth birth- 
day. For five consecutive years thereafter she taught in the graded 
schools of her home town, during which time she served one year on 
the teachers' examining board of Preston county, in association with 
the late W. B. Squires, then county superintendent of free schools, and 
Professor Frank B. Trotter, now of the West Virginia University 
faculty. She refused to be considered a candiduate for a second term. 
This is the only instance of a woman's serving on the teachers' exam- 
ining board of Preston county. In 1889 she was appointed postmistress 
at Newburg, then the largest post office in Preston county. Miss Paul's 
(now Mrs. C. H. Smoot's) campaign for this office created unusual 
interest. The tact with which she treated political opposition exhibited 
qualifications generally admired and approved. She has letters of ap- 
proval and appreciation from many who were in those days leading 
politicians in both parties throughout the state. 

June 12, 1890, Alice Paul became tfie wife of Charles Howard Smoot. 
(iSee Smoot IV.) Mrs, Smoot is an active member of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution, being the Regent of the chapter at 
Fairmont. She is also a member of the Fairmont Woman's Club, and 
of the First Presbyterian Church and its Missionary Society. Mrs. 
Smoot has followed the religious faith of her maternal ancestry, who 
were for four generations identified with the Scotch Presbyterian 
Church. She has made extensive research in original sources for data 
concerning the Smoot and Paul families and has established much in- 
formation concerning these and allied families, among the latter being 
the 'Howard, Haines and Thompson families of the Smoot line, and 
the Miller, Snider and Hunt families of the Paul line — Preston pioneer 
families Avhose generations helped lay the foundation of this United 
States government and have helped preserve it. 

622 Preston County, West Virginia 

Howard Line I : 

John Howard, the great-grandfather of Charles Howard Smoot, was 
born in Kent county Delaware, December i, 1780, being a member of 
a large and influential family of that section. He married May 30, 
1802, Martha McCracken, born March 15, 1777. of Scotch parentage. 
According to the old family Bible records now in possession of Cyrus 
Howard of Seaman, Ohio, their children were: John, Jr., born May 
3, 1803; Cornelius, born November 27, 1805; William McCracken, born 
December 25, 1807; Thomas D., born November 13, 1809; Nicholas C, 
born February 12, 1812; iMartha C, Iborn February 7, 1814; Charles 
A., born March 27, 1816; Mary A., born May 20, 1818. These inter- 
married with the Thompson, Billingslea, Brewer, McGee and Wilkins 
families and comprised a citizenship prdfitable and honorable to their 
locality, that of southwestern Pennsylvania and northwestern Virginia. 
John Howard and his wife, Martha McCracken, lived in Preston county 
on their farm near Fellowsville, now owned by heirs of the late Guston 
Wolf. He and his wife, his son, John, Jr., and his wife, are buried there, 
near the waters of Yorks Run. 

Howard H : 

John Howard, Jr., son of John Howard and Martha 
(McCracken) Howard, was a man of extensive influence in his com- 
munity, holding the office of justice of the peace. He served as delegate 
to the first and second conventions which met at Wheeling to form the 
new state of West Virginia. It was Mr. How^ard who named the town 
of Independence, in Preston county, where he lived and kept an inn, 
which fact proclaims his well furnished home, as a Virginia law pro- 
hibited the entertainment of travelers unless prepared to furnish each 
with a feather bed. 

John Howard, Jr., married December 16, 1824, Elizabeth, born 1803, 
daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth (Davis) Thompson (see Thompson) 
of Carmichael, Greene county, Pennsylvania. Their children were: 
Martha, born 1826, married John Powell; William, born February 8, 
1828, settled in Wdbster City, Iowa; Susanna, born February 18, 1830, 
married James Reason Smoot; John Wesley, born September 29, 1832, 

married (i) Miss Fortney, (2) Mrs. Lyons, (3) Mrs. Metzler- 

Howard; Thomas Dow, born December 7, 1834, married (i) Mollie 
Hoult, (2) Mrs. Metzler (who afterwards became wife of John Wesley 
Howard upon death of Thomas Dow Howard) ; Cornelius Springer, 
born July 19, 1837, married Miss Sarah J. Woli, both living 1914 on their 

Preston County, West Virginia 623 

farm home between Independence and Newburg; Mary E., born March 
27, 1840, died 1850; Nicholas Claw son, born November 21, 1841. 
Several of these sons were in the Union army of the Civil War, making 
records as good soldiers ; afterward steadfast Christian citizens whose 
children are numerous and widely distributed throughout the United 


Thompson I : 

James and Sarah (Wood) Thompson came from Belair, Harford 
county, Maryland, before 1790 to Monongalia county, Virginia. James 
Thompson was a shoemaker by trade and a local preacher. He preached 
to the Indians and was so friendly toward them that it was scarcely 
necessary for him to go to the fort in time of Indian raids, and when 
he did go, it was by the advice of friendly Indians. This James 
Thompson and his wife and some of his descendants are Iburied in the 
O'Neal graveyard on the old Thompson farm on the west side oi Monon- 
gahela River at Little Falls, Monongalia county. Within a few nods 
of this graveyard was located a fort, unsed 'by the settlers in James 
Thompson's time for protection from the Indians. This historic farm 
has been continually owned by descendants of James Thompson until 
May, 1910, when Mrs. iSamantha (Holland) Conway and husband sold 
it and moved away. The children of James and Sarah (Wood) Thomp- 
son were: James, Acquilla A., Jarrett, Amos G., Daniel, Frank, Eliza- 
beth, Sarah, Anna, Nancy and John. Descendants of these live in 
Morgantown and Clarksburg, while others are in Ohio, Illinois and 
other states. 

Thompson II : 

Several descendants of James and Sarah (Wood) Thompson 
achieved unusual prominence in their professions. Will S. Thompson, 
the music composer, among the number; also John G. Thompson of 
Columbus, Ohio, an editor of a Democratic newspaper of much influ- 
ence in his day. The late Colonel Frank Thompson of Morgantown, 
was a descendent of James and iSarah (Wood) Thompson, as is also 
Mrs. Virginia S. Hodge, Euclid Airnne, Cleveland. Ohio. There has 
been a minister of the Gospel in each generation. The present gen- 
eration being represented by Rev. George Federer of the Methodist 
Episcopal charge at South Morgantown, Marion county, W. Va. Services 
have been continually held on the old James Thompson farm at Little 

624 Preston County, West Vieqinu 

Falls, Monongalia county, since the days of James Thompson. The 
church building there now was built in recent years. 

Amos G., son of James and Sarah (Wood) Thompson, was one of 
the pioneers of Methodism in America. Being a preacher in the M. E. 
Church 1786 to 1791, and one of the earliest district superintendents, 
or officiating elders during 1791-1792 while the territory of what is now 
West Virginia was in the Baltimore Conference, and his travel in in- 
terest of the church embraced Northwestern Virginia from the Eastern 
boundary to the Ohio river and from Pittsburgh to "Little Levels," 
in Greenlbrier county. 

Daniel ('brother of Amos G.), and son of James and Sarah (Wood) 
Thompson, was great-grandfather of Charles Howard Smoot (See 
Smoot IV). Daniel Thompson is buried in the Sanders graveyard 
at Maidsville, Monongalia county, his gravestone stating his death 
in 1810. His widow married a Mr. Batton. 

Elizabeth, born 1803, daughter of Daniel and (Susan (Davis) Thomp- 
son married 1824 John Howard, Jr. (See Howard, H). 

Four generations of the Paul family have resided in Preston 
county, so that now though none of them live within its boundary, 
property that has been owned by the families of these generations 
for more than a hundred years is still owned at Newburg by the 
fourth generation, and a history of Preston county would not be 
complete without mention of this, one of the pioneer families. 

Paul I: 

Nicholas Paul, the founder of this branch of the Paul family was 
a native of Germany and came to Pennsylvania in 1754 when 21 years 
of age. He served in the French and Indian and also in the Revolu- 
tionary war, serving in iCaptain George NoM's company, second 
Battalion, Northampton County Militia, 1781. He was a resident of 
Northampton county for several years after the Revolutionary War. 

Paul II: 

Jacob Paul, son of Nicholas and Barbara Paul was born 

in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, April 18, 1776, according to his 
birth certificate, now in possession of his great-granddaughter, Mrs. 
C. H. Smoot (See Smoot IV). In the words of the certificate "he 
was bom of Christian and honors^ble parents. His father was the 
Honoralble Nicholas Paul and his mother Barbara, a born Saxon." That 
Jacob Paul had pious instruction was evidenced by the records of 

Preston County, West Virginia 625 

the Dryland Church wherein he is recorded as communing and being 
confirmed when he was sixteen years old, by Reverend Joshua Jeager. 
Jacob Paul was a soldier of the War of 1812, being First Lieutenant 
in Captain Leonard Cupp's (also known as Lieutenant Jacob Paul's) 
company, from Monongalia county, Second Regiment, Virginia Militia. 
His wife was Elizabeth, born August 31, 1784, daughter of Henry Miller 
(see Miller) and Anna Maria (Lemerton) Miller. 

iHer birth certificate, in possession of Mrs. Margaret (Paul) Smith, 
a descendant, states that she was born at M'cAllister, in York county, 
Pennsylvania. The children of Jacob Paul and Elizabeth (Miller) 
Paul were Jacob, Joseph, Henry, John, George, Barbara and Washing- 
ton Miller. Descendants of these live in Pennsylvania, Illinois, Iowa, 
Oklahoma. Jacoib Paul and his wife Elizabeth are buried in the 
Poulson graveyard at York's Run, Preston county. 

Washington Miller Paul, son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Miller) Paul, 
was born January 2^, 1823 at Crab Orchard, Preston county. His 
parents had come from Pennsylvania about 1798, and settled there. 
Later they located near Evansville on the old Northwestern turnpike, 
and owned land there. 

Paul III: 

Washington Miller Paul, married November 5, 1840, Jane Snider, 
born August 9, 181 5. Her parents were Henry Snider (See Snider) and 
Mary Ayers Hunt, his wife. The parents of Mary Ayers Hunt were 
James Hunt and his wife. Miss Jean Ayers, who married first an 
Anderson then a Hunt. The Hunt children being James, Thomas, 
Mary, Jane and Sarah. The children of Washington Miller Paul and 
his wife Jane (Snider) Paul, were Mary, who died in infancy, and 
John Emory (See Paul IV.). 

Washington Miller Paul was known as 'Captain Paul during and 
after the Civil War, as he was commissioned by Governor Pierpont 
as such. In times of peace Captain Paul followed his trade as mill- 
wright — he being an expert mechanic, built mills, bridges and fine 
residences. At one time he was in the lum'ber manufacturing business 
with James Reason Smoot, at Newburg. He was exact and accurate in his 
business methods, having inherited from his father Jacob Paul, that 
bookkeeping accompanies all good business, as is evidenced by the 
daily account books of Jacob Paul which are in the hands of his 
descendants. Captain Paul's home near the suburbs of Newburg was a 
model modern residence surrounded by garden, orchard and yard, and 

626 Preston County, West Virginia 

hospitality within — dispensed by his wife, Jane, who delighted not 
only in the neatness of her yard and garden with beautiful flowers, 
fruit and vegetables, but in skillfully preparing and serving the same. 
She was noted as a good cook and homekeeper, and was a diligent 
Bible reader, being of the old school Baptist in belief. Died April 2, 
1888. Captain Paul quit his trade about 1880 and entered into mer- 
chandising in his store building ibuilt for this purpose on Market 
street in Newburg. About this time and for several years afterward 
he was justice of the peace. The last few years of his life were spent in 
retirement fro mbusiness. He died February 2^, 1899, having been 
but slightly indisposed the day before. He is buried in the Odd 
Fellows' cemetery at Newlburg beside his wife whose burial there eleven 
years before was the 'first in that burying ground, though grave- 
stones there show earlier dates, through having been removed from 
other iburial places. 

Paul IV : 

John Emory Paul, son of Washington Miller Paul and Jane 
OSnider) Paul was born August 21, 1846 at Evansville, Preston 
county. West Virginia. He received a good practical education in the 
schools of his neighborhood, and in preference to a continued course 
of study as offered him at the West Virginia University by his father, 
he married, May 15, 1866, Miss Bithiah McCool, daughter of Muir 
and Margaret MdCool (See McCool). John Emory Paul began his 
business career as apprentice to his father in the carpenter's trade, 
which he mastered and practiced skillfully, not only in his home terri- 
tory, as he was called to build in other localities. In 1880 he joined his 
father in the merchandising firm of Paul and Company, on Market 
street in Newburg. During these years he was clerk of the town council 
of Newburg and was once Mayor of that town. His ability as an 
accountant engaged him as secretary to a coal company in Mounds- 
ville. West Virginia, in 1891, and since then he has continued as account- 
ant and secretary in coal propositions — notably with the Department 
of Mines and Mining of the State of West Virginia, and as partner 
and secretary of different mining insurance companies. For several 
years Mr. and Mrs. Paul have lived in Charleston, where they are 
both members of the Kanawha Presbyterian Church. Mr. Paul is a 
Mason. The children of Mr. and Mrs. John Emory Paul are Alice 
L., wJfe of Charles Howard Smoot, James W. (See Paul V.), Margaret 
Jean married Dr. George Wetheral Smith of Wheeling, West Virginia 

Preston County, West Yikolnia 627 

— he being descended on maternal side from the historic Barton 
family of Maryland. Dr. Smith died in 1903, leaving his wife and one 
son, George Wetheral, Jr., who now in his fourteenth year is a 
Junior in the Fairmont high school. William Emory, the fourth and 
youngest son of Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Paul, was born August 12, 1887. He 
attended the free schools in Nemburg, his native town, also in Mounds- 
ville, Fairmont and Charleston, West Virginia. He attended the West 
Virginia University for three years, and then associated himself with 
his ibrother-in-law, Mr. Charles Howard Smoot, at Allingdale, Nicholas 
county, West Virginia, in the lumber and merchandising Ibusiness. 
He belongs to the Masonic lodge. In 1910 he married Miss Esther 
McCue of Nicholas county. Mr. William E. Paul is a graduate of 
Baltimore College of Dental Surgery — the class of 1914. 

Paul V.- 
James W. Paul, the second child of John Emory and Bithiah 
(McCool) Paul, attended the public school of Newburg, his native 
town and graduated with B. S. C. E. degree from the West Virginia 
University, showing his determination to secure a neducation by prac- 
ticing civil engineering at intervals during his term of studies in order 
to be financially equipped. After graduation from West Virginia 
University he took special course in Colum'bia College, New York 
City, for two years. He then accepted position with the Monogah Coal 
Company, at Monongah, West Virginia, and later as chemist for the 
Davis Coal & Coke Company of Davis, Wefst Virginia. Here he was 
when the mining laws of West Virginia required a chie fmine inspector 
over the several district inspectors, and Governor Atkinson appointed 
James W. Paul in 1890, as chief to oversee the practice of the State 
mining laws as applied to this growing industry of the iState. As 
Chief of the Department of Mines of West Virginia, Mr. Paul proved 
himself to be the right man in the right place — physically capable, 
well educated, energetic and ambitious for the welfare of the 125 
thousand people of West Virginia then depending upon the coal 
industry for a livelihood, and zealous for the promotion of the develop- 
ment of mining in the State. 

Mr. Paul resided in Charleston during the twelve years that he 
remained Chief Mine Inspector for West Virginia, and during that 
time 'filled many posts of trust and honor, some of which were Vice- 
President of the West Virginia Society of Civil Engineers; a director 
of the West Virginia Historical and Antiquarian Society. He was 

628 PREaTON County, West Virginu 

elected secretary of the National Mining Institute of America, when 
it convened at Indianapolis, Indiana. 

During the Spanish-American War he offered his services, but when 
his application for appointment was presented with others for the 
Governor's signature the Governor said: "We can not spare this man, 
we need him in West Virginia." 

The "Annual Report on Coal Mines in West Virginia, U. S. A.," 
that Mr. Paul rendered each of the twelve years of his administration 
constituted a valuable contribution to the State's industrial history. He 
has occasionally contributed to the leading mining publications, notably 
"Mines and Minerals," and the "Engineering and Mining Journal." 
His scientific knowledge is in demand by engineering schools and 
schools of mines abroad in the land. He lectures at the leading schools 
of the United States — ^Harvard, Yale and Columbia. 

When that dreadful mine explosion occurred a tMonongah in the 
Fairmont mining region, December 6, 1907, resulting in the loss of 
361 lives and much valuable property, it was he, who through his 
official capacity conducted the examination of the exploded mine, for 
the cause of explosion, accompanied by other men of experience among 
whom were representatives of the Federal Government. When this 
investigation continued from day to day and Mr. Paul with untiring 
faithfulness conducted the work of rescue and investigation, these Gov- 
ernment officials were profuse in their praise of his methods and 
knowledge, and told him that while West Virginia was fortunate in 
having his services, the Federal Government had a larger field waiting 
for the man who could attempt its requirements, and that in their 
judgment he could — that they wanted him to be the head of the new 
Federal mine-rescue work, which was about to be established with 
headquarters at Pittsburgh.. 

This bureau was established in 1908. Mr. Paul resigned his post 
as Chief Mine Inspector c^f West Virginia, to become the Chief of 
Mine Rescue Work in the United States. He has at the instance of 
the Government traveled through all the states of the Union where 
mines are operated, exchanging ideas, giving and receiving, for the 
betterment of the conditions for the safe operation of mines, and how 
to best rescue those unfortunate's who happen to be in a mine at time 
of expjlosions. He has also traveled abroad to all mining sections 
of Europe to get practical and scientific knowledge to apply in 
American mines. 

Preston County, West Virginia 629 

To the casual observer, Newburg, the fbirthplace of James W. Paul, 
offered no encouragement to one who would anticipate a National 
career — ^but that environment counted this time, and plus the inherited 
determination to do best what lies nearest, fitted this man for the 
only position of its kind in America, it must be admitted. And since 
the citizens of any community are entitled to the credit for the civic 
influence which has contributed to the making of an honorable calling 
of a son pi their native heath, Newburg is doubly fortunate as being 
the location of one oi West Virginia's wealth producing mining 
plants, and the birthplace of a boy who though never a mine laborer, 
saw his life's work in the "Black Diamond" industry as a scientist. 

Mr. James W. Paul married in 1901, Miss Nell Wilson of Beaver, 
Pa. Their children are James, Jr., and Margaret, both now attending 
the graded schools of Pittsburgh, where Mr. and Mrs. James W. 
Paul reside. 


Henry Miller and Anna Maria Lemertrin, his wife, were natives 
of Yoi'k county, Pennsylvania before the Revolutionary War. During 
the Revolutionary War he was a memiber of the Flying Camp, 
enlisting at McAllister, York county. He was taken captive 
at Fort Washington. The German Lutheran Church of McAllister 
contains the record of the baptism of his children as follows : 
Susan, Sally, Elizabeth, Mary, Margaret, Tena, Lyddia, Katie, 
and John Henry Miller, the only son. The latter was born February 21, 
1809. In 1830 Henry Miller, Sr., was living in Petersburg, Somerset 
county, Pennsylvania, and was one of the trustees of church there. 
His daughters married respectively, into the Albright, Hartman, Paul, 
Hatfield, Posten, Wolf, Bishop and Barlbour families of York county, 
Pennsylvania, and all afterward lived in Monongalia county, near or 
at Crab Orchard settlement now Preston county, and were among 
the substantial famalies of that neighborhood whose descendants today 
are among the leading citizens of Preston county. Elizabeth, the 
daug^hter of Henry Miller, was married to Jacob Paul (See Paul II), 
and they are ancestors of Mrs. Alice Paul Smoot of this sketch. 


Among Preston county's earliest settlers a colony at Sand Ridge 
was comPosed of earnest, industrious families, the Orrs. Pauls, Sniders, 

630 Preston County, West Virginia 

Hunts, Smoots all members of the Primitive Baptist Church. There they 
had their meeting house and burial ground for several years. The 
Sniders were German and had considerable land and owned 
many of the acres that were first purchased for coal development 
by the Newburg^Orvel Coal Company. These Sniders were Henry 
Snider, Sr., and his wife, Mary (Browning) iSnider. They came from 
Fauquier county, Virginia, about 1800. Their children were : Jesse, 
married Lee Ann Hardix; John, married Nellie Corder; Henry, married 
Mary Ayers Hunt, March i, 181 1 ; Cena, married Job McGill ; Elizabeth, 
lived 100 years, unmarried; Frances, married James De Moss; Jane, mar- 
ried James Bell ; Lucy, married William De Moss, January 16, 1801 ; 
Polly (or Mary), married Benjamin Matthews; Nimrod, married Cath- 
erine Hall in Fauquier county, Virginia, in 1796; Sarah, married Eli 
Matthews; Caleb, died in youth; Harmon, died in youth. Henry Snider, 
Sr., the father of this family, died 1805, and is buried in the Old Baptist 
graveyard, on Scotch Hill. 

Henry Snider, Jr., whose wife was Mary Ayers Hunt, to whom he 
was married in Monongalia county, Viriginia, March i, 181 1, by Joshua 
Hickmian, lived near his father's settlement. The children to this union 
were: Harmon, who married a Miss Diamond; Elizabeth, who married 
Hiram Manear; James, who married a Miss Blackwood; Jackson, who 
married Miss Christina Craig; Enos Browning, who married Lee Ann 
Kittle; Mary, who married Daniel Fawcet; Ann, who married Joe 
Smith; Jane, who married W. M. Paul (see Paul HL). 


From Scotland came a family which after a few years' residence 
intermarried with a German family. 'So quickly did American residence 
Americanize that all foreign customs we're dropped and those of the new 
home land adopted, thus honoring themselves and America. 

Jame Paul of Scotland, and Bethiah (Henry) Paul, his wife, lived 
in Kirkintilloch, Dumbartonshire, Scotland. He was a weaver, owning 
many hand looms. This home consisted of the mother and father and 
twelve children, the eldest of whom', Margaret, was married to Muir 
McCool, 1843, '" Scotland. They same to America in 1850, bringing 
their two infant daughters, Bithiah and Margaret. They settled near 
Frostburg, Maryland, and immediately Mr. McCool made application 
for citizenship papers, which in due time were granted him. Their son, 
John Henry, was 'born in 1855. Mr. McCool sailed around the Horn 

Preston County, West Virginia 631 

to California and remained there in the goldfields for several years. He 
returned home during the Civil War and bought a farm between New- 
burg and Independence, where he spent the remainder of his days. He 
and his wife Margaret are buried in the Odd Fellows cemetery at New- 
burg. The ancestors of Muir and Margaret McCool were Covenanters 
who had "signed the covenant witth their bloor." The father of Muir 
McCool was Jonathan McCool, who was a member of the Masonic 
fraternity and was buried by that order in Ireland, being carried 
"shoulder high." Mr. Muir McCool was a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He and his wife were members of the Presby- 
terian Church — she being a woman with a rare and brilliant mind, could 
quote large portions of the Bible and sing the Psalms. 

Of the children born to Muir and Margaret (Paul) McCool, Bithiah 
married Mr. John Emory Paul (see Paul IV), May 15, 1866. iShe is a 
woman of strong character and kindly manner. 

Margaret married Mr. John P. Kelly of Scotland, at Newiburg, in 
1889. He died 1896. 

Mrs. Margaret (McCool) Kelly is popular in her home town of 
Newburg, where by her fund of general knowledge' and her affable 
manner she is a leader among her associates. 

Mr. John Henry McCool married in Newburg, Miss Mary Powell, 
daughter of John and Martha (Howard) (see Howard II) Powell. 
Their children are Howard and Martha. 


The Fairfaxes were stout and valiant Saxons, blond, fair-haired, blue- 
eyed, stocky built people who settled in Yorkshire in the good old 
fighting days of England. In the fifteenth century Sir Guy Fairfax 
was Chief Justice of England. The first Lord Fairfax was knighted 
for gallantry at the siege of Rouen. In his youth he had been a captain 
of troopers in the Low Countries. He died in 1640, eighty years of 
age. The old peer left many children, among them Ferdinando, the 
second Lord Fairfax, who became Parliamentary leader in the Civil 
War under King Charles and commanded the right of the line of battle 
at Marston Moor. He married a daughter of Lord Sheffield. His son 
Thomas, the third Lord Fairfax, became commander-in-chief of the 
army and defeated King Charles at Naseby. He was in 104 battles and 

632 Preston County, West Virginia 

was the greatest of all the Fairfaxes. Milton referred to him in one of 
his poems as "Fairfax whose name in arms through Europe rings, 
filling each mouth with envy or with praise." His wife was the daughter 
of Lord Vere de Vere. His daughter married the profligate Duke of Buck- 
ingham. This great soldier resigned command of the army rather than 
invade Scotland. The fourth Lord Fairfax was Henry, a cousin, and the 
fifth was his son Thomas ; the sixth was Thomas, Lord Fairfax, who came 
to America. Through his mother, who was a daughter of Lord Cul- 
pepper, he inherited about one-fourth of Virginia. He came over to the 
Virginia wilderness to see his estate and was so enraptured with the 
beauty of the scenery and the fine hunting that he decided to locate 
here and did, erecting a fine home called Greenway Court, about eight 
miles from where Winchester. Virginia, now stands. He came over 
in 1739 and died in 1782, in the 91st year of his age'. Probably forty 
years before Lord Thomas Fairfax came to Virginia, another member 
of the family, John Fairfax, came over and located in Charles county, 
in the Province of Maryland. He married Catherine, daughter of Henry 
Norris, and his only son, John, Jr., inherited the Norris homestead. 
John Fairfax H married Mary Scott of Baltimore county. In 1720, 
nine years before Baltimore was incorporated, Mary Scott Fairfax dis- 
posed of her parental estate on Elk Ridge, now Baltimore. John Fair- 
fax H died in 1735. and his only son, William, married first, Benedicta 
Blanchard. They had two sons and three' daughters. His first wife 
dying, William Fairfax married Elizabeth, daughter of Peyton Buckner 
of Virginia. By this union he had two sons and three daughters. In 
1789, he disposed of his Maryland property and crossing the Potomac 
located at Occoquan, Prince William county, Virginia, and died there 
in 1793. John Fairfax, the third son of William Fairfax, and the first 
by his second wife, was the first of this line to become a Virginian. 
In 1783, just after resigning the command of the Revolutionary army, 
General George Washington sent across to Maryland for young John 
Fairfax and offered him the position of assistant to Lund Washington, 
the General's nephew, in the management of his extensive properties, 
consisting of 55,000 acres of land. As John Fairfax was born December 
10, 1763, he was not yet twenty years of age when he accepted this 
important position. Within two years Lund Washington resigned to 
accept a public office, and John Fairfax succeeded him as superintendent 
of Mt. Vernon and all General Washington's property. He held the 
position seven years, till 1790, when he resigned to take possession of 

^^ ^^JUC^. 



Preston County, West Virginia 633 

an extensive tract of land in the Monongalia Glades and located in 
what is now Preston county, about one mile south of where Reedsville 
now stands and near Arthurdale, where he erected what was considered 
a fine house in that day and age, a large two-story log house with a big 
porch in front and rear, and slave quarters built in a semicircle back 
from' the mansion house. He died December 25, 1843, a"^ lies buried 
in sight of the old home. He was married twice, first to Mary, daugh- 
ter of ^amuel Byrne of Virginia. She was born in 1770, and married 
John Fairfax in 1792, and died July 22, 1803, aged 33 years. To this 
union was born George William, in 1793. He died July 3, 1816, aged 
2;^ years. William, the second son, was born July 31, 1795, and died 
in Missouri: Buckner, the third son, was born March 2i2, 1798, and 
died March 30, 1880, at Cranberry Summit, now Terra Alta. The 
fourth son, John, Jr., was born January 6, 1800, and was of a roving 
disposition and would not stay at home. He was killed in a steamboat 
explosion on the Mississippi River. The only daughter by this marriage 
was Mary Byrne, born May 29, 1802. She married Aquila Martin and 
died April 24, 1832, aged nearly 30 years. Isaac Parsons Martin of 
Kingwood is a grandson of this marriage. After the death of his first 
wife, John Fairfax married a widow, Nancy Loid Franklin, a daughter 
of Francis Boucher Franklin of Charles county, Maryland. She was 
born November 11, 1772, and died September 18, 1850, aged 77 years 
ID months and 7 days. Her first husband was a cousin named Franklin, 
and by him she had two daughters, Harriet and Julia. Harriet married 
Colonel Thomas Haymond and lived and died in Marion county, near 
Fairmont. Several children of this union attained prominence, among 
them Alpheus Haymond, who served twelve years as Judge of the 
Supreme Court of this state. Julia married Major William B. Zinn, one 
of the most prominent men of Preston county. They had no children 
and lived and died at what is now known as Brown's Mills, two miles 
south of Reedsville. Colonel John Fairfax by his second marriage had 
four children as follows: Francis Boucher Franklin (named for the 
grandfather), born January 17, 1807; Elizabeth Loid, born January 11, 
1810; George Washington, born December 5, 1812, and Chloe Ann, born 
Fe^bruary 18, 1814, and died April 24, 1815. 

In 1794, Governor Brook of Virginia appointed John Fairfax a 
justice of the peace and later he became presiding justice, the first for the 
county. Three times he was elected to the House of Delegates of Vir- 
ginia, and served as sheriff of the county, and several years as colonel 
of the 104th Regiment of Virginia troops. Throughout his manhood 

634 Preston County, West Virginia 

he served in positions of trust and responsibility with honor to himself 
and credit to his country. Colonel Fairfax was a man of fine personal 
appearance, over six feet in height, blue eyes, fair complexion and dark 
hair. The original tract of land in Valley district which Colonel Fairfax 
had acquired from Philip Doddridge not being considered enough for 
his growing family, he came down to the Cheat River Valley and pur- 
chased of James Morgan 400 acres of the finest land in the county for 
the sum of $2,000. This was between 1810 and 181 5. In 1817 he 
began the erection of a fine dressed stone residence, since known as 
Fairfax Manor. The work was in charge of his sons Buckner and 
•William, who lived in a log house at the foot of the hill east of the 
stone house and afterwards used for darkey quarters. Before the house 
was completed it was occupied by Buckner and William, and it was 
many years before the work was finished. William K. Hall had the 
contract for the carpenter work and Hezekiah Pell was an overseer 
on the building. Both these men were prominent in the early history 
of this section. Most of the rough work on Fairfax Manor was 
handled by the slaves of Colonel Fairfax, as he had about thirty negroes. 
This residence is probably the most historic in the county and was the 
scene of many brilliant assemblages in ante-bellum days. At his death 
Colonel Fairfax willed it to his daughter, Elizabeth, who lived there 
until her death, on February 2, 1882. iShe never married, and now lies 
'buried in the Kingwood cemetery. After her death without issue or 
will, the property was sold and purchased by William G. Brown of 
Kingwood, member of Congress for the Second district. He added 
to it and made extensive improvements to the place. Colonel Fairfax 
moved to this property and died there on Christmas night, 1843. He 
had retired as usual with his wife, and Hattie, a little three-year-old 
granddaughter, was sleeping with them. This child was raised by her 
grandmother, as her mother died when she was a little over a year old. 
She was a daughter of F. B. F. Fairfax and mother of the writer of 
this sketch. Colonel Fairfax had not been well for several days, but 
•was not considered dangerously ill. Along in the night his wife woke 
'up the little girl and said, "Hattie, your grandpa is gone"" The child 
felt over to him and said, "'No, he is not, grandma, he is here"" Like 
a sage and philosopher, he had wrapped the drapery of his couch about 
him and passed away peacefully and quietly in his sleep. 

Of the children of Colonel Fairfax, Buckner acquired the most 
prominence. He was born in Valley district at the old home, 
and named for his maternal grandfather's family. At twenty 

t:;e tlyj ^'urk 


Preston County, West Virginia 635 

years of age he was appointed county surveyor and directed 
to run the line between Monongalia and Preston counties. 
March 30, 1828, he married Rebecca, daughter of James Parsons 
of Romney, Hampshire county. He represented Preston county 
in the Virginia Assembly in 1837-38 and in 1846-47 and in 185 1. In 
1849 the General Assembly of Virginia elected him General of the loth 
Brigade, 3rd Division of the Virginia Militia. He was a justice of the 
peace many years and member of the County Court. His children were: 
James Baldwin; Mary Catherine (died when about grown); Susan 
Louise, who married Colonel John Allen Fairfax Martin (her first 
cousin, son of Aquila Martin and Mary Fairfax) on October 19, 1852. 
She died on the birth of her first child, Isaac Parsons Martin of King- 
wood. The fourth child of General Buckner Fairfax was Parthena 
Gregg, who married a man named Smith. She lost him and several 
children by him, and then married Charles W. Vickery. Both lie buried 
in the Kingwood cemietery. Two children survive this marriage : 
Florence, the wife of Felix Elliott, cashier of the Bank of Kingwood, 
and Rupert, still single. The fifth child is Sarah Rebecca, unmarried 
and living in Kingwood, and Ann Elizabeth, the wife of Dr. S. M. Scott 
of Terra Alta, is the youngest. 

Colonel John Martin, who married the second daughter of General 
Fairfax, attained almost as much prominence ^s the General. He served 
as Colonel of the 148th Regiment of Virginia Militia ; deputy sheriff 
several times; member of the Legislature of Virginia in 1853 and 1855 
and in 1881 ; president board of directors of the Asylum for Insane at 
Weston. He died Januaiy 24, 1898, and lies buried in the Terra Alta 

General Buckner Fairfax lived many years at the old Dunkard Bot- 
tom farm on Cheat River, two miles east of Kingwood. In his later 
years he moved to Terra Alta and died there March 30, 1880, and is 
buried in the cemetery there. 

Colonel John Fairfax's sons by his second wife, Franklin and George 
Washington (named for the "Father of his Country"), both became 
prominent and were commissioned colonels in the military service of 

F. B. F. (grandfather of the writer) married Mary Elizabeth Garrett, 
April 23, 1835. The latter was a daughter of John P. and Elizabeth 
Garrett of Frederick. Maryland, who were married April 16, 1801. The 
daughter was born March i, 1806, and was twin to Allen W. Garrett, 

636 Preston County, West Virginia 

who died Fe'bruary 23, 1835. The sister died November 29, 1841, aged 
34 years, 8 months and 29 days. Colonel F. B. F. Fairfax and Mary 
Elizabeth Garrett were married by Bishop John Johns at Frederick, 
Maryland. To this union was born a son, March 8, 1837, named John 
Philpot. It was dead born or only lived a short time. April 27, 1838, 
twin daughters were born, and named: Sarah Virginia, who died May 
loth, aged 14 days, and Elizabeth Ann Loid, who grew up and was 
married to Henry Marshall Grimes, September 22, 1859, by Rev. Spencer 
King, and died February 22, 1875, ^^ her 37th year, leaving a family of 
eight children. July 4, 1840, another daughter was born to Colonel F. 
B. F. Fairfax and named Harriet Virginia Caroline. She was married 
to Charles Mercer Brown on February 22, 1861. He died November 
26, 1868, leaving two boys, Jefferson Slidell and Benjamin Loid. No- 
vember 19, 1872, the widow married Charles R. Morgan of Marion 
county and had one child by him, May Fairfax, now the wife of Charles 
W. Wolfe of Kingwood. December 27, 1897, Mrs. Morgan died and 
is buried in the Kingwood cemetery by the side of her aunt Elizabeth, 
the daughter of Colonel John Fairfax by his second wife. Mary E. Gar- 
rett Fairfax died November 29, 1841, aged 34 years, 8 months and 
29 days. 

On July 7, 1842, Franklin Fairfax was married to Emily Fortney 
by Rev. Daniel Fortney. The second wife was born Novemiber 26, 
1817, and died July 22, 1903, in her 86th year. September 2, 1843, a 
daughter was born to this union and named Frances Henrietta. She 
died September 20th, aged 18 days. Olivia Elvira was born October 
25, 1844, and is single and living near Reedsville at the old home. 
Marianna Josephine, born Fe'bruary 18, 1847, died July 5, 1851. Francis 
Robert Henson, born December 22, 1848, died October 29, 1857. Julia 
Vandelia, born April 28, 1851, and married to Clark J. Bayles, March 
18, 1885, by the Rev. David Rogers, is living on the old homestead 
near Reedsville. Rebecca Kate, born June 4, 1854, married Dr. 
John D. Hall, October 18, 1876. They had one child, Walter Eustace, 
who died in Kingwood, April 17, 1881, of scarlet fever, and is buried 
in the Kingwood cemetery. They moved to Indiana, where the doctor 
died, and the widow is living at the old homestead near Reedsville. 
Helen Bell, born June 12, 1856, died of typhoid fever November 4, 1893. 
Martha Louisa, born May 27, 1859, married Joseph W. Bixler, now 
living in Morgantown. Albert Sidney Johnstone (a girl), born June 
5, 1862, married Lafayette Ralphsnyder and is living in Georgetown, 

Preston County, West Virginia 637 

Monongalia county. Franklin Fairfax died July 13, 1888, and is buried 
in the Reedsville cemetery. 

The youngest son of John Fairfax, born December 5, 1812, and 
named after our first President, also attained distinction. He served 
as colonel of the Virginia Militia about 1840, and in 1844 as sheriff of the 
county. He resided in Morgantown for a time and served as deputy 
sheriff of Monongalia county under John T. Fleming about 1854. He 
moved back to Preston county in 1S58 and built a fine home on the 
old original Fairfax plantation, where Arthurdale now stands. He was 
married to Margaret Stewart Gay, April 29, 1846. She was a daughter 
of Robert Gay and was born in Tyrone county, Ireland, in 1819, and 
jjied February 13, 1859. She came across the ocean in 1831, when twelve 
years of age, and lived in Miorgantown with her uncle, Matthew Gay, 
until her marriage, as her father went to Illinois and died there. Four 
children were born to George Washington and Margaret Gay Fairfax, 
as follows : James Mathew Gay, born July 10, 1847, now living near 
Reedsville ; Emma R., born September 14, 1850, married Daniel G. 
Watson and lived and died in Reedsville, leaving several children, now 
grown; Ann C, born July 8, 1853, and married to a man named Shields 
and now living in Mendocino county, California; George Washington, 
Jr., born August 9, 1856, and died August 26th of same month. Colonel 
G. W. Fairfax died suddenly October 25, 1885. 

The Fairfax name has long been associated with the history and 
development of Preston county, as one of the most prominent families 
of the Commonwealth, but bids fair to become extinct and merged 
into other family names. While the older generations nearly all had 
large families, they were mostly girls who married and lost the name. 
The few boys born died in infancy or moved away or died without 
issue, so that but one is left to perpetuate the name in this county. 
Ralph, the only son living of Dr. J. M. G. Fairfax of near Reedsville, 
who has but two children, a boy and a girl. 


Colonel John Fairfax of Fairfax county, whose daughter Anne mar- 
ried Lawrence Washington, half-brother of General George Washing- 
ton, was the grandfather of John Mathews G. Fairfax, the subject of 
this sketch. Colonel John Fairfax, for seven years superintendent at 
'Mt. Vernon for General Washington, on the advice of his employer 

638 Preston County, West Virginia 

purchased of Philip Doddridge some choice lands in the Glades of 
Valley, and in the following year, 1790, settled there. 

John Mathews Gay Fairfax, son of George Washington Fairfax, 
resides near Reedsville and is a successful agriculturist. He was born 
July 10, 1847, and raised a farmer. His education was obtained in the 
district school, in Morgantown, and in Baltimore, Maryland. When 
twenty-one years of age he took a course of training at the West Vir- 
ginia University, and in 1865 supplemented that with a good knowledge 
of bookkeeping in a business college at Baltimore, Md. In 1876 he 
obtained the title of D. D. S. from a Defntal College in Philadelphia, 
and practised dentistry about four years, but too long accustomed to 
outdoor pursuits he became restive at one so sedentary, and went back 
to farm life'. March 17, 1876, he married Miss Sadie A. Reed of Franklin 
county, Pennsylvania, since which time he has followed farming and 
become a raiser of fine blooded stock. The farm is a very valuable one 
consisting of about three hundred acres of land, and very productive. 
The stock raised consists of the Durham shorthorned cattle, Shropshire 
sheep, Befrkshire swine, and chickens of the White Wyandotte breed. 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Fairfax are as follows: (i) 
George William, born January 26, 1878, died July 3, 1893. He was 
killed by being thrown from his vehicle against a post by a runaway 
horse. It happened in his first year at college. (2) Ralph Bernard, 
born September 23, 1881, married Nellie M. Dent of Morgantown, 
August 29, 1902. They have two children: (a) Margaret Gay, born 
January 23, 1903; (b) William Dent, born March 26, 1904. 

Mr. Fairfax and family are members of the Presbyterian Church, 
Aside from his religious activities and a membership of twenty-five 
years in the I. O. O. F. Lodge, Mr. Fairfax maintains a quiet, secluded 
life, though a public spirited citizen of the county and state. He is an 
educated man, a great reader, and in some respects a remarkable factor 
in the general commonwealth. He was born a ventriloquist, and as a 
good reader of character, could have succeeded in that line. He was 
twice rescuscitated from drowning, and lives today with a broken neck, 
apparently as hardy in body as he is strong in mind, which is by no 
means of ordinary caliber. 









rc :i.D TiONP. 

Preston County, West Virginia 639 


Anthony Carroll, a sailor of the British Navy, patented land on 
Deckers Creek in 1789, but is not known to have himself lived in 
Preston. James, his only son, and grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, settled on a farm one mile north of Kingwood in 1790 or 92, 
the date apparently being that of his marriage. 

James H. Carroll was a son of Hon. William Carroll, who was a 
member of the Virginia Legislature in 1834, 35, 36, 39 and 40. He was 
born in Preston county, September 2, 1820, and died at his residence 
Thursday evening about 6 o'clock November 20, 1890. His funeral 
was attended by a large crowd of friends and relatives. The Kingwood 
Bar was present in a body as pall bearers. 

Mr. Carroll received a good common school education, and in the fall 
of 1841, he received an appointment from the Government at the Sac 
and Fox Indian Agency and spent the winter in Iowa. He taught 
school, was appointed postmaster in Kingwood in 1843, and in 1849 
was appointed clerk in the post office at Wheeling under George W. 
Clutter, post master. He was elected Clerk of the Circuit Court of his 
county in 18512, and was retained in that office until 1863, when he 
resumed the practice of law. In 1846 he raised a company for the 
Mexican War, but the State's quota was full and the Company's 
service was not required. He studied law and was admitted to the 
bar in 1845. In 1852, at an election in May, Gideon D. Camden was 
elected Judge of this Circuit and lawyer Carroll Clerk of the Court, 
beating John P. Byrne by one vote. He was re-elected in 1858, In 
1870 Mr. Carroll embarked in the newspaper business and founded the 
Preston County Herald. In 1877 Henry Clay Hyde having assumed 
control changed it into the West Virginia Argus. 

Mr. Carroll was married to Miss Josie McKee, daughter of Squire 
McKee of Brandonville. She died June i8th, 1906, at the age of fifty. 
Two children are the result of this union. The youngest. James William 
Carroll, was born August 8, 1883, ^^ Kingwood and educated in the 
public schools of his native town, and at the Franklin School, Washing- 
ton, D. C. He now holds a position as clerk in the Document Office 
in the House of Representatives. Washington, D. C. On June 7, 1904, 
he enlisted in Company G, First Infantry of West Virginia, and held 
the position of regimental buglar for six years, or until his last year 
in the service of that regiment. He is a member of Brown's Lodge, 
No. 32, K. of P., of Kingwood and of the Military Department, 

640 Preston County, West Virginia 

Washington, D. C. His only sister, Mary McKee Carroll, born May 
28, 1881, at Kingwood, is now a resident of Washington, D. C, also. 
She was educated at Kingwood public school, Miss Bristol's school and 
Dupont Seminary. 


The Carroll family are of English descent, and were early settlers 
in West Virginia. Anthony Carroll, born about 1725, the pioneer of 
the family in Morgantown, settled first at Annapolis, Maryland. He 
was of the same family as Charles Carroll of Carrollton, and lived in 
the same town, but the relationship is not known. His emigration to 
America took place after he had been released from military duties in 
England, because of over age, and his coming here must have been 
soon after the French and Indian War and not long before the War of 
Independence. Nor could he have remained at Annapolis long, before 
his removal to Morgantown, as the Indians were still molesting the 
white settlers after his arrival in Monongalia county, on account of 
their troubles with the Morgans. Because of those savage raids on the 
whites, Mr. Carroll and others moved with their families into the fort 
at Granville, and subsequently to Rock Forge, where he died in 1832, 
at the advanced age of 107 years. 

Anthony Carroll was a soldier in the British navy, and a weaver 
by trade. He followed that pursuit while living in the fort at 
Granville. Subsequently he purchased the Kerns stone-house farm at 
Rock Forge and moved on it. Later he bought a mill of one of the 
Morgans at Ufifington. He also built a mill at Dellslow and operated 
both mills and the farm for several years. 

Anthony Carroll was a remarkable man. When 96 years old he 
walked from Morgantown to Kingwood one day, and walked back a 
few days later. He was married four times. His first wife was a 
Miss Donaway, whom he married in England. Two children came 
of this union, James and Mary. Mary, an ancestor of Hon. William 
Gorden Worley, married William Gordon and moved to Ohio. His 
second wife died not long after marriage, leaving no children. His 
third wife was a Miss Rose Hall. By her he had one daughter, Mar- 
garet, who married Godfrey Guseman of Morgantown. His fourth 
wife was a Mrs. Walls. No issue from this marriage. 


.■b y 

r\'] ''J 



Preston County, West Virginia 641 

James Carroll, the grandfather of Hon. James H. Carroll whose sketch 
follows this one and great-grandfather of Hardin Duval Carroll of this 
sketch, was born at Annapolis, Maryland, May lo, 1771, but spent his 
early life in the fort at Granville and on the farm at Rock Forge. In 
1792, he married Sarah VanKirk, a young Scotch woman, and moved 
into a cabin in the woods near Kingwood, on a 400 acre tract of land, 
which had been patented by his father. 

His children were: (i) Anthony, (2) William, father of Mrs. Peter 
R. Smith and Honorable James H. Carroll of Kingwood. (3) Mary, 
who married Solomon Herndon, one time hotel proprietor of Kingwood. 
(4) James, father of Alfred Carroll of Kingwood. 

Anthony Carroll, 2nd, was born March 20, 1793, and was married 
twice. His first wife was Sarah Minor, and by her he had one child, 
James M. His second wife was Temperance Alley, who bore him 
eight children: (i) Eugene, (2) Mary, who married Dr. William Hern- 
don; (3) Col. John S. P., who commanded the 14th Virginia Infantry; 
(4) Lucinda, (5) Katherine, who married Dr. J. C. Kemble ; (6) 
Margaret, (7&8) two younger, who died in early life. He bought a 
200 acre tract of land upon which there was a cabin and a clearing of 
James Dent and lived there between the years 1829 and 1856. This 
farm is about three miles northeast of Masontown, and belongs now to 
H. D. Carroll. 

James M. Carroll, born October 29, 1815, was one of the prominent 
men of Preston county. He attended school several years in the 
Kingwood Academy, when Nicholson was principal, and, subsequently, 
attended the Academy at Morgantown. His earlier years were spent 
with his grandfather, but, about 1830, he returned home and there 
remained in active life until his death. He was public spirited and filled 
several positions of honor and trust, was constable over 20 years; first 
lieutenant of the 148th Regiment of the Virginia Militia, commission 
dating from May i, 1858; was a member of the Board of Education, 
for which position he was well qualiified by education and experience. 
His wife, Mrs. Elizabeth, daughter of William and Miss Harriet 
Reed Burke, bore him nine children. Their names are Sarah, Louise, 
Mary, Martha, Catherine. Joanna. John, Paul and Hardin Duval, the 
youngest, and now the only one living. Sarah is the mother of 
Edward C. Everly, clerk of the county court; Louise married Oliver 
Dunn of Morgantown. The others died young. He died January 27, 
1906, in his ninety-first vear. 

642 Preston County, West Vibgenu 

Hardin Duval Carroll was born where he lives now, near Mason- 
town, February i6, 1863. He received a good education, having taken 
the degree of B. S. of Agriculture from the University of Morgan- 
town, and a course in Veterinary Science. When seventeen years 
old he began teaching and followed that profession almost continuously 
twenty-three years. His degree, Bachelor of Science, was obtained 
in 1905. He superintended the schools at Masontown three years, and 
as an agriculturalist held farmers' institutes and lectured. Beside 
superintending the farm and veterinary practice, he is connected wath 
the Civil Service in the Post Office Department and finds time to write 
for several agricultural papers and report to the U. S. Agricultural 

On November 7, 1888, he married Elma, daughter of Joseph 
and Eleanor Herring and sister to George A. Herring of Kingwood. 
Their children : (a) Allen K., born April 10, 1896, is now taking a 
course in agriculture at Morgantown University; (b) Paul, born March 
17. 1893; (c) Ruth, born April 16, 1895; (^) Myra, born May 7, 1900; 
(e) Helen, born April 29, 1904. 

The family are members of the Methodist Church. 


The subject of this sketch is a successful farmer living near Glade 
Farms. He is a descendant of Philip Beerbower, who came with his 
parents to this country from Germany, landing in the city of New 
York. (See sketch of the Beerbower family.) Philip Beerbower went 
to York county, Pennsylvania, and in 1808, moved with his family to 
the Glade Farms settlement, where he raised a family of five children. 
Of these children, Philip, Jr., remained at home to care for his parents, 
the others all going to Ohio, where many of their descendants still 
live. After the death of his father, Philip moved to Pennsylvania, but 
only staid there a short time. He returned to Preston county and 
took up his final abode where Zar Beerbower now lives. 

Only one of the brothers who went to Ohio had found a wife in 
Preston county. This was Jacob, who took away Elizabeth, daughter 
of Jesse Spurgeon, Sr. His son, Dr. Jesse Beerbower, born in Ohio, 
September 18, 1829, was a graduate of Jefferson College and also of th^ 
Keokuk Medical College. There being an opening at Bruceton for a 


7 :■. TiivV vgRK 


Preston County, West Virginia 643 

physician, he located there in 1856. During the Civil War he was 
assistant surgeon of the Third Maryland Infantry, and died at Mobile, 
Alabama, whither he had gone for his health in 1865. Philip, Jr., was 
born in 1799, and died in 1873. His wife, Lydia Kdly, was one year 
younger than himself, and survived him ten years. Their children 
were fourteen. George S., the oldest of the family, was twice married, 
first to Catherine, daughter of Archibald DeBerry. They had three 
children : Allen, William and Delia. He was next married to Sarah 
Laub. They had seven children, three died in infancy, those living 
are: Martha, Emma, Lloyd and Charles. Harry married Ann Mitchell. 
They had four children. John died in infancy, the three living are 
Silas, William and Zadie. Henry C. married Jane Mitchell. Their 
children are : Ella, Gertrude, Clara and Orval. Hannah became the 
wife of Henry Beatty. They had one daughter, Ella. Phoebe mar- 
ried Henry Sliger. Their only son is now dead. Martha married Thomas 
Beatty. Elizabeth married Adam Sliger, and had three children : 
Laura, Philip and Thomas. Nancy married James DeBerry. They 
had two children, Allen and Camden. Zar married, of whom mention 
will again be made. James, the remaining brother, married Mary 
Fearer. Their children were: Frank, dead; Robert, Fred, Ross, dead; 
Jacob B., died in 1907. He married Elizabeth Barnard and they are the 
parents of William, who lives at Rockville, Pennsylvania, and Forest, 
who lives in Uniontown. Pennsylvania. The other of Philip's children 
died while young. The surviving children of Philip are Zar, Harry, 
Henry and Hannah. 

Zar Beerbower, son of Philip and Lydia (Kelly) Beerbower, was 
born November 10, 1848. His wife Alice, daughter of Jesse and 
Minerva (Robinson) Spurgeon, whom he married January 16, 1883, was 
born June 20, 1856. She is a granddaughter of Jesse and Catherine 
('Spahr) Spurgeon, who took up their residence at Glade Farms, in 
the earlier history of Preston county. Their son, Jesse, was born there 
on April i, 1827, and died there February 28, 1908. His wife was 
born November 14, 1832. They had three children, one dying in infancy. 
Lucian Spurgeon married a Miss Kimble, and is now living in Union- 
town, Pennsylvania. Mae lives at Greensburg, Pennsylvania, still single. 

Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Zar Beerbower: Jesse, 
born January 16, 1884; Ernest, March 9, 1885; Augusta, August 16, 
1887; Isa, February 16, 1898. After marriage, Mr. Beerbower moved 
to the farm he now owns and lives on, and built his present com- 
modious residence in 1908. The farm consists of three hundred acres 

644 Preston County, West Virginia 

of land, all tillable, and of the best quality. Mr. Beerbower also deals 
in fertilizers and live stock. The family are in possesision of com- 
fortable incomes to live on, are quiet unostentatious people, are 
Lutherans, but not in any other way affiliated with clubs or societies, 
political or otherwise. Their daughter, Augusta, married William 
Mitchell, July 2, 1910. They have one child named Barrel. 


The Beerbower Family are numerous and prominent. They are of 
German descent, and are of the blonde type a characteristic trait of 
the more ancient Germans who lived in prehistoric times, found in 
the barrow graves of Southern Europe, originally of the Rokitno bury- 
ing grounds, where Albinism developed. The American family, liv- 
ing in West Virginia and in Pennsylvania, are descendants of Philip 
Beerbower, son of a German emigrant, who came from the city of 
Rotterdam in 1732. Philip Beerbower, Jr., died at the Glade 
Farms in 1871. His father had moved there from New York in 1808. 
He married Lydia Kelley. She died in 1872. George S., their oldest 
son, lived near Glade Farms. He was a good farmer, and a well known 
Christian gentleman. His wife was Catherine DeBerry, daughter of 
Archibald and Mary (Hazlet) De Berry, whose history can be found 
in another part of this work. Their children were: William, a minister 
in the Evangelical Lutheran Church. He was educated in Salem, Va., 
married Mary Marshall, of that place, in October of 1882, and by her 
had one child, Clyde W. He was pastor of the Brandonville circuit 
when he died in 1885. (2) Allen, the second son, married Rachael 
Chopson, and is the father of three boys : Paul and Ralph are both super- 
intendents of coal and coking plants for the H. C. Frick Co. at Fair- 
chance and Connelsville, Pa. ; Bert, the youngest of the family, is at 

Lydia Beerbower was born August 28, 1856. In 1882, she married 
Milton Robinson, an educated and practical farmer who had moved 
from his farm near Glade Farms twenty-four years ago to Terra Alta, 
where he died February 8, 1906. He was a devout Christian gentle- 
man. Their children were: (i) Russell, who was killed on the rail- 
road by accident when nineteen years old ; (2) Mabel Blanche, born 
October 9, 1890, married to Mr. Oscar E. Ressegger, a graduate of the 
commercial department of West Virginia Wesleyan College at Buck- 
hannon, and died on March 27, 1912. The Resseggers are educated 

Preston County, West Virginia 645 

people. Mrs. Ressegger graduated from the Terra Alta High School 
when sixteen years of age, and would have graduated from her Alma 
Mater in June, 1912, had she continued her studies there three months 
longer. Mr. Ressegger is at this time building a residence on his farm 
near Frenchton. 

Mrs. Ressegger's mother, Mrs. Robinson, married the second time. 
Her husband is William Henry Ringer, a well-to-do farmer near Terra 
Alta. He is the son of John Ringer, a veteran soldier of the late Civil 
War and a farmer near Lenox. Mr, W. H. Ringer was born in 1847. 
He was formerly a devout member of the Lutheran Church, but now 
worships with his family with the Methodist people. 


The history of the Beerbower family in America dates to the year 
1752, so far as we have been able to trace the lineage. 

Sep^tember 26, 1752, a ship, "William and Mary," set sail from 
Rotterdam, Holland; master, John Moore. 

It was one of a fleet conveying German and Dutch Hollanders to 
the then new world, America. 

On ship were two brothers Casper and Philip Bierbauer, with a 
younger sister, who died on the voyage and was buried at sea. 

Casper Bierbauer settled in York county. Pa., where he took out 
naturalization papers in 1777. 

Among his descendants are some very notable characters. Possibly 
the best k'nown was the late Vincent Beerbower, member of the State 
Legislature of Nebraska, and later Lieutenant Governor of Idaho. 

The late Austin Bierbower, LL. D., lawyer, author and philosopher, 
whose name you will find in "Who's Who in America," was also a 
descendant of this brother. 

Philip, Sr., settled on the Conewago Creek, York county. Pa., and 
was the father of seven children: Philip, Jr., Peter, Frederick, John, 
Jacob, Susan and Sarah. Of these only Philip, Jr., remained in Vir- 
ginia, the others emigrating to Ohio, Indiana and other western states. 

Philip, Jr., is the ancestor of all the families bearing the name 
Beerbower in West Virginia and western Pennsylvania. He was born 
in 1799 and died April 18, 1872. 

646 Preston County, West Virginia 

The Beerbower homestead at Glade Farms, West Virginia, was near 
the site of old Fort Morris. 

The subject of this sketch, Charles W. Beerbower, was born June 
29, 1872. His father, George Stough, the oldest of the family of 
Philip, Jr., born November 22, 1820, died July 19, 1879, leaving a widow 
and five children : Martha, Mary, Charles W., Emma and Lloyd George. 

It was largely due to the good management of the mother, and the 
oldest sister, Martha, and some help from the late Rev. W. D. Beer- 
bower, then a student at Roanoke College, Salem, Virginia, that the 
family were kept together and that true home spirit was developed 
that ever afterwards was a characteristic of the children, and especially 
of the subject of this sketch. 

Charles W. left home at the age of nine years, and from that time 
on was carving his own way in the world, spending his boyhood days 
on Muddy Creek and then at Glade Farms until he was nineteen years 
old, — working on farms, and attending the public schools in the winter 

At the age of nineteen he left the familiar scenes of his boyhood 
days, and the recollections of the stories told him of old Fort Morris 
and the settlement of his great-grandfather, and took up the life of a 
colporteur and lecturer on "Pilgrim's Progress." 

After spending one summer with the Bunyan's Pilgrim Band in the 
famous Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, he returned to Preston and took 
a term in the Terra Alta Summer Normal and secured a teacher's cer- 
tificate, teaching his first term at the Falkenstine School, Grant district. 

Following lecturing and colporteur work in the summer months and 
teaching in the winter season gave him a varied experience. 

In 1893 he was one of a party of four who were sent to the Co- 
lumbian Exposition, Chicago, 111., by John C. Winston Co. of Phila- 
delphia. After teaching a term in the public school at Bruceton, West 
Virginia, he again joined the Pilgrim Band in Washington, D. C, and 
traveled with Prof. McGrew until he organized "The Pilgrim 
Travelers" at Boonesboro, Md., August 2"], 1895. He was lecturer, 
Prof. Martell Morrison, vocalist, and W. H. Thornton, manager. In 
this capacity he traveled all over southern Pennsylvania, Maryland, 
Virginia and West Virginia, giving in all over 300 lectures. Attending 
the seminary at Buckhannon, W. Va., in the spring term, 1899, and 
teaching a term at Masontown, W. Va., he abandoned the lecture work 
and entered the role of clerk in the mercantile firm of Lakin & Offut, 
Rowlesburg. W. Va. 



p^bLic library 

Preston County, West Virginia 647 

September 19, 1900, he married Delia S. Thomas, daughter of 
William and Martha Thomas of Elliottsville, Pa., whose ancestors go 
back to the Brandenburgs of Germany. 

Locating at Terra Alta and teaching one term in the public schools 
of Kingwood, he then accepted a position with the Union Supply Co. 
as clerk, but was soon promoted to manager, and which position he 
now holds at Monarch store, one of the best of the chain of 63 stores of 
the Steel Corporation. 

He is a member of the Leiseuring Presbyterian church and of Gen. 
Worth Lodge, L O. O. F., Connellsville, Pa. 

'His family sonsists of his wife, Delia, and two daughters, Evangeline 
Lucile and Eleanor Beatrice. 

He is interested in all matters pertaining to the betterment of the 
laboring classes and is a firm believer in the abolition of the liquor 
traffic as the greatest benefit that we can bestow upon the American 
people to help them to a better plane of living. 

He is now engaged with James Bierbower of Lampasas, Texas, in 
compiling a book entitled "The House of Bierbower," being a history 
of all the different families bearing the name. 

He conceived the idea of the Bierbower reunions, of which the first 
was held at Glade Farms, August 24, 1912, and at which over 500 
people were present. 


In the northeast angle of Preston is a smooth expanse of farm land. 
The landscape is attractive and interesting. Here was the site of old 
Fort Morris, and here linger memories of the early days of settlement 
as well as of the palmy era of the once famous National Road. To this 
inviting neighborhood there came in the opening years of the last 
century, Philip Beerbower, a farmer of York county, Pennsylvania. He 
was a son of Philip Bierbauer, who, with a brother Casper, same from 
Germany in 1752. Philip, Jr., spent the remaining years of his life in 
his Preston home and is buried at Glade Farms. But all his children 
save one listened to the "call of the West" and removed to the still 
more inviting soil of Ohio. A third Philip, after the death of his parent, 
reconsidered his determination to join his brothers beyond the great 
stream which the French explorers so aptly termed the "Beautiful 

648 Preston County, West Virginia 

River." He lived and died on a farm which is only a half-hour's walk 
from the early home. From his thirteen sons and daughters are derived 
the Beerbower connection of this county. 

George S., the oldest of the children of the third Philip, had for his 
first wife Catharine DeBerry, and for his second, Saloma Laub. He 
was born November 22, 1820, and died July 19, 1879. Catharine 
DeBerry was born April 8, 1818, and died March 18, 1857. His children 
were the following: (i) William D. Beerbower, born November 9, 1852, 
died July 7, 1884 (a Lutheran minister); (2) Silas, dead; (3) Allen 
Beerbower, born April 3, 1853, married Rachel Chopson ; (4) Lydia 
Beerbower, born August 28, 1856, married Milton Robinson. George 
Beerbower married Saloma Laub, who was born March 24, 1840, died 
January 19, 1896 — children: (i) Ida Bell, born June 3, 1862, died 
February, 1872; (2) Martha J., born April 2, 1864, married J. Allen 
Reckard; (3) Jonathan Camden, born July 4, 1865, died August 7, 1877; 
(4) Mary, born May 27, 1871, died December 6, 1887, buried near Brad- 
dock, Pa., Grave 12, Range i, Division i; (5) Charles W., born June 
29, 1872, married Delia Thomas; (6) Emma Alice, born March 3, 1874, 
married T. L. Gribble ; (7) Lloyd George, born June 2, 1877, married 
Elizabeth StaflFord. 

The somewhat early death of the father left the household, and par- 
ticularly its younger members, in circumstances far from easy. The 
remarriage of the widow proved most sadly unfortunate. It is due 
fundamentally to the care and training of a Christian mother that the 
subject of our sketch has achieved his success in life. Much also is due 
to an older sister, Mrs. Martha Reckard. She was untiring in her 
eflforts to help her mother and the younger children. Yet with no 
home peculiarly their own, with no moneyed inheritance to look forward 
to, with but meager school training in the early years of youth, but 
with the commendable determination to "make good," the boys, 
Charles W. and Lloyd G, proceeded to carve out a career for them- 
selves. We mention the two brothers in the same connection, since 
they are not far apart in age and were associated a long while in com- 
mon activities. What is still more to the point, each has achieved a 
very gratifying degree of success. 

As we have just observed, the brothers did not appear in the world 
with a spoon in the mouth that was either silver or gold. Yet they 
were endowed with health and strength, with the willingness to work, 
and with that power of steady application which is a characteristic of 
the German strain. Their progress was sure, even if it did not come 

Preston County, West Virginia 649 

with that speed which ofttimes is so detrimental to personal character. 
Lloyd George Beerbower was born June 2, 1877, at which time his 
parents were living in the adjoining county of Fayette, in Pennsylvania. 
Two years later they returned to Glade Farms, and their son has ever 
since acknowledged Preston as his home. As soon as the boy attained 
a size and strength that made him efficient on the farm, his time was 
thus employed until he had reached the age of seventeen. During this 
period of his life his educational advantages were simply those of the 
average farm' boy of the period. 

A somewhat unique career now presented itself. The jouth was 
fortunate in coming under the notice of Professor N. N. McGrew of 
Philadelphia, an experienced seller of books. His kindly and practical 
interest was very helpful and important, and he readily prevailed upon 
his new friend to join his "Pilgrim Band," composed of a few young 
men. As colporteurs, and as sellers of that immortal allegory, the 
"Pilgrim's Progress," the band traversed a considerable territory, cover- 
ing counties in Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia, as well as West 
Virginia. From the ever-shifting base of operations, the members of 
the troup would take diverging paths in order to make a house-to-house 
canvass of the surrounding neighborhood. 

After being thus employed for some time, the young man became 
associated with Charles W., his older brother. They now prosecuted 
the same work as principals and not as employees. They traveled 
mainly in a wagon specially arranged for their purpose. They gave 
evening lectures on "Pilgrim's Progress," these lectures being illus- 
trated by a stereopticon. During the hours of daylight the neighbor- 
hood was as before canvassed for sales of the book in a binding offered 
at a very reasonable price. 

Such a career is of priceless worth to an am'bitious young man. In 
selling books, a vocation which the late Dwight L. Moody said would 
prove the mettle of any person, the brothers achieved marked success. 
Their work was an education at once practical and liberal. It lifted 
them above the narrow sympathies of a home neighborhood and made 
them acquainted with numerous towns, villages and school neighbor- 
hoods, and with the denizens of the same. It turned the quondam plow- 
boys iry:o polished gentlemen. It opened an avenue by means of which 
they found themselves. In short, it gave them an adaptability and 
efficiency which could not have been secured had they remained all this 
while close to the home of their childhood. Nor were the advantages 
all on one side. By scattering literature of an unexceptionable sort, and 

650 Preston County, West Virginia 

by furnishing public entertainments of an uplifting character, the 
brothers rendered a service to the communities they visited. 

At length they put an end to this migratory life. It is to their credit 
that they determined to do so. As a very serviceable training, their 
work had fulfilled its purpose. To have pursued it indefinitely would 
not alone have perpetuated an unsettled career : it would insensibly have 
drawn the young men into a rut and lured them into performing their 
duties in a mechanical way. 

Like his brother Charles, the junior partner now turned his atten- 
tion to school work, teaching three successful winter terms in the rural 
schools of Preston. While thus engaged he was a prominent and 
useful member of the county institutes. To fit himself the better for 
this new career, he availed himself of private instruction from that un- 
usual and gifted character, the late Samuel T. Wiley. That teacher- 
historian was a firm friend to the two brothers, and to him they feel 
deeply indebted for his sage advice as well as his helpful tuition. 

For two years more young Beerbower resumed traveling work, but 
in a broader and more advantageous field. In the service of a Pennsyl- 
vania company, whose line was the selling of views, he traveled not 
only in the states with which he was already familiar, but also in Ohio, 
North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, Ken- 
tucky, and the District of Columbia. As a consequence, his knowledge 
of places and of people was much further extended, and he was enabled 
to prepare for the permanent calling which he had by this time chosen. 

He took up his studies in Cincinnati, graduating in June, 1905, with 
the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery. His travels in the South had 
developed a purpose to locate at Galveston, Texas, for the active pursuit 
of his profession. But the more tonic air of the Preston hills, and, 
above all, the loyalty of the many friends who dwell among them, 
caused this design to be reconsidered. During his summer vacations 
they had put his dental services into request. So on the completion of 
his course of study he at once located in Terra Alta, the energetic and 
wide-awake metropolis of the county. 

■With regard to his practice alone, the success of Dr. Beerbower 
was immediate, and it has been continuous. In connection with Frank 
Zeller, he completed in 1910 the Beerbower-Zeller Building, on Wash- 
ington Street. On the second floor is his suite of dental apartments. 
These rooms are as well equipped as the up-to-date dental offices found 
in the cities. Dr. Beerbower is a charter member of the West Virginia 

Preston County, West Virginia 651 

Dental Society, and since the organization of the same in 1906 he has 
never missed any of its meetings. He has served on its most important 
committees, and as its president in 1913. He is also secretary-treasurer 
of the Board of Dental Examiners for West Virginia, having been ap- 
pointed in July, 1911, by Governor Glasscock. 

The older Beerbowers were Lutherans, but since' locating in Terra 
Alta, the doctor has transferred his allegiance to the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. He has long been active in church work and is 
regular in his attendance upon devotional as well as business meetings. 
For several years he' was superintendent of the Methodist Sunday 
school at Terra Alta, and he continues to teach a class. 

With respect to fraternal organizations, Dr. Beerbower is a member 
of the Masonic order, and of the Knights of Pythias, the Woodmen of 
the World, and the Modern Woodmen of America. Of the first-named 
society he is a Past Master, and he holds the Royal Arch degree. 

In matters of political opinion, the doctor's people have in the main 
adhered to the Democratic creed. But he himself early gave his ad- 
hesion to the Republican party, although he has never hesitated to 
support the candidate of another ticket whenever he has deemed the in- 
terests of true citizenship to require such action. Twice has Dr. Beer- 
bower been called upon by his townsmen to serve as mayor of Terra 
Alta, and he has served four years on the Board of Education for Port- 
land district. 

June 28, 1906, Lloyd George Beerbower was married to Miss Mary 
Elizabeth Stafford, who had been educated at the Preparatory School 
at Keyser, and who, like himself, had taught in the public schools. Mrs. 
Beerbower is the youngest of the six children of William E. and Mary 
(Shahan) Stafford. Both the Stafifords and the Shahans come of old 
Monongalia and Preston families. The father-in-law was a Federal 
soldier and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Doctor and 
Mrs. Beerbower have been blessed with two children : Albert Stafford, 
born April 9, 1909, and Fred Vance, born July 30, 1912. 

In personal contact. Dr. Beerbower is courteous, genial and ap- 
proachable. These engaging qualities are linked with those of sincerity, 
integrity and straightforwardness. It is a sterling character as well as 
patient effort that has brought him the commendation and the patronage 
of the people with whom he has cast his lot. The writer of this sketch 
knew him quite intimately during a period of ten years, and therefore 
speaks from personal observation. 

652 Preston County, West Virginu 

Born July 4, 1874. Died November 12, 1910. 

Swift as an arrow came death to this young man, who had every 
hope and natural expectation to round out his life work and live to a 
mature age. His brief illness overcame him while at the helm of an 
undertaking for his town and community. He came home Thursday, 
November 4, prostrated from overwork, seized with pneumonia in acute 
form, and never again mingled with his fellows. His history is short, 
but his years were crowded with undertakings great and small, earnest 
endeavors, ambitions realized and unrealized, for from his boyhood he 
labored zealously and incessantly to succeed. 

Orlando C. Crane did succeed, although cut down at the age of 36 
years. Somehow, since time immemorial, people like to enumerate the 
achievements of ambitious men. State and nation extol their leaders. 
Countries applaud the victorious generals. America, especially, is proud 
of her successful sons. Yet, alas, human nature is prone to grant 
grudgingly the full measure of credit and praise to the living. Now 
that death has taken young Crane from among us, we are astonished 
at the interesting and almost wonderful events of his short and stir- 
ring life. 

But he was not una,ppreciated. Terra Alta, his home town, looked 
to him and leaned upon him. Men twice his age counseled with him, 
and his advice was given freely, fully and carefully. His community 
is bowed with grief, and no greater tribute could be paid him than the 
universal sorrow which has come to his own people who lived with him 
day by day. 

He was the second child of J. Elliott Crane and Elizabeth Engle 
Crane, and was born at the old Crane farm near Muddy Creek Furnace, 
Preston county. His parents are of good Preston county stock, and 
his childhood days were those of the average farm boy, the home being 
a comfortable one, without luxuries but surrounded by plenty. It was 
a Godly home, it was a home where good, wholesome literature 
abounded, and a home where the parents instilled into the minds of their 
children the ambition to achieve something. 

Think of this young man, at the age of 15, teaching school. He at- 
tended the county and summer normal schools when most youngsters 
were in the intermediate grade, and securing a No. 2 certificate taught 
the Clifton Mills school at the age mentioned. But pedagogy was not 


THE ^lE"^^ ^'^^^''^ 




Preston County, West Virginia 653 

to be his lifework. Orlando Crane's entire temperament was contrary 
to the profession of teaching, for the limitations were too narrow. He 
taught well, was in demand as a teacher, and he saved his money. But, 
unknown to his family, he had other ambitions, and on February i, 1894, 
accepted the position of bookkeeper in the Terra Alta Bank, being 20 
years of age. Hef was cashier of this solid banking institution when he 
died, having been first chosen assistant cashier October 5, 1897, and 
cashier but a few weeks later. These promotions same rapidly, and 
upon their full merit, from bookkeeper to cashier in three years, and 
at the head of the same institution for 13 years. He devoted his time, 
attention, thought and enthusiasm to the bank from the time he became 
its bookkeeper until his death. He knew banking as few young men 
do. He studied the question, read about modern methods, made the 
acquaintance of bankers in the state and in the larger cities, and the 
prosperity of the institution is due in a large measure to his tireless 
energy, his acumen, and his affability in making and holding friends, 
without sacrificing the strict rules of banking. 

One might wonder why a young man of such ability and promise 
was content to remain in a small town, when the world holds out such 
splendid inducements for progressive men. The answer to this is the 
keynote of his life. He was offered, time and again, splendid positions 
abroad, with banks, trust companies, with the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad 
Company and other corporations. His home town was his special 
delight. His patriotism for Terra Alta surpasses anything in his life ex- 
cept his love of his home and his family. One can readily see that the 
ordinary salary of a country banker, and the limitations of the plodder, 
were not to suffice for young Crane, who taught school at 15 and became 
cashier of a bank at 23. 

Orlando C. Crane was ambitious to make money, and he did. Saving 
his salary, investing it carefully until he had a fair capital to go on, he 
began speculating in coal, timber and real estate. He was so shrewd 
and successful that older men of means asked to join him. Mind you, 
he did not neglect his bank work. That was his first ambition, and he 
never lost interest in it. He employed and paid out of his own pocket, 
an assistant, so that during his absence his institution was treated fairly. 
He climbed rapidly after that, and at the time of his death was a rich 
man, perhaps as rich as any man of 60 years in the county. 

On September 9, 1895, Mr. Crane married Miss Mollie C. Joyce, 
of his home town, who for two years before and two afterward was a 
most competent clerk in his bank. They were married in Grafton, by 

654 Preston County, West Virginia 

Rev. A. S. Baumgardner, a relative of his. Her parents were Edward 
and Ellen Joyce, the latter now living. She made her home with Mr. 
and Mrs. Crane, and was particularly fond of her son-in-law, who by his 
courtesy, aflfection and good disposition became like a son to her. No 
one, perhaps, more sincerely mourns his death than Mrs. Joyce. His 
parents are also living in Terra Alta, the father, aged, being too feeble 
to attend the funeral. Tlieir natural pride in this son has been a joy 
and blessing in their advancing years, and his untimely death a blow 
from which they are not likely to recover. 

To the widow who survives him, Mr. Crane always attributed a 
large share of his success. She was a trained business woman, and 
her advice and counsel were a great aid to him. Having established a 
home, Mr. Crane erected his altar there. He began humbly, but of his 
earnings and proifits a certain generous share was spent to enlarge his 
house and grounds, to beautify within and without. No close friend 
could help but admire the enthusiasm he had for his home, and which 
he displayed to his intimates. Temperate in his habits, if he had any 
dissipation it took the form of lavishly providing for his family, for his 
house and grounds, yet always in good taste and always within his 
resources. He was most hospitable, and a guest never left his home 
without feeling that he would enjoy a return visit. His pride in these 
things was almost boyishly enthusiastic, and, of course', highly com- 
mendable. He would travel all night to get back to Terra Alta and 
home, finding his own rooftree more enjoyable than the most luxurious 
of hotels. 

There are three children : Maxine, Ocelia Elizabeth and Charles Ed- 
ward. How he did love these children and how he doted upon them. 
Yet with all this love and all his means, he had mapped out a life of 
usefulness for them, as well as plans for education, when they grew 
older. The older children had some daily task to perform about the 
house. He knew work, and he did not intend to spoil his children, 
although able to provide them with luxuries which he never knew in 
his childhood. Thus we have a very fair illustration of the practical 
turn of the man in this attitude toward his children. 

Two brothers and a sister also survive this young man — namely, W. 
Reed Crane, a prominent druggist of Fairmont ; Clyde F. Crane, book- 
keeper for the Miller-Clark Grain Co., Fairmont, and Ada Ellen Welch, 
wife of Frank D. Welch of Terra Alta. The brothers, one older and 
one younger, always sought the advice of Orlando in business ventures, 

Preston County, West Virginia 655 

and deeply mourn his death, for there has always been a deep family 
affection among them. 

Church affiliations and lodge m^emberships go with the biography 
of a man, although counting for little compared to the actual deeds 
in life. As a matter of record, Orlando C. Crane was a member of the 
Evangelical church, and a trustee of the Terra Alta M. E. church. His 
townsmen say that he was a regular contributor to every church in 
Terra Alta, and that counts for so much more, because his contribu- 
tions were voluntary, of the heart, and an evidence of broad liberality 
of view, not bound or limited by any isms or orthodoxy. He was a good 
Mason, having taken 32 degrees, thus belonging to not only the Blue 
Lodge but all the higher degrees up to the 33rd. His Masonry squared 
every act of his life. He was also an honored member of the Modern 
Woodmen, Woodmen of the World and Knights of Pythias orders. 

Mr. Crane was director of his bank, of the' Terra Alta Woolen Mills, 
and the Englehart Woolen Mills, and held positions on the town council, 
local board of trade, and was otherwise recognized and honored at 

But what count these things? The cold history of a man's career 
and his material success weigh lightly against deeds. Perhaps no young 
man in this county ever climbed more rapidly. He was envied by many, 
understood by but fe'w. Yet, as one person with one mind, speak his 
townsmen of all sects, creeds and parties, and their testimony is that 
Orlando C. Crane was an unselfish man, charitable, ambitious for his 
town, a leader among men. in all good movements, and this is a volume 
of praise out of many hearts. 

Each man has some absorbing passion — some for evil, some for 
good. This passion dominates the life. Aside from the thought for 
family and friends, even aside from the consideration of making a live- 
lihood, one impulse is almost sure to be uppermost. Orlando Crane's 
passion was for his home town. He took the lead for civic improve- 
ments, every time. Men followed him, too, and while he had no ambi- 
tion to be a leader, and no ambition for public honors, he stepped to 
the front when necessary and battled valiantly until success or failure 
followed — and it was almost alwaj's success. He wanted Terra Alta 
to be a model town — a town with modern improvements, and he 
believed in the present age and people doing things, and the future age, 
which would also enjoy such benefits, to help pay the cost. O. C. Crane 
wanted his town to be made the county seat purely because he sought 
every advantage for his town that could be obtained. Exposure, over- 

656 Preston County, West Virginia 

work and the unseen approach of a death-dealing disease, were results of 
this ambition and endeavor, and he was honest about every move he 
made in that direction. He was agreeable, while fighting for this thing, 
and held no malice whatever. 

He was of unusually modest mien, rather retiring, and to fight caused 
him more of an eflfort than most people supposed. He preferred a quiet 
life and his home, but for that absorbing passion of his to be doing 
something for the town. He had few intimates, but those loved him 
dearly. They believed in him, as he believed in his cause and believed 
in his town, and they would die for Crane, such was the' aflfection and 
faith of his few intimate friends. But the whole community, while at 
times criticising him, usually came over to his side and allied them- 
selves under his banner — "the best things for the best town in the best 
county in the best state of the best country," was his one civic motto. . 

This young man would have been excusable had he been vain, con- 
sidering what he had made of himself through his own efforts. But 
he was not vain, although commendably proud. If he indulged in one 
little vanity, aside from his pride of home, it was of his wide acquaint- 
ance with prominent men. Few ever saw this side of him, and he rarely 
indulged in it even to his closest friends. Orlando Crane had the friend- 
ship and confidence of more big men in the world of finance and in- 
dustrial enterprises than any other man in the county, perhaps in the 
state. Think of this country boy, with limited schooling, having the 
ear and approval of scores of men of big finance the country over — and 
then you may conceive why he was proud of the fact — proud but never 
boastful. Had he lived and kept his health he would have been a mil- 
lionaire, and he would never have forgotten Terra Alta and Preston 
county. He was a factor in the county — a real force for good, and there 
is no one now ready to take his place. What he might have done for 
this part of the county will never be known. He was taken in the very 
infancy of his career. 

The largest concourse of persons ever attending the funeral of a 
young man in this county thronged the M. E. Church in Terra Alta, 
Monday, November 14, to pay a tribute to Orlando C. Crane. From 
II o'clock until 1 130 the body lay in state at the church, and men, 
women and children wept at his bier. The Master of Terra Alta Blue 
Lodge and a Knight Templar stood by the casket as the hundreds 
passed in and out — silent sentinels to attest to his right living and to 
guard a beloved brother while he slept. There has never been such a 
profusion of floral offerings seen in this county as the beautiful emblems 



-vvv rE'i^ ''^^'-'"^ 

pSbIic library 

Preston County, Weht Virginia 657 

sent by sorrowing friends to this funeral. Besides numerous private 
remembrances there were huge set pieces from Terra Alta Lodge M. W. 
A.; Osiris Temple, of Wheeling; A. F. and A. M. of Terra Alta; Wood- 
men of the World, Terra Al'ta; Mrs. W. H. Casteel, Washington; Mr. 
and Mis. Clyde S. Holt, Fairmont; Mr. and Mrs. C. M. Crane, the 
Terra Alta Bank; Joseph A. Pugh and W. A. Beavers, Grafton; J. W. 
Whittaker, Mr. and Mrs. Roy Arthur Lough, Morgantown, and Mr. and 
Mrs. N. S. Clary. 

At 1 :30 the funeral services began. Rev. S. P. Crummett, pastor 
of the M. E. Church, was master of ceremonies, and spoke feelingly of 
the deceased, having but a short personal acquaintance with him. Rev. 
Bone, of the Terra Alta Presbyterian Church, paid a tribute to Mr. 
Crane, showing his lack of bigotry and his helpfulness to all denomina- 
tions and all causes. Rev. Harry C. Howard, of First M. E. Church, 
Fairmont, delivered a touching address, referring to his personal friend- 
ship for the dead man and beautifully exemplifying the the traits of 
Mr. Crane. Hon. S. B. Montgomery of Tunnelton delivered a short 
but eloquent address in behalf of the laity, bringing tears to the eyes 
of the multitude as he touched the chords of their hearts, speaking of 
the career of the young man, his friend, whose body lay before him. 
It was one of the best funeral orations ever listened to in this county. 

The .pall-bearers were : Charles Kelly, Frank Brenneman, John 
White, C. A. Miller, William M. Bishop and Frank W. Gandy, all near 
and dear friends and business associates of O. C. Crane. A select choir 
led by Mrs. A. J. Elliott furnished the music, the hymns all being 
favorite selections. Mrs. Elliott sang a Scottish song, "My Ain 
Countrie," in her usual impressive manner. 


Gustavus Jacob Cresap, a resident of Kingwood, and after the Civil 
War a practicing lawyer in Preston county, is a great-grandson of 
Daniel Cresap, the first of the name, so far as known, to land on 
American soil. Daniel Cresap and his four sons — Robert, Daniel, 
Thomas and Michael — ^^came over in a ship from England with Lord 
Baltimore, and preempted a thousand acres or more of land comprising 
the site of Cresap, a village suburb of the city of Cumberland, Md. 
Here a house was erected with chimneys made of brick brought from 

658 Preston County, West Virginia 

England, an orchard planted with apple trees brought from the home 
land also, and a homestead established, where Bishop Asbury and 
Whitefield were wont to preach the Gospel of Good News to whoever 
would give an ear to hear. It was a noted home in other respects as 
well. In those days of travail with the Red men savage ruffianism had 
to be met and repulsed in bloody warfare, and the sturdy, hardy sons of 
Daniel Cresap found themselves equal to emergencies, becoming known 
as Indian fighters. Michael Cresap is the man spoken of by Logan, the 
Indian chief, in a speech, now said by Thomas Jeflferson to be unsur- 
passed by anything ever uttered by Demosthenes or Cicero. At one 
time in those days of Indian warfare, when land was cheap and 
weapons of defense expensive, the Cresaps bought a gun in trade for a 
hundred-acre farm. 

Robert Cresap, son of Daniel, was the father of Gustavus Cresap, 
the prosecuting attorney of Preston county for so many years. He 
was one of the younger brothers of the family, born September 21, 1767. 
Robert Cresap was too young to carry a musket, but he carried powder 
for the troops in the War of the Revolution. Besides being men of 
war, the Cresaps were all highly educated men, culture and scholarship 
having been one of the characteristic qualifications of the family. 

May 9, 1795, Robert Cresap married Susannah Sweanger, born 
August 4, 1773. The children born to this union were: Ruth, January 
16, 1797; Harriet, April 24, 1798; Thomas S., June 16, 1799; John, De- 
cember 26, 1800; Hannah, November 2"], 1802; Daniel, June 23, 1804; 
Gustavus, January 9, 1806; Eusebia, December 21, 1807; Lenox, July 
II, 1809; Susan A., August 9, 181 1 ; James William, May 16, 1814. 

Robert Cresap died September 4, 1827. His son, Gustavus, was 
graduated from Frederick College, Maryland, and then a course of 
study in law was pursued. Being a fine scholar, especially in Latin, his 
legal qualifications were successfully obtained. In 1829 he came to 
Kingwood and began the practice of his profession and remained there 
until removed by death. On February 3, 1831, he married Ruhama 
Pindall, daughter of Jacob and Hannah Pindall of Morgantown. His 
father-in-law was a large landowner and at one time possessed Crab 
Orchard, 600 acres of which he gave to his daughters Ruhama and 
Susan Pindall. He also owned the first hotel in Morgantown. When 
he was young, Mr. Pindall carried salt and pewter dishes from Phila- 
delphia to Morgantown on horses. 

After marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Cresap took up their residence in the 
new house now owned and occupied by his two children, Gustavus 

Preston County, West Virginia 659 

J. and Mary Baldwin Cresap, and where they died, the death of the 
father occurring in May, 1884, and the mother, May 2^, 1900. She was 
born September 8, 1808. 

In 1832. Gustavus Cresap was elected prosecuting attorney of 
Preston county, and he held that office until the year of the War, 1862. 
After the war he ran for the same office in three counties — Preston, 
Barbour, and Randolph, and elected in the two last named. He was 
known as a forceful speaker, a great orator, and, most of all, an honest 
and upright man. James McGrew said Gustavus Cresap was the best 
prosecuting attorney in the State of West Virginia. As a man, Mr. 
Cresap stood high in the estimation of his fellow townsmen. As a 
Mason, among the members of the Kingwood Lodge, which he honored, 
none were honored more highly than he. and also as a consistent mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church, to which he and his wife both belong?d. 
Mr. and Mrs. Cresap were both charitable and very good to the poor, 
for their many deeds of charity and goodwill are still remembered. 
Owing to Mr. Cresap's work and influence Preston county became a 
temperance one, and it has remained so. Their children were: Susan 
Louisa, born March 15, 1833. She married R. E. Cowan, by whom she 
had four children. Judge Cowan was a brilliant lawyer and Judge of the 
Court of Equity two terms in Kansas City, Mo. He is now dead. At 
one time he held the office of Record of the Seal of the Knights of 
Pythias, the highest office in that fraternity in the world. His widow 
resides in St. Louis, Mo. (2) Hannah Harriet, born July 9, 1834, 
died when four years of age. (3) Charles James Pindall, born August 
17, 1836, studied law and practiced his profession in all the courts of 
the state. He settled many large estates and became a large land- 
owner himself. At one time he was a member of the State Legislature. 
His wife was Miss Agnes Crawford of Rockbridge, Va. On the night 
before he died, which was October 21, 1886, he said he was going home 
at six in the morning, and at six next morning he died. (4) Maria 
Elizabeth, married Israel SchaefTer. She was born April 11, 1839, and 
married in 1880; there were no children. (5) Robert Shelby was born 
March 5, 1841. He was killed in the Civil War at Moorefield, December 
4, 1862. (6) Josephine Harriet, was born February 21, 1844. She 
died when twelve years old. (7) Mary Baldwin was born November 
30, 1845. iShe promised both of her parents never to marry. (8) 
Rachael Ruhamah, born June 30, 1848, was married to G. G. Murdock, 
a farmer. They resided in Kansas until his death in 1899, and then 
she returned to Kingwood. No children. (9) Gustavus Jacob, born 

660 Preston County, West Virginia 

September 13, 1850, never married. He and his sister took faithful 
charge of the old folks until taken from them* by death. Under his 
father's tuition he studied law and practiced) with him as long as his 
parent lived, and then confined his time to looking after his interests of 
his realty which have been considerable. He was made executor of the 
parental estate and by his father's request required to give bond but 
no security. He has been a useful citizen of the commonwealth in a 
number of ways. In Odd Fellowship he stood high. He was Noble 
Grand at one time, held the office of Past Grand and (filled offices 
of subordinate lodges ten or twelve years. He was also one of the 
chief officers of the encampment and represented thef Grand Lodge of 
the State twice. Both he and his sister are members of the Presbyterian 
church. They reside at the old homestead and their lives are standing 
monuments of peace and quietude and good will to all men. 


Thomas Brown, above mentioned, was the ancestor of the subject 
of this sketch, who was the son of Buckner B. and Jane Freeborn 
Brown. Of these parents the father died June 2S, 1877, forty-four years 
of age, and the mother died in 1908, aged seventy-two years. 

Robert Buckner Brown was born near Reedsville, July 25, 1867. 
He was raised on the farm, and educated in the common schools. His 
father dying when he was but nine years old, left the cares of the home 
to him and his younger brother, Edwin S., after the older brothers and 
sisters had married oflf and moved away. Of these, Anna was the 
eldest, then came Thomas F., Charles M., Adaline, Ellen, Virgil B., 
Alice (who died when four years old), Robert B., Edwin S. and Aura 
(twins, born July 16, 1869), and Maude, the youngest, born April 2, 
1875, now the wife of ex-'Governor Dawson of Charleston, West 

R, B. Brown is a contractor and builder. He was a carpenter on 
bridges for the B. & O. Railroad Company when twenty years of age, 
andi continued with them about ten years. He was also in the employ 
of the W. Va. N, R. R. Co., as master carpenter, three years; after 
which he was contractor and builder of the M. E. Church and other 
buildings from that time in Masontown and vicinity. He also built all 




TrF I'l^v^ ''^^"''■^ . 


Preston County, West Virginia 661 

the bridges and trestle work between Reedsville and Rowlesburg for 
the M. & K. Railroad. 

iMr. Brown is a Republican. He was president of the Board of 
Education of the Kingwood district; is now president of the Board of 
Education in the Valley district, and was at one time a committeeman. 

Mr. Brown's first wife, Maggie Brand, died May, 1899. By her he 
had two children: Maude L., born May 16, 1893, and Marion Ruth, 
born June 29, 1894. The former daughter resides with her aunt, Mrs. 
W. M. O. Dawson, at Charleston, and the latter lives with Mrs. H. C. 
Flythe, at Kingwood. 

Mr. Brown was married to Miss Callie, daughter of Sanford Watson, 
iSeptember 16, 1903. She was born September 16, 1871 ; no issue. 

Mr. Brown is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and is much 
interested in church work. He was originally a member of the M. P. 
Church, but is now, and has been for years, an active member of the 
M. E. Church. He was trustee, also superintendent, of Kingwood 
Church for several years. 

(Mr. Brown's winter home is at St. Petersburg, Florida. He and 
his family have been spending the winter there during the past four 
years. His house' was built in 1905, and remodeled in 1911. He plants 
his garden in the month of December, generally. 


Colonel Charles Martin, from Martinsburg, Maryland, was the first 
settler in Preston by the name of Martin to come to this county. His 
arrival in Monongalia was in 1769, and a few years later he built the 
Stockade near the state line at Crooked Run. 

Allen Martin, the immigrant predecessor of Isaac Parsons Martin, 
came from Charles county, Maryland, to the Glades of Valley about 
the same time the Fairfaxes did. He settled first near Morgantown. 
In 1806-9 he was keeping a tavern on the John W. Guseman place. He 
and his wife, Arlotta Maddox Martin, were buried at a place called 
the Bend of the River, near Little Falls. Only his son Aquila seems 
to have remained in Preston. The only son of Aquila was John A. 
F. Martin, whose mother was Mary Brown Fairfax. He was born 
April 22, 1822, and died January 24, 1898. He lived at Kingwood and 

662 Preston County, West Virginia 

Terra Alta, and became one of the most prominent citizens of the 
county. At one timie he was sheriff of the county and was a member 
of the State Legislature, colonel of the 148th Regiment, Militia, and 
identified in a public-spirited way with a number of important enter- 
prises. He accumulated considerable property, was a Bible scholar 
and a well-informed man. His affability was one of the characteristics 
of his nature, and that, with his great generosity and kindness of heart, 
made him a very popular man, especially among the poor. His wife 
was Susan Louisa Fairfax, daughter of Buckner Fairfax. The 
^isters of John A. F. Martin we're: Alinda, born February 
10, 1826; Sophia A., born August, 1828, and Emeline. His wife 
was born Noveml)er 17, 1833, married October 19, 1852, and died 
August 25, 1854, fifteen days after the birth of L Parsons Martin, their 
only child. Bereft of a mother's care the son was taken into the home 
of Buckner Fairfax, and then, under the tutition of his grand-parents, 
was educated in the common schools and given a start in life. His 
earlier years were spent on a farm in Dunkard Bottom, and for a time 
he was in the employ of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company. 

July 21, 1881, Mr. Martin was married in Grafton, W. Va., at the 
residence of Mr. V. T. Handley, to Miss Nannie Stanton of Jefferson 
county, Ohio. She was the daughter of H. B. Stanton, born January 
31, 1820, in Warren county, Pennsylvania, and died July 28, 1864. He 
was a boat builder and soldier in the Civil War. His wife was Miss 
Mary A. Kimball, born June 15, 1825. 

After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Martin took up their residence 
in Terra Alta, where Mr. Martin was occupied in the management of 
the Martin farm for a period of four years, after which he removed to 
the Fairfax homestead in Dunkard Bottom. They lived here until 
coming to Kingwood fourteen years ago, where the family now resides. 

Mr. Martin has been one of the largest farmers and most extensive 
landowner in Preston county. His possessions at this time amount to 
nearly four thousand acres of land. Aside from speculations in real 
estate and coal lands, Mr. Martin has erected a fine business block in 
Kingwood and operates through his son. Earl Fairfax Martiin, quite 
an extensive trade in the hardware business. 

Kindness of heart, plainness in manner, and honesty and intent of 
purpose are the chief characteristics of Mr. Martin, and there is prob- 
ably no man in Preston county more respected than he is. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Martin are : Earl Fairfax, born August 
25, 1882. On September i, 1909, he married Miss Jessie B. Huggins. 

THE r:EV^' ''^^^ , 



Preston County, West Virginia 663 

They reside in Kingwood, where he is in charge of the hardware store 
of that place. John Russell Martin, the second child, was born October 
24, 1890. He married Beatrice Jean Brown, May 10, 1910, and is con- 
nected with the West Virginia-Maryland Gas Company at Rowlesburg, 
W. Va. Two children : Jean Louisa, born September 11, 1911, and 
Frederick Fairfax, born October 12, 1913, ase the fruit of this union. 

The Martin family are members of the Presbyterian Church. The 
family is no less distinctive socially than in church. Their marital 
relationship with the Fairfax family is known. I Parsons Martin has 
in his possession a letter written by George Washington to Colonel 
Fairfax, dated March, 1789. The missive, rather a long one, pertains 
to Washington's estate at Mount Vernon, of which Colonel Fairfax 
was superintendent. 


Winfield Scott Garner of Tunnelton, the dean of Preston county 
journalism and the first native of the county to occupy the editorial 
tripod within her borders, was born in what is now Grant district, Jan- 
uary 16, 1848. His primary instruction was received in the public 
schools, and he later attended the Brandonville academy and the old 
Kingwood academy. Entering life with a tihirst for knowledge, but 
surrounded by no fortuitous circumstances and compelled to rely on 
his own unaided efiforts in securing an education, he has remained a 
close student of the world for sixty years — gathering facts at first hand 
and thinking them out to their ultimate conclusions. W^ith contemporary 
history he has interwoven the past experience of mankind, as recorded 
by the writers of ail ages, and sums up the result of his study by saying 
the world is yet in the morning twilight of its civilization; that man- 
kind is still half savage; that much of what men think they know is non- 
existent, and much of what actually exists is still unknown. He believes 
that the institutions under which we live are man-made and can be un- 
made or re-made whenever human intelligence reaches the high plane 
necessary to re-create or improve them. 

But while inclined to historic and philosophic studies, Mr. Garner 
has not been merely a dreamer. His life has rather been filled with 
active, hard work. Immediately after leaving school at Kingwood he 
entered the store of J. P. Jones & Co.. at St. George, Tucker county, 

664 Preston County^ West Virginia 

where he became postmaster and remained until the fall of 1869. He 
then purchased a third interest in "The Journal" at Kingwood, and, 
beginning at the bottom, he thoroughly learned the printing business. 
In 1871 he went to Grafton and bought a half-interest in the "Grafton 
Sentinel," which he practically edited for three years, winning consider- 
able reputation as a writer. When that paper was sold to Charles M. 
Shinn of Fairmont, Mr. Garner started the "Grafton Times," and while 
publishing that journal he issued the first daily paper ever printed in 
Grafton. In 1877 he went to Chicago, where for fi\^e years he was con- 
nected with the press of that city — one year with the Lakeside Publish- 
ing Co., one year with Culver, Page, Hoyne & Co., and three years with 
David C. Cook, the Sunday school and temperance publisher. He was 
also foreman for a time on the "Young Folks' Rural," and editor of 
"The Mirror of Fashions." He likewise published several pamphlets in 
his own name, including a volume of poems for Mrs. Sherlie Wood- 
man, the speech delivered by Zach. Chandler in Chicago the night before 
his sudden death, and several lectures by Robert Ingersoll. 

Returning to West Virginia in 1882, Mr. Garner purchased a small 
interest in the mercantile firm of L. F. Miller & Co. at Hazelton, which 
town he named, issued the "Hazelton Herald," and secured the 
establishment of a post office at that place. He conducted the store one 
year, and in 1883 engaged with Hon. W. M. O. Dawson and B. M. 
Squires in the printing and publication of S. T. Wiley's History of 
Monongalia County, part of which he also wrote. The following year 
he read proof and superintended the printing of Hu Maxwell's History 
of Tucker County. 

In the fall of 1891 Mr. Garner was ofifered the position of managing 
editor in the office of the Gresham Publishing Co., at Richmond, Indiana, 
and for three years had charge of all the publications of that large firm. 
Chief among these was a series of Historical and Biographical Cyclo- 
pedias of the leading counties in New York and Pennsylvania. Samud 
T. Wiley, the well-known historian, did the historical work on these 
massive octavo volumes, while Mr. Garner edited them, wrote the bio- 
graphical sketches which comprised nearly half of each book, and saw 
them through the press and bindery. After his return to Preston he 
projected a siimilar work for this county, but for lack of means was 
compelled to abandon it. 

Early in 1886 he started a literary paper at Tunnelton, under the 
name of "Garner's Gleaner," which he conducted for five years, only 

Preston County, West Virginia 665 

suspending it to accept the offer of the Gresham Co. Other papers with 
which he has been connected as local editor or publisher were: "The 
Preston County Herald," "The Preston Leader," "Clarksburg People's 
Press," "The Grafton News," "The Terra Alta Republican," "Mountain 
State Telephone" and "Webster Springs Republican." Altogether he 
spent over a quarter of a century as a country newspaper publisher, and 
was a devotee of the "art preservative of arts" for forty years, but 
retired permanently in 191 2. In 1903 he published an eighty-page book- 
let entitled "Industrial and Commercial Growth of Tunnelton, W. Va,," 
and the following year a small volume of his own poems under the title 
of "Rustic Rhymes." He also wrote and printed for gratuitous distribu- 
tion "The Press of Preston," a short history of the various early news- 
paper enterprises in this county. Brief biographies of Mr. Garner have 
already appeared in two works of national circulation, "Men of 1912," 
and "Poets of America," the latter accompanied by two selections from 
his "Rustic Rhymes." In early life he taught several terms in the public 
schools, spent one summer as a book canvasser, and one year as a fruit 
tree agent. 

Politically, Mr. Garner has always been somewhat independent, 
earnestly cherishing the ideal of a pure democracy, but realizing that 
its day has not yet dawned. While editor of "The Grafton Times" he 
was a candidate for the legislature from Taylor county; in 1910 for the 
state senate from the Fourteenth district, and in 1912 for Congress 
from the Second district, on the Socialist ticket. He is not a member 
of any secret order. Believing devoutly in the brotherhood of man, no 
smaller brotherhood has ever attracted him. When asked to define 
his creed, he replied: "I believe in an all-wise, all-powerful and just 
God — and who by searching can find out anything more about Him? 
So firm is my faith in His wisdom and justice that I am not worrying 
about what He will do in this world or in any other world. I love' 
Jesus, the carpenter, and the great principles He taught, and believe 
they will yet rule the whole' earth, despite the misconception and mis- 
representation from which they have suffered. Love, faith and knowl- 
edge is the greatest trinity on earth. I love love, have profound faith 
in faith, but believe that knowledge is the power that propels the car 
of human progress." 

While in Chicago, May 24. 1881, Mr. Garner was married to Miss 
Mary E. Kay of Niles, Michigan. To them were born five sons and 
two daughters: Ro'bert Kay, married Miss Mattie Brown, taught several 
terms in the public schools, and for nearly six years has been mail 

666 Preston County, West Virginu 

carrier on rural route No. 2 of Tunnelton, where he resides; George 
Gordon, married Miss Helen Spencer, and is now shipping clerk in a 
glass factory at Wellsburg, W. Va. ; Edward Earnest; Joseph Harold, 
now of Reedsville; Ralph Leslie, died at the age of three; Grace, now 
the wife of Victor Raymond HoflFman of Tunnelton ; and Gertrude, at 
home with her parents on Walnut Hill farm, near Tunnelton, where 
the family has resided for more than thirty years. 


Nathan Tanner is known to the" people of Union district as a suc- 
cessful farmer, who died there in 1910, at the age of 81 years. His 
father was an old-timer who lived in the days of stage coach travel. 
The old homestead is still in the family and is now owned by William 
Meyers, Mr. Tanner's son-in-law. The farm is located at Salt Lick 
Creek and had a growth of good timber which gave a profitable return 
for years in the lumber trade. 

Thomas Nathan Tanner was born on the old homestead on April 
22, 1868. He was raised a farmer, and after becoming of age experi- 
enced rather an eventful life. He did not obtain an extended school 
education but had vigorous youth, plenty of health, and a desire to see 
more of the world than lay in the hills of West Virginia. This desire 
took him on an extended trip through dififerent portions of the states 
of Iowa and Nebraska, where he remained as a farm hand and drilling 
wells. He remained away from home from 1890 to 1896. During these 
six years much experience was obtained and on his return home he 
was better fitted than before for the duties that afterward devolved 
upon him. In 1896 an important event occurred. On November 4 of 
that year he married Lizzie A. Darland, a daughter of James Darland, 
a farmer of Spring Hill, Iowa. She was a most estimable lady, and 
one whose whole life, after the nuptial feast, 'was one of almost constant 
suffering. She suffered from a nervous rheumatic affliction that 
bafifled all medical skill. So helpless had she become not a hand or 
foot could be moved without her husband's assistance, and his life, to 
the day of her departure, was given up to duties incident to her afflic- 
tion. Several years were spent in travel. After about two years on 
the old homestead in the luntber trade and three years after that in 
Terra Alfa, he sold out his business and went to Iowa, remaining one 




TriE TilV/ .; K 


THE r'.lV' '< 




Preston County, West Virginia 667 

year; he then went to Indian Territory, remaining two years. Here 
relief was sought in several hospitals, but to no avail. On April 22, 
1901, the home trip was begun. The invalid was placed on a cot and 
carried in the baggage car, first to Quinema, Kansas, a distance of 256 
miles, and remained three months in a sanitarium of anthropology. Still 
finding no relief, the family, now consisting of father, mother and one 
?on, Gerald D. Tanner, then six years old, left the sanitarium and came 
to Terra Alta. 

In the spring of 1906 Mr. Tanner took up his residence in Reedsville, 
where he continued his lumber business to the present time. 

Careful and conservative, Mr. Tanner has made a success of the 
lumber business, not by large ventures, but by utilizing every advantage 
of the trade in an honest way. He never employed more than ten or 
fifteen men at a time, and never took unnecessary risks. 

In 1907, his wife, a long and patient sufTerer. departed from this 
vale of tears, but leaving behind her many blessed remembrances for 
both father and son. 

September 9, 1908, Mr. Tanner was married to Miss Gertrude 
Frazier of Newburg, Preston county. She was a daughter of William 
Frazier, an engineer on the B. & O. Railroad. 

Mr. Tanner is a member of the I. O. O. F. and Knights of Pythias. 
He and his family worship with the Methodist Church, of which he 
is a member. 


Among the successful farmers and lumbermen of Preston county 
is James Tanner of Terra Alta. He was the son of Nathan and Alcinda 
Tanner. (See sketch.) He was born November 2(i, iSyz, at Salt Lick, 
and has spent his whole life in Preston county. Raised on a farm, and 
having now two large ones, the products of his own savings, his success 
as an agriculturist has become an established fact. 

Mr. Tanner is a self-made man. After a few months' schooling 
for a few winters only, he began the lumber business in a small way. 
His father had been a manufacturer of staves to some extent, and this 
may have been a forerunner of his own business begun by him on 
August 22, 1892, and which now amounts to a capacity for manufac- 
turing 200,000 feet of lumber per month. The first mill was only a 

668 Pkeston County, West Virginia 

twenty horsepower affair and was operated by himself and his brother, 
William, for a couple of years. In 1904 he moved from Salt Lick to 
Howesville, and remained there? four years, carrying on the business 
somewhat more extensively. In 1906 he bought the valuable farm on 
which he now lives, and since that time, in connection with the lumber 
industry, has been farming somewhat extensively, dealing in blooded 
stock wholly. He now owns another large farm near Terra Alta, both 
place's being admirably adapted for grazing purposes. His brother, 
Walter, operated the home farm until 1898, when Mr. Tanner moved 
on the place, and where he has since resided. In 1908, Mr. Tanner 
operated a mill at Pleasantdale, then built and operated a more ex- 
tensive mill at Trowbridge, where a very large and successful industry 
was carried on to the present time. He also owns and operates plants 
at Possum Hollow, where he has two mills also which have been in suc- 
cessful operation since 1912. 

At the present time the Trowbridge interests are being moved to 
Rodamer, where a more extensive outfit than any yet heretofore is being 
erected. In this new venture arrangements are being made for the 
manufacture of 200,000 feet of lumber monthly. 

Mr. Tanner has been an extensive dealer also in poles. For seven 
years past he has bought and shipped poles to markets east and west 
to the extent of 100,000 feet a month. He is also identified with two 
extensive oil wells in Ohio which are very valuable property. As 
a farmer, lumberman and oil man, Mr. Tanner has been very successful 
in life. 

Mr. Tanner was married to Nancy Everly on the 9th day of March, 
1898. She is the daughter of David and Mary Everly of Preston 
county. Their children are: Hazel, born September i, 1900; Lester, 
born November 16, 1903; Charlie, born January 16, 1905; Clifton, born 
November 14, 1910; Milton, born March 5, 1912. 

The family worship in the Methodist Episcopal Church. 


One of the wide-awake, aggressive politicians among leading Re- 
publicans of Preston county is Charles Spindler, who never asked for 
an oflfice for himself until 1908, when he decided he would enter the 
race for sheriflF. At that time there were 'five candidates for the Re- 




i TilG 






• .'r.DEJM FCUKD.-.TlONSi 

THE I-l"' 



Preston County. West Virginia 669 

publican nomination, all good men, and that made the race an exciting 
one; but when the votes were counted Mr. Spindler was 250 notches 
ahead of his nearest competitor and had more than twice as many votes 
except one, while in the general election he ran about 200 votes ahead 
of his ticket, having been elected by a handsome majority. 

This young Prestonian was born in Grant district, April 29, 1869. 
He is the grandson of Wyatt Spindler, who came to Grant from Somer- 
set in 1849, ^"d settled near Clifton Mills, on the Andrew Spindler 
farm. Jonathan, another son, settled at Brandonville. Andrew S. is the 
father of Charles. He was born in Germany and followed farming. His 
wife was Miss Nancy J. Haines of Somerset, Pennsylvania. 

Charles Spindler was raised on a farm, but when nineteen years 
old learned the carpenter trade. Later he went into the undertaking 
business at Terra Alta, where he served as miayor two years, and be- 
cause of his popularity — always having been a kind-hearted man and 
very considerate of othe'rs — was elected to the best ofifice in th ecounty. 
January 11, 1899, Mr. Spindler was married to Nettie E. Metheny of 
Lewis county, where she was born April 5, 1878. They have three 
children : Willie, Hobert and Ralph. 

Mr. Spindler is a recognized fraternity man, being a Mason, an Odd 
Fellow, a Knight of Pythits, W. O. W., and member of Rebekah Order. 
He is a member of the M. E. Church. 


The Cobun family are of English descent and were among the first 
to settle in Preston county. James Cobun, son of of Jonathan, settled 
near Dorsey's Knob, building his cabin at a place a little south of Mason- 
town, as early as 1770. In 1790 he patented one thousand acre's in this 
part of the county, and on these lands their descendants have lived to 
this present time. 

The Honorable Sanford Lee Cobun, president of the Bank of Mason- 
town and member of the State Legislature, is a grandson of Isaac and 
Sarah McMillen Cobun and a son of Benjamin Franklin Cobun, who 
for a long time was one of the successful merchants of the town. Mr. 
B. F. Cobun built two houses on the old homestead, one of which 
about one-half mile east of the village he used for his residence, and is 
where he died in April, 1898, at the age of sixty-one-and-a-half years. 

670 I^RESTON County, West Virginia 

He and his brothers, Isaac B., Simon, James, Lincoln and Meyer, were 
men of influence in the comimunity and left descendants worthy of the 
name which they bear, some of them being merchants, others successful 

B. F. Cobun was married to Miss Margaret Jane Hartley about six 
or seven years before the breaking out of the Civil War. She was the 
youngest child of Edward Hartley. (See sketch of the Hartleys.) She 
was born at Masontown, June 29, 1832, and is still living. The children 
born of this union were : Albert M., who died of typhoid fever when 
about twenty-five years of age, July, 1881. He was a school teacher 
and a merchant. (2) Harriett, who married Samuel Field and moved 
to Galesburg, Illinois, where he died. (3) Homer S., who is a farmer 
and stock raiser near Reedsville. He married Attie Loar, daughter of 
Richard Loar. (4) Sanford Lee, of whom mention will again be made. 
(5) Elmer Ellsworth, a farmer and stock naiser, and the father of one 
child, Helen Elizabeth. His wife, Aura, was a daughter of Buckner 
and James Brown (for history of which see the sketch of the Brown 
family.) (6) Louie, the wife of Allison Stuck, a farmer living near 
Masontown. She is the mother of two children. (7) Florence, the w^ife 
of Edward Wasson of Fairview, Illinois, and the mother of two children. 
(8) Willie G., a merchant of Reedsville. He married Clara Freeland. 
They have one child. (9) Myra, married Sherman Snyder and resides at 
Keyser, W. Va. They have one child. Mr. Snyder is a conductor on 
the railroad. (10) Alice, the youngest child of B. F. and Margaret 
Cobun, died at twenty years of age. 

Sanford Lee Cobun was born September 11, i860. He received a 
free and select school education, and spent the earlier years of his life 
on the farm and in the store of B. F. Cobun & Son. On the death of 
his older brother he left school and took his place behind the counter 
in the store, where he continued for tw^e'nty-nine years. Under his 
management business grew steadily. He first built the company's 
store. In the year 1907 he purchased the old hotel property, and in 
1911 he erected on its site a fine building. It is a three-story brick 
structure, well adapted for both commercial and hotel purposes. The 
village post office occupies one room on the ground floor. There are 
about thirty rooms in all. 

Mr. Cobun was a charter member of the Bank of Masontown, organ- 
ized in 1907, and during the following year was made its president, 
which position he still holds. He was a member of the City Council 



^ ' « 


T-P rEVJ '■'^r'i \ 




Preston County, West Virginia 671 

of Masontown and its mayor until 1910, when he was elected a member 
of the lower house of the State Legislature. He is also president of 
the Board of Trade. 

On September 17, 1885, Mr. Cobun was married to Mattie E. Loar, 
daughter of Jonathan and Susian Loar of Reedsville, and to this union 
one daughter, Glenna Lucille, was born. On August i, 1897, his wife 
died, and on September 9, 1903, he was married to Rosa E. Roby, 
daughter of Albert and Luara Louisa "Roby of Herring. 

Mr. and Mrs. Cobun are members and warm supporters of the 
Methodist Church. 


The Guthries were from Tyrone county, Ireland. James Guthrie and 
his four brothers came to this country about 1784, and settled first in 
Cumberland county, Maryland. About 1792, James came to Preston 
county and located on the farm now owned by his grandson, Jeremiah, 
and died there in January, 1833. He was born in 1761. The names of 
his brothers were: Truman, John, Robert and Stephen. His wife was 
Mary Shelps, daughter of John, who was killed by the Indians in Ken- 
tucky in 1806. She was born in 1764, and died in 1839. April i, 1796, 
when the homestead was bought, the family moved into an old cabin 
that stood on the place. In 1812, the stone house was built, and this 
stood until 1887, when it was burned to the ground. 

James Guthrie, the grandfather, was a thrifty farmer, an honest 
man, and a Christian gentleman. On his tombstone is a verse that well 
depicts his charadter. Here lies 

"The pioneer who crossed the sea 
And carved a home for you and me. 
To all who were in want or need, 
Grandfather was a friend indeed." 

The children born to this union were: (i) John, born August 31, 
1792, married Elizabeth Boger, born May 31, 1799. She died February 
I5> 1875. He died December 10, 1870. (2) William, born April 10, 
1794, married Rebecca Jeflfers, born March 9, 1801, died April 15, 1869. 
He died July 12, 1873. (3) George, born 1796, died 1832. (4) Isabell, 
born November 28, 1798, married Henry Sliger, and died April 12, 1870. 
(5) Stephen, born March 26, 1801, died November 28, 1888, married first, 

672 Prestok County, West Virginia 

Fanny Hazle't. iSecond wife was Barbara Dennis. She was born May 
25, 1800, and died April 22, 1873. (^) Rachel, born April 16, 1804, 
married James G. Crawford, and died September 28, 1874. He was 
born June 25, 181 5, and died February 22, 1902. (7) James, born Sep- 
tember 7, 1806, married Barbara Boger, July 28, 1844, and died March 
29, 1879. She was born August 13, 1820, and died May 2, 1888. (8) 
Absalom, born about 1809, died in Ohio. He married Sarah Armstrong. 
(9) Jacob, born in 1812, died at the age of nine years. (10) Alexander, 
born May i, 1815, died June 2, 1877. He married, first wife, Mary 
JefTers, born July 11, 1819, died May 24, 1848. His second wife was 
Anna Smith, born April 30, 1818, died June 12, 1897. 

These ten children became the ancestors of all the Guthries in West 
Virginia, and their home, before owned by John Spurgeon, their birth- 

James Guthrie, the seventh child of James the pioneer, was the' 
father of Jeremiah Guthrie, the present well-known Commissioner of 
Preston county. James' children were: Alcinda, born September 8, 
1845. She married F. C. Barnes. Sarah Ann, born February 21, 1847, 
died January 30, 1880. Ephraim. born June 14, 1850, died October 20, 
1854. Jeremiah, born Septemlber 10, 1852. Mary, born October 15, 
1854, died December 23, 1872. Harrison, born April 22, 1858, married 
Lydia Fawcett. Lucretia, born April 28, i860, died April 28, 1877. 

Jeremiah Guthrie married Niancy A. Nicola, April 7, 1878. She was 
born April 12, 1859, and is the daughter of Jacob B. Nicola, the founder 
in reality of the town of Hazelton. ('See sketch.) Their children were : 
James, born February 2, 1879, married Cora B. Maust. He is a well-to- 
do farmer near Brandonville. They have two children, Glenn and Ruth. 
(2) Susanna, born February 14, 1880. She married Marcellus Falkner; 
no issue. (3) Hattie, born December 20, 1881, married Joseph Henry 
Harshbarger. They have three children : Homer L., Emma and 
Jeremiah. (4) Norton, born April 13, 1884. (5) An infant, born Jan- 
uary 29, 1886. (6) Lloyd, born April 2, 1887. (7) Stella, born May 8, 
1889. (8) Troy, born February 24, 1891. (9) Dellie, born September 
17. 1^3- (10) Ray, born December 17. 1895. ('(i) Dessie, born April 
6, 1899. (12) An infant, born June 10, 1902. 

Honesty, simplicity and Christian piety are characteristic traits of 
the Guthrie family. Theeir avocation is farming, and in that they are 
all successful. Jeremiah Guthrie has raised 60 bushels of oats on an 
acre of his land, 32 bushels of wheat, and 100 bushels of corn. This 
was on the old home place. He is well liked as a county commissioner. 



Preston County, West Virginia 673 


Michael Hartman came from Shenandoah county about 1805, and 
settled on the Isaiah W. Hartman place near Lenox. John, one son, 
built a saw mill on Lick Run. Michael wagoned on the National 
Road, a number of years and was once absent a year with a large 
load of merchandise, which he took to Tennessee before' he returned. 

He married Margaret Miller. Henry, their eldest son, died about 
1875, about seventynfive years of age. He wagoned also. Henry's first 
wife was Lovila Sypolt. She was the daughter of George Sypolt, who 
lived on Beech Run. 

Their children were Sarah Jane, now Mrs. Elijah Messenger of 
Terra Alta ; Mrs. Henry Beatty, of the Whetsell neighborhood ; George 
Washington, born at Crab Orchard, September i, 1842, a veteran of 
the late war, serving in Company F, of the iSixrth Virginia Infantry, 
from August, 1861, to the' 12th of June, 1865. In 1867, he married 
Miss Susan Harriet Bonafield, daughter of Thornton and Sarah 
Bonafield, a farmer near Tunnelton, and moved there on the old 
Bonafield homestead, which Mr. Hartman bought in 1869. In 1905, 
they moved to Terra Alta. Their children are Edward Thornton, 
who married Nira Watson of Kingwood. They live in Boston. (2) 
Arnold Wesley, who married Ida Hanaway, and lives on the home 
farm. (3) Mabel, who married Bert Gibson a lumberman of Mason- 
town. (4) Lee Burt, a merchant of Tunnelton; (5) Alice Virginia, 
vvho married Bruce Falkenstein; (6) Henry Foster, candidate for sheriff; 
(7) and Lessie, the youngest child, now at home. 

Henry Foster Hartman, Sheriflf of Pre'siton County, was born 
December 25, 1880. His life until eighteen years of age was spent 
on a farm in the Kingwood District, and his education obtained in 
the Bonafield school near Tunnelton. In 1898, he became a member 
of the mercantile ifirm of George Hartman & Son, of Lenox, but two 
years afterwards he went to Terra Alta, where he owned and oper- 
ated a store. In 1905, he closed out and established the Terra Alta 
Candy Company and did a profitable wholesale and retail trade in the 
ice cream and candy business for four years. It was his honesty and 
agreeable manners in his relationship to the people of Preston County 
that has made a possibility of him for the office of Sheriff. 

April 23, 1902, Mr. Hartman was married to Miss Belle Kelly. 
She is the daughter of W. S. and Sarah (Feathers) Kellv of Lenox, 

674 Preston County, West Virginia 

and was born December 19, 1882. She is a descendant of John Kelly 
of Revolutionary fame. 

Three children were born of this marriage. Ruby Beatrice, born 
November 215, 1903; Donald, the second child, and then Harold 

Mr. and Mrs. Hartman are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and are well and favorably known in Terra Alta, and through- 
out Preston County. 


Groceries and drygoods stores, hotels and livery stables are among 
the indispensables of every place where trading is carried on. King- 
wood is well supplied with these establishments, its livery stable 
being one of the best in Preston County, and its owner a man well 
adapted to its particular needs. 

Forest W. White, proprietor of the Kingwood stable, is a son of 
John S. White, at one timie an owner of this stand. The father was 
a brother of George Washington White, of Pleasantdale (see sketch) 
and it was on that old homestead farm he was born January 2, 
1859. He married Miss Jennie B. White, a native of Oakland, Mary- 
land. Their children were Elmer E., now owner and proprietor of a 
large hotel at Logan, Logan County, West Virginia. His wife was 
Miss Lummie Graham; Forest W. ; Ada B., born April 26, 1886; Mc- 
Kinley, born June 27, 1900. 

Forest W. White was born March 28, 1884. His parents were in 
poor circumstances, and shifted about as renters from place to place. 
The birth of Forest was on the farm now owned by Benoni Jordan 
near Kingwood. They lived four years in Barbour County at one 

After a common school education was obtained, young Mr. White 
began life for himself. He teamed seven or eight years, and in that 
line of work first got his start. In 1906 he 'bought out all interests 
in the Livery Stable, with lots covering nine tenths of an acre in all. 
In 191 1, he built his commodious residence, two story and a basement, 
and will in the near future erect another residence on the lot adjoining. 
He owns a round dozen of teams, and twenty-five good rigs to meet 
the demands of his traveling patrons whose number has increased 
very largely quite lately. 


rj-LTg fE,W "^'ORK 


Preston County, West Virginia 675 

Mr. White was married August 13, 191 1, to Miss Addie B. Stone, 
cj^ughte'r of Charley Stone, whose sketch also appears in this work. One 
child, Eugene Francis, born February 25, 1912, is the fruit of this 
union. He died March 23, 1912, 

Mr. White is a member of the I. O. O. F., but aside from this 
order he belongs to no other fraternity. 


David Joseph Gibson, son of Joseph H. and Jane E. Gibson, was 
born in Cumberland, Maryland, October 21, 18416. When a year old his 
father removed to the Willett farm one mile east of Brandonville, 
Preston County, Virginia now West Virginia, where he' entered into 
the mercantile business. 

He received his education in the best select schools that period 
afforded. One of his early recollections of school life was when he 
attended a select school taught by Harriet E. Gans in the Quaker 
Meeting House, which was located east of Brandonville about one 
and a half miles. 

In the interim his father removed to Brandonville, where they in 
1865 entered into the mercantile business in the Ridenour Hotel 
property in which they continued until the year 1870, when he and 
his father removed to what is now known as St. Joe, one half mile 
above Albright, Preston County, where they entered into co-partner- 
ship with Jos. B. Cressler in the manufacture of lumber. 

On the 28th day of October. 1869, he was married to Clara C. 
Cressler of Shippensburg, Pa., to which union two children were born, 
both of which died in infancy. In the year 1873 he was appointed 
Deputy Sheriff by Elisha Thomas, then Sheriff for the east side, 
which office he filled for four years. At the expiration of his term 
of office (1877), he removed to Newburg, Preston County, where he 
entered into the mercantile business with his brother-in-law, L. M. 
Albright in which town he resided for 27 years. During this period 
he filled the office of Deputy Sheriff for Lyon District under Elisha 
Thomas' second term as Sheriff, with various city and district offices. 
In j;he year 1905, he removed tp Kingwood, West Virginia, erecting 
a dwelling on Beverly Hill, where he now resides. 

Politically, his antecedents were Republican, but for the past 25 

676 PuESTON County, West Virginia 

years he has affiliated with the Prohibition party, believing that the 
greatest question before the American people is the abolition of 
the legalized saloon. Was twice nominated as a candidate for Con- 
gress for the Second Congressional District on the Prohibition ticket 
and once an elector at large. 

Religiously, he belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church, filling 
various offices therein. For twenty years in succession he filled the 
office of Sunday School Superintendent in Newburg. In the year 1905 
he was one of the promoters in the organization of the First National 
Bank of Newburg at the organization of which he was elected a director 
and its Vice-President, which position he still occupies. 

;He was made a Mason in Preston Lodge No. 14, in the year 1868. Is 
also a member of Copestone Chapter Royal Arch Masons of Grafton, 
West Virginia; DeMolay Commandery N. 12 Knights Templar of 
Grafton, West Virginia, and Damon Lodge No. 5. Knights of Pythias,' 
Newburg, West Virginia. 


The Gibson Brothers, well known lumbermen of Preston County, 
are of Scotch-Irish descent. 

Their great-great-grandfather, Thomas Gibson, was one of the first 
settlers of the northern part of Preston county, and there opened up 
a large farm. James Gibson, their grandfather, grew up in the county 
and was here united in marriage to Miss Rebecca Cramer, a native of 
Maryland and daughter of Peter Cramer, who moved to this section 
from near Frederick, Maryland. After his marriage, Mr. Gibson settled 
near Tunnelton on a woodland farm whereon he built a substantial 
log house, which was about 1840. His wife died in 1890. He lived to 
be quite old. There were eight children born to this union. M. C. 
Gibson, being the fourth child. He was raised on a farm, and in July, 
1863, enlisted in Company "B" Fourth West X'^irginia Cavalry and 
took part in a few minor engagements. In March, 1864, he was 
honorably discharged, after which he attended school in Millsbury Nor- 
mal College. Then he taught school one year. From 1867 to 1868 he 
lived in Henry county, Iowa. After his return to the State, he engaged 
in the lumber business somewhat extensively. He was with C. A. 
Craig of Irona, for twenty years. In 1875 he opened up a large store 

DA\'TD I. rjr.soN. 

TiiE fii 

" \7 r '{ 


Ji.D T;: N<^ 

Preston County, West Virginia 677 

in Tunnelton, doing a merchandising business there until his death, 
November 22, 1912. 

In 1869, Mr. Gibson was married to Mary Anna Jackson, a native 
of Ohio, but reared and educated in Indiana. She was a daughter of 
Alexander Jackson, who settled in Henry county, Iowa, during the war. 
Four children were born of this union: Bert T. Gibson, now a pros- 
perous farmer near Masontown; James C. Gibson of Masontown also, 
and one of the most successful woodsman and practical lumberman in 
West Virginia; Mrs. Bessie R. Hardesty, wife of Robt. R. Hardesty, 
cashier of The American Bank of Waynesburg, Pa., and Joseph V. 
Gibson, a rising young lawyer of Kingwood. 

Bert T. Gibson was born February 5 1871. He was educated in 
the country schools and in the University of Morgantown, completing 
in part the full course in that institution. Before and after his attend- 
ance at that university, he taught school, since that time has been iden- 
tified as an official in educational work, principally in the schools of 
Masontown where his interests are centered at the present time. After 
leaving college, he formed a partnership with John Garner in the 
lumber business at Irona, but two years afterwards they were burned 
out. In 1900, he went to Tunnelton and for five years was with his 
father in the merchandising business. He then came to Reedsville and 
entered into a partnership with his brother, James C, who had started 
the big lumber plant at Kanes Creek, and had already supplied the 
M. & K. Railroad Company with a large quantity of their building 
material for the construction of their road. Since that time, more than 
twenty-five large woodland tracts have been cleared off by the Gibson 
Brothers for the manufacture of lumber, they having done a large 
business in other states as well as in West Virginia in the shipping 
line. In 1912, Mr. Gibson withdrew his active connection with the 
company as a manufacturer of lumber, bought a valuable farm near 
Masontown and now resides on that, his intention being to follow 
agricultural pursuits along scientific lines in the future. He also has 
other valuable timber holdings. 

On September 6, 1893, Mr. Gibson was married to Miss Mabel 
Hartman, daughter of George W. Hartman, now of Terra Alta. To 
tbis union was born five children, as follows: Mabel, April 17, 1895; 
Ruth, March 13, 1897; Ernest, November 16, 1902; Howard, June 6, 
1904; Susan, June 18, 1909. 

The family are Methodists. The Gibson brothers have been large 
contributors to the building of the place of worship, and very liberal 

578 Preston County, West Virginu 

in their contributions to the' cause the church represents. Both families 
are active workers in the church. Mr. Bert T. Gibson has been superin- 
tendent of the Sabbath school during the past ten years or more. This 
is his favorite department in Christian work, and his devotion to the 
cause has made the Masontown Sabbath school one of the leading 
Sabbath schools in the country districts of the State. His tastes are 
domestic and along religious lines, simplicity of manners and plain- 
ness of life being characteristics of the Gibson families from the 
pioneer of the line down. A call to public duty has always been made 
to persons not caring for the honors and emoluments of office, and 
Bert T. Gibson, on principle, has responded like other public spirited 
men of his class. He was elected County Commissioner of Preston 
county and made President of the County Court, and now holds that 
position. He is administrator also of his father's estate. 


One of the economic provisions of the ages, was the creation of 
various forces for the preservation of unity in nature. As different parts 
of the human body have their special functions to perform in the preser- 
vation of human life, so has every department of business activity by 
individuals brought into an existence for that special purpose. For 
that reason, the scientist should be no more honored by his position 
than the mechanic, whose lot sometimes may be cast in lowly places — 
but in another case — ^when the top is reached both can share the 
plaudits of men alike, because of the success made in their respective 
callings. Occasionally, one man among a thousand is gifted beyond the 
ordinary, and the world immediately takes notice, and the subject of 
this sketch furnishes an example. Gifts and callings, however, have 
amounted to nothing in many cases, simply because opportunities in 
life have not been taken, when intended, and consequently lost. The 
life work of our subject, is worthy of note in that particular ; note 
the facts : 

James C. Gibson was born near Tunnelton, April 17, 1879. (See 
sketch of M. C. Gibson and the Gibson family.) His early life was 
spent obtaining a common school education, and working on the farm. 
His habits were studious, and his strenuous eflforts to obtain an educa- 
tion ruinous to his eyesight. While in his early teens, his eye-sight 


7 i-. I'uV ■■ v^n^ 

Pbbbton County, West Vieqinia 679 

became so impaired from close study that he was compelled to desist 
from any further attempt, although it was his heart's desire to go 
through college and pursue some professional course in life. As it 
was, he had to content himself simply with a commercial course, which 
he obtained at Parkersburg, West Virginia, during the years of 1902 
and 1903, 

Whatever might have been the success of Mr. Gibson in a profes- 
sional line of work can only be surmised. Circumstances, however, 
drove him into another channel, and it is now known what his capacity 
is as a business man. In this particular, his whole career has been 
unique and decidedly out of the ordinary. When two years old, his 
grandfather gave him one ewe sheep, and strange to say the first 
steps of his successful business life were taken at this time?. Those 
sheep were kept by that youngster, until he had a flock of his own, 
despite parental influences brought against him to dispose of his 
possessions. It was here, James was found to have a will based on 
judgments of his own, and which thereafter resulted in bringing him 
into a commanding position as a factor in home economy, and which 
has made him one of the successful men of Preston county. 

When fourteen years old, he was running the farm, his father being 
engaged during those years in the lumber business. When eighteen 
years old, he engaged in the lumber business with father and brother. 
From April 15, 1901, until the first of January, 1904, he became 
interested in the mercantile business with B. T. Gibson, under the name 
of Gibson Brothers at Tunnelton. He then sold and bought a small 
tract of woodland — went to Masontown and manufactured lumber for 
nearly two years on Bull Run. In 1905, he organized the Gibson 
Lumber Company, and supplied the M. & K. Railroad Company with 
lumber for the construction of their railroad from Reedsville to 
Rowlesburg. In 1906, he purchased the interesits of A. K. and L. M. 
Jenkins, J. V. Gibson and L. W. Cobun, and for six years, thereafter, 
he and his brother Bert T. Gibson ran the business. In July, 1912, 
H. T. Lincoln purchased Bert T. Gibson's interest in the business, 
since whiich time these two men, probably as well fitted for their 
respective departments in the work as can be found in the county, 
are in sole possession of the property. With an up-to-date equipment, 
and a large acreage to draw from, Gibson Lumber Company giving 
employment to from fifty to seventy-five men and outputting several 
million feet annually promises to be a considerable factor in the 

680 Preston County, West Virginia 

manufacture of Preston county's justly celebrated hardwoods for sev- 
eral years to come. 

In 1910, Mr. James C. Gibson organized the Preston County 
Lumber Company on a capital basis of $100,000, which is one of the im- 
portant lumber projects in the State. The officers and members of this 
company are as follows: James C. Gibson, president; Julius K. Monroe, 
vice-president; E. M. Lantz, secretary and treasurer; W. H. Post, San- 
ford Watson, J. R. McMillen, Bert T. Gibson, W. T. Downs, C. A. 
Craig, R. W. Caddel and F. E. Parrack. The company owns about 
4000 acres of most excellent timber lands on Sandy Creek and Cheat 
River, which will give large assets to the company in the luniber market 
for years to come. 

On September 14, 1904, Mr. Gibson was married to Miss Lula 
Watson, and to this union were born Mary Catherine, October 17, 
1906; Cramer, December 29, 1908; Virginia Bess, June 14, 1911, and 
James Clifford, April 3, 1913. The residence property was built at 
Masontown in 1906. 

Mr. Gibson is a member and an official of the Methodist Church 
at Masontown ; is an active church worker, and supports that religious 
organization handsomely. 


In 1790, William Watson came from Eastern Virginia and settled 
near what is now known as Masontown, Preston county, having 
patented 300 acres of land. His wife was Elizabeth Patton. His 
children were : John, David, Jacob, Nancy, Mary, Jane, and William. 
William was a soldier in the War of 1812. 

Thomas Watson, a son of William, was born May 7, 1815, and lived 
all his life on a portion of the 300 acres patented by his grandfather 

On Wednesday, November 12, 1844, Thomas Watson and Sabina 
Anne Cobun were married by the Rev. I. Davis. 

Sabina Anne Cobun was a daughter of Cobun and Anna 

Young, who was a daughter of Isaac and Charity Young, and was born 
in Uniontown, Pennsylvania, June 22, 1791. She died at the home of 
Thomas and Sabina Anne Watson, near Masontown, October 13, 1875, 
at the age of 84 years. 

Preston County, West Virginia 681 

Thomas Watson was justice of the peace in what is now Valley- 
district for several years. He and his wife were Presbyterians and were 
among the original organizers of the Presbyterian Church in that 
section. Ministers came from Morgantown, Fairmont and Western 
Pennsylvania about once a month to preach. The venerable Doctor 
Fairchild, author of some religious works, often visited them when he 
came there to preach. 

Thomas Watson died April 7, 1887, and his wife died August, 1900. 
The children born to them were: Sylvanus, born December 4, 1845, ^i^d 
June 24, 1846. John William, born February 28, 1848. Granvil, born 
April 27, 1849. Almira Ann, born October 15, 1851. Charity Elizabeth, 
born July 20, 1853. John W. married Nancy Virginia Stuck, a daughter 
of Mathias F. and Nancy Hays Stuck, at Terra Alta, May 6, 1872, by 
Rev. D. W. Rogers. Mrs. John W. Watson died March 27, 1911. The 
children born to them were: Nyra Estella, born July 18, 1873. Clyde 
Emil, born November 16, 1879. Cecil Lenore, born December 20, 1889. 
Nyra E. was married to Edward Thornton Hartman, August, 1898, in 
Kingwood, and resides in Boston, Massachusetts. They have one son, 
Dallas Watson, born February 7, 1901. Mrs. Hartman graduated at 
the New England Conservatory of Music in the class of 1906. Clyde 
Emil married Elizabeth Wisner, a daughter of the late J. Nelson Wisner 
of Martinsburg, West Virginia. One son, John William, born to them. 
Clyde E. graduated from the West Virginia University and also came 
from Johns Hopkins Medical College, and after his graduation accepted 
a chair in the Medical Department of the West Virginia University. 
Subsequently he resigned and is now in the practice of his profession 
in Council, Idaho. Cecile Lenore was married to John Clyde Lewis, 
September 19, 1907. Two children were born to them : Jean Watson 
Le!wis, born June 24, 1909; Thomas Watson, born September 2, 1912. 
Granvil Watson married Julia Ann Field, March 9, 1874. To them one 
daughter was born, Julia Anna, February 22, 1875. His wife died Feb- 
ruary 27, 1875, and he died March 20, 1877. The daughter married 
and lives in Pittsburgh, Pa. Almira A. Watson was married to Claude 
C. Wheeler, May 13, 1874, by the Rev. Dr. Flanagan. They reside in 
Fairmont, West Virginia. Two children born to this unian : Cora M., 
born May 19, 1875, and Harry, born December 29, 1879. Charity Eliza- 
beth was married to Homer C. Posten. To this union two children 
were born: Eflfie M., born September 20, 1881, and Lela Ruth, born May 
II, 1894. Effie M. was married to Ulysses W. Arnett, January 5, 1913. 
They all reside in Fairmont, West Virginia. 

682 Preston County, West Virginia 

The children of Thomas and Sabina Watson received the principal 
part of their education in the subscription schools, in the log school 
houses, and the books used were the United States Spelling Book, com- 
monly known as "The Blue Back Speller," the English Reader, Pike's 
Arithmetic and the Western Calculator. After the free school system 
was inaugurated better books came into use, John W. attended school 
one term in Kingwood, in the Old Brick Academy, and one term in 
Newburg. He was a student in the first Normal School in Fairmont, 
West Virginia, held in the basement of the Methodist Protestant 
Church. He taught four terms thereafter. In October, 1870, he en- 
gaged with Jones & Glover in what is now known as Terra Alta, as 
clerk and bookkeeper. He held the office of secretary and president of 
the Board of Education for Portland district. Was appointed post- 
master in said town under Hon. David M. Key, Postmaster General, 
and was reappointed under Hon. Frank Hatton. He resigned as post- 
master in 1884 and accepted the position of manager of seven counties 
in Virginia for the Singer Manufacturing Company, with headquarters 
at Charlottesville. Resigned as manager in 1886, and engaged with Baer 
Sons Grocery Company of Wheeling, West Virginia, and built up a 
trade in his territory from $20,000.00 to $90,000.00 per year. While en- 
gaged in that capacity he was elected clerk of the Circuit Court for 
Preston county and took charge of the office November 23, 1888, and 
has held same continuously to the present time. He is a candidate for 
re-election, and if nominated and elected, and lives through the term, 
will have held the office for over thirty-two years. When a boy, he, 
with his brother, engaged to "grub" the white thorn sprouts from a 
large field for "Uncle" Samuel Graham during the long days between 
corn planting and harvest. The eight-hour system was not then "pat- 
ented" and farm hands were expected to work all day; the work con- 
tinued for six days, and the pay was twelve and one-half cents per day — 
seventy-five cents for the week, and board. He was paid oflf in what was 
then known as "Levys." The wearing apparel was principally made 
at home from the raw material and woven into "Jeans" or "Linsey," and 
the flax made into linens. The spinning of these products was done on 
what was known as the "Big" wheel and the "Little" wheel Later a 
machine was brought into the neighborhood called "The Spinning 
Ginny." The "flyers" were mounted on a little four-wheeled carriage 
running on a track which would run back and forth at the will of the 
spinner and would stretch out the "rolls" and twist it into yarn. All 

Preston County, West Virginia 683 

these old things have passed away (with perhaps the exception of still 
having to "grub" the white thorn sprouts) and we are living in a new 
day; nearly everything is done by machinery, and we are moving in a 
more rapid way. Put us back to the old way of doing things, and me- 
thinks you would not hear any complaints of the "High cost of living." 


The Watson family is an old one. Those of Preston county are 
descendants of William Watson, who came from eastern Virginia in 
1790, and patented 300 acres at Masontown. Tradition states that the 
cabin stood on the "Hartley Green," the name by which the village site 
was known prior to 1856. 

'William Watson's son, William, was a soldier in the War of 1812. 
He was father of the late Thomas Watson, for many years 
Justice of the Peace and father of John W. Watson, Circuit Clerk at 
this time. William Watson, Jr., had a son, Rawley, who was born 
June 5th, 1809, on the old homestead, and died at the home of his son 
James F. Watson, April 25, 1889. He married Miss Sarah Ann Whip 
of Loudoun county, Virginia, who bore him nine children, who in order 
of their ages are: Mrs. William F. Menear, of Kingwood; Sanford, of 
Valley District; George W., of Kingwood District; Daniel G., of 
Reedsville, and Mack, of Masontown ; Edmund H., who lives in Barbour 
county; Orval and Mason of Reedsville, and James Flanagan of the 

Rawley Watson is spoken of as a good, kind-hearted, genial and 
honest man, a good citizen, and was well and most favorably known. 
He was a member of the Methodist Church. Although often asked to 
take office he never would accept one. Sanford Watson, a man much 
like his father, a genial, kind-hearted and honest man, was born on the 
old homestead farm, April 26, 1841. He was raised a farmer, and 
although a leading citizen and a very popular man, he would' never 
accept a public office, but confined his attention to farming and stock 
raising of which he has made' a success. He erected a large and com- 
modious barn and other buildings, and deals somewhat extensively 
in all kinds of blooded stock. His house was built in 1873. 

At the breaking out of the Civil War, Mr. Watson responded to 
the call of his country by enlisting in the Third West Virginia Infantry. 

684 Preston County, West Virginia 

His first service was in the engagement with the Confederates at 
Philippi, West Virginia. His regiment was then mounted, and there- 
after known as the Sixth West Virginia Cavalry. In all he served three 
years, entering his regiment as Corporal of Company C, and mustered 
out as Sergeant of the Company. 

On November 14, 1867, Mr. Watson was united in marriage to Miss 
Kate Hartley of Masontown. The children of this union were: (i). 
Lloyd Watson, who was born January 25, 1868, is now employed by 
the Government as a surveyor in Montana. (2) Callie, born September 
ID, 1867, married to Robert B. Brown, a carpenter of Masontown. (3) 
Walter B., a merchant in Masontown, born August, 1871. (4) Ernest, 
born May 31, 1876. He is a farmer and was married to Jessie Robey 
and lives on the old homestead. Their children are Glenn and Catherine. 
(5) Olive, born October 14, 1878. She married Harry Poland, October 
2, 1908, and is the mother of two children, Lois and Thurston. (6) 
Lulu, born December 30, 1880, was married to James C. Gibson, Sep- 
tember 14, 1906. Mr. Gibson is a lumber merchant. Their child is 
named Mary Cramer Virginia Gibson. 


William Scott Watson was born April nth, 1820, on what has 
always been known as the old Watson farm, and on which he with 
a large number of brothers and sisters were reared, (see names of 
others elsewhere). He was a soldier of the late Civil War, a member 
of Company K, Third Maryland Regiment. He enlisted in the spring 
of 1863, and was mustered out on May 27, 1865. On December 12th, 
1844, he was united in marriage to Miss Julia McKinney. To this union 
were born two children, Edwin M. Watson, born June 14th, 1846, and 
Joseph S. Watson, born March 29th, 1848. Death visited this home 
first on April 19th, 1849, taking the wife and mother of the above 
named children. Mr. Watson remained a widower until 1853 when 
on July 18, of that year he was again united in marriage to Miss 
Elizabeth Huggins, youngest daughter of John and Mary Huggins. She 
was born July, 1835, and died March 15, 1891. To this union nine 
children were born as follows: Terresa Ellen, born May 7, 1854, mar- 
ried to Thomas B. Riley of Tunnelton, W. Va.; William A. Watson, 
born February 4th, 1856, married to Nancy Jane Sinclair, daughter of 






^^^^^k' ' ' "^M 



M ^ 






-|-fclT-f^['~' -■' 

Preston County, West VraoiNiA 685 

Robert and Jane Sinclair, of Sinclair, W. Va. Their children are Dr. 
Elmer E. Watson, of Albright, W. Va,, Ernest W. Watson, Ass't. 
Cashier of the Tunnelton Bank, Tunnelton, W. Va., Alonzo Bedford, 

who died at the age of three and one-half years. Sinclair 

Watson died in infancy. Ila Grace, wife of Dr. W. W. Bucklew, of 
Fellowsville, W. Va., and William J., associated with his father in the 
mercantile business at Tunnelton, W. Va; Clarissa lone, born March 
22nd, 1858, wife of George H. Rodeheaver, of near Lenox, W. Va. ; Mary 

Anne, married (first husband), Daniel Miller (second husband), . 

She was born July 7, i860. Harriet Melissa, born July 30th, 1862, wife 
of Ira Travis, of Buckhannon, W. Va. Julietta, born December i6th, 
1865, died May 28th, 1872. Ulysses Grant, was born March 29, 1868, 
married Priscilla Herring of near Herring, W. Va., and a half sister 
of Geo. A. Herring, of Kingwood, W. Va. David E. Watson, born 
September 27th, 1870, whose sketch appears elsewhere; James Schnoble, 
born July 2nd, 1872, died March 3rd, 1910, from injuries received from 
being struck with a fast train and knocked from the Benwood bridge 
near Wheeling, W. Va. He was hurled a distance of about fifty feet to 
the ground, sustaining a fractured skull and internal injuries. He 
was taken at once to the City Hospital at Wheeling, and all the medical 
aid possible summoned, but his injuries were considered fatal from the 
beginning and he died in a few days, being unconscious most all 
of the time. He had been in the employ of the B. & O. R. R. Co., 
for a number of years and had worked himself up to a good position, 
being foreman of a carpenter crew. While yet a very young man, he 
had been given charge of some very difficult jobs in which he at all 
times proved himself equal to the task. He was held in high esteem 
not only by the officials of the Baltimore & Ohio Company, but b^ 
every man that worked under him, the latter coming in a body from 
Wheeling to Masontown, to attend his funeral. 


The subject of this sketch, merchant and former postmaster of 
Tunnelton, W. Va., is a descendant of one of the oldest families of 
Preston county. He was born September 27th, 1870, in a one room 
old fashioned round log cabin on what has been generally known as 
the old Barker farm, back on the hills of the old "Winding Cheat," 

586 Preston County, West VmorNiA 

in Valley district. His parents moved from here when he was about 
two years old, to a small farm near the North Union School house. 
Here they lived in an up-to-date hewed log house, having one lar^e 
room below and a half-story above. The only means of reaching what 
was then called the loft was by climbing the old style straight ladder. 
It was here that the large family of children slept on their beds of 

Early in life the subject of this sketch had become ambitious for an 
education and preparation for business; and many and fanciful were his 
plans for a future life in the business world. But because of the fact 
that his parents were very poor and by the time that the younger 
children of the family had reached the age that they should have been 
in school the father and mother were both failing in health with the 
rapid advance of age, consequently he was deprived of at least a com- 
mon school education. 

But such misfortunes as those do not necessarily need to be an 
absolute barrier in the way of any young man gaining success. So 
very early in life we find this young man availing himself of every 
opportunity of learning everything possible in regard to the mercantile 
business, first by doing chores of whatever kind he could get to do for 
the proprietor of the little country store near where his father then 
lijved, and where George A. Herring, now one of the leading merchants 
of Kingwood, W. Va., first permitted him to stand behind the counter 
in his little store at Herring, Here he tore calico and weighed sugar, 
and was a mighty proud lad indeed. 

In the year 1888, he was employed as clerk by his brother, William 
A. Watson, (now of Tunnelton,) but who then lived at and conducted 
an extensive mercantile business at Fellowsville, W. Va. He remained 
in the employ of his brother for five years, where with the help of him 
and the actual experience that he got, he was able to procure a pretty 
thorough knowledge of the mercantile business. 

In the spring of 1894, he went to Indiana, where he worked on a 
farm during that summer. In the fall of that same year he went to 
Illinois, first working on a farm, later securing a clerkship in the store 
of J. P. Wolford, of Galton, 111. He remained here and in possession of 
this job until the spring of 1899, when he returned to his native State, 
On September 27th, of that same year he was united in marriage to 
Mattie Frances Hanway, daughter of S. H. and Elizabeth (Poulson) 
Hanway of near Evansville, W. Va. Immediately after their marriage 

Preston County, West Virginia 687 

(omitting the honeymoon trip) they took up their residence in Tunnel- 
ton, and as Mr. Watson now jokingly puts it, with two hundred dollars 
borrowed money and his newly wedded wife he made his first personal 
business venture. Beginning as he did at that time without any 
money of his own, and in the midst of strong opposition, it was neces-: 
sary for him to keep everlastingly at it, and by so doing he has made, 
his mark in the business world, and while not yet having reached the 
height of his ambition he certainly deserves great credit for the advance- 
ment he has made. However, he modestly admits that he should not 
takcf upon himself all of the credit for their success for he attributes 
a great deal of their success to the help rendered by his splendid wife, 
who has not only been as energetic, but always as willing to make 
personal sacrifice when necessary (and which has been quite often) 
in order to help tide over a season of hard times or financial losses 
that have come quite often during the fifteen years of their married 
life. Aside from, the two stores that he now owns in Tunnelton, Mr. 
Watson has also accumulated considerable real estate in Tunnelton, 
and elsewhere in the county, as well as being interested in several banks. 

In 1910 Mr. Watson was appointed postmaster at Tunnelton, serv- 
ing a term of four years. For a number of years he has been very 
active in politics, but he has never asked for any political office at 
the hands of the people, being satisfied to work for his friends without 
any promise of recompense, and while he enjoys to the fullest extent 
a hard political scrap he has always adhered to the rule that politics 
should be kept as clean as your individual business, hence those to whom 
he was opposed, as well as those for whom he might be working, 
always knew just where he stood at all times. 

It has been his one desire, as regarding both business and politics, 
to build for himself a character rather than a reputation. 


Daniel G. Watson, son of Rawley Watson, and president of the 
Farmers and Merchants Bank, of Reedsville, was born June 12, 1847, 
on the old home farm near Masontown. He was educated in the district 
schools of his native town, also in Morgantown, Kingwood, and sub- 
sequently Smithfield, Fayette county, Pa. When fourteen years of age 
he left Masontown for Morgantown, then a noted seat of learning, 

538 Peeston County, West Virginia 

where he spent four years in school and learning the trade of a cabinet 
maker. When seventeen years of age, he taught school one term, 
having just come from the old Academy of Kingwood in 1865, and in 
1868, he left the Academy of Kingwood in 1865 and in 1868 he left the 
Academy at Smithfield, Pa., well qualified for the work of a teacher. 
He taught school thirteen years afterward. Mr. Watson tried hard to 
enlist in the army at one time, but because of his youth the military 
authorities refused his services without the consent of his parents, 
which could not be obtained. As a teacher Mr, Watson made an excel- 
lent record, and has subsequently been of great service to the cause of 
education as a member of the board of education of Valley district for 
many terms, being now a member — because of that long experience in 
practical school work. 

Mr. Watson was married May 24, 1877, to Emma Ray Fairfax, 
a family distinguished in the two Virginias. During that same year 
he began a business career as a merchant in Reedsville. A partnership 
was formed with his brother, Mason Watson, under the firm name of 
"Watson Brothers." That continued from 1877 to 1888, when Mr. 
Watson retired, the store being continued by his brother until his 
death a few years since. 

Before going out of business Mr. Watson purchased what was 
known as the James Reed farm, at Reedsville, The farm is a large 
and valuable one, coming up into the corporate limits of the town. 
In fact his residence, which at the time he purchased the site was a 
woodlandi — stands upon one of the main streets of the town, the farm 
lying to the north. From that time until the present Mr. Watson has 
been actively engaged in agricultural pursuits, especially interested in 
breeding and raising blooded stock. Pole-Angus cattle, Poland China 
swine, brown Leghorn and Plymouth Rock chickens, are some of his 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Watson are as follows: (i) an 
infant, born March 21, 1878, which did not live; (2) Forest G.; (3) 
Otis I.; (4) Pearl E.; (5) Rawley F.; (6) Margaret S. ; (7) Nina, born 
May 4, 1892, who died at the age of 2 years. 

Mrs. Watson died April 21, 1894, and Mr. Watson has never re-mar- 
ried. He has devoted much of his thought to the education of his 
children in the local schools, keeping the family together although 
some of them were very young when his wife died. The old home is 

Preston County, West Virginia 689 

still maintained, and the children, now grown, continue to reside there 
with their devoted father. 

iMr. Watson is of a retiring disposition, and lives a quiet unostenta- 
tious life. The Watson family is one of the oldest and best known in 
that part of the county, and its members have always been held high in 
the esteem of the people. Mr. Watson is a member of no secret 
organization, and takes no active part in politics, although he is a 
staunch republican and a warm supporter of every progressive move- 
ment for the good of his town and native county. Besides his mem- 
bership in the Board of Education, he was one of the promoters and 
organizers of the Reedsville bank and is its first president. Mr. Watson 
affiliates with the Presbyterian faith and has been a generous con- 
tributor to church building and maintenance for years. 


Thornton Taylor was the eldest son of George W. Taylor, and was 
born on the old homestead farm on Bull Run October 13, 1851. He 
was reared a farmer, and given an education in the common schools 
such as was afforded in that day. He attended school in District No. i, 
known .as the Friendship School. He remained at home until twenty- 
five years of age, and virtually took charge of the farm when eleven 
years old, his father having gone into the army, leaving the cares of 
the family in his hands. 

On March 23, 1876, he married Mary C. Zinn, daughter of W. A. 
Zinn, generally written A. W. Zinn. In 1879, the young couple moved 
to the farm where they live now, then a woodland, now a well-cleared 
piece of land under the highest state of cultivation. The farm was 
bought in 1874. 

Mrs. Taylor's mother was Anna Elizabeth Wright. Her parents 
located at Harper's Ferry, and when she was about fifteen years of age 
they moved to Preston county near Reedsville. 

The sister to Mrs. Wright's mother died and was buried at sea 
when the family were on their way to America. Mrs. Taylor's grand- 
father, Samuel Zinn, died on the old homestead farm near Gladesvillc, 
about 1857. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Taylor arc as follows: (i) Dora Alice, 
born August 28, 1881 ; (2) Tci Tona, born April 25, 1883; (3) Homer 

690 Preston County, West Virginia 

Milton, born February 8, 1886. The children have received all the 
advantages incident to an enlightened community with good schools, 
and their home is a bright and happy one. 

The family is public spirited, are members and active workers in 
the Presbyterian Church at Reedsville. 


The history of the Taylor family in Preston county is somewhat 
legendary. No very definite account can be obtained of this lineage. 
In descent, however, they are all of English origin. 

George Washington, the father of M. Harold Taylor, was born on a 
farm about six miles northeast of Morgantown, two miles north of a 
place on Deckers Creek called Dellslow. Twenty years afterward he 
was married near Reedsville to Eliza Jane, oldest daughter of John 
and Catherine (Robinson) Emerson. Mr. Emerson was of English 
descent, and a well to do farmer. The Robinsons were of German 
extraction. The grandparents of this couple were emigrants from 
England and Germany, respectively. His mother, Eliza Jane Emerson, 
was born on Cheat River at what was then known as Jackson's Works, 
about eight miles north of Morgantown. To this union nine children 
were born. Thornton, the eldest, was born October 13, 1851 ; Marcellus, 
1853; Albert, 1855; Clayton, 1857; Cyrena Jane and Ami — twins, in 
1859; Mack, in 1862; Melverna, in i^, and Milton Harold, October 
7, 1869. 

Milton Harold Taylor first saw the light of day in the old Taylor 
homestead four miles east of Masontown. Here he grew up and received 
practical instruction in the rudiments of a farmer's avocation, and 
here too be became established on lines of rectitude and honesty in the 
business and social world for the life to follow. 

Not satisfied with the attainments of a common school education, 
at the age of thirty-three, and after becoming the father of four children, 
Mr. Taylor sacrificed business and other relations, for the time being, 
and entered the University of West Virginia at Morgantown, and pur- 
sued a course of study covering a period of three years, which very 
much better equipped him for the duties and obligations of a leader 
among the farmers, which he afterwards became. 

In 1893, he located on a fifty-acre farm two miles southwest of 



Ti;E r-E\'J ^'^F'K 

astor, l^:"ox 
Jtilden fc:ji;d T.CN' 

Preston County, West Virginia 691 

Masontown. In 1895, two years later, he purchased another farm, and 
in 1901, moved to the Simon Martin farm, half a mile north of Mason- 
town, but moved again in April, 1903, to a farm on the Ice's Ferry 
and Tunnelton Pike road half a mile south of Masontown, which he 
had purchased from Samuel B. Kirk. This farm was settled about 1776, 
being one of the first in this part of the country. 

Mr. Taylor had little time or inclination to seek political favors, 
nevertheless, he has been called into public service to some extent. In 
1903. being a staunch Republican, he was made Notary Public, and in 
1908, elected Justice of the Peace, and in 1912 was elected to the more 
important position as a member of the Preston County Republican 
Committee for a term of four years. A position at this time of vast 
importance to the party. 

Socially, Mr. Taylor stands high as a fraternity man. He is a 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has held office 
from Inner Guard to Noble Grand in Preston Lodge No. 143. He 
was the youngest Past Grand representing a Subordinate Lodge at the 
session of the Grand Lodge that met at the dedication of the Odd Fel- 
low Temple at Morgantown in 1894. He also filled the highest office in 
the Colfax Encampment, when representing the Masontown Encamp- 
ment at Wheeling in 1909. He has been honored with high positions 
in the Junior Order of United American Mechanics and as a Knight 
of Pythias. He is also an active member of the Masonic fraternity at 
Kingwood, which he joined in 1910, at Kingwood, West Virginia. 

In 1898, Mr, Taylor became an active member of the Grange of 
the Patrons of Husbandry, one of the most powerful agricultural 
societies in existence. He represented Valley Grange No. 359, at a 
special session called at Buffalo, West Virginia, in 1900 to consider tax 
reforms in West Virginia, and was one of a committee of five to draft 
resolutions and recommendations to be submitted to the legislature at 
the next session. As one of the members of that committee, he enjoyed 
the confidence of such men as Prof. T. C. Atkinson, Dean of the College 
of Agriculture, of the State University; Dr. James H, Stewart, Director 
af Agricultural Experiment Station, and others, and many of their 
recommendations became embodied in legislative enactments. 

At the National Grange, Lansing, Michigan, held in 1902, Mr. Taylor 
received the decoration of the degree of Ceres, or the Goddess of Grains, 
called the Seventh Degree. He was steward of the West Virginia State 
Grange four years, and served by appointment as its Deputy Master, 
several years. He also organized many subordinate Granges in different 

692 Preston County, West Virginia 

parts of the State?. In this work it occurred to Mr. Taylor, that 
farm insurance property belonged to the Granges, and in materializing 
that idea, helped to organize the Grange Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, and was the first secretary for several years, a company which 
saved the farmers of West Virginia many thousands of dollars. He is 
vice-president of the company at the present time. 

Mr. Taylor is a member of the following associations in West 
Virginia: State Poultry; State Live Stock; State Sheep Breeders' and 
Wool Growers ; State Horticultural ; State Forestry, and the State 
Dairy, and has held offices in nearly all of these associations. He has 
also represented several of these associations as a public lecturer. 
He was employed by the State Board of Agriculture to lecture before 
the farmers' institutes of the State for several years, and in 191 1, by 
appointment from Governor Glasscock, he represented, with others, the 
State at a session of the Farmers' National Congress, held at Columbus, 
Ohio, where he was chosen as one of the vice-presidents of the said 
congress, and which position he now holds, as a representative of West 
Virginia, and is at this time President of the West Virginia Branch 
of the above congress. 

Mr. Taylor was one of the organizers, also, of the Masontown Bank. 
He is a member of the Masontown Board of Trade ; a director of the 
Masontown Telephone Company; and is with his family an active 
member of the Oak Grove Presbyterian Church. 

January 25, 1893, Mr. Taylor was married to Anna Belle Martin. 
She was a daughter of Simon R. and Sarah A., descendants of one of 
the oldest settlers in Preston county. Mrs. Taylor was born at Clifton 
Mills, June, 1869, 

Mr. Martin was a soldier in the Third Regiment of the State of 
Maryland, and served in the Civil War three years. He was captured 
by the Confederate forces at Harper's Ferry and made a prisoner of 
war, at one time. 

Children born to Mr. and Mrs. Martin are as follows: Howard, 
Mintie, Victoria, Anna Belle, Granville Ross, Sabina Jane, Otis Judson, 
and Atlanta Laura. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Taylor are : Ferris Adair, born 
October 10, 1895; Lynn Arden, born October i, 1896; James Otis, 
born March i, 1898; Mabel Ruth, born April 26, 1902; John Martin. 
Washington, born July 14, 1905 ; Dorthea Alice, born June 3, 1912. 

Preston County, West Virginia 693 


The Cuppett family of Preston county are descended largely from 
Jacob Cuppett, who died in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, near Johns- 
town, Pennsylvania. His children were: Zalmon, Thomas, George, 
Jefferson and Margaret. Jefferson Cuppett, born March i8, 1832, mar- 
ried Margaret Wolfe, September 17, 1857. She was born December 30, 
1836, died one year after her husband did, which was in 1895. His 
death occurred in 1894. He was a farmer, and lived near Bruceton 
Mills. Their children were Virginia Ellen, born July 22, 1858; Dora 
Melissa, June 15, i860; Parson Brownlow, March 18, 1862; Commo- 
dore Wellington, August 2, 1863; Benjamin Franklin, February 2, 1866; 
Zura Alice, January 27, 1868, she and Laura Belle being twins; Rufus, 
March 8, 1870; Gilbert Clinton, February 7, 1872; Orville Dayton, July 
II, 1874; Letitia Victoria, July 11, 1877; Wilbur Smith, August 21, 1881. 

Gilbert C. Cuppett was reared on a farm, and worked his way up 
to his present creditable position in life. He continued on the farm 
until after his marriage, and then purchased the stock of goods 
Charles Spindler had in the undertaking business, and from that time 
has been the principal undertaker in this part of Preston county. 
His wife. Miss Josephine Hyde Kimberly, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth Harvey Kimberly, having been raised up in an undertak- 
ing establishment as it were, has been of great service to him in that 
business. She was born October 16, 1872, and was married to Mr. 
Cuppett October 19, 1898. Her grandmother, on her mother's side, 
was Debora Forman. Her grandfather, George Kimberly, was a 
soldier in the Revolutionary War. He married Katie Tumbelson, and, 
in 1787, settled in Maryland. Their children were: Hannah Stewart, 
Rebecca Miles, Susan Kelly, Caroline, John J., William, Bayard P., 
and Fuller, 

William, the father of Mrs. Cuppett, married, first, Malinda Car- 
roll, by whom he had six children, all dead now but two: Jane Eliza- 
beth and Helen, both of whom are living at Beaver Falls. By his 
second wife, Elizabeth Harvey, daughter of James and Deborah Harvey, 
of Farmington, Pennsylvania, he had: (i) Warland, born November 15, 
i860; (2) Alva, who died in infancy; (3) Maude, born July 10, 1879, 
ancl (4) Josephine. Mrs. Kimberly was a teacher and glove maker. 
Mr. Harvey was a wool-carder and had a mill near Farmington, learned 
his trade as a carpenter and undertaker in Uniontown, and followed 
that both before and after he came to Brandonville. 

694 Preston County, West Virginia 

On her mother's side Mrs. Cuppett is a descendant of Robert 
Forman. Samuel Forman, born in 1775, and Isaac Forman, born March 
II, 1774, erected the oldest house in the county now standing, one 
mile east of Bruceton. (See Chorpenning Sketch.) 

The! children of Mr. and Mrs. Cuppett are: Darlton Alonzo, born 
October 2, 1899; Harrell Iden, born September 13, 1905; Dorothy 
Marguerite, born October 14, 1908. 

Mr. Cuppett is a member of the Odd Fellows of high degree, also a 
member of the Woodmen of America. Mrs. Cuppett is also a member 
of that same order, now having obtained the highest position given in 
the Rebecca Lodge. 


The Cuppett family are of German descent. Many of them of Pres- 
ton county are descendants of Jacob Cuppett, who died in Bedford 
County, Pennsylvania. Edward Ellsworth Cuppett, son of Alpheus and 
Elizabeth Ann Cuppett was born at Glade Farms, Preston County, 
on January 29, 1863. He received a common school education, was 
reared on the farm and was always a farmer, as his father was before 
him. He has always been a progressive citizen and a very public- 
spirited one, but never a candidate for public oflfice. Aside from one 
year spent in the West and five years in Fayette County, Pennsylvania, 
he has lived all his life in Preston, and it has been a strenuous one 
both as a farmer and as a citizen of both county and State. As a 
close reader and a careful observer, his opinions have obtained par- 
ticularly as an enthusiastic defender of farmers' rights. As a student 
of agricultural affairs, he first saw the need of insurance for farmers, 
and he was the first in organizing "The Farmers' Mutual Insurance 
Company," of Preston County. For many years also he was president 
of the Farmers' Local Organization of Grant District. This place of 
trust he resigned in November. He still owns land, farms for a 
living and has large interests in other real estate. 

Mr. Cuppett has five brothers: M. H.; C. A.; A. R. ; C. H. ; and 
D. E., all living. His sisters are Amanda, who died in infancy; Mary 
C, wife of R. P. Augustine; Ella S., wife of C. H. Bird, and Silva, 
who died at the age of twenty-one. 



THE i:l ' 




Preston County, West Virginu 695 

Mr. Cuppett married Zadie Beerbower at Uniontown, Pennsylvania, 
June 28, 1890. Siie is the daughter of Harry and Diana Beerbower, and 
was born at Glade Farms, May 2, 1868. She has two brothers, Silas 
and William W. The children of Mr. and Mrs. E. E. Cuppett are 
Nellie Mabel, born April 6, 1891. She is a teacher in the public schools. 
Mary and Edith, twins, born September 13, 1892, Mary is a teachcfr in 
the public schools also; and Fred Russell, who was born January 23, 

Mr. Cuppett is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He 
is a charter member of Bruceton Lodge, I. O. O. F., and past master 
of Pleasant's Grange. 


A great number of Preston county residents came from Fayette 
county, Pennsylvania. Among these was Jacob P. Barnes, a merchant 
of Brandonville, who was born July 21, 1842, two miles north of Somer- 
field, in the farm house now owned and occupied by Mrs. Noah Lan- 
caster and her heirs. His grandfather, Peter Barnes, was born in 
Saxony, Germany, in 1772. He came to America with his parents in 
1779. They located in the wilds of Pennsylvania, in what is now Bed- 
ford county, where Peter grew up to manhood, then went to Somerset 
county where he met and married Elizabeth Burger and settled there. 
Elizabeth Burger was of an old, prominent family of German ancestry. 
Her father, mother and brothers moved from Somerset county, Pennsyl- 
vania, to Ohio, and settled in Holmes, Tuscarawas and Coshocton 
counties, and were among the first settlers of that country. Here their, 
descendants have been holding annual reunions for many years that 
are largely attended by relatives scattered over many states. 

Eleven children were born to Peter and Elizabeth Barnes: Barbara, 
Elizabeth, Peter, John, Jacob. David, Christopher, Mary, Catherine, 
Diana and Sarah. Peter Barnes went to the state of Indiana and never 
married. Daniel married and located near Brownsville, Pennsylvania. 
Barbara married A. J. Stanton and settled in Pennsylvania. Sarah 
married Allen Spear and settled in Pennsylvania also. Christopher 
married and settled in Ohio. Diana remained single. Jacob went west 
when the western country was first being settled and was never heard 
from. Catherine remained unmarried. 

696 Preston County. West Virginia 

John Barnes, father of J. P. Barnes, was born October i6, 1803, in 
Berlin, Somerset county, Pennsylvania, When he was a boy there were 
no free schools. They had what they called subscription schools, where 
each pupil had to pay fifty or seventy-five cents per month tuition, and, 
because the country was sparsely settled, they had to go long distances 
to school. With so many disadvantages, John Barnes, nevertheless, 
acquired a fair education for that day. By trade he was a carpenter 
and cabinetmaker. 

On December 28, 1828, John Barnes married Nancy Ann Cook, a 
daughter of Jacob Cook of Wellersbury, Pennsylvania, where he was 
born August 19, 1803. Her father was of German and English extrac- 
tion and one of the pioneers of that region, and a prominent business 
man. He had two sons, Jacob and George, and one daughter, Nancy 

After marriage, John Barnes located in Fayette county, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he lived, farming and plying his trade until the death of 
his wife, February 9, 1889. Of this union eight children were born: 
(i) Angeline, October 25, 1829; (2) Cintha, May 31, 1832; (3) Anne, 
May 16, 1834; (4) William Jasper, December 25, 1836; (5) John 
Andrew, August 8, 1838; (6) Nancy Jane, April 29, 1840; (7) Jacob 
Peter, June 21, 1842; (8) Mary Elizabeth, January 21, 1846. Cintha, 
John, Andrew and Anne died in infancy. The father lived nearly 
ninety-four years and was able to walk without the use of a cane until 
his last illness and death, which occurred February 16, 1897. He was 
a Democrat all of his life and voted at every Presidential election from 
1824 to 1896. He and his wife were devoted members of the M. E. 
Church from their youngest days until their death. 

Jacob Peter Barnes, the seventh child of John Barnes, was reared 
on the farm and attended the country schools until he was eighteen 
years old. By this time he had acquired suflficient education to teach, 
but on account of his youthfulness he failed to acquire a school until 
three years later, when he was employed by the school board of H. Clay 
Township to teach the Flanigan School, near Confluence, Pennsylvania, 
which he taught successfully. The better to fit himself for a teacher, 
he attended the Normal School at Centerville, Pennsylvania. Later, 
while visiting relatives in Ohio, he became interested in the superior 
advantages olTered there and entered the high school in Millersburg, 
taking two terms. He taught two terms in that state, one in Coshocton 
and the other in Farmerstown. He then returned to Pennsylvania 

Preston Ounty, West Virginia 697 

and taught his home? school one term, then came to Preston county and 
taught two terms. Here he met Sarah Ann Guthrie, a daughter of 
James Guthrie, and married her August 27, 1868. She was born Febru- 
ary 21, 1847. I" 1869, he bought the Prospect Hill farm, where he 
lived when a boy. Here he managed the farm, working on it during 
the summer and teaching in the winter for eight consecutive years. 
On January 30, 1880, his wife died, leaving him the care of six small 
children, for whom he did the best he could until June 17, 1880, when 
he married Amanda Jane Harshbarger, a school teacher, born June 
9, i860. She was the daughter of David K. Harshbarger, who was 
born December 2y, 1825, and came from Mt. iSolon in the Valley of 
Virginia to Preston county, where he settled near Brandonville. 

After farming Prospect Hill Farm for fifteen years, Mr. Barnes 
sold it in the spring of 1884, and bought the William Hagans farm 
near Bruceton Mills, where he lived twelve years. He sold this farm 
to B. F. Huggins, and in February, 1896, bought the Hagans property 
in Brandonville, consisting of the stone dwelling and brick store 
building, and later has purchased other land and property in con- 
nection with this, where he still resides as a farmer and merchant. The 
dwelling furnishes hotel accommodations. 

Six children were born of Mr. Barnes' first marriage, and five of 
his second marriage, namely: (i) Lillie Irene, born June 5, 1869, mar- 
ried Baltus DeWitt, a jeweler of Terra Alta. They had one child, 
Lillian, now dead. The father is dead also. (2) Virginia Barbara, 
born February 12, 1871, married William A. Thornton, superintendent 
of DuQuesne Steel Works, and resides at DuQuesne, Pennsylvania. 
They have two children : Raymond and Helen. (3) James Quinter, 
born May 7, 1873, ^ jeweler. He married Laura Cole, and resides 
at DuQuesne also. (4) William Harrison, born May 2, 1875. He is a 
cashier of a bank in Pittsburg, and is unmarried. (5) John Jacob, 
born October 22, 1877, married Mattie Mosser, is a merchant at Clifton 
Mills and has two children, Ralph and Edith. (6) Sarah Alice, born 
January 23, 1880, is a teacher, is unmarried and resides at Bruceton 

Mr. Barnes' children by his second marriage are as follows: (i) 
Vida, born March 27, 1881, married David Earl Cuppett, attorney at 
law, and resides at Thomas, West Virginia. They have one child, 
Reardon Stewart Cotton. (2) Nannie, born December 15, 1882, mar- 
ried Charles E. Burner, mine superintendent, VanVoorhis, Pennsyl- 
vania. They have one child, Grant Irwin. (3) Walter Scott, born 

698 Pkeston County, West Virginia 

June 4, 1886, unmarried. He resides at Braddock, Pennsylvania, and 
is clerk there in the Braddock Steel Mills. (4) Russel Emerson, born 
March 15, 1891, unmaarried, and resides at home. (5) Leslie Virgil, 
born March 3, 1893, unmarried, and resides at home. 

Mr. Barnes has taken great interest in the training and educating 
his children. Nine of the older ones have been school teachers. Five 
are graduates of the California State Normal, Washington county, 


Charles Arnold Craig was born December 15, 1865. He was 
raised on the farm, and when twenty-one years old took a trip through 
Illinois and Iowa, where he remained two years prospecting. After 
this he railroaded two years, with headquarters at Newark, Ohio. 
On his return to West Virginia, he went into the saw mill business 
near Irona, and eventually entered into a partnership in the manufactur- 
ing of lumber with the late M. C Gibson, and with whom he remained 
eleven years, doing in the meantime an extensive business. In 1904, 
this 'firm closed up their account, since which time Mr. Craig has con- 
fined himself to agricultural pursuits, and to those of a man of busi- 
ness affairs generally. He bought the farm where he now lives near 
Irona of John H. Garner in 1896, and built his residence there in 1902. 
This was the old Snyder farm bought by him of the Benjamin Miller 
estate, February 28, 1843. It consists of 234 acres and is one of the 
most valuable farms in the county. During the year 191 1, Mr. Craig 
s^old off this farm, feed, hay and grain totaling $860.71 and cattle 
amounting to $531.00. He deals solely in breeded stock, short- 
horned Durham cattle, Polland China hogs, and sheep of the Shropshire 

Aside from interests in farming, Mr. Craig owns and controls much 
other kind of stock, consisting of shares in banks, of which the 
National Banks of Kingwood and Masontown are among the number. 
He is a director, and owns a large share in the Preston County Lum- 
ber Company; was a manufacturer and dealer in lumber and mine 
supplies; has considerable of an interest in the Wholesale Grocery 
Company at Rowlesburg; in the Kingwood Stogie Factory; enjoys 
also a considerable holding in the Hill Top Peach Orchard Company 


TilE r:EV-/ YORK 

TILDHN foundations: 

Pbeston County, West Virginia 699 

at Romney, West Virginia, and besides he is a real estate owner of 
valuable property in Kingwood. Withal Mr. Craig may be considered 
one of the most successful self-made men of Preston County. 

On September 30, 1891, Mr. Craig was united in marriage to 
Miss Mary Avice Martin, daughter of W. D. and Mary Elizabeth 
Martin now living near Irona. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Craig are as follows: (i) Charles W., born September 24, 1892. He 
graduated with honor, and was president of the Kingwood High 
School in 1911, also of Elliott Business College, and is now the 
efficient bookkeeper and manager of the Gibson Company Store at 
Kane's Creek. He was formerly clerk for the Kingwood Bank, and his 
advancement to his present important official position, based solely 
on merit, has been rather remarkable for so young a man. (2) Virgie E., 
born September i, 1895, now in Parkersburg, West Virginia, studying 
music; (3) Ella A., born November 29, 1896; (4) Mabel G., born 
December 14, 1899; (5) Lulu B., born September 21, 1902; (6) 
Harold A., born August 8, 1906; (7) Bertus M., born April 12, 1908; 
(8) and Juanita Louise, born August 16, 1912. 

Mr. Craig is a member in high standing in the Knights of Pythias. 
Is a Past Chancellor and was elected as a representative to the Grand 
Lodge. He is trustee of the M. E. Church of which he; and his 
family are members also. 


The engineer of the Big Mallet No. 2417, has worked himself up 
from a brakeman to his present position, which, like his Mastodonic 
engine, is an important one. 

Richard Edward Craig was born July 2, 1873, on a farm one and 
a half miles west of Kingwood, and lived there tilling the soil and 
going to the country schools until eighteen years of age. In the 
meantime, he drove The Company's team in the building of the West 
Virginia Northern R. R., but at the age above mentioned he went 
to Pittsburg and became a brakeman on the railroad. He went from 
there to Cumberland, Maryland. After seven years' service as a brake- 
man, he was made fireman, and on October 4, 1902, he came to 
Rowlesburg, where on September 30, 1908, he was promoted to the 
responsible position he now holds. 

700 Preston County, West Virginu 

July i6, 1895, Mr. Craig was married to Estella Maude Wotring, 
daughter of William Wotring, Captain Company H. 12th West Virginia 
Infantry, now of Dayton, Ohio. Captain Wotring enlisted as a 
private soldier at the beginning of the war, and was promoted from 
time to time until he reached the Captaincy of his Company. He was 
born December 15, 1844, married May 17, 1868, to Mrs. Nancy C. 
DeMoss Harvey, born March 16, 1840. She died August 6, 1900. 
Their children were, (i) Jerome H., born September, 1869, died 
of yellow fever in South America; Torbert W., born May 28, 

1871, died May 5, 1893; married Orretta Posten, daughter of 
William L., of Morris Bottom. (3) Roscoe C, born September 28, 
1873, and now living in Michigan. He married Jennie E. Emory, 
September 24, 1873, and now living in Michigan. He married Jennie E. 
Emory, September 24, 1895. She was born July 12, 1875. (4) Maude 
Estella, the wife of Richard Edward Craig. Their children are 
Albridge B., born January 23, 189^; Richard I., born January 5, 1898; 
Mary C, August 25, 1899. 

John Craig came from Ireland in boyhood. He lived first at Cranes- 
ville, but in 1848 settled at Morgans Run. His youngest son, Charles 
Craig, the well known auctioneer, married Miss E. C. Castle, January 9, 
1862. She was born September 18, 1840. He was a contractor and 
a wagon master during the war. Their oldest son John W. Craig, born 
September 8, 1862, was in the railroading business twenty-five years. 
(2) James L., born May 9, 1864, is a fine stock grower, and in charge 
of the home place. (3) Charles A., born December 15, 1865, is also a 
fine stock grower, and owner of the old Snyder farm, west of King- 
wood. (4) Mary A., born March 20, 1867, married to E. W. Thomas, 
February 25, 1902, had two children. She died August 20, 1905, near 
Howesville. She was a very large woman and weighed at one time 
296 pounds. (5) Amanda E., born May 5, 1868, died March 17, 1873. 
(6) Thomas D., born March i, 1870, was a school teacher. He 
married Cora M. Savage, daughter of H. G. Savage a well to do 
farmer living near Kingwood. (7) Sarah F., born February 18, 

1872, married Mr. M. G. Wilson, July 2, 1894, and is living in Pitts- 
burg. (8) Richard Edward, above mentioned. (9) Francis M., born 
June 21, 1875, is a large contractor in the cement and concrete business 
at Steubenville, Ohio, of which he is the first vice-president. The name 
of the company is The VanMeter Company.. (10) Argansette, born 
September 5, 1877, is at home in charge of her mother. (11) Bertha, 
born October 6, 1879, was married to E. W. Bolyard, August 2, 1900. 


T'"F, riLv^ ^'vjrx- 

pSbuc library 

Preston County, West Virginia 701 

(12) Loulee, born May 7, 1882, died February 17, 1883. (13) Nora E., 
born April 14, 1885, married to E. W. Fiser, June 4, 1904, lives at 
Keyser, West Virginia. 

Mr. Richard E. Craig purchased his beautiful home in Rowlesburg, 
in 1907. He has an interesting little family, and has left them a 
twenty-five hundred dollar insurance legacy from a policy he holds 
in the Baltimore & Ohio Relief Department, and $15,000 in the 
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. 


This family is traceable to both Celtic and Welch origins — See 
sketches elsewhere — William Morgan, one of the pioneers of this 
family in Preston County, settled on Dunkard bottom and became 
the owner of a large tract of land there. He married Margaret Funk. 
Five sons and five daughters were born to this union. His sons 
were: (i) James, who moved to Missouri at the close of the Civil 
War; (2) John, who moved to Texas; (3) William, now living in 
Ohio; (4) George, the youngest son of the family, died at home. 
The daughters were: (5) Malinda, now Mrs. John Herndon; (6) 
Hannah, who married Jesse Ashby; (7) Betsy, who married John 
Lawer. They live in Maryland ; Jemima, who married John Shaffer 
and lives in Barbour County, and Harriet, the wife of Joseph Hartley. 

(9) David Morgan, son of William, born November, 1822, mar- 
ried Mary Albright, daughter of David and Susanna (Miller) Albright. 
She was born October 15, 1834, and died July 28, 1868. See sketch 
of Albright family. 

Their children were: (i) Patrick M., Iborn January 16, 1874. He 
lived in Missouri, then moved to Texas. He married Ensbe Mc- 
CoUum; (2) Margaret S., born January 9, 1849; (3) Harriet A., born 
December 28, 1851; (4) Marshall, horn October i, 1852; (5) Joseph, 
born September 14, 1854. 

David Morgan's second wife was named Mary A. Morgan. She 
died January 25, 1873, at the age of thirty-six years. The children by 
this marriage were: (i) an infant that died December 4, 1871 ; (2) 
daughter, Mary A., who died March 24, 1873. 

The third wife of David Morgan was Sarah N. Marsden. No 
issue. David Morgan died June 24, 1898, at the age of seventy-five 

702 Pbeston County, West Virginia 

The present home of the Marsden, family was the old homestead 
where David Albright and subsequently where David Morgan, his son- 
in-law, lived. A large tract of land belonged to the family, fifty acres 
of which, now the farm of Marshall Morgan, being a part of the 
original farm. The old mill just above the residence, and operated 
until recently, was one of the historic landmarks of this part of 
Preston county. It was erected by David Albright, and run by the 
Albrights and Morgans seventy-tfive years in all. The brick house was 
built in 1861. 

Mr. Marshall Morgan has been a life-long resident in the vicinity 
of Albright, with the exception of two years spent in Missouri. He 
was reared on the old homestead farm and attended school at 
Albright. His education embraced the curriculum of the common 
school branches. He has been a close student of the current events 
of the day, and is a well-informed man. 

October 3, 1878, Mr. Morgan married Ruth E. Smith, and in 1879 
he built his present residence. Mrs. Morgan was the daughter of Jacob 
and Catherine Smith, and was born September 2, 1852. Her mother 

died August 31st, , aged seventy years, and was the mother 

of five children, (i) Mrs. M, L. Crane, deceased; (2) Mrs. Joseph 
Welch of Terra Alta; (3) Mrs. C. H. Trembly; (4) Mrs. M. Morgan; 
(5) Mrs. C. W. Forman. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Morgan 
are as follows: Bruce W., October 6, 1879; David S., November 9, 
1880; Marshall Blaine, July 5, 1884; Carr E., August 12, 1888; Frank 
Curtis, April 20, 1894, died September 2, 1895; William O., June i, 

Mr. Bruce Morgan married Pearl, daughter of Charles Stone, on 

, and has one child, Charles Marshall. David Scott, 

married Isa Whetsell. She was the daughter of Buckner Whetsell. 
They have one child, David Scott, Jr. Marshall Blaine married Anna, 
daughter of James Menefee. They are the parents of three children: 
James Marshall, John, Wesley and Geraldine. 


Among the prominent citizens and larger farmers of West Vir- 
ginia is Richard M. Arthur, of Arthurdale, Reedsville, this county. 
His spacious and palatial residence occupies a beautiful eminence, 


THE riEV/ ''oPK 

TlLDii H 

Preston County, West Virginia 703 

centrally located amidst his broad domain of nearly 1500 acres, and 
commands expansive and magnificent views for miles around. It is 
an imposing building and suggests the ancestral halls of great landed 
estates so popular in former times. 

Richard M. Arthur is of Irish descent and is a son of John 

Newton and Mary Arthur of County , near Dublin, Ireland. 

Mr. John N. Arthur and his wife emigrated to America in , 

and settled at Mt. Savage, near Cumberland, Allegany county, Mary- 
land. He was shortly after followed by his mother, his brothers, 
James and Edward, also his sisters, Elizabeth and Mary, who after- 
wards married, respectively, John Baker and James Burke, of Pitts- 
burgh. Each of the sisters reared families, but his brother, James 
(employed nearly his whole life in the American Iron and Steel Works, 
Pittsburgh), remained a bachelor, while Edward joined the Union 
forces in the Rebellion and his subsequent whereabouts was never 

John Newton Arthur, Richard's father, was a cultured, educated 
gentleman of exceptional ability and high character. On settling in 
Mt. Savage, John N. Arthur took up railroading and was a passenger 

conductor for several years on the railroad. Removing 

to Pittsburgh in i860, and becoming a conspicuous figure in the con- 
struction and early operation of the old Pitts and Connellsville division 
of the B. & O. R. R., as General Dispatcher of the road (Correspond- 
ing to Master of Transportation, in modern railroad terms), he served 
a long career 61 usefulness and honor. Under his tutelage several of the 
highest railroad officials, since directing some of the greatest railroad 
systems of the United States, received their .first lessons. Among 
these may be mentioned, J. O. Hughart, senior and junior, consecutive 
Presidents of the Grand Rapids and allied systems, and J. B. Yohe, 
the present General Manager of the P. & L. Erie or Pittsburgh Division 
of the New York Central (Vanderbilt) Lines. 

Mr. Arthur was six feet and one inch in stature, weighed over 200 
pounds, was genial and courtly in manner and of distinguished per- 
sonality. For these qualities and his thorough-going railroad capacity, 
J. N. A., (as he was designated by railroad officialdom and the public 
as well), was well known and respected by everybody throughout 
the length of his division. 

He died in 1883 at his home, 24th Street, South Side, Pittsburgh, 
Pennsylvania, and was buried in the family plot. Mary Arthur, wife 
of John N. Arthur, was a daughter of and McNulty, 

704 Preston County, West Virginia 

and was from . She" had two brothers and five sisters. Of 

her brothers, who likewise came to Maryland, James was a railroad 
conductor for many years and later went into the brewery business 

at Mount Savage. In he removed to Pittsburgh, where he 

established a coal yard on the South Side. He later went with his 
family to New York 'City, and after a few years removed to Denver, 
Colo., where he (and son, Thomas) became active and prominent in 

business and political affairs, until his death in . He left a 

large family, who are widely scattered, some living in New York, St. 
Louis, Denver and San Francisco. Thomas, the other brother, took 

the gold fever and went to California in . Returning he soon 

after settled at Pittsburgh and later went to McKeesport, Pennsyl- 
vania. Taking the gold fever again, he went to Alaska in i8 , at the 

age of 63, but soon returned to McKeesport, where he still lives. 
He has one daughter, Annie, living in Pittsburgh. 

■Mrs. John N. Arthur had five sisters: Bridget (Mrs. Gordon), 

who died at McKeesport in , aged years; Anna (Mrs. Edw. 

Donahue) of Frostburg, Md., still hale and hearty at the age of — years; 
Catherine (Mrs. Bulger) becoming a widow, she later married John 
Burns, and Margaret (Mrs. Lanagan), both of Pittsburgh, now de- 
ceased, and Lydia, unmarried, living at Pittsburgh. She was a 
woman of gentleness, refinement and devotion to the duties and 
responsibilities within the scope of her family and religious circles. 
She died in the Arthur homestead 1876, on the South Side, surrounded 
by her entire family of nine sons and two daughters. The children 
of this happy union all reached maturity before a single death among 

them was recorded. Thos. F., was born ; Edw. L., ; Jas. 

F., ; Wm. A., ; John P., ; Margaret, Richard M., 

; Jos. H., ; with the exception of the three older brothers 

of the family, all are alive today, and residing at Pittsburgh, except 
John P.. living at Marion, Indiana; Jos. H., Manager Swisher 
Theatre, Morgantown, West Virginia, and Richard M., the subject of 
this sketch, was born as stated, in Mt. Savage, Maryland in 1856, but 
removed with his parents to Pittsburgh when only 3 years of age, 
He attended the Humboldt school there until 17 years of age, when 
he learned iron moulding at Jones & Laughlins', which business he fol- 
lowed several years. 

He entered the hotel business in 1890, and erected an elegant 
modern brick hotel in Pittsburgh, South Side. The hotel contains 
50 rooms with every up-to-date appointment, including its own electric 

Preston County, West Virginia 705 

light plant, latest heating system, artesian well, etc. After lo years of 
success, he removed to Roscoe, Washington County, Pa., where he 
again erected a fine modern hotel and again met with success, due the 
genial, obliging and attentive landlord. While here, through corre- 
sponding with Hon. Wm. G. Brown, of Kingwood, he purchased the 
old historic Colonel John Fairfax estate, of 640 acres, near Reedsville, 
Valley District, this (Preston) county, West Virginia. To this he 
has since added several farms, acquiring both surface and coal, until 

his holdings now aggregate acres. He erected thereon a costly 

mansion home of 2^ rooms, which, at an altitude of 1800 feet, overlooks 
a large expanse of country noted for its richness and beauty. He soon 
added a large stock farm with capacity for a hundred head of stock 
and one hundred and thirty tons of hay. Other buildings, equipments 
ind general improvements rapidly followed. 

Mr. Arthur is a skilful and enthusiastic agriculturist and his pasture 
fields are ifilled with blooded stock of every kind : horses of the Bour- 
bon Wilkes breed; Jersey cows for domestic use and mercantile pur- 
poses; white chickens of choice Irish breeds, and game cocks from 
Japan, worth $75.00 a pair are found in his barn yard. 

In the year 191 1, Mr. Arthur raised on his farm 4200 bushels of 
buckwheat; 1950 bushels of oats; 2600 bushels of corn; 1800 bushels 
of potatoes and he stored away 120 barrels of cider in his cellars. 

April 22, 1879, Mr. Arthur married Mary C. Schmitt, a charming and 
accomplished daughter of Stefphen and Gertrude Schmitt, of Pitts- 
burgh. Her father came to this country from the French Alsace- 
Lorraine (now belonging to Germany), and located in Evansville, 
Indiana, where Mrs. Arthur was 'born in i860. When three years of 
age, the parents moved to Pittsburgh, where the father died in 1886. 
Mr. Schmitt, a highly educated gentleman, a product of European 
university training, was a musician and professional organist and 
schoolmaster. His father and grandfather before him were likewise 
schoolmasters in the old country. Mrs. Arthur's mother, Gertrude, 
is still living and makes her home at Arthurdale, when not visiting 
her other children in Pittsburgh. 

Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Arthur, Theodore J., the 
first gift to the parents, was born January 27, 1881. He was educated, 
graduating at California Normal College, Pennsylvania. He later 
took a course at the State University of West Virginia, at Morgantown. 
During the past ten years he has been private secretary to E, M. 
Grant, the well known capitalist of this State. He is also secretary 

706 Preston County, West Virginia 

of the Building and Loan Association of Morgantown; he is also 
Exalted Ruler of B. P. O. E., of Morgantown, West Virginia, and 
is identified with other important enterprises of that city. The 
daughter, Gertrude, now the wife of Earl J. Dixon, Cashier of the 
Masontown Bank, was born in Pittsburgh, May 5, 1885. She was 
educated at Seton Hill Academy, Greensburg, Pennsylvania, and mar- 
ried November 22, 191 1, Mr. Arthur is an energetic, public-spirited and 
enterprising citizen and his advent into West Virginia and the 
establishment of Arthurdale has had a salutary and inspiring effect 
and influence for progress and general uplift in the community and 


The Pierce family are Irish in descent. Their paternal ancestor 
was an Orangeman, and was exiled from his native land. He came to 
America and settled in Delaware. 

Colonel Carleton Custer Pierce was born in Rowlesburg October 
19th, 1877. He is the son of John F. and Amanda E. Pierce, who at 
this time reside in Rowlesburg, as well as two brothers, Frank R. Pierce 
and John A. L. Pierce. A sister, Edna Pierce, died in infancy. 

John F. Pierce was a son of Jeflferson Pierce, who died April 23rd, 
1863, while serving as a member of Company E, nth West Virginia 
Volunteer Infantry. He was a grandson of Samuel Pierce, a Revolu- 
tionary soldier, who at the close of that war came to Preston county 
about 1782, from Delaware, leaving many descendants some of whom 
remained in this and Monongalia Counties and some went to 
Tennessee, to Wood County and elsewhere. John F. Pierce was born 
in Wood County, the home farm being some fifteen miles above 
Parkersburg on the Little Kanawha River. 

Jefferson Pierce, brother of Wesley Pierce, married Ellen Elizabeth 
Custer, who was a sister of Emmanuel Custer, the father of the noted 
cavalry leader and Indian fighter, Gen. George A. Custer. The children 
of this marriage, in addition to John F., were Mary E., and James 
L., the latter having been killed in a railway accident near Rockwood, 
Pennsylvania, while serving as a railway mail clerk. John F. Pierce 
came to Rowlesburg about 1872, and has resided there since that time. 
His wife was Amanda E. Moore, a daughter of George D. Moore, 


J 1 — ' 

- 1 


, --^OR LENOX 


Preston Ck)UNTY, West VraoiNiA 707 

of near Newburg. He has served as Mayor and member of the council 
of Rowlesburg and for many years as member of and president of the 
Board of Education of Reno District, and it was largely through his' 
careful and efficient management that the splendid new school building 
has been built in Rowlesburg. 

Colonel Pierce, the subject of this sketch, attended the public 
schools at Rowlesburg, working on the saw mills and at such things 
as came to hand until he began to teach school, his first being the 
Goflf Ridge School in Union District. 

At the outbreak of the war with Spain, although just recovering 
from a long siege of typhoid fever, he enlisted in Company H, 2nd 
West Virginia Volunteer Infantry and served during the war as pri- 
vate, sergeant, first sergeant and First Lieutenant, being one of the 
youngest officers of the last grade in the 2nd Army Corps. 

Prior to the war he had been a student at Franklin College, Ohio, 
and on being mustered out of the service went to Morgantown and 
took the course in law at the State University. He was admitted to 
the bar in 1901, and located in Kingwood the following year. 

On November 28, 1902, he married Mary May Buckner, a daughter 
of Jeflferson M. Buckner of Rowlesburg, and a great-granddaughter of 
John Anthony Buckner, who settled in Wood County in the early 
days, coming there from Prince William County, Virginia, where he 
was born in 1748. John Anthony Buckner was connected with the 
Lees, Fairfaxes, Fitzhughs and other prominent families of Virginia, 
his first wife having been a Fairfax, and was a descendant of John 
Buckner, who came over from England and took up large grants of 
land in Virginia in 1663. He was a leading citizen of Wood County 
for over fifty years and was one of the jury summoned at the trial of 
Aaron Burr for treason. 

In 1904 Colonel Pierce was elected Prosecuting Attorney of Preston 
County, which office he filled until December, 1907, when he resigned 
to go to Charleston as Assistant Adjutant General. 

While he was Prosecuting Attorney the tax laws of the State were 
revised and it was due to his careful and watchful work that the 
coal lands in the hands of the big corporations were properly assessed, 
thus saving to the tax-payers of the county many thousands of dollars 
annually. He also stopped the shipment of "C. O. D." liquor into 
the county and in the prosecution of liquor sellers was vigorous and 
relentless. While in charge of the National Guard he reorganized that 

708 Preston County^ West Virginia 

force in accordance with the regulations of the regular army and built 
it up to a higher state of efficiency than it had ever before enjoyed. 

In 1910 Colonel Pierce returned to Kingwood where he has since 
resided. He has two sons, Carleton Custer, Jr., and Oscar Buckner 
Pierce, the former eig'ht, the latter five years of age. 

He is largely interested in fruit growing and farming in the eastern 
part of the State and to this gives a great part of his time. 

He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, is active in 
the Sunday School, is a member of the Sigma Chi Fraternity, the U. S. 
Infantry Association, the Masons, Odd Fellows, K. of P., and other 
fraternal societies. 

He is one of the Republican nominees for representative in the House 
of Delegates from Preston county. 


The Whetsells are of German origin, and in the German tongue 
the name is spelled Wetzel. All German surnames have primarily 
some distinctive meaning, and the name Wetzel was first applied to a 
person who whetted or sharpened tools with a cutting edge. Previous 
to the Revolution, the following Wetzels came to America from the river 
Rhine: Hans Martin in 1731, Johan Jacob in 1737, Johan Werner in 1738, 
Jacob in 1746, Hans Georg in 1750, and Johannis in 1754. 

It was either the second or third of these who in 1740 settled in what 
is now Rockingham county in the Valley of Virginia. Thence his son 
John, born in Switzerland in 1733, migrated about 1767 to Wheeling 
Creek in the Northern Panhandle of West Virginia. This Captain John 
was the father of the famous Lewis Wetzel, and his daughter Christina 
married Jacob Wolfe, a pioneer of Preston. From one or more brothers 
of the younger John are evidently derived the Whetsel connection oi 
Rockingham and Pendleton counties. 

Another of the immigrant Wetzels is mentioned as living in 
Frederick county, Maryland, in the middle of the same century, but just 
which of the six it was we cannot tell, because all but one bore the 
name John, or its equivalent. Frederick was then the most western 
county in Maryland. It is quite safe to assume that the first Whetsell 
in Preston was either a son or grandson of this early settler in Maryland. 

All the six immigrant Wetzels came from the same region, and that 




■;iLDi-i-i rev. 

Preston County, West Virginia 709 

they were not distantly related is very probable. John Whetsell of 
Preston married a Troxall, and it is significant that this name occurs- 
during the colonial pe'riod where both the Maryland and the Virginia 
Wetzels located. 

John, the forefather of the Whetsells of Preston, came from 
Hagerstown and purchased of the Butler brothers a portion of their 
patent amounting to 21x6 acres. The present farm of Felix E. Jeffers 
covers the principal portion of the Whetsell farm. It was a choice 
selection and indicates an exe'rcise of good judgment. The log house 
of John Whetsell stood near the site of the Jeffers barn. Later, he 
built a watermill on the stream below. The coming of the family was 
before the close of the pioneer era in Preston history. It was a time 
when no citizen was rich, and when toil and privations were? the order 
of the day. Like many another settler, John Whetsell did not live on 
Easy Street. The last years of the pioneer and his wife were spent in 
Maryland with their son Michael. There they lived until a little after 
the year 1840, being by that time of an advanced age. 

The wife of the pioneer was Mary Troxall. Their children were 
eleven in number, and all but the three youngest appear to have been 
born prior to the arrival in Preston. George, the oldest, lived a single 
life. He was a soldier in the war of 1812, and was wounded in battle 
at Bladensburg. Elizalbeth married Tevolt Shaffer, a son of Adam 
Shaffer, who came to Brookside in 1793. Conrad married Lydia, a 
daughter of Enoch Calvert, who lived on the William H. Whetsell farm. 
He removed to Maryland. Peter, the fourth of the family, was born 
December 26, 1796, and died February 26, 1875. He married Nancy 
Moyer of Hagerstown, remained in the home neighborhood, and was 
the progenitor of the larger share of those born with the W'hetsell name. 
Sarah, who attained the age of 92 years, married William Taylor, 
a resident of the settlement, and thus became the ancestor of one of 
the four Taylor families of the county. John, the sixth child, settled 
in Indiana. Mary married Jonathan Bucklew, a son of William Buck- 
lew, who came to the Whetsell settlement in 1812. Catherine E., the 
fourth daughter, lived single. Abraham removed to Pennsylvania and 
rnarried there. Michael married Elizabeth, daug'hter of John Felton, 
who became a member of the community in 1817. Margaret married 
William Welch and accompanied him to Indiana. 

While this leaves but two married sons, Peter and Michael, and 
two married daughters, Mrs. Sarah Taylor and Mrs. Mary Bucklew, 
who remained in the vicinity of the family homestead, the offspring 

710 Preston County, "West Virginia 

of the two sons have impressed their name on the community around 
them and caused it to be universally known as the Whetsell Settle- 
ment. It is also true that by intermarriage, the Whetsells are related 
to nearly all the other families of the neighborhood, which is, by the 
way, one of the fairest and most attractive portions of all Preston 

Until a recent date, this inviting corner has been a little difficult of 
access from the other towns of the county, and for a long time its 
postoffice privileges were inadequate. But happily these conditions 
have of late been greatly improved. 

Passing now to the families of Peter and Michael, we find that the 
former had ten children: John M., who married Catherine Trembly; 
Isaac C, who married Eleanor Felton; George W., who went away 
in his youth; Michael, who never married; Buckner F., whose wives 
were Charlotte Trembly, Naomi Trembly and Sarah JefTers; Mary 
E., who married Henry M. Felton; Samuel A., who married Louisa 
Trembly; William H., whose wives have been Mary E. Freeland, 
Melissa E. Bucklew and Martha A. Jefifers; Simon D., who married 
Susan Windle; and Sarah C, who married Joseph H. Trembly. The 
children of Michael were nine. Of these, Mary married Richard Dewitt; 
John O., married Drusilla Bucklew; Joanna lived single; Samuel H. 
married Pauline Herndon ; Sarah M., married Felix E. Jefifers ; George 
H., is single; D. Isaiah married Elizabeth H. Felton; Adaline P., 
married Joseph Fraley, w^hile Isaac J., married Jennie Calvert. It will 
then be noticed that these nineteen grandchildren of John Whetsell 
have lived and do live with scarcely an exception within the confines of 
the Whetsell Settlement. Some of the great-grandchildren have over- 
leaped these limits. The number of these is quite large and as some are 
as yet too young to render a fulL account of themselves to the world, 
w^e refrain 'from pursuing further the genealogical record. 

It will be observed that the Whetsells, originally a German family, 
have intermarried with families of English origin, as in the case of the 
Feltons, Jefifers, Taylors, and Herndons; with Scotch families, as in the 
case of the Bucklews and Calverts; also with the French Trembleys and 
Scotch-Irish Freelands. All this but exemplifies what is generally true 
of Preston county, the Pres'tonian of the present day being usually a 
result of the fusion of several dififerent stocks into a new type, that of the 
genuine American. 


Ti:E riEvV ^'urK 

iTlLDEN FC'jr;D,\T[ONS : 

Preston County, West Virginia 711 


The subject of this sketch belongs to one of the oldest families 
in Preston countty, for a full history of which see sketch by Oren 
F. Morton. 

Elias W. Whetsell is the grandson of Peter Whetsell, who was 
the son of John, the pione'er. Isaac C. Whetsell, father of Elias, was 
born in September, 1830, and died September 29, 1864. He settled on 
the farm now owned by Elias, which he bought of Jonathan Bucklew 
in 1856. It was then all woodland, the' timber of whiich would at 
this present time be worth probably $50,000. Many were the weeks 
of hard work spent in clearing off this land, but a fine grazing farm has 
been made of it. 

Isaac Whetsel'l was one of the citizens of Preston county, who was 
greatly beloved for the many good qualities of mind and he'art he 
possessed. He was a beautiful penman, and his fine penmanship, and 
his beautiful character made for him a reputation of enviable' notoriety. 
His work in the church brought him renown, he being a member of the 
M. E. Church. He was a teacher in the day school and in the Sunday 
School both ; and was eminently fitted for the work of imparting in- 
struction to others. He was a teacher of the day school in the county 
two or three years, and a teacher of a Bible class about ten years. 
He enlisted two or three times in the army, and was in the com- 
missary department of Company "O", of the Sixth Virginia, when he 

Isaac Whetsell married Eleanor Felton, who was a daughter of 
Henry and Katie (Wotring) Felton, the nuptial feast taking place in 
January, 1859, on the old Felton farm. His wife, Eleanor, was born 
May 30, 1840, and died July 2, 1882. The young couple moved into an 
old round log house standing on the place where all the family wertf 

The children of this union were Elias, born October 10, 1859; Nancy 
E., January 5, 1861, and Isaac C. who w^as born February 2, 1865, and 
never married. Nancy Married William Schaeffer, now of Kingwood. 

Elias W. Whetsell, late candidate for County Assessor, received his 
education in the common schools, and subsequently became one of the 
ablest educators in Preston county. Like his father before him, he 
possessed natural talents as a teacher and his work of four years in 
the schoolroom has matured to his credit. His knowledge of land 

712 Preston County, West Virginia 

values, and his good judgment, which has come through years of hard 
work and valuable experience, brought him into favorable notice with 
the voters of the county in his candidacy for the important office he 
ran for, and was testified to in the' excellent poll he got on election 
day. As a farmer he has become one of the foremost in the' county, 
and now owns valuable tracts consisting of some 642 acres in all. 

August 17, 1882, Mr. Whetsell was married to Ida L. Miller, a 
daughter of E. J. Miller of Terra Alta. (See sketch of the Miller family.) 
She died October 10, 1912. The children born to this union are as 
follows: Claude E., May 20, 1883; Grover C, August i, 1884, died 
November 28, 1912; Elizabeth E., March 18, 1886; Carl S., August 31, 
1887, died March 14, 1898; Ray E., March 7, 1889; Pearl, March 5, 
1891, died March 13, 1891 ; Samuel P., February 10, 1892, died April 
21, 1895; Grace E., January 2, 1894; Joseph N., November 21, 1895; 
Mary E., August 27, 1897; Isaac C, November 25, 1899; Vivian P., 
February 25, 1902; Custe'r L., February 26, 1904; an infant born and 
died February 26, 1907. 

Horatio S. Whetsell, of Kingwood, West Virginia, was born June 
6, 1868, in Preston county, We'st Virginia. He obtained his primary 
education in the public schools of his native county. Eater he took a 
course in the State Normal at Fairmont, and taught ten terms of 
school in Preston county. He was elected superintendent of schools 
in his county, serving four years. Subsequently he engaged in the 
newspaper business, purchasing the Preston County Journal, of which 
he is still editor and publisher. In 1902 he was appointed postmaster 
of Kingwood, and served till 1914. He is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church in Kingwood, and belongs to the Masonic and 
Knights of Pythias fraternities. He was secretary of the Republican 
executive committee for twelve years, he being a member of that polit- 
ical party. 

He married, June 12, 1900, Mittie Viola, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
John A. Lantz, of Aurora. The children born of this union are: 
Seymour Lantz, born May 25, 1903, died April 18, 1904; John Richard, 
born June 26, 1905; Virginia Elliott, born September 5, 1907. 







Home of Millard Filmore Chorpcnnint^'. 

First Newspaper in I'restnii Cduuty was Issued fniiu this House. 

Preston County, West Virginia 713 


The old Forman homestead now consisting of 170 acres is owned 
by M. F. Chorpenning. The house was built by Isaac Forman in 1794, 
and has always been occupied. It was built by compass, and stands 
due East and West, and has had but little added since its erection 
118 years ago. The north side has had only two roofs, but the south 
has been favored with three coverings. Laps and oak shingles were 
used, and are still in a good state of preservation. They were nailed 
on with hand-made nails out of the very best of charcoal iron. The 
house has six rooms, two down stairs, and four up. The frame part 
is made of hewed logs, and saddle-backed so substantially the 
structure still stands not yet one-half inch out of plumb, and it prob- 
ably will stand yet another hundred years, if not removed for some 
special purpose. The barn was built soon after the house was put up, 
and the old orchard planted about that time also, is still bearing fruit, 
and from the first has never ceased to bring forth its kind after its kind, 
though its trees are now over one hundred years old. One old patriarch 
standing in the midst of the orchard, has not only brought forth its 
golden fruit from year to year from the time it first began to bear, 
but its yield has been about fifty bushels annually. 

The first newspaper in Preston county was issued from this house. 
The paper was began by Frank Alter and Joseph Miller. It was called 
into existence by the memorable presidential campaign of 1840. It 
was called The Mt. Pleasant Democrat or The Preston County Demo- 
crat. It was an ultra whig-journal, although from its name one would 
suppose it was a Democratic paper. It supported the election of 
General Harrison with great vehemence. There is no copy of the 
paper now to be found. 

The homestead never changed hands but once. F. M. Chorpenning 
got it from his father, Jonathan Chorpenning, who bought it of John 
C. Forman, son of Isaac Forman in 1850. It is probably one of the 
nicest farms in Preston county. Scientific farming and thrifty husbandry 
have preserved the fertility of its soil, and its capacity for yielding grain 
seems to be not one whit lessened since it was first cleared off. It is 
only seldom that such a clean, well kept, and well regulated farm like 
this one is found anywhere. 

Jonathan Chorpenning, son of Judge Henry Chorpenning, took pos- 
session of this old Forman homestead on April i, 1850, and he lived there 
until he died on March 6, 1874. He was the son of Henry and Mary 

714 Preston County, West Virginia 

Shoaf Chorpenning, of Somerset . county, Pennsylvania. Henry, the 
father, was a highly educated gentleman, and Judge of the Court for 
a number of years. His son, Jonathan, also had the advantages of a 
(fine education, and made good use of it as an agriculturist. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Hay, daughter of Michael and Elizabeth Hay of Som- 
erset, Pennsylvania. They reared a family of fourteen children, five 
of whom died in infancy, and nine of them grew up to manhood and 
woijianhood, and five of whom only are now living. They are as 
follows: Malinda, born January 3, 1833, died in 1904; Franklin, born 
in 1835; Clarissa, who married Henry Brown, mow dead; Elizabeth, 
born in 1839. She married Cyrus Shader, and was drowned July 4, 
1904. Henrietta, born in 1841, married William B. Marks. He was 
a soldier in the late war, and is now living in Westmoreland county, 
eighty-'five years old. Hannah, born in 1843, died in 1909; Harrison, 
born in 1845, ^^d lives in Fayette county, Pennsylvania; Simon Michael, 
born in 1847, "ow dead. 

Millard Filmore Chorpenning, born one year after his father settled 
here, has always lived on the old home place. Like his father before 
him, he is an educated man and has turned it all to the account of an 
agriculturalist. February 2, 1885, he was married to Nancy J. Waddell, 
from which union were born seven boys and one girl. Alonzo J., the 
eldest, was born June 24, 1885. He is married, and by his wife, Ettie 
Kissenger, became the father of two children: Mary, now dead, and 
Arthur Blaine. They live at Green Ridge, Maryland. (2) Charles 
W., born in 1887. He died in infancy. (3) Walter Elmo, born in 
1889. He is an electrician at Connellsville, Pennsylvania. (4) Lloyd 
S., born in 1891, is now completing a course of study in the Normal 
College at Shepherdstown, West Virginia. He has taught school two 
terms. (5) Homer O., born in 1893, is a teacher in Fayette county, 
Pennsylvania. (6) Henry Ward, born in 1895, is a bricklayer in Con- 
nellsville, Pennsplvania. (7) Creed McKinley, born in 1897, is an 
electrician at Connellsville, Pennsylvania. (8) Lucy A., born March 
30, 1900, now in school. 

Mr. Chorpenning was road-supervisor several terms, but his atten- 
tions are directed solely to farming and stock raising, at which he has 
been eminently successful. 


TTF Y.lS'J ''^-'^ 


Preston County, West Virginia 715 


Among men of great usefulness and who stood ever ready to 
extend help and encouragement to others, and for every worthy enter- 
prise in Preston county, was the well known and highly public 
spirited citizen of the state, as well as our county, the Honorable John 
Nelson Baker of Independence. He was born April 26, 1850, on a farm 
near Marquess this county, was reared a farmer, taught school six 
terms, elected a member of the Legislature two terms, and before his 
death became a great business man in that larger sense, which dis- 
tinguishes enterprises of that higher orde'r. He was a son of Joseph 
,G., and Sarah A. Baker, and died Tuesday, March 16, 1909. At the 
time of his decease, papers of both the state and county commented- 
at length on the moral and business qualities of Mr. Baker, voicing 
the sentiments of the community in which he lived, and in terms of 
the strongest kind. From- all sources he is spoken of as one of the 
best citizens of the county and state, and held during his lifetime 
many positions of honor and trust. 

Mr. Baker was educated in the common schools of the county, and 
at W'CSt Virginia College at Flemington, and thereafter gave up farm- 
ing, for a time, to become an educator. He was twice married. His 
first wife, Ellen Waker, died April 21, 18S4. They were married 
April 27, 1^873. The children by this union were: (i) Guy W., born 
February 8, 1874. He married Margaret J. Mason, December 24, 1896. 
Their children were Kate and Hugh. They live in Grafton. (2) 
Ada Grace Baker, born October 10, 1876, married H. D. Forman, October 
14, 1896. One child. Nelson, became the fruit of this union. They live 
in Fairmont. 

The second marriage of Mr. Baker occurred October 22, 1885, to 
Miss Laura, daughter of John W. and Martha E. Graham. The 
wedding ceremony took place at Grafton, West Virginia. 

John Lewis was a native of Loudoun county, Virginia. He was 
a blacksmith, and lived for a time at Memphis, Missouri, but came 
back to Grafton where he died in 1904, at the age of seventy-five 


After marriage, the young couple took up their residence on thef 
farm now owned by Frank Buckle w, and lived there until 1901, when 
they moved to Evansville, the place of his death, and where Mrs. Baker 
still lives. 

716 Preston County, West Virginia 

Mr. Baker owned a mill and store in Evansville, and operated 
both from 1901 to 1906, when a flood on July 17th, that same year, 
destroyed both. Three children were born to this second union, 
namely, Ray B., who first saw the light of day on January 7, 1889; 
and Olive was born June 12, 1902. A child who died in infancy, born 
November 28, 1886, and died April 4, 1890. 

Mr. John Nelson Baker distinguished his career in life, not only 
as a member of the House of Delegates to which he was elected, first 
in 1898, then again in 1900, and where he served with much credit 
to himself and constituents in that position; but as an agent for many 
years of B. F. Young Company, who owned 20,000 acres of valuable 
coal, mineral and timber lands in the state of West Virginia. These 
lands were practically in one body, but extended over portions of 
Preston, Tucker and Barbour counties. This syndicate, belonging in 
England, put their possessions into the hands of Mr. Baker, who 
being trusted absolutely as to their sale and disposition, sold every foot 
of them. Of those splendid properties we have now the Austen Coal 
& Coke Company, and many timber tracts that have been and are now 
being cut. 

Fraternally Mr. Baker was quite prominent in Masonic circles, 
having received all the honors of the order as far as the Shriners' 
degree. He was a member of the Aurora Lodge. No. 43, Newburgj 
DeMolay Commandary No. 11, of Grafton, and Copestone, Chapter 
No. 12; Royal Arch Masons, also of Grafton. 

Two sisters and one brother survive Mr. Baker. They are Mrs. 
Sarah Bonafield and Mrs. William Walter of Grafton, and Dr. N. H. 
Baker of Gellette, Wyoming. The wife of M. M. Jeffreys, now dead, 
was another sister. 


This prominent and successful physician and surgeon has been 
engaged in the practice of his profession for the past twenty-five years. 
He was born in Taylor county, Virginia, August 20, i860. His 
father was also born in that county, and there learned the carpenter 
trade, subsequently settling in Grafton, where he was employed by 
the B. & O. R. R., for thirty-seven years. He entered the employ 
of the company as a carpenter, and in a few years was promoted to that 



THE ^£V^ ^Of^^ 

Preston County, West Virginia 717 

of passenger car foreman until the year 1884, when he was transferred to 
Baltimiore, Maryland, where he was made general foreman of all pas- 
senger car repairs at Camden station and Baileys. He resided in Bal- 
timore until 1900, when he was retired and placed on the pension list 
of the Baltimore & Ohio Relief Department. Mr. Proudfoot was mar- 
ried in Taylor county to Miss Emily Freeman, who was born in Vir- 
ginia, November 30, 1842. Her father, William, Freeman, was one of the 
pioneers of this state. She was a woman of great Christian character, 
ever ready to help the needy. She was of poor health herself, and 
died suddenly in Rowlesburg, West Virginia, May 23, 191 1. Three 
sons and one daughter we're born to the above mentioned union, Dr. 
M. H. Proudfoot, Rowlesburg, West Virginia; Mrs. R. F. Menefee, 
Wellington, Kansas; G. F. Proudfoot, Franklin, Pennsylvania; E. J. 
Proudfoot, Rowlesburg, West Virginia. Dr. Proudfoot received his 
primary education in the public schools, and later, unaided by others, 
took a commercial course. Still later he began the study of medicine 
at Grafton, West Virginia, with Dr. Thomas Kennedy, one of the 
celebrated physicians of northwestern Virginia, with whom he re- 
mained until the death of Ihe latter. After this he was with Dr. 
Grant, also of Grafton, until he began attending lectures at the Starling 
Medical College of Columbus, Ohio, during the winter of 1880-81. 
After taking his first course of lectures, in the following spring he 
was appointed clerk on the railway route between Grafton and 
Wheeling, and continued in that business for about one year, but at the 
same time pursued the study of medicine. Later he returned to 
Starling Medical College and graduated in the class of 1884, after 
which he began practicing at Rowlesburg, where he remained until 
the fall of 1886. From there he went to Kendall, Kansas, but after 
several years returned to Rowlesburg, where he resumed the practice 
of medicine, whiich he has continued successfully since that time. He 
also engaged in the drug business for a number of years, and did a 
good business until quite recently when he sold out his store and all 
interests therein and confined himself strictly to his profession. Dr. 
Proudfoot is a member of the County and State Medical Societies, 
American Medical Association, Baltimore & Ohio Railway Surgeons' 
Association. The doctor was appointed a member of the State Board 
of Health in 1904, and served four years. 

Dr. Proudfoot was married in Baltimore, Maryland, June 29, 1897, 
to Miss Lida D. Sawtelle, a native of West Virginia, who was reared 
and educated in New Orleans, Louisiana. Her father, William Sawtelle, 

718 Preston County, West Virginia 

had been a resident of New Orleans many years, and is still living. 
To Dr. and Mrs. Protidfoot was born one child, Eva. She was born 
in Colorado. 

Dr. and Mrs. Protidfoot and their daughter are active members 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Rowlesburg, and the former is 
a member of the Terra Alta Ancient Free and Accepted M'asons, 
The Chapter, a Knight Templar, he holding membership in Grafton, 
is a member of Osiris Shrine of Wheeling, West Virginia. Dr. 
Pro'udfoot has been a resident of Rowlesburg for twenty years, and has 
been one of the active and public spirited citizens and successful business 
men of that city. 

Dr. Proudfoot is well known to the profession over the entire 
state as a successful physician, and he and his family are highly 
respected. He is also surgeon for the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, 
Morgantown and Kingwood Railroad and The Alpha Portland Cement 


A History of Preston County or of West Virginia to be complete 
must give recognition to the railroad as a powerful agency in the 
development and commercial expansion of the State and particularly the 
Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, which has been so intimately connected 
with the growth of the county. 

When the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad extended its tracks across 
northern Virginia to Wheeling in 1852, thait vast expanse of territory, 
afterwards admitted to the Union as We'st Virginia, was for the most 
part an unexplored and sparsely-settled region possessing few advantages 
in a commercial way. The untold wealth of the State was undreamed 
of in those times; and it remained for the railroad, as the pioneer, to 
blaze the way for the future prosperity of the State and Nation by pro- 
viding a highway of commerce for the country's trade. 

The completion of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad to Wheeling, 
in 1852, establishing a connecting link between the waters of 
the 'Chesapeake Bay and Ohio River (to be followed by boat 
and rail connection with the Mississippi at St. Louis in 1874), 
was an event which inaugurated perhaps the most important epoch 
in the history of the world's commerce. It revolutionized the business 

O (t 

THE r:EV/ VurK 




Preston County, West Virginia 719 

of modern times by demonstrating the practicability of a system of 
rapid transportation which stimulated the commercial affairs of all 

Since the eventful day, when the railroad stretched its lines of 
commerce across the State, West Virginia and the Baltimore and Ohio 
Railroad have been joined in a bond of commercial union, continually 
strengthened through years of intelligent co-operation and have 
shared the fortunes which have crowned the united efforts of com- 
monwealth and transportation system for mutual advancement. 

Before proceeding further, it would probably be propitious to 
revert to the circumstances which brought about the determination 
to projedt the railroad through the' State. From Revolutionary days 
until the middle of the nineteenth century, the commerce of the country 
was carried on principally by the slow method of water transporta- 
tion, and in sections removed from the' natural routes recourse was 
to turnpikes and pack trains. As a consequence business activity was 
confined to seaport and river towns. Wheeling, by reason of its 
geographical location, was the principal river town west of the Alle- 
ghenies at the time and was one of the leading centers of trade of the 
vast country now comprising the Central West. 

Among the states and cities of the East the keenest rivalry existed 
for commercial supremacy in western trade, particularly between New 
York, Pennsylvania and Maryland. Canals were built for extending 
commerce. Maryland, in furthering its interests in the way of trade, 
had built the Chesapeake and Ohio west to Cumebrland, but despite 
this enterprising move it was realized in Maryland that her sister 
states were encroaching upon the western business. 

Baltimore was even at that early day the center of trade of Mary- 
land, and commerce with Wheeling was conducted by means of long 
trains of "Conestoga" wagons which crossed the Allegheny Moun- 
tains by turnpike. The tonnage hauled in this way was small and the 
time consumed in the journey long. Rates for the service performed 
were high. 

Teamsters employed on the National Pike brought wonderful tales 
to Baltimore of the Eldorado beyond the Alleghenies, as narrated by 
drivers whom they met from western divisions of the pikes. In time 
these stories reached the ears of the Baltimore hii<-ne<^ men and mer- 
chants, sharpening their desire to solve the problems of commerce 
in a way which would win back the trade rightfully belonging to 

720 Preston County, West Virginia 

Experiments in hauling coal and stone from mines and quarries 
having been made in England, tTie indomitable Marylanders after in- 
vestigating this method of transportation, decided to build a railway 
line from Baltimore to Wheeling which would regain the lost trade. 
This was the inception of the Baltimore' and Ohio Railroad, which, as 
the name implies, was to connect the Maryland metropolis with the 
western river. Strange to relate, however, not a single member of 
the committee that made the announcement had ever crossed a moun- 
tain range, consequently they knew little of the difficulties to be 
encountered in the construction of a railroad in such a region. 

On February 12, 1827, a meeting was held by a number of bankers 
and business men at the residence of George Brown, a prominent 
banker of Baltimore, to discuss plans for building the railroad; and as a 
result of the meeting a petition was sent to the Maryland legislature 
for a charter for the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company, the capital 
stock of which was fixed at $5,000,000. The charter was granted without 
delay on February 2"], and April 23 of the same year an organization 
meeting was held which elected Philip E. Thomas president of the 
Company, and a board of directors was also chosen. 

The Virginia legislature confirmed the course of the M'aryland 
assembly within a week after the action of the Maryland legislature in 
granting the charter and granted the railroad company authority to lay 
its tracks through what is now West Virginia. Plans for construction 
were begun immediately and on July 4, 1828, Charles Carroll of Carroll- 
ton, the' last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence, laid 
the cornerstone. 

The railroad was built to Ellioott Mills, Md., in 1830, and the fol- 
lowing year reached Frederick, Md. 

When it had been demonstrated beyond peradventure of a doubt 
that the railroad was practicable, opposition arose from those financially 
interested in the canal. Securities of the water route began to 
depreciate in value and litigation beset the railroad on all sides. 
Injunctions were' obtained against the railroad when it reached Point 
of Rocks, because of alleged interference with traffic on the canal, the 
contention being that locomootives would scare mules drawing the 
packets. Complications involving priority of right of way also arose. 
In this dispute the attorneys for the railroad were Roger Brooke Taney, 
afterwards Chief Justice of the Supreme Court; Daniel Webster and 
Reverdy Johnson. 

The railroad was extended to Harper's Ferry, then in Virginia, by 

r^ "J'- ' 

CO ^ 

X- ^ 

CO o 

ro ^ -h 

H .. 

Preston County, West Virginia 721 

January i, 1834. In 1837 the Virginia legislature subscribed $300,000 
towards the expense of construction, an agreement having been 
reached to build the line through what is now West Virginia until 
within a few miles of Cumberland. The railroad reached Cumberland, 
172 miles west of Baltimore, in November, 1842, Construction was 
then suspended until the fall of 1848, when Thomas Swann of Balti- 
more' became president of the Company. Work was immediately re- 
sumed on the road west of Cumberland and on June 5, 1851, the line 
was opened to Piedmont. 

Preston County was reached by the railroad early in 1852. Enter- 
ing the County near Corinth, construction was pushed rapidly through 
Terra Alta, Rowles'burg, Tunnelton, Newburg and Hardman to 
Grafton. President Swann then promised the investors that through 
rail connections would be established by January i, 1853; and that no 
time would be lost, gangs were started building the line from Wheeling 
towards Fairmont to meet the construction westward. 

Progress on the line east from Wheeling was slow because of the 
fact that materials had to be hauled through unbroken mountains. 
The rails used on the road were rolled at Mt. Savage, Md., and were 
hauled overland to construction gangs on the west end. The track 
forces met with their work at Roseby's Rock on December 24, 1852, 
marking the completion of the road by driving a gold spike into the 
ties. Roseby's Rock derived its name from Roseby Carr, the man in 
charge of the construction gangs, and at the banquet in Wheeling to 
celebrate the completion of the road it was facetiously said that Carr 
"had acte'd as the parson at the nuptials of the Ohio and Chesapeake 
Bay and his men assisted at the courtship." 

The first through trains from Baltimore to Wheeling left the 
Maryland city on January 10, 1853, having on board President Swann 
and the directors of the road; George Brown, first treasurer; Benjamin 
■H. Latrobe, chie'f engineer who built the road ; his brother John H. B. 
L;atrobe, first general counsel ; Governor Lowe, of Maryland, Governor 
Johnson of Virginia, a delegation of members of the legislatures of these 
States and prominent men of aflfairs in the east. 

Passing through the hill country of Preston county, the distinguished 
party arrived at Wheeling on January 12, 1853, where a gala celebration 
that lasted several days was begun. As a fitting close of the festivities 
a banquet was tendered to the visitors by their Wheeling hosts as a 
testimonial of the friendly commercial relations which had been fos- 

722 Preston County, West Virginia 

tered by a union in their commercial relations between the East and 

For northern Virginia the railroad meant the dawn of a ne'w era 
in business which, continuing to the present time, is responsible for 
the position occupied by West Virginia among the leading industrial 
states of the country. It placed the territory in direct communication 
with the markeits of the country, and the superior transportation 
facilities encouraged the investment of capital in the development of 
West Virginia industry. Before the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad was 
built, Wheeling and Parkersburg were the leading trade centers of the 
West Virginia territory, enjoying the geographical advantage of prox- 
imity to the Ohio River; therefore inland districts eastward shared only 
superfcially in the business of the difficulties of hauling across the 

'With the advent of the railroad new towns sprang up, settlers 
following the railroad and locating in the sections then undeveloped. 
Keyser, Piedmont, Terra Alta, Grafton, Clarksburg and Fairmont 
took their places as business centers. When capital was forthcoming, 
ne'w lines of railroad were built to reach the coal ,oil and lumber 
regions of the State. Among these roads, many of which are now 
embraced in the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad System, were the 
Northwestern Virginia Railroad, from Grafton through Clarksburg to 
Parkersburg; the West Virginia and Pittsburgh Railroad, from Clarks- 
burg to Richwood ; the' 'Monongahela Railroad from Fairmont to Clarks- 
burg; the Grafton and Belington Railroad, from Grafton to Belington; 
the Point Pleasant, Buckhannon and Tygart's Valley Railroad, from 
Buckhannon to Pickens; the West Virginia Short Line Railroad, from 
Clarksburg to New Martinsville ; the Ohio River Railroad, from 
Wheeling, through Parkersburg to Huntington, and the Huntington 
and Big Sandy Railroad, from Huntington ito Ke'nova. 

The original line of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad to Wheeling 
was a single track road and its construction through the mountainous 
country presented many engineering problems. The science of engineer- 
ing was largely in the experimental state in those early days, so in 
pushing the' construction work across the mountains it became necessary 
to follow the course of least resistance. The single track line when 
built was wholly adequate to handle the business, but the growth of 
commerce and industrial development of the State taxed the facilities 
beyond capacity. Betterments were made when finances would per- 
mit, tracks were added and larger terminals were provided, until a 










-2 ?^ 






Preston County, West Virginia 723 

larger percentage of the main line mileage within the state was double 

Even the'se facilities became inadequate to handle the traflfic orig- 
inating in West Varginia for the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, and there 
was urgent need for increased facilities. On January 15, 1910, President 
Daniel Willard assumed charge of the' road and before two weeks had 
elapsed a committee of West Virginia citizens visi>ted the chief 
executive of the railroad to urge that additional facilities be provided. 
The conference was held in Baltimore and Mr. Wdllard gave the ship- 
pers assurance that their request would be complied with. He outlined 
to them a program of improvements which would increase the hauling 
capacity of the railroad by fifty per cent, including the construction 
of a third track on the mountain slopes to prevent congestion and the 
purchase of new cars and locomotives. The promises of President 
Willard have been fulfilled and the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad is 
well equipped to handle with dispatch the trafific oflfered to its rails. 

The transformation accomplished on the Baltimore and Ohio 
Railroad in so short a time was nothing less than marvelous and has 
aittracted widespread attention of the shipping public and railroad 
world. The construction of the third track involved the relocation of 
line, reduction of grades, elimination of tunnels, consitruction of sub- 
stantial bridges capable of handling the heaviest of trains, the pur- 
chase of locomotives of the mosit powerful type, freight cars of maxi 
mum capacity and modern passenger equipment. 

The betterment work as outlined by President Willard has in- 
volved the expenditure of about $70,000,000. 

A large share of the track improvement work has been made in 
Preston County, though the reader will probably be interested in a brief 
reference to the general program of improvements. 

The improvements extend over the main line of the road in West 
Virginia from the eastern extremity of the State to Grafton. A third 
track has been built from Sir John's Run to Great Cacapon, a distance 
of five miles, giving a continuous third track from Hedgesville to 
Orleans Road, 34 miles; and automatic block signals have been installed 
to insure the safe handling of trains in this section where traflfic is 
especially dense. Over Sir John's Run and Great Cacapon River stone 
arch bridges have replaced steel structures, the structure at Great 
Cacapon providing for four tracks. The plan is to eventually close the 
gaps and make a continuous third track from Cherry Run to Cumber- 
land, a distance of 65 miles. 

724 Preston County, West Virginia 

iWest of Cumiberland the first extensive improvement work was 
made between Bloomington and Bond, on the eastern slope of the 
Alleghenies, whe're the first tunnel elimination was undertaken. The 
tunnels provided insufficient clearance for the monster motive power 
now in use in the mountain regions, and it was deemed most expedient 
to eliminate them entirely by converting them into open cuts. Everett 
tunnel 493 feet long, was eliminated and an open cut substituted. 
Several mile's west of Everett the third track between Swanton and 
Altamont was extended for two and half miles to provide for train 
movement on the mountain slope'. This work included the extension 
of three structures over Crab Tree Creek and additional facilities at 
IS'wanton and Strikers Station. 

At Altamont, the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad reaches its highest 
altitude of 2,620 feet. After crossing the summit at Altamont, the 
next improvement of importance was line revision and grade reduction, 
between Hutton and Corinth, in Preston County, which made it possible 
to dispense with the use of helper locomotives. Eour or 'five miles 
beyond, a third track was constructed from Terra Alta to Rinard, on 
the Cranberry Grade. This work included the elimination of Rodamer 
and McGuire tunnels, also laying three and a half miles of new track. 
Eastbound freight trains now enter the third track at Rowlesburg and 
continue up the Cranberry Grade to Rinard, a distance of fourteen and 
a half mliles. 

Seven miles west of Rowlesburg, at the top of the Cheat River 
Grade, a new double-track tunnel was built at Kingwood which pro- 
vides three tracks through Kingwood Mountain. Since the road was 
extended through what is now Preston County, early in 1852, there 
has been a single-track tunnel through this mountain, but the single 
line was found inadequate to handle the trains at that point. The new 
double-track tunnel was opened through Kingwood Mountain on May 
2^, 1912, giving three tracks instead of one and practically marking 
the completion of the improve'mpnt work between Cumberland and 
Grafton. The new tunnel was built at a cost of approximately 
$1,500,000. It is 4,211 feet long, 31 feet wide and 24^4 feet high, the 
side walls being lined with concrete and the roof lined with vitrified 
brick. Incident to the construction of Kingwood tunnel, a reduction 
was made in the grade between Blaser and West End. 

Just west of Kingwood tunnel six miles of third track were con- 
structed from West End to Hardman and Murray tunnel was 
eliminated. Murray tunnel was 310 feet long and too small to admit 

■ it "-^ I- m J 

Hi i^ !a ti l| S p r m I 





astor, lekox J 

Preston County, West Virginia 725 

the Mallet locomotives used in freight service in this section. The 
completion of this work provides a third track from Grafton to King- 
wood tunnel. 

At Newburg, about halfway between Kingwood and Grafton, a 
large gravity reservoir was built on Racoon Creek to supply water 
of good quality to locomotives. The capacity of the reservoir is 
22,500,000 gallons. 

At Grafton a handsome passenger station was erected and mountains 
were literally torn down to enable the construction of a large classifica- 
tion freight yard at this point. This yard has a capacity of 400 cars 
in eastbound section, the westbound having a capacity of 420 cars. 
The yard also includes four engine tracks for ten engines each and 
repair tracks which accommodate 90 cars. 

Many other improvements of a general nature were made in West 
Virginia, involving second track construction, additional passing sid- 
ings, building new terminals to take care of both passenger and freight 

The rolling stock purchased as a part of the betterment program 
ranks the Baltimore and Ohio as one of the best-equipped trunk line 
systems in America. There have been added 23,000 freight cars, of 
which number 6,500 we're gondolas, 6,020 hoppers, and 4,000 coke cars. 
This brings the total freight car equipment up to about 95,000 cars. 
Five hundred locomotives of the most powerful type have also been 
purchased, 434 of these being of the Mikado and Consolidation types 
for freight service. Twenty Mallet locomotives have also been added 
to the equipment for service in the mountainous regions, most of the 
Mallet engines being used in Preston county. There were also pur- 
chased 144 steel passenger cars, including 95 coaches, 20 baggage cars, 
4 dining cars, 15 postal cars and 5 parlor-cafe cars. 

These betterments to track and equipment of the Baltimore and 
Ohio Railroad have placed the road in a prominent position among* 
the large railroad systems of the country. The promptness with which 
the request of the West Virginia business men was acceded to is indi- 
cative of the policy of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad to endeavor to 
keep abreast of the constantly expanding business which has nowhere 
been more extensive and persistent than in the territory the road serves 
in West Virginia. 

726 Preston County, West Vikginia 


Early in the spring of 1887, Colonel Felix Nemegyei, Mr. Straus, 
Judge John N. Hagan, J. C. McGrew, George C. Sturgiss, J. W. Guse- 
man and John T. McGraw met in the parlor of Colonel Guseman's 
house, near Reedsville, to take steps towards the building of a railroad 
through Preston county. Not long after that, a meeting was again 
held in Grafton, at which time letters of organization and incorporation 
were drawn up, with the general plan of a road outlined from Grafton 
to the Pennsylvania line to be called the "West Virginia Railroad." 
The route chosen ran through the districts of Lyon, Kingwood and 
Valley, the richest coal fields in the county. This coal region was leased 
by the company for the financial support of the undertaking. So far 
everything worked favorably. The' survey of the roadbed was made 
by Colonel John W. Guseman, but when his work was completed 
further work was stopped. Subsequently, the road was sold to Mr. 
Robert Pitcairn of Pittsburgh, but he failed to fulfill his contract, and 
another considerable time elapsed. 

In 1900, the Morgantown & Kingwood Railroad, under the manage- 
ment of Hon. George C. Sturgiss and J. Ami Martin, was organized. 
At this time the citizens of Morgan district, Monongalia county, voted 
to subscribe $45,000 preferred stock, not without some opposition, how- 
ever, for few people knew what this line would mean to Morgantown 
and the beautiful Decker's Creek Valley at that time. Two years later, 
Hon. Stephen B. Elkins purchased all interests, and immediately placed 
a corps of expert men in charge. In 1905, Fortney & Zinn, contractors, 
had the new depot at Reedsville ready for use. Three hundred coke 
and coal cars were ordered, and from that time, under the survey and 
management of Julius K. Monroe, chief engineer, the building of the 
road went steadily forward until its completion at the M. & K. Junction, 
its length being 47.9 miles. With the completion of the road and trains 
running, the people of Preston county felt they were benefitted greatly, 
an additional value having been added to the real estate of the county 
over and above' what could be measured by dollars and cents or by 
what might be gained from a commercial point of view. By this outlet 
into the world around them, a new hope inspired the people, new oppor- 
tunities having opened up, and an increase of population having come 
as a result. 

The company has nearly fifty miles of main track, with five miles of 
branch lines. They have three passenger anS" eleven freight locomotives. 

Preston County, West Virginia 727 

There are 360 freight cars, and of this number 320 are steel, equipped 
with the latest apphances'. The steel cars have a capacity of 100 000 
pounds, and those of wood 80,000. During the year 191 2, over 1,000,000 
tons of coal and coke were handled. 

When this road was first built there was not an industry in Decker's 
Creek Valley. Now there are upwards of twenty industries, and all 
of them doing a large business. These plants in the Morgantown 
district bring the annual pay rolls and disbursements to more than 

The Elkins Coal and Coke Company. 

In the broad, fertile valley through which the Morgantown & King- 
wood Railroad runs, and deep down in the bowels of the hills which 
tower on either side', are millions of dollars worth of fuel: coal, oil and 
gas. The valley is rich in limestone, cement rock, fire-clay and shales; 
also a fine quality of glass-sand. The Elkins Coal & Coke Company 
controls 46,643 acres of coal lands, while other companies control some 
15,000 acres. The' coal in this section is of a superior quality for coke 
manufacture and is extremely low in sulphur. This vein is easily acces- 
sible for industries located along the road, at no point being more than 
three miles from the main line. The most of the' mines and coke ovens 
along the M. & K. are owned by the Elkins Coal & Coke Company. 
There are seven mines which are in operation: No. i located at Richard; 
No. 2 at Bretz; No. 3, Dellslow ; No. 4, Kingwood; No. 5, Sabraton; 
No. 6, Masontown; 'No. 7, Burke. In addition to the Elkins Coal & 
Coke Company, there are located on the road other mines operating 
some 400 ovens. 


The valley has a layer of limestone on an average of 80 to 100 feet 
in thickness. This stone is shown by chemical tests as well adapted for 
the manufacture of lime and cement. A cement plant is in operation 
on the Morgantown & Kingwood road at Manheim, with a capacity of 
1,500 barrels daily. 

Glass Sand. 

A very choice sand for the manufacture of tableware and prism 
glass is found in the Decker's Creek Valley. Several of the Morgan- 
town glass factories are using this sand. By a careful chemical test, it 

728 Preston County, West Virginia 

has been found to contain 993^^ per cent of pure silicia and a very slight 
trace of iron oxide. It is almost snowy white in color, and is sharp 
and clear cut in grain. 

There' are several lumber companies operating large mills, with 
millions of feet of timber lands yet uncut. 


Oak Park. 

For recreation and pleasure, the parks along the Morgantown & 
Kingwood Railroad have come into popular use. They are not only 
enjoyed by the people' of Preston county but from other places in the 
state also. Ample accommodations have been provided for the pleasure 
seekers at these parks, and special provisions made for the public when 
visiting theise resorts. Special attention is given to societies, lodges, 
'Sabbath schools and family reunions. 

Morris Park. 

Morris Park is a regular stopping place for all passenge'r trains dur- 
ing the summer season. It is a charming spot on the Cheat River, 
studded with shade trees and carpeted in green, and a delightful place 
for parties tenting out for a week or so. Camping parties, with their 
own equipment, locate here frequently and live in the open, hunting and 
boating, bathing and fishing, in the meantime. Cheat River itself is 
a picturesque stream once' visited by Washington. It is made glorious 
by the wildness of its scenery and by its ever changing hues when re- 
flecting the variegated colors on its banks. Its scenes have been made 
famous by Indian legend and romance. 

The offices of the company are in the Post Office building at Morgan- 
gantown. West Virginia, and here is a large force of clerks and stenog- 
raphers constantly employed. The officers of the company are: Hon. 
Davis Elkins, president; Stephen B. Elkins, vice-president; Richard 
Elkins, secretary; Blaine Elkins, assistant to president; F. K. Bretz, 
general manager; Charles Sutherland, general freight and passenger 
agent; T. Frank Burk, auditor; W. K. Watson, car accountant; C. R. 
Metzler, train master; C. W. Murphy, master carpenter; E. H. Win- 
grove, supervisor; J. B. Highberger, storekeeper; J. K. Monroe, chief 
engineer; D. G. Desmond, master mechanic; Fred Judy, road foreman 
of engines. 

B. S. RANKIX, M. D. 


THE riE"^ '^'i''' 

O i-'-- 


Preston County, West Virginia 729 


Among those advocating progressive principles along all lines of 
professional work, the same as political, is that of Dr. Rankin of Tun- 
neltown, one of the well known physicians of Preston county. He is of 
Scotch descent, and possesses the sturdy qualities of that race. His 
earliest ancestor in this country, so far as is known, was Joseph Rankin, 
who came from Scotland in Colonial days and settled in New York, 
He married Patience Warren, a sister of Joseph Warren of Bunker 
Hill fame. They moved to Kenebec county, Maine, where John, their 
son, was born — the above-mentioned John being the great-great-grand- 
father of the doctor. The great-grandfather was born in the town of 
Fairfield, Maine, then called Smithfield. He married a Mrs. Maine, a 
widow, and by her had two children : John Warren Rankin, born June 
4, 1794; and a daughter, who married a Mr. Furbush. 

When seventeen years old, John Warren Rankin left Fairfield and 
went to New Brunswick. When twenty-three years old he married 
Jane Tapley and moved to Aroostook county, Maine. A large family 
of twelve children were born to this union, as follows: Sherman, John, 
May, Sarah, Jacob, George Franklin, Anna, Samuel T., Charles Henry, 
Robert, Alexander, Hoyt. George' F. died in Florida while in the Civil 
War. He was in the ist Maine Cavalry. 'Charles H. was in the 7th 
Maine Infantry, and was killed in the Battle of the Wilderness. 

Samuel T. Rankin was born August 24, 1845, and died July i, 1910. 
He married Amanada C. Irland of Calais, Maine, in December, 1868. 
He was a lumberman. To this union were born five children, namely: 
Birchfield, born dn Clearfield county, Pa., in 1870, died when three years 
old. Barrick S., born in Clearfield county, Pa., on July 16, 1872. Maude, 
born October 25, 1877, in Clearfield county. Pa.; now Mrs. Guinn Neely 
of North Yakima, Washington. Claude Ray and Clare May (twins), 
born September 14, 1882, in Clearfield county, Pa. Clarge May married 
G. B. Green of Greenbrier county, W. Va., and Claude Ray, who resides 
in Knoxwood, Ala., married Miss Lillian Josephine Bdrd of Nashville. 

Dr. Rankin was educated in the public schools of Clearfield county, 
Pa., where he lived until seventeen years of age, assisting his father in- 
the lumber business when not at school. During the years of 1888 and 
1889 he attended the Normal School at Clearifield, Pa., and in the fall 
of 1890 the family moved to West Virginia, where he again assisted his 
father as a lumberman at Richwood, until he took up the study of 

730 Preston County, West Virginia 

medicine, since which time he has been devotedly attached to his pro- 
fession. His studies in medicine were completed at the Baltimore 
Medical College, where the degree of Doctor of Medicine was given 
him May 21, 1907. His standing in the college fraternity was high, 
as shown by his election as a delegate from the college department of 
the Y.M.C.A., of which he was president, to Nashville, Tenn., where 
5,000 delegates were convened in 1906, in the interest of the missionary 

In October, 1907, Dr. Rankin, having been educationally equipped 
for the duties of his profession, located at Tunnelton, Preston county, 
W. Va., where he has since built up a large clientele in the general 
practice of his profession. 

-Dr. Rankin is a genial, wholesoulful man, both in the sick room and 
out of it. He possesses a charming personality, and believes in every- 
body being happy and enjoying all the sunshine there is in life, and his 
hearty manner diflfuses good cheer wherever he goes. 

Socially he is well liked, politically he is a pronounced progressive, 
and believes that the salvation of this country is along those lines, and 
that this nation is yet in its infancy as a power for good in the world 
of nations. 

Oa May 22, 1893, Dr. Rankin was married to Mabel Johnson, 
daughter of John M. and Mary Ann (Taylor) Johnson of Athens, Ohio. 
On May 9, 1894, their daughter Blanche was born. 

She is a charming young lady now completing her education in the 
New Pampton Literary Institution, N. H. In 191 1 a more permanent 
residence was taken up in their elegant new home which is equipped 
with every modern convenience and the plan and architecture is an 
index to the genius of its owner. Hospitality is extended to everybody 
by both Dr. and Mrs. Rankin. Both of them are active members of the 
Methodist Church. 

Dr. Rankin is president of the Medical Society of Preston County; 
president of the Board of Education of Kingwood District, and health 
officer of the town in which he lives. He is a member of the Masonic 
fraternity of high degree, holds a membership in the McKinley Lodge, 
No. 22, I.O.O.F., of Richwood, W. Va., and also belongs to the order 
of J.O.U.A.M. 

J. S. J)UXX. 



1LD_N ; C Ji.D.'.TLONS ' 

Preston County, West Virginia 731 


The Dunn family is of Scotch Irish descent. It is an old family 
in America, somewhat widely diffused, and all of that hardy stock of 
people so characteristic of the race in the times of the Stuart Kings. 
It is not known when the great great grandfather of the Monongalia- 
Preston branch of the family came to West Virginia, but the suppo- 
sition is that when the county was first settled, Thomas Dunn, the 
grandfather, was one of the pioneers. He married Temperance Pier- 
pont, a woman of German descent, and by her became the father of 
fifteen children. They both died at the age' of 87, but the father died 
ten years before the mother. They lived about three miles from Ice's 
Ferry, on Cheat Rive'r, close to what is known as the Tyrone post-office 
at this time. The names of the children were as follows: John, the 
father of the subject of this sketch, was the oldest. (2) James, who 
raised a family of 16 children and died just a fefw years ago; (3) Billy; 
(4) Owen; (5) Thomas; (6) Larkin ; (7) Zacquill ; (8) Dorcas Reed; 
(9) Mary Warman ; (10) Sade McGraw ; (11) Jane Murphy; (12) 
Temperance Boord ; (13) Martha Sheets, and two others who died in 
infancy. Of the sons only Zacquill and Thomas, and of the daughters, 
Temperance Boord and Martha Sheets are the only ones living at the 
date of this sketch. 

John Dunn, the father of John Sanford, was born April 17, 1814, 
and died at Reedsville, February 27, 1906. He married Nancy A. 
Reed, a daughter of William Reed. She was born September 23, 1815, 
and died at the age of 'J'] years. Their children were: Ellen, born 
October 30, 1835, died October 16, 1839; Alcinda, born August 16, 1838, 

died October 12, 1839; Oliver, born June 24, 1844, died , 18 — ; 

Brison, born April 16, 1846, died January 6, 1909; Lee Ann born 
March 2, 1849, still living at St. Clairsville, Ohio; Samantha Victoria, 
born May 30, 1853, still living at Reedsville, W. Va. ; Francis Asbury, 
born November 23, 1857, and John Sanford, our subject, born August 
II, i860. 

The old Dunn farm, was an old land grant near the famous 
"Cheat View," overlooking Cheat River, and there the homestead was 
kept up until about seven years before the death of the father, when 
he went to live near Reedsville, close to his youngest son, of whom we 
write, and to be cared for by him. Like his father before him, and all 
his brothers and descendants after him, John Dunn was noted for his 

732 Preston County, West Virginia 

physical strength and great endurance. He was active up to his death 
when nearly ninety-two years of age. 

J, S. Dunn has seen about as much of this country from coast to coast 
as any man in the State. His life has been a variable one, but along 
lines of contact with business men from the time he was a boy. These 
years of experience have given him acquired tastes, and such a com-' 
prehensive insight into the afifairs of a business life as to fully equip 
him for the expensive undertakings in which he has engaged. His 
training for a successful business career was begun before attaining to 
manhood, and was based on untiring industry, coupled with a large 
degree of native hard sense. He cleared and improved a little farm 
adjoining the old homestead, and at the same time was extensively 
engaged in timber business on Cheat River, buying, rafting and trans- 
porting the same to Pittsburgh and the other markets on the Monon- 
gahela. In this he was engaged for some fifteen years. He acquired 
much skill as a pilot in navigating the turbulent Cheat with raflted 
logs, both for himself and others. 

In 1888, Mr. Dunn bought the farm near Reedsville in Preston 
County, where he now lives. The farm was then covered with a 
dense growth of forest and thorn thickets, with no buildings or fencing. 
He cleared this land, erected buildings and improvements, and it is 
now one of the most productive and desirable farms in the county, pro- 
ducing unusual dividends for the acreage cultivated. 

About twelve years of Mr. Dunn's life was spent largely as an 
agent and canvasser; first in selling fruit trees before his removal 
from the old homestead in Monongalia, as well as immediately after his 
removal to where he now lives, and then taking orders for enlarged 
pictures. He was engaged in this at the same time he was clearing 
and improving his farm in in the intervals he was at home, and in this 
way made the money to make the payments on the land, and carry 
forward the improvements. 

At length came prospects of the building of a railroad and awak- 
ening interest in the marketing of coal around Reedsville, when Mr, 
Dunn became interested in the timber and coal business, and gradually 
gave up canvassing on account of larger business afifairs engrossing 
his time and energies. He handled large acreages of coal, under option 
as well as by purchase outright. For several years Mr. Dunn's time 
has been largely taken up in the development and sale of town lots in 
different parts of West Virginia, Ohio and Pennsylvania, in which 
business he has been markedly successful. He has, indeed, become 

Preston County, West Virginia 733 

known as a specialist and expert in all of the details of this branch 
of the real estate business. 

His business ability and knowledge of affairs in general naturally- 
brought him before the voters of his district, and in November, 1898, 
he was elected Commissioner of the County Court from Valley District. 
'He served two years and was re-elected at the November election of 
1900. Upon the organization of the Court at the January Term, 1901, 
he was elected President of the County Court and served as such for 
two years. He was a charter member of Free'port Lodge No. 186, 
Knights of Pythias of the Grand Domain of West Virginia, and is a 
Past Chancellor of that lodge. 

'Mr. Dunn was married twice. His first wife was Callie A. Downey, 
and they were married in 1879. Two children were born of this union, 
Vester B. Dunn, the well known lawyer of Kingwood, and one 
daughter, Dora Alice, who as born August 16, 1886 and died December 

18, 1886. Mrs. Dunn was a daughter of Francis and Tillie (Blosser) 
Downey, of Fallen Timbers, Pennsylvania. She died July 14, 1887. 
Mr. Dunn later married Miss Laura A. Downey, a sister of his first 
wife, who is still living. 

Vester B. Dunn was born May 21, 1880, and completed the law 
course of the West Virginia University at Morgantown in the Spring 
of 1906. In July, 1908, he began his professional career in Kingwood, 
where he has been eminently successful from the start, having now 
a clientele entirely satisfactory to one having practiced for but a short 
time. He has been twice honored by the people of Kingwood by 
election as Mayor in which office he served with satisfaction of the 
citizens. In January, 1912, he was commissioned as Captain of the 
First Infantry, West Virginia National Guard, assigned to command 
Company G., of Kingwood, which commission he accepted from patriotic 
motives, not wishing to see the local Company lost to the town. He 
commanded his company on Cabin Creek in the great strike troubles 
there of the Summer and Fall of 1912, and, although without previous 
military experience, he won the respect of his men and left the company 
of good shape when he resigned in the Spring of 1913. On November 

19, 1908, Vester B. Dunn was married to Miss Edna E. Waters of 
Fairmont. One daughter, Leora Margaret Dunn, has been born of 
this union. 

734 Preston County, West Virginia 


One hundred and ten years ago Henry Lantz, a thrifty German 
from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, settled on the D. A. Dixon farm midway 
between Rowlesburg and Aurora. He had nine sons and four daughters, 
of whom John Lantz, hotel proprietor of the Mt. View House at Aurora, 
is a grandson. His wife, Olive V. Shafer, was a daughter of James 
H. Shafer, a very kind hearted and influential old gentleman, from whom 
many good qualities of heart and mind were imparted to the seve'n 
children of his daughter's family. Of these children, Nora, a successful 
school teacher in the Masontown schools, is the eldest. Mittie, the 
wife of H. S. Whetsell, editor and proprietor of the Preston County 
Journal, is the next. Lulu is the wife of Oscar C. Wilt, the well 
known cashier of the Empire National Bank of Clarksburg, West 
Virginia. Clarence C, is a manufacturer of chairs, and is engaged in 
the lumber business in North Carolina. Earl M. Lantz, of 
whom mention will again be made, is next. J. Scott Lantz, 
cashier of the Farmers & Merchants Bank, Reedsville, was born 
September 19, 1883. He was educated in the Common 'Schools and at 
the Commercial Department of the 'State University of Morgantown. 
In 1906, he was associated with the First National Bank, Salem, for 
four years, was teller then in the Farmers & Merchants Bank of Mor- 
gantown until he came to Reedsville and helped to organize the insti- 
tution above named, having been the cashier since the month of No- 
vember, 191 1. September 19, 1912, Mr. Lantz was married to Miss 
Stella Twyford of West Union, West Virginia. She is a daughter of 
Mr. and Mrs. George W. Twyford of that place. 

Earl M. Lantz, one of the youngest cashiers of any bank in the 
state of West Virginia, took charge of the financial department of 
the Kingwood National Bank in 1903. He was at that time only 
twenty-three years old, but since his connection it has prospered and 
become one of the leading institutions of its kind in the county. As 
the bank started under adverse conditions, its rapid growth and phe- 
nominal success can only be accounted for in its management, of 
which Mr. Lantz, as its cashier and member of the Board of Directors, 
is one of its important oflfcials. 

Earl M. Lantz was born in Aurora, Preston County, February 21, 
1880. His education was obtained in the public schools of Aurora, 
after which he became clerk for Shafer, Brown & Company two and 



I pobIic UBRA^^ 



rvv lltV-f ''^''^ 

Preston County, West Virginia 735 

a half years at Kingwood. Later he became clerk for C. W. Mayer 
Son & Company, at Terra Alta, and after three years of experience 
there he went to Salem as clerk in the Salem Bank, now the First 
National Bank of Salem. In December, 1903, he came to Kingwood to 
accept a position as cashier in the Kingwood National Bank. 

The corner stone of the Kingwood National Bank was founded on 
the needs of a financial institution that would be of mutual benefit to 
the people of Preston County; and in the selection of a clean, capable, 
conscientious, cashier, Mr. Lantz the compaanionable and popular young 
business man, was chosen for that responsible position. It was a 
selection of a man, who would be in accord with the management and 
with the interests of the people as well. Instituted on these lines of 
mutual benefit, the officials very soon gained the confidence of the 
public generally, who have since witnessed the surplus and undi- 
vided profits of the bank pass its original capitalization in less than ten 
years from its organization, which is a creditable record; certainly 
one to be very proud of. 

In July, 191 1, Mr. Lantz purchased the beautiful and historic old 
homestead erected by the Honorable James C. McGrew, one of the 
leading factors in the formation of the State of West Virginia in the 
perilous times of our Rebellion. 

The Lantz family are members of the Lutheran church. Mr. Lantz 
is a member of the Masonic fraternity of high degree, and was Mayor 
at one time of Kingwood. 

It is not known when Henry Lantz, the ancestor of this family, 
came from Germany to this country. His three sons, were Henry, 
John and Jacob. The daughters were Susannah, who married David 
Stemple; Catherine, Eva, Betsey and Lydia. The children of John 
were Luther, John A., George L., W. S., Frank, Charles Henry, now 
dead, Oliver Lewis, 'Camden, proprietor of a hotel in Terra Alta, An- 
geretta, Hattie P., and Elizabeth. 

John A. Lantz, hotel proprietor, took up his residence at Aurora in 
1870, In 1886, he erected his present large and commodious hotel 
building there, which has become a famous country resort, and is 
well patronized by the more wealthy people of our larger cities, during 
the hot summer months of every year. He is a very genial landlord, 
and very extensively known by tourists of the country in general. 

736 Preston County, West Virginia 


The Hauger family are of German descent. From the time of 
William Hauger, who came to Preston County, from Somerset a little 
subsequent to 1832, and settled on the James Kelly farm a little north 
of Lexox, they have been known as thrifty farmers, and as a very 
honest and industrious class of people. Their connections are' mainly 
in Portland. 

Francis Hauger, son of William, died about 1840. He was quite 
a business man not only in agricultural pursuits, but he was a black- 
smith and wagon maker, besides owning and operating a grist mill on- 
Muddy Creek, and was a Notary Public, for many years. He married 
Julia Cuppett, who lived to an advanced age, dying only a few years 
ago. He died at the early age of about fifty-two. 

Their children were John A., William, and Luther, all dead. The 
daughters were Lydia, Alice and Clara, all living. 

John A. Hauger was born September 11, 1844. He followed 
farming, and was a carpenter, also, by trade. In i86i, he enlisted in the 
14th West Virginia Cavalry, and served with that regiment until the 
close of the war in 1865. 

After the war, he married Mrs. Abraham Smith, widow or Irving 
Smith. She is still living on the Hauger farm one mile west of Terra 
Alta, to which they moved in 1884. He died in 1904. Their children 
are Ezra Benton, born December 8, 1868; (2) Charles, born October i, 
1870, now conductor on the B. & O. Railroad. He lives at Cumberland, 
Md. (3) Victor E., born October 6, 1874. He lives ten miles west 
of Terra Alta, and is a farmer. (4) Floyd, born July 22, 1887, and 
Ward, born August 16, 1891, are at home. 

Ezra Benton Hauger, formerly a well known school teacher in 
Preston County, now a favorably known merchant of Terra Alta, and- 
candidate for the office of County Assessor, was reared on the ol^ 
Hauger homestead on Muddy Creek, spending his summer months 
working on the farm and going to the district school in the winter 
time. He prepared himself for teaching and followed that profession 
for ten years. Finally he came to Terra Alta and began the mercantile 
business. He entered into a partnership with William Bishop under the 
firm name of Hauger & Bishop, but after a year or so sold all interests in 
that concern. He bought the Albright homestead April i, 1899, and 
moved to Cranesville on the farm where his wife was born and reared. 
Her name was Georgiana Albright. She was a daughter of Edmund 





Preston County, West Virginia 737 

and Nancy Jane Albright, both members of old Albright families. 
Their marriage took place on the 5th of July, 1896. Miss Al- 
bright was a pupil of Mr. Hanger, afterwards one of the successful 
teachers of Preston County herself, having obtained a good Normal 
training for her profession both in Oakland, Md., and in Florida, but 
she only taught three years before she was married. They are the 
parents of two children : Eva Gertrude, born February 22, 1901 ; and 
Fannie Beatrice, born June 4, 1903. 

After a stay of three years, the farm was rented and a return was 
made to Terra Alta, since which time a business in general merchandis- 
ing has been somewhat extensively carried on. First was a clerkship 
for Henry Glover, whom Mr. Hanger succeeded as Postmaster of 
the city under the" Roosevelt administration, and which ofifice he held 
for six years in all. Then the storft and property next door was pur- 
chased from the Terra Alta Candy Store Company, which he still owns 
and operates on a somewhat extensive basis. To this was addefd, at one 
time, the Terra Alta Bottling Company's business, but finding a 
profitable sale of that property he disposed of all interests in that 
concern in 1910, and now confines his attention solely to the Ice 
Cream trade, wholesale and retail, and to the store. Mrs. Hauger is 
an able assistant in the work. She is a thorough trained business 
woman, and helps with the management of the' store. They are both 
educated people, gentle and kind in their manner, quiet and unassuming 
in their behavior, and so courteous to everybody, no one can help liking 
them. Their success in business, as owners of large landed estates 
and other interests, is largely due to the popularity of both Mr, and 
Mrs. Hauger. In church work, as well as in business, Mrs. Hauger 
has taken her place by her husband's side, ever willing to give her 
ability and strength for the benefit of othe'rs. Mr. Hauger has con- 
tributed his time and influence liberally in this direction. He was 
Superintendent of the Sabbath School for four years ; was chairman of 
the Board of Trustees of the Church ; and the'y are both active in every 
good cause. Mr. Hauger is also a member of the Odd Fellows' Lodge, 
is a Woodman, and a Knight of Pythias. 

738 Preston County, West Virginia 


There were four brothers of the Welton family, who came to this 
county before the War of the Revolution. They settled on the South 
Branch of the Potomac, and became participants in several engagements 
with the Indians. On page -j-j of the History of the Valley of Vir- 
ginia, by Samuel Kercheval, published in 1850, is an account of an 
Indian massacre given by Job and Aaron Welton of Petersburg, Vir- 
ginia, which says: About the year, 1756, a party of nine whites left 
the fort opposite the present village of Petersburg to assist Mr. Job 
Welton to cut his father's meadow and hunt his cattle. The'y took 
their rifles with them, as was invariably the practice, and after collect- 
ing the cattle turned in and cut a portion of the meadow. As night 
approached a proposition was made by Mr. Welton to return to the 
fort, but after some consultation it was agreed on to repair to the 
shelter of a large elm tree in the meadow where they had been mowing 
and where they concealed themslves in a winnow of the grass, and 
where they soon fell into a sound sleep, from whiich they were some- 
time afterwards roused by the crack of a rifle. Mr. Welton was lying 
with his brother Jonathan under the same blanket, and the latter was 
shot through the heart. The party sprung to their feet and attempted 
to escape. In his alarm, Mr. Welton forgot his rifle and fled in company 
with a Mr. Delay. They proceeded about 200 yards pursued by an 
Indian, when Mr. Delay wheeled and discharged his rifle, which brought 
his pursuer down. At the same instant that Delay wheeled the Indian 
threw his tomahawk, which sank into the back of Mr. Welton severing 
two ribs. He fell to the ground supposing himself mortally wounded 
by a rifle ball, while Delay, pursued by another Indian, was taken 
prisoner and killed. When Mr. Welton recovered he reached the fort, 
where he lay three months before the wound healed. This fort was on 
the farm of John AV. Welton, near Petersburg. The next day after this 
a party left the fort and pursued the Indians to Dunkard Bottom, where 
Dr. Turnley says the Indians took Delay, and when surprised by the 
appearance of his captors, shot him. 

The subject of this sketch is descended from Wright Welton, who 
was from Patterson Creek, Mineral county, West Virginia, the father 
of Isaac, who died in Preston, near Bretz, March 4, 1909. Isaac Welton 
was born in Hampshire county. West Virginia, near Burlington, July 
26, 1838. On May 3, 1867, he married Mattie W. Miles, daughter of 


t'e rtV'^ '■'■^^'^ 


Preston County, West Virginia 739 

David Miles, a prominent citizen of the county living near Reedsville. 
Mrs. Walton was a graduate of the Morgantown University; was a 
school teacher and of recognized social standing among Preston county 
people. In the name of the ladies of Reedsville, she delivered a touch- 
ing and appropriate address, beautiful and patriotic, to the Valley 
Rangers of Preston county at the time of the leaving of Captain Isaac 
Kirk's company for the seat of war, and to whom she delivered the 
flag. She died May 20, 1877. The only child of this union was Willie 
Miles We'lton, born in Hampshire county, near Burlington, July 23, 1868. 

The second marriage of Isaac Welton was to Mary Reger, of Upshir 
county, West Virginia, on April 9, 1878. One son, Frederick Reger, 
was the fruit of this union. Nannie K. Welton, born May 16, 1872, 
and now the wife of Edward Brown, was an adopted daughter by Mrs. 
Mary Welton who was born and raised near Buckhannon, West Vir- 
ginia, and is still living. 

Mr. W. M. Welton married Elizabeth Demarest, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth Davis, November 24, 1909, the nuptial 
feast occurring at Piedmont, West Virginia. Their only child, 
Martha Elizabeth, a remarkably bright little girl, first saw 
the light of day iNovember 5, 1910. The mother was born 
May 2, 1885. The homestead farm was first occupied by Mr. 
Isaac Welton, who bought it of Isaac Knowlton. It is situated near 
Bretz and consists of 200 acres and over. It is well adapted to fruit 
and stock raising, and is we'll kept up for those purposes. Mr. Welton 
is a Republican, but not a politician. He is past chancellor of the 
Knights of Pythias, a member of the Methodist Church at Reedsville, 
and is a director of the bank in that place also. 


From the time Jacob Gu&eman settled on Muddy Creek and began 
operations there, this part of Preston county has been noted for more 
than an unusual amount of activity in business enterprises. The factory 
there now for the manufacture of woolen fabrics, with J. M. Englehart 
superintendent, has a yearly output of 120,000 pounds of finished goods 
with a value of $70,000.00 to $75,000.00. The company operates two 
sets of woolen cards, 960 woolen spindles, and 12 broad looms. It was 
incorporated in September, 1904, James B. Kelley, president; William 

740 Preston County, West Virginia 

H. Glover, vice-president; J. M. Englehart, secretary and treasurer. 
They employ about forty men, mostly skilled labor. 

The Englehart factory received its start from John Englehart, who 
was a skilled manufacturer in woolen goods in Pennsylvania for many 
years before coming to Preston county in 1888. His father, Michael 
Englehart, was born in Germany, in the town of Byron, in 1810. He 
was carefully educated but reared in straitened circumstances, it 
becoming necessary for him after landing in Baltimore to do the work 
of a common laborer, on the canal then being dug from Cumberland to 
Baltimore. He subsequently settled in Alleghany county, Maryland, 
where he died in 1887. His wife was Margueritta Feigh, a Hessian, 
born in 1823, near Hesse, Darmstadt. Their son, William, an extensive 
and very successful farmer and stock raiser, died nine years ago at the 
age of sixty-one. All the other children, with the exception of John, 
died in infancy. 

John Englehart was born May 2, 1852. He was raised on the farm, 
but circumstances were such that not a very extensive school educa- 
tion, even in the country, could be given him. At fifteen years of age, 
he began the trade of a woolen manufacturer, and worked at the busi- 
ness in Pennsylvania twenty-one years. With a family of eight children 
and a salary of $1.30 a day, Mr. Englehart managed to get along, until 
an inheritance of $300.00 induced him to come here'. At that time John 
D. Rigg, son of John W., was running a little mill on Muddy Creek in a 
small way, which Mr. Englehart bought, and operated with the assist- 
ance of a couple of hands in addition to the help the sons themselves 
gave', for about eight months each year. He attempted the manufac- 
ture of only a few flannels and ladies' skirt patterns, enough only to 
supply the wants of the local trade. He continued on this line for 
eighteen years, but having necessities of a financial nature for the run- 
ning of the business beyond his ability to meet, a relief was sought in 
the incorporation of a stock company, capitalized at $30,000.00. At that 
time he was elected vice-president and one of the directors of the com- 
pany, and his son, J. M., made manager, a position he has held ever since 
with marked abilities. 

On August II, 1874, Mr. Englehart married Anna Sease, a native 
of Pennsylvania, and to this union were born nine? sons and one 
daughter: (i) Jesse Michael Englehart, the secretary and treasurer of 
the company, was born May 28, 1875. Other births are, (2) William 
Milton, November 17, 1877; (3) Edward Thomas, June 13, 1879; (4) 


:N fOi^f^CK 

Tl-IE I _ 
iC Liui 




Preston County, West Virginia 741 

Samuel Keller, November 4, 1880; (5) George Albert, March 29, 1882; 
(6) John Russell, November 15, 1883; (7) Franklyn Scott, February 23, 
1885; (8) Elmer Eagle, December 10, 1886; (9) Elda May, April 10, 
1894; (10) Lester Nedro, September 6, 1897. 

Mr. J. M. Englehart, the general superintendent of the factory, has 
been the company's efBcient official ever since its organization. His 
wife, Miss Sadie Graham, was a daughter of Eben Graham, a descendant 
of Stearling Graham, one of the oldest families in Preston county. To 
this union have been born four daughters and one son: Elsie Floret, 
January 31, 1898; Georgia Elizabeth Buihl, October 19, 1891 ; Jessie 
Mollis, December ai, 1901 ; Hazel Margarite. November i, 1903; Oscar 
Dale, May 17, 1905. 


The Feltons emigrated from England, and in 1732 settled in Massa- 
chusetts. In 1798, John Felt'on, a son of Benjamin, settled in what was 
called Ryan's Glades, Maryland. From there he' moved to Cheat River, 
above Rowlesburg, and later settled in what is now known as the 
Whetsell settlement. He was a man of public affairs, was Justice of 
the Peace for several years, and Sheriff of the County one term. His 
children were: Henry, who married a Wotring; Daniel, who married a 
England and settled in Barbour county ; Caleb, who married a Digman ; 
Samuel, who married a Meighen and settled in Greene county, Pennsyl- 
vania ; John, who married a Wotring and settled in Warren county, 
Iowa; Benjamin, who married a Miles; and Joshua, who died when 
a young man. The daughters were : Prudence, who married Abraham 
Wotring; Elizabeth, who married a Whetsell; Sarah, who married a 
Jordan ; Joanna., who married a Bayles ; Mary, who died young. From 
thence sprang the Feltons that are now settled in Preston county, except 
those who have emigrated elsewhere. 

Elia.s S. Felton is a grandson of Henry, whose wife was a Wotring. 
The Feltons were of English descent. William Felton, son of Henry, 
born January [3, 1834, married Catherine Meighen of Greene County, 
Pennsylvania, on June 22, 1852. She was born December 13, 1831. 
Her parents were from the county of Donegal, Ireland. The chil- 
dren born of this union were as follows: Elias Scott, born June 5, 
1853; Cassin Passey Ellen, March i'^,. 1855; Sarah Jane. May i.f. 

742 Preston County, West Virginia 

1857; Anna C, September 12, 1874. Elias S., Cassie "Passey" E., 
and Anna C, are the only children now living. Their father, William 
Felton, was a farmer and road builder, a man well and favorably 
known by Prestonians generally. 

Elias Scott Felton, the subject of this sketch, has made a success 
of life, as a school teacher, as a farmer, and as a public official in 
various capacities. He was educated in the country schools, and 
then taught six terms of school. During all this time he was identified 
with agricultural pursuits, his vision of life being broadened as he 
grew older by experiences, until his horizon broadened and he was 
called into a higher and more responsible field of activities. As a 
Justice of the Peace for eight years, not a few questions for adjudica- 
tion came before him, which still further fitted him for service 
as a member of the Legislature for the years 1911 to 1913. Self-made 
educationally as well as otherwise, and well read on all live issues and 
questions of the day, the work of Mr. Felton's life has become visibly 
materialized in his home surroundings, which can be noted by the 
casual observer, even, as in all cases where right thinking adds some- 
thing in the way of appearances, as well as of sobriety, respectability 
and honesty to a right kind of living. 

April 18, 1878, Mr. Felton was married to Almeda Bucklevv. 
Their children are as follows: Eliza Agnes, was born June 11, 1881 ; 
John Worley, February 8, 1883; Patrick Henry, April i, 1885; Carrie 
Esther, February 2, 1887; Daniel Hughes, March 2, 1890; Gay 
Frank, July 7, 1892; Lottie Margaret, February 25, 1896; Lucy 
Sylvania, December 17, 1898. John Worley, Carrie Esther, Eliza 
Agnes and Gay Frank were educated in the common schools, 
and the three first named have taught several terms of school. 
Frank, who took a business course in Clarksburg, West Virginia, has 
taught one term of school, and is now employed in the express office 
at the M. & K. Junction. 

'Mr. Felton belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Lodge No. 107.. Kingwood; also Preston's Pride of the Rebekah King- 
wood Lodge. Socially speaking, Mr. Felton is very companionable, is 
easy of approach, and is a very popular citizen of Preston county. 



~ —.", ^ 


Preston County, West Vikginl\. 743 


The proprietor of the Meadow Brook Farm has been a farmer and 
a man of public afifairs all his life. His father, Zar Hagans Kelley, 
born June 19, 1819, was a farmer also, who achieved some considerable 
degree of success as an agriculturist, and a reputation besides as a 
Justice of the Peace. He died in 1889. Mr. Jefiferson Jackson Kelley 
was born June 9, 1863. He was reared on the farm, and still follows 
farming, having a liking for pursuits in rural life, notwithstanding, 
his attainments are such he could have succeeded in the professions, 
especially that of an instructor in the higher branches of learning. He 
was educated in the common schools, and then completed a Commercial 
Course at Lexington, Kentucky, graduating from that college on June 
5. 1885. Following natural inclinations, Mr. Kelley began teaching 
school when seventeen years old. and has taught in all twenty-one 
years. He was a merchant at Zar, this county, six years, and was field 
agent for the North Preston Coal Company three years. In the mean- 
time, he was a member of the School Book Board twelve years, and has 
been a Notary Public since 1889, an office which he has held acceptably 
to the general public for twentv-four vears. Fraternallv, Mr. Kellev is a 
member of the Odd Fellows; Encampment of same; and is a Knight of 
the Golden Eagles. He is a Democrat. 

Zar Hagans Kelley, fathher of J. J. Kelley. married Sarah Anne 
Herring; born November 26, 1820. Their children were: Joseph 
Newton, born in 1849; George Allen, 1851 ; William Brandon. 1852; 
John Quitman, 1854; Mary Jane, 1856; Samuel Franklin, 1865. The 
mother is still living. 

On December 9, 1902, Mr. Kelley was united in marriage to Mary 
Ellen Smith at her home. She was born March 11, 1877. Her father, 
William Henry Smith, born, 1843, was a soldier in the War of the 
Rebellion. His wife was Susan Reijecca Freeland, born in 1840. 

The children l)orn to Mr. and Mrs. J. J. Kelley are as follows: 
Rebecca Mae, born in 1903; Zar William, 1904; Sarah Hazel, 1906; 
Lucie Eleanor. 1909; Ivie Jane. 191 1. 

744 Preston County, West Virginia 


In Colonial times, three brothers from England bearing the name 
of Thomas came from Wales and took up their abode in the United 
States, and one of them was at Yorktown, under the command of 
General Washington when Lcrd Cornwallis surrendered to the 
American forces. Their names were Alexander, who settled in 
Pennsylvania; William, who went West, and Lewis, who settled in 
the Southern part of Ohio. Of these brothers it is supposed that General 
Thomas of Civil War fame, descended from Lewis. From Alexander, 
who located on a large farm in Lancaster county, near Philadelphia, 
descended the Thomases of Preston county. He was a large and suc- 
cessful farmer, but lost all he had by selling his farm for Continental 
money, which proved valueless. His son Michael settled in Conemaugh 
Township, Somerset county, Pennsylvania. He was the father of seven 
sons and three daughters. The sons were Jacob M., Michael M., 
Joseph M., Daniel M., John M., and Christian M., the letter "M" 
being taken in each case in honor of their father's name. The names 
of the daughters were Magdalena, Anna and Barbara. The seven sons 
settled in West Virginia, Pennsylvania. Ohio and other western 

Jacob M., born March 15, 1795, lived in Preston county and died 
there November 21, 1881. He had four sons: John J., Levi, Jacob, 
Andrew and daughters, Barbara, Magdalena, Mary, Anna, Sallie, and 
Catherine, ten children in all. The homestead was four miles east of 
Brandonville, and still in possession of the family. 

His wife, Mary Fike, whom he married August 8, 1816, died April 
27, 1840. 

Jacob M. Thomas was an evangelist, and preached the gospel 
without price or compensation. He was in love with ministerial work; 
could preach in German and English, and would be gone on missionary 
tours throughout the states sometimes for three and four months. He 
traveled on horseback, held meetings at the homes, sometimes in barns, 
and often times preached in Court Houses at the invitation of the 
Judges, who frequently turned their halls of justice into meeting houses 
for his accommodation. He was a large man, somewhat of muscular 
build, was capable of great endurance, and when about sixty years old 
retired from the more active duties of a farm life' and devoted all of his 
time and attention thereafter to Gospel work. That he might not be at 
the expense of others of the church, he' reserved a competence out of 


i T : ; E 


:\v j; K i 



Preston County, West Virginia 745 

his own life's earnings, including a horse. His children were John J., 
who married Lydia Maust, about 1840, and to whom were born four 
sons and three daughters. Levi married Eva Myers, and had two 
sons and four daughters. Jacob married Nancy Lambert, and had five 
sons and five daughters. Andrew, born May 4, 1836, died February 2, 
1907, married twice. His first wife was Barbara Boger, born May 3, 
1840, died February 22, 1879. She' was the daughter of Samuel and 
Elizabeth Boger. They lived on the home place and took care of the 
father. Afterwards the home place' was divided between the two sons, 
Noah and Scott. To x\ndrew and his wife were born one daughter 
and three sons. Elizabeth, the daughter, married Ervin Wilson, to 
whom was born four daughters; Etta, Delila, Stella, Cora and one son 

Jeremiah Thomas, born June 20, 1862, attended the public schools 
and the University of West Virginia until 1881. He then taught school 
twenty-seven years ; and on and ofif for about twenty years he surveyed 
lands in different counties of West Virginia, and other states; and also 
followed in the footsteps of his grandfather's work taking charge of 
the church organized by him. This has been since 1888. At the 
present time he preaches in six different church houses in his congre- 
gation, having a membership in toto of over three hundred. He is 
also active in business, having been a charter member of the Bruce- 
ton Bank, was made its vice-president when organized, and is now 
also its president. In 1908, he became cashier and held that office until 
January, 1913 when he was elected president. In 1908 he moved from 
the farm to the village. He is also president of the Bruceton Milling 
Company, which he also helped to organize, was also one of the charter 
members of The Farmers' Union Association and Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, an institute started in 1901, and holding insured in Preston 
county, alone; five hundred policy holders carrying $600,000.00 insurance. 
Mr. Thomas is also Secretary of this company. 

May 25, 1882, Mr. Thomas was married to Susanna Seese, daughter 
of John and Mary Ann Umbel Seese. She is a native of Fayette county, 
Pennsylvania, and born December 19, 1861. Two sons and one daughter 
are the fruit of this union. Walter H., born March 18, 1883, is the 
cashier in the Bruceton Bank. He married Mary E. Collier, July 17, 
1906. Their children are Lena I., born December 4. 1907; Beulah E.. 
born December 13, 1908; D wight, born July 4, 1911. 

Chester A. Thomas, born March 25, 1886, married Grace P. Wolfe, 

746 Preston County, West Virginia 

May 9, 1909. One child, Pauline, born July 30, 191 1, came of this 
union. He is a farmer and a school teacher. 

Ethel M. was born May 15, 1897. 

Noah Thomas, born September 13, 1864, married Lavina C. Barnes, 
May 3, 1885. They have one child, dead, and live on part of the home 
place. He is a director of the Bruceton Bank and president of the 
Farmers' Union Association and Fire Insurance Company. 

Andrew Thomas' second wife was Hester Wilson, married June, 
1880. They had one child, Scott, who lives on one part of the home- 
place. He was born, February 12, 1881, and married Nora Glover, 
January i, 1908. They have two children, Ersel and Glenn. 

Ira Thomas was born, August 24, 1867. He was reared on a farm, 
and has become one of the successful and scientific farmers of the 
State. His farm, a very rich body of land, consisting of over 300 acres 
lies in the valley bottom of Big Sandy Creek, mostly, and was formerly 
the homestead property of John Fornian. In 1900, Mr. Thomas bought 
it of John H. Feather. In 1910, he erected his large barn, which for 
arrangement and capacity is one of the best bank-barns in the county. 
The farm is well adapted for grazing purposes, as well as for raising 
crops, and stock of the blooded kind, only, is raised. 

Mr. Thomas' first wife was Ella B. Barnes. She was born July 16, 
1886, and died April 25, 1895. His second wife was Dora Fike, born 
October 2, 1876. She was the daughter of Samuel and Malinda Fike', 
both parents dying when she was young. The children of this mar- 
riage are Edna Grace, born May 14, 1898; Bertha Marie, born January 
31, 1900; Ward Fike, l:)orn February 6, 1906. Mr. Thomas is one 
of the charter members and organizers of both the Bruceton Milling- 
Company and the Bruceton Bank. He is a stock owner in the Engle- 
hart Woolen Mill Company, and is a member in the Farmers' Union 
Association and Fire Insurance Company, of Preston County. 


The editor of the Preston Republican, Terra Alta, has become a 
potent factor among politicians, and the reading public generally in this 
part of West Virginia. His paper has more than an ordinary circula- 
tion, for a county publication ; is cle'an and well defined along lines 



Preston County, West Virginia 747 

of political and public necessities; and withal, it is a paper which bears 
the impress of a well edited publication. 

'Mr. Reed is of Scotch-Irish descent, and possesses the characteristic 
traits o'f the more fortunate well-to-do people from whence he came. 
He is the son of Orville S. and Belle (McMillen) Reed. His paternal 
ancestors came from the north of Ireland, and the McMillens from 
Scotland. In 1683, the Reeds emigrated to Pennsylvania. The 
McMillens became pioneers of Kentucky. 

Lorelle Vernon Reed was born May 25, 1868, at Lebanon, 
Missouri, and was educated at the Christian College of that state. 
When seventeen years old he went on the road as a traveling salesman. 
For twelve years, or from 1887 to 1899, he followed this avocation, and 
saw life in its many and varied aspects. In 1899, however, with 
inclinations towards journalism, and well qualified to mould opinion, 
he became proprietor and editor of the Preston Republican, and, 
during the' past thirteen years, his facile pen has been providing the 
general public with the news of the day. 

Mr. Reed is a Republican. From 1909 to 1912, he was Secretary 
of the State Board of Control. He has filled the offices of Justice of 
the Peace and Town Recorder. Pie is a member of the Presbyterian 
church; is a fraternity man of high degree, being a Mason (Blue 
Lodge and Chapter), and a Knight of Pythias. Educated and tactful, 
social and very resourceful, the subject of this sketch impresses the 
writer of this little memoir as one who possesses more than ordinary 
abilities for making his way through this world. 

Mr. Reed was married December 9, 1891 at Colum'bus, Ohio, to 
Tessa Root, Three children: Virginia, Orville E., and Tessa A., were 
born to this union. 


The Cole family, like that of the' Smith, is a numerous one. It 
has its root in Welch history, where from the time of King Caractacus, 
King Cole, branches have formed until the progeny hasi greatly in- 
creased from the first ce'ntury of that period in South Wales. During 
the sixteenth century emigration commenced. Some went to Ireland 
and some came to America and from these forbears separate lineages 
of the family originated, and so numerous in English times, that 

748 Preston County^, West Virginia 

thirty different coats of arms have been resurrected by the antiquarian' 
belonging to the tribe. First came emigrants to the Jamestown colony, 
as early as 1609, and then from different ancestral heads, other lineages 
have been forming from that time to this. Settlements were made in 
Boston as early as 1630. A John Cole became the head of the Cowles 
in Connecticut, and in 1660 a John Cole landed in Rhode Island, from 
whom a multitude of Coles in that state can be found now. In the 
state of Michigan there are probably five thousand Cole's, having no, 
close kinship to those above mentioned. 

Captain B. F. Cole is a descendant of the Delaware branch of the 
Cole family. Henson Cole, his grandfather, was a native of that state, 
but it is not known who was the first of his line to emigrate to this 
country, nor where he landed in America. When he arrived Henson 
Cole moved on a farm at Cassville near Morgantown, W. Va. His 
family is an interesting one. Draper was the eldest, Joseph and 
William caught the gold fever in 1849, went to California and came 
back rich. During the Civil War they purchased large tracts of land 
around Cassville and ended their days there. John H. was a trader in 
■horses and cattle, and Amasa, the father of B. F. Cole, was a farmer. 
He was born in 1829, and is still living. His wife was a Miss Rachel 
Morris, daughter of Ezekiel and Miss Hayhurst Morris, very influ- 
ential and very highly cultured people. Both sides of that family 
belonged to that highly polished citizenship o'f the old sichoDl of Vir- 
ginia aristocracy. 

The children of Amasa and Rachel Morris Cole were thirteen in all. 
Of this num'ber three? died in infancy. Alice was scalded to death. 
Anna Maria married Louis Wildman ; Joseph married Mattie' Dusen- 
berry; Henson, Hurley, Sarah, Dora, Carrie B., Ida B., and Nora B., 
are still living; Spencer A. died at the age of 41 years, aflter having 
traveled the wide' w^orld almost all over. His history in particular is 
■worthy of mention. He was the foreign representa'tive of the Keyp 
stone Drilling Company at Beaver Falls, Pa., a company that drilled 
wells in arid deserts as well as in other places in different parts of 
the whole world. 

Air. Cole's first trip abroad for this concern was made to an oasis of 
the great Sahara Desert in Africa. It was two hundred miles inland, 
to which point of destination engines and machinery for drilling wells 
'had to t)e transported on backs of camels. Subsequently other trips 
were made by him to South Africa and to the West India Islands. 


THE 1^-EV' 

■7 1 

LDtl^ fOUt;D. 

Preston County, West Vikginia 749 

On his second trip to Peru, South America, he was taken ill with the 
smallpox, and had to ride on a mule to Lima, seventy miles distant, 
to reach his hospital where he died February 12, 191 1, 
' Captain Benjamin F. Cole was born February 4, 1875. Like his 
brother before mentioned, his chief characteristic is grit, and the record 
he has left behind him is a good one. At ten years o'f age he' left home 
g-oing to Iowa four years. He worked on a ranch two years, then took 
•up paper-hanging. He then returned home and had a job with the 
Standard Oil Company, where he remained eight years, and after that 
he took a course in horology and optometry at a college in Philadelphia. 
In 1901, he came to Kingwood and bought out the jewelry store of W. J. 
Jenkins, which he still operates under the management of a competent 
and iskillful superintendent. Having succeeded in business affairs and 
proven himself worthy of the confidence' of the public, he has been 
advanced toi offices of trust in the interests df the people as necessity 
required. He has been School Commissione'r of Kingwood two terms, 
and is still a member of that board, and is now also serving his second 
term on the Town Council. 

He has been Captain of the Ordinance Department six years, 
•having had a membership with the National Guards seven years. 
'Socially he is represented in various societies, being a Master Mason, 
a member of the Knights of Pythias and is connected otherwise. In 
politics, he is a staunch Republican and has the courage of his con- 

In 1905, Mr. Cole enlisted in Company G, King'wood National 
Guards, and became "high" in that team. At the first shoot given at 
Parkersburg he took a medal, and in all has no'w fiftee»n medals as 
laurels to his marksmanship. That same year Captain Cole's Com- 
pany went to Sea Girt, New Jersey, and took part in the national 
matches there, and has been on the rifle team of the state every year 
•from that meeting to the present time. In 1907, he was commissioned 
'Captain and has been Instructor o*f the Range and in charge of the 
State Farm ever since. As an instructor. Captain Cole has done much 
to make his team the unerring marksmen that they are. The following 
letter speaks for itself: 

National Board for Promotion of Rifle Practice. 

September 22, 1913. 
Captain B. F. Cole, Kingwood, West Virginia. 

Dear Sir: — I take pleasure in enclosing herewith government 

750 Peeston County, West Vikqinia 

voucher for $51.67, as 7th prize, kneeling position, in the International 
Match, No. 10, won by you at the late Camp Perry matches. 

Yours very truly, 

First Lieut., and Financial Officer Camp Perry Matches. 

At these matches the best marksmen competed and different 
governments participated, but the United States carried off her share, 
Cap'tain Cole saving the honor on sever'al occasions. He' held first 
place in the Hale Match, 436 entries made, winning the cup and $30.00. 
He won the beautiful silver plaque given by Austria also, and a number 
of other prizes. 

In February, 1896, Captain Cole was m'arried to Miss Nera Fox, 
daughter of Andrew J. Fox of Indian Creek, West Virginia. Her 
grandfather, Martin Fox, of Winchester, Virginia, was with Wash- 
ington on his trip over the mountains to the battle of Fort Duquesne. 
Mr. and Mrs. Cole are the parents of three children : Edna, born 
in March, 1897; Edith, February, 1899; Pearl in March, 1903. 


The Brady family is a large one and considerably diffused. The'y 
are of Irish des'cent, the ancestors of whom came to America long 
before Revolutionary times, and settled in and around what is now 
the present site of Hancock, Washington County, Maryland, where 
they are to be found in that locality at the present time in goodly 

1 Henry Brady, the great-great-grandfather of J. Ben Brady, was born 
in Ireland and came to this country when a young man proba'bly about 
the year 1740, and settled in what is now Washington County, Mary- 
land, near the present site o'f Old Fort Frederick, about fifteen miles 
east of Hancock. He married a Scotch woman whose name is now 

His son, James Brady, the great-grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch was born and lived all his life in that locality, his occupation 
being that of a farmer and shoemaker. About the year 1782 he married 
an English woman whose maiden name' was Smith, and who was a 
relative of Captain John Smith o'f Virginia. She died in 1845 at the 

J. BEN r,R.\n>- 

pSbuc ubraRV 






Preston County, West Virginia 751 

age of ninety-three years. The children born to this marriage consisted 
of two daughters and four sons, namely: Eleanor, Caroline', Henry, 
William, John and Edward. 

William Brady, the grandfather of J. Ben Brady, died in Hancock, 
Washington County, Maryland in 1865, at the age of ftfty-eight years. 
He was a farmer and miller, and for a time during the Civil War, 
superintended a mill at Georgetown, D. C, which supplied grist to the 
Governmen/t. He married Catherine Feidt, daughter of Henry Feidt, 
from Bremen, Germany. She died in i860. The children born to this 
union were as follows: George, who lived and died in Hancock,. 
Joshua, who moved to Columbia, Missouri, and died there, William H., 
of whom mention will again be made, John J., a resident of Baltimore, 
Maryland ; Emily, who married Isaiah Smith, now deceased, who lived 
at Hancock; Rebecca, who married David A. Brady, a cousiin, who was 
a son of Edward Brady, son of James, now living at Annapolis Junc- 
tion, Maryland ;Ellen, who married Joseph F. Hixson, a farmer, living 
near Hancock ; Rose, Martha and Mary, each of whom died at an 
early age. 

William H. Brady, son of William Brady, was born in Hancock on 
the 5th day of November, 1846. He was a miller and farmer, and is 
■now residing at Berkeley Springs, Morgan County, West Virginia. As 
a miller and farmer he was successful in securing a competency for 
'himself and family. On the 24th day of November, 1874, he married 
Margaret Anna Belle Boyles, a daughter of James Boyles, 
who was born in 1804 and died in 1876, and who lived on 
the homestead farm which has belonged to the family for 
the past three generations. James Boyles, who was the son 
of Henry Boyles, was born in what is now Morgan County, West 
■Virginia. The mother of Margaret Anna Belle Boyles was Margaret 
Prifchard, who was born in 1817 and died in 1847. Her ancestors were 
of an old Virginia stock from in and about Winchester, Virginia. 

The children born to this union are James Benjamin, of whom men- 
tion will again be made; Mary Edna, who married John Aimrteld 
■Proctor. She was born the I5t'h day of Septem>ber, 1881, and died the 
4th day of April, 191 2. No children were born to this marriage. 
Helen Francis is unmarried and lix-ing with her parents at Berkeley 
Springs, West Virginia. 

Because of the superior advantages in Berkeley Springs for the 
education of his two daughters, who are both younger than the 

752 Preston County^, West Virginia 

subject of this sketch, W'ilHam H. Brady moved from his farm to 
'that place in 1898. As an ardent supporter of schools, he' has been a 
member of the .board of education in his adopted town, and withal, is 
a man of public spirit and action along- all lines of public utilities. 

James Benjamin Brady was born in Morgan County, West Virginia, 
•on the 1st day ol December, 1876. He was reared on a farm, and 
when nineteen years of age, he graduated from the Berkeley Springs 
High School in the spring of 1895. Following this he' taught public 
school for two years, pne term of country school and one term as 
first assistant of the Berkeley Springs High School. His educational 
career was afterwards completed at the West Virginia University at 
IMorgantown, where he took a two years course in literary work, fol- 
lowing with a two years couse in the study of law, graduating from 
that department of the University in the spring of 1903. 

During the following summer he located in Kingwood, Preston 
County, West Virginia and engaged in the practice of his profession. 
His professional career was begun in the office of Hon. W^illiam G. 
Brown, now member of Congress. Then a partnership was formed 
with Col. R. W. Monroe, but since the death of the latter, Mr. Brady 
has been engaged in the practice of his profession allone'. His lot 
seems to have been well cast, for his practice is a good one, his repu- 
tation as a counsellor enviable, and his citizefnship one of which the 
■people are proud. He confines his attention closely to his profes- 
isional duties, and aside from being a member of the aouncil of 'the 
.Town of Kingwood, and Treasurer of the Republican Executive Com- 
mittee of Preston County, he holds no other office. 
K On the 1st day of November, 1905, Mr. Brady was married to 
Mary Cornelia Godwin, daughter of Captain Joseph M. and Sarah E- 
• (iS'tone) Godwin of Kingwood. This family are members of one of the! 
oldest in the county. 


I Among the practitioners of medicine in Preston county in former 
years. Dr. Ashford Brown, father of Dr. C. N. Brown, whose name* 
.is still revered by many of the older inhabitants of the county, because 
of his many good qualities both as a man and as a successful physician 
is deserving of special men'tion. 

^^^^B ' ^^^^^^ 



• 1 ^^ 




^V^ ^4 


^^^^^'^■- ^ 


.-, .• .. •, .■ 






C. N. T'.ROWX, M. D. 

Preston County, West ViRGUsfiA 753 

As a representative of that old family, Dr. C. N. Brown falls heir to 
the high esteem and the confidence' of the public generally, who knew 
something- of the hardships of the pioneer physician's life, and of the 
many interesting episodes in Dr. Ashford Brown's professional career. 

The family are descended from Thomas Brown, who was born in' 
Prince William county, Virginia, September 7, 1760, and who was a 
soldier in George R. Daavidson's (Harrison Co.) Company in the 
War of 1812. He died in Preston county, in 1844. His widow drew 
a pension. In 1805, he removed with his family to what is known 
as "The Glades" near Reedsville. He and Colonel John Fairfax with 
itheir families, and a num'ber of slaves, were' on their way to Lexing- 
ton, Kentucky, but on account of the hostility of the Indians were 
compelled to abandon their 'trip. Hence their settlement in "The 

1 It was here Thomas Brown became' the owner o'f a tract of land, 
;containing 578 acres, upon which he spent the remainder of his days 
;engaged in the arts of husbandry, and where he die'd at an advanced 
age, in 1844. By his wife, Ann Ashe, he reared a large family of whom 
.Samuel Btowu, the grandfather of Dr. Charles N., was the third son. 
He was born in Prince William county, October 24, 1793, and was 
but twelve years of age when his father came to the county of Preston. 
.Reared upon a farm, his early training was along a line that led natur- 
ally to the avocation of an agriculturist and stock raiser and dealer. 
:He first followed this business near Evansville, in Preston county, but, 
in 1833, removed to Clinton Furnace in Monongalia county, where' he 
became the owner of a couple of farms, and accumulated a fair com- 
petency prior to his death, which occurred in 1859, hiaving returned to 
Preston county in 1841. 

He was not a member of any church, although inclined to a supp'ort 
of the dogmas of Presbyterianism, and was a strictly moral man, 
upright and honest in all his dealings with his fellow man. His 
marital union with Barmelia Zinn, a lady of German origin, resulted 
in the birth of eleven children, of whom Dr. Ashford was the oldest. 
The others in order of age are: Lycurgus, deceased, who was a 
-soldier for three years in defence of the Union, during the Civil War; 
Clarissa B., wife of George Steyer, of Oakland, Maryland; AVilliam 
and Granville members of Co. E., 17th Regiment Infantry, the latter 
the Lieutenant of the Company. The names of the others were Amelia, 
Ruhama, Sarah Ann, Elizabeth, Loretta and Marcella J. 

754 Preston County, "West Virginia 

Dr. Ashford Bro)wn was reared upon the farm, and received a g'ood 
English education in the subscription schools. He taught school for a 
time, and at the age of twenty-two began the' study of me'dicine in 
the office of Dr. William J. Bland. Mter remaining two years under 
his preceptorship, he entered the Starling Medical College, of Columbus, 
O'hio, but was compelled on account of failing health to leave the 
college. In 1848, he entered upon the practice of medicine, fiirst locat- 
ing near Gladesiville, where he continued very successfully until 1865, 
having been very thoroughly prepared for his chosen profession. 
From 1865 to 1878, he practiced at Independence, and then removed 
to Webster where he still continued the practice of his profession until 
his death, which occurred June 15, 1906. 

Dr. Brown was a careful, painstaking physician, qualities which 
combined with good judgment and a sympathetic nature built him 
up an enviable practice. He never allowed the duties of his profession 
'to narrow his field of action, but took an active interest in religious 
lanid political matters also. He was a deacon in the Baptist church 
.for twentynfive years, and active worker for the cause of Republicanism, 
I December 2, 1849, ^^- Brown married Sarah E., daughter of Wick 
Johnson, a prominent merchant of Preston county. Twelve children 
were born of this union, three dying when in infancy. Clarissa, Wil- 
liam and Adaline died in childhood. Edna died young. Dexter B. 
died in boyhood. Loverna Parmelia, who died in July, 1894, was the 
wife of W. D. Prim. Parmelia E., died in childhood. Charles N., the 
'subjedt of this sketch and Frank C, age'nt for the United S'tates 
Express Company, the youngest of the family. 

Dr. Charles Newton Brown was born in Independence, Preston 
county, January 16, 1867. He attended the public schools of his native 
county, and supplemented them with a good preliminary education in 
the Normal School at Fairmont and the University of West Virginia 
at Morgantown. He then entered upon the study of medicine in the 
office of his father at Webster. After having been carefully instructed 
in the rudiments of medicine under his father, he took instruction also 
under Dr. Lanham Brown, whose wise counsels fitted him still more 
for a course of lectures in the College of Physicians and Surgeons of 
Baltimore, where he attended during the sessions of 1891, 1892, 1893 
and 1894. He completed the course at the University of Louisville, Ky,, 
and then located at Webster, West Virginia, where he practiced his 

Preston County, West Virginia 755 

profession until 1911, when he moved to Reedsville, where he is now 
in pursuit of a large and lucrative practice. 

Dr. Brown is a close student, and in love with his chosen profession. 
In 1907, he supplemented all previous courses of study with a post- 
graduate 'Course at the Louisville Medical College. His success in the 
treatment of some singular cases has enabled him to contribute articles 
of value to the profession for publication in medical journals, x^nd he 
has written several articles that have been read before the State Medical 
Society, of which he is a member. He is a charter member of the Taylor 
County Medical Society, and a member of the Harrison County Medical 
Society and American Medical Association. Professionally, Dr. Brown 
stands as high as he does socially, and in that particular no man and 
his family in the county is more highly esteemed than they are. 

Dr. Brown is also a musician. His natural taste for music led him 
into the study of harmony under some of the best instructors in the 
country, and he has written some pieces of singular worth and beauty. 
His love for the medical profession and the high sense of duty he owes 
to his clientele forbid much attention to music ; otherwise, had he not 
been a successful physician, he would have been a successful musician. 
He plays the cornet well and taught and organized a band of music 
which w'as named in his honor, "Brown's Concert Band." 

On September 2, 1903, Dr. Brown was married to Miss Eva D., 
daughter of William and Sadie (Limbers) Keane, of Grafton, West 
Virginia, and to this union were born three children : William Byrne, 
born August 2, 1904; Evelyn Charlene, born June 11, 1906; Charles 
Samuel, born June 18, 1911. 

There is a singular sweetness of character and kindliness of nature 
permeating this home not found around every hearthstone. The mother 
herself, a charming woman, is an educated lady, and superintendent of 
the Presbyterian Sabbath School at Reedsville. In Christian work she 
is best known to the general public. Both the parents are very sympa- 
thetic and very charitable, give and spend freely, and in return seem 
to receive as freely as they give, which proves the old Bible adage a 
true one. 

756 Preston County, West Virginia 


The Trembly family were French Huguenots, living near Ro- 
chelle, France, and during the persecutions emigrated to Scotland. That 
was about 1725. About 1730 the ancestor of this family emigrated to 
America and settled at Trembly's Point, near Elizabeth, New Jersey. 
His house is still standing. 

About 1774, Benjamin Trembly and his family, with the McGrews,, 
moved toward the west, locating first at Cumberland, Maryland, where 
the ancestors of the McGrew family died. Samuel Darby, another 
Scotchman, came from the same place in New Jersey, but did not reach 
Preston until the year of 1774. In 1786, Patrick, son of the original 
McGrew before mentioned, moved with his wife and four children from 
Cumberland and located on the Samuel McGrew place a mile south of 
Brandonville. Samuel Darby settled at the Miller place west of CHfton, 
and Benjamin Trembly settled near Bruceton. This trio of hardy Scotch 
settlers did much towards establishing a stable condition of affairs in the 
new county, very soon after the Revolutionary War. 

Benjamin Trembly was born April 13, 1763, and drowned at Ice's 
Ferry in 1818, while on his way home from a fair at Morgantown. He 
married Eunice Pennington, who belonged to one of the oldest and 
most prominent families of New Jersey. Their children were: Josiah, 
John, Mary, Sarah, James and Ephraim. John Trembly was born 
March 20, 1786, and died 1863. He married Sarah Darby in Bruceton, 
and bought the farm near Albright in 1813. Their children were: 
Eunice, wife of John Bishop; Samuel and Benjamin, who were born 
October 16, 1816. Benjamin married Mary Hartman. Their children 
were: George H., Joseph, Sarah (wife of Guy A. Bishop), Michael, John, 
Samuel and Adam. 

The father of Charles Edward was George H. Trembly, who was 
born near Albright, West Virginia, April 7, 1837, died 1899. His wife 
was Eva Charity Smith, who was born near the same place February 
3, 1849. They were married January 9, 1868. Their children were: 
Frank H., born August 3, 1869, i" real estate business in Jacksonville, 
Florida; Jay S., born July 30, 1871, plumber in Terra Alta; Charles E., 
April 14, 1873; Ella M., October 26, 1877, now Mrs. A. W. Hawley. 

Charles Edward Trembly, the subject of this sketch, received a col- 
legiate education and has become a prominent citizen in the social and 
business fraternity of this .part of the state of West Virginia. In 1894 


T.. .■, 






Preston County, West Virginia 757 

he graduated from the Fairmont Normal School ; in 1897 he graduated 
again from the Peabody Normal College, Nashville, Tennessee ; and in 
1899 he took the degree of A.B. from the West Virginia University at 
Morgantown, West Virginia. Thus thoroughly prepared for profes- 
sional work, he began teaching while going to college, and taught at 
intervals. In 1898-99 he was assistant principal of the Davis Public and 
High School, then acting principal of these same schools. In 1902 he 
resigned to become assistant cashier of the Terra Alta Bank, a position 
he held for eight years. On November 14, 1910, he was elected cashier. 

'Mr. Trembly has been a member of the Town Council of Terr^i 
Alta one term, and Recorder of the same two terms. During his official 
career many improvements of a public nature were made, and it was 
as much due to his advice and guiding influence as to that of any other 
one of the City Fathers that the people are indebted for their wat.^r 
works, gas lights, street pavements and other improvements which have 
given Terra Alta its good name to-day. As a self-made man, Mr. 
Trembly has been a progressive one necessarily and politically, one fit 
to be trusted as a representative of the people. 

Socially, Mr. Trembly is a member of several orders. He is a mem- 
ber of, and past chancellor of the Knights of Pythias ; is a member of, 
and past master of the Masons ; is a 32° Mason and Knight Templar, 
and is also an Odd Fellow. He is a member of, and elder of the Presby- 
terian Church, and, although a young man yet, is a very substantial 
citizen of Preston County. 


The Bonafields of West Virginia came originally from Maryland. 
Samuel, the ancestor, was born where the city of Washington now 
stands. His son Samuel came to St. George, Tucker county, in 
1837, and his son T. J. located near the Tunnelton Camp 
Ground. His grandson, Arnold Jacob Bonafield, born June 12, 1849, 
became a very successful merchant, doing a business at one time in this 
place of $100,000 annually. He was also a coal dealer and for many 
years president of the bank. He was a very successful business man, 
leaving a valuable estate of which Guy M. Bonafield, his son, is trustee. 

Arnold J. Bonafield married Elizabeth Virginia Robinson, born De- 

758 Peeston County, West Virginia 

cember 6, 185 1, in Fairmont, Marion county, W. Va. Her grandmother 
was a Pierpont. She married Reuben Baker. The Bakers moved to 
Monongalia county from Philadelphia. Their children were: (i) Guy 
Martin Bonafield, who was born March 18, 1874; (2) Hugh William, 
born January 19, 1876; (3) Carl Thornton, February 28, 1878; (4) Henry 
Arnold, April 22, 1880; (5) Ethelynd Virginia, December i, 1882; (6) 
Stewart Robinson, August 17, 1890. 

Guy Martin Bonafield, the subject of this sketch, was educated in 
the Fairmont Normal School and Wesleyan College at Buckhannon, 
after which he became bookkeeper until his father's death, then trustee 
of his father's estate since that time. He is also one of the trustees of 
the M. E. Church at Tunnelton. 

On June 26, 1898, Mr. Bonafield was married to Miss Alberta Charity 
Bolyard, a Prestonian born near Tunnelton. Her father, Henry Bol- 
yard, was raised a farmer near Fellowsville and is a veteran of the 
Civil War. He is a descendant of Henry, a brother of Stephen Bolyard, 
who came from Pennsylvania about 1799, and lived first on the Ford 
place at the mouth of Wolfe Creek, and a few years later on the top 
of Laurel Hill, south of the turnpike line and near the "Drovers Rest." 
Henry Bolyard married Nancy Eve Sigley, of Harrison county, W. Va. 
They had eight children : Emma C, Delbert M., Cora A., Minnie A., 
Alberta C, Lloyd W., John C, and Lessie M. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Guy M. Bonafield are: Daisy Louise, 
born April 4, 1899 ; Elizabeth Adelaide, January 8, 1902 ; Arnold Jacob, 
February 10, 1904; and James Henry Bonafield, who was born Sep- 
tember I, 1911. 

The family are members of the M. E. Church. 


The Garner family are of English descent. They are known in 
Preston county as thrifty farmers and as an enterprising class of people. 
Lewis Garner, the first of the family, came from Loudoun to Ryans 
Glade in Garrett some time prior to 1800. The widow took up her 
residence in the Craborchard and married Amos Roberts, whose 
daughter Frances married William, the only one of her sons to remain 
in the county. He settled three miles northeast of Kingwood. Their 


THE r.EV'^ 



Preston County, West A'irginia 759 

children were: (i) Simon, who lived near Bruceton Mills. He married 
Rebecca Smith and had two children, a boy and a girl. (2) William, 
who married Nancy Ridenonr and lived and died near Terra Alta. (3) 
Alfred, who married Mary Smith, lived in Morgantown. (4) Samuel, 
who hved on the place now occupied by his son, Thomas F. (5) Amos, 
never married. (6) Hulda, married Amos Payne and moved to Iowa. 

(7) Margery remained single. (8) Julia, married Daniel Feather, both 
now dead, 

Samuel Garner was born July 4, 1820. He was raised a farmer, and 
died August 16, 1900. He was a large man, very stout, and was never 
sick until taken with his fatal illness. He married Anna Rebecca 
Ridenour, in 1841, and moved on a farm east of Kingwood, where he 
remained two years, then moved to the place now occupied by his son. 
Thomas. Here he built a cabin, where he lived until his death. In those 
days hardships were many. When this young couple went to house- 
keeping they had but one vessel for cooking, and that was a skillet, 
which was used for the making of coffee. His wife was born 
February 11, 1822, and died April 19, 1896. Their oldest child was 
William M., born August 17, 1842, died August 2, 1907. He was 
a cooper by trade and manufactured staves for sugar and molasses bar- 
rels to be shipped to Cuba. He was also a successful agriculturist, on 
the homestead farm adjoining that of Elmer Garner, of whom mention 
will be made. His wife w^as Margaret Jane Rodeheaver, born May 31, 

1843. Their children were: (i) ; (2) Walter Bunker, 

born April 29, 1866; (3) Waitman T. W., of whom mention will again 
be made; (4) Elmer Clay, born May 3, 1871 ; (5) Dora Belle, born June 
3' ^^73; (6-7) Mollie Grace and Minnie May, twins, born July 2, 1878; 

(8) Samuel Haymon, to be mentioned later. Samuel's daughter, 
Margery, married Josiah Calvert. She born in 1845, ^"d died in October, 
191 1. They had seven children, and lived in the Wesley Chappel neigh- 
borhood. (3) Susan, married Lewis H. Dodge. They had four children, 
now all dead but John, who lives near Terra Alta. (4) Savilla, deceased, 
born October 19, 1852, married George Nestor and lives at Amblersburg. 
They have seven children. He is a farmer. (5) John H., is a baker. 
He married Anna Gibson, and lives at Kingwood, no children. (6) 
David, a cripple, was born May 9, 1856. (7) Joanna, born July 26. 1858, 
married Wesley Messenger. He is a farmer, and to this union were 
born five children. (8) Julia Ellen, never married, was born 
November 25, i860. (9) Thomas F., the youngest of the family, was 

760 Preston County, West Virginia 

born November 26, 1864, and resides on the home place. He owns a 
good grazing farm as well as a good corn and wheat producing land, 
comprising 195 acres in all. He is a stock grower also, and speculates 
considerably in sheep, which are bought and shipped to the Baltimore 
market. In his younger days he attended school at Pleasant Dale. 

Mr. Garner's first wife was a Miss M. K. Field. She was the daughter 
of Hiram and Margaret Field, who lived at Reedsville. They were mar- 
ried April 22, 1888, and on January 31, 1890, she died, twenty years, three 
months and five days old. One daughter, Jessie K., born October 15, 
1889, married Sherman Brand (son of Frank Brand), October, 1907, and 
lives near Herring, West Virginia. Mr. Garner's second wife, Dora L. 
Kelly, is daughter of Elias and EHzabeth Kelly, of Terra Alta. They 
were married August 28, 1895. Their children are: Darrel, born De- 
cember 13, 1896; Edith, born on the 23rd of March, 1901, and Velma, 
born March 28, 1908. The new residence was built in 1905. 

The family worships in the M. E. Church at Pleasant Dale. Mr. 
Garner is a niember of the Knights of Pythias. 


It was not an unusual thing, in those days of pioneer times, for 
William M. Garner to walk to Terra Alta when in pursuit of some 
object of work, worthy of that efifort. Likewise, his sons are all noted 
for their perseverance as well as their honesty. Waitman T. Willey 
Garner, bent on securing an education, obtained it when opportunity 
presented itself. He then obtained a government position, which he 
has now filled creditably to himself, as well as profitably, for several 
years. He was born on the Dille farm, near Pleasant Dale, February 20, 
1869. He attended school at Pleasant Dale first, then took a course 
of training in the Kingwood Summer School, under the well known and 
efficient instructor, Professor Rufus Holden. His work of two terms 
here was supplemented by a three-term course at the Fairmont Normal 
School, under Professor J. Walter Barnes. After which he taught 
school, in all eight winters — six of them in Preston county and two of 
them in Marion county. 

On February 10, 1901, having passed the examinations requisite for 
the work, Mr. Garner became employed by the government as mail 

Preston County, West Virginia 761 

weigher between Wheeling and Baltimore on the Baltimore & Ohio 
Railroad. After filling this (position forty-nine days, he was promoted 
to mailing clerk on the road from Fairmont to Richwood, a position 
■which he has held now without intermission for ten years. The distance 
between the two points is 155 miles, and he is graded No. 3, the highest 
given his class in the mailing service. As districting agent, Mr. Garner 
attends to all mails for West Virginia, and for twelve counties in 
Pennsylvania besides. 

December 4, 1898, Mr. Garner was married to Miss Isabel Ridenour, 
daughter of Martin and Maria Reed Ridenour, old pioneers of Preston 
county. Three children have come of this union, namely: Fay Blondell, 
born January 27, 1903; Ila Belle, born July ii, 1907, died — , . . . . ; Ruth 
Hester, born May 3, 1908. 

In 1901, Mr. Garner bought a lot a No. 827 Coleman Avenue, where 
he erected his present residence, a two-story house with a slate roof, now 
a very valuable property. 

Mr. Garner was a strong Prohibitionist and a member of the M. E- 
Church, but belonged to no other organizations. He died May 29, 1913. 
Elmer C. Garner was born May 2, 1871. He was reared on the farm 
and educated i,n the Pleasant Dale school. After arriving at the age 
of maturity, he worked at the blacksmithing trade for the Ferguson Con- 
struction Company long enough to master the business, and now does 
all of his own repairing of machinery and making of new tools needed 
on the farm. He also mastered the cooper trade while assisting his 
father in the manufacture of staves for sugar and molasses barrels, a 
business that proved profitable for several years. 

On the last day of the month of the last month of the last year of the 
last century, he was married to Miss Elizabeth Margaret Lydia M^alissa, 
daughter of Julius Marion and Margaret Jane (Jenkins) Light, who 
lived on the old Jenkins farm where John Jenkins first settled and where 
her father now resides on Cheat River. She was born September 29, 
1880. Their children are: (i) Gilbert Wayne, born 4th day of May, 
1902, and died at Fairmont, June 23, 1903. (2) Thelma Elva Belle, born 
March 20, 1905. (3) Virginia Lucille, born February 21, 1909. Mr. 
Garner has three sisters: (i) Ella, wife of William Kidwell. They live 
on the home ^place. (2) Georgia, who is single. (3) Martha, who mar- 
ried Charles Galloway and lives on Laurel Run. Mr. Garner bought his 
■farm in 1900. It adjoins the homestead and consists of 81 acres of virgin 
soil, and most excellent for growing crops and for grazing purposes. 

762 Preston County^ West Virginia 

He has two orchards on the place, ships good timber from it for the 
manufacturing of paper, and this has been a profitable business also. 
Mr. Garner has cultivated the bee industry somewhat extensively. He 
has also a barnyard full of leghorn chickens, which, in addition to the 
good crops the farm produces annually, completes a homestead meeting 
every need of a country life. (4) Dora Belle, next to Elmer C, w^as born 
June 3, 1873. She married Charles Victor Martin and lives at Fairmont. 
He is a machinist. Their children are: Cecil, Grace, Elva, May and 
Herman Martin. (5) Minnie May, who married F. W. Foster, of Peters- 
boro, Ontario, Canada, June 29, 1911 ; she and Mollie Grace, who mar- 
ried S. H. Rodeheaver, August 22, 1898, are twnns, born July 2, 1878. 
Mr. Foster is an engineer, skilled in iron construction work, and Mr. 
Rodeheaver is the field agent for the "West Virginia Argus." Mrs. 
Foster has no children, but Mrs. Rodeheaver is the mother of two, 
Juanita Grace and Margaret Genevieve. (7) Samuel Haymond Gar- 
ner, the well-known photographer, with a studio at Kingwood, was 
born February 22, 1881. He was reared on the farm and educated at 
the Pleasant Dale schools, and then worked for dififerent persons, in 
difTerent kinds of business, until he began for himself. The science 
of photography appealed to him, nor has he missed his calling in this 
profession. With a natural taste for scenic beauty, Mr. Garner first 
worked for D. O. Martin, doing field w^ork principally. Mr. Martin was 
a graduate of the Illinois College of Photography at Effingham, and 
an apt pupil, and Mr. Garner soon mastered all his preceptor could 
teach him. He located in Kingwood, Nov. 22, 1904, having purchased the 
gallery outfit complete of his predecessor, and then added to the original 
purchase as needed. He now has as w^ell an equipped studio as can be 
found outside of the largest cities. His outdoor work is remarkable 
for its freshness and vigor, while his portrait reproductions are unex- 
celled. He has photographed for the History of Preston County, and 
his w'ork is equal to any found in any other work of its kind anywhere. 
Some of the reproductions from Mr. Garner's photographs are views of 
the Morgantown & Kingwood Railroad published in this history. 

May 4, 1907, Mr. Garner was married to Miss Mollie Pearl Harvey, 
daughter of George W. and Rosalie Ridenour Harvey, of Fellowsville. 
Their children are George William, born November 16, 1908, and Earl 
Harvey, born November 19, 1912. 

The family worship with the M. E. Church at Kingwood. Mr. Gar- 
ner is a member of the Knights of Pythias, also of the Modern Woodmen 
of America. 

Preston County, West Virginia 763 


Luke McKinney and his wife, Aylse (Spencer), settled on the 
McKinney homestead, near Bretz, before the War of 1812. He was 
born March 4, 1782, and died July 27, 1862. She was born July 2j, 1792, 
and died April 11, 1877. Their children were: John S., born May 25, 
1811, died January i, 1890; Harrison, born January 2, 1813, died Novem- 
ber I, 1892; Michael, born April 10, 1816, died December 18, 1888; 
Sarah (Menear), born May 6, 1818, died May 26, 1899; Arthur Wesley, 
born April 13, 1820, died May 24, 1899; Julia Ann (Watson), born May 
13, 1822, died April 17, 1849; Rebecca (Flick), born May 14, 1824, died 
May 16, 1891; William H., born March 22, 1826, and still living; Alex- 
ander M., born May 17, 1829, died February 4, 1892; Joseph Jackson, 
born January 13, 1832, and still living; Gabriel, who was born and died 
February 6, 1834. Joseph Jackson McKinney married Caroline P. Zinn. 
She was born October 18, 1836, and died January i, 1910. She was a 
native Prestonian and a daughter of Henderson B. Zinn, of the Zinn 
settlement. They first built a log house that stood on the same ground 
as the present house, built by S. C. McKinney in 1911. Later, in 1868, 
they built a better log house near by, which is still standing. J. J. 
McKinney was a member of Company B, 14th West Virginia 
Volunteers, and served through the war. He participated in the battles 
of Cloyd Mountain, Lynchburg, Carter's Farm, Kernstown, Berryville, 
Winchester, Fisher's Hill, and Cedar Creek, and quite a number of 
minor battles and skirmishes. These battles were fought by the 6th, 
8th and 19th Corps, under Major-General Philip H. Sheridan. At the 
battle of Fisher's Hill the 6th and 19th were formed in front, the 8th by a 
brisk flank movement was formed in the rear of Company B of the 14th 
W. Va., which was deployed on the skirmish line, and was one of the 
first to cross their earthworks, and just in time to see the grey coat- 
tails standing behind like checker boards. At the battle of Cedar Creek, 
the 8th and 19th boys formed in front of the 6th, somewhat farther to 
the rear, the two in front were completely shut out, it was a complete 
stampede, but the glorious old Sixth came up like a billow on the ocean 
and checked them, and held them in check, until the 8th and 19th got 
reformed, and little Phil on his coal black charger came dashing up, the 
tide turned — the tide set in the other way. Only three officers of Co. B 
reported for duty, all three corporals. He, being senior, took coomand 
of Company B (13 men) and formed them in their proper places in the 

764 Preston County, West Virginia 

regiment; the regiment was sent to support a battery, and stayed to 
the finish. He had the honor of commanding Company B (13 men) 
in the last charge the regiment ever made, and the last stand made in 
the valley by the Confederates. After the war he returned to the farm. 
He also did carpenter work, building two or three schoolhouses. His 
boys were also handy with tools. S. C. McKinney built the house his 
father now lives in at Morgantown. 

The children of J. J. McKinney and his wife were: Malissa Elvira, 
now the wife of N. W. McMillen, a farmer near Masontown. She was 
born September 26, 1854; Albert Raymond, born July 8, 1856, died 
October 22, 1912, in Indiana; Frances Ellen (Spurgeon McGee), born 
June 26, 1858; S. C. McKinney, born March 8, 1861 ; Annie May, born 
December 9, 1865 ; Julia Agnes, born August 30, 1867, died September 
19, 1890; Claudius L., born September 15, 1869, is a successful contractor 
in Morgantown; Harriet Welton (Born), born October 17, 1871 ; Arizona 
Ray (Addison), born July 6, 1874; Joseph Webster, born and died May 
7, 1876. 

S. C. married Annie B. Rogers, February 24, 1895. She was born 
November 4, 1878, and is the daughter of William and Margaret Rogers, 
of Pisgah, and a granddaughter of the late Perry J. Rogers, one of the 
oldest settlers of that place. The children born to this union were: 
Otto F., born December 29, 1895; Hugh G., born January 16, 1897; 
Blanche Edna, born September 2"], 1900; Joseph H., born October 2, 
1902; Parley J., born January 29, 1904; Albert L., born February 21, 
1906; William H., born June 17, 1909; Oma Evedelle, born October 
13, 1912. 

The McKinneys have all been successful farmers. The orchard 
planted by the late grandfather still bears something like 1,000 bushels 
annually. This has resulted from spraying and paying scientific atten- 
tion to the needs of the trees. This orchard has a tree which grows 
apples without seeds, and was never known to bloom ; also has trees 
which grow apples which are both sweet and sour, sweet on one side 
and sour on the other, neither is it fruit by graft. S. 'C. McKinney pays 
particular attention also to stock raising. He deals in Hereford cattle, 
the Berkshire and Pollen China hogs, and loves the Merino sheep and 
good horses. 

S. C. McKinney took an active interest in developing the home farm 
from his boyhood, working most of his time for his parents until he was 
near thirty years of age. He then bought a farm on the east side of Cheat, 

Preston County, West Virginia 765 

went to Oklahoma, participated in a land drawing and failed to draw a 
claim; came back to Illinois and bought eighty acres, rented it, came 
home, sold out and moved to Morgantown and did carpenter work for 
two years, then moved to Illinois, improved a farm there, got the chills, 
sold out and came back, bought the old homestead, and expects to spend 
the remainder of his life improving it. 


Among the 2,300 volunteers from Preston county who went to war 
with the South, the Sheets family deserve special notice. Probably no 
county in any other state gave up as many of her sons of the preserva- 
tion of the Union, in proportion to her population, than Preston county 
did. No other family suffered much more by way of loss of limb and 
life, than did the Sheets family. No charge at least can be brought 
against them for not responding to the call of their country in time of 

Jacob and Nancy Sheets lived in Monongalia county, and raised 
a family of sons and daughters before the Civil War commenced. He 
was born at Rock Forge, and died in 1866, about sixty years old. His 
wife died about 1867, fifty years of age. He was a stonecutter, and raised 
his family at the old Henry Clay Furnace, where the boys were engaged 
mostly in mining business. John was the oldest, and married twice. 
He is now dead. George married in Kentucky, and was killed on the 
railroad. Calvin lived at Morgantown. He was a 'member of the ist 
W. Va. Cavalry and was killed in the war. He enlisted in 1861, and 
lost his life in 1862. Samuel enlisted in 1861. He was also in the ist 
W. Va. Cavalry, and served three years. Both he and his wife are now 
dead. Jacob also enlisted in the same regiment and served three years 
in the war. Alfred was killed at Fairmont, when fifteen years of age. 
Ellen married Thomas Irving, and lives in Pennsylvania. Anna, a 
widow, lives in that state also. Elizabeth married James Gans, and 
resides in Marion county. Tilie is dead. She married a Mr. Thorne. 

Luther Sheets was born at the old Henry Clay Furnace on January 
I, 1840. He was raised a farmer, and did mining until in 1859, when 
he went to Tunnelton, where he hauled tan-bark and shipped timber 
until the fight at McDowell, Virginia, stirred u,p his patriotism, 

766 Preston County, West Virginia 

and in June, 1861, he enlisted in Company A, 3rd Virginia Infantry. 
The regiment first went to Wheeling, then to Clarksburg, and from 
that point scattered along the B. & O. Railroad to guard bridges for 
three or four months. In 1863, when Jones made his raid through the 
state, the regiment was changed to the 6th Cavalry. In the fight at 
Rocky Gap, in Greenbrier county, an engagement that lasted a day and 
a night, Mr. Sheets was hit in the leg, just above the knee joint, by a 
ball from the enemy, which he carried sixteen years and two months 
before amputation of the limb was made. The same ball tore ofif the 
arm of his comrade standing by his side. 

His first discharge from the army was in 1863, and he enlisted again. 
This time, contrary to the oath of service, his regiment was held long 
after the war had closed. In opposition to the wishes of the soldiers, 
they were taken West for service on the plains ; but when at Fort 
Leavenworth, Kansas, the men demanded their pay, and a release from 
the army, it was granted. 

Upon returning home, Mr. Sheets came to Independence, where he 
followed mining and other pursuits, and where he still resides. His leg 
troubled him greatly, a running sore causing it to grow worse and worse 
until relief came from amputation. In the meantime, however, he 
worked steadily from the time he left the army until the loss of the limb 
necessitated retirement from all manual labor. 

On March i, 1863, Mr. Sheets was married to Harriet Kelly, daughter 
of John Kelly, of Monongalia county. She died in 1898. From this 
union were born : Willie, a miner, and now the father of several children. 
He had the misfortune to break his leg while pursuing his avocation 
in the mines. The other children were: Marshall, Thomas, also mine 
workers ; Ira, who was killed in a railroad accident ; Albert and Charlie, 
who died in infancy; Ida, who married William Shaefer; Ethie, who 
married John Twiple, and lives in Fairmont; Alice, who married Harry 
Philip, and moved to Indiana. 

On October 29, 1898, Mr. Sheets was married to Laura, daughter of 
George and Drucilla (Boyd) Trowbridge. Her father was a farmer 
on Cheat River, but died twenty-three years ago. Children of this second 
marriage are: Hazel, born February 25, 1900; Guffie, April 9, 1902; 
Clyde, June 28, 1904; Hugh, June 16, 1912. 

The family worships in the Methodist Church. 

Preston County, West Virginia 767 


Among physicians of Preston county who have a large clientele and 
a general country practice is Dr. Wilkinson, of Brandonville. Dr. 
Wilkinson is a son of William and Elizabeth Wilkinson of Wayne, and 
county of Wayne, West Virginia, where he was born July i, 1877. 

After a successful literary course had been taken in the Fairview 
Academy of his native town, the young man turned his attention towards 
the study of medicine, for which he had a natural inclination. In the 
meantime, however, he clerked in a store for several years, and here, 
probably, is where he became possessed with that faculty of making 
himself so agreeable and popular with the people. 

His degree of M.D. was taken from the University at Louisville, 
Kentucky, the honor being conferred by the medical department of that 
institution in the spring of 1904. In the fall of that same year he came 
to Brandonville, but subsequently took a review course at the Medical 
College of Chicago. And being thus equipped, he again commenced the 
practice of his chosen profession, which has been growing until the 
present time. The territory covered has become very large, extending 
over this part of Preston county generally. 

Dr. Wilkinson also owns and operates a valuable farm. This year 
the corn and smaller grains yielded large returns for him, showing that 
scientific farming always produces the best results. 

February 5, 1905, Dr. Wilkinson was married to Miss Lulu McGinnis, 
of Columbus, Ohio. From this marriage came the birth of one son, 
Renick Eugene, born May 12, 1907. 

In 1909, Dr. Wilkinson bought the residence where he now lives, of 
T. S. Cunningham. There he has a fine office and one of the best 
apothecaries to be found in the state. Every medicine known to the 
pharmaceutist needed for an extensive practice can be found on his 
shelves, and, if not there, "The Want List" book he keeps will soon 
call for it. 

Dr. Wilkinson, ever on the alert for new remedies in the practice of 
his profession, became a member of several societies. He is a member 
of the American Medical Association, of the State Medical Association, 
and of the County Medical Society. He is a member of the Knights of 
Pythias, also of the American Woodmen. He and his family worship 
with the Methodists of Brandonville. 

768 Preston County, West Virginia 


Samuel Gandy came from New Jersey to Preston county about the 
year 1790, and settled about one-half mile west of Gladesville. A hotel 
was run by this pioneer during the War of 1812. His son Levi was a 
local preacher, and also farmed extensively. His brother, Amos Gandy, 
the grandfather of Captain Cornelius Gandy, settled on a farm about 
one mile west from Independence. The homestead is known as the 
Gandy farm. It was the home of Amos Gandy, Jr., who was the father 
of Cornelius Gandy, the father of Frank W. Gandy, the subject of this 
sketch. Captain Cornelius Gandy was a farmer and carpenter, and a 
soldier in the Civil War. He is now living a retired life at Terra Alta. 

The following are the names of his children. Those by his first wife, 
Mary Jane McGee, are Lawrence S. Gandy, born August 6, 1867, and 
Frank W., born July 8, 1872. The second marriage of Cornelius Gandy 
was to Louisa Evans. Their children are Mary A., born Decemher 
29, 1875, and Ivy V., born June 16, 1882. 

Frank W. Gandy is one of the leading educators in the state of West 
Virginia. He was reared on a farm near Independence, and after leav- 
ing the common schools was further prepared for his life's work in 
higher institutions of learning. First came his graduation from the 
Fairmont State Normal School in 1894, and later he was a student at 
the West Virginia University. In 1892 he began teaching school, and 
followed the profession of a pedagogue seven years. In 1899, his ability 
as a teacher having become established, he was elected county superin- 
tendent of schools, and successfully filled that position for four years. 
For eight years, beginning in 1902, he was principal of the Terra Alta 
schools, and in 1910 he was appointed superintendent of the Portland 
district schools, the superintendency of which he still holds. As an 
educator, Mr. Gandy has earned an enviable reputation both as a teacher 
and .principal, and as superintendent of schools in Preston county. 

July 8, 1896, Mr. Gandy was married at Masontown to Elizabeth 
Catherine Cobun. She was the daughter of Isaac Boyd Cobun and Isa- 
bella H. Flaherty, who died in 1894. Mr. Cobun died in 1901. He was 
a soldier and a minister. He is a descendant of James Cobun, a son 
of Jonathan, who settled in 1790 near Dorsey's Knob, a little south of 

The children of Isaac Boyd and Isabella H. Flaherty 'Cobun are: 
Wilbur F., Bertie M., George M., Lincoln J., Leonidas W., Adah P., 

Preston County, West Virginia 769 

Elizabeth C, and Miles B. Helen Cobun Gandy, born October 19, 1898, 
the only child of Mr. and Mrs. Gandy, is now in school. 

Mr. Gandy is a member of the Terra Alta Lodge No. 106, A. F. & A. 
M.; Scott Chapter 33, R. A. M.; Alpine Lodge No. 5, K. of P., Terra 
Alta; Fairplay Lodge No. 126, L O. O. F., Independence. He and his 
wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Terra Alta. 


The subject of this sketch was born in Keyser, Garrett -county, Mary- 
land, on May 6, 1874. His early life was spent with his parents, work- 
ing on the farm, and at the weaver's trade, assisting his father. His 
opportunities for gaining an education were limited to three terms of 
school. In 1891 his parents moved to Howesville, W. Va., where the 
father continued his trade as a weaver and also carried on farming. 
Joseph assisted also in that work as well as in the shop. After his boy- 
hood days were thus spent, Mr. Bailer started out in life working for 
himself. He was first engaged on sawmills, then on railroads, and from 
thence to coal mines, then back to the farm driving teams, and so forth, 
and till the year 1901, when having secured means of his own, he bought 
the farm on which he now resides, it being at that time a piece of wood- 
land. Since then the land has been mostly cleared and the buildings 
now standing there erected, consisting of a dwellinghouse, a store, a 
stable, and other out-dwellings. The store was built in 1908, and on 
August 1st of that year Mr. Brailer began his career as a merchant. In 
October, 1909, the store was rented and the personal property sold, and 
Mr. Brailer then began work for the B. & O. Railroad in the boiler shop 
in Cumberland, Md. He started at the carpenter trade. He returned 
the same year to Howesville, W. Va., and began merchandising again 
at the old stand, his sister, Mrs. Cecilia Clarke, a widow, returning with 
him, and both are still living together. 

Mr. Brailer opened up his store on November i, 191 1, and in August, 
1912, built an addition, increasing it to twice its size, since which time 
he has prospered as a merchant. He is still single. He was born and 
reared a Catholic, and is a member of the K. of C. order and belongs to 
the Grafton Council, No. 713. Politically, like his father before him, 
he is a Democrat, Init has never sought an office. 

770 Preston County, West Virginia 

Mr. Brailer is a self-made man. He earned what he has by hard 
labor, and his holdings now consist of other lots and property besides 
where he lives, one house, a comfortable two-story dwelling, being in 
Cumberland, Maryland. His success in life can be largely attributed 
to habits of honesty, hard labor and sobriety. He is a son of Ambrose 
and Elizabeth (Knecht) Brailer. His father was born in Germany, 
December i, 1825, and was the youngest son of Henry and Margaret 
(Rosencrantz) Brailer. Ambrose came to America when sixteen years 
did in company with his brother August and two sisters, Caroline and 
Margaret. He was a weaver by trade, and for several years operated 
the woolen factory at Mineral Springs, Maryland. He was married to 
Elizabeth M. Knecht at Frostburg, Maryland, April 24, 1868, and to 
this union were born the following children: (i) Catherine, w^ho married 
Michael Hartman. They live at Whitsette, Pennsylvania, and have 
three daughters, Mary, Bridget and Annie; Mr. Hartman is foreman 
of the Pittsburgh Coal Company. (2) Mary, who died when twenty 
years old. (3) Alcinda, who died in infancy. (4) Joseph J. (5) Annie. 
(6)Anselma, who married H. S. Calvert. He is a farmer, living near 
Hopewell. Their children are Mary Agnes, Harry Joseph, Clarence 
Edward and Helen Cecilia. (7) Helen Cecilia, married Edward Francis 
Clark and lived in Cumberland, Maryland. He was a fireman on train 
No. 55, on Third Division of the B. & O. Railroad, and was fatally in- 
jured while on duty, Sunday, May 14, 191 1. He died May i6th, and 
was buried in the Catholic Cemetery at Howesville. 

Ambrose Brailer died at the age of 85 years and 43 days. Elizabeth, 
his wife, died August 14, 1903. She was born April 8, 1844. Both 
parents were buried in Howesville. 

Ambrose Brailer's brother, August, married Cecelia Logston, anl 
was also a farmer and weaver by trade. They lived near Mt. Savage, 
Maryland, and they also raised a large family. 

Elizabeth, wife of Ambrose Brailer, was a daughter of Lawrenc«; 
and Elizabeth (Drese) Knecht, who came from Germany, and were 
married at Annapolis. Md. He lived to be 59 years old, and she 78. 
They are both buried at Frostburg, Maryland. Their children were : 
(i) Michael, of West Salisbury, Pennsylvania; (2) Adam, who is a 
brother of the Redemptorist Order at the Sacred Heart Church, Balti- 
more, Maryland; (3) Catherine, Elizabeth, and Matilda, who married 
George Meyer and lived near Pittsburgh. 

The Rosencrantz and Brailer and Knecht families came from Ger- 

Preston CIounty, West Virginia 771 

many. Their descendants are now many and well scattered throughout 
the states of this country. The Brailers and Rosencrantzs were first 
cousins. There are many Knechts living at Baltimore, Maryland., dis- 
tant relatives of the Brailer family and of the late Lawrence Knecht. 


The sawmills of Edward S. Brown, two extensive plans for manu- 
facturing lumber, are on an extensive tract of woodland, about seventeen 
hundred acres in all, situated between Gladesville and Reedsville. 
About forty men are given employment at these two mills, and about 
2,000,000 feet of lumber are produced annually. 

Mr. Brown is a son of Buckner and Jane Freeburn Brown and was 
born July 16, 1869. His father was a justice of the peace for many 
years and a soldier in the Civil War. He was raised a farmer. The 
homestead was the old Fairfax place, where the subject of this sketch 
spent the first twenty years of his life. In the spring of 1898 he bought 
the Zinn property, where he lives now, a farm consisting of some two 
hundred acres. 

Mr. Brown was married November 13, 1895, to Miss Nannie Welton, 
the daughter of Isaac Welton, and bought his residence property two 
years afterward of George C. Sturgiss. In 1905 he first began operating 
the store which is still run in connection with this lumber business. 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Brown are as follows: (i) Argyle, 
born August 26, 1896; (2) Hoy, June 12, 1898; (3) Opal, April 24, 1900; 
(4) Van, March 5, 1902; (5) Lillian, October 16, 1904; (6) Rex, No- 
vember 18, 1906; (7) Alma, May 30, 1908; (8) Max, July 8, 1910. 

Mr. Brown has been a very successful business man from the start 
He began business for himself without a dollar when twenty years of 
age, and besides his timber land he owns some 500 acres of cleared lauvl 


Preston county is noted for its good schools. We have spoken 
several times of the teachers in this part of the state, and we want here 
to notice the schoolroom work by George W. White, who has taughi. 
longer in this county than any other teacher coming under our observa- 
tion. He was educated in the free schools, and in six terms of summer 

772 Preston County, West Virginia 

school, at Kingwood, taught by leading educators of the state. Follow- 
ing this preparation for his chosen profession, he became an educator 
himself, confining his attention to Preston county, solely, and is novv 
teaching his twenty-fifth term, all on No. One certificates but the first, 
which was a third grade. His father was a teacher in the county, and, 
like the son, possessed ability as an instructor and disciplinarian. 

Mr. White is a grandson of Robert White, whose father was born 
in Scotland. His grandmother was Eliza Pew Freeman, born May 23, 
1791, and married October 21, 1809, to Robert White. Their son, 
Francis Willis White, was born March 10, 1819. He died December 
28, 1891. He married Sarah Feather, daughter of Adam Feather. She 
was born August 21, 1825, and died April 7, 1894. She was raised on the 
farm where Rev. Joseph Feather now lives in the Crab Orchard. F. W. 
W^hite was raised on a farm near Kingwood. His children were: 
Mary Eliza, Sabra Jane, Adam David, Susan Catherine, James Clark, 
Jacob Francis, Margaret Ellen, John Solomon, Julia Anna Belle, George 
Washington, Emma Alice and Joseph Feather White. 

George Washington White was born on the farm where he now 
lives, September 22, 1864. He was raised a farmer, and teaching has 
been his chosen profession. In political life he has been known as a 
staunch Republican, but he never held any office. In church he has been 
active as a worker, and an efficient class-leader and a Sabbath school 
superintendent for several years. He and his family worship with the 
Methodist and the United Brethren churches. His wife was Florence 
May Fortney, whom he married March 31, 1895, at her father, Francis 
Asbury Fortney's house on the farm where she was born near Howes- 
ville. (See sketch of Judge Fortney for full history of the family.) 

Children born to Mr. and Mrs. George F. White are as follows: (i) 
Otis Oglevie, born August i, 1896, now holding an elementary diploma 
given him in March, 1912. (2) Edison Earl, born February 12, 1898. 
(3) Martha lola, born August 14, 1900. (4) infant, born and died De- 
cember 8, 1902. (5) Gertrude Lenore, born November 6, 1904. (6) 
Olivia Juanita, born September 16, 1906. (7) Cary Virginia, born April 

23, 1908. (8) , born April 19, 1910. (9) Doris Norma, born 

February 26, 1912. This constitutes one of the happiest homes in 
Preston county, on the M. & K. Railroad at Pleasantdale. 

Preston County, West Virginia 773 


The Browns were early settlers in Preston county. 

James Brown and his wife, Rachel Brown, grandparents of James 
William Brown, were of Scotch-Irish descent, and came to this country 
soon after the close of the Revolutionary War. They were sympathizers 
with the American cause in the Revolution, and having failed to composs 
the freedom of their native Ireland, sailed for Philadelphia in 1789, and 
the next year settled on a tract of land a mile northeast of Kingwood. 
Their first house was the cabin of the Green family, which had been 
broken up only two years before by murder and captivity. 

The five sons of James Brown were men of force and character. 
Joseph, the third son, born August 8, 1796, was Sheriff of Preston county 
one term. January 22, 1829, he was married to Miss Mary M. Stone, 
of Richmond, Virginia, and to this union four children were born, as 
follows : Mrs. Anna M. Elliott, widow of the late Captain William Elliott, 
of Terra Alta; Mrs. Juliet R. Smith, widow of James P. Smith, of John- 
son City, Tennessee; Elisha M. H. Brown, who died in August, 1889, 
and James WilHam Brown. 

March 30, 1854, James William Brown was married to Miss Martha 
R. Brown, of Cincinnati, Ohio. She was born in Cincinnati, August 24, 
1834, but married in Kingwood, to which place her father, John Cannon 
Brown, formerly a merchant of Cincinnati, had moved about 1850, and 
where he died in April, 1852. His wife's maiden name was Miss Martha 
Batchelder, of Cincinnati, where she died in the seventy-fourth year of 
hex age, July 20, 1848. 

Four children were born to John Cannon and Martha Brown, as 
follows : Martha R., wife of James William Brown ; Lieut. James W., 
who died in July, 1864, in defense of his country; Juliet A., widow of 
the late Dr. W. H. Ravenscroft, of Oakland, Maryland, and Sarah A., 
widow of Benjamin Forman, deceased, formerly of Terra Alta. 

James William Brown was born in Kingwood, West Virginia, July 
24, 1830. During the earlier part of his life he attended the Kingwood 
public schools, and later Washington College, Pennsylvania. In 1853 
he was engaged in the mercantile business at Cranberry Summit, now 
Terra Alta, and was also agent for the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad at 
that place. 

In politics Mr. Brown was a Democrat. He was deputy sheriff before 
and during the first two years of the Rebellion, and Colonel of the State 

774 Preston County, West Virginia 

Militia during the same time. In 1863 he moved to DesMoines, Iowa, 
where he again engaged in the mercantile business under the firm name 
of LeBosquet, Brown & Rude. In 1868 he returned to the state and- 
county of his birth, and in 1869 purchased the farm on which his aged 
widow lives and where he lived until his death, May 18, 1902, aged 72 

Colonel Brown was one of the leading men of Preston county and 
of the state of West Virginia. He was a Mason, an Odd Fellow, and 
held many positions of trust. 

By his wife, Martha R., James William Brown became the father 
of nine children, five girls and four boys, as follows: Mrs. C. M. Fleek, 
of Janesville, Wisconsin; Mrs. John W. McDonald, of Tampico, Mexico; 
Mrs. C. F. Copeman, of Greensburg, Pennsylvania; Mrs. B. L. Brown 
and Miss Emma V. Brown, of Kingwood ; Albert A. Brown, and the 
late John C. Brown, of Rowlesburg, and J. G. Brown and E. S. Brown, 
who reside with their aged mother on the home place. They are suc- 
cessful agriculturists and men of force and character. Joseph G. Brown 
has been a journalist of large experience and is a brilliant writer, as well 
as a successful farmer. John Cannon Brown, the third son, born Feb- 
ruary 6, 1869, was the trusted employee of the Mason Hardware Com- 
pany, Mannington, West Virginia, for many years. In 1909 he took 
charge of the Commercial Hotel at Rowlesburg, and by his genial dis- 
position and generous hospitality built up a nice business and made 
many friends who were deeply grieved to learn of his death, February 
18, 19 1 2. April 24, 1900, he was married to Miss May Spahr, of King- 
wood, who survives him. 


The Featiher family has been a very prominent one in the Crab 
Orchard from the first settlement of the county. John Feather, great- 
grandfather to Karl, married Mary Ervin, and lived on the farm now 
owned and occupied by Clinton D. Feather, and die'd there March 25, 
1870. The house now standing there was built by him over eighty years 
ago. The farm is midway between Albrigiht and Lenox, anconsists of 
285 acres of the best farming land in this part of the' state and has 
been in the family from the time of its exemption. John Feather was 

Pkeston County, West Virginia 775 

Justice of the Peace in those earlier ye'ars of that first settlement, and 
from reports must have been a man of some business and political 
capacity. His children were: Abraham, Isaac, Levi, Jacob, James C, 
David O., Joseph, Marcellus, Harrison, John Quincy, Samuel, Equacious, 
and others not named. His daughters were Lydia N., Catherine, 
Rebecca, Rachael Virginia, and Louisa Jane. David O., born August 
9, 1841, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, w^as one time can- 
didate for the sherifalty of the county. He married Amanda J. Albright, 
January 15, 1869, and died March 16, 1906, aged 65 years. Their only 
child was Clinton D., born April 8, 1870, and on March 13, 1892, married 
Annie D. Murray Hayden, daughter of H. M. and Flora B. Hayden. 

Two children: Karl Ward, born Marsh 18, 1893, and Helen Mable 
Feat'her, born April 4, 1896, were the fruits of this union. 

Karl W. Feather was born and reared on the homestead, and edu- 
cated in the common schools of the county, graduating in 1910. He 
is at present in the automobile business at Greensburg, Pennsylvania, 
employed 'by the Standard Automobile Company. He was a very suc- 
cessful teacher in Preston county four terms, before going out of the 


Richard Heath, of Washington, D. C, then of Illinois, was the an- 
cestral head of tihe Heath family of Preston county. His son, Duke 
Heath, who died albout twenty-ifive years ago, was the first to live in 
Preston county. He' came to the state of West Virginia from Illinois, 
and ran a farm near Rowlesburg, and lived there until his death. His 
wife was Mary Ford, daughter of William Ford, of Petersiburg, Vir- 
ginia. They belonged to the aristocracy of the South, but were Union 
patriots, and their son-in-law was a veteran of that civil strife. 

Duke Heath died about 1890, aged 63 years. His wife died in 1901. 
Their children were: (i) William, who married and moved to Illinois, 
and died there in 1908; (2) John, who ran a hotel in Grafton, and died 
there' in 1908; (3) Edward, the lumberman, now with Mr. Hayes of 
Rowlesburg; (4) Alice, also of Grafton; (5) Minnie, who has been dead 
many years ; (6) Lulu, who succeeded her mother as proprietress of a 
hotel in Rowlesburg; (7) Jesse D., who is proprietor of a livery stable 
in Rowlesburg. He was born December 11, 1856, and spent his early 

776 Preston County, West Virginia 

life on a farm. When fourteen years old he came witlh his mother, 
then a widow, to Rowlesburg, and here he attended the public schools 
and assisted in hotel work. He always had a fondness for horses and 
was a skillful hand in handling them. About ten years ago he built 
his livery stable-tbarn, and since that time he 'has done a good business 
in catering to the traveling public, having a well-equipped stable for 
that purpose. His wife was Louise Hardesty. Their children are: 
(i) Walter, who married Martha Serena Seville, and is the father of 
one child; (2) Charles; (3) Hazel; (4) Harry; (5) Mabel; (6) Carl; 
(7) Mearl. 

Mr. Heath is a member of the M. E. Church and is also a Woodman. 


iSoon after the War of the Revolution, five brothers of the Jenkins 
family arrived in New York on board ship, having been sold for 
their passage across the sea — not an uncommon thing in their day to 
enable the poor to reach the land of freedom and liberty on this side 
of the water. Of those brothers, three of them were' never heard from 
after their separation in New York. Thomas, the progenitor of the 
Preston county family, settled at Harmony Grove Settlement, and was 
there at the time of the War of 1812. He had a brother, John, /but 
farther than that nothing is known of him. 

Thomas Jenkins married Hannah Sterling, and operated a powder 
mill at one time at Hudson. He manufactured albout all the powder 
used by the early settlers in this part of the state. His wife was one 
of the attendants on the Corbly 'boys, who were wounded by the Indians, 
and afterwards taken into the fort. Evan Jenkins, son of Thomas, 
died September i, 1877, aged 88 years. He married Hannah, daughter 
of David Graham, another very earlj- settler in this part of Preston 
county. David Graham died October 8, 1839, at the age of 76 years. 
His wife, Hannah, died October 28, 1839, at the age of 72 years. Their 
daughter, Hannah, married Evan Jenkins. She died June 12. 1866, 
at the age of 71 years. Evan Jenkins' youngest son was 
Jonathan. He married Mary Cramer, and died March 24, 1864, at the 
age of 43. The other children were : Jehu, Peggy King, Hersey King, 
Amanda BowCrmaster, lohn. and Louraine Rodaheaver. 

Preston County, West Virginia 777 

Jehu Jenkins, son of Evan, was born March 15, 1829, and died July 
28, 1905. He 'married Ruffina Otto, who was born July 19, 1828, and 
died February 25, 1883. Jehu Jenkins was a prominent man and did 
much towards shaping the destiny and future welfare of Preston county 
in his day. He was a successful farmer, and a justice' of the peace many 
years — an office then almost as important as the County Court is now. 
He was a self-educated man and a successful teacher also. As a man, 
Mr. Jenkins is spoken of by every one who knew him in terms of highest 
praise, and by not a few Prestonians in terms of endearment and 

The children born of this union were: (i) Thomas Benton, born 
Decemibe'r 9, 1853 ; he married Nancy Spindler and lives at Rockville, 
this county. (2) Mary Caroline, born November 21, 1858; she died 
January 28, 1875. (3) Charles Franklin, born February 8, 1861 ; married 
Mary Jane Livengood, December 31, 1884; she was the daughter of 
Samuel L. and Mary (Herring), and was born December 23, i860. (4) 
George McClellen, born April 23, 1863; he married Sarah Kerns, and 
lives at Ellensburg, Washington. (5) John Edwards, born November 
8, 1865 ; he married Frances C. Spiker, daughter of Robert R. and 
Angeline; (Umberson) Spiker of Morgan's Glade; she was iborn Octdber 
8, 1874. The marriage occurred February 2, 1904. The children born 
to this union are as follows: Paul Evan, born March 28, 1906; Mary 
Evangeline, born July 31, 1907; Lulu Grace, born November 21, 1909; 
Naomi Ruth, born May 19, 191 2. (6) William Howard, born July 18, 
1867, unmarried. (7) Lulu M., who was daughter by Catherine Miller, 
Mr. Jenkins' second wife. She was never married. 

The sisters of Jehu were : Peggy, who .married Alfred King, now 
dead; Hessey, who married Albert King, who died in prison during 
the Civil War (his widow is now^ living in Bruceton, at the age of 
ninety-two years) ; Amanda, who married John Bowermaster ; Louraine, 
who married George Rodeheaver, and is now dead. 

Charles F. Jenkins lives on the old Rodeheaver place, adjoining the 
old homestead place, and took up his residence here soon after his mar- 
riage. He owns 326 acres of land, all under a high state of cultivation 
and as productive as any that can be found in the county. Last year 
he raised 1,053 bushels of corn on 10^ acres of ground. He also raised 
400 bushels of buckwheat, 920 bushels of oats, and about 50 tons of 
hay. He is a successful farmer and stock raiser. 

His children are as follows: (i) Dessie M., born October 15, 1885; 

778 Preston County, West Virginia 

(2) Clarence W., born November 23, 1886; (3) Samuel C, born August 
19, 1889; (4) Frank G., born September 28, 1891 ; (5) Mary (6) Emma- 
twins, born March 19, 1892, died April 20 and April 23, 1892; (7) Perry 
Williams, born August 6, 1894; (8) Lillie G., born July 13, 1897; (9) 
Cora M., born May 8, 1903. 

The farm of John Edwards Jenkins is not quite so large as his 
brother's, but the land is of the best quality. Both of the brothers are 
scientific farmers and very prosperous business me'n. Neither of them 
are office seekers, but John E. has been a member of the County Court 
three terms. He received a good common school education, is a close 
student of current events, and with a trained mind, has been a ve'ry suc- 
cessful teacher. He has taught twenty-six terms of school. His work 
as a teacher has been good. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, of which he has been an official for many years. He is 
now and has been a class leader ten years, and has been 'Sabbath school 
supe'rintendent for about twenty years. Politically he is a Republican. 
His party has frequently urged him to run for the Legislature, but with- 
out gaining his assent. 

The farms of Charles Franklin and John Edward Jenkins are a part 
of the old Morgan Surve}^, — hence the name of Morgan's Glade. There' 
was a post office here for three-fourths of a century. 


One of the later, but not less prominent, farme'rs of Preston county, 
is Joseph T. Weltner of Brandonville, who came with his family 
to this place about twenty-four years ago. He is the son of George 
and Mary (Conn) Weltner of Monongalia county, West Virginia, and 
was born December 4, 1847. He was educated in the common schools, 
reared on a farm about two and a half miles from Stewartstown, 
and remained at home assisting his father until twenty-eight years of 
age. The farm was operated by his father and uncle, Sheliby Weltner, 
and consisted, all told, of about three hundred acre's. His father's 
family consisted of four brothers and two sisters, namely : Joseph T., 
Lydia, Elzy, Mattie, John, Jacob and George W., the youngest, named 
after his father. Of these children, John and Jacob are retired and live 
in Morgantown. Lydia is dead. Elzy died about two years ago. Hattie 
Delany lives at Smithfield, Pennsylvania. 

Preston County^ West Virginia 779 

September 2, 1880, Mr. Weltner married Nancy M., daughter of 
George D. and Minerva Heaton Moore of Fairchance, Pennsylvania. 
She is a descendant of Benjamin Moore, who came to Burlington, New 
Jersey, in colonial times. The fruits of this union were: George Clyde, 
born April 24, 1882, and named after his two grandparents. The second 
child was Edna Blanche, born October i, 1885, She is now in charge 
of the central 'phone office at Brandonville. Then came Paul, the 
youngest, born March 18, 1889. He is a student of the Physicians and 
Surgeons Medical College, Baltimore, Maryland. He graduates in 1915. 

August 24, 1912, George Clyde married Frances Laura, daughter of 
Ross Alvo and Mable E. Orcutt. They have one son, George Carleton, 
born March 3, 1913. Edna Blanche married W. L. Nieman and has one 
child, Donald Glenn. He' was born May 18, 1908. 

Mr. Waltner lived near Fairchance, Fayette county, Pennsylvania. 
He followed farming, and sometimes worked at the carpenter trade. 
After nine years' stay there, he came to Brandonville and settled on 
the farm he now owns — a tract of land consisting of about 105 acres. 
In 1905, he built his residence, and has added other improvements to 
the homestead since that time. He is about to retire from the more 
active pursuits of life. Mr. Weltner is a Democrat, but no office seeker. 
He is a trustee of the M. E. Church, and there being no Baptist church 
in Brandonville, the church in which he was raised, he worships with 
the Methodists. His wife was raised a Cumberland Presbyterian. 

George Clyde Weltner was educated in the colleges at Buckhannon 
and Shepherdstown of West Virginia. He followed surveying before 
he went to college, and was a member of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad 
corps of surveyors for that company. He has recently been on the 
Cheat River dams for the Pittsburgh Company. His wife's grandfather 
was Edward Dean Orcutt, a native of the state of Maine. He moved 
to Pennsylvania, where his son, Ross Alvo, was born in the county of 
Jefiferson, that state, on May 11, 1859. In 1893, h^ moved to Oakland, 
Maryland, then to Preston county in 1903, and is now living in Pennsyl- 
vania again. His mother was a Mrs. McCuIlough, a descendant of 
Betsy Ross, who made the original American flag. 

780 Preston County,, West Virginia 


Charles Mortimer Jackson, born April 21, 1878, at Kings- 
wood, is a son of Daniel Robinson and Rachel Gayner Martin 
Jackson, married March 22, 1877. The children of these parents 
are: C. M. Jackson; Hoy B., born May 21, 1880; Daniel A., 
October 21, 1881 ; Mildred M., May 6,1888; Vernon F., September 
21, 1890; Gertrude N., April 28, 1893; George D., April 29, 1895. 
Mr. D. R. Jackson was sheriff of the county at one time. Mr. 
C. M. Jackson was recorder of Kingwood four years, and a councilman 
one year. His business is that of tinner. He built his factory and shop 
in 1903. He married Miss Virginia Dare Brand, September 29, 1909. 
She was born April 17, 1876, at Reedsville, West Virginia, and is the 
daughter of William Harrison and Phoebe Jane (Gordon) Brand. Her 
father was a member of Company A, ist West Virginia Cavalry, and 
served from 1861 to 1865. Their children were: Floyd C. ; Cora L. Kis- 
ner; Anna E. Montgomery; L. Maude' Lewis; Hattie O. Morgan; Vir- 
ginia D. Jackson, and Vennie D. Childs. 

Mr. C. M. Jackson graduated from the Kingwood High School in 
1895, and followed various occupations before he settled down to his 
trade, that of a hardware merchant being one of them. He is a member 
of the Knights of Pythias, also of the Grand Lodge. 


Only about 90% of them succeed who venture into commercial busi- 
ness, but Hoy B. Jackson, merchant at Bre'tz, is doing a business there 
amounting to $40,000 annually, and his trade is still growing. He is 
the son of Daniel R. and Rachael (Martin) Jackson of Kingwood where 
he was born May 21, 1880. (See sketch of the Martin family.) His 
earlier life was spent in the schools of Kingwood, after which he' learned 
the carpenter trade. This avocation was followed three years, then 
life and industrial insurance was taken up for the Empire Casualty 
Company of Parkersburg, and for the American Insurance Company 
of Philadelphia, but in 1906 he changed his business again, this time 
taking a clerkship in a general store, where he is now, until 1909, when 
he took its management, which is still under his direction. He was 
appointed postmaster May i, 1906. 

Preston County, West Virginia 781 

October 4, 1906, Mr. Jackson was married to Edna, daughter of 
William L. Lenhart of Kingvvood, and to this union were born three 
children, one boy and two girls, namely : (i) James, born July 24, 1907; 
(2) Lucille, August 31, 1909; (3) Edna, October 12, 1912. 

Mr. Jackson is a member of the Knights of Pythias and Modern 
Woodmen. He is a member of the Elco Concert Band, and plays the' 
cornet and saxaphone. 


In 1783, a grant from the government was made to Godfrey Stemple 
of a tract of land of about 1,000 acres, near Aurora, the homestead being 
where Lewis Stemple now lives. Henry Lee was Governor of the State 
at that time, and the grant was No. 421. In 1784, Mr. Godfree Stemple, 
as the name was spelled, settled here' with his family from Frederick, 
Maryland, then a wilderness full of wild beasts and heavy timber. His 
three sons, David, Martin and John, aided in clearing the land and erect- 
ing a house, the first dwelling place being nothing but a canvas tent, 
and that was their habitation from the time of their arrival in the winter 
month of December until the log structure was put up. John Stemple 
married Sarah Boyles, and died al)out 1830 or 1832. Their children 
were : Margaret, Isaac, David, Susan, Christina, Sarah and Elizabeth. 
David was born in 1808, and died June, 1898. He married Susanna 
Lantz, November 17, 1835. She was born May 16, 1811, and died April, 
1903. They rebuilt the old house in 1868, now occupied by Roy Lantz, 
who married the great-great-granddaughter of Godfrey Stemple. 

The children of David and Susanna Stemple were as follows: (i) 
Harriet, born in 1837, died in 1863. (2) John H., born in 1839, died in 
December, 1904. In 1869 he married Rebecca Ann Shaffer, and they 
had five children: (a) Horace L., who married Retta Wilt; they and 
their three' children, Freda, John and Edna, live on a farm which is a 
part of the original tract; (b) Edgar C, married Laura Hess; they have 
two children, Marion and Lewis, and live in Fairmont, West Virginia; 
Mr. Stemple is a merchant; (c) George R., married Cora Anderson, who 
died in May, 1913; they have two children, Godfrey and Virginia; the 
little boy thus far being the only child named after the founder of the 
family ; Dr. Stemple is educated for a physician, but because of ill health 

782 Preston County, West Virginia 

is now retired and is the very efficient postmaster of Aurora; (d) Jesse 
L., married Jeckie Mason, and their two children are Clinton and 
Josephine; Mr. Stemple is a successful merchant in Aurora; (e) Ora 
is the youngest child, and she and her mother live' on the farm on which 
her father spent most of his life; it was a part of the Stemple tract. (3) 
Tenie was born in 1841. She is unmarried and lives with her brother, 
Lewis. (4) Lewis S. Stemple was born March 6, 1844, and reared on 
a farm. He was married December 25, 1878, to MoUie E. McCrum. 
She was born January 20, 1852, died December 22, 1881. The children 
born to this union were: (a) Daisy; (ab) Chester David, died June 2, 
.1884; Daisy is now the wife of W. R. Gorby of Oklahoma City; Mr. 
Stemple's residence where he now resides is where he moved soon after 
his marriage. (5) Eva Stemple was born in 1846. She was married 
to David Schrock, December 25, 1878, and lives on a farm near Eglon, 
West Virginia. They had six children, one dying in infancy; (b) 
Ernest, married Mayme Legge ; they have three children, Margaret, 
Ernestine and Rosaline; Mr. Schrock has a farm south of Aurora; (c) 
Maude, married to Ray Lantz, and now living in the' house where her 
mother was born; their children are Mabel and David; (d) Page, and 
(e) Scott, are unmarried, and both are teachers ; (f) George, married 
Nellie Winters ; they have one child, Virginia, and live on their farm 
near Eglon. (6) Jacob Stemple was born in 1849. ^^ 1876, he married 
Lydia Simon of Youngstown, Ohio. She died in 1891. To them was 
born one child, Sylvia, now married to A. Camden Wilt, a carpenter of 
Aurora. They have one child, Margaret. (7) David Conrad Stemple 
was born July 9, 1851. On September 26, 1880, he was married to Ida 
Trotter, born May 26, 1856, daughter of James and Elizabeth Stock 
Trotter, who are the parents of four sons and two daughters: Milo H. 
is identified with the Land Department at Washington, D. C. ; Charles 
F. is chief clerk to the First Assistant Postmaster General ; Frank B., 
the third son, is Dean of the Arts and Sciences and Professor of Latin 
in the' State University at Morgantown ; James R. is Professor of Law 
in that same institution, and Miss Jessie Trotter, the youngest of the 
family, formerly a teacher in the West Virginia Wesleyan College at 
Buckhannon, is now one of the teachers in the Morgantown High 
School. ^ 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. D. C. Stemple are as follows : — 
(i) Forrest W. ; (2) Rodney M. ; (3) Grover Dayton; (4) Mary Eliza- 
beth. Forrest W. took the degree of A. B. from the Morgantown State 

Preston County, West Virginia 783 

University in 1908, and is now completing the course of Master of Arts 
in the Agricultural College at Madison, Wisconsin. June' 12, 1909, 
he married Miss Grace Townsend, daughter of a minister of the M. E. 
Church at Huntington, West Virginia. Rodney took the degree of B.S., 
from the University at Morgantovvn in 1910. He 'became a traveling 
salesman for Heinz Pickle Company for a time, and is now superin- 
tendent of the ^oldwater Packing Company of Coldwater, Michigan. 
June 19, 1913, he married Miss Florence Warden, of Babylon, New 
York. Dayton died in childhood. Mary Elizabeth Stemple is complet- 
ing a course in Domestic Science at the Carnegie Institute, Pittsburg. 

The old Stemple homestead wiiere D. C. Stemple lives is a valuable 
tract of land, consisting of 226 acre's. He deals largely in cattle. Occa- 
sionally Mr. Stemple is nominated for some public office, but he cares 
little for politics. 


A full history of the Martin family in Preston county can be found 
in another part of this work. Philip, the grandfather of the subject of 
this sketch, was of German descent, and settled about two miles from 
Kingwood, on a farm since owned by Judge Dille. Their children were 
as follows: (i) John, who died about thirty-five years ago, about seventy 
years of age, at Gladesville. (2) Jacob, of Bruceton Mills, long since 
departed. (3) Susan, who married William Forman. (4) Margaret, who 
married William Snyder. They lived on Muddy Creek, but subsequently 
moved to Iowa. (5) Philip, the father of W. T. D. Martin. (6) Joseph, 
; (7) David, 

Philip Martin was born about four years before the War of 1812, 
and remembered seeing some of the soldiers of that war. He was born 
near Pleasantdale, on a farm adjoining the old Garner homestead, and 
raised a farmer. He attended faithfully to his duties as a voter, but 
was no politician. He was a devoted member of the Methodist church 
and an old-fashioned class leader of that society for eight or ten years. 
He married when twenty-five years of age, his wife being Nancy, 
daughter of Moses Beavers. The young couple took up their residence 
on the James Miller farm above Rowlesburg. He was a successful 
farmer, and later moved south of Kingwood, where he died in 1896, 

784 Preston County, West Virginia ' 

at the age of eighty-eight years, and was buried on the home place. 
His wife died September 30, 1868, and was buried on the home place. 
Their children were: (i)Mary Ann, who married Daniel Adams and 
moved to Tucker county, where she died in 1865; (2) Susan, who mar- 
ried George Adams, son of Daniel, and moved to Tucker county also ; 
(3) Samuel, who died at the age of sixty-five, at Kingwood, in 1899. 
H(; was Colonel of the 15th W. Va. Infantry, and was all through the 
war. His wife was Harriet J. Synder. (4) W. T. D., of whom mention 
will again be made. (5) . Philip B., died February 23, 1889, and was 
buried on the home farm. He married Retta Hammond, and to this 
union four children were born, namely: (i) Bessie, who is now the wife 
of George Barker, an engineer on the B. & O. Railroad, residing in 
Keyser, West Virginia; (2) Purley Theodore, who is now living in 
Ohio and is studying for the ministry ; (3) Ethel, who married Everett 
Mathews, an operator for the B. & O. Railroad, residing in Cumber- 
land, Maryland ; (4) Dora Malissa, who now lives in Keyser, West Vir- 
ginia. (6) Nancy Catherine, wife of Rev. W. D. Herndon. They reside 
in Buckhannon, West Virginia. Thier children are as follows : (a) 
Morgan, who is a traveling salesman ; (b) William Edward, a cashier 
in the Bank of Buckhannon ; (c) Beulah, wife of Clarence Bryant, all 
residents of Buckhannon, West Virginia. (7) Lydia E., wife of Henry 
Harriman. To this union seven children were born, as follows: (a) 
Minnie May, who departed this life about twenty years ago; (b) Dora 
Belle, wife of Robert Giaour, a farmer near Oakland, Maryland; (c) 
twins, who died in infancy ; (d) Philip Amos, a farmer who resides 
near Herring, West Virginia; (e) Addie, who died in infancy; (f) 
William Henry, a bookkeeper in Terra Alta Bank, West Virginia; (8) 
Sarah V., wife of Samuel Evans, who resides in Howard Cit}^ Michigan ; 
(9) Melissa M., wife of Henry Beckman, a farmer and stock dealer, who 
resides on a farm six miles from Oakland; (10) John A., who died when 
four years of age. 

William T. D. Martin was born January 17, 1844, on the old home 
place northwest of Kingwood. His educational opportunities were 
limited to two or three months schooling in the winter time during his 
earlier years only, but he has been a close student and has a remarkable 
memory. When eighteen years of age he enlisted in the army, becoming 
a member of the 6th W. Va. Infantry, and served to the end ofi the 
war, most of his time guarding on the B. & O. Railroad. On Mr. 
Martin's return home he married and lived first on a tract of land con- 

jl-E I'tv' '''vjKK. 



Preston County, West Virginia 785 

sisting of two hundred acres, about six miles from his birthplace. He 
stayed there from 1865 to 1888, then sold and removed to where he now 
lives, about two miles from Irona. The farm consists of one hundred 
and thirty acres of choice land, which he bought of Jamison Snyder, 
n excellent orchard of six hundred trees is on the place. The farm 
is adapted principally to the raising of produce. Mr. Martin deals to 
some extent in cattle, always interested in the best grades of stock only. 
On November 10, 1879, Mr. Martin was married to Mary E. Shahan, 
who was a daughter of Abraham Shahan, and from this union were 
born the following children: (i) Lloyd W., born September 6, 1871. He 
married Stella Conner and lives at Carnegie, Pennsylvania. They have 
one child, L'ucy. He is a railroad conductor. (2) Avis, born September 
15, 1873, Js the wife of C. A. Craig. (See history of Craig family.) 
(3) J. Guy, born March 5, 1876. He was educated at the Fairmont 
State Normal and taught school for several years. He is now at 
Phoenix, Arizona, on a homestead. (4) Lulu A., born November 16, 
1879, was educated at the Kingwood High School. She was a school 
teacher also. She is the wife of Norman Cale, a farmer. No children. 
(5) Sarah M., born July 16, 1882, remains at home. (6) Harry J„ 
born July 9, 1886. Hhe was educated in the Fairmont State Normal, has 
been teaching eight years, and is now carrying the mail on a rural route 
•from Tunnelton. Mr. Martin, following after his father, has always 
been interested in politics, but is no office seeker. He is devoted to 
church work and has been a clas sleader in the Methodist Society dur- 
ing the past eight years, and six years at one time before that. The 
Martins have all been good representatives of that old, industrious 
pioneer class of open-hearted farmers whose latchstring always hung 
out for the weary traveller and not infrequent passer-by to enter when- 
ever hungry or in need of water to drink — a class of old-timers that 
will some day be a thing only of the past, much to the disgrace of our 
boasted civilization. 


Among the progressive young men of Preston county may be men- 
tioned H. T. Hauger, deputy assessor and candidate for the county 
superintendency of schools at the coming primary election. 

Mr. Hauger was born January 22, 1881, and for a young man has 
held many positions of honor and trust. His earlier years were spent 

786 Preston County, West Virginia 

on the farm, then the common school education received during that 
time was supplemented b}- a normal course of several terms, after which 
he spent fifteen years in the school room as a teacher, all of which has 
fitted him well and thoroughly for the work of a superintendent of 
schools. A large experience has also been gained in other capacities. 
He was recorder of the town of Terra Alta since 1911. Has been mem- 
ber of that council since 191 3. Was assistant postmaster, 1903-04; was 
secretary of Brandonville & Terra Alta Telephone Company six years; 
secretary and manager of Aurora, Oakland and Terra Alta Telephone 
Company four years, and besides a mercantile experience of two years 
in a store at Guseman, has had other experiences that peculiarly fit 
him for an official in public life. 

Mr. Hauger is a son of William Joseph Hauger and Teresa L. 
Welch, and grandson of Francis Hauger, who located at Cuzzart about 
the close of the Civil War on a farm now^ owned by George Rodeheaver. 
Here a grist mill on Muddy Creek was set up and operated by him 
and his children until quite recently. The father of our subject was 
accustomed to haul the products of this mill to Brownsville, Pennsyl- 
vania, a business followed for many years in addition to work on the 
home farm. He died March 10, 1895, at the age of 48 years. By his 
wife he became the father of (i) Marshall Walter, now a farmer on the 
home farm. He married Maude Turney and has six children. (2) Mary 
Virginia, who married Harvey J. White. (3) Joseph Lloyd, who lives 
at Gary, Indiana. (4) Andrew Jackson, who died young. (5) Gilbert 
Clinton, who owns part of the home place. (6) Herbert Theodore, who 
married Flora Maude Walls, December 24, 1906; one son, James 
William, was born to this union. May 6, 1910; Mrs. Hauger is a daughter 
of J. H. and Phoebe King Walls, of Rockville. (8) Effie Estelle, who 

married Elmer Miller and lives near Terra Alta. (9) . (10) 

William Francis. (11) Sanford Earle. (12) Okey Ray. (13) Pearle, 
who married John Wiles and lives at Glade Farms. 


Benjamin Shaw, from Ireland, the first of whom anything can be 
learned in this country, was made a sheriff in one of the East Virginia 
counties by reason of his having been a justice of the peace longer than 
any other in his county. He had children : Edgar, Celia and William 

Preston County, West Virginia 787 

Samuel, the brother of Benjamin Shaw, settled near Little Sandy 
Creek, on the Scott farm, where Marshall Wolfe now lives. He owned 
about four hundred acres of land there. He married Elizabeth Miller 
and kept a tavern there, where he died at the age of seventy years. 
Their son, Alexander, became a very successful farmer before his death, 
which occurred at the age of sixty-five years. He owned a large farm 
near Kingwood. James, the father of Omer Y., and son of Samuel and 
Elizabeth, was born July 7, 1811. He married Catherine Cook, Feb- 
ruary 2-], 1834. She was born April 16, 1812. Their children were: 
(i) Samuel Harrison, born November 27, 1834; (2) Sarah Ann, born 
March 16, 1836; (3) James Milton, born July 15, 1838, died October 15, 
1841 ; (4) Ami Lucian, born July 30, 1840, died August 2"], 1847; (S) 
Benjamin Franklin, born October 19, 1841 ; (6) Elizabeth Jane, born, 
November 14, 1843; (7) Charles Grififin, born February 20, 1845; (8) 
Ashabel Skiles, born April 25, 1847; (9) Laodicia, born October 6, 1849; 
(10) Leroy, born November 9, 1857. The second wife of James Shaw 
was Mary Ann Tuttle. She was the daughter of Eli and Sophia Crutch- 
man Tuttle and was born September 7, 1838. The Crutchmans were 
Somerset county Dutch people. 

The children to this union were: (i) Cameron W., born x'Vugust 7, 
1865, died in 1888; (2) Omer Y., May 21, 1868; (3) Walter D., February 
II, 1874, and Georgiana Shaw, born October 3, 1879. 

Omer Y. Shaw was reared a farmer and is a speculator as well as 
an agriculturist. As a promoter he has been very enterprising and suc- 
cessful. Until thirty-six years old he lived on the old homestead at 
Rockville. Some four years ago he located where he now lives, but 
his real estate holdings are at different places and consist of valuable 
coal and timber lands. Like his father, he has been remarkablv self- 
reliant, and his returns based on good judgment have materialized 
favorably as a general thing. His father drove a six-horse team on 
the old National Pike at the age of sixteen years, making periodical 
trips to Old Baltimore. Omer Y. Shaw exercises his genius rather 
more than his physical strength in this money-making world of ours, 
and not without success. Instead of investing his money in bank 
stocks, insurance bonds, and like properties — unless rates paid are very 
high — he capitalizes on his own account, and has been singularly suc- 
cessful in that way. 

Mr. Shaw was married to Dora, daughter of William M. and Hester 
Jenkins Wolfe, on November 27, 1909. No issue. (See sketch of 
Jenkins family.) 

788 Preston County, West Virginia ' 

W. G. LAVELLE, A. M, LL. B. 
(This sketch contributed by W. Scott Garner.) 

WilHam Griffith Lavelle, a graduate of Rock Hill College and 
the law department of the West Virginia University, and now post- 
master at Tunnelton, was serving with distinction as a justice of the 
peace at Tunnelton when only twenty-seven years old. He is also one 
of the most gifted and promising of the younger members of the bar 
in Preston county. The only son of William J. and Susan A. (Griffith) 
Lavelle, he first saw the light of day at Tunnelton, August 15, 1883. 
His early studies were conducted in the public schools of his native 
village, and at the age of thirteen he entered Rock Hill College, EHicott 
City, Md., from which institution he was graduated in the class of 1904 
with the degree of A. B. He then took two years of the three-year 
course in the law department of the Georgetown University at Wash- 
ington, D. C, and completed his law studies at the West Virginia Uni- 
versity, Morgantown, W. Va., where in June, 1910, he received the 
degree of LL. B. In the same year he received the degree of A. M. 
from his old alma mater. Rock Hill College, where he had the honor 
of delivering the master's oration at the commencement exercises of 
that year. 

Returning to his native county immediately upon the completion 
of his education, he was admitted to the bar upon the motion of the 
Hon. William G. Brown, at Kingwood, in June, 1910, and at once located 
in Tunnelton for the practice of law. From the first he was extremely 
successful in all legal business committed to his care, and evinced a 
wide and deep knowledge of the law. In April, 1911, he was appointed 
by the County Court as a justice of the .peace for Kingwood district, 
to fill the unexpired term of Joseph A. Miller, resigned. 

During his administration of this office, which was a very trying one 
on account of the large construction work of the Baltimore & Ohio 
Railroad Company, then under way at Tunnelton, and the hundreds of 
foreign workmen employed, he proved himself a fearless prosecutor 
of all violators of the law. He never, however, permitted the processes 
of his court to border on persecution. Indeed, his administration of 
justice was so tempered with mercy and common sense that it won the 
praise alike of the general public, the attorneys at the bar and the county 
officials. The press of the county was also practically unanimous in 

Preston County, West Virginia 789 

commending the manner in which he conducted the business of his 
office, and his careful and accurate reports to the County Court. 

William G. Lavelle is a Democrat by inheritance, an orator by 
nature, and has a liberal endowment of that genuine wit so characteristic 
of the Celtic race. Alike at Rock Hill College, Georgetown University 
and the West Virginia University, he won first prizes in the oratorical 
arena— receiving a gold medal at Rock Hill, where his subject was, 
"Whither Are We Drifting?", and a cash prize of one hundred dollars 
at Georgetown, where he flayed organized wealth in a masterful dis- 
cussion of "Monopolies, Trusts and Combines"; and also a fifty dollar 
cash prize at the West Virginia University, where he ably maintained 
the affirmative in a debate on the "Popular Election of United States 
Senators." In 1910 he spoke to the old soldiers at Tunnelton camp- 
ground from the same platform with Attorney General Conley, and 
received an ovation testifying to the superiority of his address. In the 
Moorefield convention of the same year he had the honor of placing 
the Honorable William G. Brown before that body as a candidate for 
Congress, in what was acknowledged to be one of the most eloquent 
speeches made in the convention. After Mr. Brown's nomination, 
young Lavelle was in active charge of his headquarters for a time, and 
conducted the publicity bureau throughout the successful campaign 
that followed. He took an active part in the Democratic state conven- 
tion of 1912, at Huntington, where he served on the important com- 
mittee of resolutions and platform, and by his persistent eloquence suc- 
ceeded in placing a demand for a pure seed law in the party .platform — 
a measure which would be of untold benefit to the farmers of this state 
if enacted into law. He was also largely instrumental in securing the 
nomination of several candidates on the ticket, notably that of Ben. H. 
Hiner as a candidate for congressman-at-large — a gentleman who had 
long been his personal friend. 

On July 6, 1912, Mr. Lavelle was made the candidate of the Demo- 
cratic party of Preston county for the office of Prosecuting Attorney, 
and with his habitual energy at once plunged into an active campaign. 
Being unusually bright and intelligent, endowed by nature with a liberal 
share of old-fashioned commonsense, and equipped with the best train- 
ing that modern schools can give, he inaugurated a campaign that has 
never perhaps been equalled by any Democratic candidate in old 
Preston. He visited all parts of the county, making thirty-three set 
speeches, and daily conversing with all sorts and conditions of the great 

790 Preston CountY;, West Virginia 

common people. While he could not be expected to overcome the great 
Republican majority of 2,600, yet so effective was his whirlwind cam- 
paign that this majority was reduced to 1,300— cut squarely in half— 
and his reputation as a gifted orator was firmly established throughout 
the county of his birth. It had already been established among school 
men and poHtical leaders in West Virginia. Not even his political foes 
doubted his ability to successfully conduct the business of the Prosecut- 
ing Attorney's office, and his friends ,who are legion, regretted their 
inability to "give the young man a chance" to show the sterling qualities 
that are in him by serving his own .people in that important position. 
His brilliant campaign, in the face of insurmountable obstacles, crowned 
him with a reputation for ability and fearlessness that was in itself 
a victory, and gave him a permanent place wath the "unterrified" 
workers of the world — the men who do things. 

On March 30, 1913, Mr. Lavelle was called to Washington City, 
where he remained until August i of that year, in the employ of the 
United States Government. He then returned to his native state, and 
on August 4, 1913, took editorial charge of the "West Virginia Argus," 
at Kingwood — perhaps the best known and most widely circulated 
Democratic journal in northern West Virginia. His assumption of the 
editorial chair was hailed by a chorus of compliments from nearly the 
entire press of the state, and not a few newspapers beyond her borders 
joined in the grand acclaim. At the same time Mr. Lavelle opened a law 
office on Price street, Kingwood, in the Martin Building — one of the 
finest equipped modern office buildings in the county. 

In his religious affiliations Mr. Lavelle is a Catholic, and holds mem- 
bership in the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Grafton Lodge 
No. 308, and in the Knights of Columbus, Grafton Council N. 713. He 
is also a member of the National Greek Letter Fraternity, Phi Sigma 
Kappa, Delta Chapter, of the West Virginia University. 

On the I2th of November, 1913, Mr. Lavelle rounded out his career 
as a young man by taking to himself a better half, in the person of Miss 
Jessie E. Stephens, a brilliant and accomplished young lady of Wash- 
ington, D. C, at the Cathedral, in Baltimore, Md., the solemn ceremony 
being -performed by Rev. Father P. C. Gavin, Chancellor of the Balti- 
more diocese. 

On March 25, 1914, Mr. Lavelle's name was sent to the United States 
Senate by President Wilson for confirmation as postmaster for the town 
of his nativity. On the following day he was confirmed, and on April 

Cf)L. WILLI. \.\[ L I^.W'KLLR. 

T ! LD 



Preston County, West Virginia 791 

15, 1914, he was duly installed, under his commission, as postmaster 
at Tunnelton. 

(By W. Scott Garner.) 

No history of Preston county would be complete without a biograph- 
ical sketch of Colonel William John Lavelle, the grand old man of Tun- 
nelton. For forty years his home has been in the town now known 
as the coal center, though much of the time away attending to his duties 
as a trusted employee of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company. 

Colonel Lavelle is a native of Marion county, this state, having been 
born at Benton's Ferry, January 15, 1858. He is one of the three children 
and the only son of Owen and Catharine (Monahan) Lavelle. Like 
many of the successful men of this country, the Colonel 
secured his education mainly in the university of observation, experi- 
ence and hard knocks. This instruction, combined with personal appli- 
cation and an insatiable thirst for knowledge, has given him an intel- 
lectual equipment that no university or college could supply. In fact, 
so diversified is his acquaintance with the real thinkers and recognized 
authorities in the realms of economics, sociology and philosophy, that 
many of his most intimate friends will be surprised to learn that the 
only actual instruction he ever received in the class-room was the rudi- 
mentary knowledge gleaned in the free schools of his immediate neigh- 

While yet a mere lad, Colonel Lavelle became a mule driver in the 
once famous Americon mines owned and operated by James Otis Wat- 
son, of Fairmont, and later secured the position as messenger boy in the 
office of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company at Fairmont. While 
engaged in this service he mastered the art of telegraphy, and after an 
examination was sent to Tunnelton, April 15, 1876, at the age of 
eighteen, to establish a telegraph office for the B. & O. Company at that 
point. In this position he remained until 1885, when he was advanced 
to the responsible position of train dispatcher, a place he held without 
interruption for twenty-eight years. Considering the duration and res- 
ponsibility of this work on a great trunk line, his record is possibly 
unexcelled in the history of railroading. Mis first seivice as dispatcher 

792 Preston County, West Virginia 

was at Grafton from 1885 to 1896, when he was transferred to Cumber- 
land, Md., where he remained until 1899, and was again stationed at 
Grafton until 1901, being then returned to Cumberland, where he re- 
mained until 1912. In that year the company moved the division head- 
quarters to Keyser, W. Va., where the Colonel continued to serve as 
dispatcher until promoted to be division examiner, April, 1913, with 
headquarters at Cumberland. He is one of the best-posted and clearest- 
headed men in the railway service, and has been most relied on by the 
chief officials in times of great difficulty and trouble. 

On May 25, 188 1, Colonel Lavelle was united in marriage to Miss 
Susan Allie Griffith, a daughter of Hiram W. and Susan (Pierce) 
Griffith, of Grafton. To them three children were born: William 
Griffith (see his sketch) ; Ada Louise, who is now a second year student 
at the Peabody Conservatory of Music, in Baltimore, Md., where she is 
cultivating her wonderful talent for music, both vocal and instrumental; 
and one who died in infancy. The same year he was married Colonel 
Lavelle purchased a lot on what is now Boswell street and erected a 
house, which was destroyed by fire in June, 1905. In 1906 he built his 
present handsome and well-appointed home. From the time he estab- 
lished a home his family has been a fixture in Tunnelton and has served 
as the pole-star of his existence, no matter where life's duties have 
called him. 

If Nature ever created a politician, Colonel Lavelle is the man. He 
can follow the winding path of the average politician as easily and as 
surely as the American Indian can track his foe through the pathless 
forest. From the taxpayer's point of view, probably no man understood 
Governor Dawson's tax measures better than did Colonel Lavelle. As 
a writer under the pseudonym of "Rambler," he slashed at the vitals 
of that measure in a manner that made him greatly feared by his 
political opponents, yet no one could take umbrage at the lamb-like atti- 
tude of the pretended innocent and guileless writer. Having served with 
distinction as chairman of the Democratic Executive Committee of this 
county, he was urged to accept the chairmanship of the State Committee ; 
and again, in 1893, he was offered and urged to accept an appointment 
as United States marshal for the district of West Virginia — places which 
other men have tried to move Heaven and earth to obtain. The Colonel 
actually laughed at both propositions, declaring that he was "not an 
office-seeker — wanted nothing — would accept nothing — was in politics 
only for the fun there was in it!" To the officials at Washington this 

WILLIAM (L L.\\l<:i, 

Preston County, West Virginia 793 

presented an unique specimen of the "genus homo." It served, how- 
ever to convince all parties of his political sincerity and greatly aug- 
mented his influence in state politics besides widely extending his 
acquaintance with men of national reputation. However, in 1885, Gov- 
ernor E. W. Wilson appointed him, without knowledge on his part, a 
member of the Governor's staff, with the rank of colonel. This is how 
he acquired the popular rank of "Colonel," and is the only office eve;- 
accepted or held by Mr. Lavelle. In 1908 he was urged to become a con- 
didate for Governor of the State, and the mention of his name inspired 
a hearty response from both the toilers, of whom he was one, and the 
leaders of his iparty in many parts of the state. The boom assumed 
such proportions that the Colonel thought it necessary to apply the 
"extinguisher," and he therefore quietly ehminated himself. He has 
always been a sufferer from the malady of modesty. 

While yet a young man Colonel Lavelle recognized in the press one 
of the greatest educational factors in America, and early began con- 
tributing to the local newspapers. These letters at first consisted 
mainly of news items and observations on local politics, but it was not 
long until editors began to recognize the political insight displayed in 
these articles and in some cases used them as editorials. This, of course, 
pleased the author and encouraged him to broaden his field of endeavor 
and widen his acquaintance with local, state and national (politics. 
Finally, when J. Ed. Kildow purchased the "West Virginia Argus" at 
Kingwood, he made the Colonel political editor of that paper, and while 
occupying that position Colonel Lavelle gave the "Argus" such prestige 
as is seldom enjoyed by a county newspaper, making it in fact as well 
as in name a state newspaper of the first class. When Kildow disposed 
of the "Argus'' Colonel Lavelle ostensibly severed his connection with 
the paper, but for twenty years continued to contribute to its columns. 
In the meantime he contributed largely to the state press on political 
and general subjects, with a vigor which won him the reputation among 
politicians and people as a writer of unusual skill and unquestioned 

Colonel Lavelle is distinguished for his affability and kindly manner. 
He is a perfect type of the true gentleman and extremely popular wher- 
ever known. Yet deep down in his nature there is a tint of the Red 
Indian. He never forgets a favor nor an injury. He is tolerant and 
broad-minded, and would far sooner suffer an injury than inflict one. 
While he has a fine sense of humor and a large share of the proverbial 

794 Preston County, West Virginia 

Irish wit, he likewise possesses a keen appreciation of the pathos of life 
and a quick sympathy with suffering of every kind. But to see the 
Colonel at his best you must see him in his home, in the bosom of his 
devoted family, and this will complete the impression you have already 
formed, that Colonel W. J. Lavelle is one of Nature's noblemen. 


This Brown family, with many representatives living in West Vir- 
ginia at this time, is truly among the illustrious and first families of 
Virginia, as the records show they were inhabitants of Virginia in the 
early years of the seventeenth century, about 1632. Jeft'erson Slidell 
Brown, a resident of Kingwood, West Virginia, is a lineal descendant 
of William Brown, of Prince William county, Virginia, whose name 
is mentioned in Hotten's "List of Pilgrims to America," under date of 
February 16, 1632. The name of William Brown is mentioned also in 
King James I's time, in the second charter to the treasurer of the Vir- 
Comipany, dated May 23, 1609. William Brown was a burgess for 
Surrey county in the Virginia Assembly in 1660. 

(I) The earliest ancestors of whom there is any definite informa- 
tion was William Brown, who purchased lands of Leonard Barker, in 
Stafford county, Virginia, deeds bearing date of April 12 and April 13, 
1726. This was for a tract of land on Powell's Run, then Stafford, but 
now Prince William county, Virginia. The deed of this tract of two 
hundred and twelve and three-fourths acres was under date of December 
29, 1732, to William Brown, Jr. 

(II) William (2), son of William (i) Brown, was born between 
1724 and 1729, died January, 1807. About the year 1756, or 1757, he 
married Elizabeth Buckner. Among their children was Thomas. (See 

(III) Thomas, son of William (2) and Elizabeth (Buckner) Brown, 
was born September 7, 1760, died in August, 1844. He was a soldier 
in Captain John Britt's company, under Colonel William Lucas, of the 
Virginia troops, and marched South, joining Colonel Greene's army in 
South Carolina. He was twice on duty at the celebrated battle of the 
Cowpens, South Carolina, January 17, 1781. On pages 85 and 86 of 
"Safford's Records of the Revolutionary War," Captain William Brown, 
of Colonel Charles Harrison's regiment of artillery, is mentioned on the 

Preston County, West Virginia 795 

payroll, under date of December 26, 1780, at which time he called for the 
.pay of his company, which then amounted to $15,100. It is supposed 
that this William Brown was the father of Thomas Brown now under 
consideration. In 1832 Thomas Brown received a pension, by act of 
Congress, as evidenced by the records of the Pension Office at Wash- 

Thomas Brown married, October 20, 1785, Anna, daughter of George 
and Mary (Byrne) Ash, and lived for a time near what is now 
Rectortown, in Fauquier county, Virginia. April 2, 1803, an inventory 
of his possessions was taken, which showed that he owned eight slaves 
about sixteen years of age, four slaves about twelve years of age, and 
four horses. The year before this inventory was taken, through Colonel 
John Fairfax, he purchased five hundred and seventy-eight acres of land 
of William McClery, of Morgantown. This land is situated nine miles 
west of Kingwood, West Virginia, and is now known as the "Stone 
House" property. In the spring of 1805 Thomas Brown moved to this 
place, and the year afterwards his wife Anna died, on May 4, 1806. 
Thomas Brown is described as a man rather small in stature, but of 
extra sound body and healthy; very kind to his servants and negro 
slaves, as well as to his dogs and horses. He disinherited his son, John 
Buckner, because he whipped a slave against his orders. The negro 
had run away, but had returned of his own accord. The children of 
Thomas and Anna (Ash) Brown were: Elizabeth, John Buckner (of 
whom further), George, Lydia, Samuel Byrne, William, Mary Ann, 
Thomas Francis (of whom further). 

(IV) John Buckner, son of Thomas and Anna (Ash) Brown, was 
born January 28, 1788, in Prince William county, Virginia. In the spring 
of 1805 he removed with his father's family to the "Stone House" prop- 
erty, above mentioned. In 1811 he journeyed westward to Wayne 
county, Ohio, and in the fall of 1813 removed with his family to that 
state. He died at the town of Shreve, Wayne county, Ohio, September 
15, 1855. In 1810 he married Mary Morgan, who lived on the east side 
of Cheat River, near Kingwood. She was the daughter of Hugh 
Morgan, a pioneer of Preston county, and was born May 12, 1790, died 
July 12, 1850. She was the fourth child in a family of ten children. 

(IV) Thomas Francis, son of Thomas and Ann (Ash) Brown, was 
born May 4, 1801, died May 4, 1843, in Virginia. He was only four 
years old when the family crossed the mountains from Prince William 
county to Preston county, and five years old the day his mother died. 

796 Preston County, West Virginia 

His father gave him the best schooling the country then afforded and 
during his youth sent him to some of the better school? in the eastern 
part of Virginia. He became a quite noted teache/ in Monongalia and 
Preston counties, and was long remembered because of his beautiful 
penmanship and fine scholarship. Later he became deputy sheriff of 
Preston county, and was noted for his readiness in preparing legal in- 
struments. He married Elizabeth Zinn, who lived on the old Gandy 
farm, near Gladesville. She was born October 17, 1810, and died March 
II, 1851, of consumption, as did her husband. Six children were born 
to them, who by the will of Thomas Brown, the grandfather, received 
in 1884, half of the original "Stone House" estate. Thomas F. Brown, 
it is said, was one of the most courteous, affable men of his day. 
Children: (i) Adaline, born June 9, 1831, and died June 13, 1868, at 
Independence, Preston county. West Virginia; married William J. 
Morgan. (2) Buckner, born November 6, 1832, died June 24, 1877; 
married December 29, 1853, Jane Freeburn. (3) William T., born 
January 7, 1835; married (first), March 6, 1862, Sarah C. Hamilton, who 
died June 29, 1875; married (second), November 20, 1877, Margaret C. 
Swindler, now living in Grafton, West Virginia. (4) Charles Mercer, 
of whom further. (5) Virgil S., born October 15,, 1838, died October 
18, 1896; married, October 26, 1870, Sarah Jenkins, born January 17, 
1848. (6) Chloe N., born August 5, 1849, died and was buried at Inde- 
pendence, October, 1865, unmarried. 

(V) Charles Mercer, fourth child of Thomas Francis and Elizabeth 
(Zinn) Brown, was born January 29, 1837, died November 26, 1868. He 
became a bright and energetic lawyer and engaged in the active practice 
of law at Harrisville, Ritchie county, West Virginia. His death was 
caused by hemorrhage of the lungs, caused by contracting a severe cold. 
Politically he voted the Democratic ticket, and in religious faith was 
one of the Presbyterian deonmination. He married Harriet Virginia 
Fairfax, of the well-known Virginia family. In their family the births 
and marriages were on noted days of the year: His wife w-as born July 
4, 1840, daughter of Franklin B. F. Fairfax, and granddaughter of Colonel 
John Fairfax, of Virginia, who came to Preston county from eastern 
Virginia in 1790. Colonel John Fairfax had been the superintendent 
of Washington's Mt. Vernon estates ; he represented Monongalia in the 
House of Delegates, and in the year of Thomas Brown's arrival was 
sheriff of the county. Besides being born on Independence Day, Harriet 
V. Fairfax was united in marriage with Charles N. Brown on Wash- 

Preston County, West Virginia 797 

ington's Birthday, February 22, 1861. His eldest child, Jefferson 
Slidell, was born November 28, 1861 ; her second child, Benjamin Loid, 
March 17, 1863, which was St. Patrick's Day. By her second marriage 
to Charles R. Morgan, of Marion county, in 1872, she had a daughter, 
May Fairfax, her youngest child, born on May Day, 1874. She died 
December 27, 1897. 

(VI) Jefferson Slidell, son of Charles Mercer and Harriet Virginia 
(Fairfax) Brown, was born at the old Fairfax Manor House, erected 
by his great-grandfather. Colonel John Fairfax, in 1818, situated two 
miles west of Kingwood, West Virginia. He received his education, 
beginning with the common schools, after which he taught school five 
years in Preston county, after his graduation from the Cleveland Col- 
lege, Ohio. He then served as clerk and secretary to the board of 
directors of the State Institution for the Insane, at Weston, West Vir- 
ginia. Having already determined upon becoming a lawyer, he re- 
signed his position; but things frequently change one's plans for life, 
and such was the case with Mr. Brown, who purchased the "Argus," 
at Kingwood, in 1889, and he has ever since been at its helm. He is a 
brilliant, forceful writer, and his editorials are widely read and copied. 
He also contributes for other publications. Politically he is a Democrat, 
and his party, knowing his capability, has kept him constantly in their 
service. He was chairman of the Democratic Committee sixteen years ; 
He served on judicial. Senatorial, Congressional and State committees. 
He was twice a candidate for state senator. In April, 1893, he was ap- 
pointed postmaster of Kingwood and served over four years. In 1896 he 
was a delegate for West Virginia to the National Convention at Chicago 
for the nomination of William Jennings Bryan, and subsequently served 
eight years as a member of the board of regents of the State School for 
the Deaf and Blind, at Romney, West Virginia, He also served as presi- 
dent of the State Editorial Association five terms, which was the longest 
ever served by any one man. He positively declined another term. He 
served as captain of Company G in the National Guards, having had 
many an exciting experience, and was called out on two occasions to 
suppress mob violence. On one occasion his company was ordered to 
Charleston by the Governor to guard a negro on trial for rape on a 
white woman. The company succeeded in suppressing the violence of 
a mob composed of five hundred men who attempted to storm the jail 
one night and lynch the negro. Hard and unpleasant as was the task, 
the Captain at once arrested the leaders of the mob, one by one, until 

798 Preston County, "West Virginia 

he had fourteen of them in jail, by which time the mob was quitted 
down, and all was done without the shedding of blood. The negro was 
afterward tried by a fair and impartial jury, was sentenced to death 
by the court and properly executed. Mr. Brown is socially connected 
with about every order calculated to better the conditions of his fellow- 
men. Among these may be mentioned the Masonic, Odd Fellows and 
Knights of Pythias fraternities. 

On October 15, 1902, Mr. Brown married Stella Maud, daughter of 
Captain Job W. Parsons, who served in the Confederate army under 
General Robert E. Lee. Children : Fairfax, born September 21, 1903, 
Hazel Ewing, born June 25, 1905; Keith Parsons, born January 19, 1907; 
Leland Dickson, born March 15, 1909; Lynden Bonn, born June 2, 191 1. 


The Waddell family, though small, desrves a creditable mention in 
the history of the county in which one might almost say the family was 

The head of this branch of an old Virginia family, Richard Bona- 
parte Waddell, was born in Frostburg, Maryland, September 14, 1837. 
He was the son of John Matthew Waddell and Sophia Fogle Waddell, 
who had emigrated to that place from Virginia a few years before. Ow- 
ing to a family estrangement, John Waddell never returned to his birth- 
place. As his interests broadened in his new home, he ceased all com- 
munication with the remainder of the family, and consequently lost all 
accurate record of the family history. 

Almost the only communication the pioneers ever held with their 
relatives in Virginia was when their son, who had been named Richard, 
was five or six years old. At that time David Waddell sought out his 
brother John and paid him a long visit. David Waddell was an ardent 
admirer of Napoleon, and insisted upon inserting "Bonaparte" into his 
young nephew's name. This in itself was suf^cient to make any boy in 
young Richard's place wish he had never seen his esteemed uncle. 
When that uncle called him "Bony," the boy was surely excusable for 
wishing he might never see Uncle David again. 

When Richard Waddell was seven or eight years old, his parents 
moved into what is now Preston county. They moved about consider- 

Preston County, West Virginia 799 

ably, but finally settled near Brandonville. There John Waddell worked 
at his trade, shoemaking, till his death. He was declared one of the most 
skillful craftsmen of his day. Besides his trade, he could turn his hand 
to any useful device emergency demanded. 

For a number of years after the death of his father, Richard Waddell 
made his home with the family of Mr. William Hagans. The rule of 
this home was "early to bed and early to rise," a rule that was 
very hampering to young Waddell's social tendencies. But he dutifully 
marched off to bed at the appointed hour every night, and not until 
several months had passed did Mr. Hagans learn that his ward was in 
the habit of slipping away after the rest of the family had retired, and 
circulating among his kindred spirits in the village. 

For a while it puzzled Mr. Hagans to know how the boy got out of 
the house, but rising earlier than usual one morning, he found a stout 
pole leaning against the wall under the boy's ber-room window. The 
mystery was solved. E>ut the next night when the young reveller re- 
turned from his nocturnal wanderings, his improvised ladder was not 
to be found. He spent the night — what little was left of it — in the hay 
loft. The matter was never mentioned between them, but Mr. Waddell 
never forgot the trick Mr. Hagans had played on him, and often told it 
to his own children. 

On Aipril ii, 1858, Richard Waddell married Lucy We3'ant, daughter 
of John and Susan Fichtner Weyant. The Weyant family — unlike the 
Waddell family — was reasonably large, consisting of : Katherine, who 
married David Shaffer, and with him lived the greater part of their 
lives in Preston county; Margaret, who died in early girlhood; Matilda, 
who married Felty Shaffer and lived and died in Fayette county, Penn- 
sylvania; Ellen, who married John Spindler and with him lived almost 
all their lives in Preston county; twins, Elizabeth, who married Jeffer- 
son Rhodes and lived in Somerset county, Pennsylvania, and Philip 
Henry, who died young; and Lucy Anne, who married as before stated 
and spent her life near Brandonville. Although the five Weyant girls 
each reared a good-sized family of energetic, industrious oft'spring, the 
family name, so far as their branch of the family is concerned, became 
extinct with the death of Philip Henry. 

To Richard and Lucy Anne Weyant Waddell were born seven 
children, of whom three died in infancy. Those who survived are: Jennie, 
Nancy J., Margaret Lynne and Charles Walter. Jennie became Mrs. 
Marshal Benson. To them were born seven children, as follows: 

800 Preston County, West Virginia 

Charles Albert, Wilbur Harold, James Richard, Erroll Clyde, Bruce 
Emmens, Meta Adaline and Lucy Edna. Nan married M. F. Chorpen- 
ning- and became the mother of nine children, of whom the following 
eight are living: Monroe Oscar, Olonzo Jay, Walter Elmo, Lloyd Sher- 
man, Homer Irion, Henry Ward, Creed McKinley and Lucy Ellen. 

Margaret Lynne graduated from the Mount Carroll (Illinois) Semi- 
nary (now the Frances Shimer School) and took her A. B. at the West 
Virginia University. She has been one of the leading educators in this 
section of the state for sixteen years, having taught in all grades from 
the rural schools to the normal schools. For the last nine years she has 
been engaged in normal school work — four years at Glenville as general 
assistant, and five at Shepherd College in charge of the department of 
English. For the past two years she has spent her summers in doing 
graduate work in Columbia University. 

Charles Walter took his A. B. at West Virginia University and 
taught Greek and Latin in the Fairmont State Normal School. When 
he took charge of this position he was the youngest instructor engaged 
in normal school work in the state, being barely twenty. In 1907 he re- 
ceived his M. D. from Howard Medical School. Soon after his gradua- 
tion he began the .practice of medicine in Fairmont. He married Myrtle 
De Vene Shaw, a woman of remarkable musical ability. Dr. Waddell 
has bought property in Fairmont and made an attractive home for his 
wife and two little girls, Jean Shaw and Mary Anne. As a physician 
he has been exceedingly popular and successful. 

To return to the main subject of the sketch, Richard Waddell, and 
follow his career, we find that for some time he served in the Union 
army, and on April 19, 1862, has was given a commission as captain in 
the One Hundred Fourth Regiment of the Tenth Brigade, third divi- 
sion of the brigade militia, signed by Governor Pierpont. He was after- 
ward appointed third sergeant of Company L, Sixth Regiment, West 
Virginia Volunteer Cavalry. Another appointment was as quartermaster 
sergeant of Company E, Sixth Regiment, West Virginia Volunteer 
Cavalry, stationed at Fort Laramie, Nebraska. He was honorably dis- 
charged there May 2, 1866. It was while convalsecing from a fever in 
the army hospital at Fort Laramie that he formed a friendship with the 
Indian, Chief Spotted Tail. One of Miss Lynne Waddell's most 
cherished possessions is a small bead kinnikinic pouch given to Captain 
Waddell by Chief Spotted Tail. Dr. Charles Waddell has a large Indian 
pipe procured from the same source. 

Preston County, West Virginia 801 

Richard Waddell held various offices of trust in his county. As a 
public official he was safe and conservative, and looked well to the in- 
terests of his constituents. He was a kind and obliging neighbor, though 
extremely fond of his joke now and then. 

For years he delighted in playing harmless jokes on his neighbor, the 
widow of one of his superior officers in the army. A favorite jest was 
his request each spring for the privilege of tapping a row of unusually 
fine sugar trees that stood in front of her house. The little woman 
always emphatically refused. Great was her indignation one morning 
—April first, it might be mentioned— when she darted out (she always 
moved as if she had been shot out of a gun), armed with a broom to 
sweep ofT every suggestion of dust on her sidewalk. For a moment she 
gazed fairly spell-bound. Eeach of her precious trees had two or three 
spiles in it with crocks under them to catch the saccharine liquid. Her 
anger knew no bounds and she began to jerk furiously at the spiles. 
She found them to be only elder stems tied to the trees with black' 
thread. The crocks were mostly bottomless ones gathered from the 
garbage heap. A cheerful "ha-ha" from across the fence readily in- 
formed her to whom she was indebted for the joke. 

When anyone got the better of him in a joke he was usually game, 
no matter how much the joke hurt. Here is one instance, however, 
when he lost his temper over the trick played. An old German walked 
into the store one morning when Mr. Waddell was unusually busy. 
Without waiting his turn, the old fellow held up a young chicken and 

"Mr. Vaddell, vat you bay for sich ghicken like dot?" 
Mr. Waddell, annoyed at the unseemly haste of his Teutonic cus- 
tomer, glanced up carelessly and said, indifferently, "Oh, about fifteen 

"I take him," said Mr. Dutchman. "I kotch him in your hen yart." 
After diving into a veritable bottomless pit of a pocket, he tossed a 
dime and a nickel on the counter and hobbled out. The fowl was one 
of Mr. Waddell's carefully bred Plymouth Rocks, the eggs for which 
had cost him a fancy price. When he realized the trick, he said a few 
words not found in the International Dictionary, and it was not quite 
safe for seveeral days to ask him the price of young chickens. 

Richard Waddell was endowed with an intellect that would have 
made it possible for him to attain almost any renown the most ambitious 
could crave had his early education been systematic and complete. Un- 

802 Preston County, West Virginia 

erring in his judgment, logical in his reasoning, and upright in his con- 
duct, he made himself almost indispensable in his own community. 
Even with his meager education "he could," as one of his neighbors 
said, "fix up a deed or a will so safe and fast that all the lawyers in 
Christendom couldn't budge it." Half the people in his neighborhood 
went^o him for legal advice rather than to a lawyer. 

His mechanical skill was little less marked than his judgment in 
legal matters. This talent was no doubt transmitted to him from hiS; 
father, John Waddell, whose mechanical bent has been mentioned. 
Until within the last few years before his death, almost every piece of 
machinery in the neighborhood was wheedled into obedience by Richard 
Waddell's skillful touch. If he had been well paid for all the useful 
service rendered he would have been wealthy, but he did his "thanky 
jobs" freely and uncomplainingly. 

He never approved of secret orders. For a while he took a great 
interest in the G. A. R., but in later years he lived a very retired life. 

"There'll be more than one miss 'Uncle Dick,' " said a neighbor when 
he learned of the death of Richard Waddell at his home in Brandonville, 
early on Sunday morning, February 24, 1907. This brief encomium not 
only voiced the sentiment of the community in which he lived, but of 
all who knew him. 


The Stones of Preston county came from Hanover county, Virginia. 
There were three brothers, all married when they came. Andrew C, 
a soldier in the War of 1812, came soon after he left the army. He 
settled in the vicinity of Reedsville, and died on a farm west of King- 
wood. The farm is now known as the James A. Brown farm. John 
R. and Clarborne W. Stone settled on Greens Run. John R. Stone was 
the father of William, who lived on the west side of Kingwood. He 
died in 1883 at sixty-five years of age: 

Charles C. Stone owns and occupies the old Rodeheaver homestead. 

He is the son of William J. and Louisa (Trowbridge) Stone, and 
was born Decem'ber 15, 1851. His whole life has been spent on a farm, 
and in teaming. He owned and handled the team that brought the 
Soldier's Monument from the depot to its place in the public square, 
and all heavy work of that kind in and around Kingwood generally fell 

Preston County, West Virginia 803 

to him. Besides hauling a number of the heaviest monuments from 
Tunnelton to the cemetery, it being before the railroad was built, he 
also hauled the six-ton globe safe for the Kingwood Bank. 

Mr. Stone was educated in the common schools of Kingwood and in 
the Kingwood Academy. When thirty years of age, he married Miss 
Amanda Bishop, of this county. She was a daughter of Adam Bishop. 
When eleven years of age the mother, Mrs. Carroll Bishop, died, 
after which her daughter lived with her grandfather, James Carroll, of 
Kingwood. Mr. Carroll was proprietor of a hotel known as the Van- 
kirk property. It stood where the Soldier's Monument now stands in 
the Public Square. Mr. and Mrs. Stone, after their marriage, moved 
to the farm they now own. They built the house in 1893, the barn in 
1904, two substantial buildings which, with one hundred and twelve 
acres of land on which they stand, makes a valuable homestead. It is 
one of the oldest and most desirable farms in Preston county, very con- 
veniently located near Kingwood, on the road to Albright. 

The oldest child born to this union was Pearl, now the wife of Bruce 
Morgan, of Kingwood. He is a farmer. Their eldest child was named 
Charles Marshall, after his two grandparents. (2) Laura, married Ed- 
ward Orr, a carpenter and contractor of Kingwood. They have four 
children. (3) Alma, married Arch Schaefifer, assistant cashier of the 
Kingwood National Bank. They have one child, Lillian. (4) Ned, 
married Jennie Borgman, and is in the tinplate business at Morgantown. 
(5) Merle, died when sixteen years of age. (6) Addie, the youngest 
child, married Forest W. White, of Kingwood. He owns and runs a 
livery stable. 

Mr. Stone is a good farmer, keeps some blooded stock, and knows 
how to till his ground to the best advantage. 


From a list of names recorded in the county of York, Pennsylvania, 
it is evident that the Dills were in this country prior to the Revolution, 
but the only reliable information we have of the Reedsville family is 
that Michael Dill, an educated German scholar, came to America 
from the fatherland and located in Buflfalo, New York. He owned and 
operated a distillery there during the War of 181 2, and kept his books 
in both English and German, as occasion required. By his wife, Cath- 

804 Preston County, West Virginia 

erine, he had three daughters, Polly, Susanna and Rosanna ; and two 
sons, Henry and David, all of whom were born in Buffalo, then so small 
a place that Mr. Dill sold one lot of five acres, now in the heart of the 
city, for five ($5.00) dollars. 

David, the youngest son, was born in 1805, and when he was a lad 
of eight or ten years of age, the Indians — incited by the British troops — 
committed various depredations against the inhabitants of the young 
settlement. Finally the Dill family were attacked, the inmates fleeing 
from the house, while their home was being burned to the ground. In 
the flight, Mrs. Catherine Dill lost an eye, when seeking safety in the 
bramble bushes, and one of the daughters came near being captured in 
trying to save a loaf of bread. In order to secure provision against 
want, the girl seized the bread but had to throw it over the fence, where 
sinking into the deep snow, it was lost. For a time the family camped 
at Black Rock, but later took up their march for Western Pennsylvania, 
went part of the way by raft, and located at Killbuck, about fifteen miles 
from where Pittsburgh now is. Here they set up housekeeping on a 
seventy-acre farm, w^here Michael Dill passed away July 9, 1858, 
about ninety-eight years of age. Catherine, his wife, died June 4, 1856, 
in the eightieth year of her age. 

David Hill was reared a farmer and followed the cooper trade. He 
married Elizabeth Means, who died December 31, 1882, at the age of 
eighty-two years and two months. By her he had seven children, 
namely: (i) Henry, born April 11, 1830; (2) Margaret, born June 11, 
1831 ; (3) Thomas, born April 26, 1835; (4) John, born July 4, 1837; 
(5) Samuel A., born November i, 1839; (6) Elizabeth, born November 
22y, 1841 ; (7) David, born January 25, 1847. 

During the year of the great fost, in 1859, a visit to Virginia was 
made, and the year following, David and Henry Dill, with their 
children, moved to this state. David located on a farm now owned by 
Mr. Hoffman, near Reedsville, and Henry settled in Wood county, on 
the Kanawha, in the southern part of the state. Afterwards he went 
to Dayton, Ohio, but finally took up a permanent residence in Texas, 
where his two sons had gone before him. 

David Hill and his sons, after their arrival at their new place of 
abode, scored logs, and soon built themselves a cabin, part of which still 
stands. Here the father lived until his death, farming and coopering 
for a living until May 11, 1893, when he too passed to. the great beyond. 
Of his children, Henry and David were blacksmiths. John, Henry and 

Preston County, West Virginia 805 

Samuel became veteran soldiers in the late Civil War, Samuel serving 
the longest, having enlisted in the 3rd W. Va. Infantry in 1861, and 
afterwards in the 6th W. Va. Cavalry, where he remained until mus- 
tered out in 1865. John enlisted August 15, 1862, in the 14th W. Va., 
and served until mustered out at the close of the war, in 1865. Both 
John and Samuel had their hearing affected by the bursting of shells 
overhead, the shock proving almost fatal, especially in the case of Samuel. 
It was at the battle of Lynchburg that John Dill's hearing was im- 
paired. Margaret and Elizabeth were their only sisters. Margaret 
married George W. Hartzell; both are now dead. Elizabeth first mar- 
ried James Ashburn, then married William Kemer. 

After his return from the army, John Dill began housekeeping 
in a part of the old home, adding to the building in 1867, and thereafter 
as necessities required. Before going into the. service he married Mary 
'Menear, daughter of Lemuel B., March 17, 1862, and the births from 
this union were as follows: George G., born August 3, 1863; Virginia, 
May 4, 1865; Izah B., March 15, 1870; Harvey E., January 28, 1872; 
Susan F., December 20, 1873; Lona Hannah, November 11, 1875; 
Lemuel Forest, November 28, 1878. The mother was born August 31, 
1842, and departed this life June 4, 1904. 

Samuel A. Dill lived on a portion of the home farm until 1908, when 
he moved to his present residence in Reedsville, where he now lives a 
quiet and retired life. 

On March 5, 1868, he married Margaret, daughter of John an^ 
Mahala Menear, of Preston coimty, and from that marriage 
came twelve children, as follows: (i) Oliver Alzo, born Feb- 
ruary 7, 1869. He married Hattie Reid. (2) Lura Ella, born 
July 4, 1870. (3) Agnes Belle, born February 13, 1872, wife 
of John Gross, a carpenter in Reedsville. They have three 
children : George, Gertrude, and Virginia. They were married April 
13, 1889. (4) Bertie May, born September 12, 1873, married William 
Wilson and reside in Morgantown. They had one child, Mary, born 
on St. Patrick's Day, 1912. She died September 27, 1912. (5) James 
Fleming, born May 3, 1875. He married Mae Harr, a native of Marion 
county. They have one daughter, Eleanor, now five years of age. Mr. 
Dill is a farmer, but lives in Reedsville. (6) Grace Blanche, born 
November 4, 1877. October 9, 1902, she married John T. Cleaver, a 
carpenter of Reedsville. They have three children : Gerald, Ruth, and 
Catherine. (7) David G., born May 8, 1879. He is a carpenter. He 

806 Preston County, West Virginia 

married Isa Dixon, October 17, 1906. (8) John William, born March 
15, 1880. His wife was Miss Bertie Robinson. They have two children, 
Robert and Lloyd. (9) Samuel R., born November i, 1887, is a farmer. 
He married Agatha Dixon, December 2.^, 1908. They have two children, 
Kenneth and Paul. (10) Eva Margaret, born May 4, 1890. (11) Curtis 
Leonard, born December 15, 1891, is a bookkeeper for the Cascade Coal 
Company. He married Jessie Lucille Pell. They have two children, 
Frank and Margaret. (12) Percy George, born October 24, 1893; is in 
the army at Fort Totten, New York. 

The Dill brothers have taken but little interest in professional 
politics. Samuel Dill was justice of the peace at one time, and served 
one term as a member of the County Court. Both John and Samuel 
begin to show their hardships in the war, but their lives are placid ones, 
and having been well spent, nothing but sweet remembrances are left 
behind them. 


There are at least seven distinct connections of the Miller family 
in Preston county. One of the ancestors of this family was Henry 
Miller, an emigrant from Germany, who came to Berks county Pennsyl- 
vania. His son, Joseph N. Miller, born in 1809, was brought by his 
mother and aunt, after the death of the husband, to ^Somerset county, 
Pennsylvania, about 1830. He came to Preston county, West Virginia, 
where he died at 92 years of age. He located first at Hazelton, then 
moved to Morgan's Glade, where he was a storekeeper, and postmaster, 
and blacksmith. He was an educated man, and justice of the peace 
many years. It was Joseph N. Miller who named the place Morgan's 
Glade. His eight sons followed his example in taking up the blacksmith- 
ing business, and they were all proficient in their trade. Ami H. lives in 
Eriel, Kansas, and is a man of wealth ; Levi F., of whom mention will 
be made again; William H., at Bruceton ; Elisha J. has a shop at Terra 
Alta; Benjamin A. C, at Cranesville ; Hosea McC, at Buchtel, Athens 
county, Ohio; Joseph I., deceased, was foreman of the blacksmith shops 
for the B. & O. Railroad Company at Grafton, West Virginia, for many 
years, and Jacob A., now of Terra Alta. He married Rebecca Jenkins 
and is the father of Charles A. Miller, cashier of the First National 
Bank, Terra Alta. 

Preston County, West Virginia 807 

Joseph N. Miller's wife was Mary Meyers, from New England. She 
died when 88 years of age, two years before her husband did. 

Joseph N. Miller, born December 14, 1809, died February 6, 1902. 
Mary A. Miller, born x\pril 27,, 1812, died October 2, 1900. They w-ere 
married about 1830. Children : Elisha James, born May 28, 1832; William 
Harrison, born June 8, 1834; Josiah Joseph, born April 27, 1836, died 
September 9, 1892; Lucinda, born September 22, 1837; Ami Hess, born 
May 7, 1839; Hosea McCall, born February 19, 1841 ; Catharine Jane, 
born January 24, 1843; Levi Fribley, born December 2^, 1844; Jacob 
Alter, born September 15, 1847; Martha Ellen, born May 15, 1849, died 
January 15, 1867; Elizabeth Ann, born June 23, 1852, died October 20, 
1863; Benjamin Albert C, born July 10, 1855; Emily Arminda, born 
February 26, 1858, died JJanuary 2^, 1896; Mary Ada Virginia, born 
July 15, 1859. 

Levi F. Miller's early life was spent at Morgans Glade attending 
school and learning the trade of blacksmith. In 1861, when seventeen 
years of age, he enlisted at his country's call in Company C, 3rd West 
Virginia Cavalry. He served in the army four years. He enlisted Sep- 
tember 14th, and was mustered out a corporal January 21, 1865, taking 
part in about fifty-five engagements and coming out at the end of the 
war without a wound, notwithstanding his .participation in the l)attles 
at Gettysburg, Chancellorsville, Second Bull Run, and in the raid 
through the Shenandoah Valley under Sheridan. He was once cap- 
tured, but ran away after his surrender. 

After Mr. Miller's return from the army he spent two years in the 
oil regions of West Virginia, then he resumed his trade at Hazelton as 
blacksmith. After sixteen years' stay there, during which time he was 
justice of the peace, he removed to Morgans Glade and remained there 
fourteen years blacksmithing, wagon making, and extending equity as 
a justice of the peace. As a magistrate in the lower court, Mr. Miller 
won the enviable reputation of not having had one of his cases, during 
his sixteen years of experience on the bench, coming back by a reversed 
decision from the Circuit Court above. After such and extended experi- 
ence, Mr. Miller naturally sought relaxation from such a strenuous life, 
and came to Terra Alta, where he still resides. That was in 1897. Since 
coming here Mr. Miller has run a large collecting agency, and besides 
has done a wholesale business for the J. L Case Thrashing Machine 
Company, having sold for them twenty engines during the last seven 
years. Mr. Miller is also a notary public. 

In 1868, Mr. Miller was married to Miss Persis A. Glover, daughter 

808 Preston County^ West Virginia 

of William Glover, of Preston county. Their children now living are: 
(i) Charles E., who married Adaline Kelley. They live in Terra Alta. 
(2) Ella, who married George F. Livengood. (3) Dora, now at Pied- 
mont, West Virginia. (4) Homer D., who married Amy Kelley. 
(5) Jesse C, who married Bessie Burk. (6) Gratis L., not married; 
now in Canada. 

Mrs. Miller is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Mr. Miller is a member of the Knights of Pythias and also of the G.A.R. 


The Beachy family are, and have been from time immemorial, 
Amish. This is a branch of the Mennonites, in earlier days known as 
the Waldenses, who were extirpated from England in the time of Henry 
the Second. They were noted for the simplicity and .purity of their 
lives, and were driven from the island because of their faith in but two 
of the sacraments, instead of holding to seven, as the reigning church 

There are three brothers of this family who emigrated from Switzer- 
land to America, but it is not known where each of them went but Jonas, 
the grandfather of the Beachys, who settled in Preston county. Jonas 
Beachy located in Pennsylvania, near Meyersdale, and many of his 
descendants are residing near that place now. He was born November 
6, 1791. His wife, Sarah Gnegy, was born June 27, 1798, and died 
November 22, 1875. Their children were: (i) Benedict, born August 

22, 1818; (2) Daniel, born April 20, 1820; (3) John, born March 30, 1821, 
died young; (4) Samuel, born November i, 1825, now living in Illinois; 
(5) Susannah, born June 4, 1827; (6) Noah, born December 2, 1828, died 
young; (7) Lydia, born May 25, 1830; (8) Catharine, born September 

23, 1831 ; (9) Elizabeth and Sarah (10) twins, born May 6, 1833. Sarah 
only is living. (11) Marie, born June 14, 1837, ^^^^ young; (12) 
Manassah, born June 14, 1837, died May 14, 1895. He was a bishop in 
the church for many years. He was married twice. His first wife was 
Barbara Swartzendruber, and his second wife was Elizabeth Hedding. 

Daniel Beachy, the father of Jacob, was born on the old home place 
in Somerset county, Pennsylvania, and died in Aurora, on the 8th day 
of January, 1897. His wife was Elizabeth Yoder before her marriage. 

Preston County, West Virginia 809 

and a daughter of Jacob and Gertrude (Blough) Yoder. The marriage 
of this couple occurred October lo, 1847, near Meyersdale, at the home 
of the bride. 

The children of Daniel and Elizabeth Beachy are as follows: (i) 
Jonas, born January 19, 1850, died February 5, 1899. He was unmarried. 
(2) Mary, born March 19, 185 1. She was married to John Brennie, by 
whom she had three children. Her second husband was Emanuel 
Herschberger. No children by this marriage. (3) Jacob, born October 
16, 1852. (4) Sarah, born March 10, 1854, married December 8, 1878, 
to Simon Lichty. They had nine children. (5) Lydia, born September 
2, 1855, married to Simon Miller, December 19, 1882. They live on the 
adjoining farm to the old homestead and have six children. (6) Leah, 
born April 21, 1858; not married. (7) Matilda, born January 20, 1859, 
married Joel Maust, and lives in Somerset county, Pennsylvania. They 
have four children. (8 and 9) two deaths in infancy, a boy and a girl. 
(10) Lena, born Noveml)er 6, 1863; not married. (11) Elizabeth, born 
January 13, 1865, died August 6, 1894. (12) Catherine, born January 
7, 1869, married to Milton Herschberger, and lives in Somerset, Pennsyl- 
vania also. (13) A boy, born in April and died September 7, 1871. (14) 
Fannie, born April 8, 1873 ; not married. 

The Beachys have all been farmers. Mr. Daniel Beachy came to 
Preston with his family and settled near Aurora, in the spring of 1853. 
The farm was bought of Isaac Startzman, and is well adapted for graz- 
ing purposes, the use to which it has been put for many years. In 1780 
the present house was erected, and almost ever since that time a large 
herd of cows has been kept for butter making. They have twenty-five 
Guernsey cows at the present time, and make butter for one woman in 
\yashington, D. C, who has been buying their manufactured product 
for many years. She gets from them a very choice article, and pays a 
fancy price for it. She is a woman of business and makes cakes on a 
large scale, which she sells principally to the wealthy of the city at a 
remunerative price. 

The Beachys remain in the faith of their fathers and hold strictly 
to those simpler forms and rules of living. The perfection of Christian 
character is one of the great objects of their lives. The grandfather 
and father both were Menonite bishops, and their descendants to this 
day are known for the purity of their lives, their honesty, and upright 

810 Preston County, West Virginia 


Nathan Metheny was the ancestor of the subject of this sketch. He 
spent his life on a farm on Big Sandy, and was born September 14, 
1787. His wife Mary was born December 22, 1781. The farm, about 
25 oacres, was originally owned by Abraham Jenkins, and is still in the 
family. Mr. Metheny was a squire for many years, an office held in 
those earlier days by men well enough qualified to adjust matters of law 
now occupying the attention of the lower county courts. 

The children of this union were : Catherine, born April 7, 1803 ; Peter, 
January 8, 1805; Mary, December 28, 1806; Leah, February 29, 1809; 
James, June 7, 1811 ; Isaac, the father of Silas, November 3, 1817, died 
September 30, 1893; Asa, April 18, 1820 (?) ; Huldah, March 10, 1823. 

Isaac Metheny married Elizabeth Chidester. He was born April 18, 
1820 (?), and died January 29, 1891. Their children were : John, born 
November 18, 1837. He was killed in the Seven Days Battle of the 
Wilderness, May 6, 1864. Mary and Martha, twins, born April 26, 1840. 
Mary died May 14, 1843. William H., May 4, 1846. Silas, April 21, 
1848. George, September^i9, 1850. Harriet, July 29, 1856. 

Silas Metheny married Mary A. King, daughter of Albert and Hester 
King, on December 24, 1868. She was born November 29, 1847, ^^^^ 
died April 11, 1905. Their children were: Albert F., born March 3, 
1870. He married Cora Michael, and is a farmer. (2) Ida was born 
September 15, 1871, and married Walter Cupp. He is an engineer on 
the M. & K Railroad and lives in Morgantown. (3) Anna was born 
April 25, 1873. She married Harvey Benson, a farmer, and lived near 
Bruceton, and died December 9, 1907. (4) Isaiah was born October i, 
1874. He married Miss Osa (?) Forman, and is a farmer. (5) Hester 
Edith was born September 26, 1876. She married Amos Wolfe, a 
farmer and a teacher. (6) Bessie M., was born January 2t„ 1880. She 
married J. H. Garner, and is connected with a factory at McKeesport. 
(7) Sallie G., born October 28, 1884, died February 16, 1907. (9) Em- 
mett M., born May 18, 1889, married Jennie Michael, and is the book- 
keeper for the McKeesport factory. 

Mr. Metheny was educated in the common schools and reared a 
farmer. During the war he served in the 3rd iMd. Rgt., from March 3rd 
to the close of the Rebellion. He was in the battle of Frederick and at 
Monocay Junction,' but aside from these conflicts and several skirmishes, 
was on duty principally guarding wagon trains. He was mustered out 
at Baltimore in 1865. 

Preston County, West Virginia 811 

Mr. Metheny also operated the home farm and ran a saw and planing 
mill. He moved to his present location in 1889, and is about to retire 
from the active pursuits of his former career to a retired life. November 
25, 1908, he married his present wife, Mary F. Spiker, daughter of Isaac 
and Elizabeth Spiker, who live near Bruceton. 


John Freeland came about 1804 from Pennsylvania, or from Balti- 
more. He settled at Bob Town, on the Cheat. His wife, Mary McCann, 
was of Irish descent. Their children were: David, James, John, Ben- 
jamin, Aaron, Isaac, William, Jacob, Hiram, George, Abraham, Rachael 
and Elizabeth. David married a Miss Gibbs, and lived two miles east 
of Terra Alta, where the Sanitarium is now. He married the second 
time, and by his wife. Miss Lucy Smith, had one son, a physician in the 
city of New York. They lived on Nettle Ridge. David was a great 
huntsman and was said to have killed six hundred deer. James settled 
on Nettle Ridge also. He married Sarah Ridenour. John married 
Sarah Lonacre. They lived in Indiana. Benjamin, the father of William 
Baldwin, the veteran teacher, was born August 8, 1816. He located on 
Nettle Ridge, adjoining his brother James. The old log house was 
occupied for a dwelling until about the year 1876, when the original 
part of the new house (and still occupied) was built. He died here 
February 25, 1887. ^ 

On October i, 1840, Benjamin Freeland married Miss Nancy Mes- 
senger, daughter of Samuel and Abigail (Pike) Messenger. The Pikes 
were of Revolutionary fame. Eleven children were born of this union. 
Those dead are : James, John A., Mary Elizabeth Whetsell, Mrs. 
Lucinda Whitehair, Mrs. Louisa Hoff, Benjamin, Susanna, and David. 
Mrs. Sarah J. Arnold is living near Terra Alta. Samuel and William 
are still living also. 

Benjamin Freeland was an industrious farmer. He was a Democrat 
until war times and then became an ardent Republican. He and his 
wife were members of the Baptist Church. 

William Baldwin Freeland was born on the old homestead place, 
where he now lives, December 24, i860. He supplemented his education 
in the common district schools by a course in the Normal School at 
Terra Alta, under Professor A. W. Fike, completing that curriculum 

812 Preston County, West Virginia 

of work in school, in 1877 and 1878. After that he taught school twenty- 
five years in Preston county. He taught the home school seven con- 
secutive terms, and thirteen terms in all. Comment is unnecessary. 
He also became a Professor in the Normal School, both in the home 
school district and at Terra Alta. His first state certificate was obtained 
August 5, 1889; it was for six years. By renewals it is still in vogue, 
not terminating until 1919. In 1902 the Republican party nominated 
and elected Mr. Freeland a member of the Lower House of the State 
Legislature, and in so doing honored one of the best friends the public 
schools of West Virginia ever had. While serving in the legislative 
body during the year 1903, and during the special session of 1904, and 
again in 1905, legislation looking to the highest interests of the rural 
schools was brought forth in bill form by him at that time and subse- 
queently enacted into law. There were three measures in particular 
thiit deserve special mention, and these were in addition to his ardent 
support of the tax reform measures, which were finally adopted: (i) 
Was the bill for the centralization and consolidation of the rural schools 
of the state. (2) Fixing the minimum term of the school year at six 
months, and taxing the state for the poorer schools. To this end a tax 
assessment of $75,000 was set aside for the .poorer schools for this pur- 
pose. (3) A State School Board to be appointed and uniform text books 
to be adopted. 

April 13, 1881, Mr. Freeland was married to Miss Mary Martha 
Albright, daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Engle) Albright, of Cranes- 
ville. Their children are: Lulu Bucklew, born March i, 1887; Mrs. 
Jessie Pearl Fearer, born April 21, 1890; Russell Albright, born 
November 21, 1892; William Lynn, born December 18, 1894; Margaret 
Eleanor, born April 7, 1898. The daughter, Jessie, has two children: 
Beatiice and Russell Harold. She is the wife of Artie Fearer. They 
live on a farm near Terra Alta. 

Mr. Freeland is owner of the old homestead farm, a valuable piece 
of land consisting of 320 acres. He is a raiser of blooded stock: Of 
cattle the Red Polled and Polled Angus ; sheep of the Shropshire breed ; 
the O. L. C. hogs, and Plymouth Rock chickens. His farm is well 
stocked and well cultivated. 

Mr. and Mrs. Freeland are members of the Methodist Fpiscopal 

Preston County, West Virginia 813 


The ravages of war caused by the late Rebellion have left many 
scars not yet obliterated. One of the victims of that fratricidal strife, 
Mr. T. S. Cunningham, a greatly respected Prestonian, was born in 
Somerset county, October i6, 1842. He was one of a family of seven- 
teen children, and the third son of Robert Cunningham by his first wife, 
Sarah Pinkerton, a relative of the great detective of Civil Ware fame, 
and a member of a family of twelve children, ten of them daughters. 

The subject of this sketch was. raised on a farm and educated in the 
district school. In 1859, during the year of the great July frost, the 
parents moved to Fayette county, Pennsylvania, and in 1862 the young 
man, not yet of age, ran ofif to war. In August he enlisted in Company 
H, 142nd Penna. Infantry, and that regiment participated in twenty-four 
battles before the great conflict closed. Its first service was guarding 
a fort near Washington, D. C, but orders being given, "On to Rich- 
mond," the regiment moved forward, and the first engagement with 
the 'enemy was in the battle of Fredericksburg, fought December 13, 
1862. In that conflict Mr. Cunningham was wounded, taken to the 
hospital, and discharged from the service March 6, 1863, minus his left 
arm amputated at the shoulder joint. It is worthy of mention, prob- 
ably, to say that Mr. Cunningham received a pension from the time of 
his discharge, and that it was only $8.00 a month for several years, and 
that he had to make application in person for that pittance at Pitts- 
burgh. To get there he had to walk sixteen miles to reach the nearest 
depot in order to get to the place of his destination. 

Mr. Cunningham had two other brothers in the Civil War, and two 
sons who participated in the Cuban conflict. Of the brothers, Frank 
served in the ist West Virginia Cavalry and won a medal of honor for 
capturing a rebel flag at the battle of Sailors Creek, April 6, 1864. James 
served in the ist Ohio Cavalry. He was captured near the close of the 
war, and died in Andersonville iprison. Of the sons, Edward was an 
orderly two years under Gen. Fred Grant in the Philippines, and A. D. 
served eight months in the West Virginia Home Guards, but did not 
get farther than Georgia. 

In 1868 Mr. Cunningham was married to Eli/a Jane Liston, daughter 
of Everhart Liston, of Fayette county, Pennsylvania. From this union 
came a family of seven children and nineteen grand-children, sixteen 
of whom are now living. The eldest of this family is Katie, who married 
T. M. King; (2) Belle, who married J. W. Wheeler; (3) Emma, who 

814 Pkeston County, West Virginia 

married L. W. Conner; (4) Frank, who married Jessie McNair; (5) 
Edward, who married Effie Yeast; (6) Albert, who married Lulu 
Bowermaster, and (7) Emmett, the railroad engineer, who never 

In 1908 Mr. Cunningham bought his present residence in Kingwood. 
He is a member of the I. O. O. F., the G. A. R., and during the McKinley 
administration was postmaster of Bruceton. He was also a member of 
the Board of Education and trustee of the M. E. Church. Though a 
poor man he has been a liberal supporter of the cause of Christ, having 
given hundreds of dollars toward building the churches in the lower 
end of the county. He calls his pension his blood money and wants 
to use it in a good cause, and thinks Christian churches one of the best 
ways to act as one of God's stewards. He never allowed a minister to 
leave his work without receiving his full pay. 


Among other Quakers who came to America with William Penn 
were the Willetts and Formans. After a stay on the Brandywine fields 
in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, a migration by some of the members of 
the family was made to Monongalia county, where these names became 
numerous. The Formans settled near Bruceton and Brandonville. A 
little log church was erected for a place of worship, in size 18 by 28, but 
was torn down in 1864, and now used by Jeremiah Guthrie as a stable. 
William, the progenitor of the American family, came with 
W^illiam Penn in 1682, and settled in or near Philadelphia. 

Robert Forman, a descendant of William, was born July 7, 1736. 
He was married to Mary Naylor in 1766. Their children were: John, 
born January 21, 1767; Elizabeth, February 12, 1769; Joseph, March 24, 
1771; Richard, August 22, 1773; Rachael, June 8, 1777; Jane, July 9, 
1779; Mary, July 29, 1780; Isaac, March 11, 1784, and Rebecca, birth not 
given. These descendants of Robert Forman came to this country 
about the year 1783. (See sketch of Chorpenning.) 

Richard Forman, great grandfather of Charles W. Forman, married 

Conner. His children were: (i) Sallie, who married a Walls. 

She was grandmother of George A. Walls, of Kingwood. (2) Samuel. 
(3) Jane, who married a Falkenstein. (4) John. (5) Mary B., who 

Preston County, West Virginia 815 

married a Jenkins. (6) Rachael. (7) Jonathan. (8) Grace, who mar- 
ried a Funk. (9) a daughter by the name of Gaynor S., who married a 
Mr. Romine. (10) Ethbell, who married a Falkenstein. (11) Anne, 
who married a Martin. (12) Abner, who went West. This family 
settled on the farm adjoining the old homestead. 

Samuel Forman died August 6, 185 1, at the age of 53 years. He 
married Rachael Jeffers. She died February 26, 1875, at the age of 79 
years. They lived on the old Forman homestead in Crab Orchard, 
where Walter S. Forman is now. That farm was bought of his father- 
in-law. It was a tract of 225 acres taken up from the government, and 

has been in the family considerably over a hundred years. Mr. 

Jefifers died there in . 

The children of this marriage were: (i) Jonathan, who married 
Margerie Elliott; (2) Elizabeth, who married John Elsey, April 15, 
1849; (3) Ruth, who married Samuel D. Crane, December 28, 1859; (4) 
Calvin, who married Clarissa Ann Cress, June 12, 1856. He died 
October i, 1889. (5) John, who married Louisa J. Feather, November 
19, 1857. He was a soldier in the Civil War. (6) Jane, who married 
Milton Harvey about 1862; (7) Marjorie, who died when fourteen years 
old; (8) Mary M., who married James C. Sturgiss about i860; (9) 
Benjamin, who married Sarah Brown, aunt to J. Slidell Brown, about 
1864. He died in January, 1866. 

Calvin Forman lived on the old homestead farm. Plere Charles W. 
Forman was born, September 2, 1857. On March 14 ,1882 he married 
Mahala I. Smith, daughter of Jacoh and Catherine (Feather) Smith. 
One son, Worley Klet, became the fruit of this union. 

Soon after marriage, Mr. Forman took up his residence in Lenox, at 
which time he formed a partnership with his father-in-law in the mer- 
contile business. On May 16, 1900, he became the sole owner, and has 
operated the store himself since that time. He has a prosperous busi- 
ness, the country round Lenox being rich and patronage good. The 
store building was erected in 1892. The farm is situated where 
McClelland E. Jefifers lives now. 

Mr. Forman has been a member of the School Board for many years. 
He is a close student of all good current literature and is well fitted for 
the office of a school commissioner, about the only office he cares to 
hold. He is a prominent member of the Baptist Church also. 

816 Preston County, West Virginia 


James Walls came from Delaware about 1790, and settled on 
what is now known as the Daniel Ryan farm, near Pisgah, the home- 
stead adjoining the site of the village. Charles A. Walls, his son, mar- 
ried Sallie Forman, and their children were: Jonathan, George W., Ami 
F., Eli J., Verlinda, Mary Ann, and Jemima. 

George A. Walls has been long and favorably known in Kingwood 
as one of the leading merchants of this place. He was born March 23, 
1862, on the old homestead at Pisgah, W. Va., and was the son of Ami 
F. Walls and his wife Elizabeth (Adams) Walls. His father died in 
1887, fifty-nine years old. His mother is still living at the age of 
seventy-two years. Mr. Walls was nineteen years old when he came 
to Kingwood and began life for himself. He had previously prepared 
himself with a good education, such as our best country schools at that 
time gave us, and then he entered the county clerk's office as deputy 
clerk. This was the time when J. Ami Martin was in office as its chief. 
He served as deputy clerk from 1881 till in the fall of 1896, and then was 
elected county clerk to succeed Mr. Martin, and reelected in the fall of 
1902, serving until December 31, 1908. As a public official, Mr. Walls 
served the people of Preston county twenty-seven years, and gained 
for himself an enviable reputation while in the county clerk's office. 

Before Mr. Walls retired from public life he became a silent member 
of the firm of E. C. Eveily & Co. The company carried on merchandis- 
ing in the building erected by Mr. Walls in 1903. In 1909, Mr. Walls 
purchased all interests in the business, since which time it has been 
carried on under the name of "Walls-Shafifer Company." 

June 22), 1888, Mr. Walls married Miss Cora Belle Snyder, sister to 
wife of Ami Martin. She died June 19, 1889. One daughter, Cora Belle 
Walls, was born of this union, April 19, 1889. She was educated in the 
Kingwood High School, Kingwood, W. Va., and the Kee Mar College, 
Hagerstown, Md. On November 3, 1910, she married Forest M. 
McDaniel, of Kingwood, West Virginia, who is now located at Clarks- 
burg and is a civil and mining engineer for the Consolidation Coal Com- 
pany of West Virginia. 

May 24, 1893, Mr- Walls married Olive Electa Parks, daughter of 
James W. Parks, cashier of the Kingwood Bank. Her twin brother died 
at six years of age. 

Mr. Walls has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
since January 18, 1882, and he has been the recording steward of his 
church fifteen years. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias. 

Preston County, West Virginia 817 


Thomas Liston came from Delaware, apparently somewhat earlier 
than 1800, and located in Pleasant, on the river hill behind Harmony- 
Grove. He seems to have died when his children were small. John, 
said to have been a brother, settled in the same vicinity, but lived on 
until about 1830. The connection has grown numerous and is scattered 
over Pleasant, Grant, Valley and Kingwood. 

Thomas Liston was father of Joseph, Eben, Elisha and Elizabeth. 
Elisha was the grandfather of Wilbert Liston. His children were : 
Lydia, Bettie, John T., Savilla, Martha, Abraham and Clarke. Abraham 
was one of the jurymen, October 11, 1869, for the trial of Elihu Gregg, 
who was charged with the burning of the court house. Abraham Liston 
was born in August, 1843. He was a farmer. His wife. Miss Adaline 
Field, was born in August, 1843. They were both natives of 
Preston county, but married in Pennsylvania. Their children are Wil- 
bert, born March 14, i860; Raymond D., May 7, 1862; Ida A., June i, 
1864; Howard, October 20, 1867; Laura B., born October 16, 1871 ; Julia 
v., January i, 1874; Nellie and Garfield. 

Wilbert Liston was born March 14, i860, and raised on a farm about 
three miles north of Albright. When about eighteen years old, he left 
Preston for the plains of Oklahoma where he followed the life of a 
herdsman. His experience as a "cow-boy"' for a period of six years, if 
all told in detail would make interesting reading. After those six years 
of a romantic life in the West, he returned East and for a time followed 
railroading, the central ofifices being in Pittsburg. Two years subse- 
quently he came back to Kingwood and followed various occu- 
pations, but settled down finally to the carpenter trade, built the house 
he lives in during the spring of 1904, and since that time has erected 
many other residences. On October 20, 1892, Mr. Liston was married 
at the old homestead of the bride's father to Miss Emma White, daugh- 
ter of Francis Willis and Sarah White of Pleasantdale, Preston county, 
whose children are: Mary E., Sabie J., Susan, Adam D., James C, Jacob 
F., Margaret E., John S.. Julia A., Joseph F., Emma A., who is the 
wife of the subject of this sketch. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Wil- 
bert Liston are Nelson Hoke, born October 11, 1893; Sarah, February 
6, 1896; 'George Harold, March 16, 1899; William Paul, November 16, 
1900; Robert Merle, October 13, 1902; James Willis, January 6, 1906. 
Nelson H. Liston is a printer. 

818 Peeston County, West Virginia 

Mr. Listen was Town Sargeant of Kingwood two years, and served 
three years in Company G. First Regiment of West Virginia. He is a 
Knights of Pythias, Past Chancellor, and Past Grand, I. O. O. F., Mod- 
ern Woodmen of America, and a member of the M. E. Church of King- 


Four brothers bearing the name of Loar came from Germany 
to Preston county in the early days. George was their an- 
cestor and grandfather of Richard Loar the subject of this sketch. 
John Loar, father of Richard, owned a farm and kept the Half Wayi 
House between Masontown and Morgantown, when the latter place 
was but a little village. He died about the year 1866 about 55 years of 
of age. During his proprietorship of the tavern, he would keep som v 
times twenty-five and thirty teams over night. 

John Loar married Emeline Porter of Frostburg, Maryland. Her 
mother was Irish and father Scotch. The marriage of this couple took 
place about 1838. Their children were Richard, John Wesley, Sarah, 
Mary, Jane, George, Samuel, Margaret, Elizabeth and Mattie. 

Richard Loar was born February 16, 1840. He staid on his fathei's 
farm until grown up tilling the ground and attending school, such as it 
was in his day. One winter he walked four miles to school at Reeds- 
ville, the father of the present Attorney General of West Virginia, Wil- 
liam Conley, being his teacher. When twenty-^five years of age, he 
married Sarah Kirk about 1844. The couple moved on their farm four 
miles from Reedsville. This farm, which was the old Huddleson home, 
he improved and it became one of the best homesteads in Preston 
County; and here Mr. Loar lived until the death of his second wife in 
191 1. His first wife was a twin to iSamuel B. Kirk and daughter of 
Colonel Isaiah Kirk, a man of fine appearance, having a good military 
record during the Civil War, and possessing a marked individuality. 

She died Their children were Anna, born 

and the mother of Earl Dixon, the Cashier of the Bank of Masontown, 
and Athelene Loar, who married Homer Cobun and lives near Reeds- 

On the i8th of March, 1865, Mr. Loar married Cyrena Kelley, daugh- 
ter of William J. Kelley and Susan (Guseman) Kelley both representa- 
tives of old Prestonian families. No issue. 

Preston County, West Virginia 819 

Mrs. Cyrena Loar was a teacher in her Sabbath School fifty years. 
Children of the third generation were in her class, and remember her 
now as they would a saint. Mr. and Mrs. Loar were church workers 
all their lives, and their beautiful home housed and sheltered the clergy 
on missionary tours to their neighborhood in church work whenever 
duty called them that way. Mr. Loar had always been a steward in the 
church and a class teacher for years, and a Sabbath School Superinten- 
dent a long time also. The work of this couple was always among the 
children of their neighborhood, and their reward doth follow them. 


The Dixon family are of English descent. The grandfather lived, 
about fifteen miles from Hagerstown, Maryland. He was there during 
the War of 1812, and died there about the year 1837, seventy-five years 
old. William Dixon born in Hagerstown in 1809, died at Fort Freder- 
ick, Maryland, in 1874. He married Ellen Kitzm.iller : Eight children 
were born to this union. Daniel, the oldest, was born October 9, 1849, 
at Fort Frederick. When twenty years of age he came to Gladesville. 
The other children are, Kate, now dead ; William, who lives in Taylor 
county ; Mildred F., now dead ; Emanel, Susan, Nathaniel, the young- 
est. Nathaniel lives in Gladesville. 

Emanuel Dixon was born in Washington county, Maryland, June 15, 
1869. When a young man he came to Preston county and very success- 
fully made his mark, both as a farmer and as a citizen. He owns two 
farms near Arthurdale, and is a scientific agriculturist. He was a mem- 
ber of the county court six years, four of which he served as president 
of the board. During the past twenty years, he has been a teacher of 
a Bible class in the Sunday School. 

'Mr. Dixon was married April 30, 1884 to Miss Anna J., daughter of 
Richard and Elizabeth Kirk Loar of Preston county. She was born 
April 26, 1866, and the children of this union are as follows: (i) Earl, 
born March 20, 1885; (2) Loar, March 10, 1887; (3) John W., Septem- 
ber 5, 1888; (4) Ella, September 24, 1890; (5) James, January 7, 1893; 
(6) Nora, July 2, 1895; (7) Charles E., July 6, 1897; (8) Richard How- 
ard, June 9, 1899; (9) Frank, May 12, 1901 ; (10) Harry A., March 5, 
1903; (11) Wesley Ford, November 24, 1904; (12) Theodore, November 
17, 1907, and (13) Lucille, born August 2"^, 1909. 

820 Preston County, West Virginia 

Earl Dixon, the oldest son, is cashier of the Masontown Bank. He 
entered the mercantile business after completing his educational career, 
and followed that pursuit for several years. He was in the employ of 
S. L. Cobun in the Company's store for five years, and then ran a store 
of his own at Reedsville for two years. He became Assistant Cashier 
of the Masontown Bank in July 1903, and on November i, 1909, was 
made Cashier. He holds other positions of prominence in Masontown, 
also being identified ofificially with the Telephone Company, the Water 
Works, and the Board of Trade. He was married to Gertrude Arthur 
of Arthurdale on November i, 1911. He is a member of the K. of P. 
Lodge and of the Methodist Church. 

Loar Dixon came to Masontown, after having obtained a common 
school education, in 1905, at which time he entered the store operated 
by S. L. Cobun, where he remained three years, and since that time he 
has been in the employ of the \\^est Virginia Mercantile Company. He 
is also a Knight of Pythias and has gone through all the chairs. 


The former Sheriff of Preston County, Leroy Shaw, a recent can- 
didate for the Lower House of the State Legislature, is one of the best 
known men in this part of the state. As a Republican he has served 
his county to the satisfaction of his party, and enjoys the confidence of 
the people whom he has from time to time, in different capacities, politi- 
cally, agriculturally and otherwise, represented. 

His grandparents Samuel and Elizabeth (Webster) Shaw lived on 
Sandy Creek, and there raised a family of twelve children. The father 
died there when about sixty-eight years old. 

Alexander, second child of Samuel and Elizabeth Shaw, married 
Miss Sarah Money Smith, a native of Westmoreland county, Pennsyl- 
vania. He owned and operated a large stock farm near Kingwood and 
died about 1867 or 68, at the age of fifty-lfive. He was one of the most 
practical, farmers in the county. 

Their children were: Benjamin, Minerva, John Wesley, Alexander 
W., William R., Elizabeth, Joseph M., Leroy, Sarah and George C. 
Benjamin lost his life by an accident at seventy years of age. John 
Wesley died young. Alexander W., is living in Oklahoma. William 

Preston County, West Virginia 821 

H., is a retired minister of the M. E. Church residing at Point Pleasant 
W. Va. Elizabeth died. Sarah h^vS her home in Atlanta, Georgia, and 
George C, is in business at Grafton, W. Va. 

Leroy Shaw was born near Kingwood, January 5, 1844. On July 4, 
1861, he enlisted in the 7th West Virginia Infantry, was wounded Kt 
the battle of Antietam in the hand, and being disabled for military duties 
was discharged as Corporal. A few months afterwards he reenlisted in 
Comipany G, 6th West Virginia Cavalry as Sergeant and served through 
the war. After the assassination of Lincoln, he served as Provost Guard 
in the city of Washington, and then crossed the plains in pursuit of the 
Indians. In 1865 he was stationed at Fort Casper, Dakota, and mustered 
out at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas in May, 1866. 

Returning to Preston county Mr. Shaw kas married to Miss Nancy 
Schaeffer July 4, 1866. She was a daughter of Israel Schaefifer, one of 
the pioneers of Preston county, and she is known as one of the most 
efficient teachers of this part of the state. During the winter of 1912, 
she suffered greatly from a broken limb, caused by a fall on the icy 
sidewalk, but most notable was her cheerful happy life without murmur 
or complaint during the long months of her confinement in the County 

The first vote cast by Mr. Shaw was in 1864, for Abraham Lincoln. 
Since that time he has held a number of local positions. He was Con- 
stable five years; Census Enumerator in 1880; Deputy Assessor eight 
years ; Member of the County Court four years, and president of that 
one year. In 1892, he was elected Sherifif of the County, and his special 
fitness for that office was proven by a successful arrest of a band of 
horse thieves noted for their daring and desperateness of character. 
Word had come to Mr. Shaw that this gang of men were just leaving 
Albrightsville. The outlaws consisted of George knd William Smithley, 
Harvey Archibald and one Peterson. The Sherifif and two of his depu- 
ties met this gang of men just below Pjenon-i Jordan's residence. They 
were coming towards Kingwood. George Harvey and William Smith- 
ly rode on one horse. At the command of the Sheriff to dismount and 
give themselves up, George Smithly, who was riding in advance of the 
others, fired at Mr. Shaw the bullet taking efYect in his breast where it 
still is in the right lining, having remained there during the past twenty 
years. As soon as the flash from Smithly 's gun was seen Mr. Shaw fired 
a shot at him, and at the same time Smithly fired at Jackson, who in re- 
turn fired two shots, killing Smithly's horse and causing the rider to 

822 Preston County, West Virginia 

fall violently to the ground. In the melee, only a few minutes having 
transpired the four outlaws were dismounted, handcuffed, and after hav- 
ing been made secure, were marched off to the Kingwood jail. In the 
meantime, Mr. Shaw fainting from weakness and loss of blood, was car- 
ried to Mr. Jordan's house where Drs. Manown, Pratt and McMillan 
soon after visited him, dressed his wounds and saved his life. 

Mr. Shaw is a man of remarkable force of character. As a farmer, his 
chosen avocation in life, he has gained an enviable notoriety as a success- 
ful agriculturist. Probably no tiller of the soil in West Virginia has taken 
more interest in scientific farming than Mr. Shaw. He likes skillful 
farming, for the good it does. It has not been a mercenary following 
with him, and his pen as well as his pocketbook has been put to use 
when his neighbor as well as himself was to be benefitted. Naturally 
enough, positions of honor and trust came upon him. He is well know^n 
as an official at state and county fairs, as president of corn shows, 
director and manager of fruit growing societies, stock breeding asso- 
ciations, and the work done by him in these several capacities will live 
long after Mr. Shaw is dead and gone. As a writer, Mr. Shaw wields 
a ready pen, as facile as it is easy and natural. As a citizen he is open 
and above board, and as a public official his record corresponds with 
his life, while the home of Mr. and Mrs. Shaw is a delightful one. 


The Walls family, of Grant district, are descendants from James 
Walls, who settled in that part of the county before its separation from 
Monongalia. He came from Delaware, and was buried on the farm. His 
grandson, Solomon Walls, was born July i8, 1823. He lived on a part 
of the old homestead, a farm of about 200 acres, now owned by his two 
sons. He was a public-spirited citizen of the commonwealth, and a 
patriot also. His name can be found in another part of this work as 
one of the soldiers of the late Civil War, he having served nearly three 
years in the 3rd 'Maryland Regiment, and as corporal of his company. 
In the month of June, 1870, he married his second wife, the widow of 
John A. Michael, whose maiden name was Nancy Ormond. Her mother 
was a Hamilton, who came with her parents to this country from Ireland 
when in her childhood. Her brother, John Ormond, who was a member 
of the Board of Education for several years, lives near Pisgah, on a 

Preston County, West Virginia 823 

ihrm. IJer two children, hy John Michaels, became lawyers, who 
attained to some notoriety in the chosen profession. Walter H. Michael, 
now dead, was a graduate of the West Virginia University, after which 
he taught in the colleges in North Carolina for a while, then studied and 
practiced law in Minnesota, and sul)sequently edited law books, first for 
Edward Thompson, then for the American Law Book Company of New 
York. His brother, James Clark Michael, was city attorney for eight 
years at St. Paul, Minnesota. He is still living. The children by that 
second marriage were: John Ormond, born March 21, 1871, and Orpheus 
S., born July 18, 1873. On his father's fiftieth birthday, February i, 
1897, Solomon Walls died of pneumonia and was buried in Pleasant 
Hill Cemetery, 

The two sons were raised farmers. They were educated in the 
common schools, and for six years owned and operated a store in 
Pisgah. They improved the farm and added about 50 acres to it. 

Tn the year 191 1 a steam well digger was bought, and during the 
past two years about forty-five artesian wells have been dug, the firm 
name being J. O. & O. S. Walls. Of these the shallowest was 27 feet, 
and the deepest 160 feet. Farming and well digging were carried on 

J. O. Walls married Miss Edmina Maude King on March 25, 191 1. 
She is a granddaughter of Alpheus King, still living at the age of 91 
years. Her father, James King, married Miss Cerilda Listen. They live 
on a farm in Grant district. 

The Walls are Democrats and members of the Lutheran and 
Methodist churches. 


Henry Spiker was an early settler who lived at Albright. His son 
John, is one of the prominent men at this time of Bruceton Mills, and 
his grandson, Bernard D. Spiker. is a merchant at Brandonville. His 
stock of goods is of a general character, consisting of groceries, hard- 
ware, furniture, clothing, and extensive enough to supply the demand 
of a large country trade. 

Mr. Spiker was born September 2, 1872, in the village of Albright, 
but when quite young his father moved to Morgan's Glade. He stayed 
until sixteen years of age, going to school and working on a farm. In 

824 Preston County, West Virginia 

1888 another removal was made, the family going this time to a farm 
in Pleasant district that was bought of C. H. Hans. Before he was 
quite seventeen years old, young Mr. Spiker found himself competent 
to teach school and in charge of one in Pleasant district, and he con- 
tinued teaching in Pleasant and Grant districts for twelve successive 
years. In 1901 another venture was made in the business world, this 
time being a trip to Pittsburgh, where he was employed by the West- 
inghouse Electric Supply Company. He remained there four years and 
then came back to Preston county and settled on a farm between Bruce- 
ton and Brandonville. The raising of grain and the dealing in stock, 
however, did not appeal strongly to his mind, and after a four years" 
stay here he changed his occupation. In January, 191 1. he purchased 
the store then owned by W. A. Nedrow, and from that time has been 
doing a general merchandising business in and around Brandonville. 
February i, 191 1, he was appointed postmaster of Brandonville, and he 
still holds that position. 

September 30, 1892, Mr. Spiker was married to Zona Metheny, 
daughter of W. H. Metheny and Emma (King) Metheny, of Rockville. 
Her father is one of the leading business men of the county, is a broad- 
minded, public-spirited citizen of the. general commonwealth. Mrs. 
Spiker is a w^oman possessed of charming manners, and, like her hus- 
band, is very popular. Together they make a strong company in the 
running of a general store and have a large patronage. Their children 
are: Nellie, born September 3, 1895; Hazel, born September 30, 1897; 
Thelma, born October 30, 1904; an infant that died in 1907; and Bernice, 
who was born June 25, 1909. 

Mr. Spiker is a Republican. The family worship with the Methodists. 


Benoni Jordan, of Kingwood, is a descendant of Irish parentage on 
his father's side and is in maternal lineage with the Miller family. His 
father, Christopher Jordan, came to Kingwood with his father from 
Maryland and settled on the farm where his son was born, March 21, 
1829. and where he still lives. Christopher Jordan married Siirah, 
daughter of John Miller and Catherine Nefif, and built the house now 
standing on the farm. 'He was an enterprising farmer and cattle drover. 
On his last trip to Baltimore with a drove of hogs and cattle, which was 
about 1830, he was waylaid, robbed and murdered, it is supposed, as he 
never returned, nor was ever heard of again. 

Preston County, West Virginia 825 

Abraham Miller, the father of John, came from the Shenandoah 
Valley. He firrst camped on Cheat River about two miles back from 
the wooded entrance of Kingwood. That was about 1780. He pre- 
empted a large tract of land, some 1,500 acres in all, and gave to each 
of his three children 125 acres and retained 750 acres for himself. This 
was in troublesome times with the Indians. Between the years of 1776 
and 1788, when Green was killed and Morgan had been murdered by 
the savages, life was uncertain. Awakened one night by a noise, an 
Indian was seen to flit behind a tree, and Abraham then awakened his 
two sons and crawled noiselessly to the river bank, only a few feet 
away. Having reached a place of security, he remained in his hiding 
place until morning, and then took his departure for the Shenandoah 
Valley. The Indians prowled around until morning, and, not finding 
anyone, left the premises. The killing of Green was the last outrage of 
the kind perpetrated by the Indians in Preston county. 

John Miller at that time was but a mere boy. When grown up he 
came back and located on his tract of land, a part of which is now King- 
wood. The children of John were: Henry, who settled about six mih-s 
west of Kingwood; David, who resided on the farm adjoining the home- 
stead, and Benjamin. The daughters were: Mary, who married Thomas 
McGee and lived where the county court house is now ; Anna, who 
married John Francisco and resided one-half mile west of Kingwood, 
and Sarah, the wife of Christopher Jordan, the father of Benoni. 

The children of Christopher and Sarah Jordan were: John, Thomas 
and James, who went to Indianapolis, Indiana, in their younger days, 
and died there. Benoni, their fourth son, remained at home and cared 
for his widowed mother. On the farm he now lives on he grew up, 
identifying himself from early life with the interests of the homestead 
and neighborhood. His education was commenced in an old log school- 
house not two hundred yards from his mother's door, and in this rude 
log structure school was kept on week days and preaching the Gospel 
of Good News was often proclaimed there on Sundays. It was one o.' 
the first schoolhouses in the county, if not the first, and rude though it 
was, as much hard thinking was done there probably as in the academies 
and colleges elsewhere. Here on a puncheon floor, on benches stretched 
around the room, along walls chunked and daubed with stone and 
mud o keep the cold wind out of the house, and before a fireplace that 
would take in a twelve-foot log, some of the first pedagogues of West 
Virginia thrashed not a few of the boys and girls through arithmetic, 

826 Preston County, West Virginia 

geography and grammar, and who afterward became leading citizens 
of the county. Here Gustavus Cresap, afterwards prosecuting attorney 
for thirty years, wielded the birch, but was made to treat the school on 
one fine Christmas morning or take a baptismal dip in the waters of the 
creek below. Fogerson, probably the first teacher in Preston county, 
taught here. After him came Nicholson, John Francisco, then Smith 
Crane, county clerk afterwards, and all of whom became Mr. Jordan's 
teachers. In due time the Kingwood Academy, wath its more advanced 
course of study, was established, and Mr. Jordan went there to school. 
His education withal was sufficient to make him a close observer, and 
a great reader, and with his good memory and clear mind, his education 
has been made of use to himself and others as well. 

Mr. Jordan was raised a Whig, but at the birth of the Republican 
party cast his political interests with them. During the war he was the 
only support of his widowed mother and had to remain at home, but ho 
did service as a militiaman equal to a veteran in the regular service 
almost. His company at repeated times was called upon to drive the 
rebels from the state and to guard the B. & O. Railroad from Terra Alta 
to Grafton. On one of these occasions they captured seventy-five 

'Mrs. Jordan was a daughter of Josiah and Joanna Sears, who lived 
in Morgantown. Her given name was Mary Allen. On 'March i6, 191 1, 
she died at the age of seventy-five years. Their children were : Minnie 
Kildow, mother of four children ; (2) Anna Ulrich, who has one child. 
Her husband is in the Government Printing Oflfice at Washington. (3) 
Sarah Gerkins, whose husband is a photographer at Cumberland, Mary- 
land ; (4) and Alonzo Jordan, the only son, who lives on the home place, 
and whose marriage to Miss Eunice Hogue, of Columbus, but recently 
took place. The Jordan family have always worshipped as Presby- 
terians. Mr. Jordan has also been a member of a number of other 
organizations, among them the Know Nothing Party, Odd Fello vs and 
The Sons of Temperance. 

The Jordan farm is a valuable tract of land consisting of 125 acres and 
yields fruit and grain in abundance when the seasons are favorable. It 
adjoins the old Miller homestead that in earlier times became the first 
post ofifice seat for this part of Preston county. It was a way station, 
as it were, for mails on the way to Morgantown from farther east. 
David Miller, a post rider for the settlement, was attacked on one of his 
trips over the mountains by a robber, and after that he would never 
carry the mail again. 

Preston County^ West Virginia 827 


The White family is a numerous one. Some are descendants of 
Scotch parentage, some of EngHsh. The earliest history we can find of 
William Thomas White, hardware merchant and postmaster of Terra 
Alta, goes back to William White, of Oakland, Maryland, whose family 
became somewhat prominent there early in the last century. Thornton 
White, son of William, was born in Allegheny county (now Garrett 
county), Maryland, at a point not far from what is now known as the 
White, farm, at Hutton, on March 29, 1823. He remained there unt4 
early manhood, and then he married Miss Catherine Stoyer and moved 
to Gladesville, where he became well and favorably known. He was a 
progressive citizen, honest and upright, and "his life,'' says one who 
intimately knew him, "if studied from early manhood until the end, 
would in its extreme simplicity and usefulness excite men to deeds of 
kindness, and of duties to man rarely practiced in the present age ot 

Mr. Thornton White was a merchant, a postmaster, and a farmer. 
In 1861 he became an employee of the B. & O. Railroad Company and 
lived at Xewburg until 1865, and then moved to Cranberry Summit, 
now Terra Alta, where he became associated with J. R. Smoot in th-s 
general merchandising business. In 1887, Mr. White, then living in 
Terra Alta, retired from business until his death, which occurred July 
23, 1902. His wife died November 8, 1854. Their marriage occurred 
February 6, 1845. Their only child was a daughter, now the widow of 
John Stuck, of Newburg. * 

On February 7, 1856, Mr. White married Bersheba A. Davis, 
daughter of Thomas Davis, a relative of Jefferson Davis, president of 
the Southern Confederacy. Of this marriage five children were born, 
namely: Lewis P., a banker; WilHam T., hardware merchant; Mary C, 
Loretta R., and Hattie J. White, a leading teacher in Preston county. 

IMrs. White was a Christian woman and a devoted wife and mother. 
She had been a member of the Baptist Church for more than fifty years, 
and beloved by every one. Her death, which occurred January 19, 1909, 
was felt as a great loss to the community in which she lived. 

William Thomas White, postmaster and merchant of Terra Alta, 
was born in Gladesville, W. Va., September 26, 1858. He was educated 
in the public schools of his native town and began his career in life as 
a clerk in a general store, since which time he has become identrfied 

828 Preston County, West Virginia 

as one of the leading citizens of his town and county. His father and 
the late Hon. John P. Jones were close friends, and the two houses oi 
White and Jones were eventually bound more closely together by tho 
son, William T. White, marrying Miss Adaline Jones, after which the 
firm of "Jones & White" was formed and a business in general merchan- 
dising commenced. In 1885 Mr. White purchased all interest in the 
partnership, since which time he has done a large business himself, and 
since the year 1900 conducted solely an exclusive hardware store. In 
1910 he was appointed postmaster of Terra Alta. Mr. White was mar- 
ried to Miss Adaline Jones. She was born at Ebansburg, Cambria 
county, Pennsylvania, June 4, i860, and was the daughter of the late 
Hon. John P. Jones, several times a member of the State Legislature 
of both the Lower and Lpper Houses of West Virginia. He was born 
in Aberaron, Wales, June 21, 1832, and died in Terra Alta, Septembei 
26, 1900. His parents came to this country in 1837, first locating in 
Pittsburgh. Afterwards they removed to Ebansburg, Pennsylvania, 
where Mr. White was born. He was married at Ebansburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, April 17, 1865, to Hannah E. Rogers, a most estimable lady, and 
to them were born the following children: Dr. Harriet B. Jones, a suc- 
cessful physician of Wheeling ; Scott T. Jones, cashier of the Garrett 
National Bank at Oakland; Adahne, wife of W. T. White; Cora C, now 
the wife of Mr. Charles A. Rinard, of Kentland, Indiana ; and Mollie, 
now deceased, who was the wife of James Anderson, of Parkersburg. 

The mother of these children was called from life October 12, 1894. 
The father was a thoroughly trained business man. He was engaged 
in the lumber business in Philadelphia until 1863, when he came to 
Terra Alta and did a large business here as a merchant from 1870 to 
1880, when he retired. He was a man who was held in high esteem 
politically as well as otherwise and held numerous offices. He repre- 
sented Preston county in the State Legislature in 1870, and again in 
1872, and in 1876 he was elected to the State Senate and served in that 
body w^ith distinction four years. In 1887 he was again elected to the 
Lower House of the State Legislature. Besides this he was honored 
by his party as a delegate to the most important State Convention and 
was four years member of the County Board of Commissioners. He 
was a member of the Presbyterian Church and virtually founded the 
first one himself in Terra Alta, and shortly afterwards opened what 
w-as practically the first Sunday school ever held in the town, and the 
rule of his life was to attend all services regularly. For many years 

Preston County, West Virginia 829 

Mr. Jones was agent here for the American Bible Society, giving his time 
and oftentimes his means to place Bibles in every home. In the death 
of Mr. Jones, Terra Alta lost a great friend. 

William T. White and his sons, as merchants in the hardware line 
and managers of the city post office, have maintained the high standard 
of business life and social standing of both the paternal and maternal 
sides of their ancestors. They are pains-taking, careful, honest and 
accommodating. The children of Mr. and Mrs. W. T. White are as 
follows: John Hugh White, born at Terra Alta, June 9, 1886; Herbert 
Harold W^hite, born December 15, 1888. He married Leola Warner. 
One daughter, Eloise, was born to them, March, 1909. Mollie Eugenia 
and Margaret Lovetta, born September 9, 1891. Margaret Lovetta died 
August 28, 1892. Scott Lewis White, born July 31, 1893. 

Mr. William T. White is a Past Master and a 32nd degree Mason. 
He is a Past Supreme Representative of the Knights of Pythias, 
and treasurer of the Home Board. In matters financial, besides his large 
interest in the business world, he is a director of the First National 
Bank of Terra Alta and w'as one of its charter members. He has been 
a lifelong member of the Presbyterian Church and one of its elders for 
many years. He is a staunch Republican, a man of high ideals in life, 
and a well and favorably known citizen of Preston county. 


Adam Bishop came from Moorefield to Kingwood in 1843. He was 
owner and proprietor of the Union Hotel. William M. Bishop, vice- 
president of the Terra Alta National Bank, and one of the substantial 
citizens of Preston county, was born in Fellowsville, January 11, 1870. 
He was the son of Mack B. and Rachel Biishop, of that place. 

When eighteen years of age, Mr. Bishop learned the telegraph busi- 
ness and operated on the B. & O. line for eleven years. On April i, 
1894, he was married to Ida E. Albright, daughter of Edmund and 
Nancy Jane Albright, of Garrett county, Md. By this marriage three 
children were born : Tay, Marvin and Willie. 

Soon after his marriage Mr. Bishop began the mercantile business, 
and has continued in that line of trade to the present time and is now 
one of the most successful and best known merchants in Preston county. 
First he was with E. B. Hauger a year and a half, then with DeBerry 

830 Preston County, West Virginia 

and Bishop five years, and one year in Rowlesburg by himself, after 
which he and D. W. Frazee established the "Terra Alta Bargain House." 
That partnership was continued until June 19, 1911, since which time 
Mr. Bishop, having bought out all interests, has been conducting the 
store himself but doing business under the old name. 

'Mr. Bishop is also the owner of several farms and deals somewhat 
extensively in blooded stock, his preference, for a dairy he owns, being 
in favor of the Holstein cattle. He is also interested in the Shetland 
pony and keeps a number of them, finding the business interesting as 
well as profitable. The first silo in this part of the county was built by 
Mr. Bishop. 

In 1908 Mr. Bishop began the lime business. He purchased a large 
quarry near the town and opened it up under the name of the "Terra 
Alta Lime Connpany." He sold a one-half interest in the stock, since 
which time he has not been able to supply one-half of the demand, 
owing to the good quality of the product produced, notwithstanding 
from fifteen to twenty men are employed and the lime shipped whole- 
sale throughout West Virginia and the neighboring states as fast as cars 
can be furnished for its transportation. 

'Mr. Bishop was also one of the original founders of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Terra Alta and is now vice-president and one of its 
directors. His success in life has been due to his close attention to 
business, the rule being with him not to undertake more than he can 
well attend to. 

Mr. Bishop and his family are active members of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. He belongs also to the Masonic fraternity and is a 
member of the Knights of Pythias. 


The Boones were French Huguenots. When driven out of France some 
went to Scotland, some to England and some to Ireland. Daniel Boone, 
the great pioneer, came of English stock. The great-great-grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch went to Scotland. His name was James. 
His son, George, came to Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, and lo- 
cated there early in the eighteenth century. Descendants of the Irish 
branch settled in Pittsburgh. They retained the old orthography, spell- 
ing the name DeBoens. 

Preston County, West Virginia 831 

George Boone, son of James, died in Holmes county, Ohio, in 1858, 
about 84 years of age. During the last ten years of his life he was 
totally blind. He married Elizabeth Hutchinson, whose mother was a 
Marshall, a cousin to Daniel Boone's wife, who was a Marshall also. 
Elizabeth died in 1836 or 1837. Her parents were old Scotch Cove- 
nanters, the same as the Boones and the Hutchinsons. 

Children of George and Elizabeth Boone were: (i) Margaret, who 
married Mr. Pepard and moved to Loraine county, Ohio. (2) James, 
the father of Thomas M. (3 and 4) Eliza and George, who were twinr,. 
Eliza married a Mr. Ross and took up a residence in Millersburg, Ohio. 
George married Sarah Hailey. iShe lived and died in Holmes count}', 
Ohio. (5) William was active in the Underground Railway for run- 
away slaves. He lived in Loraine county, Ohio. Slaves making their 
escape on that line from Marietta to Canada would be brought by his 
brother, James, in Holmes county, to his house, and from there he would 
take them to safe quarters on the lake, to be deported by another party 
to Canada. (6) Samuel and (7) Thomas moved to Washington county, 
Iowa. (8) Maria, married Hugh Truesdale, a brother to Tamar Trues- 
dale, the wife of James and mother of Thomas M. The Truesdales were 
Scotch Covenanters. (9) Hutchinson is living near Vincennes, Indiana. 
(10) Isabel, married Captain Hughes, who commanded a company in 
an Iowa Regiment during the Civil War. (11) John Irwin was a 
physician. He went to Ciilifornia in 1849 and practiced his profession 

The Boone and Truesdale families were very patriotic. There were 
sixty of these two families in the Civil War of 1861-65. 

James Boone was born in Beavers county, Pennsylvania, in 1802. In 
1810 he moved to Holmes county, Ohio, where he lived until 1865, when 
he moved to Johnston county, in Missouri, and in 1875 he moved to 
Chaffee county, Colorado, where he died in 1880. He was married to 
Tamar Truesdale, of Butler county, Pennsylvania, in 1825. Her people 
moved to Ohio in 181 1 and lived north of Fredericksburg, in Wayne 
county. James and Tamer lived in Holmes county on a farm adjoining 
the Vallandingham farm, v\'here the noted C. L. was born and raised. 
The county was full of sympathizers for the South, and many an inter- 
esting story could be told of runaway slaves finding refuge in the attic 
story of James Boone's house, where they were kept in hiding during 
the day and then taken from there by night to his brother William's 
house in Loraine county, and from there by night again they were taken 
to some port on the lake between Toledo and Cleveland, where another 

832 Preston County, West Virginia 

friend of the distressed would put them on some boat for the opposite 
shore. The children of James and Tamar (Truesdale) Boone were: 
(i) James, who was in the late war and died in Leavenworth, Kansas. 
He and his brother, George H., belonged to the ist Colorado and par- 
ticipated in those engagements which drove Price out of Missouri. 
(2) Elizabeth married Thomas Cameron, of Holmes county, Ohio. (3) 
William Ross was a member of the same regiment McKinley belonged 
to, from Ohio. He died of typhoid fever in 1862. (4) Hugh Clarke was 
a member of the i6th Ohio. He had both arms shattered by a shell at 
Pittsburg Landing. (5) David C. and (6) Samuel belonged to the 102nd 
Ohio. Samuel C. was a prisoner in Andersonville, Libbey, and at 
Cahaba, Alabama. He 'was killed January 22, 1875, i" Colorado. (7) 
Nancy M., married Mayol, a Frenchman. He died, then she married 
Samuel Hartsell. She died April 26, 191 1. (8) John S., (9) George H., 
and (10) Hugh C, are living in Colorado. (11) Maria, died in Colo- 
rado. She married Moreland Gibson, and in 1871 moved to Missouri. 
In 1876 they moved to Colorado. He died September i, 1876. She then 
married Jess Davis, and died at Grand Junction in 1886. (12) Sarah 
married Alexander Hogue, who died September 25, 1906. They lived 
in Colorado. (13) John Seymour was in the Spanish War. He was 
under General Chaffee and saw service also in Pekin, China. He is 
now in the Soldiers' Home at Monte Christo. 

Thomas M. Boone was born in Holmes county, Ohio, went to Mis- 
souri with his parents in 1865, and from there to Colorado. He was a 
cowboy and herded cattle in Texas and Montana. On the 15th of 
October, 1890, he married Elizabeth C. Hartsell. She was a daughter 
of George W. Hartsell, of this county. West Virginia. After living 
three years in Colorado he went to Seattle, Washington, and lived 
there from 1884 to 1889, and then he moved to Virginia. In 1891 he 
moved to Kingwood, where he has been ever since. In the West he 
was a practical miner and an assayist of some recognized ability. He 
has been a stonemason since coming to this state. On January 7, 1892, 
he became a member of the Methodist Church on probation, and in 
July was taken into full membership, shortly after which he was made 
a member of the Church Board, which position he has held ever since. 

Preston County, West Virginia 833 


Brevet Captain James Eyster Murdock was born in Kingwood, W. 
Va., January i, 1842. 

The father of the subject of this sketch, John Smart Murdock, was 
born in MonongaHa county Va. (now West Virginia), January 14, 1809, 
of Scotch-Irish descent. He learned the blacksmith trade at Morgan- 
town, W. Va., under Shepard Dawson. He came to Kingwood, W. Va., 
in 1827, working at his trade for a number of years. He married 
Rebecca Minor, who was born in Preston county, W. Va., and whose 
parents were German. To this union there were born eight boys and 
three girls: Thomas I., William B., Israel B., Marcellus H., Godfrey 
G., James E., Elisha H., Charles E., Susan F., Mary A., and Jane E. 
When the Civil War broke out and a call for troops was made, James E. 
enlisted as a private, July 4, 1861, from Kingwood, Va. (now W. Va.). 
in Company A, 7th Regiment Va. Volunteer Infantry (now W. Va.). 
He was promoted to brevet captain and rendered .important service dur- 
ing that trying time. He was wounded four times: at Antietam, Fred- 
ericksburg., S'pottsylvania and Cold Harbor. For the wound received at 
Fredericksburg he was treated in Mount Pleasant Hospital, Washing- 
ton, D. C, two months. 'His battle list includes numerous hard-fought 
fields: Romney, Bloomery, Front Royal, Port Republic, Malvern Hill, 
Harrison's Landing, South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chan- 
cellorsville, Gettysburg, Williamsport, Robinson's River, Auburn, 
Bristoe Station, Bull Run, Mine Run, Morton's Ford, W^ilderness, 
Spottsylvania, Petersburg, North Anna River, Totopotoing, Deep Bot- 
tom, Hatcher's Run, Ream's Station, Bardstown, and Cold Harbor. He 
was honorably discharged November 24, 1864, at Petersburg, Va. He 
has held the office of adjutant, Kelly Post No. iii, G. A. R., for a num- 
ber of years; was elected township treasurer; was appointed postmaster 
under the first administration of President Cleveland ; clerk of the 
Board of Education of Kingwood, fifteen years. He joined the M. E. 
Church at Kingwood, W. Va., February i, 1868, under the pastorate of 
Coleman Wilson. He was secretary of the Sunday school for twenty- 
five years, only missing two Sundays in that time. He was married by 
Rev. Moore McNeal, of the M. E. Church, to Martha Ann Basnett, 
November i, 1870, mho was born at Cassville, MonongaHa county, W. 
Va., January 14, 1845, and whose parents were of German descent. To 
this union there were born two boys and two girls: William Henry 

834 Preston County, West Virginia 

Murdock, born August 2, 1871 ; Julia Caywood Murdock, born October 
2, 1875; Minnie Basnett Murdock, born December 5, 1878; James 
Eyster Murdock, Jr., born October 17, 1874. 

He Was a charter member Brown Lodge No. 32, K. of P.; was 
mustered into the Independent Order of Red Men and the Order of 
U. A. Mechanics. He was in the mercantile business and for a number 
of years a clerk in a drygoods store, drug store, and hardware store. 


Meshach Browning was one of the .pioneer hunters in Preston 
county. In 1859, the year of his death also, he published an "Auto- 
biography," setting forth thrilling accounts of his life as a hunter. The 
reliability of Mr. Browning's work is vouched for by such authorities 
as Judge Thomas Perry of the Fourth Judicial District of Pennsylvania 
and others who knew the correctness of many things that appear 
strange, almost miraculous. His work is entitled, "Forty-Four Years in 
the Life of a Hunter." During that time Mr. Browning killed nearly 2,000 
deer, 500 bears, about 50 panthers, more than 1,000 rattlesnakes, and 
scores of wolves and other beasts. Many of them were in Preston 
county. He was not a very large man, but a powerful man physically 
and an athlete of great note. On two occasions he entered the bears' 
cave and fought with the bruins in their den. 

Meshach Browning was born in Frederick county, Maryland, in 
18711. He was the son of Joshua and Nancy, whose four children were: 
Dorcas, Joshua, Jeremiah, and Meshach. In 1792 the family moved 
into Monongalia county. When he was two weeks old, Meshach's 
mother became a widow and the boy was raised by an uncle, James 
Spurgeon. In time he married Mary McMullen and settled in Sang 
Run, Garrett county, Maryland. She was an excellent woman, and 
died in 1839. James Browning, a son of Meshach and Mary, avas born 
June 21, 1814, on Sang Run. He was reared in Garrett county, Mary- 
land, on a farm, and attended a subscription school. In May, 1836, he 
was married to Ismena Barnard, and to them were born ten children : 
Franklin, deceased; Xotley B., of Terra Alta ; Mary, now wddow of 
Smith Kelly; Rebecca, widow of J. H. Feather; Maria Susan, deceased; 
Meshach, of Blaine, W. Va. ; Susan, the second, wife of A. H. 
Parsons, of Terra Alta; Minnie C, wife of Dr. M. L. Fitchner, of Terra 

Preston County, West Virginia 835 

Alta, W. \"a. ; Isaac, of Preston; Ferdinand, of Thomas, W. Va. ; 
Louisa, wife of Charles Jackson, of Los Angeles, Cal. Mr. Adam H. 
Parsons was one of the oldest and best known citizens of Preston 
county. He was born in Tucker county in 1840. His second marriage 
gave birth to four sons :Orra, Claude, Ernest and Harry, now all well- 
to-do young men. 

In 1865 Mr. James Brown came from Cranesville to Terra Alta 
where he conducted a railroad boarding house for some six years, then 
removed back to Cranesville. He died January 30, 1900. 


The family of the Feathers have become very numerous and con- 
siderably diffused. They are of German descent, from James Feather, 
who come to America as a redemptioner about 1775. He served seven 
years in the Continental army. In 1790 he came to Preston county 
and settled on the Martin farm, north of Guseman, but afterwards 
moved to the Jacob B. Feather place, near Lenox. His wife survived 
him until i860. Their seven sons lived in the same neighborhood. 
Joseph B., Charles E. and Dana S. are Methodist preachers. Joseph, 
son of Jacob, father of John H. Feather, the well-known county super- 
intendent of schools, was born September 14, 1816. He lived at Crab 
Orchard, then at Valley Point, and finally at Bruceton Mills, where 
he died in 1894. *He married Lydia Hartman. She was born May 20, 
1819. Their children were : Mary Jane, Sarah, John H., Margaret, 
Wesley and Michael, all of whom were reared at Crab Orchard. 

John H. Feather, one of the most prominent men in the county, 
was born April 15, 1842. He was raised on the farm and received his 
primary education in the district schools. He was a great student and 
a self-made man. He was an agriculturist, in an educated sense of that 
term, as well as a practical farmer. At eighteen years of age he began 
teaching school, and continued to teach for eighteen years. His last 
school was in Bruceton. In the meantime he was a soldier in the War 
of the Rebellion and was adjutant of David Gibson Post. He was then 
elected county superintendent of schools and filled that office success- 
fully for six years. He was many times a member and secretary of the 
Board of Education. He was also a deputy sheriff one term. He was 
justice of the peace of Grant district for a time and held other positions 
of honor and trust in the county until his death, September 10, 1894. 

836 Preston County, West Virginia 

August 25, 1867, John H. Feather was married to Rebecca Brown- 
ing, daughter of James. She was born December 21, 1843. Their 
children were: (i) Venitia Blanche, born August 25, 1869, married to 
Rev. W. H. Berry, September 20, 1893, at Bruceton Mills. (2) 
Isminnie Idesie, born June 19, 1876. She married Walton Davis, a 
postal clerk on the B. & O. Railroad, July 29, 1903. 

John H. Feather was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
thirty-five years. Rev. Mr. Berry was educated at Roanoke College 
and took his theological course in the seminary at Gettysburg. He has 
had charge of the Lutheran Church at Aurora for nine years. 


The Pentony family are of Irish descent. Hubert Pentony, mer- 
chant, of Tunnelton, son of Thomas and Matilda J. (Snyder) Pentony, 
was born in Preston county, on a farm near Reedsville, March 28, 1875. 
His maternal grandparents, John and Susan Snyder, lived on a farm 
near Reedsville also. His father, Thomas, came to America from Ire- 
land in 1855. He was twelve years old at that time, and seven weeks 
on board a sailing ship while coming over. The ship wharfed in New 
York, but the lad located first in Pennsylvania, then moved to Iowa, 
but subsequently same to West Virginia. He ran a farm near Reeds- 
ville, but was a successful miner and left his family a competency when 
he died in 1896. 

The children born to this union were three daughters and one son, 
of whom two are now living and two are dead. The mother is also 



Hubert Pentony stayed on the farm until sixteen years of age, and 
then he too went to work in the mines. In 1902 he engaged in the livery 
business, but a year or so afterwards he sold of¥ his horses and went 
back to mining. In 1909 he formed a partnership with Mr. A. H. Hal- 
britter, under the firm name of Halbritter & Pentony, for the purpose 
of conducting a trade in the line of general merchandising in Tunnel- 
ton. The ifirm erected their business block in 1912. Their storerooms 
are filled with a large stock of goods and their trade is one of the 
largest of the kind in Preston county. 

April 27, 1902, Mr. Pentony married Irma Maude Ashby, daughter 
of Frank F. and Elizabeth (May) Ashby, of Tunnelton. Her father 

Preston County, West Vieqinla. 837 

was a veteran soldier of the Civil War, having been a member of the 
6th West Virginia Cavalry. 

Children born to Mr. and Mrs. Pentony are: Hilda Vivian, 
October 20, 1902; Justice Millard, October 18, 1904; Thelma Catherine, 
May 2^, 1908, and Thomas Dale, January 5, 191 1. 

Mr. Pentony has but little inclination for outside pleasures and 
pursuits, nevertheless he is a member of the Knights of Pythias and 
the Masonic fraternities. 


The Ashburn family, of Preston county, is of Scotch-Irish descent. 
William, the grandfather, went from Greene county, Pennsylvania, to 
Cook county, Illinois, when a little boy. His parents settled on the 
Wabash Railroad, about twelve miles from Chicago, which place and 
settlement became known as Ashburn. His children were Jessie, Wil- 
liam, Joseph and Aaron, and all became educated people. William was 
a teacher twenty-one years in Doddridge county, West Virginia. He 
was also a member of the State Legislature at one time. 

Aaron came to West Virginia in 1830 and settled on the Jacob 
Moody farm, near Reedsville. This tract of land was taken up by Wil- 
liam Menear from a patent in 1783, when John Page was governor. It 
was a large tract, originally covering 2,000 acres. Menear sold his 
portion to Moody for a cow and an old flintlock musket. This was the 
Ashburn homestead, which for beauty of situation, fertility of soil and 
picturesque beauty is hardly equaled in Preston county. Aaron Ash- 
burn was a man of considerable force and character. He was born 
January i, 1807, and died November 24, 1861. It fell to his lot, as a 
frontiersman, to blaze the pioneer way through Preston county in 
several particulars. He was a carpenter, as well as a farmer, and put 
up the first frame house in the county. This was his own dwelling- 
house, erected in 1841. The next year he built his frame barn. 

In those days, when deer and other game were plenty, skill in marks- 
manship was one of the considered excellencies of pioneer life, and it 
is said of Aaron Ashburn that his rifle was the most unerring of any 
that could be found in West Virginia. It was not difficult for him to 
hit the center of the mark one hundred yards distant. Some of his 
exploits in the chase equalled those of Meshach Browning, an account 

838 Preston County, West Virginia 

of which may be found in another part of this work. Mr. Ashburn was 
also a very successful crier at public sales. His services as an 
auctioneer were in great demand. It was on a return trip from an 
auction sale that he was killed by being thrown from his horse. The 
horse was a vicious animal, and after throwing his lider bit ofif his 
hand, and in this condition he was found, having bled to death. 

Mr. Aaron Ashburn married Hannah Coleman. She was the daugh- 
ter of Elijah Coleman, who lived on Carter's Run, near Winchester, 
Virginia, and was born on Lincoln's birthday. Her marriage to Mr. 
Ashburn took place before 1830. To them were born four boys and 
three girls, namely: (i) William, born in 1830, died in Parkersburg, 
West Virginia, having been burned to death in a big mill. (2) Ephraim 
distinguished himself as a veteran soldier in the late Civil War. After- 
wards he became one of General Custer's stafT officers on the Western 
plains. His death took place at Fort Casper, December 6, 1866. While 
in the South he was captured and sent to Andersonville prison, but in 
the exchange of officers was released. He was orderly sergeant of his 
company. (3) Enos, whose recent death, April 14, 1902, in Reedsville, 
is well remembered. Pie married Phoebe Parks and lived on the old 
Ashburn homestead, where he raised three children. His wife died in 
1903. He was a very successful farmer and a philanthropist. The lot 
on which the present school building now stands was given by Enos 
Ashburn to the village. (4) James, the next son, was also a soldier in 
the late war with the South. He enlisted in the 14th West Virginia 
Infantry in 1862; was wounded at the battle of Cedar Creek, in that 
renowned raid of Sheridan, and died March 2, 1866. July 4, 1865, he 
married Elizabeth Dill. He died after an amputation of his leg. (5) 
Louisiana, the oldest daughter of Aaron Ashburn, married George 
Spurgeon, and lives in Dallas, Texas. (6) Elizabeth married Miles H. 
Orr, and lives at Masontown. (7) Amanda married Simon Snyder, 
They had three boys and five girls. She is dead. He lives in Morgan- 
town. (8) Catherine married Daniel Orr, and they have four children. 
They live at Independence. (9) George Washington Ashburn, the 
subject of this sketch, was born August 28, 1851. His education was 
obtained in the district school. He is a great reader, is a careful 
observer, and is well informed and an intelligent citizen of the great 
commonwealth. As an agriculturist, his attentions have been confined 
to farming, which he has conducted on a scientific basis. As a breeder 
of fine stock, the record made is an enviable one. Of cattle, the Angus 

Preston County, West Virginia 839 

and Hereford blood predominate; hogs are of the Polland China breed; 
chickens, Rhode Island Reds; sheep are Shropshire; while some of the 
finest specimens of draught horses in the state are found in his stables. 
Moody Bliss Auburn owns two heavy jet blacks, each weighing 1,700 
pounds and over. They are very high spirited, once ugly, vicious, but 
now docile as lambs. The writer saw Mr. Ashburn plowing corn with- 
out lines. The team is as responsive to the word of command as an 
affectionate child is to its mother, proving that by patience and kind- 
ness any horse can be brought under subjection by his master. Mr. 
Ashburn has proven himself a master tamer of horses, equal to Rarey, 
the great horse-tamer. 

Mr. George W. Ashburn married Jane Jenkins in 1879. She was 
born February 14, 1851. (See history of Jenkins family.) By this mar- 
riage Mary Ellen, their first child, was born July 3, 1879. She married 
Amos Guseman, of Reedsville. Their children are : Ruth, Freda and 
Thelma. He is a carpenter. (2) Moody Bliss was born February 2, 
i8__. He married Gertrude Ellen Zinn. Their children are Edward 
Warren, Mary Syrena and Frederick Loar. Being the only son, Moody 
Bliss lives with his parents and is in charge of the farm. He and his 
family are members of the Methodist Church and he is a member of 
the Knights of Pythias also. (3) Lelia Dortha, married A. J. 
Clarkson in 1906, and lives in Hardy county. South Dakota. They 
have one child, Evan. Mr. Clarkson is a large landowner, a great sheep 
raiser, and a wool grower, and nearly a millionaire, though but a few 
years since he started in life with only $500. Recognized as a man of 
considerable force and character, he has been made Commissioner of 
his county. (4) Bessie Sybell, the next daughter, married S. B. Clark- 
son, a cousin of A. J. Clarkson. He is a man also of considerable force 
of character. They were married in 1906. Pie was a government clerk 
at first, and afterwards helped to survey the Bellefouche Valley. They 
have two children. Flossie Gertrude married George Stone in 1908. 
They came from Colorado but recently and settled near Reedsville. 
They have a beautiful home and two bright children, Kenneth and 
Agnus Capitolina Jane. Their farm is near Reedsville, having been a 
part of the old Menear tract, and was bought in 1902. The original 
homestead of the Ashburns was erected in 1841. It was torn down in 
1910. The present house was built in 1861. The farm is well adapted 
for grazing, and dealing in stock is carried on somewhat extensively. 
Mr. Ashburn and his son, Moody Bliss, have shipped eighteen droves 
of cattle to Uniontown, Pennsylvania, alone. 

840 Preston County, West Virginia 


The family of Feathers have become numerous and are considerably 
diflfused. They are of German descent, from James Feather, who came 
to America as a redemptioner, about 1775. He served seven years in 
the Continental army. In 1790 he came to Preston county and settled 
on the Martin farm, north of Guseman, but afterwards moved to the 
Joseph B. Feather place, near Lenox. His wife survived him until 
i860. Their seven sons lived in the same neighborhood. Jacob located 
at Crab Orchard. His children were: Adam, Ezekiel, James, John, 
Christian, Joseph B., Charles F., and Dana S., the last three named 
being Methodist preachers. Joseph, son of Jacob, was the father of 
John H., the well known Superintendent of County Schools, and the 
subject of this sketch. He was the youngest of the family, born Sep- 
tember 14, 1816, and died at Bruceton Mills in 1896, aged eighty years. 
He married Lydia Hartman. She was born May 20, 1819. Their 
children were: Mary Jane, Sarah, John H., Margaret, Jacob W., and 
Michael, all of whom were raised at Crab Orchard. 

Jacob Wesley Feather was born August 9, 1845. He was reared 
on a farm, and on June 2, 1867, married Sarah Michael, daughter of 
Philip and Sophia Michael, and then moved to Cranesville, where they 
resided for a third of a century. In 1865 he became a member of 
Company K, 17th West Virginia Infantry, and served to the end of the 
war. In 1901 he moved to Mountain Lake Park, where a more retired 
life was spent during the next five years, after which residence was 
taken 'up in Bruceton, where the present homestead of the family is. 
Mr. Feather owns two farms near Bruceton Mills, and he has made a 
success in agricultural pursuits. 

(By U. N. Orr.) 

My great-grandfather, John Orr, emigrated to America from the 
north of Ireland about the year 1758, and settled in Baltimore county, 
Maryland. He married a Miss Dale, a sister to Commodore Dale, a 
naval officer of Revolutionary fame. He raised a family of six children, 
two girls and four boys, as follows : John Dale, George, Peter and 

Preston County, West Virginia 841 

James, Elizabet4T-aiTa Mary. The dates of their respective births are 
not known, except John Dale, who was born in the year 1765. 

In the year 1782, John Orr, with his family, emigrated from Balti- 
more county to Fayette county, Pennsylvania, near Uniontown, and 
lived there until his death, the date of which is not known. John Dale 
Orr married Elizabeth Johns, and lived about four years after marriage 
near Uniontown, Pennsylvania. Two children were born to them, 
James and Catherine ; James died in infancy. In the spring of 1798 
they moved to Sand Ridge, now known as Scotch Hill, and there built 
a log cabin in the wilderness. They were encouraged in this move by 
grandfather's sister, Mary, who had married a man by the name of 
Davy and settled there before, on what is known as the Hunt farm. 
At this place the remainder of the family were born, as follows : John, 
in 1798; Ruth, in 1801 ; Hiram, 1804; George, 1808; and James in 1813. 

When John D. Orr raised his cabin, his sister, Mrs. Davy, lived 
about a mile from his place, and at that time there were but three other 
families or cabins within a radius of six or seven miles of his place. In 
moving from Pennsylvania they brought all their possessions on what 
was called a drag (two poles about ten feet long pinned together at one 
end, and about four feet wide, like a pair of shafts to a buggy, and 
strapped to the hames of the horse). They had two of them and two 
horses. Grandmother rode one horse with a drag attached, and carried 
Aunt Catharine in her arms, while grandfather brought up the rear with 
the other horse and drag, driving two milch cows and one yearling. I 
have often heard them speak of their move. After leaving the settle- 
ment of Morgantown they passed only one cabin on the road. It was 
west of where Gladesville now stands and was occupied by a man 
named Smith. All the country surrounding their home was a vast 
wilderness, inhabited only by wild beasts. For years after they had 
made this cabin their home they had to pen their sheep and small cattle 
near the cabin to protect them from the wolves and bears. It was not 
necessary to raise hogs at that time, as deer and bear furnished the 
larder with meat. Sheep had to be raised and protected to provide the 
winter clothing, while flax furnished the clothing for summer. Mills 
to grind their grain for bread were not known in that settlement for 
several years after they located there. They had to resort to the old- 
fashioned grater or primitive hand mill to prepare the grain for food. 

Stores were few and far between, the closest one being at Morgan- 
town, about twenty-five miles distant, and there only a few articles 

842 Preston County, West Virginia 

could be obtained. This made it necessary for the settlers to make a 
trip to Winchester each fall. They made this trip on horseback, driving 
two or three horses carrying pack saddles loaded with products of that 
locality, such as flaxseed, ginseng and pelts of wild animals. This they 
traded for salt, iron, powder, lead and leather, and occasionally, if their 
products brought good prices, they would bring back with them one 
pound of green cofifee, which was supposed to last the family for the 
next year. These trips occupied about ten days. They had to take with 
them their provisions and camp in the woods at night near a spring or 
creek. It was customary for two or three of the neighbors to make 
these trips together, not only for the company of each other, but for 
the protection thus afforded. 

Some six or seven years after they had settled in their lonely home 
there was built a water mill about six or seven miles from them on 
Sandy Creek, by a man named Marquess. This made it possible for 
them to get their grinding done there, which relieved the grater and 
hand mill and to a great extent lessened their labors. About this time 
settlers began to come into that region and general improvements fol- 
lowed the settlers. House raisings and log rollings were becoming a 
common occurrence, the bear and the wolf had been killed or driven 
away, so that domestic animals were now safe from their ravages. Th^ 
men now had more time to sow and reap, while their better halves would 
spin and weave. Thus they lived in peace and contentment. 

Thus John Dale Orr and his wife, Elizabeth Johns, lived there from 
1798 until about 1835. By this time their children were all grown up 
and married, and my father, Hiram Orr, had built a house close to the 
old folks' cabin, and shortly after its completion they came to live with 
him and continued to do until their death. John Dale Orr died in 
April, 1840, and his wife, Elizabeth Jane Orr, died in October, 1853. 
I was eight years old at the time of grandfather's death, and twenty- 
one years old when grandmother died, and I lived with them until their 
deaths. What I have here written I gathered from conversation with 
them and by knowledge of these events as I recollect them. 

John Dale Orr was six feet two inches in height, straight as an 
arrow, fair complexion, blue eyes, sandy hair, and weighed from 160 to 
170 pounds. In religion he was a Presbyterian, and in politics an old 
Line Whig. He cast his last presidential vote in 1836 for General 
William H. Harrison. He had a war record of which his children, 
2rrandchildren and great-grandchildren should all be proud. At the 

Preston County, West Virginia 843 

age of sixteen he went into the Revolutionary army as a substitute for 
his father, who was drafted from Baltimore county. He was in the 
battle of Yorktown and saw the fiag of Lord Cornwallis go down 
and witnessed the surrender. After he moved with his father to Fayette 
county, Pennsylvania, he volunteered to join the unfortunate expedi- 
tion of William 11. Crawford against the Indians in the state of Ohio, 
and in battle was severely wounded. This expedition proved to be 
very disastrous, as of the army of five hundred mustered in, only three 
hundred and forty got back to the settlement. By all rights he should 
have been a pensioner, and he made application for one, but because 
of his being a substitute in the Revolutionary War his claim could not 
be established, and the Crawford expedition to Ohio was not authorized 
by the United States Government, it having been made up by citizens 
of Pennsylvania for their own protection, and acts of this character 
were not pensionable. 

The brothers of James Dale Orr, James, George and Peter, married 
early in life in Pennsylvania, all of them moved to Licking county, Ohio, 
ind there raised large families. There are quite a number of their 
descendants still living there and some of their descendants in nearly 
all of the western states. A number of them served as officers and 
soldiers in the late Rebellion. Mary, as noted above, married a Mr. 
Davy, and Elizabeth married John McClelland and lived and died in 
Fayette county, Pennsylvania. 

Elizabeth Johns Orr was a small woman, about five feet two or three 
inches high, weighed about no pounds, fair complexion, blue eyes and 
black hair. I have heard her say that during the harvest time in her 
young days she could take a sickle and keep up with grandfather 
all day. Where she was raised in Pennsylvania there were quite a 
number of her family living. I recollect of seeing one brother who 
came to visit us a short time before her death. His name was Daniel 
Johns. She had another brother named Ellis who moved to Hamilton 
county, Ohio. My father went out to see him when a young man and 
stayed with him about one year. 

Children of John Dale and Elizabeth Johns Orr: Catharine was born 
near Uniontown, Pennsylvania, about 1797, and died about i860, in 
Harrison county, West Virginia. She married Joshua Fortney. They 
lived a short time after their marriage on Scotch Hill, on what is now 
known as the Lamire place, afterwards moving to Harrison county, near 
Shinnston, Avhere they both died between the years of 1850 and i860. 

844 Pkbston County, West VisaiNU 

They had born to them the following children : Jacob, Julia, Hiram, 
Naomi, George, John and Seth. Jacob married a Miss Reeves. Julia 
married John Duncan, Hiram married a Miss Conaway, and Naomi 
married Dr. Flowers. I do not know who George and Seth married. 
Jacob, Julia and Naomi are now dead. John and Hiram still live in 
Harrison county, while George and Seth at last accounts were still liv- 
ing in Missouri. 

John Orr was born on Scotch Hill, in 1798, and died in 1884, aged 
eighty-six years. He married Susan Menear. About that time they 
bought a farm adjoining the old Orr farm, near the Cross Roads at 
Scotch Hill. There all of their children were born, as follows: Emily, 
who married James Shaw and moved to Kansas; Ellis, who died when 
twenty-two years old ; Priscilla, who married A. P. Moon, is now living 
at Newburg, West Virginia, and is now eighty-two years old; Lovina 
died at the age of seventeen or eighteen ; Ruth also died when a small 
girl; Caroline married Thomas Shaw, a brother to James Shaw, the 
husband of Emily; Marshall, who went to Pikes Peak during the gold 
craze of 1859 and i860, and died there, lies buried at the foot of the 
mountains; Franklin died when a small boy; Harriet never married, 
and now lives with her sister, Catharine, at Reedsville, West Virginia; 
Catherine married John Bolyard, and lives at Reedsville, West Virginia; 
Elizabeth married William Heidelburg, and lives in Halifax county, Vir- 
ginia; Isaac died when about twenty-one or twenty-two years old. 

John Orr in religion was a devout Baptist, and was a deacon in that 
church. In politics he was a Democrat until Virginia seceded from the 
Union. At that time he left the Democratic party and became one of 
the most radical Republicans of his day, and continued in that faith 
until his death. I have often heard him make this statement with great 
feeling, "That Jefferson Davis should have been hung.*' 

Ruth Orr was born in 1801, on Scotch Hill, and lived there until 

her death, in . She married William Menear, and they settled on 

the old Menear farm, near Scotch Hill, and lived there the remaineder 
of their lives. They had born the following children : Amie, who married 
David Duncan; David B., who married a Miss Piggott, Rhoda, married 
Francis Warthen ; James P. married a Miss Nose; Cornelius, Chester 
and John died when young men; Amie died when about thirtynfive 
years old; David and Rhoda lived their threescore and ten, and died 
but recently. It is my understanding that James P. is still living some- 
where in Pennsylvania. 

Preston County, West Virginia 845 

Ruth Orr's family were Methodists in religion, and her husband, 
William Menear, in politics was an old Line Whig, but in his later life 
was a Republican. 

Hiram Orr was born in 1804, on Scotch Hill, and died 1855. He 
married Keziah Menear, a sister to Susan Menear, wife of John Orr. 
By this marriage the following children were born : 

(i) Uriah N. married Annie A. Talbot; she died in 1854, leaving two 
children, and in Jan., 1867, he married Mollie J. Squires. (2) Martha J. 
married Andrew B. Menear, in 1859; she died in Kingwood, in 1864, leav- 
ing two children. (3) Eugenus J. married a Miss Warthen, in 1855; he 
died in 1868, leaving five children. (4) Morgan D. married Belle 
Henry; they live in Fairmont, West Virginia, where they raised a 
family of three boys and two girls. (5) Miles H. married a Miss Ash- 
burn ; they live at Masontown, West Virginia, where they raised a 
family of three girls and one boy. (6) Keziah Orr married S. M. 
Martin ; they live at Reedsville, West Virginia, where they raised a 
iamiily of ten girls and boys. The wife died in March, 1846, and in 1848 

Hiram again married, this time the widow of Holt, whose maiden 

name was Hartley. By this marriage there were born one girl, who 
died in infancy, and Waitman L., who married Carrie A. Pfeil, and 
lived in Baltimore until his death, which occurred in 1905, leaving one' 
adopted son, they having no children of their own. 

George Orr was born in 1808, on Scotch Hill, and died in In 

religion he was a Baptist, and in politics a Republican. He married 
Sarah Fortney, a cousin of Keziah and Susan Menear Orr. There were 
born to them the following children: (i and 2) Naomi and William, 
who both died when quite young. (3) Elizabeth, who married Samuel 
Armstrong. She and her husband are both dead. (4) Leah, who mar- 
ried William H. Menear, is still living near Reedsville, her husband 
having died four or five years ago. (5) James P., married a Miss 
Springer; they moved to Illinois shortly after their marriage and resided 
there a short time, then moved to Kansas, where he lived until his death 
which occurred about two years ago. (6) Amie, married a Miss 
McKinney ; they now live on a part of his father's old home place, near 
Irondale Furnace, now Victoria. (7) Clarissa, married a Mr. Cleaver, 
and moved to Kentucky with him ; after living there several years her 
husband was drowned and she then moved back to Preston, where 
she lived with her brother until she died. Some of her children are 
now living in Valley District. (8) Rachael, married John A. Walls, 

846 Preston County, West Vieginia 

and now lives on the old Rogers farm, near Gladesville; her husband 
died but recently. (9) Daniel, married a Miss Ashburn ; four children 
were born to them; they now live on a portion of the old homestead 
adjoining Amie's farm. (10) George, married a Miss Loar; they have 
raised a family of ifive children ; he lives on a farm adjoining Amie's 
and Daniel's, which is also a part of their father's old home farm. 

James Orr was born in 1813, and died in 1890. He married Mar- 
garet Fortney, who was a cousin to Susan Menear Orr and Keziah 
Menear Orr. They lived several years on a farm near Independence, 
now owned by a Air. Newman. There were born to them four children, 
as follows : Ashbel, Louise, John D. and Margaret. Ashbel was acci- 
dentally killed at the age of sixteen years by the discharge of a gun 
in the hands of a careless playmate. 

Margaret Fortney Orr died in 1843, and in 1848 James Orr married 
his second wife, Mary Roofs, and moved to Harrison county. By this 
marriage there were four sons born, as follows: A. R., James, Thomas 
and Franklin. In 1854 James Orr moved with his family to the state 
of Illinois, where he lived until his death. Mary Roofs Orr died about 
two years ago. Their children, Louisa, John D., Margaret and Thomas, 
are all dead. A. R., James and Franklin all live in Illinois. 

In his early life James Orr was a school teacher. He taught the 
first school I ever attended. It was in the winter of 1838 and 1839. 
This school was held in a log cabin near Independence, on what is now 
known as the Sinclair farm. After teaching school a short time he was 
ordained as a minister of the Baptist church, and continued to preach 
for this church until old age retired him. In politics he was a Democrat. 

The three sons of James Orr now living in Illinois are Democrat.^, 
but with the exception of them, all the other descendants of John Dale 
Orr are Depublicans. All are loyal and strong supporters of the laws 
that govern the country, and I have been unable to find any record 
w^here any of them were ever arrested for a crime. 

AMien the dark cloud of secession loomed up from the southern 
horizon in the year 1861, and the Secessionists fired on Fort Sumpter, 
John Dale Orr's descendants entered into the spirit of war that was then 
created and gave their services to their country until the Secessionists 
were conquered and the armies of the Rebellion laid down their arms. 
When the Rebellion was declared, John Dale Orr had eleven grandsons 
that were subject to military duty, and two — Jacob Fortney and David 
B. Menear — were over the age limit. Of the eleven subject to military 

Peeston County, West Virginia 847 

duty, ten of them enlisted, as follows: Morgan D. enlisted 1861, Com- 
pany D, 3rd W. Va. Vol. Inf.; Uriah N. Orr enlisted 1861, Company I, 
6th W. Va. Vol. Inf.; James P. Orr enlisted 1861, Company I, 6th W. 
Va. Vol. Inf.; Hiram Fortney enlisted 1862, Company G, 12th W. Va. 
Vol. Inf.; John Fortney enlisted 1862, Company G., 12th W. Va. Vol. 
Inf. ; George Fortney enlisted 1862, Company G, 12th W. Va. Vol. Inf. ; 
James P. Menear enlisted 1862, Company H, 12th W. Va. Vol. Inf.; 
Miles H. Orr enlisted 1862, Company B, 14th W. Va. Vol. Inf.; Amie 
Orr enlisted in 1863, Company B, 4th W. Va. Cav. ; James B. Orr en- 
listed in an Illinois regiment. Engenue J. Orr was the only one of the 
grandsons that did not enlist in this war; he was a captain of a military 
company which was called out two or three times. They served in what 
was called at that time the Bunker War. Bunker was a brigadier- 
general and had under his command four regiments of the militia, two 
regiments from Preston, and two from Monongalia counties. 

Morgan D. Orr was the only one that was wounded. This happened in 
the battle of Cross Keys, when he was shot in the leg. He still carries 
this ball embedded between the bones in the calf of his leg. On account 
of this wound he was discharged in 1863. U. N. Orr and James P. Orr 
were discharged at Cumberland, Maryland, November 25, 1864, four 
months after their enlistment time had expired. The remainder of ths 
grandsons that had enlisted during 1862 and 1863 were still in the war 
at the finish. The Twelfth Regiment was in the army of the Potomac, 
and the members of this regiment were present at the surrender of 
General Lee. 

George Fortney was a sergeant in his company at the time of its 
formation, and was later promoted to the rank of 2nd lieutenant. U. 
N. Orr was the 'first duty sergeant. Morgan D. Orr, Miles H. Orr, and 
James P. Menear were corporals. All of these grandsons have honor- 
able discharges. None of them were ever under arrest or courtmartialed 
for disobedience of orders or neglect of their military duty, and none 
of them have any hospital record. 


Dudley Lee, the frandfather of the Lee families now of Preston 
County, was of English descent. He came to America in Colonial times 
and was a soldier in the Revolutionary War. He was married twice. 
His second wife was a widow, Mrs. Sarah White. She was a Graham. 

848 Preston County, West Virginia 

By her he had two sons and five daug-hters. Their names were Abraham, 
Nicholas, Katie, Rebecca, Judith, Margaret and Sarah. At the time 
Nicholas Lee was born, October 15, 1803, Dudley Lee's son Thornton 
Brooks by his former wife was a full grown man and a soldier in the 
War of 1812. His father died soon after the was at Fort Pendleton, 
Maryland. After the death of Dudley Lee, Nicholas his son came to 
West Virginia and on September 30, 1838, married Frances daughter of 
Caleb and Mildred King. She was born March i, 1820, in Bedford 
County, Pennsylvania, and died in Kanawa County, Pennsylvania, May 
19, 1847, at the age of thirty-eight years. The children by this marriage 
were Christopher Columbus Lee, born June 25, 1840; Margaret Cather- 
ine July 12, 1842; Samuel B. September 10, 1846; and Mary Frances 
deceased who was born in 1846. C. C. Lee is a well to do farmer living 
at Cranesville. His wife was a Miss Judith Titchenell. They have 
seven children: Margaret C. married W. H. Groves. He is also a far- 
mer. They have seven children. Samuel B. married Martha Liston, 
daughter of Elisha and Margaret Titchenell, on the 3rd of May 1868. 
They lived first on Muddy Creek below Kingwood at the home place, 
the father at that time being an engineer for the B. & O. R. R. Company. 
He was killed on the road February 29, 1880. Samuel B. Lee moved to 
Klansas and lived near Oxford that state from 18 — to 1881, when he 
came to Terra Alta and went into the milling business as one of the 
members of the firm of Jones, Freeland & Company. In 1900 he boug'ht 
a farm of 220 acres near Oakland, Maryland, and staid there until his 
wife died, and then bought his present residence in Terra Alta in 1907 
and came here in 1909. 

His children are (i) Emma Florence, born November 29, 1869; (2) 
Abraham Judson, born April 10, 1872, married Elizabeth Hertzog. He 
is a mechanic and lives at Morristown, Pennsylvania. (3) Jennie S. 
born November 29, 1874, never married. (4) Mollie C. born August 12, 
1876. She married Walter A. Grim and lives at Washington, North 
Carolina. (5) Frank Scott, born October 3, 1883 and died in Terra Alta 
December 9, 1902. 

Mr. Samuel B. Lee has officiated in the municipal aflFairs of Terra 
Alta, from time to time, during his stay here, and has been an active 
member also of the Methodist Episopal Churc'h. 

Pbwiton County, West Virginia 849 


William Harrington, born July 20, 1805, ^'^'d his wife Elizabeth King, 
born March 12, 1809, moved from Monongalia County, Virginia, now 
West Virginia, to a farm near Independence, Preston County, West 
Virginia, in the year of 1840. William and Elizabeth Harrington were 
the parents of the following children: James, born July 31, 1831 ; Mar- 
garet, born March 29, 1834; William John, born February 22, 1836; 
Josephus, born December 23, 1837; Thomas, born April 22, 1840; Francis 
Marion, born August 15, 1842; Minerva, born April 7, 1844; Curtis, born 
December 2^, 1846; Naomi, born May 24, 1S49. 

James, the oldest son of William and Elizabeth Harrington, married 
Miss Sarah A., the youngest daughter of Mr. Jesse Snider about the 
year 1852. Jesse Snider lived on a farm one mile north of Newburg and 
adjoining the William Harrington farm. Jesse Snider was born on 
Three Fork in 1804, and with his wife's ancestors (the Gandys) were 
among the oldest pioneers of Preston County, West Virginia. Mrs. James 
Harrington was born November 11, 1829. Mr. and Mrs. James Harring- 
ton lived on a part of the Snider farm the remainder of their life. Mrs. 
Harrington died July 27, 1906, and Mr. Harrington January 14, 1911, 
both deaths being caused by infinmity and old age. To this union were 
born the following children: William Jesse, born October 10, 1852, 
married Miss Ella Crawford, and to this union were born two children — 
Claude B., who is an engineer on the 4th Division of the B. & O., and 
Daisy Emery living in Chicago, Illinois. Claude' B. married Miss Clay- 
ton of Wheeling, and has two children, Madelene and Lorain. Daisy 
Emery has one child, Pauline Emery. J. Franklin Harrington, second 
son of James Harrington, was born September 7, 1855, and was killed 
at Defiance, Ohio, September 16, 1882, in a railroad wreck. Laura 
Virginia, the oldest daughter, born November 13, 1857, married Mr. C. 
M. Hollis of Terra Alta, West Virginia, June 2t„ 1887. Mr. Hollis 
lives in Newburg, where he is the proprietor and owner of the New- 
burg Meat Market. J. C. Harrington, third son of James Harrington, 
born March 28, i860, married Miss Lucy M. Turnley of Newburg. Mr, 
Harrington was formerly a butcher at Monongah, West Virginia, but 
now Tesides on a farm one half mile north of Newburg. Charles A., 
fourth son of James Harrington, born July 12, 1862, is still single and 
resides on the old homestead, which is a portion of the old "J^sse Snider 
Farm." Clare, born October 4, 1864. died .\ugust 3. 1871. Ida M. 

850 Preston County, West Vibginia 

born May 29, 1867, died March 15, 1869. Wilber C, fifth son of James 
Harrington, born March 3, 1871, married Miss Nancy Montgomery, and 
was the father of two daughters. May and Laura, who live in Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania. Wilbur died in Los Angeles, California, June 6, 


In England the Turnley family dates back to a remote period. Prior 
to 1550 the name is recorded as a family with a Coat of Arms in the 
registrar's office, the Turn Cup Lily or Turnley. The Turnley Coat 
of Arms consists of a green oak tree growing on a mound; pendant of 
left side a reddened shield charged with a "pattee" cross. 

Francis Turnley, the great-great-great- great- great grandfather of 
the Turnleys now in Preston County, West Virginia, (and the only 
Turnley in West Virginia) was born in England about 1620, was among 
the reinforcements dispatched to the garrison in Ireland by Cromwell. 
He participated in the battle near Dublin in 1649, and was present at 
the shameful butchery prepared by Cromwell at Drogheda. He re- 
mained in service in Ireland till 1651, when he obtained his discharge. 
He started to return to England, but slopped at Monmounth, Wales, 
where be married and reared two sons, John and Francis. He died in 
Monmouth in 1690. His two so'us, John and Francis, after attaining 
their majority emigrated to the American Colonies in 1692, and were 
the first Turnleys in America. John settled in Botetourt County, 
Virginia, and Francis in Spottsylvania County, Virginia, and he, 
(Francis) is the progenitor of the Turnleys in Preston County, West 
Virginia. Francis with his descendents continued to live in Spottsyl- 
vania County, Virginia, where he was engaged in farming and the 
lumber trade. Our grandfather, John Turnley, born October 22, 
1798, near Fredericksburg, married Miss Malinda Cowen of Spottsyl- 
vania County, Virginia, in 1821, and moved to Chesterfield County, 
Virginia, in or about 1840; he became interested in the lumber and coal 
trade, and lived near the Midlothian Coal Mines in Virginia. He 
spent the remainder of his life? in that section, dying there in 1865. 

John Turnley a cousin, nephew or a relative of some sort of the 
above Turnleys was born in Spottsylvania County, Virginia, in 1754* 
enlisted in the army at the age of twenty-one, and served until Febru- 

Preston County, West Virginia 851 

ary, 1778, when he received his discharge — the following is a true copy: 
"I do hereby certify that John Turnley, a soldier in the South Virginia 
regiment, lias faithfully served his time of enlistment and is hereby 
d'isc'harged. Given under my hand at Valley Forge Camp, February 

13, 1778." 

"George Weedon, Brigadier General." 

So we are all sons and daughters of the Revolution. 

James Madison Turnley, (the father of Preston County Turnleys) 
the eldest son and third child of John and Malinda Turnley was born 
near Fredericksburg Spottsylvania County, Virginia, September 14, 1833; 
lived with his parents until he was 17 years of age, when he became a 
stage driver from Richmond, Virginia, to the Hugenot Springs for 
two years. Then became overseer of slaves on a large plantation for 
Mr. Hill Spheres for one year and for Dr. Philip Johnston for two years; 
both in Chesterfield County, Virginia. At the age of twenty-three he 
left Virginia, and came to Piedmont, Virginia, now West Virginia, and 
was engaged by the B. & O. Railroad Company as brakeman between 
Piedmont and Fetterman, at which he served seven months, and, at the 
end of that time was promoted to conductorship on same division. He 
has in his possession now a silver medal given him by said Company for 
faithful service during the month of May, 1857. In 1869, he quit the 
railroad company and bought a farm one mile north of Newburg, Pres- 
ton County, West Virginia. He moved from Piedmont, West Virginia 
with his family to Newburg about i860, and was conductor on the 
grade from Newburg to Cranberry, now Terra Alta, until 1869, when 
he moved on the farm where he has since resided. James M. Turnley 
married Miss Matilda B. Thorn from Thornton, West Virginia, October 
16, 1856; to this union were born thirteen children as follows: Mary 
Alice, born November 16, 1858, died December 24, 1859. Francis Calvert 
born September 24, i860, lived at home with his parents on the farm 
until September 3, 1881, when he was accidently run over by a locomo- 
tive at Newburg and killed. 

Robert Lee, the second son of James M. Turnley, was born Novem- 
ber 29, 1862: married .-Mlie Faucett, Independence, May to, 1885, was 
employed by the B. & O. R. R. Company at Newburg; was the father 
of two children, Francis. Iiorn Se]5temlier 7, 1886, now a B. & O. 
Engineer, and Bertha May, born May 18, 1889, is married and living in 
Los Angeles, California. Lee Turnley contracted a deep cold early in 
January, 1890, which developed into typhoid, and died January 24, 1890. 

852 Preston County, "West Vieoinia 

Charles Turnley, third son of James M. Turnley, born March 30, 
1865 ; married 'Miss Saphronia Montgomery of Newburg, December 24, 
1884. Charles was employed at the Newburg Orral Coal & Coke Com- 
pany, and was 'killed in an explosion January 21, 1886, of which 38 
others were victims, leaving one son Charles, age two months. 

Luther Wright, fourth son of James M. Turnley, was born February 
16, 1867, married Miss Mary Phillips of Independence, May 10, 1896, is 
the father of two girls, Lulu, born June 16, 1898, and Mildred, August 
21, 1899. Luther is a very bright man having held several positions of 
trust in different parts of the state, but is now residing at Independence 
West Virginia. 

Artrur Peabody, fifth son of James Turnley, was born December 29, 
1868; married Miss Lizzie Shafferman of Newburg, West Virginia, 
March 10, 1895, ^^^ is the father of one son, Richard, born July 21, 1896. 
Arthur is a conductor on the third division of the B. & O. He is a very 
thoughtful and careful trainman, having befen awarded a prize for his 
quick, active work in stopping a passenger train on Terra Alta grade 
which was stopped in train length of itself and only one rails length of 
the wreck, which was caused by the train on which he was employed 
leaving the track and blocking both east and west bound tracks for 
quite a distance. Had not this passenger train (No. 7) been stopped 
not only the loss of life but property would have been immense. Turn- 
ley was the only one of his crew who realized that the passenger 
was so near at hand. 

Eunice and Lucy, second and third daughters of James M. Turnley, 
were twins born April 15, 1871. Eunice died in infancy. Lucy taught 
in the public schools for several years, then took a business course in 
Wheeling, West Virginia, was a stenographer for the Austen Ooal & 
Coke Company for one year, and stenographer and book-keeper for the 
Orr Coal & Coke Company for more than two years. On January 27, 
1908, she 'was married to J. C. Harrington, who for many years was the 
proprietor of a meat market in Monongah, West Virginia, but now re- 
sides on a farm a half imile north of Newburg. 

Samuel Tilden, sixth son of James M. Turnley, was born May 9, 
1873, married Miss Agnes Smith July 21, 1899. Of this union one child 
was born, Raphael Parmenas, April 14, 1900, being a name-sake of 
Parmenas Taylor Turnley of Chicago, Illinois, and who has spent not 
only years, but hundreds of dollars in writing a history of the Turnleys. 

Preston County, West Virginia 853 

And to this great author are the Turnleys indebted for their history, 
which was just completed in 1905. He died in 1910, age 91 years. 

Thomas H, Turnley, seventh son of James H. Turnley born Febru- 
ary 29, 1876, is a mechanic by trade, and is employed by the Hamilton 
Coal and Coke Company at Newburg, West Virginia. He married 
Miss Minnie Squires August 20, 1901, and is the father of two children 
Iren, born July 21, 1902; Carl Byron, born July 16, 1904. 

Lelia L., fourth daughter lof James M. Turnley, is single and is her 
father's housekeeper. Her mother died August 10, 1909, in Huffman's 
Hospital in Keyser of hernia. 

Agatha M., fifth daughter of James M., born October 21, 1883, die'd 
of diphtheria January 22, 1888. 

James Wade Hampton, youngest son of James M. Turnley, born 
April 27, 1885, married Miss Fannie Sheets May 30, 1905, is employed 
by the Hamilton Coal & Coke Company at Newburg, and is the father of 
one child, Mabel, born January 2, 1907. 


Henry Lone Parks, a cabinet maker, came from Hardy to Kingwood 
about 1832, where his sons Lucian Lone and James W. Parks were born, 
the birth of Lucian L. taking place November 15, 1850. (see sketch of 
James W. Parks). Henry L. Parks was born March 9, 181 1, and the birth 
of his wife Elizabeth (Garner) Parks, whom he married August 29, 1833, 
occured March 11, 181 1, the husband being but two days older than the 
wife. He died March 11, 1882, and she died July 31, 1854. 

Lucian Lone Parks followed his father's occupation nearly forty 
years. Before he was of age he drove the hearse, and superintended 
funerals, having entered into the full possession of his father's under- 
taking business when about eighteen years old. He received a common 
school ducation at Kingwood, but while a youth his father moved to 
Reedsville where he continued as a cabinet maker, and furniture' dealer, 
until his removal to Albright about 1907. During the time he was in 
the cabinet and undertaking business, he would sometimes bury as many 
as two hundred bodies yearly. Upon coming to Albright, he built a 

854 Preston County, West Virginia 

store and some residences, since which time he has been in the general 
merchandising and real estate business. 

Mr. Parks was married to Sarah Catherine DeBerry June 20, 1871. 
To this union were born six children. (i) James W., the eldest 
child, born November 2, 1872, was married to Laura Swisher March 
I, 1892. She was a daughter of Daniel Swisher a farmer of 
Eglon. Mr. Parks is a farmer and a veternary surgeon. Their children 
are Lela Hope, Elmer C, Ray, Frank, Keith, Mabel, Kate Alma and 
Lulu and Junior. (2) Emma D. Parks was born November 8, 1873. She 
v.'as married April 14, 1891, to Joseph Strawser and lives at Eglon also. 
Mr. Strawser is a farmer and Deputy Assessor. Their children are 
Howard O., Myrle F., Ethel H., Frank and Lucian. (3) Ida M. Parks, 
born September 4, 1875, died March i, 1889. (4) Edgar H. Parks, born 
September 26, 1885, married April i, 1905, to Bertha Sanders. He is a 
railroad man. Their children are Ivy, William Henry, and Paul. He 
lives in Grafton. (5) Gertrude E. Parks, born December 28, 1888, died 
July 6, 1903. (6) William D. Parks, born July 14, 1892, is now teach- 
ing school. 


Archibald Scott came to this country in pre-Revolutionary times from 
Scotland. He was a poor boy and worked first for Rumsey, father of 
the steam boat inventor, and then married his daughter. The Reverend 
Archibald Scott was one of the trustees of Liberty Hall, which was the 
predecessor of Washington College whe're young Scott took his Aca- 
demic Course of two years. The name was afterwards changed to Wash- 
ington-Lee University. General Lee was its President after the Civil 
War, and died there in 1870. Their son William was a minister of the 
gospel in the Presbyterian Church, for a period of thirty-five years, was 
pastor at Moorefield and Petersburg, now West Virginia. He had three 
sons, ministers in the Presbyterian Church, one of whom was Rev. John 
A. Scott D. D., a noted divine, who was the father also of three mini- 
sters of the gospel, and one son who is a physician. His son Stanhope 

Preston County, West Virginia 855 

M. Scott, was born near Houston, Halifax County, Virginia, July 20, 
1850. It was here where his father preached the gospel for twenty 
years, and he in turn became educated for his own professional career 
very thoroughly. His education was completed at the Washington-Lee 
University, Lexington, Virginia, where he graduated under the Presi- 
dency of General Lee in 1868. The degree of M. D. was obtained in 
1871 at the University of Virginia. 

Dr. Scott located in Cumberland, Maryland, immediately after his 
graduation, hut removed to Terra Alta in 1874, where he has become a 
prominent figure in his profession, in the church as one of its ruling 
elders and as one of the originators of the Masonic fraternity in this 
place. Scott Chapter No. 23^ was named in his honor. 

In 1875, Dr. Scott married Anna Elizabeth Fairfax, daughter of 
Buckner Fairfax, and by her has two children living. The eldest son, 
Buckner Fairfax Scott, born July 7, 1878, has already made a billiant 
record for so young a man. After his graduation from the High School 
of Terra Alta, he took his degree of A. B. from the University of West 
Virginia in 1900, and entered the United States Military Academy where 
he was in attendance in 1901 and '02. His course was completed at the 
Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, where he received the degree 
of M. D. in 1906. The practice of medicine was begun in Terra Alta 
immediately after his graduation, and with marked results both as to 
bis clientele and the favorable results of his large practice. 

In March 1908, Dr. Scott was married to Elva C. Porter, daughter of 
Mrs. Harriet Porter. Dr. Scott is a member of the County, State and 
American Medical Socities. He is Medical Examiner of the U. S. Marine 
Corps and surgeon for the B. & O. Railroad Company. He served two 
terms on the Board of Education; is a member of the Masonic fraternity 
and a Knight Templar. During the war in Spain he served in Company 
C of the 1st West Virginia Volunteer Infantry as its Second Lieutenant. 
He is also Captain of Company M. ist Infantry W. V. N. G. which posi- 
tion he has held for twelve years. 

Stanhope McClelland Scott, Jr., P. D., proprietor of Terra Alta 
Pharmacy, was born March 23, 1882. After graduation from the Terra 
Alta High vSchool, he took a three 3^ears course in chemistry at the West 
Virginia University and subsequentl}'- graduated from the Philadelphia 
College of Pharmacy, taking the degree of P. D. from that institution 
in the j^ear 1903. 

856 Preston County, West Yirginlv 

Business in Terra Alta was commenced in 1904. At that time the 
Drug Store belonging to H. J. Mathews was bought and an additional 
stock of fine goods added. The business increased gradually until the 
general trade in the drug line and the prescription department has in- 
creased to proportions merited only by those who have thoroughly pre- 
pared themselves for professional work along such line's. He has one 
of the best equipped chemical laboratories in the state. He also owns 
a half interest in a drug store at Keyser, West Virginia; is a member 
of the Board of Pharmacy of West Virginia, and Vice President of the 
West Virginia State Pharmaceutical /Association. Mr. Scott was mar- 
ried to Miss Martha Glover on November 6, 1906. She is the' daughter 
of Henry and Mary (Denney) Glover of Terra Alta. They are the 
parents of three children : Mary Elizabeth, James Karl and Dana Fairfax. 

Mr. Scott is a member of the Masonic fraternity of high degree, and 
other orders. He belongs to the Terra Alta Lodge 106; to the' Scott 
Chapter No. 33 ; is a member of the Mallory Commandery of Grafton, 
West Virginia; is a member of the West Virginia Consistory No. i., in 
the Valley of Wheeling, and of The Osiris Temple also of Wheeling, 
West Virginia. Also in line with his ancestry, he is a Presyterian. 
He is also a member of the Phi Kapp Sigma fraternity and belongs to 
Alpha Gamma Chapter at Morgantown, W. Va. He is also a member 
of Co. M., 1st Infantry W. V. N. G., holding the position of First Lieu- 
tenant for the past six years. 


James Tidy Burch was the oldest son of Thomas and Elizabeth 
(Tidy) Burch. He was married in Frederick, Maryland, in 1805. 
There were two other sons both physicians. They went West, raised 
families and died there, one in Fredericktown, Ohio, the other in 
St. Louis, Missouri. There were three daughters, who married, lived 
and died in Maryland. 

James T. Burch was born in Frederick County, Maryland in 1806, 
was married there in 1842, to Mary Wiles, a daughter of William and 
Maria Hewett. He was a farmer, and engaged also in the lumber busi- 
ness. In 1857, he sold out and moved to the lower end of Frederick 
county near the Potomac River where he engaged in agricultural pur- 
suits, but in 1863 he sold out here and moved West locating this time on 

Peeston County, West Virginia 857 

a. farm in Henry County, Indiana. This was an unhealthy country, and 
his whole family took the' chills and fever, causing him to sell out and 
move back to Frederick County where he came from, where he began 
farming again, locating this time near Point of Rocks along the Potomac 
River. In 1869, he sold out again and moved to Preston county, West 
Virginia, where he bought 1127 acres of timber land. He put in a steam 
saw-mill on Salt Lick Creek and again went into the lumber business. 
In 1872, he sold out again and retired from business. 

Mr. Burch was one of the progressive citizens of the county. He 
saw much of life, one of the incidents being present when General Lay- 
fayette visited Frederick County, Maryland. He died March 6, 1883. 

Children born to Mr. and Mrs. James T. Burch were ten in all, two 
of iwhom died in infancy. Benjamin lived eight days, and Isabella only 
one month and twenty-seven days. The eight children who came with 
the' family to Preston county in 1869 were as follows : William Thomas, 
John Coleman, James Daniel, Thirza Ann Maria, Elizabeth Jane, Mary 
Emily Catherine, Alice Cornelia and Charles Hewett Burch. Elizabeth 
Jane, the first to leave home, married January 2, 1872, Charles H. Stunkle 
and went with her husband to Point of Rocks, Maryland, where they 
live on a farm. They have six children, Frederick, Emmons, Orra, 
Bowers, Nellie' and Edgar. (2) John C. Burch married Sarah E. Smith 
on January 4, 1870, and lives in Washington, D. C. They have two 
children, Amanda and Ida, who died in South America in 1908. (3) 
Thirza A. M. Burch married Christian H. Nine, January 7, 1873. They 
had two children, America McAleer and Christian Henry. Mr. Nine 
died June 6, 1887, and his widow married Robert Brown Frazier of 
Pennsylvania. One child, Robert Burch, came of this union. They now 
reside in Terra Alta. (4) James Daniel Burch was married October 12, 
1871, to Clara H. Stuckle, sister to Charles H. Stuckle. They live in 
Martinsburg, West Virginia. Mr. James D. Burch has been in the em- 
ploy of the B. & O. Railroad Company for thirty-five years. Six child- 
ren were born of this unior, namely : Albert, Florence, Ida, Eva, Fred- 
erick and Henry, who was killed when a boy. (5) Mary E. C. Burch 
married J. W. Menefee and lives at Albright. He is an engineer on 
Eakles Mills, Maryland. Two children were born to this union, Ray, 
who is now running a grist mill at Doubs, Maryland, and Flora L., who 
married J. W. Mennefee and lives at Albright. He is an engineer on 
the' M. & K. Railroad and operator of a grist and planing mill. (6) 
Alice C. S. Burch married Jacob Allen Smith( a brother of her sister 

858 Preston County, West Virginia 

Emma's husband), on January 22, 1884. There were born to this union 
eight children : Mary May, Rosa P., John Thomas, deceased, Charles 
Burch, James Allen, Nellie Jane, who died in infancy, Lovinia A., Eliza- 
beth Alice. Charles and James are telegraph operators on Third Division 
of the B. & O. Railroad Comipany. (7) Charles Hewett Burch married 
Sarah R. Miller March 24, 1887, and lived in Martinsburg until he was 
killed May 20, 191 1. He was an engineer on the B. & O. Railroad and 
was killed at 11 P. M. in terminal yards as Washington, D. C, while in 
charge of the through mail train to Baltimore. Three children, Edna, 
Glenn and Ethel Burch were born of this union. William Thomas 
Burch was the oldest son, but never married. He remained at home 
and kept the family together, after the death of his father, and farmed 
the home place. He purchased the Thomas Nine property at Rodamer, 
and went into the merchandizing business. After holding the post- 
masters office at Rodamer seven years, he retired from the more active 
pursuits of life, but still lives at Rodamer. 


There are several distinct lines of the Bishop family in Preston 
county. G. A. Bishop and his son Raymond C, are descended from 
John and Susan Bishop, who came from Hagerstown, Maryland, and 
settled on Dority Ridge. John died in 1823, about seventy years old. 
There' were seven children in the family. Their names were : Rachel, 
John, Joseph, Samuel, Susan and William. The homestead was on the 
place where Frank Crane now lives. Rachael married John Beatty, and 
lived near KJingwood. Henry married Elizabeth Miller, and lived in 
Pleasant District. John married twice. His first wife was a Trembly, 
and last wife a Miss Swisher. He died in Aurora. Joseph married Ann 
Snyder, grand-mother of the hotel keeper at Albright. Samuel married 
Lydia Albright and lived near Albright. Susan married a Henry Lantz, 
and lived near Aurora. William died in 1892, seventy-two years old. 
He was reared a farmer and in 1829, married Catherine Snyder, daughter 
of Jacob, and sister to Joseph Bishop's wife. Their children were: (i) 
G. A. Bishop, mentioned again. (2) Margaret Jane who married James 
W. Cobun, now of Tama City. (3) John Wesley, dead. (4) Mollie J-I., 
living on home place. (5) Mattie, the wife of Rev. T R. Faulkner, a 
retired minister, now living at Terra Alta. 

Preston County, West Virginia 859 

George A. Bishop was born October 23, 1830. He obtained a com- 
mon school education, was reared a farmer, and when twenty-two years 
old married Sarah Jane Trembly, daughter of Benjamin F. Trembly, 
and then bought and built a residence 00 the' farm where he now lives. 
That was forty-three years ago. Children born to this union were: (i) 
Raymond C, born January 26, 1862, married May 2t„ 1881 to Laura A. 
Seal, daughter of Henry Seal of Somerset county, Pennsylvania. He 
came to Preston county fifty-six years ago and settled in the Bishop 
settlement. He is a resident of Harmony Grove settlement. Mary A. 
(Will) Seal, died February 7, 1913. 

Children to Mr. and Mrs. Raymond C. Bishop are as follows: (i) 
Carl H., born January 24, 1884. He is a prosperous blacksmith at Valley 
Point. (2) Earl C, born January 6, 1886, married Bertha Friend, Au- 
gust 7, 1909. They have two children, Veletta and Edna. (3) 'Maude 
M., born November 19, 1888. She is a book-keeper in Connellsville, for 
Chicago Beef Co. (4) Darius V., born July 25, 1890. He is a soldier, 
and at this time is on guard duty. (5) Frank, born June 25, 1893. (6) 
Mildred, born December 15, 1895, married Lloyd Tanner September 16, 
1911, and now living at Morgantown. (7) Harold, Decemljer 31, 1898; 
(8) Jessie C, born November 8, 1904. 

Rheua V. Bishop, child of Guy A. Bishop, was born in 1867. She mar- 
ried Thos. L., son of John T. Briggs. They live at Terra Alta. Iva M. 
Bishop born 1875, married C. W. Forman. Mr. G. A. and his son, Ray- 
mond C. Bishop, are known as most excellent farmers. The yield of 
grain on their well cultivated lands exceeds that of former years, and 
of poor farming, at least two fold. Corn this year on G. A. Bishop's farm 
reaches about 150 bushels to the acre, and oats, buckwheat, and other 
grains in proportion. Mr. Raymond C. Bishop has probably the finest 
orchard in Preston county. 


Professor Lakin Fiske Roberts, B. A., principal of the Terra Alta 
Schools, is a descendent of the Ashbys and Morgans on his mother's 
side,, who were two of the oldest families in Preston county. His father 
the Reverend L. W. Roberts, now a retired minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, is living at Buckhannon, West Virginia, one of his 
former stations, and is of Scotch Irish descent. He was in active work 
as a minister and pastor in dififerent parts of West Virginia thirty-three 

860 Pkeston County, West Virginia 

years. His wife was Miss Harriet (Morgan) Ashby. She was a 
daughter of Hannah Morgan and a descendent of William Ashby, who 
came from Frederick county, Maryland, about 1779 and settled in the 
Glades east of Terra Alta. 

The children of Reverend and Mrs. Roberts were Lakin Fiske, Gert- 
rude and Loella, all teachers holding high and responsible positions in 
public school work. Miss Gertrude, a teacher of French and German 
in the High School of Wheeling, West Virginia, is a graduate of 
Allegheny College, Pennsylvania. She also took the degree of A. B. in 
1909 from the West Virginia University at Morgantown. Loella Roberts 
is a graduate from the Fairmont Normal College in 1909, and is now 
teaching in the primary department of the Buckhannon Schools. Lakin 
Fiske Roberts was born in Brandonville on May 27, 1888. His father 
at one time was Presiding Elder of the Oakland District, and being on 
the circuit the' family necessarily had to move from place to place in 
requirement of Mr. Roberts' work, finally a stop being made at Buck- 
hannon, where the son completed a three years course in the Seminary. 
Afterwards he graduated from the Wheeling High School, then went 
back to Buckhannon to the school there, which had changed its name 
name to that of the Wesleyan College. After another two years stay 
here he went to Morgantown, where two years afterward in the spring 
of 1909 he took the degree of A. B. from the State University of West 
Virginia. In the fall of that same year he acceped a position as as- 
sistant principal of the Terra Alta Schools, and the following year was 
made principal where he has been since that time, accomplishing a very 
successful work in the Superintendency, having about eleven teachers 
and about three hundred pupils under his charge. 

Mr. Roberts is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
is a member of the Masonic Lodge, also of the Phi Kappa Sigma fra- 
ternity. He is a man of modest mien, but is scholarly and self-reliant, 
and well worthy of the praise that comes to him from his patrons for 
the efficiency of his good work in the city schools. 


James Cobun was of English origin and probably of Virginia. He 
was born December 2, 1746, and came to the vicinity of Morgantown 
before he iwas married — ^probably not far from the year 1770. In 1790, 
he settled on the present site of Masontown, having patented a tract 

Preston County, West Virginia 861 

of a 1000 acres of glade land. His house stood in the eastern part of 
the present town, and considerably to the' rear of E. E. Cobun's resi- 
dence. The fact that he possessed a number of slaves would imply that 
the pioneer Cobun was a man of some' means for the time in which he 
lived. He was a classleader of the Methodist church and was remem- 
bered by his granddaughter, Mrs. Hubble, as a pe'rson of excellent 
Christian character. He died at Masontown, September 17, 1822, aged 
almost 76 years. 

His wife was Sabrah, a daughter of Arthur and Sabrah Trader. It 
was during her girlhood that her parents came West in the same party 
with James Cobun. She was of the brunette type, and was called the 
"pretty squaw" by the Indians because of her handsome feature's and 
her long and abundant black hair. Mrs. Cobun was born, September 
10, 1756, and died October i, 1843, ^■t the advanced agef of 87. 

The parents of James Cobun were Jonathan and Catherine. There 
is no record of the family name ever being spelled otherwise than it is 
now, yet it used to be spelled and pronounced Coburn. Because of their 
tendency to emigrate, the Cobuns are not so numerous in our county as 
formerly. The descendants bearing the family name are to be found 
chiefly at Masontown and near Tunnelton. 

The children of James and Sabrah Cobun were Catherine, Susannah, 
James, Arthur, Isaac, John, Jacob, and Sarah. All but the last three were 
born in Monongalia. 

Jacob died of an accident in boyhood. Jonathan settled in Monon- 
gala. Catherine, born March 3, 1773; married a McGee, who lived near 
Independence. Susannah, born September 23, 1776, married a Holt, an- 
cestor to Judge John H. Holt of Grafton, and Sarah, born June 3, 1794. 
married William McMillen. 

James, Arthur and Isaac remained in Valley district. Their birth 
dates, respectively, avere March 2"/, 1781, Nov. 30, 1783, and Octol)er 
30, 1786, and their wives, likewise, were Nancy Fortney, Jane Patton, 
and Prudence Davis. Isaac remained on a portion of the family home- 
stead, the farm of the late B. F. Cobun, while Susannah and her husband 
sucee'ded to the original home. James and Arthur lived a little farther 
southward, the former on the Simon D. Snider farm, and latter on the 
Simon M. Snider place. Arthur died suddenly while in a field. Isaac 
lived until June 24, 1867, be'ing then in his 81 st year. Prudence, his 
wife, died January 19, 1873, ^ged 81. 

John Cobun. born November 3, 1790, settled in Fayette county, 

862 Preston County, West Virginia 

Pennylvania, and died there at an e'arly age, leaving two daughters, 
Charity and Sabina A. The former married James M. Cobun, a cousin, 
and the latter married Thomas Watson. 

The children of James Cobun, Jr., were Wesley, Samuel, Harvey, 
Jane, Polly, and Susan. Wesley never married. Samuel married and 
settled in Monongalia, and Harvey in Pennsylvania. Polly married 
Shay of Reno. Both the other sisters wedded Holts, and they lived 
in Pennsylvania. 

The children of Arthur were: (i) James P., born January 6, 1807, 
died October 2, 1880. He married Mary A. Menear and settled on 
Pringle's Run. (2) Jonothan married an Evans and lived in Monongalia. 

(3) Isaac W. married Catharine Menear. (4) John F. married Eliza 
Greer of Harrison and settled in that county. (5) Robert, a preacher, 
went to Kentucky. (6) John, a twin brother to Robert, lived in Penn- 
sylvania. (7) Eugenus married Eli2:a Haywood and went to Harrison 
county. (8) Isabel, born 1814, died single in 1899. (9) Alpheus and 
(10) Mary left Preston county. 

The children of James P. number the following: (i) Tabitha, wife of 
Enos Wolfe. (2) Louisa R., wife of \\^illiam Brahani. (3) Eugenus C, 
whose first wife was Frances Collins and whose second was Lulu . 

(4) William A. (5) Marcllus J. H. (6) David S , who married (a) Re- 
becca Miller and (b) Victoria Summers. (7) Mary E., wife of Ellis 
Herndon. (8) Martha J., wife of Frederick Westerman. (9) Matthew E. 

The children of Eugenus C. are Emma, Mollie, Carrie, Dell, Charles, 
William, Walter and Earl. 

The children of David S. are: (i) Minnie, wife of Lucian J. Conley. 
(2) John D., who married and lives at Grafton. (3) Laura B., wife of 
Edward Helms. (4) Martha A., wife of Charles Stevens of Fairmont. 

(5) David W., who married Melissa Bolyard. Also by second marriage: 
Mary L., Ada J., Desie E., Callie L., Bruce T., Thomas M., Annie B., 
Carrie L. 

The children of Isaac W., are: (i) Harrison, who went to South Da- 
kota. (2) John. (3) David. (4) Robert, who married Laura Shaffer. 
(5) Jacob, who married a Collins. (6) Deborah C, wife of Marshall 
Duncan. (7) Jane, wife of George McMillen. (8) Albert N., who mar- 
ried (a) Kate Shaffer and (b) — Zotz, and went to Ohio. (9) Martha, 
wife of Silas S. Sterling. Albert N. had two daughters, Bessie and 
Agnes M. The latter married Philip Beavers. 

The children of Isaac were: (i) Gerry L. D., born March 26, 1813, 

Preston County, West Virginia 863 

who went to Pennsylvania. (2) James M., born January 14, 1815, died 
in a Confederate prison. His first wife was Charity Cobun and his 
second was Mary M. Hubble. (3) George, born October 4, 1816, married 
and lived in Pennsylvania. (4) Charity, born September 22, 1818, died 
single September 17, 1871. (5) Sabina, born December 10, 1820, married 
Samuel Graham. (6) Jacob G., born January 14, 1823, was mortally 
wounded at Droop Mountain and died November 26, 1863. (7) Cathar- 
ine, born August 7, 1829, married Clinton Jeffers. (8) Benjamin F., 
born September 1831, married Jane Hartley. (9) Isaac B., born May 
4, 1834, married Belle Flaherty. 

The children of James M. are (i) Alcinda, wife of Abraham Elliot. 
(2) Akinus, and (3) Laverns. 

The ch'ldren of Benjamin F. are: (i) Albert D. (2) Harriet L., wife 
of Samuel Field. (3) Homer L., who married Attie Loar. (4) Sanford L , 
who married (a) Mattie Loar and (b) Rosa E. Roby. (5) Elmer E., 
who married Aura Brown. (6) William G., who married Clara Free- 
land. (7) Florence B., wife of Rev. Edward Lawson. (8) Louie W., 
wife of J. Allison Stuck. (9) Myra, wife of Sherman Snider, and fio) 
Allie, deceased. 

Benjamin F. and Isaac B. Cobun were brothers. Isaac B., was the 
father of \^^ilbur F., born November 5, i860. He married Emma Mc- 
Cauley, and has four children, namely : Nina M., wife of George Fleming 
of Chicago ; Grace D. ; Dennis B., and Clyde. W. F. Cobun came to Fair- 
mont in 1873. He is a plasterer. (2) Bertie May, born March 4, 1864, 
is the wife of Dr. U. W. Showalter of Clarksburg, West Virginia. 
They have four children, Percy and Pearl, twins, Ulysses and Boyd W. 
Percy is a physician. (3) George M., born January 26, 1866. He mar- 
ried Bertie Orr, and lives in Morgantown. They have one son, Miles 
L. (4) Lincoln J., born in November, 1857. He was a lawyer in 
Philippi, and is now deceased, departing from his wife December 9, 1893. 
(5) Leonidas W. is a physician in Morgantown. He married Flora \\^at- 
ers, daughter of W. Waters of Independence. (6) Alvin C, died in in- 
fancy. (7) Addie P., born May 18, 1873, is teacher in Rowlesburg. (8) Liz- 
zie Catherine, born March 23, 1875, is the wife of F. W. Gandy of Terra 
Alta. (9) Miles B., born May 20, 1877, '""^ ^ merchant of Fairmont, W. 
Va. September 16, 1903, he married Minnie Horchler, daughter of Au- 
gust Horchler of Newburg. They have two children, Eleanor P. and 
x\gnes Belle. 

864 Preston County, West Virginia 


A goodly number of people now living in Preston county are 
descendants of first families, who came from Somerset county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in pioneer days. Among these were Peter Nedrow and his 'wife, 
formerly a Miss Penroid, who visited their son, Jonathan, then living 
in Preston county, when the father was seventy years of age, the 
parents coming on foot, and, after a three-months' stay, walked back 
home again. Peter Nedrow died there in the sixties, ninety years of 
age. His son, Jonathan, with his wife, formerly Lydia Haines, moved 
from Somerset county to Preston county in 1846, and located on a farm 
of two or three hundred acres near Bruceton. His two brothers, John 
and Jacob, moved West. Jonathan was killed when raising a house 
for one of his neighbors, being at that time forty years of age. His 
wife died in 1878, nearly sixty years old. 

'Seven children were born to this union, as follows: (i) Samuel, born 
September 13, 1847. (2) Harriet, now dead. (3) John S., the well- 
known physician, with residence and ofhces in Bruceton Mills. (4) 
Peter V., born October 7, 1854. (5) Lizzie, who married Luther Selby, 
and lives in Clarksburg. (6) Jonathan, w^ho died in Somerset county, 

Samuel Nedrow, the eldest member of the family, is a resident of 
Brandonville. He was raised a farmer, and having made that avocation 
in life a study, has become a scientific one in fact as well as in name. 
He has also had much to do in the coal lands for Elkins, owner of the 
M. & K. roads. In 1885 he purchased of Junior Brown a farm of 205 
acres, called the Jackson and Jeflfers farm. He also bought a farm of 
Ridenour, and in 1910 came to Brandonville and located here on seven 
lots, where he expects to spend the remainder of his days. 

In 1863 Mr. Nedrow enlisted in the 3rd Md. Vol. Inf. and was 
honorably discharged after the war was over. His service in the field 
was mainly in discharge of guard duty, but he was also in some of the 
engagements, notably at Monocacy Junction, Leesburg, and at Win- 
chester. After his return from the war he did carpentering as well as 
farming until fifteen years ago, having contracted and built in the 
meantime a number of public and private dwellings in the county. At 
one time also he was in the grocery business. 

August I, 1870, he was married to Mary Ellen Lenhart, sister to 
James A. Lenhart, merchant at Kingwood. She was born February 5, 
1853. Their children are as follows: (1) Elma, born June 12, 1871 ; (2) 

Preston County, West Virqinia 865 

Oliver Fr^nkin, March i8, 1872; (3) Callie Ann, September 4, 1874, 
died September 9, 1888; (4) Birdie Catherine, September 4, 1877; (5) 
Mary Ettie, January 30, 1880; (6) William Arthur, March 21, 1882; 
(7) Jennie Bell, July 7, 1883; (8) Ella Pearl, April 30, 1888; (9) John 
Aaron, July 12, 1890; (10) James Samuel, December 26, 1892; (11) 
Walter Herbert, July 16, 1895. 


The old home where Peter V. Nedrow was born and raised was 
about three miles west of Bruceton. (For history of the family see 
sketch of Samuel Nedrow.) Peter was born October 7, 1854, and 
after the death of his father, in 1859, he lived with James Harvey about 
six years, then with John Spurgeon until the age of manhood, when 
he went home to take care of his mother, his oldest brother having gone 
into the army. 

Mr. Nedrow's first venture was a trip to Bureau county, in Illinois. 
He stayed there two years, then returned to Bruceton and entered the 
mill, and here he remained three years. His trade as a miller was com- 
pleted in Uniontown, Pennsylvania, and there is where he got his start 
in life. He was next employed at $100 per month in Fayette and West- 
moreland counties, Pennsylvania, and from there came to Somerfield 
and bought a half interest in a mill owned and operated by Jacobs, and 
here he remained eight years. This mill had a capacity of 50 barrels a 
day, and they made a specialty of buckwheat flour. Besides dealing 
extensively in the wholesale market, they also did a large custom busi- 
ness, their annual product averaging about 12,000 bushels. Mr. Nedrow 
then drifted into the saw mill business in Somerset county Pennsyl- 
vania, l)ut in 1909, on the i6th of April of that year, he purchased a 
valuable farm of Frankhouser, near Brandonville, since which time his 
attentions have been devoted to expert agricultural pursuits. 

In April, 1890, Mr. Nedrow was married to Venie May Bird, daugh- 
ter of Basil Bird, a well-known citizen of Somerset countv, Pennsvl- 
vania. After this marriage the couple moved to Somerfield, where they 
Iniilt a residence and where they still live. Of this marriage two daugh- 
ters were born to bless the union, the eldest being Eunice Catherine, 
born in 1891. She is now in the last year of her musical studies at the 
College of Mount Pleasant Institute, Westmoreland county. The 
youngest daughter is Mary Ethel, born October 22, 1896. 

866 Preston County, West Virginia 


James Crogan was born in the town of Croghan, county of Ros- 
common, Province of Connaught, Ireland. In the year 1846 he came 
to the United States in company with John and James Doyle. They 
landed in New York, and from there journeyed to the state of Mary- 
land. Four years later, 1850, James Crogan was married at Mount 
Savage, Maryland, to Miss Rose Doyle, who came over from Ireland 
in the year 1849. Miss Doyle was from the same part of Ireland as 
Mr. Crogan, and a sister of John and James Doyle, who came over with 
Mr. Crogan. 

From Mount Savage, Maryland, Mr. and Mrs. Crogan moved to 
Tunnel Hill, Preston county, Virginia, or what is now West Virginia. 

Mr. Crogan followed public works from the time he landed in this 
country, and at the time he moved to Tunnel Hill was in the employ- 
ment of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company, in which service he 
worked until about the year 1854, when he purchased the farm that is 
now known as the "Crogan Farm," one mile northeast of Newburg, 
West Virginia. From this time on he followed farming until his 
death, in the year 1856. 

There were born unto Mr. and Mrs. Crogan four sons, namely : John 
F. Crogan, a well-known farmer of Lyon District, Preston county. West 
Virginia. James C. Crogan, who was a conductor on the Baltimore & 
Ohio Railroad, and who was killed in the Grafton yards, December 22, 
1902. Hubert A. Crogan, who when a young man went West. He first 
went to Colorado, where he was a baggage master on one of the rail- 
roads. Several years afterwards he went to Gainesville, Texas, where 
he was employed as brakesman on one of the railroads of that county. 
He was killed in a wreck in the year 1898. Patrick J. Crogan, who 
was born June 17, 1856, was educated in county schools and in a 
private school conducted by Professor Painter, of Roanoke College, 
Virginia, and then taught school for seven years. He was admitted to 
the bar in 1881, having studied law with Judge Mason of Fairmont, 
and he has been in continuous practice since that time in Preston 
county. He is one of the directors of the Bank of Kingwood. 

John F. Crogan, the oldest of the four boys, chose as his vocation 
that of farming. He was married in 1875 to Miss Fanny Wilson, 
daughter of Eugenus Wilson, of near Tunnelton, West Virginia. He 
resides on what is known as the "Old Cool Farm," two miles north- 

Preston County, West Virginia 867 

east of Newburg, West Virginia. He is one of the enterprising farmers 
of Preston county, was elected County Commissioner from Lyon dis- 
trict in 1904, and re-elected to the same office in 1906. 

There were born unto Mr. and Mrs. John F. Crogan seven children, 
six of whom are living, one dying in infancy. Those living are as fol- 
lows : (1) Addie J., now the wife of Thomas E. Pyles, a well-known 
farmer of Birds Creek, West Virginia. (2) Hubert G. Crogan, an 
attorney-at-law of Kingw^ood, West Virginia. (2) Hubert G. Crogan, an 
who went West in 1906, and at the present time has a position as 
electrician with the Cananea Consolidated Copper, of Cananea, 
Sonora, Mexico. (4) Bessie M., widow of Oliver M. Bell, deceased. 
Mr. Bell, at the time of his death, was employed as railway mail clerk 
on the Norfolk & Wesetern Railroad, and was killed in a wreck on that 
road December 24, 1910. (5) Walter G. Crogan, an engineer on the 
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, and who resides in Grafton, West Virginia. 
(6) John D. Grogan, the youngest, who is at home with his parents. 

Hubert G. Crogan, son of John F. and Fanny Crogan, was born 
April 3, 1880, near Newburg, Preston county. West Virginia. He at- 
tended the public schools in early life ; graduated at the State Normal 
School at West Liberty, West Virginia, in 1907 ; attended the West 
Virginia University at Morgantown, West Virginia, and graduated in 
law from that institution in 1910. In his early life he worked on his 
father's farm. Taught in the public schools for five years, during which 
time he attended the spring terms of the State Normal School at West 
Liberty, West Virginia. Was principal of the Newburg public schools 
in 1904 and 1905. He was admitted to the bar at the Circuit Court of 
Preston county in 1910. 


Daniel Martin, an old Revolutionary soldier, was born in Germany, 
and with his wife, Elizabeth Wynne, settled first in New Jersey, but 
came to Preston county from Pennsylvania soon after the first of the 
eighteenth century. He was a nephew of Col. John Martin, in the War 
of the Independence, and served seven years and six months in that 
struggle. He went out as a hostler for the Colonel, but soon after car- 
ried a musket in the ranks. He died when verv old — some sav it was 

868 Preston County, West Virginia 

at the age of 102 years, and others at 105. Elizabeth,' his wife, died 
with cancer in the breast about 1837. Their children were : Abigail, 
who married George Sypolt; Jacob, the father of Jacob Jackson; John, 
a stone mason, who married Sarah Sypolt ; Isaac, who married Susanna 
Metheny, was a cripple and a shoemaker; Sarah, who married John 
McNair, and lived where Stephen Martin does now. 

Jacob Martin, who was a soldier in the War of 181 2, was born Feb- 
ruary 6, 1793, in Fayette county, Pennsylvania. He married Mary 
Metheny, about February 7, 1816. She died March 16, 1887. By her 
first husband, Peter Miller, she had two children, Susanna and John P., 
both now dead. The children by the second marriage weere: (i) James, 
born February 20, 1816. He was a Baptist clergyman and school 
teacher. He married Minerva Rogers, and died June 14, 1896. (2) 
Daniel T., born January 6, 1819, died June, 1887. He married first 
Elizabeth Teets. His second wife was Mary M. Kirkpatrick. He was 
a soldier in the Civil War. (3) Elizabeth, born April 9, 1821, died in 
January, 1888. She married George Meyers, and is living near Martins- 
ville, on the Ohio River. He was a soldier in the Civil War also. (4) 
Lydia, born April 3, 1823, died March 12, 1893, in Iowa. She married 
William Liston. Her death was caused by a prick from a barbed wire 
fence. (5) Isaac W., born July 28, 1825, died June, 1910, eighty-four 
years old. He married Sarah Wilhelm and lived near Valley Point 
(6) Moses R., born May 6, 1827. He lived in the southern part of the 
state. (7) Jane, born August 24, 1830, died October 21, 1906. She mar- 
ried first James Walls, who died in the army. Her second husband 
was A. W. Devall. He was a soldier also. (8) Jacob Jackson, men- 
tioned again. (9) Benjamin F., born March 23, 1835. He married 
Catherine Lemasters, and moved to Arkansas. (10) Mary, born Feb- 
ruary 16, 1837. She is the wife of P. D. Kirkpatrick and lives in Ne- 
braska. He died a soldier. 

Jacob Martin, the father, was a soldier in the War of 1812, and was 
at Fort Meigs and Fort Erie. He died at the home of his son, the sub- 
ject of this sketch. He was a farmer and a blacksmith. 

Jacob Jackson Martin, a land surveyor, of Preston county for about 
twenty years, was born November 16, 1832. He learned blacksmithing, 
but farming has been his chief occupation, and he is still active though 
eighty-one years old. He is well known generally throughout the 
county, having held several positions of trust and responsibility. Dur- 
i..ig the war he was constable for three years. He was a school teacher 

Preston County, West Vieoinu. 869 

in all ten terms. His educational acquirements fitted him for a mem- 
ber of the Board of Education, which position he held twenty years, 
eight of which he was president of the board. He was justice of the 
peace fourteen years, and refused to serve longer. In 1869 he joined 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, and soon afterwards became a leader. 
February 17, 1880, he was chosen exhorter, and served in that capacity 
until 1903, when a runaway horse hitched to a hay rake crippled him 
badly. The rake struck a stump and threw him about twelve steps, or 
36 feet. The force with which he was thrown was so violent that his 
shoulder blade and five ribs were broken, and he was crippled for life. 

October 5, 1856, Mr. Martin was married to Sarah A. Martin, daugh- 
ter of Jesse Martin, one of the original county surveyors of Preston 
county. She was born in 1840, and died May 11, 1896. The children 
were: Mary E., born November 22, 1857, married Joab C. Groves, 
December 10, 1874. They lived on a farm adjoining the home place. 
He is a farmer and a carpenter. Troy D., born September 30, 
1859, married Magdaline Hennessy. They have three sons and live 
near Hudson. Marshall J. Martin, born April 2, 1859, was married to 
Rachael C. Liston. To this union one daughter, Minnie, was born, 
May 22, 1884. They live adjoining the home place. Minnie married 
Carl Messenger. The third child is Malettie O. Martin, born November 
12, 1871. She was married to J. W. Goff, December 20, 1898. They 
have four children: Cora Ethel, born December 3, 1889; Carl D., born 
April 20, 1892; Jessie M., born June 22, 1895; and Mabel, born June 
22, 1902. 

Mr. Jacob Martin's second marriage was to Mrs. Hannah Groves, 
whose maiden name was Sterling. She was born November 26, 1833, 
and married first to Jacob Groves in 1850. Five children were born to 
this union. They were: William W., Joab C, Catherine, Eva Ellen, 
and Jacob Anderson. There is no issue by the second marriage. 

Mr. Martin bought the place where he now lives in 1874, of Hosea 


The McMillens, or McMillans, as it should be spelled to denote the 
right descent from Scotch-Irish parentage, were among the early 
pioneers of Preston county. Robert McMillen, a soldier of the Revolu- 

870 Preston County, West Vibginia 

tionary War, arrived about 1790, and patented 500 acres on the river 
hill near Friendship schoolhouse, in Valley. His cabin stood near the 
house of William H. Everly. A letter from Robert M. McMillen gives 
full particulars. He sa3's : "My father, Robert Asbury McMillen, was 
born at Masontown, Preston county, West Virginia, October 24, 1824, 
and died at same place October 24, 1874. He was married to Nancy 
Hartley at Masontown, West Virginia, November 16, 1849. My mother 
was born at Masontown, West Virginia, December 23, 1826, and died 
at the same place, October 9, 1901. Their children, five boys and two 
girls, w^ere: Newton W. McMillen, born August 24, 1850; Alcinus F., 
born December 4, 1853; Edward W., born . November 20, 1856; John 
L., born August 25, 1859; Robert M., born June 26, 1862; Charlotte 
Jane, born July 6, 1864; and Emily Bell, born February 16, 1870. 

"My father and mother w-ere consistent members of the Methodist 
church. My father was a farmer, and was of Scotch-Irish descent. His 
grandfather, Robert McMillen, came with his father from Ireland to 
this country when the former was but a child. They settled in West- 
moreland county, Pennsylvania. This ancestor, Robert McMillen 
(properly spelled McMillan), fought in the Revolutionary War. His 
wife, after his death, received a pension for said services. He was one 
of the first settlers in Preston county. He settled and lived and was 
buried on what is known as the Everl)- farm, three and a half miles 
northeast of Masontown, West Virginia. 

"My mother's father w-as Edward Hartley, an Englishman. He was 
for many years the miller at Masontown, West Virginia, and was 
buried at that place. 

"My grandfather, William McMillen, youngest son of Robert, mar- 
ried Sarah Cobun, and settled on the McMillen farm, one mile north 
of Masontown, where he reared a family and died about fifty years 
of age." 

Robert Asbury McMillen w-as reared and died on the above men- 
tioned McMillen farm, now owned by N. W. and A. F. McMillen. He 
helped to found and foster the church and other substantial institutions 
in the district and county. 

Alcinus Finton McMillen was born at Masontown, West Virginia, 
December 3, 1853. His education w^as obtained in the free schools of 
Masontown and was supplemented by a course of careful training in 
the State Normal School of Fairmont. Thus equipped, and beginning 
when twenty years old, Mr. McMillen taught twelve years in the pubh'c 

Preston County, West Virginia 871 

schools, at Masontown, Reedsville, Kingwood, Rowlesburg, and other 
places. At the age of thirty-two years he took up the occupation of 
engineering and surveying. In this profession his work became some- 
what extensive. He not only surveyed large blocks of coal and timber 
lands in Preston and adjoining counties, but also made trips to Vir- 
ginia, Tennessee and North CaroHna to survey for parties in this county 
who had timber lands in other states. In all he was a surveyor of lands 
for Preston county sixteen years and was the first county road sur- 
veyor, from 1909 to 191 1. 

March 22, 1887, Mr. McMillen was married to Christie Guseman, 
of near Reedsville, West Virginia. She was born April 29, 1859, near 
Dellslow, in Mononfalia county. Her father, John W. Guseman, was 
a descendant of Abraham Guseman, a German emigrant to Baltimore 
in 1776. John W. Guseman was married to Miss Carrie Snider, daughter 
of John Snider, of Monongalia county. 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. McMillen are as follows : 
Herbert, born December 25, 1887; Mabel, October 16, 1889; Harry, 
August 18, 1892; Frank Vincent, January 14, 1899. 

Herbert is a graduate of West Liberty Normal School and is now 
a student of West Virginia Univers'ty at Morgantown. Mabel is a 
graduate of West Liberty Normal School also, and is now a teacher in 
the Moundsville public schools. Harry is a student at Fairmont 
Normal School, and Frank Vincent is in the public schools of Mason- 

Mr. McMillen and family are members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, of which he is and has been class leader for a number of years. 


Everywhere honest and trustworthy officials loom up into history, 
and the record made by these men saves politics from the bad name de- 
signing politicians are giving it. It is with pleasure the people of Pres- 
ton County refer to the public service of George Washington Harvey. 
His public record is without a blotch, and his career as a man reflects 
honor on his name. He was born April 24, 1853, and raised a farmer. 
He received a common school education and made good use of it, during 
the twelve years he served as Deputy Sheriff of Preston County. Mor- 
ally, he bears a trustworthy name. He is a man much thought of because 

872 Preston County, West Virginia ' 

of the integrity of his character, the kindliness of his nature, and the 
many favors his position as a public servant afforded for helping others. 
It is recorded of Mr. Harvey, that to save others from the rigors of the 
law, he bore with them patiently until he saved them financially, a 
trait of character which brought him many votes during the campaign 
made by him in 191 2, when a candidate for Sheriff of Preston County. 
As a member of the K. of P. Lodge and as a member of the M. E. 
Church, he also star^ds high. 

Mr. Harvey's father, Jonathan Harvey, was born November 9, 1830; 
Annamelia (Paugh) Harvey, his wife, was born March 4, 1831. They 
were married March 10, 1849. To this union were born six children, as 
follows: — Sarah Ann, December 6, 1849, who died when about nine 
months old; George Washington; Mary Martha, August 30, 1856; Hes- 
ter Ann, June 4, 1857; Benjamin Franklin, May 23, i860; Lillie Maud, 
March 11, 1863. 

Jonathan Harvey was a farmer. He died February 20, 1863. Ben- 
jamin Franklin died March 18, 1863. Jonathan was a son of William 
and Elizabeth (Wilson) Harvey. His wife, Annamelia Paugh, was a 
daughter of Philip Henry and Sarah (White) Paugh. 

Mary Martha Harvey was married to Erasmus Ashby. 'Their chil- 
dren are: Carmen, Ollie and Oren. Hester Ann Harvey married 
Alpheus Simpson. Their children are Arnem and Carmen. 

George Washington Harvey was married to Rosalie Ridenour, De- 
cember 15, 1878. They had seventeen children: (i) Olam Love, born 
January 23, 1880; (2) Adus, deceased, born March 16, 1881 ; (3) Mollie 
Pearl, April 20, 1882; (4) Earl Gay, December 22, 1883; (5) Olive Nena, 
June 15, 1886; (6) Clida Maud, July 27, 1887; (7) Gussie Agnes, August 
9, 1889; (8) Anna Evalina, January 19, 1891 ; (9) Olga Claudine, March 
3, 1892; (10) Lottie, August 13, 1893; (11) Franklin, August 4, 1895; 
(12) George Dewey, July 15, 1898; (13) Willie, January 6, 1900; (14) 
Wilma, January 6, 1900; (15) Sadie Madaline, June 18, 1901 ; (16) Nellie 
May, March 23, 1903 ; (7) Juanita Ewanhill, September, 1904. 

Deaths: — ^Clida Maude Harvey, died February 18, 1888, aged six 
months and twenty-one days. Lottie died January 22, 1894, aged five 
months and ten days. Franklin died, March 25, 1896, aged seven months 
and twenty-one days. 

Rosalie (Ridenour) Harvey was born, February 23, i860. She was 
the daughter of Martin and Mariah (Reed) Ridenour. who were married 
Feibruary 27, 1855. He was born February 24, 1837, and she was born 

Preston County, West Virginia 873 

August TO, 1839. Their children are John Wesley, born December 11, 
1855; Mary Martha, November 24, 1857; Rosalie, February 23, i860; 
Sarah Elizabeth, August 24, 1862, died February, 1864; Laura Ann, 
March 17, 1864; Silva May, August 25, 1866; Nine Christian, February 
12, 1869; Isabella, April 20, 1871 ; Olive, June 23, 1873; Cora Virginia, 
October 20, 1875; Thomas Martin, January 21, 1878; Minnia Adis, Oc- 
tober 8, 1881, died December 6, 1906. 

Martin Ridenour was born in Preston County a few miles from 
Kingwood, and his wife Mariah was born near Fellowsville, where 
they now live. 


Matthew Haney was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, 
in 1824, and came to Preston county about 1844, as manager of the 
Black Furnace, for William Hagans. Afterwards he ^became manager 
of Muddy Creek Furnace for George Hartman, at Irondale, and Glades- 
ville Furnaces for the Oliphant, in Fayette county, Pennsylvania. His 
wife was Eliza, daughter of Jacob Murray, formerly of Westmoreland 
county, later of West Virginia. They were of German descent, but 
called Pennsylvania Dutch. He died in 1880. Their children were: 
Sarah C, now of Eldorado, Kansas. She was born in 1848. Alfred T., 
of Woodlawn, Beaver county, Pennsylvania, born in 1850. W. W., of 
Kingwood. Sanford, of Johnstown, Pennsylvania, and Virginia Frantz, 
of Tunnelton. She was born in 1863. 

Mr. William Walter Haney was born in Grant district, Preston 
county, in 1854, and where he was educated in the public schools. His 
mother died w^hen he was but thirteen years of age, and from that time 
he was thrown upon his own resources. He began railroading in 1877, 
as a locomotive engineer, and has been ifilling that position during the 
past thirty-five years. Always careful and ever watchful of those under 
his charge, he has, to the satisfaction of the people of Kingwood and 
vicinity, been engineer on the Northern Railroad for many years. He 
is identified socially with the people in the county as a consistent 
member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and also 
as a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He has 
been a staunch Republican all his life, but no office seeker. His 

874 Preston County, West Virginia 

wife was Evaline Snyder, from Monongalia county, where she was born 
in 1856. She was a daughter of Caleb Snyder, a farmer, who was born 
in 1S23, and died in 1896. Her mother was Sarah Bunner, born in 1825, 
and died in i860. The names of her sisters: Catherine, Elizabeth, 
Evaline and Sarah. Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Haney were married at Iron- 
town, Taylor county, West Virginia, in 1879. Their children are as 
follows : Earl Browning, the popular tailor, of Kingwood ; Elizabeth 
Virginia and her sister, Mary Frances, nurses in the hospital at Union- 
town, Pennsylvania; Bert Walter, a tailor also; George Allen and 
Gilbert Edwin, who are in school. 

Mr. Haney came to Kingwood in 1895 and has been an engineer for 
the Northern Railroad since that time. He bought a lot and built his 
residence in 1905. 


Robert S. Hollis, a broad-minded, liberal Prestonian, was brought 
to this country in his cradle about ten years before the Civil War. His 
early life was one of struggle and bitter experience. He was the son 
of James J. Hollis, a school teacher and jeweler, both the trade and the 
profession being in that day not what it is now. Nevertheless, the 
trade furnished some means of support in the summer time, and during 
the winter teaching school became the avocation for a few months dur- 
ing each year, and in this way the family eked out an existence. 

Thomas Hollis, the grandfather, came from England during the 
latter part of the last century and located at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
where James J. was born in 1802. Here the son was educated and 
learned his trade, and then married. His first wife iwas a Miss Hamil- 
ton, and iby her he had two sons : George Washington and James. His 
second wife was Elizabeth Paschall, and to ttiis union ifive children 
were born, namely: (i) Sarah Catherine, who married James Knotts; 
(2) Mary Ellen, who married Leonard M. Deakins ; (3) Emily Susan, 
who married R. S. Davis ; (4) Isiiac P., who married the widow Adams 
and moved to Miami county, Ohio; (5) R. S., who was born September 
4, 1850, and brought to Preston when but three months old. 

James J. Hollis, the father, was an industrious man, but never be- 
came wealthy. Circumstances necessitated several removals in his life- 

Preston County, West Virginia 875 

time, he coming to Clieat Bridge, Preston county, from Springfield, 
West Virginia, where Robert, the subject of this sketch, was born. 
He had moved first to Martinsburg, West Virginia, where he married 
his second wife, then he went to Winchester, Virginia, from which place 
he moved to Hampshire county before coming here. 

R. S. Hollis lost his mother when but six years old, and for six years 
thereafter his lot was a hard one. Finally his father took him West, 
and what education he got he obtained from the public schools of 
Darke county, Ohio. When twelve years of age he entered into the 
employ of Brandon & English, large lumber and real estate dealers, 
and in this connection a ray of sunshine entered into the ^boy's life 
which brightened up the way for him during the rest of his days. He 
became one of the most trusted employees of this ifirm, and his connec- 
tion with them was a profitable one. When but fourteen years of age 
he was put in charge of a corps of workers, and not infrequently he 
would be given an oversight of forty or more men. From this time 
forward everything changed for the better. 

When but eighteen years old, in 1869, Mr. Hollis came to Rowles- 
burg, where he was employed for a short time by the Rowlesburg 
Lumber & Iron Company, but in the month of September of that same 
year he began railroading, and for thirty-five years thereafter, with the 
exception of three months, he continued in the employ of the Baltimore 
& Ohio Railroad iCompany. First he was a brakesman, but after a 
service in that capacity twenty-two months, he was made conductor, 
and this position he held six years. From 1878 to 1880 he was a fire- 
man, then for twenty-three years thereafter, or until 1903, he was an 

December 31, 1872, Mr. Hollis married Eunice M. Funk, daughter 
of Jonathan and Eliza Funk, of Rowlesburg. From 1873 to 1879 he 
lived at Newburg, then returned to Rowlesburg, where he has con- 
tinued to reside ever since. 

In 1901 Mr. Hollis purchased the store of T. W. Nine, merchant, 
of Rowlesburg, and this was the beginning of his large mercantile in- 
terests, begun two years before he quit railroading. April 30, 1908, the 
original store was burned and the present large, commodious structure 
was erected. From the beginning the business prospered, and much 
realty from time to time was added to the estate. The good manage- 
ment and prosperous success is largely due to Harry and Milton Hollis, 
general managers of the store. 

876 Preston County, West Virginia 

Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. R. S. Hollis, namely:, 
(i) Carrie, wife of C. Dawson, undertaker, w'ho was born November 
25, 1873; (2) Harry R., born January 2, 1878, and general manager of 
the store; (3) Elmer Eugene, deceased, born July 30, 1882, died No- 
vember 18, 1892 ; (4) Milton Ross, born September 6, 1886. 

In politics Mr. Hollis is a staunch Republican. In 1892 he ran for 
sheriff of Preston county, but was defeated by thirteen votes. He is a 
member of the Odd Fellows and a Past Grand. In 1896 and 1897 he 
represented the Solomon Grand Lodge of U. S. A. • , 

The social and financial standing of Mr. Hollis is above par; com- 
ment is unnecessary. 


For the history of the pioneers of this family see the sketch of J. 
P. Barnes. F. C. Barnes was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, 
March 9, 1883. When about six years old he was brought to Preston 
county and lived two or three years with his aunt, Sarah A. Barnes, 
and was then taken into the family of Samuel A. Boger, where he re- 
mained until of age, receiving in the meantime a common school educa- 
tion and the tdvantages of an excellent home. 

Mr. Barnes began teaching school when twenty-one years of age. 
He was a successful teacher and taught eight successive winters. He 
was reared a farmer, however, and his attentions were naturally 
directed to that line of work and he is now known as one of the successful 
farmers of the county. The farm on which he and his family reside 
was bought of William Glover in 1880. It is a large farm, is very 
fertile, and yields good crops annually. The new home was built in 
1899,, and the barn a year later. 

Mr. Barnes was married to Alcinda Guthrie, April 20, 1862. (See 
history of the Guthrie family.) Their children are as fallows: (i) 
Lovina C, born March 2;^, 1863. She is the wife of 'Noah Thomas. 
(iSee sketch of Thomas family.) (2) Barbara Ella, who 'became the 
wife of Ira Thomas. She was born July 16, 1866. (3) James M., born 
February 9, 1869. He married Cora I. Ditmore, January 20, 1904. 
They have three children : Evelyn V., born December 16, 1904 ; Mildred 
Grace, bom November 14, 1909; Mabel May, born August 22, 1912. (4) 
Harrison F., born December 17, 1871. He married Jennie Meyers, June 

Pebston Ck)UNTY, West Virginia 877 

17, I9(X), and they live on the old Crawford farm. Their children are: 
Hugh Essell, born October 5, I9__; Ethel L., born July 2, 1904; Glenn 
W., born December 24, 1906; John W., born January 13, 1908. (5) Rosa 
May, born September 2, 1877. She was a school teacher. On May 
17, 1906, she married Samuel Guthrie, now a prosperous merchant at 
Hazelton. No issue. (6) Dora, born August 6, 1880. She has remained 
at home. (7) Pearlie Grace, born April 24, 1886. On June 30, 1911, 
she married Walter Frazee, a merchant of Terra Alta. They have one 
child, James Blaine. 

878 Preston County, West Virginia 

Addenda to Volume Two. 

By O. F. Morton. 

It apipears to have been Immanuel Eckerlin who was murdered on 
Dunkard Bottom about 1755. 


With date of arrival at Philadelphia. Some of these may be 
ancestors to Preston families. P. stands for Palatinate province, on 
the river Rhine, and W. for Wurtemburg. When two or more of the 
same name are mentioned, they arrived in the same vessel. In the 
case of such names as Cress, Dill, Miller, Smith, Wetzel, and Wolff, 
there were arrivals in various years and identification would be very 
uncertain. The names in the list below are spelled as in the original 

Albrecht, Jacob - 1732 - P. 
Bauer, Joh. Martin - 1732- P. 
Boger, Martin - 1731 - P. 
Courpenning, Hendrick - 1751. 
Eberli, Heinrich - 1727. 
Ewig (Evick), Christian - 1737 - P. 
Frankhauser, Johannes - 1728- P. 
Frantz, Michael - 1727. 
Feder, Michael - 1 731 - P. 

Fortney, David- 1739- P.- Huguenot ancestry. 
Gabel, Johannes - 1754. 
Heilman, Martin - 1732 - P. 
Lambrecht, Antonius - 1751. 
Lantz, Jacob - 1738 - P. 
Laub, Georg - 1739 - P. 
Lebegood, Jacob and Ulrich - 1732 -P. 
Leininger, Johan Jacob - 1750. 
Mast, Jacob - 1727. 

Peeston County, West Virginia. 879 

Marsteller, Friederich - 1729 - P. 

Mosser, Johan Adam - 1728 - P. 

Minier, Christian and Hans Georg - 1732 - P. 

Mineehr, Simon - 1737- P. 

Nicola, Ludwig - 1738 - P. 

Ramsburger, Jacob - 1754 - W. 

Regelman, Martin - 1741 - P. 

Ringer, Johan Jacob - 1743. 

Reittenaur, Johannes, Sr. and Jr. -1739 -P. 

Stempel, Jacob and Nicholas - 1732 - P. 

Stembell, Johan Peter - 1737 - P. 

Slabach, Johannes and Joh. Henry - 1732 - P. 

Spiker, Ulrich- 1737- P. 

Siesler, John Peter and John Lenhart - 1741 - P. 

Vogelgesang, Johan Nickell - 1750. 

Weyl, Johan Jacob - 1736 - P. 

Wotring, Abraham - 1732 - P. 

Yeist, Philip - 1741 - P. 


Taken from the original lists of residents having taxable personalty. 
Names are spelled as found. 


Butler, Thomas Garvis, Solomon 

Butler, Joseph Grayham, John 

Chips, Thomas Herrington, Abijah 

Coonts, Jacob Horton, Ezera 

Creacroft, Samuel Jones, Ezekiel 

Cox, Philip Kirkpatrick, Andrew 

Cox, John Kirkpatrick, William 

Daskins, Daniel Lemons, George 

Dougherty, William Lewis, Henry 

Dougherty, John London, Bartholomew 

Drake, James Metheny, James 

Ellis, Phillip Moore, Enoch 

Garvis, William Morgan, James 


Pbeston County, West Virginia. 

Morgan, Hugh 

Morgan, William 

Powell, Richard 

Ramsay, Andrew (2 tithables) 

Roberts, Amos 


under 16 
Taylor, Wildey 
Thompson, Garvis 
Woolf, Jacob 

had one slave 


Adams, James 

Askins, Edward 

Bougher, John 

Canoday, James 

Cheney, Thomas 

Connor, James 

Connor, John, Jr. 

Connor, John, Sr. - 3 tithables 

Cooshman, David 

Crist, Lewis 

Donaldson, Charles 

Ellason, Samuel 

Fraze, David 

Hall, Henry 

Harney, John 

Hoge, Zebulon 

Horton, Elihu 

Judey, Martin, Sr. 

Judey, Martin 

Judey, John 

Kelley, John 

Lane, Joseph 

McCollum, James - 2 tithables 

McCoUum, Daniel 

Morrice, John 

Morrice, Richard L. 

Parker, James 

Robenet, Joseph 

Robenet, John 

Robenet, Samuel 


Smiley, John 

Soverans, Daniel 

Soverans, Joseph 

Spurgin, James, Jr. 

Spurgin, Samuel 

Spurgin, Samuel - 2 tithes 

Spurgin, William - 2 tithes 

Stuart, Joseph 

Walleson, Richard 

Ward, Peter 

Welch, John 

Wirl, Samuel 

Wirl, Attewil 

Woods, Thomas 

Worley, Anthony 


Braden (Brandon), Alexander 

Braden, Jonathan 

Clark, James 

Criss, Lewis 

Gibson, Thomas 

Lain, Joseph 

Morriss, Morriss 

Myers, Joseph - 2 tithables 

Myers, Joseph, Jr. 

Spurgin, James, Sr. 

Spurgin, Jeremiah 

Trader, Arthur 

Warner, John - 2 tithables, also one 

Whitlatch, John 
Wilton, Richard 
Wisely, John 
Yearnal, Jesse 

Preston County, "West Virginia 



From the original personal property list, by Alexander Brandon. 
His district covered all of Mononga lia east of Cheat, and was more ex- 
tensive than the East Side of Preston. A figure with hyphen following 
a name indicates the number of tithables in the household, where the 
number exceeds one. 

Able, Martin 
Adams, Thomas 
Anderson, Daniel 
Archer, Aaron 
Archer, David 
Archer, John 
Ashby Nathan 
Askins, Reuben 
Ayres, Benjamin 

Bayles, David 

Beaker, George 

Beaker, Samuel 

Benson, William 

Bentley, William 

Biggs, William - constable 

Bingamon, Alexander 

Bishop, Christian - 2 

Bishop, John 

Blatchley, Zopper 

Boughroughs, James 

Brandon, Jonathan 

Brannan, John 

Briggs, Elisha 

Brite, John - 3 

Brite, Carlisle 

Brite, William 

Bucklew, William 

Butler, Thomas - 3, also i slave 

Butler, Elijah 

Cale, Henry 
Carree, Christian 
Carrico, John - 2 
Carrico, Peter 
Casey, Nicholas 
Castile, Jeremiah 
Chipps, John 
Chisler, Jacob 
Clark, James, Sr. 
Clark, James, Jr. 
Clark, Samuel 
Clark, Absalom 
Clutter, Samuel 
Clyster, Christian 
Collins, Francis 
Collins, Jacob 
Conn, James 
Connor, Robert 
Cook, Peter 
Crane, Samuel 2 
Cross, Benjamin 
Cunningham, Arthur 
Cupp, Leonard, Sr. 
Cupp, Leonard, Jr. 
Curry, John 2 
Curry, Robert 
Cushman, Isaac 

Darby, Owen - 2 
Davis, Thomas 
Deardurff, Samuel 


Peeston County, West Vieginu 

Deberry, John 
Deweye, Samuel 
Dewitt, Peter 
Domire, Rinehart 
Donaldson, James - 2 
Doran, Terah - 2 
Doran, James 
Douglass, Niel 
Downey, John 
Draper, Jacob 
Dunwoody, James 

Elliot, Abraham - 2 
Elsey, Nicholas 
England, William 
Evans, John - nailer 
Evans, Enoch 
Evans, Marget 
Ervin, Isaac 
Ervin, James 
Everley, Peter - 2 
Fickle, John 

Fickle, Joseph 
Floyd, Michael 
Foreman, Robert - 2 
Foreman, John 
Foreman, Samuel 
Foreman, Richard 
Foreman, Joseph 
Foster, John 
Fowler, John 
^oy» John 
Funkhouzer, Nicholas 

Gadd, Elijah 
Gadd, Thomas 
Gibson, Thomas 
Gibson, Robert 

Glover, Amos 
Glover, Benjamin 
Goff, James (i) 
Goff, James (2) 
Goff, John 
Goff, widow 
Goodwin, John 
Graham, David 
Gribble, John - 2 
Grove, Nicholas 

Hamilton, James 
Hamilton, Robert 
Harris, Abraham 
Harris, Jonathan 
Harris, William 
Hardesty, Elijah 
Harner, Phillip 
Harrader, John - 2 
Harsh, Frederick 
Hartley, James 
Hartman, John 
Haze, Henry 
Hazlet, Samuel 
Hearst, widow 
Heckart, Peter 
Hecks, Justus 
Hendrickson, David 
Hendrickson, Simon 
Henthorn, Henry 
Henthom, John 
Highshoe, Henry - 2 
Highshoe, Jacob 
Hoover, Henry 
Hoover, John 
Horton, Ezra 
Huggins, James 

Jarret, Benjamin 

Preston County, West Virginia 


Jarret, William 
Jefferys, Dennis 
Jefferys, Benjamin - 2 
Jenkins, Evan 
Jenkins, John 
Jenkins, Jonathan 
Jenkins, Thomas, Sr. 
Jenkins, Enoch 
Jenkins, Bartholomew 
Jenkins, Mary 
Jenkins, Margaret 
Johnston, William - 2 
Jones, William 
Joseph, Uriah 

Kelly, John - 3 
Kigar, Daniel 
Kigar, George 
King, Valentine - 3 
King, James 

Lapp, John 
Level, Robert 
Lewellen, John 
Lewellen, Hannah 
Lewellen, Doctor 
Lewes, Henry - 2 
Litchfield, John 
Little, William 

McEntosh, Alexander 
Mc gill, Adam 
Mc grew, Patrick 
Mc grew, James 
Mervin, Samuel 
Metheny, Nathan - 2 
Metheny, Joseph - 2 
Metheny, Moses 
Metheny, Ephraim 
Metheny, John 
Metheny, James 
Metheny, Elias 
Metheny, Reuben 
Middleton, Benjamin 
Mitchener, John 
Miller, Henry 
Mires, John 
Montgomery, James 
Moore, Archibald 
Moore, James 
Moore, Joseph 
Morton, Samuel - 2 
Morton, Benjamin 
Moyers, Anne 

Neighbors, William - 2 
Newhouse, William 
Nine, Christian 
Norris, Christian - 2 

Martin, Daniel 
Martin, Joseph - 2 
Maseen, William - 2 
Mason, William - 3 
Masther, Stephen 
McClane, John - 3 
McCollum, Daniel 
McDonald, John, Sr. 
McDonald, Tohn, Tr. 

Osborn, 2 

Otto. George J. - 2 
Otto. Christopher 
Parks, Thomas 
Pasnett. Joseph 
Patterson. Samuel 
Penrose. Jesse - 3 
Penrose, Abraha m 
Points. Tohn 


Preston County, West Virginia 

Postle, Michael 
Pestle, Samuel - 2 
Potter, Russell - 2 
Powel, Griffith 

Ramsey, John 
Reames, Tobias 
Rice, John, Jr. 
Rice, Shadrach 
Ridenour, Jacob - 2 
Ridenour, Christian 
Rightmire, James 
Rightmire, John 
Rightmire, Robert 
Roberts, Ames 
Rose, Charles - 3 
Rose, James 
Royre, Aaron 
Ruble, Jacob 

Sayre, Joseph 
Sayre, William 
Scott, Andrew 
Scott, John 
Scott, Thomas 
Scryer, Christian - 2 
Sevier, Robert - 2 
Sevier, James 
Severns, Joseph, Sr. 
Severns, Joseph, Jr. - 2 
Severns, Daniel, Sr. 
Severns, Daniel, Jr. 
Severns, Joseph of Daniel 
Severns, John 
Shaver, Adam 
Smith, Frederick 
Smith, Jacob 
Soulard, Gabriel 
Spencer, Amos 

Spurgen, James 
Stafffford, James - ferryman 
Stafford, John 
Starten, Andrew J. 
Stemple, David 
Stemple, John 
Stemple, Martin 
Strahen, William 
Summers, John 
Sommerville, Alexander 
Suyert, Adam 
Synes, Henry 

Tannehill, Ninian 
Tannehill, Samuel 
Taylor, John 
Teets, Henry 
Tetrick, Jacob 
Titchenal, Stephen 
Thompson, Robert 
Trader, Arthur 
Trimley, Benjamin - 2 
Turner, Zephaniah 

Wlaler, William - 2 
Walls, Temperance 
Warman, Joshua 
Warman, Thomas 
Warman, Catharine 
Webster, James 
Welts, Michael - constable 
Wheeler, John 
Whiteham, Christian - 2 
White, George 
Wile, Henry 
Wilhelm, Frederick 
Willets, John - a 
Willets, iSamuel 
Wilson, John 

Preston County, West Virginia 

88 5 

Winans, Andrew 
Wolff, Jacob, Sr. 
Wolff, George 
Wolff, Samuel 
Wolff, Adam 
Wolff, Augustine 
Wolff, John 
Wood, Joseph 
Wood, John 
Woods, Andrew 

Woods, Robert - constable 
Woods, Anthony 
Woods, Benjamin 
Woodring, Daniel 
Wooring, Abraham, Sr, - 3 
Wooring, Abraham Jr. 
Wooring, Nicholas 
Wooring, John 
Workman, Stephen 
Workman, William 

The population of the district was about 1,400. The tax book shows 
21 slaves of 16 years of age or older, and 32 younger slaves. There 
were 584 horses, including two studs. All the householders were as- 
sessed at less than one dollar each, except the following: 

Nicholas Casey $2.08 Joseph Severns $2.48 

Frederick Harsh i.oo Daniel Severns 

Bartholomew Jenkins 1.24 Catharine Warman r 41 

William Norris 2.28 John Willets 1.20 

John Ramsay 6.16 

Contents of Volume Two. 


Addenda _ 878 

Arthur, Richard M 702 

Ashburn, George W. 837 

Barnes, Jacob P. „ _ 695 

Barnes, Flemen C — 876 

Beachy, Jacob — 808 

Beerbower, Zer _.. 642 

Beerbower, Charles W 645 

Beerbower, Lloyd G _ 651 

Bishop, William M 829 

Bishop Family „ „ 858 

Bonafield, Guy M „. 757 

Boo'ne, Thomas N 830 

Brady, James Benjamin 750 

Brailer. Joseph J 769 

Brown Family, James 571 

Brown, Thomas 571 

Brown, Robert P 571 

Brown, Charles Newton 752 

Brown, Edward S - 771 

Brown, James William yji 

Browning Family 834 

Burch, William T 836 

Carroll, James H 639 

Carroll, Herndon Duval 640 

Chorpenning, Millard F 713 

Cobun, Sanford L 669 

Cobun Family „ 860 

Cole, Benjamin F 747 

Conley, William G 573 

Craig, Charles A 698 

Craig, Richard E 699 

Crane, Orlando C 652 

Cresap Family _ 657 


Crogan Family 866 

Cunningham Thaddeus S 813 

Cuppett, Edward E 694 

Cuppett, Gilbert C 693 

Dill Family _ 803 

Dixon, Emanuel 819 

Fairfax Family _. 631 

Fairfax, John M. G _ ._ 637 

Feather, J. Wesley 840 

Feather, Charles H 

Feather, John A 835 ' 

Feather,Karl Ward „ 774 

Flynn, James W - 614 

Forman Family 814 

Fortney, Thomas 588 

Fortney, Neil J 586 

Freeland Family 811 

Gandy, Frank Warren 786 

Garner, W. Scott 663 

Garner Family „ 758 

Garner, Waitman T. W 760 

Gibson, David J 675 

Gibson, Bert T 676 

Gibson, James C 678 

Guseman, John W 579 

Guseman, Jacob J 580 

Guthrie Family „ 671 

Haney, William W 873 

Harrington Family 849 

Hartley, Henry A 582 

Hartley, John E - 585 

Hartman Family 673 


Harvey, George Washington 871 

Hauger, Herbert Theodore... 785 

Hauger, Ezra B 

Heath, Jesse D _ 775 

Heermans, Francis 604 

Hollis, Robert S 875 

Jackson, Charles Mortimer... 780 

Jackson, Hoy B. 780 

Jenkins Family yj^ 

Jordan Family .^ 824 

Lakin, James S ~ ~ _ 57^ 

Lavelle, \\'illiam J _ 791 

Lavelle, William G 788 

Lee Family 847 

T^iston Family 817 

Loar, Richard 818 

Martin, Jacob Jackson „ 867 

Martin, Isaac P 661 

Martin, William T. D. _ 783 

McCool Family ...._ 630 

McCrum Family „ 589 

McCrum, A. Bliss _„ 593 

McKinney, Sanford C 763 

McMillen, Alcinus Fenton... 869 

Metheny, Silas 810 

Miller, Levi L - 806 

Monroe, Julius K 600 

Montgomery, Samuel B 594 

Morgan, Marshall 701 

Murdock, James Eyster 833 

Nedrow, Samuel 864 

Nedrow, Peter V -.- 865 

Orr Family _ — 840 

Parks, Lucian Lone 853 

Pentony, Herbert - — 836 


Pierce, Carleton C 706 

Reed, Lorelle Vernon r. 746 

Ressegger, Mabel „ 644 

Roberts, Lakin Fiske 859 

Scott Family 855 

Shaw Leroy _ 850 

Shaw, Omer Y _.... 786 

Sheets, Luther „ 765 

Smoot Family „.... 616 

Snider Family 629 

Spiker, Bernard D 823 

Spindler, Charles 668 

Stemple Family „ „ 781 

Stone, Charles Carroll 802 

Tanner, Thomas N 666 

Tanner, James - 667 

Taylor, Milton H 690 

Taylor, Thornton 689 

Thompson Family 623 

Trembly, Charles Edward 756 

Turnley Family 850 

Waddell Family 798 

Walls, George A. _ 816 

Walls, John 822 

Watson Family, William 684 

Watson Family, Rawley 683 

Watson, Daniel G 687 

Watson, Thomas ...„ 680 

Watson, David E - 685 

Weltner, Joseph T _ 778 

Whetsell Family _ 708 

^Vhetsell, Elias W 711 

White, William Thomas 827 

White, George Washington... 771 

White, Forrest W 674 

Wilkinson, Carlus Eugene 767 





.•■.'.'.■'•'^ ',',',':,' -r -•;•■;•;• 

" ■:;;;.'r':'4j'iyi.7v: ;_ 


•:•;;:;',. ::•:.•:^-;;Ji^,• 

' '■ *' '* ',i\'* \' .'Vt', 


'r'^-'."-.'<'»''''''i"'' ^- 1' 

;'.!;''.;'f^i'^l'w^'-!''''- "-'■'•■••• 

',, „..,..... ^•/;';:;-:;:-,; 

'. .'."■ ;lU"--»-''"'--''''' 

,'! '•■■''--'<•■■ j' .;.;;:;• ,.;:': 

'"■ " i^;,"':!*','!^-". '-';', 'J •• 

;^'. ..;:'.'i-', .'-•■■;•; '''^ 

;•;;.•, t.':':;;::.;^;:.;...:;;;.- 


'■•-''-•v^v;-:'-"-;'--;'-. -' 

../ .*.'* •'..-:'- .■,.■'•••■•" 

//I'' .",'.' ' . -'■ ''■'.'■'.''.■ — 

•^■'"1, r;''. ::::■.■."■■■■-■■ •