(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Ritchie County, with biographical sketches of its pioneers and their ancestors, and with interesting reminiscences of revolutionary and Indian times"

NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08191827 2 







i 

I 






ti-. 



I' 



I 

I 



1? 



1 



\ 



>>v 



put BRAR 



V 



ox AND 

-L^.:: :-OuWDATIONS. 




PHOTOGRAPH BY W. S. SHERWOOD 



THE AUTHOR'S PICTURE 



HISTORY 

^ OF 

RITCHIE COUNTY 



\X/1TH BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF ITS 

PIONEERS AND THEIR ANCESTORS, AND 

WITH INTERESTING REMINISCENCES 

OF REVOLUTIONARY AND 

INDIAN TIMES 



By 



MINNIE KENDALL LOWTHER 



WITH PORTRAITS AND OTHER 
ILLUSTRATIONS 



WHEELING NEWS LITHO. CO., WHEELING, W. VA. 



■ox AND 
QATIONS. 
1911 Lj 



COPYRIGHT, 1911 

BY 

MINNIE KENDALL LOWTHER 






i C I 

t C ^ t t I 







cr> 



O- 



♦O^nm? nf our d|tliiltoiiri ! l|nui afifrrttnti rltnga 
11 1 Anb lian^rs 'rouub tl|^^ witli lipr s^ra^l) 
uitnga ! 
itar^r tl)i| l|tUa, tI|ouglT rlab tn autumn bruitin, 
(Uliau fairest Bummits uilitd| tl)? r^iiarfi rrowu ! 
^uiretrr tltp fragraur? of tlii| summpr bvnzt 
(5hau all Arabia brfatl|ps along tl)^ spaa ! 
Sllir atraugpr'a galp uiafta liom^ tltp rxilp*a atgl), 
iFor tljp l|rart'a t^mpk ta tta omn blup akg. 

— Oliver Wendell Holmes. 



nf 

SI)? ftotippra of Ettrl|tf Oloutttg 



PREFACE 



The idea of writing a history of Ritchie county had its 
origin in a suggestion made by Lewis Harvey Adams while 
editor of the "Ritchie Standard," about the year 1904 when 
he requested us to v/rite some historical articles (of towns and 
other points of interest in the county) for his paper. We had 
long been an invalid (from an injury to the spine sustained 
by a fall from a horse) and was at that time local correspond- 
ent for his paper. However, we agreed to comply with this 
request in cas£ that the desired data could be obtained, and 
shortly after set about the task, and when once at work, we 
became so much interested, that the research resulted in a 
brief history of the county which ran as a serial in the "Ritchie 
Standard" from June 7, lOOG, to January 3, 1907 ; .and by the 
time this serial was at an end, quite a number of the readers 
of the paper were requesting its issue in "book form." P.ut 
Ijeing conscious of its many inaccuracies and imperfections 
we resolved to set out anew, and to make a more complete 
an.d authentic history before submitting it to the public in book 
form. So the wdiole ground has been gone over again, and 
much new territory has been explored. Letters of inquiry 
with out-lines of su.ggestive questions have been sent to every 
known pioneer family ; the telephones and the newspapers have 
been pressed into service, and various other devices have been 
resorted to in the gathering and the verifying of this data; and 
we now submit to the people of this county as authentic, and 
as complete a history as can be hoped for at this late day when 
the lips of so many of the makers of this history are now sealed 
in death. And while we realize that many imperfections are 
still in evidence in this work, we trust that the reader will noi: 
lose sight of the disadvantages that have confronted us, and the 
fact that we are a novice in the "book business"— this being 
our first venture. 

The orio-inal idea was to go back with these sketches to 
the time the ancestors of the pioneers of the county crossed 



VIII PREFACE' 

the water and down to their sons and daughters ; and it will 
be observed that this is still the general plan of the book, 
though circumstances have demanded not a few departures 
from this plan. But in each and every instance we have used 
such material as has been available. Some of the older fami- 
lies are written up for several generations in order to bring 
them down to the memory of the present people. Some have 
had well-preserved records and other data to draw upon, while 
others whose ancestry ma}^ ha\e been just as interesting, had 
i.one. Others again manifested no interest, hence the absence 
of some who should have been included. 

Quite a number of complete family genealogies have been 
furnished us, but owing to the size of this volume, and the 
arduous task involved, it has been necessary to leave the 
younger generations and their achievements principally to the 
future historian, or to the individual family record-maker. 

The prime object of this volume has been to embalm the 
memory of the pioneers of this county, and to show briefly 
the grow^th and progress that one hundred ten years have 
wrought in this little corner of our great Commonwealth. 
Some have felt that because their ancestors did not figure in 
public affairs that their brief history was hardly worthy of 
a place; but would it not be w^ell for us to remember in this 
connection that all of the heroes are not found in the front oi' 
the battle or in e.xalted positions; but that some of the noblest 
of earth have been content to live and die in the humbler 
walks of life — "unheralded and unsung." And, truly, such 
examples should be an. inspiration for us to "do with our 
mi<2ht what our hands find to do," though it mav be a verv 
lowly task : for — 

"Tl may not be on the mountain's iieight. 
Or over the stormy sea; 
It may not be at the battle's front 
' My Lord may have need of me." 

We gratefully acknowledge the valuable assistance ihat 
has been rendered us by the many in the accomplishment of 
this arduous task; for had this assistance been withheld this 



PREFACE ■ IX 

little volume could never have been given to the public. Our 
investigations have been persistent and thorough, and if some 
cherished tradition is found to be set aside, please bear in 
mind that this has been done only upon good authority. Many 
conflicting statements have confronted us, but we have made 
our decisions always in favor of the most authentic informa- 
tion, although some disputed points are still left in doubt. 

While it is impossible to mention all who have contributed 
to this work, the following named persons are among those 
who have been especially helpful -outside of their own family 
data : 

Israel Davidson, the late Joel Westfall, the late General 
Harris, the late j\Irs. Salina Woods, the late Mrs. A^nes 
Layfield, the late Mrs. Elizabeth McGregor, Mrs. Sarah 
Osbourn, George 15. Douglass, Van Martin, Van A. Zeveiey, 
Martin Smith, the Rev. James T. Sinnett, Harry Dawson, B. 
M. Cowell, Mrs. Lma Haymond Lantz, John B. Lemon, E. R. 
Tibbs, Creed Wilson, Hu Maxwell (the historian), Mrs. 
Eveline Evans, Mrs. Belinda Hill^ Mr. and Mrs. B. H. Wilson, 
George B. Johnson, Christopher Douglass, the late William 
Douglass, L. V. McWhorter (the historian of North Yakima. 
W^ashington), Miss Fannie McKinney (Williamstown). Mrs. 
Iva Lowther Peters (New York), Miss Julia Maxwell (West 
Tvlilford), Granville Lowther (Braxton county), Josiah Hughes 
(Roane county), Forrest Goff (Glenville), A. H. Hall, C. L. 
Zinn, Mrs. Lullu Halbm Parker (Kansas city, Missouri), Miss 
Genevieve Collins, Newton P»rake (Buckhannon), and perhaps 
others. 

We are also indebted to Withers "Chronicles of Border- 
warfare," the "History of Ohio," and the "Historical and 
Geographical Encyclopedia of the Virginias' for interesting 
helps : and to many courtesies from the telephone operators 
along the different lines, and for special favors from the 
Pritchard Telephone Company, the local newspaper editors 
and the kind publishers. Last but far greater than all has been 
the help of the great Author of all good. 

MINNIE KENDALL LOWTHER. 

Fonzo, West Va., January 24, 1911. 



L 



CONTENTS 



Chapter Page 

1. — Discover}'- of Ritchie County 1 

II. — First Settlers in Ritchie County 2',) 

III.— South Fork Settled 4() 

IV. — Thomas and Phebe Cunningham (■);/ 

v.— The Westfalls and Whites 7 J 

VI. — South Fork Settlers — Continued S'A 

Vll.^South Fork Settlers — Continued 10-; 

VIII.— North Fork Settled 1-iO 

TX. — North Fork Settlers — Continued 14J 

X. —First Settlers in the Cairo Vicinity IGO 

XL— Scotch Settlers '_ IT"? 

XII.— Bond's Creek Settled 188 

XIII.— Husher's Run 30:) 

XIV.— Goose Creek Settled 220 

XV.— Middle Fork Settled 225 

XVI.— Bone Creek Settled 240 

XVII.— Otterslide Settled 25(5 

XVIIL— Spruce Creek Settled 201 

XIX.— Grass Run Settled. 27tJ 

XX.— Leatherbarke Settled 295 

XXL— Indian Creek Settled 303 

XXII. — Chevauxdefrise Settled 31() 

XXIIL— Slab Creek Settled 330 

XXIV.— White Oak Settled 347 

XXV.— Beeson Settled 357 

XXVL— Macfarlan and Dutchman 3()7 

XXVIL— Devil Hole Creek Settled 377 

XXVIIL— Ritchie Mines ' 382 

XXIX. — Pioneer Life and Character 300 

XXX.— Schools and Teachers 394 

XXXL— Churches 400 

XXXIL— Mills 418 



XII CONTENTS 

Chapter Page 

XXXIII.— Postoffices 4;>S 

XXXIV.— Ritchie County Formed 430 

XXXV.— Developments 435 

■ XXXVI.— Physicians 443 

XXXVII.— Newspapers 453 

XXXVIIL— Ilarrisville 4(53 

XXXIX. — Prominent Harris\ille Families 474 

XL.— Cairo 499 

XLI. — Pennsboro 512 

XLII.— Ellenboro 53-3 

XLIIL— Smithville 541 

XLIV. — Burnt House ( Goff's, Fonsoviile) 553 

XLV.— Auburn 5G0 

XLVL— Berea 573 

XLVIL— Pullman (Oxford, Holbrook) 579 

XLVIir. — Petroleum (Hig'hland, Cornwallis, Glendale, 

Mole Plill. Rusk) 58r. 

XLIX.— Tollgate 594 

L. — Other Prominent Families 599 

LI. — The Younger ]Men's Calendar 620 

LII. — The Poet's Corner (536 

LIIL— The Blue and the Gray (544 

LIV. — Some xA.dditional Ancestries (553 

LV. — Natural Resources 6(jG 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 

Page 

1. Author's Picture Frontispiece 

2. Old Rock at the Mouth of IncHan run ;3 

3. Lowther Coat-of-arnis 5 

i. Col. William Lovvther's Cabin 7 

5. Cemetery where Col. Lowther Sleeps <i 

G. The Old Stone Ilotise at Pennsboro • 2i 

7. James Hardman and Ilardman Chapel 51 

8. George W. Hardman 53 

9. The Old Malone Homestead (Wyldewood Cottage 

whrre the History of Ritchie County was written) 56 

10. Archibald Wilson 106 

11. John CoHins 132 

12. Daniel Haymond -' 134 

13. Marsh Cabin 135 

14. Emmanuel Dotson 113 

15. The Old Marshall Home 167 

10. Richard and Eleanor Rutherford 111 

17. The Old Rutherford Home J 171 

18. Andrew and Catharine Hall Douglass 178 

19. William and Elizabeth Plall McGregor lOO 

30. Robert Sommerville 339 

31. Mrs. Jennie Kendall Lowther 315 

23. Harman and Frances Moats Sinnett 316 

33. Scene of the First Tragedy in Ritchie County 368 

34. Ruins of the Ritchie Mines and Frederick Lcukmi, 

the discoverer ■ 383 

35 H. S. Wilson -.-- 388 

SG. James Woods 393 

27. Flarrisville School Building 402' 

38. A Modern School P.uilding 403 

39. Harrisville M. E. Church 409 

30. Harrisville P.aptist Church 412 

31. Isaiah and Jane Taylor Wells 417 



XIV LIST OP ILLUSTRATIONS 

Page 

?:2. The Isaiah Wells Mill and Homestead 419 

')3. The Old Xorth Fork Bridge 437 

o4. Gen. Thomas Alaley Harris 4U 

35. The late Residence of Gen. T. M. Harris 44.'3 

36. Dr. and Airs. M. S. Hall 44^ 

37. Enoch G. Day 4r,l 

38. E. S. Zcveley 454 

30. White Hall Hotel 405 

40. The Court House with, the Annex 468 

^1. The Jail 46!) 

4?. Harrisville looking from the Cemetery south of town 47') 

43. P. & H. Train on Trestle 47-3 

4i. Panorama of Pennsboro 5T8 

45. J. P. Strickler 53«) 

46. Mrs. j. P. Strickler 536 

47. L. V. McWhorter (Old Wolfe) 569 

48. Portraits Younger Alen's Calendar — 15et\veen 620-621 

49. John S. Hall 636 

50. Herbert P. AIcGinnis 640 

51. Soldiers' Group — Between pages 643-644 

52. Oil Derrick 667 



CHAPTER I 



The Discovery of Ritchie County 

S we look with so much pleasure and admir- 
ation upon' the smiling valleys and sunny 
hill-tops that surround our rural homes, it 
sounds like a fairy-tale to be told that a little 
more than a century and a quarter ago, this 
beautiful landscape was one vast unbroken 
wilderness — the lair of wild beasts, and the 
home of the savage Red man. But — 

"The Red man is no more, 
The pale-faced stranger stands alone, 
Upon the river's shore." 




Tradition, as well as history, tells us that the first "pale- 
faced strangers" that ever trod the "Little Kanawha" and 
Hughes river valleys and stood^ within the present bounds of 
Ritchie county, were Colonel William Lowther and Jesse and 
Elias Hughes. 

It was in the year 1772, when the glorious touch of 
autumn was on every bush and tree, that this brave trio set 
out on their long and perilous expedition which was destined 
to result in the discovery of what is now the prosperous little 
County of Ritchie. 

Leaving the place where Clarksburg now stands, they 
steered their course up the West Fork of the Monongahela 
river to its head waters, and, crossing over the dividing ridge 
near the present site of Weston, pursued their journey down 
Sand creek to its confluence with the Little Kanawha. Here 
they found a beautiful mountain river upon which the eye of 
civilized man had, perhaps, never before rested, and being- 
filled with delight at this discovery, and lured on by their 



'The incident wliich gave rise to the naii\es of Macfarlan and Dutch- 
man is found to antedate this. But it lia.s never before been a matter of 
hii-tory. See later chapter. 



2 HISTORY Of RITCHIE COU.\T\ 

desire to explore, to penetrate this dense wilderness, and to 
find the destination of this river, they followed its tortuous 
course, its meanderings like a "silver thread" — naming the 
tributaries as the}^ passed along. 

The general course of the first one that appeared sug- 
gested a more direct route from the point near ^^'eston to the 
river they were exploring, than the one down Sand creek, and 
they named it "Leading creek." Cedars adorned the banks 
of the next stream and they called it "Cedar creek." Then one 
came out from beneath stately pines, and "Pine creek" was 
the name given to it. High banks of yellow clay marked the 
mouth of another, giving rise to the name of "Yellow creek'" 
— which is to-day so far-famed for its richness in oil. After 
this came a tributarv "stretching far awav among the hills" — 
a long line of its course being visible, and the name "Straight 
creek" w^as bestowed upon it. From toward the evening sun 
flowed another, which suggested the name of "West Fork." 
And from the cool, limpid waters of another, thev quenched 
their thirst and it has ever since borne the name of "Spring 
creek." 

Little did these pioneers of civilization dream that before 
a centur}- had passed away, this legion was destined to 
give birth to what is to-day one of the richest resources of our 
Commonwealth. Scarcely less credible is the romancer's story 
of the powerful magic wand of "Aladin's Lamp" than the one 
that the historian has woven about "Burning Springs."' 

Li August, 1860, when the news went out from this place 
that the greatest petroleum-producing field then known to the 
world had here been discovered, the population of this entire 
vicinity was less tlian a score, and six months later, on that 
memorable April morn when the whole country was startled 
by the firing on Fort Sumpter, it numbered not fewer than six 
thousand persons. Capitalists and adventurers from every 
quarter of the globe flocked to this "Eldorado," and immense 
fortunes came and went in a single day. This was the begin- 
ning of the oil industry in our state. And though the popula- 
tion of this region once numbered eighteen thousand, it has 
now almost returned to'"its primitive wilderness." 



'Burning Springs was discovered later by I'lwriek Hostetter and 
others. (See Hostetters in South Forl< settlers.) 



THE DISCOJ'ERV OF RITCHIE COUXTY 3 

y\fter "Spring creek" came another tributary to wiiich the 
name "Reedy" was appHed. And at some distance below upon 
tlie bank of a small stream, a huge stone was found standhig 
erect, and "Standing Stone creek" has ever since been familiar 
to the inhabitants of the Little Kanawha valley. 

Farther down a beautiful river united its "gently mur- 
muring tide" with the Kanawha, and Jesse Hughes claimed 
the privilege of conferring his own name upon it. His com- 
panions n-iade no protest and the name of "Hughes river" has 
ever since occupied a place on the maps of the "Little Mount- 
ain State." In 1789, an effort w^as made to have the name 
changed to that of "Junius," but the aged citizens still mind- 
ful of the debt of gratitude that was due the brave discoverers, 
refused to listen to such a change. 

Up this river, whose name is so familiar to us all. and 
upon whose beloved banks so many of our childish feet have 
loitered, "looking for the spring flowers wild," these weary 
travelers continued their explorations, and soon a stream of 
some magnitude came to view in which flocks of wild geese 
were bathing, and the name "Goose creek" at once suggested 
itself. Farther up, the river divided into two branches, and 
these were designated as the North and the South ?orks of 
Hughes river ; and as they proceeded up the South fork, they 
discovered a small stream overhung by walnut trees, and it 
was called "Walnut creek" until 1784, when Col. Lowther, 
with a company of men, surprised the Indians on this creek, 
and a battle ensued in which five red men and a white l3oy 




The old rock at the mouth of Indian run as it looks today. 



4 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

were killed, and ever since that time it has been known a:^ 
"Indian creek."^ The only stream mentioned that does not 
retain its original name. ( 

After the discovery of Indian creek, these explorers rd- 
traced their footsteps to the Kanawha river and continued its 
descent, and 'ere long the mouth of a stream filled with slate 
rose before their vision, and the name "Slate creek" was ap- 
propriated to it. And shortly after this, the goal for which 
they had covered so many weary miles was in sight ; the 
mouth of the river had been reached, and this little band 
stood upon the bank of the bold Ohio, perhaps, among the 
first Englishmen that ever set foot upon the site that is now 
marked by the interesting city of Parkersburg; and from here 
the homeward march began, and in due time they reached the 
point from which they had started, having made the way pos- 
sible for the "settlements of the now beautiful and populous 
valleys of these two rivers." 

This little historical drama would hardly be complete 
without a word in regard to the ideritity of the heroic actors 
who were instrumental in bringing it about, and of them we 
shall now speak : 



^The scene of this conflict was near the present site of the Indian r'.;n 
school-liouse, on land now owned by Dr. C. W. Rexroad. Here, near the 
mouth of tills little stream, stand the several cliffs of rocks which shel- 
tered the Indians on tliat memorable night, and from which they fled in 
dismay on the following morning, "at tlie dawn's early light," leaving 
their dead, their prisoners, and their guns. And tliough these old rocks 
serve as a most fitting memorial to one of the first tragedies ever enacted 
on Ritchie county soil, so mute, and so silent do they stand that very 
few who gaze upon them would ever suspect their interesting, tragical 
history. 

An Incident of this battle which we glean from "Border Warfare" 
will doubtless add interest here: 

"As soon as the firing was opened upon the Indians, Mrs. Alex Roney, 
one of the prisoners, ran toward the Whites, rejoicing at the prospect of 
deliverance, and e.Kclaiming, "I am Ellick Roney's wife of tlie Valley, I 
am Ellick Roney's wife of the Valley, and a pretty little woman, too, if 
I am well-dressed!" The poor woman, ignorant of the fact that her son 
was weltering in his own gore, and, forgetting for an instant, that her 
husband had been so recently killed, seemed intent onlj^ on her own de- 
liverance from the savage captors. 

"Another of the captives, Daniel Dougherty, being tied down and im- 
able to move, was discovered by the Whites as they rushed toward the 
camp; but fearing that he might be one of the enemy, and that he might 
do them .'jome injury if they advanced, ore of the men stopped and de- 
manded to know who he was. But being benumbed with the cold and so 
disconcerted by the sudden firing of the Whites, he could not render his 
Irish dialect intelligible to them: and the white man raised his gun and 
pointed it toward him, and in loud, emphatic tones told him that if he 
did not make it known who he was that he'd blow a ball through him, be 
he White man or Indian. Fear supplying him with new vigor, Dougherty 
exclaimed. 'Loord Jasus, and am I to be killed by the "^Tiite people at 
last?' Col. Lowther heard him and his life was saved." 



THE DISCOVERY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 







The Lowthers. — "Lowther"^ is a very old name in the 
land beyond the deep. It is supposed to be of Norman or 
French origin, and its primitive spelling was "Loutre," or 

"Louthre" — meaning otter or na- 
tive ; and in the ancient chronicles 
of the family (in the "Old 
World") it is said to be frequent- 
ly met with in this form to-day. 
But, however this may have been, 
they came over to England with 
William the Conqueror, from 
Normandy in France, during the 
autumn of 1066, and have ever 
since laid claim to British soil, 
though (from here) they have 
scattered to Ireland and to vari- 
ous other climes. They are distinctively connected with the 
North of England, where they own large possessions to-day. 

Sir William Lowther was the prime minister of William 
the III, about the year 1695, and was subsequently created first 
Viscount of Lonsdale; and Sir James Lowther, a very well- 
known member of the family, who married the daughter of 
Lord Bute (the first prime minister of George the III), was 
made the first Earl of Lonsdale, near 1760, and the present 
Earl (of Lonsdale) is his direct descendant. 

Another head of the family, William, Earl of Lonsdale, 
was Postmaster-General and President of the Council in the 
second Beaconsfi eld's f^rst government in 1866 ; and the Hon- 
orable William Lowther, who still survives at the age of 
eighty-eight years, occupied a seat in the House of Commons, 
from Westmoreland county, for a quarter of a century, and 
his son, the Right Honorable James William Lowther (to 



"An old tradition concerning the origin of tlie name "Lowther" in 
the "Old World," which has been handed down for generations in the 
family, is: "That Henry Low, whose ancestral line came from Ireland, 
had three sons, Henry, George and "William, who were English miners 
and for some superior skill and valor 't-h-e-r' was added to their name 
by royal decree, and William was said to be the grandfather of Col. 
William Lowther. But, however cherished this old story may be, its 
authenticity is now scattered to tlie winds before historical facts which 
are indisputable; as the history of the family is to be found in 'Dod's 
Pr.rliamentarian Companion,' 'Who's Who,' and various other English 
books of reference." 



6 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

whom we are indebted for this information), has been in Par- 
liament for twenty-seven years, and is now the speaker of the 
House of Commons. 

All down the centuries the name has been associated with 
the pul)lic affairs of Great Britain, and John Langton Sanford 
and Meredith Townsend in their "Great Governing Families 
of England," say : 

"The history of the Lowthers is that of immense and 
almost unbroken civil success. Though they date from the 
earliest feudal period and possess to this time a power more 
nearly feudal than that of any other family in England, ex- 
cept the Perceys and the Wynnes, they would be defined on 
the continent as belonging rather to the peerage of 'the robe' 
than the nobility of the sword. A race of proud, sensitive, 
and singularly efficient men, they have filled high offices as 
lawyers, battled bravely as politicians, and performed, once 
or twice, good service as ministers of the State. From 1300, 
for five hundred years, there never sat a parliament which was 
not attended by a Lowther or a Lowther's direct nominee.'' 

The first record that we have of the family in the Western 
world is in the Pennsylvania colony, on October 22 and 23, 
1681, when William Penn granted five thousand acres of land 
to William Lowther and his sister. Margaret, near "Simpson 
Tract." They were the son and the daughter of Armstrong 
Lowther, of York count3^ England, and their mother was a 
sister of William Penn. W^illiam married Kathrine Preston, 
and had a son, Thomas Lowther. Margaret became Mrs. 
Benjamin Poole, and their daughter was Mrs. Richard Nichol- 
son.^ 

But Col. William Lowther was not a lineal descendant 
of this Pennsylvania family, as some mistakenly think. His 
parents. Robert and Aquilla Reese Lowther. crossed to 
America (from Ireland) near the year 1738, and settled in 
Albermarle county. Virginia. They later removed to the 
South Branch of the Potomac river, in what is now the East- 
ern Panhandle of this State, and finally to Hacker's creek, 
where their lives came to a close. (?) 



^To Hon. Hu Maxwell we are Indebted for this bit of information, 
whicli is taken from tlie "Crown Inn" (which stood near Bethleliem, in 
Pennsylvania), written by W. C. Reichel. 



t 



THE DISCOJ'ERV OP RITCHIE COUNTY 7 

They had quite a family of children, but only part of 
their names are at our command; viz., Thomas, Henry, Jona- 
than, Joel and William. 

Thomas and Jonathan were killed by the Indians. Henry 
returned to his home in Albermarle county, after lending a 
hand in the erection of the early forts in Harrison county. 
Joel probably died in Harrison county, where he settled, and 
William is the hero of this drama. 

Col. William Lowther was born in Albermarle county, 
Virginia, in 1743, not long after the arrival of the family in 
the colonies ; and in his early twenties, he was married to 
Miss Sudna Hughes, sister of Jesse and Elias. the marriage 
taking place at the home of the Hughes, on the South branch 
of the Potomac, in^ v;hat is now Hardy county, near the year 
1763 ; and here, not far from the beautiful old town of Moore- 
field, they established their home and remained until they 
removed to Harrison count}% in June, 1773. The date of their 
removal being marked by the birth of their fourth son, Jesse, 
who is said to have come upon the stage just six weeks after 
the family reached their new home (in Harrison county), and 
his natal day was Julv 31. 1773. 




Col. Wm. Lowtlier'.s cabin as it looks to-day. 



This cabin is located one one-half miles below West Milford, on 
the Clarksburg road. It was built by Col. Lowther, perhaps early in the 
year 1773 i some object to tliis date, but we are confident that it is au- 
thentic), and though one hundred thirty-seven years have winged their 
flight, it still stands as a sacred remnant of by-gone days. This piature 
was taken in June, 190S, and was at tliat time si ill occupied by the 
descendants of Col. Lowther. 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



Col. Lowther had, however, figured in the erection of 
Simpson's fort, near eight miles below Clarksburg, and West's 
fort, near Jane Lew, before this time. He played an important 
■part, too, in the construction of the "Old Nutter" fort, near 
Clarksburg, ruins of which still mark the site. 

He soon became distinguished for his fearlessness as a 
frontiersman, and for his unselfish devotion to the welfare of 
the colonists ; was one of the most capable defenders of the 
settlement in the Avar of 1774 (and subsequently) and many a 
successful expedition did he lead against the enemy. He was 
the first Justice of the Peace in the district of West Augusta ; 
the first Sheriff of Harrison and Wood counties, and was at 
one time a member of the General Assembly at Richmond, 
Virginia^. Having served in all the subordinate ranks of mili- 
tary life, he rose to that of Colonel. (Was com.missioned 
Major by General George Rogers Clarke in 1781.) "Despis- 
ing the pomp and pageantry of office," he accepted it only for 
the good of his country.^ 

On a balmy day in the latter part of October (28) 1814, 
he passed from earth at his old home near West Milford. 
The old cabin that had sheltered him through so many event- 
ful years was the scene of his closing hours, and not far away 
on his own homestead he lies in his eternal sleep. He died 
rich in the love and esteem of the countrymen that he had so 
faithfully served, and it is said that his- name has been handed 
down to their descendants "hallowed by their blessings." 

A pathetic little incident that has been preserved in the 
family says that when he died his devoted old darkey, "Tobe," 




Cemetery ■where Colonel Lowther slc:ep = 



'Part of this is taken from the re\ised Border Warfare. 



\ 



THE DISCOVERY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 9 

was ?'€.Qn stancling by the fence near the cabin weeping over 
his loss ; and that when this old servant was done with earth, 
he was laid at his master's feet and a dog-iron was placed at 
his grave ; and to this day this iron is in-tact and serves as a 
positive mark for Col. Lowther's grave, whose inscription is 
no longer legible. 

After his death, his wife, Sudna, came to this county and 
made her home with her son, Elias Lowther, on the Flanna- 
gan farm, above Berea. Here, near the year 1829, she died, 
and in one corner of the Flannagan burying-ground she lies 
at rest. Jonathan C. Lowther, her only surviving grandson, 
remembers seeing her lov/ered here. He was born in 1819, 
and thinks that he must have been a lad of near ten years at 
the time. He cannot recall her features, biit says that she was 
quite small in stature. 

Their family consisted of five sons only; viz., Robert, 
Thomas, William, Jesse and Elias Lowther, all of whom have 
a long line of descendants, which are scattered throughout the 
Union. 

It may be of interest in this connection to note that an 
old cross-cut saw that was once the property of Col. Lowther 
is now in the hands of his great-grandson, J. M. Lowther, of 
Auburn. He purchased this saw at Winchester, Virginia, 
and carried it on horseback to Clarksburg (West) Virginia, 
where it was used in sawing timber for the old "Nutter fort," 
which served as a place of refuge for the inhabitants of the 
West fork river during Lord Dunmore's war, which antedates 
the Revolution. 

An heirloom in the form of an old land grant which was 
made to Col. Lowther, on June 8, 1785, and signed by Patrick 
Henry, on November 14, 1786, while he was Governor of Vir- 
ginia, is now a cherished possession of the writer. This grant 
is written upon parchment and conveys two hundred twenty 
acres to the Colonel on the West fork river, in Harrison coun- 
ty, "which includes his settlement." (Hence our proof of his 
early settlement at West Milford.) 

What a mantle of historic interest clusters about these 
silent remnants of the past How sacred they seem to us ! As 
one gazes upon the signature of this renowned orator with 



10 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

a feeling of awe and reverence, through the phonograph of 
years comes a voice of eloquence proclaiming the immortal 
words that must ever be the sentiment of the true American 
heart, "Give me liberty or give me death!" 

Col. Lowther's military record is sucli as to admit his 
descendants to membership in the Sons and Daughters of 
the American Revolution. Mrs. Iva Lowther Peters, of Fish- 
kill, New York, his grand-daughter, several generations re- 
moved, and her brother, Earle, having been recently admitted 
to these societies on his record. 

Descendants of Col. Lowther. — Robert Lowther, the 
eldest son, whose natal day was October 1, 17G5, married 
Miss Kathrine Cain, sister of John Cain, the Slab creek 
pioneer, and settled on the portion of the old homestead. 
given him by his father. But at the death of Col. Lowther, 
he inherited that part of the estate which included the ''old 
cabin," and here, on November 16, 1833, he came to his death 
by a fall from this cabin while engaged in re-roofing it. His 
wife, who was born on October 2", 1766, died here on March 
^5, 1851, and side by side they lie at rest in the old family 
burying-ground shown in the picture. 

They were the parents of five sons and three daughters : 
William B., Jesse .0. Robert, junior. John, James K.. I-Cath- 
rine Susan and Mary Lowther. 

William B. married Miss Margaret Coburn, and was 
identified wath the South fork settlers in this county. 

Jesse G., who settled near West Milford, was first mar- 
ried to Miss Nancy Swisher, and ten children were the result 
of this union. His second wife was Miss W^ady Knight, and 
the two children of this marriage were : the late Dr. Jesse G. 
Lowther. a well known practitioner of Wirt. Wood and this 
county ; and the late Mrs. Nancy Lowther, of W'wi county. 
He died at West Milford, on August 25, 1870, at the age of 
eighty years, and sleeps in the family burying-ground there. 

Robert, junior, married Miss Eliza Highland and settled 
on the old homestead, near West Milford, where he reared 
three sons and two daughters. 

John, who was a prominent medical practitioner, married 
Miss Elizabeth Pritchard, and lived and died at Clarksburg; 



THE DISCOVERY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 11 

and the only child of this marriage was the late Evan Low- 
ther, of that city, who died without issue. 

James K. married Miss Lydia Knight, and principally 
spent his life within the walls of the old ancestral cabin, where 
he died at the age of ninety-five years. He had two sons and 
three daughters, and one of these daughters, Talitha, the last 
survivor of the family died (unmarried) at the old home, on 
February 25, 1910. 

Kathrine married Thomas Ireland, and they were the first 
settlers at the mouth of the Middle fork of Highes river, in 
this county. 

Susan became Mrs. Abraham Morrison, and principally 
spent her life on Brown's creek, in Harrison county. Her 
family consisted of three daughters, who have all crossed the 
tide. 

Mary Lowther was married to her cousin, William J. 
Lowther (son of Jesse), and came to this county and settled 
near Oxford.^ 

Thomas Lowther (the second son of Col. William) was 
born on March 7, 1767, but his history is rather obscure. 
However, he married Miss Mary Coburn, and settled on the' 
land given him by his father, near West Milford, and reared 
a small family. He is said to have died before he had scarcely 
reached the meridian of life of a malady that the physicians 
of to-day would term appendicitis; he having undergone a 
surgical operation without an anesthetic. Tradition says that 
he was a snake-charmer, that he could wield such power over 
a poisonous reptile as to be able to handle it without harm 
to himself. He, too, rests in the family burying-ground on 
the old homestead. 

He was the father of Jesse Lowther, the Cornwallis 
pioneer ; of Elias, an early settler at Webb's mill ; of Robert, 
of Doddridge county; and of one daughter, Mary or Polly, 
who is said to have married a man by the name of West, of 
near Jane Lew. (Another source of information says her mar- 
ried name was White.) 



'The descendants of this branch of the family in tliis coujity are a 
veritable host, but for an account of those who settled here in pioneer 
days see later chapters. 



12 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Thomas' descendants in this county are not nearly so 
numerous as those of the other sons, but they are not a few, 
however. Among them ars Mrs. Matilda McGregor, of Cairo, 
a granddaughter ; Mrs. James Rexroad, Mrs. Emma Lee, the 
late Mrs. F. S. Moyer and the late Mrs. W. E. Hill, great- 
granddaughters. 

William Lowther, the third son of Col. William, was born 
on the South branch of the Potomac river, not far from 
Moorefield, on January 27, 1769 ; and when he was yet in the 
"frocks of babyhood," his parents removed to Harrison county, 
and here in the "hot bed" of savage warfare, he grew to man- 
hood. 

Though uneducated, he was a man of marked intelligence, 
and his memory was a veritable store-house of pioneer lore, 
and of interestiiis' reminiscences of Indian times ; for often, 
when a lad, he accompanied his father on his expeditions 
-against the dusky foe, and was an eye witness to the conflict 
(between the whites and the Indians), at the famous rock 
at the mouth of Indian run, in 1784, he being then but fifteen 
years of age. And in after life when listening to a recital of 
these stirring days from the "Chronicles of Border Warfare," 
he would often stop the reader in order to correct some mis- 
statement of the historian, so clear, and so retentive was his 
memory.^ 

Near the year 1789, he was married to Miss Margaret 
Morrison, who was born on the banks of the Yadkin river, 
in North Carolina, on May 1, 3 768, and with her parents 
emigrated to Harrison county in her early womanhood. 
After their marriage, they settled near one mile below West 
Milford, on the farm that is now owned by the Highlands. 
Here they reared their family, and here they remained until 
near the year 1837, when they came to this county, where 
they spent the evening hours of their lives with their son, 
Archibald Lowther, at Holbrook. 

At one time, near the year 1797, Mr. Lowther went to 
Ohio for the purpose of seeking a home, and, while on the 



'As Uie writer's father was one of the grandsons who frequently read 
for him, she has been able to correct some of these errors. 



THE DISCOVERY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 13 

Muskingum river, he helped to rear the first cabin where the 
City of Zanesville now stands, but owing to the prevalence 
of "fever and ague" in this section, he returned to his home 
satisfied to remain at West Milford. 

Mrs. Lowther was a woman of a devout religious char- 
acter, a Presbyterian in faith, and her old Bible, which was 
her daily companion, is now in the hands of the writer. It 
bears the date of "1790," and is still held together by the old 
leather string that she ever kept about it. Mr. Lowther never 
made a profession of religion, but his last audible words were 
a prayer, a most earnest appeal to the Infinite Father of love 
and mercy. She passed away on MayiJJi^^ 1850, and he, on 
November 36, 1857. Both lie at rest in the Lowther burying- 
ground, near Holbrook, surrounded by the dust of five gen- 
erations of their descendants. 

They v/ere the parents of twelve children, six of whom 
reached the years of maturity. Five of them married and 
four of that five were the heads of pioneer families of this 
county, 

Alexander, the eldest son (born on January 14, 1791), 
married Miss Sarah Ireland, and was the pioneer of Oxford. 

Sudna (born on April 10, 1793), became Mrs. George Wil- 
lard, and came to this county in pioneer days. (See Middle 
fork chapter.) 

William (born on October 31, 1793) married Miss Meli- 
cent Maxwell and settled at Cairo. 

Robert (born on May 34, 1795) settled in Jackson county. 

Rebecca (born on December 30, 1803) died in 1885, unmar- 
ried. 

Archibald (born May 17, 1811, the youngest of the family) 
married Miss Charlotte Willard and lived and died at Hol- 
brook. 

Mary (born December 13, 1797), Margaret (born Septem- 
ber 37, 1806), Sarah (born September 3, 1800), Elias (born 
December 37, 1806), Kathrine (born September 31, 1809), all 
died in childhood; and Jesse (born September 31, 1805), in 
youth. 

Robert, the one member of the family (of William and 
Margaret Morrison Lowther) that did not come to this coun- 



]4 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

ty, married Miss !\Iary Hattabough, a nativ^e of Kent county, 
Delaware" who was born on November 'i, 1792. The marriage 
took place near the year 1809, and they remained in Harrison 
count}' until some time in the thirties, when they removed to 
Jackson county, where they died, and where many of their 
descendants still live. He was a lawyer by profession and 
was the first resident barrister of Jackson county. He helped 
to survey the pretty town of Riplev, and almost beneath its 
shadow his ashes lie. ]^Irs. Lowther died on July 1, 1851, and 
he followed her to the grave on April 22, 1856. 

Their children were as follows : the late Andrew H. 
Lowther (1810-1863), of Wirt county; Harriet (1817-1845), 
the late Mrs. John H. Wetzel, of Ripley; William A\'irt 
(1820), who died at the age of eighteen years while attending 
college in Indiana; Agnes (B. 1822), who died in infancy; 
Minerva (1823-1901), the late ^Irs. Joseph Smith, of Ripley; 
Margaret (1826-1899) was the late Mrs. Henry Harpold, of 
Baltimore; Mary (1828-1899) died at Baltimore, unmarried, 
and Edward Duncan (1828-1899), who died at Ripley, unmar- 
ried. 

The Morrisons. — ^largaret ^Morrison Lowther, as above 
stated, was a native of Xorth Carolina. Her father, Archibald 
IMorrison, and his brother, who were of Scotch-Irish birth, 
emigrated from England to America some time before the 
Revolution, and settled on the Yadkin river, in Xorth Caro- 
lina. Here he married a ]\Iiss Fooks, and at the breaking 
out of the Avar in 1775, when he enlisted as a soldier in the 
Continental army, he became separated from his brother, and 
never heard of him again. But near the year 1788, Archibald 
Morrison removed from Xorth Carolina to A\ est Milford, in 
Harrison county, and here he and his wife sleep. 

His sons were Alexander, John and AMlliam, who rest 
in 'Harrison county, where some of their descendants live; 
Archibald, junior, lies in Ohio; ]Marshall Reese, in California. 
Margaret Lowther, and Susan, whose married name is un- 
known to us, were two of the daughtet-s. 

Alexander married Miss Margaret Brake and settled on 
Hacker's creek in 1824. He was a soldier of the war of 1812 ; 
and a curiosit}' in the form of a briar-root cane, which he 



THE DISCOVERY OF RITCHIE- COUNTY 15 

brought from Xorth Carolina, and upon which he carved the 
head and face of a man, is still in the family. 

Alexander Morrison's son, James Monroe Morrison, was 
commissioned Lieutenant-General of the U. S. Militia by 
President Lincoln. He married Miss Sarah Jane Bennett, 
and the}' were the parents of the Rev. U. W. Morrison, of 
the A\'est A'irgima Methodist Protestant conference. 

Jesse Lowther (the fourth son of Col. William) was born 
on July 51, 1773, six weeks after the arrival of the family in 
Harrison county. He is said to have been the first white male 
child born on Harrison county soil. 

Near the year 1790, when he was but a boy, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Mary Ragan, a rosy-cheeked Dutch girl, who 
was born on December 25, 1770, and settled where West Mil- 
ford now stands. Mrs. Lowther was the daughter of a Revo- 
lutionary soldier, and the sister of Mrs. Alexander Ireland, 
senior. In 1797, they removed from West Milford to the 
Ohio river, and established a home on Neal's Island, four 
miles below Parkersburg, but they returned to their old home 
at West Milford, after a few years, where he died in October, 
1854. After his death, his wife, Mary, came to this county, 
and spent the closing years of her life with her daughter, Mrs. 
William Hall, at Pullman. Here she fell asleep, in April, 
1857, and in the Pullman churchyard she lies at rest. Her 
husband sleeps in the family burying-ground near A\'est ]\Iil- 
ford. 

The writer now has a cane which was once the property 
of Jesse Lowther, and one which- he presented to his brother, 
William. L^pon this piece of anticpiity is a silver plate which 
bears the initials of his nanie "J. L." 

The children of this family were eleven in number: 
William, the eldest (born in 1791), married his cousin, Mary 
or Polly Lowther, and settled at Oxford. 

Mary Ann was the wife of William Hall, an early settler 
of the Oxford vicinity. 

Sallie married William Norris, and resided on the South 
fork for a brief time in pioneer days, then removed to Gihiicr 
county. 



IC HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Margaret married William L. ]\Iitchell, and died at West 
Milford. She was the mother of Virginia, the late wife of 
William I. Lowther, of Pullman; of Margaret, wife of Lewis 
Maxwell, junior, formerly of this county, but now of Gilmer; 
of Mrs. Mary Hickman of the West; of AVilliam, Cyrus, Madi- 
son B., Robert, and Lafayette Mitchell, all of whom have 
passed on, except Robert and William. 

Jesse, junior, wdio was a physician, w^ent West, finally to 
Little Rock, Arkansas, where he died. L'riah died in youth. 

Dr. Robert married Mrs. Ellen Stringer Huffman, and 
located at Weston, and from there migrated to Mississippi, 
wdiere he died after a nine days' illness of fever. His wife 
soon followed him to the grave from a broken heart, and the 
half-brother brought the two little sons, aged four and six 
years, back to their grandfather, Jesse, near the year 1839. 
Daniel was educated at Lexington and West Point, and after 
finishing his college work, came to Harrisville, where he 
opened a law office, and where he died a few months later, 
in 1866. William, who was also a lawyer, went to Texas, 
v.diere he met his death at the hands of a man that he had 
decided a case against. Huffman, who was a colonel in the 
Confederate army, and who lost a leg in the cause, died at 
Clarksburg, unmarried. 

Sudna married Armstrong Maxwell and lived and died 
at AVest Milford. The members of this family were : Mari- 
anne, who married Jesse Lowther (but we can't say what 
number), Mrs. Millie M. (John) Racey, Mrs. Anna L. (Wm.) 
Stephens, Mrs. Sudna A. Mitchell, of Gilmer county ; Mar- 
cellus Maxwell, of Nelsonville, Ohio: and Irwin and William, 
who have passed on ; and Miss Julia Maxwell, of West Mil- 
ford. 

Elizabeth Lowther married Conrad Kester and died in 
Lewis county, where many of her descendants live. 

Drusilla became Mrs. Bradbury Morgan, of Zanesville, 
Ohio; and Millie was Mrs. Daniel Wyer, of W'oodsfield, Ohio. 

Elias Lowther, who was born on Xeal's Island, in 1801, 
during the residence of the family there, was married to Miss 
Selina McWhorter, daughter of Thomas McWhorter, and 



THE DISCOJ'F.RY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 17 

Spent his last hours at Palestine, in Wirt county, though he 
resided at various other points in the State. 

He was the father of the following- named children: AIc- 
Duffy and Calhoun (twins), Thomas A\'., Cammillius, Elias 
H., John M., who was killed at Elizabeth during the Civil 
war; Columbia V. (Mrs. John Edwards), Mary M. (Mrs. P. 
W. Morgan, of Jackson county), all of whom have crossed 
the tide ; and Jesse and Granville S., of Braxton county ; 
Henry M., of Kentucky; W. H. H., of Parkersburg; Mrs. 
Celina J. (Amos) Lowther, Wirt county, are the surviving 
members, and they are all well advanced in years. . Mrs. J. E. 
Burns, of Auburn, belongs to this family, she being the 
daughter of Jesse, and granddaughter of Elias. 

Elias Lowther (the fifth and youngest son of Col. 
William) came upon the stage during the din of the American 
Revolution. Pie w^as born in the old cabin, shown in the 
picture, on September 16, 1776, and married Miss Rebecca 
Coburn, sister of his brother Thomas' wife, and remained in 
his native county until 1820, when he came to this county 
and erected the first cabin on the Zimri Flannagan farm, above 
Berea. He was at one time a member of the Richmond Leg- 
islature from Harrison county, and was major in the militia. 
During the latter part of his life he lost his mind, and his last 
years were spent in the insane hospital at Staunton, V^irginia, 
where he was laid to rest near the year 1845. 

His wife, who was born in Harrison county, on December 
11, 1779, died a few years later at the home of hei son. J. C. 
Lowther, at the mouth of Otterslide, and on the Flannagan 
homestead she lies in her last sleep. 

Their children were as follows : 

Peggy died in youth ; Decatur was drowned in the miil- 
pond at Berea. 

Jesse M. married Miss Lucinda Hall, daughter of William 
Hall, and spent his last hours near Berea. (See HAll family.) 

William went to Ohio. Sarah was Mrs. George Starkey, 
of Harrison county. Elizabeth married Robert Hammond 
and went to Ohio. Mary was the wife of Thomas Pritchard, 
of Slab creek. (See later chapter.) Dorinda was Mrs. Zibba 



18 HISTORY OF RiTClUE COUNTY 

Davis, of Otterslide ; and Jonathan C. Lowther, of Berea, the 
only survivor of the family, is the young;est son. 

He is now (1910) ninety-one years of age, and is as active 
as a boy, being able to jump up and crack his heels together. 
He enjoj^s the distinction of being the only surviving grand- 
son of Col. Lowther. (See Otterslide for his family.) 

The Hugheses. — The Hugheses are of Welsh origin. Fam- 
ily tradition tells us that they crossed the deep with the Low- 
thers and settled in Albemarle county, Virginia; and that 
Thomas Hughes removed from there to the South branch of 
the Potomac river, in what is now Hardy count}', and from 
thence to Harrison county, near the year ITT'3 or 1773, where 
he found a home on Hacker.'s creek. One day during the latter 
part of April, 1778, while at work in the field, he and Jonathan 
Lowther were shot down by the stealthy foe. The others who 
were with them managed in some way to escape injury. 

Thomas flughes was the father of quite a family of 
children, among whom were Jesse, Thomas, junior. Elias, 
Job, James, Charles, Sudna, Martha, and another daughter, 
who married Joseph Bibbee, of Jackson county. 

Job LIughes married Miss Mary Harn, of Harrison coun- 
ty, in 1791, and later removed to Jackson county, where he 
rests. 

Thomas, junior, who was born in 1754, was lieutenant 
of a company of Indian spies, at one time. He settled on the 
West Fork river, in Harrison county, in 1775, but afterwards 
removed to Jackson county, where he died in October, 18:37. 
He had one son, Thomas, and here our knowledge ends, 
though there are doubtless many of his descendants in that 
part of the State to-day. 

Of the history of James and Charles we know nothing, 
other than that they figured in Indian warfare, and James 
was among the pai-ty that encountered the savages at the 
time that Macfarlan and Dutchman got their names. 

Sudna was the wife of Col. William Lowther. 

Martha married Samuel Bonnett, and \hox\ and died on 
Hacker's creek, in what is now Lewis county. Her sons were 
Lewis, the Rev. Henry Bonnett, of the Methodist Protestant 
church, and Elias Bonnett ; and one daughter, Susan, married 



THE DISCOVERY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 19 

a Wagner; another, a Hinzman. 

Lewis Bonnett was married to Miss Margaret Means, 
daughter of Robert Means (and aunt of Robert Means, of Cal- 
houn county), and they were the parents of Henry Bonnett, 
of Troy, and the grandparents of U. G. Bonnett, of Burnt 
House. 

Jesse Hughes, the eldest son, whose history is of more 
moment to us, was born in the "Old Dominion," in 1T50, and 
in early life, he was married to Miss Grace Tanner, sister of 
one of the pioneer settlers of Roane county, and near the 
year 1773, he came to Hacker's creek in Harrison county. 

Two years after the discovery of the river that bears his 
name, we find him engaged in the awful struggle at Point 
Pleasant, but little else of value concerning his life is in our 
possession other than that he was a confirmed Indian hater, 
an intrepid leader, and a prominent border scout. 

He resided near Jane Lew% in Lewis county, at one time 
on the small stream that still bears liis name, "Jesse's run," 
and in a rural burying-ground in this section, strangers have 
been pointed to a low mound which is said to cover his silent 
dust, but this is in error. He died at the home of his son-in- 
law, George Hanshaw, at Ravenswood, in Jackson county, 
during the autumn of 1839, and near this town he lies in his 
last sleep. After his death, Mrs. Hughes made her home with 
her daughter, Mrs. Uriah Gandee, in Roane county, until her 
death, and in the Gandeeville cemetery, she reposes. 

They were the parents of two sons and seven daughters; 
viz., Jesse, junior, William, Rachel (Mrs. William Cottrell), 
Martha (Mrs. Jacob Bonnett), Sudna (Mrs. Elijah Runner), 
Elizabeth (Mrs. James Stanley), Lucinda (Mrs. Uriah Sayre), 
Nancy (Mrs. George Hanshaw), and Massie, who married 
Uriah Gandee, the founder of Gandeeville, in Roane county, 
Mrs. Gandee was the last survivor of Jesse Hughes' family. 
She died in 1883 at the age of one hundred four years, and 
was laid in the Gandeeville cemetery by the side of her mother. 
James S. Gandee, of Higby, Roane county, her son, still sur- 
vives ; and the Hon. Frederick Gandee, of that county, is her 
grandson. 

One of these daughters was captured by the Lidians, but 



90 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

was rescued the following year and lived to a good old age, 
but we cannot say which one. 

Jesse Hughes' name was ever associated with that of 
courage and daring, and he "lived many years to enjoy the 
peace and quietude that the hardships of his early life had so 
dearly bought." And the beautiful nver that bears his name 
is a more fitting memorial than bronze or marble. 

Ellas Hughes was born on the South Branch of the Poto- 
mac river, in what is now Hardy count}^ West Virginia, in 
1757, and with his parents and the rest of the family, removed 
to Harrison county in the early seventies. 

He, too, served under the command of General Lewis at 
the battle of Point Pleasant and was one of the last survivors' 
of this desperate conflict. 

PTe had been born and reared in the midst of savage war- 
fare, and his father and a young lady whom he ardently ad- 
mired having been killed by the ruthless hand of the dusky 
foe, he vowed vengeance on the race, and the return to peace 
did not serve to mitigate his intense hatred. 

In 1797, tw^o years after General Wayne's treaty with the 
Indians, leaving his native hills (with one John Radcliffe), 
he went to Ohio and settled on the Muskingum river, and 
during the following year, removed to the Licking river and 
became the first settler in what is now Licking county ; the 
scene of this settlement being in some old Indian cornfields, 
near five miles below^ the present site of Newark, Ohio. 

"One night in April, 1800, not long after his arrival here, 
two Indians stole his and Radclifife's horses from a small in- 
closure near their cabins and succeeded in getting aw^ay with 
them unobserved." But finding them missing in the morning, 
they, well-armed, and accompanied by a man by the name of 
Bland, set out in pursuit, following their trail in a northerly 
direction all day and camping in the forest at night : but at 
the dawn of the next day, they came upon them fast asleep 
and all unconscious of danger. Concealing themselves behind 



'Though Elias Hughes has been repeatedly recognized as the last sur- 
vivor of this battle (at Point Pleasant), Samuel" Bonnifield. of Tucker 
county, is entitled to this distinction, as he died in 1847, at the .ige of 
ninety-six years. The house which he occupied from 1824-1847 still stands. 
He was four times sheriff of Randolph county. To Hon. Hu Maxwell, who 
recently visited his grave, we are indebted for this information. 



THE DISCOVERY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 21 

some trees, they waited until the Indians had awakened and 
were making preparations for their departure, when they 
drew their rifles to fire upon them; and just at that moment 
one of them, instinctively clapping his hands upon his breast, 
as if to ward ofT the fatal ball, exclaimed in tones of dismay, 
"Me bad Indian! me no do so more!" But the appeal was 
all in vain. "The smoke curled from the glistening barrels, 
the report rang out upon the morniiig air, and the poor In- 
dians fell dead !" Recovering their horses and securing what 
plunder the savages had, they returned to their homes, swear- 
ing: mutual secrecv for this violation of the treatv laws. 

But one evening some time afterwards, when Hughes vv^as 
sitting quietly in his cabin, he was startled by the entrance 
of two powerful and well-armed savages. Concealing his 
emotion, he bade them welcome and profifered them seats. 
His wife, a large muscular woman, stepping aside, privately 
sent for Radclitfe, whose cabin was near by ; and presently 
Radclifife, who had made a detour, entered with his rifle from 
an opposite direction, as if he had been out hunting, and 
found Hughes talking with his visitors about the murder 
with his scalping-knife and tomahawk in his belt, and his 
rifle, which he deemed imprudent to try to obtain, hanging 
fron: the cabin wall. There all night long sat the little party, 
mutually fearing each other, but neither being able to sum- 
mon sufficient courage to stir ; but when the morning dawned 
the savages withdrew, shaking hands and bidding adieu to 
their rehictant hosts, using every precaution in their retreat 
lest they should be shot by the daring borderer- 

Elias Hughes was captain of a band of scouts in Indian 
times, and was a soldier of the war of 1812. He married Miss 
Jane Sleeth, who, doubtless, belonged to the same family of 
Sleeths who have a place in the Smithville chapter, and they 
were the parents of sixteen children. Mrs. Hughes died in 
1827, and he passed away near Utica, Ohio, on December 22, 
1844, in the hope of a "glorious immortality." Military 
honors and other demonstrations of respect were in evidence 
at his funeral, and near Utica he lies at rest. 



'This story is gleaned from Howe's History of Ohio. 



23 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Two of iiis children died in youth and the rest are as fol- 
lows : Mrs. Margaret Jones, Mrs. Mary Foster, Mrs. Susana 
Leach, Mrs. Sndna Martin, Mrs. Jane Hight, Mrs. Sarah 
Davis and Kathrine, who never married, were the daughters ; 
and Job, Thomas, Henry, Elias, David, John and Jonathan 
Hughes were the sons. 

Note. — While our resources for this chapter have been 
principally traditional, parts of it are already a matter of his- 
tory, as the account of the "Explorations of the Streams" is 
to be found in "Hardesty's Historical and Geographical En- 
clycopedia of the Virginias," and other parts in the "Border 
Warfare" and the "History of Ohio," as mentioned in the 
foot notes. 

To Josiah Hughes, of Roane county ; Henry Bonnett, of 
Troy, and L. V. McWhorter, the historian of North Yakima, 
Washington, we owe our thanks for valuable Hughes data. 



CHAPTER II 




First Settlers in Ritchie County 

ORE than a quarter of a century had passed 
away after the discovery of Ritchie county 
before the coming of the first settlers. 

Til is period had been marked by one of 
the most important epochs in the history 
of our country. The "Old Independence 
Bell had proclaimed liberty throughout the 
land to the inhabitants thereof ;" the tyrannous scepter of 
George the III had been withdrawn; and the "White Dove of 
Peace" had spread her downiy wings "o'er a land of the free 
and a home of the brave." 

A new era had dawned. Civilization had taken up a 
westward line of march, and near the close of the 18th cen- 
tury, Ritchie county was brought into notice b_y the con- 
struction of a State road from Clarksburg to Marietta, which, 
for near forty years, was a leading thoroughfare between the 
East and the West ; and along this road the pioneers erected 
their cabins, which served as "inns or taverns" for the con- 
venience of travelers. 

The first one of these cabins that came within rhe present 
boundary of Ritchie county was built by John Bunnell, near 
the beginning of the year 1800, on the site that is now marked 
by the thriving town of Pennsboro. Hence the origin of the 
name of the stream near by, "Bunnell's run," which serves 
as an enduring memorial, although we have been unable to 
learn "from whence he came or Avhither he went." 

Mr. Bunnell sold his possessions here to John W^ebster. 
of New England, who, early in the nineteenth century, built 
the "Stone house" at the western end of Pennsboro, which 
became the property of James Martin, in 1815, and remained 
in the hands of his heirs until the autumn of 1908, when it 
was purchased by A. J. Ireland. 



24 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



j\Ir. Webster went to Texas and there met his deatli at 
the hands of the Indians. 

Though the "tenement house" of the buikler has long 
since been silent dust, this historic old mansion has withstood 
the storms of a century, and still stands, in good preservation, 
as a monument to his memory. 




The Stone House as it appears today. 

George Husher, whose settlement closely followed that 
of Bunnell, was the next settler in Ritchie county, but his his- 
tory will be found in the Bond's creek chapter: 

Lawrence Maley. — During the early springtime of the 
year 1803, Lawrence Alaley, a Scotch-Irish Presbyterian, built 
the first cabin in what is now Union district, one mile east 
of Harrisville, on the farm that is designated as the "Cannon," 
but better known to the older citizens, as the Airs. Ann Har- 
ris homestead. 

Having a wife and eight children, the eldest, a son. 
twenty-one years of age, and finding it necessary to clear a 
cornfield at once, he built a rude shelter, by driving stakes 
in the ground, and peeling popular bark for a roof, upon the 
bank of the river nearly opposite the residence of Grandison 
Wolfe, which served for a dwelling until the corn had been 
planted, when he erected a better one. near the present site 
of the Cannon residence. 

PTis nearest neighbor was then at Pennsboro. but others 



FIRST SETTLERS IN RITCHIE COUNTY 25 

soon found -their way into this wilderness, and a settlement 
was formed, which, for forty years, was known as the "Maley 
settlement." 

Mr. Maley was the paternal grandfather of Ritchie coun- 
ty's most distinguished son, the late General T. M. Harris, 
and he was a native of Southern Ireland, the son of an Irish 
nobleman. 

He, being one of the younger sons of the family, was 
committed to the care of his mother's brother, a Catholic 
priest, to be trained, perhaps, for the priesthood ; and finding 
life very tmpleasant under such circumstances, he ran away 
and came to America, near the close of the Revolutionary war. 

Landing in Philadelphia, he drifted into the country near 
by, where he became associated with a family of Seceders by 
the name of Harper (The Seceders were one of a numerous 
body of Presbyterians who seceded from the communion of 
the established church in Scotland in 1733), an association 
which resulted in his marriage to Miss Agnes Harper, a little 
later. 

Mrs. Maley inherited a small dowry from her father's 
estate, which she exchanged with a man in Philadelphia, for 
a thousand acres in v^^hat is now the Harrisville vicinity, in 
1795 ; and she and her husband, with their family and posses- 
sions, started at once to take charge of this new acquisition : 
but when they reached Harper's Ferry, after a long and 
perilous journey over the mountains, learning of the hostility 
of the Indians in this section, they changed their course, and 
went to the Shenandoah valley, where they remained, in Rock- 
bridge county, until they came to Ritchie, in 1803. 

Mr. Maley did not long survive the hardships of this 
wilderness life, and in 1808, he filled the first grave that was 
"hollowed out" in the old "Pioneer cemetery," on the Cannon 
farm, one mile northeast of Harrisville. His wife rests by his 
side. 

Their children were as follows : 

William, Thomas and Mrs. Mary McCoy, all of Illinois; 
Dr. Samuel, James and John, of Iowa; Mrs. Agnes (John) 
Harris and Miss Margaret Maley, who lie sleeping in the Irlar- 
risville cemetery. 



26 HISTORY or RITCHIE COUNTY 

Mrs. Harris, widow of the late General Harris, is a grand- 
daughter of this distinguished settler. 

The Stuarts and Wilkinsons. — The next pioneers in this 
vicinity were George and Joseph Stuart, two brothers, and 
Joseph Wilkinson, son-in-law of the latter, who, with their 
families, came from Harrison county, in 1805. 

Mr. Wilkinson settled on the late Isaiah Wells homestead, 
Joseph Stuart, at the mouth of Stuart's run, and George 
Stuart, on the farm that soon after passed into the hands of 
Thomas Harris, and on which the beautiful town of Harris- 
ville now stands. 

Mr. Wilkinson only survived a few years after his settle- 
ment, and his remains filled the second grave that was made 
in the "Pioneer cemetery." He married Miss Xancy Stuart, 
daughter of Joseph, and was the father of three children : 
Elizabeth, the only daughter, died in youth, and the two sons, 
Calvin and Ezekiel, went to California. 

After his death. ]\Irs. Wilkinson married Nicholas 
Shrader, and in the Indian creek Baptist churchyard, she 
sleeps. 

Joseph Stuart married Miss Margaret Sparks, of Harrison 
county, and was the father of ten children. He lost his life 
by the falling of a lumber kiln, while erecting the first store 
house at Harrisville, and he, too, rests in the "Pioneer ceme- 
tery" there. After his death, the family, losing their land in 
this section, removed to Goose creek. 

His children were as follows : 

Mrs. Nancy Wilkinson Shrader, Mrs. Elizabeth (Abel) 
Sinnett, Mrs. Margaret (Thomas) Stout, and Belinda and 
Rachel, who died unmarried; and Stephen, John, George, 
Joseph and William Stuart, all of Ritchie county, except 
Stephen and John, who went West. 

Among the grandchilldren of this pioneer who are resi- 
dents of the coimty at this time, are Mrs. Lawson Hall, Au- 
burn ; Mrs. Lewis Hammer and Mrs. Belinda Hill, Washburn, 
and perhaps numerous others. 

George Stuart married Miss Hannah Plarris, daughter of 
Thomas Harris, and in the Harrisville vicinity they both died. 

We have been unable to get a list of the names of their 



FIRST SETTLERS JN RITCHIE COUNTY 27 

children, but Mrs. Hannah Jones and Mrs. Sarah Calhoun, of 
Oxford, are some of their descendants. 

Levi Wells. — Shortly after the coming of the Stuarts, 
Ashabel Wilkinson made the first settlement on the Dr. 
William M. Rymer estate ; and this same year, 1805, brought 
Levi Wells with his wife, three sons and two daughters, from 
Fayette county, Pennsylvania, to the late George Sinnett 
homestead. Soon after his arrival, the first marriage took 
place in the settlement, when his daughter, Nancy, became 
the wife of William Maley. 

In 1815, Mr. Wells changed his place of residence to the 
Pennsboro vicinity, and Patrick Sinnett became the second 
owner of this farm, which is still in the hands of his heirs, 
it being the home of his granddaughter. Miss Virginia Sinnett. 

Mr. Wells later removed to the Kanawha river, and from 
him the Elizabeth W^ellses are descended. 

The Sinnetts. — Patrick Sinnett, with his large family, 
came from Pendleton county, (West) Virginia. He was a 
'typical son of "Old Erin," having been born there near the 
middle of the eighteenth century. He had been one of the 
King's waiters for seven years before coming to America in 
his young manhood ; and finding such service very distaste- 
ful, he one day wandered down to the habor just as a vessel 
was ready to set sail for the Colonies, and without further 
deliberation, stepped on board and turned his face toward the 
Occident. When he landed on these shores, he found himself 
penniless in a land of strangers, and was sold for his fare, and 
was compelled to work for three years to cancel the debt, so 
unjust were the laws, and so unmerciful were the executors, 
at that age of the world. 

He served as a soldier in Lord Dunmore's war, being 
under the direct command of General Lewis at the battle of 
Point Pleasant ; and he also served as an American soldier 
in the Revolutionary war, which closely followed. 

He married Miss Kathrine Hefner, a German lady, and 
was the father of eleven children. He died at the great age 
of one hundred five years, some time in the fifties, at the 
home of his daughter, Mrs. Adam Cunningham, junior, on 



28 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

the farm that is now the estate of the late Charles Aloyer, 
and here, beside his wife, he sleeps. 

His descendants in this county are a host, and, like he, 
many of them are remarkable for their longevity. 

His children were all born in Pendleton county, and were 
as follows: John, William, Seth, Abel, Henry, Jacob, George, 
Elizabeth, Sarah, Kathrine and Phebe. 

William and Seth went to Ohio; Henry remained in Pen- 
dleton county ; and the rest all came to this county ; but Kath- 
rine and Phebe both married Chancellors and afterwards 
went West; Elizabeth became Mrs. James Drake, and Sarah, 
Mrs. Adam Cunningham, junior, and they with their brothers, 
John, Abel, Jacob and George, were all the heads of well 
known pioneer families of this county; but their histories will 
be found in other parts of this work, all wdth the exception of 
George, who succeeded his father on the old homestead. 

George Sinnett was born in Pendleton county, on March 
Vi, 1799, and with his parents came to this county in 1815 ; 
and, near five years later, he was married to Miss Mary Rex- 
road, daughter of Plenry Rexroad, and on the old homestead, 
where he died in 1896, at the great age of ninety-seven years, 
he spent his entire life. 

■ Having given birth to six children, his w^ife, ]\Iary, passed 
away, and in 1813, he was again married to Miss Salome 
Heaton, daughter of John Heaton, senior, who was born in 
1814; and three daughters were the result of this union; viz., 
Harriet C, Virginia and Josephine. Harriet is the wife of 
Sheriff John Hulderman, and Josephine is Mrs. '"Nel" ^Ic- 
Dougal, and Virginia is single. 

The children of the first marriage were: 

Catherine (born in 1832), who married Addison Rexroad; 
Samuel (born in 1824), of King Knob, Hulda (born in 1826), 
who became the wife of John S. Porter and went to some 
other State; Abel (born in 1828), who went to Ohio; Eliza- 
beth (born in 1830) married John A Lowther, of Oxford, and 
after his death, she became ]Mrs. Jacob Allender. She still 
survives. Mary T. (born in 1832) became ]Mrs. Turner and 
went to Taylor county. 

William Cunningham. — The year 1806 was marked by 



FIRST SETTLERS IN RITCHIE COUNTY 29 

the coming of William Cunningham, with his wife, Susana 
Barbara Handyshel Cunningham, and their ten children, from 
Culpepper county, Virginia, to the homestead of the late Noah 
Rexroad, now the property of E. C. Fox and S. M. HofT. 

Mr. Cunningham was one of the most noted pioneers of 
early days. He was born in Ireland on July 23, 1764, and 
when he was but a small boy, his parents emigrated to Amer- 
ica and settled in Culpepper county, Virginia. He was a first 
cousin of Thomas Cunningham of Indian fame, and their 
fathers are said to have crossed the ocean at the same time. 
He served as a soldier during the latter part of the American 
Revolution, being then but a mere youth, and was a member 
of the victorious army at Yorktown, and a witness of the sur- 
render of Lord Cornwallis. And in honor of this defeated 
chieftain he named the town of Cornwallis, where he resided 
when the stations along the Baltimore & Ohio railroad were 
located.. 

When Harrisville was laid out for a town in 1823, he was 
suddenly sei/ced with the idea of founding a town of his own, 
and forthwith proceeded to have one laid out on the ridge 
where A. O. Wilson and D. B. Patton now reside, which he 
named "Williamsburg;" but Harrisville has long since swal- 
lowed up this proposed village. 

He changed his place of residence to Cornwallis near the 
year 1840, and here he bade adieu to earth in 1863, at the ripe 
old age of ninety-nine 3^ears. 

He gave the grounds for the Pioneer cemetery at Harris- 
ville, and within its peaceful bosom his ashes lie. Plis wife 
also sleeps here, she having passed on in 1843. (She was of 
German descent.) 

This burying-ground is no longer "a neglected spot," as 
the historian of a quarter of a century ago termed it, but it is 
now enclosed by an iron fence, the result of the late General 
Harris' labor of love. 

Many of the pioneers slumber here? and despite the hard- 
ships they endured, the inscriptions bear silent testimony to 
the longevity of their lives. 

AVilliam Cunningham's sons were: Elijah. James, 
William, junior, John, Isaac and Henry; and his daughters 



30 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Mrs. Phebe (Jesse ) Lowther. Cornwallis ; Mrs. Leah (Jacob) 
Wigner, Ellenboro ; Mrs. Lydia (Henry) Wigner, Cairo; Mrs. 
Susan (Robert) Parks, Ohio; and Mrs. Barbara (Nathaniel) 
Parks, Ellenboro. Mrs. George B. Johnson, of Ellenboro, is 
a daughter of the last named Mrs. Parks. 

A\'. H. Cunningham, of Husher's run ; the late D. R. 
Wigner, of Pike, and Mrs. Matilda McGregor, of Cairo, are 
other grandchildren of this pioneer; and the late Mrs. W. E. 
Hill, of Harrisville ; J. W. and Erank Elliott, of Indian creek ; 
Thomas Elliott, of Pullman ; Mrs. James Rexroad, of Den 
run, and many others we might mention, are great-grand- 
children. 

William Wells was the first settler at the mouth of Bun- 
nell's run. He was a brother of Levi Wells, and he came 
from' Fayette county, Pennsylvania, in 1808, and took up his 
residence on the farm that is now the home of Mrs. Bertha 
McDougal, and to the day of his death, his interests were 
identified with this community. 

The Wellses came from Wales to the Keystone State, 
near the middle of the eighteenth century, and took up arms 
in defense of their adopted country in her struggle for inde- 
pendence. 

William Wells was born in 1766, and married ]\liss Eliza- 
beth Trump, who was of Dutch descent, and they were the 
parents of one son and four daughters ; Isaiah Wells, ^ Rachel, 
Hester, Mar}- and Eleanor. 

Rachel married Daniel Smith ; Hester, John lieaton ; 
Mary, James McCown, and Eleanor died single. 

Mrs. Wells died in 1850, at the age of eighty-seven years ; 
and Mr. AVells, in 1851, at the age of eighty-five years. Both 
rest in the Harrisville cemetery. 

Mr. Wells was the owner of the first mill on Bunnell's 
run, and one of the first in the county, but he sold this mill at 
an earl}^ day to John AA'hitney. who turned it into a horse-mih, 
and, in 1840, tore it down. 

The Heatons. — This same year (1808) brought John 
Heaton, senior, from the ]\Iotherland to this vicinitv. He 



U"or the family of Isaiah Wells see chapter on Mills. 



FIRST SETTLERS LY RITCHIE COUNTY 31 

was born in sunny England, on April 28, 1774, and not long 
after his arrival here, he was married to Miss Hester Wells, 
daughter of William Wells, and took up his residence on the 
late Dr. W. M. Rymer farm, he being the second owner. 

He died on September 33, 1854, and Mrs. Heaton, on 
February 13, 1859, at the age of sixty-nine one-half years. 

Their family consisted of three sons and seven daughters ; 
viz., John, Eli, A\'illiam, Selvina. Elizabeth, Jane, Sarah, 
Salina, Mary and Anne. The last two named died in child- 
hood, and nearly or quite all of the rest have now passed to 
the other side. 

W^illiam died in the West; Selvina married Amos Gulp; 
Elizabeth, William Wells ; and Jane became Mrs. Mussetter. 
and they, too, all went West; Sarah married George Martin 
and died in Gilmer county, and years after, when her remains 
were disinterred for removal to Harrisville, they were found 
to be petrified, coffin and all. Salina married George Sinnett, 
and lived and died at Harrisville. 

John and Eli Heaton, who were prominent figures in 
public afifairs, spent their entire lives aL Harrisville. 

John Heaton, junior, was twice married, his first wife 
being Aliss Susana Wigner, and his second. Miss Sarah 
Stevens. All died at Harrisville, and here they repose in the 
cemetery south of town. 

Mr. Heaton was the father of seven children : Alcinda, 
the one child of the first union, became Mrs. Henry Gulp, and 
went West. 

Mrs. Dora (J. H.) Lininger, Mrs. Lillie (J. M.) Barbe, 
Mrs. Nerdie (Ghas.) Musgrave, the late John Heaton (the 
third), W^ill R., and one who died in infancy, were the children 
of the second union. 

Will R. is a well known newspaper man, he having long 
been identified with the Harrisville papers. 

Eli Heaton's stay on earth was very brief ; he died sud- 
denly on January 25, 1868, at the age of forty-two years, while 
serving as sheriff of the county. Elis brother, John, succeeded 
him in this office and finished his unexpired term. 

He married Mrs. Sophia A. D. Zinn Davis, mother of the 
late T. E. Davis, of Harrisville, and was the father of five 

r 

1 



'61 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

children, three of whom died in childhood ; vi;:., Adelaide, 
Grace and Pussy, and Hallie, of the West ; and the late Mrs. 
Hettie, wife of J. N. Pierpoint, were the two that grew to 
the years of maturity. 

Miss Linnie Peirpoint, of Harrisville, his granddaughter, is 
the only surviving- descendant in this county. 

Mrs. Heaton died in 1867. Both sleep at Harrisville. 

Heaton has been one of the prominent names in this coun- 
ty almost throughout its history. 

The Skeltons. — This same year (1808) brought Edward 
Skelton, with his family, to the W. H. Peirpoint farm. He 
was born and reared in England, and there he was married to 
Mrs. Sarah Walker Gibson, a young widow, of London, who 
was, also, of English birth. And from England they emi- 
grated to New York city, where the}^ established a home, but 
being driven from there by a scourge of yellow fever, they 
came to Harrisville. Here Mrs. Skelton died, and after the 
home was broken up Mr. Skelton went to Cairo, and spent the 
remnant of his days with his daughter, Mrs. Jacob McKinney. 
Here he died, and in the old Pioneer burying-ground at Har- 
risville, beside his wife, he sleeps. 

He was the father of one son. Edward, and three 
daughters, Mary, Eliza and Anne. 

Edward Skelton, junior, married Miss Jane ^McKinney. 
Mary became Mrs. Jacob McKinney. (See McKinney fam- 
ily.) Eliza married James Maley ; and Anne. Henry Wigner. 

Mrs. Skelton had one son, John Gibson, by her first lius- 
band. 

James Mitchell was the next arrival in this vicinity. He 
came from the "Old Dominion" (1808), bringing with him 
four or five slaves, the first that had ever been seen in this 
section, and took up his residence on the Edward Cokelev 
farm ; and in 1809, William Rogers became the second owner 
of the Wolfe farm. He, too, came from the "Old Dominion," 
bringing his family of slaves. His sons. Robert and Lewis, 
also found homes here at this same time. 

Robert Rogers is said to have settled on the Xorth fork 
of Hughes river, and Lewis, on Indian creek; but we have 
been unable to learn an3'thing of their subsequent history. 



FIRST SETTLERS IN RITCHIE COUNTY 3-3 

other than that Lewis was the father of the late Tohn B. 
Rogers, of Smithville, and that all the Rogerses in this and 
adjoining counties sprung from this family. (See South fork 
chapter for family of John B. Rogers.) 

And of the Mitchell family we know nothing farther, as 
it is evident that the Mitchells of this county did not spring 
from this source, as they came from Barbour county at a 
much later day. 

The Harrises. — During this same year, 1809, John Harris 
came from Harrison county, and made the first settlement on 
the farm that is now the estate of his late son, John P. Harris. 
He was at this time a single man, but the following year (1810) 
he w^as married to Miss Agnes Maley, daughter of Lawrence 
Maley, and remained a prominent, useful citizen of this com- 
munity until he was laid in the Harrisville cemetery. 

Mr. Harris' services to this county were of a high order, 
for more than thirty years he served as justice of the peace 
of Ritchie and Wood counties. He was the father of eight 
children, all of whom have crossed the tide. The late General 
Thomas M. Harris, whose interesting history occupies another 
chapter, James and John P. Harris were the sons ; and Hannah, 
Margaret, Anne, Mary and Jane, the daughters. 

James married Miss Anne Rutherford, daughter of Rich- 
ard Rutherford, senior, and they Vv^ere the parents of two 
children. Miss Ella, of Concord, Ohio , and a son who died in 
infancy. He was laid away on the old homestead, near Har- 
risville, many years ago, but his aged companion survived 
until 1908, when she was laid by his side. 

John P. Harris married Miss Margaret Rutherford, sister 
of his brother's wife, and lived and died on the homestead 
that is now owned and occupied by his son, R. R. Harris. 

Mrs. Harris survived him by several years, and she fell 
dead while walking on the street in New York city, near ten 
years ago, and at Harrisville, by the side of her husband and 
eldest son, James, she reposes. Their surviving children are 
Richard R., who is a prominent nurseryman, of Plarrisville ; 
Thomas G., a physician, of Weston ; John, a railroad engineer, 
of Weston ; Agnes, who is the wife of the Rev. William B. 
Barr, of the Presbyterian church of New Jersey ; Mary, the 



34 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

wife of the Rev. Edward S. Littell, of the Presbyterian church 
of Pennsylvania ; and Annabel, who held a position as teacher 
in a college at Knoxville, Tennessee, became the wife of the 
Rev. John T. Aikin, of the Presbyterian church of Rochester, 
Pa., June 24, 1910. 

Hannah, the eldest daughter of John and Agnes Maley 
Harris, married Samuel P)lue and went to Pennsylvania, and 
her two children, Agnes, a daughter, and a son, died in child- 
hood. 

Margaret Harris married T. F. Leech and lived and died 
at Harrisville. Mrs. R. R. Hall, of Harrisville, is her only 
sunaving child ; another daughter, }>Iartha E., having passed 
on in her youth. 

Anne Harris died in youth, and Alary and Jane, in child- 
hood. 

Thomas Harris' settlement here antedated that of his 
brother. John, by two years, he ha\'ing succeeded his son-in- 
law, George Stuart, on the land where Harrisville now stands, 
in 1807. 

He married Miss Xancy Cunningham, sister of Elijah M. 
Cunningham, and with his family came from Harrison county, 
and remained here until his death ; and in ,the old Pioneer 
cemetery, beside his wife, he rests. Pie was the father of ten 
children; viz., John went to Illinois; James, to Zanesville, 
Ohio ; and Adam rests at Smithville ; Efihe became Airs. John 
Chancellor and v/ent to Iowa ; Margaret, who married William 
Stanley, lies at Harrisville ; Hannah married George Stuart 
and lived and died in this county; Elizabeth, Rachel, Sarah 
and Mary, who remained single, also died here. 

From this pioneer Harrisville took its name, and is a most 
beautiful monument to his memory. 



The Harrises are of Scotch-Irish origin. Two brothers 
came from Ireland before the Revolution, landing in the City 
of "Brotherly Love." These brothers were separated, soon 
after their arrival, Thomas going Southward, was never heard 
of again, and the other one (whose Christian name is 
wanting) was the father of Thomas and John, the Ritchie 
county pioneers. He married a widow, a Airs. Aliller, whose 



FIRST SETTLERS IN RITCHIE COUNTY 35 

maiden name was Plummer, and near the year 1800, they 
came to Harrison coimty. Besides the two sons mentioned 
they were the parents of four daughters, all of whom were the 
wives of Ritchie county pioneers : 

Margaret married Elijah M. Cunningham ; Jane, Benja- 
min Starr; Anna, John Harris, and another daughter was the 
wife of Nutter Webb, a pioneer of Goose creek. 

The Chancellors. — The year 1809 was, also, marked by the 
coming of Thomas Chancellor, with his family, from Culpep- 
per county, Virginia, to the farm that for long years was the 
home of the late Mrs. John Hawkins, but now the homes of 
Edward Wells and James Maxwell. He married Miss Judith 
Gaines, a Virginia maiden of Welsh descent, she being his 
third wife, and they were the parents of seven sons and one 
daughter. 

Mrs. Chancellor was the niece of Edmond Pendleton, of 
Virginia, and a cousin of General Edmond Pendleton Gains, 
of the United States army. Mr. Chancellor was a soldier of 
the Revolutionary war, he having served in the Virginia in- 
fantry. He died not long after his settlement here, and the 
family went to Wood county, where a number of their 
descendants still live. 

The two eldest sons of these pioneers, Richard and James 
Chancellor, died at Norfolk, Virginia, while serving as soldiers 
in the war of 1812, leaving no issue ; Cooper and William 
sleep in Wood county. Benjamin went to Missouri, and 
finally to Mississippi, where he sleeps. John emigrated to 
Missouri, and later to Arkansas, where he reposes. (Pie was 
the grandfather of C. B. Chancellor, of the Chancellor Plard- 
ware Company, of Parkersburg.) Rebecca, the only daughter, 
who never married, also sleeps in Wood county; and Thomas, 
the sixth son, who was born in the Old Dominion, in 1805. 
married Miss Prudence Rector, of Taylor county, and re- 
moved to Wood county in 1838, where he died on July 4, 
3 872, at his home in Parkersburg. Here his family, who are 
prominently known, still reside. To the late Hon. W. N. 
Chancellor, his son, we are indebted for this sketch; his other 
sons, Edmond P. and Alfred B., are also citizens of Parkers- 
burg. 



3G HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The Chancellors are of French origin, although they 
went from France to England in the eleventh century (lOGo) 
with William the Conquorer, and subsequently removed to 
Scotland in the fourteenth century. However, Richard Chan- 
cellor, the founder of the family in the United States, came 
from England in 1()82, and settled in Westmoreland county, 
Virginia. Fie had two sons, W^illiam Cooper, and Richard 
Chancellor, junior (the hatter). William Cooper Chancellor 
married a ]\Iiss Thomas, and removed to Culpepper county 
(Virginia), and here his son, Thomas, the Ritchie county 
pioneer, was born. 

Doubtless the town of Chancellorsville, in the Old 
Dominion, which was so far-famed during the late Civil war, 
took its name from this family. 

The Starrs. — Near the year ISIO, John and Benjamin 
Starr, and Elijah Cunningham, with their families, found 
homes in this wilderness. They all came from Harrison coun- 
ty, and were all the uncles of General Harris. 

Mr. Cunningham settled on land adjoining the U^olfe 
farm; Benjamin Starr, on the George ^Martin farm, now the 
home of Mrs. Susan Rymer; and John Starr, on Indian creek, 
on the homestead that is now the estate of his late son, James. 

John Starr's wife was Miss Anne Harris, sister of John 
and Thomas Harris, and they were the first settlers on Indian 
creek. Here they lived and died, and in the Harrisville ceme- 
tery they lie at rest. He has been sleeping since 1846. 

The children of the family were Mary, Elizabeth, Effie, 
Hannah, Moses, Benjamin, John and James Starr. 

Mary became the wife of Jacob Moats, senior, and spent 
her life in the Harrisville vicinity. (See Moats family.) 

Elizabeth Starr was married to Jacob Wigner, junior, 
and in this county she remained until death. Her children 
were : Cathrine, Eliza, Elizabeth, Matilda, James, Harper, 
Nelson, W^ilbur, Clarke and George AVigner. 

Effie Starr was the late Mrs. Henr}' ]\Ioats, of Addis' run. 
(See Moats family.) 

Hannah Starr, with her husband, William Cokeley, set- 
tled at Mt. Zion, where she is now resting in the churchyard. 
(See Chevauxdefrise chapter.) 



FIRST SETTLERS IN RITCHIE COUNTY 37 

Moses Starr was married to Miss Margaret Prince, and 
in Wood county he resided. His family consisted of two 
daughters : Anne is the widow of Jacob Moats, junior, of Har- 
risville, and Jane is Mrs. Sarber, of Parkersburg. 

Benjamin Starr died in youth. 

John Starr was married to Miss Ellen Ayres, sister of 
John B. Ayres, formerly of this county, but now of Spencer, 
and resided at different points in this county, before going to 
Addis' run, where he died in 1875. His wife survived him 
until 1898. 

Their children were: Miss Mary and Benjamin, Missouri: 
John, of Addis' run; Anne (Mrs. G. W. Hammer), Mrs. 
Frances Watson P'oster, and Miss Hannah Starr, Harrisville. 

James Starr and his wife, Mrs. Eliza Ayres Starr, (sister 
of his brother's wife) spent their lives at the old homestead, 
on Indian creek. Here she passed from earth in 1891, and he, 
on February 25, 1901. 

Their only son, Alpheus, died in youth; Margaret mar- 
ried H. M. Murdock, and lives in Ohio: and Misses Sarah and 
Fannie are of Harrisville. 

Benjamin Starr, senior, the pioneer, was married to Miss 
Jane Harris (sister of his brother's wife) and, perhaps, re- 
mained here until his death, yet we have been unable to learn 
anything definite concerning his subsequent history or that 
of his family, other than that he had two children, Moses and 
Elizabeth Starr. 

Elijah Morgan Cunningham was married to Miss Mar- 
garet Harris, he and Thomas Harris having traded sisters, 
and in this vicinity they remained until they were borne to 
the old "Pioneer cemetery," near Harrisville. He was a 
native of Harrison county, and a brother of Edward, a very 
early settler, on Husher's run. 

His only son died in childhood, and his daughters were : 
Elizabeth (Mrs. Elijah Husher, of Husher's run) ; Sarah 
(Mrs. Riddel, mother of David J. Riddel, of Riddel's chapel) : 
Effie (the late Mrs. James Riddel, of Roane county), and 
Rachel and Jane, who remained single. (Effie and Jane were 
twins.) All of whom have crossed to the other side. 



38 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

This family were related to W illiam Cunningham, of 
Revolutionary fame, and to Thomas, of Indian times, they 
having- been descended from the same Irish family, as the 
similarity of names would suggest; but we have been. unable 
to determine the exact connection, though circumstances point 
to the fact that they were first cousins. 

The Drakes. — During the year 1811, the Reverend John 
Drake, a minister of the Baptist church, made the first im- 
provement on the farm that is now the estate of the late 
Edward D. Lough. 

He was the first minister in the settlement, and being 
licensed to celebrate the rites of matrimony, took this matter 
from the hands of the Reverend Reese Wolfe, a lay minister 
of the Baptist church faith, of Parkersburg, wdio had been 
performing this important service for the little colony. 

The Rev. Mr. Drake was a lineal descendant of Sir 
Francis Drake, the English admiral and explorer. His father, 
George Drake, came from England, some time during the last 
half of the eighteenth century, and probably settled in the Vir- 
ginia colony. 

However, John Drake was born in 1775, and was one of 
the first missionaries to cross the Allegheny mountains, to 
Western Virginia. 

He was twice married, but the maiden names of both of 
his waves are missing. But the record shows that he and his 
first wife, Isabel, were married on January 15, 1794; and that 
he was married to his second wife, Elizabeth, on January 30, 
1803, and with her he came to this county. 

After a few years' residence at Harrisville, he removed 
to Smithville, and found a home at the mouth of Leatherbrake, 
on land that is now owned by W. A. Flesher. Here he con- 
^tinued to reside until August 3, 1836, when he was called to 
his heavenly reward ; and in the Murphy graveyard, on the 
John P. Kennedy farm, his ashes lie. 

No imposing monument marks his resting place ! Per- 
haps, not even a stone is there to distinguish it from the many 
other early graves in the burying-ground, but the record of 
his hardships, his noble deeds, his heroic self-sacrifice, is a 



FIRST SETTLERS IX RITCHIE COUNTY 39 

memorial, sufficient — the Baptist church in this county is a 
fitting and enduring monument to his memory. 

His wife, Elizabeth, survived him by many years, dying 
on May 26, 1854, at the age of seventy-one years. 

Bible Record of the Family of Rev. John Drake. — Chil- 
dren of John and Isabel Drake: 

James Drake, born on March 15, 1795, married Elizabeth 
Sinnett, on September 25, 1815. 

Jemima Drake,, born on September 19, 1796, married John 
Earle on July 22, 1814. 

Elizabeth Drake, born on March 21, 1799, and — 
Children of John and Elizabeth Drake : 
Susana Drake, born on February 26, 1804, died in 1810. 
George Drake, born October 22, 1805, died in 1825. 

Rachel Drake, born on January 4, 1808, married George 
Camp on April 13, 1826. 

Mary Drake, born on October 20, 1809, married Seth 
Rogers, on March 9, 1854. 

Agnes Drake, born on February 19, 1812, niarried Solo- 
mon Rexroad, on November 17, 1833. 

John Drake, born on April 5, 1814, died in 1852. 
David Drake, born on December 19, 1816, and — 
Lavina Drake, born on August 15. 1820, died in 1852. 
Noah Drake, born on March 16, 1S23, died in 1851. 
Aaron Drake, born on October 25, 1826, and — 

vSome of these sons went to Charleston and here their 
history ends, but James remained here and his descendants 
are a host in this county. (See Indian creek chapter.) 

The late Mrs. Agnes Layfield, of Cokeley, was a grand- 
daughter of this pioneer. 

James Drake, a brother of the Reverend John Drake, 
went to Ohio, and Hannah, a sister, married Aaron Smith, a 
pioneer of this county, and has a large number of descendants 
among our well known citizens. (See South fork settlers.) 

Adam Cunningham was another early pioneer in this 
section. 

He was the son of Adam, senior, and the nephew of 



40 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Thomas Cunningham, and was a native of this county, being 
born on the Hoff farm, below Smithville. 

He married Sarah, the daughter of Patrick Sinnett. and 
settled on the old ridge road between Harrisville and Smith- 
ville, on the farm that is now the estate of the late Charles 
Moyer; here he passed from earth at a ripe old age, and here, 
with his wife, he sleeps. 

His children were: Jacob, of Indian creek; Absolem, 
father of John, the Washburn artist; Mrs. Millie (Wm.) 
Hoover, of Wood county; the late Mrs. Dolly (James) Webb, 
of Harrisville; A'Trs. Phebe (Ephraim) Cunningham, of Indian 
run; and the late Mrs. Sarah Ann Mulienax, of the same vicin- 
ity. 

The Moatses. — Near the year 1819, George Moats and his 
wife, Eve, with their family, came from Pendleton county, 
and took up their residence on the land that is now marked 
by the west end of Harrisville. 

They were the grandparents of Andrew Moats, of Har- 
risville, and the ancestors of all the families of this name in 
the county, they being the parents of twelve children. Mrs. 
Moats was a native of North Carolina, and both were of Ger- 
man descent. 

They gave the grounds for the first Baptist church in the 
Harrisville vicinity, and near the site of this old church, 
which stood just north of the present residence of Mrs. Wm. 
M. Rymer, Mr. Moats met a tragic death, in 1811:, by the 
falling of a tree, under which he had sought shelter from a 
storm. He was buried almost on the site where he was killed, 
but sixty 3^ears after, his ashes were removed to the cemetery 
on the hill south of town. Mrs. Moats rests in the Indian 
creek Baptist churchyard. 

Their sons were: Peter, Jacob, Henry and \\'illiam ; and 
their daughters, Christiana, Barbara, Magdalene, Kathrine, 
Elizabeth, Frances, Susan and Julia Moats, whose descend- 
ants are now a host among the good citizens of the county. 

These children in their turn were nearly all the heads 
of pioneer families. 

Peter Moats, the eldest son, was born in Pendleton coun- 
ty, in 1797, and there he was married, at the age of nineteen 



FIRST SETTLERS IN RITCHIE COUNTY 41 

or twenty years, to Miss Rachel Grogg, and, with his parents, 
came to this county and settled on one end of the old home- 
stead, on the part that is now owned by the heirs of the late 
Samuel Moats. Here he died, and in the Egypt cemetery he 
sleeps. He was one of the earliest blacksmiths in this vicinity. 

His children were: Joseph, Jesse and Cathrine (Mrs. 
Wm. Godfrey), who went to Ohio; the late Wm. P. and Mrs. 
Lucinda (Jacob) Cunningham, of Washburn; Mrs. Flora Eve 
(Kuhnrod) Mullenax, of Missouri ; the late Mrs. Elizabeth 
(James) Layfield, and Mrs. Susana (Salathial) Simmons, both 
of Cairo. 

Jacob Moats, the second son, was born in 1799; and in 
1823, he was married to Miss Mary, the daughter of John 
Starr, senior, and on the old homestead, near Harrisville, 
where their son, Jacob, died a few years since, they established 
their home. Here she saw the last of earth in 1873, and he, 
in 1885, and both rest at Harrisville. 

Their eldest daughter, Anne, was the late Airs. Andrew 
Cokeley, and Susana was the late Mrs. Isaac Cokeley, both 
of Harrisville ; Mary became Mrs. Joshua Nest and went 
West ; Elizabeth was Mrs. Holland, of Tyler county ; Mar- 
garet, Mrs. Robinson, of Wood county ; Jane, the late wife of 
J. R. Sigler, of Cairo; India is Mrs. William Gilbert, of Will- 
iamstown ; Andrew has long been a prominent merchant of 
Harrisville; and Benjamin and Jacob, junior, lie sleeping in 
the Harrisville cemetery. 

Henry Moats, with his wife, Mrs. Effie Starr Moats, set- 
tled on the head of Addis' run, where his son, Heniy, now 
lives. He entered a large tract of twelve hundred acres of 
land in this section, but his claim being contested, he pur- 
chased the entire tract, and obtained a title for it, and it is 
now divided into several homesteads (viz. ; J. H. Hattield's, 
John Starr's, George Layfield's, Edward Cokeley 's and per- 
haps others) besides what is owned by his heirs. 

He, too, was a blacksmith by trade, and was the first one 
in this section. Here his last hours were spent. 



42 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

His children : 

John went West, where he died ; George and James lost 
their lives in the defense of the Union in the sixties ; Henry 
resides at the old home ; William is the owner and operator 
of the Moats mill at Rusk; Kathrine married Thomas Martin, 
and she now lives with her son in New York ; Hannah was 
the late Mrs. David Shrader, of Cairo, and another daughter 
was Mrs. Hiram (?) Norman, of Calhoun county. 

William Moats married Miss Phebe Drake, daughter ol 
James Drake, and settled on the old parental homestead, he 
having succeeded his father there. Here he lived and died, 
and at Harrisville he rests. 

After the death of his wife, Phebe, he married Miss Edna 
M. Cunningham, daughter of Enoch M. Cunningham, of 
Smithville, and they were the parents of Pompey Moats, and 
Misses India and Virginia, who reside at the old homestead 
near Harrisville. 

The children of William and Phebe Drake Moats V'/ere 
the late James and Sinnett Moats, of Indian creek, who were 
both soldiers of the Union army, and Cornelius, of Harrisville. 
The other children born of this union died in childhood. 

Christiana Moats, the eldest child of George and Eve 
Moats, who was born in 1793, was married to John Shrader, 
and settled on Husher's run. Her sons were Nicholas, George 
and William Shrader, and one of her daughters, Fannie, was 
]\Irs. James Rollins, of Ellenboro. 

Barbara Moats became Mrs. Solomon Dick, and resided 
here and in the "Buckeye State." George Dick, of Ohio, is 
one of her sons, but the names of tlie other members of the 
family are wanting. 

Magdalena Moats was the late Mrs. William Kibby, of 
Cornwallis, and Hezekiah Kibby, the ex-assessor, of Grant 
district, is her only heir. 

Kathrine Moats was married to Absolem Harpold, and 
from the Webb's mill vicinity, they went to Indiana. Nicho- 
las and George Harpold were two of her sons. 



FIRST SETTLERS LV RITCHIE COUNTY ' 43 

Susan Moats was the late Mrs. Solomon Mullenax, oi 
Missouri; Elizabeth was the wife of John Layfield, senior; 
Frances was Mrs. Harmon Sinnett; and Julia Anne, Mrs. 
Ephriam Gulp, all of this county. (See other chapters for 
their families.) 

The Cokeleys.^Another family whose name belongs to 
this community, though not among the earliest settlers, is 
that of Cokeley. 

Jeremiah Cokeley came from Ireland near the year 1750, 
and settled in the Virginia colony. He was the father of five 
sons ; viz., William, Daniel, Edmund, Jeremiah and Elijah,, 
and from his son, Edmund, the Ritchie county Cokeleys are 
descended.. 

Edmund Cokeley was a Revolutionary soldier, he having 
taken up his sword in behalf of the colonies. 

In 1818, his son, Elijah, married Christiana Crofus, a 
German maiden, who, with her parents, crossed to Virginia 
in 1790; and, in 1822, he passed from earth at his home in 
Virginia, and here, near Cumberland, on the Virginia side, he 
sleeps. 

In 1840, his widow, with her three sons and one daughter ; 
viz., Edmund, Isaac, Andrew and Anne, came to the Harris- 
ville vicinity, and with them came Daniel Cokeley, a brother 
of Elijah, and his family, and from these two brothers all the 
diiterent families of this name in this, and sister counties, are 
descended. 

Edmund Cokeley, the eldest son of Elijah, married Miss 
Eliza Wagner, of Cumberland, Maryland ; and near the break- 
ing out of the Civil war, with hie family and his widowed 
mother, he removed to Iowa, where he died but a few years 
since. His mother died in the early sixties, and lies at rest 
in a rural cemetery near Vinton, Iowa. 

His children were Jonathan, Edward, Asby, Christiana, 
Margaret and Martha. 

Isaac Cokeley married a Miss Rexroad and lost his life 
in defense of the Union in 1863. 



44 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Anne Cokeley, the only daughter of Elijah Cokeley, be- 
came the wife of Jonathan Barksdale, of Virginia, and after 
a brief married life, she died and her family went to lo^va. 

Andrew Cokeley, the younger son of the family of Elijah, 
was married to Miss Anne Aloats, daughter of Jacob Aloats, 
senior, on April 15, 1841, and settled on the old homestead 
near two and one-half miles West of Harrisville, where his 
heirs still reside. 

He was the father of twelve children : 

Jacob, of vVilliamstown ; Edmund E., George, the late 
Andrew J., all of Harrisville ; and Alvah, of Cairo ; Elizabeth, 
the eldest daughter, was the late Mrs. Aaron Eriedly, of 
Spruce Grove ; Mary Jane was the late Mrs. Wiljiam Aloats. 
of Addis' nm ; Alcinda was the late Mrs. Henr\^ Moats, of 
Spruce Grove, the mother of the late F. M. Moats, editor of 
the Ritchie Standard ; Susan L. was the late Mrs. John 
Echard, of Five Forks ; Melvina became Mrs. Jonathan Coke- 
ley, and resides at Vinton, Iowa ; Alargaret R. married Franl^ 
Griffin and died in 1877, leaving one son ; Belle married 
Everett Brake and resides at the old home. 

Daniel Cokeley. — Daniel Cokeley, the pioneer, married 
Miss Elizabeth Crofus, sister of his brother Elijah's wife, and 
came from Virginia in 1840, as above stated, and settled neai; 
two miles from Harrisville, on the farm that is now the estate 
of his late son, Isaac. Here he died in 1861, at the age of 
ninety-four years, six months, fifteen days. 

His children were: Isaac, William, Mrs. Nancy Simmers, 
all of Harrisville; Mrs. Elizabeth Shock, and Mrs. Sarah Rob- 
inson (mother of honored Sherman Robinson, of Harrisville), 
both of Calhoun county. His daughter, Mary, married 
A\'illiam Sharpneck, of Petroleum, and after her death her sis- 
ter, Margaret, married Mr. Sharpneck. 

Isaac Cokeley married Miss Susana Moats, daughter of 
Jacob Moats, senior, and spent his life at the old homestead, 
near Harrisville. 

His children: Daniel, of Devil Hole; Jacob, of Elm run, 
who have both passed on ; Isaac, of Harrisville ; Alargaret, 
late wife of John E. Simmons, of Spruce Grove; Luvina, late 



FIRST SETTLERS IN RITCHIE COUNTY 45 

wife of Andrew Simmons, and Miss Mary, who, with her 
mother, resides at the old homestead. 

Wiliiain Cokeley, son of Daniel, married Miss Hannah 
Starr, daughter of John Starr, senior, and Mrs. Elizabeth 
Duckworth, of Mt. Zion. is the one child of this union. (See 
Mt. Zion chapter for further history.) 



CHAPTER III 



South Fork Settled 




ILLIAM LAYFIELD.— Though the Mur- 
phys have always, heretofore, been accred- 
ited with the first settlement on the South 
fork of Hughes river, careful investigation 
proves this to be in error: the shade of 
AVilliam Layfield rises to a point ol justice, 
as he is the rightful claimant to this dis- 
tinction ; his settlement on the S. H. West- 
fall farm, above Smithville, having antedated the coming of 
the Murphys by one year. For twelve months he was alone 
in this dense wilderness, being the only settler on this branch 
of the river, within the present bounds of the county. 

After a four years' residence here, he removed to what 
is known as "Layfield's run," a tributary of Goose creek, 
where he lived for many years, and where he buried his first 
wife, Mrs. Margaret Crawford Layfield. He died on March 
20, 1852, at the home of his son, Sanford, near Cornwallis. 
and in the Egypt cemetery, by the side of his second wife, 
Mrs. Susan Douglas Layfield (widow of John Douglass, of 
Scotland), he sleeps. 

He was of Irish descent. His father, James La3^field, 
came from the "Emerald Isle," and settled on the Soutli 
branch of the Potomac river at Moorefield (West), Virginia, 
where he (William) was born. 

When he was but a lad, all the family, except him and 
one brother, were captured by the Indians, and they were 
being hotly pursued by the dreaded foe when they were over- 
taken by a violent storm, from which they sought refuge 
under a tree. This tree was torn up by the roots, and William 
escaped, but he never knew the fate of his brother ; never 
heard of any of the family again, so the many families of this 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 47 

name in the different parts of the country are descended from 
him. 

He was the father of six sons and one daughter : John, 
James, ElHson, Sanford, David and William, junior, and Mary 
Ann, who became Mrs. Augusta Crane, and went West. 

To the late venerable Henry Layfield. of Cokeley's, we 
are indebted for this interesting reminiscence, which he has 
repeatedly heard from his grandfather's own lips. 

The Murphys. — The Murphys were the second settlers 
on this river. Four brothers came from Harrison county, in 
1801, and found homes in the Webb's mill vicinity. Amiziah 
took up his residence on Vv'hat is now the Frederick Lemon 
estate, at Macfarlan ; William, on the John P. Kennedy farm; 
Samuel, on the late Alfred Scott estate ; and John, on the Rev. 
M. McNeill homestead. Here these brothers passed from 
earth, and in the Murphy graveyard, on the John P. Kennedy 
farm, and on the McNeill homestead, their ashes lie. After 
the older generation had passed away, their heirs, having lost 
their lands owing to bad titles, went to Illinois, to Washing- 
ton county, Ohio, and to Wood county, this State, and conse- 
quently, little is known of their early history, save the fact 
that they Avere Indian fighters. 

Other settlers found homes in this wilderness in rapid 
succession, and for a number of years this was known as the 
"Murphy Settlement" along the river from the mouth of In- 
dian creek to the mouth of Slab creek ; and the memory of 
these pioneers is still kept green by the name, "Murphy dis- 
trict." 

Nutter Webb. — After the Murphys came Nutter Webb. 
He was a native of Harrison county, and the first blacksmith 
in this vicinity. His old cabin stood on the south bank of the 
river just opposite the present site of AVebb's (Hardman's^ 
mill, and here he resided until he was laid in the cemetery that 
bears his name, in August, 1833. A long line of his descend- 
ants still lay claim to Ritchie county soil. 

He married Miss Anna Cunningham, daughter of Adam 
Cunningham, brother of Thomas, and was the father of two 
sons and several daughters : Benjamin, whose history appears 
in a later chapter, was one of the most prominent figures in 



48 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

the early history of this part of the county ; WiUiam was also 
a pioneer, he having made the first settlement on the Elias 
Valentine farm ; Mrs. Elizabeth Simms, Parkersburg ; Mrs. 
Rebecca (John) Malone, Mrs. Margaret (Adam) Harris, Mrs. 
Rachel (Wm.) Stuart, mother of Robert Stuart, of Iris, were 
four of the daughters, and perhaps all of them. 

The Webbs are of Indian fighting stock, they being de- 
scended from Jonas Webb, an early settler of Harrison coun- 
ty, who is mentioned in "Border Warfare." 

Adam Cunningham was another early settler in the 
Webb's mill vicinity, he having found a home on the Hofif, 
now the John S. Deem, farm. He was a brother of Thomas 
Cunningham, and here the remainder of his life was spent, and 
in the Murphy gravej^ard he sleeps. 

He was the father of twelve children, whose names in 
part are missing, but the following are among them : Adam., 
the grandfather of John Cunningham, the Washburn artist; 
Edward and Elijah, and Mrs. Rebecca Beard, Mrs. Drusilla 
Beard, ]\Irs. Rachel Nutter, Mrs. Hannah Harris and Mrs. 
Nutter Webb. 

William Stuart. — Contemporary with the settlements of 
the Murphy Brothers was that of William Stuart, senior, on 
the late John Byrd estate, near the old "State Ford," above 
Gofif's. He was a typical son of "Old Erin," having been 
born, reared and educated in the city of Belfast. Ireland. 
Here he learned the trade of cabinet-maker and joiner; and 
here he was married to Miss Martha Boyd, an English 
maiden, of Southampton ; and from here they emigrated to 
America in 1789, landing in the "City of Brotherly Love." 
where he worked at his trade, for a time, before purchasing 
land in Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, on the banks of 
the "blue Juniata river," below the then little village of Hunt- 
ingdon. Here they remained but a brief time ; and from here 
they came to Ritchie county, in 1801, and settled on the Byrd 
farm, where he died on March 13, 1809. His wufe died in 
1834. Both sleep on their old homestead, in the burying- 
ground that is now designated as the "Reeves graveyard." 
Their son, John, and daughter, Sarah B., who was the victim 
of the first surgical operation in this county, also sleep here ; 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED ' 49 

Polly, and IVIartha, who married Benjamin Webb, rest in the 
Webb's cemetery ; Jane married Enoch Cunningham, and at 
Smithville she reposes ; James died in Harrison county, and 
W'illiam, who was the father of Robert, at Iris. 

Among the grandchildren of this pioneer, who are citizens 
of the county, are Lewis Rogers, of Lamb's run , P. J. Cun- 
ningham, of Pennsboro. James T. Smith, of Burnt House; 
and B. F. Prince, of Cantwell, are great-grandsons. ■ 

Thomas Summerfield was the first settler on what is now 
the AV. A. Flesher and the late John Miller homesteads. He 
afterwards moved across the river and made a settlement on 
the J. R. Westfall farm, and finally went to Ohio. 

Alexander Davidson. — In ISiO, the Aliller and Flesher 
farm became the property of Alexander Davidson, who con- 
tinued to reside here until he was borne to the Smithville 
cemetery, in 1837. 

Mr. Davidson was of Scotch-Irish descent. His father, 
James Davidson, was born in Ireland, and his mother, Mary 
Allen, in Scotland ; and shortly after the Revolution they 
came to America and settled in the valley of Virginia, near 
Winchester; here Alexander was born; and here he was 
married to Miss Kathrine Kline, a German maiden, who was 
also a native of the "Old Dominion ;"' and after the birth of 
their third child, they removed to Parkersburg, where Mr. 
Davidson engaged in the shoe-maker's trade for a time, be- 
fore coming to the Harrisville vicinity, near 181(), where he 
remained until he came to Smithville. 

He was the father of ten children ; and after his death 
Mrs. Davidson and the family, ha\^ing lost their land here, 
emigrated to Illinois in a wagon. Here a number of them 
sleep. 

He was the father of the venerable Israel Davidson, of 
Spruce creek, who is, perhaps, entitled to the distinction of 
being the oldest (li\ing) son of Ritchie county, he having 
passed his ninetieth milestone ; and of the late Samuel, of 
Gilmer county; of the late Mrs. Eleven Riddle, of Lawford ; 
and the late Mrs. Edward Rogers, who sleeps in the Pioneer 
cemetery, at Harrisville. 



50 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COuNTY 

William Cline, early in the century, built the first house 
at Smithville, on the site that is now marked by the hotel of 
M. A. Ayres. He was the father of Abraham and William 
Cline, whose names will appear later; but in 1816, this im- 
provement passed into the hands of James and Benjamin 
Hardman, two brothers, who came from what is now Gilmer 
county. These brothers had married the daughters of Thomas 
and Phoebe Cunningham, the first settlers in the Frederick's 
mill vicinity (in 1S07), whose interesting history occupies 
another chapter. 

The Hardmans. — In the meantime, while these settlements 
were going on at Smithville, Peter Wolfe, of Harrison county, 
was making the first improvement on the farm that is now the 
A. P. Hardman estate, in the Frederick's mill vicinity ; and he 
and James Hardman traded farms. Air. A\"olfe moved to Sinith- 
ville, where he died before the year 1830. and Air. Hardman 
took up his residence on the A. P. Hardman homeslead, which 
he twice lost owing to a defective title ; and he then moved 
to the Staunton pike, and became the first settler in the Hard- 
man chapel vicinity, on the farm that is now the estate of his 
late son, James S. Hardman. Here he passed from earth in 
August, 1874. He was a lay minister of the Methodist Episco- 
pal church, and he gave the grounds for the cemetery and the 
church which bears his name, "Hardman chapel," and beneath 
its shadow his ashes lie. He was born in the "Old Domin- 
ion." on November 14, 1795, and, with his parents, came 
to Gilmer county, to the Kanawha river, when he was but a 
small child. At the age of eighteen years, he enlisted as a 
soldier in the war of 1812, taking the place of his father, who 
had been drafted, and served one year, until the close of the 
war. He was never engaged in battle, but frequently wit- 
nessed the maneuvers of the enemy's vessels far out at sea. 
Tn 1816, he was married to Miss Pliebe Cunningham, who 
was born in Lewis county, on August 10, 1795, and died at 
her home at Hardman chapel, on July 3, 1871. 

From this venerable couple, the many different families 
of the name in the county are descended. Their two surviv- 
ing daughters are Mrs. Nancy (Asa) Dilworth, of Eatons ; and 
Mrs. Julia (Ira S.) GofiF. of \\'aiker. And their late 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 



51 



sons and daughters were Joseph, who died in childhood ; Mrs. 
Leah (John) Beall, Leatherbrake ; Mrs. Harriett Fisher, Gil- 
mer county; Mrs. Dorcas Beall, Weston; Mrs. Barbara 
(George) Wells, Cornwallis ; Mrs. Phebe (J. M.) McWhorter, 
of Buckhannon, who first married Harrison B. Cunningham ; 




James Hardman. 



Hardman Chapel. 



■George W., James S.. and Asbury Poole, Hardman chapel; 
and Thomas C., of Auburn. 

Benjamin Hardman changed his place of residence from 
Smithville to the banK of the river at Frederick's mill, he 
being the first settler here, and the builder of this mill ; and 
from this community, a number of years later, he went to 
Iowa, where he remained but a short time. Returning to this 
State, he went to Roane county, and settled on the Middle 
fork of Reedy, and from there, passed into the other world, 
He, too, was a lay minister of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
one of the earliest in this wilderness. His wife was .Sira Leah 
Cunningham, and by his side she is sleeping, on the old home- 
stead in Roane county. 

Their children were: the late Thomas, of Gilmer county; 
William, Joseph, Benjamin, Nathaniel, Mrs. Emily Ingraham 
and Mrs. Argabrite, all of Roane county; Mrs. Phebe (Phillip) 
Frederick, Burnt House; Mrs. Rebecca (Henry) Elliott, Cal- 
houn county ; Mrs. Sarah (Alexander) Burdett, Missouri ; and 



C2 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Mrs. Mary (Henry C.) McWhorter, Charleston ; mother of 
Judge McWhorter, who stepped down from a long term as 
judge of the Supreme Court of the State, iu 1909. 



The Hardmans ha\e a very interesting ancestral history. 
Joseph Hardman was born in Germany not far frora the middle 
of the eighteenth century, and about the time he had reached 
manhood's estate, he, leaving the Fatherland with an emi- 
grant party, which included his sister, Margaret Hardman 
(who may have been Mrs. Jeremiah Riddel at this time), 
James Riddel, John Goff and Salathiel Goff, went to England : 
and from there, a year later, they all embarked to America, 
landing in Baltimore a short time before the Revolution — per- 
haps in 1773 or 1774, where they remained for twelve months 
before going to Georgetown, in what is now the District of 
Columbia. Air. Riddel and the Gofifs being more advanced in 
years than Mr. Hardman, were the heads of families, that 
they brought with them across the sea ; and ere long, the fair 
face and charming manner of Miss Dorcas Riddel completely 
captivated the afifections of young Hardman, and they were 
married ; and upon the banks of the Potomac, within a neigh- 
boring distance of the Washington estates, the}^ founded their' 
home. And thus it was that Joseph Hardman came to know- 
George Washington, not only as a general, for he was a Revo- 
lutary soldier, but as an intimate friend. It is said that the 
abilit}' and the judgment of the young German w^as of such an 
order that he was, not unfrequently, called into council with 
other trustworthy pioneers, by General Washington, to con- 
struct plans for the safety and protection of the inhabitants 
of certain districts of Maryland and Virginia. 

"The reminiscences of these stirring days, and his in- 
timate acquaintance with the great General, were ever dear to 
his heart," and to the close of his life "his deep blue eyes 
would sparkle and radiate with a peculiar light," as his mind 
reverted to those heroic scenes. After a seven years' resi- 
dence at Georgetown, he, with the other families above men- 
tioned, removed to Fredericksburg, Virginia, where he engaged 
in the butcher business, and by strict economy soon accumu- 
lated a sufBcient amount of monev to cause him to cast wist- 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 



ful glances to the land beyond the mountains; so one morning 
in the early spring time, late in the century, he, with his be- 
loved Dorcas and three children, Nancy, James and Thomas, 
and their belongings, set out in wagons for the great North- 
west; and after long weeks of peril and hardships, such as 
only pioneers of civilization can know, they reached Ran- 
dolph county, where they "pitched their tent" and sojourned 
for a time, before coming to Cedar creek, in Gilmer county, 
where they reared their humble dwelling and remained for 
many years. 

Shortly after they settled down here, another child 
was added to the family, which they called "Benjamin," 

and in 1813, the fifth and last child was 
born, and his name was "George 
Washington," for the fond parents de- 
clared that his very features were like 
none other than the great General. He 
grew to the intelligent manhood that 
his early youth promised, and married 
Miss Rachel Goff, granddaughter of 
Salathiel Goff, and settled five miles 
below Grantsville, on the little Kana- 
wha river, at what is known as "Plard- 
man's Bend," and here, on the old 
homestead, beside his wife, he quietly 
Georgre w. Hardman. reposes. He was promoted to the 
rank of major in the Mexican war, and was a large land-owner 
and stock-raiser, and from him the Hardman s, who are so 
prominently known in political circles in the State, are de- 
scended. He being the father of the following named chil- 
dren : Sylvester and Orlando, who have joined the throng 
over there, once occupied seats in the State Senate; George 
W., late candidate for Congress on the Democratic ticket, 
has twice served as sheriff of Calhoun county ; Columbus, 
who passed on in 1909; Cassett, Marcellus, Jerome and Allen, 
who are all prominent farmers, stockmen and timbermen of 
Roane county ; Warren and Floyd, who died in infancy ; the 
late Mrs. Dorcas (Levi) Ball, and Mrs. S. Jane (Albert) 




54 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Pearcy. C. C. Hardman, of Kyger, Roane county, the young 
instructor of Farmers' Institutes, who recently formed the 
acquaintance of the people of this county, is the son of the 
late Sh^vester Hardman. 

Nancy Hardman, the only daughter of Joseph and Dorcas 
Hardman, married a man by the name of Parsons, of Gilmer 
county, and he went to the war (of 1813) with James Hard- 
man and died soon after his return home. His wife, Nancy, 
then married a Air. Kearns, of Stuart's creek. Gilmer county, 
and there some of her descendants still live. 

Thomas Hardman was married to Miss Rebecca Goff, 
daughter of John and granddaughter of Salathiel, and settled 
at Reedyville, in Roane county. Here, at his home, Joseph 
and Dorcas Hardman died and at Reedyville they lie at rest. 
Joseph was ninety-six years of age at the time of his death. 

Some time after the Civil war, Thomas Hardman and 
his wife went to Parsons, Kansas, where they spent the clos- 
ing hours of their lives with their children, and there their 
ashes lie. 

Their family consisted of the following named children: 

William, the eldest son, still survives as a citizen of 
Roane county, though well advanced in years ; Nancv was the 
late wife of Sandy Board; Christen?, married Kellis Arga- 
bright; George, John. James, Salathial and Drusilla. who ^vas 
the wife of Captain Albert G. Ingraham, of the Confederate 
army. The late John's family live in Roane county, as do 
other descendants, and some of them reside in the far West. 



Note. — To Mr. Paul Hardman, of Nebo, Clay courty (only son of Mar- 
cellus and the late Chantilla Stump Hardman, and grandson of George 
"^'ashinglon), we are indebted for this valuable ancescial .«ketch of the Hard- 
man«, and for the verification of the nationality of the GofEs and the Riddles. 
He having been selected a few years ago to prepare a history of the Hard- 
mans to be read at a re-union of hi« branch of the family, set himself 
about the task sparing no pains in gathering and verifying this data, so 
far as it was possible to do so. And thougli the Riddle.s claim to be 
French and the GofEs, English, it has been proved beyond a doubt, that 
they came from Germany to England, and from there to the colonies. 
IVIr. Hardinan's sources of inforination were many and varied. He inter- 
viewed aged persons in his quest who had known the older generations 
of these families, and who had heard them tell in their German brogue 
(for they could not speak Engli.'^h distinctly) of the oppression that drove 
them froin the land of their birth beyond the deep. He also met with a 
young lady from Germany, not long since, who is acquainted with the 
Hardmans of the present generation in her native land, and she remarked 
about the striking resemblance that he bore to them. 

Another .'strong proof of the long a'^sociation of the Goffs. the Riddels 
and the Hardmans is the numerous marriages and inter-marriages of the 
families for the past five or six generations. 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 55 

Several of these sons served as Union soldiers diirinp- the Civil 

o 

war. 

Peter Wolfe, as before stated, made the first settle- 
ment on the A. P. Hardnian estate, and he, trading farms 
with James Hardman, went from there to the M. A. 
Ayres farm at Smithville, where he was laid to rest before 
the year 1830. He was born in Harrison county of German 
parentage, and was of Indian fighting stock. He married 
Miss Maudlin Hanley, of Harrison county, and came to this 
county early in the century. He wa,s the father of Samuel 
Wolfe, who resided here in pioneer days, but finally found a 
resting place in the west ; of the late John Wolfe, of Gilmer 
county; Susan, who married James Malone, junior, and sleeps 
at Harrisville ; of the late Mrs. Elizabeth (Righter) Cunning- 
ham, of Ohio ; and the late Mrs. Mary Drimon, of Harrison 
county. 

Mrs. John M. Brown, of Hannahdale, is the great-grand- 
daughter of this pioneer, and the Wolfes, of \\''olfe Pen, are 
also his descendants, besides not a few of them live in Gilmer 
comity. 

Valentine Bozarth was the successor of Mr. Wolfe on 
the Smithville farm. He and his wife, Mrs. Rebecca Hall 
Bozarth, came from Plarrison county and went to Iowa, here 
their brief history ends. The Bozarths were brave Indian 
fighters, and their thrilling adventures with the red men are 
recorded on the pages of "Border W^arfare." 

The Malones. — Contemporary with the settlement of Mr. 
Wolfe on the Hardman farm was that of James Malone, 
senior, on the W. G. Lowther homestead, which joins it on 
the east. 

Mr. Malone was of Irish descent, and along with Mr. 
Wolfe, he came from Harrison county, and erected his cabin 
near the present site of the Lowther residence, which, though 
somcAvhat modernized, was built more than three-quarters of 
a century ago by Samuel Wolfe, and is one of the oldest land- 
marks in this section. 

The location of this farm is one of the most beautiful 
along the river, and among its other points of special interest 
are : an old Indian mound, which, though once visible for 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



miles around, is fast disappearing under the plowman's cul- 
tivator ; and a lasting spring, which has quenched the thirst 
of the children of men, the dusky face as well as the pale, for 
"thousands of moons," and over its lucid waters bends the 
branches of a willow of hugh dimensions, the history of which 
began less than forty-five years ago, when Miss Abigail Os- 
bourne, eldest daughter of the late AVilliam Osbourne, who 
was then a small girl, planted her riding switch there. The 
circumference of this tree at the base now measures fifteen 
feet. 

Mr. Malone removed (from here) to the Kennedy farm, 
at the mouth of Lamb's run, and here, he and his wife, who 
was Miss Elizabeth Findlay, a descendant of the Drake family, 
lie sleeping. 




The Old Malone liomestead as it appears to-day ("Wyldewood cot- 
tage") where the "History of Ritchie County" was written. One of the 
oldest landmarks on the river. 

He was the father of James Malone, junior, of John, Mrs. 
Jane Cunningham (mother of Mrs. Israel Davidson, of Spruce 
creek) ; and of the late Mrs. Elizabeth (Cornelius) Wyei', of 
Gilmer count}^ His children were all the heads of pioneer 
families of this county. 

John Malone married Miss Rebecca Webb, sister of Ben- 
jamin Webb, and was the first settler on the E. R. Tibbs 
farm, at Goff's. He went from here to Bull creek, v.'here some 
of his descendants still live. 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 57 

James Malone, junior, married Miss Susan Wolfe, daugh- 
ter of Peter, and succeeded his father on the Kennedy farm. 
He removed from there, early in the forties, to the farm that 
is now designated as the Willianf Flannagan homestead, near 
Hannahdale, and here he passed from earth, in the early six- 
ties, and in the Harrisville cemetery, beside his wife, he sleeps. 

He figured prominently in the early history of the county, 
as Justice of the peace and as representative in the legislature 
at Richmond. 

He was the father of Alfred Malone, a lay minister of the 
M. E. church, who sleeps in Kansas; James (the HI), who 
died in the Union cause; Francis M., who rests at Lima, 
Ohio ; the late Samuel, of Nebraska ; and Osbourne, who died 
at Weston; Fannie became Mrs. Broadwater, of Hannahdale; 
Rebecca, Mrs. Jacob Trainer, of Riddel's chapel; Mary Jane. 
Mrs. William Maley, of the same vicinity ; Elizabeth was the 
late Mrs. John Clutter, and Eliza, Mrs. Harvey Clutter, of 
Iowa ; Martha married and died in St. Louis, Missouri ; and 
Sarah, the only survivor of the family, is Mrs. Clutter, of Pitts- 
burg, Kansas. 

Mrs. J. M. Brown, of Hannahdale, is the granddaughter 
of this pioneer. 

Among the great-grandchildren of James Malone, senior, 
who are citizens of this part of the county, are C. J. Valen- 
tine, of Fonsoville; S. A. Wyer, of Auburn; J. B. Valentine, 
of Macfarlan ; and not a few of the Wyers of Gilmer county. 

John Wilson was the pioneer on the Kennedy farm, Mr. 
Malone having purchased his improvement. 

Mr. Wilson and his wife, who was formerly a Miss White, 
went from here to Iowa, and we have been unable to learn 
anything farther of their history, save that Francis Wilson, 
of Tanners, belongs to this family, he being descended from 
a brother of John Wilson. 

The Elliotts. — Not far from the time of the coming of the 
Malones, Jabez Elliott found a home on the Eugene Barker 
farm, near the mouth of Lamb's run, and in this vicinity he 



58 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

spent the rest of his days, and in the Smithville cemetery he 
found a final resting place. 

The early history of this family is very meager, and what 
is in our possession cannot«be verified. 

But they are of English origin and they probably first 
settled in the New England colonies, where they were en- 
gaged in savage warfare. And we, also, find them in Ohio bat- 
tling with the Indians, during General Wayne's campaign. 

Jabez Elliott is said to have been a native of the New 
England States and a soldier of the war of 1812. He married 
Miss Elizabeth AVigner, daughter of John Wigner, senior, 
and sister of John, junior, of Ellenboro, and came here from 
Harrison county. His venerable widow spent her last days 
in an old cabin that stood near the present residence of W. J. 
Burwell, in the vicinity of Gofif's. Here she passed to her 
reward in 1875, at the age of ninety-six years. She had been 
a communicant of the Methodist Episcopal church for seventy- 
eight years, she being one of the class that was organized in 
1810. She rests in the Smithville cemetery by the side of her 
husband. 

Their children were as follows : 

John, Jacob, Henry, AVashington, Mrs. Elizabeth Low- 
ther, Mrs. Sarah Howard and Ad^rs. Manly Collins, all of this 
county; and Jabez, junior, of Calhoun. All have now passed 
to the other shore, but their descendants in this county are 
not a itw. 

Among the grandsons are Frank and AA-^esley Elliott, of 
Indian creek ; and Thomas Elliott, of Pullman. Hayes Elliott, 
the assistant cashier of the Pullman bank, is a great-grandson. 

Manly Collins and his wife, Mrs. ]\Iary Elliott Collins, 
were the first settlers on Lamb's run after the Elliott family, 
they having built their cabin where Emery Tibbs now lives. 

Mrs. Collins survived until a few years since, when she 
passed away at a ripe old age, and was laid at rest in the Cun- 
ningham burying-grovmd, near Mahone. 

Mr. Collins was the son of Mrs. Alary Collins, who spent 
her last hours on Slab Creek, and a brother of Chainey Collins, 
of Smithville; of Mrs. Phebe Smith, late wife of Aaron Smith, 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 59 

of Smith's chapel ; and of John Collins, of Wirt county, all of 
whom have passed on. 

The children of Manly and Mary Collins are as follows: 

Daniel, Benjamin, Mrs. Sarah Frederick, and Mary and 
Louisa, who are dead. 

After the death of Jabez Elliott his family had a dwell- 
ing erected, where Peyton Tingler now lives, and for a num- 
ber of years this cabin was occupied by the Elliott family. 

This stream is said to have taken its name from a man 
by the name of Lamb, but we have been unable to learn any- 
thing farther concerning his history. 

The Wigners. — John Wigner, senior, succeeded William 
Layfield on the S. H. Westfall farm, above Smithville. This 
old pioneer cabin stood on a rivulet, which still bears his name, 
"Wigner's run." 

Mr. Wigner was of German lineage, and he came here 
from near Philadelphia before the year 1810, and here the 
remnant of his days was spent, and in some of the old bury- 
ing-grounds in this vicinity his ashes lie. 

He was the father of John Wigner, junior, the first settler 
at Ellenboro ; of Jacob, of Stuart's run ; of Henry, of Husher's 
run; Joseph and Daniel, of Ohio; Mrs. Elizabeth (Jabez) 
Elliott, of Gofif's ; Mrs. Elijah Cunningham, Husher's run ; 
Mrs. Piarbara Newcome, and Mrs. Susan White, of Gallipolis, 
Ohio. 

John Cornell. — John Cornell was the first resident of the 
Martin Smith farm, above Smithville. He and his wife, Mrs. 
Susan Park Cornell, came from "Maryland, My Maryland," 
and having twice purchased this farm and lost it at law, 
removed to Pleasants county, in 1840, where he "laid down 
the cross" in 1860. Seventeen years later his wife joined him 
on the other side, and in the Rutnian cemetery they both lie 
at rest. 

Mr. Cornell was a Revolutionary soldier, and was the 
son of William Cornell, an Irishman. He and his wife were 
the parents of twelve children — seven sons and five daughters, 
all of whom reached the years of maturity: Benjamin resides 
at Bufifalo, in Putnam county ; Susan is Mrs. William Ward, 
of Shultz ; Mary is Mrs. Stephen Workman, of Huntington; 



60 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Sarah is Airs. William Douglass, of Highland; William sleeps 
in Oregon; Harrison, in the Dry Ridge cemetery; two sons 
and two daughters, with the parents in the Rutman cemetery; 
one son, at Smithville, and one, in Calhoun county. 

John Cornell, of Calhoun county, is a grandson of this 
pioneer, as is J. A. Cornell, of Burnt House. And Mrs. Free- 
man G. Barr, of Smithville, is a great-granddaughter. 

Mrs. Douglass, while on a visit with her daughter, Mrs. 
A. D. Adams, at the M. E. church parsonage at Smithville, 
during the autumn of 1904, visited the place of her nativity, 
after an absence of sixty-five years, and noted with interest 
the changes that had been wrought by the mighty hand of 
"Father Time." 

Elias Lowther was another early settler in the Webb's 
mill vicinitv. He was the second blacksmith and the first 
gunsmith and powder-maker in this section. He was the son 
of Thomas and the grandson of Col. William Lowther, and 
like the other pioneers of this name, was a native of West Mil- 
ford. He removed to Wirt county near the year 1825, and 
here, fell asleep, and here some of his descendants live. He 
had two sons, Andrew and Daniel, and perhaps other children. 

The Dyes. — Dennis Dye was the first settler on the farm 
which, is still designated as the "Dye farm," in the Webb's 
mill vicinity, though now owned by Martin Smith and son. 

Mr. Dye was the son of Reuben and Alary Dye, who 
came from Prince William county, Virginia, at an early day 
and settled in AVood county, and he was a brother of the hte 
D. Dye, of Elizabeth; John, of Ohio, and William and Benja- 
min, who started to Texas and were never heard of again. 

Dennis Dye was born in 1801, and came to this county 
in his early manhood and married Miss Anna Webb, daughter 
of Benjamin Webb, and took up his residence on the old 
homestead, above mentioned, near the year 1835, where he 
remained until June 20, 1866, when he crossed to the other 
side. 

His wife was born on July 14, 1809, and died in June, 1888. 
Both sleep in the Webb's mill cemetery. 

His children are as follows: Benjamin, David, William, 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 61 

Mrs. Julia (Adam) Laird, Mrs. Jane (Daniel) Nicholson, of 
Calhoun county; and Mrs. Martha (Robert) Taylor, of Smith- 
ville; and Mrs. Drusilla Gear, of Wirt county; who have all 
passed on; and Mrs. Harriet (Barnes) Smith, Burnt House; 
Mrs. Nancy (Jacob) Cunningham, Smithville; Mrs. Mary 
(Barnes) Smith, Auburn; Mrs. Ag-nes Haught, Wirt county; 
and Mrs. Elizabeth Nutter, Kansas, are the surviving ones. 

Benjamin Dye, whose family are still identified with the 
Smithville vincinity; was born at the old home at Webb's 
mill, on August 16, 18?'7, and though he resided across the 
Calhoun county line, after his marriage to Miss Roena Petty, 
daughter of Rowland Petty, of Wirt county, on January JO, 
1860, his entire life was spent within the bounds of the Sm.ith- 
ville vicinity. He passed from earth on Alarch 3, 1905, 
and Mrs. Dye followed him to the grave on May 30, 1909. 
Both lie at rest in the Nicholas burying-ground, near the old 
home in Calhoun county. 

They were the parents of the following named children : 

The one daughter died in childhood ; and their sons are : 
Dr. W. T. W. Dye, of Grantsville ; Dr. James A. Dye, Minora; 
Rowland F. Dye, Smithville ; George W. and Judson B. Dye, 
Freed. 

The Smiths. — John Every, of whose history we know 
nothing, erected the first dwelling on the B. H. Wilson farm 
at Goff's, but this improvement passed into the hands of 
Barnes Smith as early as 1810, and remained in his possession 
until near the year 1835, • when he removed to Smithville, 
where he passed from earth, on March 9, 1857. 

In his honor the town was named and within the peace- 
ful bosom of its cemetery his ashes lie. 

Mr. Smith was of English lineage. His ancestors came 
to America in Colonial days and settled in Virginia, but he 
was born in Harrison county, on May 18, 1782, and there he 
was married to Miss Anne Earle, who was born on November 
26, 1788, and died on October 14, 1855, and rests at Smithville. 
Nine children were the result of this union : 

Isaac and Barnes, junior, sleep at Smithville: Joshua, in 
Calhoun county; Levi J., in Boone county, Iowa; Sarah, who 
married Samuel Davidson, in Gilmer county, near Tanners- 



62 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

ville ; Kathrine (Mrs. Levi Smith), on Spruce creek; Hila 
(Mrs. Eli Riddel), near Goff 's ; Mary (Mrs. George Goff), in 
Missouri; Elizabeth (Mrs. Thomas Goff), in Iowa. 

Although these children were so widely scattered, their 
descendants in this county are a multitude. Among the 
grandchildren are Martin Smith, Alvus Smith, Mrs. M. A. 
Ayres, and Mrs. Alfred Barr, of Smithville ; T. M. Goff', of 
Harrisville; the late Mrs. A. P. Hardman, Fonsoville; Mrs. 
John White, S. B. and S. A. Smith, of Iowa. 

Dr. J. M. Goff, of Harrisville, is a great-grandson. 

(Several of these sons were among the pioneers of this 
county and the history of their families will be found else- 
where.) 

Aaron Smith, brother of Barnes, who was also a native 
of Harrison county, was the first settler at Goff's, on the land 
that is now the homes of Abner Hatfield and E. C. Goff" and 
the Reeves estate. 

His old cabin, which was built early in the century, stood 
near the present Hatfield residence, and not far away, on this 
homestead, he lies in his last sleep. 

He married Miss Hannah Drake, sister of the Rev. 'John 
Drake, who was born on April 17, 1778, and, like his brother, 
has an innumerable line of descendants in this and adjoining 
counties. 

After his death his widow married John Riddel, the Grass 
run pioneer, and in Roane county she died on October 27, 1868. 

Their children are as follows: Elijah, Levi, William, 
Elisha. Rebecca, Zilpah, Susan, Orpha, Rhoda and Eda. 

Elijah married his cousin, Miss Roana Smith, daughter 
of Squire Smith, of Harrison county, and lived and died near 
the mouth of Smith's run, where his son, Aaron, still survives. 
He was also the father of the late James, of Gilmer county ; and 
of Mrs. Thomas D. Tibbs, of Lamb's run. 

Levi married his cousin, Miss Kathrine Smith, daughter 
of Barnes, senior, and was one of the Spruce creek pioneers. 

William married Miss Susana Cain, daughter of David 
Cain, and went to Lee creek, where he died in 1883, at the age 
of eighty-six years. 

Elisha married Miss Martha Stuart, sister of Robert 



SOUTH FORK SETTLED 63 

Stuart, aii^ settled the Connolly farm, on Leatherbrake, where 
he and his wife and several children, all died near the same time 
of fever. 

Elisha, his eldest son, who was married, died at this 
time; and Levi, of Hardman chapel ; and Gilbert, oi Long run ; 
and Mrs. Lydia Ann Goff, wife of the late M. A. Goff, of 
Hazelgreen ; and mother of L. C. GolT, of Juna, have since 
passed on, leaving families; and James T. Smith, of Burnt 
House; and Mrs. Sarah Jane (John) Goff, of Gilmer county: 
are the surviving members of the family. 

Rebecca Smith married Cornelius Cain, and lived and 
died in this county. Her children were the late Mrs. Rosetta 
Moats, of Cairo ; Mrs. Phillip Goft", of Juna ; Mrs. Ruhama 
(Ephraim) Morehead, Mrs. Louisa Chevrount, David, Cor- 
nelius H., Albert, James and Lemuel Cain. 

Zilpah Smith married James Riddel and went to Gilmer 
county. 

Susan became Mrs. Jacob Smith and went to Roane 
county. 

Orpha was Mrs. Hill, of Clay county ; Rhoda, Mrs. Board, 
of Roane county. Eda married Benjamin Goff and became 
the head of a pioneer family of this county. (See later chap- 
ter.) She was the last survivor of the family. 

David Cain was the first settler on the late Wilson Prunty 
homestead, now the property of John Gorrell. 

He was of Holland descent. He married Miss Mary Cain, 
who was born in 1T79, and came here from Ohio. He finally 
went to Lee creek, where he sleeps. His wife rests in the 
Egypt cemetery at Cairo. 

The Cain's run, on the south side of the river, took its 
name from a sugar camp that he owned, which was located 
just below the John Wass residence. 

Mr. Cain has been accredited with the first settlement at 
the mouth of Slab creek, btU this claim proves to be in error, 
as John Shores, father of the late James Shores, of Cairo, was 
the first pioneer at the mouth of this creek. 

Mr. Cain's children were as follows : 

Susana (Mrs. Wm. Smith), of Lee creek; Mary (Mrs. 



64 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Joseph Wilson), of Slab creek; Cornelius Cain, of Cairo, and 
Jesse. 

Jesse married a Miss Firth, of Barbour county, and set- 
tled on the north side of Hughes river, at the mouth of the 
run, which still bears his name, "Jesse Cain's run," where 
Peter and Charles Wass now live. 

Quite a number of David Cain's grandchildren are still 
identified among the citizens of the county. 

Lemuel Wilson, of Smithville ; Mrs. Phillip Gofif, of Juna ; 
the late Mrs. Rosetta Moats, of Cairo ; are among the nundDcr. 



A family by the name of Belt made the first improvement 
at the forks of Hughes river, on the farm that became the per- 
manent home of the Jacksons, in 1830. 

Thomas Cummins, another early settler, moved farther 
west in 1811, and the name of George Turvey is also men- 
tioned among the very early settlers, but we have been unable 
to learn anything of his history or settlement. 

Although many authentic dates are wanting, the greater 
number of these settlers are said to have come before the year 
1810. 



CHAPTER IV 




Thomas and Phebe Cunningham 

HE year 1807 was marked by the coming of 
Thomas and Phebe Cunningham, from Har- 
rison county. Though many historic remin- 
iscences cluster about the names of the 
brave-hearted pioneers of this county, per- 
haps no other one is of such absorbing in- 
terest as the one that hangs about the mem- 
ory of Thomas and Phebe Cunningham; and, perhaps, too, no 
other pioneer family is more largely represented among the 
present citizenship of the county ;• and from the pages of 
"Border Warfare" we glean the story of their adventure with 
the Indians, before they became identified with the history of 
Ritchie county : 

In 1785, when our tragical story opens, Thomas Cunning- 
ham and his brother, Edward, resided in Harrison county on 
Bingamon creek, a branch of the West fork, in adjoining 
cabins. Thomas was absent on a irading expedition, when 
six Indians made their appearance at his home. 

Mrs. Cunningham and the four children were gathered 
al)out the dinner-table when one entered, and closing the door 
behind him, stood with drawn tomahawk for a few moments; 
then, having at once apprehended danger from the other 
cabin, and having no such fear of the helpless mother and 
children, he seemed for a time only intent upon his own 
escape. 

Edward, seeing the Indian enter his brother's cabin, 
secured his own door, and, stepping to a small opening in the 
wall, stood ready to fire when the "ntruder should make his 
appearance ; but in Thomas' cabin was a like aperture, and 
through it the Indian fired at Edward, and gave the signal 
for victory, which was answered by Edward, who saw the 



06 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

aim of the savage in time to save his life. So narrow was 
his escape that the bark from the log struck him in the face. 

The Indian, seeing that he had missed his aim, at once 
seized an adz and began cutting an outlet through the back 
of the cabin, so that he could escape without danger from 
Edward's house. While thus engaged, he asked ]ylrs. Cun- 
ningham how many were in the other cabin, and she tacill}- 
replied by holding up the fingers of both hands. 

Just after the firing had ceased another Indian entered the 
yard, and, seeing Edward's gun through the port hole, beat 
a hasty retreat; but Edward fired, the bullet taking effect in 
the Indian's hip; he managed, however, to reach some place 
of safety before Cunningham could again load his gun. 

Mrs. Cunningham made no effort to escape, for she felt 
that death only awaited her at the hands of the lurking foe 
without. To escape with her children was impossible ; and 
to leave them at the mercy of this savage monster was not to 
be thought of. So she cherished the liope that he might quiet- 
ly withdraw, but the fallacy of such a hope was soon evident, 
w'hen he sank his ruthless tomahawk into the brains of one 
of her children, and casting its scarcely lifeless form into the 
yard, ordered her to follow him. She, knowing that resistance 
meant certain death, quietly obeyed, stepping over the dead 
body of her child, as she passed out w'ith her babe in her arms, 
and the other two children clinging to her and screaming 
frantically at the horror of the sight. 

W'hen all were outside, scalping the dead boy. he set iire 
to the house, and withdrew to a high point in the field, where 
he joined his two companion, who Avere caring for the 
wounded Indian. The other two were left to guard the door 
of Edward's house, so that they could strike the fatal blow 
when the flames should drive them out; but fortunately the 
family were able to extinguish the fire from within by tearing 
the boards from the roof, though the Indians kept up their 
firing all the while. 

AVithout hope of accomplishing more, and fearing detec- 
tion, they gathered together, and, having tomahawked the 
elder Cunningham boy and his little sister — whom they beat 
against a tree until life w^as extinct — they took their departure. 



THOMAS AND PHEBE CUNNINGHAM 67 

Mrs. Cunningham said that the last she saw of her little 
daughter was one quivering foot sticking up from behind a 
log, where she had been thrown. The poor mother stood 
aghast, dazed with grief, momentarily expecting the death 
blow to fall upon her and the little one at her breast. But 
a more cruel fate awaited her — that of the life of a captive. 

From this awful scene, she was taken to a cave. (This 
cave is said to be about two miles from the scene of the cap- 
ture, on Little Indian run — a branch of Bingamon creek — in 
Harrison county.) Here the Indians remained until night, 
and, under cover of darkness, returned to the home of Ed- 
ward Cunningham, and. finding it deserted, plundered, and 
set it on fire. 

Mr. Cunningham and his family had taken refuge in the 
forest during the night, the nearest settlement being eight 
or ten miles distant, and on the following morning gave the 
alarm ; and a company of men were soon in pursuit. When 
they reached the scene of the tragedy, finding the cabins in 
ashes, and being unable to follow the trail, so carefully had 
it been covered, they buried the remains of the children and 
returned to their homes. But after the lapse of a few days, 
circumstances pointed to the suspicion that the savages 
were still in the vicinity, and another search was instituted, 
in which the trail was followed to the mouth of the cave 
and lost. But Major Robinson, being familiar with the forest, 
and after dwelling upon the incidents of the day, remem- 
bered the cave, and upon investigation, on the following morn- 
ing, found that it had been their hiding place, but was now 
deserted. They had resumed their journey during the night, 
ha\ing been detained here by the wounded Indian, who, Mrs. 
Cunningham said, was borne from the cave, and she never 
saw him again. She supposed that he was dead, and that 
his remains were sunk in a pool near by. 

She said that the whites were so near several times that 
she could distinctly hear their \'oices ; that they stood -upon 
the rock above her head. But a savage stood over her with 
an uplifted tomahawk, commanding silence, and forcing her 
to keep the child to her breast, lest its cries slundd lead to 
their apprehension. 



68 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COINTY 

Owing- to this delay, they did not reach their own coun- 
try for some time, and the poor captive's sufifering from hun- 
ger, fatigue and grief, was ahnost beyond human endurance ; 
and the helpless infant at the breast, sought milk and ob- 
tained blood instead. The Indians, observing this, ended its 
sufferings by the tomahawk, while it clung to its mother's 
bosom, and then cast its lifeless form beside Lhe pathway, 
without leaf or branch to protect it from the beasts of prey. 

No tongue or pen can describe the anguish of the suffer- 
ing mother, whose only sustenance for ten days was the 
head of a Avild turkey and three pawpaws. B}- the frequent 
wading of streams, her feet had become so scalded, that when 
she reached the village of the Delawares and was permitted 
to remove her stockings, the nails and skin came with them. 
Yet, on the follow'ing day, she was compelled to continue 
her journey. A humane Indian of the village somewhat al- 
leviated her pain by an application of sanative herbs. 

One incident of this dreadful march, which has been 
omitted by the historian, but which will doubtless add inter- 
est here, we glean from the Autobiography of the late Rev. 
James L. Clarke, who heard it from her own lips, and who 
tells it in the following language : 

"It was during the painful march after the murder of her 
babe, that she was converted. Overwhelmed and horrified 
at the murder of her children, and the terrible suffering she 
was then undergoing, she longed to die. and wished the 
savages would kill her. 

"One day while wishing for death, the question was 
forced into her mind, 'Are you prepared to die?' It awakened 
her, she saw that she was a sinner, and if she died as she 
had lived, she would be lost and would have to endure suf- 
fering forever to. which the sufferings of the present would 
bear no comparison, and that she must be forever separated 
from her children, whom she had no doubt were now in 
Heaven. 

"She now became very much alarmed and feared that 
they would kill her before she was |)repared to die. fler sins 
became a burden too intolerable to be borne, and she went 



THOMAS AND PHEBE CUNNINGHAM 63 

lo liini who said 'Come unto me all ye that labor and are 
heavy laden, and I will give you rest.' 

"One night after the Indians had lain down in a circle 
around the fire, with her inside the circle, she kneeled 
down at the root of a tree and in her agony wrestled with 
God in prayer, and taking Jesus as her Savior, the blessing 
came in power. She sprang to her feet clapping her hands, 
and shouting at the top of her voice, 'Glory to God.' The 
savages raised upon their elbows, gave the Indian 'yough,' 
watched her for a while, and lay down again. She con- 
tinued to shout for some time, the fear of death was gone, 
and her soul was exceedingly happy." And from this time 
until Jicr death, she continued a faithful, devoted Christian. 

When the home of her captors was reached, she received 
no barbarous treatment, but she was filled with fear and the 
apprehension of some impending doom. Everything about 
her seemed to bode evil. She was delivered into the hands 
of the father of the wounded and missing Indian, and was 
compelled to wear her soiled clothing, whicli was regarded 
as a bad omen for a captive. And thus for three years her 
captivity continued. 

A conference, preparatory to a treaty between the Whites 
and the Indians, was pending, when, one evening, she noticed 
an unusual commotion in the village, and, upon inquiry, 
learned that the presence of the great Simon Girty occasion- 
ed it. 

She determined to ask him to intercede for her release, 
and on the following day, seeing him passing by on horse- 
back, she went to him and lay hold of his stirrup, and im- 
plored his interference in her behalf, which, at first, was only 
met with derision ; but though the heart of this chieftain had 
long been a stranger to tenderness and sympathy, her en- 
treaties finally succeeded in touching his better nature, and 
he made intercession for her, secured her release, made pro- 
visions for her ransom, and had her conveyed to the commis- 
sioners who negotiated the treaty. 

During the Autumn of 1788, having been in captivity for 
three long, weary years, she was taken to a great Indian 
conference, at the foot of the Maumee rapids, on or near the 



70 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

present site of Perrysburg, Ohio; and while here, Captain 
Girty brought the case before the British agent, McKee, 
who furnished the trinkets for the ransom, and she was set 
free : and from here, she went to Kentucky with two gentle- 
men, w^ho came to this conference in quest of their captive 
children. 

After much difficulty and no little delay, she finally 
reached her old home — the home of Edward Cunningham- - 
in Harrison county, and found that her husband, on hearing 
of her release, had gone in fjuest of her. Depressed by the 
disappointment of not meeting him. and by the thought of 
the danger and peril that attended his every footstep, she 
could not enter into the spirit of rejoicing, that her home- 
coming had occasioned; but in a few days her husband, learn- 
ing that she was homeward bound, returned, and with joy 
unspeakable, clasped to his bosom again the long lost wife. 
Though the remembrance of the tragic fate of their children, 
shadowed the joy of their reunion, yet, time alleviated their 
sorrow^, when other, and more fortunate, children came to 
bless their home. And from these children are descended no 
small per cent of the present population of Ritchie county. 

The Cunninghams are of Irish lineage. Some time be- 
fore the Revolutionary war, Hugh Cunningham and his wife. 
Nancy, with their family of eight sons (Adam. Ephraim, 
Benjamin, Joseph, \\'illiam, \\'alter, Edward and Thomas) 
came from Dublin, Ireland, and settled on the banks of the 
Potomac, in Eairfax county, Virginia ; and, shortly after the 
close of the Revolutionary war, Thomas, Adam, Edward, 
Walter, and, perhaps, more of the brothers, came to Harri- 
son county, where they entered and patented large tracts of 
land under the "tomahawk title," on Bingamon creek. Here 
they resided when our tragic story opened. 

Thomas Cunningham and his wife. Phebe Tucker Cun- 
ningham, were born across the sea. He, in Ireland, and she. 
in England of Scottish parentage, in 1761. He had served 
as a Revolutionary soldier, before becoming distinguished 
b}' this "adventure among the Indians." 



THOMAS AND PHEBE CUNNINGHAM 71 

In 1807, as above stated, they came to this county, and 
settled on what is now the W. E. Hill and the Frederick 
homesteads. Here they continued to reside until the death 
of Mr. Cunningham, in l.S"i!). He was the first Methodist 
Episcopal minister in iliis part of the count_v. and at his 
home the first class was organized. He was only a lay min- 
ister at this time, but he was licensed to preach, at Zaues- 
ville, Ohio, on September 5, 1817 ; and this license, which 
was written upon parchment, is now a cherished possession 
of his great-grandson, John C. Cunningham, of Eva. 

On the Frederick homestead, not far from the present 
Frederick residence, he sleeps, in an almost nameless grave. 
Mrs. Cunningham spent the last years of her life in Calhoun 
county with her daughter, Mrs. Isaac Collins; and. here, ni 
1845, she passed away in triumph. "The voice that shouted 
'Glory to God' in the midst of the savages, shouted victory 
in death." On the Collins homestead, near Freed, she is 
sleeping. 

The late Rev. James L. Clarke delivered the memorial 
sermon at her funeral, and in dwelling on her triumphant 
death afterwards, he said, 'T could not help thinking of the 
joyful meeting she had with her children in the presence of 
Him who had said, 'Suffer little children to come unto me, 
for of such is the Kingdom of God.' " 

The late children of these distinguished pioneers were 
as follows: Henry, Lydia, Walter, and Thomas, who were 
killed by the Indians : and William — the first born after their 
reunion — who became a minister in 1810, and two years later 
took a transfer to the Ohio conference, where he finished his 
earthly career at Horner, in Licking county; John, of Spen- 
cer; Mrs. Rachel (Isaac) Collins. Calhoun county: Mrs. Leah 
(Benjamin') Ilardman, Charleston, W. Va. ; Mrs. Phebe (Jas.) 
Hardman, who sleeps at Hardman chapel; Mrs. Barbara Hill, 
Eddyville, Iowa: and Benjamin, of Eva. 

Amon-g the late grandsons and granddaughters of these 
venerable people, who were the heads of well known families 
of this county, were: A. P., J. S.. and Washington Hardman, 
Hardman chapel; Mrs. John Beall, Leatherbrake ; Thomas 
Hardman, Auburn; Mrs. George AVells, Cornwahis ; Mrs. J. 



7-? HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

M. AlcW horler, Lluckhannon; ]\lrs. Hannah Smith, Smith- 
ville ; Mr. and Mrs. Wilson B. Cunningham ; and EH R. Cun- 
ningham, of Eva. Among the surviving ones are: John R. 
Cunningham, Gihner county; Airs. Xancy Dilworth, Eaton; 
and Mrs. Ira S. Goff, Walker station. Besides quite an army 
of great-grandchildren, who are well known citizens — Martin 
Smith, Mrs. Alfred Barr, Mrs. M. A. Ayres, and Alvis Smith, 
of Smithville, Mrs. James Rexroad, of Den run, and the late 
Airs. W. E. Hill, of Fonzo, are among them. 

Airs. Hill enjoyed the privilege of residing almost on the 
very spot where the cabin of her illustrious great-grand- 
parents stood for several years just before her death in lUlO. 

Edward Cunningham. — Edward Cunningham and his 
wife, Sarah Price Cunningham, wdiom he married in Fairfax 
county, A^irginia, lived and died in Harrison county, where 
"they fought the redskins ;" and here on their old homestead, 
they sleep ; but some of their lineal descendants belong to 
the present citizenship of this county. — To their grandson, 
Perry J. Cunningham, of Pennsboro, we are indebted for this 
sketch. 

Their children, William, Joseph, Thomas, Benjamin, and 
Airs. Alary Aloore sleep in Harrison county ; Airs. Elizabeth 
Robinson at Fairfield, Ohio; Airs. Keturah Hill, in Gilmer 
count}' ; and Enoch AI. Cunningham, in Randolph county. 

Joseph, better known as 'Tnjun Joe," was captured by 
the vShaw^nee Indians, while hiding under the treadles in the 
loom house, when he was but a lad of eight summers, and 
was adopted by an Indian family, and remained among then, 
for sixteen years, or until a short tune after Gen. AX'ayne's 
treat}^ w^ith the Indians. Fie became a great hunter while 
among them, and after his return liome, he served as pilot 
for the pioneer stirveyors of the large and original tracts of 
land in this and adjoining counties: and on one of these ex- 
peditions, with John Alurphy, he experienced a dreadful hand 
to hand encounter^ wdth a huge black bear, which -he finally 
succeeded in killing with his knife; and then pried its jaws 
open to relieve his knee, which had been the victim of bruinV 



'The scene of this fight was on Bear run, a branch of Goose creek, 
in this county; hence the name of this .= tream: this bear weighed 600 
pounds when dressed. 



THOMAS AND PHEBE CUNNINGHAM 73 

last stuggle, and which was lamed for the remainder of his 
life. 

He afterwards married a Miss Ayres, and became the 
father of two daughters, and one son; viz., the late Mrs. 
Samuel Warne. of Parkcrsburg; Mrs. George Sires, of Clarks- 
burg; and the late Dr. John Cunningham, of Illinois. 

Enoch M. Cunningham was the only one of Edward's 
children that figured among the early settlers of this county. 
In 1820, he married Miss Jane Stuart, daughter of William 
Stuart, an early settler on Hughes river above Goff's. and 
from the Stuart homestead, in 1S40, he moved to Smithville. 
He was the father of the following named children : Harrison 
B. Cunningham, an early merchant of Harrisville ; Martha 
became Mrs. Barnes Smith, of Smithville ; and her twin sis- 
ter, Sarah Salina, married Jonathan H. Haddox, of Smith- 
ville, later of Harrisville ; Amy married Hannibal C. Brannon, 
and Edna M., Williams Moats, of Harrisville. 

Amonc: his oreat-s:randchildren, who are well known in 
this county, are the late C. E. Haddox, of Moundsville ; C. M. 
Haddox, of Charleston ; Mrs. Van A. Zevely, of Cairo ; and 
Mrs. Joseph Foster, of Pennsboro. 



CHAPTER V 



The Westfalls and Whites 




HE Westfalls were early settlers in the Fred- 
erick's mill vicinity, they having taken the 
place of some of the original settlers some 
time in the forties. 

Joel J. Westfall, who is now spending 
the eventide of his long life with his only 
son, J. R. Westfall. at Smithville, was the 
fii-st of the family to arrive. He came as early as lSi3, and 
took the place of James Malone, on the Kennedy farm, above 
the mouth of Lamb's run ; and during the following winter 
he taught school in an old house on the Tingler — now the 
B. H. Wilson — farm, having for his pupils, "the Wasses," 
the Hardmans, the Elliotts, the GofFs and the Tinglers. After 
one year's residence on the Kennedy farm, he rented what is 
now Frederick's mill, and the W. E. Hill farm, and two years 
later his father, John W. Westfall, purchased both the mill 
and the farm, and moved his family here, where lie spent the 
remainder of his life. He sold the mill in 1857, to the late 
Joseph Frederick, but the farm remained in the h.ands of his 
heirs until a few years since, when it passed into the hands 
of W. E. Hill, who sold it to Henry Barker, in 1909. 

The Westfalls are of Irish lineage. They emigrated 
from New York to Beverly (West) Virginia ; and from there, 
Joel Westfall, senior, and his wife, Mrs. Elizabeth AA'hite West- 
fall, removed to near the present site of Buckhannon, where 
their son, John W. Westfall, was born, and where he was 
married to Miss Elizabeth Simon, a Dutch maiden, of Penn- 
sylvania, who was the mother of his six children, .'ill of whom 
were born at Buckhannon, before the familv came to Ritchie: 



THE WEST FALLS AND WHITES 75 

Joel was tlie eldest son ; Jacob, and the late James, of Slab 
creek ; and Jasper N., who was laid on the Frederick home- 
stead in his youth ; and the late Mrs. Margaret (John) Core, 
of Buckhannon ; and Mrs. Mary E. (Robert) Stuart, of Iris, 
were the other members of the fam.ily. The two alone sur- 
vive. Side by side Mr. and Mrs. Westfall sleep on the Fred- 
erick homestead. She survived him by a number of years, 
and with her daughter, Mrs. Stuart, spent her last hours, 
at Iris. (The other Westfalls in tliis and adjoining counties 
are descended from the same family.) 

Joel J. Westfall was born at Buckhannon, on August 24, 
1(S19, and here in the wilds of the torest, he grew to man- 
hood, having every opportunity to indulge his love for hunt- 
ing and adventure ; and some of these boyish adventurers are 
scarcely less thrilling than those of "Robinson Crusoe," or 
Stanley in the jungles of Africa: 

When he was but a small lad of seven summers, on July 
2G, 1826, he killed the largest rattle snake on record in West 
Virginia, while alone in the forest Avatching the horses for 
his father. This mammoth snake measured nine feet four 
inches, with rattles one one-half inches broad. At the 
age of eleven years, he killed three deer by moonlight in the 
forest near Buckhannon ; and the following year three pan- 
thers fell as his victims, and at the age of fourteen, he slew 
a bear with his tomahawk. This was only the beginning of 
a hunting record, which, perhaps, can hardly be duplicated 
by another lad among the early settlers of the State. At one 
time he killed a bear and a panther, which had just taken 
the life of a deer. So famous did these earl}^ adventures 
make him, that he was known far and wide, as the "Boy 
Hunter." On one occasion when he came into possession of 
a new gun, as a reward for his skillful marksmanship, he 
was asked by his father what he wished to do with this gun. 
He replied that he wished to kill wild animals, but that he 
especially desired to find a bear cave that he had heard much 
about through his uncle. So with his father's consent, one 
fine morning he set out in quest of this cave, which he finall}' 
reached after a long and perilous search. It was in a large 



7'- HISTORY OP RITCHIE COUNTY 

ledge of rocks, miles distant frojn his home, and, searching 
out the entrance, he at once started to explore the interior, 
but finding the darkness so dense, he was forced to retreat. 
However, securing a pine torch and taking his gun in hand, 
he again crawled inside, expecting to find the bear asleep, 
but by the time he had proceeded fifty or sixty feet, he real- 
ized the fallacy of this expectation, when he saw the glare 
of bruin's eye coming toward him. Stepping to one side, he 
prepared to fire, but for fear of being forced out of the cave, 
he slid into a crevice, and the anirnal dashed by him vvith 
force, and presently he heard him fall from the clifif outside, 
a distance of thirty feet, and he knew that he must l^e dead ; 
and going outside, he joyfully claimed his prey and set out 
for home, which he reached after several days' absence to 
the relief of his mother, who had been greatly annoyed by 
his prolonged stay. In after life his hand did not "lose its 
cunning." for while a resident of California, he killed the 
largest bear on record in that State. It having weighed one 
thousand pounds. 

At the age of seventeen years, he was made lietitenant 
of Co. D, 133rd Regiment of the Virginia Alilitia, an office 
which he held for seven years ; and he was Captain of the r^>Iili- 
tia after he came to this county. On January V'3, 1813, he 
was married to Miss Eliza B. Mills, daughter of W. R. Mills, 
of Pocahontas county, the marriage being solemnized at the 
home of her brother at ^Veston ; and J. R. Westfall, of Smith- 
ville, was the one child of this union • and when he was still 
in "the frocks of babyhood" his young mother passed on, and 
on the Frederick homestead she sleeps. 

On April 4, 185 !, leaving his young son with his ])arents, 
Mr. Westfall started for California — lured there b}' the gold 
excitement — where he amassed quite a fortune, and where 
he rose to prominence in State affairs. At one time, while 
digging for gold, he unearthed a nugget that weighted nine- 
teen ounces, and was valued at one thousand dollars. He 
served as Deputy Sheriff at Mariposa for four years, at the 
end of which time he was elected Road Commissioner and 
Supervisor, an office which he held for sixteen consecutive 
years, and one that is higher in point of importance than that 



THE WESTFALLS AND WHITES 77 

of our sheriff. Politically he is a Democrat, and he enjoyed 
the honor of being a member of the committee that escorted 
William Jennings Bryan, and his distinguished party on their 
tour through the "Golden State," during Mr. Bryan's first 
ciDmpaign for the Presidency ; and he had the pleasure of eat- 
ing several lunches that were prepared by the hand of Mrs. 
Bryan. On October 6, 1906, he bade adieu to his adopted 
state and returned to Smithville, where he is quietly spend- 
ing" the evening hours of his life with his son. Pie is now a 
nonagenarian, but his memory is a remarkable store-house 
of interesting reminiscences of pioneer days. Later, he died 
on October 30, llllO, and was laid away at Smithville, on the 
homestead of his son. 

William White, wliose heroic deeds "crov/n history's 
pages," was his great-grandsire, and few more valuable 
stories of early times have come under our notice than the 
ever interesting one of the life of this distinguished Indian 
fighter, which was told to Mr. Westfall by his great-grand- 
mother, Mrs. William White, when he was a child of seven 
years, and she, a venerable woman of one hundred two 
years. This is the only time that he remembers seeing this 
great-grandmother, but he has long treasured the story that 
she told him on that memorable day, which we here repro- 
duce in her own language, in part: 

The Grandmother's Story. — She called him to her and 
said that she wished to tell him the story of the life and the 
cruel death of his great-grandfather, William White, and that 
she hoped that he would remember what she this day should 
tell hini : 

vShe said "I was a Wallace, a relative of Sir William 
Wallace, of Scotland, and I am the wife of William White, 
the great scout and Indian fighter.'" There were three of 
the White brothers that came from Scotland to America, 
William, David and Jonathan. 

Jonathan went South and was never heard of again, it 
being supposed that he was killed by the Indians; and 
William and David settled near Winchester, Virginia. 



7S HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

While out hunting- here one day, A\'illiam came upon 
some Indians, and thinking that they were seeking his life, 
killed three of them ; but among the number was a squaw, 
and as he could not think of taking her life, he let her go, 
feeling confident that she would not know him. But she did 
recognize him, however; and as it was in time of peace and 
was a grave violation of the terms of the treaty, he was ar- 
rested and put in prison ; but his people raised such a storm 
about his confinement, and gathered around the jail and beat 
it down, and let him out the next dav. He and a man bv 
the name of Pringle then escaped to Buckhannon, and made 
their home in a hollow sycamore tree, near the mouth of 
Turkey run, on the Buckhannon river, near three miles below 
the present site of Buckhannon. She added, "Joel, you will 
doubtless see this tree. Your Grandmother Westfall is gone 
too early for you to remember her. Your father, your uncles, 
and your aunts are all living, but I, your great-grand- 
mother, must soon pass over." I am now one hundred two 
years old. Among m}- children, grandchildren and great- 
grandchildren, I see none that resembles your great-grand- 
father, but I see him in the blare of your eye, the shape of 
your head, and in your movement, and my little grandson, 
I hope that you will be able to remember what your great- 
grandmother says to you today, and that you will be able 
to punish the foul perpetrator and his allies for the cowardly 
murder of your great-grandfather, 'Billy White,' my hus- 
band. 

■'Your Uncle Heniy is next in resemblance to 'Billy.' 
Your father and uncles have all treated me kindly, and' I 
might have been living with them today, but I wished to 
live and die in the home that 'Billy' and I had impro\'ed, here 
on Hickory flat, with my son. I shall not be here long. Tr>- 
and remember the words of your great-grandmother. Eliza- 
beth Wallace White, my little sonny. I traveled alone from 
\\inchester, Virginia, to Buckhannon to join my husband in 
his tree house — over hills, deep rivers, and through lone 
forests, carrying my fire rolled up in a wet cloth, on horse- 
back, by day, that I might have it to kindle at night, in some 
secluded place, where I could roast my meat and drink the 



THE UESTFALLS AND WHITES 79 

pure water tliat gurgled there. Your great-grandfather and 
I lived many days here. I was many times alone in the fort 
or out on our little farm tending my garden, beans and corn, 
while Billy would be out on some scout, or fighting the In- 
dians back from the settlement. Your grandmother West- 
fall and I have spent many lonely days while our husbands 
were away, some times for months at a time, that they could 
not be at home. 

"About five weeks after I joined Billy in his 'tree house,' 
two or three of the Cutrights, two Prmgles. and ^mother per- 
son came and stopped, and a week or so later seven or eight 
more came, and they all took up farms and wenc to building- 
stout log houses, in which they would retreat when the In- 
dians would come near us, as there were always scouts out 
looking for the Indians. Billy had to be out most of his time, 
but would come in and bring his furs and pelts, and sell them 
so as to keep me plenty to eat and wear; and I could raise 
plenty of corn, beans and potatoes for the scouts when they 
'vvould come in. Billy and his brother, David, the Pringles 
and the Cutrights generally kept in touch with one another so 
as to give the alarm in case of danger. Some of them would 
run in and give us warning, so we had easier times." It was 
the duty of the scouts to warn any post in danger 

■'Billy was taken prisoner by the Indians, but soon made 
his escape, and things went along tliis way for som.e time, 
when the Indians began gathering and concentrating their 
forces around Cincinnati. Governor Dunmore and General 
Andrew Lewis had command of the Government forces, and 
they were called out to meet the Indians, who uere said to 
be gathered in. great numbers. Billy, David, and mosi of 
the other men vvcnt, leaving us women with a few old and 
crippled men to occupy the cabins and care for the stock, but 
we knew that the scouts would look after us, so the troops 
Avere preparing for a big contest — " 

Here a childish voice interrupted with. "Novv^, grandma. 
I want you to tell me all about the Battle of the Point." The 
grandriia replied, "Well, do you think you can remember 
what I tell you? as you are not more than five? However, 
I will try. Well, you see, my little sonny, but I will tell you 



so HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

what Pringle and Cutriglit told me on the .morning of the 
Battle of the Point: 

" 'General Lewis had detailed Billy White and John 
Cutright to go out and hunt, so as to procure meat for the 
troops. After being out a short time, they heard firing at 
the camp, and White said, 'John, there's a battle on, let's go 
in,' and immediately they started, but when they got inside 
of the lines, word reached White that his brother, David, 
had been shot, and that he was lying under a certain tree. 
They went at once to the tree and found him begging for a 
drink of water, and having no canteens, AVhite and three 
other men went and carried water to the dying man in their 
hats. They had to go between the lines — the two fires as 
they termed it, and the pawpaw bushes fell thick all around 
them, but they got back in safety. White, taking the cleanest 
looking hat in his hand said, 'Here, brother, is water, but 
when you drink you will die.' He then took him in his arms, 
and held him until he was dead, and laying him down gently, 
took up his gun as calmly as if going to do a day's work, and 
said, 'Come, John, let us go.' Cutright said he was a little 
at a loss to knowf w^hich way to go, as the Indians had 
already began to retreat across the creek, but he follo\^■ed, 
somewhat cautiously. 'White was watching to get a sliot at 
the Indians, and I (Cutright) had just heard him fire, and 
had sent one shot across the creek myself, when 1 noticed 
three Indians that were attempting to cross the cieek. White 
fired and one fell, then another shot from his gun brought 
the last one down, and the three went floating down the 
creek into the broad Ohio. He turned to me and said, 'I 
have had bad luck, John; I've lost three scalps, so let us gr 
for more.' And that evening he showed me seventeen scalps 
that he had taken with his own hand Avith my knowledge." 

" 'The Indians, being scattered a little, we went aroimd 
to where we heard some firing, I stopped to get a shot at 
one, but he dodged me, and hearing White fire several shots, 
I went toward him. He, seeing me, said, 'Come here, and let 
me show you how to kill Indians.' There close by a log he 
lay upon his back loading his gun. He said, 'Lie down, or 
they'll shoot you.' He lay there for some time popping 



THE JVESTFALLS AND WHITES Si 

one over now and then, that chanced to stick his head above 
the log; and cautioning me to beware, that there were still 
ip.ore in ambush, h^inally the eneni)' began shooting under 
the log, and finding the bullets coming too close, he moved 
farther away, but lying flat on the ground a,ll the while, until 
he felt confident that the last one was dead. When the In- 
dians were all scalped, he declared his intention to mvesti- 
gate the firing of a large gun. that he said he believed an In- 
dian was behind. So, off he went, and soon I heard no more 
of the big gun, but heard several shots in that direction, and 
in about an hour I saw him coming with two guns and two 
scalps. I said, 'Well, Bill, did you get the gun?' and he 
replied, 'Yes, and the hair, too,' holding up the scalps. He 
then asked me (John Cutright) what my success had been, 
and remarked that they were getting scarce here, only one 
here and there that had been detained b}^ a wounded Indian. 
VVe then counted our scalps, and he had seventeen, as before 
stated, and three got away. By that time the signals were 
calling the troops together, and — ' " 

Here again the little grandson, who had been an inter- 
ested listener, interrupted, saying, "Now, grandma, I have 
heard the story of the Battle of the Point (Point Pleasant), 
now please tell me of the cowardly murder of my great- 
grandfather, William AVhite. that you asked me to avenge; 
and. grandma, if you'll tell me the story I'll promise you if 
such a chance ever comes, I'll be there." 

"W^ell," the grandmother resumed, "I will give you a 
sliort history of it: "y\fter WHiite had built the fort at Buck- 
hannon, and had been in command of it and the troops for 
several years, a man by the name of Potros came into the 
fort and said that he had just come from near the mouth of 
the Little Kanawha river, and that he had seen signs of 
Indians crossing and coming toward the settlement; that he 
felt sure they were lurking about in ambush ; and Ihat he 
wanted to have his family and household goods removed to 
the fort on the next day. W'hite replied that he Avould send 
a company of men and wagons to bring them, but the man 
said, *Oh! I couldn't trust my family out without your pres- 



83 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

ence.' White said, 'Well, be ready, we'll be there in the 
morning.' 

'■'When they were fixing to start, I said, 'Billy, don't 
you go out today, send others. If you do you will be killed. 
I dreamed last night that I saw Indians pointing red hot 
guns at you. If you do go, Billy, you'll never get back alive.' 
But he replied, 'Well, Betty, if I don't go they will say that 
I am a coward,' and he thought it only a dream, and he went. 
When they reached their destination, all was right, there 
were no Indians to be seen. But he, going into the yard, 
discovered signs of the enemy there, and mentioned it to the 
rest. He said, 'They have been grinding their knives and 
tomahawks on the grindstone, and here is the fray of an In- 
dian blanket. Let us load up and get away.' After every- 
thing was loaded, and the wagons started, the trader or ren- 
egade, said, 'White, you and I and the girls will ride over 
the trail to the fort. It will not be much more than a mile, 
and we'll get there before the wagons.' " Just as the four 
reached the top of the hill, the Indians fired on them, and 
White was shot through just above the hips ; but did not fall 
from his horse, but as he turned down the hill they fired 
again, striking him in the back. His horse taking fright, 
started to run, and its foot, becoming entangled in the limb 
of a fallen tree, it fell throwing the rider, who was noted for 
being able to remount. But the Indians ran down the hill. 
and scalped him. and were ofif before any defense could be 
made. 

He was placed in a boat, but he breathed his last just 
as the boat reached the fort, and thus ended the life of one 
of the most renowned and intrepid leaders of Indian times. 
This fatal day was March the 8, in 1781 or '82, and the scene 
was near the present site of Buckhannon. 

Though the Indians were pursued, they had secreted 
their canoes, and made good their escape across the Ohio, 
before they could be overtaken. 



(Though varied versions of the life and death of Wliite have hereto- 
fore been told, this is doubtless the only authentic one. Mr. Westfall 
not only possesses a remarkable memory, but he has kept notes throug'h- 
out his life, and to these notes and to his memory, we are indebted for 
those early reminiscences, he having .«pent several months in writing them 
up for us. — Autlior.) 



CHAPTER VI 




South Fork Settlers—Continued 



LARGE number of the original settlers along 
this river lost their lands owino- to defective 
titles, and when they were laid away, the 
families of not a few of them sought homes 
in other parts of the country, and new and 
permanent setlers took their places. Hence 
the large number of early families along this 



river. 



A man by the name of Purviance, who resided in Balti- 
more, had, in Indian times, entered large tracts of land in 
this wilderness ; and an individual, claiming to be his repre- 
sentative, came here and sold these lands to the early set- 
tlers, and, near a score of years afterwards, wdien the right- 
ful owner sent his agent did these worthy pioneers learn of 
the fraud that had been practiced upon them. 

Henry Jackson. — Among the first to arrive after the orig- 
inal settlers was Henry Jackson, who came from his native 
county — Upshur, in 1830, an.d purchased the slight improve- 
ment made by the Belt family at the forks of Hughes river, 
of a man by the name of Byrd. 

Mr. Jackson was born near Buckhannon in 1813, and 
there he was married to Miss Lydia Reger; and from there 
he came to this county and settled on the old homestead 
where his son Ulysses now lives. Here he spent the re- 
mainder of his life, with the exception of a two years' resi- 
dence in Mason county, and here he has been sleeping since 
1865. His wife rests by his side. He was the father of three 
sons and one daughter besides the one above mentioned: 
^^rauville died in childhood; Virginia is Mrs. B. F. Alarshall. 



-.i HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

and Cisko and Isaac have passed on, leaving families who 
occupy their former estates, which lie near the old home. 

The Jacksons have an unusually interesting ancestral 
history. ' They are of Scotch-Irish origin. 

John Jackson, the progenitor of this famil}'^, was born 
near Londonderry, in the north of Ireland, near the beginning 
of the second-quarter of the eighteenth century, and with 
his parents removed to London, England, when he was but 
a boy. Here, he grew to manhood, and in 1748, he emigrated 
to America and settled in Calvert county, Maryland, where 
he was married to Aliss Elizabeth Cummins, of London, who 
crossed the water on the same ship with him. 

For a time after their marriage, thev resided on the 
South branch of the Potomac river, but near the year 1T68, 
they removed across the mountains to what is now Upshur 
county, A\'est Virginia, and settled at the mouth of Turkey 
run — just below^ Jackson's fort, and not far from the present 
site of Buckhannon, where they figured prominently in sav- 
age warfare. 

Mrs. Jackson was a woman of strong mind and of in- 
domitable courage, and she, as well as her husband, rendered 
most valuable service in times of Indian invasion. Patents 
are still in existence, which conveyed lands to her in her own 
right. 

These hardy pioneers were the parents of five sons and 
three daughters whose descendants are a mighty host 
throughout the country: 

George, Edward, John, Samuel and Henr}-, were ' the 
sons : and Elizabeth, Mary and Sophia the daughters — • 

Elizabeth was the late Mrs. Abram Brake, and ^lary, the 
late Mrs. Philip Reger, of Upshur county; and Sophia mar- 
ried Josiah Davis and lived and died at the old home, near 
Buckhannon. 

George, Edward and John, with their father, were Revo- 
lutionary soldiers and noted Indian fighters, their heroic deeds 
being recorded on the pages of "Border ^^^arfare." 

Near the year 1770, George Jackson settled on the Wtst 
Fork river in the vicinity of Clarksburg where he rose to emi- 
nence as a statesman, as well as a militarv man. 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 85 

Early in the Revolution he was commissioned colonel of 
a Virginia regiment, this commission having come direct 
from the hand of General Washington ; and after Harrison 
count}^ was formed in 1784, he represented his county in the 
House of Burgesses at Richmond. He was a member of the 
distinguished body that ratified the Constitution of the United 
States, in 1789, and he subsequently served several terms in 
Congress, being succeeded by his eldest son, John G. Jackson. 

George was the grandfather of the late Judge John Jay 
Jackson, of Parkersburg ; of the late Governor Jacob B. Jack- 
son, and of the late Judge J. Monroe Jackson, they being the 
sons of General John G. Jackson, who married the only 
daughter of Governor Meggs, of Ohio. 

General Jackson was a close friend of President .Madison 
and the marriage took place at the White House during the 
Madison administration. 

Edward Jackson married a ]\Iiss Hadden, of Randolph 
county, and his son, Jonathan who married Miss Julia Xea!, 
of Parkersburg, was the father of the late renowned "Stone- 
wall" Jackson, of Clarksburg. 

Henry Jackson.- — And from Plenry Jackson, senior, who 
was born, lived and died, near Buckhannon where he sleeps, 
the Ritchie county family come. He was the father of twenty- 
five children — fourteen of whom were born of his union with 
Mary Hire, and eleven of his marriage with Elizabeth Shreve. 

The children of the first marriage were: Esther, Permilia 
Elizabeth, (Mrs. Plugh Pribble, senior, mother of the Rev. 
U. Pribble, of Harrisville; Hugh Pribble of Cisko ; and the 
late Mrs. Charles Plarrison), Amanda Melvina (Mrs. Daniel 
Pribble), both of this county; William Vandwater. Hire, 
Edward, Mariah, Henry, junior, (the Ritchie pioneer), Rachel 
Esta (who died in her young womanhood), John Henderson 
Brake, Jacob, Ulysses, Mary (who married and went to Cali- 
fornia) and Cecelia who became Mrs. Louis Miller and also 
went to California. 

The children of the second marriage : Decatur, Samuel 
Dexter, James Alonzo, Marion Orlando, Melissa (Mrs. James 



SC HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Lowe), Roxana. George Washington. Artemeshia (Airs. An- 
drew Martinee), Clispo Mero, and Draper Camden Jackson. 

The Hostetters. — The Hostetters were among the next 
arrivals. They are of German origin. Ulwrick Hostetter 
crossed the sea with his family and settled near York, Penn- 
sylvania, and from there removed to Rockbridge county, 
Virginia, where he spent the remnant of his days, near Lex- 
ington. He was an Indian fighter, and with a party cf 
scouts, pursued a band of red men from Rockbridge county 
to Marietta, Ohio, on one occasion, where he shot one of the 
number that Avas across the river from him. On his return, 
with the rest of the part}^, he went down to the mouth of 
the Little Kanawha, and up this river, and thus, became the 
discoverer of the far-famed Burning springs in A\'irt county. 

John Hostetter, his son, was born in the Fatherland, and 
married Miss Elizabeth Riprogal, of Virginia, a sister of 
Mrs. Daniel Ayres, and came to this county in 1832, and 
spent the remainder of his life in the Smithville vicinity, 
where he and his wife sleep. He served as captain in the 
w^ar of 1812 ; and was the head of a family of four sons and 
three daughters : 

David, Andrew, John, jvmior, and Jacob, the last two 
being twins ; Sallie, the eldest daughter became Mrs. Ford of 
V^irginia, and went to Jamestown, Ohio where she died : 
Mary became Mrs. Welhellam, and remained in Rockbridge 
county; and Elizabeth married Alexander Glover and came 
to this county. 

John R. Hostetter married Miss Louisa Webb, daughter 
of Benjamin Webb, and lived and died in the Smithville 



Note. — This family are cloubtle.ss, connected to the late PresldenL An- 
drew Jackson, of Tennessee; for when George Jack'^on was in Congress he 
formed a friendship with Andrew Jackson and they were able to trace 
their ancestry to the same parish in Londonderry, although they were 
unable to positively establish the connection; but similar characteristics 
and other circumstances almost establish the fact beyond cavil. 

To I?-aac Newton Brake of Buckhannon who is a first cousin of 
"Stonewall" Jackson, and a second, of Henry Jackson, junior, we are in- 
debted for the greater part of this valuable sketch. And while there ib 
a little disagreement on the names in this record, as some cannot recall 
the names of Esther and Mariah and add that of Cecelia Miller to the 
children of the first union of Henry Jackson, senior, it is quite likely 
that these two died in cliildhood. For Mr. Brake asserts that this gentle- 
man was the father of twenty-five children, and if John Henderson Brake 
is meant for two sons (we were unable to tell) doubtless Cecelia belongs 
to the last family as one name is missing 'nere. 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED S? 

vicinity. He was the fallier of Mrs. Martha (Martin) Smith, 
Mrs. Minerva Parl<er, and of the late Mrs. Elizabeth (Alvus) 
Smith, of Smithville. 

David married Miss Cathrine Fisher, of Rockbridge 
county, and came to this county at an early day and spent 
the remainder of his life. His children were — -Mrs. VV. A. 
Valentine, Goff's ; Mrs. Mary A. Leason, Pennsboro ; Mrs. 
V'erna Thorne, Buckhannon ; the late Mrs. Martha Smith, of 
the West; Davidson, of Smithville; and Elizabeth, who died 
in youth. 

Alexander Glover and Miss Elizabeth Hostetter were 
married in Rockbridge county, Virginia, in 1833, and three 
years later, they came to this county, and settled on 
the Glover homestead, above Smithville, where they re- 
mained until they were borne to the Smithville ceme- 
tery. He was a carpenter by trade and was one of the earliest 
in the county. He was the constructor of the firsi jail build- 
ing at Harrisville. Mrs. Glover survived him by many years, 
and the old home is still owned by tlie heirs, though now in 
the hands of tenants: They were the parents of nine sons 
and one daughter, who died in childhood: John, the eldest 
son never married, and in the Smithville cemetery he was 
laid at a ripe old age. Jacob, and Taylor, also slumber here. 
Williams, sleeps in Arkansas, where his family reside; Robert 
lives at Clarksburg; Asa, at Fairmont; Charles, at Spencer; 
Samuel is unmarried ; and Dr. J. R. at Morgantown. 

Jacob, William, and Robert were soldiers of the Civil 
war. 

Samuel Hyman was another early settler from Rock- 
bridge county, Virginia. Here he was born on Novem- 
ber 12, 1812, and he came to this county in his early man- 
hood, and married Miss Elizabeth Webb, daughter of Benja- 
min Webb, and settled on the Hyman homestead, below 
Smithville, which is still owned by hi? heirs. 

He was a blacksmith by trade and a noted hunter. He 
died on April 6, 1904, at the home of his daughter, Mrs, 
Martha Holt, near Morgantown ,and was laid at rest in the 
Webb cemetery by the side of his wife. 



88 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The children of this family were as follows : Mrs. 
Minerva, late wife of John P. Kennedy, of Smithville ; Mrs. 
Mary Roberts, Mrs. Martha Holt, wife of the late William 
Holt, of Morgantown ; Hattie died in youth ; Benjamin, in the 
Civil war ; and John resides near Smithville. 

Mr. Hyman was the son of Hyman and Mrs. 

Rachel Hostetter Hyman — his mother being the sister of 
John Hostetter, senior. Both his parents sleep in Virginia. 
His mother was married a second time to Aldridge Evans, of 
Rockbridge county, and they were the parents of the late A. 
J. Evans, of the Cross-roads ; J. M. of Lamb's run ; Mrs. Mar- 
garet (Morgan) Rexroad, Mrs. Martha Mitchell, and Eliza- 
beth, who died single. After the death of the mother all the 
rest of the family came to this county, and here they sleep. 
The father lies on the McNeill homestead where most of the 
other members of the family rest. 

The Ayreses. — The year 1836 brought Daniel A3a-es with 
his family, which incliKJed his parents, his sister, Mrs. Polly 
Campbell, and his son-in-law, Henry Webb, from Rockbridge 
county. Virginia to the McNeill homestead. They started 
on their long and perilous journey over the Allegheny mount- 
ains in November in three large covered wagons with their 
household efit'ects, driving their cows before them, and not 
imtil the first- week in Januar}^ after seven weeks of suffer- 
ing and hardships, did they reach their destination. 

Mr. Ayres had purchased two hundred acres of land here 
of the Purviance survey with a small improvement upon it — 
a two-roomed log house and a few acres of cleared land. The 
location which is to-day a most beautiful one with its mod- 
ern conveniences and improvements, is said to have been a 
picturesque one at that time in its sylvan beauty with its his- 
toric surroundings. 

The river had, in prc-historic times, evidently formed a 
bend entirely round the farm, but had changed its course at 
a later period ; and at the time of the coming of Mr. Ayres. 
the channel had filled up, making a beautiful level bottom, 
though the ancient river bed was still "visible and interest- 
ing." A mound supposed to contain relics of an unknown 
and pre-historic race was another feature of special interest 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 89 

on this farm, and but a few hundred yards from the house 
were the ruins of an ancient fortification — an excavation of 
several feet having been made and the earth thrown up into 
an embankment. Flints, darts and arrow heads were found 
in large numbers about the ground — serving as silent re- 
minders that this had once been the "happy hunting-ground 
of a vanished race" whose history, however interesting, will 
never be known. 

Mr. Ayres was of Irish lineage. His grandfather, Daniel 
Ayres came from Ireland and settled on the Susquehannah 
river in Pennsylvania, where Daniel Ayres, junior, (father of 
Daniel of the McNeill homestead) we.s born in 1745. 

In 1773. Daniel Ayres, junior, was married to Miss Ellen 
McGee, who was born in Baltimore of Irish parentage in 1745, 
and from this city, they went to Rockbridge county, Virginia, 
where they established their home and reared a family, which 
were as follows : 

lohn, the pioneer school-teacher of this county ; Charles, 
Lewis, Mrs. Polly (VVm.) Campbell, and Daniel (IH) who 
was the youngest son, and the head of the Ritchie county 
family. 

Daniel and Ellen McGee Ayres came to this county with 
their son, as already mentioned, and on the McNeill home- 
stead they lie in their last sleep. He died at the age of ninety- 
seven, and she, at the age of ninety-five. 

Daniel Ayres (III) was born in 1789, and he was married 
to Miss Hannah Riprogal, who was born of German parentage 
in Virginia, in 1787. 

Mr. Ayres served as captain in the war of 1812, and while 
at Norfolk in 1814 where he had been ordered with his com- 
pany to assist in the defense of the city, he was stricken with 
yellow fever and when able to be out again, after spending 
sixteen weeks in the hospital, the enemy's vessels were still 
hovering about the city in a threatening manner, though no 
attack was made. 

He served as justice of the peace almost throughout his 
residence here, and was one of the chief factors in the organ- 
ization of the county, in 1843 — a short time before his death. 



;"• mSTORV OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

whicli was clue to typhoid fever. He and his wife both died 
oi this malady near the same time, and side by side they He 
at rest on the JNIcNeill homestead. Their children were nine 
in number ; viz., Jackson died in early manhood, and one in 
infancy. Margaret married Henry Webb and went to Mis- 
souri where she rests. Ellen was the wife of John Starr, Eliza, 
of James Starr; Sarah, of Dr. Wm. R. Lowther ; and the late 
John B. 

John B. Ayres, the 3roung-est son of this family, abo\'e 
mentioned was long" prominently known in this county. He 
was born in the Old Dominion almost within the shadow of 
historic old Lexington, and not far from the Natural bridge, 
in 1831, and was a child of but five summers when his parents 
came to the McNeill homestead. Six years later they both- 
passed on, and he being thrown upon the world, bound him- 
self to J. J. Vandivort, the Harrisville saddler and harness- 
maker, in 1847, and worked as an apprentice in his shop for 
the next fotir one-half years. He was then a journeyman 
saddler, and merchant for several years, before settling down 
to his trade at Harrisville, in 1870, where he remained until 
19'>3, when his declining health prompted him to seek a 
change of climate, which he found in Colorado, after visiting 
Zion City, the far-famed domain of the late Alexander Dowie, 
for a brief time. After a short stay in the West, he then re- 
sided near Washington City, and at Grafton for a time before 
going to Spencer in Roane county. He died at his home at 
Sapulpa, Oklahoma, in November, 1910, and there his remains 
were interred. 

He married Miss Anna Hall daughter of llannibal Hall, 
who was twenty-three years his junior, and the two sons. 
Edgar and Charles, born of this union both died in infancy. 

The Princes. — The name Prince became identified with 
the Webb's mill vicinity, in the year 1850, when the late John 
H. Prince married Miss Drusilla Webb, daughter of Benja- 
min Webb, and became the partner of his father-in-law in the 
mill and the mercantile business. The store was destroyed 
in I860, by the Jones' raid, but he remained in connection 
with the mill luitil his death, near 1877. He sleeps by his 
wife in the Webb's cemetery. He was born in 1815; and was 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 91 

the father of three sons and two daughters : B. F. Prince, 
Cantwell ; and John Willian, and Robert J., who with their 
sister, Mrs. Anna E. M. (John P.) Kennedy, have passed on: 
and Mrs. Martha Frances (E. S.)Byrd, is of Wood county. 

Captain AVilliam Prince came from Prince William coun- 
ty, Virginia, and settled near Claysville in Wood county at 
an early day. Fie was born on August the 31, 17TJ:, and died 
on September 4, 1825. 

He married Miss Frances Groves, and was the father of 
Elizabeth Prince, who married David Sleeth, the founder of 
Smithville; of William R., Mary A., Robert K., Nancy J., 
John H., Benjamin G.. and Frances, J. G. Prince. John Fl. 
and Mrs. Sleeth were the two that were identified here. After 
the death of Captain William Prince his widow was married 
to Mr. Vandiver, of Wood county, and the late James V. B. 
and Jerome A. Vandiver. of Louisville, Kentucky were the 
fruits of this union. 

The Tinglers.— The year 1836, brought Henry Tingler 
and his wife, Mrs. Mary Phryne Tingler from their native 
county — Harrison, to the B. H. Wilson homestead, which for 
long years after his death was known as the ''Tingler farm." 
Mr. Tingler remained in this part of the county until his 
death, and on the E. R. Tibbs' farm, beside his companions, 
he found a resting place. After his first wife, passed on, he 
married Miss Jane Campbell, and on Indian creek, spent his 
last hours. 

He was the father of ten children, all by his first mar- 
riage except one son, Thomas, who lived in some other pare 
of the country. 

The children of his first union were as follows : Granville, 
Cebart, John, the late Mrs. Tabitha (Daniel) Ayres, the late 
Mrs. Elizabeth (Wm.) Collins, Mrs. Matilda (Washington) 
Elliott, Mrs. Julia Westfall— mother of W'. H. Westfall, of 
Flarrisville ; Mrs. John Ayres, of Long Run ; and Mrs. Rosetta 
Prunty Martin Gardner Schoolcraft. 

John married Miss Eveline Marlm and was the father of 
Peyton Tingler and of Mrs. Safronia Propts Tibbs, of Lamb's 



92 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

run. He was a L nion soldier during the war, as was Gran- 
ville, but he died in the Saulsbury prison in North Carolina. 

Cebart, who resides on Macfarlan was a Confederate sol- 
dier. 

Granville married Miss Mahala Schoolcraft, daughter of 
Aaron Schoolcraft, and was the pioneer on tlie farm where 
he still resides, on Dry run near Juna. He is the father of : 

Morgan, of Eva ; Aaron, Mrs. John Flemming, Mrs. 
Thamer Newlon, and Miss Addie Tingler, and the late Mrs. 
Samantha M. (R. W.) Goff, all of Juna. 

A. P. Hardman. — Asbury Poole Hardman was the first 
CO mark the forest on the Osbourne farm east of Hardman 
chapelf He was born on the old homestead that is now his 
estate, on January 18, 1827 ; and shortly after his marriage to 
Miss Thankful Ann Gofif, daughter of Thomas Goff, in 1850, 
began to carve out his fortune on the Osbourne farm. He 
inherited the faith of his fore-fathers, and was long a pillar in 
the church at Hardman chapel. He died on July 30, 1903 on 
the sixth anniversary of the death of his wife, having spent 
his entire life within the bounds of the community where he 
was born ; and in the churchyard at Hardman chapel, by the 
side of his wife, he sleeps. 

He was the father of thirteen children : His sons, Jehu 
R., Charles F., James H., and his daughters, Mrs. Nora Hen- 
dershot, and Mrs. Louella Carder Sutherland, all reside in the 
West; and Mrs. Paulina Smith, Misses Verna and Vedella A., 
all rest there; T. A. and A. K. are of Fonsoville ; and A. L., 
of Burnt House; the other two died in childhood. 

The Osbournes. — John Osbourne, senior, was the second 
owner of the Osbourne farm which is now the home of his 
grandson, M. R. Osbourne. 

Mr. Osbourne came from the "Buckeye State" to this 
vicinity more than sixty years ago, and purchased what is 
now the A. P. Hardman, the A. K. Hardman, the Otis Mc- 
Neill and the Cumberledge farms. (He also owned what is 
now the Lowther homestead) ; and some years later he and 
]\Ir. Hardman traded farms, and by this exchange they each 
obtained permanent homes; for here they remained until they 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 'Jlj 

were borne to their final resting places. It will be remem- 
bered that the late Rev. James Hardman, father of A. P., had 
owned and lost the A. P. Plardman homestead owing to a de- 
fective title before the coming of the Osbournes. 

The Osbournes are of English descent. John Osbourne, 
senior, was a soldier of the war of 1812 ; he served under a cap- 
tain by the name of Christopher Columbus, and was in the 
engagement at Bladensburg. He was a bricklayer by trade, 
and was one of the number that helped to lay the first wing 
of the Capitol building" at Washington City ; and the old 
trowel that he used in this historic M'ork, is now a cherished 
possession of his grandson, M. R. Osbourne. 

He was three times married, but the name of his first 
wife is missing. The second, however, was Miss Sarah Bald- 
win, of Washington city, who died at their home in Knox 
county, Ohio, in August, 1849 ; and the third was Mrs. 
Augusta Henry Welsh, of New York, who was the mother of 
one daughter, Carrie Osbourne, the late wife of j. R. Hard- 
man, of Missouri. 

Mr. Osbourne died on February 11, 1871, and filled the 
first grave in the Hardman chapel churchyard ; and after his 
death, bis widow married the late Rev. Eli Riddel, of Riddel's 
chapel, and there she sleeps. 

The sons of the first marriage — Frank and Daniel went to 
Kansas where their descendants live. 

The children of the second marriage were as follows : 

The late J. William, and Addison, of Hardman chapel 
vicinity; Mrs. Kathrine (Levi) Kirkpatrick, of Slab creek; the 
late Mrs. Matilda Welsh, and Joshua, Iowa ; the late Mabray, 
Kansas ; Marion, who lost his life In the Union cause ; and 
James, who died shortly after his marriage, to Miss Hila Cun- 
ningham, the late Mrs. John Modisette, sleep on the A. P. 
Hardman homestead. Mary became the wife of Perry Cun- 
ningham, and was the mother of Mrs. Phebe Foster, of Penns- 
boro ; Addison, who was the father of J. M., of Parkersburg; 
and Joshua, and Mabray, were also Union soldiers. 

James S. Hardman, brother of A. P., succeeded his father 
on the old homestead west of Hardman chapel, where his son, 
Sherman Hardman, now resides. He was born on October 



94 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

31, 1829; and near the year 1856, he was married to Miss Hila 
Ann Gofif, daughter of George Goft", who was born on May 
5, 1836, and at the old home above mentioned he Hved and 
died. 

The -same old hills that were resonant with the funeral 
notes of the bell when he was borne to his final resting place 
in the Hardman churchyard, on June 21, 1900, reverberated 
the first sound that fell from his childish lips seventy years 
before. For here he was born : here Nature smiled upon him 
in youth, and in the pride of manhood, and looked on in sym- 
pathetic silence when the mantle of sorrow fell heavily upon 
him in "manhood's middle day," and from here he passed into 
the presence of the great King. 

He was a soldier of the Union army, an exhorter and a 
pillar in the Methodist Episcopal church. 

On March 9, 1879, the wife of his youth bade adieu to 
earth, and a little later he was married to 3iliss Elizabeth 
Frederick, daughter of Joseph Frederick, who only survived 
the nuptial hour by twelve weeks. Fie then married Aliss 
Edmonia Rogers, daughter of John B. Rogers, who died after 
a few brief years, leaving two little sons, Sherman, and Creed, 
who died at the age of four years. Mrs. Sarah Jane Galloway 
Flesher widow of Asa Flesher was the next wife, and Mrs. 
Ruama Starcher Northcraft, widow of the Rev. Richard 
Northcraft is the surviving one. His first wife, only, sleeps 
by his side. 

The children of the first union are as follows: F. C., G. 
C., Fremont, Sheridan, T. E., Mrs. Safronia Dailey, the late 
Ulysses, and Rosa A., and one that died in infancy. 

The Tibbses. — The Tibbses, too have have been identi- 
fied with this part of the county for more than sixty years, 
and their ancestral history is one of exceptional interest. 
Their antecessor, whose first name is wanting, came from Ire- 
land, some time during the last half of the eighteenth century, 
and settled in the Virginia colon}-, where his son, James 
Tibbs was born ; and where he was married to a Miss Wor- 
Icy. On the morning following the marriage, Jarnes with his 
bride, set out for what is now IMonongalia county. West Vir- 
ginia, where he made a pioneer settlement, a little west of 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 95 

Morgantown, not long after the close of the Revolution. He 
was, perhaps, a soldier of this war, and was a captain in the 
war of 1812, being present with his company at the seige of 
Fort Meiggs. 

Here, near Morgantown. his first wife died, and he mar- 
ried Miss Jennie Morgan, sister of the renowned Indian 
fighters. David, Levi, and James Morgan.^ 

Mr. Tibbs was a slave owner, and at one time he was the 
possessor of twenty slaves, half of which were the heritage 
of his wife ; but sixteen of this number in a body managed to 
make their escape across the Pennsylvania line. He spent his 
last days in Monongalia county where he sleeps. 

He was the father of three sons b}^ the first marriage: 
Joseph was a soldier under General Harrison, and fell at the 
battle of Big Bend in Indiana. John was also killed in Indian 
warfare ; and Robert was tlie remaining son. 

Robert Tibbs married Miss Castilla Burris, of Monon- 
galia county, a cousin of the late Waitman T. Willey, 
of Morgantown, and came to this county in 1848, and 
settled on the Hatfield farm at Gofif's, where Mrs. llbbs 
was laid to rest in 1852 ; and from there, he removed 
to the farm that is now the home of his son, E. R. Tibbs. He 
figured in the early afl:'airs of the county as justice of the 
peace — an office which he held for many years. He died in 
1876, while on a visit with his sons in the West, he being past 
eighty years of age at the time of his death ; and in the Snow 
Hill cemetery in Missouri, his ashes lie. He was the father of 
seven sons : 

Boaz B. Tibbs, the eldest son. was graduated from Ihe 
Virginia Military Institute, at Lexington with high honors — 
the title of Colonel being conferred upon him by this institu- 
tion. He was a member of the order of Freemasons, and held 
the highest ofihce in this brotherhood in the State, at the time 



'David Morgan is said to liave slvinned and dre-sed the liide of one 
of the Indians that lie killed. However, the writer has a stereopticon 
picture of the monument that the descendants of David Morgan erected 
to his memory, a few years since, on the site where his most famous 
combat with the red-skins occurred. Tlie shot-pouch, saddle-skirt, etc. 
made from the skin of the Indian were on exhibition at the unveiling of 
the monument, which stands, just across the river from the little villajre 
of Catawba in Marion county, on the Morgan estate. The knife with 
which the Indian was killed is still in the hands of the Morgan descend- 
ants, who own a large estate near Catawba. 



i'U HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

of his death, in ]853. He resided near Fairmont at this tnne. 
and his remains were placed in a metalHc casket, and covered 
with alcohol, and buried in the ground, at Fairmont; but 
some years after they were dis-interred and removed to a vault, 
at the mouth of Indian run, near six miles below Fairmont, 
on land belonging to his heirs; and long after their removaal. 
the features are said to have presented a perfectly natural ap- 
pearance, so well had they been preserved b}^ the alcohol. 

John, the second son, went to Missouri, where he sleeps. 
He was a soldier, and a non-commissioned ofificer of the Civil 
war. 

Eugene, who Avas an early deputy sheriff of this county, 
resides in South Dakota. He was commissioned as captain 
in the secret service of the Southern Confederacy, but the war 
came to a close before he was called into active service. 

William went to Missouri, and there enlisted in the Union 
cause, and rose to the rank of captain. He now resides in the 
Virginia colony in Texas. 

Francis M., who was a Confederate soldier resides at 
Paris, Missouri ; T. D.. and E. R. Tibbs, are of this part of the 
county. The latter was a non-commissioned officer of the 
Union army. 



Other pioneers along this river, whose names belong to 
our history were John W. Mitchell, John W'ass and Jeremiah 
Snodgrass. 

John W. Mitchell made his settlement at Pleasant hill. 
He and his wife, Mrs. Leanna Haddox Mitchell, were both 
natives of Barbour county; and shortly after their marriage 
in 1835, they came to this county and settled in a pole cabin 
at the mouth of Bone creek, on the farm that was later desig- 
nated as the "'Butcher farm" — now owned by the heirs of the 
late Alex Pru.nty ; and from here, they removed to the farm 
that is now the estate of the late Joseph Haddox — Mrs." 
Mitchell's brother, and thus became the first citizens of the 
forest at Pleasant hill. They afterwards resided at different 
points in the county, but both sleep in the "Old Pleasant hill" 
cemetery. Mrs. Mitchell died at Eva in 1892, and he, at 
Pennsboro in January 1898, at the age of eighty-three years. 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 97 

These venerable people were the parents of twelve 
children, two of whom died in infancy, and one, Jerome, at 
the age of four years. 

Few parents have been called upon to mourn more deep- 
ly. Their daughters Xancy (Mrs. Reilly Mason), Mrs. Sarah 
(C. F.) Beall, Mrs. Mary (Phonso) Welsh, Mrs. Huldali 
(Charles) Zickafoose, all died of consumption ; and the three 
sons that reached the years of maturity — -B. F., Marion and J. 
Marshall, all met tragic deaths; Mrs. Kathrine (Lemuel) Wil- 
son, of Smithville ; and Tabitha, who first married Jonathan 
Baker, but is now Mrs. Eber Mason, of Pennsboro, alone sur- 
vive. 

The three sons were all soldiers of the Union army, and 
Marion was injured by the bursting of a shell, while in battle, 
which resulted in his being an invalid for the remaining" six 
years of his life. 

J. Marshall was brutally murdered in Somerset county, 
Pennsylvania, the body being dragged near a mile and a quar- 
tei from the scene of the tragedy, and placed upon the rail- 
road track, where it was dreadfully mutilated by the train. 
It was thought that a jealous rival, assisted by tl;e father ot 
the girl in question, was the perpetrator of the crime, but no 
one was ever brought to justice. The remains were sent 
home and laid away at Pleasant hill, but the broken-hearted 
loved ones were not permitted to take a last look. 

Banjamin Franklin Mitchell met liis death by drowning. 
While piloting a raft down the river, he was overtaken by a 
\'iolent storm, and, in the darkness, he was lost. The tragedy 
occurred in October, 1884, and though every efifort was made 
to find the body, it lay concealed in its watery hiding place, 
just above the forks of Hughes river, for nine months : being 
accidentally discovered at Jast, by u citizen of the vicinity, 
who having missed his aim at a hawk, turned his attention 
to the fish in the water. The features were beyond recogni- 
tion, but he was identified by his watch, in which his name 
was engraved, and b}^ letters that were found upon his per- 
son, llie remains were taken to the Kendall burying-ground 
for interment; and as the dear old mother, sorrowfully bent 
over the casket unable to look within, she spoke of the other 



98 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY- 

son that had been sent home in a Hke manner — that she could 
not see, and she sadly exclaimed and, '"This is no better!" 

B. F. Mitchell was at one time sheriff of this county, and 
he was the only son of the family that left issue. He was 
married to Miss Sarah Cathrine Kendall, daughter of Ransom 
Kendall in 1867, and was the father of S. H. Mitchell, editor 
of the Kanawha News of Elizabeth, Wirt county ; of B. F. 
Mitchell, who is employed in "The Youth's Copmanion" office 
at Boston ; of Roy. and Miss Agnes, of Pullman ; Mrs. Ella 
Riddel, and Mrs. Daisy Reynolds, of Harrison county. His 
widow is now Mrs. FI. B. Mason, of Pullman. 

John Wass settled on the farm that is known as the 
Harrison AA'ass homestead, above Goff's — now the home of 
Peter Wass, where Cornelius Wyers had made a slight ini- 
provement. He was the son of George Wass, an Englishman, 
wdic came across the sea and settled in Somerset county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he (John) was born, and where he was mar- 
ried to Aliss Barbara Boyers, a German maiden. In the spring 
of 184:1. he and his wife with their several children, came from 
near Petersburg, to the "Wass homestead," where they re- 
mained until they were laid in the Pleasant hill cemetery. Mr. 
Wass met his death at the hand of an assassin in July, 1863, 
while on his way home from Harrisville. He was taken back to 
that place, where he died from the eft'ects of the bullet wound 
a few hours later, but not until he had made a statement con- 
cerning the tragedy. 

He was the father of ten children ; all of whom reared 
families of their own save one son, who died in childhood. 

Mrs. Lucinda (Eugene) Barker, and Mrs. Mahala (R. H.) 
Rogers, are now numbered with the dead, but the rest survive. 
Mrs. Elizabeth (H. B.) Tharpe. resides near Holbrook; Mrs. 
Amanda (Ebeneezer) Tharp, near Auburn: Mrs. Sarah 
(Joseph) Haddox, Berea ; Mrs. Larue (E. R.) Tibbs, and 
William, at Goff's; Mrs. Luvina (J. R.) Westfall, at Smith- 
ville : and Harrison Wass, at Harrisville. 

Jeremiah Snodgrass took up his residence below Berea. 
where his daughter, Mrs. John Colgate, now lives. He and 
his wife, Mrs. Euphamy Clayton Snodgrass, came from 
Marion county in 1845, and redeemed this farm from its primi- 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 99 

tive wilderness. Here, they passed from earth — he, in 1880, 
and she, four years later, and side by side they slumber in the 
Old Pleasant hill burying-ground. He was the son of Frank- 
lin and Rachel Burr Snodgrass, and was the father of thirteen 
children : 

B. F., and Jeremiah, Harrisville; Ezekiel, of Marion 
county; the Rev. Elisha, of Auburn, Mrs. Nancy (Greenbury) 
Hammond, Berea ; Mrs. Isabel (Thomas) Baker, of Hale, 
Missouri ; and Mrs. Rachel Wagner, of Newberne, are all 
numbered with the dead. E. C, resides at Smithville; John, 
ai Harrisville , Mrs. Sarah Colgate, at Berea ; Mrs. Elizabeth 
(Thomas) Prather, at Mt. Zion; David L., in Marion county; 
and W. C, in Florida. 

This pioneer was the grandfather of the distinguished 
pulpit orator, the Rev. Winfield C. Snodgrass, of the Methodisl 
Episcopal conference of New Jersey, who, while on a tour in 
Europe, some years ago, was accorded the honor of an invita- 
tion to fill Spurgeon's pulpit. He is the son of the Rev. Elisha 
and Mrs. Mary Cox Snodgrass, and near Auburn he first saw 
the light, on December 37, 1849. He began his ministerial 
career as a member of the West Virginia conference, and 
from here went to the Kansas conference, where he remained 
for some years, before going to New Jersey, where he has 
added new laurels to his brow. * 

The Rev. Hall Snodgrass, who is now serving a Baptist 
church in Oklahoma ; and the Rev. McClellan Snodgrass of 
the New York M. E. conference are also grandsons of this 
pioneer. 

William Snodgrass. — William .Snodgrass, an uncle of 
Jeremiah, was the first one of the name to come to Ritchie 
county. He was a native of Pennsylvania and a soldier of 
the war of 1813. In 1807, he was married to Miss Nancy King, 
who passed on in 1834, from their home in Marion county, 
leaving eight children to his care. Two years later, he was 
again married to Miss Mary Pritchard — half-sister of Peter 
Pritchard, and in 1841 he came to this county, and penetrated 
the unbroken forest on Turtle run — a small tributary of the 
South fork — above Berea, and reared the first cabin on the 
farm that is now the home of his youngest son, T. C. Snod- 



t: «) <k n f /' 



100 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

grass ; and here he died in 1879, at the age of ninety-six years, 
and at W^liite Oak, he sleeps. 

The children of his first marriage were : John Wesley 
Snodgrass, who died in Iowa, a few years ago. at the age of 
ninet3^-one years — having been a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal church for seventy-three years ; Mrs. Frances 
(Nicholas) Baker, and Mrs. Alartha (Elijah) A'lorgan, who 
sleep in Marion county; Mrs. Naoma (Davis) Meredith, late 
of T3der county; Mrs. Nancy Pierce, Mrs. Comfort Ewins, 
and Airs. Isabel (Jared) Hawkins, of Ohio ; and Sarah, who 
married Solomon Hawkins and lived and died in this county. 

The children of the second marriage were five in number 
and were as follows: W. F., who rests in Kansas; B. F., in 
the State of Washington; Eliza, who died in infancy; Mrs. 
Margaret A., who married George Carder and lives in Ohio : 
and T. C. Snodgrass, who lives at the old homestead. Mrs. 
Snodgrass died at the home of her daughter in Ohio, and 
there she sleeps. 

The Snodgrasses are of Irish origin. Three brothers. 
W'illiam, James, and Michael Snodgrass, came from Ireland 
and settled in W'^ashington county, Pennsylvania. Michael 
wandered away, and was never heard from again, and W^illian-. 
and James removed to Monongalia — now Marion — county 
{\\.) Virginia, in 1787; and three years later James met a 
tragic death at the hands of the Indians, on Fishing creek in 
W'etzel county, while in quest of his horse that he had lost 
while on a bufifalo chase. His remains were afterwards found 
and buried, but not until the flesh had been torn from the 
bones by the fangs of wolves. 

William married Miss Kathrine Yost,^ a German maiden, 
ar.d from his sons. William, junior. Isaac, and Franklin, the 
Ritchie county Snodgrasses are descended. 

Isaac was the father of the lace ]\Irs. John Parker, of 
Nathan, who went W est, and of Elias Snodgrass, who died in 
Doddridge county. 

John Harris. — John Harris was another worthy pioneer 
of Tin"tle run. He was born in Flarrison county, on January 
25, 1814, and there in 1838, he was married to Miss Dorinda 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTLXUED 101 

Coburn, who died a few years later, leaving one son, Geary 
Harris, who is now a citizen of Harrison count3^ He then 
married Miss Elizabeth Pritchard, sister of Peter Pritchard, 
who was born on February 20, 1812, and in 1846, when Tur- 
tle run was almost a wilderness they came to this county and 
settled on the farm that is now the home of their son, A. F. 
Harris. Flere they passed from earth — she, on March 25, 
1876, and he, on March 23, 1904. Both sleep at White Oak. 
He reached the venerable age of ninety years, and was revered 
by all who knew him, as was his companion. 

Their children were : Eliza J., who died in youth ; George 
W., of Harrison county; the late Mrs. Martha (H. C.) Cox, 
and Mrs. Millie F. (G. W.) Hayhurst, and Alpheus F. Harris, 
Pullman; and the late Mrs. Nancy Rebecca (Wesley) McCor- 
mick, of Tyler county. 

Jacob Ehret. — The Ehrets were, also, early peoplf^ on this 
stream. Jacob Ehret, senior, came from his native land — Ger- 
many, in 1810, when his son, Jacob, junior, was but a child of 
six summers, and settled at Philadelphia. Jacob, junior, niar- 
ried Miss Joanna Seizer, a German lassie, of the Keystone 
state, and near the year 1845, they migrated to West Virginia 
and settled in Doddridge county, for a few months, before coni- 
ing to Hughes' river, where they sojourned, for a time on land 
now owned by G. M. Ireland; and from there they removed 
to Turtle run, where they remained until they were laid in 
the Pine Grove cemetery, at P>erea. They were the parents 
of the late William Ehret, Mrs. Hannah Bee, Mrs. Mary John- 
son, and John Ehret, all of this county ; and of Mrs. Cathriue 
Bee, of Massachusetts. 

Benjamin Prather was born in Washington county, Mary- 
land, in 1798, and there he was married in ISilO, to Miss 
Cathrine Dick, who was born in 1800, and. in the year 1845, 
they joined the little colony on Turtle run, and here they 
remained until they were borne to the Pullman cemetery. 

They were the parents of James Prather, of Spruce creek : 
Thomas, of Slab creek; the late Jacob Prather, and Mrs. Frank 
Snodgrass, and Mrs. John Snodgrass. 



CHAPTER VII 




South Fork Settlers—Continued 

RESTON ZINN, brother of Maniy, was the 
first settler at Berea, on the Ezekiel Bee 
farm. He, with his wife, Mrs. Nancy Rogers 
Zinn, came from Preston county, in 1849. 
and erected his cabin almost on the very site 
that is now marked by the residence of Min- 
ter Fox ; and from here he removed to the 

J. E. Meathrell farm, where he came to his death by the '"kick" 

of a plow. 

After he was laid away in the Pine Grove cemetery, his 

family went to Illinois and there, and in California, they now 

reside. 

His children were ten in number; viz., Mrs. Elizabeth 

Kuhn, the late Mrs. Angelina (David ) Clayton, the late Mrs. 

Adaline (Ishmael) Clayton, Thomas, Ginevera, Perdilla, Biba, 

Elendar, Phedora, and Ruth but several of the last ones named 

died in childhood. 

Thomas D. Pritchard, also came to Berea this same 
year — 1849 — and erected his dwelling where the J. M. Mere- 
dith residence . now stands — (formerly the Job Meredith); 
and, from here, he removed to Slab creek— to the farm that his 
son, T. T. Pritchard recently sold to Samuel Haddox. Here he 
continued to reside until a short time before his death, when 
he went to Lewis county, and there, at Gaston, he lies at rest. 

He was born in Monongalia county, on February 25, 
1818. and was the son of Thomas, ^enior. and Mary Moody 
Pritchard. On February 11, 1843, he was married to Miss 
Mary Lowther, daughter of Major Elias Lowther and sister 
of Jonathan Lowther, of Berea, and six children were the re- 
sult of this union: Rebecca, Silas and Mary died in child- 
hood, and beside their mother they rest on the old homestead 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 103 

on Slab creek. T. T. resides at Hyattsville, Wyoming; Elias 
R., in Roane county ; and Jerusha, at . 

Alexander Ireland. — Near the year 1818, Alexander Ire- 
land, senior, with his family came from the vicinity of 
Clarksburg- and settled just above the mouth of Otterslide, 
on the farm that was formerly designated as the "Joshua 
Davis" — now a part of the Flannagan, homestead. Here he 
remained until some time in the early thirties when he re- 
moved to Tyler county, where he passed from earth on July 
18, 1843, at the age of seventy-one years. 

Mr. Ireland was a native of Maryland, and with his 
father, William Ireland, who was, also, a Maryland product, 
migrated to Harrison county in his boyhood. Little else is 
known of his early family ties other than that he had one 
half-sister, who became A-Irs. Sheets, and that his father died 
near Clarksburg. 

His wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Ragan Ireland, was of German 
lineage — the daughter of a Revolutionary soldier. She was 
born at West Milford in 1771, and died at her home in Tyler 
county, on September 7, 1855, at the age of eighty-four years. 

They were the parents of the following named sons and 
daughters whose posterity are scattered throughout the 
Union : 

John, Jacob, Thomas, Jonathan, Jesse, Alexander,- 
William, Mary. Eliza, Sarah, Margaret, and Priscilla Ireland. 
All of whom have passed on leaving families except Jacob, 
who married Miss Martha Wells and died childless, at his 
home in Tyler county. 

John first married Miss Agnes Maxwell, and his second 
wife was Miss Amy Joseph. Mary became Mrs. Robert Doak, 
and Eliza married Alexander Doak, and all lived and died in 
Tyler county, where many of their descendants reside. 

Thomas and Sarah, who was the wife of Alexander Low- 
ther, of Oxford, lived and died in Ritchie county. (See other 
chapters). 

Jonathan (niarried Jane Rose), Jesse (Sarah Wells), Alex- 
ander .(Sarah Bond), William ( ), Margaret (Thomas 

Bond), and Priscilla (William Wells), and all went West. 



104 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The Ireland ancestral line is not traceable to the land be- 
yond the sea, as are many of the other pioneer lineages, but 
a very interesting- legend as to the origin of this family in 
America has been handed down by tradition for generations; 
and although its authenticity cannot be verified, it is given 
credence by some and will, doubtless, add interest here: 

A lad whose parents had evidently been "lost on the 
deep," and whose name and history \v'cre unknov^-n. grew up 
on board a ship at sea, and, as his appearance suggested the 
Irish nationality, he was called "Ireland" for the want of a 
better name. 

On one occasion, when this lad had reached manhood's 
estate, the vessel which had so long been his home la}^ at 
anchor in a harbor on the eastern coast of the Ignited States, 
and he decided, for the first time, to venture on shore, and 
being so delighted with the land, could not be induced to re- 
turn to the ship, and thus America became the home of his 
adoption. He married and from him Alexander Ireland is said 
to have been descended. 

Circumstances point to the fact that this family are con- 
nected to other families of the name in the United States who 
can trace their ancestry to the land across the water, but this 
connection has not been made clear, however. And this lit- 
tle tradition still retains its former Aveight and interest. 

Dr. William R. Lowther. — The late Dr. \\'illiam R. Low- 
ther was the first settler at the mouth of Turtle run, on the 
farm that is now owned by Edward J. Lowther. 

He was born near West Milford, in Harrison county, in 
1809, and with his wife, Airs. Saiah Randall Lowther, of Ohio, 
came here in 1838. Here Mrs. Lowther and their infant child 
passed away ; and some time after, he married jNIiss Sarali 
Ann Ay res, daughter of Daniel Ayres, and sister of John B. 
AA'res : and resided on the Ayres — nov.^ the McNeill — home- 
stead, near Smithville for a short tif»ie, before removing to 
the Holbrook vicinitv where he mace the first improvement 
on the Thomas Grifhn farm. He finally removed to Mt. Zion 
where his daughter, Airs. Margaret Glover now lives, and 
from here he crossed to the other side in 1881, and at Pullman 
he lies at rest. 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 105 

Mrs. Lowther, who survived him by several years, rests 
at his side. 

Dr. Lowther was a very successful physician, a school- 
teacher of merit, and a man of more than ordinary talent. 

Ills children — all of tlie second marriage — are as follows: 

Mrs. Hannah E. Parker (widow of Frank Parker), Mrs. 
Orvilla (J. H.) Nichols, and George W. Lov;thcr (ex-mayor 
of Grafton), all of Grafton; Mrs. Margaret (Taylor) Glover, 
Miss Sarah Ann Lowther, D. A., and D. S. Lowther, all of 
Mt. Zion ; and John A. Lowther, of Ark?nsas. 

William B. Lowther.— In 1840, William B. Lowther, 
father of Dr. William R., with his wife, Mrs. Margaret Co- 
burn Lowther, and their family, came from his native Llar- 
rison county, and succeeded his son on the Edward J. Low- 
ther farm, at the mouth of Turtle run. Here the remainder 
of his life was spent, and in the Puliman churchyard by the 
side of his wife, he lies at rest. 

He was the son of Robert, the eldest son of Col. William, 
and his children are as follows: 

James R., Edward J., and Mrs. Mandane (Robert) Wil- 
son, Pullman; Mrs. Rosetta (Granville) Zinn, of Harrisville. 
who lately celebrated her ninetieth birthday ; the late Dr. 
William R., Napoleon, Mrs. Juliet (Wm. S.) Wilson, and 
Misses Julia and Rebecca Lov/ther, all of this county, who 
have joined the throng over there; and Lemuel of Michigan. 

Ellas Lowther, the youngest son of Col. William, whose 
history will be found in an earlier chapter, came from West 
Milford, in 18'c!0, and erected the first cabin on the Zimri Flan- 
nagan farm, above iScrea. 

William J. Lowther, son of Jesse, and grandson of Col. 
William, was the pioneer on the Bee farm at Oxford, near 
the year 1825. 

He married his cousin. Alary Lowther, daughtei of 
Robert, the eldest son of Col. William, and witljin the bounds 
of this county, at some unknown point, he and his wife sleep. 

He was the father of the Rev. Perry Lowther a late min- 
ister of the West Virginia Methodist Protestant conference; 



106 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 




Archiliald Wilson. 



of Henderson Lowther and several other children whose 
names are not at hand. 

The Wilsons.^ — The year 1828, brought Archibald Wilson 
with his family from Harrison — now Taylor — county, to the 
Broadwater farm near Oxford. 

Mr. Wilson was a native of Ran- 
dolph county, he having been born 
near Beverly, in 1801. Near the year 
1825, he v\^as married to j\Iiss Eliza- 
beth Hudkins, daughter of Barton 
Hudkins, of Simpsons creek, Taylor 
county ; and after spending the first 
years of his married life there, he came 
to Oxford, and ten years later, changed 
his place of residence to the Edmond 
Taylor farm, at the mouth of L3'nn 
Camp, on the North fork of Hughes 
river, where his life came to a close 
in 1866. 

His remains filled the first grave that was made in the 
U. B. church cemetery at Pennsboro, he having been inter- 
ested in the erection of this church at the time of his death. 

He was a man of marked ability, and was one of the 
prominent citizens of his day in state afifairs. He was a 
school-teacher, and was the first county surveyor. He served 
as a member of the first Constitutional convention of the State, 
and was the first individual to suggest that the counties be 
divided into districts for educational purposes ; and was the 
author of the resolution making snch provisions, which, 
though, perhaps somewhat altered, became a clause of the 
Constitution. 

His wife died in 1892, at the ape of eightv-three A-ears. 
and was laid by his side. 

Their children were as follows : 

Mrs. Temperance (T. W.) Ireland, Morgantown ; [Mrs. 
Josephine (Jesse) Hammond, Portsmouth, Ohio ; W. S. Wil- 
son. Texas; Mrs. Eveline (Smith) Bee, Mrs. Love (Alex) 
Prunty, the late Mrs. Elizabeth (C. M.) Collins, J. M., Bazil 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED ' 107 

H., the late II. N., A. B., Barton H., and L. P., all of this 
county. The last four have all passed on. 

John Wilson. — Along with Archibald Wilson came his 
brother, John Wilson, who was. then a single man, but who 
married Miss Charlotte Dotson, of Tollgate, a little later, 
and settled in Doddridge county for a short time, before re- 
moving to Lynn Camp, where he made the pioneer settlement 
on the James Tucker farm, where he passed from earth. 

His family consisted of seven daughters and two sons ; 
viz., Eda, who married Calvin Haynes ; Eliza, who was Mrs. 
Jehu Shinn ; Almira, Mrs. David Hogue : and Angeline, Retta, 
Francis, and another daughter; Jasper went west; and Black- 
burn was killed by a log at the old home. 

Wilson Ancestry. — The Wilsons have a remarkably inter- 
esting ancestral line. One, which, in part, belongs to National 
History. They are of Scotch-Insh descent. Their antecessor, 
William Wilson, was born in Ireland, on November 16, Yi'l'l. 
He vv^as the son of Davis Wilson, and the grandson of David 
Davis Wilson, of Scotland. He married Miss Elizabeth Black- 
burn, who was also a native of "Old Erin," she having been 
born on February 2, 1725 ; and near the year 1755, they came 
to America, and settled in Shenandoah county, Virginia. Here, 
Mr. Wilson died on June 12, 1801, and his wife, on September 
2, 1806. 

They were the parents of eleven children, four of whom 
were born before they crossed the sea : 

I. Benjamin born November 30, 1747. 

2. Archibald born June 13, 1749. 

3. David born September 8, 1751. 

4. A\'illiam born February 8, 1754. 

5. John born April 12, 1756. 

6. Moses born May 1, 1758 and died in 1760. 

7. Moses, 2nd born April 8, 1761. 

8. James born July 25, l'(63. 

9. Solomon born July 2, 1766. 

10. Elizabeth (twin) born July 2, 1766. 

II. Margaret born April 7, 1768. 



]('K HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

John Wilson, the fifth son, and the first one born in Amer- 
ica, was a native of Shenandoah cottnty, Virginia. He married 
Miss Mary Wathin, a French maiden, and from him the 
Ritchie county branch of the family is descended. He being 
the father of Archibald, John, and Mrs. Dorcas (Augustus) 
Modisette, of this county; Blackburn, of Walker; Mrs. Tem- 
perance (Moses) Thompson, Harrison county; and Mrs. 
Mary (G. W.) Shinn, Doddridge county. 

He (John Wilson) lived and died at Beverly in Randolph 
county, where he served as clerk of the County court for 
more than thirty years. He was engaged in a desperate In- 
dian fight at Wheeling when he was a lad of eighteen years, 
and was severely wounded. 

His final resting place is at Beverly. 

Benjamin Wilson. — Benjamin Wilson, the eldest son of 
William and Elizabeth Blackburn \A"ilson, who, as before 
stated, was born in Ireland, on X'ovember 'M\ 1717, was not 
only a man of great abilit}- and prominence, but he had the 
most remarkable progeny that has come under our notice 
since the days of the ancient patriarchs, he being the father 
of thirty children. 

On September 4, 1770, he was married to Miss Anne Rud- 
del, who was born on September 20, 1754, and twelve children 
were the result of this union. On June 18, 1795, the 
mother passed on; and on December 15, 1795, he married Miss 
Phebe Davidson, who was the mother of the other eighteen. 
And at the time of his death, on January "?, 1S58, his posterity 
numbered one-hundred thirty-six persons — twenty-four chil- 
dren, seventy-three grandchildren, thirty-two great-grandchil- 
dren, and one great-great-grandchild. 

"Air. A\'ilson served as lieutenant in the expedition of 
Lord Dunmore against the Indians in 1774, and acquired, by 
his zeal and attention to duty, ihe confidence of his superior 
officers. 

"Early in the Revolution, he was appointed captain in 
the Virginia forces, and in 1781, he received the appointment 
of colonel. 

"During the entire war, he was the organ through whicli 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 109 

most of the military and civil business of that part of the State 
in which he resided was transacted. 

"He was a member of the Legislature from the County of 
Monongalia for several sessions previous to the year 17S4, in 
which year, the County of Harrison was established ; and at 
the organization of this county, he became the clerk of the 
County court. The duties of this ofitice, however did not with- 
draw him from the theater of politics- -as he was selected as 
a delegate to the convention, in 1788, which ratified the Con- 
stitution of the United States." 

Another incident worthy of mention in this connection is 
the fact that Col. Wilson was present at Camp Charlotte-- 
eight miles east of Chillicothe, Ohio — on the occasion when. 
Cornstalk, the renowned Indian chief, visited T_.ord Dunmore 
in the interests of peace, and had the p:easure of listejiing to 
this great chieftain's v>^onderful gift of oratory, which he com- 
ments on in the following" language: 

"When he (Cornstalk) arose, he was in no wise confused 
or daunted, but spoke in a distinct and audible voice without 
stammering orTepetition, and with a peculiar emphasis. His 
looks while addressing Dunmore were truly grand and ma- 
jestic — yet graceful and attractive. 1 have heard the first 
orators of Virginia, Patrick Henry and Richard Henry Lee, 
but never have I heard one whose powers of delivery sur- 
passed those of Cornstalk on that occasion." 

The first county seat' of Randolph county is said to have 
been kept at the home of Col. Ben W^ilson four miles from 
Beverly, and the following amusing anecdote is told of his 
transference of this local-seat of government to another 
individual, and of his removal to Clarksburg where he finally 
passed to the confines of the tond:), at the age of eighty years : 

"During the Civil war when the soldiers Avere stationed at 
Beverly (in 1864) a short time after their arrival, George 
Renscrift, one of the number, noticed a peculiar hole in the 
ground around which the soldiers and the civilians gathered 
from day to day to pitch horse-shoes. His attention being 
especially attracted to the size of this hole, he remarked to an 
•^^j^g'-'^entleman standing near, that this ground must have been 
the '^^^^' '■^^^ purpose before the war; and the old gentleman. 



110 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

heaving a reminiscent sigh, said, ''Yes, my young man, I am 
nigh unto seventy, and I was not born when the first horse- 
shoes were pitched into that hole.' And he then proceeded 
to tell him its unique history: 

lie said, as above mentioned, that the county seat was 
kept at the home of Col. Ben Wilson, and that at Beverly, 
lour miles distant lived one Jacob Westfall. One da}^ Col. 
Wilson came riding down the path past the Westfall residence 
and found Mr. Westfall out pitching iicrse-shoes in his yard 
all alone. 

"Having a good game?" asked Col. Wilson. "Good 
enough," was the reply. "I'll bet T can beat you," said the 
Colonel. "I'll take the bet," replied Westfall. "How much?" 
asked Col. Wilson. 

"Whoever beats gets the court house," replied Westfall. 
"It's a bargain," replied Col. Wilson, who had everything to 
lose and nothing to gain as he already had the court house, 
but he was a great old codger to take chances. So the game 
began and continued until night and Westfall flaxed the Colo- 
nel on every proposition, and won the l:)eL." 

This same evening Col. Wilson made Jacob Westfall deed 
a quarter of an acre, which included this play-ground, to the 
public forever, and according to the provisions of this deed an 
individual could play when, and as long, as he pleased, and no 
one could hinder him. 

The next day Col. Wilson sent Westfall the county seat, 
i)ooks, papers and so on, to Beverly, and shortly after sold out 
and removed to Clarksburg. 

This piece of ground is still used as a horse-shoe play- 
ground and will doubtless continue to be thus used until the 
end of time, as no one has the power to molest this lot. 

This is said to be the only piece of real estate in the world 
that has such a title. When the new court house at Beverly 
was under contract, the court undertook to sell this lot, but 
found upon investigation that it belonged to the public, and 
that the county had no authority over it. Consequenth', it 
lies there vacant as it did a century ago — a monument c' 

'^ich 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 111 

cated to the simple game of horse-shoe — and the men and boys 
haunt it to-day as they did in the days of Col. Wilson. 

Record of the Family of Col. Ben Wilson. — Children of 
Col. Ben and Anne Ruddle Wilson : 

Mary Wilson born June 7, 1771, married John Haymond. 

William Wilson born January 36, 1773, married Miss 
Martin. 

Stephen Ruddle Wilson born October 21, 1775, married — 

Benjamin Wilson born June 13, 1778, married Miss Mar- 
tin. 

Sarah Wilson born September 11, 1780, married Benjamin 
Bryce. 

Elizabeth Wilson born August 17, 1782, died September 
3, 1782. 

Anne Wilson born January 17, 1786, married Dr. Brice. 

John W^ilson born July 5, 1788, married Miss Martin and 
Miss Caldwell. 

Archibald Blackburn born July 25, 1790, married Edith 
Roby. 

Cornelius AV'ilson born April 7, 1795, married Rachel Mar- 
tin. 

And two children died without n^mes. 

Children of Col. Ben and Phebe Davidson Wilson : 

Josiah Davidson Wilson born October 12, 1796, married 
Miss Martin and Miss Despard. 

David Wilson born February 18, 1798, died umuarried. 

Edith Wilson born November 9, 1799, married James 
Martin. 

Elizabeth Wilson born October 18, 1801, died unmarried. 

Thomas W. Wilson born May 12, 1803, married Miss 
O'Bannon, of Ohio. 



(The language of Col. Wil.son concerning his impre-sion of Cornstalk 
is taken from the foot-notes of the revised edition of Withers' Border 
Warfare; the anecdote concerning the Beverly court house, from an old 
newspaper clipping furnished us by ISIrs. Susan Collins, of Pennsboro — 
his granddaughter; and tlie part concerning his public career, is quoted 
from the National Intelligencer, of January 29, 1828, in whicli the ac- 
count of his death appeared. And to his great-great-granddaughter, Mrs. 
.Jessie Norris Tierney, of Glenville, who is a member of the Daughtei's of 
the American Revolution, we are indebted for this rare account. 

Col. Wilson was the Couhty clerk of Randolph county at the time of 
the incident herein narrated. 



112 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Alaro'aret A\'ilson born March 26, 1805. married Hiram 
Haymond. 

Deborah A\ ilson born October IT, l&OG, married Abel 
Smith. 

James Pindall Wilson born June 9, 1808, married Rowcna 
Haymond, daughter of Thomas. 

Daniel Davisson born January 30, 1810, married Miss 
O'Bannon. 

Phebe Wilson born August "29, 1811. married Amos Gil- 
bert. 

]\lartha ]\Iartin AA'ilson born June 'i?>. 181o, married Caul- 
der Ha3'mond. 

Philip Doddridge born June 29, 1814. married Penelope 
Sinnett. 

Noah L. AA'ilson born March 9, 181(3, married Miss Gilpin, 
of Baltimore. 

Julia Anne AVilson born September 28, 1817, married 
James Robinson. 

Harriett Baldwin Wilson born November 13, 1818, mar- 
ried Jonathan Haymond. 

Rachel AA'ilson born July 20, 1820, married Lewis Hay- 
mond and Dr. AA'. D. AA'ilson. 

Two died in infancy. 

William Hall. — AA'illiam Hall, the progenitor of another 
prominent Ritchie count}^ family, found a home on the river 
above Oxford, across wdiat is now the Doddridge county line, 
as early as 1830, but, ere the lapse of many years, he removed 
to the Flannagan farm above Berea, and later resided at both 
Pullman and Harrisville. He finally, in his old age, went to 
Roane county where be died, at the home of his daughter, 
Airs. Thomas McKinley, during the spring of 18T3. 

Mr. Hall was born in Loudin county, Virginia, in 1797, 
and from there he emigrated to Harrison county in his young 



The descendant? of Col. Ben Wilson in this county are not a few but 
among the nearest in line are F. H. ;Martin and Mrs. Susan Collins — 
grandchildren, of Pennsboro. Mr. Martin being t'ne son of his daughter 
Edith, and Mrs. Collins of Rachel. Mrs. .Jolm Hallani of Cairo is another 
granddaughter, she being the daughter of Thomas. See Haymond and 
;Maxwell liistory for descendants of !Mary Wilson. 

Conflicting records of this family have been furnished us but we 
have used the one sent us by Mi^s Genevieve Collins of Pennsboro, it 
being taken from Col. Wilson's old Bible. 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— COXTINUED 113 

manhood where he met and married Miss Mary Ann Lowther, 
eldest daughter of Jesse, and Mary Ragan Lowther, and 
granddaughter of Col. William, and from West Milford, they 
came to Oxford. 

Mrs. Hall survived him by three years, dying at the home 
of her daughter in Roane county in 1876. And there by his 
side she lies at rest. 

Their children were as follows : 

Jesse L. Hall, William, Celina, Lucinda, Mar^^ Elizabeth, 
Elias, Robert Hannibal, Lemuel, Smith, and Judge Cyrus Hall, 
all of whom have now crossed the tide, with the possible ex- 
ception of Elias. 

Jesse L. Hall married his cousin Miss Alcinda Lowther, 
and was the father of Cyrus, William E.. Robert G., I\Iarietta, 
Ellen, and ^lartha Hall, and after the death of his first wife, 
he married again, and went to Elizabeth, Wirt county Avhere 
he died and where some of his descendants still reside. Mrs. 
Rosa Connolly was a daughter by the second marriage. 

William Hall died in his youth, and Mary remained 
single, dying at the home of her sister at Point Pleasant at 
an advanced age. 

Selina married the Rev. George Monroe of the West Vir- 
ginia Methodist Episcopal conference, and died childless. She 
sleeps at Point Pleasant. 

Lucinda married Jesse AL Lowther, son of Elias Lowther, 
senior, and lived and died in this county. She was the mother 
of Johnson J.. Stillman F., Mrs. Mandane (Hiram) Wilson, 
and Airs. Similda Randolph, of Salem ; Mansfield and Syl- 
vanus Lowther and Mrs. Salina Bee, of the West ; Thomas, of 
Harrison county ; Lucinda — and the late Mrs. Dorinda (Eli) 
McKinley, of Harrisville — mother of the late lamented Homer 
McKinley. 

Elizabeth married Thomas McKinley, and went to Roane 
county, where she sleeps. Their children were Lee, Walter, 
Rector, Jer>nie and Sarah. 

Smith Hall married Miss Jennie Scott, of Hardy county, 

and lived and died at Harrisville. His family consisted of 

two sons, John and Charles, and of one daughter, Mrs. Laura 

^'^ bhert, of Ellenboro. 
"seci f 



114 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Robert Hannibal married Miss Bennett, of Wes- 
ton, and was the father of Mrs. John B. Ayres, formerly of 
Harrisville, but now of Spencer, and of one other daughter. 
He died in Virginia a few years since. 

Elias Hall married Aliss Margaret Kirkpatrick, sister of 
Ichabod, and was an early settler on the Alason farm near the 
Pisgah church, in the Pullman vicinity. He finally went to 
Roane county where he, perhaps, is sleeping. A\'illiam Smith, 
Neal, Hannibal, Lee and Landora Pfall were among his chil- 
dren, but this is not all of them. 

Lemuel Hall married here and went A\'est where he was 
identified as an able barrister. 

Judge Cyrus Hall. — Judge Cyrus Hall married ]\Iiss 
Amelia Scott, sister of his brother Smith's wife, and principally 
spent his long life at Harrisville, Parkersburg, and Charleston. 
His family consisted of two daughters, and three sons : viz.. 
Flora died in childhood ; Louella became Mrs. Chancellor, of 
Parkersburg, but after the death of her first husband she mar- 
ried H. T. Shefit'ey, of Charleston ; the late Judge Cyrus Hall, 
B. B. and Thomas C, all of Charleston, are the sons. 

Judge Hall was one among the prominent men that this 
county has produced. 

Born in Harrison county early in the century, he came to 
this county with his parents in the "log cabin days'' and strug- 
gled up through the many disadvantages that surrounded the 
ambitious lad in those davs of untold orivation and toil. 

He was graduated from college, studied law, and at the 
age of thirty years went to Woodsfield, Ohio, where he was 
admitted to the bar; and after a brief stay here, he returned 
to this county and took up his residence at Harrisville, where 
he practiced his profession for a number of years. He was 
Ritchie county's first Prosecuting Attorney, and was at c<ne 
time her representative in the Legislature at Richmond. 

He was a member of the Richmond conve^iition that 
passed the ordinance of secession, and with one exception 
was the last survivor of that stormy body. He went there 
as an opponent of secession, but in the heat of the fight, was, 
won over and cast his vote for the measure — the passing of 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 115 

which sounded the bugle-note for the formation of the "Little 
Mountain state." 

For a number of years after the birth of West Virginia, 
he was the judge of the County court of Wood coiinty. He 
practiced in the courts of Virginia and West Virginia for 
almost sixty years, rising to distinction at the bar. It is said 
that he never lost a case before the Supreme Court of the 
State. He died at Charleston early in the year 1909, at the age 
of ninety years. His wife preceded him to the grave by fifteen 
}'ears. 

The Norrises. — Along with William Hall, from Harrison 
county, came his brother-in-law', William Norris. who settled 
near him on the river above Oxford. 

]*\Ir. Xorris was born in Fauquier county, Virginia, on 
August 8, 1792, and on April 20, 1817, he w^as married to Miss 
Sallie Lowther, daughter of Jesse and granddaughter of Col. 
William Lowther, whose natal day w^as October 5, 1795 ; and 
after a brief residence on the river here, in 1833, they removed 
to Gilmer county where their lives came to a close. His on 
November 24, 1861, and hers, on Alay 22. 1870. And both lie 
at rest in the Xorris bmying-ground on Cedar creek. 

Their family were as follows : 

Emily (1818-1906, unmarried), Milton (1819-1896). John 
G. (1821—), Jesse (1823—). Mary (1824-1825). Caroline 
(LS25— ). Lucinda (182S-] 888, unmarried), Drusilla (1832—, 
Mrs. Kerns, of Gilmer county), Elizabeth (1835 — ). Edward 
(1837 — ), and Elias Xorris. 

Milton G. Norris, who was born on X^o\'ember 10, 1819, 
was married in 1869, to Miss Maria Louise Campbell, daughter 
of John C. and Anne Wilson Campbell of Clarksburg,^ and 
lived and died at the "Beeches" near Glenville. He passed 
from earth on July 30, 1896, and Mrs. X^orris survived imtil 
Jul}- 3, 1908, and both rest in the family burying-ground at 
the "Beeches." Their family consisted of four daughters; ^•iz., 
Mrs. Jessie Campbell Tierney, and ]\frs. Anne Wilson Lewas, 
are of Glenville; Sallie Lowther is the wife of the Hon. E. M. 



'The Campbells were from AVinchester, Virginia, and the old home 
there i& still owned by the family. 



116 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Showaller, of Fairmont ; and Miss Rebecca Lupton X'orris is 
lying" with her parents in the family burying-ground, she hav- 
ing passed from eartli at San Francisco, California in 190?, 
while on a tour m the AVest. 

The Norrises are of English origin, and the name is an 
ancient and prominent one in the "Old World"' to-day. Gen- 
eral Sir John Norris was commander of the British array in 
the sixteenth century, and was sent by Queen Elizabeth to 
aid the Hollanders in their struggle against the Spaniards, at 
this time. Tradition says that three brothers crossed to 
America about the year 1760, and that one settled in Pennsyl- 
vania, one in Maryland, and the other, William Norris, who 
was an English school-master, in Virginia ; and from William, 
the different families of this state are descended. 

His son, John Norris, was born in Fauquier county, Vir- 
ginia, on July 4, 1760, and at the age of seventeen years (in 
February 1777), enlisted as a volunteer, for three months, in 
the company of Captain James Scott, which was organized at 
the Fauquier Court House, and marched by way of Lewisburg 
(now West Virginia) across the Potomac, at Noland's Ferry 
to Frederick, Maryland, thence to Philadelphia, and on to 
Ouibbletown (now New Market) in New Jersey. And in 
March, 1781, he was drafted, for two months, into the com- 
pany of Captain Morehead, who was stationed at Williams- 
burg, Virginia, and from this point, on April 20, 1781, they 
were driven by the enemy, and retreated to Richmond. 

Again, in September, 1781, he was drafted for three 
months, and was appointed as orderly sergeant of a company 
of militia, commanded by Captain Hel, which was sent from 
Fauquier county to join the main army under General Wash- 
ington at Yorktown, and here he remained until the surrender 
of Lord Cornwallis, on October 19, 1781, and after this he 
was detailed as a member of the guard-force which conducted 
a band of prisoners to Winchester. 

Flis service on the battle-field being at an end, he re- 
turned home, and on March 26, 1782, was married to Miss 
Mary Jones,, of the "Old Dominion," who was in some way 
closely connected to the Washington family ; and about the 
year 1807, they removed to what is now Lewis county (then 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 117 

Harrison), and settled near the old Jackson mill, five miles 
below Weston ; and here death overtook him on February 12, 
1836, and here with his wife he lies at rest. 

Their family consisted of the following children: Juliet, 
Hannah, Polly, Nancy, Eliza, Lucinda, Caroline, John, junior, 
and AA'illiam Norris, the Ritchie county pioneer. 

Juliet Norris, born on December 22, 1783, was married to 
David Jackson. She passed on, on March 16, 1865, leaving 
four children: Edward J., Wm., Pitt, Nancy and Mary J. 
Jackson. 

Hannah Norris (born on October 13, 1787, and died on 
May 26, 1879), married Daniel O'Brien, and her children were: 
Melville, Emmett J., Mary, Daniel, Nancy, Hannah, and Juliett 
O'Brien. 

Polly, born July 22, 1785, died, unmarried, on December 
29, 1848. 

Nancy Norris (bprn October 13, 1794, and died on July 
17, J 876) was married to Godfrey Hille, and Frederick, the 
one child of this union died in boyhood. 

Eliza Norris was born in August, 1798, and died on Dec- 
ember 20, 1860, unmarried. 

Lucinda (born on November 2-1, 1796, and died on Octo- 
ber 14, 1885) was the late Mrs. Benjamin Bassel, of Clarks- 
burg, and the mother of John Bassel, a graduate of West 
Point, and James Bassell, both prominent attorneys of Clarks- 
burg. 

Caroline, vvho was born on December 15, 1800, died on 
September 4, 1894, unmarried. 

John Norris, junior, was born in 1805, and died at the age 
df twenty years. And the family of William has already been 
given. 

Felix Prunty, and Alexander Lowther, junior, were later 
pioneers in the Oxford vicinity. 

Mr. Prunty was the son of Jacob Prunty, and was a 
native of Taylor county. He married Miss Emily Great- 
house, and took up his residence where his son, Jacob, now 
lives, perhaps in the early forties, and to the day of his death, 
on September 22, 1895, he was prominently identified with 
the afi^airs of this communitv, both in church and in state. 



1]8 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

He represented this county in the Legislature, at one time 
and was long a pillar in the White Oak church : and in this 
church-yard he sleeps. Mrs. Prunty died in 190S, and she 
sleeps by his side. 

Their children : Mrs. Cynthia (wife of the late Rev. 
Sylvester Lowtherj, Parkersburg ; Mrs. Salina Bee, Tennessee; 
Mrs. Fannie (Lewis) Pritchard, Parkersburg; Jacob, and 
^Marshall, Oxford, are the surviving ones ; and Alary Jane, 
John W., Alexander, Mrs. Elizabeth Leach, and Mrs. Rosetta 
Ross, have passed on. 

Alexander Lowther, junior, made his settlement on the 
farm that is now the home of his daughter, ]\Irs. John 
Allender. 

yiv. LoAvther was a native of Harrison county, having 
been born, near West Milford on May 1, 1816. He was the 
son of Alexander and Sarah Ireland Lowther, and the great- 
grandson of Col. A\'illiam. 

In 1838. he was married to Miss Emily Prunty, daughter 
of Jacob Prunty, and shortly after this event, he established 
his home here, and remained until 1864, when he removed 
to Ellenboro, where he engaged in the mercantile business 
for the next two years. From here he went to Graham Sta- 
tion, Mason county, and in 1872, to Elizabeth, Wirt county, 
where, for more than twenty years, his interests were identi- 
fied with the town ; his services to both church and state being 
of a high order. 

Here, in 1891, Death entered his home and carried away 
his wife, and, not long after this sad event, he went to Park- 
ersburg, where his life came to a close, on March 28, 1903, at 
the home of his daughter, Mrs. Roana L. Kendall; and here 
in the Riverview cemetery beside his wife, he sleeps. 

He was one of the early school-teachers of the county, 
and at different times held county offices. He said "At one 
time I knew every man in Ritchie county." As long as he 
lived, he spoke fervently of his love for Ritchie county, which 
had been his home for sixty-six years. 

Their children: M. R. Lowther, who has been promi- 
nent in political circles in this state for a number of years, 
and who served as State Senator for one or more terms, is the 



SOUTH FORK SETTLERS--CONriXUED liy 

only surviving son. He and Mrs. Roana L. Kendall, wife 
of the late Dr. J. E. Kendall, are both of Parkersburg, and 
Mrs. Sallie Allender, is of Oxford. Wilson, the eldest son 
died at the age of seventeen, and one daughter, in infancy. 

The Allenders. — Jacob Allender was an early settler on 
tiie Marshall Prunty homestead. He and his wife Mrs. 
Elizabeth Vangrift Allender, were natives of Hampshire 
county, he being of English, and she, of German descent. He 
was the son of James Allender, and his grandsire crossed 
the sea from England. After their marriage they resided in 
Marion county for four years before coming to Ritchie in 
1<S51, where the remnant of their days were spent, and where 
they sleep side by side in the White Oak cemetery. Mrs. 
Allender passed away a number of years before he did ; and 
some time after her death he married Mrs. Elizabeth Sinnett 
Lowther, widows of John A. Lowther, and daughter of the 
late George Sinnett, of Harrisville, who still survives. 

His children were born of the first union, and w'ere as 
follows : T. K. Alexander, Sistersville ; Mrs. Sarah Xutter, 
mother of Okey Nutter, Pennsboro ; John Allender, of Ox- 
ford ; Christopher, James, Rachel, and Iva, and two others all 
died of diphtheria in childhood. All died within one week, 
and tW'O were borne to the grave at one time. 



CHAPTER VIII 




North Fork Settled 

ACOB COLLINS was tlie first settler on the 
liead of the Xorth fork of Hughes river. 

He came from the Shenandoah valley, 
Virginia, early in the century with his wife, 
Phebe Stuthard Collins, and several chil- 
dren, and reared his humble dwelling on the 
farm that is now the home of his grandson, 
W. J. Collins. 

The wilderness at this time was unbroken, and they lived 
in their wagons until they could construct a cabin, and kept 
fires out so as to protect themselves and their stock from the 
wild beasts. 

Fearful storms occasionally visited this section, and their 
home, at one time, was almost demolished bv one of cvclonic 
fury. 

]\Ir. Collins is said to have been a man of strong Christian 
character with an innate love for doing good to his fellow- 
men, but of his ancestral history we know nothing except 
that he was of Welsh descent, and that he was probably a 
native of the "Old Dominion." 

But ]\Irs. Collins was of Revolutionary stock, her father, 
and his only brother having served as soldiers in the Con- 
tinental army, (the latter dying before his return home). 

Here on the old homestead where they settled, they spent 
their last hours, and here they rest. 

They were the parents of a large family of children, who 
were also identified among the early settlers of this part of 
the county, and who are as follows: William, Jacob, junior, 
Henry B., Xancy, Margaret, Phebe, Frances, James and John. 
All of whom reared families except James who died single. 

William Collins. — AMlliam Collins, the eldest son, mar- 
ried j\Iiss Ellendor Britton, and settled near three miles from 
the old homestead where he died in 1871 at a ri]:)e old age. 



NORTH FORK SETTLED 121 

The fruits of this union were five children: Cohniibus. 
of Pennsboro; Cordelia, the late wife of John Maulsby, of 
West Union ; Mrs. Charlotte (Joab) Martin, Pennsboro : 
Lafa3'ette Collins, and ]\Irs. Helen (Silas) Taylor, who reside 
a: Tollgate. 

After the birth of these children the Avife passed on, and 
he married Miss Harriett Allen, who was the mother of the 
late Airs. Ida Martin, wife of Dr. Edgar Martin, of Oxford : 
the late Mrs. Salome (Wm.) Hudkins, of Greenwood: and of 
George and Alice, who died in infancy. 

Death again robbed him of his companion, and he mar- 
ried Miss Talitha Lynch, of Harrison county, for his third 
wife, and she was the mother of Mrs. Maggie (Omer) Garner, 
and i\Irs. Ora (Banks) Martin, both of Tollgate; Mrs. Lora 
(Dorsey) Browne, of West Union; Mrs. Lona (John) Har- 
per, Pennsboro; and Hiram Collins, of the North Fork, and 
of the late Draper. 

Jacob Collins, Junior. — Jacob Collins, junior, married 
Miss Sarah Ripley, of Tyler county, and settled near the old 
homestead, wdiere he reared a large family and where he 
spent his last hours. 

He was a soldier of the Union army during the Civil war. 
and his ten children were as follows: 

Kenner, George, and Benjamin died in the West and 
Floyd resides there ; Mary is Mrs. Edgar Keys, and Lurena, 
Mrs. Andrew Cunningham, both of California ; Frances is 
Mrs. Ellis Thomas, of Pennsylvania; Eveline, Mrs. Thomas 
Dillon, and Eliza. Mrs. Simon Bradford, both of Parkersburg; 
and Amelia is Mrs. Richard A\'ilson, of Pennsboro. 

Henry B, Collins. — Henry B. Collins married Miss Eliza 
Britton, and also settled near the old home. 

He was quite prominent in public affairs, and was one of 
the early representatives of the county in the Richmond Leg- 
islature. And though he did not take up arms in the Civil 
war, he was a strong advocate of the Southern cause. He 
died near 1895 at his old home here, and in the family biny- 
ing-ground he sleeps. 

He was the father of eight children : Mortimer, the 
eldest son, lost his life in the Confederate cause at the battle 



]22 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



of Rich Mountain. Richard, Jasper, Casandra, who married 
the Rev. A. Jones, and India, who was Mrs. Perry Flesher, 
of Shiloh, have all joined the throng- over there. F. li. Col- 
lins, Drusilla, the wife of Dr. Bartlett, and Alniira who first 
married A. Archbold, and after his death Mr. Wilcox, of Har- 
risville, are the surviving members of the family. 

John Collins, the youngest son of this pioneer family, 
was married to Miss Phebe Brice, of Harrison county, and 

settled four miles north of Penns- 
boro, where he died in 1874. 

Pie, too, represented the 
county in the Legislature at Ricli- 
mond when this state was a part 
of the "Old Dominion," and was 
ever prominent in public afifairs. 
He was an ardent advocate of the 
Southern cause during the Civil 
war, though not a soldier. 

Mrs. Collins came of an old 
and aristocratic Welsh family, 
she being descended from the 
John Collins. g^j.] ^f Carmarthen, through his 

daughter, Lady Janet Griffiths, who married a Pirice. 

Her grand-sire, Captain William Brice, who was born in 
Kent county, Maryland, in 1740, was one of the few patriots 
that helped to establish our American Independence. He 
served at Valley Forge and Trenton and died in 1783, at 
Blandenburg, Maryland, from the effects of the hardshi)>s 
endured during that memorable winter at V^alley Forge.. 
His sons, Benjamin, and Dr. Brice both married the daughters 
of Col. Ben Wilson, senior, and Benjamin was the father nf 
Mrs. Collins. 

The family of John and Phebe Brice Collins consisted of 
eight children; viz., Sarah, the eldest daughter, is Mrs. E. 
Thomas, of Blacksville, Pennsylvania; y\nna was the late 
wife of John B. McKinley; Angle is Mrs. P. B. Michaels, of 
Oxford; Jennie L. is the widow of the late Dr. J. B. Crum- 
rine. of Pennsboro; the late Creed, and William, of Peims- 
borc ; and Benjamin and Virginia who both died in childhood. 




NORTH FORK SETTLED 123 

Nancy Collins, the eldest daughter of this pioneer family, 
married Elias Marsh, and they too lived and died in the vicin- 
ity of the old home on the North fork. She having passed 
away near the year 1895. 

They were the parents of eight children ; viz., V^ictoria, 
who married John Lantz, and went to Pennsylvania ; Eliza 
married Sydney Joseph and v^^ent to Missouri, where she died 
in 1910: Margaret v.-as the late Mrs. Saul Thomas, of Pennsyl- 
vania; Isabel is Mrs. James Hickman, of Pennsboro : Adaline 
was the late Mrs. Jacob Lantz, of Mole Hill ; Laura became 
Mrs. John Steele, and at the old homestead, she resides ; and 
the only son. Napoleon Marsh, lives at Centreville. 

Margaret Collins married a Mr. Doak, and lived and died 
on Middle Island, in Tyler county, near the year 1890, leaving 
one child. 

Frances Collins married Eli Cline and settled at the head 
of the North fork of Hughes river, wliere she died near the 
year 1849. 

She was the mother of Helen, (wife of the late M. H. 
Tarlton), of Nicklin, who died as a prisoner of war at Camp 
Chase, in the sixties; and of Jacob Cline, who married Jane 
Ridgeway. 

Phebe Collins married James Hammond, and for many 
years they were identified among the early settlers of Bond's 
creek, where she died in 1866. Their children w^ere ten in 
number: Cornelius, Granville, Iiwin. the late Rev. William 
Hammond, of the West Virginia Methodist Episcopal con- 
ference; Mrs. Fannie Markle, Mrs. Berthena Crum,, Mrs. 

Sarah Whitecotton, and Mrs. Mary of Ohio ; Mrs. 

Anna Clayton, of White Oak, and Mrs. Libby Whitecotton. 

MOLE HILL. 

Daniel Raymond was the first settler at Mole Hill. He 
came here from his native county — Harrison — near the year 
1817, and found a home on the farm that is now owned by 



124 



mSTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 




Daniel Haymond. 



Benson Cunningham, where the 
remainder of his life v/as spent. 
He, being a man of a high degree 
of intelligence, played an import- 
ant part in the early affairs of the 
county. 

He twice occupied a seat in 
the State Legislature (being Sen- 
ator), and narrowly missed being 
a successful candidate for Con- 
gress. 

He was born near Clarksburg, 
on April 28, 1787— on Saturday 
morning at 5 o'clock — and here 
he grew to manhood, and married ?iliss Mary Ann Bond, sis- 
ter of Lewis Bond, who passed from earth at her home at 
Mole Hill in 1822, after having given birth to five children. 

In 1821 he was again married to JNIiss Elizabeth Griffin, 
who passed on a few years later, leaving three daughters. 
He then, in 1835, married Miss Hannah Pindale, who only 
survived a short time ; and in 1838, he again took the marri- 
age vow when he claimed Miss Mary Ann Moore, of Harrison 
county as his bride. 

The one child born of this union — Anna L. — is now Mrs. 
James C. Cline, of Minneapolis, Kansas, and the only sur- 
vivor of Daniel Haymond's family. 

]\Ir. Haymond died on December 10, 1874, and, beside 
his first three companions, sleeps at ]\Iole Hill. The last wife 
rests in the Cloverdale cemetery in Doddridge county. 

The children of his first marriage were, Mansfield B., 
Eveline, A\'illiam, Daniel C. and Rowena. The last two men- 
tioned died in infanc3^ 

Mansfield lost his life in his early manhood, by an ex- 
plosion on board a steamer, while on his way home from 
Texas, he being so badly scalded that he only sur\ived the 
accident bv a few hours. 



NORTH FORK SETTLED 125 

Eveline Haymond was married to Elijah Tarleton/ and 
their children were the late ex-Sheriff M. H. Tarleton, and 
the late Reeves L., Thomas, Creed H, and Edgar Tarleton, 
all of whom have passed on. 

William C. Haymond, the one son that reached the years 
of maturity, went to Texas in his young manhood, and there 
served in the Texan army during" some trouble with Mexico, 
but he afterv/ards returned home, and married Miss Eleanor 
Cline, of Tollgate, and remained a substantial citizen of his 
native county until he was borne to his final resting place. 
Elis family consisted of nine children: viz.. Marsh Haymond, 
Mrs. Florence Peirpoint, Mrs. Lina Lantz, and Mrs. Ella 
Stuart, all of Mole Hill, are the surviving ones ; and the late 
ones were Josephine, who died in youth; Buena (Mrs. Henry 
Davis), Reeves Haymond who met a tragic death at Mole 
Hill a number of years ago; and Ida (Mrs. F. G. Pyle of 
Tyler county). 



The three daughters of Daniel and Elizabeth Grifftn Hay- 
mond were Casandra, and Frances, who died single, and Mary 
Ann, the late wife of Saul Thomas, who was the mother of 
Mrs. Mary Cooper, Mrs. Laura Kysor, and Mrs. Fannie Mc- 
Cullough, all of A/[ole Hill. 

The Haymonds, like not a few of the other pioneer fami- 
lies, have a distinguished ancestral history. John Haymond 
emigrated from England before the year 1734 — as the records 
show that he had land patented to him in that year — and 
settled in the Maryland colony. Tradition says that he was 
a skillful mechanic, and that he came to Am'erica to build a 
fine residence for a Maryland planter, and being so well 
pleased with the appearance of the country, he decided to 
adopt it as his home. It is not known whether he was mar- 
ried before he came to this country or not. But his wife's 
name was Margaret and he first settled on a large plantation, 
known as "Constant Friendship," in what is now Montgom- 



^Elijah Tarleton wa.s first married to Miss Casandra Haymond, daugli- 
ter of William, and one son. William Tarleton, was the result of this 
union. His second wife was Eveline Haymond, above mentioned, and his 
third, Miss Rowena, daughter of Thomas Haymond, and one daughter 
Helen, was the result of this union. 



126 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

cry county, iMaryland — near the present site of Rockville, and 
fourteen miles from Georgetown. Here, he died during the 
autumn of 1750. Six children, which are as follows, were 
named in his will, which was dated September '^^7, 1750, and 
was probated on October "^Oth of the same 3-ear: Nicholas, 
Calder, AVilliam, Hannah, who was the wife of John Jones, 
Ann and Alary, who afterwards married — one a Kenton, and 
the other, a Jarbo or Kelly. 

Nicholas died in 17G7 leaving a son and daughter. Calder 
married and resided in Alarion county until about the year 
1812, when he went to Ohio, to join his son. He finally went 
to Indiana where he died in 1817, and where many of his 
descendants live. His son, Edward, was a soldier of the Rev- 
olution, and was in the battles of Monmouth, Saratoga and 
other fierce engagements, and his name was added to the pen- 
sion roll in 1818. And from William, the youngest son of 
John Playmond, the Ritchie county families come. 

William Haymond. — William Haymond was born on the 
old plantation — "Constant Friendship"- — in Montgomery 
county, ^Maryland, on January 4, 1740 (old style) and here 
his youthful days were spent. A\^hen he was only a lad of 
fifteen summers, he accompanied the army of General Ed- 
^var(i Braddock on its expedition to Fort Duquesne (now 
Pitts1)urg) where it met with such dreadful defeat on July 
9, 1755 ; and in 1758, he was a member of the successtul ex- 
pedition led by General Forbes against the same point, when 
the name was changed to Fort Pitt, in honor of the English 
prime minister. - • 

In February, 1750, he enlisted in the Virginia regiment, 
commanded by Col. George Washington, which iiad been de- 
tailed to garrison the territory captured from the French, 
and served along the Aionongahela and AUegheu}- rners. and 
as far North as Lake Erie. AMien the regiment had been 
Avithdrawn from the west, it was marched up the Shenan- 
doah valley, and on to the Holstein river to suppress an out- 
break among the Cherokee Indians, after which it was dis- 
charged. The date of William Haymond's discharge was 
February 24, 1762, and the place was Fort Lewis, uear Staun- 
ton, A'irginia. 



NORTH FORK SETTLED 127 

Shortly after his return home, on April 19. 1763, he was 
married to Aliss Casandra Clelland, who was born on Octo- 
ber 25, 1T41, and settled down to the life of a planter; but in 
May, 1773, he sold his possessions in Maryland and removed 
to the District of ^^'est Augusta, Virginia, and settled on the 
Monongahela river, near where Morgantown now stands. 
Here he engaged in farming, and is said to have raised a crop 
of corn on the very site that is noAV marked by the pretty lit- 
tle City of Morgantown. 

After the formation of Monongalia county in 177G, he 
filled various positions of honor and trust — such as that of 
justice of the peace, deputy surveyor, coroner and sheriff; 
and at the commencement of the Revolution, he, being an 
ardent advocate of the Colonial cause, was appointed captain 
of the militia, and was frequently called into active service 
by the hostility of the Indians. In 1777, he was placed in 
comvnand of Prickett's Fort with a detachment at Scott's 
mill ; was promoted to the rank of major in 1781, and per- 
formed the duties of an officer of the militia throughout the 
Revolution. He was just on the eve of leaving for a i)oint 
east of the mountains to join the regular army when the news 
of peace reached him. 

He was a member of the official body that administered 
the oath to the male citizens of Virginia over sixteen years 
of age requiring them to renounce all future allegiance to the 
British Crown. 

When Harrison county was born in 17S4, Mr. Haymond 
vv'as made the first principal surveyor of the new county. He 
tra\ eled on horse-back to Williamsburg in order to be ex- 
amined by the professors of William and Mary's College. The 
test was a satisfactory one, however, and he was commis- 
sioned by the Governor of Virginia ; and as this office de- 
manded his removal to Clarksburg, he purchased a few acres 
of ground, near this town, where he took up his residence 
that same fall (1784). 

He was a member of the commission that built the first 
two court houses in Harrison county — one in 1787, and the 
other in 1813, and as surveyor, he assisted in marking out 
the State road from the Vallev river to near Marietta, Ohio 



V?8 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

In 1791, he purchased a tract of one hundred ninety-lour 
one-half acres on Elk creek, six miles from Clarksburg, and 
to this place he changed his residence, and here, on Xovem- 
ber 12, 1821, his long and useful career came to a close. This 
old time mansion-house, which has been transferred by will 
from father to son, since its purchase, still stands and is occu- 
pied by his descendants. 

His Avife, Casandra Clelland Raymond, died at Clarks- 
burg, on December 23, 1788; and on December 2U, 1789, he 
was again married to Mrs. Mary Pettyjohn Powers, who died 
on March 20, 1830, and sleeps by his side in the Ilaymond 
burying-ground on the old homestead, near Clarksburg. 

John G. Jackson in paying tribute to his memory 
through the columns of the "National Intelligencer" of Dec- 
ember 13, 1821 — on the occasion of his death — says: 

"This excellent man was the surveyor of his county, and 
a justice of the peace therein, from its first formation until 
his decease, and such was the purity of his life, notwithstand- 
ing the tendency of his official duties to excite the ill will of 
the disappointed speculator, and suitor, that he lived and died 
without an enemy : and his virtues became so proverbial that 
when excellence was ascribed to a great and good man, it 
was said of him, "Pie was almost as perfect as Major Hay- 
mond." 

He also says, that "He died in the presence of his wife 
and his children. He had nineteen children of Avhom eleven 
survive him; eighty-one grandchildren, sixty-two of whom 
are living; thirtA'-two great-grandchildren, thircy-one of whom 
are living; nine sons-in-laws, six of whom are living; and 
four daughters-in-law, all of whom survive." 

Family Record. — Children of William and Casandra Hay- 
mond : 

William, born Alay 14, ]764, and died September 17. 1769. 

John born December 7, 1765, and married Mary \Wlson' 
July 3, 1787. 



'Mary W^ilson Haymond was tlie daughter of Col. Benjamin TA'ilson, 
senior, and her daughter Sarah Haymond became the wife of Le\i yiax- 
well, and tlieir son Rufus Maxwell was the father of tne Hon. Hu ilax- 
well. 



NORTH FORK SETTLED 12Vj 

Ann born August 3, 1767, and married Thomas Douglas, 
May jO, 1787, and after his death, she became the wife of Dr. 
Isaac Miller Johnson. 

Margaret born September 6, 1769, and married Jacob 
Polsley, May 31, 1791. 

William born June 11, 1771, and married Cynthia Car- 
roll, on ^larch 12, 1793. 

Elizabeth born on Easter Sunday, April 11, 1773, and 
died June 30, 1773. 

Walter born May 30, 1774, and died November 16, 1774. 

Thomas born January 11, 1776, and married Rebecca 
Bond on January 6, 1803. 

Sarah born January 24, 1778, and married Allison Clarke 
January 3, 1796, and Thomas Bond, November 21, 1813. 

Susannah born June — , 1780, and married Robert Bart- 
lett, January 12, 1797, and moved to near New Madrid, Alis- 
souri. 

A son was born on February 22, 1783, that died on the 
29th day of the same month without a name. 

Rowena born June 17, 1784, and married Daniel Davis- 
son on March 30, 1802. 

Daniel — born April 28, 1787 — was the Ritchie county 
pioneer, whose history has already been given. 

Children of William and Mary Raymond. — His second 
wife : 

Cyrus born SepLember 8, 1790, and married Jane Somer- 
ville, on April 18, 1822, and Polly Carpenter on November 17, 
1851. 

Ruth born November 20, 1792, and married Joshua. 
Nixon on September 24, 1811. and went to Illinois. 

Maxa born March 14, 1795, and married Robert Robin- 
son on August 8, 1816, and went to .Illinois. 

Julia born July 28, 1799, and died June 30, 1801. 

A daughter born July 30, 1804, died the same day. 

Thomas Haymond, son of William, who married Miss 
Rebecca Bond — twin sister of Lewis Bond, was a scout dur- 
ing the latter part of the Indian wars, and was surveyor of 
Harrison county for thirty-two years, and held other offices 
of public trust and honor. His son Lewis, married Miss 



130 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COVNTY 

Rachel Wilson, youngest daughter of Col. Ben Wilson, senior, 
and was the father of Mrs. Creed Collins, of Pennsboro. 

He (Thomas) died in Harrison county on August 31, 
1853, rich in the love and esteem of his fellow-countrymen. 
He was also the father of the late Luther Haymond of Clarks- 
burg, who almost reached the centur}^ mark. 

The descendants of William Haymond, senior, which are 
prominently known in different parts of the Union, are in- 
numerable, but among them we find the name of one which 
is familiar to us all — that of the Hon. Hu Maxwell, the well 
known A\^est Virginia historian, who now holds a position 
in the Forestry Service at Washington city. 

John Raymond's Will.— "In the name of God, Amen. I 
John Haymond, of Frederick county. Carpenter, being in 
good health of Body & of sound mind & perfect mind & mem- 
ory, praise be therefore given to Almighty God, do make and 
ordain this my last will and testament in manner and form 
following, that is to say, First. 

First and principally, I recommend my soul into the 
hands of Almighty God, hoping through the merits. Death 
and passion of my Savior Jesus Christ, to have full pardon & 
forgiveness of all my sins & inherit everlasting life, and my 
body I commit to the Earth to be decently hurried &C. 

First Item. I give and bequeath unto my well-beloved 
wife Margaret Haymond, a tract of land called the "Constant 
Friendship," Avith the Plantation that I now live on, the tract 
of land containing one hundred fifty acres during her natural 
life, then the said Plantation & land to be my dear son 
William Haymond's forever. 

Item. I give and bequeath vmto my well-beloved wife, 
Margaret Haymond. a negro man named Sam, and also a 
negro man Cesar, and also a negro woman, named Jenny & 
also a negro woman named Poll, and also a negro girl named 
Nell «& and also a negro Girl named P"illas and also a negro 
girl named Lucy, and also a negro girl named Gate & also a 
negro boy named Robin & also a negro boy named Sampson, 
and also a negro girl named Sail & also a negro girl named 



(To jMrs. Creed Collins of Pennsboro we are incletjted for this valu- 
able information, wliich we gleaned from a record of tlie Haymond family 
published in 1903.) 



NORTH FORK SETTLED 131 

Dyner. Ye, said negroes my well-beloved wife, to enjoy dur- 
ing her natural life, then the said negroes to be divided be- 
tween my children, my dear son Nicholas Haymond to have 
negro, Poll & also a negro boy named Robin, forever. My 
dear son Calder Haymond to have a negro man named Sam, 
and a negro woman named Jenny & a negro girl named 
Dyner, forever. My dear daughter Hannah to have a negro 
man named Cesar and a negro girl named Lucy & a negro 
girl named Alice forever. My dear son William Haymond 
to have a negro boy named Sampson & a negro girL named 
Gate & a negro girl named Sail, forever. My dear daughter 
Ann Haymond to have a negro girl named Fillis and a negro 
girl named, Nell, forever. 

Item. I give and bequeath to my dear son, Nicholas 
Haymond, all that tract of land called Constant Friendship, 
containing one hundred fifty acres, being' the other part of 
the tract of land that I now live on. to be the said Nicholas 
Haymond's and his heirs forever, as soon as the said tract 
of land is made over by Mr. Thomas Lucas and wife, which 
land is now in the prosecion of will the said Thomas L>ucas' 
wife is at age, to make the land over, and I also give my dear 
son Nicholas Haymond a negro man named Will forever. 

Item. I give and bequeath to my dear daughter. Alary 
Haymond a negro boy named Nacy, and one negro girl named 
Candeth. 

Item. I give and bequeath a negro girl named Alice to 
my dear daughter, Hannah Jones, forever, the said negro is 
now in the possession of her husband, John Jones. 

Item. I give and bequeath unto my dear son, Calder 
Haymond, part of that tract of land called "Haymond's addi- 
tion," beginning at the end of the first line of Constant Friend- 
ship, forever. Calder to have that part that lies next my own 
Plantation and to go with the main Road by Lawrence 
Owens, and to the Church Road. 

And my dear daughter, Ann Haymond, to have the other 
part that lies above Mr. Lawrence Owens, next to Mr. Alex- 
ander Barricks, running right up to the main road, to join 
with Mr. Owen's line. 

Item. I give and bequeath unto my dear and vveil-be- 



]32 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

loved wife, all my household goods, and all ye stock of every- 
thing, Cattle, Sheep Horses Hoggs, during her natural life, 
and then the stock and household goods to be divided alike 
between my dear sons Nicholas and Calder and William and 
Ann Haymond. 

Item. I give and bequeath unto my dear and well-be- 
loved wife, the House called the "Alill House," during her 
natural life, and then the said House to be for the use of m}' 
dear sons, Nicholas Haymond, Calder Haymond, and W^illi-im 
Haymond during their lives and their heirs forev^er, and each 
son to have as good a part as the other." 

"JOHN I-iAYMOND, fSeal) 
Semptr. 27, 1750. 
Test: 

JOHN RAWLINS, 
. ROBERT EN\NIS, 
His 
WILLIAM X O'NEAL. 
Mark. 

The Garners. — John Garner, senior, Avas among the very 
first pioneers of the North fork of Hughes river. He married 
Miss Elizabeth Grigsby and came from New Jersey early in 
the century and entered land in the vicinity of Tollgate, 
wdiere he remained until his death in 1841. Not many years 
after his arrival here his wife died, and he then married Mrs. 
Eleanor Hurst Marsh. His' last hours were spent at the 
home of Notley Willis at Tollgate, and here he lies in his last 
sleep, as do his two companions. 

He was the father of two sons and three daughters all 
of the first union; viz., John, junior, William, Nancy, Eliza- 
beth, and Delila Garner. 

John Garner, junior, was born near Tollgate in 1808, and 
in 1830 he was married to Miss Sarah Ann Williams and 
established his home on Ruck run (a tributary of this river), 
on the farm that is still in the hands of his heirs. Here Mrs. 
Garner passed from earth in 1885, and the following 3-ear lie 



(This unique piece of antiquity will doubtless be of Interest to not a 
few of tlie readers of this book besides the lineal descendants.) 



NORTH FORK SETTLED 133 

was married to Miss Sarah A. Shepherd, who still survives. 
He died in 1893, and at Mole Hill he lies at rest. 

He and his first wife were the parents of seven children : 
Isaiah (1831-1901), Julia Ann, who is Mrs. J. C. Jones, of 
Mole Hill; Hester (Mrs. Edward Ferribee). Loftus P., and 
Francis A. Garner, all of Buck run ; Rebecca (Mrs. Amos 
Thomas), and William A., who died in infancy. 

William Garner went West and there married and reared 
a family, 

Delila Garner, also went West and married a man by the 
name of Maddox. Nancy was Mrs. Underwood ; and Eliza- 
beth, Mrs. Williams. 

The Marshes. — James Marsh was another very early set- 
tler on this river in the Tollgate vicinity. Nothing definite 
as to the origin of this family in America is in our possession, 
except that they came from England in Colonial times and 
settled in Maryland, where James Marsh was born. How- 
ever, he married Miss Eleanor Hurst, a beautiful English 
maiden, who crossed the deep to Baltimore with her parents 
in her girlhood, and was the founder of one of the oldest and 
best families of the county. 

Near the beginning of the nineteenth century, he came 
from Baltimore, and purchased (of Richard Dotson) the farjii 
that is now owned by J. M. Wilson, near one-half mile east 
of Tollgate, and took up his residence here, where he died in 
1810. And only a few paces from the scene of his settlement 
on his own homestead, he lies in his last sleep. After his 
death, his widow became the wife of John Garner, senior, and 
at Tollgate she reposes. 

The family of James and Eleanor Hurst Marsh consisted 
of five girls and five boys; viz., Eli, Enoch, Elias, Elijah, 
James, Epha, Elizabeth, Eliza, Edith and Charlotte Marsh. 
James died in childhood, and Elijah, in youth, but all the rest 
married and reared families. 

Eli Marsh was born on April 4, 1791, and with his parents 
came to this county in his boyhood. On March 1, 18'?."), he 
was married to Miss Drusilla Turner Israel, who was born 
in Harrison county, on June 17, 1811, and at the old Israel 
homestead, six miles from Clarksburg, they lived and died. 



i:u HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

He was one of the prominent men of his clay, and his wife 
was noted for her many beautiful traits of character, and 
their comfortable home at "Roselawn farm" was known far 
and wide for its hospitality. Mrs. Marsh died on March 13, 
1873, and he followed her to the grave on November twenty- 
seventh of the same year. 

Their little family consisted of two daughters ; viz., Mary 
Rebecca, and Susan Jane Marsh. 

In March, 18-14, Mary Rebecca became the wife of L'riel 
M. Turner, a lawyer, of Culpepper county, Virginia, who 
practiced his profession at Clarksburg after their marriage ; 
and the one child of this union was the late Prof. Eli Marsh 
Turner, of the Morgantown University, who died on March 
1, 1908, at the age of sixty-four yeais, leaving a wife, (nee 
Miss H. Georgia Jackson, of Newark, Ohio) and four chil- 
dren ; viz., Mary R., Phoebe, James J., and Wirt M. Turner, 
all of Morgantown. 

The other daughter, Susan Jane Marsh, was married, to 
Ccl. Benjamin Wilson, junior, of Clarksburg, in June, 1848, 
and the two children born of this union are: Buena M., who 
is Mrs. John W. Brown, of Clarksburg; and Drusilla, the late 
Mrs. George Funy, of W^heeling, who passed on a number of 
years ago, leaving one child. 

Including the six children of Mrs. Brown above men- 
tioned (Wilson, Lilian, Gertrude, Roscoe, Benjamin, and 
Marj^ Brown) we have the entire line of the descendants of 
Eli ]Marsh. 

Enoch Marsh was born near Tollgate in 1804, and in his 
young manhood, was married to Miss Mar}^ Ann Cline, 
daughter of Abraham Cline, who was born in January, 1808 ; 
and after spending the first few years of their married life at 
the old homestead near Tollgate. in March, 1836, they re- 
moved a little farther up the river and settled on the farm 
that is now the home of Ben Wilson, and from here they 
passed to their final home. He died on March 31, 18(i5, and 
his wife, on September 19, 1878, and both rest on their old 
liomestead. 

Their children were: Sarah Jane (Mrs. David McGin- 
nis), Eli, Elizabeth (Mrs. -John Douglass, of Cairo), Clarinda 



NORTH FORK SETTLED 



135 



(Mrs. J. H. B. Cunningham, of Mole HilH, James, of. near 
Ellenboro ; the late Jefferson Marsh, of Harrisville ; and Mary, 
Cathrine, Angelina, Eliza, and Ellen P. Marsh, who all died 
unmarried. 




"Marsh Cabin." 
This cabin was constructed from the logs of the old Enoch Marsli 



:abin. 



A large number of prominent young people in the vari- 
ous v¥alks of life in this and sister counties are descended 
from this branch of the Marsh family. Among them are H. 
E. McGinnis, the honorable County clerk ; Prof. J. F. Marsh, 
one of the leading young educators of the State ; Guy Young, 
of Glenville; and Harvey Marsh, of Ohio. Calvin Marsh, 
an editor in Washington state; Newton Marsh, of Cairo, etc. 

Elias Marsh married Miss Nancy Collins, eldest daughter 
of Jacob Collins, and settled on "Marsh's run" below Mole 
Hill, where he lived and died. (See Collins family for farther 
account.) 

Epha Marsh was first married to AVilliam Cline, and at 
Tollgate they took up their residence, perhaps on the Marsh 
homestead, and the two children of this union were Eli Cline, 
and Eleanor, who married William Haymond. After the 
death of Mr. Cline, Epha Marsh became the wife of Notley 
Willis, and the one child of this union is N. G. Willis, of Mole 
Hill. 

EHzabeth Marsh was married to Amos Keys, and her 
home was on Middle Island creek, where she sleeps, in the 
Ripley cemetery. 



i;^6 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COi'NTV 

Her children were seven in number; viz., Helen (died 
young), Eveline, John and James, who are all single, reside 
at the old home. Jacintha is Airs. Norvel Joseph, of Middle 
Island; and Bert and Alarsh Keys are the other two sons. 

Edith Marsh married James Franks, and after the birth 
of their first child, Angelina, they removed to the Ohio river 
below Parkersburg, and here their liistory ends. 

Eliza Marsh was the late Airs. Thomas Eastlack. of Har- 
rison county, and her children were Eli, Alstorphus, Elias, 
and Carminta, who became Z\Irs. liarney Bond, of Middle 
Island creek. 

Charlotte Marsh was married to Richard "Britton, and 
for a time after their marriage they resided, in the "Buckeye 
state," but they later removed to Greenwood, in Doddridge 
county, and here we lose sight of them. Air. Britton Avas a 
newspaper editor, and their family consisted of three children: 
Richard, the son, died in his young manhood : Eleanor was 
the late Airs. William Collins, of the North fork of Hughes' 
river; and Eliza was the wife of Henry B. Collins, of Alole 
Hill. (See Collins history.) 

Raleigh Haddox. — Raleigh^ Haddox was another very 
early settler on the waters of the North fork of Hughes river. 
He was of Scotch-Irish descent. His father, Jonathan Had- 
dox, crossed the sea from Ireland during the latter part of 
the eighteenth century and settled at Richmond, Virginia. 
As dates are wanting, it is not known to a certainty where 
Raleigh Haddox was born, but it is probable that the "Old 
Dominion" was the place of his nativity. He enlisted as a 
soldier late in the war of '12, but saw no service. His 
wife, Miss Sarah Ferrell, was the daughter of Alajor Ferrell. 
of the Continental army, who afterwards served as captain 
in the war of 181"2, and received from the Government, in 
recognition of his services, a grant of land where the county 
seat of Culpepper is now located ; but failing to prosecute 
his claim, received no benefit from the grant which is now 
valued at one million dollars. 



^This name has been spelled in three different ways in the data sent 
us: "Raley," "Rollo," and "Raleign," and we preferred the latter. 



NORTH FORK SETTLED . 137 

In 1825, Raleigh Haddox, with his family, emigrated 
from the valley of Virginia to Monongalia county, and from 
near Morgantown, four years later, he came to this county, 
and settled below Mole Hill on the run that still bears his 
name, where the remainder of his life was principally spent. 
Mrs. Haddox died in lS.5(i. She was of Scotch descent. 

His children were : George Haddox, whose family is 
mentioned with the Hushers. Mary who became the wife of 
Matthew Riggs, of Tyler county. B. H., Enoch S., and 
Jonathan J. Haddox. (The Riggs children were: James, 
Manda, Oliver, Raleigh, Enoch, Dock and Agnes Riggs.) 

B. H. was married to Miss Nancy Haddox, daughter of 
Elijah, a cousin of Raleigh, and Louis C. Haddox, a promi- 
nent clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal church, of Colum- 
bus, Ohio, is his only son. This son (Louis C.) married 
Caroline B. Ireland, daughter of Alexander, and niece of G. 
M. Ireland, of Pullman. 

Enoch S. Haddox was first married to Miss Caroline 
Pickens, of Pleasants county ; and his second wife was Miss 
Eliza Chambers, of the same county. One son of the first 
union and two sons and three daughters, of the second, made 
up his household : O. M., Kinie, Victory, Wm., and Tudie. 

Jonathan J. Haddox's first wife was a Miss Robinson, 
and his second. Miss Amanda McCoy, of Tyler county, and 
one daughter and one son. both of the second union were his 
children : John T. and Marie. 

Allen Calhoun. — Allen Calhoun was the pioneer on the 
farm that is now the estate of the late Edmund Taylor, a lit- 
tle east of Pennsboro. He was the first blacksmith of the 
town, but at the coming of the railroad, he sold out his in- 
terest here, and removed to Spruce creek, Avhere he passed 
away during the civil war; and in the old Pleasant Hill bury- 
ing-ground he lies at rest. 

He was of Irish origin, his parents having crossed from 
the "Emerald Isle," shortly before his birth, and settled in 
Pennsylvania. 

He (Allen) and his wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Powell Calhoun, 
were both natives of the "Keystone" state. Mrs. Calhoun 



338 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

died near the }-ear 1S45, and was laid at rest in the Pioneer 
cemetery at Pennsboro. 

Their cliildren were: Samuel Calhoun, of Beason ; 
Robert, who died in early manhood ; Powell, formerly of this 
county, but now one of the nonegarians of T3der; John, who 
spent his last hours at the old homestead, on Spruce creek; 
Elizabeth, who married James Wright, of Spruce creek, and 
was the late mother of the Rev. Allen \\' right, of Parkers- 
burg; and Mary, who married ^Villis Wright (brother of 
James), of Barbour county. 

The Taylors. — Edmund Taylor V\'as another earl}' settler 
on this river. He and his wife, ]\Irs. Rachel McKinney Tay- 
lor, were both natives of the "Old Dominion," but they came 
here from Harrison county, near the year 1820, and erected 
their humble dwelling on the bank of the river near the 
mouth of Lynn Camp, on the farm that is now the estate of 
their late son Edmund. He was a typical pioneer of gigantic 
stature, and was a large land owner. The first sermon in 
Clay district is said to have been delivered within the walls 
of his home here. 

Mrs. Taylor was born on Alay 29, 1791, and was a de- 
scendant of the Tucker family, her mother being a sister of 
Phebe Tucker Cunningham, of Indian fam.e. She preceded 
Mr. Taylor to the home beyond by a number of years, and 
his second wife was Mrs. ]\Iary Sherwood Howard. He was 
born on April 15. lT9fi, and died at a little home near Penns- 
boro some time during the seventies, and b}- the side of his 
first wife he lies at rest on the old homestead. 

Camden and Joseph Taylor were the children of iiis 
second marriage and those of the first were : Lovina, James, 
Mary Ann, Nancy, Sarah, Michael, Edmund, junior, and 
Rachel Taylor. 

Lovina Taylor, the eldest child, who was born on April 
15, 1815, married Peter Broadwater and lived and died in this 
county. (See Broadwater Family.) 

James Taylor, whose natal day was October 7, 1818, was 
a man of more than ordinary ability. He was one of the 
early Sherifrs of the county and served as a member of the 
State Legislature. He resided on Lynn Camp, at Harrisville, 



XORTH FORK SETTLED 139 

and finally went to Cornwallis, where death overtook him. 
But he rests in the Taylor burying-ground on the old home- 
stead. 

He was first married to Miss Lovisa Dotson, and his 
second wife was a Miss Windom. The children of the first 
marriage vveie; Phelps, who died in childhood; the Rev. E. 
J. Taylor, and James D., of Lynn Camp ; Stonewall, of Park- 
ersburg-; the late Mrs. Lovina (Patrick) Monohan, of Cairo: 
Mrs. Hannah Broadwater; Mrs. Rachel (Ocran) Corbin, of 
Pennsboro ; and the late Mrs. Victoria M. (H. N.) Wilson, 
of Burnt House. 

The two children of the last marriage were John and 
William Taylor. 

Mary Ann Taylor, l:)orn September 23, 1820, married 
Henson Merrifield, and after she was laid in the Pennsboro 
cemetery, the family went to the State of Washington. Avhere 
they married, and where they now reside. Helen, James, 
Adaline and Edlee Merrifield were the names of the children. 

Nancy Taylor, born on November 24, 1822, married Bar- 
ton H. Hickman, and in the Gnat's run cemetery she lies at 
rest. Mr. Hickman still survives, and their children are: 
James, Jack. Luster, Edmund, ]\Irs. ]\Iaggie Dotson, ]\Irs. 
Jenning Strosnider, Airs. Fannie Rogers, Mrs. Viola Woofter, 
and Mrs. Rose Taylor. 

Sarah Taylor was born on January 29, 1825, and died 
(unmarried) on June 9, LS95, and was buried in the Taylor 
cemetery. 

Michael Taylor, born July 12, 1827, married Miss Eliza 
Broadwater, daughter of Jefiferson Broadwater, and died a 
number of years ago, but his widow survived until 1909. when 
she was laid by his side in the Taylor burying ground. 

Their children are as follows : 

Mrs. Adaline Calhoun, Mrs. Mary (A. P.) Meredith, 
Ashford, Peter, James, Waldo, Edmund, Airs. Jennie Bucke- 
lew, and Mrs. Ella Nay. Mrs. Aleredith and Mrs. Nay reside 
in Washington, on the Pacific coast. 

Edmund Taylor, junior, born on October 5, 1829, mar- 
ried Ermany Jane Baker, daughter of William and Ruth 
Deacon Baker, and lived and died on the old homestead where 



lAQ HISTORY Of RITCHIE COUNTY 

his parents settled, on January 31, 1903. His wife survived 
him by several years, and both rest in the Taylor cemetery. 
Their family consisted of thirteen children : 
Elizabeth, the first born, is Mrs. Charles Cunningham, 
Boggess, Marcus B., William, Brent, Gluck. Grover, Ben, 
Ralph, Mrs. Addie Moore, Mrs. Sarah Bernard, Mrs. Daisy 
Moore, and Mrs. June Dotson. 

Rachel Taylor, the youngest daughter, born on March 
15. 1834, married Ashford Broadwater, and spent her last 
hours on McKim, but rests in the Tollgate cemetery. Her 
children are twelve in number : James, Howard, Harvey, 
Ralph, Waldo, Okey, Morris, Harris, Sedwick, Mrs. Mary 
Hill, Mrs. Amanda Peebles, and Miss Ida Broadwater. 



CHAPTER IX 




North Fork Settlers— Continued 

SAIAH MARSHALL was an early pioneer 
on the river above Tollgate — on the farm 
that was until quite recently a part of the 
late Creed Collins estate ; and here where 
he formed his settlement, he spent the clos- 
ing hours of his life; but if he had any de- 
scendants (and some say that he had not) 
we have been unable to get any trace of them. 

Helmick, — Philip Helmick made the first improvement 
on the river below Tollgate. He came from Harrison county 
near the year 1805, and established his home on the Broad- 
water farm, where he saw the last of earth, but of his poster- 
ity we know nothing. Li 1839, not long after his death, Eli 
Tucker, senior, purchased this farm, which passed into the 
hands of the late Jefferson Broadwater, in 1844. 

Tucker. — Eli B. Tucker was born in what is now Taylor 
county in 1797, and shortly after his marriage to Miss Eliza- 
beth Jaco, in his early manhood, he came to the South fork 
of Hughes river and founded his home on the Michael's farm, 
at Oxford ; and from there removed to what is now the 
Broadwater farm. In 1856, he, with his family, went to 
Mason county, Missouri, where he fell asleep in 1876. 

He three times took the marriage vow, Ruth Scott being 
his second wife, and Margaret Dotson, sister of Emmanuel, 
his third. 

The children of the first union were : Harrison J., Mary 
who died in youth, Rachel (Mrs. Henry E. Dotson), Orlinda 
(Mrs. Solomon Dotson), Phebe (Mrs. John Sears), and Nel- 
son. 

Those of the second v/ere : Eli B., who is now spending 
his old age just across the Doddridge county line near Toll- 
gate; James R., of Tollgate; Booth, Harrison, Thomas, 



143 HISTORY OF RITCHIE GOV NT Y 

Samuel and Michael, who went West where they rest. 

Those of the third marriage : Jackson, Preston, Elizabeth 
and Ruhama, who died single; Adaline (Mrs. Thomas Nich- 
olson), Loiiise (Mrs. Henry Luck). 

The Tuckers are said to be of Scotch lineage, and they 
belong to the same family as Phebe Tucker Cunningham, of 
Indian fame, but we have been unable to determine the exact 
connection. 

The Dotsons. — Some time, perhaps, in the early twenties, 
the Dotsons found homes in the Tollgate vicinity, and a long 
line of their descendants still lay claim to this soil. 

The original spelling of this name in the Old World was 
"Dodson," but for some unknown reason (probably from the 
natural inclination for mis-pronouncing names) it became 
changed to its present form. 

Two brothers, James and William Dotson, came frou! 
England in colonial day?; and settled near Richmond, Vir- 
ginia; and from James (or some say his name was Richard) 
the different families of this part of the county trace their 
lineage. 

AVilliam Dotson, son of James (or Richard) married 
Miss Alary Franks, and settled at Greenwood, in Doddridge 
county, in his 3^ounger days, where he reared quite a family 
of sons and daughters, who were as fellows : 

Emmanuel, William, junior, John, Squire, Henry, Saul, 
Nancy (Mrs. Griggs), Jane (Mrs. Elefrits), Cynthia (Mrs. 
Scott), Charlotte (wife of John Wilson), Elizabeth (Mrs. 
Ruley)-, Mary Ann (Mrs. Dougherty), and Alargaret (Airs. 
Eli B. Tucker, senior). 

Emmanuel Dotson was born at Greenwood, on Alarch 1, 
1798 ; and in his early manhood, was married to Miss Hannah 
Sears, and on Cabin run where Thomas Dotson now lives, 
they established their home near they year 1830. Here they 
remained until they crossed to the other side, and at Tollgate 
they rest. Air. Dotson died on February 12, 1881, at the age 
of eighty-two vears. 

He and his wife Hannah, were the parents of three sons 
and one daughter; viz., Hiram S., John W.. Granville, and 
Lovisa Dotson. 



NORTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 



143 



John W., and his wife, Mrs. Amy Pool Dotson, went to 
Minnesota many years ago, but they now live in California. 

Granville married Sarah Cross, and they also went West, 
where they sleep, and where their descendants live. 

Lovisa, the only daughter, married James Taylor and 
lived and died in this county. (See Taylor Family.) 

Hiram S. Dotson, the one son that remained here, was 
born on Cabin run, in 1832, and spent his entire life within 

the bounds of his native county, 
where his ashes lie. 

He was first married to Miss 
Susan Markwell. who died while 
he was serving as a Union soldier 
in ISGo, leaving eleven children ; 
and his second wife was Miss 
Melvina Poole, who was the 
mother of his other five children. 
On October 26, 1863, he was 
honorably discharged from the 
army service because his orphan 
children demanded his presence 
at home. 
The children of the first union were: Mansfield S., 
Spence B., Perry E., Amos A., Wm. F., Alpheus R., Charles 
G., Mrs. Alice J. Ash. Mrs. Sarah G. Kyger, and Mrs. Susan 
Smith — one name is missing. Those of the second marriage 
were: J. W., David V., Thomas J., Mrs. Annabella Nutter, 
and Mary, who became the wife of Henry Miller. 

William Dotson (brother of Emmanuel) was married to 
Miss Anne Ankrum, and settled across the Doddridge count}^ 
line, where he lived and died. His children were : Daniel, 
Jerusha (Mrs. Joseph Dougherty), William, Owen, Rose 
(Mrs. Samuel Copendofl:"er), Caroline (Mrs. Hickman), Rilla 
(Mrs. Francis Waldo), and Israel Dotson. 

John Dotson (brother of Emmanuel) married Miss Susan 
Sears, sister of Hannah Sears Dotson, for his first wife; and 
his second, was M'iss Mahala Myers. He, too, settled across 
the Doddridge county line, but removed to the Harris\^ille 
vicinitv in the ante-bellum davs. and there he rests. His 




Emmanuel Dotson. 



144 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COU.VTY 

children : Oliver, Lloyd, Mrs. Minerva Stinespring, Mrs. 
Cindona (Daniel) Malone, Clinton, Leeman, Noble and Rufns 
Dolson. 

Thomas J. Dotson, another brother of Emmanuel, was 
one of the early settlers on Buck run (a small tributary of 
the head of the North fork, which took its name from the 
large number of male deer found here by the pioneer hunters). 
He and his wife Ruth Griggs Dotson, were the parents of 
five children; viz., Elza, the late Ellis, the late ]\larshall, 
Armstrong, and Clara who married George Elefritz. 

"Aunt Polly" Dotson, a widow whose identity we have 
been unable to learn, was another early settler on Buck run, 
but the names of her children have been given us as follows: 
Benjamin, Robert, Thomas, John S., Joseph, and l\frs. Alary 
Griggs. 

And from these two pioneers the numerous families of 
the name on Buck run to-day are descended. Like the oilier 
r)otsons they are said to be a peaceable, law-abiding race 
of people. Many of them are religiously inclined, and not a 
lew of them have entered the ministry of the Christian 
church, and some of the younger generations are identified 
in the teaching profession. 

Zachariah Dotson, brother of William, senior, w^as a very 
early settler in the Tollgate vicinity. He possibly came as 
early as 1(S10, and remained until death, but of his family 
we have no record. 

Richard Dotson, the head of another branch of the fam- 
ily, was also a brother of William, senior, and Zachariah 
Dotson. He removed from the Old Dominion to the Monon- 
galia glades, and from there to Doddridge county, where he 
met the destroyer. Though he is said to have owned land 
in the Tollgate vicinity as early as 1800, we have no account 
of his ever having made any improvement here. His home, 
however was in Doddridge county, and in a burying-ground 
on Arnold's creek his ashes lie. 

He twice took the marriage vow but the names of his 
wives are missing ; but the children of the first union were as 
follows: Thomas, Mann, and John Dotson; and those of the 
second, Jackson, Elisha, Joseph, Michael, Ruth (Mrs. James 



NORTH PORK SETTLERS— COXTIN LED U3 

Cain), Lizzie (Mrs. Johnson Childers). and Stacy (Mrs. John 
Haggle). 

Elisha Dotson was a soldier of the war of 1812, and his 
wife was Miss Nancy Wineger. Their family consisted of 
t!ie following named children: Trvin Dotson, of Rusk, is the 
only survivor of the family and he is now seventy-four years 
of aee. Richard, who married Miss Elizabeth Deem, was the 
head of the Pllizabeth (Wirt county) family, who have, since 
his death, removed to Parkersburg. Albert rests in Wood 
county; Hiram, on Goose creek; Jackson, in Oregon; Mary 
(Mrs. John Hustage, and Mahala (Mrs. John Flemming), 
both in Wood county; and Clarinda (Mrs. George Elefritz), 
on Goose creek. 

David Cox, though not so early as some of the rest, was 
Lhe first to establish a home on the head of Buck run, and 
John Garner, whose history has already been given, was 
another pioneer here. 

Mr. Cox was a native of Maryland, but Avith his father 
came to W^etzel county at the age of eighteen A^-ears, where he 
engaged in farming with Presley Martin on the very site 
where New Martinsville now stands. At the age of twenty- 
six years he claimed Miss Rachel Hawkins as his life com- 
panion ; and in 1845, they came to Hughes' river and settled 
on the William Collins farm until they could find a desirable 
location for a permanent home; and the year following (1846) 
they removed to Buck run. where they died and wliere their 
heirs still hold sway. Their remains lie in the Oak Grove 
churchyard on their old homestead. 

Their family consisted of five daughters and five sons : 
Mrs. Mary Kloy, Mrs. Tiester A. Porter, Mrs. Nancy M. 
Hawkins, and Caleb H. Cox now own the old homestead. 
Jesse died in Missouri in 1870 ; Edward is of Oklahoma ; James 
is a silver-smith and school-teacher, of Doddridge county ; 
William, who formerly wielded the birchen rod, and later 
figured as a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church, is 
now a successful tiller of the soil in the Buckeye state : and 
of the rest we have no mention, but they are probably dead. 

Caleb H. Cox is a distinguished pulpit orator of the 
United Brethren church in Christ, and is now in charge of 
the Valley Mill church at Waverly, West Virginia. Pie is a 



116 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

'"six-fold" graduate, and one of his college degrees is that of 
Doctor of Divinity from the Kansas City University. 

He is also an author of considerable note — "The Manual 
of Theology," and the "History of the West Virginia Annual 
Conference of the United Brethren Church in Christ," being 
the Avork of his 'pen. He has written a number of sacred 
songs, too, among which are "Stay with Me, Lord," and the 
"Silver River." 

He has presented fifteen amendments to the "Book of 
Discipline" of his church before the General conference, thir- 
teen of which have been adopted; has served as secretary of 
the Conference for twenty-eight years, and has been a meni- 
ber of the Minister's Examining committee for thirty-two 
3-ears. 

Gamaliel Waldo made the first settlement on the farm 
that is known as the Flannagan homestead near the year 1815. 
Traces of his old cabin vvhich stood only a few liundred vards 
from the present W. A. Flannagan residence, are still visible. 

Mr. Waldo and his wife, Nancy Bartlett Waldo, came 
from Harrison county and remained here until about tlie year 
1844, when they removed to Indiana witli all their family, 
except three members who were established in homes of their 
own, and there they saw the last of earth. They were ad- 
herents of the Baptist church faith and Mr. Waldo was the 
first clerk of the "Mab Zeal" Baptist class at Harrisville in 
1825. 

Their children were as follows : Hickman, Bartlett, 
Phipps, John, Zedediah, Melinda. Matilda, Harriett. Emily. 
Amy and Elizabeth Waldo, the daughters ha^'ing all married 
in the West. 

Hickman Waldo, who married Miss Mary AVilliams, 
daughter of Foster and Mrs. Nellie Pritchard Williams, of 
Doddridge county, remained in the Tollgate vicinity until he 
crossed to the other side ; and here, on the Doddridge county 
side, some of his children still live. His family are: John. 
Oscar, Jasper, James, and George, of Doddridge county : Syl- 
vester and Francis, of Fairmont ; Newton, of Colorado : and 
Grant died in youth. His daughters are Mrs. Susan (John 
W.) Debrular, of Holbrook ; Mrs. Alice (Joseph) Ankruni, 



NORTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 147 

Fairmont; and Mrs. Sarah (Wilford) Collins, Ohio. 

■ Bartlett Waldo was married to Miss Jane Gray, daughter 
of James Gray, of Oxford, and spent his life in Doddridge 
county. His children were Arthur, Sarah, the late Mrs. Eliza- 
beth (Christopher) Lipscomb, of Clarksburg; Mrs. Emily 
Norris, Wetzel county; Thomas Waldo, of Grantsville; and 
Miss Victoria W"aldo, of Clarksburg. 

The Taylors. — Eli Taylor was the head of another old 
and worthy Clay district family. 

He was descended from English (or Irish) emigrants, 
who crossed to the Western world in Colonial times and set- 
tled in New Hampshire. The time of their coming is not de- 
finitely known, but it is probable that his grandsire, Daniel 
Taylor, was among the first to cross. HoAvever this may be, 
our history begins with Daniel Taylor, who married Miss 
Sarah Larue for his second wife, and migrated from the 
"Hampshire hills" to what is now Hampshire county, West 
Virginia, where he established a permanent home, and reared 
a family; and from his two sons, Eli and John Taylor, quite 
a number of the citizens of this part of the county are de- 
scended. 

Eli Taylor was born in Hampshire county in 1813, and 
his wife, Mary Sigler (born 1812) was a native of Allegheny 
county, Maryland. 

They were married on May 16, 1833 ; and in 184:1 they 
removed to this county, and settled near Tollgate, where their 
son, Silas J. Taylor, now resides. Here death closed his eyes 
in 1855, but Mrs. Taylor survived until 1876, when she was 
laid by his side in the Tollgate cemetery. 

Their children were seven in number, viz., John William 
(1834-1847), Aseneth Ellen (1836-1861 unmarried), Phillip 
(1839-1834), who died at Clarksburg, where he sleeps, (from 
smallpox) while serving as a Union soldier; Dan'iel E. 
(1841—), lives in Texas; Sarah Martha (1843-54), Silas J. 
(1845), of Tollgate; and Eli Griffin, (1849) who was formerly 
a teacher of this county, is now of Morgantown. lie (Griffin 
Taylor) was married in 1880 to Miss Camora Barcus. of In- 
diana. 

Silas J. Ta3dor, who still occupies the old home, where 
he was born sixty-five years ago, is one of the substantia! 



148 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

citizens of this community. He is a successful tiller of the 
soil, and was at one time a member of the honorable County 
court. 

On Januar}^ 1, 186T, he deserted single life when he 
claimed Miss Eleanor Cathrine Collins, daughter of William 
Collins, as his bride ; and the five children born of this union 
are as follows : 

Vida A. is Mrs. A. J. Zinn, of Tollgate ; and William C. 
and Otha R. are business men of this town ; Miss Faye is at 
home; and Silas Reuben lives in Wirt county. 

John Taylor, the elder brother of Eli, was born in Hamp- 
shire county in 1810, and there in 1832, he was married to 
Aliss Deborah Monroe, who was also -born in Hampshire 
county of Scotch parentage ; and on October 18, 1833, twins 
were born of this union — a son and a daughter; and four days 
after the birth of these children the young mother was borne 
to her final resting place. 

The daughter, Mary E. Taylor, grew to womanhood and 
married Mr. Cornwell, and she is the venerable mother of 
Hon. J- J- Cornwell, the noted lawyer and politician, of Rom- 
ney. 

The son, John Monroe I'aylor, remained in his native 
county until he had reached the age of eighteen years, when 
he went to Bridgeport, in Harrison county. There he met 
and married Miss Huldah Pool, daughter of Thomas Pool, a 
descendant of the Waldos and Gofifs, of Harrison county, and 
from there they removed to Tollgate in the ante-bellum days. 

At the breaking out of the Civil war, Mr. Ta3'lor joined 
the "Home Guards," and while on duty at the Baltimore and 
Ohio railroad bridge, contracted typhoid fever, which finall)' 
resulted in his death thirty years later. In February, 189:2, 
he sufifered a slight injury to the limb that had been affected 
by the fever during his military service, and his wife was the 
victim of an attack of la grippe, and both began to decline; 
and on a beautiful Sunday in May (1, 1892) they both passed 
into the land of eternal day. He preceded her by one brief 
hour, and both lie at rest in one grave in the Gnat's run ceme- 
tery. 

They were the parents of six children : Ira Taylor is 
one of the oldest and most successful teachers of the county ; 



NORTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 149 

Thomas \\'., and J. Hammond are also of this county; Albert 
is of Alorg-antown ; and Anna T. (Mrs. Taylor), and Vietta 
(Mrs. Flanagan), ixith of Mineral county. 

The Lantzes. — The venerable Jacob Lantz, who is, per- 
haps, at this time, the oldest resident of the county, has been 
identitied with the citizenship of this river for more than 
seventy years. 

He was born at Blacksville, West Virginia, on August 
22, 1814; and there his parents, John and Elizabeth Bonnett 
Lantz, spent their lives. On December 8, 1836, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Minerva Miner, of Blacksville, and two years 
later, they came to this county and settled on the "Simon 
Lantz farm" (now owned by ex-Sheriff Okey E. Nutter) ; and 
from here, in 1863, he removed to Mole Hill, where he still 
survives. 

Mrs. Lantz died on March 2, 1860, and was laid at rest 
in the Mole Hill cemetery. And on April 14, 1861, Mr. Lantz 
was again married to Mrs. Lettie Smith Jones, daughter of 
Isaac Smith, of Tyler county, and widow of James Jones; 
but on March 3, 1906, Death laid his icy hand upon her, and 
slie, too, rests in the Mole Hill cemetery. His granddaughter, 
Miss Lettie Marsh, now lives with him. 

The children of his first marriage were five in number, 
and were as follows : 

John Lantz, born November 23, 1837, and died on Febru- 
ary 10, 1861. 

Simon Miner, born October 26, 1839, and died on January 
10, 1863. 

Louisa, born June 25, 1841. and in 1860, married Lycur- 
gus Hill, and died at her home in Tyler county on October 30, 
1903. She was the mother of ex-Sheriff" B. F. Hill ; and ex- 
Senator T. P. Hill. 

Emeline Lantz, born on February 16, 1843. married Peter 
Stuart, on August 27, 1865, and resides at Mole Hill. 

Allison Price Lantz, born on May 16, 1848, married Miss 
Lina LTaymond. on October 24, 1869, and died at his home at 
Mole Hill on April 20, 1870. 

The children of the second union are Minerva A., the 
wife of Reeves Haymond; and Ida Lantz. wife of John R. 
Maish. both of Mole Hill. 



150 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The Cunninghams. — Though not pioneers, the families 
of Joseph and James Larkin Cunningham liave long been 
identified with the leading citizens of this part of the county. 
These brothers were the sons of John and Sarah King Cun- 
ningham, and from Marion county they came during the 
spring of 1857. 

Joseph Cunningham and his wife, Luvina ^^IcCray, set- 
tled on the Lewis Bond farm on Gnat's run, where their son 
now lives. Here he passed from earth during the summer of 
1890, and his venerable widow survived until February 10, 
1904. Both rest in the family burying-ground on the old 
homestead. 

Their children were as follows: Harriet (Mrs. L. S. Sill, 
Pennsboro) ; Rebecca (Mrs. D. M. Hayhurst, Beech Grove) ; 
Jane (Mrs. \\\ A. Duckworth, Duckworth Summit) ; Ang- 
elina (widow of Jefiferson Marsh, of Harrisville) ; Sarah (I\Irs. 
A\'. A\'. Collins, Pennsboro) ; Mary (Mrs. D. Z. Taylor, Hamp- 
shire county) : Ellen (unmarried), who, with her brother, 
Robert, resides at the old home ; the late Andrew, of Okla- 
homa : Joseph H. B., of Mole Hill; and the late James Frank- 
lin, whose family now live at Huntington. 

Jay E. Cunningham, of Pennsboro, wdio is so well known 
in Prohibition circles ; J. Frank Marsh, Harvey Marsh, and 
numerous other prominent young people that might be men- 
tioned, are the grandchildren of Joseph Cunningl]am. 

James Larkin Cunningham was married to Miss Eliza- 
betli Fox (sister of E. C. Fox, of Harrisville), on January 16, 
1815, who was born in Greene county, Pennsylvania, un 
December 23, 1831, and on their arrival in this county, they 
established their home near Beech Grove, where their son, 
D. B. Cunningham, now resides. Here ~Slr. Cunriingham died 
in March, 1888, and Mrs. Cunningham joined him on the other 
side on October 1, 1909. 

They were the parents of the following naiiied sons and 
daughters: D. B., who was long a teacher in this county. 
v.ath his lister, Mrs. ElizaDeth Smith, resides at the old home ; 
G. Fillmore met a tragic death by drowning in the South fork 
of Hughes' river not far from his home, at Flazelgreen, near 
twelve years ago;'. A.. S. is of Beech Grove; Eli, of Illinois; 



NORTH FORK SETTLERS—COXTIXUED 151 

I\Irs. Lyda Whitehill, of Parkersburg ; Edith married Devvit 
Richardson, and after her death at her home in Athens coun- 
ty, Ohio, her sister, Mary, became the wife of Mr. Richardson, 
and they reside in Ohio still. 

John Cunningham, another brother of Joseph and James 
Larkin, and his wife, who was Mjss Mahala McCray, sister 
of I\Irs. Joseph Cunningham, were also residents of Gnat's 
run, but they died childless. 

While the connection has not been established between 
this family and the older pioneer families of this name in the 
county, there is but little doubt that they are a collateral 
branch of the same race. 

David Allen McGinnis, the subject of this sketch, was 
born in Cabell county, on October 1, 1823 ; and, there, on a 
farm and in his father's store, the days of his boyhood were 
principally spent. He early developed a fondness for books, 
and was a student of Marshall college in its academic days. 
At the age of seventeen years, he entered the profession of 
teaching (first in W^ayne county), and thus continued for a 
number of years. Being naturally of a religious turn of mind, 
lie united with the Methodist Episcopal church at the age of 
thirteen years, and, on August 17, 1844, was licensed to 
preach the gospel ; and at once entered the field of the itiner- 
ancy, where he continued his labors for seven years — luitil 
his failing health compelled him to take a local relation with 
the conference. 

He was a man of pronounced views and of a deeply relig- 
ious character, and the influence of this character has left its 
impress upon his descendants, who ever stand for something 
in the communities where they reside. 

On October 8, 1849, he was married to Miss Sarah Jane 
Marsh, daughter of Enoch Marsh, who was also a teacher 
and a woman of high. Christian character; and the following 
year they came to this county, and settled at Mole Hill, where 
his life came to a peaceful close, on Sunday, May 17, 1896. 
Mrs. McGinnis was borne to the family burying-ground on 
the old Marsh homestead at Tollgate, in November, 1876, and 
after her death he was married to Miss Nancy Hammett, of 
Wood county. His body rests in the Mole Hill cemetery. 



152 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

He was the father of twelve children — all of the first 
union: viz., P. M. ]\IcGinnis, Donahue; Asbury H., TA'ler 
county ; Enoch M., Texas : John H., Gofif's ; Sarnantha, who 
first married Warren Cophn. is now Airs. Aaron Younge, of 
Wirt county ; ]\Iary Anne is Airs. Isaac Lambert, of Ellen- 
boro ; Alelcena J., the wife of Dr. A. S. Grimm, of St. Alary's; 
Clarinda, Airs. Francis AlcCullough, of Alole Hill; Sarah, the 
late Airs. Leonard Doak, of Harrisville; Armedia, the late 
Airs. John Britton. of Alole Hill ; Eliza J., and Lina, Avho both 
died in youth, rest in the Alole Hill cemetery. Eliza died in 
1885, and Lina, the following year. This family figured 
prominently among the teachers of former years, five mem- 
bers being thus identified. 

Clerk H. E. AIcGinnis, of the Circuit court, is the grand- 
son of David A. AIcGinnis, he being the eldest son of P. AI. 
AIcGinnis. 

McGinnis Ancestry. — This family is of Irish-AIalesian 
origin and its history dates back so far that it has almost be- 
come lost in the "haze of antiquity."' But the authentic his- 
tory, however, begins with the year 1000. 

The name comes from two Irish words — "Alag," meaning 
son, and ''Agensha," meaning great strength, and from these 
two ancient words, its various spellings, "AIcGennes," '"AIc- 
Ginnis," "Alagennis," etc., originated. 

The family migrated from the Xorth of Ireland to the 
Western A\'orld — from County Down of Ulster, where they 
were a powerful clan in early times, and the "Red Hand of 
Ulster" is on their coat-of-arms. They, with their rivals, the 
O'Neills, ruled the province of Ulster until the coming of the 
English, in 1600, when many of them left their homes, going 
to foreign lands — some to the Highlands of Scotland, and 
some to other climes. But the first record we have of the 
family in the Occident is near the year 1700, when some of 
them entered the Indian w^ars in the New England colonies. 

Captain AIcGinnis. commander of a company of New 
Hampshire troops, routed the French at Rock}^ Brook, near 
Lake George, in 1755, and w^as killed a little later by a spent 
ball, but he was unmarried. Soon after this, several families 
of the name settled at Philadelphia, and from them the Ale- 



NORTH FORK SETTLERS— COS TI\U ED 153 

Ginnises of Kentucky, Virginia and West Virginia come. 
They are to-day very numerous throughout the Union, the 
entire number being estimated at two thousand five hundred, 
but Pennsylvania claims the larger share. 

The Rev. Edmund McGinnis, who was born in Cabell 
county (West) Virginia, on November 25, 1798, and with his 
parents removed to Guyandotte, in Cabell county, in 1811, 
was the progenitor of the Ritchie county family. He, too, 
was a zealous worker in his Master's vineyard. He, havmg 
been converted at the age of seventeen years, was licensed to 
preach in 1827. 

On June 12, 1821, he was married to Miss Mary Hough- 
land, of Washington county, Ohio, who was a relative of 
George Washington, Eli Whitney and Robert Fulton. He 
removed to Texas late in life and there passed away in the 
"full triumphs of faith" on June 9, 1865. 

He delivered his last sermon on March fifth and. while 
thiis engaged, was seized with the fatal illness, which con- 
tinued until June, as above stated. His wife died on July 0. 
1S7(), and by his side she sleeps. They were the parents of 
ten children, all of whom have crossed the tide — six preceded 
him home: Among them were David \. McGinnis, wdio lived 
and died at Mole Hill ; Oliver A., Milville, and Fletcher, and 
Mrs. Melcena Beurhing, who all went to Texas ; and Mrs. 
Mary Johnson, who sleeps at Huntington. 

The Rev. F. AI. Malcolm, of the West Virginia M. E. 
Conference, is descended from this family, he being a son of 
A-Irs. Virginia McGinnis Malcolm, and the grandson of Col. 
John McGinnis, of Cabell county. 

To Herbert P. McGinnis, brother of Clerk H. E. AIcGin- 
nis, we owe our thanks for this valuable sketch. He having 
gleaned it from a publislicd record of the family. 

Abraham Cline was a very early settler on Avhat Avas 
locally known as "Dry Ridge," not far from the Pleasants 
county line, but he changed his place of residence to High- 
land about the year 1822, where he kept a house of pul:)lic 
entertainment, for a time, and here our information concern- 
ing his history ends, though it is quite probable that he has 
descendants in this county. His daughter, Polly, who is said 



154 HISTORY or RITCHIE COUXTV 

to have been the first white child born on this side ot the 
Bhie Ridge mountains, became the wife of John Douglass and 
went West. This pioneer was of German origin, and was the 
son of William Cline, senior, who made the first improve- 
ment where the little town of Smithville now stands, and who 
afterwards removed to near Gallipolis, Ohio, where he prol)- 
abiy found a resting place. 

One of the Clines is said to have killed the last Indian 
that met his death at the hands of a white man in this section 
of West Virginia, he having shot the intruder while he was 
attempting to steal his horse. 

William Cline, junior, brother of Abraham, was married 
to Aliss Epha Marsh, daughter of James Marsh, and after a 
brief residence near Gallipolis, Ohio, removed to Middle 
Island creek, Doddridge county ; and from there, to Tollgate, 
this county, where he died and where he lies buried. He left 
two children, Eli, aged twelve, and Eleanor, aged eight years : 
and after his death his widow married Notley G. Willis, and 
one son, N. G. Willis, of Mole Hill, was the result of this 
union. (For farther history of Cline descendants see Hay- 
mond history.) 

Eleanor Cline became the wife of William C. Haymond, 
and has a long line of descendants in this county. 

Eli Cline, who first married Miss Frances Collins, daugh- 
ter of Jacob, and afterwards, Mrs. Bradford (widow of Jacob 
Bradford), died at Pennsboro near the year 19()0. For the 
children of the first marriage, see Collins history, and of the 
three sons born of the second union, William alone grew to 
the years of maturity. 

CORNWALLIS SETTLED. 

Jesse C. Lowther (son of Thomas and grandson of Col. 
William), was the first to break the forest at Cornwallis. He 
came from his native county — Harrison, and married, Phebe. 
the daughter of William Cunningham, of Revolutionaiy fame, 
in 1811, and settled on the "Horner farm," on the Harrisville- 
Cornwallis road, the following year. He later purchased an 
additional tract of land at the mouth of Bear nui, and built a 
cabin on the site that is now marked by the Naughton resi- 
dence; and here he died in 1842 at the age of fifty years, and 



NORTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 155 

in the Pioneer burying-ground at Harrisville, beside his wife, 
he rests. 

He and his wife were the parents of twelve children : 
VVm. H. Lowther, who rests in UHnois ; John G. J., of Corn- 
wallis ; Margaret, who first married a Cunningham, and later, 
Ichabod Kirkpatrick ; Lydia, was the late Mrs. John Elliott, 
and Barbara, the late Mrs. Jacob Elliott; Jane married \Xm. 
Hardman, and went to Nebraska; Mary Ann Avas the late 
Mrs. G. W. Hardman, of this county; and Matilda, the only 
survivor of the family (who first married Maxwell Lowther, 
of Cairo), is now the widow of the late David McGregor, of 
Cairo. The rest died in youth. 

Wolvertcn.— A man by the name of Wolverton built the 
second cabin at Cornwallis. Then in 1840 came William Cun- 
ningham (whose interesting history occupies a place in an 
earlier chapter), from Harrisville, and purchased near one 
thousand tv/o hundred fifty acres at the mouth of Bond's 
creek, which is now divided up into several farms, and erected 
his humble dwelling near the present site of the Roland resi- 
dence. 

John G. Skelton and George Wells were the other early 
settlers in this section. 

John G. Skelton (a deaf mute) was the son of Edward 
Skelton, an English pioneer of the Harrisville vicinity. And 
his wife, Miss Prudence Chidester. was also a deaf mute. 
They went from here to Cairo, and from there to Illinois, 
where they both lie at rest in the Litchfield cemetery. 

They had three daughters and two sons, all of whom 
could hear and talk. Kathrine, the eldest daughter, married 
at Litchfield, and there perhaps the descendants of the family 
live. 

George Wells is still a resident of this community, though 
helpless from the weight of years and ill-health. He is the 
son of the late Isaiah Wells, of the Ilarrisville vicinity, and a 
native and life-long resident of this county. His natal day 
was August 31, 1S34; and he came to Cornwallis in 1858, 
shortly after his marriage to Miss Barbara Hardman, daugh- 
ter of the late Rev. James Hardman, of Hardman chapel ; and 
erected the first mill in this section, that same year ; and con- 
tinued to operate it until 1875, when its wheels became silent, 



156 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

and its pulses refused to beat. Here in 1S71, the wife of his 
youth passed from sight, and in 18?5, he was married to Miss 
Virginia Dilworth, daughter of Asa Dilworth, and niece of 
his first wife, who is the companion and stafl: of his "decHning 
years." 

l"he children of his first marriage are Mrs. Jennie Xew- 
land, of Boreland ; Mrs. C. A. Kearns, Rusk ; Tip Wells, 
Cairo ; C. L. Wells, Grafton ; and Edw^ard, Harrisville. 

The children of the second union are two sons : C. C. and 
Bert, both of Cornwallis. 

SILVER RUN. 

"Little streamlet fair and free 
Sing your song — so sweet to me! 
Of your onward rushings to the far off sea; 
'Cause I love your bonnie dankg. 
Silver streamlet — take my thanks! 

^ ^ ^ ^ ^ :;: 

"Fair Stream of Silver run, 
Lightly laughing playful run 
From the snowlands to the southern sun; 
Let the shine of silvered sands, 
Glinting, glean upon my hands. 
In remembrance — fairest lands!" 

HERBERT P. :\rGINNIS. 

"Silver Run" is but a mere speck on the map, "a flag 
station, a by-place of the county, and of the State — an un- 
known corner of the v/orld," a stream three niiles in length, 
yet with all its insignificance, it has a history worthy of 
record, a place in our sonnets : it ha^ ing inspired the pretty 
lines above quoted from the pen of our Box'-Poet, who is one 
of its most familiar friends. 

It is supposed to have been settled near the year I80O b}- 
some unknown Nimrod, who dug his cave in a hill, but its 
first permanent settlement was made by Mr. Campbell, who 
came from Baltimore in the ante-bellum days and improved 
the fine farm that is now owned by his son, William Camp- 
bell. Other Irish families arrived later, principally from the 
I ' East, and finding work on the railroad and in the timber in- 
dustry, a colony was soon formed. The community is still 
distinctively Irish, and among these families are the Camp- 
bells, the Donohues, the McTights, the McGinnises, and others 
that might be mentioned. A German familv bv the name of 



I 



NORTH FORK SETTLERS— CONTINUED 157 

Alink was also among the earlier settlers, they having come 
from the Fatherland during the first years of the Civil war. 

The name of the stream originated about the year 1857, 
while the railroad tunnel was being arched, when something 
that resembled silver was unearthed. 

P. M. McGinnis, who now owns the Hall lands, settled 
here near 1876, and Avas instrumental in securing the first 
regular station at this point; and erected the first real store- 
house in which B. F. Hill, of Tyler county, later Sheriff of 
this county, opened a general store. The post-office uiider 
the name of "Donohue" came in the eighties, and near this 
time a more modern store building was erected. 

"Silver Run" w-as now a central lumber shipping point 
for Goose creek and Sheep run, and tram roads extended for 
eight or ten miles back into the wilderness. Oil seekers had 
already been prospecting on the Hall (McGinnis) lands, but 
this fluid was not found in paying quantities until much later. 

Speakeasies flourished in an early day, and one old Irish 
lady(?) became quite familiar with the scenes at the jail and 
the court house at the County seat, but these times have long 
since past, and the community is now quiet and law-abiding. 

The Catholics, "ever loyal and hardworking people," con- 
structed a log church on "'Tunnel hill" in early days, but a 
modern structure, the largest of this denomination in the 
county, now adorns the site. Here, in this churchyard, the 
first graves of the community were hollowed out, and the 
dates on the stones show that some were laid here in the fifties 
and others during the dark days of the Civil war. 

The Silver Run of to-day is a paying oil-center. Its 
entire population, including oil-field laborers, section hands 
and residents is not more than two hundred, and the little 
hamlet-station consists of three dwellings, a store-house, a 
blacksmith-shop, a telegraph office, a school-house, and a 
platform. Here our boy-poet-author-editor, to whom we are 
indebted for this sketch, lives ; and here his print-shop is 
located; and it is not at all unlikely that in the time we call 
some day, that this little corner of the universe will be dis- 
tinguished as the birthplace of a modern Longfellow or Bay- 
ard Taylor. 



158 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Rusk. — Isaac Nutter, as stated in an earlier chapter, was 
the first settler at Rusk, his old cabin having stood on the 
farm that is now owned by W . J. Moats. And the next 
notable landmark here was the old Pribble mill, which came 
upon the stage as early as 1839, with Daniel Pribble as 
builder and operator, but the wheels of this old mill ceased 
to turn before its owner crossed to the other side, and the site 
is now marked by the Moats' mill, which was built by the 
late William Meredith, father of the Rev. Thomas Meredith, 
of the West Virginia Methodist Episcopal conference, per- 
haps, thirty-five years ago. But Mr. Moats has been the 
owner and proprietor for the past quarter of a century, and 
during the year 1909, he rebuilt and enlarged this mill, and 
added his store to the structure. 

The Pribbles. — Our information concerning Daniel Prib- 
ble is very meager, but he was a native of Greene county, 
Pennsylvania, and removed from there to Wirt county before 
coming to this commimity, where he died. He married Aliss 
Amanda Melvina Jackson, sister of Henry Jackson, and was 
the father of several children, whose names are missing. 

His brother, Hugh Pribble, senior, who married Miss 
Permilia Elizabeth Jackson, another sister of Henry, was also 
an early settler here. He was the father of Hugh Pribble. of 
Cisko ; the Rev. U. Pribble, of Harrisville ; Mrs. Herilda Hall, 
of Washington state ; the late Mrs. Charles Harrison, senior, 
of Cantwell ; the late Mrs. Henrietta Mason, and other chil- 
dren. 

The hamlet of Rusk, which is little more than a thickly 
settled community, came into existence near the year ISSO, 
when the post-office v/as established. It was named in honor 
of the maiden name of the late Mrs. Charles Levv'is, her name 
being spelled "Russ." 

Frank Davis, son-in-law of Mr. Meredith, erected the first 
dwelling, and was the first merchant and post-master. The 
first school-house stood on the farm of C. A. Kearns. There 
are now six or seven residences close enough together to 
resemble a hamlet, two stores, a mill, one church (M. P.). a 
school-house, blacksmith-shop, and no post-office, as the rural 
route has swallowed it up. J. W. Heck is the other merchant,, 
besides Mr. Moats, and he is also the telephone operator. 



^arrpb tn tljf iipmnry 



of 




tUtam mh 



Jrattr^fi f tatt ii'2Ctntt^g 



Time conquers all, and we must time obey. 

— Pope. 

And, oh! the crowning joy of life, 

Where'er that life may be, 
Is the true heart that through all strife 

Still living, trusts in me. 

— Donn Piatt. 



CHAPTER X 




First Settlers In the Cairo Vicinity 

HE first settlers in the Cairo vicinity were, 
Isaac, Levi, John, and Thomas Nutter — ■ 
four brothers, and Richard Gilhspie, who, 
early in the century, took up their abode at 
the mouth of Addis' run ;^ but they, having 
no title for the land, were only teniporar}'' 
settlers, and, at the coming of W^illiani ]\Ic- 
Kinney, in 1818, they found homes elsewhere. 

Richard Gillispie, being compelled to flee from the indig- 
nation of his neighbors, owing to a difficulty which had arisen 
over the killing of a cow, had sought refuge on the stream 
that bears his name — "Gillispie's run," before the coming of 
the McKinneys ; but tlie Nutter Brothers remained here until 
that time. 

The Nutters. — This family of Nutters, like the ones of 
Oxford and Holbrook, were descended from the traditional 
four brothers, that came from England and settled in Harrison 
county in Colonial times. 

Isaac Nutter married Miss Elizabeth \A ebb. who Vv-as, 
perhaps, the sister of Nutter Webb, of Webb's mill, and after 
leaving Addis' run, made the first scttlem.ent where the vil- 
lage of Rusk now stands ; and in 1844, having lived at dififerent 
other points in the meantime, he removed to the farm just 
below the mouth of Gillispie's run, and from here, in 185(i, 
went to Indiana, where he fell asleep. 

He was the father of several children, and not a few of 
his descendants are still citizens of this county. 

Margaret, the eldest daughter, married Jesse Cain, of 
Rusk, and was the mother of E. A. Cain, and Siotha Cain, of 



^This stream took its name from a man by the name of Addis, who 
owned tlie land here at the time of the arrival of the Xuttery. 



FIRST SETTLERS LX THE CAIRO HCIXITV 161 

Rusk; J. W. Cain, of Harrisville — the County surveyor; 
Frank Cain, of Ellenboro ; and Mrs. Simon Tenant, of Petro- 
leum. 

John Nutter, the eldest son, went to Indiana ; Matthew, 
to Missouri; George, to Wisconsin; jane was the late Mrs. 
VV^illiam Enoch, of Indianapolis ; Elizabeth married Alexander 
Bickerstaff, and resides at Mellin ; David rests in California; 
and Mrs. Nancy Clarke, the youngest daughter, who married 
again after the death of Mr. Clarke, resides in California. She 
and Mrs. Bickerstafif being the only survivors of the family 
(of Isaac Nutter). 

Levi Nutter married Miss Margaret Webb, sister of his 
brother's wife, and, after leaving Addis' run, went to Goose 
creek, where he became the pioneer settler of the well-known 
"Nutter farm." he having purchased near one thousand acres 
of land in this wilderness. 

Here he reared a large family, and here, he found a rest- 
ing place, more than a half century ago. Some of his des- 
scendants still lay claim to a part of this old homestead, 
though part of it is now the estate of the late "Dick" W^ilson. 

His only daughter married Sylvester Webb, and some of 
her family live on the old homestead. 

Three of his sons, Thomas, Math, and Tone, met tragic 
deaths. John was another son ; and Benjamin, the youngest, 
and last survivor of the family, died a few years since, in the 
Hospital for the Insane at Weston. 

When Mr. Nutter first settled here, he had a wife and 
one child, a cow and calf .and one horse; and when he went 
to visiL his brother, Isaac, seven miles distant, he rode on 
horse-back and carried the calf, the cow follov/ed behind, and 
the wife walked and carried the child ; this manner oi pro- 
cedure being necessary to protect the calf and the child from 
tl;e wolves. 

John Nutter married Miss Mary Mounts and, from the 
Cairo vicinity, the}^ removed to Calhoun county, in 1818, and 
settled on the West foi'k of the Kanawha river, just below 
Richardsonville, where he spent his last hours : His children 
were as follows : 

James and Humphrey, who have both passed on, were 



162 . HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

the sons. Sarah (Mrs. Jonathan Nicholas), Elizabeth (Mrs. 
yVbraham Starcher), and Basha (Airs. Jeremiah Hickman") 
v.ere the daughters. T. J. Nutter, of Rusk, is a son of 
Humphrey, as is James Nutter, of Wirt county. 

Thomas Nutter, the last one of the four pioneer brothers, 
went from the Cairo vicinity to x*\thens county, Ohio, and set- 
tled on the banks of the Little Hocking river, and here his 
history ends. 

William Nutter. — From "The Recollections of a Life- 
Time.'" a little sketch of early days in Calhoun and Gilmer 
counties, we learn that Mrs. Mary Starr Nutter, the widow 
of William Nutter, another brother of the four above men- 
tioned, came from Ritchie county with John Nutter, in 1818, 
and settled where Richardsonville now stands, but her name 
escaped the early settlers of this county, as William Nutter 
is not remembered among the pioneers here. However, her 
children were David, Isaac, Thomas, Levi, A\'il]iam, and 
Nancy, who became the wife of Jacob Starcher, senior. 

The McKinneys. — The Nutters, as above stated, were 
only squatters at the mouth of Addis' run, and, in 1818, the}' 
were dispossessed by William McKinney, who purchased a 
tract of three thousand nine hundred twenty acres in this 
section, of Mathias j\Iattenly, for the small sum of eight 
thousand forty dollars. He afterwards bought another 
tract of one thousand eighty acres, and after giving each one 
of his children a large farm, he sold the remainder to a colony 
of Scotch settlers, who came later. 

Mr. McKinney came from the ."Keystone state," with his 
wife and large family of children, and founded his home 
where his late grandson, Jacob McKinney, resided until his 
death. He figured prominently in the early history of the 
county, both in church and state aiTairs ; and for a number of 
years after his coming, this was known as the "McKinney 
settlement," the former name "Egypt," being gradually 
dropped. 

William IMcKinney was born of English parentage in 
Lyconing county, Eastern Pennsylvania, on September 4, 
1760. He was the son of William and Hannah McKinney, 
and was next to the voungest member of a familv of six chil- 



FIRST SETTLERS IX THE CAIRO J-IC1\ITV 16:! 

dien (viz., Sarah, who married a Mr. Haggerty, Jemima. 
Jacob, John, and Cathrine). Though so young, he served as 
an American soldier during the latter part of the Revolution ; 
and on July 14, 1789, he was married to Miss Frances Piatt, 
and from this time until he came to Ritchie county, his home 
was at White Deer valley, on the Susquehannah river. 

Mrs. McKinney was of French descent. She was the 
daughter of John and Jane Williamson Piatt, and the grand- 
daughter of John Piatt, of France ; and at historic old Tren- 
ton, she was born, on March 7. 1770, when the bugle notes of 
the Revolution were being sounded, but her parents later 
removed to White Deer valley, Pennsylvania, where she met 
and married Mr. McKinney. 

In 1789, when General Washington was enroute from 
Mt. Vernon to New York city, for his first inauguration to 
the Presidency, when he reached the old bridge at Trenton 
over 'which lie had retreated before Lord Cornwallis' army, 
a few years before, a beautiful triumphal arch under which 
he was to pass, greeted his eye. This arch had been prepared 
by the ladies of the town in honor of the occasion, and was 
supported by thirteen pillars, wreathed with flowers and 
evergreen, and it bore the inscription, "The Defender of the 
Mothers will be the Preserver of the Daughters." 

''Beneath the arch stood a party of thirteen loyal young 
ladies, laden with baskets of flowers, and as the hero of the 
Revolution approached, they showered the flowers in his 
pathway — singing as they did so, the following ode, which 
had been composed for the occasion : 

"Welcome mighty Chief once more, 
Welcome to this grateful shore; 
Now no mercenary foe 
Aims again, the fatal blow, 
Aims at thee, the fatal blow. 

"Virgins fair, and matrons grave, 
Those thy conquering arm did save, 
Bu:ld for thee, triumphal bowers. 
Strew ye fair, his way with flowers, 
Strew your hero's way with flowers." 



164 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

"Frances Piatt Avas one of this number, and in tlie ]ne>- 
ence of the writer/ in later years, she sang this little o.le, 
reviving the feeling of her youth and her loyalty to her 
Chieftain." 

Mrs. ]\IcKinney^ was a woman of strong mind, and ot a 
cheerful, happy disposition, and her husband being ever kind 
and generous, "the Avorld went well with them." When they 
hrst came to this wild country the younger members of the 
family were very much dissatisfied, and they would say, ■'Oh, 
dear, mother, you have brought us to a wilderness !"' But 
vv'ith her characteristic cheerfulness, she would reply, "'O chil- 
dren, you will sec railroads running through your farms, yet, 
some day." At the absurdity of such a prediction all would 
break into a laugh, thus dispersing the shadow occasioned 
by their undesirable surroundings. And though the dear old 
mother never lived to see it, the prophesy has long since been 
fulfilled. The Baltimore and Ohio railroad runs through what 
was at that time the "Mc Kinney estates" for miles, and the 
busy town of Cairo stands on the farm that once belonged to 
their daughter, Kathrine McKinney McGregor. 

Mr. McKinney was the first mill-owner in this section. 
He was a Presbyterian in religious faith, and was a man of 
a strong influential character. He passed to his reward on 
June 24, 1848, on the first anniversary of the death of his wife. 
(She died on June 24, 1847.) Both sleep in the Egypt ceme- 
tery. 

Their children were as follows: William, John Piatt, 
Jacob, Hannah (Mrs. Joseph Marshall), Jane (Mrs. Edward 
Skelton), David and Kathrine (Mrs. David McGregor) were 
twins, vSarah (Airs. Richard Wanless), and James. 

Nearly all these sons and daughters were in turn, the 
heads of pioneer families of this county. 

William McKinney, junior, the eldest son of William and 
Frances Piatt McKinney, was born in Pennsylvania, on ]\Iay 
17, 1790. and there, on January 22. 1818, he was married to 
Mary Wilson Miller; and, a few months later, \\ith his 



T'or the ancestral history of the Piatt family see chapter on Schools. 

(Her grand-daughter, Mi.ss Fannie McKinney, of Williamstown, con- 
tributed this sicetch, and the above quotation is reproduced in her own 
language.) 



FIRST SETTLERS IX THE CAIRO VICINITY 16r. 

parents, they came to this county and settled on the farm 
that is now the estate of the late Jacob Hatfield, senior. After 
a twelve years' residence here, the}^ went to Harrisville, 
where ]\lr, McKinney purchased the Mathias Cline store, and 
engaged in the mercantile business for eight years before re- 
moving to Waverly, in Wood county, where he died, in IS"* 1), at 
the age of eighty-nine years. Here Mrs. McKinney died at 
the age of eighty years. Both rest in the Bethel cemetery, 
near the old home. 

Thev were the corner stones of the Bethel church at 
Waverlv, the first organization being made at their home, in 
April, 1845, when Mr. McKinney was ordained as Elder — an 
office which he filled until his death. 

Their family consisted of ten children, all of whom 
reached the years of maturity except one that died in infancy; 
viz., Robert Simpson, William Piatt, Frances S. (unmarried), 
Eliza J. (Mrs. Thomas Miller), Abram F., Hannah M. (Mrs. 
James Sharps), Festus H., Mary S. (unmarried), and Jacob, 
all of whom have joined the parents on the other side, save 
Miss Mary S., who resides at Parkersburg. 

Robert Simpson and William Piatt, the two eldest sons, 
were the victims of a most thrilling experience while the 
family resided on the "Hatfield farm," they being but five 
and two years of age, respectively, at the time of the incident : 

Their father being absent from home, their mother sent 
them to drive the young cattle to the forest, and, uncon- 
sciously, they wandered too far to find their way back ; and 
when they failed to return home in a reasonable length of 
time, she became alarmed, and, taking her babe in her arms, 
went to the home of her father-in-law and made the sad truth 
known — that her children were lost. 

All the able-bodied men, with her husband, were at Park- 
ersburg — thirty miles distant, "at muster," but she gathered 
together what help she could — both men and women — and 
went in search of the little wanderers. But they being un- 
familiar Avith the forest, could not venture far, and all night 
long they searched to no avail, and on the following day the 
father was called home, and he, too, joined in the quest, which 
was continued throughout the next night all to no purpose; 



166 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COiW'TV 

but during" the thirfl day. however, they were found near 
three miles from tlic home ahnost perished from hunj^er and 
cold — the elder being in a state of unconsciousness. They 
had been out almost two days and nights without food, with 
the exception of a few berries that they had found. It was in 
the month of October, and during the first night, a cold rain 
had fallen, and the elder brother had taken ofif his coat and put 
it on the little one to keep him warm, and their dog helped to 
keep them from freezing at night. They said that their dog 
drove a "big black dog" away from them one night, but it 
was supposed to have been a bear, by the older people. 

The mother could never speak of the pathetic incident in 
after years without tears. 

John Piatt McKinney, the second son of William and 
Frances Piatt McKinney, was born in the Keystone state, on 
August 19; 1792; and on July 4, 1826, he was married to Miss 
Sarah A\'. Lacy, and near Cairo, they resided until 1836, when 
they removed to Parkersburg, and took charge of the '"United 
States" hotel — one of the best in the city at that time. Here 
Mrs. McKinney died, in 1844, at the age of forty-seven years, 
and two years later their only daughter, Frances Selina, 
passed on, at the age of thirteen years. Aftei tliis sad evenv, 
Mr. ^SIcKinne}-, principally, made his home with his brothei. 
David ; and here, on April 23, 1879, he passed from earth, and 
in the Odd Fellows cemetery, at Parkersburg, he rests. 

His three sons were William Hopkins, David P.,^ and 
Thomas E. McKinney. The last two mentioned reside at 
Springfield. Ohio, and are unmarried. 

Jacob McKinney, the third son of William and Frances 
Piatt AIcKinney, was born on X'ovember 16, 1799 ; and on 
June 9, 1828, he was married to ]\Iiss ]\Iary, daughter of 
Edward Skelton, senior, and settled just across the river from 
the old McKinnev homestead, where he and his wife saw the 
last of earth, and in the Egypt cemetery their ashes lie. He 
died on January 15, 1861. 

Their nine children were as follows: Anne Eliza (Mrs. 
Luke Terrv). Cathrine (]\Irs. H. B. McCollum). fames, Mary 



•David p. died in April, 1910. 



FIRST SETTLERS IX THE CAIRO I'lCIXITY 



167 



M., Sarah, William S., and Frances A. (who all remained un- 
married) ; Jacob B., and John P. McKinney. 

Hannah McKinney, the eldest daughter of William and 
Frances Piatt, was born in the "Keystone state," on March 
13, 1795; and there she was married to Joseph Marshall, on 
September 23, 1816, and from there they went to Ohio, where 
they remained for a few years, before coming to this comity, 
and settling on the "Marshall homestead," near one mile 
south of Cairo. This old pioneer residence, with its massive 
chimney and huge fire-place, is one of the very few that have 
escaped the plans of the modern architect, and still stands, 
undisturbed, in its original state. It is now the property of 
A. M. Douglass, of Cairo. 




The old Marshall home as it looks to-day, after almost the lap-e of a 

century. 

The first church organization in the community (Pres- 
byterian) was perfected at the Marshall home, and here, a 
little band of worshipers gathered regularly until a church- 
hotise was erected. 

Mr. Marshall died in 1835, at the home of his brother-in- 
law, James McKinney, at Williamstown, he having been 
stricken with the fatal illness while on his wa}- home from a 
business trip to Cincinnati; and in the "Bukey cemetery" at 
Williamstown, he rests. His wife died at the old home near 
Cairo, in 1874, at the age of eighty years, and she lies in the 
Egypt cemetery. 



IfiS HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

They were the parents of eight cliildren — seven sons and 
one daughter, the late AJiss Ellen Marshall, of Cairo, being- 
the (laughter. The sons were, William M., Francis J., John 
P. (who never married). Robert R., of Gilmer county; Jacob 
W., David H. (died in youth), and Hezekiah B. Marshall, of 
Buckhannon, who was a resident of Mining Flats, this state, 
for fifty-four years, and who is the only survivor of the family. 

John W. Marshall, formerly of Oil Ridge, but now of 
Wood county, is a grandson of this pioneer, and he has not a 
few other descendants in this, and adjoining counties. 

Jane McKinney, the second daughter of W illiam and 
Frances Piatt McKinney, was born on July 4, 1797, and was 
married to Edward Skelton, junior, on January 1, 1822, and. 
after a forty-five years' residence in the Cairo vicinity, they 
removed to Illinois, where all the family are sleeping, except 
Augustus D., who resides in Kansas City, Missouri. 

Their other children, besides the one mentioned, were, 
John G. (a mute), who married Miss Prudence Chidester, who 
was, also, a mute ; William M., Frances (unmarried) ; Edward 
A., and Eliza J., who married George Briggs. 

David McKinney, the fourth son of William, and Frances 
Piatt, and his sister, Kathrine, were twins. They were born, 
on August 1, 1801 ; and on December 29, 1831, David was mar- 
ried to Miss Sarah M. Henderson, and settled on the farm, 
given him by his father, in the Cairo vicinity, where he re- 
mained until 1848, when he removed to Harrisville, and after 
a three years' residence there, went to Willow Island, on the 
Ohio river, in Pleasants county, where he was identified in 
the mercantile business for the next three years. He tlien 
resided on a farm in Pleasants county for tv\^enty years, going 
frc>m there to A\'iiliamstown, where he fell asleep in 1881. in 
the eighty-first year of his life. His wife preceded him to the 
grave by three years, she having reached the age of seventy- 
one years. Both sleep near the St. John's Episcopal church 
in Pleasants county. 

They were the parents of five daughters and one son. 
John, who died in infancy. The daughters were: Nancy, who 
married Oscar L. Ridgely ; Miss Frances Piatt AIcKinney. 
of Williamstown ; Alary J. (unmarried) ; Hannah Al.. who be- 



FIRST SETTLERS IX THE CAIRO VICINITY 160 

came Mrs. Giles R. Hanimat ; and Sarah C. who married 
John D. Sharp. Mrs. Sharp and Miss Frances alone survive. 

Kathrine McKinney, the third daughter of William and 
Frances Piatt McKinney, who, with her brother, David, first 
saw the light on August 1, 1801, was married to David McGre- 
gor, on March 17. 1842, and settled at Cairo, where she died, 
on September 11, 18G3, and was laid in the Egypt cemetery. 

Three children were the fruits of this union ; viz., William 
A., and John P., the sons, both died in infancy, and Frances S., 
the only daughter, is now Mrs. I. S. Hallam. of x\beline, Kan- 
sas. 

Sarah McKinney, the youngest daughter of William and 
Frances Piatt McKinney, married Richard Wanless, senior, 
and was the mother of five children : John, A\'illiam A., 
Richard, junior, Frances and Mary Wanless. (For farther 
history of her family see Wanlesses.) 

James McKinney, the youngest son of William and 
Frances Piatt, was born, on November 26, 1807 ; and he was 
married to Miss Suannah Bukey, on January 1, 1832, and the 
first years of their married life were spent at Williamstown. 
from whence they removed to Harrisville. where Mr. McKin- 
ney was engaged in the mercantile business, and wdiere he 
filled the County clerk's ofBce for a number of years. Here 
Mrs. McKinney died ; and on Alay 18, 1854, he was married a 
second time to Miss Minerva Stephens, of Harrisville, who 
stiii survives, fie died on July 2Q>, 1889, and lies at rest, be- 
side the wife of his youth, in the Harrisville cemetery. 

The children of his first union were three in number: 
Drusilla B., who married William A. Wanless; Mary Eliza- 
beth, wife of Joseph Arbour; and Hezekiah McKinney, who 
lives in the West. 

Alma, the late wife of Dr. W. E. Talbott, of Harrisville, 
was the one child of the second union. 



170 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

"Hie hand of llic king that the scepter hath borne ; 
i'he bruvv of the priest that the mitre hath worn ; 
Tlie eye of the sage and the heart of the brave, 
Are hidden and lost in the depths of the grave. 

So the multitnde goes, like the flower or the weed 
That withers away to let others succeed ; 
So the multitude comes, even those we behold. 
To repeat every tale that has often been told. 

For we are the same that our fathers have been ; 
We see the same sights our fathers have seen ; 
We drink the same stream, and view the same sun, 
And run the same course our fathers have run. 



®0 tlf^ ii^mnrg 



of 



(S\^t Bwttl^ S^MtVB 




Richard and Eleanor Rutherford. 



Farewell to the Highlands — farewell to the North, 
The birth-place of valor, the country of worth; 
Wherever I wander, wherever I rove. 
The hills of the Highlands, forever I love. 

— Burns. 



CHAPTER XI 




Scotch Settlers 

HE year 1819, brought a small colony of per- 
manent and substantial Scotch settlers to 
the Cairo vicinity. This colony included 
Richard Rutherford and his wife, Richard 
^^'anless. senior, who was then a young man 
in his teens, and his sister, Miss Isabel Wan- 
less, and John Taylor, senior, and his wife, 
who were all brothers and sisters-in-law. 

The Rutherfords. — Richard Rutherford and Miss Eleanor 
A\'anless were married at Leith, Scotland, in 1810, just on 
the eve of their departure for America; and upon their arrival 
here, they purchased a large tract^ of land near five miles 
beloAv Cairo, which is still owned by their descendants. Here 
they spent the remainder of their lives, and in the Egypt ceme- 
tery, they sleep. 

They were the parents of ten children, whose descendants 
in this county are a host: Alary, Ellen, Ann, Susan, Margaret, 
Isabella, Kathrine, Jane, George, and Archibald Rutherford. 

Mary Rutherford, the eldest daughter, became the wife 
of \Mlliam H. Douglass, and died childless. 
Ellen Rutherford married Andrew Hall and was the mother 
of nine children. - 

Ann Rutherford, who was the wife of the late James Har- 
ris, was the mother of ]\Iiss Ella Harris, of Xew Concord, 
Ohio ; and of one son, who died in infancy. 

Susan Rutherford became INIrs. Matthew Douglass, and 
died childless. 

Margaret Rutherford, who was the wife of the late John 
P. Harris, of Harrisville, was the mother of three sons and 



'This land had formerly been settled by Benjamin Butcher, who, with 
his first wife, rests here: but little else is known of his history other than 
that he came here early in the century. 

-See Hall familv for names of her children. 



SCOTCH SETTLERS 173 

three daughters^ She fell dead while walking on the stree^ 
in New York city several vears ago, and with her husband 
sleeps at Harrisville. 

Isabella Rutherford, who is the only survivor of the fam- 
ily, is now Mrs. George B. Douglass, of Petroleum ; and their 
only child is Dr. E. H. Douglass, who resides with them, and 
is the village physician. 

Kathrine Rutherford remained unmarried. 

Jane Rutherford married Jerome A. Vandiver, whose his- 
tory appears with the Smithville chapter, and her children 
were four in number. 

George Rutherford, who was long a prominent factor in 
business, circles at Petroleiun, married Miss Sarah Griffin, and 
they Avere the parents of the following named children : John 
G., and Richard H., of Ohio; W. H. and S. I., of Petroleum; 
Jennie, Archibald and Newton, who are numbered with the 
dead: Alice (Mrs. John McCoy), of California; and Delia, 
who is now Mrs. McKinney, resides with her mother at the 
old home. 

Archibald Rutherford was long a leading citizen of the 
Rusk community. He first married Miss Rebecca Grifim, of 
near Harrisville; and his second vv'ife was Miss Martha Campy 
bell, of Ohio. His family, which consisted of two sons and 
two daughters, were all born of the first union: Jennie, the 
eldest daughter, with her parents, lies in the Egypt cemetery; 
and the rest are all married ; viz., Ellen is the wife of H. E. 
McGregor, of Cairo; Erank is a physician of near Pittsburg; 
and Richard W., who was graduated from the college at New 
Concord. Ohio, and who spent several years in the profession 
of teaching, resides at the old home. 

All the family except the three daughters, Margaret, Ann, 
and Jane, with their parents, slumber within the bosom of the 
old Egypt cemetery. 

The first two mentioned, with their husbands, lie at Har- 
risville; and the last one, in Louisville, Kentucky. 

While the Rutherfords have never been office-seekers, and 
have seldom held public positions, the progenitors of this 
family, as well as their innumerable descendants, have ever 



'See Harris family. 



]?4 



HISTORY or RITCHIE COUNTY 



stood for the best citizenship of the county ; and the name is 
an honored one in their native "Scotia," beyond the sea — Anne 
Rutherford, daughter of an eminent physician, of Edinburgh, 
who doubtless belonged to this same family, was the mother 
of one of Scotland's greatest bards — Sir Walter Scott — "The 
Wizard of the North." 




The old Rutherford home as it looks to-day.' 
'This was one of the oldest frame tauilding.s in this part of the coun- 
ty, it having been built near the year 1839, by Richard Rutherford. The 
old log cabin, which was the original home of Mr. Rutherford and prob- 
ably the one erected by Benjamin Butcher, the first pioneer here, still 
stands and one corner of it is visible in this picture. 

The Wanlesses. — Richard Wanless, senior, iinarried Miss 
Sarah McKinney, youngest daughter of William and I^rances 
Piatt McKinney, who was born on January 15, 1805, in the 
Keystone state. They were married on April 17, 1830, and 
took up their residence in this vicinity on land still owned by 
their heirs ; and here they continued to reside until they were 
borne to the Egypt cemetery. 

They were the parents of five children, all of whom ha^'e 
joined them on the other side : John, sleeps in Kansas; and 
all the rest; viz., William A., Richard, junior, Frances, and 
Mary, in the Egypt cemetery. 

John married and had one son — Dr. Richard ^^''anless, of 
Xew York city. 

W'illiam A. Wanless married Miss Drusilla McKinney, 
daughter of Jacob McKinney, and was the father of one son, 
William Wanless, junior. 

Richard, junior, and Frances remained unmarried. 

Mar}^ became IMrs. Christopher Douglass, of Cornwallis, 
and was the mother of two sons and tliree daughters ; viz.. 



SCOTCH SETTLERS 175 

Richard W. is a dentist of St. Mary's ; and the other son, E. 
H. Douglas, is a prominent pulpit orator of the Presbyterian 
church, of Ohio: Fannie is Mrs. A. C. Rollins, of Cornwallis ; 
and Anna and Sarah are at home with their aged father. 

These include the entire posterity of Richard, senior, and 
Sarah McKinney Wanless, to the third generation. 

Isabel Wanless, sister of Richard, senior, who came from 
Scotland with the emigrant part}^ married Stephen Outward, 
and in the Egypt cemetery she sleeps. Her children were 
Mary, Jane, and William Outward. 

George Wanless, an elder brother, came over at the same 
time. He married Miss Anne Douglass, and lived and died in 
Carroll county, 'Ohio. 

Miss Bittie Wanless, another member of this family, mar- 
ried Robert Cranston, and settled in New York. 

Mrs. Jennie Anderson, Mrs. Margaret Browne, Mrs. 
Susan Dodds, and William, who died in youth, with their 
parents, Archibald and Mary Rutherford Wanless, remained 
in Scotland. The Wanlesses and Douglasses, are closely al- 
lied by nature, the mother of Archibald Wanless being Miss 
Isabella Douglass before her marriage. 

John Taylor, senior, and his wife, Mrs. Mary Wanless 
Taylor, took up their residence on the farm that is now the 
estate of their late son, John. Here, they remained until they 
were laid in the Egypt cemetery Avith the many others of 
their race. They were the parents of four children : Archi- 
bald, the eldest son, died in infancy ; Ellen never married ; 
John, who was born, lived, and died under the parental roof, 
niarried Miss Lydia Pew, but left no issue ; Sarah married 
David Pevv^, and was the mother of several children; xxz., 
John A., William, Archibald, and Florence, who, with her 
mother and brother. John, lives at the old home, and Anna, 
who has passed on. 

The Douglasses, who also came from Scotland, were the 
next settlers in this vicinity. In 1818, John Douglass, senior, 
and his wife Susan Howee Douglass, with their four daugh- 
ters and two sons^ (viz.. Susan, Belle, Anna, Jane, William, 



'Two nieinber.s of the family, Andrew Douglass and Mrs. Margaret 
Atcheson, remained in Scotland. Mrs. Atcheson died there, but Andrew 
came to thi.s country later. 



176 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COi'XTY 

and John, junior), bade adieu to their native land, and set sail 
for America, on the "good ship Queen Anne," landing in Phil- 
adelphia, after a long and perilous voyage, where the father 
died of fever, a week later, and where he was laid t'j rest. 

After the father had passed from sight, the rest of the 
family went to Pittsburg — residing there and at other points 
in the Keystone state for a few years, before coming to Wheel- 
ing (West), Virginia, where they met with Jack and Robin- 
son, two earh' settlers of Bond's creek ; and through their 
influence came to Ritchie county and found a home in the 
Cairo vicinity — first on the late David Pew homestead, and a 
very little later, on the farm that is now the estate of the late 
John Douglass. They having purchased the latter tract of 
William McKinney, senior. 

While residing here, the four Doviglass sisters, above 
mentioned, were married: Susan became Mrs. George Prater; 
Belle, Mrs. James West : Anna, ^Irs. George \\^anless ; and 
Jane, Mrs. John Younge ; and all went to Ohio, where they 
answered the final call. 

The widowed mother, Mrs. Susan Howee Douglass, after- 
wards became the wife of William Layfield, the first settler 
on the South fork of Hughes river. 

William Douglass. — On board the same "good ship" with 
the Douglasses was a prettv Scotch lassie by the name of 
Ellen Roberts, who, with her brother, William Roberts, was 
also bound for America : and at Halifax, she and Wiiliam 
Douglass were married, and along with the rest of the family, 
they came to the Cairo vicinity. But, in the earl}- thirties, 
leaving the John Douglass homestead, they went co the 
"Schultz farm," in Pleasants county ; and later, to the Cline 
farm on "Dry Ridge," and finally, during the construction 
of the Xorthwestern turnpike in the early forties, they re- 
moved to the late Andrew Douglass homestead, on Goose 
creek, and became the first settlers of the forest in what is 
now the Glendale vicinity. Here, they erected a large, 
hewed-log house, v.hich served as residence, hotel and post- 
ofifice ; ]Mr. Douglass being the first post-master at the "Goose 
creek" office. And here, in 18?7, the lamp of his life went out. 
His venerable companion had preceded him to the other shore 



SCOTCH SETTLERS 177 

by seven years, and side by side, they are sleeping in the 
"embracing mold" of tlie Douglass cemetery, not far distant 
from the U. B. church in that vicinity. 

They were the parents of ten children : Elizabeth, the 
eldest daughter — born in 1S20, and died in 1905 — never mar- 
ried. Thomas and Margaret died in childhood. Susan mar- 
ried Harrison Cornell, of Pleasants county ; John married the 
daughter of his Uncle John Douglass, and went to Kansas, 
where he sleeps ; and Mary, who is now Mrs. Adami Robson, 
resides in Kansas. 

Jeremiah R., who was one of the early pedagogues of 
the Glendale vicinity, married Miss Elizabeth Umphrey, and 
after residing on French creek, and in the Cornwallis com- 
munity for some years, he went to Cabin run, near Tollgate, 
where he saw the last of earth ; and beside his wife in the 
Douglass cemetery he is resting. His only daughter, Mrs. 
Mason, resides on Cabin run ; his son, Thomas, in Wirt coun- 
ty ; D. E., is a prosperous merchant of Berea ; and William, 
the other son, died in youth. 

Andrew married Miss Sarah M. Bills, and died at the old 
homestead in 1904. He was the father of fifteen children: 
Three died in infancy; John niet a tragic death in Oklahoma 
a year or so since, and the rest are as follows: Mrs. Mary 
J. Lowther, Mrs. Grace Emerick Mrs. Florence Scott, Mrs. 
Eva Templeton, Mrs. Elizabeth Irvin, Minnie and Mrs. iMyr- 
tle Snyder, Andrew R., Clarence W., Jeremiah L.. and Charles 
E. Douglass. 

Eleanor Jane became ]\[rs. William Flamilton and went 
to Kansas, where she rests. 

William Douglass, the last surviving son of the family, 
vv'ho was long a leading citizen of Highland, was laid in the 
Highland cemetery in November, 1909. He married Miss 
Sarah Cornell, daughter of pioneer John Cornell, and was the 
father of five children; viz., William, jimior, of Highland, is 
the only son ; Cathrine is Mrs. F. L. Hamilton, of the same 
place; Sarah Elizabeth is the wife of the Rev. A. D. Adams, 
of the West Virginia Methodist Episcopal conference ; Mary 
Eleanor is Mrs. D. W. Alkire, of Tyler county ; and Belle, 
Mrs. E. R. Reed, of Parkersburg. 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

John Douglass, junior, son of John and Susan Howee 
Douglass, married Aliss ]\Iary Chne, daughter of Abraham 
Chne, a very early pioneer, who is said to have been the first 
white girl born west of the Blue Ridge mountains, and went 
to Kansas, where they heired their "six feet of earth.'' 

William Roberts, who came with this little band of emi- 
grants, married Aliss Xannie Cameron, and at Cairo they 
sleep. They left no issue. 




Andrew and Catharire Hall Douglass. 

Andrew Douglass. — The year 1829, brought Andrew 
Douglass, son of John and Susan Howee Douglass, with his 
wife, Catharine Hall Douglass, and their five sons (viz., John, 
Wm. H., Andrew, junior, Christopher, and Matthew), from 
Scotland, to the farm adjoining Cairo, which is still in the 
hands of his heirs. 

This family crossed to New York in the '"Jean Hasty," 
and from there, made their way to the Ohio river, near the 
mouth of the Big Beaver ; there they rested while Andrew 
Hall, who was one of the party, went to Pittsburg- and 
secured a keel boat, and on this they drifted down the river 
to the mouth of Cow creek, in Pleasants county, where they 
were met by William Douglass and his horses, as this was 
the only means of conveyance at that time. Here, at Cairo, 
where they first settled, they spent the remainder of their 



SCOTCH SETTLERS iro 

lives, and in the Egypt bnrying-ground, they are sleeping, as 
are the sons above mentioned, with the exception of Christo- 
pher, who lives at Cornwallis. 

Three children were added to the family after their ar- 
rival here : James R. died while serving as a soldier in the 
Civil war, and in the Egypt cemetery he, too, rests. Ellen 
married William Skelton, and at Litchfield, Illinois, she sleeps; 
and George 13. is of Petroleum. 

John, the eldest son, was well known throughout the 
county, he having been County surveyor for many years. He 
married Miss Elizabeth Marsh, sister of the late Jefiferson 
Marsh, and at the old home at Cairo she still survives, though 
he has been gone for several years. Matthew I3ouglass, and 
Mrs. Emma (David) McGregor, of Cairo; and Mrs. Laura 
Crinnmett, wife of the Rev. S. P. Crummett — the Superin- 
tendent of the Parkersburg district of the West Virginia ^L 
E. conference, are his children. 

Wm. H., too, was widely known, he having served as 
Clerk of the Circuit court for many years. He married "\iiss 
Mary Rutherford, and left no heirs. 

Matthew, who married Miss Susan Rutherford, was killed 
by the falling of a tree, in the Cornwallis vicinity. He left 
no issue. 

Andrew was twice married, his first wife being Miss 
Mary Hindmarsh, and his widow, Aliss Narcissus Smith. The 
one child — of the first union — was Andrew, junior, who has 
passed on. 

Christopher, who has long been prominently identitied 
with the Cornwallis community, married Miss Mary Wariless,^ 
and five children were the fruits of this union. 

Ellen, the only daughter, became Mrs. William Skelton 
and went to Illinois. - 

George B. Douglass, the youngest member of the family, 
is a leading citizen of Petroleum. He is a veteran of the Civil 
war, having enlisted in the 2nd West Virginia Infantry V^ol- 
unteers in 1861; but owing to an illness which immediately 
followed, was not mustered into service until later in the year, 



"See Wanless history. 

-See Cairo chapter for lier family. 



IH) HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

when lie re-enlisted in tlie Sixth Virginia, where his services 
continued for three years. He married Miss Isabella Ruther- 
ford, and is the father of one son, Dr. E. H. Douglass, of 
Petroleum, as before stated. 

The name, Douglass, has been a distinguished one almost 
throughout the annals of Scotland. History tells us that they 
were "territorial magnates" before the time of Bruce and 
Wallace ; that they played a conspicuous part in the numer- 
ous wars that visited their native land from time to time; and 
that they early became guardians against the encroachment 
of the English — as their estates lay on the outer borders of 
the country. In the days of feudalism, they were a powerful 
clan ; and at the battle of Floddenfield, when James the Fifth 
of Scotland fell, tw^o hu.ndred of the name were slain. 

The name not only figures prominently in the history of 
"Scotia," but it holds a place in its stories and its songs. In 
"Marmion," the pretty little poetical tale that Sir Walter Scott 
has woven about the Battle-field of Flodden, the memory of 
Archibald Douglass, the Earl of Angus, is enshrined. 

He being a man of remarkable strength of body and mind 
acquired the popular name of "Bell-the-Cat." At the time 
that the war against England was declared, he was an old 
man, and he protested earnestly against such a step : and on 
the eve of the battle of Flodden, he remonstrated so vehement- 
ly on the impolicy of fighting that the King in a voice of in- 
dignation, told him "that he might go home if he were afraid." 
At this insufiferable insult, the brave old earl burst into tears 
and retired, leaving his sons, George, Master of Angus; and 
Sir William, of Glenbervie : in command of his followers. 
These sons were both numbered among the two hundred of 
the name that fell on that fatal day ; and the aged father, 
broken-hearted over the calamities that had befallen his house, 
sought relief from his sorrow within the friendly walls of a 
religious castle, where he died a year later. 

To this same Archibald Douglass, the familiar, ireful lan- 
guage of Lord Marmion was directed when he exclaimed : 

"If thou said'st, I am not peer, 
To any lord in Scotland here, 
Lowland or Highland, far or near, 
Lord Angus — thou — hast — LIED." 



SCOTCH SETTLERS 181 

In the "Lady of the Lake" it was the fair Ellen Douglass, 
that sang the simple lay, "Soldier Rest Thy Warfare O'er," 
etc., to the Knight of Snowden — to James Fitz James. 

The Halls. — Andrew Hall, who is mentioned as a mem- 
ber of the Douglass emigrant party, was the son of William 
and Mrs. Ellen Brown Hall, of Scotland ; and a brother of 
Mrs. Andrew Douglass, senior, and of Mrs. Andrew Younge. 
He was at this time enjoying single life, but a little later, he 
claimed Miss Margaret Blake as his wife, and settled at Park- 
ersburg, where he was a stone contractor. He finally re- 
moved to Wheeling, and there he and his wife sleep. They 
were the parents of six children, two of whom have passed on. 
and the others reside at Wheeling, and in the far West. 

Miss Isabel Hall, his sister, who was, also, a member of 
the emigrant party, lived and died at Cairo. She never mar- 
ried. 

Mary Hall, another sister of Andrew, married James 
Browne, in Scotland, and came to the Cairo vicinity. Mr. 
Browne was a miller by trade, and they went from here to 
Brooke county, where they bade their final adieu to earth. 
They had six children, four of whom were born in Scotland, 
and some of their descendants still reside near Wheeling. 

John Hall, another brother, married Miss Margaret Doug- 
lass, in Scotland, and after her death, he, too, with his family, 
came to America, and settled in the Cairo vicinity, in the 
year 1836; and there remained until he was laid in the Egypt 
cemcter3^ He had three sons and two daughters, who crossed 
the sea with him. Eespeth had married AVilliam Newland 
in her native land, and they settled in Pleasants county, where 
some of their descendants live. 

Ellen Hall married James Pew and lived and died at her 
father's house. Her only child, Maggie, is now Mrs. Milton 
Wall, of Pennsylvania. After she was laid in the Egypt ceme- 
tery, Mr. Pew married Miss Nancy Younge, and was the 
father of four more children. The Pews are of German de- 
scent and came here from the "Keystone state." 

John Han, junior, son of John and Margaret Douglass 
Hall, married Miss Hannah Pringle, and lived and tlied at 
Parkersburg, and there, beside his companion, he sleeps in 



182 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

the Cook cemetery. His youngest daughter, Mrs. John Dare, 
now occupies the old home. 

William Hall married Miss Mary Taylor, and resided be- 
tween Cairo and Cornwallis. His children are John, and Miss 
Margaret, of Cairo ; and Mrs. Mary Jenkins, of Petroleum. 

Andrew Hall, junior, married Aliss Ellen Rutherford, and 
spent his life at the old homestead, near Cairo ; and in the 
Egypt cemetery beside his wife he is sleeping. He was the 
father of the following named sons and daughters : John 
Hall, of Beliott, Kansas; Richard R., of Harrisville ; William, 
a prominent merchant, of Cairo; Andrew and Archie L., of 
Ohio ; Misses Ellen and Mary, of Cairo ; and the late ]\Iiss 
Eppie. and another daughter who, with the parents, lie in the 
quiet churchyard. 

The Younges. — Along with the Douglasses, in 1829, came 
Andrew Younge, and his family from Scotland. His wife, 
Mrs. Agnes Hall Younge, was a sister of Mrs. Andrew Doug- 
lass, and they were the parents of nine children — six daugh- 
ters and three sons — all of whom were born in Scotland, ex- 
cept one daughter and one son, who were born at Cairo. Mr. 
and r\Irs. Younge spent the remamder of their lives here and 
with the many other pioneers, sleep in the Egypt- cemetery. 

Their children : William H. Younge married Miss W- 
meda Browne, of Parkersburg, and resided there until after 
her death, when he went West, and there re-married. He 
now lives in Arkansas, and is the only survivor of the family. 
He lost his eyesight six years ago and now lives in darkness. 
His family consists of three sons. 

Andrew Younge, junior, married Miss Janet Smith, and 
lived at Parkersburg. Pie had two sons, and one daughter. 
Lulu, Avho was the late wife of U. B. Merchant, of Cairo. 

Jolm married Miss Rebecca Lowther, daughter of \M11- 
iam. of Cairo, and died childless. 

Xancy became the second wife of James Pew, and her 
children were four in number ; viz., Preston, Andrew, Jessie 
and Xannie, who, after her death, with their father, went 
West. They now reside at St. Louis, Missouri. X^annie is 
married. 

Ellen Younge married Brigham Wood, of ^^'hite Oak, 



SCOTCH SETTLERS 1S3 

and left no issue; and Mary, Isabel, Christiana, and Margaret 
never married. 

John Layfield, senior, eldest son of William Layfield, 
whose history appears witli the South fork settlers, was an- 
other early pioneer in this section. He was born in the wilder- 
ness, on the S. H. Westfall farm, above Smithfield, on Febru- 
ary 4, 1803 — was perhaps the first child born within the ores- 
ent limits of this county. He married Miss Elizabeth Moats, 
and first settled on "Dry Ridge," on Goose creek, and from- 
there he removed to the dividing ridge between Addis' and 
Elm runs, v/here his grandson, Noah Layfield, now lives ; and 
there he passed from earth on March 5, 1877, and in the Mt. 
Moriah churchyard, he sleeps. His wife was laid by his side 
in 1892. 

They were the parents of eleven children. One died in 
childhood, and the rest are as follows: the late Henry, John, 
junior, Jacob, George, Mrs. Mary (Uriah) Shrader, ti;e late 
Mrs. Margaret (Milton) Reger, Mrs. Sarah Furr, the late 
Mrs. Elizabeth Hilkey, and the late Miss Julia Lavfield. all 
of this county. 

Nearly all of the Layfields in the county are descended 
from John, senior. His brother, Sanford, lived and died near 
Cornwallis, where he was tTinnel watchman on the B. & O. rail- 
road for many years. The others went West. John Layfield, 
senior, and his sons, George and James, were all Union sol- 
diers in the Civil war. 

The Philippses were another worthy pioneer family that 
have heretofore been overlooked. 

They crossed the "briny deep" from the "Emerald Isle" 
at a date unknown, and settled at Norfolk, Virginia. Here 
Benjamin Philipps was born in 1810 ; and at the age of twelve 
years, with his parents, Thomas D. and Mrs. Sarah Lemon 
Philipps, he removed to Belington, Barbour county, where he 
grew to manhood and where his parents fell asleep. 

In 1830, he came to this county, where he met and mar- 
ried Miss Mary Deem, daughter of pioneer Jacob Deem, wha 
was born here in 1812 ; and shortly after his marriage, set- 
tled on the North fork of Hughes river, six miles below Cairo,. 
< n the old homestead that is still in the hands of his heirs. 



184 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COL'XTY 

Here, he continued to reside, until April, ISQ?, when he was 
borne to his final resting- place in the Egypt cemetery. Here, 
his companion also rests. 

They, like the other pioneers, came at a time when the 
forest was resonant with the howl of the wild beast, and tlicir 
domestic animals were not unfrequently disturbed by the bear 
and the wolf. 

This venerable couple were the parents of a large family 
of sons and daughters; viz., Thomas D.. Lawford ; Benjamin 
F., A. R., Mrs. Sarah Dotson, the late Rev. A. Id. Philipps, 
of the Baptist church, and the late Mrs. Rachel (George) 
Twyman, all of Rusk; D. M. V., of Smithville. who was a 
Confederate soldier; Philip C, wdio resides at Elizabeth; and 
Mrs. Cinderilla (Samuel) Hatfield, Cairo. 

Thomas D. lost his hearing when a small child, and was 
educated at the college for the Deaf and Blmd at Staunton. 
Virginia, as was his wife, Mrs. Lydia Bartlett Philipps. 

The Sharpnacks. — Sharpnack is another prominent, pio- 
neer name that belongs to the history of this part of the coun- 
ty. This family trace their ancestry to Germany, where the 
name Avas originally spelled "Scharpenack." 

In the year 1759, the founder of this family, leaving his 
native land — "Prussia" — wdth his wife and one child, Peter, 
set sail for the New World ; but he died on board the emi- 
grant ship, and was, doubtless, sunk beneath the waves, and 
his widow^ and child came on to Philadelphia alone. Here, a 
few^ months later (in 1760), she gave birth to another son, 
who was known as "Henry." These two sons grew up in the 
"City of Brotherly Love," and became identified as silk 
merchants. 

Peter returned to the place of his nativity at Elberfeld 
Half Camp, Prussia; and Henry took up his residence at 
Rice's Landing, in Pennsylvania, where he met and married 
Miss ]\Iary Rice in the year 1783. Here he reared a large 
family; and here his last hours were spent — in 1848. Pie was 
locally known as "River Plenry." 

His sons were : Daniel, Samuel, Henry, Peter. John, 
Jacob, and William ; and he had three or more daughters. 

John, with his wife and brothers, Samuel arid Henry. 



SCOTCH SETTLERS 185 

crossed the plains to Pike's Peak, in 1819, in wagons drawn 
by their cows. Having secured some gold there, they all re- 
turned to Iowa and settled near Modale, where they reared 
families. 

William Sharpnack, who was born near the year 1785, 
was married near 1808 to a Miss Anderson, and settled in 
Wetzel county, on the site that is now marked by the Anthem 
post-office. Here he established a mill and a distillery, and 
reared a large family. Near 1840, while chopping wood, he 
met with an accident that cost him his life. 

tlis children were : Richard, Daniel, Samuel, William, 
John. Henry, Peter. Hiram, Jane and Hester. 

William Sharpnack, junior, was born in 1810, and married 
Miss Sarah Harris, daughter of Anthony Harris, and removed 
from Wetzel to Ritchie county in 1845 ; and after resid- 
ing for a brief time on Buffalo run, settled on a tract of land 
near the present site of the "California House." Here, his 
wife, Sarah, died, leaving three children, Elias, Anthony and 
Elizabeth, who died in her youth. Some time after this sad 
event, he married Miss Margaret Cokeley, daughter of Daniel 
Cokeley, of near Harrisville, who only survived a short time. 
He then married her sister. Miss Mary Cokeley, and three 
children were born of this union; viz., John I., Frank D., and 
Martha, who became Mrs. William Cox, and went to Hot 
Springs, Arkansas, where she died without issue. 

After the death of his third wife, William Sharpnack mar- 
ried Miss Eleanor Pipes, of Tyler county, who still survives. 
He lived a long and useful life, dying on July 8, 1890, at the 
age of eighty years. He was a leader in the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, and was Captain of the Militia before the Civil 
war. His sons Elias and Anthony, were soldiers of the Union 
army for three years. 

Hiram Sharpnack, brother of William, who was born on 
April 11, 1818, married Miss Lydia Harris, daughter of An- 
thony, in 1843 ; and five years later he came to this county 
and settled on a tract of land joining his brother, near the Cali- 
fornia House, where he remained until his death on November 
20, 1880. He was a skillful workman in both wood and iron — 
was a cabinet-maker, builder, and mill-wright. 



)S(i HISTORY or RITCHIE COUX'TY 

His wife died in January, 1886. 

They were the parents of nine children : \iz., William H., 
Daniel M., Rachel A., Isaac N., Sarah F., Lucy J., Alary V'.. 
Ella P., and Martha E. 

William H. served as a Union soldier for three one-half 
years during the Civil war ; and then married Miss Kathnne 
Smith, of Freeport, and settled there, where he has been a 
leading figure in business and political circles for forty years. 
His wife died in 1906, and his two children are ]\Irs. ^Minnie 
(R. C.) Marshall, and Joseph N. Sharpnack, wdio was for sev- 
eral years identified with the Cairo Bank. 

(For D. M.'s Family see Petroleum.) 

Isaac X. and his wife, Ida J. Huntington, and their onl}- 
son Fred, reside at Parkersburg, where he is manager of the 
Western Union Telegraph Company. 

Rachel A., the eldest daughter, married Thomas Bath- 
gate, of Scotland, who, in 1865, removed from the old "Bath- 
gate homestead," at Petroleum, to Missouri, wdiere she died a 
number of 3'ears ago, leaving several children, who are prom- 
inently known in dilierent parts of the West. After her deaths 
Mr. Bathgate re-married and he now lives at Polo, Missouri, 
at the advanced age of eighty-one years, surrounded by ease 
and luxurv. When he first came to America, he worked at 
digging ditches for the small sum of eight dollars a month 
snd his board. 

Sarah F., the second daughter, became Mrs. James Lil- 
lie, of New York, and went to Missouri, where her husband 
died in 1905, leaving a small family. 

]\Iary F. Sharpnack, who died in 1886, was the wife of 
the late Alfred B. Enoch, and mother of Chester Enoch, of 
Parkersburg. 

Ella P. married Winfield Clarke, of \'olcano, and resides 
at Tacoma, Washington, and has one son, AA'infield. 
The other daughters never married. 

John Sharpnack, a cousin of William and Hiram, with 
his wife, Hannah, also came to Ritchie county in the forties, 
and settled on Bufifalo run, where he reared a large famii>, 
which are as follows : Hiram, Abraham, Elma, ]\Irs. Lydia 
A. (J. W\) Hensley, Mrs. Sarah J. (John H.) A\'endell. of 



SCOTCH SETTLERS 187 

AJichigan; Airs. Mahala (John B.) Rice, and Henry Sharpnack, 
Seattle, Washington. 

All the different families of this name in the United States 
are said to have been descended from the same common 
ancestors in the Fatherland. 



CHAPTER XII 



Bond's Creek Settled 



Bond's creek is a stream not noted in song, 

No pencil or tongue its beauties portrayed; 
Unwritten, unsung it glided along, 

Keeping time to the music it ripples made. 

'Tis a gentle stream with its winding way. 

Through a woodland d&U where the wild flowers bloom; 

Where the trees their pliant branches sway. 
And the air is filled with a sweet perfume. 

—John S. Hall. 

OXD'S CREEK, with its numerous trib- 
utaries, drains one of the most fertile 
regions in the county. It has its source in 
the dividing ridge between Tyler, Pleasants, 
and Ritchie, and its confluence with the 
Xorth fork at Cornwallis, eighteen miles dis- 
tant. 

Its name perpetuates the memory of one of its earliest 
settlers — "Lewis Bond." 

Mr. Bond has, hertofore, been recognized as its first 
pioneer, but careful investigation proves this to be in error, 
as George Husher was without doubt his predecessor here. 
But as ]\Ir. Husher's improvement was slight, and liis stay 
brief, his rightful claim to this distinction was lost to view 
until quite recently, when the facts were brought to light 
from their hiding-place in the cob-webby past. 

The Coming of the Hushers. — George Husher is recog- 
nized as the second^ pioneer within the present bounds of the 
county, as his settlement at Highland closely followed that 
of John Bunnell, at Pennsboro, in 1800. 




^But so many came near the same time that it is difficult to establish 
this fact beyond doubt. 



BONDS CREEK SETTLED 189 

Mr, Husher was of German origin, and was probably born 
in the Fatherland. However, his natal day was July 6, K'71, 
and that of his wife. Annie Terrell, who was a native of one 
of the New England colonies, was December twelfth of the 
same year. They were married on February 12, 1793 ; and as 
early as 1801, came to Highland and opened a blacksmith- 
shop and a house of public entertainment; but after a brief 
residence here, they removed to Husher's run — to the farm 
that is now the home of John Fowler, near three miles below 
Elienboro ; and from there, in 1830, they went to Cabin run, 
and became the first citizens of the forest where Tollgate now 
stands ; the site of their old cabin being marked by the resi- 
dence of the late T. J. Broadwater. Here, in 1838, Mr. Husher 
fell atleep, and in 185G, his wife, Annie, was laid by his side 
in the Baptist church cemetery, at that place. 

Their family consisted of six daughters and two sons ; 
viz., Elijah, Mary, Kathrine, Elizabeth, Jacob, Anna, Nancy, 
and Selina Husher. 

Elijah Husher was born on October 19, 1794. and on April 
3, 1818, he was married to Miss Mary (or Polly) Cunning- 
ham, da'ughter of Edward Cunningham, of Bond's creek ; and 
remained in this part of the county until after the early death 
of his wife, when he went West and spent much of his time 
in traveling about until late in life, when he settled down v/ith 
his only daughter, Margaret, at Terre Haute. Indiana, where 
he rests. 

Mary Husher, born March 13, 1796, was married to 
Alexander Sommerville, on January 28, 1836 ; and near West 
Union they resided until 1878, when they removed to Kansas, 
where they rest. Their children were five in number: Adol- 
phus, of West Union; the late A. B., and S. Salome Lowther 
(first wife of the Rev. Oliver Lowther), of Pullman: Mrs. 
Minnie Davis, and Busie, who went to Kansas with their 
parents. 

Kathrine Husher, born July 31, 1799, became Mrs. Nixon, 
on October 21, 3 822, and went to Ohio, where she reared a 
family and died. 

Elizabeth Husher, who was born on October 17, ISO;*, 
was the late Mrs. Bond, of Indiana. She had one daughter, 



190 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Selina, and one son, Lewis Bond, who came I^ack to Ts'ler 
county, near twenty-five years ago^ and was married to a Z^Iiss 
Wilson, of the Pennsboro vicinity. 

Jacob Husher was born on September 1, 1805, and went 
to Ohio in his younger days, where he met and married Miss 
Nancy Boran, of Washington county ; and at Covington, Ken- 
tacky, they established their home, a little later. Here he 
enlisted in the Union cause and served for four years ; and 
here he spent his last hours, near the year 1878. His only 
child, Xancy. became Mrs. Ridgeway, of Covington. 

Annie B. Husher, born on December 28, 1807, was first 
married to John Ankrum, of Highland; and they settled near 
Centreville, in Tyler county, where Mr. Ankrum and their 
three sons — George, Solomon, and Augustus, all died Avithin 
a few months; and her second husband was William ]\Ioore, 
of North Bend IMill, and this marriage was childless. 

Nancy Husher, born, perhaps, near the year 1809, was 
married to John Rawson on August 26, 1887 ; and settled in 
the Ellenboro vicinity, where they both lived and died. They 
had no children of their own, but they reared three of his 
brother's children ; viz., Thomas, Samuel, and Mary Rawson. 
who was the late wife of Eber Mason, of Pennsboro. ^Ir. 
Rawson passed from earth in July, 1861, and his wife, in 
August of the following year. 

Selina Husher was born on December 13. 1813; and on 
May 14, 1843, she became the v/ife of George Haddox, son of 
Raleigh Haddox, of this county; but in 1867, they removed 
to Pleasants county, where their lives came to a close. She 
died on April 21, 1894; and he. on June 19, 1898. They were 
the parents of seven children; viz., 

Virginia, Greene, John R., Mary Ann, M. D.. G. B.. and 
Cindonia, who died in early childhood. 

The Bonds. — Lewis Bond, the second settler of this creek, 
whose memoiy is so fittingly enshrined by its name, was born 
in Cecil county, Maryland, on February 16, 1780, amidst the 
din of the American Revolution ; and on November 15, 1805, 
he was married to Miss Lydia John, daughter of Jehu and 
Elizabeth David John, and granddaughter of the Reverend 
Enoch David, of Philadelphia, who was also a native of the 



BOND'S CREEK SETTLED 191 

Keystone state — of Fayette county. And in 1813, with her, he 
removed to Brookville, Indiana, and three years later (1816), 
came to Bond's creek, and established a home north of High- 
land ; but we are without authentic information as to the exact 
scene of this settlement. However, he later removed to Gnat's 
run, where he built the "old brick house" that is now owned 
and occupied by Robert Cunningham — it being, perhaps, 
second only in age to the "stone house" at Pennsboro. 

After a long residence here he removed to the wSouth fork 
of Hughes river, in Doddridge county, where he remained but 
a short time, before going to Quiet Dell, in Harrison county, 
near the year 1860. There he quietly passed into the land of 
eternal rest, on April 1-1, 1867. And within the peaceful bosom 
of the old Seventh-Day Baptist cemetery, at Lost creek, in 
Harrison county, he lies in his last sleep. 

He and his wife, Lydia, were the parents of twelve chil- 
dren, which are as follows : Alfred J., Edwin P., Ethelbert 
D., Benjamin Franklin, Thomas, and Lewis, junior, who died 
in youth, (and another son was named Lewis J.), and Richard 
C. ; Rebecca E., the eldest daughter, married William P. Bond ; 
Casandra, Simeon Bond ; Mary Ann, Thomas Booth Bond ; and 
Lydia, Daniel D. Kildow. 

Two of these sons were ministers of the gospel, and four 
were physicians. All have now crossed to the other side, but 
their descendants are widely scattered in this and other states. 

The original home of the Bonds was in Cornwell county, 
England, where there remains to-day the ruins of an ancient 
castle, which was held by their antecessors for more than 
three hundred fifty years. 

They belonged to the landed aristocracy of their day, and 
were recognized by the higher castes in the social realm. 

But the first account we have of the family in America, 
begins with the year 1700, when Richard Bond and his wife, 
Sarah, crossed to the colonies. 

Their son, Samuel, married Miss Ann Sharpless, daughter 
of John Sharpless, of Chester, Pennsylvania, wdio formerly 
came from Cheshire, England, and from him the Ritchie coun- 
ey family trace their lineage. 

This marriage took place in 1736, and a pretty little tradi- 



192 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

tional romance is woven about it, which says that they eloped 
at the ages of nineteen and fourteen years, respectively; and 
that they were pursued by the girl's father, who arrived too 
late to prevent the ceremony; but he, seeing the fallacy of 
farther opposition, joined, good naturedly, in the nuptial feast 
and "took the children home." 

Samuel and Ann Bond were the parents of four children: 
Richard Clayton, Sarah, Margaret, and Susanna. 

Richard Clayton Bond, this only son, was born in Cecil 
county, Maryland, in 1728, and was twice married ; his (irst 
wife being Miss Mary Jarman, of Cumberland county, Mary- 
land; and his second Miss Mary Booth. He removed to Har- 
rison county, this state, later in life, where he saw the last of 
earth. 

He was the father of fifteen children : Samuel, born in 
1754, Richard, Susana, Levi, Lydia, John, Abel, Sarah, and 
Mary were the nine children of the first union. And Rachel, 
Thomas, Lewis, Rebecca, Mary Aim, who died in infancy, and 
another daughter named Mary Ann were the fruits of the 
second union. 

Lewis Bond, above mentioned, son of Samuel and Mar\^ 
Booth Bond, was the Ritchie county pioneer, after whom 
Bond's creek was named. 

And Rebecca Bond, his twin sister, who married Thomas 
Haymond, of Harrison county, was the grandmother of Mrs. 
Creed Collins, senior, of Pennsboro. (See Llaymond family 
history.) 

Sarah Bond, the daughter of Samuel and Ann Sharpiess 
Bond, married Ebeneezer Howell, of New Jersey, in 174:9, 
and they were the parents of — Samuel, Richard, Lewis, Sarah. 
Ebeneezer, Azariah, Susanna, Tamar, Margaret, Anne, and 
George. 

Their son Richard Howell was, in 1775, appointed Cap- 
tain of the Fifth Company in the Second Battalion of the "Jer- 
sey Line." He spent the winter with his command in the 
Highlands of the Hudson, and was a participant in the unsuc- 
cessful expedition to Canada in the spring. 

He was in active service tliroughout the Revolution, and 
was in the noted engagements at Brandywine and German- 



BOXD'S CREEK SETTLED 193 

town, and witnessed tlie terrible suffering" of the patriotic 
army at Valley Forge. 

In 1793, he was chosen governor of his native st<?ie-- 
New Jersey, and served as chief executive for eight consecu- 
tive terms. 

He was the grandfather of Mrs. Jefferson Davis, the late 
wife of the only President of the Southern Confederacy. 

In a biographical work on the Governors of New^ Jersey, 
the following beautiful tribute is paid to his memory : 

"Howell, for social virtue far-famed, 
Shone in the ranks and urged the dreadful war; 
His graceful form expressed a noble mind, 
The soul of honor, friend of human kind." 

Margaret Bond, daughter of Samuel and Ann Sharpless 
Bond, married Jonathan Davis, of New Castle county, Dela- 
w^are, who was the founder of the Newark Academy — now 
the Delaware college; and their children were: Ann, Samuel, 
David, Ammi, Susanna, Sarah, Richard, and John. 

Susanna Bond, daughter of Samuel and Ann Sharpless 
Bond, married Elnathan Davis, and their children were : 
Rachel, Jonathan, Jacob, Ebeneezer, Jebediah, Susanna, Sam- 
uel Bond, Jeremiah, Elnathan. Susanna (the first Susanna 
having died in infancy), and Margaret. 

Jack and Robinson. — The next settlers on this creek were 
an Englishman by the name of Jack, and Charles Robinson, 
a Scotchman, brothers-in-law, who both took up their resi- 
dence in the same house, at Highland. Jack had been an ad- 
miral in the British navy, and he first came to the "New 
World" in his official capacity during the war of 1812. Rob- 
inson is also said to have been an officer in the Brittish army ; 
and shortly after the close of our second conflict with the 
Mother-Country, they came to Bond's creek. They went 
from here to Rock Island, Illinois, some time during the twen- 
ties, and there some of their descendants still live. 

The McGregors. — John McGregor, senior, was the next 
settler at Highland. He was born and reared near Edin- 
burgh, Scotland, and there learned the blacksmith's trade, in 
1809. he was married to Miss Susanna Blakeley, of Glasgow ; 
and three years later, with their little son, James, they set 



194 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

sail for America; and after a six month's voyage, landed in 
Philadelphia, where the}^ remained until April, 1819, when 
they went to Pittsburg" in an emigrant wagon. From here 
they floated down tlie Ohio river to the mouth of Bull creek, 
and from there via the "Old State road" found their way to 
Bond's creek, where they established a permanent home, and 
reared one of the most prominent and highly respected fam- 
ilies of the county. 

]\Ir. McGregor was one of the earliest blacksmiths here, 
and his great-grandson, M. A. McGregor, is the present High- 
land blacksmith. 

During the latter part of the year 1830, he, being in very 
ill healtli, went to Uniontown. Pennsvlvania. to consult a 
physician whose fame had been wafted far and wide, but who 
proved to be a fake: and there, on January 3, 1832, he passed 
into the other world at the age of fiftv-two vears. eleven 
months, ten days, and as there were no facilities for bringing 
the remains home, they were laid away in the old Presbyterian 
churchyard, at Uniontown. 

A marble slab of antique design marks his resting place, 
which has only been viewed by two of his descendants — John 
McGregor, his son, who accompanied him on his last journey, 
and Charles L. Hall, his great-grandson. 

Mrs. ]\IcGregor rests in the family burying-ground at 
Highland. 

This venerable couple were the parents of eleven children ; 
viz., James, John, junior, David, Susan, AX'illiam, Jeannette. 
Thomas, Joseph, and Alexander McGregor. Elizabeth and 
another Thomas who died in inianc}'. 

James McGregor, the eldest son, who was born in Scot- 
land on Augvist 16, 18] 0. was married to Miss Jane Morrison, 
of Marietta Ohio, and settled on Bond's creek, Avhere he re- 
mained until after the death of his wife, in 1855, when he re- 
moved to Cairo. Here he engaged in the mercantile business : 
and here he fell dead while sweeping his porch in 1874. He 
was the father of eight children, all of whom have joined him 
on the other side, except three. 

Susan died in youth. Sarah was the late Mrs. Bail Wil- 
son, of Pennsboro ; and Baxter. Renic, and |ohn have also 



BOND'S CREEK SETTLED 195 

passed on. James, junior, William, and Florence, who is Mrs. 
Elmer Devaughn, live in the West. 

John McGregor, the second son, was born in the "City of 
Brotherly Love," on May 14, 1813 ; and on September 11, 
1834, he was married to Miss Delilah Martin, who w^as born 
on August 19, 1817 ; and at Hebron, in Pleasants county, they 
established their home and reare'd a large family. Here he 
died in 1886, and here many of his descendants live. 

His children are : The Rev. Silas McGregor, of the West 
Virginia Methodist Episcopal conference ; William M., Tyler 
county; S. E. (Mrs. Asa Fitzwater), Pennsboro; Cathrine 
(Mrs. Amos Wagner), India D. (single), Jeannette G. (Mrs. 
John Odell), all of Plebron ; and Anna D., Susanna B., Elva 
J.. Fanny R. (Mrs. F. M. Morgan), David W., Eliza J., and 
Spencer B. McGregor have all passed on. 

David McGregor, the third son of the family, was, also, 
born in the "City of Brotherly Love," on June 4, 1815, and 
with his parents came to Bond's creek in his early childhood. 
Here he remained until he had reached the age of twenty-two 
years, when he went to "the McKinney settlement" and 
formed a mill partnership with William Lowther, of Cairo ; 
but he became the sole owner of this mill property, a little 
later (1838), and run a store in connection with it. The post- 
office (with William McKinney post-master), was also kept 
at this mill. Near the year 1850. he erected another mill, at 
Cairo, and opened a store in the same building; and for sev- 
eral years (until he sold the lower one), he operated both 
mills and stores. His mercantile business at Cairo continued 
down to his old age, and he was prominently known in polit- 
ical, church, and lodge circles. He was a charter member of 
the Kate Barclay L O. O. F. lodge, which was organized in 
November, 1848, and was also a charter member of the Good 
Templars' order, which was instituted at Cairo, in 1870. Being 
installed as Grand Worthy Chief of the latter, he organized 
mau}^ Good Templar lodges throughout the state, and was 
the candidate for Governor on the Prohibition ticket in 1884. 
He held the commission of Colonel in the State militia at the 
breaking out of the Civil war, and was profifered the Colonency 
in both the Confederate and the Union armies, but declined 



196 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 



to accept, as he wished to remain on neutral grounds. He 
was a life-long Democrat, and three times represented his 
Senatorial district in the legislative halls at the State Capitol 
— (1878-1882). And he was one of the earliest presidents of 
the Sunda}' school organization of the county. 

On March 17, 1S4-2, he was married to Miss Kathrine AIc- 
Kinney, daughter of William and Frances Piatt McKinney, 
and, at their home at Cairo, she passed from earth, on Septem- 
ber 11, 1863, leaving one daughter, Frances S., who is now 
Mrs. 1. S. Hallam. of Abeline, Kansas. The two sons, William 
A., and John P., born of this union, died in infancy. 

On Xovember 1, 1864, Mr. McGregor again took the mar- 
riage vow, when he claimed Mrs. Matilda Lowther, daughter 
of Jesse Lowther, of Cornwallis, and widow of Maxwell Low- 
ther, as his wife : and six children were the result of this 
union ; viz., Lilian B., who is Mrs. Robert W^ilson, of Parkers- 
burg; David G., of Cairo; Rob Roy, of the South; Nettie 
Pauline, F. Herbert McGregor, who is a prominent young 
barrister of Parkersburg, and Miss Lelia Bertha McGregor. 

Mr. McGregor passed away very suddenly while absent 
from home on business in 1891, and was brought back to the 
Egypt cemetery for burial. Mrs. McGregor still survives at 
the old home at Cairo. The one daughter oi her former mar- 
riage is Airs. Mary Lowther Earnest, of the West. 



."■'In, 




William and Elizabeth Hall McGregor. 



BOND'S CREEK SETTLED 197 

William McGregor, the fourth son of the family, was but 
an infant when his parents came to Bond's creek, he having 
been born at Philadelphia, on October 25, 1818. 

On April 24, 1814, he was married to Miss Elizabeth 
Gregg Hall, daughter of Samuel G. Hall, who was born in Bar- 
bour county, on September 25, 1825 ; and settled at the old 
homestead on Bond's creek, which is still in the hands of his 
heirs. ^ Here the sun of his w^ell-spent life sank behind the 
Western hills in December, 1903. His ^ enerable widow, who 
was revered by a legion of friends, survived until May 3, 1910, 
when she passed away at the home of her son, W. S. McGreg- 
or, at Cairo. Both rest in the Highland cemetery. Few 
women have called forth a higher tribute than the one paid 
to her beautiful Christian character by the pen of a grand- 
daughter on the occasion of her recent death ; and few, per- 
haps, have been more entitled to such a tribute. Generous, 
intellectual, kind and loving, she was almost universally ad- 
mired. 

The children of this family are as follows: 

Harlan P., wholesale china dealer, of Wheeling; the late 
Mrs. Virginia (John) Cottrell, of Parkersburg, who died in 
1895; Mrs. Anna (G. F.) Carroll, Fairmont; J. B. McGregor, 
Pennsboro : Burns and Clyde, Salem; Mrs. Rose (Theodore) 
Furbee, Tyler county; W. S., Cairo; Mrs. Mary (James) 
Chestnut, Ohio ; Indiana died in infancy, and Homer, who 
was graduated from the Marietta College, and also from the 
Presbyterian Union Theological Seminary at Cincinnati, died 
after having served as pastor of a church in the South for one 
year. 

Thomas McGregor, born on Bond's creek, on September 
19, 1823, went to Madison, Indiana, at the age of seventeen 
years to live with his uncle, Thomas McGregor; and chere he 
married and reared a family of six children by his first wife, 
and three by his second. 

Shortly before his death in 1903, he removed to Kansas, 
where he rests. His descendants principally live in Indiana, 
Kansas and New Mexico. 



''He purchased four thousand acres on this creek, in 1838, at a tax 
sale for seven cents an acre, and tlie wliole county and state tax at this 
time was but forty cents on the entire tract. Tlie family still own five 
hundred acres of tliis tract. 



198 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Joseph McGregor, the youngest son of the family that 
reached the years of maturity, was borU; Hved and died on 
Bond's creek, where he sleeps. His life began on May 11, 
1825, and ended in 1898. He married Miss Eliza Jane Alartin, 
and was the fatlier of six children; viz., Baxter McGregor, 
Misses Gallic, and Mattie, Highland: Bryson, the late Mrs. 
Josephine Saterfield ; and Mrs. Frankie (Marion) Alkire, who 
now lives at McMechen, Marshall county. 

Alexander McGregor, born on March 7, 1827, died in his 
young manhood. And Susan, born March 5, 1817, died in 
1876, unmarried. Elizabeth, born February 2. 1812, died 
August 12, 1852. Another son named Thomas, born May 25, 
1820, died at the age of five months and fifteen days. 

Jeanette McGregor, the only daughter that reared a fam- 
ily, born in 1821, was married to Leonard S. Hall, brother of 
John S. Hall, the blind poet, who was long a leading barrister' 
of New Martinsville; and after his death, in 1875, she went to 
Wheeling, where she spent her last hours at the home of her 
daughter, Mrs. Addie Baggs, in 1904. 

Her other children are as follows: Mrs. Sue Newman, 
Hon. vSeptimus Hall, who was a member of the State Gonsti- 
tutional Gonvention in 18"} 2, and who has since been a mem- 
ber of both houses of the Legislature, Bruce Hall, and the late 
William, all well-known lawyers of New Martinsville. 

At the time of the coming of the McGregors, this country 
was engaged in its second war with Great Britain, and it Vv^as 
the custom of the British men-of-war to take young unmar- 
ried men from the emigrant ships bound for these shores and 
press them into their service; and on board this vessel, as a 
member of the McGregor party, was a young man b}' the 
name of Ferguson, who was made the unfortunate victim of 
this custom ; he being seized and taken on board a British 
man-of-war, from which he escaped by swimming to shore 
at some point on the coast of Florida. From here he made 
his way to Ganada, and finally, back to the place of his nativ- 
ity at Edinburgh, Scotland, where he became a prosperous 
business man. 

Thomas McGregor, senior, an elder brother of John, 
senior, came to America also, and settled in Indiana, where 



BOND'S CREEK SETTLED 199 

he lived and died. He married but had no children ; but as 
above stated, he partl}^ reared his nephew, Avho bore his own 
name — Thomas McGregor. 

The Halls. — "About two hundred years ago there was a 
young farmer by the name of Hall residing in the Northerp 
part of England." He fell in love with a beautiful Scotch 
lassie, wooed and won her ; and, doubtlessly, influenced by 
the wonderful tales they had heard of the New World, shortly 
after their marriage, they crossed the ocean and settled at 
Duck Bridge, Maryland, not far from Baltimore. Here, after 
rearing a family of several children, they died at an advanced 
age. 

One of their sons, Samuel, married, and was the father 
of two sons, Thomas and Joseph ; and when the Revolution- 
ary war broke out, the father and the elder son, Thomas, took 
up arms in defense of the colonies, and served under the direct 
command of General Washington. 

Samuel and his wife died within two days of each other,, 
and were laid in the same grave ; and after their death, their 
sons crossed the mountains and settled in Pendleton county 
(W.) Virginia, on the South branch of the Potomac, where 
they v/ere engaged in farming. 

Joseph was first married to Miss Barbara Dickenson, and 
David, John, Samuel, Thomas, and Nancy, were the children 
of this union. 

After her death, he (Joseph) removed to Harrison coun- 
ty, where he was again married to Mrs. Elizabeth Reger Tal- 
bott, who was the mother of his three sons, Jacob R., Enoch, 
and Philip ; and his two daughters, Kathrine, and Phoebe Hall. 
Here he died in 1821, at the age of eighty years, and his widow, 
who survived him, lived to the age of eighty-seven. 

John Hall, a son of his first union, married Miss Eliza- 
beth Gregg, and was the father of Samuel G. Hall, the Ritchie 
county pioneer, and of four other children ; viz., Louis Ches- 
tine, Thomas, Nancy and Elizabeth. 

Samuel G. Hall was born in Harrison county, in 1803,' 
and there the days of his youth and his young manhood were: 
spent. In 1823, he was married to Miss Rachel Hudkins,. 
daughter of Barton Hudkins, whose history appears among; 



200 HISTORY Of RITCHIE COUXTY 

the early settlers of U'hite Oak, and after spending the first 
nineteen years of their married life in Barbour and Tyler 
counties, they came to Ritchie in 1842, and took up their resi- 
dence on Bond's creek, at the mouth of Dog Comfort, on a 
part of the farm that is now the homestead of Thomas Dye. 
Two years later they emigrated to Indiana, and there, in 184('), 
Air. Hall fell asleep, and at X"ew BuiTalo, Michigan, his ashes 
lie. In 18-i9, Airs. Hall, with her three younger children, re- 
turned to Bond's creek, where she continued to reside until 
1874, when she removed to St. Alary's, where she bade adieu 
to earth in 1883, and at Highland she lies at rest. 

The children of this family were twelve in number — seven 
girls and five boys: Naomi (who married Jacob Bosler), 
Sacharissa (x\mos Gorrell), and Rebecca (W'iibert Rider), 
have all passed on. Sarah A. is Mrs. S. P. Howell, of Indiana ; 
Elizabeth, the late venerable widow of William McGregor, 
of Highland: and Misses Alary J., and Xannie P., reside at St. 
Alary 's. Aliss Nannie has led a very active life, she having 
taught school for forty-four years in Indiana, and Wc-^t \"ir- 
ginia. In 1883-4, she was principal of the St. Alary's school — 
an honor that has never been conferred on any other member 
of her sex. 

She has been engaged as a teacher in Sunday-school work 
for more than fifty years, and was President of the St. Alary's 
organization, of the W. C. T. U. for seventeen years. 

Leonard S. Plall, the eldest son of the family, was a mem- 
ber of the Richmond Convention that passed the ordinance 
of secession. He took an active interest in the attairs of the 
Confederacy during the war, and at its close went to Wetzel 
county, where he served as Prosecuting Attorne}', and rose 
to eminence at the bar. Here he died in 1875. (See AIcGregor 
Family.) 

Simon Hall, who now resides in Indiana, took up arms 
in behalf of the Union cause. William A\'. also served as a 
Union soldier, and was a lawyer of ability. He practiced at 
the bar of Wetzel county until 1870, when he removed to St. 
Alary's, where he held the oilfice of Prosecuting Attorney for 
fourteen years. Here he passed from earth in September, 
1884. 



BOXD'S CREEK SETTLED 201 

Allen S., who died at Fort Sill, Indian territory, in 1880, 
was a Confederate soldier; and, on comparing notes with his 
brother, William, in after Hie, found that they had unwitting- 
ly "fought against each other in seven different battles." 

John S. Hall, the blind poet, of St. Mary's, is the youngest 
member of the family ; and to his interesting career, which is 
set apart from all the others in this history by the hand-i-cap 
of blindness, we dedicate a little corner of this work — to Rit- 
chie county's first poet. (See Poet's Corner.) 

Hon. Septimus Hall, of New Martinsville, who has been 
State Senator, and is now a member of the House of Dele- 
gates, is a grandson of Samuel G. Hall, he being a son of 
Leonard, and Mrs. Jeannette ^McGregor Hall. 

The Pyles. — This family comes of English stock. Elisha 
Pyles w^as a soldier of the war of 1812, and tradition says at 
its close he was sent to the Northwest in the campaign against 
the Indians, and that he either died or lost his life in battle 
in Ohio near the year 1817. However, he never returned: 
and in 1820 his widow, Mrs. Kathrine Crawford Pyles, of 
Monongalia county, with her two orphaned children, Pene- 
lope, a daughter of a few summers; and William, a child of 
three, emigrated to Middlebourne, in Tyler county, where she 
remained for a few years — until she was married to John 
Cunningham, son of Edward Cunningham, an early settler 
at the mouth of Whiskey run. And after her marriage to 
Cunningham they settled at the forks of Husher's run, where 
they remained until her son had established a home of his 
own; and they then removed to Ohio, where death overtook 
them. 

Five children ^vere born of her union Avith Cunningham ; 

The late C. B. Cunningham, of Ohio; the late B. F., of 
Gilmer county ; and Edw^ard, of Missouri ; and Micha, who 
died at Mineral, Ohio ; and Laura, who is married and resides 
near Guisville, that state. 

Penelope, the daughter of the first union, married against 
her mother's wishes and went away and was never heard from 



agam. 



William I. Pyles, the son of the first union, who was born 



202 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

on March 31, 1817, was the progenitor of the Ritchie county 
family. 

After his mother came to Middlebourne, he lived with 
two families by the name of Sayre and Hayne, until she mar- 
ried again ; and on Husher's run, at the home of his step- 
father, he grew to manhood. 

On March 30, 1837, he was married to Miss Elizabeth 
Cunningham, daughter of Elijah and Sarah Wigner Cun- 
ningham, and granddaughter of William, of Cornwallis, who 
was born on March 39, 1816. and soon after their marriage, 
settled on Husher's run, where they remained until 1839, 
when they removed to Bond's creek and settled on land owned 
by John Rawson — and made the improvement that vv^as after- 
wards purchased by John Weekly ; and also the one that 
passed into the hands of John Lacy at an early day. 

Mr. Rawson entered a thousand acres of land on this 
creek at the small cost of one dollar eighty cents for the 
entire tract; and after making the improvements above men- 
tioned on the Rawson land, Mr. Pyles purchased a farm of 
his own farther up the creek. And from here he went to the 
Madison Lambert farm, where he resided for some time, and 
where he run a water-mill. 

He finally removed to the head of Big Knot, where he 
fell asleep on March 29, 1892. His wife died on August 20, 
1894, and side by side they lie at rest in the Beech Grove 
cemetery ; here, too, their eldest son, who died in 1845, is also 
sleeping. 

jNlr. Pyles was noted for his 'craze" for planting out fruit 
trees, and wherever he lived, he left a young orchard as a 
memorial. 

His children are as follows : 

Sarah, who is the widow of the late J. A. Lacey, resides 
in Ohio; Barbara, who married S. A. Rawson, died in 1877: 
Serena B., who resides at Hebron, is the Avidow of the late 
John Wricke ; Laura V. is the widow of J. W. Hawkins, and 
at Parkersburg she resides ; Susanna is Mrs. A. Bevers, of 
West Union ; and W. Harrison Pyles, who is unmarried, is of 
Hebron. 

The Weeklys. — The autumn of 1847 brought John ^^'eek- 



BOND'S CREEK SETTLED 203 

ly from Tyler county to Bond's creek, and thus added another 
good family to the permanent citizenship of the county. 

Mr. Weekly was born in 1790, and was a veteran of the 
war of 1813. He was first married to a Miss Gatrell_, ^vho 
died in early life, leaving two sons and three daughters ; and 
in 1835, he again took the marriage vow, when he claimed 
Miss Sarah Garrett as his bride ; and seven children were the 
result of this union. Mr. Weekly died on July 5, 1878, and 
his wife, Sarah, who was born in 1804, on January 36, 1864. 
Both sleep at Highland. 

The children of the first marriage were : Stephen, who 
married Miss Nancy Garrett, and lived and died on Goose 
creek, where he reared a large family. Thomas, who went 
West; Mary (Mrs. Hillery Pratt), Rachel (Mrs. John T. 
Lacy), and Mrs. Dorcas Wright, all of this county; with the 
possible exception of Mrs. Wright. 

The children of the second union: Richard (married 
Miss Ada Corbin), Justus (Miss Lucreta Carpenter), John 
(Miss Orpha Slocum), Rhoda (Mrs. George Corbin), Jane 
(Mrs. Henry Williamson), Elizabeth (Mrs. John Farming- 
ton), and Sarah (Mrs. Jacob Pratt), all of whom reared large 
families except Justus, who died childless ; and all were citi- 
zens of this county, but Jane and Elizabeth. 

The Lacys. — For more than seventy years the name of 
Lacy has had a prominent connection with the citizenship of 
Bond's creek. 

John T. Lacv, the founder of this familv, was born in 
Fauquier county, Virginia, in 1806 ; and in 1833 he was mar- 
ried to Miss Rachel Weekly, and a few years later, came to 
this county and took up his residence near two miles north 
of Highland, on the old homestead that is still in the hands 
of his heirs. Here, in 1857, Mrs. Lac}^ passed from earth 
after having given birth to seven children ; and two years later 
he married Miss Naomi Hudkins, sister of Daniel Hudkins, 
of Cabin run, and six children were born of this union. 

Mr. Lacy was an old time pedagogue, and he taught the 
first school on Bond's creek; in a log house of "primitive 
style," that stood where the Lac}^ school house now stands. 



204 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

He was always interested in educational and religious v/ork, 
and contributed liberally to both causes. 

His father died when he was quite young, and his mother 
then married Mr. Henry Haddox,^ a veteran of the Revolu- 
tionary war, and they came to Bond's creek, and niade their 
home with Air. Lacy for a time, and then went to Kansas, 
where ]\Irs. Haddox died, x^fter her death Mr. Haddox re- 
turned to the home of his step-son, and spent the remainder 
of his days, dying at the advanced age of ninety years. 

]\Ir. Lacy died in 18S3, and his second wife, in 1900. All 
sleep within the bosom of the Highland cemetery. 

The children of his first marriage are : Mrs. Elizabeth 
Pratt, and Mrs. Fannie Pratt, who survive ; and j\Iary Jane, 
the late wife of William Bolton, of Tyler county ; the late 
Mrs. Alartha (Samuel) Rawson, and James, of P)Ond's creek. 

The children of the second union are : P. L. Lacy, A\'il- 
bur ; Mrs. Emma Hayhurst, Ellenboro : A. L. Lacy, Nebraska; 
Mrs. Ida Brown, J. B. and Miss Ella Lacy, Pennsboro. 

]\Irs. Ida Brown, and perhaps other members of the fam- 
ily, haAe been teachers. 

Edvi^ard Cunningham was one of the earliest pioneers 
on Bond's creek, he having settled at the mouth of Whiskey 
run at a very early day. Pie w^as a native of Harrison county, 
and a brother of Elijah M., who married the sister of Thomas 
Harris. He later removed to Husher's run, where he died, 
and at Ellenboro he lies at rest. 

His sons were Adam, John, William, Thomas, Elijah, 
and James ; and his daughter, Mary or Polly, as she was 
called, became the second Avife of Elijah Husher, of Husher's 
run. 

Murphy Cunningham, a grandson of this pioneer, who is 
now very old, lives at Poynette, this state, and Mrs. Laura Fel- 
lows, a granddaughter, resides in Ohio, as do a number of his 
other descendants, Moses Cunningham, of Ellenboro : and 
Joseph, of Shultz, are other grandsons. 

The Martins. — Martin, too, is an old and worthy Bond's 
creek name. 



'Henry Haddox was a nephew of Raleigh Pladdox. of the South fork, 
and his only daughter, Julia, married Frank Cook, of Parkerstjurg. 



BOND'S CREEK SETTLED 205 

John Martin was born in the New Jersey colony, of 
Enghsh parentage, in the first quarter of the eighteenth cen- 
tury ; and he, with his son, Joseph, fought in behalf of the 
colonies during the American Revolution. He being a com- 
missioned officer in General Greene's army. Shortly after the 
close of this struggle, he emigrated to what is now West Vir- 
ginia, and settled at Wheeling, and finally, removed to Athens, 
Ohio, where he died at the age of ninety-nine years. 

His son, Joseph, was born in New Jersey, in 1758, and 
during the residence of the family at Wheeling, he married 
Miss Martha Br3'son, an Irish lassie, who crossed to America 
at the age of twelve years, and near the dawn of the nine- 
teenth century, he removed to Tyler county, where he died in 
1833. 

His son, Ephraim, was born in Tyler county, on August 
18, 1803, and, in 1831, he was married to Miss Sarah Allen, 
of Lewis county, who was of German extraction, and took up 
his residence in his native county, where he remained until 
1848, when he came to Bond's creek, and settled on the farm 
that is now the home of his son, Van Martin, near Pike. 
Here he continued to live until 1900, when he Vv^as laid in the 
Highland cemetery at the age of ninety-seven years. His 
wife had preceded him home by nine years. 

He was the father of the following named children — some 
of vv'hom reside here and are identified among our leading 
citizens : 

Mrs. Eliza J. McGregor, Highland, who has passed her 
seventy-sixth mile stone ; Van Martin, of Pike, aged seventy- 
three , Joab Martin, of Pennsboro, aged seventy-one; Mrs. 
Susan Freeland, Morgan county, Ohio, aged sixty-nine, all of 
whom bid fair to carry out the traditional longevity of the 
family. Joseph Bryson Martin, with his brother, Joab, were 
soldiers of the Union army, but he lost his life at Cloyd 
Mountain. 

The Campbells. — Campbell is another Bond's creek name 
that stands for good citizenship. This family is of Irish 
origin. Robert Campbell, whose ancestors emigrated from 
Ireland to Scotland, and from thence to America, married 
Miss Margaret Bell, and settled in Hancock county, (\V.) 



206 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Virginia, where they reared nine children — seven sons and 
two daughters. Two of these sons, Archibald and William 
Campbell were identified among the settlers of this creek. 

Archibald Campbell married Miss Jane Adams, of Brooke 
county, who was of Scotch descent, and they came to Bond's 
creek near the year 184:5 ; but afterwards rem.oved to Upland, 
in Mason county, where they found a resting place. 

Serena A. Campbell, who was laid in the Highland ceme- 
ter}' in 1905, was the late wife ot Van A. Martin, of Pike. 
Mrs. Malinda A. Locke resides at the old home near Upland, 
and Samantha. Eliza, Bradford, and Wvlie lie in the cemetery 
at Upland. 

William Campbell married ]\Iiss Susan Adams, the sister 
of his brother's wife, and they came to Bond's creek, near 
1853, and remained until they were laid away in the Higliland 
cemetery. . 

^lana A., their eldest daughter, is Mrs. J. F. Bolton, of 
Beech Grove : Anne E., who was laid in the Highland ceme- 
tery, in 1891. was the late Mrs. Aaron Stuart ; and Emma G., 
Alilton A., Oliver H., and William Lamar, none of whom were 
married, all rest in this cemetery. 

iviilton A., who served as a soldier in the Union army (in 
the lith A\'est Va. Infantry), died in a hospital at Parkers- 
burg, in 1864. And Oliver H., who enlisted in the same regi- 
ment, died in the Danville prison, in Georgia, in November, 
1864. 

The Rollinses. — Moses Rollins was one of the very earli- 
est pioneers on lower Bond's creek. He was born on July 8, 
1763, and died during the winter of 1858-9, at the age of 
ninety-six years. He was a veteran of the Revolution, and a 
Brittish cannon-ball had taken oft both legs, and "so he laid 
down his arms." And he carried bullets from the enemiy's 
giins in his hip to the hour of his death. He lies in the '"'Tay- 
lor burying-ground," and his wife, A'ancy, who was born in 
]795. probably, rests by his side. 

From a well-worn old family Bible the following record 
was taken : 

Henry Rollins (born April 1. 1810), Jeremiah (January 
30, 1813), Sarah (May 9, 1815), Edward (June 1. 1817). 



BOND'S CREEK SETTLED 207 

Rebecca (May 6, 1819), Jemima (February 15, 1821), James 
(January 6, 1823), William (November 29, 1824), Lemuel 
(October 15, 1827), Elizabeth (January 6. 1830), and Jesse M. 
(September 25, 1832). 

The data concerning this family is very meager, but the 
descendants are quite numerously scattered throughout 
Ritchie and adjoining counties. B. F. Rollins, of Cairo ; Amos, 
of Cornwallis ; and the late John, of Lawford ; are grandsons 
of Moses Rollins. 

The Pratts merit a place among the older {)eople of Bond's 
creek, thouoh not so earlv as manv of the rest. 

Thomas P. Pratt, the head of this family, was a Monon- 
galia county product : and from there he came to this county 
in 185G, and settled on the Luke Hemsworth farm, on Big 
Knot run, where he spent his last moments on April 16, 18(37, 
and at Hebron he lies at rest. 

His wife, Mrs. Cynthia Anne Evans Pratt, was born in 
Monongalia county, on April 29, 1804, and died en October 
14, 18G9, and was laid by his side. 

Their family consisted of the following named members: 

Maria M. (1831-1852), unmairied; William O. (1839- 
1868), unmarried; John W. (1840— died in youth); Phebe 
(1845-1845) ; Thomas B. (1850-1854) ; Martha A. (1835-1896), 
married George Shingleton, and died in Pleasants county, 
leaving five children; Dudley N. (1837-1891). married Miss 
Fanny Lacy, and spent his life on Husher's run, where his 
only heir, John B. Pratt, now lives. Margaret (1846 — ), mar- 
ried John Wricke and died at Hebron, leaving no issue. And 
James E. Pratt, the remaining member of the family, spent 
his life in this county. 

James E. Pratt was born in Monongalia county, on Sep- 
tember 26, 1842, and with his parents, came to Bond's creek, 
in his boyhood. At the age of twenty years he took up his 
sword in defense of the LInion, and served for two years in 
Company G, Fourth Regiment West Virginia Cavalry. He 
manifested quite an interest in educational matters and was a 
member of the Board of Education of Clay district at the time 
of his death, and was also a member of the Grand Army Post 
at Pennsboro. 



208 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

On October 24, 1867, he was married to Aliss Sarah 
Elizabeth Hogue, and thirteen children were the result of 
this union. He died at Beech Grove, on April 12, 1909, and 
was taken to the U. B. cemetery at Pennsboro, for burial. 
Mrs. Pratt still survives. 

The children : Arah, the eldest daughter, is Mrs. A. R. 
Horner, of Parkersburg- ; Cynthia is the wife of Dr. L. H. 
Hayhurst, of Pullman; Bertha is INTrs. R. L. Lacy, of Mari- 
etta; E. E. Pratt, is of Clarksburg": J. I., of Charleston; O. C, 
of Parkersburg; T. O., of Pittsburg; Harry, of Parkersburg; 
Luther and Earle, are at home, and Asa, Andy, and Charles 
died in childhood. 



CHAPTER XIII 



Husher's Run 




HIS stream is a tributary of Bond's creek, 
and its name perpetuates the memory of its 
first settler, George Husher, who was, also, 
the first settler of Bond's creek. And 
though it is but a small stream, it drains a 
fertile region, and not a few prominent pio- 
neer names have an association with its his- 



tory. 



Elijah Cunningham, son of William, was one of the 
earliest settlers after Jacob Husher. He was a native of the 
"Old Dominion ;" and his wife was Miss Sarah Wigner, sis- 
ter of John Wigner, junior. Here they both spent the greater 
part of their lives, and in the Ellenboro cemetery, they lie at 
rest. He died during the autumn of 1868; and she, in ]883, 
at the age of ninety years. 

Their eldest daughter, Elizabeth, married \A'm. I. Pyles, 
and was the mother of W. H. P\des, of Hebron ; Sarah Ann 
was the late Mrs. AA'illiam Wells — mother of George Wells, 
of Pennsboro ; Barbara became Mrs. John A. Webb, and went 
to Kansas ; Emeline is Mrs. McLean, of Ohio ; Cathrine was 
the late Mrs. Van Cundif¥, of Danville, Illinois ; Mary Jane, 
who is still single, resides at Belpre, Ohio; William, the only 
son (married Alargaret Curry), resides near Pennsboro. 

John Wigner was the first settler at Ellenboro. He was 
of German descent and of Pennsylvania birth ; and he came 
to the Smithville vicinit}-, from the "City of Brotherly Love," 
with his parents, ]\Ir. and Mrs. John Wigner, senior. He was 
first married to Miss Katherine Wetzel, a near relative of the 
distinguished Lewis Wetzel, vv^ho was, also, of German line- 



210 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

age ; and with her took up his residence on the G. \V. Lam- 
bert farm, near Ellenboro, about the year 1814. His second 
wife was Miss Sarah Ann Larison. He was a soldier of the 
war of 1812. He sold his possessions here to Bazil William- 
son, and went to Harrison county, w^here Jie "heired his six 
feet of earth." 

His children were two in number: Jacob W'igner, junior, 
and Mrs. Mar}'- (Andrew) Johnson. 

George B. Johnson, and Mrs. Mary Wigner, of Ellenboro : 
Mrs. Jabez Elliott, junior, of Calhoun county; and Jackson 
Johnson, of Indiana, are his grandchildren. 

His two brothers, Jacob and Henry Wigner, also, found 
homes in this part of the county near the same time. 

Jacob Wigner, senior, was married to Miss Leah Cun- 
ningham, daughter of pioneer William, of Harrisville and 
Cornwallis, and settled on Stuart's run, on the farm that has 
since been known as the "Patrick Cochran homestead." Here 
his death occurred in 185o, and at Riddel's chapel, beside his 
wife, he rests. He was the builder of the lirst dwellin<j in the 
town of Ellenboro. 

His children were: Airs. Joseph Rush (the only surviv- 
ing one), the late D. R. Wigner, of Pike; Elijah, William, 
James, Mrs. W. B. Carpenter, and Henry, who died in youth, 
all sleep in this count}^ ; and John S. Wigner, and Mrs. Susan 
Clarke, in Pleasants county. 

Henry Wigner was married to Miss Elizabeth Lowther, 
daughter of Jesse Lowther, of Cornwallis, and settled on 
what is best known as "the Hitchcock farm" — now the home 
of J. S. Pratt, near Ellenboro. But he afterwards removed to 
the Cairo vicinity, where he passed from earth, at a ripe old 
age, and in the Egypt cemetery, with his companion, his 
ashes lie. 

His children were : William, of Ellenboro ; Wesley, of 
Pennsboro ; Mrs. Susan (John) Heaton, of Harrisville; and 
Phebe, who died in youth. 

Michael Johnson was another early settler on Flusher's 
run. He was born and reared in "Old Erin ;"' and there he 
was married to Miss Hannah Hughes, a relative of Jesse and 
Elias Hughes, and from there, they fled to America from 



H USHER'S RUN 211 

religious persecution and settled in Virginia. They came to 
the Ellenboro vicinity, in 1827, where they remained until 
they passed to the "home over there." 

Their family consisted of eight children ; viz., George and 
Andrew, were both drowned while crossing the Ohio river in 
a skifl", in 1834; William went to Iowa; ATrs. Susan Gaston, 
Misses Dorcas and Rebecca Johnson were all of Harrison 
county ; and Maria, the wife of Ezekiel Bee, Avas of Berea. 

Andrew Johnson married Miss Mary Wigner. daughter 
of John Wigner, junior, and was the father of the venerable 
George B. Johnson, and Mrs. Mary Wigner. of Ellenboro. 

Mr. Johnson is now seventy-six (1909) years of age, and 
lives in the same vicinity where he was born ; he having never 
been beyond the limits of the state. His memory carries 
him back to the days when the present site of Ellenboro was 
a sugar-camp, and the public highways were little more than 
bridle-paths. 

He married Miss Elizabeth Parks, daughter of Nathaniel 
Parks, an early pioneer of this county, and is the father of one 
son, W. A. Johnson, of Pennsboro. 

Nathaniel Parks was born in Harrison county, on June 
11, 1803, and came to this county in his early manhood (near 
1825), and married Miss Barbara Cunningham, daughter of 
William, of Cornwallis, and settled in the Harrisville vicinity. 
He later removed to near Ellenboro, where his life came to 
a close in 1895. His wife was born in 1803, and died in 1887. 
Both sleep in the Ellenboro cemetery. They were the parents 
of the following named children: The late Wm. H., of Cairo; 
James M., of Ellenboro; John C, of Cornwallis; Mrs. Edith 
(Benjamin) Wricke, Pike ; Susan first married Wilson A. 
Gribble, who lost his life in battle during the Civil war, and 
she then became Mrs. Robert Hancock, and went to Wis- 
consin, where she died; Mrs. George B. Johnson, of Ellen- 
boro, already mentioned, is the other daughter ; Martin died at 
Washington city during the Civil war ; John and William 
were also soldiers of the Civil war. 

John Rawson was another very early settler in the Ellen- 
boro vicinity, on the farm that is now the home of John 
Fowler. He married Miss Nancy Husher, daughter of George 



212 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Husher, after whom the stream was named, and here spent 
the remnant of his days. He was one of the earhest millers 
in this section. He first owned a horse-mill, and later secured 
steam power and run a grist and saw-mill combined. He 
died in July, 1861, and his wife, in August of the following 
year, and both rest on the old homestead. He had no children, 
and he willed his property to two of his nephews. 

William Carpenter, senior, was the first settler of the 
Yerkey homestead, on Husher's run. He was born in Steu- 
ben county, New York, in 1802, and there, in 1821, he was 
married to Miss Nancy T. Armstrong, who was born in the 
same county in 1805 ; and after a few years' residence in the 
"Empire state," they emigrated to Potter county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and from there, came to Husher's run in the spring of 
18il. He was one of the early ministers of the Baptist church 
in this pa^t of the county, and his labors continued until a few 
years before his death, in 1880. Here he passed away, and 
within the bounds of this vicinity he found a resting place. 
He was the father of six children: Lovera. the eldest daugh- 
ter, is Airs. William Wigner, of Stuart's run ; Lucretia is the 
widow of the late Justus Weekly, of Bond's creek; Nellie 
Avas the late wife of John G. Wigner; Nancy J., died in child- 
hood; Wm. B., late of Washburn, is now of Tyler county; 
and J. W., who married Miss Rosalina Wilson, resides at Bel- 
laire, Ohio. 

Along with Mr. Carpenter from Pennsylvania came F'red- 
erick Tanner, Truman Stephens, and Daniel Vancourt. 

Air. Tanner was a mill-wright, and as he was a bachelor, 
he remained as a member of the Carpenter household until 
his death, in 1864, at the age of eighty-five years. 

Truman Stephens was a native of Massachusetts ; and 
his wife, Roena Kibbee, was born in New York; and for a 
short time after their marriage, they resided in the "Empire 
state," and from there, emigrated to Potter county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and from thence to the Ellenboro vicinity — to the farm 
now owned by Benjamin McGinnis — in 1841. 

Here their lives closed at the home of their daughter, 
Mrs. Vancourt. and in the Ellenboro cemetery they lie in 
their last sleep. 



H USHER'S RUN' 213 

Tliey were the parents of four daughters ; viz., Liza was 
the late Mrs. James McGee; Amanda Miranda was Mrs. 
Daniel Vancourt ; Jane first married a man by the name of 
Calhoun, and after his death, she became Mrs. Weekly. And 
Lucinda, the only survivor of the family, is Mrs. Martin 
Cochran, of Tollgate. 

Mr. Stephens was a soldier of the war of 1812. 

Daniel Vancourt and his wife, Mrs. Amanda Miranda 
Stephens Vancourt, settled on a farm adjoining the Carpenter 
homestead, and there remained until he was laid to rest on 
his own farm. They were the parents of the following named 
children : 

Julia A., who became Mrs. Adam Raley, and went to 
Baltimore; Amanda M., married Wm. Moore, and lived on 
Stuart's run: Phebe L., became Mrs. William Parish, of Mari- 
etta, Ohio ; Mary Cathrine is Mrs. Presley Rollins, of Hush- 
er's run ; Margaret A., Mrs. James King, of Marietta ; Tru- 
man D., Jane, and Mary Matilda have passed on ; and David 
A. lives in Roane county. 

Joseph Cochran was another early Pennsylvanian in the 
Ellenboro vicinity. Plis father, John Cochran, came from Ire- 
land during the Revolutionary war, and at once took up arms 
in behalf of the colonists, and served for three years. At the 
close of this struggle, he married Miss Elizabeth Adams, of 
Greene county, Pennsylvania, and settled at Pittsburg. There 
Joseph Cochran was born, and there he was married to Miss 
Sarah Gill, of Mercer covmty, Pennsylvania; and in 1844, they 
removed to this county. Their children were, Jonathan, 
Samuel, Martin, Kathrine J., Sarah, Nancy, and Elizabeth 
(who married Elijah Cunningham). Martin Cochran married 
Miss Lucinda Stephens, and he is the only one of the family 
that lives in this county, his residence being at Tollgate. The 
rest reside in the West.(?) 

William Hitchcock was the pioneer of the Pratt farm, one 
mile east of Ellenboro, at the mouth of the small stream that 
bears his name — "Hitchcock run." 

He married Miss Phebe McKinney and came here early 
in the century, and remained until he answered the final sum- 



214 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

mons. Here he and his wife and nearly all of their descend- 
ants shnnber. 

His children were as follows : 

IMichael, ^^'illianl, Waldo, Nicholas, ]\Iary, and Florence, 
all of whom have passed on. Mary died in youth, Florence 
in early womanhood, and Michael, the only one of the house- 
hold who married, left a family. But they, too, have nearly 
all passed on. 

The Corbins have been prominent citizens of the county 
for sixty years, and in this chapter they claim a place. 

English in origin, they came to America in Colonial times 
and settled in the "Old Dominion." George Corbin was mar- 
ried to Miss Sallie Jennings, of Virginia, who belonged to 
the same family as the distinguished \Mlliam Jennings Bryan, 
and their son, John W. Corbin, was the head of the Ritchie 
county family. 

John W. Corbin Avas born in Culpepper county, \ irginia, 
on October 7, 1786, and served as a soldier in the war of 181'^. 
On January 14, 1819, he was married to Miss Rebecca 
Williams, daughter of James and Barsheba Williams, who 
was born in Monongalia county, on February 8, 1803 ; and 
from Booth creek, Taylor county, with their large family, 
they removed to Husher's run, in Xovember, 1850. Here they 
passed away — he, on July 24, 1878, and she, on April 20, 1885, 
and both rest in the Ellenboro cemetery. 

Their family consisted of thirteen children ; viz., Sallie, 
Oliver Perry, Frances, Alexander M., George, Elizabeth, 
Ephatha, Ada, Joanna, Mariana, Pelina, Josephus, and Ocran 
Corbin, all of whom married and reared families, except 
Frances and Mariana, who died in childhood. 

Sallie Corbin, the eldest, wdio was born on February 16, 
1820, married Hiram Wilkinson, and after a long residence 
here, they removed to Salem, where she died in December, 
1902. Her family consisted of nine children : Loman, of In- 
diana ; Celia (Mrs. Fenton Elifritz), of Ohio; Mary (Mrs. A. 
J. Pritchard), of Parkersburg; Rachel (Mrs. Wm. Childers\ 
of Salem; Frances (]\Irs. Benjamin Grouser), Parkersburg; 
Benjamin, Daniel, Josephus, and Ocran Wilkinson. The last 
two named died in childhood. 



HUSHER'S RUN 215 

Oliver Perry Corbin was born on November 10, 1821, 
and on March 2, 1845, he was married to Miss Nancy Ann 
Taylor, who passed on near the year 1855, leaving six chil- 
dren; and in 1857, he was again married to Miss Mar}^ Lin- 
sey, and twelve children were the result of this union. After 
calling Ritchie county his home for a number of years, he re- 
moved to Jackson county, where his life came to a close. 

The children of the first marriage were : Gustavns 
Adolphus, Rebecca Ann (Mrs. Robert Jones), Joseph Taylor, 
Lorenzo Dow, Mary Virginia (Mrs. John Faber), and Martha 
Columbia (wife of the Rev. W. H. Maddox). The last two 
mentioned were twins. All reared families of their own, ex- 
cept L. D. Corbin, who died in youth. 

The children of the second marriage : Arelions B., Alice 
J. (Mrs. A. T. Maddox), Florence Belle (Mrs. J. H. G. Win- 
ter), Lizzie (Mrs. D. E. Kessel), John D., Julius C, Ella 
(Mrs. E. D. Kessel), Chestinie M., Zorah (Mrs. C. R. Smith), 
and one who died in infancy. 

Alexander McKra Corbin, born Alarch 13, 1827, was mar- 
ried to Miss Margaret Williams, and finally, removed from 
this county to Parkersburg, where he spent his last hours. 
His children were twelve in number: Festus, Belle (Mrs, 
Theodore Butcher), Aliss Rebecca, Dean (who died in youth),, 
Susana (Mrs. John Hudkins), Luda (died in youth), Eliza 
(Mrs. Frank Riley), Elizabeth (Mrs. ^Maxwell), Abraham, 
Laura (Mrs. John Fredline), Arilda (Mrs. Edward Shantaley), 
and Rufus Corbin. 

George W. Corbin, born June 27, 1829. married Miss 
Rhoda Weekly, daughter of John and Sarah Garrett Weekly, 
and lived and died in this county. He w^as the father of the 
late Dr. M. L. Corbin, Arlington, Mrs. Bessie (J. F.) Low- 
ther, and Wm. S. Corbin, all of this county; J. ^I., of Illinois; 
Mrs. Saccharissa (J. M.) Hughes, Parkersburg ; Mrs. Jane 
Phillips, wife of the Rev. Mr. Phillios, of the Pittsburg M. P. 
conference ; Rev. O. L. Corbin, of the Congregationalist 
church of California; and the late Rev. J. D. Corbin. of the- 
Pittsburg Methodist Protestant conference. This family have' 
also been prominently known in educational circles in this 
county. 



216 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Elizabeth Corbin, born June 25, 1831, was married to 
George Cunningham, and removed to Tyler county, where 
death overtook her. Her children : Martin Van Buren Cun- 
ningham, Mary Jane (Mrs. Michael Adams), Andrew J., 
Pauline (Mrs. James Bell). Thomas B., John W., Joanna, 
who died in infancy, Oliver P.. and Lettie, who is ]\Irs. Isaac 
A^^ilHams. 

Ephatha Corbin, born January IG. 1833, was married to 
James Cunningham, and of this union ten children were born; 
viz.. Jasper N. Cunningham, Permilia (Mrs. i\Iary Hammett), 
Sarah (Mrs. Edward Friends), John (died in youth), 
Rocellana (Mrs. Thomas Mahoney), Josephus (unmarried). 
Amber (Mrs. Henr}- Rexroad), Viola (widow of the late Dr. 
D. F. Ireland), the late Edmund D., and Emily, who is ]\Irs. 
Charles French. 

Ada Corbin, born on July 33, 1836. is noAv ]\Irs. Richard 
Weekly, of Bond's creek. And their children are : Frances, 
who married Clarke Saterfield, C. C. Weekly, Harlan P., 
Alosella (Mrs. Dudley Smith), Theodosia (Mrs. F. Alorgan), 
Albert, the late Emma, the late Draper, who died in youth, 
Samuel, Irena (Mrs. Earle Flesher), and Dollie (J\Irs. Elmer 
Saterfield). 

Joanna Corbin, born February 28, 1838, was married to 
Thomas Rawson, and removed from this county to Eliza- 
beth, Wirt county, where she died. Her children: Wm. J.. 
Albert J., John W., Burleigh H., Charles E., Frank, Joseph 
C, Leslie B. Rawson, INIollie R. (Mrs. Samuel ^lorris), and 
Doilie B., who is Mrs. Frank Wiseman. 

Paulina Corbin, born on July 37, 1841, was married to 
Alfred Fowler, of Ellenboro, and remained in this county 
until after the death of her husband, when she removed to 
Parkersburg, where she now resides with her son, Burleigh 
Fowler. Her other children are : Dexter, Thomas, Palmer. 
Lotta, Avho is ]\Irs. D. B. Patton, of Harrisville ; and Hattie 
(Airs. J. D. Hill), Williamstown. 

Josephus Corbin, born on November 3. 1813, is still a 
resident of this county. He was first married to Miss Juliana 
Hogue, of Bond's creek, and eight children were the result of 
this union; viz., Ollie (Mrs. W^illiam Boggess), Zannie (Mrs. 



RUSHER'S RUN 317 

Okey Hill), Alonzo F. Corbin, Sallie (Mrs. M. O. Morgan), 
Lillie (Mrs. Samuel Campbell), Floyd, and Howard, who are 
at home, and one son who died in infancy. His second wife 
was Aliss Drusilla Petit. 

Ocran Corbin was born on September 30. 3 845, and died 
at his home in this county two or three years since. Flis 
wife was Miss Rachel Taylor, daughter of James Taylor and 
granddaughter of Edmund Taylor, and their children were 
twelve in number; viz., Oliver P., John, James (Avho died in 
young manhood), Charles, Frank (a lawyer). Wade, and 
Grover, who both died in youth, Lester, Josephine (Mrs. 
Hubert Moss), Rosella and Kate, vv^ho are at home with their 
mother; and one daugliter died in infancv. 



Since finishing the above account, a bit of valuable in- 
formation concerning the Corbin ancestry comes to us from 
Miss Christine Washington, of Charlestown, West Virginia, 
which we here add : ^/ypf^-C^ C-^xO^ t^ 

Henry Corbin crossed to the Virginia colony near the 
year 1654,. and settled in King and Queen county. He had 
three sons and five daughters: Henry, Thomas, Ga^^vvin, 
Letitia, Alice, Winifred. Anne, and Frances. 

Henry died young. Thomas never married. Gatvvin 
married several times. Letitia became the wife of Richard 
Lee, of Mt. Pleasant ; Alice married Phillip Lightfoot ; Wini- 
fred, Leroy Griffin; Anne, William Taylor; and Frances be- 
came the wife of Governor Edmund Jennings, of Rippon. Vir- 
ginia. And doubtless from her Sallie Jennings Corbin, above 
mentioned, is descended. 

Gatvwin Corbin, the one son of the family that left issue, 
married for his second wife Jane, daughter of John Lane, of 
York river, who was probably the mother of all his children, 
but Miss Bassett, daughter of Wm. Bassett, was another wife. 
Flowever, his daughter, Jennie Corbin, married Col. John 
Bushrod, and her daughter, Hannah, was the wife of John 
Augustine Washington, the brother of George Washington. 

Perhaps the present generations may find this bit of in- 
formation valuable in tracing their ancestry, as it came too 
late for farther investigation on our part. 

The Fowlers. — Another family whose name has stood for 



218 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

good citizenship in this part of the county for sixty years is 
that of "Fowler." 

Henrv Fowler, son of Isaac and ]\Iarv Komer Fowler, 
was of German lineage and of Virgniia birth. He first opened 
his eyes on earth on the Osage river, in 1808; and in 18il, he 
was married to Miss Elizabeth Cofifman, who was also a 
native of Virginia ; and near the year 1850, they came to 
Husher's run, and settled on what is now designated as the 
"Barnes farm," and a little later, purchased the old Husher 
homestead, and here the remainder of their lives were spent. 
Air. Fowler passed away in 1872 : and his wife, who was born 
on August 15, 1819, survived until 1894. Both lie at rest in 
the Husher's run burying-ground. 

Their famih^ consisted of the following named children, 
all of whom survive, except Albert, the eldest son, who died 
in this county several years ago : Thomas resides in Indiana ; 
M. D., in Calhoun county ; Alary is the wife of B. H. Wilson, 
and Nancy is Airs. AV. H. Aloore, both of Goff's : J. X. resides 
near Harrisville; Alartha is Airs. William Rawson, of Alary- 
land ; and John H. Fowler, the youngest son, lives at the old 
home on Husher's run. 

Hamilton. — Almost sixty years have winged their noise- 
less flight since the late Caleb T. Hamilton joined the little 
colon}' on Husher's run ; and his family have ever since been 
recognized among the good citizens of the county. 

Air. Hamilton was born in Alonongalia cotmty, in 1829, 
and there his youthful days were spent. His mother was Aliss 
Alargaret Pratt, and his father lost his life in an accident on 
the first steamboat that ever ascended the Alonongahela river, 
as far as Alorgantown. 

On October 28, 1852, he was married to Aliss Alary J. 
Cole, of Alarion county, and in April of the following year, 
they came to Husher's run : and after a brief residence here, 
removed to Bond's creek, where he died on August 3, 1889, 
and where Airs. Hamilton, though blind, still survives. 

He was a lineal descendant of Alexander Hamilton. 

He was a soldier of the Union army, and his service was 
in Company F, Fourteenth West Virginia Regiment Volun- 
teers. 



H USHER'S RUN 219 

Seven children made up the members of this family, two 
of whom died in infancy, and the rest are as follows : 

W. H., and F. L. Hamilton, are of Highland ; J. N., of 
Parkersburg; C. J., of Hebron; and S. H. Hamilton, of Elkins, 
.all of whom have families of their own. 



CHAPTER XIV 




Goose Creek Settled 

HE DEEMSES.— Adam Deem was the pio- 
neer of Goose creek. He was of English 
origin, but his ancestors migrated from 
England i:o Ireland, shortly after the con- 
quest of this "Isle" by William of Orange, 
and from there they came to New England 
near the year 1735. 
But the first connected and authentic history of the fam- 
ily in the "New A\'orld"' begins with Adam Deem, senior, 
who was born at Hagerstown, Maryland, in 1T5T, and served 
as a soldier of the Continental army during the American 
Revolution. This same Adam Deem removed from the place 
of his nativity to Pennsylvania in his early manhood, and 
finally in his old age, came to this county, where he spent his 
last hours, on what is known as the old ''Deem homestead '' 
just across from the mouth of Goose creek. Here he died, in 
1861, at the great age of one hundred four years, and on this 
homestead, beside his wife, he lies at rest. 

He was the father of seven sons and five daughters. The 
•names of the daughters are wanting, but the sons were as fol- 
lows: Adam, junior, Phillip, Jacob, John, James, David and 
Isaac G. Deem. All of whom married and reared families. 

Adam Deem, junior, married his cousin, Hannah Deem, 
and came here from the place of his nativity — Greene county, 
Pennsylvania, near the year 1810, and settled on the farm 
that is now owned by Mrs. M. J. Hall, near the mouth of 
Goose creek. He was the first denizen of the wilderness here ; 
was a soldier of the war of 1812, and was a typical pioneer 
hunter. He died in the "Buckeye state" near the year 1867, 
and there he rests. His wife also rests in Ohio, but not by 
his side. 



GOOSE CREEK SETTLED 221 

He reared a large family, which were as follows : i\bra- 
ham, John, Adam (III), Isaac, Philip, Jacob, Alargaret (Mrs. 
John Turvey), Charlotte (Mrs. M. Turvey), Melissa (Mrs. 
James H. Davidson), and Elizabeth (Mrs. Adam Ware). 

Philip Deem (son of Adam, senior) was born in Bedford 
county, Pennsylvania, on January 10, 1785, and in 1809. he 
was married to Miss Rachel Kidwiler, who was born on April 
1, 1790. In 1810, they came to this county and settled ^.en 
miles below Cairo, on the river — on the farm that is now 
owneci by Cornelius Bradley, and Alexander Douglass. Here 
Mrs. Deem passed away, on August 5, 1856, and on January 
4, JSfio, her husband joined her on the other side. They both 
rest on the Dotson farm at Rusk. 

Philip Deem was a soldier of the war of 1813, and was 
in the fierce engagement at Lundy's lane (on July 25, 1814). 
He was the father of a large family. His son, Perr}^ died in 
his early manhood ; James married an Irish lady and settled 
at the old home, where he died in 1868; Adam, who w^as a 
minister of much ability, went to Indiana, where he fell asleep. 
The rest of his family Avere daughters ; viz., Elizabeth, Rachel, 
Cathrin'e. Hannah, Roena, Mary, and Cinderilla. 

Elizabeth married Peter Coyle and her onl}^ daughter is 
Mrs. John Booth, of Barbour county. 

Hannah married James Marshall and lived in Wood 
county. Her children were Jacob, Frank and Alice Marshall. 

Cathrine was the late Mrs. James Stuart, of Goose creek. 

Roena \^^as the late Mrs. Frederick Lemon, of Macfarlan, 
and Mary was the late Mrs. Benjamin Philips, of Rusk. (See 
Lemon and Philips histories.) 

Rachel married Daniel Donley and died at her home on 
Elm run, in 1907. She was the last survivor of the family of 
Jacob Deem, and her children are — the late James, Donley, 
Philip, Thomas, Joseph, Rachel, Bridget, and the late Mary. 

■ Cinderilla married John Bradley, and remained in this 
county, where she reared a large family; viz., Philip met a 
tragic death at a picnic at the Ritchie Mines in 1882.; John 
and Rachel died young; Cornelius lives near Rusk; Mary A. 
is Mrs. Meyers, of Cairo; Kathrine, Mrs. L. D. Cain; Ellen, 
Mrs. N. B. Delaney; and Hannah is Mrs. B. T. Jackson. 



222 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Jacob Deem (son of Adam, senior) married Miss Mary 
Lazier, of Pennsylvania, and came to this county not far 
from the year 1810. and established his home at the mouth 
of Bear run, below the Oxbow, where he remained until death 
claimed him. He was one of the contractors of the Parkers- 
burg and Staunton turn-pike, as early as 1838 or '9. He had 
five sons and four daughters ; viz., James, who was the father 
of John Deem, of Smithville ; Patrick, David, Jacob, and 
William; Elizabeth and Roue died unmarried; Susan is Mrs. 
B. B. Nutter, of Oxbow ; and Louisiana, who was born in 1805, 
was the late Airs. William Jenkins, who was laid in the Eddy 
graveyard in Alarch, 1909. 

It is claimed that Mrs. Jenkins was born in this countv, 
and if this be true, the Deemses came here earlier than 1810. 
A/Jrs. Jenkins was married in 1825, and her husband died in 
1863. Mrs. Daniel Eddy, of Macfarlan, is one of her daugh- 
ters. 

James Deem (son of Adam, senior) ^vas a famous story- 
teller and hunter, and the scene of his pioneer settlement was 
across the Wirt county line, near what is now Freeport. }Icre 
he lived and died, and in the Freeport cemetery he lies buried. 

He married Miss Rachel Sargent, who, after his dtath, 
with part of her family, went West, where she is sleeping. 

Their family were as follows : Nepthalem, Jeremiah, Jef- 
ferson, James, Franklin, Lucetta (Mrs. H. D. Nutter), Cath- 
rine i^Mrs. B. Mountz). Sarah (Mrs. Jesse Lee, of -this county), 
Angeline (Mrs. Edward Lazure), Nancy (Mrs. Isaac Thorn- 
ton), Matilda (Mrs. Goodnow, of the West). Armanilla (Mrs. 
(Mrs. Charles Ingrahm), Sacarissa and Rebecca's married 
names are missing, as they went West, and there chose their 
life companions. The families of these sons and daughters 
are scattered throughout Ritchie, Wood, ^\lrt, and some 
reside in the West. 

Isaac G. Deem (son of Adam, senior) married Afiss 
Nancy Enoch, and found a permanent home, and a final rest- 
ing place on Goose creek. He was the father of ten sons and 
three daughters : Abraham, Calvin, Commodore, John M., 
Jeremiah. Matthew, Isaac, and tripletts that died in infancy, 



GOOSE CREEK SETTLED 223 

were the sons; and Margaret, who married Henr}^ Lowther , 
Mary, wife of David Roberts ; and Sarah Elizabeth, widow ot 
the late Richard Dotson. and mother of Hon. C. D. Dotson, 
formerly of Elizabeth, bnt now of Parkersburg, are the dangh- 
ters. They, with the two brothers, John M., and Calvin Deem, 
still survive. 

John Deem (son of Adam, senior) lived and died at Free- 
port, in Wirt county. He was a soldier of the war of ISXi, 
and, like the rest of the Deemses, came here very early in the 
century. He married twice, and had three sons at least. 
George, John, and Jehn Deem, and two daughters, Mrs. 
Rachel Black, and Mrs. Elizabeth Braden. 

David Deem went West in his early manhood. 

Other Settlers. — William Douglass, whose history occu- 
pies a place in a former chapter, was the first to mark the 
forest in the Glendale vicinity. 

Robert Armstrong settled at the foot of Goose creek liill, 
and Samuel Hamilton was another early pioneer ; but we 
have been unable to learn anything definite concerning the 
history of either of these gentlemen. 

A man by the name of Harris made the iirst improve- 
ment on Bear run, a small tributary of this stream. He came 
here from the '"City of I'.rotherly Love," and purchased a 
tract of four huncfred acres of land for sheej) raising- 
purposes, but ovv^ing to his failing health, returned to his 
former home, after a brief stay here, and died in a short time. 
His daughter, Miss Rose Harris, is a teacher in the school 
for the Deaf and Blind, in Philadelphia. 

The Harris estate was divided up and it is now owned 
by a number of progressive farmers, among whom are. John 
and Joseph Meshia, James Ross, William Sheets, B. Beail, 
S. S. Cowell, B. M. Cowell, and others. 

Nathan and John Carter were other early settlers of Bear 
run, but this is all v/e know of their history. 

A large tract of land (4000 acres) known as the "Hark- 
ness estate," which was long under litigation, but which is 
now owned by Brent Maxwell, also, lies on this stream. 

Mrs. Cornelia Storer, a very wealthy lady of New York 



224 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

city, also owns several thousand acres on Goose creek, and 
the Bitrnhafns and Dr. Boles are other "landed-lords," who 
own large possessions here. 

The name of the little stream of "Bear run" here had its 
origin in a fierce conflict which took place at Rock-ford, be- 
tween "Injun Joe" Cunningham and a liuge black bear, which 
resulted in the defeat of bruin, who weighed six hundred 
pounds when dressed. (See Cunningham chapter.) 

The Ross family, though not so early as the others men- 
tioned, have been worthy citizens here for, perhaps, sixty 
years. 

Robert Ross was born on Booth creek, in Harrison coim- 
ty, in 1810, and being left an orphan at the age of fourteen 
years, went to Tennessee to live with a married sister. At 
this age of the world, it was the custom for the farmers to 
"boat" their products to New Orleans for market, and while 
here, he made several trips to the Crescent city on a flat boat. 
He served as a soldier in the Mexican war, having enlisted 
from Harrison county, and at the close of hostilities, again 
returned to his native county, where he was married to Miss 
Elizabeth Starks, and after spending the first few years of 
their married life there, they came to Goose creek, where thev 
established a permanent home. Mr. Ross died in January, 
1880, and Mrs. Ross, in April, 1886. 

They were the parents of nine children; viz., Francis B. 
Ross, Jehu, James, Meshiac, Joseph (who lost his life in his 
burning dwelling early in the year 1910), Mrs. Phoebe Rine- 
hart, Mrs. Martha Webb, Mrs. Luna Williams, all of Goose 
creek ; and Mrs. Sophia Smith, of W^ashburn. 



CHAPTER XV 



Middle Fork Settled 

HOMAS IRELAND, son of Alexander, was 
the first pioneer to find a home on the Mid- 
dle fork of Hughes river. In October, 1820, 
he was married to Miss Katherine Lowther, 
dauohter of Robert, the eldest son of Col. 
William ; and shortly after this event, took 
up his residence on this river, near its con- 
fluence with the South fork, on the farm that is now the 
property of his son, G. M. Ireland; and here the remainder of 
his life was spent. 





Thomas and Sarah Lowther Ireland. 



As is well known, the forest at this time was full of wild 
animals of various species, and not long after his arrival here, 
lie killed a large panther, which had come close to the house 



226 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUSTY 

and raised a disturbance with the hogs. At another time, he 
shot a young panther, and fearing an attack from the mother 
beast, lost no time until he had reached home in safety. He 
also killed two huge bears at difit'erent times with his "trusty 
rifie." 

He was a man of unalloyed integrit3^ and of strong re- 
ligious convictions, and w^as one of the .corner-stones of the 
White Oak Methodist Episcopal church, he and his wife being 
among the charter members. And beneath the shadow of 
this church, side by side, they lie in their last sleep. 

Their children w^ere twelve in number: . Robert, Alex- 
ander, John C, Albert, Alortimer, George M., Thomas W., 
J. Franklin, Elizabeth, Cathrine, Susan and Sarah. 

Robert went to Kansas, where he died in 1870, and where 
his family still live. 

Alexander resides in Ohio. John C. passed away in 
Dodridge county. Albert died in childhood (in 1849), and 
Elizabeth, at a ripe old age. 

Mortimer is now a superannuated minister of the Method- 
ist Protestant church, and his home is at W^orthington, Marion 
county. 

George AI., the only one that remains here, has long been 
a prominent figure in Sunday school and Farmers' Institute 
circles, as w^ell as in business affairs. He served as a soldier 
of the Union in the Civil w^ar and rose to the rank of Captain. 

Thomas W., who was identified among the teachers of 
this county in former years and served one term as County 
Superintendent, is now a prominent minister of the ^Methodist 
Protestant church, and Morgantown is his home. 

J. Franklin went to Colorado many years ago, where he 
still lives. 

Cathrine and Susan make their home with their brother. 
G. AI., at Pullman : and Sarah is Mrs. Maulsby, of West Union. 

This family, like many of the other pioneer families, has 
produced a host of prominent young people. Among them 
are the Rev. A. L. Ireland, of the Methodist Episcopal church : 
A. D. Ireland, of Parkersburg: Miss Addie Ireland, teacher 
of art in the Fairmont schools ; and many others that might 
be mentioned. 



MIDDLE FORK SETTLED 227 

Archibald Lowther was the second pioneer on the Mid- 
dle fork of Hughes river. Harrison county was the place of 
his nativity, and near the little town of West Milford, on 
May 17, 1811, he first saw "the light of day." On September 'I'd, 
1834, he was married to Miss Charlotte Williard, who was 
born of German parentage in Greene county, Pennsylvania, 
on January 29, 1813 ; and in 1836, they came to Holbrook, and 
settled on the farm that is now owned by William Adams, 
and Mr. Townsend — the site of the original cabin Ijeing near 
the Townsend residence. Here, for more than forty years, 
the family resided (until 1876, when they sold the farm to 
the late John Coburn) ; here, Mr. Lowther suddenly fell 
asleep, on October 29, 1874 ; and here, on tlie old homestead, 
surrounded by the silent dust of five generations of the family, 
beside his wife, he lies at rest. 

When Mr. and Mrs. Lowther arrived, their nearest neigh- 
bors were at Oxford, and at the mouth of the river: and 
though they did not keep a house of public entertainment, 
their home was known far and wide for its hospitality to 
strangers, and it was a general stopping place for travelers. 

After the old homestead had passed into other hands, 
Mrs. Lowther lived with her children, until Iter death, on 
April 6, 1895. She was a woman of strong physique, and of 
no ordinary degree of intellect, and her whole life was char- 
acterized by kind and helpful deeds. 

The children of this family were seven in number; viz., 
Elizabeth Jane, the first born, died at the age of seventeen 
years ; Robert, the third son, in childhood ; and Margaret C., 
who was the late Mrs. T. E. Nutter, of Holbrook, in 1905. 

William George, the eldest son, resides at Fonsoville ; 
Alexander S., at Peabody, Kansas ; John Marshall, near Au- 
burn ; and Sarah Ann is Mrs. C. W. Leggett, of Pullman. 

W. G. and Alexander were soldiers of the Union army 
during the late Civil war. 

The next arrivals were Mr. Lowther's parents, William 
and Margaret Morrison Lowther,^ and his widowed sister, 
Mrs. Sudna Willard, and her three daughters. Mlie elder 



ipor history of WiUiarn Lrowther see first chapter. 



228 . HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Lowther and his wife remained as snembers of tlie household 
of their son until they passed from earth ; and Mrs. Willard 
took up her residence on the Lowther homestead, where she 
reared her little family. 

Mrs. Sudna Lowther Willard, was the only daughter of 
'\\'illiam and Alargarct Morrison Lowther that married and 
reared a family. She was born near West Milford, on April 
10, lvD2, and in her early womanhood, she was married to 
George Willard, brother of I\Irs. Archibald Lowther ; and, 
w^hile on a visit with her brother, Alexander Lowther, at Ox- 
ford, a short time before the family removed to this county, 
]\Jr. AMllard died, and w-as laid at rest on the Flannagan farm, 
above Berea. 

She died full of years at the home of her daughter, Mrs. 
M. A. Neal, and, at Pullman, she slumbers. 

Her daughters were Margaret, Rebecca, and Charlotte 
Willard.. 

Margaret married \\'ilson Watson, of Otterslide, and w^as 
the mother of three children: John, the only son, died in in- 
fancy ; Sudna Jane was the first w'ife of the late A. M. Wade ; 
and Charlotte is Mrs. Ai Kelley, of Otterslide. 

Rebecca \A"illard married William R. Brown, and was 
the mother of William R. Brown, ex-Prosecuting Attorney of 
Doddridge county; and of Hon. T. A. Browai, of Parkersburg; 
and of the late Mrs. Ozenia Lipscomb, and the late ^Irs. ]\Iary 
Hodge. 

Charlotte, the youngest and only surviving daughter, is 
Mrs. AL A. Neal, of Pullman. Her children are, Llomer and 
the late Clarke Neal. of Colorado: l\Irs. Alice Hawkins Cor- 
bin. and the late Mrs. Louella Peirpoint, Mrs. Jane Alusgrave. 
the late Olive Neal, and Miss Isa Neal, who holds a position 
as teacher in the Fairmont schools. 

The Willards are of German origin. George ^^'i^lard 
came from the Fatherland late in the eighteenth century, and 
settled in Greene county, Pennsylvania. He married Mrs. 
Elizabeth Hume Ghanz, the w^idow^ of a Frenchman, but a 
native of Germany, before leaving the land of his birth, and 
they were the parents of four sons and three daughters : viz., 



MIDDLE FORK SETTLED 229 

Elias was the father of Porter E. Willard, of Cameron; Jacob 
settled in Kanawha county, but went from there to California 
during" the gold excitement, and was never heard of again ; 
Isaac rests at "Brown's mill," in Monongalia county; George, 
the progenitor of the Ritchie county family, in this county ; 
Elizabeth became Mrs. Schenk and went to Illinois, where 
she spent her last hours, and where her descendants live ; 
Dorothea was another daughter ; Mrs. Hannah Ghantz Jen- 
kins, of Illinois, was the half-s'ister ; and Mrs. Charlotte Low- 
ther was the youngest, and the only member of the family 
that was not taught to read and to speak the German lan- 
guage. When she was but a small child, her father removed 
to the Monongalia side — his farm lying across the Virginia 
and Pennsylvania line. Here Mrs. Lowther grew to woman- 
hood ; here she was married ; and here her parents sleep. 

Though the connection cannot be made clear owing to 
the burning of the Willard records in Colonial days in Mass- 
achusetts, there is but little doubt that this family and that 
of the late Frances E. Willard are descended from the same 
race. Her ancestors, who were of German lineage, came from 
England to the Massachusetts colon}^ during the seventeenth 
century, and became prominently identified with colonial 
affairs. (A letter dictated by her in person not long before 
her death is before us.) 

The love that bound her (Miss Frances Willard) to the 
land that gave her fore-fathers birth, she so beautifully ex- 
pressed in the following language, on one occasion, when the 
pride of nationality was being discussed : 

"First, I am a Christian, then, I am a Saxon ; then I am 
an American ; and when I get home to Heaven, I expect to 
register from Evanston." 

The Zinns. — After the Lowthers and the Willards came 
the Zinns. This family trace their ancestry to the Fatherland. 
George Zinn and his wife, Mary Saylor Zinn, with licr brother. 
William Saylor, emigrated from Germany to America in the 
year 1776. It is not positively known where they first estab- 
lished their home, but they removed from Hagerstown. ^larv- 
land, to Preston county (^^^est) Virginia and from there to 



230 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Harrison county, where they spent the remnant of their days. 
These venerable pioneers were the parents of eleven children ; 
namely, Jacob, Elizabeth, John, George, Michael, Henry, 
Alexander, AVilliam, Samuel, Peter, and Mary Zinn. 

Elizabeth, the eldest daughter, married Henry Grimm 
and removed to Indiana ; and Mary became Mrs. Bland and 
remained in Harrison county ; Henry and George lived in 
Ohio, and the rest probablv remained in this state. 

John Zinn, the second son, whose history concerns us 
most, married ]\Iiss Ruth Gandy, and they, with their family, 
and their married son, J. W. Zinn, came from Preston count^^ 
late in the thirties, and settled on the farm that is now the 
home of H. C. Zinn — the son of J. A\\ Zinn. Here the re- 
mainder of their lives were spent, and in the Baptist church- 
yard, at Oxford, they sleep. 

The elder Zinn was a tanner by trade, and he opened the 
first tannery in this part of the county; and his son run a 
horse-mill for the convenience of the public. 

John and Ruth Gandy Zinn were the parents of thirteen 
children, twelve of whom married and reared families of their 
own ; and not a few of the substantial citizens of this, and 
sister counties, are descended from this worthy couple. 
Their children were as follows: 

Samuel, George O., Alanley, J. V\., Granville, Preston, 
Rachel, Narcissus. Fernandez, Amelia, Delila, Elizabeth, and 
Thomas, who died at the age of fourteen years. 

J. Wesley Zinn, who, with his father, settled the H. C. 
Zinn farm, was born on August 14, 1814, and died in 1853, 
and was laid in the Oxford churchyard. He married Miss 
Eliza Hoskins, of Preston county, and they were the parents 
of — W. B. Zinn, Mrs. Mary E. (Taylor) Cox, of Wirt county; 
Mrs. Sebra (Thomas) Law, Edward D., and C. X. Zinn. of 
the West; and H^. C. Zinn, of Holbrook. 

Q, Manley Zinn, some time after the arrival of the fam- 
ily, married Miss Lucy Ann Wilson, sister of Isaac AX'ilson. 
and settled at the mouth of Bear run. on the farm that is now 
the property of his son. ]\I. B. Zinn. Here he passed away ia 
1868, at the age of fifty-four years, and in the Baptist church- 



MIDDLE FORK SETTLED 231 

yard at Oxford he sleeps by the side of his wife, who survived 
him by many years. (Manly and J. Wesley Zinn were twins.) 
He was the father of C. L. Zinn, of Auburn, who is prom- 
inently known in political circles, and who has twice repre- 
sented his native county in the Legislature, at Charleston. 
His other children are: Newton Zinn, of Glenville ; M. B., 
of Holbrook ; Worthington, of Oxford ; Noah; of Clarksburg ; 
Grant, of Parkersburg; Victoria, wife of the late Granville 
Hall, Colorado ; Mrs. Palestine Wilson, Toledo, Ohio ; Mrs. 
Alice Childers, and Mrs. Magdalena Nutter (mother of At- 
torney Bruce Nutter), both of Buckhannon ; and Martha, who 
died in the "beauty of her youth." 

George Zinn and his wife, Mrs. Sarah Gray Zinn, came 
with the rest of the family, from Preston county, and settled 
just across the Doddridge county line; but. a little later, they 
removed to the Oxford vicinity to the farm that is now the 
home of their son. Granville Zinn. Here their last hours were 
spent, and, with the other pioneers of their name, they rest in 
the Baptist churchyard at Oxford. 

Their children were the late James, of Oxford; John, of 
Lewis county; Thomas, of Harrisville ; Granville, above men- 
tioned ; Milroy, and O. M. Zinn, who resides with his sister, 
Mrs. E. A. Leggett, at Oxford ; Mrs. Mary J. Marsli, Lewis 
count}' ; Mrs. Elizabeth Douglass, of the West ; Ruth, who 
first married Mr. Bumgarnt, is now Mrs. James Carter, of 
West Union ; and Delia, wlio died in youth. 

Samuel Zinn, the eldest son of John and Ruth Gaudy 
Zinn, was first married to Miss Miranda Weaver, who died 
ere long, leaving five children ; viz., Elizabeth, Columbus, 
Minerva, Rachel (who is now Mrs. E. M. Brown, of Auburn), 
and Worthington. Ilis second wife was Miss Ann Dawson, 
and the twelve children of. this union, which are scattered in 
different parts of the West, were as follows: Elizabeth,, 
William, Elijah, Sarah, Preston, Eliza, Martha, David B.„ 
Mary, Laura, Jerusha, and Ella Zinn. (Married names un- 
known to us.) 

Rachel Zinn (daughter of John and Ruth Gandy Zinn) 
married Thomas Gray, and they settled just across the 



232 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Doddridge county line, near one-half mile from the Oxford 
post-office, on the farm that is still in the hands of their de- 
scendants — the children of their late son. Charter, being" the 
heirs. Here they lived and died, and in the Baptist church 
cemetery at Oxford they lie at rest. 

Their children were eleven in number ; viz.. Jane, the 
first born, married John Stiriespring, and I\Irs. J. E. Day, of 
Doddridge countv. is her onlv child. Thomas died in child- 
hood; William, in 3'oung manhood: Amelia and Erminia, in 
early womanhood; James was a soldier of the Union army, 
and not long after his return home (late in the '60's) he 
passed on : Elizabeth is Mrs. John M. Gribble, of West Union : 
Sarah was the late Mrs. F. A. Nutter, of Oxford ; Narcissus is 
is Mrs. Charles B. Cleavenger, of Oxford; Lucia, who first 
married the late \\ ilson B. Lowther, of Oxford, is now Airs. 
L. C. Alorris ; and Charter, the only son that left a family, 
married Miss Hannah Bee. 

Narcissus Zinn (daughter of John and Ruth Gandy Zinnj 
married Samuel Rogers, but she died early in life, and ]\Ir. 
Rogers married again. The family resided in the Oxford 
vicinity for a time in pioneer days, but returned to Preston 
county. Two of her children were Thomas and Preston, but 
here our authentic information ends. 

Delila Zinn (daughter of John and Ruth Gandy Zinn) 
married David Fortney, and remained in Preston county. Her 
children's first names only are at hand : Eugene, Fernandez, 
L3'-curgus, Charlotte, Ashford, Caroline, Silas, and Orpha Fort- 
ney. Mr. Fortney, of Leatherbarke, is descended from her. 

Elizabeth Zinn (daughter of John and Ruth Gandy Zinn") 
married Thomas Brown, and remained in Preston county. 
And her children were, Adaline. Buckner. A\'illiam. Charles. 
Virgil and Cloa Brown. 

Preston Zinn (son of John and Ruth Gandy Zinn) mar- 
ried ]^Iiss Nanc}' Rogers. (See Berea settlers.) And the 
family of Amelia Zinn, who first married Thomas E. Davis, 
senior, and later Eli Heaton, will be found in a subsequent 
chapter. 



MIDDLE FORK SETTLED 233 

BEAR RUN SETTLED. 

Granville Zinn, the remaining son of John and Ruth 
Gandy Zinn, married ]\Iiss Rosetta Lowther, and settled on 
Bear run, on the farm that is now the home of Delaine Tharpe, 
in 1843. 

This stream, whicli is a small tributary of the Middle 
fork, took its name from a huge black bear that came to its 
death here at the hands of Mrs. Zinn's father and brother, 
\\m. B., and \\n\. R. Lowther, and Wm. K. f^owther, while 
Hi this section on a hunting expedition years before the date 
of this settlement. 

Mr. Zinn lived and died where he settled, and some time, 
after he was laid in the Oxford Baptist churchyard, his widow 
and son, Samuel, removed to Harrisville, where they still re- 
side. Airs. Zinn celebrated her ninetieth birthday in February, 
1910. 

Besides the son mentioned, their children were as fol- 
lows: The late W^illiam, the Rev. Lemuel, and the late 
George, of Salem ; Mrs. Margaret Harbert, Harrison county ; 
Albert Zinn, Tollgate ; arid Ellen and Sophia, who died in 
childhood. 

George Griffin was the second settler on Bear run. He 
was born in Harrison county, on February IG, 1828 ; and on 
February 22, 1849, he was married to Miss Juan Fernandez 
Zinn (daughter of John and Ruth Gandy Zinn), who was born 
on November 30, 1828 ; and in 1852, they settled on what is 
known as the Roger's farm, on the Ritchie and Doddridge 
county line, and in 18T3, they removed to Holbrook to the old 
homestead, where their remaining years were spent. Here, in 
January, 1909, Death, for the first time, invaded this family 
circle and claimed Airs. Grififin, who was a noble type of 
womanhood. Mr. Griffin then went to the home of his son. 
Charles G. Griffin, in Ohio, and there, near two months later. 
Death overtook him. His remains were brought back and 
laid in the South fork Baptist churchyard, b}' the side of the 
companion that had traveled with him so far down the "decliv- 
ity of time." 

These pioneers were the parents of ten children, who are 



234 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

all living and who are all the heads of respected families ; viz., 
A. Virginia is Mrs. James K. Wilson, of West Union ; M. 
Caroline is Mrs. W. B. Hayden, of Centreville, Washington ; 
J. Franklin, is of Wood county ; Thomas J., of Holbrook ; 
John Woofter, of California; Charles G., of Ohio; ]\Irs. Laura 
Crofton, of Idaho; Mrs. Lucetta J. (S. L.) McClain, of West 
Union ; Ella is Mrs. Gilbert Hayden, of Auburn ; and Homer 
Griffin is of Wirt county. 

Several members of this family w^ere at different times 
identified in the profession of teaching here and elsewhere. 

The Griffins are of Welsh descent. John Griffin crossed 
from Wales some time during the latter part of the eighteenth 
century, and settled in Maryland. His son, Samuel, married 
Miss Sarah Scarf, of Hartford county (Maryland), and set- 
tled in Talbott county ; and from there, near the year 1804, 
they migrated to Harrison county, (W.) Virginia, where they 
spent the remaining years of their lives. 

They were the parents of eleven children ; viz., Xancy, 
John, Henry S., Susana, Edward, William S.. Joshua H., James 
S., Benjamin S., George G., and Martha Griffin. Several of 
these sons were soldiers of the war of 1812. 

James S. Griffin, the progenitor of the Ritchie county 
faniil}', married ^Nliss Martha Harbert. and settled at Lumber- 
port, in Harrison county. He was one of the pioneer minis- 
ters of the Baptist church in wdiat is now West Virginia, his 
field of labor being in Harrison, Ritchie and the adjoining 
counties, reaching as far as Kanawha county. He was the 
first Moderator of the Mt. Pisgah Baptist church, in Gilmer 
county, being elected to this office at its organization, on Octo- 
ber 27, 1854. He rests in Harrison county. 

His children were — Joshua, John, Allison, Benjamin. 
Luther C, Charlotte (Mrs. Jeremiah Robey"), Jane (}\Ir;-i. 
Christian Davis), Permilla (who married Anthony Winter- 
mine, and went to Oregon), and George G. Griffin. All the 
rest of the family remained in Harrison county except the last 
two mentioned. Benjamin and Luther were soldiers of the 
Civil war. 

H. B. Tharpe, shortly after his marriage to Miss Eliza- 
beth Wass, sister of Harrison Wass, in 1847, made the first 



MIDDLE FORK SETTLED 235 

settlement on the old homestead, where he and his aged com- 
panion are quietly spending the eventide of their lives. Per- 
haps, this remarkable instance can hardly be duplicated in the 
county. One by one they have followed their five children 
to the grave, and only three of their grandchildren survive ; 
viz., Mrs. Dora Pritchard Cox, who resides with ^hem ; Por- 
ter Tharpe, of Clarksburg; and Mrs. Ora Bush, of Troy — the 
latter being the children of the late Harrison Tharpe. 

Their only daughter, Eliza Ellen, was the late Mrs. Ar;- 
drew Pritchard. John died in childhood, and Irvin and George 
Tharpe, in their young manhood. 

The Nutters. — The year 1849 was marked by the coming 
of Christopher N. Nutter to the farm that is now the home of 
his son, C. W. Nutter ; and two years later, his father, Thomas 
Nutter, made the first improvement, on the farm that was 
until recently the home of his grandson, T. E. Nutter — now 
owned by M. B. Zinn. 

The elder Nutter (Thomas), Avho was a native of the 
Clarksburg vicinity, married Miss Lois Parks, and was the 
father of— AV. EI. H. Nutter, of Iowa; G. Hamilton, of Ohio; 
Daniel, of Barbour county; Mrs. Thomas Scoonover, of Ran- 
dolph ; Sarah, who became the wife of the Rev. Thomas Hat- 
field, of Ohio; Airs. Mary (Wm.) Douglass, and Mrs. Belinda 
(Levi) Douglass, both of Barbour county; and Lois, who 
went to California, and there married. 

Mrs. Nutter died and was laid to rest in Harrison county, 
before he came to Ritchie county. Here on the Middle fork, 
he passed from earth, and in the Lowther cemetery, he sleeps. 

Christopher N. Nutter married Miss Sarah Swisher, 
daughter of Isaac Swisher — a pioneer of Lost creek, Harrison 
county, and from the time of their arrival until they were laid 
in the Lowther cemetery (in 1883 and '94, respectively) they 
were among the substantial citizens of this community. 

Their children were John A. Nutter, who lost his life in 
the Confederate cause; the late Mrs. Erances (G. W.) BroAvn, 
who sleeps at Holbrook ; Mrs. Mary A. (A. S.) Lowther, of 
Peabody, Kansas; the late T. E., of Parkersburg ; and C. W., 
of Holbrook. who is now a member of the honorable County 
court. 



336 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

AI. Bruce Nutter, who is a prominent attorney at Buck- 
hannon, belongs to this family, he bein^- the s-rand^on i^f Ham- 
ilton, and the son of Thomas. 

Andrew Nutter, an early pioneer of the Oxford vicinity, 
whose descendants in this county are not a few in number, 
also, belon»'ed to this family, he being a first cousin of Thomas 
Nutter. 

He was a native of Harrison county and a veteran of the 
war of 1812 ; he having enlisted at the age of seventeen years, 
and was in the engagement of Ft. Defiance on the Alaumee 
river. He married Aliss Malinda ^Villis (sister of Robert 
Willis, of Oxford ; of Mrs. Peter Pritchard, of White Oak ; 
and of Mrs. William Elder), and they were the parents of 
Willis, John, Andrew, junior, and Mrs. Julia A\'arren, of Ox- 
ford : Mrs. Nancy Hart, Mrs. Alalinda Hart, and Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Hart, of Pleasants county ; and Airs. Sallie Watson, of 
Roane county ; all of whom have passed on, except Mrs. War- 
ren, who is now a nonegenarian, and possibly another one or 
two. 

Willis Nutter married Aliss Julia Richards, of Harrison 
county, and his son, Thomas, married Aliss Sarah A. Allender, 
daughter of the late Jacob Allender, of Oxford, and they were 
the parents of ex-Sheriff Oke}^ E. Nutter; of Emma, the wife 
of Lee Prunty, of Oxford; of Mrs. Lola (Ben) AA'ilson, of Toll- 
gate; Mrs. Bessie (Fred) Ross, of Pennsboro ; and of Mrs. 
Eva Tharpe, of Oklahoma city. 

W. M. Nutter, of Eva; AL B., of Oxford; and W. J., of 
Pennsboro, are the other descendants of Andrew, senior, they 
being the sons of Andrew (HI), of Oxford. 

John Nutter, brother of Andrew, senior, and his wife, ^Trs. 
Emily Vincient Nutter, were early settlers just across the 
Doddridge county line : but they removed from there to 
Leatherbrake, in the early fifties, imCv there spent their last 
days; and on the old homestead, near Iris, they sleep. They 
were the parents of several children : Jacob and Andrew, Mrs. 
Julia (Lewis) Rogers, ]\Irs. Alary (Henry) Smith, and Cassie, 
who married and lived in Ohio, have all passed on. Nels6n 
lives in California; Thomas, in Kansas; Airs. Ellen (Wm.) 



MIDDLE FORK SETTLED 237 

Connolly, in Virginia; and Dorinda, Avho never married, on 
Leatherbarke. 

The Nutters are of Scotch-English descent. Four brothers 
came from England and settled in Harrison county, where 
they figured quite prominently as pioneers and as Indian 
fighters ; and from them the far-famed Indian fort took its 
name ; and from them all the Nutters of this, and adjoining 
counties, are descended. Thomas, one of these brothers, with 
a company of other men, followed the savages from Harrison 
county, to what is now the vicinity of Washburn, where the}^ 
overtook and killed one of the leaders of the band, Avho man- 
aged to crawl under a clilT of rocks, where his skeleton was 
found a number of years afterwards. He (Thomas) was the 
progenitor of the Elolbrook, Oxford, and Leatherbarke fami- 
lies, his son, Christopher, being the father of Thomas, of Hol- 
brook ; and his son, John, of Andrew, senior, of Oxford, and of 
John, of Leatherbarke. 

The Watsons, — Other early settlers in this part were 
Otho, George, and John Watson— three brothers, from Bar- 
bour county, who all made their improvements on Brush run — 
a small tributary of the Middle fork. 

They were the sons of Jacob Watson, who removed from 
Marion to Barbour county near 1812. He married a Miss 
Gandy — sister of Mrs. John Zinn, and one son, Otho, was 
born of this un.ion. After her death, he married Miss Sarah 
Pritchard, sister of Peter Pritchard, and they were the parents 
of — George and John, and of Mrs. John (Mary) Jett (mother 
of Wm. Jett, of Otterslide) ; Mrs. Elizabeth Westfall, Mrs. 
Castor, Mrs. Nancy Divers, Mrs. Amanda Divers, all of Bar- 
bour county; Mrs. Jane Rowe, and the late William, Roane 
county; the late Mrs. Angeline (Lair) Simons, of Auburn; 
and Emily, who died unmarried. 

Otho Watson married Miss Louise Jett, and made the 
first settlement on Brush run, in 18-15 ; from here he removed 
to Roane county, where his widov/ still survives (1908) at the 
age of more than one hundred years. This pioneer and two 
of his sons, Jacob, of Roane county, and George, who died 
during the Civil war, served as Union soldiers ; Irvin, Mrs. 
Elias (xA-melia) Pritchard, and the late Mrs. Matilda Boise, of 



238 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Roane county; and Airs. Henry Collins are the other children. 

George Watson married Miss Susan Divers, and remained 
here until death ; and in the Auburn cemetery, beside his wife, 
he rests. 

His children are — ]M. B., and Wilson, of Auburn ; An- 
drew, of Salem: George, of Parkersburg; Mrs. Mary Bee. of 
Berea ; the late Mrs. ]\Iartha (J. B.) Gribble, of Auburn; Mrs. 
Jennie Summers, and Mrs. Alice Adams, Roane county; Mrs. 
Elien Smith, Doddridge county; and ]\Irs. Adaline (Marshall) 
Hall. Colorado. 

John Watson married Aiiss Kathrine Thrash, of Barbour 
county, and spent the remainder of his life on Brush run, 
where he settled ; and in the Lowther burying-ground, beside 
his wife, he found a resting place. His children are: Nealy, 
and Jacob M., of Aiiburn ; the late Thomas, and David, of 
Elizabeth: Scott, of Parkersburg; Grant, of Cincinnati; and 
John ("Jack"), of Fenwick. 

After the death of his first wife, he w'as married to Miss 
Sarah Maxwell, daughter of Lamar 3.1axwell, of Doddridge 
county, and was the father of several more children ; Mrs. 
Charles Sinnett, of Auburn ; of Dora, Sarah, ]\Iary. Joe, and 
Morgan, junior. 

William Adams w^as another early settler on the waters 
of the Middle fork. Though his domain was just across what 
is now the Ritchie and Doddridge county line, his interests 
"were identical w-ith those of the other pioneers of this vicinity. 
He was a native of Plarrison county — the son of Jonathan 
Adams, a Revolutionary soldier, who fought under General 
Washington. He married Miss Lucinda Wright, of Harrison 
county (who was a member of the A\^right family, of Spruce 
creek), and in 1840, took up his residence in the forest where 
his son, William Adams, now lives. Here he passed from 
sight in 1861 ; and in the Auburn cemetery, beside his wife, he 
sleeps. After the death of the wife of his youth, he married 
Miss Louisa Summers, sister of Joseph and^Elijah Snmmeis; 
and they were the parents of five children: Elijah, and Alex- 
ander Adams, J\lrs. Susana Pierce, IMrs. Margaret Husk, -and 
Mrs. Flora Edgell, of Doddridge county. 



MIDDLE FORK SETTLED 239 

The children of the first union were; viz., 

William, who lives at the old homestead; Joshua Adams, 
of Summers — the father of the well known lawyer, Homer 
Adams, of Harrisville ; the late Jackson Adams, of Summers ; 
Mrs. Mary (Thos.) Hickman, of Grove; and the late Mrs. 
Harriet (Elias) Snodgrass, Ritchie county ; the late Mrs. Mary 
Ann Leeson, the late Mrs. Elizabeth Lipscomb, and the late 
Mrs. Sarah Gray, who was the mother of the Gray Brothers, 
of Elizabeth, \\ irt county. 



CHAPTER XVI 



Bone Creek Settled 




ROBERT SOMMERVILLE was the first pio- 
neer to break the forest on Bone creek. He 
came from Harrison county in 1834, and set- 
tled a short distance below Auburn, on .the 
farm that is now the estate of his late son. 
William. Here he continued to reside until 
he was laid in the Auburn cemetery. 
Mr. Sommerville was born near Cumberland, Maryland, 
on May 1, 1800. He was the son of James Simmeral,^ who, 
with his wife, and tAvo children, came fiom Cork, Ireland, near 

1788, and settled on the coast of Dela- 
ware, for a time, before removing to 
Maryland. When the family came to 
America, two sons, John and Andrew, 
remained in Ireland, but Andrew after- 
wards came to the United States. The 
other members of the family were : 
James, Mrs. Nancy Lynch, Mrs. A\'m. 
(Peggy) Burnside, all of Harrison 
county ; and Robert, above mentioned. 
In 1825, Robert married Miss Mary 
Ward, daughter of William Ward, of 
Harrison county, a soldier of the war 
of 1812 ; and for long years after his death, "Aunt Polly," as 
she was familiarly known, continued to reside at the old home 
below Auburn, where she fell asleep in 1894, at the great age 
of ninety-one or two years. 

Their children are: the late William, Martin, George, 
Franklin. John, Hiram, Mrs. Sarah (Charles) Brown, Mrs. 




Robert Sommerville. 



•The name was originally Simmeral, but through some error of pro- 
nunciation it finally became Sommerville. 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 241 

Drusilla Fisher. Mrs. Margaret (A. N.) Watson, Mrs. Ruhama 
(Wilson) Watson. 

All the sons have passed away, except John. Franklin 
met a tragic death by falling from a building, and Hiram died 
in childhood, and his remains filled the first grave that "was 
hollowed out" in the Auburn cemetery. The others all left 
families : a noteworthy feature is that the dead of this family 
all rest at Auburn, and here the living all reside. 

Timothy Tharpe. — The settlement of Mr. Sommerville 
was closely followed by that of Timothy Tharpe, who came 
from his native county — Harrison, and took up his residence 
on the late A. P. Knisely homestead., above Auburn. He later 
moved to the Israel Cookman farm, and finally, to the Earnest 
Fry mire property, where he died, in 1881. 

Mr. Tharpe was of Irish Hneage. He was born on July 
35, 1802; was the son of II. Benjamin Tharpe, a ship-builder 
and carpenter. When he was but a small boy his parents 
died, and- he was bound out to strangers, and thus the days 
of his childhood and youth were sadly spent. Fle was a 
brother of the late H. B. Tharpe ,of Iowa ; of Mrs. Susan 
Hall — mother of the late Lemuel Hall — of Auburn ; the late 
Mrs. Hannah Davis, of Pai-kersburg ; and the late Mrs. Wm. 
Davis, of West Union. Fie was a man of very strict religious 
principles, and was one of the corner-stones of the Auburn 
M. E. church, as was Mr. Sommerville. 

On Christmas day, 1823, he was married to ]\liss Sarah 
Cox, sister of Col. Daniel V. Cox, of Slab creek, who was 
born on December 18, 1805 ; and thirteen children were the 
fruits of this union. Mrs. Tharpe followed him to the grave 
in 1884, and both rest at Auburn. 

Their children: Matilda (Mrs. Henry Hayden), Mrs. 
Christiana AVagner, W. D., and Mrs. Mahala Mitchell, sleep 
in Iowa ; Mrs. Luvina Collins, on Spruce creek ; Mrs. Caroline 
Brown and E. H. Tharpe, at Auburn ; two daughters died in 
childhood, and one son, Sedwick S., in the Andersonville 
prison during the Civil war. The surviving ones are H. B. 
Tharpe, of Hoibrook ; P. R., of Harrisville ; and Mrs. Eliza- 
beth (Isaac) Hayden, Auburn. 



242 HISTORY or RITCHIE COUXTV 

Andrew Law was tlie third settler on Bone creek. He 
came from Lewis county, in 1834, and made his improvement 
on the farm that is best known as the "Thomas Kniseley 
homestead" — now the home of W. H. Hall. 

He was quite a young man at this time, not having yet 
deserted single life ; but two years later, he was married to 
Miss Margaret Vvaldeck, daughter of Henry Waldeck, a Ger- 
man, who came to America in 1T7G, as a Hessian soldier in 
the Revolution ; and who, refusing to return to his native land 
at the close of the war, though a fortune awaited him, entered 
land on the river below Weston, where he and his wife, ^Irs. 
Mary Sleeth Waldeck — sister of David Sleeth, of Smithville — 
established their home. 

A few years after Mr. Law's marriage, on the occasion 
of a husking bee, while his ''good wife" was preparing the pot 
for dinner, her attention was attracted by an unusual dis- 
turbance among the hogs ; and, stepping to the door, she dis- 
covered an old bear and two cubs making an attack on them. 
Calling the family dog to her assistance, she managed to tree 
the mother, and one of the cubs, and to hold them at bay 
until the "tooting" of the horn brought the men from the field. 
Air. Law, seizing his gun as he passed the house, soon brought 
both offenders to the ground. The other cub, returning in 
quest of its mother, shared a like fate. 

Mr. and Mrs. Law went to Colorado in the early seven- 
ties, and there, fell asleep. 

They were the parents of nine children : Dr. Galehria 
Law, Mrs. Jeniza (J. F.) Ireland, John E., and Lorenzo D. 
Law, all of Colorado; the Rev. H. M., of the West Virginia 
M. E. conference; Leondias F., of Spencer; Mrs. (W. M.) 
Agnes Rymer, Harrisville ; Mrs. Mary E. (G. M.) Ireland, 
White Oak; and Henry T., v/ho died in the Andersonville 
prison during the Civil war. Leonidas and Galelma were also 
L^nion soldiers ; and Mrs. Ireland, and Dr. Law were once 
identified among the teachers of the county. 

The Laws have an interesting ancestral history. They, 
being in sympathy with the A\'esleyans, were dri\en from 
Belfast, Ireland, the place of their nativity, by religious perse- 
cution. So bitter were their persecutors — the Catholics — 






^1 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 243 

that they were obliged to leave by stealth, a friendly Catholic 
girl, having warned them of their peril. And in the wilds of 
America, "They sought a faith's pure shrine" — "Freedom to 
worship God." And though man}^ generations have come 
and gone since that time, the different families of this name 
still adhere to the religious faith (Methodist Episcopal) that 
brought their fore-fathers to this land. 

In 1794, four brothers, Thomas, William, Frank, and 
John Law, with their parents, set sail for America. The 
mother died on board the ship, while crossing, and was buried 
beneath the briny waves, and the rest landed in Philadelphia. 

Frank died leaving no issue. John, who was an Irish 
peddler, went West and married and his descendants are 
scattered over Ohio and Indiana. 

Thomas and William remained in Philadelphia for a time, 
but finally emigrated to West Virginia. William settled at 
Gooseman's mill, in Harrison county, and was the ancestor 
of the Lawford branch of the family ; and Thomas, near Jane 
Lew, in Lewis county. 

Thomas Law married Miss Martha Fisher in "Old Erin," 
and four months after their arrival in the "City of Brotherly 
Love," twins were born of them (on April 4, 1795) — the first 
of the name to be born in America. Shortly after their birth, 
the mother and the infant daughter passed on, and the son, 
who was known as Billy F. Law, grew to manhood and mar- 
ried a Miss Thornhill, and from him the Otterslide branch of 
the family are descended, he being the father of the late 
Thomas T. Law, of Otterslide, and the grandfather of the 
late Mrs. John Ehret, Mrs. Azariah Bee, and Mrs. Elisha 
Maxin. 

When Billy F. Law was a lad of fourteen years, he made 
a pair of red cedar gate posts, and placed them on his father's 
farm, near Jane Lew, and though a century has past, one of 
these posts, still stands, as a "lone sentinel," keeping its silent 
vigil. 

Some years after the death of his first wife (Mrs. Martha 
Fisher Law), Thomas Law, senior, married Miss Nancy 
Dixon, w^ho came from Ireland at the same time that he did ; 
and three sons and three daughters were the fruits of this 



244 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

union : Andrew, the Bone creek pioneer ; the late James, of 
Cove creek; and the late Asa, of Jane Lew; Mrs. Eliza Collins, 
Mrs. Margaret Armstrong, and Eleanor, who married a Mr. 
Jackson, of Jane Lew. 

Asa Law married Miss Mary Fell, of Westmoreland coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, and lived and died near Jane Lew — on 
October 29, 1908, at the age of ninety-six years. He was the 
father of ten children, and at the time of his death, his poster- 
ity numbered forty-five grandchildren, fifty-four great-grand- 
children, and two great-great-grandchildren, some of whom 
had passed on. His progeny are said to be scattered from 
the Atlantic to the Pacific, and one granddaughter is a mis- 
sionary in China. 

James D. Law w^as born in Lewis county, in September, 
1817, and was married to Miss Mary E. Bowen, in 1852, and 
resided in his native county until 1876, when he removed to 
Gilmer county, where he died three years later. He was the 
father of A. F. Law, C. F., Nancy, Josephine, W. S., W. J., 
Ida v.. Missouri K., and Cree L Law. 

The Rev. George Collins — a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal church, also found a home on the Thomas Kniseley 
(now the Hall) farm, at an early day. 

He was the first minister in this section, and was a man 
of no mean ability. He first married Miss Mary Ann Law, 
of Gooseman's mill, Harrison county — half-sister of the late 
Asby Law, of Lawford, and when she was about to leave this 
world, she requested him to marry her cousin. Miss Eliza 
Law, sister of Andrew Law — a request which was complied 
with some time later. 

Sylvester, Edwin. Albert, and Mary B. were the fruits of 
the first union ; and Eliza Catharine, and another child that 
died in infancy, of the last. The family went to Illinois ; and 
when Miss Eliza C. grew to womanhood, she returned to this 
county on a visit, and while here, listened to the wooing voice 
of John M. Brown, of Hannahdale, and became his bride; and 
at Riddel's chapel, she sleeps. She was the mother of Deputy 
Sheriff C. Floyd Brown, of Mrs. lona Wagner, of Hannah- 
dale : and of Mrs. Mae (John) Harris, Weston. 

Alexander Armstrong is said to have preceded Mr. Col- 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 245 

lins to the Thomas Kniseiy farm, he having erected the cabin 
that Mr. Collins afterwards occupied. He was a brother-in- 
law of Andrew Law, and Mr. Collins, his wife being Miss 
Margaret Law. From here he went to near Troy, in Gilmer 
county ; and finally, to Ohio. 

Samuel Mann is said tO' have been another early settler in 
this section, but of him we know nothing. 

Henry Hayden made the first improvement on the farm 
that is designated as the Frymire homestead. He was born 
in Pennsylvania in 1819 ; and from there, came to Harrison 
county, in 1840, and two years later, to Bone creek ; here he 
married Miss Matilda Tharpe, daughter of Timothy Tharpe ; 
and from here they removed to Davis county, Iowa, in 1859, 
where they both sleep — she having passed from earth in 1900, 
and he, in 1906. 

Isaac Hayden — brother of Henry, was the first settler on 
the Hayden farm, in this vicinity. He, too, was a native of 
the "Keystone state," having been born in Westmoreland 
county, on August 1, 1821. He came to this county in 1849, 
and two years later, married Miss Elizabeth Ann Tharpe. who 
was, also, a daughter of Timothy Tharpe, and took up his 
residence on the farm that remained his home until his death, 
on February 6, 1894. He rests in the Auburn cemetery, and 
his widow lives with her son, at Auburn. 

Their children are as follows : Wm. Bennett Hayden, 
Washington; the late Mrs. Mary M. (Samuel N.) Haddox, 
Pleasant Hill; Mrs. Huldah J. (L N.) Czigan, Doddridge 
county; Mrs. Amanda C. Qohn \¥.) Haddox, Calhoun coun- 
ty; Irvin M. Hayden, and Gilbert, and Mrs. Abby L. (J. P.) 
Smith, Auburn; Mrs. Sarah E. (Wilson) Rymer, Gilmer 
county; Nathaniel riayden, Doddridge county; and Mrs. Ida 
(John) W^ass, Huntington. The eldest son, W. B., taught 
school in this county for near a score of years, and served one 
term as County surveyor before going West. Gilbert also 
held the office of County surveyor for ten years. 

The Haydens are of English descent. They came from 
"The Motherland," and were among the earliest settlers of 
the New Jersey colony. They figured in Colonial history 
both as Revolutionary soldiers, and as Indian fighters. 



2i6 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Nathaniel Hayden — grandfather of Henry and Isaac — 
was one of the first settlers in the vicinity of Pittsburg, he 
having gone there from New Jersey, when but a lad. Twice 
the emigrant party to which he belonged, was driven back to 
New Jersey by the hostility of the Indians. On one occasion, 
he, and a few other men, made an average of seventy-five 
miles a day on horse-back, when compelled to flee from the 
dusky foe. Air. Hayden, at one time, owned four hundred 
acres of land in what is now the City of Pittsburg. His 
earthly pilgrimage began on November 28, 1755, and closed, 
on September 15, 1845. His wife, Abigail, lived from June 
17, 1762, to April 20. 1836. 

Thomas Hayden, his son. married Aliss Mary Hayden, 
and from him the Ritchie county family are descended. He 
Avas born in Pennsylvania — in Westmoreland county — near 
the year 1788, and his wife was born in 1790: both died there, 
in 1874. 

They were the parents of thirteen children : Henry and 
Isaac, of Ritchie county; James and Thomas, of AIcKeesport, 
Pennsylvania; Nathaniel, who lost his life in the Union cause; 
Samuel, of Idaho ; the late Wm., the late Alexander, and 
Abijah, all of Pennsylvania; Mrs. Christina Marshall, Mrs. 
Abigail Fell, and Mary M., and Elsie, who both died unmar- 
ried. 

Lemuel Hall. — In 1841, Lemuel Hall came to the home- 
stead that remained in his hands until he passed to his reward 
in 1897. (Mr. Sheets now owns this farm.) He was of 
English descent, and came upon the stage of action in Lewis 
county, on August 9, 1820; was the son of Elisha and Mrs. 
Susan Tharpe Hall. On December 15, 1840, he was married 
to Miss Susana Woofter, v/ho was born in Lewis county, on 
January 17, 1823. Mrs. Hall survived him by two years ; and 
both sleep at Auburn. Mr. Hall was a magistrate for several 
years, and was long a deacon in the -Baptist church. 

Their children: Mrs. George Brake (Mary Jane), Gil- 
mer county; Mrs. Wm. G. Davis (Martha A.), Doddridge 
county; Cyrus J., Ohio; Marshall D., Francis M., and Mrs 
George Emmerson (Louella B.), Kentucky; the late Gran- 
ville, and George W., Colorado; the late Mrs. L. D. Bartletl 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 247 

(Matilda), Auburn; Edward M., Calhoun county; Charles, 
Emory T., Roane county ; and Alfred N., who died in child- 
hood. 

Elisha M. Hall.— On October 1, 1849, the Rev. Elisha Al 
Hall — brother of Lemuel — married Miss Tacy Jane, daughtei ■ 
of Joseph Jeft'reys, of Doddridge county, and the followini^ 
year came to Bone creek, where he opened a store, near the 
year 1857. He made the first settlment on the farm that is 
now the estate of the late George Somerville, below Auburn. 
Mr. Sommerville owned the farm that is now the Town Hall 
homestead, and he, and Mr. Hall, traded farms. Here Mr. 
Hall continued to live until he was laid in the Auburn ceme- 
tery in 1886. He put two hundred acres of land under cultiva- 
tion on this creek. He was a prominent minister of the 
Baptist church; a native of Allen county, Ohio, and his natal 
da}^ was September 1, 1829. 

Mrs. Hall died at Auburn, on May 4, 1908, and sleeps by 
his side. 

They were the parents of twelve children : John T., 
Auburn; Wm. F., and Joseph S., Colorado; and Mrs. Tacy J. 
Brake, Gilmer county ; all the rest have joined the throng on 
the other side; viz., Mrs. Rosa K. (Gilbert) Hayden ; Dr. J. 
Monroe, Preston R., Ava A., Iva O., David A., and two died 
in infancy. 

Lawson Hall, brother of Lemuel and Elisha above men- 
tioned, has been a familiar figure in the Auburn vicinity, for 
sixty-seven years, he having come here with his brother, 
Lemuel, when he was a lad of ten summers. He taught 
school before the Civil war, as did his brother, and for several 
years afterwards, and like his brothers, has long been a cor- 
ner-stone of the Auburn Baptist church. On September 2, 
1852, he claimed Miss Sarah J. Sinnett, daughter of Abel and 
Elizabeth Stuart Sinnett, as his bride, and shortly after his 
marriage took up his residence where he still lives, and where 
he has cleared and put under cultivation one hundred fifty 
acres of land. His wife also survives. 

They are the parents of ten children : Mrs. Martin L. 
Cunningham (Euphamy), Abel, John A., Mrs. S. A. Weirs 
(Sarah E.), Mrs. C. A. Ward (Catharine), Mrs. Van Riddel 



248 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

(Columbia), all of Auburn; the other four have passed on: 
viz., Mrs. C. F. Beall (Sofronia), and William, who were 
twins; Franklin was a twin of Mrs. Riddel, and George A. 
died in childhood. 

Martin Sommerville- — son of Robert — and his wife, Mrs. 
Susan Gaston Sommerville, were the pioneers on the Town 
Hall homestead. They were succeeded here by his brother, 
George, and his wife, Mrs. Nancy Thomas Sommerville, who 
later exchanged farms with the late Rev. Elisha Hall, as 
above stated. Martin Sommerville went from here to Otter- 
slide, and there passed from earth, where his son, Robert O. 
Sommerville, now lives. 

His other children are : Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Nets, and 

Mrs. Caroline , of Ohio; Mrs. Martha Barrackman, 

of Roane county Mrs. Fillmore Kelly (Olive), of Berea ; 
Floyd, of Holbrook ; and the late John A., and Charles E. 
Sommerville. 

The children of George and Nancy Thomas Sommerv'ille 
are Charles and Henry Sommerville, and Mrs. Louisa Garner, 
of Auburn ; and Madeline and Hattie, who died in youth. 

Franklin Sommerville made the first improvement on the 
Hoff farm, below Auburn, but while erecting a stable here he 
met his death by a fall, and this improvement passed into the 
hands of the Rev. John Miller," and afterwards became the 
property of the late John Hofif. 

Mr. Sommerville's widow, Mrs. Caroline Chevront Som- 
merville, and her only child, Newton, went to Nebraska, where 
they still survive. 

John Miller was a lay minister of the Methodist Episco- 
pal church, and a blacksmith by trade. Fie had been reared 
b}^ the late Waitman T. Willey, of Morgantown. He married 
for his first wife a Miss Robinson, of Monongalia county, and 
while residing on the Hofif farm, she passed on. Diphtheria 
invaded the home here, and stilled the voices of all the chil- 
dren, but two sons. Some time after the death of his wife. 
Mr. Miller married Mrs. Mary Cox Alexander, niece of Philip 
Cox, and mother of Calvin Alexander, of Auburn, and they 
finally went West. 

Martin Ward was the pioneer of the "Ward homestead." 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 249 

Vi^hich is still in the hands of his heirs — his late son's (Smith 
Ward's) wife, who is now Mrs. Laban Bush, being the owner. 

Mr. Ward was the son of William Ward, an Englishman, 
and of Mrs. Sarah Shobe Ward, a Dutch maiden, who crossed 
the sea, and came to Harrison county, before her marriage. 
Here she and her husband, who were identified among the 
early pioneers of the county, lived and died, and here, in the 
Bethel cemetery, near their old home, they are sleeping, side 
by side. Five of their ten children sleep in Ritchie county ; 
viz., George W., who settled just across the line in Gilmer 
county ; Mrs. Robert Sommerville, Mrs. Elizabeth Bailey, 
who died at the home of Martin Ward, with their brother, 
Martin, all rest at Auburn ; and Mrs. Daniel Cox, on Slab 
creek. 

Martin Carr Ward's nativity was Harrison county, on 
August 1, 1821. There on December 17, 1840, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Mary Jane Gaston, daughter of John Gaston, who 
was born in the same county, on June 22, 1823 ; and tvv'o years 
afterward (1842), they came to Bone creek, and settled at the 
"Ward homestead," where he passed from earth, on March 
8, 1897, and she, on December 18, 1908. 

When they came to this couiity, Mrs. Ward made tlie 
trip on horse-back, through the wilderness, carrying her babe 
in her arms, and her sister — a giri of ten years, behind her. 
Marvelous were the changes, they lived to see. None of the 
other pioneers were longer identified with the interests of the 
community than they, and none were held in higher esteem. 

They were the parents of twelve children: Sarah Eliza- 
beth died in childhood ; John J., who was a Union soldier, 
resides in Colorado; Mrs. W. B. Zinn (Anna), at Holbrook; 
Thomas F., and Albert M., Berea; Mrs. J. T. Hall (Amanda), 
and C. A. Ward, Auburn ; Calvin B., North Dakota ; Mrs. J. 
E. Amos (Eliza J.), near Harrisville ; Lewis M., died in child- 
hood ; Wm. W., in his youth ; and Smith, a few years since, 
leaving a family. 

John HofT was another early settler on this creek, just 
below the "Ward homestead." He was, also, a Harrison 
county product, being born on October 9, 1825 ; and near the 
year 1846, he was married to A4iss Elizabeth Ann Gaston, 



250 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

daughter of James and Charlotte Swisher Gaston. The Gas- 
tons being of Irish descent, and the Swishers (or Svveitzers 
as the name was originally spelled in the native land), of Ger- 
man. Mrs. Gaston was able to speak both German and 
English, fluently. 

Mr. Hoff came to Bone creek near the year 1850, and 
remained until his death, on August 3, 1903. He was an 
honest, industrious citizen, and became a large land-owner. 
Mrs. Hofif, who was a most estimable woman, survived him 
but a short time, and both lie at rest in the Auburn cemetery. 
The simplicity of the inscription upon the marble shaft that 
marks the resting place of Mr. Hoff — "Honesty is the best 
policy" — leaves its impress upori the visitor to this cemetery. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hofif were the parents of eleven children 
that reached the years of maturity — seven sons and four 
daughters. These sons are nearly all prominently known in 
the various walks of life : Eri B. is a minister of the West 
Virginia Methodist Episcopal conference; Weldon A. L. Hoff 
was graduated from the Commercial college at Delaware. 
Ohio, after spending some time in teaching in his native coun- 
ty, and is now a professor in a commercial college in Okla- 
homa. 

I. Samuel (unmarried), and Lloyd, who was also a 
teacher, are prosperous farmers, of near Cairo. 

Lewis Ross, who began his career as a rural pedagogue 
in his native state, was graduated from a college at AVinfield, 
Kansas, in the Bachelor of Science degree, and later took a 
theological course at Drew seminary, and is now a distingu- 
ished pulpit orator of the Methodist Episcopal church, of Lib- 
eral, Kansas. 

Silas Marion is at this time one of the prominent ofificial 
figures of his native count}^ (See Younger Men's Calendar.) 

George S. and Miss Rosa Byrd, who were both known 
among the teachers of this county, are lying in their narrow 
beds in the Auburn cemetery. 

Rebecca J., is Mrs. E. L. Bee, of Berea : Charlotte C, is 
Mrs. W. J. Butcher, of Hacker's Valley ; and Caroline is the 
wife of Alva Fitz Randolph, of Alfred, New York. She was, 
also, a teacher. 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 251 

The Hoff family is said to have originated in Germany 
near the fourteenth century. John HofT was called from his 
native land to a professor's chair in the Oxford University, 
in England ; and members of this family migrated to America 
in Colonial days, and settled at York, Pennsylvania, and in 
Meigs county, Ohio. But shortly before the American Revo- 
lution, one John Hofit came across to visit his kinsmen in 
Pennsylvania and Ohio, and he settled in Virginia, where he 
took up arms in behalf of his adopted country in her struggle 
for liberty; and from him the Ritchie county family come. lie 
was a slave-holder and a large land-owner, and one of his 
slaves died at A\"est Milford, in Harrison county, only a few 
years since, in a little home that he had thoughtfully provided 
for her by his last will and testament. 

Samuel Hoff, his son, was born at the old homestead, in 
Harrison county, in 1802, and there spent his enin-e life, dying 
on January 8, 1887. Samuel Hofr was married to Miss Cath- 
arine Paris, who was born of Scotch parentage, and they had 
eight children ; John Hoff, of this county, being the eldest 
son. The other children were, Silas, Lewis, Rose, Humphre}-, 
James, Melissa, Rebecca, Amy, and Margaret. 

Daniel Luzader, though not so early as the others, was 
the first settler on his old homestead on this creek. 

He was born near Grafton, in Taylor county, on July 5, 
1823, and his wife, Martha A. Newlon, was born near Prunty- 
town, in the sanie county, on December 17, 1828. They were 
married in 1850, and at the close of the Civil war, came to 
this county, and settled on Spruce creek, before coming to 
P)One creek, where they reared their family, and where Mr. 
Luzader passed away, on July 20, 1902. His wife followed 
him to the grave, on July 6, 1906, she having spent her last 
hours with her son at Pennsboro. Both rest in the Spruce 
creek Baptist churchyard. 

Their children were nine in number, and some of them 
are quite prominently known. 

Winfield Scott, the eldest son. who was long identified 
in the teaching profession, is the father of Everett, Mae and 
]\Irs. Flossie Brown, who are among the present teachers. 

Grant, who was, also, a teacher of former vears, was 



252 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

graduated from the Parsons Horolog-ical Institute, at Laporte, 
Indiana, and is now meeting with success in his trade at 
Pennsboro. 

Sherman, who was Hkewise a teacher of Ritchie and Gil- 
mer counties, is a well-to-do farmer of Wayne town, Indiana, 
where he found his life companion. 

M. M. is of Harrisville. Mollie B. is Mrs. Randolph 
Weaver, and Harriett is Mrs. George Weaver, both of Law- 
ford ; Martha C. married Alva V. Oldaker and went to Indiana, 
but they now reside on a fine old plantation in Virginia. 

Malcolm M. Luzader is the one Ritchian whose reputa- 
tion as a vocalist is more than "state wide." 

He first opened his eyes on this mundane sphere in Tay- 
lor county, on November 37, 1858. but came to this county 
with his parents when but a lad of eleven summers. A nat- 
ural born student, he early entered the profession of teaching 
and Avas for a number of years known among the pedagogues 
of Ritchie, Gilmer, Lewis, and Preston counties, he having at 
one time held a position in the Academy at Kingwood. 

His love for music developed at an early age, and he im- 
proved his talent about the fireside, as circumstances would 
permit, attended a few local singing schools, and then took a 
course of five terms in the West Virginia Normal Music 
school: and in 1883, he was made the secretary of the West 
Virginia Music Teachers' Association. He later attended the 
Indiana State Normal Music school, where he studied 
thorough base, harmony, composition, form and voice under 
instructors of national reputation. For more than thirty years 
he has been a successful teacher of vocal music, having in 
that time instructed more than twenty thousand pupils of all 
ages. Perhaps no other teacher in the State has instructed a 
greater number or covered a wider range of territor^^ he haA- 
ing taught in West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Pennsyl- 
vania, and Missouri. 

He has taken an active interest in politics ever since he 
reached his majority, and was one of the representatives from 
this county in the State Legislature in 1901 ; and having led 
to a "decisive victory for righteousness" in the defeat of the 
Salem (Harrison county) charter bill, he became the recog- 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 253 

nized leader of the Temperance forces of the House. He is a 
Baptist in religion and has twice served as Moderator of the 
Harrisville Baptist church. 

On August 16, 1893, he was married to Miss Sarah E. 
Truax, of Alamo, Indiana, and after a five years' residence 
there, with his wife, he returned to this county and established 
his home at Harrisville, where he still lives. The one child 
born of this union died in infancy. (Since this was written, 
Mr. Luzader has sold his Harrisville home, and has gone to 
the "Old Dominion" to live.) 

David E. Brown made his settlement on the "Hardesty"' 
— now the Thomas Mason farm. He was of Dutch descent. 
His ancestors came to America as British soldiers during the 
Revolution; and being so delighted with the country, they 
took up their residence on the South branch of the Potomac 
when the conflict was ended ; and from there John Brown 
emigrated to Lewis county, near the close of the eighteenth 
century, and settled on the waters of the West fork of the 
Monongahela river, near the Broad run Baptist church. There 
David E. Brown, the head of the Ritchie count}'- family, was 
born, on September 9, 1801 ; there he grew to manhood ; there 
he was married to Miss Deborah Stalnaker. on February 15, 
1827; and from there came to Bone creek in 18o3. 

In 18G1, Mrs. Brown passed from sight, and at Auburn, 
she rests. Mr. Brown, who survived her by a number of years, 
died at the home of his son, John, at Hannahdale. 

They were the parents of nine children. Five of their 
seven sons served as Union soldiers, and all returned home in 
safety. 

The eldest son, Joseph C, went to California, during the 
gold excitement, in 1849. There he married and had a family, 
and there he sleeps. W. R. (the late father of \V. R. Brown, 
of West Union, and T. A., of Elizabeth), has been sleeping in 
the Auburn cemetery, for many years ; George W. married 
Miss Frances Nutter, sister of C. W. Nutter, and after her 
early death, he went West, and, near Buft'alo. Wyoming, in 
1902, he fell asleep; Andrew S. never married. He went to 



'The Hardesty farm, which was owned by Asa Law, of .Jane Lew, 
was tenanted by Otho Law, before the coming of Mr. Brown, who pur- 
chased it. 



254 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

Wyoming near 1875, and there he was murdered, in 1901. He 
lived alone in a secluded spot, and being known to have con- 
siderable means, robbery is supposed to have been the moti\e. 
Some of his property in the hands of suspicious looking in- 
dividuals, led to an investigation, which brought to light the 
heinous crime, and the attempt to conceal it by the cremation 
of the body. Samuel V. resides at Morgantown ; E. M., nt 
Auburn; John M., at Hannahdale ; Mrs. P. P. Brown (Mary 
Jane), at Jane Lew; and Mrs. Elijah W. Summers fCaroline 
v.), at Summers. 

George G. Brown — the well known timberman — formerly 
of Smithville, but now of Huntington, belongs to this family. 
He is the son of the late Lemuel Brown, of Doddridge county ; 
and grandson of Thomas and Alary Stalnaker Brown — brother 
of David — of Lewis county. 

The Woofters. — Andrew Woofter, in 1851, made the first 
improvement, on the farm that is now owned by Albert Smith, 
and he continued to reside here until he was borne to the 
tomb. He was of German lineage. His ancestors came to 
America near 1GG5, and settled in the New Jerse}^ colony. 
John Woofter married a Scotch maiden by the name of Petit, 
and emigrated from New Jersey to Loudin county, Virginia; 
and from thence to Lewis county, (\V.) Virginia, wdiere he 
rests in the old churchyard at Broad run. His son, Jonathan 
Woofter, married Miss Jeannette Winans, and they were the 
parents of — the Rev. John Woofter, of the Baptist church. 
Andrew, William, Perry, Enos, and Jonathan, who resides at 
Washington, in Wood countv. and who is the only survivor 
of the family ; the daughters were : Mrs. Lydia Simmons, 
Mrs. Sarah Ferrell, Mrs. Mary Bailey. Mrs. Alcinda Crowcer, 
and Jane. 

Andrew Woofter was born in Lewis county, on Septem- 
ber 17, 1833; and on May 29, 1815, he was married to Miss 
Jane Simpson, who was born in Ohio, but was reared in 
Lewis county. Her father, John .Simpson, having removed 
from that county to the "Buckeye state," where he was killed 
by lightning; and after his death the family returned to their 
former home. 

Mr. Woofter was one of the early pedagogues of this 



BONE CREEK SETTLED 255 

vicinity, and several members of his family were identified in 
this profession in after years. He died in February, 1902, and 
his wife followed him to the grave four months later. Both 
rest in the Auburn cemetery. 

Their children are as follows: Thomas J., Wood county; 
the Rev. George A., of the Baptist church, Shinnston; Francis 
A. Woofter, DeKalb ; John S., Houston, Texas; Clarke, Au- 
burn; Ellet, Charleston; Mrs. Sarah E. Adams, Oxford; and 
Mrs. Columbia J. Bush (M. F.), Burnt House. Homer 
Adam's, the well known Flarrisville lawyer, is_ a grandson of 
this pioneer ; and the Rev. Emery Woofter, of the Baptist 
cliurch, is a grandson of the late Rev. John Woofter, of the 
Baptist church — brother of Andrew. 

Ebenezer Tharpe — son of Timothy — was the first to find 
a home on the farm that is still in the hands of his widow, 
Mrs. Amanda Wass Tharpe. Here he died, and at Auburn, 
he sleeps. They were the parents of eleven children : Alvin 
and John have passed on ; S. S., Milton, Mrs. Rosa B. Wright, 
Mrs. Lillie Nestor, Mrs. Laura Woofter, and Mrs. Ida Rohey, 
are all of Auburn; ]\Irs. Grace Brake, of ^Veston ; Mrs. Bar- 
bara Aiken, of Greenwood, and E. F. Tharp \ of Burnt House. 



CHAPTER XVII 



Otterslide Settled 




HIS stream derived its name from the mini- 
.erous slides made by otters along its banks. 
William Gribble was the first settler. 
His ancestors came from Holland in Col- 
onial times and settled in Pennsylvania, 
where he was born, but his family later re- 
moved to Preston county, (West) Virginia : 
and there he (William) was married to Miss Lydia Rogers, 
who was of Scotch-Irish and Welsh lineage, and was the 
daughter of John and Elizabeth Wilson Rogers, of Preston 
county. Her mother belonged to one of the pioneer families 
of Monongalia county, who forted on the present site of Alor- 
gantown in Indian times. 

The first years of their married life were spent in Pres- 
ton coinity, but they came to Otterslide in 1840, and reared 
their humble cabin on the farm that is now owned by Jack- 
son Hudkins, and here they remained until death claimed 
them. 

They were the parents of the following named children, 
some of whom have been prominently known : William A. 
Gribble (lost his life in the Union army), the late Ezekiel, J. 
B., and Thomas N., Berea; Cornelius A., Harrison county; 
and John M. Gribble, of West Union, all of whom served as 
Union soldiers, are the sons. John M. has been a leading 
figure in public affairs in Doddridge county for a number of 
years, he having served as assessor, sheriff, and has been the 
president of the West Union bank throughout its history. 

The daughters of this famih- are: Sarah J., wife of the 
late R. H. Wilson, who died in the Andersonville prison dur- 
ing the Civil war ; Perces, the late Mrs. A. J. Nutter, of Ox- 



OTTERS LIDE SETTLED 257 

ford ; Airs. Hattie Skank, who resides in the East ; and the 
late Mrs. Annie (Alex) Stout, of West Union. 

William Wall was the next settler. He married Miss 
Flnliarty, a sister of the late Adam Fluharty, of Leatherbarke, 
and came here from Marion county and erected his cabin on 
the head of the stream, on what is now the Campbell farm. 
But he was only a squatter, and was supplanted by John Jett. 
in 1849. 

John Jett and his wife, Mrs. Alary Watson Jett, came 
from their native county — Barbour — and remained until 1875, 
when they removed to Roane county, where they found a iinal 
resting place in the Spring- Creek cemetery. 

They were the parents of the following named children: 

George, Elizabeth and Sarah died in childhood; Wilson 
and Jacob, of Roane county, and Alden, of Charleston, have, 
also, passed on; John, junior, resides in Kanawha county; 
Mrs. Mary Abbott, m Roane; Sylvester, at Holbrook ; and 
William Jett, on Otterslide. 

William Jett and his wife, Mrs. Safronia Lowther Jett, 
have had a longer connection with this creek than any other 
citizens in its history. He having been here since 1849, when 
he came with his parents, and she, since the day of her birth 
in 1845. 

Wesley Jett, brother of John, senior, married Miss Nancy 
Lipscomb, and came to this county in 1845, and settled on 
Brushy fork of Bone creek, where they both died, and at Au- 
burn they sleep. 

Their only son, Wesley, junior, died as a prisoner of war, 
at Camp Chase, the Union prison at Columbus, Ohio, during 
the sixties. 

The Jetts are of Welsh ancestry. William Jett, senior, 
came from Wales with his wife, shortly before the American 
Revolution, and settled on the Potomac river below Washing- 
ton city. -He served his adopted country as a soldier in the 
Continental army, being under the direct command of General 
Washington. His son, John Jett, senior, was born and reared 
in Franklin county, Virginia, and there he was married to 
Miss Sarah Smith; and from there they removed to Barbour 
county, near the year 1820, where Air. Jett died in 1863, and 



258 HISTORY or RITCHIE COUNTY ■ 

where his son, John Jett, junior, tlie Otterslide pioneer, was 
born. 

Jonathan C. Lowther was another pioneer on this stream. 
And though he is now a nonegenarian, he is still a familiar 
figure here. He is the son of Elias Lowther and the only sur- 
viving grandson of Col. William Lowther. He married Miss 
Emza Xeal. sister of '\l. A. Neal, of Pullman, and since her 
death in 1906, he has made his home with his daughter, Mrs. 
William Jett. He is the father of one other daughter, Airs. 
Rebecca Bee, of Rutherford ; and William Lowther, of Cali- 
fornia, is an adopted son. 

Ezekiel Kelley was another early settler on this stream. 
He Avas the son of John Kelley, and in Doddridge county he 
was born and reared. Near the year 1849, he was married to 
Miss Estella Davis, and came to this county and established 
his home on what is now known as the L. M. Jett farm. j\Irs. 
Kelley died in 18T5, and his second wife was Miss Mary 
Stinespring, who survived him. He died ni 1891. 

He and his first wife were the parents of nine children: 
Ai, Fillmore, and Festus Kelley, Mrs. Verna Ehret, and Mrs. 
Lulu Zinn, all of this county ; INIrs. Darlie Bond, Roanoke ; 
Horace Kelley, Webster county ; and two wdio are numbered 
with the dead. 

Lemuel Davis was another arrival of the year 1849. He, 
too, was a Doddridge county product. He married Miss 
Rhoda Bee, daughter of Asa Bee, and they spent the remainder 
of their lives here. 

They were the parents of six children; viz., the late 
Phineas, of Alice, Gilmer county, Ephraim, Alonzo, Gideon, 
and Daniel, and one daughter, Virginia. 

Stephen Davis and his wife, Jemima Kelley Davis (sister 
of Ezekiel Kelley) came from their native county — Doddridge 
— in 1858, and from here they went to Clay county, where 
they rest. Their children: Arzander and Leander (twins). 
Isaiah, Grant and Gordon, and the daughter, Emza, are all 
living in Roane county ; and Elizabeth is dead. 

Zibbie Davis, a native of Greenbrier county, married 
Miss Dorinda Lowther, sister of Jonathan, and came here 
from Doddridge county in 1850, wdiere they remained until 



OTTERSLIDE SETTLED 359 

death; he was laid in the Pine Grove cemetery, in 1898. His 
only child, Talitha, married Thomas Gribble, and she was 
laid in the Pine Grove cemetery, on the same day that her 
father was laid away. Mrs. Davis had passed on two years 
before. 

Jacob Fronseman married Katharine Kelley, sister of 
Ezekiel, and came here from Doddridge county, but did not 
remain until death, so but little of his history is available. Buc 
he had one son, Nelson, who died in Wood county, near Park- 
ersburg. 

David Randolph, son of Jonathan Randolph, and his wife. 
Caroline Cornell, both natives of Harrison county, were 
known among the early people here, but their stay was brief ; 
and they returned to their native county, where they died. 
.She, in 1904; and he. in 1908. 

FitzRandolph has been one of the prominent names in 
this part of the county for almost sixty years. 

This family are of English origin and of Revolutionary 
stock. Their ancestor, Edward FitzRandolph, came from 
Nottinghamshire, England, in 1630, and settled in the Mass- 
achusetts colony; and from there the family emigrated to 
New Jersey, and thence to West Virginia. The Randolphs, 
also, trace their ancestry to Thomas Blossom, a prominent 
deacon in the Pilgrim church at Plymouth. 

Edward FitzRandolph had a son, John, and this son 
(John) was the father of Samuel FitzRandolph, who was a 
member of the Continental army during the Revolution. And 
from Samuel's son, Jesse, the Randolphs of this county come. 

Jesse F. Randolph migrated from New Jersey to what is 
now Salem, West Virginia, when this section of country was 
in its primitive wilderness, and the red man roamed the forest 
at will. Here his son, John F. Randolph, grew to manhood 
and married Miss Experience Brown; and on February 1, 
1832, Asa F. Randolph, the progenitor of the Ritchie county 
family was born, of this union. 

Asa FitzRandolph married Miss Marvel Maxin, daughter 
of John i\Iaxin (her mother being a sister of Ezekiel Bee), 
who was descended from a well-known Rhode Island famih' 



200 HISTORY or RITCHIE COUNTY 

that emigrated from New Jersey to Salem with the Fitz Ran- 
dolphs and the Bees. 

The marriage took place on October 1, 1S51, and, shortly 
afterwards, they came to this county and settled on the divide 
between Otterslide and Bone creek ; but after a two years' 
residence here, they removed to Doddridge county, where 
Mr. Randolph opened a tannery, at New Milton ; but in L85G, 
they returned to this vicinity and established a permanent 
home on the river below Berea, where he operated a tannery 
for a number of years : and where they reared their family. 

He and his wife were both strong advocates of education, 
and despite the many disadvantages that surrounded them, 
their children nearly all obtained good educations. They 
were both faithful communicants of the Seventh Day Baptist 
church, and he was a deacon in this church. Mrs. Randolph 
died on December 3, 1883 ; and seven years afterwards, he 
married Miss Mary H. vSaunders, of Alfred, New York, dr J 
removed to that state, where he claimed his residence to the 
end of his earthly race. He died while on a visit to his old 
home at Berea, on September 3, 1903, and was laid at rest by 
the wife of his youth in the Pine Grove cemetery, at Berea. 

He and his first wife were the parents of eleven children, 
two of whom died in infancy, and nine grew to the years of 
maturity. Their early training developed in them a love for 
education, and all of them joined the ranks of the teacher, 
seven of them having taught in this county. 

Five were graduated from the Alfred University in New 
York; viz., Experience, Califurnia, who is now Mrs. Meathrell, 
of Berea; Virgil, and Alva, of New York, and Delvenus. of 
California. Experience, who was the late Mrs. Leon Burdick, 
of New York, was also graduated from the Alfred Theological 
Seminary. The other members of the family are* Mrs. Clev 
Jordan, and the late Mrs. Emza Coon, New York ; the late 
Ellsworth, and Preston, of Berea. (See chapter LI for more 
exteiided account of Experience Randolph.) 



CHAPTER XVIII 



Spruce Creek Settled 




PRUCE CREEK derived its name from the 
numerous pines that adorn its banks. 

John Shores. — It was first settled near 
1815, by John Shores, who came from Salem, 
liarrisoa county, and reared his cabin near 
the present site of the E. C. Snodgrass resi- 
dence. He was a native of the "Old Domin- 
ion." Kis parents came from Devonshire, England, in 1740, 
and settled in the Virginia colony, where he was born in 17Cyi ; 
and from there he came to Harrison county, at the age of 
twenty-one years. He three times took the marriage vow. 
Miss A^latilda Howard was the first wife, and of this union 
one daughter, Amanda (who became A^Irs. William Parks), 
was born ; and one son, Thomas, who died in his early man- 
hood, was the fruit of the second union ; his third wife was 
Miss Sarah Mitchell, of Barbour county, and their children 
were : Mrs. Rachel Smith, of Slab creek ; the late Mrs. Sarah 
Jane Watson, of Cherry Point, Illinois; the late James Shores, 
of Cairo, who died at Parkersburg, in 1900; and Mrs. Mary 
Ann McDonald, of Spruce creek, an octogenarian, who is the 
only survivor of the family. 

Mr. Shores went from Spruce creek to the mouth of Slab 
creek, and made the first settlement there on the farm that 
is now designated as the "Westfall farm." There he died in 
1849, and in the old Pleasant Hill cemetery, he sleeps. His 
wife was laid by his side in 1875. 

William Parks — son-in-law of John Shores — who located 
his cabin on the Minor Bartl'ett (now the H. C. Buzzard) 
farm, was the second settler on this creek. After a short resi- 
dence here, Mr. Parks and his family went to Texas, and one 
letter reached their friends after their departure; but the 



262 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

silence was never again broken, and the supposition was, that 
they met a tragic fate at the hands of the red man, or in some 
other manner. 

Cornelius Wyer. — Near the year 1827, Cornelius Wyer 
became the owner of the Parks' improvement. He was the 
son of George Wyer, an Irishman, who married an English 
lady and settled on Bingamon creek, in Harrison county, 
where he (Cornelius) was born near 1798. Near 1825, he 
married Miss Elizabeth Malone, sister of James Malone, 
junior, and the following year, his connection with this coun- 
ty's history began, when he made the first improvement on 
the Harrison Wass homestead, above Goff 's ; and the next 
year he went to Spruce creek. Being driven from his home, 
on the Bartlett farm, by a high tide in the creek, he went 
farther up the stream, and reared a cabin on what is now the 
J. W. Gofif homestead, and here he passed away in 1842. 
(This farm has been continuously occupied ever since the 
date of his settlement.) His wife, who was born in 1802, died 
on the waters of Tanner's creek, in Gilmer county, in 1877. 

They were the parents of four sons and two daughters ; 
all of whom have passed on, except Archibald, of Alfred, Gil- 
mer county. The other sons were John, Mattison, and Benja- 
min ; and the daughters were Elizabeth, who married Phillip 
B. Gofi* — son of John A. Gofif, of this county; and Sarah, who 
married the late Daniel Valentine, of this county. 

Among the grandsons and the granddaughters of this pio- 
neer, who are well-known citizens of this, and adjoining coun- 
ties, are C. J. Valentine, of Fonsoville ; Emery, of Nevvberne : 
J. M. and John B., Macfarlan ; S. A. Wyer, of Auburn ; Mrs. 
Katharine Beckner, Parkersburg; and George Wyer, and a 
host of others, of Gilmer county. 

Levi Smith was the first denizen of Upper Spruce creek. 
He was the son of Aaron, t!ie pioneer on the Hatfield farm, 
at Gold's. He married his cousin. Katharine Smith, daughter 
of Barnes, senior, and made the first settlement where E. C. 
GoiT now lives, before coming to Spruce creek, in 1831, where 
he found a permanent home on the farm that is now his estate ; 
the old "mansion house" being occupied by his youngest son, 
Elisha. Here he resided until death claimed him, near 1894; 



SPRUCE CREEK SETTLED 2G3 

and on his old homestead, he sleeps. The first grave that 
was hollowed out on this creek was on this homestead, and it 
was filled by one of his children. After the death of his first 
wife, he married Miss Ruhama Morehead, who survived until 
June, 1910. 

The children of the first marriage have all passed on. 
They were, Silas, who died in childhood, Lemuel, Barnes, 
and Nathaniel, of Spruce creek; Mrs. Wm. (Drusilla) Som- 
merville, Auburn; Mrs. Christopher (Charlotte) Morehead, 
Berea ; Mrs. Sarah Ann (James) Smith, Spruce creek ; and 
Hannah, who died in childhood. Mrs. Morehead, and Barnes, 
both passed away in February, 1909. 

The children of the last marriage were the son above 
mentioned; Allison B. Smith, of Richwood ; Mrs.. Columbia 
(Cash) Freed, and the late Mrs. Rebecca Tucker, of Spruce 
creek. 

Isaac Smith. — Scarcely had Levi Smith settled dowii in 
his new home, Avhen Isaac Smith — his cousin, and Samuel 
Davidson arrived, the former reared his cabin one day, and 
the latter the next. The site of Mr. Smith's cabin is now 
marked by the dwelling of the late Harrison Bartlett. He 
was the son of Barnes Smith, senior, and his wife, Hannali 
Collins, was the daughter of Isaac Collins, and granddaughter 
of Thomas and Phebe Cunningham. He moved from here to 
Smithvilie, where he and his wife rest 

His children were, Martin Smith, A. W., Mrs. Alfred 
(Cynthia) Barr, Mrs. M. A. Ayres (Mary), Smithvilie; S. 
Allen wSmith, and Sylvanus Smith, and Mrs. Sabra J. White 
(John), all of Iowa; the late Mrs. Rachel (Nutter) Webb, of 
Smithvilie; and Lear, and Jefl:'erson, who both died in child- 
hood. 

Samuel Davidson's cabin stood on the farm that after- 
wards became the homestead of the late Dr. Harrison Wright. 
Mr. Davidson was the son of Alexander Davidson, of Smith- 
vilie, and he married .Sarah, the daughter of Barnes Smith. 
He moved from here to Gilmer county, and settled on Road 
run, near Tannersville. Here his wife died, and at Tanners- 
ville she sleeps. He rests in Braxton county, where he passed 
away at the home of his son. 



2fi4 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

He was the father of three sons and six daughters : Mrs. 
Elizabeth (J. A. C.) Davis, and Mrs. Mary (Wesley) Byrd, 
Hazelgreen; Mrs. Benjamin Goff (Elzara), Burnt House; and 
Warren Davidson, of Braxton county, are the surviving ones ; 
and the deceased are, Mrs. Jane Earle, Hazelgreen ; Mrs. 
Alex. McDonald, Racket; Mrs. Adaline Willis Hamilton, 
second wife of Eli Hamilton, and John and Israel, of Tan- 
nersville. From Israel, junior, the late teachers, Joy and 
Samuel Davidson, were descended. 

Joshua Smith, brother of Isaac, made the first improve- 
ment on the farm that is now the home of M. L. Law, in iSiO. 
He married Miss Emily Beall, and went from here to the 
Kanawha river, below Grantsville, where he and his wife sleep, 
and where no small number of his descendants live. 

His children: Henry, Solomon, Jerome, Levi, and Mat- 
thew Smith, and Mrs. Mary Harris, are all of Calhoun coun- 
ty ; Newton, is of Braxton county ; Mrs. Sarah J. Hickembot- 
tom, of Clarksburg; and the late Mrs. Sarah Newlon, oi 
Grantsville. 

Asby Law. — During the spring of 1S48, the late Asby 
Poole Law became the successor of Joshua Smith on the 
Law farm, where he continued to reside until he fell asleep, 
on February 20, 1868, at the age of forty-four years. His 
sons, F. M.. David G., M. L., and Willie, and his daughters, 
Mrs. Hannah (Wm.) Huff, and Mrs. Elizabeth Singleton., 
who all have interesting families, are still prominently identi- 
fied with the affairs of the community in both chvuxh and 
state ; and his venerable widow, Mrs. Deborah Gaston Law 
Bartlett, is spending a pleasant eventide here with her chil- 
dren. Her posterity numbers eight children, forty-two grand- 
children, and nineteen great-grandchildren, who have risen 
up "to call her blessed." Two of her children have passed on 
— the youngest son. in infancy, and the eldest, John W. Law, 
father of Steele Law, of Clarksburg, later in life, Morris La^v 
is of Newberne, and Newton, of Cairo. 

The ancestral history of this family is .one and the same 
as that of the Bone creek branch. The two brothers having 
come from Ireland at the same time (see Bone creek chapter), 
and from them all the Laws in \^'est Virginia arc descended. 



SPRUCE CREEK SETTLED 265 

William Law, the progenitor of the Lawforcl branch, mar- 
ried a Miss Burnside, and settled near Gooseman's mill, in 
Harrison county; and of this union six children were born: 
William, junior, Thomas, John, and Isaac, all of Lewis and 
Harrison counties; Frank, of Wirt county; and Mary B., wife 
of the Rev. George Collins. After the birth of these children. 
Miss Hannah Sill became the wife of William Law, and seven 
more children v^ere the fruits of this union ; viz., David, and 
Asby Poole, Asa, Jesse, Elizabeth, who became Mrs. Morris 
Gaston, of Doddridge county ; Ruhama, who married Jeffer- 
son Law, and Ellen, James Hutson, both of Harrison county. 

Eleven Riddel made the first settlement on the A. J. Reed 
farm, in 1841. He was a native of Gilmer county, the son of 
Jeremiah and Margaret Hardman Riddel,^ but being left an 
orphan at an early age, he was reared b}^ the late Rev. James 
Hardman, of Hardman chapel. He married Miss Susan 
Davidson, sister of the venerable Israel Davidson, of Lawford, 
and made a settlement on Leatherbarke. which antedated the 
one on Spruce creek. 

He died in June, 1893, at the home of his son, George, on 
the Ritchie and Gilmer county line, and. beside his wife, he 
sleeps in the Wright graveyard, on Spruce creek. He v;as 
the father of nine children; viz., Katharine Elizabeth, the 
only daughter, married Hanson Bumgardner, and went to 
Iowa, where she rests. James and Samuel sacrificed their 
lives for the LInion cause ; and Jeremiah died shortly after his 
return from the L'^nion army ; Davidson C., and George, reside 
near Lawford ; Hiram, on Devil Hole ; Loman, in Gilmer coun- 
ty ; and Granville, in Webster. 

The Wright Brothers. — The next settlers in this section 
were James and Harrison Wright, two brothers, who came 
from Barbour county, in 1843, and found permanent homes, 
and final resting places here. 

James Wright took up his residence near one mile below 
the little hamlet of Lawford, on the farm that is now owned 
by his sons, Joshua and James, and Robert Pride — the latter 
being the occupant of the old home. Here he passed away in 
1884, and in the old Spruce creek burying-ground on the M. 



'See other chapters for ancestral history of Riddels and Hardmans. 



i66 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

L. Law farm he is sleeping. He first married Aliss Mary 
Wiant, and Joshua was the son of this union ; three others 
having' died in childhood. His second wife was Miss Eliza- 



'fe 



beth Calhoun, daughter of Allen Calhoun, and she was the 
mother of the Rev. Allen Wright, of Parkersburg; James, of 
Spruce creek ; and Columbus, who died in the asylum at Wes- 
ton. His last wife was Ruth, the daughter of Daniel Mitchell. 
He was a blacksmith by trade and one of the earliest in this 
section. He had wielded the hammer on the Doddridge coun- 
ty side, for a short time, before coming to Spruce creek. 

Dr. Harrison Wright made his settlement, near one mile 
above Lawford, on the farm that is now owned by his grand- 
son, Addison Wright. He also owned the Samuel Davidson 
farm — now the property of M. L. Lav.^ 

He was born on Simpson's creek, in what is now Barbour 
county, on June 14, 1815, and died on January 17, 1889, and 
in the Mt. Olive churchyard — the Progressive Brethren — on 
Spruce creek, he lies buried. He married Miss Elizabeth 
Cleavenger, daughter of Edman Cleavenger, of Barbour coun- 
ty, who was born in 1820, and was laid by his side in 1902. 
She was of Dutch descent and was a distant relative of George 
Washington. 

Their children: Zachariah, Lloyd, Alexander, ^Ivs. ]\Iary 
Ann Rollins, Harrison AVright, junior, Mrs. Adaline Weaver, 
Mrs. Clarinda Weaver, all reside on the waters of Spruce 
creek ; Mrs. Elizabeth Bright lives in Greenbrier covinty ; 
David died in the Rock Island prison during the late Civil 
^var: Ai, near Lawford; Mrs. Moriah Gragg. in Gilmer coun- 
ty; and Edgar, in childhood. 

The Wrights are of Scotch-L'ish descent. The grand- 
father of James and Harrison W^right crossed the sea, near 
1745, and married a Virginia girl by the name of Porter, ami 
settled in this colony. He served as a Revolutionary soldier : 
and from his son Joshua, who was born in the "Old Domin- 
ion," in 1770, the Ritchie county families come. 

Besides James and Harrison — of this county — Joshua 
Wright's other children were, the late Mrs. W^m. Adams 
(Lucinda), of Doddridge county — grandmother of Lawyer 
Homer Adams, of Harrisville ; the late Mrs. David Cleavenger 



SPRUCE CREEK SETTLED 267 

(Jemima), of Gilmer county; Mrs. Sylvester Monroe (Eliza- 
beth), sleeps in Harrison county; Willis, and Thompson, in 
Barbour county: and Joshua Wright was a citizen of Seattle. 
Washington, the last account, he being the only survivor of 
the family. 

Israel Davidson. — The autumn of 1839 was marked by 
the coming of Israel Davidson, who made the first improve- 
ment on the homestead where he is cpiietly spending the even- 
tide of his serene old age. He is not only the oldest citizen 
of Spruce creek, but he enjoys the distinction of being the 
oldest surviving son of Ritchie county. He is perhaps, too, 
the only citizen of the courity that still occupies the home 
that he obtained from the Commonwealth of Virginia, arid 
one that has never changed hands. 

He is the son of Alexander Davidson, and in May, 1818, 
he first saw the light of day at the family home, one mile 
north of Harrisville. When he was but two years of age, 
his father moved to Smithville, and there he grew to man- 
hood ; and from there, after the death of his father, the family 
emigrated to Illinois in a wagon, and he went with them — 
walking much of the distance; but' only staid a short time. 
The following year he came to Spruce creek, where he has 
ever since remained. He was unmarried at the time of his 
settlement, but three years later, he claimed Miss Tabitha 
Cunningham, daughter of Joseph Cunningham, who then re- 
sided on the E. C. Snodgrass farm, as his wife, and for more 
than fifty-six years she crowned his life with happiness, and 
then passed from sight. Two of their five children, Benjamin 
and James, died in childhood ; and Silas, in his young man- 
hood ; and Mrs. Samuel Cleavenger, and Albert Davidson, 
reside at Lawford. 

Mr. Davidson was, at one time, numbered among the late 
General Harris' pupils. He was an early pedagogue, and a 
noted hunter, he having slain near one hundred fifty deer in 
his time — an almost snow-white one being among the num- 
ber. Being a gentleman of high character, he is esteemed by 
all who know him ; and though he has no church ties, he has 
great reverence for religion. His mind is a store-house of 



268 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

pioneer lore, and to him we are indebted for no small amount 
of valuable information. 

The Doughertys. — In 1840, John Dougherty came to the 
farm that is now the home of T. T. Goff, below Hazelgreen. 
A man by the name of Holbert had made a slight improve- 
ment here, which he purchased. Remaining on the GofT farm 
but a short time, he went to Dry run and settled on the farm 
that is now the home of the Wright Brothers, below J una; 
and here his life was principally spent until he was laid in 
the Reeves cemetery, near the year 1864. He w^as of Irish 
descent, his grandfather, George Dougherty, having come 
from, the "Emerald Isle," near the middle of the eighteenth 
century, and settled in Pennsylvania. He (George Doughert3^ 
senior) served in the French and Indian war, and was with 
General Washington's army at Braddock's defeat. He, also, 
served as a Revolutionary soldier ; and at the close of this 
struggle, he Avas married to Miss Mary Sharrow, an English 
maiden, who lived in Pennsylvania; and their son, George, 
was the father of John, of this county. He (George, junior; 
was a soldier of the war of 1812. 

John Dougherty was born in the ancestral home in the 
Keystone state, and there he was married to Miss Katharine 
Bolinger — sister of the late Rev. John Bolinger — a German 
maiden ; and in 1833, they removed to Monongalia county, 
and from there they came to Spruce creek, at the time above 
stated. Their son, the late Jacob, of Lamb's run, served as 
a Confederate soldier in the Civil war, and George and Wes- 
iey, in defense of the Union. The latter met his death shortly 
after his return home by an accidental bullet wound m his 
forehead, which he only survived a very brief time. George 
now lives in Ohio; William, in Mississippi; Mrs. Elizabeth 
Weinrich, on Lamb's run : and Mrs. Sarah Feathers Scott, of 
Indian creek, and Mrs. Mary (Eugene) Tibbs, of Missouri, 
have joined the throng on the other side. (Few families have 
a more continuous military record.) 

Benjamin Goff made his settlement on th.e T. T. Goti 
homestead, near Hazelgreen, about the year 1845, but in 1853, 
he sold his interests here to his brother. xA.lexander Goff, and 
removed to the Frederick's mill vicinitv, and later, to Goli's, 



SPRUCE CREEK SETTLED 269 

where his son, E. C. Goff, now hvcs, and where his last hours 
were spent. Here his aged widow, who was ^liss Eda Sinith, 
daughter of Aaron Smith — tlie pioneer at Goff's — also passed 
away a few years ago; and side by side they sleep in the 
Reeves cemetery. 

Their children were ten in number: Strother — father of 
the late Levi, of Goff's, sleeps near Hazelgreen ; Alexander 
died in Libby prison during the Civil war ; and Core and 
Sarah, in childhood; E. C, who was a Union soldier, and a 
recent member of the House of Delegates, is merchant and 
post-master at Goff's; and Mrs. Roanna Byrd (Davis) is, also, 
of Goff's; B. P. Goff" is of Macfarlan ; Mrs. Rebecca Bee 
(Obidiah), of Belpre, Ohio; Mrs. Dorcas Beall (J. S.), of 
Burnt House; and Mrs. Mary Gainer (Perry), of Bone creek. 

Alexander Goff, born November 29, 1818, mafried Miss 
Apiary Bush, daughter of George Bush, an early settler of Gil- 
mer county, on January 28, 1840, and his family are still 
prominently identified with the Hazelgreen community. 
Here, at the old homestead, his venerable widow, who has 
been numbered among the octogenarians for several years, 
still survives. But Mr. Goff" has been a silent sleeper in the 
Buzzard cemetery for more than a quarter of a century. 

This family's religious faith is that of the M. E. church, 
South, and politically, they are strongly Democratic ; while 
Benjamin's family are members of the M. E. church, and are 
ardent Republicans. 

Their children were seven in number: Lafayette died in 
childhood; Marcellus — father of L. C, of Juna ; Marshall — 
father of Guy, of ^Burnt House; Dr. Lee, and Ira S. have, also, 
passed on ; T. T., and R. W. are of Hazelgreen ; and Mrs. 
Martha EUen Wass, of Huntington. 

Thomas Goff — another brother of Benjamin and Alex- 
ander — was the pioneer on the Prather farm. Lie married 
Elizabeth, the daughter of Barnes Smith, senior, and came 
from Gilmer county, neai- 1850; he afterwards removed to the 
E. C. Goff homestead, and from there, to Iowa; perhaps, late 
in the sixties, and there, near Decatur, he and his wife rest. 

They were the parents of sixteen children, several of 
whom died in childhood : T. M. Goff, of Harrisville ; the late 



270 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Simeon — father of Dr. J. M. Goff, of Hazelgreen , and the late 
Airs. A. P. Hardman (Thankful Ann), of Fonsoville ; were the 
ones that remained in their native county — the rest all went 
West: Barnes, Jethro, and Francis; Sarah became Mrs. 
Daniel Osbourne, and they live at Knoxville, Iowa ; Mrs. 
Elzaria Hendricks, Mrs. Rachel Hendricks, Mrs. Cynthia 
Rambo, and Eli, who sleeps in the West, are the other mem- 
bers of the family. 

Aaron Schoolcraft. — The year 1853, brought Aaron 
Schoolcraft from Gilmer county to the Schoolcraft farm, on 
Lower Spruce creek. About the ancestry of this typical 
pioneer hangs a mantle of unusual, historic interest: 

John, Jacob, and Leonard Schoolcraft — three brothers, 
were captured by the Indians in their boyhood, and were held 
as captives until they had almost reached the years of matur- 
ity. In fact, Leonard always remained with the red men. 
But John and Jacob, when nearly grown, were given guns, 
and an allowance of ammunition, and each day upon their 
return from hunting, they were required to give a strict ac- 
count of their success as marksmen. They were expected to 
kill something with each shot, but they managed, however, 
to hide away a shot or two each day until a supply had ac- 
cumulated, and one fine morning, they set out for their home, 
which was on the South branch of the Potomac. They pro- 
ceeded without incident until nearing a frontier settlement,, 
when they discovered that the Indians were in pursuit. Tak- 
ing refuge under a creek bank, they lay in hiding until their 
pursuers had passed on ; but discovering that they were near- 
ing a fort, the Indians hastily retreated, and when they had 
disappeared in the distance, the boys resumed their journey 
and soon came within sight of the fort. "The Whites," seeing 
tliem approaching, and mistaking them for savages — so like 
them was their dress and manner — marched forth to meet 
them prepared for battle ; but the lads, holding up their 
guns as a token of surrender, were permitted to reach the 
fort in safety.- AMien once inside, they told the story of their 
captivity as best they could in their broken, Indian tongue, 
and when they had finished, an aged inmate of the fort, who 



SPRUCE CREEK SETTLED 271 

had listened in rapt silence, joyfully claimed them as his long- 
lost sons, whom he had mourned as dead. 

Jacob, who married a Aliss Parsons, was the father of 
Aaron — the Spruce creek pioneer. 

Aaron Schoolcraft married Miss Sarah Collins, sister 
of the iate Chainey Collins, of Smithville, and was the father 
of Mrs. Granville (Mahala) Tingier, of Juna ; and of Mrs. Re- 
becca RadclifFe. of Lewis county. He and his wife sleep on 
the old homestead, where he settled. 

The Bartletts. — The history of Upper Spruce creek would 
hardly be complete, without a word concerning the Bartletts, 
who, though not so early as the settlers before mentioned, 
were as truly pioneers ; as they came here in the ante-bellum, 
days, when but little improvement had been made, and have 
helped to transform this section of the wilderness into one 
of the best agricultural districts in the county. 

This family are direct descendants of Josiah Bartlett, 
one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, uho 
was born at Amesbury, Massachusetts, in 1?29, and died in 
1795. He Avas a member of the Continental Congress : Chief 
Justice of New Hampshire ; and the first governor of the 
"Granite State" under the new Cojistitution. Three brothers 
crossed the sea, doubtless, from England, as this is a prom- 
inent name in that country, and settled in the New England 
states, where not a few of their descendants have distinguished 
themselves, as men of letters, and of military prowess. 

Josiah Bartlett was the father of AA'illiam Bartlett, whose 
two sons, Robert and Thomas, have innumerable descendants 
in this and diiterent other counties of the state. 

Robert was the father of Harrison Bartlett, who came to 
Spruce creek in 1858, and remained until 1907, when he was 
laid in the Baptist churchyard. 

Harrison Bartlett was born in Taylor county, on Simp- 
son's creek, on April 28. 1829. and there he was married to 
Miss Hannah Rhyne. who was the mother of seven of his 
children: John R., Phineas, Nathan. Jeddeiah, Mrs. Lydia 
Ellen (Robert) Sommerville, of Auburn : and Arminda. and 
Sarah Jane, who died in childhood. 

After her death, he married Mrs. Elizabeth Reed Smith, 



272 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

who was the mother of Ira C. Bartlett, of Xewberne ; Mrs. 
Dora (George) Simmons, Auburn, and Mrs. Myrtal (Hayes) 
Coburn, Clarksburg. 

John R. and Phineas. reside in Gihiier county, and Jed- 
deiah, in Calhoun. 

Elijah Bartlett, who came to Spruce creek from the place 
of his nativity, Simpson's creek, Taylor county, in 1859, was 
the son of Thomas Bartlett, brother of Robert. He married 
his cousin, Aliss Rebecca Bartlett, daughter of. Robert, and 
sister of Harrison, and Avas the father of three sons and two 
daughters : Sylvester, and the late Starling, and Lair D., 
Mrs. Lydia (T. D.) Phillips, Spruce creek; and ]\lrs. ^Melissa 
(Moses) Law, Harrison county. 

James F. Bartlett, who was long a citizen of this 
creek, was the son of Samuel and Mary Flemming Bart- 
lett, and the grandson of Thomas. He married Miss Zelda 
Newlon, of Barbour county, and joined bis kinsmen here at 
the close of the Civil war, and remained until he, too, was laid 
in the Baptist churchyard, on Spruce creek. 

He was the father of the late L. D. Bartlett, Patrick F., 
]\Irs. Martha (Chas.) Hickman, Mrs. Celia (D. G.) Law. all 
of the Auburn vicinity ; and Henrietta, and Loverna, who died 
in infancy. 

He and his son, L. D., were both soldiers of the Civil war. 
The Bartletts were the corner stones of the Spruce creek 
Baptist church, and their descendants are among its present 
pillars. James and Oaf Hickman, who are prominently 
known among the teachers of the county, are grandsons of 
James F. Bartlett, and P. S. Strother, another successful peda- 
gogue is descended from this family, he being the grandson 
of Phineas Bartlett, a brother of Harrison. 

Sanford B. Flemming merits a little place in this chapter, 
as he redeemed from its primitive wilderness one of the finest 
blue grass farms of five hundred fifty acres, in this part of the 
county, though he did not come here until the spring -of 1868. 

Mr. Flemming was born in the ancestral home at Flem- 
mington, in Taylor county, in 1837, and there grew to man- 
hood and married Miss Lydia Ellen Gather, daughter of the 
Rev. Jasper Gather, in 1861 ; and seven years later they came 



SFRdCE CREEK SETTLED 273 

to Spruce creek, where she passed away in 1900, and wliere 
Mr. Flemming died in 1910. They were the parents of two 
sons: Floyd died in inianc}^ and Harvey, who was graduated 
from the State University at Morg'anto\\'n in the class of 1885, 
is now a prominent journalist of Kansas City, ^Missouri. 

The Flemmings are of Scotch-Irish stock. Their ante- 
cessors crossed the sea early in the eighteenth century, and 
settled in the \'irginia colony, and from there, scattered to 
other colonies. 

James Flemming, who was descended from this Virginia 
family, came from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, near 1799, and 
settled at Flemmington, in what is now Taylor county ; and 
from him this town took its name, he having given the right- 
of-way for the railroad and the ground for the station, at the 
coming of the railroad. He married the daughter of Judson 
Ala'cDonald, of Taylor count}-, and in 1800 a son was born of 
this union, which was named Patrick Flemming. This son 
married Miss Margaret MacDonald, daughter of James Mac- 
Donald, of Taylor county, and they were the parents of San- 
ford B. Flemming, of Spruce creek. 

Patrick Flemming spent his entire life at Flemmington, 
where he sleeps. 

Alary, or Polly Flemming, as she was called, sister of 
Patrick, married Samuel Bartlett, of Barbour county, and was 
the mother of the late James F. Bartlett, of Spruce creek, and 
grandmother of Airs. D. G. Law, of Lawford ; and of Mrs. 
Charles Hickman, of Auburn. 

Farther Development. — The Methodist Episcopal church 
was the pioneer church on this creek. This organization was 
perfected in 1850, and among its original members w"ere Mr. 
and Airs. Asby Law, and Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Goff. 

The first church house was erected in 1853, near the 
jM-esent site of the residence of J. \V. Gotx, above Hazelgieen, 
and was known as the "Old Spruce Valley church." From 
this organization, the present Spruce creek churches date 
their history, as does the Bethany church, at Goil's. 

The Spruce Creek Baptist church was organized through 
the efforts of Harrison and Elijah Bartlett, in 1859, w^ith thir- 
teen charter members, and it is now a strong and influential 



274 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

church. Airs. Barnes Smith is the only survivor of the original 
thirteen members. 

The first church was erected in 1866, and the present one, 
in 1890. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church South once had an 
organization here, but it has now become the Methodist Pro- 
testant church. 

The United Brethren and the Progressive Brethren, or 
Dunkards, also, have influential organizations. The late John 
Byrd was long a pillar in the former, and it was called by his 
name. "Byrd chapel." 

The late Wilson B. Cunningham, whose history belongs 
to Leatherbarke, was the pioneer school-teacher on this creek. 
The house in which this school was taught, stood near the 
present site of the Wright school house. 

Gofif's was the first post-office. It was moved during "the 
sixties to this creek, but after a few 3-ears was changed back 
to its present location at Gofif's. 

In 1871 or '2, an ofifice was established at the residence of 
Alexander Wright under the name of "Spruce Creek," but it 
was discontinued after a few years. 

Then near 1885, came the Ira S. Gofif store, and a little 
later, the Hazelgreen post-ofifice, with Mr. GofT as first post- 
master. 

In 1890 the Lawford post-office was established at the 
home of M. L. Law, with Air. Law as post-master : and this 
same year E. C. Gofif launched the mercantile business at Law- 
ford and erected the first store. 

Then in 1906 came the Juna office with L. C. Gofif post- 
master. 

Buzzard's Mill. — Near the year 1860, Buzzard's mill came 
upon the stage. The late Thomas Hardman, of Tannersville, 
son of Benjamin Hardman, was the pioneer of this enterprise, 
and he sold the property to James Holbert. It was then in 
turn owned by the late Simeon, R. W., and William Gofif, and 
in the early seventies it passed into the hands of the late 
Plenry Buzzard, and thus continued until sw^ept away by a 
flood in 1896, and it has never been rebuilt. 

Thomas Hardman married Aliss Alary Fling, sister of F. 



SPRUCE CREEK SETTLED 275 

G. Fling, of Burnt House, and went to Tannersville, where 
he Hes in his last sleep. After the death of his first wife, he 
married Miss Drusilla Kelly, and eight children were the 
fruits of this union : the late Thomas, principal of the Glen- 
ville Normal school, and later clerk of the County court ; 1. N. 
Hardman, the present County clerk, Asa, Wm. L., French, 
the late Creed, Virgil, and Mrs. Gae (T. E.) Waggie, all of 
Gilmer county. 

The children of the first marriage are : Lewis S., Francis 
G., Henry G., and John J., and Rebecca and Mary, who both 
died in youth. 



CHAPTER XIX 




Grass Run Settled 

RASS RUN derived its name from a bit of 
grass that grew in a swampy place near its 
mouth, and though it is a small stream, it 
has quite an interesting history. 

John Riddel, its first citizen, was born 
in Virginia, not far from the present site of 
Georgetown, in the District of Columbia, on 
June 30, 1778 — at a time when the forests were resonant with 
the din of the American Revolution ; and with his parents re- 
moved to what is now Tucker county, where he was married, 
on September 23, 1802, to Miss Tamar Goff, half-sister of 
Alexander Goff, senior, who was born in the "Old Dominion," 
in September, 1782, and died at her home in Gilmer county, 
on September 15, 1823. This was one of the romantic run- 
away marriages of early days, and on the banks of the Cheat 
river, it was solemnized ; the young people having been com- 
pelled to ford this river in order to carry out their nuptial 
plans. 

The date of the removal of Mr. Riddel from Randolph 
to Gilmer county is wanting, but it was probably shortly 
after the war of 1812. There death robbed him of the com- 
panion of his youth ; and there he was again married, on May 
16, 1824, to IVfiss Elizabeth Holbert ; and in 1831, they came 
to this county and settled on what is now the J. C. Rexroad 
homestead — this old pioneer cabin having stood just across 
the road from the present Rexroad residence, and only a few 
rods from the Fonzo post-office, and Hatfield store. Here, 
death again robbed him of his companion, and some time 
afterwards, he was married to Mrs. Hannah Drake Smith. 
Avidow of Aaron Smith ; and from here he removed to the 
Obadiah Bee farm, on Spruce creek, near the year 1838. He 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 277 

later went to Lewis county, and finally, to Roane, where he 
died in 1843, and where he and his last wife sleep. 

He was the father of fourteen children ; viz., the late 
James, of Roane county ; the late Rev. Eli Riddel, of Riddel's 
chapel; Mrs. Hannah (Benjamin) Cunningham, Mrs. Nancy 
(Strother) Goff, Mrs. Elizabeth (N. H.) Frederick, of Burnt 
Elouse ; Eleven and George, who died in childhood, were the 
children of the first marriage ; and Tamar, who was the late 
Mrs. Emmett Norman, of Auburn; Dorcas, who married 
Rufus Holbert, of Roane county ; William and Harrison (wlio 
were twins), Thomas, Joseph and John, who passed on in 
childhood were the fruits of the second union. 

Though his children have all joined the throng on the 
other side, his descendants in this and adjoining counties are 
a multitude. Among the grandchildren that are Avell-known 
citizens, are Mrs. Clara Gofif, Mrs. J. R. Stalnaker, James, the 
late John Frederick, all of Burnt House; John R. Cunningham, 
of Tani]ers; the Normans, of Auburn, and numerous others 
that we might mention. 

Riddel Ancestry. — Though not a few of the Riddels claim 
to be of French extraction, investigation proves that their 
ancestor, James Riddel, came from Germany along with John 
and Salathiel Goft, and Joseph Hardman ; and that after a 
brief sojourn in England, they all came to America, and set- 
tled at Georgetown, which is now in the District of Columbia, 
after a twelve month's residence in Baltimore, where they 
first landed — in the year 1773 or '4. From here they went to 
Fredericksburg, Virginia, and later to what is now Tucker 
county, West Virginia, where he probably sleeps. His death 
occurred on February 26, 1816. He married a Miss Welsh, of 
Scotland, before leaving the Fatherland, and was the father 
of the following named sons and daughters: John, James, 
junior, Benjamin, Jeremiah, Dorcas, who married Joseph 
Hardman, and Elizabeth, the wife of Alexander Gofif, senior. 
And from these sons and daughters sprang the innumerable 
families of Riddels, and Hardmans — and not a few of the 
Goft's in this and adjoining counties — in fact, these descend- 
ants are scattered throughout the Union. 

John Riddel, as above stated, settled in Ritchie county ; 



278 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COL'XTY 

James, junior, in Lewis county. He was twice married but 
left no heirs. 

Benjamin I^iddel married Miss Nancy Anne Goff, daugh- 
ter of Salathiel Goff, and settled at Hollow Meadows, on the 
Cheat river, in Randolph (now Tucker) county ; but near the 
close of the w^ar of 1812, he sold his possessions there, and 
removed to Gilmer county, and became one of the pioneers, 
at the mouth of Leading creek. Here he passed from earth, 
and here his ashes lie. He was the father of ten sons and 
one daughter; viz., Salathiel, died in Roane county, in 1907, 
at the age of ninety years; Silas T., the youngest son and the 
only survivor of the family, resides near Washburn, in this 
county; and the others were, Hiram, Richard Welsh, John 
Goff, Benjamin, junior, George Washington, William (died 
in infancy), and the next brother was called William Slavens, 
James S., and Dorcas, who married William Holbert, of Gil- 
mer county. 

Jeremiah Riddel, or "Jerry," as he was familiarly known, 
married Miss Margaret Hardman, sister of Joseph Hardman, 
who came from Germany with the rest of the party, and fol- 
lowed them in their wanderings until they found a home (and 
she, a final resting place), in Gilmer county. 

It is not known where or when they were married, but 
circumstances point strongly to the fact that they were mar- 
ried in the Fatherland, before they set sail for America, but 
this cannot be verified at this late day. However, he died at 
Norfolk, Virginia, while serving his country in the war of 
1812, and there he reposes. He was the father of six children ; 
viz., Eleven, the Spruce creek pioneer; James, junior, John E., 
George M., and Mrs. John Short. 

George M, Riddel married Miss Mary Norman, and was 
the father of Mrs. Nancy Bush, of Auburn; Mrs. Etta Russell, 
of Parkersburg; and grandfather of Mrs. W. H. Amos, of 
Auburn, and the well-known traveling salesman, A. W. W'est- 
fall. 

(The family of Dorcas Riddel Hardman appears in an 
earlier chapter, and that of Elizabeth Riddel Goff" follows in 
this chaptei'.) 

James Harvey Cooper was the second citizen of the Rex- 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 2T9 

road homestead. He was born in Pocahontas county, in 
1810, and married Miss Julia Ann Whitman, a native of Green- 
brier county;. and in 1830, came to Gilmer county and settled 
near Troy; and two years later (1838), removed to the Rex- 
rcad farm. After a brief sojourn here, he went to Leather- 
barke, and made an improvement on the Dr. A. M. Ed.^ell 
farm ; and near 1840, returned to the Frederick's mill vicinity, 
and reared the first dwelling on the land that is now owned 
by his grandson. F. M. Cooper; and from here he removed 
to Gilmer county, and took up his residence on what is now 
designated as the S. L. Bush homestead, where he passea 
from earth in 1881, and on an adjoining farm, he rests. He 
was a school-teacher, and in this profession forty years of his 
life were spent. He was also a surve3^or, and was at one time 
County surveyor of Gilmer. 

He was the father of three daughters and eight sons : 
Agnes died in youth ; Julia is Mrs. Francis Hardman, of Tan- 
nersville ; and Rebecca, Mrs. Jesse Hardman, of Nebraska. 
Five of the sons were Confederate soldiers ; Robert S. died in 
prison ; George was slain in the Battle of Fisher's hill, in 1861 ; 
the late James T., lost an arm in the cause; John M.. who 
resides in Gilmer county, was severely wounded ; and Charles, 
of Auburn, narrowly escaped injury ; Andrew Holly also re- 
sides in Gilmer county ; and Leonidas, and Henry J., have 
passed on. 

While the greater number of his descendants live in Gil- 
mer county, not a few of them are known in this coimty ; the 
family of Charles Cooper, of Auburn, being prominently 
known among the teachers, and in other professions : H. E. 
Cooper was the principal of the Harrisville school for two 
years ; Victor, who was formerly County Superintendent of 
Gilmer, is now identified among the Harrisville lawyers ; Mrs. 
Flomer Adams, of Harrisville ; Miss Cora, Everett, Grover, 
the late Price, w-ho was graduated from the State University, 
at ^Morgantown, and died of smallpox in tlte Philippines, where 
he went as a teacher; and the late lamented Okey Cooper, of 
Xewd:)erne, w"ere all members of this family, and have all i^een 
identified in the profession of teaching. F. M. and Joseph 
Cooper, of Fonzo, are also grandsons of this pioneer, they 
being the sons of John Cooper. 



280 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The Coopers^ are descended from an old Virginia family. 
James Cooper, father of James Harvey, being a native of 
Augusta county, and a t3^pical pioneer of West Virginia. He 
married Miss Nancy Agnes Wooddell, who was also a native 
of the "Old Dominion," and came to Pocahontas county, early 
in the nineteenth century and settled near Piney woods, now 
known as Greenbanks, where the remainder of his life was 
spent. He was a prominent figure in the early affairs of Poca- 
hontas county, being one of its organizers, and having after- 
wards served as constable, magistrate, assessor, and peda- 
gogue. He was also one of the pillars of the "Liberty" church, 
in its early history. 

His children were ten in number : Elizabeth, became 
Mrs. Woods, of Highland county ; Margaret was the late Mrs. 
Enoch Hill, of Hardman chapel, this county ; Jane married 
Andrew Kerr, and lived at Dunmore ; Lucinda became ]\Irs. 
John A. Gillispie, of Greenbanks ; Nancy, and Malinda were 
the other two, all were of Pocahontas county; Thomas died in 
youth , John T. became a prominent physician. He resided 
at Parkersburg for a ntmiber of years, but finally went to 
Cla3^sville, Avhere he died in 1878. His son, Arthur, is now a 
renov/ned pulpit orator of the Presbyterian church of Illinois: 
and James and other members of his family still live at Park- 
ersburg". 

James Harvey, the Ritchie county pioneer, and Joseph 
W., of Pocahontas, were the other sons. 

Isaac Collins made the second settlement on Grass run. 
on the farm that is now the estate of the late Nicholas H. 
Frederick, near the vear 1832. He was of Irish lineage ; and 
was a soldier of the war of 1812, having been drafted into 
service. He married Miss Rachel Cunningham, daughter of 
Thomas and Phebe. and they resided at Smithville, and at dif- 
ferent other points in this county, before going to Calhoun 
county, where they spent the remnant of their days, near 
Freed, and where, on their old homestead, side by side, they 
sleep. At their home Phebe Cunningham died, and there she 
rests. 



'The facts concerning- tlie ancestral history of this family are .srleaned 
in part from the "History of Pocahontas County," the author of that 
boolv being indebted to George C. Cooper, son of Joseph, for his informa- 
tion. 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 281 

Their children were as follows : 

Felix, the eldest son, served as a soldier of the war of 
1812, and shortly after its close, went to Texas ; Thomas, also, 
went to Texas ; Isaac, to Iowa ; John D. resided at Chestnut 
Grove, in Calhoun county ; Phebe, became Mrs. Anthony 
Smith, of Portsmouth, Ohio; Hannah married Isaac Smith, 
and lived and died at Smithville; Leah was Mrs. Henderson 
Beall, and Barbara, Mrs. John Beall, both of Calhoun county; 
Nancy, Mrs. James Wilson, of Wirt county; and Rachel, is 
Mrs. Jesse McGee, of Harrisville. 

Among- the grandsons and granddaughters are, Martin 
and A. W. Smith, Mrs. M. A. Ayres, and Mrs. Alfred Barr, all 
of Smithville ; and Isaac and Wilford Collins, of the Lawford 
vicinity. 

Philip Frederick was the successor of Mr. Collins on the 
Frederick homestead, as early as 1835. He was of German 
origin, and of Pennsylvania nativity, he having been born at 
Lancaster, in 1775. P'rom his native state, in his young man- 
hood, he went to Rockingham county, Virginia, where he met 
and married a young lady of French descent by the name of 



"V> 



Bougher." 

He was a miller by trade and for a time after their mar- 
riage, they resided in Louisa county, Virginia, and from there, 
removed to this county in 1833, and settled on Indian creek, 
near the County Infirmary, for a brief time before coming to 
Grass run. They afterwards emigrated to Athens, Ohio, but 
soon returned to their old home on this creek, where they 
spent their last hours. Mr. Frederick died in 1861, and both 
lie at rest on their old homestead, which is still in the hanrls 
of their heirs. 

Their sons were David, Nicholas H., Samuel B. and 
Philip Frederick. 

David Frederick left home in his youth and was never 
heard from afterwards. 

Nicholas H. Frederick, who was born on October 6, 1815, 
married Miss Elizabeth Riddel, daughter of John and Tarn? 
Goff Riddel, who was born on March 7, 1815, while her father 
was serving as a soldier in the war of '12. The marriage was 
solemnized, in 1837, at what is now the W. G. Lowther home- 



•?s- HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

stead, and they at once took up their residence at the eld 
home on Grass rvm, where they Kved and died, and where 
they lie at rest. 

Their children are James Frederick, the late John, Airs. 
Louisa (J. R.) Stalnaker, Mrs. Clara Goff, Mrs. William Stal - 
naker, who are all the heads of families; and Joseph, Samu( ' 
Mary E., Tamar, Martha J., and Nancy, who died in youth. 

Samuel B. Frederick married Aliss Elizabeth Petty, of 
Wirt county, and principally spent his life in the Burnt House 
vicinity. He was the father of Samuel, Ulysses G.. the late 
Victor, and Roll, Cathrine Snodgrass, Josephine Pritchard, 
and Amanda. 

Philip Frederick married Aliss Phebe Hardman, daughtc/ 
of Benjamin, and lived and died on Grass run. They were 
the parents of Charles, Franklin, Williami. David. Edward. 
James, Samuel, Elizabeth, who died young, Leah, who mir- 
ried James Cain, and Safronia, the late wife of George W. 
Hardman. 

Benjamin Cunningham, son of Thomas and Phebe, made 
the first improvement on the Dr. J. F. Hartman farm in 183fi : 
but in 1845, he sold this improvement to David W. Sleeth. 
and moved his family to Iowa in a wagon. Not being satis- 
fied there, he returned to this county, the following spring, 
and became the first settler of the Charles Drake homestead, 
near Hardman chapel. Here the remainder of his life w?h 
spent, and here he fell asleep, on April 24, 1853, at the age of 
fifty-three years ; and on the Joseph Fredeiick homestead, he- 
side his father, he lies asleep. 

lie married Miss Plannah Riddel, daughter of John Rid- 
del, whose earthly pilgrimage began in Randolph county, on 
August 18, 1803, and closed on Leatherbarke, on December 
13, 1881. She rests at Flardman chapel. 

Their children were as follows: Phebe died m childhood 
and James, in infancy; John R. is of Tannersville ; Wm. C. 
of Calhoun ; the late Mrs. Hannah E. (John) Modisette, of 
Walker; Mrs. Leah C. (Wm.) Vannoy, Gilmer county: and 
the late Mrs. Nancy PL (Wilson B.) Cunningham, of Eva: 
Mrs. Rachel Norman, of Doddridge county ; Mrs. Tamar J. 
(James T.) Smith, of Smithville ; Eli R., of Iris; and Thomas. 
of Calhoun county, have all passed on. 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 28:5 

The Dr. Hartman homestead is still in the hands of the 
heirs of David Sleeth. Mrs. Hartman being his only surviving- 
granddaughter. 

John Harris built the first dwelling on the F. G. Fling 
farm at Burnt House as early as 1836. He came from Xew 
York and kept a stage coach and a house of public entertain- 
ment. While thus engaged a tragical drama is said to have 
been enacted within the walls of this home, which hung a 
shadow about the good name of the family, and furnished 
material for all sorts of weird tales and ghost stories. 

A stranger, who had stopped for the night, mysteriously 
disappeared, and nothing ever being heard of him again, sus- 
picion pointed strongly to Flarris or his son, William (This 
is variously stated), as having been the perpetrator of a 
crime. A child, belonging to the famdly, is said to have told 
the following story : 

That while the stranger sat at supper, the father (or 
brother) decapitated him with a drawing-knife, and concealed 
his remains up a run, which has ever since borne the name of 
"Dead Man's Hollow." For many years this region was su])- 
posed to have been visited by supernatural beings — appari- 
tions in varied forms appeared to the consternation of the 
fanciful. But these old superstitious traditions have long 
since lost their terror — they are now naught but a memory. 
To those of us who are familiar with the pleasant scenes of 
this section, they are but little more than interesting legends, 
or fairy tales. 

Shortly after this tragic occurrence, in the early fifties, 
Flarris sold his possessions here, to Mrs. Susan Groves — a 
widow — and her son, John, and went West, and here his his- 
tory ends. He has no known relatives in this county. 

While the Groves family resided here, an incident oc- 
curred, which gave rise to the name "Burnt House." 

Mr. Groves being a slave holder in the "antebellum days," 
is said to have sold a little negress, and she being so enraged 
at her master for this act of cruelty, set fire to some clothing 
up stairs, before taking her departure, which resulted in tlie 
destruction of the house — the first dwelling where the village 
now stands, the site being marked by the Ferrell hotel. 



284 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

This interesting" little legend, however, is set aside by 
facts which somewhat modify it. The other story being that 
the little black girl had been lent to ]\Irs. John Groves, by 
her father, ]\Ir. Rogers, of \\'aynesboro, Virginia, and that 
while iMr. Groves was absent — taking the little wench back 
to his father-in-law, the house caught fire, and was burned to 
the ground — hence the origin of the name. 

The Groveses came from Augusta county, Virginia, and 
Mrs. Susan Groves went back there and died. John went to 
California, and Thomas lived in AA'irt county, but moved to 
Cairo, where he died some years ago, and where one of his 
daughters still lives. 

Henry Fling. — In 1859, the Grove's farm became the prop- 
erty of the late Henry Fling, and has ever since been in the 
hands of the Fling family, he having been the first to rebuild 
where the Grove's residence was burned. 

In 1849, John Fling purchased cjuite a tract of land in this 
section, which he divided between his two sons, Henry and 
Levi. 

Henry built his cabin on the land that is now owned b}- 
J\Irs. Ona Fling, and having married ]\Iiss Eunice Fisher, o^' 
Gilmer county, two years before, took up his residence here 
this same 3-ear (1849). And in 1859, as before stated, he 
moved to the Groves' farm, where he continued to reside until 
1883, when he was succeeded by his brother, F. G. Fling, 
who is still the owner. Henrv Fling was born in 1821, and 
died in Calhoun county, in 1906, and sleeps beside his Avife in 
the Baptist chuchyard, at Tannersville. 

His first wife died in 1872, and, two years later, he mar- 
ried Miss Rebecca Holbert, who, with her four daughters. 
Gay, Martha, Mary, and Jennie, resides at Brooksville. 

The children of the first union have all passed awa\ but 
three; viz., Mrs. Minerva Kelley, Tannersville; ]\Irs. Maggie 
Heller, Nebraska; and Fisher, .of Pittsburg; Henry and his 
family met tragic deatlis at their home in Calhoun counts, a 
few 3-ears ago by a gas explosion — the charred remains of the 
wife and two children being laid in the same grave at Tan- 
nersville. \\'illiam died at Big Springs, in Calhoun county; 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 285 

George A., at his home near Hardman chapel ; Floyd, and 
Levi J., in Nebraska; Mary S., and John, at Burnt House. 

Levi Fling built his dwelling- near the present residence 
of his only son, P. J. Fling, about the same time that his 
brother Henry, made his settlement; but he put a tenant ori 
his farm until his marriage to Mrs. Elizabeth Bush Heckart — 
ari event which took place on August 9, 1869, and commemo- 
rated the forty-sixth anniversary of his birth. From that time 
until his death, in 1905, he was a respected citizen of this com- 
munity. He sleeps at Mt. Liberty, and his venerable widow 
still occupies the old home. 

She first married Jacob Heckart, and is the mother of S. 
P. Heckart, of Cairo; Mrs. Margaret Harden, and the late W. 
H. Heckart, Burnt House; the late H. A., of Tannersville ; J. 
M., of Knoxville, Tennessee; Mrs. Sarah (Jerome) Prunty, 
California; and Mrs. Louie S. Beckner, Tannersville. 

F. Gainer Fling married Miss Elsie Bush, daughter of 
George and ]\Irs. ]\Iary McOuain Bush, of Gilmer county, and 
is the father of the late General Fling and Mrs. Mollie E. (J. 
E.) Ferrell. 

The Flings are of Irish lineage. John Fling was born in 
America, shortly after his parents crossed the sea ; and when 
he w^as still in his cradle, his parents both died, and he was 
reared by a family by the name of "Polen," near Baltimore, 
Maryland. After he had grown to manhood, and served as a 
soldier in the war of 1812, he came to Barbour county, (\V.) 
Virginia, and there he met and married Miss Elizabeth Gainer, 
in 1816; and from there, they removed to Gilmer county, in 
1831. Here at his old homestead, near Tannersville, he closed 
his eyes to earth, in 186 L Eight children were the fruits of 
this union. Besides the three sons already mentioned were : 
the late Mrs. Jane (\Vm.) Wilson, Mrs. Sarah (ThoiTias") 
Flardman, the late George and Sanford, all of Tannersville ; 
and Mrs. Mary (David) Ayres, of Calhoun county. 

George Fling married Miss Hannah Bush, and was the 
father of the late H. H. Fling, of Roseville, who figured as 
an early miller in the history of .the towns of Smithville, Au- 
burn, and perhaps, others, in this county. 

H. H. Fling married Miss Mary Talbott, of Philippi, Bar- 



286 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

bour county, and was the father of twelve children ; viz., G. 
W. D. Pling, Mrs. Rose Bush, Mrs. Guy Younge, and Miss 
Eva, are all of Gilmer county ; Laura B. is Mrs. P. J. Fling, of 
Burnt House, and Dr. I. C. W. Fling is of the same place ; P. 
E. A. Fling is of Arkansas ; H. H. J., of Texas : Mrs. Bertha 
House, of Clarksburg ; Gertie L., J. K. W. and ]\I. E. have all 
passed on. 

.Joseph Cunningham made the first improvement on lhe 
head of the stream, on the T. J- Hartman farm. We learn 
that he never owned this land, that it belonged to tlie J\lax- 
wells at this time. 

He was a nephew of Thomas Cunningham, being the son 
of his brother, Benjamin. He married Miss Jane ]\Ialone, sis- 
ter of John and James Malone, and was the father of the iate 
Mrs. Tabitha (Israel) Davidson, of Spruce creek; Benjamin, 
of Missouri ; Findlay, of Ohio ; Mrs. Sarah Quinn, and Airs. 
Elizabeth Quinn, both of Iowa; Mrs. Priscilla Kenney. of 
Missouri, who later became Mrs. John Miller, of Ohio ; Airs. 
Amanda , of Missouri ; and Robert, of Ohio. 

After residing at a number of other points in this county, 
Mr. Cunningham went West, but finally returned to the 
home of Israel Davidson, of Spruce creek, where he found a 
final resting place, beside his wife. 

Jonathan Bessie, of Virginia, was another early settler 
on the T. J. Hartman farm ; it being claimed by some that 
he preceded Cimningham here, but we are unable to verify 
this statement, however. 

Strother Goff was the pioneer on the old homestead that 
is still in the hands of his heirs. He was born in Randolpli 
(now Tucker) county, in 1809, and Avith his parents came to 
Gilmer county shortly after the vv^ar of 1812, where he grew 
to manliood, and married his cousin. Miss Nancy Riddel, 
daughter of John and Tamar Gofif Riddel, who was also born 
in Randolph (now Tucker) county, on October 17, 1807. He 
served as deputy sherifif of Gilmer county under Peregrine 
Hays, before coming to this county, in 1850, where 
he spent the remnant of his days. He was one of the corner- 
stones of the old AI. E. church South, at Burnt House, and re- 
mained a pillar in this church to the close of his earthlv pil- 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 287 

grimage. Side by side on the old homestead, he and his wife 
sleep. Their children were : James R., Mrs. Tamar (James) 
Frederick, Mrs. Rtihama (Archibald) Wyer, W. H. Goff. 
Benjamin, Granville, Mrs. Mary Riddel Valentine, and 
George, of Gilmer county. The last two only survive. 

The Goff Ancestry. — The Goffs, like many of the other 
pioneers, have an interesting ancestral history, though two 
claims as to their origin in the "New World" are in our pos- 
session. 

The first one is that the progenitors of the mrmerous 
families, of the name, scattered throughout West Virginia, 
are lineal descendants of Colonel William Goffe, the English 
parliamentarian and soldier, who was a member of that dis- 
tinguished Judicial body that signed the death warrant of 
Charles the I ; and who, being compelled to flee from the 
vengance of Charles the II, sought refuge in the wilds of 
America, where he wandered about and lay in hiding in old 
mills, cliffs of rocks, and in caves, near New Haven, Connecti- 
cut, from 1660-64, when he went to Hadley, Massachusetts, 
and found a friendly asylum with the minister of the parish 
uritil his death in 1679. 

Almost every school-boy or girl is familiar with the story 
of the ''strange, old man with long, white beard in ancient 
garb," that suddenly appeared upon the scene at the little 
chapel at Hadley, on that quiet Sunday morning when a band 
of devout worshipers were surprised by the Indians, and led 
them to victory — then disappeared as mysteriously as he had 
come, leaving the astonished villagers to think that God had 
sent an Angel to deliver them from the dusky foe. 

This "strange old man" was no other than Colonel 
William Gofife, the regicide, who had seen the approaching 
enemy from the window of the minister's house, and the same 
individual that is claimed by some to have been the antecessor 
of the Goffs of this county. But if Colonel Goffe had a family 
(and doubtless he had, as history tells us that his father-in- 
law, Edward Wlialley, was the companion of his flight) he 
must have left them behind in England, as circumstances will 
not permit us to draw any other conclusion. But, while he 
could hardlv have been the antecessor of the fore-fathers of 



288 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

the AVest Virginia families, it is not at all unlikely that they 
all belonged to the same race — the German : for people of this 
name are said to be scattered through various countries of 
Europe to-day, and it is not difficult to believe that they all 
may have sprung from the same parent-stem, when we re- 
member that in olden-times the spirit of migration was evc" 
in evidence — sometimes from natural inclinations, but more 
often from more imperative reasons — religious or political 
persecutions, which drove thousands from their native lands. 
But be this as it may, John T. and Salathiel Goff, the tvvo 
brothers who were the progenitors of the families that belong 
to this history, were natives of Germany, and of Teutonic 
birth ; but, owing to the tyrannous hand of oppression in tlie 
Fatherland, they (with the Riddels, and the Hardmans, iud, 
perhaps, the Springstons) migrated to England, and after a 
brief sojourn there, embarked to America, landing in Balti- 
more, shortly before the Revolution, where they remained 
twelve months before going to v;hat is now Georgetown, in 
the District of Columbia. 

John T, Goff married Miss Elizabeth Welsh, of Scotland, 
sister of Mrs. James Riddel, before leaving the Fatherland, 
and when they removed from Baltimore, they established 
their home on the Marjdand side, not far from Georgetown, 
W'here it is probable that Mrs. Goff died, not many years later: 
for he Avas married to his second wife, Monacah Cerrico, as 
early as 1781. From there, after the Revolution, he removed 
to near Fredericksburg. Virginia, and later, to wdiat is now 
Tucker county. West Virginia, where he, doubtless, sleeps 
on the banks of the Cheat river. From an old time-worn 
record, we learn that he bade his final adieu to earth, on 
March 9, 1803 ; and that his wife, Monacah, died on December 
27, 1815. 

It will be noted in the beginning of this chapter, that his 
daughter, Tamar, figured in a runaway-marriage six months 
before his death, and that the scene of this little romance was 
on the Cheat' river, in what is now Tucker county ; hence this 
is conclusive evidence that his last hours were spent here. 



^From the "Border "Warfare" we learn that John T. Goff was one of 
tlie first settlers at "Horse Shoe Bottom," on this river. 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 289 

A complete and authentic record of the children of his 
first union is wanting, but he and his wife, Elizabeth, were 
the parents of five or more children; viz., William, John, 
James, Alexander, au-d Hannah ; and he and his wife, Monacah, 
had three daughters; Joanna, Tamar, and Luda GolT (the 
first two, Joanna and Tamar, evidently being twins, as the 
record shows that both were born in 1782, though the name 
of the month in one instance is missing). 

James Goff. — Of the subsequent history of William and 
John, we know nothing, hut James was twice married. The 
name of his first wife is unknown, but the second was a Miss 
Barnhouse. He came from the Cheat river with the other 
Gofits, and settled near the Big Bend in Calhoun county ; and 
from there went to Athens, Ohio, where he died at the home 
of his eldest son, John B. Goli', who was a soldier of the war 
of 1812. 

The children of James Goff were, John B., Robert, George 
L., William, Alary, Rebecca, and Libbie. Libbie married a 
man by the nam.e of Lisson, and went to Ohio. George L. 
married Cathrine Phy, and was the father of Phillip Goff, of 
Juna,-wlio is the only survivor of the family; James, V.'illiam, 
and Susan, the other children, having passed on. 

Hannah Goff (daughter of John T. Gofi) married John 
Smith, and lived and died on Leading creek, in Gilmer county. 
Pier children were seven in number; viz., George, John, 
Nathan, Jacob, Phebe (Mrs. John Davis), Luvina (remained 
single), and Mary (Mrs. William Patton). 

Joanna Goff^ (daughter of John T. Goff) was born on 
August 4, 1782, and on October 8, 1803, she was married to 
her first cousin, George G. Goff, son of Salathiel Goff', and six 
children were the result of this union ; viz., 

John L. (born in 1804 and died 1805), George W., Hiram 
A., Elizabeth (Airs. Thomas Brannon), Rachel (Airs. Abra- 



'The record of this marriage, which was recently brouglit from its 
dust-covered hiding place, with its accompanying explanation tliat 
"Joanna Gnft". daughter of John T. Goff, married her cousin, George G. 
Goff, son of Salathiel Goff," sets at rest the dispute concerning the rela- 
tionship of John T. and Salathiel Goff, and establishes the fact beyond 
cavil that they must have been brothers or half-brothers; for the younger 
generations remember liaving heard their grandsires say, repeatedly, tliat 
Joanna married lier first cousin. These little tilings seem insignificant to 
the casual observer, but througli them alone we establish facts, and settle 
controversies. 



290 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

ham Bush, of Gihiier county), and Nancy (Mrs. John Riddel, 
of Calhoun county). Joanna died in 1861. 

Tamar Goff (daughter of John T. Goff) married John 
Riddel, and her family occupy the first place in this chapter. 

Luda Goff married Jacob Springston, junior, and left a 
large line of descendants. (See later chapter.) 

Alexander Goff (son of John T.), who was familiarly 
known as "Sauny." was the founder of the Ritchie county 
family. He was born, on October 16, 1773, during the sojourn 
of the family in England, and near the year 1799. he was mar- 
ried to Miss Elizabeth Riddel, sister of John Riddel, who 
was born in 1779. The marriage doubtless took place in what 
is now Tucker county (then Randolph), where they first 
established their home, and where they remained until after 
the close of the war of 1812, when they removed to Leading 
creek, in Gilmer county. Here they reared their large family, 
and here they resided until some tmie in the early fifties, 
when they came to this county and spent the remnant of their 
old age with their son, Strother, near Burnt House. Mr. Gott 
died in 1857, and, side by side, they lie at rest on the Strother 
Goff homestead. 

Their family record is as follows : 

John A.— born in 1800 ; Thomas, in 1806 ; Strother, 1809 : 
Benjamin, 1811; Dorcas, 1812; George, 1814; Elizabeth, 1815; 
Alexander, 3 816; Joseph H., 1822; and James, who died in 
youth. Elizabeth, also, died in youth. 

John A. Goff was a minister of the Alethodist Episcopal 
Church South. He married Miss Julia House, and came from 
Gilmer county, and settled on Long run, near Goff's post- 
office, where he died. He was the father of — Phillip, of Cal- 
houn county ; the late John W.. of Gilmer county ; the late 
Alex., of Braxton ; Lafayette and Thomas, who lost their lives 
in the Southern cause during the Civil war; and Mrs. W. O. 
Barnhouse. 

S. L. Gofl^, of Lawford, is the son of Lafayette. 

Dorcas Goif, the daughter of Alexander, senior, married 
Samuel Flemming, and shortly after their marriage they came 
to this county, and settled on Dry run of Spruce creek, where 
their son, John Fleming, now lives; and there they saw the 



GRASS RUN SETTLED 291 

last of earth. Their other children besides John, were as fol- 
lows : Benjamin, of Pennsylvania ; Alfred, who died in youth ; 
Mrs. Joanna (George) Stansbury, of Clarksburg; the larc 
Mrs. Mary (Jacob) Scott, of Mahone ; and the late Mrs. Jane 
Connolly, of Gilmer county. 

George GofT married Miss Mary Smith, daughter of 
Barnes Smith, senior, and sister of his brother, Thomas' wife, 
and settled in Wood county ; and from there removed to Mis- 
souri, where he died. His children were — John, Flenry, 
George, Barnes, Elzaria, who all resided in the West and 
South ; and Hila Ann, late wife of James S. Hardman, of 
Hardman chapel. 

Henry lost his wife in the Confederate cause, and John 
is supposed to have been killed by the Indians, some place in 
the West. 

Joseph H. Goff, who was also a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church South, married Miss Angeline Davis, and 
resided in Braxton county for a time. Here Mrs. Goff died, 
after giving birth to five children ; viz., Henry, of Spruce 
creek ; Charles and Theodore, who both died in youth ; Mrs. 
Joanna Davidson (widow of Israel Davidson, junior, of Tan- 
ners), of near Grafton; and the late Mrs. Mary McGill. of 
Spruce creek. 

In 1865, Mr. Goff was married again to Miss Virginia 
Buzzard, sister of the late Henr}^ Buzzard, and came to 
Spruce creek, from Pocahontas county (where the marriage 
took place), shortly after the Civil war; and here his life came 
to a close on March 8, 1893. The children of this union are 
three in numl)er ; viz., Floyd P., J. Warren Goff, and Mrs. 
Alice (Elmore) Summers, all of Hazelgreen. His wife still 
survives. 

Thomas Goff married Elizabeth Smith, daughter of 
Barnes Smith, senior. 

Benjamin Goff married Miss Eda Smith, daughter of 
pioneer Aaron Smith. 

Alexander Goff, junior, married Miss Mary Bush, daugh- 
ter of George Bush. 

Strother Goff married his cousin. Miss Nancy Riddel, 
daughter of John and Tamar Goff Riddel, but the record of 



292 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

their families wiil all be found in other parts of this work. 
(See Spruce creek for all, but Strother.) 

Salathiel Goff's Line. — Salathiel Gofif married Miss Eliza- 
beth L. Gray in the Fatherland and, as above mentioned, 
crossed to America with his brother, John T. Goff, after a 
brief sojourn in England ; and his wanderings in the Occident 
dilTer but little from those of his brother, and of the other 
families that crossed with them. 

After leaving Baltimore, where they first stepped on 
American soil, Salathiel Goff w^ent to Georgetown (with the 
rest 'of the immigrant party) and settled on the bank of the 
Potomac river, on the Virginia side. He is said to have re- 
moved to the vicinity of Fredericksburg, a little later, but 
however this may have been, he was a resident of Harrison 
county, (W.) Virginia, in 1784; for on July tw^entieth of this 
3^ear (IvS-i), when \A'illiam Raymond, the first principal sur- 
veyor of Harrison count}', was qualified for this office, 
Salathiel Golf, Col. Benjamin Wilson, senior, Col. William 
Lowther, and Jacob Westfall were the Justices of the Peace 
of this new County of Harrison. (This comes from an old 
and authentic record.) But old papers found among the pos- 
sessions of his son, George G. Gofif, which are now in the 
hands of AV. S. Goft, of Glenville, show that his last will and 
testament was made in what is now Tucker county, so doubt- 
less here his ashes lie. He is said to have died of cancer. 

His children were Hiram, John, George G., Nancy Anne, 
Elizabeth, and ]^Iary. 

Hiram Goff, the eldest son, married ]\Iiss Margaret Rush, 
of Tucker county, and removed to Leading creek, in Gilmer 
county, shortly after the w^ar of 1812. He was a thrifty 
farmer, and an extensive stock-raiser and cattle-merchant ; 
and it was his custom to drive his large herds of cattle to 
Baltimore for market. And on one of these long trips across 
the mountains, after marketing a large drove, and being paid 
in gold, he was attacked by a band of robbers, only a few- 
miles distant from Baltimore, and brutally beaten over the 
head wuth a club and robbed of his gold. From this cruel 
wound he became violently insane, and wandered aimlessly 
about over the surrounding country (in the vicinity of Balti- 



GRASS RUN SETTLED . 293 

more) in a starving and deplorable condition, for several 
months before his family conld locate him ; but at length his 
identity became known, and his sons went and brought him 
back to his home, but he was never rational again: and. at 
times, he had to be confined in a strong room in his home, 
which had been constructed for this purpose. Some very 
pathetic stories have come down to his descendants concern- 
ing his irrational acts. 

He was the father of John R. Gofi, of Tucker count}^; of 
William, who married a Miss Bush, and settled where Spencer 
now stands ; of Dawson, who married Miss Rachel Brannon, 
of Gilmer county, and settled in Roane county; of (jieorge, of 
Pomeroy, Ohio; Rachel, who was the late wife of George \\". 
Hardman, senior, of Hardman Bend, in Calhoun county; 
Effie. wife of Jacob Springston ; Elizabeth, who married 
Hiram Riddel, and went to Texas; and of Eda and Cyrus, who 
died unmarried. . ' 

Roane county is full of his descendants, Frank, Lee. 
Charles, Louis and Ira Goff, of Spencer, are his grandsons, 
they being the sons of Dawson Goii'; and Mrs. T. 'M. Goff, of 
Harrisville, is a granddaughter. 

(For the families of Rachel Hardman. and Effie Spring- 
ston, see Hardman and .Springston families.) 

John Goff, the second son of Salathiel, was the first set- 
tler where Glenville now stands. Here his first wife, whose 
name is missing, died, and he married a Miss Richards for 
his second. He went to Kanawha country, in his old age, 
where he died. The children of his first union Vv^ere as fol- 
lows: Salathiel. Drusa (Mrs. Parson, of Roane county), and 
Rebecca (Mrs. Thomas Hardman, of Roane county). The 
children of his last marriage w^ere three in number, one daugh- 
ter and two sons. 

George G. Goff, son of Salathiel. who w^as born on August 
25, 1782, and died in July. 1867, married his cousin. Joanna 
Gofif, daughter of John T. Gofl". (See Family of John T. GofT 
for farther history.) 

Nancy Anne Goff (daughter of Salathiel) married ]'>en- 
jamin Riddel. (See Riddel family.) 

Elizabeth Goff (daughter of Salathiel) married William 



204 , HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Stalnaker, and came from Tucker county shortly after the 
war of 1812, and settled on DeKalb, in Gilmer county. Their 
two children were Salathiel and Xathaniel Stalnaker, who 
both married and reared families in Gilmer county. 

Mary GofF (daughter of Salathiel) married a man by the 
name of Mongold, and had one daughter, ]\Iary. She is said 
to have died young. 



CHAPTER XX 




Leatherbarke 

HIS stream, which flows into the South fork 
of Hughes river, below Smithville, took its 
name from the numerous growth of leather- 
barke upon its banks. 

John Hill. — As so many dates are miss- 
ing, we have been unable to determine vvhich 
was the first settler on this creek, but this 
distinction probably belongs to John Hill, who built his cabin 
on the Alfred Barr farm, at a very early day. 

Mr. Hill was a native of Harrison county, having been 
born on February 8, 17!)() ; and on April 25, 1816, he v/as mar- 
ried to Miss Keturah Cunningham, daughter of Edward, and 
niece of Thomas Cunningham, who was also a native of Har- 
rison county ; and from this vicinity, they went to Gilmer 
county, where Air. Hill fell asleep, on [March 17, 1885, and 
there on the George S. Bush homestead (now the John Elli- 
son farm), beside his wife, he sleeps. 
Their children were as follows : 

Celia, who became Mrs. Wm. Holbert ; Anna, Mrs. Johii 
S. Holbert; Mary, Mrs. Hannibal B. Wilson; Daniel, who 
died in his youth, all of Gilmer county ; and the late Enoch R. 
Hill, of near Burnt House, this county. The family have all 
passed on, but among the grandsons and granddaughters of 
this pioneer are, Floyd Hill, and Mrs. Harriet Fling, Burnt 
House ; Moses Holbert, Mrs. Phillip Engle, Mrs. William 
Reeser, and quite a number of others, of Gilmer county. 

Mr. and [\Irs. Flill were members of the first M. E. 
church organization in this county, and their descendants still 
cling to this faith. 

John Earle was the first denizen on the late Eber Wilson 
homestead — now the home of Hugh Ayres. Fie was a brother 



296 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

of ]\Irs. Barnes Smith, senior, and was of Harrison county. 
He married Miss Jemima Drake, daughter of the Rev. John 
Drake, and after she was laid in the Alurphy graveyard, he 
went to Ohio, but finally returned here and died. 

]\Irs. Susana Stuart Bush, of Iris, is a descendant of his. 

Benjamin Horner was the second settler on the ^^'ilson 
farm. He was an Irishman, having been born in "Old Erin." 
He married Aliss [Mary ]\Iurphy. sister of the four ]\Ivirphy 
Brothers, and w^ent from here to Roane county, where they 
both fell asleep. He had a son, Benjamin, by a form.er mar- 
riage, who went \\ est with A'alentine Bozarth. 

John B. Rogers. — .\s these first settlers did not remain 
long, John B. Rogers came into possession of the Wilson 
farm at an early day. Here he remained for many years : and 
here his wife, Sarah Webb Rogers, daughter of Benjamin 
AA ebb, passed away ; after her death he removed to the Dr. 
A. ]\I. Edgell property, at Smithville, where his last moments 
were spent. At Smithville, beside his wife, he sleeps. 

His descendants in the county are still quite numerous. 
His children were as follov^'s : Robert H., the late A. I. (father 
of B. F.. of Harrisville), both of Calhoun county; the late 
Mrs. Edraonia Hardman (mother of Sherman Hardman, of 
Hardman chapel), the late Mrs. Taylor Glover (Drusilla.) 
mother of A. R. Glover, of Mt. Zion ; the late Airs. Elizabeth 
(John) Elliott, the late Airs. Aiartha (Frank) Elliott, James, 
who went West, and John, who met a tragic death at Webb's 
mill, while serving as a Home-guard during the late Civil war. 

This family are descended from the pioneer Rogers' fam- 
ily of Harrisville. 

The Rev. John Drake, whose interesting history will be 
found in a preceding chapter, was the pioneer at the mouth 
of this stream, on land now owned by W . A. Flesher. 

William Stuart, junior, was the first settler at Iris, on tlic 
farm that is now the home of his son, Robert Stuart. He 
married Aliss Rachel Webb, sister of Benjamin AA'ebb, and 
came here from the Glover farm at Smithville, near the year 
1837 : and here they both passed away in 1850, and in th.e 
Webb's cemetery, they lie at rest. 

Air. Stuart was the son of AMlliam Stuart, who settled 



LEATHERBARKE 297 

the Byrd farm, above Goff's. and he was a native of the "Key- 
stone state." He was the father of eleven children, all of 
whom have passed on. except Robert of Iris. Xntter and 
Joseph died in youth, William A\'ebb, and Anna, later in life: 
John went A\'est : James, Benjamin, Mrs. Martha (Elisha) 
Smith (mother of Janies T. Smith, of Burnt House), and 
Mrs. Elizabeth W'estfall Hardin, remained citizens of this 
part of the county; and Mrs. Lydia (John) Cain, lived on the 
North fork of Hughes river. 

Robert Stuart is now tiie Iris post-master and merchant. 

John Solomon Holbert, son-in-law of John Hill, was 
another early settler in the Iris vicinity. He went from here 
to Revel, Gilmer comity, where he and his wife (nee Anna 
Hill) sleep: and where his descendants live. ]\Ioses, Monroe, 
the late James, Mrs. Phillip Engle, and Mrs. William Reeser, 
all of Gilmer county, are his children. He died in 1901. 

Wilson Benjamin Cunningham was the first denizen of 
the forest in the vicinity of Eva. He was the son of William 
and Rebecca Johnston Cunningham, his mother being a 
native of New Jersey, and the grandson of Thomas and 
Phoebe Cunningham. His father went from this county to 
Ohio, near the year 1811, and later became a prominent min- 
ister of the Ohio M. E. conference : and there, at Cadiz, on 
May 12, l^'l'l, Wilson B. was born. He was one of the early 
school-teachers of the county, and was an exhorter of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

On April 10, ISIG, at Keokuk, Iowa, he was married to 
his cousin, Miss Nancy Hila Cunningham, daughter of Ben- 
jamin and Hannah Riddel Cunningham ; and two months later 
they returned to this county, and settled on the James Fred- 
erick farm, on Grass run : and from there removed to Eva, to 
the farm that is now the home of their son, John C, in 1861, 
where both passed from earth — he, on June 23, 1887 ; and she, 
on June 25, 1908. Both rest at Hardman chapel. 

Their children: Columbus died in infancy: Wade M.. 
in 1875: Benjamin E., in '78; James AV., in 19(»1 ; John C. re- 
sides at the old home: and Theodore, near by; Mrs. Rebecca 
J. Elder, is of Iris: and Airs. Clara R. Wiseman, of Richwood. 

William Cunningham — son of Benjamin — who is now a 



298 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

resident of Calhoun county, was another early settler at Eva. 
He married Miss Cathrine Cross, daughter of Nimrod, and 
was the father of four children: Sanford and Sheridan, Vic- 
toria, and ]\Irs. IMinnie (George) Lowther, of Calhoun county. 

John R. Cunningham — brother of William, who is now 
spending the eventide of his life with his daughter, Mrs. A. 
H. Cooper, in Gilmer county, was the first settler on the 
Hildreth farm, near the site of the "Old Pleasant Valley 
church." He gave the grounds for this church, which was 
built in 1870, and which was replaced by a frame structure in 
190l — the site being moved farther up the creek. 

]Mr. Cunningham resided here until 1882, when he pur- 
chased the homestead that he continued to occupy until 1907, 
when it passed into the hands of AV. M. Nutter. On May 20, 
1906, death entered his home and carried away his beloved 
companion, Mrs. Frances J. Modisette Cunningham, who was 
the daughter of Augustus and Dorcas Modisette, of Iris. She 
sleeps at Hardman chapel. 

His children : Asa L. resides at Columbus, and Mrs. 
Lillie B. Yates, at Center-Belpre, in Ohio; ]\Irs. Adaline V. 
(A. H.) Cooper, in Gilmer county; A. C, at Parkersburg ; and 
Simpson J., at Eva; one daughter died in infancy; William S., 
Harrison G., and Archie D., in childhood — the last two men- 
tioned sleep in the same grave at Hardman chapel ; Julia and 
Guy died in their young man and womanhood. 

These brothers are natives of this county, and are the 
grandsons of Thomas and Phebe Cunningham. 

George Washington Hardman was the first to settle the 
John R. Cunningham — now the W. M. Nutter — farm. He 
married Miss Mary Ann Lowther, daughter of Jesse, of Corn- 
wallis, and took up his residence here in the early fifties. He 
lived at various other points in the county, and finally died 
at his home below Burnt House, in 1890, and ^vas laid at rest 
at Hardman chapel by the side of his wife, who preceded 
him to the grave by a number of years. 

Their children: the late Mrs. Marietta i\\ . E. Hill). 
Harrisville ; Mrs. Olive (James) Rexroad, Den run ; the late 
Mrs. Maggie (Wm.) Collins, of Cairo; Mrs. Emma Lee, 
Cairo ; Mrs. Victoria Stanley, Clay county ; the late Mrs. Lillie 



LEATHERBARKE 299 

(F. S.) Moyer, Fonsoville; the late Mrs. Pliebe Cunningham 
Holstein, of Iris ; the late Mrs. Thomas Johnson, and James 
Hardman, of Cantwell. 

.After the death of his first wife, he married Miss Safronia 
Frederick, daughter of Phillip Frederick, and four children 
were born of this union ; viz., Lloyd, Frank, George, and Belle. 
The second Mrs. Hardman has also passed on. This pioneer 
belongs to the Hardman family, whose ancestral history oc- 
cupies an earlier chapter. 

Augustus Modisette. — Near the year 1849, Augustus 
Modisette and his wife, Mrs. Dorcas ^^'ilson Modisette (sister 
of Archibald A\'ilson), with their family, came from Barbour 
county, and took up their residence near one mile from the 
present site of the Iris post-office. He was of Irish descent, 
and was an old time school-teacher. He died near the year 
187-i, and sleeps at Hardman chapel beside his wife, who was 
descended from the Wilson family, whose history appears 
with the South fork settlers. 

They were the parents of four sons and four daughters : 

AVilliam lost his life in battle in behalf of the Union 
cause, in his young manhood. James went to Ohio, where he 
died at a ripe old age, a few years ago, and where his descend- 
arits live; and Wilson sleeps in Wood county; John resided 
in Murphy district until a few months since, vvlien he went 
to AValker station ; Garrison died single ; Frances was the late 
wife of John R. Gunningham, of Eva ; the late Mrs. Harriet 
Gooper, of Gilmer county ; the late Mrs. Elizabeth (John) 
Gollins, and the late ^Irs. Mary Knight — -mother of Phillip 
Knight, of Galhoun county, were the other daughters. 

James Alexander Yates was another worthy pioneer of 
the Eva vicinity. He was born near Grafton, in 1836, and 
there grew to manhood and married Miss Sarah Jane Rob- 
inson, on March 10, 184:7 ; and ten years later (1857) they 
came to this county and made the first improvement on the 
farm that is now the home of Wilson B. Gunningham, junior; 
and here he passed from earth on January 3, 1897. 

Airs. Yates followed him to the grave on November 82nd, 
of the same year. Both had long been pillars in the church 
at Hardman chapel, and there they rest. 



300 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

]\Irs. Yates was born in Maryland, in 1825, and witli her 
parents removed to Taylor county, in 1843. She was the 
daughter of Owen Robinson, who came from England to Old 
Town, V^irginia, with his parents when he was a boy, and 
there married Miss Eleanor ^Mitchell. She was one of a 
family of ten children, who have all passed to the other side, 
except I\Iiss Helen Robinson, of Parkersburg. ^Irs. Ellen 
Ison, wife of the late Rev. Benjamin Ison, of the West Vir- 
ginia IMethodist Episcopal conference, was another sister. 

]\Ir. and Mrs. Yates Avere the parents of eight children, 
four of whom died in infancy. Philander Ovren Yates died, 
in 1909. at his home in Oklahoma, where his family reside : 
and the other three survive: ]\Irs. Fannie Cunningham Kel- 
ley lives at Rhodesdale, Ohio: ]\Irs. Mary Ellen (T. A.) Hard- 
man, at Fonsovilie : and Mrs. Emma Y. AVamsley. at i'air- 
mont. 

The Yateses are of German lineage. Two brothers came 
from Hesse, Darmstadt, in the Fatherland, some time before 
the Revolution, and settled in the ^Massachusetts colon^^ 
One of these brothers. John Yates, took up arms in defense 
of his adopted country, and after the struggle for Independ- 
ence v>'as at an end. he emigrated to Virginia, where he re- 
mained until after our second Avar with Great Britain, when 
he removed to Taylor county, and purchased land for his 
four sons, Lawson, John, junior, Elijah, and \Yilliam, near 
Pruntvtown. 

William Yates married ^vliss Hilary Simpson, and was the 
father of thirteen children, among whom was Alexander 
Yates, of Leatherbarke. The other members of the family 
were, Henry, who went to Indiana; Harrison, the father of 
H. M. Yates, of Center-Belpre, Ohio ; Thomas, Abner. ]Mrs. 
Elizabeth Sinsel, Airs. Xancy Derham, and I\Irs. Fannie Rec- 
tor, who spent their lives in their native county, Taylor : and 
Mary, who died in youth : the rest died in childhood. 

The Bealls. — Another family Avhose interests have been 
identified with this creek since 1847, is that of the late John 
Beall. who made his settlement where his son, Charles F. 
Beall, now resides, and here he spent the remainder of his life. 



LEA THERBARKE [\0 1 

The homestead of his son James S., and the estate of his late 
son, Wilson, also belong to the original tract here. 

yir. Beall was of Scotch-Irish descent. He was born in 
Tucker county, (AV.) Virginia, in 1817 ; and when he was 
still in his cradle, his parents, John and Patricia Holbert Beall, 
came to Gilmer coitnty (1818), and settled at the mouth of 
Cedar creek. Here Mr. Beall sleeps, and his venerable vAie 
found a resting-place on the Joseph Frederick homestead, in 
this county, beside her son, AVilson, and her daughter, Xancy. 
The other daughter was Maria, who married John Holbert, 
and Avent West, where she lies at rest. 

John Beall, junior — the Leatherbarke pioneer — married 
Miss Leah Hardman, daughter of the late Rev. James Hard- 
man, in 1840, and first settled on the E. R. Tibbs farm, at 
Gofif's. He later removed to the Frederick's mill vicinity, and 
from there (the AA\ G. Lowther farm), to Leatherbarke, where 
he passed from earth on January 20, 1880. 

His wife survived until September 10, 1902, when she 
was laid by his side, on the old homestead. 

Their children were fourteen in number : Thomas and 
Henry died in infancy; Dorcas, at the age of eleven years. 
The rest all lived to rear families: Wilson A., Mrs. Abigail 
C. Cooper, and ]\Irs. Phebe (Jacob) Alinear, S. M., and M. T., 
have all passed on; James S., C. F., and ]\Irs. J. L. Gill, are 
all of Leatherbarke, M. A., of Clay county, and J. X., of Lin- 
coln, Xebraska. 

The Bealls are quite numerous in different parts of the 
State. Those in Gilmer, Braxton, Lewis, and Clay counties 
are of this family, John Beall, senior, having four brothers, 
from whom they are descended. 

Eva Founded. — John L. Gill was the first merchant and 
post-master at Eva. His store came into existence in Janu- 
ary, 1894, and the post-office v/as established the same year. 

Mr. Gill was born in Marshall county, on March 33, 1861, 
and with his parents came to Leatherbarke in X'ovember, 1879. 
On August 5, 1883, he was married to Miss Florence L. Beall, 
and six children are the result of this union : Eva AL is the 
wife of C. A. Daily, of Hardman chapel ; Leslie A. is married, 
also ; Miss Lulu lies in the churchyard at Hardman chapel ; 



302 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

and John A., Bernie A\'., and Irene E. are at home. Ylr. Gill 
was a soldier of the Spanish-American war. 

The Gills have been leading citizens of this community 
for more than thirty years, they having come here from j\Iar- 
shall county. The late Andrew and ]\Irs. Anna Birch Gill 
were the heads of this family which consisted of the foliov/- 
ing named members, besides John L. Gill : Bruce. William, 
the late James and George, the late Airs. Irene (Frankj Bush. 
Mrs. C. F. Zickafoose, j\Irs. Josephine (M. R. ) Osbourne. are 
all of this part county ; Airs. George Hildreth, of Cairo ; Mrs. 
Agnes Rule, of Ohio; JNIrs. Susana Furguson, Gilmer county; 
Airs. Lizzie Dobbins, Alarshall county, and Aliss Cora, avIio 
lies in the quiet churchyard, with her parents. 

The Iris post-office is perhaps eight or ten years younger 
than the one at Eva, and Robert Stuart was the first post- 
maste-r here. Leatherbarke is famous for its numerous stores, 
and oil developments are in progress on its head waters. 



CHAPTER XXI 



Indian Creek Settled 




LI WATKINS, John AyreS, and Thomas 
Stanley were the first pioneers on this creek, 
they having found homes near the mouth, as 
early as ISIO ; and John Starr, (before men- 
tioned.) was the first settler on its head 
waters, near this same time. 

Of \A'atkins' history, we know nothing, 
except that he was the son-in-law of Thomas Stanley and the 
brother-in-law of John Ayres. 

Mr. Ayres came from Rockbridge county, Virginia, in 
1810. and built his cabin near the present site of the Phillips' 
school house, on the farm that is now the home of S. C. Phil- 
lips. He enjoyed the distinction of being the first school 
teacher in the Hughes river valley, aiid his history will appear 
more at length with the schools. 

•^Thomas Stanley made his settlement on the D. M. V. 
Phillips' homestead — adjoining Mr. Ayres. He was a native 
of "Old Erin," but came here from Virginia — the time of his 
coming being variously stated, from 1810 to 1830 — and re- 
mained until he was laid on the hillside, in tSfiO. 

He was the father of John Stanley, who married Ellen 
Ayres, daughter of John x^yres, and resided on the old home- 
stead until he, too, found a resting place upon the hillside ; 
then his brother.' James resided here until the farm became 
the propert}- of D. AI. V. Phillips, late in the sixties or early 
in the seventies. The other sons were: AA'illiam. who was 
killed at Beverly on July 4, 1863. while serving as a Union 
soldier; Adam and Thomas, died in Wood county; and Mrs. 
Margaret Taylor, and Mrs. Bridget Parks, in Roane county ; 
and Mrs. Marv (Eli) W'atkins, in this county. These chil- 



304 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

dren have all passed on, but among the grandchildren are, 
Joseph Stanley, Petroleum, the oldest living descendant; 
Daniel, and William Stanley, Mrs. Phebe Lewis, and Mrs. 
Mary Jenkins, of ^Mellin. John and Flavins Stanley, of Slab 
and Indian creek, respectively, are great-grand sons. 

The Stanleys were Indian fighters and were honest, in- 
dustrious pioneers. 

Daniel Ayres, son of John and father of "Dick" Ayres, 
of Island run, made the first improvement on the farm that is 
now the property of the late Asa Flesher's heirs, near Mahone. 
He first married a Aliss Brown, of Virginia, and had one 
daughter, Lizzie, who became the ^vife of Charles Ayres, and 
went lo Indiana ; and two sons, Charles and Jeremiah, who 
also went AVest. 

His second wife was Aliss Tabitha Tingler, daughter of 
Henry Tingler, and their children were, "Dick," Jackson, and 
Mack Ayres, Mrs. Sarah (Daniel) Stanley, Mrs. India Pollock, 
and jNIrs. i\Iary Rinehart Wiant Kennedy of Smithville. 

Air. Ayres died on his home farm and there his ashes lie. 

Jacob Wolfe was the first to find a home on Plum run, in 
this section, which is now a noted oil center. He was born in 
Northern Germany, on January 10, 1816, and there learned 
the blacksmith's trade ; and when he was still but a lad, he 
crossed to America, and followed this trade. In 1855, he was 
married to Miss IMargaret Weinreich, daughter of Christopher 
Weinreich, and sister of the late Lewis, of Mahone, who Avas 
also born in the Fatherland, but who, with her father and 
brothers came to Eaton, in Wood county, in her early woman- 
hood, where her father soon passed away, and where he 
sleeps. Her mother sleeps across the sea in the homeland. 

The marriage took place at AVheeling, and in Barbour 
county they resided imtil 1857, when they came to this county, 
and settled on the homestead that is now occupied by their 
son, L. P. Wolfe ; and in this vicinity they still survive, though 
the weight of ninety-three years is upon Mr. AVolfe. 

Their children are as follows : L. P., Charles, and John 
Wolfe, and Mrs. A. A. Scott, all of Mahone ; Mary married L. 
B. Scott, who recently removed from Mahone to Clarksburg, 
and after her death, her sister, Amelia, became the wife of L. 



INDIAN CREEK SETTLED 305 

B. Scott ; Lena was the late Mrs. N. D. Bailey, of Harclman 
chapel ; JMargaret first married Silas Smith, and after his death, 
L. H. Carder, of Iris; Miss Addie is now a physician, of Pitts- 
burg-. 

Jacob Sinnett made the first improvement where his 
grandson, Dr. C. W. Rexroad, now lives, and from here he 
passed to his eternal home. He was the son of Patrick, and 
his wife was Miss Elizabeth Rexroad, daughter of the late 
Heniy Rexroad, of Harrisville. Side by side they slumber on 
the Charles Mo3"er farm, on Den run. 

Their children Vv'ere : Henry R. Sinnett, of Missouri ; Mrs. 
Phebe (Zebulon) Rexroad, and the late Mrs. Cambyses 
(Sarah) Lowther. 

James Drake was the pioneer on the farm that is now the 
home of the County infirm, he having come here some time 
between ISIO, and '20. Pie was the son of the Rev. John 
Drake, and the son-in-law of Patrick Sinnett, his wife being 
Miss Elizabeth Sinnett. He was a veteran of the war of 1812, 
and his widow drew a pension of twelve dollars a month until 
her death in 1884, at the age of eighty-six years. 

Near 1825 or '30, James Drake built the first saw-mill on 
Indian creek — the site of this mill being near the Isaac Wil- 
son residence. 

He and his wife were the parents of twelve children, five 
of whom reached the years of maturity: Mrs. Phebe (\'\''m.) 
Moats, Mrs. Katharine (Otha) Zickafoose, the late Mrs. 
Agnes (Jacob) Layfield ; Wm. Drake, who married the daugh- 
ter of Barcus Ayres, and went West; and Patrick, who mar- 
ried a Miss Keener, and was the father of the late 3ilrs. Ella 
Prey, of Harrisville ; and of Charles Drake, of Hardman chapel. 
The "County farm" was Mrs. Drake's third of her husband's 
estate and she sold it to the county for this purpose. 

John Sinnett was the first to mark the forest in the vichi- 
ity of Jackson's store. He erected his dwelling on the farm 
that is now the Dr. J. H. Snyder estate, at the foot of King- 
Knob hill, near the year 1824. 

He was a son of Patrick Sinnett, and a native of Pendle- 
ton county, having been born on November 12, 1787. He mar- 
ried Miss Elizaljeth R. Propst, of the same county, and they 



306 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

settled on the Black Thorn creek for a few 3'ears after their 
marriage, before coming to Ritchie county. He erected the 
first and only powder-mill that was ever in this section, and 
engaged in the manufacture of powder for a few years — until 
the mill was carried away by a flood, and was never rebuilt. 

He went from here to Roane county, where he and his 
wife rest side by side. She having passed on in 1843, and he, 
in 1869. 

Their children were: Harmon, of Chevauxdefrise ; Abel 
P.. of Kanawha countv ; Henrv, of this countv : and Samuel, 
and Joseph (twins), of Roane county. 

Abel Sinnett succeeded his brother, John, on the Snyder 
farm, at the foot of King Knob hill, and there he continued 
to reside until he was laid in the Indian creek Baptist church- 
yard, in July, 1873. 

He was the owner of the first saw-mill in this section, 
the site of which is now marked by the Plammer hotel. He 
married Miss Elizabeth Stuart, and was the father of — Mrs. 
Belinda (Thomas) Hill, of AA'ashburn : ]\Irs. Sarah J. (Law- 
son) Hall, of Auburn ; the late Mrs. Elizabeth (W. T.) ]\Ioats, 
of Indian creek: Mrs. Margaret (Lewis) Hammer, Wash- 
burn ; the late Mrs. Kathrine (James) Moats, Indian creek : 
and George AV. Sinnett, Jackson county. 

John Webb. — Xear the year 1841, John Webb came from 
Rockbridge county, Virginia, and became the pioneer of Den 
run, making his settlement on the farm that he occupied until 
his death, on July 13, 1875 ; and the one wdiich is now the home 
of his granddaughter, Mrs. Sarah L. Simmons. 

Mr. Webb married Miss Elizabeth Isenhour, and was the 
father of eight children, who were all born in the "Old Domin- 
ion :" Henry, Phebe, and Michael married and remained there, 
and the other five came to this county with their parents — 
William. James, and Addison, remained here; i\Iary became 
the wife oi Xoah Boston, and went to Illinois ; Lucinda. mar- 
ried Henry Fulwider, and went to Indiana. 

The older generation have now all passed on, but among 
the- grandchildren that are still here are: ]\Irs. A\*ashington 
Isner, Mrs. Mary Snyder, and Airs. Simmons above men- 
tioned, and Isaiah Webb, all of the Washburn \ icinity. 



INDIAN CREEK SETTLED 307 

The Webbs were the donors of the ground, and were 
among the chief buihJers, of the Den run M. P. church, which 
bears their name, "Webb's chapeL" And here they sleep, on 
the old homestead. 

Silas Pettit made the first improvement in the extreme 
head of the creek, where J. O. Nay now lives, near the year 
1843. The place of his nativity was near Fairmont, in Marion 
county, and the date of his birth was January 27, 1821. His 
wife was Miss fviziah Weaver, daughter of Joseph Weas'er, 
and their family consisted of fourteen children. They re- 
moved from the Nay farm to the Big Bend, in Calhoun coun- 
ty, in 1850, and there remained until death claimed Mrs. Pettit 
some time in the nineties. Then in 1897, he was married to 
Mrs. Jane Williams, and with her spent his closing hours in 
Wirt county, in 1899, but he rests beside the wife of his youth 
at the Big Bend. 

His children were : 

The late Mrs. Arzana (D. M. V.) Phillips, and the late 
Mrs. Clarissa (Albert) Johnson, both of Smithville ; Mrs. In- 
diana (B. F.) Prince; Mellin ; Mrs. Martha (A. I.) Rogers, 
Harrisville; Mrs. Amanda (Henry) Devees, Mingo, Ohio; 
Frances married Ephraim Bee, and after her death at Cam- 
bridge, Nebraska, her sister, Huldah, became the wife of Mr. 
Bee; Joseph Pettit is of Ohio; A. J., of Mellin: Aaron, and 
Benjamin, of Calhoun county; and Henrietta, Willie and Mary 
died in youth. 

Thomas Hoover was an early settler on Dog run, a small 
tributary of Indian creek. He came here from Pendleton 
county near 1844, and established his home on the head of the 
stream, where Peter Jones now lives, he having purchased 
this tract of woodland of Henry Rexroad. He later purchased 
adjoining tracts, until his territory numbered four hundred 
forty-five acres. He sold the original tract to Peter Simmons, 
early in the fifties, and the other tracts, to later settlers from 
Pendleton county. 

He gave the grounds for the Spruce Grove M. E. church, 
deeding it to the trustees and their successors (William and 
Conrad Mullenax and A\'illiam and Isaac Cokeley being the 
original trustees). 



308 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Pie afterwards patented two tracts of land on the waters 
ofDevii Hole, Indian and Elm runs (696 acres in all), which 
is now Owned by the John Simmon's heirs, and the Layfields. 
lie went from this county to Wood, and later to ^Missouri, 
wdiere he died. 

He married Miss Frances Rexroad, sister of Zachariah 
Rexroad, and was the father of ten children: AA'illiam, 
^lichael, Daniel, Washington, Charles, Henry, Jacob, Jane, 
and ]\Iary, who became ]\Irs. Samuel Sinnett, of Indian creek; 
]\Iichael, Xoah, Washinoton, and Henrv were Union soldier*^ 
of the Civil war. Part of the family went AA'est, and John, 
and Jefferson, of near Cokeley's, are the only families of this 
name in the county, that are descended from Thomas. They 
are the sons of William and Emily Cunningham Hoover. 
Grant and Herbert Hoover, who are well-known among the 
young teachers of the county, are the sons of JefTerson. 

Later Settlers. — In the forties and the early fifties quite 
a colony of substantial citizens came from Pendleton county 
and found homes on the waters of Indian creek, w^here their 
descendants still reside. This colony were all of German de- 
scent, and all spent the remainder of their lives here. 

Jacob Hammer. — Among the first of these to arrive was 
Jacob Hammer, who settled where Miller I. Hill now lives, 
some time in the forties. He married ]\Iiss Phebe ]\Ioyer, sis- 
ter of James ]\Ioyer, and on their old homestead, they sleep. 
Their children are as follows : Samuel, who died in the An- 
dersonville prison during the war ; and LcAvis and George, of 
'Washburn, who w^ere also Union soldiers ; Jacob died in 
childhood, and Leonard, in his young manhood ; ]\Iary mar- 
ried Peter Zickafoose, and went to Kansas ; Sarah is the widow 
of T. Benton Rexroad, of AA^ashburn ; ^Irs. Louisa Laird 
Friedle}', and Airs. Phebe (AI. I.) Hill, are of Spruce Grove. 

James Meyer and his wife, ]\Irs. Abigail Rexroad Moyer 
— daughter of Zachariah Rexroad — w^ere the next arrivals in 
1849. They settled on the farm that is now the estate of 
their late son, Charles, and here they sleep. 'Sirs. Kathrine 
( !'. R.) Tharpe, of Harrisville, is the only survivor of the 
family ; the sons, Charles, Edmond, and James, who died in 
cliildhood, having all passed on. 



INDIAN CREEK SETTLED :300 

/' 
Peter Moyer and his wife, ]\Irs. Louisia Rexroad Mover, 

found a permanent home on Den run, where Mr. Moyer still 

survives, though Mrs. Moyer has been sleeping- on the old 

homestead for a number of years. He is a brother of the late 

James Moyer, and his family are: Lewis, Frank, Ellsworth, 

Graiit, Charles, and JMrs. Mary (Samuel) Moats. 

Amos Jones was another member of the Pendleton colony. 
He married Miss Phebe Simmons, daughter of Peter, and set- 
tled where his son, Samuel, now lives, in 1854. Here he and 
his wife passed from earth, and on the Peter Moyer homestead, 
they He at rest. 

Their children: Peter M., and Samuel, Harrisville; Mrs. 

Katharine (Lee) Parker, Wood county; and Mrs. Delia , 

Ohio. 

Peter Simmons and Jacob Crun.imett, with their families, 
arrived in 185L 

Mr. Simmons bought an improvement of Thomas Ploover. 
and settled where Peter M. Jones now lives. He married 
Miss Sarah Moyer — sister of James and Peter, and side by 
side they' sleep on the Peter Moyer's homestead. Their chil- 
dren were — Mrs. Amos (Phebe) Jones; Mrs. Jacob Crummett, 
and Aaron Simmons, Den run; Mrs. Sydney Jordan, Macfar- 
lan ; the late Mrs. A. A\'. (Mary) Zickafoose, Harrisville ; and 
the late Mrs. Sarah (A. W.) Zickafoose, and Abigail, who was 
drowned in childhood. 

Jacob Crummett purchased two hundred one acres of land 
at three dollars twenty-five cents an acre, and established his 
heme on the farm that is now his estate, though unoccupied. 

His father, Jacob Crummett, senior, and his mother. Al>i- 
gail Rexroad, were both of German lineage; and, in Pendle- 
ton county, he was born on March 19, 1826. 

He united with the Lutheran church in his boyhood, but 
was an adherent of the Methodist Episcopal church faith for 
the last forty-five years of his life, and was an exhorter in the 
church. 

On May 15, 1855, he was united in marriage with Miss 
Mahala Simmons, daughter of Peter Simmons, and three sons 
and one daughter were the result of this union : George F. 
Crummett and Mrs. Margaret (Levi) Moreton live near the 



310 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

old home ; Alartin J., is of Huntington, and the Rev. S. P. 
Crummett, of Parkersburg. 

i\Ir. Crummett died on P'ebruary 4, 1907J and was laid in 
the Fairview churchyard, on Devil Hole, and Airs. Crummett 
lives with her daughter. 

Simon P. Crummett. — The careei' of the Rev. Simon P. 
Crummett merits more than a passing notice, as he is now a 
distinguished pulpit orator of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

The Rev. Air. Crummett was born on the old homestead, 
not far from Harrisville, on March 5, 1857, and began life for 
himself as a school-teacher in the rural districts of his native 
county, and continued in this profession for twelve years. A 
part of this time he filled the office of assessor — holding this 
office for eight years. 

In 188(3, he entered the ministry, taking work as a sup- 
ply; and joined the West Virginia conference, the following 
year. He served as pastor of the Volcano, Elizabeth, West 
Union, Belleville, Guyandotte, and Kingwood charges, and the 
Wesley chapel, at Wheeling, before being appointed as Pre- 
siding Elder of the Buckhannon district in 1899 — a position 
which he filled for five years. He was then transferred to the 
Presiding-eldership of the Parkersburg district, and has just 
completed his term of six years in this capacity under the 
changed name of "District Superintendent." (1910.) 

On October 5, 1882, he was married to Miss Laura J. 
Douglass, daughter of the late John, and Mrs. Elizabeth Marsh 
Douglass, who was born near Cairo on August 3, 1861, and 
two sons, Aubrey and Paul, are the fruits of this union. 

Sampson Zickafoose was also identified among the set- 
tlers from Pendleton county, he having arrived here some time 
during the forties, and located just above the present site of 
the Den run church, where he died on March 20, 1885, at the 
age of ninety-three years. 

His last resting place is marked in the Alt. Zion church- 
yard. 

He married a Aliss Wade, and they were the parents of 
the following named children : 

Otho, Peter, and Asbury Zickafoose, Airs. Nimrod Kuy- 



INDIAN CREEK SETTLED 3il 

cleiulall, who went West; Airs. Wm. T. Mitchell. Airs. James 
Westfali, and Mrs. Phebe White. 

Dr. S. H. Zickafoose, of Harrisvilie, is a granclsoti of Mr. 
Zickafoose, and all the other families of the name in the coitntv 
are his descendants. 

An Interesting Reminiscence. — A thrilling reminiscence 
of the "ante-bellum days," whicli comes into our possession 
through a gentleman who was known to the facts herein 
recorded, will doubtless add interest to the conclusion of this 
chapter : 

In the year 1856, on the left bank of this stream near one- 
half mile below the Phillips school-house, stood an old grist- 
mill of the pioneer order, which was designed solely for the 
purpose of manufacturing corn meal for the convenience of 
the citizens of the neighborhood ; and under this same roof 
was an "up-and-down saw," which turned the timber into 
lumber for flooring purposes, etc., for the log houses. 

This old mill was probably built by Barcus Ayres, whose 
name has already found a place in this history, but. however, 
this may have been, while it was playing its part well in the 
affairs of the community, a man by the name -of Sylvester 
Rush, of Pennsylvania, appeared upon the scene, and pur- 
chased this mill. 

He, being a man of considerable shrewdness and enter- 
prise, soon decided that, from a financial standpoint, the manu- 
facture of corn into liquid form would be far more profitable 
than that of meal, so he turned this peaceful old mill into a 
distillery, and it now became the favorite resort of "swine," 
both quadruped and "biped." 

The former growing fat upon the grain that remained 
after the alcohol had been extracted, and the latter, "guzzling 
the swill that was distilled through the 'worm,' all the while 
growing poorer and more like his four-footed companions." 

The price was low, and the proprietor of the establish- 
ment would gladly exchange his liquor for corn, wheat, or 
any of the commodities of the day, so that it w^as no difficult 
task for any one to obtain the desired quantity ; and it was 
no uncommon sight to see a weary, way-worn traveler with a 
sack of corn on his back, going toward the mill, and to see 



312 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

him returning laden with jugs, bottles, coffee-pots or tin- 
buckets of the "stuff." 

It did not seem to be an illicit business, either, as it was 
carried on openly without interference from the law, and it 
seemed to grow and to prosper until it was suddenly wiped 
out of existence by the power of an unseen "Hand." 

Dnring the spring of 1858 or '59, Mr. Rush was joined by 
his iirother, Samuel, who had recently returned from the 
"gold-fields" of California, and together, they were laying 
their plans for a more extensive manufacture of the "soul de- 
stroying stuff," when these plans were suddenly foiled, and 
their unholy work came to an ignominious end. 

It was during the month of April in one of these years, 
amidst a flood-tide in the creek, that Sylvester Rush,, being 
interested in some rafted timber that he wished to market at 
a certain point down the river, secured the services of Asa G. 
Dilworth as pilot, and with his brother. Samuel, set out with 
his raft. 

The}' proceeded without incident until tliey had reached 
the Little Kanawha river, when the raft became unmanage- 
able, and though the three men worked frantically to bring 
it to shore for the night, their efforts were all in vain — the}'- 
were carried into the Ohio river. A cold north wind was 
blowing and soon one of the brothers dropped down exhausted, 
an.d became so benumbed that he was unable to rise. The 
other brother went to his assistance, and not returning to his 
post of duty, Mr. Dilworth groped about in the darkness until 
he found them lying apparently asleep, but kneeling down so 
that he could examine them more closely, he found to his 
horror that both were dead. 

By this time, he, too, was so benumbed with the cold 
that he was unable to rise from his knees, and there bending 
over the lifeless forms of his unfortunate companions, he 
fought with all his might against the stupor that threatened 
to render his bod}' as pulseless as theirs, until the coming 
light, when he was just able to signal some one on shore, who 
came to his rescue at a timely moment. 

Dihvorth, however, recovered sufficiently to accompany 
the remains of the Rushes back to their home, but he long 



INDIA.\ CREEK SETTLED 313 

remembered the horror of that awful experience — perhaps, to 
life's last hour. 

These unfortunate brothers were laid at rest in the 
Haught burying-ground, on this creek, but a few days after 
their interment, their father arrived from Pennsylvania, and 
carried their remains, with those of one of Sylvester Rush's 
children, back to their old home, and the bereaved family of 
Sylvester went along, and thus the Rushes, both dead and liv- 
ing, passed out of the history of tliis county. 

This was the death blow to the distillery business on tliir, 
creek, an attempt was made a little later to revive the v/ork. 
but without success, and the fixtures were hauled away, and 
our informant says that so far as he knows no other such an 
attempt has since been made within the bounds of the county. 
As this county has ever stood firm against licensing such 
"dens of iniquity." 

in incidents like this one can hardly fail to recognize the 
over-ruling power of an Omnipotent Hand. And how grate- 
ful we should be that a protecting power has frowned upon 
the licensing of this greatest curse of the Iranian race in our 
midst through all these years ; and let us hope that the his- 
torian of the next century can still hand this record down to 
generations yet unborn. 

We had scarcely been able to realize tlie blessing of the 
anti-license policy tmtil, a short time since when beyond its 
influence, we were compelled to listen to the riotous voice of 
this evil under the sanction of law. 



314 fflSTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

"Let us hold fast our iategrity" 

One says: 
"It's nothing to me! 

I have no fear my boy will tread 
The downward road of sin and shame, 

And crush my heart and darken his name; 

But— 

"Is it nothing to us to idly sleep, 

While the cohorts of death their vigils keep; 
To gather the young and thoughtless in, 

And grind in our midst a grist of sin?" 
"Yet, it is something for us to stand. 

And clasp by faith our Father's hand 
To learn to labor live and fight 

On the side of God and changeless right." 



M ti)\B IGtltlr (Earner 3 J^lant 



to 



of 



iig Angd iMntl|0r 




Mrs. Jennie Kendall Lowther. 



"She died in the beauty of her youth, and in my 
memory she will always be young and beautiful." 



CHAPTER XXII 



Chevauxdefrise Settled 




wo traditions are in existence as to the 

origin of the name of this stream. The first 

is that a piece of wood filled with iron spikes 

called chevauxdefrise — having once belonged 

to the Indians, was found upon its banks — 

givintr rise to the name ; and the other is, that 

two hunters, being compelled to lie out in the 

cold throughout the night, shivered and froze, and e\-er after 

in referring to the stream they called it "shi\'erdy," hence the 

name. , 

Harmon Sinnett was the first settler. He was a nati\-e of 
Pendleton county, being a son of John Sinnett, and a grand- 
son of Patrick. Tn 1S35, he was married to Miss Frances 
Moats, daughter of George Moats, and during the following 
autumn, took up his residence at the mouth of the creek, on 




Harmon and Frances Moats Sinnett. 



CHErAUXDEFRlSE SETTLED 317 

the land now owned by the heirs of his late son, John P. Sin- 
nett, and the Hall Brothers — the latter being in possession of 
the old home, which is still standing, though unoccupied. 

His services to this community were of a high order. He 
erected the first grist-mill in this section, near 1850 — the well- 
known Sinnett's mill, which stood a little above the mouth of 
Chevauxdefrise, on Indian creek; and which was twice washed 
away by a flood, and was not rebuilt the last time. 

Mr. Sinnett was truly the corner-stone of the Indian creek 
Baptist church ; he having given the grounds and played an 
important part in the erection of the old log church, in 1855, 
which was replaced by the present frame structure in 1890. 
Until the close of his life, which came on March 9, 1904, at 
the home of his daughter, Mrs. Alfred Simmons, on Gillispie's 
run, he was a familiar figure in this community. His beloved 
companion had fallen asleep just twenty-seven hours before 
(on the evening of March 8, 1904). When he was told that 
•'she was no more," he expressed a hope that he might be pet- 
mitted to go with her ; and on the following morning, though 
he seemed in his usual health, he remarked that he might ''yet 
be ready to be buried with her," and that night he closed his 
eyes, and quietly joined her on the other shore. The family, 
hearing him making a slight noise, went to his bedside just in 
time to see him breathe his last. Both were ninety-one years 
of age, and both were laid in one grave, in the Heck cemetery, 
on Gillispie's run. Thus this venerable couple, who had 
traveled hand in hand so far down "the declivity of time," 
were re-united after but a few hours of separation. 

They were the parents of the Rev. James T. Sinnett ; the 
late Mrs. Susan (\Vm.) Heck, Mrs. Mary (Alfred) Simmons, 
Rutherford ; Mrs. Martha (Cyrus) Washburn, the late Mrs. 
Florinda (Harmon) Nottingham, and the late John P. Sin- 
nett, Washburn; Mrs. Harriet (George) Washburn, Harrison 
county; the late Mrs. Frances (B. F.) Cunningham, Cantwell ; 
the late Mrs. Serepta (A. O.) Wilson, Harrisville ; and the late 
Elizabeth Sinnett, of Cairo. 

The Rev. James T. Sinnett was the first merchant in this 
section. He built the store that is now owned by the Hall 
Brothers, in 1870; and was engaged in the mercantile business 



31S HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

here until 1881, when he removed to Smithville, where he still 
clciims his residence. 

On May 12, 1864, he was married to Miss Nancy Jane, 
daughter of Samuel Clevenger, and in 1893, she passed from 
sight; and, on April 28, 1904, their only son. Dr. J. H. ^I. Sin- 
nett, of Smithville, followed her to the grave. Airs. Addie B. 
(John) Stanley, of Slab creek ; and Mrs. Grace Suttle. wife of 
Dr. Bruce Suttle, of Tennessee, are their two daughters. 

The Sinnett's Mill post-office, with Harmon Sinnett post- 
master, came into existence in I860, and went out in 1890. 

Owing to a change in the administration, and an effort to 
carry into effect the Andrew Jackson doctrine, "To the victor 
belongs the spoils," this office was moved to wdiat was con- 
sidered an inconvenient point ; and this change brought about 
a fight, which terminated in the establishment of a new^ office 
under the name of "\\'ashburn," in 1889, and in the dis-con- 
tinuance of Sinnett's jNIill, the following year. 

Joseph Weaver was the second settler on Chevauxdefrise. 
lie built his cabin on the farm that is now the home of Isaac 
Riggs — formerly the "\\'hite homestead." He Avas of German 
descent, and he married ]\Iiss Martha Read, who was born on 
the sea, while her parents were bound for America, and seven 
children were the result of this union. After her death, !Mr. 
Weaver married Miss Malinda Tucker, and was the father of 
seven more children. He met a tragic death at the hands of 
one Nelson Koone during the Civil war (1861), while residing 
on the West Fork river, in Calhoun county — the tragedy oc- 
curring at Annamoriah flats, near three miles from his home — 
and was due, doubtless, to their difference of opinion in re- 
gard to the struggle that was then engaging the attention of 
the North and the South. 

The children of the first union were: the late 'Wis. Silas 
Pettit, Big Bend : Mrs. Katharine Stuart, 3,Irs. Eugene 
Weaver, both of Elizabeth ; Mrs. Alark wSears, John Weaver, 
Burning Springs; Joseph, of Ohio: and Clarinda, who died in 
childhood. All have joined the throng on che other side. 

The children of the second union : Cora died in childhood, 
Charley Avas murdered at Elizabeth ; Rufus died at Burning 
Springs; and George, at Standing Stone; Floyd is a traveling 



OiEl'AUXDEFRISE SETTLED 319 

salesman, and resides in Ohio; j\Irs. Joseph L. Pettit resides at 
Parkersburg. and Airs. Alary Morgan, at Ravenswood. 

Isaac Clarke followed Air. Weaver on the Riggs farm. 
He came from Pennsylvania with his family, and returned 
there after selling this farm to the late distinguished "Alud- 
wall" Jackson, who, shortly after the Civil war, sold it to Ben- 
jamin Starkey, whose family are still identified with the com- 
munity. 

Adam Harris (son of Thomas, after whom Harrisville 
was named) w^as the pioneer on the Amos farm. He married 
A'liss Alargaret Webb, sister of Benjamin, and from Chevaux- 
defrise, they went to the Kennedy farm, at the mouth of 
Lamb's run, where they remained for a number of years, be- 
fore going to the Lemuel Wilson farm, above Smithville, 
where they passed from earth ; and in the Smithville burymg- 
ground they lie at rest. 

Their children were six in number; viz., Thomas lost his 
life in the Civil war; Benjamin, Robert, Airs. Jane (Robert) 
Lucas, Airs. Alartha (Thomas) Alartin, Smithville ; and Airs. 
Rebecca (Joe) Silman, Gilmer county. 

John Harris, brother of Adam, familiarly known as "Sum- 
mer John." was another early settler on this creek. He first 
built a cabin in the \icinity of Alt. Zion, and later removed to 
the Amos farm, and afterwards resided at different places in 
the Washburn vicinitv, and on Husher's run, before going to 
Illinois, where he passed to the "confines of the tomb." His 
wife was Aliss Alargaret Calhoun, niece of Samuel Calhoun, 
and his chief occupation was hunting. 

Ephraim Gulp and his wife. Airs. Julia Aloats Culp, were 
the first to establish a home on the J. O. Kelley — no\v the X. 
E. Conaway — farm. They came here some time during the 
forties, and remained in the immediate vicinity for several 
years, before removing to the North fork of Hughes' river — 
on the Cornwallis road — to the farm that was long designated 
as the "Culp homestead" — later the Plorner. Air. Culp disap- 
peared while on a business trip down the river, and his fate 
was never known, as nothing was ever heard of him again. 

Airs. Culp and her sons, Henry and James, rest at Har- 
risville ; John died while serving as a soldier in the L^nion 



S20 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

army. The other two abo\e mentioned were also soldiers; 
and the daughter, ^Martha, became ]\Irs. Husher. 

Owen Watson and his wife, ■Mrs. Martha Clarke Watson, 
were the second settlers on the Kdlc}- farm, l^ut they went to 
Illinois, where they founded a permanent home near Cherry 
Point. He was an uncle of Dr. J. W. Watson, and a farther 
account of the family will be found in the Harrisville chapter. 

Noah Boston was the first citizen of the George Xangle 
farm. He came from Rockbridge county, Virginia, and finally 
went West. His wife was ]\Iiss Ivathrine AA'ebb, daughter of 
John AA'ebb, senior, of Washburn. 

James Braden, of Pennsylvania, and Charles Ay res, son 
of Jeremiah Ayrcs, were other early settlers on this creek. 
yiv. Braden was the father of Thomas and James Braden, and 
other children, and he died on the Anthony W^agner farm, and 
sleeps in the Indian creek Baptist churchyard. Air. Ayres 
settled the Thomas Hardbarger farm and finally went West. 

Henry H. Amos. — The }'ear 1849 was marked by the com- 
ing of Henry H. Amos and his family, from [Marion count}^ 
to the farm now owned b}^ his son, J. E. Amos. ]Mr. Amos 
was born on July 31, ISIT; and on April 4, 1841, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Malinda Rex, the marriage taking place at her 
home near Fairmont ; and in 1848, they came to this county 
and resided on the Nay farm, for a brief time, before coming 
to Chevauxdefrise, where they both fell asleep — he, in 18S9. 
after a long invalidism, and she, in 1891. Both rest in the 
graveyard at the Chevauxdefrise church. Both having long 
been faithful members of that church. Their children were as 
follows : 

John W. Amos, who now resides at Vandalia, Missouri, 
v.as a soldier in the Civil war, serving under General Sheridan 
in the Valley of Virginia, in Co. K, of the Tenth West V^ir- 
ginia Infantry Volunteers ; the late George W. Amos, of Har- 
risville, who served as County clerk for twent3'-six 3^ears in 
succession. (He married jMiss Laura Hall, and died en 
December 5, 1898, without issue) ; Eli R. Amos, fell asleep 
two weeks later at his home in Southern Missouri ; Airs. Jacob 
Hardbarger, of W^ashburn ; and jMrs. Lydia K. (]. M ) Lovv- 
ther, of Auburn, have also, passed on. Mrs. Alargaret (E. E.) 



CHEVAUXDEFRISE SETTLED :V21 

Cokeley, and ]\Irs. Eliza (P. M.) Jones, reside near Harris- 
ville ; J. E. and Aliss Lizzie, at the old homestead; Mrs. HatUe 
(S. C.) Foster, at Vandalia, Alissouri ; and W. H. has a furni- 
Lure and undertaking establishment at Auburn. 

The Ameses are of German origin. Their ancestors came 
from the Fatherland, near the middle of the seventeenth cen- 
tury ; but the authentic and connected history of this famih' 
begins prior to the Revolutionary war, when Henry Amos, 
senior — grandfather of Henry, of Ritchie county, came to 
Monongalia county, where, in 1790. he was married to Miss 
Dorcas Flail, of Pennsylvania, wdiose parents came from Dela- 
ware. 

In 181(5, their second son, George, married Miss Idna 
HaAvkins,^ a descendant of an old English family ; her grand- 
father having come from England to the Virginia colony as 
early as 1750; and from him the Ritchie county families are 
descended. He was a soldier of the war of 1813, and was the 
father of thirteen children ; viz., Henry, of Ritchie county, 
was the eldest son ; the late Asel, of Pennsboro ; George, of 
White Oak ; Bennett, Tracy, Edgar, Stephen, and Jehu, who 
died in early manhood, were the other sons; Mrs. George 
Smith of Weston — mother of the Rev. G. D. Smith, of the W^est 
Virginia M. E. conference; Mrs. Zana Saterfield, of Bellaire, 
Ohio; Mrs. I\F Shumley, of Marion county; Mrs. Rhoda Snbd- 
grass, Illinois; and the late Mrs. Elizabeth (Wm.) Bell, of 
Marion county, were the daughters. 

Thomas Smailwood W'ilson was the first denizen of the 
lames farm. He was born in Monongalia county, in 1784, 
and there he was married to Miss Hannah Camp, daughter oi 
Adam Camp, and in 1843, he came to this county, and settled 
on the Michaels' farm, near Oxford, for a brief time, before 
coming to the lames homestead. He was of Scotch-Irish 
descent, his father. Thomas, senior, being a native of Scotland 
(he liaving crossed the ocean after his eldest son, Joseph, was 
born). 

This pioneer was a lum.ber merchant, and while on a trip 
to Cincinnati, in 1848, he contracted cholera, and by the time 
he had reached Parkersburg, on his return, he was stricken 



'The other Hawkins of the covinty belong to this family. 



322 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

with the fatal malady, and died there ; and was laid at rest 
near the present site of the B. & O. depot, at that place. I\Irs. 
Vv'ilson died at the P. R. Tharp homestead, on Indian run, in 
1856, and in the Drake burying-ground, on the County farm, 
she sleeps. 

Their children were ten in number: the late John M., 
Freeport, Wirt county; Mrs. Aliranda (Elias) Summers, Slab 
creek; W'm. L. AA'ilson, [Monongalia county, who died at the 
home of his daughter, near Grantsville : Mrs. JNIary Ann 
(John) Lough, Illinois; Joseph, of Doddridge county; Mrs. 
Lucy Ann (Alanly) Zinn, Holbrook : ]\Irs. Melissa Simmons, 
Auburn ; Isaac Van Buren, Indian creek — the oniy survivor 
of the family ; Thomas Peter, also of Indian creek, and Israel, 
who died in youth. 

All of the family were born in r^^Ionongalia county. 

John M, Wilson, son of Thomas ^l., above mentioend, 
was the first to make an improvement on the farm that passed 
into the hands of Ransom Kendall, in 18J:9. Pie married Miss 
Sarah Reed, of Alonongalia countv, and from here thev went 
to Marion county, and finally to Freeport. A\'irt county, where 
he rests. He was a minister of the Isl. P. church, having 
served various charges in "\\'est Virginia and Ohio; was pas- 
tor of the Freeport circuit at the time of his death. 

He had seven children : Thomas, ]\Iary, Alelissa, Caro- 
line, and Jackson have all joined the hosts on the other side : 
Nathaniel and I\Irs. Ellen Barker, live in Ohio ; and [Mrs. Leone 
Hammond, in AA'irt county. 

Ransom Kendall. — In 1849, Ransom Kendall purchased 
the improvement that had been made by J. M. \\'ilson. and 
took up his residence here, where he remained until he "'passed 
through the Gates," on October 1?. 1887. And near two years 
later this old homestead became the property of J. [M. Leggett. 
who sold it to Mr. Davisson. the present ov^^ner. 

[Mr. Kendall was born in [Marion county, on [March "28, 
1816 ; and there, on August 27, 1838, he was married to [Miss 
Lydia Rex, daughter of Eli and. Sarah Hall Rex, who vv-as 
born in Penns3-lvania. on August 25, 1820, but with her 
parents removed to [Marion county, when she was but a child 
of two summers. He and his Avife were both loval members 



CHEJ'AUXDEFRISE SETTLED :^23 

of the Methodist Episcopal church for ahnost a half-century 
^were pillars in the church at Chevauxdefrise from the time 
of its institution until the close of their lives. They gave the 
grounds for the church and cemetery and were important 
factors in the erection of the first church, near 1S67. And 
their son, John, who died in childhood, filled the first grave 
that was made in this cemetery, in October, 1857. 

Mrs. Kendall died on September 25, 1888. Her last mo- 
ments were full' of triumph, her last words were an expression 
of praise. 

AV'eli does the writer remember that impressive hour, as 
one by one she bade us adieu, and admonished us to meet her 
beyond the "Gate fjeautiful." which she was just then enter- 
ing. 

On the old homestead, beside her husband, she is sleeping. 

The children of this household were fourteen in number, 
seven boys and seven girls : 

The late Dr. James Emery Ivendall, who was for a num- 
ber of years a prominent physician of Parkersburg, was the 
eldest son. He served as assistant surgeon of the Eleventh 
West Virginia Infantry Volunteers during the Civil war, and 
at one time, later in life, represented the West Virginia Med- 
ical Fraternity at the International Association at London, 
and while there was presented with a medal by the late 
Queen Victoria, which is now a valued possession of his 
family. 

The late Amos Kendall, of Tonganoxie. Kansas, was, also, 
a soldier of the Civil war : and Eli Rex lost his life in defense 
of the Union, at Beverly, on July 3, 1863, and in the National 
cemetery, at Grafton, he reposes. 

Jasper Newton, who was at one time superintendent of 
the schools of this county, has for a number of years been 
prominently identified among the Methodist Episcopal church 
ministers of the South and West; he having been a member 
of the Tennessee, Texas. Oklahoma, Colorado, and Idaho con- 
ferences. William Alpheus is a physician of Crescent City, 
Oklahoma. John, as above mentioned, has been sleeping in 
the churchyard, since his childhood; and Marcellus Allen, the 
youngest son, who is of Parkersburg, served one term as State 



324 HISTORY OF RirCHIE COUNTY 

Treasurer, and is now doing service as United States Bank 
Examiner/ 

The daughters are : I\Irs. Anarie ( D. S.) Cox, who re- 
sides on part of the old homestead on this creek ; ]\Irs. Sarah 
Kathrine Alitchell Mason, PuUman ; Mrs. ^lary L. Lowther 
(wife of the late Dr. J. G. Lowther), Parkersburg ; ]\Irs. 
Martha L. ( L. C. ) Jones, Clarendon, Texas; Mrs. Bertha 
Blanche Kelley (wife of Dr. \\\ C. Kelley), ]\Iorgantown ; the 
late IMrs. Alaria Louisa Davis (wife of the Rev. D. H. Davis, 
of the AL P. church) ; and Jennie, the late wife of W. G. Low- 
ther, of Fonsoville. 

The Kendalls are of English origin. In Westmoreland 
county. England, is a river named "Kent," whose valley is 
known as the "Kentdale." Here in the town of Kirby-Ken- 
dal, or Kendale, as it was formerly spelled, lived one of the 
"big families of Westmoreland," who became generally known 
as the Kendal, Kendall, or Kendale family." Hence the origin 
of the name." 

Ln County Cornwall to-day there is a family of the same 
name who came from Treworgy centuries ago, and while their 
ancestry is not traceable to Kirby-in-Kendall, it is quite prob- 
able that they hailed from the same stock. 

Eleanor Lexington, in her "Colonial Families," says : 

"The Kendall family bears the proud distinction of hav- 
ing sent more men.ibers, perhaps, than any other fam.ily to 
the British parliament. At all events it has sent as many." 

The first record we have of the name in America begins 
with George Kendall, a member of the first Jamestown Coun- 
cil, who crossed the water with this little colony in 1607; but 
the Ritchie family, and the numerous others scattered 
throughout the L'nion to-day, trace their origin to members 
of the famih" who crossed a little later. 

According to Miss Lexington two brothers, Francis and 
Thomas Kendall, who were born in England, came to the 
Western world before the year 1640, and settled in the I\Iass- 
achusetts Bay Colony. 

Francis went to AA'oburn, Massachusetts, then known as 
Charlestown, where he was married to Alarv Tidd, but he 



^See Young-er Men's Calendar. 



CHEJ'AUXDEFRISE SETTLED o25 

later removed to Reading. He had four sons and five daugh- 
ters, and thus gave the family name quite a start in the New 
World. By the year 1S58, eight of his line had been gradu- 
ated from Harvard, three from the College of Xew England, 
and one brave member had been killed as a witch. Amos 
Kendall, the statesman, who served as Postmaster-General 
under President Andrew Jackson's administration, and George 
Wilkins Kendall, the journalist, who died at Oak Springs, 
Texas, in 1867, belonged to the family of Francis. 

Thomas settled at Lynn, Massachusetts, where he was 

married to Rebecca , and about the year 1653. he also 

removed to Reading, where he died in 1681, leaving behind 
him a reputation for manliness, and for a highly religious 
character. 

He had no son that reached the 3^ears of maturity, but lie 
left eight daughters. \\ho lamented the fact that "so good a 
surname as theirs could not be preserved," so they met in 
council and decided that the first born son of each should 
bear the name of "Kendall," and as a result there Avas Ken- 
dall Pearson, Kendall Eaton, etc. 

One of the biographers of these families says ■ 

"The descendants of these pious Puritans have spread 
themselves over the length and the breadth of this countr}^ 
as pioneers and settlers — waking the forests and plains from 
their long sleep. Some were eminent divines, some were dis- 
tinguished lawyers and jurists, and others were journalists, 
statesmen, authors and travelers." 

The tradition of our own branch of the family, as well as 
that of the Ohio branch, says thai three brothers crossed at 
the same time, and that the third one settled in Virginia ; and 
from him the Kendalls of Ohio and both Virginias are de- 
scended. But as Virginia has been visited by fires which 
have swept away some of her records, the given name of the 
founder of this family is missing. However, our record begins 
v.ith William Kendall, senior, whose son, William Kendall, 
junior, was married to Miss Jemima Kirk, on May 10, 1738, 
in Stafford county, Virginia. 

This couple (\\'illiam and Jemima) were the parents of 
ten children : Jesse, Thomas, George, Anne. John, \\'illiani, 



320 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Samuel, Mary Anne, Elizabeth, and Jeremiah. And one of 
these sons, which one cannot be determined, crossed the 
mountains from the "Old Dominion" and settled in Marion 
county, not far from the time of the birth of his youngest son, 
James Kendall, in 1784. His family consisted of six other 
sons, besides James, who scattered to Ohio, Indiana and Ken- 
tucky (with perhaps an exception or two), but James re- 
mained at the old homestead in ]\rarion county, where he died 
in 1S6S, and where he lies buried. 

James Kendall was married to ^Nliss Kathrine Shuman, 
who was born in the Fatherland, and, with her parents, came 
to Pennsylvania at the age of tAvelve years. The family were 
six months in crossing and several of the children died on 
board the ship and were buried beneath the waves in order to 
avoid the danger from the sharks. 

Kathrine died at her home in 3Jarion county, in 1848, and 
sleeps beside her husband on the old homestead. 

This family consisted of two sons and seven daughters; 
viz.. Ransom, the head of the Ritchie county family; Jere- 
miah, of Tyler county ; Rachel, and Orpha, who died in youth ; 
Zilpah (Mrs. Aaron Kearns), Xancy (Mrs. James Kearns), 
Sarah (Mrs. Levi Shuman), Kathrine (Mrs. William Hayes), 
and Anarie, who married Asel Amos. All left families, ex- 
cept ]^Irs. Amos. 

Jeremiah Kendall, the younger son of William, junior, 
and Jemima Kirk, served as a member of the Continental 
forces for five years du.ring the Anierican Revolution, and was 
with General Anthony Wayne in his campaign against the 
Indians for two years, being at the battle of Maumee, and at 
the treaty of Greenville. He carried to his grave nine scars 
from musket-ball wounds which he sustained in battle. After 
the Revolution, he sold his interests in Virginia; and with his 
wife and two children and their sole belongings, emigrated to 
Pennsylvania on horseback, and settled on the old "National 
Road," in Fayette county, between Brownsville and Union- 
town, where he died in 1843, and where some of his descend- 
ants now live. 

He was the father of the late General William Kendall, 
of Ohio, who served under General Harrison at Tippecanoe, 



CHErAUXDEfRISE SETTLED 327 

and was a soldier of the war of 1812 ; was the grand-uncle of 
Ransom Kendall ; and Ransom's only brother was named for 
him. 

The family are in some way related to General Wayne, 
and Jeremiah Kendall fell heir to the spurs, watch-chain and 
boot-hooks of this distinguished warrior, who is better known 
as "Mad Anthony," and these invaluable relics are still cher- 
ished in his family, they having been handed down from father 
to eldest son for five generations, until they have now reached 
Kendall Overturf, of Columbus, Ohio. 

Thomas Kendall, who came from Settle, Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, in 17<)n. is said to have been the founder of the Penn- 
sylvania branch of the family. 

Old Record. — As these old records are rare and of inestim ■ 
able value, we insert this one: 

^Marriages of the sons of William Kendall, senior, of Vir- 
ginia : 

1 — William Kendall, junior, married Jemima Kirk on May 
10, n38. 

2— James Iventiall married Mary Coitey on February 35, 
1745. 

3 — George Kendall married Cathrine Kelley, June 5, 1748. 

4 — Joshua Kendall married Cathrine Smith, April 4, 1749. 

5 — John Kendall married Margaret Keys, January 9, 1752. 

Family of William, junior, and Jemima Kirk Kendall: 

1 — Jesse Kendall born October 4, 1740. 

2— Thomas Kendall born May 27, 1742. 

3 — George Kendall born January 13, 1744. 

4 — Anne Kendall born December 6, 1745. 

5 — John Kendall born March 21, 1748. 

6 and 7 — William and Samuel (twins), August 30, 1749. 

8 — Mary Anne, April 9, 1752. 

9— Elizabeth. April 1. 1754. 
10 — -Jeremiah (of Penn.), February 6, 1758. 

(One of these brothers was the grandfather of Ransoni 
Kendall.) 

Children of Joshua and Cathrine Smith Kendall : Jesse, 
born August 21, 1751; Joshua, born May 27, 1753; Nancy, 
born December 19, 1755 ; and Betty, born February 22, 1758. 



328 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Children of James and Alary Coffey Kendall : John, born 
February 26, 1749; Jesse, born June ID, 1750; Bailey, born 
October S, 1755 ; Moses and Aaron are also said to have be- 
longed to this family. 

Children of John and Cathrine Keys Kendall: Samuel 
B., January 1, 1753; Charles, born September 17, 1754; anl 
Elizabetli, born February 11, 1758. 

A\'e have no record of the children of Joshua and Cathrine 
Smith Kendall. 

Note. — The tradition handed down to us concerning the 
coming of the Kendalls to America is that three brothers 
crossed in Colonial times; One settled in the Pine forests of 
Maine; one in the "City of Brotherly Love," and the other, in 
Virginia, but as Miss Lexington's information seemed more 
definite than ours concerning the i)lace of settlement in Xew 
England, we have given hers the first place, but we still credit 
the coming of the third one to the "Old Domin.ion." We are 
also indebted to her for the origin of the name. 

The information of the Kendalls of Ohio comes to us 
from the great-granddaughter of Jeremiah Kendall, Mrs. Ella 
Kendall Overturf, of Columbus, Ohio, she havino- sent us a 
copy of an old manuscript written by her grandfather, the late 
General William Kendall, and to her we- owe our thanks fcjr 
this old record. 

The Rexes. — As quite a nturiber of the people of this 
county are descended from the • Rex family, a brief mention 
of their origin in America will perhaps add interest m this 
connection. 

This family are of Welsh descent; and from Mapleton, 
Pennsylvania, their original home on this side of the water, 
they migrated to Marion county. The father lost his life in 
the struggle for Independence, as he was never heard of after 
the close of the war. but he left a family of four sons and 
three daughters ; \iz.. Eli Rex, who married Sarah Hall, and 
was the father of Mrs. Kendall and Mrs. Amos; Jonathan, 
John, and Jesse were the other sons. One of the daughters, 
Elizabeth, became Mrs. Fast, and she was the grandmother 
of J. E. Ferrell, of Burnt House ; Rebecca first married a 
Price, and was the mother of the late Mrs. John Leggett, of 



CHEl'AUXDEFRISE SETTLED 329 

Pullman ; the late Mrs. J eremiah Snodgrass, of Harrisville ; 
and the late Mrs. Rachel Troy, and her second married name 
was Ice. Mary Rex died in youth. 

William Cokeley. — Shortly after the coming of Har- 
mon Sinnett. William Cokeley made the first settlement at 
Mt. Zion, where his only daughter, Mrs. Salem Duckworth, 
now lives. He was a native of Ilampshire county, and soon 
after h.is arrival in tliis count}^ with his parents, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Hannah Starr, sister of James Starr, and at Mt. 
Zion they founded their home, and remained until death 
closed their eyes. He died on February 12, 1888, at the age 
of seventy-four years, one month, twelve days. His wife 
was born on Indian creek, on September 5, 1816, and died on 
May 12, 1895. 

They were Christians of the United Brethren churcli 
faith, and Mr. Cokeley might be styled -the "Father" of the 
Mt. Zion church : for he gave the grounds and played no 
small part in. tlie erection of the first church home here in 
1859, and beneath the shadow of the present building, which 
was erected in ISDJ:, he lies in his last sleep beside his com- 
panion. 

Nimrod Kuykendall was the first citizen of the farm 
formerly owned by J. N. Kendall and C. W. Leggett, but now 
the property of A\"illiam A\'ilson. Mr. Kuykendall and his 
wife. Kathrine Zickafoose, sister of the late Asbury Zicka- 
foose, came from Pocahontas county in the early fifties, and 
after the Civil war, removed to the West. He and his son, 
Jacob, were soldiers of the Civil war; and Jacob, who v^^as 
Captain of Company K of the Tenth West Virginia Infantry. 
lost his life at the battle of Cedar creek, on October 19, 1864, 
and his father was commissioned to take his place. His last 
resting-place is marked by a marble slab in the Mt. Zion 
churchvard. The other son, Samuel, went West. 



CHAPTER XXIII 




Slab Creek Settled 

^gj^,^ HIS creek derived its name from a hunter'^* 
camp, which was constructed of slabs, and 
stood upon its banks. 

John Cain^ was the first citizen to pen- 
etrate its forest. He came from Harrison 
county, as early as 1S18, and reared his 
lowly dwelling on the farm that for long 
years was designated as the "Lewis Maxwell homestead," 
now the property of W . E. Hall, at Pullman. 

We know but little of his early history, except that he 
was an inmate of the old "Xutter fort'" at C'arksburg. during 
his bo3diood days, A\hen the citizens of that vicinity were 
compelled to take refuge from the savage foe. within its pro- 
tecting walls. 

We have been unable to secure a record of his family, 
but he was the grand-uncle of J. R. Lowther. of Pullman : and 
the father of the late Harrison, and RpcL;e, Edith, Xancy, and 
Dorinda Cain. His descendants in this county are quite 
numerous, however. 

John Shores, w'hose history will be found in the Spruce 
creek chapter, vvas the first settler at the mouth of this creek : 
but we have no account of any other contemporary settlers 
with Cain, whose coming antedates that of Shores by a num- 
ber of years. But not a few, however, whose names belong 
to this chapter, and whose descendants are still identified 
with the citizenship of the vicinity, came here in the thirties 
and in the forties, and redeemed their homes from their primi- 
tive wilderness. 



^John Cain i* said to have been a brother of David Cain, whose his- 
tory appears with the South Fork settlers. 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED 331 

Daniel V. Cox was the first settler at the forks of Slab 
creek, where his son, Floyd Cox, now lives. He was born iii 
Harrison county, on Alarch 10, 1809 ; and was the son of 
Phillip and Christiana Stille Cox. 

He married ]\Iiss Mahala Ward, of Harrison county, sis- 
ter of the late [Martin Ward, who was born in 1812; and in 
1835, they came to the mouth of Bone creek, where they re- 
mained until 1845, when they removed to Slab creek. 

]\Ir. Cox was the first merchant at the mouth of Bone 
creek, he and his brother, Phillip, being partners in this busi- 
ness. They also opened a tailor-shop here with John Shores,^ 
a Dutchman, wdio died at the home of Col. Cox in the early 
sixties, as tailor. This was, doubtless, the first tailor-shop 
in the countv. 

Col. Cox, as he n^as generally known, was Colonel of the 
^lilitia from the time of the organization of the county, until 
a short time before his death in the sixties. He recruited a 
company, of volunteers, early in the Civil war, but owing to 
his failing health did not go into active service. But three of 
his sons took up arms in defense of the Union : (John, Taylor, 
and J. E.) 

Col. Cox, like many of the otlier pioneers, was a man of 
indomitable courage, and of great daring. His daring being 
scarcely second to that of Israel Putnam, when he descended 
the wolfe's den and shot the animal by the glaring light of 
its own eye, as the following incident will illustrate : 

When Robert Sommerville reared his cabin on Bone 
creek, he had to get his help from Harrison and Lewis coun- 
ties ; and during the night, after the cabin had been erected, 
there fell a tracking snow ; and on the following morning, 
when the little party started for their homes, they discovered 
three panthers' tracks in the snow% near a mile beyond the 
Gilmer county line; and following the tracks the}^ were led 
to a ledge of rocks where the animais were securely housed. 
They tried for several houjrs to smoke them out, but all in 
vain, and all but Col. Cox decided to give it up and to go on 
home; but he said, "No, gentlemen, those panthers must come 

•Shores had no family, and i.s not known to be connected to the pio- 
neer of the same name. 



332 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

out of there." And despite their remonstrances, with a pine 
torch in one hand, and a huge kni^e in the other, he started 
in after them, telling his companions to be ready with their 
guns to fire should they come out : but after some delay to 
their intense relief, they heard him coming, and he soon ap- 
peared dragging his prey after him, the animals having per- 
ished from the efifects of the smoke. 

He sleeps on his old homestead on Slab creek, beside his 
wife, who died in 1899. 

He was the father of ten children: 

W. Floyd, and Airs. Louisa (W'm.) Bane, the late H. C. 
and j. E., all of Slab creek; the late John AL, of Burnt 
House ; D. S., Chevauxdefrise ; A\'. Taylor, Calhoun county ; 
\\". E., Alvin A^'.. and Phillip, all died in 3-oath. 

Phillip Cox, brother of Col. Cox, was also identified with 
the county's earl}^ history, he being a surveyor in this and ad- 
joining counties as early as 1820 ; and, as already mentioned, 
he was a partner in the mercantile business with hjs brother 
at the mouih of Bone creek, in 1835 ; though he did not take 
up his residence here until 1847, when he removed to Blarris- 
vilie, and took charge of the "Franklin hotel," where he re- 
mained until 18.j-^. He finally went lo Cox's mill, in Gilmer 
county, where he died on December 19, 1876. at the age of 
seventy-six years, he having been born, on July 20, 1800. He 
at one time represented Braxton and Lewis counties in the 
General Assembly at Richmond. 

He married Aliss Susan Kniseley, daughter of George, 
and sister of the late John Kniseley, of Auburn, and in the 
Auburn cemetery, beside his wife, he sleeps. 

He was the father of D. W. Cox, of A\'ashburn, and of 
the following other sons and daughters : Oliver P. Cox, of 
Cox's mill ; George Kniseley Cox : Isaac, of Clay county ; 
John, of Kansas Cit}^ ; Airs. Josephine (Hamilton) Xorman, 
Spokane. AA'ashington ; Airs. Elizabeth (Anthony) Wagner, 
of Washburn — mother of "Al" A\'agner, Berea ; Airs. Alary 
Snodgrass, wife of the late Rev. Elisha L. Snodgrass, of Au- 
burn : Airs. Rodenia (Thomas) Williams, Kansas City, all of 
whom have passed on, save D. \\'.. O. P., and Airs. Norman. 

The Coxes have a distinguished ancestral line, which 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED 333 

the}^ trace back to Dr. Daniel Cox, of London, who was the 
Royal family's physician when Queen Anne was on the throne 
(from 1T02-1T1J:), he being a cousin of the Queen. 

Dr. Daniel Cox had three sons, Isaac, John, and Daniel, 
junior, who came to the New Jersey colony at a very earl}' 
day, and from these three brothers, nearly all of the Coxes in 
the United States are said to be descended. From Isaac the 
Ritchie county line comes ; but the generations from him to 
the Isaac that came to Harrison county, are about six or 
seven, and the heads of the line down are alternately "Isaac" 
and "Phillip," and it is quite difiicult to niake the matter 
clear. However, Isaac Cox, the Harrison county pioneer, 
was born in Xew Jersey in 1731. He was the son of Phillip 
and Hannah Trembly Cox — the youngest and only son that 
lived to rear a family. 

Isaac Cox, the first, iu- making a disposition of his prop- 
erty, had willed all his immense fortune to his eldest son. 
Phillip, thus setting a precedent that was adhered to for 
seven generations. But Isaac Cox. the Harrison county pio- 
neer (being the youngest of the family as above stated), be- 
came the legatee of the property, owing to the fact that he 
was the only survivor of the family. His brothers, having 
gone some distance from home to make an improvement, in 
advance of the settlement, and raise a crop, pitched their tent 
near a fine spring from wdiich they got water for constant 
use, and in a short time they all sickened and died; and upon 
investigation, it was found that the water came from a cop- 
per-mine, and thus was poisonous. Isaac being but a lad, and 
drinking here and there where he chanced to be herding the 
stock, escaped death. 

Isaac Cox married Miss Sarah Sutton, of New Jersey, 
and after the Revolution, perhaps, near 1790, came to Harri- 
son county, and settled at the mouth of Kincheloe's creek. 
He died in 1838, at the age of one hundred seven years, and 
in the "Broad Run cemetery," in Lewis county, beside his 
wife, he lies at rest. His father died in New Jersey, in 1797, 
at the age of one hundred twelve vears. 

They (Isaac and Sarah Sutton) were the parents of five 
children : Phillip, Avho sleeps in Ritchie county ; John and 



334 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Mrs. Sarah (John) Tingle}', Ohio ; Mrs. Hannah (Joseph) 
Smith, Harrison county ; and Isaac, of Chestnut Grove, Cal- 
houn county. 

Phillip Cox married Miss Christiana Stille, and was the 
father of Col. Daniel, the Ritchie county pioneer, and of nine 
other children; viz., Isaac P.; John, of Ohio; David S., Han- 
nah, Phillip, Pluldah, who became Mrs. Hezekiah D. Tharpe, 
and went to Iowa ; Sarah, who was Mrs. Timothy Tharpe, of 
Auburn ; James S., and Levi, who sleeps in Doddridge coun- 
ty. All the Coxes in this and adjoining counties came from 
this family. 

Phillip and his wife Ciiristiana died at the home of their 
son. Col. Daniel V. Cox, on Slab creek, and here they sleep. 
He was born in 1760, and died in 185i. She died in 1856, at 
the age of ninety-two years. 

Enoch, B. Leggett. — Thomas Stevens built the first dwell- 
ing on the farm that is now owned by Mrs. Cynthia Lowther, 
at Pullman. He came from JNIonongalia county and went to 
Alarion, where he died. But Enoch B. Leggett purchased 
this slight improvement in 1845, and moved into the rude 
cabin until a better one could be constructed. 

jJr. Leggett was born in Monongalia county, in 1811, 
and near the 3'\ear 1835, he was married to Miss Sarah Athey, 
of Marion count}-, and in her native county, they remained 
until they came to Slab creek, where he played an important 
part in the early afl:airs of the community. He was one of 
the charter members of the first church organization here ; 
was the donor of the grounds for the church and the ceme- 
tery, known as "Bethel," or "Old Slab," and was one of the 
principal factors in its erection. 

From here he removed to the Harrisville vicinity, near 
one mile north-east, where he was engaged in the milling 
business until his property was destroyed by fire, in 1871; 
and in a few years after this, he went to Holbrook. where he 
was again engaged as miller for a time. Here death en- 
tered his home and carried away his beloved wife, and he 
then made his home with his children until his death, at the 
home of his son, E. A. Leggett, near Oxford, in 1886. His 
last moments were full of triumph, he having been permitted 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED 335 

to catch a glimpse of the glorious over there, before he closed 
his eyes to earth. Side by side lie and his wife slumber in 
the Pullman churchyard. Here, too, rests his daughters 
Harriet, Martha, and his son, Nelson, who died in childhood." 
The other members of the family are as follows: Afrs. Anna 
(T. E.) Davis, Mrs. Jennie Amos Tarleton, Harnsville : 
Marion Leggett, Ravenswood ; E. A., Oxford ; and the late 
Mrs. Nancy (James) Davis, Harrisville ; the late Mrs. Alarv 
(A. K.) Athey, Marion county; and the late Mrs. Kathrine 
(Smith) Gaston, Doddridge county. 

Airs. Tarleton and Marion Leggett have both passed on 
since the above was written. 

John Leggett, brother of Enoch, made the first improve- 
ment on the farm that is now owned and occupied by his 
son, C. W. Leggett. He was born in Marion county, on 
September 3, LS-?5, and there on April 1(3, 1846, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Mary Price, daughtei of Charles Price, and in 
September, 1848, they removed to Slab creek, where their 
lives came to a close. Mrs. Leggett was born on August 15, 
1828, and died in 1896 ; and he survived until September 28, 
1906. Both -lie in the AMiite Oak churchyard, as do their 
sons, James N., and Francis M. Leggett. 

Their other children are: C. W., Pullman; AI. Jackson, 
and V. Elbert, Harrisville ; and Airs. Kathrine Rebecca (T. 
A.) Prunty, Chrisman, Illinois. 

The Leggetts are of English origin. James Leggett came 
from England before the American Revolution and settled in 
Rockingham county, Virginia, and from there removed to 
what is now Alonongalia county. West Virginia. It is not 
known whether he was a soldier of the Continental army or 
not, but he was a noted Indian fighter, and not lono- after his 
removal to the "Little Alountain State," he started eastward 
on a journey, and nothing was ever heard of him again, and 
thus his history ends. But he had several sons : John, 
James, Thomas, George, and Isaac, and perhaps, others, and 
one daughter at least. This daughter, Elizabeth, became 
Airs. Arnett, of Arnettsville, Alarion county, and she lived 
to reach the century mark; and her daughter, Airs. Alary 
Glasscock, reached the age of one hundred five years. She is 



336 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

said to have been the ancestor of Governor Glasscock, but we 
cannot verify this, however. 

James went to Cohmii)us, Ohio, near the year 18"35, and 
there, and, perhaps, in other parts of the West his descend- 
ants Hve. 

Thomas and George ( ?) Leggett crossed the Allegheny 
mountains into Western Virginia in Indian times, and all 
trace of them was lost, but during the Civil war, James Leg- 
gett, the brother of Enoch, met with Thomas' son, James, 
who was serving as a soldier from a Western state ; and 
"Border Warfare" relates the story of a party of drovers 
from Dunkard and Fish creeks who were overtaken by the 
Indians in September, 1791, while on their way to Marietta 
to market their cattle; and Jesse Hughes alone escaped to 
tell the tragic tale. "George Leggett" was a member of this 
party, and as he was never heard of again, he is supposed to 
have shared the fate of the rest. It is not positively known 
that he was a member of this family, but there can scarcely 
be a reasonable doubt of it. 

Isaac Leggett was but a half-brother of the others, and 
he is the ancestor of the Doddridge county branch; and John, 
of the Ritchie county family. 

John Leggett, senior, whose history is of more moment 
to us, was twice married. His first wife, whose name is 
wanting, met a tragic death b}^ a fall early in their wedded 
life, and he then married Miss Kathrine Barrick, who was 
born in Germany, and with her parents crossed the water to 
Rockingham county, Virginia, at the age of nine years. Plere 
she grew to young womanhood; and here on September 11, 
ISO?, she took the marriage vovv. She w-as a sister of Adam 
Barrick, who was at one time a resident of Harrisville, and 
her death occurred in ^Marion county, at the age of sixty-one 
years. Her old German Bible is now the treasured heirloom 
of her granddaughter, ^Irs. T. E. Davis, of Harrisville. 

Some time after her death, perhaps, in the early fifties, 
Mr. Leggett came to this county and resided on the Flan- 
nagan farm, above Berea, for several years. He died on 
February 14, 18fi'?, at the age of eighty-four years, and rests 
at Duckworth summit. 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED '627 

He was the father of a large family of sons and daugh- 
ters, who nearly all have descendants in this county : 

]\Irs. Mary (C. W.) Batson, of Marion county (mother 
of tlie late W. H. Batson, of Berca) ; Mrs. Sarah (Thomas) 
Bane, Farmington (mother of the late Wm. Bane, Pullman) ; 
jMrs. Elizabeth (Zubulon) Bee, Berea ; Mrs. IMargaret (Dick- 
erson) Wood, Marion county; Mrs. Casandra (Henry) Good- 
win, Berea ; Elethean, who first married William Dixon, of 
Pennsboro, and after his death, Powell Calhoun, formerly of 
this county, but later of Tyler; Enoch B., and John, the pio- 
neers of this county ; James, V\^ho resided here but removed 
to Alissouri shortly after his service as a soldier in the Union 
army, where he died in 1903; Thomas, who resided at Toll- 
gate, also, went to Missouri shortly after the Civil war ; and 
Jacob died in youth. 

Note. — Some conflicting statements have confronted us 
in this data, but we iiave given it according to what we con- 
sidered the best authority. One is that the original Leggett's 
name was Isaac, or John, instead of James. 

Jonathan McKinley was another worthy pioneer here. 
He came from Harrison county, in 1850, and redeemed the 
"McKinley homestead" from its primitive wilderness ; and 
for almost sixty years his family have been identified with 
this community. Pie Avas a native of Monongalia county ; the 
son of Thomas and Sarah Stuart McKinley. who later re- 
moved to Harrison county, where they sleep. He was of 
Highland Scotch stock. His grandfather, John McKinley, 
came from Scotland to the Virginia colony, perhaps, near the 
middle of the eighteenth century ; and, doubtless, served as 
a Revolutionary soldier, as he was an officer in one of the 
Virginia regiments. He was a noted Indian fighter, and 
while on an expedition against the Delawares (with near 
two hundred other men from the Monongalia settlements), 
in 17S2, he was captured and beheaded, by the savages. Ir. 
was on this expedition, and near the same time that Col. 
Crawford met his cruel, tragic, death at the hands of the in- 
human monsters. As he (Col. Crawford) passed along in 
captivity, he witnessed the death of John McKinley and his 
four companions. 



338 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Jonathan McKinley married IsVxzs Elizabeth Rector, i" 
Pruntytovvn, wlio was of Dutch descent, and the;, were the 
parents of nine children: William, of Pullman; Eli, of H.-'i- 
ri.•^vilie ; Thomas, of Roane county ; John, of Pennsboro : 
Marion, of Harrison county; Mrs. Rebecca .\. (Saul) Som- 
merville, Plarrison county; Mrs. Juliet (David ^ Owens. \Vood 
county; Mrs. Harriet (James R. ) Lowther, Pullman; and 
Mrs. Jane Lowther. Pennsboro. The last two mentioned 
alone survive. Jane, first married Robert Lowther and after 
his death, she married his Ijrother, William L Lowther. 

Mr. and Mrs. McKinley rest at Pullman. 

The late Homer JJ. ^dcKinley, of Salem, wlio was so 
prominently knoAvn in different parts of the state, was a 
member of this famil}-, he being the son of E!i, and ]\Irs.. 
Dorinda Lowther McKinley, and the grandson of Jonathan. 
He attended the McKinley reunion at the Kansas State build- 
ing, at the W'orld's Fair at Chicago, on September 13, 1893. 
in which the late President [McKinley, wdio was then Gover- 
nor of Ohio, and other distinguished gentlemen of the name 
from the United States, Canada, and Scotland, participated 
(giving interesting reminiscences of the origin and historv 
of the family), and thus he learned that his ancestors sprang 
from the same Scottish stock, as did those of the late Presi- 
dent McKinley. 

Joseph Wilson was another early settler on this creek, 
beiow Pullman. He was of Scotch-Irish descent, and was a 
native of Ireland, haA-ing been i3orne in 1804; and with hi:-^- 
parents removed to Kentucky in his youth. At the age of 
twenty-one years, he came to this county, where he was mar- 
ried to Miss [\Iary Cain, daughter of David Cain, who resided 
on the Prunty farm at that tim*:- ; there the marriage was 
solemnized, and there they resided for several years, before 
going to Ohio, where they remained until 1847. when they 
returned and took up their residence on the Joseph Summer'^ 
homestead, where \\.r. Wilson passed away in 1878. Mrs. 
Wilson died at the home of her son, Lemuel, at Smithville. a 
number of years later, and both sleep at Pleasant Hill. 

They were the parents of six sons ; 

David M. and James died in vouth, the late Robert, of 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED b3'.) 

Slab creek, died several years ago, leaving one son, Alortimer; 
Napoleon, who is a twin of Lemuel, of Smithville, resides at 
Burnsviile, with his only son, Carl ; Hiram resides at Salem. 
He is the father of several children, JDUt the other three 
brothers had but one son each. C. A. Wilson, of Burnt 
House, is the son of Lemuel. 

Elias Summers was the first settler on the farm now 
owned by his son, E. X. Summers. He was born in Alonon- 
galia county, and there he was married to Miss Miranda Wil- 
son, sister of Isaac Wilson, of Indian creek, and came to this 
county in 1838, and settled near Oxford, on the farm that is 
now owned by the Michael heirs. He removed from here to 
the Thomas McKinley farm, on White Oak, and from there, 
to the E. X. Summers homestead, in 1854, where he passed 
from earth rich in the esteem of all who knew him. He was 
buried in the Cox graveyard, and, in 1901, his wife v;as laid 
by his side. 

Their children: Mrs. Hannah (James) Prather, \lvs. 
Margaret (J. M.) Cox, ]\Irs. Jemima (Robert) Mitchell, 
James K., who lost his life in the I'nion cause, Mrs. Mary A. 
I, John O.) Kelley, Harrisville; and Thomas, and Delia, who 
died in infancy, have ail joined the throng on the other side. 
The surviving ones are: Mrs. Lucy E. (T. T.) Pritchard, 
Wyoming; Joseph M. Summers, Ohio; J. T., Kansas; and E. 
X'. Summers, of Pullman. 

Elijah Summers, brother of Elias, and his wife, Mrs. 
Susan Barnett Summers, were very early settlers across the 
Doddridge county line, near Summers; here they passed from 
earth and here they lie buried. 

They were the parents of the late Joseph Summers, and 
Elijah W. Summers, of Summers; of Mrs. Louisa Adams, of 
Mrs. Sarah McClain, and of Francis Summers, all of Roane 
county. 

Grant Summers, the County clerk of Doddridge ; M. B. 
Summers, of West Union, who is prominently known in 
Democratic circles ; Mrs. George \\' oofter, wife of the well- 
known Baptist minister; and the Rev. M. A. Summers, of the 
Baptist church, are grandchildren of Elijah. 

Elijah and Elisha Summers were the sons of Alexander 



340 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Summers, an early settler of ^Monongalia county, and they 
were two of a family of ten brothers and sisters. The other 
eight members being as follows : Joseph Summers, Preston 
count}- : David, James, Jonathan, and Mrs. Rebecca Barker, 
all of ^Monongalia county ; Elisha, ]Mrs. Elizabeth Snyder, and 
Airs. !Mary Swisher, •Marion county. 

Elisha was the father of T. M. Summers, of Hazelgreen, 
and here, at the home of his son, he spent his last hours. 

William T. Mitchell was long identified with this creek. 
He was born in Barbour county, on September 13, 1823, 
and was married to Miss Matilda Zickafoose, daughter 
of Sampson Zickafoose, who was born in Pendleton county, 
on June 24, 1831:, and died on March 24, 1895. They \vere 
the parents of eight children: O. G. Mitchell, Mrs. Sarah L. 
Prunty, Airs. Fannie V. Hardbarger, who reside on the old 
homestead; Thomas L., Kansas; William T., junior, George, 
and Sampson, of Oklahoma, and Sanford E., who sleeps in 
the Alt. Zion churchyard, beside his parents. 

Mr. Mitchell was a brother of John, Daniel, and Josiah 
Mitchell, who went West, and from the first three nearly all 
of this name in the county are descended. Alartin. of Iris ; 
Robert, of Tanners ; and the late Mrs. F. Al. Law, of Lawford, 
are the children of Daniel. 

Hiram Cain, another early settler on this creek, was born, 
lived, and died in this county, and his widow, who was Aliss 
Eveline Collins, now resides with her daughter at Parkers- 
burg. 

Isaac Trem.ble and his wife. Airs. Alatilda Neal Tremble, 
were the first settlers of the farm that is now the home of 
Winfield Chapman. 

He came from Harrison county (?j, and here passed 
from earth, on August 17, 1878, at the age of fift3^-two years, 
five months, twenty-eight days. 

Airs. Tremble died on Alarch 27, 1871, at the age of 
forty-four 3'ears. Both rest at Pullman. They were the 
parents of several children, all of whom died in youth, and 
in childhood, except Ellen, who was the late wj,fe of Winfield 
Chapman. Her son, Lester Chapman, is the only living de- 
scendant of this couple. 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED 341 

Henry S, Morris was another arrival of the early fifties. 
He was born in Marion county, on April 26, 1834; was the 
son of Richard and Susan Morris. He married Miss Jane 
Wilson, daughter of H. B. Wilson, on November 16, 1852, 
and, four years later, they removed to Slab creek, where they 
remained until death, and where some of their family still 
live. Airs. Morris died on March 20, 1884, and he, in 1894.. 
Both lie at Pullman. 

Their children were ten in number: Mrs. Mary (T. N.) 
Kirkpatrick. Fonsoville ; the late Mrs. Margaret (A. F.) 
Harris, Pullman ; Mrs. Belle Maulsby, and J. W. Morris. 
Pullman ; Mrs. Addie Nichols, and Mrs. Minnie Rowe. the 
late Mrs. Bertha King, and the late Pinckney Morris, all of 
Colorado; and Wilson Morris, of Wyoming; and Mrs. Nannie 
Riddel, of Nebraska. 

William T. Bane, a native of Marion county, married 
Miss Louisa Cox, daughter of Col. Daniel V. Cox, and set- 
tled the ''Bane homestead," where his widow still survives. 
He served as a soldier of the Union, and in the Mt. Pisgah 
churchyard he lies at rest. 

He was the father of several children, all of whom have 
passed on, save three; viz., Daniel Bane, and Mrs. Neva Kirk- 
patrick, who live in the West ; and Jay Bane, of Pullman ; 
Mary Ann Bane was the late Mrs. John Stull, and the late 
Emerson was another son. 

Daniel Nay and his wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Hayhurst Nay, 
were other pioneers of this section. Thc}^ came from Marion 
county, in 1852, and found a home on the farm that is now 
owned by Claude Allender, and, after a brief residence here, 
they removed to the J. O. Nay homestead, where they spent 
the remainder of their lives, and where they lie sleeping. 
Mrs. Nay preceded her husband to the other shore by many 
years, and he married Miss Abigail Bee for his second wife. 
She, too, is now sleeping. by his side on the old homestead. 

Marshall Nay, a son, passed on in his youth, and J. O. 
Na_y, and Mrs. Jane (W. M.) Wilson, both of Pullman, are 
his surviving children, they being born of the first union. 

O. Guy Wilson, who is now one of the promising young 
educators of this state, is a grandson of Mr. Nay. 



342 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COL XT Y 

George Foster and his wife, ]\Irs. Michael Hayhurst 
Foster, sister of Mrs. Xay, also, came from Marion county in 
the early fifties and took up their residence in the forest where 
they still survive, at the ages of eighty-nine, and eighty-seven 
years, respectively. 

Their children are as follows : S. C. Foster, Missouri ; J. 
N., F. P., Clarke, the late AA'. F., and the late [Mrs. L. A. Xeal, 
all of Colorado; Mrs. ^lary E. Howard, Pullman; jNIrs. A. O. 
Wilson, Mrs. Ashford Taylor, and Aliss Louie Foster, all of 
Pennsboro ; and the late W. J. and Esther, who died in child- 
hood. 

Dr. George Curtis Howard who is widely known in dental 
circles is the grandson of Mr. Foster, he being the son of the 
late Ashford and Mrs. Mary Foster Howard, and a native of 
Pullman. 

Dr. Howard became interested in Dental surgery at the 
age of eighteen years — beginning at this period to extract 
teeth — and six years later he entered the office of Dr. John 
Stoops, and continued the study of this profession until June 
1906, when he went before the State Dental Board of Examin- 
ers at Charleston and carried olT the honors of a class of forty, 
on clinical work, all of wdiom, with an exception or two, held 
college diplomas, and since that time he has made Pullman 
and A\ est Union his headquarters, he being a citizen of the 
latter town at present. 

On August 18, 1903, he was married to Miss Goldie Mae 
Paugh, daughter of \1t. and Airs. A. C. Paugh of Preston 
county, and on December 22, 1905, her gentle spirit took its 
homeward flight, and during the autumn of 1907 he was again 
married to ]\Iiss Sarah Riggs, of Pullman, and the one son of 
the latter union, George Jennings Howard, was laid in the 
Pullman churchyard in August, 1910. 

Jacob Hayhurst was, also, among the arrivals of the early 
fifties. He was the son of David and Phebe Devault Hay- 
hurst, and was a native of Prickett's creek, Marion county, 
being born on May 28, 18?0. On May 25, 1844, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Elizabeth Lake, who first saw the light in Taylor 
county, on March 21, 1816 ; and in 1852, they came to Slab 
creek, where they spent the remainder of their lives, on the old 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED r>43 

homestead that is now owned by their only son, G. W. Hay- 
hurst. Here Mrs. Hayhurst bade adieu to earth on August 
1"3, 1885, and Air. Hayhurst joined her on the other side, on 
April 28, 1906. 

Besides the son above mentioned they were the parents of 
tw'o daughters, Miss Ellen Hayhurst of Pullman ; and ]\lar- 
garet Jane who is married and lives in Ohio. 

(David Hayhurst was born on Sept. 23, 17.9J:, and died on 
July 1, 1865 ; and his wife Phebe Devault lived from March 11, 
1797 to July 20, 1877.) 

Leman H. Hayhurst, Ritchie county's superintendent of 
schools, belongs to this family, he being the only son of G. W. ■ 
and yirs. Millie Harris Hayhurst, and one of a family of six 
children; viz., ]\letta, Isa, Juna, Ida. and ]\Iae Hayhurst. 

He was born on the old homestead near Pullman, on 
February 18, 1876, and entered the profession of teaching at 
the age of eighteen years. He served as a member of the 
Board of Teachers' Examiners for four years, and was grad- 
uated from the State Normal at Fairmont in the class of 1901. 
and was elected to the ofhce of County Superintendent the 
following year. He is now serving his second term in this 
caijacity and is proving to be one among the most efficient 
and popular of the long line of Ricchie's superintendents. 

He is now a student of the medical department of the 
University at Louisville, Kentucky, and will soon identify 
himself with the medical practioners to the loss of the Edu- 
cational field. On September 21, 1905, he was married to Miss 
Cynthia Pratt, daughter of the late J. E. Pratt, of Pennsboro, 
and two little daughters, Ruth and Esther are the result of 
this union. Later, Mr. Hayhurst was graduated from the 
medical college in June, 1910. 

John Parker. — The name of John Parker belongs to this 
corner of the county's history, he having been a very useful 
citizen of early times. 

Mr. Parker was born in Marion county in October 1821 ; 
was the son of William and Sarah Deacon Parker. His 
grandparents came from England and settled in Marion 
county before his father was born. 



344 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

He was one of six cliildren : Thomas, Phillip, Washing- 
ton, Rachel, and Luvina. 

In 1830, his father moved to Indiana, where he died two 
years later, and soon after this sad occurrence, the family re- 
turned to their old home in Alarion county. 

]\Ir. Parker is said to have come to this county in 1838, 
but his marriage did not take place for some 3'ears after this 
date, as he was but a lad of seventeen years at this time and 
his future wife, Miss Nancy Snodgrass, daughter of Isaac 
Snodgrass, who was born in 1827, was but eleven years of 
age, so it was, perhaps, late in the forties when he took up his 
residence on the waters of White Oak, where Ellis Prunty 
now lives ; and shortly after his settlement here, he erected a 
saw" mill, near the present site of the White Oak church, 
which he manipulated for a few years, before coming to Slab 
creek to the farm that is now owned by Henry Bruffey. From 
here he moved to Pullman, where he remained until he was 
laid in the churchyard, in December 1895. 

He was the first miller of this section, his mill having 
stood in what is now the garden of the Pullman hotel property. 
It was in operation during the war, and the women and the 
girls were the "mill boys." 

He was the father of nine children : the late Sylvester, and 
James, Pullman; Alvin and Airs. Rose Foster, Colorado; Eli, 
and Mrs. Luvina Wilson, Washington ; Mrs. Eliza Howe, 
Upshur county; Usebius, Parkersburg; and the late Frank, 
Clarksburg. 

Washington Parker, his brother, was the only other mem- 
ber of the famih' that came to this county. 

In 1850, he married Miss Mary Boone, of Marion county, 
and, four years later, they came to this county and after an 
eight years' residence on White Oak, removed to Chevauxde- 
frise in 186?, and there he died in 1885. Mrs. Parker survived 
until 1909 when she was laid by his side in the church}'ard 
at Chevauxdefrise. 

Their children: Mrs. Ella Matheny, Harrisville ; Josiah, 
Washburn; Leroy, Pennsboro ; Mrs. Laura Goodwin, and 
]\Irs. Lena Cox, Cairo ; Festus Parker, W^ashington state ; ]\Irs. 
Sarah Foster, Colorado ; and Mrs. Iva Lowther, Yellow creek. 



SLAB CREEK SETTLED 345 

Kirkpatrick is another name that lias long been associated 
with this part of the county. This family, as their name sug- 
gests, originated in the "Emerald Isle." Thomas Kirkpatrick 
crossed the sea at a date unknown, and settled in Pennsyl- 
vania. He later removed to Ohio and finally to this state 
where he finished his earthly pilgrimage in Tyler county. 

His son, Ichabod Kirkpatrick, was born in Pennsylvania, 
on October 11, 1815 ; and on January 25, 1834, he was married 
to Miss Agnes Davis who was born on August 19, 1815, and 
settled in Ohio. Here Mrs. Kirkpatrick died leaving seven 
children ; and in 1851, the family removed to this county and 
settled in the Pullman vicinity, where, on March 20, 1853, Mr. 
Kirkpatrick was married to Miss Mary Ann Bane, sister of 
the late William Bane, who passed on in March 1857, leaving 
three children. The family at this time resided in the Corn- 
wallis vicinity, but shortly after Mrs. Kirkpatrick's death, he 
was again manned to Mrs. Margaret Lowther Cunningham 
(daughter of Jesse Lowther of Cornwallis) and this same year 
(1857) purchased a farm on Isaac's fork of Slab creek, where 
he spent his last hours in 1874. And here, on his old home- 
stead, by the side of his youngest daughter, he lies in his 
last sleep. His second wife rests on the Flannagan farm 
above Berea ; and the last one, in Ohio, where she spent the 
remnant of her days with a daughter of her former marriage. 

The children of his first marriage were as follows : 
Drusilla, died in infancy ; J. Jackson resides in Maryland ; 
Ephraim, on Rock Camp ; Levi, on Slab creek ; Sanford died 
in childhood ; Adonis, in youth ; Marie married James Boner, 
of Ellenboro ; Eveline, who first married Nathaniel Mitchell is 
now Mrs. D. S. Bush, of Harrisville ; Thomas N. Kirkpatrick, 
of Grass run; the late Mrs. Mattie Owens, of Volcano; and 
Sarah, who died in childhood, were the children of the second. 
And of the third marriage there was no issue. 

Daniel Mason and his wife Rachel Deacon, came from 
Marion county as early as 1852, and settled near Cornwallis, 
.and from there removed to the Mt. Pisgah vicinity where 
their grandson, Thomas Mason now lives. Here they passed 
from earth and in the White Oak churchyard they repose. 
Their eldest son Thomas, lost his life in the LTnion service'. 



34G HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Reilly and Sanford are of Webster county: Eber is of Penns- 
boro ; Frank, of California; Webster met a traoic death from 
an accidental discharge of a gun in his young manhood, and 
the only daughter died in infancy. 

Joseph M. Wilson. — Another old Slab creek family which 
has heretofore been overlooked, and which now comes under 
our notice at the eleventh hour, is that of Joseph M. Wilson, 
senior, who, with his wife, Elizabeth Gray Wilson, came from 
Marion county, near eighty years ago, and settled on the 
farm that is now the estate of his late son, Peter T. Wilson. 
"He was the brother of Thomas Wilson, father of the venerable 
Isaac Wilson of Indian creek ; and here where he settled he 
spent his last moments near the breaking out of the Civil 
war ; and in the Pullman churchyard, beside his wife, he rests. 

His children were as follows : Thomas, the eldest son 
v/ent to Zanesville, Ohio ; Eugenus died in Preston county in 
1910 at the age of ninety-two years ; the late Smallwood, Jo- 
seph, Peter T., and Reason, who lost his life in the Union 
cause, were all of this county ; Lucy Ann married Felix Gray- 
son, and after her death the family went to Kansas ; Elizabeth 
was the late Airs. Levi Wells of Grafton ; and Sarah was the 
late Airs. Jackson Shuttlesworth, of this county. 

Joseph Wilson, junior, married Rebecca Anne Weaver, 
daughter of Joseph Weaver, and spent his life in this county. 
He having passed on in 1908 at the age of eighty-six years. 
Louisa, his only daughter married Charles Pfeltz of Balti- 
more and was the mother of Wm. Pfeltz of Pennsboro : and 
Winfield, who was accidentally killed in his boyhood, and B. 
W. Wilson, of Pennsboro, were the other members of the 
family. 

Note: — Doubtless this pioneer was the first citizen of ihi'^ 
creek after John Cain. 



CHAPTER XXIV 



White Oak Settled 




ins stream took its name from the profusion 
of valuable White Oak timber upon its banks. 
It was named by Adam Weaver, a surveyor 
of Baltimore, Avho laid this section off in 
blocks before it was permanently settled. 

Barton Hudkins was the first pioneer to 
find a home here. He came from what is now 
Barbour county, near 18'26, and erected his dwelling where L. 
S. Clayton now lives, and after a brief stay, removed to the 
Bond's creek side, and settled at the forks of the Parkersburg 
and St. jMary's turnpike, where his life came to a close. He 
was of English-Irish origin, his father having come from Eng- 
land and settled in the Maryland colony. The father later re- 
moved to Randolph county (W.) Virginia, Avhere Barton was 
bom in 1773, and where he grew to manhood, and married Altss 
NTaomi Ingraham, who was ten years his junior. She was 
also a native of Randolph county, but was descended from a 
prominent Scotch family by the name of Slavens of Highland 
county, Virginia. He (Barton) was a soldier of the war of 
1812, and had been a resident of Harrison — now Barbour— 
county for a number of years before coming to Ritchie. He 
died at his old homestead on Bond's creek, and his wife spent 
her last hours at St. Mary's, but both rest at Highland. 
Their children were as follows : 

Mrs. Rachel (S. G.) Hall, and Bazil Hudkins, Highland; 
Mrs. Margaret (Arthur) Hickman, Tollgate ; Mrs. Elizabeth 
(Archibald) Wilson, Pennsboro ; Mrs. Edith (Simon) Davis, 
Tyler county; Mrs. Sarah (Thomas) Dare, Parkersburg; and 
Allen Hudkins, Nebraska. All have joined the throng over 
there, but quite a number of the grand-children are still identi- 
fied among the older citizens of the county. Among them are 



348 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY . 

B. H. AA'ilson, of Goff's ; Airs. Love Prunty, and Airs. Eveline 
Bee, and J. AI. \\'ilson, Pennsboro ; John S. Hall, the blinn 
poet of St. Mary's, is also a grandson, and the late Airs. Eliza- 
beth AIcGregor, of Highland was a grand-daughter. 

Elijah Clayton in ISll purchased the Hudkins improve- 
ment of John AT. Wilson, and became the first permanent set- 
tler here, remaining until his dearh, on August 3. 1873. He 
was of Irish lineage, his father, Xoah Clayton having crossed 
the sea, and settled in Virginia earl}^ in the nineteenth century, 
and from there, removed to Alonongalia county, where he died. 
There, on September 27, 1811, on Little Papau, in what is 
now Alarion county, Elijah Clayton was born, and there 
he grew to manhood. He was one of a family of twelve chil- 
dren, some of whom became very prominent. John Clayton 
represented his district in the Richmond Legislature in both 
the House of Delegates and the Senate; David L. Clayton, 
another brother, being a musician of note, v/rote the "old 
Virginia Harmony." Richard, Ezekiel, Little, William, and 
Elisha were the other brothers: and the sisters were, Airs. 
Effie Snodgrass, Berea ; Airs. Xancy Holden, Airs. John D. 
Parker, and Airs. Wilson, all of Alarion count}'. 

Elijah Clayton married Aliss Alillie Amos, daughter of 
Stephen, and Elizabeth Aliller Amos, of Alarion count}-, and 
was the father of fourteen children. He was a lay minister 
of the Alethodist Episcopal church and his influence was a 
power for good. At his home the first church society in the 
community was organized. He gave the grounds for the 
White Oak church and cemeterv, and here, beside his wife, 
who died on August 20, 1891, he reposes. He was one of the 
corner-stones of this church, and was a pillar as long as he 
lived. A splendid life-sized portrait of this venerable man, 
which was placed here by his son L. S. Clayton, not long 
since, now impressively greets the visitor to this church, re- 
minding him that though his form has vanished, his memory 
is revered, his influence is still here. 

His children: — L. S., who resides at the old home and the 
late Stephen and Perry, were of White Oak; Airs. Rebecca 
(J. AI.) Wilson, and J. Spencer, are of Pennsboro: Franklin 

C, Des Aloines, Washington ; A. A. Clayton, Lawford ; David 



WHITE OAK SETTLED 340 

L., Missouri; the late Ishmael, Illinois; the late jNIrs. Ingaby 
(Elmore) Prunty, White Oak ; the late Mrs. Amanda (Ezra) 
Chipps, Doddridge county; Mrs. Millie F. ( Reilly) Mason, 
Webster county; Elizabeth died at the age of ten years, and 
Sophronia, in infancy. 

Peter Pritchard was the first settler at the mouth of this 
creek, where his son, John, now lives. He was the son of 
Thomas and Nancy Tichinel Pritchard, and was a native of 
Preston county, he having been born on October 1, 1798. On 
February 15, 1821, he was married to Miss Elizabeth W^illis, 
daughter of William and Anna Douglass Willis, early settlers 
of the Clarksburg vicinity. Her father came from the "Emer- 
ald Isle," and was one of the pioneer pedagogues of Harrison 
county. After Mr. Pritchard's marriage, he resided in what 
is now Barbour county until 1837 when he came to White Oak, 
where he spent the remnant of his days. He was one of the 
early justices of the peace, and, like Mr. Clayton, was a cor- 
ner-stone of the White Oak M. E. cluirch. He died on Sep- 
tember 29, 1883, and Mrs. Pritchard, who was born on De- 
cember 30, 1798, passed to her "reward, on December 9, 1869. 
Both rest at White Oak. 

Their children : the late George, Thomas and Mrs. Anna 
(B. M.) Lawson, and John, of White Oak; W^m. T., of Web- 
ster county; Mrs. Cassie (Harrison) Wass, Harrisville ; the 
late Mrs. Nancy P. (A. E.) Holt, of Fairmont; and Jane P, 
who first married Lewis Maxwell, of Doddridge county, and 
after his death became the wife of the Rev. W. H. Wiley, is 
now of Fairmont. 

Thomas married Miss Amanda Lawson, sister of B. \\. 
Lawson, and was the father of the Rev. M. F. Pritchard, of 
the M. E. church, and J. F., and W. I. Pritchard, of the U. B. 
church. 

Mrs. M. R. Lowther, of Parkersburg is also a grand- 
daughter of this pioneer, she being the daughter of Mrs. Anna 
Pritchard Lawson. . 

William I. Lowther. — Contemporary with the settlement 
of Mr. Clayton, in 1841, was that of William I. Lowther, who 
miade his improvement on the farm that is now the home of 
his nephew, John F. Lowther. He was born in flarrison 



330 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

couiil}', on August "37, 1818; and was the son of Alexander and 
Sarah Ireland Lowiher. When be was but a child of two 
years, he came to this county witl: his parents ; and in 1840, 
he was married to Miss Virginia Mitchell, and soon after be- 
gan to carve out his fortune in this wilderness. Here, for 
more than sixty years he resided, and to his dying day his in- 
terests were identified with this community. He was a mem- 
ber of tiie I\I. P. church, and his hand played an im])ortant 
part in the erection of the first church at Pullman, known as 
"Old Slab," and when this old structure, which was destroyed 
by the hand of an incendiary during the early days of the 
Civil war. was replaced by one of more modern architecture, 
he again lent his aid, and the present cluirch stands as a 
monument to "his memory. He was a delegate to the General 
Conference at Pittsburg in 1884. His wife died on September 
15, 1885. and a few years later, he married his brother, Rob- 
ert's widow, ]\lrs. Jane ]\IcKinley Lowther, and the last three 
years of his life were spent at Pennsboro, where he laid down 
the cross, on November (3, 1904, and where she still survives. 

He sleeps by his first wife "at Pullman. 

His children: Cordelia. Alvin, and Mrs. Sarah Sommer- 
ville Chapman, rest in the churchyard at Pullman; the late 
Rev. Sylvester Lowther. D. D., of the M. E. church, at Park- 
ersburg; the late Rev. Robert, of the ^I. E. church, in Xew 
York; and the Rev. Oliver Lowther of the AL P. church, the 
only survivor of the family, resides at Pullman. ]\Irs. TnI. A. 
Kendall, of Parkersburg, is his grand-daughter, she being the 
only child of the Rev. Sylvester, and Mrs. Cynthia Prunty 
Lowther. The Rev. Robert's family live in Xev\- York, and 
are all prominent in educational circles. 

Job Meredith. — Xear the year 1839, Job Meredith came 
from his native county — ^Marion — and settled at the mouth of 
the ]\Iiddle fork, near the site that is now marked by the pump 
station; and a little later, removed to the mouth of White Oak. 
just across the creek from Peter Pritchard ; and from there in 
1852. he went to Rerea, where he '-emained until a few weeks 
before liis death, in 1881, when he went to Salem, where he 
sleeps. 



][ HUE OAK SETTLED 351 

He married Miss iSIary Ann Amos,^ daughter of Stephen 
and Elizabeth Miller Amos, of Marion county — cousin of 
George Amos — in 1837, and they were the tirst Marion county 
people to come to Ritcliie, though quite a number found 
honjes here, a little later. 

After the death of her husband, Airs. Meredith returned 
to her old home at Berea, where she bade adieu to earth in 
181)1) ; and there, in the Pine Grove cemetery, she rests. 

Mr. Meredith was a member of the Seventh-Day Bap- 
tist church. He was a man of strong character, and of pro- 
nounced religious views, and his influence for good had a tel- 
ling effect. 

His children were twelve in number: Mrs. Elmina Law- 
son, Texas; the late Mrs. Hattie Randolph, and Mrs. Lillie 
Jett. the Rev. D. N. Meredith, and Miss Millie Aleredith (who 
is a deaf mute) Salem; the late Alpheus, and the late ]\Irs 
Joel Bee. The rest died in childhood. 

William Meredith brother of Job, though not a pioneer 
was long identified with the White Oak community. In 18;?5, 
he married Miss Tamar Deacon, daughter of John and Bar- 
bara Hardinger Deacon, and from Marion comity, they went 
to Monroe county, Ohio: and in 1857, they came to Ritchie 
county, where the remainder of their lives were spent. ]\Irs. 
Meredith came to her death by a fall from a wagon, in 1879. 
Pie died on September 1, 1896, at the home of his youngest 
daughter, Airs. A\'. G. Lowther, at Fonsoville. He was a life- 
long Methodist — a zealous worker in the Master's vineyard. 

Side by side he and his wife sleep in the Wliite Oak 
churchyard. 

Pie was the father of live children : A. P. Aleredith, the 
onlv son resides in Washington state ; and the late Mr.-,. 
Rachel ( F. C.) Clayton sleeps there, at Des Moines; Mr&. 
Eliza (Francis) Day, mother of J. E. Day, of Auburn, sleeps 
in Illinois; Airs. Jane ( L. S.) Clayton, is of A\diite Oak; and 
Mary Eleanor, the youngest daughter, who first married the 
late James Leggett, is now Mrs. \V. G. Lowther, of Fonso- 
x'ille. 



'For Amos family ancestry, see Chevauxdefrise chapter. 



352 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

The Merediths are of AA'elsh descent. Davis Aleredith 
was born in AX^ales, near the middle of the eighteenth century , 
and being a Sabbatarian, and being persecuted for his re- 
Hgious behef, he came to America in his young manhood, 
shortly before the Revolution, and settled in Connecticut. He 
took up arms in defense of his adopted country, being one of 
the patriots that helped to throw ofif the British yoke. 

He was married three times. His first wife, having lived 
but a brief time after the marriage, died childless. Xothing 
else is known of her history, but she probably crossed the sea 
with him. Shortly after the close of the Revolution, he went 
to Loudin county, Virginia, where he was again married, and 
where two children were born of this union ; viz., the late 
Mrs. Rebecca Xipton, of Marion county; and the late Xeu 
Meredith, of Ohio. The mother died when these children 
were quite small,, and Air. Meredith removed from the "Old 
Dominion" to Marion county, where he married ]\Iiss Xancy 
Pritchard, sister of Thomas Pritchard, senior, and seven chil- 
dren were the result of this union : Rachel married Janif^s 
Arnett, .Eleanor, AA'illiam Arnett, and Alartha, James Jones, 
all of Alarion count}- ; Thomas sleeps in Kansas ; Davis, who 
was a la}' minister of the ]\I. E. church, at Centerville, in 
Tyler cotmty ; and Job and \\'illiam have already been men- 
tioned. 

William Baker became identified with the White Oak 
settlement in 184T, when he removed from ]Marion county 
Avith his wife, Mrs. Ruth Deacon Baker, and their seven chil- 
dren, and took tip his residence where his son Tillman H. 
Baker now lives. Here he remained until March 1888, when 
he was laid in. the cemetery at the mouth of White Oak. His 
wife was laid by his side in 1897. 

Their children were twelve in number: Thomas D. 
Baker, Hale, Missouri; X'athaniel, of Illinois; Jonathan, who 
died in the hospital at Cumberland, while serving as a Union 
soldier. (The first two mentioned were also Union soldiers.) 
]\Irs. Amy (Peter T.) A\"ilson, and Airs. Alazan S. Snyder, of 
Pullman; Mrs. Lurena (A. A.) Clayton, Lawford ; Mrs. 
Kathrine (E. C.) Snodgrass, Smithville ; A\'. S. Baker. Au- 
burn; T. H., White Oak; Airs. Emma J. (Edmond) Taylor, 



WHITE OAK SETTLED 353 

(lied at her home near Pennsboro, in 1907; Newton B. sleeps 
in Edgar county, Illinois ; and Barbara H. died in infancy. 

?>Irs. Clayton has also passed on. 

The Bakers came from Scotland early in the eighteenth 
century, and settled among the mountains, near four miles 
from the mouth of New creek in what is now Mineral county, 
W-'est Virginia. There Thomas Baker, the father of William, 
the Ritchie county pioneer was born, and there, he was married 
to Miss Ruth Jones, who was a native of Georgetown, in the 
District of Columbia. From there they went to Marion 
count}', where their ashes lie. They had four daughters, Wil- 
liam being the only son: Mrs. Mary (George) Saterfield, Mrs. 
Hannah (Nathaniel) Mitchell, Mrs. Nancy (George) Daw- 
son, and Airs. Rachel (Isaac) Hawkins, all of Marion county. 

The Deacons. — Since the Deacon family were so largely 
represented among the wives of the Ritchie county settlers, 
a few lines is here due them. Mrs. William Baker, nee Ruth 
Deacon, was one of a family of twelve children — two brothers 
and ten sisters. Six of these sisters are sleeping, on White 
Oak — five of them in the White Oak churchyard ; viz., 
Mrs. Matilda (Nathan)) Snodgrass, Mrs. Rachel (Daniel) 
Mason, Mrs. Sarah (Wm.) Parker, 'Sirs. Tamar (Wm.) Alere- 
ditli, and Mrs. Julia (Joseph) Hawkins. The other sisters 
were: Mrs. Mary (Daniel) Saterfield Dog Comfort, chi^ 
county; Airs. Kathrine Hawkins (Aaron), Alarion county; 
Mrs. Tasy (Daniel) Michael, Alarion county; and Rebecca, 
wht) died in childhood; Thomas died at the old home in 
Marion county, and Phillip went West. 

The Deacons are of English descent. John Deacoji mar- 
ried Miss Barbara Hardinger, a German maiden of Ciunber- 
land, Maryland, and settled on Paupau creek, near eight 
miles from Fairmont, and they were the parents of the twelve 
children above mentioned. 

Mr. Deacon, wdiile on a trip across the mountains to Rom- 
ney with a drove of cattle, contracted the yellow fever, and 
died at Kingwood, before he reached his home, leaving his 
wife with eleven children entirely to her care; but her courage 
proved equal to the emergency and she managed to clear the 
debt from the home and rear her familv. 



354 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

She died at the old homestead at the age of eighty, ha\- 
ing been bhnd for many years. There, she and her husband 
rest. 

John Lawson was the pioneer merchant of White Oak. 
He came from Rockingham county, Virginia, between the 
years of 1845 and "50, and erected his storehouse, at the 
mouth of tlie creek, on land now (jwned by Mrs. L. AI. Pvit- 
chard. James Taylor succeeded hun ; and William Pritchard, 
Charles Satertield. J. AL Gribble, T. D. Baker, Air. Wilcox, 
and James Rymer, later held this business intact. Air. Law- 
son and his wife, Airs. Amanda Long Lawson, Avere natives 
of Virginia, and to the place of their nativit}^ they returned., 
and in 1904, Air. Lawson passed on. He was the father of 
rive children, four of whom survive. 

The Lawsons hail from Scotland. Two brothers crossed 
the sea, one settled in Virginia, and the other, at P>altimorc. 
Alary land. 

Theopolus Lawson, the Virginian, married a Aliss Rus- 
saw, and from his son, AA'illiam, who married Aliss Eliza Alar- 
shall. the Lawsons of this county come. AA^illiam was the 
father of ten children: John F. Lawson, already mentioned. 
Bushrod, W. of Fairmont; Salathial, of Texas; the late A.Irs. 
Elizabeth Thompson, the late A'Irs. Victoria Amanda Pritch- 
ard, who resided in this vicinity : and Airs. Berthine Alc- 
Dougal, of Pennsboro. James W., Rebecca, Eliza A., and 
Nancy E., have all passed on. 

Bushrod W, Lawson was long a resident of this part of 
the county, but removed to Alarion, late in the eighties. He 
first married Aliss Anna Pritchard, and they were the parents 
of Airs. Lyda (Al. R.) Lowther, Parkersburg; Airs. Flora 
(Alarshall) Prunty, and Airs. Nancy (David) Clayton, Oxford: 
and several other children, who passed on in childhood and in 
youth. 

Being deprived of his first companion by death, on No- 
vember 21, 1872, he was married to Aliss Fannie Prunty, 
daughter of Jacob Prunty, and five children, four of whom 
survive, are the fruits of this imion. 

Salathial married Aliss Elmina Alercdith, daughter of Job 
Meredith, and resided here for a numl)er of vears before 



WHITE OAK SETTLED 355 

going to Texas in the early eighties, where he still survives. 
He was the father of Mandeville, the late Leni, Mrs. Enoch 
McGinnis, Mrs. Eva Doak, Morda, and Roxie. 

Josiah L. Hawkins, a well known lay minister of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, was the first citizen of the Scott 
Baker homestead. 

He and his wife, Mrs. Julia Anne Deacon Hawkins, came 
from their native county, Marion, near 1848, and only a few 
years later, Mrs. Hawkins was borne to her final resting-place 
in the White Oak churchyard ; and not long afterwards he 
married Miss Nancy Haddox. of Barbour county, and re- 
moved to that county. 

He returned to this county late in life, but finally went 
to Mannington where he met his death by a train, during the 
latter part of the century. 

The children of his first marriage were twelve in number; 
namely, Mrs. Elizabeth (Perry) Clayton, White Oak; Mrs. 
Mary Duckworth, Barbour county ; Mrs. Lucinda Tichnell, 
Marion county ; Leroy of Upshur county ; and two infants 
who are all numbered with the dead. Mrs. Thamer (Aaron) 
Mitchell, Hazelgreen ; Mrs. Philena (Nelson) Williamson, 
Barbour county; Elmore Hawkins, W^ashburn ; Gideon. Up- 
shur; Andrew J., Monongalia; and John W., Marion county, 
are the surviving ones. 

The four children of the second union were Belle, and 
Galiard, who have passed on; Ellsworth, of Marion county; 
and Allen, who lives in the West. 

Henry Hawkins, thougli hardly a pioneer came to the 
White Oak vicinity more than sixty years ago, and spent the 
remainder of his life here. He was a son of Aaron and Kath- 
rine Deacon Hawkins, of Marion county, and a brother of the 
late Mrs. Syelus Hall. He married Miss Martha Yost, and 
was the father of several children,, all of whom have joined 
him on the other side except, Woodson, Permetus, and Aaron 
Hawkins. 

Three died in childhood, W^alter and Adolphus in youth, 
and Elmus married Miss Alice Neal and left two children. 

After the death of his wife, Kathrine. ]\Tv. TT-^^^-kins mar- 
ried Miss Melvina Snyder, of Marion county, who. by his 



350 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

side, is sleeping- in the '\\'hite Oak churchyard. 

John Hawkins, a brother of Henry, with his wife, Mrs. 
Mary Parker Hawkins, came along with him from Marion 
county, but after a brief stay here, removed to the Harrisville 
vicinity, where some of his family still live. 

He passed away in 1863, while serving as a Union soldier 
in the Civil war. 

John Upton and his wife, Harriett Hawkins Upton, and 
Jeremiah Fluharty and his wife, Mary Ann Hawkins Fluharty, 
were also members of the little colony that came here from 
Marion county at the time the Hawkinses arrived. They be- 
ing all the sons and daughters, and the sons-in-law of Aaron 
Hawkins, who gave them their homes here. 

Mr. Fluharty and his family went A\'est, but Mr. Upton 
lenrained until he passed to his eternal home. 

He was the father of a large family: 

The late Mrs. Carrie Wagner, ]\Irs. Minnie (E. D.) Clay- 
ton, Mrs. Louie (Sam) McKinley, the late Wesley, Ulyses, 
Seigel and Grant Upton. 

Samuel Manear and his wife, Mrs. Olive Zinn Manear, of 
I'reston county, were other early settlers in this section on 
the farm that for long years w^as known as the "Manear 
farm." Here Mr. Manear passed away, and afte^ his death 
Mrs. ]\Ianear became Mrs. Silas Sigler, and here she died, and 
at White Oak they both sleep. 

Mr. Manear was twice married, the wife of his youth 
being laid to rest in Preston county not many 3'ears after the 
marriage. 

Asa — father of Jacob Alanear — was a son of the first mar- 



riage. 



James, of California; Marion, David, John, who lost his 
life in defense of his country, on July 20, 1864, at the battle of 
Winchester; Mrs. Hannah Gallon, Mrs. Martha Gallon, Mrs. 
Mary Martin, and Mrs. Elizabeth Ephal, were the fruits of 
the second marriage. 

John Cook, father of the late A\'illiam, was another earl}^ 
settler on the waters of White Oak, on the farm that is now 
owned by the Hawkins heirs. Here he died, and here he and 
his Avife sleep. 



CHAPTER XXV 




Beeson Settled 

ONAS BEESON. — This stream took its name 
from Jonas Beeson, who is said to have erect- 
ed a cabin on the late Smith Bee farm very 
early in the century. But investigation 
proves, conclusively, that Beeson's residence 
here could not have been more than a tem- 
porary and fleeting" one, as he was perma- 
nently located, near Parkersburg- in Wood county, on a tract 
of land given him by his father, as early as the year 1799 ; and 
he held his residence continuously in Wood county until his 
death, at a ripe old age. He was a great hunter, however, 
and circumstances point to the fact that this cabin was built 
for the sole purpose of serving" his needs while on these hunt- 
ing expeditions ; for beyond a doubt this stream was one of 
his favorite haunts in those early days. 

He was born at Beesontown, Pennsylvania, near the year 
1767, and there he was married t<^ Miss Rebecca Tomlinson, 
daughter of Benjamin Tomlinson ; and in 1799 they removed 
to Wood county where they rest. Their family consisted of 
four sons and one daughter, the late Benjamin Beeson, who 
died at his home at Williamstown during the autumn of 1909, 
at the age of more than ninety years, being one of the sons. 

Mr. Beeson was the grand-uncle of R. S. Blair, junior of 
Harrisville, and was descended from a prominent and highly 
respected Virginia family. 

Near the close of the French and Indian war (1765), his 
father, Jacob Beeson, senior, was married to Miss Elizabeth 
Hedges, daughter of Jonas Hedges, of Berkeley county (W) 
Virginia, and grand-daughter, of Joseph Hedges who emi- 
grated from England to America at a very early day, and set- 
tled in Prince county, Maryland, where he died in 1732. Her 
great-grandsire, Charles Hedges, who died in 1714, was a 



358 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

prominent English statesmen, and held various high offices 
under the Crown. 

Shortly after their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Beeson emi- 
grated to Pennsylvania, and settled at Beesontown, not far 
from L'niontown, where they reared a family of ten children, 
and where they spent the remainder of their lives. 

Their children were as follows : Jonas, the pioneer of the 
stream that bears his name, was the eldest son ; Jane, the eld- 
est daughter, married John Clarke : Alary was twice married ; 
Lydia died single; Jacob Bee^ion, Mrs. Rebecca (John) Miller, 
U niontown ; Agnes, who married her cousin, James Beeson, of 
Berkley county ; Nancy, wife of Jesse Beeson, and Mrs. Rachel 
(Robert) Skililer. 

Jacob Beeson, junior, was born at Beesontown in 17"r3: 
and in 1796, he was married to ]\Iiss Elizabeth Smalley, who 
was born at Newark, New Jersey, on April 3, 1773 ; and at 
L'niontown, Pennsylvania, they spent the first three years of 
their married life, removing from there to Wood county in 
1799, where Mr. Beeson soon rose to prominence in public af- 
fairs. 

He is said to have been a man of stout-build, and of 
medium height with a full, open countenance, and a wonderful 
gift of oratory. 

He was one of the justices that formed the County court 
at Parkersburg, before the year 1810; and on May 4, 1812, he 
was admitted to the bar, and at once entered upon the prac- 
tice of law in the courts of the State. He represented Wood 
county in the Legislature at Richmond for a number of years, 
and, in the year 1819, when the United States District Court, 
which embraced the territory of North-western Virginia, was 
formed, and Hon. John G. Jackson was commissioned as its 
Judge, Jacob Beeson was appointed as (U. S..) Prosecuting 
Attorney of this district by President Monroe. An office 
which he filled with distinction to himself, and satisfaction to 
the Government until his death in 1823. He had scarcely 
passed his forty-ninth mile-stone when death removed him, 
and thus a brilliant career came to a sudden, and untimely end. 

Mrs. Beeson survived him by many years, dying at the 
home of her daughter, Mrs. George Neal, junior, at Parkers- 



BEESOX SETTLED ' .-^5'.) 

burg, on August i, 1S56, and, by the side of her husband, she 
lies at rest in the "Riverview" cemetery, at Parkersburg. 

They were the parents of three sons, who all died in in- 
fancy and childhood, and of the following named daughters : 
Elizabeth, Jane, Emma G., Alary, Agnes R., and Anne S. 
Beeson. 

Elizabeth married David Blair, and was the mother of the 
late Jacob Beeson Blair, and the late R. S. Blair, of Harris- 
ville, and the grand-mother of the well-known young bar- 
rister, R. S. Blair, junior, who doubtless inherited some of his 
oratorical gift from his distinguished great-grandsire. 

Jane Beeson married David Stephenson, of Wood county. 

Emma G. was the first wife of the late Gen. John Jay Jack- 
son, of Parkersburg. 

Mary was the late Mrs. John Vail, of Ohio. 

Agnes R. married George Neal, junior, of Parkersburg; 
and Anne S., was the late Mrs. A\ illiam S. Gardner of that city. 

Part of this sketch is taken from the Parkersburg Senti- 
nel. 

Jacob Prunty was the pioneer at the mouth of Beeson. He 
was born and reared at Pruntytown in Ta3dor county, and 
there he was married to Miss Mary McKinney : and, from 
there, they came to this county in the early thirties, and 
founded a permanent home at the mouth of this stream. 

Mr. Prunty was a typical pioneer of the "Rough and 
Ready'' order, and was a man of marked ability. He, several 
times, represented the people of this section in the Legislature, 
at Richmond, wdien the "Little Mountain State" was a part of 
the "Old Dominion," and many pleasing anecdotes are told 
of these journeys to the Capitol, made upon the back of a 
"superannuated" gray horse. 

He survived until 18G0, when he was laid in the White 
Oak churchyard. Airs. Prunty died at the home of her son, 
Wilson Prunty, above Gofif's in 18G5, and owing to a flood- 
tide in the streams, she was buried on the homestead, where 
she died. 

These pioneers were the parents of eight children, all 
of whom have passed on except the youngest daughter, Fan- 
nie, who is now Mrs. Bushrod Lawson, of Fairmont. The 



3G0 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

others were as follows: Felix, Wilson, Jacob, and Elmore 
Prunty, Mrs. Kathrine (Stephen) Clayton, of A\'hite Oak; 
Mrs. Emily (Alexander) Lowther, of Parkersburg; and ]\Irs. 
Rachel Maley, Rock Camp. 

The Pruntys are of Irish stock. They came to America 
in Colonial times and settled in \"irginia where John Prunty, 
the progenitor of the Ritchie county family, was born. 

John Prunty was the founder of Pruntytown, in Taylor 
county, he having broken the primitive wilderness there at a 
very early day, and left this little "dot" on the map of West 
Virginia, which serves as fitting memorial to a prominent 
career. 

Mr. Prunty served the people of his section in the Legis- 
lature at Richmond for twenty consecutive years, and was a 
candidate for re-election, but was defeated bv the small m.a- 
jority of but two or three votes. During his last candidacy, 
he told his opponent that he purposed to hang has hat on 
that one peg (which he had already used for twenty) for 
twenty-one years ; and when he was defeated, he went back 
to Richmond, and served as Sergeant-at-Arms in the Legis- 
lature, thus occupying the same "hat-peg" for the twenty-one 
years as he had avowed. 

The maiden name of his wife has been lost somewhere in 
the hazy past, but he was the father of six sons and one 
daughter, Roanna, who married George Arnold, an old land 
surveyor of Lewis, Braxton, and Gilmer counties, who pat- 
ented the large tract of land now owned by Lewis Bennett, 
and also the tract that Mr. Bennett sold to the "Standard Oil 
Company." 

Jacob Prunty, the Beeson pioneer, was one of the sons, 
JDavid was another, and Samuel, who married Ellen Taylor, 
sister of ^Nfrs. Isaiah AA'elis, was still another. The last one 
mentioned Avas the father of Samuel Prunty, of Sumner. Mis- 
souri. 

Roanna Arnold, daughter of George and Roanna Prunty 
Arnold, married Samuel L. Hays, who w^as a member of Con- 
gress (in 1841), as well as a member of the Richmond Legis- 
lature, and they were the parents of the late John E. and 



BEESOX SETTLED 361 

Peregrine Hays, of Glenville, who occupied seats in the Vir- 
ginia Legislature, before the birth of AVest Virginia. 

Peregrine Plays, also, served in the Legislature of this 
Slate, and his sons, A\'arren, and French N. Plays, both have 
a record there. The former, in the Senate, and the latter, 
though still cjuite a young man, is the oldest member of the 
House in point of service, he having repeatedly succeeded 
himself, from Gilmer county. 

It will be noted that French Plays is the great-great- 
grandson of John Prunty, and it is said that he affirms that 
he is hanging his "hat upon the same old nail" that his illus- 
trious grandsire (so many generations removed) pressed into 
service for the twenty-one years that he was a member of 
the Richmond Legislature. But since this "old-timer" used 
a "peg" instead of a nail, doubtless, the voung man is a little 
deluded. 

Few families can produce such a record! An unbroken 
line of statesmen for five generations! 

Felix Prunty, son of Jacob, the pioneer of this county, 
was also a member of the House of Delegates of West Vir- 
ginia, and his son, the late Alex. Prunty, was a candidate for 
this office at one time. 

Dr. Frank Prunty, of Belpre, Ohio, Dr. Shirley Prunty, 
M. R. Lowther, of Parkersburg, who has helped to carry out 
the tradition of the family by being State Senator, and not a 
few others that we might mention, are descended from this 
Ritchie county (Prunty) family. 

Lynn Camp Settled. — This stream, which is a small tril)- 
utary of the North fork of Hughes river, took its name from 
a camp of lynn wood that was constructed by a part\' of 
hunters, in 1776, not far from the present site of the Wheeler 
Broadwater residence. 

These hunters came in the autumn-time, leaving orders 
for their pack-horses to follow in six weeks; but, finding 
game so plentiful, they sent the fruits of their first six wrecks' 
labor home, and remained another six weeks, at the end of 
which time they had slain eighteen bears. During this entire 
time they had had no change of clothing. 



■ It.-' HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The Richardses were the pioneers of this creek. George 
Richards and his wife, Mrs. Kathrine Bush Richards, with 
their large family, having come from Harrison county very 
early ni the century, and settled at the mouth of Lynn Camp, 
on the land that afterwards became the home of Edmund 
Taylor. They came as early as 1800, and it is claimed by 
some that they were here in 1795, but this cannot be verified, 
however ; and John Bunnell still holds the distinction that 
has always been accorded to him, as being the first settler, 
within the bounds of the county. 

The Richardses are said to have come and to have gone 
back to their home in Tlarrison county a number of times, 
l^efore settling down here permanently. George Richards 
removed from the mouth of this stream to the late L. P. AX'il- 
son farm, where his life came to a close. 

Plis sons, who were as follows, were nearly all pioneers 
here: Isaac, George, Benjamin, William, John, Michael, 
Jacob. Elias, James, Nelson, and one daughter, Ivlrs. George 
Six, of i\-thens, Ohio. 

Isaac Richards died (unmarried) of wounds received in 
the war of 1812, 

George Richards, junior, settled on Rock Camp, where 
he reared a family. 

Benjamin Richards married Miss Priscilla Jones, who 
was of Dutch descent, and was the first settler on Lynn Camp, 
he having reared his dwelling near the present site of the 
school-house. He was the father of Dr. Benjamin Richards, 
of Pullman. 

William Richards settled on the Rev. E. J. Taylor farm, 
where he passed from earth. 

John Richards married Miss Nancy Taylor, sister of 
James Taylor, and went to Calhovm county, where he died at 
the age of one hundred four years, and near Big Springs he 
sleeps. He was the grandfather of Joseph Richards, of Goflf's, 
Joseph being the son of Edward Richards. 

Other Brothers. — Michael married Miss Caroline Wilson, 
daughter of John Wilson, of Calhoun county; and Benjamin, 
Miss Ruth Jones, and these brothers were the first settlers 
on the Syelus Hall farm, on Lynn Camp. But ^Michael went 



BEESON SETTLED 363 

to Calhoun county, where he died, and where his descendants 
live ; and Jacob removed to Beeson, where he died in 1899, at 
the age of ninety-four one-half years, and in the Wilson bury- 
ing ground, near the mouth of the stream, he lies buried. 

He (Jacob) was twice married, his second wife, and 
widoAV, being Airs. Drusilla Jackson, mother of C. S. Jackson, 
who still survives. 

Jacob Richards was the father of Mrs. James Elder, of 
Hardman chapel ; of Mrs. Harrison Lamb, of Beeson ; the 
late Mrs. Priscilla (John) Elder, of Leatherbarke ; the late 
Airs. Eli R. Cunningham, of Eva (who first married Asa 
Alanear. and was the mother of Jacob Manear), and the late 
A\'i]]iam Richards, of Beeson. Airs. John B. Baker, of 
Lamb's run ; and Airs. Jennie Baily, of Smithville, are among 
his grandchildren. 

Elias Richards was the first citizen of the late "Bail" Wil- 
son homestead (now the property of John Jobes), on Lynn 
Camp. 

James Richards went to Ohio., and Nelson, to Calhoun 
county. 

The Richardses were of German descent, and were noted 
Indian-fighters and hunters, and their descendants in this and 
sister counties are a multitude. 

Syelus Hall succeeded the Richardses on Lynn Camp, he 
having purchased the improvement of both Jacob and Alichael 
Richards, near the year 1849, and founded his home where 
his son, Elza C. Hall, now lives. 

Air. Hall, the son of Reuben and Anna .'^tuart Hall, was 
born in Alarion county, on September 16, 1828, and was one 
of a family of eight children ; viz.. Airs. Louisa (John) Cole, 
the late Strother Hall, Aliss Julia, Airs. Lavina (W. T.) Baker, 
and the late Wm. S. Hall, all of Marion county : and A. H. 
Hall, of Pullman; and Airs. Laura Amos, of Harrisville. Llis 
maternal great-grandsire (Stuart) was a Revolutionary sol- 
dier, and when he returned home from the war, he brought 
with him a souvenir in the form of a cream-pitcher of pretty 
design, which is still a valued heirloom in the family, it being 
now in the hands of A. Hunter Hail, of Pullman. 

On April 12, 1849, Air. Hall was married to AUss Lucinda 



;3G4 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Hawkins, of Marion county, and soon afterwards came to 
Ritchie, where he has ever since been identified among the 
best citizens. Mrs. Hall laid down the "cross" at their home 
at Pullman, in 1907, but he still survives. 

They were the parents of twelve children, all of whom 
reached the years of maturity and married. One son, Leonard 
S., has passed on, but the rest survive. What is said of this 
family can be said of few othere of its size, "All are Christians, 
and none have ever used liquor or tobacco." 

The surviving' members of the familv are: Elliott, and 
Wilbert Hall, Mrs. Florence A. (Morgan) Pritchard ; and 
Mrs. Ardenia McDougal. Pullman; Mrs. Cordelia A. (C. \V.) 
Nutter, Holbrook ; Mrs. L. Belle Chipps, Buckhannon ; the 
Rev. I. S. Hall, Stuart L., and Elza C, of Trilby. 

The Halls are of Scotch-Irish lineage. They trace their 
ancestry back to Thomas and Rebecca Story Hall, who were 
citizens of the Delaware colony at the time of the Revolution. 

Thomas was born on September 34, ITVl, and died at 
Duck creek Cross Roads, in Delaware, on May 39, 1773. Here 
his family (a widow, two daughters and five sons) remained 
until 1783, when they emigrated to what is now Monongalia 
county, and settled near the forks of the Cheat river, a few 
miles below Morgantown ; and two years later, removed 
farther up the river. 

Mrs. (Rebecca Story) Hall was of English descent. She 
was fifty-two years of age at the time she came froin Dela- 
ware, and she made the entire trip on horse-back, Mrs. Alar- 
garet White being the companion of her ride. 

Shie died in Monongalia county, on December 15, 1813, 
having been blind for twelve or fifteen years. Her last days 
were spent with her daughter, Mrs. Rebecca (John) Courtney. 

Her other daughter, Parthena, married Isaac Mason, who 
had served as a soldier of the Revolution under Washington, 
Greene, and Lafayette, and had witnessed the surrender of 
Lord Cornwallis. 

They remained in Sussex courity, Virginia, from 1781 
until 1787, when they removed to Monongalia county. There 
Mr. Mason constructed a boat, and with a number of other 
families (there being sixteen boats in all) sailed down the 



BEESON SETTLED 3G5 

( )iiio river; but in crossing the faHs, his boat, the most valu- 
able one of all, was lost. Undaunted by this disaster, how- 
ever, the little colony pressed on, braving the danger of the 
hostile Indians, which they encountered, until they reached 
the present site of Nashville, Tennessee, on March 18, 1789, 
where a fort, known as "French Lick," then stood; and there, 
they "cast their anchor." 

Isaac Mason was the first tailor where the city of Nash- 
ville now stands, and there in the "land of Jackson and of the 
Hermitage," he and his beloved Parthena, sleep. 

The sons of Mrs. Rebecca Story Hall, were, Asa, Jordon, 
Rynear, Nathan, and Allen, all of whom remained in Marion 
and Monongalia county except Allen, who went to Ohio. 

The late Rev. Ashford Hall, who served the Harrisville 
Methodist Episcopal charge in the early seventies, was the 
grandson of Nathan Hall, he being the son of Jesse and Sarah 
Bryan Hall. 

Asa married Miss Sophia White, and from his son, 
Thomas, who married Miss Jane Bennett, the Ritchie county 
Halls come. Ira Conditt Hall, of Cokeley, being his son, and 
Syelus and A. H., of Pullman, his grandsons. Reuben Hall, 
as before mentioned, was the father of Syelus Plall. 

The late John Hall, of Mt. Zion (father of D. S., and E. 
B. Hall, of Washburn, and Fred, of Pullman) ; and the late 
Mrs. Larkin Peirpoint, were also descended from this family. 

And we have strong evidence, though no positive proof. 
that the family of the late John Flail, of Harrisville; and the 
late Mrs. Ransom Kendall, of Chevauxdefrise, came from this 
family. 

Mrs. Kendall's mother, Sarah Hall Rex, was a native of 
Delaware, and circumstances all point to the fact that she be- 
longed to this family, but, if so, her name was omitted from 
the "Hall Record," by Richard S. Miller, of Newburg, West 
Virginia, from which this information is gleaned. (See last 
chapter for origin of the name "Hall" and farther history of 
the family.) 

Rock Camp is a small tributary of the North fork of 
Hughes river — flowing into it at Hannahdale. It derived its 



306 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

name from a huge boulder, at its head, upon which a team of 
horses and a wagon can be turned. 

George Richards, junior, son of George, senior, was its 
first denizen. He and his wife, Airs. Elizabeth Coburn Rich- 
ards, having come here early in the century, and settled on 
the farm that is now the home of Parker Grimes. 

Nimrod Cross was the next settler. He was of English 
descent, and was a native of Taylor count}'. He married Aliss 
Eliza Richards, daughter of George Richards, junior, and 
took up his residence where Lincoln Wilson now lives, some 
time in the thirties. Here he passed from earth in 1888, and 
in the Pisgah churchyard, beside his wife, he rests. 

His children were, G. A\'. Cross, Pullman ; John Cross. 
Indiana (who were both Union soldiers) : the late Airs. Alary 
(John) Elder, Leatherbarke ; the late Airs. Susan ( R. L. B.) 
Elder, of Ritchie and Gilmer counties; Airs. Kathrine (Wm.) 
Cunningham, Calhoun county; Airs. Xancy (George) Jeffrej^s, 
Alole Hill; the late Airs. Alartha (Bent) Prunty, Doddridge 
county ; and Airs. Thomas Hamrick, Wirt county. 

John Cross, a brother of Ximrod, was another pioneer 
on this stream. He married Aliss Kathrine Prunty, daughter 
of David, of Pruntytown, for his first wife, and his second, 
was Aliss Sarah Jones. He sleeps on Beeson. 

William K. Elder was another old settler on Beeson. His 
parents, John and Alargaret AIcHenry Elder, crossed from 
Ireland and settled in Harrison county, late in the eighteenth 
century, where they reared their family, and where they spent 
their last hours. 

William K. Elder was married to Aliss Ruhama \\"illis, 
of Harrison county, and came to this county perhaps in the 
earlv forties and settled on this stream. Pie later removed to 
Alurph}- district and on Grass run he died many years ago. 
He and his wife were the parents of thirteen children, seven 
of whom died in childhood, and the rest were as follows : the 
late Rev. John Elder, the late Sanford, Robert L. B., Airs. 
Loda Simms, and Airs. Anna Ferrell Campbell. 

Joseph, a brother of William K., also resided in this 
countv for a brief time. And some of his descendants are still 
identified among the citizens of the county. 



CHAPTER XXVI 



Macfarlan and Dutchman 




HE names of Alacfarian and Dittclinian are 
said to have had their origin in a most in- 
teresting, but tragic incident which occurred 
here in 1T69, and which is as follows : 

Early in the autumn of the year 1769, a 
party of ten white men, which included 
Jesse and James Hughes, an Englishman 
by the name of Alacfarlan, and a Dutchman (whose name is 
missing owing to the fact that he was always designated b}^ 
liis nationality, "the Dutchman"), were in this section on 
some unknown mission, perhaps in pursuit of the red-skins, 
when, on coming up the river near the mouth of Bear run, 
they met two men who were going in a westerly direction, 
and Avho confided to them that they had discovered an Indian 
trail, which seemed to lead to a camp near the mouth of the 
stream that is now known as Macfarlan, and warned them 
to be on the alert. The warning was duly heeded, by the lit- 
tle party, who followed the trail until they reached the Ox- 
bow ; here they left it, taking a shorter route across the hill 
to the river near the present site of the C. 8z K. V. railroad 
depot, where they came upon the old trail again, and soon 
detected unmistakable signs that the foe was near: and a 
council was then held as to what should be done. Jesse 
Hughes, the leader, thought it best to cross the river, and to 
resume the journey on the south side, but James Hughes, 
Macfarlan, and the "Dutchman," and two others, thinking 
there was no imminent danger, after resting awhile, continued 
on the "old trail." 

But scarcely had they crossed Macfarlan, in front of the 
present site of the "'Beechwood hotel," when they were fired 
upon from the timber at the right hand side of the road, and 
the Dutchman and Macfarlan were wounded. Jesse Hughes 



3bS 



HISTORY Oh RITCHIE COUNTY 



and his party, hearing the firing and guessing the cause, liast- 
ily crossed the stream near the present pump-station and 
ascended the hill, and opened fire on the fiank and rear of the 
savages at a most unexpected moment, putting them to flight, 
and, doubtlessly, saving the five from the tomahawk and the 
scalping-knife. 

Macfarlan recovered from his wounds, but the "Dutcli- 
man" died that night at their camp on w^hat is now Dutch- 
man's run, and was buried under the side of a large rock in 
the bed of the stream, near one-half mile from the mouth. 

Though one hundred forty years have gone by since this 
tragical drama was enacted here, the names of Macfarlan and 
Dutchman have ever since clung to these streams, and will 
doubtless perpetuate the memory of these unknown indi\id- 
uals who were thousands of miles from their home-lands. 
Though but lowly monuments, they will endure when impos- 
ing ones that have been erected to the great earth have crum- 
bled to decav.^ 




The Village of Macfarlan. 
(The scene of the first tragedy enacted on Ritchie county , poil.) 



^We are indebted to Mr. John B. Lemon for this interesting tradi- 
tion, which came down to him from his maternal ancestors, the Deemses. 
James Deem, a very early pioneer, having come here and viewed the 
scene of the conflict sixteen years after it took place, and witnessed the 
bullet marks upon the trees, and copied the date (1769) from a large beei^h 
tree that stood until 1S40, when it was cut down in building the Pike. 
Mr. Deem also pointed out the sleeping place of the unfortunate "Dutch- 
man." A noticeable feature of this tradition is that it antedates the real 
time of the discovery of Ritchie county, and the naming of its principal 
streams. 



I 



MACFARLAN AND DUTCHMAN 3G9 

Dutchman Settled by Robert Lough. — Though the his- 
tory of this stream began at such an early day, its wilderness 
remained unbroken until near the year 1840, when Robert 
Lough came here from Monongalia county v/ith his famil)^ 
and reared the first cabin — on the farm that is now owned by 
the Dawson heirs. 

The records show that in the year 1812 the Governor of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia granted to the said Robert 
Lough a patent for one hundred acres on Dutchman's run. 
From here, he removed to the Webb's mill vicinity, a few years 
later, he having purchased five hundred sixty-nine acres of 
land in this section of Waitman Joseph, of Tyler county, on 
November 14, 1846, a tract which now includes the farms of 
John P. Kennedy, John V. Warner, John Hallam, and per- 
haps, others. 

Here he resided until 1863, when this property passed 
into other hands, and for the next ten years he made his home 
with his son, John, on Indian run ; and early in the seventies, • 
they all went to Vermillion county, Illinois, where he died 
shortly after his arrival ; and there, in a rural burying-ground, 
near Ridge Farm, his ashes lie. He was a native of Monon- 
galia county and was born in 1800. 

A year or two after his death, his aged widow, Mrs. Sarah 
Lynch Lough, returned to West Virginia, and made her home 
with her daughter. Airs. Robert Means, .in Calhoun county, 
until she was borne to the Fluharty cemetery, on Leading 
creek, in 1880. 

They were the parents of the following named children: 

John, Ninirod, Edward D., Pierce, Eleanore, Nancy, 
Sarah, and Rachel, all of whom were born in Monongalia 
county, except Rachel. 

John Lough, the eldest son — born in the early twenties, , 
married Miss Mary Brand, of Monongalia county, nvho only 
survived the nuptial hour a short time; he then married Mrs. 
Mary Ann Wilson Drake, sister of the venerable Isaac Wil- 
son, and settled near the forks of Dutchman, on the farm thai: 
is now owned by the DaAvson heirs — doubtless the one im- 
proved by his father — near the year 1845. After a few years 
sojourn here, he traded his property to the late Cyrus Daw- 



370 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

son for what is now the P. R. Tharpe farm, on Indian run, 
and tiiere he resided nntil he went to Vermillion county, Illi- 
nois, late in the sixties or early in the seventies. There he 
saw the last of earth, in 1879 ; and there, beside his wdfe, he 
rests, with his father, near Ridge Farm. He had several 
children, but as they all live in the West, their names are 
missing-. 

Nimrod Lough — born in 18?3. was first married to Miss 
Elizabeth Butcher, sister of the late Washington Bvitcher, 
and Airs. Jacob Dougherty, who passed to her final home m 
18G5 ; and his second wife was Mrs. Rachel Stansbury GoiT. 
He resided in the Hardman chapel vicinity, and on Alum fork 
of Bone creek for many years. He tendered service as a Union 
soldier during the Civil war. and finally in 1905, went to the 
Soldiers' Home at Dayton, Ohio, where he answered the -"last 
roll call" in 1908, and where he slumbers. 

The children of his first marriage were. Robert, Thomas. 
and Jerome, of Lewis county ; Caroline, who first married 
John Vv'illiam Law, of this county, and after his death, went 
to Harrison county and married Alilton Davis, of Salem. She 
is the mother of Steele Law, of Clarksburg. 

Sarah Ellen became Mrs. Isaac Smith, of Smitliville ; and 
Isa married a Mr. Clarke, and resides in Lewis county. 

The children of his second marriage were the late John 
Lough, Moses, and Newton, who now live in Ohio : and 
Auriila, who was the late Mrs. Phineas Folden, of Jackson 
county. 

Edward D. Lough was born en March 24, 1824, and on 
April 10, 1849, he was married to Miss Dorcas Dawson, of 
Marion county ; and there settled down until 1855. when he 
removed his family to land owned by his father on lower In- 
dian creek. From there, he went to what is now the Amos 
Scott farm, farther up the creek, and finally, in 18T0, to the 
old homestead, near Flarrisville, which is still in the hands 
of his heirs. Here on August 25, 1903, he bade adieu to earth. 
On December fifth of the same year, his aged companion fol- 
lowed him to the grave. Both rest in the Odd Fellows ceme- 
tery, at Harrisville. 

They were the parents of five children: John A., died in 



MACFARLAN AND DUTCHMAN :-l7i 

infancy. Napoleon E., and Misses Mary F. and Henrietta, 
who has been an invalid for many long years, reside at the 
old home; and Phillip S. is engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness in Ohio. All are unmarried. 

Pierce Lough was born in 18"i8, and near the year 1863, 
he was married to Aliss Malinda Campbell, of Wirt county, 
and for a few years after this event he called the "Buckeye 
slate" his home, but for many years past he had been a resi- 
dent of Leading creek, in Calhoun county. In 1877, his wife 
passed on, leaving three children ; viz., Hiram Douglas Lough, 
of Williamstown ; Mrs. Virginia (I. C.) Fox. of Lough, Cal- 
houn county ; and Mrs. Ida Black, Gilmer county ; and after 
her death he married Mrs. Mar}' Martin Hayhurst, and the 
one child of this anion died in infancy. 

Eleanor Lough (daughter of Robert) married Jacolj 
fiibbs, of Marion county, who died in this county, in 1895, 
and she now lives with her daughter, Mrs. Sarah Marshall, 
in Ohio. Her other children are: Mrs. C. D. Furbee, Graf- 
ton; Mrs. Wilson Rollins, Parkersburg; the late Mrs. Nancy 
(Walter) Dotson, the late Ulysses, Grant, and Walter, of this 
county; John C, of Wood, and Charles, of the West. 

Nancy Lough (daughter of Robert) married Granville 
Sleeth,' an early merchant of Smitnville, and she died in lS5t), 
and he, the following year. Their children are Robert Sleeth, 
of Ohio; and A\'illiam, of Parkersburg. 

Sarah Lough married Robert Means, who came to this 
county from Lewis, in the early fifties, and figured in the 
affairs of the Ritchie Mines vicinity until 1875, when he re- 
moved to Leading creek, in Calhoun county, where his wife 
died in 1897, and where he still survives. Their children 
were, the late Scott Means, of Calhoun county ; Mrs. Ella L. 
(Wm.) Otto, of Revere: and Edward E., who lives with his 
aged father at the old homestead. 

Rachel A. Lough, the youngest daughter of Robert, mar- 
lied James Rogers, son of John B. Rogers, of Smithville. and 
at Hutchinson, Kansas, they reside. They have no children. 

Robert Lough's father, whose first name is wanting, 
crossed the sea from Downs county, Ireland, during the lat- 



'See Sleeth history in Smithville chapter. 



372 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

ler part of the eighteenth century, and prol?ably settled in 
the Virginia colony, but this is uncertain. He married a 
Miss Hart, however, and was identified among the citizens 
oi' what is now Monongalia count}-, as early as 1800, when 
his sun, the progenitor of the Ritchie county family, made his 
exit upon the stage of life ; and there, perhaps, he spent the 
remnant of his days. 

Cyrus Dawson. — The family of the late Cyrus Dawson 
have been identified v\'ith the history of this stream since 
185"2, when he traded the P. R. Tharpe farm, on Indian run, 
fur the possessions of John Lough, at the forks of this creek. 

Mr. Dawson was born of German-English parentage, in 
Beaver county, Pennsylvania, on October 31, 1S3T ; was the 
son of John and Margaret V'anati Dawson. He was first 
married to Miss Jemima Braden, a native of Greene comity. 
Pennsylvania, and witli her came to this county in 1849, and 
resided on Indian run, for a few years, before coming" co 
Dutchman, as above mentioned. 

Here on August 1, 18G0, ]virs. Dawson fell asleep; and 
some time afterAvards he was married to Miss Sarah E. 
Plaught, daughter of Peter rlaught, of Wirt county; and dur- 
ing the autumn of 1861, he, with his little family, leaving the 
old home on Dutchman's run, set out for Iowa, where he re- 
mained for two years and farmed with his brother, \\'illianj 
Dawson. 

But on May 2, 1864, both families started across the 
plains in their emigrant wagons, drawn by mules and horses, 
with California as their destination. 

Their route lav through hundreds of miles of wild and 
unbroken forests, and their experiences with the Indians were 
many and varied, though none of them resulted seriously. Yet 
they were constantly kept on their guard lest they should be 
molested by these dusky denizens of the forest, who often 
hung about their tents and their wagons like "hungry hounds" 
begging, as best they could in their unknown tongue, for 
something to eat. 

Xot un frequently did this little party come across signs 
of encounters that other emigrants had had with the savages, 
and noted with sadness where the "dark pathway of death 



MACFARLAN AND DUTCHMAN :JT:i, 

had been;" for time and again did they find lonely graves by 
the wa3'-side with rude inscriptions telling of the tragic fate 
of some one who had traversed this path before. 

They camped out all the way and feasted upon all kinds 
of wild meat, such- as was everywhere abundant, except tlie 
bufifalo, which seemed to be shy of the paths that were fre- 
quented by travelers. 

After leaving Omaha, Nebraska, they were unable to 
purchase food until they reached Salt Lake City. Here they 
remained over night and had the pleasure of seeing the late 
renowned Mormon Leader Brigham Younge, who was out 
driving in his carriage. 

In October they landed at Stockton. California, and early 
in the spring removed fifteen miles farther north, where they 
found employment on a ranch ; and in 1866, they removed to 
Mercer Falls, near the foot hills of the Rocky Mountains, and 
there remained over winter. There the rain fell almost in- 
cessantly throughout the season, and amid such surroundings 
the thoughts of Mr. Dawson and his wife turned longingly to 
the humble cottage far away among the Virginia hills ; and 
on May 2, 1867, they turned their faces homeward. The same 
Old wagon, and the same team of horses that had borne them 
\Vestward a few^ years before, were now pressed into service 
for the honjeward-journey. Everything was green and beau- 
tiful when they set out, but a few days travel brought them 
to banks of snow in the mountains. Their road lay over 
much the same coiuitry, and the incidents of camping-out and 
guarding their stock differed but little from the Westward 
journey. 

They came across many other families coiinng back to 
"the States," as they termed it, and soon their wagon-train 
numbered sixty-six men, besides the women and the children ; 
and on the Fourth of July they camped and had a "general 
hunt," which resulted in the death of seventeen antelopes, 
the hams of which, only, they could save. 

As they passed east of Denver and traveled down the 
Platte river, they encountered the workmen who were con- 
structing the Union Pacific railroad, and felt that they were 
again nearing civilization. 



374 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

By the time they had reached Ohio, however, their travel- 
ing companions had all gone their respective ways, to their 
former homes, and they were left alone ; and late in October 
they arrived at the home of Peter Haught, in Wirt county, 
and for the first time since they left California, in May, slept 
in a house. 

During the following week they returned to their old 
home on Dutchman's run, and joyfully entered the "lowly, 
thatched cottage" that they had deserted for fairer scenes. 

And ''no more from this cottage again did they roam," for 
here, on July 27. 1897, the second ^Nlrs. Dawson fell asleep; and 
on ]\Iarch the twenty-fifth of the following year (1898) ^Ir. 
Dawson joined her on the other shore. Both rest in the 
Straight creek btirying-grotmd. 

The old homestead, which is now rich in oil, has been 
divided and Daniel G. Dawson occupies the parental dwell- 
ing, and John and Calvin reside on other portions. 

The children of the first union were five in number, but 
two alone survive ; viz., Peter, of Wirt county : and William, 
^". no is a surveyor and Notary public, of Williamstown ; 
Ezekiel and Kathrine died in childhood and shortly after their 
departure, Jtilia Ann met a tragic death by pulling a pot of 
boiling-hot cofifee from the table upon her. 

The nine children of the second union were as follows: 
Rachel D., who is Mrs. E. P. Haught, of Calhotm county; 
Mrs. Margaret (James A.) Hefner, and Newton J., of Hart- 
ley ; the late Mrs. Lucinda (Wm. H.) Hayes, Daniel G., John, 
and Calvin, of Dutchman; Elmore C, Wirt county; and 
Richard F., who died in his young manhood. 

Newton is the father of Gilbert, the young pedagogue. 

William Wilson and Archibald Hess were other early 
settlers here. ]\Ir. Wilson was a Clarion county product, and 
his wife, ]\Irs. Anna Shuman Wilson, was a native of l\Ic- 
Curdysville, Monongalia county. Pie was born in 1821. iind 
came to this county in 184.5, and settled on Dutchman's run, 
where he finished life's pilgrimage in 1894. And in the Hart- 
Icy burying-ground. beside his wife, he sleeps. His late 
children were Mrs. Ruth Snodgrass, Mrs. Rachel Bush, Mrs. 
Rosena Lemon, and James P. Wilson ; and the surviving ones 



MACFARLAN AXD DUTCHMAN 375 

aie: ]\Irs. Alary Jane Richards, Doddridge county; Mrs. 
Manda Mason, Ohio; Arthur Wilson, Freed; and Daniel Vv'il- 
son, who resides at the old home. 

This family are of Irish lineage, and there is but little 
doubt that they are of the same stock as the other Wilsons 
of the county. 

Benjamin Wilson, grandfather of William ,of Dutchman, 
was a second corisin of the late father of the venerable Isaac 
Wilson, of Washburn, and b.is (Benjomin'sj son, George, was 
the grandfather of E. C. \\ ilson, of Hazelgreen. 

William Wilson, senior (son of Benjamin), and his wife, 
Airs. Rachel L}-nch W ilson, early settlers of Marion county, 
were the heads of the branch of this family w^hich is of most 
interest to us, as their descendants are not a few in this and 
sister counties. 

Their family consisted of twelve children; viz., William, 
the Dutchman pioneer; Edw'ard, who met a tragic death at 
his home in Aiarion county in a runaway accident a year or 
two ago; John, Beckett. Alexander, James, Benjamin, Eli, 
I-Merce, Rachel (who married Peter Haught, of Wirt county), 
Mary (Mrs. Archibald Hess), and Sarah Wilson, who re- 
mained unmarried and still survives at her home in Marior; 
county. 

Beckett Wilson was married to Miss Alary Alason, and 
lived and died in Alarion county, wdiere his large family all 
remained except one daughter, Jane, who was the late Mrs. 
Henry Alorris, of Pidlman. His other children were: Mrs. 
Xancy Hibbs, Mrs. Lucinda Floyd, Airs. Isabel Kuhn, and 
Alls. Alargaret Wyer, who have all passed on; and Wesley 
and Pinckney W^ilson, who survive. 

Eli Wilson was married to Aliss Jennie AlcCru-d}', in 
Alarion county, near the year 1840, and removed to Straight 
creek, in Wirt cotmty, where he still survives, thougii blind 
and almost entirely deaf. His wife died in 1907. They were 
the parents of: Van C, the late Eher AI., Smithville; Airs. U. 
S. Fluharty, Harrisville ; Cyrus, v^dio died in childhood ; the 
late Airs. AWlliam Dawson. AVilliam Wilson, Airs. Oliver 
Smith, of Calhoun countv ; W. A., and Allie B. \\'ilson. 



o7e HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Benjamin L. Wilson was married to Miss Martha Kelley, 
daughter of Joshua and Martha Brand Kelley. and principally 
spent his life in Doddridge county, where a number of liis 
descendants still li\'e. He was iihe father of the following- 
named sons and daughters: The late Mrs. Jane Mason, Toll- 
gate; Mrs. Rachel Vanhorn, Gilmer county; ^Irs. Marg-aret 
Vanhorn. Airs. Nancy (Joseph) Summers, the late Joshua 
Wilson, and James K. Wilson, Doddridge county; Mrs. 
Louisa Vanhorn, and Mrs. Lydia Watson, Roane county ; the 
late Mrs. Martha Pless Watson (wife of Wilson Watson). 
Auburn : and Charity, who died in youth. 

The Rev. M. A. Summers, of the Baptist chinch, and M. 
Bruce Summers, cashier of the First National Bank at W^st 
Union, are the grandsons of Benjamin A\'ilson.- 

Archibald Hess was also a Marion county man. He three 
tunes took the marriag-e vow. His first wife was Miss Sarah 
Price ; the name of the second is missing, but the third was 
Miss Mary Wilson. He came to Dutchman in the early 
forties, and after a brief sojourn here, removed to near Sum- 
mers, in Doddridge county. Here the third wife 'iied, and he 
spent his last hours at Auburn with his daugliter. Mrs. A!. !'>. 
Watson, in 1883, and in the Auburn cemetery he lies at rest. 
Mrs. W^atson is the only child of the last marriage. .And 
Henry and George Hess were other members of the family. 



CHAPTER XXVII 




Devil Hole Creek Settled 

HE origin of the name of this stream, "Devil 
Hole," which has such a forbidden sound, is 
variously stated. One tradition says that ii 
originated from a remarkable cave in the 
hill not far from its mouth, near by whicii 
is a huge sand-stone thirty or forty feet in 
height, which stands out prominently alone, 
and which is designated as the "Devil's Tea-table." Anotn.er 
is that when the old "Worth line" was under survey tlirough 
this section, one of the party on reaching a hole which reseo 
bled the far-famed "bottomless pit," exclaimed — -"What devil 
of a hole are we getting into here?" But the venerable Jona- 
than C. Lowther, of Berea, who is now past his ninetieth mile- 
stone, tells us that his father, the late Elias Lowtlier, who 
was a member of the surveying party, gave it its name, he 
being the individual who remarked about the strong resem- 
blance that this opening in the earth bore to the general idea 
entertained concerning the abode of Satan and his hosts. 
Hence the authentic origin of the name. 

Doubtless, owing to the dreadful title bestowed upon this 
region, it was not settled until the middle of the nineteenth 
century, when Michael Hoover ventured into its unbroken 
wilderness and erected his dwelling on the land that is now 
owned by the Simmons" heirs, and the Layfields. His father, 
Thomas Hoover, having patented a tract of six hundred 
ninety-six acres on the head waters of this stream some time 
before. Mr. Hoover married a Miss Mullenax and they finally 
went West anrl died, and of their family we have no record. 

Absalom Cunningham \vas the second pioneer to pene- 
trate this wilderness. He was born near XA'ebb's mill, in 
1820; was the son of Adam and Sarah Sinnett Cunningham, 
and the grandson of Adam, senior — the brother of Thomas 



37S HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Cvmningham. He married ]\Iiss Huldah Simmons, daughter 
o/ Abraham and Alary Alnllenax Simmons, and came here in 
the year 1852. He later resided on Indian run and Indian 
creek, and finally went to live with his son, John S. Cunning- 
ham, the Washburn artist, where he died in 1898. He sleeps 
ni the Indian creek Baptist churchyard, beside his first wife. 
His second wife, ]vlrs. Jane Simmons Nottingham Cunning- 
ham Divine, was a sister of his first wife. She resides with 
her son, Jacob Cunningham, near Washburn. 

Mr. Cunningham was the father of eight children, all of 
whom were born of the first union; viz., ]\Iartin, of Auburn- 
John S., and George, and the late Airs. Alary A. (J. A.) \"alen- 
tine, of Washburn : Charles, of Lawford ; Airs. Alalinda 
(James) Valentine, Ohio; and Airs. Elizabeth (Ellsworth; 
Alatson, AA'irt county. 

Jacob Layfield was the next settler, he having taken the 
place of Alichael Hoover, in 1854. He w^as the son of John 
and Elizabeth Aloats Layfield, and his second wife was AIis^ 
Agnes Drake, daughter of James Drake. He passed from 
earth in 1865, and his venerable widow survived until the 
autumn of 1908, when she was laid by his side, in the Layfield 
l:)urying-ground. The youngest son now occupies the old 
home. 

The children of this union were four sons: viz., AA'illiam 
J., John A., George O., and Newton. 

Uriah Shrader was another early settler on the head- 
waters of this creek. He came from Pendleton countv, where 
he was born and reared, and married Aliss Alary Layfield, 
daughter of John Layfield, senior, and remained here until he 
was borne to the Alt. Aloriah churchyard. He was a soldier 
of the Lnion army, and his little family consisted of four 
children.. Two died in infancy, Phebe, in young womanhood, 
and Jacob Shrader is a citizen of Cokeley. 

Air. Shrader's grandparents came direct from Germany 
lo Pendleton county, and there his father, Jacob Shrader, 
spent his entire life; but in 1868, after the death of his father, 
his mother. Airs. Phebe Shrader, came to this county, and 
remained as a member of his household until lier death in 
1892, at the age of eighty-eight years. She, too, rests in the 



DEVIL HOLE CREEK SETTLED 37'.i 

Alt. Aloriah ciuirch}'ard. Uriah Shrader was a member of a 
family of five children ; viz., Ami, and Benjamin, who re- 
mained in Pendleton county ; Mrs. Eliza Groggs, of Calhoun 
countv; and David Shrader, who came to this county. 

David Shrader was long a member of the Board of Edu- 
cation in Grant district, but he is now a resident of Virginia. 

He married Miss Hannah Moats and settled on Addis' 
run, where Mrs. Shrader died a few years since, and where 
their daughter, Mrs. Jane Hubbard, now lives. The other 
children born of this union were : the late Mrs. Anna Ross, 
and the late Henry, who were both formerly identified aniong 
the teachers of this county; Edward, of Ohio; Mrs. Lucretia 

. of Kansas; Mrs. Grace (B. M.) Cowell, of Goose 

creek; and Miss Lydia Shrader, of this county. 

John W. Simmons was, perhaps, the next settler. He, 
too, was a native of Pendleton county, and of German descent. 
But in his boyhood, with his parents, he came to Indian creek, 
this county, where he grew to manhood. He married Miss 
Elizabeth Hourhood, of Doddridge county, and their children 
were as follows ; 

Mrs. Mary (Cameron) Swadley, Indian creek; Mrs. 
Huldah (George G.) Layfield ; the late Mrs. Robert Smith, 
Cokeley's ; and Aaron, and William Simmons, Cantwell. He 
died at his old home several years ago, and sleeps in the Pleas- 
ant Hill churchyard, not far distanc. 

Mr. Simmons was the eldest son of Abraham and Mary 
Mullenax Simmons, who came from Pendleton county to In- 
dian creek, perhaps more than sixty years ago, and remained 
until they were laid in the Indian creek Baptist churchyard. 
He was one of a family of eight children ; viz., Hanson, Abra- 
ham, Salathiel, George, James, Jane and Pluldah, all of whom 
have passed on, except Jane and Salathiel. 

Abraham, junior, married Airs. Melissa Wilson Stanley, 
and was the father of George, and Tames Simmons, of Au- 
burn. 

Huldah married Absalom Cunningham, and, after her 
death, her sister Jane (who first married Jackson Nottingham, 
and later Jasper Cunningham, and A\'illiam Di\'ine) became 



3S0 I-IISTORV OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

the wife of Absalom Cunningham. She now resides witli her 
sen at Washburn. 

Hanson passed on several years ago. George and James 
died in youth, and Salathiel lives on Island run. 

Abraham Simmons, senior, was a brother of Peter, whose 
history appears with the Indian creek settlers. 

Later Settlers on this creek were M. D. Cowan. Stacy 
Stephens, John W. Marshall, Jacob Campbell. Daniel Coke- 
ley, Samuel Parks, James Eddy, C. H. Ptarrison and others, 
but these settlements hardly belong to pioneer days, as the}' 
were of such recent date. 

The Miller Flat, which was improved by the noted jurist. 
Charles T. Harrison, in 1880, is the scene of the oldest settle - 
ment on the creek, it having been settled as early as 1830 or 
'40, by the Miller Brothers. 

M, Duke Cowan is now the oldest citizen of this creek. 
He came here in 1878, and made the first improvement on 
the head of the small tributary known as "Rock Fork," and 
his possessions are now valued at forty or fifty thousand dol- 
lars, and he is staled the "Oil King" of this region. 

His wife was Miss Mary Ann Vanort, of Doddridge 
county, and their wedding day was November 17, 1854. They 
came to this count}' in the ante-bellum days, and found a 
home on Back run, near Harrisville ; and from there, they re- 
moved to Oil Ridge. He was a soldier of the Union army, 
and his family consisted of nine children. Two have crossed 
to the other side, and the rest are as follows : 

Mary (Mrs. W. H. Scott), John W., Laura (Mrs. Judd 
Blam), Martha Jane (Mrs. W. H. Moore), Samuel E., Frank, 
and Fannie (Mrs. Wade Broadwater). 

The Cowans are old citizens of the county. Isaac Cowan 
was born in A\'estmoreland county, Pennsylvania, on July IP 
1808, and his wife. Miss Nancy Idoult, was born in Marion 
county, this state, on June 6, 1811: and their marriage took 
place on November 15, 1831. They called Ohio their home 
for a time before removing to this county, in 1849, where they 
found a permanent home, and a final resting-place. Here, 
near one one-half miles from Harrisville, he died on Septem- 
ber 19, 18(14, and Mrs. Cowan survived until November 15, 
1888. when she joined him on the other side. 

4 hey were the parents of eleven children : viz.. ]\I. D. 



DEriL HOLE CREEK SETTLED 381 

Cowan, already mentioned; J. W., of Indian creek; Mrs. Neal 
(Melvina) Moats, Harrisville ; Mary E. Cowan, of Oil Ridge; 
the late Joseph, of the West; the late Mrs. Rachel (David) 
Mclntyre, of Harrisville; and the rest died in youth. 



The Harrison family, who is a very prominent one in the 
county, merits recognition here, bat owing to the innate mod- 
esty of the head of this family, and to his thorough dislike for 
publicity, our request for this data was met with a polite dec- 
lination, as he felt confident that the "little he had done was 
not worthy of a place." 

Rutherford. — The foundation of this village was laid in 
1881, vvhen H. S. Wilson, the projector of the Cairo and 
Kanawha Valley railroad, erected a lumber camp here, which 
was abandoned a livtle later. But he built a station-house 
and dwelling here in 1892, and in April of that same year, the 
late John O. Lynch became the occupant of that dwelling, 
which is still the home of his family. Mr. Wilson opened a 
store the same year, and then came the post-office (1892) 
with R. W. Rutherford post-master. The school-house was 
erected in 1889, on land given by the Ritchie Lumber Com- 
pany. 

The nearest church is the "Fairview" M. E. church, the 
grounds of which were donated by Mrs. Rachel Six. 

W. H. Reynolds was the first blacksmith. The dwellings 
now number near a score, and the population is close to eighty- 
five. 

It was named in honor of the Rutherfords, who were the 
charter members of the "Ritchie Lumber Company." 

John O. Lynch, the first citizen uf the town, was a Tyler 
county product, he having been born on Pursley creek, seven 
miles from Sistersville, on July 2, 1858, but he came to this 
county in his youth or early manhood, and taught school for 
a time, and served as assessor later on. He married Miss 
Miranda Smith, daughter of Aaron Smith, of Smith's chapel, 
and was the father of six sons : Okey, Charley, who has 
passed on. Gainer, Theodore, Emmett and Hallie. 

He was merchant, post-master, and one of the most use- 
ful citizen of the place until his death early in the year 1908. 



CHAPTER XXVIII 




Ritchie Mines 

HE famous Ritchie coal mine, which is 
located two miles from the month of Mac- 
farlan creek, was discovered during the 
autmn of 1852, by the late Frederick Lemon. 
The countr}- had been visited by one of 
the greatest floods in its history, during 
April of that year, and the general wash-out 
revealed this noted mine. 

Air. Lemon, being impressed by its every appearance (the 
coal standing on edge instead of lying down, etc.) that he 
had made a valuable discovery, covered it up, hoping to make 
a deal for the land, but, before his plans were carried into 
effect, anotlier flood came, in 1858, which again revealed the 
hidden treasure, and the coal w^as then put to the test for 
black-smithing purposes. Thus it was found to be different 
from other coal and of far greater value, and it has since 
proved to be asphalt — the pnly^ asphalt mine in the L^nited 
States. 

This same vear, Mr. Lemon purchased the tract of land 
covering two hundred sixteen acres, of John Webb and 
Robert Marshall ; and the following y^ear, he sold to Nelson 
Beall, of Frostburg, Maryland, who soon after began to oper- 
ate the mine: but the Civil war came on. and operations 
ceased until its close in 18G5, when Mr. Beall sold to a S3'ndi- 
cate from Xew York and Baltimore, who constructed a nar- 
row-gauge railroad, from Cairo to the mine, which was known 
as the "Calico railroad." This launched a boom for business, 
and marked an important epoch in the history of this part oi 
the county. The population rapidly increased. ]\Iany good 
families having found permanent homes here near that time. 
Among them were a large number of Irish people, who are 
still prominently identified with the citizenship of this com- 



RITCHIE MINES 



383 



nmnity: The Dolans, the Goldens, the Burkes, the Coyles, 
the Overtoils, etc. 

But in 1S74, the coal vein was lost, and work suddeniy 
ceased ; and everything sank into a state of apathy — into 
dilapidation and ruin, and thus continued until 1885, when 
the land, mine, and railroad, were purchased bv H. S. Wilson, 
of Parkersburg, who (in 189-0) sub-railed the road and ex- 
tended it as far as Mellin (in 1892), and, on to the river at 
Macfarlan (in 1894), under the chang-ed name of the "Cairo 
and Kanawha Valley railroad." In 1906, Mr. Wilson and his 
sons sold this railroad to a syndicate, which has since that time 
been talking of transforming it into a broad-gauge road and 
extending it to the coal-fields in some of the south-eastern 
counties of the state. 

The Hon. Charles F. Teter, and S. A. Moore, of Philippi ; 
T. R. Cowell and C. B. Kefauver, of Parkersburg, are the 
trustees, and several other strong financial interests of Park- 
ersburg, and elsewhere, are members. 




The ruins of the Ritchie Mine3 and Frederic Lemon, tiie discoverer. 



384 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The mine, too, passed from the hands of Mr. Wilson 
several years ago, and has since that time been operated by 
a Alichigan syndicate; but it is now taking on new life with 
a Mining Company at the helm, which is composed of local 
people, and New York and Wheeling men of means. 
Machinery is now on the ground and a shaft is being- sunk as 
rapidly as possible, and important developments are looked 
forward to with interest. 

The opening of the C. & K. V. railroad gave rise to the 
towns of Mellin and iSlacfarlan. Thomas L. Lemon, son of 
John B. Lemon, erected the first store at Mellin, in 1891 : and 
l-J. S. Wilson and John S. W^arnick opened the first store at 
Macfarlan. in 189-1. The post-office was established a little 
later v/ith Mr. Warnick, post-master. 

The "Beechwood" hotel was i)uilt near the same time b}^ 
H. S. Wilson. This large, commodious building, which is 
surrounded by an ideal forest, was for a time quite a retreat 
for the lovers of quietude and sylvan beauty. After ]\Ir. Wil- 
son had rented and leased this hotel property for several 
years, he sold to James D. Hill and Burleigh Fowler, and not 
long after this transaction (in 1904), it was destroyed by fire, 
but was rebuilt by Hill and Fovv^ler, who sold to J. E. Snyder. 
William H. McCray is now the owner and proprietor. The 
village, which numbers near a dozen scattered dwellings, has 
another hotel, known as the "Dogwood," with B.'P. Goff pro- 
prietor. 

It has two stores, with W. R. Hayes Trading Company 
at the W^arnick stand, and F. J. Lemon in charge of the other, 
a good school-house, a blacksmith shop, a pump-station, a 
depot-building, and a physician in the person of Dr. Lester 
Miller. 

Frederick Lemon, the discoverer of this famous mine, 
claims a place in this chapter: 

Mr. Lemon was born in Botetourt county, Virginia, in 
1818, and came to this county in 1835, with his father. George 
S. Lemon, who settled at the forks of Hughes river, (^n 
January 15, 18;38, he was married to Miss Roena Deem, 
daughter of Phillip Deem, and shortly after his marriage 
took up his residence at Macfarlan, on the old estate, w-here 



RITCHIE MINES 3S5 

his life came to a close in 1902. Nine children were the fruits 
of this union: Phillip J., C. N., F. J., John B., A. W., Z. T., 
and L. L., Mrs. Roena Pribble, and the late Mrs. Cinderilla 
(John K.) Bradley, all of Macfarlan, except Z. T., and L. L., 
who are numbered with the dead. The first three mentioned 
were Confederate soldiers during the Civil war. 

The Lemons are of German extraction, their ancestors 
having" come from Prussia during the last quarter of the 
seventeenth century, and settled in the fertile valley of the 
James river, in Virginia. Here Frederick Lemon, senior, was 
born in 1739, an.d at the breaking out of the Revolution, he 
took up arms in defense of the colonies, and was in ihe en- 
gagement at Yorktown. His son, George S. Lemon, who 
came to Ritchie county in 1835 and settled at the forks of 
Hughes river, was also a native of the "Old Dominion." 

George S. Lemon was married to Miss Nancy Tilden, of 
Virginia, and was the father of twelve children, all of whom 
reached the years of maturity. He was a soldier of the war 
of 1813, and enjoys the distinction of having been the first 
man to bore an oil well in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

In 1844, while putting down a well for salt water, near 
the mouth of Flint run, in Wirt county, he struck oil at a 
depth of one hundred twenty-five teet. His object in sinking 
the well being to engage in the manufacture of salt, which 
purpose was defeated by the in-flowing of oil. But his labor, 
however, Avas not lost, for he pumoed the well an'1 introduced 
the oil into the Marietta market, where it sold for medicinal 
purposes. But scarcely had he begun to reap the benefits of 
his labor, when one Bushrod W. Creel appeared upon the 
scene, and laid claim to the land and took this enterprise out 
of Mr. Lemon's hands. This distinguished pioneer died at 
FTockingport, Wood county, in December, 1865, and sleeps 
at Cisko, this county. His venerable companion was laid hy 
his side in 1872. 

Tlieir children were as follows : James sleeps at St. 
Joseph, Missouri; Frederick, at Macfarlan; John, in Illinois; 
George, Jacob, and E. T., who lost his life in the Confederate 
cause, in the family burying-ground at Cisko; and Albert, the 
only survivor of the family, lives in Wirt county. Charlwtte. 



38G HISTORy OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

the eldest daughter, married Henry Valentine ; Harriet, Adam 
Valentine; Nancy, Alex. Alackey, and all spent their lives in 
this county; Sallie became Mrs. Nelson Hickle and went to 
Kentuck}^ ; and Almi married Abe ]\Ialoney and spent her last 
hours at Hockingport, in Wood county. 

The Irish families who have largely made up the citizen- 
ship of this part of the county for the past lialf-centur_v or 
longer, merit a corner in this chapter, but as our appeals have 
gone by unheeded, we are unable to do them justice. How- 
ever, the facts concerning the family of ^Michael Goldin are at 
hand : 

Michael Goldin was born in Ireland in 1819, and came 
to New York in ISiS, where he met and married ]\Iiss ]\lar- 
garet Mullin, and from that commonwealth, they came to 
this county, in 1858, and settled at Oxbow, where he followed 
farming and teaching school, in w^inter, for several years ; and 
where he served as post-master for twenty-three years. He 
passed from earth on April 11, 1898, and in the Catholic ceme- 
tery, at Oxbow, he rests. 

His family consisted of four sons and one daughter: 
James A. Goldin. of Minnesota; Thomas, Patrick, and 
i\Iichael. of Oxbow ; and Airs. Marv Dolan. Parkersburg. 

H. S. Wilson. — No other one individual is more entitled 
to recognition in the history of this part of the county than 
PI. S. Wilson, of Parkersburg, who was the chief factor in the 
opening up of much of the wilderness in the Southern section 
of the county. 

Mr. AMlson comes of Irish stock. His father, Robert 
Wilson, was born in County Downs, Ireland, on May 1, 179"?, 
and crossed the water to Philadelphia in 1816, and spent the 
remaining years of his life in the "Keystone"' state — (at 
Coxestown, Highspire, and Paxtong). He died in 1878, at the 
age of eighty-six years, and lies buried in the Paxtongchurch- 
yard. 

Robert \\'ilson was married in the year 1825 to Miss 
jMar}^ Stewart, daughter of Henr\^ Stewart (born 1708-1804), 
who embarked to America from County Downs. Ireland, in 
1811, and settled at Harrisburg, Pennsvlvania, and H. S. W'il- 



RITCHIE MIXES 387 

son, the subject of this sketch, was the second child of this 
union. 

Henry Stewart AMlson stepped upon the battle-field of 
li^'e at Highspire, on July 5, 1S?9, and there spent his youth 
and the early days of his manhood. From 1856 until 1871. he 
was ensras-ed in the lumber business in his native town, and 
from there during the latter year, he came to \\>st V'irginia 
and started a saw-mill, on Lick nui in Doddridge county, 
which he continued to operate until 1874 when he removed it 
to Grafton. 

In February, 1877, he first made the acquaintance of the 
forests of this county when he moved his saw-mill to Buz- 
zard's run. and shipped his lumber from Tollgate. He also 
shipped lumber from Beeson, and Pennsboro a little later, 
(1878-9) ; and removed his mill to Devil Hole where he ex- 
ported his products from Cairo over the "Calico railroad." 

In 1890, he and his son, Robert, organized the Cairo and 
Kanawha Valley Railroad Company, and built the narrow- 
guage road from Cairo to Macfarlan, a distance of sixteen 
miles, and thus opened up the forest and founded the towns 
along this road as stations. 

In addition to his labors in this county, he and his son, 
Robert managed a saw-mill at Davisville from 1885-87, and 
during the latter year established one at Parkersburg, which 
has been in operation almost continuously ever since that 
time. 

In accord wuth the faith of his fore-fathers, Mr. Wilson is 
a Presbyterian in religion. He was baptized at the Paxtong 
church two one-half miles from Flarrisburg, in 1831. and 
has been a deacon in the church at Parkersburg for a number 
of years. He was JMayor of Parkersburg from 1891-93, and 
has had official connection with the Second National Bank, 
and varioiis other business concerns of that city ; was a dele- 
gate to the National Democratic convention in 1896 and in 
1904: ; was a member of the Board of Directors for the Insane 
Hospital at Spencer from 1888-90, and served as a director for 
the Girl's Industrial School at Salem, from the time of its in- 
stitution until this board was abolished by the Legislature of 
1909. Though so closely allied with the affairs of this count}- 



388 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE. COUNTY 



he has never claimed his residence here, as his home was at 
Grafton from 18T4 until 1887, when he removed to Parkers- 
burg, where he is spending the evening hours of his long and 
useful life, surrounded by the comforts that his industry has 
so w^ell merited. 

On July 7, 1856, Mr. Wilson claimed Miss Anna M. Ennis, 
of Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, as his bride, and seven children 
were the result of this union ; viz., Sophia and A\'allace died in 
childhood, and the rest are as follows : Robert married ^liss 
Lilian McGregor, and lives at Parkersburg, where he is promi- 
nently identified in business. Carrie Porter is the wife of the 
Rev. R. C. Hughes of the Presbyterian church of Madison, 
Wisconsin. Ellen Blair married ^he Rev. E. AW Work, of 
Logan, Ohio, who is now pastor of the AA'est End Avenue 




H. S. Wilson. 



RITCHIE MIXES 3S9 

Presbyterian church in New York city. H. S. junior, married 
Miss Maude Jarrett, daughter of Dr. A. M. Jarrett, of Grafton, 
and resides at Parkersburg. And Edwin Ennis and his wife 
(Miss Alae Lyle) are also of Parkersburg. 



CHAPTER XXIX 



Pioneer Life and Character 

What sought they thus afar? 

Bright jewels of the mine? 
The wealtii of seas, the spoils of war? 

They sought a faith's pure shrine. 

Ay, call it holy ground, 

The soil where first they trod! 
They have left unstained what here ihey found! 

Freedom to worship God! 

— Mrs. Hemans. 

These early pioneers resided upon the outer-borders of 
three counties — Wood, Lewis, and Harrison, and near forty 
or fifty miles from their respective county-seats. 

The "'State road," was the only thoroughfare, the settle- 
ments being" accessible to this road and to one another by 
bridle-paths. 

Their cabins were built of logs cut from sm.all trees, and 
were covered with clap-boards, made with a tool called a 
"frow." The boards, wdiich were laid upon rib-poles, were 
held in-tact by weight-poles, and the floor was made of 
puncheons, which were split and partly smoothed by an adz. 
The open spaces between the logs were filled by chunks and 
by mortar made of clay. A large fire-place with a "cat and 
clay" chimney (of clay and sticks) occupied one end of the 
house, which was usually one story in height. 

Their furniture, which was home-made, consisted of 
tables, chairs, bedsteads, etc., just such things as necessity de- 
manded, and the fire-place was their cook-stove. A wooden 
paddle called a "battler," was their washing-machine ; tallow 
candles, their lights ; their lanterns were made of tin punched 
fttll of holes, in which a candle burned ; and a wooden-clock 
ticked ofif the hotirs. Their plows were made of wood (ironed 
by a blacksmith), and a paddle was pressed into service while 



PIONEER LIFE AND CHARACTER 391 

plowing in order to keep the mold-board free from dirt. Their 
wool, which was shorn from the backs of the sheep within 
their fold, was carded on hand-cards; and their corn was 
ground by hand, and on horse-mills, which were constructed 
with very large tread-wheels, the main shaft of which occu- 
pied an inclined position, so as to elevate one side of the wheel, 
which turned under the horses' feet. Their clothing was 
made of dressed deer-skins, linen and linsey. And the "good 
house-wife" toiled early and late at her loom and spinning- 
wheel. Their sugar and syrup were principally manufactured 
at home from the sap of the sugar-tree. 

The forests abounded in deer, bears, wolves, panthers, 
wild turkeys, and many other varieties of game, and hunting 
was a regular pursuit during the autumn and the winter sea- 
sons, and thus their meat was obtained. And corn-bread, 
milk and butter with a few other products of the soil, made 
up their bill of fare. 

The nearest store (for a number of years) was at Marietta, 
and there they went once a year for their salt and iron, which , 
vv^ere procured in exchange for the skins of wild animals, veni- 
son, ham, and, occasionally, snake-root and ginseng were 
added to these exchange products. 

They would assemble from a radius of fifteen or twenty 
miles, in order to assist one another in loar-roll""--- house-rais- 
ings, corn-liuskings, etc. Quilting bees usually accompanied 
these gatherings, and the night was turned into one of social 
merriment. 

And though their mode of living was rude and simple, it 
was characterized by a generosity of spirit, and a hospitality 
of manner that belonged only to their day. No stranger was 
turned from their gates until his wants had been supplied. 
No cot was too humble, no meal, too frugal, to be shared with 
the weary, Avay-worn traveler, and many a blessing did their 
kindnesses call down upon their heads. 

No bells called them to the house of God, for there were 
no churches, but some suitable home in the settlement was the 
shrine for their devotion. 

They placed little stress upon education, for they were 
prone to believe that it made men dishonest, vain, effeminate. 



392 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

and unfitted them for the sterner duties of Hfc. But Hie}' 
loved to excel in feats of physical strength, and this was 
looked upon as an enviable distinction. 

As a rule tJiey were honest, industrious, courageous, and 
strong-. With great fortitude, they braved the dangers, en- 
dured the toils and the privations of this forest-life, and thus 
paved the way for the many privileges and blessings that we 
to-day so much enjoy. And yet how \Gvy few of us realize 
what we owe to them ! How our smiling vallevs and vine- 
clad hills, our fruitful fields and gardens, our comfortable 
homes, school-houses, churches, our convenient post-offices 
and telephone lines, and a thousand other comforts and ad- 
vantages, whisper of the benediction of their lives, and of the 
gratitude that we owe to the memorv of these grand and 
noble sires ! 

"Who shook the depth of the desert's gloom, 
With their hymns of lofty cheer." 



3lti ^ratrful iR^mrmhranr^ 



of 






txnli 



®1)? 3FtrBt (!l0«ttlij ^upprtnt^nJi^nt 




James Woods. 



Education is a better safaguard of liberty than a standing 
army. — Everett. 



CHAPTER XXX 




Schools and Teachers 

OHN AYRES. — The first school in the coun- 
ty was taught by John Ayres, in 1810, in an 
old log cabin, a vacated dwelling, that stood 
near the mouth of Cedar lun, in the Webb's 
mill vicinity. 

Air. Ayres, as before stated, came from 
Rockbridge county, Virginia, and settled on 
the S. C. Phillips" farm. He was then thirty years of age. hav- 
ing been born near Lexington, in 17S0. He belonged to the 
Ayres family whose history appears with the South fork set- 
tlers, being the son of Daniel and Ellen McGee Ayres ; and the 
brother of Daniel, who settled on the McNeill homestead. 

He married Miss Elizabeth Watkins of Virginia, and 
they were the parents of : Daniel, Barcas, Thomas, Jeremiah, 
Eli, Mrs. Ellen (John) Stanley, Mrs. Elizabeth Williams, Mrs. 
Mary (George) Stebbs, and Nancy, who, perhaps, died in 
youth. 

Mr. Ayres, having spent fifty years of his life in teaching, 
died in 1873 at the advanced age of ninety-three vears ; and in 
the Haught graveyard, on Indian creek, but a short distance 
from the scene of his settlement, he lies in his last sleep. 

His children have all passed on, but quite a number of 
his grand-children yet remain. Among them are "Dick" 
Ayres, of Island run ; and Mrs. Mary Rinehart Wiant, Ken- 
nedy, of Smithville. John and Flavins Stanley are his great- 
grandsons, and Misses June and Cocoa Stanley, who are iden- 
tified among the young pedagogues of the county, are his 
great-great-granddaughters, they having perhaps, inherited 



SCHOOLS AXD TEACHERS 395 

their love for the profession from their distinguished grand-* 
sire. 

Samuel Rittenhouse, who came from Harrison county in 
1821, was the second teacher in this section. He married 
Miss Grissey Murphy, daughter of Samuel Murphy, and went 
from here to Illinois. 

Barcas Ayres. — In the meantime, John Ayres had sent his 
son, Barcas, to his old home in Virginia to be educated, and 
he returned in 1826, and became the third teacher in what is 
now Murphy district. He married Miss Anne Riprogal, sis- 
ter of ]\Irs. Daniel Ayres, of the McNeil] homestead, and of 
Mrs. John Hostetter. She sleeps beneath a myrtle mound, 
onl}^ a fcAv paces from the Philipps' school-house, and he, in 
Indiana, where he spent his last hours with his daughters, 
Mrs. Ophelia (\A'm.) Drake, and Mrs. Elizabeth A. (Wm.) 
Stuart. 

The First School House was erected in 1814, near the 
mouth of Cedar run, on land owned by William Murphy, now 
the property of Sheridan Hardman. The date of the erection 
of this pioneer building is marked by the closing of our second 
war with Great Britain. 

John McCauley was the first teacher within the present 
bounds of Clay district, he having given his instructions in an 
old log cabin on Lynn Camp. He was the son of Dr. James 
McCauley of Clarksburg, and was the uncle of the late Mrs. 
John S. Peirpoint, of liarrisville. He afterv.-ards became a 
physician, and practiced his profession at Glen\'ille, Weston, 
(etc.) and in Wood county where he died. 

Mrs. Hermione Helmick, and Mrs. Helen Saterfield, of 
Fairmont; and Earle Peirpoint, of Harrisville, are his grand- 
nieces and grand-nephew, he being a brother of Dr. William 
McCauley, their grand-father. 

The First School in what is now Union district is said ti3 
have been taught by one P. F. Randolph in a cabin on the 
Fawrence Maley farm near Harrisville, during the winter of 
1818 ; but all our efiforts to learn something farther concerning 
the history of this pedagogue have been fruitless. 

John Piatt was the first to "wield the scepter" over the 
youth within the present boundary of Grant district. The 



396 HISTORY OP RITCHIE COUNTY 

•scene of this school was on Rush run. near one mile from 
Cairo, on the Marshall farm. 

A\'hat a curiosity this "pioneer temple of learning" with 
its massive stone chimney and huge fireplace; its window 
made by chopping out a log, and ])asting greased paper over 
the opening; its seats of split logs, with wooden pins for legs; 
and its roof held in-tact i)y weight poles, would be to the boys 
and girls of to-day, who enjoy the many comforts and con- 
veniences of modern school life ! 

^Ir. Piatt was a native of Pennsylvania, a cousin of Airs. 
William McKinney, senior, and during the winter of 18'?G, 
while on a visit with the McKinney s, lie taught this school. 

He went from here to Kentucky, and later to Indiana. 
He was the father of the distinguished John James Piatt, the 
poet and journalist, Avho was born at Milton. Indiana, on 
March 1, 1835 (eleven years after this school was taught), 
and who entered the journalistic field early in life, and later 
served as clerk of the House of Representatives, and of the 
United States Treasury Department, and who, also, filled the 
position of consul at Cork, Ireland from 1882 to 1894. 

John James Piatt's best known poems are "Poems by 
Two Friends'' with W. D. Howells ; "Poems in Sunshine and 
Firelight," and "Idylls and Lyrics of the Ohio Valley," etc. 

He (John James Piatt) married Miss Sarah Morgan 
Bryan, who was born at Lexington, Kentucky, on August 11, 
1836, and who was, also, a poet of note. "A Woman's 
Poems," "A Voyage to the Unfortunate Isles," "Dramatic 
Persons and Moods," and "An Enchanted Castle,'' being 
among her best known works. She was, also, the author of 
the beautiful little poems, "The Gift of Empty Hands," which 
will be found in, "Famous Poems Explained" by W^aitman T. 
Barbe, in the "Teachers' Reading Circle Library" of this 
county. 

That the son inherited poetic talent from his father, can 
hardly be doubted, when we here reproduce a little poem 
that the elder Piatt wrote during his term of school at Cairo 
(in 182G) in the form of an acrostic on the name of Alary 
Skelton, who afterwards became Mrs. Jacob McKinney: 



SCHOOLS AND TEACHERS 397 

"May health and peace, inestimable gifts, adorn — 

And aye, attend you thi'ough life's fickle dream; 

Religion, likewise, though too oft held in scorn. 
Your path direct across the sluggish stream. 

"Say, dost thou wish true happiness to find? 
Know happiness is rare in human kind, 
Envy or pride, if either find a place. 
Leaves little room for virtue to embrace; 
'Tis virtue, then, which happiness bestows. 
Oh! claim the prize, and safe you are from foes; 
Nor pride nor envy, shall ever dare oppose." 

The Piatts have a most distinguished and interesting" an- 
cestral history — one that dates back to the time of the Revo- 
cation of the Edict of Nantes in France (in 1685). 

Among the Huguenot fugitives of the Province of Dan- 
plume that sought refuge in Holland from the religiotts per- 
secution, that immediately followed the Revocation, was a 
family by the name of Piatt. 

John Piatt, the first of whom we have any definite ac- 
count, was doubtless, a very young child at the time of the 
flight from France. His parents, however, established their 
home at Amsterdam, and there John grew to manhood's es- 
tate, and married Mrs. Frances Van Flirt Wycoff, a widow^ of 
English-Dutch ancestry. And soon after his marriage, with 
his bride, and his brother, he set sail for the Danish West 
Indies, where he engaged in busuiess on the Island of St. 
Thomas, and where he continued to sojourn until after the 
birth of his elder children, when he migrated to North Amer- 
ica, and settled in the New Jersey colony, at Six Mill rtm, near 
the town of New Brunswick, in Middlesex county. 

Some years after his settlement in New Jersey, he de- 
cided to return to France, for the purpose of making an effort 
to recover his inheritance which had been confiscated by the 
Crown, but he was deterred from carrying his plans into ef- 
fect by the seven years war (1756-'63), and went to St. 
Thomas, instead, with his son Abraham, to take charge of the 
sugar plantation of his brother, and there his life ebbed away 
in 1760 ; and Lhere the Southern breezes play about his ancient 
tomb. Flis wife died at her home in New Jersey, on Decem- 
ber 26, 1776, and not far from New Brunswick, she rests. 



■69S HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Their sons were. John. i\braham, AA'illiam, Daniel, and 
Jacob Piatt. 

These sons were all officers and soldiers of the Conti 
nental army during the American Revolution ; and William, 
Daniel, and Jacob were among the original members of the 
"Society of the Cincinnati"— an organization which was 
founded by the officers of the Revolution for the purpose of 
perpetuating friendships, and for the raising of a fund for the 
benefit of the widows and the orphans of the soldiers of this 
war. 

John Piatt, the eldest son, whom we shall designate as 
John the II, was evidently born on the Island of St. Thomas, 
the date of his birth being 1739. In 1763, three years after 
the death of his father, lie was married to Miss Jane William- 
son, daughter of William and Jane Van Nest Williamson, who 
was born in 1745 ; and at Trenton, New Jersey he founded his 
home. He served as High Sheriiif of Aliddlesex county, 
which, in 1838, was sub-divided into four counties; and at the 
close of the Revolution, in which he played his part as "min- 
ute man" in the New Jersey militia, he removed with his 
family to Milton, on the Susquehannah river, in Northumber- 
land county, Pennsylvania : and later, to AA'hite Deer Valley, 
where he died in 1820. at the age of eighty-one years. 

He fell heir to the old Dutch Bible which the famil}^ 
brought from Holland to America, and which bears the date 
1710 ; and when his daughter, Frances, the wife of William 
McKinney, senior, was leaving Pennsylvania for her new home 
in Ritchie county, he came out with this old Bible, and said, 
"tiere, Frances, take this with you, as you are the only one 
that can read it." Mrs. McKinney accepted the proftered 
treasure, and it is now in the possession of the family of her 
late grand-daughter, j\frs. Drusilla Wanless. 

Besides Frances McKinney. the other children of John 
Piatt, the II, were, Mrs. Jane Allen, yirs. Cathrine Fenbrook, 
A\'illiam and John Piatt. 

Abraham Piatt, the second son of John Piatt, of France, 
was a Colonel in the Revolution. He was born in 1741, and 
married Annabella Andrew and settled in Penn's Valle\' wliere 
he died in 1791. 



SCHOOLS AXD TEACHERS 39'.) 

His children were, Jacob, John, Cathrine, Eleanor, Anna, 
Aijraham, James, Frances, Jane and Margaret. 

William Piatt, the third son of John of France, was a 
Lieutenant at the beginning of the Revolution, but rose to the 
rank of Captain, and in this capacity served throughout the 
war. He was born in 1743, and died in 1791, perhaps, in 
Pennsylvania. He was first married to Miss Quick, and one 
son. John Piatt, the HI, was born of this union. And after 
her death, he married Miss Sarah Smith, and they were the 
parents of James. Frances, who died in 3'outh. Jemima G., who 
was adopted by a family by the name of Cummings, and Dr. 
William F., of New York city. 

James Piatt, the eldest son of William and Sarah Smitli 
Piatt, married Miss Rachel Bear, and they were the parents 
of John Piatt, ^ the pioneer school-teacher of Grant district. 

Daniel Piatt, the fourth son of John of France, was Cap- 
tain of the first Regiment of the Xew Jersey Brigade, and rose 
to the rank of Major. He was born in 1745, and married 
Cathrine Herrad ; and their children were, John, Mary, Rob- 
ert, Frances, William, Daniel, and Margaret. 

Jacob Piatt, the fifth and last son of John of France, was 
bom in 1747, and died in 1834. He was, also, a captain in the 
Continental army, and served in many of the more important 
engagements during the Revolution. He married Miss Han- 
nah McCullough, and was the father of Benjamin, John H.. 
P'rances, Hannah C, AVilliam, and Abram S. Piatt 

NOTE: To Miss Fannie McKinney of Williamstown, we 
owe our gratitude for this invaluable little poem, and tlie other 
information concerning the identity of this pioneer educator, 
with the exception of the career of his son and his (the son's) 
wife which we gleaned from the pages of an encyclopedia. 

And to Mrs. Lulu Hallam Parker of Kansas City, Mis- 
souri, we owe our thanks for the Piatt ancestral history. — 
Author. 



'Some of the Piatt ciescendants seems to think that John Piatt, the 
Ritchie county pedagojrue, was tlie son of WiHiam, but dates and other 
circumstances point to the fact that lie must ha\e belonged to a younger 
greneration. However, he was descended from William, and was the father 
of John James Piatt, the poet-consul. 



400 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The School System at this early day was in a crude state. 
As a rule, the teacher possessed but little education. Some- 
times the one person in the community having the most 
knowledge was employed as instructor. He was regarded 
fully competent if he had reached the Rule of Three (Propor- 
tion) in Arithmetic, and could read and write, little stress 
being' placed upon the necessity of farther education. 

These schools were made up by subscription, and the 
teacher "boarded round the district" if he were not established 
in the community. Provisions were made by the over-seer 
of the poor for the children whose parents were unable to pay 
tuition, and the term only covered a period of three months. 

The schools w^ere very few in number down to the year 
1830. It will be remembered that our stale ^vas still a part 
of the "Old Dominion," at this time, and that some of her Gov- 
ernors had strongly opposed the advancement of education. 

Sir William Berkeley, in one of his Colonial reports to the 
King, while he occupied the Gubernatorial chair (in 1611) had 
said : "Thank God ! there are no free schools or printing" 
presses, and I hope there will be none for a hundred years to 
come, for learning has brought disobedience and heresy into 
the world, and printing has divulged these and other libels." 

The wish herein expressed was fully realized : for one 
hundred twenty-five years had passed, after this utterance be- 
fore Virginia enacted a law "having the semblance of a pub- 
lic school system ;" and then its provisions rendered it in- 
operative for half a century longer. "It was not until IS-tH, 
that another statute was enacted, which with the amendment 
of 1848, was practically a free school law for the counties that 
chose to adopt it." 

Jefferson, Ohio, Kanawha, and Brooke were the only 
counties in (West) Virginia that established schools under 
the law of 1846. Jefferson county being the first to inaugu- 
rate the Free School System in A\^est Virginia. 

When the Constitution of our State was formulated, it 
contained provisions for free schools, and Arthur I. Boreman, 
the first governor, in delivering his message to the Legisla- 
ture, which convened on June 20, 1863, called special attention 
to this (educational) provision, and said, "I trust that you will 



SCHOOLS AND TEACHERS 40L 

take such action as will result in the org-anization of a thor- 
ough and efficient system." 

At this session committees on education were appointed, 
and from their reports, this Legislature formulated "the first 
Free School Law of the State." Under the provision of the 
Constitution, the educational work of the State was placed in 
the hands of a General Superintendent, who was chosen by 
the Legislature; and in 1864, the Reverend Ryland White was 
named as the first Superintendent, and entered upon his of- 
ficial duties at once. 

This was the beginning of our school system, and in 1873, 
under the new Constitution of our State, the present system 
was inaugurated. The grading system came in 1891. 

Since the birth of the Free School System in our State, 
the following named gentlemen have served this county in 
the capacity of County Superintendent : 

James Woods, J. M. McKinney, F. H. Martin, T. W. Ire- 
land, P. W. Morris, J. N. Kendall, George W. Lowther, H. C. 
Showalter, M. K. Duty, C. E. Haddox, J. H. Nichol, H. B. 
Woods, D. B. Strickling, S. M. Hoff, and L. H. Hayhursi , 
(and Ross L. Cokeley will soon claim the place of Mr. Hay- 
hurst, he having been chosen at the November election, 1910.) 

James Woods (who was the grand-father of Id. B. 
Woods) filled this office by appointment for a short time, but 
J. M. McKinney wa*s the first to be elected by the popular 
vote; and during his (McKinney's) administration the first 
school-houses under the Free School System, were erected. 

With two exceptions, these gentlemen are all living, and 
it wall, doubtless, add interest here to notice what their dif- 
ferent stations in life are to-day: 

James Woods, who was one of the early ministers of the 
Baptist church, sleeps in Missouri. J. M. McKinney, who has 
been prominent in political circles, and who has several times 
represented this county in the House of Delegates, resides 
near Hebron. F. H. Martin is a citizen of Pennsboro, and is 
in the employ of the Soutli Penn Oil Company. T. W. Ire- 
land is a well-known minister of the Methodist Protestant 
church, and his home is at Morgantown. P. W. Morris, so 
long identified with the "Ritchie Gazette" is now editor of the 



402 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



"State Journal," at Parkersburg. J. N. Kendall is a member 
of the ]\Iethodist Episcopal conference of Idaho, and is a resi- 
dent of Boise city. George W. Lowther, for years in the em- 
ploj' of the B. & O. Railroad Company, recently completed a 
term as Mayor of Grafton, where he now resides. H. C. 
Showalter, until quite recently a Harrisvilie lawyer, is a resi- 
dent of Kansas City. ]\I. K. Duty is adding new laurels to 
his fame by extending the Lorama railroad to Pullman. C. 
E. Haddox, late Warden of the State Prison, has laid down 
the cross. J. H. Xichol is in business at Grafton. II. B. 
Woods stepped from this office into that of Prosecuting At- 
torney, and from that into the Judgeship. D. B. Strickiing is 
engaged in business in Pennsylvania. 

S. M. Hofit. also, stepped from this office into tlie Prose- 
cutor's chair, a position that he is now filling for the second 
term. 

Last, but not least, comes L. H. Hayhurst, the present 
incumbent, who is serving his second term, and wlio recently 
completed a course in a medical college at Louisville, Ken- 
tucky. 

The schools of this county now number one hundred 
fifty-three, forty-three of which are in Grant, thirty-three in 
Clay, thirty-seven in Union, excluding the Harrisvilie Inde- 
pendent district, and thirty-nine in Alurpjiy. 

There are fifty-four sub-district libraries, which include 
three thousand eight hundred forty-five volumes. 

Five of the towns have two-roomed buildings and three, 
Harrisvilie, Pennsboro. and Cairo have more. Harrisvilie 




HarrisviHe School Buildinsr. 



SCHOOLS AXD TEACHERS 



AO: 



now has a spacious brick building of sfx rooms and an audi- 
torium. 

The school property is valued at one hundred four thou- 
sand sixty-eight dollars. The number of pupils enrolled is 
four thousand eight hundred ninetv-four, with an enumeration 
of six thousand one hundred nine, and an average daily attend- 
ance of three thousand six hundred seventy-two. Eleven 
and one-half years is the average age of attendance. 

The teachers number one hundred seventy-three, fifty 
of which hold first grade certificates, one hundred six, second 
grade, and seventeen, third grade. 

The total amount paid for teachers' services in nineteen 
hundred nine, was forty-four thousand three hundred thirteen 
dollars, and the entire cost of the schools during this year was 
sixty-five thousand seven hundred twent}^ dollars. 

Total amount of Teachers' fund (1909) is forty-seven 
thousand one hundred seventy-five dollars, forty-eight cents, 
and the amount of building-fund is eighteen thousand five 
hundred forty-five dollars thirty-six cents. 

The presen.t valuation of the taxable property is sixteen 
million five hundred seventy thousand thirty-seven dollars; 
four million three hundred fifty-nine thousand eight hundred 
twenty-four dollars of which belongs to Clay; six million six- 




A Modern School Building-. 



404 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

teen thousand one hundred, to Grant; two million five hun- 
dred eighty-four thousand six hundred sixty-seven, to [Mur- 
phy; two million two hundred twenty-eight thousand three 
hundred ninety-one, to Union disttict; and the remaining one 
million three hundred eighty-six thousand fifty-five dollars, 
to Harrisville. 



iFragrant to tljp mpittnry 



nf 



Si|0maB ffluntttttgliam 



nx\h 



I|n IGat^ tl]f Jcitniiatton for tltp ilptI|oJitfit 
lEptaro^al m\h Xixt la^ttat (!ll|urrl|rs 
in tl|tB Htllipntesa 



I love thy Church, O God! 

Her walls before thee stand, 
Dear as the apple of thine eye, 

And graven on thy Hand. 

— Timothy Dwight. 



CHAPTER XXXI 




Churches 

HE 3'ear 1810 was marked by the first church 
organizations. The Reverend Thomas Cun- 
ningham, whose interesting history occu- 
pies a preceding chapter, was the first minis- 
ter in the Hughes river valley. He laid the 
foundation for Alethodism in this wilderness, 
in Ritchie county. He came here in 1807 
and entered upon his ministry the following year ; and in 1810, 
the first Methodist Episcopal class was organized at his home, 
near Frederick's mill, where Henry Barker now lives. 

Among the original members of this class were — James 
and Benjamin Hardman, John Wigner, senior, John Hill, 
Jabez Elliott, and John Wilson, with their wives. 

This organization may well be styled the mother of Hard- 
man chapel, as James Hardman, one of its initial members, 
laid the corner-stone for this chu-rch, which was erected late 
in the sixties. 

The Reverend Mr. Cunningham was a lav minister at the 
time of the organization of the church here, but he was fully 
licensed to preach at Zanesville, Ohio, on September 5, 1817, 
and continued his labors until he was called to his reward in 
1825. 

His son, William, began his ministry in 1810, but went 
to the Ohio conference in 1812. 

The First Church-house in this part of the county stood on 
top of the hill, on the Kennedy farm, above the mouth of 
Lamb's run. 

Its history began, perhaps, in the early thirties, and ended 
in 1845, when it was destroyed by fire while it was being used 
for school purposes.^ 



^E. C. GofC, wlio was then a chilrl of five year.*;, was at^tpnriina' tlii=i 
.school. 



CHURCHES -i07 

Another pioneer church, which came a Httle later, was lo- 
cated on the McNeill homestead, but was reduced to ashes 
before its completion. These houses were not built in the 
name of any denomination, but were constructed for both 
church and school purposes. 

The Methodist Protestant people laid the foundation for 
a church on the Scott farm, below Smithville, as early as 
1840 or '45, but it was never completed. 

So the old "'Union church" at GotT's was the first building 
in this part of the county, which was dedicated, exclusively, 
to the "worship of God;" and it was built by the Methodist 
Episcopal people not earlier than 18i5, but was open to all 
denominations. 

The late Rev. James L. Clark, in his Autobiography, gives 
the following description of the place of worship, at this ap- 
pointment, in 1844, at the time of his first quarterly-meeting, 
after he was sent to the Harrisville circuit : 

"It was an old frame, twenty by thirty feet, built for a 
bark shed for a tannery, the vats of which still surrounded the 
building — if such it could be called. In order to protect thei- 
from the inclemency of the weather, the brethren had col- 
lected some plank, and set them upon end around the frame, 
leaving an aperture in one side to answer for a door. Win- 
dows, there were none. The boards- were fastened on with 
hickory withes. The inside was seated with split poles which 
were laid across some sills, which were placed length-wise of 
the building. The floor was of dirt, plentifully covered by 
• straw, as the space within our altars at camp-meetings, fre- 
quently is. 

A rude fixture at one end answered for a pulpit from 
which we preached the unsearchable riches of Christ to the 
hungry souls, who came through the rain and mud to this 
rude temple, dedicated, for the time being, to the Avorship of 
God." 

He farther describes this meeting, which was continued 
for several days, and which resulted in the salvation of thirty- 
eight souls. 

He says, "The last night of the revival was a time of 
power. Although the rain poured incessantly, the lightning 



408 HISTORY Of RITCHIE COUXTV 

flashed and the thunder roared, but lew within knew of the 
terriiic nature of the storm witliout, for above its mighty roar, 
rose the cries of the penitents, intermingled with the shouts oi 
new born souls, and the rejoicing of the people of God." 

Shortly after this meeting, the old "Union church" was 
erected, on the farm of the late Thoiiias Goff, not far from the 
present residence of E. C. Goff; and Mr. Goff (Thomas) was 
one of the chief factors in its erection. 

In ]S5;3, the old Pleasant Hill church, which has long 
since crumbled to decay, came into existence as a Methodist 
Episcopal church. 

The late Joseph Haddox gave the grounds for this church 
and cemetery. 

Harrisville M. E. Church. — The first ^Methodist Epis- 
copal church class in the Harrisville vicinity is said to have 
been organized as earlv as 1820 ; l^ut we have no authentic 
history of this church earlier than the year 1844, as the rec- 
ords were destroyed when the church burned to the ground 
some years ago. 

But the first church building, which was located on the 
late Noah Rexroad farm not far from the present site of the 
Lorama depot, is said to have been erected near the year 184:3, 
with Xoah and Henry Rexroad and Eli Riddel as chief build- 
ers. The Rev. Mr. Riddel preached the first sermon within 
its walls, and the Rev. Air. Gordon was the first pastor in 
charge. 

This old structure served Mr. Rexroad as a grain-house, 
after it had out-lived its usefulness as a place of worship ; and 
It was finally torn down and the frame timbers were pressed 
into service in the erection of the depot store-house by Noah 
Rexroad and E. C. Fox. 

Harrisville was a three weeks' circuit with twenty-nine 
appointments when the Rev. James L. Clarke became the pas- 
tor in charge, in 1844. It began on the Ohio river, just be- 
low Vancluse, and extended back to within twenty-two miles 
of Clarksl)urg, including what is now embraced in the whole 
or a part of Harrisville, Smithville, Pullman, Smithton, West- 
union, Ellenboro, Pleasants and Valley Mills, and other cir- 



CHURCHES 



409 



cuits. These itinerant ministers gathered the scattered set- 
tlers into Httle societies at every convenient point. 

The Rev. Mr. Clarke gives the following description of 
the parsonage at Harrisville, upon his arrival : "We found a 
sn^all parsonage with one room down stairs, and a half-story 
above, with steps to go up from the porch. The brethren 
furnished the lumber, and I turned the porch into two small 
rooms, which made us more comfortable, and gave us a spare 
bed-room." 

He speaks of the "grand local ministers" within the 
bounds of the charge, at that time, in the persons of T. Hen- 
derson, Eli Riddel, George Collins, Elijah Clayton, and James 
Hardman, whose homes were ever open to the worshipers of 
God. 

The Harrisville charge in 1871 consisted of fifteen ap- 
pointments, which were as follows : Harrisville, Spruce 
Grove, Goff's, Hardman chapel, Leatherbarke, Spruce creek. 
Pleasant Hill, Bone creek, Horn creek, Middle Fork, White 
Oak, Chevauxdefrise, Pisgah, Smithville, and Webb's mill. 
But changes have gradually taken place until it is now a 




HarrisviUe M. E. Church. 



410 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

charge of three appointments; viz., Harrisville, Fairview, and 
Spruce Grove. 

The Rev. Moore McNeill, who is now spending the even- 
tide of his life at his pretty country home, "Locust Grove,'" 
near Smithville, served this charge in 1872. He and the Rev. 
U. Fribble, of Harrisville, are the only two early ministers 
that are still among us, though the Revs. T. B. Hughes, S. E. 
Steele and others survive in other parts of the country. 

The White Oak Methodist Episcopal class was organ- 
ized in 18-1:2, at the home of Elijah Clayton, and Mr. Clayton, 
Thomas Ireland, Peter Pritchard, and Samuel Wolfe, with 
their wives, were among its initial members. The pioneer 
church building was erected in 18-15, Mr. Clayton being the 
donor of the grounds. But this old time structure gave 
place to another in 1857, and to the present one, in 1891. 

M. P. Church. — Though the exact date of the organiza- 
tion of the Harrisville M. P. church is not known, its history 
begins as early as 1845 ; and Zackquill M. Peirpoint, and 
Amos Gulp were among its corner-stones. 

In 1850, this church applied for admission into the Tyler 
circuit, which had been formed in 1840; and at the next con- 
ference, the name of this circuit was changed to that of the St. 
Marys and Harrisville, which included the territory of Tyler, 
Ritchie, and Pleasants ; and was traveled by two ministers at 
one time. In 1867, the Harrisville circuit was formed ; and in 
1881, another division was authorized which made it a charge 
of two appointments, Harrisville and Den run, but since 1898, 
it has been a station ; and is now one of the strongest, and 
most influential churches in the county ; it having an active 
membership of over two hundred. 

'Tt has numbered some of the ablest ministers in the state 
as its pastors," among them being the Revs. Dr. E. J. Wilson, 
Dr. Helmick, Dr. Brown, and Dr. S. C. Jones. 

The Baptist Church Organized. — The first Baptist church 
organization was contemporary with that of the Methodist 
Episcopal. It having been made, in 1810, at the home of 
Baines Smith, senior, where B. H. Wilson now resides; and 
was, in part, composed of the following named gentleman 
with their wives: Aaron and Barnes Smith, Samuel and 



CHURCHES 411 

Ainiziah Murphy, James Drake, John Every, WilHam Wells, 
and Mrs. Eleanor Ay res. This was known as the "Hughes 
River Baptist church"' until 1875, when its name was changed 
to Smithville. From the date of its organization until 1873, 
its places of worship were at private houses, principally at 
the home of Barnes Smith, in the earlier days of its history. 
The Rev. John Drake, who was the first Baptist minister in 
the Hughes river valley, and one of the first missionaries of 
this church to cross the Allegheny mountains, was the first 
pastor of the Hughes River class. The heirs of the late Isaac 
Smith, among whom are Martin Smith, Mrs. M. A. Ayres and 
Mrs. Alfred Barr, gave the grounds for the Smithville church, 
and were among its chief builders. 

Harrisville Baptist Church. — The second Baptist class is 
said to have been organized by the Rev. John Drake, in the 
Harrisville vicinity, in 1812, or '13. The first church in this 
section stood on. the Cannon farm, it having been erected ijy 
the Baptist and the United Presbyterians, but was open to all 
denominations. 

The Harrisville Baptist church came into existence in 
1825, under the name of the "Mab Zeal" Baptist church. Its 
nineteen charter members were: William, Elizabeth. Isaiah, 
Jane, Christopher and Clarissa Wells, Allan and Elizabeth 
Calhoun, Gamaliel and Nancy Waldo, Jacob and Phebe Col- 
lins, Margaret Berkeley, Hester Heatoh, Jane Wilkinson, 
Judith Chancellor, and Mary Rogers. 

William Wells was the first deacon ; Gamaliel Waldo, 
the first clerk; and the Rev. John Drake, the first pastor; but 
death ended his labors the following year, and the Rev. Mr. 
Nathan became his successor in 1827. He remained one year, 
and was succeeded by the Rev. Cornelius Huff, who continued 
his pastorate until 3 832, when this church severed its connec- 
tion with the "Union Association" (a connection of six years), 
and was admitted into the "Parkersburg Association," and 
for the next three years it had no pastor. Among the minis- 
ters who have since had pastoral charge, we find the names 
of the Reverends James Tisdale, James Gawthrope, F. H. 
Johnson, A. C. Holden, James Woods, John Woofter, xA,aron 



412 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



Barnett, J. F. McCusic, P. A. Woods, George Woofter, E. J. 
Woofter, and Jonathan Wood, who is now in charge. 

The first Baptist church in this section was erected near 
18-1:3, on the lot now owned by Sheriff John Hulderman. this 
lot being donated by George Moats. 







Harrisville Baptist Cliurch. 

The Reverend John Drake is said to liave preached the 
first sermon in Grant district, at the home of ""William ^Ic- 
Kinney, in 1823 ; but no organization was perfected here imti] 
April, 1835. when the Rev. Festus Hanks, of the General As- 
sembly Presbyterian church, of Parkersburg. who had been 
preaching in this, and the Harrisville vicinities, alternately, 
for a year — for the fourth of his time, organized a class at the 
home of Joseph Marshall. 

The members of this class were as follows : 
William, senior, and Mrs. Frances Piatt McKinncy. 
Joseph and Hannah Marshall, Edward and Jane Skelton, 
Stephen and Isabel AVanless Outward, Mrs. Catharine Hall 
Douglass, Mrs. Susana Douglass Layfield, Miss Jane Floskins. 
Mrs. Mary Miller McKinney, Miss Katharine McKinney. An- 
drew and Agnes Young, and John Harris and his daughter. 
Mary — the latter two from Harrisville. 

The First Church-house was erected near the year 1831), 
on the site that is now marked by the Odd Fellows' cemetery. 
This old structure, which was used for both school and church 
purposes, served the people of all denominations for many 
years until better churches could be built. But the Presby- 



CHURCHES 413 

terians an:l the United Presl)yterians Avere the principal wor- 
shipers here. 

In 1845, the United Presbyterian church was organized at 
Harrisville, as an Associate Reform cluirch ; it becoming the 
United Presbyterian in 1858, by the union of the Associate, 
the Reformed, and the Associate Reformed Presbyterians. 
The Rev. Dargo B. Jones was the first pastor of this organ- 
ization, in 1849., 

The First Sermon in Clay district is said to have been de- 
livered by the Rev. B. F. Sedwick, of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, at the residence of Edmond Taylor. We are without 
information as to the first church building in this district, but 
Riddel's chapel is, doubtless, among the first. It was erected 
at an earl}^ day, and stands as a monument to the chief- 
builder, the late Rev. Eli Riddel. The present church was 
erected in 1880. 

The Seventh Day Baptist church was organized at Berea. 
near 1837. And its founders were Elders Peter Davis and 
Asa Bee. Among its charter members were : George, John 
C. and Sarah Starkey, Elias, Jonathan C, Rebecca, Margaret, 
Mary and Dorinda Lowther. One member of this pioneer 
organization still survives, in the person of Jonathan C. Low- 
ther, who is now a member of the Adventists' church. 



Many other denominations, besides the ones mentioned, 
have long since efl^ected organizations in different parts of 
the county. There are now more than one hundred churches, 
of which twenty-six are Methodist Episcopal; twenty-three, 
United Brethren ; and, perhaps, a like number of Methodist 
Protestant, thirteen Baptist, four Catholic, four Presbyterian, 
and four Christian. The Seventh Day Baptist, the Seventh 
Day Adventists, the United Presbyterians, the Dunkards, and 
the Latter Day Saints, also, have church buildings. 

Almost every community has its comfortable church, and 
its little band of worshipers. This religious influence, too, 
has had a telling effect on the people of the county : for more 
than fifty 3^ears, ''the courts have been sustained in the anti- 
license policy." In all that time no individual has been 
licensed to sell intoxicants. 



•114 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

The Sunday Schools of early times, like everything else, 
were "crude affairs. " We have mo authentic date of their he- 
ginning in the county, but late in the forties and eai'ly in the 
fifties, they were conducted here and there at private houses. 
Their literature consisted of a testament, and a spelling book, 
and, later the school readers were pressed into service. But 
this work has made rapid progress, and is noAV at the zenith 
of its interest. 

At the annual convention last }ear (1908). the schools 
in the county numbered eighty-one, with a combined mem- 
bership of five thousand three hundred pupils. Twenty-five 
of these schools were kept open the year round. Teachers' 
Training classes are being organized at various points and 
many noble and heroic workers are uniting their forces for 
the advancement of the cause in general. Among the princi- 
pal workers are Will A. Strickler, Secretary-Treasurer, G. M. 
Ireland, Dr. J. F. Hartman, Dr. 1. C. W. Fling, and many 
others that might be mentioned. 

The Reverend M. McNeill. — It seems to us that a little 
sketch of the life and public service of the Reverend Moore 
McNeill would form a fitting conclusion for this chapter, as 
few other ministers in the history of the county have had a 
longer association with its people. 

The Reverend Mr. McNeill was born in Pocahontas coun- 
ty, on November 8, 1830, and there he grew to manhood and 
engaged in teaching before entering the ministr}-, in Septen'i- 
ber, 1859. 

He began his ministerial work under the auspices of the 
Methodist Protestant church, but, in 1867, became a member 
of the West Virginia Methodist Episcopal conference, and 
thus continued in the active work until April 5, 18S1, when 
he removed to the '"Ayres homestead," above Smithville, 
where he continues to reside. 

Among the more prominent charges that he served dur- 
ing his twenty-one pastoral years were: Mannington, King- 
wood, Spencer, and FTarrisville. he having been pastor of the 
latter charge in 18T'3, when he lir^t formed the acquaintance 
of the people of this county — an aciiuaintance vrhich was 



CHURCHES 4l.-> 

destined to ripen into a strong and enduring tie, a life-long 
friendship. 

He is one of the most widely known and beloved citizens 
of the county, having endeared himself to the hearts of the 
many by his comforting ministrations in times of sorrow 
and bereavement. Perhaps no other minister, in the history 
of the county, has married or buried a larger number of its 
citizens; and when he lays down the cross to claim the crown, 
no other one will be more sadly missed. 

On July 2, 1862, he led Miss Eliza Jane Caldwell, daugh- 
ter of John and Mrs. Jane Poole Caldwell, of Marshall county, 
to the altar as his bride, and twelve children are the result of 
this union, all of whom survive: 

Owen ]M., and Tutt, reside in che A\'est ; Ida V., the eldest 
daughter, is Mrs. G. ^.I. Clammer, of Colorado ; E. Augusta 
is Mrs. Atigustus Sliaffer, of Kingw^ood ; Minnie is the wife 
of the Rev. A. L. Ireland, of the West Virginia 'Methodist 
Episcopal conference: Ellen H. is Mrs. Cochran, of Wheeling: 
Isa P. is Mrs. Morrow, of the West ; Miss Freda is a profes- 
sional nurse of Washington city ; Burleigh S. C. is still at 
home, and William K. is married and resides there ; A. Frank, 
and Otis S., live near Fonsoville. 

The McNeills are of Scotch-Irish descent. Their ante- 
cessor crossed from Scotland in Colonial times, and settled in 
the Old Dominion. Thomas McNeill, son of the original 
emigrant, was married to Miss Mary Ireson, of Franklin 
county, Virginia, and removed (from Frederick county) to 
Pocahontas county, this state, near the year 1770, where lie 
entered three hundred acres of lan.d and became a prominent 
pioneer. 

He and his wife were the parents of four sons and two 
daughters; viz., Jonathan, Absalom, Enoch, Gabriel, Xaomi 
(Mrs. Smith), and Mary (]\Irs. Wm. Ewing), who all went 
W>st, but the first one mentioned. 

Jonathan, the one son that remained in Pocahontas coun- 
ty, was a very enterprising individual, as milling, weaving, 
fulling-cloth, and powder-making were all carried on under his 
supervision. 

He married Miss Phoebe Moore, daughter of Moses 



41G HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Aloore, who was born, on February 13, ITT-t, and four sons, 
John, William, Moore and Preston, were the result of this 
union. Preston was drowned in childhood, and the rest were 
all the heads of well-known Pocahontas families. 

William McNeill was one of the earliest school-teachers 
within the bounds of his native county. He married ]\Iiss 
Nanc}^ Griltey, a native of Franklin county, Virginia, who 
emigrated to Pocahontas county with her elder sister, Mrs. 
Rebecca McNeill, when she w^as but twelve years of age. Her 
father, Jonathan Griffey, was born in Switzerland and crossed 
the water to America with Lafayette, in 1779, and, with this 
distinguished Frenchman, fought to the close of the American 
Revolution, being present at the siege and the surrender ol 
Yorktown ; and after the war he Avas married to Miss Anna 

, a \"irginia maiden, and spent the remainder of his 

life in Franklin county, Virginia. 

AMlliam McNeill and his wife were the parents of the fol- 
lowing named children: viz., Jonathan, James, Claibourne, 
Jane (Mrs. John E. Adkisson), Elizabeth (Airs. Solomon 
Cochran), Agnes, and Aloore McNeill, the subject of this 
sketch.'' 



^See Pocahontas County History for farther data of this family. 



iEh^rgrp^n to tl]r iHrmorg 

nf 




Isaiah and Jane Taylor Wells. 



None knew thee but to love thee, 
None named thee but to praise. 

— Halleck. 



CHAPTER XXXII 




Mills 

HOMAS MALEY, son of Lawrence Maiey, 
is recognized as the pioneer miller of the 
county, he having erected the first mill about 
IS] "3, near two miles north of Harrisville, on 
the bank of Hughes river, on the site 
where the mill-property of Enoch Leggett 
was burned in 1871. 
This land is now owned by John Shriver, but nothing 
marks this historic spot. 

Mr. Maley married Aliss Elizabeth Starr, and went to 
Illinois at an early day, where he sleeps. 

William Wells, wdiose history will be found in an earlier 
chapter, was the builder and owner of the second mil! in this 
section, wdiich stood near the mouth of Bunnell's run. on the 
site of the well-known B. F. Wells' mill, which, though still 
standing, is fast crumbling to decay. Three generations of 
the family manipulated this mill, and the land is still owned 
by the heirs of the late B. F. Wells, who died in 1908, at the 
age of more than ninety years. 

"Sugar Grove Mill." — Then, in 1842, came the "Sugar 
Grove" flouring mill, with Isaiah Wells, son of William, as 
builder and proprietor. This mill stood three-quarters of a 
mile north of Harrisville, and was one of the most noted in 
Western Virginia, during its early history. A saw-mill and 
carding-machine — the first in this section — were operated in 
connection with the grist-mill for a time, but after some years, 
the carding machinery passed into other hands, but iNIr. Wells 
continued to own and operate the saw and grist-mill until his 
death on May 17, 1875, when it passed into the hands of his 
heirs, who kept it in motion for a time : but finally, the wheels 
became silent, and the old building lapsed into ruin, and in 



MILLS 



419 



1908, it was torn down. The Heaton heirs now own the land. 
In 1858, Isaiah Wells constructed a mill at Cornwaliis, 
which was operated by his son, George W. Wells, until 1875. 
when it became the property of the late James Taylor, and 
at his death passed into the hands of the Naughton Brothers, 
who are still the owners, though nothing now remains of this 
once valuable mill-property, but the ruins of the building. 
The introduction of the steam and roller process put these 
water mills out of commission. 




The Isaiah WeUs mill and liomestead.^ 



Isaiah Wells was born in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, 
on August 6, 1796, and with his parents came to this county 
in 1808. In 1816, he was married to Miss Jane Taylor, of Vir- 
ginia, the marriage taking place at Pruntytown, where she 
was visiting relatives; and they settled on the farm that had 

^Thi.s picture was talven after tlie old mill hail been dismantled. At 
the right can be seen the picturesque sugar grove from which it took its 
name. In the rear-eenter is the old homestead which opened its hospit- 
able doors to some of the most distinguished Virginians of the day, and 
at the left is the family burying-ground where Mr. Wells and his beloved 
wife lie in their last sleep. 



420 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COL'XTY 

been improved by Joseph Wilkinson, and which, though now 
owned by the Heaton heirs, is still better known as the "Isaiali 
Wells homestead." 

Air. W ells was widely known and greatly revered for his 
hospitality, and for his charitable disposition. He was a prom- 
inent figure in the early history of the county, and was long a 
pillar in the Baptist church. 

His children were as follows: The late Benjamin Wells, 
of Hannahdale; William, of Grantsville ; Levi, of Tollgate; 
Mrs. Elizabeth Cornell, and Airs. Alary Cornell, Cornwallis , 
Airs. Salina \\' oods, Harrisville : Airs. Cynthia Core, and 
Geoige A\'., Cornwallis; and Isaiah, Grafton. The last three 
only survive, but his descendants in this county are a host — 
many of them being prominently knovvn. Judge H. B. AYoods 
is a grandson. 

The Pritchard Mill. — Xear the year 1S;32, Thomas Pritch- 
ard came from the Glades in Preston county, and built the 
first mill on the South fork of Hughes' river, below Oxford, 
on the farm that is now owned by the Zinn Brothers (G. P. 
and AI. G. ), and made the first settlement here. 

A man by the name of Henry O. Aliddleton had given 
him one hundred acres of land in this wilderness so as to 
induce him to settle, and to erect a saw and grist-mill, and 
here some of the first lumber in the county was sawed. 

This old grist-mill was a water-power, and the wheel run 
in a svcamore gum, and its capacity was from eight to ten 
bushels a day, but this was a marvelous improvement over 
the old hand-mill. 

Air. Pritchard was born in 1768. His antecessors came 
from England and settled at Jamestown, in 1610 ; and his 
brother, John Pritchard, saw three 3^ears of service as a sol- 
dier of the Continental army during the American Revolution. 

Thomas Pritchard was first married to Aliss Xancy Tichi- 
nell, who died at the Glades, leaving seven children : and his 
second wife was Aliss Alary Aloody, who was the mother of 
his other eight children. He survived imtil 1846, when he 
was laid in the Baptist churchyard, at Oxford. His second 
wife rests by his side, but the first one sleeps at the Glades. 

The children of the first union were: Peter,' the \\'hite 



MILLS 421 

Oak pioneer: Mrs. Kathrine Queen; Mrs. Anna Queen, and 
Mrs. Peggy Castor, all of Harrison county; Mrs. Sarah 
(Jacob) Watson,^ Auburn ; Mrs. Elizabeth (John) Harris,' 
Piiflman ; and Mrs. Mary (William) Snodgrass, Bere'a.' 

Those of the second marriage were: Thomas D. Pritcli- 
ard,^ John Aloody, who was drov/ned in the pond at his own 
mill at the M. H. Davis farm in 1862: William, an early peda- 
gogue, who never married; Mrs. Jane Gaston, Doddridge 
county ; Samuel, Lewis county ; Mrs. Emily (George) Gar- 
rison, Auburn; Rachel died in youth and Amos lost his life 
in the Civil war. 

John Moody Pritchard was married to Miss Sarah Plad- 
dox, sister of the late Jonathan Haddox, and their children 
were: Philip, Jason, and Jackson, who all fought in the Civil 
war, and wdio are now all dead; the late Mary (Sylvester) 
Parker, Mrs. Eliza (Allen) Parker, Colorado; Henr3% of Cali- 
fornia; and Thomas B.. of Ohio. 

Webb's Mill. — The well known Webb's mill is one of the 
oldest landmarks in the county. It has been in operation for 
almost a century, it having come upon the stage, as a grist- 
mill, in cabin fashion, before the war of 1813. It vies with 
the IMaley mill for the first place in the county's histor}-, and 
if these dates be correct, it is entitled to this place. However, 
it is a contemporary. 

Benjamin W'^ebb was the owner and operator of this mill 
from the time that it came into existence until his death, on 
May 27, 1879, when it became the property of his grandson, 
B. F. Prince, by his bequest. 

M. R. Lowther, of Parkersburg, then owned it (Mr. 
Prince having had the misfortune to lose it), until it Avas 
purchased by the late J. S. Hardman and son, Sheridan, a 
few years since; the latter being the present owner and oper- 
ator. Though it is frequently referred to as "Hardman's 
mill," the old name still lingers about it. 

Archibald Burrows. — Quite an interesting bit of hiscory 
hangs about the name of the millwright. Archibald Burrows, 
who re-built this mill in 1818, or in the early twenties. Mr. 
Burrows was a Scotch-Irishman, who had been a Revolu- 
tionist in his native land; and his cause being lost, he was 



'See other olTapters for farther accounts of these families. 



422 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

compelled to flee for his life, as the death sentence had been 
Ir.e fate of all who had been captnred. He fied to America,, 
and adopted the name of ''Bnrrows" instead of Davisson,'- his 
real name. 

With his brothers and sisters, he crossed from Ireland, 
but on the next day after they landed, they were separated, 
and he never saw any of them again. He came to Lewis 
county where he was married to Miss Mary Holbert, and. 
from there, he removed to Calhoun county and became the 
first settler where the town of Grantsville now stands. 
He resided here at the time of his death, which took 
place shortly after he had completed his work or. Webb's 
mill, while he was at work on Frederick's mill. He 
had contracted the whooping-cough, and after spending a few 
days at home, had returned here to collect his monev, for the 
work, staying all night; and the next morning he was found 
dead in his bed. His wife was notifiea, but before she reached 
the scene he was laid in the Smithville cemetery. 

He was the father of six children : Mrs. Jane Taylor, 
Philadelphia; Mrs. James Johnson, Mrs. Joseph Hanirick, 
U illiam, John and George, all of Calhoun county, where a 
large number of his descendants live. 

Benjamin Webb, whose name refuses to be divorced from 
this mill, was born in Tlarrison county, in 1789, and with his 
father. Nutter Webb, came to the South fork of Hughes river, 
near the year 1801. 

He married Miss Martha Stuart, daughter of William 
Stuart, an early pioneer on this river, Vvdio was born at sea, 
on board the emigrant ship that brought her parents from Ire- 
land to xAmerica, in 1789; and soon after his marriage, he 
made the first settlement at the mill ; and being called into 
service as a soldier of the war of 181"^, his wife operated this 
mill during his absence. 

He was one of the most prominent figures in the early 
history of this part of the county, being a man of very high 
character, and of no small degree ot ability. 

He Avas sherifl: of the countv from 1845 to '47, and filled 



'Another tradition says that his changed name came through some 
error in the Freemasons order, he liaving got his papers mistakenly 
changed with another man, but doubtless the first explanation is the cor- 
rect one. 



MILLS . 423 

the office of magistrate for a term of forty yeais, during which 
time none of his decisions were ever reversed. He was, also, 
an early merchant. Beside his wife, he sleeps in the cemetery 
that bears his family name. 

He was the father of five daughters and one son : Mrs. 
Anna Dye, Airs. Elizabeth Hyman. I\Irs. Sarah Rogers, Mrs. 
Louisa Hostetter, and Mrs. Drusilla Prince, and John Webb, 
who have all passed on, but his descendants in tliis county are 
quite numerous. 

Frederick's mill, too, ranks among the oldest landmarks 
in the county. It was built, perhaps, in the early twenties by 
Benjamin Hardman and Benjamin Cunningham (whose his- 
tories belong to an earlier chapter), who owned and operated 
it for a number of years ; and near 184:5, the late Joel West- 
fall, of Smithville, rented it. and the following year he and his 
father, John W. Westfall, purchased it and the "Westfall 
farm" (now the home of Henry Barker), of Hufifman and 
Camden, of Weston; and the son took charge of the mill, and 
the father, of the farm. 

Shortly after they came into possession, they erected a 
new saw-mill and set it in motion, they having entered into a 
contract with Proviance Alurphy to build a plank-road, from 
the Hardman farm to where Grass run crosses the Staunton 
pike ; and they had much of the lumber ready for the road, 
when the flood of 1852 came, sweeping away lumber, grist- 
mill and all, except the saw-mill. Disheartened at this loss, 
Joel at once made his arrangements to go West; but the mill 
was rebuilt, and the elder Westfall continued to keep it m 
motion until 1857, when it passed into the hands of the late 
Joseph B. Frederick, who rebuilt it in 1858, and again, in 
1876; and who continued to operate it until his death, on June 
10, 1896, when it became the property of his son, Joseph L. 
Frederick, who repaired and changed it from a burr, to a 
roller-process, the following year; and who is still the owner. 

The Fredericks are of German origin. Joseph B. Fred- 
erick's parents, John and Rachel Erhart Frederick, were both 
natives of the "Keystone" state, and were both born of Ger- 
man parentage. He, in 1779, and she, in 1785. Shortly after 
their marriage, they removed to Virginia, where Joseph B., who 



424 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

was one of thirteen children, was born, on April 26, 1831, and 
where he grew to manhood. He then went to Hardy ccnnt}' 
(W.) Virginia, where he learned the miller's trade, and where 
he met and married Miss Rebecca Ghokenour; the marriage 
taking place on February lo, 1815 : and there they resided 
until they came to this county, where the family still live. 
Mrs. Frederick died on April 10, 1893. Both rest on the old 
homestead with their children who have passed on: Isaac, 
Jacob, Mrs. Elizabeth Flardman, Mrs. Martha Cooper, Vir- 
ginia and Rebecca. Mrs. Mary Goff sleeps near Burnt House, 
and the rest survive — Airs. Lucy Slack lives in Ohio; Mrs. 
Frances Barker, near the old home; Lulu is Mrs. Allen Smith 
of Texas ; and Ellen Mrs. Sylvester McCartney ; Miss Sallie is 
at home ; J. L. and Calvin are the two sons. 

John Frederick, the father of Joseph B., was a brother of 
Philip, the pioneer of Grass run. 

The McKinney Mills. — William McKinney, senior, was 
the author of the first grist-mills in what is novv' Grant dis- 
trict. The first one was erected near the year 1S23, on the 
"Hatfield farm" — then ihe farm of William Mclvinne}-, junior: 
and the other one, a little later, about two miles below Cai^o, 
where the County bridge now crosses the river. Both were 
carried away by the floods, and some time afterwards, his son, 
David iMcKinney, built a grist-mill four miles below Cairo, 
which served the public for manv years, before it went out 
of existence. 

James Drake built a saw-mill on Indian creek, near the 
Isaac Wilson residence, near 1825 or '30. This was one of the 
earliest of its kind in the county. 

Brown's Mill. — The widely known Brown's mill is en- 
titled to the first place in the history of the mills of Clay dis- 
trict. It was built by Isaac Clarke, of Pennsylvania, who is 
identified with the early settlers of Chevauxdefrise, in 1848. 
It came into existence as a grist-mill, but a sawing-apparatus 
was attached some years later. Among those who have owned 
it from time to time, we find the names of James Malone, 
James L. Collins. Lawrence Alinor, Daniel Rexroad. A\'i]son 
Patton, A. S. Core, Alartin Cochran, and Samuel Malone. Mr. 



MILLS 425 

Core and Mr. Patton, being partners, re-built and otherwise 
improved the property. 

Mr. Cochran instituted the carding business in connection 
with the grist and saw-mill, but in 1875, while he was owner, 
the mill and all of its accessories was swept away by a flood : 
and Samuel Malone and Wilson Patton bought and rebuilt it. 
Ihen in the early eighties, John M. Brown purchased Mr. 
Malone's interest and finally that of Mr. Patton's, and he is 
still the owner and operator. It being the only old-time r.dll 
in this section that is still doing service. 

The Broadwater Mills. — Jefl:'erson Broadwater is accred- 
ited with the first saw-mill in Clay district, which is said to 
ha\^e come into existence in 1855, and to have been located 
near the present site of Tollgate. He owned and operated 
this mill for more than twenty years, and was also the builder 
of the Valley flouring-mill, near Pennsboro. 

]\lr. r^.roadvv'ater was a native of Virginia, he having first 
opened his eyes upon this mundane sphere in Loudin county, 
on August 1, 1806 ; but he came to this county from Mar}^- 
land, in 1842, and remained until his death on August 5, 1894. 
He rests in the U. B. cemetery at Pennsboro. He was first 
married to Miss Mar}^ Beckner, of Maryland, who was laid 
in the Taylor cemetery, in 1861 ; and his second wife was Mrs. 
Elizabeth Scott, ^ of Harrison county, who, with her daughter. 
Miss Vashta, resided at Salem until her death in June, 1910 ; 
the late A\'ade Broadwater was her other child. 

The children of the first union were twelve in riumber. 
and were as follows: the late Mrs. Eliza (M. M.) Taylor, 
Salem ; Mrs. Mary (Archibald) Barnard, the late Mrs. Re- 
becca ( C. R.) Brown, Mrs. Alice (Sherman) Wilson, Mrs. 
Isabella (L. C.) Wilson, all of Pennsboro: the late T. J. 
Broadwater, Tollgate: the late Peter, Lynn Camp; Mrs. 
Minerva (D. H.) Kelley, and Chns. P. Broadwater, Oxford: 
the late Mrs. Cena (E. J.) Taylor, Trilby; the late Mrs. Theo- 
dore Davis, Idaho; and the late Miss Elizabeth. Pennsboro. 

No other class of pioneers played a more important part 
in the early affairs of the county, than did these millers. They 



'Mrs. Scott was the mother of H. J. Scott, of Pennfeboro, and W. H. 
Scott, of Rutherford. 



426 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

were in general men of unalloyed integrity, and were promi- 
nent factors in other walks of life, as w^ell. 

The Broadwaters are of English origin, but the time of 
their emigration to the "Xew World" is not known. Yet 
circumstances point strongly to the fact that one Charles 
Broadwater, wdio received., from the King of England, a 
grant for a tract of forty thousand acres of land in the Vir- 
ginia colony in the early days of its history, and, by the pro- 
visions of this grant, settled a ship load of English emigrants 
upon it, was their ancestor. But so little is known of the sub- 
sequent history of this distinguished individual, that this fact 
cannot positively be established. But, he sleeps in the old 
burying-ground at Fairfax Court House, and this ancient 
land grant is preserved among the records at Richmond, Vir- 
ginia. 

The connected and authentic history of this family in 
America, however, begins near the year 1800, when Charles 
and Cornelius Broadwater, two brothers, settled in Loudin 
county, Virginia. Charles went from there to Tennessee, and 
became the founder of the family that scattered from there. 
But Cornelius lived and died in Loudin countv. His son, 
Charles, married Miss Mary Ripes, of the "Old Dominion" 
and removed to Marvland, before the w^ar of 1813, and settled 
'vear eight miles above the present site of the town of West- 
ernport, wdiere he constructed a residence of hew^ed-pine-logs, 
which is said to be still standing. 

He and two of his brothers served their country as sol- 
diers in the war of 1812, and were identified among the heroic 
defenders of historic old Fort McHenry, when the immortal 
"Star Spangled Banner" was penned. He was the father of 
Jefferson and Peter Broadwater, of this county; of Ephraim, 
who lives in Somnierset county, Pennsylvania, and is now 
eighty-one years of age; and of Ashford, of Tyler county, v.-ho 
survives at the age of seventy-nine years. 

Peter Broadwater was born in "^Maryland. My ]\Iary- 
land !" on AJarch 20, 1830, and came to this county with his 
brother, Jefferson in 1843, 

He married Miss Love Taylor, sister of the late Edmund 
Taylor, and settled on the farm that is now, principally owned 



MILLS 427 

by his son, Alarciis ]M. Broadwater, near Hannahdale, where 
his Hfe came to a close in 1858, and beside his first wife in the 
Taylor burying-ground he lies at rest. 

His second wife, Mrs. Fannie Malone Broadwater, died 
in 1891, and she lies in the churchyard at Riddel's chapel. 

Five children were the fruits of his first union ; viz., Mar- 
cus M, of Flannahdale, who served as a soldier in the Union 
army; Edmund, of Illinois; Mrs. Margaret (Granville) Willis, 
of Market, Doddridge county; the late Mrs. Rachel (Thomas) 
Athey, Marion county ; and Mrs. Lovisa (Peter D.) Calhoun, 
of White Oak. 

The children of the second union were Jennie who is now 
Mrs. John M. Brown, of Hannahdale ; and Charles, of near 
Harrisville. 

C. L. Broadwater, principal of the X"ew Martinsville 
school is the g-randson of Peter, he being the son of Charles. 



CHAPTER XXXIII 



Post-Offices 




ENNSBORO is the oldest post-office in the 
county. It came into existence as early as 
1820 with James Martin, post-master. 

James Martin was a native of Harrison 
county and a prominent figure in the early 
aiTairs of this part of the county. His wife 
was Miss Edith Davidson Wilson, daughter 
of Col. Benjamin Wilson, senior. She being one of the thirty 
children of this distinguished gentleman, whose names and 
dates of birth appear elsewhere in this history ; and in Ham- 
son county, she was born on November 19, 1799. On April 
15, 1815, they came to Pennsboro and settled in the "Stone 
House" where they spent the remainder of their lives. Ele 
passed from earth in 1856, and she, twenty years later. Both 
rest in the Presbyterian cemetery. They were the parents of 
the following named children: William, Benjamin W., La- 
fayette, James, junior, Gilbert, Marshall M, W^atts, Margaret, 
Mrs. Hattie (M. P.) Kimball, Mrs. Mary Dunnington and 
John W., who survived until 1910 at his home in Arkansas, 
have all passed on. Mrs. Susan Watson, who has reached 
her eighty-eighth milestone is a resident of Fairmont; and F. 
H. Martin is one of Pennsboro's well-known business men. 

The Martins are of English-German origin, and are the 
lineal descendants of emigrants, who crossed to the New Jer- 
sey colony early in the eighteenth century and figured as 
Revolutionary soldiers. 

William Martin was one of the early settlers of Harrison 
county, and there his son, James, the Ritchie county pioneer 
post-master was born. 

The Second Post-office was established at Harrisville near 
the vear 18o() under the name of "Solus." but after the birth 



POST-OFFICES 129 

of the county, the name was changed to Harrisville, and later 
to "Ritchie Court House," owing to the fact that an office by 
the same name in Virginia occasioned confusion in the mail, 
but it was changed back to Harrisville a number of years ago. 

William McKinney, junior, son of William, senior, of 
Cairo, was the first post-master here, and William L. Jackson 
was another early incumbent of this office. 

William McKinney, senior, was the first post-master in 
Grant district, this office being kept in the McGregor mill, 
below Cairo. 

The First Post-office in Murphy district was established 
near 1830 at Smithville under the name of "Hughes River." 
Valentine Bozarth, who resided where the M. A. Ay res hotel 
now stands, was the first post-master, but he, losing his home 
here, went to Iowa and the office Avas removed to Webb's 
mill, where it remained under the name of "Webb's mill" until 
1880 when it was changed back to Smithville, and took the 
name of the village. 

The First Mail-carrier was a lad of twelve years by the 
name of Isaac Cox, who came from Weston once a week, and 
stayed over night at Smithville. This youthful carrier Avas 
no other than the late Isaac B. Cox of Chestnut Grove. Cal- 
houn county. He was the son of Isaac, and the grandson of 
Isaac and Sarah Sutton Cox, whose line -will be found in the 
Cox family history in the "Slab creek chapter." 

There are now forty-two offices in the county, thirty-one 
of which are money-order offices, besides fifteen rural free de- 
livery routes. Three of these, Pennsboro, Harrisville and 
Cairo, which are third class, are International money-order 
offices. The post-masters are appointed by the President, 
and their respective salaries are $1,600, $1,500, and $1,300. 



CHAPTER XXXIV 




Ritchie County Formed 

ITCHIE county was formed in 1843, from 
portions of \\'ood. Lewis and Harrison 
counties, and was named in honor of 
Thomas Ritchie, a journalist, who for many 
years edited "The Richmond Enquirer,'' and 
later "The Washington Record." 

This county covers an area of four hun- 
dred fifty-seven square miles, and is bounded on the north by 
Pleasants and Tyler; on the east by Doddridge, on the south 
by Gilmer, Calhoun and Wirt ; and on the west by AMrt and 
Wood. It is divided into fovir districts. Grant, Union, Clay 
and Alurphy. The Xorth and the South branches of Hughes 
river are its principal streams : and its highest^ elevation of 
land (1380 feet) is in the north-eastern corner of the county 
near Stanley, and King Knob two miles southwest of Pull- 
man is the second highest point, it being 1367 feet. Its popu- 
lation, according to the first census after its organization, was 
three thousand eight hundred fifty-six, it now numbers near 
twenty thousand. 

The first court convened, on April 4, 1843, at the resi- 
dence of John Harris, near the late residence of John P. Har- 
ris, and was composed of Daniel Haymond, Daniel Ayres, 
^^'iIliam R. Lowther, Alexander Lowther, senior, and James 
Malone, junior, justices of the peace, each holding a commis- 
sion from the Governor. The first three had, for many years, 
been justices in ^^"ood county, and the last two, in Harrison 
and Lewis counties. 

The following named officers were chosen by this court: 
William R. Lowther, clerk of the Countv court: Thomas 



'King Knob, near Washburn, has always been regarded the highest 
point of land in the county, but this information comes from the late 
U. S. Geological report. 



RITCHIE COUNTY FORMED 431 

Stinchcoinbe, clerk of the Circuit court; Hon. J. J. Jackson, 
of Parkersburg", Attorney for the Commonwealth ( a position 
which he held until his death in 1850, when he was succeeded 
by J. B. Blair, a Harrisville barrister) Archibald Wilson, 
County surveyor ; Austin Berkeley, sheriff, with his brother, 
Granville, deputy. They (the Berkeleys) served one term, 
and from the expiration of this term until the adoption of the 
Constitution in 1851, this office was given to the oldest justice 
of the peace. 

Then after Mr. Berkeley, came Benjamin ^^'e1Db (as sher- 
iff from 1845-48) with James McKinney, as deputy for the 
first two years, and James and John P. Harris, for the last 
year. John Harris was the next in line (1848-9) with James 
and John P. Harris deputies. Xoah Rexroad then filled the 
office until the new Constitution (1851) made all the offices 
elective by the people, and he was the first sheriff" chosen 
under this new provision. Then came William M. Patton, 
James Taylor, Benjamin Wells, Eli and John Heaton, B. F. 
Mitchell, John B. Hallam, D. F. Haymond, John B. Hallam 
(again) Job Musgrave, M. H. Tarleton, D. B. Patton, B. F. 
Hill, Okey E. Nutter, afid John Hulderman, the present in- 
cumbent. 

Henry Collins was the first clerk of the Circuit court 
chosen by the people, in 1851, and William M. Patton was his 
deputy. This office has since been filled by Amos Culp, W. 
H. Douglass, Will A. Strickler, John H. Lininger, and H. E. 
McGinnis. 

James McKinney was the first clerk of the County court 
under the new Constitution (1851-8), and William M. Patton 
was his successor (1858-63). He (Mr. Patton) was also 
made clerk of the records. He was followed by Josiah M. 
Wood; and then came the late George W. Amos who filled 
this office from 1871 until 1896, when W. R. Meservie, the 
present clerk, took his place. 

Cyrus Hall was the first prosecuting attorney chosen by 
the popular vote (1851-61) ; and F. P. Peirpoint was his suc- 
cessor. The office since that time, has been filled by E. G. 
Day, Robert Kercheval, John A. Hutchinson, C. F. Scott, R. 
S. Blair, senior, T. E. Davis, Henderson Peck, R. H. Freer, H. 



432 HISTORY OP RITCHIE COUNTY 

B. Woods, and S. M. Hoff. The last four named gentlemen 
still survive. 

John Douglass was the first County surveyor elected by 
the people ; and among others who have filled this office since 
that time are: Fred Douglass, Alexander Lowthcr. junior, H. 
N. Wilson, Wm. Bennett Hayden, A. A. Clayton, A. M. 
Douglass, A. C. Cunningham, Gilbert Hayden, and John W. 
Cain. 

Benjamin Webb, Robert Tibbs, Richard Wanless, John 
Harris, Jacob Hatfield, Isaac Lambert, Peter Reed, and Wil- 
liam R. Lowther were the first justices to be elected by the 
vote of the people, Mr. Wanless being the presiding officer. 
The justices continued to form the Court until the Constitu- 
tion of the "Little Mountain state" went into effect in 186-3. 
Then a Board of Supervisors became the law-making body 
of the county. 

Henry B. Collins, Jacob Hatfield, and Christopher N. 
Xutter comprised the first Board of Supervisors. Among 
others, who served in this capacity were: Benjamin A\'ells, 
Solomon Stull, Phillip Reitz, A. C. Barnard, Richard A\'anless, 
senior, Andrew Law, James Moyer, John AIcGinnis, J. P. 
Strickler, John Sommerville, J. H. Haddox, George Corbin, 
and H. N. Wilson. 

In 1872, our State Constitution underwent a change and 
since that time, the members of this court have been called 
commissioners. Among those wdio have served as commission- 
ers are: P. S. Austin, M. A. Ayres, Dr. M. S. Hall, S. R. Daw- 
son, A. C. Barnard, J. R. Brake, Alexander Prunty, Samuel 
Hatfield, W. G. Lowther, Benjamin McGinnis. S. J. Taylor, B. 
F. Marshall, E. N. Summers, L. D. Bartlett, W. A. Flesher, 
J. M. Brown, C. W. Nutter, I. M. Jackson, and Jacob T. 
Reeves. 

Among those wdio have filled the office of assessor, we 
find the names of, J. B. Collins, Eli Riddel, Nathaniel Parks, 
James H. Harris, Alexander Lowther, junior, J. W. Tro}^ 
James W; Shroyer, Benjamin McGinnis, W. G. Lowther, ]\I. 
A. Ayres, Alexander Prunty, Samuel Hatfield, George Crum- 
mett, John O. Lynch, H. Kibbee, Ellet Woofter, C. S. Jack- 
son, G. M. Britton, H. C. Buzzard, and G. M. Britton. who 



RITCHIE COUNTY FORMED 433 

is now the only one in the county, vmder a new provision of 
the law, there having" been two heretofore. 

The following named gentlemen represented this county 
in the Legislature at Richmond, when this stale was a part of 
the "Old Dominion :" James Alalone, Jacob Prunty, A\'illiani 
L. Jackson, Henry B., and John Collins. 

Cyrus Hall was a member of the Richmond Convention 
that passed on the ordinance of secession, which finally re- 
sulted' in Virginia becoming a part of the Southern Con- 
federacy. 

Archibald Wilson represented Ritchie county in the con- 
vention that framed the first Constitution for the State of 
West Virginia, in December 1861 ; and J. P. Strickler was a 
member of the body that gave us our present State Constitu- 
tion. Other citizens of this county, who have occupied seats 
in our State Legislative halls are: (Senators) Daniel Hay- 
mond, David McGregor, P. W. Morris, and Samuel Hatfield : 
(House of Delegates) Eli Riddel, S. R. Dawson, A. S. Core, 
Noah Rexroad, Gen. T. M. Harris, James Taylor, E. J. Tay- 
lor, J. B. Crumrine, Felix Prunty, G. W. Miller, J. M. Mc- 
Kinney, T. E. Davis, J. C. Gluck. P. W. Morris, R." H. Freer, 
Benjamin McGinnis, C. L. Zinn, Job Musgrave, E. C. GotT, M. 
]\L Luzader, W. A. Flesher, M. K. Duty, and Sherman Robin- 
son ; and J. C. I^acy and Xewton Law are the newly elected 
ones. 

S. R. Dawson was a member of the Legislature when the 
first '"Free School Law" was enacted, and was prominently 
identified with its formation. 

Only, three citizens of the county, R. H. Freer, M. FT. 
Willis, and H. B. Woods, have been honored with the Judge- 
ship : and Mr. Freer is the only one that has occupied a seat 
in the Congressional Flails of the United States. 

In 1863, an act, providing for the sub-division of the dif- 
ferent counties of the state into townships, was passed : and 
the following named gentlemen were appointed to do this 
work in Ritchie county : Proviance Murphy, John P. Harris, 
and Jacob Hatfield. Archibald Wilson played tiie part of 
surveyor, and thus Grant, Clay, Union and Murphy were 
lormed. P)y the requirements of the second Constitution, 



434 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

(1872) these divisions were retained, but the name township 
was changed to that of magisterial district. 

Union was named in honor of the "Union cause," which 
was at that time so dear to many hearts. The name Avas sug- 
gested by O. Manly Zinn, late father of C. L. Zinn, of Au- 
burn. The first settlement in this district was made at Har- 
risville in 1803. 

Clay, the most northern district, was named b}' Archi- 
bald Wilson, in honor of Henry Clay. Its first settlement 
was at Pennsboro in 1800. 

Murphy took its name from the ^lurphy Brothers, earh^ 
settlers in the Smithville vicinity, in 1801. Its first settler 
w'as William Layfiel.d, near Smithville, in 1800. 

Grant was first settled near CaJro at a date unknown, 
and in honor of General Grant, it was named. 



CHAPTER XXXV 




Developments 

,OWN to the year 1830 the country developed 
slowly. Some of the earlier pioneers, be- 
coming discouraged with the toils and pri- 
vations of this wilderness-life, had sought 
homes elsewhere, principally north of the 
Ohio river, and the country was still very 
sparsely settled. 
One great aid to progress and immigration, was brought 
about in 1832, when the General Assembly, at Richmond, 
passed an act providing for the satisfactory adjustment of 
land titles, and for the sale of delinquent and forfeited lands. 

Up to this time wood-lands had ranged in price from 
twenty-five to fifty cents an acre ; but under this law large 
tracts were sold, as delinquent, for taxes, and were forfeited 
to the State at prices ranging from seven to fifteen cents an 
acre. 

The construction of the Xorth-western turn-pike from 
Winchester to Parkersburg, between the years 1830-10, was 
a most important factor in behalf of immigration ; and this 
period was one of remarkable progress, the people now hav- 
ing commercial advantages and other intercourse with the 
out-side world. 

The construction of the Staunton and Parkersburg turn- 
pike between 1810 and '50, was another valuable aid to ad- 
vancement in the Southern part of the county. But the great- 
est incentive to immigration and development was the com- 
pletion of the North-western Virginia railroad (now the Park- 
ersburg branch of the B. & O.) in 1858. This road gave rise 
to the towns of Tollgate, Pennsboro, Ellenboro, Cornwallis, 
Cairo, and Petroleum as railroad stations. 

Road-making in pioneer days was an arduous and im- 



43G HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

perative task, as all able-bodied men. between the ages of six- 
teen and sixty years, were required to work upon the public 
high-way under the supervision of an over-seer; and this sys- 
tem was continued until 1872-3 when the Legislature foanu- 
lated two S3'stems, and. leaving a choice to the vote of the 
people, the present one was adopted by this county — to sell 
out the contract to the lowest and best bidder. But thev are 
now^ principally kept in order by a road-machine which is 
manipulated under the superintendence of a road-surveyor. 

The Legislature of 1909 provided for a road-engineer, and 
A'. A\'. Kittle was the first to be appointed to this new office, 
he being selected b}- the County court at the June term in 
1909. But he resigned in March, 1910, and John Pew of Cairo 
became his successor. 

The first road through what- is now ^lurphy district, 
which was known as the old "State road," w^as made in 1832, 
by Abraham Springston (late father of Mrs. T. ]\L Gofif, of 
Harrisville), who was at that time a single man. and a resi- 
dent of Glenville . 

The country was so thinly settled that he and his men 
were compelled to camp out during the construction of this 
road. Their first camp was at the head of Spruce creek 
where L. S. Gofif now lives, and it was made of poles and 
bark : and another, was imder a shelving-rock near the pres- 
ent hamlet of Hazelgreen. 

Mr. Springston's sister, Joanna, (later Mrs. George F. 
Bush) then a girl of tw'elve years, camped wnXh him and did 
his cooking. 

Bridses. — The bridoe across the river at Smithville. and 
the one at the forks of Hughes river are said to be the pioneer 
bridges of the county. They were built, some time during 
the forties, by the company that constructed the Staimton 
turn-pike, and a man by the name of Foutty was the contrac- 
tor: but the one at Smithville was swept away by the flood in 
1852, being replaced by the old structure, which recently gave 
place to a new iron bridge. There are now not fewer than 
thirty-five bridges in the county, and their average value is 
from four to five thousand dollars. 



DEVELOPMENTS 



437 




The old North Fork Bridge which spans the river just above the forks of 

Hughes river. 



The County Infirmary was instituted near the year 1858. 
The farm that is now the estate of the late Edward Lougli 
was purchased for this purpose, and John Starr, senior, was 
the first superintendent. This farm was sold a number of 
years later, and for a time the contract, for caring for these 
unfortunates, was given to some responsible individual. 
Enoch B. Leggett was among the number that cared for them 
under this provision. But near the year 187-i, the James 
Drake estate on Indian creek (just the widow's thirds) vras 
purchased for this purpose, and this has since been the home 
for the County infirm. Perhaps, near the year 1904, the As- 
bury Zickafoose homestead (of some seventy acres) was pur- 
chased and added to the original farm, and since that time 
the Zickafoose residence, which has been enlarged and re- 
modeled, has been the home of the County faiuily. the old 
home being torn down. This farm now contains two-hundred 
fifty acres, and is valued at ten thousand dollars, or near it. 

Tobacco Industry. — Not far from the time of the close of 
the Civil war, and for a number of years after, the tobacco 
industry was a profitable one in the Northern part of the 
county, especially. Large tobacco houses sprang up in dif- 
ferent sections, and this was the principal staple of product; 
and not a few of the citizens date their financial success, in 



438 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

after life, to this beginning. Cut an exorbitant tax was im- 
posed upon this product, which put an end to its profit ; as this 
tax did not permit its manufacture in any form, and did not 
even allow it to be twisted, but compelled it to be sold in "the 
hand." However, this industry continued into the eighties to 
some extent, though the manufacture had been prohibited. 

The Springstons. — This chapter would not be complete 
without a few lines, at least, in regard to the ancestry and 
identity of the pioneer road-builder of ^Nlurphy district — 
"Abraham Springston." 

The Springstons are of German origin, and of hardy pio- 
neer stock. 

Jacob Springston and his wife. Elizabeth Lambert 
Springston, came from the Fatherland in Colonial times, but 
the date and the place of their settlement is unknown : but 
they evidently lived in what is now^ Tucker county at some 
time, and here, possibly, they died. 

Jacob Springston, junior, their son, however, was ])orn 
on August -i, 1TT2, and in April, 1S07, he was married to ]\Iiss 
Luda Goft, daughter of John T. and ]\Ionacah Cerrico Gotif, 
who was born in April ITS-t. The marriage took place in 
Tucker county, wdiere they resided until near the year 182(i, 
when they migrated to Gilmer county, and settled on the farm 
that is now designated as the "Dr. Eagan farm" near Glen- 
viile. Here ]\Irs. Springston died in 1835. and he, in 1841. 
Both rest in the A\^oodford burying-ground at the mouth of 
Leading creek. 

Air. Springston was the first member of the old Leading 
creek Baptist church class that w'as ordained as minister. He 
and his venerable wnfe were the parents of nine children, 
whose descendants- are now a mighty host in this and difter- 
ent other counties of this state, as well as other states; viz., 
Lydia, Abraham, John, Rebecca, Joseph. James, Joanna, \A'il- 
liam, and George G. Springston. 

Lydia Springston (born on July 19, 1808) was the late 
]\Irs. David Fisher of Lewis county. 

Abraham Springston, who distinguished himself as pio- 
neer road-maker in this county, was born in Tucker count}', 
on February 7, 1810, and with his parents removed to Gil- 



^ ^ 



DEVELOPMENTS 439 

mer county in his youth. In January 1836, he was married to 
Aliss Effie Goff, daughter of Hiram, and granddaughter of 
Salathiel, who was born on August 18, 1811, and the first 
years of their married life were spent on the Dr. Eagen farm, 
near Glenville — at the ohl Springston homestead. From 
here, in 184'3. they removed to Roane county and settled on 
Little creek near four miles north of Spencer. Here on 
March 9, 18o"3. Airs. Springston died, and some time after- 
wards, ]\Ir. Springston married ]\Iiss Jane Wilson, of Lewis 
county ; and near 1859, they removed to Richardsonvillc in 
Calhoim county, where death again deprived him of his com- 
panion, in June 1885. After laA'ing his second wife away (at 
Richardsonville), he went to Gilmer county and made his 
home with his sister, ]\Irs. Joanna Bush, until his death, on 
June 10, 1893, and at the Union church on Sinking creek he 
lies at rest. His first wife sleeps on the old homestead in 
Roane county. 

He and his first wife were the parents of the following 
named children : J. H., of Wirt couniy : the late Chapman, of 
Gilmer, and the late James, of Texas ; Calhoun has also passed 
■n\\ and George D. lives at Aliddleport, Ohio; Luda is Mrs. 
Greathouse, and Margaret was the late ]\Irs. Andrew J. 
Showen, both of Roane county; Mary L. is Mrs. Washing- 
ton Shafifer, of Calhoun county ; Sarah, Airs. T. AI. Goff of 
Harrisville ; and Byrd. the only daughter of the second mar- 
riage, is Mrs. Wright, of Calhoun county. 

Joanna Springston, the little sister that played the part of 
cook during the first road-making in Alurphy district, grew 
to womanhood and married George F. Bush of Gilmer county. 
She was born on February '21, 18'30, and died at her home on 
Sinking creek in 1904, leaving numerous descendants to "call 
her blessed." 

She was the mother of eight children which are as fol- 
lows : The late James Bush, of Xewberne, Carr Bush, of GiL 
mer county; the Rev. Asa Bush, of the Baptist church of 
Iowa ; Thurmander, of Gilmer, are the sons ; Mary the latt 
wife of the Rev. L. S. Vannoy of Harrisville, was the eldest 
daughter; Alice is the wife of M. B. Zinn, of Holbrook; Tensa 



440 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

is the wife of Dr. A. J. W'oofter, of Weston ; Rebecca is Airs. 
Homer W'oofter, of Sinking creek. 

Ira B. Bush, who is making a name for himself among 
the young educators of the State, and who is now Superintend- 
ent of the Parkersburg schools, is a grandson of this vener- 
able woman. 

Rebecca Springston (sister of Joanna) married John Hall 
and spent her life on Horn creek, only a short distance from 
Auburn, and her family are well-known in this county. 

Jacob Hall, who met a tragic death in Monroe county ; 
V\llliam, Henry, and Columbus, of Gilmer, were her sons; 
and Mary Jane, late wife of Charles Cooper, of Auburn 
(mother of Victor Cooper, and Mrs. Homer Adams, of Har- 
risville) ; Lydia Marcella. wife of Samuel Bush, of Wood 
county ; Margaret Joanna, who is Mrs. Woodford of Colorado, 
and Eriga, Mrs. Alfred Bush of Lynn. Gilmer county (mother 
of O. G. Bush, of Smithville) are the daughters. 

Joseph Springston (brother of Joanna and Abraham), 
who was born on Xovember 26, 1817, married Miss Elizabeth 
Shoven, and settled in Jackson coimty, where he died in ISoo. 
He was the father of six children; viz., Virginia (Mrs. Am- 
brose Athens, Jackson county), Clarrissa (Mrs. Marshall Os- 
bourn, Cleveland, Ohio), Joanna (Mrs. W. S. Goff, Glenville). 
Sarah (Mrs. A. J. R3aiier, Connings) Lydia (Mrs. T. E. Gil- 
lispie, W est L^nion), and Charles who died in infancy. 

John Springston (another brother) remained in Gilmer 
county where he reared a family. 

James Springston married a Aliss Riddel and died in 
Roane county, leaving no issue. 

William Springston also lived and died in Roane county, 
leaving a large family, as did his brother George G. Springs- 
ton. 



©Iji0 Cdljaptpr ta SnarribfJi 
to tijp ilpmnry of H|p 

Hat? CS^n^ral ®i|nmafi 
iiabg IfarrtB 

Sttrlilf (Cnuntjj'H iloat iBtattngmHljpJ) g'ntt 



J 



General Thomas Maley Han-is. 

Genius and taste and talent gone. 
Forever tombed 'beneath the stone. 

-nScott. 



CHAPTER XXXVI 




Physicians 

R. JOHN CREEL, of Parkersburg was the 

first practicing physician in the county. In 

the year 1818, he, assisted by Dr. Jett, who 

was also of Parkersburg, performed the 

first surgical operation by amputating the 

arm of Sallie Stuart, daughter of William 

Stuart, senior, of the South fork, who had 

had her arm crushed by a falling branch of a tree during a 

storm, which had overtaken her while on her way to a neigh- 

borinp- house. 

Dr. Morgan was the first resident physician. He came 
from Connecticut in 1836, and took up his residence at Hai- 
risville. but finding little demand for his services in this 
healthful, thinly settled region, he only remained a few 
months. 

General Thomas Malay Harris \vas the second physician 
in 1843. General Plarris needs no introduction to the people 
of Ritchie cour.ty, since there is, perhaps, scarcely a man, 
woman or child within its boundary that are not familiar with 
the name of this late distinguished citizen, whose long and 
useful career belongs not only to local history, but to State 
and National as well. 

In the "rude log caljin days" when this section of the 
"Little Mountain State" was one vast wilderness, "dotted 
here and there with a hunter's cabin and a patch of corn." he 
was born — not far from the present site of the Lorama depot, 
at Harrisville — on June 13, ]813. 

He came of the union of two prominent pioneer families 
of this county, being the eldest son of John and Agnes Alaley 
Harris, and one of a family of seven children. 

At the time he stepped upon the stage, educational ad- 
vantages were m their swaddling clothes, and his envn'on- 



PHYSICIANS 443 

ments promised but little in the \va_y of a career, but he im- 
proved his every opportunity, and at an early age joined the 
ranks of the teacher. His first experience was in the schools 
of this wilderness, but he later taught in Clarke and Greene 
counties, Ohio, and while there became interested in the 
science of medicine. 

In October 1842, while engaged as first assistant of the 
Parkersburg Seminary, he led the principal of the female de- 
partment of this institution, in the person of Miss Sophia 
Hall, sister of Dr. M. S. Hall, to the altar as his bride, and 
during the following winter, attended medical lectures at 
Louisville, Kentucky ; but returned home in the spring and 
began the practice of his profession in his native town. 

In 1856, he removed to Glenvil'e, where he was estab- 
lished when the bugle-notes of the great Rebellion called men 
to action ; but he brought his family back to Harrisville, and 
recruited and organized the 10th West Virginia Regiment 
Volunteers, and entered the army as Lieutenant Colonel ; and 
in May, 1862, was commissioned Colonel. During the years 
of 1862 and 'f^'^, his service was in West Virginia, he being in 
coinmand of the posts at Buckhaniion and Beverh^ ; and while 
stationed at Beverly, on July 2, 1863, his regiment of seven 
hundred fifty men was attacked by a Confederate force of 
two thousand two hundred strong under the command of Col. 
William L. Jackson.^ And though this was the first time that 
Col. Harris' regiment (in a body) had met the enemy, they 
succeeded in holding them at bay for two days, notwithstand- 
ing their superiority in number, until re-enforcements arrived, 
and helped to put Col. Jackson and his host to flight. 

In June, 1864, General Harris was transferred to the val- 
ley of Virginia and with his command became incorporated 
in the Army of West Virginia under General Crooks, and had 
part in the various engagements in the valley during the sum- 
mer and autumn. At Winchester he had command of fiv.e 
regiments, and at Cedar creek, on October 19th, when Col. 



'Col. Jackson had been an old acquaintance of General Harris, he 
having: resided at Harrisville in the antp-bcllum days, where he tigured 
prominently as a lawyer and filled the office of judge as early as 1848. 
He (Col. Jackson) was the step-son of Thomas Stinclicomb, the first 
clerk of the Circuit court in this county. He was a native of Lewis 
county, and a cousin of "Stonewall" Jackson, and in order to distinguish 
nim from his eminent cousin, he was called "Mudwall." 



444 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Joseph Thoburn fell mortally wounded, he came into com- 
mand of the First Division of the Army of West \'irginia on 
the field, the Division flag having fallen to him as the next 
ranking officer ; and for gallantry on this occasion, he was 
brevetted Brigadier-General. During this same year, at the 
close of the Shenandoah valley campaign, a new division was 
formed, and he was placed in command with orders to report 
to General Grant at City Point; and in March 18G5. when this 
division Avas reviewed by Secretary Stanton, he (the Secre- 
tary) remarked that General Harris' promotion had beer 
urged by Generals Grant and Ord, but that there was no va- 
cancy. However, turning to General Harris, he said, "You 
sta}- here with your command. I wdl go home and make a 
vacancy. I will muster out some fellow that we can spare." 
A few days later while enroute to Petersburg, General Harris 
received the commission of Brigadier-General, and three days 
after, broke the Confederate lines around Petersburg, and 
with his brigade took Fort Whitworth, one of the outer-posts 
of the city. And for this act of brsvery, he was brevetttd 
Major-General. 

At Appomattox, by a forced march, his division was 
thrown between General Lee's armv and Lvnchburg. and 
when it became evident that General Gordon was trying to 
slip out of the surrender with his command, it was General 
Harris' division that compelled him to abandon the idea . and 
when he had finally succeedcv,! in silencing the guns of this 
command, hostilities in Virginia were at an end, as this was 
the last firing done in the 'Old Dominion." 

In recognition of his ser\ice on the field, Secretary Stan- 
ton proffered him the Lieutenant-Colonelcy of the Thirty- 
seventh Regulars, but owing to his advanced age he declined 
the honor. 

At the close of the Rebellion when an assassin's bullet 
had laid the form of our beloA^ed President low, and had 
turned a Nation's rejoicing into one of mourning and of sor- 
row. General Flarris w^as again called into service (in May '65) 
as a member of the Military Commission that tried the conspi- 
rators of this dark tragedy, and upon this ever interesting 
trial, he wrote a book entitled the "Historv of the Great Con- 



PHVSICIAXS 



44.3 



spirac}'," which attracted wide attention and added new lau- 
rels to his brow in the eventide of his life (The date of this 
production was 1892). 

He was the last sur\'ivor of this distinguished military 
body, among which were numbered the late Generals David 
Hunter, and Lew Wallace, wdiose "Ben Hur" has found a wel- 
come among" the lovers of literature in every civilized land. 

His military duties being at an end, he returned to his 
native town and resumed the practice of his medical profes- 
sion, which was destined to be again interrupted, in 1867, by 
his election to the House of Delegates, and by his appoint- 
ment to the office of Adjutant-General of the State under Gov- 
ernor Stephenson, in 1869. He also served as United States 
Pension Agent at Wheeling from 1871 to '75, (having been 
commissioned bv President Grant) but this agencv -beino- 
abolished, he once again returned to Harrisville and continued 
the practice of his profession until 1885 when he retired to 
private life. Here, in his old "mansion house," only a few 
hundred yards from the spot where he first "saw the light" 
the evening hours of his long life were spent. The loving de- 
votion of his second wnfe, who was his cousin, Miss Clara 
Maley, of Iowa, was the stafif and comfort of his declining- 
years. His old age was characterized by that peaceful 
serenity which comes from the consciousness of a well spent 













^wwlflBIHI 


^^^^^^ 




^'- • 


t: 


; ^ ■''-• ••„„-iii,r-' 


J 


1 


1 




i^' 


jm 






^^k 


^1 


Jlwi^liiilfi 






p' 'b^^l^^^^^^^^l 




^1 


H 


I iiairt 


IDK: 


■ 


ir^ 


PHH 


"^■" 


IP 


.1 


■■ 


m 


.-• - *i. J 


f^f'-mn''.-'- . ■ -■/ 








Sn^^:^. ■' 


_-«>•«;;. 




. 



The late residence of Gen. T. il. Harri.s. 



440 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



life, and the sunset scene was one of tranquillity and perfect 
peace. It was the hour of noon, on Sunday, September 30, 
1906, when the last ray vanished;, when the announcement 
came from the silent chamber that the struggle was o'er; that 
Ritchie county's most distinguished son had passed. "He died 
rich in the love and esteem of all who knew him," and not a 
few demonstrations of respect were in evidence at his funeral. 
Beneath the shadow of the beautiful old town that gave him 
birth, beside the companion of his youth who was laid there 
in 1SS5. he lies at rest. 

The one cherished hope of his last hours was that a 
County High school, bearing his name and perpetuating his 
memory, might be established at Harrisville. He had given 
the grounds for this purpose, and the. Legislature had passed 
favorably upon the measure, but tliis proved to be one of the 
unrealized hopes, as the movement was defeated at the No- 
vember election, a little more than a month after his death. 

He was the father of four children ; viz., Agnes died in 
infancy. Mary Virginia, in early womanhood; Alartha was 
the late wife of the Rev. J. R. Johnson, of W'ashington. Penn- 
sylvania ; and John T. Harris, the well-knov.ai Court stenog- 
rapher of Parkersburg. is the only son. 

Dr. Moses S. Hall was another early physician here. He 
w^as a native of the old Bay State, having been born near 
Hawley, on March 1, 1824, of Irish-Protestant parentage. His 




Dr. and Mrs. M. S. Hall. 



PHYSICIANS 447 

ancestors came from Ireland shortly after, the American 
Revolution, and settled at Cape Cod. Some of them took an 
active interest in Colonial or State affairs, they being ever 
loyal to the land of their adoption. The true, undaunted, 
spirit of patriotism thai characterized the life of the late Doc- 
tor Hall was a family heritage. 

In 18J:5, at the age of twenty-one years. Dr. Hall came to 
Harrisville, and began the study of medicine under his 
brother-in-law (Dr.) General Harris: and during the winter 
of 18-18-9, he attended a series of medical lectures at Louis- 
ville, Kentucky; and not long after this, he claimed Miss 
Ellen Sampson, of Athens, Ohio, as his bride. This fortunate 
attachment proved to be the crowning event of his life; for 
Mrs. Hall was a woman of unusual intellectual endowments 
and attainments, and she possessed a strong. Christian char- 
acter, which was ever a power for good. She was one of the 
truly noble types of womanhood. It has been said that one 
of her strongest characteristics was her faithfulness to a prom- 
ise. No matter whether that promise was given to a child or to 
one of riper years, whether it involved something of vital im- 
portance or of utter insignificance, it was kept with the same 
degree of sacredness. Perhaps, in this trait of character lay the 
secret power of her wonderful influence. She was a school- 
teacher in the early days of her young womanhood, and while 
thus engaged at Athens, Ohio, she gave to 'the late Bishop 
(Chaplain) C. C. McCabe his first instruction in the rudi- 
ments of learning, taught him his "A, B, C's." He was then 
a small, timid urchin, .perhaps, scarcely of school years ; his 
mother having brought him to school and entrusted him to 
her care. 

After his marriage, Dr. Hall located at Sistersville, where 
he practiced his profession for several years before the "battle- 
cry" of his country called him into service. When the fury 
of the gathering storm burst forth, he returned to this county, 
and organized a company, which was designated as Compan}^ 
K. of the Tenth West Virginia Regiment Volunteers, and with 
this company, he was mustered into service, on July 4, 1861 ; 
and during the following year, was promoted to the rank of 
Lieut. Colonel of the regiment. 



448 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

He saw service throughout the war, and was in a number 
of hot engagements, being wounded at the battles of Cedar 
creek and Leetown. 

After "the battle had been fought and the victory won." 
he returned to Harrisville. and resumed the practice of medi- 
cine, and rose to distinction as a physician. He was a man of 
unimpeachable character, and of strong convictions. He. at 
one time, represented this county in the State Legislature: 
and was for many years an ardent advocate of the temperance 
movement, he being a leader of the Prohibition party in this 
state, and a Presidential elector during the campaign of 18 — . 

His wife was borne to her final resting-place in the Har- 
risville cemetery near the year 1896 ; and his only son, Samuel, 
was laid by her side a few years later. 

He spent the last two or three years of his life at Parkers- 
burg, at the home of his daughter, Mrs. C. D. Merrick, who, 
with his youngest daughter. Miss A. Grace Hall, is promi- 
nently known among the W. C. T. U. workers of the State. 
Here, on a calm evening in the early spring-time (April, 9, 
1905) his long, useful life came to a close. x\nd on the fol- 
lowing Tuesday, he was borne to Harrisville, and laid at rest. 

Other Early Physicians. — Drs. William Walker. J. M. 
Lathrope, Moses Blackburn, Howard, Lsaiah Bee, William 
McCauley, and W. M. Rymer, were other early physicians, of 
Harrisville. 

Of Dr. A\'alker, we have no history. 

Dr. Lathrope was a cousin of Dr. Hall, and like him was 
a product of the old Bay State, he having come to this county 
some years after Doctor Hall. He practiced his profession at 
West Union before coming to Harrisville, where death 
invaded his home and carried away his companion ; and 
soon after this sad event, perhaps not long after the close of 
the Avar, he went to Dover, Ohio, near Cleveland, where his 
life cam.e to an end, a few years since. 

Dr. Blackburn came from Farmington, Alarion county, in 
the early sixties, and went to Pittsburg, after a few years' 
stay, where he died. His two sons, Jackson and Dewese. still 
resided there the last account. 



PHYSICIANS 449 

Dr. Howard came from Tyler county, and figured during 
the war ; and from here he passed to the other shore. His fam- 
then returned to Tyler county. 

Dr. Bee was a brother of Obadiah Bee, formerly of Spruce 
creek, but now of Belpre, Ohio, and of Azariah, of Berea. He 
was located here before the Civil war, and at the opening of 
hostilities went to other parts ; but has for many years been 
located at A-Iercer Court House, wliere he is still prominently 
identified in the medical profession. He married Mrs. Mary 
Smith Lacy, of Harrisville, while practicing here, and has one 
son. Dr. Isaiah Bee. junior. 

Dr. McCauley was here for peril aps a year about 18G5 or 
'6G. He went to Clarksburg but finally returned here, where 
he died at the home of his daughter, the late Mrs. John S. 
Peirpoint, near 187(3. He was the son of Dr. McCauley, senior, 
of Clarksburg, and the brother of John McCauley tlie first 
school-teacher in' Clay district, who afterwards became Dr. 
John AlcCauley, and practiced medicine at West Union and 
other points. Earle Peirpoint, of Harrisville ; Mrs. Hermione 
Helmick, of Fairmont; and Mrs. Helen Saterfield, of Aliddle- 
ton, are the grandchildren of Dr. William McCauley. 

Dr. William M. Rymer was born in Westmorland coimty. 
Pennsylvania, on h^ebruary 19, 1835 ; and in 1856, he came to 
the "Little Mountain State," and began the practice of medi- 
cine, at Jacksonville, Lewis county; and in 1857, he came to 
Bone creek this county ; and there, the following year, he was 
married to Miss Agnes Law, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. An- 
drew Lav/, pioneer settlers of this section. 

In 18G5, he came to Harrisville where he remained a fa- 
miliar and prominent figure until his sudden death, on Febru- 
ary 27, 1907. 

He was the oldest physician in the county, and one 
among the oldest practioners in the State, at the time of his 
death, he having been identified in this profession for a half 
century. 

When he came to this county he and Dr. Flail were the 
only physicians within its boundary. He sleeps in the Idar- 
risville cemetery ; and his widow still occupies the old home 
at Harrisville. 



/ 



450 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

He was the father of three sons and three daugliters. Two 
of the sons, William A., and Hosea are identified in the medi- 
cal profession, and the late Homer, was a dentist. Mrs. Ella 
(B. F.) Ayres, Mrs. Mary (J. N.) Peirpoint, and Mrs. Anna (J. 
A.) Wells, all of Harrisville, are the daughters. 

The Rymers trace their ancestry back to the Fatherland. 
Dr. AMlliam Rymer, senior, .the great-grandfather of Dr. \\' . 
M., was born at Hanover, Germany near the year 17o() ; and 
distinguished himself by his service to the Government as 
naval physician and surgeon. He died on board his ship 
while in active service, and being held in such high esteem, 
he was not buried beneath the waves, as was the custom at 
that time, but his remains were taken to the home-land ami 
laid away. 

His son, Frederic Rymer, was born in the ancestral home 
at Hanover about ITfiO. He married Miss Susan A/fcGregor, 
and came to America, and settled in the Pennsylvania colori\^ 
in 178(3 ; and there the greater part of his life was spent. He 
was an artist by profession, and he spent his last hours in 
Mahoning county. Ohio, where he and his wife passed on in 
1835. 

His son William (H) was born in AVestmoreland county. 
Pennsylvania, in lTO(i, and there he was married to Miss Eliza- 
beth Nailey ; and they were the parents, of the late Dr. Wil- 
liam ]\I. Rymer, of Harrisville, the subject of this sketch. He 
died at Columbus, Ohio, in 1869. 

Dr. W. E. Talbott has been a leading ph)^sician of Harris- 
ville, for more than a cjuarter of a centur}-. He came here 
from Upshur county in 1881 ; and not long after his arrival. 
Avas married to Aliss Alma ]McKinney, daughter of the laie 
James McKinney, of Harrisville. 

After her death, he claimed Miss Metta Lambert as his 
bride. FTe is a member of the County Board of Health, and 
of the Pension Examining Board. He has no children. 

Dr. A. C. Blair, a native of this town, who is now located 
in Randolph count}-, was identified in the profession here 
for se\'eral years. 

There are now nearly twenty physicians in the count}-. 



©0 tl|p mpmorg 



nf 



lEnnrl^ (^tot^t Sa« 







Enoch G. Day. 



If you would not be forgotten as soon as you are dead, either 
write things worth reading or do things worth writing. 

— Benjamin Franltlin. 



CHAPTER XXXVII 



Newspapers 




HE first newspaper sent out its initial num- 
ber during- the spring of 1856, under the 
name of the "Ritchie Democrat." It was 
edited and published by Enoch G. Day, 
who came from Bath county, Virginia, 
bringing" his press and material wdth him. 
He continued to issue this paper until a few 
months before the breaking out of the Civil war, when he sold 
it to "Deck" Neal, who abandoned it at the opening of hos- 
tilities, and went South and took up his sword in behalf of the 
Confederacy. Mr. Day then again took charge and changed 
the paper to a religious publication, which he called "The 
Advocate ;" and near the close of the year 186;;?, he sold out 
to Daniel F. Shriner, of Ohio, who issued it under the name 
of the "Ritchie Press." 

Mr. Shriner was a member of a company of "Home- 
guards," and, he having just returned from a scout in the 
Southern part of the coimty, had written a graphic account of 
this trip for publication, and had the paper partly out of the 
press — the part containing this article — when General Jones, 
with a company of Confederate Cavalryman, made his appear- 
ance at Harrisville, on the morning of May 7, 1863, and paid a 
visit to the "Press Office." After pieing the forms, scatter- 
ing a few cases of type, and distributing the half-finished sheet 
among themselves, these distinguished visitors took their de- 
parture, leaving Mr. Shriner, and his two employees, Alvin 
McClaskey, and J. J. Sigler, to gather up the fragments, which 
they did, successfully, and the paper resumed publication 
from this same press and t3'pe, and soon appeared again filled 
with strong denunciations of this act of vandalism. 

During the spring of 1864, Mr. Shriner, having failed to 



NEWSPAPERS 453 

pay for this office, it passed into the hands of Miss Nancy 
Stevens, who purchased it of Allen and Catlett, of Bath 
county, Virginia. Mr. Shriner then sold his outfit (an old 
hand press with from one hundred fifty to two hundred 
pounds of second-hand type) to J. J. Sigler, and went to Wes- 
ton, where he edited a paper for a few months, before going to 
Chillicothe, Ohio, where he still survived a few years since. 

"The Ritchie Press" was then published by J. J. Sigler 
and edited by S. P. McCormick for the next two one-half 
years. Then Frank Miller of Steubenville, Ohio, owned it for 
a few months (in 1867), and he was succeeded by the late C. 
F. Scott, of Parke'rsburg, who died in Washington city in 
1906, and John T. Harris, who changed its name to the "West 
Virginia Star." James Murphy then purchased it, condition- 
ally, but Scott and Harris resumed control again after a fev^/ 
months. 

Other owners from 1869 to 1872 were, J. J. Sigler. E. H. 
McDougal, (who put his son T. T. McDougal, now of the 
"Ceredo Advance" in the office to learn the trade), Leo J. 
Theiss, (a band teacher), T. E. Davis, Chas. T. Dawson and 
P. W. Morris. 

In 1872, P. W. Morris, becoming the sole owner and 
])roprietor, changed the name to the "Ritchie Gazette," and 
from that time until the summer of 1901, it was edited and 
published by the Morris family. The late E. H. Collins, of 
Berea, then became the purchaser, and from his hands it 
passed into the possession of a company, and was managed 
by W. R. Heaton. Watt Warren, an old newspaper man of 
Gilmer county, then occupied the editorial chair, until Sep- 
tember 1907, when it returned "to the house of its fathers," 
Robert Morris the present editor, becoming the occupant of 
the chair. Under his management it has now reached its 
maximum circulation, one thousand eight hundred. 

P. W. Morris is a native of New Martinsville, Wetzel 
county, he having been born there on July 24, 1850. He be- 
gan his career as a school-teacher, and in his early manhood, 
came to Harrisville, where he was married to Miss Lydia Pat- 
ton, daughter of William Patton. In 1872, he was admitted to 
the bar; he filled various municipal offices of the town; served 



454 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 



as a member of the Board of Public School Examiners ; as 
County Superintendent, and State Senator. Since leavins^ 
Harrisville he has been the editor of the Parkersburg State 
Journal, and a candidate for Cong-ress. He and his sons are 
now the sole owners of this paper which holds a high rank 
among the leading Republican organs of the state. 

]\Ir. Morris is the father of five daughters and four sons, 
who have all had more or less experience in newspaper work ; 
and the sons, Robert, Will, Ben, and Leland are thus inter- 
ested at the present time. The daughters are : ]\Irs. Hortense 
M. Cooper, Mrs. Beatrice Henry, Mrs. Sue Devol, and Kath- 
rine, and Dorothy, who are still at home. 

Robert and Mrs. Cooper have also been prominently 
identified in educational circles. 

The Ritchie Democrat and Beacon Light. — The late E. S. 
Zeveley founded the "Ritchie Democrat and Beacon Lig^ht," 
at Cairo, in April 1877, and continued its publication until his 
death, in April 1884. 

Mr. Zeveley was at this time the oldest nev.'spaper man 
in West Virginia, he having been identified in this business 

for almost a half-centur^^ He was 
born in Xorth Carolina, in 1818. and 
there he was educated, and entered 
upon his journalistic career, by begin- 
ning the publication of the "Greens- 
boro Beacon," in 1836. 

He was connected with journal- 
ism in difl:'erent states ; viz., Ohio, 
Maryland, Xorth Carolina, and West 
\'ira:inia. 

After his death, the "Ritchie 
Democrat and Beacon Light" 'passed 
into the hands of his son. Van A. Zeveley, who continued it 
at Cairo until 1889, when he moved it to Pennsboro, and. 
dropping the "Ritchie Democrat." issued it under the name of 
the "Beacon Light" until it went out of existence, in 1893. 

He then went to Lincoln county, where he edited the 
"Lincoln News" for six years, until his failing health com- 
pelled him to give up the newspaper work, which had engaged 




E. S. Zeveley. 



NEIVS PAPERS 4.>.j 

his attention for a quarter of a cenrury. He is now located at 
Cairo,, where he has one of the best job printing offices in the 
state. 

The elder Zeveley married Miss Charlotte Hinkle (1820- 
1886), and his other children besides Van A. are the late John 
H. Zeveley, Mrs. Malvina Soyster, ]\Irs. Zabenia Elder (de- 
ceased), and Airs. Mae (H. N.) Sharps, Pennsboro. 

Other Cairo Papers. — In 1895. C. H. Scoville started the 
"Cairo Times," but his office was destroyed by fire a few 
months later, and thus its brief history came to an end. 

"The Cairo Enterprise" is the one publication here now. 
"The Enterprise" was lavmched by Dana R. AIcGlothlin and 
Charles Smoot, two young men of Parkersburg. Mr. Smoot 
severed his connection with this paper in 1905, and it passed 
into the hands of a company, and Mr. McGlothlin was retained 
as editor and manager; but he sought "greener fields" a year 
or so since, and Earnest Prunty became his successor, but 
Robert Morris is now the owner, and Van A. Zeveley is in 
the editorial chair. (1910.) 

Weekly Review Founded.— In 1877, J. J. Sigler and T. T. 
AIcDougal purchased a small printing outfit and opened a job 
office at Harrisville ; and after a few months, Mr. McDougai 
severed his connection with this office, and went to Lincoln 
county, where he set the "Lincoln Clipper" afloat: and Mr. 
Sigler became the owner, and continued in the job printing 
business until the Greenback movement became a political 
feature in this state, a few years later. He then became the 
publisher of a paper called the "Greenbacker," which was 
launched by some of the leaders of this mov-ement, and which 
was edited by R. H. Freer. At the close of the campaign in 
1884, this publication was discontinued, and tlie "W^eekly Re- 
view" came upon the stage, in November of the same year, 
as a Democratic organ, with J. J. Sigler publisher, and Hfin. 
L. G. Bennington, editor. Plon. R. S. Blair and other ])romi- 
nent Democrats being- behind the movement. 

Mr. Bennington only occupied the editorial chair for a 
few months, and he was succeeded by the late B. F. Ayres. 
This paper expounded Democracy for a little more than a 
year, and was on- the eve of being discontinued when,. 



456 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

J. J. Sigler became the editor and proprietor, and changed it 
to a Republican sheet ; and thus it continued to expound the 
"principles of the Grand old Party" until 1S!)9, when it was 
purchased by the late F. M. Moats, and incorporated with the 
"Ritchie Standard" — the Review office becomino: the Standard 
ofifice, and the Review press, the Standard press. 

J. J. Sigler is a native of Evansville, Preston county, he 
having been born in 1847. He is the son of the late J. R. 
Sigler, of Cairo, and the grandson of Israel Stevens,^ v/ho 
came from Pruntytown to Harrisvllle, in 1850, and who served 
as post-master, deputy sherifif, and jailer, during the fifties. 

Mr. Sigler was reared by his grandfather and his late 
aunt, Aliss Nancy Stevens, his mother having bade adieu to 
earth Avhen he was but an infant. So Harrisville has been his 
home from early childhood. 

He married Miss Florence ]\FcDougal and is the father 
of five children: Homer E. Sigler, deputy County clerk, 
Parkersburg; Mrs. P. Z. Musgrave, INIarion county; George 
T., who is book-keeper foi the Cypress Lumber Companv at 
Loughman. Florida ; and Miss Lelia and Byrl. All of the 
children spent most of their school vacation at the case in the 
Review office, with the exception of Mrs. Musgrave. Miss 
Lelia is regarded as one of the most efficient type-setters in 
this part of the state. 

Mr. Sigler now has a job office at Flarrisville. 

The Ritchie Standard. — This paper came into existence 
near the year 1889, when S. S. Stewart founded the "Re- 
veille," which he published for a few years, and which was 
continued b}' his. wife, Mrs. Ella Haymond Stewart, until 
1895, when it passed into the hands of H. B. Woods and AV. 
R. Heaton, who became ecpial purchasers, and who changed 
the name of the paper — sending out the first issue of the 
"Ritchie Standard" on March 15, 1895. 

Mr. A\'oods was the editor, and Mr. Heaton, the manager, 
but during the autumn of 189G. Mr. W'oods sold his interest 
to the late F. M. Moats, who became the sole owner, a little 
later. 



'Mr. Stevens w^s ihe fatne'' of t>-p l^te iM's; Nancy Stevens, Mr?. M 
A. McKinney. and Mrs. Sarah A. M. Heaton. . 



NEHS PAPERS 457 

As before stated, Mr. Moats purchased the "Weekly Re- 
view," in 1899, and incorporated it v/ith the "Standard," and 
continued its publication until his death, in May, 1901. The 
plant was then sold to a company known as the "Standard 
Publishing Company," and was managed and edited by the 
late J. Willis Fiddler, and W. R. Heaton, until October, 190?, 
when it passed into the hands of Lewis Harvey Adams,- a 
native of the "Buckeye state," who had been a resident of 
this county, since his early boyhood, and a prominent teacher, 
before stepping into the editorial chair. In September, 190'V, 
he sold to Robert Morris, the present owner of both Gazette 
and Standard, and went to Parkersburg. 

One interesting feature in connection with the history of 
this paper, is that it was founded by local talent — by a novice 
in the newspaper business ; and, though no other local pub- 
lication in the county has ever attained a higher degree of 
success, or reached its present circulation limit, it has been 
in such hands almost throughout its history. 

Under the present management, the subscription list has 
been increased from thirteen hundred to two thousand, though 
the present editor cannot be styled a novice in this business, 
as he was "born and bred in a newspaper office." 

Pennsboro Papers. — M. K. Duty was the author of the 
first newspaper venture at Pennsboro, some time in the early 
'8()'s. He called his spicy little sheet "The Monitor," and 
after a brief editorial experience, sold out to T. A. Brown, who 
continued it for a time at Pennsboro, and then removed it to 
Elizabeth, AMrt county, in April, 1886, where he issued it 
under the name of the "Elizabeth Times." It later passed into 
the hands of the Gray Brothers, but is now owned by the 
"Messenger Publishing Company," and is knowai as the 
"Elizabeth Messenger." 

M. K. Duty is a Tyler county product. In a hickory 
cabin of unhewn logs, with a puncheon floor, and with but 
one window, and one door, he was bom, on December 8, 185-";. 
Pie is of Irish lineage — the great-grandson of Mark Duty, 
who distinguished himself by being the author of an arith- 
metic, which was used in the schools of his day, and who was 
the father of Elizabeth Dutv, the founder of the Woman'*^ 



408 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Christian Temperance Inn; and of !Mrs. Jennie Duly Spencer, 
wife of the celebrated Piatt R. Spencer, author of the Spen- 
cerian penmanship system. His parental ancestors came from 
Cleveland, Ohio, and his maternal, from Monongalia county, 
to Tyler county, where his parents, Andrew AV. Duty, and 
Hannah Eleanor Jones Du-ty, were both born. 

His father served as first sergeant of Company E. of the 
Fourteenth AA'est Virginia Infantry Volunteers during th.e 
Civil war, being captured and taken prisoner at the battle of 
Cloyd Mountain, on ]\Iay 9, ISfif. He died at his home in 
Tyler county, in 1910, and his wife has long been sleeping 
'mid the scenes of her childhood at Centerville, where she was 
laid at the early age of thirty-three years. 

]\I. K. Duty has been a prominent figure in educational, 
political, and business circles ever since he came to this coun- 
ty, perhaps near thirty years ago. He has been teacher, edi- 
tor, lawyer, County Superintendent, member of the House 
of Delegates, candidate for Congress, and railroad magnate. 
He is President of the Lorama Railroad Company at this time, 
and is busily engaged in the extension of this road to Pullman. 

He married Miss Ollie Howard, daughter of Henry 
Howard, of T3der county, for his first wife, and they were 
the parents of three children, the late Okey, Price, and Jennie. 
His second wife was Miss Lora Crumrine. daughter of the 
late Dr. J. B. Crumrine. 

The Zeveley Paper, whose history has already been 
noticed, was the second publication here. Then came AX'ill 
A. Strickler with the "Lever," which he sold to a man by the 
name of Smith, who changed the name to that of "Pennsboro 
Xevvs." His (Smith's) editorial career here, was a brief one, 
and he was succeeded by the late D. A. Fawcett. of Xorth 
Carolina, who, after a few months" experience, gave his place 
to J. A. Wooddell, the present editor and proprietor, who had 
the misfortune to lose the entire contents of his office by fire 
early in the year 19()(j, but who soon installed a n.ew outfit, 
and resumed his publication after a brief intermission. This 
is the only Democratic paper in the county, but. though much 
in the minority, its editorials hold a high rank among the 
other weekly publications of the state. 



NEWSPAPERS 459 

"The Republican" was another transient Pennsboro paper. 
W. B. Pedigo, the present Mayor of Parkersbnrg, was the 
editor for a time, and later, it passed nito the hands of a com • 
pany of Pennsboro's business men, who continued its publica- 
tion until the spring of 1903, when it went out of existence. 

In July following, the "Republican" outfit was sold to 
Hons. Anthony Smith, R. H. Freer, and Sherman Robinson, 
and removed to Harrisville, where it was pressed into service 
in the publication of a paper styled "The Eagle," which was 
edited by Ad!r. Freer, and published by J. J. Sigler. The clam- 
merous tones of this "glorious bird" attracted much atten- 
tion for a time — its screams being heard far and .wide during 
tlie campaign. But alas ! at its close the lovely thing dropped 
its proud head and died. The late E. H. Collins, of the Ga- 
zette, purchased the outfit in July, 19U4. 



The identity of the first newspaper editor of the county 
is a subject of more than ordinary interest to us, since his 
venture into this unpromising wilderness laid the founda- 
tion for the weekly publications which play such an import- 
arit part in our public affairs of to-day. 

Enoch George Day was born in Anne Arundel county, 
Maryland, on September 5, 1809, and there his youthful days 
were spent. His wife, Miss Julia Anne England, daughter of 
Andrew and Katherine Buckley England, was a native of 
Frederick county, Maryland, and from Bath county, Virginia, 
they came to Harrisville in 1856. He brought his press and 
material with him, and soon after his arrival launched the 
"Ritchie Democrat." He not only figured as newspaper edi- 
tor, but as lawyer and post-master as well. He went from 
here to St. Mary's, perhaps, towards the close of the Civil war, 
and there practiced law for a time before removing to Wheel- 
ing, where he died, on September 12, 1870, at the age of sixty- 
one years, and there in lot No. 371 in Peninsula cemetery, 
he lies at rest. After his death, Mrs. Day went West to live 
with her son, Thomas, and, in Mexico, Missouri, on June 5, 
1884, she fell asleep, at the age of seventy-five years. 

Their family consisted of four sons and one daughter; 



460 HISTORY or RITCHIE COUXTY 

viz., Thomas E., Charles H., Jolin Emery, ^^^ Harry, and 
Mary C. Day. ' 

The sons were all Union soldiers ; all were wounded w hile 
in the service, and all are dead from the effects of these 
wuunds, except Charles H. Harry, who died in Oklahoma, 
in lOOO, was Captain of the "Home-guards." Emor}' was 
wounded at the battle of Bull run, and died nine days later. 
Thomas, who laid down the cross at Mexico, Missouri, in 
1894, was a colonel ; and Charles H., who lost an arm in the 
conflict, was captain. He now resides at Agnewville. \'ir- 
ginia, and is unmarried. 

Mary C. Day, the only daughter (born on November 6, 
1840), was first married to Peter E. Kerns, of Bath county, 
Viro-inia, on November 8, 1859. Mr. Kerns was born o:i 
November '2. 1830, and died on July 18, 186?, from cold con- 
tracted during his service in the Union army; and Alda, the 
one child of this luiion (born on May 7, 1801, and died on 
April 29, 1802), lies by her father in the Harrisville cemetery. 

On January 30, 1868, Mrs. Mary C. Day Iverns became 
the wife of J. B. Mallory, the marriage being solemnized at 
St. Mary's by the Rev. Mr. Belt, of the Methodist Episcopal 
cliurch, and at Wheeling they resided until 1870, when they 
came to Ellenboro, where she feel asleep on October 0, 1894; 
and in the Ellenboro cemetery she lies buried. But Mr. ]\[al- 
lory still survives at the age of eighty years ; he having been 
born at Geneva, Pennsylvania, on August 15, 1830 ; and with 
his uncle, the late Dr. M. M. Campbell, of Parkersburg, came 
to Fairmont, this state, at the age of seventeen years. Pie 
was a soldier of the Union army, and lost one eye in the 
service. He is a boot-maker by trade, and has had consider- 
able experience as clerk in the stores at Ellenboro, and Avas 
at one time assistant collector of Internal Revenue for his 
brother-in-law, the late General A. S. Core. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mallory were the parents of six children; 
viz., Henry K. (1869-71), Henrietta (born and died in 18:4). 
Harry K. (1875-1900), Wheeling; Joseph M., W^ilsonburg; 
Edward, of the Jaricaki Manufacturing Company, Ellenboro, 
and Mary Day, the eldest daughter, who is now Airs. Perr}- 
Slrickler, of Ellenboro. She and her brother being the only 
descendants of Enoch G. Dav that remain in this countA-. 



XEll SPAPERS 461 

The Days must have crossed the sea early in the 
eighteenth century, though this fact has not been positively 
established ; but they first settled in Anne Arundle county, 
Maryland, and from there scattered to different parts of the 
Union, the name being a prominent one in v*arious sections of 
the country to-day. But our definite information begins with 
Thomas and Hannah Day, the grandparents of Enoch G. Day, 
wlio resided in Maryland as early as 1784, when their son, 
Thomas Day, junior, was born. 

Thomas Day, junior, this son, was married to Miss 
Eleanor Thompson, who was born in 1786, and they were the 
parents of Enoch G. Day, and of the following named other 
children: Anne (born on November 10, 1810), John (born 
March 11, 1812). Gideon H. (May 3 8, 1815), and Francis 
Asbury (June 1, 1818). Francis A. and Gideon were minis- 
ters of the Methodist Protestant church, and the latter resided 
at Baltimore. John was also of Maryland. But Francis 
Asbury was an early minister of the Harrisville community. 
and he finally removed to Philadelphia, where he fell dead on 
the street, while making pastoral calls, on April IT, 1890. He 
had one daughter, Emma, and perhaps other children. 

John Day. — Another branch of thib famih^ Avhich has been 
kn.own in the county since the ante-bellum days, is that of 
John Day, who, though no positive proof has been established. 
Avas almost without doubt the brother of Thomas Day, senior 
— the grandfather of Enoch ^G. Day. 

John Day, whose history begins in Anne Arundel coun- 
ty, Maryland, was the father of two sons, Thomas and Ed- 
ward, and two daughters, whose names are missing. 

Thomas Day, the one son, whose history is of interest 
to us, was born near Baltimore, in 1800, and there he was mar- 
ried, in 1823. to Miss Sarah Ann Barnes, who Avas also a 
native of that city; and in February, 1832, they migrated to 
Ohio and settled near Barnesville, in Carroll county, where 
they remained until they passed to the other side. 

They- were the parents of eight children ; \iz., Joshua 
(1823-1902), Illinois; Francis (1821-1880), Adam Thomas 
(1827—), Edward (—1876), John (who died on April 8, 1864. 
while serving as a Union soldier), Elizabeth (died in 1893 



462 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

uninarried). Mary (who became Airs. Kerns, died on October 
28, 1890), and Joseph, who is unmarried, makes his home with 
his nephew, J. E. Day, of near Auburn. 

Francis Day was the one son wdiose family are known 
in ihis county. Jle was born in Baltimore county, Maryland, 
on October 27, 1824, and with his parents removed to Ohio, 
when he was but a child of seven summers: there, he q^rew 
to manhood, and married Miss Eliza Meredith, eldest daughter 
of the late William Meredith, of White Oak, on April 13. 
1852, and seven years later (1858), removed to Harrisville, 
where he engaged in the mercantile business for about t^.vo 
years. But when the Civil war cloud threatened to burst forth 
in storm, he returned, with his family, to Lebanon. Ohio, and 
enlisted in the L'nion service for three years, and thus svis- 
tained disabilities which finally caused his death. At the close 
of the war he removed his family back to this county, and 
resided on White Oak until 1874, when he went to Kansas, 
going on from there to Alma, Marion county, Illinois, six 
months later, where he died on July 22. 1880. And there, in 
the Alma cemetery, by the side of his wife, who died on April 
25, 1883, he lies at rest. Mrs. Day was born in Marion county, 
West Virginia, on July 14, 1837. 

Their five children were as follows: John William, who. 
with his brother, James Edward Day. resides near Auburn, 
on the Doddridge county side: Thomas Lincoln, Jasper G., 
and Sarah T., who first married William Howton, of this 
county, later John Wheeler, of Illinois, and who is now ]\Irs. 
James Baldridge, are all of Illinois. 

On October 2, 1880, James Edward Day was married in 
Miss Lou Stinespring, daughter of John Stinespring, of 
Doddridge county, and their only child is Miss Ella Day.' 



^If no otlipr evidence was at hand the strong similarity of the names 

in these families would be sufficient to establisli the connection, but 

Franei.s Day often told his friends that he va? distantly related to Enoch 
G. Day. 



CHAPTER XXXVIII 




Harrisville 

ARRISVILLE is the oldest and most beauti- 
ful town in the county. It was laid out' in 
the wilderness, in 1832, on land 'belonging- 
to Tliomas Harris, in view of having it made 
the seat for a new county. 

The plat was made by John McKinney. 
and was recorded in the clerk's office at 
Parkersburg. Although lots were sold at this early date, but 
one was improved before 18;37. On this lot. Stephen Stuart 
erected the first house, which was a frame dwelling ; and his 
father, Joseph Stuart — a pioneer before mentioned, lost his life 
here by the falling of a lumber-kiln, before the liuilding was 
completed. And in this building, rhe first store in the county 
was opened by Matthias Cline, perhaps, as early as 1825 ; 
who. in 1827, sold to William McKinney, who was succeeded 
by John Nicklin, son of the late Dr. Nicklin, of Middlebourne. 
On this same lot, near 1813, Mr. McKinney erected the old 
"Lincoln House," which served as a public hostelry until 1888. 
when it was destroyed by fire. The site is now owned by the 
Ritchie County Rank, and is marked by the handsome resi- 
dence of E. M. Carver, the founder and cashier of Ritchie 
county's oldest bank. 

At the same time that Mr. Nicklin (1810) came into pos- 
session of the McKinney store, O. and Granville I^erkley, tv^Ao 
brothers, built a store-house on the lot that is now the prop- 
erty of J. M. Hall ; and both Mr. Nicklin. and Granville Berk- 
lev built residences. Harrisville was now a village of four 
houses. 

In 1812, Daniel Rexroad built the first hotel, which stood 
but a few feet back of the present dwelling of T. F. Leach — 
a portion of which is still standing. 

Mr. Rexroad was the son of Henry, and a first cousin of 



464 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 

Noah Rexroad. He married a Miss Wells, and went from 
here to Chicago, \vhere he died a few years since, and where 
his sons. Isaiah and Har^^ey, still lived, at the last account. 

The "Watson House" was built in 1843, by John [Maulsby, 
who died here of typhoid fever, the following year; and Plenry 
J. Fisher, of Point Pleasant, then purchased the property, and 
placed Phillip Cox, father of D. \\\ Cox, in charge. The next 
tenant was John Smith, of Virginia, who opened what was, 
perhaps, the first and last saloon in the county, in connection 
with this hotel. He went to Parkersburg, where he fell asleep, 
and where one of his sisters still survives. 

On March "28, 1807, ]\Ir. Fisher sold this property to 
Enoch G. Day, who, shortly after, sold to Jeremiah Xay ; and 
on April 8, 18GT, ]\Ir. Xay transferred it to Airs. Eveline Wat- 
son, who continued as owner until a few years since, when it 
passed into the hands of the First National Bank. The old 
building was then replaced by a handsome brick, and the 
name was changed to that of "National hotel." But its race 
was brief, a destructive fire having laid it in ruins early in 
the year 1906, while C. S. Corbin was the proprietor. A large 
three-story building of handsome architecture, which contains 
the post-office, the First National Bank, private offices, etc., 
now marks the site. 

White Hall Hotel. — Near the year 1846, Robert Porter, 
came from New York, and built the old "White Flail" hotel, 
and opened a store in the same building. But, he, becoming 
involved in debt, lost the property, and went to Missouri, 
where he died a little later; and W. M. Patton, became the 
owner, in 1850. 

Mr. Patton employed ^Morgan Blackshire to run the hotel, 
and in the meantime, he became the Sheriff of the county: but 
he, too, becoming involved in debt, lost the property, and his 
father, \A'illiam Patton, senior, then became the owner, in 
1859; and the "'White Hall" hotel has ever since been in the 
hands of the Patton familv. At the death of the elder Patton, 
in 1879, his son, the late A. T-. took control ; and in the earlv 
nineties, he sold to his brother, the late B. F. Patton; and not 
long after this transaction, the old building was destroyed by 
fire, but Avas rebuilt by the owner in 1893. 



HARRISVILLE 



465 



This now the largest hotel in the county, being three 
stories in height and numbering thirty-five rooms. It is 
practically the only hotel in town (there being- a number of 
boarding-houses), and it is under the efficient management ot 
Mrs. B. F. Patton, and her son, Frank. 




aMWiff^mw^^'iMMffWr-- 



White Hall Hotel 



As early as 1843, Spencer T. Bukey,^ of Williamstown, 
built a residence and storehouse combined on the corner of 
Alain and Court streets, on the lot that is now adorned by the 
palatial brick residence of W. W. Lawrence. 

In 1850, Harrison B. Cunningham, son-in-law of the late 
Rev. James Hardman, erected a building on the corner of 
Main and Spring streets, and opened a general store ; but he, 
failing in business, was succeeded by Hopkins Burlingham, 
who continued to sell goods here until his death, on July 10, 
1852. A gentleman by the name of Dunlap, and perhaps, a 
few others then held this business in hand until 1859, when 
the late W. FI. Peirpoint came forward with a small stock ot 
groceries and confectionery, to which he added a general line 
of dry goods, a little later. And, with the exception of a year 
or so, he continued to serve his customers at this stand until 
1!)04, when he sold to ITarley and Carlie Aloats, retaining his 
queensware department, which he rebuilt and enlarged, and 
sold to his brother, J. N. Peirpoint, shortly before his death, 
in 190G. 

Among the many others who have been identified in the 
mercantile business in this town, we find the names of \\'illiam 



*The writer has in lier posse.ssion a statement of a bill of merchan- 
dise, hearing the date of 1S43, which was purchased by her late paternal 
grandfather of Mr. Bukey while in business here. 



466 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

McKinney, Burlingham and Rexroad (Daniel), Holt and 
Douglass, James AIcKinney and Xoah Rexroad, Daniel 
Boughner & Co.. John Hall & Son, J. Al. Hall. Amos Gulp, 
Samuel Kuykendall J. M. Davis, A. j. & A. D. Patton, T. T. 
Flinn, J. K. P. W'ooddell. C. C. Davis, J. F. Munsey, C. \\'. 
Winters, P. G. Brake, AI. J. Grummett, J. H. Haddox, and 
doubtless many others. 

The present ones are W. W. Lawrence, Fisher and Stump, 
Andrew Moats and sons, Harley and Garlie, A. F. Wilcox &. 
Co., and E. J. Taylor. 

The First Tannery in the county was established here as 
early as 182?. by Thomas Chancellor, but in 1S;39, it passed 
into the hands of Zackquill M. Peirpoint, who continued to 
hold this business in-tact until his death in 188"? : and shortly 
after this, it went out of existence, having .been in continuous 
operation for sixty years. The D. B. Latimer flouring mill. 
which was erected by the Hardman Brothers — Fremont and 
Sheridan — in the early nineties, now marks the site of this 
old tanner}'. 

Saddlery and Harness Business. — Joseph J. \^andivort, of 
Fairmont, brother of Mrs. Zackquill ]M. Peirpoint. and Thomas 
Reitz & Son launclied the saddler and harness business here, 
which has principally been held in-tact by G. S. ^Martin and 
John B. Ayres for the past forty years. Mr. Ayres sold out 
his business in 1903, and went West, then East; but now 
rests in Oklahoma. G. G. McKinley succeeded him, and then 
came H. B. Curry, of Troy, for a brief time, but he sold his 
stock to G. S. Martin, who now holds full sway. 

C. S, Martin and his wife, Mrs. Matilda Sturms Martin, 
came from Marion county, and are the parents of two daugh- 
ters, Mrs. Cocoa D. Ailor, wife of Dr. C. W. Ailor, of Alur- 
phytown, and Delia, ^vho is now ^yfrs. Lester Snodgrass. 

Thomas Reitz and his wife, nee Marshall, came heie from 
Pennsylvania. He went to Pittsburg and finally to Kansas, 
where he died at the home of his son, the late Captain J. T\L 
Reitz. 

Besides the son above mentioned, he was the father of 
the late L. G. Reitz, of Ellenboro ; Baltzer, of Florida ; the 
late Mrs. Henrietta (W. H.) Peirpoint, of Harrisvillc, ]\lrs. 



H ARRIS VI LLE • 467 

Mary McGee, and Mrs. Virginia (John) Blackburn, Pittsburg. 

The Post-office was established in 1830, under the name 
of "Solus," with William McKinney, junior, as post-masver. 
The names of the other early post-n-^asters are Avanting". but 
the following" named gentleman have served in this capacity 
since 1S63 : Enoch G. Day, James M. Davis, C. S. Martin, 
the late T. E. Davis, J. J. Sigler, J. M. Hali. J. B. Ayres. J. M. 
Barbe, the late IT. B. McKinley, H. C. Showalter, and the 
present incumbent, R EI. Ereer— a munber of these gentlemen 
have served several terms, or more than one, at least. 

The Pioneer M, E. Church was erected near 1843, on the 
farm of the late Noah Rexroad, it having stood across the 
run just opposite the present R. E. L. Erymire residence. But 
the site was changed to the present one, near 1855 ; and a 
small parsonage was erected on this same lot at that time ; 
but during the following winter, it was reduced to ashes, and 
the new church narroAvly escaped a like fate — a timely snov/ 
having aided materially in saving it. This old church was 
replaced by a new and much larger frame structure, in 1877, 
but this building was destroyed by fire in 1888, when the 
Moats corner an.d the old "Lincoln House" went up in smoke. 
The fire having caught in the lattice work of the cupola, near 
sixty feet from the ground. A splendid brick structure nov: 
marks the site. 

The First Baptist Church stood on the lot now owned by 
John Hulderman, and Mr. Davisson. The present church, 
which was built in 1891, is on Main street, west of Court 
street. The Rev. George A. Woofter was the first regular 
pastor of the new church. 

The M. P. Church was built in 1858, and was remodeled 
in 1894. It also stands on Main sireet, opposite the school 
building.' 

The Court House came in 1844, and this old time build- 
ing served until 1874, when the present brick took its place. 

Not far from the time of the erection of the old court 
house, the first jail came into existence with Alexander Glover 
as contractor and builder. This antique structure was made 
of logs one foot scpiare, laid compactly together, with a twen- 



'For farther hi.story of these churches see chapter on Churches. 



468 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 




The Coui-t House with the annex. 



ty-penny nail driven in every square inch. In ISGD, this old 
prison with "its walls so dark antl gloomy," gave place to the 
present two-story brick building-. 

The greater part of these old landmarks have gone "the 
way of all the world" — ha^'e returned to their native dust. 

The School. — Harrisville. like all the otlier towns, had 
its old time school ; and one of the early buildings used for 
this purpose, stood on the site now marked by the former P. 
W. Morris residence. But the first public-school building, 
which consisted of two rooms, came in 18()4 — the school being 
opened this same year with S. P. AlcCormick, of Monongalia 
county, as principal. It remained a district school with a 
term of four months until 1ST"?, when the length of time was 
extended; but since 18S3, v.dien the Harrisville Independeni 
District was formed, its term has been eight months. 

In 1878, the two-roomed frame building was replacetl by 
a four-roomed brick ; and in 1904, this building was remod- 
eled and enlarged, by the addition of two rooms and an audi- 
torium, which is a large, well-lighted and ventilated hall, 
seated with opera chairs. 

The High School was established in 1894, under tlie di- 
rection of W. W. Tapp. and its graduates now number sixty- 
four (1909). The present enrollment is more than two 



HARRIS]/ 1 LLE 



469 





The Jail. 



hundred sixt}', with fifty-seven of the number in the High 
School grade. 

The present school course covers a period of t^vel\^i }-ears, 
including the High School curriculum of four years, vvdiicii 
embraces Greek, Roman and English history, Latin, Algebra. 
Geometry, American and English Literature, Music, Physical 
geography, and Physics, etc., the fourth year being added in 
1910. 

The school library numbers six hundred volumes ; and 
the grounds have, witiun the past year, been beautified by 
a cement walk that surrounds the l:)uiidirg. 

The following named gentlemen have occupied the posi- 
tion of ])rincipal here since 1880: (jeorgeK^. Scott, George 
W. Lowther, M. A. Hayes, J. H. Lininger. M. H. Willis. J. S. 
Cornwell, LI. B. Woods, W. \V. Tapp, J. L. Marsh, Rober". 
Morris, B. H. Hall, H. E. Cooper, Elbert Jones, and J. H. 
Hickman. 

Two new teachers have been added to the faculty (this 
year, 1910), which is now as follows: J. PI. Hickman, prin- 
cipal; M. M. Powell, assistant; Miss Jessie Tresham. High 
School and eighth grade teacher; and Misses Jessie Llart- 



470 



HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTY 



mann, ^lae ]\Ioyer, Ada Wilson, Xelle Fowler, Daisy Smith, 
and Eva Hall, the latter teacher of music. 

1. W. Woods was an early artist here and A\'. S. Sher- 
wood is the present one. 

3klrs. I. W. Woods has been identified in the milliner 
business since 1876; and while there has been not a few other 
ladies engaged ni this trade, from time to time, her connection 
has been by far the longest. 

Airs. Eli Heaton, ?\Irs. Alaggie Moats Robinson. Mrs. 
Samantha Alartin Holland, the late "Mrs. Jennie Tarlton, and 
Misses Dora Reitz and Anna Leggeti. and Mrs. J. W. Fiddler 
are among others who have been engaged in this business. 

The Town Incorporated. — Harrisville was incorporated 
as a town, on February 2(\ 1869 — a corporation had existed 
before but for some (imknovvn) reason, had been abolished. 
Smith C. Plall was the first mayor, lie having been chosen at 
the first municipal election in 18*0. Since that time the fol- 
lowing named gentlemen have ser\'ed in this capacity, and 
some of them, for a number of years : 

John Hall, Dr. W. AI. Rymer, John B. Ayres (served 
fourteen years j. Gen. T. M. Harris, D. F. Haymond (who 
died during his term of office and the unexpired term was 
finished by the recorder, J. J. Sigler"). C. K. Peirpoint. John 
Flesher, Thomas Hess, H. C. Showalter, Dr. W. E. Talbott, 




Harrisville looking from the cemetery suiilh ul luwii. 



HARRISVILLE 471 

J. \\'illis Fiddler. Sherman Robinson, Homer Adams, W. W. 
Lawrence. P. R. Tharpe, Romeo H. Freer, and Anthony 
Smith, the present incumbent. 

The Harrisville of To-day. — But let us turn from the 
town of the past, and take a panorama of the Harrisville of 
to-day, which is noAV a most beautiful tow^n of eight hundred 
inhabitants. It is not only first among the towns of the coun- 
ty in point of beauty and location ; l)ut it holds a high rank 
among the attractive towns of the state. With its good 
streets, and sidewalks, its cool, shady lanes, its substantial 
public buildings, and its handsome residences, it presents a 
pleasing appearance, indeed, to "the stranger within its gates." 

Being the seat of the local government, it is the one town 
in the county around which the general public interest cen- 
ters. 

It now has its OA\'n gas plant from which the town is 
heated and lighted, and is in the midst of an oil territory which 
is under development. Water works have been agitated for 
some length of time. 

As above stated, it has been an independent school-dis- 
trict since 1883, and has a large six-roomed brick building 
with an auditorium, and a school population of three hundrerl. 

The spires of three churches, with a combined member- 
ship of near four hundred fifty, lift their heads far above the 
town — pointing heavenward. The Rev. G. B. Stuart is the 
pastor in charge of the Methodist Protestant church ; the Rev. 
M. R. Eastlack. of the Methodist Episcopal ; and the Rev. 
Jonathan \\'ood, of the Baptist church. 

The Presbyterians, having no clnirch building, worship 
in the ]\I. E. church. Their pastor is the Rev. C. AV. Comin, 
of Petroleum. 

The different denominations have their young peoples 
societies: The Christian Endeavor, the Epworth League, and 
the Baptist Young Peoples' Union. 

The Woman's Christian Temperance Union has an organ- 
ization, with branch organizations of the "Y's" and the "Loyal 
Temperance Legion." 

Four secret orders flourish : the I. O. O. V., the Daugh- 



472 



HISTORY Of RITCHIE COUNTY 



ters of Rebecca, the ]\Iodern Woodmen of America, and the 
Masonic order. 

More than a dozen lawyers claim their residence here, be- 
sides the many who come and go. Among them are the Hon. 
H. B. Woods, the jndge of the Circuit court, R. H. Freer, 
Sherman Robinson, Homer Adams, S. A. Pow^ell, S. M. Hoff. 
R. S. Blair, Anthony Smith, C. H. Harrison, T. J. Davis, and 
Victor Cooper. 

Dr. W. E. Talb(!tt, Hosca Rymer, and Dr. J, ]\I. Goff are 
its ph3'sicians ; and Drs. S. H. Zickafoose, and H. A. Jarrett, 
its dentists. 

George M. Cokeley and Son are the undertakers; and J. 
L. Frey, Grimes and Coffield, the liverymen. Airs. J. W. Fid- 
dler and Mrs. I. W . Woods, rhe milliners, D. B. Lattimer. the 
miller. 

There are at present si.x general stores, two clothing 
houses, two furniture stores, one hardware establishment, one 
tinware, one grocery, one jewelry and queensware store, one 
drugstore, one feed store, two meat, two barber, and one har- 
ness shop, one flouring mill, two milliner stores, one opera 
house, two newspapers, and three banks. 

The Ritchie County Bank, as before mentioned, founded 
by E. M. Carver, who is cashier, with L. R. Snodgrass assist- 
ant, is the oldest bank in the county. The Peoples Bank, with 
J. H. Lininger, cashier, and J. M. Barbe. assistant, is second 
in age. The First National came in 1903. J. Blaine A\'estfall, 
son of W. H. Westfall, is the cashier. He enjoys the dis- 



P. & H. Train on the Trestle. 



HARRISVILLE 473 

tinction of being- the youngest bank cashier in the state, he 
having just passed Iiis twenty-first bii'thdav when he accepted 
this position. 

The train on the Pennsboro and Harrisville railroad made 
its first trip to tliis town on Thanksgiving day, 1875. It is 
ni)w known" as the "Lorama." A broad-gauge road is under 
construction to CornwalHs, wliich promises many new ad- 
\ antages to the town. 



CHAPTER XXXIX 



Prominent Harrisville Families 




:OAH REXROAD.— The name of Noah Rex- 
road was closely allied with the affairs of 
this town for more than fifty years. From 
1840. when he came from his native county 
— Pendleton — \v\\.h his wife, ^Irs. Matilda 
Alullenax Rexroad, until 1891, when he was 
borne to the Harrisville cemetery, at the 
ripe old age of seventy-seven years, he was a conspicuous 
figure, in public affairs. He was prominently identified in 
various walks of life, being farmer, merchant, sheriff (Tor two 
terms), member of the House of Delegates, and a corner-stone, 
and pillar in the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Mrs. Rexroad followed him to the grave in 189'?, and 
their only child is Mrs. E. C. Fox, of Harrisville. 

Mr. Fox, too, has long been prominent here, he having 
come from Greene county, Pennsylvania, where he Avas born 
(in 1835), in the year 1859, when he became identified with 
the firm of McKinney, Rexroad and Company. He is the 
father of but one child, L. R. Fox, of this town. 

The Rexroads are of German lineage. The time of their 
coming to the Western world is unknown, but seven or eight 
generations of the family, at least, have laid claim to this soil. 

Zachariah Rexroad, junior (son of Zachariah, senior), and 
his wife, Mrs. Sarah Hoft'man Rexroad, were both natives of 
Pendleton county ; and here they resided until 1845, when 
they came to this counLy, with their family, and settled on the 
McNeill homestead, near Smithville. Here, on October 11, 
187G, Mrs. Rexroad passed from earth ; and on June 25, 18T7, 
Mr. Rexroad died at the iiome of his daughter. ]\Irs. J. W. 
Osbourne, at Hardman chapel. Both rest on the James Mo3-er 
farm, on Den run. 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 47:, 

They were the parents of eleven children : Noah, above 
mentioned, who came to the county five years before his 
parents, was the eldest son. Mary, the eldest daughter, mar- 
ried Harmon Rexroad, and remained in Pendleton county. 
The other members of the family were; viz., Addison, Henry, 
Jehu, Zebulon (father of Dr. C. W. Rexroad), Lewis (father 
of J. C. and George), who fell at Beverly in July, 1863, v/hile 
defending the old Hag; Morgan, who fell in battle at Lynch- 
burg, in June, '64; and Jeremiah, wh.o died in childhood; Abi- 
gail, who married James Moyer, of Den run ; and Sarah Mar- 
garet, who is the widow of the late J. W. Osbourne, of Hard- 
man chapel, and the only survivor of the family, all belonged 
to this county. 

Henry Rexroad, brother of Zachariah, junior, was also an 
early citizen of this communify, he having come from Pendle- 
ton county some time in the thirties, and remained until his 
death. 

His sons were Daniel, Ephrain.i, Solomon, and Henry, 
junior, who all went West. The dsnghters were, Elizabeth, 
who became Mrs. Jacob Sinnett, Lucinda, who married her 
cousin Henry Rexroad, and Mary, the first wife of George 
Siimett. 

The Halls.— The family of the late John Hall have been 
identified with the business interests of this town since in the 
early fifties, when he with his wife, Mrs. Frances Patterson 
Hall, came from Greensboro, Pennsylvania, and entered the 
mercantile business, which has been held in-tact by his son, 
J. M. Hall, since his death, on September 27. 1S77, at the age 
of sixty-seven years. Mrs. Hall lost her life on March 12, 
1896, wdien the family residence was destroyed by fire. 

They were the parents of five children: Harriett Ann 
died in 1875, and the rest are as follows: J. M., aiid Miss 
Frances Flail, of Flarrisville ; Edward, of Parkersburg: and 
:\Irs. Ella (I^. G.) Bennington, of Fairmont. Owing to the 
loss of the records when the residence was burned, this sketch 
is veiv brief; but this family of Halls came from Delaware, 
and with but little doubt belonged to the same family as 
Syelus Hall, of Pullman. Though the connecting link is 
missing. 



476 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

The Peirpoints. — Few names have had a longer connec- 
tion witli the history ot this town than that of Peirpoint. 
This connection having begun in 184'3, when Zackquill ]\I. 
Peirpoint came from Alarion county, and launched the tan- 
nery business. He was born at Fairmont, on September 30, 
ISll, and there he was married to Tvliss Martha Yandervort, 
in 1835; and seven years later, the}- came to Harrisville, 
where he played an important part in the early historv of the 
town, and in tlie building of the ^Methodist Protestant church. 
He died on April 7, 1882, but I\Irs. Peirpoint survived him by 
several years. Both repose in the Flarrisville cemetevv. 

They were the parents of eleven children: viz., A\'. H., 
the eldest son, whose long business connection with the town 
has already been mentioned, died in 1906, leaving no issue. 
He Avas first married in 1858, to Miss Henrietta Reitz, who 
died in 187; ; and in 1879, he married Miss Pauline M. Hamil- 
ton, of Fairmont, who died in June, 1901; and his widow was 
Mrs. Juliette Swisher Cookman. 

The second son, Rufus E. Peirpoint, was drowned in a 
tanvat, at Fairmont, when he was but two years of age. 

Francis P.,- and A'irginia died in their young man and 
womanhood. 

pjelle, was the first wife of the late Benjamin ^^loats, of 
Harrisville, and the mother of Attorney F. P. ]Moats of Park- 
ersburg. 

Louise was the late Airs. D. S. Bush, of Harrisville. 

Hattie is the wife of the Rev. E. J. Wilson, of the ]\F P. 
church ; and John S., J. X., and Charles K. Peirpoint are still 
identified with the business interests of the town. 

The Name "Peirpoint" originated in Xormand}' in the 
South of France in the tenth century, and is lineally con- 
nected with William the Conqueror. They emigrated from 
England to America in early Colonial days, and settled in the 
Eastern or ^Middle states: and near the year 1800, Francis H. 
Peirpoint and his wife Kathrine, crossed the mountains from 
the East- and settled at Fairmont (formerh- called [Middle- 



^See Younarer Men's Calendar for history of Francis P. Peirpoint. 

=The History of Marion County says that .John Pen-pomt, father of 
Francis H., senior, settled near IMorgantown about the close of the Amer- 
ican Revolution. 



PROMIXEXT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 477 

town), where he sank a tanyard and launched the tannery 
business. He was twice marrie^h his first wife being Miss 
Harriet Weaver, sister of Joseph Weaver, an earlv pioneer of 
Chevauxdefrise ; and his second, Miss Isabel Stuart, of Mor- 
gan town. 

Five sons were the fruits of his first i>nion ; viz., Joseph, 
Zackquill AI.. the late Go\'ernor, Francis H., junior, Larkin 
and Newton. 

Joseph Peirpoint married ]\Iiss Lurena Barnes, and spent 
his life at Fairmont, wliere his death occurred in the early 
fifties, though he had a brief business connection with his 
brother here. His two sons, Joseph W\, and Harry, served 
as soldiers in the Union army, in the Twelfth West A'irginia 
Volunteers, but Joseph died of fever during his • service. 
Harry rose to the rank of Captain, an.d after his returri home 
from the field, spent some time here with his uncle, Uz 
Barnes, and. at one time, owned the tract of land, on which 
the greater part of the West end of Harrisville now stands. 
He died at Fairmont near the year 1890. 

Zackquill M. Peirpoint and his family have already been 
mentioned. 

Newton Peirpoint went to Illinois, and later to California, 
where he died, near 1885. He was the father of five children, 
but one alone survives. 

Larkin Peirpoint came to this county, some years after 
his brother, and started a branch tannery on Straight fork of 
Slab creek, which was abandoned at the opening of the Civil 
war, \vhen he recruited Company E. of the Sixth West \^ir- 
ginia Infantry Volunteers, and entered the service as captain 
of the company. He later became major, and was mustered 
out as Lieutenant-Colonel. 

He was twice married; his first wife, who was the 
mother of all of his children, being Miss Elizabeth Jones, of 
Fairmont ; and his second, INliss Sarah M. Coffrey, of W^is- 
consin. He died in 1894, both wives having preceded him to 
the grave. 

His children were eight in nun.iber and were as follows: 

Edward, Zackquill. and George Peirpoint, Mrs. Julia 
Crooks. Mrs. Kathrine Zinn. ]\Irs. Ella Wass, and R'^se and 



478 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Olive, who married in the West where all the family reside, 
except Mrs. Zinn, who is of Harrisville. 

Francis Harrison Peirpoint, the third son of the family, 
w-as of a literary turn of mind, and was the one member oi 
the household that reached a college education. He was 
born at Fairmont, 'on January 25, 1814, and began his public 
career as a school-teacher. He was graduated from the Alle- 
gheny college at Meadville, Pennsylvania, with high honors, 
and, subsequently, made quite a record at the bar. x\t the 
breaking out of the Civil war when Virginia seceded from the 
Union, he took an active part in the calling of the Wheeling 
convention, whose purpose was to show loyalty to the Gov- 
ernment ; and. on July 20, 1861, when this convention had 
completed the re-organization of (the loyal counties') \^ir- 
ginia, he was elected as Provisional (or War) Governor v/ith 
his seat of Government at Wheeling; and so important was 
his service in the formation of the new State that he has been 
styled the "Father of West Virginia." After the "Little 
Mountain State" had been admitted into the Union, and 
Arthur I. Eoreman had been installed as Governor. Air. Peir- 
point again took his seat in the Gubernatorial chair of the 
"Old Dominion," he being inaugurated on January 1, 1864 
and continued in office until 1868. Just before the admission 
of the new state, his seat of government was transferred from 
Wheeling to Alexandria, and at the close of the war, was re- 
moved back to Richmond. 

Governor Peirpoint served as a member of the Legis- 
lature of West Virginia in 1868, and was Collector of Internal 
revenue under President Garfield. 

He died at Pittsburg at the home of his daughter, on 
March 24, 1899, and was taken back to his native town. Fair- 
mont, for burial. 

He and his wife. ]\Irs. Julia Roberts Peirpoint. were the 
parents of four children. One daughter died in early life, and 
the other one is Mrs. Nannie Siveter, of Pittsburg. His sons. 
Samuel R.. and William Peirpoint are also of Pittsburg, and 
the latter is an agent for the Methodist Protestant Book Con- 
cern of that city. 

On Ai^ril Hn. 1910, a statue of the late Governor Peirpoint. 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 479 

which had long- stood in Statuary Hall at Washington city, 
was unveiled with impressive ceremonies. His grand-daugh- 
ter, ]\liss Frances Peirpoint Siveter pulled the cord that un- 
veiled the statue and read a poem that had been penned for 
the occasion, and cjuite a number of distinguished West Vir- 
ginians had part in the exercises, among them being Senator 
N. B. Scott, who said : 

"Governor Peirpoint was a large-hearted, true man, and 
a just one. His love of country v.^as of the intense order, 
and to the support of his views he brought a fine logic which 
but few could combat. He was possessed of a wonderfully 
retentive memory, and was splerididly equipped legally. 
There is, perhaps, no one Vv^ithin the confines of the state 
which Governor Peirpoint helped to create, that does not 
acknowledge the versatility and clear-headed legal acumen he 
manifested in the presence of the serious problems that he so 
successfully solved as a leader in the troublesome times, just 
before and during the Civil war. 

"History may do but scant justice to this man; his fame 
may be perpetuated by the marble statue that has been un- 
veiled to-day, but there is a monument which bears his name 
indelibly, and one which is found in the hearts of his country- 
men. There Francis H. Peirpoint will live while the life- 
blood iiows." 

Only one other West Virginian shares the honor of a 
place in Statuary Hall at W^ashington city with Governor 
Peirpoint, and that is the late Senator John E. Kenna. 

The Woodses too. have long been identified here. James 
Woods, senior, came from Wales and settled in the 
Keystone state, where his son, the Rev. James W^oods was 
born in 1797. This son, (the Rev. James), married Miss 
Eliza Axtel. daughter of Phillip Axtel, in 1820, the marriage 
taking place at Pittsburg ; and in 184fi, he came to this county, 
and settled on. the Wells homestead, at the mouth of Bun- 
nell's run, where he remained until 18G8. when he removed to 
Missouri where his labors came to an end. 

He was an early minister of the Baptist church, and the 
first Superintendent of Free schools of this county, he hav- 
mg been appointed for a brief time. He was an ardent advo- 



4S0 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

cate of the Union cause, and was pronounced in his views on 
the slavery question. He was the first pastor of the Clarks- 
l)urg" Baptist cliurch, and his ministry extended over the 
Counties of Ritchie, Doddridge, Harrison, Tyler, Pleasants, 
Wood and Wirt. 

He was the father of the following named children : The 
Rev. P. A. Woods, Josiah ]\I., Brantley, Erasmus, James, and 
Robert, Mrs. Mary (John) McGinnis, and ]\Irs. Elizabeth, 
(Solomon) Hopper. 

Phillip Axtel Woods was born at Pittsburg, on January 
4, 1828; and on December 12, 1810, he was married to Miss 
Salina Wells, daughter of Isaiah A\'ells ; and from that time 
luiLil his death, on September 17, 1902, he was a resident of 
this community. He was a faithful servant in the Master's 
Vineyard, his father's mantle having fallen upon his shoul- 
ders, when he went West in 1868. He was widely known, the 
field of his ministry having embraced many points in central 
West Virginia, which included, Sistersville, Middlebourne, 
Harris\-ille, Stillwell. Briscoe run, Willow Island, and numer- 
ous others. 

His death severed the first link in the familv circle, 
which was again broken during the spring of 1909 b_v the 
death of his aged companion, who was laid by his side in the 
Harrisville cemetery. 

Their children are as follows : 

Isaiah W. and Judge Plomer B. Woods,^ Harrisville; 
Joel, Parkersburg; William, Keyser ; Mrs. Independence 
(E. E.) McDougal, Hannahdale; and ^Irs. E. M. Patton, 
Luke, Maryland. 

The Pattons are of Irish nationality. They came from 
the "Emerald Isle" and settled in what is now Monroe county 
West Virginia. Here in 1797, William Patton. senior, was 
born; and here he was married to ]\Iiss A^irginia Campbell, 
daughter of Robert Campbell, who was, also, of Irish lin- 
eage; and in 1843, the year that Ritchie county was fornied, 
they came to this county, and settled on what is now the 
Hugh Pribble homestead at the mouth ai Giilispie's run — on 



'See Younger Men's Calendar for liistory and career of Homer B. 
Woods. 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 481 

the opposite side of the river; and in 1859, they came to Har- 
risville where Mr. Patton fell asleep, in 1879, and she, in 1888. 

They were the parents of the following named children : 
W. M., A. ]., B. F., Sarah, A. Patton, and Mrs. Martha Wells, 
who have all passed on; and A. D., John C, of this county; 
and yirs. Mary V. Campbell, Airs. Lydia (P. W.) Morris, and 
Miss Louisa Patton, all of Parkersburg, are the surviving 
ones. 

W. M. Patton, who first owned the hotel and who was 
an early Sheriff of the county, married Miss Kathrine Rad- 
cliffe, and they spent the remainder of their lives in Harrison 
county, after leaving here. 

"Jlieir three children are all single; Emma and Alollie are 
the daughters, and John, the son. 

The Pattons were in sympathy with the Southern cause 
during the Ci^'il war and some of them were soldiers. They 
have always been strong and influential Democrats. 

Isaac Lambert and his wife, Mrs. Kathrine Crable Lam- 
bert were natives of the "Old Dominion." They came to this 
county from Harrison in ISi-l, and settled at Ellenboro, where 
their son, G. W. Lambert, now lives. Here they passed away 
and in the Ellenboro vicinity, they sleep. 

They were the parents of, Joseph, G. A\\, David. AL M. 
Lambert, of this county; Mrs. Anna Maxwell, West Union; 
the late Mrs. Virginia Byrd, and Mrs. Kathrine Lynch, Har- 
rison county ; Madison Lambert, and Elizabeth who died 
single. 

Joseph Lambert was born in Virginia, on July 31, 1821, 
and on September 1, 1846, he was married to Miss Margaret 
Lynch, of Harrison county, and the following year, they set- 
tled on the Keith farm near Harrisville, and in 1878, they re- 
moved to the town, where Mrs. Lambert died in March, 1905, 
and he, the following year. Both rest in the Harrisville 
cemetery. 

Their family consisted of seven daughters ; the late Mrs. 
Virginia Wells, Mrs. Ella Woods, IMrs. George Cokeley. Mrs. 
Bird Cokeley, Mrs. Metta Talbott, and Airs. Cora Martin. 
The other one died in infancy. 



482 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

Robert Kercheval. — The name Kercheval. too, has had a 
long connection here. Robert C. Kercheval having come to 
this town and opened a law office in June 1854. He was born 
and educated at A\'inchester, V^irginia, and after reaching his 
majority, went to Romney where he studied law under his 
brother, Samuel Kercheval, and became associated with him 
in the practice of law. 

He married Aliss Indith Singleton, who was, also, a na- 
tive of Winchester, and, with her, returned to Romney where 
he practiced his profession in the Courts of Frederick, Berk- 
ley, Hampshire and Hardy counties until he removed to Har- 
risville. He was twice elected to the office of Prosecutine At- 
torne}-. of this count}-, and was at one time a candidate for 
Judge of the Circuit court with a fair prospect for success; 
but. withdrawing from this race, he ofifered himself for Judge 
of the Supreme Court of the State, and was defeated. He 
spent the remainder of his life here, passing away at his old 
homestead near town, on October 18. 1874, at the age of sixtv- 
eight years. His wife and daughter, ]\Iiss Frances, preceded 
him to the grave, and his son, Robert, has since been laid by 
them on the old homestead. Mrs. Susan C. Phelps rests at 
Denver, Colorado; Mrs. Anna Harkness resides near 
Waverly : and W. M. Kercheval, and Alisses IMary and Lucy 
are all of Flarrisville. 

The Kerchevals are of French descent, the original name 
having been De Kercheval. Louis Kercheval and his brother 
left France shortly after the Revocation of the Edict of 
Nantes, in the year 1685. and went to England where the 
brother died unmarried. Louis emigrated to the Western 
world and settled in Gloucester county, Virginia, and from 
him the American branch of the family come. 

Samuel Kercheval who was a lineal descendant of Louis, 
was born at Berryville,. Virginia ; and there on September 28, 
1787, he was married to ]\Iiss Susana Chinn. great-grand- 
daughter of Raleigh Chinn. whose wife was Esther Ball, half- 
sister of Airs. ]\Iary \\"ashington. The Chinns were in some 
way connected to Sir Walter Raleigh, hence the name 
"Raleigh." 

Samuel Kercheval was the authior of the "Historv of the 



PROMIXEXT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 48S 

Valley of Virginia," the first and most authentic history of 
the Shenandoah and the South Branch \'alleys ; and one that 
is still in demand though out of print. And he was once 
High Sherili' of Frederick county. 

He was the father of eleven children, the five sons being 
as follows: Samuel, junior, Richard, Algernon S., Robert C, 
and William, all of whom he gave good educations. Three 
were lawyers, one a physician, and the other a miller. 

Samuel Kercheval .junior, located at Romney wdiere he 
rose to distinction as a jurist. And his son, Andrew Wood- 
row Kercheval, also figitred prominently in public affairs in 
that section of the state, he having played an important part 
in securing, for Romney the charitable institution for the 
Deaf and the -Blind. 

Robert C. Kercheval, as above stated, married Miss In- 
dith Singleton, and came to this county. His wife was a 
member of a distinguished family, she being the daughter of 
General James \V. and Airs. Indith Ball Singleton, and a 
descendant of the same family as Mary Ball AVashington. 
Her father was a general in the war of 1812, and her brother, 
Gen. James W. Singleton, junior, distinguished himself in the 
Mormon war, and thus won his title. After leaving his na- 
tive state, he (Gen. Singleton, junior,) went west and settled 
at Springfield, Illinois, where he engaged in the practice of 
law; and where he became closely associated with Abraham 
Lincoln and Stephen .\. Douglass, of whom he had many 
pleasing reminiscences to tell. And the last official docu- 
ment, perhaps, that was ever penned by the hand of Presi- 
dent Lincoln is in the possession of General Singleton's 
family in New York. This priceless treasure is in the form 
of a pass, which was written for the late Gen. Singleton, 
junior, who had been called from his Weh,tern home to be the 
bearer of a message of peace to the Southern people, and it 
read thus : 

"x\llow Gen. Singleton to pass to Richmond and return. 

"A. Lincoln. 

"April 13, 1865." 

On April 11, that ever memorable day in the history of 
our countrv, after General Singleton had received his final in- 



i84 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

structions, and had taken leave of the President, he went out 
in company with the Secretary of the Interior, going a little 
later in the evening to join Governor Yates of Illinois and 
some other friends at an appointed supper ; but when he 
reached his destination, he was greeted at the threshold with 
flying rumors of the assassination o^^ the President at Ford's 
Theater. The General recognizing the value of the memento 
in the form of the pass which he never used, ordered a case 
of gold, and under a glass in one compartment is this pass 
with its significant date. 

T. E. Davis. — For many years the late T. E. Davis was 
a prominent citizen of this town. He was born at Holbrook, 
this county in 1846. His father, Thomas N. Davis, crossed 
to the other side, shortly before his birth, and he began life 
as an orphan. His mother, Mrs. Amelia Zinn Davis, some 
years later married EH Heaton of this town, and two children 
vvcre the fruits of this union : the late Mrs. J. N. Peirpoint, 
and W. H. Heaton, of Spokane, Washington. At the age of 
fourteen years, ]\Ir. Davis came to Harrisville, and attended 
school, and became one of the first teachers of the county, 
under the free school system. Fie spent three years in the 
Washington and Jefiferson Universit}-, at Washington, Penn- 
sylvania, and was admitted to the bar in 186S. 

He served as Prosecuting Attorney for two terms, (being 
the first native son of Ritchie to attain to this office) and was 
a member of the House of Delegates; was deputy sherifif and 
deputy County and Circuit clerk all at the same time. He 
had a brief connection with the "West Virginia Star" here 
in the seventies, and was a member of the Masonic order, he 
having attained to the degree of Master Mason in ISl?. He 
died at his residence here, on February 15, 1906, and was 
laid in the Harrisville cemetery. 

On December 24, 1869, he was married to Miss Anna 
Leggett, daughter of the late Enoch B. Le^^ett. and of this 
union four children were born: one died in infancy, and the 
others are, Mrs. FT. V>. Woods, }.Irs. Juniata Boggess, who 
with her husband the Rev. Wheeler Boggess, has just re- 
turned from a several vears service in the ^Mission-fields of 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 4S5 

Southern India; and Thomas J. Davis, who is a prominent 
young barrister of this town. 

The Davises are of English descent. Four brothers, Wil- 
ham, John, Thomas, and Alexander, came from England in 
1600, and settled in New Jersey, near the present site of Jersey 
city. William had four sons and three daughters, and from his 
son, William, junior, this family comes. His son, David, mar- 
ried Miss Lydia Jeffrey, and they were the parents of the late 
Thomas N. and the grandparents of the late T. E. Davis of this 
place. From this same ancestral line, the Hon. Henr}- G. 
Davis, of Elkins, is said to be descended. 

The Liningers have been prominently connected with the 
affairs of this town since 1874, when the late Col. John C. Lin- 
inger came here as teacher of the Harrisville school. He vvas 
of German descent, and his wife, Mrs. Katherine McGough 
Lininger, of Scotch. Both were natives of Pennsylvania, he 
having been born in 183"?, and she in 1833. They were mar- 
ried in 1856, and removed to Iowa a few years later, where he 
entered the Union army as captain of an Iowa regiment; but 
owing to ill health, he returned to his native state in 186*2 , ard 
the following year re-entered the army as colonel of a Penn- 
sylvania regiment of volunteers. After the war, in 1865, he 
removed to Fairmont, where he was placed in charge of the 
first graded-school that was established under the free school 
system at that place. 

Filling this position but a short time, he resigned to be- 
come editor of a Fairmont paper; and from there in 1867, he 
went to Putnam county, where he held the position of princi- 
pal of the Buffalo Academy, until he came to Harrisville. 
where he died in 1877. 

He Avas educated in the free schools and academies of h.is 
native state, and spent the greater part of his life in teaching. 

Mrs. Lininger died on January 10, 1909, and at Harris- 
ville, beside her husband she sleeps. 

They were the parents of four daughters, and one son : 
Mrs. Addie M. (C. K.) Peirpoint, Mrs. Kathrine B. (L. R.) 
Fox, ]\Irs. Annie B. (Homer) Sigler, Mrs. Minnie Stoops, and 



486 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

John H. Lininger, whose career merits more than a passing 
notice. 

John H. Lininger was born on (Jctober 15, 1862, and with 
his parents came to this town when he was but a boy of twelve 
years. He improved his time and his opportunities, and at 
an early age, entered the profession of teaching, continuing in 
this work for ten vears. He served as a member of the 
Teachers' Examining Board for three terms, and filled the 
office of Circuit clerk for twelve years ; and has been the 
Cashier of the Peoples' Bank since its organization in 1899. 

On May 32, 1888, he was married to Aliss Dora Heaton, 
daughter of the late John Heaton, and three children arc the 
fruits of this union : Edgar Howard, the only son died in 1903, 
at the age of fourteen years, and Maude and Helen are the 
daughters. 

Arthur Watson and his wife, Mrs. Jane Hawker Watson, 
with their family came from ^Monongalia county to the Har- 
risville vicinity in 1844, and settled near two miles south of 
town on the farm that is now owned by Colfax Moats. Here 
Mr. Watson died in the early sixties, f?) and not lo-ng after he 
w^as laid in the Harrisville cemetery, the family went to 
Cherry Point, Illinois, where the following named members 
still survive : 

James R., Thomas D., Amos AI., Asby L., and Mrs. Mary 
(Samuel) Clouse. Owen Hawker, also, lives in Illinois, but 
W'illiam has joined the throng on the other side. 

Thomas D. W^atson married Miss Sarah Shore, sister of 
Mrs. Mary Ann McDonald, of Hazelgreen, but after her death, 
a few years since, he married Miss Sarah Miller of Illinois. 

John Watson, another son of Arthur, was the progenitor 
of the family that remained in this county. 

He was born in Monongalia county on February 24, 1824, 
and with his parents came to this county at the age of twenty 
years. 

On April 11, 1845, he was married to Miss Eveline Smith, 
who was born in Alarion county, on March 7, 1825, and, at 
the old home south of Harrisville he resided until his death, on 
December 17, 1853. 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 48? 

Two sons were born of this union, James \V., and Joseph 
A. Watson, but the latter died on October 13, 1857, at the age 
ol seven years, and the former, in his young manhood. 

In 18G7, Mrs. Watson traded the homestead lor the corner 
m Harrisville which is now marked by the National Bank 
building, and in April of that year, became the owner and 
manager of the hotel that was for long years known as the 
"Watson House." In 1901, she, having retired to private life 
some years before, transferred this property to the First Na- 
tional Bank. She died at Harrisville during the summer of 
1909, rich in the love and esteem of a multitude of friends that 
she had made during her long public service, and in the Hai- 
risville cemetery by the side of her husband and sons she was 
laid at rest. 

James Willy Watson, her one son, who grew to manhood, 
was born on April 8, 181S, and was married to Miss Frances 
Starr, daughter of John and Eleanor Ayres Starr, on Novem- 
ber 8, 1868 ; and they were the parents of two sons, John, the 
eldest, died in early childhood; and Dr. J. W. Watson is the 
other. 

Mr. W^atson met a tragic death by a run-a-way accident 
on the Ellenboro hill on September 20, 1870, and his widow is 
now the wife of Frank Foster, of near Harrisville. 

So Dr. James Willy Watson,^ of Harrisville, who was 
Dorn on March 12, 1871, a few months after the death of his 
father, is the only living descendant of the Watson family in 
this county. He was graduated from the Dental department 
of the Maryland University in the class of 1892, and was mar- 
ried to Miss Christine Mather, daughter of the late \V. T. 
Mather, on September 26, 1895, and they have no children. 

The Blairs are of Scotch-Irish stock. Three brothers 
came from Ireland. One settled in New Jersey, one, in Penn- 
sylvania, and the other, in the South-land. 

The one that settled in New Jersey, the grand-uncle of R. 
S. Blair, senior, lost his life at the battle of Trenton, he being 
a member of the staff of General Washington. But from the 
Pennsvlvania familv the Ritchie countv Blairs are descended. 



'Since tbi=! was written, Dr. Watson lias clianged his place of resi- 
dence to California. 



488 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

David Blair, a proclncl of tlie Keystone state, came to 
Parkersbnrg, in 181(), in his early manhood, where he held the 
position of Cashier of the Northwestern Bank of V^irginia, ami 
where he inet and married Miss Elizabeth Beeson, daughter ct 
Jacob Beeson, junior, who was a native of Beesontown, Penn.- 
sylvania, but with her j^arents came to Wood county in her 
childhood. Four children were born of this union: 

Isaiah, Jacob Beeson, Robert S., and Elizabeth, who died 
in 1843, at the age of eighteen years. 

The parents both left this world in 1835, the mother, on 
February 28, and the father, in March ; he having contracred 
cholera while on. a steamer on the Ohio river, died at Ports- 
mouth at an inn, and in the old churchyard at that place his 
ashes lie. His wife rests at Parkersburg. 

Jacob Beeson Blair. — After the death of the parents, the 
second son, Jacob Beeson Blair, who was born at Parkersburg. 
on April 11, 1821, was bound as an apprentice to Josiah Shank- 
lin of that city, and learned the carpenter's tradt ; but in 1842 
he entered the office of his uncle, General John J. Jackson, as a 
law student; and in 1844, was admitted to the bar, being li- 
censed ■^o practice lav/ both in the inferior and the superior 
Courts of West Virginia : and during this same year, he came 
to Flarr'sville and opened a law office, and thus the history of 
the famih' begins in this county. 

In 1851 he was happily married to Miss Josephine Jack- 
son, sister of William L. Jackson, who passed on in 185'., 
leaving two daughters, and shortly after this sad event, he 
removed to Parkersburg and formed a law partnership with 
his brother-in-law, Wm. L. Jackson. Here he continued to 
practice his profession until 1862 when he was sent to Con- 
gress to fill the vacancy that had been occasioned by the resig- 
nation of the Hon. John S. Carlisle, of Virginia, who had been 
elected ro the United States Senate. 

In 1803 he was re-elected to Congress, and took an actii e 
interest in the formation of the State of West Virginia. lie 
served as a mcmljer of the new State's Legislature in IBGo, 
and was minister to Costa Rica, Central America from 1868 to 
1873 ; and in February 187fi, he was appointed by the govern- 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 489 

nient as Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the Terri- 
tory of Wyoming. 

He was one of the early Prosecuting Attorneys of Ritchie 
county, he having been twice elected to this office. 

He died at Parkersburg, where he sleeps, and here his 
eldest daughter, Mrs. H. H. AIoss, lives. The other daughter, 
Mrs. Lizzie Bell, lives at Dayton, Ohio. 

Isaiah Blair, eldest brother of J. B., lived and died at 
Franklin, Ohio. 

Robert S. Blair, the younger brother of J. B. Blair, being 
deprived of his mother four days after his birth, on February 
'?A, 1835. was tenderly cared for by his maternal grandmother 
until her death, when he was added to the family of his aunt, 
Mrs. Anne Gardiner of Parkersburg. He was first christened 
"David" :r, honor of his father, who also died when he was but 
an infani ; but his aunt re-christened him "Robert Skyler" in 
honor of a prominent Pennsylvanian who was in some vvay 
connected to the Blair and the Beeson fandlies. 

In 1848, Robert S., came to Harrisville to live with his 
brother, and a little later he was apprenticed to Thomas Reitz 
to learn the saddler's trade, a trade in which he became pro- 
ficient. But this work being out of harmony with his taetes, 
he improved his spare moments, and finally passed the re- 
quired examination and entered the Virginia Military Insti- 
tute at Lexington, from which he was graduated, after four 
years of hard study. John J. Jackson aided him in securing 
the appointment, and ''Stonewair' Jackson was his instructor 
while there, he being the occupant of the chair of Mathematics 
and the Commandant of the Cadet Corps. 

Having spent all of his inheritance in defraying his edti- 
cational expenses at this institution, he returned to Harns- 
ville, and took up the study of law in the office of the iite 
Cyrus Flail : and made his living by clerking in stores, and in 
doino- such other tasks as came in his way, until he was ad- 
mitted to the bar: and in his chosen profession lie coniiiuicd 
until his death, making quite a record as a barrister. 

On Inly 1, I8G1, he was married to Miss Rachel Core, 
daughter of the late A. S. Core, of Ellenboro. who was at that 



490 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

time a student of a college at Little Washington, Pennsyl- 
vania ; and four children were the result of this union : 

A. Core Blair, the first born, is a physician of Randolph 
county; Robert S., junior, upon whom the lather's mantle has 
fallen, is a prominent young lawyer and orator of Harrisville; 
Harry C, is fitting himself for the medical profession in a 
Louisville college ; and Miss Lizzie Blair, of Harrisville, is the 
only daughter. 

Mr. and Airs. Blair died at Harrisville during the winter 
of 1891, of lagrippe, an epidemic having visited the town and 
carried away a number of its citizens. They died within a 
few hours of each other and one low mound in the Harrisville 
cemetery covers the ashes of both. 

The McDouglas hail from Scotland, where they, a power- 
ful clan, owned and ruled all the islands off the western coast 
of the Highlands, at the dawn of the history of the "Heelands 
of Scotia." 

The ancient coat-of-arms of the Clan is suggestive of a 
sea-faring people, two crude galleons of ea^-ly times being rep- 
resented upon its face ; and the motto, which is inscribed there- 
on, is Vincere vel mori, which means in its complete trans- 
lation, "V\"e Conquer or Die." 

The name was first spelled "Dhu Gal,*' which meant 
"Black Stranger," a name which was probably given them by 
neighboring clans, to distinguish them (a dark-skinned, black- 
haired people) from the (blue eyed, light-haired) Fiongals, or 
"A\'hite Strangers." 

.Time and education finally changed ihe spelling of the 
name to "Dugal" and later to McDougal, the prefix "]\Ic" 
meaning "son of." 

'Til early times they were a fierce, stubborn, courageous 
and war-like race. As early as the thirteenth century, the}'' 
are found opposing the Crown, and in 130G. led by ]\IcDougal 
of Lorn, they fought the battle of Methven cigainst Robert 
Bruce, and came out victorious, having routed the King and 
his army. 

In this battle, Bruce lost to the ]\IcDougpls the famous, 
historic "Brooch of Lorn," which was later stolen from them 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 491 

at tlie siege of Castle Dunoll}', the then official headquarters 
of the Clan ; and for centuries it remained m other hanas. In 
fact, it was only restored to the McDougak. of Lorn seventy- 
five years ago. 

After their triumph at Methven, they seized the reigns 
of g-overnment, and ruled over Scotland for a few "brief months, 
until the mighty Bruce re-organized his scattered forces, 
added to their strength and prowess, and dealt them a crush- 
ing blow at the battle of Argyleshire. Here he defeated them, 
and stripped them of their power, titles and vast estates, save 
the District of Lorn. So fierce and so destructive was this 
battle that, at its close, but three hundred of the name (Mc- 
Dougal) were able to bear arms, and the Clan never recoven.'d 
from this blow. 

William McDougal, a lineal descendant of the "Dhu Gals" 
or the "I'Cings of the Isles" as they were called in ancient times, 
came direct from the "District of Lorn" in the Highlands of 
Scotland to the Virgania colony in 1762. He was a young 
Presbyterian clergyman of' marked ability, and shortly after 
his arrival he became the pastor of a small band of Scotch 
Presbyterians, who resided on the Monongahela river where 
Morgantown now stands. Here, in 1774, he was married to a 
Miss Brand, a member of his congregation, and three children 
were born of this union, John, Sarah, and Margaret ; and 
shortly after the birth of the second daughter, the mother died, 
and in 1781, the Rev. Mr. McDougal, leaving his little ones in 
the care of some of his parishioners, returned to his native 
Llighlands and there claimed another bride, before coming- 
back to America. Upon his return he went to Kentucky, where 
he played an important part in the founding of the old Presby- 
terian church school at Danville, which is now known as 
"Centre College." 

In J 804, he rode on horseback from Danville, Kentucky, 
to Marion county to see his childien whom he had not seen 
since he left them in childhood, and to induce them to go to 
Kentucky and live near him, but they had, in the meantime, 
ffrown to manhood and womanhood and ir^arried (Sarah had 
become Mrs. Deviess and gone to Ohio, Margaret had mar- 



492 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUXTV 

ried Samuel Dudley, a Revolutionary soldier, and lived at 
Dunkard Alill run, in Marion county, near her brother, John), 
and all his persuasions, and his otters to give them large pos- 
sessions in "the Blue Grass state" could not induce tiiem lo re- 
turn with him. 

The son said, "Father, when sister and I were infants you 
left us here in A'irginia in the care of strangers, and returned 
to Scotland. Both are now married, have children of our own 
and are doing well. We have paddled our own canoes chus 
far, and so far as I am concerned, I expect to do so in futuiv. 
My ansv/er is no ! I would not go for all the money 3'ou are 
worth." Speechless from rage or astonishment, without an- 
swering a word, the old gentleman turned iipon his heel, went 
to the barn and got his horse and rode away, alone, througn 
the "dense mountaiii forest" to his Kentucky home. And from 
that hour the silence between father and son was never broken, 
Scotch pride and stubbornness keeping them apart. 

John McDougal, this son, was an ordained minister of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, and an extensive land-owner and 
stock-raiser. 

He married Miss Margaret Hilery, in 1798. and removed 
to Dunkard Alill run in Marion county, where he reared a 
large family, and where he and his wife both fell asleep in 
1861. 

Their children, which vscre nine in number, were as fol- 
lows : 

William, Elizabeth, (]\Irs. John Amos) IMary (Mrs. Wm. 
Toothman), Jonathan, who died in infancy, and Sarah, m 
youth, Osbourne. John Fletcher, Nancy (Mrs. Charles Sturm), 
and Enos Hilery. all of whom have passed on except Jo.hn 
Fletcher, who resides in ^Missouri. The rest all sleep near the 
old home in Marion county, except Enos Hilery, and Os- 
bourne, whose ashes lie in Ritchie county, they being the 
progenitors of the different families of this name in this 
county. 

Enos Hilery McDougal was born on June 4. 1824. and on 
August IT. 1848. he was married to ]\liss Miranda Price, of 
Marion county, who was born on January 6, 1831. and shortly 



PROMIXEXT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 493 

after the close of the Civil war, they came to Harrisville, 
where his life closed on March 29, 18?5, and where his family 
still reside. Airs. McDougal was laid by his side in the Har- 
risville cemetery in 1907. 

They were the parents of six children ; viz., A. S. Mc- 
Dougal, Mrs. Florence (J. J.) Sigler, E. L. McDougal, the late 
Mrs. Neitie Myrtal (Chas.) Musgrave, ail of Harrisville; L. 
]\Ieade McDougal, Parkersburg ; and Thomas Theodore, the 
well-known editor of the Ceredo Advance, and the "Keiiova 
Reporter," who began his journalistic career in a local office at 
Harrisville in his youth. 

Osbourne McDougal married Miss Sarah Brumage, and 
came to Ritchie county in 1S45, and settled on the farm that is 
now the home of Leman Wilson, at the mouth of Beeson, 
where he remained until he was borne to his final resting- 
place, on his ov/n homestead. His wife who survived him 
sleeps at Riddel's chapel. 

They were the parents of six sons and two daughters ; 
viz.. Thomas, and the late Cole, of near ]-'ennsboro ; Charles, 
of Kansas ; Simon, of Roane county ; the late Joseph, who 
died in ihe West several years ago; Enos, died while serving 
as a Union soldier in the Civil war, and Sarah, in youth, and 
Alcinda was the late Mrs. Wigner. 

Dantel Snyder Bush is one of the very few of the older 
citizens of this town that yet remains. 

Ele was born in Gilmer county, on December Ifi, 1832 ; is 
tlie son of the late Jacob H. and Mrs. Sarah Snyder Bush. He 
came to this county in 1865, and two years later, (in 18C7) 
married Miss Louisa Peirpoint, who passed on, on February 
10, 1874 ; and on December twenty-first, of the following year, 
he was again married to Mrs. Eveline Kirkpatrick Mitchell, 
sister of Levi Kirkpatrick, who is the companion of his de- 
clining years. 

Three children were born of the first union ; but all have 
joined the throng on the other side : Emerson and Anna M., 



(This interesting- ancestral history of the McDougals is taken from 
a ".Sl<etch of the Clan," which was written by Henry Clay McDousal, son 
of .John Fletcher McDougal. of Kansas City, Missouri, wno got hi'i In- 
formation from "Keltle's History of the Highlands." and by tradition. — 
Author.) 



494 HISTORY or RITCHIE COUXTY 

died in childhood; and Agnes H., was the late wife of John 
Cannon. 

]\Ir. Bush is a veteran of the Civil war, he having been 
commissioned as First Lieutenant. 

Henry Clay Showalter was a leading figure in the afirairs 
of this town for almost thirty A^ears — from the time of hi? ar- 
rival from Elizabeth, Wirt count}- in 1880 until his removal 
to Kansas city, Missouri, during the summer of 1909. 

He was born and reared in Pennsylvania and there re- 
ceived an academic education ; but he formed the acquaintance 
of the "Little Mountain state," which was destined to be his 
future home, in 1861, when a false report concerning the com- 
ing of the Confederates had alarmed the little City of Morgan- 
town, and he came here as a drummer-boy. 

He served for two years in the Quarter-AIaster's depart- 
ment of the Union army, and later studied law with Berkshire 
and Sturgiss at iMorgantown and was admitted to the bar in 
1869. 

He was at one time first assistant clerk of the State Sen- 
ate, and after coming to this county, he taught school, prac- 
ticed law, filled the office of County Superintendent, was 
mayor a-^jil post-master at Harrisville, and Avas an official-mem- 
ber of the Baptist church and a prominent Sunday-school 
worker. 

In 1869 he was married to A-Iiss Hattie Brock, of Morgan- 
town, and six sons and one daughter were the result of this 
union : 

Emrnett M. Showalter, who recently completed a term of 
twelve years as assistant District Attorney, is of Fairmont; 
Pearle H., of Colorado; the late Lawrence, of the South; Ar- 
thur, of Mannington ; Hervey, of Chester; and Howard, of 
F"airmont, who all hold responsible positions in the commercial 
world, are the sons, and Miss Annie, who is still at home, is 
the daughter. 

J. M, Barbe has been a useful and prominent citizen of this 
town for a number of years, and in this quiet little corner he 
merits a place. 

He is the brother of the Hon. Waitman T. Barbe, of Mor- 



PROM IX EXT HARRIS]- 1 LLE FAMILIES 49£ 

gantown, and is a native of Marion county, though he was 
reared in ^Monongalia where he was educated in the common 
schools. His father, John Barbe, was of German lineage, and 
of Virgiiiia birth. And his mother, Mrs. Margaret E. Robin- 
son Barbe, was born m Monongalia county of Scotch-Irish 
parentage. 

In January 1881, in his early manhood, he came to Harris- 
ville, and the following winter, entered the profession of teach- 
ing, and later attended the State University at Morgantown 
for a term or so. 

At the age of twenty-four years he was married to j\iiss 
Lillie Hoaton, daughter of the late John Heaton, and the iirst 
years of his married life were spent in clerical work. He has 
three times been commissioned as post-master of Harrisvillc, 
and, since 1903, has been the assistant cashier of the Peoples' 
Bank. He has been a communicant of the Methodist Epis- 
copal church since he was a boy of thirteen years, and has 
filled the office of Sunday-school superintendent of the Harris- 
villc school for sixteen years ; was President of the County 
Sunday-school work for four years, and was twice elected as 
delegate to the annual Conference. 

He IS the father of t^^'o children, Mabel and Kaymf.nci 
Barbe. 

Egbert M. Carver, the founder of Ritchie county's 'nrst 
bank, is a character of more than ordinary interest, since he 
is the one citizen of the county that traces his ancestry to May- 
flower stock ; he being a lineal descendant of John Carver, the 
first Colonial Governor of Massachusetts. 

]Mr. Carver is a native of Vermont. His father, Chester L. 
Carver, a.nd his mother, Lucy M. Harlow, were both of Eng- 
lish descent. He was born near West Powlet. on April '35. 
18-H, and there spent the first nineteen years of his life on a 
farm. He taught school for two years ; then went to White 
Hall, New York, w^here he filled the position of assistant post- 
master for one year, before entering the Commercial college 
at Albany, where he was graduated. He then started in the 
banking business, as teller, in the Commercial Bank, at White- 
hall, Xew York, and spent several years in this business in the 



496 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

"Empire State," before going to California where he was iden- 
tified in the banking and real estate business. 

He first formed the acquaintance of the "Little ^fountain 
state in iSU-f, and his connection with this county began in 
January, 1895, when he came to Harrisville ; and on June i, 
1895, the "Ritchie County Bank" — the first one in the count}' — 
was opened with the following named officers in charge : L. P.* 
Wilson, Pres. ; Sanford B. Flemming, Vice Pres. ; and E. jM 
Carver, Cashier. The directors were, L. P. Wilson, A\'. il. 
Westfall, W. W. Lawrence, W. S. Hamilton, and E. LI. 
Carver. 

The First National Bank of Harrisville was later organ- 
ized by Mr. Carver, who was its first cashier, and Anthony 
Smith was the president. 

The Cairo bank, too, was organized by Mr. Carver v/ith 
Hon. R. H. Freer, president, and Edgar Carver, cashier, and 
still later he organized the First National Bank at Pennsboro 
and was its first cashier. So he can well be styled the Father 
of the banking business in this county. 

On July 9, 1878, he was married to Miss Emma Ashby, of 
St. Louis Missouri, and three sons, who have all inherited 
their father's profession, are the result of this union : Edgar 
Ashby is cashier of the First National Bank at Rovvlsburg, 
West Virginia; Will Percey, of the First National at Racine, 
Ohio: and Arthur Egbert, of the Bank of JMontross, \'irginia. 

The Woman's Christian Temperance Union is now one 

of the County's potent and influential factors for good, it hav- 
ing figured largely in bringing about the present strong tem- 
perance sentiment of its people. 

The exact date of its organization is missing, but Harris- 
ville had a local union as far back as 1888, or even before that 
time, with the late ]\lrs. AL S. Hall as leader, but there has 
been no break in the work for the past ten years. 

The County organization dates back as far as 1898, when 
Mrs. Monforte, wife of the Rev. ]\Ir. Monforte of the Presby- 
terian ciiurch, Avas the first president. She was probably ap~ 
pointed by the State President, and Mrs. Laura Amos, of Har- 
risville, vvas her successor. Then came Aliss A. Grace Hall, 



PROMINENT HARRISVILLE FAMILIES 49? 

in U)()l, riid Mrs. Eva C. Robinson took her place on October 
2, 19U3, and has served in this capacity continuous!}- since thai 
time, with the exception of one year i^lOUlij when Mrs. Maude 
Norris, of Pennsboro, was in the chair. 

]\Irs. Robinson is at tliis time Local as well as Countj 
president. 

There are now three active unions in the county with a 
total membership of near one hundred, and Cairo is the 
largest and most active. 

Mrs, Eva Chenoweth Robinson/ the leader of this (W. C. 
T. U.) organization, is at the present time one of the most 
conspicuous feminine figures of the county, and a little more 
than a passing notice is due her. 

She was born in Calhoun county on November 3, 1872, 
and there on May 29, 1892, she was married to Mr. Shernian 
Robinson, who was, also, born in Calhoun county, on Septem- 
ber 4, 18T0 ; and as a bride she came to Harrisville, where her 
husband had opened a law office. 

She has been closely identified with the Woman's Chris^ 
tian Temperance movement for ten years, being State organ- 
izer for four years, and Local and County president for the re- 
mainder of the time ; and she is now organizing a chapter of 
the Daughters of the American Revolution, she liaving been 
recently admitted to membership in this society and appointed 
as Regent ; the first citizen of the county to obtain entrance 
into this historic organization. 

Mr. Robinson, likewise, is a conspicu(Uis figure in the af- 
fairs of the county to-day. He began his public life as a rural 
pedagogue in his native county, at an early age, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1891 ; and, with the exception of one year, 
has ever since been identified with the Harrisville attorneys, 
he having been a partner with Hon. R. PL Freer for fifteen 
years. His practice in the courts of the State has been ex- 
tensive, and he has had important cases before the courts at 
Richmond, Pittsburg, and New York city. He served as a 
member of the House of Delegates in 1909-'10 and was a can- 
didate for re-election in the November election of 1910. 



"See last chapter for Mrs. Robinson's ancestry, wliich slie traces to 
Lord Baltimore. 



4DS HISTORY OF RiTCHIE COUNTY 

He is a Mason, a ^Methodist and a Republican. He served 
as School Law Commissioner of the county fr r eight years, 
and has been mayor and recorder of the town of Harrisviile. 

Two daughters, Geraldine and Nell, make up this house- 
hold. 



CHAPTER XL 



Cairo 




AIRO claims the distinction of being one of 
the oldest towns in this part of the state, 
since it was plotted and laid ont long before 
the coming of the railroad. But its real his- 
tory begins, perhaps, with the year 1856, 
when it became a railroad station. 

It was laid out on the homestead of \\'il- 
liam Lov/ther, who gave the grant for the railroad depot, 
which is still used for this purpose. 

Mr. Lowther like all the other pioneers of his name was, 
a native of West Milford, Harrison county, and was the grand- 
son of Col. William Lowther. He was born on Thursday, Oc- 
tober 31, 1793, and was the second son of William and Mar- 
garet Morrison Lov/ther. He married Miss Melicent Max- 
well, of Harrison county, and came to this county at an early 
day and settled near the mouth of the Middle fork of Hughes 
river for a time before coming to Cairo, Avhere he remained 
until he was laid in the Egypt cemetery. His wife sleeps by 
his side. 

His old home still stands, it being one cf the very few that 
has withstood the ravages of time, but so changed is its ap- 
pearance,' that scarcely a suggestion of pioneer days lingers 
about. It is still owned by his heirs, his daughter Mrs. Re- 
becca Young being the owner and occupant. 

He was the father of the following named children be- 
sides Mrs. Younge: the late A. M. Lowther, of Goose creek; 
the late Alexander of Macfarlan ; Granville, of Sistersville ; L. 
D. of Texas : Wm. Maxwell, and Armstrong died many years 
ago, and Jane and Sudna, in youth. 



500 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY • 

First Merchant. — William Skelton was the first merchant 
of the town in 1855. He was the son of Edward Skelton, the 
pioneer Englishman who settled the Peirpoint homestead at 
Harrisvilie ; and his wife was Miss Ellen Douglass, sister of 
Christopher Douglass, of Cornwailis. At the breaking out of 
the Civil war, Mr. Skelton raised a company and entered the 
Union service as captain, and at the close of the conflict, he 
removed with his family to Litchfield, Illinois, but he died at 
the home of H. B. McCollum, while on a visit to friends here, 
some years later, and in the Egypt cemetery he sleeps. His 
wife rests in the Litchfield burying-ground in Illinois. They 
were the parents of five children. The only daughter mel: a 
tragic death from a pitchfork in the hands of a boy at play; 
and Willis H., Andrew D., and Frank H. married, lived and 
died in Illinois. William A., who is still single, alone sur- 
vives, and at Litchfield, he claims his residence. 

Captain Skelton's successor in the mercantile business 
here was B. F. Rogers in 1858. The site of this pioneer store 
is now covered by the Twyman and Silcott establishment. 
James and Jerome Vandiver, J. R. Sigler, David McGregor, 
Jonathan Haddox, and son Harrison B., and C. E. Haddox 
are among the many others who have been identified in this 
business here. 

James Merchant is regarded as the pioneer hotel keeper 
here. He came in 1856, and built the "Alpha House," which 
remained in the hands of his family, his widow and son, Bona- 
part Merchant, until a few months since when it was sold. 

Mr. Merchant came to Cairo as contractor on the Balti- 
more ami Ohio railroad, and he was subsequently a contractor 
on the "Calico railroad." 

Fie was of French descent, and was born at what is now 
CharlestOAvn in Jefiferson county in 1813 ; and there he was 
first married to Miss Jeannette Harley, and five children were 
the fruits of this union : Edwin died in youth ; John, at Atlanta, 
Georgia, where he left a family ; Jacob, at St. Joseph, Mis- 
souri ; Charley, at Cairo ; and James is a druggist at Murphy- 
town, Tennessee. After the wife of his youth was laid to rest 
at Charlestown, he married Miss Sarah ]ane Foster, of Penn- 



CAIRO 501 

sylvania, who is of High Dutch stocky and with her he came to 
Cairo. Their cliildren were five in number: viz., E. B., George, 
and Mrs. Jennie Carroll, and the late F. S., Cairo; and the late 
Minor, oi Atlanta, Georgia. 

Mr. Merchant passed on several years ago, and rests at 
Cairo. 



Churches. — The pioneer pul)lic building in this section, 
which served the people for both school and church purposes 
for a half century., was torn down shortly after the erection of 
the United Presbyterian church in 1870; and the site of this re- 
vered old structure is now marked by the "Odd Fellows ceme- 
tery." The Rutherfords, Halls, Pews, Douglasses, and Taylors 
were the chief builders of the U. P. church ; and tlie Rev. T^. 
M. Sleelh was its first pastor. This church was reduced to 
ashes in 1904 but was re-built two years later. 

The Baptist church also came in 1870, with the Hatfields, 
Fordhams, Moatses and Pliillipses as principal l:)uilders. This 
church stands on the Hatfield homestead near one mile from 
town, and only a short distance from the United Presbyterian 
church. 

This church society was organized on June 6, 1868, v\ith 
the Rev. P. A. Woods, chairman; and Henry Fordham, clerk; 
but its organization was not fully completed until June ?Oih of 
the same year, when Jacob Hatfield and Thomas Fordham 
were made Deacons, and Henry Fordham, clerk. 

The original members of this organization were as fol- 
lows; Jacob Hatfield and wife, Sarah J. and Elizabeth Hat- 
field, Thomas Fordham and wife, Lucinda Yockey, Peter 
Moats, John Layfield, Elizabeth Layfield, and Elizabeth L.. 
Margaret and Salinda Layfield, of the Harrisville Baptist 
church, Sarah E. Cain, and Cinderilla Hatfield, Goose creek;- 
Samuel Moats, Indian creek ; Harriet Layfield, Cedar creek , 
and Henty Fordham, of the Baptist church of Baltimore. 

Next came the Presbyterian church, which stands be}-f)nd 
the town limits, and which is the largest and best church edi- 
fice in this part of the county. The McKinneys, the l\IcCol- 



50^ HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

lums, and the Wanlasses were among tlie leaders of this de- 
nomination. 

The Methodist Episcopal church, which is the only one 
within the limits of tlie town, was dedicated during the au- 
tumn of 1870 ; and among its principal promoters and build- 
ers, we find the names of Eli Earnest. J. R. Sigler, Harrison B. 
Haddox, and Mrs. Cunningham. This church has been re- 
modeled and improved within recent years, and has been fur- 
nished with a fine musical instrument, the half of which was 
the gift of Andrew Carnegie. 

Before the coming of the churches, the old "Block 
House" was used as a place of worship, as well as the other 
old building mentioned. 

The Block House was also used for school purposes, San- 
ford Carroll being the first teacher within its walls; and 
George Weddekham, another teacher, is said to have given m- 
structions to a class in German here. 

This "old Block House," which stood on the west side of 
the hill above the railroad, was instituted during the Civil 
war as a place of defense and as a guard house. It was built 
compact of hewed timber and all along the railroad these 
houses w'cre to be seen; but they have all long since passed 
from view. 

The First School Building was erected in 1868. It was an 
old time log structure and stood on the hill on the west side of 
the river, and served the town for educational purposes until 
1873, when the present school-grounds were set apart, and a 
two-roomed frame building erected ; but this building was de- 
stroyed by fire in 1893, and the following year it was replaced 
by another two-roomed building, which was remodeled by the 
addition of two more rooms and an office, in 1896. 

In 1904-5 another addition was made, and the present 
building consists of six class rooms,* an office and a reading 
room, a library of six hundred volumes, and other modern ap- 
paratuses and conveniences. 

When the school was established in 1868, one teacher was 
thought to be equal to the occasion, as the curriculum con- 
sisted of only the three "R's" and a "few fragments and frills." 



CAIRO 503 

but it has kept pace with the onward march of education, and 
it now occupies a place in the front ranks, among the schools 
of this and neighboring" counties. Owing to its crowded 
conditions no High school work of any notice was taken 
up until 1904 and 1905, when tlirough the etforts of L. 
R. Fowler, one year's course was added. The curriculum now 
consists of the regular graded-school work and a two-year 
High school course. Like the other schools of its kind in the 
county, it has sent out some of the prominent citizens of our 
state, as well as the county. Its present enrollment (1909) Is 
near two hundred, and its teaching faculty is as follows ; S. 
C. Grose, P. C. Hickman, Genevieve Kirsch, Nettie Myer.s, 
Sallie Agnes Pew, and Emma McCollum. 

John S. Hall, the blind pedagogue and poet, of St. Mary's 
was the lirst teacher in the house on these grounds ; and among 
those who have served as principal since his time are: Miss 
Jennie Smith, Luther Randolph, Fillmore Randolph, Wm. AL 
Hall, A. B. Smith, L A. Tannyhill, Mr. King, William Echols, 
Jora Cannon, J. H. Nichol, Lucy McKinney, J. Newman, Kath- 
rine Roberts, J. F. Marsh, L. FL Hayhurst, J. W. Davis, L. R. 
Fov/ler and S. C. Grose, the present incumbent. 

Bank. — The first Cairo Bank building marks the site of an 
old and important landmark, which is now but a memory, the 
spoke factory and grist-mill of the late "Jackey" Horn, which 
played no small part in the early history of the town, but 
which finally sank into a state of dilapidation and ruin and 
vanished from sight before the hand of modern improvement. 

The Grange. — Early in the seventies an organization 
called the "Grange" flourished here. Its purpose being to ad- 
vance the interests of the farmer. A large store was opened, 
which did a successful business for a time. One fair was held, 
which was a pronounced success, but soon after this, the com- 
pany went to pieces ; the business was sold out, the store 
closed, and the corporation disbanded. There was at this time 
quite a number of other Grange organizations in the county, 
but not even one is left "to tell the tale." of their success. 
They have long since been "naught but a memory." 

The Late Ex-Senator J. N. Camden, of Parkersburg, was 



504 HISTORY Or RITCHIE COLWTV 

an impo'-tant factor in redeeming much of the territory east 
and north of this town from its primitive wilderness. He and 
other Parkersburg- men purchased thousanas of acres of land, 
and put in large mills which cut up tlic timljer ; and after Uie 
best timber had been removed, they sold the land in small 
farms, reserving their coal and oil interests which have since 
proved to be valuable possessions. This enterprise began 
near the "Nutter farm." H. S. Wilson/ of Parkersburg, also 
did much toward opening up this territory. 

Alajor J. D. Beardley, superintended the mill-work for 
Senator Camden ; and he built the residence that is now owned 
by Airs. Anna Newman, which \yas at that time considered one 
of the few palatial residences in the count}-. Air. Beardsiey 
was a Canadian by birth and always remained ioyal to the 
Crown. He and his accomplished wife added much to the so- 
cial circles while here, but when his work was at an end, they 
went to Arkansas, where they amassed quite a fortune. 

The First Silversmith. — Henry Fordham was the first 
silversmith of the town. He was born in Yorkshire, England, 
on September 7, 1817, and there grew to manhood and learned 
the watcli and clock-maker's trade in his father's shop. 

In 1841, he was married to Aliss Sarah Mitchell, daughter 
of William Mitchell, who passed on in 1849, leaving two chil- 
dren, the late Airs. Elizabeth (Abner) Hatfield, and Thomas 
Fordham, of Gofif's. 

After her death he married her sister, Aliss 

Alitchell, and in 1851, they embarked to America, landing in 
Baltimore, where she died a few years later, leaving one bon, 
Henry Fordham, junior, who died in his early manhood. He 
then married Aliss Barbara Ellen Gettier, of Baltimore; and 
from there came to this county, and settled at Cornwallis, for 
a brief lime, before coming to Cairo in 1858, where he con- 
tinued to work at his trade until his death, in 1887. 

He spent two years of his life as a sailor, and served as a 
soldier in the Civil war for a few months. He was Secretary 
of the Board of Educatfon for seven vears — just before his 



iSee Chapter XXVIII for sketch of Mr. Wilson. 



CAIRO 505 

death — and was unusually skillful in his trade as repairer of 
clocks and watches, as is his son. 

The children of his last marriage are Mrs. Mary Hall, 
Mrs. Florence Hall, and the late Mrs. Emma (A. L.) Gracey, 
of Marietta, Ohio, who died at the birth of her first child. Mrs. 
Fordham still survives and at the Gracey home at Marietta, 
she resides. 

Physicians. — Dr. T. B. Humphrey was, the first resident 
physician. He remained for several years and then went to 
Bridgeport, Harrison county, where he died. His successor 
was Dr. C. P. Lowry, who married Miss Myra Sigler, dau.gh- 
ter of J. R. Sigler, and after several years' practice here was 
compelled to give up the profession owing to his failing health. 
Ide then removed to Parkersburg, where he died a little later, 
and where his family still live. 

The late Dr. Martin came next and, after years of faithful 
service, died here. Dr. Chesney was another physician, but 
he only remained for a brief time, going from here to Tyler 
county. 

Dr. Archie Bee, and Dr. U. S. G. Ferrell are the present 
practioners. 

Lawyers. — James Newman, an Englishman, was the first 
lawyer in 1894. J-fe came as a teacher, but since his practice 
has become so large, he has gixen up teaching. Charles Mc- 
Kight, Robert Talkington, Robert McGregor, and S. O. Prunty 
are other jurists that have been identified here. Mr. Prunty 
is now the partner of Mr. Newman. 

Newspapers. — The pioneer newspaper was the "Ritchie 
Democrat and Beacon Light" in 1877. The Cairo Times came 
later, but was destroyed when the Commercial hotel went up 
in smoke, some twelve years ago, after a brief history. "The 
Cairo Enterprise" with Robert Morris owner and Van A. 
Zeveley editor, is the only publication in the town at present. 

Lodges. — The Kate Barclay Lodge, No. 51, of the L (). 
O. F. was the pioneer secret society. It held its early sessions 
at the Alpha hotel, but later purchased an old dwelling near 
the Methodist Episcopal church, which served until 1890, when 
the fine lodge hall was erected, which is now the home of all 



506 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

the secret orders in town, the others renting of the I. O. O. F. 
H. B. McColkim is styled the "father" of the organization 
here, he having been an Odd Fellow for more than sixty years. 
The Odd Fellows also own a large cemetery near town. 

A strong Good Templars organization once flourished 
here, but has long since gone out of existence. The other 
secret orders are, the Masonic, the A. O. (J. W., the I. O. R. 
M., the Modern Woodmen of America, the Knights of Pythias, 
and the Woodmen of the World. 

John McGregor, brother of David was an early black- 
smith here, perhaps, the first one of the town. 



Cairo is divided by the North Fork of Hughes river, but is 
connected by bridges, a county, a railroad, and a suspension 
bridge span it, and a foot bridge is under agitation. It is 
heated and lighted by natural gas, and is the only town in the 
county that has waterworks. It is in the midst of an extensive 
oil field though developments are now on the w^ane ; but it has 
been greatly enlarged during this period of oil development. 
Several new additions having been added and others are m 
progress, among which the Ferrell is perhaps, the more im- 
portant. 

Dr. U. S. G. Ferrell bought a tract of land some distance 
from the main town and divided it into one hundred seventeen 
lots, thirty of which, perhaps, have been improved. This ad- 
dition has a planing-mill, a general store, and a movemeni. is 
on foot for a church and a school house. 

Cairo claims a resident population of eight hundred in- 
habitants. It has a third-class post-office, the late C. E. Had- 
dox being the first post-master appointed by the President, 
and B. R. Twyman is the present one. It has been under 
municipal government since 1895. when it was incorporated 
with James Newman as first mayor. 

It has a fine drug store, with G. S. Flesher, druggist ; an 
opera house which was recently completed by H. E. McGregor 
& Company at a cost of near one thousand five hundred dol- 
lars; a nitro-glycerine factory,' a job printing-house, an oil well 
manufacturing tank shop, planning-mill, feed stores, bakeries, 
groceries, a good school-building, two hotels, the "Alpha and 



CAIRO 507 

the Omega," and a few boarding houses. It has one bank, the 
two having- been consolidated under the name of the "Cairo 
Bank," a few years since. 

The South Penn, the South, and the Stuart Oil Companies, 
and a number of others have their head ofifices here. 

Its l.aisiness men are H. E. McGregor and C. D. Lowry, 
who have a large furniture and undertaking establishment 
under the firm name of ^McGregor & Company. The Greer 
Supply Company are also dealers in furniture and have a spa- 
cious hardware establishment in connection. The Ramsey Sil- 
cott Company are the clothiers, The Cairo Mercantile Fiim 
with Newton Marsh in charge. Summers, Hall & Co., (B. E. 
Summers, A. L. Hall and G. P. Sigler), S. P. Heckart, G. P. 
Hess, A. Pribble, T. P. Sandy are the general merchants. 

John Shroper, is the photographer, W. L. Collins, J. Fried- 
ley, T. E, Cross, blacksmiths, A. S. Lemon, tailor, Mrs. A. M. 
Douglass, milliner, and Misses Anna and Mary Eavelle, dress- 
makers. 

While Cairo cannot boast of its beauty of location, it is 
conveniently situated, and is the third town in point of size in 
the county ; and in modern conveniences it holds the first rank. 

As the country about it was formerly called "Egypt"' it 
takes its name from the ancient land of the Pharaohs beyond 
the sea. 

The names of McKinney, Marshall, Hall, Douglas.-^;, 
Younge. Rutherford, McGregor, Lowther, Pew, Fordham, 
Merchant, Haddox, Carroll, Sigler, Hatfield, Earnest, Lee 
Humphrey, and McCollum, all have old and prominent con- 
nection with this town, but as many of their histories have 
already appeared in preceding chapters, more than a passing 
notice is still due a few of them. 

Eli Earnest and his wife came from the Keystone state, 
and died here after a long residence. Their son, Luther, mar- 
ried Miss Mary Lowther. daughter of the late Maxwell and 
Mrs. Matilda Lowther (now Mrs. McGregor) and went to 
Oregon, v/here they now live. 



^The name Egypt orif^inatecl from the fact that much corn was raised 
here in early lime^J, and when the citizens of the Harrisville vicinity 
came down to buy, one of the wives of tlie old settlers said: "Oh! you 
Israelites have come to Egypt to get corn, have you?" hence the name. 



508 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COLWTV 

Harvey B. McCollum came from Pennsylvania in his 
young manhood, near the year 1854:, and married Miss Kath- 
erine ^IcKinney, daughter of Jacob ]\IcKinney, and is still a 
familiar ligure of the to\vn. He has been the Secretary of the 
Board of Education of Grant district almost throughout the 
history of the free school system. 

He is the father of two sons, and one daughter; viz., W'm. 
AlcColluni, and Aliss Emma, who is one of the successful 
teachers of the county, and Dr. Reilly ]\IcCoilum, of St. IMarj'-'s. 

Jacob Hatfield was born in Greene county, Pennsylvania, 
on ^lay 13, 1818, of Scotch-English parentage. He was the 
son of Jiicob Hatfield, senior, and his mother's maiden name 
was Aliss ]kIondell. Both lived and died in Pennsylvania. 

In 18-10, he was married to Aliss W'i-helmina Everhart, 
who was also born in Greene county, on October 26, 1820 , and 
shortly alter their marriage, they came to West A'irginia, and 
settled near Aliddlebourn in Tyler county : and from there they 
came to Cairo in 185?, and took up their residence on the old 
homestead, near one mile east of the town where their son, 
Jacob, now lives, and where they saw the last of earth. She, 
in 1895, and he, on February 9, 1902. Both rest in the Egypt 
cemetery, near their old home. 

Air. Hatfield was long prominent in public aftairs. He 
served as magistrate at the time the magistrates formed the 
County court ; and was a member of the Board of Supervisors 
that laid the county ofif into districts. He was also a member 
of the body that organized the State of A\'est Virginia, he and 
John P. Harris being the delegates from this county. He gave 
the grounds for the Cairo Baptist church and was one of its 
chief builders and pillars. He also played c. liberal part in the 
building of the Central Baptist church at Goff's. 

He was the father of the following named children : Hon. 
Samuel Hatfield. ex-State Senator, and Jacob, already men- 
tioned, Cairo : the late Dr. F. P. of Parkersburg, who also oc- 
cupied a seat in the Legislature, from Wood county ; Cephas. 
of ^Marietta ; Abner Hatfield, and Mrs. Thomas Fordham, 
GoflF's : Mrs. Benjamin Phillips, Rusk ; and Mrs. ]\Iadison 
Lambert, Ellenboro. 

Samuel Hatfield is the one member of *his familv that has 



CAIRO 509 

taken an active part in the public affairs of the county. He 
was bora in Tyler county, in 184:2, and with his parents came 
to this county at the age of ten years. He married Miss Cin- 
derilla Phillips, and is the father of two daughters, the late 
Mrs. Mary (B. F.) Twyman, and Mrs. VVilhelmina Cokeiey, 
of Cairo. He filled the offices of assessor and of Commissioner 
of the County court; and in 1904, was elected as State Senator 
from the third Senatorial district: and at the session of 1907, 
he served as a member of the following committees : On 
County and Municipal corporations; on Militia; on Immigra- 
tion and Agriculture ; to examine Clerk's offices, and was chair- 
man of the one on Federal Relations. 

J. R. Sigler, who was so long identified with the business 
affairs of this town, came to this county from Evansville, 
Preston county in 1849; ]:)Ul later went to Gilmer county 
where he was engaged in the tannery business, at Glenville, 
at the breaking out of tlie Civil war; but in 18()"?, he returned 
to Harrisville where he remained until the time of the build- 
ing of the "Calico railroad" when he came to Cairo. Here he 
was engaged in the mercantile business for many years, and 
here he passed from earth ; but in the Harrisville cemetery he 
slumbers. He was first married to Miss Mary Stevens, daugh- 
ter of Israel Stevens of Taylor countv, who died in 1847 leav- 
ing two sons, John W., who lost his life in the Union cause, on 
the Lynchburg raid ; and J. J. Sigler, of Harrisville. His second 
wife was Miss Jane Moats, daughter of Jacob Moats, of Cairo, 
and she w^as the mother of the following named children: Ella, 
late wife of H. P. McGregor, of Wheeling, and mother of H. 
E. McGregor, of Cairo ; Mattie, is the widow of the late Dr. 
J. R. Lowry. of Parkersburg; Myra is Mrs. Charles E. Batson, 
of Cairo; Cora, Airs. Thurston Coffman, of Parkersburg; Ollie, 
Mrs. Frank Gaylord, of Clarksburg; Addie was the late wife of 
the Rev. Mr. Beard, of the Presbyterian church ; George P., is 
the druggist at Pennsboro ; and Walter was killed by the train 
in his boyhood. 

The name of Carroll has long had a prominent association 
with the history of this town, though few members of the 
family yet remain here. 

Sanford Bartlett Carroll was one of the early pedagogues 



510 HISTORY OF RITCHIE COUNTY 

of the to>vn. He was born in Harrison county, on January 27, 
1814, but with his parents removed to Doddridge county in his 
youth, or in his early manhood. He married Miss Mary Flint, 
who was born at Hartford, Vermont on July 13, 1825, and who 
with her parents resided in Wood county at the time of her 
marriage. She was a school-teacher, also, and while thus en- 
gaged in Ritchie county she met Mr. Carroll and on Sunday, 
September 2^, 1845, they were married at the home of James 
Terry, by the late Rev. James L. Clarke. 

Mr. Carroll at that time owned a farm on Arnold's creek 
in Doddridge county, and there the first few years of their 
married life were spent; and from there they removed to Cairo 
in the early fifties : and, here, he passed from earth at a ripe 
old age. Mrs. Carroll survived until August 11, 1907, when 
the lamp of her life went out at the home of her daughter, Mrs. 
C. E. Haddox, at Aloundsville. Both sleep at Cairo. 

They were the parents of the following named children : 

Lydia, the eldest, died at the age of two years. 

Chapman married Miss Jennie Merchant, and died a num- 
ber of years ago leaving two children : George F. resides at 
Fairmont. Caroline is the wife of the Rev. W. A. Echols, of 
the Presbyterian church of Ohio : Sanford B., junior, died in 
1898, and Charles, too, has passed on ; Ellen is the widow of 
the late C. E. Haddox, of Moundsville ; and Emma is ]\lrs. 
Stonewall Taylor, of Parkersburg. 

The Carrolls are of Irish descent and they probably first 
settled in the Maryland colony upon their arrival in Amer'ca. 

Charles Carroll, the last surviving signer of the Declara- 
tion of Independence, who died at Baltimore on November 14, 
1832, wa'^; born at Annapolis, Maryland, in 1737. 

And his Cousin, John Carroll, was the first Roman Catho- 
lic Bishop in the United States. He too, was a native of Mary- 
land, and doubtless belongs to this same family. 

William. Carroll, the father of Sanford B. Carroll, and his 
wife Lucmda Mott Carroll, were both natives of the "Old 
Dominion" and there they grew to maturity and married ; and 
from there they emigrated to what is now Harrison county 
where the most of their family were born. 

They died at Cairo at the home of their son, he, on Avigust 



CAIRO 511 

15, 1864, at the age of eighty-three ; and she, on December 15, 
18T6, aged eighty-five years. Both sleep at Cairo. 

Haddox, — Three generations of the Haddox family have 
figured i:i the history of this town, but as a sketch of the older 
generation appears elsewhere, we shall only mention the fam- 
ily of the late Harrison B. Ha