(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of San Bernardino and Riverside counties / with selected biography of actors and witnesses of the period of growth and achievement.."

M.L 




m 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 01149 4934 




X 



i 



S 



HISTORY OF 

SAN BERNARDINO 

AND 

RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 



JOHN BROWN, Jr. 

Editor for San Bernardino County 



JAMES BOYD 

Editor for Riverside County 



Selected Biography of Actors and Witnesses 

of the Period of Growth 

and Achievement 



VOLUME III 



THE WESTERN HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION 
1922 



Copyright, 1922 

THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

Chicago, III. 



178374« 



Stephen Henderson Herrick — It would be difficult to conceive of 
broader and greater benefits flowing from the influence and character of 
one individual and affecting in a constructive and progressive way the 
development and future of the Riverside community than those attribut- 
able to Stephen Henderson Herrick during his residence of nearly forty 
years in California. He was one of the men of vision as well as prac- 
tical resourcefulness who comprised an important syndicate of fowa 
capitalists attracted to the development of that section lying east and 
north of the original Riverside Colony. The primary problems involved 
in its development was a dependable irrigation system. That system was 
first inaugurated in the famous Gage Canal. Mr. Herrick as head and 
member of the Iowa syndicate furnished the support and co-operation 
to Matthew Gage which were indispensable for the construction of that 
irrigation project on a broad and stable basis. On part of the land 
benefited by this enterprise Mr. Herrick in 1887 set out the first plant- 
ings of orange trees, and of the extensive holdings he has had and helped 
develop he still retains a large part, indicating that his interest in the 
country is not that of a speculator but one who is willing to wait for the 
fruits of his constructive enterprise to ripen. While so much of his time 
has been given to the material development, his interest has been deep 
and abiding in the broader growth and progress of Riverside. He has 
been a factor in the organization of some of the leading banks of this 
locality, notably the Citizens National and the Security Savings of River- 
side, and for a number of years was president of both institutions. He 
is now Chairman of the Board of Directors of the latter bank. 

Mr. Herrick represents one of the oldest lines of Colonial New Eng- 
land ancestry, although he traces his line back over 1,000 years to Eric, 
a Norse chieftain or king. One of his ancestors was a judge of court 
in Massachusetts, and was directly responsible for putting an end to 
the infamous practice of witchcraft. The English branch of Herricks 
came to America in 1660, settling at Salem and Beverly, Massachusetts. 
S. H. Herrick was born at Crown Point, Essex County, New York, 
son of Stephen Leonard Herrick, a Congregational minister who for 
twenty-five years was in charge of the church at Crown Point. Later 
he removed to Fairhaven, Vermont, and from there to Grinnell, Iowa, 
where for many years, until his death in 1886, he was connected with 
Grinnell College as a teacher and trustee. The mother of S. H. Her- 
rick was Delia Ives, a native of Vermont. Her parents were of Scotch 
ancestry and moved from Connecticut to Vermont in December, 1799. 
for a large part of the way, blazed trees marking the route for their 
slow going caravan of ox teams. While on this pilgrimage they re- 
ceived the news of the death of Washington. 

Stephen Henderson Herrick was reared and educated in Iowa, at- 
tending public schools and after completing a full course in Liberal Arts 
at Grinnell College in 1865, he received the A. B. degree. After a further 
two years course in law and theology he received the degree of Master 
of Arts. His alma mater also elected him to membership in the Phi 
Beta Kappa honorary societv. Instead of entering upon a professional 
career he took up mercantile business at Grinnell, and continued that 
connection for twenty- three years. He was also deeply interested in his 
alma mater, and in 1883, after the buildings of Grinnell College had 
been destroyed bv a cyclone, he came west to Oakland, California, and 
for several months was busy throughout the state in making collections, 
particularly for the college museum. He acquired a great abundance of 
material for this purpose besides interesting the various transportation 
1049 



1050 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

companies and also through the aid of the faculty of the University of 
California. Mr. Herrick then returned East, and in 1885 became asso- 
ciated with others in the organization of the East Riverside Land Com- 
pany. His chief associates in this were ex-Governor Merrill of Iowa, 
Colonel S. F. Cooper, former U. S. consul at Glasgow, and Senator De 
Los Arnold of Iowa, and the late A. J. Twogood of Riverside. These 
men organized for the purpose of developing the mesa land east of 
Riverside and purchased several thousand acres in that vicinity from the 
Southern Pacific Railway Company. This was subdivided, the town of 
Highgrove being platted. In this development Mr. Herrick and his 
associates worked closely in co-operation with Matthew Gage so that 
the Gage Canal would directly benefit the East Riverside tract. Mr. 
Herrick remained president of the company tor several years, and the 
company was dissolved in 1915, after all the land had been sold. Under 
the Gage Canal system Mr. Herrick planted the first orange trees, and 
he continued his planting over several large tracts, and still retains a 
large share of this property. Other tracts have been touched with his 
enterprise as a developer, all in the section east of Riverside, where he 
has owned or developed about four hundred acres. 

Mr. Herrick is president and his son, S. L. Herrick, vice president 
and manager of the "Herrick Estates, Incorporated." The various prop- 
erties and interests of the family are concentrated for more effective 
business management. Mr. Herrick is also president of the Lemona 
Heights Company, owning 180 acres of citrus fruits above the Gage 
Canal, upon which the company developed the water. At one time he 
owned considerable land in West Riverside, Corona and Rialto. 

Mr. Herrick at the time of the World's Fair in Chicago in 1893 had 
charge of the large exhibit of Griffin & Skelley, this being the firm that 
is now manufacturing the famous Del Monte brand of food products. 
Following his work at Chicago Mr. Herrick remained East four years, 
and during that time was one of the managing directors of the Grinnell 
Savings Bank, of which he had been president prior to coming to Cali- 
fornia. 

In 1903 Mr. Herrick was one of the prominent organizers of the 
Citizens Bank of Riverside and was its first president. In 1904 this 
bank took over the Orange Growers Bank and soon after became a 
national bank, with enlarged capital. The Security Savings was organ- 
ized in 1907, owned bv the Citizens National. Of this bank Mr. Her- 
rick was the first president. In 1916 the First National Bank of River- 
side was taken over bv the Citizens National and the Riverside Savings 
Bank was absorbed bv the Security Savings Bank. At this time Mr. 
Herrick resigned the presidency of the National Bank to devote his entire 
time to the Savings institution, but in 1920 resigned to accept the posi- 
tion of chairman of its Board of Directors. He is also vice president 
of the Citizens National Bank and vice president of the Citizens Bank 
of Arlington. He was one of the organizers of the Fast Riverside Water 
Company, and has been president practically since its inception. He is 
president of the Riverside-Highland Water Company and president of 
the Monte Vista Citrus Association. 

Mr. Herrick is affiliated with the Grand Army of the Republic, having 
served in the Civil War in the 46th Regiment of Infantry of Iowa 
Volunteers. A man of deep religious convictions, he has all his life 
given much attention to church and educational causes. He is Deacon 
Emeritus and one 6f the advisory board of the Congregational Church, 
and has frequently officiated as a lay minister, even while president of 
the bank holding services in various places. In former years he found 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1051 

time to share the duties of politics natural to a man of his high standing. 
At the age of twenty-one he was elected a delegate to the Iowa State 
Republican Convention. He also served as mayor of Grinnell and was 
at one time a member of the Republican County Central Committee and 
has represented his party in the California State Convention. He is 
deeply interested in his alma mater. The beautiful Herrick Chapel, 
which adorns the Grinnell College campus was made possible by his 
benefactions. It is a family memorial, as three generations were educated 
there — Mr. Herrick's father, himself and his son. 

September 3, 1869, Mr. Herrick married Miss Harriet E. Fellows, a 
native of Princeton, Illinois, and daughter of Ephraim Fellows, who was 
born in New Hampshire and who became extensively identified with the 
pioneer development of Colorado. Mrs. Herrick is of English and 
Revolutionary ancestry and a member of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. They have two children, the son, Stephen Leonard Herrick, 
being referred to above as active associate with his father. The daugh- 
ter, Lida, is the wife of J. Lansing Lane, recently of Hollister, California, 
now of Santa Cruz County. Mr. and Mrs. Lane have two children, 
Derick and Elizabeth. 

Isaac Allen Holeman has been a resident of Riverside twenty years, 
and while he has invested capital in this district he has taken little part 
in active business affairs. He is a loyal and enthusiastic Calif ornian, and 
a man of the highest standing in Riverside, where his fellow citizens 
respect his judgment and integrity and know him as one of the most 
public spirited men in the community. 

Mr. Holeman was born in Warren County, Illinois, May 11, 1858, 
son of Reuben and Suzanna (Crabb) Holeman. His parents moved 
to Illinois at an early date, and spent most of their lives on a farm in 
Warren County. Isaac Allen Holeman grew up in Central Illinois, grad- 
uated from the city schools of Monmouth, and after completing his edu- 
cation returned to the farm and gained his prosperity from the corn 
belt of Illinois. In 1900 he moved to Riverside and purchased an orange 
grove, but has practically retired from its active management, though 
he holds considerable stock in the Cressmer Manufacturing Company. 

Mr. Holeman is a democrat in politics, like his father before him. 
He has never been interested in public office as an honor, though he 
performed his duty for a number of years as road overseer in Warren 
County, Illinois. At Richmond, Indiana, in 1886, Mr. Holeman married 
Miss Melvina A. Stephenson, who was born in Indiana, representing an 
old American family of Revolutionary stock and English descent. Mr. 
and Mrs. Holeman have two sons: George S., born in 1887, graduated 
in medicine from Stanford University, subsequently took special work in 
surgery, and is now engaged in a successful practice at Portland, Oregon. 
November 16, 1920, he married Miss Estella Buckley, of San Francisco. 
The younger son, Roy Holeman, born in 1889, completed the scientific 
agricultural course at the State University and is now a practical agri- 
culturist at Van Nuys, California. In 1916 he married Miss Nellie Ross, 
of Riverside. 

J. D. Langford. — The career of J. D. Langford of Redlands exempli- 
fies the making of a successful business man through strenuous experi- 
ence and a disposition never to stop or waiver on account of failure or 
obstacles. 

He borrowed a hundred dollars to come to California, and had three 
dollars left when he arrived on March 26, 1888. The remainder of that 



1052 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

year he was employed on the Raymond place. The following sixteen 
years the scene of his work and experience was at Highland. Most 
of his employment was in the orange industry. Mr. Langford bought 
his first acreage, only two and a half acres, near Highland Station in 1890. 
planting it to oranges and nursery stock. It was unprofitable, since 
the nursery was late in planting, market was dull and prices low. An- 
other factor in his ill success there was the burning of a barn, in which 
his horses were destroyed. He then showed the disposition of one 
who could face defeat without being discouraged. Going into the moun- 
tains, he took charge of the saw mill property of the Highlands Lumber 
Company at Fredalba Park for two years. Returning to East High- 
lands, he became foreman of the orange ranches of C. H. Sherrod and 
Frank Gore, and after the first year was appointed receiver, general 
superintendent and manager, a post of duty he held six years. He later 
superintended these properties for H. M. Olney and C. A. Sherrod, and 
on leaving them became superintendent in charge of the nursery and 
salesman for H. H. Linville. About that time he began speculating in the 
buying and shipping of oranges, and after a year turned his entire time 
and attention to the productive end of the orange industry, a line in 
which his talents and energies have been most successfully displayed 
since he came to California. 

A number of years ago Mr. Langford became associated with A. H. 
Gregory on the Williams tract. The laying out, grading, planting, in- 
stallation of the irrigation system on this tract were under his personal 
supervision. He planted 665 acres. During this time he and Mr. Greg- 
ory also bought the four hundred eighteen acres owned by the Riverside 
Highland Water Company just east and south of Colton. A beginning 
had been made of a peach plantation, and they continued the planting 
of this fruit over two hundred and twenty-five acres. Mr. Langford 
made a contract with the City of San Bernardino to take charge of the 
sewage water for twenty-five years, and laid a line from the city to this 
ranch. This business was incorporated under the name the Delta Water 
Company, and Mr. Langford was interested in the ownership of the prop- 
erty for five years, being president of the Delta Water Company. The 
operations on the William tract were conducted as the Redlands Security 
Company, a close corporation, with Mr. Gregory and Mr. Langford as 
half owners, Mr. Gregory being the president and Mr. Langford, sec- 
retary and manager. During this time Mr. Langford was also engaged 
in the fertilizing business. In 1909 he organized the Carlsbad Guano 
Fertilizer Company, purchasing guano caves in Carlsbad, Mexico, and 
operating a mixing plant at Redlands. He was president and general 
manager of the company. 

After selling his fertilizer business and his interest in the Delta Water 
Company Mr. Langford removed to San Francisco, and in 1911 en- 
gaged in the wholesale brokerage business, handling heavy machinery 
supplies, including locomotives, steam cranes and shovels and a general 
line of heavy machinery, trucks, etc. The five years he spent in San 
Francisco was a strenuous time, and altogether he lost about ten thousand 
dollars of his individual capital. His associates were young men who 
lost their heads, and practically the entire responsibility of the manage- 
ment devolved upon Mr. Langford. When the young men sold to others 
the new partners added additional gravity to the already tangled condi- 
tions, and it was only by a supreme effort that Mr. Langford guided 
the enterprise away from disaster. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1053 

He had in the meantime retained his orange interests in San Ber- 
nardino County, and his first task on returning to Redlands was to put 
his groves in first class condition. He was then selected as general man- 
ager by the Crown Jewel Association, and took charge of this business 
October 23, 1916, and his business headquarters are today at the plant 
of the Crown Jewel Packing House at Alabama and San Pedro streets 
in Redlands. In 1912 he and Mr. Gregory divided their holdings, Mr. 
Gregory taking over the books and corporate name of the Redlands Se- 
curity Company, while Mr. Langford received a hundred acres as his share 
of the two hundred and five acres then owned by the company. Mr. 
Langford incorporated as the J. D. Langford & Company and under 
this title has continued his business as an orange grower. He has since 
purchased twenty acres of improved oranges in the same section, and 
having cleared up his other interests is now giving his entire time to the 
orange production and marketing. 

This brief outline is intended to convey some of the facts and cir- 
cumstances under which Mr. Langford has toiled toward a success and 
prosperity that he splendidly merits. His early life was one of compara- 
tive poverty. When he was only twelve years of age he had to perform a 
man's part on the home farm. He worked horses when he was so 
small that he had to turn the collars in order to reach the buckles. It 
was Mr. Langford who planted the first orange grove in the West River- 
side District, twenty acres for Dodd & Dw^er. 

In 1886, at the age of eighteen, Mr. Langford married in Missouri 
Miss Ida L. A. Hingle. Their only child died in infancy and his wife 
a year and a half later. Soon afterward Mr. Langford came to California. 
A year later he went back to Kansas and married Miss Ida McReynolds. 
The children of this union are two sons and one daughter. The oldest, 
J. Roy Langford, born November 24, 1890, was educated at Redands 
and married Miss Cora Dudley. The second son, Cleveland Paul Lang- 
ford, born January 14, 1896, was educated in Redlands, married Edna 
Hass and has a daughter, Lucille Pauline. Cleveland P. Langford joined 
the National Army for service in the World war April 11, 1918, being 
with the 363rd Regiment of Infantry in the 91st Division. After train- 
ing at Camp Lewis, Washington, he left for New York June 26th, em- 
barked for England July 6th, from England went direct to France, and 
after two weeks of rest and training went almost directly to the Ar- 
gonne front. He was with an automatic rifle squad, served in the trenches 
about two weeks, went over the top on the 26th of September, and was 
a participant in the strenuous program of the Argonne fighting until 
gassed on the first of October. The following months he spent at a 
base hospital, then rejoined his company, and soon after the signing of 
the armistice was stricken with the influenza, that period of illness being 
passed in an English hospital on the border between Belgium and France. 
He had barely been discharged when he had the mumps and another 
hospital experience, and after recovering was put with the 36th Division 
and returned home with that command, reaching New York June 6, 1919. 

The third child of Mr. Langford is Gladys Langford, born December 
15, 1898. She was educated at Redlands, and is the wife of H. L. 
Covington, an orange grower there. Mr. Langford has given his two 
sons a chance to start in life, providing each with a good ten acre grove, 
with opportunity for employment on his other holdings, and thus they 
had every incentive to work out their own salvation. 



1054 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Hugo Sontag. — The story of development of land and homes in San 
Bernardino County introduces Hugo Sontag, one of the old timers of 
this region, who has lived here nearly half a century. His post office 
address is Alta Loma, but his home is a ranch three miles northeast, at 
the mouth of Cucamonga Canyon. 

Mr. Sontag was born in East Prussia July 24, 1840, son of Gustav 
Sontag, who had fought in the German armies against Emperor Napo- 
leon. Hugo was the youngest of six children. He acquired a good edu- 
cation in the schools of Prussia and Silesia, and received a thorough 
technical training in the University of Halle, from which he graduated 
in 1862. In University he specialized in minerology, geology and sur- 
veying. He was examined as preliminary to his work as a mining en- 
gineer in the presence of the Burghauptman, and on passing was qualified 
for government work. He then entered the service of the Imperial Gov- 
ernment and was employed in sinking test wells to discover coal veins, 
but these wells showed deep salt deposits instead at the depth of 950 
feet. 

Mr. Sontag in 1871 came to America. For a time he was in Penn- 
sylvania, and as an expert geologist did some prospecting for oil, and 
located what later became a well developed oil field. From there he went 
on to St. Louis and entered the service of the old Pacific Railroad Com- 
pany as a surveyor, and did some of the preliminary work running 
lines for proposed railways to Old Indian Territory. He surveyed the 
line from Fort Smith, Arkansas, to Okmulgee. 

In the fall of 1875 Mr. Sontag arrived at Los Angeles, and three 
months later he went to Cucamonga, where in 1876 he bought six or 
eight acres from the Southern Pacific Railroad Company and thirty 
acres from private parties. This land he cleared, set to vineyard and 
deciduous fruits, and kept the property until it was well developed, when 
he sold. 

In the meantime, in 1877, Mr. Sontag took up a homestead of a hun- 
dred thirty-six acres at the mouth of Cucamonga Canyon. Subsequent 
purchases have enlarged this to two hundred and forty-one acres. On 
it he has built his home, and has a considerable area developed as orange, 
lemon and deciduous fruit groves and has also developed a water supply. 
Later he bought forty acres of wild land from Charles Frankish, on 
which he developed a considerable flow of water, building a reservoir 
and piping the water to users below. A storm destroyed the pipe line 
and practically all improvements except the reservoir. Mr. Sontag in 
this and other ways has been a real pioneer in the development of this 
section. He was one of the first to go into the bee industry on a com- 
mercial scale, and formerly he sold honey by the carload lots. He still 
has an apiary of 194 stands. 

Mr. Sontag, who is a genial bachelor, has been in the Cucamonga Dis- 
trict from a time when he practically had no white neighbors, the country 
being occupied chiefly by Indians and a few Mexicans. His nearest rail- 
way station was Cucamonga, but now Guasti, and the only resident at 
the station was the railway agent, who lived in a box car. Mr. Sontag 
is a republican in politics. 

Herman Harris, one of San Bernardino's most prosperous mer- 
chants and substantial business men, is an example of the right type 
of citizen who adopts America as his home country, assimilates its 
ideals, achieves success through rigid industry and integrity, and 
earns the respect and generous esteem of his fellow men. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1055 

Herman Harris was born in Germany, May 2, 1871, son of Morris 
and Johanna Harris. His father was a lover of freedom, and during 
the Revolutionary troubles of 1848 suffered temporary exile. The 
Harris ancestors originally came fom Spain, and Herman Harris' maternal 
grandfather was a cloth merchant in London. 

Herman Harris graduated from a German gymnasium in April, 
1887, at the age of sixteen, and soon afterward left for America, reach- 
ing New York in October of that year, with only two dollars and 
forty cents in cash. A week later he started for San Francisco, and 
had twenty cents on arriving at the Golden Gate City. The first meal 
he ate was paid for by a man he met on the ferry, who also paid the 
fifty cents required for his night's lodging in the old Brooklyn Hotel 
on Bush Street. His first work was cleaning up the back yard of a 
store, for which he received a dollar, and his total earnings the first 
month amounted to twenty dollars. After getting acquainted and find- 
ing employment where his efficiency would count, he increased his 
salary to a hundred and fifty dollars a month. 

After coming to San Bernardino Mr. Harris was employed two 
years by Rudolph Auker, remained two years at Tehachapi, and made 
his first business that of general merchandising. He was at Santa 
Ana in the drygoods business beginning in 1893, and had a difficult 
struggle during the panic which began in that year. He remained 
in Santa Ana for nine years, and in April, 1905, returned to San Ber- 
nardino, where two years later he took in his brothers, Philip and 
Arthur, as partners in the Harris Company. This business has grown 
and prospered, the quarters being enlarged several times, and it is 
today one of the largest mercantile firms in the county. The Harris 
Company has purchased several pieces of property, the most important 
being at the corner of East and Third, known as the Ward Block, 
which the company plans to improve with a modern structure. 

During his residence at Santa Ana, Mr. Harris served three years 
as a member of the National Guard. He was president of the Mer- 
chants Protective Association, was for several years a director of the 
National Orange Show, and for a similar time a director of the Cham- 
ber of Commerce. He is a republican in politics, a former president 
of the B'Nai B'rith, and is affiliated with the Masons and Elks. 

Ernest Smith Moulton — The late Ernest Smith Moulton was for 
years one of the leading bankers of Riverside, and took a prominent 
part in civic affairs, identifying himself with practically every enterprise 
which promised to prove beneficial to the city in a practical way. He 
had been connected with railroading with the Chicago, Burlington & 
Quincy Railroad and the Santa Fe Railroad for many years in Illinois, 
and when he came to Riverside brought with him a ripened experience, 
vigorous energy and many ideas which were of practical value in the 
progressive development of this district. 

Mr. Moulton was born at Galesburg, Illinois, January 5, 1859, a son 
of Billings and Harriet (Smith) Moulton, natives of Massachusetts. 
The Moultons are of French descent, but the family was founded in 
this country long prior to the American Revolution, in which war repre- 
sentatives of it served with distinction. 

Growing up in his native city, Ernest Smith Moulton attended its 
excellent public schools and Knox College, also of Galesburg. His work 
of a practical character began with this connection, already referred to, 
with the railroads of Illinois, and he remained with them until 1881, 
when he came to California. Immediately upon his arrival here he 



1056 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

identified himself with the packing industry, first experimenting with 
raisins and later with oranges, and for seventeen years was very active" 
in this line of business. At the time he withdrew from it he was the 
oldest orange packer in California. Mr. Moulton held many positions 
of trust in the orange associations, and was a member of the Citrus 
Protective League of Southern California. 

Elected president of the First National Bank of Riverside, he held 
that position for five or six years, and during that time secured the 
erection of the present elegant bank building. Mr. Moulton had other 
interests, and was one of the directors of the Highland Water Com- 
pany. At one time he served as president of the Chamber of Com- 
merce, and was connected with the Business Men's Association. Instru- 
mental in forming the Bankers' Association of Riverside, he became 
prominent in the state and national associations, and served for a time 
as president of the State Board of Bankers, and that body made him 
one of the vice presidents of the National Association. 

Mr. Moulton was one of the most progressive of men, his broad 
vision and outlook on life enabling him to see his duty and how to 
carry it out, especially with reference to civic matters. For many years 
he served as a school director, and was president of the board for a 
number of years, and during his occupancy of that office the Polytechnic 
High School was erected. At the time of his death he was a member 
of the Riverside Library Board. The Government experimental station 
at Riverside stands as a monument to his good sense and excellent judg- 
ment, and in this connection and others, he was closely allied with Frank 
Miller and others in advancing the interests of the city. It would be 
difficult to name any improvement of his day which did not receive his 
full support. Others which have followed later were conceived by him, 
and have been brought about because of the preliminary work he did 
in their behalf. He was a man whose hand and heart were open to the 
appeal of the unfortunate, but he also believed in the policy of providing 
work for those in need, rather than to make them paupers through indis- 
criminate alms-giving. With his wife to look into the merits of a case, 
he distributed his benevolences wisely and admirably, and was never 
happier than when he had assisted anyone to become self-supporting and 
self-respecting. A man of great popularity, he was active in the Masonic 
fraternity and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and had 
attained to the Commandery and Shrine in the former order. 

On November 14, 1883, Mr. Moulton was united in marriage at 
Riverside with Julia C. Ferris, a native of Illinois, and a daughter of 
Sylvanus H. and Sabra B. (Cline) Ferris. Mrs. Moulton came to River- 
side with her parents in 1881, and since her marriage has been very 
active in church and Y. W. C. A. work. She was one of the directors 
on the board of the old Riverside Hospital, and is a director of the new 
Community Hospital. For the past six or eight years she has been 
president of the Charity Tree, an organization of ladies banded together 
for the purpose of looking after local charities and filling the breach 
between public and private donations. She has devoted much time and 
effort to this work, which exemplifies the modern spirit of giving, and 
is one of the most constructive factors in the community work of today. 
A Presbyterian, she is very active in the work of the Magnolia Avenue 
Church of that denomination, with which Mr. Moulton was also con- 
nected, and which he served for a long time as a member of the board 
on Easter services. 

Mr. and Mrs. Moulton had four sons and one daughter, and all of 
them with the exception of the second son have the proud distinction 



■ *;.. 




SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 105? 

of being natives of the Golden State, and all of the boys are graduates 
of the California State University, while Doris is a graduate of Vassar. 
They are as follows: Arthur Ferris, Robert Harrison, Ernest Francis, 
Sylvanus Ferris, and Doris Sabra. Arthur F. Moulton is now engaged 
in the lumber business at Ukiah, Mendocino County, California. He 
married Chryssa Eraser, a niece of W. Grant Fraser of Riverside, 
and they have four daughters, namely : Frances, Joan Virginia, Doris 
Ann and Barbara Mills. Robert H. Moulton, of the R. H. Moulton Bond 
Company of Los Angeles, considered one of the finest bond houses in 
California, was at the time of the campaigns for the sale of Liberty 
Bonds, made Government manager for the district of Southern Cali- 
fornia, the youngest man to be so honored with such a heavy responsi- 
bility. He married Florence Wachter, of Los Angeles, and they have 
two sons, Donald Wachter and Robert H., Junior. Ernest Francis 
Moulton is also a partner with the bond house operated under the 
name of the R. H. Moulton Bond Company. He married Gladys 
Robb, of Riverside. Sylvanus Ferris Moulton went into the air service 
at the time of the World war, and was trained at San Antonio, Texas, 
and Columbus, Ohio, following which he was stationed at Lake Charles, 
Louisiana. He is with his brother Arthur in the lumber business. His 
wife was Miss Olive Taylor, of Riverside, prior to her marriage. She 
is a daughter of a prominent Baptist clergyman who founded the 
Present Day Club of Riverside, and did much toward securing the 
betterment of the city. Mr. and Mrs. Moulton have one daughter, 
Carolyn. Miss Doris Sabra Moulton is a graduate of Vassar College, 
as well as of the State University. On April 9, 1921, she was married 
to William H. Bonnette, in business in Riverside. 

Sylvanus H. Ferris was one of the pioneers of Riverside, and was 
a man of great prominence. He established his residence on Magnolia 
Avenue, and every bit of wood that went into the construction of the 
house was hauled from San Bernardino. His home was the center of 
much hospitality, which he offered to his Eastern friends, and he was 
instrumental in bringing more than one hundred people from Galesburg, 
Illinois, to Riverside. He came to this city in 1879. and later brought 
in trees from Illinois and New York, and scientifically studied and 
experimented with reference to the citrus fruit industry. 

By birth Mr. Ferris was a New Yorker, as he was born in Herki- 
mer County, that state, January 14, 1828, and was given a public school 
and academic education. His parents went to Illinois at a very early 
day, and he grew up in that state. Before deciding definitely upon 
his occupation Mr. Ferris paid a visit to his uncle, Harvey H. Ferris, 
of Herkimer County, New York, who told him that Eastern lands 
would depreciate and Western lands would advance in price, and ad- 
vised him to return to Illinois. Following this advice he lived in 
Galesburg from 1862 to 1881. this town having been the family home 
from the time it was founded by his grandfather. 

In 1879 Mr. Ferris came on a visit to California, accompanying 
O. T. Johnson of Galesburg. and then went on to Carson City, Nevada, 
where his uncle, G. W. G. Ferris, was then residing. This gentleman 
was the father of the man who later invented the Ferris Wheel, one 
of the attractions of the Columbian Exposition at Chicago in 1893. Later 
the party came to Riverside and Sylvanus H. Ferris purchased a ranch 
on Magnolia Avenue, arranged for the purchase of an adjoining ranch 
for Mr. Johnson, and still another at the head of the avenue for his 
uncle. G. W. G. Ferris. He permanentlv settled at Riverside in 1881, 
and built his residence in 1882, which has since been one of the sub- 



1058 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

stantial homes and still is on that avenue. His home ranch comprised 
forty-three acres, and on it he raised high-grade oranges. In addition 
Mr. Ferris owned orange properties at Tustin, Orange County, and at 
Etiwanda, San Bernardino County, California, a cottage at Lagona Beach, 
California, and a ranch in San Antonio Canyon, from which Ontario, 
by purchase, afterward acquired its water. 

A very public-spirited man, Mr. Ferris worked hard to secure the 
Santa Fe Railroad from Orange to Riverside, and was a director and 
manager of the Newton Railroad from Riverside to San Bernardino, 
which is now owned by the Southern Pacific Railroad Company. While 
he was active as a republican, he never sought political recognition. 
For many years he was a member of the Presbyterian Church, and was 
instrumental in founding it on Magnolia Avenue. 

In 1858 Mr. Ferris married Sabra Booth Cline, who became 
especially prominent in church and W. C. T. U. work, and helped to 
built up a better sentiment in this locality. She was a philanthropist 
and one to whom charitable impulses were a second nature. Her death 
occurred in 1919, when she was over ninety years of age. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ferris had four children, namely : Eva, who is the wife of W. S. 
Ray; Robert O., who lives on the old homestead at Woodhull, Illinois; 
Mrs. Julia Moulton, who is mentioned at length, and Mrs. Stella Bel- 
lows, who lives at Kansas City, Missouri. In addition to their own 
children Mr. and Mrs. Ferris reared two others, whom they took 
from the Home for the Friendless of New York City. One is Mrs. 
Delia Shieff and the other is George F. Lozier, of Denver, Colorado, 
both of whom grew up a credit to their adopted parents and worthy 
of the love and care given them. 

Benjamin H. Ferris has been a resident of Riverside twenty-seven 
years, is still actively engaged in the real estate business, and he repre- 
sents a pioneer family and some of the pioneer enterprise of the great 
West. 

Mr. Ferris was born at Galesburg, Knox County, Illinois, January 
23, 1845. His father, George Washington Gale Ferris, was born in 
Herkimer County, New York, in 1818. He was a farmer in the East. 
In 1850 he made his first trip to California, coming across the plains. 
In 1864 he again started from the East, accompanied by his family, and 
with mule teams drove across country until he reached the Carson 
Valley of Nevada, where he settled and became an extensive rancher. 
He engaged in ranching there until 1880, when he removed to Riverside 
and lived with his nephew. S. H. Ferris. Here he employed his capital 
and the remaining years of his active life in orange culture. He owned 
twenty acres at the head of Magnolia Avenue and also five acres in 
Arlington. George W. G. Ferris was a fine type of pioneer character, 
strong, able in business, faithful in his engagements and of incorruptible 
integrity. For a number of years in Nevada he did the work of land- 
scape gardening on the State Capitol grounds. He was a member of 
the Presbvterian Church. His death occurred in April. 1896. His 
wife, Martha (Hyde) Ferris, came from Plattsburg. New York, where 
they were married. Their family consisted of five sons and five 
daughters. The youngest son was G. W. G. Ferris, Jr.. an engineer 
who designed and built the famous Ferris Wheel at the Chicago World's 
Fair. 

Benjamin H. Ferris was reared at Galesburg, Illinois, and attended 
the public schools and Knox Colleee in that citv. While still a school 
boy he drilled with a company in 1863 preparatory to service in the 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1059 

Civil war, but was never called to active duty. In 1864 he accompanied 
his parents across the plains, lived on the home ranch, and since Decem- 
ber 20, 1894, has been a resident of Riverside. He is thoroughly versed 
in the practical science of orange culture, and for thirteen years he 
had charge of the home grove. Since then he has given his principal time 
to the real estate business in Riverside. Mr. Ferris is a republican but 
has never sought any public office. He has been affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows since 1871. 

In Illinois in 1871 he married his first wife, and to that union were 
born six children. Those surviving are Charles L., a salesman for the 
Lewis Lye Company of Indianapolis, and dementia, widow of John 
Shawler, of Youngstown, Illinois. In May, 1901, at Los Angeles, Mr. 
Ferris married Maria Margaret Blaney, a nattive of England. They 
are active members of the Magnolia Avenue Presbyterian Church. 

Horace E. Harris. While, during a residence of nearly thirty years. 
Horace E. Harris has been known in San Bernardino as a banker and 
capitalist, the high tide of his activities was reached before he sought 
Southern California as his home, and he has been satisfied to conserve 
his fortune and exercise his duties and privileges as a public spirited 
citizen, one keenly interested in every phase of the remarkable prog- 
ress and development of this section. 

Few surviving veterans of the great Civil war can present a record 
of such arduous service as does Mr. Harris. He was born in Essex 
County, Vermont, August 6, 1842, but during his childhood the fam- 
ily moved to a farm near Colebrook, New Hampshire, where his par- 
ents spent the rest of their days and were a fine type of the rugged 
New England farmers. There Horace E. Harris grew up, attended 
district school, and was eighteen years of age when he left the farm 
and went to Augusta. Maine, to enlist as a soldier. He joined the 
Fifth Maine Battery of Mounted Artillery, and soon afterward re- 
ceived his baptism of fire and was in the service until wounded and 
incapacitated in the fall of 1864. though he was not formally released 
from the armv until after the close of the war. His first battle was 
under General Pope at Cedar Mountain, that being followed bv minor 
engagements at Raooahannock Station and at Thompson's Gap. Tn 
the second battle of Bull Run he was shot in the neck and sent to the 
hospital, and this bullet has never been removed. After leaving the 
hospital he was in the sanguinary struggle at Chancellorsville. fol- 
lowing which came the three days battle of Gettysburg. From May 
until July he was under General Grant in the Wilderness campaign. 
Followine that the corps of which he was a member was detached and 
sent to Washington, and arrived iust in time to head off the threatened 
raid of General Early, whose advance guard had reached Fourteenth 
Street in the capital. Then followed the pursuit of Early's forces 
through Maryland, across Harper's Ferrv into Virginia, engaging him 
at Opeciuan Creek, and thence up the Shenandoah Valley for eighty 
miles to Cedar Creek. There on the early morning of October 19. 
1Sf>4. while the Union forces were in bed. a Confederate leader made 
n sudden attack. Mr. Harris heard a comrade call to him, "I've got 
it had " and the next minu f e Mr Harris answered hirri ivith '"^n have 
I." He had been badlv wounded in the lower part of his left leg. and 
at the time this was written his leg was being kept bandaeed. Thus 
he was not a participant beyond the first few minutes in the famous 
battle of Cedar Creek. General Sheridan was then in Winchester and. 
as every American schoolboy knows, the Union forces were steadily 



1060 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

driven back for six or seven miles while he was making his wild ride 
up the valley, reaching the disorganized forces about noon and by 
the power of his personality turning a retreat into an advance. As 
one of the wounded Mr. Harris was taken in an ambulance seven 
miles to the rear and laid alongside the road, from which point of 
vantage he saw General Sheridan galloping to the front. In the ambu- 
lance, recalls Mr. Harris, was a German who had been painfully 
wounded, and who divided the time about equally between groaning, 
cursing and drinking from a quart flask of whiskey. Mr. Harris con- 
fesses that he helped his comrade subdue the bottle. It was two days 
before his leg received proper attention. For a day and a half he was 
on a wagon making slow and painful progress to the Baltimore & 
Ohio Railroad. By train he was taken to the Baltimore Hospital, 
where he remained three months., and then sent to the Philadelphia 
Hospital. Here the surgeons decided his leg should be amputated, 
but he insisted it should not. He won this contention, and while the 
leg is not the best support in the world, Mr. Harris has a great deal 
of regard for that member since it has served him in a measure for 
some fifty-five years. While he was wounded in October, 1864, it 
was not until June, 1865, that he was sent home to Augusta, Maine. 

After recovering somewhat from the wounds and hardships of war, 
Mr. Harris had some varied experiences in New England and in 
Canada. In 1871 he married Priscilla Parker at Coaticook, Quebec 
Province, where she was born. Mrs. Harris is the daughter of Alfred 
C. Parker of that place. They soon removed to Newell, Iowa, where 
they lived for thirteen years, and where he was first engaged in the 
banking business, purchasing the bank when he was twenty-eight 
years of age. Mrs. Harris' brother, S. A. Parker, was a partner. 

On leaving Iowa, Mr. Harris came into the mining regions of the 
southwest. He located at Prescott, Arizona, and was associated with 
Governor F. A. Tritle in a gold mining venture until he went broke. 
Nothing daunted, he joined A. G. Hubbard and George W. Bowers 
in the development of the Harquahala gold mine. It was something 
of a close corporation, there being three shares, one issued to each 
partner, and Mr. Hubbard was president and Mr. Harris secretary. 
They erected a twenty-stamp mill, and after a run of twenty-six 
months declared a cash dividend of more than five hundred thousand 
dollars. The property was then sold to an English syndicate for a 
million two hundred and fifty thousand dollars. Two years later Mr. 
Hubbard bought back the mines for six thousand dollars, and after 
holding them for a time sold the property for forty thousand dollars. 

Mr. Harris, having been fortunate in his Arizona mining ventures, 
left that territory and came direct to San Bernardino in 1893. A man 
of capital, he found opportunities for its investment and soon became 
associated with the San Bernardino National Bank and is still finan- 
cially interested in that institution, though really retired from all ac- 
tive business. 

Mr. Harris has been a life-long republican, and his father pos- 
sessed the same fundamental principles of politics. Mr. Harris is a 
member of the Masonic Order and of the Congregational Church. 
Mr. and Mrs. Harris had a daughter, Pearl, who died at the age of 
thirty years. She was the wife of Ralph E. Swing, of San Ber- 
nardino. Her only child, Everett, now sixteen years of age, is a 
pupil in Stanford University. Judge Edwin Parker, deceased, was 
a brother of Mrs. Harris. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1061 

Edwin J. Gilbert. — Coming to California over thirty years ago, Ed- 
win J. Gilbert played no small part in the public and financial life 
of San Bernardino County, and to no man is the city and county 
more indebted for skillful and perfect handling of her public affairs. 
From his childhood he displayed an exceptional aptitude for finance, 
and he had a varied experience along various lines dealing with 
finances and figures, giving him an exceptional knowledge of valuesi 
and finance. He passed away December 7, 1921. 

He made a close study of his life work and his conservatism, with 
a mind like wax to receive impressions and like steel to retain them, 
his watchword was integrity and his work was not to be measured 
by figures. He was closely identified with the official life of the 
county, especially in finance and in assessments. He had progressive 
ideas and kept abreast of all the modern methods of handling and 
dealing with financial question and all lines of his offices, and he was 
gifted with practical foresight and an intuitive sense of values, com- 
bined with rare judgment. So it is no wonder that his fellow men, 
following his career, early learned that he was one man who would 
work for the good and advancement of the commonwealth and de- 
manded at the polls his election to various important offices. This 
appreciation of Mr. Gilbert was not confined to one circle of citizens, 
but it was a popular demand from all classes that he be placed in the 
offices. There were no loose ends about his offices, for he not only 
knew how to do things himself but also how to get work done. 

Mr. Gilbert found recreation in the hard work pertaining to the 
assessorship and the intricacies of land and other values, and one 
thing his constituents know, his assessments were always strictly just 
to everyone, rich and poor alike. 

Mr. Gilbert was born in Rockford, Illinois, June 18, 1848, the son 
of Milo and Margaret (Palmer) Gilbert, his father a native of Ver- 
mont and his mother of Cleveland, Ohio. Milo Gilbert moved to 
Illinois from Vermont about 1846, and located on a farm near Rock- 
ford. He did not confine his attention to farming, but did railroad 
contracting and was also a manufacturer and a merchant, and he 
achieved success in all lines. He was a representative and prominent 
man of that county. He came out to California in 1886 and located 
at Colton, where he lived, actively engaged in business and enjoying 
the Southland, until his death in Colton in 1906. His wife died in 
1908. 

Mr. Gilbert was educated in the east, leaving Rockford with his 
father at the age of six years and locating in Charles City, Iowa. Here 
he attended school, and was graduated from the high school. He 
attended the Cedar Valley Seminary at Osage for two years. He 
then started to work, his first step on the road to success being em- 
ployment by the C. M. & St. Paul Railroad, on the office force. Here 
he remained eight years, acquiring a thorough education in that line 
of work, and some knowledge of his work must have become known 
to outsiders, for he was then elected county treasurer of Floyd Coun- 
ty, Iowa. This position he held for two terms and then decided to 
farm awhile. He farmed in Floyd County for four years and then 
went to Colton, California, where his father had been located over 
two years. His first work in his new home was as a deputy for the 
county tax collector, and he followed this for eight years. Then he 
went into the assessor's office as chief deputy, and filled that position 
ably for two years. 



1062 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

At this time he decided to go in business for himself, and accord- 
ingly opened offices in San Bernardino in 1909, making a specialty 
of public accounting, with that city as his headquarters. He was then, 
until 1913, the state inheritance tax appraiser, and from 1913 to 1914, 
a portion of each year, was president of the Board of Water Commis- 
sioners. By this time he had established such a high standing that 
he was appointed by the Board of Supervisors as county assessor, 
taking office the first Monday in January, 1915. He was, in fact, de- 
manded by the people for the office, and he held that office until 1919 
on that appointment, but in 1919 was elected for the four year term, 
and this position he held up to the time of his death, to the mutual 
benefit and satisfaction of all concerned. Mr. Gilbert was identified 
with financial circles of the city by a directorship in the American 
National Bank of San Bernardino. 

He married on May 4, 1870, Estelle Merrill, of Harmony, Maine, 
who died in May, 1914. They were the parents of three children : 
Lulu G., wife of Charles Miles, of Los Angeles, who has two children, 
Margery, wife of Dudley Strickland, of San Francisco, and who has 
three children; and Miss Florence, who was at home with her father. 
Mr. Gilbert was a member of San Bernardino Lodge No. 836, Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, and was a member of the Modern 
Woodmen of America from 1886. In politics he was always inde- 
pendent. 

George A. French came to Riverside on a three months' vacation 
from his New York practice, but liked the Gem City so well that before 
his vacation expired he purchased a half section of land and remained 
here. For several years he lived out in the open, ranching, and is still 
interested in ranching and citrus fruit growing, though for nearly a 
quarter of a century the law and politics have absorbed almost entirely 
his energies. He is one of the influential republican leaders in Riverside 
County, has represented the party in caucas and primary and in state 
and county conventions under the old election laws, and is still a member 
of the County Central Committee. 

While his early life was spent in New York City. Judge French 
represents a distinctive part of old New England, Vermont. The Frenches 
are of Welsh descent. During the Revolutionary period the family fur- 
nished supplies to the Continental Army in Vermont. His grandfather 
was a successful lawyer of that state, and for a number of years held the 
office of district attorney of Chittenden County. 

Judge French is a son of Charles O. French, who w\as born at 
Williston, Chittenden County, Vermont, February 24, 1839, and as a 
young man became a resident of Burlington, where he graduated from 
the University of Vermont. During the Civil war he served in the 
Twelfth Vermont Volunteers with the Army of the Potomac, and at 
the close of the struggle was commissioned captain. After the war he 
became proprietor of a book and stationery store at Burlington, but, 
seekine a larger field of activities, sold out in 1876 and removed to New 
York City, where he entered a general publishing business, an enterprise 
that proved hiehlv successful and grew to one of extensive dimensions, 
largely under his direction and as a result of his management. He was 
in this business until 1910, when he sold his interests and came to Rivern 
side to live with his son. While in New York he was president of the 
Dolores Valley Mining Company from 1882 to 1887. 

George A. French, a son of Charles O. and Mary H. French, was 
born at Burlington, Chittenden County, Vermont, July 5, 1868. Up to 




A. G. HUBBARD 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1063 

the age of eight years he attended public school in that city, afterward 
in New York, and in 1880 entered St. Paul's preparatory school at 
Concord, New Hampshire, graduating six years later. In 1889 he received 
the Bachelor of Arts degree from Trinity College at Hartford, Con- 
necticut, his alma mater three years later conferring upon him the degree 
Master of Arts. He began the preparatory course of lectures in the fall 
of 1890 in the law department of Columbia University at New York, 
but the next year entered the New York Law School, graduating LL.B. 
in 1892. 

Judge French was admitted to practice in the Supreme Court of New 
York State, and although a young man his abilities quickly attracted 
a large and important clientele in New York City. After a year of 
very hard work he took a vacation, traveling in Europe from October, 
1893, to June, 1894. He then visited Riverside, and its attractions proved 
a dominating influence sufficient to wean him altogether from the East. 
He bought a two hundred and forty acre ranch, and for three years 
lived outdoors, busied with its work and superintendence. He then 
moved into Riverside and resumed the practice of law, to which he has 
given his time ever since. He still owns a hundred sixty acres of farming 
land near Winchester and also a five acre orange grove in Riverside. 

In 1907 he was appointed judge of the Police Court by Mayor 
S. C. Evans, and by reappointment from succeeding mayors held that 
position until 1915. Since 1918 he has been assistant city attorney. 
During the World war he gave to the cause and needs of the Govern- 
ment call upon his time and finances, and was also a member of the 
Second Company of the California Home Guards. Socially and 
fraternally he is a member of numerous organizations, including 
the New England College Club, College Men's Association of Southern 
California, National Geographic Society, Psi Upsilon fraternity, Royal 
Arcanum and Independent Order of Foresters. 

At Riverside, July 25, 1899, Judge French married Miss Alice 
Lindenberger, of Winchester. Her father, Hon. F. T. Lindenberger, 
represented this district in the State Legislature in 1897. The four 
children of Judge and Mrs. French are: Dorothy E., a student in the 
Riverside Junior College; Mary H., Charles Oliver and David G., 
pupils in the Riverside schools. 

A. G. Hubbard came into the great West and Southwest shortly after 
the close of the Civil war. He had the training of a mining engineer, and 
the mining industry absorbed his enthusiasm, his strength and his abilities 
in California and in other sections of the Southwest until he had ac- 
cumulated a substantial fortune. In the meantime he had visited what 
is now the Redlands districts, had made some investments, and for many 
vears has been one of the foremost capitalists in directing and lending 
his resources to enterprises and individuals who have redeemed a desert 
country into one of the most profitable and beautiful sections of South- 
ern California. 

Mr. Hubbard was born in Wisconsin in 1847. As a youth he studied 
and acquired a knowledge of chemistry, metallurgy and mine engineering. 
It was in 1865 that he started across the plains on horseback, riding 
all the way from the Missouri River to the Citv of Mexico. Thence 
returning to Texas, he came on West to the Pacific Coast in the fall of 
1867. In 1886 Mr. Hubbard took charge of a copper mine for an 
English syndicate, and thereafter for several .vears was a mine super- 
intendent, had charge of reduction works, and did much expert service 
in reporting on prospects through Arizona, California, Mexico and New 



1064 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Mexico. From the active practice of his profession he accumulated 
enough capital to engage in mining for himself, and he opened and de- 
veloped and managed a number of mines in various states, giving prac- 
tically his entire time to the business until 1893. 

While on a vacation in 1878 Mr. Hubbard visited Redlands and the 
Santa Ana River Valley. With the eye of a practical engineer he con- 
templated the construction of a flume to carry lumber from the San 
Bernardino Mountains into the valley. Subsequent investigation re- 
vealed the fact that the Bear Valley Water Company had already ap- 
propriated the waters. While this frustrated his plans, Mr. Hubbard 
was so impressed with the valley that he invested a hundred and fifty 
thousand dollars on his own account, and even then prophesied that an 
enormous wealth would some day be returned to the orange industry in 
this vicinity. Mr. Hubbard improved a large part of his holdings. But 
the lure of the mining game was still strong upon him, and leaving his 
investments at Redlands he returned to his occupation, having pur- 
chased and in association with his old mining partner, George W. 
Bowers, undertook the development of the famous Harqua Hala Bonan- 
za property in Arizona. They opened this at an expense of about two 
hundred and seventy-five thousand dollars, and in a short time had 
taken out ores to the value of a million two hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars. With this success to his credit Mr. Hubbard sold his share 
of the property, and determined to retire altogether from mining. After 
two vears of extensive travel throughout North America, Mexico and 
the Gulf countries, he returned to Redlands and at once proceeded to 
carry out some plans for improvement that he had cherished. 

Almost his first act was to demolish the old Terrace Villa, one of 
the pioneer hotel properties of Redlands and where he had been a guest 
when it was in the course of construction. This was one of his first 
purchases in Redlands. and one the site he constructed the beautiful 
residence where he still resides and for which he retains the old name of 
the Villa Terrace. Subsequent years he has employed with wise public 
spirit and public generosity his resources as a capitalist, investing in 
property and also funding other men in their improvements and under- 
takings. To A. G. Hubbard Redlands owes in no small degree its won- 
derful prosperity. 

He married in 1887. in Redlands. Lura Spoor, daughter of Rev. 
O. H. Spoor, of Redlands. Thev have three children : Herbert L., 
a graduate of Stanford and now engaged in farming in San Bernardino 
Countv: Mabel G.. wife of Brooke E. Sawyer, of Santa Barbara; and 
Lura Hubbard, attending school. 

Mr. Hnbhard is a thirtv-second degree Mason through both the York 
nnd Scottish Bite and is also a member of the Badlands I.odo-p of Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks. Tn politics he is a republican. 

Tames McDouhall has given fully a third of a centurv of con- 
tinuous business activity to Riverside. He owns a large and profitable 
business in the painting and decorating trades, and more or less contin- 
uously since coming to California has also been interested in the develop- 
ment and ownership of orange groves. 

Mr. McDougall was bom at Woodstoek Ontario. Canada. August 3. 
1856. son of Tamps and Cecilia McDoupall His parents represented fam- 
ilies that vverp pioneers in Hamilton and Niagara Ealls on the Canadian 
side. His father had a successful career in those localities as an archi- 
tect nnri btiilder. 

Tames McDonpall arnnireH n nractiral pdn'-ation in the schools of 
Woodstock, and at the age of fifteen began a five years' apprenticeship 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1065 

in the painting and decorating business. He learned these trades thor- 
oughly, and they have been the foundation of his life work. For several 
years he had a good business at Woodstock, but in his enthusiasm for 
success took on heavier burdens than his strength would permit, and by 
1886 he realized his health was more important than his business, and 
early in 1887 he sold out and came to Riverside, California. In that year 
he bought some town lots and erected a home, where he and his good wife 
have lived continuously for thirty-four years. He was soon re-established 
on a profitable basis in the painting and decorating business, and still 
directs a thoroughly equipped and efficient organization in that line. He 
has developed several orange groves during the last thirty years, and 
always has one as a side line interest. 

Mr. McDougall is a man of more than one resource. As a child he 
was musically inclined, and at the age of fourteen was playing a clarionet 
in a military band attached to the Twenty-Second Rifle Regiment at 
Woodstock. He is a liberal republican in politics, with reform tendencies, 
is a member of the Masons and Elks, and he and Mrs. McDougall have 
been members of the Presbyterian Church since the church of that de- 
nomination was established at Riverside. 

At Woodstock, Canada, February 9. 1881. Mr. McDougall married 
Miss Mary McLean. Her parents came from Scotland on a sailing vessel 
to Canada in 1850. Mr. and Mrs. McDougall had six children, four sons 
and two daughters, one son dying in infancy. The two older sons, S. R. 
and J. B. McDougall. both served with Company M of the Seventh Regi- 
ment of the National Guard at Riverside. S. R. McDougall now con- 
ducts a blacksmith and automobile shop. J. Boyd McDoueall was deputy 
tax collector of Riverside Countv for seven years and died during the 
influenza epidemic of 1918-19. The third son, H. W. McDougall. is a 
refrigerating engineer. The two daughters. Jean and Winifred, are both 
married. 

Henry B. Slater — Riverside for a number of years has been the 
chosen home of a scientist and inventor whose name and work are 
known to practically every student of metallurgy and the chemistry 
of metals. The career of Henry B. Slater has been unlike that of 
most men who has attained distinction in the field of scholarship. 
The zest for adventure which impelled him as a youth to sail to all 
ports and quarters of the civilized globe no doubt has been a factor 
in the pursuit of knowledge which has characterized his later years. 

He was born at Birmingham. England. January 16. 1850. son of 
Frederick and Ann (Stokes 1 ) Slater, both of old English families. 
The Slater family runs back in Derbyshire for many generations. 
His grandfather was a member of Wellington's staff. Frederick 
Slater was a carter in England, an occupation better described in 
this country as that of a transfer man. Henrv B. Slater has three 
brothers and two sisters living; Tames, a retired business man at 
Birmingham ; Fred, a gentleman farmer, now practically retired, of 
Knowle and Birmingham : George, a Birmingham business man ; Mrs 
Marie Fisher, wife of a business man at Irvington, New Jersey ; and 
Sarah Jane, of Birmingham. 

Intellectual curiosity and the faculty of enterprise early matured 
in the character of Henry B. Slater, and he was a mere child when 
he made up his mind to see what the world was like outside of his 
local environment. At the age of ten he ran away and tramped to 
London, the romance of the sea appealing to him and he s ecured a 
berth aboard the steamship "Pilot" of the General Steam Navigation 



1066 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Company's line. He went on board as "call boy" at a time when no 
ships were equipped with electric bells or telephones, and when verbal 
messages had to be communicated from one part of the ship to another 
by messenger boys. On the Pilot he made several trips between 
London and Hamburg. He next joined the Sarah Scott, a full rigged 
ship bound for the East Indies. On his eleventh birthday, in 1861, 
he was going through the Mozambique Channel. The cruise con- 
tinued to the East Indies, Australia, the Philippine Islands, Japan, 
and in 1863 he sailed from Cebu, Philippine Islands, for London 
by way of Honolulu, San Francisco and the Horn. The boat dis- 
charged part of its cargo in San Francisco, thence departing, Decem- 
ber 16, 1863, around the Horn and arriving in London in May, 1864. 
Young Slater was afterward on different vessels on the French, 
German and Danish coasts and in the White Sea at Archangel. While 
at Jaffa in the Mediterranean he and three other shipmates took A. W. 
O. L. and visited in Jerusalem a week. Returning to Jaffa they found 
their vessel waiting for them. 

Still another trip around the world was made by way of Cape 
Good Hope to the East Indies and back around the Horn. In 1868 
he sailed from Newport, Wales, for Halifax, Nova Scotia, in the bark 
Janet of Liverpool, Nova Scotia. During the next two years he was in 
the coastal service out of Liverpool, Nova Scotia, to the West Indies 
and South American ports. Wednesday, January 25, 1870, Mr. Slater 
sailed from New York to Liverpool, Nova Scotia. The vessel en- 
countered a heavy blow from the northwest, and the ship was lost. 
The crew took to the ship's long boat and were exposed twenty-one 
days before being rescued. There were eleven in the boat, but all 
came through. That voyage of hardship coincided with the storm 
when the City of Boston of the Inman line disappeared. This boat 
left Halifax the last Saturday in January, 1870, and was never heard 
from again. 

Mr. Slater made one more trip from Liverpool, Nova Scotia, to 
the West Indies, with the understanding that he was to receive his 
discharge in the United States. On arrival in New York in September, 
1870, he was given his discharge and went to Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts. He remained there until 1874, by which time he had 
completed his apprenticeship as a machinist with J. J. Walworth & 
Company, now the Walworth Manufacturing Company. He then re- 
visited England, returning to the United States late in the fall, and spent 
the time until the spring of 1875 in and around Liverpool, Nova Scotia. 
His early industrial experience was at Providence. Rhode Island, where 
he worked for a time in the tool department of the Brown & Sharpe Man- 
ufacturing Company and also in the Corliss Engine Works. 

Mr. Slater set out for California in 1876. Circumstances caused 
him to abandon his journey and remain in Missouri, where he enrolled 
as a student in Drurv College in Springfield. He pursued his studies 
there until July. 1879, and then returned East and for a year was in 
Brown L T niversity at Providence. Rhode Island. At Brown he studied 
Greek under Benjamin Ide Wheeler, whose name is familiarly linked 
with the University of California. While in Missouri Mr. Slater 
contracted malaria, and this, together with pecuniary embarrassment, 
caused him to give up the intention of completing his university 
career. 

About that time he became associated with others in the business 
of electro plating, and that was his specialty for some time. Nickel 
plating was then in its infancy, and having made some improvements 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1067 

in the process he was employed by the Providence Tool Company of 
Rhode Island to set up its plant to do its own plating. In 1882 
he was employed by the Singer Manufacturing Company of Elizabeth, 
New Jersey, to install the plating process there. 

During 1882-83-84-85, while with the Singer Company, Mr. Slater 
became interested in chlorine, with special reference to its action 
upon mineral contents of ores. His continued studies and experiments 
of nearly forty years make him probably the foremost authority on 
the use of chlorine in economic metallurgy. In 1889 he obtained a 
patent for a process of extracting zinc from low grade ores, such as 
those found in the Leadville district of Colorado, whither he had 
removed in 1888. About that time he was also experimenting in 
electrical generators and motors, and was granted several patents 
for improvements on such machinery. 

Mr. Slater was in Colorado until 1902, when he removed to Cali- 
fornia. For the past twenty years his time has been devoted 
principally to research along metallurgical lines. He, has been as- 
sociated for the last sixteen years with R. B. Sheldon, a prominent 
Riverside business man, whose career is elsewhere sketched in this 
publication. In the past eight years Mr. Slater has been granted 
ten different patents on improvements in metallurgical processes. 
The underlying principles in these processes involve the use of 
chlorine generated electrolitically in combination with other sub- 
stances in the formation of a leeching solution with which to extract 
the metallic values from ores. Copper ores have been the chief 
subject of his experimental work. Recently he has been engaged in 
the problem of simplifying a process for making of what is known 
as Dakin's solution, a chemical and medicinal preparation so success- 
fully used in surgery during the late war by Dr. Alexis Carrel. 
His aim is to arrange for production of this solution by those 
without technical training through the simple application of an electric 
current that will prepare it in the proper strength for immediate use. 

Mr. Slater has received many recognitions of his scientific attain- 
ments. Drury College conferred upon him the honorary degree of 
Master of Science in 1889. He was one of the founders of the 
American Institute of Electrical Engineers in 1884. He is a member 
of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, 
a member of the American Chemical Society, the American Asso- 
ciation for the Advancement of Science, the National Geographic 
Society, the Joint Technical Societies of Los Angeles. He is a 
member of the Gamut Club of Los Angeles, Present Day Club of 
Riverside, and Riverside Lodge No. 643, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. Many years ago he was member for three years of 
Company K, Fifth Regiment, of the Massachusetts State Militia. 
He votes as a republican. 

September 19, 1889, at Cincinnati, Ohio, Mr. Slater married Miss 
Minnie Osmond, a native of that city. Her father was an Englishman 
by birth and a prominent physician at Cincinnati. Mrs. Slater died 
in March, 1893, and is survived by one son, Edwin Osmond Slater. 
He had been a student for three years in the University of California 
when he was called to the army, entered the Officers Training School 
at The Presidio, San Francisco, was commissioned a second lieutenant 
in Company K, 363rd Infantry, at Camp Lewis, and afterwards 
assigned to' Company M, and went to France with the Ninety-first 
Division. While overseas he was promoted to first lieutenant, and 
saw active service through the San Mihiel and Argonne campaigns 



1068 SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

and in Flanders. After the signing of the armistice he was detailed 
for other duties and returned to this country- in the fall of 1919, and 
received an honorable discharge. 

James H. Bubtker ha.- to his credit forty consecutive years as a 
railroad man, and nearly half of that service has been in California. 
For a number of years he has been district freight and passenger 
agent for the Salt Lake Railroad now the Union Pacific System at 
Riverside. 

Mr. Burtner took up railroading not far from the community 
where he was born. His birthplace was a farm near New Goshen 
in Vigo Count}-, Indiana, where he first saw the light of day February 
10. 1859. He represents an old American family of Pennsylvania 
Dutch descent and Revolutionary stock. His father, John Burtner, 
was born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania. A brother, Rev. 
George W. Burtner. who with his foster brother, John Carroll, of 
Dayton. Ohio, served in the Union Army all through the war. John 
Burtner was an itinerant minister of the United Brethern Church 
and a farmer, was reared at Dayton, Ohio and subsequently moved 
to Illinois. The old Burtner homestead in Dayton. Ohio, is now 
Shiloh Springs Sanitarium. The mother of James H. Burtner was 
Margaret Ann Berry, born in Rockingham Count}-, Virginia, of 
an English family that came to America in 1680. James H. Burtner 
attended public schools and high school in Illinois, and completed 
a teacher's course at YVestfield College in Illinois in 1879. While he 
had a year or so of experience as a teacher in Illinois, on January 1. 
1881. he went to work for the Big Four Railroad Company at Paris, 
Illinois, remaining there five years, and altogether spent twenty-two 
years with the Big Four station work. On March 15, 1903. he began 
his duties as first agent of the Salt Lake lines at Pomona, was made 
hrst agent at Riverside in 1904. and later was commercial agent here 
and for 2-2 years was district freight and passenger agent at Salt 
Lake City-. He then came to Riverside as district freight and passen- 
ger agent, and that has been his place of duty ever since except during 
the period of the war. When the Government took over the railroads 
the Traffic department was practically suspended, and he was assigned 
to duly- with the operating department at Castmore. operating between 
Riverside and Castmore through to Rialto and Bly, and was prac- 
tically general executive of the operating division over that section 
during the war. 

In younger years while at Paris, Illinois, Mr. Burtner was in 
the Sixth Regiment. Illinois National Guard, for five years, and part 
of the time was leader of the Sixth Regiment Band. He was quite 
active in republican politics in Illinois, and was alderman at Litch- 
field during the great railroad strike period. Mr. Burtner has been 
a director for many years of the Riverside Chamber of Commerce, is 
a past exalted ruler of the Elks, served as noble grand of the Odd 
Fellows in Illinois, and is a member of the Modern Woodmen of 
America. At Robinson, Illinois, May 31, 1883, he married Flora 
A. Burson, daughter of Henderson Burson. a merchant now deceased. 
Mr. and Mrs. Burtner have one daughter, Mabel H., a graduate of 
the Cumnock School of Los Angeles. 

William J. Tebo — In the affairs of Chino and the Chino Valley 
during the last forty years no one has played a more rigorous part than 
William J. Tebo, merchant, farmer, with constantly growing business 




t 




\uu yh.^.^jUf 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1009 

interests, and at the same time a strenuous law and order man who has 
proved himself indispensable to the task of making this a clean and sate 
place in which to live. 

Mr. Tebo was born at Dundas, Province of Ontario, Canada, June 
20, 1865, son of George and Elizabeth (btrong) Tebo. His father was 
a native of Canada, wnere he spent his life as a farmer. He was left 
an orphan when a child and was reared by friends until old enough 
to make his own way. He lived to the remarkable age of ninety-eight 
years, passing away August 27, 1921. His wife was born in England 
and came to Canada with her parents at the age of seventeen. 

William J. Tebo, one of a family of four sons and four daughters, 
acquired a good common school education, and in 1881, at the age of 
sixteen, left Canada and went to Plymouth County, Iowa. That was 
a prairie county and new, cattle raising being the principal industry. He 
secured employment the first year working among the cattle and con- 
structing pole sheds covered with flax straw for protection from the 
winter storms. The following summer he farmed and then rented land 
and went on his own hook. He bought horses and tools, put in a crop, 
but later discovered that the horses he had bought were afflicted with a 
virulent disease, the glanders. The authorities took the animals, de- 
stroyed them, buried the harness and burned his shed barns as the offi- 
cial means to stamp out the disease. It was a heavy financial blow to 
Mr. Tebo. There was one consolation, however, he had planted his 
corn crop on a high ridge of land. A frost had killed most of the corn 
in that section, but his being on the high ground was uninjured, and he 
was able to sell the crop for seed corn at a premium. 

In the fall of 1883 Mr. Tebo left Iowa and came to Sacramento, 
California, working here one year. He then went back to Iowa, primarily 
to testify in behalf of a friend who, like himself, had bought diseased 
horses on time. The seller had sued his friend for damages, but Mr. 
Tebo's testimony established a defense that prevented the fraud. While 
in Iowa in 1884 Mr. Tebo married Miss Alice Hammond, a native of 
that state. Again for a season he tried farming there, and had a con- 
tract for breaking a large prairie. In that year Iowa became a prohibi- 
tion state and was afflicted with hard times. Mr. Tebo sold his teams, 
and two weeks later was on his way to California. After one year in 
Yolo County, where he broke and shipped horses to the Los Angeles 
market, Mr. Tebo, about 1886, moved south and bought a half interest 
in 120 acres of land east of and near Chino. 

At this time this section was a splendid stock range, and land sur- 
veys were just being run and the surveyors were working on a plat 
of Chino townsite. Mr. Tebo soon traded his land interests for Chiho 
lots, and built one of the first homes in the town, at the corner of B and 
Sixth streets. He has lived on this property for more than thirty-five 
years, and about ten years ago he built one of the most modern homes of 
the town. There has been no interruption to his work as a farmer in 
all these years. In 1891 work was started on the construction of the 
sugar refinery, .and for about a year he did much of the hauling of 
material for that purpose. In 1892 he opened a feed, grocery and general 
merchandise store, operating it for two years and selling to B. K. 
Galbreath. 

Mr. Tebo is the father of four children. The oldest, Mabel, who was 
born at Woodland, Yolo County, September 20, 1885, is a graduate of 
the Chino High School, is a graduate nurse, and followed that pro- 
fession until her marriage to William Cissna, who died leaving two 
children, Aletha and Robley. She is now Mrs. Rolf Lindner. The second 



1070 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

child, Ethel, who was born at Chino June 28, 1893, is a graduate of the 
Chino High School and the Los Angeles State Normal School, is a 
trained nurse, and is now the wife of Stanley Goode, a graduate of 
law in Stanford University. Their two children are Betty and William. 
The third child is Frederick A. Tebo, actively associated with his father 
in business. The fourth, Genevieve, who was born at Chino July 16. 
1897, is a graduate of the Chino High School and was married in 1919 
to Grover Breselin, who died in 1920. 

Frederick A. Tebo was born February 22, 1895, progressed with his 
education in the Chino High School, but on account of poor health left 
school and, though much under age, with his parents' consent joined 
Company D of the Pomona National Guard and was on border duty 
during the Mexican troubles. He was sent to the hospital and operated 
on for appendicitis, was invalided home, and in the World war was 
rejected and placed in Class 5. He was in the Edison Company's office 
at Chino until it was removed, and is now bearing some of the heavy 
burdens of his father's business. They lease and farm 1,200 acres, 
growing alfalfa, grain and sugar beets, operating one 75-horse power 
tractor and two smaller tractors, and all other modern equipment. They 
also do an extensive trading business, needing three heavy service trucks 
for transporting goods and commodities. They have established a whole- 
sale and retail feed, fuel, hay and grain business under the firm name 
of Fugate & Tebo at the corner of Seventh and D streets in Chino. 
Frederick A. Tebo married Miss Elizabeth Beach, who was socially 
prominent at Pomona. 

Mr. William J. Tebo delivered all the material for the construction 
of the Edison high power line from Colton to Long Beach. In this and 
in many other ways he has kept in close touch with the progressive 
development of this section. He saw the valley when it was an immense 
stock range. Richard Gird owned an enormous herd of Durham and 
Holstein cattle and over 350 blooded Percheron horses which ranged 
all over the valley. There was no railroad, a trail going through the 
brush to Pomona. Later came Gird's dummy line from Ontario, and 
still later the present Southern Pacific road from Pomona to Ontario. 
Mr. Tebo was a member of the first City Council of Chino, and is still 
on the council. Chino in early times was noted for its saloons and 
brawls, and there were many instances of murders and fights. He was 
appointed deputy sheriff and later elected constable, has been in that 
office now for over twenty years and has made good his resolve to clear 
up the community. Although he has never called for assistance, he has 
again and again encountered and overawed bad men. It has been a 
hazardous duty and several times he has been shot at and was twice 
wounded by gun shot. He is known as the bad man's nemesis of the 
Chino Valley. Mr. Tebo was admitted to American citizenship in Judge 
Campbell's court at San Bernardino in 1890, and his citizenship has been 
of a positive character and one accompanied by usefulness and loyalty 
in every sense. 

William B. Payton, M. D. — With forty vears of •professional serv- 
ice to his credit Dr. Payton has been a physician and surgeon of high 
rank both in the Middle W r est and on the Pacific Coast. He is still 
in active practice at Riverside, and has also become financially and 
personally interested in constructive development work in the agricultural 
sections of this countv and the adjacent counties. 

Dr. Payton was born at Kokomo, Indiana, November 16, 1856, 
and is of Scotch-Irish descent. He was only six years old when 
his mother, Isabelle (Bailey) Payton, died. She was born in Indiana. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1071 

His father, L. B. Pay ton, now deceased, was a native of Kentucky, 
and during the Civil war served as a non-commissioned officer in the 
46th Indiana Infantry. He was a farmer by occupation. 

Dr. Payton acquired a public school education, also attended 
the Indiana Normal School, and graduated in medicine from the 
University of Michigan in 1881. For ten years he practiced at 
Greentown, Indiana. About that time his wife developed tuberculosis, 
following two attacks of La Grippe, and he brought her to Riverside 
for the winter. She began to recover, and he determined to remain 
here permanently. His affection for the community dates from that 
time, and he found the people as well as the climate delightful and kind- 
ness personified. Going back to Indiana and adjusting his affairs he re- 
turned, and on the advice of Dr. Gill went to Perris on April 6, 1892. Mrs. 
Payton continuing to improve, he felt justified in going East in 
1893 to attend the World's Fair in Chicago, and visit in Indiana. 
During this trip Mrs. Payton contracted a cold and died in December, 
1894. Dr. Payton then resumed practice in the East, and remained 
there about ten years. For the past sixteen years he has been in active 
practice in Riverside. He has been honored with the' office of president 
of the County Medical Society, is also a member of the California 
State and American Medical Associations, and his knowledge and 
long experience give him a high rank in his profession. 

Dr. Payton while at Perris was a pioneer in the irrigation projects 
there. He now owns ranches in Kern County and Coachella, and 
has a date orchard at Thermal. He was formerly owner of some 
real estate in Los Angeles. While in Indiana he held the office of 
county coroner. Dr. Payton is a republican, a member of the Methodist 
Church, has filled chairs in the Masonic Lodge, and is affiliated with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias and Wood- 
men of the World. 

By his first marriage his only daughter, Mabel died at the age of 
twenty. On Novemer 16, 1898, at Perris, California, he married 
Grace Plimpton, a native of Chicago. Her father was the late Colonel 
H. A. Plimpton, prominently identified with fruit culture at Perris. 
Dr. and Mrs. Payton have two children: Harold, a student in the 
University of California, and Mary Lois, attending the Riverside 
High School. 

James A. Bell. — While he has not been a resident of the City of 
Riverside long enough to class as a pioneer he is a native son of 
California and possesses all the characteristics such fortunates are 
popularly supposed to have. He is the son of a pioneer and was 
educated in the Golden State, and when it came time for him to enter 
the business world for himself he chose Riverside for his business 
enterprise and as a home. In short space of time, as the years go, 
he has built up a good and ever increasing patronage, gained by 
square dealing, courtesy and strict attention to business ethics. Mr. Bell 
can surely congratulate himself upon his business and social standing in 
the city of his choice. 

Well known and popular as Mr. Bell is in other ways, he has also 
made himself well known by his work in the Knights of Columbus 
organization here. He has headed it since August, 1920, when he was 
made grand knight of the order. Two years ago, when the order 
here had but forty-three members, Mr. Bell joined with Grand Knight 
Richard J. Welsh in making it popular, and they succeeded, for when 
Mr. Bell became grand knight the membership numbered two hun- 



1072 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

dred, a larger percentage increase than in any other lodge in the state. 
Mr. Bell previously served as warden and as deputy grand knight. 
The membership is steadily on the increase all the time. 

James A. Bell was born in San Francisco, April 9, 1880, a son of 
Henry and Rose (Boyle) Bell. Henry Bell was a native of Ireland 
and came to the United States when a young man, settling in Brock- 
line, Massachusetts. So quickly did he become a thorough, loyal 
American that in 1864, January 26, he joined Company A., Massa- 
chusetts Volunteers, under Major Henry Splaine, serving under him 
and engaging in many battles, until he was mustered out July 11, 
1865. He came out to California in 1870, and followed his profession, 
that of landscape gardening, until his death in June, 1917. Mrs. Bell, 
who is also a native of Ireland, survives him and is a resident of 
Danville, California. 

James A. Bell received his education in the public and high 
schools of Berkeley, California, his first work being in a drug store of 
that city, where he was engaged during his four years course in the 
high school. At the end of his school days, his graduation, he con- 
tinued in the drug business successively in Tracy, Newman and Los 
Angeles until 1909, when he determined to come to Riverside and start 
in business for himself, which proved a very wise move. He opened 
his store at 214 West Eighth Street under the name of the Salt Lake 
Store, and which he has conducted ever since and with ever increas- 
ing success. In addition to the Knights of Columbus Mr. Bell is a 
member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of Riverside. 

On November 30, 1911, at Santa Ana, California, he married Miss 
Jennie M. Hansen, a native of Chicago and a daughter of Mrs. M. 
Hansen, who was one of the old pioneer families of Fresno, California. 
They are the parents of two children : James A. Bell, Jr., and Eugene J. 
Bell. 

Harry E. Courtney. — The vice president of the Riverside Abstract 
Company, Harry E. Courtney is one of those sterling citizens who is 
a distinct asset to the community in which he lives. Thoroughly 
equipped for the profession, he has steadily made his way from the 
bottom to the top, and there is no detail of the business with which 
he is not thoroughly familiar. 

Although he has not been here for a long period of time, Mr. 
Courtney is an energetic member of the "booster club," and no task 
done for the good of the city of his choice is hard enough to make 
him shrink from working for its success. His progressive ideas are 
always expressed in no uncertain manner, and his intuitive sense of 
affairs has been of great assistance in many enterprises. His whole 
idea is simply to serve. This same dominant thought possessed him 
during the World war, service arid yet more service, soliciting funds, 
working in all the drives and for the sale of Liberty Bonds. He 
"carried on" night and day, always ready for the next task. 

Mr. Courtney was born in Delaware County, Pennsylvania, Sep- 
tember 14, 1878, the son of Henry C. and Letitia (Roberts) Courtney. 
His father was a farmer and served during the Civil war in the South- 
ern Army as a captain. He was captured and held prisoner in the 
North until the close of the war. He was descended from an old 
American family of English ancestry. His wife, now deceased, was 
a native of Pennsylvania. 

Harry E. Courtney was educated in the public schools of Delaware 
County, Pennsylvania, and in a business college of that county. His 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1073 

first experience \v;is as a clerk in a general store in West Gove, Penn- 
sylvania, and from there he went to Philadelphia and worked for the 
Supplee Hardware Company for four years. This was one of the 
largest jobbing houses in the country. 

In 1904 he came to Riverside, and decided to make it his home, 
working for the Newberry Grocery Company for two years and a 
half. Prom this he went to his real life work, to the Riverside Ab- 
stract Company, and has continued with them ever since. He worked 
for them through the various positions until he is now its vice presi- 
dent. 

The Riverside Abstract Company was organized in 1894, with a 
capital of $62,000, which in 1911 was increased to $100,000, fully paid 
and out of this company in 1920 was formed the Title Insurance 
Company of Riverside, in which Mr. Courtney is one of the stock- 
holders and directors, its president being Frank D. Troth, a 
sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. Under the laws of 
this state the company deposited with the state treasurer $100,000 a> 
a permanent guarantee fund. In addition to this it is required to 
lay by ten per cent of every dollar collected, as premium or fees, as 
a special reserve fund for additional protection to its clients. The 
combined capital and surplus of the parent company and the Title 
Insurance Company is $215,000, including the guarantee fund de- 
posited with the state treasurer. The Title Insurance Company of 
Riverside, is the first organization of its kind in the county, and is a 
progressive movement in insuring titles to lands within its borders. 

Mr. Courtney is a member of the Riverside Chamber of Commerce 
and is secretary of the Riverside Realty Board. He is a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Present Day Club, and 
in religious faith he is connected with the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Politically he is a republican, and an active one, taking a 
live part in all the local elections, as well as in all others. 

Mr. Courtney married Miss Anna B. Cook, a native of Ohio and 
a daughter of Augustus Cook. 

Samuel C. Pine, Sr., was one of the most rugged of the early 
pioneers that came into the San Bernardino Valley, and the family he 
founded here has proved typical of his virtues and hardy manhood. 

He was born in St. Lawrence County, New York, July 30, 1825, and 
died at his home at Rincon, January 16, 1897. His father, Joseph Pine, 
was a native of Boston, son of Captain Pine, who participated in the 
battle of Lexington at the beginning of the Revolutionary war. Joseph 
Pine was a minister of the Congregational Church, and in 1883 moved 
to the Western Reserve of Ohio, where his son Samuel grew to man- 
hood. Samuel Pine in 1850 equipped an. ox team in Illinois and started 
across the plains to Fort Bridges, Wyoming. There for several years 
he remained operating a trading post. He then went on to Salt Lake, 
where he lived about four years, engaged in stock raising. He never 
became a member of the Mormon Church, though he paid tithing and 
while in Salt Lake punctually attended church. 

In 1858 he left Salt Lake bound for San Bernardino, California. 
As he was leaving the authorities at Salt Lake demanded his best ox 
team, telling him the Lord needed it. However, the chief intention was 
to delay or restrain his leaving altogether. He had been frugal and had 
saved money, and he at once bought another yoke of oxen and joined 
the train. He first settled in the Yucaipa Valley, where he became a 
stock raiser. He and Frank Talmadge erected and operated the first 



1074 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

saw mill in the San Bernardino Mountain, in Little Bear Valley. It 
was a water power mill. He moved to San Bernardino, then to Lytle 
Creek in 1865, next to Jurupa, and in 1867 he purchased a squatter's 
claim at Rincon, adjoining the Chino ranch. He had left the Little Bear 
Valley mill fearing Indian attacks, since the red men had already made 
hostile demonstrations against the mill plant. At Rincon he acquired 
148 acres. The title was not clear, and it required several years to get 
a Federal patent. He improved the land, planting fruit and farming 
on an extensive scale there until his death in 1897. 

Samuel C. Pine was a western giant, six feet four and a quarter 
inches tall, spare, large boned, weighing 235 pounds, and in pioneer 
days he never carried a pistol, as was the custom, being confident of 
settling all disputes with his bare hands, though it is said he could not 
run. He was an expert hunter and a sure shot. He became noted in 
the Yucaipa Valley as having the best brand of cattle in the district. 
He reared his family with the same honest, hardy principles as himself, 
and his sons readily followed his example as pioneers, helping improve 
the wilderness and bringing life into the barren desert. 

Mr. Pine married Jane Morrison, daughter of John and Ellen Morri- 
son, of Buffalo, New York. She died Thanksgiving Day of 1913. The 
five sons of this union were all reared in San Bernardino County. The 
oldest, Samuel, was born in Utah, December 26, 1856. Edward and 
Edwin, twins, were born July 28, 1860, in Cottonwood Row at old San 
Bernardino. Myron was born May 22, 1868, and Dudley was born at 
Rincon, June 2, 1872. 

Samuel Pine, Jr., was almost a life-long resident of San Bernardino 
County. He came here with his father, the late Samuel C. Pine, Sr., in 
the manner described elsewhere, and he married here into another 
pioneer family, the Gregorys. The two families, from pioneer days to 
the present, have been among the most substantial citizens of this 
section. 

Samuel Pine, Jr., was born in Utah, December 26, 1856, and was 
less than two years. of age when his parents came from Salt Lake to 
San Bernardino in 1858. As soon as he was old enough he began 
taking part in the labors of the household, and was associated with his 
father until 1877, when he pre-empted 130 acres of Government land 
on Pine Avenue and Corona Road. This he developed and improved, 
and on it put down one of the first artesian wells in this section. He 
became prosperous as a general farmer and dairyman. On leaving the 
ranch he lived for some years in San Diego County, where he served 
as county road overseer. He then returned to his home ranch and in 
1902 was elected a member of the Board of County Supervisors of San 
Bernardino County, representing the Fourth District, and proved an in- 
valuable member of that very efficient board. He was active in the 
republican party. 

Mr. Pine died at the ranch home March 24, 1919. He added sub- 
stantially to his holdings and he prospered, though he never sought 
financial assistance from his father and needed none, and depended 
upon his strength and manhood to achieve success for himself and 
family. His wife, Beatrice Gregory, was born in San Bernardino 
October 13, 1859, daughter of John and Marv Ann (Dunkerlv) Gregory. 
Her parents were natives of England, became converts to the Mormon 
Church there, and soon after their marriage thev sailed for America, 
being six weeks on a sailing vessel from Liverpool to New Orleans. At 
first they tried farming; in Mississippi. The leaders of the church ad- 
vised them that all Mississippi .would sink and that Utah alone would 




jrf/2^-t*<sts<i< f/- 



'f^-K 



1783746 

SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1075 

be safe, and as good church people at that time they left Mississippi and 
drove a team, consisting of one ox and one cow, all the way to Salt 
Lake City. They milked the cow night and morning en route, and 
reached their destination after many dangers and hardships. They were, 
part of a large train made up of ox teams. .The men would drive the 
oxen, whip in one hand and rifle in the other, and frequently Indians 
rode about them in circles with bent bow and arrow in place. They 
remained in Salt Lake two years, undergoing a period of great stress 
and imminent starvation. Then, in 1851, they started for San Bernardino, 
locating there with the old Mormon colony. For a time they continued 
to pay tithing to the Mormon Church, but finally recognized the inherent 
paucity of the church organization and abandoned their affiliations alto- 
gether. John Gregory and wife had five children: Alice, Eliza, Beatrice 
(who is Mrs. Samuel Pine), John and Harriet. Mrs. Pine and her 
sisters all shared in the work of the home during the early days in San 
Bernardino and walked two miles to school. She and her sisters fre- 
quently drove the ox teams to haul wood, to the harrow in preparing soil 
for the sowing of seed, and even went to San Bernardino with ox teams. 
There were few horses at the time and no carriages. 

Mr. and Mrs. Pine reared four children. The oldest, Rena Belle 
Pine, born November 24, 1883, is a highly respected and influential edu- 
cator and a teacher in the San Bernardino High School. Samuel John, 
born March 3, 1895, is a graduate of high school and is a farmer. 
Mark Pine, born January 15, 1897, enlisted in the navy at the time 
of the World war, made many trips across the Atlantic as a convoy of 
troop ships, and was in mid-ocean when the armistice was signed, and 
he and his comrades partook in the universal rejoicing at the news 
received over wireless. After leaving the navy he returnd home and 
is now a farmer and dairyman on the home ranch. Lorraine Beatrice, 
the youngest child, was born November 6, 1898, is a graduate of high 
school and the Universitv of California, Southern Branch, and is now 
a teacher. She is the wife of Merle Haynes. who is now attending the 
Oregon Agricultural College. 

Samuel Pine, Jr.. at one time knew every resident in San Bernardino 
County when it comprised Riverside County. He was as well known and 
respected as this acquaintance would indicate, and he measured up to the 
best standards of good citizenship. Mrs. Pine and familv are members 
of the Congregational Church, and all of them are republicans. 

John F. Hanna. — While he has made considerable investment, has 
been interested and is still interested in orange culture and has taken an 
active part in local affairs, John F. Hanna practically laid aside the heavy 
responsibilities of his business career when he came to Riverside more 
than fifteen years ago. 

Mr. Hanna was associated with some of the greatest ranching and 
livestock enterprise of the Middle West, and has a verv interestine family 
record. He was born in Crawford Countv. Ohio. September 18. 1847. 
His parents were Samuel and Catherine (HofmaiU Hanna. both natives 
of Pennsylvania, his mother of Pennsylvania Dutch descent. His father 
was of an old American familv of Scotch-Irish descent, established in 
the Colonies before the Revolutionary war. One branch of the familv 
was represented bv the great Ohio politician and party leader. Mark 
Hanna. Samuel Hanna was a youth when he accompanied his father 
to Ohio and settled in the timber and develooed a farm out of the woods 
in Crawford County. Because of physical incapacity Samuel Hanna 
could not qualify for seryire in the Civil war. He was a United Presbv- 



1076 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

terian, and for many years was closely identified with that sturdy sect. 
He was musically gifted, with a fine tenor voice, and sang in church and 
at many large conventions. 

John F. Hanna was educated in private schools in Ohio and in the 
Savannah Academy in that state. His early life was spent on a farm, 
and after the death of his father he took the management of the old 
homestead. At the age of twenty-seven John F. Hanna married a 
daughter of David Rankin, who was one of the world's greatest farmers 
and stockmen. At that time David Rankin's interests were largely cen- 
tered in Illinois in the corn belt. John F. Hanna after his marriage be- 
came foreman of the Rankin ranch at Biggsville, Illinois, remaining 
there two and a half years, and then took charge of another Rankin farm 
twelve miles south, operating it in partnership with Mr. Rankin. After 
three years Mr. Hanna moved to Northwestern Missouri, where David 
Rankin had bought some thirty thousand acres of land. A large part 
of this was planted to corn, and the immense industry thus entailed 
made Rankin known as the "corn king of Missouri." David Rankin also 
became founder of the new town of Tarkio, and John F. Hanna was 
associated with him in the early days of that substantial old college town. 
He was associated there in the mercantile business with Mr. Rankin and 
Mr. Hunter. He also bought 1,280 acres four miles east of Tarkio, and 
farmed it for many years, and his sons still operate this tract. Mr. 
Hanna was identified with the first store at Tarkio, and this store sold 
ninety thousand dollars worth of goods the first vear. David Rankin 
and family were among the most generous contributors to the United 
Presbyterian School, Tarkio College, and John F. Hanna for many years 
was a member of the Board of Trustees of the college. 

Mr. Hanna came to Riverside in 1906 and bought an orange grove of 
nine and a half acres on Victoria Avenue. This grove he sold recently, 
but is still interested in other groves. He is a lover of Riverside both 
for its natural attractions and as a community. He has been a member 
of the City Council and acted as mavor for about six weeks while W. L. 
Peters was absent from the city. For three vears he was president of 
the City Council. Mr. Hanna has been a determined opponent of the 
liquor traffic all his life. He became identified with the prohibition cause 
while living in Ohio, continued this interest while in Missouri, and after 
coming to California served as president of the Riverside Countv Drv 
Federation and was once its treasurer. He has been active in republican 
politics, and his personal patriotism is as deep seated as that of the familv 
of which he is a member. As a vouth he ran awav from home and tried 
to get into the Union Armv. hut his fa+her took him back. He has been 
an elder in the United Presbvterian Church since he was twentv-one. 
and altogether has served as Sundav School superintendent twenty- 
five years and still teaches a class. He and Mrs. Hanna practically or- 
ganized the United Presbyterians at Riverside. 

Mr. Hanna married Miss Nettie V. Rankin, who was born in Illinois. 
Her brother, John Rankin, is president of the Rankin Farm Corporation. 
Her youngest brother. \V. F. Rankin, died several years a^o. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hanna return to Missouri everv summer, drive about over the 
ranch and the district, and visit old friends and associates. The two 
sons of Mr. and Mrs. Hanna are Charles R. and lohn Winfield Hanna. 
Charles married Miss Winifred McCausjhan. a native of Iowa. Her 
father spent his last davs in Duraneo. Mexico. Mr. and Mrs. Charles 
Hanna have four children : Dorothv. Phillis. Charles Frederick and Robert. 
John Winfield, Jr., who married F.lla G. Gibson, a native of Towa. has two 
children. John, Jr. and Patricia. The younger son of Mr. Hanna, John 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1077 

Winfield Hanna, is vice president of the First National Bank of Tarkio 
and vice president of the Rankin Farm Corporation. These sons live 
at Tarkio, are graduates of Tarkio College and Princeton University 
and they have the active management of the Hanna farms and also the 
portion of the great Rankin estate owned by Mrs. Hanna. 

Judge Hiram C. Hibbard, well known and popular attorney of River- 
side, comes almost under the head of pioneer, for he has practiced con- 
tinuously in that city since 1886, and no one stands higher with the 
legal profession or the people of the district. He has also served twelve 
years as justice of the peace and has gained the soubriquet of the "marry- 
ing justice" on account of the many ceremonies he has performed. 

Judge Hibbard has all his life been active in politics, and prior to re- 
moving to Riverside held many public positions, and since then has 
served his party well in various capacities. 

He was born in Fulton County, Illinois, March 28. 1847. His father 
was James A. Hibbard, a native of New York, by occupation a farmer. 
He was for a time county commissioner of Johnson County, Kansas, 
where he moved after the Civil war. He comes of an old American 
family of pre-Revolutionary stock and of Scotch ancestry. The mother 
of Judge Hibbard was Jeannette F. (Webster) Hibbard, a native of New 
York and descended from an old American family of English descent. 

Judge Hibbard was educated in the public schools and high -school 
in Kansas, and for a short time in the University of Kansas. Prior to 
going to the University he enlisted for service in the war of 1862, first 
as a teamster with the army in Arkansas and Missouri, but was home in 
1863 on account of illness. On January 28, 1864, he joined Company I, 
Eighth Illinois Cavalrv. and served until the end of the war, receiving 
his discharge in July, 1865. He was with the Army of the Potomac, under 
General Lew Wallace, engaging in the battle of Monocacy, which Wallace 
claimed prevented Early from getting into Washington. 

Judge Hibbard returned to Illinois, and later joined his father in 
Kansas, on a farm near Olathe. He attended private and public schools 
then, and the University of Kansas at Lawrence. He taught school in 
Kansas for six vears. and while so engaged was admitted to the bar in 
that state, and has followed that profession ever since. He practiced 
law in Kansas until the fall of 1886, and then came directly to River- 
side. He had been West during the summer of that vear on an exploring 
expedition, and Riverside came nearest to being what he was looking for, 
an ideal location for a permanent home. 

Here he commenced practice on February 8. 1887, and for over 
thirtv-one vears had the same offices in the Central Block. 

In politics lie is a republican, and has alwavs taken an active part, 
serving as a deleeate in both state and countv conventions in Kansas, on 
countv convention^; in California, and has served on the County Central 
Committees in both California and Kansas. He was superintendent of 
nublic instruction for five vears in Kansas and was also countv clerk 
for one term in Pussell Conn^v. Kansas. With hut a few intervals during 
his service he has occupied the position of justice of the peace of River- 
side County for twelve vears. 

He is a member of Riverside Post. C,. A P. of which lie was com- 
mander in 1800. He has been a member of this post since coming to 
Riverside. He was also commander of the post in Kansas during his 
residence there. He is a Mason and is a past his/h priest of the Roval 
Arch Chapter. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and has been through all the chairs of the local lodge. He was past 



1078 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

grand of the Kansas Lodge with which he was affiliated. He is a mem- 
ber of the Improved Order of Red Men, and has been through the 
chairs of the local lodge and was great sachem of the state during the 
years 1912-13. Judge Hibbard is also a member of the Independent 
Order of Foresters, and has been through the chairs of the local court, 
of which he is a past chief ranger. He is a member of the Foresters of 
America and is a past chief ranger. He was a Maccabee until the age 
of retirement, and has been through the chairs of that order. He is a 
member of the Junior Order United American Mechanics, through the 
chairs, and is a past chief counsellor, and is also a member of the Fra- 
ternal Brotherhood, of which he has been through the chairs and of which 
he is a past president. 

He married on September 18, 1878, in Russell, Kansas, Sonora L. 
White, a native of Indiana. She died in Riverside in January, 1889. 
They had one son, Duane Hibbard, a resident of Oakland, California. 

Judge Hibbard married on July 15, 1908, in San Diego, Julia Yerger, 
a native of Kentucky and a daughter of Charles Stoessel. 

Jesse Lee Granttham. — The life record of Jesse Lee Granttham in 
all its varied phases is one which reflects honor and dignity upon Riverside, 
where he is engaged in an active practice as an attorney, and upon his 
own capabilities, which are unrestricted. The history of no citizen of 
this region has been more fearless in conduct, more constant in service, 
and more stainless in reputation. He has a love for the city of his 
adoption which he manifests in many ways for the municipal develop- 
ment and welfare, and in return is accorded the respect and esteem of 
his fellow men. 

The birth of Jesse Lee Granttham occurred in Jackson County. Flor- 
ida, September 2. 1873. He is a son of Tesse Jackson and Sally (Lane) 
Granttham, the former, now deceased, beiner a native of Georgia. He 
was a minister of the Missionary Baptist Church, and came of an old 
American family, which was founded in the American Colonies by an- 
cestors who came here from England and located in New Hampshire, 
where the town of Granttham was named in their honor. Representa- 
tives of the family fought in the American Revolution with distinction 
and courage, and others through the succeeding vears have been equally 
steadfast as men of peace. The Granttham University of New Hamp- 
shire, named in honor of the family, proves that it was well represented 
bv men of letters. Mrs. Granttham. also now deceased, belonged to the 
old Southern family of Lanes, of English descent, and she, too, was born 
in Georgia. 

When Jesse Lee Granttham was still a small child the Grantthams 
settled in the country near where Arabia, Georgia, is now located, and 
he was reared in an old fashion country home of cultured interests, 
where his ambition was stimulated and his intellect developed. He was 
sent to the grade and high schools of Arabia, and spent three years 
at the State Normal School and two years at the State University, both 
at Athens, Georgia, and then went to Mercer University at Macon. 
Georgia, from which he was graduated in 1906, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws. In order to secure the money to prepare himself 
for the profession he decided to enter, it was necessary for him to take 
the course at the State Normal School at Athens, Georgia, where he 
graduated, and then taught school at intervals until he completed his 
training. 

Following his admission to the bar. which followed the securing of 
his degree, he began the practice of law in Randolph County, Georgia, 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1079 

and remained in that neighborhood for four years. Deciding upon going 
into a newer territory, he went to Guthrie, Oklahoma, and participated 
in some of the stirring events of the development of that city during 
one year. His attention was then turned to Riverside, California, and 
he came here, but his fame as an educator preceded him and he was in- 
duced to assume the duties as principal of the Riverside Business Col- 
lege, and he held that position for eight years. In 1919 he and C. W. 
Benshoff formed a partnership for the practice of the law, and remained 
together until December, 1920, when their association was dissolved and 
Mr. Granttham has since remained alone. 

An ardent democrat, he was very active in party matters while residing 
in Georgia, representing it in county and state conventions and as a 
member of the Democratic County Central Committee. He is a Chapter 
and Commandery Mason, and also belongs to the Woodmen of the World. 
The First Methodist Church of Riverside is his religious home, and lit- 
is now superintendent of the membership board of that institution. 

In September, 1900, Mr. Granttham married at Hartsfield, Georgia, 
Dora Red, a native of Georgia and a daughter of J. H. Red. now deceased, 
who was a farmer of Georgia, and during the war between the states 
served in the Confederate Army. Mr. and Mrs. Granttham have seven 
living children, namely: Verdie, who is the wife of Harold J. May, of Riv- 
erside, a soldier in the United States Army ; Otis J. and Olin Earl, both 
of whom are students in the Riverside High School ; Jesse Lee, Llovd 
Zinn and Dora Emma, all of whom are students of the graded schools ; 
and Theora Wilma, who is the youngest. They lost one son, James Gor- 
don Granttham. 

In addition to his educational and professional labors Mr. Granttham 
has been useful in other directions. He has invested in several com- 
mercial enterprises at Riverside, and at one time was interested in agri- 
cultural matters, but has since disposed of his farm land. While his suc- 
cess in all these matters has entitled him to be regarded as a prosperous 
man, Mr. Granttham possesses, moreover, those traits of personal charac- 
ter which make him a popular man. Genial, courteous and kindly, no one 
is more welcome at anv gathering than he. His ability as a lawyer was 
confirmed while he was still in practice in Georgia, and his services 
are now in great demand by those who desire one who will give to his 
client's cause all the vigor and earnestness, diligence and devotion in 
his power. 

William Henry Lindley — The development of a new country is 
a task requiring men of real manhood, physical strength, endurance, per- 
severance, and a fortitude of character that is not deterred by any ob- 
stacle or discouragement. One of the true pioneers who measured up 
in every sense to these qualifications was the late William Henry Lind- 
ley of Ontario. 

He was born Januarv 22, 1853, at Mazomanie in Dane County, Wis- 
consin. His parents, Henrv and Sarah (Bagnall) Lindley. were born 
and reared in Yorkshire, England, were married there, and after the 
birth of several of their children came to America in a sailing vessel. 
They were territorial settlers in Wisconsin, where they took up and 
improved a tract of Government land, and lived there when life was 
oeculiarlv trying and subject to manv hardships. The late William 
Henry Lindley was one of seventeen children. Tn such a large house- 
hold and in a section so recently redeemed from the wilderness he came 
face to face with the serious responsibilities of life and his lot was 
that of incessant toil from an early age. Only in later years did he 
Vol. HI :: 



lObU SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

acquire the education which characterized him during his life in Cali- 
fornia as a man of exceptional culture and refinement. 

On January 29, 1879, in St. Barnabas Church at Mazomanie, Wis- 
consin, he married Miss Emmie Puzey. She was born at Madison, 
Wisconsin, September 20, 1857, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Mac- 
donald) Puzey, her father a native of England and her mother of Scot- 
land. She, with her parents, later lived in England for some time while 
she was a child. 

After his marriage Mr. Lindley resorted to farming as a means of 
livelihood. He and his brother John early became associated as partners, 
and their relationship was one of extreme satisfaction as well as busi- 
ness success. In 1886 they spent a winter visiting Mr. Lindley's parents 
in California. They went back to Wisconsin, subsequently sold their 
interests, and on Starch 17, 1888, arrived to make their home at 
Ontario. William H. Lindley at once bought land on West A Street, 
where he erected a small home recently replaced by the large and 
elegant modern residence which is the, home of his family. The brothers 
as partners bought ten acres of unimproved land on I Street. With 
great determination and much labor they set it to oranges and then 
repeatedly, as they could finance their operations, they bought and devel- 
oped tracts of desert land. In order to meet expenses during this stage 
of their fortunes they took contracts for planting and caring for the 
orchards of non-resident owners, and in this way they bought additional 
tracts of their own and maintained the young orchards until they 
came into bearing. Later the income from their producing groves was 
employed to acquire other planted land, until finally a very large and 
valuable acreage of citrus fruit was credited to the ownership of these 
pioneer brothers, who altogether performed an enormous amount of the 
labor involved in making Ontario one of the leading horticultural 
centers of this state. The Lindley brothers also conducted a large 
nursery for the supply of orange and lemon stock. 

In 1902 John Lindley, desirous of accepting a business opportunity 
in Azusa, sold his holdings to his brother, and this terminated the long, 
satisfactory and successful partnership. William Lindley then con- 
tinued the supervision of his orange groves and other holdings until 
his death, which occurred at Ontario June 10. 1918. He never inherited 
any money, and his life was an example of self-development of his 
powers and resources. As a vouth he had many rough experiences 
in the new country of Wisconsin, and the ability to work hard was an 
important factor in the success he achieved in California. He was a 
devout Catholic, and contributed liberallv to the building and main- 
tenance of St. George's Church at Ontario. He was also a Knight of 
Columbus, as are his three sons. He was a life-long republican and 
devoted to the tariff principles of that partv. 

Seven children were born to Mr. and Mrs. William H. Lindley. 
the first three, one dying in infancy, born in Wisconsin and the vounger 
ones in Ontario. Frances, the oldest, was graduated from Ramona 
Convent, and is the wife of Joseph C. Muehe, a prominent citizen and 
cashier of the First National Bank of Azusa. Angus Reginald was 
graduated from St. Vincent's College at Los Angeles, and later from 
the University of Southern California law school. He is now one of 
the prominent members of the Los Angeles bar. He married Miss Ida 
Botiller, member of an old Spanish and French family of Los Angeles. 
He was taking officers training at Camp Zachary Taylor, Kentucky, 
when the war ended. Mary Lindlev. who finished her education in 
Ramona Convent, is the wife of Charles Henderson Ripple, an account- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1081 

ant for the Exchange Product Company of San Dimas and a resident 
of Pomona. Their two children are Charles Lindley and Mary Geral- 
dine Ripple. The fourth child in the family is Joseph Puzey Lindley, 
who was educated in Santa Clara College, now Santa Clara University, 
graduating Bachelor of Science, and is a law graduate of the University 
of Southern California. He had a profitable law practice for several 
years, but in 1914 determined to give up his profession and join his 
father, and took an active share in the management of the citrus or- 
chards. Since the death of his father in 1918 he has assumed the 
chief responsibilities of managing the splendid property. He married 
Miss Lucilla Wilson, a native of Ireland and member of a prominent 
family of Portland, Oregon. 

William Rhoderick Lindley, born November 25, 1896, was educated 
in Santa Clara University. He volunteered for service in the World 
war and was assigned to Base Hospital No. 50. He was first in training 
at Camp Fremont at Palo Alto, and then went to France and was on 
duty for thirteen months in the hospitals at Nevers and Bar le Due. After 
his return he was honorably discharged and is now a successful orange 
grower at Ontario. In July, 1921, he married Miss Mary Macan, a 
native of London, England. 

The sixth and youngest of the family is Miss Jessie Lindley, a 
graduate of Ramona Convent. 

William L. Peters, of Riverside, is one of the many substantial 
residents of Riverside County to whom this region owes a heavy debt, 
for back of practically every project of moment which has been pro- 
jected and carried through to a successful completion he has stood 
ready to contribute generously of his time, his mental equipment and 
his money. 

William L. Peters was born at Columbus, Ohio, October 3, 1864, 
a son of George M, and Caroline L. (Krag) Peters. George M. 
Peters, a native of Ohio, died in 1897. He was the organizer and 
head of the Columbus Buggy Company. A self-made man, a carriage 
painter by trade, he learned the business of carriage manufacturing 
in the old-fashioned way. He was thus familiar with every detail of 
the business, so that when he began to manufacture buggies his suc- 
cess was certain, and he steadily progressed and built up a large trade. 
He was one of the first manufacturers in the United States to adopt 
the subdivision-of-labor plan, and to standardize his parts so as to 
make them interchangeable. A man of unusual character, he stood 
high in his community, was always active in the work of the Young 
Men's Christian Association and was a very active member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. His family is one of the old-established 
ones of this country, and is of English origin and Revolutionary 
stock. His wife, a native of Ohio, died in December, 1915. Her 
family originated in Alsace-Lorraine, France. 

William L. Peters attended the graded and high schools of Colum- 
bus, Ohio, and the Ohio State University, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1885, with the degree of Mechanical Engineer. During his 
university course he had military training, and at its close was rank- 
ing officer, his title being captain and adjutant. 

Returning home, Mr. Peters entered his father's factory with the 
intention of learning the business in all of the departments from the 
bench up, so as to be able to supervise all of its operations when he 
would succeed his father in the course of time. After two years he 
found it was impossible for him to continue these plans, as his wife 



1082 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

lost her health, and, acting under the orders of her physician, he came 
West and located at Riverside, California. He brought with him a 
carriage which was almost wholly of his own construction, and three 
days after his arrival he engaged in the carriage-selling business. In 
December, 1887, Mr. Peters and George R. Thayer formed a partner- 
ship and purchased the carriage and implement business of Clarence 
Stewart, one of the pioneers of Riverside. This enterprise prospered 
from the start, and to such an extent that in 1888 they opened a branch 
at San Bernardino, purchasing the business there owned by C. E. 
Lehman. The San Bernardino branch was continued until 1898. In 
1891 Mr. Peters bought out Mr. Thayer's interest and continued the 
business alone. He acted as agent for the Columbus Buggy Corn- 
pan)' and for other well-known manufacturers of buggies, and con- 
tinued the Riverside business until 1900, when it was sold to Thomas 
J. Wilson, who moved the stock to San Bernardino. Mr. Peters con- 
tinued in the bicycle business, which had been included with the car- 
riage and implement business, until 1902. 

From 1900 until 1913 Mr. Peters was engaged with Senator S. 
C. Evans in the development of a large apple and cherry growing 
company, operating a tract of land in the Yucaipa Valley formerly 
owned by T. J. Wilson. This project was one of the pioneer develop- 
ments of this fertile valley, and the success of its promoters encour- 
aged others, and is cited to this day to stimulate present investors. 
This company owned about 570 acres, and put in about seventy-five 
acres in apples and cherries. They made a somewhat extensive water 
development for irrigation, and were the first to put out a commercial 
pack in the proper form under the name of "Old Grayback." Messrs. 
Peters and Evans, Andrew Brothers and several other pioneers are 
probablv responsible for the development of the whole Yucaipa Val- 
ley. 

In 1902 Mr. Peters with P. T. Evans, D. D. Gage, formerly of 
Riverside, the Chase Nursery Company and others developed eighty 
acres in oranges for the Oasis Orange Company in what is known 
as Oasis. They sunk artesian wells, and as far as is known this was 
the first commercial grove of oranges in the Coachella or Imperial 
Valley. He was also interested with D. D. Gage in the development 
of what was the Foothill Tract, and what is now known as the Alvord 
Ranch. This property consisted of 225 acres of oranges and alfalfa. 
Since the development of these various properties Mr. Peters has 
devoted his time to the care of his varied realty holdings and business 
interests at Riverside and elsewhere. In 1906 he was one of the or- 
ganizers of the National Bank of Riverside, and has since served it 
as one of its directors, and during 1918, one of the most critical periods 
in the financial history of the country, he was its president. Mr. 
Peters is now developing some properties in Tulare and Kern coun- 
ties, and still owns some orange and agricultural properties in River- 
side and San Bernardino counties. 

In politics Mr. Peters is a republican, and has always taken an 
active part in local affairs. He has represented his party in city and 
county conventions, and served on the Progressive-Republican County 
Central Committee. His work in politics, however, has been of a still 
more arduous character. In 1898 he was elected a trustee for River- 
side, and he served as such until 1902, and during that period a large 
part of the business of the municipal electric light plant was de- 
veloped. Many strong foundation policies were established and set- 
tled in those four years when the plant was poorly financed. Hard 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1083 

fighting was required to get any measure adopted which called for 
necessary funds, but the trustees were men who were capable of 
handling the situation, and before they left office had the satisfaction 
of seeing the plant in excellent condition, and a going and profitable 
city- property. 

In 1901 two pioneer contracts for electric light and power were 
made; one with Prof. C. G. Baldwin on Mill Creek; and one with 
ludge John F. Campbell of San Bernardino on Lytle Creek, by which 
the city would have been assured ample, low-priced electric power 
developed by modern Hydro-electric generators on these two streams, 
and by which the city in thirty years, without other payment, would 
become the owner and operator. The contracts were signed, but 
owing to the failure of parties to finance the project the deals were 
not consummated. 

In 1903 or 1904 the Board of Trustees entered into a contract to 
acquire a water power electric plant on the Santa Ana River, just be- 
low Riverside, for $180,000. Mr. Peters was almost alone in his op- 
position to it, and fought it practically single-handed, making it an 
issue in the city election. The project was defeated, and the wisdom 
of his opposition was demonstrated when the plant was washed out 
and rendered worthless in later years. 

From 1902 to 1907 Mr. Peters was trustee and secretary of the 
Riverside Public Library, and in 1906 and 1907 was secretary of the 
Board of Freeholders that formed the present city charter, and under 
that charter took office as a member of the Board of Public Utilities 
at its inception in 1907 and served until 1910, when he declined a re- 
appointment at the hands of Mayor S. C. Evans. It was during his 
incumbency in office that the Board of Public Utilities systemitized 
the accounting of the electric light department and placed it on a 
modern basis. This same board developed the present concrete posts 
for street lighting. 

In 1912 Mr. Peters succeeded Mayor Evans as mayor of River- 
side, and served for one term, or until 1914. During this term as 
mayor the present municipal water system was acquired and plans 
laid for the acquisition, consolidation and extension of the three 
existing water companies. They were the domestic system of the 
Riverside Water Company, supplying the west side and the valley 
side of the city ; the Artesia Water Company, supplying most of the 
east side ; and the H. P. Keyes Water Company, supplying the Keyes 
Addition. Bonds were issued for $1,160,000, and the city took over 
the three companies, consolidated them and made the necessary con- 
nections and extensions. Another feature of his administration was 
the stand he took with reference to prohibition. Through his earnest 
efforts and despite intense and bitter opposition the law was rigidly 
enforced. Threats of a recall were made, but came to naught. An- 
other public duty capably discharged by Mr. Peters was that of 
president of the Board of City Accounting, which office he held dur- 
ing 1907. 

On October 12, 1886, Mr. Peters married at Richmond, Indiana, 
Cora Belle Van Aernam, a native of that city, and a daughter of 
Thomas B. and Ffuldah A. Van Aernam. Mr. Aernam, now deceased, 
was in early life a wholesale merchant. His widow, now an aged lady 
over eighty years of age, resides with her daughter, Mrs. Peters. 
The Van Aernams are of Revolutionary stock and of Holland-Dutch 
descent. Mrs. Peters is a descendant of William Penn. and was 
educated in a Quaker academy at Richmond, Indiana, and in Earlham 



1084 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

College, also in Richmond, which is a Quaker settlement. Mrs. 
Peters belongs to the Daughters of the American Revolution. She 
and Mr. Peters have no children. 

Mr. Peters belongs to a number of organizations, college, muni- 
cipal, social and benevolent, among them being the Phi Kappa Psi 
college fraternity, the National Municipal League, the American 
Economic Association, the National Economic League, the American 
Political Science Association, the Pioneers' Society, the Present Day 
Club, which he helped to organize, the Chamber of Commerce, of 
which he was at one time vice president, and at one time he was a 
director of the Young Men's Christian Association. For many years 
he has been one of the leading members of the First Congregational 
Church of Riverside, and still maintains his connection with it. He 
is a man of public spirit, devoted to the public good. Freely, gladly, 
without stint, he has given himself to matters of local moment. He 
has loved Riverside ever since locating here. Believing it to be the 
duty of the business man to labor and to sacrifice for the cause of 
good government, he has therefore worked in the field of politics, for 
the triumph of the party and the policies he believes to be right. He 
had always believed it possible to have a clean, honest business ad- 
ministration of the affairs of a city, and few even among those who 
opposed him at the polls, and fought his policies while in office, can 
deny that he proved this to be possible during his own incumbency, 
which will always reflect creditably on his capacity, his honesty and 
his honor. 

John W. Covert is one of the most representative men of River- 
side, and as president of the Riverside Title Company comes into close 
contact with some of the leading citizens of this region, by whom he 
is held in high regard. For many years a prosperous agriculturalist 
of Western Pennsylvania, he came to California a man of ripened 
judgment and experience, and has given to his new home the benefit 
of these qualities. 

Born in Fayette County, Pennsylvania, in September, 1847, John 
W. Covert is a son of Isaac A. and Diademia (Wilgus) Covert, both 
natives of Pennsylvania. Isaac A. Covert belonged to an old Amer- 
ican family which was founded in this country by several brothers of 
English birth, who settled in the northern part of New York; from 
whence migration was later made into Pennsylvania. Mrs. Covert 
was of French ancestry. By occupation Isaac A. Covert was a far- 
mer, became prominent in his neighborhood, and for a number of 
years served as a justice of the peace. 

John W. Covert attended the public schools of his native county 
and the Normal College of Western Pennsylvania, and then, after 
several years' experience as a school teacher he began farming and 
was so well satisfied with his results that he would probably still be 
a resident of the Keystone State had not the ill health of his wife 
necessitated the removal to a milder climate. In order to investigate 
Mr. Covert made a trip to Riverside, and was so delighted with the 
city and its surroundings that he looked no further, and in 1890 
located here permanently. Owing to changed conditions he decided 
that horticulture offered more inducements than agriculture, and pur- 
chasing twenty acres of land in North Riverside he planted it to 
oranges, conducting this grove for about fifteen years, when he sold 
it, and since then has been occupied with looking after his own in- 
terests and those of the Riverside Title Company, with which he has 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1085 

been connected since its organization, at which time he was made a 
director. Later he was elected its vice president, and during the early 
part of 1921 was elected its president. 

During the time he was condutcing his orange grove Mr. Covert 
bought two acres of land at 1038 East Eighth Street, which he planted, 
and on which he erected a handsome residence. The trees and palms 
are full-grown today, and his is one of the most attractive homes of 
Riverside, and it is very dear to him. He also erected the two-story 
brick business building at 666 Eighth Street which is known as the 
Covert Block, and this he still owns. Until he sold his grove he be- 
longed to the Riverside Orange Growers' Association and was one of 
its directors, but has withdrawn from it since he is no longer one 
of the orange growers. In politics he is a republican, and while he 
takes a deep interest in his party's successes he has never been active 
in public affairs, with the exception of one term when he served as 
trustee under the chairmanship of both Bradford Morris and C. F. 
McFarland. 

On March 8, 1871, Mr. Covert married Frances Luse, a native of 
Pennsylvania and a daughter of James Luse, a farmer of that state. 
Mr. and Mrs. Covert have one daughter, Mary, who is the wife of 
Emerson Holt, chief abstractor of the Riverside Title Company. 
Early uniting with the Methodist Episcopal denomination, Mr. Covert 
has always been active in its good work, and upon settling at River- 
side connected himself with the First Methodist Church of this city, 
and is now president of its Board of Trustees. He is a man of means, 
broad in his sympathies and generous in his donations. A believer 
in hard work, intelligently directed, he has not much patience for a 
slacker, but when he is convinced that a man has tried hard he does 
not hold failure against him, but is glad to lend him a helping hand. 
Deeply interested in Riverside, he has played an important part in 
securing its further development, and has not relaxed his efforts in 
its behalf. It is to such men as Mr. Covert that is largely due the 
credit for the wonderful strides forward that have been made by this 
region, this advancement attracting the attention of Eastern capitalists 
and bringing them here as investors and residents. 

James M. Baber, one of the oldest residents of Riverside, came to 
this county in 1882 and engaged in the business of raising oranges, 
following it through all of the changes in the industry to the present 
day. While many others have come here, made a brief stay and 
then left, to be replaced by others whose interest was quite as tran- 
sient, Mr. Baber has held to his original plan, and in the declining 
years of his useful and helpful life has a most comfortable home, 
income-producing property, and beautiful and congenial surroundings. 

Born at Mackinaw, Tazewell County, Illinois, November 21, 1844, 
James M. Baber is a son of Charles and Mary Ann (Marsh) Baber, 
both of whom were natives of Exeter County, England, from whence 
they came to the United States and located at Mackinaw, Illinois, 
when it was a pioneer town, and there Mr. Baber conducted a hotel 
until his death in 1851. He was a prominent man in that community, 
and served as postmaster for some years. His widow died in 1876. 

Growing up at Mackinaw, James M. Baber attended its schools 
and later assisted his mother in the work of conducting the hotel, or 
inn as it was then called. Still later he established himself in a mer- 
cantile business, and continued to live at Mackinaw until 1865. when 
he moved to Sterling, Illinois, remaining a merchant until 1878. He 



1086 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

then went to Iowa, and for four years was engaged in the book and 
stationery business, but in 1882 left Iowa for California. Locating 
at Riverside, he bought twenty acres of orange land and groves on 
Brockton Avenue, and also on behalf of his two sisters and brother- 
in-law, M. S. Bowman, who were partners with him in the purchase. 
They soon thereafter joined him and began the cultivation of oranges, 
planting the acreage not already in. The ground was the original 
C. E. Packard place, and in the division of it Mr. Bowman retained 
that part on which the old brick building was located. Mr. Baber 
now owns eight acres of land, his home being at 245 Brockton Ave- 
nue, and he purchased the adjoining residence at 247 Brockton Ave- 
nue, which is now occupied by his sister, Miss Harriet A. (Hattie) 
Baber. Mr. Baber also built a new residence on the property, at 37 
Webber Street, which he rents to tenants. His grove is valencies 
and navels, but most valencies. At one time he belonged to the River- 
side Fruit Exchange, but of late years has been selling his crops in- 
dependent of the exchange. 

Mr. Baber is a republican, but has never taken an active part in 
politics, his interests centering more in church work, both he and 
his wife being consistent and zealous members of the First Baptist 
Church of Riverside. Mrs. Baber is also a member of the Riverside 
Woman's Club. 

In Michigan Mr. Baber married in 1874 Miss Carrie Bowman, who 
died in 1884. She had one son, Charles Bowman Baber, who was born 
in 1877, and he is now a civil engineer and draughtsman of Los 
Angeles, California. The second marriage of Mr. Baber occurred at 
Riverside, September 25, 1907, when he was united with Alice (Mars- 
ton) Stacey, a native of Portsmouth, New Hampshire. She is a daughter 
of Stephen L. Marston, of Portsmouth. 

Menno S. Bowman, the brother-in-law of Mr. Baber, was a man 
of high standing at Riverside, and at the time of his death he was 
secretary of the Riverside Building and Loan Association. He was 
born in Ontario, Canada, September 13, 1838, and was a graduate of 
Otterbein Academy at Westerville, Ohio, class of 1859. He married 
at Mackinaw, Illinois, August 3, 1863, Miss Amelia Baber, a sister 
of J. M. Baber. After establishing himself in his home on Brockton 
Avenue in 1895 Mr. Bowman established a boot and shoe business, 
which he continued for four years. In 1898 he was elected public 
administrator, and served as such until January, 1911, when he was 
made secretary of the Riverside Building and Loan Association. In 
the meantime, in 1904, he disposed of his orange grove. He stood 
high in Masonry, belonging to the Blue Lodge, Chapter and Com- 
mandery, but his greatest work was done in connection with the 
Riverside Methodist Church, for he was a man who exerted himself 
in behalf of those not as fortunate as himself. His wife devoted her- 
self to church work and was president of the Missionary Society, and 
when she and her husband died all of their property was left to the 
church. This bequest was a very valuable one and amounted to thou- 
sands of dollars. 

Bert L. Morgan — One of the old philosophers taught that the best 
way to achieve success was to work at only that which pleases, and in 
this there is more truth than is generally admitted. Unless a man di- 
rects his efforts in behalf of something which interests him he has 
to struggle against a handicap which oftentimes prevents his attaining 
tangible results. The first requisite for ultimate success, without doubt, 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1087 

is an aptitude and liking for the work ; the second is the determination 
to acquire a thorough knowledge of the business in every phase ; and 
third, the persistence to keep working hard and saving something from 
every pay check. If these three rules are closely followed the results 
are sure to be gratifying. Such has been the experience of Bert L. 
Morgan, vice president and general manager of the B. L. Morgan Manu- 
facturing Company of San Bernardino, who has built his present flourish- 
ing concern up from very small beginnings, and his own prosperity from 
nothing. 

Bert L. Morgan was born in Wellington, Ohio, February 17, 1873, 
the son of farming people, natives of Ohio. His father was born De- 
cember 27, 1848, and died September 22, 1918. His mother was born 
April 11, 1849, and died in March, 1904. Bert L. Morgan has made 
his present line of business his life work, commencing it May 15, 1887, 
when he entered the employ of the Western Automatic Machine Screw 
Company, with which he remained until March 1, 1906. On May 19, 
1904, he was made foreman, which position he held until he left the 
employ of that concern, and was associated with R. D. Perry and W. W. 
Fay, who founded the Perry-Fay Company, of which Mr. Morgan was 
general superintendent. The business of this company increased very 
rapidly, additional capital was secured, and a new and larger plant was 
built. Mr. Morgan remained with the Perry-Fay Company until Sep- 
tember 1, 1917. In the meanwhile he had cherished a desire to have a 
business of his own, and this hope was realized May 5, 1919, when he 
opened his machine shop at 938 Third Street, San Bernardino, with a 
very small equipment, consisting of two small automatic screw ma- 
chines and a limited machine tool equipment. However, he knew his 
business, stuck to it, and laid his plans for the future. On January 
12, 1920, he succeeded in having the B. L. Morgan Manufacturing 
Company Incorporated, with A. E. Ferris, president; W. M. Parker, 
vice president ; J. F. Hosfield, secretary and treasurer ; and B. L. 
Morgan, general manager. On February 26, 1920, the plant was moved 
to the present quarters, northeast corner of Rialto and East streets, 
the premises having been purchased from the San Bernardino Brewing 
Company. At the annual meeting in January, 1921, the following offi- 
cials were elected : A. E. Ferris, president ; B. L. Morgan, vice presi- 
dent and general manager ; and E. E. Katz, secretary and treasurer. On 
account of ill health Mr. Katz resigned and R. G. Dromberger was 
elected as secretary and treasurer of the company. 

When the B. L. Morgan Manufacturing Company was incorporated 
the monthly sales only averaged $1,000, but in the short time this con- 
cern has been in existence the sales have so multiplied as to average 
$8,000 monthly. At the time of incorporation the working force was 
comprised of Mr. Morgan and one helper. At the present time employ- 
ment is given to twentv-two. The premises occupied by the plant 
cover a space of 140x150 feet. The building that houses the plant 
is 100x60 feet, and there are a number of outbuildings on the lot. 
Among the machine equipment of this company are fourteen automatic 
screw machines, ranging in capacity from three-eighths to two and one- 
half inches. This company conducts a strictly manufacturing institu- 
tion, and produces an endless variety of screw machine products, among 
which are the following : Hexagon, square, fillister and button head 
cap screws ; square head and headless set screws ; thumb screws ; collar 
screws ; hexagon nuts ; stubs and pins ; screws and turned metal parts 
for scientific instruments, clock, watch, optical, gun, electric, camera, 
typewriter, adding machine, automobile, aeroplane and tractor work ; 



1088 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

spark plug parts ; hardened and ground work ; all articles turned from 
silver, aluminum, bronze, brass or steel rods ; also taps, dies and gauges. 
There is also a finely equipped tool department capable of turning out 
the highest quality of tools. 

Mr. Morgan was married first to Nellie M. Shute, who was born 
at Elyria, Ohio, and died May 5, 1912, leaving three children : Victor 
S., who was born April 25, 1894, is a machinist and tool maker who has 
been largely associated with his father in business. He married Mar- 
jory Vogler of Elyria, Ohio. They have two children, Rosemary and 
Robert. Ruth O., who was born May 5, 18%, is the wife of E. A. 
Ledyard, of San Bernardino. They have three children, Jean Ellen, 
Wayne and Philip. Edwin L., who was born October 8, 1899, enlisted 
in the headquarters company of the Fifth Marines on April 19, 1917, 
and sailed for France on August 5 of that year. He fought throughout 
the war with the famous Second Division. He went through all en- 
gagements and the only wound he received was a scratch on the leg. 
He was awarded a medal for bravery in action, and was discharged 
in August, 1919, returning to New York just two years after he sailed. 
He is now engaged with the Standard Oil Company in San Bernardino. 

In April, 1917, Mr. Morgan married Miss Lura Potter, a native of 
Ashtabula. Ohio, and a daughter of Eugene M. Potter, and they have 
four children, namely : Louise Alice, Anna E., David E. and Burt, 
Junior. Mr. Morgan has devoted himself so exclusively to business that 
he has had but little time for outside matters, although he does take 
an intelligent interest in local affairs. He is one of the sound and de- 
pendable men of San Bernardino County, and holds a high position 
among his business associates. He is a life member of Lodge No. 836, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of the Knights of the Macca- 
bees, the Royal Arcanum, Huron Tribe, No. 200, Red Men, and of the 
Rotary Club. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the 
San Bernardino Chamber of Commerce, vice president of the Manu- 
facturing and Wholesalers Association of San Bernardino, vice presi- 
dent and general manager of the Sta-tite Nut Company, to which he is 
devoting his time almost exclusively, is interested in the M. & M. 
Manufacturing Company of Wilmington, Los Angeles County, a general 
machine and manufacturing institution, and was president of the Board 
of Health at Elyria, Ohio, during the epidemic of contagious diseases. 

Henry D. Bradley is one of the prominent civil engineers of River- 
side, who has devoted much time and effort to the building up of the 
Coachella Valley, the only logical place in the United States in which 
to grow dates upon a large commercial scale. He has specialized in 
hydraulic work and planning irrigation systems so as to bring as much 
land as possible under the water. Knowing all of its natural ad- 
vantages, Mr. Bradley is an enthusiastic booster for the Coachella 
Valley and Riverside County generally. When he first went to the 
Valley over twelve years ago very little development had been made. 
Since then he has been an active factor in the wonderful changes 
which have been effected in that district, and the present rapid rate 
of improvement promises to make a garden spot of all of the tillable 
land from Banning to the Salton Sea. 

Mr. Bradley was born at New Haven, Connecticut, September 1, 
1870, a son of Dana and Caroline (Tuttle) Bradley, both of whom 
are deceased. Dana Bradley was a farmer and prominent in his 
home community. He came of Revolutionary stock and English 
descent. Mrs. Bradley's ancestors came to the American Colonies 
long prior to the Revolutionary war and settled in New Haven. 



SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1089 

After attending the public and high schools of his native city 
Henry D. Bradley matriculated at Yale University, and was grad- 
uated therefrom in 1893, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He 
then took up general engineering work in Connecticut, and for a 
long period worked for the New England electric roads. 

In 1904 Mr. Bradley came to California, and for four years was 
engaged in civil engineering and map work in the City of Los Angeles, 
and then, in 1908, came to Riverside. From then on he has been 
engaged in civil engineering and map work, and, as before stated, 
specializes in planning irrigation systems for the development of 
land. Mr. Bradley has mapped out the region north and west of 
Riverside from Colton to Wineville, the Palo Verde Valley and the 
Coachella Valley. His maps are very complete and accurate, and 
they are recognized as official by both the county and city of River- 
side. There is a wealth of detail in his maps, particularly in that of 
the Coachella Valley, which evokes the admiration of all those who 
have occasion to use them. 

Mr. Bradley has also done much work in the Mojave Desert along 
the line of the Salt Lake Railroad, developing land and assisting in 
laying out the road along the old Arrowhead trail from Barstow and 
Daggett, via Silver Lake to Nevada. This will eventually be paved 
and will make a great national highway across the desert that will 
be much traveled. He is now engaged in developing a number of 
large date orchards in the Coachella Valley, including some of his 
own land, which will ultimately be in dates. In addition Mr. Bradley 
is the owner of some undeveloped mining and oil prospects in the 
desert which in time will doubtless become very valuable. 

In addition to all these interests Mr. Bradley is secretary of the 
Riverside County Title Guarantee Company, of which D. W. Lewis 
is president ; is a member of the Riverside Realty Board, and of the 
Present Day Club. While he votes the republican ticket and is in- 
terested in the success of his party, he is not active in politics. Cal- 
vary Presbyterian Church of Riverside holds his membership. 

On September 2, 1909, Mr. Bradley married at Riverside Matilda 
Cary, a native of Quebec, Canada. It would be difficult to over-esti- 
mate the importance of the work accomplished by Mr. Bradley in 
the development of his irrigation systems, which bring under cultiva- 
tion so many acres of hitherto waste land. A man of broad vision, 
he has been able to see the future in date culture and to impress others 
with the possibilities of this industry, which when properly expanded 
will bring many thousands of dollars into this region and afford op- 
portunities for the energies and capital of some of the best men of 
the nation. To him belongs part of the credit of awakening the 
people to the wealth which lies at their door, and his name will go 
down in history in connection with the date industry of the country. 

J. Eugene Copeland. — For the last thirty-two years J. Eugene Cope- 
land has found congenial surroundings and profitable employment of 
his energies in the orange industry at Riverside, and has developed 
his fine home place of twenty acres from the wild state to its present 
perfect bearing condition. His grove is of naval oranges, and is one 
of the finest in the county. His residence, which is a handsome and 
commodious two-story building, is located in one corner of the prop- 
erty, on the southwest corner of Blaine Street and Chicago Avenue, 
and is surrounded by fine trees, palms, flowers and shrubbery, which 



1090 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

were planted by his wife and himself, and attract admiring attention 
of all who pass the place. Twenty years ago Mr. and Mrs. Copeland 
planted a slip of a seedling English walnut tree, and today this is 
probably the largest of its kind at Riverside, having a magnificent 
spread of seventy-five feet, and yielding about 300 pounds of nuts 
annually. Mr. Copeland finds great pleasure in his horticultural 
work, and devotes all of his time to it. 

J. Eugene Copeland was born in Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin, 
August 19, 1862, a son of Justin M. Copeland, a native of New Hamp- 
shire and a son of a Methodist minister. He was a scholar and spent 
his life in educational work, teaching school in many states, and 
traveling all over the country in search of a climate in which he would 
not be subjected to the rigors of a severe winter. During this period 
he was superintendent of schools in Key West, Florida. Finally he 
came to California. Reaching this state in May, 1881, he realized 
that his long search was ended, and it was under the sunny skies of 
this Southland that he spent the remainder of his life. He secured 
a school on Central Avenue in Arlington district during the fall of 
1881, and taught it for one year, when he went to Orange County and 
continued the same work there until 1891. His eyesight then com- 
mencing to fail him, he went to Los Angeles and took the agency of 
the Standard Dictionary, continuing that connection until forced to 
relinquish it on account of his eyes. During his last years he led a 
retired life, and passed away March 25, 1915. He came from Revolu- 
tionary stock, his generation being the eighth removed from the 
original settler who came to this country from England. His widow, 
who was Mary E. French prior to her marriage, is a native of Maine, 
and also comes of Revolutionary stock and English ancestry. She 
survives her husband and is living at Santa Ana, California. 

J. Eugene Copeland was educated in the public schools of Orange 
County, California, and the University of Southern California. He 
was interested with his father in farming in Orange County until 
1895, when he took up his residence on the home place, 601 Chi- 
cago Avenue, comprising twenty acres, which he had bought in 1882, 
and here he has since resided. Mr. Copeland is also interested in 
thirty acres of sugar beet land at Oxnard, Ventura County, California. 
He is one of the directors and vice president of the Riverside County 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company, and is a director of the Monte Vista 
Packing Company. In politics he is a republican, but has never been 
active in his party, and has never sought public honors. 

On September 14, 1889, Mr. Copeland married at Los Angeles 
Carrie W. YVillson, a native of Virginia and a daughter of J. A. Will- 
son, now deceased, of Santa Ana. Mrs. Copeland's family is of 
Revolutionary stock and of Scotch-Irish descent. Mr. and Mrs. Cope- 
land belong to Calvary Presbyterian Church of Riverside. They lead 
an ideal existence in the midst of their beautiful surroundings. While 
it has taken hard and unremitting work to develop their property to 
its present high state of cultivation, the results are so satisfactory 
that neither of them regret the efforts expended on their home. They 
are held in high esteem by their associates, and are fine representatives 
of the elder generation of substantial citizens of the Gem City. 

John F. Lippincott. — Happy is the man who knows how to turn 
disaster into success ; who can rise up stronger than ever after a 
knockout from fate. Not to all is given either the will or the oppor- 
tunity to accomplish what at the time seems the impossible, but at 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1091 

Riverside there are more of these men than in many other communi- 
ties of many times its size. Here are men, healthy, happy and pros- 
perous, who a few years ago were told that if they wanted to survive 
another winter they must move to a more salubrious climate. For- 
tunately for them they found their El Dorado of health and fortune 
in the Gem City, and almost from the day of their arrival showed 
improvement. Now they have practically forgotten that once they 
moved but under a physician's advice. One of these men who owes 
his present wealth and prestige to the fact that his health failed him 
in the more rigorous climate of Nebraska is John F. Lippincott, one 
of the orange growers of this region, and a man of unquestioned 
popularity. 

John F. Lippincott was born in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, 
March 10, 1848, a son of John and Mary (Dillon) Lippincott, both of 
whom are deceased, the latter belonging to an old American family 
which was established in this country prior to the Revolution by 
ancestors from Ireland. John Lippincott was born in the vicinity of 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and belonged to the prominent Lippincott 
family of the Quaker City, which was of Pennsylvania-Dutch stock. 
Both as a shoe merchant and citizen he was a prominent man of his 
locality. During the war between the North and the South John 
Lippincott gave his support to the Union, and served as a captain in 
the Home Guards. 

Growing up in the Keystone State, John F. Lippincott imbibed 
the sterling lessons of patriotism in his home atmosphere, and during 
the war, although under age, tried repeatedly to get into the service. 
With pardonable determination he went before the recruiting officers 
three times, and might, so persistent was he, have succeeded but for 
the fact that not having reached his full growth he was below the 
required stature. It has always been a source of regret to him that 
he was born a little too late for that war, and a little too early to 
serve in the others of his country, for he is a real American in the 
highest sense of the word. 

After completing his schooldays his father insisted upon his learn- 
ing the shoemaking trade, but, although he complied with the parental 
dictum, he did not work at it after he had completed his apprentice- 
ship, but, going to Fillmore County, Nebraska, engaged in farming, 
being one of the pioneers of that region, as his arrival in it was dur- 
ing May, 1870. After eight years he went to Alexandria, Thayer 
County, Nebraska, and was occupied with conducting a restaurant for 
the subsequent six years. Leaving Alexandria, Mr. Lippincott then 
embarked in the drug business at Tobias, Saline County, Nebraska, 
and continued in it for twenty years, but in 1906 his health broke 
down, and his physician insisted upon his leaving Tobias for Cali- 
fornia. Realizing the absolute necessity for the change, Mr. Lippincott 
sold his drug business, severed his other connections, although he re- 
tained possession of some property in Nebraska which he still owns, 
and came to Riverside, resolved to make a most strenuous effort to 
regain his strength. Buying five acres of oranges at 1296 Kansas 
Avenue, corner of Pennsylvania Avenue, he made it his home place, 
and here he has since continued to raise naval oranges. He also pur- 
chased and still holds ten acres of naval oranges on Arlington Heights 
on Dufferin Street, corner of Irving. This latter property is one of 
the oldest groves at Riverside. At one time he was a director and 
vice president of the Blue Ribbon Packing House, and is now a mem- 
ber of the Riverside Heights Fruit Association Number 10. A man 



1092 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

of independent thought, he prefers to select his own candidates irre- 
spective of party lines, but aside from exercising his right of suffrage, 
is not active in politics. He was one of the organizers of the Masonic 
and Knights of Pythias Lodges at Tobias, and served the first as 
worshipful master and the latter as chancellor commander. 

On March 10, 1873, Mr. Lippincott married in Fillmore County, 
Nebraska, Hannah J. Morse, a native of Iowa, and a daughter of Amos 
Morse, a farmer of that state. Mr. and Mrs. Lippincott have had 
three children, namely : Mary is the wife of Oscar L. Brocker, an 
orchardist on Linden Street and who has the following children, Jen- 
nie, Lee and John, who are students in the Riverside High School, and 
Howard, Sidney, Billy and Chloris, who are students in the Riverside 
grade schools, and Nellie, the baby. Mr. and Mrs. Lippincott lost a 
son when he was fourteen years old. Roscoe, the third child, of Mr. 
and Mrs. Lippincott, is a rancher in Silver Valley in the Mojave 
Desert. He married Miss Mabel Burden, and they have two children, 
Katherine and Robert. 

Mr. Lippincott is an enthusiast with relation to Riverside and the 
Golden State, and believes that there is no medicine like the healing 
sunshne of the Gem City. In fact it appears as though it would be 
difficult for anyone to be borne down with the weight of disease in 
the midst of such wonderful surrounding as those afforded at River- 
side. Ideal climatic conditions, a super-abundance of golden oranges 
and vari-colored flowers, graceful shrubbery and luxuriant vines, 
everything to make life pleasant and add to the joy of living. Mr. 
Lippincott's only regret is that he did not come to this "Garden of 
Eden" even sooner than he did, for its advantages meet with his entire 
approval, and he is only anxious to share them with his old associates 
whom he is always urging to follow his example. Since coming to 
Riverside he has made himself a valued advocate of civic improve- 
ments, feeling that it is the least he can do to exert himself to advance 
the material prosperity and secure the adjuncts of a metropolitan 
community for the city which has given him so much. Personally 
he has made a host of friends at Riverside, as he has done wherever 
he has lived, and both he and his wife are very popular. 

Nelson C. Peters. — While Nelson C. Peters, of San Bernardino, 
has been a resident of that city a comparatively brief period of 
time, he has already attained a high position and standing in law circles. 
He specializes in one branch of the law and has a large and ever 
increasing clientele, which is not confined by any means to this dis- 
trict. Mr. Peters can truthfully be termed a self-made man, and one 
who made a very successful job of it, for from an early age he made 
his own way and secured his very thorough education by his own efforts. 

He was born in that country which has given the United States so 
many worth while citizens, Denmark, at Hallund, June 12. 1875, and he 
has all the self-reliance and sturdy independence of his ancestors. His 
father was Nelson Peters, a cooper by trade, now deceased, and his 
mother was Mary Ann (Rassmus) Peters, also deceased. He attended 
the country schools in Denmark until he was fourteen years of age, 
when he decided to come to America and work out his own destiny. It 
was an important step for so young a boy, but he had two brothers 
already in America, one in South Dakota and one in Washington. 

Mr. Peters located in Hurley, South Dakota, and worked on farms 
and taught school for three years. So well did he studv and equip him- 
self mentally that he was graduated from the Dakota University at 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1093 

Mitchell, South Dakota, at the end of that short period. He knew what 
he wanted to do in life and he at once entered a law office and was 
admitted to practice in Guthrie, Oklahoma, in 1901. 

He located at once in Enid, Oklahoma, and went to work in the 
county attorney's office there. He remained a year, getting valuable 
experience and then moved to Apache, Oklahoma, and practiced there 
for five years, building up a good business, but he moved to Waurika, 
Oklahoma, and there remained until 1915, when he located in San Ber- 
nardino. 

In this city he has practiced continuously ever since. He does a 
commercial law practice and handles the larger part of all the commercial 
business of the district. He is also the pioneer attorney of the Torrens 
Title in the County of San Bernardino and has done practically all the 
business in that line in the county. He has registered many hundred 
applications under that act. A history of the Torrens Title in San 
Bernardino County is given by Mr. Peters in the narrative account of 
this work. 

He married in 1907 Hazel R. Reece, a daughter of Prof. William 
Reece, of Anadarko, Oklahoma. They are the parents of one child, 
Mary Reece Peters. 

Mr. Peters is a member of Apache Lodge, A. F. and A. M., of Apache. 
Oklahoma : of Silver Wave Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star and was 
worshipful master of the Masonic Lodge. He is also a member of the 
I. O. O. F. and of the Knights of Pythias. In politics he gives his al- 
legiance to the democratic party, and in religious faith he is affiliated 
with the Methodist Church. 

History of the Torrens System in San Bernardino County — 
The first property registered under the Torrens System in this county 
was the home of Walter B. Coombs of San Bernardino. The petition 
was filed on the 23rd day of February, 1916, by Attorneys Chase, Peters 
and Craney, and decree of the Superior Court providing for the issu- 
ance of the certificate of title in its nature, a perpetual guaranty of 
title by the state, was signed by Judge J. W. Curtis on June 7, 1916. 
L. R. Patty, the first county registrar, was an experienced abstractor, 
having for years been in the title business, and he understood all the 
flaws and defects of the old system and was not only an enthusiastic 
advocate of the system but he also placed his own property under its 
protection. With much care and skill he installed the first Torrens 
Title records in the county, a system with a property index, verified 
signatures of all grantees, with such certain evidence of title that it bid 
fair ultimately to replace the old system of certifying to copies of records. 

Such men as Sid Harton, chairman of the County Board of Super- 
visors, and Mr. Wiggins, with a tract of land near San Bernardino of 
over 500 acres, had their land registered during this summer, but for 
some time many people were quite timid about using the new system, 
but on April 2nd of the year 1917. R. F. Garner and his wife, Anna B. 
Garner, placed all of their San Bernardino County real estate, aggre- 
gating nearly" half a million dollars in value, under the protection of this 
law. and from that time on it spread fast in popularity and in December, 
1921. the number of certificates issued in the county was 749. In the 
year 1920 an attempt to use the system by fraudulently registering 
property of another was made by parties from other counties, but was 
promptly checked by the court, holding there could be no innocent pur- 
chaser where an adverse claimant was in open possession and that the 
law was not made to defraud but to guarantv good titles. 



1094 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

However, much opposition to the system developed, so much so 
that in the spring of 1921 the Torrens title holders decided that their 
titles were unjustly slandered and organized themselves in a body 
known as the San Bernardino County Torrens Title League. They 
held their first meeting in Ontario on March 19, 1921. Mrs. R. F. 
Garner was elected President and O. T. Nichols, of Ontario, was elected 
secretary. Resolutions were passed in substance declaring that the 
parties fighting the Torrens System were doing so for selfish gain and 
reciting the many loans made on Torrens Titles by different institutions, 
including the U. S. Federal Land Bank, and not a single loss having 
occurred from insufficiency of the title ; and the courts all upholding the 
Torrens Decrees, requiring enforcement of holders' rights of possession 
with the power of the sheriff backed up, if need be, with the militia of 
the state or U. S. Army ; and declaring they would aid and build up 
the institutions fair to their customers and not discriminating against 
the law. N. L. Levering, while president of the Bank at Highland, and 
also of the San Bernardino Valley Bank, had not only recommended 
the Torrens System and made loans on it, but had also registered some 
property of his. After he had sold out his control of these banks and 
in the summer of 1921, he undertook the organization of a new bank 
in San Bernardino to be known as the Santa Fe Bank. He met so much 
opposition that, it is said, the political power controlling the issuing of 
bank charters, had the charter withheld from him during the whole year 
of 1921. Some lenders still demanded a private certificate in addition 
to the Torrens Certificate when making loans on Torrens Title. Torrens 
title holders considered this an unjustifiable extortion, similar to a re- 
quirement that one should use a fifth wheel in running his automobile. 
But the Home Investment Association, a building and loan association 
of Redlands, came forward and announced its willingness to make loans 
on the Torrens Title in San Bernardino as well as at Redlands. The 
Ontario National Bank also negotiated large loans on Torrens certificates 
without requiring private companies to back up the guaranty of the 
state, and in June, 1921, the Supreme Court of the state, again upheld 
the law, declaring its purpose was to make reliance on decree wholly 
safe and that it was a judgment in re binding on all the world conclusive 
of every interest or claim in the property, other than as specified, and 
its conclusive charter did not wait an expiration of one year, but attached 
with decree, becoming final on registration. This left the opposition 
with no argument whatsoever against the system. Yet a lull in the pro- 
ceedings continued through the fall of year 1921, but with the year 1922 
applications again came in for filing, and a course for future growth had 
become inevitable. 

Mortimer P. Maine. — After many years of aggressive and suc- 
cessful business operations Mortimer P. Maine is now living prac- 
tically retired, although he retains his ownership of his valuable 
orange grove of ten acres, in the midst of which he and his family 
are enjoying a quiet and happy life. The city is an ideal spot for 
those with leisure on their hands, and Mr. Maine rejoices that he 
selected Riverside as his permanent home when the ill health of his 
wife brought them West in search of a milder climate. Compared 
with his earlier vears, the time he has snent in California has been 
one of ease and independence, and he is one of the enthusiastic 
boosters for this region. 

Mr. Maine was born in Henderson Township, Jefferson County, 
New York, May 10, 1843, a son of Mortimer P. and Sarah (Drum- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1095 

mond) Maine, both of whom are deceased. The father was born in 
New York State, a member of an old American family of English 
descent, established in this country in 1670, when its representatives 
settled in Connecticut. Later removal was made to New York, where 
the Maines have been prominent, especially in agricultural pursuits. 
The Drummonds are of Revolutionary stock and Scotch descent, and 
Mrs. Maine was also born in New York State. 

The younger Mortimer P. Maine attended the public schools of 
Wisconsin, to which state his parents moved in 1849, and with the 
outbreak of the war between the North and the South he enlisted in 
the Union army and served four years in Company B, Thirteenth 
Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, in the Army of the Cumberland, un- 
der Gen. George H. Thomas. He received his honorable discharge 
at the close of the war in Madison, Wisconsin, December 25, 1865. 

For a number of years following his return to private life Mr. 
Maine followed railroading, but later went to Kansas and was en- 
gaged in farming in that state for seven years. Returning to Wis- 
consin, he was there engaged in farming until 1901, when, on account 
of his wife's delicate health, he came to Riverside. Here he bought 
ten acres of oranges at 1338 Kansas Avenue, and went into the 
orange industry. Of recent years he has practically turned over the 
management of the busines.s to his son, and is enjoying a well-earned 
ease. The crop is mostly navals, although there are a few valencies. 
The location is an ideal one, and here a pleasant home is maintained. 
The crop is shipped through the Sierra Vista Packing House, of which 
at one time Mr. Maine was a director. He was also for a time con- 
nected with the banking interests of the city, but sold his stock some 
time ago. With the majority of the veterans of the war of the '60s 
he joined the Grand Army of the Republic, and served as commander 
of the Post in his home town in Wisconsin. Always voting the re- 
publican ticket, he was quite active in party matters in Wisconsin, 
serving as delegate to the countv conventions and as a member of the 
City Central Committee, but since he located at Riverside he has not 
participated to any extent in politics. 

In 1874 Mr. Maine married Laura Elizabeth De Haven, a native 
of Wisconsin and a daughter of Alpheus De Haven, a farmer of 
Revolutionary stock and French Huguenot descent. Mr. and Mrs. 
Maine have three children, namely: Morna G., who is the wife of 
George F. Conway, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this 
work; Beatrice M., who is the wife of Truman F. Gridley, who is 
living in Coachella. is foreman of the Narbonne ranch ; Rexford De 
Haven, who conducts his father's business. 

Since coming to Riverside Mr. Maine has displayed commendable 
civic pride and has advocated all kinds of public improvements, for 
he realizes the necessity of keeping abreast of progress in every 
way. Personally genial and convincing, he has always made warm 
friends, and his evident sincerity and sterling worth'have gained for 
him the confidence and esteem of the community in which he has 
been for so long a prominent figure. 

Capt. Alfred Marcy Api.in. — There could be no historical sub- 
ject of greater interest than that involved in the reclamation, development 
and improvement of the former desert regions of Southern California into 
what is now a well connected landscape of citrus groves. Hardly anvone 
had a more important and practical part in that development, particularly 
in the districts around Highland, than the late Capt. Alfred Marcy Aplin. 



1096 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Captain Aplin, who received his title as a Union officer of the Civil 
war, was born in Ashtabula County, Ohio, October 14, 1837. While com- 
pleting a college course he answered Lincoln's first call for volunteers, 
served a three months' enlistment and then re-enlisted and was with the 
fighting forces of the North until the final surrender. He was once cap- 
tured, and for seven days endured confinement in the Belle Isle Prison 
near Richmond, Virginia. He was in some of the most noted battles of 
the war, and at Missionary Ridge his captain, Cahil, was killed as he stood 
looking over Mr. Aplin's shoulder reading a newspaper. This newspaper 
had been slipped to them by a negro as they lay secreted in the brush, 
and Confederate sharpshooters had located them by means of the paper. 
Captain Aplin was an aide to General Thomas in the battles of Chicka- 
mauga and Stone River, and at the close of the war he participated in the 
Grand Review at Washington. He went in as a private, was twice 
promoted for bravery, and retired with the rank of captain. For many 
years he was a member of the G. A. R. Post at San Bernardino. 

In Ohio in 1865 Captain Aplin married Miss Mary Elizabeth Winn, 
of Athens, that state. She was born in Albany, Ohio, November 14, 1842. 
When he left Ohio, Captain Aplin lived for two years at Mount Pleasant, 
Iowa, and from there moved to Chetopah, Kansas. With that town as his 
headquarters he carried on an extensive business as a cattleman, running 
his herds over a large territory in Kansas and Indian Territory. 

Captain Aplin came to California in 1875. He had a temporary resi- 
dence on Base Line, and for the first three months worked in the moun- 
tains at the Little Bear Sawmill owned by Talmadge. In the meantime 
he was looking about for a permanent location, and in 1875 homesteaded 
a quarter section in East Highland, what is now known as the Smith Ranch. 
Almost immediately he became instrumental in developing an irrigation 
water system, and also planted much of his land to deciduous fruit. One 
association of those early times was with F. E. Brown, the well known 
pioneer and founder of Redlands. They established a plant at the north 
end of Orange Street, and for two seasons bought and evaporated fruit. 
Captain Aplin designed and constructed the first commercial evaporator at 
Redlands, a plant which people came miles to see. He operated this plant 
on Lugonia Avenue near the Beal place in 1878-79. He also invented, 
though he never patented, a knife for the cutting of clingstone peaches. 
The design- was subsequently adopted and largely manufactured in the 
East. While associated with Mr. Brown he was also instrumental in bring- 
ing water to the higher mesas in Redlands. He was a pioneer in the build- 
ing of the Congregational Church at Highland, and was active in its choir. 

About 1880 he bought eighty acres of railroad land, a portion of which 
is still owned by Mrs. Mary E. Aplin of East Highland. This he improved, 
setting out one of the first Naval orange groves in the district. He had 
observed the influence of frost on the sunflowers on lower and higher 
land, and was one of the first to advocate the higher mesa as the best loca- 
tion for citrus fruit, a policy and plan since generally followed and 
approved. He recommended and promoted the first two higher line water 
ditches from Santa Ana, partly as a means of saving wasteage due to the 
loss through the sand and also to serve the higher foothill lands. He was 
partially responsible for the present high line known as the North Fork 
Ditch or Canal. His first attempt to construct this was met by ridicule, 
and a number of his neighbors declared the ditch ran uphill and refused 
to work, taking their teams and going home. It was only after a con- 
vincing talk with the aid of a surveyor that they returned and helped him 
complete the work. Captain Aplin with John Weeks and John Cram made 
the first filing on the waters of Plunge Creek, and Captain Aplin built the 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1097 

Plunge Creek Ditch without the air of a surveyor, using a home made 
level. This was about 1883-84. He also contracted and laid the first pav- 
ing in the North Fork Ditch, employing two hundred Chinese at a dollar 
and a quarter a day of ten hours. 

Captain Aplin's signature was attached to the contract with the North 
Fork and Bear Valley Water companies, wherein the Bear Valley Water 
Company was permitted to divert to the compounding dam certain tribu- 
taries of North Fork, agreeing to maintain the North Fork ditches and 
deliver 600 inches of water to it in the months of June, July and August, 
thus settling a difficult problem of water rights in the district. Captain 
Aplin was also consulted by the founders of the Bear Valley Dam as to 
the feasibility of such a construction, and he guided the parties to the site 
on which the present dam is located. 

He was one of the first men from the Highland district to make practi- 
cal use of investments in the great Imperial Valley. The eighty acres he 
owned there he improved by planting grapes, deciduous fruits, and experi- 
menting in other lines. In 1908 Captain Aplin moved from East High- 
land to a modern home he built in East Hollywood. He remained there 
four years, and then removed to San Francisco, where the death of this 
honored pioneer occurred February 28, 1918. Captain Aplin had many 
solid works to his credit in business affairs, and he was always known as a 
man of the highest character. He had come to California a thousand 
dollars in debt, and he paid that off in eight years. Eventually he achieved 
a fortune, and was thoroughly admired for the qualities of his citizenship. 

Captain and Mrs. Aplin had six children, the first three having been 
born in Iowa. The oldest, Benjamin, died at the age of twenty-eight. 
The second, Myrtle Alfreda Aplin, M.D., graduated from the Cooper 
Medical College of San Francisco, and was one of the first two women out 
of thirty of her sex who competed in examination, to be selected and 
appointed by the Governor for executive responsibilities in the State Hos- 
pitals. For seven years she was physician in charge of the women's depart- 
ment at the Napa Hospital for the Insane, resigning to devote herself to 
her invalid mother. 

The third child Dr. Guy E. Aplin, who graduated in medicine in Chi- 
cago, practiced for a number of years in St. Louis, and after returning to 
California practiced at Santa Paula, and later at Calpella had a successful 
experience as a pear orchardist. Later he was manager for the Phoebe 
Hearst home ranch, and is now a prominent orange grower on the place his 
father planted at Highland. He married Pearl Burr, who was reared and 
educated in the East. 

The fourth child of the family was Donald Graham Aplin, who was 
born at Chetopah, Kansas, graduated from Pomona College and California 
University, receiving the degree Bachelor of Science in mine engineering 
and chemistry in 1899. He taught in the chemistry department at Berkeley 
for a year, then spent a year with the Borax Company, and was with the 
Dean and Jones Mining Company and the Virginia Dale Mines and for a 
number of years performed the arduous duties incident to work on the 
desert and in the mountains. He was a pioneer in the Imperial Valley, 
improving farm land there, and was horticultural commissioner and presi- 
dent of the Imperial Water Company. He finally resigned to return to 
Highland and take charge of his father's place. After eight years he 
bought ten acres at the corner of Boulder and Pacific avenues, where he 
owns one of the best groves in Highland, and he also acquired twenty-five 
acres nearby, which he set out to citrus fruits. In 1908 he married Miss 
Laura Corwin, member of a pioneer family of Southern California. She 
was educated in the Redlands High School and in Longmire's Business 



1098 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

College at San Bernardino. Their three children are: John Alfred, born 
in 1909; Florence, born in 1913, and Esther, born in 1918. 

The fifth child of Captain Aplin was Alfred Porter, who was born at 
East Highland and was drowned in the North Fork Canal at the age of 
two years. The youngest of the family, Ethel Grace, also a native of 
Highland, is a graduate of the preparatory school of Pomona College and 
received her M. D. degree from Ward's Medical College at San Francisco. 
She was married to Frank Lynn, an electrician, who was accidentally elec- 
trocuted in San Francisco. Mrs. Lynn is a leader in the socialist party in 
California and was a candidate on that ticket for secretary of state, receiv- 
ing 40,000 votes. She possesses great talent in literary lines as well as 
in sociological problems, and was author of a book entitled "Adventures of 
a Woman Hobo." 

Marcus L. Frink, of the pioneers constituting the old San Bernardino 
Colony one still living and with a vast amount of authoritative and interest- 
ing information concerning early times, early conditions and old personali- 
ties and events is Marcus L. Frink of Redlands, a native son, and whose 
memory and participation in local history run back half a century or more. 

Mr. Frink was born in San Bernardino, March 14, 1860. His birth- 
place was what in later years was the old race track, but sixty years ago was 
a low, swampy tract of land then owned by his great-grandfather, Martin 
Potter. Mr. Frink is a son of Horace Monroe and Polly Ann (DeWitt) 
Frink. His father was born in New York State in 1831 and came to 
California in the years immediately following the discovery of gold. The 
day he was twenty-one he came into the state riding a horse, and Indians 
attacked the party and he was robbed of everything, including the clothes 
he had on his back. He borrowed a shirt, trousers and moccasins in order 
to make a presentable appearance when he reached the border of civiliza- 
tion, in 1852 at Hangtown, California. He was a brick mason by trade, 
and his first enterprise was contracting to burn a lime kiln for the price of 
a dollar a barrel. He worked at that one year, burned 700 barrels, and 
then returned to the States. When he came back to California he was 
accompanied by his grandmother and two half brothers, and this time the 
trip was made by wagon train. They reached San Bernardino in 1854. 

In San Bernardino he married Polly Ann DeWitt, a native of Indiana. 
She was one of the real pioneer women of California, and came West by 
wagon train with many hazards and arduous circumstances, the first stage 
of the journey ending at Salt Lake and from there by a second stage 
traveling to San Bernardino. With her came her grandfather, the Martin 
Potter above mentioned, and her brother. They located on the old race 
track site, owned by Potter. Horace M. Frink and wife had seven chil- 
dren, three of whom died in infancy. The oldest of those to grow up was 
A. M. Frink, who was born in 1858 and died November 10, 1918, leaving 
one daughter. Marcus L. is the second and the only son to survive. George 
Grant Frink born in 1866. died in 1875. The fourth, Polly Ann, born in 
1869, is the wife of Henry Gansner, and is the mother of a son and 
daughter. 

Horace M. Frink was an old time freighter and a pioneer in every 
sense of the word. He drove and sent heavy teams from San Bernardino 
into Utah and later to the various mining camps in Arizona. He was also 
a pilot when the old stage line was established, having blazed the way for 
several early stage routes in the Southwest. His business at home was 
largely ranching and cattle raising. In 1866 he traded the lower half of 
the old race track farm with a man named Wallace for 100 acres on the 
old Cottonwood Road, giving Wallace $400 in value in cattle to even up 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1099 

the transaction. This land is still owned by his heirs. He moved his 
family into an old slab house on the new tract, but during 1871-72 con- 
structed a substantial adobe house. The adobe bricks were made on the 
old Barton tract, and Marcus Frink and his brother hauled them to the 
site of the building where their father laid them in the wall. This building 
is still occupied, and with recent changes is modern in appearance and a 
splendid abode of comfort. On this land in 1868 Horace Frink set out 
some seedling orange trees, made additional plantings in 1870, and this 
was one of the pioneer successful efforts at orange growing in this vicinity. 
In later years these plantings have been greatly extended by Marcus 
L. Frink and his brother, much of the tract being now given over to Naval 
oranges. 

In November, 1900,' Marcus L. Frink and his sister divided the estate 
of 105 acres, Mrs. Gansner taking 25 acres, while Mr. Frink now has 
60, 30 acres of which are in oranges and 30 acres in alfalfa. 

Mr. Frink during his boyhood had little opportunity to attend school. 
After he was fourteen he had to work regularly at home. In 1880 he 
married Miss Caroline Wilson, who was born at the old San Bernardino 
Colony, daughter of Joseph and Rhoda (Van Leuven) Wilson. The name 
Van Leuven is particularly significant as pioneer families in this section of 
the state. The Wilsons and Van Leuvens came over the plains and moun- 
tains in ox trains. Mr. and Mrs. Frink had seven children. The four 
now living are: Lena, born November 3, 1881, educated at Redlands, and 
wife of Fred W. Watkins, who was born in Pennsylvania and is a short- 
hand reporter and clerk of court under Judge Curtis in San Bernardino. 
Mr. and Mrs. Watkins have a son and a daughter. Amy Frink, born 
February 14, 1884, was educated in the Redlands High School and in 
1906 became the wife of George A. Murphy, of Redlands Junction. Their 
children are Florence Loraine, born in 1907, and Mark Murphy, born in 
1912. Milton J. Frink, born September 3, 1890, is an orange grower in 
the Redlands district. He married Ruth Weed, of Michigan, and her 
two sons are Kenneth Milton, born March 20, 1916, and Donald Eugene, 
born September 20. 1919. The fourth and youngest child is Howard 
Lloyd, born May 11, 1897. He enlisted September 6, 1918, and was in 
training at Camp Kearney until after the signing of the armistice. 

Marcus L. Frink has many pictures in his memory of the San Ber- 
nardino of bygone days. When he was a boy the town contained only 
one store, owned by Louis Jacobs, who later became prominent as a 
banker. He lived here when this was a wide open town with twenty-eight 
saloons, drinking, shooting, gambling, and often the scene of riotous 
excitement from day to day. It was the rendezvous of miners and 
freighters, and Indians were frequent visitors and were allowed to drink 
without hindrance. Mr. Frink states that the Indians then living here 
would willingly do ranch work for fifty cents a day and were good laborers, 
working from daylight to dark, but spent all their earnings in the saloons. 
The building of the railroad to Colton in 1874 began the modern era of 
progress and development, all of which Mr. Frink has witnessed and in 
which he has participated as one of the old pioneers who are glad to see 
the wonderful advantages in this region made available to a constantly 
increasing population. Mr. Frink is a member of the Native Sons, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. In politics he is a republican, and has served on the 
Republican County Central Committee. 

Jacob Dean Kirkpatrick has been a resident of Ontario for thirty 
years, locating in that section of San Bernardino County after leaving 



1100 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

his farm in Iowa, and continued dairying and ranching here for a number 
of years, until he retired, and is now enjoying the ample prosperity 
that has rewarded his energetic efforts. _ 

Mr. Kirkpatrick was born August 3, 1856, son of James W. and 
Rachael J. (Burge) Kirkpatrick. His father was an Iowa pioneer and 
enlisted from that state in the Union Army during the Civil war. Jacob 
D. Kirkpatrick acquired his education in Iowa, at New London, and was 
identified with farming in that state until about 1892 when he removed 
to Ontario and bought a dairy ranch of thirty acres. He continued 
dairying until a few years ago, when he sold out. He now lives in the 
center of the city of Ontario, at 224 East A Street, and has a beautiful 
residence erected five years ago, one of the most desirable homes of 
Ontario, and a house representing to a large extent his ideas of planning 
and arrangement. Mr. Kirkpatrick served for a number of years as 
superintendent of streets in Ontario, is a Joyal democrat, a public spirited 
citizen, for many years has been closely affiliated with the Methodist 
Church and is a Woodman of the World and has filled various chairs 
in that order. 

In Fairfield, Jefferson County, Iowa, January 1, 1882, he married 
Miss Anna J. Orr, who was born near Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, August 
11, 1861. Her parents, James and Eleanor (McCutheon) Orr, were 
natives of County Tyrone, Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Kirkpatrick have had 
four chjldren: Nellie R., wife of J. H. Sanborn, of Millcreek, Cali- 
fornia ; Julius D., who married Lavina Wymore and is living in Ontario ; 
Florence D., who recently graduated from the University of California, 
at Berkeley; and Rachel, deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Kirkpatrick's grand- 
children are as follows: Ronald (deceased), Arthur Dean, Eleanor 
Bertha, and Leona Marie, who are children of Nellie R. Sanborn ; and 
Anna Elizabeth, Lavina Ruth, Clara Dorris and Denzil Victor, children 
of Julius D. Kirkpatrick. 

Mrs. Kirkpatrick was educated in the public schools of Jefferson 
County, Iowa, and is a member of the Women's Relief Corps. Mr. 
Kirkpatrick was one of the charter members of the George Strong Post, 
Sons of Veterans, of Brighton, Iowa. 

H. H. Linville was the type of business man and citizen that is a 
fundamental asset to any community. His life in San Bernardino County 
was a constructive one, resulting in improved conditions, and individually it 
was successful, success being gained after reverses that might have dis- 
couraged less determined men. 

The late Mr. Linville was born in Oregon, son of W. J. Linville. As a 
boy he came to California with his parents, who lived in San Francisco for 
a time and then came to Riverside. In the Riverside district his father 
set out an orange orchard when few plantings of citrus fruit had been 
made in that section. He also bought and operated a planing mill near 
Colton. Later H. H. Linville was associated with his father in this busi- 
ness, and on moving to San Bernardino they operated a planing mill. Mr. 
H. H. Linville and Mr. Whitney as partners owned a mill at San Ber- 
nardino, and also bought timber and operated a saw mill in the San 
Bernardino Mountains. After the burning of the mill at San Bernardino 
Mr. Linville engaged in the citrus nursery business at Highland. For a 
period his efforts were rewarded with encouraging progress. Then came 
a severe freeze, which practically destroyed the entire plantation. That 
was the second severe financial reverse. This time he was left only with 
the assets of good character. At this time the Brookings Mill & Lumber 
Company was beginning the operation of a large sawmill at Highland. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1101 

This firm allowed .Mr. Linville to have a strip of land with water, and in 
return for its use he acted as watchman of the company's property. On 
this land he again planted a nursery, and as the result of long, hard hours 
of lahor he gradually built anew his finances. Later he purchased land 
from Mr. Tyler and expanded the nursery to larger proportions, and from 
time to time increased his holdings, securing forty-six acres of valuable 
citrus groves. Eventually he was one of the large property owners of this 
section, owning several substantial business blocks in the City of San 
Bernardino and in Highland. Great industry and business ability put him 
on a secure financial footing years before his death, which occurred at 
Highland in 1915. He was a Knight of Pythias and a member of the 
Congregational Church. 

At Highland Mr. Linville married Miss Cora B. Wallace, a native of 
Iowa, and brought to California when seventeen months old by her parents, 
William and Mary E. (Gemmel) Wallace. Her people were among the 
pioneers of the Highland section. As Miss Wallace Mrs. Linville was a 
popular teacher both in Riverside and Highland. She is the mother of two 
children : Henry Herschel and Wallace Linville. 

The memory of the late Mr. Linville is that of one of the founders of 
the colony, a pillar of real strength and a source of encouragement to 
others. He was far-seeing, possessed advanced ideas and ideals, and was 
most generous in giving them expression. 

John R. Metcalf, of Highland, is one of the successful self-made 
men of San Bernardino County, and is proud of the fact that he owes 
all of his present prosperity to his own, unaided efforts. He has always 
studied conditions carefully, weighed opportunities and made his invest- 
ments wisely, with a view to the future as well as the present. It is such 
men as he who are responsible for the remarkable expansion in every 
direction of the commercial and industrial interests of Southern California. 

The birth of John R. Metcalf occurred at San Bernardino, November 
22, 1863, and he is a son of John F. and Eliza Metcalf, natives of Cum- 
berland, England, who first immigrated to Australia and later to America, 
with their respective parents. It was during the excitement over the 
discovery of gold in Australia that the Metcalf family left England for 
Australia, but when it died out in 1852, without having materially bettered 
their fortunes, they decided to once more follow the lure of the golden 
goddess. They left Sidney, Australia, on one of the old-type sailing 
vessels, and after a long and wearying voyage of thirteen weeks landed at 
Wilmington, California. It is a curious fact that their former voyage, 
from England to Australia, also took thirteen weeks, and it, too, was 
made in a sailing vessel. 

Although they came here primarily with the idea of prospecting for 
gold, John F. Metcalf found better-paying work at freighting, for there 
was such a demand for all kinds of supplies and no railroads to carry 
them that the profits from this line of business were very large. He drove 
a team from the seacoast to various Government posts on the frontier, 
later extending his territory to different points in Arizona and becoming 
the owner of his own outfit. On these trips it was the custom for a 
number of the freighters to travel together so as to be able in this way 
to offer an effective resistance to any attack by the Indians, who infested 
the country at this period. In spite of all the precautions he had many 
narrow escapes, and some very thrilling experiences. In 1870 he rented 
from John Brown, Senior, the toll road through Cajon Pass. Like other 
pioneer enterprises, however, freighting passed with the coming of more 
civilized conditions, and John Metcalf turned his attention to other pro- 



1102 SAX BERXARDIXO AXD RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

jects. In 1873 he began lumbering and saw-milling in the San Bernardino 
Mountains, one mile southeast of the present Little Bear Valley dam site, 
but he died two years later, just as he was getting his new undertakings in 
excellent shape. 

John F. Metcalf married Miss Eliza Arnold, and they had five children : 
John R.. who was the eldest ; Elizabeth, who was born in 1865, died in 
1875; Isabel, who was born in 1866. died the following year; James W., 
who was born December 14, 1868, is now living at Colton, and has for 
twenty-five years been in the service of the Santa Fe Railroad Company, 
being now in entire charge of the Southern California signal service, which 
he has so perfected that it costs to the company practically nothing in acci- 
dents, being 100 per cent efficient; and Margaret, who was born May 11, 
1871, married M. J. Simonton, chief auditor, Hawaiian Islands, which 
responsible position he has held for years. When the United States Gov- 
ernment took over these islands Judge Robinson was appointed judge, and 
Mr. Simonton was made his clerk. When Woodrow Wilson became presi- 
dent, he appointed a new judge, and Mr. Simonton was made chief auditor. 
He and his wife have one child, Richard M. Simonton, a bright young man 
with brilliant prospects. He studied in the various schools on the islands, 
and then took a course in marine studies. Coming to Presidio, California, 
he took the examination for Annapolis, and was one out of a class of 800 
to pass it satisfactorily, his rating being 380. He is now on the high seas 
for further training as an official. 

John R. Metcalf was educated in the schools of San Bernardino, and 
his first employment was secured in the general merchandise store of H. 
Conner of that city. Then for two years he was with Xewburg & Rath- 
burn, grocers, leaving that firm for Smith Hale, with whom he continued 
until he went into the grocery business for himself in 1885, at which time 
he established himself at Riverside, and very successfully conducted his 
store for two years, when he sold and went into Bear Valley 

With his arrival in Bear Valley and his entry into the cattle business, 
began the era of his real prosperity, and he extended his operations in many 
directions. Mr. Metcalf began on 1,000 acres of land, but had an exten- 
sive range on Whitewater for winter feeding. During this part of his 
career he had many experiences, and passed through a number of changes, 
both natural and artificial. In 1891 the Colorado River broke over its 
banks, something similar to the floods which formed the present Salton 
Sea, and the lands were flooded about Xew River, and as a result quan- 
tities of grass and pools of water continued during that season. G. W. 
Lang, an old Arizona cattleman driving cattle across the desert to the 
coast, found this feed, which enabled him to bring in 9,000 head of cattle. 
So favorably was he impressed with the country that he followed the 
river back into the Bee River country, and there obtained Mexican govern- 
ment concessions. His example was followed by Mr. Metcalf, who also 
bought cattle at different times, as Lang drove them out. He paid $1,503 
for 400 head of cattle from Mr. Lang at one time. The following year, 
with O. M. Smith, he bought 500 head of cattle driven out from the Colo- 
rado River across the Chachuwalla Desert to Whitewater. The loss through 
making this desert drive was small, as the partners sold 490 head of this 
herd to R. F. Garner. All of these occurrences took place during the early 
history of the cattle industry in California. 

Mr. Metcalf in partnership with Gus Knight built the famous Pine Knot 
Hotel of the now world-renowned Bear Valley Mountain resort. When 
they put up the first hotel this valley was a primitive forest and meadow 
land locality. He packed in all of his supplies by way of Victorville and 
the desert trail. Subsequently Mr. Metcalf sold his interest in this hotel 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1103 

to Mr. Knight. Mr. Metcalf also organized and superintended the con- 
struction of the first toll road in the valley. The merchants in the valley 
below subscribed stock to the amount of about $1,500, Mr. Knight sub- 
scribed $1,000, and Mr. Metcalf assumed the balance, of about $2,000. 
This road was opened in 1891 as one charging one dollar for a two-horse 
team. At that time the valley had but five families, those of Messrs. Met- 
calf and Knight, and the Rathbun, Beard and Case families, and there 
was also the carekeeper at the dam. By comparing the population in 1891 
with the returns from the last census some adequate idea of the develop- 
ment in this region may be gained. In 1910 Mr. Metcalf sold his chief 
holdings to John D. Clark, who in turn sold them to the present owners, 
the Talmage brothers. In the meanwhile he had disposed of his cattle 
business and moved to Los Angeles, where until 1918 he was very success- 
fully engaged in business as a grocer. In the latter year he came to High- 
land, and since then has been occupied with orange and lemon growing. 
In 1887 Mr. Metcalf married Miss Belle Knight, who was born in 1863 
and is a member of the prominent Knight family. Mr. and Mrs. Metcalf 
have no children. They are very prominent socially, and are hospitable 
entertainers at their beautiful Highland home. They are enthusiastic 
with reference to the future of San Bernardino County, fully believing 
that the beginning of its expansion has barely commenced. Having taken 
so active a part in much of the earlier constructive work, they are in a 
position to know its possibilities and what may be expected of them. 
Mr. Metcalf has been a hard worker. While he has been accorded a 
success greater than comes to every man, he has earned every bit of it, and 
also fully deserves the confidence he inspires, for it comes as the result of 
years of purposeful endeavor, intelligent planning and the determination 
to permit no obstacles to stand in the way of his attaining his object. 
His recollections of the early cattle days, as well as of the beginnings of 
Pine Knot Hotel, are interesting and worthy of a place in recorded history. 
for they are authentic and colorful, giving a true picture of the days before 
modern invention dominated everything. 

Mrs. Elizabeth F. Van Leuven, whose childhood memories touch 
pioneer life in both Utah and California, has been a resident of the latter 
state since 1858, and is now one of the venerable and revered pioneer 
women of San Bernardino County, where she maintains her home in the 
beautiful Mission district of Redlands. Her gracious personality and the 
experiences that have been hers in connection with the development and 
progress of this favored section of the state render it specially gratifying 
to pay to her in this publication a merited tribute. 

Mrs. Van Leuven was born in the State of Illinois, on the 17th of 
March, 1846, and is a daughter of William J. and Rachel Robinson. The 
father was born in Missouri, in 1818, was there reared to adult age, and he 
was a farmer by vocation during the period of his youth and early man- 
hood. He became a member of the Church of Latter Day Saints and 
when, at the outbreak of the Mexican war, the Government of the United 
States made requisition upon the Mormon Church for 500 men to serve 
as soldiers in the coming conflict Mr. Robinson was one of those who 
entered service. He became a member of what was known as the Mormon 
Battalion. This command was furnished wagons and teams and assigned 
to the transporting of arms, equipment and supplies to the stage of con- 
flict. In the early summer of 1846 the militant caravan set forth from 
Jefferson County, Misouri, on the long and perilous overland journey 
through the wilderness to Mexico. The men traveled on foot and through 
the settled districts traversed by the cavalcade they added to the supplies 



1104 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

to be transported to the front. The march was continued to Albuquerque, 
New Mexico, and thence through the desert country, with countless obsta- 
cles to be overcome in passing through the arid districts of the Southwest. 
Thus was achieved by these hard men a feat of endurance well nigh 
unprecedented in history. The men of this party, as official records show, 
did much to further the success of the United States in the war with 
Mexico, and their record was one of loyal and arduous service. The mem- 
bers of the Mormon Battalion were mustered out while in Mexico. Some 
of them returned to Missouri by the same route that they had come, and 
Mr. Robinson and a number of other members of the command returned 
by wagon train through Mexico to Yuma, Arizona, thence to Wilmington, 
California, and onward through Salt Lake City, Utah, and he finally 
arrived at his home in Missouri in 1848. In May, 1852, in company with 
his wife and their five children, he became associated in the forming of a 
wagon train of many ox and mule teams, the train being divided into 
units of ten wagons each, with a captain assigned in charge of each of these 
divisions. Mr. Robinson was made captain of his unit. The members of 
the party were followers of Brigham Young, and they set forth to form a 
new Mormon colony, it having been the hope of the Latter Day Saints that 
after the annexation of territory at the close of the Mexican war they 
would be given a refuge and home in California. The immigrant train 
proceeded on its hazardous westward journey and suffered greatly by the 
scourge of cholera which marked the year 1852, many members of the 
party having died of the dread disease, including Mr. Robinson, who died 
July 17, 1852, while the company was in the immediate vicinity of the 
Platte River, one of his daughters having died six days previously. The 
bereaved wife and mother, with her four young children, continued her 
weary and desolate journey, and the daughter Elizabeth, of this sketch, 
who was then six years old, well recalls the passing of the party through 
Echo Canyon, she having been greatly alarmed by the echoes, which she 
thought to be persons mocking the party. The memorable journey and 
its incidents left vivid impressions on her childish mind, and her reminis- 
cences of this remarkable pioneer experience of the western wilds are most 
graphic and interesting. The travel-worn caravan arrived at Salt Lake 
City about the first of September, 1852, and Mrs. Robinson and her chil- 
dren there remained until 1858, when they became members of another 
wagon train and set forth for California. Mrs. Robinson later contracted 
a second marriage. Philomon M., the eldest of the Robinson children, was 
born in Missouri, as were the other four children, and he accompanied his 
mother on the journey to California; Elizabeth F., to whom this review is 
dedicated, was the next in order of birth; Louise was the daughter who 
died en route to Utah ; and the two younger children, Emma and William 
H., accompanied their mother to California. Mrs. Robinson established 
the family home at San Bernardino, and here she later married William 
Pugh, there having been three children of this union — Melvin, Cardnell 
and Eleanor. 

Elizabeth Robinson was reared to adult age amid the pioneer influences 
and conditions that obtained in San Bernardino County, and her educational 
advantages were those of the locality and period. On the 14th of January, 
1863, she became the wife of Anson Van Leuven, a California pioneer of 
1852. In 1854 Benjamin Van Leuven, father of Anson, likewise came to 
California, and here he purchased eighty acres of land in the Mormon 
settlement in San Bernardino County. After his marriage Anson Van 
Leuven settled on this land, and the property, now finely improved, is still 
known as the Van Leuven ranch. This place is situated on Mountain 
View Avenue in the Mission district, and here Mrs. Van Leuven maintains 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 105 

her home at the present time. It is needless to say that the old home is 
endeared to her by many hallowed memories and associations. On this 
place Mr. Van Leuven planted his first orange grove in the year 1862, 
and the trees which he thus planted were the first to bear oranges within 
the borders of San Bernardino County, the first ripened products having 
here been garnered in 1867. Apples and peaches raised on the Van 
Leuven ranch in the early days were dried, and grapes were manufactured 
into wine. These products were sold and shipped out by wagon freight, 
as was also the grain raised for market. There was nothing sybaritic in 
the conditions that were in evidence here in the early days, and Mrs. Van 
Leuven states that she wore simple calico dresses which she made by 
hand, as did she all other clothes used by herself and her children. She 
was the mother of three children before she ever saw a sewing machine, 
and it can thus be understood that she acquired skill with the needle as a 
matter of virtual necessity. In her possession to-day, as a prized relic, 
is a surrey that gave long and effective service, this vehicle having been 
manufactured in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1849, and Nathan Meek having used 
the same in making the overland trip to California. Mr. Van Leuven 
purchased the vehicle in 1863, and it continued as the family carriage for 
many years — until, in fact, it gave place to the modern automobile. 

In coming to California Mr. Van Leuven crossed the plains with an ox 
team, and a somewhat attenuated heifer, which he purchased, was hauled 
on a wagon the entire distance from Bitter Springs. This animal played 
well its part in the family entourage and lived to the age of thirty-four 
years. 

Mr. Van Leuven served as sheriff of San Bernardino County from 
1858 to 1861, and it will be understood by the students of early history 
of California that his duties were of strenuous and often hazardous order, 
as horse and cattle thieves and other outlaws were active in pursuit of their 
nefarious work. The large cattle and horse ranch known as the San Jose 
Ranch was the site of the present fine little city of Pomona, and ran its 
cattle in the bottom lands of the Mojave River. Thieves stole a large 
number of horses from this ranch, and they were tracked through Cajon 
Pass. The owner of the ranch, in riding about and looking after his cattle, 
recognized his stolen horses in the distance. He notified Sheriff Van 
Leuven, who took up the trail, recovered the horses and captured four of 
the six thieves. After their conviction he alone took charge of them on 
the trip to the state prison, the sheriff and his prisoners having gone to San 
Pedro on horseback and having thence continued up the coast by steamer. 
The ranch owner, fearing an attempt would be made to rescue the prison- 
ers, brought sixteen men to guard them on the trip to Los Angeles, but 
Sheriff Van Leuven declined this aid and proceeded alone with his pris- 
oners. The sheriff traced the men by the track of the defective hoof of a 
horse which one of the number was riding, he having recognized this 
peculiar deformity as being that of a horse stolen from the San Jose Ranch, 
and on this occasion he manifested much finesse, as did he on many other 
occasions. His vigorous administration rid the district and county of 
many lawless and desperate characters, for rarely did a guilty man escape 
him. He served as a deputy United States marshal during the period of 
the Civil War, and was one of the prominent and influential men of his 
county. In 1863 he was elected to represent San Bernardino County in 
the Legislature, and as a member of the Lower House he made an excel- 
lent record of service in the General Assembly of 1864. He was a stalwart 
republican, a man of inviolable integrity, marked loyalty and much pro- 
gressiveness and public spirit. Long before the close of his life he and his 
wife had severed their allegiance to the Church of the Latter Day Saints. 



1106 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Honest and upright in all of the relations of life, Mr. Van Leuven left a 
benignant and enduring impress upon the community in which he lived 
and wrought, and lie was one of the honored pioneer citizens of San Ber- 
nardino County at the time of his death, in 1896. 

Mr. and Mrs. Van Leuven became the parents of five children, all born 
in the old home place in San Bernardino County. Myron Franklin, eldest 
of the number, was born November 25, 1863, and he resides with his wid- 
owed mother on the old home place, his wife, whose maiden name was 
Mary Hughes, being deceased. Sarah, the second child, was born June 
8, 1865, and her death occurred in 1882. Byron, who was born April 2, 
1869, is a bachelor and remains with his mother on the home ranch. 
Henry, born April 21, 1871, is a prominent business man of Redlands. 
He married Miss Lucv M. Iuch, of Redlands, and they have one son, 
William H., born November 12, 1914. Maude, born March 2, 1883, is 
the wife of C. J. Boone, who is a successful orange-grower, residing on 
part of the old homestead near Redlands. Mr. and Mrs. Boone have three 
children, Carroll Jackson, William Bruce and Richard Lewis. Mrs. Boone 
is an active and influential member of the Parent-Teachers' Association of 
Redlands, and is earnest in work for community betterment, besides being 
popular in the social life of the locality which has represented her home 
from the time of her birth. 

Mrs. Elizabeth F. Van Leuven has witnessed the marvelous develop- 
ment of San Bernardino County, much of which was a desert waste when 
her family here established their pioneer home, and she has taken her part 
in the march of progress, has lived to enjoy the gracious rewards of former 
years of endeavor, and is one of the well known pioneer women of the 
county, with secure place in the affectionate regard of all who have come 
within the compass of her gracious and kindly influence. 

Benton Ballou is one of the progressive and representative fruit 
growers of the Ontario district of San Bernardino County, and his is 
the distinction of being one of the pioneers of this line of productive 
enterprise in this section of the county, which was little more than a 
desert when he here established his home. He has been an influential 
force in connection with the civic and industrial development of the 
district and of the fair little city of Ontario, where his attractive and 
modern home, at 119 Princeton Street, is nearly opposite the Chaffey 
High School, this being definitely one of the finest residence properties 
in the city. 

Mr. Ballou was born at National, Iowa, May 3, 1865, a date that 
indicates distinctly that his parents were numbered among the pioneers 
of the Hawkeye State. The name of Ballou has been worthily associ- 
ated with American annals since 1637, when the original progenitors of 
the American branch landed at Providence, Rhode Island. Land was 
purchased of Roger Williams, and this property in Rhode Island still 
remains in the possession of the Ballou family. Sanford B. and Sophia 
(Phillips) Ballou were the parents of the subject of this sketch. The 
mother died December 19, 1867, at National, Iowa, and the father died 
in Pasadena, California, in May, 1907. 

The pioneer public schools of Iowa afforded Benton Ballou his early 
educational discipline, which was supplemented by a commercial course 
and still later by a course in civil engineering. Mr. Ballou has been a 
resident of the Ontario community of San Bernardino County since 
December, 1898, but it was not until 1899 that he initiated his activities 
as a fruit grower in this locality. From a virtually desert waste he has 
developed a splendid ranch estate of 1,000 acres, and his attention is 




^£€^<__ 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1107 

given principally to the growing of grapes and peaches of the best types, 
his operations being now of broad scope and importance. A portion 
of his ranch was formerly owned by his father. His prominence and in- 
fluence in connection with fruit propagation is indicated by the fact 
that in 1921 he was president of the California Growers Association, 
Inc., one of the largest and most important organizations of its kind 
in the United States. As a young man Mr. Ballou served as a member 
of the Nebraska National Guard, in Company E, Second Regiment of 
Infantry. He was reared in the faith of the republican party, but while 
residing in the Southern states he transferred his allegiance to the demo- 
cratic party, in the ranks of which he has since been aligned. Mr. 
Ballou is a man of broad and tolerant views, considerate and generous in 
his judgment of his fellow men, and just and honorable in all of the 
relations of life, with the result that he has inviolable place in popular 
confidence and esteem. He is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity, and 
he and his wife hold membership in the Congregational Church in their 
home city. 

In the parsonage of the Methodist Episcopal Church in the City of 
San Bernardino, on the 23rd of November, 1900, was solemnized the 
marriage of Mr. Ballou and Miss Alice Ferris Jenkins, daughter of 
Daniel Jenkins. Mrs. Ballou was born in Sandoval, Marion County. 
Illinois, March 18, 1865, and was educated in the public and high schools 
of St. Louis, Missouri. They have one child, Sanford, a student in 
Junior College of Ontario, California. In their delightful home they take 
pleasure in entertaining the young folk of the community, as well as 
friends of their own generation. 

Marion Lee Cook. For over thirty years Marion Lee Cook, civil 
and mining engineer, has been a resident of San Bernardino, and his suc- 
cess and popularity in his profession and in the social and civic life of the 
city are due to the fact that from the first his sterling qualities of character 
were indelibly impressed upon all with whom he came in contact. It did 
not take him very long to show that in all lines pertaining to his profession 
he was efficient in the highest degree, consequently he has built up a large 
clientele not only in San Bernardino but throughout the district. 

Mr. Cook is always strong in the advocacy of anything which will push 
his home city to the front, and is a prominent and potential factor in all 
civic movements. He has served his city in positions of trust, always the 
loyal and energetic citizen. He is a strong republican, and takes an active 
part in the councils of the party. When the World war was going on 
he gave time and money to the cause where his intuitive sense of affairs 
and fertility of resource were of great assistance to his co-workers. He 
served in every way he could and also was a member of the Red Cross 
and War Loan committees. 

Mr. Cook was born near Raleigh, North Carolina, October 28, 1861, 
the son of John H. and Lucy A. (Stauffer) Cook. His father was a 
planter and stock raiser, and he also handled wheat coming in from the 
North, shipping it to the South to be made in flour ; the Civil war ruined 
his business and his home, and he moved to Ohio when his son Marion Lee 
was a small child. He went to Colorado for a time, hoping it would 
benefit his health, but returned to Ohio, locating in Wooster. Here he 
died in 1873. His wife was a native of Ohio, and she is now living in Los 
Angeles and is eighty years of age. 

Mr. Cook was educated in the public schools of Georgetown, Denver 
and Wooster, Ohio. From these he entered the Spencerian Business Col- 
lege in Cleveland and graduated therefrom. He then went back to Colo- 



1108 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

rado, and was for some time a bookkeeper and accountant. From this he 
entered the engineering department of the D. & R. G. Railroad, after that 
putting in a year in the University of Virginia, engineering department. 
From there he went back to Colorado, and spent two years in the School 
of Mines at Golden in that state. He put in one year in old Mexico and 
New Mexico, and having thoroughly equipped himself for his profession 
he came to California, locating in San Bernardino in August, 1890. Since 
his coming to California he has acquired various properties, oil leases and 
mining claims, among these latter owning a half interest in the Eldorado 
Gold Star mine in Nevada. 

Mr. Cook married in 1895 Ella Allison, a daughter of Hugh J. Allison, 
of San Bernardino. They have one son, Lloyd, now in his third year in 
the Oregon Agricultural College at Corvallis, Washington, Class of 1922. 

Mr. Cook was elected county surveyor four times, serving from 1894 
to 1910, and was assistant highway commissioner from 1915 to 1918. He 
was also a member of the Freeholders committee that framed the present 
city charter for the City of San Bernardino. 

James F. Wheat, postmaster of Redlands, and while this is his first 
term in that office, he has proved his exceptional ability as a public official 
in San Bernardino County, and won the recognition due him. He was 
selected for his first position as a live wire, a worth-while man and an 
indefatigable worker, and he filled the position with recognized efficiency 
and devoted, painstaking care. In his present office he has shown himself 
to be master of every detail, the right man for the right office. 

Mr. Wheat was born in Leonora, Minnesota, December 3, 1871, the 
son of James M. and Almira E. ( Foot) Wheat, both natives of New York. 
James M. Wheat went to Minnesota in the early days of that country, and 
practiced there as a physician for many years. He was actively interested 
in politics and a power in his party. He was state senator for eight years. 
He came with his family to California in the fall of 1887 and located in 
Redlands, continuing his practice there and also serving as health officer 
of that city for nearly twenty-five years. He died there in 1910, at the 
age of eighty-six. His widow is now living in Redlands. They were the 
parents of two children, Ida M., who died two years ago, and James F. 

James F. Wheat was educated in the grade schools of Minnesota and of 
Redlands and then attended business college in Los Angeles. He entered 
the business world by means of a real estate and insurance business in 
Redlands. and his activities in that line soon attracted attention and created 
public confidence. He made hosts of friends and deserved every one of 
them. He was a young boy when brought to Redlands, and he grew up 
in that city. 

In 1910 he was elected city treasurer of Redlands, and was re-elected 
five times, resigning in the middle of his fifth term to accept the position 
of county recorder, which he held until January 1, 1922, resigning to accept 
the postmastership of Redlands, which position he now holds. 

Mr. Wheat prospered in his business life, and owns a fine orange grove 
in Redlands. He married August 20, 1896, Gertrude Masten. a daughter 
of Benjamin F. Masten. of Indiana. They have two children, Mildred 
and Marjorie. Both are graduates of the Union High School, and Mar- 
jorie is now attending the University of Redlands. Miss Mildred is an 
accomplished pianist, and is practicing her profession in Los Angeles, 
where she gives instruction and is accompanist for prominent singers of 
the coast. Mrs. Wheat is a prominent club woman, being a member of the 
Contemporary Club and also one of the Landmarks Association committee 
of the Women's Federated Clubs. She was chairman of the committee. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1109 

Mr. Wheat fraternally is connected with the Redlands Lodge, No. 583, 
B. P. O. E. Politically he is a strong republican. 

Dudley G. Clayton. A county official who proved his worth to the 
citizens of Riverside City and County in other positions of trust before his 
election to his present office, Dudley G. Clayton created confidence in him- 
self, won by his ability and successful administration of all offices he held. 
A citizen of Riverside for over thirty years, he has served it well, both 
as a business man and as an official. 

Mr. Clayton was born in Keswick, New Brunswick, October 19, 1867, 
the son of J. P. and Lucy A. (Golder) Clayton, also natives of New 
Brunswick. J. P. Clayton was of English descent, grew to manhood on a 
farm and followed this occupation for many years, but at the same time 
acquired many valuable lumber interests. He came around the Horn in 
1867 and went to Sacramento, where he assisted in painting the capitol 
building. He was there for a year and then went back to sell the farm, 
but was induced not to do so. His son, John Clayton, who came with him 
around the Horn in 1867, remained in San Francisco and followed the 
occupation of ranching in the northern part of California until his death 
in December, 1888. 

In 1880 J. P. Clayton moved with his family to Missoula, Montana, 
and there carried on a lumber business until he retired. His wife was the 
daughter of Daniel Golder, her mother being the daughter of Captain 
Strange, captain of a vessel in the West Indies for the British govern- 
ment. An only child, she was born on board a man-of-war and was a 
small child when her father settled in New Brunswick. He chose this 
place for a home, although he owned a large grant of land on the site of 
Philadelphia. He neglected this latter property, however, and allowed it to 
pass from his possession, as he had other interests that represented con- 
siderable money and which engrossed his attention at that time. Mr. and 
Mrs. J. P. Clayton were the parents of eight sons, of whom all but one 
attained mature years. They were : John, who died in San Francisco ; 
Daniel and James, farmers in New Brunswick ; William A. and Charles G., 
who died in New Brunswick at the respective ages of twenty-seven and 
twenty-one; W. E., a dentist in Los Angeles, and Dudley G. Clayton. 

Dudley G. Clayton lived in New Brunswick until he reached the age 
of sixteen, and then went to Waterville, Maine, where he clerked for a 
year. He then returned home, and while there settled up the business of 
his father, who had then decided to remove to Montana. Dudley G. joined 
the family in Montana in 1887 and engaged in the lumber business with his 
father. 

In 1889 he came to California and selected Riverside as his permanent 
home. His first venture into the business life of the city was by means 
of the purchase of the interest of Mr. Zimmerman in the Park (now 
Holyrood) Hotel. In a year he sold out and accepted a position in the 
improving of Evergreen Cemetery. He became a stockholder in the com- 
pany and was made superintendent in February, 1891. When he took hold 
of the work no improvements had been attempted, but under his able 
direction it was enlarged and beautified until it assumed the appearance 
of a lovely park. 

He continued in this for twelve years and in 1902 he went into the 
undertaking business under the firm name of Clayton & Flagg, on the 
corner of Eighth and Orange streets. Later he bought Mr. Flagg's interest 
and continued alone for a short time, and then sold the business and went 
into the office of Sheriff P. M. Coburn as under sheriff on November 1, 
1904. He next went into the police department as deputy chief marshal 



1 1 10 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

under M. R. Shaw. Following this, when in May Captain Johnson was 
appointed chief of police, he was re-appointed deputy, when the charter 
was adopted. He continued in this position until the death of the chief, 
when he was appointed chief, in 1908. He continued in the police depart- 
ment as its chief until shortly after Mayor Evans assumed his office. He 
then acted as deputy chief until the following May, when he went back 
as under sheriff, this time under Sheriff F. P. Wilson. He resigned from 
this position July 27, 1918, to enter the race for county clerk, in which he 
was successful. This position he now holds most ably, and he was elected 
for the four year term. 

Mr. Clayton is a member of the Knights of the Maccabees and has 
served as secretary of the local tent continuously since 1893, and also as its 
commander. He is a member of the Independent Order of Foresters and 
has been scribe of Star Encampment No. 73 for fifteen years. He has 
been a member of the Yoemen for ten years.' In politics he is a strong 
republican, and always takes an active part in all party affairs. In 
religious faith he is affiliated with the Baptist Church, of which he has 
been a member since 1883. He was its treasurer for some time and is 
now a trustee. 

Mr. Clayton married on January 16, 1889, at New Brunswick. Miss 
Bertha J. Dunphy. a native of Keswick, New Brunswick, where she resided 
until her marriage to Mr. Clayton. She is the daughter of Frederick 
Dunphy. a farmer by occupation. They are the parents of one daughter. 
Inez E., now the wife of Everett J. Horsley, the proprietor and publisher 
of the Daily Herald at Anaheim. The Herald is one of the brightest, 
most up to date live wire papers in the state, ably edited and extensively 
circulated. 

Allen J. Davis, vice president of the Charters-Davis Company, is 
one of the influential figures in connection with the great citrus fruit 
industry in Riverside County. The company of which he is vice president 
initiated business in 1909, under the title o£ the Call Lemon Association, 
and the present corporation received its charter in 1918, when it was 
incorporated with a capital stock of $200,000, G. A. Charters being its 
president ; Allen J. Davis, its vice president, treasurer and general man- 
ager ; and A. G. Ritter, its secretary. The company has 212 acres de- 
voted to citrus fruit and 108 acres given to peaches, plums and alfalfa. 
Under a lease for ten years the company has also twenty-two acres 
of orange grove. Seventy-five employes are retained, and the company 
conducts a large and substantia] fruit packing business, its well equipped 
packing house two miles southeast of Corona, utilizing 24,000 square 
feet of floor space and an average of 100 carloads of fruit beiner 
shipped annuallv. All of this fruit is raised by the company itself. 

Allen J. Davis was born at Charlotte, North Carolina, April 19, 1877. 
and is a son of Jesse Davis, who was for many years a leading merchant 
at Charlotte, where he died in December, 1920, at the age of seventy- 
seven years. The mother of Allen J. Davis was Arpie Jones, a native of 
North Carolina, and a member of an old family which originally came 
from Wales. She was a descendant of John Paul Tones, of historic 
fame. Her father was a maior in the Confederate Army in the Civil 
war. The public schools of his native city afforded Mr. Davis his earlv 
education, and he continued his residence in North Carolina until 1900. 
when he came to California and found employment on a dairy farm near 
Corona. Later he became foreman of a fruit packing house established 
bv Mr. Call, and he eventually became a stockholder and the general 
manager of the Call Lemon Company, for which in 1913 was erected 




Ol^^-^-^-^x^ 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1111 

the present packing house of the Charters-Davis Company. Messrs. 
Charters and Davis owned one-half of the stock of the Call Lemon 
Company, and in 1918 they purchased the remaining stock and reorgan- 
ized the business under the present title of the Charters-Davis Company. 
Mr. Davis is a director of, each of the Temescal Water Company, the 
Corona Water Company and the Corona National Bank. He has charge 
of the E. T. Earl estate, consisting of 900 acres in Temescal Canyon, 
250 acres of which are planted in Valencia oranges and the remainder 
is grain, alfalfa and grazing lands. He is a stalwart supporter of the 
cause of the republican party, has received the thirty-second degree in 
the Scottish Rite of the Masonic fraternity, is a life member of the 
Shrine, and he is a member of the Baptist Church in Charlotte, North 
Carolina. His wife holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal Church 
at Corona. 

January 7, 1896. recorded the marriage of Mr. Davis to Miss Ada 
Shurbette, of Rockhill, South Carolina, and her death occurred in No- 
vember. 1898. The onlv child of this union, Carl, is now a resident of 
Santa Catalina Island, California. On the 7th of June, 1907, was sol- 
emnized the marriage of Mr. Davis and Miss Gertrude Sargent, who was 
born in Missouri, near Pittsburg, Kansas, and was educated in the public 
schools of Corona, California. She is a daughter of George Sargent, of 
Corona. No children have been born of this marriage. 

Ralph F. Burnham. Of Ralph F. Burnham, of Riverside, it may 
be said that he is one of his community's fortunate men. He is fortunate 
in having a good parentage, a fair endowment of intellect and feeling, a 
liberal education, in attaching himself to a healthful and honorable voca- 
tion, and, above all, fortunate in casting his lot with the people of Riverside 
at a time when its enterprises were at the full tide of development, and 
under circumstances which have enabled him to co-operate in her material 
growth without that engrossment of time and faculty which hinders the 
fullest indulgence of the intellectual faculty, the refining and elevating 
influences of the aesthetic nature, and the kindly cultivation of the graces 
of social and private life. While he has borne a fair share of the labors 
of civic life, he has at the same time preserved his love of letters, his pur- 
suit of manly and invigorating pastimes, and his indulgence in the ameni- 
ties of a refined and gentle life. 

Mr. Burnham was born at Batavia, Illinois, March 6, 1883. a son of 
William H. and Catherine (French) Burnham, the former a native of 
Connecticut and the latter of Illinois. William H. Burnham was a manu- 
facturer at Batavia for a number of years, and when he retired from 
business affairs removed to Orange, California, whence he subsequently 
went to Los Angeles, his present home. Both he and his wife are living, 
as are their three children: Ralph F. ; Mary, the wife of Henry O. 
Wheeler, of Los Angeles; and William H., Jr., of Riverside. 

Ralph F. Burnham commenced his education in the public schools of 
Batavia, Illinois, and was still a lad when taken by his parents to Orange. 
California. There he completed his primary school education, subse- 
quently pursuing a course at the California Polytechnic Institute, Pasa- 
dena, California, and later at Columbus University. New York City. 
After his graduation from the latter, as a member of the class of 1904, he 
returned to California and engaged in the manufacture of automobiles at 
Los Angeles, where for eight years he was secretary of the Auto Vehicle 
Company. When he vacated this field it was to enter the insurance busi- 
ness at Los Angeles, but in April, 1912, he gave up this line and came 
to Riverside, where he and his father and his brother purchased 142 acres 



1 1 12 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

of valuable land three miles southeast of the city, of which they are 
devoting 120 acres to citrus fruit ranching. Mr. Burnham has made a 
success of his activities and is accounted one of the highly skilled and well 
informed men in his line of business. He is a director in the United 
States Supply Company of Omaha, Nebraska. 

Politically Mr. Burnham is a republican. He is a member of the Los 
Angeles Athletic Club, the University Club of Los Angeles, the Newport 
Harbor Yacht Club, the Riverside Victoria Club, the Alpha Delta Phi 
College Fraternity, the Alpha Delpha Phi Club of New York City, the 
Riverside Chamber of Commerce and the Riverside Polo Club. Worthy 
civic, educational and charitable movements have always had his hearty 
support, and he was one of the substantial contributors to the building 
fund of the new hospital at Riverside. 

On October 16, 1905, Mr. Burnham was united in marriage with Miss 
Ruth Wilson, daughter of Franklin I. and May (Allen) Wilson, of Chi- 
cago, Illinois, the former a native of Elgin, Illinois, and the latter of Lake 
Geneva, Wisconsin. Mr. Wilson, a manufacturer, upon retirement from 
active life removed to Hollywood. California, where he died, his widow 
now being a resident of Los Angeles, this state. Mrs. Burnham was born 
at Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, but as a child was taken to Chicago, where 
she received her education in the public schools and at Lewis Institute. 
She is a member of the Riverside Victoria Club. She and her husband 
are the parents of four children: Barbara, John W., Richard W. and 
Elizabeth L. 

Rev. Lloyd H. Edmiston. — The title of Rev. Lloyd H. Edmiston to 
a place among the biographies of the citizens of Riverside rests upon the 
fact that he has labored faithfully and effectively as a member of the 
New Jerusalem Church. Ordained in 1915, his actual connection with the 
ministry has covered only a period of seven years, but during this time 
he has had the same solicitude for the spiritual interests of Riverside 
which a father has for his children. In addition to his ministerial labors 
he has achieved some success as a small fruit, citrus fruit and nut raiser 
and poultry rancher. 

Reverend Edmiston was born at Henry, Illinois, January 6, 1874, a 
son of Rev. Berry and Edna (Lee) Edmiston. His father, a native of 
Tennessee, was for some years a minister of the New Jerusalem faith, but 
in 1878 removed to Riverside and embarked in ranching, a vocation which 
he followed until his death in August, 1912. Mrs. Edmiston, a native of 
New Hampshire, died at Riverside in November, 1912, in the same faith. 
They were the parents of three children: Joseph L., a poultry rancher of 
West Riverside; Charles H., also of Riverside, and Rev. Lloyd H. 

Lloyd H. Edmiston was a child when brought by his parents to River- 
side, where he secured his introductory education in the graded and high 
schools. Choosing the ministry as his vocation, he attended the New 
Jerusalem Church Theological Seminary at Cambridge, Massachusetts, dur- 
ing 1914 and 1915, and upon his return to Riverside commenced to apply 
himself to the church. He was thus engaged at the time that he was 
ordained, June 6, 1915, at Washington, D. C, since when he has served 
as pastor of the New Jerusalem Church of Riverside. He has accomplished 
much for the good of his community, where he has many friends, not 
alone among the members of his congregation but those of other creeds 
and denominations. In addition to acting as spiritual leader of his flock 
he takes upon himself the responsibilities of friendship, and acts as coun- 
sellor and guide in matters of a business nature. Such a man is bound 
to wield a strong influence in his community, and in Rev. Mr. Edmiston's 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1113 

case this influence is one that lias always been constructive and progressive 
in character. When not engaged in his ministerial labors he devotes him- 
self to the cultivation of his nine and one-half acres of land, another feature 
of his snug little ranch being the raising of poultry. He is a member of 
the socialist party. 

On December 7. 1906, Rev. Edmiston was united in marriage with 
Mrs. Alice Wright Test, daughter of William and Laura Elizabeth Wright, 
of Union County, Illinois, and to this union there have been born two chil- 
dren : Ednah and Lloyd Ariel, both residing at home and attending the 
public schools. Mrs. Edmiston had a daughter, Cleone Test, by her first 
marriage. Cleone Test is a graduate of the Riverside High School and the 
School for Nurses at California Hospital, Los Angeles, California, she 
was born in Alto Pass, Illinois. Mrs. Edmiston was also born near Alto 
Pass, Illinois, where she received her education in the public schools. 

Jacob Bertschinger. — The name Bertschinger is favorably known 
not only in the Chino Valley, but in several sections of Southern Cali- 
fornia. The pioneer and founder of the family is Jacob Bertschinger, Sr., 
who, surrounded with comforts and with the security of ample means, 
can, nevertheless, look back upon a number of successive chapters of 
arduous experience as a pioneer toiler in this district. Besides getting 
prosperity for himself he has done something for the community in the 
way of constructive enterprise and in rearing an honest, thrifty and indus- 
trious family. 

Jacob Bertschinger, Sr., was born in the City of Zurich, Switzerland, 
January 2, 1864, being one of thirteen children. His parents were farmers, 
and during his youth he lived with them and contributed of his toil to the 
support of the household. In 1886, at the age of twenty-two, he married 
Rosina Schoch, who was born in Zurich, Switzerland, October 4, 1858, 
one of fourteen children. 

Seeking advantages and a future that they should never realize in 
their native country they immigrated to America, reaching New Jersey in 
1887, without the command of a single word of English. For a year and 
a half they remained in New Jersey, working as silk weavers in one of the 
great silk goods factories of that city. The next phase of their journey 
took them to Illinois, where they remained a year, and next they turned 
their faces to California, traveling by rail as far as Pomona. Mr. Bert- 
schinger was attracted to Chino by learning of the construction of the 
proposed sugar refinery in 1891. He started to walk the distance between 
the two points, falling in on the way with Mr. Durrell, who was well 
acquainted with the country. It required a real pioneer's knowledge to get 
over the country at that time, since there were no roads and no houses 
between Pomona and Chino. The "Santa Ana" began blowing while they 
were en route, and Jacob Bertschinger became confused and insisted they 
were traveling in the wrong direction. He could not understand English, 
and only by the greatest efforts Mr. Durrell persuaded him to keep on, 
otherwise he would have died in the Puente hills. 

Jacob Bertschinger and wife reached Chino without money, without 
acquaintances, only with a willingness and desire for work. He secured 
employment and assisted in building the concrete foundation for the great 
American sugar refinery at Chino and remained in the service of the plant 
for six years. He also engaged in farming, and that gave him a variety 
of experience. Three times he lost all he had gained, first trying the 
culture of sugar beets. He had a fine crop when a Santa Ana cut them 
off at the ground. With three failures he doggedly kept on, rented and 
bought land, did dairying and general farming, worked incessantly, and 



1114 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

to such a man and character prosperity could not be denied, and in 1912, 
when he sold out, he was able to retire in comfort. In the meantime he 
had reared and educated his family. One of his resources when in need 
of ready money was baling hay for others. He and his sons baled hay 
through the daylight hours, and then at night irrigated their own crops, 
and his children often walked three miles to school, since much of the time 
they had no buggy horse to drive. Nevertheless the parents insisted that 
their children attend school regularly, and they not only acquired an 
education, but learned the value of the dollar earned by arising at three 
o'clock in the morning, milking a string of cows, working in the fields all 
day, and retiring only at dark. The family are Swiss Lutherans in 
religion and Mr. Bertschinger and his sons are republicans. 

Of the children born to this honored couple five died in infancy and 
early youth. There are three living. All were born at Chino. Jacob, Jr., 
born in 1893, was educated in the Chino schools and is now a prosperous 
cement worker at Los Angeles. In 1913 he married Freda Weber, a native 
of Switzerland, who came to America alone in 1911. They have two 
children, Walter and Emma. 

The second child, Rosina, born in 1895, was educated in the Chino 
High School, and is the wife of John G. Smith, a native of Wuertemberg, 
Germanv. Thev live at Chino and have three children, Olga, Evelvn and 
Mildred'. 

Otto William Bertschinger, the youngest of the family, was born 
August 24, 1897, attended grammar school at Chino and a business col- 
lege at Riverside, and during the World war was inducted into the in- 
fantry and was ordered to report at Kelly Field, Texas, about the time 
the armistice was signed. In July. 1919, the firm of J. Bertschinger & 
Sons, composed of Jacob Bertschinger and his two boys, engaged in the 
cement business at Chino, manufacturing cement pipe and doing general 
contract work. In July, 1920. Otto W. Bertschinger bought out his 
partners, and has since, through his personal efforts, brought the busi- 
ness to a high state of prosperity. He has over $4,000.00 invested in 
machinery and equipment, including all the latest mechanical devices for 
mixing and handling concrete. This invested capital has been earned by 
the business. He began making cement pipe by hand. He now manu- 
facturers piping, curbing, sidewalks and does all classes of concrete founda- 
tion work. 

Frederick A. Charles Drew — The lapse of several years since his 
death has not obscured the brilliant and successful career of the late 
Mr. Drew as a Southern California business man and as a citizen of 
Ontario who was loved and admired by a host of friends. 

He was born at Exeter, Canada, October 28, 1878, son of Edred and 
Lydia (Johns) Drew. His father was brought from England when a 
child, and lived several years at Exeter, Canada. The widowed mother, 
though enjoying rugged health, has had a long life and is still living 
at Ontario. Edred Drew died during the Spanish-American war, in 
Santa Barbara, California. 

The late Frederick Drew was six years of age when his parents 
moved to Ontario, California, in 1884. He acauired his early educa- 
tion there and in Los Angeles, attending the old adobe school and later 
the Chaffey Agricultural College. His father was in the undertaking 
business at Ontario, and after his death in 1898 the son Frederick took 
charge and continued its management until 1905. 

In that year he established the Drew Carriage Company, and under 
his management this became one of the largest firms dealing in farm 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1115 

implements and machinery in Southern California. He was regarded 
as the keenest and most able salesman in this line on the Pacific Coast, 
and his success with his business caused him to be chosen as Pacific 
Coast representative of the International Harvester Company. This re- 
lationship brought him in touch with all the implement houses on the 
Coast. In 1918 and 1919 he held the record for retail tractor sales in the 
United States. In the spring of 1919 Mr. and Mrs. Drew went to 
Chicago, partly on a business trip to the home offices of the International 
Harvester Company, and while en route he was stricken with the influ- 
enza and while in St. Luke's Hospital at Chicago during delirium he 
leaped from a first story window, causing his death. He died April 21. 

After his death Mrs. Drew was offered two hundred thousand dollars 
for the business, but she chose to retain it, and has exemplified remark- 
able business qualifications in carrying it on successfully, her inten- 
tion being to turn it over eventually to her sons when they reach the 
proper age. 

Mr. Drew married Miss Florence Higgins at Santa Barbara in June, 
1898. She is a daughter of W. W. Higgins. Mrs. Drew has three 
children, Dorothea, born in 1899 ; Edred, born in 1902 ; and Charles, born 
in 1904. The late Mr. Drew's many friends were derived from his ex- 
tensive business and social relationships. He was affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was a member of the Episcopal 
Church and voted as an independent republican. He was a member of 
the Chamber of Commerce, was president of the Business Men's Club 
for one year, and was a member of the Pomona Gun Club. Mr. Drew 
was very fond of horses and a good judge of them. Mrs. Drew was born 
in Picton, Canada, Province of Ontario, November 1, 1878, was educated 
there and came to California in 1895 with her family. 

Charles Milan Craw is one of the oldest living natives sons of San 
Bernardino. He has been active in the affairs of the county over forty 
years, chiefly as a farmer and rancher. 

Mr. Craw was born March 28, 1860, in an adobe house on Fourth 
Street in San Bernardino, son of Charles Jesse and Olive (Packard) 
Craw. His father was a native of St. Joseph County, Michigan, and the 
grandfather was Orin Craw, who brought his family across the plains 
when Charles J. was a small boy. The Craws first located at Salt Lake, 
though they were not of the Mormon faith, and in 1852, by ox train, they 
continued their journey westward to San Bernardino. Orin Craw was one 
of the earliest traders in Southern California and Arizona, and continued 
that work until his death. He was on the road with a freight team between 
Los Angeles and San Bernardino, and was found dead in camp by the 
trail. He was therefore faithful to his duty to the end, and had lived a 
sturdy, healthy and happy life, and many of the traits of this hardy old 
ancestor descended to his sons and grandchildren. Charles Jesse Craw 
also worked as a general freighter, and for many years hauled goods by 
team from San Pedro and Los Angeles to Arizona and other points in the 
desert. He died in 1900. His first wife, Olive Packard, was a native of 
Ohio and died in 1867. The second wife of Charles J. Craw was Mary 
Ellen Packard, who is living at Los Angeles. Charles Milan Craw is the 
second of four children. The oldest was Amelia Craw. The other two 
are Louella and Orin Ransom Craw. 

Charles Milan Craw was seven years of age when his mother died, 
and he came to manhood with a limited common school education. He 
worked with and for his father driving freight teams, and when the build- 
ing of railroads destroyed that business he devoted his attention to farming. 



1116 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

In 1888 he married Miss Catherine A. Cavenaugh, who was horn in Utah 
Territory November 2, 1867, and came with her parents to California in 
1883. The family settled in Santa Ana in Los Angeles County. Mr. 
and Mrs. Craw had four children: The oldest died in infancy; Angie H., 
born at Chino July 2, 1892, is a graduate of the Chino High School and 
State Normal at Los Angeles, and was a teacher until her marriage in 
1917 to A. T. Ezell, a native of Tennessee, now a prosperous druggist 
at Seelev in Imperial County. Thev have a son, Robert Ezell, born 
April 1. 1920, in the Imperial Valley'. The third child, Helen A., born 
at Chino January 2, 1894, is a graduate of the Chino High School and the 
Los Angeles Normal and is a teacher in the schools of Colton. The fourth 
of the family. Ethel Craw, born at Chino June 11, 1895, graduated from 
high school and the Los Angeles Normal, spent one year at Chino, and 
in 1916 became the wife of Thomas B. Seitel, of Chino. Mr. Seitel is in 
the United States mail service at Chino. They have a son Willard Stanley 
Seitel. born May 2. 1918. 

After his marriage Mr. Craw engaged in business for himself, and in 
1890 removed to Chino, where he leased a large acreage of land from 
Richard Gird. It was virgin soil, never having been plowed, and he did 
his farming among the vast herds of cattle and other stock owned by 
the Gird interests. He continued farming here until 1901, his chief crop 
being sugar beets. In 1901 he moved to Los Angeles County and raised 
beets for the Los Alimitos Sugar Refinery, and that experience of five 
years proved profitable, though his first venture in raising beets at Chino 
had been prosecuted at a loss. In 1907 he returned to Chino and bought 
his present home, located at 169 Seventh Street. Mr. Craw had pre- 
viously purchased ten acres, one of the first small tracts sold by Gird in the 
subdivision of his famous ranch. To this he later added ten other acres, 
and he holds it today and has developed it into a fine alfalfa and English 
walnut ranch. Mr. Craw continued farming on a large scale in this dis- 
trict, leasing large tracts of land. 

He has been a public spirited worker in the development of the com- 
munity and since 1915 has been county road commissioner for the Chino 
Road District. He has served his third term as a trustee of Chino City. 
Mr. Craw is a republican, comes of a Baptist family, and is affiliated with 
Chino Lodge No. 177, Knights of Pythias. Mr. Craw as a youth was a 
pupil of John Brown, and he pays a distinct tribute to Mr. Brown as a 
real school master and one who inspired his pupils to develop both their 
minds and their character. 

Robert W. English, a retired resident of San Bernardino County 
living three miles south of Ontario, at the corner of Euclid and Eucalyp- 
tus avenues, his post office being Chino, has had a richly varied experience 
in the far West, since for many years he was a railroad man, also par- 
ticipated in mining and merchandising, and has been a resident of the 
Chino Valley for a quarter of a century. 

Mr. English was born in Platte City, Missouri, August 16, 1857, son of 
William K. and Elizabeth ( Fox) English, the former a native of Kentucky 
and the latter of Tennessee. He was second in a family of four sons. 
From Missouri the family moved to Arizona in pioneer times, and Wil- 
liam K. English was for fifteen years president and general manager of 
the Great Horn Silver Mining Company, the largest silver mine in the 
world at the time. William K. English died at Frisco, Utah, in 1894, 
while his widow died and was buried at Corona, California, in 1906. 

Robert W. English acquired a good education and in 1874 graduated 
from the State Normal School at Lawrence, Kansas. Almost immediately 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 11 17 

he was attracted into the operating side of railroad work, and became a 
locomotive engineer, driving an engine over many western divisions. He 
was in the service of the Santa Fe Company fifteen years, having a run 
between Trinidad and Santa Fe, New Mexico, over the Ratoon Mountains, 
which at one time was the steepest climb of any steam railroad in America. 
As a result of his long experience pulling trains over these snow covered 
mountains he became stricken with snow blindness, and for three months 
was totally blind, and though he eventually recovered his vision he was 
left color blind, and thus incapacitated for his former duties as an engineer. 
For two years he was yard master at Blake City, Utah, a Denver and Rio 
Grand Railroad. Mr. English in early days was locomotive engineer dur- 
ing the construction of some important western lines. He ran a locomo- 
tive on construction trains when soldiers rode guard on these work trains 
to protect the property and the workers against Indian attack. 

After leaving the railroad service Mr. English became identified with 
mining, and for four years had some successful experiences in the gold 
mines of Southern Utah. He became interested with Godby & Hampton, 
and this firm sold their interests to Mr. Bigelow, New York's largest shoe 
manufacturer. Mr. English took stock in a new company and was superin- 
tendent of the mining properties for three years. At that time the concern 
became involved in litigation, and the business was suspended. Mr. Eng- 
lish possessed 30,000 shares of stock, which had paid liberal dividends, but 
after dissolution of the company his stock became a total loss. He then 
went to Tombstone. Arizona, and while there became acquainted with 
Richard Gurd, who formerly owned many hundreds of acres in the Chino 
Valley. From Tombstone he went to Lincoln County, Nevada, and was 
in the range stock business for five years. He was obliged to leave that 
altitude on account of heart trouble. In 1896 he came to this valley, bring- 
ing sixteen horses with him, and leased land from Mr. Gurd, farming it 
four years. About that time he bought fifty acres from Mr. Gurd, but 
subsequently sold it. Mr. English in 1900 moved to Corona, California, 
and enjoyed a prosperous career in the implement business until he closed 
out in October, 1920, and is now living quietly retired. 

In 1878 Mr. English married Miss Millie Carter, who was born in 
Beaver City, Utah, and was educated in the public schools of that state. 
She is a descendant of early Utah pioneers. Her grandfather, Amascy 
Liman, was a soldier in the Mexican war, a member of the famous Mormon 
Brigade, and first became acquainted with California as a soldier during 
this war. He then returned to Salt Lake, and subsequently was with the 
early Mormon organization at old San Bernardino. He was president of a 
branch of the Mormon Church in Southern California, being recalled to 
Utah by Brigham Young. He was one of the twelve apostles in the church 
until his death in 1904. Mrs. English's father was Philo Carter, another 
noted California pioneer of San Bernardino County. It was Philo Carter 
who discovered the first gold on Lytle Creek. Mr. and Mrs. English 
became the parents of eight children. The oldest. Lulu, born in Utah in 
1880, is the wife of W. L. Berry, an old and prominent resident of the 
Chino Valley, where he is a dairyman and rancher. Mary, who was born 
in Utah in 1882, died at the age of nine months at Beaver City. Luell, 
born in 1886, in Utah, is Mrs. Arthur Brown, of Riverside. Edward, 
born in 1888, is a blacksmith at Riverside. William K., Jr., born in Utah 
in 1892, is a blacksmith at Zelzah, California; Walter, born in Nevada in 
1898, is in business with his brother at Zelzah ; Philo, who was born at 
Corona, California, in 1900, is an accountant and clerk with the Santa Fe 
Railroad Company; May, the youngest of the family, was born at Corona 
in 1902, and is now chief bookkeeper at Corona for the Southern California 



1118 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

By-Products Company. The four sons all learned the trade of blacksmith 
and except one are still identified with that work. 

Dudley Pine was the youngest son of the late Samuel C. Pine, Sr., 
whose noble career as a pioneer of the San Bernardino Valley has been 
described on other pages. 

Dudley Pine was born at his father's Rincon homestead ranch June 2, 
1872. He has never married, and he grew up and received his education 
in this locality and since early manhood has been fully occupied with his 
ranching and farming. He has done much to develop lands in this 
section. 

His brother Myron, who was born at San Bernardino May 22, 1868, 
married in 1891 Miss Agnes Lester, daughter of the venerable pioneer 
of the Rincon Grant, Edward Lester. Myron Pine and wife had five chil- 
dren, Hazel G., Myrtle G., Ivy G.. Mary and Myra Agnes. Myron Pine 
now lives in Imperial. 

Another brother of Dudlev Pine was Edwin Pine, who was born Julv 
28, 1860. He married Miss Annie Bell Gilbert, daughter of J. D. Gilbert, 
another early settler of San Bernardino. They have three children, Gil- 
bert Edwin, Miss Beryl and Madelen. Edwin Pine was a prosperous 
rancher in the Chino Valley and died April 16, 1920, at his ranch. 

The Pine family have been large factors in both the early settlement 
and later development of San Bernardino County, and individually and 
collectively have stood for the very best in citizenship. They have helped 
develop the lands of the Rincon Grant from virgin and desert soil, and all 
of them share in the credit for the improvement noted in this section of 
San Bernardino County. 

Byron Waters — One of the specific and important functions of this 
publication is to enter enduring record concerning those whose stand is es- 
sentially representative in the various professional circles in California, 
and there is no profession that touches so closely the manifold interests 
of society in general as does the legal. 

In both the paternal and maternal line he traces his genealogy back 
to families who founded America. Mr. Waters claims the Empire State 
of the South for his nativity as he was born at Canton, Cherokee County, 
Georgia, on the 19th day of June, 1849, the youngest son of the three 
children of Henry H. and Frances (Brewster) Waters. 

Henry Hawley Waters was born in Renssalaer County, New York, 
near the City of Albany, in the year 1819, his parents having been num- 
bered among the pioneers of that section, whither they removed from 
Massachusetts, where the respective families were found in the Colonial 
days. Henry H. Waters was the youngest in a family of five children, 
and owing to the conditions and exigencies of life in a pioneer communi- 
ty, his early educational advantages were limited — a handicap which 
he effectively overcame through self-discipline and through definite ad- 
vancement by personal effort. He served an apprenticeship as a mechanic 
and assisted in the construction of one of the first steam road locomotives 
ever operated in the State of New York. He had no little inventive 
ability, but there could be no reason to doubt that he did well to turn 
his attention to other lines. When about twenty years of age he went 
to Georgia, where he proved himself eligible for pedagogic honors and 
was successfully engaged in teaching for a period of about two years. 
In the meanwhile he had determined to prepare himself for the legal 
profession, and by close application he gained an excellent knowledge of 
law, so that he gained admission to the bar of Georgia. For several 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1119 

years he was engaged in the practice of his profession at Canton, that 
state, and in 184V, at the time of the ever memorable gold excitement 
in California, he became one of the intrepid argonauts who made their 
way by various routes to the new" Eldorado. He was one of the first in 
Georgia to set out for California. The company of which he was a 
member made the voyage to Havana, Cuba, crossed the Tehauntepec 
Isthmus in Mexico by means of a pack train, and made the remainder 
of the journey on a sailing vessel. In later years Mr. Henry H. Waters 
frequently reterred to the fact that all the men of his party who drank 
whisky while on the trip across the Isthmus were attacked by disease 
that soon terminated their lives. He finally disembarked in the port of 
San Francisco and thence made his way to the original placer mines in 
Tuolumne County. The mining camp was then known as "Jim Town," 
and the little city at that point, at the present time, bears the more 
dignified appellation of Jamestown. Mr. Walters passed about two 
years in this state and then returned to Georgia, having made the return 
journey across the plains. He resumed the practice of his profession, 
but a few years later he again made the trip across the plains for the pur- 
pose of visiting his brother, James W. Waters, of San Bernardino 
County. He remained a limited time on this occasion and then made 
his third trip overland by returning to his home in Georgia. In 1858 
he was appointed executive secretary to Governor Joseph E. Brown 
of that state, whose son, Joseph M. Brown, afterward became governor. 
He retained this office until 1865 when Governor Brown was deposed 
from office by the Federal authorities after the close of the Civil war. 
During the progress of that war, as executive secretary to the Governor, 
Mr. Henry Waters had much to do with the direction of military af-, 
fairs in the state. He held the rank of colonel on the staff of the Gov- 
ernor and was instrumental in mustering in thirty regiments for the 
Confederate service. He thus lived up to the full tension of the great 
conflict between the North and the South, during which his loyalty to 
the Confederate cause was of the most insistent order. In the meantime 
H. Waters had purchased a plantation in Coweta County, Georgia, 
and after the disorganization of the state government and the installa- 
tion of the carpet bag machine at the close of the war, he retired to 
his plantation. Two years later he sold the property and located in 
Harris County, Georgia, where he engaged in the manufacturing of 
lumber. Later he established his home at Geneva, Talbot County, Georgia, 
where he gave his attention principally to the management of his large 
cotton plantation in that county. He died in the City of Macon, that 
state, in 1869, as the result of a stroke of paralysis, and his name is on 
record as that of one of the progressive and honored citizens of Georgia. 
His devoted wife died in 1860 at Milledgeville, Georgia, in which state 
her entire life was passed. She was born in Gainesville, Georgia, and 
was the daughter of Dr. John Brewster, a native of South Carolina and 
a scion of one of the old and distinguished families of that common- 
wealth. Dr. Brewster was one of the able representatives of his pro- 
fession in Georgia where he was engaged in active practice for many 
years. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Waters became the parents of three chil- 
dren, Emmett, the eldest of the three was accidentally killed at Paris, 
Kentucky, on the day following his graduation from Millersburg College. 
Prior to this, when but eighteen years of age, he tendered his services in 
defense of the Confederate cause by enlisting in the First Georgia Regu- 
lars at the inception of the Civil war. He gained promotion through 
the various grades until he was made adjutant in his command, and he 
participated in many engagements. On July 26, 1864, in the battle of 



1120 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Peach Tree Creek, in the front of Atlanta, he was shot through the right 
leg, and the injury was so severe as to necessitate the amputation of the 
member. 

Henrietta, the second child, became the wife of Edwin A. Nesbit, and 
they came to California in 1867 and resided for many years in San Ber- 
nardino, where both died. They reared eleven children to maturity. 
Mrs. Nesbit was long numbered among the successful and popular teach- 
ers in the schools of California. She followed this profession for over 
twenty years in San Bernardino, and for a decade was one of the most 
loved and valued teachers in the schools of Los Angeles. 

The third and youngest of the children is he to whom this sketch 
is dedicated — Byron Waters, who was reared to the age of sixteen years 
in his native state and was afforded the advantages of its best private 
schools, in which he continued his attendance until the close of the war 
between the states. The family experienced serious financial reverses, 
as did nearly all other in the South at this time, and after leaving school 
he worked for nearly three years in the cotton field on his father's 
plantation. He became associated as a boy with those who afterwards 
formed the Ku Klux Klan, and under these conditions his father sug- 
gested that he take some cotton to market and utilize the proceeds in 
going to California. The devoted father, bereft of wife and elder son, 
realized that by this procedure the younger son would escape the diffi- 
culties and troublous experiences incidental to the so-called recon- 
struction period in the South, for it was but natural that intense 
sectional prejudice had been aroused among the youth of the South, 
owing to contemplation of the frightful ravages worked by the war 
just ended, especially the devastating effect of Sherman's victorious march 
through Georgia from Atlanta to the sea. Accordingly, Mr. Byron 
Waters came to California in 1867, at the age of eighteen years, and 
here began work as a cow-boy on his uncle's ranch at Yucaipa in San 
Bernardino County, said uncle having been James W. W r aters, pre- 
viously mentioned as one of the sterling pioneers of this section of 
the state. 

The ambition of young Waters was not to be thus satisfied, 
however, and in April, 1869, he began the study of law in the office 
of Judge Horace C. Rolfe of San Bernardino. Later he continued 
his technical reading under the direction of Judge Henry M. Willis 
of the same city. He was admitted to the bar in January, 1871, and 
during the many intervening j-ears that he has been in active practice 
in the various courts of the state it has been his to gain and 
retain high prestige and distinction as one of the ablest members of 
the California bar as well as one of the most successful. His list of 
cases presented before the Supreme Court of the state is one of the 
largest that can be claimed by any member of the bar of this favored 
commonwealth, and in this and other tribunals there stands to his lasting 
honor many noteworthy victories as an advocate of great strength and 
versatility. More than fifty-one years of consecutive devotion to the 
work of his profession have made Byron Waters one of its peers in the 
state and the bar has been honored and dignified alike by his character 
and his services. 

He has made his home and professional headquarters in San 
Bernardino during most of these years; has stood as an exponent of 
the most loyal and public spirited citizenship, and none has a more 
secure place in popular confidence and esteem. 

In 1881 Mr. Byron Waters effected the organization of the Farmers 
Exchange Bank of San Bernardino, one of the solid and leading 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 121 

financial institutions in the state. He was its first president, and 
held that office for several years. During the formative period of 
the bank he guided its affairs with a firm hand and with the utmost 
discrimination and progressivencss — showing the same characteristic 
energy and integrity that have marked his career in all its relations. 

Always unwavering in his allegiance to the democratic party, 
Byron Waters has done much to promote its cause in California 
while he has resided in a county and state that show large republican 
majority under normal conditions. In his home county there early 
came recognition of his ability and sterling character, as is shown by 
the fact that in 1877 he was elected to represent the same in the State 
Legislature. At the ensuing session he became a recognized leader 
of his party in the House, and before the close of the session 
he stood at the head as a member of that body. His reputation for 
talent and personal and official integrity brought about the following 
year, 1878, his election as a delegate at large to the State Constitutional 
Convention, and he had the distinction in this connection of receiving 
a larger majority than any other candidate for such representation 
in the state. Though he was one of the youngest members of that 
convention Mr. Waters' thorough knowledge of constitutional law, 
his exceptional power in debate, and his prescience as to future growth 
and demands won for him a commanding influence in the deliberations 
of that convention. 

His adherence to and earnest advocacy of certain opinions while 
in the convention temporarily cost him somewhat of his popularity, 
but the time and the subsequent working of constitutional provisions 
which he opposed have demonstrated that he was right in the course 
he pursued at the time. 

In 1886 Mr. Waters was made democratic candidate for the office 
of justice of the Supreme Court of the State of California, but while 
he was eminently qualified for the position and was defeated by a 
small majority he was unable to overcome the far greater strength 
of the republican party and thus ordinary political exigencies com- 
passed his defeat. 

Mr. Waters has been affiliated with the Masonic fraternity since 
1873. He is liberal in his religious views. 

On the 31st day of December, 1872, was solemnized his marriage 
to Miss Louisa Brown, a native daughter of San Bernardino, who was 
born July 23, 1852, she being one of the daughters of John Brown, 
Sr., the noted hunter and trapper of the Rocky Mountains and Louisa 
Sandoval Brown, his wife, who was a member of one of the dis- 
tinguished families of Taos, New Mexico. Of this union there has 
been issue as follows, all of whom are surviving except their daughters 
Florence and Clara and son Brewster, those living now, (1922) being 
Sylvia, Frances, Helen, Emmett, Byron, Jr., and Elizabeth. 

A characteristic of the Waters family is that they have been 
builders of homes and business structures as exemplified by them in 
San Bernardino. J. W. Waters, as is shown by reference to him in 
this work, caused to be built in San Bernardino notable buildings and 
Byron Waters has built therein two structures for his law offices and 
also from time to time three residences, first a cottage on West Fifth 
Street early in life, later the large brick residence on Fourth Street 
opposite the Elks Club, and later built the Bunker Hill residence, 
where with his family he now resides, the place being situated on an 
eminence at the westerly side of the San Bernardino Valley, present- 
ing a view of the fertile valley of that name, overlooking the cities 



1122 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

of Colton, Rialto, San Bernardino, Redlands and Highland, situated 
therein, with the enclosing mountains surrounding the valley. 

For many years Mr. Waters and his family have spent the summers 
at their picturesque mountain home embracing the valley known as 
Seeley Flat, having an elevation of one mile above sea level, twelve 
miles north of San Bernardino, consisting of 160 acres of land, nestled 
among the surrounding pine-clad hills sloping to the enclosed meadow, 
in the center of which is a knoll elevated above the meadow and on top 
of which is situated the cabin home of the place at which they have en- 
joyed the summer months, always extending entertainment to relatives 
and friends in full measure of old fashioned Southern and California 
hospitality. 

David Glen Henderson. — To such men as David Glen Henderson, an 
octogenarian now living at Etiwanda. life is a continuous adventure 
and enterprise, and every new day brings opportunities for work and 
accomplishment. Mr. Henderson is one of the few survivors of that 
now distant past when the establishment of homes in Southern Cali- 
fornia meant a persistent struggle with the adverse forces of nature. 

He was born in Calder, Scotland, March 28, 1842, son of David 
and Margaret (Adams) Henderson, and was one of their six children. 
David Henderson was a coal miner. Born in Scotland, he was 
seriously injured by a fall of slate and never entirely recovered. In 
1848 he came to America, and in 1849 brought his family to this 
country. He first located at Dry Hill, now within the city limits of 
St. Louis, Missouri, and he died there in 1850. His widow soon after- 
ward was married to James Easton, a member of the Mormon Church. 
Early in the spring of 1851 James Easton, his wife and the Henderson 
children went from St. Louis to a point near Council Bluffs, Iowa, 
where they joined a train made up of fifty ox teams and embarked 
for Salt Lake City. The captain of the train forbade the killing of 
buffalo, and they had no serious trouble with Indians, reaching the 
Salt Lake country in the fall of 1851. Here James Easton took up 
farming. In 1853 the second stage of the journey was begun, again 
by ox teams. On both of these stages of the transcontinental trip 
David Glen Henderson drove a three yoke ox team, though on the 
trip from the Missouri River he was only a youth of eight or nine 
years old. The second stage of the journey had San Bernardino as 
it destination. The route was through the desert, and Mr. Henderson 
has a vivid recollection of some of the hardships encountered. While 
passing through a canyon in the mountains a party of Indians met 
them and demanded food and whiskey. Halt was made in an open 
spot and a parley ensued. The travelers offered the Indians potatoes 
and turnips, but this did not please the red men, and from the way 
they handled their bows and arrows, their only weapons, the party 
feared an attack. An older brother of David G. Henderson acted 
as interpreter, and while talking with the savages displayed an old 
pepper box revolver, showing how rapidly it could be fired. It was 
a piece of strategy that served to discourage the Indians from any 
further hostile act, and they withdrew, sullen but peaceful. In 
crossing the desert from one water hole to another the party filled 
all the churns, pails and everything that would hold water, and they 
traveled chiefly at night, resting the oxen through the heat of the 
day. Of these early voyagers of the desert few now remain. The 
journey itself, as well as the work necessary to be done after reaching 
the destination, was evidence of the great courage and determination 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 112.? 

that entitle these pioneers to lasting admiration. The Easton and 
Henderson families settled about a mile east of the old Fort at San 
Bernardino. Here David G. Henderson came to manhood. Prac- 
tically the only school advantages he had were in the years from 
five to seven before he left the Middle West. In Utah and California 
his program was one of work, but he also studied privately and is 
today an exceptional penman. He became versed in all phases of 
woodcraft and hunting, and hunting has always been a favorite sport. 
Even in 1921 he went into the Sierra Mountains and shot his deer. 
Perhaps the steadiest employment he had as a youth was driving 
ox teams in hauling food and provisions. 

In 1862 Mr. Henderson married Miss Matilda Hawker, who was 
born July 27, 1845, at Melbourne, Australia. Directly after his 
marriage he bought five acres, but soon sold that and purchased 
twenty acres, both tracts being near San Bernardino. During 1864- 
65 he was engaged in placer mining on Lytle Creek, then a boom 
district, though his own luck as a miner failed him. In the fall 
of 1865 Mr. Henderson went to the coal mines at Mount Diablo in 
Contra Costa County, and remained there two years, getting good 
wages and returning with some capital. He then farmed and did 
teaming. In February, 1884, Mr. Henderson took up eighty acres 
of state land, proved it up and secured the title and planted part 
of it. After keeping this ranch for twenty years he sold out in 1904. 
Then, leaving his family in San Bernardino County, he again went 
to the frontier, filing on eighty acres of desert land seven miles 
southwest of the Imperial townsite. This he improved and two years 
later sold. On returning to San Bernardino County he filed on a 
160 acre tract, the northeast quarter of Section 29, North of Etiwanda. 
Later he discovered that this was not Government land but was 
owned by the railroad, and he made arrangements to purchase forty 
acres from the railroad company. This land lies at the corner of 
Summit and Etiwanda avenues, and he has set it to fruit, built a 
home and otherwise instituted improvements that mark his secure 
material prosperity. 

For nearly fifty years Mr. Henderson had the companionship of 
his good wife, who was taken from him by death on January 10, 1921. 
Eleven children were born to their marriage, and all are living but 
one. The oldest, David Henderson, is a farmer at Bishop in Inyo 
County ; Alexander also lives at Bishop ; William is in business at 
Rialto; Walter Scott is a resident of Etiwanda; Nettie is the wife of 
Edward Purdue, living on a place adjoining the Henderson ranch ; 
Robert R. is a rancher at Etiwanda; Maggie is Mrs. James Anderson, 
of San Bernardino; Belle is the wife of William St. Claire, of Little 
Rock, Los Angeles County ; Grover C. is a citrus grower at Etiwanda ; 
Earle E. lives at Etiwanda; and Glen is the deceased child. 

Fenton M. Slaughter, late of Rincon, was one of the finest types of 
the fearless pioneer who brought the really constructive civilization 
into the valleys of Southern California. He was identified with the 
first tide of gold seekers on the Pacific Coast, a few years later came 
into Southern California, and for many years his industry and rare 
business judgment made him one of the powerful men in the ranching 
affairs of the Rincon Valley, where his family still reside and are 
properly accounted among the most substantial people in this 
vicinity. 

Fenton M. Slaughter was born January 10, 1826. The English 
family of Slaughter was established in Colonial Virginia as early as 



1124 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

1616. His grandparents were Robin and Ann Slaughter. His father, 
Louis Slaughter, was born in Culpeper County, Virginia, April 25, 
1779, and married Elizabeth Gillem, of Rockbridge County, Virginia. 
Louis Slaughter died in 1834, leaving his widow with the care of 
eleven children. 

Fenton M. Slaughter under such circumstances had to become 
independent as soon as possible, and in 1835, when he was nine years 
of age, his mother moved to Callaway County, Missouri, and in 1842 
to St. Louis. Fenton M. Slaughter had a common school education, 
and at St. Louis entered the shops of McMurray & Dorman to learn 
the trade of mechanical engineer. After his apprenticeship he was 
an engineer on river steamboats from St. Louis to New Orleans. He 
answered the first call for volunteers at the beginning of the War 
with Mexico, and he served in Company B of the Second Regiment, 
Missouri Mounted Volunteers, under Capt. John C. Dent and 
Col. Stirling Price. His service was in the Santa Fe country, 
keeping down the Indians, and he participated in the battles of Taos 
and Canadian Fork with the Navajo, and in the latter engagement 
was taken prisoner. After twenty-three days he succeeded in eluding 
his captors, escaped on a mule, and after a ride of 125 miles reached 
Albuquerque. A short time before his discharge, in 1847, he was in 
a skirmish with the Indians at Sevedas ranch in the Valley of the 
Rio Grande. 

The war over, he returned to St. Louis and resumed his calling, 
and in 1849 joined an overland party bound for California. He spent 
some time mining in Eldorado County, and returned East by way of 
Panama and New Orleans to St. Louis. In the spring of 1851 he 
again set out for California, overland, and in Eldorado County did 
some mining and also was engineer of the first steam sawmill erected 
in the Sierra Nevadas. In March. 1853, he moved to Mariposa 
County, and in the fall of the same year entered the service of General 
Beal, superintendent of Indian affairs in California. His duties took 
him to the San Joaquin River Reservation and the Tejon Reservation 
in Los Angeles County. 

Leaving this work, which was uncongenial, Mr. Slaughter in 1854 
began working at his trade in Los Angeles, but soon became inter- 
ested in wool growing on the Puente Ranch in the San Gabriel Valley 
with Rowland, one of the pioneer owners of that great tract. The 
chief business of Mr. Slaughter for many years was sheep ranching 
and wool growing. His interests gradually extended to San Ber- 
nardino County, and he was one of the first to introduce French and 
Spanish Merino sheep to this region. He opened a blacksmith shop 
at San Gabriel in 1854, the first institution of its kind there, and 
operated it for many years. In all his enterprises he was remarkably 
successful. In 1868 Mr. Slaughter bought the Buena Vista tract of 
the Raymondo Yorba ranch at Rincon in San Bernardino County, 
and soon afterward transferred his herds to this locality. He con- 
tinued sheep growing until selling out his stock in 1882, and about 
three years later sold most of his ranch lands, still retaining his 
homestead and 1,000 acres four miles south of Chind, which he devel- 
oped as one of the best farms and ranches in the county. He was very 
thorough in his methods of agriculture and horticulture, and he kept 
some very fine blooded horses, some of them being noted for their 
performance on the track, including Joe Hamilton, Exile, Bob Mason, 
Peri, Pinole and others. He also had a forty acre vinevard and in 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1125 

1887 built a winery with a capacity of 20,000 gallons, his wines 
commanding a high premium in the market. 

Through these enterprises he did his part in developing the sub- 
stantial prosperity of his section. He was always generous, public 
spirited and progressive. He was of Southern birth and ancestry but 
was a stanch Union man, and though always living in a normally 
republican district he had frequent political honors. He was a dele- 
gate to county and state conventions of the democratic party, and 
in 1870 was elected a member of the Assembly from San Bernardino 
County, serving during the session of 1871-72. Governor Stoneman 
in 1885 appointed him supervisor of District No. 2 to fill the vacancy 
caused by the death of E. H. Gates, and in 1886 he was elected on 
his party ticket as his successor. He was appointed postmaster of 
Rincon in 1873 but refused the office. He was a school trustee, 
worked for the establishment of good schools, was a member of the 
Masonic fraternity at San Bernardino, of the California Pioneer 
Society and of the Mexican War Veterans. 

This distinguished and useful pioneer of San Bernardino County 
passed away May 29, 1897, at his ranch home, when seventy-one years 
of age. His first wife was Catherine Thomas, who lived but a short 
time, and was the mother of a son, Edward McGuire Slaughter, who 
was born at Fulton, Callaway County, Missouri, May 12, 1850. In 
December, 1860, Fenton M. Slaughter married Miss Dolores Alva- 
rado, daughter of Francisco and Juan Maria (Abila) de Alvarado, 
of San Gabriel. She was of pure Castilian ancestry, representing two 
of the oldest Spanish families in that section of Southern California. 
Mr. and Mrs. Slaughter became the parents of ten children. The 
oldest, Senovia, born September 27, 1862, is the wife of Louis Mere- 
dith, and she lives on a portion of the old estate. Florisa, born on 
the Palo Alto ranch May 21, 1863, owns a share of the old ranch and 
was married to Edgar Meredith in 1904. Their home is six miles 
south of Chino, near the Pioneer Schoolhouse. The third child, Julia, 
born August 10, 1866, lives at the old homestead and is the widow 
of Benjamin Fuqua. Robert F., born in 1868, married Louise Saun- 
ders, and their son, Robert Slaughter, volunteered at the age of 
nineteen and served through the war, was at Chateau-Thierry, went 
over the top twice and was severely gassed and is now partly recov- 
ered but still attending a soldiers' training school at Los Angeles. 
Joseph J., born February 14, 1871, married Lela Gass and has a 
family of four daughters and one son. Dolores B., born April 19, 
1873, married John Strong and is the mother of a son and daughter. 
Fenton L., born July 1, 1875, married Beatrice Henry and has two 
daughters. Lorinda, born in 1877, is the wife of Louis Wells and 
the mother of one son. Ethel Eunice, born in 1879, died at the age 
of eighteen months. Floren P., born May 29, 1883, married Lydia 
Ashcroft and has a daughter. 

The mother of these children died June 30, 1916. Florisa Slaughter, 
now Mrs. Edgar Meredith, was a pupil in the old Pioneer Schoolhouse 
standing near her residence. There were 100 scholars and only one 
teacher. She has many memories of this crude schoolhouse and the 
educational system there is vogue. Many of the children played cards 
under the desks, and it was there that she learned the game of casino. 
The teacher was a man, kept his large ink bottle filled with whiskey, 
and had some older scholars teach while he la}' down on a bench 
and slept. All the pupils drank from one bucket of water, using a 



1126 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

single tin cup and there was no case that Mrs. Meredith recalls of an 
infection due to the use of the common drinking cup. 

Edgar De Witt Meredith was born in Geneseo County, New York, 
July 9, 1859, and was educated in the public schools of Chino Valley. 
He came to San Bernardino County at the age of sixteen years. He 
has followed mining, also the carpenter's trade, and is now retired 
and living in the old Slaughter homestead. 

Jesse F. Mayhew, who is now enjoying an honorable retirement in a 
comfortable home at 354 Central Avenue, Chino, is one of the few sur- 
vivors whose intimate recollections of San Bernardino runs back fifty 
years. He has lived a life of intense activity, and almost altogether out 
in the open, enduring the discomforts and dangers of the desert and the 
range. 

He was born January 1, 1848, at White Sulphur Springs, Mississippi, 
son of Jesse and Eunice (Clay) Mayhew, the former a native of North 
Carolina and the latter of Mississippi. They had a family of five sons 
and two daughters. Jesse Mayhew, Sr., was a California forty-niner, 
crossing the plains by way of the Santa Fe route and driving a Government 
team through to Yuba, California. He followed mining with varied suc- 
cess for several years. In 1853 his wife, his son Jesse F. and one of the 
daughters set out to join him, coming by way of New Orleans and the 
Isthmus of Panama, Jesse F. Mayhew being packed across the Isthmus 
on the back of a native. From there a steamer took them north, and at 
Yuba City they joined Jesse Mayhew, Sr. On the arrival of his family 
the father turned to ranching and teaming, and in 1860 came south to 
Los Angeles and in 1861 moved to San Bernardino. He mined one season 
in the Holcomb Valley, and then went to El Monte and did farming in 
that locality and also operated a freighting team until 1865. He was one 
of the freighters between Los Angeles and Prescott, Arizona. It was 
about that time that Jesse F. Mayhew began participating in the active 
life of the frontier. Though a boy, he drove a team of six or eight mules 
for his father, passing over the old toll road through Cajon Pass, a road 
then owned by John Brown, Sr. It was customary to combine eight or 
ten such teams in a single party, since only in numbers were they safe 
from Indian attack. The teams would be on the trail all day and at night 
guards were slung out to protect the camp. The freighters had to haul 
hay enough to feed the stock as far east as Soda Lake, thence depending 
on the natural grass, and grain was also part of the equipment for feed. 
Freight rates were twenty-five cents per pound from Los Angeles to Pres- 
cott, and the trip usually consumed sixty days. When the Indians became 
especially hostile United States soldiers were appointed to escort such 
trains. One detachment of soldier guards was stationed at Rock Springs, 
and Mr. Mayhew recalls the fact that all the privates deserted, leaving 
only the lieutenant, who quit in disgust and resigned his commission. 

In 1866 Jesse Mayhew, Sr., bought a half league of ground for fifteen 
hundred dollars from the Chino heirs. This land was near the present town 
of Chino and in the old Rincon section. Jesse Mayhew built a grist mill, 
the first one in this entire valley. It was a water power mill and was con- 
structed in 1875. He also did stock raising and dealt in horses and mules, 
driving them to market in Idaho and Utah. The first drive consisted of 
500 head. Jesse Mayhew, Sr., died at Downey, California, and his wife 
died at Oceanside but was buried at Downey. 

Jesse F. Mayhew in such pioneer circumstances had no opportunity for 
school. He began doing some of the very hardest and most arduous work 
when onlv a vouth. In 1868 he married Emilv Hickey, who was born 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1127 

September 12, 1848, in Texas, daughter of Isaac Hickey, a Baptist minister. 
She was a small child when her parents crossed the plains by ox team 
to California. Mr. and Mrs. Mayhew had seven children: Felix, who 
was born on the Rincon ranch, is in the mining business at Yuma, Arizona, 
and is married. Mrs. Eva McDonald, the second child, was born at Santa 
Ana and died in Arizona. Elmer, born at Rincon, is a teamster at Tucson, 
Arizona, and is married and has four children. Clay, born in Pinal 
County, Arizona, now lives in Safford County, that state, and is married. 
Goldie, born in Pinal County, is the wife of Arrow Smith, of Garden 
Grove, California. Gracie, born on Rincon ranch, died at the age of 
seven. Dixie is the wife of William E. Phillips, of Rincon ranch. 

After his marriage Mr. Mayhew leased and farmed a tract near Santa 
Ana, but in 1877 removed to Pinal County, Arizona, where for thirty-five 
years he engaged in the cattle business and teaming. While there he was 
elected and served twelve years on the Board of County Supervisors. He 
has always been a stanch democrat in politics. While in Arizona he twice 
lost all his accumulated property, but in time he learned his lesson and 
more than recouped his losses. In 1913, on returning to California, he 
bought property in Garden Row, but sold that and in 1920 located at his 
present home in Chino. His life throughout has been among the new 
settlements and his experiences are all of the frontier. He knows San 
Bernardino County from the days of early Mormon settlement and from 
the horse drawn stage to the auto stage and railway. His experience 
preceded the building and operation of telegraph and telephone lines, rail- 
ways and improved highways. At an age when most modern boys are 
thinking of entering high school he was driving an eight horse mule team 
far into the desert and frequently among hostile Indians. He has the 
sturdy honesty and self reliance of the old time frontiersman. 

John Brown, Sr., was born in Worcester, Massachusetts, December 
22, 1817, and when a boy started west to realize the dreams and 
fancies of youth. He stayed awhile in St. Louis, Missouri, then began 
rafting on the Mississippi River, and went to New Orleans. While 
on a voyage to Galveston he was shipwrecked and returned to Fort 
Leavenworth by the Red River route. He was at the battle of San 
Jacinto, and saw General Santa Ana when first taken prisoner. He 
remained two years at Fort Leavenworth, then went to the Rocky 
Mountains and for fourteen years hunted and trapped from the head 
waters of the Columbia and Yellowstone rivers, along the mountain 
streams south as far as the Comanche country in northern Texas, 
with such mountaineers and trappers as James W. Waters, V. J. 
Herring, Kit Carson, Alexander Godey, Joseph Bridger, Bill Williams, 
the Bents, the Subletts and others of equal fame. He engaged some- 
times as a free trapper, and at other times with the Hudson Bay and 
other fur companies, hunting the grizzly bear, buffalo, elk, deer, 
antelope, mountain sheep, and trapping the cunning beaver, among 
the Arapahoes, Cheyennes, Sioux, Cherokees, Apaches, Navajos, Utes, 
Comanches, and other Indian tribes. 

He helped to build Fort Laramie, Fort Bent, Fort Bridger and 
several others to protect themselves from hostile Indians. This period 
is hastened over, for the Bear and Indian encounters and hair-breadth 
escapes with the above named hunters, would fill a volume fully as 
interesting and thrilling as Washington Irving's "Captain Bonne- 
ville" or "Kit Carson's Travels." Suffice it say that such brave and 
intrepid hunters and adventurers as Mr. Brown and his companions 
served as guides for General John C. Fremont across the Rocky 



1128 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

mountains, and had he adhered more closely to their advice he would 
not have ventured in dead of winter to cross this precipitous range 
when he lost so many of his men and animals in the deep snow, those 
surviving suffering untold agonies. Still General Fremont has gone 
down in history as the great Pathfinder with but very little said of 
those intrepid mountaineers who preceded him and who showed him 
the paths to take, and which to avoid. 

The gold fever reached the mountaineers in 1849. Messrs. Brown, 
Waters, Lupton, and White "fitted out" their prairie schooners and 
joined one of the immigrant trains bound for the land of gold. They 
spent the 4th of July, 1849, in Salt Lake City, and arrived at Sutten's 
Fort September 15, 1849, and began mining on the Calaveras River. 
In November, Mr. Brown moved to Monterey, and with Waters and 
Godey opened the St. John's Hotel and livery stable at San Juan 
Mission. Here he was elected Justice of the Peace. His health 
failing him, he was advised by his family physician, Dr. Ord, to seek 




John Brown, Sr. 

a milder climate in Southern California. In April, 1852, he went with 
his family to San Francisco, and boarded the schooner "Lydia," 
Captain Haley, commander, and after a week's voyage down the coast, 
landed at San Pedro, where he engaged Sheldon Stoddard to move 
him to San Bernardino, where he arrived and settled in the "Old Fort" 
May 1, 1852, purchasing from Marshall Hunt his log cabin for $50.00, 
located on the west side of the fort, next door neighbor to Sheldon 
Stoddard, Captain Jefferson Hunt and Edward Daley. 

On April 26, 1853, the Legislature of California passed the Act 
creating the county of San Bernardino. By Section 5 of said Act, 
Mr. Brown was appointed with Col. Isaac Williams, David Seeley, 
and H. G. Sherwood, a Board of Commissioners to designate the 
election precincts in the county of San Bernardino for the election 
of officers at the first election and to appoint the inspectors of election 
at the several precincts designated, to receive the returns of election, 
and to issue certificates of election to the first officers. 

In 1854, Mr. Brown moved with his family to Yucipa, where he 
went into the stock business and farming, returning to San Bernardino 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1129 

in 1857, where he lived, taking an active interest in all public affiairs 
for the welfare and progress of his home. 

In 1861, seeing the necessity for an outlet to Southern Utah and 
Arizona for the productions of San Bernardino County, he. with Judge 
Henry M. Willis and George L. Tucker procured a charter from the 
Legislature for a toll road through the Cajon Pass, which he built 
and kept open for eighteen years, thus contributing materially to the 
business and growth of San Bernardino. 

In 1862 he went to Fort Moharie, near where Needles is now 
located, and established a ferry across the Colorado River, still further 
enhancing the business of the city and county. He was a liberal 
contributor to the telegraph fund when assistance was required to 
connect the city with the outside world, and favored reasonable 
encouragement to the railroad so to place San Bernardino on the trans- 
continental line. At his own expense he enclosed the public square, 
(now Pioneer Park) with a good stout fence. 

In 1873-4 he delivered the United States mail to the miners in 
Bear and Holcomb valleys, when the snow was three and four feet 
deep in places, thus showing that he still retained that daring and 
intrepid disposition he acquired in the Rocky Mountains. 

In his later years he devoted much of his time to writing a book 
entitled, "Medium of the Rockies," in which he narrates many thrilling 
incidents of his adventurous life, and some chapters on spiritual and 
advanced thought. Born near Plymouth Rock, on the anniversary of 
the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers, he seems to have partaken of their 
religious freedom and liberality of thought, and 'his years among the 
grandeur and sublimity of the Rocky mountains aided in developing 
an intense love of nature, the handiwork of the great Creator. Here, 
as a child of nature, among the fastnesses of the mountain forests, 
or among the crags and peaks he saw the Great Ruler in the clouds 
and heard him in the winds. Without any education except that 
derived from the broad and liberal books of nature, he was able to 
read in the faces of his fellowmen those ennobling sentiments of love, 
truth, justice, loyalty and humanity. His spirit seemed to be dedicated 
"to the cause that lacks assistance, the wrongs that need resistance, 
the future in the distance, and the good that he could do." 

As old age began creeping on and many of his old friends were 
passing away, and the activities of life had to be transferred to others, 
Mr. Brown joined George Lord, William Heap, R. T. Roberts, 
W. F. Holcomb, George Miller, Taney Woodward, Mayor B. B. 
Harris, David Seeley, Sydney P. Waite, Marcus Katz, Lucas Hoag- 
land, Henry M. Willis, his old Rocky mountain companion, James 
W. Waters, his son, John Brown, Jr., and others and organized the 
San Bernardino Society of California Pioneers, believing that many 
hours could still be pleasantly passed by those whose friendship had 
grown stronger and stronger as the years rolled by, and thus live the 
sentiment of the poet: — 

"When but few years of life remain. 

Tis life renewed to talk, to laugh them o'er again." 

Mr. Brown raised a large family, six daughters: Mrs. Matilda 
Waite, Mrs. Laura Wogencraft Thomas, Mrs. Louisa Waters, Mrs. 
Sylvia Davenport, Mrs. Mary Dueber, and Mrs. Emma Rouse Royalty, 
and four sons: John, Joseph, James, and Newton Brown. 

He outlived all of his Rocky Mountain companions, all of the 
commissioners appointed to organize San Bernardino County and all 



1130 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

of the first officers of the county. He remained alone to receive the 
tender greetings of his many friends who held him not only with high 
esteem and respect but with veneration and love. He was greatly 
devoted to the Pioneer Society; its pleasant associations were near 
and dear to his heart. Although feeble with declining years, he 
appeared at the meeting of the Society on Saturday, April 15, 1899, 
and discharged his duties as President, and on the following Thursday, 
April 20, 1899, at seven o'clock P. M. at the home of his daughter 
Laura, his spirit departed to that new and higher sphere of existence 
he so fondly looked to while in earth life. A large concourse of friends 
attended the funeral of their old friend from the Brown homestead, 
corner of D and Sixth streets, the present residence of his son John. 
The funeral services were conducted by Mrs. J. A. Marchant, Super- 
intendent of the First Spiritual Society of San Bernardino, and also 
by Rev. A. J. White, of the Presbyterian Church of Colton. The 
choir was under the direction of Mrs. H. M. Barton and Mrs. Lizzie 
Heap Keller. The floral offerings were profuse; one emblematic of 
the Pioneers, a tribute from the Pioneer Society. 

According to direction from the deceased frequently given by him 
to his children, the casket and everything else necessary for interment, 
was like his character, white as the mountain snow. The honorary 
pall bearers were among his oldest friends then living — Sheldon 
Stoddard, W. F. Holcomb, R. T. Roberts, Lucas Hoagland, J. A. 
Kelting, and Lewis Jacobs, and the active pall bearers were J. W. 
Waters, Jr., George Miller, Randolph Seeley, De La M. Woodward, 
H. M. Barton and Edward Daley, Jr. 

John Brown, Jr., eldest son of John Brown, Sr., the famous Rocky 
Mountain explorer, hunter, and trapper, was born in a log cabin 
situated on the bank of Greenhorn Creek, a tributary of the Arkansas 
River in Huerfano County, territory of New Mexico, now Colorado, 
on October 3, 1847. 

When about a year old he experienced an almost miraculous escape 
from the Apache Indians, and owes his life to the sublime courage 
of his devoted mother. This section of the centennial state was at that 
time a vast wilderness inhabited mainly by various savage tribes. His 
father and fellow mountaineers, having accumulated a large quantity of 
buffalo robes and beaver pelts, conceded to send a pack train to Taos, New 
Mexico, their trading post at that time, from whence, after selling their 
peltries, they would return with provisions. Mrs. Brown, with her baby 
boy, accompanied this expedition, and on the way through the mountains 
they were attacked by a band of Apache Indians, who captured the 
whole pack train and killed some of the hunters. While fleeing on 
horseback from these pursuing and desperate warriors, some of the 
men shouted to Mrs. Brown, "Throw that child away or the Indians 
will get you," but the faithful mother indignantly exclaimed while 
endeavoring to escape as fast as the fleet horse could run with her, 
"Never; when that baby boy is thrown away. I will go with him." 
Fortunately, the pursued cavalcade soon reached a deep ravine, where 
the hunters were safe from the arrows and bullets of the Indians, 
who feared to approach further, and withdrew, having captured the 
pack train with the buffalo robes and beaver pelts, one of the principal 
objects they were after. These hunters, with Mrs. Brown and her 
babv. were glad to reach Tans, the trading post, alive. 

To show the dangers the frontiersman underwent in this wild 
and unexplored region, Mr. Brown, when endeavoring to farm on 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1131 

the banks of the stream, often dug a rifle pit in the middle of his corn 
or wheat field in which he could jump to defend himself with his trusty 
Kentucky rifle, which he always carried with him, ready for an attack 
at any time. 

Early in 1849 the news of the discovery of gold at Sutter's mill 
reached the mountaineers, so Mr. Brown, James W. Waters, V. J. 
Herring, Alexander Godey and others formed a traveling party, for 
protection on the way, and soon were crossing the plains, reaching 
Salt Lake City July 4, 1849, and Sutter's Fort, California, September 
15, 1849, Mr. Brown bringing his family with him, among them his 
son John, who was then going on two years of age. In 1852, Mr. 
Brown moved south to San Bernardino, and became a resident of 
Fort San Bernardino, next door neighbor to Uncle Sheldon Stoddard, 
Captain Jefferson Hunt, and Edward Daley. Although John was but 
five years of age, he remembers the first teachers, Ellen Pratt and 
William Stout, who taught before the two old adobe school rooms 
were built on Fourth Street, and among the incidents he remembers 
the balloon ascension in the Fort. 

In 1854, the family removed to the Yucipa valley, about twelve 
miles southeast from San Bernardino, where John's father farmed 
and raised stock for three years. Returning to San Bernardino in 1857, 
they moved into the home on the corner of D and Sixth streets, which 
has been the Brown Homestead since that time, a period of sixty-five 
years, and where our subject grew to vigorous manhood. Attended 
the public and private schools in San Bernardino and finally graduating 
from St. Vincents College, Los Angeles; and Santa Clara College, 
Santa Clara County. 

He followed the vocation of teaching for a number of years, served 
one term as county school superintendent, and presided over the Board 
of Education, was city attorney one term, in all of which honorable 
positions he acquitted himself to the general satisfaction. He studied 
law under Judge Horace C. Rolfe, and was admitted to practice in the 
Supreme Court of the State and Federal Courts. It can be truly 
said of him that he espoused the cause of the poor and oppressed, and 
advised settlement of all cases before going to law, if possible. He is 
pre-eminently the friend of the aged, and is beloved by the children, 
who regard him as a true Santa Claus. Even the poor Indian finds in 
him a faithful champion of their rights. Not only the local Coahuilla 
and Serrani Indian tribes, but those at Warren's Ranch, in May, 1903, 
sent for him to come to their rescue when they were deprived of their 
old home where they and their ancestors had lived for centuries, and 
removed to the Pala reservation. 

On July 4, 1876, he married, in San Bernardino, Miss Mattie Ellen 
Hinman, of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Nellie Hinman Brown, their 
only child, was born in San Bernardino, June 1, 1877, and on March 
2, 1904, was married to Charles H. Wiggett. They have two children, 
Martha Eliza Wiggett, born in San Bernardino. July 13, 1905 ; and 
Charles Brown Wiggett born in Bellemont, Arizona, September 23, 1906. 

The friends of John Brown, Jr., have always known him as an 
ardent patriot ; the American Flag floats over his home on all national, 
state or municipal holidays, and waves from pine to pine at all his 
mountain camps. With that veteran school teacher of precious 
memory, Henry C. Brooke, he raised the Star Spangled Banner 
over many of the school houses in the county, in the early '70s, thus 
beginning a custom that was afterwards adopted by the state, and 
calculated to inspire partriotism in the hearts of the rising generation. 



1132 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

He is indebted to his father for starting him in his patriotic career. 
It was his father who rode on horseback to Fort Tejon and obtained 
a flag from his old friend, S. A. Bishop, and brought it to display at 
the first celebration of the 4th of July, in San Bernardino, in 1853. 
He was chairman of the Republican County Central Committee in 
1860, and with his boys, John, Joseph and James, hauled wood to 
kindle fires to arouse the Americans to support Abraham Lincoln 
for President and to support the Union, and in 1864 displayed the 
same activity in supporting President Lincoln for the second term. 
In 1868 John cast his maiden vote for the candidate of the republican 
party, General U. S. Grant, and has remained loyal to that party 
believing that by so doing he was contributing to the highest welfare 
of the American people under one Flag, one constitution, with liberty 
and union, now and forever, one and inseparable. 

He inherited from his father, the lure of the wild, the out of door, 
close contact with nature. The hunting and fishing grounds of the 
San Bernardino Range of Mountains are familiar to him. Eastward 
from Old Baldy, Job's Peak, Saw Pit Canyon, Strawberry Peak, 
Little Bear Valley, Little Green Valley, Big Bear Valley, Sugar Loaf 
Mountain, San Bernardino and towering Grayback, 11,600 feet into 
the sky, was the enchanted and inspiring region of many a joyful 
hour with his genial companions, Bill Holcomb, George Miller, Syd. 
Waite, Taney Woodward, Major Harris, E. A. Nisbet, Joe Brown, 
Richard Weir, William Stephen, Jap Corbett and Dave Wixom. 

In the summer of 1882, he visited the Atlantic and Middle States 
with his wife and their little daughter Nellie — Bunker Hill, where 
his father's grandfather fell in the War of the Revolution, Plymouth 
Rock, Mt. Vernon and Washington Tomb, Independence Hall, Niagara 
Falls, Ford's Theatre, where Lincoln was assassinated, and Fanueil Hall, 
the cradle of American Liberty. 

On January 21, 1888, he was present at the old court house on 
Court Street, San Bernardino, with his father, and those veteran 
pioneers, James W. Waters, George Lord, Svdney P. Waite, William 
F. Holcomb, G. W. Suttenfield, Henry M. "Willis, N. G. Gill, Tom 
Roberts, and De La M. W'oodward, and aided in the organization of 
the San Bernardino Society of California Pioneers, which venerable 
body elected him as secretary, which responsible position he has filled 
to the present time (1922), a period of thirty-four years, with but one 
exception, when the members elected him as president, W. F. Hol- 
comb acting as secretary that year. 

Solicitous of the comfort and entertainment of the children who 
attend the meetings with childish interest and curiosity, he does not 
forget greetings to the great-grandmothers and great-grandfathers who 
dignify the weekly assemblages of the Argonaut, where the declining 
years are made happier. 

William Hartley is the efficient and popular general manager of the 
West Ontario Citrus Association. The well equipped packing house is 
situated two and one-half miles west of the City of Ontario, San Ber- 
nardino County. 

Mr. Hartley was born in the fair old City of Detroit, Michigan, on the 
13th of February, 1886, and after his graduation from the high school he 
continued his studies in the Detroit Normal School. In 1907 he came to 
Southern California, and after having here been connected with the fruit 
industry a short time he went to the northern part of the state and became 
identified with mercantile enterprise. His preference for the southern 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1133 

part of the state and for outdoor occupation led him to return and to 
take the position of foreman of a fruit-packing house at Charter Oak, 
Los Angeles County, in the employ of the Du Quesne Fruit Company 
of that place. Upon coming to Narod, San Bernardino County, he be- 
came foreman in the packing house of the West Ontario Citrus Asso- 
ciation, of which J. K. Adams was then manager. After the death of 
Mr. Adams he was advanced to his present office, that of general manager 
of this important association, which was organized August 24, 1893, as a 
co-operative association made up of the leading citrus-fruit growers of 
this district. The progressive men who promoted the organization were 
Morris L. S. Dyar, W. E. Collins, Granger Hyer, C. E. Harwood and 
others. The original title of the organization was the Ontario Fruit 
Exchange and the first corps of officers were as here noted : President, 
W. E. Collins; vice president, L. S. Dyar; secretary, Granger Hyer; 
treasurer, Ontario State Bank. On September 19, 1901, a reorganization 
was affected and the title changed to the West Ontario Citrus Association. 
This is one of the earliest of the mutual or co-operative fruit associations 
organized in the state, and its history has been one of consecutive progress 
and increasing efficiency of service. From the packing and shipping of a 
few carloads annually the business has expanded until the shipments for 
the season of 1920 aggregated 415 carloads of oranges. In that year the 
association doubled the capacity of its packing house and general equip- 
ment, and in 1921 additional storage capacity was provided by the erec- 
tion of new buildings. The season of 1921-22 recorded tne estimated 
shipment of 550 carloads, the output being sold through the medium of the 
San Antonio Fruit Exchange at Pomona. Mr. Hartley has gained high 
reputation as an efficient and enterprising executive in this connection, and 
has done much to further the success of the association and its constituent 
members. 

In 1917 Mr. Hartley married Miss Ruby Ogilvie, who was born in 
Idaho, but was at the time of her marriage a resident of Ontario, Cali- 
fornia. She was reared and educated in the State of Washington, and as a 
talented pianist was a successful teacher of music prior to her marriage. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hartley have one son, William, Jr., who was born August 
1, 1918. 

Mr. Hartley is a son of Philip Henry and Janet (Lynch) Hartley, the 
former of whom was born in England and the latter in Scotland. The 
parents were young folk when they came to the United States and settled 
at Port Huron, Michigan, in which state they still maintain their home, 
the father being a painter and decorator by vocation. William Hartley of 
this review is the eldest in a family of four sons and two daughters, and 
through his own ability and efforts he has achieved success and prestige 
in the state of his adoption. 

Nels J. Sholander became one of the pioneers in the development of 
the new opulent Chino district of San Bernardino County and was an 
earnest, upright and loyal citizen who commanded high place in popular 
esteem. He was born and reared in Sweden, where he received good edu- 
cational advantages and where he gained his early experience in connec- 
tion with the practical affairs of life. He was born May 16, 1836, and he 
died at his home in Chino, California, in May, 1893. In 1861 he married 
Miss Carrie Svedling, who was born April 4, 1842, and they continued 
their residence in their native land until 1881, when, accompanied by their 
three children, they immigrated to the United States and established their 
home on a farm in Boone County, Iowa, where they remained seven years, 
successive periods of drouth having entailed no little hardship and having 



1134 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

made the farm enterprise unsuccessful as a whole. Upon leaving Iowa the 
family came to San Bernardino County, California, and Mr. Sholander 
here purchased thirty-two acres of wild land on what is now South Euclid 
Avenue, in the Village of Chino. When he settled here the entire valley 
was a cattle range, and in improving his own property he did well his part 
in furthering the general development of the district. He made his original 
tract of land a valuable property, as is evident when it is stated that in 
1921 his widow sold the same for $300 an acre. He acquired real estate 
also in the more central part of Chino, including the attractive residence 
property which now represents the home of his widow, at the corner of 
Seventh Street and Chino Avenue. Mr. Sholander gave every possible aid 
in the furtherance of the civic and material development and advance- 
ment of the community, and through his well ordered efforts he gained 
independence and definite prosperity. When they came to this country 
he and his wife had no knowledge of the English language, and Mrs. 
Sholander was somewhat more than fifty years of age before she acquired 
ready use of the language. She is now one of the venerable pioneer 
women of Chino. where her circle of friends is limited only by that of her 
acquaintances. Mrs. Sholander is an earnest member of the Baptist 
Church, as was also her husband, and his political allegiance was given to 
the republican party. Of the three children the first is Peter, who was 
born May 16, 1862, and who gained his early education in the schools of 
Sweden, AJter coming to the United States with his parents he con- 
tinued to be associated with his father in farm enterprise in Iowa until he 
was twenty-five years old. In 1887 he located in the City of Des Moines, 
that state, where he was variously employed for the ensuing four years. 
In 1889 he married Jennie Anderson, who was born in Sweden on the 
5th of November, 1867, and who came to America with her parents in 
1881. In 1891 Peter Sholander established his home at Chino, California, 
where for twenty years he was in the employ of the American Beet Sugar 
Company. In the meanwhile he bought twenty acres of land within the 
city limits of Chino, and this property, which he has effectively improved, 
is his present place of residence. His only child, Jesner, was born at Des 
Moines, Iowa, May 16, 1890, was educated in the public schools of Chino 
and early manifested special mechanical ability. Jesner Sholander has been 
employed as a mechanic in various beet-sugar factories and is now mechani- 
cal superintendent of the motor department of the Chino High School. On 
account of a defective ear he was denied service as a soldier when the 
nation became involved in the World war. In 1912 he married Mabel 
Caldwell, and their one child, Josephine, was born November 19, 1914. 
Anna Martha, second child of the honored subject of this memoir, was 
born June 20, 1867, and was seventeen years of age at the time of her 
death. Charles John was born May 6, 1875, and was about six years old 
when the family came to the United States. He attended Chaffey College, 
the Southern California University and Leland Stanford, Jr., University, 
and he became a successful teacher of biology in the University of Southern 
California. This talented young man died in September, 1901. 

Charles Ruedy. — The thriving little City of Upland in San Ber- 
nardino County was formerly known as North Ontario. The first develop- 
ment and settlement were made there a little more than thirty years ago, 
and one of the first arrivals to identify himself permanently was Charles 
Ruedy. Mr. Ruedy came to California for the benefit of his wife's health, 
had been a successful business man in Southern Illinois for a number of 
years, invested some of his means in citrus groves at Upland, but for the 
most part has been a promoter, stockholder, investor and officially identified 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1135 

with some of the larger business organizations that represent the industrial 
activity of the community. Mr. Ruedy has been a real town builder, and 
has probably been responsible for as much constructive work in Upland 
as any other citizen. 

He was born at Highland, Illinois, February 25, 1852. Highland is 
one of the interesting old communities of Southern Illinois, settled almost 
exclusively by people who came from Switzerland, and the population 
today is largely of Swiss descendants. His parents, Daniel and Mary 
(Marguth) Ruedy, were natives of Canton Graubuenden, Switzerland and 
settled in Illinois in the early forties. Daniel Ruedy was a farmer. Of 
his sixteen children three died in infancy and thirteen lived to maturity 
and were married. 

Charles Ruedy had only a common school education, and his life to the 
age of twenty-one was devoted largely to assisting on the home farm. 
When he left home he clerked in a store a year and a half and soon after- 
ward married Miss Julia M. Landolt, also of Highland, where her parents 
were farmers. In 1874 Mr. Ruedy engaged in the mercantile business for 
himself, and for seventeen years conducted a general store. 

About that time physicians advised that his wife must seek a drier 
climate, and for six months they traveled over the West and Southwest, 
visiting Texas, Arizona, New Mexico and California. They went back to 
Highland, and Mr. Ruedy wound up his affairs there, and about six months 
later returned to California. 

It was in 1891 that he joined the little colony at Upland and at once 
began taking an active part in its affairs. He bought two orange groves 
of ten acres each, one in Ontario and the other north of Upland on 
Fourteenth Street, West, including what was known as Chaffee's boarding 
house, one of the first houses built in Upland. At this time Upland had 
no business houses, and most of the magnificent orange groves in that 
section were then waste land. Mr. Ruedy soon sold his groves, and in 
1894 engaged in the feed and fuel business. He conducted this for seven 
years, and then sold out to a stock company, of which J. M. Hartley was 
manager. Mr. Ruedy early became interested in the dried fruit business, 
being one of the organizers of the North Ontario Packing Company, in 
which he became a director. This concern handles dried fruits and is one 
of the largest organizations of its kind in Southern California, with head- 
quarters in Los Angeles. Mr. Ruedy is one of the larger stockholders. He 
is president of the Citizens Land & Water Company, was one of the 
incorporators and for several years a director of the Citizens National 
Bank of Upland, is president of the Magnolia Mutual Building and Loan 
Association of Upland, and owns some of the principal business blocks of 
the city. He owns the entire northwest corner of Second Avenue and 
Ninth Street, where most of the business structures stand. He owns the 
packing house occupied by the G. A. Hanson Fruit Company. The old 
packing house was burned in 1915, entailing a heavy loss to Mr. Ruedy, but 
he rebuilt it with a fireproof plant. With a view to stimulating the com- 
mercial development of the town and affording additional employment to 
its citizens he was one of the liberal investors in the shoe factory and 
foundry, both of which concerns were operated at a loss. 

Mr. Ruedy is an attendant of the Presbyterian Church and has been 
a life-long republican. Mrs. Ruedy found health and strength under 
California skies and enjoyed life here until her death in November 17, 
1917. For his second wife Mr. Ruedy married Maude A. Thomas. She 
was born in Princeton, Illinois, July 6, 1872, and she and a sister were 
left orphans at the age of six and seven years. They then came to 



1 136 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

California to live with an aunt and uncle near Sacramento, subsequently 
lived for a number of years near Marysville, and later at Livermore, 
where their aunt and uncle died. 

Mr. Ruedy started life when he left the farm with practically no 
capital and with limited business experience. His industry, his care and 
skill in making investments have brought him financial independence and 
at the same time he has been one of the most substantial factors in the 
growth and upbuilding of Upland. 

Walter Taylor Garner — The Garner family has been in San Ber- 
nardino County for thirty-five years. The homestead which represents 
the accumulated development and enterprise of the family throughout 
this period is located a mile and a half west of Wineville, on the 
Wineville-Ontario road. This is the property of Walter Taylor Garner, 
whose father originally acquired it and began the development which 
has contributed some of the most constructive factors in the prosperity 
of this section. 

The late Richard Taylor Garner was born in England where he 
married Mary Ann Holmes. In 1876 they came to America and es- 
tablished their home at Hutchinson, Minnesota, where Richard T. 
Garner became a merchant. He lived there nine years, and while he 
was prospered the rigorous winters compelled him to leave and seek a 
more congenial climate in California. The family arrived in this state 
February 15, 1885. Besides the parents there were two children, 
Marion, who was born in England in 1871, and Walter Taylor Garner, 
who was born at Hutchinson, Minnesota, May 9, 1877. 

When the family came to California they took a preemption of 
forty acres of Government land, then a sandy desert, and this forty 
acres is the nucleus of the present much larger holdings of Walter T. 
Garner. For several months the family had to haul water four miles 
for domestic use. A house was constructed and a well put down. 
Richard Taylor Garner had a full share of the English characteristic 
of bull dog tenacity, and never knew defeat. The county was new, 
there were no capable advisers, but he went ahead, clearing off the 
brush and setting out his land to vineyard and fruit trees, only to see 
his efforts nullified by hoards of rabbits and other pests. The first 
method of defense against the rabbits was constructing a fence of 
laths driven into the ground closely, but the jack rabbits would crowd 
between the sticks, and in the absence of baling wire or rope they re- 
sorted to the use of squaw vine, a long native vine, which when woven 
around the lath proved effective. Not long afterward chicken wire 
or woven fence became available. Posts were set at intervals, 
but the north winds blew weeds against the wire. This soon proved 
an obstacle to the drifting sand, so that in a single season the fence 
would be drifted under, and the protection against the invading pests 
had to be procured by hanging wire on top of the posts each fall. 
The rabbits would not destroy the grape vines in winter, but would 
eat the tender fruit and leaves in the spring and thus stop the vitality. 
All fruit trees had to be wrapped in burlap the entire year. Rabbits 
and range sheep would eat Indian corn as fast as planted, but Egyptian 
corn was immune from these pests. There was no market when the 
grapes came into bearing. Drying did not prove successful. Later 
Guasti & Stearns established their wineries and began contracting 
to pay for the grapes and while the sum was small it made available 
a real market and proved an important financial resource. 



.<rv 



^~ i 







/(o 7H J OJ^nnJinJ . 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1137 

All these developments had been carried well along during the life 
time of the parents. The mother died in 1908 and the father in 1915. 
The daughter, Marion, was married in 1891 to John Bright of Eos 
Angeles, and she is the mother of a daughter, Bernice, born in 1894. 

Walter T. ( lamer, who has never married, has always lived on the 
homestead and has done much to improve it and add to the acreage. He 
now has a hundred acres in fruit and vineyard. The first savings he 
acquired of four hundred dollars he invested in desert land, contracting 
for forty acres at twelve dollars an acre. He later bought more, and 
did the planting as he could finance it. Mr. Garner completed his educa- 
tion in a shack schoolhouse that was a long distance from the Garner 
home. The nearest post office when the family came here was Cuca- 
monga. The mail was brought to the old section house and the neigh- 
bors would take turns in calling for it at the railroad shanty. Mr. Gar- 
ner himself was old enough to appreciate the labors and adversities of 
the early years, and he did his share in battling the animal pests and in 
stopping the avalanche of sand and in securing water for irrigation pur- 
poses. He is one of the men who deserve lasting credit from all sub- 
sequent generations for what he has accomplished through hard expe- 
rience in learning the ways of the country and in proving the best methods 
of redeeming the land and securing therefrom the greatest volume of 
production. He is a member of the democratic party. 

Thomas E. Ketcheson has not been a passive witness of the march 
of events since he came to San Bernardino County and located in the 
Upland Colony. He has participated in the strenuous work, the long toil 
necessary to get the land into condition for planting, the care and cultiva- 
tion of the orchards, and it was out of the proceeds of labor that he bought 
and paid for this first land. Since then he has developed several valuable 
holdings, has achieved a competence, and at the same time has furnished 
his family a delightful home and supplied liberal educational opportunities 
for his children. 

Mr. Ketcheson was born in Ontario, Canada, March 31, 1872, son of 
Samuel and Phoebe (McTaggart) Ketcheson, also natives and farmers of 
that province. Thomas was the third in a family of eight children. 

As a youth in Canada he completed a public school course and also 
attended the Ontario Business College at Belleville, Canada. After leav- 
ing college he went back to the farm, and soon afterward went out to 
British Columbia and joined an uncle at Vancouver, with whom he farmed 
for five years. In 1893 Mr. Ketcheson came to California and joined his 
uncle, John Vermillion, who then owned a forty acre tract in North 
Ontario, now Upland, between Twelfth and Thirteenth streets, east of 
Euclid Avenue. Part of this was set out to oranges and a portion was in 
vineyard, and at that time there were only a few scattering groves of 
orange trees in this entire district. Mr. Ketcheson worked for his uncle 
in looking after the grove until it was sold. The first purchase he made 
on his own account was two lots bought from the Harwood brothers. 
Still later he bought ten acres of wild land at the corner of Eleventh and 
San Antonio Avenue. Largely through his own labors he cleared and 
leveled this property, and in 1905 set it to Washington Navel oranges. 
Several years later, when the grove was fully developed, he sold the prop- 
erty for $22,000 dollars. His next investment was ten acres on Thirteenth, 
between Mountain and San Antonio avenues, and he also sold this at an 
advance. Mr. Ketcheson still owns an eight acre grove of nine year old 
lemon trees on Mountain Avenue. His residence, which he bought in 1912, 
had just been completed by P. E. Walline and stands at the south- 



1138 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

east corner of Palm and West Tenth Street in Upland. This is a pic- 
turesque and valuable home and Mr. Ketcheson and family have thoroughly 
enjoyed its delightful comforts. 

Mr. Ketcheson married on June 9, 1896, Miss Ella Washburn, a native 
of Indiana. Her parents moved when she was a child to Kansas, and in 
1887 she came to California with an uncle. Mr. and Mrs. Ketcheson 
have three children. The oldest, Pauline, born at Upland June 20, 1899, 
graduated from the Chaffey Union High School, attended the University 
of Southern California at Los Angeles and is a graduate of the State 
Normal College at Santa Barbara, and has the character and intellectual 
gifts that make her an accomplished as well as a well educated woman. 
She is now the wife of Richard E. Elliott, and they have a son 
Richard, Jr., born August 1, 1921. Mr. Elliott was born at McAlester, 
Oklahoma, February 10, 1897, and had an unusual record of service in the 
World war. He enlisted at Hot Springs, Arkansas, January 31, 1918, 
joining the 533rd Engineers with the Fifth Army Corps. After a brief 
training at Washington, D. C, he embarked for overseas March 30th, 
landing in France the 6th of April, and was with the Engineers in some of 
the difficult and hazardous service that marked the advance of the Ameri- 
can Forces in several battles and campaigns, including Belleau Wood, 
Soissons and in one of the campaigns on the Marne. He remained over- 
seas seventeen months, but was never wounded or otherwise injured. He 
was mustered out January 7, 1920, at Fort Scott in San Francisco, and is 
now engaged in ranching at Upland. 

The two younger children of Mr. Ketcheson are Howard, born at 
Upland November 4, 1903, and Edna, born September 1, 1909. The son 
was educated in the grammar school and the Chaffey Union High School. 

Mr. Ketcheson came to Bernardino County when land was wild and 
cheap and wages for labor were low, with long hours, and under such 
conditions he bought and paid for his first land and eventually made him- 
self secure in property interests and the good citizenship of the locality. 

John H. Klusman has been and is one of the men of power and 
influence in the shaping of the characteristic destinies of that great 
fruit growing community of Southern California, Cucamonga. 

Mr. Klusman was born in Germany November 9, 1872, was reared 
there and received his early education, and had some training that 
fitted him for the position of a skilled worker when he came to 
America in 1894 and located at Cucamonga. His first employment 
was in the Haven vineyard. While working in the vineyard he 
estimated with shrewd foresight the remarkable promise of future 
prosperity that would come to the vineyardist and wine manufacturers 
of this region. Somewhat later, in association with M. E. Post, he 
bought 1,000 acres of wild land. This land was cleared and prepared 
under his supervision, the labor being performed by Chinese and 
Japanese. This was the foundation and nucleus of the famous Mission 
Vineyard Company's properties. Mr. Klusman and Mr. Post set the 
entire tract of 1,000 acres to wine grapes, and also erected the noted 
Mission Winery, one of the finest and most modern plants of its kind 
on the Pacific Coast. This winery has a capacity of 1,500,000 gallons, 
some of the individual tanks holding 55,000 gallons. It is the last 
word in modern construction. The plant while in active operation 
consumed not only the products of the Mission Vineyards but great 
quantities raised by other growers, and paid from $11.00 to $12.00 
a ton for these wine grapes. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1139 

In advance of the prohibition wave Mr. Klusman and his associates 
sold out in 1918 to Garrett & Company, who have converted the 
property into a plant for the manufacture of unfermented grape juice. 

Mr. Klusman, after selling his interest in this business, turned 
to other lines and now owns fifty acres of citrus orchard and is 
president of the Cucamonga Building & Loan Company, is a director 
of the Cucamonga Water Company, and is one of the owners of 
the new Sycamore Hotel. He takes an active part in social and civic 
affairs, is a director of the Country Club, and a member of Pomona 
Lodge No. 789 of the Elks. Mr. Klusman came to Cucamonga a 
stranger in the country, and he worked for small wages as a farm 
hand until he could make use of the small capital representing his 
savings to get into an industry whose possibilities he could realize. 
His great energy enabled him to overcome many difficulties in the 
path of the success of the Mission Vineyard Company. 

On July 25, 1911, Mr. Klusman married Miss Elizabeth Craig, of 
a prominent Los Angeles family. She was born in Freedom, 
Pennsylvania, January 11, 1884, and was educated in the public 
schools and a girls' school in Los Angeles, California. Her father 
was Stephen Craig, and her mother Fredericka Miller. The father 
is deceased, but the mother lives in Los Angeles. Mrs. Gertrude 
Wellman, a sister of Mrs. Klusman, also lives in Los Angeles. After 
their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Klusman made an extensive tour of 
Europe, in the course of which Mr. Klusman visited his old home, 
and also traveled through England. France, Belgium and Switzerland. 
Mr. and Mrs. Klusman have two children, both natives of Cucamongfa, 
John, Jr., born December 27, 1912, and Margaret, born March 22, 1916. 

Thomas Kirk Vernon, a resident of Upland over thirty years, coming 
to manhood here, Thomas Kirk Vernon is an orange grower of 
practical experience and of more than usual success, is a citizen who 
takes a practical view and yet has fine ideals about community affairs, 
and he not only enjoys that esteem paid to a prosperous business man 
but also exercises his wholesome influence in behalf of better schools 
and better conditions generally in his communitv. 

Mr. Vernon was born at Wellington, Ohio, November 28, 1874, 
son of James and Ida (Kirk) Vernon. His father was a minister 
of the Christian Church. Thomas Kirk Vernon when one year of 
age went to live with his grandfather, Thomas Kirk. His grand- 
parents came to California in 1889, when Thomas was fifteen years 
of age. They settled at North Ontario, now Upland, where Thomas 
Kirk bought twentv acres of land on Fifteenth Street and Euclid 
Avenue. Thomas Kirk died here in 1892, but his widow is still living 
with her grandson and in her vigor belies her age. She was born 
in Wellington. Ohio, ninety-five years ago. 

Thomas Kirk Vernon finished his education in the Eighteenth 
Street School at Upland. He had only the advantages of the common 
schools, but reading and practical experience fitted him well for the 
duties and responsibilities of life. Almost ever since coming to Cali- 
fornia he had been identified with orange growing, and he knows 
that business from the standpoint of one who has worked in every 
department and has developed groves from wild land to prosperous 
production. 

Mr. Vernon married at the age of twenty-one and then bought 
ten acres on San Antonio Avenue and Sixteenth Street. This was 
wild land and very stony, and he did all the work of clearing and 



1140 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

removing the rock and then prepared it for setting out to citrus 
orchard. This was the beginning of his career as an orange grower, 
and since then he has cleared a large amount of other land. He 
personally supervised and performed much of the labor of developing 
his home place of ten acres on Sixteenth Street between San Antonio 
and Euclid avenues. He now has thirty acres of orange groves. His 
maximum production for one season from this thirty acres was 
nineteen thousand boxes. 

Mr. Vernon married Miss Emma Palis, of Henderson, Kentucky, 
and member of an old Kentucky family. She was born in Henderson, 
Kentucky, October 8, 1874, and was educated in the public schools 
and is a high school graduate. To their marriage were born two 
children: William Vernon, born December 1, 1900, at Upland, grad- 
uated from the Chaffey Union High School, spent one year in Pomona 
College, and is now in his third year in the Colorado School of Mines 
at Golden, preparing for a professional career as a mineralogist. 
During the World War he was a member of the Students' Army 
Training Corps. The second child, Ida Vernon, was born May 7, 
1910, and is in the seventh grade of the grammar school at Upland. 

Aside from his business Mr. Vernon has had an active part in the 
civic affairs of Upland since the town was incorporated. He was 
made first secretary of the townsite, a member of the first City 
Council, serving six years, and was mayor and chairman of the board 
three terms. He is now a member of the grammar school board and 
for eight years was a road overseer in San Bernardino County, and 
was superintendent of the construction of the Mountain Avenue Road. 
He is a stockholder and treasurer of the Camp Baldy Company, a popular 
mountain resort in San Antonio Canon. Mr. Vernon and family are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian Church. He is a stockholder in both of Upland's 
banks. 

Dr. E. W. Reid was a well qualified and successful practitioner of 
medicine, but after coming to California did little or no professional 
work, and the achievements that give him a high place in San Bernardino 
County were in the fundamental development work in one of the county's 
prominent horticultural districts, Alta Loma. 

Mr. Reid was born in Madison County, Illinois, December 16, 1852, 
son of William and Maria ( Cox ) Reid, also natives of Illinois, where 
his father was a farmer. Dr. Reid acquired a good education, graduat- 
ing A. B. and A. M. from Shurtleff College in Southern Illinois in 1875. 
In 1878 he received his M. D. degree from St. Louis Medical College, 
and then for several years enjoyed a growing practice in his chosen 
vocation. 

It was to seek relief from a chronic affliction of asthma that he came 
out to California in 1882. After investigating a number of districts he 
bought twenty acres on Hellman Avenue in the Alta Loma district. Xo 
development work had been done in this section, all the land lying in a 
wilderness state. Dr. Reid had the enterprise and the courage to go 
ahead with development for which there were few precedents. He 
cleared and planted his land to citrus fruits, and subsequently bought 
and planted another twenty acres. When he located here the Southern 
Pacific Railroad was the only transportation line available, and the near- 
est station was at Ontario. The story of development along Hellman 
Avenue begins with his settlement there. Dr. Reid in 188.5 built a 
small home on his property, and he and his family lived in this for 




&rt. £e^V 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1141 

eleven years. Then, in 1894, he erected the more commodious and 
attractive residence where Mrs. Reid and her daughter reside. 

Dr. Reid was not only a worker on his own property, but was inde- 
fatigable in his efforts in behalf of the general and prosperous develop- 
ment of the entire colony. The community owes him much for his 
successful efforts in securing and insuring reliable water rights for the 
colony. In politics he voted as a democrat for a number of years, but 
was a sound money man and after 1896 joined the republican ranks. 
On that ticket he was elected county supervisor in 1902, and he filled 
that office capably and faithfully until his death ten years later. He 
was not only one of the early growers of citrus fruits, but was extremely 
interested in the handling and marketing of the crop, and succeeded in 
organizing the first local packing house in his district. While Dr. Reid 
came to California primarily for his health, he was practically free from 
his affliction thereafter, and lived usefully and in the enjoyment of his 
work and his home here for nearly thirty years. He died September 2, 
1912, and because of his attainments and the wisdom and good judgment 
he had shown in his relations with the community his death was a dis- 
tinct loss. 

November 18, 1876, Mr. Reid married Miss Mary Jane Rennick. 
Mrs. Reid was born March 1, 1851, in St. Francis County, Missouri, 
daughter of George W. and Priscilla (Barry) Rennick. She is also a 
graduate of Shurtleff College of Illinois, receiving her A. B. degree in 
1876. Mrs. Reid has two daughters, Gertrude, born at St. Louis, 
Missouri, January 13, 1878, was educated in several public and private 
schools, graduated A. B. from the University of California at Berkeley 
in 1902, and for a time taught in the high schools of Whittier and 
Ontario. On her father's death she returned home to assume the respon- 
sibilities of looking after the property, and she has demonstrated unusual 
business ability and efficiency in handling the forty-acre orchard, which is 
in a model and profitable condition. 

The second daughter, Eunice Reid, was born in Illinois, October 29, 
1880, was educated in the same schools with her sister, spent two years 
in Pomona College and graduated from the University of California. 
She taught for two years in Santa Monica. June 19, 1906, she was 
married to R. C. Owens. Mr. Owens is a native of New York State, 
graduated from Pomona College in 1900 and from the Hastings Law 
School in San Francisco in 1902, and is now a prominent member of the 
San Francisco bar. 

Mrs. Reid and family are active members of the Baptist Church, and 
for many years she was associated with Dr. Reid in civic and philan- 
thropic undertakings, and is still prominent in church, club and civic 
matters. 

Henry G. Klusman. — Cucamonga is a word that suggests orange 
groves and vineyards, and perhaps one of the most highly developed 
horticultural sections of the world. This development is the result 
of years of patient labor and the expenditure of much capital, and 
in that development the character of men has been tested. Among 
those who stood the test in the days of toil and hardship one is 
Henry G. Klusman, a strong, able and respected man in the 
community today. 

Henry G. Klusman is one of four brothers who came out of 
Germany, and all achieved more than an ordinary degree of success. 
He was born January 31, 1875, son of William and Johanna Klusman, 
who spent their lives as farmers in Germany. Henry G. Klusman 



1 142 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

acquired a common school education and early determined that his 
lot should be cast in free America without the necessity of enforced 
military service. At the age of sixteen he came to America, and 
there were no stops on the way for any length of time until he had 
reached Cucamonga. Here he went to work in the old Havens 
vineyards at $15.00 a month and board. He had no knowledge of 
English, but he exercised the skill and strength of his hands to toil 
through the daylight hours in the vineyards, and frequently worked 
into the night and on Sundays in the winery. About two years later 
he secured employment on an adjoining ranch at $25!00 a month and 
board. Out of his savings he made his first purchase in 1896 of 
forty acres of wild land, at $12.50 an acre. He set this to vines, and 
his first crop of grapes he delivered to the Guasti Winery, hauling 
them through the deep sand and getting $6.00 a ton, $2.00 in cash 
and $1.00 a month until paid. Mr. Klusman kept this vineyard until 
1915. when he sold it for $125.00 an acre. 

In 1900 he bought the four acre tract on Turner Street in Cuca- 
monga, where he has his home today. He set this to oranges and 
has built a modern home. About fifteen years ago he established 
a plant for the manufacture of concrete irrigation pipe, and he has 
developed this into a flourishing and important industry, the capacity 
now being 2,000 feet daily. Employment is given to twenty people 
in the concrete pipe yards. 

In San Francisco January 1, 1902, he married Miss Olga Forester, 
who was born at Eau Claire, Wisconsin, July 8, 1883. They have 
four children : Emma, born November 25, 1902, now grown to a 
most engaging young lady, a graduate of the Chaffey Union High 
School; Henry W., born January 15, 1905, already an active aid in 
his father's business; Catherine, born January 10, 1907, a student 
in the Chaffey Union High School; and Vivian, born May 25, 1909, 
who has about completed her grammar school work. 

Mr. Klusman is a member of Upland Lodge No. 98, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and in politics is a democrat. When he came 
to America on borrowed money, $360.00, which it cost him to reach 
Cucamonga, the work of his early years was to repay this fund. 
Persistent application has brought him its due rewards, and in char- 
acter and citizenship he stands one of the leading men of Cucamonga 
and one who deserves a great deal of the credit for redeeming this 
desert to unexampled productiveness. 

Edward H. Pine. — On other pages are recounted the experiences of 
that energetic and stalwart pioneer Samuel C. Pine, Sr., in the San 
Bernardino Valley. One of his sons, Edward H. Pine, is one of the 
oldest surviving native sons of this region, and his life has been on a 
par with his father's in point of substantial worth and influence. 

He and his brother Edwin are twins and were born July 28, 1860, 
in old San Bernardino, on the noted Cottonwood Row. Edward H. 
Pine had his first conscious recollections of frontier times when the 
first settlers had located in this vicinity. He recalls when there were 
no stores between Los Angeles and San Bernardino and no roads, 
only sand blown trails. He recalls the incidents, recounted elsewhere, 
where his faher made a hurried exit with his family from the mill in 
the San Bernardino Mountains on account of Indian depredations. 
Mr. Pine had limited school advantages, but has always kept in touch 
with the life of his vicinity and the world around him. His career 
has been that of a rancher, and he now owns and occupies a portion 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1143 

of his father's original claim at Rincon. This has been greatly 
improved, and his business is farming on an extensive scale. 

On September 5, 1883, Mr. Pine married Miss Ella C. Walkinshaw. 
who was born in San Bernardino June 24, 1863, daughter of Thomas 
B. and Jeanette (Henderson) Walkinshaw. also numbered among the 
early settlers of this vicinity. Her parents were born in Scotland 
and came to America in early youth. The Henderson and Walkin- 
shaw families crossed the plains with ox teams and settled in San 
Bernardino during the early Mormon occupation of the early '50s. 
Edward H. Pine and wife had six children: Mamie, born August 10, 
1884, is the wife of Frank Wall and has a family of six children ; 
Roy Edward Pine, born February 18, 1889, married Ruth McGuire, 
and is the father of three children ; Jennie, born October 17, 1892. 
is the wife of John Ramey and the mother of three children ; Willie 
Samuel, born October 11, 1895, married Blethen Reynolds and has 
three children ; Margaret, born June 25, 1898, died November 24, 1898; 
Lillian W., born December 14, 1899, is the wife of William D. 
Johnson and has a daughter, Geraldine, born November 6, 1921. AH 
the children of Mr. and Mrs. Pine were born on the Rincon ranch in 
the Chino Valley. 

The title to their home has never passed out of the family name 
since his father acquired it as a pre-emption. Mr. Pine is a member 
of Corona Lodge No. 291, Knights of Pythias, he and his family are 
members of the Christian Church, and he takes pride in the fact 
that he has always voted the republican ticket in national elections 
and is a stanch upholder of that political faith. During his early youth 
he and his older brother and father would sometimes take a team 
and go across the desert to the foothills for wood, carrying a rifle 
for every axe in the equipment to protect themselves against Indians 
and outlaw Mexicans. It was a three days' journey to purchase and 
bring home supplies from the nearest store at San Bernardino, and 
there was not a house between Rincon and that town. There were 
no railroads, goods being hauled in wagons drawn by mule teams. 
Mr. Pine is hospitable, generous and honest, absolutely fearless, and 
a fine type of pioneer character, and is everywhere known for his 
integrity and personal worth. He was among the first to develop 
a supply of artesian water in his district. 

Walter Shearing knew the country around Redlands before there 
was a Redlands townsite, and in his long experiences here he has 
met and overcome many obstacles to success and has prospered apace 
with the country and has helped in the developments that constitute 
the real history of this county. 

Mr. Shearing is a native of England, and was three years of age 
when his parents moved to Canada. He grew up in Canada, being 
one of a family of four sons and three daughters, and is the only one 
in California. In 1887 he came West, and for the first six years was 
ranch foreman for Doctor Craig at Crofton. 

In 1892 Mr. Shearing married Miss Louise Durston. She was born 
in England June 25, 1861, daughter of Giles and Martha Durston. 
Her father was a miner in England. Mrs. Shearing was the third 
in a family of four sons and two daughters. The family came to 
the United States and located at Boston in 1881, and in 1888 came 
to California and to San Bernardino. Her father was employed as 
a landscape gardener until his death in July, 1892. Mrs. Durston 



1144 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

lived with her daughter, Mrs. Shearing, at Redlands, until her death 
in 1921, at the age of eighty-seven years. 

After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Shearing, leaving Crofton, went 
to Moreno and acquired ten acres of land, which they set out to fruit. 
They remained there eight years, at the end of which time frost, 
drought and grasshoppers had devastated their orchard. Coming to 
Redlands and subsequently selling their Moreno property, Mr. 
Shearing engaged in ranching, and fourteen years ago bought a ten 
acre grove of Washington navel oranges on West Colton Avenue. 
He still owns this, and it is a splendidly productive property. In 
May, 1919, he bought his modern home at the corner of East Colton 
Avenue and Sixth Street. 

Mr. Shearing knew this country when the nearest railway was 
at Colton and the only irrigation system was the old Zanja, built in 
Indian times. There were no oil roads, and the highways were dust 
and dirt thoroughfares filled with chuck holes and bumps. Mr. 
and Mrs. Shearing accepted their lot in that period with contentment, 
and enjoy their present prosperity all the more for the hardships 
they passed through. Mr. Shearing secured his naturalization papers 
as soon as possible, and has always acted and worked as an American 
citizen. He is a stalwart republican, is affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows at Redlands and attends the Christian Science 
Church, while Mrs. Shearing is a Baptist. Mr. Shearing left Canada 
and came to California to benefit his health, and for many years has 
enjoyed robust, good health. Mr. and Mrs. Shearing have two 
children: Milton L., born March 15, 1898, was educated at Redlands 
and is in the employ of the Pacific Electric Company. He married 
Miss Inez Ramsey, of Colton. The daughter, Martha A. Shearing, 
born November 9, 1896, attended the Redlands High School and in 
June, 1919, was married to Lawrence E. Williams, an orange grower 
in the Redlands district. 

Ernest Omeria Ames. — There are very few persons who are not 
interested in the public schools, for the majority of them have 
acquired a part if not all of their educational training from them ; 
many have children who are pupils, or prospective ones, and those 
who have no direct connection with the system are beneficiaries from 
these schools because in them are, and have been, educated the 
people with whom they are associated. Without the training of the 
public schools present-day civilization would not be possible. It was 
not until the public school system was properly inaugurated that the 
people began to emerge from the dusk of ignorance into the bright 
light of knowledge. There are many ramifications and details with 
reference to the conduct of a number of schools in any of the cities 
of the country. Not only is it necessary to provide excellent 
instructors and courses of study, but even more important than these 
are the buildings in which the children are housed for so many hours. 
If they are not kept in the best of repair and provided with adequate 
equipment the health, and many times the lives, of the children suffer, 
and, therefore, those in authority are exceedingly careful with refer- 
ence to the kind of man they place in a position of importance to see 
that the proper means are taken to insure the welfare of the pupils. 
Since 1903 this very responsible position with reference to the public 
schools of San Bernardino has been filled by Ernest Omeria Ames, 
the efficient and experienced city supervisor of public school buildings. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1145 

Ernest Omeria Ames was born in San Bernardino, February 2, 
1860, and there he acquired his education as a pupil in the public 
schools of his native city. Going into the contracting business, he 
carried it on very successfully until 1903, when he was induced to 
assume the responsibilities of his present position, and he now has 
the following schools under supervision : The four buildings, attended 
by from 700 to 800 pupils, comprising the San Bernardino High 
School, the F Street Grammar and Technical, the Base Line Grammar, 
the Fourth Street Grammar, the Highland Avenue, the I Street, the 
Meadowbrook, the Metcalf, the Mount Vernon, the Ramona, the 
Terrace and the Urbita. Mr. Ames has grown up with his work, 
and it would not be easy to replace him. He has the responsibility 
of seeing that all of the city school buildings are kept in proper 
repair, necessitating a regular inspection of all of the buildings so as 
to insure a proper and prompt attention to all details. 

Dr. Frank M. Gardner, health officer of the City of San Bernardino, 
is one of its native sons who had devoted himself entirely to the practice 
of medicine since his graduation until accepting his present position, and 
"now has a good and growing practice in addition to his official duties. 

While he is a loyal native son of California in all that the name 
usually implies, he had the misfortune of having to pass a number of 
years in the frozen East. He could not successfully object to this, as 
he was only one year old when taken back there, was educated there and 
afterward formed attachments and business association which held him 
there for some time. But he returned just as soon as he could, and he 
is one of San Bernardino's most ardent boosters, ready and eager at all 
times to do all he can for the advancement of the city of his birth. 

Dr. Gardner was born in San Bernardino May 29, 1878, and his par- 
ents removed with their family to New York in the following year. In 
1886 he returned to San Bernardino, where he attended grammar school 
until 1887, and then returned to New York. In that city Dr. Gardner 
attended school, and after graduating from high school at once entered 
the New York Homeopathic Hospital as a student. He was graduated 
with the class of 1904, and then spent two years in the famous Hahne- 
mann Hospital, after which he branched out into a practice of his own. 
He located in Bay Shore, Long Island, and while he remained there 
enjoyed a rapidly growing practice, but soon decided to return to his real 
home, which he did. 

In 1915 Dr. Gardner was appointed health officer, which position he 
is now ably filling. He is also building up a lucrative and growing prac- 
tice and is well known as a most competent physician. 

He is the son of George J. and Anna (Yount) Gardner. George 
J. Gardner who was a nephew of Jonas Osborn, was a native of New 
York and came out to San Bernardino in 1870, lured hither by the 
golden stories of the great successes in the mining fields. He located 
in the Tecopa mining district, where he made quite a success in mining 
and in addition conducted a general merchandise store in Tecopa, the 
mining ventures being backed by the large capital of Jonas Osborn. He 
remained in that place for nine vears, at the end of that time return- 
ing to New York. In that state he was a farmer, and he followed that 
occupation until his death in 1885. Dr. Gardner's mother, a native of 
Nebraska, was a daughter of Joseph Yount. one of the early pioneers 
of California, who came to the state in 1876. 

Joseph Yount served as a soldier in the Mexican war and made the 
trip to San Francisco before the gold discoveries, returning home via 



1146 SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Cape Horn. He joined the rush during the gold excitement of 1849 and 
again came to California, where he remained two years, being fortunate 
in his gold mining and acquiring a respectable stake. During his first 
visit to San Francisco after the Mexican war he suffered many priva- 
tionSj even wrapping his bare feet with gunny sacks to protect them 
from the cobble stones with which the streets were paved. 

In 1862 he brought his family across the plains, being a unit of a 
thirty wagon train of which he was elected captain. He went to Eastern 
Oregon, near LeGrande. and was among the first settlers of the Grande 
Ronde Valley. They remained there for thirteen years and in 1876 
started a drove of cattle to Arizona. Miss Yount driving a team all the 
way. As they learned that it was a year of drought in Arizona, Mr. 
Yount bought a five thousand acre ranch in the Pahrump Valley in 
Lincoln County. Nevada, which was given the name of the Manse and 
became a famous freighting station between California and Nevada. 
He put the five thousand acres all under cultivation. The land is now 
owned by the Mormon Church. 

Miss Yount married George J. Gardner August 27. 1877. and pio- 
neered once again in the Tecopa Mining District. Mrs. Gardner is still 
living and is in San Bernardino with her son. She is the third of ten 
children, in their order being: Laura. Maud, Joanna. William. Thomas. 
Samuel. LeRoy. Fannie. John and Nellie. 

Dr. Gardner has one brother living. Carl Leroy Gardner, a farmer 
in the State of New York, and one brother deceased. Joseph Adolphus 
Gardner. 

On August 12. 1915. Dr. Gardner was united in marriage with Miss 
Ernestine Herbert, a daughter of Dr. G. H. Herbert, of Salt Lake City. 
Mrs. Gardner comes from pioneer Utah stock, her people crossing the 
plains to the Mormon stronghold in 1857. Her grandfather was Joseph 
Prothers. a civil engineer of distinction who was chief engineer for the 
Union Pacific during its construction across the country. He was the 
engineer who built the road from Omaha to Salt Lake, including the 
famous Echo Canyon Grade. Dr. and Mrs. Gardner have three children : 
Marv Anna and Nellie Barbara, students, and Frank Herbert. Mrs. 
Herbert spends the winters in San Bernardino with her daughter. 

Dr. Gardner is a member of the San Bernardino Countv Medical 
Society. He is a member of San Bernardino Lodge. Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks: of San Bernardino Parlor 110. Native Sons 
of the Golden West, and of the San Bernardino Castle No. 27, Knights 
of Pythias. He is a republican in politics. 

Norman Douglas Allen came to San Bernardino County thirty-four 
years ago. He was then a young man of twenty-six. was married. 
and brought his wife and several children to the West. Mr. Allen 
as a youth had learned to cope with circumstances that combined 
poverty and privation. He has always been a worker, dependent upon 
his industry and self reliance, and that industry he has effectively 
used in some of the real substantial development of the country 
around Ontario and Upland. 

Mr. Allen was born in Parma, Jackson County. Michigan, August 
4, 1861, son of Norman and Ellen (Thompson) Allen. His father was 
a native of Massachusetts and his mother of Michigan. When he 
was six years old his mother died, and six years later he was left 
an orphan by the death of his father. His father had been married 
three times, and Norman was one of the three sons of the last mar- 
riage. When Norman Allen was a small child his father moved out 



SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 147 

to Kansas and homesteaded. He was an educated man, taught school 
on the prairies of Kansas, and had studied law. though he never prac- 
ticed that profession. For two years he was justice of the peace and 
supervisor. He died in Kansas. 

Norman Douglas Allen after the death of his father lived with his 
uncle, Almon Allen, and had limited educational advantages, and 
when he married, at the age of twenty-two. provided for his family 
and home by farming and farm work. After he had been married 
some four years he came to California, reaching Ontario the last day 
of December, 1887. This country had made little progress in develop- 
ment up to that time. Mr. Allen engaged in such work as a new 
country provides, and he leveled and planted many acres of orchard, 
cared for orchards for other owners, and also helped construct some 
of the country's highways. For a time he had charge of the city's 
rock crusher. Twenty-four years ago he bought the land where he 
now lives, and on which he erected a cheap house. This was replaced 
eleven years ago with a modern and artistic home. Mr. Alien in his 
career has been energetic, honest and a thoroughly reliable type of the 
pioneer. He has reared a family of children that is a credit to him 
and the community. He has never aspired to public office, and his 
greatest enthusiasm is for the wild life of the mountains. When 
duties permit he has sought sport and recreation in the hunting of 
deer, and is familiar with all their haunts. 

On August 4, 1883. Mr. Allen married Lena Scheurer, a native 
of Illinois. Ten children have been born to their union: Walter C. 
born in Kansas September 4, 1884. is a successful business man at 
Upland, owning a transfer and trading outfit. He is married and has 
four living children. George L., born September 11, 1885. also in 
Kansas, is manager of the Los Angeles Linen Supply Company. He 
is married and has four sons and one daughter. Herman, born in 
Kansas November 8. 1887, died at Upland July 28, 1908. Ella, born 
November 15. 1889, in California, is the wife of Hugh McLean, a 
prosperous show merchant at Upland, and they have three children. 
Fred M„ born June 25, 1891. is a box maker at Ontario. He is 
married and has two children. Mrs. Eva M. Sachs, born October 8. 
1895, is the wife of a carpenter and contractor, and they have one 
son. Norman M.. born May 15, 1897, was trained at Camp Kearney. 
San Diego, with Company A of the 16th Ammunition Train, but did 
not get overseas. He is married and has a daughter and lives at 
Ontario. Howard C. born August 12, 1899, was in the selective 
service and had orders to proceed to Texas the day the armistice 
was signed. He is married. The two younger children are Christina, 
born April 23. 1902. now attending the Chaffey High School, and 
Edna May. born August 20. 1904. also in high school. 

Thomas Jefferson Cromer has been one of the real builders in San 
Bernardino County. His home has been in the Upland district for about 
thirty years. His work at the beginning was for others, since he lost his 
first investment, and he planted, tended and capably managed what for 
many years has been recognized as one of the very fine groves and orchards 
around Upland. This was his material contribution to the developing 
community, and at the same time he has been progressive and public 
spirited wherever the larger needs of the community enlisted his support. 

Mr. Cromer was born in Madison County, Indiana, April 29. 1853. 
son of Frederick and Martha ( Xoggle) Cromer. His father was a car- 
penter by trade, but the greater part of his active life was devoted tc 



1148 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

farming. In the fall of 1856 the family migrated to Iowa, then a new 
state. They made this move in a prairie schooner drawn by a four horse 
team, crossing the Mississippi River on a ferry boat. They moved into 
a frontier and sparsely settled district, having a. small house for the 
shelter of the family, while the horses had to remain outdoors the first 
winter. Frederick Cromer secured 500 acres of the new land in that 
section, and in subsequent years his earnest labors brought him a com- 
petence. He was both a farmer and stock raiser. In 1874, after the death 
of his wife, he returned with his family to Indiana, but in 1879 came 
back to Iowa and settled at Colfax, six miles from his old home. In 
1883 Frederick Cromer left his Iowa home and came to Pomona, Cali- 
fornia, where he purchased land and became a horticulturist. He con- 
tinued to live at Pomona, a highly respected citizen, until his death. He 
was buried on his eighty-ninth birthday. The mother of Thomas Jefferson 
Cromer died at the age of thirty-eight in Iowa, leaving a family of ten 
children, Thomas J. being next to the oldest. 

Mr. Cromer has his first recollections of the frontier conditions of the 
old homestead in Iowa. He appreciated the difficult task his father and 
mother had set themselves in building a home there. One of his early 
memory pictures is of a lighted candle in the window of the rude Iowa 
home, his mother mending clothes by the light inside, while the projecting 
rays through the window enabled his father to chop wood for fuel. It 
was his father's habit to utilize all the daylight and part of the night 
hours in winter to get out wood and do other work that would permit him 
to work full time during the busy summer seasons. Thomas Jefferson 
Cromer took a share in these activities as soon as his strength permitted, 
and he was plowing in the fields or working in the harvest all the summer 
seasons and in the timber during the winters. He had little opportunity 
for schooling, though private study and reading have given him a fair 
equipment. As a youth in the winter he would get into his frozen boots, 
wearing no socks, and go into the timber, work all day, frequently when 
the thermometer stood 30° below zero, and, as he recalls that strenuous 
life, he feels that it had its pleasant side, since he had the constitution to 
adapt himself to the environment and enjoyed the vigor and stimulus of 
sustained labor. From the time Mr. Cromer was eighteen years of age he 
spent one year in Maryland, near Hagerstown, with his grandfather and 
grandmother Cromer. He then went to Delaware County, Indiana, with 
an uncle, working on farms, spent one year in Marion County, Indiana, 
near Indianapolis, on a farm, in the spring of 1874 returned to the old 
home in Iowa, but went back to Indiana with his father and worked the 
farm for several years. In the spring of 1880 he returned to Colfax, 
Iowa. 

On March 30, 1882, Mr. Cromer married Miss Jennie Kelsey, daughter 
of William Kelsey, a native of Indiana, whose parents were born in 
Belfast, Ireland. Her mother, Jane (Thompson) Kelsey, was born in 
Illinois. Jennie Kelsey was born in Lisbon, Iowa, August 18, 1863. 

After his marriage Mr. Cromer bought 160 acre farm ten miles from 
Newton, Jasper County, Iowa, and developed and operated that Iowa 
farm five years. He then sold out and in December, 1887, arrived in 
California, spending the first seven years at Pomona. He invested the 
proceeds of his Iowa property, but when the boom of the eighties col- 
lapsed he lost his invested funds completely and then did ranch work as a 
means of support. In May, 1894, Mr. Cromer moved to North Ontario, 
now Upland, and contracted to buy ten acres on Eleventh Street in the 
Mountain View tract. He had no money to pay down, but had the energy 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1149 

and courage that supplied part of the indispensable capital. The land 
had been leveled, and he at once dug the holes and set out the orange trees. 
While tending and watching his grove develop he worked for others, doing 
orchard work, and finally he was able to build a home on his tract. Then, 
in 1919, after having taken approximately as much money from the suc- 
cessive sales of fruit, he sold his ten acre orchard and home for $30,000. 
After this sale he bought his present home, a modern and attractive resi- 
dence at the corner of Laurel and Tenth streets in Upland, commanding a 
beautiful view of the mountains. About the same time he bought twenty 
acres on Sixteenth Street, just west of Mountain Avenue. This tract 
contained seven and a half acres of Washington navel oranges and the 
remainder in lemon trees eight years old. This is a handsome grove and 
he still owns it. Mr. Cromer is one of the popular old timers of Upland, 
and his honesty, industry, and friendliness have earned him the esteem 
he enjoys. 

Mr. Cromer is justly proud of the attainments and character of his 
only son, Ray Frederick Cromer, who was born at Pomona December 29, 
1891. He showed studious inclinations during his youth and made good 
use of the opportunities his father could give him. He went through the 
grammar school, graduated from the Chafrey Union High School, received 
his B. A. degree at Pomona Collge in 1917, and during the following year 
remained out of school trying and hoping to get into the active army 
service. He was twice rejected, being greatly under weight, When the 
draft came he passed the inspection and was put on the reserve list in the 
chemical warfare division, but was never called out, to his lasting disap- 
pointment. After the war he resumed his studies in the University of 
California at Berkeley, where he majored in chemistry. For two years he 
was head of the Science Department and teacher of chemistry at Brawley 
in the Imperial Valley, and then became instructor in chemistry and physics 
in the Fremont High School of Oakland. While there he was selected as 
head of the Radio Club, an organization doing work after school hours for 
advancement and study of the radio. He began these duties August 21, 
1921. At Upland Ray F. Cromer married, on June 16, 1918, Miss Marie 
Cooley, a native of South Dakota, but reared in Upland, and is a graduate 
of the Chafrey Union High School. She was employed as stenographer 
and teller in the First National Bank of Upland prior to her marriage. 
They now reside at Oakland. 

A. J. Williams has been one of the most industrious citizens of the 
Ontario community for over twenty years. His industry has brought him 
the comfort and prosperity which he and his family now enjoy on their 
little ranch home at 517 Vesta Street. 

Mr. Williams was born in Nemaha County, Kansas, December 17, 
1880, a son of James Ezra and Marietta (Shiffer) Williams. His parents 
were both born in Pennsylvania and in the same year, 1845. His father 
was born the 10th of May, and died at Ontario, California, September 28, 
1914. They were married in 1868. James Ezra Williams at the age of 
fifteen became a locomotive fireman, and was soon promoted to engine- 
man, and had a run on the Lehigh Valley Railroad until he entered the 
Union Army during the Civil war. He enlisted in the Ninth Pennsylvania 
Cavalry, but when it was discovered that he was a locomotive engineer 
he was assigned special duty with the military railroad service and con- 
tinued until the end of the war. In March, 1868, soon after his marriage, 
he removed to Missouri, where he farmed three years, and then went to 
Northeastern Kansas and bought a large farm in Nemaha County, where 
for thirty-five years he remained actively engaged in farming and as a 



1150 SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

dealer and shipper of livestock. He was a man of great energy, reliable, 
an expert judge of values, and for many years was one of the leading 
shippers out of that section to eastern markets. In 1905 he left Kansas 
and came to Ontario, California, where he bought an orange grove and was 
also a stockholder and director in the First National Bank of Ontario. 
He was the father of five children : Harrv ; Mrs. Gertrude E. S. Randel ; 
Kate, Mrs. J. H. Mills ; A. J. Williams, and Miss Lida Williams. 

A. J. Williams was reared and educated in Nemeha County, Kansas, 
attended public schools there, and finished in the Kansas State Agricultural 
College at Manhattan. He then returned to his father's stock farm, and 
did all the work of general farming and stock raising. 

November 21, 1900, he married Miss Kittie Mabel de Jeaan, who 
was born in Iowa April 20, 1884, daughter of Bird and Addie (Hotch- 
kiss) de Jeaan, the former a native of Madison, Wisconsin, and the latter 
of Fayette County, Iowa. Bird de Jeaan was a Baptist minister. Mrs. 
Williams' grandfather, Martin T. de Jeaan, was an early settler of Ontario, 
coming here in 1892, when the district was practically undeveloped, and 
bought land and set out a deciduous orchard. Later he removed some of 
the early plantings and set to oranges. This orange grove is now the 
home of A. J. Williams. Martin de Jeaan is still living, but his wife 
died in Ontario in 1905. Martin de Jeaan was carrier for the first United 
States mail from Ontario to North Ontario, and continued in that service 
for a number of years. 

After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Williams removed to Ontario and, 
being without capital, he sought employment at any honorable occupation 
that would furnish his family with a living. He picked and did other work 
in the fruit orchards, worked at dry ranching, with fumigating crews, was 
employed in the Chino sugar refinery, but eventually engaged in the retail 
meat business and has been in the service of several firms at Ontario, being 
now connected with the San Antonio Meat Company. He is also a director 
in the Security State Bank of Ontario. He owns his modern home and the 
orange grove which he bought from his wife's grandfather. He and his 
family are members of the Nazarene Church. 

Mr. and Mrs. Williams have six children : Grace, born April 10, 
1902, now a senior in the Chaffey Junior College; Maye, born October 27, 
1905, also in high school; Hazel, born October 31, 1907, a high school 
girl; James A., born October 13, 1912; Jean, born April 7, 1915, and 
Lawrence Andrew, born January 14, 1918, known in the family circle 
as Bobby Williams. These children were all born at Ontario. 

Gus Knight — The career of Gus Knight, one of the best-known men 
of San Bernardino County, reads like a romance, and yet in this case, 
as in so many others, "truth is stranger than fiction." Coming into 
this region when it was a desert wilderness, Mr. Knight not only has 
passed through all of the stages of its development, but has brought 
about many of them, and to his courage, energy, foresight and splen- 
did business management is directly due the establishment and expan- 
sion of Knight's Camp in Bear Valley, one of the best and most re- 
nowned American mountain resorts, to which people come from all 
over the civilized world. 

Mr. Knight is a native son of the county, having been born at 
San Bernardino May 4, 1861, the family home being on the present 
site of the Santa Fe depot. He is a son of Augustus (known as Gus) 
Knight, who was born in Maine, in 1831, and Elizabeth Knight, who 
was born in England in 1835, and when she was fourteen years old 
her parents brought her to the United States. In 1860 Augustus 




U^t^C^^^ L^O<--^-^>y/AA^ 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RD7ERSIDE COUNTIES 1151 

Knight ari'l his wife were married at San Bernardino, to which place he 
had journeyed from Maine in an ox cart, encountering Indians by the 
way and passed through a number of exciting incidents. He stopped 
for a time in Humboldt County, California, and was there engaged in 
prospecting, for this was in 1852, when the gold excitement was at its 
height and men came West in search of the precious metal, not then 
realizing that the great state held many other riches aside from that 
lure which was to give it its name of "Golden." From Humboldt 
County he traveled down the coast to the San Bernardino Valley. 
His wife crossed the plains by way of Salt Lake City, Utah, in 1852, 
her parents with their ox team forming part of an immigrant train. 
While he was prospecting he discovered the Temescal tin mine in 
Temescal Canyon, and this has been operated off and on ever since. 
He was also interested in timbering, and conducted this line of busi- 
ness for several years in the Mill Seeley Flats, and built the first 
saw-mill to manufacture shingles at B and Fourth streets, San Ber- 
nardino, operating it in partnership with Doctor Dickey, and they 
floated the shingle logs down to the mill. Another venture of his 
from 1862 to 1864 was the operating of a stage line to Arizona, but he 
then abandoned it, as there was not sufficient patronage to justify 
the expense and risk of attack from the numerous hostile- Indians. 
In 1874 he built a hotel at Gold Mountain, and conducted it for two 
years, and was also engaged in the stock business and desert freight- 
ing, continuing the last two occupations until his death. He and 
his wife had two children, his namesake son and a daughter, Belle, 
who was the younger of the two. She was born July 26, 1863, and is 
now the wife of J. R. Metcalf, an orange grower and business man of 
San Bernardino. 

Educated in the public and private schools of San Bernardino, Gus 
Knight rapidly acquired a working knowledge of the fundamentals, 
and when only thirteen years old began to be self-supporting as an 
associate with his father in the cattle business in Bear Valley, and 
from that early age has been identified with the development of this 
region. In 1888 he and John Metcalf built the first hotel, which be- 
came the widely-famed Pine Knot Hotel, and he soon brought out 
his partner and conducted it alone until 1910, when he sold it to 
Charles Henry. In the meanwhile, through his enterprise and fore- 
sight, he built a splendid and enduring monument to himself and 
his times, a mountain resort of world-rennown. In 1902 he started 
what he named Knight's Camp in Bear Valley, erecting cabins, and 
improving the buildings later on, developing the various features, 
until it attained to remarkable proportions and fame, and this, too, 
he sold, in 1919, retaining only some selected lots and his mountain 
home. Air. Knight made other investments, in 1897 purchasing fifteen 
acres on Base Line, and this he set to orange trees, and in 1920 
he built his beautiful modern home overlooking the Line Valley, with 
the San Bernardino Mountains at his very door. This is one of the 
most beautiful spots in the entire country, and Mr. Knight takes great 
pleasure in the wonderful landscape spread out before him. 

Mr. Knight has been married twice, his first wife having been 
Miss Nancy C. Henry. By this marriage he has two children, 
namely: James H. Knight, who is a resident of Los Angeles, Cali- 
fornia, is married and has one son, Freemont ; and Charles H., who is 
a resident of Big Bear, where he owns and operates a garage and auto- 
mobile business. He also is married, and has two children, Thomas 
and Charlotte. In 1913 Mr. Knight married Mary C. Workman, a 



1152 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

daughter of Joseph Workman, a pioneer of Los Angeles. Mrs. 
Knight's grandfather, William Workman, founded the first bank of 
Los Angeles, known as the Workman & Temple Bank. It was located 
in the Temple Block, Los Angeles. 

Out of Mr. Knight's development of his hotel and camp grew 
another industry that he carried on for years, and that was road 
building, and his efforts in this line have made it possible for 
thousands of people to view in comfort the grandeurs of this wonder- 
ful mountain country, and brought to it many of tourists who other- 
wise would have been deterred on account of the hardships. While 
he has reaped a fortune from his various projects, he has earned 
all he has and deserves more than most men his prosperity and the 
plaudits of his fellow citizens, for he has bestowed upon others 
through his developments and through his public spirit much more 
than he has secured for himself. 

Dr. Hollis J. Foster was one of the brilliant, interesting and vigorous 
personalities in the early history of the Cucamonga community of San 
Bernardino County. On account of his health he practiced medicine very 
little after coming to California, but he used his capital and business judg- 
ment in a way to advance the best interests of this section, and developed 
some of the land that is now contained in one of the greatest fruit growing 
districts in Southern California. 

He was born at Norwich, Vermont, July 3, 1843, and had many of the 
fine characteristics of the old New England stock. He acquired his early 
education in Vermont and later graduated from the Eclectic Medical Insti- 
tute at Cincinnati, Ohio. For several years he enjoyed an extensive 
professional practice in several Middle West communities, but when his 
health failed he came to California and first settled on a ranch near Santa 
Ana, but six years later sold that and moved to Cucamonga. Here he 
bought forty acres on the old San Bernardino Road, including a portion 
of the old Orchard ranch. While developing this property he also owned 
and operated a drug store in Cucamonga, and was owner of that business 
when he died March 23, 1906. 

On November 12, 1872, in Iowa, Doctor Foster married Miss Isabel 
Lanning, who was born in Clinton, Iowa, April 30, 1852, daughter of 
Samuel and Sarah (Welch) Lanning, the former a native of Newark, 
New Jersey, and the latter of West Virginia. Mrs. Foster was educated 
in the public schools of Clinton, Iowa. Dr. and Mrs. Foster had three 
children. The oldest, M. H. Foster, who was born at Piano, Illinois, 
October 10, 1874, acquired his education in the Chaffey College, Ontario, 
California, and now has active charge of the home ranch of forty acres. 
He is a young business man noted for thoroughness in everything he 
undertakes, and has made the home ranch one of the notable properties 
in this vicinity. On May 8, 1901, he married Miss Susie Austin, a native 
of Kansas, and they are the proud parents of a son. Burton Foster, who 
was born at Cucamonga February 2, 1921. This heir of the Foster family 
is a particular idol of his grandmother, Mrs. Foster. 

The second of the children is Nell Foster, who was born in Near 
Clinton, Iowa, March 17, 1878, also finished her education in the old 
Chaffey College at Ontario, and on February 21, 1905, at Los Angeles, 
was married to Stanley M. Frew, an accountant who now lives in Los 
Angeles. The third child, Ethel, born in Melbourne, Iowa, March 29, 
1885, was educated at Chaffey College, and on April 7, 1906, was married 
to F. C. Hillyard, who is in the Government service at San Francisco. 
They have one daughter, Beth Loraine, born April 12, 1918. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1153 

About six years after Doctor Foster's death, Mrs. Foster bought her 
present home on West Ninth Street in Upland, where she is living retired, 
her son operating the home ranch. Doctor Foster was a member of the 
Masonic Fraternity. 

M. H. Bordwell has had an interested and helpful part in practically 
the entire history of the thriving little City of Upland, going there when 
the scattered settlements were still known as North Ontario. Throughout 
this period he has been identified with the commercial side of the fruit 
industry. 

Mr. Bordwell was born in Calhoun County, Michigan, October 6, 1849, 
son of David B. and Martha B. Bordwell, who were natives of New York 
State. Of their three sons II. W. and L. C. are now deceased. M. H. Bord- 
well grew up on his father's farm, and secured a common school educa- 
tion. In the intervals of his schooling he worked in the fields and about 
the home, and that made up the routine of his life until he was twenty-one. 
After about a year he was employed in an agricultural implement business 
at Marshall, Michigan. In 1880 he moved west to Madison County, 
Nebraska. In Nebraska Mr. Bordwell had some more extensive relations 
with business affairs, buying and shipping livestock and at times was a 
participant in several mercantile ventures. He lived in that state ten 
years, and early in 1890 came to California. For a time he and his family 
resided at Riverside, but soon joined the colony at Upland. 

Mr. Bordwell and Mr. Fawsett formed a partnership to buy and dry 
green fruit, and developed an extensive business as dealers and shippers 
of dried fruit out of this district. Eventually their business was sold 
to a newly organized corporation, the Ontario Packing Company, of which 
Mr. Bordwell was one of the founders and in which he has been a 
director from the beginning. He is still buyer for his district. This 
company has branches throughout Southern California, with main offices 
in Los Angeles. Mr. Bordwell was also one of the early members of 
the Magnolia Mutual Building & Loan Association at Upland, was a 
director, and the nineteenth annual report names him as secretary and 
treasurer, the position he has filled for a number of years. He is a 
director in the Citizens Savings Bank, a life-long republican and a member 
of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Bordwell is a plain, unpretentious busi- 
ness man, and yet his associates recognize him as one of the colony's 
steadily helpful and loyal members, always ready to do his part in advanc- 
ing the best interests of the community. 

On November 29, 1876, he married Miss Judith J. Aldrich, also a 
native of Calhoun County. Michigan. Their only son is Reid B. Bord- 
well, who was born June 29, 1882, at Madison, Nebraska. He received 
most of his education in Upland, where he attended the high school, also 
took a business course in the Chaffey College at Ontario, and is an 
accountant by profession. Though not subject to the draft at the time 
and with a wife and child he volunteered July 1, 1918, at Los Angeles, 
and was assigned to Battery A, Fourth Regiment, Field Artillery. He 
received his honorable discharge December 20, 1918. In 1907 he married 
Beatrice Cerry, a native of London, Canada. They have one daughter 
Judith Louise' Bordwell born June 11, 1908. 

Minnie Denison Goodrich. — The family names of Denison and 
Goodrich have been identified with development work and the good 
citizenship of the Upland section of San Bernardino County for 
thirty-five years. Lands have been leveled, cleared and planted, 
orange groves developed, homes established through the instru- 



1154 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

mentality of these families. Mrs. Minnie Goodrich is the widow of 
ihe late John B. Goodrich, a hard working and thrifty citizen whose 
name is held in the highest respect in this community. 

Mrs. Goodrich was born near Oil City, Pennsylvania, March 27, 
1873, daughter of B. S. and Florence Denison. In 1874, the year 
following her birth, her parents moved to Newport, Kentucky, where 
her father was a merchant until 1886. For some time he had suffered 
ill health, and his physicians advised him that the only possible means 
of restoring his strength was to seek the milder climate of Southern 
California. Accordingly in 1886 he traded his Newport property for 
a tract of ten acres in what was then known as North Ontario, now 
Upland. This land was on Twenty-first Street, near Euclid Avenue. 
The Santa Fe Railroad had not yet built to Upland, and the nearest 
railroad station was at Ontario. The Denisons were pioneers in fact, 
since most of the land was wild, covered with sage brush, and the 
plantings had been chiefly in deciduous fruit and grapes. The land 
acquired by Mr. Denison had been set to deciduous fruits, but he 
later developed it as an orange grove. Some years later he and his 
three older children left California and went to Honolulu. Mr. 
Denison is now eighty-three years of age and is still active, with his 
two sons, in the railroad and transportation business in the Hawaiian 
Islands. 

Miss Minnie Denison was thirteen years of age when she came to 
California, and she finished her education in a one room school 
building on Eighteenth Street, being one of the three girls and seven 
boys who made up the scholarship enrollment of the colony at that 
time. Later she attended the Normal School at Los Angeles. 

On September 28, 1889, Miss Denison was married to John B. 
Goodrich. The late Mr. Goodrich was a native of Beaver Dam, 
Wisconsin. His father was a hard working farmer in that state, and, 
needing the assistance of his children, he took his son out of school 
at the age of thirteen and put him to work on the farm. John B. 
Goodrich after leaving home managed to get an academic education 
and also studied privately, and in that way procured a substantial 
equipment for life's work. On coming to California he bought ten 
acres on West Sixteenth Street at Upland, and cleared, leveled and 
set this to citrus fruits. He also erected a substantial home, in which 
he and Mrs. Goodrich lived until it was destroyed by fire September 
15, 1917. He then replaced it with the modern home where Mrs. 
Goodrich resides. From this house is obtained an unrivalled view 
of the valley below. Mr. Goodrich, who died October 15, 1920, had 
the quality of industry, was a good manager, and thoroughly inter- 
ested in the welfare of others outside his immediate family. While 
improving his own holdings he acted as caretaker for the groves of 
other owners, and for seven years served as horticultural inspector for 
the district. He was a member of the Masonic order. 

Since his death Mrs. Goodrich has taken over the business manage- 
ment of the property and has kept her younger children in school. 
Mrs. Goodrich was the fourth in a family of seven children, named 
George, Bertha, Harry, Minnie, Julia, Lee and Mary. The four oldest 
children are still living. Mrs. Goodrich has four children: Helen, 
born January 1, 1904, now in the senior year in the Chaff ey High 
School at Ontario ; Bertha, born at Upland April 8, 1906, in the sopho- 
more year of high school; Harland, born September 3, 1908; and 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1155 

Landon, born September 13, 1911. Mrs. Goodrich is a member of 
the Presbyterian Church. 

Datus E. Myers was born at Harrison, Ohio, March 15, 1842, and 
died in Riverside, California. May 30, 1919. He was the son of 
Henry and Martha Myers, who were both natives of Pennsylvania. 

Those were pioneer days in Ohio, when the waterways were the 
only highroads and most of the early settlers came to this rich and 
virgin wilderness by way of the Ohio River, with their few worldly 
goods on a raft. In such manner the parents of Mr. Myers arrived 
and cast in their lot with the early settlers of Cincinnati, where in 
a nearby village Mr. Myers was born. He was the youngest of twelve 
children, and his early life was full of the constructive influences of 
those pioneer days. No person can successfully form a character 
without overcoming obstacles, especially one of Mr. Myers' virile 
and keen mind. Through the loss of inherited property this large 
family of children were forced to face the world and battle with it. 
Datus Myers, being the youngest and last at home, had to not only 
carve his own way but help to take care of his old parents. Boy 
that he was. he assumed the task with a dauntless courage, and 
although he had to give up hope of further schooling, yet he never 
for one moment permitted that to interfere with his education. An 
omniverous reader and with a perfect memory, he proceeded to use 
every spare moment in the company of the best and most profound 
books, to such good purpose that in the evening of his life, after he 
had retired from business, he spent his time in study and writing — 
his mind growing more wonderful and brilliant with each succeeding 
year. 

He made a very exhaustive study of the history of the North 
American Indian and the book which he wrote on the subject was 
accepted by one of the leading publishing houses, but on account of 
war conditions it was not published. His last book was a discussion 
of practical civics, but the same conditions obtained and the book 
was never printed. 

As a young man and growing with his years the quality of 
patriotism was developed to its highest point. At the outbreak of the 
Civil war he promptly enlisted on the side of the Union and fought 
with the Eighty-third Ohio Volunteer Infantry for three years. 
During one of the hardest engagements he carried not only his own 
colors but those of the Twenty-third Wisconsin, whose color bearers 
had been shot down again and again. Catching up the flag as it was going 
down, he rallied the men of the Wisconsin Regiment to a final charge. 
For this act of bravery he was given a furlough to carry the Wisconsin 
colors back to the organization that presented them, and they are now 
at the State House in Madison. 

After his return from the war he went up the Mississippi River by 
steamboat to claim his bride, Ida Louise Watkins. They were 
married on September 6, 1865. Four daughters were born to them, 
two of whom, Mrs. H. A. Atwood and Miss Julia Myers, together with 
Mrs. Myers, survive him. 

Mr. Myers was a man who thought big thoughts and engaged in 
big things. His career in the real estate business was marked by big 
ventures, which finally won him a competence. As superintendent of 
a men's reformatory in St. Cloud, Minnesota, he worked out policies 
that put him in the first rank with penologists : as a politician he 
cared nothing for place but loved to play the game ; as a citizen he 



1156 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

stood for the highest and best. He loved California and Riverside, 
and many years ago made the decision that this was to be the home 
in his declining years and his final resting place. 

The most striking characteristic of Mr. Myers was his dauntless 
courage— the courage of the losing fight, and to the end he faced life 
and all its exigencies with an unconquered spirit. 

Rev. T. J. Fitzgerald — One of the best loved men in Redlands is 
Father Fitzgerald, who for nearly thirty years has been the spiritual 
head of the Catholic parish here, and is esteemed almost equally 
by Protestants as well as among his own church people. It is per- 
mitted to set down some of his impressions gained from his long 
experience here. 

"San Bernardino County pioneers compare favorably with up- 
builders in any part of the state. It has been the good fortune of 
some of us to hear from their own lips the accounts of hardships en- 
dured and dangers encountered that success might come to their 
labors. The hardy pioneers were brave workers. They had a pur- 
pose in life, and they put all their energies, mental and physical, to the 
attainment of that purpose. 

"Redlands is, I am sure, the pride of San Bernardino County. 
Few places in the whole world have such natural attractions as Red- 
lands. A friend of mine once met a world renowned traveler on the 
top of Mount Riga. This friend questioned the traveler as to the 
most beautiful place he had seen. After thinking a little while he 
said 'the most beautiful spot I have ever seen is a little place called 
Redlands in San Bernardino County, California, America.' This 
friend communicated this information to me, and my response was 'I 
have always thought so.' 

"I came to Redlands twenty-seven years ago last June, and from 
that day to this it has always been 'young and fair to me.' In a 
humble, small, obscure way nothing has been left undone by me, 
on my part, to aid in upbuilding the town. In that time our lot and 
labors have been cast chiefly among the poorer element of the town. 
The Catholic priest, like the church to which he belongs, takes an in- 
terest in everything that tends to the upbuilding of mankind, he ex- 
cludes no one from his ministrations. His own, of course, are his 
direct and immediate care ; and in caring for his own his attention is 
constantly and chiefly directed to things moral and things associated 
with morality. The Trinity of the world's progress is the home, the 
school and the church. These are placed in the order of their im- 
portance, though they affect each other as part of one great whole, 
and they act and reach out one to the other. The Catholic Church be- 
lieves in the absolute necessity of religious training for children, so 
side by side with the church goes the school. The school is set up to 
add religion to the daily training of the child. Redlands has many 
fine schools, and very efficient teachers, and the schools have grown 
in every way in the past twenty years. Catholics are proud to take 
their place as educators. 

"Beginning with a mere handful— exactly one dozen — our school 
kept growing, so that today we have two schools, with an attendance 
of two hundred and fifty children. The Catholic Church in Red- 
lands has been enlarged three times since it was first built. It has 
a membership of twelve hundred." 

The pastor may be set down as one of the pioneers of the county. 
He was born in Kerry, Ireland, October 25, 1857. He received his 





Spc^,^/^ 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1157 

primary education in the local schools and a private school conducted 
by the Fathers of St. Dominic. At St. Brendan's Seminary, Killarney, 
he received his preparatory training for four years, and from there 
entered the great university of Maynooth. After seven years he 
completed a post-graduate course and was ordained to the priesthood 
in 1883. His first missionary labors were in Scotland. 

In 1887 he was called home to his native parish, but after a year 
of labor his health failed and he set out for Colorado. The climate 
was very beneficial for his lung trouble, but the altitude soon pro- 
duced hemorrhages, and in 1893 he left Colorado and came to Cali- 
fornia, settling first at Beaumont and then in San Bernardino County. 
The following year, at the request of Father Stockman, a venerable 
pioneer, he took charge at Redlands. This was then a small place, 
and there were few Catholics. However, Father Fitzgerald accepted 
it and has stayed with it since then. Considerable success has at- 
tended his work, and it has attracted the appreciation of his ecclesi- 
astical superiors. Other and larger charges were offered, but he refused 
them, determined to keep the little place where he began. 

In 1920 Pope Benedict raised him to the dignity of a Domestic Prel- 
ate and this was followed by making him a Prothonotary Apostolic, 
the highest dignity in the power of the Pontiff to bestow. All the same, 
the old Father remains unchanged. He is still preaching, teaching, and 
waiting cheerfully on the sick and suffering. 

Rev. John B. Toomay, pastor of Bethel Congregational Church at 
Ontario, has rounded out a career of a quarter of a century of faithful 
work in the ministry, and is known as one of the able thinkers and 
public leaders of San Bernardino County. 

Rev. Mr. Toomay was born in Ray County, Missouri, in 1868, 
son of Edward and Martha Toomay. His father was a native of 
Cork, Ireland, came to America in early life and served as a soldier 
in the Civil war. The mother belonged to a family of Missouri 
pioneers who went to that state from Tennessee. 

Rev. John B. Toomay was an A. B. graduate from Otterbein 
University in Ohio, and subsequently received his Bachelor of 
Divinity degree from Yale College. Of the twenty-five years he has 
spent in the ministry fifteen were years of labor in church building and 
preaching in Missouri, while for ten years his duties have lain in 
California. He has been pastor of the Congregational Church at 
Ontario for the past four years. Two years ago he built an attractive 
home in Ontario, and his parents, now over eighty years of age, 
live with him. 

Mr. Toomay was camp pastor at Camp Kearney for a short time 
during the late war, and was prominent in all war activities during the 
term of the war. Among other duties he is probation officer for 
the west end of San Bernardino County. He is a member of the 
El Camino Real Club, made up of local educators and thinkers. He is 
a Mason and a member of the progressive wing of the republican 
party. Rev. Mr. Toomay is widely traveled, and a number of years 
ago he. went abroad for an extensive tour of the Mediterranean coun- 
tries, in the course of which he visited the cities of Rome and Athens 
and also Constantinople, Egypt, and the Holy Land. 

At Westerville, Ohio, in 1891, he married Miss Minnie O. Bender, 
daughter of Daniel Bender, of Ohio. Mrs. Toomay died at Ontario 
in 1919. She is survived by a daughter, Helen Toomay, now a student 
in Pomona College. Recently Rev. Mr. Toomay married Inez Craw- 



115S SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

ford, a returned missionary from Japan. She is a daughter of John 
Crawford, a well known pioneer of Southern California. Mrs. Toomay 
has lived at Ontario since she was two years of age except for the 
its she spent in her missionary labors in Japan. 

William B. Cclross. — While almost every branch of industrial and 
commercial activity is well represented in San Bernardino County, 
it must be admitted that those connected with the production and 
marketing of fruits are of paramount importance, as this is especially 
a fruit-growing section of the country. Much stress has been laid 
upon the energy, foresight and aggressiveness of the men who are 
devoting themselves to the deciduous industry, and the half has not 
been told, but the same is equally true of those who afford a market 
for the products of the orchards and bring the producer into contact 
with the marts of trade. One of the men whose entire life has been 
spent in this line of work is William B. Culross. of Colton. who is 
now manager of the Colton plant of the Golden State Canneries, a 
man known all over this part of the state as an exponent of effective- 
ness and sound business methods. 

William B. Culross was born at Rochester. New York. August 27. 
1882. and comes of Colonial stock on his mother's side, and of Scotch 
descent on his father's side. He is a son of careful parents who sent 
him to school at Rochester for a couple of years, but in 1890 the 
family came to California and settled at San Bernardino, where they 
spent a year, the lad attending the San Bernardino schools. In 1893 
a return was made to Rochester, but in 1894 the family once more 
came to California, and took up permanent residence at Rialto. 
William B. Culross had two more years in the San Bernardino schools 
and a year in the Riverside Business College, and then was ready for 
his contact with the actualities of life. He became associated with 
A. Gregory, an orange grower and shipper at Redlands. as stenog- 
rapher, and in this connection learned one end of the business, so 
that when he came to Colton it was as secretary of the Gregory Fruit 
Company, and he held that position until the concern was absorbed 
by the Golden State Canneries, at which time he was made manager 
of the Colton plant, and still holds this responsible position. While 
- the republican ticket, he has never concerned himself greatly 
about politics, but when elected to the Colton City Council rendered 
such efficient service to his ward and city- that he has been re-elected 
several times and is now serving his ninth consecutive year in that 
body, the last seven years being the presiding officer. He is a Mason. 

In 1906 Mr. Culross married at Colton Miss Effie Gilbert, the 
ceremony being celebrated on the day of the San Francisco earth- 
quake. Mrs. Culross is a native of Iowa and a daughter of Mr. and 
Mrs. Elmer E. Gilbert, of Colton. Mr. and Mrs. Culross have two 
daughters. Ada and Bertha. The leading characteristic displayed by 
Mr. Culross is dependability. With it he possesses ability, persistency 
and sincerity, and never goes into anything unless he heartily believes 
in it and is certain that its successful termination will be of lasting 
good to the majority. He is deservedly popular, and stands very 
high in public confidence. 

Feed W. Frexch. — After a broad and general successful business 
experience in the East Fred W. French came to California with his 
familv in 1911. and after a few vears entered the real estate business. 



SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1159 

He is now senior member of French-Spangler Realty Company at 
San Bernardino. 

Mr. French was born at Paulding, Ohio, November 20. 1867 
of Andrew Y. and Lottie B. French. His father had to his credit a 
record of four and a half years' service as a Union soldier in the 
Civil war. He first enlisted when about fifteen years of age. F 
rrer. :r. i'rt "' s.: :v:'.f.-i- iri '. i"- :r ~ ' i"" -' " - ' 

1882. and took a commercial course in the Valparais 
of Indiana. For ten years he had the ex: - xjkkeeper and 

stenographer in Chicago. Returning to Paulding in 1893, he was 
in the newspaper business there three years, and for seven year- 
conducted a mercantile establishment. In 1904 Mr. French removed 
to Defiance, Ohio, where he was again in the general merchandise 
business. 

V.'r.er. he :a.rr. e '. "_V.:: ~~. -. :r '.'.'.'. he '. v : r. -.- ~r.e ~ - 
at Rialto. but in 1914 moved to San Bernardino and became associated 
with C. M. Dalldorf in the real estate business. Their partnership 
was dissolved in Tune, 1916. and since then Mr. French has been 
associated with Preston A. Spangler in the firm of French-Spangler 
Realty Company, real estate, loans and insurance. It is one of the 
'.ti.'..- z --rr.- : -'.- t '-: - I ir. ; i~ i e: - '.- r. I:ur.r 

Mr. French for many years has been a Knight Templar Mason 
-~~ '-.'.'.■: '--.'. :- = ' r '-'-'■ --'- :'-'.~.t i r -L.tr : -.he I : ".'•:- He \ e:£.~ e i~ . -.:-. - 
with the Presbyterian Church in Ohio, but after coming to California 
■-\~ - : .:---\ r.:= rr.tr- '■•;--'■- : :r.t _ r.rreei:: r.a.1 ir.:'.. --. ?.: = '.: 
and later to the Congregational Church at San Bernardino. 
Mr. French resides at 332 Magnolia Street, with his two children. 
Cecil S. and Kathleen French Chapin, both of whom are employed 
:r. \r.t ' :.-r.t-- life i S=.r. \--- \- '..- . 

Cecil S. French, born in 1890. at Paulding, Ohio, has lived in 
California since 1911. and for the last four years has been in the 
employ of the Santa Fe Railway Company. Kathleen French Chapin 
was born in 1895 at Paulding, graduated from the Defiance, Ohio. 
High School in 1911. and in the same year came to California. She 
: ~;".e:e : a : rr.rr.er: =.! : ^r;e :r. a. urta : '.tzt .-. - .' i 
has since been connected with the Farmers Exchange National Bank 
of San Bernardino. 

Pbestox A. Spaxgles was born in Delaware County. Ohio, August 17, 
: fin ot John L. and Mary L. Spangler. He received only a 
district school education, and engaged as clerk in a dry goods business 
---. :'. t i_-e i rf:eer ~~t : '.'. 'e; :r.e -ir. t ::::;;: - _-:.'. : \ re 
of health, and came to California with his widowed mother and wife 
in October. 1901. Engaging at that time in the life insurance business 
in Los Angeles, he followed the same fine until May. 1916. when he 
became associated with F. W. French in the real estate business in 
y-.r. i fr.-.- ::- i V. i ::■; 

Chailes H. DrxHAM was born at Fort Wayne, Indiana. November 
30. 1883. a son of Frank W. and Jennie M. Dunham. He moved to 
Paulding County. Ohio, with parents in 1891, and attended public 
school and the Ohio Northern University, at Ada. Ohio. Mr. Dunham 
was deputy treasurer of Paulding County. Ohio, from 1901 to 1905. 
and was then engaged in the wholesale and retail tobacco business 
until July. 1919. He moved to San Bernardino, California, in October 



1160 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

1919, and became associated in business with the French Spangler 
Realty Company. 

Abram Stoner Fox — The pioneer orange shipper of Colton, send- 
ing out the first car of the golden fruit from that city, and also the 
packer of the first car of oranges ever shipped from Rialto and Bloom- 
ington, Abram Stoner Fox is well known to every citrus grower, packer 
and shipper as an authority on citrus fruits and horticulture generally. 

He did not have an easy time of it, for he had to see the Southern 
Pacific have first choice of the precious water he needed for his groves, 
and only too often not a drop flowed down to his ranch in the hot weather. 
He and his wife packed his first shipment in 1881, and the work was 
done in their kitchen and they were very proud of their infant industry. 
In after years, when he was a grower and shipper of prominence and 
success, it must have been a rare pleasure to recall those early days. 

Mr. Fox can be placed in the ranks of the pioneers, for he came to 
California in 1876 and located in Colton when there were only three 
houses in the place. He is prominently identified with that district, not 
only in his horticultural work but in the civic life of Colton, which city 
he served faithfully and most successfully, and much of the important 
improvement and advancement of Colton was accomplished while he 
was in office there. In fraternal and social circles he was an important 
factor, and when he removed to Redlands some ten years ago he left 
a void in the life of Colton which it has been impossible to fill. In Red- 
lands he has become just as prominent as in Colton, and is growing 
oranges in the same successful manner he did in his first California home. 

Mr. Fox was born in New Castle, Pennsylvania, on July 4, 1855, 
of Scotch and Irish descent. He is the son of Andrew and Catherine 
(Pence) Fox, both of whom were natives of the same state as the son. 
The elder Fox was a miller by occupation. Mr. and Mrs. Fox were the 
parents of eleven children, five boys and six girls, of whom Abram 
Stoner Fox was the tenth child. 

He was educated in the schools of Pennsylvania, and as he had a 
brother in Colton, California, he decided to come out to the coast. He 
arrived in Colton September 26, 1876, at the time the Trans-Continental 
Railroad was being completed. There were three houses in Colton at 
that time, but the depot was being constructed. 

Mr. Fox was about twenty years old when he arrived in Colton, with 
no thought of becoming one of the foremost citrus growers, packers and 
shippers. Instead he intended to study medicine under the brother resi- 
dent in Colton, Dr. William Fox, who came to California in 1874, one 
of the first physicians in Colton. Dr. Fox was the first settler on Col- 
ton Terrace Tract, and he set out an orange grove of seedlings and also 
a grove of limes in 1875. so he also was a pioneer grower. 

Instead of commencing the study of medicine Mr. Fox commenced 
the study of horticulture by undertaking the care of his brother's grove. 
In this manner he was employed for eighteen years. In the meantime 
he had been accumulating land and had twenty-eight acres set out in 
oranges, which made it necessary at that time to sever connections with 
his brother and commence looking after his own interests, which were 
becoming important. Later on he added to his holdings, so that on 
leaving Colton he had fifty acres in oranges. It was in 1881 that he 
shipped and he and Mrs. Fox packed his first shipment in the kitchen 
of their home. 

As noted above, he had to obtain water under difficulties, for it came 
from Raner Ranch (originally Merks Ranch) and the Southern Pacific 




A-J^<^ 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1161 

having call on the first ten inches of water, which was brought down in 
an open ditch. Very often in warm weather it dwindled away, although 
there might be one hundred inches at the head, and Mr. Fox would not 
get a drop of it. 

When Mr. Fox shipped the first carload of oranges from Colton the 
packing was done in a shed on Dr. Fox's ranch and it was shipped in an 
ordinary box car, refrigerated cars being unknown then. Later the 
depot was used for this purpose. Mr. Fox, having shipped the first 
car of fruit out of Colton, did the same thing at Rialto and Blooming- 
ton, and then formed an Exchange, including Colton, Redlands Junction, 
Bloomington and Rialto. The Pavilion, which was a part of the Fair 
grounds was purchased and converted into a packing house — the first 
in San Bernardino County. 

Mr. Fox continued packing, and followed that industry in addition 
to growing until 1910, when he decided to give up that branch of the 
citrus industry. He moved over to Redlands and henceforward gave 
his time and attention to the growing of oranges. As one of the earliest 
orange growers of the county he is always interested in its growth and 
development. 

When Mr. Fox was twenty-one he joined San Bernardino Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the first lodge in the county. He is 
a past grand of the Colton lodge and is today the only living charter 
member. Its most influential members were Hebrews, and in Mr. Fox^ 
opinion they were among his best advisers on matters of both morals and 
citizenship. He also joined the Masonic Order and at the present time 
is a member of Redlands Lodge No. 300, F. and A. M. He is also a 
member of the Foresters, Woodmen and the Fraternal Brotherhood 
He was a charter member of the Colton Band, organized in 1880. Of 
the band Scipio Craig was leader, and this was San Bernardino County's 
first brass band. He was city trustee of Colton when the Municipal 
Water Company was organized and the plant was installed, and he was 
active in the organization and installation, as in all other enterprises 
which would advance the interests of Colton. 

On October 26, 1877, Mr. Fox wedded Miss Anna Amanda Hager, 
who was born at Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, March 20, 1857. They 
are the parents of seven children : Lettie Charlotte, born in August, 
1880, is married to Ralph Sweney. She lives in Arizona and has two 
children, Ralph, Jr., and Charlotte Kitty, born in 1881, is now Mrs. 
Arthur Cortner, whose husband is an undertaker in Redlands. Stella, 
born in 1884, was married to Mont P. Chubb, a prosperous druggist of 
Redlands. Ella, born in 1888, is now the wife of W. T. S. Munhall, an 
orange grower of Redlands. Florence, born in 1894, is now Mrs. George 
Simon, of Pasadena, California. She has one child, George Stoner Fox. 
Lydia, born in 1898. is an accomplished musician, employed as an ac- 
countant at Leipsic's store and residing with her parents. Lucille, born 
in 1905, is attending high school and lives with her parents. All the 
children are high school graduates. 

Hiram C. Matteson. — It is not so difficult a matter for a man to 
achieve success when he does not meet with obstacles, but it is to 
his credit when, in spite of adverse circumstances, hampered by the 
ill health of dependents, he manages to build up a large and pros- 
perous business, and this is just what Hiram C. Matteson has done, 
so that his dairy business is one of the largest in San Bernardino, 
and he is accounted as one of the reliable and honorable men of this 
region. 



1162 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Hiram C. Matteson was born near Lake Winnebago in the 
northern part of Wisconsin, January 1, 1863, a son of Dr. Cyrene K. 
Matteson, a veteran of the war between the states. While the several 
wounds he received during his period of service did not result 
seriously, his health was greatly impaired because of an attack of 
smallpox and black erysipelas from which he suffered. On account 
of this ill health he moved to Northwestern Iowa when his son was 
a lad, and there the latter attended the public schools from 1869 to 
1875. Still seeking a more congenial climate, Doctor Matteson came 
to San Bernardino, the date of his arrival being March 30, 1884. He 
had studied medicine in the Cincinnati Medical College, from which 
he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, and he 
oftentimes stated that Doctor Colliver and Mrs. Dohrman of San 
Bernardino were also graduated from the same college. He was 
engaged in an active practice, in Wisconsin, Iowa and Tennessee, 
but not in California. Mr. Colliver's professional act was to vaccinate 
one of Doctor Matteson's grandchildren shortly before his death. 
Doctor Matteson was a man of high standing, both socially and in his 
profession, and in his death San Bernardino lost one of its most repre- 
sentative citizens. 

Hiram Calvin Matteson was engaged in farm work in and about 
San Bernardino for the first few years after his arrival in this section 
of the country. In 1903 he established himself in a dairy business, 
but met with reverses owing to the inability to collect his accounts 
and the expense and anxiety attendant upon the sickness of his wife, 
but he is a man who does not know there is such a word as "quit," 
and, therefore, with characteristic energy he began again, although 
with only $75.00 as his capital. His new business dates back only 
to 1919, but he has now made such progress that he has his retailing 
department well located in commodious quarters at 412 H Street, 
and is handling a trade that averages $3,000 a month. He has accom- 
plished what is a modern miracle, by working practically day and 
night, for his hours run from 5 A. M. to 10 P. M. 

Mr. Matteson married Miss Elizabeth Walton, who was born in 
Northern California, and they have four children, namely : Caroline, 
Francis, Charles Kenneth and John. Caroline was married to 
E. E. Perry, a veteran of the World war. Mr. Perry was wounded 
in the back by a piece of shell while serving in the trenches in France. 
As, a result of this injury he is unable to do anything but light work. 
Owing to his absorption in his business Mr. Matteson has not been 
able to take much part in outside matters, but is interested in the 
progress of the city and is willing to do what lies in his power to 
secure the welfare of his home community. 

Harry C. Hornbeck. — One of the first evidences given by a com- 
munity of its prosperity is the erection of handsome, modern buildings 
for business and residential purposes. As long as the people are 
satisfied with old, unimproved and decaying properties, they cannot 
be said to take much interest in their surroundings, nor are they 
regarded as very progressive by outsiders. When, however, old 
buildings begin to fall, and new ones go up in their place, the proof 
is positive that a new element has been injected, that a fresh start 
has been made, and it is remarkable what a change comes about not 
only in the appearance of the place, but the people themselves. Local 
pride is stimulated, competition is awakened, and outside capital 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1163 

is attracted. Newcomers passing threugh are impressed with the 
advantages of the region, and even if they do not become permanent 
residents, they carry forth the information regarding the locality, 
which is of so favorable a nature that others do come in resolved to 
remain. Connected with such improvements in a close degree, and 
oftentimes bringing them about, are the contractors and builders, 
without whom no real improvements of a lasting nature can be 
affected. One of these representative men of San Bernardino who 
has more than done his part in the improvement of this city is 
Harry C. Hornbeck, one of the most capable and experienced men in 
his line in Southern California. 

Harry C. Hornbeck was born in Hoopeston, near Danville, Illinois, 
July 1, 1881, a son of Newton and Sarah G. (Smith) Hornbeck. 
Newton Hornbeck was born in New York State, and is now a resident 
of Los Angeles, California. He is a veteran of the Union Army, 
having served in Company E, One Hundred and Fourth Illinois Vol- 
unteer Infantry. Although only sixteen years old at the time of his 
enlistment, he finally was accepted, although it was his third time of 
trying. Like so many lads of that period, he was intensely patriotic 
and determined to be a soldier. His parents regarded him as too 
youthful for such service, so he ran away, and when sent back by 
army officials, again ran away, and repeated the action when he was 
again returned to his parents. In spite of his youth he proved a good 
soldier and participated in many important engagements, including 
those of Peach Tree Creek, Lookout Mountain, and those of General 
Sherman's campaign from Atlanta to the sea. He was wounded in 
the leg by a spent ball, but was otherwise uninjured. Becoming a 
contractor and builder, he followed that line of business for many 
years, and for years was a prominent figure in Livingston County, 
Illinois, where he served as sheriff and as a justice of the peace. For 
more than twenty years he served as commander of his post of the 
Grand Army of the Republic at Streator, Illinois. His father, Henry 
Hornbeck, established the family at Streator, coming to Illinois from 
New York State in 1855. The Hornbeck family is an old American 
one of Revolutionary stock. 

Mrs. Sarah G. (Smith) Hornbeck, mother of Harry C. Hornbeck, 
was born in Connecticut, and died in 1919. She, too, came of Revolu- 
tionary stock, and her family is of English descent, her great uncle 
being General Warren of the Colonial Army, and she was also related 
to the same family as General Wooster of Revolutionary fame. In 
addition to Harry C. Hornbeck there are three children of the family 
of Newton Hornbeck and his wife still living, namely : William E., 
who is a contractor of Los Angeles, California, is married and has 
three living children, one of his sons, Earl Hornbeck, having been 
killed in action in the Argonne sector in France September 28, 1917, 
by the side of his lieutenant ; Claude C, who is a motorman of 
Los Angeles, is married and has six children ; and Ida, who is the 
wife of Albert Plummer, an electrician of Los Angeles, and they have 
two children. 

It is interesting to note in connection with the Hornbeck family 
that during the historical debate between Abraham Lincoln and 
Stephen A. Douglas, held at Ottawa, Illinois, there were thirty-six 
states represented by as many young ladies of the city, and nine of 
them were sisters of Mr. and Mrs. Newton Hornbeck. 



1164 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Harry C. Hornbeck attended the public schools of Streator, 
Illinois, and then went into the building and contracting business 
with his father at Streator, where he continued to reside for about 
six years. For the following three years he worked in different 
Illinois cities, and then located at Springfield, Illinois, and continued 
a resident of that city for ten years. While there he was engaged 
for a time in repair work on the old Lincoln home, and for seven years 
did cabinet and case work for the Powers planing mill. Leaving 
Springfield, he came to California and, settling at Long Beach, estab- 
lished himself in business as a manufacturer of furniture, conducting 
his factory for about eighteen months and then selling and locating 
permanently at San Bernardino, where for three years he was in the 
employ of Contractor Myzelle. Mr. Hornbeck then went into the 
contracting and building business for himself, and since then the 
greater part of his work has been in the erecting of dwellings and 
store fronts, and he has proven in it that he thoroughly understands 
every detail of his calling. He has established a reputation for being 
strictly honorable and for living up to the spirit as well as the letter 
of his contracts. 

Mr. Hornbeck has had a full and active life, and while acquiring 
a material prosperity has not neglected what is still more important 
than the amassing of money, the winning and holding of public 
confidence, and his standing is of the highest commercially as well as 
personally. In the course of his work he has met with twenty acci- 
dents, has had twenty-five bones in his body broken, but in spite 
of the serious nature of many of his injuries, has emerged with a 
cheerful spirit and so little evidence of any disastrous results that 
it is difficult to believe he ever met with misfortune of any kind. 
Formerly Mr. Hornbeck belonged to the Odd Fellows and the Modern 
Woodmen of America, but no longer maintains his membership in 
these orders. 

On July 2, 1905, Mr. Hornbeck married at Springfield, Illinois. 
Miss Melissa J. Shutt, a native of Illinois, and a daughter of Jacob 
Shutt. Mrs. Hornbeck belongs to one of the most prominent families 
of Macoupin County, Illinois, her people having been among the 
pioneers of Central Illinois. The Shutt family is one of the old and 
honorable ones of America, having been founded here long prior to 
the Revolution. Air. and Mrs. Hornbeck have three children, namely: 
Luella May, who is a student of the San Bernardino High School, 
class of 1925 ; Lois E., who is a student of the San Bernardino High 
School, class of 1926; and Marian J., who is attending school. 

Cecil N. Funk. — The interests and activities of Cecil N. Funk as an 
orange grower have been a factor in the development of the Riverside 
section of the state for upwards of twenty years. The name Funk 
is one of deserved prominence in this county, due both to the work 
of Cecil Funk and also that of his father. 

Cecil N. Funk was born at Chesterhill, Ohio, August 13, 1879, son 
of Joseph J. and Ruth Ann (Nichols) Funk, the former a native of 
Pennsylvania and the latter of Ohio. A more complete review of 
J. J. Funk appears elsewhere in this publication. 

Cecil Funk had a grammar and high school education, and spent 
most of his youth as well as his mature manhood in Riverside. He 
was a member of the Riverside High School class of 1899. The 
United States entered the War with Spain while he was in high school, 
and he left his studies to enlist in Company M of the Seventh Regi- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1165 

ment, California Volunteers. During the period of the war he was 
stationed at The Presidio in San Francisco. Following his discharge 
he engaged in the orange business, and that has been his chief interest 
ever since. He bought five acres on Sedgwick Street from 
C. F. Marcy, later selling it to D. C. Corlett. He bought two other 
orange properties of ten acres each, one on Center Street at High- 
grove and the other near Colton Avenue on the Merrifield tract. 
The latter he retains and now has about twenty-five acres in oranges 
besides other property interests in and about Riverside. 

In 1915 Mr. Funk removed to Idaho, and for four years was in the 
wholesale fruit and produce business at Idaho Falls. Once a resident 
of Riverside no one is completely satisfied with any other place of 
residence, a"nd Mr. Funk was only too glad to arrange his affairs 
so that he could return in 1919. Since that year in addition to his 
private interests he has been manager of the Riverside Heights 
Orange Growers Association and is one of the directors of the 
association. 

Mr. Funk is a citizen who keeps in touch with everything affecting 
the welfare of Riverside, is willing to work for its improvements and 
progress, though in formal politics he has had no part beyond voting 
the republican ticket. He is a member of the Kiwanis and Present 
Day Clubs, has been affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows for twenty-one years and is a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. He is a member of the United Brethren 
Church. 

He married Harriet Jean Wolf September 9, 1908. Mrs. Funk 
came from Johnstown, Ohio, being a daughter of J. W. Wolf. They 
have two daughters, students in the Riverside schools, Louise 
Josephine and Esther Ruth. 

John Marshall Phy was a pioneer of the Pacific Coast, and after 
nearly half a century of residence in Oregon as a stock rancher found a 
delightful home at Highland, California, where he lived several busy and 
contented years, developing his home and orange groves, until called by 
death in 1914. 

At that time he had reached the age of nearly three quarters of a 
century. He was born in 1840, and at the age of eighteen left Missouri, 
going by way of New Orleans and the Isthmus of Panama to Portland, 
Oregon. He reached Portland with fifty cents in money. After writ- 
ing four letters back home he was penniless. Before coming West he 
had borrowed from a maiden lady eighty-five dollars, and thus his intro- 
duction to the coast country was as a stranger in a strange land and 
eighty-five dollars in debt. For a time he worked for board and clothes, 
also attended school, and for three months labored in a saw mill, doing 
extra time so that he was paid for four months. One summer he raised 
a crop of corn. There was no market for the grain, so he fed it to hogs 
and sold them at a profit. For several years his routine was working in 
stores during the winter months and farming in summer. Gradually he 
laid by some money and then opened a stock of goods to supply miners. 
There was no currency, and he paid the accepted rates by weight with 
gold dust. Still later he bought a stock ranch at The Dalles, Oregon, and 
there he laid a still firmer foundation for his material prosperity. After 
selling out he returned to Union County, Oregon. There he continued 
ranching and looking after his family. After his second marriage, in 
1896, he homesteaded land in Catherine Creek Meadows. It was a rich 
summer pasture, but in winter heavy snows fell and all stock had to be 



1166 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

removed by November, and there was no open range until the following 
April. Mr. Phy was eminently successful as a stockman. In 1905 he 
paid a visit to Southern California, and was so delighted with the coun- 
try that within three weeks he had bought a place at Highland and soon 
afterward left the environment of half a century and moved permanently 
to San Bernardino County. His first purchase was six acres and later 
he added four acres more on Boulder Avenue. Mr. Phy lived here 
nearly ten years. He came to enjoy the utmost respect of the community, 
and took part in social and civic affairs. He was a thirty-second degree 
Mason, an Odd Fellow, a member of the Congregational Church, and 
always a stanch democrat in politics. During the early frontier days he 
served as a deputy sheriff, and showed himself absolutely unafraid in 
the performance of his official duties. 

In 1866 Mr. Phy married Miss Margaret Ann Shoemaker. She died 
in 1891, the mother of seven children. The oldest, J. F. Phy, is a 
successful business man in Union County, Oregon, being the controlling 
factor in the Land and Security Company of that county. He served 
two terms each as deputy sheriff and sheriff and later was county judge. 
The second child, M. H. Phy, is now deceased. The third, Dr. W. T. 
Phy, is reputed to be one, of the most eminent and skillful surgeons in 
the West, and lives at Hot Lake, Oregon. During the World war he 
was on duty at Letterman's Hospital at the Presidio, San Francisco. 
The fourth of the family was J. A. Phy, now deceased. Mary Mar- 
garet is the wife of P. J. Shropshire, a prominent lumber dealer and one 
of the principal owners of the San Bernardino Lumber & Box Company. 
Mr. Shropshire is now deceased and his widow is active manager of his 
former interests. Mrs. Shropshire has three children : Edna Phy, Hes- 
ter D. and P. J- Shropshire, Jr. The sixth of the family, Margaret 
Louisa, is a graduate nurse and is the wife of Dr. Sanders of San Jose, 
California, and has one son, C. E. Sanders, Jr. The seventh and young- 
est is Hester Caroline, wife of O. M. Green, a prominent banker of 
Spokane, Washington. They have a son, John Thomas Green. 

In 1896 the late Mr. Phy married Miss Lydia Tackson. Mrs. Phy 
has had a wide range of experience in the far West. She was born 
at Leadhill, Boone County, Arkansas, daughter of J. D. and Louisa 
fMcNabb) Jackson, the former a native of Arkansas and the latter of 
Tennessee. When she was seven vears of age her parents moved over 
into Indian Territory, where her father located in the Cherokee Strip. 
He soon afterward died, and when Mrs. Phy was nine years of age 
her mother, then an invalid, returned with her four children to Har- 
rison, Arkansas. During this journey Mrs. Phy had her first ride on 
a railroad train. She remained at Harrison until she was fifteen, when 
her mother married and the family then came out to Oregon. There 
she remained until her marriage to Mr. Phy in 1896. Mrs. Phy has one 
son. Conrad Vernon Phy, born January 25, 1898. He was reared and 
educated in California, attending school at Highland, the Harvard 
Military Academy at Los Angeles, and in 1915 enlisted in the navy and 
served out his term of enlistment. When America entered the war 
with Germany, being still under draft age, he voluntered in the army 
in th Motor Transport Division, and served until the signing of the 
armistice, In November, 1920. this son married Miss Christine Bacus, 
of San Bernardino. He is now enlisted as a navy marine engineer, was 
Rationed at San Pedro and later transferred to Honolulu, where he and 
his wife reside. 

Mrs. Phy since the death of her husband has shown a great business 
ability in operating and maintaining the ranch and orange grove at 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 167 

Highland, and is one of that community's most respected citizens. She 
is a member of San Bernardino Chapter of the Eastern Star and was 
a member of the Rebekahs in Oregon. She takes an active interest in 
betterment work of all kinds and is chairman of the Home Department 
of the Farm Bureau of Highland Center, and a member of the Woman's 
Club of Highland. 

Allen Cornelius first knew California in the role of a miner in the 
golden days of the early fifties. Some thirty years later he returned 
to the state, settling in the southern part, and from thereafter until 
his death was one of the useful and honored pioneers and business 
men of Ontario, where Mrs. Cornelius still resides. 

Allen Cornelius was born at Williamsburg, Indiana, September 8, 
1830, son of Allen and Maria (Piatt) Cornelius. His father, a ship 
builder by trade, went to Indiana and took up a homestead. He 
had no knowledge of farming, little inclination for agricultural pur- 
suits, and he continued to do mechanical work and turned over the 
management of the farm to his wife, who was very efficient. 

Allen Cornelius as a youth had limited opportunities to attend 
school. He worked on the home farm until 1850, when he and another 
boy of the same age joined a party of ten with a wagon and three 
horses and started overland for California. They took turns driving, 
one of them always walking to save the team. It was a six months 
trip to California. At Salt Lake they stopped and worked through the 
harvest to get supplies and necessary food. This made them late and 
storms had closed the trail, compelling them to abandon the team 
and, packing all they could carry, they struggled on afoot and were 
almost famished when they arrived on Feather River. At a place now 
known as Feather River Inn, Allen Cornelius rested a couple of days 
and then went to work in the mines, and remained here three years. 
When he returned East it was by the Isthmus of Panama. At that 
time it was customary for the natives to carry passengers over the 
mountain pass, but Mr. Cornelius disgusted the carriers and did his 
own walking. After his return to Indiana the Civil war broke out. 
and he early enlisted in the Seventeenth Illinois Cavalry and served 
all through. 

In 1866 Mr. Cornelius married Miss Sarah M. Bates, who was born 
near Kokomo, Indiana, June 10, 1846, daughter of Isaac and Nancy 
(Noble) Bates. Mrs. Cornelius received a very good education for 
the time and had taught school before her marriage. She was about 
twenty when she married. Mr. and Mrs. Cornelius went to North- 
western Illinois and lived on a farm in Jo Daviess County, where all 
their children were born. In 1880 his health failed and he went to 
Kansas, but without relief, and then started for California, reaching 
this state in the spring of 1886. After several months of search for 
a location he settled in Ontario in August of that year and soon 
opened a hardware and plumbing establishment. Ontario was then 
a new community, with little business, and he had something of a 
struggle to maintain his place. Besides selling goods he did much 
contracting in plumbing and tinsmith work, made the plans and later 
installed the city water mains at Upland and was also contractor for 
the laying of the mains of the Ontario water system. His energy 
and thrift brought him a successful position in business affairs, and 
he enjoyed the activities of business as long as his health was restored. 
Mr. Cornelius died at Ontario July 26, 1913. He was a member of 
the Grand Army Post and a Methodist. 



1168 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

The oldest of the four sons of Mr. and Mrs. Cornelius is Arthur 
Cornelius, who was born in Jo Daviess County, Illinois, October 21, 
1867, and is now postmaster of a sub-station at San Francisco. He 
married Sarah Esdale, and they have a son, Arthur Allen, born 
October 17, 1906. 

Lbuis Noble Cornelius, born July 30, 1869, died at Ontario 
April 17, 1892. 

Charles S. Cornelius, born March 6, 1872, is in the plumbing busi- 
ness at Ontario. He and his brother Arthur enlisted for service in 
the Spanish-American war, going with a California regiment. Charles 
Cornelius married Miss Lena Akey, of Minnesota. They have five 
children : Charles Hazen, born at Los Angeles November 25, 1902, 
is a graduate of the Chaffee Union High School ; Lawrence, born at 
Los Angeles April 17, 1905, attending the Chaffee High School; 
Lewellyn, twin brother of Lawrence, who before he was sixteen years 
of age enlisted as an ordinary seaman in the navy on January 1, 1921, 
was for three years abroad the California and is a student of radio ; 
Oma Marie, born March 26, 1909, in Los Angeles, and died Februarv 
8, 1917; and Ralph Chadley, born at Ontario July 11, 1910. 

Ralph J. Cornelius, fourth and youngest son of the late Allen 
Cornelius, was born December 4, 1876, and is associated with his 
brother in the plumbing business at Ontario. In 1901 he married 
Miss Annie Wier, a native of Canada, and they have three children : 
Marion, born April 27, 1902, a student in Pomona College ; Paul, born 
April 22, 1906, attending the Chaffee Union High School ; and Jean 
Cornelius, born October 12, 1910. 

Mrs. Allen Cornelius occupies one of the comfortable homes of 
Ontario. She is a very active member of the Ontario Pioneer Society, 
a member of the Woman's Relief Corps, and is also active in church. 
From her own experience she has been a witness of all the develop- 
ments in this section of the county for thirty-five years. 

William Plasman has been a resident of Ontario ten years, and in 
that time has gained a secure and enviable place in the business in- 
terests of the city as a real estate and insurance man, with offices 
at 204 South Vine Avenue. 

Mr. Plasman was born at Holland, Michigan, April 14, 1879, son 
of Frederick and Henrietta (Brinkman) Plasman, farming people. 
William was one of eleven children, two of whom died in infancy. 
He grew up on his father's farm in Western Michigan, graduated 
from the Holland High School at the age of fourteen, and from that 
time he was diligently working to aid his parents in maintaining their 
large family. For several seasons he did work caring for the grounds 
of summer homes of Chicago people living around Holland. Even 
after reaching the age of twenty-one Mr. Plasman continued to give 
his parents some of his earnings, and he did this until he married 
and had a family of his own. 

In 1902 he married Miss Margaret Slenk, also a native of Holland. 
Michigan, where her parents were farmers. She was one of a family 
of twelve children. Mr. and Mrs. Plasman have five sons and daugh- 
ters, the first three born in Michigan and two in California. The 
oldest, Miss Hazel, who was born on Halloween in 1903, is a. student 
in the Chaffee Union High School; John W., born July 4, 1907. is in 
the first year of the Chaffee High School, is a real boy and a live 
member of the Boy Scouts ; Floyd Leslie, born January 2, 1909, is 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1169 

also a member of the Boy Scouts and a grammar school student ; 
Gertrude Dorothy, born December 23, 1914, and William, Jr., born 
January 27, 1918. 

It was due to failing health that Mr. Plasman first came to Cali- 
fornia, spending some time in San Francisco, and San Diego, and 
then going to Pasadena, where he remained six months. Being much 
improved physically, he returned to Michigan, but on October 12, 
1911, he and his family left that state and after a month at Pasadena 
established their home in Ontario. Mr. Plasman secured temporary 
employment with the Hot Point Electric Company, until he could 
embrace an opportunity to get into business for himself. While in 
Michigan he had subdivided a 30-acre tract, which was a part of 
his father's farm, and sold several of the lots, and he therefore had 
something more than a general knowledge of the real estate business 
when he came to California. On August 1, 1912, he began doing 
business as a real estate broker in Ontario and also as a representative 
of some standard fire insurance companies. He handles city and 
close in properties, conducts a rental agency, and successive years 
have brought him a very substantial patronage. Mr. Plasman since 
casting his first vote has been a prohibitionist, and has courageously 
fought liquor and its interests. He was registered under the draft 
during the war, but was not called to the colors. Mr. Plasman has 
made his own way in the world. When he left for California he had 
only three hundred dollars, but he has contrived to better himself 
and at the same time has worked steadily for the advancement of 
the community. 

John G. Gaylord came to Ontario a quarter of a century ago, and 
has since acquired and developed some of the most valuable orange 
groves in this section. He is one of the very substantial citizens of 
San Bernardino County. His Americanism is one of practical patriotic 
achievements and of an ancestry that runs back to the early Colonial 
period. Mr. Gaylord is a veteran of the Civil war, and two of his sons 
were in the World war, while one was in the Spanish-American 
conflict. 

John G. Gaylord was born in Litchfield County, Connecticut, July 
28, 1843, son of Lyman and Chloe (Chamberlain) Gaylord, also natives 
of Connecticut and of old New England ancestry. The Chamberlains 
were of English stock. The Gaylord lineage has been traced back into 
the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, when they were residents of 
Normandy, France. They were a family of wealth and noble prestige 
at that time. About 1550 some of the Gaylords left Normandy with 
other refugees and went to England, settling chiefly about Exeter 
and Tiverton. For a number of generations the chief occupation of 
the family was weavers of worsted goods and makers of Kersey cloth. 
One of the Gaylords sought freedom from the political and religious 
restrictions of the England of the early seventeenth century and 
brought his family to America on the ship Mary and John, arriving 
at Nantucket May 30, 1630. The American generations of the name 
have been identified largely with agriculture and horticulture. 

Lyman Gaylord, father of John G., was a blacksmith by trade. He 
and his wife, Chloe, had four daughters and two sons, one of the 
former dying in childhood. In 1855 the family left Connecticut, 
bound for Iowa. They went around the Great Lakes to Kenosha, 
Wisconsin, where the party of colonists to the number of sixteen 
secured three heavy ox teams and slowly and with great difficulty 



1 170 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

made their way through the woods, reaching in December of that 
year their chosen location at Nora Springs, Floyd County, Iowa, 
where Edson Gaylord, a brother of Lyman, had preceded them and 
had constructed a log cabin. In this rough shelter the entire party 
were housed during the winter. While the congestion was great, 
doubtless, like other pioneers of the time, they always made room 
for strangers and guests. It was a severe winter, with deep snow 
and very cold, and the deer would break through the crust and could 
easily be killed, thus affording an abundant supply of venison, while 
there was also prairie chicken to vary the diet. Lyman Gaylord pre- 
empted land at Nora Springs and lived there, a substantial farmer, 
increasing his holdings to a large farm. He was born November 12. 
1815, and died at Nora Springs November 26, 1892. His wife, Chloe, 
was born February 14, 1816, and died at the old homestead in Iowa 
March 12, 1902. 

John G. Gaylord was twelve years of age when the family made 
its migration from New England to Iowa. Practically all his educa- 
tional advantages came to him in Connecticut. He shared in the 
vicissitudes of pioneer existence in Iowa, and became fully disciplined 
in the hard toil required of farmers who were breaking up the 
virgin soil and clearing away the wilderness. When the Civil war 
came on he enlisted on April 12, 1862, in Company A, Twenty-first 
Iowa Infantry. His regiment was in the Western Army, campaigning 
through Missouri and down the Mississippi, was at Pittsburg, at 
Mobile, and in other campaigns in Gulf states. Mr. Gaylord did his 
full duty as a soldier, but escaped wounds, and after being dis- 
charged he returned home to Nora Springs on July 4, 1865. After 
the war he farmed with his father until he married and bought land 
of his own. 

On May 21, 1872, Mr. Gaylord married Miss Alice Jane LaDue, 
who was born December 26, 1845, and died in the same year as her 
marriage. On September 16, 1873, Mr. Gaylord married Miss Sarah 
Ankeney, who was born at Ankeneytown, Knox County, Ohio, March 
3, 1848, and died at Ontario, California, February 5, 1918, nearly 
forty-five years after her marriage. 

Mr. Gaylord was a prosperous Iowa farmer for thirty years before 
coming to California in 1896. He bought ten acres of oranges at 
the northwest corner of Fifth Street and San Antonio Avenue in 
Ontario, and undertook a business entirely new to him, but he made 
a thorough study of orange culture and by experience and practice 
has become an authority in the citrus industry. When he located 
at Ontario much of the surrounding land was wild and unproductive, 
and his individual success has contributed to the general prosperity 
of the community. Mr. Gaylord now owns i2 l / 2 acres of highly 
productive orchards and has other investments. He has bought and 
sold and still owns considerable real estate in Los Angeles, and has 
some profitable oil properties in Southern California. As this record 
reveals, Mr. Gaylord has been a man of action and industry, and his 
prosperity is the result of his individual accumulations. He is a mem- 
ber of Ontario Post of the Grand Army of the Republic, is a prohibi- 
tionist and has been a life-long member of the Christian Church. He 
has done his duty as a citizen and has reared and educated a family 
of sturdy sons and daughters. 

All his seven children were born at Nora Springs, Iowa. Arthur, 
the oldest, born June 18, 1874, died in infancy. Alice, born January 7, 
1875, is Mrs. H. E. Blazer, of Ontario. Miss Flora was born Septem- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1171 

ber 16, 1878. George, born February 2, 1881, a veteran of two wars, 
has a more complete record in the following paragraphs. Sarah, born 
December 9, 1882, is the wife of G. A. Holbrook, of Ontario, and the 
ten children born to their union were Marion, Arthur, Guy (died in 
infancy), Aldura, Horace, Emma, John G., Eleanor, Mona and Guy 
Paul. The sixth child, Chloe, born August 16, 1885, was first married 
to Percy Dewar, who left one son, William Ernest, and she is now 
the wife of Ray R. Delhauer and has a daughter, Mary Alice. The 
seventh and youngest of the family is John G. Gaylord, Jr. 

George Gaylord was only seventeen years of age when the Spanish- 
American war broke out, but he enlisted at the first call, in Company 
D of the Seventh California Volunteers, and was in service until the 
close of the war. Later he removed to the Imperial Valley, and he 
gave up a profitable position there to offer his services to the Govern- 
ment in the World war. He enlisted as a private in June, 1917, in 
Company D of the One Hundred and Forty-Third Field Artillery, was 
in training at Camp Kearney, where he was made a corporal, and in 
July, 1918, left Hoboken for France, landing at Liverpool. Four days 
later he embarked at Southampton and crossed the channel to Le 
Havre, thus going to Southern France, to Camp De Souge, near Bor- 
deaux, not far from the ancestral lands of the original Gaylords. While 
in training camp there he was advanced to sergeant. After the signing 
of the armistice he was put in the military police service, a duty that 
gave him opportunities to visit many interesting points, including St. 
Sulpice, where he guarded a prison camp, also did guard duty in the 
Pyrenees Mountains and passes and was at Chateau-Thierry and 
other points of the battle front. On returning to the United States 
he received honorable discharge at San Francisco July 1, 1919, and 
since resuming civilian life has become an orange grower at Ontario 
and is one of the prominent and influential business men of that city. 

George A. Gaylord married Miss Beatrice Hardey Barhain on 
October 30, 1921. She was born in Akron, Iowa, February 14, 1882, 
daughter of Charles Hardy and Susan (Ross) Hardy. Mrs. Gaylord 
came to Ontario, California, at age of five years with parents and was 
educated in the public and high schools of Ontario. At the time of 
her marriage to Mr. Gaylord she was the widow of Charles Barham, 
and has one son, John, by the former marriage. 

The younger son, John G. Gaylord, Jr., who was born July 21, 
1892, was educated in the Chaffee Union High School and early 
took up the citrus fruit industry. On April 16, 1918, he married 
Miss Lottie Doner, a popular and well educated Ontario girl. They 
have a daughter, Mary Louise, born August 25, 1920. Though mar- 
ried, John G. Gaylord, Jr., put in no claims for exemption in the draft, 
and in August, 1918, joined the colors in the Quartermaster's Depart- 
ment at Camp Lewis, where he was put in a replacement division. 
He received his honorable discharge January 6, 1919, and at once 
returned to Ontario and resumed his business connections. 

John Perry Ensley has done the work of a pioneer in the develop- 
ment of Ontario's horticulture, and first and last has performed a 
great deal of conscientious, hard working service for the community 
from a civic standpoint. 

Mr. Ensley, whose home is at 126 West D Street, has been a resi- 
dent of Ontario for thirty-five years. He was born near Auburn, 
Indiana, October 9, 1853, son of George and Lydia (Noel) Ensley. 
His parents were born in Pennsylvania, and the Ensleys are of 



1172 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

original German stock, though the family has been in America for 
a number of generations. George Ensley was born in 1815 and died 
in California in 1888. The mother died in Indiana in 1884. They 
were the parents of nine children, John Perry being the seventh in 
age. George Ensley moved out to California in the fall of 1886. 
acquiring property in Ontario, where he spent the rest of his life. 
He had been in earlier years a farmer, but had the all around mechani- 
cal genius that enabled him to succeed in almost every occupation. 
At one time he operated a saw mill of his own construction, and after 
coming to California he was an orange grower. 

John Perry Ensley is a thoroughly well educated gentleman. He 
graduated from the Auburn High School in Indiana and attended 
the Indiana State University. He taught eight winter terms of 
school, and refused the office of principal of the Auburn schools. 
While he did well as a teacher, it was not an occupation altogether 
to his liking, and his preference was for the practical side of farming. 

In 1884 he married Miss Clara B. Clark, a native of Indiana, and in 
1886, for the benefit of her health he came to Ontario and bought 
twenty acres of wild land at the northeast corner of Eighteenth Street 
and Euclid Avenue. This he cleared and planted to citrus fruits 
during 1887. His father in the meantime had purchased five acres 
of oranges on West Fourth Street and also ten acres of unimproved 
land on West G Street. After his father's death Mr. Ensley bought 
out the interests of the heirs and developed the unimproved tract to 
citrus fruits. All of this land he actually improved by his own labors 
and efforts, and he now has thirty-five acres of producing groves, 
besides other valuable investments, including his modern residence, 
which was constructed some years ago. His prosperity is the direct 
result of his earnest efforts and hard labors since coming to California. 

By his first marriage Mr. Ensley had two children, one dying in 
infancy. His son, Oliver P. Ensley, born in Indiana May 6, 1886, 
graduated from the Chaffey High School at Ontario, from the Univer- 
sity of Southern California, where he pursued both classical and law 
courses, was admitted to the bar in 1912, and during that year 
pursued a commercial course in the Eastman Business College at 
Poughkeepsie, New York. He is now successfully established as an 
attorney at Hemet, California. He is prominent in the Masonic Order 
and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Oliver Ensley married 
Miss Catherine Todd, of Indiana, in June, 1919, and they have one 
son, Edward Clark Ensley, born March 23, 1921. 

John P. Ensley lost his first wife at Ontario August 1, 1888, 
and his father died on the 26th of the same month. July 25, 1894, 
John Perry Ensley married Elizabeth Borthwick, a native of Liver- 
pool, England. Her father was a native of Scotland and her mother 
of Ireland. Her father was a jeweler, coming to America and being 
an early settler in Ontario, where he was one of the pioneer men of 
his trade. By his second marriage Mr. Ensley had five children, 
three still living; Isabel, born April 2, 1899, is a graduate of the 
Chaffey Union High School and the University of Southern California. 
Gladys Theresa, born December 24, 1901, is a graduate of the Chaffey 
Union High School and the Chaffey, Jr., College. Elizabeth Borth- 
wick, born August 7, 1906, is in her second year at the Chaffey High 
School. These children are all natives of Ontario. 

John P. Ensley is a prominent democrat, and for a number of 
years was a member of the Democratic Central Committee. He is a 
stickler for good, clean government and decent citizenship. He served 



- - : '- : ^0}- &*' , ^ *M0?-ffi>>M 


u % * 




f '' ■"'.' .#■' ':■'•• ] 




u 




mf ' mm 


mw ^ -•' ^ 


^L\\W ' M 



hv^I- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1173 

as trustee of Ontario fifteen years, having been elected a member 
of the first board at the incorporation of Ontario and serving nine 
years. Later he acceded to the insistent demand of his fellow citizens 
and became a candidate for trustee, serving this second time a total 
of six years and was very progressive in building good roads. For 
three years he was a director of the San Antonio Water Company, 
and has always been active in movements to benefit citrus growers 
as well as the general welfare of the community. At present he is 
director of the A. Street Citrus Association. 

Mrs. Ensley, born October 23, 1865, came to the United States with 
her parents, John P. and Margaret (Dunn) Borthwick, in 1869, locat- 
ing in Scranton, Pennsylvania. They came to Ontario, California, in 
April. 1884. The father died April 9, 1908, and the mother died in 
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Ensley was educated in the public 
schools of Pennsylvania. She was the first young lady to live in 
Ontario. 

John M. Horton is one of the substantial citizens of Ontario, one of 
the old timers there, and has contributed to the development of the 
community largely through his individual energies and labors. He 
has assured himself of a competence and is now enjoying a com- 
fortable retirement. 

Mr. Morton was born in Bedford, Indiana, February 10, 1846, son 
of John and Almyra (Finley) Horton. His mother was a native of 
Tennessee, and died when her son John was two years of age, leaving 
three children, George Finley Horton, William Hampton, who died 
at the age of four, and John M. 

George Finley Horton volunteered in the Union Army at the 
time of the Civil war, and was killed in the battle of Corinth October 
6, 1862. John Horton, who was born in Indiana November 6, 1817, 
died in March, 1885. He was four times married. Of his children 
only two are now living, Joseph Oscar and John M. The former 
is a resident of Salem, Nebraska. John Horton was a blacksmith by 
trade, and in 1857 moved with his third wife and family to Marengo, 
Iowa County, Iowa, where he bought land and spent sixteen years, 
and then moved to Van Buren County, Iowa, where he died in 1885. 

John M. Horton was eleven years old when taken to Iowa, and 
he finished his education in a district school in that state. During his 
earlier years he farmed and was in the grocery business one year. 
At Marengo, Iowa, February 4, 1875, he married Miss Kate Morse, 
who was born at Brownhelm, Loraine County, Ohio, daughter of 
C. R. and Harriet A. (Bradford) Morse. Her father was a carpenter 
by trade, and moved to Iowa in 1855, purchasing land and being a 
farmer in that state. There were four children in the Morse family, 
Sarah, Kate, Ella J. and James E. Kate Horton was well educated 
and taught nine terms of school in Iowa. 

On April 7, 1885, Mr. Horton arrived with his family at Ontario, 
California, and bought Lot 5 in Block 43, putting up a small house at 
223 West B Street. This pioneer home he replaced twelve years 
ago with a modern residence, in which he and his family now live. 
Mr. Horton came here without much surplus cash, and had to con- 
trive means of making a living from the first. He engaged in teaming, 
caring for orchards and vineyards, hauled brick from Pomona for the 
old Stamm Block, in which was housed Ontario's first bank, hauled 
material for sidewalks, and for fourteen years his work was largely 
in the care and supervision of vineyards and groves for other owners. 



1174 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

About twenty years ago he found his own orange grove demanding 
most of his time. This program, briefly outlined, indicates that 
Mr. Horton has applied himself to the practical side of the life of this 
community, and has done a great deal of hard physical work as well 
as employed the best resources of his mind. Through such program 
he has been able to accumulate his personal means and educate his 
children. 

Mr. and Mrs. Horton had four children. The oldest, G. Ray 
Horton, who was born at Marengo, Iowa, December 14, 1875, grad- 
uated A. B. from Pomona College in 1898, and for seven or eight 
years was one of the brilliant young newspaper men of Los Angeles. 
He was reporter and member of the editorial staff of the Los Angeles 
Times and the Examiner, and while doing court reporting he became 
interested in the law, and studied in Senator Flint's offices and 
attended law school at night. Senator Flint gave him the manage- 
ment of Bradstreet and Dun's collection department. Thus he paid 
his way until his admission to the bar, and was at once made assistant 
district attorney under Captain John D. Fredericks, of Los Angeles 
County. Later he was assistant prosecutor in Federal Courts, and 
finally became assistant district attorney in the last term of Mr. Fred- 
ericks as county prosecutor. He was one of the staff of attorneys 
actively engaged in the effort to select a jury in the famous trial of 
McNamara brothers. He early entered a partnership with Robert P. 
Jennings, and the law firm of Jennings & Horton took the highest 
rank in the Los Angeles bar. Ray Horton was noted for his ability 
in criminal practice. He was attaining rapidly some of the highest 
honors, and emoluments of the legal profession when he was called 
by death January 4, 1915. In June, 1902, he married Miss Jessie 
Balch, a native of Indiana, and is survived by two children, Helen 
Balch Horton, born January 11, 1904, and Georgie Ray Horton, born 
March 4, 1914. 

The second child of Mr. Horton is Minnie May Horton, who was 
born in Mahaska County, Iowa. March 18, 1877, was educated in 
Pomona College and the State Normal School at Los Angeles, and for 
seven years she and her mother were successfully engaged in the 
millinery business at Ontario. On December 20, 1904. at Ontario, 
California, she was married to Robert G. Shoenberger, and they 
have one daughter, Theresa, born September 10, 1911. The third 
child, Hattie Elmyra Horton, was born June 2, 1879, in Guthrie 
County, Iowa, and died February 18, 1880. The youngest of the 
family, Lena Jane Horton, born in Guthrie County, Iowa, April 12, 
1882, was educated in California and on October 14, 1903, was mar- 
ried to Albert W. Butterfield, who died October 31, 1921. Mrs. Butter- 
field has one child, John W., born at the home of his grandparents in 
Ontario in 1904. A. W. Butterfield was an electrician and had charge 
of the entire electrical system for the Southwest Cotton Company, a 
corporation owning the Goodyear Rubber Company's holdings in 
Arizona. 

John M. Horton has been a life-long republican. From his expe- 
rience he can give a consecutive account of the development of 
Ontario for over thirty-five years. When he first came here there was 
only one ten acre tract solidly set to oranges in the entire colony. He 
has never been a speculator, and economy and industry have enabled 
him to gather together sufficient of this world's goods to insure his 
comfort. He has recently disposed of one of his orange groves. He 
and his family are members of the Congregational Church. He is 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1175 

a member of the Woodmen of the World. Both he and his wife are 
members of The Women of Woodcraft. 

Thomas Monks is an old time resident of the Ontario community, and 
his hightly improved home and estate is located on Turner Avenue, 
half a mile south of Salt Lake Railway. Perhaps no other resident 
of this section has had a richer or more varied experienced of real 
pioneer times than Mr. Monks. He knew this country more than 
fifty years ago, and his personal industry has been a factor in redeem- 
ing the desert and the wilderness. 

He was born at W r illiamsport, Pennsylvania, July 19, 1851, son 
of Thomas and Mary (Fritz) Monks. When he was four years of 
age his mother died, leaving four children, John, George, Thomas and 
Annie. Thomas Monks, Sr., then married a widow with four children, 
and to the second union were born three other children, two sons, 
now deceased, and one daughter, still living. Thomas Monks, Sr., 
in 1861. when his son Thomas was ten years of age, moved out to 
Iowa. He lived there as a farmer three years, and in the spring of 
1864 left for California in a wagon train, his part of the equipment 
being two two-horse teams and wagons. When the family came into 
California four horses were drawing one wagon. They came through 
Austin, Nevada, where three of the children, John, George and Annie, 
remained, and the others came on to Sacramento and a year later 
moved to Sonoma County. In Sonoma County Thomas Monks went 
to work on the dairy ranch of G. A. Collins. He accompanied his 
father's family to Southern California in the fall of 1867, to San 
Bernardino, and Mr. Monks for four or five years was a hand on the 
dairy and stock ranch of Mr. Collins in the neighborhood of San 
Jacinto. From here he went to Ventura, and from his work in that 
section made a good stake. Following that he was at Riverside two 
years, at San Bernardino eight or ten years, and he rented a ranch 
and also worked on the ranch of Dick Stuart. 

On New Year's Day 1885 Mr. Monks married Miss Jessie White, a 
native of Ohio. After his marriage he took charge of Dick Stuart's 
ranch until it was sold, and he then removed to Stuart's ranch at 
Rincon. In 1889 Mr. Monks bought twenty acres of desert land 
on what is now Turner Avenue, and here he erected as his first home 
a little house 16x16 feet. This house occupied about the site on 
which his now modern and complete home stands. The spring after 
purchasing Mr. Monks set this to Muscat grapes, and he tried drying 
the grapes for raisins, but was inexpert in that business and subse- 
quently he sold them green to the Guasti winery, getting six dollars a 
ton one year and later fifteen dollars a ton. This price was paid half 
on delivery and half six months later. In subsequent years Mr. Monks 
made a good compensation out of his wine grapes. To the original 
twenty acres he added until he now has sixty acres highly developed 
to vineyard and deciduous fruits. He bought this as part of the 
Cucamonga desert land. There was no water even for domestic 
purposes, and for several years he hauled drinking water. He was 
impelled to make the purchase of this desert land because it was 
cheap, about twenty-five dollars an acre, and he was not well enough 
off to purchase any of the high priced irrigated lands. He would now- 
refuse five hundred dollars an acre for his tract. It was a difficult 
problem to pay even for his desert land, and the payments he met by 
doing hard work for others, frequently receiving wages of only a 
dollar and a half a day and boarding himself. Through this strenuous 



1176 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

period he met his payments, and also reared and educated his family. 
His has been a life full of work, long hours, privations, and, until com- 
paratively recent years, luxuries were few. Now well along on the 
easy street of life, there are none who could begrudge his well earned 
prosperity. 

Mrs. Monks was born July 1, 1866, and was educated in the public 
schools of West Riverside, California, she having come to Riverside 
at age of ten years with her mother. They have previously lived in 
Owatonna, Steele County, Minnesota. Her mother died when 
Mrs. Monks was fifteen years old, and she then made her home with 
Mr. Ben Abies, of Riverside, and later with Mr. and Mrs. Richard 
Stewart of San Bernardino. 

Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Monks. The oldest, 
Annie, born November 9, 1886. in San Bernardino, was educated in 
the common schools and the Riverside High School and is the wife 
of Walter Joy, a native of Illinois and living at Collins, California. 
The second child, Henry, born July 27, 1889, at Rincon. was educated 
in the public schools, is a graduate of the Pomona Business College 
and for ten years was head bookkeeper for the O K orange fruit 
exchange of Upland and now has charge of his father's ranch. He 
also has forty acres of his own. He is unmarried. Mary Monks, born 
on the homestead December 4, 1891, was educated in Ontario, is a 
graduate of the Pomona Business College, and for two years was 
employed by the Hot Point Electric Plant at Ontario as a stenographer 
and typist. In 1912 she was married to Mr. Logan Nettle, a native of 
Missouri. They have one child, Maxine Nettle, born October 8, 1913. 

James R. Pollock has in a characteristically unassuming way wielded 
large and benignant influence in connection with the social and mate- 
rial progress of Ontario, one of the attractive little cities of San 
Bernardino County, is a lawyer by profession, has served in various 
offices of public trust in this community, and has been identified with 
the upbuilding of a number of institutions of important order in a 
financial way. 

James Rogers Pollock was born in Washington County, Pennsyl- 
vania, July 24, 1865, and is a son of Alexander W. and Mary J. 
(Moore) Pollock, both of remote Scotch ancestry. The public 
schools of the old Keystone State afforded Mr. Pollock his early 
education, which was supplemented by his attending the Pennsyl- 
vania State Normal School and later the historic old Washington and 
Jefferson College, in which excellent Pennsylvania institution he was 
graduated as a member of the class of 1890 and with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. His course in preparation for the legal profession 
was taken in the law department of Buffalo University in the City of 
Buffalo, New York. 

Mr. Pollock has been a resident of San Bernardino County since 
1896, has given more or less of his time and attention to the practice 
of law, served as justice of the peace at Ontario from 1904 to 1919, 
and in the meanwhile served also, from 1904 to 1914, as city recorder. 
For ten years he was president of the San Antonio Hospital Associa- 
tion, at Ontario, this county ; he was for eight years president of the 
Ontario National Bank, of which he is still a stockholder and chairman 
of the board ; and he is at the present time a director of the Pioneer 
Title Insurance Company and also of the Ontario Bond & Mortgage 
Company, to which two important and prosperous institutions he 
gives much of his time and energy. Mr. Pollock has taken deep and 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1177 

loyal interest in everything touching the welfare of his home city of 
Ontario and of San Bernardino County, and his influence and effective 
co-operation have been given in the furtherance of measures and 
enterprises advanced for the general good of the community. He has 
had no ambition for political activity but is a staunch and well 
fortified advocate of the principles of the republican party. Both he 
and his wife are active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
as was also his first wife. 

At Dungannon, County Tyrone, Ireland, was solemnized the mar- 
riage of Mr. Pollock and Miss Kate L. McCormick, and his bride 
accompanied him on his return to the United States. She passed to 
the life eternal in the year 1905, and left one son, Thomas A. Pollock. 
In 1908 Mr. Pollock wedded Miss Annie D. Walls in the City of 
Los Angeles, and she is the popular chatelaine of their attractive home 
at Ontario, besides being prominent in the representative social iife 
of the community. 

Orin Porter was a resident of Redlands more than twenty years. 
While here he showed his substantial faith in the community by invest- 
ing liberally of his means in orchard property, and was deeply interested 
as well in the full rounded development of the community. Mr. Porter 
spent his life largely in the great West, and for years was a noted au- 
thority on mining operations. 

He was a New Englander by birth and ancestry, born at Troy in 
Orleans County, Vermont, in 1838. He grew up in the rugged district 
of New England, and at the age of seventeen went out to the new state 
of Iowa. He lived there four years and then returned East, and again 
spent six years in Vermont. When he finally left the East his journey 
ended in Nevada, and he participated in the great mining excitement at 
White Pine during 1868. There he served his apprenticeship as a 
practical miner and prospector, and his next scene of operations was in 
Idaho. He was interested in both gold and silver mines, and long ex- 
perience made him an expert in every phase of prospecting, developing 
and the production of precious metals. For twenty-five years he gave 
his personal time and supervision to his mining interests, and when he 
retired he located at Redlands and bought two ten-acre orange groves. 
Eventually he became owner of forty acres, and took a very enthusiastic 
interest in every department of the citrus fruit growing and made the 
business a profitable one. 

The death of this honored citizen of Redlands occurred April 19. 
1914. He was a member of the Masonic Order, attended the Con- 
gregational Church and was very active in all lines of betterment work 
around the colony and had the greatest of faith in the future of the en- 
lire Redlands district. 

In 1891 he married Sarah M. G. Rogers, also a native of Vermont. 
She attended public school at Fairfax and was also a student of New 
Hampton Institute, at Fairfax, a Baptist college, which has since been 
renamed and endowed as the Bellows Seminary. Mr. Porter is survived 
by Mrs. Porter and one daughter, Ora, who was born at Redlands Feb- 
ruary 5, 1893. Miss Ora Porter attended Mrs. Winston's private school 
and at the time of her father's death was a student in the University of 
Redlands, taking a musical course. Later she finished her vocal education 
as a private pupil in Los Angeles under the teacher and singer Estelle 
Hartt Drevfus. Miss Ora Porter was married March 25, 1918, to 
Tra Leroy Thomason. Mr. Thomason was born in Nebraska May 23. 
1895. and graduated A. B. from Stanford University in California and 



1178 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

was in the university taking his law course when he entered the army, 
joining the Ordnance Department at Palo Alto, May 10, 1918. He was 
at Camp Hancock. Georgia, later transferred to the infantry and sent 
to. the Officers Training Camp at Camp Gordon, Georgia, and after the 
signing of the armistice received his discharge December 20, 1918. He 
and his family now live at Hollywood, California, where he is head of 
the publicity department of the Hollywood branch of the Security Trust 
and Savings Bank of Los Angeles. Mr. and Mrs. Thomason have one 
daughter, Dorothy Jean, born January 31, 1919, at Redlands. 

Mrs. Porter continues to make her home at Redlands, on Wabash 
Street, and is the efficient manager of the original twenty-acre home- 
stead acquired by Mr. Porter some thirty years ago. 

Joseph D. Meriwether has for a number of years been a successful 
nurseryman in Ontario, and acquired his early training in the world's 
greatest nursery, at Louisiana, Missouri, where he was born August 
30, 1873. 

Mr. Meriwether is a son of Joseph and Laura M. (Turner) Meri- 
wether. The Meriwether family is of noted Virginia ancestry, one 
branch of the family being represented by the Meriwether Lewis, 
who was one of the famous Lewis & Clark expedition to the North- 
west. 

Joseph D. Meriwether received a public school education in Louisi- 
ana, attended McCune College there, and immediately after leaving 
school he entered the service of Stark Brothers at Louisiana, said 
to be the largest nursery in the world. He was with Stark Brothers 
for eighteen years, and then removed to California, and is now with 
the Armstrong Nurseries. He owns and occupies a handsome bun- 
galow at 215 East G Street. 

Mr. Meriwether is strictly a business man, and outside of his 
business he finds his enjoyment in home, much of his leisure being 
taken up with reading, particularly history. He has never aspired 
to hold any public office of any kind, votes as an independent, and 
has held several chairs in the Masonic and Odd Fellows fraternities. 
He is a member of the Presbyterian Church. 

At St. Louis, Missouri, March 14, 1894. he married Miss Laura 
Seamens, daughter of Albert Seamens. They hav<y three sons, 
Albert J., Edward W. and Leslie S. 

John G. Beesley, an honored resident of Ontario, California, is 
retired from business, and is diverting the ample means acquired 
during his active career to the enjoyment of the many comforts 
presented by residence in this favorite section of Southern California. 

Mr. Beesley was born at Bury, St. Edmonds, England, January 6, 
1851, son of Richard and Mary Beesley. His early childhood and 
most of his mature career were spent in Ontario, Canada, where he 
completed his education, and where for several years he was engaged 
in building and contracting. Later he became postmaster of Marl- 
borough, Saskatchewan, Canada, and he had been engaged in farming 
there previously. 

Mr. Beesley as an American citizen has affiliated with the repub- 
lican party. He has held various chairs in the lodges of Masons and 
Odd Fellows and is a Shriner and in church relationship is a 
Methodist. 

At Clinton, Ontario, Canada, he married Elizabeth Crosier, 
daughter of William Crosier. At Riverside, California, June 10, 1921, 




JScLAoIc pk !&u£r 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 179 

he married Aida Bell, daughter of William and Sarah Bell, her father 
an electrician and automobile mechanic. Mr. Beesley's children are : 
Arthur, of Moosejaw, Saskatchewan, Canada; William R., also of 
Moosejaw, Canada; John Wesley, of Tueford. Saskatchewan, Canada; 
Annie Maude, deceased : Bertha, wife of J. R. Sparrow, of Moosejaw, 
Canada; Mabel, wife of Frank Miller, (if Swift Current. Saskatchewan, 
Canada. Mr. and Mrs. Beesley reside at 311 East C Street, in one 
of the many choice homes of the beautiful City of Ontario. Mr. 
Beesley has reached the age of seventy and, while retired from 
business, he has the spirit and vigor of a man many years his junior. 

Otto S. Roen is one of the younger and progressive business element 
of Ontario. He had a technical education and for a number of years 
was connected with public utility management both in the East and 
after coming to Ontario, was then associated with a very prosperous 
wholesale grain and feed business at Ontario, and since January 1, 
1922, has been city service manager of Ontario. 

Mr. Roen was born at Columbus, Nebraska, February 28, 1884, 
son of Ole T. and Marion H. Roen, the former a native of Norway 
and the latter of Massachusetts. Ole S. Roen was the oldest of a 
family of two sons and three daughters. He graduated from the 
Columbus High School and for three years was a student in the 
Armour Institute of Technology at Chicago. 

He left that school in 1903 and in 1907 became manager of the 
Columbus Gas Company in his home town. This position he resigned 
in 1910 and, locating at Ontario, California, became associated with 
the Ontario-Upland Gas Company as secretary and treasurer. In 
April, 1918, this public utility was sold to the Southern Counties Gas 
Company. Mr. Roen then joined forces with W. T. Ross, and they 
bought the Ontario feed and fuel business which had been established 
thirty years ago by Lee and McCarthy. From the restrictions 
imposed by the war period this business leaped forward during the 
past three years, each year representing a big increase over the 
preceding. In 1920 the firm did more than $200,000 worth of business. 
They handled both wholesale and retail grain, feed and fuel. 

In 1918 Mr. Roen married Miss Dorothy J. Harper, of a well 
known Ontario family. She was born in that town and is a graduate 
of the Chaffee Union High School and the State Normal, and for 
four years was a teacher in the grammar school before her marriage. 
They have one son, Charles Roen, born in Ontario in October, 1919. 

Mr. Roen at the time of the World war applied for duty in the 
gas and flame service, was drafted and ordered to the colors in the 
aviation department. He was under orders to entrain for Kelly Field, 
Texas, but the train was late and while waiting he was notified of 
the signing of the armistice. 

Emmett A. Boylan spent his early life in Kansas, chiefly as a teacher, 
but for a number of years has enjoyed some important responsibilities 
at Corona as manager of the Sparr Fruit Company. 

He was born at White Rock, Kansas, January 26, 1884, son of 
John E. and Mary E. (Lock) Boylan. His parents are now living 
in Oregon, his father being a retired farmer. Mr. Boylan is a direct 
descendant of Edward Lock and Stonewall Jackson, and therefore 
of prominent Virginia ancestry. 

Emmett A. Boylan acquired a public school education in Republic 
City and Belleville, Kansas, and was a member of the class of. 1902 



1180 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

in the Kansas Agricultural College at Manhattan. The vocation and 
duties of teaching engaged him for six years. 

Mr. Boylan came to Corona, California, in 1907, and since that time 
has been the managing official of the Sparr Fruit Company. He is a 
republican in politics, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and is affiliated with the Masonic Lodge and the Security Benefit 
Association. 

On October 22, 1907, Air. Boylan married Miss Virginia Roe, a 
daughter of Jasper Newton and Margaret (Shultz) Roe, of Clyde, 
Kansas, where Mrs. Boylan was born November 13, 1879. She was 
educated in the public schools of her native town. Mr. and Mrs. 
Boylan have a daughter, Vera Leona. 

William Reece — On the history of constructive development in the 
Redlands district one of the best authorities from personal observation 
and experience is Air. William Reece of Crafton. 

Mr. Reece was born in England, Alarch 10, 1861. Two years later 
his parents, Ralph and Alary Reece, came to America and settled in 
Connecticut, where he grew up as a boy and acquired his schooling. 
His first regular employment was in a brick yard. The duties of an 
old time brick yard involved perhaps as strenuous labor as any occupa- 
tion known to man. Air. Reece had his full share of this kind of labor, 
and in that and other mechanical trades and industry he put in his years 
until he was about twenty-seven, when he started for California. In 
1888 he left the train at San Bernardino and took the stage to Redlands. 
He camped near the Redlands Reservoir, and at once secured a pick and 
shovel job with the firm of Butler & Brown, then building the reservoir. 
At the end of one week he left the job.and on Sunday walked to East 
Highland, where he began a long period of service with W. H. 
Glass, who was then superintending the construction of North Fork- 
ditch. Air. Reece did the paving work on the bottom of this ditch for 
one week, and then laid up the sides, and continued as a mason work- 
man for a year. He was then made foreman by Mr. Glass, who for 
years was one of the leading contractors in ditch construction in the 
valley. Either as a contractor or as superintendent Mr. Glass con- 
structed the Redlands Reservoir and all the main foothill ditches and 
waterways. Air. Reece was employed as a foreman on construction in 
much of this work. 

In July, 1893, the Bear Valley Company went into bankruptcy, with 
T. P. Morrison as the first receiver, who was succeeded in a short time 
by Grimes & Graves, who succeeded in disposing of enough of the 
property and the company supplies to meet the large arrearages in debt 
to the laborers. At this time Mr. Glass was superintendent for the Bear 
Valley Company. He gave Air. Reece instructions to clean up every- 
thing, take down derricks in the valley, and secure all the powder and 
caps and return them to storage in Redlands, since it was feared that 
some of these explosives would be used to blow up the dam by some 
laborer who had not been paid. Mr. Reece was acquainted with Ames 
and Johnson, respectively paymaster and bookkeeper of the concern, 
whose offices were in the Hubbard Block. Mr. Johnson apprised Mr. 
Reece as to the expected arrival of a consignment of money to pay off 
some of the laborers, and on going down to the office he found a long 
line waiting, and going into the office ahead of them, he was handed 
his own pay by Mr. Tohnson. At that time there was not sufficient 
funds to meet all the labor obligations. 

Prior to this experience Mr. Reece did work for Mr. Glass at Moreno. 
The contract called for the construction of all the pipes and flumes on 




/74^>^i^L^^ C^^c^cj^- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1181 

the seven hundred acres then being developed by Redlands 'people. Fol- 
lowing this he was connected with the Lake View project, which also 
went into bankruptcy, though again he was fortunate in securing his 
own wages. Mr. Reece was then employed in building storm drainage 
ditches for the City of Redlands, following which he worked for J. S. 
Edwards on Plunge Creek in the project for bringing water to the high 
land owned by Mr. Edwards in East Highland. 

During 1893 Mr. Reece spent three months in helping construct the 
water ditch for the Crafton Water Company from Mill Creek Zarija to 
Crafton Reservoir. He built the Redlands Reservoir and the Crafton 
ditch from Santa Ana River to the reservoir", rocking it up both bottom 
and sides. 

Mr. Reece in the spring of 1895 was appointed and began his service 
at Zanjero for the Crafton Water Company. He has been in that posi- 
tion continuously for twenty-seven years without missing a single day 
on account of illness or any cause, and it is a record of service of which 
he may be justly proud. 

Mr. Reece enlisted during the Spanish-American war in Company G 
of the Seventh California Volunteers, and after four months in training 
was discharged at the Presidio at San Francisco. 

He married Miss Sophia Casteel, a native daughter of California, who 
was born in San Bernardino .County in 1874. Her mother came to 
California with an ox train at the time the Van Leuven families moved 
from Salt Lake to old San Bernardino. Mr. and Mrs. Reece are the 
parents of four children. Ethel, born in 1892, is the wife of Chauncey 
McKee and the mother of two children. May, born in 1893, was mar- 
ried to Winfield Richter and has one child. The two youngest children 
are John, born in 1906, and Helen, born in 1908. In' 1911 Mr. Reece 
bought ten acres on Crafton Avenue, where he has his present home. 
This is adjoining Redlands at Mentone. Seven acres of the tract had 
been set to Navel oranges. Three acres were still covered with rocks, 
which he had removed and the land improved, and it is now a grove of 
Valencias. Here Mr. Reece built his new and modern home. His 
first place of residence was in Redlands. At that time his duties fre- 
quently called him to the mountains, and on one occasion he took his 
family with him. As a precaution against fire he removed two five 
gallon cans, one of kerosene and one of gasoline, to a shed in the rear 
of his home. Redlands City had recently installed a fire alarm system, 
and there was a standing reward of five dollars offered to the first per- 
son who should turn in an alarm for a real fire. Some boys coveting 
this reward made a real fire bv securinsr the cans from the shed and 
pouring the contents about the house of Mr. Reece and then setting fire 
to the premises. The house was a total loss. The boys were convicted 
and sentenced to the Whittier Reform School. 

Samuel B. Hampton became a prominent and influential fieure in 
connection with the citrus fruit industry in Southern California, and 
the splendid achievement that most significantly indicated his 
initiative and executive abilitv was the organizing of the Corona 
Foothill Lemon Company, which has added materially to the indus- 
trial prestige and advancement of Riverside County. Of this company 
Mr. Hampton was president from the time of its incorporation until 
his death, and his splendid energies were enlisted also in the 
developing of other important business enterprises. 

Samuel B. Hampton was born in Linn County, Iowa, on February 
26, 1870, a son of Isaac S. and Helen (Hazelrigg) Hampton, natives 



1182 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

respectively "of Ohio and Iowa. Mr. Hampton was four years of 
age at the time of the family removal to Osage Count}'. Kansas, 
where lie attended the public schools until he was sixteen years of 
age. He then, in 1886, accompanied his parents to California, and 
the family home was established at Elsinore, Riverside County, where 
for a year he was variously employed. He then became a packer in 
the fruit packing establishment of Griffin & Skelly at Riverside, three 
years later became foreman for the Riverside Fruit Company, and 
later he held a similar position with F. B. Devine & Company, fruit 
packers. In 1900 he removed to Hollywood and became house man- 
ager of the Cahuenga Valley Lemon Exchange. In 1901 he removed 
to Whittier and organized the Whittier Citrus Association, of which 
he served as manager until October, 1904. He then became manager 
of the Corona Lemon Company at Corona, Riverside County, which 
position he held until his death. 

The foresight and business acumen of Mr. Hampton were specially 
effective when he brought about the organization of the Corona Foot- 
hill Lemon Company, which acquired 900 acres of land on the mesa 
south of Corona — a tract specially adapted to lemon culture by reason 
of its being far above the frost line. Under the vigorous management 
of Mr. Hampton 600 acres were planted to lemons and 100 acres 
to oranges. An abundant supply of water has been developed from 
wells, and in commission is a pumping plant of 600 horsepower, in 
connection with which has been installed three miles of pipe line, with 
a capacity of 250 miners' inches. The Corona Foothill Lemon Com- 
pany was incorporated in 1911, with a capital stock of $300,000, 
which was later increased to $500,000, and with official corps as fol- 
lows : Samuel B. Hampton, president; W. A. Mcintosh, vice presi- 
dent;^. R. Case, secretary; and the First National Bank of Corona, 
treasurer. After the death of Mr. Hampton in 1918 W. A. Mcintosh 
became president of the company, and in the position of vice president 
was succeeded by David Blanckenhorn. The officers remain as 
above noted, Robert L. Hampton having become general manager in 
1918, shortly after the death of his father, which occurred on October 
16th of that year. 

Aside from his connection with the Corona Foothill Lemon Com- 
pany Mr. Hampton was president of the Temescal Water Company, 
president of the Exchange By-Products Company, manager of the 
Corona Lemon Company and a member of the Queen Colony Fruit 
Exchange, besides being the Corona representative at the California 
Fruit Growers' Exchange at Los Angeles. It was mainly through 
the efforts of Mr. Hampton that the Exchange By-Products Company 
was established at Corona, he having been president of this company 
from the time of its organization until his death. 

Mr. Hampton was a stalwart advocate of the principles of the 
republican party, was a progressive and public-spirited citizen, and as 
a man he commanded unqualified popular confidence and esteem. He 
was a birthright member of the Society of Friends, and held this 
religious faith most earnestly and consistently. Mr. Hampton mar- 
ried Miss Nora Willits, daughter of Gabriel B. Willits, of Riverside, 
and since his death she has continued to maintain her home at Corona. 
Of the three children Robert L. is the eldest ; Ethlyn remains with her 
widowed mother; and Doris is the wife of A. E. Daniels, of Corona. 

Robert Lester Hampton, only son of the subject of this memoir, 
gained his early education in the public schools of Corona and there- 
after continued his studies in the University of California as a member 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES L183 

of the class of 1916. After leaving the university he became ranch 
foreman for the Corona Foothill Lemon Company, and since 1918 
he has been its manager. He is a republican in political allegiance, 
and is affiliated with the Del Rev Club. September 17. 1920. recorded 
his marriage with Miss Jessamine Hunt, daughter of Mrs. Alice Hunt, 
of Corona, and the one child of this union is a son, Robert Lester, Jr. 
Mrs. Hampton was born in Corona and attended the public and high 
schools. She was afforded the advantages of Leland Stanford, Jr., 
University, and is a popular figure in the representative social 
activities of her home community. 

Mark D. Anderson is prominently identified with the fruit packing 
industry in Riverside County, where he is secretary and manager 
of the Orange Heights Fruit Association, the modern packing house 
of which is established at the intersection of Main Street and the 
tracks of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad at Corona. 

The Orange Heights Fruit Association was organized in 1905, on 
October 7th of which year it was incorporated with a capital stock 
of $25,000 and with the following named officers : F. F. Thompson, 
president; L. A. Fink, secretary; and the First National Bank of 
Corona as treasurer. The new corporation purchased the packing 
house of the Faye Fruit Company, and promptly proceeded with the 
rebuilding and remodeling of the plant. On the 31st of August, 1914, 
the capital stock was increased to $50,000, and the following officers 
were elected : W. C. Barth, president ; J. C. Read, secretary ; Corona 
National Bank, treasurer. The officers of the association at the 
opening of the year 1922 are as here noted: J. B. Cook, president; 
L. A. Fink, vice president; Mark D. Anderson, secretary and man- 
ager; Corona National Bank, treasurer. The packing house gives an 
aggregate floor space of 193,500 square feet, the facilities are of the 
most approved type, and at the plant employment is given to seventy- 
five persons, while in the fields during the fruit-packing season the 
association has an average of 150 employes. The association handles 
fruit from 1,100 acres, its property investment represents fully 
$150,000 and its indebtedness is only $8,000, so that its affairs are in 
a most prosperous condition and its influence large in connection with 
the fruit industry in this section of the state. 

Mark D. Anderson was born in Morgan County, Ohio, on the 1st of 
June, 1880, and is a son of Adelbert A. and Mary Catherine (DeVolle) 
Anderson. Mr. Anderson was a child at the time of the family removal 
to Bourbon County, Kentucky, where he attended the public schools. 
Later he attended the McConnelsville Normal School at McConnelsville, 
Ohio, after which he read law in the office of Kinzies Porter of Zanes- 
ville, that state. At Zanesville he finally became manager of the business 
of the F. E. Hemmer Company, manufacturing confectioners and whole- 
sale dealers in fruit and produce. Prior to taking up the study of law he 
had given three years of successful service as a teacher in the public 
schools in Bourbon County, Kentucky, and at Zanesville, Ohio. He con- 
tinued his connection with F. E. Hemmer Company three years, and there- 
after was associated with the wholesale commission business in the City 
of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. In this connection he came to California 
in the capacity of purchasing agent. In 1904 he here became associated 
with Arthur Gregory, who was then general manager of the Mutual 
Orange Distributors at Redlands. Within a short time thereafter Mr. 
Anderson became manager of the Carlsbad Guano & Fertilizer Company, 
in which connection he was in active service two years at Carlsbad, New 



1 184 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Mexico, his executive duties involving considerable travel in Mexico. 
Upon his return to California he assumed the position of district manager 
of the Mutual Orange Distributors, and with this corporation he continued 
his alliance, in various capacities, until 1919, when he became the incum- 
bent of his present dual office of secretary and manager of the Orange 
Heights Fruit Association. 

Mr. Anderson is a valued member of the Corona Chamber of Com- 
merce, is a director of the Queen Colony Fruit Exchange, and the 
Exchange Orange Producers Company, is a republican in politics, and is a 
member of the Corona Country Club. 

In 1900 Mr. Anderson wedded Miss Myrtle O'Brannon, of McCon- 
nelsville, Ohio, and the two children of this union, I. M. and Madeline, 
reside at Zanesville, Ohio. The present marriage of Mr. Anderson was 
solemnized in January, 1917, when Miss Daisy Helen Moberly, of Wichita, 
Kansas, became his wife. They have no children. 

Silas A. Dudley may well be considered one of the pioneers and rep- 
resentative citizens of Corona, Riverside County, where he has a well 
improved orange and lemon grove and an attractive home which has been 
his place of abode since 1895, when he purchased the property, at 3010 
Main Street. That he has full claim for pioneer distinction is evident 
when it is stated that he hauled the lumber for the construction of the 
first house at Corona, which was originally known as South Riverside. 
Mr. Dudley came to Riverside County in 1885, and in his independent 
activities in the growing of citrus fruit he has met with well merited 
success, his present fruit grove comprising twelve acres and the property 
being exceptionally well improved. 

Mr. Dudley was born at Mendon, Massachusetts, July 5, 1857, and is 
a scion of a family early established in New England, that gracious cradle 
of much of our national history. He is a descendant of Governor Dudley 
of the Massachusetts Colony, and of Edward Rawson, secretary of the 
Massachusetts Bay Company. His parents, Edward and Mary (Ellis) 
Dudley, passed their entire lives in Massachusetts, and the father devoted 
his active career to farm enterprise. 

Silas A. Dudley gained his youthful education in the public schools 
of his native place and thereafter was associated with the work and man- 
agement of the old home farm until 1885, when he came to Riverside 
County, California, where he has been associated with the splendid develop- 
ment and progress that have marked the intervening years. He has had 
no desire' to enter the arena of practical politics but is loyally aligned in 
the ranks of the republican party, and as a citizen has ever shown deep 
interest in community affairs of public order. 

On August 28, 1895, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Dudley and 
Miss Carrie V. C. Jordan, daughter of Simeon L. and Emma E. (Sparks) 
Jordan, at that time residents of Milford, Massachusetts, Mrs. Dudley 
having, however, been reared and educated in the State of New York. 
She was born in Newburg, New York, November 5, 1874. Of their three 
children it may be recorded that Miss Ruth, a teacher in the Lincoln School 
of Corona, remains at the parental home; Edward A. is, in 1921-2, a 
student in the University of California; and Charlotte, a Junior in High 
School, is the youngest member of the parental home circle. 

Ezra J. Post, a resident of Mentone, at the green and vigorous old 
age of ninety, is one of the few survivors of that intrepid band 
of pioneers who poured over the plains and across the mountains 
to the Pacific Coast in the years immediately following the first dis- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1185 

coveries of precious metal in California. His life for a number of 
years was given to the diversified activities of ranching, mechanical labor 
and mining in the northwestern states, following which he did a suc- 
cessful business on the eastern slope of the Rockies, and finally resorted 
to Southern California as a means of restoring health and has continued 
here a role of business activity that would shame many a younger man. 

Mr. Post was born in Madison County in Southern Illinois in 1831. 
and grew up and acquired his education in Illinois. He was born on a 
farm and learned the blacksmith's trade. It was in May, 1851, when 
he was about twenty years of age, that he left St. Joseph, Missouri, then 
one of the chief outfitting points on the Missouri River for California 
and western immigrants. He drove one of the twenty-one ox teams in 
a party made up of about a hundred people who went over the old Lewis 
and Clark trail, and after about five months arrived at Oregon City, 
Oregon, on September 10, 1851. It was a journey fraught with many 
hardships and dangers. The party was attacked by Snake Indians on 
Snake River and two of the members killed. They drove over the Cas- 
cade Mountains through a foot of snow and in bitter cold. They had to 
cut alder for cattle forage and many of their oxen died. Reaching the 
Chutes River they found it swollen to a depth of fifteen feet, and for 
two or three days had to remain on one side with only crackers and 
sugar for their food until the flood subsided and they could cross to ob- 
tain supplies of meat and other provisions. In Oregon Mr. Post found 
it warm and comfortable, and at once resumed his trade as a blacksmith. 
As a plow maker he was called upon to make those implements of agri- 
culture for farmers living from one end to the other of the Willamette 
Valley. For four years he continued making plows and doing mechanical 
repair work for steamboats. He then started a ranch, setting out an 
orchard and growing grain. When he planted his apple trees that fruit 
was selling at six dollars a box, but by the time the trees came into bear- 
ing there was no market and he fed the fruit to his stock. Mr. Post 
was a pioneer horticulturist in the Northwest, when fruit trees were not 
burdened with pests and there was no occasion to spray and the fruit 
itself was perfect. He and his brother, John, during one season equipped 
an ox train and did the first freighting of goods into Orofino, Idaho. 
From there he went over into the Salmon River basin of Idaho and did 
some mining and prospecting. He remained in the valley during the win- 
ter, when snow covered the ground to a depth of nine feet, and while 
there he suffered an illness that almost took him away. Two of his 
friends decided to get out of the valley, one of them, a Portland mer- 
chant worth thirty thousand dollars and another, Mr. Mulkey, worth 
about ten thousand dollars, and froze to death in the attempt. 

In the meantime Mr. Post had retained his Oregon ranch. During 
that winter of unprecedented severity he lost fortv out of forty-two head 
of livestock, and stock of all descriptions perished all the way from 
Idaho down to The Dalles in Oregon. On giving up his Oregon ranch 
Mr. Post returned to the Salmon River Valley and engaged in mining, 
packing, trading and blacksmithing. It . was an unprofitable venture, 
largely through the dishonesty of his partners, one of whom subsequently 
committed suicide at Boise. 

Leaving that country altogether, Mr. Post in 1870 went to Denver, 
reaching that city penniless, and for two years made a living as a jour- 
neyman blacksmith. He saved and made money, and this time never 
experimented with partners. From Denver he removed to Trinidad, 
Colorado, where he engaged in the hardware business. As a prospering 
business man he was liberal of his means in promoting railroad enter- 



1186 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

prises, and gave five hundred dollars toward the fund to secure the right 
of way for the Santa Fe Railroad, three hundred dollars for the Den- 
ver and Rio Grande, a sum subsequently refunded, and contributed two 
thousand dollars to the proposed Denver, Texas & Gulf Railway. He 
was made treasurer of the company that raised a hundred and eight 
thousand dollars to purchase the right of way for this last named road. 
It turned out to be a very profitable business for him, since the road 
turned many accounts toward him and he sold goods over a three hun- 
dred mile stretch up and down the line and frequently got out of bed in 
the middle of the night to supply an order for goods. He also started 
a branch store at Albuquerque, New Mexico, and this, too, was profitable, 
since he had friendly connections with the Santa Fe people. Mr. Post 
continued merchandising at Trinidad for sixteen years, though for the 
last six years of that time he spent his winters in Southern California. 

Gradually, suffering from impaired health, he sold out and in 1887, 
moved to Los Angeles, determined to rebuild his constitution. That he 
has done so his subsequent active life of over thirty years abundantly 
proves. On going to Los Angeles he bought ten acres in the city, and 
sold one lot for enough to pay for the entire purchase price. For a 
number of years he was one of the very successful real estate dealers in 
Los Angeles. 

In 1890 Mr. Post bought twenty-two acres on the bench land known 
as Green Spot, near Mentone. He acquired this tract from W. P. Mc- 
intosh and Marlett. The purchase was made entirely against the advice 
of his friends, who thought the land lay too high in the valley. How- 
ever, he planted it to Navel oranges, and it is now one of the show 
places of California horticulture. Later he added another ten acres, 
and this tract has been developed to the Valencia oranges. Thirty years 
ago it was totally wild land, and his capital and efforts have set the pace 
for much development all over that region. Mr. Post has lived at 
Mentone with his daughter and son-in-law, Mr. and Mrs. Hart, since 
June 23, 1920. 

In 1873 he married Miss Anna A. Barraclough, a native of New 
York City. She died February 9, 1920, after they had traveled life's 
highway and shared life's fortunes and reverses for forty-seven years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Post had two daughters. Mrs. Ada E. Easley, now a 
widow, lives at Glendale. California, and has three children. Frederick, 
Leland and Bernice Easley. The second daughter, Mabel Josephine", is 
the wife of Sherman E. Hart, and they have three children, Gaylord. 
born Mav 31, 1913; Donald Post, born in 1915, and Sherman Lee Hart, 
born in 1921. 

Mr. Sherman Hart is a native of Illinois and is one of the men 
of distinctive enterprise in the citizenship of Mentone. He has had a 
diversified business experience and career, has lost at times but has 
begun over again and has made himself financially one of the strong 
men of this section of the state. Mr. and Mrs. Hart recently erected 
a beautiful modern home against the background of mountain scenery 
and with a beautiful view of the valley below. 

Fred J. Mueller is secretary and general manager of the Corona 
Citrus Association, the oldest and most important fruit-packing concern in 
the Corona district of Riverside County, the enterprise dating its inception 
hack to the year 1893, when the Queen Colony Fruit Association was incor- 
porated with a capital stock of $10,000 and with the following named 
citizens as incorporators and directors : E. B. Alderman, George L. Jov, 
David Lord, Ambrose Compton, R. B. Taylor, J. S. Jewell and T. P. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 187 

Drinkwater. The packing house of this original association was erected 
by Frank Scoville and T. P. Drinkwater at the intersection of Sheridan 
Street and the tracks of the Santa Fe Railroad at Corona. In 1896 the 
Queen Colony Fruit Exchange was established, with the same corps of 
officers and directors, and under this title the business was continued until 
1905, when a reorganization was effected and the title of the Corona Citrus 
Association was adopted. Of the corporation the present officers are as 
here noted : F. M. Bender, president ; S. A. Dudley, vice president ; Fred 
J. Mueller, secretary and general manager ; and the First National Bank of 
Corona, treasurer. The association gives employment to 100 persons, its 
packing house affords 43,000 square feet of floor space, and the capacity 
of the same is for the output of 250 carloads of fruit a year, both oranges 
and lemons being shipped through this effective medium. The association 
is a co-operative organization made up of representative fruit-growers of 
this district, and there is made no attempt to gain direct profit from its 
operations. 

Fred J. Mueller was born at Ney Ulm, Brown County, Minnesota, 
on the 28th of December, 1882, and is a son of Jacob and Frances 
(Schultz) Mueller. He received his youthful education in the public 
schools of his native city and those of Indianapolis, Indiana, and thereafter 
attended the celebrated Shattuck Military Academy at Faribault, Minne- 
sota. In 1906 he graduated from Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, 
from which institution he received the degree of civil engineer. For the 
ensuing two years he was employed as a civil engineer in connection with 
the Chicago, Cleveland, Cincinnati & St. Louis (Big Four) Railroad, with 
headquarters at Indianapolis, Indiana, and then, in 1908, came to Cali- 
fornia. In August of that year he purchased stock in the First National 
Bank of Corona, and of this institution he continued the efficient and 
popular cashier for three years. He then sold his stock in the bank and 
became actively identified with the citrus fruit industry in this district 
as the owner of a producing orange and lemon grove. In 1917 he became 
manager of the Corona Citrus Association, and as its secretary and general 
manager he has done much to make its service effective in promoting the 
the best interests of the fruit growers interested in the co-operative 
organization. 

Mr. Mueller is influential in the local councils and campaign activities 
of the republican party and is, in 1921-2, a member of the Republican 
Central Committee oi Riverside County. He has served one term as a 
member of the City Council of Corona, is a loyal member and a director 
of the Corona Chamber of Commerce, is president of the Queen Colony 
Fruit Exchange, is a member of the Corona Country Club, is affiliated with 
the Phi Gamma Delta college fraternity, and in the Masonic fraternity he 
has received the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite and is affiliated 
also with the Mystic Shrine. 

December 9, 1908, recorded the marriage of Mr. Mueller and Miss 
Flora Keely, who was born and reared in Indianapolis, Indiana, where 
her early educational advantages included those of the State Normal 
School. She is a daughter of J. H. and Harriet Keely. Mr. and Mrs. 
Mueller have one daughter, Marjorie. 

Leo Kroonen. A master of his profession as an architect, a thor- 
oughly capable business executive, Leo Kroonen during his long residence 
at Corona has put his faculties and influence behind every notable project 
for the general welfare, and the community owes him a great debt for the 
thoroughly constructive work be has done here and in the vicinity. 



1188 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Mr. Kroonen was born at Uithoorn, eighteen miles from Amsterdam, 
Holland, March 31, 1857, son of Peter and Cornelia (Koiman) Kroonen. 
He was reared and educated in his native city, served an apprenticeship 
at the carpenter's trade, also studied architecture, and had earned a high 
place in that profession in Holland before he left there at the age of 
twenty-eight and came to the United States. Before coming to California 
Mr. Kroonen had practiced as an architect at St. Louis, Missouri, at 
Galveston and Fort Worth, Texas, and on the Pacific Coast he was located 
six months at Los Angeles and then at Claremont, until he located at 
Corona. 

As an architect and contractor Mr. Kroonen has a long list of notable 
buildings to his credit. He put up the high school, city hall, grammar 
school, most of the fruit packing houses at Corona, the San Jacinto gram- 
mar school in Riverside County, the chemical plant and packing house at 
El Cerrito ranch, and a large number of the costly and tasteful residences. 
Mr. Kroonen has been an investor and developer in the Corona fruit section 
and owned the oldest grove and shipped the first oranges, also served 
as a director for two years of the Temescal Water Company, and for four 
years was a director of the First Exchange Association of Corona and 
helped organize it. However, his most important interests have been in 
the line of developing and exploiting some peculiarly rich and valuable 
natural resources of the vicinity of Corona. An article published several 
years ago gives a description of these properties which may be properly 
included here for historical purposes : 

"His holdings cover an area of about 700 acres altogether, and. he has 
already spent many thousands of dollars in preliminary development work 
in the twenty-four years that he has owned the properties. On 160 acres 
of the cement property alone an expert engineer has estimated that the 
outcroppings show sufficient, almost pure, cement rock to operate a cement 
plant of 2500 barrels daily capacity for over two hundred years, and 
analysis by the best cement experts in the country show that a perfect 
Portland cement can be made from the materials in the deposit, also that 
all transporting of rock from cement beds to plant can be done by gravity, 
and that under these conditions the highest grade of Portland cement can 
be manufactured for 56 1/6 cents per barrel, after due allowance for 
interest and depreciation on plant, according to report made February 
11, 1906. 

"Mr. Kroonen's clay properties are situated three miles west of Corona 
and the same distance from the Santa Fe Railroad, and contains 200 acres. 
The deposit is well developed, having 1900 feet of tunnel work to show the 
extent of the different kinds of materials, the whole mountain being a mass 
of clay, lying in strata from 50 to 500 feet in thickness and extending from 
200 to 1000 feet above the road bed. The stratified deposit of rich, pure, 
blue vitrifying clay, flint clay, plastic clay and modeling clay, each perfect 
in texture and composition, is suitable for the manufacture of all kinds 
of vitrified ware, sewer pipe, electric conduit, street clinker, paving blocks, 
face brick glazed and unglazed, roofing tile, floor tile, terra cotta, drain 
tile, etc., as well as fire brick of all kinds. All the clays can be taken from 
deposits by open quarry in one canyon, where the canyon crosses the 
deposit and exposes the clay for hundreds of yards on either side, with a 
height above the road bed of from 200 to 800 feet, and as the deposit 
extends for three-fourths of a mile on each side of the canyon it will be 
readily seen that the materials are inexhaustible." 

Mr. Kroonen is a republican in politics. On June 30, 1889, he married 
Miss Mary Walkenshaw, of Auburndale, California. She was born on 
the Jureupa Ranch in San Bernardino County on September 18, 1869, and 




h^srrx^f 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1189 

was educated in the public schools. They have three children: Leo 
Lorenzo, born July 3, 1899, at Ventura; Oscar William, born November 
21, 1901, at home; and Mary Cornelia, born February 24, 1905. 

Stephen D. Hackney was an Illinois farmer for about twenty years, 
and since transplanting himself to the beautiful environment of Riverside 
County he has continued an occupation close to the land, but in the form 
of orange culture, and is one of the prosperous ranchers in the Highgrove 
section. 

Mr. Hackney was born at Bunker Hill, Illinois, December 14, 1861, 
son of James and Amelia (Britton) Hackney, now deceased. His father 
was born in New York City and his mother near Chicago. James Hack- 
ney went to Illinois when a youth, was a farmer there, fought as a soldier 
in the Mexican war, and joined the rush to California in 1849. After his 
return he lived on his Illinois farm until his death. He was the father 
of six children : William, of Litchfield, Illinois ; John, of Bunker Hill ; 
Joseph, of Long Beach, California; Edward, of Hutchinson, Kansas; 
Thomas, of Guthrie, Oklahoma; and Stephen D. 

Stephen D. Hackney after completing his public school education at 
Bunker Hill turned his attention to farming and remained in Illinois until 
1904. In that year he came to Riverside, and soon acquired and has 
developed a fine orange ranch in Highgrove, where he has ten acres. Mr. 
Hackney has served as a member of the Riverside City Council, and is a 
republican, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and the Modern 
Woodmen of America. 

December 20, 1881, he married Miss Charlotte Elizabeth Hume, daugh- 
ter of William James and Hannah (Snedeker) Hume, of Bunker Hill, 
in which Illinois town she was reared and educated. Mr. and Mrs. Hack- 
ney have had seven children: Millie, deceased; Paul; Esther, wife of 
Sidney Hilton, of Los Angeles ; John, at home ; Vivian, Hume and Carl, 
all deceased. Mr. Hackney has one grandchild, Betty Lou Hilton. His 
son Paul volunteered and served in the navy as a yoeman during the 
World war. For one year he was stationed at Plymouth, England, and 
for six months in New York City. He is now bookkeeper on a large sugar 
plantation at Honakaa, Hawaiian Islands. 

Hon. Samuel Merrill — Though he reached the peak of his political 
fame in Iowa, where he served as governor four years, Samuel Mer- 
rill turned an enormous amount of capital and enterprise into South- 
ern California, where he was associated with other prominent Iowa 
men in some of the projects of development that have brought San 
Bernardino County several of its most prosperous communities. Sam- 
uel Merrill spent his last years in Los Angeles, but his only son is a 
prominent citizen of the Rialto district of San Bernardino County. 

Samuel Merrill was born at Turner, Maine, August 7, 1822, of old 
New England and English ancestry. He represented the eighth gen- 
eration of this New England family. He was a descendant of Na- 
thaniel Merrill, who came from England and settled at Newburg, 
Massachusetts, in 1636. Governor Merrill's parents were Abel and 
Abigail (Hill) Merrill. Through his mother he was a descendant of 
Doctor Hill, who came from England to Saco, Maine, in 1653. Sam- 
uel Merrill was one of the youngest children of his parents, and at the 
age of sixteen he removed with them to Buxton, Maine, where he 
taught and attended school. His first choice of a profession was 
teaching. For a brief time he taught in the South, but being an aboli- 
tionist he did not prove congenial to the people of that section. In 



1190 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

1847, with a brother, lie engaged in merchandising at Tamworth, New 
Hampshire, and he gained his first political honors in that state. He 
was elected on the abolitionist ticket in 1854 to the New Hampshire 
Legislature and was re-elected in 1855. In 1856 Samuel Merrill 
moved to Iowa, and for a number of years was the leading merchant 
of McGregor, that state. He was elected a member of the Iowa Leg- 
islature that met early in 1861 to provide for the exigencies of the 
Civil War. In the summer of 1862 he was commissioned colonel oi 
the 21st Iowa Infantry, and commanded a force that distinguished 
itself in an encounter with the Confederate troops in Southern Missouri 
during the early part of 1863. Subsequently with his regiment he 
took part in the Vicksburg campaign, and while leading an impetuous 
charge at Black River Bridge in Mississippi he was shot through both 
thighs, a wound that closed his military career. Resigning his com- 
mission, he resumed his place at McGregor. In 1867 he was elected 
governor of Iowa, and by re-election in 1869 he served from January, 
1868, to January, 1872. Soon after leaving the governor's office he 
closed up his business interests at McGregor and removed to Des 
Moines, and for a number of years was one of Iowa's foremost bank- 
ers and business men. He was president of a number of railroad, 
banking and insurance companies, and was associated with Russell 
Sage and others in building the III Railroad, the Indiana, Illinois and 
Iowa. He was founder and president of the Citizens National Bank 
of Des Moines, and continued as a director and the principal stock- 
holder of that institution until his death. 

Governor Merrill early became impressed with the great possi- 
bilities of Southern California, and he began acquiring interests in 
this section of the state about 1886. He invested heavily at the be- 
ginning of the great real estate boom, and realized handsomely on 
some of his investments, though on the whole his plans did not ma- 
terialize. No less than three towns owe their inception to develop- 
ments instituted by him and his associates. These towns are River- 
side, South Riverside, now known as Corona, and Rialto. At East 
Riverside he and his associates paid in a lump sum $75,000.00 to 
Matthew Gage for water rights, and this was the first real develop- 
ment in that section. The South Riverside purchase included 16,000 
acres. The Rialto, or, as it was known, Semi Tropic tract, originally 
contained 29.000 acres. Before he left Rialto Governor Merrill and 
associates had invested fully $670,000.00 in water development and 
other improvements. They paid Henry Pierce and other men of San 
Francisco $470,000.00 for the lands in the Rialto tract. Governor 
Merrill was president of the California Loan & Trust Company until 
it went out of business in 1894. He organized and built the Southern 
California Motor Road, connecting San Bernardino with Riverside, 
but later his controlling interests were sold to the Southern Pacific 
Railroad Company. Following the death of his first wife Governor 
Merrill made his permanent home in Southern California, although 
still retaining business interests in Iowa. He closed out most of 
his interests in his various colonies in 1893, and spent the remaining 
years of his life in Los Angeles, where he died November 30, 1899, when 
in his seventy-eighth year. 

In early manhood Governor Merrill married Miss Elizabeth D. 
Hill of Buxton, Maine. She died in March, 1888. In 1894 he mar- 
ried Mary S. Greenwood, of Massachusetts, who survives him. 

In 1887 Governor Merrill was granted a pension of over eight hun- 
dred dollars a vear on account of wounds received in the Civil war. 



** 




K 




tf t '<fyuJj0£? 



4fl 



~«i 








Q#*HcvQ% (fy-^cll 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1191 

This money lie donated to support three beds for disabled soldiers in 
a hospital at Des Moines. He was always a liberal patron of relig- 
ious, charitable and educational institutions. For many years prior 
to his death he was a trustee of Iowa College at Grinnell. While he 
was governor the cornerstone of the present capitol at Des Moines 
was laid. Almost the last act of his life, consistent with his liberal 
and public spirited record at all times, was to vote for water bonds at 
a special election in Los Angeles for the purpose of giving that city a 
perpetual water supply. Soon after voting he was stricken with 
paralysis and never recovered. His enfeebled condition was aug- 
mented by an accident that befell him on the Traction Street Railway 
a year or two previously. At the time of his second marriage Gov- 
ernor Merrill divided the bulk of his estate among his children, re- 
serving enough to provide himself and wife for the rest of their days. 
At the time of his death it was estimated that his wealth approxi- 
mated five hundred thousand dollars. He was a life-long member of 
the Congregational Church, and his remains were laid to rest in the 
old Iowa family vault in Des Moines. His surviving children are a 
daughter and son. The daughter, Hattie G., is a graduate of Welles- 
ley College of Massachusetts, the wife of Dr. John W. Craig, of Los 
Angeles. Dr. and Mrs. Craig have three children, Charles, Allan and 
Elizabeth. Charles, while with the colors at Camp Kearney, died of 
pneumonia. 

The surviving son, Jere Hill Merrill, was born at Des Moines No- 
vember 25, 1873. For a number of years he was in the mercantile 
business at Los Angeles, and in 1906 he purchased a bare tract of 
land, comprising his present magnificent home property, located a 
half mile from Foothill Boulevard, near Rialto. This he has developed 
to citrus fruit, and by other improvements has added greatly to the 
beauties of the country along Riverside Avenue. Like his father, 
he is a stanch republican, and is a ready worker for public betterment 
of all kinds. He is a member of a number of fraternal societies, be- 
longs to the Congregational Church, and Mrs. Merrill is a Methodist. 

On October 14, 1897, he married Miss Sena Jones. She was born 
in Marshalltown, Iowa, December 4, 1878, daughter of W. H. H. and 
Harriet (Laybourn) Jones, the former a native of Grayson, Virginia. 
Her father was a contractor, and early in the Civil War enlisted in 
Company G of the 13th Illinois Infantry. He was first made a cor- 
poral and later, in recognition of his service and ability, was pro- 
moted to second lieutenant and then to first lieutenant. He received 
his honorable discharge February 18, 1865. For many years he was 
one of the leading contractors and builders of Pasadena, and died 
September 21, 1921, at the age of eighty-one. His wife, who was 
born in Manchester, Indiana, lives with her daughter, Mrs. Merrill, 
at Rialto. Mrs. Merrill finished her education at Pasadena, where hei 
parents lived after moving from Marshalltown, Iowa. 

Archie D. Mitchell is a native Ontario boy who has won numerous 
distinctions as a lawyer and in the civic affairs of that locality since he 
qualified for his profession. 

He was born at Ontario January 18, 1891, son of John and Mary M. 
(Winn) Mitchell. His parents were among the Canadian settlers of 
Ontario, California. His father was of Scotch and his mother of English 
ancestry. Archie D. Mitchell was reared and educated at Ontario, grad- 
uated from the University of Southern California in 1912, and for ten 
years has enjoyed a successful practice. For four years he was city 



1192 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

attorney, and he practices in the District Court of Appeals. In a business 
way he is identified with the Security State Bank of Ontario, the Peerless 
Petroleum Company, and the Burton Fruit Products Company, and also 
with the Ontario Commercial Aviation Company. Mr. Mitchell during 
the war was in the naval aviation and was commissioned chief quarter- 
master. 

He was chairman of the Democratic County Central Committee and a 
leader in local politics. He has filled various chairs in the Odd Fellows 
and Woodmen of the World and Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
fraternities, is a member of the El Camino Real Club, the Los Angeles 
Athletic Club, the Brentwood Country Club, and the Congregational 
Church. In 1920, at Riverside, Mr. Mitchell married Miss Frieda Graet- 
tinger, daughter of Alois and Mary E. Graettinger. Her father was one 
of the prominent physicians of Wisconsin until he retired some ten years 
before his death. 

Charles E. Mead. The attractive and splendidly equipped drug store 
of Mr. Mead at 121 Euclid Avenue in the progressive little City of 
Ontario, San Bernardino County, has become under his ownership and 
management the leading establishment of the kind in the city, with facilities 
and service of metropolitan order. In addition to having developed this 
substantial business enterprise Mr. Mead is also treasurer of the Peerless 
Petroleum Company, which is capitalized for $240,000 and the offices of 
which are maintained at Ontario. He is a director and was one of the 
organizers of the Security State Bank of Ontario, which recently opened 
its doors at the corner of Euclid and B streets, Ontario. 

Mr. Mead was born at Lexington, Missouri, On the 4th of January. 
1876, and is a son of Charles V. and Anna (Limerick) Mead. Mr. Mead 
gained his preliminary education in the public schools, and thereafter con- 
tinued his studies in the State Agricultural College of New Mexico, at 
Las Cruces, in which he was graduated with the degree of Bachelor of 
Science. After coming to California he was for several years owner of the 
retail drug business conducted at Colton. San Bernardino County, under 
the title of the Mission Drug Company. He then transferred his interests 
to Ontario, where his success as a reliable and progressive business man 
has been unequivocal and substantial, his initial enterprise at Colton hav- 
ing been based on very modest capital. 

Mr. Mead served as first lieutenant in a New Mexico regiment of 
volunteer infantry during the period of the Spanish-American war, and 
he is thus eligible for and holds membership in the Spanish-American War 
Veterans Association. In the period of the World war Mr. Mead showed 
again his patriotism, as he aided in the various campaigns of local order 
in support of the Government war-bond issues, Savings Stamps, Red 
Cross service, etc., and made his individual subscriptions of liberal finan- 
cial order. He is a stanch republican, he and his wife hold membership 
in the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he is affiliated with the Masonic 
Fraternity, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, in each of which he has passed various 
official chairs. 

At El Dorado Springs, Missouri, on the 23d of September, 1908, was 
solemnized the marriage of Mr. Mead and Miss Rosa Schmidt, daughter of 
William F. Schmidt, she having come to California in the year 1900. Mr. 
and Mrs. Mead have no children. 

The Mead family was founded in America in the Colonial period of 
our national history, and the subject of this review can trace his lineage in 
a direct way back to Oliver Cromwell. 



zJ^^^^ <U^co&U 



J ■ e/\_ o-isdL^U^- — - 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1193 

Thomas E. Fentress. — Riverside has many consistent and effective 
boosters, but no one is more enthusiastic about the city of his adoption 
than Thomas E. Fentress, one of the solid business men of the city, and 
a teaming contractor upon an extensive scale. He located here because 
he was convinced of the great possibilities of this region, and his convic- 
tions have become strengthened with his residence here, and to his efforts 
in its behalf Riverside owes a strong support to its most public-spirited 
movements. He was born near Decatur, Illinois, May 26, 1857, a son of 
Silas and Harriet (Gilmore) Fentress, both of whom are now deceased. 
Silas Fentress was born in Kentucky, but later moved to Illinois, where 
he continued his farming operations. The Fentress family is of Revolu- 
tionary stock and English descent. Mrs. Fentress was born in Indiana, and 
her family is also of Revolutionary stock, but of Irish descent. 

Growing up in Illinois, Thomas E. Fentress attended the public schools 
near Hillwood, that state, and then became a farmer, operating land in 
Illinois until 1877, when he went on a farm in Southeastern Kansas, near 
Oswego, and remained there until 1888. In February of that year he made 
a trip to Riverside in response to letters relatives of his wife had written 
giving such glowing accounts of the city and county that he felt inclined 
to investigate. Not only was he fully satisfied that these accounts were 
more than true, but he was embued with the determination to participate in 
the enjoyment of these advantages, so, returning to Kansas, he disposed 
of his holdings there, returned to Riverside and has since made this city 
his home, although it was necessary for him to make several trips back to 
Kansas before he fully arranged his affairs. His first investment was in 
an orange ranch which he conducted for four years, and then traded it 
for town property, and embarked in his present business of general team- 
ing, which he has since expanded to large proportions. 

On December 31, 1882, Mr. Fentress married at Labette City. Kansas. 
Josephine A. Webb, a native of Indiana, and a daughter of William J. 
Webb, and a member of an old Delaware family of English descent. Mr. 
and Mrs. Fentress have the following children: George E., who is asso- 
ciated with the General Petroleum Company near Placentia, California; 
Pearl, who is the wife of Charles Van Decker, of the Gudes Bootery of 
Los Angeles, California; Maude E., who is the wife of Russell Shedd, a 
realtor of Phoenix, Arizona ; and Daisy May, who is the wife of Clifford 
Shigley, a civil engineer employed by the Sierra Power Company. Mr. 
Fentress is a republican, and while he has not taken a particularly active 
part in politics, has always done his duty as a good citizen by earnestly 
supporting those measures he felt would be beneficial to the majority. He 
finds his greatest pleasure in his home circle and has not cared to connect 
himself with any organizations outside of his membership with the Fra- 
ternal Aid Union. He and his wife are honored members of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, and can be depended upon to do their part in all of 
the work of their congregation. Earnest, hard-working and thrifty. 
Mr. Fentress has forged forward, making a success of his various under- 
takings because of his good business sense and his sterling honesty. While 
he has achieved a material success, he was gained something of still 
greater value, the respect and good will of his fellow men. 

Jean Pierke Loubet was a young man when Ik- came from his 
native France to the Lhiited States and established his residence in Cali- 
fornia, a stranger in a strange land and dependent entirely upon his 
own resources for the winning of success and independence. His 
ability and energy have enabled him to make the most of the advan- 
tages that have here been afforded him, and he is to-day one of the 



1194 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

substantial and honored citizens of San Bernardino County, where 
his fine farm home is situated two miles west of Chino, on Edison 
Avenue. 

Mr. Loubet was born in Montregeau, Province of Haute Garrone, 
France, on the 7th of February, 1874, and is a son of Joseph and 
Antoinette (Perrez) Loubet. His father was lessee of a public abat- 
toire, and in this connection the son learned the butchering and meat- 
cutting trade, his early education having been gained in the schools 
of his native province. In 1889 he came to the United States and 
made his way forthwith to Los Angeles, where he entered the employ 
of Sentous Brothers, wholesale meat dealers and operators of a large 
abattoire. In 1896 Mr. Loubet came to Chino and purchased the 
meat market of Richard Gird. This initial business venture on his 
part proved very successful, and in 1898 he expanded his business to 
include wholesale slaughtering and dealing. He developed a large 
and prosperous wholesale trade, and continued the enterprise until 
1906, when he sold the plant and business to the firm of Steel & 
Dixon. He built the first ice plant at Chino, with a daily capacity 
for the production of five tons of ice. In 1905 Mr. Loubet made his 
first purchase of land, by acquiring forty acres of swamp land, which 
he reclaimed through effective tile drainage. With increasing suc- 
cess in his farming enterprise he added to his holdings, and he now 
owns ninety acres of choice and well improved land in this valley. 
In 1912 he drilled a well, and the same has since given adequate 
water supply for effective irrigation of his land. He is one of the 
successful and progressive representatives of agricultural and live- 
stock enterprise in this section, and since 1918 he has conducted a 
prosperous business also in the buying and selling of hay, grain and 
feed, which he sells in the cities and towns of Southern California. 
He has become also a successful contractor in the building of macad- 
emized roads in San Bernardino County. Mr. Loubet has proved 
himself a man of action and has won success worthy of the name, the 
while he has secure place in popular confidence and esteem. He is a. 
loyal and liberal citizen and is one of the honored pioneers of the 
Chino district. He and his family are communicants of the Catholic 
Church. 

February 11, 1904, recorded the marriage of Mr. Loubet and Miss 
Isabelle Arroues, who was born in the town of Eysus, Province of 
Basse Pyrennes, France, on the 7th of June, 1883, and who came iii 
1903 to the United States and joined her brothers at Los Angeles, 
where her marriage was later solemnized. Mr. and Mrs. Loubet 
have four children, whose names and dates of birth are here recorded : 
John Louis, November 13, 1904; Bernard, January 18, 1906; and 
Marie and Antoinette, twins, September 4, 1912. 

Oscar Ford is not only one of the representative contractors engaged 
in business in the City of Riverside, but has also been a progressive and 
influential figure in civic affairs in the city and county. He gave a long 
period of effective service as a member of the City Council, and his 
administration as mayor of Riverside was marked by results that have 
proved of permanent value. 

Mr. Ford was born at Winterset, Iowa, on the 17th of September, 1856, 
a date that clearly indicates that his parents were pioneers of the Hawkeye 
State. His father, Jimmerson T. Ford, was born in Virginia, but was 
reared and educated at Warsaw, Indiana. He became one of the pros- 
perous exponents of farm industry in Iowa, served as justice of the peace 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 195 

and was a popular and influential citizen of his community. The lineage 
of the Ford family traces back to Welsh origin, and representatives of the 
name were patriot soldiers in the War of the American Revolution. Mrs. 
Lucretia (Calkins) Ford, mother of Oscar Ford, was born in the State of 
New York and was a child at the time of the family removal to Indiana, 
her father, Daniel Calkins, having there become a prosperous farmer. 
The Calkins family is of English stock, and members of the family came 
to America in the Colonial days, besides which it is a matter of record 
that representatives of this family likewise fought for national inde- 
pendence in the Revolutionary war. 

Oscar Ford was reared on the home farm in Iowa, early gained 
practical experience in connection with its activities, and his youthful 
education was gained in the public schools of the locality, which he 
attended principally during the winter months. He left the parental 
home of the 6th of December, 1875, and until the following March was 
employed as a carpenter for the Southern Pacific Railroad, with head- 
quarters at Cabazon, Riverside County, California. He then found em- 
ployment in the brick yard of the Sheldon Brick Company at Riverside 
during the summer, and in 1877 he was employed by P. S. Russell, the 
pioneer nurseryman, with whom he remained three years. While thus 
engaged he purchased ten acres of land north of Riverside and planted a 
citrus orchard on the tract. After leaving the employ of Mr. Russell he 
not only gave attention to his own orchard, but also to those of other 
residents of this locality, and after retaining his original orchard about 
three years he sold the same and purchased twenty acres on Central 
Avenue. This he planted to raisen grapes. Later he bought ten acres on 
Monroe Street and planted the same to orange and apricots. He became 
the owner also of ten acres on Center and Sedgwick streets, this tract 
being developed with an orange grove. He bought and sold much land in 
and about Riverside, and at all times had in his charge from 10 to 150 
acres for Eastern owners. He has developed many acres of orchard and 
vineyard, has shipped large quantities of fruit to Eastern markets and 
has made valuable contribution to the industrial development of 
this favored section of California. Mr. Ford had a large amount of 
nursery stock at the time of the historic freeze of 1890, in which he met 
with heavy losses. His technical and executive powers came into effective 
play in the management of the properties of the Worthley & Strong Fruit 
Company and the Spurance Fruit Company, as well as during his service 
as local manager for the Producers Fruit Company. 

About the year 1904 Mr. Ford turned his attention to the water- 
development enterprise in the district beyond Wineville, where he secured 
770 acres of land, 300 acres of which he planted to alfalfa. Later he 
disposed of this entire property, upon which he had made excellent im- 
provements, including the development of an efifective system of irrigation. 

A stalwart in the camp of the republican party, Mr. Ford has been 
active and influential in political affairs in the City and County of Riverside. 
He served on both the city committee and the county committee of his 
party, has attended many party conventions and has been prominent in 
the councils and campaign activities of his party in this section of the 
state. About the year 1900 Mr. Ford was elected a member of the board 
of trustees of Riverside, before the present city charter was adopted. He 
was a member of the council at the time the present charter was obtained, 
and his entire service in connection with municipal office in Riverside 
covered a period of fully fourteen years, his continuous re-elections sig- 
nalizing his secure place in popular confidence and esteem. In November, 



1196 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

1913, he was elected mayor of Riverside, his assumption of office having 
occurred on the 5th of the following January and his four years' adminis- 
tration having been marked by progressive and constructive policies that 
worked greatly to the advantage of the city and its people. 

Mr. Ford was a member of the City Council at the time when the local 
electric-light department was in its infancy and under the direct control 
of the council. The original bond issue of $40,000 was wholely inadequate 
for the purpose for which it was intended, and thus it was utilized in the 
construction of a pole electric line to Santa Ana Canyon, where H. H. Sin- 
clair was installing a power plant. A contract was made with Sinclair 
to provide Riverside with power for twenty-five years, at the rate of three 
dollars per horse power a month. This arrangement was thought to be 
favorable for the city until it was discovered to provide for measurement 
of power on the peak of the load, even if only for a few moments, meant 
the carrying the heaviest load on the basis of measurement for the entire 
twenty-four hours. Under these conditions was carried through another 
$40,000 bond issue, by which a steam power plant was provided and the city 
enabled to keep the peak-load rate down. The light department of the 
city was in debt to the general fund in the amount of $32,000, but soon 
after the installation of the steam plant the department began to show 
profits in operation, with the result that it was enabled to pay its debt 
to the general fund, which amount was utilized in road building. The 
revenue from the electric-light department is now about $350,000 annually. 

Mr. Ford has been since 1907 engaged in road building, and is one of 
the leading contractors in this line in this section of the state. He has 
constructed many of the important paved highways of this part of Cali- 
fornia, including the Box Springs Road from Riverside to Perris ; 5 miles 
. of road from Corona to the San Bernardino County line ; % l / 2 miles of 
road leading from Santa Ana toward Newport Beach; 5 miles of road 
from Garden Grove to Westminster ; 5 miles from Olive, in Orange 
County, leading to the Riverside County line, up the Santa Ana Canyon; 
8*/2 miles in Mint Canyon, Los Angeles County. 

Mr. Ford was one of the organizers of La Mesa Orange Packing 
Association, and in a reminiscent way it may be stated that in 1880 he 
was a member of the vigilant committee which took matters in hand when 
horse stealing became all too prevalent in Riverside County, Dr. John Hall 
having been president of the organization. 

Mr. Ford is a member of the Riverside Lodge of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and he and his wife are active members of the 
First Christian Church in their home city. 

At St. Joseph, Missouri, on the 6th of June, 1889, Mr. Ford wedded 
Miss Jennie Hunt, who was born at Jacksonville, Illinois, a daughter of 
Henry Hunt, who served as postmaster and city clerk of that place, the 
Hunt family being of Revolutionary American stock and of English origin. 
Mrs. Ford is a member of the Woman's Club of Riverside and is a popular 
figure in the representative social activities of the city. In the concluding 
paragraph of this review is given brief record concerning the children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Ford. 

Albert Hunt Ford, a graduate of the University of Southern California, 
is engaged in the practice of law at Riverside and is serving as deputy 
district attorney. Robert O. Ford, who is, in 1921, taking a course in 
electrical engineering in the University of California, enlisted in Company 
M of the California National Guard at Riverside, two weeks before the 
United States became involved in the World war, he having been at the 
time a student in Junior College. He was later sent with his command to 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1197 

France, where he served with the Fifth Division of the American Expedi- 
tionary Forces until the close of hostilities. He was connected with the 
telephone detachment of the headquarters company and was in active 
service in this capacity both in the Argonne and St. Mihiel sectors, besides 
having been with the boys when they made the splendid crossing of the 
Meuse River. Genevieve, the only daughter, is the wife of Malcolm C. 
Ross, a florist in the City of Los Angeles, and they have one daughter. 
Warren H. Ford, the youngest of the children, is a graduate of the River- 
side High School and remains at the parental home. 

J. Wesley Shrimp is one of the fortunate young business men of 
California whose destiny it has been to grow up and find his interests and 
activities in the fair City of Riverside. He is one of the officials of 
Riverside's great industry, the Cresmer Manufacturing Company, and has 
been liberal with his time and helpful co-operation in several phases of the 
city's advancement and welfare. 

He was born at Elsinore, California, July 12, 1890, and the following 
year his parents moved to Riverside, where his widowed mother is still 
living. His father, Lawrence C. Shrimp, who was of an old English 
American family of Revolutionary stock, was born in Kentucky and was 
a carpenter by trade, moving to California in 1885 and living at Elsinore 
for the first six years. 

J. Wesley Shrimp had his first conscious recollections of the City of 
Riverside when it was comparatively new and in the earlier period of its 
development. The first home in which he lived was a little house whose 
site is now occupied by the Riverside Milling & Fuel Company. He 
attended the grammar and high schools, spent one year in Zinn's Business 
College and on leaving school his first regular employment was with the 
firm of Godfrey & Stewart and later with the Miller Planing Mill. In 
1906 he entered the service of the Cresmer Manufacturing Company and 
since January, 1917, has been secretary and treasurer of that industry, 
which is described in more detail on other pages. 

Mr. Shrimp is also manager of the Riverside Military Band, a notable 
organization in the life of the city, also taken up in an appropriate place 
elsewhere. He has been manager of the band for seventeen years, and is 
drummer and trap man in the organization. 

' Mr. Shrimp has copper mining interests in Riverside County, near 
Blythe, and is secretary and treasurer of a company that has been organ- 
ized to develop this property. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
Woodmen of the World and in politics is a republican. He and his family 
attend the First Christian Church. 

July 15, 1912, Mr. Shrimp married Miss Grace Carr, who was born 
at Grand Terrace, California, daughter of E. G. Carr, the first zonjero of 
the old canal. Mr. and Mrs. Shrimp have one daughter, Dorothy Louise. 

A. G. Armstrong, superintendent of the Santa Fe shops at San 
Bernardino, is a veteran in the mechanical service of the Santa Fe Com- 
pany, with which he has spent nearly twenty years. His home for the 
greater part of the time since 1906 has been at San Bernardino, where he 
enjoys high standing in business and social circles alike. He made the 
choice of railroading as a career when a boy, beginning as an apprentice 
machinist, and his personal energy, fidelity and experience have taken 
him up the scale of promotion to that of superintendent. 

Mr. Armstrong was born at Negaunee, Michigan, November 4, 1872, 
son of John N. and Susan (Eckels) Armstrong, now deceased, his father 



1198 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

of Scotch ancestry and a native of Canada, while his mother was of an 
English family and horn in Wisconsin. John N. Armstrong was an ex- 
perienced mining man and conducted many explorations in the mineral 
regions of Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota. He opened up one of 
the iron mines on the famous Vermilion Range above Duluth, Minnesota. 

A. G. Armstrong attended grammar and high schools in Wisconsin, was 
a student in the University of Wisconsin, and began his railroad work as 
a machinist apprentice to the Northern Pacific Railroad Company at 
Brainerd, Minnesota. He was in their service for eleven years as an 
apprentice machinist and material inspector, and he represented the North- 
ern Pacific as inspector of the new power building of the Baldwin Loco- 
motive Works at Philadelphia. 

Leaving Brainerd and the service of the Northern Pacific in January, 
1903, Mr. Armstrong removed to Topeka, Kansas, where he was in the 
shops of the Santa Fe as a machinist until the following July, when he 
was selected and sent to the Baldwin Locomotive Works, representing the 
Santa Fe Company during the construction of between 300 and 400 
locomotives. 

When Mr. Armstrong first came to San Bernardino in 1906 it was 
in the capacity of erecting foreman. In March of the following year he 
was made general foreman. In December, 1911, he was promoted to 
division foreman, with headquarters at Los Angeles, where he remained 
until July, 1913, when he was promoted to master mechanic of the Arizona 
Division, with headquarters at Needles, California. In March, 1917, he 
returned to San Bernardino as master mechanic of the Los Angeles Divi- 
sion and on April 1, 1918, was made shop superintendent at San Ber- 
nardino. He has general supervision of a large force, there having been 
1900 car and locomotive employes under his jurisdiction in October, 1920. 

Mr. Armstrong is a director of the San Bernardino Valley Bank. He 
is a republican and is affiliated with the Elks Lodge. At Brainerd, Minne- 
sota, July 26, 1898, he married Miss Mary Ellen Howe. She was born in 
Minneapolis, Minnesota, daughter of the late J. J. Howe, and is of Eng- 
lish-Irish descent. Mr. and Mrs. Armstrong have two sons, John, a mem- 
ber of the class of 1923, and Jerome, of the class of 1924, in the San 
Bernardino High School. 

Charles Price Humphries — One of the best known citizens of the 
Ontario community is Charles Price Humphries. His friends know 
him as a man of ample prosperity, with a long record of success as a 
fruit rancher. A few know that when he came to California many 
years ago he possessed practically no capital beyond his individual 
enterprise and energy. 

He was born February 12, 1865, at Strathroy, Ontario, Canada, son 
of Samuel and Caroline (Bowen) Humphries. His maternal grand- 
father. Arthur William Bowen, was a major in the English Army, and 
for his services the English Government gave him extended conces- 
sions in and near Hamilton, Ontario. Charles Price Humphries was 
reared and educated in Strathroy, and at the age of sixteen became 
a clerk in a mercantile store at Wyoming, Ontario. A few years later 
he came to California and at San Jose during 1884-85 worked on a 
ranch to learn the fruit growing business. Subsequently he was at 
San Mateo and for two years had charge of the famous trotting stal- 
lion, Guy Wilkes, which held the Pacific Coast trotting record for a 
number of years, until it was taken away by another celebrated horse, 
Stamboul. Mr. Humphries was not inclined to follow racing as a 
permanent business, and finally, with perhaps a hundred dollars in 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 199 

capital, he started in a small way the growing of deciduous fruit, go- 
ing to Cucamonga in January, 1887, and purchasing five acres of land 
at two hundred dollars an acre. In March, 1894, he moved to On- 
tario, where he has had his home for over a quarter of a century and 
where from the first he engaged in the deciduous fruit business on an 
extensive scale. Mr. Humphries now has thirty-seven acres planted 
to peaches and apricots. He was among the first to make a commer- 
cial success of deciduous fruits in the Ontario district, and he was the 
very first man of that section to market direct the product of his 
orchard. For his first peaches he received six dollars a ton and eight 
dollars a ton for his apricots. The crop of 1920 he sold at a hundred 
dollars a ton for the peaches and ninety dollars for the apricots. 

Through many years of determined work and accumulating inter- 
ests Mr. Humphries is now comfortably prosperous, and has an in- 
come sufficient for his needs from his bonds of the Edison Electric 
Company and other companies and the rental of property he owns in 
Los Angeles and Glendale. While his extensive fruit orchards are a 
business that he could play with provided his inclinations ran to 
radical experiments. For several years he was a director in the 
Cucamonga Water Company. Mr. Humphries is a republican, is a 
past noble grand of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and past 
chief patriarch of the Encampment, and was secretary and in 1919 
was president of the Pioneer Society of Ontario. He is a member 
of the Methodist Church. His fruit ranch is a mile east of Ontario. 

At San Bernardino November 23, 1887, Mr. Humphries married 
Mary Richards, daughter of George and Lydia (Powell) Richards. 
Mr. and Mrs. Humphries have three children : Leland Richard mar- 
ried Olive M. Wilcox, and they have two children, Billie and Donald 
Wilbur ; Arthur Emerson married Helen Whitcher, and their two 
children are Arthur Wilbur and Ruth. The only daughter, Grace 
Winifred, is a teacher in the schools of Honolulu. Mrs. Humphries' 
father, a native of England, came to Canada at the age of four years 
with his parents, and was educated in Canada. Later he was inter- 
ested in the oil business at Petrolia, Ontario, Canada. Both her par- 
ents are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Humphries visited their daugh- 
ter in the Hawaiian Islands in the winter of 1920 and 1921, and while 
there he took an active interest in the working of the oldest Lodge 
of Odd Fellows west of the Rocky Mountains. An American ship 
captain established this lodge in 1847. Its charter called for the es- 
tablishment of a lodge in Oregon. The captain of the vessel sailed 
out of his course, and while in the Hawaiian Islands gathered enough 
members from his crew to establish a lodge under the charter. 

Joshua Clinton Draper. — In the passing of Joshua Clinton Draper, 
November 6, 1918. San Bernardino lost a citizen who was a valuable 
factor in both the business and social life of the city. He will he long 
remembered not alone by his friends, hut by his business associates, for 
lie was one of the few men who seem to radiate good will and kindness, 
and In- made life brighter and happier fur all with whom he came in 
contact. To know him was to be his friend, and his friendships he kepi 
inviolate. No one, either in the professional or business circles, had mure 
real, sincere friends than Mr. Draper. 

In business he stood very high and his reputation for uprightness and 
integrity was second to none. The traveling men were all his friends 
also, for he had a keen sense of humor and the rare gift of being able to 
appreciate a joke when it was on himself. Thev also knew that he lived 



1200 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

up to his high ideal of honor, and also that he was always willing to lend a 
helping hand to any one who needed it. 

Mr. Draper was born in Middletown, New York, September 6, 1880, 
the son of Edward Holt Draper, of New York, and May (Taylor) 
Draper, also a native of New York. His father was a stock dealer who 
came to San Bernardino and entered into the garage business with his 
son, Joshua Clinton Draper. He died in San Bernardino in 1916, his 
wife having passed on in Arizona in 1907. 

Joshua Clinton Draper was educated in the public schools of San 
Bernardino, graduating from its high school in 1899. He at once started 
to learn the machinist trade in the Santa Fe Shops, and in the fall of 
1906, in October, he started the garage business, which he conducted until 
his death in November, 1918. He had the Ford agency also for the city, 
being the first agent here for the Ford car. 

Since his death Mrs. Draper has carried on the garage business and 
has given it her personal supervision. She certainly has qualified as a 
business woman, as is shown by the success that has attended her 
management. 

Mr. Draper married in 1906 Miss Mabel Murray, a daughter of 
F. A. Murray, of Reno, Nevada, and Delia (Dolan) Murray. They 
became the parents of one child, Murray Draper, born in 1907, a student 
in the San Bernardino High School, class of 1924. 

Mr. Draper was a member of Phoenix Lodge No. 178, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons; of San Bernardino Lodge No. 836, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and of San Bernardino Aerie, Fraternal 
Order of Eagles. In politics he was a republican, and he was affiliated 
with the Episcopal Church. 

J. F. Montgomery, who was born September 6, 1843, at Middleboro, 
Massachusetts, and died at his home in Redlands June 5, 1918, was a suc- 
cessful New England business man and manufacturer, and one of many 
of the conservative and substantial element of the Eastern monied men 
who early realized the possibilities of the magnificent development that 
has taken place in Southern California and did not hesitate to put their 
means and personal energy into the development work. Mr. Montgomery 
was a careful and shrewd investor in Redlands property, and his activities 
and influence serve to make his name well remembered on the list of 
pioneers. 

He was liberally educated, took a civil engineering course in the Massa- 
chusetts Institute of Technology, was an engineer in early life and later 
was a stove and range manufacturer at Taunton, Massachusetts. This 
business gave him a secure financial position in the East. 

He paid his first visit to Redlands with a party of Eastern people about 
1890. The women members of the party remained in Redlands, while 
the men traveled by burros to Bear Valley to inspect the site of the dam. 
Mr. Montgomery was one of the early investors in the original Bear 
Valley project, which, while not a financial success, opened the way for the 
much greater work that has since taken place in the way of irrigation and 
power development. Mr. Montgomery again came to California in 1899 
as a tourist, and then purchased his first orange grove, consisting of five 
acres, bounded by Pacific, Cedar, Monterey and Crescent streets in Red- 
lands. The property is still owned by his children. Subsequently his son 
came out and selected a property in Redlands, and Mr. Montgomery dur- 
ing the winter of 1902-03 bought and occupied his home on West High- 
land Avenue and later erected the splendid residence now occupied by his 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1201 

daughter, Mrs. Folkiris and family. These were only a few of the for- 
tunate investments Mr. Montgomery made in California. He eventually 
disposed of his manufacturing interests in the East and concentrated all 
his holdings in California. He was an enthusiastic worker for a greater 
Redlands of the future, and his faith in the country, and his intimate and 
not exaggerated descriptions were the means of influencing many of his 
old time neighbors in the East to follow him. January 27, 1875, at Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, Mr. Montgomery married Miss Isadore L. Phillips, 
and they remained residents of that city for a quarter of a century. Mrs. 
Montgomery was born August 20, 1852, at Taunton, and died at Red- 
lands April 29, 1916. Mr. and Mrs. Montgomery had three children, 
two of whom survive. 

The son, Hugh Montgomery, who was born January 4, 1879, at Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, was educated in the Chauncey Hall School for Boys 
at Boston, and came to California in 1901, selecting the site of the beautiful 
Montgomery homestead, and after informing his father the latter wired 
him to purchase the property. Hugh Montgomery married Miss Pearl 
Washburn May 6, 1908. She is a member of a prominent Redlands family. 
They have two children: John Francis, born April 23, 1915, and Barbara, 
born June 20, 1917. Mr. Hugh Montgomery lives on Palm Avenue and 
owns individually some splendid citrus groves in this district and is also 
active manager for the joint holdings of himself and sister, comprising 
thirty-five acres of orange groves and a 400-acre fruit and grain ranch 
at Banning. 

The second child, Mary P. Montgomery, was born at Taunton, Massa- 
chusetts, October 10, 1880, was educated in the public schools and gradu- 
ated A. B. in 1902 from Wellesley College in Massachusetts. During 1912 
she attended Redlands University and received the Bachelor of Music 
degree and was a teacher in the music department of the local university 
from 1912 until February, 1915. April 8, 1915, she became the wife of 
Dr. Frank H. Folkins, of Redlands. Doctor Folkins was born at Center 
Point, Iowa, May 8, 1884, and studied medicine in the Iowa State Uni- 
versity, receiving his degree in 1910. On account of a breakdown in 
health he came to California and located at Redlands in the spring of 
1911, and in November of that year resumed active practice. In the fall 
of 1914 he was appointed city physician of Redlands, and gave most 
of his time to the duties of that office for four years. In the spring of 
1920, after a special course in San Francisco, he began confining his work 
to X-Ray diagnosis and examination. Doctor and Mrs. Folkins have two 
children: Richard Wilson, born March 12, 1917, and Hugh Montgomerv, 
born August 20, 1920. 

Friend Ives Lombra, chief of the fire department of Colton and head 
of the flourishing transfer business he established at Colton, is one of 
the best examples of the self-made man San Bernardino furnishes. Dur- 
ing the years he has lived at Colton he has not only acquired large means, 
but has also won and retained the full confidence of his fellow citizens, 
who recognize his many excellent characteristics and are proud of the 
record he has made both in office and as a business man. 

The birth of Mr. Lombra occurred at Wallingford, Connecticut, Octo- 
ber 23, 1881. He is a son of George W. and Ella E. Lombra. George 
W. Lombra was one of the original workers in the famous old box factory- 
owned by Charles Parker, where the sanding of coffee mills and similar 
products was first done by machinery. In those early times the workers 
were afforded no protection from the injurious effects of their trade, and 
George W. Lombra died at the age of forty-four years from the effects 



1202 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

of constant breathing of this fine sand dust. The grandfather of George 
W. Lombra was the original owner by a grant from the French Govern- 
ment of the land on which the City of Montreal, Canada, now stands. 
On his maternal side Chief Lombra, is descended from a passenger of the 
historic Mayflower. His grandmother's brother, Ben Robinson, was a 
flag-bearer in the Union Army during the war between the states, and his 
brother, Charles Robinson, was captured and for three years confined in 
Andersonville Prison. 

Mr. Lombra's educational training was received in his native town of 
Wallingford, and was completed with a business course in the same place. 
Deciding then to branch out for himself, he left home and started out on 
what was then the long trip to California, arriving at Colton September 12, 
1909, practically without funds, but possessed of ambition and the deter- 
mination to conquer circumstances. Immediately securing employment, 
he went to work and did so well and was so economical that within a year 
he was able to establish himself in business as a teamster. From time to 
time he has expanded his business and developed it into one of the leading 
transfer companies in this part of the county. While he has not striven 
for political honors he is a zealous republican. He is now serving his 
second term as chief of the fire department of Colton, and is one of the 
best men to hold this office. For a number of years he has been a promin- 
ent Odd Fellow, inheriting his interest in that order, as his grandfather 
was a charter member of Meridian Lodge No. 33, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, one of the earliest lodges of Connecticut. 

After coming to Colton Mr. Lombra married Miss Carrie E. Tillen, a 
member of one of the old families of the North and one prominent in the 
Union cause during the war between the North and the South. Mr. and 
Mrs. Lombra are very fine people, popular with a wide circle, and he is 
recognized as worthy the full confidence of his fellow townsmen. 

John Batiste Lafourcade owns and conducts one of the largest 
vineyards in Southern California controlled by an individual. The 
Lafourcade Packing House is three miles east of Cucamonga, on Foot- 
hill Boulevard, and his extensive vineyards are in the Etiwanda dis- 
trict. This brief article can barely suggest the superhuman energy, 
patience, courage and resourcefulness that enabled Mr. Lafourcade to 
achieve his place of preeminence among Southern California vine- 
yardists. 

He was born April 26, 1871, at Lahontan in Southern France, son 
of John and Jeanne (Minvelle) Lafourcade. His parents were natives 
of Southern France, his father born in 1840 and his mother in 1843, 
and his father was a grape grower and wine maker. John Batiste 
Lafourcade had the advantage of school only one year between the 
ages of nine and ten. He grew up in a vineyard, learned its work as 
rapidly as his strength developed, and he became well qualified in 
every branch of viticulture when a boy. When he left France to come 
to America he carried with him the highest credentials as to character 
and industry. He sailed from Bordeaux August 26, 1888, and after a 
tedious voyage landed at New Orleans and thence came direct to 
Pomona, California. For five years Mr. Lafourcade was at Puente as 
a vaquero, teamster and in other forms of hard labor. This was fol- 
lowed by a year of employment in the Brookside winery near Red- 
lands. 

Out of this season of hard labor his thrift had enabled him to save 
about twelve hundred dollars, which he deposited in the American 
National Bank of Pomona. In the meantime the Nesbit Brothers had 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1203 

cleared land and planted a large acreage at Etiwanda to prunes, 
peaches and apricots. It was an enterprise that came to disaster and 
the firm failed, owing the bank at Pomona about twelve thousand 
dollars. The bank held the land as security, though this security was 
regarded as practically worthless. 

It was at this juncture that Mr. Lafourcade investigated the prop- 
osition, and succeeded in making arrangements with the bank to at- 
tempt to restore the property to usefulness. The contract was that 
he was to receive no salary, and depend on results for his compensa- 
tion. He moved into an old house, living among the Chinamen who 
were working on the land, and he himself worked like a slave for a 
year. In this time he had spent all his accumulated twelve hundred 
dollars of savings, and had to acknowledge that the orchard was hope- 
less. The only encouraging result of his year's labor was his discov- 
ery that the soil was much like that of his native Southern France, 
well adapted for vines. With this knowledge he went to the bank 
and after explaining how he had spent the savings of his years and 
could promise no results along the lines of the original proposition, 
he said if he could be given a contract of sale with the privilege of 
destroying the deciduous trees and planting grapes in their stead he 
could promise a thriving industry and one that would show profit in 
time. The president of the American National Bank of Pomona ac- 
cepted the proposition. Mr. Lafourcade assumed the heavy obliga- 
tion, used the old trees for fence posts, to wire the rabbits out of his 
vineyards, and he was also accorded the privilege of a checking ac- 
count for bare expenses. This credit was granted wholly on his 
good name and the confidence inspired by him in the banking offi- 
cials. Having this contract Mr. Lafourcade toiled long hours, fought 
the north winds and drifting sand, and for the first two years there 
was an unprecedented rainfall. There was no irrigation, and he even 
hauled domestic water the first two years. People thought him in- 
sane and ignorant when he planted grape cuttings in the bare desert 
sand without water. His first purchase contract covered a hundred 
and fifty acres, and for this he went in debt thirteen thousand dollars 
at five per cent, the understanding being that he was to be allowed 
to draw checks if he was able to show satisfactory results. For six- 
teen years Mr. Lafourcade carried on the struggle involved in im- 
proving the land and getting his vineyard into bearing. On Decem- 
ber 23, 1891, his loan was called. At that time the debt stood at 
twenty-one thousand dollars. In the meantime he had increased his 
holdings to three hundred acres. He insured his life for fifteen thou- 
sand dollars, and with this and his real estate was able to effect a 
loan of twenty-one thousand dollars to pay off the bank in full. He 
thus saved the institution a heavy loss and at last was on his feet 
financially. Since then prosperity has come with undiminished regu- 
larity and mounting in volume until he is one of the foremost indi- 
vidual grape growers in California, having 780 acres, with 110 acres 
in wine grapes and the rest in raisin and table grapes. In 1918 he 
constructed a modern dehydrating plant with modern raisin storage 
and packing house, and also has a complete winery with a capacity of 
forty-five thousand gallons annually. Mr. Lafourcade was the first 
in this district to sink a deep water well. This well is 630 feet deep 
and the water list is 360 feet. It has an ample flow to provide suffi- 
cient irrigation fur his entire acreage, from 80 to 100 inches out of the 
well. 



1204 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

On June 2, 1902, Mr. Lafourcade married Miss Josephine Lastiry, 
who was born in Southern Spain, of pure Castilian stock, in June 24, 
1881. She came to America a short time before her marriage and 
lived at West Riverside. Mr. and Mrs. Lafourcade have a fine fam- 
ily of seven children : Emma, born August 24, 1905 ; Francisco and 
John Batiste, twins, born August 8, 1908; Marie Louise, born No- 
vember 6, 1909; Josephine, born December 16, 1910; Pierre, born 
September 4, 1914; and Marguerite, born May 18, 1919. The family 
are devout Catholics and Mr. Lafourcade is a republican voter. 

The vineyards and manufacturing plant owned by Mr. Lafourcade 
speaks for themselves as one of California's prominent industries. 
But the chief factors in making these possible were the strenuous 
energy, the absolute honesty and integrity of Mr. Lafourcade himself. 

Norman S. Hawes. — This veteran soldier of the Union has been 
identified with the citizenship of Riverside more than thirty years, and 
the business which he founded here is still continued by one of his sons. 

Mr. Hawes was born at Reading, Hillsdale County. Michigan, October 
28, 1842. His family name was written in the record of births as Hause, 
and it is said that when he was a boy of about fifteen he proposed to his 
father that they change the spelling to Hawes. which was done, though 
his uncles and other members of the family still continue the old spelling. 

The record of the Hause family runs back to William Hause, who was 
born February 24, 1750. He married Martha Wood, who was born 
May 4, 1753, and died September 8, 1818. Of their fourteen children 
William Hause, Jr., was born November 22, 1781, and died January 2, 
1825. April 7, 1804, he married Esther Sanford, who was born Septem- 
ber 22, 1785. They were the parents of ten children. Of these Jesse J. 
Hause was born June 23, 1808, and married Sally Swarthout, who was 
born September 2, 1S07. Heman C. Hause, a brother of Jesse J. Hause, 
was the father of the old soldier and Riverside resident. Heman C. 
Hause was born May 13, 1813, and died August 11, 1872. On November 
26, 1832, he married Maria Elvira Bacon, who died May 20, 1852. The 
second wife of Heman Hause was Adaline L. Holt. 

Norman S. Hawes was the fifth in a family of seven children. His 
brother Edward R. was a Union soldier and died in the service. Another 
brother, Andrew J., enlisted in the Eleventh Michigan, but was rejected 
on account of age, and subsequently enlisted in the Seventeenth Michigan 
Infantry and served until discharged on account of disability. He finally 
joined Battery D of the First Michigan Light Artillery, and was in 
service until the close of the war. 

Norman S. Hawes received his education in the schools of Litchfield, 
Michigan, and the country schools of Branch County, and was identified 
with the work of his father's farm until he joined the army in September. 
1861. His military service is compiled from the official account drawn 
up by the Soldiers and Sailors Historical and Benevolent Society. He 
was a member of the famous First Regiment, Michigan Light Artillery 
Battery D, under command of Capt. Josiah W. Church and known as 
Church's Battery. Norman Hawes enlisted September 17. 1861. from 
Branch County to serve three years. He was mustered in at White 
Pigeon, Michigan, September 17th as a private in Battery D, commanded 
successively by Capt. William W. Andrews, Capt. Alonza F. Bidwell 
and Capt. Josiah W. Church. This battery was organized in White 
Pigeon and mustered in September 17th and attached to the Fourteenth 
Army Corps. It was on duty at Camp Robinson and Louisville. Ken- 
tucky, until January, 1862, and then went by boat down the Ohio and up 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1205 

the Cumberland to Spring Hill, south of Nashville, Tennessee. Mr. 
Hawes was taken ill and sent home on a discharged furlough, but rejoined 
his battery after the battle of Stone River in the concluding days of the 
year 1862. The battery was then ordered to Triune, where it remained 
several months, until the advance of Rosecrans on Chattanooga. The 
first engagement on his return was at Hoover's Gap and then at Win- 
chester, Tennessee, where the regiment remained a few weeks. Then cross- 
ing the Tennessee River at Stevenson, Alabama, it advanced over Lookout 
Mountain down into the Chickamauga Valley. In September, 1863, the 
battery was assigned to the First Brigade, Third Division. It reached 
Growers Ford on the Chickamauga September 18th and participated in the 
great battle of that name on the following day, rendering conspicuous serv- 
ice, no battery in that memorable battle being handled more skillfully or 
doing greater execution. The battery occupied Fort Negley at Chattanooga. 
In November following the battery assisted in shelling the enemy on 
Lookout Mountain when General Hooker was advancing across the face 
of the mountain, and also participated in the assault on Missionary Ridge 
November 25th. From March until December, following the battery was 
at Murtreesboro, Tennessee, and then was sent back to Nashville, Tennes- 
see, where they remained in camp during the winter. The following 
spring they marched to Murfreesboro and occupied Fort Rosecrans dur- 
ing the remainder of the war. 

Norman S. Hawes was in all the engagements of his battery excepting 
the time he was in the hospital and at home and was always at his post of 
duty and achieved a gallant record for meritorious service and soldierlv 
conduct. He left the battery at Columbia, Tennessee, and was in the 
hospital, later at Nashville, and was furloughed home and after recovering 
reported at Detroit and rejoined the battery at Murfreesboro. At Louis- 
ville, while in drill, he was injured when a team fell on him, causing 
injury to neck and spine which has ever since affected him. For a time he 
was a nurse in the smallpox hospital at Louisville. His certificate of hon- 
orable discharge was dated at Nashville, September 17, 1864. 

After leaving the army Mr. Hawes returned to Butler, Michigan, and 
helped his uncle complete a school building. A teacher being needed for 
the school, he took the examination and, passing the highest marks of all 
the applicants, was given the school and at the end of the year was com- 
plimented by the board for having the most orderly and best attended 
school in the district. Following that he took a high school teacher's 
course at Coldwater, and following that was given a school in Quincy 
Township of Branch County. His pupils stood high in the usual branches 
and he was especially commended for his classes in singing and debating. 
He taught another term at Butler and then went on the road as a sales- 
man selling sewing machines, and had a store at Hillsdale, Michigan. 
Later he went on the road for the firm of Whitney & Currier of Toledo, 
Ohio, selling organs and pianos. That was his business for fifteen years, 
and in 1888 Mr. Hawes came to Riverside and opened an establishment 
of his own in the Tetley Hotel Block, selling pianos and other musical 
instruments, sewing machines and bicycles. He prospered, and with in- 
creasing business moved his quarters to the Frederick Block, and continued 
there until he retired, since which time the business has been conducted by 
his son, H. W. Hawes. 

Mr. Hawes is an honored member of Riverside Post No. 118, Depart- 
ment of California and Nevada, Grand Army of the Republic, and was 
elected senior vice commander of his post for 1915 and commander in 1916. 
He is affiliated with the Masonic Order and the Fraternal Aid Association. 



1206 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

In Branch County, Michigan, April 2, 1866, Mr. Hawes married Miss 
Sarah A. Dickerson. Her father, Alonzo Dickerson, and her brothers, 
Joseph and Melvin M. Dickerson, were also Union soldiers in Michigan 
regiments. Mrs. Hawes was an invalid for many years of her life, passing 
away December 19, 1920. She was born May' 31, 1849. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hawes had four children. The oldest, Flora Winifred, was born March 6, 
1867, and died November 5, 1888. Harry Wilford Hawes, successor to his 
father's business, was born December 20, 1868, and on November 1, 1900, 
married Minnie L. Stratton, born September 28, 1872. Their three chil- 
dren are named Ethel Winifred, born February 5, 1902; Lillian Josephine, 
born March 6, 1905, and Harold Wilford, born January 13, 1910. 

The second son of Mr. Hawes is Frederick Norman, who was born 
April 17, 1872. February 1, 1898, he married Alice Belle Hersey, who 
was born July 27, 1875. They are the parents of a son, James Hersey 
Hawes, born October 24, 1908. 

The youngest son, Roy Currier Hawes, was born January 8, 1877. and 
on May 19, 1900, married Annabel Allen, who was born January 28, 1877. 
Their four children were: Wilford Allen, born March 31, 1901, and died 
August 25th of the same year; Roland Cyril, born October 4, 1908; Sarah 
Elizabeth, born December 4, 1911, and Norman Worth Hawes, born 
November 1, 1914. 

Pressbury W. Lord has been a Calif ornian for nearly forty years. He 
was born at Quebec, Canada, May 23, 1863, being a son of Henry Lewis 
Lord and Mary Jane (Cross) Lord. His parents were also natives of 
Canada, his father being of English ancestry and his mother's people from 
the North of Ireland. 

His early years were spent on his father's farm. He enjoyed the 
benefit of the good schools of the country, the latter two years being 
spent at Inverness Academy. At the age of twenty he and his brother, 
the late Loren C. Lord, came West to British Columbia, then to California, 
and for ten years they engaged in mining operations in Sierra County, 
California. Mr. Lord still has mining interests there. From Sierra County 
he moved to Los Angeles and then to Pasadena, where he was engaged 
in business for ten years. In 1902 he came to Riverside, where he was 
associated with William Elliott in the business of promoting the 
"Elliott Springs Mineral Water." The success of this enterprise led 
naturally to the establishment of the Riverside Soda Works, which he and 
his brother developed and operated, their products being distributed over 
all Southern California. The most famous of these beverages is the 
Rubidoux brand of Ginger Ale. He is now retired from active business, 
but still retains an interest in the business at Riverside. Mr. Lord is a 
republican. He has worked conscientiously and whole-heartedly in the in- 
terests of his party and good government. In November, 1918, lie was 
elected to represent the Fourth Ward in the City Council, which office 
he filled satisfactorily and he has been re-elected for another term. 

On May 28, 1902, Mr. Lord was united in marriage with Rebecca M. 
Muir, a native of Nova Scotia and a daughter of Capt. John and Mary 
Muir. The older daughter, Phyllis Arline, is a graduate of Pomona 
College at Claremont, and is teaching art in Pasadena. Miss Lilla Dale, 
the younger daughter, is at home with her parents. She is engaged in 
secretarial work with the Pacific Telephone & Telegraph Company. 

On July 6, 1921, Phyllis Lord married Kenneth Morgan, engaged in 
electrical engineering with the Pacific Telephone & Telegraph Company 
of Los Angeles. He is a graduate of Pomona College, and his technical 
knowledge was acquired at the Massachusetts School of Technology. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1207 

San Bernardino Aerie No. 506, Fraternal Order of Eagles has 
been an institution of growing power and influence in the city for eighteen 
years. It was instituted October 16, 1903, with a charter membership of 
131. The first meeting was held in Damron Hall at 541 Third Street, and 
of the officers chosen who are still members mention is made of Joseph 
Ingersoll, past worthy president, Harry Groves, worthy president, and 
R. B. Goodcell, trustee. The second meeting was held in Native Sons 
Hall, now occupied by Chocolate Palace. The Aerie prospered both finan- 
cially and numerically, and toward the end of 1908 they purchased the lease 
and furniture of the Elks Club, and on January 1, 1909, held their first 
meeting in the new Eagles Hall in the Home Telephone Building. The 
six years they occupied this home was a period of steady growth and 
prosperity, and in November, 1917, the Brunn property, ground and build- 
ing, was bought and on a portion of the ground the new building erected. 
It has the distinction of being the only fraternal building in the city 
financed without the sale of stock or shares to members. This building 
has the finest auditorium in the city. To satisfy the requirements of the 
immediate future plans have been made, with the clearing away of the 
indebtedness of the Aerie, to remove the old portion of the building and 
cover the entire site, 75 x 120 feet, with a two-story structure to be 
utilized altogether for fraternal purposes. 

This Aerie has performed its functions as a fraternal institution, and 
through the privileges and advantages conferred its membership has had 
a steady increase. Of the charter list of 131, only 33 are now on the 
rolls, the greater part of the remainder having been called by death. The 
present membership is 685. During the World war forty-nine from this 
Aerie answered the call to the colors, though fortunately none made the 
supreme sacrifice. During the war the auditorium was always ready and 
free for patriotic movements. A familiar expression was "If you want 
any help, a place to meet, the use of dishes or tables, go to the Eagles." 
This Aerie bought $3,000 in Liberty Bonds, and at all times encouraged the 
members to do their best. During the influenza epidemic the Aerie lost 
twelve of its members, with nearly a hundred ill with that disease, but 
every dollar of sick and death benefit was promptly paid. The records 
show that since the Aerie was instituted over $20,000 have been expended 
in sick and funeral benefits. The Aerie motto is: "If I can't speak well 
of a man I wont speak ill of him." The aim is : "To make the world a 
better place for men and women to live in." 

The present list of officers are : Junior past worthy president, Frank 
T. Bates; worthy president, Charles E. Showalter ; worthy vice president, 
Douglas Shaw ; worthy chaplain, M. Firebaugh ; treasurer, A. Mespelt 
since 1907; secretary, James Cunnison since 1912; inside guard, C. H. 
Cosner ; outside guard, John Molnar ; conductor, Lloyd E. Collins ; trustees, 
Harry A. Snyder, W. J. Hanford. James C. Amos; physician, Steele 
Forsythe. Our colors — Red-White-Blue. 

Clifford M. Huston is showing in a significant way his desire to 
make the bank of which he is the cashier a medium of effective serv- 
ice in the community, and under his careful and progressive adminis- 
tration the Citizens National Bank of Rialto, San Bernardino County, 
has had much to gain and nothing to lose. 

Mr. Huston was born at Salem, Indiana, August 11, 1884, gained 
his early education in the public schools of the old Hoosier State and 
thereafter continued his studies in the Indiana State Normal School 
at Marion, he having depended on his own resources in meeting the 
expenses of his higher education. Ha continued his association with 



1208 SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

farm enterprise in Indiana until he decided to come to California. 
Upon arriving in the City of Chicago he found that the railroad fare 
to California was much in excess of his available funds, and under 
these conditions he invested in a scalper's ticket to Denver, Colorado. 
His depleted finances made it essential for him to replenish the same 
without delay, and he found employment in a Denver hotel, where he 
received one dollar a day and his board. In this way he finally saved 
enough money to pay his railway fare to California, and in 1904 he 
arrived at Rialto, San Bernardino County, with a full supply of am- 
bition and determination but with his cash capital reduced to twenty- 
six cents, besides which he owed $200, which sum he had borrowed to 
enable him to complete his educational course in the normal school. 
At Rialto he first found employment in a fruit-packing house, and he 
soon won advancement to the position of foreman in this establish- 
ment, that of the California Citrus Union. After saving a sufficient 
sum to justify such action Mr. Huston purchased ten acres of unim- 
proved land at Rialto, together with water right, this property being 
situated on South Riverside Avenue. In 1913-14 he planted this 
tract to oranges, and, notwithstanding that he was in debt and that 
freezing weather killed many of his trees the first winter, he charac- 
teristically refused to be discouraged or to be deflected from the 
course to which he had set himself. He has shown in every stage of 
his progressive career that he has none of the attributes of a "quit- 
ter," and self-reliance, circumspection and determination have enabled 
him to win out. In the early days of his independent enterprise here 
he frequently drove a mule team by day and irrigated his orange 
grove at night, and to-day he is the owner of one of the finely im- 
proved citrus fruit groves of this section of the state. Mr. Huston 
was here prior to the opening of any bank, and he readily discerned 
the community need for such an institution. Though he was offered 
the position of manager of a packing house, he refused this proffer 
and upon the organization of the First National Bank of Rialto he 
was early selected as one of its office executives. He won promotion 
to the position of assistant cashier, and continued his efficient service 
with this institution for a period of twelve years. Thus fortified with 
thorough knowledge of the details of the banking business and from 
early experience realizing the large part a properly regulated bank 
could play in connection with industrial advancement and stability, 
through his familiarity with farm life in his vouth and his active 
identification with fruit culture in California he began to consult 
ways and means for establishing a bank that should be equipped to 
aid those who needed financial support, whether rich or poor and 
without reference to social caste. After a thorough survey of the 
situation he gained the co-operation of men whose standing- was such 
as to justify their selection, and in November. 1920, the Citizens Na- 
tional Bank of Rialto opened its doors for business. He effected the 
organization and incorporation of this institution, and has been its 
cashier from the beginning, while he is making its politics conform to 
his ideas as to the nroper functions which it should exercise in the 
community. The other executive officers of the bank are as here 
noted: Wilmot T. Smith, president; H. A. Brimmer, vice president: 
John Cox, vice president; and Lloyd A. Mills, assistant cashier. In 
addition to the president and vice presidents the directorate of the 
institution includes also T- T. Canaday, C. E. McLaughlin, W. Mc- 
Kinley and W. A. Needham. The stockholders are seventy-five in 
number, and most of them are residents of the community in which 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1209 

the bank is established, its operations being based on a paid-up cap- 
ital stock of $25,000. The total resources of the bank on the day of 
its opening were $45,000, and at the end of the fiscal year these had 
been increased to $142,000. The bank is admirably serving its pa- 
trons, especially in connection with the handling and marketing of 
orchard products and helping onward to independence many whose 
financial circumstances make such interposition temporarily impera- 
tive. Founded and conducted on such a basis of practical service, the 
Citizens National Bank is destined to continue a power for good in 
the community in which it is established. Mr. Huston has made his 
own way toward the goal of worthy success, has a fine sense of per- 
sonal stewardship and has found many ways in which to exert helpful 
influence in connection with civic and business affairs in the county 
and state of his adoption. His wife, whose maiden name was Mary 
E. Foulke, was born in Kansas, August 29, 1885, and is a daughter of 
the late Morris E. Foulke, to whom a memoir is dedicated in the follow- 
ing sketch. Mr. and Mrs. Huston have one child, Lucille, who was born 
January 22, 1917. 

Morris E. Foulke, whose death occurred July 1, 1917, was one of 
the honored pioneer exponents of civic and material development and 
progress in the Rialto district of San Bernardino County, and was a 
citizen whose sterling character and worthy achievement entitle him 
to special tribute in this history. 

Mr. Foulke was born at Chesterfield, Ohio, February 27, 1850, 
and was reared to manhood in the old Buckeye State, where he re- 
ceived good educational advantages, as is indicated by the fact that 
he became when a young man a successful teacher in the schools of 
Ohio. He finally migrated to Iowa and taught school, and later he 
removed to Kansas, where he continued his active alliance with agri- 
cultural industry. At Garnette, that state, in 1877, was solemnized 
his marriage with Miss Anzanetta Miles, who was born at West 
Branch, Ohio, November 23, 1851, and who survived him by about 
four years, she having met a tragic death on the 13th of November, 
1921, when, in crossing the highway near her home at Rialto, she was 
struck by an automobile and received injuries that resulted in her 
death shortly afterward. Mr. and Mrs. Foulke were birthright mem- 
bers of the Society of Friends, and exemplified their gentle and noble 
Christian faith in their every-day lives. They became the parents of 
five children: William was born in December, 1881, and died eight 
months later. Lambert J. was born December 8, 1883, and died in 
December, 1904. Mary E., who was born at the old home in Kansas, 
August 29, 1885. was about two years old at the time of the family 
removal to California and was reared 'in San Bernardino County, 
where she was graduated from the high school in the City of San 
Bernardino, after which she was graduated from the State Normal 
School at San Diego. She taught three years in the public schools 
at Fontana and one year at Lapland, and she is now the wife of C. M. 
Huston, cashier of the Citizens National Bank of Rialto and the sub- 
ject of the personal sketch preceding this. Frances, the next younger of 
the children, was born at Rialto, in 1888, and died at the age of eight 
months. Charles, who was born at West Rialto, in 1890, was gradu- 
ated from the San Bernardino High School and later from Leland Stan- 
ford, Jr., University, from which he received the degree of Civil Engineer. 
He is now engaged in the practice of his profession, with residence at San 



1210 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Bernardino. He married Miss Olive Hill, of Highland, this state, and 
they have one child, Eleanor, born November 24, 1917. 

Mr. Foulke continued his residence in Kansas until 1887, in which 
year he came with his family to California. In 1890 he purchased 
twenty acres of barren desert land, now at the corner of Maple Avenue 
and Foothill Boulevard, at Rialto, instituted the reclamation and im- 
provement of the tract and after erecting a house on the place he and 
his wife there established their home. He was one of the first to 
institute the development of the wild and forbidding land of this now 
opulent and beautiful district of San Bernardino County, and he made 
his land into one of the valuable orange groves of the county. He 
there maintained his home until his death. In driving from Rialto to 
his land in the early days he told his companions that it was advis- 
able to drive in a straight line, as some day the course would become 
a part of a main highway to Los Angeles. He lived to see the im- 
provement of this now important boulevard, and it was while at- 
tempting to cross the same that his widow met her death, as noted in 
a preceding paragraph. Mr. Foulke was an uncompromising oppo- 
nent of the liquor traffic, worked earnestly in behalf of temperance 
and was a staunch supporter of the principles and cause of the pro- 
hibition party. His memory and that of his gentle and noble wife 
are held in affectionate regard by all who came within the sphere of 
their benign influence. 

Ralph David Bailey. — One of the best known men engaged in the 
insurance and brokerage business in San Bernardino and Riverside coun- 
ties is Ralph David Bailey, whose headquarters are located at Colton. 
His connection with his present business has gained him a wide acquaint- 
ance, among whom his genial disposition, his loyalty and his constant in- 
clination to be helpful to his fellows have made him a general favorite. A 
peculiar and particular genius is necessary to the man who would be 
successful in selling insurance and in acting as a general broker. Many 
men who have risen to prominence in other lines have scored naught but 
failures when they have entered the insurance and brokerage field. Mr. 
Bailey, however, possesses the essential qualities of acumen, a pleasing 
personality and a thorough knowledge of human nature, and with these as 
his stock in trade has achieved an enviable success. 

Mr. Bailey comes of Scotch-Irish and English descent, and was born 
at Marshalltown, Iowa, November 12, 1877, a son of Richard H. and 
Matilda Bailey. His father, born in Illinois, was a merchant at Atlantic, 
Iowa, for thirty-five years, but in 1917 retired from business and moved 
to Los Angeles, California, where he now makes his home, as does also 
Mrs. Bailey, who is a native of Ohio. Ralph D. Bailey attended the public- 
schools of Atlantic, Iowa, where he was graduated from the high school 
in June, 1898, and in June of the following year completed a commercial 
course in a business college in that city. When he left school he joined 
his father in the mercantile business at Atlantic, and continued to be 
engaged therein from 1899 to 1901, in the latter year becoming book- 
keeper in the Atlantic National Bank. In 1899 he had come to California 
to spend the winter, and at that time became so favorably impressed with 
the state that he resolved to return at a future date. This he did in 1902, 
when he resigned as bookkeeper of the Atlantic National Bank and came 
to Colton, where he was variously employed until 1905. In that year he 
was made assistant cashier of the First National Bank of Colton, and 
continued in that capacity for seven years. He entered the general insur- 
ance and brokerage business in 1912, and has remained therein to the 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1211 

present time, his operations covering San Bernardino and Riverside coun- 
ties. Mr. Bailey's success has been self-gained, as his reputation has been 
self-built, and both are on a substantial basis. He occupies a well-estab- 
lished place in the confidence of those with whom he has had business 
transactions, and is a director in the First National Bank of Colton, hav- 
ing held a position on that directorate since 1917. Politically he is a 
republican, but his connection with politics is only that of a public-spirited 
citizen interested in the welfare of his community. Since he reached his 
majority he has been a member of the Masons and the Order of the 
Eastern Star, and likewise holds membership in the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks. With his family he belongs to the Congregational 
Church. 

On September 14, 1909, at Redlands, California, Mr. Bailey was 
united in marriage with Miss Ethel M. Webb, a daughter of Gilbert and 
Kate Webb, of Los Angeles, California, where Gilbert Webb, one of the 
early settlers of the city, was engaged in the contracting business and built 
the first street railways. To Mr. and Mrs. Bailey there have come two 
children : David Webb, born in 1912, and Richard Gilbert, born in 1916. 

Frederick Thomas Perris. — As a builder and developer of town 
and country it is but exact justice that the name of Frederick Thomas 
Perris be honored for all time in San Bernardino. He was an engineer 
by profession, accustomed to handling large constructive projects, and 
his broad vision and exalted purpose enabled him to estimate the pos- 
sibilities of the future and identify himself most unselfishly with those 
causes and undertakings that are regarded as the source of the 
wonderful present prosperity for this valley. 

While for so many years his interests were identified with San 
Bernardino and vicinity, Frederick Thomas Perris was in another 
sense a man of the world. He was born at Gloucester, England, 
January 21, 1837, son of Thomas and Hannah Rebecca (Spiller) 
Perris. When he was about twelve years of age he and his mother 
went to Melbourne, Australia, and he completed his education there, 
receiving his training as a civil engineer at Melbourne. On his way 
to Australia he stopped at San Francisco, seeing America for the first 
time in 1849. In 1853 the family returned to America, and Mr. Perris 
was employed in doing a large amount of professional work on the 
Pacific Coast for the United States Government and the State of 
California in the capacity of deputy' United States mineral surveyor 
and surveyor. He was naturalized at Salt Lake, Utah, August 30, 
1858, by W. J. Appleby, clerk, and Curtis E. Bolton, deputy. 
November 29, 1858, he departed from New York for Liverpool on the 
steamship Thornton, Captain Collins, going abroad for the purpose 
of marriage. He was married at Cheltenham, England, May 5, 1859. 

After his return to America with his wife he did his first railroad 
work in the early '60s on the Union Pacific during its construction, 
under Samuel B. Reed. October 12, 1863, he was appointed territorial 
surveyor for the northeastern portions of Utah Territory by Jesse W. 
Fox, territorial surveyor general. 

Later he returned to England to settle his father's estate, and 
while there he was for a time a photographer. Leaving his native 
country, he returned to Salt Lake, where he was in business for a 
number of years, chiefly as a dry goods merchant and as a printer. 

From Salt Lake he journeyed by ox teams to San Bernardino in 
1874, and from that time remained a resident of the city rntil his 
death on May 12, 1916. For many years he was identified with this 



1212 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

section of California both in a professional and official capacity. He 
served as county surveyor and deputy United States mineral sur- 
veyor from 1874 to 1879. He was editor of the first newspaper pub- 
lished in San Bernardino. He helped survey the Rancho San Ber- 
nardino and its subdivisions, and acted as assistant engineer for James 
D. Schuyler of the State Engineering Department in measuring water 
in the valley of San Bernardino and locating the reservoir sites of 
both Big and Little Bear Valley. He also laid out the City of San 
Bernardino. 

December 1. 1880, Mr. Perris entered the service of the California 
Southern Railway, now the Santa Fe, at San Diego, as assistant engi- 
neer to Joseph O. Osgood. The previous year, in 1879, when it 
became known that G. B. Wilber and L. G. Pratt of Boston were 
to visit Southern California as representatives of eastern capitalists 
in railroad matters, San Bernardino citizens called a mass meeting 
and appointed Mr. Perris and John Isaacs for the purpose of visit- 
ing San Diego and interesting visitors in the advantages afforded 
by the San Bernardino Valley. As a result of this conference, Wilber 
and Pratt visited San Bernardino, carefully inspected the country, and 
decided on the Cajon route from San Diego to San Bernardino. Then, 
as noted, Mr. Perris was engaged as assistant engineer and super- 
vised the construction of the Southern California road to San Ber- 
nardino and also from San Bernardino to Barstow, and as a result 
of this early effort on his part and local citizens San Bernardino has 
for many years had the asset of the railroad shops and extensive rail- 
road facilities. While in the employ of the railroad company he built 
practically all the lines comprising the Los Angeles Division. During 
the latter part of 1882 he was appointed chief engineer of the Cali- 
fornia Southern, now the Los Angeles Division. September 13, 1883, 
he drove the first passenger train into San Bernardino from Los 
Angeles and sounded the first locomotive whistle to be heard in 
San Bernardino. In 1900 he was made manager of the Santa Fe's 
oil properties, and during his work as chief engineer the change in 
fuel for locomotives was made, the working plans and designs 
necessary to accomplish this almost revolutionary method of fueling 
locomotives being prepared in his office about 1894. Mr. Perris was 
retired from the active service of the Santa Fe on a pension October 1, 
1914, less than two years before his death. 

In the forty years he lived here his public spirit was a constant 
source of good to the community, which he loved and which he was 
ready to serve to the utmost. In 1889 he was a member of the 
Board of Trustees and in the early '90s was connected with the 
Arrowhead Reservoir and Power Company as consulting engineer. 
He was a member of the first Board of Water Commissioners, and 
all his earnings in that capacity were donated to the various churches 
of the city in an absolutely non-sectarian manner, not a dollar being 
used for personal use. Through his efforts the city is largely indebted 
for the present Carnegie Library. He took up the matter with Mr. 
Carnegie through prominent Santa Fe officials in the East and suc- 
ceeded in securing a larger appropriation than was originally intended. 

Mr. Perris was a director and stockholder in the Farmers and 
Merchants Bank of San Bernardino and a stockholder and director 
in the San Bernardino Valley Bank. Considering all his activities 
and the influences that emanated from him no individual name could be 
more justly chosen for designation of local geography. He is honored by 
the Town of Perris, Perris Hill and Perris Avenue. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1213 

May 5, 1859, at Cheltenham, England, lie married Mary Annette 
Edwards, daughter of George and Anne Vizor (Millwater) Edwards. 
The children of this marriage were: Oscar W., who married Gertrude 
Heap; Walter F., unmarried; Arthur E., who married Maude Tinkle- 
paugh ; Cora A., who became the wife of Samuel Leffen ; Florence M., 
wife of B. F. Levet; and Maude I., who was married to Harvey 
Carpenter. 

Henry C. McAllister. — There is no doubt but that unusual oppor- 
tunities for advancement are offered in the West, but it is equally 
true that only exceptional men are able to take advantage of them 
and through them reach positions of weight in their communities. 
The fact that they do see and embrace these openings proves that 
they have abilities above the ordinary, or they, like their associates, 
would not recognize that the chance was at hand for their taking. 
There is no such thing as blind luck. Every promotion, each 
advance, is the natural result of carefully directed effort, conscientious 
work and intelligent forethought. Especially is this true with refer- 
ence to the positions connected with the great corporations of any 
city. Merit alone wins; there are no favorites. The stockholders 
have to be shown a certain amount of profit as a just return on their 
investment, and the directors place in charge of the affairs of the 
company men of proved ability. When the directors of the Southern 
California Gas Company selected Henry C. McAllister for the position 
of division manager they chose the very best man for it, and one who 
had been connected with this concern, through its various changes, 
for over twelve years, and steadily risen through successive promo- 
tions until he was the logical candidate and one who had the entire 
details at his disposal. 

Henry C. McAllister was born at Sutton, New Hampshire, 
February 18, 1873, and comes of Scotch ancestry. He is a son of 
C. W. and Adalaide (Kendrick) McAllister, who was born at Toronto, 
Canada, on February 22, 1876. After he had completed the grammar 
and high school courses of Warner, New Hampshire, Henry C. 
McAllister entered the employ of the Northern Railroad Company at 
Concord, New Hampshire, and remained in railroad work until 1909, 
when he came West, locating at San Bernardino, which has since 
continued to be his place of residence. For a short time after his 
arrival in this city he was a clerk for the Santa Fe Railroad Company, 
and then entered the old San Bernardino Gas and Electric Company, 
remaining with it when it was sold to the Pacific Light & Power 
Company, and with the present corporation, the Southern California 
Gas Company, when it purchased the gas interests. 

Mr. McAllister married Beatrice Winstanley Bell, September 27, 
1898. Mr. McAllister and his wife have a daughter, Mildred, who 
was born September 11, 1899, at Worcester, Massachusetts. She was 
married to Virgil S. Rucker June 20, 1921, at San Bernardino. 

Naturally a public spirited man, Mr. McAllister has long been 
a member of the San Bernardino Chamber of Commerce, and is now 
a member of its Board of Directors. For several years he has served 
as a member of the National Orange Show Association, and is a 
director of the San Bernardino Valley Bank. Fraternally he has long 
maintained membership with the Masons, Odd Fellows and Elks, and 
is very popular in these orders. Mr. McAllister is proud of his record 
as a republican, for ever since he cast his first vote he has given his 
support to the candidates of his party, and is in thorough accord 



1214 SAN BERXARD1XO AXD RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

with its principles. While not a member of any religious organiza- 
tion, he attends the services of the Congregational Church. A level 
headed man of affairs. Mr. McAllister deserves the position he 
occupies with his company and in his community, and is one of the 
best examples of the substantial business man San Bernardino County 
affords. 

William Babel — There was a time, and not so far in the past, when 
none but the foreign health resorts were recognized as being of great 
value in the treatment of certain diseases. One of the results of the 
great war has been the recognition by the American people of the 
natural resources of their own country and the appreciation of the 
real virtue of the waters of some of the springs, especially those in the 
West. Within recent years Harlem Springs has come into its own, 
and is now conceded to be a strong factor, among the many others, 
in bringing San Bernardino before the favorable notice of the coun- 
try, if not of the world. These springs are now operated by a cor- 
poration known as the Harlem Resort Company, but the medicinal 
properties of the water and mud and the air and healthful surround- 
ings were recognized by William Babel, the efficient and capable 
president of the company. 

William Babel was born near Buffalo, New York, May 9, 1875, a 
son of Philip and Christiana Babel, natives of New York State, and 
farming people. They had three children, namely : Lydia, who is now 
deceased ; Albert, who is a prosperous fruit grower of Fresno, Cali- 
fornia ; and William, who is the youngest. 

In 1883 William Babel was brought to California by his parents, 
who then migrated from New York to Contra Costa County, and it 
was in that region that the lad was reared and attended its schools 
through the grammer grades, then becoming a student of the San 
Francisco High Schools, from which he was graduated. He was a 
chemist and assayer, and was employed with his father for a time in 
agricultural work, but in 1897 went to Alaska, during the early gold 
rush to that territory. Reaching Alaska, he followed the Yukon 
River from its headwaters to the sea, packing on his back all of his 
supplies over mountain ranges. For the subsequent three years he 
was engaged in prospecting and mining, and met with the usual 
miner's luck, making and losing, coming out about even. However, he 
did gain one thing, an experience he will never forget, and which 
could hardly have be^en acquired in any other way, and he does not 
regard that time as lost. He also learned the value of determination 
and diligence, and the willingness to work and endure hardships has 
not left him, nor is it likely to do so during the rest of his life, and 
this accounts for much of his subsequent success. When he decided 
to return to his old home, he made his own boat and came down the 
Yukon River, a dangerous trip which resulted in shipwreck near the 
ford of the Yukon. In spite of all his hardships and constant expo- 
sure he returned in rugged health, and after a short period spent at 
home went to Nevada as an expert and assayer for the mother lode 
and in the Gaudaloupe quicksilver mines. Later he was with the 
mines in Humboldt County, California, and there it was that he began 
to make mining a business and not a venture, and in this way acquired 
a comfortable sum of money. For fifteen years thereafter he was 
engaged in mining, and was a man of large means when, in 1908, 
he went to Los Angeles, and for five years was engaged in con- 
crete construction work. Leaving Los Angeles, he came South to 



s&r sg<^£ 



SAN BERNARDIN* ) AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1215 

Riverside and purchased orange and lemon groves and also superin- 
tended over 100 acres of outside orchards. In this connection he devel- 
oped into an authority on citrus culture, and added to his wealth. 
However, Mr. Bahel is a man who loves the excitement of new 
enterprises, and although he could scarcely have been more successful 
in the citrus industry than he was, he disposed of his interests and 
secured an option on Harlem Springs, organized a corporation January 
21, 1921, and now has an undertaking worthy of his enterprise, effi- 
ciency and experience. The Harlem Resort Company is capitalized 
at $240,000, and Mr. Babel is president and general manager of it. 
This remarkable natural phenomena was first known to the Indians, 
who long made pilgrimages to these hot springs and sought relief 
from their ailments in mud baths. The white man has followed the 
Indian, but he has erected a bath house and plunge, and provided 
every facility for furnishing the guests with comforts and luxuries. 
Geologists assert that this water is the same strata as the famous 
Arrowhead Hot Springs. The water of the Harlem Springs, covering 
seventeen acres, ranges from cold to eighty and 118 degrees hot. It 
is the purpose of the present corporation to erect a modern hotel and 
bungalow combined, with outside plunge, private baths of both hot 
water and mud, and mineral baths. This is a wonderful resort, easy 
of access to the people from all over the world, and here may be com- 
bined pleasure with the restoration of health. 

Mr. Babel married June 17, 1912, Miss Margaret Spinks, a daugh- 
ter of English-born parents, who came to California when she was a 
child. She was educated in the schools of Humboldt County, and 
was a popular teacher in the public schools of California prior to her 
marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Babel have had three children, namely 
Byron, who was born in Los Angeles January 13, 1915; Kenneth 
who was born at Riverside, January 16, 1919, and died October 12. 
1919 ; and Owen, who was born September 24, 1920, at Riverside. 

Personally Mr. Babel is a delightful person, well educated, thor- 
oughly informed on many subjects, and one who has learned much in 
his various travels. He is an ideal host, as well as fine business man, 
and under his energetic and capable management his resort is becom- 
ing the wonder of this region. He has seen nature under many aspects, 
but in all of them found them engaging, and it is when dealing direct 
with the natural resources that he is at his best. Possessing as he 
does the utmost faith in the properties of the water and mud of his 
springs, he is anxious to attract to them those who need the help 
their medicinal properties are certain to render, and will leave nothing 
undone to make this one of the most famous health resorts in the 
world. In this commendable work he has the support of some of the 
leading men of San Bernardino County, for he has already won from 
the people of this locality an unquestioning confidence in his sincerity 
and ability, and ample means of his own, as well as additional capital, 
are at his command for making all the improvements he deems neces- 
sary. With conditions as they are, it is not difficult to appreciate 
what a dominating force this enterprise is and will be, nor to under- 
stand the pride the people of this region in Harlem Springs and its 
efficient promoter, William Babel. 

William C. Seccombe. — While San Bernardino is indissolubly con- 
nected with the growth and development of the citrus industry, this 
city is remarkable in other ways, for its varied population and many 
interests have afforded unexcelled opportunities for the establish- 



1216 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

merit and maintenance of sound business concerns, many of which 
are still in existence although founded a long while ago. These 
opportunities have developed an alert class of men. who, while acquir- 
ing a fortune, have not lost their strong sense of civic duty nor 
neglected the claims upon them of the unfortunate, but have grown 
in constructive citizenship and humanitarianism as they have in com- 
mercial importance. One of these representative citizens is William 
C. Seccombe. who for many years was connected with the retail drug 
trade of San Bernardino, and is still one of the honored lesidents of 
the city. 

William C. Seccombe was born at Waverly, Nova Scotia, Canada, 
May 21, 1873, a son of Canadian parents who came to San Bernardino 
in 1883, and here he was reared. After completing his studies in the 
public schools of San Bernardino he became a student of the old 
Sturgess Academy, which until the establishment of the high schools 
gave the youth of this community the equivalent of a high school 
training. After these schools were opened, however, the academy 
died a natural death, although it is still remembered by those of 
Mr. Seccombe's generation with kindly affection. 

With the completion of his educational training Mr. Seccombe 
sought an opportunity to acquire one of a still more practical nature, 
and found it in the drug store of Ernest E. McGibbon and later that of 
John A. Lamb, remaining with these two concerns the decade between 
1885 and 1895. By this time he had acquired a working knowledge 
of the business, and decided to acquire a store of his own. With 
F. N. Towne and M. D. Allison he founded the firm of Towne, 
Seccombe & Allison, their first location being the old store of Frank 
M. Towne, remodeled, at 406 Second Street. Under the new manage- 
ment the business grew so rapidly that expansion became necessary, 
and the partners then established their second store, at 576 Third 
Street, in 1909. In 1912 the Dragon Pharmacy was acquired and 
added to the business of the other two flourishing stores. For twelve 
years Mr. Seccombe was secretary, treasurer and active manager, 
but retired from the concern in March, 1919. That the company had 
been properly and successfully managed is evidenced by the fact that 
at the time Mr. Seccombe retired the company was operating three 
stores and doing a business many times greater than when it was 
established. 

Mr. Seccombe has been active in many directions, for from 1907 
to 1919 he was one of the energetic members of the Board of Educa- 
tion, and during the last six years was president of the board. During 
that six years the beautiful Polytechnic High School group was 
built, and when it was dedicated he delivered the address. From 
1891 to 1904 he served as a member of the California National Guard, 
and from April 9 to December 2, 1898, was in the service during the 
Spanish-American war, holding the rank of first lieutenant of Com- 
pany K, Seventh Infantry. In 1900 he received commission as major 
of the Seventh Regiment, California National Guard, and continued 
to serve as such for four years. The National Guard was re-organized 
after the return of its members, who had volunteered for service during 
the Spanish-American war. 

For many years he has been prominent in Masonry, and he also 
belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elk's, in which he 
holds a life membership, and he is a charter member of the Rotary 
Club. His family attend the Congregational Church, in which 
Mrs. Seccombe is an active worker. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1217 

On December 25. 1897, Mr. Seccombe married Miss Margaret Lee 
Perdew, a daughter of G. F. R. B. and Jeanette (Woodworthj Perdew. 
Mr. Perdew was a pioneer of California, coming here from Texas in 
1862 by ox team and settling at San Bernardino. His death occurred 
in this city in November, 1900. Mrs. Seccombe was born at San 
Bernardino, February 20, 1874. Mr. and Mrs. Seccombe have two 
sons, namely William Lyle, who was born May 21, 1902, was gradu- 
ated from the San Bernardino High School, and is now attending 
the Oregon Agricultural College at Corvallis, Oregon, and taking 
the civil and structural engineering course; and Gordon Herbert, 
who was born June 20, 1911, is attending the public schools of San 
Bernardino. Having released himself from the confining responsi- 
bilities of an engrossing business, Mr. Seccombe is now free to give 
expression to some of his ideas relative to outside matters, and is 
studying some of the problems of the day. Always a friend of the 
public schools he, while no longer officially connected with their man- 
agement, is looked upon as an authority emeritus, and his advice is 
oftentimes sought by members of the board of educators. His benevo- 
lences, which are many and varied, are seldom made public, but are 
distributed as he feels they are needed. Having spent all but ten 
years of his life at San Bernardino, it is but natural that his interests 
should center here, and that he should do everything within his power 
to aid in the further development of his adopted city. 

Alva B. Cowgill.— While not one of the pioneers of the Redlands 
coioriy, Alva B. Cowgill has done pioneer work in the past twenty 
years, particularly in the development of the citrus growing interests 
and, more important still, in the marketing problems affecting himself 
and associated growers in this vicinity. 

Mr. Cowgill was born at Spencer's Station in Guernsey County, 
Ohio, February 9, 1856, and his parents, P. C. and Ellen (Spencer) 
Cowgill. were also natives of the same state. His father was a 
merchant. Their four children were Alva, Charles, Ella and Grant, 
all living but Grant, who died at Oskaloosa, Iowa. 

Alva B. Cowgill has lived a busy life practically from the time 
that he can recollect his environment. When he went to school he 
attended to the opening of his father's store in the morning, then put 
in the regular hours at his studies, and afterward clerked until closing 
time. Later for three years he was clerk and assistant in his father's 
business, and then for five years was ticket and freight agent with 
the Baltimore and Ohio Railway. In 1879 Mr. Cowgill, after finishing 
a course in a business college, entered the old firm of Graham, Bailey 
& Company, wholesale and retail druggists at Zanesville, Ohio. He 
became an accountant at $40.00 a month. He learned the business 
as well as the routine of its accounting system, and at the end of 
three years had become a part owner. About that time the business 
was incorporated as the Bailey Drug Company. Mr. Cowgill for 
eight years was the head traveling representative, and was then 
called back to the general offices and made manager and treasurer. 
Mr. Bailey in the meantime had accumulated extensive banking 
interests and turned over practically the entire executive management 
of the business to Mr. Cowgill. His judgment was well placed, since 
the house expanded and increased in prosperity under this manage- 
ment. Mr. Cowgill for eleven years devoted himself wholely to the 
interests and welfare of the business, and at the end of that time 
found his health so impaired that it was imperative he seek outdoor 



1218 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

employment. In the meantime he had achieved a financial compe- 
tence, represented in his holdings of stock in this prosperous drug 
house. 

Selling out his business at Zanesville, Ohio, Mr. Cowgill came to 
Los Angeles in 1901 and spent some time in investigating the various 
districts of Southern California. His first purchase was a 20-acre 
orange grove in the Redlands district, and later he bought 16 acres 
of unimproved land, 10 acres of which he set to Washington Navels 
and 6 acres to grape fruit. For five years he lived on this land and 
worked outside in cultivating, planting, pruning and caring for his 
trees. He had his groves in a most satisfactory condition and, even 
better, his health and strength were completely restored. He then 
sought an opportunity again to connect himself with some of the 
broader commercial work for which his previous training had so 
well qualified him. He therefore became one of the organizers of the 
Redlands Mutual Orange Company in 1906, and since its organization 
he has been secretary and general manager. This is one of the leading 
growers' marketing organization in the Redlands district. In 1906 
was also organized the Mutual Orange Distributors, a co-operative 
selling organization, and Mr. Cowgill has since served as its secretary 
and director. In no small degree the strength and efficiency of these 
organizations has depended upon Mr. Cowgill, who has recognized 
here an important opportunity for a public spirited service to his 
associated growers, and he has done much to improve the marketing 
and distributing facilities now available to the producers in the Red- 
lands section. At the same time he has acquired interests in several 
irrigation companies that bring water to an increased area of citrus 
land, and in twenty years he has had impressed on his memory a vivid 
picture of the splendid development of this section of Southern 
California. 

In 1880 Mr. Cowgill married Miss Nellie Broomhall. She was 
born in Quaker City, Ohio, August 12, 1858, daughter of W. P. and 
Rachel (Redd) Broomhall, natives of Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Cowgill's 
four children were all born at Zanesville, Ohio. Ethel M., born 
June 23, 1882, was married May 24, 1911, to Fred C. Knapp, a con- 
tractor and builder of Los Angeles. They have a daughter, Kathryn 
Claire Knapp, born in Los Angeles July 11, 1912. 

The second child, Claire Cowgill, was born June 25, 1886, and 
graduated from the Redlands High School and from Smith College 
at Northampton, Massachusetts, with the degree A. B. 

Chester B. Cowgill, born April 14, 1890, was educated in the Red- 
lands High School, spent four years in the University of California 
at Berkeley, and is now in business in Los Angeles. March 19, 1918, 
he enlisted from Redlands, and was sworn into military service at 
Rockwell Aviation Field at San Diego March 23d, being assigned to 
Squadron C. He was transferred to March Aviation Field at River- 
side in August, 1918, was promoted to private first class and acted as 
sergeant in charge of power plants, and November 13, 1918, was 
transferred to the Field Artillery Officers Training School at Camp 
Zachary Taylor, Louisville, Kentucky, being assigned to the Seven- 
teenth Observational Battery. He received his honorable discharge 
December 7, 1918. 

August 27, 1917, C. B. Cowgill married Gladys Ingersoll, of Los 
Angeles, who is also a graduate of the Redlands High School, the 
California State Normal School, is a very talented musician, both 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1219 

vocal and instrumental, and before her marriage was a teacher in the 
public schools of Los Angeles. 

The fourth child, Ralph Cowgill, was born February 6, 1894, 
graduated from the Redlands High School, attended the State Univer- 
sity and a business college, and is now connected with the refinery 
of the Standard Oil Company at Bakersfield. He married Miss Ruth 
E. Swan at Redlands December 23, 1916. She is a graduate of the 
Redlands High School. He joined the Naval Reserves for a period 
of four years, and was on active duty until released after the signing 
of the armistice. Both these brothers were married and held good 
positions, yet they waived all claims for exemption when they were 
called to the colors. 

This sketch tells in brief the story of a busy life and is a record of 
usefulness and honor. Mr. Cowgill is truly one of the men who have 
been instrumental in making the country around Redlands bloom and 
blossom as the rose. 



Arthur T. Gage, M. D. — A specialist of the eye, ear and throat, to 
which his practice is limited, Doctor Gage has brought special re- 
sources and facilities to the medical profession at Redlands, where 
he began his work several years ago. Doctor Gage represents solid 
old New England stock, and was a successful physician and surgeon 
in Massachusetts before coming to California. 

He was born at Somerville, Massachusetts, November 25, 1883. 
His father, Charles F. Gage, has given fifty-four years of his business 
life to the service of the Boston & Maine Railroad, most of the time 
as general claim agent. He is a member of the Congregational 
Church. Charles F. Gage, who lives at Winchester, Massachusetts, 
married Martha A. Adams, of the historic Adams family of New 
England, and a direct descendant of Priscilla Alden. Charles F. Gage 
and wife had four sons: Frederick A., John H., Edward C. and 
Arthur T. 

Arthur T. Gage graduated from the high school at Winchester, 
Massachusetts, in 1902. For four years, 1902-06, he attended Tufts 
Medical College, and by reason of his high qualifications when he 
entered and by the hard work he devoted to his studies he graduated 
with the M. D. degree. He is a member of the Phi Chi fraternity. 
His college course was followed by an experience presenting some 
of the finest opportunities to a young medical graduate. From June, 
1906, to October, 1907, he was an interne in the Boston City Hospital, 
a great institution with 1,200 beds and 48 house officers. From 1908 to 
1918 Dr. Gage practiced at Melrose. Massachusetts, and in the latter year 
moved to Redlands, succeeding Dr. B. F. Church in practice. 

At Melrose, Massachusetts, September 4, 1916, Doctor Gage mar- 
ried Miss Ruth Greenleaf, of a prominent family of Melrose. She 
is a graduate of the Melrose High School. Her parents were born 
in Massachusetts and she was a child when her father died. For 
years he has conducted an old established book store in Massachusetts. 
Her mother is still living in Melrose. Dr. and Mrs. Gage have 
two children: Howard Alden Gage, born January 7, 1918; and 
Priscilla Gage, born June 13. 1920. Dr. and Mrs. Gage attend the 
Congregational Church. He is a member of the Rotary Club and 
Chamber of Commerce of Redlands and is affiliated with the Elks 



1220 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Raymond Clyde Gerber is all but a native Californian, a chemist 
by profession, was in the chemical warfare division during the World 
war, came out of hospital practically an invalid, and in two years has 
perfected and carried out the careful plans laid during his convales- 
cence and now has one of the thoroughly organized and systematic 
dairy establishments in Southern California, supplying a high-grade 
of milk to several of the cities of San Bernardino County. 

Mr. Gerber, whose home is at East Highlands, was born at Worth- 
ing, South Dakota, July 6, 1889, and a few months later his parents 
came to California. He is a son of Gotlieb and Mary A. Gerber, the 
former a native of Switzerland and the latter of Wisconsin. His 
father was a merchant. Both parents are now deceased. There were 
seven children : Henry G., who married Grace Jones and whose chil- 
dren are Neal, Loris and Lorna ; Mrs. Louisa A. Leavitt, whose three 
children are Rossiter J., Donald and Mary Louise ; Mrs. May Moore, 
who died leaving a son, Dalton Moore; Mrs. Ida B. Spradling, who 
has one child, Frankie ; Herbert J.; Mrs. Alyda R. Pollard, whose 
two sons are Robert G. and Raymond C. ; and Raymond Clyde Ger- 
ber. the seventh and youngest of the family. 

Mr. Gerber was educated in the Redlands public schools, gradu- 
ated from the University of Redlands in 1913, and after obtaining a 
high school teacher's certificate at the University of Southern Cali- 
fornia at Los Angeles went to the Philippine Islands and taught high 
school there during the years 1914-15-16. On returning to the United 
States he reentered the University of California, working toward the 
Master's degree and specializing in chemistry. In 1917 he became 
principal of the high school at Nogales, Arizona, and while there on 
December 14, 1917, volunteered in the Hospital Corps, was trans- 
ferred as a chemist to the Sanitary Corps, and later entered the same 
branch as chemist with the Engineers Corps. Later he was made a 
chemist in the Chemical Warfare Service, Gas Division. After a period 
at Nogales Mr. Gerber was on duty for nine months at Washing- 
ton, D. C, then was sent to the army gas school at Camp Humphrey 
and was engaged in training gas officers. While in the line of duty 
a gas bomb exploded and being seriously injured, was sent to the 
hospital at Camp Humphrey, and later to the Walter Reid at Wash- 
ington, where he remained from September 13, 1918, until discharged 
from hospital and resumed civilian life April 26, 1919. 

Mr. Gerber had steadily cherished a purpose even before going 
into the army and had drawn up plans for a model dairy. Almost 
immediately on his return from the army he set about to erect and 
equip such a dairy and ranch. His business is known as the Gerber 
Certified Dairy. This establishment, at the end of Orange Street, has 
thirty acres of land, planted to alfalfa and oranges, but the most 
interesting feature is the equipment and planning of the dairy itself. 
Mr. Gerber as a chemist has worked out to the utmost detail every 
feature that would insure the sanitary production and handling of 
milk. His certified milk department is the last word in that new and 
modern art of food production. In 1921 his plant stood second in 
raw milk production in average per cow and also in average per herd. 
In two years his business has increased six-fold over the original 
volume. He now furnishes Grade A raw milk to Redlands, San 
Bernardino, Highland and East Highland, and certified milk to Red- 
lands, Colton, San Bernardino, Highland and the dining service of the 
Salt Lake Railway. Mr. Gerber is practical manager of the entire 
business, the ownership of which is vested in the Gerber estate. 




£?<^^v^u- 



SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1221 

Fkank H. Benedict. — In considering the great interests involved in 
the building industry, which concerns the health and comfort of a 
community as well as business expansion and commercial progress, 
the building contractor occupies a place of great public responsibility. 
In lesser rank, the workman follows instructions, but it is the con- 
tractor who must bear the responsibility of success or failure, who 
must provide for every possible contingency. It is but a small part of 
his work to watch supplies, men, material, transportation and ex- 
pense, and not every well trained and naturally skilled artisan can 
do all this. It needs much more than mechanical ability, including 
as it does, personal qualities of a high order, this explaining, perhaps, 
why this vocation is not an unduly crowded one. A building con- 
tractor who, at the present time, can successfully meet the demands 
of a modern city like Riverside in the way of beautiful and dignified 
structures must be accounted very competent, and one whose satis- 
factory work is seen in different parts of the city is Frank H. Benedict, 
who has been a resident of California since 1908. 

Frank H. Benedict was born June 26, 1858, in Lenawee County, 
Michigan. His parents were John W. and Laurinda (Wolcott) Bene- 
dict, both of whom were born in the State of New York, and both 
families were of English descent and of Revolutionary stock. In 
earlier days the Benedicts were farming people, but in John W. Bene- 
dict the mechanical impulse became the stronger and he became a 
carpenter and later a contractor. He was a man of peace, but when 
the Civil war came on was anxious to do his part and show his devo- 
tion to the Union. Prevented from entering the army because he 
was the sole support of his aged parents, he paid three substitutes 
to serve in his place. He married Laurinda Wolcott, who survived 
him, passing the declining years of her life at Riverside, where she 
passed away in her eighty-seventh year. 

Frank H. Benedict had educational privileges in the public schools 
and then learned the carpenter trade under his father. He was 
twenty-one years old when he went to Detroit, Michigan, where he 
became a contracting carpenter and remained until 1908, in which 
year, attracted by building activity at Los Angeles. California, he 
removed to that city. He continued in business there until 1913, and 
then came to Riverside, which place proved so attractive that he soon 
determined to make it his permanent home. Soon after his arrival 
he built a striking and beautiful Swiss chalet type of residence at 
170 Fairfax Avenue, which he afterward sold. Subsequently Mr. Bene- 
dict purchased his present handsome residence at 230 Terracino Drive, 
the D. D. Gage home, which had been built by Judge Richard North. 

Mr. Benedict married at Weston. Michigan, Miss Sarah H. 
Withington, a native of Michigan and a daughter of D. E. Withington, 
a lumber man and sawmill owner in Michigan. Mr. and Mrs. Benedict 
have one daughter. Holly, the wife of O. C. Cofer, who is in the insur- 
ance business at Riverside. Mr. and Mrs. Cofer have two children: 
Marcia and Janet. Mr. Benedict and his family belong to Calvary 
Presbyterian Church. In his political attitude he is somewhat 
independent, never having formed unbreakable party ties and never 
feeling desirous of holding a political office. His own affairs have 
demanded close attention and he has never felt justified in accepting 
a public responsibility to which he would have to give a divided 
mind. He belongs to the Masonic fraternity, being a member of the 
Blue Pudge, Chapter and Council at Detroit, Michigan. Mr. Benedict 



1222 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

has a wide acquaintance in business circles, and in every way stands 
deservedly high as a citizen and social factor. 

Judge E. Barry lived a life which was in many respects as fascinating 
as a romance, for he left his home and family in the "Sunny South" 
to join the picturesque "Klondike rush," and he accomplished more 
than any other gold seeker, not financially but in the things worth 
while, the spiritual. Many men are living today good lives because 
Judge Barry made that journey. A descendant of old southern 
families on both sides of the family, he upheld the best traditions of 
his ancestry, he had all the courtesy of their school, kinder than the 
kindest, with always time for the considerate word, he yet was always 
fighting for the imperishable moral treasures more than for material 
gain. His rare personal qualities attracted friends, whom he held 
always, for with Judge Barry once a friend, always a friend. His 
unusual intellectual gifts and high character would have given him 
place and power, but he never sought these things and honors had 
to be forced upon him. 

His life record is the more remarkable when it is remembered that 
that he was, owing to unexpected and untoward circumstances, de- 
prived of an education until he had nearly reached his majority. In a 
short space of time he secured the best of educations, and to this he 
added an unlimited fund of knowledge gathered from wide experience. 
Always he kept a steady equipoise of soul and the determination to 
make the world the better for his having lived in it. This he did, and 
when his passing was made known no word could voice the grief 
of his legion of friends throughout the United States. Although he 
had been in Redlands a brief period of time he had made many 
warm friends and he went into eternity loved and loving as few men 
are. A kind and loving father and devoted husband, a loyal friend, 
a worth while neighbor. Judge Barry will long be remembered. There 
was, there is, no kinder, manlier man. 

Judge E. Barry was born in Sumner County, Tennessee, November 
15, 1849, the son of Jackson Barry and Sina (Minter) Barry, his 
father a native of Rockingham, North Carolina, and his mother of 
Sumner County, Tennessee. Jackson Barry was a noted civil engi- 
neer, following that occupation all his life. 

When Judge Barry was six years old his parents moved to 
Marshall County, Kentucky, and he received the meager education 
obtainable in those days in that locality, but he attended the little 
country schools when in session and his opportunity for study came 
when he was nineteen years of age, and he studied so assiduously 
that he made up lost time and graduated from the best county high 
school and was, moreover, the valedictorian of his class. He soon 
obtained a diploma and commenced teaching, occupying himself in 
that line of w : ork, scholastic work, for two years. Then for eight 
years he was county school commissioner, a position filled with re- 
sponsibility, for upon him devolved the engaging of all teachers. 
Judge Barry was always an earnest and ardent advocate of temper- 
ance, and he would never employ a teacher who drank. 

Later Judge Barry was elected county judge, and served faithfully 
and well, his record sending him to the Kentucky Legislature, where 
he made a success of everything he undertook, serving his consti- 
tuency brilliantly. 

Then the great Klondike excitement came on and everyone wanted 
to join the rush of gold seekers, and every man who could did. Judge 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1223 

Barry went and passed through all the trials and perils incident to 
such an expedition. He passed in over the Chilkoot Pass through the 
most dangerous rapids, prospecting on Nisutlin River. He made 
practically nothing as far as the securing of gold went, but he gained 
an infinitude of experience and a knowledge of men in the rough, and 
learned how quickly men revert back to almost primitiveness. He 
remained there twenty months in all. 

All through the long cold winter Judge Barry was in camp with 
the world's most venturesome men, and he took advantage of the 
opportunity given him and organized a Sunday school, a fact that 
has since been used in both songs and stories of that most strenuous 
life. One can imagine against what odds he fought, and yet before 
the winter was over he had the entire camp enrolled and deeply 
interested. For years afterward he would meet men who been in that 
class of his in the far North, and men who still clung to his teachings. 
For forty years Judge Barry was a member of the Christian Church. 
When he was twenty-one Judge Barry became a member of the 
Masonic Order, and was a member for nearly fifty years. 

After returning from Alaska Judge Barry entered the journalistic 
field by the purchase of the Tribune and the Democrat of Benton, 
Kentucky, which he at once consolidated, naming his paper "The 
Tribune-Democrat." It was, of course, democratic in principles. 
While he made it an unqualified success he decided to sell it in 1910 
and did so, moving out west to Texas. There he purchased the 
Colorado Citizen, a democratic paper. He scored another success, 
but owing to the ill health of his daughter he was forced to sell out 
again, and he did so, moving this time to Fort Stockton, Texas. Here 
he purchased another paper, the Fort Stockton Pioneer. He put this 
paper in a flourishing condition. 

He was appointed postmaster of the city in 1912, and he held the 
position until forced to resign, owing to ill health. He had other 
interests, among them a large acreage of alfalfa, which he had tc 
dispose of in order to come out to California and not be bothered with 
business cares. He came to the Golden State in 1919, locating in 
Redlands in August of that year. He invested in an orange grove 
and practically retired to enjoy the beautiful Southland. But he was 
not to enjoy it for long, for on October 23, 1920, he entered into life 
eternal. 

Judge Barry was united in marriage on August 22, 1877, with 
Laura Paine, a daughter of Thomas and Mary (Cassidy) Paine, of 
Paducah, Kentucky. She was born on the Cumberland River at 
Eddyville. Her parents were prominent Methodists. Her father was 
a well known tobacco dealer. Judge and Mrs. Barry were the parents 
of three children : Blanche is now Mrs. J. L. Mitchell, of Fort Stockton, 
Texas. The second child died in infancy, and the third child died at 
the age of six, when the father was in far off Alaska. 

The wife of Judge Barry is living now in Redlands. 

Alfred L. Woodill was born at Halifax, Nova Scotia, was brought 
to California when three years of age, received his education in River- 
side, and in after years has been prominently identified with the 
great local industry of growing and packing oranges. He is now 
owner of the California Mutual Packing Company of Riverside. 

Local history will always give credit for many distinctions to the 
life and character of his father, Dr. Alfred H. Woodill, who during his 
residence here was an inspiration to the Riverside community, a 



1224 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

capable and kindly physician, a loved citizen, and possessed a sturdy 
practical idealism whose benefits can hardly be measured. 

Doctor Woodill was a native of Nova Scotia, practiced medicine 
there until 1879, when he came to Riverside, and here resumed his 
professional work. His death on March 30, 1888, was acknowledged 
as a great public loss, every bank and business house in the city clos- 
ing its doors as an expression of sorrow on the day of his funeral. 
It was the first time in the history of Riverside that such a general 
tribute was paid to the memory of any resident. Doctor Woodill 
was claimed as a friend by all prominent pioneers of Riverside. His 
charities were many, and owing to his scholarly attainments and 
wide general knowledge his advice was in constant demand. He 
enjoyed generous means earned by his long devotion to his profession, 
and had the invaluable characteristic of constructive imagination 
which always dominated his public spirited efforts. When Matthew 
Gage outlined to Doctor Woodill the project of putting thousands of 
acres of land under irrigation, the Doctor understood the implications 
and vast possibilities of the project fully as well as its originator. He 
supplied Mr. Gage with the money necessary for the preliminary 
survey. Thus was instituted what later developed into the Gage 
Canal, the first definite act towards the realization of a constructive 
undertaking whose subsequent benefit to the people of Riverside is 
beyond all calculation. While Doctor Woodill died more than thirty 
years ago, he was in his life time able to visualize a picture of the 
Riverside of the future, a great landscape of beautiful and productive 
orange groves, with a contented people living in the fairest and most 
favored spot on earth. That the vision materialized in all its essential 
details is a story that can never be told without some reference to the 
part played by Doctor Woodill. Doctor Woodill and Mr. Gage were 
close friends, the latter depending upon and following the former's 
suggestions until the last. 

Doctor Woodill married Sarah Elizabeth Blanchard, a native of 
Prince Edward Island and of English descent. She died at Los 
Angeles in 1917, but was laid to rest beside her husband at Riverside. Her 
father, Judge Hiram Blanchard, was a member of the High Court of 
Canada and was the first member from Nova Scotia in the Dominion 
Parliament. 

Alfred L. W'oodill attended the grammar and high schools of 
Riverside. He was still a boy when his father died, and after that he 
spent two years in Halifax. Since his return to Riverside his work 
has largely been in orange packing, and he has been one of the promi- 
nent growers as well, at one time owning 150 acres distributed in 
several groves. For two years he was employed by the firm of Boyd & 
Devine, and was with the California Fruit Growers Exchange the 
first two years of its organization. 

In 1910 Mr. Woodill started in the packing house business for 
himself, owning the Perm Fruit Company. Finding this unprofitable, 
he disposed of the business and for several years following represented 
various Eastern packing houses. In 1916 he took over the California 
Mutual Packing Company, an incorporated company, and has since 
been its sole owner. Through this company he packs from 250 to 300 
cars annually. The plant of the California Mutual Packing Company- 
is regarded as the most modern and best equipped in the district. 

Mr. Woodill is a member of the Chamber of Commerce and the 
Farm Bureau, the Pioneer Society, and is a past exalted ruler of 
Riverside Lodge No. 643, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is 




(^P.*<' ^%4^L&<~++**~> 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1225 

an independent republican and has served as a member of the County 
Central Committee. 

At Galesburg, Illinois, Mr. Woodill married Miss Florence May 
Brown, a native of that state. A sketch of her father, James E. Brown, 
of Riverside, appears in the following sketch. Mr. and Mrs. Woodill have 
one son, Chesney E. Woodill, now in the class of 1924 at the University 
of California. He served a season at Camp Kearney as a member 
of the Reserve Officers Training Corps, which work he is now follow- 
ing at Berkeley, in addition to his other studies. 

James E. Brown lived for sixty years in Illinois, where he was a 
farmer and manufacturer, and for the past quarter of a century has 
effectively employed his capital and enterprise in the productive end 
of the citrus fruit industry in Riverside County, where he is one of 
the old and honored residents. 

Mr. Brown was born in Illinois, April 2, 1837. His grandfather, 
who died about 1817, participated in the War of the Revolution and 
also in the second war with Great Britain. George W. Brown, father 
of James E., was a native of New York state. He was an early settler 
in Northern Illinois, and was the patentee of the first corn planter, 
which was known as the Brown corn planter. He served at one 
time as mayor of Galesburg, and being too old for active duty he 
nevertheless contributed most liberally of money and influence for 
the Union cause during the Civil war. George W. Brown married 
Maria T. Terpenning, also a native of New York state, and of Dutch 
and English parentage. 

James E. Brown acquired a district school education in Illinois. 
He worked on his father's farm until the latter engaged in manufac- 
turing, and from 1862 until 1874 he farmed on his own account near 
Galesburg. In 1874 he joined the manufacturing business of his 
father, and when the company was incorporated in 1880 he became 
treasurer, an office he continued to hold and the duties of which he 
performed until the death of his father in 1895. 

It was in January, 1896, that Mr. Brown came to California, and 
he has since acquired many active interests in the business of growing 
and handling fruit. He owns six 10 acre groves, three on East Eighth 
Street and three on Linden Street. He is a director in the East 
Riverside Water Company and has been a director of the Monte Vista 
Fruit Association since it was formed and was one of the original 
members of the La Mesa Fruit Company. He was formerly a stock- 
holder and also a director in the Orange Growers Bank, the Citizens 
Bank and the Riverside National Bank. Mr. Brown votes as an inde- 
pendent republican. His home at 590 Fourteenth Street was built of 
cement blocks in 1906, and is one of the substantial and attractive 
residences of the city. 

May 2, 1859, Mr. Brown married Miss Mary Eleanor Musser, a 
native of Ohio. She died at Galesburg, Illinois, in 1910. Of their 
three children only one survives. Jennie Elizabeth was the wife of 
M. J. Daugherty, and is survived by a son, Edwin M. Daughertv. 
The son, George Edwin Brown, died in 1892. Florence May, the 
surviving daughter, is the wife of A. L. Woodill. 

Edward L. Williamson.— Eighteen years ago Mr. Williamson was 
assistant engineer for the Chicago. Rock Island & Pacific Railroad 
Company. During a leave of- absence he visited California. A lew 
days at Riverside convinced him that no other locality could heme- 



1226 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

forth claim his complete allegiance as a home. In the years that have 
since elapsed his name has become an accepted synonym of the larger 
enterprise in the horticultural and agricultural development of this 
section, and in commercial and civic affairs as well. 

Mr. Williamson was born at Janesville. Wisconsin, March 29, 
1879, son of Lucius N. and Alice (Hawes) Williamson, both deceased 
and both of English ancestry. His father was born in Vermont and 
lus mother in Canada. Lucius Williamson for a number of years was 
connected with the manufacturing interests of Janesville, Wisconsin, 
and subsequently for a long period represented the house of 
M. D. Wells of Chicago as a traveling salesman. 

In the City of Janesville Edward L. Williamson spent his youth. 
He attended public school there, and in 1900 graduated from the 
University of Wisconsin with the degree of Bachelor of Science in civil 
engineering. The first year after leaving university he was an in- 
spector with the Milwaukee Gas Light Company. Then for three 
years he was an assistant engineer on the engineering staff of the 
Rock Island Railroad. 

The leave of absence which he spent in California came in 1904. 
His first undertaking in Riverside was the establishment of a poultry 
plant on Bandini Avenue. Six months later his technical services as 
an engineer were engaged in the Gage Canal Company and the River- 
side Trust Company, with which he remained until December, 1909. 

At that date Mr. Williamson took charge as engineer and superin- 
tendent of the West Riverside holdings of the Ennis Brothers' 
property, consisting of a 1,000 acres of raw land. He still has charge 
of the Sunny Slope Rancho, as it is known, and has about 450 acres 
under cultivation, with 375 acres devoted to citrus fruits 80 acres 
in alfalfa. This alone constitutes one of the largest undertakings 
in horticultural development in this section of the state in recent years. 

In 1916, when the flood waters wiped out the north end of the 
Jurupa Canal, which supplies water for all the West Riverside 
property, Mr. Williamson became chairman of the committee of 
reconstruction and reorganization of the affairs of the canal, and has 
since been president and manager of the West Riverside Canal 
Company. Since 1913 he has been a part owner and manager of the 
Ennis and Williamson Dairy Ranch of San Bernardino County. This 
ranch has a herd of 150 producing cows and 150 head of young 
stock. Mr. Williamson is manager and director of the Jurupa 
Water Company, and vice president and director of the La Sierra 
Water Company. Individually he owns a 12 acre orange grove 
at 388 Bandini Avenue, which is his home address. He is a member 
of the Riverside Heights Packing Association No. 10. He has re- 
cently extended his field of operations, and on May 1, 1921, bought 
an interest in the Riverside Implement Company, the name of which 
has since been changed to the Riverside Motor Sales Company, of 
which he is vice president and assistant manager, the president and 
manager being C. W. Cell. 

Mr. Williamson is a member of the Tri-County Reforestation 
Committee, and until recently was a member of the Farm Bureau. 
He is a republican voter, had two years of military training while 
in the University of Wisconsin, was a member of the Phi Kappa Psi 
fraternity there and is a member of the Present Day Club and the 
Riverside Rotary Club. 




(um^jyi 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1227 

Charles W. Cell. — While a farmer and business man in Kansas 
Charles W. Cell made a visit to California, which turned all the 
destinies and enthusiasm of his life in this direction and for the past 
ten years he has been rapidly climbing to and achieving success in 
Riverside, where he is president and active head of the Riverside 
Motor Sales Company, an extensive business that grew out of a 
hardware and implement house. 

Mr. Cell was born in Franklin County, Pennsylvania, February 23, 
1878, but from early infancy was reared in Kansas. The Cell family 
is an old and historical one both in America and in Germany. There 
was a Matthew Cell named as a contemporary in the Reformation 
with Martin Luther. Members of the family came to the American 
Colonies in early days. The great-great-grandfather of Charles W. 
Cell was a soldier of the Revolution and was with Washington when 
the latter, at the head of his troops, crossed the Delaware. The late 
John F. Cell, father of Charles W., served three years as a Union 
soldier with a Pennsylvania Regiment, was with the Army of the 
Potomac and also with Sherman on the march from Atlanta to the 
sea. On leaving Pennsylvania he moved out to Kansas, first settled 
in Marion County, where his efforts were afflicted by the plague 
of grasshoppers and drought, and from there he removed to Osage 
County. His widow, Mary (Croft) Cell, was born in Franklin 
County, Pennsylvania, of an old American family of German descent, 
and is now living at Topeka, Kansas. She had brothers who were 
Union soldiers. Her eight living children are: John F., a practicing 
lawyer in Kansas City, Missouri, who married Florence Musson and 
has five children ; George Croft, who holds the chair of theology in 
Boston University, married Miss Ella Clark and has three children ; 
Charles W. is the third in age ; Miss Lottie is a high school teacher in 
Illinois; Martin Luther is a well known newspaper man at Redlands, 
California, and is married and has two children ; Mary is the wife of 
Sherman Shoup, a musician in Chicago, and they have a family of 
five ; Christian is an ex-service man who was in France ; and Samuel 
is a clerk in the Chicago mail order house of Montgomery Ward & Co., 
and is married and has one child. 

Charles W. Cell was reared in Osage County, Kansas, attending 
public schools there and working on his father's farm. At the age 
of twenty-one he bought land of his own, and his interests were those 
of a Kansas farmer until he was twenty-eight years of age. He then 
engaged in the grain and elevator business at Wakarusa in Shawnee 
County, Kansas, operating as a grain dealer there for three years. 
Just before he entered the grain business he made the trip to California 
that decided him in the choice of a permanent home environment. 
As soon as he disposed of his grain business he returned to California, 
becoming a resident of Riverside in 1911. Here with limited capital 
he acquired some stock in the firm of Davenport, Wheeler, Allen 
Company, successors to what was known as the old Stewart Imple- 
ment and Hardware business at 446 West Eighth Street. Mr. Cell as 
a member of the company became active manager of the business, 
and as this enterprise prospered he eventually became sole owner. In 
the meantime he moved his location to 301 West Eighth Street, 
where the name was changed to the Riverside Implement Company. 
Recently change has been made to the Riverside Motor Sales Com- 
pany, of which Mr. Cell is president and manager. The first change 
of name was due to the transfer of the stock to new ownership and 
the last change came when the company abandoned its implement 



1228 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

department and confined its attention entirely to auto vehicles. The 
company has the agencies of the Hudson and Essex motor cars and 
the Moreland trucks, Reo speed wagons and utility trailers, both of the 
latter being manufactured at Los Angeles and consequently a Cali- 
fornia product which Mr. Cell always favors in advance of others. 
Mr. Cell now has the largest motor sales agencies in Riverside County. 
A large block of the treasury stock has been purchased by E. L. 
Williamson, who is vice president and assistant manager of the 
company. Another stockholder is Miss Martha Simpson, who has 
kept the books of the firm for four years and is head bookkeeper and 
accountant. Mr. Cell and Mr. Williamson are interested financially 
in the Monte Belle and Richfield United Oil Wells, where some profit- 
able properties have been developed. 

So far as his businss obligations permit Mr. Cell has taken a 
deep and active interest in the welfare of his home city. For the 
past five years he has been superintendent of the First Methodist 
Episcopal Sunday School, giving much time to church work. He has 
been a director for ten years in the Riverside Young Men's Christian 
Association, and is especially interested in the athletic department of 
that organization. He is a Mason and a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce and of the Kiwanis and Present Day clubs. March 1, 1899, 
he married Miss Ada Burk, a native of Kansas. Her father, Homer 
Burk, was a pioneer of that state and of an old American family of 
English descent. Mr. and Mrs. Cell have a daughter, Mary Ellen, 
member of the class of 1922 in the Riverside High School. 

John H. Urquhart, president and manager of the Sierra Vista 
Packing Association, is known personally or by name in all the large 
citrus purchasing centers in the United States, and his name is 
accepted as a guarantee for all citrus products that pass through 
his packing house. A resident of Riverside for more than thirty 
years, Mr. Urquhart's experience has led him through every phase 
of citrus production, packing and marketing. In citizenship in the 
community his name stands equally high. 

Mr. Urquhart was born in Nova Scotia, September 17, 1856, and 
on both sides represents sturdy Scotch ancestry. His parents were 
William and Barbara (MacKenzie) Urquhart. His mother was born 
in Nova Scotia of Scotch parentage. His father, a native of Scotland, 
went to Nova Scotia when twenty-one years of age, and the rest 
of his life was spent in mercantile business. 

John H. Urquhart acquired a good education in public schools 
and an academy in Nova Scotia. At the age of fifteen he was working 
in his father's store. His father also operated a 400 acre ranch. 
At the age of seventeen John was given full charge of this property, 
owing to the death of his older brother. It was a big undertaking, but 
he handled it with a resourcefulness that seems fundamental in his 
character. He continued its management seven years, and later 
found time to take an extended trip through Canada and the Middle 
West of the United States. After returning home he engaged in the 
dry goods and grocery business for himself, and was active in that 
line for seven years. 

The severe climate of Eastern Canada made Mr. Urquhart a 
sufferer from chronic asthma, and in searching for relief his mind was 
turned in the direction of California. A friend who had spent much 
time in Riverside furnished him his first direct knowledge of this 
perfect environment. The friend, returning to Nova Scotia to dispose 



SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1229 

of his remaining interests in order to make California his permanent 
home, gave such an impetus to the growing desire of Mr. Urquhart 
that he, too, sold out and came to Riverside. He has never had 
occasion to regret that move, though he arrived here just after the 
boom, when ever business was at low ebb. 

While possessing some means, it was not in accordance with his 
character to remain idle and enjoy it long. He was soon working 
in one of the packing houses, and through the actual contact of work- 
ing experience gained his thorough knowledge and understanding of 
the great industry in which he is now one of the accepted leaders. 
For twelve years Mr. Urquhart was connected with the La Mesa 
Packing Company, much of the time as its floor superintendent. He 
was for two years with the Arlington Heights Fruit Company and a 
like period of time with the Alta Cresta Fruit Company. During 
1909-10 he organized the Sierra Vista Packing Association, and has 
since been its president and manager. From the time of his arrival 
up to about 1912-13 Mr. Urquhart bought, sold and planted various 
orange groves in the Riverside district. He disposed of all these 
holdings in order to be free to devote his entire time to the interests 
of the Packing Association. He is also president and a director of the 
Cresmer Manufacturing Company, whose planing mills and industrial 
organizations comprise one of the biggest establishments of Riverside. 
Mr. Urquhart is a member of the Kiwanis and Present Day Clubs. 
While a resident of Canada he was a member of the local militia and 
quite active in local elections. Since coming to California he has 
been naturalized as an American citizen and is a republican voter. 
He and Mrs. Urquhart are members of the Calvary Presbyterian 
Church, and both are active in that church, for which for many years 
he served as an elder. Mrs. Urquhart is a member of the Red Cross 
and devoted much of her time and energies to the local chapter during 
the World war. 

In Nova Scotia December 3, 1889, Mr. Urquhart married Miss 
Emma M. Cunningham, native of Nova Scotia, daughter of Francis S. 
Cunningham, a contractor and builder, and of Scotch-Irish descent. 
Mr. and Mrs. Urquhart's only son, William Francis Urquhart, died 
in infancy. Their one daughter is Miss Jean Graham Urquhart, at 
home. 

John B. Odell. — The name of John B. Odell is closely associated 
wlh the development of the orange industry of Riverside, and also 
with the general business life of this region, for he is a man whose 
energies have led him to take a dominating part in the various legiti- 
mate enterprises of the city with which he cast his lot in 1913, and 
prior to that date was a well-known figure in several of the large 
centers of industry of the country. 

John B. Odell was born in Cleveland, Ohio, April 8, 1848, a son of 
John and Lydia (Cody) Odell, both of whom are now deceased. 
John Odell was born in Connecticut, and during his early life he 
was a teacher in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Later he was a general 
merchant of Twinsburg, Ohio, where he became a prominent man. 
The family is of Revolutionary stock and Scotch-Irish descent. 
Mrs. Odell was born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, and belonged to 
an old family of Scotch-Irish descent, the same one to which Col. W. F. 
Cody (Buffalo Bill) belonged. 

After attending the public schools of Cleveland, Ohio, John B. 
( idell became a telegrapher, and worked as such and as a bookkeeper 



1230 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

at Cleveland, Ohio, and Galesburg, Illinois. Subsequently he became 
train dispatcher for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, 
which position he held for fourteen years, and then went to Chicago, 
Illinois, where he was engaged in the manufacture of electrical sup- 
plies, and was closely connected with the Western Union Telegraph 
Company, supplying it with a number of manufactured articles. For 
fifty years he was connected with this company in different capacities. 
For a number of years he had charge of the telegraphic department at 
the republican national conventions, a position of great responsibility, 
and one which required a man with a thorough knowledge of the 
business. He was telegraph manager for the Associated Press at 
Chicago, and was the first operator for the Chicago American of that 
city, when that paper made its first appearance. While too young to 
serve during the war between the two sections of the country, 
Mr. Odell had three brothers in the service. Delos Odell, who is now 
deceased ; Joseph Odell, who is trust officer of the Lincoln Bank of 
Cleveland, Ohio; and Theodore Odell, who is now a consulting rail- 
road president of New York City, New York. He was general super- 
intendent of the Northern Pacific Railroad ; general superintendent of 
the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad ; president of the Pittsburgh & Erie 
Railroad ; and president of the Orient lines from Kansas City, Mis- 
souri, and is recognized to be one of the most experienced railroad 
men in the country. 

In 1913 John B. Odell came to Riverside and purchased the old 
Colson place of 15 acres at 429 Indiana Avenue, and has so im- 
proved it that it is now one of the show places of the city. The 
house originally was of the Scotch style of architecture, but he had 
added many improvements, including pergolas, and the whole is 
covered by a profusion of beautiful flowers and vines. He erected a 
large fountain and a sunken fountain for water lilies and gold fish in 
the grounds. The exquisite beds of flowers stretch away into groves 
of deciduous and citrus trees, which include walnuts, grape fruit and 
six or seven varities of oranges. It is an ideal home, and here 
Mr. Odell now spends a great deal of his time, further beautifying his 
property. While he has passed the age of three score years and ten, 
he is as active as a young man, and finds pleasure in operating a 
tractor, or doing any of the other kinds of work inseparably con- 
nected with the culture of oranges. 

Mr. Odell was a director of the Peoples Trust & Savings Bank, 
of which his son, John Clayton Odell, was president, and when that 
institution become insolvent Mr. Odell and other members of his 
family voluntarily crippled themselves financially by putting up large 
securities so as to safeguard the depositors from loss, which honorable 
conduct gained him the approval of his fellow citizens in no un- 
measured degree. Mr. Odell is one of the directors and was president 
of the Loring Opera House Company, which owns the Loring Block 
at the corner of Main and Seventh streets. He is also the owner of 
a 10 acre grove at Corona, California. During his younger years 
he was a member of the Odd Fellows. 

On October 25, 1871, Mr. Odell married at Galesburg, Illinois, 
Miss Flora Lee, a native of Illinois, and a daughter of Joel Lee, who 
came of Revolutionary stock and English descent, and was born in 
New York State. Mr. and Mrs. Odell have three children, namely : 
John Clayton Odell, who married Deidre Flemming, a native of 
Iowa, and a daughter of John Flemming, a lumber dealer of McGregor, 
Iowa. They have two children, namely: Geoffrey, who is a business 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1231 

man of Los Angeles; and Gertrude, who is a student of the Riverside 
public schools. Rosemary, the second child of John B. Odell and his 
wife, married Carl A. Ross, an attorney of South Bend, Indiana, and 
they have three children, namely: Jane, Helen and Betsy, all of whom 
are attending school at South Bend, Indiana. Florence, the youngest 
of the Odell family, is the widow of Gilbert Hamilton Hoxie, and is 
living at El Mirasol, Santa Barbara, California. She has one son. 
Hamilton Hoxie, who is attending Thacher's School in the Ojai 
Valley, class of 1921. Following the completion of his studies in that 
institution he will matriculate at Yale University. 

Mrs. Odell was a member of the executive board of the war 
Council of Defense during the World war. She is much interested in 
current matters, and is a member of the Wednesday Club. Having 
joined the Presbyterian Church at Chicago, she still retains her mem- 
bership with that congregation. Both Mr. and Mrs. Odell stand very 
high in social circles at Riverside. Their lavish hospitality at their 
beautiful home is proverbial. At the same time their charities are 
numerous, and their names are held in grateful remembrance by the 
many who have benefited by their generosity. In all matters of public 
moment Mr. Odell has always shown a commendable interest, and he 
takes a deep pride in the progress of the city, and has great faith in 
its continued and increased prosperity. 

W. S. Button — California seems to have a call for easterners and 
Riverside especially seems to draw its share of business men, not only 
men wishing to retire, but also young men with ability and activity to 
push ahead and build from the ground floor up, and connect themselves 
on a large scale with the industries and activities most adapted to this 
part of the country. 

One who is noteworthy in this connection is W. Stewart Button, 
distributor for Chevrolet automobiles in Riverside County and also con- 
nected with the Riverside Sheet Metal Works, and other growing interests. 
He is also a public spirited man. 

W. Stewart Button was born in Teeswater, Ontario, Canada, on Janu- 
ary 11, 1884, son of William Button, native of Canada. A complete 
sketch of the "Button" family is given elsewhere in this book. Living 
for a number of years in his native province he received a public school 
and high school education, attending the Collegiate Institute at Clinton, 
Ontario, took a business course at Chatham, Ontario, and also attended 
college at Toronto. He also took an active part in sports and played on 
the different teams in his home town and at high school and college, 
helping to hold the "cup" for the full time while at high school. After 
completing his studies he engaged in the lumber business with his father 
for five years in Toronto, Canada, and New York and Pennsylvania 
States, manufacturing lumber and mangle rollers, which they exported 
to Europe. He was also engaged in the hardware business for a short 
time in Shelburne, Canada, but his activities were transferred to the 
Canadian West and great prairie provinces and for a time was in the real 
estate business at Edmonton, Alberta. 

He spent one winter in California, and going back to the Canadian 
West again soon found that he could not forget the California climate 
and came back to stay after his marriage, bringing his wife with him. 

On arriving at Riverside in December, 1912, Mr. Button became 
interested with his brother and father in the sheet metal business, their 
specialties being the manufacture of "orchard heaters" ovens and can- 
teens. During eight months in 1914-15 this firm manufactured 155,000 



1232 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

orchard heaters, and W. Stewart Button having full management of the 
factory. He also possesses the inventive faculties, and his ingenuity 
has resulted in several profitable devices. A special mouthpiece on 
canteens was patented by him which is being put on the market today, 
also a patent on a "spring cushion skate." For nine months he was 
at Buffalo, New York, manufacturing this spring cushion skate, finally 
selling his patent rights. 

In 1916 he returned to Riverside and he and his brother took the 
agency for the Chevrolet .automobile in Riverside County, W. Stewart 
Button having managership of the business. 

In 1919 the Scripps-Booth was added to the agency. They were the 
second firm to handle the Chevrolet car in Riverside Countv and have 
distributed nearly seven hundred cars here ; for this business Mr. Button 
built a fine garage and show room at 1045 Main Street. 

Mr. Button was one of the first in this section to become interested 
in the date growing industry and helped to organize, first, the Thermal 
Date Company and finally re-organized into the Arabia Date Company, 
Incorporated, and was secretary and treasurer of both companies. The 
company bought 110 acres in Coachella Valley and set out forty acres 
in dates and in time will have full acreage set out in dates. These dates 
started to bear lightly in 1921, in a couple of years will be bearing heavilv. 

Mr. Button is also interested in business property in the Citv of 
Edmonton, Canada. Mr. Button is a Mason and a member of the River- 
side Chapter. He also served as a member of the Home Guard. He 
is also a member and an official of the board of the First Methodist 
Church. 

December 4, 1912, Mr. Button married Miss Sadie Montgomery, a 
native of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, and daughter of Alexander Mont- 
gomery. The Montgomery family was identified with the pioneer period 
in both eastern and western provinces of Canada. Mr. and Mrs. Button 
have four children : William Bruce, Ruth Elizabeth. Phyllis Irene, and 
Stewart Dever Button. 

John Harvey Ellis. — It is not given to every man to succeed in 
handling real estate and insurance, for all do not possess those character- 
istics so essential to success. To begin with, the operator in these lines 
must be a real salesman, and be absolutely convinced of the desirability 
of the investments he presents to others. In other words, he must first 
"sell himself." To do this he must possess the essential qualities of hon- 
esty, singleness of purpose and sincerity, be clear and logical in his presen- 
tation of facts, and understand human nature to such an extent that he is 
able to recognize the right moment to make a sale. Such a man, naturally, 
would become prosperous in any line he cared to enter, for these qualities 
make for success anywhere, but when he does devote himself to developing 
property interests and safeguarding men and their holdings through legiti- 
mate insurance he is rendering a service not easily over-estimated, and 
proving his worth to his community as a good citizen. John Harvey Ellis 
is one of the best qualified men in the business to be found at Riverside or 
in this part of California. During his long career as a realtor he has dem- 
onstrated his peculiar fitness for his work, and has to his credit some of 
the most constructive developments of any man in his line. 

John Harvey Ellis was born at Urbana, Champaign Countv, Ohio, 
October 13, 1862, a son of James William and Ann F. (Neer) Ellis, both 
of whom are now deceased. James William Ellis was born in Virginia, 
a son of Abraham Ellis, grandson of Jacob Ellis, and great-grandson of 
Johan Jacob Alles, as the name was then spelled, a native of Alsace- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1233 

Lorraine, France. Jacob Ellis, or Alles, was a fifer from Lancaster 
County, Pennsylvania, during the American Revolution, and served in the 
Sixth Battalion. Later the family was established in Virginia. Although 
born in the Old Dominion, James William Ellis remained firm in his 
allegiance to the Union when war was declared between the North and the 
South, and enlisted in the One Hundred and Thirty-fourth Ohio Volunteer 
Infantry, in which he served as a non-commissioned officer. He was 
with the Army of Virginia and participated in the engagement at Wilson 
Creek and others in Virginia, and was a brave soldier and efficient officer. 
Returning home, he resumed his peaceful occupaton of farming. His 
wife was born in Champaign County, Ohio, and she belonged to an old 
American family established in this country prior to the American Revolu- 
tion by ancestors from Holland. 

Growing up on his father's farm, John Harvey Ellis acquired his 
educational training in the public schools of his locality, so firmly ground- 
ing himself in the fundamentals that he had no difficulty when he left the 
farm in securing the necessary certificate for teaching school in Allen and 
Harper counties of that state. Leaving the educational field, Mr. Ellis 
went to Attica, Kansas, where he pre-empted and proved up a quarter 
section of land, and then for two years was employed in a mercantile 
establishment. Following that experience he went to Stevens County, 
Kansas, where he took up a homestead, and opened a real estate office at 
Woodsdale, a town founded by Col. Sam Woods. During his residence 
at Woodsdale he passed through some very exciting times, for this was 
before the permanent establishment of law and order in Southwestern 
Kansas, and warring municipalities, as well as individuals, settled their 
disputes with firearms rather than through the slower processes of the 
courts. 

Leaving Woodsdale, Mr. Ellis went to Pueblo, Colorado, and there 
continued his realty operations in conjunction with the firm of Hard & 
McCIees, the junior member of which, N. C. McClees, later became secre- 
tary of state for Colorado. After about eighteen months Mr. Ellis was 
employed by the Henkel-Duke Mercantile Company, wholesale grocers, 
with which he remained for six years. He then went with the Iron City 
Manufacturing Company, machinery manufacturers of Pueblo, and his 
connection with it lasted for eighteen months. Resigning his position, Mr. 
Ellis then returned East to Toledo, Ohio, and for two years was with 
the Toledo Moulding Company, manufacturers of picture frames and 
jobbers in art goods. 

California next attracted him. and on Christmas Day, 1899, he arrived 
at Corona, this state, and remained in that city for six months. In the 
meanwhile he bought a small ranch at Arlington, to which he moved in 
June, 1900. Arlington is within the city limits of Riverside, and from 
1900 Mr. Ellis has been a resident of this municipality. For eleven and 
one-half years he was accountant for the Riverside Fruit Exchange, and 
then, in June, 1912, he went into the real-estate business for himself, first 
having Frank D. Troth as his partner. Two years later he bought out 
Mr. Troth and took his son, Ralph C. Ellis, into the business. Later, 
upon the retirement of the younger man, he continued alone until he sold 
his business to W. J. Russell, of Canadaigua, New York, in August, 1919. 
On March 1, 1920, he bought back the business, and took W. J. Batten- 
field as his partner. On December 1, 1920, Mr. Battenfield sold his inter- 
est to J. G. Smith, of Bartlesville, Oklahoma, who on April 1, 1921, sold 
his interest to Mr. Ellis. 

Mr. Ellis has always been active as a republican, and for several years 
has been a member of the County Central Committee of his party, and has 



1234 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

several times served as a delegate to the county conventions. For some 
years he has been engaged in orange growing, and has a fine grove of 
them on his home place at 401 Grand Avenue. In addition to all of his 
other business interests he is a director of the Riverside Water Company. 

On May 30. 1890, Mr. Ellis married in Southwestern Kansas Miss 
Mary S. Plantz, a native of Wood County, Ohio, and a daughter of the 
late Joseph Franklin Plantz, a native of Ohio who spent his declining 
years at Riverside. During the war between th states he served as a 
Union soldier. His wife bore the maiden name of Mary Carmelia Smart. 
Mr. and Mrs. Ellis became the parents of two children, Ralph Clifford 
Ellis, born April 15, 1891, at Pueblo, Colorado, and Ruth Genevieve Ellis. 
The son is a statistician with the rating department of the Pacific Tele- 
phone and Telegraph Company in San Francisco, California. He married 
Miss Ada Cone, a native of California, and they have one son, Robert 
Clifford, who was born in August, 1918. The daughter was born on the 
ranch in Arlington, August 28, 1903, and is now a student of the River- 
side High School. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ellis are members of the First Christian Church of 
Riverside, of which Mr. Ellis has been a deacon since 1900, and for ten 
or twelve years he served the church as treasurer. At present he is chair- 
man of the Board of Trustees. A Mason, he is a past worshipful master 
of Evergreen Lodge No. 259, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; is a 
member of Riverside Chapter No. 67, Royal Arch Masons, and Riverside 
Commandery No. 28, Knights Templar, and also of the Southern Cali- 
fornia Past Masters' Association and of the Eastern Star. He belongs to 
Riverside Lodge No. 282, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; to the 
Woodmen of the World ;' Sons of Veterans of the Civil war, and of the 
Sons of the American Revolution. In every relation of life Mr. Ellis 
has proven his capabilities, and made a success of his undertakings. His 
interest in Riverside is deep and lasting, and finds practical expression 
in an earnest and sincere devotion to the best movements for the advance- 
ment of the municipality. He is a great believer in constructive effort, 
and knows through experience in different sections of the country how 
much can be accomplished through concerted effort on the part of the 
most representative people. Through the medium of his business he has 
been able to stimulate interest on the part of outsiders, as well as of his 
fellow citizens, in different local projects, and has brought here a large 
amount of additional capital which has been profitably invested. Such 
men are necessary to the proper expansion of any locality, and much of 
the present prosperity of Riverside may be justly attributed to Mr. Ellis 
and his associates in their public-spirited attempts to make of it one of the 
most desirable and flourishing cities of the Golden State. 

Kate McIntyre Boyd (Mrs. W. E. Beale). — According to ancient 
accounts the Boyd family has been one that was always doing things. 
When there was nothing doing in a public way they seem (as was the 
custom of the time) to have put the time in very diligently in private 
quarrels among neighboring factions. This by way of keeping their hands 
in. Fighting was in those times a gentlemanly occupation, and about 
the only one in which they could amuse and divert themselves. Kilmar- 
nock, in other words the cell of St. Marnock, was the headquarters of the 
Boyd family. Like all others of their time they had to have their castle, 
named Dean Castle, to which they could retire as a protection from their 
enemies when besieged. Tradition does not say how those mighty lords 
were supported, but as feudalism was the existing condition the serf fur- 
nished the living while the lord exercised his lordly privilege of fighting 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1235 

with his neighbors when he had nothing else to do and of leading the serf 
when danger threatened the nation. 

The first authentic account of the Boyds dates back to 1205, in which 
Dominus Robertus de Boyd (in other words Lord Robert Boyd) appears 
as a witness to a contract between Bryce de Eglingstoun on the one part 
and the village of Irvine. 

The name was said to have been given to the first Boyd because of his 
fair complexion, the word Boidh in the Celtic language signifying fair or 
yellow. Be that as it may, the Boyds have never been blonds, but have 
always been fair or yellow, and a black Boyd even to this day is as rare as 
a white blackbird. 

The first authentic account of the Boyds as fighters is at the battle 
of Largs in Ayrshire in 1263, where Haco or Aco, King of Norway, with a 
numerous army, was put to flight. Sir Robert Boyd, as he is sometimes 
called, was a person of singular bravery and nobly distinguished himself 
and was rewarded by Alexander the Third with "grants of several lands 
in Cunningham" in Ayrshire. Tradition maintains that Sir Robert, with 
the aid of the party he commanded at that engagement, threw into con- 
fusion and finally defeated a strong detachment of Norwegians at a place 
called Goldberry Hill. The words Gold Berry, which sometimes appear 
on the lower scroll of the prints of the Kilmarnock coat of arms, were 
probably adopted in commemoration of this feat of Sir Robert. As a 
curiosity a few words descriptive of the battle of Largs may be inserted 
here in this year of Our Lord 1921. 

"Acho King of Norroway landit at air (Ayr) wt 160 schipps and twen- 
tie thousand men of warre and ye caus of his cuming was because Macbethe 
had promissit to his predessores some yles (isles) qlk ye had not gotten 
viz Boote, arrane wt ye tus cumbrais having tane arrane and Boote he 
come to the lairges in Cunynghame qr Alexr foirfather to the first Stewart 
yt was King, discomfeit ym and slue 16000 of his men. He Acho died 
throw sorrow yr war slain of ye Scots 5000." 

Before the century was out the English had overrun Scotland and com- 
pelled the nobles to swear fealty to England. The Boyds again took a 
leading part under Wallace and Robert Bruce in driving the English out of 
Scotland. In Kilmarnock there is a monument in commemoration of the 
killing of a Lord Soulis, an Englishman, but whether it is in commemora- 
tion of Lord Soulis or of the Boyd who killed him tradition seems to be 
rather doubtful. Tradition has it, however, that the particular party this 
Lord Soulis commanded was discovered lurking in the vicinity of the 
Dean Castle. 

This intelligence being communicated to the particular Lord Boyd in 
question, he immediately armed himself with his trusty cross bow and went 
in search of his quarry. On discovery "With deadly aim he drew his 
cross bow and its arrow instantly pierced the heart of the ill-fated Soulis." 
This was long before we ever heard of Paddy's gun that would shoot 
round corners or of the noted gun reported to have carried seventy-five 
miles to Paris doing destruction there, and before we heard of guns that 
would hit objects invisible to the naked eye, and prior to the time, some- 
what, when at Gallipoli the British fleet fired over the hill causing a hasty 
change of anchorage of men of war to prevent destruction. 

The Boyds were active all down through the history of Scotland, some- 
times in near relation to Royalty, latterly as Earls of Kilmarnock and 
Earls of Arran. They overflowed to Ireland and made themselves so 
much at home there that some thought they had originated there. 



1236 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

But "Farewell ! A long farewell to all my greatness" was pronounced 
by great men before now, and it too came to the noble ( ?) family of 
Boyd, for the last Earl got on the side of Prince Charles the "Pretender" 
to the English throne in his conflict with King George, got caught and 
was sentenced to be hung, drawn and quartered at the Tower of London 
in 1746, along with some others for high treason, the last executions at the 
Tower until in recent German war times. 

It's a "far cry" from the twelfth century to Riverside and a great 
change, but it may partly answer the question that may be raised in 
modern parlance "Why is Boyd." It will at least show that the Boyds 
have been in the habit of doing things. The writer has no family tree 
tracing descent from any nobility, but wishes to say that all that he knows 
about his ancestors is that they were millers in Rowallan Mill for five 
generations and that he was born within three miles of Dean Castle and has 
been doing things himself ever since he was able, and this may be rather 
a long introduction to the history of a native daughter of Riverside, and 
that she came to her inheritance of hard labor legitimately. Hers is not 
an isolated case, but is introduced because it is more familiar than some 
others just as noteworthy. Miss Kate Boyd has united within her the 
two branches of the Scotch nationality. While her father was pure Low- 
land away back from time immemorial, her mother was just as much High- 
land from as far back and belonged with the "Clan Donnochie." 

Modern methods of travel and intercommunication between various 
races has produced a strange intermixture of races until the native born 
American can hardly say to what race he belongs. About all he can say 
is "I am an American," which means that he belongs to the race that can 
take the best of every race with which he comes in contact without any 
risk of carrying over the evil. Thus the American of today, pronounced 
the greatest people and nation on the face of the earth. Already the 
writer's grandchildren have the blood of five races coursing through their 
veins. 

And so Miss Kate Boyd came to Riverside with all that lineage behind 
her. Bareheaded and barefooted and almost naked in the summertime, 
she passed her childhood eating fruit and living simply and naturally until 
school age, when a walk of two miles to school gave her some physical 
exercise while training the mental. Nothing extraordinary occurred 
during school years. There was generally some outing during the sum- 
mer vacation — to the mountains, the seashore or some distant part — all 
by wagon and team, for the auto was as yet a thing of the future. Health 
physically and mentally were thus maintained and no difficulty was encoun- 
tered in passing through the various departments of school, finishing with 
the high school, with an after course in the State Normal, with a grammar 
grade certificate as a teacher. Teaching first at Palm Springs away out on 
the desert, with half her pupils pure Indian (who were so wild that they 
would run out of school and hide in the brush if a stranger came to visit the 
school), her success was assured from the start. Later on the schools of 
Riverside claimed her attention until marriage. Even after that she did 
not altogether retire from teaching, for the Grand Terrace School still 
retained her services. An orange grove on the terrace overlooking the 
Santa Ana River at a time when the marketing of oranges was far from 
being a settled problem showed her and her husband that the owner of an 
orange grove was not the millionaire he was reputed to be at that time 
in the development of the orange industry. A survey of the situation and 
the news from the new country in the basin of the Gulf of California below 
the sea level, the "terra caliente" of the Mexicans, the hot Colorado desert 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1237 

away off one hundred and fifty miles, the most unforbidden looking place 
imaginable and in reality with as bad a reputation as could possibly be 
from former explorers, claimed their attention, and away they went to the 
promising land by team overland. 

Eighty acres of a homestead was more than they could handle alone, 
and mother and sister (Mrs. Andrews) were called on to assist in founding 
and establishing the homestead. It cost money then, as now, to get estab- 
lished in the Imperial Valley. Imperial County and Valley were an after- 
thought, the "Colorado desert" was ample to describe it. There was first 
of all the little home to be established as a base of operations, and that 
could only be done in the cooler part of the year, as it was impossible to 
live there without shade or water with the temperature 130° or even 140° 
without any shade. 

First of all came levelling, at times not a small job, with every small 
shrub and larger desert brush a base for a hillock of drifted sand, and 
some large ones where the mesquite had been a base for the accumulations 
of years, each of these the home of the rattlesnake or his brother, the little 
"side winder," just as deadly. The coyote was but a very casual visitor, 
for as yet the jack rabbit was not. 

The levelling, bordering, ditch building, putting in of supply ditches, 
measuring gates and bridges, not to speak of bringing the water sometimes 
quite a long ways to get it to the place (for this was in the early days), all 
fell on the settler. More essential of all was the purchase of water stock, 
paying assessments for water, taxes, etc., and twenty-five dollars per acre 
was a moderate price before a homestead could be gotten and water put 
on every acre. While all this was going on by the husband, the wife was 
again teaching school for the two or three years required to put this work 
on the place, and a trip of twenty miles on horseback was necessary to 
get to school each week, week ends being spent on the new home. 

When everything was ready for occupancy and the fenced alfalfa 
fields green and flourishing, a "string" of cows was the next thing, a 
carload of which the writer bought and took out to El Centro, arriving 
there with them on hand bright and early Monday morning, without the 
least idea as to where the new home was in the new and desert land. 
Fortune favored, for while making inquiries as to the location who should 
come along but Miss Kate herself on horseback on her way to commence 
her week's teaching, and all was well. 

The "string" of cows was profitable, the cream checks large, and teach- 
ing was abandoned for the time being for milking cows and farm labor, 
and everything flourished for a few years, with an outing to the cooler 
coast regions in the hottest months. A brand new baby came to help 
make and gladden the home, but, alas, as has happened in some other 
cases, unfortunately on a visit to the cooler coast regions, when about two 
years old, the little toddler walked into the canal and it took toll of the life 
of the little one, although there were four watchers and a peremptory 
order never to let the little one out of sight. But she was a typical Calif or- 
nian and loved the sunshine and the fresh air. It seemed that the thing 
that was dreaded most (the water) was the final enemy and the fate could 
not be averted. Well, there is the one consolation left by the time we get 
ready to pass over we will have so many treasures over there that we will 
be anxious to go home and possess them, and nothing that is good is ever 
lost, only the evil finally disappears. 

Time works wonders in a new country, and more land was accumulated, 
renting was resorted to. a city life was chosen, a new home was built in 
lloltville, and the daily grind of the cows, Sunday, holidays and all, alian- 



1238 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

doned. Not a day's respite could be had, for cows have to be milked and 
the new occupation taken up by the husband, and again the school teacher 
goes forth to the daily "delightful task," and cotton was king for a year 
or two with the same disaster that overtook the cantaloupe grower years 
before, but you can't keep down a new country and a young and vigorous 
people in possibly the richest county in California in resources and so a 
typical native daughter is at home in that land that is warm enough to 
mature the date palm and is still doing something to make the world better 
and more beautiful while passing through it. 

Katie Boyd is now Mrs. W. E. Beale of Holtville, Imperial County, 
that warm place below sea level. After pioneering there almost from the 
first, teaching school, helping on the farm, etc., they have brought under 
cultivation nearly 200 acres on that originally dreary desert, which is now 
rented. They have built a comfortable home in Holtville, and while Mr. 
Beale attends to business in town Mrs. Beale is, after an interval, again 
teaching school. 

John Raymond Gabbert— Like so many men of power and influ- 
ence in Southern California, John Raymond Gabbert claims Iowa as his 
native state. Of that state he has no particular recollection, since he 
was brought to Southern California when a child of two years, and 
here he grew up and here he has played a useful part as a newspaper 
man. Many undertakings in Riverside and vicinity are credited to 
him because of his business as editor and publisher of the Riverside 
Enterprise. 

John Raymond Gabbert was born in Iowa, June 5, 1881, and rep- 
resents an old American family. His great -great-grand father fought 
in the Revolutionary war and was at the surrender of Cornwallis. 
Mr. Gabbert's father is Thomas Gavin Gabbert. who has been 
a resident of Ventura County, California, for thirty-six years, and 
for the past twelve years has lived in Ventura City. His active 
career was spent largely as a farmer and for a number of years he 
was on the Limoneria Ranch. He now conducts a real estate busi- 
ness at Ventura and owns property in different parts of that county. 
He was elected and served as a member of the California Legislature 
in 1912-13, and has been on the Board of County Supervisors four- 
teen years, being chairman of the board five years, a position to which 
he was recently reelected. He was president of the Chamber of Com- 
merce when it initiated and sponsored the good roads program in Ven- 
tura County. Among leading men of affairs in Ventura County none 
is better known than Thomas G. Gabbert. He married Ella Peters. 
Her father, Anson Peters, who is now living at Pasadena, came around 
the Horn in 1849, his ship being wrecked on the South American 
coast. He was rescued and joined the pioneer gold seekers in Cali- 
fornia, and laid the basis of a substantial fortune in the gold mines. 
He afterward returned to Iowa, but in 1883 came back to California, 
lived four years at Saticoy, then at Fallbrook until 1912, and for the 
past six years his home has been at Pasadena and Glendora. Anson 
Peters was a Captain of Home Guards in Iowa during the Civil War. 
He is now ninety-four years of age. 

John Raymond Gabbert was educated in the public schools of 
Ventura County, graduating from high school in 1899. The following 
four years he was with a newspaper published at Oxnard. He then 
entered the University of California and graduated Bachelor of Science 
from the College of Commerce in 1907. While at the university he was 
editor of the Daily Californian and also of the College Annual, Blue 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1239 

and Gold. The printing plant printing the Blue and Gold was destroyed 
by fire at the time of the big earthquake in 1906. The night before 
that calamity Mr. Gabbert returned to his office and took up a number 
of spoiled sheets and carried them home. These are all the University 
has preserved of that issue, and they are carefully kept at the uni- 
versity library. Mr. Gabbert was so loath to lose the annual that 
he ran in to fight fire with the Marines and was a volunteer in the 
fire fighting service for nearly a day, until completely exhausted. 
While at University Mr. Gabbert was a member of the junior honor 
society Winged Helmet, senior society Golden Bear, and also of the 
Skull and Keys Society. He is a member of the Chi Psi fraternity. 

Immediately after leaving University Mr. Gabbert bought the 
Oxnard Courier, and during five years made that a very successful 
newspaper plant, changing it from a weekly to a city daily. He sold 
out in 1912, and coming to Riverside acquired a half interest in the 
Riverside Enterprise with an option on the other half. Later, with 
his father, he acquired this half, and is in full control of the editorial 
and business management. The Enterprise is published by the Mis- 
sion Publishing Company as a morning daily, and is one of the most 
successful and influential daily papers in this part of the state. As 
a supplement to the Riverside Enterprise Mr. Gabbert established 
the California Citograph in 1915. This paper is now published at 
Los Angeles, with Mr. Gabbert president of the publishing company. 

Associated with one of his employes, Mr. Gabbert has invented 
a printer's chase called the Rousseau Chase. It reduces the margins 
on country dailies, thus saving white paper, and is being manufactured 
and sold by other concerns all over the United States, Manila and 
Canada. 

As a newspaper man Mr. Gabbert has been much in politics and 
public affairs. He was for four years secretary of the County Republican 
Central Committee of Ventura County and has also served on the 
Riverside County Central Committee. He is representative for the 
Associated Press and California newspapers in Riverside, and was 
one of the two California editors representing the state's Republican 
newspapers sent to Marion, Ohio, to meet Senator Harding, president- 
elect, and wrote the news stories sent to all parts of the United 
States during that trip. Mr. Gabbert has contributed original ideas 
and has used his personal and newspaper power to insure the success 
of a number of movements in Riverside. He was the first to advocate 
work for the establishment of a Farm Bureau, and partly through 
his influence may be credited the location here of the Citrus Station 
and the proposed University Farm School. He is president of 
the Riverside Rotiry Club, a member of the Chamber of Commerce 
and Business Men's Association, served as president of the Chamber 
of Commerce in 1917-18 and was the same year president of the 
Present Day Club. Fraternally he is affiliated with Riverside Lodge 
of Masons, Oxnard Royal Arch Chapter, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and Riverside Elks. 

At Oxnard June 25, 1908. Mr. Gabbert married Miss Elizabeth 
Gordon. She was born in New York. Her mother is Mrs. A. F. 
Gordon, of Caledonia, New York. Mrs. Gabbert is a descendant of 
Elder William Brewster of the Pilgrim Colony, and is eligible to 
membership in the Daughters of the American Revolution and Colonial 
Dames. She is active in the Presbyterian Riverside Church. Mr. 
and Mrs. Gabbert have two children : John Gordon and Jane Elizabeth. 



12 JO SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Albert Lee Treloae. While it is certainly true that there are won- 
derful opportunities for advancement in Southern California, it is a well- 
established fact that here, as elsewhere, no real advancement comes with- 
out actual effort and earnest, purposeful labor, either of the brains or 
brawn, and oftentimes of both. The progress observed on every side did 
not come naturally, but is the outcome of the concerted as well as individual 
efforts of many. Each orange grove had to be planted, developed, and now 
requires constant and expert care. The beautiful roadways have been 
developed ; the thriving industrial plants have been built up from sometimes 
very small beginnings ; and each enterprise has been worked up into a 
paying form or it would not exist today, for westerners are practical, and, 
while enjoying to the utmost the natural advantages, have no time or 
patience for anything that is not useful and worth-while in business. 
Therefore, here, as everywhere, when a man succeeds it means something. 
It is proof positive that he has had the grit, the determination and perse- 
verance to work hard and to use every resource to get ahead, and his victory 
over obstacles is another triumph for his community. Such a man is 
Albert Lee Treloar, owner of one of the valuable orange groves of High- 
land, who has passed through some trying experiences, but is now able to 
enjoy his good fortune, and to regard with pride the sum of his accom- 
plishments. 

Albert Lee Treloar was born at Forest City, Sierra County, California, 
March 21, 1872, a son of Samuel and Elizabeth Treloar. Samuel Treloar 
was a native of England, but when he was two years old his parents 
brought him to the United States, settling in Wisconsin. In 1848 Samuel 
Treloar, with his uncle, John Treloar, left Wisconsin for California, travel- 
ing across the country in covered wagons drawn by oxen, and arrived in the 
midst of the gold excitement, so proceeded at once to Sierra County. 
Samuel Treloar was a man of strong religious convictions, a temperance 
advocate, and a peacemaker, and his services were often called into requisi- 
tion in the rough and tempestuous days when the lawless element had the 
upper hand. Even during the long and dangerous trip overland he found 
his natural talents as a peacemaker of avail with the savage Indians, and 
managed to get his party through without trouble. In fact, he gained the 
friendship of the Indians, and upon one occasion, when by accident he 
nearly severed a finger, the savages displayed what in another race would 
have been termed Christian virtues, and doctored the injury with an oint- 
ment so healing that the finger regained its normal strength and scarcely 
a scar remained. 

Samuel Treloar was engaged in mining for some years, but after his 
marriage at Forest City, California, in 1863, with Elizabeth Lee, of English 
parentage, but a native of Wisconsin, he returned to Wisconsin, and 
resided there for seven years. Returning to California, he settled sixteen 
miles from Forest City and went into the cattle business, in which he con- 
tinued until 1898, in that year moving to Santa Barbara, where he bought 
a ranch. Subsequently he sold this ranch and bought a home in Santa 
Barbara, where he died on Christmas Day, 1915. His widow survives 
him and lives in this beautiful home. He continued his interest in religious 
work all his life, and was a zealous church member and Sunday School 
superintendent. Possessing a well-trained voice, he was active in the 
choir, and always was glad to render any service within his power. Nine 
children were born to him and his wife, namely: Elizabeth, who is Mrs. 
Jeffry; Benjamin; Albert Lee; William; Carrie, who is Mrs. Martin; 
Forest ; Charles ; Stella, who is Mrs. Dane ; and Myrtle, who is Mrs. Ogam. 

Until he reached his majority Albert Lee Treloar worked for his father, 
and was given a limited education. As soon as he was twentv-one he 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1241 

went out into the world for himself. He rented a farm in Carpenteria 
Valley, having hauled wood in order to earn the money to get a start, and 
began raising beans and other farm produce. For a time he speculated in 
farm land, buying and selling land in Kings and San Luis Obispo counties, 
and always worked hard. He and his father-in-law bought 2,040 acres 
of land at Paso Robles, and stocked it with 2,000 head of Angora goats, 
for which they paid $6.00 per head. The coyotes and wildcats so reduced 
this herd in numbers and condition that the remnant of 200 only brought 
$2.00 each in the Imperial Valley, and this disastrous venture practically 
wiped out his resources. 

Mr. Treloar purchased 11 1/3 acres of citrus fruits on Baseline and 
Palm avenues in 1912, paying $20,000 for the property. The following 
year was the time of the big freeze that wholly destroyed his crop. He 
has since continued in citrus growing, in which he has been successful. 
This highly improved property has since continued to be his home. In 
1915 he bought forty acres at Owensmouth, paying $450 per acre for it. 
He placed a $5,000 mortgage on it, erected a house, and set out the entire 
forty acres to walnut trees. In order to provide an adequate water supply 
he rented horses and tools and laid down an irrigation system. It took 
considerable nerve to carry through such an undertaking, and the first 
year he lost $1,500 in sugar beets, as well as his own labor. The second 
year he raised beans and sold them at A l / 2 cents a pound ; his beans sold for 
10 cents the third year; for 7 the fourth, and for \2]/^ cents the fifth year. 
In 1919 he sold this land at $750 per acre, not only clearing off all of his 
indebtedness, but making money, but he had to work sixteen hours a day 
to reach these desirable results. He is entirely a self-made man, coura- 
geous, resourceful and venturesome. His success proves that a man can 
accomplish much, but, as before stated, he must be willing to work, and 
work hard. 

On July 4, 1908, Mr. Treloar married Bertha Foster, a daughter of 
William and Catherine Foster. Her mother, after the death of her first 
husband, took her four children and drove overland from Michigan to 
California, and was forced to stay in Nevada all winter on account of the 
heavy snows. Early spring found her on her way, but with very few 
supplies. She met a man with a flock of sheep, and, without asking him, 
she killed one, and although he remonstrated, she went on her way, feeling 
that her children were entitled to what she could provide for them. Sub- 
sequently, after her marriage to Mr. Foster, she walked and helped drive 
a band of goats from San Luis Obispo to the Imperial Valley, being at the 
time she performed this feat sixty-five years of age. Mrs. Treloar is a 
worthy daughter of a most remarkable mother, and a native Calif ornian. 
She was educated in the public schools of Santa Maria, and traveled all 
over the state in a wagon with her parents, and early learned to make 
camp, fish and enjoy an outdoor life. She is equally at home in social 
circles, and yet knows how to manage her household expertly, and, like 
her husband, is not afraid of any kind of work. Mr. and Mrs. Foster 
became the parents of four children, of whom Mrs. Treloar was the young- 
est. There are three children in the family of Mr. and Mrs. Treloar, 
namely: Herbert Simms, who was born at Carpinteria, California, De- 
cember 1, 1910; Zelda Alberta, who was also born at Carpinteria, January 
11, 1912; and William Lee, who was born at Highland, June 4, 1914. 

Earl F. Van Luven, veteran orange grower of Colton, officially 
identified with fruit exchanges and other packing and marketing organiza- 
tions for nearly thirty years, is the father of two enterprising San Ber- 



1242 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

nardino business men, Donald Earl and Jed S. Van Luven, proprietors of 
the San Bernardino Implement Company. 

Earl F. Van Luven was born in Ontario, Canada, January 13, 1861, 
son of Zara and Martha (Potter) Van Luven. He acquired his early 
education in the common schools and a business college in Canada, and 
from his father, who was a successful merchant, gained a thorough and 
practical training. Earl Van Luven came out to California and located at 
Colton in 1888. He invested in property on the celebrated Colton Ter- 
race, where he made extensive plantings of citrus fruit. He now has one 
of the oldest and best producing groves in that noted district. From his 
own groves he has packed and shipped many thousands of carloads of 
oranges and lemons, and it would be difficult to refer to a man whose 
experience covers a longer period of time and a broader range of all the 
important phases of citrus growing and marketing. He has for many years 
been associated with the Southern California Fruit Exchange, the California 
Fruit Growers Exchange, of which he is a director, the San Bernardino 
County Fruit Exchange, of which for years he was secretary and manager, 
and he joined his individual effort and support to these various organiza- 
tions to solve the fruit marketing problems practically at their beginning, 
about 1893. He was a charter member of the Colton Fruit Exchange 
when it was organized, and until 1902 was its secretary. He resigned 
because of the pressure of other business interests, but continued as vice 
president and as a director. 

In 1891 Earl F. Van Luven married Miss Helen Edith Shepardson, 
daughter of Jed B. and Julia (Bucklen) Shepardson. Her father was a 
well known banker at Marble Rock, Iowa, but for many years spent his 
winters in Colton. Jed B. Shepardson was a son of William and Hannah 
Shepardson, while Julia D. Bucklen was a daughter of Willard and Doris 
Bucklen. Mr. and Mrs. Earl Van Luven have two sons, Jed S. and 
Donald E. 

Jed S. Van Luven was born at Santa Monica July 7, 1892, and 
acquired his early education in the schools of Colton, Los Angeles and San 
Bernardino. His principal business has been as a dealer in farm imple- 
ments, and the San Bernardino Implement Company, of which he is senior 
member, now conducts the largest retail establishment of the kind in this 
county. He is a member of Phoenix Lodge No. 178, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons ; of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the 
Native Sons of the Golden West. He is a republican in politics. 

Jed Van Luven married at Corona Beulah Meacham, a native of San 
Bernardino and a daughter of R. M. Meacham, a pioneer of this city. 
They have two children, Jack and Barbara, the former attending kinder- 
garten. 

Donald Earl Van Luven, the younger son, was born at Santa Monica, 
California. September 1, 1899. He graduated from the Colton High 
School in 1917, and attended the Oregon Agricultural College until 1919. 
He expects to return and complete his studies there in the near future. 
During the war he spent four months in a training camp in Oregon, being 
honorably discharged at the close of the war. He is a co-partner in the 
San Bernardino Implement Company, and is also owner of a small orange 
grove at Colton. He is a republican, a member of the Native Sons of the 
Golden West, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, belongs to the college fra- 
ternity Kappa Theta Rho, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church at Colton. 

C. C. Miller was one of the earliest settlers under the management 
of Mr. Evans and the Riverside Land and Irrigating Company, and 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1243 

as engineer in the construction of what was known as the lower canal 
and the founder of the Glenwood Mission Inn and also engineer for 
the Gage Canal, he deserves more than a passing notice. 

C._C. Miller was born in Oneida County, New York, in 1824, where 
his grandfather was one of the pioneer settlers. He received a good 
education in the public schools of his native state and in the higher 
lines of college work in Ohio, where he graduated from Cleveland 
University as a civil engineer in 1852, follownig that profession during 
the rest of his life. 

He was engaged in railway work, among others the Chicago and 
Northwestern and Milwaukee and St. Paul, where he held high rank 
in his profession until the Civil war, when he enlisted for service and 
was commissioned as captain of Company M. Forty-ninth Volunteer 
Infantry, from Wisconsin. His regiment was assigned to duty in 
Missouri under General Dodge. His engineering skill soon became 
known and he was called into service as chief engineer of that district. 
He served until the close of the war and was honorably discharged 
in 1865, after which he returned to civil pursuits. He followed rail- 
road work, being chief engineer of the Wabash and Lake Superior 
Railroad. 

Ill health on the part of his wife made necessary a change of 
climate, and in 1873 he located in Los Angeles. In June of that year 
he came to Riverside as chief engineer and superintendent of the 
El Sobrante de San Jacinto Rancho. When the Riverside Land & 
Irrigating Company built the lower canal he was engineer superin- 
tending construction, aided by his son-in-law, G. O. Newman. 

He bought the block on which the Glenwood Mission Inn is now 
located and commenced to build a residence, which was to be a two- 
story adobe building. The writer put the first team work on the 
block, which was leveling, preparatory to building. Mr. Miller's son, 
Frank A., helped make the adobes or unburned clay bricks with which 
the building was constructed. It was also used as a hotel, in 1881 
being sold to his son Frank A. Miller, who is now master of the 
Mission Inn as it now stands. 

C. C. Miller was also the chief engineer in the construction of 
the Gage Canal and later on out at Blythe on the Colorado River in 
further irrigation and land surveying enterprises. 

His was a busy life, and he died in February, 1890, full of years 
and honors. 

His wife, who was a Miss Mary Clark, and who died in August, 
1895, was sixty-six years of age, was a daughter of an Ohio physician. 
She was a woman of refinement, and she transmitted some of these 
qualities to her son Frank, now master of the Mission Inn. 

Ralph Emerson Swing — The subject of this sketch is one of the 
most astute and resourceful attorneys practicing at the San Bernardino 
bar. He is a native of California and was educated in the schools of 
his native state. 

Mr. Swing entered upon the pratice of law in the year 1907, with 
his office in the City of San Bernardino, where he has ever since 
followed his profession. He has been connected with much of the 
important litigation growing out of the many complicated and in- 
tricate legal questions involved in the adjustment of water, property 
and mining rights necessarily arising from the development of the 
resources of Southern California. He is an admitted authority upon 
the law governing the questions above mentioned, as well as upon 



1244 SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

the law governing municipalities and involved in municipal legal 
questions. He is much sought as a counselor upon such subjects and 
as an attorney in matters involving such questions. 

That Mr. Swing has made a success is evidenced by the fact 
that he stands at the top of his profession and is conceded to be one 
of the foremost lawyers in the southern part of his native state. 
The reason for that success is largely due to the energy exerted 
in behalf of and his loyalty to his clients. It is said of Mr. Swing 
that he never takes a case that cannot conscientiously and sincerely 
advocate to the court, or in which he does not believe his client to be 
in the right. As a result of such action he has gained and retains 
the confidence and respect of the courts and of his fellow attorneys. 

Aside from following his profession Mr. Swing has taken a 
great interest in the citrus industry and its development, and in 
civic affairs, and has done much toward the development of a proper 
civic spirit in his home community. Being a native of San Bernardino, 
one of the principal objects of Mr. Swing has been to bring the 
financial, civic and moral standing of his home city to the highest possible 
standard. 

While Mr. Swing has been honored with a few public positions 
he has never actually entered politics, but has contented himself with 
the exercising of the electoral franchise in an effort to secure the 
election of honest, competent and capable men and woman to office, 
and in an effort to adopt such public policies as he deemed best for his 
community and state. 

Mr. Swing's prominence in public affairs, combined with his 
ability as a lawyer and his dependability as a man, have made him one 
of the best-known figures in San Bernardino County, and won for 
him the approval of all with whom he is brought into contact. 

W. H. Backus. There are many who struggled and won, held an 
important place in the annals of Riverside, did much to advance and 
put it in the position it now occupies who are in a great measure for- 
gotten except by their contemporaries who lived, achieved and won. 
Among those none are more worthy of mention than W. H. Backus. 
Mr. Backus came to Riverside from Ohio in 1882 with his father, 
Orrin Backus. Like so many others of the earlier settlers of River- 
side, he came here for his health, having been engaged in clerical 
work in his Eastern home. Here, again like so many others, his 
puritan ancestry showed in his activity in colony lines. He was a 
descendant in a direct line from John Alden of Mayflower fame, who 
has been better known than any of his compatriots on account of 
his fame in the courting by proxy of Priscilla on behalf of Miles 
Standish and marrying the lady himself. Mr. Backus, however, 
did his own courting and brought his wife along with him. He and 
his father bought 13 acres on what was known at that time as the 
Government tract, and proceeded to improve it by planting to raisin 
grapes and oranges. Mr. Backus, the elder, did not survive for very 
many years, but lived with his son and family until he died. 

From the very first Mr. Backus was a success, having good taste 
in the arrangement of his fruit at all the fairs and exhibitions from 
the time he had any for exhibition. His vineyard came into full 
vigor about the time Riverside was at the height of her fame in raisin 
production and much the largest producer of raisins in the state. 
His raisins carried off at all the fairs and exhibits in Riverside and 
Los Angeles most of the blue ribbons and first premiums. It seems 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1245 

strange at this late day to look back and find that Riverside took such 
a large part in raisin development in the state, and to know that River- 
side does not now produce a single pound of raisins in a commercial 
way. In addition to being a leading exhibitor of fruit he was fre- 
quently one of the committee on judging fruit and awarding premiums. 
Southern California in the early days was the only place in which fruit 
fairs were held in the state, with the exception of the State Fair at 
Sacramento. 

The first fair at which Mr. Backus obtained distinction was at 
Los Angeles at the Twenty-eighth District Fair in Hazards Pavilion, 
February 10-19, 1890, where he took five first premiums, one second 
and one fourth, in addition to which he took $137.50 in money. This 
seemed quite a transition in the short space of nine years from book- 
keeper in a bank in Cleveland to a fruit ranch in Riverside, California. 
The reverses experienced in the raisin business on account of meager 
returns for fruit from middlemen, coupled with the greater returns 
promised from oranges, drove Mr. Backus, as it did everybody else, 
from the raisin business to that of orange growing. His proximity 
to the two original Navel trees gave him excellent opportunity for 
obtaining first class trees, which in a measure accounted for the 
success he made as a grower and his exhibition of first class fruit. 

At all the fairs in California and at New Orleans, when Riverside 
established her reputation as grower of the finest fruit in the world, 
Mr. Backus was at all times ready with his exhibit (and on one 
occasion he was about the sole exhibitor), he always came out ahead. 
His family has now preserved in a scrap book about fifty blue ribbons 
and records of his success at fairs. 

In his later years he was very much handicapped by ill health and 
unable to devote the time and attention his grove required, and be- 
tween that, public street improvements and the demand for building 
lots the grove has vanished and what now remains of it is devoted 
to alfalfa. 

Mr. Backus died in 1919, but his family, consisting of wife and two 
daughters, still occupy the comfortable home. One son occupies a 
grove in the northern portion of Riverside. 

In addition to being a successful horticulturist Mr. Backus had a 
"fad" for the study of the natural history of the rattlesnake (Crotalus 
Durissus), and probably knew about as much of the rattlesnake and 
left about as good a selection of photographs, rattles, etc., as any amateur 
in the country. 

David Hiram Roddick is the son of an honored pioneer of the High- 
land district of San Bernardino County, and while educated for a profes- 
sion he has found more congenial work in the fundamental industry of this 
section, citrus fruit growing. 

He was born at South Highland July 19, 1890, son of Samuel Donald 
and Ellen (Hume) Roddick. His parents were born in Picton County, 
Nova Scotia, where Samuel Roddick followed farming. In 1887 he 
brought his family to South Highland, and without capital to secure a 
stake in the country he resorted to ranch labor for Cunningham & Stone 
for twelve years. Out of his savings he purchased fifteen acres, and 
attempted to grow fruit without irrigation. He started the entire tract to 
peaches and also erected a dryer. There followed a succession of dry 
years and failure of water, which destroyed the orchard and the land 
reverted to the desert. With a faith in the ultimate destiny of the country 
that knew no permanent obstacle he bought in 1906 a thirteen and a half 



1246 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

acre producing grove on Highland Avenue from the banker, Ed Roberts. 
The purchase price was $21,000, and he gave Mr. Roberts notes in pay- 
ment. These notes were all discharged in four years. A stimulating 
example of industry and persistence was that set by Samuel D. Roddick. 
He frequently worked ten hours a day digging cactus at $1.50 a day, and 
all the children old enough aided him in paying off the debt. Later he 
bought ten acres on Atlantic Avenue, and that was his home at the time 
of his death on March 17, 1916. He was a pioneer in Highland, came 
here when the country was largely undeveloped, and his extreme energy 
and economy brought him a generous estate. No road was too hard and 
no day too long, and he steadily went his way and succeeded in establishing 
himself and family financially and also in the estimation of the com- 
munity. His widow survives. They reared six children to maturity : 
James Robert, the oldest, now a druggist at Muskogee, Oklahoma; Wil- 
liam Henry, an orange grower at Highland ; Mrs. Will Painter, wife of a 
San Bernardino dairyman ; George Melville, a clerk at Highland ; David 
Hiram, and Howard Russell, who had an interesting record of service in 
the World war. He volunteered at the first call in the Ambulance Corps 
as an ambulance driver with the Medical Corps, was trained at Fort Riley, 
Kansas, was overseas eighteen months, and was in the thick of danger 
along the battlefront for a hundred days at Chateau Thierry, the Argonne, 
St. Mihiel, and finally proceeded with the Army of Occupation to Coblenz. 
He escaped unwounded. 

David Hiram Roddick acquired a good education, his father having 
passed the critical affairs in his financial affairs by the time he was pre- 
pared for school. He graduated from the San Bernardino High School 
and in 1913 received a degree as a pharmacist from the University of 
Southern California. Instead of following his profession he took up 
orange growing and in 1917 bought sixteen acres on Boulder Avenue in 
Highland, this tract being planted to Yalencias, Navels and also the grape 
fruit. It is a high class ranch with a modern home. 

Mr. Roddick married Miss Lida Garrett, of Los Angeles. She was 
born in Colorado in 1894, but is a graduate of the Long Beach High 
School. She is retiring president of the Highland Woman's Club. 
Mr. Roddick is chancellor commander of the Knights of Pythias. They 
have one son, Keith Garrett Roddick, born March 21, 1921. The family 
are members of the Highland Congregational Church. 

Herbert Poppett. — In his hard working career in San Bernardino 
County Herbert Poppett has gone over a span of nearly forty years, and 
while he is still active and by no means aged, he has an abundance of 
prosperity permitting him to take life leisurely. 

Mr. Poppett and his parents were natives of England. He was born 
in Shropshire July 14, 1865, son of John and Martha Poppett and was the 
third of their four sons and three daughters. As a boy he had little oppor- 
tunity to attend school, a deficiency supplied in later years by reading, 
study and observation. At the age of twelve he began making his own 
living, and while working out in service in England his compensation 
consisted of board, clothes and $30.00 a year. 

In 1881, at the age of sixteen, he came to America, traveled by emigrant 
train from New York to San Francisco in twenty days, and thence to San 
Bernardino, where he joined his uncle, Robert Poppett. His first employ- 
ment here was with a threshing machine. The following spring he found 
work out on the desert, but in 1885 returned to the valley. For about ten 
years he depended upon the earnings of his manual toil, but in 1893 
bought from James Fleming and Tyler Brothers ten acres of unimproved 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1247 

land on LaPraix Street in Highland. He did all the work of a pioneer 
on this tract, cultivating it and setting it to citrus fruits. This is the site 
of his modern home overlooking the valley and with a full view of the 
mountains on the north. Subsequently, as his prosperity justified it, he 
bought two other ten-acre tracts at Harlem Springs. When Mr. Poppett 
came into the valley only a beginning had been made of citrus culture. 
His present home and grove was then used as an ox pasture. Mr. Poppett 
knew nearly all the first settlers, most of whom have now passed away. 

He married Miss Eva McReynolds, a native of Missouri. Five chil- 
dren have been born to their union. The oldest, Stanley Llewelyn Poppett, 
is a graduate of the San Bernardino High School, was in the United 
States Navy during the World war until the signing of the armistice, and 
is now a clerk in the offices of the Santa Fe Railroad at San Bernardino. 
The second child, Frances Willard, born in April, 1899, is a graduate of 
the San Bernardino High School, a young woman of exceptional talents, 
and was married June 19, 1921, to Leo McCrary, of Redlands. The third 
child, Herbert Milton, born in 1902, graduated in 1921 from the San 
Bernardino High School and is now engaged in the grocery business under 
the name of Hooker & Poppett in Highland. The two youngest children 
are John Roy Poppett, born in 1909, who will graduate from the high 
school in 1926, and Frederick Robert Poppett, born in 1911, a student in 
the grammar school. 

Mr. Poppett in his life has exemplified some of the best traits of 
Americanism. He has been reliable, thrifty, industrious, has improved his 
holdings from wild, unproductive waste lands to abundant fruiting, has a 
family about him of well educated, useful young citizens, and while he 
has worked hard he has enjoyed living and living right and is one of the 
county's best citizens. 

William Lindenberg. — His life in Redlands and his association with 
its development for a period of time covering nearly forty years surely 
entitles William Lindenberg to rank with the early pioneers of that county. 
When he passed away the city lost one of its best citizens, one who had 
from the first a vital interest in its material growth and adornment, one 
who sought to maintain the high character of its citizenship and who left 
visible monuments of his love for the beautiful in which the esthetic and 
the practical were so deftly blended. Land which was covered with 
greasewood and sage brush under his careful supervision gave way to 
orange groves, fruit orchards and beautiful drives, and today tourists 
share with the citizens much that his work, supervision and care gave to 
Redlands. 

Mr. Lindenberg was a pioneer orange grower in his district and also 
was considered an authority on all citrus fruits. He not only developed, 
but he saved from extinction many groves, and his advice was always 
followed and he was sought by not only the new growers, but those of 
long experience. 

It was not alone as a grower that Mr. Lindenberg will be long remem- 
bered by the generation which was his in the city of his adoption, for he 
was one of the most public spirited citizens Redlands has ever known. 
In the early days level headed, broad minded men were needed, men who 
had the vision to see what the future held if they were only wise enough 
and courageous enough to grasp the opportunity. He was consulted on 
many of the early problems of the city, and his advice was accepted always, 
the result being success in all such undertakings. His honest, upright 
principles and charities made him early known as a worth-while citizen, 
and in his long life he stood out as one of Redland's most dependable, 



1248 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

reliable and prominent men. He is today cited as an example of what a 
man may become if he is blessed with the perseverance, intellect, moral 
courage and hearty will possessed by Mr. Lindenberg, but unfortunately, 
such men are rare. He passed into eternity loved by his family and 
friends, respected and honored by the city he had served so long, so 
freely and so well. 

William Lindenberg was born in Hildesheim, Germany, January 21, 
1845. and attended school there until he reached the age of fourteen, when 
a combination of circumstances ended his education as far as a school room 
went. He was, however, helped by his friends and people, and he suc- 
ceeded in securing a good practical education through study and travel. 

He decided to come to America when nineteen years old, and he reached 
America in 1864, joining an older brother who was living in St. Louis 
Missouri, Frederick Lindenberg. He lived in the East until 1876, when 
he came to California, locating in Los Angeles, but a year later he made 
San Bernardino a temporary home. He engaged at first in farming, but he 
moved to the Lugonia District, Redlands, in 1880, where he purchased 
twenty acres of land, determined to make it his permanent home This 
land was partially set to deciduous fruit and the remainder he at once 
planted to oranges. 

To him also is given the credit for the planting of many of the orange 
groves of this rarely productive section. He also worked as a recon- 
structionist, for he later bought groves which had been neglected and run 
down, and no matter how bad a condition they were in, by his excellent 
constant care he always brought them up *to normal and then he fold 
them. He also superintended the planting and care of a 100-acre travt 
on San Bernardino Avenue. 

After a period of time Mr. Lindenberg moved to the Williams Traot. 
leaving flourishing groves of oranges on the Lugonia tract. As soon as 
he moved he set out a grove and then built a modern residence, where he 
lived for ten years. He then purchased a lot on The Terrace, a beautiful 
residential district of Redlands, and he put it in fine condition, building a 
beautiful home and in 1903 he occupied it with his family. The grounds 
are most artistic and beautiful. Here he lived until his death on December 
13, 1913. Financial success had rewarded him. 

Mr. Lindenberg was a member of the Congregational Church. In Mis- 
souri he married on February 6, 1873, Elvira McCollough, who was of 
Scotch descent. They had three children : Christine, a graduate of the 
Redlands High School and an accomplished musician; Henry, who died 
at the age of eighteen, and Beatrice, who was also educated in Redlands. 

Denver Chaffee, one of the successful orange growers of San Bern- 
ardino County, has a well improved orange grove at Bloomington, 
where he is also a director of the Citizens Land & Water Company, 
his modern and attractive residence being at the corner of Slover 
and Linden avenues. 

The consistency of the personal or Christian name of Mr. Chaffee 
becomes apparent when it is stated that he was born at Denver, 
Colorado, March 22, 1876, prior to the admission of that state to 
the Union. He is a scion of the staunchest of American stock, his 
ancestors having established residence in this country in the early 
colonial period and representatives of the line having been found as 
patriot soldiers in every war in which the nation has been involved. 
Mr. Chaffee is eligible for affiliation with the Society of the Sons of 
the American Revolution, John Medberry, his great-grandfather, 
having served under General Washington and having been with his 




John M., .Mrs. Chaffee, Dorotha L. 
Robert ]).. Richard I-.. Denver Chafft 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1249 

great commander in the historic crossing uf the Delaware River in 
an open boat, on a Christmas night. George and Charles A. Chaffee, 
uncles of Denver Chaffee, were gallant soldiers of the Union in the 
Civil war, George having been a sharpshooter in his regiment, and 
both were held captives in infamous old Andersonville Prison. 

Air. Chaffee is a son of John M. and Charlotte (Culver) Chaffee, 
the former of whom was born in Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania, 
March 17, 1830, and the latter was born at Athens, Athens County, 
Ohio, September 6, 1834, her death having occurred at Ontario, 
California, April 4, 1914, and her husband having passed the closing 
period of his life in the home of his son Denver, at Bloomington, 
where his death occurred February 29, 1920. 

John M. Chaffee became a pioneer settler in Iowa, developed one 
of the fine farm estates of Pope County, that state, and was one of 
the most honored and influential citizens of the county, as a member 
of whose board of supervisors he did much to enable the county to 
free itself from debt. He was a staunch republican in politics and 
in the Scottish Rite of the Masonic fraternity he received the thirty- 
second degree and was also a member of the Shrine. Mr. Chaffee 
passed two years in traveling about the western states with team 
and wagon, and in 1903 he established his home at Ontario, Cali- 
fornia, and both he and his wife passed the remainder of their lives 
in San Bernardino County. Fannie, (Mrs. McClain) eldest of their 
four children, is resident of Des Moines, Iowa; Ira resides at Alham- 
bra, California; Jennie M. died in 1921, in the City of Los Angeles; 
and Denver, of this sketch, is the youngest of the four. 

After having received the advantages of the public schools of 
Iowa, Denver Chaffee there pursued a higher course of study, in 
Drake University, at Des Moines. At the age of twenty-one years 
he returned to his native state, Colorado, and for eight years he 
was in the employ of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, 
first as fireman and thereafter as engineer. He resigned his position 
as engineer to become a melter in the United States mint at Denver, 
where he was employed four years. While on a furlough from the 
mint he entered the temporary employ of Sterns, Rogers & Company, 
of Denver, and while thus engaged he met with an injury that led, 
upon his physician's orders, to his coming to California. Here he 
made permanent settlement in the autumn of 1911. He purchased 
twenty acres of land in the Bloomington district, and here he has 
developed and improved his fine home and orange grove, the latter 
receiving his personal supervision. 

At Denver, Colorado, on the 8th of June, 1901, Mr. Chaffee wedded 
Miss Cora M. Cunningham, who was born at Trenton, Missouri, 
January 16, 1876. a daughter of Samuel B. and Anna (Roberts) Cun- 
ningham, likewise natives of Missouri. Mrs. Chaffee was but four 
years of age at the time of her mother's death, her father having 
been at the time a contractor and builder in the city of Denver 
and having later become a farmer in Weld County, Colorado. Mrs. 
Chaffee attended Denver University, and prior to her marriage was 
for five years a successful teacher in the schools of Denver. Mr. 
and Mrs. Chaffee have four children : Dorothy Lucile, who was born 
in Denver, February 7, 1903, was graduated in the San Bernardino 
High School in 1920, attended the Junior College at Riverside one 
year and in 1922 is a student of art and domestic science in the State 
Agricultural College of Oregon. John Matthew, born at Denver on 
the 8th of December, 1906, is a member of the class of 1924 in the 



1250 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Colton High School. Robert Denver, born at Denver, July 28, 1910, 
is attending public schools at Bloomington. Richard Franklin, born 
at San Bernardino, January 12, 1915, is likewise attending the home 
schools. Mrs. Chaffee was for three years president of the Parents- 
Teachers Association of Bloomington and is now president of the 
Woman's Club of this place. Mr. Chaffee is a stalwart republican 
and while he has had no desire for public office his civic loyalty 
has been shown in his effective service as a member of the Board 
of Education at Bloomington, of which he has been secretarv since 
1919. 

Grant Holcomb. — In the history of San Bernardino County pub- 
lished herewith several references are made to that California pioneer Wil- 
liam F. Holcomb, discoverer of Holcomb Valley, a spot in the San Bernar- 
dino Mountains now known for its picturesque character and setting. A 
grandson of that pioneer gold miner is Grant Holcomb, a prominent young 
attorney and citizen of San Bernardino. 

William F. Holcomb crossed the plains to California in 1849. He was 
a fine type of the frontiersman, one accustomed to the hardships of a 
lonely mountain in the lonely desert and pursuing fortune for the sake of 
the adventure rather than the money itself. When he uncovered the placer 
gold deposits in the valley that now bears his name he did more than 
anything else to attract people to San Bernardino County. Within six 
months after his discovery there were 2,000 men in the valley. This valley 
lies in the adjacent mountains, just north of Bear Valley, now the great 
summer resort of Southern California. William F. Holcomb in his adven- 
tures as a hunter and miner prospected over nearly all the country from 
Vancouver, British Columbia, to Arizona. He was one of the discoverers 
of the famous Vulture Mine in Arizona, from which more than $8,000,000 
were taken. He sold a third interest in this property for $1,000, 
and afterward, in telling the experience, he referred with a quiet humor 
rather than any bitterness to the fact that he was cheated out of half the 
amount of the sale. His partner at the time was Dick Gird, discoverer of 
the mines at Tombstone, Arizona. William F. Holcomb after the discovery 
of gold in Holcomb Valley worked successfully at mining for several 
years. He was then elected county clerk, treasurer and assessor. This 
office he filled for several terms. He was a type of official who was not 
hampered by traditions or precedents, and he was guided first of all by 
the necessity of getting the thing done required by his official duty. Among 
other duties he had to levy and collect the personal tax. He levied a tax 
on the Santa Fe personal property. When the railroad refused to pay, 
this man of action secured some logging chains and, accompanied by a 
number of deputy sheriffs, went to the Santa Fe depot and proceeded to 
make an attachment. The most available property was a locomotive stand- 
ing on the main track in front of the depot. The wheels were secured 
with the chains and he placed padlocks on them and then left the deputies 
in charge until the law should be complied with. This summary action 
naturally caused great excitement among railroad officials, and there was a 
tremendous buzzing of telegraph wires until the necessary orders could be 
complied with for paying off the tax. This incident was in a manner 
characteristic of the West, and especially of the upright and straightfor- 
ward character of William F. Holcomb. 

This splendid old pioneer died about 1909. He married Nancy Stewart 
at San Bernardino. She had come across the plains with her father 
from Utah. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1251 

Their son William Winfield Holcomb is also a native of California, 
born in San Bernardino, where he was educated in the public schools. He 
served as a deputy clerk under his father, later engaged in the lumber 
business, and following that for many years was a feed and fuel merchant. 
He then resumed an official routine as deputy sheriff. 

William W. Holcomb married at Santa Maria Miss Isabella Grant, a 
native of San Bernardino and daughter of John and Margaret (Nish) 
Grant, farmers and cattle raisers of that section. 

Grant Holcomb, only child of his parents, was born at San Bernardino 
and was carefully educated in the grammar and high schools of that city, 
graduating from high school in 1907. He soon afterward entered Stan- 
ford University, from which he received his A. B. degree in 1911, and in 
1913 graduated with the degree J. D. He was admitted to the bar the 
same year, and for nearly ten years has been active in the legal profession 
at San Bernardino. He does a general practice, though with special call 
for his abilities in Probate work. He is attorney for the San Bernardino 
Auto Trades Association, and has his offices in the Garner Building at 
E and Court streets. Mr. Holcomb is a director of the California State 
Bank and of the Gill Storage Battery Company. He is a charter member 
of the Rotary Club and has served that club as a director, is a director 
of the Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and Delta Chi college fraternity. For three years 
while in high school he was a member of the San Bernardino National 
Guard. He is treasurer of the Baptist Church, and has been deeply in- 
terested in politics, though not as an office seeker. For two terms he was 
a member of the Republican County Central Committee. 

On June 15, 1916, at San Francisco, Mr. Grant Holcomb married 
Miss Eleanor Frances Burkham, a native of California and daughter of 
S. B. and M. L. Burkham, of Bodie, California. S. B. Burkham was a 
prominent participant in the rich and aried historical scenes that made 
Bodie one of the most famous towns of the great West. In the early 
days he owned the stage line and the general store at Bodie, and operated 
a stage between Bodie and Carson City, Nevada, when the transportation 
of passengers and mails was constantly beset by dangers of highwaymen. 
Mrs. Holcomb is also a graduate of Stanford University, receiving her 
A. B. degree in 1914. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the 
Woman's Club of San Bernardino and is also a member of the Young 
Women's Christian Association. Mr. and Mrs. Holcomb have two chil- 
dren, Grant, Jr., and Kathryn Lee. 

Richard Harrison Garland was one of the original Chicago asso- 
ciation that founded the original colony properly regarded historically as 
the beginning of the modern city of Redlands. He gave a whole-souled 
devotion to every item in the welfare of the settlement during the years 
he lived here, and his memory is properly treasured as a pioneer. 

Mr. Garland was born at Zanesville, Ohio, July 22, 1842. His father, 
Andrew Garland, was a stone mason by trade. Andrew Garland superin- 
tended the building of historic Fort Sumter in Charleston Harbor, the 
capture of which was the first open act of hostility at the beginning of the 
Civil war. His son Richard H. was a soldier in that war, and helped restore 
the union broken by the fall of Fort Sumter. From Zanesville Andrew 
Garland moved to Mount Vernon, Ohio, and was a farmer and stock 
raiser there until his death in 1873. 

Richard Harrison Garland grew up in Ohio, and at the beginning of the 
Civil war enlisted in Company A of the Sixty-fifth Ohio Infantry. He 



1252 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

participated in the battles of Shiloh, Corinth, Perryville, Stone River, 
Chickamauga, Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge, and at Missionary 
Ridge his brigade captured the batteries in front of General Bragg's head- 
quarters and turned the guns on the enemy. Through partial disablement 
about that time Mr. Garland was assigned to the Eastern Army, in the 
Quartermaster's Corps. At the close of the war he remained in the service 
of the army department in the Freedman's Bureau engaged in distributing 
supplies and establishing free schools for the negroes in the South. Later 
he was transferred to the Pacific Coast with the staff of General Thomas, 
and was present at the death of that great leader at San Francisco. When 
he resumed civilian life in 1870 he removed to Chicago, where he became 
a manufacturer of art furniture and interior decorations. 

It was in 1886 that a group of Chicago people formed the association 
and planned the founding of a town and community in Southern Cali- 
fornia. Mr. Garland was one of the most active promoters of this project. 
An investigating committee was sent out and selected 440 acres, divided 
among the forty members of the association. Seventeen acres was set 
aside as a townsite and is now the business portion of Redlands. Mr. 
Garland came to Redlands in 1886, and with characteristic energy began 
the development of his own lands and worked with his fellow citizens in 
matters of general improvement. His tract of some thirty acres was 
situated on Citrus Avenue in East Redlands, and he began its develop- 
ment as an orange plantation. He also received his lot on the townsite on 
West State Street. He deeded this to his wife, and seven months later 
she sold it for $1,400. The original cost was $25.00. The main property 
located by Mr. Garland is still owned by the family. During the twelve 
active years he spent here he made improvements that reclaimed a sage 
brush tract into a profitable plantation. He levelled the land and filled up 
the ditches, installed irrigation, and by his planting started the develop- 
ment which is now represented by one of the most beautiful places at Red- 
lands. The substantial home still in use was erected from materials he 
transported by team and wagon from San Bernardino, there being no 
railroad to Redlands. Mr. Garland was one of the early directors of the 
local Chamber of Commerce, and was for four years a member of the 
Board of City Trustees. His death on May 27, 1898, removed one of the 
strongest and best men from local citizenship. He did the work of a 
pioneer, work that continues cumulative benefit to all subsequent genera- 
tions. He was a stanch republican in politics, though not interested in 
politics as a source of personal honor. He was a Scottish Rite Mason. 

In 1872 Mr. Garland married Miss Margaret McGovern, a native of 
New Haven. Connecticut, who as a child moved with her parents to Chi- 
cago in 1864. She was the fifth in a family of nine children. Her brother 
John served throughout the Civil war and was killed at Atlanta by a 
sharpshooter just at the very close of the war. Mrs. Garland died October 
27, 1918, at Redlands. She retained her vigor to old age and her appear- 
ance was that of a woman many years her junior. Of her children two 
survive : Sanford S. and Maud M. Garland. 

The death of Mr. Garland in 1898 occurred at a time when, owing to 
the water shortages, the orange growers faced a crisis. Mrs. Garland 
showed the strength of her character by courageously taking up the burden, 
and by her personal resources and prudence and foresight maintaining 
the Garland orchard under difficulties so that in a large degree she was 
personally responsible for the beauty and productiveness of the tract today. 
She met every obligation scrupulously, and succeeded in rearing her chil- 
dren and. moveover. was a kind neighbor and loyal friend, so that many 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1253 

outside her family circle had reason to be grateful for her numerous acts 
of generosity and kindness. 

F. P. Morrison. — A native son of California, and a member of one 
of the pioneer families of the state, F. P. Morrison has lived in and 
about Redlands nearly forty years, and his energy and efforts have 
forged a strong link in the community's progress. He was actively 
identified with some of the important early constructive developments, 
and for many years has been a leading banker of Redlands. 

Mr. Morrison was born at San Francisco August 31, 1859, son of 
A. L. Sarah (Pease) Morrison, the former a native of Ohio and the 
latter of Michigan. The father was in business in Ohio until he came 
to California in the early days, and here took up the work of pioneer 
development of the water resources in the northern part of the state. 
Of four children, two sons and two daughters, F. P. Morrison was the 
oldest, and was only a child when his parents died. He acquired a 
liberal education, attending school at San Francisco and San Jose and 
then went East to pursue a technical course in the Sheffield Scientific 
School at Yale University. He left University in 1878, at the end of 
his junior year, on account of ill health. To regain health and strength 
he spent three years in the Hawaiian Islands, and in December. 18S2, 
came to Riverside and the following year moved to Redlands. He was 
attracted here partly by the climate and scenery, but also by the wonder- 
ful possibilities for development of a country which was then mainly 
unproductive. His first purchase of land was on Palm Avenue. Prac- 
tically all of it was unimproved, but later he set it to and developed a 
splendid grove of oranges, and on it eventually he erected the handsome 
home he now enjoys. Mr. Morrison became one of the stockholders in 
Bear Valley Dam, owning 1,000 shares of the original 3,600. He sold 
his stock before this great pioneer project of irrigation was completed. 
He joined other undertakings projected for the general improvement of 
this section. However, to an increasing degree his financial abilities 
brought him into prominence, and as such he was instrumental in the 
establishment of what is now the First National Bank of Redlands. 
This was established March 5, 1887, as the Bank of East San Ber- 
nardino Valley, being opened for business on the 4th of April of that 
year. Mr. Morrison was the first president, and remained president 
through subsequent changes until ill health demanded his resignation 
about six years ago. This bank started with a stock of $25,000, and 
was first opened in the Cook Building at the corner of Colton Avenue 
and Orange Street. It was soon moved to the Wilson and Berry Block, 
opposite, and in 1892 to its present location at the southwest corner of 
Orange and State streets. This modern banking house is now the home 
of both the First National Bank of Redlands and the Savings Bank of 
Redlands, which was incorporated June 25, 1891. Mr. Morrison was 
also "the first president of the Savings Bank. 

As a banker noted for his conservative judgment Mr. Morrison has 
been, nevertheless, progressive in every direction where the permanent 
and true welfare of the city and surrounding district was concerned. At 
the first election under the city charter he was chosen city treasurer, an 
office he held until recent years. He is a Knight Templar and thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason. 

Mr. Morrison married Miss Mabel Stillman, daughter of Dr. J. D. B. 
Stillman. Mr. Morrison has four children, and derives the highest sense 
of patriotic satisfaction in the war record of his three sons. The oldest 



1254 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

child, Laurence Stillman Morrison, born at Redlands May 28, 1888, 
graduated from high school, and, like the other sons, was sent East for 
his higher education. He graduated from the Phillips Andover Academy 
of Massachusetts in 1907, received his A. B. degree from Yale Univer- 
sity in 1911, and during the World war was in the Medical Corps with 
the One Hundred and Sixty-Third Field Hospital, seeing active service 
overseas in France from December, 1917, to April, 1919. He was 
mustered out May 24, 1919, and was assistant cashier of the Savings Bank 
of Redlands. The second son, Stanley Morrison, was born June 4, 1892, 
graduated from Phillips Andover Academy in 1911, from Yale Univer- 
sity with the A. B. degree in 1915, and from Harvard Law School with 
the LL.B. degree. In August, 1917, he enlisted, was assigned to the 
One Hundred and Forty-fourth Field Artillery, was trained at Camp 
Kearney, and while there received a commission as second lieutenant, was 
sent to the School of Fire at Fort Sill, becoming an instructor while 
there, and as an instructor remained at Fort Sill until the close of the 
war. He was promoted to first lieutenant. He is now engaged in law 
practice at San Francisco. The third of the family is Amy, Mrs. H. O. 
Philips, of Pasadena. The youngest, William Pease Morrison, born 
May 7, 1895, at Redlands, attended local schools, graduated from Phillips 
Andover Academy in 1914, spent one year in the Sheffield Scientific School 
at Yale, and two years in the University of California. He left university 
to enlist in the ambulance corps, and was assigned to a camp at Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania, subsequently attending the Officers Training School 
at Camp Meade, Maryland, and was commissioned a second lieutenant. 
He was on duty at Camp Upton, Long Island, as acting battalion adjutant 
in the Depot Brigade, and remained there until after the signing of the 
armistice, when he was released from service. He is now managing one 
of his father's ranches in the San Joaquin Valley. 

Herman Rudolph Hertel — Both as a merchant and as a public 
spirited citizen Herman Rudolph Hertel set a standard of conduct 
and character that Southern Californians will do well to cherish in 
grateful memory. His home and business interests were at Pasadena 
though his influence was not confined altogether to that city. 

He was a native son, born at Healdsburg, California, in 1862. 
As a young man in 1887 he came to Pasadena, and founded in that 
young city the Bon Accord, the first large dry goods store of Pasa- 
dena. To that business he devoted his time and energies the re- 
maining years of his life, and he kept the store apace with the growth 
of the city. The best tribute to his career as a business man is found 
in resolutions adapted by the Pasadena Merchants' Association, from 
which the following paragraph is taken : 

"Pasadena is again called upon to pay tribute to a good man. It 
mourns its loss, but consoles itself with the reflections that the 
souls of the truly good live beyond the grave. Herman R. Hertel, 
was such a man. Honored by being called to many public offices, 
which he filled not only with distinction to himself, but with great 
credit to our city, he was a merchant of the type that stands for 
high ideals, one who constantly endeavors to help those who were 
in need, yet his benefactions were bestowed in such a manner as 
not to provoke praise. As president of our Merchants' Association, 
he gave his best, and that was good. In all the transactions of life 
Herman R. Hertel was the soul of honor, and was often entrusted 
with important affairs with implicit confidence, and he never failed 
to render a satisfactory account of his stewardship. He was held 




Ierman R. Hertel 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1255 

in the highest esteem, and his loss is deeply deplored by the com- 
munity at large." 

He had in later years extensive financial and investment interests 
besides his dry goods store. He was a director in the Pasadena 
National Bank, served as president of the Pasadena Chamber of 
Commerce, president of the Rose Tournament Association, president 
of the Merchants and Manufacturers Association and as a director 
in several corporations. He is remembered in Pasadena also for 
his liberal philanthropy, particularly in behalf of educational insti- 
tutions. When Bob Burdette resigned from the Board of Park, 
Police and Fire Commissioners on March 7, 1908, Mr. Hertel con- 
sented to become his successor, though these official duties were 
necessarily in the nature of a sacrifice of his business, since the 
office was not one of remuneration. He devoted himself to work 
with the same zeal he showed in his own business. After finishing 
out Doctor Burdette's term in May, 1911, he was reappointed by 
Mayor Thum, and served until Pasadena adopted the commission 
form of government. As member of the Board of Police, Fire and 
Park Commissioners he was looked upon as head of the fire depart- 
ment. It was at his suggestion that the first change was made from 
horse drawn to motor propelled vehicles. 

Herman Rudolph Hertel, who died at his home in Pasadena 
June 16, 1915, was a member of the Overland and Altadena Country 
clubs, was a Presbyterian, a Scottish Rite Mason, and was regarded 
as one of the leading whist players of Southern California. He was 
a republican in politics. He married Emma Westerfeld, a native 
of San Francisco. She survives him at Pasadena and their five 
children consist of two daughters and three sons: Anita of New 
York City ; Elmer L. of Hemet ; Mina, at home ; Herbert associated 
with his brother Elmer in business ; and Francis of Ventura. 

Elmer L. Hertel, a son of the Pasadena merchant and citizen the 
late Herman Rudolph Hertel, is one of the prominent young ranchers 
and business men of the Riverside community in the district ad- 
joining Hemet. 

He was born at Pasadena June 16, 1889, and was liberally educated, 
attending the grammar and high schools of his native city. He grad- 
uated A. B. from Leland Stanford University with the class of 
1911. For about a year after leaving university he was in the 
Coalinga oil field and spent a similar time as a rancher in the San 
Fernando Valley. Mr. Hertel established himself at Hemet in the 
spring of 1914, when he bought his ranch of forty acres on the 
northern limits of the town. To this he has since added seventy 
acres, and he and his brother Herbert jointly own a ranch of 225 
acres. They do a large business, their diversified industry being 
represented by fruit, alfalfa and hogs. Individually Mr. Hertel's 
chief distinction in the agriculture and horticulture of Riverside 
County rests upon his peach orchards. He sells and ships the 
peaches from these groves all over Southern California, and a large 
number of nursery men have budded their young stock from the 
Hertel trees, because of the large yield and fine quality of the fruit 
produced by the Hertel orchards. The entire ranch property owned 
and occupied by Mr. Hertel is another example of the profitable 
development of land from a desert condition to a degree of pro- 
ductiveness that none of the choicest agricultural lands in the world 
can rival. 



1256 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Outside of his ranch Mr. Hertel is a director in the Riverside 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company and is one of the influential members 
of the Hemet Chamber of Commerce, the California Fruit Growers 
Association, the California Alfalfa Association and the California 
Prune and Apricot Association. He is unmarried, is an independent 
in politics and is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, Fraternal Order of Eagles, and the Zeta Psi college fraternity. 

Sumner A. Worthing, who is now living virtually retired in the 
City of Redlands, San Bernardino County, has the distinction of having 
been one of the pioneer business men of this place, and he has the satis- 
faction of having contributed his quota to the development and up- 
building of the beautiful little city which he still claims as his home and 
in which his circle of friends is coincident with that of his acquaintances. 

Sumner Augustus Worthing was born at Plattesville, Illinois, on the 
8th of August, 1853, and is a son of Augustus and Mary Worthing, the 
former a native of the State of New York and the latter of Ohio. The 
parents early established their residence in Illinois, and there they passed 
the remainder of their lives, the father having been a farmer by vocation 
during the major part of his active career. In the family were three 
sons and four daughters, and of the number the subject of this review 
was the fourth in order of birth. The public schools of his native state 
afforded Mr. Worthing his youthful educational advantages, and after 
leaving school he there served a thorough apprenticeship at the trades of 
tinsmith and plumber, in both of which he became a skilled workman 
For a long period of years he was employed by P. W. Worth, one of the 
ieading business men of Plattesville, Illinois. 

At Buckingham, Illinois, on the 15th of January, 1876, Mr. Worthing 
wedded Miss Mary E. Watson. Mrs. Worthing died on the 5th of 
January, 1885, and is survived by two children. Charles, the elder of the 
two, was born August 25. 1878, and is a plumber by trade. He is a leading 
dealer in plumbers' supplies at Redlands, California, and is one of the 
substantial business men of this city. August 2, 1904, recorded the mar- 
riage of Charles Worthing and Miss Emma Riddle, and they have three 
children — Emma, Charlotte and Leroy. Robert, the younger son of 
Sumner A. and Mary E. (Watson) Worthing, was born November 20, 
1880, and he is now engaged in the plumbing and tinning business at 
Lankershim, Los Angeles County. He anticipated his elder brother by a 
few months in appearing at the hymeneal altar, for on March 12, 1904, 
he married Miss Bertha Woodruff, their three children being Emma, Velma 
May, and Marion. 

On the 15th of January, 1886. Sumner A. Worthing was united in 
marriage with Miss Sadie Watson, a sister of his first wife and a resi- 
dent of Buckingham, Illinois. Mrs. Worthing is a daughter of J. K. and 
Caroline (Nickol) Watson, who were born in Canada, whither the former's 
father immigrated from Picadilly, near London, England, the latter's 
father, John Watson, having married a cousin of the English member of 
the celebrated Rothschild family, the great European capitalists and 
financiers. From Canada the parents of Mrs. Worthing removed to the 
United States and settled in Illinois, where they passed the remainder of 
their lives. Their children were nine in number. To Sumner A. and 
Sadie (Watson) Worthing were born four children, concerning whom 
brief record is here entered: Leonard Augustus, who was born July 31, 
1887, is a sheet-metal workman and is employed at his trade in the City 
of Los Angeles. February 10, 1905, he married Miss Myrtle Holcomb, 
a native of the State of New York, and they have two children, Albert 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1257 

Augustus and Howard. Lillie Mattie, the second child, was born Novem- 
ber 4, 1889, and her marriage to Louis Kelly occurred September 30, 
1906. The one child of this union is a daughter, Jessie May. On the 
27th of September, 1911, Mrs. Lillie M. Kelly contracted a second mar- 
riage, when she became the wife of Pearl Bunnell. They reside in San 
Bernardino and have one child, Ruth Naomi. Fannie Alice, the third 
child, was born June 7, 1892, and on the 16th of July, 1911, she became 
the wife of Thomas Rowe, who is engaged in the bakery business at 
Venice, Los Angeles County, their one child being a son, Theodore. 
Caroline May, the fourth child, was born August 16, 1896, and March 5, 
1915, recorded her marriage to John L. Welsh, of Redlands. They have 
two children, John Lawrence. Jr., and Elizabeth Jane. 

Sumner A. Worthing came with his family to California in 1889, his 
arrival in the state having occurred on the 13th of June. Thereafter he 
was employed in various plumbing establishments until 1894, when he 
purchased the interest of the junior partner of the firm of Brock & Osier, 
engaged in the plumbing and tinning business at Redlands. The firm of 
Brock & Worthing successfully continued the business for the ensuing 
ten years, at the expiration of which Mr. Worthing purchased the interest 
of his partner and assumed full control of the enterprise, which he there- 
after conducted under the firm name of S. A. Worthing & Company, 
with his two eldest sons as silent partners. In 1916 he sold the business 
to his eldest son, who has since continued to maintain the same at the 
high standard set by the father, the latter having lived retired since dis- 
posing of this business. Mr. Worthing is a veritable pioneer of Redlands 
and has witnessed and aided in the transformation of a barren desert 
tract into one of the beautiful cities that give far-flung fame to Southern 
California, while the entire district that was but a desert waste of sage- 
brush when he here established his home is now resplendant with fine 
gardens and orange groves and beautiful homes. Mr. Worthing is a life 
member of Redlands Lodge No. 585, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks; is a charter member of the local organization of the Fraternal 
Brotherhood, and in the community which he has helped to develop and 
build he commands inviolable place in popular confidence and esteem. 

Peter Arth, Sr., had been a pioneer in South Dakota prior to estab- 
lishing his residence in California in 1891, and San Bernardino County 
gained much when he here turned his attention to development work and 
productive industry in connection with fruit culture. He became one of 
the substantial fruit-growers and honored citizens of the Redlands dis- 
trict, had much to do with constructive enterprise in connection with other 
properties than those which he himself owned, and he proved resourceful 
and far-sighted as a business man, achieved success through his own 
well directed efforts and ever commanded high place in popular con- 
fidence and good will. He was born at Port Washington, Ohio, in 1859, 
and his death occurred at Redlands, California, on the 11th of October, 
1910. 

Mr. Arth was reared and educated in the old Buckeye State and early 
gained practical experience in connection with farm industry. He con- 
tinued his residence in Ohio until 1882, when, as a sturdy and ambitious 
young man of twenty-three years, he made his way to South Dakota and 
filed entry on a homestead in Potter County, his marriage having there 
occurred somewhat later. He gave himself vigorously to the develop- 
ment and cultivation of his land, which he reclaimed from the raw prairie, 
and he made on the farm the best improvements consonant with his some- 
what limited financial resources. Mr. Arth continued his residence on his 



1258 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

South Dakota farm until 1891, when he sold the property and came with 
his family to Redlands, California. The day after his arrival he pur- 
chased ten acres of land on Pioneer Street, between Texas and Orange 
streets, and for this now splendidly improved and valuable property he paid 
$2,500. On the tract he proceeded to plant olive and apricot trees, but 
these he later removed, to utilize the ground for the propagation of Navel 
oranges. On the day which marked his purchase of this property 
Mr. Arth also bought lumber and other materials for the construction 
of a modest house on the place, as well as for the building of a small 
barn and shed, the latter structures being used as a temporary habitation 
for the family until the house could be completed, and only one night 
having been passed in a hotel. Later Mr. Arth erected on the place the 
attractive modern house which continues the residence of his widow, who 
proved his devoted companion and helpmeet in his earnest labors to 
establish a home and win a position of independence. With increasing 
financial resources Mr. Arth gradually added to the area of his land hold- 
ings and continued to plant more orange trees. After setting out six 
acres to oranges he became impressed with the thought that the orange- 
growing industry might be overdone in this section, and he ceased increas- 
ing the area of his orchard. He soon discovered that the supply of 
California oranges did not meet the trade demands, and he therefore 
proceeded to plant the remainder of his land to oranges. He was a con- 
servative but very successful grower, and make close study of the best 
methods and policies for insuring maximum yields. 

In the earlier period of his residence in San Bernardino County Mr. 
Arth added materially to his income by acting as caretaker of orchards 
owned by others, and this enabled him to finance his individual operations. 
In this way he had charge of the Hinckley olive grove of 140 acres, and 
for a term of years he had charge of the Brockman ranch of 150 acres, 
which he operated on shares, this place having been devoted principally to 
the raising of peaches and apricots at that time, but he later set out for the 
Brockman Company an eighty-acre orange grove, in the supervision of 
which he continued several years. In these years he added to his own 
holdings, but scrupulously avoided the incurring of heavy indebtedness and 
refused to speculate in any degree. Mr. Arth was essentially loyal and 
public-spirited and served effectively as a member of the Board of Trus- 
tees of the village of Redlands prior to the securing of a city charter. 
He was independent in politics, was affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, 
and was an active member of the Congregational Church, as are also his 
widow and children. 

In the year 1883, in Potter County, South Dakota, was solemnized the 
marriage of Mr. Arth and Miss Elizabeth C. Rausch, who likewise is a 
native of Port Washington, Ohio, where she was born November 11, 1861. 
Mrs. Arth has a wide circle of loyal friends in San Bernardino County, 
is a zealous member of the Congregational Church, as previously noted, 
and she was formerly an active member of the Pythian Sisters. In con- 
clusion of this memoir is entered brief record concerning the children of 
Mr. and Mrs. Arth. 

Peter Arth, Jr., eldest of the four children, was born in Potter 
County, South Dakota, June 25, 1885, and was reared and educated at 
Redlands, California, he being now one of the prosperous orange-growers 
of this district and a director of the Redlands Co-operative Fruit Associa- 
tion. He is affiliated with Redlands Lodge No. 186, Knights of Pythias, 
and Redlands Lodge No. 583, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
He is not only a substantial producer of oranges on his own land, but 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1259 

has also conducted numerous speculative transactions in the buying and 
selling of orange groves, and is a liberal citizen and progressive business 
man. On the 14th of June, 1911, he wedded Miss Alice Bloomberg, who 
was born in the State of Kansas, March 19, 1889, and who was three years 
of age when her parents came to California and established their home at 
Redlands. Mr. and Mrs. Peter Arth have four children, whose names 
and respective dates of birth are as follows: Leona Elizabeth, June 17, 
1913; Helen Christine, Mav 19, 1916; Barbara Edna, Julv 16, 1918; and 
Peter (III), March 19, 1920. 

Fred Arth, the second son, was born in Potter County, South Dakota, 
February 20, 1887, and after the removal to California he continued his 
studies in the Redlands school until his graduation in the high school. 
He has been closely associated with orange-growing from his boyhood 
days, and his first independent venture was the purchase of eighteen 
acres of land on Pioneer Street, for a consideration of $2,500. He 
set this to orange trees, and to finance his enterprise he raised vegetables 
between the rows of young trees and by the sale of the same added mater- 
ially to his income. He constructed his own irrigating flume, in the build- 
ing of which he hauled rock from the river. He has been a successful 
speculator in orange groves, in which he and his brother Peter have main- 
tained effective partnership relations. One of their early speculations was 
the buying of a ten-acre grove for $7,000, their cash payment having been 
only $500, and on the subsequent sale of this property they netted $2,000 
each, the sale having been made for $11,000, a crop having been taken off, 
which paid all expenses for the ten months the place was owned by the 
brothers. In 1912 Fred Arth had twenty acres of orange trees one and 
two years old, and three acres of seven-year-old trees. He bought an 
additional ten acres, but in the big freeze of 1913 fully two-thirds of the 
young trees froze to the ground, which loss was augmented by the destruc- 
tion of the entire crop by the frost. Before the next crop was ready for 
the market Fred Arth expended fully $5,000 in the work of retrieving 
these orange groves, as his faith in the orange industry remaining unim- 
paired. Fred Arth utterly refused to consider or entertain a feeling of 
discouragement when other growers viewed the outlook with alarm. Thus 
he purchased during a season when many others were discouraged. In 
1917 after the heat had ruined the orange crop of the district, he purchased 
ten acres for $11,000, and from this grove a single crop later sold for 
$9,000. On this place is a house valued at $11,000, and yet local banks 
refused to extend a loan on the security thus offered in a certain hot year 
that menaced production, a policy which the banks followed also in cold 
years. Mr. Arth and his brother had confidence in the future, and in their 
operations in connection with orange culture they have met with substantial 
and gratifying success. At this present writing Fred Arth is the 
owner of 100 acres of oranges, and is a director and vice president of the 
Crown Jewel Packing House. He married Miss Katherine Yost, who 
was born December 15, 1888, and who is a daughter of Charles Yost, of 
whom individual mention is made on other pages of this work. Mr. and 
Mrs. Arth have four children: Russell Frederick, born September 13, 
1916; Donald Peter, born June 12, 1918; Charles Robert, born Januarv 
31, 1920, and the baby, born February 12, 1922. 

Minnie, the elder daughter of the honored subject of this memoir, 
was born January 30, 1889, and is a graduate of the Redlands High School. 
On June 25, 1914, she became the wife of Dr. Howard G. Hill, who was 
born in London, England, and who is a representative young physician 
and surgeon at Redlands. Dr. and Mrs. Hill were members of a party 



1260 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

that set forth to make a trip around the world, and they were in Germany 
at the outbreak of the great World war. It was only by resorting to all 
manner of expedients and making utmost haste that the party were able 
to escape from Germany before its borders were closed, two days after 
the company passed out of that country. It was on this trip that the 
marriage of Dr. and Mrs. Hill occurred, in the City of London, England. 
They have four children: Howard Arth, Ruth Gail, Harold Merrill 
and Herbert. 

Edna, the youngest of the children of the late Peter Arth, Sr., was 
born at Redlands, November 4, 1891, and is a graduate of the Redlands 
High School. She was a member of the same party as her sister in essay- 
ing the trip around the world, as noted above, and encountered the same 
harrowing experiences in fleeing from Germany and returning to the 
United States only a short time before the war put a stop to passenger 
traffic across the Atlantic. On the 6th of November, 1919, Miss Edna 
Arth became the wife of Edward G. Gleitsman, of Dover, Ohio, and they 
now reside in Redlands, Mr. Gleitsman being a successful orange-grower 
in this district. Mrs. Gleitsman and her sister are popular factors in the 
social life of Redlands, and the former is an active member of the local 
Contemporary Club. 

Rufus E. Longmire. Those who now come to San Bernardino County 
can have no real idea of the conditions prevailing when the pioneers, among 
whom were Rufus E. Longmire and his family, located amid what was 
then practically a sterile wilderness. Irrigation was practically unknown 
in its present high state of development, dirt ditches being the only means 
of watering the soil, and the walls of these frequently broke through, 
resulting in a loss of the moisture so sorely needed. Citrus culture was 
then in its infancy, and had to be carefully studied and experimented upon. 
The results were so doubtful that it took one with great faith in the locality 
and industry to dare to risk all in these experimentations, but because there 
were these brave souls, willing to work and endure, this region has been 
made into one of the finest and most productive portions of the Golden 
State. 

Rufus E. Longmire, for so many years connected with the citrus 
industry of San Bernardino County, and for a long period an honored 
resident of Highland, was born in Tennessee in 1843, and died at High- 
land, California, February 15, 1919. In 1868 he married Miss Mary E. 
Shanlever, who was born in Tennessee in 1844, and they settled on a farm 
in the vicinity of Clinton, Anderson County, Tennessee, and made it their 
home until 1882, and there their five daughters and two sons were born. 
In that year a brother of Mr. Longmire returned from the West with such 
glowing accounts of California and its possibilities and opportunities that 
these hard-working and watchful parents decided to make the long trip 
to the Land of Promise, being willing to endure much in the hope of 
obtaining advantages for their offspring. 

Therefore, filled with hope for the future and imbued with the deter- 
mination to succeed no matter what the hardships might be, Rufus E. 
Longmire and his devoted wife set out for California. They arrived at 
East Highland in the fall of 1882, and rented land from the Van Leuven 
ranch, and lived on it for five years. At that time the region was but little 
improved, and father, mother and children had to work very hard to get 
a foothold in the new home. Scattered citrus orchards and grapes were 
to be found, but there was no concerted movement toward the establish- 
ment of a sound industry. However, the Longmire family were united in 
a harmonious whole and worked with a definite object in view, that of 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 12bl 

owning their home, and this they were able to bring about after five years 
of unremitting toil and the closest of economy. Mr. Longmire bought ten 
acres on Base Line, now known as the Parsons place, and this he and his 
family set to orange trees. Theirs was one of the early orchards of this 
region, and they lived on the place until the orchard was well grown, and 
then sold to advantage and bought ten acres on Highland Avenue, at 
Boulder Avenue. Once more they set out the trees that had been raised 
on the Base Line property, where he had maintained a nursery with profit. 
The second orchard flourished and was sold, again at a handsome profit, 
in 1912, following which Mr. Longmire retired from active participation 
in business, bought a comfortable home at Highland, where the remainder 
of his life was spent, and here Mrs. Longmire is still residing. She also 
owns a grove at Rialto, California. They came to San Bernardino County 
poor people, with their way in life still to make, and when Mr. Longmire 
retired they were possessed of ample means, and Mrs. Longmire is sur- 
rounded today with not only the comforts of life, but also many of the 
luxuries, all of which have been earned through the toil and good manage- 
ment of the Longmire family. 

When the Longmires came to California the eldest child was fourteen 
years of age, she being Ida, who was born in October, 1868. She married 
Charles Hidden in 1892. and they have two children: Lloyd, who was 
born January 21, 1894, is a veteran of the World war, having served as 
an enlisted man in the artillery ; and Gertrude, who is with her parents. 
The second child of Mr. and Mrs. Longmire, Lassie, was born April 3, 
1870, and died August 18, 1889. Mattie, the third child, was born August 
13, 1871, and she was married to John P. Coy, inspector of horticulture, 
and they became the parents of three children: Clifford, who was born 
December 1, 1898, is a veteran of the World war, in which he served in 
the aviation branch; Blanche, who was born November 17, 1899; and 
John, who was born May 9, 1916. Charles, who was born May 30, 1873, 
lives at Santa Ana, California, and is a real-estate man. He is married 
and has two children: Lucille, who was born April 1, 1904; and Rufus. 
who was born February 14, 1907. Kitty, the fifth child in the Longmire 
family, was born December 1. 1874. She was married to Frank Cram, a 
prominent citrus grower of Highland, and they have two children : Fred, 
who was born July 1, 1896, was in the aviation service during the World 
war ; and Mary Elizabeth, who was born May 27, 1900. Maggie, the sixth 
child in the Longmire family, was born April 25, 1877, and died February 
9, 1896. James Longmire, the youngest in the family, was born February 
9, 1878. He lives at Highland, is married, and has two children : Donald, 
who was born January 30, 1916; and Merritt, who was born February 16, 
1921. His eldest child, Gerald, who was born November 11, 1914, died in 
infancy. Mrs. Longmire is very proud of her children and grandchildren, 
as she has every reason to be, for they are fine people. The sons and 
daughters are numhered among the substantial residents of the several 
communities in which they are located, and the grandchildren are showing 
forth in their lives the results of careful training and the good stock from 
which they have sprung. When their country hail need of them the voung 
men went forth to battle for it, and made records as soldiers which will 
be cherished by future generations. 

George A. Klusman — Whatever its natural origin and previous train- 
ing, there is a type of citizenship that represents good service and 
usefulness in any environment, and a splendid illustration of such 
type is in the person of George A. Klusman of Cucamonga. 



1262 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Mr. Klusman was born in Oldenburg, Germany, November 20, 
1879, son of William and Johanna (Stulken) Klusman. William 
Klusman owned a good farm in Germany and for seven years lived 
in America, but then returned to his native land, where he died at 
the age of eighty-two. His wife, Johanna, had died at the age of 
forty. They had six sons : William, the oldest, now chief engineer 
of the Union Tool Works at Torrens in Los Angeles ; John and 
Henry, whose careers also belong within the province of this pub- 
lication ; Charles, who served as a commission officer in the World 
war and still lives in Germany ; George A., and August, who died at 
the age of eight years. Four of these brothers became Americans, 
and they came to this country not only to enjoy the advantages 
of the new world but to make themselves in every sense American 
citizens, and all of them became naturalized as soon as possible. 

George A. Klusman acquired a good education in Germany. 
During 1900-01 he was enlisted in the Regular German Army in 
the 91st Division of Infantry. He served six months in Germany 
and for eighteen months was abroad in China, participating in the 
allied expedition to quell the Boxer rebellion. His pay while a 
German soldier was five cents a day. He went back home, was 
mustered out and for one year was employed in the railway service. 
He resigned in order to follow his brothers to America, and he 
reached Cucamonga November 16, 1903. He came here a hundred 
fifty dollars in debt to his brother John, having borrowed that sum 
in order to pay the expenses of his voyage. He at once went to 
work for his brother John at twenty-five dollars a month and board. 
The next three years were years of hard labor, during which he paid 
back the hundred and fifty dollars and also saved enough to buy 
a team of horses. He then leased some land, and since then has been 
actively identified with agriculture and horticulture, but his big 
crop and the specialty by which he is widely known throughout this 
section is potatoes. There is probably no man in Southern Cali- 
fornia who understands potato culture better than George A. Klus- 
man. In 1917, when the Government was clamoring for increased 
food production, his crop amounted to ten thousand sacks. The 
first land he purchased was twenty acres of untamed soil, and he set 
this to raisin grapes, intercultivating in the meantime. Here he 
built a modern home and barn and lived there until he sold the 
property in 1920. 

In 1917 Mr. Klusman bought eighty acres of excellent land on 
Foot Hill Boulevard. This is the scene of his home today. All 
the tract is irrigated and thirty acres have been set to lemons and 
oranges, twenty acres to vineyard, fifteen acres to peaches and fifteen 
acres to garden and farm crops. On account if its varied produc- 
tiveness, its beautiful home, in the midst of mountain scenery, and 
its commodious outbuildings, this is one of the most attractive 
places along this old thoroughfare. Mr. Klusman still leases a 
large acreage and uses a great deal of land every season for his 
potato crop. Among other varied interests he is a stockholder in the 
Building & Loan Association at Cucamonga. He is affiliated with 
Lodge No. 98, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, at Upland and 
the Foresters. At the age of forty-two he has accumulated a 
prosperity that would enable him to retire, though his energetic 
disposition seems likely to keep him in the productive lines of 
business for some years to come. He was ready with his money 
and all other influence to aid the Government at the time of the 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1263 

World war, is a republican in politics, and a member of the Presby- 
terian Church. 

August 11, 1910, Mr. Klusman married Miss Mary Clarrissa 
Oliver, who was born at Derry West, near Toronto, Canada, August 
11, 1883. She is a high school graduate. They have one son, George 
Oliver, born October 6, 1915. Mrs. Klusman is a daughter of Josiah 
and Mary Ann (Carter) Oliver, the father born at the same place 
as his daughter and the mother born in Brampton, Canada. The 
father, a farmer, came to Cucamonga, California, in 1905 and had 
a ranch. He died September 10, 1921. The mother died when Mrs. 
Klusman was four years old. There were six girls and three boys in 
the family. Three of the girls married and are living in California, 
also one of the brothers. One sister and one brother are living in 
Canada and one sister is deceased. 

Davis Donald came to Redlands in 1890, and with his father, D. M. 
Donald, formed one of the first contracting firms to contribute to the 
upbuilding of Redlands. He was born in Norwich, Ontario, Canada, 
May 23, 1865, his father, Daniel Mcintosh Donald, being a native of 
Scotland, his mother, a Canadian. Mr. and Mrs. D. M. Donald came to 
Redlands in pioneer days, where Mr. Donald's brother was the first Presby- 
terian minister, the church at that time being where the Kingsbury School 
now stands. 

Mr. Donald, senior, was a well known contractor in Canada, and when 
his son joined him here they started a business that has lasted over 
thirty years, and have built many of the finest homes and most substantial 
buildings in the city, including the A. K. Smiley Public Library, the Pres- 
byterian Church, the Redlands National Bank, the Columbia Building and 
many others. 

Mr. Donald's wife, Mrs. Agnes McMurchie Donald, followed him to 
Redlands in 1891, and their two sons, James and Gordon, were born here 
and received their education in the local schools and the university. Both 
volunteered for service in the great war. fames Donald enlisted Novem- 
ber 28, 1917, in the Quartermaster's Corps, and was stationed at Fort 
McDowell, then at Benicia Arsenal, and was discharged May 10, 1919. 
He is a department manager for Allen Wheaton, and married in Septem- 
ber, 1920, Miss Clara Brown, of Oregon. Gordon Donald, the younger 
son, enlisted in the air service December 10, 1917, and was sent to Fort 
McDowell, then to Kelly Field and Ellington Field, Texas, and lastly to 
Wilbur Wright Field, Dayton, Ohio, where he was an instructor, in aerial 
gunnery. He was mustered out February 21, 1919, and on October 23, 
1920. married Miss Estelle Hurd, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He is 
associated with his father in the building and contracting business, and 
they operate their own shop, equipped with the most modern wood-work- 
ing machinery, where they build fine cabinet work, as well as manufacture 
interior trim and finish for all their own work. They are also engaged in 
making a full line of concrete brick, blocks and roofing tile for modern 
fire-proof residence construction. 

Mr. Donald has watched the growth of Redlands from a tiny village 
to a modern up-to-date community, and. like all those who were here in the 
early days, is a firm believer in the future growth of the city. He is a 
member of the Chamber of Commerce, of the Merchants and Manufac- 
turers Association, of the Redlands Lodge of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, of the Redlands Rotary Club, and both he and Mrs. 
Donald are active members of the First Presbvterian Church. 



1264 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Cortner. — Three brothers make up the Cortner Brothers Company, 
undertakers and funeral directors, whose establishment at Sixth and East 
Olive streets in Redlands represents the highest degree of service and 
facilities in their line. 

The parents of these brothers were George A. and Kate (Couch) 
Cortner, both natives of Bedford County, Tennessee. Their father was 
born in 1838 and their mother in 1844. George A. Cortner was a farmer 
and a grain dealer, a prosperous business man who spent his active life in 
Tennessee. He died in 1911. while his wife passed away in 1893. 

George and Arthur Cortner came to Redlands in 1902, being followed 
by their brother Guy in 1904. Reasons of health caused George Cortner 
to seek the California climate. Arthur Cortner went to work for F. A. 
Wales in his undertaking establishment at Redlands. and in 1904 the two 
brothers bought the Wales business, then conducted in a small store on 
State Street. Appreciating the need of a more commodious place and a 
better equipped service, they established their Funeral Parlor in 1905, at 
the corner of Cajon and East Olive streets. The present handsome build- 
ing occupied by Cortner Brothers is at the northwest corner of Sixth 
and Olive streets. For over fifteen years, therefore, the Cortner Brothers 
Company has been in business at Redlands. They were the first firm to 
realize the need of a modern funeral parlor in the city, and selected their 
present location on account of its convenience to car lines as well as for its 
seclusion. In this commodious and well arranged chapel they have sup- 
plied the needs of all classes. 

George P. Cortner was born in Tennessee in December, 1879, and 
grew up and received his education in that state. Since 1915 he has held 
the responsibilities of business manager for the University of Redlands. 
He married Miss Nellie Harmon, a native of Ohio, and they have two 
daughters, Katherine and Edith. 

F. Arthur Cortner was born in Tennessee January 26, 1881. He was 
educated in that state, and in 1903 graduated from the Myers College of 
Embalming at Cincinnati. In 1911 he married Miss Katherine Fox, of 
Colton, California. Her parents were California pioneers, her father 
being the first planter and packer of oranges in the Colton district, and 
continued the business of packing and shipping fruits from this section 
for manv vears. Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Cortner have three children : 
Arthur, Jr.', born May 28, 1912; Anna Belle, born September 30, 1914; 
Gayle, born October 22, 1916. 

Guy Cortner, youngest of the three brothers, and as yet unmarried, 
was born March 7, 1883, at Wartrace, Tennessee, and was reared and 
educated there. He arrived in Redlands in November, 1904. He is also a 
member of the firm Sering & Cortner. furniture merchants at Redlands. 

J. J. Suess. — In everything he has done since coming to Redlands J. J. 
Suess has manifested the talents of a constructive business man, and has 
done much to supply and anticipate the needs of the community for com- 
mercial undertakings involving the vital necessities of life. 

Mr. Suess, one of San Bernardino County's esteemed and successful 
business men, was born near Zurich, Switzerland, August 22, 1862. 
When he was five years of age his parents, John J. and Susan (Ulrich) 
Suess, left their home in Switzerland and came to America, settling at 
Fort Madison, Iowa, where his father for several years engaged in a 
manufacturing business. While there J. J. Suess attended common 
schools, and during his education acquired a knowledge of English, Ger- 
man and Spanish. From Fort Madison the family moved to Guide Rock, 
Nebraska, and a few years later both parents died there, leaving a family 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1265 

of nine children. J. J. Suess was next to the oldest. The children man- 
aged to keep together and look after the home farm. 

J. J. Suess at the age of nineteen set out to make his own fortune in 
the world and came to California. His first home was in Ventura County, 
where he did farming for several years and then became manager of a 
general merchandise store at Nordhoff. On November 1, 1891, Mr. Suess 
began his thirty years of residence in Redlands. At that time he bought 
a half interest from J. W. Eewis in the Star Grocery, at the corner of 
Orange and State streets. January 1, 1893, he became sole proprietor, 
and has been active head and owner of that business ever since. It is the 
largest, best equipped and most successful store of its kind in Redlands, 
and the business has grown and prospered from year to year through the 
constant care and effective management of Mr. Suess. He has striven to 
make the business service adequate to all the needs of the community 
In 1905 he added a modern bakery, supplying goods both wholesale and 
retail, the bakery product being shipped to many surrounding cities. In 
1910, over the store, he opened a model cafeteria, which for years has been 
the favorite eating place in the Redlands business center, but it is now on 
the ground floor and a part of the store. Mr. Suess has exercised constant 
care to furnish the highest class and best prepared food. The cafeteria 
has a seating capacity of 125. The next important extension of his busi- 
ness activities was the organization in 1914 of the Imperial Valley Baking 
Company. At El Centro this company constructed one of the most 
modern and complete machine bakeries in the state. Mr. Suess is presi- 
dent of the company, and the business is entirely wholesale, supplying the 
bakery products for a large section of Southern California, including 
Imperial and adjoining counties. Mr. Suess is also president of the EI 
Casco Land Company, owning the property formerly known as the 
Singleton Ranch. This is a very extensive tract, and under the present 
ownership and management is producing general crops and livestock. 
These lands and other business ventures are, through the careful business 
methods of Mr. Suess, constantly adding to the general benefit of the 
community. He is a republican in politics, and was mavor of Redlands 
for two terms, from 1904 to 1908. 

On December 29, 1889, Mr. Suess married Miss Mattie E. Dewey, a 
native of Pennsylvania. She died in 1903. the mother of two children. 
Donald E. Suess, born August 30, 1895, attended Redlands High School 
and Phillips Andover Academy in Massachusetts, and acquired a thorough 
business training under his father. He is now with Reid Murdock and 
Company, wholesale grocers of Chicago. During the World war he 
enlisted in the army with the Grizzlies at Camp Kearney. The Medical 
Department ordered his release from this branch, but, determined to dis- 
charge his patriotic duties, he enlisted in the navy, and was on duty at 
Goat Island until after the signing of the armistice. The second child 
of Mr. Suess is Dorothy Deney Suess. born November 1, 1898, a graduate 
of the Redlands High School. She attended the Marlboro School for 
Girls at Los Angeles, also the University of California and the University 
at Redlands, and is a graduate of the Munson School for Secretaries, and 
is now doing an important work as secretary for the County Highway 
Commission of San Bernardino County. She is one of Redlands' favorite 
daughters. 

On March 15, 1905, Mr. Suess married Miss Nellie Westland, who was 
born at Grand Ledge, Michigan. She was well known socially and in edu- 
cational affairs at Redlands before her marriage, having been principal 
of one of the grammar schools of Redlands. She is a graduate of the 
Michigan State Normal School at Ypsilanti. She is of Scotch-Irish ances- 



1266 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

try, and her grandmother was one of the first graduates of Oberlin College 
in Ohio, and her grandfather, Rev. E. T. Branch, was a Congregational 
minister who did missionary work for his denomination in Michigan while 
it was still a territory. Airs. Suess is a member of the Congregational 
Church, belongs to the Contemporaneous Club, concluded in December, 
1920, a two-year term as president of the Southern District of Federated 
Women's Clubs, and has been very active in civic and social betterment, 
having been a worker in the Red Cross during the war period and always 
deeply interested in the welfare and progress of the schools. She was an 
active leader in the movement for the creation and improvement of Sylvan 
Park, and was appointed secretary of the Park Commission. Mrs. Suess 
is a republican in politics. 

Mr. Suess is a Mason, a member of Al Malaikah Temple and Shrine, 
also a member of Redlands Lodge of Elks and the Woodmen of the World, 
and belongs to the Rotary Club. In his years of industry he has made 
himself a strong factor in the commercial and civic integrity of Southern 
California. His success has been the result of energies and character pro- 
ceeding from himself, since he started life with no capital in a material 
way. 

J. Oliver Percival is a young business man who has made ex- 
traordinary use of his time and talents since leaving school. At Hemet 
he has carried on and developed an extensive ice manufacturing and 
associated industry, and is justly accorded a place of prominence 
among the business leaders of that community. 

Mr. Percival was born at Santa Monica, California, September 1, 
1892, son of J. Phil and Delia C. Percival, now residents of Los 
Angeles. His father is president of the Percival Iron Company of 
Los Angeles. Phil Percival in his early years was celebrated as 
a champion bicycle rider. 

J. Oliver Percival attended public school at Los Angeles, graduating 
from high school in 1910, and in the same year started his independ- 
ent career, locating at Hemet. The business to which he has given 
his energies and which in time has profited by his connection is 
the Valley Ice & Laundry Company. He became president, secretary 
and treasurer of the company some years ago and is now its principal 
owner. This industry was started as a very modest plant, but is 
now one of the. largest of the kind in Riverside Count}', serving a 
patronage for many miles adjacent to Hemet. 

Mr. Percival is also president of the Hemet Chamber of Com- 
merce and one of its directors, and he is also director of the First 
National Bank of Hemet. He is a republican in politics and a Mason 
and Shriner, also a member of the Knights of Pythias. 

On April 4, 1915, he married Miss Eva Oldaker at Riverside. 
Her parents have been residents of San Bernardino County for over 
thirty years. Her father, George Oldaker, in San Bernardino is 
connected with the Santa Fe Railway. Mr. and Mrs. Percival have 
two children. Oliver Cary, born November 21, 1916, and Patricia, 
born November 23, 1919. 

James A. Cole was one of the most honored pioneer citizens of San 
Bernardino County, where he established his home in the year 1859, and 
with his strong and earnest manhood he proved a force in connection 
with the early stages of development and progress in this favored section 
of the state. He was a resident of old San Bernardino at the time of his 
death, July 27, 1888, and his character and achievement were such as to 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1267 

make imperative a tribute to his memory in connection with the compilation 
of the history of San Bernardino County. 

James Alfred Cole was born at Kirtland, Trumbull County, Ohio, 
March 8, 1831, and was reared and educated in the old Buckeye State, his 
parents having there been pioneer settlers in the district known as the 
Western Reserve. As a young man he married May Elizabeth Kelly, 
who was born at Quincy, Illinois, May 31, 1833, and whose death occurred 
at Oakland, California, on the 15th of March, 1915, their marriage having 
been solemnized at Springville, Utah Territory, on the 17th of July, 1852. 
From Ohio James A. Cole went to Illinois and became a member of the 
Mormon colony at Nauvoo, and as a member of the Latter Day Saints he 
was with this colony at the time of its historic hegira from Nauvoo to 
Utah, in which territory was established the church headquarters at Salt 
Lake City. He continued his residence in Utah until 1859, on October 
16th of which year, accompanied by his family, he set forth with other 
members of the Mormon Church to form a new colony in California. The 
company proceeded by wagon train over the weary intervening distance, 
and deferred departure until a detachment of Government troops became 
available to serve as protection against attack by Indians. The colonists 
arrived in San Bernardino County on the 23d of December, 1859. The 
long overland journey having been initiated on the 16th of the preceding 
October. On arrival at their destination the company encamped on what 
is now Third Street in the City of San Bernardino, the colonists having 
first settled in old San Bernardino, near the old Mission. This selection of 
location was made by reason of the fact that here they could make use of 
water which the Indians had previously brought in for irrigation purposes. 
The colonists widened the primitive ditches constructed by the Indians 
and increased materially the area of irrigated land. Mr. Cole, who had 
severed his connection with the Mormon Church, remained at San Ber- 
nardino until the 1st of February, 1860, when he removed to a tract of 
thirty acres in old San Bernardino. With the passing years he added to 
this original holding until he was the owner of approximately 700 acres, 
the same extending a distance of two miles north and south. He became 
the owner also of what is now known as Loma Linda. This site was 
platted into town lots and the original name of the village was Mound City. 
With the construction of the Southern Pacific Railway line through this 
section, in 1875, Colton was made a division point, and Mound City passed 
into obscurity, the land reverting to farm use. Mr. Cole was a man of 
much physical strength and prowess in the earlier period of his residence 
in California, and he gained distinct prestige as a wrestler, with never a 
defeat in the local matches. He enjoyed this sturdy sport but did not 
countenance what are now designated as boxing (fighting) contests. 

On his land Mr. Cole planted a number of orange trees and other fruit 
trees, but he gave the greater part of his attention to the raising of live 
stock, grain and forage crops. His place being situated at the mouth of 
San Gorgonia Pass, through which passed the long trains of freight 
wagons en route to Arizona, he kept a station and supplied forage for the 
freighting teams. In this way he found profitable market for most of his 
farm produce, as often his farm would be the stopping place for fully 200 
head of horses and mules over night. From 1860 to 1868 he operated a 
line of freighting wagons of his own in the hauling of supplies to Prescott, 
Arizona. Mr. Cole was a man of vision and progressiveness, and was one 
of the first of the pioneers to bring blooded live stock into this part of 
California, his early importations having had enduring influence in improv- 
ing the grades of stock raised here. He imported the first I'ercheron 
Norman stallion into San Bernardino County, and brought also a Cleveland 



1268 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

bay stallion, a riding and driving type, besides which he brought here the 
first Berkshire hogs, and introduced the first reaping machine and header 
to be used in San Bernardino County. The harvester was manufactured 
by Cyrus McCormick of Chicago, and it attracted wide attention when 
placed in operation by Mr. Cole, persons having come for miles to see the 
new machine. Mr. Cole served as school trustee and was a leader in com- 
munity advancement in many other ways. Both he and his wife con- 
tinued their membership in the Church of Latter Day Saints until their 
deaths. Of their ten children one died in infancy ; Susannah Matilda was 
born at Sprinville, Utah, July 29, 1853; James Calvin was there born 
September 3, 1854; Hugh Henry, February 3, 1856; and John Albert, 
April 13, 1858. All of the other children were born at Old San Bernar- 
dino: Mary Jane, June 21, 1860; Arthur Edgar, December 27, 1861; 
Joseph Morrison, July 23, 1865; Alfred Ira, July 13, 1867; and Walter 
Dayton, April 15, 1880. Of the children only four are now living: Hugh 
Henry, Arthur Edgar, Joseph Morrison and Walter Dayton. Hugh 
Henry married Miss Mary Curtis, a member of a prominent pioneer family 
of San Bernardino County, and they have one son and three daughters. 
Arthur Edgar Cole received the advantages of the public schools and a 
business college in Los Angeles, where in 1882 he took a special course in 
penmanship. As a penman lie has few superiors, even to the present day, 
notwithstanding the fact that he has done a large amount of hard and 
rough farm work that naturally might impair his skill in this line. He has 
kept himself in practice and has gained high reputation and has held official 
positions that have brought his talent into effective play. He has served as 
deputy county clerk and deputy county auditor and recorder, and in 1887 
he was deputy tax collector of San Bernardino County. After the death 
of his father he resumed active association with farm enterprise on his 
inherited portion of the old homestead. Here he raises oranges and other 
fruits, with special attention given to the raising of Bartlett pears. Some 
of the trees on his farm were planted by him and his father more than half 
a century ago. September 21, 1892, Arthur E. Cole wedded Miss Elmira 
Doell, who was born near Rocky Ridge, Ottawa County, Ohio, March 8, 
1864, and who died at Ontario. California, March 25, 1921, she having 
come to this state in 1892. She is survived by two children: Anna 
Louise, who was born August 30, 1893, and who is now the wife of 
George P. Hinchman, a printer residing at Ontario, California, their mar- 
riage having occurred in October, 1918; and Arthur Edgar, Jr., who was 
reared and educated in San Bernardino County. At Los xA.ngeles, on the 
17th of July, 1920, he enlisted in the United States Navy, and he has 
sailed on various vessels and on many seas while in training for service as a 
marine engineer of the navy. Joseph Morrison Cole is a rancher of Red- 
lands, and Walter Dayton Cole is a well known attorney of Oakland, 
California. 

Mrs. Winnie Watje. — A stimulating example of what a determined 
woman can do when left largely to her own resources is furnished by Mrs 
Winnie Watje of Redlands. Her husband died while in the midst of 
developing an orange grove, and Mrs. Watje immediately took charge, 
and has achieved a success remarkable in itself and one that makes her a 
recognized authority and leader among the citrus fruit growers of this 
district. 

Mrs. Watje was born in Germany, near the Holland border, March 26, 
1879, daughter of Chris and Henrietta Kahl. Her parents were farm 
laborers in Germany, her father frequently receiving only ten cents for a 
day's labor. Three of the daughters and one of the older sons managed 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1269 

to save enough to get them to America, where they struggled along for 
three or four years before they saved enough to send for their parents 
and younger children. 

Mrs. Watje was thirteen when she came to America. Her parents 
settled in Iowa, and Mrs. Watje had a few terms of the common schools 
in that state. 

In 1897 she was married to William Watje, an Iowa farmer and also 
a native of Germany, who had come to America with his parents when 
nine years old. Mrs. Watje has three children : Barney, born July 4, 
1903, now studying mechanics; Adele, born August 31, 1905, attending 
the Redlands High School and planning a career as a professional nurse; 
and Wilburt, born September 21, 1908. These children were all born in 
Iowa. In 1909 the family moved to Redlands, where William Watje 
bought ten acres of Valencia oranges on Alabama Street, and with the 
assistance of the family began the business of fruit growing. He died in 
1913, leaving Mrs. Watje with the responsibility of her family and the 
care of the orchard. That was the year of the great freeze. Mrs. Watje 
had closely studied practical methods of caring for orange groves, and she 
wisely carried out her ideas in that crisis. Immediately after the freeze 
she purchased large quantities of blood fertilizer, and made an application 
to the groves and a second one in the fall. The result was that in six 
weeks the trees had apparently recovered their normal vitality, and the 
crop for that season totaled 7,634 boxes, netting $6,300, whereas other 
growers who had not fertilized secured either a light yield or none at all. 
The results continued even in the second year, when other groves were 
extremely affected. In 1918 Mrs. Watje harvested 8,000 boxes of 
oranges, for which she received almost $16,000. She now has a fifteen 
acre grove and gives it her personal supervision. 

This is a wonderful achievement, showing what a live woman can 
accomplish in the fruit industry, but the story is not complete without 
some reference to the early environment and conditions under which Mrs. 
Watje and the other members of the family lived before they came to 
America, the land of opportunity. Mrs. Watje was one of nine children. 
Her father was a farm laborer in Germany, and after they all came to 
America the boys worked on rented land and the girls went out to work 
in private families, and all their earnings were pooled so as to enable them 
to buy land. Mrs. Watje when only eleven years of age in the old cbuntry 
worked out during the six weeks school vacation, did heavy house work 
and also assisted in the fields in the cutting and hauling and threshing of 
grain. Her task was to cut the bundles as fed into a horse driven thresh- 
ing machine, and she was so small she had to stand on a box. For this six 
weeks labor she received one dollar and enough gingham for an apron. 
At other times she cared for the children of rich people, but was never 
allowed to eat at table with her employers, and she cooked many meals, 
while the only food allowed her was a dish of soup. When she reached 
Iowa she at once went out to work, and found herself handicapped by her 
lack of knowledge of English. For the first week she received fifty cents. 
Her mother at home spun and made all clothes by hand, working late at 
night, and from this labor eventually her fingers became deformed and 
worn. Mrs. Watje generously assisted in providing for her parents. 
Her mother is now deceased, and her father, seventy-five years old, lives 
in Mrs. Watje's California home. In the old country the family ate the 
coarsest of food, and yet were hardy and rarely sick. Her grandfather 
was a tailor and sat and sewed by hand nearly all his life, yet lived to the 
age of ninety, was never seriously ill and never wore glasses. Frequently 
when Mrs. Watje's father was absent from home at work the rest of the 



1270 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

family would sit in the dark at night waiting until her grandfather could 
come home with his wages to buy food and oil for light. Six weeks at a 
time the family fare consisted of buttermilk, rye bread and syrup. 

When the family came to this country they not only improved their 
material conditions but readily adapted themselves to American ways and 
became enthusiastic citizens. Mrs. Watje has deserved every degree of 
her generous prosperity. She has educated her family and during the 
World war was not only a liberal buyer of bonds, but an energetic worker 
in the local Red Cross. 

Allen Break is a man whose energy, ability and personal efforts have 
enabled him to so take advantage of opportunities offered in Southern 
California as to advance himself from a position of financial obscurity to a 
plane of substantial independence. He is now one of the representative 
citizens of the Bryn Mawr district of San Bernardino County, and it is 
pleasing to accord him recognition in this work. 

Mr. Break was born in Elgin County, Province of Ontario, Canada, 
on the 30th of November, 1871, and is a son of John and Mary Break, the 
father having been a" farmer by vocation. The lineage of the Break 
family traces back to Swiss origin, and in Switzerland the spelling of the 
name was Brech. John Break, the founder of the American branch of 
the family, came to this country in the year 1751 and established his home 
in Pennsylvania, where he died at the early age of thirty-two years. His 
brave and resourceful young widow, with her two fatherless children, 
emigrated to Ontario, Canada, where she purchased 200 acres of heavily 
timbered land, at $2.00 an acre, and instituted its reclamation. This prop- 
erty was retained in possession of the Break family more than 100 years, 
and portions of it have been sold in recent years for a price as high as $125 
an acre. The soil was of excellent constituency, and this is shown in the 
fact that a black-walnut tree planted on the old homestead grew to such 
gigantic proportions as to overshadow and cause the death of the apple 
trees in thirteen rows adjacent to it. This tree was planted by a member 
of the Break family and when it was recently felled and sawed into lumber 
the lumber was divided among the surviving'representatives of the family. 
The parents of the subject of this review continued their residence in 
Ontario until 1920, when they came to California, where they now reside 
near the home of their son Allen, who is one of their family of five children 
and of whom he is the eldest; Catherine, born February 2, 1873, is the 
wife of William Call, and they reside in the State of Wyoming; David, 
born December 27, 1879, resides at Florence, Kansas; Rose, born January 
22, 1882, resides at Redlands, California; and Estelle, born October 1, 
1891, is the wife of Donald Donson, foreman of the fruit-packing house 
of the Redlands Orange Growers Association at Redlands. 

In the public schools of his native province Allen Break continued his 
studies until he had completed the work of the seventh grade at Kitchener. 
Thereafter he continued his association with farm industry in Ontario 
until the spring of 1892, when he came West and found employment as a 
farm hand in Kansas, at a stipend of eighteen dollars a month and his 
board. He worked literally "from the rising of the sun until the going 
down of the same," and he continued his alliance with farm enterprise 
in the Sunflower State four years, within which in 1894 he married Miss 
Cynthia Clausen, who was born in Denmark, September 23, 1876, and who 
was eighteen months old when her parents came to America and established 
their home in Kansas, where they passed the remainder of their lives, as 
sterling pioneers of that commonwealth. 

In January, 1897, Mr. Break came to California, in company with his 
wife and their eldest child, then an infant, and upon the arrival of the 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1271 

family at Pomona the tangible possessions of Mr. Break were summed up 
in forty dollars and the two trunks in which the personal belongings of the 
family had been transported. He obtained employment with the Cali- 
fornia Fruit Growers Exchange at Pomona, and continued this connection 
seven years, within which he was advanced to the position of manager 
of the packing house. This experience has proved of great value to him 
in his independent operations in connection with the raising of citrus fruits. 
Upon leaving Pomona Mr. Break came to Redlands Junction and engaged 
in the buying and packing of oranges in an independent way. He also 
purchased a tract of twenty acres, of which eight acres had been planted 
to citrus trees, which were bearing fruit. On the remainder of the tract 
he planted orange trees of the Navel and Valencia types. In undertaking 
this enterprise he assumed an appreciable indebtedness, but his energy and 
good management enabled him eventually not only to free himself from 
debt but also to develop one of the fine fruit ranches of this section. He 
now owns and operates a high-grade orange grove of ninety-seven acres. 
Mr. Break has been notably prospered in his speculative enterprise in the 
buying, packing and shipping of California fruit, and is one of the leading 
independent packers and dealers of San Bernardino County. His interests 
are such that he is a very busy man, and he may well take pride in being 
one of the world's productive workers who have "made good." He now 
does his marketing almost exclusively through the excellent medium of the 
Mutual Orange Distributors of Redlands, an admirable organization that 
has developed the best of direct trade relations in all sections of the United 
States, as well as principal Canadian markets. Mr. Break has prospered 
where many other men have failed. He has had unlimited confidence in 
the resources of Southern California, and he attributes his success mainly 
to his conservative policies and careful methods. 

In 1910 Mr. Break purchased thirty-four acres as a townsite at Red- 
lands Junction, ten acres of the tract being platted into lots and placed 
on the market, and twenty-one acres having previously been planted to 
oranges and eucalyptus. Thus was founded the attractive suburban dis- 
trict of Bryn Mawr, and incidentally Mr. Break sold the site on which is 
now established the fruit packing houses of Redlands Junction. He 
became a strong advocate of segregation of Mexican children in school 
work, and he sold the land on which was constructed a school for the 
Mexican children of the community, his interest in the enterprise having 
been shown by the fact that he let the property go for half the price he 
could have obtained had he otherwise placed it on the market. It was thus 
largely due to his efforts that the separate schools for Mexican and Ameri- 
can children were here provided. Within three years he sold all of the 
tract of thirty-four acres, and in this connection he received a handsome 
profit. Honest and straightforward policies have attended his course in all 
stages of his progressive career, and he is always ready to give counsel 
and all possible aid to ambitious young men who set forth to avail them- 
selves of the great advantages offered in Southern California. He early 
set to himself a definite success-goal, and this he has reached. He states 
that to accumulate his first $1,000 was the hardest task in this connection, 
and he pays tribute to his wife as having been his best partner and coadju- 
tor. He has relied largely upon her excellent judgment in financial and 
other business matters, and looks upon her as his valued co-partner in every 
sense. 

In civic relations Mr. Break has shown himself most loyal and liberal, 
and in the community his list of friends is limited only by that of his 
acquaintances. He is affiliated with the lodges of Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks at Redlands. 



1272 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

In conclusion is given brief record concerning the children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Break : Samuel Wesley, who was born in Kansas, August 30, 1896, 
is a graduate of the Redlands High School, and his is the distinction of 
having represented California in the nation's military service at the time of 
the World war. Upon his enlistment he was assigned to service in testing 
men on the rifle range, and as a pointer of large guns he was later 
assigned to duty with the United States Navy. Since the close of the war 
he has been retained as a member of the Reserve Corps of the navy. On 
his twenty-first birthday he received from his father a gift of $2,000, 
and with this he purchased a five-acre orange grove, from the yield of 
which in two seasons he made full payment on the property. He is now 
the owner of an excellent orange ranch of fifteen acres, has been identified 
with the citrus-fruit industry from his early youth, and is now foreman of 
the Bryn Mawr Fruit Growers Association. Anna Letta, the second child, 
was born at Pomona, this state, June 20, 1900. She is a graduate of the 
Redlands High School, and as a skilled accountant she now holds the 
responsible position of head bookkeeper of the Redlands National Bank. 
Mary Irene, who was born at Redlands Junction, August 10, 1905, was 
graduated from the Redlands High School and she remains at the parental 
home, both she and her sister being popular factors in the social life of 
the Redlands district, and the family home being known for its generous 
hospitality and good cheer. 

Charles Edward Pitts is one of the pioneers in the development of 
the citrus fruit industry in San Bernardino County, where his finely 
improved property is situated in the Bloomington District, at the 
corner of Slover Avenue and Lilac Street and on one of the rural mail 
routes from Rialto. 

Mr. Pitts was born at St. Albans, New York, August 29, 1857, 
and is a son of Richard and Janice (Hewitt) Pitts the father having 
been a farmer in the old Empire State and his children having been 
six in number — three sons and three daughters. Charles E. Pitts 
gained his early education in the public schools of his native state, 
and as a youth he there learned the trade of carriagemaker. After 
inheriting $3,000 he was for three years engaged in the grocery 
business, and after disposing of this business he went into a planing 
mill and learned the trade of manufacturing sash and doors. There- 
after he was employed at his trade in many Canadian cities, including 
Quebec and Montreal, and in the same way he visited and worked in 
various cities in the Southern states of the Union. W r hen he arrived 
in Los Angeles, California, in 1885, his cash capital was represented 
in the sum of twenty-five dollars. Business was at low ebb at the 
time and he could find no employment at his trade, under which 
condition he took a position on a ranch near Mound City (now Loma 
Linda), San Bernardino County, where he received one dollar a 
day and his board and lodging. His available cash had been reduced 
to seven dollars at the time when he secured this job, and after 
working forty days he quit, with an even four dollars. He then 
obtained work at his trade in San Diego, at four dollars a day, and 
there he remained two years. In 1888 he found employment in a 
mill at Colton, but upon the subsidence of the boom in that district 
in 1890 he found employment at his trade in San Bernardino, in 
the spring of 1891. There he remained thus engaged for two years. 
In 1888 he had purchased from ex-Governor Merrill a tract of twenty 
acres of land at Bloomington, where he had selected two choice 
tracts of ten acres each, one on Willow Street and the other on 




Charles E. Pitts, Dorothy E. Pitts, Walter C. Pitts 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1273 

Lilac Street. He instituted the reclamation of this land, which 
was covered with sagebrush and cacti, and in 1893 he planted the 
two tracts to oranges. Later he sold the ten acres on Willow Street, 
but he still owns the other ten acres, which now has one of the finest 
orange groves in this part of the county. More than fifteen years 
ago Mr. Pitts purchased an additional tract of twenty acres of improved 
orange land on the northwest and southwest corners of Lilac Street 
and Slover Avenue. He was for four years successfully identified also 
with the cattle business, but since 1896 has given his entire attention 
to the citrus fruit industry. His career has been one of strenuous appli- 
cation, and he has won success entirely through his own ability and 
efforts. He encountered his full share of the vicissitudes, trials and 
adverse conditions incidental to pioneer enterprise in fruit culture, 
and he stands today as one of the most substantial and successful 
exponents of orange growing in the Bloomington district, the while 
he has so ordered his course as to gain and retain unqualified popular 
confidence and esteem. 

The year 1901 recorded the marriage of Mr. Pitts to Miss Ebba 
Lund, who was born in Sweden, and they have two children : Walter, 
who was born April 12, 1902, was graduated from the San Bernardino 
High School as a member of the class of 1921 ; and Dorothy, born 
April 9, 1905, is now (1922) a student in the same high school. 

George S. Biggin came to Redlands in 1893 and now for nearly thirty 
years has been closely identified with the commercial life of the city. His 
integrity as a business man and the ability he has manifested in all his rela- 
tions as a citizen have earned him the complete confidence of the com- 
munity, and he now enjoys the responsibilities of supervisor. In business 
he is prominent in real estate and insurance. 

Mr. Biggin was born at Warren, Ohio, May 6, 1868. His father, 
William H. Biggin, was a native of England, where he learned and fol- 
lowed the trade of wagon maker. It was his ambition to become a farmer, 
and to realize that ambition he came to the United States in 1854. On 
shipboard he met an English girl, Miss Emily Bolsom, and in New York 
in 1855 they were married and soon afterward moved to Ohio, where in 
after years he achieved a substantial success as a farmer. Of the five 
children George S. Biggin is the youngest. 

He was reared on his father's farm and shared in its duties until he was 
twenty-three. In the meantime he attended school, receiving a high school 
education. Mr. Biggin came direct to Redlands and joined an uncle, who 
had preceded him. His first regular work was as clerk in the grocery store 
of L. E. Shepherd, and three years later he joined the grocery firm of 
Dutton & Edwards, with whom he remained ten years. He and C. W. 
Clark eventually purchased the stock and business of his employers, and 
conducted it profitably as a partnership for two years, at the end of which 
time Mr. Biggin sold his interest to Mr. Clark. 

Since retiring from the mercantile field Mr. Biggin has been active in 
insurance, at first as a representative of life insurance, but now has a well 
organized general agency handling all departments. In connection he sub- 
sequently began dealing in real estate, and has supplied the service in a 
number of prominent sales in this vicinity, and his activity in advertising 
has brought a decided value to the community during the past sixteen 
years. 

Mr. Biggin was first a candidate for public office in 1916 when J. B. 
Glover announced that he would retire from the office of county super- 
visor. Mr. Biggin declared himself a candidate as his successor, but 



1274 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

eventually Mr. Glover reconsidered his decision and then Mr. Biggin with- 
drew. Mr. Glover was re-elected and rounded out a service of twenty- 
four years as supervisor. In 1920 Mr. Biggin again came forward, 
received the nomination and was elected, his conduct in office justifying 
the generous support given him by his friends. He has been a director 
of the Chamber of Commerce for fourteen years and was president one 
term. He is affiliated with the Masonic Order, the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Mr. Biggin was captain of the Redlands National Guard Company at 
the outbreak of the Spanish-American war, and he immediately recruited 
the company to its full strength and was mustered into the Federal service 
as captain of Company G, Seventh California Infantry. This company 
left Redlands for The Presidio May 6, 1898. All were eager to get to the 
Philippines, but the company was held on duty at The Presidio until mus- 
tered out at Los Angeles December 3, 1898. During the World war Mr. 
Biggin made application for active service in the army, but was rejected, 
and had to be satisfied with what he could do as a patriotic citizen in home 
work. 

In 1894 he married Miss Hattie D. Ellis, of Springfield, Vermont. 
Mrs. Biggin was liberally educated in the East, finishing in a special pre- 
paratory school at Boston. There are two children of their marriage : 
Leslie E., born at Redlands February 14, 1895, was educated in the Red- 
lands High School and is married and living at Redlands. Elfreda M., 
the daughter, was born July 8, 1898, is a graduate of the Redlands High 
School and is now in the junior year of Pomono College, where she is 
specializing in English. 

Caleb Newton Harford. — While not one of the original colonists, 
Caleb Newton Harford has been identified with Redlands and vicinity for 
thirty-three years, coming here within two years after the founding of the 
town. He was an Illinois merchant, but his capital and energy have been 
exceptionally well bestowed on citrus fruit and ranch development in 
California, and a number of substantial and profitable properties stand as 
monuments to his enterprise in this part of the state. 

Mr. Harford was born September 16, 1846, in Pennsylvania. He was 
reared and educated there and learned the carpenter's trade. In the fall 
of 1873 he went out to Grand Ridge, LaSalle County, Illinois, to visit a 
cousin, a general merchant. At the invitation of this cousin he remained 
to work in the store during the winter months, and continued that employ- 
ment until 1876, when his relative sold the business. He then put up a 
building and entered the grocery business on his own account. The year 
he started his independent career as a merchant he married, and for 
twelve years did a successful business in one of the rich and prosperous 
farming sections of Illinois. 

Attracted by the reports of friends and neighbors he and his family 
left Illinois and came direct to Redlands, reaching that city February 21, 
1888. Mr. Harford at once purchased a home on Fourth Street. Soon 
afterward he exchanged this as part payment for fifteen acres at East 
Redlands. This land was only partly planted, and he planted the 
remainder and also built a home and lived there until 1895. He then 
exchanged this for town property, and during the past quarter of a century 
has bought and sold and traded many pieces of property in this section. 
He has performed the service of planting much new land, and has brought 
a number of groves into profitable bearing condition. Out of his energetic 
handling of his business affairs he has prospered, has educated his family, 
and is regarded as one of the best citizens of Redlands. His present 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1275 

home and grove is at the northeast corner of Orange Street and Lugonia 
Avenue. 

In 1876 Mr. Harford married Miss Mary J. Boyd, whose parents 
were natives of Pennsylvania. Her mother was born at Gettysburg and 
her uncle at one time owned land included in the Gettysburg battlefield. 
Mr. and Mrs. Harford have five children. The first four were born in 
Illinois and the youngest in California. The oldest, Grace E., born in 
1877, is the wife of W. S. Leibendofer, now living at Bakersfield, Califor- 
nia, and she is a leader in the Presbyterian Church in that city. The 
second, Boyd Emory Harford, born in 1881, has an executive position with 
the Standard Oil Company at Taft, California. He married Miss Babson 
Hubert, of Oceanside, California. Miss Cecil C, born in 1884, is a grad- 
uate of the Redlands High School, took a course in the San Bernardino 
Business College, and for the past six or seven years has been employed 
in the Redlands City Water Office and is an earnest church worker. Clara 
Belle, the fourth child, born in 1886, graduated from the Redlands High 
School and is the wife of Roy S. Kendall, who for the past twelve years 
has been in the employ of the Edison Company and is now store keeper in 
charge of electrical supplies at Redlands. The youngest of the family, 
Harry L. Harford, was born at Redlands in 1891, was reared and edu- 
cated in this city, an electrician by trade and profession, and is now in the 
employ of the Standard Oil Company at Taft. He has an inspiring 
record as a World war soldier. He enlisted in Machine Gun Company A 
in the Fortieth Division, but after a brief training at Camp Kearney was 
sent overseas for further training and was in France sixteen months, being 
promoted to corporal and sergeant while there. From the Machine Gun 
Company he was transferred to the Automobile Supply Department, and 
was advanced to the firing line on the day the armistice was signed. Later 
he was on duty at Antwerp and various Belgium cities, and returned to the 
United States in October, 1919. 

William Nicoll Moore. — Capital and good business management 
have been the central factors in developing the greater part of San Ber- 
nardino's wonderful citrus area. Both these factors were supplied in no 
small degree by the late William Nicoll Moore, an Eastern business man 
who acquired a large amount of unimproved and waste acreage and by 
supplying water, leveling and planting brought to a profitable stage a con- 
siderable area now rated along with the highest class of such property in 
Southern California. 

The late Mr. Moore was born at Neenah, Wisconsin, in 1864. He had 
an engineering education in the Massachusetts Polytechnic Institute at 
Worcester. In early manhood he became interested in several manu- 
facturing concerns in Illinois, and still owned some of these interests at the 
time of his death. He died while traveling with his two daughters in New 
Zealand in 1911. 

He had frequently visited in California, and he came to the Redlands 
district to make it his permanent home in 1901. Out of his capital he 
invested heavily in undeveloped lands, and with the aid of his two sons 
had these lands put in condition for planting, and this development work 
has gone on uninterruptedly since his death and has given Redlands a 
great addition to its permanent wealth and prosperity. 

The late Mr. Moore married in 1883 Miss Gertrude A. Robinson, a 
native of Massachusetts. The two sons are Laurence L. and Francis W. 
Moore, both of whom are associated under the name of the Sunset Orange 
Company as citrus fruit growers and packers at Redlands, this being the 
business representing the outgrowth of their father's original investment 



1276 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

and enterprise. The two daughters are Gretchen and Janet. Gretchen is 
Mrs. R. T. Will, of Rochester, New York. Janet is Mrs. J. R. Grepe, of 
Whittier, California. 

Mrs. Laura May Miller, of Highland, is one of the ladies of San 
Bernardino County who belongs to pioneer stock, and one who through 
her father and her grandfather possesses the right to be considered as a 
descendant of several of the founders and developers of the present-day 
civilization in all of this region. She was born near San Bernardino, Octo- 
ber 9, 1872, a daughter of Charles and Eugenia Black, the latter of whom 
was also born at San Bernardino. 

Charles S. Black, born at Augusta, Maine, made two trips around the 
world before coming to San Bernardino. He came here in the early '50s 
and was a freighter between Los Angeles, California, and points in 
Arizona for years before the building of the railroads, during a period 
when hostile Indians made each trip hazardous. He had many narrow 
escapes from capture or death at their hands, and from the equally danger- 
ous outlaws which infested all of the frontier towns. In spite of all of 
these disadvantages he persisted in his line of business and the winning of 
the respect of all with whom he was associated. 

One of the grandfathers of Mrs. Miller, Zina G. Ayer, a native of 
Vermont, born August 14, 1810, was a man with a family when he went 
to Kentucky and there met and married a lady whose name was Mrs. Mary 
Power Applegate, and who was a native of Madisonville, born August 5, 
1819. Her maiden name was Mary Power. She married a Mr. Apple- 
gate, who was killed in the Mexican war. Years later she married Zina G. 
Ayer. After their marriage they journied together across the plains with 
an ox-team to Salt Lake, traveling over the old Mormon trail. They 
suffered untold hardships, were constantly in danger of attack from the 
Indians, and just at the end of their journey lost by death three children of 
their party, now buried at San Bernardino. In 1852 they made a perma- 
nent settlement at San Bernardino, where Mr. Ayer became one of the 
wealthy and prominent men of his day. A far-sighted and astute business 
man, he invested heavily in realty, and became the owner of all of the 
land now between Eourth and Second streets, but sold before San Ber- 
nardino became a city. Possessed of progressive ideas, he introduced 
new appliances into the county, and owned the first lathe in all of this 
region. 

The maternal uncle of Mrs. Miller, Thomas T. Cook, was another of 
the notable men of the early days of the West, and later of San Bernardino 
County. Mr. Cook was born in Georgia, March 29, 1830, a son of James 
Cook, of that state. By the time he attained his majority the attention of 
the whole country was turned Westward as a result of the discovery of gold 
in California in 1848, and he, following the example of many of his neigh- 
bors, set out on the long and dangerous trip, crossing the plains with teams. 
Unlike a number, however, his objective was Oregon, and after his arrival 
he spent two years there, but then came down into Northern California, 
and for seven years was engaged in mining. In 1860 he went to Virginia 
City for a year, leaving it for Idaho, and later Montana, spending thirteen 
years in the mines of those two states. In 1874 he went into Arizona, 
but after a year came to San Bernardino County. In 1876 he married 
Mrs. Amanda Weaver, of Indiana, a daughter of Joseph Applegate, who 
died while in the service during the Mexican war. By her first marriage 
she had five sons : Warren, Augustus, Abraham, Henry and William. 

Mrs. Miller grew up at Highland, and was educated in its schools. 
She has witnessed many of the really remarkable changes which have 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1277 

come to this region, and talks- very entertainingly of them. She was a little 
girl when the road between Colton and San Bernardino was constructed, 
under the superintendence of Harry Davis. Mr. Davis was subsequently 
killed in a wreck occasioned by the passing of the first motor over Lytle 
Creek bridge, when the bridge collapsed, killing him. This was prior to 
the opening of the road. His son, then a lad, and Mrs. Miller, together 
with five small companions, used to have the Chinese laborers put a hand 
car on the tracks, and then they would pump it from Colton to San Ber- 
nardino and back before a train went over it or before it was finished. 
The opening of this road was the beginning of modern history for San 
Bernardino County and the passing of the days of the freighters, who were 
crowded out by steam and later by electricity and gasoline. 

On December 29, 1892, Laura May Black was married to Albert 
Miller, a native of Ohio and a son of Mr. and Mrs. Mason Miller, of 
Ulrichsville. Albert Miller is an orange grower, owning a grove on Pacific 
Avenue, Highland. For the past thirty-three years he has been in charge 
of the James Fleming estate. Mr. and Mrs. Miller have two sons, Albert 
F. and Howard E. Albert F. Miller was born at Highland, May 9, 1894, 
and was educated in his native city and in San Bernardino. On November 
29, 1915, he married Miss Hester V. Shanklin, and they have one child, 
Helen Marjorie, who was born October 31, 1916. 

Howard E. Miller, the second son, was born at Highland, March 11, 
1898, and was there reared, attending its schools and those of San Ber- 
nardino. Enlisting in Company K, California National Guard, he served 
as a bugler, and later was part of the old Seventh Regiment, which did 
active service on the Mexican border during 1916. With the entry of 
this country into the World war he enlisted in Company K, One Hundred 
and Sixtieth Division, and received his training at Camp Kearney, and 
was among the first contingents sent overseas. After his arrival in France 
he spent six weeks in the Signal School, and was then transferred to the 
Twenty-sixth Division, composed principally of New England men and 
known as the Yankee Division. He was motorcycle messenger, carrying 
messages between headquarters and first line trenches, a very dangerous 
service, in which he continued, although he had three machines shot from 
under him, and escaped from death or capture by a very narrow margin 
countless times. His third machine was blown from under him and gave 
him a shell shock, this occurring eight days before the signing of the 
armistice. The shock was so severe that he was sent to the hospital and 
for three days he was speechless. This accident occurred at Verdun, and 
he was also in the battles in and around the Argonne Forest and the Meuse, 
belonging to the defensive sector, was in the St. Mihiel drive from start 
to finish, in all being in six engagements. After his release from the 
hospital he was transferred to the One Hundred and First Regiment, and 
once more served as bugler. After the return of his unit to the United 
States he served for two months as military police at Paris. He then 
received his honorable discharge in France, but for the subsequent three 
months served with the food commission in France, returning home a 
civilian on board of the steamship Rotterdam. In spite of all of his 
experiences, real bravery and endurance this young man is only a little 
past his majority, proving the contention of the highest military authorities 
that the very young men make the best soldiers. He is now at home with 
his parents. 

While her younger son was serving his country abroad and proving 
himself worthy of the good, pioneer stock from which he sprung, Mrs. 
Miller was also demonstrating her 100%-Americanism by working early 
and late in behalf of the Red Cross, for which she was decorated with the 



1278 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

American Red Cross badge, which testifies to. the fact that the wearer has 
given at least 700 hours of service to the organization. She had charge 
of the two Red Cross drives. Not satisfied with all of this she was very 
active in canteen work. Since the war she has found an outlet for her 
energies and public spirit through her membership with the Woman's 
Club and the First Congregational Church of Highland. Mrs. Miller is 
typical of her generation, and is proving that she is a true daughter of 
the pioneers who bravely did their part in shaping the history of their 
times. 

The First National Bank of Rialto has been serving that pros- 
perous community for fifteen years, and in that time has grown to 
be one of the stronger banks of San Bernardino County. 

It was organized in August, 1907, by E. D. Roberts, of San 
Bernardino, and commenced business February 3, 1908. This bank 
is a branch of the San Bernardino Savings Bank of San Bernardino. 
The first officers w^ere E. D. Roberts, president; William Buxton, 
vice president ; E. M. Lash, cashier. The bank started with a capital 
of $25,000.00, and was established in a bank building especially con- 
structed for the purpose. The banking house is of concrete block 
construction, and has all the modern facilities. On the death of 
E. D. Roberts in August. 1920, a reorganization of the official personnel 
resulted in Richard E. Roberts becoming president, J. C. Boyd and Ken- 
neth MacRae, vice presidents; E. M. Lash, cashier; and E. W. Presto, 
assistant cashier. In October, 1921, another change in officers took place, 
E. M. Lash becoming president, while J. C. Boyd and Kenneth MacRae 
are vice presidents ; E. W. Preston, cashier ; and J. E. McManis, assistant 
cashier. 

Up to January 1, 1922, the original capital was still maintained. 
At that time the bank had accumulated $35,000 in surplus. In the 
annual meeting that followed the capital was increased to $50,000, 
leaving $10,000 surplus and $15,000 of undivided profits. At that 
date the total resources amounted to $540,000. In March, 1921, a 
burglar proof alarm system was installed at a cost of $4,000, and 
in the same month the new safety deposit vaults were completed. 
The First National Bank is a home institution, and fully a third of 
the most influential people in the community are stockholders. 

The official of longest standing in the bank is Eber M. Lash, 
now president. Mr. Lash was born at Bloomville, Ohio, December 24, 
1879, son of John B. and Nancy (Coyle) Lash, natives of Ohio and 
now deceased. His father was a minister of the Free Will Baptist 
Church and a graduate of Ohio University of Athens, Ohio. The 
mother of Mr. Lash was a graduate of Hillsdale College, at Hillsdale, 
Michigan. Eber M. Lash was also educated at Hillsdale College and 
practically throughout his career he has been identified with banking. 
He spent one year in a bank at Camden, Michigan, from 1903 to 
1906 was connected with the First State Savings Bank of Hillsdale, 
Michigan, and then went to Cleveland, Ohio, as teller and bookkeeper 
in the Cleveland Trust Company where he remained about two 
years. With this training he came to California in 1908, and from 
the beginning has been the active official in the affairs of the First 
National Bank of Rialto. 

Mr. Lash is a republican, is affiliated with San Bernardino Lodge, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Rialto Chamber of 
Commerce and Business Men's Association. December 24, 1905, 
he married Miss Laura J. Schoolcraft, of Hillsdale, Michigan. She 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1279 

died April 2, 1910, leaving one child, Lawrence Aubrey, who was 
born November 10, 1907. On November 20, 1911, Mr. Lash married 
Miss Lena Johnson, of Rialto, daughter of Charles N. and Anna 
(Tinkler) Johnson. They have a son, James Eber, born November 22, 
1914. Mrs. Lash has been active in women's affairs in San Bernardino 
County. She attended the public schools of Rialto and the high school 
at San Bernardino, was queen of the San Bernardino Centennial 
celebration in 1910, and is a member of the Rialto Women's Club and 
the Christian Church. 

Major William Jacob Bodenhamer is to be credited with a position 
of distinctive priority as an early settler and in rank of importance as a 
builder and upbuilder of the Ontario community of San Bernardino 
County. His home is at Upland, and many years ago he began the task 
requiring patience, foresight and substantial means to develop what was 
then a very unpromising waste of land into homes, communities and fruit 
orchards. 

Major Bodenhamer is a veteran soldier of the Civil war, and was born 
at Springfield, Missouri, July 5, 1841. He had a graded school education, 
and had just entered college when the Civil war broke out. He soon 
organized a company of Home Guards, subsequently taken into the Fed- 
eral Army, and was with his command throughout the entire struggle. At 
the clo^e of the war he had the rank of major. Most of his service was in 
that dangerous district of the Missouri and western border. Once while 
scouting he was wounded, and rode a horse ninety miles to get hospital 
care and medical attention. 

At the close of the war Major Bodenhamer returned to Springfield and 
became a farmer, and also was interested in the manufacture of tobacco 
products and real estate. He married in 1871, and for about a dozen 
years remained in Southwestern Missouri looking after his various 
interests. 

Major Bodenhamer came to California in 1883, his destination being 
Pomona. He came to Ontario to handle a contract for the building of a 
home for Mr. Buffington. It was in the role of building contractor that 
he performed his first important work in that locality. At that time 
Upland had very few improved places, and the town itself was unknown 
by that name, the locality being generally known as North Ontario. 
Major Bodenhamer soon bought ten acres in Ontario, but sold that and 
acquired 200 acres of wild land along Mountain Avenue from Sixteenth 
Street North. This land he cleared and improved, setting it chiefly to 
citrus fruit. Portions of that tract he and his son Paul still own and 
operate. Development work has been the forte of Major Bodenhamer. 
He has always looked ahead and has anticipated many of the needs of the 
community. He was the first to sink a well for irrigation purposes in 
that section. At that time the canyon was available for an insufficient 
supply of water, and he put down the well against the advice of associates 
and proved the practicability of getting water from underground in 
sufficient quantity for irrigation. This well today produces about 100 
inches. It was first operated by a steam plant but now by electrical 
power. A great amount of land has been cleared, graded, set out to fruit 
and brought into profitable condition through the efforts and under the 
direction of Major Bodenhamer. His choice of lands was on the higher 
mesa ground, then considered unfit for citrus production, but now regarded 
as the very best for that purpose. Major Bodenhamer came to California 
a man with limited financial resources, and almost incapacitated by ill 



1280 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

health, using crutches for a time to get about. The country was new, the 
Santa Fe Railroad not having been built, and he had all the burdens and 
responsibilities of a real pioneer. Major Bodenhamer has always been a 
strong republican, though he has never been a candidate for public office. 

Now, at the age of four score, he has turned over many of his active 
responsibilities to his son Paul. On November 22, 1871, he married Miss 
Maria L. Parker, who was born in Madison, Wisconsin, November 20, 
1849. Of their two sons, the older, Guy, was born at Springfield, Mis- 
souri, December 26, 1872, and completed his education in Chaffey Col- 
lege at Ontario, California. He is now an active business man of Los 
Angeles. By his marriage to Laura Cole he has five children, named 
Rudolph, Francis, Gertrude, Alma and Naomi. 

Paul Bodenhamer is to a large extent his father's successor in the 
management of the lands and property at Upland. He has been very 
successful as an orange and lemon grower. He was born at Marshfield, 
Missouri, November 11, 1874, and was also educated in Chaffey's College 
at Ontario. He married Miss Marguerite Roy, a native of St. Joseph, 
Missouri, and educated in the public schools of Denver, Colorado. Their 
two children are Paul, Jr., born March 5, 1910, and Betty Lee, born 
November 8, 1913. 

Reetta V. Hadden, of San Bernardino, a pioneer of the West, who 
has used her talents to preserve many invaluable records of the life and 
affairs of her generation, was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, September 23, 
1849. Her parents in the spring of 1855 moved to Kansas Territory, and 
established their home at Pawnee, just east of Fort Riley, in Riley County, 
the place chosen for the first territorial capital. Her father, Mr. Morris, 
had a contract to furnish lumber for the capitol building then being hur- 
riedly erected for the use of the first Legislature, which convened in July, 
1855. The family moved into the upper story of the capitol building while 
the lower floor was being finished, and they were living there when the 
Legislature convened. Only those who lived through it or have a knowl- 
edge of the tempestuous conditions of "bleeding Kansas" during the '50s 
can appreciate the momentous issues represented in that Legislature. The 
primary question of course was slavery. Most of the members of the 
Legislature were on the "pro side" while the residents of Pawnee were 
against slavery. On the second day Mrs. Morris dressed her daughter 
Reetta in the prevailing style of short sleeves and pantalets suitable for a 
six-year-old girl at that time. She then went downstairs to join her father, 
who was a visitor in the assembly. On remarking her presence he at once 
said, "go back to your mother," but Governor Reeder had also noted the 
little figure and interposed with "no, let the little child remain, her presence 
is the only redeeming feature in the room," and turning to her he said, 
"come and have a seat by my side." That was a long time before women 
had been granted the privilege of sitting in legislative halls, and it may be 
that little Miss Reetta was the "first lady" allowed to sit in any legislative 
assembly in the United States, certainly the first to have "power," for 
there was no more swearing or fighting that afternoon while she sat by the 
side of the territorial governor. 

A few years later, when Kansas had an election to decide its future 
on the slavery question, nearly all the ballots cast in the western portion 
of the settled counties were anti-slavery. The problem was to get them 
to Lawrence, then the capital, since a large reward had been offered by the 
pro-slavery men for the capture of the returns. Reetta's father was a 
cripple, walking on two crutches. He was entrusted with the dangerous 
duty of seeing that the ballots were delivered to the Secretary of State at 



% 



t 



/ 



\ 



f^/Qfe. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1281 

Lawrence. It was a several days' journey with two yoke of oxen. Reetta 
went along, while the ballots were secreted in a bag of shelled corn under 
the seat. On the way her father became seriously ill, and his illness in 
addition to the responsibilities of their mission made the journey an 
experience that she would never forget. Finally they reached Lawrence, 
and her father on crutches and Reetta carrying the bag of ballots walked 
into headquarters, where all hope of their arrival had vanished, these bal- 
lots turning the tide against slavery in Kansas. That afternoon, when it 
was learned that a little girl had saved the day, Reetta once more ruled in 
the capitol of Kansas. 

With the outbreak of the Civil war not long afterward the family 
returned to Cincinnati, where Reetta attended school. At the close of the 
war she returned to Kansas, and on November 26, 1868, was united in 
marriage with Mr. Thomas Hadden of New York City. In a few years 
Mr. and Mrs. Hadden went to New York to live, but on account of her 
poor health in 1879 they came to San Bernardino, intending to remain 
here a year. However, California exercised such charm upon them that 
they have been residents of San Bernardino County now for over forty 
years. 

In all this time Mrs. Hadden has been deeply interested in the city 
and county. In 1899 she was president of the Woman's Parliament of 
Southern California, an organization preceding the Federation of Women's 
Clubs. She was one of the organizers of the Federation and a member 
of the Credential Committee. Mrs. Hadden has been a writer for over 
thirty years, contributing occasional short stories for the local press and 
magazines. As far as can be learned she was the first to have an article 
in an Eastern journal about San Bernardino. This article appeared in an 
issue of the Boston Commonwealth in 1884. Her second article was on 
"The First Capital of Kansas" and appeared in the American Magazine. 

Mrs. Hadden originated the By-Product Department of the Orange 
Show. She was a member of the first civic committee to beautify the 
streets of San Bernardino. The other three members, now deceased, were 
W. J. Roberts, president of the First National Bank ; Fred T. Perris, con- 
structing engineer of the Santa Fe; and Mary Bennett Goodcell, who was a 
leader in every good work in San Bernardino. Of all her other interests 
the work that furnishes her most complete satisfaction in retrospect, Mrs 
Hadden claims, was her canteen efforts for the Red Cross during the war. 

Of the four children born to Mr. and Mrs. Hadden the only one 
remaining is Miss Estelle, at home. 

Thomas Hadden was born in New York City on November 21, 1844, 
graduated from a university and when about twenty-four years of age went 
to Kansas and took up stock raising and farming. 

In 1868 he married Miss Reetta Morris, and soon after returned to 
New York. 

In 1879 he came to California, and in 1881 went into the hardware 
business, in which he has been interested ever since. 

Mr. Hadden is an Odd Fellow, Knight of Pythias, and Mason. He 
has been interested in San Bernardino and its upbuilding, was one of the 
organizers of the old Chamber of Commerce and is a charter member of 
the Elks. 

Helga S. Peters, D. O. — The professional career of Dr. Helga S. 
Peters embraces a period of nearly twenty years, all of which have been 
passed at Riverside. It possesses some features of unique interest, inas- 
much as it was instrumental in breaking through the barrier of professional 



1282 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

bigotry, which had before her coming largely excluded women from prac- 
ticing osteopathy in a professional way. Largely to her example, winning, 
by assiduous attention to her professional duties and by profound knowl- 
edge of the art and skill in its practice, a place among the reputable prac- 
titioners of her day and locality, no less than by her persistent efforts to 
open the doors of professional preferment to deserving and properly 
trained women, is due the rapid advance which the last quarter of a century 
has shown in granting to women the privileges accorded the other sex in 
ministering to the ills and accidents of humanity. To remove the barrier 
which shut out women from professional employments, in some of which, 
especially in some departments of the healing art, they have better adapta- 
tion than the other sex, has required a long and obstinate struggle. At 
this day, when colleges all over the land open their doors to co-education, 
not only in professions but in letters as well, and when women are found 
at the bed-side of the sick, without question of the propriety and fitness of 
the employment, it seems strange that so long a controversy was required 
to open the doors of opportunity to them. At Riverside it will appear 
that Doctor Peters has been a potent factor in bringing about a beneficial 
change. 

Doctor Peters was born at Ringsaker, Hamar, Norway, a daughter of 
John S. and Olive Skyberg. Her father, a tenant farmer in Norway, 
immigrated to the United States in 1875 and took up his residence at 
Grand Meadow, Minnesota, where he established himself in the mercantile 
business. For a number of years he continued to conduct this establish- 
ment and to play an active part in the business affairs of his adopted 
community, but with advancing years he disposed of his interests and at 
present is living in comfortable retirement. His daughter, Helga S., 
enjoyed the advantages of attendance at the public schools of Grand 
Meadow, Minnesota, following which she enrolled as a student at the 
American College of Osteopathy, Kirksville, Missouri, an institution from 
which she was graduated with the class of 1903, receiving the degree of 
Doctor of Osteopathy. Almost immediately after her graduation she 
came to Riverside and opened an office, and since then her career has been 
one of constantly growing professional success. She is now possessed of 
a large and lucrative practice and has attained a recognized position in 
professional and club circles of the city. Doctor Peters is a member of 
the Riverside County Osteopathic Society, the California Osteopathic 
Society and the National Osteopathic Association. Her religious affilia- 
tion is with the Lutheran Church, to which she has been a generous 
contributor. 

On March 30, 1911, occurred the marriage of Helga S. Skyberg to Dr. 
Martin O. Peters, of Riverside. To this union there has come one 
daughter, Loraine Carmen, who is attending the Riverside public schools. 

Charles E. Johnson — San Bernardino has in its employ some of the 
most capable men in this part of the state, whose efforts and capa- 
bilities are exerted to furnish the municipality a service not to be 
found in all of the cities, even those of a much greater population. 
Many of these men are young, enthusiastic and ambitious, and bring 
to their work a knowledge of it gained either through technical 
training or practical experience. Charles E. Johnson, city engineer 
of San Bernardino, has the advantage of being a professional civil 
and mining engineer and practical man of his calling, and he is also 
a veteran of the World war. 

Born at Los Angeles, California, January 18, 1890, he is very 
proud of the fact that his grandfather, Charles McNutt Johnson, 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1283 

went from Nova Scotia to the Isthmus of Panama by sailing boat, 
walked across the Isthmus, and took a sailing vessel from the western 
coast for San Francisco, California, where he arrived in 1849, being 
one of the first in the army of gold seekers of that year. Like the 
majority of them, he prospected for gold during many years. His 
son, Charles McNutt Johnson, father of Charles E. Johnson, was born 
at Sacramento, California, and received his education in the public 
schools of San Francisco. In 1886 he went to Los Angeles, and 
from there to Little Bear Valley, following his profession of a civil 
engineer for two years under E. T. Wright. For the subsequent 
years he was with the Santa Fe Railroad, and from 1890 to 1895 was 
with the Cucamonga Water Company, before he was made super- 
intendent of it, and as such served from 1895 to 1907, when he began 
building and contracting. Some time later he went with the Santa 
Fe Railroad, but in 1921 joined his son, who has him with him in 
his office. 

Charles McNutt Johnson married Margaret J. Stehens, who was 
born near Springfield, Illinois. She was very young when her 
family moved from Illinois to Maine, and only a little older when 
migration was made to Alabama. From the latter state the Stephens 
family came to California, first living in Los Angeles and then going 
to Ontario, California. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson became the parents 
of eight children, but the first born died in infancy; Alden McNutt 
is employed in the Santa Fe shops ; Marie L., who married Kenneth 
Rogers, has one son, Kenneth, Junior ; Lillian Frances married Dalmer 
Devening; John W. is in the employ of the Standard Oil Company; 
James, who is in the medical department of the United States Army, 
stationed 'at San Francisco, California ; Mae, who is attending the 
public schools of San Bernardino ; and Charles E., whose name heads 
this review. 

After attending the public schools of Cucamonga and Ontario, 
California, Charles F. Johnson took a course in Civil and Minine 
engineering, and has followed engineering as a profession. In 1915 
he came to San Bernardino, and was with the county surveyor for 
about a year, and then was associated with M. L. Cook until June 1, 
1917, when he returned to the city, and continued with it during 
the Catick administration, or until 1919. In that year he returned 
to M. L. Cook, continuing with him until he was appointed city 
engineer June 1, 1921. 

On November 6, 1918, Mr. Johnson went to the Engineer Officers 
Training Camp at Camp Humphries, and was there about a month, 
when the armistice was signed. He had to return to California as 
a witness in an important mining case that was tried at Los Angeles 
in the Federal Court and after its termination he came back to San 
Bernardino. 

Mr. Johnson was one of the first to help organize the American 
Service League, and served as its first secretary. Major Stromee 
being at that time chairman. When the American Legion was 
organized he was one of the organizers of the Fourteenth Post, De- 
partment of California, with rank of adjutant, and Major Stromee 
became its commander 

Alden McNutt Johnson, brother of Charles E. Johnson, enlisted 
in the Aviation Department, and served for thirteen months in a 
Southern aviation camp as sergeant. 

On June 1, 1915. Charles E. Johnson married Blanch Rountree, 
who was born at Riverside, California, and died March 11, 1918, at 



1284 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

San Bernardino. In June, 1919, Mr. Johnson married Miss Edith 
M. McLaren. She was born at Dedham, Massachusetts, June 26, 
1898, and there resided until 1919, when she came to San Bernardino. 
She died June 11, 1920. She was a member of the Eastern Star 
and was the second secretary of the Woman's Auxiliary of the 
American Legion. Mr. Johnson has a son, Charles E. Jr., by his 
first marriage. He belongs to the Native Sons of the Golden West, 
is secretary of the Better City Club, and a member of the Chamber 
of Commerce. Fraternally he is a Blue Lodge, Chapter, Commandery 
and Shriner Mason, and belongs to the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Eastern Star, American Association of Engineers, 
the Lions Club, the La Societe De 40 Hommes and 8 Chevaux of which 
he is secretary of the last organization and Grande Guard of de Prisonnies 
of the State of California. 

John Noble was one of the earliest settlers in San Bernardino and 
married into one of the most prominent pioneer families of that section, 
the Millers. The Miller family had endured the privations and hardships 
and dangers of crossing the desert and plains to California soon after the 
original discoveries of gold on the Pacific Coast. The fortitude and vision 
that carried them to the far West proved sustaining qualities in their 
lives of industry and honor in all subsequent years, and something in 
particular should be said of John Noble and his family as a permanent 
memorial to be published in this history of San Bernardino County. 

He was born at Ithaca, New York, August 22, 1837, and was four 
years old when his father died. He grew up with his mother, and after 
her second marriage she moved to Illinois. John Noble in 1849 was 
on his way to California. One winter was spent at Pikes Peak, where 
he almost perished with cold. He came on to San Bernardino and soon 
became a clerk in the employ of John Byrne, one of the town's early 
storekeepers. A strong personal friendship grew up between the em- 
ployer and clerk. 

The late John Noble was for a number of years identified with the 
Rincon community, locating there about 1882. He conducted for ten 
years a general store and a postoffice at what is now known as Green- 
field Ranch. In the meantime his family had grown up and left home, 
and he then retired to Los Angeles. He died April 8. 1912. 

In 1867 John Noble married Miss Emilv Miller at San Bernardino. 
She died March 14, 1884, and both were buried at San Bernardino, where 
they had lived after their marriage. Mrs. Noble was born May 3, 1850, 
in a wagon of an immigrant train bound for California, and while the 
party were encamped in the Creek Nation in the old Indian Territory. 
Her father. Joshua Miller, was a native of Pennsylvania and one of the 
mo^t prominent of the earlv settlers of San Bernardino. Mr. and Mrs. 
Noble were the parents of seven children, four of whom died in in- 
fancy. The three surviving are Margaret Louise, Fred and Frank Noble. 
The two sons are now prosperous business men. Fred was born 
September 14, 1875, and is now connected with the Oxnard Sugar 
Refinery at Oxnard, California. Frank, who was born May 25, 1880, 
is connected with a sugar refinery at Rockv Ford, Colorado. 

Margaret Louise Noble, who was born September 15, 1873, is now 
Mrs. John E. Strong, their home being on Rincon Road, seven miles 
south of Chino. She acquired her early education in the old school 
on the Rincon, known today as the Pioneer School House, and finished 
her education in Los Angeles. Tn 1892 she was married to Harrv 
L. Field, a native of Connecticut, and descendant of Cvrus Field. 



SAX BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1285 

He died in Rhode Island in 1899. By this marriage Mrs. Strong has 
a son, Eugene L. Field, who was born in Providence, Rhode Island, 
May 4, 1895, was educated in Massachusetts, graduated from the high 
school at Corona, California, and for a time was associated with his 
uncle in the sugar refining industry at Rocky Ford, Colorado, and 
also at Oxnard, California, and is now a resident of Los Angeles. 
Eugene L. Field in 1916 married Miss Anna Valentine, of Rocky 
Ford, Colorado. They have two children, Eugene Lawrence Field, 
born March 11, 1918, and Gwendolyn Louise, born February 26, 1920. 
After her marriage Margaret Louise Field lived for seventeen 
years in the East, in the states of Massachusetts and Rhode Island. 
In 1910 she returned to California and in 1911 became the wife of 
John E. Strong. Mr. Strong was born in Nova Scotia in 1860, and 
came to California in December, 1886, and soon settled at Rincon. 
He has built up a prosperous ranching business. By a previous mar- 
riage he has a son, Clifford Strong, who was born on the Rincon 
ranch October 11, 1897, a graduate of the Corona High School. This 
son in 1918 enlisted in the Aviation Corps, was trained in American 
fields and was then sent to France, and was there ten months but 
never got into action. He had just finished his intensive training 
when the armistice was signed. He now lives with Mr. and Mrs. 
Strong on the home ranch. 

Roland D. West — There were two distinctive sides to the life and 
character exemplified by the late Roland D. West of Rincon. He 
possessed the commendable industry and ambition to get ahead in 
the world, and after his marriage he showed the ability and the thrift 
to provide generously for those dependent upon him. In the second 
place, his public spirit and interest in the community welfare went 
hand in hand with the prosecution of his own affairs, and at his death 
he was esteemed as one of the most useful men who had lived in the 
Rincon community. His home, and where Mrs. West and her family 
still reside, is seven miles south of Chino, on the Rincon Road and 
near the Pioneer School House. 

The late Mr. West was born March 13, 1864, in Kings County, 
Nova Scotia, son of William and Mary (Brown) West, a family of 
Canadian farmers. He acquired his education in Nova Scotia and 
at the age of twenty-one came to California, joining his uncle, 
D. R. Brown, of San Bernardino. He soon secured employment on 
a ranch on the Rincon, and in a few years purchased fifty acres from 
Charles Harwood, one of the early pioneers of Upland. This was 
dry ranch land. Mr. West steadily improved the land, built a modest 
home, provided water for irrigation, set out fruit and from time to 
time purchased other land until the estate now comprises 140 acres, 
practically all well developed. Besides farming his own land Mr. 
West leased many acres, and he had his investment at one time widely 
scattered, owning and operating farm acreage in the Winchester dis- 
tricts. 

During the World war Mr. West showed his patriotic ardor by 
working in superhuman fashion to produce the highest possible pro- 
duction on his land, and it was the strain of this heavy undertaking 
that weakened him, so that on August 21, 1918, while he was surf 
bathing at Newport Beach, his heart failed and he died in the water. 
He was a charter member of Ontario Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, was affiliated with the Congregational Church, and was 
largely instrumental in founding that church at Rincon. He made the 



1286 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

first declaration of his intentions of becoming an American citizen 
on August 14, 1886, at San Bernardino, and on August 24, 1891, was 
admitted to citizenship by Judge John L. Crawford of the Superior 
Court of San Bernardino. 

February 26, 1895, Mr. West married Miss Adaline Cavanagh, 
who was born in Ontario, Canada, May 22, 1875, daughter of William 
and Adaline (Streeter) Cavanagh, natives of the same country. Her 
parents with their eight children came to Ontario, California, in 1888, 
where her father died three years later. In the meantime he had 
bought the old Stuart ranch on the Rincon, where his sons continued 
farming operations for many years. Mrs. West's mother is living 
with her daughters at the age of eighty-two. Mrs. West attended 
the old Chaffey College of Ontario, and was married at the age of 
twenty. After their marriage they moved to the first tract that had 
been purchased by Mr. West, and which is her present home. Mr. 
and Mrs. West had three children. All were born on the Rincon 
ranch. William, born January 8, 1896, was educated in the Chino 
High School and the Los Angeles Junior College and was in read- 
iness to join the colors when his father's death compelled him to 
take up the productive work on the ranch and he was put on the re- 
serve list. He still continues as active ranch manager. The second 
child, Winifred Adaline, born March 16, 1903, is a graduate of the 
Chaffey High School now attending Chaffey Junior College with the class 
of June, 1922. She is specializing in vocal and instrumental music with 
a view to teaching those subjects. The third of the family, Corinne 
Elizabeth, born June 7, 1907, is a student in the Chaffey High School. 

Mr. and Mrs. West started their married life with very modest 
capital, in a district that was comparatively undeveloped, and when 
they went to Ontario they had to drive through vast reaches of drift- 
ing sand, opening gates and passing through fenced lands. The late 
Mr. West was a life-long democrat, but above all other outside inter- 
ests the matter of community welfare was first to engage his attention. 

William Churchill Cline has been a resident in and around On- 
tario for thirty years or more. His business is construction work of a 
high character. As a youth he learned the stone and brick mason's 
trade, and his long experience and study has brought him a masterful 
authority in all branches of building construction, paving and road 
work, and the examples of his sturdy art and business energy can 
be found all over this section of the county. 

Mr. Cline was born at Lockhaven, Clinton County, Pennsylvania, 
May 5, 1876, son of John Lloyd and Susan Maria (Churchill) Cline, 
the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of New York State. 
There were three children: Ella, who was well educated, is Mrs. Ella 
Kouts and is now teaching in the schools at Fontana, California ; 
William Churchill, and Susie, who died at Pasadena as Mrs. Susie 
Groomer. 

William Churchill Cline came to California with his grandfather 
and grandmother in 1889, when he was thirteen years of age. They 
located in 1890 at North Ontario, now Upland, where Mr. Cline 
finished his education in the old Chaffey College. His grandmother 
established and conducted a private sanitarium at 24th Street and 
Euclid Avenue, an institution well patronized in its day. His grand- 
father was the first postmaster of San Antonio Heights, an office that 
has long since been discontinued. He was a veteran of the Civil war. 

Mr. Cline continued to live with his grandparents until about 1892, 
when his parents came out to California. Completing his education 



Andrew P. Collins 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1287 

in 1894, he worked for a year or so on the Stewart fruit ranch. His 
father and grandfather were very skilled stone and brick masons, 
and about 1895 Mr. Cline began an apprenticeship to learn these 
trades, and he also took up the new branch of cement construction. 
This has been his business now for a quarter of a centry. Many of 
the county's large works are monuments to his skill. Mr. Cline has 
devoted much time and study and has performed some notable work 
in cobble stone and native stone construction. 

In 1900 he married Miss May Johns, who was born in Ottawa, 
Canada, daughter of J. C. Johns. Her father came to Ontario about 
thirty-five years ago, was a plumber by occupation and established the 
first hardware and plumbing business in the then new town of Ontario. 
He also did much business as a contractor, and laid much of the early 
water system of Ontario. Mrs. Cline was educated in the schools of 
Ontario. Three children have been born to their marriage : Ruth A., 
born December 12, 1900, is a graduate of the Chaffey Union High 
School and now a trusted employe of the Commercial Bank of Up- 
land ; Gilbert W., born February 7, 1902, is a graduate of the Chaffey 
High School, and John Ernest, born April 5, 1903, is attending high 
school. All the children were born at Ontario. Mr. Cline is 
affiliated with the Ontario Lodge of Elks, was one of the first sixteen 
charter members of Euclid Lodge No. 68. Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, the membership of which is now over one hundred, and he 
and his family are Presbyterians. 

Albert N. Collins — The Collins family has had a prominent part 
in the agricultural and horticultural development of several localities 
adjacent to Riverside and the business of production and marketing 
of citrus crops has been notably stimulated by them. Albert N. 
Collins came to Riverside some years after his father and other 
members of the family and after a successful career as a merchant 
in St. Louis. He is now one of the prominent orange growers in 
this district. 

Mr. Collins was born at Solomon, Kansas, December 13, 1872, son 
of Andrew Perry and Sarah Elizabeth (Blair) Collins. His father, 
who spent the last years of his life in Riverside, was a native of 
Seneca County, Ohio, of an old American family of French descent, 
while his wife was of English stock. He grew up in Ohio and his 
liberal education was acquired in the Ohio Wesleyan University. 
As a young man he assisted in raising the Twelfth Michigan Infantry, 
in which he was commissioned first lieutenant. He served in several 
battles along the Mississippi until captured. He was confined in Ander- 
sonville prison, escaping with another man from that notorious stockade. 
An account of their experiences in the swamps of the South was made 
by his companion the subject of a volume entitled "Beyond the Lines; 
or a Yankee Prisoner Loose in Dixie." 

In the closing years of the war he served on the staff of Gen. C. C. 
Andrews. 

After the war Andrew P. Collins removed to Solomon, Kansas, 
beginning at the grass roots in that frontier community. He acquired 
one of the largest farms in the region. In 1868 he married Miss 
Sarah E. Blair, who was a native of Iowa and is now living at 
Riverside. Andrew P. Collins for many years was a prominent 
Kansan. He served as county superintendent of schools of Saline 
County, sat four years in the Legislature, was for ten years a member 
of the State Board of Agriculture, and was one of the five Kansas 



1288 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

World's Fair Commissioners at Chicago in 1893 and had charge of 
the agricultural exhibit of his state. He took an active part in 
1885 in the founding of the Kansas Wesleyan University at Salina 
and for years was president of the Board of Trustees. He was a 
leading layman of the Methodist Church in Kansas and was a 
delegate to the General Conference at New York in 1888. 

Andrew P. Collins came to Riverside in 1903 and bought fifty 
acres of oranges above Highgrove. After trying to market his 
product for a couple of years he bought a packing house of his own, 
and made a notable success of this enterprise known as the Collins 
Fruit Company. With his son and others he was interested in the 
development of six hundred acres in the Morino Valley. The water 
had been developed, but about the time they were ready to put the 
land into cultivation a favorable opportunity for selling arose and 
they disposed of it. Andrew P. Collins was a booster for all things 
of interest to Riverside. He was a member of the Masonic order. 
His death occurred March 17, 1911, when he was seventy-four years 
of age. 

Mr. and Mrs. A. P. Collins had three sons and three daughters. 
Oliver E., a practicing attorney at Colorado Springs, Colorado ; Edith 
C, wife of John L. Bishop of Riverside ; Albert N. ; Frank N., manager 
of the Exchange Packing House of Highgrove; May C. wife of 
Clarence H. Matson, a prominent Los Angeles citizen, who shares 
in the credit for the development of the Los Angeles Harbor, was 
for years traffic manager of the harbor and is now connected with 
the foreign trade department of the Los Angeles Chamber of Com- 
merce : and Ruth E., wife of M. C. Shaible of Salina, Kansas, auditor 
of the International Harvester Company. 

Albert N. Collins was reared in Central Kansas, acquired a public 
school education, attended Kansas Wesleyan University at Salina 
and was graduated from the St. Louis College of Pharmacy in 1895 with 
the degree Ph. G. For about thirteen years Mr. Collins was success- 
fully engaged in the drug business at St. Louis, at one time owning 
and conducting five stores. He disposed of those interests and in 
1908 came to Riverside with the intention of joining his father in 
the development of six hundred acres in the Morino Valley. Shortly 
afterward that property was sold and he then became an associate of 
S. H. Herrick and his brother-in-law, John L. Bishop, in the develop- 
ment of a two hundred acre tract of oranges and lemons two miles east 
of Riverside. The company is known as the Lemona Heights Com- 
pany, and most of the time and energy of Mr. Collins has been bestowed 
upon this property. He is interested in other groves in Riverside and a 
peach orchard on the Colton Terrace, and is a property owner at Los An- 
geles and Santa Monica. For one year after coming to Riverside he con- 
ducted his father's packing house, and for a year or so it continued under 
the management of Mr. Bishop, but was finally sold. 

Mr. Collins is a director of the Monte Vista Packing Association. 
He is a member of the Kiwanis Club and a trustee of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Collins married Miss Harriet M. Thompson. She was born 
in Iowa, daughter of Montgomery C. Thompson of an old American 
family. Mrs. Collins is one of the best educated women in River- 
side. She is a graduate of the Kansas Wesleyan University with 
the degree A. B. and A. M., and after graduation she remained on 
the University faculty of instruction as teacher of French and German. 
Mr. and Mrs. Collins have four children: A. N., Tr. (Noel), a sub- 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1289 

station operator on the Pacific Electric Railway ; Margaret, member 
of the class of 1922, and Alice of the class of 1924 in the Riverside 
high school ; and Donald Addison, a student in the Riverside grammar 
schools. 

Edward J. Jaquet was born in Switzerland, possesses the Swiss 
talent for agriculture and horticulture, and as a pioneer of Southern 
California has done a great deal of actual and supervisory work in the 
planting, development and landscape beautification of Ontario and 
vicinity. 

He was born in Canton Neuchatel, Switzerland, January 14, 1860. 
He was one of six children, had a common school education, and at 
the age of sixteen left his native land and went to Canada, settling 
at Kingston, Ontario. He worked on the farm there three years. 
Being homesick, he returned to Switzerland and remained a year. 
He then went back to Canada and six months later arrived at River- 
side, California, in 1882. At Riverside he entered the service of the 
Chaffey Brothers, who were then engaged in subdiving the colony 
of Etiwanda. Mr. Jaquet was with the Chaffeys, planting and irrigat- 
ing orange trees. In the meantime the Chaffeys had bought the site 
of Ontario, and in the spring of 1883 Mr. Jaquet moved to that colony, 
at Chaffey's Camp, located at what is now Fourteenth and Euclid 
Avenue. This land was then being prepared for settlers, and the 
foreman of the work was Andrew Rubio, a native Californian of 
Mexican stock. Mr. Jaquet worked with a man named Daniel 
Nicholl, a landscape gardener. During the year 1883 he helped grade 
part of Euclid Avenue, planted the ornamental trees along that thor- 
oughfare to Fourth Street, and the following year completed grading 
and tree planting on the avenue to Twenty-fourth street. This ex- 
pense was borne by the Chaffey Brothers, who were then transacting 
the sale of this land to individual buyers, Chaffey Brothers agreeing 
to plant and care for the developing young orange orchards at a 
charge of so much an acre for the service. Mr. Jaquet was put in 
charge of this special part of the work, superintending the planting 
and irrigating as well as the care of the young trees. In 1886 the 
Chaffeys left Ontario to do some pioneer work in Australia, and the 
following year Mr. Jaquet followed them and became their planting 
manager in Australia. He remained there five years, and when he 
left Australia he went back through the Suez Canal and the Mediter- 
ranean Sea, lived with his father in Switzerland for six months, and 
reached America in time to visit the World's Fair at Chicago in 1893. 
From Chicago he returned to California, and at Ontario was associated 
with the Lyman Stewart interests, orange growers, for six years. 
For three years he was ranch foreman for A. P. Griffith at Azusa. 
On returning to Ontario Mr. Jaquet was in the service of E. H. 
Richardson as foreman of planting and irrigation work in the new 
colony of Adelanto for five years, and during the last three years 
of this time had entire charge of the enterprise. He gave up that 
position on account of his wife's failing health and has since lived 
at Ontario, though he has done much outside work as adviser and 
special pruning expert. 

On March 17, 1897, Mr. Jaquet married Rosie Gisin, who was born 
at Basel, Switzerland, in 1860, and in 1882, as a young woman, came 
to America. For a time she lived near Chicago and in 1883 came 
to California and secured work with the Chaffeys. She was first mar- 
ried in Los Angeles, and was a widow when she became the wife of 



1290 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Mr. Jaquet. Her daughter by her first husband, Pearl, is the wife 
of Hellman Cornelius, of Hollywood. 

Mr. Jaquet in 1900 bought property on Euclid Avenue and le- 
tained it until recently. Ten years ago he bought two and a half 
acres of fine ground on East I Street, which he set to oranges seven 
years ago, and in July, 1921, he completed his modern bungalow home 
there. Mr. Jaquet is an old time member of Ontario Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, and is also a member of the Modern 
Woodmen of America. He has been instrumental in the advance- 
ment of this colony's interests as a landscape artist, and his skill and 
industry have provided some of the most distinctive artistic beauties 
that adorn the natural advantages of this section. 

The Italian Vineyard Company. — The world's largest vineyard is 
in San Bernardino County, situated at Guasti Station, three miles east 
of Ontario. It is a splendid example of daring enterprise and skillful 
executive management, and is an institution that has reflected benefits 
in countless ways on the county. In the first place, the vineyard occupies 
land that was long considered worthless desert, and is, therefore, a re- 
demption from the wilderness. As an industry it affords employment 
to a great amount of capital and labor, and in every sense it is a pro- 
ductive and creative enterprise. 

This unique institution owes its existence to Secondo Guasti. Mr. 
Guasti was born in Italy in 1859, was reared and educated there, 
and about 1881 left his native land, first going to Panama, then to Guay- 
mas, Mexico, and finally to Los Angeles, where in 1883 he established 
and conducted a wholesale and retail wine business. He was in that 
business with his individual capital, his place being at the corner of Third 
and Alameda streets. As a Los Angeles business man he bought exten- 
sive quantities of grapes from growers, and had dealings with the pioneer 
vineyardists around Cucamonga, including Milliken and Haven. These 
transactions gave Mr. Guasti the original idea of organizing capital, buy- 
ing and developing a large acreage, and promoting a huge vineyard and 
winery. 

The plans after being carefully formulated in Mr. Guasti's mind for 
a time were put into execution in 1900 by the organization of The 
Italian Vineyard Company. It was incorporated with a hundred thousand 
dollars stock. The first purchase included fifteen hundred acres of land 
known as the Cucamonga Desert. A more unpromising scene for pro- 
ductive horticulture could hardly be conceived. The land was covered 
with sage brush and sand dunes, and inhabited only by the horned toad, 
jack-rabbit and rattlesnake. Mr. Guasti as head of the company had this 
tract cleared and graded and set to vines. It is on the main line of the 
Southern Pacific Railway, surrounding the desert station of South Cuca- 
monga. The lands included in the great vineyard were purchased at 
from twenty-five to thirty dollars an acre. In 1901 the capital stock 
was raised to two hundred and fifty thousand dollars and still later to 
five hundred thousand dollars. Successive land purchases were made 
and developed to vineyard. In 1904 the first stone and iron winery was 
constructed on these lands. The company now owns over four thousand 
acres, nearly all of it devoted to grape culture. The capacity of the 
winery was increased until it reached five million gallons, and was crush- 
ing from fifteen to twenty-five thousand tons of grapes each vintage. 
The wines produced by this company were sold throughout the United 
States, with branch houses at New York City, Chicago, New Orleans 
and Seattle, and in former years also had an immense export trade to 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1291 

foreign lands. The winery is known as the best equipped in California, 
and the company still does a modified business in the manufacture of wines 
for sacramental, medicinal and manufacturing purposes, and the com- 
pany also makes huge quantities of pure grape syrup marketed under their 
special brand. 

It is an industry employing all the year around a hundred and fifty 
men, while during the vintage season from four hundred to four hun- 
dred and fifty are on the pay roll. Much of the labor is expert and 
skilled. The company has developed an ample water supply for irriga- 
tion purposes, the source of the supply being five large wells equipped 
with Pomona deep well pumps and Layne and Bowler pumps. Each 
well has a capacity of from ninety to a hundred and fifty miner's inches. 
From the wells the water is pumped to a number of cement reservoirs, 
one of which has a capacity of thirteen million gallons. From these 
reservoirs the water is distributed by concrete pipe lines, from eight to 
eighteen inches in diameter, and the system is such as to afford complete 
regulation and ample supply for every part of the vineyard. 

While this vineyard is a remarkable tribute to the push and energy 
and foresight of Mr. Guasti and his associates, it also serves as an object 
lesson to indicate the wonderful potential resources of San Bernardino 
and other sections of Southern California, which may awake the genius 
of similar men to respond with enormous additions of productive wealth 
for the world. The main offices of the Italian Vineyard Company are at 
1234 Palmetto Street in Los Angeles. The secretary of the company is 
J. A. Barlotti. 

Louis Richenberger, living on the old Rincon stage road, seven 
miles south of Chino, is a prosperous dairyman and farmer of this vicinity. 
Mr. Richenberger as a youth learned and became an expert cheese maker, 
acquiring that art in his native Switzerland. He came to California nearly 
forty years ago, and has lived in this state the greater part of the time 
since then. 

He was born in Switzerland, January 17, 1858. His father was a 
Swiss cheese manufacturer. In the family were six children, the first 
three being sons, Louis the youngest. Louis Richenberger was reared 
and educated in Switzerland, and under his father acquired the art of 
making cheese. When he came to America in February, 1883, he was 
first attracted to the great dairy and cheese state of Wisconsin, but soon 
found the climate inhospitable and in the following December arrived at 
San Francisco, having made a tedious trip across the continent, a twelve 
days' journey due to delays on account of snow and other causes. In 
California Mr. Richenberger negotiated with Governor Stanford and 
established for him the first cheese factory in that part of the state. He 
operated it very successfully for a year and a half. Then leaving Cali- 
fornia, he went to Tombstone, Arizona, but soon removed to San Diego. 
Mr. Richenberger once owned two lots in San Diego now covered by the 
Coronado Hotel. He sold these lots for forty dollars each. From there he 
removed to Bakersfield, and was a cheese manufacturer there four years. 
Then followed a two months visit to his native land. Altogether Mr. 
Richenberger went back to Europe three times, and spent all his savings 
each time. For two years he was a cheese maker at Phoenix, Arizona, 
and in 1898 returned to California and has since been identified with 
San Bernardino County. He bought twelve and a half acres of land and 
established a large cheese plant and dairy business, purchasing quantities 
of milk from surrounding farmers and manufacturing two hundred 
pounds or more of cheese daily. His special product, the Rincon Cheese, 



1292 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

acquired a great fame and a broadening market. He continued in the 
business for ten years, and then abandoned cheese making and since has 
incorporated his dairy farm and sold his milk wholesale. Mr. Richen- 
berger leases 380 acres and does farming on an extensive scale, operating 
two tractors and all other modern machinery. 

He married Katherine Kuntz, who was born in Bavaria, Germany, 
in 1868, and came to America at the age of sixteen. She first lived in 
Brooklyn, New York, and twenty-three years ago came to Chino. She 
had to master the English language after coming to this country. Mr. 
and Mrs. Richenberger have three sons: Alvis, born August 16, 1890. 
was educated in the Chino schools, married Miss Hazel Hayes on October 
1, 1921, and had answered the call to the colors and was ready for duty 
when the armistice was signed. He is now associated with his father 
on the farm. Harold was born October 24, 1895, was educated in the 
Chino High School and is a mechanic. Albert, born March 4, 1908, 
is a student in the Chino High School. 

Mr. Richenberger had no knowledge of the English language when 
he came to this country. He worked long hours during the day and 
attended school at night in Bakersfield to learn to read and write. He 
has had no help except that given him by his industrious and thrifty 
wife, and together they have accumulated a comfortable and substantial 
competency. He and his family are members of the Catholic Church, 
he is affiliated with Pomona Council No. 877, Knights of Columbus, and 
has always voted the republican ticket. 

Albert D. Trujillo, member of one of the oldest families of San 
Bernardino and Riverside counties, is a native son, and during the 
decade that his name has been enrolled as a member of the bar 
he has made a reputation as one of the ablest and best known criminal 
lawyers in Southern California. 

Mr. Trujillo and his father were born at Spanishtown on the 
line between the two counties. His father, Dario Trujillo, has given 
his active life to mining and now lives at Perris in Riverside County, 
where he was identified with the early settlement. Dario Trujillo 
is the only survivor of four brothers. His wife Sarah Espinosa was 
also born at Spanishtown and is living at Perris. The six living 
children of Dario and Sarah Trujillo are : Frank, in the real estate 
business at San Bernardino; Albert D., Lupe, wife of Harry Hughes, a 
farmer at Perris ; Esperanza, wife of Wilford Connell, a Perris 
farmer ; Sellio and Dario, Jr., contractors at Perris. 

Albert D. Trujillo attended the public schools of Riverside County 
and the Perris High School, graduating in 1905. Following his 
school career he was employed as a clerk by the prominent business 
firm of Hook Brothers at Perris. At the same time he busily pursued 
the study of law at home, and was admitted to the California bar at 
Los Angeles in 1909. Since 1917 he has qualified for practice in 
the Federal courts. Mr. Trujillo opened his first office at Riverside 
in 1909, but a year later moved to San Bernardino, where he has 
occupied the same suite of offices ever since, located at 360 E Street. 
With a general practice, his work has figured more and more as a 
specialist in criminal law. He has handled many murder trials in all 
the counties of Southern California, and was one of the attorneys in 
the recently celebrated Ruiz criminal case. 

Mr. Trujillo is a member of the Democratic County Central 
Committee, has been active in a number of county campaigns, but 
unlike many lawyers has never regarded politics as a source of liveli- 




QmoA 



l^J^SJh 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1293 

hood or additional reputation. He is a member of Arrowhead Parlor 
No. 110 Native Sons of the Golden West of San Bernardino. 

January 1, 1916, in Arizona he married Miss Amalia Imperial, 
a native of that state. Their two children are: Josephine, born in 
1916, and Albert E„ Jr. 

J. C. Reeder. — The career of J. C. Reeder, one of the well known 
and substantial citizens of the Ontario District, has not been a steady 
and uninterrupted climb toward prosperity. Two of his early California 
ventures were complete failures. He returned to his task after seeing 
his savings dissipated, and this faculty of never giving up in defeat 
and his hopeful enterprise have largely determined the successful position 
he now enjoys. 

Mr. Reeder was born at Lindsay, Canada, September 18, 1862. When 
he was two years old his mother died, and three years later his father, 
Daniel Reeder, moved to Michigan and settled in the northern woods, 
in what is now Missoukee County, sixty-five miles from the nearest 
settlement, Traverse City being the nearest town. He homesteaded land 
there. Daniel Reeder was for several years the only man of any educa- 
tion in the entire county. With the increase of population he mortgaged 
his farm in order to secure money to establish the county seat at his 
own town, Lake City, and he realized this ambition. 

It was in such a country, of great woods, without any of the institu- 
tions of refinement, neither schools nor churches, that J. C. Reeder spent 
his boyhood. Altogether he attended public school only three months, 
and only by his own efforts in later years did he secure the equivalent 
of an ordinary education. He has been making his own way since he 
was thirteen. At seventeen he left home altogether. His early life was 
spent in a lumber town, where there were thirteen saloons and a brawl 
or fight amost always on the program. He worked alongside rough lum- 
ber jacks in the timber and lumber camps and on the river, and it is a 
tribute to his independent character that in spite of this environment 
he never used tobacco or intoxicating liquors. While still a boy he was 
employed on a lumber boom, and in six weeks his pay was raised to the 
same as that given to men two years in the service. It was the custom 
to gauge the rate of pay according to length of experience. From this 
work he returned to Lake City with a hundred dollars saved, and borrow- 
ing twenty-five dollars more and taking in a partner he established a drug 
store. Nine months later he sold his interest to his partner, netting a 
big profit. 

After some other experiences Mr. Reeder went to Washington and 
for three years was in the logging camps of the Northwest. While in 
Washington he contracted the purchase of ten acres in the Barton District 
of Redlands, California. It was a tract of unimproved land, but the 
purchase agreement was that it would be set to oranges and developed 
while he was making the payments. In 1891 he came down to Red- 
lands to investigate, and found that evervthin? he had put into the invest- 
ment had gone for naught. Thus relieved of the embarrassment of ac- 
cumulating riches and left with onlv fiftv dollars, he went to work in the 
old Terricina Hotel, and six months later found himself the possessor 
of five hundred dollars. His next employment was with an engineering 
party in Bear Valley under_ Mr. Sargent, engaged in the Moreno Survey. 
By 1894 Mr. Reeder had nine hundred dollars, and this he invested in a 
small ranch property in San Diego County. Here again conditions were 
all against him, and after five years of struggle he left and went to 
Lakeside, forty-five dollars in debt. At Lakeside he worked with a 



1294 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

surveying party, used his team for contract work and also operated steam 
pumps, supplying the city of San Diego with water. At the end of two 
years he had sixteen hundred dollars in the bank. 

With this little fortune he established himself permanently in the field 
where he is located today. In January, 1901, he bought his present 
homestead, three miles west of Euclid Avenue in Ontario. He paid four 
hundred and seventy-five dollars for five acres of wild land on Holt 
Avenue, set it to oranges, built a home, and instituted other improvements. 
He then contracted to buy an adjoining five acres for eight hundred 
dollars, paying only forty dollars down. By borrowing and from his 
savings he paid out, and his ten acres, now completely developed as an 
orange grove, would conservatively be valued at thirty-five thousand 
dollars. Altogether Mr. Reeder now owns ninety-five acres of improved 
land, chiefly in oranges and deciduous orchards. He is a stockholder 
to the extent of seven thousand dollars in the San Antonio Packing Com- 
pany and holds in stock a number of other organizations. In twenty years 
he has accumulated a very substantial competency, due to his energetic 
labors and the wisdom with which he has estimated present and future 
conditions. 

For the past sixteen years Mr. Reeder has served as district road 
boss. He has been a life long republican and a man of scrupulous in- 
tegrity in all his transactions. He is one of the most thoroughly practical 
horticulturists in this section. 

In the spring of 1894 he married Miss Lulu B. Sharp, a native of 
Missouri, who came to Pomona, California, in 1891. Mr. and Mrs. 
Reeder can certainly be pardoned a justifiable pride jn their splendid 
family of seven boys, from the oldest to the youngest perfect specimens 
of physical strength and well being, and all of them athletically inclined. 
the older ones having many distinctions in school athletics. 

The oldest, Paul H. Reeder, born September 1. 1895, at San Diego, 
graduated from the Chaffey Union High School and at the time of the 
World war he enlisted in the Field Hospital Corps and for almost two 
years was in France. He was in the first unit to cross the line after 
the armistice was signed. He was prominent in the athletic and field 
contests of the army in France, and the day before his return he won 
five of the events in a great field day of athletic sports. He is a thirty- 
second degree Mason. Paul Reeder married Miss Agnes Baker, of 
Pomona, and they have one daughter, Pauline Agnes Reeder, born July 
27, 1921. 

The second son, Arthur J. Reeder, born November 12, 1896, at San 
Diego, also graduated from the Chaffey Union High School and he broke 
all the athletic records of that school and gained a state-wide reputation 
as a football player and in other sports. He volunteered and went into 
Field Hospital Corps in the same unit with his brother, and they were 
together all through the service. After his return he went to Arizona and 
proved up a homestead of agricultural land. He is a member of the 
Masonic Order. 

The third son, Donald D. Reeder, born September 18, 1899, at San 
Diego, graduated from the Chaffey High School, also made his mark in 
athletics and was a volunteer for the war service and ready to go when 
the armistice was signed. Later he took over the management of the 
Avis Hotel Cafe, Pomona. In 1921 he married Miss Ruth Cooper, of 
Upland, California. 

The younger sons are L. DeWitt Reeder, born at Ontario August 4. 
1901, a graduate of the Chaffey High School and now a student in 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1295 

Pomona College; George, born at Ontario December 30, 1905; Teddy 
Eevvis, born at Ontario October 4, 1907, and Stanley, born June 4, 19l)y. 

John Chester Nobles after many years of business effort in the 
Northwest came to California more than twenty-five years ago, acquired 
property interests in Ontario and other parts ot the state, and lived here 
highly honored and respected until his death. His family are residents 
ot Ontario, where Mrs. Nobles and their only daughter reside. 

The late Mr. Nobles was born in Indiana, February 25, 1842. His 
parents were farmers and in rather poor circumstances, so that all the 
schooling he could get was in the common schools, and the routine of 
farm duties faced him when only a child. When he was only twelve years 
of age John C. Nobles drove a team of oxen breaking heavy prairie sod. 
Under such circumstances he never learned to expect or await any finan- 
cial assistance, but depended entirely on his own labors and ability for 
his modest reward. His industry and earnestness brought him eventu- 
ally to a position of substantial success. 

In 1870 Mr. Nobles went to Minnesota, and in the same year at El 
Dorado he married Miss Sarah Sharratt. Mrs. Nobles was born in 
Staffordshire, England, May 15, 1848, daughter of Francis and Maria 
Sharratt, who the following year left England and became pioneer settlers 
in Wisconsin. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Nobles settled on a 
farm near Winnebago City, where he put in ten industrious years. He 
then moved to Amboy, and for a number of years was a leading mer- 
chant of that town. His last place of residence in Minnesota was Man- 
kato, where he was a manufacturer and wholesaler of candy and con- 
fectionery. In these commercial lines he was eminently successful, and 
it was reasons of ill health that caused him to dispose of his interests 
in Minnesota and in 1895 come West. For several months he was in 
Salt Lake City investigating mining projects, but in September, 1896, 
he came on to Ontario, California. Here he rented a home for sixteen 
months, and then 1898 built a home at San Diego, where he lived until 
his death on November 27, 1907. 

Mr. Nobles was a member of the Masonic Order, a life long democrat, 
and is remembered as a man of most charitable and generous disposi- 
tion, temperate in his habits, and was esteemed for his character as well 
as for his material achievement. 

Soon after coming to California he invested in a magnificent five 
acre grove on North Vine Avenue in Ontario, and on this he built a 
modern home now occupied by Mrs. Nobles and their only daughter. 
The daughter, Mvra, was born on a farm near Amboy. Minnesota, Novem- 
ber 21, 1871. She was educated in the grammar schools of Amboy, in 
the Mankato High School, and on September 28. 1895. became the wife 
of Henry Frisbee. Mr. Frisbee was born in Wisconsin and is now 
an orange grower at Ontario. Mr. and Mrs. Frisbee have three children. 
The oldest. Edna Maud, born at Salt Lake City, is a graduate of the 
Chaffev High School of Ontario and has specialized in Domestic Science. 
The second child. Ira Nobles Frisbee. born at Ontario November 7, 1897. 
is a graduate of the Chaffev High School, and eraduated with honors 
and the A. B. degree from Pomona College in 1919. In June 1921 he 
completed a two years' course in business administration at Harvard 
University. During the World war he was enrolled as a lieutenant in 
the Students' Army Training Corps and is now connected with the San 
Francisco firm of Price Waterhouse Companv as an exnert accountant. 
Ira N. Frisbee married. September 1, 1920, Miss Helen Sheets, of Clare- 
mont, California, and they have a daughter, Helen Leonora, born in July, 



1296 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

1921. The third child of Mr. and Mrs. Frisbee is Alice Elizabeth, born 
at San Diego December 3, 1906, a young lady gifted in music and a stu- 
dent in both vocal and instrumental. She attends the Chaffey High School. 

James Birney Draper — That a good name is to be chosen rather 
than riches is in a peculiar sense exemplified by the career of Ontario's 
well known citizen James Birney Draper, who has lived in this com- 
munity for over a quarter of a century, and thus personally and 
through his business has earned a host of friendships and has enjoyed 
every degree of success. 

Mr. Draper was born May 16, 1855, in County Gray, Ontario, 
Canada, son of Charles and Eleanor (Birney) Draper. His father 
was a farmer who moved to the village of Drayton in County Wal- 
lington, and died before his son James was twelve years of age. The 
latter had only a common school education at Drayton, and at the 
age of eleven went to work for a farmer, his wages being three dol- 
lars a month for a period of nine months. Out of this meager income 
he saved twenty-five dollars, which he invested in sheep, subsequently- 
destroyed by dogs. He continued working as a farm laborer until 
he was about twenty years of age, and then learned the tailoring 
trade in the village of Chesley, Ontario. Subsequently he was in 
business for himself in the country village of Pinkerton, where he 
met his future wife, Miss Louisa Mutrie. 

From Pinkerton he returned to Drayton and for eight years had 
charge of the tailoring department of John Whyte's department store, 
and in the spring of 1889 went west to Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, 
to open a men's tailoring and men's furnishing goods and fur store. 
He remained in that western province five years, and in the spring 
of 1894 arrived in Ontario, California, and on the 13th of May of that 
year engaged in business as a merchant tailor. 

In the fall of 1898 Mr. Draper bought the undertaking business of 
Fred Clark, succeeding Isaac Garbuth, who had charge, but was in- 
capacitated through illness, and Mr. Draper had voluntarily assisted 
at a number of funerals and his qualifications for the special service 
demanded of a funeral undertaker were so evident that though he had 
no funds to buy the business several Ontario townsmen gave him the 
money needed without requiring security. He has since developed a 
model funeral service, and in the spring of 1911 he erected a building 
of his own, containing an appropriately equipped chapel, at a cost of 
twenty-seven thousand dollars. The building is ideally located for 
his business, away from the main thoroughfare but accessible to all 
points of the town. During the first year Mr. Draper directed thirty 
funerals, and his business patronage is such that he now handles on 
an average three hundred such occasions annually. Recently, at the 
urgent request of ministers of all denominations, bankers and busi- 
ness men, he bought the funeral establishment at Upland from L. C. 
Vedder, and his son, Fred E., now has charge of the Upland business, 
and Mr. Draper's youngest daughter, Ella, has charge of the books. 
Mr. Draper has in every sense been a self-made man, and the integrity 
of his life has justified the confidence so frequently reposed in him. 

He was president of the Southern California Funeral Directors 
Association, also vice president of the State Funeral Directors Asso- 
ciation, and was a member of the legislative committee that was in- 
strumental in placing the present embalmers' bill on the statute books. 
He is also a member by invitation of the National Selected Morticians, 
with headquarters at Pittsburgh, Pa. He has for years been bitterly 



" 



**>** 




S&*K? %& <6crrrtfy 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1297 

opposed to the liquor traffic, is a republican in politics, and a member 
of the Official Board of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was 
the first treasurer of the Volunteer Fire Department of Ontaiio. 

Mr. Draper married Miss Louisa Mutrie at Pinkerton, Ontario, 
Canada, in 1884. They had a family of five children, three sons and 
two daughters, named Harold Mutrie, Olive Louisa, Ella Martin, 
Fred Earl and Ewart Blake. Harold M. was killed in an automobile 
accident on October 16, 1916. Airs. Draper was born in the Township of 
Nichol, County of Wellington, Province of Ontario, Canada, January 
28, 1858, and was educated in public schools there. 

George Mills Cooley — In the San Bernardino Valley the prestige 
accorded George Mills Cooley is due to his veteran service in the 
mercantile field, to a success that has mounted steadily through the 
years, to the character and reputation for pushing affairs with ex- 
ceptional vigor. At the bottom of all has been the integrity that 
has brought him the esteem of all his associates during his almost 
lifelong residence in this part of California. The history of his personal 
career and that of his family possess more than ordinary interest. 
George Cooley and Ellen Tolputt were natives of Kent, England. 
They were probably converts to Mormonism while in England, and 
they left that country to join a Mormon settlement in the Far West. 
While on shipboard crossing the Atlantic and in midocean they were mar- 
ried, and while they were in Utah their child, George Mills Cooley, 
was born December 23, 1855. George Cooley remained in Salt Lake 
about four years, until he with ten other English families became 
dissatisfied with Brigham Young's policies. It is reported that 
Young got up in church one Sunday and said that Franklin K. 
Pierce might be President of the United States, but he would be 
damned if he was President of this territory. Mr. Cooley is said 
to have retorted in church, that polygamy was the curse of the 
community. The bishop of the church answered "Yes and your blood 
shall atone for those remarks before the setting of the sun tonight." 
George Cooley lost no time in moving to Nephi, ninety miles south 
of Salt Lake City, and when he applied to the bishop of the church 
at that point, the latter who was very much of a gentleman, gave 
him papers with permission for the entire party to leave the territory. 
When they had gone seventy-five miles and were west of the line of 
Utah a posse of officers stopped them, accusing them of attempting 
to leave the territory on forged papers. The party was compelled 
to wait while some of the officers took Mr. Cooley back to Nephi. 
The bishop declared the papers to be genuine and ordered the officers 
to escort him back to his party. With these incidents and delays 
the Cooley family arrived in San Bernardino, May 11, 1857. 

It was in the beautiful ranch home of his parents south of San 
Bernardino that George Mills Cooley grew to manhood. He mastered 
the art of education, studied at home, his elementary education being 
due largely to his father's teaching. As a young man he and Alfred 
Hunt rented a thousand acres between San Bernardino and Redlands 
and from the proceeds of this venture he acquired sufficient money 
to go through Heald's Business College in San Francisco. After 
leaving business college he entered the service of the Ruffen & Brays 
Hardware Store in San Bernardino. He worked in that store from 
1875 until 1885, having the responsibility of the business on his 
shoulders. He bought out the firm in 1885, and since then for over 
thirty-five years has been sole proprietor, the business being conducted 



1298 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

under his own name for many years and recently under the name of 
the George M. Cooley Company. 

Historically this is the oldest store in San Bernardino County. 
It was establised about 1854, and has a consecutive history of nearly 
seventy years. Mr. Cooley has greatly expanded the business under 
his proprietorship. He has a thorough knowledge of hardware in 
all its related lines, and his energy and personal supervision have 
enabled him to look after the business of every department. His 
stock represents a capital investment of many thousands of dollars 
and comprises everything in shelf and general hardware. With his 
ample credit resources he has been able to buy direct from the 
manufacturers in large quantities and this advantage he transmits to 
the benefit of his customers. 

Mr. Cooley started in the hardware business with practically 
nothing but his credit, and this he has kept untarnished, and today 
he enjoys the higest rating given by commercial agencies. He owns 
the property where his business is conducted, and his trade has in- 
creased so steadily as to necessitate many additions in floor space. 
The store is one of the largest, most thoroughly stocked and complete 
in the state. For more than half a century the business has been con- 
ducted at the same place, and it has been under the ownership of 
Mr. Cooley over thirty-seven years. Of the incorporated company, 
George M. Cooley is president and general manager ; Frank L. Cooley, 
his brother, is vice president and manager of the Plumbing depart- 
ment ; Allan Grover Cooley is secretary-treasurer and in the absence of 
George M. Cooley, acts as general manager; and Marshall B. Cooley 
is manager of the Sheet Metal department. 

One of the most important features of the business is plumbing. 
A staff of expert mechanics is maintained and until recently George 
M. Cooley made his own estimates and supervised the work in the 
plumbing department, but this is now being handled by his brother 
Frank. In 1890, Mr. Cooley competed with twenty-nine pipe dealers 
to sell the city of San Bernardino the pipe necessary for the new 
waterworks. He secured the entire contract since all other bids were 
from four thousand to fourteen thousand dollars higher than his. 
Mr. Cooley has also done much real estate development and has 
erected six dwellings on the two acres owned by him at the corner 
of Sixth and D Streets, four of which had been sold. 

Mr. Cooley is a student and an authority on soil and derives his 
greatest pleasure in growing plants. His particular hobby is potatoes. 
Like Luther Burbank he has been attracted into the fascinating subject 
of propagating new species, and has some singular results to his 
credit. His trial grounds, and also the scene of his practical efforts 
as a grower, is a sixty-four acre farm at Little Mountain between 
San Bernardino and Highland. The east side of the mountain is ter- 
raced and set out to Rostrata Gum trees, some of which are over 100 
feet high. On the southern side he has built a reservoir to store sev- 
eral million gallons of storm water. On this ranch is an extensive 
Valencia orange grove, also groves of apricots, peach and olives, all 
under a high state of cultivation and with a wonderful irrigating system 
of pipes and flumes so that the use of water is easily handled and con- 
trolled. In the management and direction of this farm Mr. Cooley is 
absolute manager. 

Mr. Cooley married Miss Sarah Bessant, a native of California. 
Her parents, Isaac and Mary Ann Bessant, were also California 
pioneers who crossed the plains in the same train with the Cooley 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1299 

family, arriving May 11, 1857. Mr. and Mrs. Cooley have a daughter 
and three sons. The daughter Dora is the wife of Postmaster Ernest 
Martin, of whom more is said elsewhere in this work. The oldest 
son, Allan Grover Cooley, secretary-treasurer of the George M. 
Cooley Company, married Hilda Graves, a native of San Bernardino 
and a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Harry Graves, and their two children 
are named Marian and Allan. The second son, George Damon Cooley, 
associated with his father in the store and owner of the garage at 
Big Bear Valley, married Florence Hemler of Riverside, a native of 
Canada. The youngest son, Marshall Brookes Cooley, manager of the 
Sheet Metal department, married Alice Rucker, a native of Missouri, 
and their two children are Virginia and Marshall, Jr. 

A. K. Smiley Public Library — Probably no one institution ex- 
presses more thoroughly the spirit of intellectual culture that has 
always prevailed in Redlands than the A. K. Smiley Public Library. 
Even under pioneer conditions the best of American communities 
have established schools and churches almost as soon as the first 
homes were built and roads opened, and as a pioneer community of 
a modern age Redlands early turned its thought to that broader source 
of intellectual inspiration found in a free public library. The follow- 
ing sketch is valuable not only as a history of the library itself, but 
as a means of preserving the names of some of the generous and 
public spirited men and women whose connection with the library is 
only the keynote of their effective citizenship in every department 
of the community's welfare. 

Beginning in October, 1889, the women of the Chicago Colony or- 
ganized and conducted a Woman's Exchange in the Book and Art 
Store of Mrs. J. L. Jones for two years, and a small net profit remain- 
ing was placed in the Union Bank dedicated to a public library when- 
ever one should be established. The proposition of establishing a 
reading room and public library was brought to general attention by 
a meeting called December 5, 1891; by Alfred H. Smiley, J. B. Breed, 
Albert K. Smiley and others. As a result, in March, 1892, a coffee 
parlor and reading room was opened in the old Y. M. C. A. Building 
on East State Street. November 1, 1893, Alfred H. Smiley, real- 
izing the need of a public collection of books to supplement the other 
educational activities of the City of Redlands, then less than six 
years old, brought the matter of a public library before the city 
trustees and asked their assistance. Later, on November 23, 1893, a 
general mass meeting at the City Hall was held, at which A. H. 
Smiley was elected chairman and Prof. C. N. Andrews', secretary. 
Mr. Smiley reported he had received subscriptions amounting to four- 
teen hundred dollars and presented a plan of temporary organization 
until the next city election. 

On motion the meeting resolved itself into an association, the Red- 
lands Public Library Association, and the trustees elected were A. H. 
Smiley, T. E. N. Eaton, F. P. Meserve, J. B. Breed, A. B. Ruggles, Mrs. 
W. Howard White, Mrs. N. S. McAbee and Miss L. E. Foote. When 
Dr. Eaton resigned Rev. A. L. Park was chosen his successor. 

These trustees immediately asked gifts of books, and in all about two 
thousand dollars was raised by voluntary contributions. January 1, 1894, 
the board purchased books to the value of a thousand dollars. The trus- 
tees on February 7, 1894, donated the library to the city, and the city 
trustees on the following day accepted the gift, which, however, was 



1300 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 



allowed to remain in the keeping of the Library Association until trustees 
could be chosen at the next regular city election. 

The new library, consisting of about two thousand volumes, was in- 
spected at a general public reception held in the Y. M. C. A. Building on 
Cajon Street on Washington's birthday. At a formal meeting in the city 
trustees' room Alfred H. Smiley on behalf of the trustees dedicated 
the library to the people and it was accepted on their behalf by Mayor 
Edward G. Judson, who appropriately referred to the energy and per- 
sistence of Alfred H. Smiley as primarily responsible for the splen- 
did success thus far attained by the library project. The city ordinance 
establishing the Redlands Public Library was passed February 23rd, and 
on March 2, 1894, the Public Library began issuing books. At a city 
election held April 9th the first Board of Trustees was chosen, consisting 
of A. H. Smiley, F. P. Meserve, A. B. Ruggles, E. G. Judson and J. B. 
Breed. In all the years since then the Library has had the benefit not 
only of strong public support but of the unpaid disinterested service of 
the trustees. Alfred H. Smiley was elected president of the Board 
of Trustees April 26, 1894. He devoted time without stint to the up- 
building of the library, gave liberal financial help, especially for the pur- 




A. K. Smiley Public Library 

chase of books, and in this as in other ways carried a keen sense of 
stewardship to the tax payers and established an exacting standard in 
the selection of books. His death on January 25, 1903, was a loss keenly 
felt by every citizen. He was succeeded on March 5, 1903, by Charles 
L. Putnam, who followed the example of his predecessor in visiting the 
library almost every day, usually taking flowers from his garden to dec- 
orate the rooms. He was exceedingly liberal in his support of the library, 
providing funds for changing sixty feet of the east basement into a chil- 
dren's room, presented a very rare and valuable collection of Egyptian 
Antiquities excavated by the Egypt Exploration Fund, to which he was 
a generous donor, also provided the extensive Lucy Abbot Putnam col- 
lection of photographs, and often provided funds for emergencies. Mr. 
Putnam died October 1, 1918, and his successor is the present incumbent, 
Kirke H. Field, who has now served twenty-four years as trustee, 
and has given freely of time and energy to his duties. 

The office of secretary of the board has been filled by Mrs. Margaret 
H. White, appointed May 1. 1894; Mrs. Annie F. Williams, appointed 
November f>. 1897; Charles L. Partridge, appointed Tanuarv 5, 1904; 
Willard A. Nichols. December 4. 1906; and Major E. H. Cooke, Sep- 
tember 24, 1921. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1301 

In the twenty-seven years of its existence the Library has had eighteen 
trustees. The original board has been succeeded in chronological order 
of their service by the following members: Charles Putnam (1895-97, 
1899-1918), Kirke H. Field (1897 to date), B. H. Jacobs (1898-1905), 
J. W. England (1898-99), Charles L. Partridge (1903-08), Dr. Elverton 
E. Major (1903-1910), Willard A. Nichols (1905-21). L. Worthington 
Green (1908-19), Edgar Williams (1910-15), Stewart R. Hotchkiss 
(1915 to date), Hon. Jeffrey J. Prendergast (1918 to date), Senator 
Lyman M. King (1919 to date) and Major E. H. Cooke (1921 to date). 

The Library has had four librarians. Miss Helen A. Nevius was 
chosen May 1, 1894, and resigned May 8, 1895. Though her service was 
brief her previous work and training made her work invaluable in classi- 
fying and arranging the original library. She was succeeded May 18, 
1895, by Miss Antoinette M. Humphreys, who resigned in June, 1910, to 
become county librarian of Merced County. Under her skillful guidance 
for fifteen years the library made a rapid and strong growth. Her genial 
nature, rare tact and ceaseless devotion to her official duties made a 
lasting impression on the community and did much to promote the popu- 
larity of the library. August 10, 1910, Miss Artena M. Chapin was 
elected librarian, beginning her duties November 1st. She was granted 
a leave of absence from May 10 to September 1, 1919, on account of 
ill health, and on October 4, 1919, resigned to the great regret of the 
board. Miss Chapin, who represented a beautiful character of woman- 
hood as well as technical and professional abilitv. is a graduate of the 
University of Michigan, the Armour Institute Library School of Chi- 
cago, and had been an assistant in the Indiana State Library and was 
librarian of the Public Library of Muncie, Indiana. Under her the 
Smiley Library continued to make marked progress in size and useful- 
ness. May 10, 1919, Miss Elizabeth Lowry was appointed acting librarian 
and was chosen librarian October 6, 1919. She is a graduate of the Uni- 
versity of California, received her library training at the New York 
State Library School at Albany, and her professional experience was 
gained as an assistant in the library of the University of California, in 
the California State Library, as librarian of the Public Libraries of Poca- 
tello and Idaho Falls, Idaho, and the California State Normal School at 
Chico. With marked executive ability she has organized a staff to render 
the most complete service to the patrons, has also arranged the many 
collections, memorial gifts and books so as to be available for instant 
use, and the book circulation has steadily increased and the facilities of 
the reference and other departments have had a steadily increasing use. 

The original library was housed in rooms on the first floor of the 
new Y. M. C. A. Building on Cajon Street at the left of the entrance. 
This building is now City Hall and the two old library rooms are occu- 
pied by the city clerk and city treasurer. The equipment consisted of 
two long tables, chairs, librarian's desk and two book stacks, to which 
later was added a third stack. These quarters soon became crowdedt 
and in the spring of 1897 the president of the board announced that his 
brother, Hon. Albert K. Smiley, had decided to build a library building 
and present it to the city. In carrying out his plan Mr. Smiley had 
bought sixteen acres of ground to provide not only a site for the proposed 
building but also to open a parkway from West Olive Avenue to Grant 
Street, then on to Eureka Street and from that point to Fourth Street. 
The purchase of this property involved difficulty as well as great ex- 
pense, since it was in the hands of money owners, and to some extent 
was already occupied by private residences. A residence stood on the 



1302 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

land selected for the building and the park immediately adjoining it, 
consisting of 1.24 acres at the corner of fourth and Vine streets. 

The plans for the library building were prepared by T. R. Grif- 
fith, a Redlands architect, and the builder was D. M. Donald, a local 
contractor. At the time it was erected it was one of the most beautiful 
library buildings in Southern California, and it still retains that distinc- 
tion. It is of the Moorish style of architecture, commonly called Mission, 
with brick walls and stone trimming. Among decorative features the 
carving on the frieze over the main entrance has been especially praised. 
The roof is of red tile. There is a stone basement under the whole build- 
ing, and seven fireplaces and three furnaces are provided. The original 
building was in the shape of a cross, about one hundred feet each way. 
The central portion constituted the general library room ; the northeast cor- 
ner arose the tower, 14x14 feet and 50 feet high, contained the directors' 
room. From the general library room was a stock room, on the west 
a reference room, and south was the wing containing the librarian's room 
and repair room. The interior walls were plastered on steel lath, all 
floors were double, the upper floor being of solid oak, and the building 
perfectly lighted and ventilated. The rose windows at the ends of the 
building were especially attractive. 

This building was furnished, completely equipped and ready for occu- 
pancy by Mr. Smiley. All the mural decorations were selected by the 
curator of the Metropolitan Museum in New York. April 28, 1898, the 
building was presented to the city, Alfred K. Smiley delivering to 
William Fowler, the mayor, a deed to the building and sixteen acres, 
dedicated to the use and enjoyment of the people of Redlands. It was 
a magnificent and costly gift to the young city, and a splendid object 
lesson in generosity and public spirit. The city trustees, following the 
dedication, changed the name of the Redlands Public Library to the 
A. K. Smiley Public Library, and on April 29th the building was opened 
to the public. 

In its construction the architect planned for twenty-five years in the 
future, but within eight years more room was needed. With the same 
philanthropy and that generosity which always characterized his attitude 
toward Redlands, Mr. Smilev offered to add to the Library Building an 
east wing 100 feet long by 24 feet wide, with an arcade along the north 
side and a basement under the entire length. Work was begun on the 
extension March 29. 1906. and it was completed January 1. 1907. During 
the next few years the Library continued to have a rapid growth in the 
number of volumes on its shelves, circulation and general usefulness, so 
as to tax all the generous facilities so far provided. The Hon. Albert K. 
Smilev was drawing toward the close of a long and honored life, dis- 
tinguished bv this and manv other signal acts of public and private serv- 
ice. The Library was the obiect of his bountv to the end. He died De- 
cember 2. 1912. In his last days he suggested to his brother. Hon. Daniel 
Smilev. the need of a further addition to the building and that ten thou- 
sand dollars be furnished for that purpose when his estate was in con- 
dition to provide it. After a necessary delay through the generosity of 
Hon. Daniel Smiley in carrying out the suggestion of his brother the ten 
thousand dollars was placed at the disposal of the city, together with 
interest on that sum during the administration of the estate. As building 
costs had increased materially on account of the war, this amount was 
supplemented somewhat by an appropriation by the city. November 25. 
1919, ground was broken for the south addition. 100 feet bv 24 feet and 
basement. A. E. Taylor was the contractor and the work was super- 
vised by George S. Hinckley, city engineer. This wing was completed 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1303 

in October, 1920, and immediately occupied as a children's room and 
reference room. It is felt that this large addition was largely the result 
of the deep and abiding interest in the library which Mr. and Mrs. 
Daniel Smiley have always manifested. 

The A. K. Smiley Public Library probably now has the best small 
city building in California, and its architectural beauty is remarked by 
all visitors. On February 18, 1900, the Library was first opened for 
Sundays and holidays, the extra expense involved being defrayed by a 
fund raised by the Redlands Daily Facts, which has always been ex- 
tremely generous in publishing library lists and news. 

In 1903 the children first had special provision made for them by 
the reserving of one corner of the book room and the placing of a 
large round table for their use. In January, 1907, the annual meeting 
of the California Library Association was held in Redlands. The fumi- 
gation of books drawn out for public use has been practiced since 1910. 
The pay collection was instituted in January, 1912, and in 1914 the 
children's room in the basement, fitted up by Mr. Putnam, was opened. 
Through the Library co-operating with other organizations many books 
were collected and forwarded to Government camps during the World 
war. The administrative personnel of the library loaned several of its 
members to the Government. Miss Chapin, the librarian, was granted 
seven weeks' leave, beginning April 1, 1918, to classify the Library for 
the United States Naval Training Station at San Diego. July 1, 1918. 
Miss Janette Lever, reference librarian, was given leave of absence at 
the request of the Ordnance Department for work in Washington. Sep- 
tember 9, 1918, Miss Mildred Parsons, cataloguer, was granted leave 
of absence for work with the War Department in France. 

The Library today consists of thirty-eight thousand volumes and 
twenty thousand pamphlets; including gifts, 192 magazines are received, 
and 22 newspapers are on file. There are 5,792 card holders and the 
new registration is not completed. To a very considerable extent the 
value of the library to the community is measured bv the number of 
books which it circulates. Based on the census of 1920 the circulation 
for the year ending June 30, 1921, was 12.69 books per person per year. 
Five books per person is regarded as verv satisfactory, and an effort 
to find a library making a better showing than the A. K. Smiley Public 
Library has not been successful. 

There are many valuable collections : The Charles Putnam Collection 
of Egyptian Antiquities ; Lucv Abbot Putnam Collection of Photographs ; 
Junius W. Hill Collection of Music and Works on Music ; Andrew Car- 
neeie Collection of Works on the Indians of the Southwest ; Scipio Craig 
Collection of local historical matter : W. H. White and F. F. Prender- 
gast Collection of Fneineering Works, Autographed Collection of local 
authors; Collection of Californians. containine many rare volumes; 
T. M. R. Eaton Memorial ; Charles L. Partridee Memorial ; Julia P. Miller 
Memorial and many exceedingly valuable pictures and books given by 
friends. 

From the founding of the Library the public has had free access to 
its shelves and a liberal policy for the issue of books has been main- 
tained. Every effort has been made to co-operate with the schools and 
the University of Redlands and to meet the needs of the teachers and 
the students. Deposit stations have been installed in the high school. 
Lugonia, Crafton and Franklin schools, the University of Redlands and 
the House of Neighborly Service. The trustees have regarded the 
Library as in reality a part of the educational system — the university of 
all residents. And it has been their aim to continue the furniture. 



1304 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

pictures and general maintenance along the artistic lines followed by 
Mr. Smiley in his original gift. The funds for conducting the library 
have been provided by an annual tax levy by the city trustees, augmented 
somewhat by book fines. It is a difficult problem to provide financial 
support, since the use of the library grows much more rapidly than 
population, due to an increased appreciation of the value of the Library 
facilities, and because the children's room is constantly graduating boys 
and girls who have for years been friends and constant patrons. 

The Board of Library Trustees at present consists of Kirke H. Field, 
Esq., president ; Stewart R. Hotchkiss, auditing officer ; Hon. Jeffrey J. 
Prendergast, Hon. Lyman M. King and Major E. H. Cooke. Elizabeth 
Lowry Sanborn is librarian and her assistants are: Miss Gwendolyn 
Tinker, first asistant librarian and cataloguer; Miss Bessie C. Degen- 
hart, children's librarian ; Miss Ruth Bullock, reference librarian ; Miss 
Myrtle Danielson, director of Loan Department ; Mrs. Glen J. Milligan, 
director of repair department ; Miss Helen Jennings, Miss Alice Mead, 
Leonard Stokely, Catherine E. Hockridge and Miss Sarah Williamson, 
substitutes. 

John H. Patton — A prosperous business man of San Bernardino, 
Tohn Patton is noted for his trustworthiness and integrity and also for 
his lovalty, for he is a true representative of the highest ideal of Amer- 
ican citizenship and, with his familv, is a strong unit in the bulwark of 
patriotism which has made the United States what it is todav. It re- 
quires a World war to bring; out the silent, retiring forces of the nation, 
yet they are the forces which won the war. The ones who grave not only 
mere monev until it "hurt," as urged to do. needing; no urp-ing either, but 
also gave the dearest thing; to them on earth, their own flesh and blood 
in a spirit of self abnegation that would not stop to count the cost. 

Tohn H. Patton was born in Carroll County, Tennessee, August 6, 
1862. the son of Tames H.. a native of Tennessee, who was a planter bv 
occupation all his life, and who died in his native state in 1882. His 
wife was Nancv Hart, a native of North Carolina, who died in 1867. 
Thev'had twelve children, ten of whom lived to maturity but have passed 
on since leaving onlv three livingr now. 

Mr. Patton was educated in the countv schools of Carroll Countv 
during the terrible reconstruction period, and he recalls the fact that the 
school house had neither doors nor windows, and everything was of the 
most primitive order. After leaving school he went to Memphis and 
worked in the transfer business until 1887, when he went to Alamo, 
Crockett County, Tennessee, and opened a general merchandise store. 
This he conducted one year and then sold out. and in January. 1888, came 
to California and located in Menefee. San Diego County. Here he took 
uo a homestead claim, but remained on it less than a year, returning 
to his home state and locating at Trezevant. where he again entered the 
mercantile field. He lived there until 1895. when he decided to return 
to California, and sold out, returning to the state but locating in San 
Bernardino. 

He started a grocerv business in March. 1895. and built up a fine 
trade, conductine it until 1904. when he once more sold out and went 
to his native state. There h<* was enea?ed in farmme until 1911. when 
he decided California was the ri<Tht state after all. and he came back- 
to San Bernardino, where he has since made his home, conducting a suc- 
cessful grocery store. 

Mr. Patton married, in October, 1888. in San Dieeo Countv. Lulu 
Kirkpatrick, a daughter of W. J. Kirkpatrick, of Riverside County. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1305 

They have had four children: Amos H., born in Tennessee; William J., 
born in San Bernardino; Pauline, born in San Bernardino, and Gilbert, 
born in Tennessee. The two older boys are with their father in the 
store, and the two younger children are at home also. Mr. Patton is a 
democrat in politics and in religious faith he is affiliated with the Presby- 
terian Church. 

The Patton family has a war record of which any true American 
could well be proud. During the war Mr. Patton was always to the 
front in all activities which tended toward the good of the country, helping 
in any and all ways. He gave liberally to the Red Cross and all charitable 
organizations, both money and time. He was a consistent and constant 
investor in Liberty Bonds. He always lived up to all the regulations, 
believing that all good citizens should be willing to undergo any trials 
or hardships necessary to make our proper record in the great conflict. 
His two older sons were among the first to enlist at the call to arms. 

William Patton enlisted in the Marine Corps and belonged to the 
famous Fifth Regiment. He enlisted April 17, 1917. and made nine trips 
across the ocean, perilous trips, fraught with agony for those left behind. 
This regiment was attached to the Second Division, which stands at the 
head of the list in the captures made and which was also the regiment 
losing more men than any other division. He made an honorable record 
and received his discharge in June. 1919. 

Amos H. Patton also volunteered at the same time as his brother, 
but was rejected by the board for overseas service. Determined to serve 
in some way and be of use somewhere, he kept on trying to do his part. 
Finally he was accepted and served in the Spruce Division and was dis- 
charged in January, 1919. 

While her two brothers were awav in the army Miss Pauline Patton 
did her bit and was right in the front ranks of the home armv. She 
was a member of the canteen unit in San Bernardino and assisted in 
everything which came up for war service. At the same time she did 
all she could to assist her father in the grocerv store, helping in the 
conduct of the business. Tt is families like this that enabled the United 
States to make its wonderful showing in the World war. 

Clarence E. Prior — One of the younger insurance men of River- 
side city and count}', Clarence E. Prior is one of the most prominent, 
having in a comparatively short space of time built up a constantly in- 
creasing clientele extending through the county. He has also become 
an active civic factor and a booster for his home city. He is a talented 
musician, possessing a fine tenor voice, and consequently is often heard 
in the various society, church and fraternal affairs. He is now singing 
in the choir of the First Methodist Church. 

Mr. Prior sang second tenor in the famous Prior Brothers Quartette 
while with his three brothers he was attending the University of Cali- 
fornia. The boys sang all over the country and were great favorites, 
always in demand. H. A. Prior, now in the insurance business in Long 
Beach, sang second bass. Guv R., a rancher in the Palo Verde Valley, 
sang first tenor, and Percy H.. also a rancher now in the Palo Verde 
Valley, sang first bass. Mr. Prior has another brother, G. W. Prior, 
who is city auditor of Riverside. 

Mr. Prior was born in Kansas. August 12, 1882. His father was 
an Englishman who came to America when a young- man, and was a 
farmer and merchant. He is now living in Riverside, retired. Mr. 
Prior was educated in the public and high schools, in the University 
of Southern California and in a business college at Riverside. He was 



1306 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

in the grocery business in Hemet for a while, in 1903-4, and then went 
to the University. His next move was to go into the insurance business, 
in which he has made such a notable success, preparing for this step by 
doing office work and accounting hrst. He is district agent of the Trav- 
ellers Insurance Company, and also does a general fire and all lines of 
hrst class insurance. 

Mr. Prior is an active member of the Chamber of Commerce, of 
the Rotary Club, is president of the Riverside Insurance Association, the 
Present Day Club and is a member of the Knights of Pythias. He is 
a member of the First Methodist Church and one of its Official Board. 

He married on November 8, 1907, Ethel G. Woodman, a native of 
Ohio and a daughter of W. H. Woodman, who is in the sheet metal 
business in Riverside. Mr. and Mrs. Prior are the parents of five chil- 
dren : Hubert Meredith and Herbert La Verne, twins, Gertrude Louise 
and Royce Woodman, all students, and Thelma Joyce. 

D. A. Crawford — The rewards of toil and patience are perhaps 
nowhere better illustrated than in the case of D. A. Crawford, whose 
achievements as an orange grower are in evidence at his home two and 
a half miles north of Rialto, on North Riverside Avenue. 

Mr. Crawford never had any inheritance, and he and his wife con- 
structed their fortune entirely on the basis of thrift and labor. Mr. 
Crawford was born in Chatham, Ontario, Canada, July 26, 1865, son of 
Samuel and Mary (Howard) Crawford, his father a native of Canada, 
of Scotch ancestry, and his mother born in Dublin, Ireland. His father 
was a Canadian farmer. There were seven children in the family, and 
Mr. Crawford and his sister, Mrs. Margaret Day, of Los Angeles, are 
ihe only survivors. 

D. A. Crawford had a grammar school education in Canada. In 
1884, at the age of nineteen, he went out to Idaho, and for a number 
of years worked in the mines of that state, both in the gold and silver 
mines. Among others he was employed in the famous Anaconda Mine 
of Senator Clark. He became an expert ore sorter, culling high grade 
from ores of less value. This was a skilled work that was paid high 
wages. He continued in the mines of Idaho until the bottom fell out of 
the silver market. Then, in 1893, he came to Covina, California, where 
for eight years he tried orange growing. In 1900 he moved to Rialto 
and was employed by the German American Bank of Los Angeles in 
looking after some groves owned by that institution. At the time of his 
marriage Mr. Crawford possessed only one horse and buggy. He had 
the tremendously responsible and arduous task of caring for from 100 
to 200 acres of young groves, and he set out many new orchards in that 
vicinity. After saving his first hundred dollars he made an initial pay- 
ment of this sum in 1910 on twenty acres of wild land, agreeing to pav 
the balance of $1,700.00 for land and water rights. This is his home 
grove, and he has developed it to a high degree of profitable cultiva- 
tion in citrus fruits. Later he purchased what is known as the Flint 
grove fronvC. M. Flint, one of the best orchards in North Rialto. This 
orchard is twentv-eisrht vears old. and has Ion? been a show place in 
attractiveness and in productivity. Thus Mr. Crawford now has fortv 
acres in fruit. Some nine years ago, for the Riverside Company, he set 
out forty acres of oranges, and has had the exclusive management of 
this property ever since. 

On January 3, 1903. in Pocatello, Idaho, Mr. Crawford married Mary 
Bolton, a native of England, who came to the United States in 1886. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Crawford are people of such energy and judgment 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1307 

as are needed to subdue the wilderness of Southern California. Mrs. 
Crawford for an entire summer carried water across a ten-acre lot so 
as to afford the necessary moisture in starting a young Eucalyptus wind- 
break to their grove. Half of Mr. Crawford's groves are set to Valencia 
and half to Navel oranges. The water supply is obtained from Lytle 
Creek. Mr. Crawford built with his own hands a most artistic bunga- 
low, and he has other substantial ranch buildings. He is a democrat in 
politics, and for years has been a cooperating worker and adviser with 
his fellow fruit growers for the common welfare. 

Harry W. Brimmer is one of the most widely known business men 
in the Rialto District, is the oldest real estate man there in point of con- 
tinuous service, and is an acknowledged authority on land, agriculture 
and horticulture, particularly citrus culture. 

Mr. Brimmer was born at Saukville, Ozaukee County, Wisconsin, 
June 2, 1875, son of Porter and Elizabeth Ann (Wadsworth) Brimmer. 
On both sides he represents New England ancestry, the Wadsworth 
family having come to America in the early years of the seventeenth 
century. Porter Brimmer was a Wisconsin pioneer, was born in Jef- 
ferson County, New York, March 4, 1830, spent his boyhood there, and 
as a young man removed to Northern Wisconsin, where he homesteaded 
and cleared up some of the heavy timber to make room for his crops. 
Out of the virgin forest he created a good farm and home. Two years 
after locating there he married Elizabeth Ann Wadsworth, on January 
13, 1853. She was a native of Wayne County, New York. They re- 
mained on their farm in Ozaukee County for thirty years, and in 1884 
moved to Humeston, Iowa, and ten years later, in 1894, started for Cali- 
fornia, which for many years had been the goal of Porter Brimmer's 
ambition. He settled at Rialto, and before his death had achieved a 
reputation as a successful fruit grower. He was in every way a sub- 
stantial citizen, public spirited, thoroughly honest and a strict prohibition- 
ist. He purchased a young orange grove on coming to Rialto, and before 
his death had it in a profitable condition. His widow is now living at 
Long Beach, at the age of eighty-nine. The only daughter is Mrs. 
Amelia B. Kendall, and the three sons are Merton E., Harry W. and 
Arthur H., all of Rialto. 

Harry W. Brimmer acquired his early education in a log schoolhouse 
in Wisconsin. He was about eight years old when his parents moved 
to Lucas County, Iowa, where he remained on the farm and also attended 
school, graduating from high school and from the Humeston Normal 
University. He was about nineteen when the family came to California, 
and his father gave him a ten acre orange grove, part of the Jordan 
place. He bestowed a great deal of study and hard work on this prop- 
erty, and became a practical and thoroughly successful citrus grower 
before he began handling lands as a dealer. He has been an active 
real estate man of Rialto for fifteen years. He has handled many large 
transactions, and is thoroughly conversant with conditions all the way 
from Fresno to the Mexican border. He has owned a number of orange 
groves at different times, buying and building up these pronerties and 
then selling- them. He is a leader in both horticultural and civic affairs. 

June 26, 1900, Mr. Brimmer married Miss Beatrice Dunn, who was 
born in Atwood. Ontario, Canada, and graduated from the high school 
of that city. Her parents were of Scotch and English ancestry. Her 
father was born at Stratford. Canada, in 1838. and died at Rialto in 
1921. Her mother was born at Peebles. Scotland. Tanuarv 24. 1841, and 
is still living at Rialto. The parents came to this section of California 



1308 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

in 1895, and became orange growers here. Mr. and Mrs. Brimmer 
find a great deal of satisfaction and honest pride in their two sturdy 
sons, both of whom are splendid young specimens of physical manhood 
and possessed of the best traits of their Scotch ancestry. The older 
son, Lome Wadsworth Brimmer, was born at Rialto June 23, 1901, is 
a graduate of the San Bernardino High School and is now in his second 
year at Pomona College. He has been a good student and also excelled 
in athletics, having been a member of the baseball, football and track 
teams in college. The younger son, Burleigh Hamilton, was born at 
Rialto December 4, 1906, and is emulating his brother both in his studies 
and in athletics. He is now a student in the San Bernardino High School. 

Peter E. Walline — In the recent death of Peter E. Walline San 
Bernardino County lost a citizen of distinctive power and influence in 
the affairs of this section. He came here many years ago with the 
capital he had acquired as a merchant in Illinois, but greatly extended 
and amplified his business interests in California. The use he made 
of his capital and energy was in every way constructive. It is repre- 
sented today in the development of ranches and fruit farms and financial 
organizations. 

His early life was one of comparative poverty in financial resources, 
though in point of industry and good character he was possessed of a 
fortune even then. He was born in Sweden, January 6, 1850. At the 
age of seventeen he came to America, reaching Halifax, Nova Scotia, 
with only two dollars and fifty cents. A few months later he was 
working in Illinois as a railroad section hand at seventy-five cents a 
day. Thrift was imposed upon him by necessity, and also by the strong 
urgings of his ambition to perfect his knowledge of American ways 
and make his Americanism an honor to himself and to his adopted 
country. He put aside some of his modest earnings as capital for the 
future, and at the same time was associating with men of better edu- 
cation and was a constant student of the American language and the 
American institutions. In those early years of struggle he laid the sound 
foundation of his later prosperity. After leaving railroad work he 
entered a mercantile house, learned the business from the ground up, 
and for a number of years conducted a prosperous business of his own 
at Cambridge, Illinois. 

This business he sold, and on account of his wife's ill health moved 
to California in 1894. Mr. Walline at once located at Upland, where 
he employed his capital in the orange and deciduous fruit business, and 
bought and speculated in lands elsewhere. He was president of the 
Upland Feed & Fuel Company and the Chino Feed & Fuel Company, 
was the first president of the Magnolia Building & Loan Association 
at Upland, and was instrumental in the organization of the Commercial 
National Bank of Upland, being on its first board of directors. He 
and Mr. Morris organized the San Bernardino Mutual Fire Insurance 
Company, , and he labored hard and earnestly to put this organization 
on its feet financially, and the first seven years his annual salary as 
president was only a hundred dollars. The solid prosperity of this com- 
pany is in no small degree due to the financial ability of the late Mr. 
Walline. All of these interests represent great financial importance, and 
they grew from his modest start as a railroad laborer in Illinois. Anion? 
other holdings he had an eig;ht hundred and eighty acre stock ranch at 
Bishop in Inyo County, and during; his later years his time was divided 
between this stock ranch and his home at Upland. 

Mr. Walline died February 6, 1921. and is survived by a widow 
and five children. In November, 1873, he married Miss Jennie S. 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1 iW 

Mascall, a native of Illinois. The oldest of their children is Emily, 
wife of T. C. Knoles, of San Jose. The second is Austin Walline, the 
third is Eannie, widow of Leslie Gay. The two youngest children are 
Harold and Rolland, who are prosperous farmers and stockmen, all 
living at Bishop, California, and engaged in the livestock business in 
Inyo County. 

Austin Walline was born October 31, 1884, and was ten years of 
age when he came to California. He acquired a high school educa- 
tion, and in 1907 graduated Bachelor of Science in Agriculture from the 
University of Wisconsin, where he also specialized in chemistry. He 
became closely associated with his father's broad business interests, par- 
ticularly fruit growing. From 1909 to 1913 he was on the stock ranch 
at Bishop. His chief success, however, has been gained in horticulture. 
He owns 310 acres on Archibald Avenue and Riverside Boulevard, which 
he developed from wild land into fruit bearing. Austin Walline offered 
his services as a chemist to the Government at the time of the World 
war, passed his examination on the first of November, but the armistice 
was signed on the 11th of the same month and he was dismissed. He 
is one of the very patriotic citizens in his home community, is clerk 
of the School Board of Ontario, and is a director of the California 
Fruit Growers' Association, comprising about six hundred ranch owners, 
of which Benton Ballou is president and Mr. Anderson vice presi- 
dent. This company owns and operates canneries at Riverside, Hemet, 
Elsinore, Fallbrook and Ontario, and does an annual business of about 
two million dollars. 

On November 29, 1908, Austin Walline married Miss Bertha I. 
Stevens, of Upland, California. They have two children, Millard, born 
May 22, 1912, and Robert Stevens, born May 30, 1921. 

The late Peter E. Walline was not only a successful business man 
but a citizen of sturdy moral fiber, an ardent prohibitionist, a friend of 
education, and did much to strengthen the moral and religious institu- 
tions of his community. 

George B. Rowell, M. D., was one of the oldest practicing physicians 
and surgeons at San Bernardino. That community for thirty-four 
years appreciated his great professional ability and service, while a 
great following of devoted friends acknowledged him as one of the 
most generous and kindly of men. His death in Januarv, 1922. marked 
the passing of one of the best loved and most popular physicians San 
Bernardino has ever known. 

Doctor Rowell was known as a brilliant student and investigator 
in the field of medicine and surgery even while in college. He was a 
native of Canada, born July 19, 1859. His parents, Spaulding and 
Martha (Ball) Rowell, were both born in Vermont and of old Amer- 
ican families. The ancestors of Spaulding Rowell came from England 
to America in the early sixteen hundreds. His grandfather was an 
officer in the Colonial army in the Revolution. Spaulding Rowell 
was a farmer and moved to Canada to operate a lumber mill in the 
province of Quebec, this mill being owned by himself and father in 
partnership. Martha Ball's father had two uncles who made names 
for themselves in Vermont. One of them came to California across 
the Isthmus in 1849, became wealthy in the mines and returned to 
Vermont and rose to be a financial power and extensive land holder. 

Dr. Rowell was educated in the public schools of Canada and in 
1884 graduated from McGill University at Montreal with the degrees 
A. B., M. D. and C. M. Then followed a year of post graduate 



1310 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

study in London, where the degree M. R. C. S. was conferred 
upon him. On returning to Montreal he practiced for two years 
and at the age of twenty-six was appointed professor of anatomy 
in the Bishops College of Montreal, holding that chair two years. 

Dr. Rowell came to California in 1887, joining friends at River- 
side where he practiced a few months, and then located permanently 
in San Bernardino. He was one of the organizers in 1904 of the 
present College of Physicians and Surgeons at Los Angeles, was 
one of the original trustees of the school, and for four years held 
the chair of medicine in the faculty. From 1888 to 1894 he was 
surgeon at San Bernardino for the Santa Fe Railroad. 

Amid the busy duties of a general practitioner he for several 
years, was best known as a specialist in gynecology and surgery. 
He devoted years of research to the subject of cancer, and has 
done something to advance the knowledge of that malignant disease 
and make some progress toward the problem of its cure. Dr. 
Rowell owned the Sugar Pine Sanitarium, located at Sugar Pine 
Springs amid the huge pines and giant oaks on the north slope 
of the San Bernardino mountains. This is an ideal location for 
a sanitarium, the air being bracing and balsamic, and has an even 
temperature night and day, while the nearby springs furnish water 
of healing power. At present the sanitarium has an equipment of 
between twelve and fifteen buildings, with accommodations for fifty 
people, but the facilities are greatly overtaxed and plans had been 
made for enlarged accommodations. 

Dr. Rowell was for two years health officer of San Bernardino. 
He was a republican, a member of the American Medical Associa- 
tion and the Brittish Medical Association, and in 1883 was made 
a Mason, being a member of St. George Lodge No. 11 Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons. He was a member of the Zeta Psi college 
fraternity and for three years, 1881-84, was a member of the Prince 
of Wales Rifles. His religious affiliation was with the Episcopal 
Church. 

At Riverside, June 14, 1888, Dr. Rowell married Miss Florence 
Wood, a native of Canada. At Los Angeles, September 11, 1913, 
he married Miss Louise Winkler, who was born in Vienna, Austria. 
One son, George B., Jr., born in 1917, was the issue of the second 
marriage. 

W. H. Jameson. — It is difficult for a traveler through the wonderful 
citrus-bearing territory of the San Bernardino region to realize the heart- 
breaking problems which confronted the pioneers into this part of 
California. To those who appreciate the extent of the work accom- 
plished, and its value to the country, some idea comes of the broad 
vision, the optimism, the willingness to work unceasingly and the kindly, 
neighborly interest for all, which almost immediately created community 
action, possessed by those who had the courage to go into the dry mesa 
and through individual and concerted action bring about a change which 
is nothing short of miraculous. Throughout the two counties of River- 
side and San Bernardino there are to be found many instances of what 
has been accomplished through the efforts of these workers in the front 
ranks of those engaged in blazing the way in agricultural development, 
but nowhere are they more apparent than at Corona, early known as 
the South Riverside Colony. Here much of the credit for the remarkable 
and gratifying progress is given to George L. Joy and his son-in-law, 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1311 

W. H. Jameson, and their early endeavors are being ably continued by 
Joy G. Jameson and W. H. Jameson of the third generation. 

George L. Joy was born at Townsend, Vermont, in 1832, and died 
at Corona, California, in 1896. He was one of the originators of the 
South Riverside Colony, now Corona, and from 1888 until 1896 served 
as president of the South Riverside Land & Water Company. Before 
coming to Corona he had been a successful business man of Saint Louis, 
Missouri, and Sioux City, Iowa. His characteristics were optimism, 
foresight and enterprise. He did much to change the dry and barren 
mesa into a well-watered and prosperous colony, which he loved as a 
community of his own planting, and never ceased to labor for its further 
development. A man of broad sympathies, he did not confine his interest 
to his own holdings, but felt the same chagrin in the failure of an in- 
vestor as he would in his own, just as he rejoiced over another's success. 

W. H. Jameson, son-in-law of George L. Joy, was born at Boston, 
Massachusetts, in 1846, and died at Corona, California, in 1912. In 1880 
Mr. Jameson left San Francisco, California, where he had begun his 
business career, and went to Saint Louis, Missouri, which continued the 
scene of his labors until 1887, when he came to Corona, during that 
period conducting a successful wholesale lumber business. On his arrival 
at Corona he began planting citrus groves, and demonstrated his belief 
in the future of the colony by making practically all of his investments 
in this locality. He was interested in the greater part of the public 
utilities of Corona, with which he was associated almost from its be- 
ginning, having come to the colony soon after its establishment as super- 
intendent of the Temescal Water Company. For many years there- 
after he battled with the numerous problems common to pioneers in 
a new enterprise of this nature, and took pride in being able to solve the 
majority of them. 

The W. H. Jameson interests at Corona are looked after by the two 
sons of the family, Joy G. Jameson and W. H. Jameson, both of whom 
are in all projects for securing the welfare of the community. Joy G. 
Jameson is giving largely of his time and efforts to the different co- 
operative enterprises of Southern California and Corona, including the 
Temescal Water Company, the Queen Colony Fruit Exchange and the 
Exchange By-Products Company, and is president of all three concerns. 
His brother, W. H. Jameson, is a graduate of the College of Agricul- 
ture, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, and has been largely influ- 
ential in building up the dairy interests around Corona, as well as being 
associated in the management of the citrus orchards and packing house 
connected with his father's estate, which are among the largest in the 
community. During the World war he held the rank of captain of the 
Twenty-third Machine Gun Battalion. Both young men are recognized 
as worthy successors to their grandfather and father, and enterprising 
and capable young business men of this region. 

Raymond E. Hodge. — One of the younger generation of attorneys 
in San Bernardino. Raymond E. Hodge has already established himself 
as second to none in legal acquirements and as a master of the law. He 
has created confidence in himself by his handling of cases given to him. 
and his increasing patronage shows that the public recognizes his skill. 
His recreation seems to be hard work and research and, blessed with 
fine intellect, educational advantages and a determination to succeed, he 
is well known as a worth-while man. His friends predict many honors 
in store for him in the not distant future. 

Mr. Hodge was born in Denver, Colorado, Mav 18. 1884, a son of 
Morgan C. and Emma J. (Wood) Hodge, the father a native of Ohio 



1312 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

and his mother of New York. Morgan C. Hodge was a traveling sales- 
man until he came out to California and located in Rialto. Here he 
entered the scholastic field, becoming a teacher in the public schools 
of that city. He taught for ten years, and now has retired and is living 
in Rialto. His wife died in ly08. They were the parents of three 
children. Of whom the subject of this sketch was the oldest, Harry 
is assistant manager of the Colton Globe Mill at Colton, and Victor is 
athletic instructor in Santa Rosa, California. 

Raymond E. Hodge was educated in the grammar and high schools 
of San Bernardino, from whence he graduated, going then to the Leland 
Stanford, Jr., University. He was graduated from there with the class 
of 1908, with the degree of A. B. He took the pre-legal course and 
then entered the law offices of W. J. and J. W. Curtis and was admitted 
to the bar in July, 1908. He was with them nearly a year, when he 
was appointed deputy district attorney under Rex Goodcell. He re- 
mained in the office of the district attorney until Januray, 1915, and then 
formed a partnership with S. YV. McNabb, which has since continued 
successfully. The firm does a general practice and is all the time forging 
ahead. 

Mr. Hodge was united in marriage in June, 1910, with Bernice 
Anna Knoll, a daughter of Edward and Clara Knoll, of Riverside. Mrs. 
Hodge was born in Illinois, came to Riverside, California, as a child 
with her parents, and was educated in the public and high schools of 
Riverside. She is a member of the Women's Club of Rialto. Mr. and 
Mrs. Hodge are the parents of two children, Robert E. and Geraldine E. 
Mr. Hodge is politically a republican and in religion is a Methodist. 
Among his fraternal connections are those of San Bernardino Lodge 
No. 836, B. P. O. E., and the San Bernardino Lodge No. 348, A. F. and 
A. M. He is also a member of the San Bernardino Bar Association, the 
Delta Chi college fraternity and the Progressive Business Club, National. 

Samuel G. Mathews. — The name of Mathews is associated with 
some very successful experiments in alfalfa raising at Arlington Station, 
and these and other activities have given Samuel G. Mathews a well- 
deserved position among the prosperous farmers of Riverside County. 
He is a native of Chillicothe, Missouri, where he was born December 
27, 1854, a son of Stephen Mathews, a native of New York and a 
Union soldier during the war between the North and the South. The 
family is an old American one, his ancestors having participated in the 
Revolutionary war, but is of English descent. Stephen Mathews married 
Mary Harriet Trammell, a native of Kentucky, also of Revolutionary 
stock, but of Irish descent. 

Samuel G. Mathews attended the public schools of Missouri and the 
Macon City, Missouri, College. His business experiences were many 
and varied, including the working for a time in the lead mines at Joplin, 
Missouri, and later farming in the vicinity of Chillicothe. In 1891 he 
came to Riverside, and was first occupied with orange culture, having 
had charge for some years of the grove of J. F. Humphrey. About 
1898 Mr. Mathews bought his present tract of forty acres, and here 
he has very successfully raised alfalfa. He is also the owner of some 
very valuable property at Arlington Station, Riverside. When he began 
raising alfalfa it took considerable courage to embark in what was still 
an experimental venture. However, he is a man who likes to strike 
out for himself, and from the start he has been successful. He feels 
that the time is not far distant when Riverside will be as far-famed for 
alfalfa as it now is for oranges, roses and beautiful scenery, and when 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1313 

he makes that statement lie knows he is saying a good deal, but in it 
he is able to give expression to his faith in this crop and the suitability 
of Riverside climate for its proper cultivation. 

He is a republican, and has taken an active part in politics, repre- 
senting his party at city, county and state conventions and serving on 
the Central Committees. He has never, however, sought political prefer- 
ment. 

On August 30, 1884, Mr. Mathews married at Chillicothe Miss Mar- 
garet Watson Andrews, a native of Illinois, and a daughter of David 
Andrews, a native of New York. She, too, comes of Revolutionary 
stock, of Scotch descent. Mrs. Mathews is eligible to the Daughters 
of the American Revolution, and has several nieces who belong to that 
organization. She was a school teacher in Indiana and Missouri prior 
to her marriage, and has taught to some extent since then, having been 
connected with the schools of Riverside County for twenty years, and 
at different periods taught in the Riverside district for seven years. For 
five years she was principal of the Wineville School, and for the last 
five years has been principal of the Morena School. There are few 
educators of Southern California who are more highly esteemed, and she 
is recognized as one of the finest teachers in the state. Mrs. Mathews 
maintains membership with the Southern California Teachers' Associa- 
tion; with the Woman's Benefit Association; with the Maccabees, and 
with the Woman's Relief Corps. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mathews have two children, Grace and William Mc- 
Kinley Mathews. The daughter was also an educator prior to her mar- 
riage to N. F. Ward, of Wooster, Massachusetts, superintendent of the 
Compton & Knowles Loom Works. Mrs. Ward was educated in the 
Riverside public schools and the Normal School of Los Angeles. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ward have one daughter, Polly. 

William McKinley Mathews is shipping clerk for the Channel Com- 
mercial Company of Riverside. During the World war he enlisted in 
Company M, but was discharged on account of his heart. Registering 
in the draft, he presented himself for examination, but again failed to 
pass. He married Lola Nunns, a native of Missouri, and a daughter 
of William C. Nunns. William McKinley Mathews has a daughter, Bar- 
bara Jane. The family all attend the Arlington Methodist Episcopal 
Church. 

James Cunnison has been an active business man at San Bernardino 
for twenty vears, coming here as a young man, and has earned a 
successful place in business and an enviable reputation as a citizen. 

He was born at Ft. Wayne, Indiana, November 30, 1882, and 
represents families of old American tradition and English ancestrv. 
His father, James Cunnison, was born in Indiana, spent his life 
as a farmer in that state, and died in January. 1920. He was a 
thirty-second degree Mason. His mother, Mary (Dalman) Cunnison, 
was also born in Indiana, and died in the same month and year as 
her husband. They had a family of five children, all living; Alexander, 
an Indiana farmer: Margaret, wife of L. E. Koons. a retired farmer 
of Indiana; William, a business man at Riverside California; Frank, 
present recorder of Allen County, Indiana ; and Tames. 

James Cunnison attended the grammar and high schools of Fort 
Wavne and the International Business College of that city, and in 
1901. at the age of nineteen, he secured his first engagement at 
San Bernardino, as cashier of the Wells, Fargo & Companv Express. 
Four years later he became associated with the Ingersoll & Esler 



1314 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

Company, wholesale liquors, and was with that business for eleven 
years. Then followed a two year period during which he took a 
well earned vacation, enjoying extensive travel over the country. 

In 1919 Mr. Cunnison became secretary of the Hanford Iron 
Works, one of the prominent industries of San Bernardino, and has 
since held that position. He is also financially interested in the 
company and is a director. 

He has been a member of the Fraternal Order of Eagles since 
1910, was secretary for ten years, and was largely instrumental in 
increasing the membership from about three hundred to over six 
hundred, the membership figure at the present writing. He is a 
charter member and secretary of the Rotary Club, and has held 
that office since its inception. He is affiliated with San Bernardino 
Lodge No. 348, Free and Accepted Masons, and a life member of 
San Bernardino Lodge No. 836, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. Prominent in fraternal affairs, he was secretary during the 
World war of the Fraternal Patriotic Congress, which undertook 
and carried out an extensive program for the raising and handling 
of funds for patriotic purposes. 

Mr. Cunnison served in 1918 as auditor for the City Water 
Commission during the administration of Mayor Catick. He is a repub- 
lican in politics. 

In August, 1905, at Riverside, he married Miss Anna Shelberg, 
a native of North Dakota and daughter of Charles Shelberg. They 
have two children, Helen and Fred, both students in the public 
schools of San Bernardino. 

William B. Stewart — The labors of many men, money and time have 
been required to develop San Bernardino County as a great horticultural 
district. It is no disparagement of the usefulness and the valuable con- 
tributions made by the aggregate workers to point out an individual 
case where enterprise, capital and management have effected on a large 
scale what many small growers and home builders have done individually. 

William B. Stewart came to the Ontario and Upland district over 
thirty-four years ago. He and his two brothers have instituted and 
carried on some of the most important large scale development in this 
section of Southern California. Mr. Stewart, an honored resident of 
Upland, is vice-president of the Stewart Citrus Association, a private 
organization formed for the handling of the fruit products of the 
Stewart groves and ranches. William Boyd Stewart was born in Penn- 
sylvania, at Cherrytree, in Venango County, July 30, 1860, son of Wil- 
liam Reynolds Stewart and Jane (Irwin) Stewart, natives of the same 
state. His father was of Scotch-English and his mother of pure Scotch 
ancestry. The Stewarts were a pioneer family in Pennsylvania. Wil- 
liam R. Stewart had a farm of fortv-five acres in Venango County, and 
also operated a tannery, a vocation in which he was preceded bv his 
father. William R. Stewart was bom July 29. 1811. After the death 
of his wife he removed to Kingsville, Ashtabula County, Ohio, where 
he lived until his death at the age of sixty-seven. He married Jane M. 
Irwin, who was born at Milton, Northumberland County, Pennsylvania, 
August 3, 1819, and died April 5, 1865. Her ancestors were Scotch 
people who went to Pennsylvania in Colonial times. For many genera- 
tions the first born son in this family was given the name Richard. Her 
father, Richard Irwin, who was born at West Fallowfield, Chester 
County, Pennsylvania, October 13. 1785, was known in Venango County 
as "Richard at the Mill." As a miller he was following the ancestral 




y/MA/71/^ 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1315 

vocation. He built the first grist mill at Cherrytree, and about 1835 
erected a new and larger mill, standing on Cherrytree Run, just below 
the village. The wheels for this mill were made by his brothers, Ninian, 
William and James Irwin. Richard Irwin, who died at Cherrytree, Sep- 
tember 25, 1857, was one of the most influential men in the development 
of his community, erecting several houses on his land, and being devoted 
to the welfare of the locality. He was a whig in politics and a Pres- 
byterian. William R. and Jane M. Stewart were the parents of seven 
children, their son Elijah dying at the age of fifteen on April 17, 1863, 
while the three sons and one daughter still survive. 1. Eva. the widow 
of James A. Lawson, died January 25, 1922. 3. Lydia. who became 
the wife of James A. Lawson of Pasadena, California, died June 7, 1918. 
2. Nancy J., the widow of John Dorland MacFarland of Los Angeles, 
California, is the surviving daughter. 

The youngest of these children, William B. Stewart, was about five 
years of age when his mother died, and he thereafter spent his boyhood 
in Ashtabula County, Ohio, attending public school at Kingsville. At 
eighteen, following the death of his father, he removed to Bureau 
County, Illinois, and lived with his uncle, James B. Stewart, one and one- 
half years. He then returned to Western Pennsylvania and was iden- 
tified with oil operations and production in that state for about seven 
years. 

Mr. Stewart arrived at Ontario, California, October 15, 1887, was 
afterward in Santa Paula until June 6, 1888, when he located in 
the Ontario colony of San Bernardino County. He and his brothers 
became influential members in the corporation known as the Ontario 
Land & Improvement Company, did much to further its important 
development, and when the lands of the colony were sold acquired 
jointly about six hundred acres. This property they have extended by 
subsequent purchases, though also selling portions, and today the Stew- 
arts are in point of acreage ownership and volume of production the 
largest citrus fruit growers in the Ontario colony. The Stewart Citrus 
Association was organized in 1901 to handle exclusively the output of 
the Stewart ranches, the owners of which are Milton Stewart of Pasa- 
dena, Lyman Stewart of Los Angeles, William B. Stewart of Upland 
and the estate of their sister, Mrs. Eva S. Lawson. The association 
erected a large and modern packing house at Upland, and while allied 
with the California Fruit Growers' Association, they ship direct to 
Eastern markets. While a private corporation, the association has been 
a stimulating factor in the many sided developments of the country in 
general. 

Besides his interest in this association. W. B. Stewart owns a number 
of valuable properties of his own in the district, including a beautiful 
little homestead of ten acres in Upland, and he also manages the ten- 
acre orange orchard in Ontario owned by his wife. Mr. Stewart for 
many years has been a voter and stanch advocate of prohibition, and 
he and Mrs. Stewart are liberal members of the Presbyterian Church. 
The beautiful church edifice at Upland of that denomination is in no 
small degree a monument to the persistent labors and liberality of Mrs. 
Stewart. For thirteen years she condutced a Bible class among the 
Korean colony at Upland, and the people of that race have affec- 
tionately known her as "Mother Stewart." Mr. and Mrs. Stewart kept 
their home at their orange grove until October 4, 1911, when they moved 
into their beautiful modern home at Upland, at the southeast comer of 
First Avenue and D Street. 



1316 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

August 13, 1891, Mr. Stewart married Miss Mary E. Smith of 
Santa Paula, California, daughter of Parks B. and Mary Elizabeth 
(Garner) Smith. Mrs. Stewart was born at Mexico, Missouri, January 
13, 1872, and was educated there in the public schools. She went to 
Indian Creek, Pennsylvania, with her parents when she was fourteen 
years old and completed her education in the public schools of that 
place. She came with her parents to Santa Paula, California, when she 
was sixteen years old. Mr. and Mrs. Stewart are the parents of three 
children. The oldest, Milton Reynolds Stewart, born May 14, 1892, at 
Santa Paula, California, was educated in the Chaff ey High School at 
Ontario, joined the army, but was discharged at Camp Lewis on account 
of defective eyesight. He now lives at the old homestead ranch at West 
Sixth Street, Ontario. He married Miss Leona C. Cook, a native of 
Iowa, and they have a son, William Milton, born March 1, 1920, and a 
daughter, Mary Leona, born April 11, 1922, who was named after her 
two grandmothers. 

The second son, Harold Smith Stewart, born at Upland, August 24, 
1894, married, April 8, 1918, Miss Mabel Hardwick, a native of Indiana. 
They have one child, Walter Eugene, born April 2, 1921, named after 
the oldest known ancestor of the Stewart family, whose name appears 
in an old Bible record with the year 1648. Harold S. Stewart enlisted 
at Los Angeles May 31, 1917, for the infantry, was trained three months 
at Arcadia, then at Camp Kearney, and was assigned to Headquarters 
Company of the One Hundred and Fifteenth Engineers. He left Camp 
Kearney July 26, 1917, sailed for overseas August 8th and was on over- 
seas duty ten and a half months. Altogether he was in the service 
twenty-five months, receiving his honorable discharge as sergeant, first 
class, at The Presidio, July 11, 1919, and is now a resident of Los 
Angeles. He was educated in the Chaffey Union High School, spent two 
years in Pomona College and graduated in 1917 from Stanford Univer- 
sity, where he specialized in geology. 

The only daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Stewart is Agnes Louise, born 
July 3, 1900, living with her parents. 

William John Campbell has had a highly successful experience 
as a building contractor, a business he has followed forty years, and 
is head of the Campbell Construction Company, with home offices 
in Ontario, but widely known throughout Southern California for 
its business relations. 

Mr. Campbell was born at New Sharon, Iowa, September 12, 1857, 
son of John and Mary (Mitchell) Campbell. His parents were natives 
of Pennsylvania, and in 1849 removed to the new state of Iowa. 
Both parents reached a great age, the father dying at the age of 
ninety-four and the mother at ninety-two. William J. Campbell 
acquired his early education in the public schools of Oskaloosa, 
Iowa, and as a youth learned mechanical trades and subsequently 
engaged in the general contracting business, which he has now 
followed for forty years. He moved to Kansas in 1881, and from 
there in 1910 came to California. Twelve years ago he organized 
the Campbell Construction Company', now one of the largest concerns 
of its kind in Southern California. This company gives employment 
to sixty men continuously. Mr. Campbell recently purchased a 
large tract of land in the heart of the City of Ontario, where he intends 
to erect an apartment building. 

Mr. Campbell while a resident of Axtel. Kansas, held the office of 
mayor for several years. He is a republican, and in Masonry is a 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1317 

past master of his Lodge, a member of the Chapter, Council, Knight 
Templar Commandery and Eastern Star. He is also a member of 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is an active and 
honored figure in the Ontario Chamber of Commerce and a member of 
the Congregational Church. 

At Axtel, Kansas, March 17, 1892, he married Miss Luella Petre. 
She was born in Kansas and was only a child when her father died. 
Mr. and Mrs. Campbell have two children : John Byron, born March 
19, 1893, and Lois born August 22, 1898. The son, John, had two 
years of service in the World war. He was overseas with the 
20th Engineer Corps, and was discharged as a corporal. He is 
secretary and treasurer, of the Campbell Construction Company. 
He is a member of the American Legion, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Ontario Chamber of Commerce. After attending 
public and high schools at Axtel, Kansas, John B. Campbell took up 
the study of architecture, and also studied in France. Lois Campbell 
was educated in the Chaffey High School, Pomona College at Clare- 
mont and in the University of California. 

Joseph Mort — A resident of Southern California more than thirty 
years, the Rialto community in particular has a grateful memory 
of his presence here, the work he instituted, the friendships he made 
and the kindly influence he exercised among all who knew him. 

Joseph Mort was an honored Union soldier. He was born in 
Ohio, May 23, 1843, son of Conrad and Sarah (Hynes) Mort, natives 
of the same state. He was the third son in their family of seven 
children. When Joseph Mort was an infant his parents removed to 
Iowa and took up land in Van Buren County. Joseph Mort acquired 
a common school education there, and at the age of nineteen enlisted 
in the Federal army in 1862. He served in the infantry under General 
Heron and was with the Federal forces until the conclusion of the 
war. He was in the siege of Vicksburg, and there was slightly 
wounded in the left shoulder. Subsequently he was captured, and 
for ten months he was confined at Tyler, Texas, and Shreveport, 
Louisiana. During the confinement his chief diet was a pint of corn- 
meal each day. The meal was hand ground, and the small end of 
the cob was mixed with the grain. After his exchange he returned 
to service. 

Following the war Mr. Mort married in Iowa Miss Elizabeth 
Miller, on October 3, 1865. Mrs. Mort, an interesting pioneer woman, 
is still living at her home at Rialto, 221 North Olive Street. She 
was born July 6, 1843, in Van Buren County in what was then Iowa 
Territory. Her parents, Daniel and Margaret Elizabeth (Jackson) 
Miller, were among the earliest settlers in that section of Iowa, 
moving from Ohio in 1841. They made the journey with wagon 
and team, and took up Government land in Van Buren County, 
where they spent the rest of their days, Mrs. Mort's mother dying 
in 1861 and her father in 1891. She was one of their ten children. 

Following his marriage Mr. Mort engaged in farming in Iowa. 
In October, 1887, he came to California, his family following him 
the next year. He located in the vincinity of Rialto, where he 
worked for the company developing this section in planting citrus 
trees and also assisted in setting out the ornamental trees along 
Riverside Avenue. He helped plant nearly all the early orchards 
in this vicinity. On account of injuries received while a prisoner 
of war Joseph Mort became totality blind in 1901, and he lived for 



1318 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

twenty years in darkness, though active in mind and enjoying his 
friends and the many interests that bound him to life. He died at 
Rialto March 1, 1921. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Mort were born seven children: Delia, born in 
Iowa October 17, 1866, married Edward Varnard and has two children, 
Elsie and Belle. Clyde Everett, born in Iowa July 27, 1870, married 
Frances Uren, daughter of a Methodist minister, T. S. Uren, and 
they have two children, Mildred and Leonard. Alpha Mort, born 
in Iowa May 25, 1872, died at the age of two weeks and five days. 
Ottis Hynes, born in Iowa May 26, 1873, enlisted and served for 
six months in the Spanish-American war, and he and his wife, 
Gertrude, have two sons, Russell and Francis, both of whom enlisted 
in the navy in 1920. Eddy Willis, named for Bishop Eddy, was 
born in Harvey County, Kansas, March 24, 1875, married Mamie 
Ely, and their four children are Evelyn Mort, Raymond, Delbert and 
Edwin. Thomas Glenn Mort, born in Iowa in 1878, married Caroline 
Humiston, of Iowa, and their children are Phyllis, Helen, Kenneth 
and Winnifred. Leonard Worth Mort, the youngest child, was 
born in Graham County, Kansas, February 28, 1881, and became an 
expert in all phases of the citrus fruit industry. A group of Mexican 
citrus growers sent for him to act as their adviser in field operations, 
and while thus employed he was drowned in a flood caused by a 
cloudburst on August 28, 1909. He married Ina Lyman. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mort were birthright Methodists, and all their lives 
have been devout members of that faith. Mr. Mort served as a member 
of the Official Board of his church. He always maintained the 
hospitality of the home, and delighted in entertaining his friends. 
He was a worker for clean politics and for efficient government 
at all times. For some years after coming to California he owned 
an orange grove, and after selling this he bought five acres which 
are still owned by Mrs. Mort. When Mr. Mort came to this part of 
California there was not a building except the old adobe near Base 
Line in which he lived for a time. Later he built on West Rialto on 
his own land. In those days it was a difficult task to drive from West 
Rialto to San Bernardino to market. In dry weather the sand filled 
the air and cut the faces, and there were practically no roads through 
the sand and brush. During wet weather the streets in San Bernardino 
were so deep in mud that a vehicle had to be stopped every now 
and then to rest the horses. Very few windbreaks had been planted 
in the Rialto district when the Mort family reached here. The first 
water ditch from the mountains was constructed after Mr. Mort 
came here, and he helped do some of that work. Much of the early 
construction work with which he was identified remains to bear fruit 
and benefit to the present generation. 

Willoughby McKinley, whose attractive home is at 340 North 
Riverside Avenue, in the beautiful little City of Rialto, is one of the 
pioneer orange-growers of this district and has played an active part 
in the civic and industrial development of this community. 

Mr. McKinley was born in Wayne County, Iowa. November 30, 
1875, and is a son of John R. and Hannah ( Davis) McKinley, who 
were born in Ohio and who became pioneer settlers in Iowa, where 
the father took up Government land and reclaimed the same to 
cultivation, he having developed one of the fine farm estates of 
Iowa, where he became the owner of several hundred acres. He 
and his wife endured the full tension of trials and hardships incidental 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1319 

to the pioneer era, but with the passing years substantial prosperity 
rewarded them. They continued their residence in the Hawkeye 
State until the spring of 1894, when they came to California and 
established their residence at Rialto, where Mr. McKinley had pur- 
chased in the preceding year a tract of twenty acres of land. On 
this tract he planted and developed one of the first orange groves in 
the district, and here he continued his residence until his death, 
September 11, 1917, his wife having died in 1898. They were numbered 
among the honored pioneers of the community and well merited 
the unqualified esteem in which they were held. 

Willoughby McKinley passed the period of his childhood and 
early youth on the old Iowa homestead farm which was the place of 
his birth, and he supplemented the discipline of the public schools 
by attending the Iowa State Normal School at Humeston. He has 
been actively identified with productive enterprise along agricultural 
and horticultural lines throughout his entire career, was eighteen 
years of age at the time of the family removal to San Bernardino 
County, and thus had the satisfaction of aiding his father in the 
development of the pioneer orange grove at Rialto. He is the owner 
of valuable real estate in this section of the county, and in all of 
the relations of life is well upholding the prestige of the family 
name. Mr. McKinley recalls the packing of the first carload of 
oranges shipped out from Rialto. The packing was done in an old 
shed, the bushes were trimmed by hand, and the fruit when packed 
was hauled by wagon to the railroad car. 

On January 16, 1901, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. McKinley 
and Miss Anna Klophenstein, who likewise was born in Wayne 
County, Iowa. She was the daughter of Daniel and Sarah (Hacke- 
thom) Klophenstein, the father a native of France, born near Paris, 
and the mother was born in Ohio. The father came to the United 
States when nineteen years old, locating in Iowa, where he was a 
farmer. He came to Ontario, California, in the autumn of 1900, and 
afterward lived retired. He died there May 30, 1907. The mother 
came to Rialto, where she died February 7, 1920. The two children 
of Mr. and Mrs. McKinley are: Randolph, born January 27, 1910; 
and Pauline, born June 27, 1916. 

Dwight W. Webster is not only the owner of one of the fine orange 
groves that mark the Fontana district as one of the garden spots 
and prosperous industrial centers of San Bernardino County, but 
he is also engineer of the West Rialto Water Company, in which 
he is a stockholder and of which his wife is secretary. 

Mr. Webster was born on a farm in Leon. Monroe County, 
Wisconsin, and is a son of Peter and Laura (Tower) Webster, he 
having been seventh in order of birth in a family of eight children. 
He was reared and educated in his native state and continued his 
active associations with farm industry until 1901, when he came to 
California, where he remained one year. He then returned to Wis- 
consin, but in 1904 he came again to California, where he established 
his residence at Pasadena and where he was engaged in a teaming 
business until 1908. He then purchased tract No. 399 in the Fontana 
district of San Bernardino County, a property for which he paid 
$4,200. Here he now has twenty acres of full-bearine fruit besides 
ownine twenty shares of the stock of the West Rialto Water Company, 
of which mutual corporation he is engineer, as previously stated. The 
improvement* of his fine little property are of the best, including a mod- 



1320 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

ern house and other excellent buildings. At one period the water shares 
held by Mr. Webster were virtually without value, as the irrigating plant 
was in poor condition and its service consequently inadequate. The 
mutual corporation known as the West Rialto Water Company was organ- 
ized in 1900 and now gives the best water service to approximately 350 
acres. At the time when Fontana was made a distinct water district 
the West Rialto Water Company dismantled its old plant and installed in 
its place a new and modern equipment, the original supply of twenty 
inches of water-flow having been increased to 100 inches. The 
plant is operated by electric power and the stock of the company is 
now worth $200 a share. As engineer for the company Mr. Webster 
has aided in the development of its plant to its present high standard 
of efficiency, the original equipment of two wells having been increased 
and the service being now of the best in every respect. When Mr. 
Webster here established his home the lands to the west of his tract 
were covered with brush and were entirely unreclaimed. Tracts that 
then commanded a price of only $20. an acre are now valued at 
$300. an acre, and that with no orange trees yet planted. Mr. and 
Mrs. Webster are representative citizens of the Fontana district, have 
won worthy success and command unqualified esteem in the com- 
munity. 

On November 4, 1896, Mr. Webster married Miss Elizabeth 
Chalfant, who was born in Marshall County, Iowa, February 5, 1874, 
a daughter of Edward and Elizabeth (Hoskyn) Chalfant, the former 
of whom was born in Ohio and the latter in England, the father having 
become a successful merchant in Iowa and later having continued 
in the same line of enterprise in South Dakota, whence, on account 
of impaired health, he later removed with his family to the south- 
western part of Louisana. Of the family of three sons and two 
daughters only Mrs. W r ebster is now living. She was nine years 
old at the time of the family removal to South Dakota, where she 
was reared to adult age and where she was eventually graduated 
from the high school at Huron. Thereafter she was engaged in 
teaching in that state until she accompanied her parents to Louisiana, 
and upon returning to the north she continued her work as a successful 
teacher for one year, at the expiration of which her marriage occurred. 
Of the eight children of Mr. and Mrs. Webster the firstborn, Harry, 
died in infancy. The first four children were born in Wisconsin, 
the birth of the second son, John Perham Webster, having there 
occurred November 2, 1898. This son was graduated from the 
San Bernardino High School, and while he was a student in Throop 
College at Pasadena the nation became involved in the World war 
and he entered the Reserve Officers Training Corps, of which he 
was a member at the time of his death, resulting from an attack of 
double pneumonia. He was a young man of gallant patriotism, and 
his fine character and personality gained to him a host of friends. 
Dorothy, the third child, was born September 14, 1900, and died 
October 6, 1916. Emerson was born February 7, 1903; Laura, De- 
cember 23, 1905; Kenneth, January 27, 1908; and the next two 
children, twins, died in infancy. Mrs. Webster has been on the 
School Board for six years, and is now clerk of the Board. 

Harry H. Miller, who has been a resident of California since 1884 
and who has become one of the very successful orange growers of 
the Fontana district in San Bernardino County, has here proved 
himself a man of thorough as well as resourceful action, for he 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1321 

encountered many obstacles in the earlier period of his enterprise 
as an orange grower, was not to be deflected from his course and 
eventually achieved distinctive success and reputation in his chosen 
sphere of effort. His orange grove, one of the best in this colony, is 
situated on Palmetto Avenue, one-fourth of a mile south of Foothill 
Boulevard, on Block No. 528, Fontaria being his postoffice address. 
Mr. Miller was born in the State of Iowa, near Burlington, 
September 11, 1856, and this date indicates with significant emphasis 
that his parents were numbered among the early pioneer settlers of 
that commonwealth, both having been born in Pennsylvania, and 
the father, Barnett Miller, having reclaimed and developed one of 
the productive pioneer farms of the Hawkeye State. Of the family 
of four children the subject of this review was the second in order 
of birth, and he was reared under the conditions and influences 
that marked the pioneer days in Iowa, his early education having 
been effectively supplemented by the careful reading and study, 
which have made him a man of broad information and mature 
judgment. He continued his active association with farm enterprise 
in Iowa until 1884, in March of which year he arrived in Merced 
County, California. For several years thereafter he was employed 
on large grain ranches, and in 1891 he came to Fontana and purchased 
ten acres of land on Palmetto Avenue. The representatives of the 
Semi-Tropic Land & Water Company tried to persuade him to buy 
twenty acres, but he refused to purchase more land than he could 
pay for at the time. By paying cash he bought the ten acres and 
a supposed water right for ninety dollars an acre, a ten percent 
reduction from the price he would have paid with deferred payments. 
The water right proved valueless, and later he purchased water 
shares from the Fontana Company, which succeeded the corporation 
previously mentioned. With characteristic energy Mr. Miller cleared 
the brush from his land, which he planted to raisin grapes. About 
two years later, however, in 1893, he set the tract to oranges, and when 
his water right failed he hauled domestic water from Rialto for two 
years in order to preserve his trees from destruction. He did all 
manner of incidental work to meet expenses, never wavering in his 
determination to develop his orange grove to successful productive- 
ness, and he thus persevered at a time when many of his neighbors 
abandoned the field in utter discouragement. His reward is evident in 
his ownership of one of the best orange groves of this district, and 
the passing years have brought to him substantial prosperity, the 
while he has had the satisfaction of contributing his quota to both the 
industrial and civic advancement of this now favored section of 
San Bernardino County. He has about fifty hives of bees and makes 
the apiary department of his business likewise distinctly profitable. 
Mr. Miller has won success entirely through his own ability and 
efforts, and takes constant delight in the study of the best literature 
pertaining to the citrus industry, with the result that he has applied 
the most approved scientific methods in the development and care 
of his fine orange grove. He is a stalwart republican in politics, is 
affiliated with the Rialtu Camp of the Knights of the Maccabees 
and is one of the popular bachelors of San Bernardino County. He 
served six years on the School Board. 

John- William Fowler has gained precedence as one of the most 
successful growers of citrus fruit in San Bernardino County, where he 
is now the owner of a valuable property devoted to the best types of 



1322 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

oranges and lemons. He and his young wife initiated their enterprise 
as orange growers with minimum financial resources, and he credits his 
wife for much of the splendid success which has been achieved in this 
connection, for her effective counsel and ready co-operation have counted 
for much in his progressive career in the Rialto district of the county. 

Mr. Fowler was born in Crawford County, Kansas, June 23, 1870, 
a son of David and Elizabeth (Thomason) Fowler, both natives of North 
Carolina, where their marriage was solemnized. As young folk the 
parents migrated to Missouri and established their home on a farm 
which is now the site of the City of Springfield. Later they became 
pioneer settlers in Crawford County, Kansas, about the time of the 
beginning of the Civil war, and there the father engaged in agricultural 
and stock-raising enterprise. The parents endured not only the hard- 
ships and trials that pertained to pioneer life on the Kansas frontier, 
but also suffered greatly from depredations committed in connection 
with border warfare in the Civil war, both the guerrilla bands and hostile 
Indians being a constant menace. On the old Kansas homestead the 
devoted mother died in 1878, and there the father continued to reside 
until his death in 1906, as one of the venerable pioneer citizens of the 
Sunflower State. In the family were two sons and two daughters, all 
of whom survive the father. 

John W. Fowler was reared on the old home farm in Kansas, profited 
by the advantages of the public schools of the locality, and in 1892 grad- 
uated from the Kansas Normal College at Fort Scott. In 1894, influ- 
enced by correspondence with a kinsman who had preceded him here, 
Mr. Fowler came to Rialto. California, where he promptly found em- 
ployment in a citrus orchard of forty acres. He was an apt student of 
horticulture and was soon made foreman and thereafter superintendent 
of this fruit ranch, where he remained four years. He then married 
the sweetheart of his early days in Kansas, and it was largely through 
the counsel of his talented young wife that they purchased ten acres of 
unimproved land, with water right, for a consideration of $1,150, their 
initial payment being only $100. Mr. Fowler planted a windbreak and 
began the general improvement of his land. In 1900 he laid a pipe line 
for irrigating the tract, and the tract was planted to oranges. After 
holding- this property ten years Mr. and Mrs. Fowler sold the same for 
$12,000, and they had previously cleared themselves of all indebtedness. 
Mr. Fowler has continued his successful activities as a grower of oranges 
and lemons, and they now own a well improved property of twenty acres, 
ten acres being situated just to the south of the original place, which 
now constitutes the oldest and finest lemon orchard in the Rialto district. 
Tn 1912 Mr. Fowler erected his present residence, at 128 Fast Third 
Street. Rialto. and the same is one of the finest and most modern homes 
in this beautiful and prosperous section of San Bernardino County. As 
an authority in the citrus fruit industry Mr. Fowler is also superinten- 
dent of manv groves owned by non-residents, he being responsible for 
the care of ninety acres of such orchards. 

Mr. Fowler is an uncompromising republican, and he is a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is affiliated with San Bernardino 
Lodge. B. P. O. E. ; with Rialto Camp of the Modern Woodmen of 
America, and he and his wife are charter members of Rialto Lodge, 
A. I. U. He is a member of the Board of Education of Rialto and is 
an enthusiastic worker in behalf of efficient educational system. Mrs. 
Fowler is a member of the Christian Science Church and the Rialto 
Woman's Club, and in the home community both she and her husband 
have a circle of friends that is limited only by that of their acquaintances. 



^4 



i K i 





SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1323 

May 4, 1898, recorded the marriage of Mr. Fowler and Miss Oneda 
M. Hayes, who came from her home in Kansas to join him, the mar- 
riage having been solemnized at San Bernardino. Mrs. Fowler is a 
daughter of Jesse B. and Cecelia A. (Long) Hayes, the former a 
native of Indiana and the latter of Pennsylvania. Upon removing to 
Kansas Mr. Hayes purchased a farm near Fredonia, judicial center of 
Wilson County, and there his wife died in 1887. Mr. Hayes later re- 
moved to the western part of that state, and he passed the closing period 
of his life at Ocean Park, California, where he died September 8, 1906. 
Mrs. Fowler depended largely on her own resources in gaining her 
higher education, which included one year at the Kansas State Normal 
School at Fort Scott and one year at the Kansas State Normal College 
at Emporia. She was for six years a successful and popular teacher 
in the public schools of Kansas, and retired from such pedagogic service 
at the time of her marriage. Of the five children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Fowler two died in infancy ; Aleta M., who was born at Rialto May 26 
1900, is a graduate of the high school and also of Longmire's Business 
College in San Bernardino, and she now holds a responsible position 
in the office of the American Fruit Growers at Rialto. Eugene, born 
December 17, 1906, is, in 1922, a member of the sophomore class in the 
San Bernardino High School. Julian Hayes, who was born March 26, 
1911, is attending the Rialto graded schools. 

John P. Domecq came from his native France and established his 
residence in California more than half a century ago, and here he even- 
tually became one of the pioneer exponents of ranch enterprise in San 
Bernardino County, where he developed and improved a fine landed 
estate and won substantial prosperity. He was one of the honored and 
representative men of the county at the time of his death, which occurred 
at his fine ranch home near Colton, this countv, on the 24th of Sep- 
tember, 1892. 

Mr. Domecq was born and reared in the Pyrennes Mountain district 
of France, the year of his birth having been 1846. He received good 
educational advantages in his youth, and continued his residence in 
France until March 22, 1867, when he embarked for the voyage to the 
United States. He first settled at San Francisco, California, where he 
engaged in the dairy business, in which he had gained experience in his 
native land. He later established himself in the same line of enterprise 
at Los Angles, and in 1882 he came to San Bernardino County, where 
he entered into a contract with John Anderson, Sr., to plant and develop 
a vineyard of 160 acres, a provision of the contract being that he should 
have the supervision of the vineyard until it became productive and 
was then to receive a deed to the ownership of one-half, or eighty acres, 
of the tract. It was on this homestead, two and one-half miles north- 
west of Colton, that he passed the remainder of his life, the place being 
eligibly situated on Rancho Avenue. 

Mr. Domecq had most meager financial resources when he came to 
this country, but his ability, ambition and persistent application enabled 
Him to achieve large and worthy success o-f material order, the while 
he stood exemplar of loyal and liberal citizenship, and his sterling 
character gave him secure place in popular esteem. In San Francisco he 
married Christina Kupferschlager, and he and his wife were earnest 
communicants of the Catholic Church and in politics he gave his allegi- 
ance to the republican party. After his death his widow assumed active 
charge of the home ranch, the management of which she successfully 
continued from 1892 until she, too, passed to the life eternal, her death 



1324 SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 

having occurred on the 1st of September, 1913. Mrs. Domecq was 
born in the fair old city of Cologne. Germany. June 24, 1852. Of the 
three children only one survive the honored parents, .and this son, 
Peter J. Domecq, now owns and resides on the old homestead. On 
this ranch his birth occurred August 17. 1883. and his early education, 
received in the public schools of Colton and San Bernardino, was sup- 
plemented by a course in the Los Angeles Business College. He was 
but nine years of age at the time of his father's death, and after leaving 
school he learned the machinist's trade, to which he continued to give 
his attention as a skilled workman from 1900 to 1919, in the meanwhile 
continuing to reside with his widowed mother on the old homestead. 
After the death of her husband Mrs. Domecq set orange trees on 
eighteen acres of the land and sold twenty acres of the property, at 
the southeast corner, to James Barnhill. The remainder of the place 
remains intact and is now a valuable and splendidly improved property. 
After the death of his devoted mother Peter J. Domecq added to the 
area of the old home place by purchasing an adjacent tract of sixty-two 
acres, and this he has planted to grapes. The Domecq ranch is one 
of the finest and most picturesque in this part of the county, the home 
standing on a terrace rising above Lytle Creek and commanding a fine 
view of the mountains, of Colton and of the City of San Bernardino, 
as well as the valley below. Peter J. Domecq is well maintaining the 
honors of the family name and is one of the prominent and influential 
citizens of the Colton District. His political convictions are indicated 
by his stanch support of the cause of the republican party, but he has 
had no desire for political activity or public office. He is a member of 
Ashlar Lodge, F. and A. M., of Colton. 

On the 11th of July, 1909, was solemnized the marriage of Peter J. 
Domecq and Miss Nettie DeWitt. who was born in San Bernardino, 
July 2, 1886, and who was there reared and educated, she being a 
daughter of Alonzo DeWitt. of whom individual mention is made in fol- 
lowing sketch. To Mr. and Mrs. Domecq were born three children, of 
whom two are living: Alvin Joseph, who was born December 22, 1914, 
and June Irene, who was born June 1, 1918. May Christiana was born 
February 23, 1916, and died July 24, 1918. 

Alonzo DeWitt, who now resides on the fine ranch of his son-in- 
law, P. J. Domecq, two and one-half miles northwest of Colton. San 
Bernardino County, is a native son of this county and a representative 
of one of its sterling pioneer families. The house in which he was born 
stood on the site of the old race track, on Mills Street, San Bernardino, 
and the date of his birth was December 16, 1861. He is a son of John 
and Nancy (Long) DeWitt, the former of whom was born in Iowa and 
the latter in Texas. In the early '50s the parents crossed the plains with 
the pioneer colonists of the Latter Day Saints who founded Salt Lake 
City, the wagon train having fought many hostile bands of Indians on 
the long and perilous overland journey. Later John DeWitt and his 
wife came with another band of Latter Day Saints to found a new 
colony in California, the journey having been made with wagons and 
ox teams. John DeWitt established his home on a tract of land that was 
later developed as a race track at San Bernardino, and there he grubbed 
the underbrush and cut off the timber to make the land available for 
cultivation. Both he and his wife passed the remainder of their lives 
in San Bernardino County and were upright and earnest pioneer citizens 
who commanded the respect and confidence of the community in which 



SAN BERNARDINO AND RIVERSIDE COUNTIES 1325 

they established their home. They became the parents of five children : 
George, Alonzo, Jane, Nettie and Emma. 

Alonzo DeWitt was reared under the conditions and influences mark- 
ing the pioneer period in the development of San Bernardino County, and 
as a young man he married Miss Orissa F. Boren, who