(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Salem and the immediate vicinity : Columbiana County, Ohio"

Gc I i;v-' ^' 

977.102 

Sa32h 

1164603 

J 



QENEIALOGY COLLECTION 



^c 



fj 



,M„'!'V,SlV-,S?^^'^ni''^^V'P^ 



3 1 



BRARY 



833 02279 43 



« I 







GECRGE D. HUNT. 



HIST^ORY 



-OF- 



SAI.EM 



AND THE IM:]VIEDIAXK VICINl'PV. 



Columbiana Goiint.y, Ohio 



By GEORGE D. Hi 'XT. 



SALEM, OHIO : 

1898 



PRESS OF 

THE A. K. TATEM LABEL COMPANY 

SALEM, OHIO. 



C W GAKVER BINDER 



F»RE1KAGE1 H6460a 



History and l)io<j^raphy have always been favorite 
topics of literature with the author of this book, and 
he feels convinced that many persons are equally 
concerned in the same kind of intellectual entertain- 
l^'ment. When history is of such a character as to 
^ point a moral for the reader, his attention to it must 
^ . be a source of benefit to him. Local history has a 
' special interest when it relates to the home and vicin- 
ity of the reader, who then, has a better chance to 
judge of its veracity. All people are, in some degree, 
inquisitive. Their own personal history, and that 
of their neighbors and ancestors, they like to know. 
The gratification of this inquisitiveness is often a 
source of something more than mere pleasure to the 
-inquirer. While he knows what his present con- 
'"^dition and circumstances are, he can imagine what 
the}^ might have been had he lived in former days. 
— r^And then the question may be asked — w^hat would 
^he have been and done if he had lived in earlier times? 
History tells about the situation, and other condi- 
tions of people different from those of the present 
dav. We learn about their toils and ambitious 
schemes; some of which were crowned with success, 
while others w^ere signal failures. A wise penson 
learns good lessons from failures as well as from suc- 
cessful efforts. Defeat is said to be '*a school in 
which truth grows strong." It suggests these 
inquiries: 1st. Was the undertaking a possibility? 



4 PREFACE. 

2nd. Were adequate means applied so as to make it 
a success? 3rd. What agencies, and, how applied, 
would have accomplished the work? In the experi- 
ence of others we may see something that we may 
imitate; something that we should avoid; and some- 
thing that will suggest originality. 

The history of Salem and its vicinity shows how a 
vast wilderness has been transformed into a pros- 
perous and wealthy city, and much of the domain 
into productive farms. Many of the young people 
of both sexes, who have been born and raised here 
will not be content to remain here, but w411 go west 
where they will expect to get land at a low price, and 
then grow in prosperity with the place of their choice 
for a home. What our pioneers have done will be 
examples for them to imitate; and perhaps improve- 
ment on them can be made by adventurers from our 
city. 

Much of this history is the fruit of the author's 
observations; much he has learned from the early set- 
tlers with whom he has had acquaintance; and while 
some has been gathered from other sources, due 
credit thereto is given. Where the language of 
other individuals is copied quotation marks are given. 
In some instances, however, a few words were neces- 
sarily changed. Some items have been copied from 
The Columbiana County History. To Samuel Chessman 
acknowledgement is due for his account of the rail- 
road enterprise; and to Rev. G. C. Schoeneman for 
the same about the Catholic church; and also to cer- 
tain others for information about the other Christian 
churches. Prof. Southworth, Charles W. Harris, 
Samuel J. Chisholm, and some others have given 
important help. 



PKKKACK. 5 

For errors, only a reasonable apology is craved, 
(jratitiide is due to all who have jj^ivm aid or cin-onr- 
a.Li"ement in any way for this work. 

So, if some moral it shall teach. 
In hearts which it may haply reach, 
Some satisfaction it will seem ; 
The author then his work may deem, 
Not wholly done in vain, nor lost. 
Excepting- monetary cost. 

Salem, O., 1898. 



NoTE--The county .seat of Columbiana was first named New Lisbon, but Jt was 
Kenerally known a^ "Lisbon." Witliin a few years tlie lawful luime has lieen 
changed to • Li>bon." Hence in this book it is given by botli nsinits. 



OOINTTIEII^TS 



CHAPTER 


P/iGE 


I. 


—Settlements . . . . . . 


\ 9 


IL- 


—Character and Habits of the Settlers 


17 


III.- 


—Salem in Former Da3'S and its Prog-ress . 


28 


IV. 


—The Post Office 


40 


V. 


—Schools and Education . . 


44 


VL 


— The same continued ..... 


. 55 


VIL 


— Relio-ious History ..... 


,63 


VIII. 


— The same continued 


82 


IX.- 


—Religious History concluded . . . 


91 


X. 


— The Printing- Press . . . . 


100 


XI.- 


—The same continued ..... 


108 


XII. 


—The Printing- Press concluded . 


114 


XIII.- 


—Manufacturers ...... 


119 


XIV. 


— The Mercantile Business .... 


130 


XV. 


—The Abolition Campaig-n .... 


. 137 


XVL 


— The Medical Profession . . . ; 


147 


XVIL- 


—The Leg-al Profession .... 


154 


XVIII.- 


—Secret Societies ..... 


157 


XIX. 


—Banks ....... 


163 


XX. 


-The Railroad 


167 


XXI. 


—Public Organizations and Public Works. 


172 


XXII.- 


—Anecdotes and Miscellanies 


186 


XXIII.- 


—Cemeteries ....... 


200 


XXIV.- 


—Military Record .".,... 


203 


XXV. 


— Necrolog-y of Prominent Persons 


222 



xx-:XjTJsa?i^^L.Tic:bTs 



(Teorg-e D. Hunt ( Front ispirre) . 

Friends' Meeting- House, Dry Street 

Hig-h School Edifice 

Reuben McMillan . 

William D. Henkle 

Prospect Street School Edifice 

John Flitcraft 

Disciple Church, Ellsworth Street 

Presbyterian Church, East Green Street 

German Lutheran Church, South Lund}- Street 

John Hudson . 

Jonathan K. Rukenbrod 

Joel Sharp 

Zadok Street . 

Deming Co. Manufactory 

Salem K R. Depot . 

Home for Aged Women . 

Norman B. Garritfues . 



PACK 

facing title 
Opposite page . 1.^ 



45 
4'> 
5f) 
M 
77 
<S5 

<n 

')5 
112 
117 
126 
131 
lf)4 
1()9 
1S4 
221 



CHAPTER I. 

vSETTLEMlCNTS. 

I HE history of Salem dates from the year 1S(U. 
Samuel Smith had previous to this time 
entered and settled on the section of which the south- 
west corner was marked hv what is now the crossiuiT 
of Main and Klls worth streets. His lo^ cabin was 
huilt somewhere near the residence of Joseph E. Post. 
His house became a stopping" place for ])ersons who 
came to explore the land. Samuel Davis came at this 
time and bought the section, or a ])art of it, of Smith ; 
and he afterwards entered the second section east of 
it. A part of this is now owned by a grand daughter 
(the widow of Isaac Thomas). Samuel Davis settled 
on the land that is now nearly covered by a part of 
Salem. Much of this he cleared and put into a tillable 
condition. Other pioneers soon followed; amongst 
\\ hom was Elisha Hunt, from Brownsville, Pa. In a 
letter written by him about the year 1870, he said, ' ' In 
the year 1803, I was where Salem now stands; it was 
then a wilderness — no roads — no wagon had ever been 
there. Now we see a beautiful town, fine farms, 
good houses, railroad cars running daily at the speed 
of thirty miles an hour, where it required the whole 
day to go that distance thirty years ago. " 

It was about this time that Ohio was admitted 
into the Union as a state. Previously it was known 
as "The Territory north-west of the Ohio river." 
The land office for this part of the territory was at 
Steubenville. Land was then entered for speculation 
as often as for settlement. Government land could 



10 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

not be purchased in quantities less than a section. 
Some sections had more "than one owner before actual 
settlers had possession of them. Sometimes two or 
more persons put their money together, and with it 
entered a section which they afterwards divided; 
sometimes to make settlements, or, for further spec- 
ulation. 

In 1803 Jonas Cattell and Klisha Hunt entered the 
section bounded on the east and south sides hj what 
is now Kllsworth and West Main streets. In divid- 
ing J. Cattell took the north half, and gave it to his 
son I)noch, who built a log cabin on it and commenced 
clearing off the native forest. He and his wife both 
died soon afterwards leaving an infant son, Jonas D. 
Thomas French was appointed guardian for him, and 
on attaining maturity he assumed possession, and 
there he passed the most of his life. He became an 
intellisrent and well informed man. He served as 
justice of the peace several years, and two terms in 
the state senate, besides filling some minor offices, 
and he took much interest in public affairs. 

E^lisha Hunt sold the west half of his portion to 
George Baum, Sr., who settled on it, and there passed 
the remainder of his life. He raised several children 
— a few of whose descendants remain in the neigh- 
borhood of Salem. In 1805 or 1806 ^adok Street, Sr., 
bought K. Hunt's land. His son, John, kept a store 
in New Lisbon about a year and then moved to Salem. 
He bought an acre of John Straughan^" for twelve 
dollars. This was at v/hat is now the corner of Main 
and Depot streets. There he erected a log dwelling 
and a store room, and opened the first store in the 
place. Years afterwards it was superseded by a 
brick building that still stands. 

-This spelling was used by this branch of the family, others spell itStrawn. 



i 



shtttj:mknts. 11 

John Strau«^han and Zadok Street liavinj^- pur- 
chased adjoininj^ hinds, conceived the project of 
startintj^ a town. Whereupon a ph)t of land for this 
purpose was made, and inducements were offered for 
persons to come and settle here. This was in 1806. 
The town was named after Salem in New Jersey, 
from which the Streets came. As laid out it was on 
the four corners of four townships, namelv: (loshen, 
Green, Salem and Butler. Samuel Davis and Israel 
(laskill entered into the project. The latter had 
purchased and settled on land in the north-west 
corner of Salem township. Both of them furnished 

j_ additions to the town. These people were Friends 
(commonly called Quakers), and they thought that 
there must he j^round for a meetinjj^ house, and a 
place for huryinj^'- the dead. Wherefore Sam-uel Davis 
donated two acres on the north side of Main street; 
and Israel Gaskill as much on the south side. By this 
means the town was divided into two distinct parts, 
and continued so for many years. These worthy men 
evidently had but a vague idea of what size the town 
mi,L,rht become. 

'' Lots were sold, houses built, mechanics and other 
kinds of working people came and made their abode 
here; so that in a few years there were over a hundred 
people here. In 1808 and 1809 the first meeting house 
was built. A temporary log building had been occu- 
pied previously. It was for the Friends; and was on 
the south side of Main street, and situated a few^ rods 
back from the highway, and between what is now 
Broadway, and Depot street. When the masons went 
to their work (me morning they found the tracks of 
a bear that had passed over the foundation in the 
niu-ht, leavinij its marks in the mortar. The foun- 



12 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

dation of this building was not well laid; too many 
vsmall stones were used in it ; wherefore in about 
thirty-five years it showed signs of sinking so as to 
make cracks in the walls; then a new house was 
deemed necessary. And besides this fact more 
ground belonged to the society than was needed. And 
it could then be sold to good advantage for town lots. 
The house on Dry street was therefore erected. The 
first meeting in it was held on the 27th day of July, 
1845. This is a good structure and reflects much 
credit on the building committee who had charge of 
the work, especially David Fawcett. 

Robert French married Anna, a daughter of Zadok 
Street, Sr., and received as a dower the land bought 
from Klisha Hunt, except what w^as taken for town 
lots. This land he cleared, and built on it a saw 
mill. The dam and some vestiges of it are 3^et to be 
seen. This mill did much work in its time. Timber 
was then abundant; more so than the market for 
sawed lumber. 

Zadok Street, Sr., was an old man on his arrival 
in Salem. And but little is known about him after- 
wards. He died in 1807. His son, John, was then 
just in middle age; and he engaged in mercantile 
business at the center of the town, and continued at 
it until old age. When he was succeeded by his son, 
Zadok, Samuel, another son, took charge of a farm, 
on the vsouth side of the town. John, the ^^oungest, 
also had some interest in the store. The Streets 
^ere active business men, and their position in the 
Society of Friends gave them prestige with that 
class of people as well as some others. They owned 
some farms out in Goshen township. 

John Straughan and Job Cook bought the vsection 



skttij:mknts. 13 

from wliich tlio soutli-wi'st (jiiartcr of the town was 
formed. J. Straiii^rlian was a liard workiiiLi- and 
industrious man; and he raised two sons and three 
dau<^hters, who became j^ood and useful citizens; and 
they never did anythinj^ to dishonor the familv. 
Joseph, the oldest (me, occupied the h(miestead for 
some years and then went to Lisbon to take care of 
his aged father-in-law. Jesse, the secimd, became a 
civil enj^ineer and was enjj^atred in the survey of sev- 
eral railroads. 

In dividintr this section Job Cook took two-thirds 
on the south side. He subsequently sold one hundred 
acres from the south-west part of it to J(mathan Stan- 
ley, who settled thereon And rendered it a tj^ood farm. 
The section south of this was entered and settled bv 
Joseph Wri<rht. A part of it and a part of Job Cook 's, 
b(^rderin<^ on the road extendin<j^ south from Salem, 
was purchased and cleared by James Tollerton. It 
is now in possession of A. H. Phillips, whose wife is 
a ^rand-dautrhter, and Augustus H. Tollerton a grand 
son. The land on the east side of this road was set- 
tled by John Schooley and ^accheus Test. 

The second section west of Salem was entered and 
settled by John Blackburn, Sr. , who came from 
Pennsylvania. And it was inherited bv his sons, 
John, J. Armstrong and William. The last named 
was an officer in the war of 1812. Afterwards he 
served several terms in each branch of the Ohio Leg- 
islature. And he was appointed by President Van 
Buren land agent at Lima, ( ). There he passed the 
remainder of his life. His brothers remained on the 
land of their inheritance during all of their lives 
except that John was for a few years at Lima, The 
section south of this was entered and settled bv Hu'di 



14 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

BiirnvS. After his time and some changes it got into 
other hands. None of the original family or their 
descendants now occup}^ any part of it. 

The low ground, south of Salem, at that time was 
a swamp, covered with bushes and saplings; so that 
it was with much difficulty that a road through it 
w^as made. It had been a beaver pond, and being at 
the source of two streams, we see there an instance 
of the sagacity of these animals in choosing this 
place for their quarters. 

Israel Gaskill came in 1805, and bought the land 
now covered by the south-east corner of the city. 
He lived in his wagon till he got his cabin built. In 
this he dwelt till he built the brick house which still 
remains as an old land mark — on Lincoln avenue. 
Some of his grand-children are liov/ living in Salem. 

E)lisha Schooley came at an early date, bought land 
and built a grist mill and a saw mill, near the Lisbon 
road. Some vestiges of it are now to be seen, though 
the railroad passes over the place were the mills were. 
His vson, John, and son-in-law, Mahlon Hole, and 
some others took charge of these mills after his time. 
His son, William, also had a grist mill further down 
the stream. And still further down John Antrim 
had a saw mill and carding machine. Wm. Schooley' s 
mill was bought, rebuilt and carried on several years 
b}' Abraham Shinn. Out on what is now the Franklin 
Square road were lands owned by Abraham War- 
rington, Thomas Conn, John Hillard, Sr., and Henry 
Coy. 

Kast of Salem, and on the south side of the road 
were the farms of Jonathan Kvans, Nathan Ball, 
Jesse and Aaron Holloway. And on the north side, 
coming towards Salem were those of Wm. Hunt, 



skttlemp:nts. 15 

Samuel Farquhar, David Painter and David Fawcett; 
allot' them respectable farmers. Jacob Painter came 
in 1S()2 and settled on the land now owned bv Joseph 
E. Post. He had seven children who settled in that 
nei<^hborhood. They were all exemplarv Friends. 

In 1S03 John Webb settled ( n the section north of 
Samuel Davis's. He had a numerous familv. wIk* set- 
tled in the neij^^hborhood; vso that at one time there 
was a whole section of Webbs. Some of them are 
vet livinjjj" in and near Salem. 

Abraham Warrin^tcm settled on land north of that 
recently owned by Jonas D. Cattell. He had two scms 
and four daughters — none of whom are now livintr, 
but there are some descendants among- the Hunts and 
Bonsalls. Michael Stratton also settled on this sec- 
tion. He came from New Jersey in the time of the 
lirst' settlements here. He had a lar^^e familv; some 
of whose descendants are now well known in Salem. 
These two families were prominent and exemplary 
Friends. 

The second secticm w^est of Salem and in Goshen 
township was entered b}^ Thomas Hutton, and bv 
him sold to Joseph England (north-west quarter), 
Enoch Gause (south-west quarter), and Isaac Bar- 
ber, "Sr. (south-east). These individuals settled (m 
the land thus purchased and converted it into good 
and productive farms. Isaac Barber died a few 
vears after settling on this land. His sons Abram 
and Isaac remained thereon, and were well Knoun 
in and about Salem. The same might be said of 
Joseph PJngland. Isaac Barber moved from his 
paternal inheritance and Jacob Thomas bought it. 
Jacob Barber, another brother, lived some years on 
this quarter vSection. 



16 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

"To attend elections in the several townships the 
inhabitants of Salem and vicinit}^ went to the town 
meeting's in four different directions. Januar}^ 8th, 
1830, the town of Salem was incorporated, and the 
election for officers of the incorporation w^as held in 
that place. The civil divisions being inconvenient 
and the occasion of confusion, the people of Salem 
petitioned the commissioners of the county to form a 
separate township, to be called Perry. -The town- 
ship w^as set off in accordance wnth the petition in 
1832."* 

-Coliinibiana County History. 



CHAPTER 11. 

CHAKACTKK AND HABITS OF THE SKTTLKKS. 

I IIK Hrst people of this town and vicinity were, 
_L with few exceptions, industrious and fruj^al 

in their habits. Their situation and circumstances 
rendered these qualities absolutely necessary. Many 
of the comforts and conyeniences, that are now readily 
obtained, were then unknown, or not to be had in any 
way. Gi^ods that are now imported by railroad, 
were then broug^ht in waj^^^ons from eastern cities. 
The facilities of transportation have called out much 
in<;renuity in inventors and manufacturers for supply- 
in*;^ the natural and artificial wants of the people; of 
which wants our forefathers were in blissful iirnor- 
ance. The cost of all imported goods was then <;^reat. 

A man who then possessed a wagon covered with 
strong tow canvass, and six horses, was an important 
character. With such teams, goods were often 
brought from Pittsburgh, and sometimes from Phil- 
adelphia and Baltimore. In the same manner country 
produce was often sent from this region to those 
cities. 

The old fashioned taverns were a great contrast 
with modern hotels. In them refreshment and enter- 
tainment could be had in many forms, to suit the 
customer, however small his wants might be. This 
might be only a dram, or a check (a cold dinner or 
-upper), to be had for twelve and a-half cents. 

Wagoners were important customers at these 
hostelries. They carried a feed trou^rh that, in trav- 



18 HISTORY OF SAIvEM. 

eling, was swung across the hind end of the wagon, 
and fixed on the tongue when the horses were to be 
fed. For beds they had mattresses that were spread 
on the bar-room floor. And they were readily rolled 
up and placed in the wagon on departure. On the 
national turnpike sometimes ten teams, or more, 
would pass a night at one tavern. If there was a 
person among them, or one at the place, who could 
play the fiddle, they would have "a stag dance;" that 
is one without females. The wagoner was a character 
in those days. 

It is true that drunkenness then was not uncom- 
mon. But the liquor then furnished was the genuine 
"Old rye." Lager beer and drugged liquors were 
then unknown, and equally unknown were delirum 
tremens and mania a potu. In the harvest field, and 
when buildings were raised " Black Betty " was 
often passed around; and there werepeople who would 
not help at such times without this stimulant. But 
when temperance reformation commenced Salem was 
one of the foremost places in this good work. 

The first object of a settler was to build a log 
cabin, and commence clearing his land. When the 
timber and underbrush were cut off the ground and 
burned, a crop of wheat could sometimes be raised 
without plowing the ground. But it required several 
years for the roots to rot so that plowing could be 
easily done. 

New roads, especially through the woods, were 
often very muddy. On low lands they were more so. 
As a remedy trees were cut and laid across the roads, 
and then covered with dirt dug from the sides, so 
as to form ditches. As the land was cleared, it 
held less water and then better roads could be had. 



CHARACTER AND HABITS OF THK SETTLKRvS. 19 

From thivS cause also, many streams, that once 
afforded water enoii^^h to run a mill, became so dimin- 
ished in amount of water as not t<» furnish a suffi- 
ciency for that ]')urpose to keep a mill ,L,^()in;^^ h>nj^'" 
enouj^h to reward its attention, even if custom were 
not lackinj^. 

The first settlers brou^^^ht with them the social 
and domestic customs of their native places; and by 
the conglomeration of these the j^^eneral character of 
the place was formed. From Pennsylvania came the 
Barbers, Blackburns, Boones, Burnses, Cattells, 
Cookes, Davises, En<j^lands, Kvanses, Heacocks, 
Hunts, Jennintj-s, Straughans, Thomases, and many 
others — more than from any other state. From New 
Jersey came the Balls, Frenches, (jaskills, Hilliards, 
Swainis, Tests and Warringtons. From Virginia 
came the Fawcetts, Holloways, Painters, Stanleys, 
Schooleys and Wrights. From Maryland came the 
Bentleys, Silvers, Webbs and Zimmermans. When 
the settlement had got a good start some came from 
other states, and some foreigners; — from England, 
Ireland and Scotland. 

"House building, which will include all classes of 
structures made of wood, iron, stone and brick, either 
alone or combined, and intended for any use which 
may subserve the necessities or happiness of man, in 
the present state of civilization and enlightenment, 
is a department of human industry that has claimed 
an important place, in all nations and at all times, 
whenever and wherever man has been raised out of 
savage or nomadic barbarism, and occupied a fixed 
residence, and laid the foundation for a house, with 
its refinements and endearments, its privileges and 
opportunities. The houses built and used l)y early 



20 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

vsettlers were rude in structure, and plain in appear- 
ance, built chiefly of wood, w4th but little expense ; 
many of the pioneers being both architects and build- 
ers, m planning and constructing their houses and 
barns. The buildings in a countr^^ town or cit}^ indi- 
cate not the w^ealth alone, but the refinement and 
taste, the modes of thought and the intelligence of 
the people. The relative expense of building house 
and barn, and the care and attention given to each, 
speak to the observant stranger in language not to 
be misunderstood, of the tendencies and aspirations 
of those who build and occup}^ the same. If the chief 
care and expense is bestowed on the house, the owner 
has chief regard for his family; if upon the barn, for 
his stock, grain and profits."* 

Barns and stables in early times were built in much 
the same manner as houses — of unhewed logs. A 
plank floor for a barn could not be had till saw mills 
were set in operation. Threshing was done with a 
flail, on a barn floor, making a sound, once heard, 
would always be remembered. 

Most of the clothing, then worn, was home-made. 
There were women who could cut, fit, and make a 
ofarment that suited the wearer as well as anv that 
is now sold in clothing stores; and it was generally 
substantial. Fashions were not then as closely fol- 
lowed as now. It was not till some time in the 
thirties that fashion plates were to be seen in tailor 
shops. 

A log cabin was a quaint structure. When timber 
was plenty, it was easy to build one. A stone was 
placed at each corner for a foundation, the logs were 
cut to a proper length, and hauled to the place. The 

'■■Upper Ohio Valley History. 



CHARACTKR ANI> HAIUTS OF THK SKTTLKKS. 2\ 

two foiiiulation l()*4-s were then pkiced and "saddles " 
made on their ends; that is, they were sliced in a 
slopin'^r manner, so as to lit into notches that wonld 
he cut into the lo^s that would be placed across form- 
inju;- the other two sides of the l)iiildin<j;'. These then 
would he fixed in the same manner for the next two. 
Thus the corners were made and kept as near j)er- 
pendicular as possible. When the structure was hij^h 
enouj^di, the end h)trs were made shorter and heveled 
so as to form a *rahle. These were connected to the 
opposite end hy smaller loj^s called ' 'rihs; ' ' and < >n these 
the clap-hoards were placed. The last loj^'-s before 
the j^able were some l(m<j;-er than those under it, so as 
to have a small lo^r on each side to keep the clap 
l)()ards from slipping off. These were kept in place 
by weight poles, between which billets of wood called 
"knees, " were placed to keep them from slidintjf down- 
ward. Sometimes these cabins were built two stories 
hij^di. The upper story would be reached by a ladder. 
If there was a saw^ mill in the neighborhood, boards 
would be used for doors and floors. Otherwise the 
floors were made by splitting logs into halves, and 
hewing the flat sides smooth. And these were placed 
on sills. For a chimney a few logs w^ere cut off" in 
the middle at one end so as to leave an opening, about 
six feet wide. There a chimney was built of stones 
and mortar. If stone was not plenty, a few logs 
were cut to a proper length and fitted into those of 
the main building. Inside these some st(mes were 
plastered over with mortar, and a pen of sticks, about 
two inches square, and well plastered formed the 
upper part. Inside the structure wooden pins stuck- 
into the walls and clap-boards laid on them made 
shelves t<> hold the household utensils. The l(»wer 



22 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

story (often there was only one) served for kitchen, 
dining room, and often lodging room too. When the 
family had enough bed quilts some of these would be 
used to make a partition between the beds. There 
were no "Jack Peepers " then, and the modesty of 
these people was not of the Pharisaical kind. 

As time advanced the log cabin gave way to the 
hewed log house, in which sawed lumber was used 
for floors, partitions and some other parts of the 
edifice, and it was covered with a shingle roof. Next 
frame and brick houses were built, of such commodi- 
ousness as to accommodate the family amply. And 
then taste and style began to be especially mani- 
fested. 

Timber was abundant at that time in this region, 
and it was of the best quality. Oak, beech, poplar 
and cucumber prevailed. Some of the poplars were 
five feet in diameter at the butt and were fifty up to 
the first branch. Sugar maple also abounded. Many 
people made several hundred weight of sugar each 
season. Within three miles of Salem were about 
twenty saw mills. These had the old fashioned 
up-and-down saws. They were slow compared with 
the modern portable works with circular saws. 
Much good timber that would be of great value now 
was then destroyed, because the ground on which it 
grew was needed for farming purposes; and used 
thus it produced niore wealth than the sale of the 
timber, at that time. 

Flax was raised in this region at an early date. It 
was dried, rotted, and then broken by a machine that 
would now be a curiosity. It was then "scutched " 
to separate the tow from the better part. Use was 
found for the tow. The flax thus dressed was spun 



CHARACTER AM) HABITS OF THK SKTTLKKS. J.> 

and woven into linen that served for makinj:^ sheets, 
shirts and sometimes pantaloons. Sheep were kept 
and their wool (most of it) was used at home. It was 
dyed, carded, spun and woven near at home. There 
were then persons who had looms on which thev made 
cloth passable for the pioneers. With manv families 
all of the tailorinj^f- and dress-makint>^ was done at 
home. 

The time has been when tailors and shoemakers 
went from house to house, and at each of them had 
their board, and got their wages for furnishing each 
member of the family with their line of business. 
This was called " Whipping the cat." Women, too, 
who were good spinners, and unmarried, sometimes 
got employment and a temporary home in the same 
manner. Hence spinster and old maid became svnony- 
mous. Salem has been a progressive place; hence 
these customs and classes of industry became obsolete 
at an early time. 

The author of the following poetry is not known. 
It was first published some time in the thirties. Could 
we look back to the years of 1808, and a few of the 
following, its counterpart might be seen in the neigh- 
borhood of Salem. There are no prairies in this part 
of Ohio, but, " Buckeye cabins, " like this, were then 
numerous. Such entertainment, as is here described, 
was then frequently offered to strangers. Among 
the early .settlers land was often best known bv 
"range, and quarter sections." Hunting exploits 
were then often the subject of their " Winter evening 
tales," at their neighl)orly visits: 

"Sometimes in traveling throug-h the West, 
A stranger finds a Hoosier's nest; 
In other words a Buckeye cabin. 



24 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Just big- enoug-h to hold Queen Mab in ; . 
Its situation low, but airy, 
Close on the borders of a prairie. 
And fearing- he should be benig-hted, 
He hailed the house and then alig-hted. 
The Hoosier meets him at the door ; 
Their salutations soon are o'er : — 
He takes the strang-er's horse aside, 
Which quick is to a sapling- tied ; 
And having- stripped the saddle off, 
He feeds him in a sug-ar troug-h. 

The stranger stoops to enter in — 
The entrance closing- with a pin ; 
And manifests a strong- desire, 
To seat him by the log- heap fire ; 
Where half a dozen Hoosieroons, 
With mush and milk, tin cups and spoons, 
Besmeared hands and dirty faces, 
Seem much inclined to keep their places. 
But madam anxious to display 
Her roug-h but undisputed way. 
The young-sters to the ladder led. 
And cuffed them quickly up to bed. 

Invited shortly to partake 
Of venison, "bar," and Johnny cake. 
The stranger makes a heart}' meal. 
While round him anxious glances steal . 
One side is hung with coats and garments, 
The other lined with skins of " varmints." 
Three dogs are stretched upon the floor, 
Three guns are placed above the door. 
The host who centers. his affections 
On game and range and quarter sections, 
Talks to his guest till midnig-ht hours ; 
And then he yields to Somnus' powers. " 

Sociabilit}' and hOvSpitality were prominent traits 
of character in these pioneers. The}' welcomed a 
newcomer, especially if he showed indications of 
making a desirable neighbor. The}- were seldom 



CHARACTER AND HABITS OF THIO SKTTLKKS. 25 

unwilling to help their neitrhhors in time of need. 
For a lotr r()]lin«^^ or the raisin<r of a hiiildinjj^ it was 
seldom difficult to t^ather thirty or forty people to 
help about it. And in return a <rcn)d dinner and sup- 
per only were expected. People who thus rendered 
help, heinjjf entitled to the same in return. And they 
were not often eaj^er to demand it. Sometimes the 
vounLT men felt hcmored in havin«^r a chance to ^ive 
their help, and exhibit their jLrr()win<;f- stren*j;-th and 
activity, at a raising. 

In raising a log- building four expert men were 
chosen for "corner men." Their business was to fit 
the logs at the corners by ' ' notches and saddles, ' ' so 
that these parts would be straight up frcmi the 
foundation. Other men shoved up the logs (m skids. 

As Salem increavsed in population and importance, 
mechanics and other artisans found employment here. 
There were carpenters, blacksmiths, cabinet-makers, 
hatters, tailors and shoemakers. These were the 
principal of that class, and they had their shops for 
their business. And those who were master work- 
men, had some journeymen and apprentices. The 
old way of binding an apprentice to serve a term of 
years to learn a trade was then in vogue; and while 
a matter of curiosity to some people of this day, it 
affords matter for thought. The time has been when 
a term of seven years was deemed necessary for this 
purpose; and was expected to make a complete work- 
man. But latterl}^ the time has been shortened, but 
it has always ended at the age of twenty-one for 
males, and eighteen for females. The apprentice- 
ship faithfully served, and an hcjnorable discharge 
gave a young man a good prestige of employment 
afterwards. 



26 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

During a term of apprenticeship the master was 
required to furnish the apprentice good and whole- 
some food, lodging, and clothing, and a certain 
amount of schooling, and to teach him the craft and 
mystery of the trade. The apprentice was required 
to serve his master faithfully, to treat him and his 
family with due respect, not to embezzle his goods, 
or say or do anything to the injury of his business; 
and not to go to any places of dissipation. At the 
close of the term of service, if all conditions were 
faithfully kept, the apprentice was to have an outfit, 
which usually was a new and good suit of clothes, a 
Bible, and, in some instances, a set of tools of a 
specified value Some young men thought the term 
of service too long. And when they deemed them- 
selves proficient in the business, it appeared hard for 
them to continue Vv'^orking for only their board; 
wherefore they ran off, and thus forfeited their outfit 
that would be due at maturity. Their masters then 
advertised them, forbidding any persons harboring 
or trusting them, on their account. Six cents, and, 
in some instances, only one cent, was offered as a 
reward for their return. 

The following are samples of indentures made and 
entered into in and near Salem: 

"November 29th, 1833, Aramintha Grist was 
indentured to Zadok Street. She was to be instructed 
in the art, trade, and mystery of housewifery; to be 
trained to habits of obedience, industry, and moral- 
ity; to be taught to read, write, and cipher as far as 
the single rule of three; to be provided for, and be 
allowed meat, drink, washing, lodging, and apparel 
for summer and winter. She was to live with him 
until she was eighteen years of age; and, at the expir- 



CHAKACTKK AM) HAiUTS OF THE SIOTTIJIKS. 



J/ 



ation of such service, he should ^rivo lier a new Hil)le 
and at least two suits o1 common wearin<^ apparel." 

"Mar}' Sheets was apprenticed to Alexander 
Burns. She was to have, at the expiration of her 
service, a new Bible, two suits of comuKm wearinj;^ 
apparel, a new bureau, one new wool wheel, and a 
new umbrella."* 

The Friends, at this time, ;L,^ave character to the 
town and surrounding^- country. Their meetin^^s were 
larj^rely attended. Their "Fourth day," uKmthlv, 
and quarterly meetint2:s were notable days in the 
town, and always the best days for the stores. 
Sociability and steady habits were then prominent 
traits of character with the people. Thev were 
mostly u;-enerous to stran^'-ers, and, with excepti(ms, 
lived within the bounds of their resources. The con- 
trast between that time and the present conveys a 
lesson by which the reader may profit. We see in it 
the progress of wealth and improvements, and, with 
it, their effects on the condition and habits of the 
people. The advancement of the town was slow 
until the railroad was built. Then a great, change 
came over it. Its past and prevsent suggest much 
for our thoughtvS. 



-Columbiana foiinly History. 



CHAPTER III. 

SALEM IN FORMER DAYS AND ITS PROGRESS. 

3N the History of Columbiana County "Recollec- 
tions of Salem in the early part of the fall of 
1809, " as it then appeared to James W. Leech, 
who is well remembered by some of our oldest inhab- 
itants, are given. 

"Mr., Leach was brought up in the family of 
Joshua Wright, who lived about four miles south- 
east, on the Lisbon road. In the fall of that year 
they went through what is now the city of Salem, 
on a visit to John Spencer, a son-in-law of Mr. 
Wright, who lived about two and one-half miles west 
of the town." 

" As they came from the south-east the first house 
that they met was IsraelGaskill's, situated on what 
is now Lincoln avenue (the present house and lot 
being the property of the heirs of Lewis Street); and 
at the place that the street intersects what is now 
Main street, which was then laid out, could be seen 
the log cabin of Samuel Davis. It stood in the posi- 
tion of the old brick house now owned by Mrs. S. 
Hiddleson. Turning into the Main street, the first 
dwelling was a log cabin, occupied by Price Blake 
as a house of entertainment, and was situated on the 
south side of the street, opposite the brick house, 
now marked No. lOL The next building was the 
brick meeting hoUvSe of the Friends, on the same side 
of the street, and near where the Whinery block 
now stands. Opposite stood a log school-house about 
18 bv 22 feet in size. Still farther west and on the 
north-side of the street was a hewed log cabin." 



SALKM IN FORMKK DAYS AM) ITS PROGRESS. 2*> 

"On the south side of the street lived John Street, 
in a h)^ cabin, in which he also kept a store. At 
this point the street intersected with the township 
lines, and a road ran alon<jf between the sections. A 
little further on was a lo*;' cabin, occupied bv Thomas 
Conn. Robert French was on the north side of Main 
street, and lived where his ^^rand-son, Robert, now 
lives. John Straui^han lived on the south side of the 
main street. Part of his homestead remains vet. It 
is on Sharp street. Job Cook lived south of this. 
Joseph Rhodes lived on a farm east of Job Cook's, 
now owned by Samuel Smith. Jonathan Stanley 
lived on land south of Job Cook's." 

The further pro^^ress of the town will be seen in 
the followinj.!^ sketch, which shows its appearance 
at the author's first acquaintance with it. These 
descriptions and its present appearance and pros- 
perity illustrate its slow but sure progress. 

SALEM IN 1830. 

Before the railroad was extended to Salem, more 
stran.i^ers came to the town by way of the Lisbon 
road than from any other direction. This was then 
tht? stage route. In later years the stage came by 
the wav of Franklin S([uare. On approaching the 
town, the first view of it was to be obtained in a 
place now within the borough limits, near what has 
been the residence of Mrs. Pow. Looking towards 
the north-west, the Friends' meeting house and the 
row occupied by Dr. Stanton and John Campbell 
could be seen. Some distant views of the town are 
now to be had from places fnnn which sight of it was 
then closed by the woods. A sugar camp then covered 
the lots south of this place, and on the west side of 



30 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

the road. On the other side of the road the native 
forest, partly cut down, covered a few acres. An 
orchard was at the junction of the Franklin Square 
road. Israel Gaskill's residence was a plain old 
fashioned brick house, which has since been much 
remodeled. Cultivated fields were on both sides of 
the road from the sugar camp to Main street, A 
little back from the corner where the Baptist church 
stands was the woolen factor}^ then owned and oper- 
ated Iw John Stanle3% and but recenth^ built. A saw 
mill was connected with it, and driven b}^ the same 
en.o^ine. This and the Canfield road marked the 
eastern boundary of the town. 

Across the Lisbon road from the factory was 
William Kidd's property. He lived in a small two- 
stor}^ log house, that stood a few rods back from the 
corner. A. B. Parquhar's residence is the second 
brick house that has been built on that lot. The log 
house was built by David Gaskill, Sr. , one of the 
earliest inhabitants. Adjoining this was the shop 
in which Mr. Kidd carried on wagon-making. It was 
a two-story frame with one end towards Main street. 
Between this and the Wilson property there was not 
more than one or two houses besides John Saxon's 
and William Chaney's. The latter stood where A. 
M. Carr's new store has been built. It was both 
dwelling and hatter shop. John Saxon's house was 
some rods back from the street. His occupation was 
weaving; while his son Joseph managed a tanner}', 
and, for some 3^ears, supplied the town with fresh 
beef; that is, except what they got from the farmers. 
Butchering was not then such a trade as it is now. 
Mr. Saxon was the pioneer in this trade, which has 
since become one of the most prominent in the town. 



SALKM IN FORMKR DAYS AND I TS I'RCMiRKSS. M 

Isaac Wilson then kcj)! the Western Hotel, a store, 
the postoffice and a tan yard. No vestij^es of it nor 
of Saxon's are now to be seen. His store was nian- 
a.sj;e(l by his son, William (t., who died in 1<S.>,S. 
Between this store and a brick house, occupied then 
by Benjamin Hawley, was a vacant lot, both of 
which are n;)w covered by the (Ireiner-Brainard hotel. 
Next was a long- one-story house with an end towards 
the street, and some vacant space (m each side. Then 
came Joseph Smith's blacksmith shop, and his frame 
house; from it, a lot that was sometimevS cultivated, 
extended to the Friends' property. Their lot extended 
to Depot street (not then named). It had horse sheds 
on three sides, and was entered by two gates from 
Main street, and In- one on the west side. This 
venerable meeting house (the first brick building 
erected in the town) was one of the most prominent 
objects in the place. In the rear of it, and about 
where Kopp's grocery store now is, was the school 
hoUvSe, of which Joseph Shreve wrote : . 

" Here long- to teach has been my toilsome lot ; 

Yet sweet endearment found in many a heart. 
While duties pressed, with various labors fraught, 

Knowledge to half a thousand to impart." 

When we consider the present attendance at the 
Uni(m Schools, now in this city, the instruction of 
"half a thousand" j)upils may be deemed a verv 
small task for ten years of teaching. Some distance 
farther south was a large barn, that was often the 
resort of juvenile Sabbath -breakers, who sometimes 
disturbed the Friends' and Baptist meetings. Fort- 
unately for the proprietor. Inciter matches were not 
then invented. 

John Street's store then did more business than 



32 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

any other in the place. The store and dwelling were 
then more isolated than now; and have been much 
altered since his time. His tanner}^ then did an exten- 
sive business. He bought a great deal of pork every 
winter; and dealt much in country produce. Between 
his store and the Baptist meeting house there were 
not more than one or two dwelling houses. The 
Baptists then worshipped in a small brick house. 
Their lot marked the southern limit of the town. 
Near the position of J. M. Stratton's lumber yard was 
a hewed log house in which lived Isaiah Bowker. 
" Old Bowker " was a character in those days. His 
emplo3"ment was hauling — with a team of crow-bait 
horses — and pettifogging some of the lawsuits that 
then occurred. In the south-west part of the town 
there were but few permanent residents; of these 
might be mentioned John Plitcraft, Geo. Fry, James 
W. Leach and Christian Harmon. The latter car- 
ried on a pottery. What is now Dry street then 
extended onh^ to the New Garden road, and was 
called Brindle street. 

John Street had a large garden that extended to 
the brick house west of it that still remains; — then 
occupied by Matthias Hester. Attached to it was a 
small frame house that he, at some time, had used for 
a tailor shop. Next house was the abode of Amos 
Silver. On the corner was Hester's little store. 
Across was William Heacock's tavern. His old 
fashioned sign, with a picture of a buck looking back 
over its shoulders, reminded of the time when this 
house of entertainment was first opened. His cabi- 
net shop was next, then Richard Heacock's house and 
shop that marked the west end of the town. Look- 
ing westward gave a view of the well cultivated 



SALKM IN FORMICR DAYS AM) ITS 1»RO(;rKSS. 33 

farms of Mr. John Strau*^lKin and Robert Krcnrli. 

David Gaskill's sqnare marked the end (»f wlial 
bordered on the north side of Main street. The 
most substantial parts of his buildint^ still remain. 
But they are much chanj^ed. There was a barn and 
some out-buildint^s on the scjuare. At the west end 
of the store was a small frame painted red, and ke])t 
closed, apparently as a memento of the business in 
which the owner commenced — boot and shoe-makint^. 
Half way between Gaskill's property and Green 
street was the residence of Jacob Beam, a shoemaker 
by trade, and a meek Methodist by persuasion. The 
brick building" across from Gaskill's was occupied by 
Thomas Spencer, who kept a small tavern. A part 
of it was occupied by Dr. D. Williams, who had a 
small drug store in his oflfice. (Toing eastward we 
next find the blacksmith shop of Amos Silver; then a 
log house, weather-boarded, which was occupied by 
Isaac Boone. The front room was his saddlery shop; 
and it had a small addition on the west side occupied 
by another familv. Part of it still remains having 
been subjected to manv changes. Between this and 
the KUsworth road was a large garden, in which 
Joseph Shreve sometimes employed himself in horti- 
culture when not engaged in mental culture. In the 
rear part, where now is a livery stable, was a two- 
story hewed log house, in which he dwelt with his 
two sisters — all of them unmarried. 

The Friends' property then divided the town into 
two distinct parts. That north of Main street was 
almost vacant. Opposite their meeting house, about 
where McMillan's book-store now is was an old hewed 
log school-house, the first erected in the place. Dur- 
ing some previous years it was the only place of 



34 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

scholastic education in the town. Several teachers 
there officiated. One of them was James Tollerton, 
who often used a kind of discipline that many parents 
of this day would not be willing- to have their young- 
hopefuls subjected. Family pride, and over- weening- 
parental affection now too often over-rule good judg- 
ment. 

Proceeding eastward we next find a frame row, 
only a little of which still remains, but is much 
altered. The west end was rented as a shop to 
different parties; the next door was John Campbell's 
saddlery shop; then his dwelling; then Dr. Stan- 
ton 's residence. He was then the principal physician 
in the place. His benevolent looks and genial aspect 
as he walked the streets, or rode on his errands of 
mercy to the afflicted (often in the most inclement 
weather), once seen, would always be remembered. 
His office was attached to the east end of his dwell- 
ing. It has since been separated and moved to Green 
street, and now forms the east half of No. 24. In 
this the doctor kept his medicines, and made his 
prescriptions; and, in it several persons studied, 
who afterwards became successful physicians. 

On the next corner was Amos Hawley's residence, 
then his shop (a small frame). He, at that time, 
was the prince of shoemakers in Salem. In his shop, 
some years before, a young man named Davis com- 
mitted suicide; the cause of which was said to be the 
same old stor3% often told, of disappointed love. He 
was buried in a corner lot of a grave-yard since made 
into building lots. An amusing stor}^ was told of 
some young doctors who exhumed his body for ana- 
tomical purposes. 

The next was a brick house occupied by Israel 



SALEM IN FORMKK DAYS AND ITS PROGRKSS. 35 

Beans; in a part of it he had his hattor shop. After 
a vacancy was Charles Jobes' chair shop, and a frame 
house occupied hv Jonathan Haines. The next was 
a two-story frame with the end to the street. Tliis 
was Anthon}' Taylor's ])low shop. From it a one- 
story row extended nearly to Lundy street. In one 
room of this Joseph (joulbourn commenced tailorinj;^, 
and, in another, J. J. Brooks opened his first law-office. 
A little back from Lundy street and adjoininjLJ^ this 
row was a two-story frame house with a carpenter 
shop in front. 1164603 

Across Lundy street was Jehu Pawcett's shop, a 
long- story and a-half building-. The sign of a spin- 
ning wheel on the front end indicated his business 
at that time. There was a small vacancy between 
it and his dwelling. Then came the residence of 
John Stanley (since that time much altered), and now 
owned by the heirs of Jacob Heaton. Adjoining- it 
then might be seen the charred remains of the factory 
that was burned a few years before. Next came 
Aaron Hise's blacksmith shop, and residence. The 
next was a large frame dwelling with a narrow front, 
and considerable back extension. It was owned by 
Richard Fawcett, Sr. The next was a large three- 
story brick building unfinished, without doors or 
windows on the front side. This was called "Schol- 
field's Castle. " A few rooms in the rear were finished 
and occupied by the proprietor, who had commenced 
to build on a grand scale, but was not al)le to finish. 
On the corner was a blacksmith shop, in which his 
son, Samuel, was the principal workman. 

The Canfield road was then the boundary of this 
part of the town. Across it was a cultivated field; 
and where the residence of C. F. Chalfant, Harris's 



36 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

printing establishment, and some other houses now^ 
are, was a grove that, a few years afterwards, was 
often used for pic-nics, political, and anti-slavery 
meetings. Some notable ones were there held. 

The old brick house, above thfe spring on Garfield 
avenue, was then the abode of Joshua Davis, who 
was then one of the most active business men of the 
place. It was then entirely out of the town, and the 
ground on the east and north of it was common farm 
land. Proceeding westward on Green street, the 
first houses on the south side were Daniel Bolton's 
shop and dwelling. The shop is now a dwelling. 
There was a vacancy between these and Nathan 
Hunt's residence. This, with its changes and addi- 
tions, is now the residence of Phebe J. Hunt, widow 
of Nathan Hunt, Jr. On the next corner was a small 
frame house. From the corner of Lundy to Chest- 
nut street there were only two frame houses; one of 
which was occupied by Jeremiah F. Dickinson. It 
still stands. The other was a small one in which Levi 
Flitcraft lived. Between Chestnut and Dllsworth 
street, the only building was the Hicksite Friends' 
meeting house. One of the original halves of it still 
stands, and is marked No. 24. 

Across the Kllsworth road, on the corner, was 
Levi Fawcett's cabinet shop. He was, at that time, 
the principal undertaker for the town and country 
around. Ready-made coffins were not then thought 
of here; and when a call for one was made, he was 
very prompt to respond. Often he was obliged to 
work at unusual hours. The sound of his hammer 
was often heard at midnight, or, while the devout 
people were sitting in meeting, producing a peculiar 
effect of solemnity from its association. Adjoining 



SAL KM IN FORiMKK DAYS AND ITS PROGRKSS. .^/ 

tills shop was Ainos K. Kimherly 's cardin*^ iiiacliine, 
driven by a tramp wheel, on which oxen were the 
motive power. His plain brick liouse was on the 
same side of this street. Ketiirnin^jf to Green street, 
we hnd but one buildin^f between L. Fawcett's shop 
and what is now Howard street, then called ^hu\ 
street. On this corner was a c(Mnmon dwellin^^ house 
occujned bv Isaac Webb. Makin«^ hats was his bus- 
iness. Across was a small frame house, and here we 
come to the end o( the town as it then was. 

Robert French's mill pond was then a ^^^rcat place 
for swimmin*^ in summer time, and skatinj;^ in winter. 
At these times the town boys had unlimited control 
of it, and often held hi^^h carnival there. Truant 
school bovs there wasted some of their precious 
time, and feats were performed on the ice, in which 
the actors felt as much pride as any of the champi(ms 
or queens of modern skating rinks. Some years before 
this time Simeon Fawcett, an apprentice to Levi 
Fawcett, was drowned in this pond. 

Return in t( eastward on the north side of Green 
street, we first find the residence of Hannah Test, 
which remains. She was the widow of one of the 
earlv settlers, and her eccentricities were notable 
in those days. Across the road was the brick house, 
in which William Reed lived, and then his shoemaker 
shop — a small frame. The next was Stephen Wis- 
ner's. He, for many years, was a justice-of-the- 
peace. On this lot was built the first frame house 
in the town. Mr. Wisner was a shoemaker by trade, 
and worked in D. Gaskill's store. There, when trade 
was brisk and customers thron^^, he assisted as sales- 
man. The next lot was occupied by the old Methodist 
meetin}^ house. It was a common hewed log struct- 



38 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

lire. Next to it was an old log house weather- 
boarded. An elegant house, built in modern st3de, 
now is in its place. The corner lot against the Ells- 
worth road was Levi Fawcett's residence. 

North of Green street, and east of the Kllsworth 
road was a vacant lot, belonging to the Friends. 
Their ground divided the town into two parts. The 
division in their societ}" had occurred a few years 
before this time; and there was a division of their 
property, by which the Orthodox party got that on 
the vsouth side of Main street, and the Hicksite — that 
on the north side. Next to their property was the 
lot and a small brick house, in which lived a respect- 
able woman of color, named Maria Britt. "'' 

The first district school-house was built in 1831, at 
the corner of Chestnut and Green street; previous to 
this the lot was entirely vacant. Across what is now 
Chestnut street was a small one-story brick house 
with an over jet. Between this and what is now Lundy 
street there were only one or two frame houses. 
There was a large open lot where the Presbyterian 
church stands. Here, during several subsequent 
3^ears, traveling menageries often pitched their tents. 

The next corner lot was then vacant, and on the 
next was a common two-story frame house, owned 
and occupied by John Hines. Between this and Wil- 
liam Ware's blacksmith shop were two common 
frame houses. His dwelling was one of them. His 
shop was a long frame building, with an end towards 
the street. He had much skill in heavy iron- work, 
and this gave him a great reputation in his line. 
Between this and the Canfield road, the lots were all 
vacant and remained so for several 3^ears. The lots 

••'See Anecdotes and Miscellanies. 



SAIJCM INF0KM1-:K days AM) ITS PROGRKSS. .V) 

north of (irccn street formed the l)ouiuUirv of that 

side of the town. Beyond them were cultivated 

fiekls. Samuel Davis's house stood isolated from all 

others. It is still somewhat isolated. It is between 

Ellsworth and West-School street, and north of Kast- 

Fourth. 

1>K()(1K1:SS (>K SALIC.M. 

The town of Salem was incorporated in 1832, and, 
in 1842, it contained a population of lOOO. Its munic- 
ipal affairs were then mana^^ed by a president, a 
recorder, and a board of trustees — five in number. 
This arranj^i^ement continued till 1852. John Cani])- 
bell was the first president. He served two vears. 
Other presidents, were: James Brown, five vears; 
J. J. Brooks and James K^^man, each four years; 
E. W. Williams, three years; Joseph Saxon and 
Emnior T. Weaver, each one 3'ear. 

" On the 4th day of June, 1852, the trustees passed 
a resolution chan^^inj^ the name of the corporation 
from the Town of Salem to the Incorporated Villa<.j-e 
of Salem, and thereupon, Alfred Wri^^-ht, the presi- 
dent of the Town of Salem, became the mavor of the 
Incoporated Villa^^^e of Salem. " This new arranjj^e- 
ment continued till 1887. In 1870 the number of 
councilmen was increavsed to six. In 1887 the number 
was increased by two more. From 1852 to 1898 the 
followin<j;- persons have been mayors, viz: J<>hn 
Harris, J. Woodruif. Peter. A. Laubie, Daniel Ham- 
ilton, John Hudson, and C. Curry, each one year: 
Enos Eldridj^e and Wm. R. Ryus, each part of a 
year; J. S. Clemmer and J. W. Northrup, each two^ 
vears; L. B. Lockhart, M. V. Dunlap, Frank Mercer, 
and A. W. Taylor, each four years; Alfred Heacock, 
five years; Joseph D. Fountain, six years; Joseph 
Fawcett, seven years. 



CHAPTKR IV. 

THE POST-OFFICE. 

♦ /^IXtoST-OFFICK was first established in 1807. 
(pj J- John Street was then the only merchant in 
the place; and he was appointed postmaster. 
He held the office till 1829. How often the mail was 
received and sent out is not now known; perhaps not 
oftener than once a week, and it was carried by horse- 
back riders. 

The next postmaster was Isaac Wilson. He was 
a Jacksonian democrat. When president Jackson 
was inaugurated, he set the example of turning out 
of office all postmasters and other officials who did 
not vote for him. John Street, therefore, was one 
of the proscribed ones. Like most of the Friends, 
he is presumed to have voted for John Quincy Adams, 
and therefore lost the post-office. 

The office was held by Isaac Wilson till some time 
in 1834; when some people, who felt interested, 
thought there ought to be a change. Finding that 
a movement for this purpose was being made Mr. 
Wilson resigned. A petition was then circulated for 
the appointment of Rodney R. Scott, who was rep- 
resented as "a very fine young man." This was 
true according to the strabismatic e^^esight of many 
of the people. He got the appointment and took 
charge of the office. 

This man then carried on a saddlery and harness 
shop in a low and long building, belonging to Jehu 
Fawcett, and standing on the site of C. I. Hayes' 



THE POvST-OFFICK. 41 

store. He manaj^cd llu' ollicc in a passable manner 
for a while, and then absconded, leavin^r the office 
and some creditors to take consequences. He also 
deserted his wife, and she therefore felt obli/^^ed to 
apply for a divorce. The office was then managed 
in a bung-ling manner for awhile by his father-in-law 
and brother-in-law; both of whom could scarcely read 
writing. A letter was delivered to an uneducated 
woman, whose name was lOmma Amos, which she 
opened and took to one of her friends to have it read. 
There it was found to be for Aaron Antrim. 

Such awkwardness as this, in matters of such 
importance as mails, was not to be tolerated by the 
better class of people in the town and neigh1)orh()od. 
Wherefore a petition was circulated and signed for 
the appointment of Joseph Goulbourn, who then car- 
ried on an extensive tailor shop in a part of what is 
now the Pickett house. In order that it might be 
carried safely to the postmaster-general, it was 
entrusted to the care of William Chaney; and he rode 
to Lisbon by night and there mailed it. 

In due time, Joseph Goulbourn unexpectedly 
received his appointment, and the office was trans- 
ferred to his shop. He held the office about fifteen 
vears, and gave complete satisfaction. No official of 
this class has ever been more accommodating in this 
duty than he. When any pers(m came to inquire for 
mail, he never hesitated to lay down his work and 
look; while some of this kind of officials which we 
have known, would give a gruff answer in the nega- 
tive that raised suspicion that he was either too 
indolent or too self-important t() accommodate even 
a respectful inquirer. 

Postage at that time was seldom paid in advance. 



42 HISTORY OF SALEM, 

It was not required. And postmasters were then 
required every quarter to advertise the letters 
remaining in their offices. The business of the dead 
letter office at that time must have been great. 

In the time of Joseph Goulbourn, the mail matter 
was much increased in amount and importance. And 
the needed attention was not lacking. There was a 
gradual increase afterwards. And, with few excep- 
tions, the officials felt their responsibility, and they 
discharged their duties lawfully. 

The first stage line through the town, by which 
mails were carried was from Wellsville to Cleveland. 
From Lisbon it came direct to Salem, and Deerfield 
was the next station. This line w^as established 
about 1830 b}^ Zadok Street and some others. In 
1836, or thereabouts, this line was discontinued, and, 
in its place, one called the railroad line was estab- 
lished. It went north by way of Greenford and 
Canfield, and terminated at Fairport. It was thus 
named because some persons, especially interested 
then thought that there would soon be a railroad 
constructed on or near this stage route. This route 
was continued and carried the mails tri-weekl}^ till 
it was superseded by railroads. There was also at 
this time a. mail carried on horse-back from Damas- 
cus through Salem to Columbiana. It was not till 
at, or near the completion of the railroad, that a daily 
mail was here received. With the railroads mails 
were vastly increased everywhere. The reduction 
of postage rates too, has increased post-office busi- 
ness very much. 

Postal rates, prior to 1845, were thus: For any 
distance not over thirty miles, 6 cents; over thirty, 
and not over one hundred, 10 cents; over one hundred, 



THK POST-OFFICK. 4?> 

and not over one hundred and lilty, 12'.> cents; over 
one hundred and fifty and not over four hundred, I834 
cents; over four hundred, 25 cents. Envelopes were 
then not used. A sinjj^le sheet, however ]ar;^re. went 
at a sin};i;-le rate. A piece enclosed, however small, 
added another rate. To help the postmasters letters 
were often marked "sintrle," Scmie of the old fash- 
ioned ways of foldin<J- letters would he something of 
a curiosity to people of this dav. 

It was some time in 1S45 that the first reduction 
of rates was made; and then the rates were after- 
wards regulated by weight. Envelopes then came 
into use. Stamps were first used about 1850. For 
awhile pre-payment was optional; and it was a few 
cents less than when paid by the receiver. 

Mr. Goulbourn was succeeded bv James Brown; 
then the following: Geo. W. Wilson, Peter H. Bos- 
well, Jesse B. Webb, Daniel Lupton, Comly Town- 
send, J. S. Clemmer, Allan Boyle, Frank Webster, 
C. H. Dorwart, H. J. Haldeman, and F. P. Dunlap. 

Mr. Brown kept the office at or near the corner of 
^lain and Depot streets. It was afterwards in the 
block where Dr. Rush lives; then at two places on 
Broadway; and lastly in the opera house block. In 
March, 1888, free delivery was c( mmenced. C. B. 
Dorwart was then postmaster. 




CHAPTER V. 

SCHOOLS. 

3 ALKM'S first settlers were of the Society 
of Friends, and they were friends of 
common schools. Although the com- 
pensation of teachers then came only from voluntary 
patronage, and much inconvenience on their part was 
experienced, yet the instruction of the youth was 
not neglected. The extent of their learning and their 
chances were much less than those of the present time, 
but good use was made of what was in their reach. 
It is not certainly known who kept the first school 
in this place. Joseph Shreve, who was during many 
years engaged by the Friends in their school, wrote 
and published two poems on the conclusion of his 
teaching, and gave with them a list of the names of 
Salem teachers; and there is some evidence of their 
being given in the order of their times of service. 
The first mentioned is Judith Townsend. The author 
thus alludes to himself and one of the early teachers: 

" Nor too myself let me too much engross, 
The pious Fisher nursed thy early days ; 

She long bestowed attention strict and close. 
Beneath whose efforts science spread her rays." 

This was Hannah Fisher. She and Judith Town- 
send were undoubtedly the first teachers in the place. 
A man named James Craig is said to have kept a 
school in Salem or the vicinity about this time. The 
names of Nathan Ball, Moses Stanlev, Ann Warringf- 
ton, and Caleb Hunt are given as teachers succeeding 
those first mentioned. They kept such schools as 



SCHOOLS. 45 

could he made up for ()ne-(juarter at a time, at a cer- 
tain rate per pupil. 

The first schools were kept in rooms fitted temi)()r- 
arily for the purpose. The meetin^j^ house, that stood 
back of the site of the Town hall, was, for a short 
time, used as a school room. Then a hewed lo*,'- school- 
house was built, near the site of McMillan's bookstore. 
This was done in 1810 or IcSll. In the fall of 1«S()9 
Joseph Shreve came to Salem, and was en^^ai^-t^d to 
keep a school during the following winter. In the 
spring- he returned to Pennsylvania. After him came 
a couple of female teachers. 

*' Then Tollerton, with stern commanding- brow, 
Bade mathematics lift her piercing eye ; 

Bade freakish 3-outh to rig-id order bow, 

And rising- powers neg-lccted grammar tr}'." 

It was in the fall of 1811 that James Tollerton 
took charge of the school, and, until some time in 
the year of 1816, he was the principal teacher in the 
town. There was some smaller schools than his, (me 
of which was kept by Mary Blackledge; and he 
sometimes had an assistant. His knowledge of 
grammar was seen in his not using the pronoun '7/zce" 
in the nominative case. He gained a great reputa- 
tion for skill in training bad boys, and is said to have 
used the rod severely, even the knock-down argu- 
ment. But there is no account of any interference 
with his discipline, by parents, whose affection for 
their wayward young hopefuls took away their judg- 
ment; which is a failing too common among the 
parents in modern times, and often causes the demor- 
alization of schools, and helps fast children to the 
position of head of the family. 

Several teachers followed J. Tollerton, whose 



46 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

terms were short. Among them were Martha Town- 
send, Benjamin Marshall, Daniel Stratton, Joshua 
Shinn and others. 

" The polished Lightfoot, too, adorned thy hall, 
Precise to read and practice with the quill ; 

And many more, whose names I now recall, 
Lent time and talents, teacher's chair to fill.'" 

The one here mentioned is said to have been a fine 
scholar and a profound thinker, but unfortunately 
too sensitive to the opinions of others. This extreme 
sensitiveness unfits too many teachers for encounter- 
ing the vexations that are the common lot of their 
profession, coming from spoiled children, injudicious 
parents, and a general lack of appreciation of the 
beauties and intrinsic worth of science and litera- 
ture. And yet, when these finer feelings are properl}^ 
developed and reciprocated, they bring the teacher 
into such a sympathy with his pupils, that he becomes 
like a parent to them; and it is only then that his 
teaching has its greatest power. 

In April, 1822, Joseph Shreve again came to Salem, 
and commenced teaching in the log school-house on 
Main street. For about eleven years his school was 
the principal one in the town. In 1827 or 1828 a 
brick school-house was built on the Friends' lot at 
what is now" the corner formed by Broadway and 
Dry streets. The expense of building was defrayed 
by contributions from the Friends; and the schools 
held in it were under the direction of their Monthly 
Meeting. This school increased in interest, and 
many young persons came to Salem to attend it. The 
teacher was just the man for the place, prominent 
among which was his good standing among the 
Friends. He had their entire confidence; and he 
took great interest in his work. 



I 



SCHOOLS. 47 

Some of his pupils afterwards became teachers, and 
many of them retained pleasant remembrances of 
happy times in that school. Some of them attended 
under ^j^reat expense and difficulty, but thev made 
t>-ood use of their time and opportunity. He had 
several assistants at ditTerent times, amon«^'- whom 
mi.i:ht be mentioned his brother, Thomas, and sister 
Eliza. At times a separate school was kept in the 
same house, it bein<^ in two apartments. ( )ne of the 
most interesting of these was kept by Esther Hunt, 
in 1831 and 1832. 

"Beneath this roof, beneath two teachers' care, 
Two sister-schools dispensed their useful lore ; 

These kindred schools in kindl}- union dwelt ; 
From hall to hall were mutual visits made; 

And teachers, too, the friendly- impulse felt, 
And interchang-ing- social visits paid." 

This was true professional courtesy, a quality in 
which too many modern teachers are much lacliintr, 
and yet, by it, they may help each other <j;-reatly. 
By using the opposite quality many succeed among 
credulous patrons in exalting themselves at the 
expense of fellow teachers who are equally deserving 
of respect and confidence. 

In the spring of 1832 Joseph Shreve closed his 
school, and |)ublished a poem on its conclusion, and 
also one on the conclusion of the previous winter's 
term. These were read with interest by all of his 
friends and pupils, and they will, with many persons, 
awaken pleasing reminiscences. From them some 
quotations have been given in this history. He was 
induced to teach again the next winter. Having 
commenced the stud\ of medicine at some time pre- 
vious to this, he then retired from the profession of 



48 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

teaching, and, for several years, was a successful 
physician at Mt. Union. He died in 1846. He was 
one of the best teachers of his day, and, it is a great 
misfortune, that such persons as he so seldom find 
encouragement to make teaching a profession for 
life. Love of science and literature, combined with 
good wishes for the moral culture of the youth, lead 
many persons into the profession of teaching, but, 
after a few terms, poor pay and lack of appreciation 
causes them to seek a business more lucrative and 
less vexatious. 

The next teacher was Isaac Trescott. He kept 
two or three winter terms. After him came Wil- 
liam Holloway, Josiah Cameron, Clayton Lamborn, 
J. W. Cattell, Jacob Branson, and Moses D. Gove. 
These had under-teachers, and all of them had pretty 
good success, and rendered much benefit to their 
charges. But, during their administrations the inter- 
est of this school gradually declined, while other 
schools in the town gained interest and popularity. 

" In the first schools nothing- was tauorht but read- 
ing, spelling, writing and arithmetic. In the schools 
kept by J. Tollerton and D. Stratton, grammar and 
surveying were taught. In J. Shreve's school the 
additional, branches were geography and astronomy. 
History, the highest branches of mathematics, and 
the natural sciences were much taught after the 
adoption of the Union system, and to some extent 
before. ' '* 

The first schools were made up by subscribing an 
article of agreement, prepared by the teacher. E)ach 
subscriber agreed to send and pay for the tuition of 
one or more pupils. The usual rate in the first 

-'Annual Report for 1870. 




REUBEN M2MILLAN. 



SCHOOLS^ 4M 

schools was SI. 50 per (jiuirtcr, for eacli pupil. Some 
teachers did not ^et more than Si. In 1830 some of 
the best teachers, received S2 per pupil, and then the 
terms arose ^^radually to what they now are in select 
schools and academies. Prior to the adoption of the 
graded system, it was custcmiary to have school on 
every alternate Saturday, and twentv-four davs of 
teaching- then made a school month. In the first 
schools the teachers made their own specific regula- 
tions; there being- then no directors or examiners to 
ascertain the teacher's qualifications. 

About the year 1840 and a few following years, by 
the doings of vSome inefficient teachers, the schools 
became demoralized. In 1843 Reuben McMillan kept 
a term with good success. Then, Lewis T. Park, 
during two or three years of teaching, raised the 
schools to a condition of much respectabilitv. After 
some changes Jesse Markham, an accomplished 
teacher, was engaged. He commenced in 1846 or 
1847. While he was here the Union system was 
established. The old building at the corner of Green 
and Chestnut streets was taken down, and, in its place, 
a new one built (since turned to other purposes). 
Some rooms in other buildings were used for primary 
departments. This new house, and the support of 
a corps of teachers then emplo3'ed, required a larger 
school tax than the Salem people had ever paid, hence 
there was much opposition to it. This was made to 
yield, and the school set into operaticm. "William 
McClain, who had been the principal of a High 
school on Green street, was engaged by the board of 
educatitm to take charge of the High school under 
the graded system. Mr, Markham was also employed 
to superintend all the grades below the High school. 



50 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

In 1854 the board of education appointed Alfred 
Holbrook superintendent. He was with the schools 
one year. He was afterwards principal of the Nor- 
mal school at Lebanon, Ohio. He gave one hour 
extra labor per day to induce the board to allow him 
three hours per day for superintending the several 
departments. From three departments he reorgan- 
ized the school into six departments, giving each 
teacher the exclusive charge of about forty pupils. 

Reuben McMillan was the next superintendent and 
principal of the High school; and he continued in that 
office six years. Afterwards he had a successful 
career in the Youngstown schools. Then he passed 
the remainder of his life in Canfield, as a much hon- 
ored superintendent of the profession. 

He said of his employment here: "I found the 
schools in good running condition, as left by my pre- 
decessor, Mr. Holbrook. I found a good corps of 
teachers, and an energetic wide-awake set of pupils, 
that would have done honor to an}^ tow^n. During 
my connection the number of pupils increased so that 
new rooms had to be rented and occupied till the new 
building on Fourth street, commenced in 1860, could 
be finished " 

In 1861 the board elected Mr. H. H. Barney as 
superintendent. He was the first commissioner of 
education for the state of Ohio. He continued in 
this place a little more than a year. Under his admin- 
istration a list of rules and regulations was prepared 
and published. Mr. Barney was succeeded by Mr. 
Cummings, who continued with the school about a 
year and a-half. Ill health closed his school labors. 
He resigned in March 1863. Forthwith the board 
elected William D. Henkle. 



SCHOOLS. 51 

"On the 16th of Auj^ust, 1864, W. D. Henkle 
entered upon the duties of superintendent, and con- 
tinued to serve for eleven years, except two years 
from 1869 to 1871, when he served as state commis- 
sioner of schools; which office he resiorned, and then 
returned to Salem. While absent his place was filled 
by Prof. Moses C. Stevens, principal of the Hij^h 
school, who conducted the schools without any chancre 
of plan. In each of these eleven years the superin- 
tendent prepared, and, the board caused to be pub- 
lished a sixteen pa^e pamphlet giving full statistics 
of the schools, thus making the record complete for 
thevse years. 

" The High school, of Salem, was organized imme- 
diately after the adoption of the graded system in 
1853. Previous to its organization, select schools of 
a higher grade had been very extensively patronized 
bv the town and surrounding country. In these, the 
higher branches of mathematics seem to have occu- 
pied a prominent place, and continued to do so after 
the change. As a rule, the classics and studies relat- 
ing to languages have found less favor among the 
Friends, the early settlers and fashioners, to a great 
extent, of public sentiment in Salem, than mathe- 
matics and natural sciences. " 

"The High school, from its earliest days, main- 
tained a high order of excellence, both in discipline 
and acquirements; its pupils were taught to think, 
to compare^ to judge for themselves, to regard the educa- 
tion of the school-room as a means rather than an 
end."* 

Captain Wm. S. Wood was next elected to the 
superintendency. He had baen in the same office at 

^Annaal Report for 187B. 



52 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Findlay, Ohio. Several changes were then made in 
the course of study in the High school, the grading, 
and the mode of conducting examinations. He con- 
tinued in office here two years. 

George N. Carruthers was rext engaged, and he 
continued here ten years, and then betook himself to 
farming. He kept the character of the schools fully 
up to what they had previously attained, and gave a 
start to some greater proficiency in their economy. 
In his annual reports he made some very good and 
appropriate suggestions. The following are quoted: 

"The state, at public expense, has provided a 
school of reform, designed to save boys from the 
vicious influences of the street, when, by their con- 
duct and want of parental control, they are beyond 
the influence of the common public school." 

"When such vicious, or immoral boys and girls 
are suspended from the public school for the protec- 
tion of the innocent, it is a serious question whether 
they should be reinstated without the fullest investi- 
gation on the part of the board. It is easy to make 
promises, and just as easy for this class to break 
them. There should be a reformatory department 
in connection with every public school. The vicious 
thereby might be saved, and the innocent protected, 
and patrons of the public schools relieved of much 
anxiety. " 

"The teacher is the head — the heart of school- 
work. The board of education having no more 
responsible duty to perform than when they elect a 
person who shall influence the mind, manners and 
morals of susceptible children for days, weeks, months 
and years together The community have no more 
responsible duty to themselves than when the}' elect 



SCHOOLS. S.> 

a board of trustees to take char<^e of these most 
sacred matters. " 

"I am constrained as much, or more, bv a feelin*^ 
of sympathy for the scliool children, as well as from 
a sense of duty to them and the public, to call the 
attention of the school officials, as well as the public, 
to the manner in which the school rooms, filled with 
ei^i^ht hundred boys and <j:irls, ava seated, heated, lighted 
and ventilated. I would also call attention to these 
import.'' nt matters in view of the prospect of a new 
school buildini^, which the people so promptly voted 
for last sprin*jf, and which they are anxious to see 
in process of erection." 

In this Mr. Caruthers alluded to the buildintr on 
Columbia street, that was erected soon afterwards. 
In his annual report for 1880 and 1881, he gave vSome 
very pertinent comments on reading. 

In 1887 Prof. ^Myron K. Hard was engaged as 
superintendent, and he continued here ten vears. 
He was a graduate of the Ohio Wesleyan Universit}', 
and had previously been superintendent of the schools 
in Gallipolis ; and had been principal of the High 
school at Washingtcm Court House, Fayette county, 
Ohio. From this place he went to Bowling Green, 
Ohio, and was succeeded by Prof. W. P. Burris. 

Besides the superintendents, heretofore mentioned, 
there have been some persons in subordinate posi- 
tions, who well deserve some honorable notice, espe- 
cially those engaged in the grammar and High 
schools. Of these were A. J. Blake, T. F. Suliot. 
and Rosa A. Prunty, afterwards the wife of Dr. J. 
L. Firestone. ^Yith him she made a tour through 
certain parts of Furope. There were also Jehu B. 
Strawn, Ambrose Blunt, E. J. Godfrev, Philo P. 



54 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Safford, W. H. Maurer, T. C. Mendenhall, and F. R. 
Dyer; Misses S. A. Piatt and M. A. Southard. Miss 
Hattie Creel was music teacher for several years. 
Miss Maggie Umstead has been in some of the schools 
for thirty-two years; and Mrs. G. W. Peeples twenty- 
eight years. 

The Columbia street building was erected in 1881, 
and the Kast Main street building in 1891. In 1896 
the Fourth street edifice was condemned as unsafe 
for an assemblage of pupils, wherefore it was pulled 
down, and the contract for a new building let. W. 
C. Wilkins, of Pittsburgh, took the contract; also, 
that for the building in the south-west part of the 
city. The work was pushed during the following 
winter; but some hindrances occurred, so that it was 
late in the fall of 1897, that the house was ready for 
the opening of the school. 

The corner-stone of the new High school edifice 
was laid on the first day of October, 1896. It was 
done with masonic ceremonies. Some relics proper 
for the purpose were deposited in it, and an address 
was given by J. T. Brooks It was more than a year 
after this before the house was ready for school pur- 
poses. On the 25th of November, 1897, Thanks- 
giving services were rendered by a dedication of this 
building. All ministers in this place participated. 
Addresses were given by the superintendent, W. P. 
Burris, and J. T. Brooks; also, brief speeches by 
each of the ministers, and a dedication poem was 
read by George D. Hunt. Some anthems and appro- 
priate hymns were sung. The auditorium was well 
filled, and the whole thing was a handsome affair. 



CHAPTER VI. 

SCHOOLS CONTIM'ICI). 

^ j\ Resides the schools of which an account 
^.J^ has been jj^ivcn in the previous chapter, 
especially those which led to the inau- 
truration of the union system, there have been some 
schools in the town, that well deserve some notice ; 
though they were not all of a pretentious character. 
Each of them, in its time, did much good, and excited 
some interest among the friends of education. Thev 
all had their respective times of success and useful- 
ness, but they came to an untimely end. Why they 
were not permanent will be best known to those who 
understand the liabilities and vicissitudes of the 
teacher's vocation. 

In 1828 occurred the unfortunate division in the 
Society of Friends. Joseph Shreve went with the 
Orthodox party, and thus retained their C(mfidence 
and patronage, which was amply sufficient to sustain 
him in their school. The Hicksites were no less earn- 
est advocates of education than the original society 
had always been; but they united more with persons 
out of their denomination in maintaining schools. 

In 1829 and 1830 Samuel Ruckman kept a school 
somewhere on Green street. It was called a district 
school, but the public-school system was not then in 
such a condition as to render much help to teachers. 
Soon afterwards a school was kept in the Hicksite 
meeting house, by Jonathan Thomas. Some (UIkts, 
also, kept short terms in the same house. 

In 1830 a brick school-house was built at the corner 



56 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

of Green and Chestnut streets; and, during the fol- 
lowing winter, James Tollerton was there employed. 
Eliza Shreve also kept one term in the same house. 
Then J. J. Brooks, Jacob Heaton and Martin Heck- 
ard were teachers. The latter was a rigid disci- 
plinarian, and, in many particulars, a good teacher. 
It was about this time that P. R. Spencer first visited 
Salem, and introduced his S3^stem of penmanship. 
Mr. Heckard eagerly adopted it, and taught it in 
his school. It was, also, about this time that writ- 
ing-schools became much of a hobby. 

In the summer of 1834 Amos Gilbert came to Salem, 
from Lancaster county, Pa. His arrival and subse- 
quent teaching made a notable era in the school 
interest of the place. He was not a profound scholar, 
but he was a man of thought, and his greatest ambi- 
tion was to set others to thinking. In certain wa3"s 
he was a philanthropist. He engaged eagerly in the 
anti-slaver}^ enterprise, but from politics and religion 
he kept aloof. In teaching natural philosophy was 
his favorite topic. In grammar and mathematics he 
was deficient. During ten or twelve years subsequent 
to this time natural philosoph}^ became a prominent 
branch in all schools in this re<j:ion. Followinof this, 
mental arithmetic became quite a hobby. This man 
took much delight in communicating facts in nature, 
and he had great respect for the Pestalozzian S3'Stem 
of education. Before coming to Salem, he edited 
and published a literar}^ paper called The Inciter. 
It was a monthl3% and was intended to impart useful 
information, and to set forth some moral reflections. 
He brought a printing press to Salem, and here issued 
a few numbers. He did not get much patronage, 
and the craft of conducting a periodical was much 
out of his line of thought. 




WILLIAM D. HENKLE. 



1 



SCHOOLS CONTINITKD. S7 

l)urin«^r the next summer Amos (iilhert was joined 
by his son-in-law, Al)ner G. Kirk. Some time in 
1836 his connecti(m with this school ceased, and Mr. 
Kirk ccmtiniied in it s(mie time lon«^er; and then he 
left the school and en<^a^(ed in farming. He was 
succeeded bv Benjamin B. Davis, who, alter a few 
terms of teachin«^r, cnsj^a^.^'-ed in startin^^r The Villa<j;-e 
Rei^ister, which was the first successful news])aper 
enterprise in Salem. 

In 1839 or 1840 Miss Elizabeth Richards com- 
menced a school for young ladies. She was assisted 
bv Leah Heaton, who afterwards was the wife of 
J. J. Boone. They kept a good school and awakened 
much interest in the science of botany. Their terms 
varied from S2 to S5 a quarter. Drawing, painting, 
and fancy needle- work were at the highest price. In 
April, 1843, James C. Marshall, and his wife, Henri- 
etta, commenced a select school on Green street, 
between Chestnut and Lund}' streets. Their terms 
were Si. 00 a month. And they had a library of a 
hundred and fifty volumes. Mrs. ^larshall was a 
woman of fine literary taste, an extensive reader and 
an authoress. She was one of those who are more at 
home in some scientific or literary work than any- 
where else. Her greatest delight was in some intel- 
lectual pursuits, especially such as contemplated the 
moral training of the young. 

About the year 1840 Abner G. Kirk returned to 
Salem, and commenced a select school. He built a 
small frame school house adjoining his dwelling on 
High street. There he kept a school during several 
vears. Many young persons came and boarded in 
Salem to attend his school. It was very popular and 
was regarded as a school of a higher order than any 



58 HISTORY OF SALEM: 

other in the town. In 1845 he commenced preaching", 
and in the spring of the next year he closed his school, 
and then gave his whole time to preaching and pas- 
toral duties. After that time he became an earnest 
and devoted minister in the Baptist denomination. 
The most of his ministerial labor was in Beaver and 
Lawrence counties, in Pennsylvania. He died at 
Hillsville in June, 1886. 

In 1844 Rev. Jacob Coon came to Salem, and pur- 
chased property on Lincoln avenue. In the rear of 
it he erected a two-story frame building, and, in it, 
he opened an academy. Some of his pupils named 
the place Science Hill. They had probably been 
reading, with some interest, Aiken's description of 
The Hill of Science in the English Reader, a school 
book now out of print. Here the Latin language 
was first taught in Salem, and several 3^oung men 
were prepared for college, who afterwards made 
their mark. The pupils gave some good exhibitions, 
and, in many ways, this school was a good one. Mr. 
Coon was a good man, and a popular minister in the 
Presbyterian church, but he was not fully appre- 
ciated. Had he come to this place ten years sooner, 
he might have given the educational interest a much 
better aspect than it then had. The church interest, 
too, would have been much benefited. Before com- 
ing to Salem, Mr. Coon was, for two years, a profes- 
sor in Franklin College, at New Athens, O. After 
leaving Salem, he took charge of the academy at 
Poland, O. At the same time preaching for some 
churches in the neighborhood. Afterwards he had 
charge of academies at Hayesville, O., andFreeport, 
111. At the latter place he closed life. 

In 1847 Mrs. Greer, wife of Rev. T. W. Greer, 



vSCHOOLS CONTINUED. 59 

kept a school for small childron in the Baptist meet- 
in j^^ house on Depot street. Her school was interest- 
in<^, and to her is due the credit of being the first in 
this place to introduce vocal music in school. 

In 1852 Calvin Moore opened a select school <m Lin- 
coln avenue. For about thirteen years, he and his 
wife conducted it in an unostentatious manner; and 
they «;jot a fair amount of patrona^L^e. They were 
exemplary Friends, and their school was patnmized 
mainly by people of their persuasion. They were 
both good teachers, and were not backward in the 
modern improvements pertaining to the profession. 
This school was brought to an end by the accidental 
death of Friend Moore, in 1865; soon after which 
event the widow obtained a situation in the Friends' 
boarding-school, at Westtown. Pa. 

About the year 1872 Bejamin D. Stratton, who was 
an earnest friend of education, erected a building on 
West Dry street, now numbered 78 and 80, for a 
school house. This was for his son-in-law, Joseph 
H. Branson, who was a fine scholar, and, in this 
house, he commenced a select school. Mary Cad- 
walader was employed as assistant teacher. An 
intelligent citizen, of Salem, declared to the author 
that Mr. J. H. Branson had more teaching power 
than any other person in the place. But he, somehow, 
became unpopular, — with some of his pupils espe- 
cially. Wherefore he left the vschool, and Mary Cad- 
walader continued it several years quite successfully. 
At one time she had Linnaeus Warrington as assist- 
ant. Pupils came from the country, and boarded in 
town, to attend her school. A chance to get married 
terminated her career of public teaching. 

She was succeeded bv Mrs. Marv M. Williams, who 



60 HISTORY OF SALEM, 

came from Steubenville. She was an accomplished 
teacher, and had been educated in the Female Semi- 
nary, at Washington, Pa. She had g-ood success for 
about two years. For aw^hile she had a writing- 
teacher employed. Part of her work was done in 
another building. Her career of teaching ended like 
that of her worthy predecessor. 

About this time Isaac N. Vaile came to Salem and 
tried to start a select school in the house that had 
been occcupied by the two aforesaid teachers; but 
he did not get enough encouragement. Although he 
was a good scholar, well versed in the sciences, it 
appears that he w^as not duly appreciated. 

Mrs. Helen M. Beatty came to Salem in 1840. Soon 
afterwards she got a position in the public-school. 
This she held about a year. She then commenced a 
a select school which she managed with marked suc- 
cess for twenty years. 

Recently a neat little school-house has been built 
on the Friends' lot on Sixth street. This is intended 
for schools under the direction of their Monthly 
Meeting. Two terms have there been kept; one by 
Elnia G. Hutton, and the other by Howard Fawcett. 

"The Salem Business college was organized in 
1894 by J. W. Butcher and H. T. Fdmeston, of 
Cleveland. Rooms in the Howell block were occu- 
pied until more commodious quarters were secured 
in the old Y. M. C. A. rooms, in the Trimble block. 
This change was made necessary by the increase 
of students from Salem and from the adjoining 
counties. " 

"In 1895 Mr. Butcher purchased his partner's 
share, retaining the entire interest in the school until 
1896, when it was sold to W. H. Matthews, who 



SCHOOLS CONTINUED. 61 

came to Salem as a teaclier in the ])rL'CL'tlin«^r year. " 
"W. H. Matthews and Miss Clara Bart<m are the 
present proprietors. The manajjement is to he con- 
j»"ratulated on the growth of the school, and the 
success of its graduates; many of whom are employed 
in first-class positions as hook-keepers and steno- 
graphers. " 

"The attendance has been steadily increasing 
until it has exceeded one hundred and fifty, for the 
school _year of 1897 and 1898, making the Salem 
Business college one of the largest business vschools in 
Eastern Ohio."* 

The history of the Salem schools exhibits a pro- 
gressiye work, similar to that of acquiring an educa- 
tion. The character and qualifications of the teach- 
ers has corresponded in many particulars with the 
patronage and encouragement that they receiycd. 
Some (^f them have exhibited commendable zeal in 
their work, and had much sympathy for those who 
were in their pupilage. We need not dwell on their 
failings and imperfections, while we have nothing to 
say about the discouragements that the}' encount- 
ered. Why some of them left the place or forsook 
the profession need not be asked. These are occur- 
rences too common, and their cause is apparent to 
every observer of school experience. It has cost 
much effort and expense to bring these schools to 
their present condition, and some exertion will be 
needed to keep them from retrograding. They reflect 
much credit on the citizens, and give the city an 
invaluable reputati(m. And now the youth of Salem 
may justlv felicitate themselves on the superior priv- 
ileges that they possess for acquiring scientific and 

■W. H. Matthews. 



62 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

literary knowledge. Well ma}' we adopt the follow- 
ing apostrophe; it being the language of a pioneer 
teacher.* 

" Go on loved school, from step to step proceed ; 
And fresh improvements mayst thou receive. 



Ma3'st thou in future rise to just renown, 

Mayst thou the page of history next unfold ; 

Bid ignorance fly ; tread superstition down, 
And on th}^ way to best refinement hold." 

■Joseph Shreve. 



CHAPTER VII. 

RKLUnoUS HISTOKV.— THE vSOCIKTY OK FKMKXDS. 

^) ALEM havinj^ been settled by Friends, they 
^N were the first to establish reli^^nous wor- 
^"**^ ^ ship; and, for about fifteen years there 
' was no other form of public worship but theirs. The 
first immigrants arrived in 1802 and 1803; of whom, 
in this connection, might be mentioned Samuel Davis, 
Elisha Schooley, Jacob Painter, Caleb Shinn, Zac- 
cheus Test, and Joseph Wright, with their families. 
Their nearest meeting was then Middleton, about 
twelve miles east. The place is now generally known 
as Mosk Post-office. In the summer of 1804, the first 
meeting was held — in the house of Samuel Davis, 
which stood near the spring, on Garfield avenue. 
About a dozen persons assembled and held a silent 
meeting. When they were fairly composed, an Indian 
chief and his squaw entered the house ; on receiving an 
explanation of what was being held, they took seats 
and sat in a respectful manner until the Friends 
shook hands. The red strangers had no communica- 
tion to offer in the meeting, but, being invited t(^ take 
dinner, the chief was so well satisfied with what he 
had eaten that he exclaimed, "Go six days, " mean- 
ing, without eating any more. 

Soon after this a log cabin was built near the site 
of the Town hall, and a Preparative meeting was 
formed, then an addition to it was built and a Monthly 
Meeting was constituted, two or three years after- 
wards; it being a branch of Redstone Quarterly meet- 
ing. In this meeting house was solemnized the mar- 



64 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

riatre of David Scolfield and Rebecca Davis, on the 
20tli of the 11th month (Nov.), 1805. They were the 
first couple married in Salem. The number of Friends 
increasing b}^ immigration, a Quarterly meeting w^as 
contemplated. In 1807 a deputation of Friends, 
appointed by Baltimore Yearly meeting, visited 
Salem. They were^piloted from Redstone by Nathan 
Hunt, Sr. On reaching the Middle Fork, near the 
site of Franklin Square, they found the stream so 
swollen by a heavy rain that they were obliged to 
cross in a skiff, and make their horses swim after 
them. This delayed their arrival in Salem beyond 
the appointed time for meeting. On their return 
they reported favorable for the establishing of a 
Quarterly meeting. The high water must have been 
what has often been called a "June freshet." 

The Quarterly meeting thus formed was made a 
branch of Baltimore Yearly meeting, and thus 
remained till 1813, when Ohio Yearly meeting 
was constituted, and Salem Quarterly meeting was 
made a branch of it. During more than thirty years 
from the first, quarterly meetings always gathered 
the largest congregations of any meetings in the 
place. That interest is now much diminished. 

A lot on the north side of Main street was donated 
by Samuel Davis, and one on the south side by Israel 
Gaskill. More ground was afterwards purchased 
and added to them, and they thus divided the town 
into two parts. After some years much of this prop- 
erty was sold for building lots, only a portion being 
reserved for the meeting houses on Drv and Green 
streets. 

In the summer and fall of 1807, the brick were 
made, and the house erected and enclosed, which 



THE SOCIKTV ()F FKMICNDS. 6S 

stood on the south side of Main street, and between 
Depot and Broadway. In the s])rin«^'- of the next year 
it was finished. Joel Sharp, Sr., and Aaron Strat- 
ton were the principal carpenters. This venerable 
edifice is now, perhaps, remembered by some of the 
oldest inhabitants. It stood and was occupied until 
the new one on the south side of the square was 
finished. 

In 1828 the Society of Friends became divided into 
two parties, each claimin^^ to be the ori^^inal society, 
and charging the other with embracing doctrines not 
held by the primitive Friends. In Salem the Ortho- 
dox party, being the larger in number, held the meet- 
ing house and property on the south side of Main 
street. The Hicksites took possession of a small 
frame house on Green street, to which they built an 
addition, and there held their meetings. In 1830 or 
1831 a division of the ground was made by which 
this party got all on the north side. 

That division in the Society of Friends was a 
source of much animosity between the two parties; 
vet both professed sincerity. They were generally 
known to be a ver}' peaceable people, hence this divi- 
sion made a great amazement among all people out 
of their denomination, who knew much about them 
and their profession. Persons who wish to know 
more about this divisicm are referred for the Ortho- 
dox side to issues of The Friend in 1827 and 1828, 
Thomas Shellato's Journal, and Evans's Exposition. 
And for the Hicksite side to Elias Hicks 's Journal, 
Cockburn's Review, and Janney's History of the 
Friends. 

In 1845 the large frame house that the Hicksite 
party now use was built, and. in that year, their 



66 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

yearly meeting was first held here. Since that time 
it h?s been held alternately here and at Mount Pleas- 
ant, Jefferson county, O. 

In 1854 another division in The Society of Friends 
occurred. Some years before Joseph John Gurney, 
an English Friend, came over, and went through 
the most of the American meetings, and therein 
preached in a manner that set the people to thinking 
and debating on what he thus set forth. Many 
believed that he preached the truth, and there were 
many who regarded him as getting away from the 
Friend's standard. One John Wilbur, an American 
Friend, opposed him. This led to a division; and, 
for distinction, the parties got the names of Gurney- 
ites and Wilburites. But they both ignore the names 
as applied to their respective parties. 

By a compromise, during about eighteen 3^ears, 
both parties held their meetings at different hours on 
Sabbath days, and mid-week meetings on different 
days, in the Dry street house. The so-called ''Wil- 
bur Friends" built and finished a new and commo- 
dious meeting house on Fast-Sixth street in 1872. 
During many years the Friends had more influence 
in Salem than all other denominations taken together, 
and they mainly gave character to the town and 
country around. 

During late years, other denominations have 
increased in number and gained influence. The 
Friends have diminished, and much of their influence 
that they have had is gone from them. Divisions 
and sub-divisions have been a source of misfortune, 
and a cause of declension to them, in the same man- 
ner as in other denominations. But they have a sig- 
nificant history. 



THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 67 

While these declensions luive prevailed amon^^ the 
primitive Friends, there has been some other notable 
events in the progress of the Gurney party. They 
have taken to themselves the name of Friends' 
Church. And by their aggressively evangelical work, 
they are doing much to keep up their organization, 
and awaken others to an interest in religion. The 
operations of Joseph John Gurney in the Friends' 
society w^ere much like those of John Wesley in the 
church of England. Neither of these men intended 
to make a schism in their churches. But they wished 
to promote more spiritual activity among those who 
held to their creed. The fruits of Wesley's work are 
now seen in the Methodist church, and Gurney 's — in 
the Friends' church. 

In 1897 a convention of representatives from the 
different yearly meetings of this denomination was 
held at Indianapolis, Ind. This might be called an 
" Ecumenical council." To the published proceed- 
ings of it readers are referred for further informa- 
tion about their doctrines and church economy. 

This body has here done much to sustain ministerial 
service and gain converts. In this capacity Willis 
Hotchkiss, Joseph Peele, Edgar Ellyson, and Fred- 
erick J. Cope have labored with them. The latter 
is now their pastor. They have also sustained Sun- 
day schools, in w^hich Eli French, George W. Faw- 
cett, William Daniel, Hannah and Sarah Fogg, and 
Amelia Hole have rendered good services as superin- 
tendents and teachers. 

THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 

David Gaskill, Sr., his wife and Mary Straughan 
mav be regarded as the pioneers of the Baptist inter- 
est in Salem. Thev arrived about the year 1806, 



68 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

and, together with others who joined them soon 
afterwards, they early contemplated building a meet- 
ing house and organizing a church. In 1809, two lots 
amounting to half an acre, were purchased or donated 
from John Straughan. They were on Depot street. 
Subsequently another lot was purchased. The native 
forest then covered them except a little improvement 
and a log cabin. But it was some years afterwards 
that a house was built, and a church constituted. 

Rev. Thomas Miller appears to have been the first 
minister who preached Baptist doctrines here, and 
administered the ordinance by immersion. Meetings 
were first held in private houses, and often in Rich- 
ard Heacock's shop, which was at the west end of 
town, and on the south side of Main street. In 1820 
a small brick house was built, on the lot aforesaid. 
By this time the Methodists had gained some signifi- 
cance. They and some others united in building the 
house with the stipulation that it should be used 
jointly by the different parties, but the Baptists were 
to have it at least every fourth Sabbath. The car- 
penter work was done by Jesse Strawn, Samuel 
Jolley and John Flitcraft. 

The first candidates for baptism were David Gas- 
kill, Jr., his wife, John Sheets, his wife, Jacob 
Countrvman and Jane Heacock. On the 22nd day of 
November, 1823, these, the pioneers named above, 
and Klizabeth Shinn, Elizabeth Wright and her two 
dau5i"hters, Tamzin and Clarissa, were constituted 
into a church. The council in attendance was com- 
posed of Klders Jehu Brown and Thomas Miller, and 
eleven lavmen from other churches. This date may 
be regarded as the birthday of the church; but it has 
had such mutations since that time that now it is like 
a different body. 



THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 69 

A few years after the or/^^anization of the church, 
one Walter Scott commenced preach in <j^ for it. He 
baptized many persons in Salem, and some near the 
site of Franklin Square. The Campbell secession 
occurred at this time. He went with it and took the 
most of his proselytes, and all of the Salem church 
except five. A great excitement followed. Rev. 
John Clealand was then called, and he gave some plain 
preaching, in which he showed what genuine Baptist 
doctrines are; and, with the aid of the few faithful 
members arrested the schism that had almost ruined 
the church. 

After this came a& pastors, Klders Davis, Brown, 
Rigdon, Rogers, Freeman, Williams, Blake, Phillips, 
Wm. Stone, and Jacob Morris, whose times with the 
church were from a few months to three vears. Rev. 
William Stone was a plain, old fashioned man, with 
considerable common sense and good judgment in 
church matters, and very unassuming manners. He 
preached for both the First and Second churches with 
much acceptance, and died in Salem in 1852. 

Rev. Jacob Morris had successful pastorates in both 
the First and Second churches. He was a native of 
Wales, and was an able and fluent preacher. Up to 
his time no one had a better pastorate here than his. 
After leaving this place he had several terms of pas- 
torship with certain churches in Pennsylvania, and 
died at West Greenville, in that state. 

In 1836 the large frame house that still stands (but 
much changed) was built. Jonathan Hutchinson wiis 
the principal carpenter. After this the small brick 
house was not much used. In 1853, or thereabouts^ 
it was sold and removed. 

In 1840 a large number of the members withdrew 



70 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

and formed the Second church. This, in the end, 
proved a bad thing for the Baptist interest in Salem. 
The Second church was constituted on the 8th of 
November, 1840. The old Methodist meeting house 
on Green street was purchased for its use, and Rev. 
J. Morris was called to the pastorship. He remained 
with the church between one and two years. That 
church had a short but remarkable career. 

The division in the churches occurred about the 
time of the presidential election that gave Wm. H. 
Harrison such a large majority. It was said of him, 
ip derision, that he lived in a " Log cabin;" and this 
became one of the watch -words of the party that 
elected him; and "White House" is the common 
designation of the president's residence in Washing- 
ton. The Second church having bought the old log 
meeting house from the Methodists, while the orig- 
inal church had the white frame house on Depot 
street; hence b}^ some waggish people the terms "Log 
cal)in " and "White House" churches were often 
ban4ied about the town. 

After Klder Morris, Elder Samuel R. Willard was 
called to the pastorship of the Second church. He 
was with the church about a year During this time 
occurred a great revival under the preaching of Rev. 
C. A. Clark. In five weeks seventy-two persons were 
received and baptized. The next minister was Rev. 
F. Green. His pastorate was an unlucky one, and 
he left under a cloud. 

In February 1844 Rev. Wm. G. Johnston, who had 
just come from Vermont, visited this church, made a 
good impression and gained many friends. H-e felt 
much drawn towards this church, and would have 
accepted a call, but the members were too slow in 



thp: baptist church. 71 

givinj;^ it; wherefore they forfeited what would have 
been a most excellent pavstorate. 

Among- the converts in the great revival of 1(S4.> 
was Abner G, Kirk. He was raised in the Society 
of Friends. He had manifested great zea\ in the 
anti-slavery work, and, up to the time of his conver- 
sion, manifested indifference about religion; ])ut now 
he became an active church member. Some time in 
the next year he began to preach. About the same 
time Daniel McCurdy w^as also licensed. Elder Kirk's 
ordination was on the 14th of December, 1845. Forth- 
with he was called to the pastorship of Salem and 
Mt. Union churches. For these he labored with 
great zeal, but he felt disappointed and discouraged 
because he could not see such results as were mani- 
fested in the great revival in which he professed 
religion. 

In January, 1845, he went to New Castle. Pa. 
There he had a very successful pastorate. He was 
equally successful in other churches in Beaver Asso- 
ciation, and Nixon street, Allegheny cit3\ He was 
more than forty years in the ministry. 

After the departure of FlderKirk, Rev. Wm. Stone 
w^as engaged as a supply, but the infirmities of old 
age soon obliged him to relinquish preaching. Not- 
withstanding its tribulations, this church had a good 
Sunday-school record. D. McCurdy, Richard H. 
Garrigues, Lewis T. Park, Margaret Walton and 
Julia A. Stone w^ere the most active workers. In 
1846 it was at the zenith of its prosperity. In that 
year a new house was erected. Several of the mem- 
bers being carpenters and all of them working men, 
much expenditure of money w^as avoided. After a 
few years the members began to see what a disad- 



/2 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

vantage it was to have two churches, both of the 
same profession. 'Wherefore some efforts were made 
to effect a reunion of the two, but these were unsuc- 
cessful. Some members became lukewarm, and others 
withdrew and soon meetings were discontinued. 

The church, as first constituted in 1823, was first 
a part of Mahoning Association. It 1829 it was 
transferred to Beaver Association, and continued 
with it till 1843, when it (the First), by request, was 
transferred to the Wooster, and continued with it till 
its dissolution. In December, 1840, Rev. W. R. 
McGowan was called to the first church. He con- 
tinued in that relation about four years. After him 
came Rev. Jehu Brown, and Rev. T. W. Greer. The 
latter was a good speaker, and both he and his wife 
were good singers; and they were active in the Sun- 
day school. In this, David Gaskill, though the 
oldest member, was as active as anyone, and the 
church was much revived. The next pastors were 
Elders Wm. Leet, Gideon Seymour and D. J. Phil- 
lips, a native of Wales. He was advanced in years, 
but had had much experience in ministerial service. 
At this time Thomas Scattergood, a Philadelphian, 
resided in Salem; and rendered the church some good 
service in the Sabbath school. The next pastor was 
Rev. T. E. Inman. During his pastorate Rev. John 
Owens was ordained for the ministry; and became 
the next pastor and remained till 1858. He was a 
young man, with very affable manners and had the 
advantage of instruction from his father who was, 
for many years, pastor of a Welch church in Pitts- 
burgh. 

Rev. L. Frescoln was pastor for a few years, and 
then one Justus Ask was engaged. He was promised 



THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 73 

a large salary that was not paid; wherefore he com- 
menced a legal process to get what he claimed, and 
the meeting house was sold by the sheriff. A soci- 
ety known as the "Broad-Gauge ' 'bought it. By this 
unfortunate affair Baptist interest was here com- 
pletel}^ prostrated. After a few years the house was 
bought by the Pelzer Brothers. By them the inter- 
ior was changed, additions made, and it was turned 
into a manufactor}' of artistic furniture for dwell- 
ings, statuary and ornaments for churches, etc. 

Rev. T. P. Childs made one or two visits to Salem 
on a mission for the freedmen. This was soon after 
the w^ar, when much concern for the freed slaves 
was felt. Such a mission was calculated to excite 
much interest here. When about taking his depart- 
ure, he was persuaded to return and labor for the 
Baptist cause. 

He came in January, 1867, and collected the mem- 
bers of both churches and commenced preaching to 
them. An interest was soon awakened, and a desire 
manifested to unite all of the Baptists' in this com- 
munity into one church. This was accomplished by 
sixty persons (from members of both churches) agree- 
ing to an organization to be called the Baptist church, 
of Salem. On the 25th of September, in the same 
year, a council was held to recognize this as a 
"church of true faith and gospel order.' ' 

Elder Childs labored with great zeal. He soon set 
about the work of procuring a lot and building a 
house for worship, the fruit of which is to be seen 
in the house now occupied, wnth its improv^ements 
since first used. The church was much blessed under 
his labors. On the 6th of October, 1869, he gave his 
resignation. On his departure a handsome tribute 



74 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

was paid to him b_v the church in acknowledg-ement 
of his services, and the esteem in which he was held 
bv the congregation. He now resides at Troy, 
Miami county, O. 

Subsequent pastors were Revs. B. F. Bowen, T, 
G. Lamb, John Hawker, P. J. Ward, A. S. Moore, 
C. H. Pendleton, and G. W. Rigler. During the 
pastorate of Rev. T. G. Lamb the church was received 
into the Trumbull Association. It was afterwards 
transferred to the Wooster. In the same pastorate 
the house now^ occupied was dedicated. Rev. W. W. 
Everts, of Chicago, preached the sermon. Thisw^as 
on the 18th of February, 1872. 

On the 12th of December, 1875, Rev. P. J. Ward 
commenced pastoral labors under favorable circum- 
stances. He was a native of London, and was one of 
Spurgeon's students. He closed his labors here in 
July, 1878. He w^as succeeded by some of the afore- 
said persons. Rev. R. K. Fccles commenced preach- 
ing and pastoral labor in February, 1886, and 
remained with the church ten years as pastor. He 
continued in the place about a year and a-half longer. 
During which time he preached at Alliance and some 
other places; he also taught Greek and some other 
branches in the High school. In the summer of 1897 
he received and accepted a call to the church of 
Bowling Green, O. 

Rev. Charles W. Fletcher made his first appearance 
on the ISth of March, 1897. He accepted a call and 
commenced preaching on the 14th of June following. 
His pastorate extended a little over one year. 

The Sabbath school record of this church is highly 
interesting and creditable to all concerned in it. 
W. H. Clark, J. B.Strawn, H. G. Baldwin. H.Young, 



THE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 7S 

Alice Stewart, Clara J. Pyfer and the last pastor have 
rendered good service as superintendents. And there 
have been some intelligent and active teachers in the 
Bible school. 

THE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

Thomas Kelly and his family were the first Meth- 
odists in Salem. His house was on the alley, where 
Lease's bakery now is. He came from the state of 
Delaware, and the date of his arrival is not known. 
Some time in the winter of 1819 and 1820, John Flit- 
craft came to this place. He was a native of New 
Jersey, and was a devout Methodist. He then went 
on to Lexington, Stark county, O. , where he got into 
employment, and resided several years. But he felt 
drawn towards Salem; wherefore he sent word that 
he, Kdmund Rinear and Thomas Wood (a class- 
leader) would be in Salem and hold a prayer meeting 
in Mr. Kelly's house. At the appointed evening. 
Rev. McClennin, a local minister, providentially hap- 
pened to be in Salem. He attended and gave a short 
sermon. This was in February, 1820, and ma}' be 
regarded as the beginning of Methodism here, and, 
from it, has grown as strong an interest and influence 
as is possessed by any denomination in the city. 

At some previous time, Lorenzo Dow, an itinerant 
evangelist, visited Salem and held a meeting in the 
Friends' house. He was noted for his quaint speeches 
and eccentric habits; but he adhered strictly to Meth- 
odist doctrines. At one time he was a regular Meth- 
odist preacher, but did not like to be confined to a 
circuit. Latterly, when he wished to take a charge, 
the conference refused him an appointment in conse- 
quence of his oddities, but this did not "silence" 



I 



76 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

'him. His preaching is supposed to have done some- 
thing for the introduction of Methodism. 

At this time there was a small church composed of 
black people on land now owned by Lovern B. Webb. 
This was then, one of the preaching places in Colum- 
biana circuit; and another was at the house of a Mr. 
Adtrate, about three miles east, and near the road to 
Columbiana. 

In 1821 there w^as a great camp meeting near 
Laughlin's mill on the Mahoning. Among the con- 
verts at this were Thomas Webb, his wife and several 
residents of Salem. In the summer of that year a 
class was formed in Salem, consisting of nine persons 
and Thomas Kelly was appointed leader. Salem was 
then made a preaching place in Columbiana circuit, 
of which Rev. William Tipton was then the minister 
in charge. Associated with him was Rev. Charles 
Trescott, a young man. 

Through want of a meeting house the first meet- 
ings were held in shops and dwelling houses. When 
the Baptists built their first house for worship, the 
Methodists rendered some help, and were, in return, 
sometimes allowed the use of their house for preach- 
m^. In 1824 a lot on West-Green street, now vacant, 
was purchased, and, on it, a hewed log house was 
erected. Thomas Webb furnished the timber. The 
Baptists then repaid the help that they had received 
in building their house by furnishing nails, glass and 
other building materials from David Gaskill's store. 
Money was scarce in those days; wherefore much bus- 
iness was done in trade, especially store orders, work, 
and farm produce. 

That house had a history. In it, old fashioned 
Methodism flourished with full vigor. Some grand 



I 



I 




JOHN FLITCRAFT. 



THE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 77 

and glorious revivals there occurred. Only a few 
people are now livin<^- who witnessed or partook in 
the soul-stirring scenes of those days. There the 
gospel. was preached with all the power and enthu- 
siasm that characterized the pulpit style of old 
fashioned Methodism. 

This house was sold to the Second Baptist church 
in 1840, and,, in it, they had the greatest revival that 
their church ever had in this place. In 1836 a frame 
house was built on Kllsworth street, where the Disci- 
ple church now stands. Wm. Kidd and John Flitcraft 
were the head workmen. This house, too, was the 
scene of some lively times, comparable with those 
of the other. After a few years it became necessary 
to make an addition to it. This house was occupied 
till 1859, when the brick edifice now occupied was 
finished and dedicated. It was dedicated on the I2th 
of June, 1859. Bishop Simpson preached from Isaiah 
II: 2-3. Sermons w^ere also delivered by Revs. Mitch- 
ell, the minister in charge, Burkett, of Canton, and 
Pershing, of McKeesport, Pa. 

Columbiana circuit, at first, was most likelv a part 
of Baltimore conference. Pittsburgh conference was 
formed in 1825, and Salem was included in it till 1876. 
Then East Ohio conference was formed, and Salem 
became a part of it. Columbiana circuit extended 
westward by additions of new charges. Then Han- 
over circuit was formed and Salem included in it. 
Afterwards Salem circuit was formed, and thus it 
continued till 1852, when Salem was made a station. 
And now it has the largest membership of any church 
in the city. Among the members are many active 
and influential business men. No church in the city 
has larger congregations. 



78 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

About the 3^ear 1830 occurred the secession from 
the M. K. church that formed the Methodist Protest- 
ant church. Onh^ a few left the Salem church for 
this purpose. The}" sometimes had preaching in a 
school house north of the town, on the Canfield road. 
But it is not known whether they ever had a district 
organization. When the Wesleyan connection was 
organized, that enterprise found some sympathizers 
in Salem, because there were many abolitionists in 
the place. Opposition to American slavery was a 
prominent item in the constitution of that church. 
While most of the Salem Methodists were straight- 
out anti-slavery people, very few entered heartily 
into the Wesleyan movement. 

This church has been ver}^ lucky in keeping clear 
of such schisms and commotions as have often dis- 
turbed the peace and harmony of religious bodies. 
On the questions of temperance, slavery, and other 
moral reforms, this church has taken a progressive 
and rational position. 

In June, 1856, Pittsburgh conference was held here. 
Bishop Ames presided. At it, resolutions were 
adopted, approving and encouraging of Sunday 
schools, and recommending all laudable means to 
promote the cause of temperance, and "deprecating 
the action of our state legislature upon the question, 
and that we will be satisfied with nothinir less than 
an efficient prohibitory law. " 

This conference was again held in Salem in 1873. 
Bishop Harris then presided. At the general confer- 
ence in 1875, Kast Ohio conference was formed, and, 
in 1888, it was held here. 

This church has been the means of niakingf more 
conv^erts than any other in the place. Though man}- 



THE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 79 

of them became backsliders and apostates, a lari^^er 
number of them proved faithful. A ^reat number 
of them have emigrated to the west, and now they 
doubtless remember, with much interest, their first 
religious experience in Salem. At times the member- 
bership has been reduced by removals, and again 
increased by new conversions. 

Revs. Tipton and Trescott were the first ministers 
on the circuit which included Salem. The former is 
related to have been a faithful laborer in Pittsburgh 
conference till he died. The latter had only a short 
career. Rev.S. R. Brockunier was the next minister; 
and he was a modern Boanerges, who seldom preached 
over forty minutes at once, and always direct and 
forcible. The next ministers on this circuit were 
Revs. B. O. Plimpton, J. Crawford, Wm. Swayze, 
Ira Kddy, W. C. Henderson, and Isaac Winans. 

In the winter of 1837 and 1838 there was a great 
revival under the preaching of Revs. T. McGrath 
and J. P. Kent. The former had a short but bril- 
liant career. He died at Martinsville, O., at the age 
(^f twenty-seven. Rev. John P. Kent w^as eminentlv 
a good man — plain in dress and meek in manners. 
He was one who could both please and preach. 

These worthy men were followed b}^ M. L. Weeklv, 
H. Miller, J. M. Bray, H. McCall, J. Montgomery, 
H. Minor, G. D. Kinnear, J. H. White and some 
others. Several of these were men of marked char- 
acter. Mr. Weekly was a man of strong constitution 
and a powerful voice. He rendered good service to 
this church and v^ome others in the circuit. He died 
in the ninety-fourth year of his age. Rev. James H. 
White had a notable career in Salem. He was an 
eloquent speaker, and was very intelligent, and, in 



80 HISTORY OP^ SALEM. 

social and convervSational powers, but few surpassed 
him. When attacks were made b}^ enemies of the 
church, he was skillful in parrying them. He subse- 
quently moved to Iowa. 

When Salem was made a station Rev. J. F. Nessle}" 
was the first minister in charge. After him came 
S. Grouse, A. H. Thomas, C. H. Jackson, I. N. Baird, 
D. P. Mitchell, W. D. Stevens, J. A. Sweeney, T. N. 
Boyle, J. Grant, W. Lynch, J. Brown, W. A. David- 
son, E. Hingeley, K. A. Simons, W. H. Haskell, 
B. P. Youmens, and C. B. Henthorne. 

Sunday schools were first established about the 
year 1834. Jacob Beam and Wm. Read were the 
most active workers in them. In this department 
the church has a good record. Isaac Sn3^der, E). E. 
Wright, C. C. Snyder, and A. H. Garry have ren- 
dered good service as superintendents. Among the 
most active teachers were Wm. Kidd, Jr., James 
Bellman, J. K. Rukenbrod, Samuel Bard, Sarah Bard, 
Miss A. R. Griffith, Mrs. S. K. Webb, Mrs. Filler, 
and Prof. Godfrey. Some of the most prominent 
class-leaders were Christian Harmon, John Gunder, 
Samuel Webb, Reuben Smith, Samuel Wright, John 
Hudson, James Bellman, John P. Chisholm, and James 
Woodruff. An Epworth league was organized during 
the pastorate of Rev. B. Hingely. Lewis Hole, Wm. 
Home, H. Garry, and Mrs. R. Townssend have been 
presidents. 

The pioneer members of this church were men of 
such character, and the manner in which they labored 
for it well deserve an honora1)le record. Some of 
them lived in times when great effort and much self- 
denial were necessary to keep up the church and 
support the ministers whom the conference sent to 



THE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 81 

labor for them. This responsibility w^is cheerfully 
met by man}' whose toils and generosity were highly 
commendable. Methodist ministers in those days 
dressed ver}- plain. Their coats were like those of 
the Quakers; so that they were sometimes mistaken 
for persons of that denomination. ^lany of the lav- 
members, too, avoided what were then deemed super- 
fluities, but are now very commcm and fashionable 
because easily obtained. 



CHAPTER Vin. 

RELIGIOUS HISTORY CONTINUED. — THE DISCIPLE 
OR CHRISTIAN CHURQH. 



1H E) following account of this church has been 
furnished to the author, and, bv one of the 
prominent members, pronounced correct : 

"Alex. Campbell, of Pennsylvania, Walter Scott, 
of Ohio, and John Smith, of Kentucky, each began, 
in their respective states, religious movements very 
similar to each other, and which, in a few years, when 
they became acquainted with each other, in the first 
quarter of this century, and had compared their reli- 
gious views; these were found to be so very similar 
that they became the leaders in a short time of a v^ery 
important religious movement, which, at the present 
time, enrolls on its lists a membership of not less than 
one million pervsons. " 

"Walter Scott was a graduate of the university, 
of Edinburgh, in Scotland. In 1828 he was a mem- 
ber of the Mahoning Baptist Association, and bv that 
body was sent out as an evangelist. His views soon 
took on some changes, and he began independent work. 
In that vear he came from New Lisbon and begran 
preaching in the old Baptist church, that then stood 
near the crossing of Depot and Race streets.' ' 

"He was an orator of great power; and drew 
immense audiences; and he made a large number of 
new converts in Salem to these views. Amonjr them 
were Robert P. Phillips and his two sons-in-law — 
Arthur Hayden and Al^raham J. Shinn, and their 
families, and Islrs. Mar}- Bailor. Soon William 



THE DISCIPLE OR CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 83 

Schooley became a convert, and, for many years, 
preached the new faith. A few were gathered into 
a congregation and a church was organized and met 
in a log building on the Lisbon road about a mile and 
a-half out from Salem. Subsequently a new church 
was built on the site of the present Phillips church, 
on the Lisbon road." 

" Occasional!}^ the ministers preached in Salem, 
but no church was there organized till March 15th, 
1859. Among those who occasionally preached here 
prior to this period were William Schooley, Joseph 
Gaston, Amos Allerton, Kphraim Hubbard, John 
Flick, John Henr}-, John Fink, John Applegate, Ben- 
jamin Pirke^^ J. J. Moss, Alexander Hall, T. J. New- 
comb, and Geor<^e Pow. In Salem thev usually held 
their services in Liberty hall (mentioned elsewhere), 
and, on the above date, the Disciples were organized 
into a church of Christ; with Theobald Miller, as 
pastor; Samuel Hardman, elder; L. B. Webb, Fdwin 
Smith, Joseph Pyle, and Simeon Stratton, deacons; 
and Dr. B. W. Spear, S. Hardman, E. Smith, and 
Wm. Pidgeon, trustees. There were then about 
eighty members." 

''The M. E. church that stood back of the present 
Christian chapel was then becoming inadequate for 
the congregations of that order, wherefore it was 
sold to the Disciples. For a year or two this church 
was very prosperous; but dissensions arose and it 
became much divided, until 1866, when William Bax- 
ter, of Lisbon, held a meeting in Salem and greatly 
revived the church. Since which time it has had a 
steady grow^th. " 

"The erection of the present building was begun 
in 1869. The basement was dedicated bv Wm. Bax- 



84 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

ter, on the first of January, 1881, and, the auditorium, 

on the 17th of September, in the same year, by Isaac 

Errett, editor of the Christian Standard. This 

building was much due to the religious energy of 

Alexander Pow, Abraham Ball, and Thomas Bonsall. 

It cost about Sl3,000, and, in 1893, it was improved, 

enlarged and remodelled at a cost of nearly S7000 

more. 

A LIST OF PASTORS. 

1859 to 1861— Theobald Miller, three years. 

1862 — Sterling McBride, one year. 

1863 — S. B. Teegarden, one year. 

1864 to 1868 — J. W. Lamphear, four years. 

1868 to 1871— K. B. Cake, four years. 

1872 — J. H. Jones, six months. 

1882 to 1877— W. H. Spindler, five years. 

1877 — H. Cogsw^ell, six months. 

1877 to 1884— T. J. Lyle, seven years. 

1884 to 1887— J. L. Darsie, three years. 

1887 — J. A. HopkiuvS, three months. 

1887 to 1890— T. K. Cramblet, three years. 

1891 to 1898— M. J. Grable, seven years. 

1898— R. C. Sargent. 

"This church has grown to a membership of over 
six hundred, and hps become very widely and favor- 
ably known among the Disciple brotherhood. The 
Sunday school has proportionatelv grown so that the 
whole number of pupils enrolled during the past3'ear 
was nearly one thousand, with an average of five 
hundred, and a corps of over fifty officers and teach- 
ers. The Christian Kndeavor, junior and senior, 
societies are very largely attended, and, are power- 
ful auxiliaries of the church." 

The following are the present officers of the church: 

Ralph C. Sargent, pastor. 




DISCIPLE, OR CHRISTIAN CHURCH, ELLSV/ORTH STREET. 



THK PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 85 

ELDERS. 

H. R. Kale, L. B. Webb, J. T. Smith, A. S. Hay- 
den, and John Pow. 

DEACONS. 

D. Garwood, M. S. Schwartz, Frank Stewart, 
M. E. Farr, W. A. Leatherberrv, Harmon Nease, 
J. K. Burt, Geo. Woodward, Geo. Harris, K. Zeij^^- 
ler, Chas. Mullen, Spencer Jewell, J. S. Blackburn, 
Chas. E)dney,W. A. Coy, Geo. Mounts, Chas. Farmer, 
and Chas. Filler. 

Ortranist — Erminie Tucker. 

In former times Miss Maggie Umstead, Walter F. 
Schwartz, and others, have rendered good service as 
Sunday school superintendents. 

THE PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

The first service of the Episcopal church in Salem 
was held on the 19th of April, 1817, in a log school 
house that stood a few rods east of the place where 
the citv hall now stands. It was conducted bv Rev. 
Philander Chase, afterwards the first bishop of the 
diocese of Ohio. He was uncle to Salmon P. Chase, 
ex-governor of Ohio, senator from the same, and a 
member of President Lincoln's cabinet. Mr. Chase 
had come on horseback from Ashtabula, and was, 
perhaps, on his way to Gambier, Knox county, Ohio, 
the place of much of his work afterwards. 

From that time there is no record of any services 
of this church till Thomas Read came to Salem from 
Philadelphia, intending to make his home here. 

In January, 1859, Miss Anna Read, who was con- 
nected with the Episcopal church, being on a visit 
to her friends and relatives in Salem, learned that 
there was no church of that order here; whereupon 



86 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

she expressed a desire to have one established. On 
inquiry, she found one family besides her brother's 
of that faith. On Sunday, January 9th, they met 
(four in number) at the house of Stephen W. Whit- 
ney, which house is now a portion of No. 17 West 
Dry street. There, one of them, read the service of 
the church. After this they met regularly at the 
same house, till a room in Street's block, on Broad- 
way, was engaged for the use of the church. On the 
24th of Februarv the first reg^ular service was held, 
Rev. A. M. McMurray officiating. He then resided 
in Boardman, Mahoning count}^ Ohio. 

A few davs afterwards. Rev. De Witt Bvllesbv, 
of Pittsburgh, was in Salem, and he preached on two 
successive evenings. On the 13th of March Rev. Mr. 
Cummings, for the first time, administered the com- 
munion, and, at the same time, baptized six children. 
On the next day the parish was organized, and named 
' ' The Church of Our Saviour. " A vestrv was elected 

•J 

consisting of Thomas Read, S. W. Whitney, Samuel 
D. Hawley, Allan Boyle, E^. Smith, Robert and E. 
Turner. 

Notice of the organization was thereupon sent to 
Bishop Mcllvaine, of the diocese of Ohio, who, on 
the 9th of April, following, visited Salem and held 
service in the Town hall, and, at the same time, con- 
firmed eight persons. About this time, a Sabbath 
school was organized. In accordance with the bish- 
op's advice, a minister was called. 

Lay-services continued to be held regularlv until 
a convention was held, which Rev. Hollis liap])ened 
to attend. Arrangements were thereupon consum- 
mated for engaging his services as rector. He 
remained with the church about fifteen months. He 



THE PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL CHURCH. S7 

was succeeded b}- Rev. H. H. Morrell. He officiated 
once a month for half a 3^ear. In December, lcS()2, 
Rev. A. T. McMurphy accepted a call to the church. 
He then had four churches in char<j-e, but he agreed to 
give this church two services a month. A little more 
than a vear afterwards, his services were enjjfatred 
for half of the time. He remained with the church 
several years. 

The congregations, heretofore, met for services in 
rooms on Broadway, then owned by Zadok Street, 
and in a building belonging to Joshua J. Boone, cm 
Main street, where the Hogan block now is. 

The number of communicants increased, wherefore 
a lot on East Green street w^as purchajsed, and, a 
school house that had belonged to Calvin Moore, was 
removed to this place and refitted for church ser- 
vice. This house was used for services until the sub- 
stantial stone edifice, on Main street, was finished. 
This was built in 1888 and 1889. The corner stone 
was laid on the 23rd of October, 1888. Rev. Cyrus 
L. Bates, of Cleveland, then gave an excellent address, 
standing on the foundation work of the building. 

The late William Mullins, of Allegheny city. Pa., 
and his daughter, the wife of Mi;. Thos. H. Bakewell, 
contributed a large part of the funds for building 
and furnishing the church now in use. 

Rev. Ephraim Watt was then rector, and he ren- 
dered himvself very popular in the city. He left this 
parish in September, 1891. Then Rev. C. L. Finder 
came: After two 3^ears he was succeeded bv Rev. 
F. K. McManus, who remained till February, 1898. 
Soon after his departure Rev. E. L. Wells came. 

Besides the vestrymen named at the organization 
of this church the following persons have served in 



88 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

that capacity. Wm. Keen, Louis Brereton, T. H. 
Bakewell, Robert G. Curtis, Dr. K. Y. Hogan, Chas. 
L. Steiner, Wm. H. Read, B. P. Van Kirk, Wm. L. 
Leming, Frederic J. Mullins, J. P. Hogan, Geo. C. 
S. Southworth, John R. Bustard, and Wm. Bunting. 

In the Sunday school Louis Brereton and W. H. 
Read have rendered service as superintendents; and, 
as teachers, Mrs. F. J. Mullins, Mrs. Southworth, 
Miss F. Grisselle, Miss Maude Ambler, F.T. Steiner, 
and W. H. Read. 

The principal choristers have been, W. R. Read, 
Geo. W. Howell, Mrs. Cora Barckhoff, Miss Ksther 
H. Boone, Miss Mary H. Hannay, Mrs. Fllen Mayer- 
hofer, Miss Mabel Garrigues, and Miss Fva Deming. 

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

Previous to the 3^ear 1850 there were few Catholics 
in Salem. There w^as a great prejudice againt them, 
and they were much scandalized. With few excep- 
tions, those here were foreigners, and laborers by 
employment. The building of the railroad brought 
many more to this place. 

Some time between 1853 and 1855, Rev. William 
(3 'Connor visited Salem and held service in the house 
of Michael Derrick. This was the beginning of their 
church; and now, we see to what size it has grown. 
Since that time they have been visited, and had ser- 
vice by Revs. Striker, Welsh, Prendergast and 
others; all of whom resided at Dungannon. Then 
Rev. Mulcah3% a professor in tlie Louisville college, 
visited and conducted services. 

In 1868 Rev. F. W. J. Lindersmith, who then had 
charge of churches in Alliance and Leetonia, took 
charge of the Salem mission. He held services once 
a month in the houses of Catholic people, and four 



THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. 89 

times a year in the Tdvvii hall. This he continued 
till 1880. During his time the lots on Kast Main 
street were purchased for S800. 

In 1880 Rev. C. Treiher was sent to Salem as 
resident pastor. For one 3'ear he continued here, 
holding services in the Town hall: and making prep- 
arations for building a house of worship. This 
seemed a difficult task, as there were onlv twentv-live 
families to render help. Through his untiring work 
and the hearty co-operation of his little flock, a house 
of worship adequate for the purpose was built. 

On the 28th of November, 1886, the church was 
dedicated by Rt. Rev. R. Gilmour, bishop of the 
Cleveland diocese. One of the Salem papers, in giv- 
ing an account of the dedication, said that the bishop 
was much pleased with the appearance of things in 
Salem, and the prospect for the church. In the even- 
ing after the dedication of the church, the bishop 
gave a lecture in Concert hall to a large asv<>^embly, 
many of whom were not Catholics. His address 
received good attention, and was the means of dis- 
pelling much of the prejudice that prevailed against 
the church. Rev. C. Treiber was a liberal minded 
man, and, by his kindness, to all classes of people, he 
gained many friends in this place. 

The congregations, and members increased so that 
it became necessary to enlarge the structure. An 
addition was then made which included a sanctuary 
and two sacristies. While this work was progress- 
ing Rev. Treiber was transferred to another charge. 
He was succeeded by Rev. S. Finucan, who completed 
the work of enlarging the church. Owing to ill 
health he was obliged to resign and seek a milder 
climate. 



90 • HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Rev. F. Senner came next and continued with the 
church till September 15th, 1897, when he was'trans- 
ferred to Louisville, Stark county, Ohio. Under his 
prudent and careful management the entire indebted- 
ness of the church was paid and some other valuable 
addition procured. 

In 1891 a parsonage adjoining the church was built 
at a cost of $1200. This was highly creditable to the 
church, considering the time of its being organized, 
and the fact of its having but few wealthy members. 
Only one other church in the city has a parsonage. 

Rev. F. Senner was succeeded by Rev. G. C. 
Schoeneman, the present incumbent. During his 
short time the interior of the church has been remod- 
elled, the walls have been frescoed and the floors 
covered with carpets and mats, giving it a handsome 
appearance inside. The members come from about 
one hundred families. With all things duly consid- 
ered. Saint Paul's church appears now to be in a fair 
and prosperous way. 




PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. E. GREEK STREET. 



CHAPTER IX. 

RELIGIOUS HISTORY CONCLUDKD. — THK PRKS- 
BYTKRIAN CHURCH. 

Q^^j^KV. Clement Vallandi^ham ma}' be reo^arded 
I I as the pioneer Prevsbyterian minister in 

^^**^ Columbiana county. He came to Lisbon 
in the year 1807, and soon afterwards was installed 
as pastor of the church in that place. He entered on 
the work of his mission wi^h great zeal. He labored 
in several parts of the county, and finall}' extended his 
work to Salem. It is not known when and where 
his first preaching in the place w^as. John Campbell 
and his family were the foremost to give him enter- 
tainment and help in the place. Isaac Wilson also 
merits similar mention ; likewise Nathaniel Mc- 
Cracken, living about three miles south east of the 
town. 

It was in the year 1830 that the first Presbyterian 
house of w^orship was erected in Salem. Some years 
elasped before it was completed. Meetings were 
there held before the house was plastered, and the 
congregation sat on rude benches. After a few years 
the house was finished, furnished with pews which 
had doors, and the rent of each one marked on it. 
This house was used for about eighteen years ; then 
it was sold, removed and turned into a dwelling house. 
Then, in its place, the grand edifice now occupied, 
was built. 

The Presb3^tery of New Lisbon occasionally sent 
supplies to Salem; Rev. C. Vallandigham being the 
principal one. In 1832 a petition was sent to the 



92 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Presbytery, asking for an organization in this place- 
Tliis was, at first, opposed by the pastors at Can- 
field and Lisbon. This may seem strange to us. 
Were they fearful that a church here could not be 
sustained? Salem was then a stronghold of the 
Friends, and the Baptists and Methodists w-ere gain- 
ingf siofnificance. 

The petition was, however, granted; and on the 
3rd day of November, 1832, twenty persons, w^ho had 
expressed a desire to be organized as a Presbyterian 
church assembled, the most of whom had certificates 
of dismission from the churches at Canfield and 
Lisbon. Rev. C. Vallandigham had charge of the 
meeting, he being assigned for this purpose. After 
a sermon and other devotional exercises, the church 
was constituted, consisting of the following persons: 

Hugh Stewart, Reuel Wright, George Echrich, 
Nathaniel McCracken, John Martin, James Wilson, 
Terah Jones, John Wilson, Wm. Martin, Hugh Mar- 
tin, Agnes Stewart, Agnes Wilson, Mar}^ Echrich, 
Elizabeth McCracken, Martha T. Martin, Rebecca P. 
Campbell, Martha Wilson, Ann Jane Martin, Eliza- 
beth Wright, and Martin. 

James Wilson, Nathaniel McCracken, and Hugh 
Stewart were chosen elders. Since that time Hugh 
Martin, Terah Jones, Christian Bowman, Robert G. 
Woods, William Wilson, Richard Gardner, Dr. J. M. 
Kuhn, Reuben McMillan, Lsrael Travis, Henry M. 
Osborne, Asa W. Allen, Jr., Wm. C. Hutcheson, John 
Doutt, Charles H. Harris, Wm. McCracken, Hiram 
Tavlor, Robert Trimble, Mason Beaumont, and 
(t. a. Bayerd have oificiated as elders. The church, 
as first constituted, was represented in New Lisbon 
Presbytery. After the union of the Old and New 



THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 93 

school parties, a new arran^^ement was made, hv 
which the south part of New Lisbon Presl)3'terv was 
annexed to that of Stetibenvilles and the north part 
and a part of Trumbull formed Mahoning- Presb3^ter3\ 

This church has a fair Sabbath school record. No 
one in the cit}' has done better service in the church 
interest. It was first held in John Campbell's shop. 
When Rev. J. Coon opened his academ3'in this place, 
it got a good impulse from some of his students, 
especiall3^ David Hine, R. McMillan and R. W. Smith. 
Since which time Dr. Kuhn, Calvin Brainerd, R. A. 
Kirk, Rush Taggart, R. S. La3^ng, M3^ron IC. Hard, 
W. H. Maurer, W. H. Moulton, Mason Beaumont, 
and H. A. Kilborne, have been superintendents. As 
teachers, good service has been rendered 1)3' Miss 
Mary Waterworth, Mrs. Mar3^ Forehope, Mrs. Anna 
B. Gilbert, Mrs. Arrison, Mrs. Boyle, Messrs. Geo. 
Cooper, G. A. Bayerd, Frank Bower, and vsome 
others. The attendance now averages about three 
hundred. 

"The Rev. Clement Vallandigham labored with 
this church, and at Lisbon, until his death in 1839. 
He was succeeded b3' Rev. Wm. McCombs, who gave 
part of his time to the Canfield church, and resided 
in Salem the last three years of his ministr3\ In the 
spring of 1852, on account of ill health, he gave up 
the charge, having ministered unto the congregation 
eleven vears. He was succeeded in the autumn of 
1852 b3^ Rev. J. S. Grimes, D.D., who remained five 
vears, and was succeeded b3^ Rev. A. B. Maxwell, 
who remained as pastor thirteen years."* 

His pastorate was the longest and one of the best 

:Rev. H. B. Fry. 



94 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

of an}' pastor in the city. He was held in high esti- 
mation bj all who knew him. 

Some time in the pastorate of Rev. W. McCombs 
Rev. Jacob Coon came to Salem and opened an acad- 
emy in the house now occupied b}^ Wm. Morris. This 
institution and his abode in the place was some help 
to the Prevsbyterian church. He sometimes preached 
in this church, and in certain ones out of the town. 

In March, 1859, the first movement for building a 
new church edifice was made. Rev. Maxwell was 
then pastor. After severe trials on behalf of the 
church it was completed at a cost of about $10,000. 
The plan of it was drawn by Mr. Blackburn, an arch- 
itect, of Cleveland. It was finished and dedicated 
December 22nd, 1861. The dedication sermon was 
by Prof. Wilson, of Allegheny city. Pa. Since which 
time additions have been made consisting of a room 
for Sunday schools, prayer meetings, and social enter- 
tainments. So that now it is the most commodious 
and complete edifice for worship in the city. The 
membership is about three hundred and eight}'. 

Rev. H. B. Fry came to this church as supply 
in November, 1870, and, in the next Ma3^ he was 
installed as pastor. He was succeeded by Rev. W. 
D. Sexton who had a fair pastorate of a few^ years. 
He was a remarkably good Bible reader. Not all 
ministers read the sacred book with less affectation 
than he. Naturalness should characterize all kinds 
of reading in whatever place it may be done. 

Rev. Decosta Pomerene came next. He was a 
young man and was nearly blind; 1)ut he had a thor- 
ough education, and his mental and intellectual powers 
were brighter than many of those who have good 
eyesight. His pastorate was short. He was killed 



^ 




GERMAN LUTHERAN CHURCH, S. LUNDY STREET. 



THE EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH. 95 

in a railroad collision at Harrisburg, Pa. Rev. B. 
F. Boyle, the present incumbent, came to Salem in 
March, 1891. His former charge was at Irwin, 
Westmoreland county, Pa. 

THE EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH. 

"A number of people in the village of Salem, and 
vicinity, who were interested in the doctrines of the 
Lutheran church, met in September, 1877, under the 
preaching of Rev. William B. Roller, from Green, 
Mahoning county, Ohio. Services were held regu- 
larly on the Sabbath until January 6th, 1878, when a 
church was organized, consisting of twenty pensons, 
and the Rev. Wm. B. Roller called to be their pastor. 
Services were held in the episcopal church edifice. 
The society had then forty members. " 

The foregoing account was published in the county 
history. This organization appears not to have been 
permanent. Some time in 1886, Rev. Michael Binder, 
a native German, came to Salem and commenced 
preaching to people of the Lutheran persuasion; the 
most of whom were Germans. He labored w^ith them 
a few years, in a ministerial capacity, and then left 
them. Rev. Abraham Miller, of Georgetown, came 
next; and then Revs. Behm, and Gallenkamp, of New^ 
York. 

Some time in 1895 Rev. Mr. Schmidt, of Youn<rs- 
town, commenced preaching here, and remained 
about a year. During which time he organized the 
Emanuel Evangelical Lutheran church. After him 
came Rev. Mr. Knoblauch. He remained over a year, 
and, in this time, raised money and got a house of 
worship built. The corner-stone of it was laid (m 
the 20th of June, 1897. Addresses were then given 
in English by Rev. Myers, of Canton, and, in German, 



96 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

by Rev. K. T. Butz, Sr. The house was finished so 
as to be read}^ for dedication and services in the fol- 
lowing winter. 

On the 16th of January, 1898, the house was dedi- 
cated, and, at the same time, Rev. E). T. Butz, Jr., was 
installed, as pastor. Preaching is mostly in German. 
On each alternate Sunday, the service is in Knglish. 
There are now about sixty-five members. And a 
Sundav school is kept up under the supervision of 
Charles Vogel. Alfred Klose is assistant superin- 
tendent. There is, in this church, a young people's 
society, and, a ladies' society. 

THE AFRICAN M. E. CHURCH. 

The colored people are mostly inclined to be reli- 
gious, and hence like the services of the church. But 
toooften white people have so much prejudice against 
them that while they are not wilfully debarred from 
sanctuaries controlled by white people, they feel too 
much embarrassed to enjoy the services therein. 
Their sense and judgment then prompts them to 
keep away from places where they are unwelcome. 
Hence, when they can do so, they prefer to have 
hoUvSes of worship for their own color. In Salem 
they have been able to have churches for their race. 

Some time in the sixties they effected an organiza- 
tion under the leadership of Rev. Armstrong, of 
Alliance. They had a meeting place on Dry street. 
( )n the decline of the second Baptist church they got 
povssessicm of the hou.se UvSed by that party. In it 
they held meetings till they built the A. M. K. Z. 
church, at the corner of Howard and High streets. 
This was done in 1870, and niainl}' by the exertion of 
Rev. J. Cox. Rev. Jehu Holiday was one of their 
most efiicient ministers. He was raised near Salem, 



THE CHURCH OF GOD. 97 

and is now a bishop. Rev, Win. Hopkins is, at this 
time, their pastor. They sustain a Sunday school, 
and appear to be pro^ressin*^ in a fair wav. 

Other pastors that they have had were Revs. Gross, 
PettijLi^rew, Asbury, Bell, Sampson, Thomson, and 
Russell. Hannah Fo^rg-, of the Friends' church, 
!;i"ave them good help for awhile, as Sunday school 
superintendent. 

Some time after their organization there was a 
separation, and another church formed. This was, 
perhaps, the result of caprice, or, some kind of disa- 
i^^reement. This party is called Bethel, and has a 
small house of worship on Fast-High street. Rev. 
(ireen is the pastor. 

THE CHURCH OF GOD. 

A house of worship for a denomination known by 
this name was erected about the year 1888. It stands 
in the western part of the city, at the fork of the 
North Benton and Damascus roads. The house is a 
neat frame building, and was built mainly at the 
expense of the late John Barber, who was one of the 
most prominent members. Before this house was 
erected, services were held from house to house 
among those who were inclined to embrace the spe- 
cific doctrines of this denomination. 

Rev. J. M. Stevenson first preached the doctrines 
of this church in this place. Besides him Rev. J. P. 
Weethe and some others have preached their doc- 
trines here. They now have services only occasion- 
ally, and keep up a Sunday school. Their membership 
is but small in number. 

They profess to take the Bible just as it is for 
their standard of belief and practice, and they con- 
sider that no other discipline is needed. Some people 



98 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

facetiousl}^ call them "Soul-sleepers," from their 
belief that the soul remains in its earthly tenement, 
or somewhere in this sublunary world till the general 
judgment of all mankind for their lives and deeds 
while in this state of being. 

Only a few people in Salem and in Goshen town- 
ship have accepted the peculiar tenets of this church. 

THK YOUNG MEN'S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION. 

This society was first organized in 1868. Previous 
to that time there were but few^ societies of the kind 
in the state of Ohio. Its object is thus stated in the 
constitution: "The object of this Association shall 
be the mutual improvement of its members in their 
spiritual, moral and social condition, and the advance- 
ment of the work of home evangelization." For 
active membership a person needs to be a member in 
good standing in some evangelical church. And, for 
associate membership, any man of good moral char- 
acter may be a member. 

Religious services have been held by this society 
on almost every Sunday afternoon. Rooms were 
engaged for its use, in which its library was kept, 
and its meetings held. In 1895, the brick block, at 
corner of Garfield avenue and Kast Main street was 
built, mainly for its accommodation. The chief part 
of this building is intended for the use of this society. 
There it has a commodious reading room, furnished 
with the Salem, Cleveland and Pittsburgh daily 
papers, a large number of monthh^ magazines of var- 
ious character, some of the principal w^eeklies of 
different religious denominations, and a library of 
some valuable religious, scientific, and historical 
works. This buiklinu; also contains a commodious 



THE YOUNG MEN's CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION. 99 

room for religious meetings and lectures, a gymna- 
sium, bath rooms, and office and parlors. 

The library and periodicals here kept aiford a very 
rational and interesting place of entertainment for 
strangers, or any persons of leisure. For these pur- 
poses there is no better place in this city, and no 
charge is made therefor. The annual report, says : 
"The Association aims to do all that is possible for 
the spiritual welfare of men, and is successful just 
in proportion as Christian men make use of the 
opportunity offered to influence men to lead Christian 
liv^es. The great need of the Salem Association is 
for young- men who have consecrated their lives to 
God's service, and who will grasp the opportunity 
offered in the Association, for service." 



i 




CHAPTER X. 

THE PRINTING PRESS. 

iRINTING, in Salem, was first done in a log- 
\(o houvse, that stood on or near the place 

where A. M. Carr's new store house has 
been built. Joseph Shreve was then the popular and 
successful teacher of the Friends' school, and his 
brother Thomas was studying medicine with Dr. 
Stanton; both of them were literar}' characters, 
friendly to the dissemination of knowledge, and 
advocates of the printing press. They came from 
Pennsylvania, and had some knowledge of Robert 
Fee, who, in Brownsville,, in that state, published 
The Western Register. In this, he appears to have made 
a failure, and was then induced b}^ the Shreves, to 
come to this place and start a paper. In the latter 
part of March, 1825, he issued the first number of 
The Salem Gazette and Public Advertiser. 

Robert Fee was a practical printer, and possessed 
some editorial tact; but he had domestic trouble from 
which he sought relief, at times, in the intoxicating 
cup, which, in turn, aggravated the cause. A file of 
these papers was preserved by one of the oldest 
inhabitants. It was an interesting relic of the times 
and gave some idea of what the town then was. The 
Pittsburgh Gazette appears to have been the most 
important exchange, as more articles were credited 
to it than any other paper. 

An extensive account of La Fayette's visit to west- 
ern Pennsylvania, some amusing articles, accounts of 
horrid murders, advertisements of rewards for the 



THE PRINTING PRESS. 101 

arrest of criminals, and some of the occurrences of 
the times were the prominent items. Joseph Shreve 
jj^ave some articles on grammar; and he wrote a short 
account of the appearance of a comet, that he thought 
would appear again in the early part of 182^). 

Some marriage notices were published; the parties 
to which have most likely passed away; and, with 
them, according to a custom then, and during some 
subsequent years prevailing, some pithy epigrams 
were given, such as: 

" Till Hymen brought his love delighted hour, 
There dwelt no joy in Eden's rosy bower ! 
The world was sad — the garden was a wild, 
And man, the hermit sighed — till woman smiled."* 
* * * 

" Oh! what's a table richly spread, 
Without a woman at its head.'' 



'* May heaven crown their bliss with joys, 
And fill their arms with girls and boys." 

Wm. Beans married Sarah K. Greenfield, on which 
event some genius perpetrated this: 

"If fate shall to their wishes yield. 

And fate to true love leans. 
Time may bestow on this Greenfield 

A lovely crop of Beans." 

A rustic swain, named Harr}^ married a Miss 
Smart, and this followed: 

"Come on, ye awkward crew% 

Don't let the chance depart ; 
Your courage, now renew. 

Since Harry's got Smart." 



■'From Campbell's Pleasures of Hope. 



102 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

Some persons, in and about the town, had the 
germs of literary genius, which were manifested in 
articles written for this paper. Some poetical spar- 
ring was waged for two or three months by persons 
who signed themselves "Pope, " "Polydius, " "Burns" 
and one who gave his real name. "Pope" appears 
to have criticised the literary taste of "Polydius" 
in some of his productions. To which he replied, 
and "Pope" gave a rejoinder. Others joined in the 
fray, and, after some articles were published by each 
of them, the editor gave notice that they must " ter- 
minate the war. " Although "Polydius " had "caught 
a Tartar "in " Pope, ' ' he declared he would not yield 
if the contest "should it last a whole year." The 
following is a specimen of his doggerel. Alluding to 
" Pope, " he says: 

"He writes so keen, and cuts so clean. 

No person dares olfend him. 
And talks so larned, that I'll be darned 

If I can comprehend him." 

There was some rhyme and a little reason in their 
verses, but meter was much lacking. " Burns, " who 
imitated the Scottish bard of that name, gave a set- 
tler to the whole affair. Here is one of his stanzas : 

" His taunting satire shaves sae keen, 
It scarce has left an inch o' skin 
Upo' the back & Joshua Shinn. 

Yet Shinn is wise, 
He shuts his ej-es upo' the din, 

And manfu' flies." 

But the greatest exploit of authorship was a serial 
story that extended through fourteen chapters — each 
making from two to four columns. It was entitled, 
"Life and Death as they are, a serio-comico — 



THE PRINTING PRESS. 103 

tragico — philosophico mixed Tale, mainly founded 
on fact. By Cyrus W. Hart ; — the peddler, the 
preacher, the lawyer, a lov-er of music and philos- 
oph3^ and an admirer of the fair sex.'' The author 
was a queer genius, who flourished about Salem in 
those days. Some people considered him somewhat 
crack-brained. His style in this story is verbose and 
graphic, showing much command of language. It is 
impossible to tell how many midnight candles were 
burnt reading this story. Carbon oil was not then 
discovered. There were doubtless many people then 
who liked such reading as this article, but they were 
not glutted with novels, novelettes and newspaper 
tales as the public now is. The speculation in v^ensa- 
tional literature had not then commenced. The hero 
of this story is named Lee; whose sage father gave 
him some wholesome advice, when on his death bed, 
also, left him a considerable fortune. He had good 
intellectual powers, but fell into habits of dissipation. 
Harriet Stocking, the heroine, is styled, "The smart- 
est of all the female creation, ' ' and, for ' 'Two hundred 
miles around, she was admired universally." She 
had much regard for Lee, and had some influence in 
restraining his ill habits; while a sense of his degra- 
dation, and her maiden pride only partially suppressed 
the tender passion between them, during her lifetime. 
The scene of the narative is in Massachusetts and 
Connecticut, including a voyage to Europe. The 
story closed with her happy death, and Lee's wonder- 
ful change. About a dozen stanzas are given in 
conclusion, entitled, "Response of Lee to Harriet 
Stocking after his conversion to Christianity, by 
means of a conversation wnth her departed spirit in 
a dream while in the shades." 



104 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

There was some advertising in this paper; but 
there was then less to advertise, and people then did 
not know the benefit of advertising. One of the 
greatest calamities recorded was the burning of 
Goshen meeting hoUvSe. It occurred on a Sabbath 
morning. The Gazette came to an untimely end in 
July, 1826. 

In 1830, and during some of the following years, 
Salem received onl}^ a semi-weekly mail. Yet, it then 
contained many newspaper patrons. The Ohio Patriot 
(Democratic) and The Western Palladium (Whig), were 
tlien published in New Lisbon. . T/ze ^itrom was com- 
menced in 1832. It was neutral, but contained many 
excellent moral, literjar}^ and hivStorical articles, as 
well as some of the most important news of the da}'. 
Anti-masonr}' was a prominent topic, and this paper 
did much to excite prejudice against all secret socie- 
ties. No post-office received more of these papers 
than Salem. Some Philadelphia papers were taken, 
especially The Saturday Evening Pest. A few persons 
took Columbus papers, especialh^ during the sessions 
of the legislature. The Christian Advocate, The Cross 
and Journal and The Friend, were taken by some of the 
l)ioiis people. Literary taste and thirst for knowl- 
edge were then fast developing. The nearest news- 
papers besides those at New Lisbon were The Warren 
News Letter, The Trumbull Democrat, The Ohio Star 
(Ravenna), The Ohio Repository (Cant(m), a paper pub- 
lished at Centerville (now Carrollton), and the Steu- 
benville papers. A few of these were taken in the 
city, and vicinity. Salem, at that time, might be 
considered as literally begging for a printing press 
and a Uve editor. 

Some time in 1835 Wilson F. Stewart came and 



THE PRINTING PRESS. 105 

issued his prospectus for The Salem Visitor. This 
prospectus was a curiosity of its own kind. It com- 
menced by saying that "Without the usual notice 
that periodicals already abound, the editor would 
simply state that he intended to publish a paper like 
others in some particulars — in others, unlike them." 
It was to be like them inasmuch as its main object 
would be to suit the public taste. He acknowledged 
the difficulty of knowing what this was; and, "If it 
were possible, to ascertain what the reigning taste 
was, he would endeavor not to reform, but to con- 
form." Some promises about the character of the 
paper were given; among others, that "Stanzas 
should have a ready admission, adapted to the love- 
sick, and sick of love. ' ' Hoh ! hoh ! ! hoh ! ! ! 

The first number was issued and the carrier sent 
around with it. Wm. Reed, on seeing it, paid for it 
and gave orders for no more to be sent to him. John 
Frost, of the New Lisbon Aurora, noticed it by merely 
mentioning that he had been favored with a visit 
from The Salem Visitor. He wisely thought that 
enough to sa}^ about such a rival in the editorial line. 
It was filled with trashy tales, foolish anecdotes, a 
little news, some Pittsburgh advertisements, and 
some silly stuff. Some of the "stanzas" published 
in it and the Mercury were very spooney. It is not 
known that any love-sick swains were benefited by 
them. After a few months the paper was enlarged, 
and extra labor saved by repeating some of the out- 
side columns on the inside. Unfortunately for this 
man stereotype plated news, which is now furnished 
daily from news agencies in large cities, was not then 
invented. 

Among the unsophisticated country folks, and the 



106 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

enterprisin<^ citizens, who wished the town to have 
a printing- press, a considerable number of subscrib- 
ers was obtained. Some communications were writ- 
ten for the paper, which were willing!}^ published, as 
this gave evidence of "conforming" to the "reigning 
taste " in the town. 

A schoolboy, whose literary knowledge and judg- 
ment were unusually developed, had the temerity to 
tell this astute editor that the paper "did not suit 
his taste," because it only "imposed on the readers 
foolish anecdotes and nonsense. " At this he swore 
wickedly, and asked "what kind of a paper he would 
like." The Aurora and Niles Register (Baltimore)* 
were quickly replied; both taken by the boy's father. 
More profanity followed, and threats of being kicked 
out of the office convinced the boy that "Discretion 
then was the best part of valor. ' ' A good old Friend, 
for refusing to subscribe was denounced by an appro- 
brious ephithet qualified by some prof anit}^ So slow 
was this ignoramus of the press in learning editorial 
policy, and "the reigning taste " of this then modest 
and moral town. 

In the spring of the next year P. F. Boylan bought 
the press and type of The Visitor. He adopted Stew- 
art 's ])r()spectus with a few w^ords and terms changed, 
and commenced The Ohio Mercury. It was some 
improvement on The Visitor, but its tone and stvle 
were the same as its " illustrious predecessor.' ' The 
I'ditor made some fair ])roniises, and the people con- 
nived at his failings. He published some notices of 
his paper by other editors, and he forestalled attacks 
on liis enterprise by warning that "if anybody put 

"NUes Rfifjialer, in Its time, was about the best exponent of congressional pro- 
ceeilliiBH. the movcrn«>ntsof leadinK polltiolans, and general news, of all peilcdi- 
calHln the United Slates. For candor, dignity, and reliability it was unsurpassed. 



THE PRINTING PRESS. 107 

their hands into Boylan water, thev would find the 
i>cald to be dan^^eroius. " After a few months Stew- 
art's plan of repeatinjj^ a few columns was adopted, 
and he confessed that he " found it very conv^enient, " 
1)ut w^ould not "do so often. " Then followed irre<^- 
ular issues and a decrease of good reading matter 
until The Aurora, in mentioning some changes, men- 
tioned that " The Ohio Mercury was about being trans- 
ferred to some of its creditors as the editor had 
absconded between tw^o days. " Another report was 
that after giving his presidential vote for Martin 
Van Buren, he left the town as fast as his feet and 
legs would carry him. 

The Visitor and Mercury were both printed in an old 
building that stood where C. I. Hayes' store now is. 
After such signal failures as these, it would have 
been impossible to establish a press in Salem — so 
soon as it was done — if such means as had not been 
used as will be detailed in next chapter. The people 
were much disgusted with such printers as had been 
here, and those of the first - class in the art were 
afraid of the place. 



CHAPTKR XI. 

THE PRINTING PRESS CONTINUED. 

♦ IV^OT WITHSTANDING the unsuccessful efforts 
qJ 1 to establish a press in Salem, as told in the 
preceding chapter, and the discouraging prospects 
resulting therefrom, there were some people who 
believed that a newspaper could be supported in the 
town, and that one was much needed. Many eastern 
papers were then taken, and the neighboring papers 
got about as much patronage here as the}^ deserved. 
A tri-weekh' mail was then received by the way of 
Lisbon, besides one or two cross-mails, not oftener 
than semi-weekly. Thereupon Benjamin Hawley, 
James Kggman, John Campbell, and John Harris 
associated themselves as an editorial committee, w ith 
Benjamin B. Davis and Joshua Hart as publishers; 
the last mentioned being a practical printer. A press 
and other printing material were procured, and, on 
the 12th day of April, 1842, the first number of The 
Village Register was issued. It was a respectable sized 
sheet, it made such an appearance, and it contained 
such reading matter as at once recommended itself 
to i)atronage. The well-known character of the 
editorial staff also helped it much. It "conformed" 
much to "the reigning taste,'' and did much to 
"reform," without any cringing cajoler}-; and it 
avoided the folly of its predecessors. And thus it 
rendered itself just such a paper as the citizens of the 
place wished. 

"The Register looked well to education, temper- 



THE PRINTING PRESS CONTINUED. 109 

ance, and whatever tended to elevate and preserve a 
healthy moral condition in the community. " It did 
not give its inflence to any political party; but it took 
such a position on the anti-slavery subject as to make 
it very acceptable to all of the abolitionists. Salem 
was then a stronghold of that persuasion. Manv 
communications were published in ilie Register which 
exhibited literary taste and cultivated talents. A 
limited amount of advertising was done, and this 
made the paper more acceptable to its readers. In 
those days there were but few monthlies; wherefore 
many incipient writers used the newspaper as a means 
of ventilating their thoughts and publishing their 
ideas about the times and morals of the people. Per- 
sons, of this class, were not then scarce in this place. 

After what seemed a fair start (about a vear), 
B. B. Davis became principal editor, and he employed 
printers to do the work. Some time in 1844 Joseph 
H. Painter came to Salem and rented the office. He 
came from West Chester, Pa. He was both a printer 
and a man skilled in newspaper craft. Heretofore 
the paper had been, in most particulars, an imperson- 
ation of the town and immediate vicinity; he gave it 
a more popular character abroad, and much improved 
it. With him George W. Keen, Joseph Ware, and 
Jesse Hutton learned the art of printing, and they 
afterwards rendered important service to the press 
in Salem and some other places. 

Mr. Painter remained in Salem over two vears. 
He occupied the brick building that then stood at 
the corner of Main street and Lincoln avenue. He 
also kept a bookstore. On his retirement B. B. Davis 
again took charge of the paper. He took Aaron Hinch- 
man, who was a self-made printer, as a partner in 



110 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

lcS4(). In a short time Mr. Hinchman became sole 
editor and proprietor. He changed the name to that 
of Homestead Journal. He adv^ocated labor reform, 
the rights of producers, and the exemption of home- 
steads from being seized for taxes or debts. The 
paper was now on a durable basis and in a prosperous 
way— a credit to the town, and it did not suffer by 
comparison with other country papers. 

In 1854 Mr. J. K. Rukenbrod entered into partner- 
ship with Jesse Hutton, and, after a short time, 
purchased the whole concern. He identified the paper 
with the interest of the republican party; and, in 1857, 
gave it the name of The Salem EepubliGan. From that 
time he continued in the even tenor of his way, issu- 
ing a good weekly paper of its character till near the 
time of his death. Mr. Rukenbrod served several 
terms in the Ohio legislature; and, while thus absent 
Ironi Salem, the paper was edited by Henry C. 
Hawlev. 

A short time before his death Jonathan K. Ruken- 
brod sold out to the Salem Publishing Company. 
By tliLin this paper was consolidated with the Era, 
was continued under the name of RepuMican^Era, and 
is now issued as a semi-w^eeklv. 

The successful establishment of a newspaper in 
SaUm, and its general prosperity, together with the 
growing interest of the town in various ways, pre- 
sented s(mie inducements for other enterprises of a 
similar character. There was then more job printing 
to be done, and a greater demand for reading of the 
periodical kind. Hence appeared chances and encour- 
agement tor other printing establishments. 

A t that time the anti-slavery excitement was strong, 
especially in Salem. Wm. Lloyd Garrison, Abby 



THE PRINTING PRESS CONTINUED. 1 1 1 

Kelly, Stephen Foster, Frederick Douglas, and other 
champions of the doctrine were often here. Anti- 
slavery newspapers and other documents of that 
character were much read. And it seemed an ap])ro- 
priate place for the establishment of an anti-slavery 
paper. Whereupon the Anti-Slavery Bugle wai^ started 
with Benjamin S. Jones as editor, and Geor^^e N. 
Hapgood, of Warren, was engaged as printer. He 
was a good workman, and was much respected for 
his gentlemanly habits while residing in Salem. In 
September, 1852, he returned to Warren, and there 
passed the remainder of his life. This paper was 
thenceforth printed by John Hudson,^ till he entered 
the army in 1860. 

Mr. Jones, after a few years, retired from the edi- 
torship of this paper; and then, for awhile, Samuel 
Brooke became editor and publisher. He was suc- 
ceeded by Oliver Johnson, who, after a few vears, 
engaged on the staff of The New York Tribune. Marius 
R. Robinson then became editor and publisher, and 
continued in this position until the year 1860, or 
thereabouts. This paper was suspended about the 
time at which President Lincoln issued his emanci- 
pation proclamation. 

The tone of this paper was bold and fearless against 
everything that was supposed to keep the colored 
people in bondage. It found man}- enemies among 
the church members. Abolition and disbelief in 
orthodox religion were often blended b}' deists and 

-"John Hudson was born in Philadelphia, Pa., in 1818. When quite a young 
man he served his Hpprenticeship to the pi inting business in Medina, Ohio. He 
published a newspaper in Cairollton, Carroll county, Ohio, for several \ eais, and, 
in 1S.50, removed to Salem where he remained in the printing busines-.s until the 
year IKHO. •' ■■'■ "•'■ He died at the residence of his son, F'ranklin Hudson, in Kan- 
sas City, Mo., June 10th, 1.S77, in his Sitth year. He was a member of the school 
board in Salem for a numberof years was mayor of the city and always took an 
active part in local affairs, especially in church and educational matters. He 
was an honorable, manly man and had the re.spect and confidence of all who 
knew him."— [Communicated.] 



112 HISTORY OF SALEM. ' 

skeptics, and, b}' them, the support of slaven^ was 
char^^red upon the prevailing churches. 

In February, 1865, The Salem Journal was com- 
menced by John Hudson. He had, in former times, 
resided in Salem, and had been engaged in printing. 
After his return from the war and a term of service 
in Alliance, he came to Salem, and remained here till 
his removal to the west. 

About four years afterwards Mr. Vernon went into 
partnership with Jesse Hutton; and, by them, this 
paper was continued about one year, when Rev. I. N. 
Baird took control for a short time. Then another 
party bought the establishment, under whose manage- 
ment it became unprofitable, and it was moved from 
Salem. 

Dr. J. M. Hole started The Salem Era in 1873. In 
the next year he sold half of his interest to K. F. 
Rukenbrod, and later, the other half to J. B. Park. 
Mr. Park then sold his interest to his partner, who 
continued the publication of it till some time in 1889. 
During which time he issued a good and clean weekly 
paper. He sold out to Stanley & Company. These 
men had also purchased The Salem RepuMiedn, and they 
then consolidated the two papers, and named the com- 
binati(m The Repuhliean^Era. They afterwards organ- 
ized the Salem Publishing Company. 

Some time in January, 1883, Mr. J. W. Northrop 
came to Salem. Previous to this, he had for three 
years edited and ])ublished at Bryan, and Columbus, 
Ohio, a weekly paper entitled T/ze ^i^c/eez/e Vidette. It 
was in the interest of the laboring class; and it advo- 
cated the issue and control of all kinds of money by 
the government, and making the government respon- 
sible for all of its real value. This paper was 



y 




JOHX HUDSOX. 



THE PRINTING PRESS CONTINUED. 11."^ 

resumed here and continued till arrangementvS were 
made for publishinj^ a daily pa])er. 

In April, 1890, The Democratic Bulletin was com- 
menced. For about six months it was edited by Oliver 
(). Ho*,ran. It was printed and published by Kirby 
& Co. In 1896 the name was changed to The Weekly 
Bulletin. By the same parties The Daily Herald was 
commenced in 1891. Mr. G. W. Penn was reporter 
for it about a year and a-half. Pie was afterwards 
about tw(^ years in The News office. He was a man 
who had much skill in newspaper policy. The Herald 
and Bulletin now make respectable issues. Phillip G. 
Hiddleson has there done some service as reporter. 
J. W. Northrop is now principal editor. 

In January, 1875, jMr. Wm. D. Henkle commenced 
the publication of Notes and Queries. It was continued 
till December, 1881. This was a monthly magazine, 
which, as its name imparted, was devoted to science 
in all its branches, and literature in its various depart- 
ments. Queries were proposed in one number, and 
answers in a subsequent one were given by the editor 
or some correspondents. These were a source of 
much interest, and they prompted much inquiry and 
research that often led to useful and interesting dis- 
coveries. It was patronized and read with much 
interest bv many of the votaries of science and liter- 
ature in this region, and, in some other states. 

In September, 1870, Mr. Henkle bought the inter- 
est of The Ohio Educational Monthly, and here he edited 
and published it till he died in November, 1881. 



XIL 

THE PRINTING PRESS CONCLUDED. 

^— ''Y^ KSIDES the journals of which account has 

* r ) been g-iven in the aforesaid chapters, 
^ there have been some efforts to estab- 

lish periodicals, that were unsuccessful. These, and 
some that may 3'et be permanent long enough to give 
them a fair reputation, deserve some honorable men- 
tion. To make a periodical successful requires fac- 
ulties, in addition to knowledge of printing and 
editing, that many who are skilled in these parts do 
not possess. Doubtless some of those who wished 
to conduct a periodical were totally out of their ele- 
ment in soliciting subscribers, or had not opportu- 
nities of presenting to enough persons who would 
eagerly approve and encourage them in such an enter- 
prise. Some of these merited credit and honor that 
they never got. This has been true in many other 
enterprises besides publishing. Wherefore it appears 
to the author eminently proper that some of these 
sliould be herein noticed. 

In the summer of 1834 Amos Gilbert came and 
opened a school in Salem. He brought with him a 
printing press that his son Howard worked. Before 
this time, he had ])ublished, in Lancaster count3% Pa., 
a mcmthly paper called The Inciter. Its object was 
to diffuse knowledge, and instruct the young. Facts 
in natural science, educational and moral reflections 
were its l)urden. A few numbers were issued here, 
but the paper did not get enough of encouragement. 

In 1846 John D. Cope, a hydropathic physician 



THE PRINTlN(i PRKSS CONCLUDED. 115 



» 



^established a water cure institution where the Y. M. 
C A. block now is. A lar<j;"e number of invalidvscame 
to be treated by him. For a short time he published 
a paper (monthly or semi-monthly) entitled The Water 
Cure Advocate. Its object was, as its name purported, 
besides advertising^ his institution. Some local news 
was also <;]^iven in it. Althouj^^h hydropathy took 
readily with many people in the town and vicinity, 
the enterprise was abandoned in a year. This ])aper 
was printed in The Village Register office. 

A paper called The Literary Gem was commenced in 
August or September, 1853. It was filled with arti- 
cles penned by pupils of the Union school. We can 
not say how many numbers of it were issued. In 
October, 1858, a small semi-monthly paper was com- 
menced by Stanton Weaver. It was called The Salem 
Pallas, and was devoted to the interest and instruc- 
tion of young America. The subscription price was 
sixty cents a year. This periodical was also short- 
lived. 

"The Dollar Age, a weekly venture started by Alfred 
A. Sipe, survived but a few months. Mr. Sipe dying 
during a visit to West Virginia — said to have taken 
poison. Sipe was a brilliant writer and compiler of 
local news, still the Dollar Age never paid. J. R. Mur- 
phy and J. C. Kling bought the outfit and started The 
Salem Times which soon starved. '' 

A weekly paper called The Tribune was commenced; 
but it did not survive one year. The Salem Weekly 
Democrat had an existence "of one year. And Dr. 
Hardman "at intervals issued a very original weekly, 
called The Clipper, but it soon passed out of exist- 
ence." 

In Januarv, 1896, Willis Whinerv commenced issu- 



116 HISTORY OF vSALEM. 

injT a monthly paper, entitled The Swine Advocate. It 
is published in the interest of the business in which 
he is en<j;-aged. And it gives much useful information 
for all persons concerned in this kind of stock raising. 

In March, 1898, Rev. C. W. Fletcher commenced 
publishing The Gcspel Worker, an eight-page monthly, 
being, as its name purports. And a small vv^eekl}^ 
called the The Disciple Bulletin has been published 
about two years, "And is for the purpose of giving 
items of interest relating to the church, and church 
work in general." Rev. Ralph C. Sargent is editor. 

A periodical entitled, Samtive Medicine, was com- 
menced, at Columbus. It is devoted to Physio-Med- 
ical Medicine. In September, 1897, Dr. T. J. Lyle 
b(.)ught the interest of this paper, and thereupon 
commenced issuing it here. It is now in its eighth 
volume, and it is published semi-monthly at one dol- 
lar a year. His sons are the printers of it. 

"The Daily Holiday Newsboy was established in the 
seventies by J. S. Rentz. It has been published almost 
continuously ever since — with the exception of a few 
years when the publisher was absent from the city. 
Upon his return, he resumed its publication, and it has 
been published ever since, being greatl}^ enlarged and 
much improved in appearance. This periodical is 
published in the interest of the merchants of the citv, 
who wish to advertise their holiday goods at that 
season of the year. It is issued daih^ for seven days 
— the last number on the day before Christmas. Fif- 
teen hundred copies of it have been printed dailv and 
distributed in the city and among the farmers of the 
vicinity, who trade with our merchants.' ' 

The publisher of this paper served his apprentice- 
ship with J. K. Kukenbrod, while thelatter waseditor 




JONATHAN K. RUKENBROD. 



THK PRINTINi; PRKSS CONCLUDED. 1 1 7 

of the The Salem Republican. Now he is en*4;a,i;c(rin 
the office of A. K. Tatem Label Co. In that oflicu' 
the Newsboy has been printed. 

From the time of the first establishment of a print- 
ing press in this place, there has been a vast amount 
of job printinjj^ done. This has been in the form of 
hand bills, posters and pamphlets. Book work has 
also been done here that would compare well with 
what is done in the eastern cities ordinarily. Label 
printing;];- has become one of the greatest factors in 
this useful art. 

The following account of Harris & Co. 's gummed 
i label manufactory has been furnished bv the senior 
member of the firm: 

"Salem has the distinction of introducing the man- 
ufacture of gummed labels into America. Josiah 
Mitchell, an English drug clerk, in the store of Alfred 
Wright, having been used to gummed druggists ' labels 
in England started the business in a small wav in a 
room over Mr. Wright's store. From that small 
beginning a large business of this kind has grown." 

"Soon afterwards Isaac Wright, now of Alliance, 
started a label printing office and carried it on for a 
few years; selling it in 1869 to Dr. John and Augustus 
H. Harris, who immediately enlarged the office, and, 
bv vigorous efforts, increased the business into a large 
and important one. In 1876 Charles W. Harris bought 
the interest of Dr. John Harris, and the business was 
carried (m for two 3'ears by the two brothers, A. H. 
and C. W. Harris. A. H. Harris then sold his inter- 
est to Mr. W. L. Deming, of this city, who, in turn, 
in 1880, sold to his partner, Charles W. Harris, who 
has vsince carried on the business. " 

"There being but few gummed label plants of this 



118 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

kind and the demand for them general, it makes the 
l)usiness wide-spread so that labels from Salem are 
sent not onlv to all parts of the United States, but 
to Canada, Central and South America, and to the 
islands of the seas. In addition to druggists' labels, 
there are millions of lamp chimney, tack, hardware, 
ammunition, broom, and miscellaneous labels being 
sent from this city continuall3\ " 

Another establishment of this character is that of 
Thomas J. Walton. This is equal in capacity and 
variety to the aforesaid. "The specialty of this 
house is cut and gummed labels, in which it does an 
immense business, the orders coming from every city 
and town in the union, and even outside the asylum 
for the oppressed of all nations. " 

" This house, in addition to label work, does every 
description of fine book and job printing in a ver}- 
superior style. A large number of the most expert 
and experienced workmen are employed, and the trade 
extends over the whole countr3% and into the Canadas. ' ' 

The A. K. Tatem Label Co. was incorporated in 
1891, succeeding A. K. Tatem & Co. , and Tatem & 
Park. In 1883 this concern bought the drug label 
business of T. J. Walton. Gummed labels are its 
leading product, but general job j^rinting is also done 
bv them. 

After selling The Salem Era oflfice, and its interest, 
E. F. Kukenbrod commenced a job office for fine'com- 
mercial, society and color printing. In this he still 
continues, and appears to be achieving some success. 
R. W. Sharpnack, M. S. Schwartz, and the Lyle 
Brothers, each have small offices for every variety of 
job work, needed in the place or neighborhood. Sale 
bills and letter heads are executed bv them in a style 
good enough for any reasonable customers. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

MANUPACTURKRS. 

-ryrANUFACTURING was here first attempted 
/l\ i" the year 1814. A joint stock com- 

^^^^ pany or^^anized in the early j)art of 
that year with the title of "The Manufaeturinjj;- 
Compan}' of Salem, Columlwana count}-, Ohio, to he 
conducted acc()rdin<r to certain articles of agree- 
ment, " of which the first was: "The capital stock 
of said mannfacturintr company shall consist of fifty 
thousand dollars, to be divided into shares of ten 
dollars each, which shall be paid in gold or silver 
coin, or bank notes equivalent thereto, or labor or 
materials (at the discretion of the directors) in the 
following manner: One-fourth on each share the 
first of June next, and one-fourth more in sixtv dayvS 
from the first installment. Then, afterwards, the 
remainder of said shares to be fully paid in when the 
directors shall order by giving not less than sixtv 
days public notice." 

The object of the establishment was — "For man- 
ufacturing cotton, wool, ironware, and for the mer- 
chandizing. " There were nineteen articles in the 
constitution; the last of which was — "There shall be 
no dealing or trading in spirituous liquors. " It is 
supposed that there was some. kind of a store C(>n- 
nected with the concern. 

John Street, Nathan Hunt, Jacob Gaunt, Samuel 
Davis, David Gaskill, Israel Gaskill, and Rii'hard 
Favvcett were the first board of directors. They 
expected to have the concern in operation in the ensu- 
ing month of June. 



120 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

A l)rick building was erected for this establish- 
ment; but the enterprise was a failure. The build- 
ing and lot were then sold to Isaac Wilson; who used 
the materials of it, and the lot for building the 
Western Hotel and his store that stood on the site 
of the large block built in 1897, at the corner formed 
In- East ]\Iain and South Lundy streets. 

It was some years after this that John Stanley 
built and set into operation a woolen factory where 
the Picket House now is. This he conducted with 
some success till sometime in the year 1827, when it 
was burnt. It was soon rebuilt where the Baptist 
church now stands. Here, besides machinery for 
carding, spinning, and weaving woolen fabrics, there 
was a saw mill. This soon went into disuse, because 
timber was becoming scarce, especiall}' near the town. 
In 1830 Robert Campbell bought this establishment 
and carried it on till 1838, when he sold it to Zadok 
Street, who engaged Thomas Pinkham for manager. 
Thus it was worked till about 1849, when the build- 
ing was pulled down. 

A similar stablishment was carried on a few 3^ears 
by James Brown, in the western part of the town. In 
1S40 this factory was built. There wool was carded, 
then s])un and woven into blankets, shawls, etc. 
Kentucky jeans were also manufactured there. 

Some time in the twenties Amos Kimberly estab- 
lished a carding machine on the west side of what is 
nowKllsworrh street, on the site of the house marked 
X(t. 2*>. The motive power of it was a tramp wheel, 
about twenty feet in diameter, fixed on an inclined 
slialt. Tw<> or three oxen were placed on one side 
of it, and fastened by their heads; then, by a contin- 
uous walk, they kept the wIkcI in motion. Motive 



MANUPACTURKRS. 121 

power of thiv^ kind was very comiiion before steam 
en^^rines were vSo readily made as in these latter davs. 

In 1S32 IMordecai Morlan hoiiirht this establishment 
and carried it on till about the vear 1«S3^); when the 
whole thin*;:^ went out of use. He also manufaetured 
hat bodies. Makinjr hats was then a considerable 
business. William Chaney, Israel Beans, and John 
Whinnery were then the principal perscms enj^ajj^ed 
in hat-makin<s{. The body of the hat was made in a 
ccmical shape in such an establishment as Mr. Mor- 
lan's, and then finished by the regular hat-maker. In 
those days hats were to be had only from the hatter 
shops. Since those days hat-making has become a 
business of syndicates; and this has made business 
for hat and clothing stores. 

Tanning was a considerable business in the early 
times of Salem. John Street was the principal per- 
son engaged in this business. His establishment filled 
nearly one-half of the square on the south west from 
his store, bounded by what are now Depot, Dry, and 
Howard streets. There was here a large number of 
tan v^ats, and a house for dressing the hides when 
taken from the vats, and finishing them into various 
kinds of leather. There was also a mill for grinding 
tan bark. 

John Street sold leather for cash when he could 
get it. For hides and tan bark he exchanged store 
goods, except when the want of them was very great. 
Joseph Saxon, and Isaac Wilson had tanneries on a 
smaller scale. The former was the first to engage 
in the work of supplving the town people with fresh 
meat. 

Furniture-making or cabinet-making was, in for- 
mer days, an important business in this place, and so 



122 HISTORY OF SALEM, 

it was in all towns of its size. Charles Jobes carried 
on chair-making during several 3'ears in a shop on 
Main street. Levi Fawcett was the principal cabi- 
net-maker. Tables, stands, bureaus and bedsteads 
were the chief articles of his work. He was, for 
manv vears, undertaker for the town and vicinity. 
It was not till some time in the fifties or sixties that 
readv-made coffins (or caskets) were kept by profes- 
si(mal undertakers in this place. There were car- 
penters and furniture-makers, in those days, who 
could make coffins; and the}" often used a common 
carriage or wagon for a hearse. Levi Fawxett's 
hearse was much in the shape of a coffin. Thomas Y. 
French succeeded him, and he was the first one to 
make undertaking a specialty. 

"Thomas Sharp, a son of Joel Sharp, Sr., one of 
the early settlers in Salem, learned the trade of a 
carpenter and millwright, worked at his trade in 
Salem and Cleveland, and, in 1842, returned to Salem, 
his native place, " and established the business of 
making steam engines. "The first engine con- 
structed in the town for sale was made bv Mr. Sharp 
in 1<S42." The castings for his first machinery were 
l)r()ught from Cleveland in wagons. And a shop was ' 
<)ccu])ied on what was for some known as Foundry 
Hill. 

"Subsequent to this he purchased land on West 
Main street, where the building and repairing of 
engines and machines, castings, etc., has been carried 
on successfully. The firm name has been changed a 
numl)er of times, but the work has been prosecuted 
continuously, emj)loying a number of men and pro- 
ducing a valuable output." This plant was burnt 
in April, 1S*H. And now the ruins remain as a mon- 
uin^Mit ol what it has been. 



MANUFACTURERS. 12.^ 

The first foundry was near the crossin^r of Pcnn 
and Dry streets. This part of the town was then 
called Foundry Hill. A man named Nicholas John- 
son was the manaj^er. Zadok Street bouj^ht the 
establishment and conducted it in a small way. Then 
the business passed through several chanj^es until in 
lcS47 it was purchased by Snyder & Woodruff. Here 
they commenced castinij;- stoves, and thev continued 
at it successfully till the fall of 1856, when the estab- 
lishment was burnt. They very soon purchased other 
jj^rounds and rebuilt. This was (m the lower part of 
Depot street. There the}" continued the business 
till 1870, when the partnership was dissolved. Since 
which time the business has been conducted by James 
Woodruff & Son. About fifty men are now bv them 
<?mployed. 

The Victor Stove Company was org-anized in 1869. 
Their establishment joins that of Woodruff & Son. 
They produce stoves and ranges of various patterns. 
Wm. H. Koll has been their manager for several 
years. About seventy-five operatives are employed 
by them. 

In 1876 J. B. McNabb established a canning factory 
on Depot street. Green corn, pumpkins, and some 
vegetables are here prepared and put into cans for 
preserving. The vessels for this purpose are also 
manufactured, and cans for maple molasses too are 
here made. Connected with the establishment is also 
apparatus for the manufacture of ice. This is fur- 
nished to customers in the summer season. From 
ten to twenty-five operatives are here employed. 

The Salem Wire Nail Mill Company was incor- 
porated in August, 1885, with a capital of S300,000, 
since increased to S500,000. The works were started 



124 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

on the last day of that 3'ear. In it wire nails of all 
sizes are made. About three hundred and fifty men 
are here employed, and about 2600 kegs of nails are 
produced daily. Most of the time the works are kept 
going by dav and night, with two sets of workmen. 
Another plant of the same capacity, at Findlay, Ohio, 
was bought by this company in 1889. Work is here 
done with much system and precision. 

" Purdy, Baird & Co., manufacturers of plain and 
rock face building blocks, drain tile, etc. R. S. and 
J. Baird, relatives of the present Mr. Baird, estab- 
lished these works in 1862, but R. S. Baird died 
shortly afterwards, and, in 1865, the plant passed 
into the hands of Clemmer & Deming, w4io sold to 
Purdv & Baird in 1874. This firm continued the 
manufacture of stoneware and a number of specialties, 
including drain tile, down to 1883, when the present 
Mr. Purdy was adm.itted to the firm and the name 
changed to Purdy, Baird & Co. With these changes 
the manufacture of drain tile, sew^er pipe and build- 
ing blocks were made specialties, while other goods 
were made only to supply the local trade. The fol- 
lowing is a list of the goods they manufacture: Sewer 
pipe, building blocks, farm drain tile, fire brick, 
stoneware, chimney tops, chimne}^ pipes and rock 
faced blocks." 

The Grove Chewing Gum Company was estab- 
lished in 1891. ( )f the company owning and manag- 
ing this establishment S. Grove, Sr., is president; 
and K. (irove, secretary and treasurer. In it pepsin, 
Jersey fruit, and fruit flavors are also made. Nearly 
two liundred o])eratives are employed, and the pro- 
ducti(ms amount to about half a million dollars annu- 
allv. 



MANUFACTURRRS. 125 

In 1875 William J. Clark & Company established a 
factor}' for makinj^ novelty oil tanks, shippinj^^ eans, 
elevator buckets, hose couplinj^s, and general plate 
and sheet metal works. From twentv-five to fortv 
operatives are employed. And their trade e.xtends 
to all parts of the United States, and considerablv 
to foreij^ni countries. In their shop hardware and 
wooden- ware business, which was added about the 
year 1885, they have an established profitable trade 
which has grown very rapidly, making it necessarv to 
put up more buildings and make use of more machin- 
ery in order to meet the demands in their screen door 
and window trade. " 

"This firm has been offered ground and buildings 
to an extent, and cash subscription to shares in their 
company as an inducement to move their works to 
another city, but they sa}' the solid character of the 
fuel supply at Salem, together with other advantages 
that might be named for bids. " 

"The Wirsching Church Organ Companv was 
established in 1887 with the following officers: Chas. 
C. Snyder, president; Philip Wirsching, vice-presi- 
dent and general manager; Warren W. Hole, vsecre- 
tary, and Sheldon Park, treasurer." 

"Mr. Philip Wirsching, vice-president and general 
manager, was, for years, employed in building church 
organs in Wurzburg, Bavaria; Prague, Austria; 
Stettin, Prussia, and in the world renowned manu- 
factory of Friedrich Ladegast in Weissenfels, Sax- 
ony. 

"The Wirsching organs are not only par excellence 
n grandeur and inspirational sweetness of tone, but 
in the matter of appearance as well. The}^ excel in 
constructive art, adding that degree of sacred beauty 



126 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

and iiwe so attractive and desirable in the house of 
worship. " 

"The Deming Company is one of the leading and 
solid manufacturing establishments of Salem. The 
business was originally started in 1854, by Levi A. 
Dole, and Albert R. Silver; a part of a little shop on 
High street and the first alley east of Lundy street 
l)eing used by them. The business had a small begin- 
ning, but during the forty or more years of its exist- 
ence, it has had a stead}^ and vigorous growth.' ' In 
1856 ]\Ir. John Deming bought a third interest in the 
establishment, which, by that time, had grown to 
the point of possessing a home of its own. After 
the death of Mr. Dole in 1866 the firm conducted the 
business under the name of Silver & Deming. Vari- 
ous changes were made in the articles manufactured, 
and locations, out of all of which grew the splendid 
an(r successful establishment that is to-day known 
far and wide as the Deming Compan^^ This company 
is now engaged extensively in the manufacture of a 
great variety of pumps. Special agencies have been 
established in London, New York, San Francisco, 
Los Angeles, Chicago, Omaha, and Philadelphia," 

The Buckeye Engine Company was first estab- 
lished 1)y Milton Davis, Joel S. Bonsall, Joel and 
Simeon Sharp, in 1851. Thev first made only the 
ordinary throttling engines. On the 27th of April, 
1865, the establishment was burnt; the loss being 
l)etween S50,000 and S75,000, and no insurance. In 
about a month the work of building was commenced. 
And business was resumed in less than a year 
Important additions have been made since that time. 
The company was re-organized in 1871 with Joel 
Sharp as president; T. C. Boone as secretarv ard 




JOEL SHARP. 



MANUFACTURERS. 127 

treasurer; M. Davis as vice-president; J. S. Bonsai 1, 
superintendent, and S. Sharp, iissistant superintend- 
ent. 

"Durino;- all these years this establishment has 
been the most important industry of Salem. At this 
time their works occupy about four acres, and are 
made up of numerous buildin<^s. Thev have a capi- 
tal stock of S300,0()(), all paid in. More than two 
hundred men are employed in their works. They 
manufacture the celebrated Buckeye automatic cut- 
off engines, of which 2500 are in use, making- engines 
of various sizes from ten horse to a thousand horse 
power. The}' also manufacture saw mills, planing 
mill engines, vself- acting shingle machines, lath 
machines, and various other machines and euL^ines, 
and ship them to every state and territory in this 
country, and some foreign shipments have been made. 
The total annual output of engines, boilers and other 
machinery, probably exceeds in value $500,000." 

"The Pelzer Art Works is another highlv inter- 
esting industry recently established in this thriving 
city, which has rapidly gained popularity and trade 
'■' in the great cities of the country. The plant is 
• splendidh' equipped with the best improved machin- 
ery adapted to this line of work. It is lighted bv its 
own electric dynamo, heated by steam, and has a 
complete dry kiln for seavSoning hard wood lumber. In 
short, it is the best equipped plant for artistic wood 
working in the country, and already ranks first-class 
in this line of trade. " 

"Specialties manufactured: Church altars, stat- 
uary, pulpits, railings, c(mfessionals, pews and other 
church furniture and finishings; fine hotel and office 
furniture; interior furnishings, and finish for resi- 
dences, of plain and carved wood. " 



128 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

"The best designers, the best draughtsmen, the 
best workmen in every department, that can be pro- 
cured, skillfully design, carve, polish and combine 
into objects of art and beauty here, that which will 
attest the degree of taste and elegance demanded by 
the people of our times. " 

Albert R. Silver, having retired from the firm of 
Silver & Deming, in 1890 erected a new building in 
which were manufactured carriage and wagon-mak- 
ers' tools, butchers' tools and machines, cutters and 
carriers for fodder and ensilage, horse powders, bor- 
ing machines, etc. This establishment emploA^s a 
large number of workmen. 

Barnaby, Rank & Co., for a few years, carried on 
an establishment for the manufacture of farm imple- 
ments of various kinds. This was some time in the 
sixties. 

' ' W. H. Mullins, manufacturer of sheet metal stat- 
uary, cornice and ornaments. This business was 
established in the spring of 1872 by Messrs Kittredge 
and Clark, under the firm name of Kittredge, Clark 
& Co., and continued until about January 1st, 1875, 
when the entire plant of the National Ornament C(mi- 
pany, of Toledo, Ohio, was purchased and removed 
to Salem. A joint stock company was then formed 
and incorporated under the name of The Kittredge 
Cornice & Ornament Co., who continued the business 
until April, 1878. They were succeeded by Thomp- 
son, Boyle & Co., and they, in turn, bv Thompson & 
Bakewell, who carried on the business until February, 
1882. At which time Mr. W. H. Mullins purchased 
the interest of Mr. Thompson, and the firm became 
that of Bakewell & Mullins. The business was car- 
rird on by these gentlemen until February 1st, 1890, 



MANUFACTURERS. 12M 

when Mr. Miillins purchased Mr. Bakewell's interest; 
since which time it has been very much extended and 
the capacity of the plant enlarged. " 

"They have furnished slate roof and ornamental 
work for hundreds of court houses, and public build- 
in«^-s throug-hout the United States and Canada. 
They have also quite an extended trade throu<^h 
Mexico, South America and the Sandwich Islands." 

"Ka<;rle Foundry. This establishment was bej^un 
by H. Kidd and G. Allison as a foundry. It passed 
throug-h several changes prior to 1864, when it passed 
into the possession of R. H. Garrigues. From a mere 
foundry it became a machine shop, where horse pow- 
ers and threshing machines were manufactured in 
c(msiderable quantities. " After his death the busi- 
ness was carried on by his son Norman B. Garrigues, 
and was confined chiefly to machine work and jobbing. 
The building for this establishment is on Ellsworth 
street. And now it is occupied by the Sheehan Man- 
ufacturing Co. Their specialty is leather riveting 
machines. These are represented to be "something 
for the farmer, the machinist, the teamster, the har- 
ness-maker, and the liveryman. They all want it. 
It is a ready help in case of need. It saves time and 
expense, for, in a minute, you can splice a trace, mend 
a belt, or strengthen a threatened break. " 



chapt£:r XIV. 

THE MERCANTILE BUSINESS. 

♦ \ y /iTH the advancement of settlements, and the 
VV increase of population came a demand for 
manufactured g-oods and a need of market for home 
products. Money, not being very plenty, much of 
mercantile business was done by exchanging farm 
produce for imported goods. John Street opened the 
first store. His place of business was at the center 
of town. The house still remains, but it is much 
altered. He was followed by David Scholfield at the 
east end. His career was short. David Gaskill was 
next. He was permanent in the business till he became 
too old for active work. Isaac Wilson came while 
these two men were thus activeh^ engaged in trade. 
And by each of them a fair amount of business was 
done. All stores might then be reckoned of the vari- 
ety order. Dry goods, hardware, queensware, gro- 
ceries and some drugs and liquors were sold in all of 
them. Liquor was sometimes kept on the counter, 
and buvers would get a treat, sometimes in advance ; 
of the ])urchase. Goods were often exchanged for 
grain or other countr}^ produce; that of the dair}" or 
even fresh meat was often taken in exchange for goods 
brought from the east. The merchants sometimes 
liad three prices for goods, viz: 1st. For cash on 
delivery. 2n(l. For country produce. 3rd. On credit 
with a book account. 

John Street, in his time, did the most business, and 
tlu' greatest variety of it. His standing in the Soci- 







ZADOK STREET. 



THE MERCANTILE BUSINESS. IM 

ety of Friends, and his prim little saleswoman, Kllen 
Butler, helped him much. Besides his store he owned 
and mana<^ed a tan yard. Kverv winter he bouj^dit 
a lar<j^e amount of pork. This was cut uj) and salted; 
and in the sprinj^ it was smoked and sent to eastern 
markets; it was there exchanj^a^d for cash or new 
i!:oods. Jacob Heaton and Jehu Fawcett also did a 
considerable business in this kind of trade. Before 
railroad times all goods were brouj^ht to this place 
in wagons; hence prices were higher, and teaming 
was then a great business. 

During some years John Street, Dav4d Gaskill, 
and Isaac Wilson monopolized the mercantile business 
of this place. John Street, in his old age, was suc- 
ceeded by his sons, Zadok and John. The former 
became an active business man in some other enter- 
prises, and then retired from the store. 

Zadok Street, in his time, was one of the most 
active business men of Salem. Besides selling goods, 
he was actively engaged in several manufacturing 
establishments. And he was an active promoter of 
the railroad that has been such a great help to our 
city. That railroad owes more to him for its success 
than to any other person in our city. 

In 1832 Isaac Wilson erected a frame building (very 
handsome for those days) where the Greiner-Brain- 
erd hotel now stands. In this he commenced business, 
while his son, William (j., continued in the old stand. 
There he continued till his death in 1838. Thomas 
and Hiddleson, and, perhaps some other parties, sold 
goods here till the whole of the building was made a 
hotel called The Wilson House. 

David Gaskill continued in business at the west 
end till near the time of his death in 1847. In 1833 



132 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

K. Wri^dit Williams married his daughter and became 
one of his household, and salesman in his store. In 
this position Mr. Williams continued till about 1838, 
when he built the block at the north-west corner of 
Main and Kllsworth streets. There he conducted 
business some years; but trusting some persons for 
purchased goods, and bailing others, he became so 
involved that he was obliged to sell out. Then he 
moved w estward. He dealt much in drugs and med- 
icines. Some of the latter he invented, and sent out 
agents to sell them. 

In 1S31 Jacob Heaton came to Salem. He first 
worked at carpentry; then he kept a term of school; 
and next engaged for a while in Wm. G. Wilson's 
store. There he rendered valuable service, and 
showed for what business he was best adapted. His 
talents were observed and appreciated by Albert G. 
Richardson, of Wellsville, who furnished capital and 
set him up in l)usiness on Main street. There his 
genial manners and his proficiencv in the German 
language made him a formidable rival to the older 
merchants. 

After a few years of great success in selling goods 
Jacob Ileaton went to Waynesburgh, Stark county, 
and there had a store. But our Salem seemed to be 
a lu'ttcr \)]:[cv tor him. Wherefore he returned and 
entered into partnership with his brother-in-law% 
Kmmor WeavtM-. Their career was verv success- 
ful for some vears. C)n Mr. Weaver's retirinjjf, Mr. 
Heaton continued some longer "selling goods, and 
then engaged in the insurance businevSs. He entered 
heartily into the anti-slavery and other moral reforms. 
He rncountered some losses; but during his time he 
was one of the most usi'ful citizens of the town. 



THK MKRCANTILR BUSINESS. ^X^ 

Samuel C. Trescott was the Hrst person to ron- 
ceive the idea of estal)lishin<^ a trrocer}' here. He 
and his sons, Isaac and Clark, were, for some years, 
employed in John Street's tannery. This business 
declined. Then he started a small i^rocerv on what 
is now Howard street, a little north of Drv street. 
Here he kept some ^j^oods of this line. This was in 
1834. He frequently went to Cleveland with a two 
horse wajj;"on, takin^r some farm produce from this 
place and there tradint^f it for some kind of <j^oods that 
would find a ready sale here. And whenever the 
aforesaid goods from this place would command 
money, he took it. This business he continued vsome 
years with a varied experience. In his old ai^e he 
quit it and betook himself to shoemakintr. 

His son Isaac was an important factor in this 
enterprise. During" several terms he was a popular 
and successful teacher in the Friends' school. He 
was also a literary character — a friend to the circula- 
tion of good books. Wherefore he commenced the 
sale of books; first in a small way in his father's 
grocery, and then gradually enlarging. He first dealt 
only in books of the best class. As his business 
increased, he dealt in books of a miscellaneous char- 
acter, such as commanded the best sale. In time his 
bookstore became quite prominent. Then he sold 
some dry goods and notions. But books and paper 
of various kinds were his principal articles of trade. 

For awhile he had three wagons traveling around 
and selling the aforesaid goods at wholesale and 
retail. Twice he was burnt out; but succeeded in 
reinstating himself in business vsoon afterwards. 

Isaac Trescott was followed in book-vselling bv 
David (^albraith, J. C. Marshall, B. B. Davis! Joel 
Mc^lillan, Thomas Honsall, and some others. 



l.U HISTORY OF SALEM. 

In .March, 1835, Jehu Fawcett entered into part- 
ncrshij) with Isaac Wilson for mercantile business, to 
continue four years. By the terms of which, the 
latter furnished goods valued at S6883. Business 
was conducted very successfully by this firm till 1840. 
Jehu Fawcett then opened a store in his dwelling 
house, on the site of Fawcett 's bargain store. He 
soon afterwards removed the old wooden building 
.from his lot at the corner of Main and Lundy streets, 
and there erected a brick building. In 1846 this w^as 
enlarged so as to meet the increasing demands of his 
l)usiness. 

In 1853 Charles I. Hayes came from Chester county. 
Pa., and engaged as salesman for Jehu Fawcett, and 
continued in this capacity till 1857. In May, 1854, 
he married a daughter of Jehu Fawcett; and in April, 
1S57, lie rented the store, and bv him business there 
was conducted till his death, then his son, Albert, 
continued the business. He was the principal factor 
(luring several previous years. William Morris has 
been here engaged as salesman over forty years. 

In 1835 Robert G. and Archibald Woods came to 
Salem, and opened a store in the brick house now 
marked Xo. 101, (m Fast Main street. They were 
Irish, and well understood their business, and they 
knew how to draw customers. They prospered, and, 
in a lew years, built the block now occupied by Dr. 
Rush, A. Heck, Jacob Hole, and some others. Since 
their time it has been remodeled and additions made. 
Here the Woodses did a significant business during 
several years. Then they moved out of town. 

In November, 1847, Leonard Schilling came to 
S.ilem and engaged as clerk and salesman for J. T. 
and J. j. iJoone, who then had a store next east of 



THE MERCANTILE BUSINESS. 135 

the Town Hall. They dealt mostly in drv j^^oods. 
There Mr. Schillinj^r continued four years and ten 
months. Then he took a lease on the store and j^nxuls, 
and he was joined by his brother Jacob. After the 
lease they boui^ht the buildinj^^ at the north-east cor- 
ner of Main and Ellsworth streets. There they 
transacted a very successful business till 1871, when 
they diss(^lved. Leonard continued in the business 
and took Albert Brian as a partner. After sinm^ 
years they took in Walter Brian, and moved to the 
Gurney block, on Broadway, in 1877. They contin- 
ued thus sellino^ ^oods till 1890; when they sold out 
and went into other business. About this time the 
Brian Brothers commenced business. The Schil- 
\\n^ brothers had a remarkable facultv for drawin<r 
customers and suiting" them. 

The parties heretofore mentioned mav be regarded 
as pioneers in their business in this place. There 
have been some others who did some business in this 
line. They dealt in varieties, but mostly drv g"oods. 
After their time each merchant confined himself more 
to a specific kind of goods. Alfred Wright kept the 
first hardware store. After a short time Samuel 
Chessman went into partnership with him. Their 
store became a prominent one of the kind. After 
some chancres it became the property of Crumrine & 
Kale. The store of Carr & Tescher has also done a 
good business in this line. A. M. Carr & Son are 
now dealing in hardware, bicycles, etc., and J. F. 
Tescher in wag-<ms, carriages and farm implements. 

It was about the year 1850 that the custom of mak- 
ing a specialty of a certain kind of merchandise 
became general. While dry gcxKls were the most 
common articles of trade, drug- stores, shoe stores. 



\My HISTORY OF SALEM. 

clothin.i^^v^^torcs, hat stores, book stores and some others 
became common. The time was when boot and shoe 
making-, hat making, and tailoring were much in 
vogue here. But these trades are now superseded 
l)v the read3'-made articles that are now offered in 
stores of their respective classes, the articles being 
manufactured in places from which they are furnished 
by wholesale to merchants of each class. While, b}' 
til is means, the articles are sold at low prices, they 
arv not always as substantially made, nor do they fit 
as well as when made for a specific customer. 

During late years the different classes of mer- 
chandising have been best represented by the follow- 
ing: Dry goods — A. W. Jones & Co., C. I. Hayes, 
C. C. Snyder, and the Brian Brothers. Clothing — 
H. Cohen, E. Greenberger, and Triem & Murphv. 
Merchant tailoring — L. L. Shoemaker, J. H. Cowan, 
Don ges & Co., C. H. Donges, and Herman Luttig. 
(iroceries — S. Grove & Son, Seth Cook, H. J. Kopp, 
J. P>. (George, S. C. Moore, L. H. Dobbins, L. Tom- 
lin.-on, K. H. McCarty, J. W. Lease, and some others. 
H(hA<> and ])aper — H. C. Hawley, Alice McMillan, 
and \V. D. Turner. Furniture— Jacob Hole, Walter 
Hole. M. S. Smith, and D. E. Mather. Drugs— M. S. 
Hawkins, Trimble Brothers, Bolger & French, and 
Frank DcRhodes. Boots and shoes— C. F. Chalfant. 
R. Speidel & S(m, G. M. Fink, C. Thunini, Day & 
Townsend, and H. (t. Teiylor. Variety stores — W. 
( ;. Kawcett, and The Mascot, kept by Miss Belle Mc- 
<i;irry. Besides the foregoing there are, and have 
brtn, establishments in which harness, wagons, farm 
implements, stoves and tinware, hats, wall-paper, 
])en<Mlita1s, millinery goods, and various other arti- 
cK's could be purchased. 



_S' 



CHAPTER XV. 

THIO AIJOIJTION CA.Ml»Al(iN. 

-^ OME time in the winter of l.S.U and 1835 
Augustus Wattles came to Salem, and 
<j^ave a course of lectures on the crimi- 
nality of slave-holding". Lar^i^e assemblies attended 
these lectures, and they were heard with much inter- 
est. They set the people to thinkinj^, and created 
quite a furore. Some people rejj^arded the excitement 
as a foolish thinj^^. Slave-holding" in the south, they 
considered none of our business; and that those who 
rej^^arded slavery as a j>"reat evil ou<^ht to ^o to the 
south where slaves were held, and there show the evil 
of the system. To this the anti-slavery lecturers 
answered that it was dan^-erous to g-o there on such 
a mission, but that, by aj^itatini^ the subject here, 
thev would show what we were doini,^ in the way of 
directly or indirectly upholdinj^^ the system. If, by 
this means we could show slave-holders the iniquity 
in which thev were implicated, our bounden duty 
would be accomplished. 

The anti-slavery agitation was by no means con- 
fined to Salem. This w^as not the starting place of 
it. Throughout all of the northern states the excite- 
ment prevailed more or less. Many anti-slavery books 
and periodicals were published and circulated. Some 
of these got into the south, and there excited great 
indignation. The mails were sometimes seized and 
searched for "incendiary publications." In some 
instances papers and pamphlets having nt» bearing 
on slave-holding were eagerly seized on suspicion, 



138 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

and destroyed. Many of this kind of publications 
(anti-slaverv) were imported into our town and read 
witli *,^reat eagerness. Some people took the matter 
very cooly and said but little, — others were not back- 
ward in declaring the course of the abolitionists 
impolitic. David Gaskill, then one of the most prom- 
inent merchants, publicly declared the abolition doc- 
trine ''A stinking thing.'' William Reed, a prominent 
shoemaker and an active Methodist, published a 
communication in The Ohio Mercury, in which he 
declared that, after giving the subject much thought 
and prayer, he was convinced " That no person eould be 
a Christian and hold slaves." The most of the Hicks- 
ite Friends joined in the abolition work. The most 
of other church members kept aloof or said but little. 
Many who made no particular profession readih^ 
joined in the excitement. Some skeptics and unbe- 
lievers took up the subject as a condemnation of the 
creed of the orthodox churches. Kvery time that the 
mail arrived it brought some abolition documents 
that were read with as much avidity as any war news 
since that time. 

Some people declared that the abolition movement 
was (mly a scheme to make mone3^ This was effect- 
ively answered by the self-denial manifested by the 
li'cturiTs and other agitators. All of the meetings 
wiTropcn to everybody; and there was no such a thing 
as taking a collection, or appealing to the generosity 
of the pul)lic for helj) to the lecturers. All opposi- 
tion in the form of argument was completely answered 
and van(iuished. Both men and women enjjfaired in 
tile excitement. 

In tlie early part of the year 1835 a society of 
vounLT pe()i)le was formed, and it was named "The 



THK ABOLITION CA.MPAK.N, 



139 



Philanthropist Society.' ' They published an able 
address, in which they stron^^h- denounceil slave- 
holdinjr. Jonas 1). Cattell, Isaac Trescott, John 
Stanley, P^dmuncl Carev, and Samuel Reynolds were 
anioni^ the most active ones in the enterprise. They 
were all Orthodox Friends. Their movement did 
not meet the approval of some of the older members 
of that denomination, especially Amos K. Kimberly, 
who made the common objections to the anti-slavery 
work. In the latter part of the same year a society 
of a more general character was formed. 

It was soon after this that Marius R. Robinson 
came to Salem to lecture on the subject. He found 

a coniJ^-enial companion in Kur- 
il v Rakestraw. They were 
married and became co-labor- 
ers. Jesse Garretson, and a 
partner named Hoover, were 
then keepini^ a store at Berlin 
Center. Mr. Robinson gave 
^A^ ^ %^, some lectures there, and was 

^^m ^iS3 entertained at Mr. Garretson 's 

house. One evening in June, '37, 
a gang of hoodlums entered his 
house and dragged out Mr. Rob- 
inson. Then thev took him to a place near Ellsworth 
Center and aj)plied to him a coat of tar and feathers. 
When they left him he went to a house where he got 
much svmpathy, and a chance to clean off his perscm 
— the effects of the pro-slavery argument. He so(m 
afterwards published a full and graphic acc(^unt of 
the affair in The New Lisbcn Aurora. John Frost was 
editor of this paper, and was a thorough-going abo- 
litionist, and hence took much pleasure in publishing 




LIARIUS R. RCEIKSOK. 



140 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

the affair. This account was copied into other 
papers, and the fame and infamy of the transaction 
spread far and wide. Some of the perpetrators of 
this outrage, years afterwards, so far came to their 
senses as to acknowledge their malicious action and 
ask forgiveness of Mr. Robinson. 

Rumors of other transactions of a similar charac- 
ter and attacks on anti-slavery meetings by mobs 
found an echo of sympathy and indignation in Salem. 
Especiallv might be mentioned the murder of Rev. 
Pvlijah P. Lovejoy, at Alton, Illinois. This occurred 
in the autumn of 1837. There were no railroads west 
of the Allegheny mountains at that time; and it was 
about ten days after the death of that hero of philan- 
thropv that the news of it reached this place. Onh^ 
a tri-weekly mail was then received here. The assas- 
sination of a president, or a dissolution of a long term 
of congrevSS — after the manner of Oliver Cromwell in 
the British parliament in 1653, — w^ould not have 
made a greater sensation than the Alton tragedv. 
Kvervbody talked about it, even some who were luke- 
warm on the abolition theme were much stirred up. 

A meeting of citizens was held in the Methodist 
churcli wliich then was where the Disciple church 
now stands. Rinear Swaim presided, and Jacob 
Heaton was secretary. Addresses were given bv 
John Campbell, Amos Gilbert and some others. An 
account of the life and work of Klijah P. Lovejoy 
was read, and also, opinions of the press in various 
places. Some resoluti(ms were prepared by a com- 
mittee of wliicli Isaac Trescott was a member. These 
were adopted. ( )ne or two rowdies had the hardi- 
liood lo resi)ond "no" when the vote on them was 
taken. Rev. J. P. Kent carried the manuscript of the 



THIC ABOLITION CAMPAKiN. 141 

proceeding's to Lisbon for piil)lioati()n. Tlu- cdilor 
of the Aiircra was one of the most active abolitionists 
in the county, and hence was very willintr to i)ublish 
an account of this meetinj^ij". 

A ^reat temperance meetinjj^ was held in Lisbon on 
the followinj' Christmas day. One of the speakers 
there feelin.i^ly alluded to the murder of Lovejov, and 
declared that whiskey was concerned in the tra^a*dy. 
It was talked about with emotions of horror bv everv- 
body. A y(mn^ lady named Henrietta Fawcett, who 
had a fine intellect and some poetic j^enius, wrote an 
eleiLiy that, perhaps, deserved publication, but print- 
ing- ])resses were then few and far between, hence 
many literary efforts were only handed around in 
manuscript. 

The rumors of other violent movements ai^ainst the 
anti-slavery work found an echo in Salem. Espe- 
cially mi^rht be mentioned the burnin<T of the Penn- 
sylvania Hall, in Philadelphia, the destruction of two 
or more printing presses in Cincinnati from which 
The Philanthropist was issued, the application of tar 
and feathers, and shaving the manes and tails of 
horses belonging to the traveling lecturers, which 
actions showed the vengeful folly and lack of sound 
reasoning of the pro-slavery people. The arguments 
of Augustus Wattles, Wm. L. (xarriscm, Stephen 
and Abby Foster were so logical that the}^ could not 
be answered in their style, hence the rabble thought 
to do good service to the south by the aforesaid 
methods, thus only showing to what a contemptible 
position thev could lower themselves. 

The most active persons in the anti-slavery cam- 
paign in this place were Dr. Benjamin Stanton, Jacob 
Heaton, Isaac Trescott, Jcmas D. Cattell, John Whin- 



142 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

nury. I). Howell Hise and some others. Of honora- 
ble women who gave aid and comfort there were not 
a t\'w who might be mentioned. These named indi- 
viduals became conductors on ''The underground rail- 
road,^' on which Salem was an important station. 
And many fugitive slaves on their way to Canada 
here got rest, refreshment and help on their pilgrim- 
age. 

In June, 1845, Abby Kelly first came to Salem. 
Her first appearance was on the 5th of that month, 
at Lisbon. She then spoke of the magnificence of 
the ant i -slavery enterprise, contrasting it with the 
revolutionary war, and endeavored to show the incon- 
sistencv of calling our nation a land of liberty w^hile 
so many of our fellow^ beings were held in bondage 
bv the laws of the states. The revolutionar}^ war, 
<he declared, was merely about a tax of a few" pence, 
while the abolition movement contemplated giving to 
all people their rights and liberties. 

Afterwards she was in Salem, and was accompa- 
nied by William Llovd Garrison, Frederick Douglas, 
Cjiles Stebbins, and others. A tent was pitched in 
the south part of the town, near the present cross- 
ing of Columbia and Penn streets. This place was 
then clear ground and showmen sometimes occupied 
it. No other kind of meetings gathered so many 
people as thevse. It was during this year that the 
Friends' meeting house on Green street was built. 
Anti-slavery meetings were often held in it — even 
before it was fairly finished. 

"Not al(Mie (lid the white brethren give voice to 
llir (K-niands for universal freedom. The escaped 
slavr liimself joined in the mighty anthem whose 
ipiickening burden, swelling to amplest volume, rolled 



THK AHOLITION CAMPAIGN. 14.^ 

from sea to sea. AmonL,^ tlie fuj^ntives werr Wil- 
liam \V. Brown called William Box Brown troni 
havini,'- once escaped from slavery concealed in a hox 
— and Joe Mavson.'-' who cheered on the canse with 
vig^oroiis songs, adapted from plantation nulodies, 
but not weighted with ])lantation sentiments. Tlu' 
following, with additional verses, as sung hv Brnwn. 
was a favorite:" 

" Hoi the car, Emancipation, 
Kides majestic throug-li the nation, 
Bearing- on its train the story, 
Liberty, a nation's g"lory. 

Roll it alon<if, 
Throug-hout the nation. 
Freedom's car, Emancipation!" 

"A carpenter shop about 18 by 48 feet in size was 
built by Samuel Reynolds about the year 1840, the 
upper room of which was the general meeting place 
of the people of the town for discussion of all sub- 
jects. When the agitation of the slavery cpiestion 
became so warmly discussed in the churches that 
difficulties arose, and the churches and school houses 
were closed to the defenders of universal brotherhood, 
they went to the room over the carpenter shop. This 
building was christened 'Liberty Hall, ' and was the 
cradle of the society which was evolved from that 
whirlpool of opinion caused by the counter-currents 
of thought respecting the slavery cjuestion. For 
many years it was kept as a place for discussions and 
caucus meetings, and, within it, a course of lectures 
was planned in which the best talent of the country 
was engagwl. This course of lectures was deliv- 
ered in the Town Hall, and Wendell Phillips, Abby 

5 

'^Supposed to b(> a natural son of James Ma.son, ez-U. S. Senator and (iovernor 
of Virginia. 



144 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Kcllv, John Pierpont, and William Lloyd Garrison 
were amon<j: the many speakers.' '* 

"In June, 1845, the largest church in Salem was 
closed against Abb}' Kelly, the abolition lecturer. 
The trustees of the church gave, as a reason for their 
refusal: 'We think the principles of the lecturer 
are dangerous to our common country.' " 

"In January, 1850, a spy, in the employ of south- 
ern slave-holders visited Salem and obtained some 
inlnrniation respecting the whereabouts of certain 
fugitive slaves. He represented himself as the agent 
of an anti-slavery society near Marietta, Ohio. Soon 
after this, two slave-holders from Virginia visited 
Salem and made some effort to catch sight of certain 
fugitives. Their presence soon became widely known, 
and the c(msequent excitement came near ending in a 
riot. They said that they had been informed that 
some of the fugitives were in a suffering condition, 
and were anxious to return to their old masters, and 
that they had come to administer to their wants. 
Finding the people of Salem aroused and full}' 
detemined to resist all attempts at kidnapping, they 
soon de])arted towards their honie."t 

It i^ not certainly known when fugitive slaves, on 
their way to Canada, commenced passing through 
Salem. lUit they always here found friends who 
were willing to help them (m their journey from 
southern bondage. This town became an important 
station on the Underground Railroad. It was for 
this reas(m that Morgan, the notorious rebel-raider, 
drchiri'd to iiis deluded followers that he was going 
tn burn Salem, and water his horses in Lake Erie. 
Doubtless he had his dav-dreams of a jrreat reward 



"Cdliiiiit.iiiMii (bounty Hlslory. fSalera newspaper. 



THK AROLITION CAM PA K.N. 14S 

uiiun the confederacy should i^^ain success and he 
reco<J^nized avS one amon^ the j^n-^at nations of the 
worUh 

Some notable circumstances occurred wlien tu!;^'"i- 
tive slaves passed throuj^di this place, and their mas- 
ters followed in pursuit of them. In one instance all 
of the colored peoi)le kept to<rether for mutual defense 
durin^r several days. A colored <.rirl was rescued and 
adopted in a repectable family, and she was then named 
Ahby Kelly Salem. ( )ne ne^ro came here and worked 
for Josiah Fawcett eleven vears; and, durini: that 
time, went and paid a visit to his old home — even 
went into his master's kitchen without bein*^ detected. 
This is only <me sample of the ingenuity used bv 
some of them in <^etting away from slavery. In 
April, 1850, a white and a negro woman stopped at 
Webb s tavern. The colored people of the town 
interrogated her about her residence, destination, etc. 
And they were thus led to believe that she w^as being 
decoyed into Virginia, to be sold as a slave. She 
declared that she never had been a slave, and refused 
to go any further. Thus she was rescued. 

Abolition meetings were sometimes held in Haw- 
ley's grove, which was east of the town. The place 
is now covered with houses and lots. These and other 
meetings of this character were addressed by Parker 
Pillsbury, Henry C.Wright, Wendell Phillips, Cassius 
M. Clay, and other cham])ions of the abolition cam- 
paign. 

The execution of John Brown and Edwin Coppock 
excited a due amount of sympathy here. The body 
of the latter was exhumed, and re- interred in Hope 
cemeterv. There a monument marks his resting 
place. The work on it was done by D. Plowell Hise, 
and the expense was paid by John Gordon. • 



14^ HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Anti-slavery papers were liberally patronized in 
Salem. In September, 1845, the publication of The 
Anti-Slavery Bugle was commenced. 

The first editor was Samuel Brooke, — after him, 
Oliver-Johnson, M. R. Robinson, and lastly, Benja- 
min S. Jones. Its publication was continued until 
Mav 4th, 1861. It was a free and out-spoken paper 
in the principles for which it was an advocate. The 
most of the abolitionists disapproved of interference 
with anv political or church creed, except wherein 
thev could be shown to excuse, or, in any way, uphold 
slav^ery. The forming of a liberty party and anti- 
slavery churches did not meet the approval of the 
ultras. The design was to convince all churches and 
|)arties of the criminality of slavery, so that the}' 
would emancipate all slaves, and repeal all laws that 
sustained the S3^stem. 

Now, their work is finished, and their societies are 
dissolved. Slavery is abolished in the United States; 
but it has not been done as the abolitionists wished. 
Very few of them wished to see it done as a war 
measure. They were conscientious in what they 
thought and said. Omsequences the}' regarded as 
being less of their business than their duty in speak- 
ing out and protesting against this national iniquity. 



CHAPTKH XVI. 

TTIK MKDICAL 1 'K'ol-MiSSK )N. 

— ^I^ENJAMIN STANTON was l.orn in North 
J^ 1 Carolina. At an carlv aj^e hv cann.* to 
^' Mount Pleasant, ( )hio, and there studied 

medicine under Dr. Hamilton. In December, 1815, 
lie came to Salem, and here found a <^ood openinjj;". 
The town was then acquirin<^^ some sij4;niticance, and 
there was no physician nearer than New Lisbon. 
Dr. H. Potter was then, and for manv vears after- 
wards, there regarded as the standard in the healinj^f 
art. Dr. Stanton soon jL^ot into extensiv^e practice, 
and continued so fpr about forty-five years. With 
such roads as there were then horseback-ridin<;r, or 
jj^oinjj^ on foot, was more common than any other 
method of goin^ about; and. moreover, carriatres and 
buggies were not easily obtained, nor were they 
adapted to new roads through the woods. 

During his time in Salem Dr. Stanton had some 
students who led successfnl careers in medical prac- 
tice. Jesse Bailey, Alexander Tollerton, Thomas 
and Joseph Shreve were among the first. (leorge 
Mendenhall, after his graduation in the Pennsylvania 
University, commenced in Cleveland; then he went 
to Cincinnati; where he attained great eminence. 
Besides these there were under his tuition Charles 
Kingsbury, John Harris, Jesse T. Boone, F. H. Irish, 
and, four of his s(ms, and a son-in-law, Charles Wea- 
ver. The latter practiced several years in New 
Brighton, Pa. Joseph, the second son in the family, 
practiced some years with his father, then at Akron 



148 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

some years. David, another son, at the death of 
Charles Weaver, succeeded in his place. William, 
anotlier one, after some 3^ears of medical practice, 
took up the le.j^al profession, and is now in Califor- 
nia. Bvron, the youngest, became a surgeon in the 
army, afterwards superintendent of the Northern 
Ohio Asvlum for the Insane. Now he resides in 
Cincinnati. Kersey G. Thomas was another student 
who got into good practice at Alliance, and there 
closed his short and noble life. 

Daniel Williams came to Salem in 1827. He was. 
a devout Friend; and he had been a teacher, and took 
much interest in schools, and, in many ways, was a 
friend to intellectual improvement. He had also a 
svmpathetic disposition, which qualities, combined 
with his standing in the Friends' Society, got him 
much practice. 

In 1837 he was appointed superintendent of the 
Friends Boarding School, at Mount Pleasant. There 
he continued two years, and then returned to Salem. 
After a few years passed in his profession, he left 
the town and passed the remainder of his life on a 
farm. He had some students, one of whom was a 
I)rother, named Ephraim, who practiced a few years 
at Damascus. Michael Stratton was another. After 
a short career his life suvcumbed to ill health. 

.\ 1)1-1 Carey studied with Dr. Williams, and, after 
iiis graduation at Cincinnati, he engaged in partner- 
shi]) with Dr. James Kol)ins(m, of Hanover. In 1843 
he returned to Salem and here remained in activ^e 
practice till his death. He was especially known for 
his skill in surgery. " He was of philosophic turn 
ol mind, genial and sym])athetic, and yet ready and 
cool in emergencies involving professional skill and 



THE MKDICAL PROFESSION. 14'> 

jiulj^^mient. Tlioiijj^h self-educated, he advocated lib- 
eral provision for schools, and took ])rominent part 
in the educational affairs of Salem, and was (juite an 
earnest worker in aid of the reformatorv and ])hilan- 
thropic ai^itations of his day. As a practitioner he 
ke})t even with the march of improvement and dis- 
covery in the line of hiscallini^. " About eij^ht vears 
of his time in Salem, he was in partnership with Dr. 
J. M. Kuhn, and a part of the remainder with Dr. J. 
L. Firestone. He died in 1S72, from injuries received 
b}^ being thrown from his sulky. 

J. W. Hotchkiss came to this place in 1851, and 
remained a few years. He practiced on the Eclectic 
system. Many people here entertained proj^ressive 
ideas in medical practice as well as in manv other 
matters; and this circumstance therefore <J^ave him 
prestige. He had some students, one of whom was 
David G. Swaim, raised in the neighborhood. In 
the time of the war he entered the army, and became 
associated with Gen. Garfield. In the presidency of 
the latter he was appointed to an important office, 
and closed his life in Washington, D. C. 

Reuben Schooley was born near Salem, and learned 
the trade of carpentr}- and mill wrigh ting. Both of 
which he pursued with much success till some time in 
the forties, when he had a severe spell of sickness, 
which either incapacitated him for his arduous work, 
or set him to thinking about medical practice; where- 
fore, after a season of study he betook himself to this 
profession. Although he had perseverance and gained 
the confidence of some people, he appeared to manv 
as if he would have l>een more in his right element 
Iniilding barns or repairing saw-mills. 

John C. Walker graduated in the Cincinnati Medi- 



150 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

cal Collc'tre and practiced here several years. J. L. 
Firestone had a successful practice here some years. 
He married Miss Rosa Prunty, who, for ten years 
liad l)cen a very successful teacher in the Union school. 
With her he took a tour in Kurope. Hezekiah Scott 
left the l)lacksmith shop in New Waterford and 
(>])ened an office here. 

It was some time in the forties that a man named 
Pahner came to Salem and commenced practice with 
herb medicines. He was generally known as an 
"Indian doctor." Either the credulity of the peo- 
ple, or some extraordinary craft used by him, got him 
into extensive practice. Often, half a dozen riding 
vehicles were to be seen standing at his door, each 
one awaiting his or her turn. He walked the streets 
wearing an old and indented hat and slouched clothing 
which some people considered the emblems of his pro- 
fessic^n. Liquor and some criminal acts, not belong- 
ing to legitimate medical practice ended his career. 
Yet, he was successful in some cases of ague and 
chill fever which then were quite numerous in our 
town. 

A man named Popineau was another ''Indian doc- 
tor" who gained some notoriety in this place. 

Kelormation in medical practice has been eagerly 
embraced in Salem, by many of the inhabitants. 
There have been, and still are many who believe in 
temale physicians, especially for I hat sex, and their 
peculiar diseases. Hence here ha.ve been chances for 
some of such. About 1850 Catharine L. Church, 
widow of Dr. Church, of Pittsburgh, came to this 
place and opened an office in which she sold herb med- 
icines, and gave prescriptions; and sometimes she 
visited female patients. She possessed much intelli- 



THK MKDICAL 1»KM )FKSSI( )N. ISl 

^ence, general knowledj^-o, and ^^(uhI conversational 
powers. She was hi^^^hly respected wIkto known, 
and was one ot the kind of women that are nuudi 
needed everywhere. Miss Klizaheth (irissell, M. I)., 
he_*ian the work of a physician in tliis ])lace in lSf)<). 
She was a »^^raduate of the Philadelpliia Female Med- 
ical Colle«.i:e, and, dnrin^^ her residence in Salem, 
established a fair practice. She removed to Cali- 
fornia al)out 1877, and returned in 1888, and now is 
practicing here. Delia M. Walker is also practicing. 
Mrs. Arter and Mrs. Augusta Black have also prac- 
ticed here. 

Other prominent physicians of the regular kind 
were F. G. Young, William Lyon, C. L. Fawcett, 
John D. Cope, James M. Hole, Kli Sturgeon, A. C. 
Yengling, A. S. Hayden, Paul Barckhoif, James An- 
derson, J. A. McGuire, and some others. Dr. Orr 
was a specialist in eye and ear diseases. 

R. B. Rush is a native of Pennsylvania. He prac- 
ticed homoeopathy several years, and he is now retired 
from business. Thomas Church, F. M. Clark, Wil- 
liam K. Cook, and a few others of the same school, 
have been, and some of them are still located here. 
Homer W. Thompson, of the same school, now in 
practice here makes a specialty of eye and ear diseases. 
Recently he has given attention to ballooning. And 
he has made some successful ascensions at agricul- 
tural fairs, and at other assemblies of people, within 
a few years. Wm. L. Hazlet, Eli Garrets(m, B. W. 
Spear, and some others deserve honorable mention. 

In 1846 J(>hn D. Cope, a hydropathic phvsician, 
established a water-cure institution at the corner of 
East Main street and Garfield avenue, where A. \V. 
Jones & Co. 's store now is. Many |)atients came to 



152 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

l)c' treated l)y him. For a time he published a paper 
entitled The Water Cure Advocate. Its object was as' 
its name imported besides advertising his institution. 
AlthoutJ^h hydropathy took readily with many people 
in the town and vicinit3% the enterprise was aband- 
oned in about a A^ear. 

The profession of dentistry has been represented in 
Salem in a very creditable manner. Samuel Ball was 
the first practitioner in this art. After a course of 
instruction in dental surgery at Philadelphia, he set 
u]) the business in tliis place in the year 1845. After 
about a year's practice, he went to the west. He was 
awhile in Indiana and Iowa. John Harris, after com- 
pleting his studies with Dr. Stanton, practiced med- 
icine a few years, and then took up dentistry. This 
business was then new, and to many a great novelty. 
He practiced several years with great success and 
then retired. 

John C. Whinnery learned the trade of hat-making, 
and set up in Salem. This business declined in his 
time. And then he turned his attention to dentistry, 
and attained great proficiency in it, and eminence 
in the practice of it. After some years of great 
success, and accpiiring a considerable of wealth, he 
retired and his vson started "in the footsteps of his 
illustrious predecessor." 

This profession, during late years, has been rep- 
resented by J. L. Jamison, W. E. Linn, H. K. Phil- 
lil)s, K. Y. Hogan, E. E. Dyball, J. L. Coffee, and 
some others. 

In regard to skill and ability, and readiness to 
attend lo the calls of the sick and otherwise afflicted 
])ers<)ns, the i)hysicians of Salem will compare well 
with tliosi' of anv other city of the same or largfer 



THK MKDICAL PKOKKSSION. 15.^ 

population. They have ht'en eminently i)ro«rressive 
in the new discoveries in their profession. It need 
not be presumed that they were always successful. 
We know that not all enterprises are successful. 
The healinj;^ art is, therefore, like all others. It has 
had its empirics; hut candor oblij^es us to confess 
that it has performed many wondrous cures. If it 
he asserted that our city has had some quacks; we 
ask what place has had a less per centage of them, 
or fewer cavses of malpractice? 



CHAPTER XVIL 

THE LEGAL PROFESSION. 

^^OSEPH J. BROOKS came to Salem from Ver- 
* I mont in 1832. He first kept a term of school, 

J and he rendered some service as salesman in 
Wilson's store. He first opened an office for his pro- 
fession in a one-story room on the north side of Main 
street, and near the position of Lease's bakery. 
Afterwards he had a room in Jehu Fawcett's house. 
Business prospered with him. And, after a few 
years, he built for himself the house at the north 
west corner of Green and Lund}' streets. Adjoining 
it he had his office. This house and its premises 
have been much changed since his time. 

In his profession Mr. Brooks was eminently suc- 
cessful, and acquired much wealth in the form of real 
estate. He gave his son, J. Twing, a good education 
in science, literature and the polic}' of business, thus 
rendering him one of the most efficient business men 
of our city at this time. He now holds an important 
office with the Pennsylvania Compan3\ 

During a few years J. J. Brooks had, as a partner, 
Robert Crozier, who came from Carrollton. This 
was SOUK' time in the fifties. This partnership con- 
tinued a few years; then Mr. Crozier went to the 
west. 

Mr. Brooks had some students who made their 
marks in the profession. One of them was Martin 
Heckard. He was first a very successful school teacher 
in Sak'm. After doing some legal work here, he 
went to Pomeroy, Meigs county, where he ran a 



THE LEGAL PROFESSION. 155 

l)rl<^rht career. He was elected judjj^e of the cir- 
cuit court, of that district. Another student was 
Thomas Kennett. He served as justice-of-the-peace, 
and did much lej^al work in this place. Then, after 
beintr on a farm in Butler township for a few years, 
he emit^rated to the west. 

About the year lS4b Henry Ami)ler left the cleri- 
cal profession and betook himself to the law. In this 
he soon acquired jj^reat proficiency, and *^ot some bus- 
iness. After one or two years of practice, he went 
to the west. His brother, Jacob, who had been study - 
intr with him then, took his place. 
. In 1856 P. A. Laubie came to this place from Pitts- 
burj^di, and he entered into partnership with Jacob 
Ambler. This partnership continued a few years. 
When the war commenct^ he enlisted and rendered 
j^ood service against the rebellion. After the war his 
management and argument in a case against certain 
bankers in Lisbon got him into extensive business. 
He was appointed circuit judge, which office he yet 
holds. 

Jacob Ambler has had his abode here ever since he 
commenced legal practice, doing much business in the 
courts of this and some neighboring counties. Now, 
his son Byron, is associated with him. He has served 
two terms in the Ohio senate, and has twice been 
elected to ccmgress. In 1859 he w as elected judge of 
the Ninth judicial district of Ohio, and held the office 
till 1867. Then he resigned and resumed practice 
here. He has had charge of many important cases in 
the United States court. 

()ne of our newspapers published this item: "In 
July, 1856, there were six lawyers in Salem, and yet, 
not one of them was willing to defend a licjuor-seller 
charged with violating the liquor laws. " 



156 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Joseph D. Fountain is a native of New York city, 
and has been twice elected sheriff of this county, and, 
has served as mayor of Salem, five years. These 
offices have ^iven him much prestige as an attorney. 
Frank Mercer has been mayor four years, and is now 
engaged in legal practice. 

Besides those of the aforementioned attorneys who 
are now engaged in business in this city, the bar is 
now represented by Henry C.Jones, Warren W. Hole, 
W. S. Fmmons, George S. Walton, J. E}. Rogers, 
J. C. Boone, J. K. Scott, S. W. Ramsey, J. C. Carey, 
W. C. Boyle, F. J. Mullins, and Taylor and Metzger. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 

SECRET vSOCIETIES. 

, I HE first settlers of Salem and its vicinity were 
-L mostly of such character as to ^ive hut litlle 
countenance to secret societies. Some time in 1828 
one William Mor^^^an, of Batavia, N. Y., renounced 
masonry and published a book in which he exposed 
the forms of their oaths, ceremonies and other secrets; 
and he tried to show that masonry was a very bad 
institution. His book made a great sensation in many 
states. Soon after its publication the author mys- 
teriously disappeared; and then there was no small 
amount of speculation about the affair. Man}^ believed 
that he was abducted and murdered by masons. This 
gave a setback to the society that lasted some years. 
Many lodges were disbanded. Other anti-masonic 
publications followed, which were eagerly received 
by the credulous people. During several years news- 
papers and almanacs were publised bearing the title 
of "Anti-masonic." 

An anti-masonic political party was formed. In 
1832 William Wirt was candidate for the presidency 
on this ticket, and he received a large number of 
votes. Darius Lyman, of Ravenna, was candidate 
for governor on the same ticket in the same year. In 
this year John Frost commenced publishing the Aurora 
in New Lisbon. Anti-masonry was his hobbv; the 
Odd Fellows, too, got much vituperation from him, 
and this got him many enemies. But his literary 
taste, as shown in his selection of some good moral 
and scholarly productions, and his temperance and 



158 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

anti-slavery principles got him many friends and 
patrons, especially in Salem. 

This paper was much read and admired. A man 
named Avery Allyn traveled around lecturing on the 
evils which he attributed to masonry. He had with 
him a few companions, and with them he would hold a 
mock-lodge meeting, in which they purported to show 
how candidates w^ere initiated. This doubtless made 
much sport for the ignorant and unsophisticated peo- 
ple. A publication, entitled, "The awful and ter- 
rifying ceremonies of the Odd Fellows," w^as read 
with wonder and horror by some people. While the 
genuine odd fellows laughed at their weakness. It 
was much like modern newspaper cartoons. 

After less than fifteen years of this impotent kind 
of opposition there came a re-action in favor of these 
mystic societies. It was some time in 1846 that J. R. 
Williams, knowm as " The old missionary, " came to 
Salem and commenced lecturing on temperance. He 
manifested great zeal in the work; and he often lec- 
tured in the street, standing on a store box. He told 
many quaint stories and anecdotes; and his style w^as 
peculiarly impressive, and was effective in reaching 
those who drank too much liquor. He commanded 
respect from the temperance advocates, and doubt- 
less did much good. He first told the people here 
about the order of Sons of Temperance. This was 
sometimes represented not to be a "secret society," 
but a society to promote temperance. But that it had 
secrets had to be admitted, and thevse w^ere said to be 
insignificant and not harmful. Some of the ignorant 
l)eople called this society "The Sunday Temper- 
ance," and thought it and the odd fellows were one 
and the same. Without doubt, this society did much 



THE ODD FELLOWS. IS*) 

to promote temperance, l)ut its novelty j^-raduallv wore 
avvav. There was a division in Salem that was kept 
up for several years; connected with it was a similar 
society for boys, called, "The Cadets of Temper- 
ance. " There was also a society of "The Daujj^hters 
of Temperance. " 

These societies were followed bv the " (jood Tem- 
plars. " Their object was also temperance and 
mutual help in want or distress. They all made a 
o^reat show of benevolence. And they ver\' much 
mitig"ated the prejudice against masonry, odd fellow- 
ship, and other secret societies that then prevailed. 
The futility of objections to them, and the absurdity 
of the ridicule that was aimed at them became pow- 
erless. 

About this time there was a revival of interest in 
these orders. New lodges were constituted about as 
fast as lodges had been broken up in the Morgan 
excitement. The enemies became silent. And some 
of the best citizens of Salem became friends of these 
orders. Lodges were constituted, of which the fol- 
lowing synopsis is taken from a publication in The 
Daily News: , . 

l^HE ODD FELLOWS. 
"Amity Lodge No. 124, L O. O. F., was instituted 
December 28th, 1848, and is now nearly fifty years 
old. The charter members were Zacharias Bertolet, 
Cyrus R. Greiner, Amos H. Levan, Henry Kankin, 
and Simeon J. Webb; all of whom are now dead 
except C. R. Greiner, who is not now affiliated with 
the order. The same evening six members were admit- 
ted so that the lodge started with eleven members. 
Since that time 493 others have united with the 
lodge, 55 have died while members, and 155 now 
remain working odd fellows." 



160 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

THE MASONS. 

This was the next secret society organized here. 
It dates from 1850, and is the strongest society of 
this order in the place. "There are Salem Com- 
mandery No. 140, Knights Templars, Omega Coun- 
cil No. 44, Royal and Select Masters, Salem Chapter 
No. 94, Royal Arch Masons, and Perry Lodge. Perry 
Lodge No. 185, Free and Accepted Masons was 
chartered in 1850, and now has 170 members. Salem 
Chapter No. 94, was chartered in 1865, and now has 
160 members. Omega Council No. 44, was organ- 
ized in 1867, and now has 60 members. Salem Com- 
mandery was organized in 1886, and has now 175 
members. 

The new masonic temple is located on the third 
floor of the Snyder-LeavSe Ohio Mutual building, cor- 
ner of Kast Main and Lundy -streets. They have 
secured a 20-year lease on these quarters. " 

This lodge room was formally dedicated on the 
26th of June, 1898. There was a grand parade in 
the forenoon of that day by representatives of lodges 
at Warren, Canton, Massillon, E^ast Palestine, Pitts- 
burgh, and other places. The dedication services in 
the afternoon were conducted by Most Worshipful 
Grand Master Nelson Williams of the grand lodge of 
Ohio. It was a notable day in Salem. 

THE ROYAL ARCANUM. 
"The Royal Arcanum is represented in Salem by 
M. K. Robinson Council No. 350. This council was 
instituted July 3rd, 1879, with 22 charter members, 
and, has lost by removals to other councils, 12 mem- 
Ikts, and by death, 9 members, having to-day, an 
active membership of 120. " "Fraternal orders are 
a national blessing. They promote thrift, economy 



THK 1\M:1) MKN. 1^)1 

and sobriety. They brin;;- iiien into closer relations, 
and cherish those feelin«^'-s that thrive and put forth 
blossoms in each other's welfare. They make men 
thouj^I^htful and helpful, e.\j)oundin«4; the sentiments 
of virtue, mercy and charity. They teach us the 
reli^ncm that breaks bread to the hunj^i^ry, j^rives freely 
to the needy, watches at the bedside of the sick and 
comforts the widow and the fatherless." 

THK KNKIHTS OF PYTHIAS. 
"This Iodide is known and hailed as Salem Lodi^c 
No. 142. The lodj^^e was instituted on April 24th, 
1SS2, with 42 members, some of whom are still 
enrolled and in g^ood standintr. Others have departed 
this life. This is not the full growth of the order in 
the city, but in the last few years several have drop- 
ped out to lessen their expenses. The order teaches 
that the true knight should care for home and loved 
ones first. There are twent^^-six deceased brothers 
whose graves are decorated each year, the second 
Tuesday in June being the day set aside as decora- 
tion day. The motto of the order is 'Friendship, 
Charitv and Benevolence, ' and the teachings are so 
to live that when we come to the river that marks 
the unkown shore, our hands will be filled with deeds 
of charitv, the golden keys that open the doors to 
the palace of eternity. " 

THE KEI> -Nn':N. 
"Powhatan Tribe No. 149, Improved Order of 
Red Men, was founded in Salem by Henry A. Kling 
in 1892, and was instituted November 12lh of the 
same year by Great Sachem Knos Pierson, of Woos- 
ter, with 32 charter members, assisted by Fleet Foot 
Tribe, of Canton, and Leola Tribe, of East Pales- 



162 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

tine. Mr. KHng was made the first Past Sachem of 
the tribe. The order in Salem has been steadily 
growing and numbers nearly 100 members. " 
SILVER CLOUD COUNCIL. 

Silver Cloud Council No. 46, degree of Pocahontas, 
Improved Order of Red Men, was organized by mem- 
bers of Powhatan tribe, and was instituted May 6th, 
1896, by J. W. Nelson, Great Sachem, of Springfield, 
Ohio, with 76 charter members, assisted by Osceola 
Council, of East Liverpool, Ohio, and Great Chief 
of Records, Thos. J. Irwin, of Martins Ferry, Ohio, 
Great Junior Sagamore, H. N. Clemens, of Cleveland, 
Ohio. Mrs. C. F. Kesselmire was made its first past 
officer. 

THE B. P. O. ELKS. 

"Salem Lodge No. 305, although organized only 
three years ago, has a membership of over 100. Fach 
year this lodge gives a benefit in the way of a min- 
strel show. These are always fine performances, 
and it has been the experience that long before the 
evening of the show every seat in the house was sold. 

In addition to the aforesaid mystic societies there 
are The Daughters of Rebecca, Trescott Post of the 
(irand Army of the Republic and the Women's Relief 
Corps, The Knights and Ladies of the Maccabees, 
The Martha Washington Council and some others. 



CHAPTER XIX. 

BANKS. 
THE FARMERS BANK oK SALEM. 

♦ /T^BRANCH of the State Bank of Ohio, under 
Qj _L the name of the Farmers Bank of Salem, 

was chartered February 16th, 1846, with 
a capital of $100,000, in conformity- to the laws 
of the state. One hundred and twenty-three per- 
sons constituted the corporation, and took from one 
share to one hundred and seventy-nine shares of 
stock, of SlOO each, Zadok Street taking the highest 
number, and Simeon Jennings the next." 

"Simeon Jennings, JohnDellenbaugh, Zadok Street, 
Samuel Chessman, Allen Farquhar, Joseph J. Brooks, 
and Lemuel Bingham were chosen directors. Sim- 
eon Jennings was elected president, and Joseph J. 
Brooks member of the board of control." 

"March 14th, John H. Ebbert was employed as 
cashier, and was succeeded by Charles H. Corn well, 
P. S. Campbell, and R. V. Hampson." 

"Business was first commenced in the west end of 
the old store of Zadok Street, a long low brick build- 
ing, then situated in the middle of the present street 
of ' Broadway, ' about fifty feet back from Main 
street." 

"In 1857 the corporation erected and occupied 
the building now owned and used by the Farmers 
National Bank of Salem, and closed businevss in 1865. ' '* 

"The Crowbar Law. Salem became the scene 

Kk>lumbiana County History. 



1()4 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

of a short war, begun and carried on about 1853 or 
1854, to test the constitutionality of a law. The 
democratic party had come into power and the legis- 
lature of Ohio had passed a law authorizing the 
county treasurer to levy and collect taxes additional 
to those called for by the charter." 

^'The State Bank of Salem being the only bank in 
the county, it was determined to test against it the 
validity of the law. J. H. Quinn, county treasurer, 
came up from New Lisbon with a posse of ten men 
and demanded the taxes which were refused. After 
a second attempt he obtained possession of the bank, 
and, not having the keys to the vault, finally forced 
an entrance with crowbars, but found no money. 
Thorough search being made, there were found in 
the chimney flue a number of bags of coin, with which 
the sheriff retired; but the end was not yet. Suit 
was afterwards brought by the bank; the action of 
its officers sustained, and the law eventually repealed. 
The odious enactment became known as ' The Crow- 
bar Law.' "* 

greiner's bank. 
Greiner's bank occupies a building on Kast Main 
street that was erected for its purpose in 1858. This 
bank first commenced in 1853. Joseph G. Thomas 
and Hiram Cireiner being proprietors. By them it 
was managed and continued till 1864, when Mr. 
Thomas died. Mr. Greiner alone managed it till 
18()() wliin T. Chalkley Boone entered as a partner. 
In 1S71 he retired, and thenceforth it w^as know^n as 
liie l)ank of (xreiner & Son until the death of the 
father. Since which it has been managed by the son. 



"Colmnhliinu Coinily Hlsloiy. 




THE DEMina COMPANY'S MANUFACTORY. 



CITY BANK or SALKM. U)S 

THK FIRST NATIONAL 1?ANK ol-' SAIJAI. 

"This institution was chartered September 7tli, 
1863. with a capital of S125,000. The followinj^r 
officers were chosen: Alexander Pow was elected 
president, and Henry J. StoufFer cashier. Upon the 
death of Mr. StoufFer, in 186S, Joseph II. I loll is was 
chosen to the position of cashier, U])«)n whose retire- 
ment, November 1st, IcSTO, Kichard Pow succeeded to 
and still holds the position. Upon the death of Alex- 
ander Pow, in 1879, Furman Gee was elected to the 
presidency. The bank was transferred to its pres- 
ent quarters in Pow's block upon the completion of 
that buildinor." 

"Upon the expiration of the charter of this bank 
in 1882, a new bank of the same name wasor<;^anized, 
with a capital of S100,0U0. The officers of this new 
bank bein^^: Furman Gee, president; J. A. Ambler, 
vice-president; Richard Pow, cashier; all of whom 
are now in office."* 

FARMERS NATIONAL BANK OF SAL?:m. 

"On the 25th day of March, 1865, a certificate of 
incorporation was issued by the Bank Department of 
the State of Ohio to twelve corporators, as follows : 
J. Twing Brooks, L. W. Potter, Geo. En^^^land, Joel 
Sharp, Allan Boyle, Robert Tollerton, James Bin- 
ford, Alfred Wright, Lew^is Schilling, R. V. Ham])- 
son, James Fawxett, and J. B. Kerr. The charter 
of this bank is dated April 1st, 1865; capital S2()(),0()(). 
The present officers are J. T wing Brooks, president; 
R. V. Hampson, cashier.' 'f 

CITY HANK OF SALKM. 

This bank was a private institution, and was 



"tColuniblana County Hl>t<>ry. 



166 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

or'^'-anized in April, 1872, by Joshua J. Boone, Jack- 
son Cotton, and Robert O. Campbell. By them it was 
managed for a few years, when Mr. Cotton retired. 
By the other two persons it was continued till April 
1st, 1894; when its business was closed and settled. 
Business by this party was commenced at the corner 
of Depot and Main streets; and afterwards was 
removed to the Pow block, at the corner of Main 
street and Broadway. 



chapte:r XX. 

THE KAILROADS. 

^ I HK people of Salem knew something about thu 
-L advantages of a railroad long before there was 
one west of the Allegheny mountains. Thev onlv 
lacked the means and the enterprise necesvsarv for 
such work. The co-operation of certain other places, 
which would have obtained quite as much advantage 
thereb}', was lacking also. 

Some time in the thirties a meeting was held to 
consider what could be done for the pnrpose of get- 
ting a railroad through this place. Gen. William 
Blackburn was chairman and Nathan Hunt, secre- 
tary. John Campbell and Zadok Street were among 
the active participants in this meeting. A report 
of it was published in a New Lisbon paper, and that 
was the amount of the affair, except that it showed 
that our citizens felt some concern in such a project. 
Several meetings were held at subsequent times, and 
once or twice Joseph J. Brooks was sent to Columbus 
by citizens of Salem to arouse the legislature to the 
subject. 

Several surveys were made, which contemplated a 
railroad from some place on the Ohio river to Cleve- 
land or some other place on Lake Erie. But none of 
these projects materialized. 

The following account of the building of the rail- 
road through Salem which has added so much to its 
wealth and prosperity has been furnished by Samuel 
Chessman, and it is deemed that nothing better in 



168 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

the way of a histor}' of that enterprise can be given 
than l\v its insertion here: 

"The first successful attempt to built a railroad 
was from Wellsville on the Ohio river to Cleveland 
on Lake Krie. This project was started in 1845, 
and a charter obtained under the name of the Pitts- 
burj^h & Cleveland Railroad Company. The com- 
pany was organized and a board of directors elected. 
Among whom was Zadok Street, and Samuel Chess- 
man, of Salem. Cyrus Prentiss, of Ravenna, w^as 
chosen the first president of the company. At a 
meeting of the directors held in Salem after their 
organization, for the purpose of locating the route, 
it was decided to locate the road from Wellsville 
to Salineville, and Alliance. Then via Lima and 
Ravenna to Cleveland. " 

"After that decision of the majority^ of the direc- 
tors, Street and Chessman resigned their office of 
directors in that company and immediately com- 
menced to raise a voluntary subscription to do the 
preliminary work to start the building of a road from 
Pittsburgh, Pa., via Rochester and New Brighton, 
Beaver county, Pa., to Salem, Canton, Wooster 
and Mansfield, in Ohio, to insersect the Cleveland, 
Columbus & Cincinnati Railroad. A fund was freely 
and quickly subscribed, and a preliminary survey 
was made by Capt. Whippo, of New^ Castle, Pa., 
from the Ohio river at Rochester, Pa., to Salem, 
< )hi(), and a charter procured from the legislature 
ot ( )hio, and supplemented by the legislature of Penn- 
sylvania, for a railroad under the name of the Ohio 
& Pennsylvania Railroad Company, and other pre- 
liminary work done by the people of Salem in 1847." 

"Immediately after procuring the charter in the 




SALEM RAILROAD DEPCT. 



THK RAILROADS. 169 

early part of 1848, a company was organized, and a 
l)oard of directors chosen, (jen'l William Robinson, 
Jr., of Allegheny, Pa., was chosen president, and 
Zadok Street, of Salem, one of the directors; Wil- 
liam Larimer, of Pittsburgh, treasurer ; Samuel 
Chessman one of the assistant treasurers for Ohio ; 
J. J. Brooks, counselor-at-law. Two hundred and 
ninety-two persons subscribed and paid stock amount- 
inj^, in the aggregate, to over ninety thousand dol- 
lars in Columbiana and Mahcming counties. Pitts- 
burgh manufacturers, having become interested in 
having a western outlet for their productions, stock 
was readily subscribed, and the building of the road 
commenced and pushed with vigor. And when com- 
pleted as far as New Brighton, Pa., passenger trains 
were run to that point, until another division was 
completed to Knon, which is seen by the time table 
No. 3, issued November 24th, 1851, Enon was reachd 
at that date." 

"A passenger car was run in connection with the 
construction train between Salem and Alliance in the 
fall and winter of 1847. The constructing western 
division from Alliance working east and the con- 
structing division working west, met near Columbi- 
ana in January, 1852, and the Ohio & Pennsylvania 
Railroad commenced to do business from Pittsburgh 
to Alliance soon after. The Cleveland & Pittsburgh 
road had, a short time before, been opened for traffic, 
so that railroad transportation was opened from 
Pittsburgh to Cleveland in January, 1852. The Ohio 
and Pennsylvania pushed the building of their road 
west to Crestline, and it was soon opened to that 
point." 

"The Ohio & Pennsvlvania Railroad had done a 



170 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

^ood business, and in a few years was consolidated 
with the Ohio & Indiana, built from Crestline, Ohio, 
to Fort Wayne, Indiana. And here the Ft. Wayne 
& Chicago, built from Fort Wayne to Chicago, 111., 
was added; the three roads forming one line and one 
company, under the name of the Pittsburgh, Fort 
Wayne & Chicago Railway Company — now one of 
the mOvSt important national thoroughfares, — which 
had its birth, as above stated, in Salem, Ohio, the 
citizens of Salem being the first to move and appro- 
priate money for the preliminary work." 

From this account it appears that travel from 
Pittsbursfh to Salem bv railroad commenced in the 
winter of 1851 and 1852. As soon as the road was 
opened to Alliance travel was extended to Cleveland, 
as the Wellsville & Cleveland Railroad was then in 
operation. 

The Cleveland, Columbus & Cincinnati Railroad 
was in operation before the Pennsylvania & Ohio 
was extended to Crestline. Hence, many travelers 
to Cincinnati from Salem, and even many from Pitts- j 
burgh, went by Cleveland till shorter routes were I 
opened. I 

In September, 1852, the Ohio state fair was held 
at Cleveland, and there was a special arrangement 1 
by which people could go from Salem, attend the 1 
fair, and return on the same day. It was then i 
regarded as a wonderful opportunity. 

Several other railroad projects have been conteni- 5 
plated, of which Salem was to be an important point, \ 
but only one has been successful. In November, 1891, 
a railroad from Salem to Washingtonville was com- 
menced, and it was completed and set into operatiofi 
in September of the next year. It connects directly 



THK RAILROADS. 171 

with the Niles & Lisbon Railroad; and it now does 
much business, especially in the transportation of 
coal. 



CHAPTKR XXI. 

PUBLIC ORGANIZATIONS AND PUBLIC WORKS. 

l^NTKRPRISES of this character have received a 
p fair amount of attention in our city. For 

^^"^^■^ account of them the author has copied 
much of the following from the County History: 

AGRICULTURAL SOCIETIES. 
"A meeting of farmers and others residing in the 
vicinity of Salem was held December 25th, 1841, in 
the district school house, for the purpose of consid- 
ering the propriety of forming an agricultural soci- 

ety." 

"At this meeting Benjamin Hawley presided, and 
Charles Weaver was secretary. B. B. Davis, Stacy 
Hunt, John Fawcett, J. D. Cattell, and Daniel Bon- 
sall were appointed a committee to prepare a consti- 
tution to be submitted to the next meeting. At an 
adjourned meeting, January 8th, 1842, a constitu- 
tion was read and adopted." 

"At a stated meeting of the society, March 5th, 
1842, the following officers were elected: Joseph 
Wright, president; Daniel Andrews, vice-president, 
Benjamin Hawley, treasurer; J. D. Cattell, record- 
ing secretary; Joseph Straughan, corresponding sec- 
retary; John Fawcett, Samuel Mather, and Stacy 
Hunt, executive committee." 

In October, 1842, their first annual exhibition and 
cattle show was held. 

PAIRS AT SALEM. 

"In 1852 or 1853, a horse fair association was 



PUBLIC ORGANIZATIONS AND PUBLIC WOKMxS. 173 

formed in Salem, about thirty acres of land were 
leased, in the north-east portion of the villajrc for 
exhibition purposes. It was designed for the exhi- 
bition of all classes of horses, and, especially for 
trials of speed, and a half-mile track was constructed 
for that purpose. There were about three annual 
exhibitions held, and considerable interest manifested. 
Charles H. Corn well was the prime mover of, and 
president of the association, with Geo. B. Weaver, 
secretary; T. C. Boone, treasurer; and Edwin Phil- 
lips, chief marshal." 

"In 1855 or 1856, a new or<^anizati()n was formed, 
styled the 'Salem Agricultural, Horticultural, and 
Mechanical Association, ' by whom the same grounds 
were leased. The objects of this association were 
more varied and embraced a wider field of enter- 
prise, claiming the attention of and patronage of all 
classes of people. Much interest was manifested 
therein, and the annual exhibitions were successful. 
These called together large companies of people to 
witness very fine displays of all kinds of stock, as 
well as agricultural, horticultural, and mechanical 
exhibits." 

''Besides the annual meetings during the summer 
seasons, there were monthly exhibitions held in the 
town hall, mostly devoted to horticulture. These 
w^ere seasons of great interest in this branch of the 
enterprise, and some of the finest floral exhibitions 
ever witnessed in this part of the state were had on 
these occasions. The organization was in existence 
five or six years, or, until the inauguration of the 
rebellion, when more absorbing matters claimed the 
attention of the people, and the enterprise was 
abandoned. 



174 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

"Conspicuous as friends of the enterprise were 
John Gordon, Kdwards Bonsall, Jacob Heaton, Dr. J. 
Harris, Maggie Boyle, Kdith Weaver, Caroline Stan- 
ton, Julia and Susan Myers, Mrs. Robinson, Mrs. 
Bovven, Mrs. Jones, and many others. " 

No more efforts to hold fairs were made here for 
more than twenty years after the war. In Septem- 
ber, 1887, a fair was held in the Dvans grove. It 
was a passable thing of its kind, but w^as too much 
pestered by fakirs and blacklegs. One or two others 
were held there a year or two before or after this 
one. They were under the management of tempo- 
rarily organized companies. 

In 1890 "The Salem Fair & Exposition Company" 
was organized. And each year afterwards it has 
given an exhibition of agricultural products, includ- 
ing, also, various kinds of live stock; manufactured 
articles, such as farm implements, mechanics tools, 
household furniture, and almost everything that is 
used to promote happiness and prosperity were shown. 

About thirty-five acres are enclosed and fitted for 
exposition purposes. There are stalls for horses, 
cattle, sheep and swine; and there is a commodious 
hall for the display of horticultural products, fancy 
articles, and all productions of artistic skill. There 
is a race track that is kept in the best condition during 
the season. There are also stables for keeping 
horses that are being trained for the summer meet- 
ings. Privileges of these are rented to persons w^ho 
have horses to be trained for exhibition of speed. For 
this purpose the place has been kept in good order 
during several past years. There is a large number 
of seats, and a good stand for judges, from w^hich 
a fair view of all animals displayed in the ring can 
be fairly had. 



SALEM FIRK DEPARTM?:NT. 175 

In 1898 the lease of this fair «^^r(>un(l was sold to 
another party named "The Salem Drivin;^- Park 
Company." And by them it is expected to he con- 
tinued, for purposes similar to the same as heretofore. 
Albert H. Phillips is president; Wm. W. Burns, vice- 
president; William G. Bentley, secretary; C. H. Chal- 
fant, treasurer. J. T. Brooks, J. C. Trotter, and 
Wallace D. King, directors. 

SALEM FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

*'The first official movement of the town council 
looking towards protection from fire and the estab- 
lishment of a fire department w^as at a meeting of 
that body, May 10th, 1831. Jacob Snider and Benj. 
Stanton were appointed a committee to appropriate 
SlO.OO for purchasing ladder and fire hooks, and to 
provide a place of deposit. The next action was on 
the 11th of April, 1836, when a resolution was offered 
in the town council, 'That a committee of three be 
appointed to make investigation and report to a 
future session of the council of what measures they 
deem it necessary for the council to adopt relative to 
protection against damages by fire. ' S. C. Trescott. 
Aaron Hise, and B. Stanton were appointed such 
committee." 

"At a meeting of the council in June of the same 
year, it was resolved, ' That there be six scaling lad- 
ders provided for the use of the town in case of fire, 
and that there be a suitable shed provided for their 
safe-keeping. Samuel C. Trescott, Aaron Hise. and 
Isaac Bo(me were appointed a committee to carry 
this resolution into effect. ' July 24th, 1836, the com- 
mittee on provision against damages by tire made 
their report, and on motion it was resolved, ' That 
there be an ordinance making it obligatory on each 



176 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

freeholder, resident in town, to provide and keep two 
fire buckets, either of leather or tin, for each house 
which he shall hold for rent; said buckets to be 
kept under such regulations as the council shall 
direct. ' J. J. Brooks and B. Stanton were appointed 
a committee to present an ordinance for that purpose 
at a future sitting of the council." 

''Juh^ 28th, 1836, the council went into further 
consideration of the report of the committee on the 
subject of preventing damages by fire, and adopted 
the following preamble and resolutions: 

* Whereas, Henry Mall and Amos Hawley have proposed 
to sink and put in order for use wells, each in front of his 
respective lots where they now reside, provided the town of 
Salem will be at one-half the expense. Therefore, it is 

Resolved, That the town council of the said town accept 
said proposition, and authorize an appropriation for that pur- 
pose, provided said Mall and Hawley, in constructing of said 
wells, conform to the direction of the committee which the 
council shall appoint to superintend the same, and leave the 
wells, when completed, to the control of the council. Samuel 
Reynolds and Aaron Hise are appointed to superintend the 
said work, and instructed to have said wells six feet wide 
in the clear after walling, and to have them finished with 
pumps.'" 

"On October 26th, 1836, $100 had been subscribed 
by citizens to procure a fire engine, which was offered 
by an agent of the American Hydraulic Company. 
The council deeming it expedient to purchase it at 
the price demanded ($250), the president was author- 
ized to give an order for the amount, and the sub- 
scriptions were paid into the treasury. February 
6th, 1837, the council ordered a building erected — 
10 by 12 feet in size, and costing about $100,— in 
which to keep the fire engine. It was to be placed 
on the Friends' property, opposite the dwelling of 



SALKM KIKK DKPAKTMIONT. 177 

Amos Hawlcy. ( )n the 22ui\ ol" Si^-ptcinbcr, 1837, it 
was resolved to tli^ tlirco wells in the street in the 
inll()win_Li' places:" 

" 'One at the corner, at Wni. Chaney 's house; one 
between the en^i^ine house on the corner of the 
• street and B. Stanton's house; and one at the cross 
street at John Street 's. ' The wells were to be seven 
feet clear of walls, provided with j;^ood pumps, and 
completed at a total cost of S178.30. Measures were 
taken in the councils of the town t<> enc()ura,i4"e the 
orijanization of a lire company; and. on March 21st 
and 2^)th, 1841, an ordinance was perfected author- 
ing the formation of such a company." 

In April of that vear a companv was orj^^anized, in 
accordance with the ordinance, called the ' Salem 
Fire Company.' J. K^gman, W. Kidd, J. Antrim and 
E. W. Williams were chosen a committee to examine 
the fire engine and ^ive it into the possession of the 
J company. This engine was known by the name of 
' Soul-Cjrinder.' J. C. Marshall was secretary of the 
com])anv in 1842.'' 

"July 17th, 1841, for the more efficient security 
<>f propertv, it was deemed advisable to purchase 
I another fire engine. The citizens had subscribed 
liberally, and the president was instructed to sub- 
scribe S166 to make the full sum needed, which was 
S700. Samuel Scattergood was appointed agent of 
the council to make the purchase. The engine was 
purchased of John Agnew, of Philadelphia, and was 
taken in charge l)y the Salem Fire Company, and 
was known by the name of 'Columbiana.' It was 
afterwards remodeled, and, upon the organizaticm 
of the Deluge Fire Company, was given into their 
charge.' ' 



178 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

"June 13th, 1861, a committee was appointed to 
visit Pittsburgh to purchase a fire engine, and, upon 
their favorable report the hand engine, 'Vigilant, ' 
was purchased for the sum of $1450, and placed under 
the management of the ' Vigilant Fire Insurance Com- 
pany;' the town hall being enlarged to accommodate 
the additional fire apparatus. A contract was entered 
into between the town council and H. C. Silsby, June 
26th, 1869, for a rotary steam fire engine, to cost 
S7500. This engine was received, and passed into 
the charge of the 'Deluge Fire Company.' " 

"A cistern was located, March 17th, 1874, on the 
corner of Fourth and Lundy streets, in front of the 
school house. At a meeting of- the town council, 
March 23rd, 1875, it was resolved that Norman B. 
Garrigues be authorized to place a ' Clapp & Jones' 
steam fire engine in the city on trial, and, April 20th, 
it was voted to retain it. The total cost was $3700. 
It was named the 'Vigilant, ' and given into the pos- 
session of 'Vigilant' Fire Company."' 

FIRE COMPANIES. 

The first company (organized in April, 1841), was, 
l)v the ordinance, to contain twenty-five men. The 
minutes do not show that number, and, it was not 
until November, 1847, that by-laws seem to have been 
drawn up. In section 1 of this company it was desig- 
nated the ' Salem Fire Company, 'the name previously 
adopted. " 

"The two engines — 'Soul-Grinder' and 'Colum- 
biana' — were controlled by this compan}- until 1869. 
April 6th,* of that year, a constitution was adopted, 
and the company was to be known and designated as 
the 'Vigilant Fire Company.' 'Deluge Fire Com- 
pany ' was organized in May, 1865, and it took charge 



TH 1-: AV A TV: K - \\< > K K S. 17^) 

of the 'Columbiana,' and, njxm tlu- purciiasc hv llu- 
town t'ouncil of the Sil.sby .steamer, the hitter also 
was given to their rliarj^e. 'Rescue Hook and Lad- 
der Company' was ori^anized March 31st, 1S75. " 

By these companies the tire dejKirtment was man- 
a;;ed until the completion of the water-works. When 
it was found that the pressure from the hydrants 
would force water to any height likely to be recpiired. 
This, in most instances, superseded the Uvse of engines. 
Two engines are kept which may be used in an emer- 
gency. 

There is now a system of fire and jiatrol stations, 
at certain places in the city by which an alarm can 
be sent to the headquarters, at any time, and, such 
relief as may be needed, can be sent quickly. And 
there are three volunteer tire companies, having from 
twenty-live to forty members each. These com])anies 
receive bounties of S250 each from the city. With 
this they pay the rent of rooms and the expense of 
furnishing and keeping them in order. These rooms 
are furnished with baths, and other a])purtenances 
for recreation and entertainment. This is all for 
the benetit of the firemen, who are then expected to 
be on hand in times of fires, and render such help as 
the chief of the department may direct. 

THK WATKR-WORKS. 
"A large spring on the Davis or Hawley farm sup- 
plied the city with water for several years. In 1860 
Abel Phillips built a reservoir of brick, 24 '2 by 41 
feet, and covered it: also, a tower with two tanks, 
one above the other, and each 20 feet in diameter. 
The top of the upper tank was 20 feet from the 
ground. Friday, May 30th, of that year, after the 
pumping of the day, the water rose in the reservoir 



180* HISTORY OF SAIvEM. 

six inches in two hours, showing the spring's capacit}^ 
to be about 1750 gallons an hour. A contract was 
made with the authorities in 1862, under which iron 
pipes were laid through the village, supplying water 
for domestic and for fire purposes. The works were 
sold to Daniel Koll, who sold them in 1868 to ly. B. 
Silver, who, in turn, sold them in Februarv, 1879, to 
A. R. Silver. " It was sold to the Salem Water Com- 
pany in 1887. 

AN ARTESIAN WELL. 

" In 1860 a number of persons in Salem, prominent 
among whom were John Sheets and Benjamin Pen- 
nock, put down an artesian well with the hope of 
finding oil. The boring was made at a point a little 
east of the Methodist episcopal church, on Broad- 
way. At the depth of one hundred and eighty feet 
a vein of water was struck, which filled a four-inch 
tube and rose seven feet above the surface. This 
unsought spring has maintained its capacious flow to 
the present time. The well was purchased by Abel 
Phillips, who leased the propert3^ for a term of years, 
to the gas and railroad companies, having first laid 
pipes to the premises of these corporations. The 
works are now" owned bv Albert R. Silver." 

By the aforesaid means and some. wells, the city 
was supplied with water till the system of water 
supply now in use w^as completed. On the 19th of 
March, 1887, a.n ordinance was passed "Providing 
for the supply of water to the village of Salem, 
Columbiana County, Ohio, and its inhabitants, author- 
izing the firm of Turner. Clark & Rawson, of Bos- 
ton, Massachusetts, and their successors, or assigns, 
to construct and maintain water- works in said village, 
contracting with said Turner, Clark & Rawvson, 



THK KLKCTRIC LKiHT .\n:I> 1M)\VKK COMPANY. ISI 

their successors or assigns, for a siij)j»]v of water 
for |)ul)lic uses, and j^nxini:; said \-illa<xc an option to 
purchase said water- works. " 

This ordinance contained plans, specifications and 
every re(piirenient of the aforesaid water-works. ( )n 
the J4th of July, 1SS<S, they were accej^ted as eoni- 
pleted accordin*.^ to contract. And thev were set 
into operation. Much of the water, for awhile, came 
from a sprinj.^- on the farm of (ieorge Rogers. This 
is now shut off, and all the water is obtained from 
the aforesaid Hawley spring, and from wells drilled 
at the tank in the western part of the citv. 

By en«;rines at these places water is pumped into 
the stand pipe (m Kast Main street, and thence hv 
pipes is conveyed to all parts of the city. The stand 
pipe is eig-hty feet hig-h, and thirty feet in diameter, 
havinj^j;" a capacity for 3(10,000 g-allons. FrcMu this 
the city is now amply supplied with water for all 
purposes, includinij;' what may be needed in time of 
fires. 

thp: salp:m (iAs light company. 

This c(mipany was chartered November 3()th, 1858. 
An establishment for the makintj- of <jas was soon 
afterwards built. At one time the capital stock was 
over $15,000. It continued to supply lig"ht to the city 
until the electric Hg-hts were constructed. Since that 
time gas light has been much less us.ed, although the 
plant is still kept in use. 

THK KLECTRIC LKiHT AND PoWKR COMPANY'. 

This organization was formed some time in 18S7, 
and got its works so far progressed as to commence 
giving the city an incandescent light, commencing- 
April 1st, 1888. In February. 1894, arc lights were 



1S2 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

v^ubstituted. B}' these the streetvS have been bril- 
Hantlv lighted ever}^ night. Lights of both kinds 
have been furnished to dwellings, stores, workshops, 
and wherever wanted. This establishment also fur- 
nishes motive power for the street railwa}^ cars. 

An ordinance "Granting to the Salem Klectric 
Railway Compan}^ the right to construct and operate 
a street railwa}^" was passed by the city council on 
the 27th da}^ of September, 1889. They thereupon 
commenced, and finished it in the ensuing 3^ear; so 
that street cars were started on the 23rd day of May, 
1890; and they have been in successful operation ever 
since. 

SALEM BANDS. 

"A band was organized in this place, called the 
'Salem Whig Band, ' in 1840, and continued in exist- 
ence until 1846. A free concert was given in the 
district school house, June 11th, 1842, in which 
twenty-two pieces were rendered. About the year 
1854 or 1855, a band was organized for the presiden- 
tial campaign of 1856, and continued in existence for 
a year or two, the members furnishing their own 
instruments and instructor. " 

"In the spring of 1859, a new^ organization was 
perfected, and new instruments purchased, the citi- 
zens contributing about S30 for that purpose. This 
band played through the presidential campaign of 
1860, and, in the fall of 1861, three or four of their 
number enlisted in the band of the 19th Ohio volun- 
teer infantry. After their return from the army the 
band ])racticed but little, and only for occasions of 
public interest until 1865, when the 'Salem Cornet 
Band' was organized. N. B. Garrigues was chosen 
leader, and continued in that position through sev- 
eral reorganizations.' ' 



SALKM HANDS. 183 

"In 18()(), with aid received from the cili/Cc-ns. and. 
about S200 realized from concerts, the l)and pur- 
chased a set of (iernian-sil\ er instruments, l^rof. 
D. Marble, of Akron, ( ).. was enj^a^ed as instructor. 
In 1S()9 this band, u])()n invitation, accompanied a 
party of excursionists in a tri]) to Lake Superior, vis- 
itin*r Thunder Hay, Fort Williams, Isle Roval, the 
coppered district, Eaj^de Harbor, the Pictured Hocks, 
and M arquette. In 1870 uniforms were l)OU<j:ht at 
an expense of S700 or SSOO, of which ab(mt S275 were 
C(mtributed by citizens. January 3rd, 1<S75, a new 
set of instruments, nine in numlier, was purchased by 
the band at a cost of S542.25. A concert was »j;-iven 
in Concert Hall by this band, assisted bv Miss Abbie 
Whinnery, who had just returned from Europe, a 
finished soloist, and ^liss Celestia Wattles of the 
Conservatory of Music, Oberlin, Ohio. The net 
profit of the concert was S260. The ortranizati(m 
was then in a prosperous condition, and acquired an 
extended reputation for musical ability. 

This band became disbanded after a few years. 
Then there were some org-anizations of this charac- 
ter that held together only a little while; one of 
which was composed of colored people. 

The Quaker City Band was organized on the 15th 
of February, 18%; and now it has tifteen members. 
They meet twice a week for practicing, and for 
sociability. The cultivation and promotion of the 
latter is one of their objects. 

They intend to give a concert every winter; and 
they would give evening concerts on the streets if 
there w^ere suitable places. They have had engage- 
ments in some of the neighboring towns and cities; 
one of which was at Toledo. Ohio, for the Knijjfhts 



lcS4 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Templar, in September, 1897. This band is now 
self-supporting, and the members regard their future 
as bright. Their executive board now consists of 
George Chappell, Jerry Shaffer, and Edward L. Gil- 
son. Their room is in the block at the northwest 
corner of Main and Ellsworth streets. 

THE HOME FOR AGED WOMEN. 

This institution is situated on the south side of 
Kast Main street, and it occupies a commanding 
position. There is a nice lawn in front of it, where- 
on some shade trees have been planted. The number 
of inmates has not yet been very large, in conse- 
quence of a lack of rooms for their accommodation. 
The property for the "Home" was purchased in the 
first place, and some of its expenses defra3^ed by the 
proceeds of a legacy of SlOOO, given by Mrs. Eliza 
Jennings, widow of Simeon Jennings, and a consid- 
erable donation from the estate of Tacy Wilson, who 
in her time was well known in Salem. Several citi- 
zens of the place also contributed liberally for its 
benefit. 

From a published report the follow^ing is copied: — 

"In the month of June, 1886, a number of ladies 
of Salem interested in establivshing a home for aged 
women, met at the house of Sibyl Street to talk the 
matter over. Mrs. Hannah Koll, who had long been 
interested in the matter and who was instrumental 
in getting the ladies together, stated the object of 
tile meeting. After some conference they decided 
to adjourn, and if enough interest was manifested to 
meet again in two weeks. At a subsequent meeting 
a ])ermanent organization was effected." 

"In February, 1887, property known as the Evans 
homestead was purchased and $1000 paid on it. The 



m 
1 


i 






^^^^^^^^Bk~ ■ - JH 




1 



HOME FOR A(;ED WOMEN. 1S5 

following year the balance of the debt was paid by 
contributions from tlie j^enerous citizens of Salem, 
and on the 4th day of ( )ctober, 1888, the home for 
ix^ed women was opened and the inmates entered. 
Four hundred and thirty-three dollars and twenty- 
nine cents was all the money left in the treasury at 
this time, but with this sum and faith that the work 
would prosper because it was a work of loye, the 
management concluded to go (m. Their faith has 
not been in yain. " 

"Mrs. Phebe Gruell kindly donated her services 
as matrcm the first year, and to her watchfulness 
and untiring efforts the home owes much of its early 
success. The object of estal^lishing such a home 
was to care for aged and infirm women of good char- 
acter and small means. By placing their little fortune 
in the hands of the society, even if it were only S20(), 
they could secure a home and comfort and care for 
the remaining days of their lives." 

Mrs. Gruell was succeeded by Mrs. Eliza Marple, 
who served during a few years. Mrs. Lucy Pettis 
now serves in that capacity. And she is represented 
as "considerate and kind to each member of her 
household, whose welfare depends so much on her 
care." ^lany applications for admission as board- 
ers or inmates have been made, but were necessarily 
refused f(^r want of room. 



chapti:r xxii. 

ANECDOTES AND MISCELLANIES. 

QyTUGB. BURNS came from Chartiers, Wash- 
♦ r~l ington County, Pa. , and settled on the 

V^^-^ section south-west of that entered by 
Job Cook and John Straughan. Soon afterwards 
Jonathan Stanley came from Virginia, and purchased 
a hundred acres from Job Cook cornering Burns 's. 
The wife of the latter had heard ill reports about 
the character of the Quakers, wherefore when she 
heard that a family of that obnoxious class had come 
and would be neighbors, she held up her hands in 
horror and declared that they "would be obliged to 
sell out and go back to Chartiers.' ' 

Soon after the Stanleys were fairly settled, the 
wife of Job Cook went to their house and asked 
Mary Stanley to go with her on a neighborly visit 
to Hugh Burns 's. There her plain dress and plain 
language were quite a novelty to one who had never 
vseen a person of the Quaker persuasion. Notwith- 
standing these peculiarities, such an impression was 
made that Mrs. Burns was convinced that the Qua- 
kers were not such bad people as in her delusion she 
had thought them to be. And thenceforth these 
women became close friends while they lived. 

When Mrs. Burns apprehended that her end was 
near, she requested that a plain cap, such as the 
Friends wore, should be made and placed on her 
head at the time of her burial. This was therefore 
done by Mary Stanley. 

Maria Britt. — Some time in the twenties a fugi- 



ANECDOTES AND MISCELLANIES. 187 

tive slave woman of this name came to Salem. Here 
she found a place of refuj^e and employment amonj^ 
the people called Quakers; especially Samuel Davis, 
By the proceeds of her work she ^ot a lot from him 
<m what is now Green street. It is now occupied by 
a small dwellinjj;" house which for scmie years was 
used for the Episcopal church. On this lot a small 
brick house was built in which she passed most of 
the remainder of her life. But the course of liberty 
with her (like the course of love with some rustic 
swains) did not run smoothly. She had a husband 
who was held in bondage in the South; and like any 
true and faithful wife, she wished him here, that he, 
too, mi^ht share with her the blessings of liberty, as 
it could be had in this place. Wherefore she got 
some one of her white friends to write a letter to 
him. By some mishap this letter got into the hands 
of her old master, who set about the job of rescuing 
her. 

A relative of Dr. Stanton, who lived in Steuben- 
ville, got wind of the plot, and he thereupcm sent 
word that the master was coming hither in search 
of his ''property.''' Thereupon Maria was clandes- 
tinely sent to Conneaut, a, settlement of Friends, 
near the north-east corner of Trumbull county, and 
just over the State line. There she remained till it 
was deemed safe for her to return to Salem. During 
her absence a mysterious stranger came to Salem, 
and stopped some days at one of the taverns. He 
frequently walked the streets and peeped into the 
houses, especially the kitchens, but he did not find 
his lost ''property." 

Maria Britt found some true friends here besides 
the Quakers, and she made a fair living by doing 



188 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

such work as washing, house cleaning, cooking wed- 
ding dinners, etc. Thus she made herself very useful 
to the people here. Being of a pious turn she took 
delight in attending religious meetings. But there 
prejudice of color prevailed, and she felt much embar- 
rassed. None of the meeting-houses were then so 
far advanced in modern improvements as to have 
"Negro Pews" or "Galleries for colored people." 

"Samuel Davis was an excellent judge of human 
nature, and settled more law-suits by conciliation 
between disputants, in the last few years of his life, 
than did the courts, and assisted often, financially, 
in adjusting compromises; his love of humanity lead- 
ing him to prevent resort to 'legal suasion, ' as he 
termed suits at law." 

"He was always on the alert for the ludicrous, 
and many bits of humor are told of him; one of 
which is as follow^s: A Dutchman went out beside 
a spring to indulge in a private drink from his bot- 
tle; he there encountered Davis, whom he invited to 
partake. Davis at first declined, but when urged 
appeared to consent, remarking that he 'couldn't 
take it undiluted." He thereupon suggested that 
the whiskey be poured into the 'run, ' while he drank 
from just below. The Dutchman complied, and, as 
Davis continued to drink and called for more, the 
Dutchman continued to pour until the bottle was 
empty. All too late to save a portion for himself 
the Dutchman discovered that he had been duped, 
and that Davis had taken water only, 'straight. ' 
He afterwards declared, 'I never had no Yankee 
come it over me, or cheat me so pad as Sammy 
Davis. ' ''* 

'i'Coluniblana County History. 



ANECDOTES AND MISCELLANIES. 180 

. John Straughan and Job Cook hou^^ht tlu- 
section from which the south-west part of tho town 
was formed. In dividinjr the land the latter ^^oi the 
south half; and he took a n<>tion that Strau^rhan j^^oi 
an undue advanta^^e hv the location of a sl)rin.<,^ <»r 
somethin^r else. Wherefore when John had cut 
some lo^s for buildin^^ a cabin, he took reviMij^a- by 
following and cuttinj^ them in two. Samuul Davis, 
as a peace-maker, rebuked him for such an improper 
action, and told him that "that was not the way for 
people in a new country to do.' ' And by this means 
a reconciliation was etfected. 

Job Cook was an unlettered man quite boorish in 
manners. But he was one that stood for his rii^'-hts, 
and he was sensitive about anythin^^ bein<r imposed 
on him more than ordinary duties. A neighbor (mce 
borrowed a drawing-knife of him, and was rather 
slow in returning it. When reminded of his negli- 
gence and the article was offered to him, he refused 
to take it, and required the borrower to carry it to his 
house. Many borrowers in our days need to be served 
in the same manner. 

Isaiah Bowker came from New Jersey, in early 
times, bringing his family and household goods in an 
old-fashioned covered wagon. They cam|)ed one 
night on land now owned by heirs of Joshua Hilliard; 
the whole family sleeping in the wagon. Karlv in 
the morning, ^Irs. Bowker awakened her husband and 
told him that there was a calf close by. Isaiah recog- 
nized the animal as a deer, took his gun and shot it. 
And then the family had a breakfast of venison good 
enough for any of the epicures of the town at this 
day; only not in modern restaurant style. 

John Webb settled on the first section north of 



190 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

that on which Salem was commenced. He came froqi 
Maryland, about the year 1805. He built a cabin and 
commenced clearing the land. In his family he had 
seven sons and four daughters. Soon after he was 
thus fixed in a new home, Philip Bowman with his 
family came along in a wagon and stopped for a 
night with the Webbs. He had entered a section 
further north and was now on his way to it. The 
second son in the Webb family then and there com- 
menced acquaintance with one of the daughters of the 
newcomers that ripened into a marriage from which 
came nine children. 

A Father's Choice. — Some time in the last years 
of the last centur}^ a Mr. Jennings, who resided 
somewhere in the state of New Jersey, took a trip to 
certain places in western Pennsylvania and Virginia. 
At one place where he stopped, he saw a blooming 
maiden, named Rebecca Kverly, whose appearance 
pleased him. On returning to his home, he told his 
son, Levi, about her, and encouraged him to go and 
see her. Also saying that he had selected her for his 
wife. Levi, then a young man went, saw her and 
gained her hand in marriage. They first settled in 
Beaver county. Pa. Afterwards they moved to the 
farm now occupied by Lovern L. Cook, on the Deer- 
field road. That land was cleared and put into good 
condition. And they raised four sons* and four 
daughters. Some of their descendants now reside in 
Salem. The conjugal union of this venerable couple 
was eminently happy; each of whom reached the ripe 
age of eighty-five. And their adaptedness for each 
other shows that parental judgment is not always to 

^Namely : Simeon, Levi, Jesse and William— three of whom were well known 
in Hiilem. 



ANECDOTES AND MISCELLANIES. !<)! 

be disregarded in making marriage alliances for hope- 
ful sons and daughters. 

Thomas Webb, oldest son of John Webb, married 
Naomi Smith, daughter of Samuel Smith. And they 
commenced house-keeping in a cabin, somewhere on 
what is now the Brooks farm No. 1. One dav the 
dogs were heard barking, and Mrs. Webb discovered 
that they had a bear treed. Taking an ax she cut 
down the tree, and the dogs then tackled the bear, 
and she went with the ax to their help. The ani- 
mal was soon dispatched, but in such a mangled con- 
dition that its skin was spoiled. Bear skins were 
then articles of some value. Soon the dogs were 
heard barking at another. This tree also was cut 
down. And that she might not spoil its skin, she 
used the poll of the ax. And this bear was killed, 
but with much more difficulty than the other. 

A MAN named Icenhour lived somewhere in Goshen- 
township. At one time he had his neighbors assem- 
bled to help raise a building. For them a good din- 
ner had to be furnished; and he discovered in time 
that he had not meat enough for the purpose. Taking 
his rifle, he went into the woods, and there found a 
flock of wild turkeys, from which he got enough to 
give his good neighbors a feast that might have done 
ample justice to a modern Thanksgiving; style only 
excepted. 

Robert French drove the first wagon that went 
from Salem to the place where Damascus now is. 
The party started at daylight, and reached their des- 
tination at dark. They were obliged to open the 
road as they went along. Anthony Morris' family 
were thus moved and settled there. Wild animals 
then were not scarce. Wolves and bears were some- 



192 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

times troublesome. Mrs. Morris once heard a great 
fuss in the hog-pen. Going to see what it was, she 
found a bear trying to carry off one of the shoats. 
Bruin then turned his attention to her and the dog, 
whereupon she retreated to the house, and kept the 
animal at bay till the arrival of her husband. She 
signalled to him the state of affairs, and he came up 
without being seen by the bear, and then his rifle 
pronounced the death warrant of the " varmint. " 

An Kncou]>?ter with Wolves.— Thomas Spen- 
cer, who was well known in Salem, in his last days, 
was raised on the farm now belonging to the heirs of 
Israel Barber, two miles west of Salem. When a 
young man, he, one evening, went on horseback into 
the woods on some errand. Somewhere on the north 
part of land now owned and occupied by Joseph Bur- 
ton, he saw a female wolf coming out of a hollow log. 
On looking in he saw the bright eyes of six young 
ones. Here was then a chance for a speculation. 
The government gave a bounty of six dollars for 
destroying each one of this kind of animals. They 
were very destructive to sheep. Mr. Spencer then 
tied the rein of his horse's bridle to one of his feet, 
and crept into the log; then seizing the cubs, he 
killed them as best he could; and, then he tied them 
in pairs and swung them across the horse's neck. As 
he went homeward w^th his trophies, the old wolf 
followed, growling in a furious manner till he got 
into cleared land. For the scalps of these six young 
wolves he got $36. 

A Catamount in This Place. — A certain class 
of animals has been found in this part of North Amer- 
ica, which have been known as such names as panther, 
painter, puma, catamount and cougar. They are rapa- 



ANECDOTES AND MISCKLLAMl-.S. 193 

cioiis and carnixoroiis; ottcii IIr-v kill more tluin IIk'V 
eat. SainiK'l I. Chisholm relates the followinj^^ : 
"Late in the tall or earlv in llie winter ol 1S14, 
John Kakestraw, tlien a vonnjj^ man, lived about a 
mile and a-half south of Salem. He went out one 
morn in «^ to feed his pij^^s. ( )ne of them was missinj^, 
and, on lookinij;" around, tracks in a slijj;"]it fall of 
snow showed that a catamount had paid the pen a 
visit and had helped himself to a pij^. After break- 
fast he took his ^un and followed in pursuit oi the 
missing porker. He soon found the place where it 
had been devoured; but he kept (»n, thirstin<^^ for 
revenge and the money for the varmint's hide, as 
payment for the shoat. The animal took nearly a 
north-easterly course, and was overtaken and killed 
while Iving curled up and sleeping on the fork oi an 
oak tree that stood near where the power house oi 
the Electric Railway Company now stands. Some 
Salem people yet remember that tree. That ani- 
mal's skin was over nine feet hmg, ^ and brought the 
sum of four dollars and a-half, two or three times 
the value of the stolen pig. and was the last of the 
kind taken in this neighborhood. " 

A CERTAIN one of the early settlers had several 
colonies of bees. Bears like h(mey as much as any of 
the human race. Hence they came by night to this 
place, and overturned some of the hives, and then 
their conditicm in the morning told what had been 
done in the night. Thereupon a couple of young men 
came one evening with their artillery, ready for bus- 
iness. But there were some girls in the house by 
wh(>m these gentlemen were nicely entertained till 
a noise at the bee hives gave notice that the enemy 



«Tall and fore legs are HappoHed to be included. 



194 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

was on hand. A gun was quickly pointed at him; 
but before a good aim could be taken the bear left its 
sweet feast and ran for the woods through a corn- 
field making a rattling among the blades — apparently 
mocking at the attempt on its life. 

About sixty years ago absconding wives were 
sometimes advertised thus: " Whereas, my wife, 

, has left my bed and board without any just 

cause or provocation; I, therefore, forewarn all per- 
sons against trusting or harboringher on my account, 
as I will not pa}^ any debts of her contracting unless 
compelled by law. " 

A man who lived in Salem advertised his wife 
after this manner in a New Lisbon paper, and the 
unfeeling printers added the interjections — haugh! 
haugh!! haugh!!! His bad spelling was copied to 
show how he had trifled away his opportunities 
while attending school. Some truant husbands, at 
this day, might be advertised in the same manner, 
with just as much propriety. 

David Scholfield came as an adventurer from 
Campbell county, Virginia. He first saw Rebecca 
Davis in a clearing helping her father. She was 
driving a yoke of oxen at the time. We cannot say 
whether he was smitten more with her personal 
charms, or a chance to get some of the land that her 
father had entered. They were married on the 20th 
of November, 1805, b}^ Friends' ceremon}^ in a log 
meeting houvse that stood in the rear of the site of 
the town hall. This was the first wedding in the 
place. All of the meeting was invited to take din- 
ner with them. The house being small, all could not 
be accommodated at once at one table. Wherefore 
a part of them stood around a log heap fire (it being 



ANECDOTES AND MISCELLANIES. IMS 

k 

a damp ami chillv dav), while Ihu others i)arl(»(>k of 
the wedding feast. Thus they to(>k their turns. 

RoHEKT French and Anna Street were the 
next couple married here. Their wedding was on 
the 25th of February, 1807. Their son, Zadok, was 
the first white child born in Salem. David Schol- 
field settled (m land three miles east of the town, and 
owned by his father-in-law. There, most likely, hi> 
children (part of them) were born. 

In the fall of 1829 Stacy Hunt and his nephew, 
Kmmor, took a hunting excursion in (joshen town- 
ship. Both were good marksmen, and took some 
delight in this kind of amusement. Somewhere in 
the woods west of the present residence of Lycurgus 
W. Stravvn, they discovered a porcupine. A shot 
from one of their rifles brought it down from the 
tree on which it was perched. The skin oi the ani- 
mal was preserved, and, for some time, shown as a 
curiosity to admiring people. This was most likely 
the last animal of that kind killed in this regicm. 

The Last Bears. — Allen Fanjuhar lived about a 
mile and a-half east of Salem. One day about the 
year 1828, he w^as astonished at seeing his calves 
running from the field to the barn. And, on looking 
to see the cause of their fright, he saw a black bear 
sitting on a fence. Taking his dog and gun, he pur- 
sued it to a tree on David Painter's place, where a 
shot from his gun brought the animal down. 

In 1829, Howell Hise had a captive bear that was 
caught on what is now Brooks's farm No. 2. 

He kept it chained, and had a little h(mse for it, 
in the rear of his father's house, which was where 
the Opera house now is. It was an ol)ject of great 
curiosity to the young folks in the town. It was 



196 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

kept there two or three 3^ears, when its savage dis- 
position was manifested in biting a little boy and its 
master, who thereupon terminated its life. These 
are supposed to have been the last animals of that 
kind that ventured so near to this town, except those 
brought by showmen. 

The Last Wild Turkeys. — Samuel I. Chis- 
holm relates the following: "The last flock of these 
wild fowls in this region was met in September, 1860, 
by himself and James P. Day, who were hunting in 
the woods north of the Damascus road, and about 
two miles west of Salem. When they discovered 
the birds, they succeeded in shooting among them 
an old gobbler, a young one, and two hens. There 
were eleven birds in the flock, and the remainder 
escaped out of the neighborhood. The hunters had 
the bad luck of losing the gobbler because it flew so 
far after being shot. Ridgeway Shreve found it on 
the next day. He, having some skill as a taxider- 
mist, took off the skin, stuffed, and mounted it; and 
then it was kept on exhibition during several years 
in John C. Whinnery's Dental office." 

Vocal and Instrumental Music. — The Quaker 
element in Salem kept down the interest in music of 
all kinds during many years. And very little of 
what was made by instruments was to be heard 
except when traveling shows came to the town. 
Thev always had a band with them. And the}^ thus 
made a great excitement. There were, how^ever, 
a few persons here who could perform on a violin 
(then called a fiddle), and some could use a flute. 
The singing of epic songs was not uncommon. A 
love affair was mostly an element in them. The 
charms of these often tempted the young Friends to 
break away from the ascetic decorum of their seniors. 



I 

ANECDOTES AND MISCELLANIES. 1<>7 

In 1S41 and ^42, an impulse was j^^-ivcn to hotli 
vocal and instrumental music. Some time in I In- 
former year, a Mr. Kverelt came to Salem and krpt 
a sinj^in<j;"-sch()()l. This v-reated much interest in 
vocal music, and that bv instruments «jfot so muidi 
attention that a hand was orjj^anized, and an instrm- 
tor en«j^aj;^od, some time in the next year.* 

In the Baptist, Methodist and Presbyterian 
churches there was sinj^inj;: without any instrumen- 
tal accompaniment. The tunes were very simple, 
and the meter was always announced. There was a 
leader who was called a ''clerk. " The attendant on 
a bricklayer or mason was sometimes known as a 
''clerk/' Hut such a ])erversion of language is an 
insult to the memory of Noah Webster and all 
standard authors in our lang-ua^e. Why have not 
our people improved their vocabulary by adoptinj^r 
the Scottish word "precentor?'' meaninj^ the leader 
of concj^rej^ational sin^in^r. 

In church service the leader read two lines or a 
whole stanza of a hymn, and then led the cont^re^^a- 
tion in sint^'-ing- them. Note books were scarce then 
and seldom seen in the churches. 

In the Baptist church Aaron Hise was leader (pre- 
centor) many years. In the Presbyterian church, 
John Campbell and Josiah Bowman were jirominent 
in this part of the service. In those days the hymns 
used were in Comm<m, Proper, Short and Lou}^ 
meter, and the tunes were so simple as to be easily 
learned. In modern times there has been so much 
speculation in new hymns, new meters, and new 
tunes, that the note book becomes a necessity in this 
part of church service. Good singing masters are 

■>8ee psge 182. 



198 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

more needed now than the encouragement that they 
get. 

It wavS some time in the sixties that organs were 
first used in the churches. Small parlor instruments 
were first adopted. The Presbyterian church was 
the first to have a pipe organ. The use of these 
instruments encountered great opposition when they 
were first introduced. This opposition has been 
much lessened by the demise of the older members 
and the progressive ideas of the younger ones. 

An Immigrant's Experience. — The following 
account of first impressions of Salem has been fur- 
nished by a son of him who is the subject of the 
narrative: 

" Dr. John Harris was born in Adams county, Pa., 
in the year 1808. When about twenty-one years of 
age, he started west on horseback, without any defi- 
nite idea as to where he would locate. In approach- 
ing the then small hamlet of Salem, on what is now 
Lincoln Avenue, he was so struck with the beauty 
of the surroundings that he resolved at once to make 
it his future home. After being here a short time, 
he rode back to his old home in Penns34vania, and 
prevailed on his father to come to Salem with his 
family." 

' ' The moving was done in wagons, and the family 
settled on a farm, about two miles south-west of 
Salem. John Harris then went into the office of Dr. 
B. Stanton to study medicine. After completing his 
counse of study, he opened his own office, and for 
years he and Dr. Stanton were the principal physi- 
cians in this neighborhood. After a number of 
years of extensive practice, finding that close appli- 
cation and loss of rest at night was injuring his 



ANECDOTEvS AND MISCELLANIES. 199 

health, he ^'"ave up the practice of incdiciiu' and 
studied Dentistry." 

"After a course at a Philadelphia dental colle^^^e, 
he practiced this profession in Salem for a number 
of years. He was one of the first in this business 
in this place. In 18.^5, he married Mary Trescott, 
dauj^rhter of Samuel C. Trescott. He died in 1S79, 
aj^^ed seventy-one years. 

"Dr. Harris was always a progressive and puMii- 
spirited citizen. He was for several 3'ears mayor of 
the village, was on the school board for a long time, 
was one of the school examiners, and was interested 
in the publication of one of the earlier newspapers 
of the town. He was an aggressive anti-slavery 
and temperance man. And he was frequently called 
upon to act as chairman at meetings in the interest 
of these causes. " 




CHAPTER XXIII. 

CEMETERIES. 

URING man}^ of the past centuries all civ- 
ized people have held the custom of hav- 
^ ing a place for burial of the dead in 

close proximity to their places of worship. All 
Christian people respect this custom. The early set- 
tlers of Salem entertained this idea. The Friends, 
being the first to build a house for worship, set off a 
small lot for this purpose. This ground ceased to be 
used for burial purposes in 1817 or 1818. It was 
small, and, by this time, found to be nearly full, and 
moreover, in the center of the town. Wherefore a 
lot on Depot street was purchased of John Straughan. 
This was used by the Friends. After the division it 
was used by both parties, and, so many others, that 
it became almost a "Potter's field." About 1890 
the front part of it was sold for building lots. All 
corpses in this part were then exhumed, and rein- 
terred elsewhere. Some were placed in the rear 
part. 

The old burj'ing ground was sold to J. T. Brooks, 
and, on it, the'Gurney block and vSome adjacent build- 
ings were erected. In digging for cellars and foun- 
dations for these, human remains were discov- 
ered, which were carefully gathered and reinterred 
in another place. A good fence has been built around 
the graveyard on Depot street, and it is now used 
exclusively by the Friends. 

Two lots on Depot street were deeded to the trus- 
tees of the Baptist church for a house of worship 



CEMKTKKIKS. 201 

and for burial purposes. Tliis place* is now filled 
with o^raves, and is no lon*^er used for interments. 
In this place some of the pioneer members of that 
church, and some of the MethcKlists, were buried. 
This ground has been much ne«rlected durinj^j late 
years. 

About the year IcS^O, a plot of j^^round containin;^ 
al)out an acre and a half was bouj^ht by the Metho- 
dists for a place of burial. It was situated on How- 
ard street. This was used by tliLMu during several 
years. Althcnigh many interments were there made, 
prejudice against it arose, and Hope Cemetery 
became more popular. Wherefore it went into dis- 
use, and was sold. Persons having friends or rela- 
tions buried there were requested to have them 
removed to some other place. Not all have been thus 
removed, and the lot has, therefore, became a wild 
and neglected place. 

In 1833 the Presbyterian society bought a trian- 
irular lot on the west side of the Canfield road. 
There some of the prominent members of that 
church were buried. But after some years it became 
a part of Hope Cemetery. 

"The Salem Cemetery was laid out December 6, 
1853, and contained about two and a half acres. 
August 3, 1864, five acres were purchased, at a cost 
of S275 per acre, and were also laid out into lots. 
With the exception of the Presbyterian cemetery, 
the grounds were owned by Jacob Heaton, by whom 
they have been divided into lots. The last purchased 
was on the north side of the Salem and Presbyterian 
grounds, and is called "Hope Cemetery.'"" 

This cemetery has not been intended for any party 

^Colamblaon County History. 



202 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

or denomination. And it has become the principal 
place of interment for the city and vicinity. More 
than a thousand have there been buried. Hence it 
is now in reality a city of the dead. Some handsome 
monuments are there to be seen, and there are nice 
walks and drive-ways among the graves. Many of 
these are kept in a nice condition and are beset with 
shrubbery appropriate for them. The graves of 
some of those who fell in defense of the Union have 
here got their deserved attention. There is a Sol- 
diers' monument at the entrance; there is a family 
vault, and a pile to the memory of Kdwin Coppock, 
who was executed for being in John Brown's raid at 
Harper's Ferry. Besides these there are many 
tombstones that might be regarded as emblems of 
family pride, as well as genuine affection for dear 
friends or near relations. A person with the genius 
of Hervey might here find some matter for ' ' Medi- 
tations Among the Tombs. ' ' 



CHAPTER XXIV. 

MILITARY RKC(^RI). 

I ♦ /NTIL the war aj^^ainst the rebellion, Salem 
Vj and vicinity had hut little military spirit. It 
is true that there was a time when military train- 
ings were here every year held, and all male persons 
between the ages of eighteen and forty-five were 
required to attend these trainings or pay a fine. 
The Quaker element prevailed here; and this denom- 
ination on Christian principles opposed war. (joods 
or some articles of value were sometimes taken from 
them in payment of fines. The collection of these 
fines was always deemed a disreputable business. 
When the laws that exacted them were repealed, 
military trainings ceased. But there was enough 
military spirit for national defense, as was mani- 
fested in the time of the rebellion. 

The Mexican war was here especially opposed. 
Very few, if any persons in this county enlisted in 
it. It was deemed a war for the extension of sla- 
very, and the Abolition excitement was then rampant 
here. The annexation of Texas was here strongly 
opposed; and the war that it caused was just about 
as much opposed. But when the attack on Fort 
Sumpter was made, the people quickly saw that a 
war for the dissolution of the Union was being com- 
menced, and that the object was to give slaveholders 
a chance to continue holding human beings in bond- 
age; then it was that military spirit was infused 
into the people and activity called out. 

Manv who had conscientious scruples about bear- 



204 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

inof arms now eaoferly enlisted. It was deemed a 
war that would free the slaves as well as preserve 
the Union. It was declared that this war would 
make Abolitionists faster than Wm. Lloyd Garrison, 
Wendell Phillips, Abb}^ Kelh^ Foster and the whole 
host of anti-slavery orators, and agitators. 

"The county of Columbiana furnished for the 
war of the Rebellion her full proportion of soldiers, 
and the record of their behavior in all emergencies 
of the unfortunate civil contest is most honorable. 
A full, detailed description of the movements of the 
several regiments containing men from Columbiana 
can not be given, and would be undesirable in these 
pages." 

' 'During the rebellion the township of Perry, includ- 
ing subscriptions made by citizens, paid in bounties 
the sum of $11,895 under the calls of 1863 and 1864. 
Thirty men being the quota for the last call, the 
township paid for each recruit $100, which amount 
the subscription increased to about $170. "* 

Salem and its immediate vicinity furnished for this 
war as many soldiers as any other place having the 
same population and territory. The following named 
individuals enlisted from Salem and the immediate 
neighborhood. The service that the}^ rendered is 
also given. Such companies and regiments only are 
here mentioned as got enlistments from this neigh- 
borhood. Of course there were others in these com- 
panies and regiments, but they were from other 
places. Where no mention of rank is given the indi- 
vidual is supposed to have been a private. 

*Columbiana Countj' History. 



ELEVENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEERS. 205 

ELEVENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOI.UNTEEK INI-ANTKV. 

Company C. 

Capt. Og-den Street; enl. Jul}^ 1, 18f)l; pro. to lieut-col. Sept 

17, 1862; to col. Oct. 26, 1863; must, out with ro^n. 
Capt. Emmor H. Price, enl. Sept. 17, 1862; pro. to 1st lieut 

July 7, 1861; must, out June 21, 1864. 
1st Lieut. Martin L. Edwards, enl. Nov. 20, 1862; acting cai>t 

from Oct. 31, 1863; must, out with the regt. 
2d Lieut. H. M. Wilson, enl. July, 1, 1861; res. Nov, 1, 18(>1 
2d Lieut. Wm. Crumbaug-h, enl. Dec. 26, 1861; res. Sept. 21 

1862. 
2d Lieut. Samuel A. Collins, pro. from 1st serg-t. Co. E. Sept 

16, 1863; discli. for disability. 
1st Serg-t. Louis Gibbs, enl.^Nov. 1, 1863; must, out June 21 

1864. 
1st Serg-t. Alvin C. Unkefer, enl. Feb. 1, 1862; must. June 21 

1864. 
1st Serg-t. Jeremiah D. Hillis, enl. Sept. 1, 1862; must, out 

June 21, 1864. 
Corp. Wm. Tritt, must, out June 21, 1864 
Corp. John W. Pennock, must, out June 21. 1864. 
Corp. Philip Rogers, must, out June 21, 1864. 
Corp. C. Manary, must, out June 21, 1864. 
John Atkins, Perry tp. ; must, out June 21, 1864. 
George Anderson, Perry tp. 
William Brosius, Perry tp. 

Louis Boone, died of disease, at Louisville, Ky., Apr. 19, 1864. 
Henry Brown, died of disease, at Gallipolis, O., Aug-. 9, 1861. 
David L. Brosius, died of disease in Tennessee, Aug-. 8, 1863. 
Wm. H. Bowman, must, out June 21, 1864. 
Wm. C. Brown, must, out June 21, 1864. 
Joseph L. Becker, must, out June 21, 1864. 
Henry B. Burns, must, out June 21, 1864. 
Benjamin F. Cole, must, out June 21, 1864. 
Peter Caskey, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Oliver Crissinger, pro. to regt. q.-m. ; must out Juno 21, 18(>4. 
Reason Caskey, must, out June 21, 1864. 
Isaac T. Criss, must, out June, 1864. 
Jesse W. Davis, must, out June 21, 1864. 



206 HISTORY OF SAIvEM. 

Alfred Eldrig-e, must, out June 21, 1864. 

S. Callahan, died of disease at Louisville, Feb. 12, 1864. 

Alonzo T. Carver, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Benjamin Eldridge, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Fred. Eberhardt, must, out June 21, 1864. 

John Ferg-uson. 

Daniel Flitcraft. 

Isaac Flicking-er must, out June 21, 1864. 

Frank Fox, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Nathan W. Bates, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Aaron Hinshilwood, must, out June 21, 1864. 

James A. Hay, disch. for disability, Nov. 18, 1862. 

Joseph Hay. 

Georg-e Haj, sick in hospital,; not must, out with company. 

Georg-e W. Johnson, must, out June 21, 1864. 

John Johnson, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Wm. Zimmerman, disch. for wounds, Nov. 24, 1862. 

John Zimmerman, must out June 21, 1864. 

Benjamin S. Kirk, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Jacob Kring-, disch. for disabiliry, Dec. 31, 1863. 

John R. Osborn, must, out June 21, 1864. 

James O'Connor, wag-oner; must, out June 21, 1864. 

Robert Pool, must. out. June 21, 1864. 

Samuel Pool, must, out June 21, 1864. 

John C. Ray, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Daniel Sharpnack, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Levi W. Strahley, must, out July 21, 1864. 

Leonard B. Shaw, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Samuel Siples, pro. to corp.; must, out June 21, 1864. 

Wm. A. Tucker, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Wm. White, must, out June 21, 1864. 

David P. White, must. outJ une 21, 1864. 

Wm. C. Webster, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Felix Wortless, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Benjamin Wilkins, must, out June 21, 1864. 

Oliver Crissing-er, pro. to reg-t. quartermaster; must, out 

June 21, 1864. 
Sabastian Callahan, died of disease at Louisville, Ky., Feb. 

12, 1864. 
James Ferguson. 



NINETEENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOL,UNTEERS. 207 

John Johnson, died of disease in Virg-inia, Nov. 20, 1862. 
Wm. Zimmerman, dis. for wounds, Nov. 24, 1862. 
Hampton Mentzer, dis. by order, Dec. 29, 1863. 
Georg-e A. Strau^han, trans, to Invalid corps, Feb. 15, 1864. 
John Sinning-s, died of disease at Gallipolis, Nov. 8, 1861. 

THIRTEENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

1st Lieut. Joseph T. Snider, enl. June 10, 1861; pro. to capt. 
March 12, 1862; to maj. Jan. 1, 1863; wounded in the 
battle of Carnifax Ferry, Va., Sept. 10, 1861, and in the 
battle of Chickamaug-a, Sept, 9, 1863; must, out Dec. 5, 
1865, with the regt. at San Antonio, Tex. 

NINETEENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

Company A {Canton Guards). 

3d Serg-t. Thomas J. Walton. 
William Meldrum. 

These were both printers, and were the first persons in the 
county to enlist. 

Field and Staff Officers of this Regiment from Salem. 

Capt. Thomas Stackpole, Co. D; enl. Sept. 10, 1861; res. 

Dec. 8, 1862. 
Capt. Peter A. Laubie, Co. H; 1st lieu't. Co. D, Sept 10, 1861; 

pro. to capt. of Co. H Jan. 1, 1862; must, out Feb. 13, 

1865. 
1st Lieut. Thos. J. Walton, Co. D; pro. to capt. Feb. 6, 1862; 

2d lieut. Sept 10, 1861; ap. quartermaster Apr. 14, 1863; 

must, out Feb. 13, 1865. 

Coitipany H {Salem Guards). 

Capt. H. K. Preston, enl. May 22, 1861. 

1st Lieut. Alex. Stillwell, enl. May 22, 1861; pro. to capt. 
May 29, 1861. 

2d Lieut. J. A. Campbell, enl. May 22, 1861. 

Privates. — Edw. W. Smith, Wm. N. Sharpnack, Wm. Myers, 
Wm. H. Aldtoerfer, Hezekiah Adams, Wm. Arnold, 
Robt. Adams, Benj. M. Barton, Benj. Bolin, Aaron 
Beltz, Daniel Brown, James R. Broohart, John Beel, 
Nathan G. Caskey, Hugh M. Cugh, R. Cope, Henry 
Carter, G. W. Crump, Alonzo G. Carver, M. C. Callahan, 



208 HISTORY OP SALEM. 

Chas. F. Callahan, Joseph H. Carter, Nathan J. Davis, 
Mark Dear}^ Lewis J. English, M. F. Fisher, Peter 
Fries, B. R. Fawcett, G. W. Fawcett, Aug-. Fink, Isaac 
Garwood, I. Graham, W. T. Hewitt, J. B. Handlon, W. 
H. J. Hilliard, Daniel Hiltabiddle, Henry B. Hermance, 
Georg-e Jackson, Samuel S. Kemble, J. C. Kemble, H. 
Kelly, John Knepper, James M'Kituck, C. C. M'Cain, 
John D. Matthews, Thomas Marlow, Thomas Mercer, 
Thomas Morg-an, Geo. Mock, Charles Newberry, John 
Parrish, John H. Rook, D. E. Roach, A. F. Royer, A. 
M. Richardson, Joseph Rhodes, A. J. Sampson, Jacob 
Shoe, J. Suesher, Martin Steves, Edward W. Smith, 
Wm. N. Sharpnack, Henry Sultner, S. B. Shaw, Wilmer 
Sinclair, Albert Steadman, David G. Siple, M. R. Sey- 
forth, A. H. Tullis, S. C. Tullis, T. J. Temple, Jacob B. 
Templin, Thomas N. Way, John N. Wilson, Daniel 
Wilson, Henry C. Wisner. 

Company D. 

Joseph W. Thompson, band; must, out by order, Sept. 4, 1862. 
Frank H. Bentley, band; must, out b}' order, Sept. 4, 1862. 
Walter G. Bentley, band; must, out by order, Sept. 4, 1862. 
John Bailey, dis. for disability, Aug-. 8, 1862. 
Samuel A. Moore, killed in Georg-ia, Sept. 14, 1863. 
Jacob Roberts, pro. to corp. ; must, out Oct. 24, 1865. 
Wm. H. Umstead, pro. to corp. ; must, out Oct. 24, 1865. 

THIKTY-SECOND REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

Company A. 

Corp. Avilla B. Pidg-eon, must, out July 20, 1865. 

Samuel G. Barth, Oliver Hart, Valentine Kerper, Wm. Mil- 
ler, James Rutledge, Edward F. Rukenbrod; must, out 
July 20, 1865. 

SIXTY-FIFTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

1st Lieut. David G. Swaim, enl. Oct. 4, 1861; entered as 2d 
licut. ; pro. to 1st lieut.; appointed adj. Feb. 11, 1862; 
pro. to capt. and A. A. G. volunteers. May 16, 1862; 
Maj. A. A. G. volunteers, March 28, 1865; must, out 
Sept. 16, 1865; appointed Judg-e Advocate U. S. A., Dec. 
'J, 1869. 



104th regiment OHIO VOLUNTEERS. 209 

1st Lieut. Robinson Rook, enl. Apr, 5, 1863; pro. from serg-t. 

to 2d lieut., April 14, 18()2; res. Dec. 11, 1863. 
Serg-t. Thomas T. Hale. 
Corp. James D. Beaumont. 

EIGHTY- FOUKTH KKCIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEEK INFANTRY. 

Company G. 

Mustered in for three month's service, from June 10, 1862, to 

Sept. 20, inclusive. 
2d Lieut. Alex. Stillwell, pro. to 1st lieut. and adjt. ; died of 

disease, Aug-. 18, 1862. 
Serg-ts. Alvin S. Galbreath and Norman B. Garrig-ues. 
Corps. John R. Dobbins, Guy Lybrand, John R. Oliphant, 

William R. Buck. 
Jacob Barber, Howell S. Bishop, Charles F. Callahan, John 

H. Gibbs, Frank S. Hilliard, Thomas Lannen, John 

Moore, Daniel W. Ritchie, Horace T. Smith, John 

Strawn, Martin Wisner, James Woodruff. 

EIGHTY-SIXTH KEGIMENT OHIO VOLUTNEER INFANTRY. 

Company G. 

Mustered in for three months, from June 10, 1862, to Sept. 

25, inclusive. 
Benj. S. Young-, Charles C. Craven, Samuel L Chisholm, 

Wm. H. Jenning-s, Levi W. Jenning-s. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEERS. 

Company B. 

Stanley D. Hummason, appointed serg-t-major; pro. to 2d lieut., 
June 1, 1863; to 1st lieut., Aug-. 19, 1864; must, out with 
the reg-t. 

Cicero Hawley, pro. to corp. Sept. 1, 1862; to serg-t. Sept. 7, 
1864. 

Thomas R. Adams, must, out June 17, 1865. 

John F. Heacock, must, out June 17, 1865. 

(ieorge Ritchie, must, out June 17, 1865. 

Joseph G. Stewart, must, out June 17, 1865. 

Georg-e W. Schoolej', must, out June 17, 1865. 

(ieorg-e W. Stratton, must, out June 17, 1865. 



210 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Compajiy G. 

Capt. Ezra Coppock, enl. Aug-. 16, 1862; res. May 20, 1863 for 

disabiliiy. 
1st Lieut. John W. Fawcett, enl. Aug-. 23, 1862; pro. to capt. 

Aug-. 10, 1863; must out with the reg-t. 
2d Lieut. Simon Somers, enl. July 18, 1862; res. Jan. 31, 1863,. 

for disability. 
1st Serg-t. Stanton Weaver, pro. to 2d lieut Jan. 31, 1863; to 

1st lieut. June 1, 1863; app. capt. in U. S. C. L 
2d Serg-t. Henry C. Wisner, died at Wilming-ton, N. C, Mar. 

22, 1865. 
5th Serg-t. Wickliffe B. Elton. 
2d Corp. Eli J. Hall, pro. to serg-t June 1, 1863. 
3d Corp. David G. Yeng-ling-, made bug-ler Aug-. 15. 1863. 
4th Corp. Thom. J. Cook, pro. to serg-t. Aug- 16, 1863. 
6th Corp. Allen A. Thomas, pro. to serg-t.; must, out June 

17, 1865, witht the reg-t. 
7th Corp. John R. Stratton, pro. to serg-t.; must, out June 17» 

1865, with the reg-t. 
8th Corp. John Donaldson, died of Wounds in Georg-ia, July 

21, 1864. 
Jos. Ang-lemyer, died of disease in Kentucky, May 8, 1863. 
Harmon Beck, must, out June 15, 1865, with regt. 
Seth G. Big-elow, must, out June 15, 1865, with reg-t. 
Wm. G. Bentley, must, out June 15, 1865, with regt. 
John W. Blythe, must, out June 15, 1865, with reg-t. 
Napoleon Boucher, must, out June 15, 1865, with reg-t. 
Manuel Barth, must, out June 15, 1865. 
William Dixon, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
William W. Dubbs, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
Joseph Eldridge, must, out June 17, 1865. with regt. 
Peter Frason, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
John W. Griffith, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
John W, Hensworth, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
Charles L. Heaton, must out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
Thomas J. Heaton, must out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
Lewis H. Kirkbride, must out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
Eli S. Kentner, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
Joshua Moore, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
John D. Matthews, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 



115th regiment OHIO VOLUNTEERS. 211 

Monroe B. Matthews, must, out June 17. 1865, with rcg^t. 
Johnson Marshall, must out June 17, 1865, with reg^t. 
Joseph W. Mather, must, out June 17, 18(»5, with reg-t. 
David H. Pickett, must, out June 17, 1865, with reg-t. 
James C. Post, mast, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
Joseph L. Post, must, gut June 17, 1865, with reg"t. 
David G. Siplo, must, out June 17, 1865, with reg-t. 
Francis A. Sharpnack, must, out June 17, 1865, with reg-t. 
Joseph E. Young-, must, out June 17, 1865, with reg-t. 
David F. Yeng^ling, must, out June 17, 1865, with regt. 
David C. Boutwell, died of disease at Greensboro', N. C, May 

30, 1865. 
Leman H. Cruzen, died of disease in Kentucky. 
Robt. A. Christie, died in Tennessee of disease, July 11, '63. 
Theoph. Cook, died at Frankfort, Ky., Dec. 26, 1863. 
Frank Charleson, trans, to 183d Regt. O. Vol. Inf. 
Wm. H. Davis, died of disease in N. C, April 4th, 1865. 
Horace A. Fawcett, trans, to 183d Regt. O. Vol. Inf. 
Joseph Garwood, disch. May 12, 1865, by order. 
Joseph C. Gangwer, trans, to Vet. Res. Corps, Ma}- 15, '64. 
Abram Greenawalt, wounded in left arm, Aug. 6, 1864. 
Andrew Gailey, disch. for wounds, May 17, 1865. 
Aaron Haifly, disch. for disability, Dec. 19, 1863. 
Alex. Lowry, lost a leg in fight at Fort Mitchell, Sept. 11. 

1862. 
Alex. Niblo, pro. to corp. Jan. 31, 1863; must, out with regt. 
Wilmer W. Russell, on duty at Camp Nelson, Ky. ; not must. 

out. 
Wm. H. Shons, died of disease in Ky., April 5, 1863. 
Wm. D. Turner, wounded Nov. 30, 1864, at Franklin, Tenn. 

must, out with regt. 
Jeremiah L. Woodworth, died at Danville, Ky., Jan. 14, 1863. 
Darwin Weaver, disch for disability, Dec. 15, 1863. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEENTH OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

Original strength, 972; strength at mustering out, 696. Left 
the State Nov. 1862. Mustered out at Murfresboro', Tenn. 
Paid off at Camp Cleveland. 

Field and Staff Officer. 

Col. Thomas C. Boone, enl. Aug. 15, 1863; must, out with the 
regt. as col. July 20, 1864. 



212 HISTORY OF SALEM, 

Company H. 

1st Lieut. Simon Somers, enL Aug. 14, 1862; res. March, '64. 

Corp. Caleb M. Taylor, pro. to serg-t. ; must, out June 22, '65. 

Corp. Alfred White, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Lloyd D. Cadwallader, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Oliver Limebach, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Daniel Sharpnack, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Christian Shabe, must, out June 22r 1865. 

Edward M. Steele, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Elias Steele, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Charles Tatum, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Francis W. Webster, must, out June 22, 1865. 

Company K. 

Capt. J. Newton Campbell, enl. March 22, 1863; pro. from 
2d lieut. to capt. ; must, out with regt. 

ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHTEENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER 

INFANTRY. 

Company E. 

2d Lieut. Joel C. Lloyd, enl. Oct. 12, 1864; pro. from sergt. 
to 1st lieut., Feb. 1, 1865; must, out with regt. 

Company D {From Perry Township^. 

Only a few particulars about these are known. 

Capt. George W. Gibbs. 

1st Lieut. Jesse H. Lemon. 

2d Lieut. Jonathan R. Oliphant. 

1st Sergt. John P. Shannon. 

Sergts. David Kirkbride, John L. Baxter, George Boone, 
James Nease. 

Corps. Morris Heacock, Charles Boone, Thomas J. Iseman, 
John H. Kaiser, George A. Gordon, George W. Phillips, 
William Howell, Granville Watson. 

Musicians Victor Bean, George W. Ashball. 

Wagoner Yerger Winter. 

Privates. — Sines J. Anthony, Moses P. Adams, Jesse L. 
Bowel, Samuel Bard, James H. Bard, James M. Baxter, 
David B. Burford, George L. Brooks, Wra. D. Cassel- 
berry, Jesse Cook, Samuel I. Chisholm, John H. Cowan, 



6th regiment OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVALRY. 213 

William Da}^ John Dubois, Lewellyn Ingledue, Samuel 
Fawcett, Horace W. Fawcett, John W. Grimmcsey, Geo. 
L. Gilmore, William H. Hyatt, James Harris, Charles 
Harris, John Harwood, Samuel Houts, William C. Hains, 
Jerry Hall, Wm. C. Jones, John Kirkbride, Frank Keen 
(died of disease in Hampton hospital, Aug-. 18, 1864), 
Robert C. Knox, James P. Hoover, Fielder M'Clurjr, 
Charles Matthews, Orlando A. Newton, Reuben Probert, 
Henry Prince, Frank Quinn, Thomas Reed, William A. 
Reitzell, Edwin A. Reeps, Samuel W. Scatterg-ood, James 
A. Schoff, Patrick Scullion, Wm. C. Speaker, Daniel J.. 
Strawn, John W. Stratton, Kenner B. Sharpnack, Henry 
W. Thullen, Willis Weaver, Joshua Woodworth, Daniel 
Wharton, Wm. J. Whinnery, Martin Wickersham, Benj. 
S. Way, John Yeng-ling-, Arthur Yengling-. 

SECOND REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVALRY. 

Company E. 

1st Lieut. Bayliss R. Fawcett, enl. Sept. 9, 1861; pro. to 
capt. Dec. 20, 1861; res. May 16, 1862. 

3d Lieut. Charles C. M'Cain, enl. Aug. 11, 1865; must, out 
with the regt. 

Richard Beard, dis. by order, June 26, 1865. 

Thomas J. Hinshilwood, sick in hospital; not must, out with 
the company. 

The following named persons of this company were mustered 
out Sept. 11, 1865: Corp. Augustus H. Harris, Corp. 
William Arnold, Lewis Campbell, Theodore Campbell, 
Osman P. Morse, William H. Pidgeon, Henrj- Phillips, 
James Robbins, John Robinson, Alcinus Sn3'der, Lewis 
Snyder, David S. Trescott, Lane Trescott, Herr N. 
Tullis, J. M. Woodruff, George A. Wilkins, Hugh Wat- 
son. 

SIXTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVALRY. 
Compatiy C. 

Capt. John H. Cryer, enl. Oct. 7, 1861; pro. to maj. Aug. 3, 

1863. 
Capt. James H. Leeman, enl. Aug. 3, 1863; pro. to 1st lieut. 

Dec. 10, 1864. 



214 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Capt. Matthew H. Cryer, enl. Nov. 12, 1864; pro. to maj. 

April 3, 1865; res. June 3, 1865. 
1st Lieut. John L. Miller, enl. April 12, 1864; pro. to capt. 

of Co. I, July 25, 1864. 
Dewayne Suydam, pro. to 1st serg-t. ; to 2d lieut., May 31, 

1865. 
Serg-t. Charles C. M'Cain, trans, to 2d O. V. Cavalry, March 

1, 1863. 
Serg-t. Philo Huxley, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 
Serg-t. David S. Trescott, trans, to 2d O. V. Cavalry, March 

1, 1862. 
Bug-ler Hugh Watson, trans, to 2d O. V. Cavalry, March 1, 

1862. 
Sergt. Charles C. Baker, pro. to 1st lieut., Aug-. 29, 1863. 
Corp. Hebron H. Dilley, sick in hospital; no discharge given. 
Corp. John W. Donaldson, dis. by special order, April 16, 

1865. 
Corp. William Heacock, died a prisoner at Richmond, Va. 
Corp. Joseph A. Davis, dis. by order, June 5, 1865. 
Corp. George W. Perrine, dis. by order, June 5, 1865. 
Corp. Osman P. Morse, trans, to 2d O. V. Cavalry, March 1, 

1862. 
Bugler William Porter, dis. by order, June 5, 1865. 
Farrier Nicholas Selkirk, dis. for disability, Sept. 18, 1S62. 
Farrier George Caruthers, dis. for disability, April 18, 1862. 
Saddler Joseph Young, dis. at the end of service. 
Wagoner John M. Moore, dis. at the end of service. 
John Aldtaffer, dis. by order, June 5, 1865. 
William Aldtaffer, dis. by order, June 5, 1865, 
Calvin Burnett, dis. by order, June 5, 1865. 
George Beaumont, died of disease at home, Jan. 28, 1865. 
Howell S. Bishop, dis. for disability, March 20, 1862. 
Albert Bull, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 
Lovcrn L. Cook, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 
Albert E. Carriher, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 
Lewis D. Coy, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 
Harry Dunn, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 
Samuel W. Gibbons, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 
Charles A. Jobes, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 
A. A. Knowles, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 



6th regiment OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVALRY. 215 

Charles Keeler, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

Alpheus Living-ston, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

Noah Montg-omery, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

Allen Miller, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

Georg-e W. Spencer, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

John O'Brien, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

Seth C. Tullis, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

Aaron Williams, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

William J. Whitehead, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 

William H. Boone, dis. by order, June 5, 1865. 

Joel Boswell, dis. at the end of service. 

Frederick Carriher, killed in action at Mine Run, Nov. 27, 

•* 1863. 
Henry Carriher. 
John D. Callahan. 
Elijah Champlin, died a prisoner at Richmond, Va., Dec. 30, 

1863. 
Charles Colley, dis. at the end of service. 
Edward P. Campbell, must, out June 27, 1865. 
Milton H. Cowgill, died in hospital of disease, June 30, 1864. 
Hug-h Derrick, dis. by order, June 5, 1865. 
Levi Emmons, died of disease at City Point, Va., Nov. 20, 

1864. 
Jesse Emmons, died of disease at Fairfax C. H., Va., Nov. 

16, 1862. 
Isaac L. Emerson, killed in battle, Oct. 27, 1864. 
Emmor E. Entriken, dis. for disability, Dec. 12, 1862. 
William M. Hess, dis. for disability, May 4,. 1863. 
Ephraim J. Hayes. 
John M'Cartney. 

Edward Hug-hes, pro. to sergt., Feb. 6, 1863. 
Geo. W. Spencer, must, out Aug-. 7, 1865. 
Wm. H. Jenning-s, disch. for disability, Dec. 4, 1864. 
Wm. W. Kent, disch. for wounds, May 4, 1864. 
Moses M. Kelley, killed in action at Poolesville, Md., July 

24, 1864. 
Wm. I. Kelly, disch. at the end of service. 
Jackson Knowles, died in Salisbury prison, Feb. 8. 1865. 
Parmenas Laughlin, disch. for disability. 



216 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Augustus Lape, killed in battle, Nov. 13, 1862. 

John Bi Meek, disch. at the end of service. 

Henry M'Klhen}^ disch. by order, June 5th, 1865. 

Jesse Morris, died of disease, at Luray, Va., July 29, 1862. 

Benj. F. Morrill, died of disease, at Strasburg, Va., June 29, 
1862. 

Wm. R. Miller, disch. for disability, Sept. 15, 1862. 

Thomas Nelson, died in Andersonville prison, Aug. 25, 1864. 

Mark Nease, pro. to sergt. ; disch. b}" order, June 5, 1865. 

Hugh M. Packer, disch. by order, June 5, 1865. 

John Powers, paroled prisoner, disch. by order, Apr. 28, 1865. 

Hamilton Peyton, sick in hospital; not must, out with regt. 

James H. Porter. 

Joseph Pyle. 

Wm. W. Reed, sick in hospital at Washington; no disch. fur- 
nished. 

Wm. Ritter, disch. by order, June 21, 1865. 

Charles K. TuUis, disch. by order, June 5, 1865. 

Henry Smith, died in Salisbury prison, Dec. 17, 1864. 

Calvin H. Thomas, pro. to q.-mr-sergt., Feb. 6, 1865. 

Morris Tobin, disch. for wounds, Jan. 5, 1864. 

Charles Wickline, disch. by order, June 5, 1865. 

Wm. J. Wilson, died of disease, at Washington, Oct. 9, 1862. 

Jacob Wagner, pro. to sergt., April 18, 1865. 

John Young, disch. at the end of service. 

Aaron Williams, must, out Aug. 7, 1865. 

Company M. 

1st Lieut. Matthew H. Cryer, enl. Dec. 23, 1863; pro. to capt 

Co. C. 
1st Sergt. Jos. W. Davidson, must, out by order, June 22, '65. 
2d Sergt. Daniel E. Burwell, must, out by order, July 7, 1865. 
4th Sergt. James McCracken, must, out by order, July 5, '65. 
5th Sergt. Monroe Kirk, must, out by order, June 27, 1865. 
Corp. David Tate, must, out by order, June 27, 1865. 
Corp. Andrew Flick, must, out by order, July 6, 1865. 
Owen Everhart, must, out by order, Aug. 7, 1865. 
<ieorge W. Fisher, must, out by order, Aug. 7, 1865. 
John B. Galbraith, must, out by order, June 27th, 1865. 
Joseph Tobin, must, out by order, June 6, 1865. 



12th regiment OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVALRY. 217 

Jacob Thullin, must, out by order, June 27, 18()5. 
John Welch, must, out by order, June 27, 18()5. 
Hamilton K. Allison, died of disease, at Philadelphia, Sept. 
7, 18(>4. 

TENTH KEGIMKNT OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVALKY. 

1st Lieut, and Adjt. John C. Sheets, enl. Nov. 1, 1862; hon- 
orably disch, Feb. 5, 18f)4, to accept pro. in Vet. Res. 
Corps. 

Company H. 

Capt. Arthur G. Canedy. enl. Oct. 1862; resigned April 24, '64. 

TWELFTH KEGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER CAVALKY. 

Capt. Samuel D. Hawley, enl. Oct. 23, 1863; disch. March 20, 

1865, for absence without leave. 
1st Lieut. Henry C. Jones, enl. June 16, 1865; disch. Feb. 7, 

1866. 
2d Lieut. John C. Gratz, enl. Nov. 12, 1865; must, out with 

reg-t. as 1st sergt. 
Com. Serg-t. Martin Thomas, enl. Oct. 13, 1863; pro. from 1st 

sergt. Aug. 25, 1865; must, out with regt. 
Sergt Noah Baxter, enl. Sept. 4, 1863; pro. from corp. Dec. 

20, 1863; must, out with regt. 
Sergt Amos D. Eckstein, enl. Sept. 23, 1863; pro. from corp. 

May 4, 1864; must, out with regt. 
Sergt. George E. Burns, enl. Sept. 29, 1863; pro. from pri- 
vate July 23, 1865; must, out with regt. 
Sergt. Cassius Eckstein, enl. Sept. 29, 1863; pro. from corp. 

Aug. 26, 1865; must, out with regt. 
Corp. Joseph Banks, enl. Sept 10, 1863; pro. to corp. May 5, 

1864; must out with regt. 
Corp. Omar D. M'Artor, enl. Oct. 12, 1863; pro. to corp. Nov. 

26, 1864; must, out with regt. 
Corp. Joseph H. Loy, enl. Sept. 24, 1863; pro. to corp. June, 

1865; must, out with regt. 
Farrier John T. Louthan, enl. Oct. 3, 1863; must, out with 

regt. 
Farrier Wellingtotv Bopp, enl. Sept. 26, 1863; must, out with 

regt. 
\Vm, A. Badger, enl. Sept. 1, 1863; disch. at Camp Dennison, 

March 26, 1864. 



218 HISTORY OF SALEM".. 

Adam D. Arrison, enl. Sept. 19,. 1863; discH.. at CampDen- 

nison, March 26, 1864. 
Geo. W. Brown, enl. Sept. 22, 1863;^ must, out with reg-t. - 
Wm. H. Brown, enl. Sept. 17, 1863; must, out with regt. 
Thomas Cole, enl. Sept. 29, 1863; must, out with regt. 
Isaac Dalzell, enl. Sept. 26, 1863; must, out with reg-t. 
Isaac Davis, enl. Oct. 1, 1863; must, out with reg-t. 
John A. Dunlap. enl. Nov. 11, 1863; must, out with regU 
David Hestand, enl. Sept. 27, 1863; must, out with reg-t. 
Jesse M. Hartzell, enl. Sept. 23, 1863; must out with reg-t. 
Geo. L. Johnson, enl. Sept. 26, 1863; must, out with reg-t. 
Samuel H. Knowles, enl. Oct. 12, 1863; must out with reg-t. 
Samuel March, enl. Aug-. 31, 1863; must, out with reg-t. 
Mahlon Milner, enl. Sept. 18, 1863; must, out with regt. 
Levi Stoffer, enl. Oct. 12, 1863; must, out with regt. 
Nelson Todd, enl. Sept. 10, 1863; must, out with regt. 
James C. White, enl. Oct. 12, 1863; must out with regt. 
Thomas Crew, enl. Aug. 3, 1863; died at Camp Chase, Jan. 

8, 1864. 
Frederick G. Baker, enl Oct. 12, 1863. 
Charles Kgbert, enl. Oct. 3, 1863; on detached duty since 

Sept. 5, 1865. 
Peter Freis, enl. Sept. 30, 1863; drowned at Louisville, Ky., 

March 14, 1864. 
Justus Graham, enl. Oct. 3, 1863; disch. June 10, 1865. 
Lewis George, enl. Sept. 23, 1863; killed in action at Salt- 

ville, Va., Oct. 2, 1864. 
Geo. F. Hinshilwood, enl. Oct. 14, 1863; member regimental 

band. 
Franklin S. Hilliard, enl. Oct. 1, 1863; member regimental 

band. 
James Hughes, enl. Oct. 6, 1863; trans, to Com. K, Oct. 29, 

1863. 
Andrew Jewell, enl. Sept. 18, 1863. 
John W. Knowles, enl. Sept. 11, 1863; died at Dallas, N. C, 

April 30, 1865. 
George A. Louess, enl. Sept. 29, 1863. 
Wm. Little, enl. Aug. 29, 1863; dis. Aug. 29, 1865, at Camp 

Chase. 
Patrick Magee, enl. Sept. 1, 1863; dis. by order. 



1st regiment OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 319 

John F. Moore, enl. Sept. 24, 1863; dis. for disability, 
\ Hector M'Donald, enl. Sept. 11, 1863; killed in action at 

Saltville, Va., Oct. 2, 1864, 
William Milner, enL Oct. 3, 1863; dis. for disabilit}-, June 6, 

1865. 
Thomas J. Pim, enl, Sept. 10, 1863; dis. Oct. 24, 1864. 
Curtis R. Phillips, enl. Nov. 11. 1863; dis. for disability, July 

10, 181)5. 
Wm. C. Richey, enl. Oct. 5, 1863; died at Camp Chase, Mar. 

15, 1864. 
Miller Rook, enl. Sept. 1, 1863; dis. for disability, April 16, 

1864. 
Wm. H. Simpson, enl. Sept. 9, 1863; died Oct. 5, 1864, at Mt. 

Sterling-, K}-. 
Frank M. Smith, enl. Sept. 24, 1863; died Jan. 15, 1864, at 

Camp Chase. 

(John Strawn, enl. Sept. 24, 1863; dis. by order, June 25, 1865. 
^ Timothy J. Spencer, enl. Oct, 12, 1863; on detached duty at 
Knoxville. 
James Starkey, enl, Oct. 10, 1863; dis. May 11, 1864. 
Matthew Spicer, enl. Oct. 8, 1863; dis. Oct. 17, 1864. 
Henry Shocker, enl. Sept. 11, 1863; dis. Au^. 31, 1865. 
•Thomas Simpson, enl. Sept. 9, 1863; killed at Louisville, 
^ Ky., July 15, 1864. 

John TaLjloT, enl. Sept. 15, 1863; in hospital at Knoxville. 

John J. White, enl. Sept. 13, 1863. 

David Whinnery, enl. Sept. 8, 1863; dis. by order, June 10, 

1865. 
Reuben Wickersham, enl. Sept. 11, 1863; died at Camp Chase, 
1 Jan. 7, 1864. 

I Isaac D. Winters, enl. Oct. 12, 1863; dis. for disability. 
I Uriah Williams, enl. Oct. 12, 1863. 

FIRST REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

[ Company I. 

\ 1st Lieut. John A. Campbell, res. to accept promotion. 

t' 1st Serg-t. Alex. M. Richardson, died of disease at Nashville, 
Oct. 18, 1862. 
1st Serg-t. Geo. W. Fawcett, pro. to 1st serg-t., Aug. 1, 1864. 
Corp. John R. Lusher, must, out with company. 



220 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Henry M. Clayton, must, out with company. 

Joseph Heacock, must, out with company. 

Charles Heacock, must, out with company. 

Esau R. Johnson, must, out with company. 

Benjamin Tatem, must, out with company. 

Elisha Teetors, must, out with company. 

John M. White, must, out with company. 

Corp. Stephen W. Talcott, died of wounds received at Mission 
Ridg-e. 

Musician Wm. Lang-staff. 

Patrick Bonner, dis. by order, May 5, 1862. 

Geo. Iv. Brooks, dis. by order, Oct. 24, 1861. 

Joseph D. Fountain, must, out Jan. 26, 1865; he was a pris- 
oner. 

Wm. L. S. Johnson, died in Nashville, Tenn., Aug*. 4, 1864. 

Hubert Kelly, missing- at the battle of Chickamaug-a. 

Jesse H. Lemon, dis. by order, June 24, 1863. 

James H. M'Curdy, dis. by order, Oct. 21, 1861. 

Andrew B. Walsh, dis. by order, June 2, 1862. 

Thomas N. Way, must, out April 17, 1865; prisoner; escaped. 

FIRST REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEERS — HEAVY ARTILLERY. 

Company A. • 

Thomas E. Grice, must, out July 25, 1865. ^ 

William Moore, must, out July 25, 1865. 

Daniel Test, must, out July 25, 1865. 

Fred. Walker, absent without leave, Sept. 10, 1863. 

ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTIETH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER 

INFANTRY. 

Dr. Byron Stanton, app. surg-eon, Dec. 26, 1862; trans, to 
114th reg-t., Nov, 27, 1864; trans, to U. S. V. Medical 
Staff as assistant surg-eon, Feb. 9, 1865; brevet major, 
March 13, 1865; must, out Aug-. 22, 1865. 

Fremont's body guard. 

This was a body of cavalry selected from a host of applicants 
on account of intellig-ence, fine physique, and the apti- 
tude of its members for military service. Without 
question, it was one of the finest bodies of cavalry ever 




NORMAN B. GARRIGUES. 
One of Gen. Fremont's select Body-guard. 



MISSISSIPPI RIVER NAVY — GUNBOAT SERVICE. 221 

seen in the service of the United States, made up mainly 
from Ohio and Kentucky. 
Norman B. Garrigues, Alvin Galbraith and James Day were 
in this body. 

THIRD KANSAS REGIMENT VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

Stanton Weaver, dis. for wounds. 

TENTH REGIMENT KANSAS VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

1st Lieut, and Adjt. J. R. Hudson, pro. to asst. adjt. on 
General Blunt's Second Brigade of Kansas Volunteer 
Infantry. 

MISSISSIPPI RIVER NAVY — GUNBOAT SERVICE. 

George Pyle, John W. Street. 



CHAPTER XXV. 



NECROIvOGY OP SALEM CITIZENS. 



"^N the following list not all the names of persons 
,^ J who have been citizens of Salem and its vicinity 
are given, but these are some of the prominent 
ones. While there are doubtless many others, who 
deserve mention with these, the author must offer, 
for apology, lack of knowledge and the size to which 
this book, with them included, would be extended. 

Nan)e. 

Allen, Asa W. 
Allen, Jesse 

Allen, Sophia (Asa W.) 
Allison, Frank W. 
Allison, George W. 
Allison, Mahlon 
Ambler, Mary A. (Jacob) 
Ambler, Peter 
Antrim, Aaron 
Antrim, Benjamin 
Aptrim, John 
Arner, Caleb B. 
Arnold, Samtiel 
Astry, Jonas 
Atkinson, George 
Auhorn, Benjamin 

Baird, Abraham W> 

Baird, Rev. I. N. 

Baird, Sarah (Rev. I. N. ) 

Ball, Abraham, 

Ball, Joseph 

Ball, Nathan 



Nativity^ 


Died. 


Age 


A 






Connecticut 


April 8, 1885 


89 


Penn'a 


Jan. 31, 1863 


81 


Vermont 


July 2, 1886 


87 


Ohio 


July 30, 1898 


42 


Penn'a 


Apr. 23, 1880 


67 


Penn'a 


Jan. 4, 1871 


63 


Penn'a 


Aug. 6, 1898 


70 


Penn'a 


Nov. 21, 1886 


58 


New Jersey 


Nov. 13, 1874 


66 


New Jersey 


May 7, 1876 


74 


New Jersey 


July 22, 1849 


82 


Ohio 


Apr. 19, 1866 


49 


Penn'a 


June 9, 1898 


78 


Ohio 


Dec. 1, 1886 


77 


New Jersey 


Jan. 10, 1871 


75 


Virginia 


Mar. 23, 1891 


72 


B 








Aug. 16, 1861 


55 


Virginia 


July 7, 1893 


77 


Penn'a 


Nov. 30, 1870 


44 


Penn'a 


Apr. 26, 1881 


74 


New Jersey 


Mar. 7, 1877 


73 


Penn'a 


Apr. 26, 1842 


79 



NECROLOGY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 



223 



NarT)e. 


Nativity. 


Died. y 


f\gc. 


Barber, Abraham 


Penn'a 


Nov. 10, 1863 


74 


Barber, Benjamin 


Ohio 


May 8, 18')2 


47 


Barber Drusilla ( Abram) 


Penn'a 


Apr. 3, 1868 


75 


Barber, Isaac, Jr. 


Ohio 


Jan. 10, 1897 


75 


Barber, Israel 


Penn'a 


Dec. 30, 1890 


79 


Barber, Jacob 


Penn'a 


June 8, 1877 


81 


Barber, John 


Ohio 


May 17, 1891 


61 


Barber, Lydia (Israel; 


Penn'a 


Sept. 9, 1889 


71 


Barber, Mar}^ S. (Jacob) 


New Jersey 


Oct. 27, 1874 


69 


Bard, Ezekiel 


Penn'a 


Dec. 4, 1867 


76 


Bard, Samuel 


Penn'a 


Jan. 26, 1874 


58 


Bard, Sarah H. (Samuel) 


Ohio 


June 8, 1898 


86 


Bardsle}', John 


England 


May 20, 1879 


59 


Barnaby, James 


Penn'a 


Mar. 4, 1864 


45 


Barnes, Robert A. 


Maryland 


July 12, 1898 


65 


Barnhouse, Susan (Pusey) 


Ireland 


Nov. 6, 1889 


38 


Bates, Martin L. 


Ohio 


Mar. 16, 1897 


57 


Baum, John 


Penn'a 


July 20, 1862 


59 


Baum, Nancy (John) 




Jan. 16, 1874 


73 


Bauman, Jacob 




July 13, 1860 


60 


Beam, Jacob 




Nov. 26, 1839 


35 


Beam, Rebecca (Jacob) 




July 2, 1852 


55 


Beans, Israel 


Virg-inia 


May 10, 1888 


94 


Beans, Jane (Israel) 


Virg-inia 


Dec. 25, 1874 


80 


Beatty, Helen (Robert) 


Scotland 


June 20, 1886 


81 


Beaumont, Dr. John 


England 


Aug-ust, 1860 


48 


Beaumont, Henrietta (J. T. 


) Penn'a 


July, 1893 


74 


Beaumont, James T. 


Penn'a 


Dec. 6, 1893 


79 


Beaumont, Marg-. L. (Dr. J.) Scotland 


Jan. 29, l.>73 


64 


Bentley, Franklin H. 


Maryland 


Nov. 10, 1887 


74 


Bentley, Hannah G. (F. H.) Penn'a 


Oct. 8, 1893 


74 


Bishop, Howell S. 


Connecticut 


May 17, 1868 


49 


Bishop, Susan P. ( Howell S. ) Ohio 


Nov. 8, 1893 




Blackburn, Gen. \Ym. 


Penn'a 


May 7, 1858 


70 


Blackburn, John, Jr. 


Ohio 


Oct. 15. 1898 


56 


Blackburn, John, Sr. 


Penn'a 


June 26, 1886 


86 


Blackburn, J. Armstrong- 


Penn'a 


Jan. 17. 1866 


64 


Bonsall, Daniel 


Penn'a 


May 18, 1879 


76 


Bonsall, Edward, Sr. 


Penn'a 


Aug. 29, 1862 


86 



224 HISTORY OF SALEM. 

Nan)e. Nativity. Died. Age. 

Bonsall, Martha (Daniel) Ohio Aug. 8, 1841 36 

Bonsall, Rachel (Edward) New Jersey Sept. 29, 1864 77 

Bonsall, Thomas Virginia July 4, 1890 72 

Boone, Esther (Isaac) Penn'a Oct. 12, 1886 84 

Boone, Isaac Penn'a Nov. 27, 1886 90 

Boone, Hannah L. Penn'a July 17, 1890 60 

Boone, James Penn'a Feb. 14, 1868 42 

Boone, Joshua J. Penn'a Dec. 25, 1895 75 

Boone, J. Thomas Penn'a Apr. 16, 1862 46 

Boone, Maria T. Penn'a May 26, 1851 34 

Boone, Mary (T. Chalkley) Penn'a Mar. 1, 1885 58 

Boone, Rebecca Penn'a Apr. 12, 1860 73 

Boone, Richard Penn'a Oct. 16, 1893 76 

Boone, T. Chalkley Penn'a Dec. 20, 1893 70 

Bonsall, Daniel Penn'a May 18, 1879 76 

Bonsall, Edward, Sr. Penn'a Aug-. 29, 1862 86 

Bonsall, Martha (Daniel) Ohio Aug-. 8, 1841 36 

Bonsall,Rachel (Edward, Sr) New Jersey Sep. 29, 1864 77. 

Bonsall, Thomas Virg-inia July 14, 1890 72 

Boswell, Peter H. ^ New Jersey June 3, 1884 74 

Boulton, Daniel Penn'a Apr. 6, 1880 76 

Boulton, Esther (Daniel) New Jersey Sept. 16. 1880 81 

Bowker, Isaiah New Jersey May 6, 1845 78 

Boyle, Allan Scotland July 23, 1891 77 

Bradshaw, James Penn'a Feb. 19, 1802 71 

Brainerd, Calvin F. Ohio Mar. 29, 1886 62 

Brainerd, Sophia F. (Cal. F.) Ohio Nov. 1, 1874 68 

Brooks, Joseph J. Vermont Mar. 26, 1862 53 

Brooks, Judith F. (Jos. J.) Vermont Dec. 12, 1860 44 

Brooks, Roxa (Thomas) Vermont Aug-. 11, 1842 55 

Brown, David Ohio Dec. 28, 1889 78 

Burford, David B. England May 23, 1897 57 

Burns, Benjamin Penn'a May 9, 1842 42 

Burns, Georg-e - Penn'a Feb. 24, 1872 78 

Burns, Hug-h Penn'a Aug-. 23, 1852 79 

Burt, Mary Ann (John K.) Penn'a Nov. 8, 1898 65 

C 

Callahan, Eliza (John) Ohio Oct. 9. 1859 36 

Callahan, John Ohio Mar. 13, 1877 65 



NECROLOGY OP SALEM CITIZENS. 



225 



Naroe. 


Nativity. 


Died. 


Age 


Campbell, Eliza J. L. (R.Jr 


)Ohio 


Oct. 27, 1S07, 


46 


Campbell, James 


Ohio 


Nov. 10, 1887* 


68 


Campbell, John Esqr. 


Scotland 


Feb. 3, 1845 


48 


Campbell, Lucy A. (John) 


Maine 


Sept. 8, 1898 


66 


Campbell, Mary(Robert,Sr.) Scotland 


Feb. 19, 1875 


81 


Campbell, Presley S. 


Ohio 


July 30, 1860 


30 


Campbell, RacheU Wm. ) 




Oct. 15, 1872 


62 


Campbell, Robert, Sr. 


Scotland 


Sept. 29, 1861 


70 


Campbell, Susan (Angus) 


Ohio 


Nov. 11, 1896 


74 


Campbell, William 


Ohio 


Mar. 14, 1869 


57 


Cameron, Josiah 


Ohio 


Feb. 28, 1890 


85 


Carey, Dr. Abel 


Ohio 


Jan. 15, 1872 


62 


Carey, Maria (Dr. Abel) 


Penn'a 


June, 1885 


68 


Carlisle, James H. 


New Jerse3' 


Feb. 2, 1860 


37 


Carlisle, Lewis 


Ohio 


July 28, 1898 


49 


Carr, Mary B. 




Apr. 30, 1779 


71 


Cassel berry, B. W. 


Penn'a 


July 23, 1892 


66 


Casselberry, Esther (Jos.) 


Penn'a 


Feb. 1, 1887 


76 


Casselberr}', Joseph 


Penn'a 


Aug. 1894 


85 


Cattell, Enoch 


New Jersey 


May 22, 1815 


43 


Cattell, Jonas D. 


Ohio 


Apr. 1, 1895 


78 


Caufman, Joseph 


Penn'a 


Aug., 1894 


85 


Cessna, John 


Penn'a 


May 30, 1890 


87 


Chaney, William 


Penn'a 


Feb. 24, 1886 


84 


Chessman, Henry W. 


Ohio 


June 6, 1868 


33 


Chessman, Jane (Samuel) 


Penn'a 


Aug. 30, 1890 


76 


Chessman, Lavinia (H. W. 


) Ohio 


Mar. 18, 1862 


26 


Chessman, Mehitable 


NewEnglan 


d Sept. 26, 1857 


72 


Chisholm, Elsa (John) 


Ohio 


July 6, 1893 


76 


Chisholm, John P. 


Ohio 


June 20, 1882 


70 


Church, Catharine L. 


Penn'a 


July 28, 1872 


71 


Clark, Ann 


England 


Jan. 30. 1884 


81 


Clippinger, Emanuel 


Ohio 


Apr. 4, 1885 


72 


Clippinger, Nathan B. 


Ohio 


Mar. 20, 1877 


27 


Cobbs, Thomas W. 


Ohio 


Feb. 18, 1898 


80 


Coburn, Nathan 


Ohio 


Mar. 8, 1887 


65 


Coffee, Dr. Jonathan W. 


Virginia 


Aug., 1871, 


62 


Coffee, Dr. J. L. 


Ohio 


Sept. 29, 1894 


46 


Coffee, Mary 


Virginia 


Aug. 19, 1859 


80 



226 



HISTORY OF SALEM. 



Nan)c. 
Coffee, Priscilla (Dr. J.W.) 
Cole, Emily W. 
Conkle, Samuel 
Conn, Esther (Thomas) 
Conn, Samuel 
Conn, Thomas 
Cook, Albert 
Cook, Henry 
Cook, James H. 
Cook, Job, Sr. 
Cook, Job, Jr. 
Cook, Joseph 
Cook, Lois (Lovern B.) 
Cook, Mary (Henry) 
Cook, Stacy, Sr. 
Coon, Rev. Jacob 
Copeland, Nancy 
Cotton, Jackson 
Cowan, John H. 
Craddock, Ann (Thomas) 
Craddock, Thomas 
Crumrine, -Isaac 
Crumrine, Mary (Michael) 

Darling-ton, Catharine (Wm. 

Darling-ton, William 

Davis, Anna P. (James) 

Davis, Benjamin B. 

Davis, Elizabeth 

Davis, James 

Davis, Lydia 

Davis, Mary (Samuel, Sr. ) 

Davis, Joshua 

Davis, Rachel (Joshua) 

Davis, Samuel, Sr. 

Davis, Samuel, Jr. 

Davis, Sarah (Milton) 

Day, Sarah W. (William) 

Delzell, John, Sr. 



Nativity. 


Died. 


Age 


Penn'a 


Aug-. 9, 1874 


53 


Penn'a 


Nov. 11, 1886 


75 




Jan. 8, 1879 


76 


New Jersey 


June 30, 1833 


61 


New Jersey 


Mar. 9, 1867 


73 


New Jersey 


Aug-., 1842 


77 


Ohio 


Mar. 26, 1895 


71 


Ohio 


Feb. 24, 1897 


83 


Penn'a 


Mar. 6, 1894 


78 


New Jersey 


1841 


93 


New Jersey 


Dec. 21, 1855 


66 


Penn'a 


Mar. 6, 1894 


77 


Ohio 


Aug-. 20, 1879 


64 


Ohio 


Mar. 6, 1888 


71 


Penn'a 


Mar. 13, 1876 


86 


Penn'a 


Sept. 17, 1878 


77 


Virgfinia 


Aug-. 10, 1896 


75 


Ohio 


Jan. 5, 1897 


81 


Scotland 


Aug-. 5, 1892 


70 


Eng-land 


Nov. 24, 1877 


82 


Eng-land 


Sept. 22, 1880 


80 


Ohio 


Apr. 15, 1896 


68 


Maryland 


June 18, 1864 


74 


D 






Penn'a 


Sept. 19, 1896 


85 


Penn'a 


May 19, 1872 




Ohio 


Jan. 22, 1882 


61 


Ohio 


Sept. 8, 1847 


36 


Ohio 


Aug-. 20, 1881 


55 


New York 


July 20, 1890 


71 


Ohio 


April 4, 1889 


51 


New Jersey 


Apr. 27, 1842 


82 


Penn'a 


May 9, 1880 


78 


Penn'a 


Oct. 15, 1864 


63 


Penn'a 


Apr. 15, 1835 


73 


Ohio 


Jan. 23, 1897 


81 


Michig-an 


Nov. 14, 1864 


35 


England 


June 9, 1897 


60 



May 9, 1857 60 



NECROLOGY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 



227 



Nanje. 
Deming-, John 
Dennis, Charles 
Dennis, Jane (Charles) 
Derrick, John 
Dickinson, Harriet (J. F. ) 
Dickinson, Jeremiah F. 
Dixon, Isaac 
Duck, Jesse 

Dunn, Minerva (Wm. T. ) 
Dunn, Robert 
Dunn, William 

Eg"g"man, James 
Eg"g^man Rebecca (James) 
Eldridg-e, Enos 
Elton, Samuel 
Eng^land, Content 
England, Georg-e 
England, Hannah (Joseph) 
Eng-land, Joseph 
Eng-land, Sarah 
England, Tacj 
Entriken, Brinton 
Estill, Hannah (Rev. J. J. ) 
Estill, Rev. Jacob J. 
Evans, Elizabeth 
Evans, Jonathan, Sr. 
Evans, Philip 

Farquhar, Allen 
Farquhar, Jacob P. 
F^awcett, Abigail (Wm.) 
Fawcett, David 
Fawcett, Esther N. (E. W.) 
Fawcett, Hannah (David) 
Fawcett, Jehu 
Fawcett, John 
Fawcett, Jonathan 
Fawcett, Josiah 
Fawcett, Levi 



Nativity. 


Died. i 


(\ge. 


Connecticut 


Jan. 10, 1894 


77 


Penn'a 


Jan. 26, 1877 


85 


Penn'a 


Dec. 2, 1872 


84 


Ireland 


Dec. 11, 1884 


73 


Penn'a 


Aug. 22, 1854 


53 


Penn'a 


Feb. 8, 1878 


83 




July 22, 1849 


65 


Ohio 


Mar. 28, 1894 


74 


Ohio 


Mar. 23, 1874 


47 


Eng-land 


Oct. 24, 1886 


84 


Virg-inia 


Feb. 18, 1896 


70 


E 






New Jersey 


Oct. 25, 1859 


64 


New Jersey 


Sept. 14, 1879 


79 


Penn'a 


May 7, 1871 


72 


New Jersey 


July 21, 1857 


58 


New Jersey 


June 24, 1897 


79 


Ohio 


Mar. 22, 1870 


43 


Penn'a 


Apr. 29, 1853 


61 


Penn'a 


Jan. 27, 1866 


78 


Penn'a 


May 1, 1894 


81 


Ohio 


Aug. 28, 1872 


49 


Penn'a 


Nov. 4, 1888 


76 


Ohio 


Aug-. 7, 1895 


82 


Penn'a 


Feb. 26, 1879 


74 


Penn'a 


May 16, 1853 


59 


Penn'a 


Aug. 27, 1849 


75 


Penn'a 


Aug. 8, 1880 


76 


F 






Penn'a 


Dec. 28, 1885 


87 


Ohio 


Dec. 24, 1889 


55 


New Jersey 


Jan. 12, 1855 


67 


Virginia 


Feb. 4, 1862 


68 


Penn'a 


Oct. 23, 1887 


59 


Penn'a 


Jan., 1848 


49 


Virg-inia 


Feb. 8, 1867 


63 


Virginia 


Mar. 13, 1862 


76 


Virg-inia 


Aug. 10, 1884 


88 


Virg-inia 


Sept. 24, 1881 


73 


Virg-inia 


Augf. 17, 1841 


40 



228 HISTORY OF SALEM. 



Naroe. 


Nativity. 


Died. 


Age 


Fawcett, Nathan 


Ohio 


Feb. 9, 1870 




Fawcett, Richard, Sr. 


Virg-inia 


May 2, 1862 


68 


Fawcett, Richard, Jr. 


Virg-inia 


Oct. 7, 1888 


76 


Fawcett, William F. 


Virg-inia 


July 5, 1857 


60 


Fetters, Mary 


Ohio 


Feb. 23, 1870 


77 


Fisher, Margaret (Joseph) 




June 15, 1843 




Fisher, Joseph 


Virg-inia 


April 3, 1848 


84 


Fisher, Priscilla W. (1 Wm. 


) New Jersey 


Sept. 7, 1855 


60 


Fisher, Ruth (2d Wm.) 


Ohio . 


June, 1885 


66 


Fisher, William 


Virg-inia 


Feb. 8, 1889 


88 


Flitcraft, Elizabeth (John) 


New Jersey 


July 11, 1851 


60 


Flitcraft, John 


New Jersey 


Nov. 3, 1870 


79 


Flitcraft, Julia A. 


Ohio 


Aug-. 30, 1896 


73 


Folk, Nathan 


Ohio 


Nov. 29, 1895 


66 


Forehope, John W. 


Penn'a 


Mar. 7, 1890 


67 


Forehope, Mary (John) 


Ohio 


May 15, 1877 


66 


Frederick, Mary 


Ohio 


Sept. 24, 1898 


87 


French, Anna (Robt.) 


New Jersey 


Mar. 26, 1849 


58 


French, John 


Ohio 


May 22, 1889 


69 


French, Robert, Sr. 


New Jersey 


Feb. 13, 1862 


83 


French, Samuel 


Ohio 


Nov. 1, 1871 


49 


French, Thomas 


New Jersey 


Jan. 23, 1852 


78 


French, Thomas Y. 


Ohio 


Apr. 13, 1895 


80 


French, Zadok 


Ohio 
G 


Apr. 15, 1871 


63 


Gailey Charlotte (Andrew) 


Au. 5, 1864 


44 


Gailbraith, Thomas 


Penn'a 


July 20, 1855 


72 


Gamble, Harrison 


Ireland 


Dec. 1, 1890 


75 


Gardner, Richard 




Nov. 29, 1884 


84 


Garrig-ues, Marg-aret (Wm.) Penn'a 


Apr. 15, 1861 


71 


Garrig-ues, Maria B ( R. H. 


) Maryland 


Sept. 16, 1897 


80 


Garrig-ues, Norman B. 


Ohio 


Jan. 6, 1898 


57 


Garrig-ues, Richard H. 


Penn'a 


Sept. 18. 1874 


58 


Garrig-ues, William 


Penn'a 


Dec. 22, 1870 


81 


Garwood, William, 


New Jersey 


Sept. 12, 1876 


71 


Gaskill, David 


New Jersey 


Dec. 25, 1847 


69 


Gaskill, Israel 


New Jersey 


Aug-. 24, 1836 


64 


Gaskill, Nathan R. 


Ohio 


Apr. 20, 1879 


60 



Gaskill, Sarah (David) New Jersey Mar. 6, 1842 63 



NECROLOGY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 



229 



NarT)e. 
Gaunt, Abraham 
Gee, Mary (Timothy) 
Gilbert, Barclay 
Goldy, Shedlock 
Gong-wer, Anthony 
Gongwer, Catharine (Ant.) 
Gordon, John 
Golbourn, Joseph 
Golbourn, Rachel (Joseph) 
Greiner, Esther (John) 
Greiner, Hiram 
Greiner, John 
Griffith, Hannah (Reuben) 
Griffith, Oliver 
Grissell, Charles D. 
Grissell, Mary H. (Chas. D.) 
Gross, Thomas 
Grove, Ann E. (Samuel) 
Grimmesey, Alfareta 
Grimmesey, Ann (John, Sr. ) 
Grimmesey, John, Sr. 
Grimmesey, John W., Jr. 

Haines, Robt. M. 
Hambel, Hugh 
Hale Warwick 
Hardman, Samuel 
Harman, Ann (Christian) 
Harman, Christian 
Harring-ton, Edg^ar O. 
Harris, Benjamin 
Harris, David F. 
Harris, Hannah W. (D. F.) 
Harris, Hannah (Nathan) 
Harris, Dr. John 
Harris, Mary (Dr. John) 
Harwood, William 
Haskell, Rev. W. H. 
Hawley, Benjamin 



Nativity. Died. Age. 

New Jersey June, 1850 71 

Penn'a Sept. 10, 1882 (>2 

Penn'a June 27, 1884 73 

New Jersey July 18. 1889 9f> 

Feb. 19, 1857 41 

New Jersey Jan. 29, 1858 45 

Penn'a May 29, 1881 73 

Penn'a Jan. 26, 1872 83 

P<inn'a Feb. 4, 1879 92 

Penn'a Jan. 9, 1863 hf> 

Penn'a Nov. 6, 1874 54 

Penn'a Feb. 15, 1873 83 

Penn'a June 21, 1852 71 

Ohio July 18, 1898 69 

Penn'a Jan. 8, 1877 77 

Penn'a Dec. 12, 1894 87 

Maryland Aug-. 4, 1849 70 

Ohio Dec. 2, 1886 58 

Ohio Apr. 4, 1896 23 

Ireland Dec. 15, 1864 81 

Ireland Aug-. 4, 1853 66 

Ireland Nov. 11, 1892 68 
H 

Penn'a July 5, 1891 86 

Ohio Dec. 3, 1860 38 

Penn'a Apr. 23, 1898 88 

Sept. 9, 1882 81 

New Jersey Oct. 4, 1865 68 

New Jersey Mar. 20, 1841 54 

Ohio Sept 17, 1898 60 

Ohio Dec. 16, 1870 65 

New England Oct. 13, 1848 66 

New Jersey Apr. 5, 1865 75 

Penn'a July 28, 1891 92 

Penn'a Sept. 9, 1879 71 

Connecticut Oct. 20, 1882 70 

Eng-land Nov. 2, 1894, 68 

England Apr. 19, 1896 

Penn'a Feb. 27, 1875 85 



230 



HISTORY OF SALEM. 



Nan)e. 




Nativity. 


Died. i 


^ge. 


Hawley, Jesse 




Penn'a 


May 21, 1890 


74 


Hawley, Mary B. (Benj.) 


Ohio 


Oct. 1, 1854 


38 


Hayes, Charles I. 




Penn'a 


July 9, 1898 


70 


Heacock, Dorothy (Jerm.) 


Penn'a 


Apr. 6, 1896 


88 


Heacock, Jeremiah 




Ohio 


July 22, 1895 




Heacock, William 




Penn'a 


Feb. 15, 1835 


56 


Heaton, Elizabeth (Jacob) 


Penn'a 


July 31, 1892 


83 


Heaton, Jacob 




Penn'a 


Mar. 25, 1888 


79 


Heaton, Jesse 




Penn'a 


Oct. 26, 1873 


66 


Heaton, Mary 




Penn'a 


Oct 25, 1868 


86 


Heaton, Richardson 




Ohio 


Dec. 7, 1897 


61 


Heaton, Thomas 




Penn'a 


Mar. 25, 1853 


77 


Henkle, Wm. D. 




Ohio 


Nov. 22, 1881 


53 


Henshilwood, Archibald 


Eng-land 


Feb. 7, 1862 


65 


H«nshilwood,Marg-aret( Ar. ) Eng-land 


Aug. 13, 1857 


47 


Hester, Matthias 




Penn'a 


Feb. 11, 1890 


96 


Hiddleson, Benj, F. 




Penn'a 


May 6, 1848 


31 


Hiddleson, Mary B. 


(Wm.) 


Ohio 


Nov. 10, 1890 


62 


Hillis, Jacob D, 




Penn'a 


July 12, 1898 


93 


Hilliard, John, Sr, 




New Jersey 


Nov. 16, 1858 


68 


Hilliard, John, Jr. 




Ohio 


Apr. 10, 1896 


61 


Hilliard, Joshua 




Ohio 


Sept. 17, 1898 


62 


Hinchliff, Catharine 


: (Hen.) Eng-land 


June 23, 1870 


54 


Hinchli^T, John 




Eng-land 


Nov. 1, 1877 


55 


Hinchman, Aaron 




Ohio 


July 5, 1854 


34 


Hinchnjan, Henry 




New Jerse}' 


Nov. 14, 1881 


74 


Hise, Aaron, Sr. 




Penn'a 


July 19, 1752 


66 


Hise, D. Howell 




Penn'a 


Nov. 17, 1878 


65 


Hise, Edwin 




Ohio 


Aug-. 1884 


36 


Hise, Jesse 




Ohio 


Nov. 20, 1881 


57 


Hise, Marg-aret (D. 


Howell 


) Penn'a 


Oct. 22, 1886 


65 


Hise, Mary (Aaron, 


Sr.) 


Penn'a 


Aug-. 19, 1871 


83 


HoUoway, Aaron 




Virg-inia 


Apr. 13, 1872 


83 


Holloway, Imlah 




Ohio 


July 7, 1895 


79 


Holloway, Jesse 




Virg-inia 


Nov. 11, 1846 


94 


Holloway, Joel 




Virg-inia 


May 12, 1872 


86 


Hollowa}^ Joseph 




Ohio 


July 22, 1892 




Holloway, Mary (Joel) 


Virg-inia 


Sept. 21, 1874 


80 


Holloway, Olive (Aaron) 


Penn'a 


Apr. 24, 1872 


80 



NECROLOGY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 231 

IVarT)c. Nativity. Died. Age. 

Holloway, Samuel Ohio Oct. 29, 1897 

Holloway, Susan (Joshua) Virg-inia Oct. 21, 1872 65 

Horner, Mary A. (Thos. F.) Penn'a Dec. 23, 1890 86 

Horner, Thomas F. Virg-inia Nov. 7, 1899 86 

Howell, John Penn'a Aug^. 13, 1849 65 

Howell, Silas Penn'a Aug. 2, 1880 79 

Hudson, John Penn'a June 10, 1877 58 

Hunt, Caleb Ohio Dec. 2, 1862 47 

Hunt, Elisha New Jersey July 23, 1873 94 

Hunt, Enoch Ohio June 21, 1864 51 

Hunt, Hannah C. (Stacy) Penn'a Feb. 15, 1885 89 

Hunt, Ira Ohio Aug. 29, 1883 72 

Hunt, Mary A. (Caleb) Ohio June 24, 1857 42 

Hunt, Milton Penn'a Aug. 5, 1857 30 

Hunt, Nathan, Sr. New Jersey Apr. 15, 1851 67 

Hunt, Nathan, Jr. Ohio Aug-. 31,1887 62 

Hunt, Rebecca(Nathan, Sr.) New Jersey June 12, 1875 96 

Hunt, Seth Ohio Apr. 21, 1853 29 

Hunt, Stacy New Jersey Jan. 31, 1878 88 

Hunt, William Virg-inia Oct. 27, 1828 65 

Hutton, Joel Penn'a Dec. 10, 1876 85 

Huxley, Philo Ohio July 31, 1898 56 

I 

Ingraham, Joseph, Sr. Penn'a Sept. 24, 1855 75 

Ingraham, Joseph, Jr. Ohio Oct. 30, 1888 70 

J 

Jennings, Elizabeth (Wm.) Ohio Jan. 2, 1864 39 

Jennings, Levi, Sr. New Jersey Mar. 17, 1850 85 

Jennings, Rebecca( Levi, Sr.) Virginia Nov. 30, 1854 85 

Jennings, Simeon New Jersey Oct. 3, 1865 74 

Jennings, William New Jersey Mar. 15, 1889 81 

Jobes, Charles New Jersey Feb. 11, 1885 77 

Jobes, William New Jersey Jan. 20, 1855 

Johns, Abner Sept. 6, 1896 71 

Johns, Josiah Penn'a 1871 71 

K 

Kaiser, John H. Germany Nov. 20, 1898 72 

Keen George W. Penn'a Feb. 10, 1866 38 

Keen, Rachel (Thomas) Penn'a Dec. 27, 1878 87 



232 



HISTORY OF SALEM. 



Naroe. 
Keen, Thomas 
Kelly., Alfred 
Kelty, Richard 
Kelty, William 
Kennett, Thomas 
Kepler, Elizabeth 
Kidd, Georg-e C. 
Kinnaman, Christian 
Kirk, Rev. Abner G. 
Kirk, William 
Kirkbride, Frances(Mahlon) 
Kirkbride, Mahlon 
Kirtland, Sarah (William) 
Kirtland, Thomas 
Kirtland, William 
Koll, Daniel 
Koll, Julia (Daniel) 

Lamborn, Ann 
Lamborn, Esther (.Job) 
Lamborn, Job 
Lang-staff, James 
Leach, James W. 
Leach, Mary (Jas. W.) 
Leach, P. L. Bain 
Lease, Edwin A. 
Lee, Hannah G. (Josiah) 
Lee, Josiah 
Lewis, Harvey 
Lewis, Lydia P. 
Lupton, Daniel 

M'Bride, Ruth 

M'Calla, David 

M'Calla, John 

M'Calla, Mary (John, Sr.) 

M'Cartney, Elizabeth (John) 

M'Connor, John 

M'Curdy, Daniel 



Nativity. 
Penn'a 
New Hamp. 
New Jersey 
New Jersey 
Ohio 
Eng-land 
Eng-land 
Penn'a 
Penn'a 
Penn'a 
Penn'a 
Penn'a 

Eng-land 
Eng-land 
Prussia 
Prussia 

L 

Penn'a 

Penn'a 

Penn'a 

Penn'a 

Virg-inia 

New Jersey 

Ohio 

Penn'a 

Penn'a 

Penn'a 

Ohio 

Ohio 

Virginia 

M 

Ohio 
Penn'a 
Penn'a 
Virg-inia 

Penn'a 
Penn'a 



Died. Age. 

Mar. 19, 1870 77 

Jure 6, 1892 77 

May 3, 1877 79 

Dec. 19, 1854 69 

Sept. 10, 1881 74 

Auff. 10, 1860 80 

Oct. 23, 1854 86 
Oct. 11, 1881 

June 9, 1886 77 

Oct. 31, 1860 80 

April 9, 1897 77 

June 8, 1884 74 

Dec. 22, 1886 74 

May 18, 1879 82 

Oct. 14, 1888 87 

Feb. 24, 1892 79 

Jan. 10, 1866 55 

Nov. 19, 1855 75 

May 17, 1857 52 

Mar. 13, 1888 87 

July 24, 1849 87 
July 21, 1888 
Apr. 29, 1872 

Aug-. 24, 1893 66 

Jan. 15, 1891 52 
July 21, 1890 
1845 
Aug-. 4, 1896 

Aug-. 30, 1896 62 

Nov. 5, 1869 50 



84 

77 



92 



70 



Apr., 1895 72 

Oct. 18, 1871 67 

Sept. 22, 1878 68 

Nov. 15, 1365 91 

Nov. 7, 1891 61 

Mar. 8, 1865 67 

Jan. 4, 1888 75 



NECROLOGY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 



233 



Nan)e. 
M'Donald. David 
M'Leran,Elizabeth(JohnSr) 
M'Leran, James 
M'Leran John 
M'Millan, David 
M'Millan, Joel 
M'Millan, Reuben 
Mall, Abigail (Henry, Sr.) 
Mall, Henry, Sr. 
Markley, Abraham 
Marshall, James C. 
Martin, Georg-e 
Mather, Thomas 
Matthews, Alice R. 
Matthews, Philip 
Mead, John, Sr. 
Mead, John, Jr. 
Mead, Mary (John, Sr.) 
Melling-er, Daniel 
Mendenhall, Jonathan 
Mercer, Mary 
Mercer. Phebe 
Mercer, Solomon 
Miller, David 
Miller, Elizabeth (David) 
Mink, Benjamin S. 
Mink, John 
Minser, Emily 
Moore, Harrison 
Morlan. Melissa 
Morlan, Mordecai 
Morris, Hannah 
Murphy, Ephraim 
Murray, Anna B. (John G.) 

Neal, Mary 
Neas, John 
Neg"us, John, Sr. 
Nichols, Mahlon 



Nativity. 

Scotland 
Scotland 
Ohio 

Ohio 
Ohio 



Ohio 
Penn'a 



Eng-land 
Eng-land 
Eng-land 

Ohio 
Penn'a 
Penn'a 
Penn'a 
Virg-inia 
Penn'a 
New Jersey 
New Jersey 

Ireland 

Virg-inia 

Penn'a 
Ohio 

N 
New Jersey 

Penn'a 
Virginia 



Died. Age. 

Apr. 25. 1870 71 

June 25, 1862 80 

Aug-. 22, 1853 53 

May 1, 1868 43 

Feb. 15, 1893 66 

Aug-. 15, 1877 55 

June 23, 1898 78 

Jan. 7, 1869 83 

Aug. 11, 1859 73 

Dec. 5, 1880 90 

Mar. 31, 1892 75 

Oct. 26, 1896 75 

Jan. 16, 1890 80 

Oct 20, 1863 88 

July 25, 1880 69 

Dec. 13, 1858 78 

Mar. 21,1882 70 

Jan. 2. 1873 85 
Mar. 3, 1894 

April 1, 1892 55 

Jan. 27, 1872 76 

Jan. 8, 1878 69 

Mar. 3, 18^8 84 

Aug. 10, 1872 79 

Aug. 30, 1882 89 

Feb. 2, 1895 63 

Sept. 27, 1877 77 

May 27, 1860 47 

Sept. 20, 1866 42 

Aug. 19, 1860 31 

Jan. 28, 1880 88 

Apr. 11, 1858 82 

Aug. 27, 1898 79 

Dec. 25, 1897 33 

June 3, 1895 75 

Mar. 16, 1859 50 

Nov. 6, 1868 80 

April 2, 1893 70 



234 



HISTORY OP SALEM. 



NarT)e. 

Painter, David 
Painter, Jacob, Sr. 
Painter, Jacob, Jr. 
Painter, Mary H. (Samuel) 
Painter, Miriam (Jacob, Sr.) 
Painter, Nancy (David 
Painter, Nancy (Jacob, Jr.) 
Painter, Samuel 
Park, Lewis T. 
Patterson, Robert 
Pearson, Anna 
Peppel, John 
Pettitt, Rebecca 
Phillips, Barbara 
Phillips, Isaac R. 
Phillips, James 
Phillips, Susan (Isaac R.) 
Pickett, Jacob K. 
Pidg-eon, William 
Pinkham, Mary B. (Thos.) 
Pippitt, Joseph 
Pippitt, Susan (Joseph) 
Pow, Alexander 
Pow, Elizabeth (John) 
Pow, Georg-e 

Pow, Marg-aret (3 Georg-e) 
Pow, Mary (2 Georg-e) 
Pow, Mary L. 
Price, Joel j . 
Purdy, Gurdon B. 
Pyle, Eliza (Harlan) 
Pyle, Harlan 

Rakestraw, John 
Randals, William 
Redcap, Sophia (John) 
Reed, Georg-e 
Reed, Rhoda (Wm.) 



Nativity. 

P 

Virginia 

Virg-inia 

Virginia 

Penn'a 

Virginia 

Maryland 

Virginia 

Virginia 

OMo 



England 

Ohio 

Penn'a 

Ohio 

Ohio 

Ohio 



Died'. 

Aug. 5, 1866 
Sept. 5, 1851 
Mar. 17, 1873 
May 29, 1874 
Aug. 28, 1851 
May 16, 1867 
Feb. 12, 1893 
July 29, 1857 
May 23, 1882 
May 9, 1874 
Oct. 16, 1861 
June 23, 1858 
Mar. 14, 1858 
June 19, 1897 
Apr. 23, 1898 
July 1, 1896 
Oct. 4, 1898 
Mar. 21, 18% 
Nov. 25, 1890 



New England Apr. 24, 1877 
New Jersey Sept. 15, 1885 
New Jersey Nov. 29, 1862 
England Apr. 19, 1879 

Ohio May 23, 1866 

England Mar. 14, 1871 

Ohio Jan. 27, 1887 

Ohio Sept. 7, 1854 

Ohio Sept. 2, 1896 

Mar. 27, 1863 
Apr. 23, 1886 
Oct. 3, 1898 
Mar. 4, 1869 



Ohio 
Ohio 

R 

New Jersey 

Ohio 

Germany 



Apr. 9, 1874 
July, 1887 
Nov. 9, 1896 
Nov. 23, 1868 
Aug. 15, 1847 



Age. 

74 
88 
69 
81 
73 
83 

58 
60 
78 
62 
57 
65 
93 
82 
85 
81 
72 
87 
75 
85 
62 
73 
25 
70 
75 
40 
31 
59 
68 
80 
58 

81 
56 
80 
62 



NECROLOCxY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 



235 



NarT)e. 
Reed, William 
Reitzell, Delilah <H. P.) 
Reitzell, Henry P. 
Rens, J. A. 
Rhodes, Harmon 
Robinson, Emily (M. R. ) 
Robinson, Gertrude 
Robinson, Marius R, 
Roller, Jacob B. 
Roller, Samuel J. 
Rood, Emmor 

Rukenbrod, Abbie (1 J, R.) 
Rukenbrod, Lucinda(2 J.R. ) 
Rukenbrod, Jonathan K. 

Saxon, Betty (John) 
Saxon, John 
Saxon, Joseph 
Scatterg-ood, Benjamin 
Scattergood, Joseph 
Schilling-, Jacob F. 
Schilling-, Sarah (Jacob F. ) 
Schollield, David 
Scholfield, Rebecca (David) 
Schooley, Elisha 
Schooley, John 
Schooley, Reuben 
Seaton, A. M. 
Seaton, James S. 
Shaffer, Henry 
Sharp, Cla3'ton 
Sharp, Joel, Sr. 
Sharp, Joel, Jr. 
Sharp, Ruth 

Sharp, Sarah A. ( Thos. ) 
Sharp, Thomas 
Sharpnack, Samuel 
Sharpnack, Thos. F. 
Shaw, Jemima (Jona. T.) 



Nativity. 



Penn'a 



Died. Age. 
Oct. 25, 1862 65 
May 3, 1858 40 
May 25, 1889 72 
Aug^. 28, 1848 33 



Virginia 


Sept. 26, 1898 


96 


Penn'a 


July 20, 1897 


86 


Ohio 


Feb. 6, 1863 


21 


Mass. 


Dec. 8, 1879 


72 


Penn'a 


Dec 25, 1890 


97 


Ohio 


Apr. 14, 1896 


59 


Mass. 


April 1, 1887 


72 


Ohio 


Sept. 27, 1856 


22 


Ohio 


Oct, 5, 1898 


58 


Ohio 


Feb. 7, 1890 


60 


S 






England 


Feb. 12, 1837 


54 


England 


Sept., 1854 


77 


England 


Feb. 22, 1873 


66 


Penn'a 


Feb. 17, 1860 




Penn'a 


Sept. 15, 1870 


62 


Wurtemburg 


1872 


72 


Wurtemburg 


Sept., 1885 


84 


Virginia 


Sept. 17, 1857 


79 


Penn'a 


Mar. 6, 1870 


85 


Virginia 


June 19, 1838 


83 


Virginia 


Jan. 27, 1866 


85 


Ohio 


Oct. 11, 1859 


50 


Penn'a 


July 17, 1877 


52 


Penn'a 


Dec. 1, 1890 


77 


Germany 


Apr. 10, 1896 


65 


Ohio 


Dec. 24, 1883 


72 


New Jersey 


May 3, 1820 


41 


Ohio 


July 20, 1898 


78 


Ohio 


Feb. 25, 1865 


63 


Ohio 


Nov. 26, 1891 


82 


Ohio 


Sept. 9, 1896 


86 


Penn'a 


Jan. 7, 1890 


80 


Penn'a 


Oct. 19, 1895 


76 


Penn'a 


Dec. 13, 1879 


71 



236 



HISTORY OF SALEM. 



Narr)c. Nativity. 

Shaw, Jonathan T. Penn'a 

Sheets, Georg-e Ohio 
Sheets, John 

Sheets, Mary (John) New Jersey 
Shield, Amelia 

Shinn, Abraham New Jersey 

Shinn, Christina New Jersey 

Shinn, Susan (Abram) Ohio 

Shinn, William, Sr. New Jersey 

Shinn, William, Jr. Ohio 

Shreve, Israel Penn'a 

Shreve, Dr. Joseph New Jersey 

Silver, William Maryland 
Smiley, Dr. James 
Smith, Catharine (Joseph) Penn'a 
Smith, Edwin 

Smith, Elizabeth (Jos. T.) New Jersey 

Smith, Joseph T. Virginia 

Smith, Joseph Penn'a 
Smith, Maria (Samuel) 
Smith, Samuel 

Smith, William R. New Jersey 

Snodg-rass, Presley N. Ohio 

Snook, Jehu Ohio 

Snook, John Ohio 
Spencer, Amy 

Spencer, Elizabeth (Thos.) New Jersey 

Spencer, Thomas Penn'a 

Stanley, Frederick Virginia 

Stanley, James Virginia 

Stanley, Jonathan, Sr. Virginia 

Stanley, Mary (Jona. Sr.) Virginia 

Stanley, Sarah (James) Penn'a 

Stanton, Dr. Benjamin N. Carolina 

Stanton, Dr. David Ohio 
Stanton, Edith (Dr. Byron) Penn'a 

Stanton, Dr. Joseph Penn'a 
Stanton, Martha (Dr.Benj. ) Penn'a 

Stanton, Oliver Ohio 



Dfcd. Age 

Mar. 16, 1869 71 

Aug. 10, 1866 47 

Jan. 17, 1868 88 

Apr. 29, 1878 83 

July 15, 1855 80 

Oct. 20, 1885 82 

Jan. 12, 1863 51 

April 3, 1877 69 

Mar. 24, 1839 62 

Apr. 24, 1874 41 

Feb. 25, 1877 82 

Feb. 23, 1846 58 

Aug. 25, 1881 83 

Apr. 26, 1860 41 

Jan., 1862 63 

May 14, 1886 81 

June 25, 1862 82 

Sept. 14, 1852 82 

Sept. 12, 1852 52 

May 6, 1891 70 

Mar. 20, 1875 57 

June 6, 1886 78 

Nov. 29, 1855 46 

Aug. 8, 1896 64 

Oct. 19, 1872 74 

Sept. 7, 1862 79 

Sept. 8, 1875 80 

Oct. 27, 1874 77 

Oct., 1885 78 

June 25, 1883 72 

July 22, 1852 76 

Oct. 16, 1857 76 

Oct. 8, 1886 75 

Feb. 28, 1861 67 

Nov. 6, 1871 42 

Aug. 30, 1865 32 

Oct. 7, 1855 31 

Jan. 25, 1885 90 

Nov. 1, 1898 76 



NECROLOGY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 



237 



Naroe, 
Steele, Edward M. 
Stewart, Hug-h 
Stitt, James 
Stitt, Sarah (James) 
Stone, Margaret (Rev.Wm.) 
Stone, Rev. Wm. 
Stratton, Aaron 
Stratton, Barclay 
Stratton, Benjamin D. 
Stratton, Charles 
Stratton, Daniel 
Stratton, Georg-e 
Stratton, Joseph 
Stratton, Joshua 
Stratton, Josiah 
Stratton, Michael, Sr. 
Stratton, Michael, Jr. 
Stratton, Rebecca (Wm. ) 
Straug-han, Jane (Joseph) 
Straug-han, John 
Straug-han, Joseph 
Straughan, Mary (John J 
Strawn, Abel 
Strawn, David G. 
Strawn, Dorothy (Samuel) 
Strawn, Enos 
Strawn, Hannah (Abel) 
Strawn. Jesse 
Strawn, Mary B. (Enos) 
Strawn, Samuel, H. 
Street, Ann (John, Sr.) 
Street, Eunice (Zadok, Sr.) 
Street, John, Sr. 
Street, John, Jr. 
Street, Lewis 
Street, Martha (John, Jr.) 
Street, Samuel 
Street, Sarah, (Samuel) 
Street, Sibyl (Zadok, Jr.) 



Nativity. 


Died. 1 


^Vgc 


Ohio 


April 1, 1897 


73 


Ireland 


July 27, 1859 


86 


Penn'a 


Apr. 20, 1880 


83 


Penn'a 


Aug. 21, 1863 


67 


Virginia 


June 12, 1862 


78 


Virginia 


Aug. 12, 1852 


75 


New Jersey 


May 27, 1885 


84 


Ohio 


July 21, 1892 




Ohio 


Jan. 19, 1879 




New Jersey 


Nov. 18, 1852 


62 


New Jersey 


Feb. 6, 1872 


74 


New Jersey 


Mar. 27, 1887 


77 


New Jersey 


Feb. 5, 1843 


50 


New Jersey 


Aug. 25, 1826 


30 


New Jersey 


Oct. 13, 1846 


57 


New Jersey 


Jan. 29, 1858 


92 


New Jersey 


Feb. 1, 1843 


44 


Ohio 


Dec. 30, 1894 


61 


Ohio 


Sept. 12, 1883 72 


Penn'a 


Mar. 11, 1858 


82 


Ohio 






Penn'a 


Jan. 25, 1834 


50 


Penn'a 


Feb. 10, 1889 


89 


Ohio 


Jan. 29, 1873 


61 


England 


Feb. 20, 1891 


66 


Penn'a 


Apr. 17, 1875 


73 


Ohio 


Mar. 20, 1870 


64 


Penn'a 


Mar. 7, 1890 


91 


Ohio 


Mar. 20, 1895 


86 


Ohio 


Mar. 1, 1891 


72 


New Jersey 


Aug. 31, 1861 


78 


New Jersey 


Aug. 25, 1828 


76 


New Jersey 


Nov. 11, 1848 


66 


Ohio 


June 11, 1887 


67 


Ohio 


Aug. 16, 1892 


59 


Ohio 


Aug. 29, 1895 


73 


Ohio 


Aug. 20, 1884 
Mar. 20, 1883 


72 


New Jersey 


Dec. 11, 1890 


80 



238 



HISTORY OF SALEM. 



NarT)C^ 


Nativity. 


Died. i 


\ge. 


Street, Zadok, Sr. 


New Jersey 


Oct. 28, 1807 


56 


Street, Zadok, Jr. 


Ohio 


Aug-. 25, 1880 


71 


Swaim, Rinear 


New Jersey 


May 25, 1854 


64 


Swaim, Sarah M. 


New Jersey 


July 26, 1855 


59 


Suliot, Theodore 


Ireland 


Mar. 23, 1871 


70 


Tabor, Charles R. 


T 

Maine 


Nov. 7, 1868 


41 


Tabor, Moses 


Maine 


July 6, 1884 


85 


Taylor, Joseph 




Jan. 2, 1875 


74 


Teeg-arden, Anna (Rev. S. B.)Ohio 


Dec. 15, 1886 


55 


Teeg-arden, Rev. Samuel B. 


Penn'a 


Oct. 13, 1896 


76 


Test, Hannah (Zaccheus) 


New Jerse)' 


June 8, 1842 


67 


Test, Isaac 


Ohio 


Apr. 30, 1896 


70 


Test, Lucy B. 


New Jersey 


Aug-. 3, 1890 


81 


Test, Zaccheus 


New Jersey 


Feb. 2, 1820 


57 


Thomas, Abner 


Penn'a 


Oct. 6, 1856 


66 


Thomas, Isaac G. 


Penn'a 


Feb. 11, 1890 


67 


Thomas, Jacob 


Penn'a 


Apr. 19, 1873 


82 


Thomas, John W. 


Penn'a 


Oct. 28, 1875 


81 


Thomas, Joseph G. 


Penn'a 


Aug-. 5, 1864 


44 


Thomas, Dr. Kersey G. 


Penn'a 


Mar. 10, 1869 


52 


Thomas, Oliver 


Penn'a 


Apr. 20, 


46 


Thomas, Phebe (Abner) 


Penn'a 


Dec. 30, 1888 


89 


Thomas, Rebecca (Jacob) 


Penn'a 


Dec. 9, 1890 


85 


Thompson, John M. 


Ohio 


Apr. 27, 1869 


49 


Tollerton, Frances (James) 


Ireland 


Sept. 26, 1860 


84 


Tollerton, Hill 


Ireland 


Feb. 7, 1896 


84 


Tollerton, James 


Ireland 


Nov. 21, 1870 


92 


Tollerton, James D. 


Ohio 


Dec. 17, 1897 


54 


Tollerton, Lucy W. (Hill) 




Aug-. 13, 1871 


67 


Tollerton, Robert 


Ireland 


Sept. 10, 1886 


77 


Tollerton, Zilpah (Robert) 


Penn'a 


Aug-. 20, 1871 


65 


Tomkins, William 


Penn'a 


June 16, 1880 


63 


Travis, William 




Mar. 21,1856 


67 


Trescott, Isaac 


Connecticut 


Jan. 22, 1885 


70 


Trescott, Jane M. (Isaac) 


Michig-an 


June 23, 1858 


39 


Trescott, Samuel C. 


Connecticut 


Sept. 14, 1864 


78 


Trimble, George 


Penn'a 


Oct. 29, 1884 


88 


Trimble, Jane (Georg-e) 


Penn'a 


Oct. 3, 1884 


72 



NECROLOGY OF SALEM CITIZENS. 239 



Naroe. 


Nativity. 

u 

Penn'a 


Died. i 


iXge. 


Umstead, Hannah (Jacob) 


Nov. 8, 1S64 


79 


Umstead, Jacob 


Penn'a 


Sept. 5, 1865 


88 


Umstead, John 


Penn'a 


Sept. 29, 1873 


71 


Umstead, Jonas 


Penn'a 

V 

•Penn'a 


Mar. 13, 1855 


44 


Vans3'oc, Enoch 


June 17, 1883 


54 


Vernon, Matilda (Thos. B.) 


Penn'a 


Nov. 1, 1884 


64 


Vernon, Thomas B. 


Penn'a 


Nov. 14, 1879 


69 


Viers, Madison B. 


W 


Dec. 20, 1886 


72 


Walton, Daniel 


Penn'a 


Oct. 27, 1872 


79 


Walton, Mar)^ (Joseph) 




May 30, 1862 


98 


Walton, Mary R. (2 Daniel) 


1 New Jersey 


Sept. 8, 1872 


67 


Walton, Susan (1 Daniel) 


Penn'a 


Jan. 11, 1849 


52 


Ware, Asa, Sr. 


New Jersey 


Mar. 2, 1866 


64 


Ware, Asa, Jr. 


New Jersey 


Mar. 2, 1866 


64 


Ware, Emmor 


Ohio 


Mar. 22, 1886 


55 


Ware, Joseph 


Ohio 


Mar. 7, 1870 


43 


Warner, Mag-dalene 




May 7, 1891 


72 


Warrington, Abraham 


New Jersey 


Oct. 19, 1843 


88 


Warring-ton, John R. 


Ohio 


Dec. 21, 1894 


80 


Warrington, Rachel (Abr'm 


) New Jersey 


Sept. 2, 1827 


66 


Waterworth.Eliz'b'th(Sam'l)Ireland 


1886 


75 


Waterworth, Samuel 


Ireland 


May 18, 1857 


50 


Waterson, Martha H. 




Dec. 12, 1869 


79 


Weaver, Dr. Charles 


Penn'a 


June 27, 1852 


35 


Weaver, Emmor T. 


Penn'a 


Oct. 2, 1860 


74 


Weaver, Mary (Emmor T. ) 


Penn'a 


Oct. 27, 1867 


80 


Weaver, Rebecca (Dr. Chas. 


)Ohio 


Apr. 3, 1886 


66 


Webb, Abraham 


Maryland 


Feb. 15, 1855 


58 


Webb, Ann (Isaac) 


Penn'a 


Dec. 15, 1893 


.88 


Webb, Asa S. 


Ohio 


Feb. 13, 18h2 


41 


Webb, Calvin V. 


Ohio 


Aug. 29, 1874 


58 


Webb, Isaac 


Maryland 


July 5, 1886 


92 


Webb, James 


Maryland 


Apr. 15, 1863 


80 


Webb, Jane (Samuel) 


Penn'a 


July 28, 1883 


79 


Webb, Jesse B. 


Ohio 


Nov. 15, 1888 


58 


Webb, Leah W. (2 Abram) 




May 22, 1890 


80 



240 HISTORY OF SALEM. 



Naroe. 


Nativity. 


Died. i 


f^ge 


Webb, Lydia (Simeon J.) 


Ohio 


Mar. 27, 1890 


67 


Webb, Marg-aret (1 Abram) 


New Jersey 


Mar. 12, 1849 


47 


Webb, Mary 


Ohio 


July 4, 1894 




Webb, Naomi (Thomas) 


Virginia 


Dec. 19, 1868 


84 


Webb, Richard, Sr. 


Maryland 


May 15, 1857 


73 


Webb, Richard, Jr. 


Ohio 


Oct. 5, 1842 


30 


Webb, Samuel 


Ohio 


Apr. 25, 1890 


84 


Webb, Simeon J. 


Ohio 


Feb. 14, 1859 


35 


Webb.Susannah(Rich'd.Sr.; 


) Penn'a 


July 24, 1873 


82 


Webb, Thomas 


Maryland 


Mar. 27, 1847 


67 


Webb, William 


Maryland 


Oct. 1, 1861 


70 


Webster, Lawrence 


New Jersey 


Dec. 27, 1864 


56 


Welker, Mary (Peter) 


Penn'a 


Feb. 14, 1892 


71 


West, Sarah A. (Wm. P.) 


Ohio 


July 24, 1886 


79 


West, William P. 


Ohio 


Jan. 4, 1897 


84 


Wharton, Mary B. (Levi) 


Ohio 


Nov. 4, 1895 


73 


Whinnery, Harriet (John C.^ 


I Ohio 


Jan. 9, 1>92 


72 


Whinnery, John C. 


Ohio 


Oct. 3, 1895 


79 


Whinnery, Mary B. (Robt.) 


Ohio 


Oct. 2, 1877 


59 


Whinnery, Rachel (James) 


Penn'a 


Jan. 15, 1892 


75 


Whitacre, Henry 




June 5, 1892 


56 


Wilcoxen, Martha (Jesse) 


Maryland 


Jan. 9, 1879 


91 


W^illiams, Ann (John R.) 


Penn'a 


Nov. 21, 1867 


51 


Williams, Casper 


Penn'a 


Sept. 29, 1874 


80 


Williams, Charles 


Penn'a 


Oct. 9, 1886 


61 


Williams, Dr. Daniel 


Penn'a 


Apr. 14, 1861 


66 


Williams, John R. 


Penn'a 


June 11, 1875 


72 


Williams,Rebecca(E.Wrig-ht)Ohio 


Apr. 10, 1874 


60 


Williamson, Lewis 


New Jersey 


June 3, 1873 


62 


Williamson, Thomas D. 


New Jersey 


June 14, 1885 


71 


Wilson, Isaac 


Penn'a 


Aug-. 1, 1846 


60 


Wilson, James 


Penn'a 


June 11, 1838 


70 


Wilson, Julia (Triah) 


Ohio 


Dec. 8, 1891 


64 


Wilson, Rev. Robert 


Penn'a 


Aug. 31, 1870 


56 


Wilson, Sarah G. (Isaac) 


Delaware 


Mar. 5, 1872 


82 


Wilson, Uriah 


Ohio 


Aug. 19, 1874 


58 


Wilson, William 


Penn'a 


July 4, 1864 


63 


Wilson, William G. 


Penn'a 


Aug. 29, 1838 


28 


Winter, Philip 


Penn'a 


Apr. 26, 1858 


59 



NECROLOGY OF SALKM CITIZENS. 



241 



Naroe. 
Wisner, Lydia A. 
Wisncr, Mary CWm. ) 
Wisner. Mar^- (Stephen) 
Wisner, Stephen 
Wisner, William 
Wood, Elizabeth ( Robt. H. 
Wood, Robert H. 
Wood, Thomas S. 
Woodruff, Harriet, G. ( Jas. 
Wrig-ht, Alfred 
Wrig-ht, Amelia (Alfred) 
Wrig-ht, Benjamin F. 

Yancy, William 

Yates, Joel 

Yates, William 

Young-, Ann B. (Thomas ) 

Y^oung-, Dr. F. G. 

Zimmerman, Eliz. (H. K.) 
Zimmerman, Peter, Sr. 
Zimmerman, Peter, Jr. 



Nativity. 


Died. 


Age 


New Jersey 


Sept. 18, 1854 


39 


New Jersey 


Nov. 20, 1888 


77 


New Jerse}' 


Feb. 22, 1852 


(.4 


New Jersey 


Nov. 5, 1873 


*M) 


New Jersey 


July 9, 18M2 


7S 


) Ireland- 


May 13, 1852 


54 


Ireland 


Feb. 12, 1852 


62 


Ohio 


Mar. 26, 1869 


40 


) Penn'a 


Mar. 11, 1868 


49 


New Jersey 


July 26, 1890 


71 




Oct. 10, 1865 


48 




Oct. 20, 1890 


62 


Y 






Virg-inia 


Jan. 27, 1891 


79 


Penn'a 


Dec. 25, 1875 


66 


Penn'a 


Apr. 21, 1887 


85 


Ohio 


Sept. 9, 1862, 


42 


Connecticut 


Nov. 14, 1877 




Z 






Ohio 


Nov. 8, 1884 


67 


Maryland 


Aug. 26, 18()0 


67 


Ohio 


M:iv 7, 1896 


71 



THE END. 



#889 



mm 



:iiiif 



,■ ill'- • . , ' ,.'L''t'ify i"- ',/ 




,*;■'