(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Sanpete and Emery counties, Utah, with sketches of cities, towns, and villages, chronology of important events, records of Indian wars, portraits of prominent persons, and biographies of representative citizens"

HAROLD B LEE LIBRARY 

BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY 

PROVO. UTAW 



MAY 2 8 1993 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2009 with funding from 
Brigham Young University 



http://www.archive.org/details/historyofsanpeteOOogde 







- 


HISTORY 


' 


OF 



Sanpete ^nd Emery- 
Counties 

UTAh 



-WITH- 



SKETCHES OF CITIES. TOWNS flND V'.l.L AO£.6. ; 
CHRONOLOGY OF IMPORTANT EVENTS*. 

RECORDS OF INDIAN WARS. 
PORTRAITS OF PROMINENT PERSONS, 

BIOGRAPHIES OF REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



ILLUSTRATED 



OGDEN 

W. H. LEVER 
1898. 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



SANPETE COUNTY. 

History of Sanpete County 1 1 

Sanpete Chronology 45 

History of Manti " 6 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Manti 95 

History of Mt. Pleasant 201 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Mt. Pleasant 223 

History of Ephraim 281 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Ephraim 293 

History of Fairview 3ol 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Fairview 358 

History of Moroni 395 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Moroni 402 

History of Gunnison 43o 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Gunnison 44-4 

History of Spring City 472 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Spring City 477 

History of Fountain Green 508 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Fountain Green 513 

History of Mayfield .. . . 536 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Mayfield 539 

History of Wales 545 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Wales 548 

History of Chester 555 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Chester 560 

History of Fayette 565 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Fayette 567 



6 TABLE OF CONTENTS. 

History of Sterling 572 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Sterling 575 

History of Milburn 581 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Milburn 582 

History of Iudianola 589 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Indianola 590 

EMERY COUNTY. 

History of Emery County 593 

History of Castle Dale 610 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Castle Dale 611 

History of Cleveland 622 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Cleveland 623 

History of Desert Lake 627 

History of Emery 628 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Emery 629 

History of Ferron 635 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Ferron 636 

History of Green River 644 

History of Huntington 645 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Huntington 646 

History of Lawrence 665 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Lawrence 666 

History of Molen 668 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Molen 669 

History of Orangeville 673 

Sketches of Prominent Citizens of Orangeville 675 

History of Woodside 682 



INDEX TO ILLUSTRATIONS. 

SAN PETE COUNTY. 

Allred, James T. S 516 

Allred, Col. Redick X 501 

Aldrich, Martin 269 

Anderson, James 356 

Anderson, John 356 

Anderson, Nephi 437 

Bartholomew, Joseph 565 

Beal, Hon. Henry 341 

Beck, Hans C. H 300 

Billings, Geo. P 194 

Christiansen. Joseph 525 

Christiansen. Bishop Parley 548 

ChristeDsen, J. G 277 

ChristenBen, Theodore E 437 

Christensen, Niels 405 

Cook, James 107 

County Court House 45 

County Poor Farm 45 

Dyreng, P. P 179 

Ericksen, Hon. Ferdinand 205 

Ericksen. Edward A 300 

Ericksen, Mrs. Edward A 300 

Fjeldsted, Bishop A. C 425 

Gundersen, Jens 292 

Hansen, Soren Christofferson 147 

Hafen, Jacob 269 

Hoggan. J. W 138 

Hougaard, John H 115 

Howell, Elias W 388 

Jensen, Henry 533 

Jens4n, Jens W 405 

Johnson, Hon. Jacob 492 

Johansen, Peter 292 

Larsen, James 228 

Lasson, Andrew 388 

Lowry, Hon. John 162 

Lund, Hon. Anthon H 333 

Lund, Hon. C.N 245 

Manti Temple 2 



INDEX TO ILLUSTRATIONS. 

Manti Public School 201 

Matson Peter 245 

Maylett, Hon. Win. F 98 

Miner, Mormon . _ 373 

Monsen. James 260 

Mt. Pleasant Public School 201 

Myrup, Lars C. N 461 

Neilson. Neils P 341 

Nieleon, Swen 364 

Olsen, Ole C 548 

< )lson, Neils 420 

Olson. Mrs. Neils 420 

Peterson. President Canute 324 

Seely. Justus W 23(1 

Seely, Clarissa J 236 

Seely, John H 213 

Seely, Joseph 309 

Seely, Joseph N 373 

Seely, Moroni 309 

Seely, Stuart R 309 

Seely, William H 580 

Seely, Hyrum 309 

Shomaker, Jezreel 130 

Shomaker, Joel 194 

Simpson, Hans J 292 

Smith, Azariah 162 

Sort-nson, Mads P 556 

Sorenso.it Niels M 556 

Swalberg, C. A 452 

Tuttle, Hon. L. T 83 

Walker, John A 364 

West. Thomas 277 

Whiting, Sylvester 461 

Woodring. W. W., M. D -J60 

Works, E. M 179 

EMERY COUNTY. 

Joh nson, Bishop Peter 652 

Johnson. Hon. M. E 644 

Lott. John W 629 

Loveless, Hyrum S 661 

Miller, Richard C 661 

Ovesen, Bishop L. P 652 

Reid. J. K 676 

Seelv. Hon. Orange 621 



PREFACE. 



Almost half a century has elapsed since the bold 
pioneers entered Sanpete Valley to make homes amidst 
the savage Indians and barren deserts of sagebrush. The 
veterans of '49 have nearly all disappeared from the val- 
leys where they chased the redmen, erected homes and 
conquered the arid lands, converting Sanpete into a veri- 
table agricultural paradise. Many of the sons and daugh- 
ters have crossed the mountains in quest of new vales to 
conquer, and it is fitting that at this time a comprehen- 
sive history should be compiled. The book here pre- 
sented will be preserved as one of the most valuable 
family treasures, beneficial for its pages of history, gene- 
alogy, biography, commercial and educational records 
and the familiar features of representative citizens. 

The publisher has labored at great disadvantage in 

compiling this book, because such a work has never been 

issued and data could not easily be collected. There may 

be some errors in dates and omissions of events of minor 

importance, as is always the case in the first issue of such 

a volume, but the most searching efforts have been made 

to have it a reliable and comprehensive work. The 

authorities consulted were: The biographical sketches 

of over one thousand residents of Sanpete and Ernerv 
2 



10 PREFACE. 

counties; personal diaries and journals of many pioneers; 
county, town and church records; official State reports 
and statistics; Utah histories, gazetteers, directories and 
similar publications; files of newspapers published in the 
county and State; and personal interviews of some of the 
most active and best informed citizens. 

Our thanks are especially due Kev. G. W. Martin 
and the Church Review, for data concerning the Presby- 
terian missions; Eev. J. D. Gillilan for information as to 
the history of Methodism; William H. Peacock for the 
use of several records of his father's — Hon. George Pea« 
cock; Mrs. A. B. Sidwell for reminiscences, and many 
others who have made corrections and offered sugges- 
tions when the manuscript has been submitted. The 
publisher feels that he has fulfilled every obligation and 
given the subscribers all he promised, and therefore asks 
a full, earnest and impartial review of the work, when 
all will agree that it is certainly a gem and well worth 
the time and money expended in its compilation. 

W. H. LEVER, 

Ogden, 

Utah. 

October 2, 1S98. 



SANPETE COUNTY. 



SANPETE COUNTY occupies a central position in the 
group of natural divisions comprising the State of 
Utah. It includes all of the rich valley of the San- 
pitch, with an elevation of between 5000 and 6000 feet 
above sea level, being bounded on the north by Utah, 
east by Emery, south by Sevier and west by Millard and 
Juab counties. The Wasatch mountains form a perfect 
natural watershed and eastern boundary line, dividing 
the snow reservoirs on the summit, and supplying numer- 
ous streams for irrigating the cultivated area in the val- 
ley. A similar boundary is formed on the west by the 
Sanpitch mountains, thus enclosing one of the most de- 
lightful valleys of Utah. The Sanpitch river flows 
through the valley, from north to south, being fed by 
numerous streams and springs from the snow banks of 
the mountains. The names of river, valley and county 
are derived from a tribe of Indians, who made this lovely 
mountain dale a hunting ground before being conquered 
by the white men. / A remnant of this tribe yet remains 
in Thistle Yalley, in the northern part of this county, on 
lands donated to them by the people who made of this 
county the present great "Granary of Utah." This high 
mountain-walled home of the dusky Sanpitch natives is 
now distinctly marked as Sanpete county, and contains 
about 1820 square miles, being 60 miles in length and 
having an average width of 30 miles. The great alti- 
tude, fertile soil, abundant water and protection from 



12 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

storms make it a most healthful and desirable location. 
The present population numbers probably 18,000 in- 
dustrious and energetic citizens, devoted to their homes 
and country, enjoying health, wealth and happiness amid 
their peaceful and comfortable surroundings. Farming, 
stockraising and wool-growing are the chief industries, 
and no valley of similar dimensions in the Great West 
produces more of the fruits of field and range than this 
county. The fifteen beautiful cities, towns and villages 
comprising the county attest the industry of the pioneers 
and their sons and daughters in converting the sage 
brush desert into a veritable mountain paradise, free 
from drouths, cyclones and the plagues and storms of 
many less fortunately located sections. With two rail- 
ways passing through the valley, the development of 
mineral resources and the increasing of water supply for 
reclaiming more of the desert, Sanpete county has a fu- 
ture not surpassed by any county within the borders of 
the State. 

EARLY HISTORY. 

When the Utah pioneers had secured homes in Salt 
Lake Valley and were preparing to convert the desert 
into fruitful fields, a delegation of Ute Indians, under 
Chief Walker, appeared in Salt Lake City, June 14, 1849, 
and requested colonists for Sanpitch Valley, to teach the 
natives how to build homes and till the soil. An explor- 
ing party, consisting of Joseph Horn, W. W. Phelps, Ira 
Willes and D. B. Huntington, left in August, and with 
Walker as a guide, entered the beautiful Sanpitch Val- 
ley, crossing the divide from Salt Creek canyon, and 
reached the present site of Manti, August 20, 1849. They 
were royally entertained by the savages, and after a few 
days returned and reported everything favorable for 
founding a colony. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 13" 

A company of about fifty families from Salt Lake 
City and Centerville was organized and started late in 
the fall for Sanpitch Valley. The commanders were 
Isaac Morley, Seth Taft and Charles Shumway, who rep- 
resented the civil and ecclesiastical authorities and Nel- 
son Higgins the military. Among the original pioneers 
were the following men, some being accompanied by 
their families: D. B. Huntington, Barney Ward, John 
Lowry, Si\, Titus Billings, G. W. Bradley, Albert Petty, 
O. S. Cox, Albert Smith, Jezreel Shomaker, Cyrenus H. 
Taylor, Azariah Smith, Abram Washburn, John D, 
Chase, Isaac Case, Sylvester Hulet, William Potter, 
Gardner Potter, James Brown, Joseph Allen, M. D. Ham- 
ilton, William Richey, Harrison Fugate, Sylvester Wil- 
cox, Gad Yale, John Carter, Isaac Behunnin, William 
Mendenhall, Edwin Whiting, William Tubbs, John Hart, 
John Baker, John Elmer, John Butterfield, Amos Gustin, 
John Cable and W. K. Smith. 

The company cleared roads, built bridges and suc- 
cessfully passed through Salt Creek canyon without any 
great hardships, and moved to the south in quest of a 
suitable location. Some wanted to pitch camp at Shum- 
way Springs, but better counsel prevailed, and the pres- 
ent site of Manti was selected as the frontier town of cen- 
tral and southern Utah. The first camp was made on 
City Creek on the evening of November 22, 1849, and tem- 
porary houses made of wagon boxes, comprised the town. 
In a few days the snow began falling and continued al- 
most incessantly until the ground was covered to a depth 
of three feet or more, and the colony changed quarters to 
the south side of temple hill, where some families had 
dugouts, while others occupied their improvised wagons 
and tents. 

That winter was most severe and the snow fell to a 
greater depth than ever was known to the Indians, and 



14 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

the equal has never since been recorded. Men and boys 
were engaged almost daily in shoveling snow in winrows 
to bare the grass and furnish shelter and food for the 
starving cattle. Even the horns of cows and oxen were 
sharpened by filings to give them better means of defense 
in fighting wild animals, and enable them to break 
through the crust of the frozen snow in search of the dry- 
grass. Of the two hundred and forty head of cattle 
brought in by the colonists, only one hundred and thir- 
teen were living the following June. The Indians camped 
around the colony greedily devoured the dead animals 
and praised their white neighbors for giving them the 
beef to ward off staiwation. 

When the camp was made and all was in readiness 
for the winter, a company of twelve, under the command 
of Jerome Bradley, was sent back to Salt Lake City after 
provisions. They loaded their supplies and started for 
Manti, but were detained at Provo, on account of re- 
ported Indian hostilities. Two friendly Indians, Am- 
nion and Tabinan, a brother of Chief Walker, volunteered 
their assistance as guides, and the party left Provo and 
continued on to the "Forks of Salt Creek," where they 
were forced to camp on account of the great depth of the 
snow. The next January, Tabinan rode into Manti and 
informed the people that a white man was lying across 
the Sanpin-h river, almost dead. A party headed by 
Bishop George W. Bradley, started out on snowshoes and 
found one of the supply company, trying to wade through 
the snow, which was three or four feet deep. He re- 
ported the company snowed in, and sleds were drawn by 
hand over the snow, ranging in depth from 8 to 20 feet, 
to their camp and the supplies brought in during the 
nionth of March. Among the people arriving then was 
Daniel Henrie and wife, she riding on one of the sleds. 

In tho evening following the first warm dav of earlv 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 15 

spring, the peaceful colonists were startled by a contin- 
uous hissing and rattling of myriads of rattlesnakes that 
made a simultaneous attack upon the habitations, wrig- 
gling and writhing about in the boxes, beds, cupboards 
and everywhere they could get inside the homes of the 
settlers. A general warfare was inaugurated by the aid 
of pine-knot torches, and many hundreds of the reptiles 
were killed, nearly five hundred being slaughtered in one 
night. The strangest thing connected with the raid of 
these deadly serpents was that not one person was bit- 
ten, though the coiled enemies were everywhere present, 
in threatening attitudes, frightening men, women and 
children on every hand. Notwithstanding the severity 
of the winter and scarcity of food, on account of supply 
teams being snowed in at Salt Creek, the people enjoyed 
remarkably good health and but few cases of sickness oc- 
curred. 

In the spring of 1850, when time for plowing and 
planting came there was but one team able to draw a 
plow through the native desert, until feed was obtained 
from the growing grass. This team belonged to Jezreel 
Shoinaker, and was used to break small garden patches, 
while the other poor animals were resting and recruiting. 
The snow which had lain on the ground all winter to the 
depth of three feet or more was slow in melting and no 
crops were sown until -June. But, the colonists were 
fortunate in having a fair supply of seed, and the soil 
proved very productive, thereby giving some green vege- 
tables for food within a short time after planting. Small 
ditches were taken from the creek, and the water freely 
applied to the then parched sand. 

About July 1st, of this year, Chief Walker and a 
band of 700 warriors of the Sanpitch Indians, with their 
squaws and pappooses, returned from a successful forag- 
ing expedition against the Shoshones and camped in a 



16 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

semi-circle 'round the colonists, remaining- during the 
year. They proudly exhibited their trophies of war, held 
frequent scalp dances and forced the squaws and chil- 
dren prisoners to dance with the scalps of their kindred 
attached to poles, being significant of humbleness. While 
thus being amused, Chief Walker and his leading men 
would tantalize the colonists and threaten to treat them 
in a similar manner. These fiendish orgies would be 
kept up all night long, while the small colony of white 
people slept not knowing but that they would never 
awaken. 

President Brigham Young visited the colony in 
August, 1850, and christened the town Manti, in honor 
of one of the notable cities mentioned in the Book of 
Mormon, and the county he called Sanpete, after the In- 
dian tribe then inhabiting this section, the chief of whom 
was Sanpitch. A log schoolhouse was erected under the 
direction of Isaac Morley, afterward known as "Father 
Morley/' and Jesse W. Fox was installed as the pioneer 
teacher. He was soon followed by Mrs. Mary Whiting, 
and the children were furnished the best opportunities 
for obtaining an education that the primitive colonists 
could afford. Soon after the visit of President Young a 
small grist mill Avas erected in the canyon east of the 
city by Phineas W T . Cook, the capital being furnished by 
President Young and Father Morley. The only mill in 
use previous to this was a mammoth coffee grinder, 
which was passed about, from house to house as needed. 

The act of Congress organizing Utah Territory was 
approved September 9, 1830, and Brigham Young was 
appointed Governor. A provisional form of government 
was instituted and Isaac Morley and Charles Shumway 
represented Sanpete county in the first Legislative As- 
sembly. That legislature met in Salt Lake City, and 
passed an act incorporating Manti City, which was ap- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 17 

proved February 5, 1851, at the same time Ogden and 
Provo were incorporated, they being the only cities in 
Utah, excepting Salt Lake City. During this season the 
city, comprising ten square miJes, was surveyed by Jesse 
W. Fox, and the people left their camp under "Temple 
Hill" and moved to their city lots. Titus Billings and 
Jezreel Shomalcer built the first houses, which were fol- 
lowed by others before winter. A city government was 
formed, and the colony began to give evidences of pros- 
perity. 

Sanpete county was organized by authority of an 
act of the Territorial Legislature, passed February 3, 
1852^ and Manti was made the county seat The first 
officers were George Peacock, Judge; Gardner Lion, 
Phineas W. Cook and James Richey, Selectmen; Nelson 
Higgins, Sheriff; John Lowry, Jr., Assessor and Collec- 
tor; George Pectol, Treasurer, and Cyrenus H. Taylor, 
Clerk. The county then comprised an unknown area, in- 
cluding all of southeastern Utah, and no well defined de- 
scription was given until an act of the Legislature, ap- 
proved January 10, 1866, gave the following boundaries: 
"All that portion of the Territory bounded south by Se- 
vier county, west by Juab county, north by the summit 
of the range of mountains between Sanpete Valley and 
Spanish Fork river, and along the summit of said range 
until it intersects Green river, thence by a line drawn 
due east from said intersection to the thirty-second me- 
ridian west from Washington City, and south by said 
meridian. Provided, that the hay ground of Thistle Val- 
ley shall be included in the county." 

THE WALKER WAR. 

The Indians, under Chief Walker, continually gave 
indications of a desire to stir up trouble among the colo- 
nists, and notwithstanding his pleadings for white neigh- 



18 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

bors, to settle among them and teach them the principles 
of a peaceful and happy government, this hypocritical 
chieftain simply wanted more victims to slaughter. An 
aged diplomatic chief, Sowiatt, pleaded with his people 
to let the white men build homes and dwell among them 
in peace, and his counsel generally prevailed, because the 
Indians knew Walker was treacherous and could not be 
trusted even in his own tribe. Walker desired the scalp 
of Charles Shuniway, and at last determined to make an 
effort at getting some one to torture, so he could frighten 
his pale face friends. 

One day in the early summer of 1853, while most of 
the able-bodied men were at Pleasant Creek, assisting M. 
D. Hamilton, or in Salt Lake City after supplies, Walker 
and a band of painted warriors entered Manti and de- 
manded the body of Shuniway and others against whom 
they had imaginary grievances, that they might be tor- 
tured and put to death. This demand was not granted, 
and an attack was threatened. The old men, women and 
boys remaining in the city determined to resist the sav- 
ages, and made preparations for battle, but the political 
leader, Sowiatt, conquered and hostilities ceased. Walker 
was so humiliated at the apparent cowardice of his 
braves that he mounted a pony and rode hastily away 
into the mountains to sulk for a month, hoping this act 
would draw the warriors' affections from Sowiatt to him. 

On July 18, 1853, Alex. Keel was killed at Payson, 
by Arropine, a brother of Walker, known among the In- 
dians as Siegnerouch. This act was the signal for be- 
ginning a general warfare against the settlers through- 
out southern Utah, and on the very next day, Indians 
fired upon the guard at Pleasant Creek, now Mount 
Pleasant. The day following a raid was made upon the 
herds of Manti and several horses and cattle were stolen 
and driven into the mountains. A similar attack was 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 19 

made on the range near Nephi, and William Jolley was 
wounded by Indians at Springville. The colonists be- 
came alarmed and at once organized for a defense of 
their homes and families. A company of fifty militia- 
men, under Capt. P. W. Conover, was sent out from 
Provo to assist the settlers at Mount Pleasant, who were 
few in proportion to the savages. 

The troops met the Indians on July 23rd, at Hamil- 
ton's mill, east of Mount Pleasant, and engaged in a 
fierce battle, resulting in the death of six warriors and a 
complete routing of the savages, wiio fled to the moun- 
tains. The settlers then removed from Mount Pleasant 
to Spring City, where a small fort had been built, and by" 
the aid of the militia were enabled to harvest their crops. 
But the Indians were on the alert and did not wait long 
to recruit from the previous engagement, for on Sunday, 
August 2nd, Spring City was attacked and all the horses 
and cattle were rounded up and started for the moun- 
tains. The herders were fired upon and fled to the 
fort for protection, while the Indians rode away yelling 
and waving their arms in defiance of the small garrison. 

Two of the herding ponies eluded the Indians and re- 
turned to the fort, thereby giving the settlers a means of 
communication with Manti, the only point from which 
relief could be expected. A messenger was dispatched 
immediately, and by riding west across the valley, then 
south, succeeded in evading the vigilant Indian scouts 
patroling the eastern trail. The express messenger 
reached Manti about three o'clock in the afternoon, mak- 
ing one of the quickest trips ever recorded. When the 
news was received drums were sounded, cattle collected 
and sentries posted at all prominent points, while hasty 
preparations were made for sending relief to Spring City 
Three wagons with twelve yoke of oxen hitched to each 
accompanied by teamsters and twelve mounted guards 



"20 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

left as quickly as possible, reaching Spring City at day 
light next morning. The colonists were taken to Manti 
and given quarters in a fort which had been constructed 
that year. 

The entire population of Sanpete at the time of the 
evacuation of Spring City numbered only 765 men, wo- 
men and children, who remained in the fort at Manti un- 
til the spring of 1854. All parties engaged in wood haul- 
ing, herding and other outside work were armed and con- 
sisted of a dozen or more men, one-half standing guard 
while the others worked. A guard was kept at the little 
mill near the mouth of Manti canyon to prevent an at- 
tack from Indians until sufficient flour could be made for 
the winter supply. But, on October 1st, both miller and 
guard, John E. Warner and William Mills were killed by 
the Indians, who made their escape, leaving the mill un- 
disturbed. They returned later and burnt the mill, 
claiming it was done in retaliation for the shooting of 
five Indians, convicted of stealing cattle, and ordered ex- 
ecuted by Maj. Higgins. 

A few days previous to the killing of the miller and 
guard, four ox teams, loaded with grain, started for Salt 
Lake City, being followed a few hours later by twelve 
horse teams hauling provisions, feed and Saints en route 
to the semi-annual conference and intent upon visiting 
friends in the north. Arrangements were made for 
camping at Shumway Springs, but the first teams kept 
going until they reached Uinta Springs, now Fountain 
Green. Before the rear teams reached camp the Indians 
made an attack, killing all the drivers, Thomas Clark, 
William E. Reid, William Luke and James Nelson, and 
driving away the oxen. Having no use for the grain, the 
savages cut open the sacks and scattered wheat over the 
ground to complete their work of destruction and show 
their hatred for the white men. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 21 

The mutilated and mangled bodies of those unfortu- 
nate freighters were picked up by the rear of the com- 
pany and removed to Salt Creek for interment. Several 
Indians watched them from the cover of cedars on the 
mountain slope, and followed down the canyon, making 
frantic gesticulations of joy over their massacre. When 
the company reached Nephi seven Indians who had kept 
at a safe distance and yelled defiance at the whites, 
were promptly arrested and shot. This had the desired 
effect upon the remaining warriors, who began to fear 
the vengeance of their new neighbors, and hostilities 
ceased for several months. A few days previous to this 
Capt. J. W. Gunnison, United States Topographical En- 
gineer, and a corps of seven men, including William Pot- 
ter of Manti, were killed by Indians, while in camp on 
the Sevier river, west of Fillmore. 

During 1854 the Indians confined their depredations 
chiefly to Millard county, but frequently raided the herd- 
ing grounds of Sanpete and stole cattle and horses, al- 
ways succeeding in making good their escape. On Jan- 
uary 20, 1855, Walker died at Meadow Creek, in Millard 
county, and the war ended. Arropine, who had begun 
the work of exterminating the white men, became chief 
of Walker's band, and made a treaty of peace. He pro- 
fessed much love for the Mormon people, and, as an evi- 
dence of his friendship, deeded the entire county to Brig- 
ham Young, trustee in trust for the church. A copy of 
this remarkable document, as found recorded in "Book B, 
Church Transfer'' is hereto appended. 

"Be it known by these presents, that I, Siegnerouch 
(Arropine), of Manti City, in the county of Sanpete, and 
Territory of Utah, for and in consideration of the good 
will which I have to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter- 
Day Saints, give and convey unto Brigham Young, 
trustee in trust for said church, his successors in office, 



22 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTS. 

all my claim to and ownership of the following described 
property, to-wit: The portion of land and country known 
as Sanpete county, together with all material and timber 
on the same, valued f 155,000; ten horses, valued |500; 
four cows, $120; one bull, $40; farming tools valued at 
$10; in all $155,765, together with all the rights, privi- 
leges and appurtenances thereunto belonging or apper- 
taining. I also covenant and agree that I am the lawful 
claimant and owner of said property, and will warrant 
and forever defend the same unto the said trustee in 
trust, his successors in office and assigns, etc. 

HIS 
"SIEGXEROUCH (ARROPINE.) X 

MARK. 
"Witness: George Snow, R. Wilson Glenn, John 
Patten." 

THE FIRST COLONIES. 

In the spring of 1852 a company consisting of about 
fifteen families, under the command of James Allred, re- 
moved from Salt Lake City and began a settlement at 
Spring City. 'The colony was small and suffered many 
hardships from Indians and other disadvantages of an 
isolated community. But, the brave colonists held out 
against all misfortunes and built a fort for protection. 
The following spring a company from Manti, under the 
direction of Madison D. Hamilton, began a colony at 
Pleasant Creek, now Mount Pleasant, given in some of 
the archives as "a pleasant spot twenty-four miles north 
of Manti." The Indians forced them to take refuge in 
the fort at Spring City in July, and in August that settle- 
ment was abandoned. The Indians burned the fort in 
January, 1854, and no further efforts were made to re- 
build for five years. 

Early in the spring of 1854 a number of families left 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 23 

the Manti fort and located on Pine Creek, seven miles 
north of Manti, the site afterward being called Ephraiin, 
the name coming from the Book of Mormon. Isaac Be- 
hunnin had built a home on this creek as early as the 
spring of 1851, but had to return to Manti for protection 
against the Indians. This settlement was really the first 
successful approach toward forming a colony outside of 
Manti. Several additions were made to their numbers 
during the fall of 1854 by families of Scandinavians from 
Salt Lake City. The grasshoppers invaded their farms 
in 1855 and 1856 and destroyed almost all crops, causing 
much disaster and privation, but the noble band with- 
stood the pangs of hunger and poverty and overcame all 
obstacles. 

The year 1859 was favorable for locating new colo- 
nies, because of peace having been concluded with the 
Indians, and an early spring giving evidence of a good 
crop season. A company, made up of James Ivie, TV. S. 
Seely, David Jones, Isaac Allred and others, entered 
upon the present site of Mount Pleasant in April and be- 
gan the work of a permanent colony. The same month 
James Allred and others returned to Spring City on 
Canal Creek, and began a second time the settlement of 
what was for some time known as "Little Denmark." 
In March of this year George W. Bradley and eight oth- 
ers from Nephi located Moroni, "eighteen miles north of 
Manti." In the fall Geo. W. Johnson and others settled 
Fountain Green, put up some hay and built a few houses. 
Gunnison was settled this season by Jacob Hutchinson 
and company. 

Fairview, generally called North Bend by the old 
settlers, was first colonized during the winter of 1859, by 
a company consisting of James H. Jones, Henry W. San- 
derson, Jehu Cox, Isaac Y. Vance, Lindsay A. Brady and 
others. Wales, or Coalville, was located this year by 



24 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

John E. Reese, and in 1802 about fifteen families settled 
there and opened the pioneer coal fields of Utah. All 
those early colonies were weak in numbers and suffered 
many hardships during the first few years and during the 
Black Hawk war, the smallest places had to be aban- 
doned, while the settlers sought refuge at the stronger 
points. The early settlers were strong men and women, 
possessed with indomitable courage and a desire to se- 
cure homes, or the county could not have been settled un- 
der such discouraging and troublesome circumstances. 

THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 

Indian treachery is proverbial, and the insincerity of 
the redmen was fully illustrated in their failure to keep 
the treaty made by Arropine, on the death of Walker. 
The warriors continued their depredations, especially on 
unarmed travelers, whom they met in lonely canyons or 
found alone hunting or herding in the isolated foothills. 
Even Arropine and his braves remained sullen and often 
made threats of an outbreak if more beef and biscuits 
were not furnished immediately. The settlers soon 
learned that the transfer of the county because of good 
will and friendship would cost them the total value with 
much more added for interest, to keep the Indians 
clothed and fed and maintain peace. When a demand 
was made by Arropine the colonists donated beef, flour 
and clothing and thereby kept peace. 

On May 21, 1855, A. N. Billings and a company of 
forty men were sent from Sanpete to settle the Elk Moun- 
tain country and make peace with the Indians. They 
crossed the Grand river and erected the Mormon fort, 
where Moab is now located. In August some of the colo- 
nists returned to Manti, and on September 3rd the In- 
dians made an attack, killing Wiseman Hunt, Edward 
Edwards and William Behunnin and wounding Capt. A. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 25 

N. Billings. The colonists entered the fort, which the 
Indians immediately surrounded and gave notice of their 
intention to massacre all the inmates. The next day- 
some of the chiefs interceded in behalf of the white men 
and the imprisoned colonists were permitted to return to 
their homes unmolested, with the understanding that the 
settlement should be abandoned and Grand Valley left 
in undisputed possession of the Utes. 

In the spring of 1858 James Miller and George M. 
Bright were killed and five others wounded by Indians, 
during an attack on the Salmon river settlement, which 
caused the abandonment of the colony. On June 4th of 
this year Xiels Jorgensen and wife, Jens Turkelsen and 
Christian E. Kjerluf were killed by a band of fourteen 
Sanpitch Indians, in Salt Creek canyon. October 5th 
Samuel Brown and Josiah Call were massacred by In- 
dians on Chicken creek. These periodical attacks were 
kept up by marauding bands of Sanpitches and Utes, 
and no man was safe outside the settlements. James 
Hanahin, a deserter from the United States army, was 
killed by an Indian on August 7, 1860, near Manti, the 
savage firing upon him from ambush. 

In March, 1865, the Indians camped around Manti 
began to be very quarrelsome and insulting when in the 
presence of the colonists, and many threats were made 
indicating the desire for some pretext for war. On April 
9th, John Lowry and others had a quarrel with Jake, 
one of the chiefs, about some cattle the Indians boasted 
of stealing. This altercation was considered sufficient 
provocation for declaring open hostilities, and Chief 
Black Hawk hurriedly assembled his warriors for the 
conflict. A party of men was sent out from Manti on 
the day following the disturbance, to collect the cattle 
for the purpose of ascertaining how r many had been 
stolen. Black Hawk and fifteen warriors fired upon the 



26 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

men, near Twelve Mile creek, and killed Peter J. Ludvig- 
sen. The Indians were in ambush and immediately de- 
camped for the south, driving away some cattle and ut- 
tering oaths of defiance. 

On the same day of the attack on Manti herders, 
Elijah B. Ward and James Anderson were massacred 
and scalped in Salina canyon, the Indians making good 
their escape into the mountains and driving some stock 
stolen from the settlers. The people were now thor- 
oughly aroused and determined upon waging an uncom- 
promising warfare against the treacherous redskins. 
Col. J. T. S. Allred, with eighty-four members of the San- 
pete militia pursued the Indians and were surprised and 
fired on in Salina canyon, April 12th, and Jens Sorenson 
of Ephraim and William Kearnes of Gunnison were 
killed. The sudden attack from ambush so confused the 
command that a precipitous retreat to Salina followed 
without any further demonstrations. At the request of 
Col. Allred, a company of men was picked from the ranks 
by Col. W. S. Snow and returned to the scene of action 
and secured the bodies of those killed. 

The Indians did not await any further attack, but 
hurried away into the mountains, taking all the cattle 
they had stolen. On May 25th, Jens Larsen was killed, 
while herding sheep, near Fairview, and the next day 
John Given, wife and four children were massacred in 
Thistle Valley, presumably by the same band of Indians 
who had shot Larsen. May 30th, David M. Jones of St. 
George was shot and killed near Fairview, while in the 
mountains hunting his horses. July 14th of this year 
Robert Gillespie of Mount Pleasant and James Robinson 
of Alma were killed by Indians near Salina. Thus the 
work of secret murders continued, while the Indians kept 
driving away horses and cattle and retreating into the 
mountains, where thev were safe. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 27 

In July President Brigliam Young visited Sanpete 
county and conferred with the citizens as to the best pol- 
icy to pursue to prevent further depredations from the 
hostile foe. On July 15th Col. Warren S. Snow was 
elected a Brigadier-General and immediately took com- 
mand of the militia and minute men. He pursued the 
Indians into Grass Valley, and on the 18th engaged in a 
pitched battle, which resulted in the killing of twelve 
Indians and wounding one of Gen. Snow's command. The 
savages fled into the mountains and eluded pursuit. On 
July 26th the settlement of Glenwood, Sevier county, 
composed chiefly of those called from Sanpete, was at- 
tacked by Indians and one man was killed and iwo 
horses wounded. An express messenger notified the mil- 
itary command, and Gen. Snow and company followed 
the redskins to Green River without capturing any of 
them or having an engagement. 

The militia was kept on the alert, sleeping on their 
guns and expecting orders to move at any moment. An 
attack was threatened on the southern colonies, and Gen- 
eral Snow charged upon the Indians, forcing them back 
to Fish Lake, where, on September 1st, a spirited en- 
gagement was fought, resulting in the death of seven In- 
dians and the wounding of General Snow and two of his 
command. The troops returned to Manti on September 
24th, and rested nearly two months. October 17th of 
this year the Indians attacked some of the settlers at 
Ephraim, killing Morten P. Kuhr and wife, Elizabeth 
Peterson, William Thorpe, Soren N. Jespersen, Benjamin 
J. Black and William T. Hill, and driving away all the 
stock they could find, numbering about 100 head. Again 
the raiders were successful in escaping without giving 
battle. 

November 6th the Indians raided Circleville, killed 
three men and started off with the town herd. The citi- 



20 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

zens gave chase and fired with such certain aim that the 
thieves Avere completely routed and left the cattle for 
their owners, while the redmen retreated in great haste 
into the mountains. This was the last attack for the 
year, as the winter was very severe, the snow deep and 
the canyons impassable. The Indians had sufficient stock 
feeding upon the ranges in the San Juan and other south- 
ern valleys to supply them and did not care to tempt the 
white men to pursue them into their camping grounds. 
The colonists passed through a severe winter, with but 
little food for man or beast, on account of the grasshop- 
pers having destroyed the crops. But the military duties 
had to be performed to guard their stock and homes 
against the Indians. 

With the opening of spring in 1866 the Indians re- 
sumed their work of stealing cattle and murdering de- 
fenseless colonists. About February 1st, when spring 
work was beginning in the southern settlements, a band 
of hostile Indians raided Washington, Kane county, 
killed Doctor Whitmer and a son of John M. Moody and 
drove away all the cattle that could be found on the 
range. This was evidence sufficient that the troubles 
were not over, and General Warren S. Snow with a part 
of his command started for the scene of hostilities. At 
Xephi, on March 12th, he arrested five renegade Indians, 
on the charge of having been engaged in the various 
raids. The prisoners were taken to Manti and put in 
jail till evidence could be obtained against them. With 
them were two important chiefs, Sanpitch and Anka- 
wakets, who were held in the hope of capturing the no- 
torious leader Black Hawk. 

When the prisoners were safely secured General 
Snow and men returned to Nephi and captured four more 
Indians, known to have been connected with the Black 
Hawk raiding band. Thev were taken to Manti, tried 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 29 

and convicted, and shot by order of the imprisoned 
chiefs, who hoped thereby to gain their own liberty. Bt 
this time the Indians were very much excited and threat- 
ened a perfect slaughter of all helpless white persons, 
wherever found. On April 2nd an attack was made on 
Salina, three persons were killed, another wounded and 
all the stock was driven away, while the whoops of de- 
rision filled the air with savage effrontery. The impris- 
oned chieftains and comrades at Manti, on hearing of 
this fresh outbreak, began to tremble and give signs of 
uneasiness. They feared the commanding officer would 
order them put to death, and on the night of the 14th 
broke jail and attempted to escape. 

The guard pursued the Indians and killed three with- 
in the limits of the city. A posse followed the fleeing 
fugitives to Mt. Nebo and tracked them far up into the 
snow banks, where they were shot. Chief Sanpitch was 
killed on April 18th while in hiding between Moroni and 
Fountain Green. Three days later the settlement of Sa- 
lina was abandoned, teams being sent from Manti aud 
Gunnison to haul the inhabitants with their effects to 
the north. April 22nd William Ivory and Thomas Jones 
were fired on by Indians in ambush near Fairview, aud 
Jones was killed, Ivory being severely wounded. Three 
days later a raid was made on Marysvale, one of the fron- 
tier towns of Sevier county, Albert Lewis Avas killed, 
three men were wounded and the stock driven into the 
mountains, the Indians escaping without any injury. 

The country being so sparsely settled and raids of so 
frequent occurrence, it was almost impossible for men to 
attend to their farms and stock and fight Indians without 
some assistance. When the people of Utah and Salt 
Lake counties learned the real condition of their friends 
in the south preparations were made for reinforcing the 
military power. On May 4, 1866, Cap*. P. W. Conover, 



30 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

with fifty men from Utah county, reported to General 
Snow for orders, and two days later Col. Heber P. Kim- 
ball reached Manti, having a company of fifty men from 
Salt Lake county. On the 14th Col. W. B. Pace took 
command of the forces under Capt. Conover, and with 
such an additional military force the citizens felt secure 
and proceeded to their daily duties in comparative safe- 
ty. The Indians kept away from such a formidable array 
of troops, but continued their depredations. 

June 10th the Indians made an attack on the settlers 
of Round Valley, killed James Ivie and drove away all 
the stock in sight. Col. Pace and command intercepted 
the marauders at Gravelly Ford, on the Sevier river, near 
Salina, and a sharp battle of several hours' duration was 
fought, resulting in the killing of several Indians and 
wounding one member of the militia. The troops re- 
treated to Gunnison on account of the ammunition being 
exhausted. When more powder had been obtained a 
larger force under the command of Gen. Snow and Colo- 
nels Kimball and Pace, advanced upon the Indians and 
pursued them some distance, but did not have a second 
engagement. The troops returned to Manti and on June 
20th, Gen. D. H. Wells arrived from Salt Lake City and 
took command of the entire forces. 

Three days after Gen. W T ells took command, James 
Ivie, Jr., killed a friendly Indian in retaliation of the 
death of his father, whom the Indians had murdered only 
a fortnight before. This act incensed the savages more 
than anything that had ever transpired, and gave them 
an excuse for entering more vigorously upon their bloody 
work of massacreing white settlers. June 24th they at- 
tacked a portion of Col. Kimball's command, under Capt. 
Peter Dewey, in Thistle Valley, killing Charles Brown 
and wounding James Snow. Maj. Ivie reinforced Capt. 
Dewey and the Indians were forced to retreat hastily into 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 31 

the mountains, after losing several warriors. Three days 
later the redskins raided Spanish Fork, and killed John 
Edmiston of Manti, wounded another man and drove 
away all the stock. 

The settlers of Spanish Fork and Springville com- 
bined their forces and pursued the Indians as far as they 
dared follow in the canyons, and secured most of the 
stolen cattle. The Indians continued on into Sanpete, 
then into Sevier and sought the unprotected points as 
places of attack. They kept on the mountains when near 
Manti or in the vicinity of the troops, and thus avoided 
an engagement. About July 1st of this year, 1866, Gen. 
AY ells, in obedience to instructions from President Brig- 
ham Young, issued an order for the abandonment of the 
settlement in Piute county, and the colonists removed to 
Sanpete, most of them locating in Ephraim. During this 
summer the Indians became so troublesome in the vicin- 
ity of Fairview, Fountain Green and Wales that the colo- 
nists were compelled to leave their homes and remain in 
the larger settlements until the autumn, to insure safety. 

On July 12th Captain Bigler and sixty men from 
Davis county, reached Manti and relieved the troops from 
Salt Lake county. The new men soon had an opportu- 
nity for a conflict, for on the 27th of this month the In- 
dians made a night raid on the stock of Ephraim and 
Manti, driving away about 150 head. Gen. Snow and 
Capt. Bigler, with their commands, pursued the thieves 
into Castle Valley, but did not succeed in recovering the 
cattle or capturing any Indians. This successful raid 
gave the redmen enough beef for the winter and but few 
people were troubled any more until the following spring. 
They managed to keep at a safe distance from the troops 
and enjoy the fruits of their many exploits, while making 
calculations on the possible strength of their enemies 
when another spring should open. 



32 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

When the tirst warm days of March, 1867, had 
cleared away the snow and the settlers at Richfield were 
contemplating beginning farm work, the Indians dashed 
through the town and on toward Glenwood. They 
found a company traveling with an ox team and mur- 
dered Jens Peter Peterson and wife and Mary Smith. 
The citizens of Glenwood gave battle and a sharp en- 
gagement resulted, in which the Indians were victorious 
and succeeded in getting possession of about one hundred 
head of stock and driving the herd into their mountain 
retreat. April 1st President Young counselled the set- 
tlers to abandon their homes and remove north for safe- 
ty. Teams were sent from Sanpete and a company of 
minute men assisted in removing all the inhabitants of 
Richfield and Glenw T ood to this county. The removal oc- 
curred about May 1st, and the homes and farms of that 
section were empty and deserted. 

At this time Gen. D. H. Wells released Gen. Warren 
S. Snow from his command and placed Gen. W. B. Pace 
in charge of the entire Sanpete military district, then 
comprising all of southeastern Utah. He inaugurated a 
new policy and placed all the stock of the several settle- 
ments under heavy guard day and night. This foiled the 
Indians in their stealing operations and checked their 
ravages for a time. But, on June 1st, Louis Lund was 
killed and Jasper Robertson wounded while herding 
stock near Fountain Green, and about forty horses were 
taken iron* them and driven away. The next day Major 
J. W. Vance and Sergeant Heber Houtz were killed by 
Indians at Twelve-Mile creek, and Capt. Miles and Pri- 
vate Tanner narrowly escaped. 

After defeating the troops and dispersing the small 
guard then stationed on the herding ground the Indians 
made their escape, taking about tifty head of cattle be- 
longing to the people of Gunnison. August 13th another 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 33 

attack was made on Spring City, James Meeks and An- 
drew Johansen being killed and William Blain wounded, 
while engaged in hauling hay from the meadows. The 
redskins started off with all the stock in sight, but were 
so hotly pursued by the herders and guard, that they left 
most of the cattle and were glad to get away with only a 
few. On September 14th John Hay of Gunnison was 
killed by a band of Indians, who found him alone burn- 
ing lime. Four days after this murder the stock owned 
by the citizens of Beaver was driven away by a band of 
Black Hawk's warriors, and the redskins decided to re- 
main in their haunts until spring. But the settlements 
were becoming too numerous for the Indians, and their 
safety was better assured by keeping back from civiliza- 
tion, which they wisely concluded to do, making only 
occasional sallies on travelers or driving off some cattle 
when hungry. The year of 1867 was a prosperous season 
and large crops were harvested without molestation ex- 
cept from a few straggling warriors, who generally re- 
mained in the mountains. Minute men were held in 
readiness and the guns were kept loaded in expectation 
of an outbreak at any time. The horses and cattle were 
carefully guarded and every precaution taken to prevent 
any further loss of lives or property. 

In April, 1868, a gold excitement caused many peo- 
ple to return to the deserted settlement of Alma, where 
it was reported immense quantities of gold had been dis- 
covered. The Indians attacked a company from Sanpete, 
on the way to the gold fields, a few miles north of Rich- 
field, and killed Lars A. Justesen and Charles Wilson 
and wounded Peter Thompson. The company returned 
to their homes, reporting no gold but plenty of Indians. 
About twenty-five miners remained for a time until dis- 
couraged and frightened by the redmen, when they left, 
thus deserting the town the second time. On July 10th 



34 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

a raid was made on Ephraim, and the Indians started 
away with all the stock obtainable, but the citizens gave 
chase, when a sharp engagement was had, the Indians 
being forced to retreat and leave their captured stock. 
The Indians held a long pow-wow among their several 
bands, and finally decided to make a treaty of peace with 
the white men. August 19th a treaty was concluded in 
Strawberry Valley, and the Indians promised to remain 
peaceable. This, like the usual Indian pledge, was soon 
violated, for one month after a raid was made on Fair- 
view and eighteen horses driven away. The redskins 
finally resolved that there was honor even among thieves, 
and ceased hostilities till 1872, when, on June 16th, Neils 
Heizelt was killed by a band of braves, at Twelve Mile 
creek. The troops had been withdrawn, and under the 
order of Gov. J. W. Shaffer were not permitted to muster, 
drill, or bear arms, except under the direction of the 
United States Marshal. This order was issued Septem- 
ber 15, 1870, and the Federal authorities took up the In- 
dian affairs, resulting in a final treaty, consummated by 
Gen. Morrow at Mount Pleasant, September 7, 1872. 

GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT. 

The Indian wars prevented any permanent improve- 
ments being made except under heavy guard, hence the 
colonists were practically compelled to curb their ambi- 
tions for good homes and neat farms until peace was 
fully restored. In 1S65 and the following year the grass- 
hoppers came in such numbers as to almost destroy all 
the growing crops, causing hunger and privation in many 
homes. The chickens and turkeys were turned loose to 
devour the pests, and every man and boy able to drive 
the hoppers was pressed into service. After much trib- 
ulation the insects were forced into ditches and burned. 

The first material improvement of general benefit to 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 35 

all the settlements was the completion of the Deseret 
Telegraph line through the county to Manti, which was 
celebrated December 28, 1866. This placed Sanpete, the 
acknowledged "Granary of Utah," in direct communica- 
tion with the capital city, and through that, the entire 
commercial world. Its benefits were felt at once in giv- 
ing valuable information on the prices of grain and cat- 
tle, thus advising the people when to start by team or on 
horseback for marketing their products. Many citizens 
of this county were among the first stockholders of this 
pioneer telegraph line, and some yet own stock in the 
company. A few years later, in the early '70s, the coun- 
try was connected with the outside world by the Sanpete 
Valley railroad, extending from Xephi to Wales. This 
enterprise was started by capitalists in Salt Lake City, to 
reach the pioneer coal fields located in 1859 by John E. 
Eeese, and at the time the road was constructed, the only 
source of coal supply in Utah. The road was a narrow 
gauge, connecting with the standard gauge Utah South- 
ern, but it extended commerce to the open marts of the 
world. 

In the spring of 1874 the Fairview Coal and Coke 
company was incorporated and operations began on de- 
veloping another coal field, within the borders of this 
county. The third coal mine was discovered in 1S87 by 
Henry Thomas, in Six Mile canyon, near Sterling, and 
the following year he and others opened up a good mine, 
which was operated by a single horse whim, but supplied 
all the coal required for home consumption for several 
years. The Sanpete Valley Kailway company later built 
a road to the mines, which they purchased, and have con- 
structed extensive hoisting works at the terminus, now 
called Morrison. Thus the coal deposits have been im- 
portant factors in the growth and development of the 
county, and the future of this business will no doubt be a 



DO HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

leading financial addition to the commerce of central and 
southern Utah. 

April 24, 1877, the site for the Manti Temple was 
dedicated and work began on one of the most imposing 
buildings of the State. This was erected chiefly by the 
donations of the generous citizens of this county, and is a 
monument to eleven years prosperity enjoyed by the 
people, while it was being constructed. On July 4, 1877, 
Sanpete stake of Zion of the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-Day Saints was organized, with Canute Peterson 
president and Henry Beal and John B. Maiben counsel- 
lors. This marked the beginning of a better era of co- 
operation and union, as nearly all the people were mem- 
bers of that church, and every effort possible was ad- 
vanced for the building up of a colonial granary the 
equal of which could not be found within the confines of 
a similar sized mountain-walled valley throughout the 
great new West. 

During the years of 1890-91 the Rio Grande Western 
railway was extended through the entire county from 
north to south, connecting all of the prominent cities and 
towns, and adding over sixty miles to the railroad track- 
age in the county. Two years later the Sanpete Valley 
was extended to Morrison and made a standard gauge. 
These roads furnished employment to many citizens and 
opened a market for ties and timbers, thus stimulating 
the lumber-making industry until the vast forests of the 
canyons were partially utilized in the rapid accumulation 
of homes and property for which the county is noted far 
and near, wherever its people are known. The railroads 
opened the dormant channels of trade, established new 
telegraphic service and express delivery, and placed 
every colony of the county on the great highway of com- 
mercial prosperity. 

The political history of Sanpete in early days is the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 37 

same as in other counties, in that the People's Party was 
in the ascendency, there being practically no opposition. 
In 1S91, when the national parties were organized and 
local issues discarded, Sanpete elected Democratic can- 
didates. This party continued in power until 1894, when 
the Republican ticket was elected, and for two years the 
county was marked in the Eepublican column. At this 
election seven delegates were selected by popular vote to 
assist in framing a Constitution for the proposed new 
State of Utah. Those elected as delegates to the Consti- 
tutional Convention were Hon. C. P. Larsen of Manti, 
Hon. J. D. Page of Mount Pleasant, Hon. Lauritz Larsen 
of Spring City, Hon. A. C. Lund of Ephraim, Hon. Parley 
Christiansen of Mayfield, Han. James C. Peterson of Fair- 
view, and Joseph Jolley of Moroni. 

January 4, 1896, President Grover Cleveland issued 
a proclamation in accordance with an act of Congress, 
admitting Utah to the Union as the forty-fifth State. The 
first Legislative Assembly under Statehood had three 
representatives from Sanpete county, Hon. W. D. Cand- 
land of Mount Pleasant being in the Senate and Hon. 
John Lowry of Manti and Hon. Peter Thompson of 
Ephraim in the lower house. They were elected by the 
Eepublican party. At the general election held in No- 
vember, 1S96, the entire State and county official ticket 
was Democratic, hence the present administration, with 
the exception of District Judge and County Superintend- 
ent of Schools, is under the control of Democracy. No 
third party has yet succeeded in the county, which under 
the present law of equal suffrage has about 6,000 voters. 
Local political history contains no exciting periods ex- 
cept the temporary removal of the county seat to Moroni 
in 1863, and subsequent return to Manti. 

The present county officials are as follows : 
District Judge — Jacob Johnson, Spring City. 



38 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Commissioners — Peter Greaves, Sr., Ephraim; Peter 
Sundwall, Fair-view; J. A. Tuft, Gunnison. 

Assessor — Alvin E. Allred, Chester. 

Clerk — M. F. Murray, Ephraim. 

Sheriff— Joseph Judd, Manti. 

Recorder — Amasa Aldrich, Mt Pleasant. 

Quarantine Physician — W. H. Olsten, Manti. 

Superintendent of Schools — A. C. Nelson, Manti. 

Prosecuting- Attorney — William K. Reid, Manti. 

Treasurer— Mons Monson, Moroni. 

Surveyor — J. H. Hougaard, Manti. 

State Senator— J. F. Allred, Spring City. 

Members of the House — Aaron Hardy, Moroni and 
N. C. Sorenson, Gunnison. 

The attorneys of the county have been few until re- 
cent years. The list at present consists as follows: W. 
K. Reid, James Cherry, W. D. Livingston and" E. W. 
Tatlock, Manti; Ferdinand Ericksen, Soren X. Christen- 
sen, A. G. Sutherland, Robert Anderson and W. E. White 
of Mt. Pleasant. 

Sanpete is an agricultural county, a land of small 
holdings in farm property and a fertile valley, justly and 
indisputably entitled to the name given by that honored 
western pioneer, President Brigham Young, "The 
Granary of Utah.'' The county has 1540 individ- 
ual, well-tilled farms, made up chiefly of small areas, 
containing an aggregate of 35,000 acres, which, with 
25,000 acres of hay meadows, from which annual har- 
vests are secured, make 60,000 acres improved, with, an 
outside acreage in its native state, susceptible to reclam- 
ation, through additional irrigation ditches, of almost 
50,000 acres. The annual wheat yield averages over 
one-half million bushels, much of which is exported 
either as grain or flour, the cash returns being used in 
building up the county and beautifying the homes. The 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 39 

yield of oats, barley and rye reaches one-quarter million 
bushels yearly, the grain being marketed or fed to home 
animals. 

In the production of wool and mutton this connty 
leads, not only in Utah, but the entire United States, no 
other county having so many as a half million sheep, the 
property of the most representative and influential citi- 
zens. The average wool clip ranges about 3,000,000 
pounds annually and the shipments of mutton sheep are 
many trainloads every year. The sheep are mostly well- 
bred Merinos and Cotswolds and yield immense revenues 
to the wealthy flockmasters. Stockraising has always 
been one of the leading industries, there being at present 
over 15,000 range cattle and milch cows owned by the 
several farmers and stockmen. The best breeds of Dur- 
ham, Herefords and other first-class animals are fed and 
kept on the ranges, and Sanpete cattle are in demand 
on all the Western markets. The dairy and creamery 
interests are increasing every year as the market re- 
quirements for Sanpete butter and cheese are greater 
than the supply. 

Recent analyses of soil and sugar beets grown in this 
county show the superiority of natural facilities for pro- 
ducing the highest testing beets. With the stimulus now 
given the sugar industry, there is no doubt that within 
a few years the largest and most profitable factory for 
making sugar, molasses and other necessities from sac- 
charine producing beets will be erected in Sanpete. This 
will bring about an era of smaller farms, closer cultiva- 
tion and greater yields and make of this valley the farm- 
ers paradise. The annual potato yield is about 100,000 
bushels, of excellent quality, saleable on all the Western 
markets and in great demand even where other potatoes 
are not wanted. The future of potato-growing in this 
county cannot be readily contemplated by those unac- 



40 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

quainted with the natural advantages. Many thousand 
acres could be planted with profit and in addition to sup- 
plying the outside market, a mammoth starch factory 
is among the numerous prospective industries that could 
be erected and supported in the county. 

The county has never been considered a fruit-grow- 
ing region, but there are about 500 acres planted to 
various trees and vines, the yield reaching over 18,000 
bushels yearly. Some of the most extensive apiarists in 
Utah are located in Sanpete, there being over 2000 hives 
of bees owned, and the annual output of honey reaching 
almost thirty-five tons. The growing of fruit and bees 
increases every year and soon this county will be entitled 
to the additional cognomen "the land of fruit and honey."' 
The rich alfalfa grows luxuriantly everywhere, feeding 
the bees and furnishing nearly 50,000 tons of hay an- 
nually. In addition to the alfalfa hay fully 15,000 tons 
of wild hay are harvested every year, and used chiefly in 
feeding 5000 milch cows, 6000 horses and other domestic 
farm animals used as the servants of the industrious and 
frugal citizens. 

All agricultural lands in the county require irriga- 
tion to produce crops, hence this modern science has been 
thoroughly developed by the Sanpete pioneers. The co- 
operative or community plan was practiced in early 
days, all farming one field and every man assisting in 
constructing and maintaining the canals and ditches. 
Water was taken from the several mountain streams by 
gravity courses, with but little expense except labor, and 
distributed equally, according to the area cultivated. 
Since the passage of the general incorporation act of 
1884, there have been thirty-one canal and ditch com- 
panies incorporated in this county, having an aggregate 
of |1,645,130 as capital stock. A majority of the com- 
panies consist of the citizens of the towns where ditches 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 41 

are located, and consequently are performing the work 
for which they were incorporated. A few are as yet un- 
developed, but in the course of time will be important 
factors in building up the agricultural interests of the 
entire valley. 

Sanpete is an agricultural county in every sense of 
the term, and has no large manufacturing plants, but 
there are ninety individual concerns in active operation, 
using 105G horse-power, employing 168 persons and hav- 
ing an output of over one-quarter million dollars annu- 
ally. Many enterprises may be added, and there is no 
doubt but the time is not far distant when the natural 
resources will be developed more thoroughly and woolen 
mills, sugar factories, grain elevators, starch factories, 
cereal mills, paper mills, sanitariums, summer resorts 
and other money-producing organizations be effected. 
The county has large deposits of coal, unsurpassed water 
power, best transportation facilities, superior climate 
and all other natural inducements for creating all the 
factories named and many more similar institutions. The 
county has no indebtedness, and the property valuation 
is about five million dollars. There are eighty-eight 
stores doing good business, employing 115 persons and 
disbursing $50,000 annually in wages. 

The official Territorial Bureau of Statistics for 1895, 
being the latest report on the number of inhabitants in 
this county, is quoted as published. Since that date the 
population of each place mentioned has advanced mater- 
ially, so that 18,000 is a fair estimate of the present num- 
ber of people. The county hanl in 1895 a total of 15,538 
people, distributed among the fifteen cities, towns and 
villages as follows: 

Chester 2S0, Ephraim 2213, Fayette 251, Fountain 
Green 929, Indianola 136, Gunnison 1367, Manti 2328, 
Mayfield 516, Milburn 223, Moroni 1106, Mt. Pleasant 



42 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

2481, Spring- City 1226, Sterling 347, Fairview 1494, 
Wales 305. 

The following places are incorporated cities: Eph- 
raim, Fairview, Manti, Moroni, Mt. Pleasant and Spring 
City. The towns are Fountain Green and Gunnison. 

April 24, 1885, the first newspaper was published in 
Sanpete county. The paper was called the Home Senti- 
nel, and was issued from Manti, James T. Jakeman be- 
ing editor and publisher. This paper was published for 
several years by various parties, and finally suspended in 
1895, Ward Stevenson being the last editor. In June, 
1890, the County Kegister was issued at Ephraim by 
James T. Jakeman. After some years the plant was sold 
to M. F. Murray, who now conducts the Enterprise. In 
November, 1890, the Pyramid was started at Mt. Plea- 
sant by A. I>. Williams. The paper is still numbered 
among the enterprising county publications, being pub- 
lished by J. M. Hoyden. October 13, 1893, the Messenger 
was first issued at Manti, Joel Shomaker being the edi- 
tor. This publication is now under the management of 
P. A. Poulson. In June, 1898, the Sanpete Democrat was 
started at Manti by L. A. Lauber. 

The Sanpete Valley railway, the pioneer road of this 
county, length fifty-one miles, connects with the Oregon 
Short Line at Xephi and extends through Juab and San- 
pete counties to Morrison. This road was surveyed and 
partly graded in the 70's by residents of Salt Lake City, 
then sold to an English syndicate, who constructed the 
line to Wales in 1881 to tap the first coal beds opened in 
the Territory. The coal not possessing sufficient com- 
mercial value to pay high prices for mining and expense 
of loug freight hauls, the mines were abandoned, and in 
1884 the track from Draper to Wales was taken up, a 
new grade made to Moroni, thence to Chester, which was 
the terminus till 1893. Theodore Bruback, the president, 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 43 

succeeded in reorganizing the company and placing it on 
a sound financial basis, after which the road was ex- 
tended to Manti, reaching that city on Thanksgiving 
day, 1S93. 

In 1894 the road was extended to Morrison, its pres- 
ent terminus, and in 1896 the gauge was changed from 
narrow to standard. The charter has been amended to 
allow the construction of an extension southwest 
through Cedar City to the Nevada line, and work will 
begin on this in the near future. The general offices of 
the company are in the McCornick Block, Salt Lake City, 
Theodore Bruback president and general manager, S. T. 
Pearson, secretary and treasurer. Local headquarters, 
Manti; H. S. Kerr, general superintendent and general 
freight and passenger agent. The policy of the company 
is to employ local men to the exclusion of transients. The 
good service, courteous treatment and satisfactory man- 
agement gives this road its share of the local and 
through freight and passenger traffic. A direct connec- 
tion with the Oregon Short Line at Xephi makes a 
through line from Salt Lake City to Manti, and business 
from and to Eastern points is interchanged with the 
Union Pacific at Ogden. At Morrison terminus are 
located the extensive coal mines of the Sterling Coal and 
Coke company. 

The Sevier Valley branch of the Rio Grande West- 
ern railway was begun at Thistle in June, 1890, and com- 
pleted to Manti, a distance of sixty miles, and opened for 
traffic January 1, 1891. The line was extended through 
the county to Salina during the year "91, many residents 
of the county being employed in grading and furnishing 
ties and timbers. In '96 the road was continued to 
Belknap, in Sevier Valley, and the line as contemplated 
will probably continue through Utah and to the coast, 
making Sanpete Valley the most direct route to the 



44 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Pacific ocean. This road is well equipped with modern 
coaches and shipping facilities and carries an immense 
tonnage of sheep, cattle, wool and grain from Sanpete 
every year, bringing in merchandise and other articles of 
commerce. The company furnishes first-class service in 
every particular, with obliging agents and enterprising 
officials, ever on the alert for the comfort and safety of 
its patrons. It is distinctly a Utah road, with the main 
line and branches connecting all important points in the 
highway of commercial activity. The officers are: 

William J. Palmer, president; George F. Peabody, 
vice-president; D. C. Dodge, general manager; A. E. 
Welby, general superintendent; S. H. Babcock, traffic 
manager, and F. A. Wadleigh, general passenger agent, 
with offices at Salt Lake City. 




XTV i-tiTRTHt U"SK 





- — ._ 

— 

its- — ^ - ■ 


^^ 







1 1 • XT Y POO R- F ARM. 



SANPETE CHRONOLOGY. 



1849. 

June 14. Chief Walker applied to President Young 
for Colonists to settle Sanpete Valley. 

August 4. Joseph Horn, W. W. Phelps, Ira Willes 
and D. B. Huntington left Salt Lake City to explore San- 
pete. 

August 20. The exploring party arrived at the 
present site of Manti, being royally received by the San- 
pitch Indians. 

Nov. 20. A company of about fifty families, under 
the direction of Seth Taft, Isaac Morley and Charles 
Shumway, located Manti. 

November 20. Alnieda, daughter of Abrani and 
Clarinda \Yashburn, was born at Manti, being the first 
white child born in Sanpete Valley. 

December 24. Snow began falling and continued 
until it was over three feet on the level, the deepest ever 
known in the Valley. 

1850. 

January. Chief Tabinan found a white man, naked 
and almost starved, across the Sanpitch from Manti. He 
proved to be one of the party sent to Salt Lake City after 
provisions. 

May. The Manti colonists were attacked by rattle- 
snakes. The reptiles were so numerous that 500 were 
killed in one night. 

June. Of the 240 head of cattle brought in to Manti 
only 113 were alive this month, the others having died 
from cold and hunger. 



48 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

July 1. Chief Walker and band of 700 warriors 
pitched camp in a semi-circle 'round the colonists and re- 
mained during the year. 

Julr 5. President Brigham Young visited the val- 
ley and named the settlement Manti and the County 
Sanpete. 

September. The first school was opened in Manti 
by Jesse W. Fox, and later taught by Mrs. Mary Whit- 
ing. 

September. The first grist mill was erected by Phin- 
eas W. Cook, being the property of Brigham Young and 
Issac Morley. 

1851. 

February 6. Manti was made a city, by act of the 
legislature. 

April 13. The first city election was held and Dan 
Jones elected Mayor, with four aldermen and nine coun- 
cillors. 

April 30. President Brigham Young visited Manti 
and organized a High Council. 

May. Isaac Kehuiinin, who had attempted to settle 
on the site of Ephraim, had to abandon the place through 
fear of Indians. 

May. Jesse W. Fox surveyed the site for Manti 
City. 

June. John Lowry, Sr., appointed presiding bishop 
of Sanpete. 

December. Isaac Morley and Charles Shuniway 
represented Sanpete in the legislature. 
1852. 

Feb. 3. A bill passed the legislature creating San- 
pete County. 

Feb. 5. Gov. Brigham Young appointed George 
Peacock as Probate Judge of Sanpete County. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 49 

March. Sanpete County was organized, with a full 
set of officials. 

March 22. James Allied and families settled Spring 
City. 

November. Pedro Leon and a company of Span- 
iards arrested at Xephi for selling" Indians as slaves. 
They were tried at Manti and ordered to leave. 

1853. 

March. A company under M. D. Hamilton located 
at Mt. Pleasant and built a sawmill. 

April. A postotnee was established at Manti, with 
George Peacock postmaster. 

July IS. Alex Keel killed at Payson, by Arropine, 
and the Walker war began. 

July 10. Guard was fired upon, by Indians, at Ham- 
ilton's mill, east of Mt. Pleasant. 

July 23. Battle between the Utah county militia, 
under ("apt. P. W. Conover and Indians at Mt. Pleasant. 
Six Indians were killed and the settlers removed to the 
fort at Spring City. 

August 2. Indians attacked Spring City and drove 
away cattle and horses. The next day the colonists were 
removed to Manti. 

October 1. John E. Warner and William Mills 
killed by Indians, at Manti. 

October 3. James Nelson, William Luke, William 
Reid and T. F. Clark, killed by Indians at Uinta Springs, 
while en route to Salt Lake City. 

October 5. A census of Sanpete showed the popula- 
tion consisted of "Go people, of whom 118 were the Mt. 
Pleasant and Spring City Colonists. 

November 6. Chase's sawmill was burned by In- 
dians. 

November 10. Stone fort at Manti was completed 



50 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

and all the residents of Sanpete county took refuge in- 
skle the walls. 

December. A severe winter and little provisions on 
account of the "grasshopper war," caused economical 
handling of supplies, but no real suffering. 

1S54. 

January 6. Allred's fort and settlement at Spring 
City was burned by Indians. 

Feb. 4. Ephraim was settled by E. N. Allred and 
others who had remained in Manti fort during the 
winter. 

May. President Brigham Young made a treaty with 
the Indians. 

July 5. Grasshoppers attack the fields of Manti and 
Ephraim, causing much damage to growing crops. 

October. A fort was completed at Ephraim and set- 
tlers built houses inside the enclosure. 

1855. 

Jan. 20. Walker, the Indian Chief, died at Meadow 
Oeek, in Millard county. 

May. AiTopine deeded all of Sanpete county to 
lirigham Young, trustee in trust for the Church of Jesus 
CLrist of Latter-day Saints. 

May 21. A. X. Billings and forty men sent to Elk 
Mountains to build a fort and educate the Indians. 

September 23. The Elk Mountain colony at Mor- 
mon Fort was attacked by Indians, and James W. Hunt, 
William Behunnin and Edward Edwards were killed 
and A. X. Billings was wounded. 

September 24. Elk Mountain colonists started on 
the return trip to Manti. 

September 30. Elk Mountain settlers reach Manti. 

•Derember. The colonies of Manti and Ephraim have 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 51 

another hard winter, on account of grasshoppers having 
destroyed crops. 

1856. 

March 17. Convention met in Salt Lake City to 
form a constitution for a State, Sanpete county being 
represented. 

September 26. The first hand cart company, in 
which were several who became residents of Sanpete 
county, arrived in Salt Lake City. 

December. Snow fell to a great depth in the moun- 
tains and throughout the valley. 

1857. 

May 15. The 47th Quorum of Seventies was organ- 
ized at Ephraim. 

May 16. The 18th Quorum of Seventies organized 
at Manti. Daniel Henrie was appointed president. 

Sept. 15. Utah was declared under military law, 
militia ordered to Echo canyon to intercept the troops. 

December. A general jubilee prevailed throughout 
Sanpete because of excellent crops having been har- 
vsted. 

December. Bishop John E. Reese and Indian Chief 
Tabinan discovered the coal ledge at Wales. 

1858. 

March. James Miller and George M. Bright were 
killed by Indians at Salmon River, and the settlement 
abandoned. 

June 4. Niels Jorgensen and wife, Jens Turkelsen 
and Christian E. Kjerluf were killed by Indians, in Salt 
Creek canyon. 

July. Residents of Utah county who had removed 
south on the approach of Johnson's army returned to 
their homes. 



52 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

October 5. Samuel Brown and Josiah Call were 
killed by Indians on Chicken Creek. 

1859. 

March. Mt. Pleasant was resettled by James Ivie, 
W. S. Seely, David Jones, Isaac Allred and others. 

March 15. Moroni settled by Bishop George W. 
Bradley, I. Woolf, Isaac Morley, H. Gustin, G. H. Brad- 
ley and X. L. Christenson. 

March. Spring City resettled and called "Little 
Denmark," Bishop C. G. Larsen being one of the leading 
men. 

March. Gunnison settled by Bishop Jacob Hutchin- 
son and company. 

March. Bishop John E. Reese, John H. Price, 
Thomas Campbell, Moses Gifford and others settled at 
Wales and opened the coal mines. 

July 14. George W. Bradley ordained bishop of Mo- 
roni. 

July. Fountain Green was located by George W. 
Johnson. 

August. George W. Johnson, James S. Holman, 
Christian Ottosen and others settled at Fountain Green. 

October. Fairview was settled by James H. Jones, 
Lindsay A. Brady, Jehu Cox, Isaac Y. Vance and others, 
who built a fort. 

„ 1860. 

April. Ephraim residents left the fort and erected 
homes on their city lots. 

May 4. Levi Gifford, a member of the Mormon Bat- 
talion, died at Moroni. 

Aug. 7. James Hanahin, a deserter from the United 
States army, was killed by an Indian, near Manti. 

Dec. 4. Chief Arropine died in Sevier county. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 53 

1861. 

April 26. Two hundred wagons with four yoke of 
cattle each, hauling about 15,000 pounds of flour, started 
for the Missouri river after poor emigrants. Some of 
the company were residents of Sanpete county. 

September. Several people were sent from Sanpete 
ami northern counties to settle St. George and the Rio 
Virgin and Santa Clara river valleys. 

1862. 

January 22. A constitution was adopted for the 
State of Deseret, Sanpete being represented in the con- 
vention. 

May 21. Two hundred and sixty-two wagons, 293 
teamsters and 2880 oxen, carrying 113,315 pounds of 
flour, sent from Utah to» assist poor emigrants. Some 
of Sanpete's citizens were among those going and com- 
ing. 

November 21. The 66th Quorum of Seventies was 
organized at Mt. Pleasant, with Levi B. Reynolds as 
president. 

1863. 

March. The county seat was removed from Manti 
to Moroni and George W. Bradley appointed Probate 
Judge. Judge AY. F. Maylett purchased the county jail 
for $350. 

April 5. Battle in Spanish Fork canyon, between 
140 cavalry, under Col. G. S. Evans, and 200 Indians. 
Lieut. F. A. Teale was killed and Indians defeated. 

May 18. Three hundred and eighty-four wagons, 
488 teamsters, some from Sanpete, and 3601 oxen, started 
for the Missouri river, taking 225,969 pounds of flour, 
to aid poor emigrants. This company took 1300 pounds 
yf Utah cotton for sale. 



54 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1864. 

January. County seat removed to Manti and Hon. 
W. F. Maylett appointed Probate Judge. 

March. A party of Ephraim colonists settled at Cir- 
cleville in Piute comity. 

May. The Perpetual Emigration company sent 170 
wagons, 1,717 oxen and 277 men to the Missouri river 
after emigrants. 

July 17. Sanpete flour sold in Salt Lake City for 
§21.25 per 100 pounds. 

November 10. George Peacock and 30 others from 
Sanpete county began a settlement at Alma, on the Se- 
vier river, which was soon abandoned. 

1865. 

Jan. 10. Hon. George Peacock was elected Probate 
Judge of Sanpete. 

January. Sevier and Piute counties were organized, 
being settled by residents of Sanpete. 

April 2. Sanpete citizens were solicited for sub- 
scriptions to build the Deseret Telegraph line. Several 
thousand dollars was subscribed in money, poles and 
labor. 

April 0. John Lowry had a quarrel with Indian 
Chief Jake, in Manti, which act the Indians claim 
brought on the Black Hawk war. 

April 10. Peter Ludvigsen was killed by a band of 
Indians, while collecting' stock on Twelve-Mile creek. 

April 11. Elijah B. Ward and James Anderson were 
killed and scalped by Indians in Salina canyon. 

April 12. Obi. R N. Allred with 84 men defeated 
by Indians in a battle in Salina canyon. Jens Sorenson 
of Ephraim and William Kearnes of Gunnison were 
killed. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 55 

Mar 25. Jens Larsen was killed by Indians, four 
miles north of Fairview. 

May 26. John Given, wife and four children were 
killed by Indians in Thistle Valley. 

May 20. David H. Jones was killed by Indians, 
near Fairview. 

June 24. Isaac Morley died at Fairview. 

July 7-19. Brighani Young visited Sanpete to inves- 
tigate the Indian troubles. 

July 15. Gen. W. S. Snow was put in command of 
the Sanpete military district and ordered against the 
Indians. 

July 18. Gen. W. S. Snow and command engaged 
the Indians in battle in Grass valley. Twelve Indians 
were killed and one white man wounded. 

July 26. Indians attacked Glenwood, killed two 
horses and wounded one of the settlers. 

Sept. 21. Gen. W. S. Snow and command defeated 
the Indians at Fish Lake. Seven Indians were killed 
and Gen. Snow and two men wounded. 

October 8. The first issue of the Deseret News semi- 
weekly was published at Salt Lake City. 

Oct. 17. Indians attacked Ephraim, killing Morten 
P. Kuhr and wife, Elizabeth Peterson, William Thorpe, 
Soren N. Jespersen, Benjamin J. Black and ^Yilliam T. 
Hill. 

Nov. 6. Indians raided the settlement of Circleville, 
killing three men. 

December. Hon. W. F. Maylett served as Probate 
Judge of Sanpete this year. 

1866. 

Jan. 1. The first number of the Juvenile Instructor 
was issued at Salt Lake City, with George Q. Cannon as 
editor. 



56 HISTCfRY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Jan. 10. Boundary lines of Sanpete county defined 
by act of the legislature. 

Jan. IT. Moroni was incorporated as a city. 

Feb. 5. Indians raided Washington and Kane coun- 
ties, killing Doctor Whitmer, a son of John M. Moody's, 
Peter Shirts, and others. 

March 12. Gen. W. S. Snow arrested nine Indians, 
including Chiefs Sanpitch and Ankawakets, at Nephi, 
and placed them in jail at Manti. Four were tried and 
shot, by order of the chiefs, for complicity in the several 
raids on white settlers. 

April 2. Indians raided Salina, killing three per- 
sons, wounding one and driving away all the cattle. 

April 14. Indians imprisoned at Manti broke jail, 
three were shot by the guard and the others pursued to 
2sebo and killed. 

April 18. Chief Sanpitch was killed by a posse in 
pursuit of him for breaking jail, while in hiding north of 
Moroni. 

April 21. Salina was abandoned and the settlers 
took refuge in Sanpete colonies. 

April 22. Thomas Jones was killed and William 
Ivory wounded by Indians, while on guard at Fairview. 

April 25. Indians attacked the settlement of Marys- 
vale, killing Albert Lewis and wounding another man. 

April 29. Andrew Peterson was killed and Thomas 
Davey wounded by Indians, near Fairview. 

May 1. Residents of small settlements in Sanpete, 
Piute and w^evier counties were counselled by President 
Brigham Young to collect in bodies of not less than 150 
as a protection against Indian attacks. 

May fi. Col. Heber P. Kimball and a company of 
50 men arrived in Manti to assist the settlers in fighting 
Indians. 

May 6. Capt. P. W. Conover and fifty men arrived 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 57 

in Mauti and reported to Gen. W. S. Snow for detail 
against Indians. 

May 14. Col. W. B. Pace took charge of the men 
from Utah county. 

June 10. Indiaus attacked Round Valley, killed 
•fames Ivie and a boy and drove away the cattle. 

June 11. Col. W. B. Pace and 25 men intercepted 
the Indians at Gravelly Ford on the Sevier, and had a 
three hours' battle, in which each man fired thirty rounds 
of ammunition. Several Indians were killed and one 
«vhite man wounded. 

June 20. Gen. D. H. Wells took command of the 
»ntire forces against the Indians. 

June 23. James Ivie, Jr., killed a friendly Indian 
in retaliation for the murder of his father. 

June 21. Indians attacked a portion of Col. Heber 
V. Kimball's command, killing Charles Brown and 
wounding Thomas Snow, in Thistle Valley. 

June 20. Jonathan Edmiston, of Manti, was killed 
by Indians in a battle at Spanish Fork. 

July 1. Circle Valley was abandoned and settlers 
returned to Ephraim. 

July 12. Capt. Bigler and 60 men from Davis county 
arrived at Mt. Pleasant to relieve the Salt Lake county 
troops. 

July 27. Indians made a night raid on the stock of 
Ephraim and Manti and drove away 150 head. Capt. 
Bigler pursued them into Castle Valley without recover- 
ing the stock or having an engagement. 

Aug. 15. George Peacock and W. S. Snow were 
elected members of the legislative assembly from San- 
pete county. 

Dec. 28. Deseret Telegraph line opened to Manti. 



58 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1867. 

Jan. 7. John Lowry, Sr., one of the Sanpete pio- 
neers, died at Manti. 

March 21. Indians raided Glenwood, killing Jens 
Peter Peterson and wife and Mary Smith. 

April 20. Richfield and Glenwood settlements were 
abandoned, the settlers returning to Sanpete Valley. 

May 1. Gen. D. H. Wells released Gen. W. S. Snow 
aid placed Gen. W. B. Pace in command of the Sanpete 
Military District. 

June 1. Louis Lund was killed and Jasper Robert- 
eon wounded by Indians, while herding stock near Foun- 
tain Green. 

June 2. Maj. John W. Vance and Sergt. Heber 
Houtz were killed by Indians on Twelve Mile creek. 

July 19. Grasshoppers came in great numbers and 
destroyed most all the crops in Sanpete. 

Aug. 13. Indians attacked Spring City, killed James 
Meeks and Andrew Johansen and wounded William 
Blain. 

Sept. 4. John Hay was killed by Indians, while 
burning lime near Gunnison. 

Nov. 21. First issue of the Deseret Evening News 
appeared in Salt Lake City, copies being sent to San- 
pete. 

Dec. 17. Bishop Caleb G. Edwards died at Ephraim. 

1868. 

Feb. 14. Ephraim was incorporated as a city, with 
an area of one and one-half square miles. 

Feb. 20. Mt. Pleasant was made a city, with an area 
of thirty square miles. 

April 6. Indians attacked a company, under Bishop 
Olsen, on the Sevier river, near Richfield, killed Lars A. 






HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 59 

Justesen and Charles Wilson and wounded R. Thomp- 
son. 

May. Grasshoppers destroyed much of the grain. 

June 22. Heber 0. Kimball died in Salt Lake City. 

June 25. Niels Christopherson and Peter Smith of 
Manti, Peter Nilsen of Fair view and Chris Jensen and 
Chris Nebeker were drowned at Robinson's Ferry, on 
Green River. . 

July 5. Seth Child shot and wounded an Indian, 
who proved to be friendly. 

July 11. Indians raided Ephraim and drove away 
most of the cattle. 

August 19. A treaty was made with the Indians in 
Strawberry Valley and they ceased hostilities. 

September 26. Indians attacked Fairview and drove 
away eighteen horses, killing James Miller and son. 

Oct. 16. Zion's Co-operative Mercantile Institution 
was opened for business in Salt Lake City, and branch 
houses established at all important places. 

October. George P. Billings and others from San- 
pete Valley were engaged in Weber canyon, building a 
grade for the Union Pacific railroad. 

1869. 

February. Co-operative merchandising was intro- 
duced by President Brigham Young, and the benefits ex- 
plained. 

March 1. Navajo Indians raided Washington and 
Kane counties, killing three friendly Piutes and driving 
away 50 head of stock. 

March 8. The Deseret University was opened in Salt 
Lake City. 

May 10. The Pacific Railway was completed and 
Brigham Young drove the last spike at Promontory. Sev- 
eral residents of Sanpete county assisted in the work. 






60 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

June 28. The townsites of Spring City, Fairview 
and Fountain Green were entered in the land office at 
Salt Lake City, by Probate Judge George Peacock. 

Aug. 2. George Taylor was elected a member of. the 
legislature from Sanpete. 

August. Grasshoppers destroyed much of the grain 
in Cache, Washington and Kane counties, but did no 
damage in Sanpete. 

Oct. 31. Indians made a raid on Kanara, Kane 
county. 

December. The Mormon emigration from Europe 
for the year was about 3,000 persons, some coming to 
Sanpete. 

1870. 

Jan. 1. The Weekly Tribune was issued in Salt 
Lake City and circulated in Sanpete. 

Jan. 10. Last rail of the Utah Central railroad was 
laid and last spike driven by Brigham Young. Many 
residents of Sanpete valley assisted in building this road. 

February 11. Spring City was incorporated by act of 
the legislature. 

February 12. Woman Suffrage bill passed the legis- 
lature and was signed by Acting Governor S. A. Mann. 

May 20. A band of Indians came to Manti and made 
a treaty with President Orson Hyde. 

June 18. John Stuart, of Fairview, was convicted 
of killing an Indian girl and sentenced to be shot July 
11th. 

June 25. John Stuart broke jail and escaped. 

July. Grasshoppers came so thick as to darken the 
suns rays, and did much damage. 

Aug. 1. Women voted for the first time. Returns 
were: W. H. Hooper, for Delegate to Congress, 1650; 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 61 

W. S. Snow, for representative, 1648, and George Pea- 
cock, for representative, 1,638 votes. 

September 15. Gov. J. W. Shaffer issued a procla- 
mation prohibiting drill, muster or gathering of the Utah 
Militia, except by order of the United States Marshal. 

1871. 

April 8. Grasshoppers again appeared in the coun- 
ties north of Sanpete, but few were seen in this county. 

April 15. The Salt Lake Tribune, daily, was issued. 

May 1. Ground was broken for the Utah Southern 
railroad, and several men and teams from Sanpete 
county went to work on the grade. 

June 30. Geo. A. Black, acting Governor, issued a 
proclamation against all persons participating in mili- 
tary drill or muster, under D. H. Wells. 

1872. 

February 16. Fairview was incorporated as a city, 
with an area of twenty square miles. 

February 19. A constitutional convention met in 
Salt Lake City and framed a State Constiution. 

March 18. The vote for and against a State consti- 
tution stool 25,321 for and 368 against the adoption. 

June 1. The Woman's Exponent was first published 
in Salt Lake City. 

June 16. Xiels Heizelt was killed by Indians at 
Twelve Mile creek. 

September 7. Gen. Morrow and command entered 
Mt. Pleasant to force the Indians on their reservation. 
a treaty was made and tiie Indians returned to their 
reservation, the troops going to Douglas. 

1873. 

May. May field was settled by Simon Hansen, Mads 
P. Sorenson, Ole 0. Olsen and others. 



62 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

December. The Utah Posten, the first Danish paper 
published in Utah, was issued. 

1874. 

May 2. The Fairview Coal Mining and Coke com- 
pany was- incorporated. 

July 24. Anniversary of the entrance of pioneers 
into Salt Lake Valley was celebrated in the capital, over 
1.000 singers participating in the new tabernacle. 

August. At the general election Hon. George Q. 
Cannon received 2160 votes and Hon. R. N. Baskin 3, for 
Delegate to Congress, in Sanpete county. 

1875. 

January 22. Indians were first married according 
to the ordinances of the Mormon church. 

March 3. Rev. D. J. McMillan preached the first 
Gentile sermon in Sanpete, at Mt. Pleasant. 

March 29. The entire tribe of Shebit Indians, num- 
bering 117, was baptized into the Mormon church, at St. 
George. 

April 20. The first mission school under the Presby- 
terian Board of Missions was opened at Mt. Pleasant, by 
J. S. McMillan. 

April. About twenty families from Ephraim re- 
moved to Mayfield. 

August 5. Joseph A. Young died at Manti. 

September 1. George A. Smith died in Salt Lake 
City. 

December 11. A bill was presented in the House 
of Representatives to enable the people of Utah to form 
a State government, and for the admission of Utah into 
the Union. 

1876. 

July 24. Levi Larsen was killed at Ephraim. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 63 

September 20. John D. Lee was convicted of murder 
in the first degree for connection with the Mountain 
Meadow massacre. 

October 10. Judge Jacob Boreman sentenced John 
D. Lee to be shot on Friday, January 26, 1877. 

November. At the general election held this year, 
Hon. George Q. Cannon received 1,921 and Hon. R. N. 
Raskin 10 votes, in Sanpete county, for Delegate to Con- 
gress. 

1877. 

March 23. John D. Lee was executed at Mountain 
Meadow. 

April 20. Ground was broken for the Manti temple. 

April 21. The site for the Manti temple was dedi- 
cated. 

July 4. Sanpete Stake was organized, with Canute 
Peterson president, Henry Beal and John B. Maiben 
counsellors. 

July 10. Mayfield was organized as a ward, with 
Ole C. Olsen bishop. 

August 20. President Brigham Young died at his 
residence in Salt Lake City. 

September. Joseph S. McMillan and wife opened a 
Presbyterian mission school in Manti. 

October. Miss M. Fishback of Illinois took charge 
of a Presbyterian mission school opened in Ephraim by 
J. S. McMillan. 

1878. 

June 22. Eleven persons were drowned in Funk's 
Lake. 

November 15. Hon. James A. Allred was appointed 
Probate Judge of Sanpete county. 

November 16. Orson Hyde died at Spring City. 

November. Hon. George Q. Cannon was the only 



64 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

candidate for Delegate to Congress, and received 1,292 
votes in Sanpete county. 

1S79. 

April 14. Cornel' stones of the Manti temple were 
laid, John Taylor laying the southeast, Edward Hunter 
the southwest, F. W. Cox the northwest, and H. 8. El- 
dredge the northeast. 

April 24. The first Utah wheat, including some 
from Sanpete, was shipped to Liverpool, from San Fran- 
cisco, by S, W. Sears. 

May 30. Jezreel Shomaker, one of the Sanpete 
pioneers, died at his home in Manti. 

June 2. Frederick W. Cox died at Manti. 

October 4. The first number of the Contributor was 
issued at Salt Lake City. 

1880. 

March 4. The Salt Lake Weekly Herald was pub- 
lished and circulated in Sanpete. 

June 23. The Utah Southern railroad was com- 
pleted to Frisco, and the Sanpete Valley projected from 
Nephi to Wales. 

July 20. The U. S. Census report showed Utah had 
a population of 143,090, an increase of 56,904 since 1870. 

December 6. George H. Luke and Chris Madsen of 
Manti were killed while working on the Denver and Rio 
Grande railroad in Colorado. 

December. At the general election this year Hon. 
George Q. Cannon received 1,673 and Hon. Allen G. 
Campbell 43 votes, in Sanpete county, for Delegate to 
Congress. 

1881. 

January 23. Freeborn De Mill died at Manti. 
May 13. O. W. C. Moenster died at Sterling. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 65 

October 3. Orson Pratt died at his residence in Salt 
Lake City. 

November. Manti Presbyterian Crack was erected 
this season, at a cost of $4000. Mis® Mary Crowell opened 
a Presbyterian mission school at Gunnison. 
1882. 
February 16. The Edmunds-Tucker bill passed the 
U cited States Senate. 

April 10. A constitutional convention met in Salt 
Lake City and framed a State constitution. 

August 18. The Utah Commission arrived in Utah 
and prepared for the election. 

November 7. A general election was held and Hon. 
John T. Caine received 1,671 and P. T. Van Zile 123 votes 
in Sanpete, for Delegate to Congress. 

November 7. Hon. William Anderson was elected 
Probate Judge of Sanpete county. 
1883. 
April 1. The Kio Grande Western railroad was com- 
pleted through Utah to Salt Lake City. 

June 10. Five young persons, some having relatives 
in Sanpete, were drowned in Utah lake, near Benjamin. 
October 16. Bishop Edward Hunter died in Salt 
Lake City. 

November. Rev. P. A. H. Franklin began mission- 
ary work under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, at Mt. Pleasant. 

1884. 
January 28. The Brigham Young Academy at Provo 
was burned. 

August. Sanpete was represented in the Territorial 
Council by Hon. L. T. Tuttle and in the House by R, R. 
Lewellvn and A. B. Thurber. 



6b HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

September. Hon. Jacob Johnson was United States 
Commissioner for Sanpete county. 

November 3. Hans Ottoson was murdered in Manti. 

Sanpete had this year IS miles of railroad in the 
Sanpete Valley, valued at #33,478. The county popula- 
tion was 13,867. At the general election Hon. John T. 
Caine received 1655 and Hon. Ransford Smith 48 votes 
for Delegate to Congress. 

1885. 

February 28. James S. Parsons of Manti was killed 
by a horse falling on him. 

April 24. The Home Sentinel was first issued in 
Manti, by James T. Jakeman. 

September 1. Diphtheria caused a complete quar- 
antine of Gunnison. 

October 13. Soren Christensen of Moroni was killed, 
while hunting in the mountains. 

November 29. U. S. Deputy Marshals made a raid 
on Manti in quest of men practicing polygamy. 

1886. 

February* 27. Big Hill Reservoir Company incorpo- 
rated at Spring City. 

July 30. Rock work on Manti temple completed. 

October. The Methodist church in Mt. Pleasant was 
elected, and a chapel built in Moroni and Ephraim this 
year. 

November. At the general election Hon. John T. 
Caine received 1,665 and Hon. W. M. Ferry 122 votes in 
Sanpete, for Delegate to Congress. 

1887. 

March 10. The Moroni Irrigation Company was in- 
corporated. 

May 23. C. C. X. Darius was arrested at Ephraim 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 67 

for violation of the Edmunds-Tucker law concerning plu- 
ral wives. 

May 24. Manti temple was searched by U. S. Mar- 
shals looking for polygamists. 

June 8. Spring City was raided by United States 
officers, seeking offenders of the Edmunds law. 

June 22. Manti was entered by U. S. Marshals and 
John Buchanan and Richard Hall, Sr., arrested for viola- 
tion of the Edmunds law. 

June 28. Hon. Aaron Hardy, of Moroni, was ar- 
rested for violating the law concerning plural mar- 
riage. 

July 15. John S. Jones of Manti was murdered at 
Boco, Colorado. 

July 22. Bishop W. T. Reid of Manti was arrested 
for polygamy. 

August 13. President Canute Peterson of Ephraim 
was arrested for violating the Edmunds law. 

August 20. President Canute Peterson was dis- 
charged on promising to obey the law. 

September 14. Hon. Aaron Hardy was sentenced to 
six months' imprisonment. 

October 25. Henry Beal, Peter N. Peterson and 
Peter C. Hansen were sentenced to imprisonment. 

November 3. Hans C. Hansen of Gunnison was sen- 
tenced for violating the Edmunds law. 

December. The Edmunds-Tucker act of this year 
disfranchised the women and created the right of dower. 

1888. 

April 15. Chester Draper was accidentally shot and 
killed by Percy Candland, at Chester. 

April 25. Shocks of Earthquake were felt at Eph- 
raim. 

May 21. The Manti temple was dedicated. 



68 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

June 22. The Gunnison Irrigation company was in- 
corporated. 

July 8. O. S. Cox, one of the pioneers of Sanpete, 
died at Manti. 

October 27. Richard Henningsen of Manti was 
killed in a mine at Tintic. 

November 30. D. B. Funk died at Funk's Lake. 

December. Hon. Jacob Johnson was appointed this 
year as Probate Judge of Sanpete, in compliance with the 
Edmunds law. 

December. At the general election this year Hon. 
Jihn T. Caine, People's Party candidate, received 914 
votes, Hon. R. N. Baskin, Liberal candidate, 128 votes, 
and Hon. B. P. Thurman, known as the ''Sagebrush 
Democracy" candidate, 19 votes, in Sanpete for Delegate 
to Congress. 

1889. 

February 18. The Oak (/reek Irrigation company 
was incorporated, at Fairview. 

March 11. The Birch Greet Irrigation Company, at 
Fairview, was incorporated. 

March 11. The West Point Irrigation Company, at 
Wales, was incorporated. 

April 1. The North Six-Mile Creek Irrigation Com- 
pany was incorporated at Sterling. 

April 10. The Manti Irrigation Company was in- 
corporated. 

April 15. The Wales Irrigation Company was in- 
corporated. 

May 25. John O. Nielsen was killed by a rock fall- 
ing on his head, while digging a well at Mt. Pleasant. 

August 10. Floods in Manti and the southern part 
of Sanpete caused much damage, and a boy was killed 
at Mavneld. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. t>9 

September 25. Erick Erieksen was killed while 
threshing at Mt. Pleasant. 

November 22. The Phoenix mill at Fountain Green 
was burned. 

November 28. Parlane McFarlane shot and killed 
H. C. Hansen and W. H. Golding at Manti. 

1890. 

February 25. The Gooseberry and Cottonwood Irri- 
gation company, at Fairview, was incorporated. 

April 8. John Gribble was killed by the falling of a 
bank in the hills west of Manti. 

May 3. The Meadow Irrigation Company, at Fair- 
view, was incorporated. 

May 19. A Woman's Suffrage convention was held 
in Manti. 

May 27. The Gunnison Reservoir broke, causing 
considerable damage. 

May 29. John Cloward of Moroni was killed by his 
horse falling over a ledge in the mountains. 

June 21. • The Milbum Irrigation Company was in- 
corporated. 

June. The County Register was first published in 
Ephraim by James T. Jakeman. 

July 13. A flood in Manti destroyed considerable - 
property. 

July 19. A general flood of water throughout south- 
ern Sanpete damaged the crops to an estimated value of 
$25,000. 

September 4. A Scandinavian reunion was held in 
Ephraim. 

October 1. Peter Lauritzen of Moroni was killed by 
a bull. 

November 6. J. W. Hoggan's sawmill in Manti can- 
von was burned, causing him a loss of $8,000. 



70 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

November. The Pyramid was published in Mt. 

Pleasant by A. B. Williams. 

Dec. 29. A grand celebration was held in Manti, on 
the completion of the Eio Grande Western railroad to 
that city. 

December. At the general election Hon. John T. 
Caine received 1,216 and Hon. C. 0. Goodwin 174 votes 
in Sanpete for Delegate to Congress. 

December. The United States Census report showed 
the population of Sanpete county to be 13,146. 

1891. 

April 16. The Chester Sanpitch Canal Company was 
incorporated. 

April 18. The Twin Creek Irrigation Company was 
incorporated at Mt. Pleasant. 

April 18. The Pleasant Creek Irrigation Company 
was incorporated at Mt. Pleasant. 

May. The Rio Grande Western railroad was ex- 
tended south into Sevier county. 

October. The Wasatch Academy at "Mt. Pleasant 
was completed and occupied. 

1892. 

March 9. The Mayfield Irrigation Company was in- 
corporated. 

May 10. The Deseret Irrigation Company was in- 
corporated at Wales. 

November. At the general election Hon. J. L. Raw- 
lins received 977 votes, Hon. Frank J. Cannon 966 votes 
and Hon. C. E. Allen 59 votes for Delegate to Congress. 

1893. 

June 20. The Moroni and Mt. Pleasant Irrigation 
and Ditch Company was incorporated at Moroni. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 71 

June 28. The Coal Fork Irrigating Company at Mt. 
Pleasant was incorporated. 

October 13. The Messenger was first published at 
Manti, with Joel Sbomaker editor. 

October 26. President Grover Cleveland signed a 
bill restoring the escheated Mormon church property. 

November 7. Hon. Jacob Johnson was elected a 
member of the Utah legislature and Hon. C. N. Lund 
member of the council for Sanpete. 

November. Gunnison was made a town under the 
direction of the county court. 

November 29. The first train over the Sanpete Val- 
ley railroad was run to Manti and a great celebration 
held by the citizens. 

December. Hon. W. K. Eeid was appointed Probate 
Judge of Sanpete this year. 

December. The Manti Printing and Publishing 
Company was incorporated. 

December. Free soup houses were established in 
Salt Lake City. 

1S94. 

Jan. 1. The new school building in Manti was dedi- 
cnted. 

March 24. The Spring City Irrigation Company was 
incorporated. 

April 13. The California delegation of Coxey's 
army, numbering 1,200, reach Utah. 

April 20. H. E. Carter organized a company of the 
Industrial Army in Salt Lake City. 

April 20. A company of the National Guard of 
Utah was organized at Mt. Pleasant. 

May 28. The Sanpete Valley Railway Company 
amended its charter to include extension south through 
Cedar Citv. 



72 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

May 12. The Industrial Amir stole a train from 
the Union Pacific at Lehi. 

June 4. Henry Olsen was drowned in a reservoir 
at Mt Pleasant. 

July 10. The bill admitting- Utah as a State passed 
the Senate with but two dissenting votes. 

July 14. A heavy flood did much damage at Foun- 
tain Green. 

July 16. The Statehood bill was signed by Grover 
Cleveland. 

August 20. The Utah pioneers, including several 
from Sanpete county, Hons. George P. Billings, Daniel 
Henrie and Horace Thornton being: in the list, were en- 
tertained by the Saltair Beach company. 

September 15. Joel Shoemaker represented Sanpete 1 
ccunty in the National Irrigation Congress at Denver, 
Colorado. 

September 26. James Bums, Sheriff of Sanpete 
was shot and killed by Moen Kofford and Peter Meikle. 

November 7. The Sanpete Valley railroad was com- 
pleted and first train run to Morrison. 

November 9. The Cottonwood Canal and Tunnel 
Company was incorporated at Ephraim. 

November. At the general election Hon. Frank J. 
Cannon received 1,420 votes, Hon. J. L. Rawlins 1,370 
votes and Hon. H. L. Gaut 5 votes for Congressman. 

November 26. W. T. Redd, Henry Beal and Swen O. 
Nielson represented Sanpete in the Trans-Mississippi 
Congress at St. Louis. 

November. The Hons. J. D. Page of Mt. Pleasant, 
C. P. Larsen of Manti, A. C. Lund of Ephraim, Lauritz 
Larsen of Spring: City, James C. Peterson of Fairview 
JoSeph Jolley of Moroni and Parley Christiansen of May- 
field were elected members of the Constitutional Conven- 
tion for Sanpete. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 73 

December. Much excitement was caused oyer al- 
leged election frauds in Sanpete county. 

December. Hon. Joseph Judd was appointed Pro- 
bate Judge of Sanpete this year. 

December. The report of the Statistician for this 
year showed the population of Sanpete was 15,538. There 
v. ere 1,540 farms, 60,010 acres improved and 10,970 acres 
unimproved land. The county had 111,331 sheep, 1638 
ccws, 11,260 range cattle, 5863 horses and 1,238 swine. 
The farm products were: Wheat, 353,257 bushels; corn, 
1,726 bushels; oats, 135,077 bushels; barley, 16,091 bush- 
els; rye, 1,170 bushels; potatoes, 70,172 bushels; alfalfa, 
27,985 tons; hay, 11,616 tons; butter, 212,532 pounds; 
cheese, 8,180 pounds; honey, 61,220 pounds. There were 
422 acres planted to fruit, trees, 90 industrial concerns, 
88 stores, 2 railroads and 5 coal mines. 

1895. 

January 1. Albert Tuttle of Manti was accidentally 
killed by falling on the pavement. 

June 17. The West View Irrigation Company was 
incorporated at Gunnison. 

Septemer. P. O. Hansen, the veteran Scandinavian 
missionary, died in Manti. 

September 3. Joel Shomaker was appointed by 
Gov. Caleb W. West, as a delegate from Sanpete to the 
National Irrigation Congress at Albuquerque, New Mex- 
ico. 

Nov. 5. At the general election Hon. C. E. Allen re- 
ceived 1,529 votes, Hon. B. H. Eoberts 1,420 votes and 
Hon. James Hoggan 16 votes in Sanpete county for Con- 
gressman. Hon. Jacob Johnson was elected Judge of 
the Seventh Judicial district and Hons. W. D. Candland. 
Peter Thompson and John Lowry members of the first 
State Legislative Assembly. 



74 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

November. The vote on the State constitution in 
Sanpete was 2,644 for and 295 against its adoption. The 
vote of Utah was 31,305 for and 7,687 against the consti- 
tution. Woman suffrage was incorporated in the con- 
stitution. 

December. Hon. Jacob Johnson was appointed this 
year by President Benjamin Harrison Probate Judge for 
Sanpete county. 

1896. 

January 4. Grover Cleveland, President of the 
United States, issued a proclamation admitting Utah 
into the union of States. 

February- 18. The Gunnison City and Antelope Val- 
ley Canal Company was incorporated. 

February 25. The Bobbins and Kearnes Dam and 
Canal Company was incorporated at Gunnison. 

March 4. The Mammoth Reservoir Company was in- 
corporated at Manti. 

March 12. The Fayette Canal Company was incor- 
porated. 

March 14. The Gunnison Highland Canal Company 
was incorporated. 

November 5. At the general election Hon. J. F. 
Allied was elected State Senator and Hons. Aaron 
Hardy and X. C. Sorenson members of the Legislature 
for Sanpete County. 

December 2. George P. Billings, ex-Sheriff and a 
pioneer of Sanpete, died at his home in Manti. 

December The first vote of the State for Presi- 

dent, of the United Stales stood: For \Y. J. Bryan, 50,987 
majority over William McKinley. The entire vote being 
77,877. Sanpete County stood: W. J. Bryan, 3,286, and 
William McKinley, 1,821. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 75 

1S97. 

April 17. The Willow Creek Irrigation Company 
was incorporated at Axtell. 

December 22. The Sand Ridge Reservoir and Canal 
Company was incorporated at Ephraim. 

1898. 

June Tlie Sanpete Democrat was first issued in 
Manti, with L. A. Lauber publisher. 

July 25. A disastrous lire in Mt. Pleasant caused a 
loss of $40,000 and several business houses. 

September 2. President Wilford Woodruff died in 
California. 

October The History of Sanpete was published 
by W. H. Lever. 

October The war with Spain was had this year 

and several men volunteered from Sanpete County. W. 
J. Staeey, Captain of Company "F," Utah National 
Guard of Manti, was appointed Second Lieutenant in 
Battery C, Utah Light Artillery. 



MANTI. 



/T^AXTI is pleasantly situated on tbe eastern side of 

/ 1 1 Sanpete Valley, about the center of the county, 125 
miles south from Salt Lake City, and surrounded 
by broad, fertile fields that comprise a portion of the great 
"Granary of Utah." The altitude is a little over 5,000 
feet, the climate very mild, seldom below zero in winter 
and never above 100 degrees in August, and the location 
so protected by mountain ranges as to be perpetually 
free from cyclones, hurricanes and destructive storms of 
the elements of an overcharged electrified atmosphere. 
The site stands upon an alluvial cone overlooking the 
winding river, the rolling harvest fields and the great 
expanse of tillable area to the north and the south, com- 
manding a view for many miles in either direction. No 
more suitable spot could have been selected by the 
pioneers to found this primitive city of central Utah. 

On the evening of November 20, 1819, the little band 
of noble sons and daughters camped on the banks of the 
clear mountain stream, now rushing through the center 
of this city, and calmly yet resolutely surveyed the bleak, 
uninviting desert, out of which they expected to carve 
homes for themselves and children. The anticipations 
were certainly anything but pleasant, for the colonists 
were in the midst of an overwhelming host of Indians, 
who stood ready, on the slightest provocation, to massa- 
cre every man, woman and child and blot ou£ all indica- 
tions of civilization before even a farrow w; Mirned to 
make an irrigating ditch. Winter was col on and 

houses could not be constructed before the • were 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 77 

sealed in the embraces of deep, impenetrable snowbanks; 
the food supply was very limited, with no prospect of any 
aid except from Salt Lake City, and the icebound walls 
of Salt ('reck canyon would soon bo locked against the 
ox trains, their only means of transportation. 

Seth Taft looked about him to the north and the 
south and diseouragingly remarked: "This valley is 
only a long, narrow canyon, and not even a jackrabbit 
can exist on its desert soil." Me proved the sincerity of 
his thoughts by leaving the following spring, under the 
impression that the colonists would soon starve. The 
first winter, the facts concerning which have been re- 
corded in the county history, was certainly a most dis- 
couraging season, and the late spring was almost 
enough evidence that Taft had spoken the truth con- 
cerning Sanpete Valley. But the summer was favorable, 
houses were constructed of logs, stones and dugouts and 
crops were grown in the field then held as common prop- 
erty. After one year's residence the conditions were 
more pleasing, the provisions plentiful, the weather very 
much modified and homes more comfortable. 

The Legislature recognized the value of a city organ- 
ization for Manti, and on February 6, 1851, a bill was 
passed and approved by the Governor incorporating the 
city. The area then included ten miles, extending from 
Six -Mile Creek on the south to Willow Creek on the 
north, and from Sanpitch river on the west to the 
Wasatch mountains on the east. In April, 1851, the first 
city election was held and all "free white male inhabi- 
tants of the age of eighteen years" were permitted to 
vote. The officers elected were: Dan Jones, Mayor; Jez- 
reel Shomaker, Phineas VV. Cook, O. S. ('ox and dames 
C. Brown, Aldermen; John I>. Chase, Edwin Whiting, 
Abram Washburn, George P. Billings, Isaac Morley, Jr., 

Jr., and 



78 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Cyrenus H. Taylor, Councillors. The bill incorporating 
the city provided that after the second Monday in Feb- 
ruary, 1863, the city officials should consist of one Mayor, 
two Aldermen and three Councillors. 

For many years the history of Manti was practically 
a record of the county, for the early settlements had to 
be abandoned on account of Indian troubles and this city 
became a place of refuge for colonists driven from their 
homes by their savage foes. In the spring of 1S53 a post- 
office was established with Judge George Peacock as 
postmaster, and communication with the world was 
opened and the city began to assume metropolitan airs 
for a place so much isolated. The Indians, however, did 
not appreciate the evidences of civilization and made all 
the trouble they could by stealing cattle and attacking 
defenseless herders and travelers. This necessitated the 
erection of a stone fort for the protection of people and 
property, and during the summer of 1S3.*> the walls were 
built by co-operative efforts, each man having a certain 
portion to erect according to his ability to perform the 
labor required. 

While the Indians, under Chief Walker, were driving 
away rattle and harassing the colonists at every oppor- 
tunity, a greater foe came unexpectedly from some un- 
known source, and threatened immediate starvation to 
every family in the city. The grasshoppers entered the 
helds and gardens and greedily devoured every species 
of vegetation except a wild spinach or "pig weed" that 
sprang up at the foot of •'Temple Hill," where the hrst 
cam}) was made. The women and children collected 
these weeds ami cooked them for food while the meTi 
battled against grasshoppers. All crops were cut short 
during 1855-6 by the pests, but in 1857 a bountiful har- 
vest cheered the then disheartened colonists and peace 
and contentment once more smiled upon the people. The 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 79 

settlers located upon their several city lots and began 
making improvements according to their limited means 
and desires of individual families. 

In October, 1853, the first city census showed that 
Manti contained 047 men, women and children, while the 
entire county population was only 7<m, the settlers at 
Pleasant Creek supplying the number of 118. This little 
band of hardy pioneers battled Indians and grasshop- 
pers and cared for visitors from Salt Lake City and mili- 
tiamen from the north who tendered their services to 
guard the homes and herds of the settlers while they 
gathered their crops and hauled sufficient wood for win- 
ter. Though few in numbers they had a school taught 
by Mrs. Mary Whiting, a local theatrical troupe called 
"The Amateur Thespians," under the management and 
training of Mrs. Esther Smith, a small grist mill erected 
by Phineas W. Cook and sawmill built by Charles Shuiu- 
way. A regular military organization was kept in readi- 
ness to repel Indian attacks and daily details were made 
by the commanding officer for sentinels at important 
points. 

The entire valley was covered with a dense growth 
of sagebrush, which had to be cleared and burned before 
the fields could be prepared for irrigation and cultiva- 
tion. Ditches were constructed to carry the water from 
city creek to the several fields under the co-operative 
plan of a union of labor and division of interests. The 
cows were herded on a tract, set apart and known as the 
range and a general community plan existed in every 
public effort. The division of fields remains at present, 
and in locating a particular tract of land the city water 
schedule describes it as in the "Danish Field," "Cane 
Field/' "Middle Field," "Old Field," "Brigham Field" or 
"Quarry Field," all having distinctive marks for botin- 
darv lines. The natural flow of the creek was soon ap- 



80 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

propriated by claimants in the several fields and in the 
summer season the channel below the city is dry. 

After several years of inexpensive co-operation, 
when water taxes were unknown and labor answered all 
demands for annual ditch maintenance, the Manti Irri- 
gation Company was incorporated and later the City 
Council assumed the responsibilities of water distribu- 
tion. The company was incorporated April 10, 1889, 
under a Territorial law passed in 1884, denning the du- 
ties and privileges of corporations. The capital stock 
was placed at $100,000, divided among the original share- 
ladders in the neighborhood or community ditches. Since 
then reservoirs have been built, springs developed and 
the mountains tunneled to increase the water and enable 
new claimants to cultivate additional acres. The tilla- 
ble area, now reaches about 10,000 acres and more land 
is annually reclaimed from desert aridity and planted to 
grain, alfalfa and fruit trees. 

.Manti, properly speaking, began its history-making 
separate from the county after the treaty made with the 
Indians in 1872, and has grown in business importance 
until it occupies a prominent position among the leading 
cities of Utah. No extensive efforts have been made at 
establishing manufacturing concerns, but the natural 
facilities are excellent for building and maintaining 
woolen mills, sugar factories, tanneries and other indus- 
tries. The city has unequaled water power, a perfect 
system of waterworks and a climate that cannot be ex- 
celled anywhere in the West. The raw materials, with 
inexhaustible coal supplies, best railway facilities and a 
boundless market, double the inducements for investing 
capital, constructing manufacturing works and making 
of this city the industrial metropolis of Utah. 

The finest oolite and gray sand building stone crops 
out from the eastern foothills, the mountains furnish 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 81 

abundance of native timbers and all other elements of 
home and factory building are everywhere present The 
average annual rainfall does not exceed six inches and 
ihe atmosphere is dry and invigorating. Xo pulmonary 
diseases can exist, miasmatic complaints are unknown 
and health in all its perfect fullness may be seen in the 
ruddy cheeks and strong constitutions of the people. The 
Warm Springs on the south possess extraordinary medi- 
cinal qualities, and if properly cared for and judiciously 
managed would soon become famous the world over as 
the greatest sanitarium of the West. With these and 
many other natural advantages the Temple City, now a 
beautiful place of about. 3000 inhabitants, may aspire to 
the second city of magnitude and importance within the 
State. 

April 20, 1877, ground was broken for the magnifi- 
cent temple now adorning the hill under whose protec- 
tion the pioneers spent their first and most severe win- 
ter. Four days later the site was dedicated by President 
Brigham Young and work began on that consecrated 
structure. April 14, 1879, the corner-stones were laid in 
the presence of an immense throng of Saints. John 
Taylor laid the southeast. Edward Hunter the south- 
west, F. W. C\>x the northwest and H. S. Eldredge the 
northeast. The building was completed and dedicated 
May 21, 1888, and when fully finished with cut-stone 
steps leading from the road to the west door and trees 
and grass planted between the terrace walls will have 
cost, over one and a half millions of dollars. The enor- 
mous sum was raised by the free-will donations of resi- 
dents of the Manti Temple district. 

The building is construct ed of native Avhite oolite 
stone, quarried within a few hundred yards of the site, 
and required the labor of the most skilled artisans ob- 
tainable. Several Manti citizens were prominent in the 



82 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

work of erecting this edifice and held responsible posi- 
tions. The main building is 172A_ feet long and 95 feet 
wide and from the ground to the square is 92 feet in 
height. The east tower is 179 feet and the west tower 
169 feet high. The base of the building is 63 feet above 
the road and designed to be approached by stone steps. 
Hon. J. D. T. McAllister is the president of the temple 
and has a corps of able men and women devoted to the 
cause of Christianity, laboring under his wise supervi- 
sion. This building is used exclusively for ordinance 
work and is visited every year by hundreds of saints. 

In the early days school facilities were not so good 
as at present, but a schoolhouse was erected the first 
winter and others added as necessity demanded. The 
rapid increase of pupils soon necessitated the use of 
two stone schoolhouses, the upstairs of the courthouse 
and city hall, the council house and even a portion of the 
Tuttle block. In 1892 the voters decided to bond the dis- 
trict for twenty years, for the purpose of securing money 
to erect a suitable central building of sufficient capacity 
for accommodating all the patrons and conducting a 
model modern graded school. The building was. finished 
and dedicated January 1, 1891, some of the home people 
purchasing bonds and advancing money for the work. 
The trustees under whose counsel the house was erected 
were P. II. Madsen, Ferdinand Alder and Lewis Ander- 
son. The stonework was done by E. L. Parry & Sous. 
The building cost 814,270, the heating apparatus $1,700, 
furniture over one thousand dollars and maps, charts and 
other equipments make a total of about 820,000 ex- 
pended on this magnificent structure. It has a seating- 
capacity of 550, contains nine rooms, is three stories in 
height and an ornament to the Tabernacle block, upon 
which it i> erected. The schools are ably conducted 
under the efficient direction of Superintendent A. C. Xel- 




HON. L. T. TUTTLE, 
MANTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 83 

son, and Manti stands out as a prominent city of the 
State in the matter of public schools. The grounds are 
being planted to trees, a library is accumulating and the 
public school of the present is a palace and paradise 
when compared to the past, though the former schools 
were probably the best the people could erect and sup- 
port. 

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 
commonly known as the Mormon church, was organized 
with the settlement of the colony, all of the pioneers be- 
ing called as missionaries by President Rrigham Young 
to build up the country and civilize the Indians. Manti 
was made a ward under the control of Father Morley and 
the regular church organizations were instituted. In 
later years two wards were created, the dividing line be- 
ing Union street. The north ward is presided over by 
Bishop William T. Reid, with Henry Parsons and J. H. 
YVodskow as counsellors, and the south ward by Bishop 
Hans Jensen, with Hans Westenskow and Jens Mickel- 
sen as counsellors. Each ward has its regular Sunday 
schools and ward meetings, while general convocations 
are held in the Tabernacle every Sunday in the after- 
noon 

In September, 1877, J. S. McMillan and wife opened 
a mission school in this city, under the auspices of the 
Presbyterian Board of Missions. On Saturday evening, 
April 20, 1878, Rev. R. G. McMece preached in Fox's 
hall and the Presbyterian church Avas organized with 
ten members. Ole Xelson, Rasmus Miller and Theodore 
E. Friese were elected ruling elders. Later F. W. Blom 
and Andrew Nelson were ordained elders and John F. 
Braithwaite deacon. Rev. (i. W. Martin became the 
stated supply of the church in 1879 and continued in that 
capacity till 1893, when he was installed as pastor, which 
office he continues to hold. The Sumla}' school, super in- 



84 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

tended by George R. Braithwaite, lias an enrollment of 
about forty pupils. The mission day-school has had an 

attendance of from sixty to \'2o scholars since beginning 
in 1877. The church building was erected in 1881 of 
native oolite stone at a cost of £4000. This constitutes the 
schoolhouse and place of worship where regular services 
are held. Following is a list of the teachers employed 
from the beginning of the mission: Mrs. J. S. McMillan. 
Miss E. W. Alexander, Miss Fanny Galbraith, Miss c. A. 
Farrand, Miss L. E. Leonard, Miss Capitola Slade, Miss 
Jennie Stoops, Miss F. < >. Quillen, Miss Viola Wynne, 
Miss M. B. Barrett, Miss L. A. Wiles, Miss Emily Mc- 
Carty, Miss Eftie Williams, Miss Louise Elolsclaw and 
Miss S. B. Sutherland. Some of their pupils have become 
public school teachers, one has served as County Super- 
intendent and one has been a city principal. Many are 
married and residing in this and neighboring cities. 

The commercial inteiests of Manti began by co-op- 
eration in early days, ami the organization of the Co-op 
store, sheep herding association, cow herding company 
and similar co-operative endeavors. Before the building 
of railroads grain and produce was hauled to Salt Lake 
city and the mining towns of southern Utah and eastern 
Nevada. Teams would make the trip to Salt Lake City 
loaded with the products of this city and return with 
merchandise. Much of the business was done on a script 
or due bill plan, the stores issuing orders payable in 
merchandise for labor and produce purchased. The 
business of freighting was then a most profitable occupa- 
tion and many citizens accumulated sufficient to pur- 
chase homes and farms. This system, like everything 
else, has changed since the railroads have linked Manti 
»virh the commercial world and more modern transporta- 
tion methods are adopted. 

Manti has numerous mercantile houses located in 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 85 

modern, well-constructed and elegant buildings. A solid 
banking institution owned and operated by home people; 
first-class blacksmiths, carpenters and other skilled arti- 
sans and mechanics; an up to date and well appointed 
drug store; modern well-furnished and thoroughly 
equipped hotels; enterprising farm machinery and im- 
plement dealers; experienced and industrious photo- 
graphers; affable and obliging railway agents and direc- 
tors; well-edited and carefully prepared newspapers ; 
efficient and thorough physicians and teachers: accom- 
plished attorneys and officials, and in short, every indus- 
try represented is marked by competency and strong 
personality characteristic of the stern, patriotic men who 
braved the perils incidental to pioneer life and made this 
valley a perfect paradise of vegetation. 

The Manti City Savings Bank is the financial insti- 
tution to which capitalists, investors and business men 
look for an index of the commercial transactions of this 
city. This representative corporation is composed of the 
best and most, careful financiers of the city and reflects 
the spirit of home industry and patriotism in all its deal- 
ings. It. was incorporated in 1890 with a capital stock 
of $25,000, which was increased to $50,000, fully paid up, 
the lamented Herman J. < 'hristensen and Hon. L. T. 
Tuttle being the prime movers in establishing the con- 
cern. A two- story stone building- was erected and the 
bank opened its doors for business. The services of a 
most, capable, honest and obliging cashier, Albert Tattle, 
now deceased, were secured, and in a very short time 
money poured into the vaults from all sections of central 
Utah, until it became known in the money centers as one 
of the safest instituions of the State. The business in- 
creased to such an extent that an assistant had to be 
added and P. P. Dyreng, the present obliging cashier, 
was installed as one of the bank employees. The deposi- 



86 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

tors now number hundreds and assets reach about one- 
quarter million dollars, with a surplus of $15,000, and 
steadily increasing business. Regular dividends are paid 
in semi-annual installments and interest is compounded 
quarterly on time deposits. The official directory con- 
sists of the following well-known and thoroughly respon- 
sible citizens: L. T. Tut tie, president; James Crawford, 
Jr., vice-president; P. F. Dyreng, cashier; J. Hatten Car- 
penter, assistant cashier; J. R. Maiben, \V. G. Crawford, 
F. P. Turtle and Lewis Anderson, members of the board 
of directors. 

The Central Utah Wool Company was incorporated 
in 1891 with a capital stock of $25,000, the shareholders 
and directors being chiefly residents of Manti. This com- 
pany begau in a small way by handling wool and sheep 
on commission, but soon did such an enormous business 
in buying and selling direct from grower to manufac- 
turer that the commission work was practically aban- 
doned. The men who formed the first directorate are most- 
ly engaged in the same business and have built up the 
greatest money-producing house in this city. The annual 
sales amount to about one-sixth of the entire wool clip 
of the State and some purchases are made in Wyoming. 
Energetic and up-to-date buyers are engaged by this firm 
and during the wool season may be found in every sheep- 
growing section of Utah, distributing hundreds of thou- 
sands of dollars among the people. The first board of 
directors consisted of Ezra Shoniaker, president; James 
Metcalf, vice-president; Lewis Anderson, secretary; L. K. 
Anderson, assistant secretary; Albert Tuttle, treasurer; 
with Luther Tuttle, W. G. Crawford and Niels Thomp- 
son. Under their wise management the company passed 
through the financial panic of 1S93 and now stands 
among the best dividend-payers of central Utah, with 
patrons numbered by the hundreds. The company also 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 87^. 

handles sheepmen's supplies of sacks, twine, sulphur, 
dip, wagons, wire and carriages. Present officials are: 
Ezra Shomaker, president; F. P. Tuttle, vice-president; 
Lewis Anderson, secretary and treasurer and general 
manager; Warren C. Snow, assistant secretary; with W. 
G. Crawford, Luther Tuttle, Niels Thompson and James 
Crawford, direc tors. 

The Manti Co-operative Mercantile Institution is one 
of the oldest and busiest business houses in the city. Two 
large two-story buildings are occupied in carrying an 
immense stock of dry goods groceries, clothing, machin- 
ery and farm implements. The company is incorporated 
with a capital stock of $13,610, divided into shares of $10 
each, upon which regular annual dividends are paid to 
many of the representative families in this city. A com- 
petent board of directors, consisting of W. T. Keid, Hans 
Jensen and E. T. Parry, assisted by J. H. Wodskow, sec- 
retary, and Alex. Tennant, superintendent, handle the 
business in a most satisfactory manner. This prominent 
firm began in the early days in a little 12xl5-foot build- 
ing, with very limited capital and small patronage. To- 
day a stock of about $15,000 is carried and four clerks 
are necessary to transact the great volume of business. 
Tuttle & Co. is an old, well-known firm so linked 
with the business interests and financial development 
of Manti as to form one of the most important factors in 
the history of the city. Hon. L. T. Tuttle, the chief per- 
sonage and moving spirit, has been engaged in merchan- 
dising for many years, having formerly been superin- 
tendent of the bo-op store, and thoroughly understands 
the wants of his customers and the fundamental princi- 
ples of success. He never hesitates in accommodating 
the poorest person, though he numbers among his cus- 
tomers the wealthiest men of the county. Always hospi- 
table, kind and obliging and to the front in every public- 



88 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

spirited and charitable donation, Father Tuttle has 
earned his success and is justly entitled to all honors be- 
stowed and wealth accumulated. The firm consists of 
father and sons and II. M. Edwards of Sterling and owns 
two large two-story buildings, occupying the major part 
in carrying the mammoth stock of $15,000 worth of dry 
goods, groceries, clothing and general merchandise. 
Four clerks are necessary to attend to the business and 
in the holiday seasons double that number are sometimes 
engaged in waiting on customers. The elegant iron-front 
building contains three extra storerooms always in de- 
mand, a commodious amusement hall ever popular, and 
several smaller offices used by professional men. This 
firm handles sheep, cattle and farm produce when neces- 
sary to make a bargain, which may be regarded as the 
keynote to years of continued success in outfitting the 
families of Manti and vicinity. 

The Manti Creamery is a new industry, added to the 
city iu 181)8 by three enterprising citizens — Joseph Judd, 
W. 1). Livingston and E. V. Hardy. The creamery is an 
up-to-date manufacturing plant, making tine butter and 
cheese, and consuming the product of 300 cows in Manti, 
Sterling, Mayfield and vicinity. Ezra Billings, a compe- 
tent, young man of this city, is the operator and the busi- 
ness is managed by Joseph Judd. The company is com- 
posed of representative business men and entitled to all 
the patronage possible. 

Lumbering has always been an important industry 
in this city and two planing mills operated by Edwin M. 
Works and Andrew Anderson, are kept busy. They are 
enterprising and representative men interested in de- 
veloping the city and making it the great commercial 
center the people aspire for and are entitled to much 
credit for industry and patriotism. 

Grace Brothers is one of the representative firms of 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 89 

Manti, consisting of three brothers, Isaac H., John W. 
and Charles II., residents of Nephi. The firm began bus- 
iness in Xephi in 1885, and opened a branch house in 
Manti in July, 1896. They were the first to ship building 
supplies into Sanpete Valley in carload lots, resulting in 
a general reduction of prices to builders of homes. The 
firm is doing a good business in handling doors, windows, 
mouldings, hardware, coal and combination fence. R. 
H. Evans is the enterprising and obliging manager of the 
Manti house. 

April 24, 1885, the Home Sentinel, the first news- 
paper published in Sanpete county, was issued in Manti, 
by James T. Jakeman. The paper was published every 
week for several years, changing bauds frequently, and 
the plant, was purchased by a company, composed of 
about forty of the prominent citizens. This company 
was incorporated in 1893, the capital stock being $5000, 
under the name of the Manti Printing and Publishing 
Company. The first officers were Ezra Shomaker, presi- 
dent; Ferdinand Alder, vice-president; D. J. Lindsey, sec- 
retary and treasurer, who, with L. C. Kjar, Andrew Pe- 
terson, Luther Turtle and P. A. Poulsen, formed the 
board of directors. The Manti Messenger, a weekly pub- 
lication was launched by this company, the first issue ap- 
pearing October 13, 1803, with Joel Shomaker as editor. 
It sprang into popularity at once and advertised Manti 
and her resources to the world. After several changes in- 
cidental to most rural papers the Messenger is now pub- 
lished by P. A. Poulsen, who has remained in the office 
from the time the first number was published. The pres- 
ent directory consists of C. P. Larsen, president; L. C. 
Kjar, vice-president; E. T. Parry, secretary and treas- 
urer, who, with Andrew Peterson, Alfred Alder, W. D. 
Livingston and J. 6. Crawford constitute the board of 
directors. 



90 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

In June, 1808, the Sanpete Democrat, a weekly, well 
edited and clean publication, published by L. A. Lauber, 
made its first, appearance, thus making two regular news- 
papers published in this city. 

The farmers of Manti produce enormous crops of 
grain, much of which is exported to the east and the west 
every year, but the home demand for flour and feed has 
been so great that three mills were erected, on the banks 
of City creek, and propelled by water power. Georg Sid- 
well, one of the pioneers of Utah, erected a large stone 
mill near the mouth of the canyon east of the city several 
years ago and put in burr mills. This was operated for 
many years and finally leased by Louis F. Becker, an 
Eastern expert, who remodelled the mill and put in all 
the latest improvements, making it a model 50-barrel 
mill. His trade is extending every year, and his brands 
of flour may be found in Tintic, Salt Lake City and other 
important Utah points, where good food products are in 
demand. 

In 1898 the Union Eoller Mill company was incor- 
porated with a capital stock of f 20,000, with $8000 paid 
up. This company is composed of some of the best citi- 
zens of the city and directed by J. H. Hougaard, E. W. 
Fox, Louis C. Kjar, Andrew Nelson and J. Hatten Car- 
penter. The mill is fitted up with modern niachinery 
and run by Alex Scott, an experienced and capable man. 
The capacity is forty barrels per day and the products 
are consumed at home and in the adjoining mar- 
kets of the State. In addition to doing custom 
and commercial work the mills furnish a cash market for 
much of the local grain supply in small lots, thus the 
farmers are able to turn their wheat to cash without 
seeking a foreign market. The Union Roller Mill com- 
pany contemplate putting in an electric light and power 
plant for supplying the city with light and power for ma- 
ehinerv. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. g| 

Manti has always been noted as a city of amusement- 
loving people, but. the accommodations have never been 
sufficient for theatrical performances until in recent 
years. In early days the ( Ymncil House was used for the 
''Amateur Thespians" and other home dramatic troupes, 
biit later Criers Hall was arranged as a theater and 
dancing pavilion. Then Tattle's Hall became the pop- 
ular resort for dancing and banquet parties, with the 
South Ward Assembly hall, a, favorite for dames and 
political gatherings. In 1897 X. H. Felt demonstrated 
his loyalty to the city and people in erecting a lar<>e 
pavilion, which is used for general amusement purposes. 
This, in connection with the other halls, supplies all de- 
mands for the diversified amusements of old and young 
characteristic of the inhabitants, who had to create 
amusements in early days. 

Although a quiet, liberty-loving people, not given to 
warfare of any nature, the citizens of Manti are tilled 
with national patriotism and loyalty to country. Upon 
the first call of President William McKinley for volun- 
teers to light in the war against Spain, for freeing Cuba 
from bondage, seven young men enlisted in the United 
States forces and sailed for the Philippine Islands. The 
names of those patriotic youths who surrendered home 
comforts, friends and prospects of future independence, 
in the cause of humanity, are: H. E. Coolidge, Nephi 
Ottoson, George Lacey, George Larsen, Andrew Peter- 
son, Thomas Hoggan, Jr., and Leonard McCarty. Sev- 
eral have been honored with appointments to the non- 
commissioner staff. Other volunteers not accepted were 
James Jorgensen, Andrew O. Peterson, John Kinni- 
burgh, Fred Kammerman and Ole C. Nelson. 

The military enthusiasm did not require a war to 
come to the surface as one of the best companies of the 
Utah National Guard was in existence previous to de- 



92 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

i-laring war with Spain. The company was almost filled 
with noble young men of the city and commanded by 

('apt. \V. J. B. Staeey, First Lieut. H. E. Coolidge and 
Second Lieut. Xephi Ottoson, all of whom entered the 
service of the Tinted States, ('apt. Stacey was appoint- 
ed a recruiting officer under Gov. Heber M. Wells, for 
the second call made by the President and made Second 
Lieutenant in Battery C, which also went to the Philip- 
pine Islands. The home company is at present com- 
manded by ('apt. Ezra Christiansen, First Lieut, Bruce 
Cox and Second Lieut, Luther Turtle, Jr., and is com- 
posed of many of the sous of leading families. 

Manti is well represented among the prominent se- 
r-ret and fraternal organizations, haying two halls fitted 
up for the exclusive use of different lodges. The Ancient 
Order Cnited Workmen is the pioneer society, having 
been organized in 1892, ami has a large and increasing 
membership, made up of influential men, who desire pro- 
tection to their homes and families in case death should 
claim them before their mission on earth has been ful- 
filled. Three local members have passed beyond this life 
since the organization of Manti Lodge No. 23, and their 
widows have each received $2,000. They were Albert Tut- 
tie, cashier of the Manti city Savings bank; Charles Ten- 
nant, assistant postmaster, and James Burns, Sheriff of 
Sanpete county. Regular meetings are held in the A. O. 
F. W. hall every Saturday evening. W. W. Crawford is 
master workman and Alex Tennant recorder. 

Court Fremont \o. 8542, Ancient Order Foresters of 
America, was organized March 31, 1895,»*with eighteen 
charter members. A hall was fitted up neatly and the 
order began its existence under flattering auspices. The 
officers were: J. E. Cochran, Chief Banger; Joel Sho- 
inaker, Past chief Ranger; D. J. Lindsey, Sub-Chief 
Ranger; Louis F. Turtle, Senior Woodman; Niels Jorgen- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 93 

sen, Junior Woodman; C. P. Ostler, Senior Beadle; Rob- 
ert Witnier, Junior Beadle; J. W. Hoggan, Treasurer; W. 
J. Hosford, Physician and Druggist; Arthur Parsons, 
Chris Lund and J. C. Cahoon, trustees. After about one 
rear the court was disbanded and the members went in 
a body and assisted in organzing the present lodge of 
Odd Fellows. 

During the year 1895 seyeral attempts were made to 
organize a. lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Tel- 
lows in Manti, but failed on account of opposition and 
the thought that an additional society could not be sus- 
tained. In January, 1896, Dr. W. J. Hosford, II. A. Tal- 
bot, J. II. Hornung ami J. E. Cochran, resident mem- 
bers, petitioned the grand lodge for a charter, and on 
January 14, 189<>, Temple City Lodge Xo. 23 was insti- 
tuted with sixteen members. Since then the order has 
steadily increased in membership till it numbers more 
than fifty prominent, citizens. The I. O. O. F. Hall is 
elegantly fitted up with an organ, neat furniture and nil 
the necessary paraphernalia, the lodge has a good treas- 
ury and no debts. Regular meetings are held in the 
hall, over Kjar's harness shop, every Saturday evening. 
E. T. Hosford is Xoble Grand and Alex Scott, Secretary. 
Evergreen Rebekah Lodge No. 11 was instituted 
April 17, 1898, with eighteen charter members. This 
order numbers among its members a select roll of prom- 
inent society men and women, alive to the interests of 
fraternal institutions and necessity for banding together 
in the cause of humanity. Regular weekly meetings are 
held in the I. O. O. F. hall. Mrs. W. J. Hosford is Xoble 
Grand and E. T. Hosford Recording Secretary. 

Unity Forum, Xo. 1319, of the Home Forum Benefit 
Order, was organized in 1897 with a good membership of 
well-known ladies and gentlemen interested in mutual 
insurance of homes and families. The order has grown 



94 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

to a good membership, which increases with regular 

meetings, as its objects and benefits become more gener- 
ally known and understood. Meetings are held every 
Wednesday evening in the I. O. O. F. Hall and visiting- 
companions are always made welcome guests. Mrs. M. 
C. Fredricksen is president of Unity Forum. 

Manti has an excellent and economical municipal ad- 
ministration made up of old citizens interested in the 
public welfare. The creek has been divided and tlumed 
to prevent, any accumulation of debris and carry away 
high water aud floods; a perfect waterworks system is in 
operation; the irrigation water supply is satisfactorily 
distributed; the streets are kept clean and the main thor- 
oughfares are well graded; the city cemetery is one of 
the neatest and best-kept homes of the dead in the State; 
contageous diseases and epidemics are kept under con- 
trol by strict, quarantine, and taxes are reduced to the 
lowest possible limit for a city of such proportions. 

The present city official directory composed of Ke- 
publicans and Democrats, elected in 1897, or appointed 
by the Council, is as follows: 

Mayor — Alexander Tennant. 

Councillors — Fred Jensen, F. M. Cox, A. W. Bessey, 
Ernest Munk, Alma Johnson. 

Recorder — George Scott. 

Marshal — Otto Ottoson. 

Justice — G. A. Iverson. 

Quarantine Physician — W. H. Olsten. 

Superintendent of Waterworks — William Bench. 

City Watermaster — John Moflitt. 

Supervisor of Streets — Julius Jensen. 

City Engineer — T. H. Hougaard. 

City Pound Keeper — Andrew Nelson. 

city Sexton — George Braithwaite. 

City Attorney — William K. Reid. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF MANTI. 



f\ LDER, ALFRED, farmer and grain shipper of Manti, 
ry and brother of the Hon. Major, was born in 
/ Sclrwellbrun, Switzerland, September 4, 1851. Came 
with the family in 1860, and to Manti in 1S62. He was 
raised on a farm and became engaged in freighting pro- 
duce to the mining camps of Utah and Nevada, and fol- 
lowed that business ten years. For the last six years 
he has been buying and shipping grain. Owns a farm 
of thirty acres, and has a comfortable residence. Has 
been City Water Master for five years; is also a stock- 
holder and director of the Manti Printing and Publish- 
ing Company, which company does all kinds of job work 
and issues the Messenger weekly. 

He married, in Spring City, February 5, 1877, Miss 
Elvira J. Cox, daughter of Frederick W. and Jemima, 
who were old settlers here. He has four sous and four 
daughters, viz., Ella, John A., Byron F., Frank M., Fer- 
dinand, Merle, Hettie and Eeba A. 

Mr. Alder, although of foreign birth, is a whole- 
souled American, loves his adopted country and rever- 
ences the Constitution, and is always on hand to march 
under "Old Glory'' and defend his country. 

f\ LDER, HON. FERDINAND, son of John and Anna 
r\ B., born in the city of Schwellbrun, Switzerland, 
I May 24, 1850. His father was a merchant and 

came to Utah in IMiO and to Manti in 1862; was a clerk 
in the Co-op, worker in the Manti Temple, and of late 
years bookkeeper for L. T. Turtle & Co. Mr. F. Alder was 
engaged five years as sawyer in Frank Armstrong's Mill 
D, near Salt Lake City, returned to Manti, bought a 
small farm and married, April 26, 1875, Cecelia Mad sen, 
daughter of Hans and Annie, who came to Manti in 1853, 
both now deceased. Mr. Alder was elected Mayor of 
Manti in the fall of 1802 and re-elected in 1893, again in 



96 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1805 on the Republican ticket. Is a charter member of 
A. (). T'. \V. of Manti, master workman two terms; is in- 
terested in mining; has been an extensive tie contractor 
for the Rio Grande Western railroad. In 1888 he built 
a steam sawmill in Manti canyon; also ran the Peacock 
sawmill until a flood washed it entirely away; freighted 
and traded produce to mining camps of Ctah and Nevada 
several years. He lias a nice home and pleasant sur- 
roundings; is kind and hospitable, unassuming, but pre- 
sides with dignity over municipal matters; a friend to 
the poor, for his hand never withholds charity. 

ALDRICH, AMASA, County Recorder, son of Martin 
r\ and Hannah Madsen, was born in Mt. Pleasant, 
/ March 16, 1803. He attended the district schools 

and took a course of one year in the Deseret University. 
Taught school for several years in Mt. Pleasant. In 1884 
went on a three years mission to New Zealand and 
learned the Maori lan t <j;ua!j;e. Was engaged as teacher 
and in the mercantile business from 1887 to 1896, wlien 
lie sold out and became secretary and treasurer of the 
Mt. Pleasant Equitable Co-op. Served as postmaster for 
three years. Was engaged in the sheep business for a 
time. Is a Democrat, formerly a member of the Peo- 
ple's party, serving as city recorder for two terms. In 
■'96 was elected county recorder, which position he tills 
with perfect satisfaction to the people. Was married in 
Spring City, February, '07, to Vilate Maxfield, whose 
parents reside in Spring City. 

ANDERSON, CHRISTIAN, farmer and engineer at 
rj Manti Temple, sou of William and Henrietta, was 
/ born in Denmark April 21, 1841. In 1853 the fam- 

ily came to Ctah with the first large company of Scandi- 
navian emigrants and located in Manti. In 1851 Chris- 
tian removed to Provo, remaining seven years, and re- 
turned. In 1862-3-4 he went to the Missouri river after 
emigrants. Took part in the Black Hawk war, being in 
Company A, Cavalry, two years. He was in the engage- 
ments in Salina Canyon and Crass Valley. Worked sev- 
eral years at quarrying rock for the Temple and has 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 97 

worked most of the time at the Temple since its comple- 
tion. During the past three years he has been the Tem- 
ple engineer. Performed a mission of one year working 
on the St. George Temple. Was married in Salt Lake 
City October 14, 1869, to Emily, daughter of Richard and 
Amelia Pickering, born in London, England, November 
14, 1853. They have ten children: Amelia H., wife of 
Frederick Slaymaker; William R. married Mary J. John 
i on; (Mara M., wife of Joseph Thomas; Isabel L., Percy 
C, Edwin S., Emily L., Melvin W., Florence M. and 
Elva G. 

f\ NDERS* )X, FREDERICK, farmer, son of William and 
H Henrietta Barnson, was born in Falster, Denmark, 
/ February 11, 1851. His parents emigrated to Utah 
in 1852 and settled in this city, where he was raised a 
farmer. He owns forty-five acres and a nice home in the 
city. During the past fourteen years he has engaged in 
threshing grain, owning one-fifth of a new machine. He 
has been a lumberman and farmer and in politics is a 
Democrat. Has served five years as Street Supervisor 
and was appointed again in January, 1898. He served 
two years as a member of the City Council and three 
years Road Supervisor for Manti district. His wife, whom 
he married in Salt Lake City June 8, 1872, was Sarah A., 
daughter of F. W. and Cordelia Cox, born in Iowa April 
10, 1851. They have had nine children: Rosella, Freder- 
ick, Byron, Cordelia, Mary, Lydia, Emerett and Ruth, 
living; Henrietta, deceased. 

r\ XDEKSOX, LEWIS, treasurer and superintendent of 
H the Central Utah Wool Company of Manti, was born 
' in Ilickeberg, Malmo, Sweden, October 24, 1850. The 
family emigrated to this country arriving in Utah in 
August, 1859. They resided a short time at Big Cotton- 
wood, then moved to Payson, where they resided till the 
spring of 1860, when they removed to Moroni, Sanpete 
County, where our subject was engaged in such occupa- 
tions as farming and herding. Though only a bov when 
the Black Hawk war broke out, he did his part, helping 
herd the stock and standing guard. In 1866 the family 



98 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

moved to Fountain Green, where his father established a 
store, which he conducted two years and then sold to the 
Co-operative Mercantile Institution, our subject continu- 
ing in the establishment as business manager till 1874, 
when he opened a general store of his own. In 1877 he 
sold out and came to Manti. Having studied telegraphy, 
he accepted a position as operator and also as book- 
keeper of the Mann Temple, then in course of construc- 
tion. The years 1871 and 1875 also 1881 and 1885 lie 
spent on missions for the church, laboring in the States 
of Minnesota, Wisconsin and Illinois. On his return 
from his last, mission he established a furniture store in 
Fountain Green, which he carried on three veal's. In 18S8 
he returned to Manti and accepted a position as recorder 
in the temple and is at present also treasurer. 

He became a stockholder in the Central Utah Wool 
Company in 1892 and was elected secretary and superin- 
tendent. When the company elected new officers in the 
spring of 1896, he was elected to the offices of treasurer 
and superintendent, his son Lewis R. succeeding him in 
the office of secretary. Under the present able manage- 
ment the business of the company is in a very successful 
condition and entirely satisfactory to the stockholders. 
Mr. Anderson also owns an interest in the Phoenix 
Flouring mills of Fountain Green, is a woolgrower and a 
stockholder in the Manti Bank. He has also found time 
to take a part in political matters, being a staunch Ke- 
publican. He ran for a seat in the first Utah State Legis- 
lature, and the following year for County Clerk, but in 
both instances the ticket was defeated. He has served 
as Justice of the Peace and Town Clerk in Fountain 
Green and City Councillor in Manti. 

.Mr. Anderson was married in Salt Lake while a resi- 
dent of Fountain Green November 11, 1870, to Mary A.' 
Crowther. Their children are Lewis R., Thomas J., Etta, 
Sarah J., Mary M. and Joseph F. 

f\ X PERSON, X. W., teacher of Sixth grade in the pub- 
M lie schools of Manti City, is a son of Neils and 
' Ingaborg, was born in Ephraim, this county, No- 

vember 15, 1858. When N. W. was a small boy the fam- 




HON. WM. F. MAYLETT, 
MANTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 99 

ily moved to Circle Valley to help effect a settlement 
among the Indians, but the settlement was broken up 
and the}* returned to Ephraim, where they are now liv- 
ing. N. W. attended the schools of Ephraim and the B. 
Y. Academy at Provo one year, taught in Ephraim one 
year, attended the Deseret University of Salt Lake one 
year and then located in Manti, Avhere he has since 
taught with the exception of two years spent as a mis- 
sionary in Sweden. Is an active worker in the Y. M. M. 
I. A. and for a time was its secretary. Is a member of the 
I. O. O. F. and was City Recorder eighteen months. He 
was manned in Salt Lake City April 17, 1882, to Mary 
E., daughter of William and Mary Luke, born in Manti 
November 6, 1864. Their children are: William E., Mary 
G., Sheldon L., Floyd L., Wendella, Doris A. 

QXDEBSOX, PETER H., farmer and stockraiser, son 

r\ of William and Henrietta Barnson, was born in 
r Denmark September 26, 1815, and came with his 

parents to Utah in 1852 in Capt. Fosgren's company. The 
family stopped at Spring City but were soon forced to re- 
move to Manti by the Indians. He was reared t^ the Hie 
of a farmer and now owns 218 acres, with a. nice resi- 
dence in the city. Like many others, he •'reighte*. 1 pro- 
duce to the mining towns of Utah and Nevada for about 
twelve years. He was a member of tie City Council -n 
1885-6 and 1889-90. His wife was Esther, daughter of 
Albert and Esther Smith, born in Salt Lake City May 9, 
1849. Her parents were among the earliest settlers, com- 
ing here in 1849. They were married in Salt Lake City 
December 1, 1866, and have had thirteen children, nine 
living and four dead, as follows: Esther 1L, wife of Ezra- 
Funk, fanner in Castle Valley. They have three chil- 
dren: Kenneth, Claude and Eva. She has two children, 
Ethel and Esther, by a former marriage with George 
Crawford. William it. married Annie Watt; they have 
two sons, Clarence and Hubert. Izena, wife of Edward 
E. Eeid, has one daughter, Irma. Alice, Avife of Stephen 
Barton, has one child, Edward S. Ross, Franklin D., 
Eleanor, Matilda, and Peter H. at home; Albert, John, 
Hubert and Milton beinji - dead. 



100 HISTORY 01 SANPETE COUNTY. 

BARTON, ALEXANDER, fanner aiid stockraiser, son 
of William K. and Elizabeth F., was bora in Manti 
November 10, 1867. His parents emigrated from 
England and about 1857 came to Manti. where father 
kept a small store and managed a farm. Father joined 
the Mormon Church in 1849 in St. Louis. Mo., and at 
once became a traveling elder. He was leader of the 
Tabernacle choir for several rears and was one of the 
first to assist in organizing Sunday schools. Took part 
in the Black Hawk war. Hold several offices as Alder- 
man and Justice of the Peace and was a prominent 
churchman. lie died December 13, 1887. Mother died 
April 14, 1896. Alexander was raised here and has al- 
ways followed fanning. He owns a nice farm and is ex- 
tensively interested in stockraising, buying and selling. 
Was married in Manti February 2, 189$, to Belle, daugh- 
ter of Richard and Catherine Hall, born in Manti April 
28, 1878. 

BESSEY. ANTHONY WAYNE, farmer, son of Au- 
tliony and Thankful Steadies, was born in Bethel. 
Maine, August 18, 1835. Was raised on a farm and 
lei-rued sl-e trades of cabinetmaker and shoemaker. In 
1857 he came to Utah with an ox-train under Capt. Wm. 
Walker, and worked in Salt Lake City at shoemaking. 
He was a member of the militia that met (Jen. Cuminings 
in Echo canyon when coming as Governor of Utah. Sep- 
tember 1, 1858, he removed to Manti, following his trade, 
afterward running a threshing machine eighteen years. 
Took part in the Black Hawk war, being Captain of a 
cavalry company. He owns a good 40-acre farm and 
residence in the city. Is a member of the High Council 
of Sanpete Stake, and in 1878 performed a mission to 
New England. Served as Mayor of the city two years, 
elected in ls7:> on People's ticket, and has been a member 
of the ciry Council during 1883, 1884, 1887, 1888, 1889, 
1890, and is at present a Councillor elected on the-d)emo- 
cratic ticket. He was married in Maine to Susan M., 
daughter of Jotham S. and Susan Willis Lane. They 
have had eight children, Susan M., wife of Daniel M. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 101 

Beach, Walter A. and Xephi living, Anthony W., Charles 
A., Robert YY\, Man- A. and Chester R., deceased. 

BENCH, GEORGE E., SB., proprietor of the Bench 
House, son of William and Ann, was born in South- 
ampton, Hampshire, England, March 20, 1843. The 
family removed to the United States in 1851, residing 
one rear in Iowa, and in 18<">2 came to Utah, crossing the 
plains in Capt. Winimer's company, and located in Mt. 
Pleasant. In 1n53 they had to remove to Spring City on 
account of Indians, losing all their stock and having to 
move again to Manti, where George has since resided. 
He engaged in farming and for the past ten years has 
been in the hotel business here and three years in Salina. 
In 18<>3 he went bach to the Missouri river after emi- 
grants. In 1895 he went to England on a two years' 
mission as a traveling elder. Served as Constable six 
years, City Assessor and Collector ten years, City Water- 
master nine and for thirteen years has been assistant 
superintendent of the Sunday-school. Was married in 
Salt Lake City December 19, 18(53, to Jane, daughter of 
Edmund and Maria Horton, born in Leamington, Eng- 
land, April 18, 1843. They have ten children: Eliza J., 
Esther, George E., Jr., liven' and drayman, born October 
12, 1800, married June 3, 1896, to Isabel, daughter of Wil- 
liam K. and Ann C. Barton; Frank A., Emma L., Mary 
A., Ella, Clarice, Wilford and Jennie. 

BENCH, JOHN L., Assistant Recorder in the Manti 
Temple, also keeps a. small store in Manti, books, 
stationery, notions, etc. lie was born June 29, 
1838, in Sheep Wash, Devonshire, England, son of Wil- 
liam and Ann (Longman) Bench; his father was a black- 
smith. His parents joined the Mormon Church in Eng- 
land in 1840, ;ind the family came to Utah in 1852 and 
located where only six families were settled at Mount 
Pleasant. The family consisted of father, mother and 
five children, viz., John L., William, George E., Mary 
and Martha, all living in Manti except Mary, who resides 
in Mexico. Almost immediately after their location 
there they were driven out by the Indians — in July — all 



102 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

their stock was stolen, and the family, with the rest of 
the settlers, brought to Manti. This was during* the 
•'Walker war," which lasted 'till the following spring, 
during which time he was in the saddle, helping to pro- 
tect the settlements. His father died in Manti Decem- 
ber 27, 1875. He was a man of considerable prominence, 
was a member of the City Council, 1S59, 'CO, and was 
Captain of the Silver Grays, Manti division of the Nau- 
voo Legion; his wife died in Manti January 15, 1886. 
John L. was orderly sergeant of Company B. In 1869 he 
was elected Alderman, served one term, was member of 
City Council, 1889, '90; also County Assessor and Col- 
lector one year. As a churchman, he has been active; 
was Assistant. Superintendent to YV. K. Barton, the first 
Superintendent of Sunday Schools in Manti, and for the 
past twelve years has been Superintendent of the South 
Ward Sunday School. Went on a mission to England 
1882, returning in the fall of 1881. 

He married in Salt Lake City Maria Kirby, who 
came with her mother, Honor W. Kirby, in the second 
hand-cart company, in 1856. By this union he had five 
el ildren, viz., Susie E., Charles W. (deceased), John L., 
Jr., and Edward, living, Urban L. (deceased). His wife 
died in Manti January 21st, 1878. Second wife, Louisa. 
Griffin, who died in Manti November 21, 1886. He mar- 
red third wife November 27, 1890, Clara A., daughter of 
Thomas and "Rachel Steer of Devon, England. Mr. Bench 
enjoys in a marked degree the confidence and good will 
rf the people; always honest and upright in his dealings 
Pnd labors assiduously for the good of the youth of 
Vanti. 

BENCH, WILLIAM, Superintendent of City Water 
works, son of William and Ann Longman, was 
born in Southampton, England, November 6th, 
1810, and emigrated to the United States with his par- 
ents in 1S50. They stopped awhile at Council Bluffs, 
Iowa, and came to Utah with Capt. Wimmer, arriving 
in Salt Lake City October 3, 1852. He worked for 13 
years with his father, who was a blacksmith, in Iowa, 
Mt. Pleasant and Manti, where they located in August, 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 103 

1853, being driven out of the northern settlements by In- 
dians. In 18G3 he erected a sawmill and engaged in the 
lumber business until 1887, since which time he has been 
farming. He was Deputy County Assessor and Collec- 
tor from 1870 to 1878, and January 3, 1808, was ap- 
pointed Superintendent of City Water Works. He took 
an active part in the Walker and Black Hawk wars, 
holding the position of First Lieutenant under Capts. 
Beach, Sidwell and Bessey in Company kk A," cavalry. 

He was married in Salt Lake City, December 25, 
1862, to Frances A. Tatton, daughter of John C. and Car- 
oline, who was born in Reditch, England, November 1G, 
1843. Their children are Emma C, Frederick W., living, 
and Mary IL, Martha A., John C, Francis A. and Fran- 
cis J., deceased. 

BILLINGS, GEORGE PIERCE, deceased, son of Titus 
and Diantha Morley, was born in Lake county, 
Ohio, July 25, 1827. The family removed to Kirt- 
land, Ohio, when he was 1 years old, then to Xauvoo, 
Illinois. He worked on the Mississippi river steamers 
until 18 and was selected for a member of the Mormon 
Battalion, but on account of an accident was crippled 
and excused. Came to Utah in 1817 with the first com- 
pany of 117 and held the plow that made the first furrow 
where Salt Lake City is situated. Returned to the Mis- 
souri river the same year and brought his father and 
family to Utah in 1818. In 1819 he went to California 
and spent two years, returning to Farmington, and then 
located in Manti in 1851. In 185G he was called to Car- 
son, Nevada, to assist in settling that country, and re- 
turned to Utah in 1857 and to Manti in 1858. Was a 
Captain and promoted to Major in the Indian wars, tak- 
ing an active part in all the skirmishes. Served as 
Sheriff of Sanpete county twenty -five years and held 
numerous minor offices in the church and city. He died 
in Manti December 2, 1S96. Was married in Manti May, 
1852, to Edith Patten. She had nine children: Titus, 
Edith, Louisa, George, Leonard and Orson, living; Han- 
nah, John and Heber, deceased. Second wife married in 
Manti April 27, 185G, was J crush a, daughter of Jezreel 



104 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

and Nancy Shoinaker. She had eight children: Nancy, 
Isabella, Luella, Ezra, Piantha, Eunice and La Priel, 
living; Marion, deceased. 

BILLINGS, LEONARD, City Marshal, son of George 
P. and Edith ratten, was born in Manti January 
28, 1865. His father was one of the pioneers of 
Utah and Sheriff of Sanpete county for about twenty 
years, taking an active part in the Indian wars and as- 
sisting in the erection of all public buildings. He was 
educated in the schools of this city and attended the B. 
Y. Academy at Provo two winters, lie spent several 
years at placer mining in Tnscarora, Nev., and on the San 
Miguel river in Colorado; was contracted- in building the 
foundation of Fort Duchesne barracks and returned to 
this city, where he was married March 12, 1888. lie owns 
his city residence and some land. Is a member of the A. 
0. U. W. In November, 1805, he was elected City Mar- 
shal on the Republican ticket. His wife was Mary, 
daughter of Hans and Karen Westeuskow. They have 
had four children: Leonard, Leora and Ruth, living; 
Aft on, dead. 

BOYINOTON, THOMAS, deceased, of Manti, was a 
son of John and Hannah (Hadley), born in Cradley 
parish, Worcestershire, England, November 17, 
1881. He joined the Mormon church and emigrated to 
the land of the Saints in 1850. His journey to the prom- 
ised land was accompanied by great hardships and priva- 
tions, and of the large company who started with ('apt. 
AYilley, many never survived to relate their experiences, 
but perished of cold, hunger and fatigue. Tineas started 
from Iowa with a hand-cart containing 100 pounds flour, 
a little bacon, some bedding and a .ery small amount of 
clothes. They reached the Sweetwater in October, and 
his provisions had long disappeared, and rations were 
doled out from the wagons that were along. At first they 
received one pound of flour per day, this was cut to half 
a pound, and finally to two ounces. A man cannot travel 
iu the cold ov«u- a rough country and pull a hand-cart on 
two ounces of Hour per day, so they camped on the Sweet- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 105 

water. Here some cattle had died two years before, and 
the skeletons remained with the skins dried on them. 
This ther pulled off, cut in strips and warmed over a fire, 
and chewed to extract what little glue might remain in 
it. Many died of starvation, fourteen were buried in one 
grave one morning. When Thomas awoke one morning 
he found himself between two corpses, his companions 
having passed silently away in the still watches of the 
night. A rescue party from Salt. Lake finally reached 
them, gathered them up in wagons and brought them on 
to the city, where they arrived November 9, 1850. In 
February, 1857, he came to Manti with Bishop Warren 
Snow, and worked for various persons till he accumu- 
lated enough means to buy a farm. He followed farming 
many years, and built a comfortable home in town. In 
1804 he returned to the river for emigrants. He married 
in Manti, October 25, 1805, Hannah, daughter of Eowland 
and Hannah (Askew) Braithwaite, born in Westmore- 
land, England, May 7, 1839. Their children are as fol- 
lows: Thomas B., Hannah E., John W., Bobert A., Mary 
E., Sarah A., Ida L., deceased, Amanda J. and Nettie M. 
Mr. Boyington was a hard working, honest, upright man, 
of a retiring disposition, and Manti lost a good citizen 
when he died September 6, 1897. 

BRAITHWAITE, GEOBGE, City Sexton, son of Bo- 
land and Hannah, was bora in Kendall, Westmore- 
land county England, March 5, 1834. He learned 
the trade of a shoemaker. Father died in 1852. The 
family joined the Mormon Church, he becoming a mem- 
ber in 1847. In 1803 the family came to Utah, crossing 
the ocean in the Amazon, the first sailing vessel char- 
tered from London to carry Mormon emigrants. They 
crossed the plains in^Capt. Daniel McCarthy's company, 
an ox train, arriving in Manti in October, 1803. Mother 
died here in 1875. He took part in the Black Hawk war, 
standing guard and doing his share. Worked for nine 
years in constructing the Temple and terraces. Followed 
his trade for some time and was City Sexton for several 
years and now occupies that position. Is a stockholder 
in the Co-op store. Was married in Manti December 4, 



106 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1864, to Sarah S., daughter of George and Mahala John- 
ston, born April 18, 1850. They have ten children: 
George R., John F., Joseph L., Lester, Ethel, Mary A., 
Edward, Ernest, Charles G. and Florence. 

BUAITHWAITE, JOHN 1*., wool grower, son of Ro- 
land and Hannah, was born in Manti, December 
5, 1864. He was raised to farming, and engaged 
in the cattle business. As cattle was not remunerative 
he changed to sheep, and now has a herd of 2,500 head, 
mostly on shares. Was married in Manti temple. No- 
vember 16, 1889, to Annie, daughter of J. Conrad and 
Margaret Kellar, born in Germany, February 12, 1S71. 
They have had four children, Margaret, Leah and Fred 
L.j living; John C, dec-eased. 

BRAITHWAITE, JOSEPH S., beekeeper and nursery- 
man, son of Roland and Hannah, was born in 
Westmoreland county, England, September 14, 
1844. He learned the trade of shoemaker, which he fol- 
lowed several years after coming here. The family joined 
the Mormon Church; father died in England; mother 
and seven children came to Utah. They reached Salt 
Lake City in October, 1863, having crossed the plains in 
Capt. McCarthy's company, and came direct to Manti, 
where his mother died. He worked at his trade some 
years and engaged in beekeeping and nurserying. Took 
an active part in the Black Hawk war. Served as County 
Bee Inspector for several years. He is quite a genius in 
some things and an expert entomologist. Was married 
in Manti, November 18, 1873, to Esther, daughter of 
Cyrenus and Emily Taylor, born in Manti, January 25, 
1856. They have had eight children: Izenia, Melinda, 
Sophronia, Herald, Zella, Clara and Edgar, living; Jo- 
seph, deceased. 

BRAITHWAITE, ROBERT, shoemaker, son of Roland 
and Hannah, was born in Kendall, Westmoreland 
county, England, March 13, 1830. He learned the 
trade of a shoemaker, working with his father, and after 
his fathers death carried on the business. Joined the 
Mormon Church in 1S45 and in 1854 came to Utah, cross- 




JAMES COOK, 
MANTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 107 

iii£ the plains in an oxtrain, under Capt. William Eni- 
pey. Followed his trade one year in Salt Lake City, then 
removed to Provo, where he continued at his trade. In 
the fall of 1857 he came to Manti, and had a shop for 
many years. He also owns a farm, which is worked by 
his sons. Was active in the Black Hawk war, doing his 
share. Is a member of the High Priests' quorum. Was 
married in Manti, February 5, 1S59, to Harriet A., 
daughter of Lyness and Martha Bemus, born in Fulton 
county 111., September 16, 1844. They have twelve chil- 
dren: Martha, Mary, Emily, Robert, Hattie, Isabella, 
Lyness, Eleanor, Catherine, John, Willard and Jesse. 



BKAITHWA1TE, WILLIAM, one of the largest bee- 
keepers in Utah, son of Roland and Hannah, 
was born in Kendall, Westmoreland county, 
England, May 7, 1812. He learned the shoemaker's 
trade, joined the Mormon Church and in 1803 came to 
Utah with the family, crossing the plains in Capt. Mc- 
Carthy's ox train, reaching Manti in October, 1803. He 
followed his trade for about, ten years, then engaged in 
the nursery and apiary business, having the first nursery 
in Manti and the largest apiary in Utah Started from one 
swarm. In 189(1 he had eight tons of honey. Has also 
a small market garden and is a successful man in all his 
undertakings. Took part in the Black Hawk war and 
indirectly lost his right le v n through the war. In July, 
1805, he went, to assist in settling Richfield, but was com- 
pelled to return on account of Indians. Is a member of 
the High Priests' quorum. He studied entomology in 
England under Prof. Butler and is a thorough entomolo- 
gist, having a large collection of specimens. Was mar- 
ried in Richfield March 18, 1807, to Elizabeth, daughter 
of Jehu and Pose H. Francis, born in Weduesbury, Staf- 
fordshire, England, October 20, 1850. They have nine 
children: William P., Pose A., Pobert F., Charles, 
Elizabeth, Frank, Kate, Mary and Martha. Second wife 
was Pose E., daughter of James and Margaret Walker, 
born in Ml. Pleasant May 14, 1805. She has three chil- 
dren: Rebecca, Sarah E. and Ruth. 



10S HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

BROWN, HON. JAMES C, deceased, was a sou of 
James and Jane (Cunningham) Brown, born in 
Stirlingshire, Bannookburn, Scotland, January 10, 
1840. He learned the trade of a weaver, but followed it 
onty a short time. When only nine years old he was left 
an orphau and was taken by an uncle, a carpet manu- 
facturer, to live in Glasgow. At the age of 12 he started 
out for himself and when IS he became a Mormon and 
was appointed traveling elder in the Edinburgh district. 
He labored in the interest, of his church until November, 
18G4, when he came to this country, crossing the plains 
in an ox train, Warren Snow's company, and located in 
Manti. When the Co-op store of Manti was organized he 
became a stockholder and its first manager. He contin- 
ued with the company either as manager or buyer until 
1880, when he embarked in business for himself and 
opened a general store, which he carried on until his 
death, June 18, 1882, since that time his wife has by hard 
work and careful business methods continued to run the 
business and raise a large family. After locating in 
Manti Mr. Brown continued to take an active part in 
church matters and was for some years president, of the 
quorum of Seventies and leader of the Manti Tabernacle 
choir. He was also prominent in political matters and 
was several years Justice of the Peace, City Kecorder and 
six years Mayor of the city. He also took his part in the 
Black Hawk war. He married in Scotland April 14, 
1801, Miss Catherine, daughter of Thomas and Margaret 
(Glen) Weil-; she was born in the city of Edinburgh, Scot- 
land, May 8, 1843. Their nine children were all born in 
Manti and are named as follows: Margaret, wife of 
Hugh MeCall; they have two children, Earl and John; 
James C. and John G., deceased; Robert Bruce and Wil- 
liam Wallace, twins; Kate, Claud ft, a miller by trade; 
James, deceased, and Horace G., a barber of Manti. 
Bruce learned the trade of carpenter, having served au 
apprenticeship of five years with Tlyruni Taylor, most of 
which time he was working in the Manti Temple. He 
worked at his trade until the fall of 1803 in Nephi, Ogden 
and Salt Lake. He has built himself a tine brick aud 
stone residence cast of the business center at a cost of 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 109 

$3000. He married Mar 2, 1802, Miss Belle, daughter of 
Edwin W. and Belle Fox; she was born in Manti Sep- 
tember 8, 1870. Their children are: James C., born 
March 23, 1893, died September IT, 1893; Bruce F., born 
March 5, 180."), and Edward 1)., born April 1, 1807. Wil- 
liam W. learned the trade of a plasterer, at which he is 
a first-class workman. He married August 7, 1889, to 
Alice M. Barton, daughter of William K. and Ann C, 
born in Manti January 22, 1800. Their children are: 
Maude <i., born July 5, 1800, and Cieneil, Jnne 16, 1803. 
Kate married Lee Kenner; they have one child, Vera. 

BUCHANAN, RAYMOND, son of John and Sarah Wil- 
kinson, was born in Manti February o, 1807. His 
father was an old resident of this city, born in Lex- 
ington, Ky., January 25, 1823, and died here October 11, 
1807. He took part in the Indian wars and followed the 
business of repairing, Avagons and farm implements till 
his death. Raymond learned the trade from his father 
and has followed various occupations. He owns a com- 
fortable brick residence in the western part of the city. 
His wife, whom he married in Manti November 20, 1880, 
was Annie M., daughter of Fritz E. and Caroline D. Niel- 
sen, born in Manti September 2, 1S70. Thev have four 
children: Royal R., born October 10, 1800; Clyde C, 
December 18, 1802; Alfonso, March 25, 1805, and Pearl 
E., March 30, 1807. 

/^ALJOON, J. C, carpenter and undertaker, son of AYil- 
\ liam F. and Mary, was born in Pottawatamie 
county, Iowa, while the family were en route to 
Utah, October 0, 1817. The family 'reached Salt Lake 
City in 1818, in the same company with President Brig- 
ham Young. His parents resided in the city for many 
years and died there, much respected people. He was 
brought up in Salt Lake City, where he learned the trade 
of a carpenter. In 1S60 he came to Manti and followed 
his trade, with success. In 1800 he engaged in the un- 
dertaking business, which he now follows, having a neat 
hearse and a general line of undertakers' supplies. He 
served as Citv Sexton for G vears. He owns a good farm 



110 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

of 25 acres and a residence in the city. Was married in 
Salt Lake City, June 27, 1868, to Ellen, daughter of 
Thomas and Margaret Wilson, born in England. Octo- 
ber 29, 1847. She died in Manti, June 13, 1880, leaving 
G children: Margaret, James C, May and Edward, liv- 
ing; Eva and Ellen, deceased. Was married again. May 
12, 1881, to Martha H., daughter of Robei*- and Harriet 
Braithwaite. They have had 7 children: Martha E., 
William, Stephen, Leslie, Orah and Leonard, living; Lil- 
lian, deceased. 

gJHlilSTENSEN, CHARLES, liquor dealer, was born 

\ in Norway, December 23, 1859, and emigrated with 

his mother to Utah in 1862. His father died in 

Norway, his mother, with two other children, Gina and 

Willard, coming to Utah in April, 1863, and settled in 
Ephraim. She afterwards married Hans Pehrson and 
died in Ephraim August 30, 1887. His brother John was 
killed by lightning in Ephraim. He owns a 10-acre 
farm and residence near Ephraim and his place of busi- 
ness in this city. After his marriage, May 21, 1885, he 
engaged in the cattle business, ran a saloon in Ephraim 
for three years and came to this city in 1895, purchasing 
his present, place, where he carries a well-selected stock 
of wines, liquors and cigars. His wife was Rosetta Chris- 
tensen. She died in Ephraim, Jan. 4, 1889, leaving two 
daughters, Ruby A. and Charlotte F. 

0HKISTEXSEN, JULIUS B., second son of N. L. and 
\ Hansinc, was born in M« roni, October 12, 1859. 
His parents were natives of Denmark, where they 
joined the Mormon Church, and emigrated to Utah in 
1853, locating in Salt Lake City. In 1859 they removed 
to Moroni and in 1861 were called to Richfield, where his 
father was engaged most of the time in guarding the 
people and property and fighting Indians. In 1866 the 
family removed to Ephraim, where the mother died. His 
father later removed to Redmond, Sevier county, where 
he now resides, being a prominent and well-known citi- 
zen. He is a stonemason and assisted in the erection of 
the temples at Salt Lake City, St. George and Manti, 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. HI 

spending about twenty years on the three buildings. 
Julius B. received a common school education, and at the 
age of 17 was appointed timekeeper of the Manti tem- 
ple, during' the first year of its coustructiou. He then 
attended the Deseret University for two years, and re- 
ceived a diploma from the normal department. On Jan- 
uary 12, 1887, he was married in the Logan temple to 
Mary A., daughter of X. P. and Elsie Domgaard, early 
settlers of Manti. They have had two children: Junius 
J)., deceased, and L. Earl, living. Mrs. Christensen was 
elected treasurer of Manti City on the Democratic ticket 
at the general election in 1897. 

Julius B. is a Democrat and takes an active part 
in public affairs of the city and county. He has been en- 
gaged in various occupations, as freighting, farming, 
stonecutting, clerking and merchandising, being pro- 
prietor of the Bee Hive store and doing a good business. 
He located, surveyed and construct ed a canal at Red- 
mond, which terminated in the organization of the West 
View Irrigation Company, incorporated for $25,000, he 
subscribing' for one-fifth of the stock. He is an enter- 
prising man and a representative citizen, well and fa- 
vorably known throughout the county and State. 

gJLAKK, JOHN HASLEM, farmer and stock raiser, of 
\ Manti, is a son of John and Mary (Noddings) Clark, 
born in Lee county, Iowa, November 13, 1842. His 
father was a native of Ireland and died near Council 
Bluffs, Iowa. In the spring of 1805 our subject's brother, 
Thomas, came to Manti, put in a crop of grain, which 
h( harvested, and while hauling it to Salt Lake he was 
killed, with three others, by the Indians, at LUiita 
Springs, now Fountain Green. Mr. Clark came to Manti 
v\ith his mother in 1854, and the latter died here August 
7, 1858. Our subject has always followed the business 
f,f farmer and sto<dcraiser. He has a- nice farm near 
Manti and a comfortable home in town. During the 
Black Hawk war ho took his part in the defense of the 
t< wn. He manned in Manti, May 1, 18(>7, to Theresa E., 
daughter of Frederick W. and Cordelia Calista (Morley) 
Cox. Their children are, Mary C, Charlotte, Ethel T., 



112 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Trances E., Richard H., Grace E., Clarice E., Editha W. 
end Thomas E. 

£}OOK, .JAMES, retired wheelwright, sou of John and 
\^ Sarah, was born in Shropshire, England, November 
13, 18115. He joined the Moimoii church and came 
to Utah in Capt. Joseph Young's company, James being 
captain of ten wagons, and arrived in Manti in January, 
1854, with but ten cents. He purchased 30 acres of land, 
and he and his wife erected a rock and mud house, cov- 
ered witli dirt, having cotton cloth windows and ground 
floor. During the grasshopper Mar the family of five 
subsisted chiefly on pigweed, one loaf of bread lasting 
about a month. He took part in the Indian wars and lost 
considerable stock. He owns his home and residence 
property in the city, and is an old, respected citizen. His 
first wife was Ann Lane, married in Wolverhampton, 
Staffordshire, England. She had nine children, Ann, 
widow of William K. Barton, Hyrum and Maud, living, 
and Mary, James N., Henry, Brigham and two unnamed 
infants deceased. Second Avife was Anna Davenport, to 
whom he was sealed but did not lire with. Third wife 
was the daughter of Anna, by whom he had one child, 
deceased. 

{pOOLIlMrE, OSCAH F., of Manti, agent for the Co-op 
\ Wagon and .Machine Company, born in Council 
Bluffs, Iowa, November 10, 1850, son of Joseph W. 
ard Rebecca lAtwood) Coolidge. His father was a very 
prominent man in his neighborhood, merchant and mill- 
owner on Keg Creek, and for several years was Probate 
Judge of Mills county, Iowa. He died in Iowa in 1870. 
In 1864 Oscar came to Utah in an emigrant train, his 
mother and sister Alvira accompanying him. His mother 
married again in Manti, James Wareham, who was a 
settler of 1853, and his sister married, Frederick W. Cox, 
Jr. They all reside in Manti. Mr. Coolidge started a 
small general store in 1808, and about a year later sold 
out to the Co-op. In 1872 he formed a partnership with 
George Sid well and E. W. Fox, and in 1873 built the 
large stone store building on Main street known as Fox's 



HISTORY OF SANrETE COUNTY. 113 

corner. In 1879 he sold out bis interest. In 1881 en- 
gaged in tbe liquor traffic; had James A. Barton as part- 
ner, until 1889, when he bought Mr. Barton's interest 
and ran the business alone till 1893, when he closed out. 
He also carried on farming and stockraising, and in 1891 
began handling agricultural implements — Bain wagon, 
Wood & Champion harvesting: machinery, etc.; also 
buyer and shipper of sheep. Married June 29, 1871, in 
Salt Lake, Isabella Beach, daughter of Nathaniel S. and 
Adaline, who were early settlers. Mr. Beach died in 
Manti. 

Mr. Coolidg:e has four children, Mary, Horace E., 
Chester C. and Oscar B. Is one of the most modest, re- 
tiring men, yet ever active and shrewd in business and 
has a host cf friends. 

@CX, CHABLES A., farmer, sou of Frederick W. and 
V^ Lydia M. Locey, was born in Manti January 21, 
1857. He was brought up to the life of a farmer and 
has always tilled the soil, owning thirty acres and a 
home in the city. With two of his brothers he engaged 
in sheepraising and followed the business for seven 
years, he sold out and gave his attention to farming. He 
is a. stockholder in the Central Utah Wool Company and 
the Union Boiler Mill. His wife, whom he married in 
the St. George Temple December 1, 1880, was Sabr;i E., 
daughter of Walter and Mary E. Stringhani. They have 
three children: Ellen May, Walter M. and Charles B., 
living, Ethel and John being dead. 

/QOX, FRANCIS M., farmer and member of the City 

\ Council, son of Frederick Walter and Calista C, 
was born in Manti August 23, 1853. He was the 
first one of the Cox family born in Manti. Was raised 
here to farm work. In 1870 he was called to help settle 
Brigham City, on Hie Little Colorado river, in Arizona, 
and remained three years, after which he rteurned to 
this city and engaged in farming. He has built a nice 
home and is a representative citizen. During the past 
ten years he has been engaged in woolgrowing. In 1890 
lie was elected a member of the City Council, and again 



114 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

in 181)7. Has served as president of the Y. M. M, I. A. 
and the Elders' Quorum, and is now one ol the presidents 
of the Forty-eighth Quorum of Seventies. Was married 
in Manti Janury 12, 1873, to Elizabeth A., daughter of 
Robert and Elizabeth Johnson, born in Manti, January 
11), 1855. They have two children: Francis M., Jr., born 
in Arizona August 15, 1877, and Mary Y., born in Manti 
July 21, 1880. 

(QOX, FREDERICK W., SIC, farmer, of Manti, son of 
\ Frederick W. and Emeline (Whiting), born in Win- 
dom, Foliage county, Ohio, November 0, 183(J. In 
1852 the family came to Manti, crossing the plains in 
an oxtrain, Capt. Brown's company. After the arrival 
of the family here our subject worked on the farm until 
he grew up, when he secured a farm of his own and also 
engaged in lumbering in the neighboring canyons. Dur- 
ing the Indian wars he was a Captain, took his part 
with the others and was in five different engagements, 
in one of which Warren S. Snow, Orson Taylor and John 
Frantsen were wounded. April 8, 18G2, he went back to 
the Missouri river with John Murdock after emigrants, 
returning in October. Mr. ('ox was a policeman a num- 
ber of years and a member of the City Council two years. 
He has always been active in church work, and for 15 
years was one of the Presidents of the 48th Quorum 
of Seventies. Mr. Cox married two wives. First, Lucy 
Allen, granddaughter of Isaac Morley. Their children 
are Frederick W., Marion A., Arthur, Ermina, Olive A., 
Rosalind and Louis S. Second wife, Lucy A., daughter 
of Jos. W. and Iiebecca Coolidge. Their children are 
Howard L., Bruce E., Rebecca E., Alvira and Roy. Mr. 
Cox is one of the representative citizens of Manti and is 
well liked by tin- people he has lived with 45 years. 

/QoX, GEORGE BYRON, farmer of Manti, is a son of 
\ Frederick W. and Jemima (Losee) Cox, born in Pot- 
tawataniie county, la., November 17, 184!>. In 1852 
the family came in an ox train across the plains and 
located in Manti, where George was raised to farm work. 
When lie grew up he secured a farm of his own, and now 




JOHN H. HOU6AARO, 
MANTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 115 

has a line farm of 70 acres, and he was also considerably 
interested in wool-growing with two of his brothers up 
to 1890. Mr. Cox is an enterprising citizen, so naturally 
became interested in many of the business enterprises of 
the city. He is a stockholder in the Manti Co-op. store 
and the Central Utah Wool Co., in which he was for a 
time one of the board of directors. He was Collector and 
Treasurer for the city two years, member of the City 
Council and County Treasurer several years. He married 
January 8, 1872, Susan L., daughter of Daniel and 
Amanda Henrie, who was born in Manti April 17, 1853. 
Their children are George B. and Willie M. 

g)RAWFORD, DAVID M., woolgrower, son of James 
\ and Catherine Thompson, was born in Manti March 
8, 1859. He was raised on a farm and at the age of 
15 left, home and went to Montana, where he engaged in 
freighting and ranching and later in butchering. In 1893 
he returned to Manti and engaged in woolgrowing. He 
now owns about 3000 sheep. His wife was Jemima A., 
daughter of George and Jemima Robertson Scott, » born 
in Edinburgh, Scotland, August 29, 1871. They were 
married in Manti January 17, 1891, and have two chil- 
dren: Violet, born February 12, 1895, and Mima A., 
February 6, 1898. 

/QRAWFORD, JAMES, SR., of Manti, is a son of James 
\ and Elizabeth (Brown) Crawford, born in Lanark- 
shire, Scotland, February 28, 1827. His father was 
a weaver and not. very well off in this world's goods, so 
our subject was compelled to earn his bread at a very 
early age. At the age of 9 he was hired out to herd cat- 
tle, and as he grew older he worked on a farm and also 
at railroad grading. When a young man he joined the 
Mormon church in his native land, and for some time was 
a traveling elder. In the fall of 1848 he came to the 
United States and spent his first winter in St. Louis, Mo., 
and then went to Council Bluffs, where he resided until 
the spring of 1851, when he joined a company of church 
emigrants under Capt. Abraham Day and made the trip 
across the plains in an ox train to Salt Lake, where he ar- 



116 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

rived the following September. Soon after his arrival in 
Salt Lake City he was married November 25, 1851, to 
Catherine, daughter of William and Catherine (Cooper) 
Thompson, who was also a native of Scotland. Mr. Craw- 
ford lived in Salt. Lake City and Kaysville till 1857, when 
he came to Manti. The following spring he moved to the 
town of Moroni, and his family were one of the first to 
settle in the new town. He took up land and engaged in 
farming till 1865, when he was called to help strengthen 
the settlements in the Sevier valley, and he moved to 
what is now Monroe. He built a house and put in a crop, 
but the Indians were very troublesome at that time, and 
he did not harvest it, being compelled to move to Manti, 
where he has since resided. He lives on the Main street 
a little south of the center of the town, and has a nice 
little farm of 25 acres near town. For many years he 
was president of the Manti Co-op. Sheep-Herding Institu- 
tion, is a stockholder in the Co-op. store and also in the 
Central Utah Wool Company. In church matters he has 
always taken an active part, for some years he was super- 
intendent of the Sunday school, and after the organiza- 
tion of the Sanpete stake lie was for many years one of the 
bishop's counsellors, ami while in Moroni was counsellor 
to Bishop Bradley several years. To Mr. and Mrs. Craw- 
ford Mere born the following children, all residents of 
Manti: James, William C, Jedediah G., David and Eli- 
zabeth, wife of Joseph Munk. September 13, 1892, Mr. 
Crawford had the msifortune to lose Ids beloved wife. 
Mr. Crawford comes from a good old Scotch family, and 
is a man of sterling integrity and highly esteemed and 
respected by the people of Manti. 

/J)IIAWFOBD, JAMES, JR., is a wool-grower and one 
V^ of the directors in the Manti City Savings Bank. Is 
a son of James and Catherine Crawford, and born 
in Kaysville, dali, August 28, 1853. His parents were na- 
tives of Scotland and came to this country in 1848, and 
settled in Utah in 1851. A sketch of James Crawford, 
Si\, appears on another page. The family came to Manti 
in 1857, but. the following spring moved to Moroni, after 
a residence there of about eight years they joined a col- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 117 

ony and helped settle the town of Monroe, Sevier Coun- 
ty. The year, 1865, again found them residents of Manti, 
where the family have since continued to live. The sub- 
ject of this sketch has always followed the occupation 
cf farming, and has at present a fine farm of seventy 
acres, three miles from Manti. He started in the sheep 
business also in which he has been very successful hav- 
ing at present about 6000 head of sheep. Mr. Crawford 
has built for himself one of the finest modern residences 
in the city, constructed of pressed brick, and stone trim- 
mings, costing about $6500, and situated on the Main 
street near the center of town. He has a very fine orchard 
in the city. When the Manti City Savings Bank was or- 
ganized he became one of its board of directors, and is 
also one of the stockholders in the Central Utah Wool 
Company. 

Mr. Crawford is considered one of Manti's most re- 
liable and enterprising citizens. He was married in Salt 
Like City, March 13, 1876, to Miss Christina, daughter 
of Ole and Annie Madsen, by whom he has six children as 
follows: Kate, Stanley, Edmund, Christina, Margaret 
ard Alta. Mrs. Crawford's parents both died in Manti, 
w here they located in 1863. 

/£) lLVWFOIJD, JEDETHAH G., of Manti City, is a son 
\ of James and Catherine (Thompson) Crawford and 
was born in Kaysville, Utah, March 2, 1857. The 
family moved to Manti the same year our subject was 
born and shortly after to Moroni, where they resided 
eight years, and thence to Monroe, Sevier County, but 
were compelled to leave there by the Indians, and in 1S65 
they returned to Manti, where they now reside. Our 
subject was raised to the occupation of farming; when 
he grew up he engaged in the cattle business, but soon 
changed to wool-growing, in which he has been very 
successful, now owning about 3000 head of sheep. He 
has built a very nice residence for his family west of the 
center of town. Mr. Crawford is of thrifty Scotch ex- 
traction and by his energy and perseverance has become 
quite well off. In any enterprises calculated to build up 
and benefit the city he always takes a leading part, so 



118 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

he is a stockholder in nearly every corporation in the 
eitv. He was one of the incorporators of the Central 
Utah Wool Company, of the Manti City Savings Bank, 
the new Union Roller Mills, the Manti Publishing Com- 
pany, and is also a stockholder in the Orangeville floor 
ing mills in Emery County, where he resided from 1883 
to 1890, engaged in stock business and wool-growing. 
Mr. Crawford was married in St. George, Utah, October 
27, 1881, to Hannah E., daughter of Amasa E. and Olive 
D. (Lytle) Merriam, born in San Bernardino, California, 
November 14, 1861. Six children have been born to them, 
Ella May, born July 25, 1882, Edwin M., born September 
12, 1881; Jennie L., born October 22, 1886; Jedediah G., 
born January 6, 1890; Melvin, born October 24, 1894, and 
died December 1<>, 1894; Lura, born February 11), 1897. 
Mrs. Crawford's father died in Manti February 2, 1897; 
mother still living. 

/JnKAYYFOKD, JOHN, farmer, of Manti, is one of a fain- 
\. ilj of four and was born in Wickston, l'eebleshire, 
Scotland, September 30, 1829. His parents were 
James and Elizabeth (Brown) Crawford. His father was 
a flax weaver, making fancy linen cloth. John spent the 
early years of his life on a farm till he was 1<> years of 
age, and when 14 joined the Mormon church. He worked 
at track-laying on the railroad till the fall of 1849, when 
he emigrated to the United States, coming across from 
Liverpool in the sailing vessel Zetlin. The voyage took 
six weeks and two days and he landed in New Orleaus 
on Christmas day, 1849. He journeyed up the Mississippi 
river To St. Louis, where he remained the balance of that 
winter. In the spring he continued up the river to Kains- 
ville, where himself and brother James rented a farm 
and put in Ten acres of wheat and twenty-five acres of 
corn. In July Kinkade and Livingston fitted up a train 
of thirty-five wagons drawn by ox teams to haul mer- 
chandise to Salt Lake and John hired out to them to 
drive one of the teams of four yoke of oxen. They left 
(dd Fort. Kearney on the Missouri August 3rd., A. O. 
Smoot, late of Provo, being their captain, and arrived in 
Salt Lake City September 28th. That winter he worked 



HISTOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 119 

in Mill Creek canyon at the lower sawmill for Barney 
Adams. In the spring of 1851 himself and Alex Cowan 
took a contract of Bishop Hunter and made the adobes 
for the old Tabernacle in Salt Lake City, which was the 
first church built, in Utah. It was constructed on the 
ground where the Assembly Hall now stands. In the 
spring of 1852 himself and brother James rented the 
farm of Apostle C. C. Rich at Centerville, which they 
worked for two seasons. When the Walker Indian war 
broke out in the summer of 1853 he was one of a com- 
pany of about thirty-five called by Governor Young to go 
to Manti to strengthen and support the settlement. They 
were instructed to sell all their possessions so they 
would have nothting to return to. This company was 
gathered from the towns near Salt Lake and our subject 
made captain. They arrived in Manti the latter part of 
December, 1853, and found the snow eighteen inches 
deep. They spent the balance of that, winter in standing 
guard and building a fort. In May of 1855 he was called 
with about fifty others upon a mission to the Elk moun- 
tains to live among the Indians to try and civilize them. 
September 23rd the settlement was broken up and they 
were d liven out by the Indians, who killed James W. 
Hunt, William Behunnin and Edward Edwards and 
wounded A. X. Billings, the president of the mission. The 
Indians binned all their hay and stole their cattle. In 
1857 he with Harmon T. Christenseu, X. Beach and R. 
Hall received a charter from the city to construct and 
maintain a toll road up City Creek canyon. This road 
they constructed about eight miles and the following 
year they built a sawmill in the canyon with a gig saw. 
They cut from 2000 to 3000 feet of lumber per day, Mr. 
Crawford being the sawyer. They owned and operated 
this mill nearly ten years. When the Temple was being 
built he ran a. lime kiln five miles west of town, burning 
nil the lime used for the Temple for nearly five years. 
During all these years his family looked after the farm 
and carried it on successfully. He has been engaged in 
the cattle and sheep industry and has now a band of 
about 1500 head of sheep. He is a. stockholder in the 
new Union Roller Mills, was a member of the City Conn- 



120 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNT*. 

ciJ three terms,' Justice of the Peace two terms. . Mr. 
Crawford has been prominent in the church, being presi- 
dent of the Forty-eighth quorum of Seventies about 
thirty years and a ward teacher many years. He was 
married April 0, 1853, to Cecelia, daughter of Nathaniel 
and Cecelia. Sharp. Their children are Elizabeth J., 
John, Jr., deceased, Cecelia, James B., Nathaniel, Wil- 
liam \\\, Margaret C, Mary E., Qniney G., Delphia, de- 
ceased, and Catherine. 

In February, 1850, he married a second wife, Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Gardner and Sarah (Hastings) Snow. 
Their children are: Sarah M., Mary, deceased, Martha M., 
Gardner J., George, deceased, Charles C, Ida, deceased, 
Adelbert I)., Nora A., Frank, Grace and Rayneld, de- 
ceased. 

It may truly be said of Mi'. Crawford he has made a 
success of life, having no capital to start with, he had 
nothing but his individual effort to depend on. By steady 
hard work and honorable means he has accumulated a 
fair stock of this world's goods and has always retained 
the respect and good will of his neighbors. 

/QKAWFORD, WILLIAM G., is one of the leading 
\ woolgroweis of Manti. He is a son of James 

Crawford and Catherine (Thompson) Crawford, 
and was born just north of Salt Lake City, December 
2*1, 1854. When he was three years of age the family 
moved to Manti and shortly after to Moroni, where they 
were among the first settlers, and resided there eight 
years, when they removed to Monroe, Sevier county, 
which was then just being settled. In 1805 they again 
took up their residence in Manti, where they have since 
lived. Our subject followed various occupations in Idaho 
and Salt Lake City, where he attended the Deseret Uni- 
versity a few months. He then returned to Manti and 
concluded to go into the stock business. He secured a 
small herd of about 05 head, but the following winter 
being a very severe one, he lost about one-half of them. 
This rather discouraged him in the stock business, so he 
bought a small band of sheep and took a few more on 
shares, and by dint of hard work and close attention to 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 121 

b t siiiess lie Mas very successful and finally his Hocks 
numbered over 000U. Mr. Crawford is now one of Manti 
City's most influential and substantial citizens. He has 
built a very nice home one block east of the bank, and 
is interested in various enterprises which help to build 
up the town. He helped establish the Manti City Savings 
Bank and became one of the leading stockholders. He 
also was one of the originators of the Central Wool 
company, in which he is one of the board of directors. 
He was married in Manti January 29, 1S79, to Calista 
C, daughter of Frederick W. and Calista C. Cox. They 
have a family of six children, Bertha, William L., David 
D., Evelyn, Ituth and Bryant F. Mrs. Crawford's parents 
v. ere among the early settlers of Manti, a sketch appear- 
ing elsewhere in this work. 



/QRAWFOKD, "WILLIAM W., druggist and registered 
V pharmacist, son of John and Cecelia, and born in 

Manti, September 11, 1863, was raised on the 
farm, attended district school at home, spent two winters 
at the B. Y. Academy, Provo, and one year at the Utah 
University in Salt Lake City. Taught school one year 
at Orangeville, Emery county, returned and spent five 
months at the University again, then taught two years 
at Orangeville. He married in Logan, May 26, 1886, 
Ellen I. Callaway, daughter of Levi H. and Mary, of Em- 
ery county. They have had five children, Mary C. (de- 
ceased), Zella, Jessie, Kate and William E. He was 
County Clerk of Emery county four years, then taught in 
Orangeville, where he opened a drug store, studied phar- 
macy and passed a successful examination before the 
State Board of Pharmacy, August 14, 1884. In Septem- 
ber, same year, opened his present store in Manti, next 
door to the postoffice; carries general drugs, patent med- 
icines, stationery, perfumes and toilet articles. Is a 
member of the A. O. U. W. and is the present Master 
Workman of Manti Lodge Xo. 23; has also been Lodge 
Financier. Mr. Crawford is one of our solid men, en- 
ergetic in business, strictly upright and draws to him- 
self friends in abundance. 



122 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

DAVENPORT, SAMUEL, farmer, son of James and 
Hannah Massey, was born in Lancashire, England, 
November 18, 1815. In 1S(>1 he came to Utah, 
crossing- the plains in an oxtrain, under Capt. Murdoek. 
He learned the hatter's trade in Salt Lake City, and fol- 
low ed that for some time after coming" to this city in 
1S64. He owns about 50 acres of land, besides one- 
fourth block and a comfortable homo in Manti. During 
the Indian wars he took an active part in guarding. On 
December 23, 1870, he was married, in this city, to Sarah, 
daughter of Samuel and Phoebe Mackey, born in Penn- 
sylvania, March 17, 1850. They have had twelve chil- 
dren: Samuel, Edwin, Sarah J., wife of John Covington; 
Ann, Joseph, James, Elizabeth, Alice, Ethel and Mi- 
randa, living: Mary E. and William, dead. 

DE MILL, ELIAS, of Manti, son of Freeborn and Annie 
(Knight), was born in Caldwell county, Mo., Janu- 
ary 12, 1838. His parents joined the Mormon 
church about one year after it was founded, and were 
neighbors of Joseph Smith. The family were through 
the Mormon persecutions and lived in Jackson county, 
Kirkland and Xauvoo. Father helped build the Kirk- 
land and Xauvoo temples. In the spring of 1850 the 
parents, with their two sons and two daughters, started 
for Utah, and reached Manti late in the fall. They took 
up a piece of land, and father was engaged in farming 
and church work till his death January 17, 1882; mother 
died July 17, 1880. The family endured all the priva- 
tions incident to pioneer life, and daring the grasshopper 
plague saw many days when they had nothing but greens 
to eat. During the Indian troubles Elias took part and 
helped pursue the Indians after manv of their raids. He 
lias been engaged in farming, owning a nice farm near 
town. He married June 12, 1803, Malvina, daughter of 
Cyras and Catherine (Hulett) Winget, born in Xauvoo. 
111., December 11, 1843. Their children are Eliza, Eliza- 
beth, Perintha, Monroe, Leror and Edwin. 

Mrs. De Mill's parents came to Utah in 1*47 in 
Charles C Rich's company. They started with their own 
team of four oxen: when they arrived in Salt Lake City 
thev had one ox and a cow hitched together. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 123 

DYRENG, P. P., was born in the district of Hedeniar- 
ken, Norway, June 19, 1857. His father, Peter B. 
Dyreng, who was a tailor by trade, was burned to 
death in a mill in the old country when Peter, Jr., was 
but. a small boy. 

At the age of sixteen years the subject of our sketch 
came to America and located at Manti. He followed 
various occupations for a livelihood, until the organiza- 
tion of the Manti City Savings Bank, when he became a 
stockholder in the institution and soon after he was ap- 
pointed assistant, cashier and served in that capacity un- 
til the death of the cashier, Albert Tuttle, January 1, 
1805, when he was promoted to the vacancy, which posi- 
tion he now holds. 

Besides attending to his duties in the bank, Mr. 
Dyreng owns and manages a farm near Manti, has 
helped establish the Manti Co-operative Roller Mills and 
is interested in various other enterprises which assist in 
building up the city and county. He was married in Salt 
Lake City in 1882 to Miss Maria Kjar, and six children 
were born to them, as follows: Lizzie, Lenore, Bay, 
Mabel, Ruby and Ivan. 

Mr. Dyreng has held many offices of trust, among 
others being that of member of the City Council. He is 
an example of the poor boy rising by grit, and persever- 
ance to a position in the front rank, not only as a citizen, 
but. as a business man. 

FELT, NATHANIEL H., general merchant, son of 
Nathaniel H. and Mary (Pile), was born in Salt 
Lake City December 2, 18(52, where he was educated 
and spent his boyhood. His father was one of the early 
cashiers of the Z. C. M. I. and many years member of the 
City Council. Harry, as he is known, went to Provo, 
opened a stationery store in 1880, which he kept for 
three or four years, and returned to Salt Lake City. In 
1800 he came to Manti, purchasing an interest in tin* 
Sentinel, finally buying the plant and conducting the 
paper in company with Ward Stevenson and Hial G. 
Bradford. lie sold out to his partners ami opened his 
present place of business, where he carries an excellent 



124 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

stock of fancy and staple groceries and notions. He is a 
member of the A. (J. l\ \\\ and a genial business man. 
In company with .John Giles, be has constructed a fine 
opera bouse in the rear of bis place of business. He was 
married in Logan, December 2, 18ST, to Elvira Clark, 
daughter of Thomas B. and Sarah, a native of Provo. 
They have four children: Harold, Thomas B., Venice 
and Roger. 

FOX, EDWARD \Y., for fourteen years was County 
Surveyor, born in the village of Philadelphia, Jef- 
ferson county, N. Y., August 1st, 1833. His father 
was a carpenter and joined the Mormon Church early in 
the forties, and the family moved to Xauvoo in 1844, 
where both parents died in 1815. Edward went with his 
uncle, Jesse W., to his birthplace, where he received a 
common school education. In 1818, his uncle came to 
Salt Lake City, and Edward followed the same year, 
driving an ox team in George A. Smith's company of 
fifty wagons. He learned surveying under the tutorship 
of his uncle, and in Salt Lake City, under Gen. David 
IT. Burr, the first U. S. Surveyor-General for Utah. In 
l"he fall of 1850 he came to Manti, and in '1851 went to 
Mount Pleasant and engaged as sawyer in the Hanible- 
ton, Potter & Lowry sawmill, where he remained about 
two years, thence to Salt Lake, and herded cattle in 
Idaho on the Bannock river. Afterwards attended school 
In Salt Lake, taught by George Mousley; studied survey- 
ing, and then came to Manti. His uncle, Jesse W., did 
the first surveying in Manti and laid off the city one mile 
sqnare, and taught school there the winter. of 1850; he 
died in Salt Lake City in 1801. 

Edward was elected County Surveyor the fall after 
his return, and was the first Surveyor of Sanpete, which 
office lie held for fourteen years; was also Assessor and 
Collector for the county; was member of the City Coun- 
cil 1801, T»2, 1871 '72; was City Treasurer one term. Was 
J: ternal Bevenue Collector for this district about eight 
years: postmaster of Manti about eight years. Was as- 
sociated with L. T. Turtle in general merchandising, 
opening the first general store in Manti; afterwards sold 



HISTORY OF SA.NPETE COUNTY. 125 

out to the Co-op; was also associated with R. L. By bee 
a short time in general merchandise. He and Mr. Bvbee 
took a contract to grade about one mile of the Salina 
branch of the K. G. W. R. R. in Salina canyon. They 
also graded about three miles on the Buck Horn Flat in 
Castle Valley. 

He is one of the stockholders of the new Union Rol- 
ler mill in Manti. He married in Manti, July 4, 1860, 
Bi lie Peacock, daughter of Hon. George, and his wife 
Sarah; by her he had ten children, Edward W., George 
D., Hellen, Jesse TV, Belle, Zella, lone, Leslie, Clinton 
and Harrison. Mr. Fox was actively engaged in the In- 
dian wars and was a Colonel of Infantry. He carries on 
farming, has a fine farm of sixty acres near Manti and 
has a goo'd home. Is quiet and unassuming, though a 
man of weight in his sphere, and has proven himself true 
to his honest convictions and enjoys the esteem of his 
associates. 

II ALL, JOHN, farmer, stock-raiser and wool-grower, 
M son of Richard, Sr., and Ann Bordley, was born in 
J Yorkshire, England, November 22, 1830. The fami- 

ly came to the United States in 1850 and located at St. 
Louis, Mo., where his father, who was a stonecutter, 
owned and operated a quarry. His parents united with 
the Mormons and came to Utah, stopping at. Provo in 
1852, and Manti in 1854. He was fond of teaming, aud 
made three trips to the Missouri river for merchandise 
and emigrants, besides freighting to the mining towns 
of Utah and Nevada. He took an active part in the Black 
Hawk war, and has carried on farming, stock-raising and 
wool-growing. Owns a nice 50-acre farm, a residence in 
the city, is a stockholder in the Central Wool Co., and has 
about. 2500 sheep. Served as Deputy City Collector and 
Treasurer for eight years, Deputy County Collector 
twelve years, and Deputy Assessor ten years. 

His wife was Almira, daughter of John II. and Sabra 
A. Tuttle, born in Garden Grove, Iowa, November 2d, 
1847. They were married in Salt Lake City, December 1, 
186fi, and have had twelve children, Sabra A., wife of 
Andrew H. Miller, Myra, wife of Nephi Bessey, Mary, 



126 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

John H., Luther T., married to Lilly M. Barton, A\ illiuiii 
T., Welington L., Fred M., Clara T., living, Elizabeth 
E., Edna (1. and Kit-hard L., deceased. 

MALL, RICHABD, SB., of Manti, was born in York- 
j| shire, England, near Wakefield, August 10, 1817. 
/ He learned the trade of stone cutting from, his 

father and followed it many years in England. He mar- 
ried Ann Boardler, and two of their children are now 
living in Manti, John and Richard, Jr. He joined the 
Mormon Church about 1840 and in 1849 started for 
Utah. They stopped two years in St. Louis, where his 
wife died. In 1851 he again started for Utah, and on the 
way he married and buried his second wife, Eliza Brooks. 
He located in Provo about two years and in 1853 came to 
Manti, where for many years he followed his trade of 
builder. He helped build the fort, walls and many of the 
sione buildings of the city, including the Co-op store and 
the large meeting house. He helped on the construction 
of the two magnificent temples at St. George and Manti. 
Mr. Hall, John Crawford and X. Beach built the first 
saw mill at Manti, located in Manti canyon. He passed 
through all the hardships incident to early life, includ- 
ing the Indian wars and the grasshopper plague. He has 
a splendid farm adjoining the city on the north, where 
he lives in a. large old stone house. Mr. Hall, although 
past. 80 years of age, is quite active, and in the many 
years of his residence in Manti he has built up a reputa- 
tion for truth and honorable dealings that will stand as 
a monument long after he has passed from the scene of 
action. Mr. Hall married again after coming to Salt 
Lake, a Miss Sarah Bell, who died in Manti in 1896. 
H« again married in Manti to Catherine Jack. They have 
s*ven children, Joseph, Mary, William, Catherine B., 
Thomas T>., James and Jessie. 

11 AXSEX, JEXS J., wagon-maker, Manti, son of Jens 
|| and Charlotte (Peterson) Hansen, was born in Manti 
' . June 19, 1803. The parents came to Manti in 1853 
with the first Scandinavian emigrants. There is in the 
family three sons and five daughters, all living in Manti 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 127 

except one son, in Emery County. The father died No- 
vember 30, 1884, mother still living in Manti. Our sub- 
ject was raised to farm work and when 22 years of a#e 
he learned his trade under P. P. Kathkey. May 1, 1S!>4, 
he opened a shop of his own on Main street, where lie 
does a general repairing business and manufactures 
pack saddles. He owns, in company with his brother 
Joseph, the old homestead of thirty-eight acres. For 
tire years he was county district poundkeeper. He was 
married in Manti May 30, 1888, to Johanna h J., daughter 
of William B. and Johanna h iHougaard) Richey. Their 
children are Margaret Ann, William J., Jay, Lola and 
Joseph W. 

■ lANSEN, P. <>., deceased, was born in Copenhagen, 

jl Denmark, June 11, 1818. He grew up there and 
9 was educated in the public schools, and in 1847 

came to Utah in Capt. Kimball's company. In 1850 he 
was sent to Denmark, as the first Mormon missionary, 
Erastus Snow soon folloAving. He labored there six 
years, and translated the Book of Mormon into the Dan- 
ish language. He made many converts, and was instru- 
mental in bringing many to Utah, being- the president of 
three large companies of emigrants, the first containing 
900 persons. He spent 11 years, in three missions, in 
laboring for the church. In 1858 he came to Sanpete 
and resided in Manti, Fairview, Mt. Pleasant and Rich- 
field, and died at Manti, August 9, 1895. 

IJAXSEX, SOKEX CHRISTOFFERSON, deceased, 
j| was one of the representative citizens of Manti. He 
' was born in Denmark, March 5, 1819. In 1850 he 

came to Utah and located at Brigham City. In 1858 he 
came to Ephraim, this county, btit. Avas called on a mis- 
sion to his native land, and labored there for the good of 
his church from April, 1800, till October, 1802. He then 
located in Manti, and in 1803 bought a. grist mill, which 
he ran many years. In 1864 he built a carding mill, which 
is still running. During the Black Hawk war he took 
his part with the citizens and lost a large number of cat- 
tle. He married in Salt Lake City in November, 1800, 



128 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Aime B., daughter of Christian P. and Maria S. (Waas) 
Steck, born iii Denmark, January 8, 1840. Their children 
are Hans B., Christ inn, wife of J. M. Sjodahl of the edito- 
rial staff of the Evening News, Salt Lake, Serena, wife of 
J. L. Miller, Enoch, Nettie, William. Mrs. Hansen has 
two children by a former marriage, Nels Jensen and 
Maria, wife of H. \V. Pamlose. Mr. Hansen was a promi- 
nent man, and one of the heaviest taxpayers in the comi- 
ty. He was counsellor to Bishop Jensen seventeen years, 
and three times went on a mission to Denmark, lie died 
in Manti December 29, 1894. 

MABDY, ERNEST V., merchant, Justice of the Peace 
Y\ and manager Deseret Telegraph Company at 
/ Manti; son of Augustus P. and Elizabeth Capener, 
was born in Virgin City, Utah, December 1, 1802. His 
father was one of the first settlers of Washington County, 
an Indian missionary, and is a prominent business man. 
His grandparents are living in Washington County; 
grandfather 91 years and grandmother 92 years of age. 
At the age of 12 ho entered the employ of Woolley, Lund 
& Judd and worked for them twenty years, also learned 
telegraphy. Was one of the incorporators of the Laver- 
kin Fruit and Nursery Company and the Pio Virgin 
Canal Company. He is a member of the A. O. U. W., 
being financier of the lodge for three years; was ap- 
pointed Justice of the Peace in June, 1897, and is oper- 
ator for the Deseret Telegraph Company. He has a fine 
stock of dry goods and gents' furnishings, and is a suc- 
cessful business man. 

His wife was Louisa C, daughter of Moses F. and 
Elizabeth J. Farnsworth, born June 8, 1805. They were 
married in St. George September 25, 1884. She died 
in Manti September 19, 1S9G, leaving three children: — 
Louisa, born Mav 10, 1880; Ernest V., September 5, 1888, 
and Frank A., April 21, 1891. July 21, 1897, he mar- 
ried Alice Tennant Cox. 

IlEXXTXGSEX, RASMUS, liarnessmaker, son of Hen- 
ri ning and Karen, was born in Denmark, October 
9 29, 1822. At the age of 15 he learned the trade of 
a liarnessmaker. which he has followed since, with the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 129 

exception of six years, during- the war between Germany 
and Denmark. He served in the artillery and was in 
eleven heavy engagements. Joined the Mormon Church, 
June 3, 1800, and for twelve years was president of a 
branch, baptizing 22 converts himself. In 1875 he came 
to Manti, working at his trade 14 years with Lars C. 
Kjar. In March, 1896, he opened his present shop, 
where he manufactures harness and does general repair- 
ing, employing one man. Has been a ward teacher ever 
since coming to Manti, and is a member of the High 
Priests' quorum. Was married in Denmark, June 22, 
1851, to Katrina Hansen. They have had six children: 
Paulina, Christian and Maria, living; Katrina, Christian 
and Richard, deceased. Second wife was Petrea Peter- 
son, married in St. George temple, May 14, 1877. She 
has had seven children: Karen, Eliza, Erastus, Joseph, 
Martha and Petrea, living; Peter, deceased. 



II EXltlE, DANIEL, retired farmer, of Manti, was bom 
M on the 15th of November, 1825, in Hamilton County, 
' Ohio, son of William and Myra (Mayall) Henrie. 
His father had a sawmill and grist mill there He was a 
native of Virginia, and with his wife joined the Mormon 
church about 1841. In 1842 the family moved to Xauvoo, 
Illinois, where Daniel, through hearing Joseph Smith 
preach, joined the church in 1843, and was baptized in 
the Mississippi river. July 1(>, 1846, he enlisted in the 
Mormon Battalion, Company D, Nelson Higgins, captain. 
He did faithful service for his country in that memora- 
ble Mexican war and was discharged in California July 
16, 1847, when all the battalion were mastered out of 
service at Los Angeles. Mr. Henrie made his way to 
Utah in 1849, where the family had already emigrated, 
his father being a pioneer in the fifth ten, though the 
family did not come until the next year (1848) and set- 
tled just north of Salt Lake City. The family then were 
four sons and one daughter; all are now living. The 
father followed the business of millwright and sawyer 
many years and died, aged 85, in Bountiful. The mother 
died in her ilOth vear. 



130 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Daniel was married in Salt Lake City by Brigham 
Young October 20, 1S40, to Amanda Bradley, daughter 
of Thomas J. and Betsey (Kroll) Bradley. In March, 
1850, they came to Manti on a visit and were caught in 

a snowstorm and the last thirty -tire mile* Mr. Henrie 
and Mrs. Henries brother Jerome hauled her on a hand 
sled. He served in the Walker and Black Hawk wars; 
was commissioned by Governor Dnrkee captain of Com- 
pany A, Infantry First Battalion, Second Regiment Xau- 
voo Legion. Was Sheriff of the county one year, City 
Treasurer three years, senior president of the Forty - 
eighth quorum of Seventies for about thirty-five years.* 

By this wife he had fourteen children, nil born in 
Manti except the first, viz.: Mary A., Myra E., Susan L., 
Daniel, Diantha, James, Jerome B., William, Melinda 
E., Margaret E., Lima A., Thomas J., Jedidiah and 
Loren, the last three are deceased. He also married a 
second wife, Susan, daughter of Ellis and Elizabeth 
Coleman, by whom he had twelve children, all born in 
Manti, of which Joseph T., Rachel, Arthur, Samuel, Cora 
and Ellis are living. 

Uncle Daniel, as he is familiarly called, endured ail 
the privations and trials incident to pioneer life, but he 
still survives, a stalwart for truth and honesty, immova- 
ble in his honest convictions and a. man always to be re- 
lied upon. 

IjEXRIE, JEROME B., farmer, son of Daniel and 
rj Amanda, was born in Manti November 25, 1800. 
' He was brought up on a farm and owns sixty-five 
acres. Was for many years engaged in freighting farm 
produce to the mining camps of Utah and Nevada. About 
ISSN, in company with Hans Larsen, he built a sawmill 
in Six-Mile canyon, where he was engaged in getting out 
limber from the mountains till 1S00. Was married in 
Manti March 27, 1889, to Mary C, daughter of Peter and 
Anne Madsen Westenskow, born in Manti, November 3, 
1868. She had three children: Jerome, Calvin II. and 
Harold, all deceased. Wife died February 10, 1S02. He 
was married again March 7, 1893, to Thea, daughter of 
Thomas S. and Martha Lund, born in Salem, Utah, April 




JEZREEL SHOMAKER, 
MANTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 131 

13, 1870. They have two children: Alphonso and 
Irven L. 

M OGG'AJC, JAMES W., merchant, was bom in Dun- 
j| ferniline, Fifesliire, Scotland, February 25, 1854. 
' The family came to Salt Lake City in 18G3, where 
his father engaged in stone quarrying and was killed 
in the quarries near Fort Douglas June 29, 1871. His 
mother died in Salt Lake City February 3, 1895. At the 
age of 17 he took his father's business and filled con- 
tracts for stone, then engaged as teamster for five years. 
In 1877 he came to Manti and engaged in lumbering, 
afterwards as a contractor in building Utah Southern 
and Rio Grande Western railroad. About 1885 he 
purchased the Manti steam sawmill, which he run for 
five years, when a fire consumed all he had, about $10,- 
000. * Inside of two days he had secured an extensive 
contract on the Rio Grande Western railroad and set 
men and teams to work. He and his brother William 
established the present, business in 1802, he purchased 
his brother's interest in January, 1895, and has a suc- 
cessful trade in general merchandise. He is also en- 
gaged in wool-growing, having about. 5000 sheep. Is 
a stockholder in the Manti City Savings Bank and Cen- 
tral Utah Wool Company, assisting in the organization 
of both. Is a member of the I. (). (). F. Mr. Hoggan 
is an energetic, enterprising business man and ranks 
high among the merchants of the county. His wife was 
Sarah, daughter of John and Ann Davis Rosser. They 
were married in Salt Lake City January 11, 1883, and 
have six children: — Walter J., Louise S., Rosser J., Isa- 
bel le, Nellie J. and William M. 

MOGGAX, THOMAS A., of Manti, is a dealer in gen- 
M eral merchandise. Mr. Hoggan is a native of Iowa 
' and came to Manti in 1879. After his arrival here 

ho worked at his trade of carpenter, also was engaged in 
wool-growing. In 1S95 ho began in the mercantile busi- 
ness and by strict attention to business has made a suc- 
cess of il. He carries one of the best selected stocks of 
goods found in Manti, consisting of dry goods, groceries, 
shoes, crockerv, tinware, etc. 



132 HISTORY 01 SANPETE COUNTY. 

II OLM, CHRISTIAN PETERSEN, farmer, was bom in 
Jl Denmark May 27, 1840. He was raised on a farm, 
' joined the Mormon Church, in 1862 and in 1864 
came to Utah, driving an ox team loaded with merchan- 
dise to Salt Lake City. Resided in Ephraim one year, and 
in 1SG5 came to Manti, where he worked at anything he 
eonld get to do until he was able to buy a farm. He now 
owns fifty acres. Took part in the Black Hawk war, do- 
ing his share in guarding and chasing the Indians. For 
many yeais he has been president of the Elders' quorum 
and is an enthusiastic worker in the church. He was 
married iu Manti to Bertha M. Christiansen, who died, 
leaving one child, Christian P. Again married to Helena 
M. Neilsen. They have six children: Helena M., Neils 
C, Caroline M., Mary C, Charles A. and Henry M. 

MOSFORD, EDWIN THOMAS, M. I)., son of John S. 
M and Jane S., was born in London, England, Janu- 
' ary 10, 1868. He studied in the Woodgrange Col- 
lege, and at the age of 18 years held three diplomas from 
the College of Preceptors, and one from the Society of 
Apothecaries, London. He registered as medical student 
in London. During the summer vacations he continued 
his studies in the office of Dr. John Reeks. 

In the fall of 1887, he, with his brother, Dr. William 
J. Hosford, purchased the practice of Dr. St. John of 
Manti, and in company with their mother, they left Lon- 
don for Utah, where they have since resided. In 1892-93 
he took a. course at the Keokuk Medical College, Iowa, 
giving especial study to the diseases of women and chil- 
dren, and received the degree of M. D. from there on 
March 7, 1893. He is a fraternal man, being a Past 
Grand of Temple City Lodge No. 23, I. O. o! F.: also 
treasurer of Unity Forum No. 1319, H. F. B. O. He it, 
also a. member of tin 1 A. (). F. He is surgeon to the S. P. 
V. Railway, and also medical examiner for all the lead- 
ing life insurance companies. He was married on Janu- 
ary 30, 1889, to Ethel la. C, daughter of Hon. Luther T. 
and Lola A. Turtle, who was born in Manti, May 10, 1870. 
Thev have four children, Albert E., Jennie L., Winnifred 
C. and Leo W. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. l'd'6 

II OSFORD, WILLIAM JOSEPH, M. D., sou of John 
j] S. and Jane S., was born in London, England, 

/ September G, 1S65. From his youth up he was 

engaged in preparing for the medical profession. Com- 
mencing his literary studies at the early age of seven 
years, at the age of 15 he passed his examination in Arts 
at the Society of Apothecaries, London, Eng., being the 
youngest person to do so. He entered on his medical 
studies at the London Hospital, AYhitechapel Eoad, Lon- 
don, Eng., and receiving his certificate from there, also 
taking his examination at the Apothecaries Hall in 
1887 and receiving a license from there. He served as 
a volunteer assistant surgeon during the war and cam- 
paign in Egypt. He also took charge of his uncle's prac- 
tice at Stratford, Essex, while studying at the hospital. 
In the fall of 1887 he, with his brother, Dr. E. T. Hos- 
ford, purchased the practice of Dr. St. John of Manti 
and left London for Utah, their mother accompanying 
tJiem, August 1, 1S87. They have since resided here. 
In the years of 1889-90 he again took a course at the 
University of Colorado, studying diseases of the eye, ear, 
noee and throat as a specialty, receiving the degree of 
M. D. from that institution in May, 1890. Dr. Hosford 
is an enthusiastic member of fraternal societies, being 
a member of the F. A. M., I. O. O. F. in all its branches, 
being Past Grand and District Deputy Grand Master 
and Past Chief Patriarch, and in conjunction with two 
other members, being the pioneer of Odd Fellowship in 
Southern Utah. He is also a member of the A. O. F. 
and H. F. B. O. He is Medical Examiner for all the 
leading life insurance companies and surgeon for the 
Rio Grande Western and Sanpete Valley railroads. W T as 
also Quarantine Fhvsician for Manti Citv. He married 
oi, July 23, 1890, Lillie B., daughter of Hon. L. T. and 
Lola A. Turtle, born iu Manti, October 3rd, 18G7. They 
have four children, Kathleen L., Frederic W., Eileen A. 
and Erma B. 

liOrGAATJD, HON. JOHN H.. Surveyor of Sanpete 
j| County, is the son of Rasmus H. and Magdalene 
' nougaard, and was born on the island of Falster, 
Denmark, November 10, 1842. His boyhood days were 



134 HISTORY OF SANrETE COUNTY. 

spent on a farm. The family were converted to the Mor- 
mon faith in their native land, and emigrated to Utah 
in the fall of 1862, settling in Manti. The family con- 
sisted of three sons and three daughters. The father was 
a very zealous member of the church and spent most of 
his comfortable fortune in the cause. He brought sixty- 
five persons from Denmark to Utah besides his own fam- 
ily, at his private expense. The parents both died in 
Manti, the father, February 27, 1875, and the mother, 
February 19, 1881. Our subject studied the English Ian- 
guage before coming to this country, and after his ar- 
rival here studied in the Union Academy of Salt Lake, 
afterward merged into the Deseret University. He also 
studied surveying, photography and telegraphy. He was 
the first telegraph operator in Manti, whieb occupation 
he followed two years, when he returned to his native 
land on a mission leaving here in the spring of 1869, and 
working for the good of the church until the fall of 1870. 
Upon his return he followed the business of a traveling 
photographer two years in southern Utah. He then 
entered the office of county surveyor as deputy and 
served three years when he received another call and 
went to southern Colorado as surveyor for the church. 
He located and platted the two towns of Ephraim and 
Manassa, beside doing considerable surveying on canals 
and ditches to irrigate the new settlement. On his re- 
turn to Manti he was in 1880 elected to the oiftiee of 
county surveyor which he has since filled, excepting two 
years. He is assisted by liis sou, John A., who is also 
deputy county recorder and deputy postmaster. Mr. 
Hougaard is manager and a large stockholder in the 
Manti Union flouring mills, and is also a stockholder in 
the Co-op store, and the Manti City Savings Rank. He 
was interested in the first grist mill built in Mayfield. 
He is also interested in wool -growing, having a band of 
about 1000 head of sheep. He is a charter member and 
was the first past muster of Manti Lodge No. 23, A. O. U. 
\Y. He was mayor of Manti four years, and member of 
the City Council six years. Mr. Hougaard is an enter- 
prising, energetic citizen of the kind which help to build 
up a town, ;ind is highly esteemed bv his fellow towns- 



HIST0R1' OF SANPETE COUNTY. 135 

men, who look upon him as a leader in enterprises of mer- 
it. He married in Manti, May 11, 1809, To Petrea, (laugh- 

ter of Andrew C and Dorthea Petersen, born in Jylland, 
Denmark, Mar 30, 1852. Their children are as follows: 
John H., Jr., born December 15, 1871, died January 3, 
1872; Magdalene Dorthea, born April 28, 1873, died No- 
vember 7, 1S79; Roserta Petrea, bora July 22, 1875, died 
February 18, 1804; John A., born July 24, 1877; Magnola, 
born July 7, 1880: Blanche, born January 18, 1883; Clara 
Bell, born March 12, 1885; Ralph, bora February 18, 
1887; Anthon, born October 4, 1889; Vera, bora Novem- 
ber 4, 1894. 



JENSEN, FREDERICK, farmer, of Manti, son of bonis 
and Christina (Roth), was bora in Copenhagen, 
Denmark, May 27, 18(50. Parents joined the Mor- 
mon church and in 1800 started for Zion, but the father 
died on the plains; mother is now living in Manti. Fred 
was raised a fanner and has followed it all his life. For 
several years he freighted produce to the mining camps 
of Nevada, and in the fall for many years he has run a 
threshing machine. He also tried wool growing a couple 
of years, but. farming is his successful business. He has 
a nice farm of eighty acres north of town and a comforta- 
ble residence in town. Mr. Jensen is a worthy citizen 
and well liked by the people. In 1895 they elected him 
to represent them in the City Council and he Avas re- 
elected in 1897. He was married January 0, 1881, to 
Christina M., daughter of Peter and Maria Lund, born in 
Denmark May 11, 1861. They have seven children, as 
follows: Frederick R., Maranda, Katie, Henry, Glen, 
Merrill and Earle. 



JENSEN, BISHOP HANS, of Manti, son of Peter and 
Margaretta (Peterson), was born in Hals, Aalsborg, 
Denmark, June 24, 1829. In November, 1853, the 
parents, with their two boys, Hans and Lauritz, started 
for the home of the Saints in Utah. When they reached 
Hull, England, the father died. In crossing the ocean 



136 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Hans married Mary Ericksen. In March they reached 
New Orleans, and continued their journey up the river, 
and finally camped near Kansas City, where the mother 
died. Here Lauritz, then 10 years old, joined a camp of 
freighters hauling- goods to Fort Defiance, N. M., and 
Hans heard nothing of him for seventeen years. He is 
now an ex-Judge in Manassa, Colo. October 4, 1854, Hans 
arrived in Salt Lake and reached Manti the same year, 
where he has since been engaged in farming and wool- 
growing. About twenty years he was also engaged in 
selling farm implements and is a director in the Manti 
Co-op. He has been a member of the City Council several 
years. Seven years he was bishop's counsellor, and the 
last twenty years he has been bishop of the South ward 
of Manti. In 1SG5 he went on a mission to Denmark 
and was gone three and one-half years. In 1878 he was 
sent by the church to help locate Manassa and Sanford 
in Colorado. He took his two children, Mary and Mari- 
nus. In returning he had to pass through a hostile Indian 
country, and as the Ouray war was then in progress, he 
had several narrow escapes, but through coolness and 
courage he escaped injury. Second wife, Maria Ras- 
mussen, has six children, Christian K., Elvina, Maty A., 
Louis, Erastus and Catherine, deceased. Third wife, 
Maria C. Jorgensen, has eleven children, Mary L., Hans 
P., Marinas, deceased, Stency, Sophronia, Margaret, Hil- 
da, Linda, Caroline, Gertrude and May, deceased. The 
bishop is a prominent citizen and well liked by his people. 

JENSEN, OLE, woolgrower, son of Canute and Bodel, 
was born in Denmark, September 18, 1849, and 
came to Utah with his parents, in 1SG2, stopping 
at Provo, and finally locating in Gunnison. He took 
part in the Indian wars and at the age of 18 removed 
to Scipio, where his parents died in 1874. In 1879 he 
was called as a missionary to Apache county, Arizona, 
where he assisted in building the town of St. John. He 
was one of the stockholders of the Co-op store in that 
town and a clerk for three or four years, then engaged 
in the furniture business, which he sold in 1SS7 and re- 
moved to this city. He labored for four Years in the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COINTY. 137 

temple and spent a two years' mission To Denmark. His 
handsome residence is a credit to the city. He owns 
about 2500 sheep. His wife, whom he married in Scipio, 
May 16. 1870, was Magdalene, daughter of Asmus and 
Elizabeth Lamp, born in Denmark, August 6, 1817. 
They have three children: Henry O., born March 1, 1871, 
married Annie Peterson; they have one child, Leslie O. 
Helena, born March 2S, 1873, wife of Ernest Madsen. 
J.ydia R., born June 3, 1875, teacher in Manti schools. 

JOHNSON, ALMA, farmer and stockraiser, sou of 
Robert and Elizabeth Johnson, was born in Manti 
December 2, 1858, and brought up a farmer. He 
owns about sixty acres of land near here besides a good 
home in the city. Born and reared a Latter-day Saint, 
he has fulfil led a mission of over two years in England, 
and is one of the ward teachers and member of the Tab- 
ernacle choir. He was engaged several years in freight- 
ing produce to the mining towns of Utah and Nevada, 
and 'in November, 1897, was elected a member of the City 
Council on the Democratic ticket. On November 25, 1886, 
he was married in the Logan Temple to Margaret El., 
daughter of Daniel and Amanda Henrie. She was born 
in Manti December 23, 1861. Their family consists of 
three living children: Alice, Kate D. and Alma H., 
Elizabeth being dead. 

JOHNSON, ROBERT, of Manti, son of Wiliam and Ann 
i Edwards), born near Chester, England, September 
4, 1823. As the family was large and poor, Robert 
at an early age was put to work in a cotton factory, and 
became quite an expert in cotton nrill machinery. He 
married and settled down, but joined the Mormon church 
and concluded to come to the land of the Saints, so in 
1853, with his wife and two children, they came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in an ox train, arriving; in Salt Lake, 
October 16, 1853. In January, 1851, they came to Manti, 
where Mr. Johnson engaged in making adobes and other 
occupations till he secured a farm. He followed farm 
ini: for many years, but a. few years ago he divided most 
of Ins land among his sons and retired. During the Black 



138 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Hawk war he was a member of the Hoine Guard two 
years. In Mar, 1883, lie went on a mission to England 
and labored for the cause two years. Mr. Johnson is a 
man of sterling qualities, honorable and upright in his 
dealings, and a good neighbor. He manied January 12, 
1845, to Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Clark) Johnson, born in Yorkshire, England, October 2, 
1825. Their children are Robert, Mary E., Elizabeth A., 
Alma, Martha and Nephi. 

JOLLEY, MRS. CHELNECHA, proprietor of the 
Jolley House, widow of Francis M., daughter of 
Madison D. and Chelnecha Smith Hamilton; was 
born in Salt Lake City March 24, 184K Her father came 
to Utah in 1847, being one of the most prominent pio- 
neers of Sanpete county. He settled in Manti in 1840 
and later in Mt. Pleasant, where his home and sawmill 
were burned by Indians. Several residences of this city 
were built by him, among them the present Snow Hotel. 
He carried the mail to Salt Lake City, and was engaged 
in business in Neplii and Moroni and operating a flouring 
mill in this city, where he died in 18(51). His wife died 
here also March 0, 1870. Chelnecha was married to 
Francis M. Jolley in Moroni September 3, 1865. He was 
engaged in the sheep business, as a miller and carpenter, 
and died here November 13, 1801. They had seven chil- 
dren: Francis M., Delphia E., wife of Qniney Crawford, 
and Eftie living; Chelnecha, Ada L., Manning I>. and 
Madison ]>.. deceased. 

JONES, MOSES M., of Manti, is an expert workman 
in constructing and running carding mills. He 
was born in Montgomeryshire, North Wales, 
June 4, ls2<>. He learned his trade of wool-carder in his 
native country, where he also joined the Mormon church 
in 18(12 and emigrated to Salt Lake in 1809, where he 
was employed over two years by lirigham Young at $4 
per shift to work in the Deseret Woolen Mills. From 
there he went to I'rovo with John Hardin and they pur 
in eleven looms for the Provo Woolen Mills. In 1875 lie 
came to Manti and for twenty-one years was employed in 




J. W. HOGGAN. 
MAXTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 139 

Christofferson's mill. In June, 1897, he took the Peacock 
mill and is engaged in rolling wool for spinning. Ho was 
married iu Provo in 1S72 to Christina Ferry, by whom 
he has three children, Abram, Quendollan and Sophia, 
all of whom are grown up and living in Manti. 

JOKGENSEN, NIELS, farmer and stockraiser, son of 
Rasmus and Sophia Peterson, was born in Den- 
mark, November 1, 1854. His parents joined the 
Mormon church and came to this city in 1864, crossing 
the plains in an oxtrain. Father died in Manti March 
4, 1895, mother August 3, 18S5. He was reared a fanner 
and owns 60 acres besides his home in this city. In 1882 
he helped erect the first steam sawmill in Manti canyon, 
owning a fifth interest, and in later years has owned a 
similar share in a threshing machine. He was a mem- 
l>er of the City Council for three years. His wife was 
Dorthea, daughter of Jens and Charlotte Hansen, born 
in Manti, March 20, 1856. Her parents were among the 
first Danish families in the city, coming here in 1853, 
her father being a leader among his people. They were 
married in Manti, February 13, 1879, and have had ten 
children: James, Louise, Ernest, Frederick, Helen, Es- 
ther, Eunice, Stanley and Rosalia, living; Isabel, dead. 

JUDD, JOSEPH, Sheriff, son of Samuel and Catherine 
Haynes, was born in Birmingham, England, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1849. He came to Utah with his mother 
and family, four sons and four daughters, in 1864, the 
father coming in 1S62. Two girls and one boy died on 
the way, the others crossing the plains in Warren's and 
Kimball's and Lawrence's ox trains. He and his brother 
Thomas drove ox teams, walking all the way. They lo- 
cated in St. George, Joseph learning the carpenter and 
stair-builder's trade and becoming a prominent me- 
chanic. He was one of the foremen in building the St. 
George Temple and a contractor and merchant at Silver 
Reef, where he made the coffin for "Dutch Jake," the 
first man who died there. Was Deputy Sheriff of Wash- 
ington county for several years and active in suppressing 
the Silver Reef strike in 1881. In 1S84 he came to Manti 

5 



140 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

arid assisted in constructing the magnificent spiral stairs 
in the temple. 

He was foreman in erecting the Garfield Beach re- 
sort and the architect's superintendent in constructing 
the famous Saltair Beach, and foreman in building sev- 
eral prominent houses of Salt Lake City. He worked at 
his trade in this city and served as Justice of the Peace. 
In 18M4 he was appointed Probate Judge by President 
Cleveland and held the office till it was abolished in 
1896. He was elected Sheriff in November, 1S96, and is 
an able and efficient officer. In company with Alexander 
Tennant and Xephi Ottosen he has managed the Manti 
Lumber Company, the mill being now idle on account of 
government timber regulations. He is manager of the 
Manti Creamery. He is a charter member of the A. O. 
U. W. and a past master workman. He was married in 
Manti and has a nice familv. 



K 



ELLAB, CONRAD J., son of Daniel and Anna, was 
born in Switzerland, August 31, 1840. He was 
raised in Switzerland and in 1863 removed to 
Germany. Came to Utah in 1878 and located in Manti, 
where he was engaged six years working on the tem- 
ple. Was married in Germany, October 28, 18G7, to Mar- 
garet Kusmout, born May 31, 1847. They have had nine 
children: Conrad F., Anna, Mary, Emily, John and Al- 
bert D., living; Rika, Jacob and Margaret, deceased. 

K ELLAB, JACOB, deceased, son of Daniel and Anna 
Frischknecht, was born in Switzerland, June 22, 
1837. He learned the trade of a weaver and em- 
broiderer, joined the Mormon Church in 1861 and in 
1863 started for Utah, being married on board ship. On 
reaching the Missouri river he was out. of funds and bor- 
rowed enough to pay transportation for baggage across 
the plains. He and his wife had to walk most of the 
war, coming in Capt. Xebeker's Church oxtrain. They 
tamo to Manti in October, 1863, and hauled their win- 
ters wood on a handcart, which was borrowed. The 
winter was spent in a little log hut, with cloth for win- 
dows and doors, and in the spring they lived in a cellar 



HISTORY 01 141 

8x14 feet. They bought a lot and both went to work 
and dug a cellar and covered it with willows and dirt. 
He worked at what he could get in summer and wove 
cloth in winter. In 1868 he worked on the railroad and 
secured money to pay his emigration debt and buy four 
acres of land, and added to that by thrift and careful 
management, till at his death he owned over 100 acres 
and was in good circumstances. They suffered many 

. :.ips during the grasshopper plague, having lived 
for a time on bran bread and water. For nine yean they 
had no tea. coffee or sugar. He took part in the Black 
Hawk war. was an active churchman, a high y^riest and 
a highly respected citizen. Died October 3. 1892, death 
being caused by falling from a load of hay. Mrs. Kellar 

- tailed to work in the Manti temple in June. 1SSS, 
and has labored there ten years. Her maiden name was 
Anna R Dierauer Hemman. They were married June 
11. 1863, and have six Hying children. Anna. Mary. Ja- 
cob, Louise, Eliza and Emily R Emma and "Danish de- 
--•eased. 

KENNER, FOSTER L'.. deceased, son of Robert H. and 
Hannah 8. Foster, was. born in Kentucky December 
!♦. 1823. Two of his grandfathers served in the war 
of the Revolution, one as a naval commander, the other 
under Washington on land. He was raised in Kentucky 
and studied medicine at Louisville. Was married in that 
Stat- to Sarah K. Kirk wood. They have four children: 
Bcipio A., of Bait Lake City, an attorney, newspaperman 
ami member of the State Legislature; Robert J., a mining 
man in the Klondike; Mary E. and William H.. a news- 
paperman in Idaho. His first wjtfe died in Kentncc 
he married Elizabeth E. Townsend, who soon died. He 
then removed to Iowa, being station agent at Keokuk, 
where he was a prominent member of the Masonic fra- 
ternity, and built Kenner Lodge. In 1860 he came fcn 
Utah and located in Salt Lake City, where he resided till 
18(57, when he removed to Manti with a stor-k of general 
merchandise and kept a store for two years. He took 
an active part in the Blar-k Hawk war. holding the rank 
of f.>]onel. Was a contractor in building the Denver & 



142 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Hio Grande railway. Served as a director in the Co-op 
store and a member of tbe City Council for several years. 
He was a very active and prominent Democrat and was 
once a candidate for Mayor, being defeated by one vote. 
His third wife, now living, was Carolina Schneebely, 
born in Switzerland September 8, 1838. They were mar- 
ried in Salt Lake City by President Brigham Young- and 
have four living children. He died in Manti May 27, 
1802. Their children are: Beauregard, Emily E., Rob- 
ert E. L., Bertha and two deceased — Marietta E. and 
Elizabeth J. 

KILLPACK, WILLIAM J., farmer and stoekraiser, 
son of John and Elizabeth Day Killpack, born at 
Dunton Bassett, Leicestershire, England, Febru- 
ary l», 1832. Followed the business of carrier until his 
removal to America, which occurred in 1853. He arrived 
in Salt Lake City September 30, 1853, crossing the plains 
by ox-train in Jacob Gates' company; remained in Salt 
Lake City till the southern move in 1858, when he re- 
moved to Manti, remaining till 18G3, when he went fur- 
ther south and helped settle Glenwood on the Sevier. He 
was there all through the Indian war and lost all he had. 
When the settlers were driven out he returned to Manti, 
where he has since resided. He ran the Spencer sawmill 
for eleven years; after that he settled down to farming 
and now has a line ranch of 100 acres about four miles 
south of Manti, also a nice home in town. Was married 
in the Salt Lake Endownment House August C>, 1854, to 
Eliza S. Sauze, daughter of William and Amy Miller 
Sauze, who was born July (>, 1837. They have twelve 
children living, viz.: John D., Samuel, William, Mary 
E., Frederic A., John II., Edward A., Frank H., Grace, 
Charles I!., Jessie M., Clara A., and two deceased: Wil- 
liam J. and an infant. 

KJAtt, JOHN C, of Manti, son of Lars C. and Mette M. 
fCliristensen), born in Hals near Aalborg, Denmark, 
January 12, 1840. nis parents joined the Mormon 
church and started for this country in November, 1854. 
The family then comprised the parents, three sons and 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. I43 

one (laughter. Throe times their vessel started to cross 
the North Sea before they succeeded, and on one occasion 
the ship's crew had no hope of reaching land, their ship 
and all the passengers were frequently drenched. In 
crossing the plains many of their company died from ex- 
posure, including two of the three sons. John C. met with 
a serious accident in trying to climb into the wagon. He 
fell and both wheels passed over him, crushing his right 
arm. Xo doctor was near, so the arm was bandaued^in 
molasses, but. came out. all right. They arrived in Salt 
Lake in the fall of 1855, and one year later moved to 
Manti, where the father for many years had a shoe shop 
and later a harness shop. He died February 15, 1896, in 
his 80th year. Mother still survives. Our subject spent 
his early life working on the farm, and when lie started 
out for himself secured a farm, and has been very suc- 
cessful; is also engaged in raising cattle and sheep, and 
is a stockholder in the Manti City Sayings Bank and the 
Central Utah Wool Company. Mr. K. is one of the repre- 
sentative citizens of Manti. He built a nice residence in 
town, and married January 8, 1872, to Margaret, daugh- 
ter of Jens C. A. and Sec«lia Weibye, born in Denmark 
May 25, 1854. 

| AKHEN, HOX. CHIMSTEX P., contractor and build- 
L er, Manti, son of Peter and Annie C. (Bertelseul, 
^ born in Denmark, January 10, 1840. In 1802 the 
family emigrated to this country and located in Manti, 
where the father followed contracting and building up to 
within two years of his death, which occurred in 1895, in 
his 8<th year; mother still survives at the advanced age 
of 81 years. When the family came to Manti, C P re- 
mained in Salt Lake, where he engaged in various occu- 
pations. He for a time was engaged in freighting from 
rort Benton on the Missouri to Helena, Mont.; also in 
mining. December 1, 1808, he married iu Heber City 
I tali, Mary, daughter of Daniel and Sarah Matthews, 
born m Bedfordshire, England, August 20, 1817 Their 
children are as follows; Xymphas, Peter C, deceased, 
Sarah C, Mary E., Caroline, Olive, deceased, Eliza M 
and Leo. 



144 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Mr. Larsen moved to Manti in 1871, where he has 
followed the business of a builder, and worked four years 
on the Manti Temple. He was a policeman for a time, 
and six years City Marshal, member of City Council one 
tenn and City Justice three terms. He was also a mem- 
ber of the Constitutional Convention, and in the fall of 
1S97 was nominated for Mayor, but the Republican ticket 
was defeated. Mr. Larsen is a progressive man, and 
stands well in the estimation of the people. 

CARSEN, HANS, SB., farmer, son of Lars Nielsen and 
Elizabeth Hansen, was born in Denmark December 
23, 1817. He joined the Mormon church and left 
Denmark in December, 1852, with Capt. Fosgrens com- 
pany of emigrants. On the road across the plains in an 
ox train he married Ann Maria Jorgensen, a native of 
L>enmark. They came to Manti in 1853 and have resided 
here since, she dying several years ago. During the In- 
dian wars lie acted as guard and did his share of the 
work. He has a farm of thirty-eight acres in the "Old 
Field," and owns his residence in the city. His time is 
occupied in farming and carpentering. Of his thirteen 
children four are living: Hans, Jr., and Nephi, of this 
city; Elizabeth, wife of Alma Marker, Idaho Falls, Idaho, 
and Mary, wife of Lorenzo Buchanan, Glenwood, Utah. 

CABSEN, HANS, JR., of Manti, lumber dealer, is a 
son of Hans and Maria Larsen, born in Manti Feb- 
ruary 2, 1855. The parents, a sketch of whom ap- 
pears elsewhere, were among the first Scandinavian Mor- 
mon emigrants who came to this country. Our subject 
was raised to farm work, and when he became of age 
engaged in lumbering in the canyons. For two years 
he was interested in a saw mill in Manti canyon, which 
they moved to Six Mile canyon, where it afterward 
burned. Since then he has been engaged in getting out 
logs which he has cut into lumber at the custom mills 
and disposes of the lumber in Manti. Mr. Larsen built a 
fine brick residence in 1894 with modern improvements 
at a cost of about $3000. He married in Manti May 15, 
1878, to Elsie 0., daughter of Niels P. and Elsie C. Dom- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 145 

gaard, born in Manti, March 28, 1857. Tliev have five 
children, Ellis M., Hans L., Julian D., Mvrtle J. and Ell- 
ray. Mrs. Larsen's parents also came here with the first 
Danish emigrants. Her father died September 21 1S90 
and mother still lives in Manti. Mr. Larsen has lived in 
Sanpete county all his life and is well and favorably 
KLown. J 

CARSEN, JENS P., farmer and ivoolgrower, son of 
Peter and Anne C. Bertelsen, was born in Den- 
mark November 4, 1818. His parents joined the 
Mormon Church and came to Utah in 1S62, in Captain 
Horn's train. Through the advice, of Erick Ludwigsen, 
who converted them, they removed to Manti, where 
they have since resided, father dying in 1896, mother 
rl: l \ mg - a When a * Toun 2 man h <? worked in the mines 
ol Ltah and Nevada and later served as Sheriff of San- 
pete county for seven years. He is president of the Home 
I' crum Society. He owns 50 acres of land, besides his 
city residence, and has 2700 sheep. His wife, whom he 
married in .Manti, was Edith, daughter of George P and 
Edith Patten Billings. They have seven children: Helen, 
Murray, George P., Loyd B, Edith, Henrv and Den- 
ton D. 

CARSON HA., farmer, son of Andrew and Christena 
E., was born in Denmark April 9, 1802. The family 
emigrated in March, 1864, crossing the plains in 
Lapt. Abner Lowry's company, reaching Manti in Octo- 
ber, rather followed farming and worked at his trade, 

9^o a n m S F* died June 6 ' 187S - M ° ther <&>& August 
Z6, 18J0. H. A. was raised here and has followed farm- 
ing Owns fifty-five acres and a few stock. Was mar- 
ried in Manti Xovember 14, 1889, to Julia C, daughter 
?L^ am ^ a E ; and GliYe Merriam, born in Manti, May 17, 
I864 They have had five children: Harold L., Edgar 
and Bryan, living; Harold and Llewellyn, deceased. 

pIVINGSTON, WILLIAM D., Attornev-at-Law, has 
*- ™ f S fflce in the Bank building, Manti, son of 
ir i o^ lI JS2*. Mld Lillias (Dick) Livingston, born 
March 26, 1871, in Salt Lake City. When at the age of 



146 HI8T0RY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

10, the family moved to Fountain Green, this county, 
where he managed a farm for his father for several 
years, then bought a mill and manufactured shingles 
about two years, taught school one year at Wales, and 
two years at Fountain Green, during which time he was 
principal. 

In the fall of 1894, he was elected County Recorder 
of Sanpete County, on the Republican ticket. Be re- 
signed that position in July, 1896, being appointed Pros- 
ecuting Attorney for the county, to succeed Judge J. 
Cochran. He held the office until January 1, 1897, hav- 
ing been renominated by his party, but was defeated at 
the polls. Being admitted to the bar, he has practiced 
before the District Courts held at Kephi, Manti and Rich- 
field. Was elected City Justice of the Peace in 1895, re- 
signed that office in 1897. Is attorney for the Manti City 
Savings Bank, and a stockholder therein. Has stock 
in the Manti Messenger, of which company he is a direc- 
tor and was one of the lessees, and assisted also in its 
publication. His practice as an attorney is remunera- 
tive and he is a rising and promising man in his profes- 
sion; looked up to as one to depend upon where good 
judgment and keen perceptive abilities are required. 
He was married in Manti Temple September 15, 1892, 
to Miss Annie B., daughter of Rasmus and Annie C. 
Anderson of Fountain Green, and a native of Sanpete 
County, born in Fountain Green March 30, 1870. They 
have three children, viz.: William R., Ernest E. and 
Annie L. 

I OYYRY, HON. JOHN, is one of the pioneers of Utah, 
I and first settlers of Manti, born in Lewis county, 

V. Mo., January 31, 1829, is a son of John and May rOtf^V 
Wilcox Lowry. He was a fanner and our subject was 
raised on a farm. The father was one of the earliest 
members of the Mormon Church, having joined in Lewis 
c( unty. Mo. The family, consisting of father and mother 
and six children, viz., James H., John, Abner, Susan L., 
Mary A., George M. and Sarah J., came to Utah in 1847. 
This was the year Salt Lake City was first settled, and 
the family came in soon after the pioneers. In 1849, the 




SORKX CHRISTOFFERSEN HANSEN. 

MANTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 147 

family came to Manti, where they have since resided, the 
father being the first bishop, called August 20, 1850. 
Soon after their arrival in Manti, Parley P. Pratt, with 
a company of nearly fifty men, sent out to explore the 
Southern country, came to the camp for volunteers, and 
our John joined the expedition. They were gone nearly 
three months and that winter explored the country 
along the Rio Virgin river and all through Southern 
Utah, he having to cross the mountains on snow shoes 
on his return. From the favorable reports made of this 
expedition, settlers went down and located Utah's Dixie. 
In 1S50, he with eleven others went from Salt Lake 
City, located and ran two ferries across Green River, 
one at the lower crossing, which was on the main line 
of travel to Salt. Lake, and the upper to Soda Springs 
and on to Oregon, remained there one year, then re- 
turned to Manti, farming quietly until 1853, when trou- 
ble began with the Indians, Mr. Lowry having, in the 
spring of 1819 been, with Col. Scott, in the first skirmish 
with Indians, in a company of 25 volunteers at Battle 
Creek (since Pleasant Grove), who located the Indians 
in a deep canyon east of the town, surrounding them 
in the night, intending to arrest them, when the Indians 
opened fire, and in the fight five Indians were killed, so 
when the Walker war started, every able-bodied man 
was on duty, either on guard at the settlements or in the 
saddle. The Indians came over from Payson canyon to 
Mount Pleasant and burned a sawmill in which he had 
one-third interest, attacked the people in the night, who, 
being fortified, drove them off, killing one. During the 
war Mr. Lowry was ever on the alert and took part 
therein until the close of the war. In 1855 he was in 
the Elk Mountain mission, where a fort and settlement 
were established, in June, on the left bank of the Grand 
River, which was afterwards broken up by the Ute In- 
dians, who killed three of the men. He made a trading 
trip that, season among the Navajos, returning in Octo- 
ber, and was farming, trading and teaming until the 
Black Hawk war of 1865 started, when he was compelled 
to take an active part therein. It lasted two years, 
during which time all were on the defensive. For many 



14b HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

years was interpreter for the settlers, with the Utes and 
Shoshones who were around and helped make treaties 
with them. He built a grist mill in 1858, at the Warm 
Springs south of and near Manti. Has been a large 
wool grower and was engaged several years in general 
merchandising, with his son, James H., which not prov- 
ing successful, they closed out in 1892. Was a member 
of the City Council, terms of 1851, '53, '57 and '59; was 
Assessor and Collector of the county four years, County 
Clerk two years. Was elected to the first State Legis- 
lature on the Republican ticket, and has always been 
an active man in politics. He belonged to the Xauvoo 
Legion when at the age of sixteen, in Nauvoo, 111. He 
has a commission, dated December 31, 1853, paymaster, 
with rank of First Lieutenant, Battallion of Infantry, 
Sanpete Military district of the Xauvoo Legion, signed 
Krigharn Young, Governor, and A. W. Babbitt, Sec- 
retary. 

He married in Manti, October 27, 1851, Sarah J. 
Brown, daughter of James C. and Eunice, who were 
among the first, settlers of Manti, and afterwards moved 
to Utah's Dixie, where both died at a ripe old age. By 
this union Mr. Lowry had nine children, John, James H., 
deceased, Sarah, William B., Eunice, Olive, Ida, Dora 
and Ethel, has 51 grandchildren. He married (2) Mary 
A. Allen, daughter of Daniel, a pioneer of 1850. Chil- 
dren, Daniel, Mary A., Clara, Eva, Diantha and Orson. 
Mr. Lowry was always thorough, active and industrious, 
took a keen interest in all things pertaining to the town, 
and enjoyed in a degree the confidence of his associates, 
and is a prominent member of the Mormon Church. 

I OWRY, JOHN, JR., fanner and wool-grower, was 
I born in Manti, Oct. 3, 1852. He is a son of Hon. John 
^w and Sarah J. i Brown) Lowry, who were among the 
earliest, settlers of Manti When John readied the age 
of 15 lie engaged for several years in hauling produce to 
the mining camps of Utah and Nevada, and then took 
up' 1(»0 acres of land south of Manti, where he raises 
mostly hay, ami keens from 40 To 50 head of stock. He 
is also interested in wool-crowing with his brother, Wil- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 149 

liaui B., and they own over 3000 bead of sheep. He is 
also a stockholder in the Central Utah Wool Co., the 
Messenger Printing Co., president of the North Six- 
Mile Creek Irrigation Co., and secretary and treasurer of 
the Pioneer Water Co. He was a policeman about four- 
teen years, City Marshal a number of years and Consta- 
ble. He has built a nice residence in town. Mr. Lowry 
is one of the substantial men of Manti, and is an honor- 
able and upright citizen. He married March 13, 187G. 
Kency, daughter of William and Henrietta Anderson, 
who was also born in Manti, September 12, 1855. Their 
children are Lawrence, Harold, Irwin, Sarah J., Henri- 
etta, Olive, Rosella, Xaonii and Eva; Kenneth and Wil- 
liam deceased. 

I OWRY, WILLIAM B., fanner and stock-raiser, son 
I of John aud Sarah T. Brown Lowry, was born in 
\> Manti, December 21, 1857, and reared upon the 
farm. He owns a nice farm of 120 acres, one and a half 
miles south of the city, and has an interest with his 
father and brother, John, in a 700-acre tract, which is 
managed very successfully by the brothers, who have 
over one hundred head of cattle and several thousand 
sheep. He is well known as a musician, and has served 
as school trustee for one term and Treasurer of the city 
for six years. He is one of the stockholders of the Cen- 
tral Utah Wool Co., and a prominent man in the com- 
munity. He was married November 11, 1881, to Ellen 
Hansen, daughter of Jens and Charlotte Peterson Han- 
sen. 

She was born in Manti, July 18, 1858, her parents 
being among the early settlers of 1853. Her father died 
here, and her mother is living at the age of 69 years. The 
family consists of six children, Ella, Wliliam H., Gerald, 
Charlotte, James H. and Maurice. 

I UDYICKSOX, ERIK, farmer, was born in Copenha- 
I gen, Denmark, April 22, 1824. He joined the Mor- 
^^ mon church in 1851, and with his wife and son 
Peter J. emigrated to Utah. They crossed the plains in 
Percy Olsen's ox train company, reaching Salt Lake City 



150 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

October 5, 1854. He located in Mauti and took up ten 
acres of land, following the trade of a weaver. In both 
Indian wars he took an active part and his sou Peter J. 
was killed in the Black Hawk war. He now owns twenty 
acres of tine farming laud west and ninety acres south of 
the city. His wife, whom he married in Denmark June 
16, 1844, was Mary Christ opherson, the mother of Peter 
J., their only child. The secoud wife, married here, was 
Christina Lai sen, who had but one child; both are dead. 
His third wife, Annie Steck, resides in Sterling. They 
have had ten children: Christena, Mary, Emily, Annie, 
Erick, Sophronie, Katy Lillian, Elmer, Vida Leonia and 
Minnie M. (deceased). 

I UKE, CHAELES ()., farmer, of Mauti, is a son of Wil- 
I Ham and Emma (Perkins) Luke, born in Manches- 
\ ter, England, January 25, 1829. In 1853 he came to 
this country and crossed the plains in an ox train with 
Capt. A. Harmon, arriving in Manti in December in time 
to join the Manti militia and take part in the Walker 
war. He subsequently took part in the Black Hawk 
war. Soon after his arrivel he took up a piece of land 
and has made farming his occupation. He has now a 
farm of 40 acres, and his residence in town. Mr. Luke 
has always been a worker in the Sunday school, in which 
he was a teacher some thirty years. He married in Man- 
chester, England, February 27, 1853, Miss Ann Beaver, 
and the following are their children. The living reside 
in Orangeville, Emery county, except Charles W., Emma 
A., deceased, Charles W., farmer, Elizabeth C, Sarah J. 
and Mary M., deceased, Margaret B., wife of Christian 
Poulsen, Thomas J., deceased, Joseph O., farmer, and 
Benjamin P., who is a. school teacher and secretary -treas- 
urer and business manager of the Co-op. store. Mr. Luke 
had the misfortune to lose his wife September 14, 1888. 

1 UKE, JOHN T., farmer, sun of AYiliam and Mary, 
I was born in Manti, May 26, 1801. He was raised 
^* to farming, and at the age of 10 began freighting 
produce to the mining camps of Utah and Nevada, which 
he followed several vears. Now owns and cultivates a 



HISTOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 151 

nice little farm. Was married in St. George, October 

10, 1881, to Henrietta C, daughter of Oswald and Cath- 
erine Barlow, born in Salt Lake City, June 17, 1861. 
Ther have had six children: John H., Grace 11., Mary 
(.'., Vera E. and Emma M., living'; Winford, deceased. 



I L'KE, HON. WILLIAM, farmer, of Manti, was born 
I in Manchester, England, September 2, 1831. His 
^ parents were William and Emma (Perkins) Luke. 
His father was one of the early members of the Mormon 
church; was a machinist by trade, and came to Sanpete 
county in 1850. Of the family, three sons, the eldest be- 
ing married, followed him here, arriving in Salt Lake 
October 16, 1853, with Capt. Harmon's train. In Decem- 
ber thev came to Manti. The father, with three others, 
was killed by the Indians and his team and wagon 
stolen at Fountain Green while en route to Salt Lake to 
meet his sons. Our subject arrived here while the 
Walker war was in progress and took his part in it and 
later when the Black Hawk war broke out he was a 
Lieutenant in Company B of the home militia. In 1851 
he took up some land near Manti and now has a nice 
farm of thirty-six acres beside a very comfortable home 
in town. He is an active, energetic man in business and 
politics and stands well in the community. Is a stock- 
holder in the Manti Co-op and for several years was a 
director; was for a time president of the Co-op Herding 
Institution, and is a. stockholder in the new Union 
Flouring Mills. He was a member of the school board 
live years, Supervisor thirteen years, County Commis- 
sioner three years, City Council several years, and Mayor 
of the city four years. He was married January 10, 1857, 
to Mary, daughter of William and Elizabeth Haydock. 
Their children are: William H., George H. (deceased), 
John T., Joseph (deceased), Mary E., Elizabeth A., Char- 
lotto J., Alonzo (deceased), Franklin (deceased) and 
Albert E.. Mrs. Luke came to Utah with her mother in 
n hand cart company in 1850. Many of the company died 

»f exposure and her mother lost an eye through the same 

•jiusp. 



152 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

I UND, CHRISTIAN P., son of Christian C. and Stine 
I M. Peterson, was born in Ybe, Jyland, Denmark, 
"\ February 24, 1832. He learned the trade of a car- 
penter and millwright, and owned a mill, which he sold 
before coming to this country. Joined the Monnon 
Church in 1S67 and in 1868 came to Utah with his fam- 
ily, crossing the plains in an oxrrain under Bishop Hans 
Jensen, and located in Manti, where he followed his 
trade. He ran a flouring mill for fourteen years, and in 
company with George Sidwell and George Spicer, built 
the Excelsior flouring mill, now run by Louis F. Becker. 
Was married in Snested, Denmark, in December, 1858, 
to Mary A. Horsted. She died in Denmark, leaving one 
son, Thomas, now a resident of Ephraim. Married again 
In December, 18C2, to Maria Peterson, a native of Den- 
mark. She died October 9th, 1896. Her children are 
Christian, Stine M. and Peter, living; Christian and Mary 
A., deceased. 

fY\ ACKEY, JOHN, farmer, of Manti, born in Lancaster 
111 county, Pa., May 20, 1838. The family joined the 
I I Mormon church about 1836, and emigrated to this 
country and settled in Manti in 1852, with a family of 
five, Harriet, Ann, Samuel, Sarah and John. The family 
tcok up land near Manti and took part in the Indian 
troubles, both in the Walker and Black Hawk wars. The 
father died August 9, 1890. Mr. Mackey has a good farm 
of 60 acres, and a comfortable home in town. He is one 
of the representative citizens of Manti. He married 
November 11, 1862, Maria, daughter of James and Han- 
nah Davenport, by whom he had two children, Joseph S. 
'deceased), and Elizabeth A., wife of A. Eeid. His wife 
died and he again married, March 4, 1868, to Susannah, 
daughter of Henry and Ann Parsons, who died March 
26, 1885, leaving nine children, Phoebe A., John, Dora 
B., Ann E., Henry, Sarah E. (deceased), Susanna, James 
A. and Luella. 

CY\ ADSEN, DAVID, farmer, son of Hans aDd Anna 
ill Christiansen, was born in Manti, June 25, 1858, 
* I and raised a farmer. He owns about 50 acres of 
good land, and has a nice, new residence in the city. His 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 153 

wife was Olive C, daughter of Airiasa E. and Olive D 
Men-jam, bora in Manti, March 27, 1SC3. Thev were 
married in Logar. temple, November 11, 1SS3, and have 
four living children, Orlin, born October 1, 1885, Harold 
November 2, 1888; Leonia, September 3, 1890, and 
Frances, December 25, 1896, Amasa E. being dead. 

fT\ ADSEX, JAMES P., postmaster, proprietor of Mad- 
I I I .sen House and agent Co-op Wagon and Machine 
Co., was bom in Kanders, Denmark, June 9, 1800. 
The family emigrated to Utah in 1803 and located in 
Manti, where the parents died. He was raised on the farm 
and educated in the common schools, taking a two-years' 
course in the Deseret University. Was engaged as a 
teacher for live or six years, and entered the eniplov of 
the Co-op. Wagon and Machine Co. as traveling sales- 
man, where he has since worked successfully except dur- 
ing the years 1895-96, when he was clerk of Sanpete coun- 
ty, elected on the only successful Republican ticket. He 
handles all kinds of implements, machinery and vehicles, 
and is a successful salesman. The Madsen House was 
opened under his management early in 1898, newly fur- 
nished, and is headquarters for commercial travelers. He 
was appointed postmaster by President McKinlev, and 
took charge of the office December 1, 1897. 

His Avife was Grace E., daughter of Amasa and Mar- 
tha Tucker, born in Fairview, May 15, 1875. Thev were 
married in Fairview, June 12, 1895, and have one child, 
Carlisle R., born March 22, 1896. 

PT\ ADSEX, JENS, farmer, of Manti, son of Hans and 
#11 Annie (Christensen), born in Denmark January 22, 
* 1848. The family joined the Mormon Church," and 
in the fall of 1852 emigrated to this country. Their com- 
pany was the first Danish Mormon emigrants who came 
to this country. Capt. Fosgreen brought them out and 
they crossed the plains with ox teams, arriving in Salt 
Lake City about one year from the time thev left their 
native land. The Church authorities advised them to 
locate in Sanpete county, so they came to Spring City, 
but shortly after removed to Manti. The father was a 



154 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

carpenter and wheelwright, which occupation he fol- 
lowed here for many years. He died in October, 1873, 
and the mother July 24, 18G8. Jens ha* followed farni- 
iug and now has a nice farm of 120 acres near town, well 
stocked, and a home in town. He took part with the 
others in the Black Hawk war. In 186G he made a trip 
back to the river in a church train after emigrants. Mr. 
Madsen is one of Manti's representative citizens. He 
married January 23, 1871, Mary, daughter of Rasmus H. 
and Magdalene Hougaard, born in Denmark, March 5, 
1S48, died May 28, 1891, leaving four children, Frank, 
Charlotte A. (deceased), Frederick I. and Nettie. 

PT\ ADSEN, PETER II., farmer, of Manti, is a son of 
111 Henneng and Karen, born in Denmark, October 1, 

I I 1847. In 180(1 the parents emigrated to this country 
with four children. They crossed the plains in an ox- 
train, and when they reached Echo canyon the mother 
died. They located in Manti, where the father died in 
1890. Peter H. has made farming the occupation of his 
life, in which he has been quite successful, having at 
present a fine farm of 180 acres and a nice residence just 
north of the Temple. He is president of the Manti Co-op. 
Sheep-Herding and Wool-Growing Institution, and a 
large stockholder. Mr. Madsen is a representative far- 
mer of Sanpete county, and an honorable, upright man. 
He was married in Salt Lake City, December 12, 1870, to 
Maria, daughter of Jens and Sophia Hansen. Their chil- 
dren are Cora D., Nelson, Antoinette, Luella, Eunice, Or- 
son, Frances and Stanford. 

[Y\ AIBEN, JOHN BRAY, second counsellor in presi- 
J 1 1 dency of the Sanpete Stake of Zion, son of William 
\ I and Catherine Williams Carter, was born in Brigh- 
ton, Sussex, England, June 16, 182(i. He was baptized by 
John Banks, London, England, July 27, 1848. Ordained 
a Deacon by John Banks January 10, 1845). Was or- 
dained a Priest by John Hyde-, Sr., November 5, 1849, 
and an Elder by Apostle John Taylor June lfi, 1850. Was 
appointed president of Frisbury Branch, London confer- 
ence, December 7, 1851, and president of Holborn Branch 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 155 

April 30, 1854. Started for Utah April 22, 1855., when 
he was appointed president of the First ward ship, Sam- 
uel Curling. Was appointed Chaplain in Capt. .Moses 
Thurston's Independent company July 3, 1855. Arrived 
in Salt Lake City September 28, 1855. Was ordained a 
Seventy in the Eighth quorum by John Brown February 
17, 185G, and ordained president of the quorum by Presi- 
dent Joseph Young December 14, 1857. Appointed bishop 
of Manti August. 1, 1875, and ordained a High Priest and 
set apart as Bishop by President Brigham Young Au- 
gust 2, 1875. Set. apart as second counsellor in presi- 
dency of Sanpete Stake by President Brigham Young 
July 7, 1S77, and set apart as first assistant to president 
of Manti temple by Apostle A. H. Lund October 18, 1891. 



pT\ ARTIN, REV. GEORGE AW, pastor of the Presby- 

/ 1 I terian Church, was born of Scotch-Irish parentage 
' I in Hocking County. Ohio. He was brought up on 
a farm, receiving a common school education. He taught 
district schools four winters, being converted to Chris- 
tianity during the time. When 23 years of age he entered 
the Ohio University at Athens, from which he graduated 
in the class of '75 with the degree of B. A. After teaching 
another year as principal of schools at Willoughby, Ohio, 
he entered Union Theological Seminary, New Y'ork, from 
which he graduated in the class of "79. Recognizing a 
call to preach the gospel, he Avas licensed by the presby- 
tery of Athens June 27, 1879. He was married at Lan- 
caster, Ohio, July 15, 1879, to Matilda Peebles Work, and 
with her came to Manti in September, 1879, taking 
i-harge of the Presbyterian Church here and at Ephraim. 
He was ordained by the presbytery of Utah at Logan 
Augiist 21, 1880. From 1881 to 1881 he carried on regu- 
lar work and superintended the erection of the church it 
Manti and chapels at Ephraim and Gunnison. He was 
district missionary in the presbytery of Utah and Wood 
River from 1884 to 1887, but resigned to continue work 
in Manti. April 27, 1893, he was installed pastor of the 
church at Manti, where he remains. He is an enthusias- 
tic church worker and commands the respect of all. 



156 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

/TV AYLETT, WILLIAM F., retired farmer and niei- 
/ 1 I chant, son of James and Mary Vaughn Maylett, 

I I was born in Shropshire, England, April 10, 1820. 
His mother died when he was three days old, and before 
his eighth year his father died, leaving him alone, when 
he was compelled to do odd jobs to earn his board for 
three years. When 11 years of age he entered the racing 
stables and became quite a famous jockey in England, 
so that when only 17 he had ridden in many noted races. 
He followed the jockey business until 1844, when he 
joined the Mormon church and soon quit the turf, as four 
weeks after becoming a church member he started out as 
a traveling elder. In 1853 he came to the United States, 
being married to Bessie Rudd on April 0th of that year 
while on his way across the ocean. 

During the years 1853 to 1856 he was stationed at 
Keokuk, Iowa, to keep the several church members to- 
gether who could not journey to Salt Lake. While in this 
city he was engaged in a large wholesale and retail hard- 
ware store. In 1856 he came to Utah with an ox team, 
and paid the way of eight others, having to borrow the 
money necessary. He traveled in Oa.pt. Merrill's com- 
pany, arriving in Salt Lake City in August, when he was 
counselled by Presidents Young and Kimball to con- 
tinue to Sanpete, which he did, and located in Manti. 
After beginning farm work he was called to return to 
Keokuk with a hand-cart company, and started from Salt 
Lake City April 23, 1857. They took no live stock, but 
were harnessed and hitched to th.* carts. In his team 
were Daniel Mcintosh, William Harris and himself, 
forming a spike — one on each side and one in the lead — 
he being the leader. 

They went to Keokuk, where they were engaged in 
various kinds of missionary work until 1858, when he 
Avas called home, driving back with horses and wagons. 
He returned to Manti, and in 1862 was counselled by 
President Young to start a dairy to see whether good 
butter could be made in Sanpete. He started and built 
up the business on his own ranch, making it quite profit- 
able for about twenty years, keeping 20 to 30 cows all 
the time, nis tine ranch of 450 acres is located on the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 157 

county road, about live and a half miles northwest of this 
city. He was one of the organizers and directors of the 
Manti Co-op. store, and a clerk in that institution for t< j n 
years. He is one of the stockholders of the Deseret Tele- 
graph Company, a member of the High Priests, and was 
a member of the City Council in 1861-2-3-4 and 1871-72, 
and Probate Judge of Sanpete county for the year 18(55. 
During the Black Hawk war he Avas in 1865-60 ex- 
press messenger, whose duty was to carry dispatches at 
any moment, night or day, on horseback between the 
towns of Manti, Ephraim, Gunnison and Twelve-Mile 
Creek. About 1871 he built his home at a cost of nearly 
. $5000, the nails then sold at 60 cents a pound and glass 
at $60 a box. His second wife was Elizabeth Ann Hall, 
now deceased, who left no children living. The last wife 
is Margaret Wilson, who has four children, Ann \Y., wife 
of Ezra Billings, John F., stockman and farmer, Mary 
E., wife of Frank Turtle, and Henry, in partnership with 
his brother on the ranch, all residing in this city. 

pf\ 'ALLISTER, JOHN DANIEL THOMPSON, presi- 
/ I I dent of Manti Temple, son of William J. F. and 
' I Eliza Thompson, was born in Delaware. He grew 
up in Philadelphia and was engaged in shoemaking, car- 
pentering and blacksmithing. Was baptized October 12, 
1841, and ordained a priest September 27, 1816. Was 
married at the age of 25 to Ellen Handley and removed to 
Council Bluffs, Iowa, and engaged as a storekeeper for 
J. E. Johnston. Came to Utah in 1851 in Alfred Cordon's 
company. He joined Captain Ballo's brass band and be- 
came lieutenant, playing the comet Was called at the 
conference of April, 1853, on a mission to Great Britain, 
where he spent three years. On his return was appointed 
president of the sixteenth quorum of Seventies and 
elected major of the Second Battalion in the Salt Lake 
Military district. Served as a member of the Deseret 
Dramatic Association and was a prominent actor. He 
filled a mission to the Eastern States and upon his re- 
lease was again sent to England. Upon his return he 
brought a company of emigrants across the plains. 



158 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Served as City Marshal, Territorial Marshal and chief of 
the Salt Lake < v iTY tire department. He then labored for 
some time in the Endowment House and later superin- 
tended the Heseret Woolen Mills. Was called to assist 
in temple work at St. George and appointed president 
of the Temple in April, 1877. He was ordained a high 
priest by President Young and set apart to preside over 
the stake, which he did for about twelve years. Was 
elected president of the Rio Virgin Manufacturing Com- 
pany, president of the Gardener Clnb and St. George 
Dramatic Association, and brigadier- general of the 
Washington county brigade. On September 11, 1869. he 
was elected lieutenant-colonel in the Xauvoo Legion. In 
1883 he was called to assist in the Temple at Salt Lake 
City and later to Manti Temple, where he still labors in 
a most creditable manner. 



rn EKRIAM, AM AS A E., deceased, one of the first set- 
I 1 I tiers of Manti, son of Edwin P. and Hannah B. 
' y Pinch, was born in New Hartford, Oneida county, 
JSew York, October 25, 1S32. His father died in Nauvoo, 
111., September 11, 1812, and his mother married Isaac 
Morley, who led the first company of settlers to this 
city. He grew to manhood and was engaged for two 
years as mail carrier between Salt Lake City 
and San Bernardino, Cal., afterward serving as 
County Assessor and Collector for about 25 years; City 
] Recorder about 11 years, and City Assessor and Collec- 
tor a number of years. About 1861 he went to the Mis- 
souri river for merchandise, and through cold and ex- 
posure became partially paralyzed. He took an active 
part in church and public matters till his death, Febru- 
ary 1, 1897. His wife was Olive D., daughter of Andrew 
and Hannah null Lytle, born in Caldwell county. Mo., 
duly 18, 1837. They were married in Beaver, Utah, May 
27, 1858, and have eight children: Amasa E., Hannah, 
Ellen, wife of Jedediah Crawford; Olive C, wife of David 
Madsen, Loretta, wife of Silas M. Callaway, Julia C, 
wife of Andrea Larsen; Andrew L., married to Eliza 
Boyington; Kosetta and Orissa, at home. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 159 

[Y\ EKRIAM, A.MASA E., fanner and lumber man, sou 
/ J I <>t* Aniasii E. and Olive 1)., was born in Salt Lake 
I I City, Dee. 31, 1859. He was following logging and 
lumbering for many years, and in company with his 
father and brother Andrew, owned a mill in Six-Mile 
canyon, selling in July, 1895, to Edwin Works, for whom 
lie iias since worked. He owns his city residence and is 
a promising young man. In November, 1805, he was 
elected a member of the City Council on the Republican 
ticket. His wife, whom he married in Manti, October 
15), 1884, was Mary E., daughter of William J. and Eliza 
Killpack. They have three children, Edwin L., Amasa 
C. and Ruth. 

fT\ EKRIAM, ANDREW L., son of Amasa E. and Olive 
ill !>-, was bom in Manti January 11, 1869. He was 
" * raised here and has followed lumbering. In com- 
pany with his father and brother, he owned a sawmill 
in Six -Mile canyon, having recently sold out. He is a 
member of the I. O. O. 1\, being vice-grand, aud one of 
the trustees. Was married in Manti December 19, 1894, 
to Mary E., daughter of Thomas and Hannah Boyington, 
born in Manti October 31, 1874. They have two children: 
Lytic, born November 0, 1895, and Ruby, July 28, 1897. 

PT\ ETCALF, JOHN E., proprietor Metcalf Hotel, son of 
111 John E. and Mary Waslin, was born in Hull,' Eng- 
\ \ land, June 23, 183!). His father was a cabinet- 
maker, joined the Mormon church in 1849, and emigrated 
with his family to Utah in 1853, crossing the plains with 
Capt. Spencer's ox-train. The father located at Fayette, 
limning a Hour mill and stock raiser. He died there in 
1S87; mother died March 20, 1884. John engaged in farm- 
ing and stock raising, and in 1876 removed to Gunnison, 
where he owns a. good 50-aere farm. He was superintend- 
ent of the Gunnison Co-op. store two years, and per- 
formed a mission of two years iu the Southern States. In 
1891 he leased the Temple House and removed to this 
city, conducting the house for five years, afterward pur- 
vhasing his present place, where he has now a nice, quiet 
In tel. He is a stockholder in the Central Utah Wool Co. 



160 HI8TOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

His wife was Mary K., daughter of Joseph aiid Polly 
Benson Bartholomew, born in Pottowataniie county, la., 
April 29, 1817. They were manied in Fayette, March 19, 
1865, and have had ten children, Sarah E., Mary E., Em- 
ma E., John P., Lillie M., Myra J., Joseph L., Clyde and 
Leland W., living, Claudius B., dead. 

rC\ ICKLESON, JENS, farmer, wool-grower and stock- 
/ I 1 raiser, son of Mickel Sorenson and Petreni Hansen, 
' I was born in Denmark, May 2, 1853. His mother 
emigrated to Utah in 1861, after the death of his father 
and he walked most all the distance across the plains. 
They were residents of Mount Pleasant and Circle Val- 
ley, being driven from the latter place by the Indians. 
At the age of 16 he worked for six bushels of wheat a 
month, and at 17, was a placer miner in Montana. He 
followed the business of freighting for twelve years, and 
with his savings purchased a fine farm near this city. 
His fa i*m contains 200 acres, and yields handsomely from 
grain and stock raising. He is extensively engaged in 
wool-growing, is a shareholder in the Messenger and Pio- 
neer Water Co., and an energetic and successful man. 
Being reared in the Mormon church, he is an active mem- 
ber and counsellor to the bishop of his ward. 

He was married in Salt Lake City, June 24, 1880, to 
Annie C. Anderson, daughter of Niels and Anne T., a 
native of Denmark. Their children are James M., Annie 
C, Elmer A., Minerva, Alice, Lydia M. and Catherine, de- 
ceased. 

fT\ OFFITT, ANDREW J., deceased, son of James and 
Ml Elizabeth, was born in Ireland May 7, 1818. The 
* V family came to the United States when he was an 
infant, and located in Iowa, where he grew up and was 
married. His wife died soon after marriage and he 
started for California in the 50's during the gold excite- 
ment. When he reached Salt Lake City he joined the 
Mormon Church, then Avent on to California, from which 
he soon returned, and served as coachman for Brigham 
Young for several years. In 1860 he came to Manti, be- 
ing sent by President Young as bishop. He held the po- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 161 

sitioii for fifteen years, and was president of the Co-op 

store several years. He took au active part in the Black 
Hawk war, and being the bishop, kept open honse to all. 
lie lost a great many stock through the Indian raids. 
Was always prominent in church and public affairs and 
universally respected. On February 17, 1857, he married 
Margaret, daughter of Robert and Elizabeth Easton, 
born near Glasgow, Scotland, September 20, 1834. They 
had thirteen children: Charles, Barriet, Cyrena, George, 
Margaret, Nettie, John W., Wallace, Spencer (now on a 
mission to Indian Territory), Russell and Edward, living; 
Biigham and Jane, deceased. 

rpV OFFTTT, JOHN W., city watermaster, son of Andrew 
Ml J. and Margaret. Easton, was born in Manti Septein- 
I I ber 27, 1860. At the age of 12 he began herding 
cattle for his father and continued till at 19 he went to 
Silver Beef, Utah, where he was engaged in handling 
ores for two years. He worked in Colorado on the Mid- 
land railway, and at. Bingham, Utah, handling ore, 
finally returning to Manti. His father died June 5, 1892; 
since then he has worked the old homestead of fifty acres, 
northwest of the city. He owns his residence in the city 
and is interested in stockraising, being a member of the 
Manti Stock Company. His wife, whom he married in 
Manti December 12, 1889, was Eva, daughter of Freder- 
ick W. and Cordelia Cox. She was born in this city 
December 8, 1800. Thev have three children: Margaret, 
born March 12, 1891; Lillis, May 6, 1893, and Clifton, 
June 10, 1896. 

rpy FNK, EBNEST, farmer and member of the City 
ill Council, son of Christian and Anna M., was born 
' ' in Manti February 20, 1858. The family are among 
the early settlers of this city. When Ernest grew up to 
manhood he worked on the railroads and in mining 
camps for some time. He now owns seventy acres of land 
and is engaged in fanning. He has always taken an 
active part in church matters and has served as first 
counsellor in the Elders' Quorum. In 1890 he was elected 
a member of the City Council and again in 1897, being a 



162 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

strong Democrat and representative citizen. Was mar- 
ried in Salt Lake City October 20, 1882, to Petrena, 
daughter of Nels P. and Elsie C. Domgaard, born in 
Manti May 19, 1859. They have had nine children: 
Ernest E., Louis C, Leo 1). and Clara M., living; five died 
in infancy. Her parents were early settlers in Manti, 
being an old and much respected family. Father served 
as one of the early City Councilors. 

rr\ UNK, JOSEPH C, fanner and stockraiser, son of 
/ J 1 Christian and Anna M., was boriT n Manti Jauu- 
/ I aiy 30, 1855. He was raised here ; nd brought up 
to fanning and general work. After securing enough to 
purchase a small farm he engaged in farming for him- 
self and now has 115 acres and a good band of Hereford 
and other breeds of stock. He is a self-made man, honest 
and energetic, and a good citizen. AYas married in 
Logan Temple November 14, 1881, to Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of James and Catherine Crawford, born in Moroni 
June 11, 1803. They have three children: Mary J., James 
C. and La Rue. 

fY\ UNK, PETER, farmer, Manti, son of Christian I. and 
/ 1 1 Anna M. Munk, was born on the island of Born 
' V Holm, Denmark, September 21, 1844. His parents 
were among the early members of the Mormon church, 
and emigrated to this country with the first company of 
Scandinavian emigrants in 1853. They located in Spring 
City, this county, but were soon compelled to leave on 
account of the Indians, and moved to Manti, where they 
are still living, father aged 70 and mother 75 years. Mr. 
Munk made a trip across the plains in 1800 in a church 
train for emigrants. He has always followed the occu- 
pation of a farmer, and now has a good farm of 50 acres, 
and a nice house in town. Mr. Munk is one of the relia- 
ble citizens of Manti, and was elected by the people in 
the fall of 1895 to represent their interests in the City 
Council, ne is also a stockholder in the Co-op. store. He 
was married in Salt Lake City, November 24, 1808, to 
Miss Eunice A., daughter of James P. and Eunice (Rei- 
ser) Brown, born in the first log house with a board floor 




HON. JOHN LOWRY 
MANTI. 




AZARIAH SMITH. 
MANTI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 163 

erected in Manti, March 13, 1851. Their children are as 
follows: Eunice M., born October 8, 1809; Lilly M., De- 
cember 15, 1871; Clara M., September 4, 1873, and Wil- 
liam P., September 29, 1889. Mrs. Munk's parents came 
to Manti in 1849, but several years later moved to south- 
ern Utah. 

KEELSON, ANDREW, fanner, son of Nelson Anderson 
\\ and Mariae C, was born in Jydland, Denmark, 
I Marcli 8. 1834. He joined the Mormon Church in 1851 
and came to Manti in 1853, crossing the plains with 
Capt. Fosgren. In 1865 he returned to Denmark on a 
two years' mission. Was active in the Indian wars and 
one of the first settlers of Spring City, leaving on ac- 
count of the Indians. Served as Sheriff for two years, 
City Councillor two terms, Justice of the Peace one term 
and is Constable and keeper of the city estray pound. 
He owns several small farms and two fine residences in 
the city, and is a stockholder in the Union Eoller mill. Is 
an elder in the Presbyterian Church, of which he has 
been a member for several years. He has had four wives, 
thirteen sons and five daughters, and now lives with his 
third wife, Sophia. 

First wife was Mette Nielsen. She had five chil- 
dren, Andrew, Emma, August, Joseph and Christian. 
Second wife, Christena Jensen, has two children, Hyrum 
and James. Third wife, Sophia Miller, has six children, 
Sophus, Maria, Oscar, Thorwald, Guy and Mvrtle. 
Fourth wife, Camilla Miller, has five children, Frederick, 
Annie, Erastus, Clara and Franklin. 

KEELSON, ANDREW C, Superintendent of Schools of 
\\ Sanpete county, is a son of M. P. and Margaret 

' (Hansen) Nelson, born in Ephraim, this county, 
January 20, 18(14. His mother pulled a hand-cart and 
walked all the way from the Missouri river to Ephraim 
in 1858; father came in 1860, aud they were married in 
Ephraim. When Andrew was about 16, the family moved 
t<» Hedmond, Sevier county, where the father died in 
1891, and the mother still resides. Andrew went to Colo- 
rado and worked on the railroad, canal and in the mines 



164 HISTORY 01 SANPETE COUNTY. 

about three years. He theii attended the B. Y. Academy 
at Ppoto and fitted himself for teaching. He taught 
school five Aviuters and attended the academy spring 
terms, graduating from the Normal department in 1890. 
He then came to Manti, had charge of the L. D. S. Semi- 
nary three years, and taught in the city schools, and in 
the fall of lS()r> was elected County Superintendent of 
Schools. Four summers he has attended college, and is 
keeping abreast of the times in his profession. Mr. Nel- 
son has worked hard since coming to Manti, and has had 
the satisfaction of seeing the schools rapidly improve, 
until they now, under his able management, compare 
favorably with the best in the State. He married in 
Redmond, August 5, 1885, Amanda, daughter of Andrew 
J. and Andrear Jensen, born in Norway, March 28, 18(11. 
Their children are Andrew C, Chloe A., Joseph C., Car- 
lyle L., Arlin C. and Marion C. 

kf ELSON, JAMES P., was born in Manti, July 17, 1871. 
J)| He is a son of Ole and Christina Nelson, whose 
\ sketch appears elsewhere. He was raised on a farm 
and received a good common school education. In 1889 
he entered the postoffice as assistant to his brother, O. 
C. Nelson. He had full charge of the office and was al- 
ways courteous and obliging, giving good satisfaction to 
the people. In the census of 1895 he was statistician in 
this county; was elected City Collecter in 1893 and City 
Recorder in the fall of 1895. He was married in Manti 
October 22, 1896, to Clara, daughter of Andrew and 
Camilla. Nelson, who were among the early settlers of 
Manti and still roside here. 

fcf IKI.SEX. FKITZ E., deceased, son of Christian and 

1 1 Annie M. Madsen, was born in Denmark, June 24. 
' 1838. His parents were Mormons, and came to 
Ulah on September 29, 1853, crossing the plains in an 
oxtrain. They stopped at Spring City but. were driven 
to Manti by the Indians, and located here, nis father 
m as a miller and part owner in the first grist mill in 
Manti. He was a farmer and once filled the office of 
City Treasurer. During the Indian wars he was Wound- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 165 

<. d by being shot through the thigh, in an engagement in 
Salina canyon, April 12, 18G5. He was married in Manti, 
April 14, 1863, to Caroline Donigaard, daughter of Niels 
P. and and Elsie O. Nielson, born in Hals, Denmark, 
August 29, 1846. They had ten children: Caroline mar- 
ried Albert Smith and had three children, Albert A., 
David E. and Mary E.; Mary G, wife of William F. 
Braithwaite, has two children, Olive N. and Francis; 
Annie M., wife of Raymond Buchanan, has four children, 
Royal R., Clyde C, Alphonzo and Pearl E; Alice V., 
wife of Ulrich Schiers, has two children, Charles U. and 
Mary A.; Fritz E., Ethel E., Ida M., Edwin A. and Law- 
rence N., at home; Caroline E. and Charles C. deceased. 

tJ IELSON, JOHN R., shoemaker, son of Neils and 
JM Karen, was born in Norway March 23, 1854. He 
J served an apprenticeship of three and a half years 
and learned his trade in Norway. Joined the Mormon 
Church in 1875 and in 1880 came to Utah, locating in 
Salt Lake City, where he remained four years. In 1884 
he came to Manti and opened a shoe shop at No. 7 Union 
street, where he employs two men at the bench in manu- 
facturing boots and shoes. Also carries a stock of boots 
and shoes of about, f 1000. He owns his shop, two stores 
next of it and a residence in the city. Is quite a worker 
in the Mormon Church. Was married in Salt Lake City 
September 16, 1880, to Jensina M. Jensen. They have 
seven children: Joseph G., Anna M., Jensina Martha, 
John R. N., Niels J. A., Karen Otelie E. and Otto T. W. 

kl IELSON, OLE, farmer, was born in Denmark, Octo- 
JM ber 3, 1824. At the age of 22 he enlisted in the 
' army and served four years in the war against 

Germany and Schleswig. He was awarded a medal by 
Frederick VII., King of Denmark, dated 1848-1850. On 
October 3, 1857, he was married in Copenhagen to Maria 
Peterson, Mho had two children, Annie and Sophia, and 
died in that city. He came to Utah in 1863 and located 
in Manti in 1864. His farm consists of 77 acres and he 
owns a home in the city. He took part in the Black 
Hawk war and lost, one voke of cattle, stolen bv the In- 



166 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

dians. His present wife, whom be married in Salt Lake 
City, August 29, 1863, was Stine Peterson, boru in Den- 
mark, June 16, 1S29. They hare foui children, Maria, 
born June 16. 1865; Ole C, August 29, 1S67; Charles C, 
April 9, I860, and James P., July 17, 1S71. 

OLSEN, JAMES, deceased, a native of Denmark, came 
to Utah in the early days and located in Ephraim, 
from which he was called to help settle Circle Val- 
ley. He with others was driven out in 1866, and located 
in Manti. He died in Ephraim in 1884. Of his 22 chil- 
dren 11 are living 1 . They are: Peter, David, Hans, Dan- 
iel, Louis, Annie, Diantha, Elizabeth, Mary and James 
K. Louis was born in Ephraim July 9, 1873, and has 
been engaged in farming and sheepherding. He was 
married in Manti, September 1, 1897, to Johanna M., 
adopted daughter of P. O. Hansen, born in Denmark, 
February 21, 1875. 

OLSTEN, WILLIAM LE ROY, A. M., M. D., Manti, 
was born in Birmingham, Eng., November 3, 1817. 
At the time of his birth his mother resided with 
her parents on a visit and when our subject was six 
weeks old she returned to Germany. He received a thor- 
ough academic education at the Koyal (gymnasium of 
Berlin, from wheih institution he received the Degree of 
A. M. At the age of 18 he entered upon the study of 
medicine and surgery at the universities of Bonn, Heidel- 
berg, Leipzig, Vienna and Berlin and received the Degree 
of Medicine and Surgery in 1869. 

After having traveled around the world and visiting 
the principal countries of Europe he returned to Ger- 
many, but for political reasons and too pronounced so- 
cialistic views he was denied to enter the German army 
as medical officer and concluded to emigrate to the 
United States of America. In the year of 1870 lie arrived 
at Philadelphia and studied medicine and surgery under 
the tutorship of its eminent surgeon, Samuel Gross, in 
order to acquaint himself more fully with the American 
system of practicing medicine. In 1871 he was ap- 
pointed acting assistant surgeon T". S. A. and after hav- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 1G7 

ing served in that capacity at various western military 
posts he resigned in 1876 to enter into civil practice in 
Oakland, California, removed afterwards to Arizona and 
later to White Pine county, Nevada. 

In the fall of 1878 he came to Utah and settled at 
Richmond, Cache County, where he practiced his pro- 
fession for about four years, moved then to Provo, Utah 
county, and in 1884 settled in Sanpete county, where 
at present he enjoys a very lucrative and extensive prac 
tice. For eight years he held the office of County Physi- 
cian, and is the present incumbent of that office. The 
past six years he has been a member of the surgical 
staff of the Rio Grande Western Railway. 

For two years he held the office of County Coroner of 
Sanpete county. He is a member of the A. O. U. W., 
of which lodge he is medical examiner, and is also medi- 
cal examiner of leading Life Insurance Companies. 

He was married at the Logan Temple, November 27, 
1884, to Miss Lodicy A. Griffin, daughter of Thomas A. 
and Amanda Griffin of Richmond, Cache valley, has one 
daughter Sidonia, born in Ephraim, this county, August 
22, 1880. The doctor descends from one of the most 
aristocratic and influential families in Prussia, and is 
the only member which ever entered civil life, all of his 
ancestors having been in the military service. He is a 
veteran of the war of 1800, where he served as Lieuten^ 
ant in the first Royal Dragoons against Austria, and her 
Southern Confederates. 

Dr. Olsten has associated with him Dr. H. Y. Cassa- 
dy and the professional firm of Olsten & Cassady enjoys 
a. very high reputation as physicians and surgeons in San- 
pete county. 

PARKY, EDWARD L., of E. L. Parry & Sons, masons 
:iik1 monumental stonecutters, Manti, was born in 
St. George, Denbighshire, Wales, August 25, 1818. 
He learned his trade under his father, who was a first- 
class workman, came to Utah in 1853 by ox train; in 
October he began work on the Salt Lake Temple, helped 
put in the big treasure box, the foundations of which are 
laid sixteen feet below the surface. In June, 1802, he 



168 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

was sent to St. George, where he built the St. George 
hall, courthouse and many other buildings; was master 
mason on the St. George Tabernacle, and also during 
the entire construction, nearly five years, on the beauti- 
ful Temple. In the spring of 1877 he was called to Manti 
and installed as master mason on its magnificent Temple 
and spent ten years in that work. In 1888 the present 
company was formed, comprising our subject and three 
sons, Edward T., John L. and Bernard. They do a large 
business in contracting and building and marble cutting. 
Mr. Parry is a heavy stockholder in the Manti Co-op and 
Manti City Savings Bank. He married in Wales to Eliza- 
beth Evans, who died in Manti. He again married in 
Salt Lake February 19, 1857, to Ann, daughter of 
Thomas and Ann (Williams) Parry. Their children are: 
Elizabeth, Edward T., Mary E., John L., Harriet, Ber- 
nard and Emma. Edward T., born October 19, 1859, 
married October 9, 1882, to Charlotte A. Edmunds, who 
is a native of this county, born in Wales, this county, 
August 17, 1862. Their children are: Edwardena, Ann, 
W T inifred, Charles and Arline. Edward T. is a prominent 
young business man, is Treasurer of Manti City, one of 
the directors of the Manti Co-op, stockholder in the Manti 
City Savings Bank, Central Utah Wool Company and the 
Wales Co-op. 

PARSONS, ARTHUR H., farmer and woolgrower of 
Manti, is a son of James and Mary (Reeves) Par- 
sons,born in Keokuk, la., September 26, 1859. His 
parents joined the Mormon church about 1850 in Eng- 
land. His father was born in Somersetshire, England, 
and was a brass moulder by trade; he died in Hamilton, 
Hancock County, 111., July 25, 1871; mother now living in 
Manti. In 1866 the family came to this country and set- 
tled in Hamilton. In 1876 Arthur came to Manti and 
remained here about ten months and then returned to 
Illinois. In October, 1880, himself and mother came to 
Manti, where lie was engaged in various occupations 
until he accumulated a little means and then he bought 
a small farm near town and also embarked in the sheep 
business. Mr. Parsons being naturally a progressive 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COVNTY. 169 

man, began to improve 011 the native breed of sheeep. He 
lias imported a number of fine Vermont merinos and now 
Las 8500 head of the riuext sheep in Sanpete County. He 
has erected in the northwestern part of the city one of 
the finest brick residences in the city, with barns and 
other buildings to match. He is junior past grand of 
Temple City Lodge No. 23, I. 6. O. F. Mr. Parsons 
joined the Mormon church since coming to Manti. He 
stands high in the estimation of the people and is con- 
sidered an honorable, upright citizen. He married in 
Salt Lake City October 8, 1SS3, Miss Nellie, daughter of 
John and Ellen Walker, born in New Zealand, November 
5, 1864. Their children are: James J., born June 22, 
1884; Arthur H., June 13, 1886; Leonard R., April 14, 
1889; Lamonte R., October 11, 1891, died April 2, 1892; 
Andrew L., January 29, 1893, Aldon L., August 19, 1895, 
and Nellie M. 

PATTEN, HON. JOHN, farmer, son of John and Han- 
nah, was born in Green county, Indiana, June 20, 
1825. The family joined the Mormon Church 
among the earliest members, and in 1S33 removed to 
Jackson county, Mo. They passed through the persecu- 
tions of the Mormons and went to Iowa, where John 
grew up and went into the pine woods of Wisconsin. He 
came to Utah in 1850 and located in Manti, under the 
quarry, assisting in building the fort. Took part in the 
Walker and Black Hawk wars and has always been an 
active man. Was a representative to' the Territorial 
Legislature, Sheriff of the county and a member of the 
City* Council. Married in Manti to Candace, daughter 
of Albert and Esther Smith. She died, leaving two sons 
and three daughters. Was married again to Emily, a 
sister of the first wife. She had three sons and two 
daughters. She was the widow of Cyrenus H. Taylor, by 
whom she had three sons and two daughters. 

P 10 A COCK, HON. GEORGE, deceased, son of George 
and Mary Noddings, was born in England July 30, 
1822. The family removed to Canada, where father 
died in 1831. Mother married John Clark, and in 1837, 



170 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

the family removed to the United States, locating in 
Missouri. The next year they went to Iowa, where 
George, afterward known as "Judge Peacock,'' married 
Sarah Lowry April 4, 1840. In July of that year he was 
baptized in the Mormon Church and went to Xauvoo, 
Illinois, where he volunteered as a guard to the prophet 
Joseph Smith. In 184«l he left with the Saints and as- 
sisted in building the first ferryboat to cross the Missouri 
river at Council Bluffs. He came to Utah in 1850 and 
located at Manti. He served as Probate Judge and a 
member of the Territorial Legislature. Was the first 
postmaster in Manti and a representative citizen in his 
day. He performed a mission to Engl a ml and was adju- 
tant of the Sanpete military district during the Black 
Hawk war. He had three wives: Sarah, Mary and 
Sarah Bell, and left twenty-three children, who are well 
and favorably known throughout Utah. 



PETERSON, ANDREW, Temple worker, son of Peter 
and Anna Anderson, was born in Horsted, Thisted, 
Denmark, May 1, 1850. He was raised on a farm, 
joined the Mormon Church in 1870 and spent two years 
as a traveling elder. In 1873 he came to Utah, residing 
four years in Salt Lake City, and then removed to Manti. 
He worked eight yeans in quarrying rock and helping to 
build the Temple, then went on a two years' mission to 
the Southern States, where he had charge of the West 
Tennessee conference for six months. On his return he 
entered the Temple as a worker and has been engaged 
there since then, with perfect satisfaction to all con- 
cerned. He is also engaged in the poultry business and 
is a much respected citizen, being an earnest worker in 
church and business affairs. Was married in Salt Lake 
City September 29, ls7:->, to Christina Xeilsen, born April 
11, 1852. They have had eight children: Annie, Andrew, 
one of the volunteers in the United States army in war 
with Spain; Christina, William II., Emeline Viola, !iv- 
; nu: Richard, Christian and Albert, deceased. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 171 

PETERSEN, NIELS R., tithing office clerk, son of Ras- 
mus and Ane Kirstine, was born in Denmark, June 
2, 1S58. The family joined the Mormon church and 
emigrated to Utah, he coming to Manti in 1880. In 1881 
he was appointed assistant tithing clerk, and in 1887 was 
promoted to the position of clerk. He left the office in 
1890 in the interest of the Y. M. M. I. A., returning in 
1893, where he still works. He is a director and secre- 
tary in the Mauti Co-op. Sheep-Herding and Wool-Grow- 
ing Institution, treasurer of the Manti Co-op. Mercantile 
Institution, and a stockholder in the Central Utah Wool 
Company. His wife was Jensine C. Hansen, daughter of 
Hans and Ane M., a native of Bornholm, Denmark, born, 
August 5, 1856. They were married in Salt Lake City, 
October 21, 1880, and have live children, Niels C, born 
December 20, 1881; Kirstine M., January 1, 1885; Jessie 
C, December 9, 1887; Erastus, May 2, 1890, and Grace, 



PETERSON, O. C, farmer, son of Ole and Anna, was 
born on the island of Falster, Denmark, Decem- 
ber 25, 1840. He was raised on a farm, joined the 
Mormon Church in 1868 and in 1870 came to Utah, lo- 
cating in Manti. He bought 2^ acres of land and added 
to it until he now owns a nice farm of 35 acres. He 
sometimes works in winters making baskets. Was mar- 
ried in Manti March 2, 1873, to Karen, daughter of Jacob 
and Mary Jacobsen, born in Denmark, February 2, 1840. 
They have three children: Oliver C., Frederick and 
Mary A. 

PROYSTGAA1H), NIELS J., jeweler and sewing ma- 
chine dealer, son of Jens S. and Karen Provstgaard, 
\\as born in Provstgaard Jyland, Denmark, April 
25, 1849, where he learned the shoemaker trade, and fol- 
lowed the business'. In 1871 he came to the United 
States and located the following spring in Fountain 
Green, where he engaged in the shoe business. About 
1877 he entered the Fountain Green Co-op. store, and 
after two vears as a. clerk he became manager, which 

6 



172 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

position be held for two and one-half years. He came 
to Manti in 1884 as traveling salesman for the Singer 
Sewing- Machine Company, working Sanpete, Emery, 
Sevier and Piute counties. In 1891 he opened a store 
where he carries a stock of groceries, hats, caps and no- 
tions, and does general watch and clock repairing. He 
is a member of the A. O. U. W. and the Mormon church, 
and a conservative business man. He was married in 
Denmark, October 30, 1871, to Johanne Xielson, who died 
in this city December 3, 1887. He was married in Manti 
December 28, 1888, to Mette Maria < '., daughter of Jorgen 
and Anna M. Benson. They have two children, Alvira, 
bom July 18, 1891, and Niels L., June 25, 1894. 

I^EID, EDWARD, tailor, son of John and Fanny, was 
IT bom in Drum bo, County Down, Ireland, of Scotch 
V ancestry, February 15, 1828. He served six years 
as an apprentice and learned the trade of tailoring and 
has followed the business most of his life. In 1847 he 
joined the Mormon Church in Liverpool and for seven 
years was a traveling elder. He presided over the Kil- 
marnock, Scotland, conference in 1856; the Dundee, 
Scotland, conference in 1857 and 1858; the Herefordshire, 
Scotland, conference in 1859, and the Nottingham, Eng- 
land, conference in I860 and 1861. In 1861 he came to 
Utah and located in Payson, where he resided twenty 
years. Was tailor in the Z. C. M. I., Salt Lake City, three 
years. Served as a Lieutenant in the Black Hawk war. 
In 1880 he removed to Dover, taking up ltiO acres of land, 
built a home and tried farming, but had to leave on ac- 
count, of saleratus in the soil. Came to Manti in 1888 and 
opened a tailor shop and lias worked up a nice trade. Is 
a first-class cutter and titter and practical tailor. Was 
married in Belfast, Ireland, August 3, 1853, to Sarah, 
daughter of nugh and Catherine Shields, born in the 
county of Down July 12, 1828. They had seven children: 
Hugh, John S. and Edward, living in Dover; Fannie M., 
wife of George T\. Judd, Grantsville; and Agnes J., wife 
of Prof. John M. Mills, L. D. S. College, Salt Lake City, 
living; Annie and Sarah, deceased. His wife died Au- 
gust 1, 1889. Married again Julv 27, 1897, to Xancv 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 173 

Jones, nee Billings, daughter of George I\ and Jerusha 
Shomaker Billings, born in Manti. 

j^EII), JOHN P., farmer, son of John and Fannie 
|T White, was born in the comity of Down, Ireland, 
V February 25, 1825. He learned to be a gardener 
and followed that occupation for several years. At the 
age of 20 he became a polisher of pianos and line furni- 
ture. In 1847 he joined the Mormon church at Belfast, 
iind for nine years the Mormon meetings were held in 
his house. He came to Utah in 1871 and quarried rock 
for his house, the family coming in 1872, when he had 
built a place. He took up 1G0 acres of land and now owns 
sixty acres. He has always taken an active part in 
church matters, and is a member of the Elders' Quorum, 
having served two years as president and eleven years 
as first counsellor to the president. Was married in Ire- 
land October 10, 1814, to Margaret, daughter of Edward 
and Mary Kirkwood, born in Ireland March 11, 1826. 
They had thirteen children: Edward, Will K., John K., 
Elizabeth, Alexander, Agnes, Lucy S., Eobert and Sarah, 
living; Thomas, Elizabeth and two infants, deceased. He 
has seventy grandchildren and four great grandchildren. 

P)EII), WILLIAM A., blacksmith, son of George B. and 
|T Margaret Gardner, was born in Salt Lake City, 
* June lo. 1853. His father was a stonemason, com- 
ing to Utah in 1810 with an ox-train. About 1857 the 
family removed to Xephi, where the father died in Feb- 
ruary, 1892; the mother died there August 25, 1877. Wil- 
liam learned the blacksmith trade, and, beginning in 
1877, has built up a successful business. In September, 
1892, he came to Manti and built his present shop, where 
he does general blacksmithing, horse shoeing and re- 
pairing of machineiw. He owns a fine residence and is a 
stockholder in the Messenger. His first wife was Mary 
A. Carter. They were married in Neplii, March 18, 1878. 
She died in Nephi, December 22, 1888, leaving three chil- 
dren, William G., John C. and Margaret A. He mar- 
ried in Manti, July 2, 1890, Laura A., daughter of Joseph 
and Laura A. Tuttle. They have four children. Pearl, 
Joseph H., Grace and Frank. 



17-1 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

QEID, WILLIAM F., farmer, son of William T. and 
IT Jane McEwan Reid, was born in Parson, Ftah, 

V April 30, 1805. When a small boy his family re- 
moved to this city, where he was educated and trained 
up to fami work. He owns about sixty acres of good 
land, and for the last few years has been interested in 
stockraising. In 1893 he built a fine residence on his 
city property east of the business center. He is a stock- 
holder in the Manti Co-op store and was for several years 
Deputy County Clerk and Recorder. His wife, whom he 
married in this city a few years ago, was Diantha Lowry, 
daughter of John and Mary Lowry. 

QE1D, HON. WILLIAM K., of the law firm of lleid & 
|T Cherry, Manti, was born in Belfast, Ireland, Octo- 

V ber 21, 1848; son of John 1*. and Margaret (Kirk- 
wood) Reid, now residents of Manti. His parents joined 
the Mormon church about 1815 and the father was presi- 
dent of the Belfast Branch for a number of years. Our 
subject learned the trade of French polisher of his father 
and after he became of age followed it, polishing furni- 
ture and pianos in Belfast, Glasgow and Liverpool. His 
lather came to Utah in 1871 and was followed the next 
year by the family, the mother and William K., Mar- 
garet, Alexander, Agnes, Lucy, Robert and Sarah. Wil- 
liam K. after his arrival here taught school and studied 
law and was admitted to practice in the Supreme Court 
of Utah June 22, 1883. He opened an office in Manti and 
soon secured a large clientele. He was elected to the 
office of Prosecuting Attorney in 1883 and re-elected in 
1884, 18S0, 1888 and again in 1800, being- the present in- 
cumbent. He Mas elected Superintendent of Schools in 
1883-85 and 188T. In 1880 he was elected a member of 
the Territorial Legislature and during Cleveland's sec- 
ond administration lie was appointed Probate Judge of 
the county, lie is at present City Attorney for Manti, 
Ephraini, Gunnison, Spring City and Fairview of this 
county and Salina of Sevier county. Mr. Reid is a strong 
silver Democrat and is a charter member of Manti Lodge 
No. 23, A. O. T\ W. In August, 1807, Mr. Reid took into 
partnership with him James W. Cherry, a bright, ener- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 175 

getic and capable young lawyer, a sou of Judge A. N. 
Cherry of Salt Lake. 

Mr. Reid married in Salt Lake City April 24, 1879, 
Miss Jane Leatham, daughter of Robert and Jane s., of 
Wellsville, Cache County, Utah. Their children, born in 
Manti, are as follows: Maggie May, born March 31, 
1880; William, born May 29, 1882, died September 3, 
1883; Jennie S., born November 3, 1883; Ruby, born 
October 27, 1885; Robert R., born September 4, 1887; 
Georgie, born April 8, 1880; Vida, born January 23, 1892; 
Kathleen, born March 24, 1894; Phyllis, born July 3, 
1890. 

Mr. Reid is local attorney for the Rio Grande West- 
ern railroad and the Manti Co-op. Is a. good judge of law 
and well read in all its intricacies; is much esteemed by 
his constituents and gives promise of being one of Utah's 
ablest practitioners at the bar. 



QUI]), BISHOP WILLIAM TAYLOR, of Scotch de- 
|T scent, was born on the 21st of July, 1830, in Drunibo, 
V County Down, Ireland. His father, John, was a gard- 
ener and William was trained to the same occupation. 
He married, December 3, 1848, in Edinburgh, Scotland, 
Miss Jane McEwan. She was born July 3, 1833, in Edin- 
burgh. Of their children born there three are living, 
viz., John, Jane and Henry McEwan, and three, viz., 
Eliza, William F. and Edward E., born after their arrival 
in Utah. 

Bishop Reid joined the Mormon church in Belfast, 
Ireland, January 9, 1848, ami was an early earnest 
worker, and presided over the Edinburgh conference of 
said church part of 18G1 and 1802. Emigrated to Utah 
in 1802, and drove from Florence, on the Missouri river, 
ivith an ox team with Capt. John R. Murdock, of Beaver, 
in a church train, and located at Provo. He taught school 
there in the Fourth Ward that winter, and then turned 
his attention to farming for a short time, thence to 
Sprinjrville, where he taught one season, and froin there 
to Payson and Spring Lake Villa, where he was farming 
and teaching for two vears, and from there to rvichfield. 



176 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

He held a commission as Major in the Black Hawk war 
in the Sevier County militia. In November, 1867, he re- 
moved to Manti and was appointed to the offices of 
County Clerk and Recorder and County Superintendent 
of Schools, which positions he held for sixteen years to 
the entire satisfaction of the people. In 1877 was ap- 
pointed Bishop of the North Ward, Manti, and is the 
present incumbent. Is president of the Manti Co-opera- 
tive Mercantile Institution since 1876 and Land Attorney 
since 1883. 

Bishop Reid has been an active, hard worker; is a 
man of large experience unusual sound judgment, thor- 
ough in all business arrangements, keen, energetic and 
wide awake to the interests of the people over whom he 
presides and in whose hearts he lives. 

Being true to his earnest religious convictions, he 
married November 23, 1869, Mary Adelaide M. Cox, of 
Manti, and his had by her four children, viz.: Clare W., 
Edgar «T, Mary A. and Alice. 
T. 

r>lCHi:Y, WILLIAM B., of Manti, son of William B. 
|T and Margaret A. (Adair), born in Knox, Yuba 

* County, Miss., May 17, 1840. His father was a 

planter but not. a believer in slavery. He joined the 
Mormon church and moved to Nanvoo in 1816. He was 
engaged in missionary work many years in Mississippi 
and to the Cherokee Nation in Florida, learned their 
language, married Nancy Ridge, the* chiefs daughter, 
and became a member of the nation. About a year later 
his wife died and he returned to Mississippi and married 
the mother of our subject. The family came to Utah in 
1848 and in the fall <>f 1841) they came with the first com- 
pany to Manti and passed through all the hardships and 
privations of those early days. The mother died in Manti 
in 1852 ami the father in 1878 in Parowan. When Wil- 
liam B. grew up he engaged in freighting to the mining 
camps in Nevada fifteen years. After the railroads were 
built he engaged in farming and now has a nice farm, 
also a comfortable stone residence, one of the first built 
after moving out of the fort. In both the Indian wars 
he took his part. In 1862 he went to California, and in 



HISTORY OF SANrETE COUNTY. 177 

tht* employ of the Government shipped on board tlie 
Senator in charge of 200 mules. lie started in the 
spring of 1863 with the California volunteers for Texas, 
but his sympathies bein^ with the South, he was dis- 
charged at Fort Yuma aud returned to Utah, lie mar- 
ried August 20, 1808, Johanne, daughter of Rasmus and 
Magdalene Hougaard. Their children are Johanne J., 
Sarah B., Julia P., Nellie L-, Jenny L., Willina, William, 
John B., Benjamin and Margaret A., Mary M. and Emily 
deceased. Mr. Richey is a highly respected citizen, Dem- 
ocrat, member of Board of Supervisors and county jailer. 



I^iDDLE. ISAAC, woolgrower, son of John ami Kliza- 
|T beth Steward, was born in Boone County, Kentucky, 
V March 22, 1830. His father was a county physician 
and for many years was a Baptist minister. The family 
removed to West Tennessee when Isaac was a small boy, 
remained there for three years, then went to Hickman 
county, Kentucky, where his father had an extensive 
medical practice. His father joined the Mormon church 
in 1843 and in the spring of 1811 the family moved to 
Nauvoo, Illinois, and were there when the prophet was 
killed. In August, 1811, the family removed to lowa and 
spent two ami a half years among the Indians in South 
Dakota, finally removing to Omaha, from which point 
they came AYest with Brigham Younu's eoinpny. They 
stopped at Pawnee for a time, then at Winter Quarters, 
and in 1817 returned to northwestern Missouri, remain- 
ing there three years. The father went to Kentucky on 
a two years' mission, leaving Isaac to take ca.re of 
mother and seven children. He more than doubled the 
family possessions while his father was absent, and in 
the spring of 1850 they were ready to start for Utah with 
four yoke of oxen and two wagons. They reached Utah 
in October, 1850, and located in North O.udeu. 

Isaac was married in North Ogden March 0, 1853, to 
Mary A., daughter of Frederick and Julia A. Levie. They 
had six children: Isaac J., a business man in Escalante, 
Garfield county, and Joselina M., residing uear Pan- 
quitch and engaged in farming and stocki*aising, are the 



178 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

two living ones. His wife died in Beaver, Utah, March 4, 
1874. In the spring of 1854 he was called on an Indian 
mission and spent ten years in southern Utah, Arizona, 
Xevada and Southern California. He had many exciting 
experiences and narrow escapes from Indians and star- 
vation. He was with the company of twenty-two of 
which Jacob Haniblin was president and often had to 
kill an old worn out horse for food. One of the party, 
George A. Smith, Jr., was killed. After the missionary 
labors were completed he removed to Beaver county and 
engaged in farming and stockraising and was very suc- 
cessful in accumulating at least $50,000 in stock and mill 
property in fifteen years' work. He built a grist mill at 
Kanosh, one in Sevier county and a third one at Loa, 
Wayne county. He joined with others and bought a 
large roller mill at Elsinore and one at Springville, in 
Utah county, which he now owns. 

His second wife was Mary R. James, a widow. She 
had seven children: Mary, wife of William Fothering- 
ham, Jr., farmer and stockraiser of Garfield county; 
Elizabeth M., wife of Joseph Betterson, farmer and stock- 
raiser, of Garfield county; Francina, wife of M. M. Ste- 
vens, farmer, in Iowa county, Iowa; Thomas, farmer and 
stockraiser, of Garfield county, and Minerva, wife of 
John Knowles, farmer and stockraiser, of Garfield 
county, are living. His third wife was Mary A., daugh- 
ter of Robert and Mary A. Knell. She has had seven 
children, five of whom are living: Lydia A., wife of An- 
drew N. Holdaway, farmer and stockraiser, residing near 
Provo; Lilly, wife of Warren Holdaway, farmer and 
stockraiser, near Provo; Wallace M., farmer and stock- 
raiser in Garfield county; Charles E., farmer and stock- 
raiser, in Garfield county, and John, at home. The 
fourth wife was Mary C. Turnbough. Mr. Riddle re- 
sided three years in Provo, where he went to educate his 
children, and while there, served a time for having a plu- 
rality of wives. 

In the fall of 1800 he fame to Manti to work in the 
Temple, and has been an earnest man in the cause, ex- 
pending no less than $15,000 in prosecuting: his labors. 
He has erected fine dwellings in Manti and is an ener- 




P. P. DYRENG, 
MANTT. 




K. M. WORKS. 
MA NT I. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 179 

getic, hard-working and most representative citizen. 
His many interests extend in all parts of the State and 
he may always be found actively engaged in his work 
and conscientiously performing his duties in every field. 

I^OSENKRANTZ, NEILS, farmer and woolgrower, son 
IT of Peter and Sophia, was bora in Denmark Decem- 
V ber 5, 1S33. He was a sailor for a few years, a farm 
overseer for several years and foreman in loading and 
unloading vessels for a steamship companv six years at 
Aarhus. Joined the Mormon Church in 1863 and in 1ST2 
came to Utah, locating in Manti. He brought a family 
of eight, costing $1000 for transportation, and had but 
75 cents on his arrival. Worked at anything he could 
get to do and finally bought, ten acres and added to it 
until he uow owns a nice farm of thirty-five acres. Was 
engaged in the mercantile business two years, then pur- 
chased sheep, now having 2000 head. Was married in 
Aarhus to Christina Olsen. She died there in 1864, leav- 
ing three children: Sophia (deceased), Ole and Christian. 
Married again in 18G6 to Annie K. Sorenson. She has 
six living children: Christina, Neils, Hans, Petrea, Peter 
and Anna M. 

5CHAUGAARD, MRS. I. M., dealer in groceries and 
notions and owner of restaurant and ice cream 
parlor, a native of Norway, was born December 
16, 1847. She was raised in the old country and joined 
the Mormon Church there. In 1884 she came to Utah, 
locating in Salt Lake City. She was married in the Logan 
Temple March 18, 1886, to N. C. Schaugaard, a farmer 
and carpenter. In August, 1886, she came to Manti and 
worked in the Temple, being the first woman worker. 
She soon opened a small store and has been doing a good 
business. Being left with nothing, she has by energy and 
perseverance worked up a good trade and purchased the 
building in which she lives and does business. She is an 
honest and industrious woman and deserving of all the 
patronage the people can bestow. Her only son is Joseph 
C, born" May 8, 1887. 



180 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

5 HAND, DAVID, farmer and woolgrower, son of Da- 
vid and Catherine Clark, was born in Fifeskire, 
Scotland, May 18, 1844. He joined the Mormon 
Church in 1801 and in 18G3 came to Utah, crossing the 
plains in an oxtrain, under Capt. Haight. He engaged in 
farming for a time and spent four years as a contractor 
in Little Cottonwood canyon, developing mining claims. 
For twenty years he was engaged in freighting produce 
to Salt Lake City and mining camps of Utah and Ne- 
vada. In the spring of 1886 he went on a mission to 
Indian Territory, and labored 18 months among the 
various tribes. He now owns a fine farm of 100 acres. 
In 1889 he engaged in woolgrowing and now has about 
10,000 sheep, some of which he has on shares. He has a 
nice home in the city, and is a self-made man and repre- 
sentative citizen. He took an active part in the Black 
Hawk war, standing guard and doing his share. Was 
married in Salt Lake City, October 4, 1S00, to Bridget, 
daughter of John and Ann Weir Hoggan, bora in Fife- 
shire, Scotland, January 31, 1810. They have had eleven 
children. David P., Kate, John W. Marian, Charles S., 
31 aggie, Jessie L. and Robert. C, living; Annie, Jennie, 
and Leslie C, deceased. Mrs. Shand came to this country 
in 1800, crossing the plains in Capt. Dan Thompson's 
oxtrain. 

5HOMAKEB, HON. EZRA, president of the Central 
Utah Wool Company of Manti, is a native of Adams 
County, Illinois, where he was born March 20, 1843. 
He is n son of Jezreel, who was a farmer and stockraiser 
and a native of Pendleton County, Kentucky, bora Octo- 
ber 20, 17!Mi. His father was born in the same county, 
and his fat her, Ezra's groat grandfather, was a 
native of Pennsylvania. In 1S47 his parents emigrated 
to Utah and spent the winter in Salt Lake City, and in 
the spring of 1848 they moved to Bountiful, Davis Coun- 
ty, his father and Perigrene Sessions being the first two 
men to settle and locate that place, which long went by 
the name of Sessions. In the fall of 1840 the family moved 
to Manti, arriving here on the 19th of November, when 
they went into camp with others of the company and 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 181 

located themselves for the winter 011 the south side and 
at the foot of Quarry hill, where the Temple now stands. 
They engaged in farming, stockraising, etc. His father 
was a prominent man in the early settlement of the place 
and was a member of the first High Council — chosen to 
that position May 1, 1851. He died in Manti May 31, 1870. 
Ezra's mother, whose maiden name was Nancy 
Golden, was a native of the same place as was her hus- 
band. She was born April 22, 1808, and shared all the 
arduous labors and privations with him, and died in 
Manti May 23, 1870. Ezra was brought up to the farm- 
ing industry and engaged in stock and sheepraising; has 
a valuable farm of about sixty acres near Manti. In 1801, 
when the wool company was organized, he became a 
director and was vice-president two years, and in 1894 
was elected its president. This company does an annual 
business of about $250,000 in buying and shipping wool, 
and in addition handle wagons, agricultural implements, 
etc. He is a" prominent member of the Mormon church, 
member of the High Council ten years; was a member 
of the City Council terms of 1875, '77, 79 and '85; was 
Mayor 1891-2, and again in the Council in 1893. His re- 
peated elections showed the esteem and confidence in 
which he was held by his constituents. He married in 
Salt Lake City, while a resident of Manti, December 1, 
I860, Miss Abigail Tattle, daughter of Azariah, born 
October 13, 1848, in Tottawattamie, Iowa. They had 
seven children, two living, viz.: Leonard A. and Azariah 
0., associated in business together in sheep and cattle 
industry in Alberta, Canada, 

5HOMAKER, HON. JEZEEEL, deceased, son of Lakey 
and Sally Ellis, was born in Bourbon county, Ken- 
tucky, October 29, 1796. He was brought up as a 
frontiersman in Pendleton county, where he was engaged 
in lumbering and fanning. April 1, 1824, he married 
Nancy, daughter of John and Mary Robinson Golden, 
born in Pendleton county, Kentucky, April 22, 1808. 
About 1828 they removed to Illinois and located in 
Adams county, near Quincy, where he homesteaded 160 
acres of land and purchased other claims, having the 



182 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

largest farm in the county. When neighbors settled 
around him he donated land for a school-house, which 
was erected. He became quite a prominent man in 
Adams county, giving quarters to all religious societies, 
yet claiming allegiance to none, until in the 40's, when 
he joined the Mormon Church. This required the selling 
or giving away of all he had, and in 1847 he fitted up 
teams and wagons and crossed the plains, arriving in 
Salt Lake City with the pioneers in Capt. Charles Rich's 
company. His wife rode in a carriage and drove a horse 
team all the way. 

He first located in Salt Lake City, then removed to 
Sessions settlement, near Bountiful. In the fall of 1849 
he joined the pioneers and came to Sanpete, locating in 
Manti, one of the first colonists. Here he remained un- 
til his death, which occurred May 30, 1879. He had good 
teams and plenty of provisions when coming to Manti, 
and assisted many poor families in getting the neces- 
saries of life. When the church wanted money the 
leaden called upon Father Shomaker and secured a 
portion of his savings. If the poor needed grain or 
clothing they never called on him without getting as- 
sistance. IIo prospered in the accumulation of land and 
property, and occupied many prominent positions in 
civil and ecclesiastical matters, serving as Mayor for 
three terms and being a member of the first City Coun- 
cil. His children weie: Sally, wife of Harrison Fugate 
of Emery county; Jc-rusha, widow of George P. Billings; 
Ezra, a prominent citizen of Manti; Laura, widow of Jo- 
seph Tattle; and Lakey, a well-known farmer and sheep- 
OAMier, of Manti, who are living; John G., Theophilus, 
Marion and Jeptha, deceased. 

5ITOEMAKEE, JOEL, journalist, son of Newton and 
Emily J. Taylor, was born in Pendleton county Ky., 
October 2, 1862. He attended the home district 
schools, Butler High school and State University. At the 
age of 10 he began as a newspaper correspondent and 
has followed that continuously in college and while pur- 
suing other vocations. Spent, two years in the central 
States as writer, lecturer and organizer for the Patrons 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 183 

of Husbandly and other societies. Came to Utah in 1SS3 
and has Taught High school and district schools in San- 
pete, Weber and Grand counties. Was Ogden represen- 
tative of the Salt Lake Times one year. Served two 
years as assistant editor of the Irrigation Age, Mining- 
Age and Times. Was the first editor of the Manti Mes- 
senger for two years, making it then the leading Repub- 
lican weekly of Utah, and aided very materially in carry- 
ing the city, county and State the only years the party 
has been successful. Was editor of the Logan Republi- 
can for a time. Is an honoray member of the Utah Irri- 
gation Association and has been a delegate to several 
Western congresses and conventions. Has served as vice- 
president and historian of the Utah Press Association 
and vice-president of the Western Editorial Federation. 
Has written four books on irrigation, co-operation and 
kindred subjects, and is well known throughout the 
Avorld as a prominent contributor to the leading agricul- 
tural, sporting and travel publications. He claims no 
religion but that of humanity. Was married in Manti 
September 15, 18S5, to Luella, daughter of George P. 
and Jernsha Billings, born in Manti September 15, 1885. 
They have had six children: Blaine and Nannie, living; 
Maggie, Tallula, George and Gail, deceased. 

5IDWELL, MRS. ADELIA B., rancher, daughter of 
Orville S. and Elvira P. Mills Cox, was born in 
Lima, 111., December 1, 1841. Her father was 
born in Plymouth, New York, and removed to Nelson, 
Ohio, thence to Lima, Illinois, where he married Elvira 
P. Mills, bora March 2, 1820. In 1815 they were driven 
with the Mormons to Nauvoo, in 1816 removed to Pisgah, 
Iowa, and in 1817 came to Utah in Capt. Robinson's com- 
pany of 1850, father being captain of the "Pisgah Mor- 
mons," arrived in Salt Lake City October 2, 1817. His 
son, Orville M., was born in the old adobe fort in Novem- 
ber and is supposed to be the oldest living male child 
bora in Salt Lake City. Father removed to Bountiful in 
spring of 1818 and was called by President Young to go 
in Father Morley's company to colonize Manti, arriving 
here in November, 1819. He built the first saw pit and 



184 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

-George P. Billings assisted him in sawing lumber for the 
first floor in Manti. In March, 1850, Delaun was born 
and is the oldest male child now living born in Sanpete 
county. Father was captain of minute men in the 
Walker war and counsellor to Bishop Lowry. He re- 
moved to Fairview in 1860; was then called to colonize 
the Muddy country, but the colonists were counseled to 
leave their homes because of dispute over boundary line 
between Utah and Nevada and returned to Orderville, 
where many of his descendants now reside. Returned 
again to Fairview, where he died Independence Day, 
1888. Adelia was married in Manti by Bishop Moffitt 
April 13, 1864, to George Sidwell, a pioneer. He was a 
captain in the Black Hawk war, built the Willardsen 
grist mill and a sawmill in Ephraim and the Manti roller 
mill. He died September 20, 1883, leaving eight children: 
Susan, Corinne, Rosalia, Vivian, Elvira, George, Lafay- 
ette and Gideon. 



5MITH AZARIAH, one of the oldest settlers of Manti, 
son of Albert and Esther Dutcher, was born in 
Oswego county, New York, August 1, 1828. The 
family removed to Ohio when he was 7 and joined the 
Mormon Church. In 1839 they went to Nauvoo, 111., 
where he was baptized, his father assisting in building 
the temple. In 1846 he and father enlisted in the Mor- 
mon battalion, raised for the Mexican war. They were 
discharged in California. His father came to Utah, and 
Azariah turned back, on advice from Brigham Young, 
and worked in California on the Sutter mill race where 
gold was discovered. He now gets a pension from the 
Government and in 1898 was a guest of honor in the 
Semi-Centennial celebration in California, In 1848 he 
rf turned to Salt. Lake City, and in 1849 came to Manti, 
with his father and mother, sisters Emily, Candace and 
Esther, and brother Joseph. Soon after their arrival he 
was taken sick and was not able to work for nearly 20 
years. He has been active in church work and assisted 
in building the temple. His first wife was Camilla A. 
Taylor, married in Salt Lake City, April 10, 1849. She 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 185 

has two living- children. Second wife, married in Salt 
Lake City, October 9, 1871, was Joanne M. Christensen. 

5 NOW, (xAlvDXEli E., farmer and woolgrower, son of 
Warren S. and Mary A. Voorhees, was born in Pot- 
towatamie county, Iowa, June 1, 1848. In 1852 the 
family, consisting of three sons and one daughter, came 
to Utah, and in 1854 located in Manti. He owns a fifty- 
acre farm and his city residence besides about 1500 
sheep. During the past eleven years he has been ac- 
tively engaged as a traveling threshernian, owning an 
interest in a good machine. In the Black Hawk war he 
took an active part in the first, engagement. He was City 
Marshal five years, member of the police force five years 
and deputy- sheriff two and a half years. His wife was 
Esther P., daughter of Walter and Jemima Cox. She 
owns stock in the Co-op store. They were married in 
Manti, January 3, 1869, and have eight children: Edna 
L., Esther L., Adelaide M., Perrv G., Alice, Frederick W., 
Alida. and Clifford H. 

5 NOW, GEOKGE, of Manti, son of Gardner and Sarah 
S. (Hastings) Snow, was born in St. Johnsburg, 
Caledonia County, Vermont, September 8, 1820. 
His father was a carpenter and joined the Mormon 
church about 1834. With his wife and daughter Martha, 
he came to Manti in 1850, where he died, aged 97 years. 
He took an active part in the Walker war; was Probate 
Judge one term and was prominent in the Mormon 
church, being a member of the High Council. Our sub- 
ject came to Manti in 1852 with two brothers, James and 
Warren S., both since deceased. He followed his trade 
of cooper for some years and was sub-agent to the Ute 
tribe of Indians three years. Studied law and practiced 
before the bar about ten years and was Prosecuting At- 
torney for the county about ten years; City Alderman 
three terms; precinct Magistrate three terms. During 
both Indian wars he was a drum major. During the 
past eleven years he has been agent for George A. Lowe, 
selling agricultural implements. He married in Kirt- 



186 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

laud, Ohio, in 1839 to Mary, daughter of Beujamin and 
Eunice Wells, who died September 4, 1893, leaving four 
children, Mary, Eunice, Sarah and Gardner. He mar- 
ried as second wife in Manti in 1860 Eunice Warner, 
widow, a daughter of Titus and Diantha Billings; their 
children are: George, Lydia, Yilate and Titus. 

5 QUIRE, AAEON D., butcher, son of John P. and 
Adelia, was born in Manti May C, 1859. He was 
brought up on a farm and has farmed all his life. 
Owns a nice farm of ninety acres and a residence in the 
city. In May, 1890, he engaged in the butcher business 
and now has a nice shop. Was married in Logan to 
Mary, daughter of Charles O. and Ann Luke, born in 
Manti. She had one child: Aaron D. (deceased.) Wife 
died and he married in Manti June 6, 1888, Eliza J. 
daughter of George and Jane Bench, born in Manti. 
They have four children: Franklin, Nellie, Lorette and 
George. 

5QU1BE, JOHN P., deceased, son of Aaron and Eliza- 
beth, was born in Bainbridge, Geauga county, NeAv 
York, March 30, 1821. He grew up in New York 
and went to Illinois, where he joined the Mormon Church 
in 1847. In 1852 he came to Utah with Lorenzo Snow, 
who married one of his sisters. He then came direct to 
Manti and located there. He taught school in winter 
and farmed in summer for several years. Took part in 
the Black Hawk war, being a Lieutenant. Was an ac- 
tive worker in church and Sunday school. During the 
last years of his life he was in ill-health. He died April 
25, 1872. Was married in Manti, December 31, 1853, to 
Adelia, daughter of Freeborn and Annie Knight De Mill, 
born in Jackson county, Mo., September 29, 1832. Her 
parents came here in 1850, having joined the Mormon 
Church in 1830, among the first, members. They were 
highly respected citizens and both died here. Her chil- 
dren are: John P., Aaron D., Adelia L., Eliza R. and 
Oliver E., living; Orpha, Anna M. and Harriet A., de- 
ceased. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 187 

5 QUIRE, OLIVER E., farmer and brickmaker, son of 
John P. and Adelia, was bom in Manti, February 
20, 18G7. He was raised to fanning and owns a nice 
35-acre farm. Is also interested with Charles Winfcch in 
the manufacture of brick, having yards three miles south 
of the city. They make about 100,000 sand roll brick 
yearly. Was married in Manti temple, October 30, 1889, 
to Alice Jones. She had one child, Alice, and died Au- 
gust 20, 1890. Married again May 29, 1895, to Diamha, 
daughter of Daniel O. and Ellen Anderson, born in Nor- 
way, January 30, 1872. They have two children: Rosa- 
mond, born March 15, 189G, and Ruby, May 20, 1897. 

5TECK, JENS F., farmer, son of Christian P. and 
Maria B. Waas, was bom in Denmark, June 28, 
1833. He served in the Danish arnrs 2\ years, un- 
der Frederick VII., and in 1854 joined the Mormon 
Church. In 1861 he came to Utah, crossing the plains 
in an oxtrain, under Ca.pt Wooley. Stopped the first 
winter in Manti, then removed to Mt. Pleasant. He was 
called in 1865 to assist in settling Circle Valley, and 
went to Marysvale, where he took up land and helped 
build the forts. In 1866, when they had to leave on 
account of Indian troubles, he returned to Manti, and 
has' since been engaged in farming. He took an active 
part in the Black Hawk war, doing his part of the many 
duties. Is a stockholder in the Co-op store ami an in- 
dustrious, hard-working man. He was married in Salt 
Lake City in December, 1867, to Inger Hansen. She died 
July 10, 1881, leaving ten children: Maria, wife of 
i ieorge Thurgood; Petrea, wife of David F. Shand; Mary, 
wife of John J. Rees; James F., married to Silveretta 
Dickson; Joseph S., married to Amelia M. Dennison; 
Hyrum 8., married to Lillian Marker; Heber C. and Anna 
M., at home. Elvena I. and an unnamed infant, de- 
ceased. He was married again March 28, 1891, to Jane 
Reid, born December 14, 1832. 

5TRIXGHAM, WALTER, builder, of Manti, son of 
William and Polly (Knight), born in Clay county, 
Mo., February 4, 1837. Parents joined the Mormon 
church in 1830, when the entire membership numbered 



1S8 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

six. In 185(i the family came to Utah in Canute Peter- 
son's train, and in February, 1857, they located in Manti. 
Father was a hard worker for the church. He was or- 
dained High Priest in.Xauvoo, and passed through all 
the persecutions in the States, and died in Manti Novem- 
ber 3, 18G5, in his 78th year. 

Walter learned the trade of plasterer in Illinois, and 
has worked at that ever since coming to Manti; also lay- 
ing stone and brick. He has also a nice thirty-acre farm, 
which his sons work, and is a stockholder in the new 
Union Roller Mills. During the Black Hawk war Mr. S. 
played in the martial band and was in the saddle much 
of the time. In Castle Valley, in 1858, he was, with forty 
others, in a skirmish with the Indians, whom they were 
] ursuing to recover stolen stock, and had his horse shot 
from under him. Mr. S. is a good, reliable citizen, and 
well liked by the people of Manti. 

He married in Manti, June 19, 1S59, to Mary E., 
daughter of John EL and Sabra A. Tuttle, born in Han- 
cock county, 111., May 5, 1844. Their family of fifteen 
children are named Julia A., Sabra E., Almira, deceased, 
Walter, Rowena, John H., Luther A., Mary G., William 
G., Elmeda F., Hvruni R., Rosa M., Charles M., Homer 
M. and Delia T. 



5TBINGHAM, WALTER, JR., photographer, son of 
Walter and Mai*) E., was born in Manti January 
18, 1865, where he was educated and resides. At 
the age of lit he was employed by G. E. Anderson of 
Springville and worked six years in his photo gallery. 
He spent six months witli Morris & Co., Salt Lake City, 
and traveled through Utah, Idaho and Wyoming, finally 
opening a gallery in this city with James E. Ellis as 
partner. lie now owns the business and is a fine artist 
in portrait and view work. Is a member of the A. O. U. 
W. and has been financier and held other offices in the 
lodge. His wife, to whom he was married in Manti No- 
vember 30, 1892, was Mary E., daughter of John E. and 
Marv Metcalf Thev have one son, W. Lynn, born Sep- 
tember 12, 1893. 



HISTORY OF SA.NFETE COUNTY. 189 

SEXXANT, HON. ALEXANDER, Mayor, and superin- 
tendent of Manti Co-op, is a native of Dumferinliue, 
Scotland, and was born January 3, 1851, son of 
Charles and Margaret (Stenhouse) Tennant. The father 
was a bookbinder and died in Scotland in 1850, and the 
mother died in Manti in 1871, having become the wife of 
John Grier after her husband's death, and who is now a 
resident of 1'rovo. Mr. Tennant learned the trade of a 
ropemaker, and the family came to Utah and 
located in Manti in 18G0, where Aleck, as he is familiarly 
known, worked at various occupations. In 1880 he en- 
tered the Co-op as a clerk and gradually accumulated 
stock therein, and in 1890 was appointed its superin- 
tendent, which position he has since tilled. Is interested 
in the Manti Lumber Company. Is a member of the A. 
O. U. W. and was its first treasurer and is the present re- 
corder; was Justice of the Peace several years; member 
of the City Council 1889 and 1890, City Treasurer 1891 
and 1892, and elected Mayor in the fall of 1897. He mar- 
ried in Manti April 12, 1871, Miss Sarah Snow, daughter 
of George and Man', who w T ere among the early settlers; 
her father was prominent in all the Indian troubles, be- 
ing drum major. 

Mr. Tennant has four children, viz.: Mary B., Alex- 
ander, Charles and Margaret; has a lovely home and 
pleasant surroundings. He is an active worker in the 
Mormon church, and is assistant superintendent in the 
Manti North Sunday school. He was an active worker 
in the Young Men's Mutual Improvement Association, of 
which he was secretary some time and president two or 
three years. Is one of the true and tried men of Manti, 
ever charitable, kind to all and generous to a fault, and 
one whose monument of integrity to duty will ever stand. 



S( )( >TH, JAMES C, farmer, son of James F. and Sarah 
Chadwick, was born in Nebraska as the family was 
enroute to Utah, August 17, 1853. The family 
came from London, England, and located in Manti in 
October, 1853. Father was Sexton for many years; died 
January 1G, 1878; mother died February 15, 189G. James 



190 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

has always followed fanning. Has been a ward teacher 
for sixteen rears. Was married in Manti to Elizabeth 
C, daughter of Charles O. and Ann Luke, born in Manti. 
►She had one child: James O. (deceased.) Wife died June 
5, 1878. He married again April 20, 1881, to Agnes, 
daughter of John P. and Margaret Reid. They have 
seven children: Sarah, John C, William E., Mary, Ed- 
ward K., Glenn and Lucy. 

SETTLE, ALBERT, deceased, son of Luther T. and 
Lola A., was born in Pottowatamie County, Iowa, 
October 20, 1854. The family removed to Manti 
when he was about 9 years old and he grew to man- 
hood in this city. He was a prominent and influential 
business man and politician and at the time of his death, 
January 1, 1895, was cashier of the Manti City Savings 
Bank, treasurer of the Central Utah Wool Co., and a 
member of the mercantile firm of L. T. Tuttle & Co. 
He was an active charter member of the A. O. U. W. 
and served as City Councillor. His death w r as caused 
by a fall on the sidewalk, striking the base of the spine 
and causing concussion of the brain. He was married 
in St. George, Utah, December 1, 1880, to Lucia I., 
daughter of Walter and Emeline Cox, born in Manti, 
February 4, 1860. 

They had six children: — Bernice, born October IT, 
1S81; Isabelle, October 25, 1883; Albert M., November 
11, 1885; Ruby R., Mav 20, 18S8; Blaine E., December 
30, 1890, and Lucille, October 25, 1893. 

SUTTLE, AZARIAH, of Manti, son of Terry and 
Eleanor (Mills), was born in Kew r York City, April 
20, 1818. His father died when he was 9 years old, 
and he had to begin to work early to help support the 
family. He worked in a printing office, and when 15 w T as 
bound out to learn the trade of sparmaker. He served 
four years and nine months, when he joined the Mormon 
church in December, 1837, through hearing Parley Pratt 
nnd Elijah Fordham preach. They moved to Missouri 
in 1838, and were all through the persecutions in Parr 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 191 

West, Adams county, and iii Nauvoo. In fall of L847, 
with his wife and two children, he left Xauvoo and win- 
tered at Winter Quarters, intending to come to Utah. 
They returned to Missouri on account of the Indians, and 
in 1832 they started in Bishop Howell's train and arrived 
in Ptoyo September loth. Isaac Morley induced them 
to come to Manti, where they arrived October 12, lSo2. 
All through the Indian troubles Mr. Turtle took part, be- 
ing a member of the Silver Greys. In early days he was 
a member of the City Council several years, and City Wa- 
termaster about twenty years. 

Married in New York City, March 11, 1838, to Ann, 
daughter of Thomas and Ann Mabbot, born in Yorkshire, 
England, December 2, 1821. Their children are Azariah, 
Horton, William and Abigail. 



SUTTLE, FRANK P., of the firm of L. T. Tuttle & 
Sons, merchants, of Manti, is a son of Hon. Luther 
T. and Lola A., born in Macedonia, Iowa, May 24, 
1858. In 1863 the family came to Manti, where Frank 
worked on the farm as he was growing up. When he 
began business for himself he embarked in stockraising, 
and later changed to wool-growing, in which he has been 
successful. He now has about 5000 head of sheep and 
for the past ten years he has been buying and shipping 
sheep for the Standard Meat and Live Stock Company 
of Denver. In 18S3 he bought one-half the interest of 
James Barton, who was in business with his father, and 
iicw the firm of L. T. Tuttle and Sons are well and favor- 
ably known in southern Utah. Frank P. is now one of 
1he substantial men of Sanpete county, and usually take3 
the lead in any business enterprise started in the town. 
He is a director in the Central Utah Wool Company, the 
Manti City Savings Bank and the new Union Roller 
Mills. He also has a fine farm near town of about 100 
acres, and a nice new residence three blocks east of the 
Court House. He was married in Manti October 13, 1881, 
to Arietta M., daughter of Frederick W. and Cordelia 
Cox. They have six children, as follows: Frank L., Jes- 
sie (deceased), Lola, Leonard, Fannie and Leah. 



192 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

7" UTTLE, JOHN HENRY, retired farmer, son of Terry 
V3 aU( l Eleanor, was born in New York City, June 19, 
1821. At the age of 15 he was "bound out" to learn 
the wood-turner's trade, where he worked till 1838, when 
be removed West, stopping a while in Missouri and locat- 
ing in Hancock county, 111. He left there in 1846, and 
resided two years at Garden Grove, Iowa, going to Coun- 
cil Bluffs, from which he started June 9, 1852, with Capt. 
Howells for Utah, taking his wife and four children in 
an ox team. He came to Manti in October, 1852, took up 
40 acres of land and erected a home in the city, where he 
has since resided. In the Indian wars he did his share, 
•being Captain of company B, Home Guards. Is a small 
wool-grower, and owns stock in the Manti Co-op. store. 
His first wife was Sabra Voorhees, to whom he was mar- 
ried in Hancock county, 111., May II, 1813. She died Oc- 
tober 10, 1853, leaving three children, Mary E., wife of 
Walter Stringhain, Almira, wife of John Hall, and Lu- 
ther T. The second wife Avas Sarah S., widow of William 
Mills, killed by Indians in 1853. She died February 12, 
1895. Third wife was Sarah A. Allen, nee Butler, mar- 
ried June 28, 1895. Her parents were early settlers in 
Utah. She was born in Nauvoo, 111., February 15, 1811, 
and has two children, John B. and Sarah E., wife of Ben- 
jamin Cameron, Panguitch, Utah. 

S UTTLE, LOUIS E., merchant, farmer and wool groAV- 
er, member of the firm of L. T. Tuttle & Co., was 
born May 21, 18(53, in Council Bluffs, la., and is a 
son of Luther T. and Lola E. Tuttle. The family came 
to Manti the same year, and Louis E. was reared as a 
farmer and has always lived in Manti. Married here, 
December 19, 1888, Mary C. Clark, daughter of John 
Haslem and Theresa E. Clark, who were among the 
early settlers of Sanpete, she was born in Manti. They 
have a nice, comfortable home, he also has a farm of 
tAventy-live acres near town. They have three children, 
Louis T., Hazel E., and Allen E. Mr. Tuttle is a mem- 
ber of the I. O. O. F., and in 1897 held the office of Noble 
Grand of Temple City Lodge No. 23 of Manti. Is actively 
engaged in the stock and sheep industry, and has in con- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 193 

nection with his father a flock of 0000 sheep, is quiet and 
unassuming in his business deportment, but is one of 
Manti's men of tried integrity and honesty. 

5UTTLE, LUTHER, of Manti, was born near Council 
Bluffs, Iowa, Julv 10, 1849. He is a son of John 11. 
and Sabra A. The family came to Manti in 1852. 
Luther was raised to farm work and when he grew up 
he took up and bought land and now has 210 acres of 
tine land near Manti. For the last thirteen years he has 
followed woolgrowing, in which he has been very suc- 
cessful, and now has 3000 head of fine sheep. Mr. Tuttle 
is an enterprising, shrewd business man and usually 
takes a leading part in any business enterprise started 
in the town. When the Central Utah Wool Company was 
organized in 1S91 he became one of the directors and has 
since attended to the buying of hides and wool for the 
company. He is a stockholder in the Manti City Sayings 
Bank and a member of the A. O. U. W. In * 1894 he 
opened a harness store in the Tuttle Block and placed 
his son, Luther E., in charge. They do a large business 
and manufacture a fine line of harness, saddles, etc. 

He was married in Manti January 3, 1870, to Emily, 
daughter of Frederick W. and Emeline Cox, who was 
born near Fort Laramie August 8, 1852, while the family 
were enroute by ox team to Utah. Their children are: 
Luella, Luther E., Roscoe C, Lawrence, Frederick, John, 
Burt<m, Edward, Lloyd and Maud. 



SUTTLE, HON. LUTHER T., a prominent merchant, 
banker and stock dealer of Manti, is a natiye of New- 
York, born November 19, 1825. His father was a 
shipbuilder by trade and died when Luther was but 
fourteen months old, leaving three sons and one daugh- 
ter, of which the subject of this sketch is the youngest. 
Both brothers are now residents of Manti. 

When he was 12 years of age his mother haying 
joined the church of Latter-day Saints, the family moved 
to Missouri and the same year Luther went, to live with 
his uncle, a hotel-keeper in St. Louis. In 1846, when the 



194 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Mormon Battalion was being organized, Luther became 
imbued with the desire to go to California and joined 
the company three days after his marriage with Abigail 
Haws, at Council Bluffs, Iowa. After an absence of 
eighteen months, with the rank of Orderly Sergeant, he 
returned to Council Bluffs and engaged in the fur trade 
as agent, for Feter A. Sarpey, of the American Fur Com- 
panj\ His next venture was in the lumber business at 
the little town of Macedonia, about twenty-five miles east 
of Council Bluffs, where he built a sawmill and later a 
flouring mill. He remained at Macedonia in the milling 
business until 1803, when he came to Utah and located 
at. Manti. Here he formed a partnership with Mr. E. W. 
Fox and opened a general store under the firm name of 
Tuttle & Fox. This business continued successfully for 
about five years, when it was sold to the Co-op, Mr. 
Tuttle remaining in the employ of the latter company for 
several years. In 1875 the desire to go into business for 
himself again took possession of him, and in partnership 
with Harrison Edwards he embarked in a general mer- 
chandise and lumber business. This business grew rap- 
idly and a few years afterwards Mr. Turtle's two sons, 
Albert and Frank, were admitted to the firm, the per- 
sonnel of which is the same today with the exception 
that the interest of Albert Tuttle, who died in January, 
1895, is now held by his widow. 

Through the efforts of Mr. Tuttle, Sr., the firm has 
enlarged its business extensively and in 1891 erected one 
of the finest business blocks in southern Utah. The build- 
ing has a frontage of ninety-two feet, is sixty feet deep 
and two stories high, with an iron front. 

Luther T. Tuttle has long been one of the most 
prominent, figures in public life in Manti, having been 
twice elected Mayor of the city, several times member 
of the City Council and a member of the Territorial Legis- 
lature from Sanpete County for four terms. In church 
matters he takes a prominent part and is at present a 
member of the High Council of Sanpete Stake. In 1890 
he organized the Manti Savings Bank with a capital of 
325,000, which has since been increased to $50,000. He 
was unanimously chosen as president of the institution, 




GEO. P. BILLINGS, 
MANTI. 




JOEL. SHOMAKKi:. 
MANT1. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 195 

which position he has held since its organization. The 
other officers of the bank are as follows: Peter Dyreng, 
cashier; J. H. Carpenter, assistant cashier; James Craw- 
ford, William G. Crawford, Frank Tuttle and J. B. 
Maiben, directors. 

Besides his interests already mentioned, Mr. Tuttle 
is also extensively engaged in sheep raising, now being 
the owner of about 3500 head. He is also a. stockholder in 
the Co-op Boiler Mills. 

Mr. Tuttle was again married in 1850 to Lola. Haws, 
a sister of his f 01*111 er wife, and as issue of such marriage 
two sons and two daughters are now living, namely, 
Frank, Lilly, Louis and Ethella. 

1 /OOBHEES, ABTHUB P., dealer in sheep and cat- 
\J tie, son of Isaac and Eliza (Lewis), born in Manti 
June 6, 1857. He was reared to the occupation of 
a farmer and when about 20 years of age he began buy- 
ing and shipping cattle. He was quite successful, so he 
has followed it ever since. During the season of 1897 
he was engaged in buying and shipping" sheep for Henry 
Kearnes to A. J. Knollin & Co. of Kansas City and Chi- 
cago, and did a large amount of business. He also has 
about 3000 head of sheep of his own, a nice farm near 
town, and a fine residence east of the business center. 
Mr. Yoorhees is a good business man and an enterpris- 
ing citizen and stands well in the estimation of the peo- 
ple. He was married in Manti April 29, 1879, to Louisa, 
daughter of George P. and Edith Billings, born in Manti 
August 23, 1858. Their children are Eloise, Perry and 
Glenn, and Leonard and Balph, deceased. 

I /OKHEES, ISAAC, retired farmer, son of Elisha and 
\J Nancy Leek, was born in Cleamiont county, Ohio, 
.June 2, 1821. His parents joined the Mormon 
church in early days and emigrated to Utah in 1849, in 
Warren Snow's company. Isaac drove one Of the fifty 
teams and hunted when the company camped. He killed 
four wagon loads of buffalo in one day. Was an expert 
hunter, and made one trip for the Government from Fort 



190 HISTORY Of SANPETE COUNTY. 

Leavenworth, Kau., to Old Mexico, and one to New 
Mexico, freighting with six yoke of oxen, 00,000 pounds 
(in each wagon. He engaged in the charcoal business iu 
Salt Lake City, removed to this city in 1854, and followed 
farming and stock-raising, caring for his parents, who 
died here. During the Indian wars he was very active 
in guarding stock and chasing Indians, and losing stock 
by their depredations, lie was married in Manti, Jan- 
uary 10, 1855, to Eliza, daughter of David and Elizabeth 
Lewis, born in Wales, November 25, ls: J >8, died in Manti, 
October 13, 1885. Their living children are Elizabeth, 
wife <>f William Ellingford, Arthur P., Isaac D., Stephen 
L.. Esther, widow of Hial G. Bradford, and Franklin. 

1 /OKIIEES. STEPHEN L., stockraiser, son of Isaac 

\J and Eliza Lewis, was born in Manti June 25, 1801, 
where he was educated and reared a farmer. lie 
was a freighter to the mining districts of Utah and Ne- 
vada and engaged with his brothers in stockraising, later 
pun basing sheep. In 1805 he built a fine residence at a 
cost of about |2500, where he now resides. He con- 
ducted a meat market for two years and run a barber 
shop for some time. Being an excellent musician, lie 
was leader of the Sunday school choir for seven years 
and the Tabernacle choir for two years. A< the age of 
10 he joined a, local dramatic company and assisted very 
much in raising funds for building the Temple and Tab- 
ernacle. He w;is married in Salt Lake City November 
22, 188:5. to Eliza, daughter of William T. and Jane Mc- 
Ewan Keid, who was born in Parley's Canyon September 
22. 1862. They have four children: Blanche, Stephen 
and Jane E., living, William T. being dead. 



u/ 



ALKEK, JOHN, deceased, son of Henry and Bella, 
was born in Carlisle, England, in 1832. lie was a 
roof-slater ami when about 20 years of age joined 
the Mormon Church. Was married in (iraetna Green in 
1860 to Ellen MeSkelly, a native of England. His parents 
came to Utah in a handcart company, father dying on 
the road. In 18so he and familv came to Manti, where 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 197 

he assisted in building' the Temple and worked in it for 
several rears. He was an earnest church worker, an 
elder and a much respected citizen of the community. 
He died May 18, 1894. There are six living children: 
Bella, John, Nellie, Elizabeth, Mary and Agnes. 

I I /ESTENSKOW, HANS, farmer and musician, son of 
\XJ Ole and Mary, was born on the island of Falster, 
Denmark, September 17, 1835. His lather was a 
first-class musician and Hans studied under him for sev- 
eral years. The family are natural musicians and many 
of them are excellent performers. Hans was leader of 
the band in his native home many years and for live 
years was a music teacher, being considered very profi- 
cient on the violin, claronet, cornet, flute and bass vial. 
He joined the Mormon Church in 1*02 and in 1803 came 
to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox train under Capt. 
Sanders and arrived in Manti September 12, 1863. Was 
made leader of the Tabernacle choir and has followed 
music teaching most of his life. He owns a small farm 
and is a leading man in the Church, being a teacher, 
member of the Elders' quorum, one of the presidents of 
Seventies and a High Priest. Was married in Denmark 
October 18, 1860, to Karen Peterson. She died in Manti 
March 2, 1884. Her children are: Peter H., Mary, Han- 
nah, Hans, Caroline, Anna C, Magdalena, William H. 
and Sarah, living; Ole P., Louis H. and Maria, deceased. 
Second wife was Karen E. Hansen, born March 2, 1S32; 
married April 18, I860. She has three children: John, 
Jens P. and Margaret B. 

1 I ^ESTENSKOW, HANS, JP., a canyon worker, son of 
\XJ Hans and Karen, was born in Manti, March 8, 
1809. He was raised a farmer, but since he grew 
to manhood has been engaged in working in the can- 
yons, getting out. timber, lumber and wood. Was mar- 
ried in Manti temple, October 9, 1889, to Christena, 
daughter of Hans and Trena Anderson, born in Den- 
mark, August 5, 1870. They have four children, Christy, 
Orlando, Clarence and Wallace. 



198 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

I I /ESTENSKOW, PETER, of Manti, sou of Ole H. and 
VJL/ Mary (Hansen), was born in Ulslov, on the island of 
Ealster, Denmark, October 4, 1837. He learned the 
trade of shoemaker, joined the Mormon church in 1802 
and was a missionary about one year, when he joined 
the army; his country was at war with Germany, Austria 
and Prussia; he served six months and was in eight 
battles. In 1804 he emigrated to this country and located 
in Manti, where he has been engaged in farming, has a 
nice farm of sixty acres aud a comfortable residence in 
town. Mr. \V. is a natural musician; when seven years 
old he could play the violin and soon learned to play the 
cornet and flute. About twenty years he was a member 
of the Tabernacle choir and many years was iu the Sun- 
day school choir. He is president of the quorum of Sev- 
enties and head teacher of the South ward. Iu politics 
he is a Republican and in the fall of 189.") was elected 
member of the City Council. In 1805 he married Annie 
D., daughter of Ole and Anne Madsen. She died in 
Manti. Their children are: Anne M. Dorthea, Neils P., 
Eliza, Erastus, Joseph P., Jennie M. and Mary, Ole and 
Lewis deceased. His second wife. Anna Petersen, he 
married September 18, 1870. Their children are: An- 
netta, Andrew, Elice, Julius, Olivia and Mary. 

1 I fIXTCH, JACOB, farmer, son of Henry and Anna 
\XJ Burkhard, was born in Zurich, Switzerland, Janu- 
ary 1, is."), and emigrated with his parents to Lehi, 
Utah, in 1802. In 1865 the family removed to Richfield, 

remaining there till 1807, when they were driven out by 
Indians, and settled in Manti. He was raised a farmer 
and has always tilled the soil, owning a forty-acre tract 
and having a nice two-story brick residence iu the city. 
He is a director and treasurer of the Manti Co-op Sheep- 
herding and Woolgrowing Institution, and has served 
four years as Street Supervisor under the Republican 
administration. His wife, whom he married in the St. 
George Temple October 27, 1881, was Sophia Hansen. 
She died July 20, 18!>;$, leaving four children: Wilford 
J., Jessie, Nettie M., and Clara, living, Annie and Miran- 
da being dead. 



HISTORi* OF SANPETE COUNTY. 199 

I I /bDBKOW, JENS HAKSEN, Secretary of Monti C. 
\XJ M. I., born in the village of Wodskow, Denmark, 
November 20, 1834. He joined the Mormon Church 
1856, and spent seven years in missionary work in his 
native land. Came to Manti in 1864 and engaged in 
farming 'till 1880, when he entered the Co-op, as clerk, 
and in January, 1881, was appoined secretary, and is a 
stockholder in the institution. Is prominent in church 
matters. Has been counsellor to Bishop Eeed many 
years, always an active Sunday-school worker, and is the 
present Superintendent in the North School. Member 
of the City Council 1873, '74. He married in Denmark, 
January 8, 1862, Mary K. Christiansen, daughter of Jens 
P., and a native of Denmark. They had seven children, 
Malvina, Mary, Martha, Christine, James, Nettie and 
AVillet. Mr. Wodskow is still interested in farming, 
owning" considerable land near Manti. He is very quiet 
and unassuming in his business relations, preferring 
rather to let his actions speak, and is known in the com- 
munity as a man of true integrity and of sterling worth. 

I I /OUKS, EDWIN M., proprietor of the Manti Planing 
\XJ Mill, is a son of James Mr. and Phebe (Jones) Works, 
born in Manti December 28, 1861. James M. Works 
was one of the early settlers of Utah and stood high in 
the estimation of Brigham Young and the councils of the 
Mormon church. Ilis sister Meriam became the first 
wife of President Young. He was ordained patriarch in 
the church by President Young- and when the Deseret 
telegraph line was completed from Salt Lake to Manti 
the first message over the line was received by him from 
President Young. He tilled a mission to England, cross- 
ing the plains both ways on foot. He married in Salt 
Lake and afterward located in Manti, where he was quite 
prominent in church matters, and died July 24, 1889. 
Phebe (Jones) Works came across the plains in 1857 in 
a hand cart company and is still living with Edwin M. 

Our subject grew up in Manti and picked up the 
trade of a carpenter. In 1891 he built the Manti planing 
mill, where he is engaged in the manufacture of sash, 



200 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

doors, blinds, mouldings, etc. In 1S95 he bought a saw- 
mill in Six-Mile canyon about fifteen miles from Manti.' 
He was married in Salt Lake November 23, 1882, to Mar- 
garet M., daughter of Christian and Annie M. Munk, who 
died May 12, 1889, leaving him four children, Edwin P., 
James E., Jesse C. and Margaret (deceased.) He again 
married March 27, 1890 to Hannah O. Munk, sister of 
his first wife. One child, Edmund M., died aged five 
days. She died January 19, 1891. Mi Works is a pub- 
lic-spirited, enterprising man of the kind who build up a 
town. He stands well in the estimation of his fellow citi- 
zens, who have thrice elected him to represent them in 
the Citv Council. 




MAXTI PUBLIC SCHOOI 




MT. PLEASANT PUBLIC SCHOOL. 



MOUNT PLEASANT. 



AMOUNT PLEASANT, as the name implies, is situ- 
/ I I ated upon a pleasant elevation, near the center 
' * of the famous "Granary of Utah,'' twenty-five miles 
north of Manti and 100 miles south of Salt Lake City. 
The site was selected by the early pioneers of Sanpete 
county as the most delightful and commanding location 
for an important commercial metropolis, and its rapid 
growth and permanent development fully demonstrates 
that the locators were not deceived. In the early spring 
of 1852 a company of the veterans of '19, from Manti, 
camped upon the ground now included in Mt. Pleasant, 
and began the building of the "Queen City of Sanpete." 
The colonists were commanded by Madison D. Hamil- 
ton, who erected a saw mill and began to cut. lumber 
for building houses. In 1853 the Indians attacked the 
colonists and drove away some cattle. The colony was 
reinforced by militiamen from Utah county and assisted 
in harvesting their grain, when the settlement was 
abandoned. 

The Indians regarded this retreat as an indication 
of weakness on the part of their white foes, and rejoiced 
that the waters of Pleasant creek and the nutritious 
grasses of the broad meadows were to remain undis- 
turbed as the favorite hunting ground of the redmen of 
Central Utah. But, such a site could not be overlooked 
by meu in search of homes and desirous of founding a 
city where the natural facilities were everywhere pres- 
ent. Here the climate is tempered by the altitude and 
pleasant breeze, never too hot in summer nor too cold in 



204 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

winter, and the miasmatic germs of disease cannot exist 
in the pure ozonined atmosphere. The cool mountain 
water, fresh from the glaciers of perpetual snow, con- 
tain none of the impurities of less favored sub-humid 
lands, and the clear, bracing atmosphere make of life a 
continued round of pleasure and add to the cherished 
hope of longevity a thousand dazzling charms. When, 
therefore, the Indians were partially conquered and 
peace promised, a second attempt was made to colonize 
the chosen land of Mt. Pleasant. 

In the spring of 1851) a company was made up at 
Ephraim to colonize on Pleasant creek, and articles were 
signed by the boldest of the pioneers. Among those who 
possessed the courage necessary to enter upon the for- 
bidden land of the savages, w ere W . S. Seelv. Isaac 
Allred, David Jones, Nelson Tidwell, John Meyriek and 
James I vie, who with their families, led the pioneers to 
this chosen valley, and proceeded to erect houses upon 
the spot where the Indians had burned the first settle- 
ment. They worked by day and paced the sentinel posts 
by night, keeping a constant watch against an attack 
from the savages. Co-operation in its perfect simplicity 
marked every move and individual gains were forgotten 
in the combined effort at colonial comfort and general 
prosperity. The waters of Pleasant creek were trained 
upon the fields through union ditches, and the exceeding 
fertility of mother earth produced an abundance of veg- 
etables, cereals and grasses for nourishing and sustain- 
ing the colonists and their domestic animals. 

W A fort, was constructed the first season, and the 
colony was reinforced by Cyrus II. Wheelock and a com- 
pany from the northern counties. Schools and theatrical 
companies were organized and life was made as pleasant 
as possible during the long, severe winters, when cold 
and hunger supplemented by continued fear of an Indian 



A 




i: 



FERDINAND ER1 K3BN. 
MT. PLEASANT. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 205 

uprising were perpetual dangers the memories of which 
can never be forgotten by the most youthful partici- 
pants. The brave men and noble women composing the 
small band of original colonists had become inured to 
trials and were not strangers to poverty, hence entered 
upon their duties with a determination to succeed and an 
earnest desire to overcome all obstacles in the interest 
of homes and families. A miniature saw mill was erect- 
ed and logs cut for flooring and roofing for some houses, 
while the adobe and dugout, with earth and thatched 
roofs served as well as the modern brick mansion. The ( \ 
grain was ground in a small mill run by water power 
and all had the staff of life. 

Mt. Pleasant was the battle ground for which the 
Indians contended, and many engagements were had be- 
tween the militia and savages during the exciting years 
of the Black Hawk war. Men were ready for any emerg- 
ency and stood as the famous minute men of 1776, sub- 
ject to military orders day or night, to defend the colon- 
ists of Sanpete county. The city was incorporated Feb- 
ruary 20, 1808, and began to assume some importance, 
which however, was checked and its powers limited by 
the continuation of the war until 1872, when Gen. Mor- 
row made a treaty with the Utes, at this place, and peace 
was restored. Since then t he work of advancement ha s 
been phenomenal, and the accumulation of wealth has 
increased at a most remarkable pace. The many natural 
advantages have been utilized and health, wealth and 
prosperity crowned the efforts of those zealous patriots, 
who transformed the desert, into peaceful homes, beauti- 
ful fields and fruitful orchards, supplying nearly 3000 
inhabitants with the necessities and comforts of life. 

The municipal affairs have been wisely and econ- 
omically administered by competent men who have la- 
bored incessantly to make of the citv what her inhabi- 



206 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

tants justly claim, "The Queen City of Sanpete." The 
city has clean, broad streets; excellent water for culi- 
nary, domestic and irrigation purposes; splendid power 
for mills and factories; fine school houses and well-in- 
formed teachers; beautiful lawns and prolific orchards 
and gardens; elegant mansions, the homes of wealthy 
and energetic citizens; perfect electric light system; en- 
terprising and public-spirited business men, conducting 
complete mercantile houses; modern and well-equipped 
roller mills: first class hotels; well conducted newspa- 
per; solid and reliable banking institution; best market 
and mail facilities, furnished by a modern railway; well 
regulated lodges, representing the most prominent fra- 
ternal organizations; capable and competent attorneys, 
physicians and professional men; good churches and 
auxiliary societies; and all that goes to make up a com- 
mercial metropolis of a county like Sanpete. 

Irrigation being the first and most important invest- 
ment in making a colony in the arid western section of 
America, was not overlooked in colonizing Mt. Pleasant. 
The lands were apportioned and afterward entered as 
homesteads, and water was supplied by appropriations 
from Pleasant creek. The municipal authorities took the 
responsibility of controlling and distributing the water, 
which was done at a nominal annual expense of only 
ton cents an acre in the field and twenty-five cents for a 
similar area within the corporate limits of the city. Act- 
ing under the general Territorial law concerning cor- 
porations, passed in 1884, the Mater owners have since 
formed different incorporated companies to protect indi- 
vidual rights and control the water sources of the sup- 
ply. The capital stock of five irrigation companies in 
which the citizens of Mt. Pleasant are interested aggre- 
gate about $100,000, divided among the farmers. 

The Pleasant Creek Irrigation company was incor- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 207 

porated April 18, 1891, with a capital stock of $30,000. 
The Twin Creek Irrigation company, with a capitaliza- 
tion of $19,000, was incorporated on the same day, April 
j 8, 1891. The Moroni and Mr. Pleasant Irrigating: Ditch 
company, with headquarters at Moroni, but holding 
much stock of and furnishing water for Mt. Pleasant 
people, was incorporated June 20, 1893, with a capital 
stock of |30,000. The Coal Fork Ditch Irrigating com- 
pany, with a capital stock of $1100, was incorporated 
June 28, 1893. On February 6, 1S96, the Cedar Creek 
Reservoir company, with a capital of 815,000, was incor- 
porated. These companies are directed by some of the 
representative citizens and land owners, and the finan- 
cial affairs are therefore well handled and the expenses 
made as low as economical methods will permit. Oyer 
10,000 acres are under cultivation from these ditches and 
abundant crops are harvested. 

The co-operative method of doing business entered 
all the channels of trade, and in 1867 a co-op store was 
started, with a capital stock of $700. This institution 
flourished for years under the able direction of such men 
as W. S. Seeley, A. Madsen and C. N. Lund. From a 
small log hut the institution increased to an elegant bus- 
iness block, where a half dozen salesmen were kept busy 
in attending to the wants of customers. The mercantile 
business proving so successful, many individuals and in- 
corporated concerns entered the field, and today Mt. 
Pleasant has more first-class general stores than any city 
of similar size in the State of Utah. Nor has the in- 
crease in trade been confined to general stores, but has 
extended to all lines of business that a live, bustling city 
of 3000 people could reasonably demand. The air of bus- 
iness prosperity permeates the entire municipality and 
enterprise is a noted characteristic of the people. 

An index to the prosperity of a city is always shown 



20> HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

in the banking institutions, and when capitalists locate 
in Mt. Pleasant they find a solid financial depository in 
the Mt. Pleasant Commercial and Savings Bank. This 
company was incorporated in 1892 with a capital stock 
of (50,000. The depositors have steadily increased until 
they number hundreds, a good surplus is held in the 
vaults and the assets are most satisfactory to stockhold- 
ers and patrons. The directors are some of the most 
representative and enterprising citizens, and give the 
bank a rating for industry and accumulation when their 
names are coupled with its management. The officers 
are N. B. Xeilson, president; F. C. Jensen, vice president; 
O. F. Wall, cashier. Board of directors consists of N. S. 
Neilson, Ferdinand Ericksen, A. S. Xilson, J. E. Jen- 
nings, F. C. Jensen, R. Anderson, J. F. Jensen, N. P. Neil- 
son and Olof Bosenlof. 

The Mt. Pleasant Wool and Live Stock Commission 
company, was incorporated in 1893, and has some of the 
leading citizens and woolgrowers of the county as stock- 
holders. The company has handled immense quantities 
of avooI and sheepmen's supplies, bringing into Mt. Pleas- 
ant and Sanpete county thousands of dollars. The prime 
movers ami directorate were"*?!. . S. Xielson, J. II. Seely, 
F. C. Jensen, James Larsen, A. S. Nielsoir, P. Whitaker 
and W. D. Candland. Shipments of wool are made di- 
rect to Sr. Louis markets and the best prices are ob- 
tained for customers. A large frame warehouse on the 
line of the Pio Grande Western railroad, erectd by the 
company, is an indication of the prosperity which has 
followed its organization and wise management. The 
present, officials are: N. S. Xielson, president; J. H. See- 
ly. rice president; F. C. Jensen, secretary. 

Another equally representative and important wool 
shipping concern is the Union Wool and Live Stock 
Commission company, organized after the Mt. Pleasant 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 20 ( .» 

company. This company handles all that is implied in 
its name, with perfect satisfaction to its customers and 
stockholders. The concern is composed of reliable bus- 
iness men, interested in the success of the Queen City as 
the commercial center of Central Utah. The officers and 
directors are: Andrew Madsen, president; N. P. Neil- 
son, vice president; Neal M. Madsen, secrtary, with J. 
D. Page, Simon T. Beck and A. J. Aagard. This com- 
pany is not local in its dealings nor its official directory, 
but extends its business operations over Sanpete county 
and throughout Central and Southern Utah. 

One of the most prominent financial institutions 
characteristic of the enterprise of Mt. Pleasant citizens 
is the Sanpete County Co-op, a mercantile establishment 
of large dimensions, having probably the greatest vol- 
ume of business of any similar firm in the county. This 
company began a few years ago with small capital in a 
^ery insignificant building compared to the present com- 
modious structure. The affairs have been so wisely and 
economically handled that the business has grown to 
enormous proportions. From one clerk in a little room 
it has increased until a half dozen men are engaged in 
transacting the business. The capital employed is £15,- 
000, and a yearly aggregate of £20,000 constitute the 
sales. The present officials are: X. S., A. S. and H. S. 
Nilson, August Wall, S. C. Wall and C. G. P.jelke. 

When the railroad connected this city with the com- 
mercial world and new conditions prevailed in the gen- 
eral financial affairs of the municipality, several of the 
prominent citizens conceived the idea of lighting the 
streets, business blocks and dwelling houses with elec- 
tricity. The proposition met with a favorabl considera- 
tion and the work was completed by a company of finan- 
ciers composing the representative men of the place. 
Electric lights adorn the principal street crossings and 



210 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

illuminate the chief dwellings, business blocks and pub- 
lic places. The official directory of this company is as 
follows: R. Anderson, president; Peter Matson, secre- 
tary. 

The manufacture of furniture was begun several 
years ago by F. C. Jensen, who conducted a well ap- 
pointed furniture store until 189S, when a company was 
organized to continue the business which he had success- 
fully built up. The organization is known as the Consol- 
idated Furniture company, carrying a large stock of se- 
lected household goods and doing a large and profitable 
business. P. C. Jensen is president of the company and 
F. Clark, secretary and treasurer. 

The Union Mercantile company is a prominent con- 
cern, which in connection with dealing in general mer- 
chandise, conducts the Mt. Pleasant creamery. This firm 
does an extensive businss at home and abroad. The 
Queen City butter and cheese commands first class 
prices wherever exhibited. Ole Hansen manages the 
creamery and Neal M. Madsen the store, of which Peter 
Matson is secretary and treasurer. 

Some of the more prominent men of this city have 
been interested in mining in the several important dis- 
tricts of Utah and Nevada, and many have engaged in 
former days in freighting produce to the camps. One 
company recently organized here is known as the Modern 
Mining and Milling company, which operates at Cherry 
Creek, Nevada. The plan is to work the tailings of old 
mines and extract the ore lost by all processes, and so 
far the Work has been successful. James F. Jensen is 
president of the company, and Jonas Eriekson is man- 
ager. They with many others are interested in proper- 
ties in the Blue mountains and elsewhere and propose 
developing some rich claims, Hereby adding to the 
wealth of this city. Mining has not been prosecuted in 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 211 

the vicinity of this city very successfully, although the 
coal outcroppings show immense deposits of a fine qual- 
ity of fuel within a few miles of town. 

Being located in the center of Utah's granary, Mt. 
Pleasant is justly celebrated for the excellent quality of 
flour produced by her modem mills. The grain is grown 
in fertile fields, at an altitude of over o,Q00 feet, and by 
the practical application, of scientific irrigation the best 
wheat is produced. With thorough millers, improved 
machinery and all the necessary requisites for manufac- 
turing, none but the very best flour is placed upon the 
market. The Mt. Pleasant Mill Company, with N. S. 
Neilson, president; W. L>. Candland, secretary, and L. J. 
Jordan, treasurer, is one of the representative concerns 
of the city, and manufactures all kinds of mill products, 
besides giving a local cash market for wheat. The Queen 
City Holler Mill Company is an equally important and 
valuable business firm, consisting of the following repre- 
sentative officials: John IT. Seely, L. J. Jordan, John F. 
Fechser, manager. 

The almost inexhaustible coal fields lying within a 
few miles of this city have been partly developed and be- 
fore many years the supply will exceed the local demand 
and make of Mt. Pleasant, an important coal shipping 
point. With sufficient capital for development, there is 
no doubt that huge deposits of first-class coal could be 
uncovered within sight of the city. This would cheapen 
fuel, which is at present commanding most extraordinary 
low prices, ami the manufacturing plants for which the 
natural surroundings admirably fit. this city, could be 
readily introduced. An abundant water power is already 
obtainable through the efforts of municipal authorities 
in locating reservoir sites and increasing the supply of 
Pleasant Creek. The present manufacturing and power 



212 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

concerns, consisting- of saw and grist mills, creamery, 
electric light and flouring mills, do not exhaust the nat- 
ural power, which could be increased many fold if neces- 
sary. 

Mt. Pleasant is located near the primitive forests of 
the Wasatch mountains and numerous sawmills are util- 
ized in cutting timber for domestic and export purposes. 
In former days before the laws were so strict and rigidly 
enforced against timber cutting, no less than a score of 
mills were kept rutting continuously during the summer 
season in manufacturing lumber, lath, shingles and gen- 
eral building timbers. Many citizens find employment in 
logging and hauling timbers to the mills and the lumber 
and finished product to the home market. The numerous 
elegant mansions and commodious business blocks hare 
been constructed of home material and are perpetual 
monuments to the policy of Utah colonists in utilizing 
home resources and employing home laborers. Although 
the present city has been erected from native forests, the 
area is practically undiminished and the natural water- 
sheds remain to protect the winter snows against a time 
of necessity for irrigating the fields of the valley. 

The thrifty and industrious people of Mt Pleasant 
are chiefly en-aged in agricultural pursuits, having over 
10,000 aires of land under cultivation, and. raJ^in^L^min, 
iia^v_and_puta-kM>s. In early days the farms were practi- 
cally one co-operative field, but during the past few years 
individual holdings have been fenced and many small 
areas are devoted to modern intensive cultivation, yield- 
ing immense returns. Fruitgrowing and gardening were 
neglected for many years, under the delusion that the 
climate was noi suited to general horticulture, but the 
city is now filled with proline trees and vines and well- 
tilled and profitable gardens. Pee keeping has naturally 




JOHX H. SEELY 
MT. PLEASANT. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 213 

followed in the planting of fruit trees and the annual 
honey product aggregates thousands of pounds. Domes- 
tic fowls are kept on every farm and the agricultural in- 
dependence and prosperity is everywhere visible. 

The newspaper business in Mt. Pleasant is well rep- 
resented in the Pyramid, a weekly publication, issued 
every Thursday by the Pyramid Publishing Company, 
under the management of J. M. Boyden. This venture 
was started by A. B. Williams in November, 1890, and 
has continued to increase in usefulness as a public edu- 
cator since the first issue appeared. It is a non-partisan, 
strictly local newspaper and devoted to the upbuilding 
of the Queen City and the county of Sanpete. Tiie-Pyrii- 
mid is deserving of local patronage and- is an index to 
the push, vim and enterprise of the business interests of 
the city. Its plant is not extensive, but will grow with 
the financial development of the city and the amount of 
increasing publicity demanded by the ever vigilant and 
progressive managers of mercantile institutions. 

The political history of Mt. Pleasant differs from 
other settlements of Sanpete county in that there were 
more Liberal voters previous to the organization of the 
national parties. In the early days the People's Party- 
was practically alone and candidates elected without 
opposition. This caused the local Liberal organization 
to increase in numbers and strength until this city be- 
came the most prominent IJ^eral^municipality in central 
or southern Utah. In 1S91 the party lines were drawn 
throughout Utah, and M t. Pleasant soon elected Republi- 
can officials. At the last Presidential election the politi- 
cal situation changed throughout all of Utah and this 
city was no exception. Mt. Pleasant has furnished vari- 
ous county and State officials of both parties. Hon J D. 
Page ably represented the county and city in the Consti- 



214 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

tutional Convention, while Hon. W. D. Candland served 
as first State Senator from Sanpete. Hons. Ferdinand 
Ericksen, John Carter, James Burns, C. N. Lund and 
others have represented their parties in the capacity of 
county officials. 

The people of Mt. Pleasant are fond of amusements, 
and the opportunities for entertainment are not lacking. 
They have an excellent brass band with first-class musi- 
cians and a good orchestra, large, well-built pavilions 
and halls; a home dramatic company composed of the 
brightest and best talent. The city has a reputation far 
and near as the representative amusement place of south- 
ern Utah. Xor is this desire for mingling in mirthfulness 
and forgetting the cares of life confined to home patron- 
age, for the people attend all State and general gather- 
ings of a political, religious or social nature. 

In 1890 the Rio Grande AVestern railroad was com- 
pleted to Mt. Pleasant and this city put on the highway 
of commercial prosperity. New enterprises were opened, 
dormant natural resources developed and a cash market 
assured for all products of the farm and the herds and 
flocks in the mountains. From that date to the present 
financial advancement has been general, new modern 
residences have been erected, fine mercantile houses con- 
structed, the entire city lighted by electricity and a per- 
fect mountain metropolis created. The shipments of 
wool, sheep, cattle, lumber and grain from this place to 
outside markets aggregate many trainloads yearly and 
the cash returns divided among those interested pour 
into the Queen City a. volume of money sufficient to main- 
tain a city of double proportions. With unlimited re- 
sources and such energetic business men as Mt. Pleasant 
has, the future growth to a great commercial mart is 
but a question of time. 



HI8TORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 215 

Among the many natural facilities for developing 
manufacturing industries Mt. Pleasant has excellent clay 
for making brick, tiling and pottery. This fact has been 
fully demonstrated by the enter-prising firm of Mills 
Bros., who have established a yard two miles north of the 
city and are manufacturing first-class brick, which finds 
a market in every town of Sanpete Valley. The numer- 
ous analyses of soil and sugar beets grown in the city and 
vicinity proves conclusively that a sugar factory could 
be cun with certain success if located here in the midst 
of such excellent soil, water and climate peculiarly 
adapted to sugar beet culture. Mt. Pleasant is centrally 
located, with ample railroad facilities, cheap coal, unsur- 
passed water power, native raw material of every de- 
scription for conducting a tannery, boot and shoe fac- 
tory, wool scouring plant, woolen mills and other fac- 
tories, using the products of ranch and range, mountain 
and valley.- 

Mt. Pleasant has always been noted for its churches 
and representative religious societies, exerting a moraliz- 
ing and educational influence over the citizens. The 
Latter-day Saints erected a meeting-house and organized 
a ward when the first settlement was made, and have in- 
creased with the growth of the city until two wards are 
now necessary. C. N. Lund and Peter Matson are the 
presiding bishops and are well liked by their respective 
wards. Sunday schools are well conducted by efficient 
and earnest officials and teachers. The Mutual Improve- 
ment Associations, Relief Society and other church aux- 
iliaries are in a flourishing condition. Meetings are held 
regularly all the year round and many active mission- 
aries are away preaching the gospel in other lands. 
Numerous conferences are held in this city, indicating 
its importance not only as a business and commercial 



21G HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

center, but as a church gathering - place and city of enter- 
tainment. 

In 1875 Rev. D. J. McMillan delivered the first Pres- 
byterian sermon in Mr. Pleasant, using the Liberal Hall 
for holding services. He procured rhe use of the hall for 
a mission school and after making desks and benches, 
began a school April 20, 1875, with thirty-live pupils. A 
Sunday School was soon organized and January 11, 1SS0, 
the church organization was perfected. The present 
society has a good membership, a house of worship and 
active pastor in the person of Hugh H. McCreery. Since 
the organization of the church the following ministers 
have been assigned to Mt. Pleasant: lievs. William Will- 
son, J. H. Kyle mow United States Senator from Sourh 
Dakota). A. R. Crawford, E. N. Murphy and H. H. Mc- 
Creery. The Sunday school has always been an impor- 
tant assistant to the church and has an enrollment of 
about seventy-five pupils. Miss Ella C. Herron is the 
presenr superintendent and performs her duiies in a most 
creditable manner. 

The Wasatch Academy , under the direction of Prof. 
G. H. Marshall, now known as the most popular educa- 
tional institution in central Utah, is the natural out- 
growth of the mission school established in 1875. This 
elegant three-story brick structure was completed in 
1891, and has since been most appropriately furnished 
with library, music room, maps, charts and necessary 
equipments for a modern school. The academy is com 
ducted under the auspices of the Woman's Executive 
Committee of Home Missions of New York, and it was 
through their efforts, aided by energetic citizens of Mt. 
Pleasant, that the building was erected. A boarding 
department is conducted in connection with the academy 
and many young ladies from Utah and adjoining States 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 217 

are comfortably located in this girl's Lome every school 
year. 

The home is kept by matrons appointed by the board 
and the entire school equals in organization and educa- 
tional advantages any similar instituion in the State. 
The following- well-known ladies have occupied the posi- 
tion of matrons: Miss Crowell, Mrs. Murphy, Miss 
Mitchell, Mrs. Burnett and Mrs. Reed. During the past 
twenty-three years of success the following persons have 
been engaged as teachers: Rev. D. J. McMillan, Miss 
Snow, H. G. McMillan, Miss Sowles, Mrs. Wilcox, Misses 
Pierce, Fishback, Tubbs, Stayers, Crowell, Leonard, 
Kyle, Mrs. Crawford, Misses Gee, Beekman, McNair, Lar- 
sen, Prof. Geyer, Misses Osmonde, Miller, Mrs. Liddle, 
Misses Handley, McDonald, Prof. I. N. Smith, Misses 
Buchanan and Xielson, Prof. G. H. Marshall, Misses 
Cougle, Smith and Galbraith, Misses Hemenway, Herron 
and Allison. 

In 1883 P. A. H. Franklin, a minister of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church established a mission in Mt. 
Pleasant and began work among the Scandinavians. 
Hired halls were used for meeting purposes until 1886, 
when the present church edifice was erected. Eev. R. L. 
Steed of Illinois bgan mission work among the English- 
speaking people in 1889 and in 1897 the mission was con- 
solidated under one pastor. The following ministers 
have had charge of the mission: P. A. H. Franklin, Mar- 
tinins Nelson, C. J. Heckner, O. O. Twede, Emil E. Mork, 
X. L. Hansen of the Scandinavians and J. P. Morris R. 
L. Steed, Joseph Wilks, Charles McCoard, George P. Mil- 
ler, G. R. Graff and James D. Gillilan, the present incum- 
bent. Good Sunday schools and other church organiza- 
tions are maintained and Methodism has flourished as 
other churches. 



21 8 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNT V. 

Mt. Pleasant is the leading lodge city of Sanpete 
county, the representative societies having good lodge 
rooms aud excellent membership composed of the promi- 
nent citizens. The Mt. Pleasant Lodge No. 20, Indepen- 
dent Order of Odd Fellows, v\ aft organized a. few years 
ago with a fair membership, wkdch has increased until it 
is now one of the largest and most, important lodges in 
the county. Regular weekly meetings are held every 
Thursday evening in the I. O. O. F. Hall, and visiting 
members are always welcomed. J. H. Proctor is Noble 
Grand and A. P. Williams secretary. This was the pio- 
neer lodge of the county and until the organization of 
Temple City Lodge No. 23 at Manti had members located 
in all the surrounding settlements. The members exer- 
cise great care in selecting new applicants for admission, 
hence tin? order is composed of the best men interested 
in increasing the fraternal interests of the city. 

Mt. Pleasant Lodge No. 22, Ancient Order United 
Workmen, was organized w r ith a good membership a few 
years ago, and now contains many of the leading men of 
this city and neighboring towns. Regular meetings are 
held every week on Monday evenings. A. H. Maiben is 
Master Workman and L. B. Thompson secretary. This 
order lost an esteemed member in Sheriff James Burns, 
who was murdered while performing his duties, and its 
fraternal benefits were shown in the payment of a $2,000 
policy to his widow. Damascus Lodge No. 10, Free and 
Accepted Masons, organized in 1805, has regular com- 
munications at Masonic_HaJLon second and fourth Satur- 
days in each month. II. V. Cassiday is W. M. and A. G. 
Sutherland secretary. This order has members located 
throughout the county and numbers some of the most 
influential citizens. 

Court Queen City No. 8543, Ancient Order Foresters 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 219 

of America, was organized February 19, 1895, with twen- 
ty members. The Court flourished for a time, but finally 
surrendered its charter. The membership was composed 
of prominent young men of this city who desired to co- 
operate in the spirit of fraternalism, some now being 
members of other orders. The first officers were: H. R. 
McGraw, Chief Ranger; A. E. Scott, Sub-Chief Ranger; 
M. G. Rolph, Past Chief Ranger; Arthur Mc Arthur, Sen- 
ior Woodward; Brighani Lee, Junior Woodward; Daniel 
McNamara, Senior Beadle; Clarence Winters, Junior 
Beadle; G. W. Thomson, Secretary; Olof Olson, Treas- 
urer; C. W. Wigton, Moroni Seely and George Brandon, 
Trustees. 

The citizens of Mt. Pleasant have always been indus- 
triously engaged in every thing tending to educational 
advancement of their children and improvements in 
their buildings and the adoption of modern methods have 
been made as fast as circumstances would permit. In 
early days schools were taught in small houses, with few 
necessary paraphernalia, but the systems grew better as 
the people became more finanacially able to invest money 
in larger buildings. The present elegant and commodious 
central school building was erected in 1895 and equipped 
with all the modern apparatus. The school is well con- 
ducted under the direction of an able and efficient board 
of trustees. The teachers for 1S98 are as follows: D. C. 
Jensen, principal; C. W. Sorenson, R. W. Livingston, C. 
J. Jensen, O. C. Anderson, Lydia Candland and Jennie 
Jorgensen. C. N. Lund, Jr., teaches the Mountainville 
school. 

The pioneers of Mt. Pleasant were active partici- 
pants in the Black Hawk war, suffering much from In- 
dian depredations and leaving their homes when duty 
demanded, to protect other settlements in the county. 



220 HISTOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

A spirit of patriotism and loyalty was instilled in the 
minds of the youths, and when any military duties have 
been required young men have willingly enlisted in the 
service of the State and Nation. This city had at one 
time one of the best trained and neatest equipped com- 
panies of the National Guard of Utah, under command 
of Capt. Thomas Bra by, and the city was honored by the 
election of Major Ferdinand Ericksen as a member of 
the Governor's staff. The company was finally disband- 
ed on account of general apathy of State officials in not 
making sufficient appropriations to sustain the militia. 
When President William McKinley issued a call for vol- 
unteers in the war with Spain for the independence of 
Cuba, several patriots entered the service. 

On the evening of J uly 25 ^1&US, the citizens of Mt. 
Pleasant experienced the first disastrous conflagation in 
the history of this city. Fire was discovered about 1 
o'clock in the morning in the barber shop belonging to 
(_'. E. Hampshire. The fire alarm was sounded, the en- 
gine brought out and scores of volunteers formed a 
bucket brigade, performing most heroic deeds of brav- 
ery. The buildings were principally frame and being- 
built almost solid, the fire could not be stopped until a 
half block of the business houses was burned and a loss 
of nearly £50,000 sustained by those doing business in 
the fire-swept district. About one-third of the loss was 
covered by insurance in representative companies. An 
evidence of enterprise characteristic of the people, was 
the speedy work of rebuilding, for scarcely had the 
smoke cleared away from the blackened debris, before 
contracts were let for the construction of larger and bet- 
ter buildings on the sites where old ones had formerly 
served their purposes. 

A list of those whose places of business were de- 
stroyed by the tire fiend is given herewith. The firm of 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 221 

Kofford & Johnson, one of the representative mercantile 
houses, lost a stock of merchandise, valued at $10,000, 
and sustained damages on the building to the value of 
$2000. The insurance carried by this linn amounted to 
§3000. Neilson-Olsen company lost merchandise worth 
£5000, and had insurance for §2000. The Equitable Co-op 
Store building, loss §5000, insured for $2000. New York 
Cash Store lost merchandise to the value of §4000 and 
carried insurance for §2000. Maiben & Aldrich had a 
neat, well-stocked drug store, which was destroyed with 
most of the stock, the firm losing S3000; insurance car- 
ried was §1500. M. C. Kroll lost everything, including 
his store and bakery, with the building, amounting to 
§2000. He had no insurance. A. Lundberg lost his den- 
tist's and jeweler's tools, together with residence and 
household effects, valued at §2000. He had no insurance. 
M. G. Rolph lost his buildings, cigar factory and inter- 
est in the New State Portrait company, valued at §5000, 
upon which he carried only §1000 insurance. Dr. S. H. 
Allen lost a store building worth §2000, with no insur- 
ance. 

The postoffice was destroyed, the postmaster, John 
Ericksen, losing fixtures to the value of §500. The safe 
held its contents intact, but the heat ruined §400 in post- 
age stamps. C. E. Hampshire, the barber in whose shop 
the fire was first noticed, lost §500, with no insurance. 
Dr. H. P. Morrey lost his office fixtures and professional 
instruments, valued at §300, with no insurance. Dr. C. 
McGougan lost dentist's tools and office furniture to the 
value of §300. He had no insurance. J. C. Barton lost 
barber shop and fixtures worth §200, with no insurance. 
Hyrum Hansen lost his shoemakers tools and a little 
variety stock, valued at $75. He had no insurance. 
Carl Kroll lost shoemakers outfit worth 850, with no 
insurance. 



222 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

The Masonic, Odd Fellows, Workmen and Woodmen 
societies lost their consolidated hall and furniture, with 
paraphernalia and regalia. The Workmen and Odd Fel- 
lows carried insurance to the value of §450, while the 
other orders were not insured. Several individuals and 
tlrms suffered much from removing goods to the street. 
The Consolidated Furniture company, Ash & Co., The 
Pyramid and E. Andersefi lost more or less in damages 
sustained from hasty removal of property. Window 
glass was melted and broken by the heat in buildings 
en the opposite side of the street, and it was only through 
the bravery and earnest labors of men and women that 
many other business houses and residences were not 
burned. The fire resulted in creating renewed energies 
for waterworks, better police service and more strict en- 
forcement of city ordinances. Better buildings are being 
erected and the burned district has resumed its former 
air of business prosperity. 

The present city officials are: 

Mayor — Ferdinand Ericksen. 

Councillors — James Larsen, William Olson, C. W. 
Sorensen, George H. Marshall, Rasmus Anderson. 

Recorder — J. C. Jensen. 

Marshal — Joseph Monsen. 

Treasurer — Mrs. Candace B. Wilcox. 

Justice of the Peace — Andrew Neilson. 

Poundkeeper — Lars Arnoldsen. 

Street Supervisor — Amasa Erecksen. 

Sexton — M. F. Rosenborg. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF MOUNT PLEASANT. 



QLDRICH, MARTIN, wool grower, sou of Levi and 
M Louisa, was born in Worcester, Mass., December 
f 31, 1834. The family came to Utah in '52 and lo- 
cated at Pleasant Grove. In the spring of '59 Martin 
with his mother and two sisters came to Mt Pleasant. 
He assisted in building the fort and lived in it for a 
time. Was an active minute man during the Black 
Hawk war and in several engagements with Indians. He 
was brought up a fanner and followed that business for 
several years. In '88 he engaged in woolgrowing and 
has been very successful. Was married in Mt. Pleasant 
to Hannah Matson, a native of Denmark. She crossed 
the plains with her parents in a hand cart company. 
They have seven children: Amasa, Alanson, Leonora, 
Victoria, Lyman, Orange and Myron. Mr. Aldrich is fol- 
lowing the mining business at present, and was one of 
the delegates to the Mining Congress held in Salt Lake 
City. His son Lyman owns half interest in the leading- 
drug store of Mt. Pleasant. 

f\ LLEX, SAMUEL, retired farmer, son of William and 
r\ Anna Lord, was born in Ratliffe, Lancashire, Eng- 
' land, May 29, 1829. He worked at mining and 

farming till '53, when he emigrated to Utah, crossing 
the plains in an ox train under Capt. Cyrus Wheelock, 
arriving in Salt Lake City, October 6, 1853. Resided in 
the city two years and removed to Provo, thence to Mt. 
Pleasant in '59, where he has followed farming till '93, 
when he sold out and retired. Being one of the first 
settlers, he assisted in building the fort and took part in 
the Black Hawk war. About. '62 he was called on a 
mission to assist in settling Circle Valley, where he went 
and helped build the town of Marysvale, from which 
tliev were driven awav bv Indians. His wife was a 



224 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

widow, Harriet West, with two children: Elizabeth and 
Thomas. They were married in Salt Lake City, August 
15, 1854, and had eight children: Caroline, deceased, wife 
of James Reynolds; Harriet M., wife of A. Winters; 
Sarah H., deceased, wife of Joseph Seely; Eosella and 
Willie, deceased, and Martha A., wife of Sylyester Bar- 
ton, and Samuel H., physician in Prove, and Mary, wife 
of Ben Hansen. 

n LMEBTZ, PETER, gardener, was born in Sweden, 
M August 16, 1842. At the age of 12 he learned to be 
r a musician and served at that until he was 18, then 

became a gardener. In '74 he came to Mt. Pleasant, built 
a residence and engaged in gardening and teaching pu- 
pils on the violin. Was married in Mt. Pleasant, March 
15, 1875, to Mary, daughter of Andrew and Martha An- 
derson, born in Denmark, September 25, 1840. Her 
parents fame to Mt. Pleasant in '60, being among the 
early settlers. 

f\ NDERSON, C. W.j woolgrower, son of Xils and 
M Lonesa, was born in Sweden, November 12, 1843. 
/ The family joined the Mormon church in '53 and 
came to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Guyman's 
company, locating in Brighani City. In '58 they removed 
to Ephraim, where his father was one of the first twenty- 
two agreeing to locate in Mt. Pleasant. The family, con- 
sisting of parents and son C. W., arrived here in March, 
1859, building a fort with a few others. His father drew 
a twenty acre tract and built the third adobe bouse in 
town. They lived there for nearly thirty years. Father 
died in '85, mother in '83. He engaged in farming and 
now has about 165 acres. In company with Andrew 
Madsen he went into the cattle and sheep business, they 
being in partnership several years. They were in the 
Union Mercantile Co. business two years, and now own 
the large building and pavilion near by. He owns about 
3,500 slice]). Was Road Supervisor one year. Assisted in 
organizing the Union Wool and Live-stock Commission 
company, in which he was a director, and the Union 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 225 

Mercantile Company. Was one of Hie originators of the 
Twin Creek Irrigation Company. His first wife, whom 
lie married in Mt. Pleasant March 8, 1864, was Margaret 
daughter of Jens and Hannah Thompson, bom inDen- 
mark. They had one child, William M., deceased. Wife 
died April 12, 1875, and he married again, April 23, 1879 
to Johanna Pearson. They have one child, NeilsonW. 

A XDERSOX, O. C\, teacher, fourth grade, Mt Pleasant 
r\ public schools, son of C. J. and Louise Larson, was 
# born in Mt Pleasant in 1870. His father was quite 
a prominent man in the Mormon church. He died Sep- 
tember 21, 1895, mother died November S, 1871. O C 
attended the public schools of this city and took an acad- 
emic course in the B. Y. Academy at Provo. Has taught 
m Mt. Pleasant most all the time since graduation. He 
also studied music and is an instructor in vocal and in- 
strumental music. Is an active member of the Y. M 
M. I. A. and the Elder's quorum. Was Citv Recorder 
one term. Married in Manti February 10, 1892, to \n- 
me M., daughter of Lars and Stena Ericksen, born in Mt 
Pleasant February 9, 1872. They have three children:' 

, -f^'. b0rn July 14 ' 1S93; Christina L., July 11, 1895, 
and W ilham O., June 26, 1S97. 

H VRETT, CHARLES W., farmer and lumberman, son 
r\ <>1 Juththan and Polly J., was born in Perry county 
1 Alabama, July 13, 1836. In '62 the family came to 
L tah and located in Salt Lake City. In '60 thev removed 
to Sprmgville, where Charles assisted in constructing a 
threshing machine, which he ran there, and in the fall 
of 61 he brought it to Mt. Pleasant. He served in the 
Black Hawk war and was in manv skirmishes. His first 
wife was Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph and Ann Coates 
J hey were married February 24, 1862, and had nine chil- 
dren living: Charles W., William, John, Frank, James, 
r Q o me ' **??' Emma and Delia. His wife died April 25, 
l»yi, and he was married again October 1, 1891, to Em- 
u> ( notes, a widow, daughter of William and Elizabeth, 
born in Nashville, Iowa. 



226 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

BARTON, SYLVESTER A., fanner, son of John and 
Susanna, was born in Bountiful, Utah, December 
25, 1852. His parents came from Nauvoo, 111., 
about '49, locating in Bountiful; and when the settle- 
ment of Mt. Pleasant was made, they came here, where 
they died in '87. He was brought up a farmer and now 
owns about forty acres and a comfortable residence in 
the city. He is a stockholder and director in the Mt. 
Pleasant Creamery company. His wife was Martha, 
daughter of Samuel and Harriet Allen, born in Eph- 
raim, March 3, 1860. They were married in Mt. Pleas- 
ant, November 30, 1877, and have had nine children: 
Sarah A., Ada A., Lucile and Hugh M., living; Samuel 
B., Harriet S., Perry E., Marrill A., and John S., de- 
ceased. 

BEAUMAN, HAROLD C, general agent, son of Har- 
old C. and Ella, was born in Mt. Pleasant, Septem- 
ber 20, 1863. His parents emigrated from Denmark 
in '62 and located in Mt. Pleasant, where they now re- 
side. He worked on the farm and attended the schools 
of this city. In '86 was appointed postmaster, which 
position he held for six years. Was City Treasurer four 
years, County Treasurer two years and elected a mem- 
ber of the City Council in '95. He assisted in organiz- 
ing the Mt. Pleasant bank. Now owns a iifty-six acre 
farm. Is agent for the Royal and Continental Fire In- 
surance companies, and the Pioneer and Davis county 
nurseries. Also loans money. Was married in Mt. 
Pleasant, September 20, 1892, to Anne, daughter of 
Henry and Kate De Graff, born in Salt Lake City, Sep- 
tember 30, 1870. They have had two dhildren: Harold 
\Y., born Februarv 3, i894, died September 22, 1894, and 
ttuth F., born October 15, 1895. 

BF.CK, HANS C. H., farmer, son of Peter H. and 
Maria, was born in Denmark, May 12, 1839. The 
family came to Utah in '54, locating at Ephraim, 
where he took part in the Walker war as a Lieutenant, 
and assisted in building the fort. His father removed 
10 Kansas, thence to Wisconsin, where he died, his 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 227 

mother dying in Kansas. He came to Mt. Pleasant April 
12, 1859, and built the first house in the town, one block 
south and two blocks east of the bank; also assisted in 
building the fort. In '65 he was called on a mission to 
help build up Circle Valley, where he remained two 
years, when Indians broke up the settlement and he re- 
turned. In '72 he moved to what is now Chester, and 
built the first house there. He was president of the 
Chester Irrigation company. He returned to this city 
in 1SS9 and erected his present nice residence. His wife, 
whom he married in Ephraim, was Maria Easmussen. 
They had five children: Joseph, Mena, Frederick M., Ish- 
niael and Carrie. She died in Chester, July 7, 18SS. 

Second wife was Mary Olsen, married in Salt Lake 
City in 1S58. Their children are: Andrew M., Mary I., 
Christian, Herman, Olivia and Cecil, living; Myra and 
Daniel W., deceased. 

BJELKE, CARL G., retired shoemaker, son of Niels 
and Catherine, was born in Sweden, December 13, 
1823. He learned the trade of a shoemaker; joined 
the Mormon church in '57 and emigrated to Utah in '51, 
crossing the plains in an ox train under Capt. Murdock. 
After residing one year in Salt Lake City, he came to 
Mt Pleasant in '62, and worked at his trade and on the 
farm. He built a shop and did quite a business, employ- 
ing two to three men at the bench. Was one of the 
original stockholders in the Sanpete County Co-op, one 
of the largest institutions in the county, and still re- 
tains an interest. He retired from the shoe business in 
'89. His wife was Maria, daughter of Karl and Cather- 
iDe Wall, born in Sweden. They were married in Mt. 
Pleasant in '63 and have three children: Emma, Axtell 
and Oscar. 

BORG, JAMES, harnessmaker, of the firm of Clemen- 
sen & P»org, was born in Sweden September 26, 
1852. The family joined the Mormon church ard 
mother and son Lars came to Mt. Pleasant in '61. Ir '62 
James and sister Hannah came, the others following. 



228 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Father died here April 12, 1875, mother March 10, 1878. 
His father was a harnessinaker and James learned the 
trade. Wm a freighter to the mining towns of Nevada 
for several rears, then bought a small ranch southwest 
of the city, where he lived for ten veal's. He is the only 
one of the family left in this country. Is a member of 
the Mormon church. Was married in Salt Lake City- 
September 21, 1882, to Sarah, daughter of Jens and Chris- 
tina Jorgensen, born in Mt. Pleasant September 11, 1859. 
Her parents were among the early settlers of Mt. Pleas- 
ant. Thev have three children: Georaiana, born June 22, 
1883: Mabel G., July 30, 1885, and Perry K., May 11, 1888. 

BRABY, THOMAS, wwlgrower, son of Edward and 
Ann, was born in Sussex county, England, January 
10. 1864. The family came to Utah in '75, where 
they still reside. In September, 1870, he came to Mt. 
Plea.sant with L. J. Jordan; was with him five years as a 
herder, then was foreman over sheeyj herders for John H. 
Seely for six years. After this he engaged in business for 
himself and has been quite successful. Is a stockholder 
in the Nephi Woolgrowers" Association. Is Past Master 
of the A. O. U. W. and Past Xoble Grand in the I. O. O. 
F. Was City Marshal four years and precinct Constable 
six years. Was also Captsiin Company C, National 
Guard of Utah for three years. He was married in Salt 
Lake City September 20. 1887. to Eliza, daughter of Wil- 
liam and Mary A. Keddington. born in Salt Lake Oity 
December 14, 1866. They have five children: Annie E., 
Thomas E.. < >rson A.. Kobert T£. and Iva P. 

BRANDON, WILFORD W., farmer, son of George W. 
and Keziah Fowler, was born in Henry county, Ten- 
iic?-s<v. July 10, 1837. The family joined the Mor- 
mon church about 1834, afterwards amoving to Hancock 
county, Illinois, residing there till the Mormons were 
drfrren out, thence to Kanesville and in "52 mother, then a 
widow, and seven children came to Utah in ("apt. Honry 
Millers company and located at Prove. They removed 
to Centerville and mother nnallv became a resident of 




JAMES LARSEN. 
MT. PLEASANT. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 22V> 

Salt Lake City, where she now lives. Wilford went out 
to meet Johnston's army when it came to Utah, worked 
one year at Fort Bridger and came to Pleasant Grove, 
where he resided till '61, when he removed to Mt Pleas- 
ant and assisted in building- the second fort. Was through 
the Black Hawk war, being* one of the minutemen under 
Col. Ivie, and was in two engagements with Indians. He 
bought a small farm and now owns fourteen acres and a 
residence in the city. Was engaged many years in get- 
ting out timber from the canyons; served as City Marshal 
and was deputy United States Marshal two years. Was 
married in Pleasant Grove to Margaretta, daughter of 
Elisha and Annie Pickel Wilcox. They have eight living 
children: Annie, Keziah, Wilford W., Elisha, George, 
Thomas, Miner and Eveline. 

BROWN, HANS J., farmer, son of George and Mary, 
was born in Denmark July 1, 1838. His father died 
in Denmark and with his. mother he emigrated to 
Utah in '62, crossing the plains in an ox-train under 
Capt. Murdock, locating at Mt. Pleasant. He threshed 
grain with a flail in the winters and made adobes in sum- 
mers for several years, finally buying a farm, now owning 
about 100 acres. Is a stockholder in the Fairview Co-op 
store, the new roller mills, the Co-op Sheepherding Insti- 
tution and vice-president of the Twin Creek and City 
Creek Reservoir Company. He was head watermaster for 
fifteen years for City Creek, member of the City Council 
in ? 9o and served as City Marshal. Is one of the presi- 
dents of the sixty-sixth quorum of Seventies and presi- 
dent of his church district. Was a traveling elder in Den- 
mark for four and a half years after joining the church 
in T>7 and took an active part in the Indian Avars after 
coming here, serving as Lieutenant in the home militia. 
Mr. Brown was one of the leading- pioneers, taking an 
active part in building the fort prior the Indian war, and 
the different enterprises, lending - his services to assist 
and benefit the interests and welfare of the city when- 
ever it was necessary. His first wife was Anna, daughter 
of Amelias and Bodel Peterson Nielsen, born in Den- 



230 HISTORY 01 SANPETE COUNTY. 

mark May 20, 1839. They were married April 13, 1862, 
while crossing the ocean. The second wife was Anna C. 
Larsen of Denmark, She has had eight children: Anna 
D., Hans G., Eliza C, Elinora, Andrew M. and Joseph, 
living; Caroline C. and Mary, deceased. 

/TNAIIOON, ANDREW A., wool grower and shipper, son 
\ of Andrew Cahoon and Margaret Carruth Cahoon, 
was born in Murray (then called South Cotton- 
wood), Utah, September 11, 1853. His father was a bishop 
in the Mormon church, of which he was an early member. 
Parents now reside in Murray. He was raised on a farm, 
but at the age of 18 entered the employ of Jonas Erekson 
on stock ranch, then an extensive cattleman, where he 
worked for ten years. In August, 1882, he removed to 
Mt. Pleasant, being then engaged in the sheep business 
and handling about G,000 head. In ,( J1 he sold out fcnd 
has since been much interested in developing mines in 
various sections of Utah. The company with which he 
is connected has a ten-stamp mill on the Gold Queen 
property in the Blue Mountain district. He is a charter 
member of the A. (). U. W. and was school trustee for 
three years when plans were selected for the large new 
school building. Married in Murray February 25, 18S0, 
to Mary A., daughter of Jonas and Mary Erekson, born 
in Murray, November 2, 1857. They have four living chil- 
dren: Lenard, Shirley, A'era and Hallie; Joy, deceased. 

/TJANDLAND, HON. W. D., of Mt. Pleasant, is a son of 
V David and Hannah (Wright) Candland, born iu Salt 
Lake City August 22, 1858. In 1801 the family 
came to Mt. Pleasant, where mu* subject attended the 
city schools. Having his own way to make, he taught 
school for a. time and also worked as surveyor on the rail- 
road. He soon saved money enough to purchase a small 
band of sheep, and securing a few more on shares, he em- 
barked in business for himself. He is naturally a shrewd 
and capable business man and enterprising citizen and 
when any project is launched which helps build up the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. Z6L 

city he is a leader. He helped organize the Mr. Pleasant 
Wool and Live Stock Commission Company, of which he 
is a director and was for a time secretary. He also was 
one of the organizers of the Electric Light Company, of 
which he was a director and secretary and is still a stock- 
holder. He is also a stockholder and secretary in the Mt. 
Pleasant Milling Company. In politics Mr. Candland is 
also a great worker. He was one of those who early saw 
the old Liberal and People's parties had accomplished 
their object and the necessity of a division on national 
party lines. He was the first man to act in organizing 
the Republican party in Mt. Pleasant in 1891 by making 
a personal canvass of the cits- and was for many years 
chairman of the party. Many thought the action prema- 
ture and only eleven members were secured, the others 
gradually failing into line until the party is now in the 
majority and usually elect their candidates at the polls. 
Mr. C. has been a delegate to many of the county and 
State conventions and in the fall of 1890 was elected 
Recorder of Sanpete county, which office he held two and 
a half years. lie was a member of the City Council four 
years and was the first State Senator from Sanpete 
county, being elected in the fall of 1895. He is a charter 
member of Mt. Pleasant Lodge of A. O. U. W. When our 
subject wus about 18 years of age the family moved to 
Chester, where he married February 14, 1881, Miss An- 
nie daughter of Peter M. and Christiana (Folkman) Peel, 
who is a native of Mt. Pleasant, born December 5, 18G0. 
Their children are: Winifred, Royal, Maggie and Guy. 
Iii 1888 Mi-. Candland moved back to Mt. P'leasant. 

fpAHTEK, HON. JOHN, ex-SherilT Sanpete county and 
x ex-Mayor <>f Mt. Pleasant, son of John and Ellen 
Jackson, was born in Preston, Lancashire, Eng- 
land. January 1M;. 1817. Father died when he was three 
weeks old and the family, consisting of mother, her 
brother and parents, came to Utah in 1856, crossing the 
plains in a handcart company under Edward Martin. 
This company endured many hardships, many starving. 



232 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

John's grandparents both dying. They arrived in Salt 
Lake City December, 1850, moving to Pleasant Grove, 
which he and Ms mother left in 1850 and came to Mt. 
Pleasant, his mother being married to Bishop \V. B. 
Seely. They were among the tirst settlers, living in a log 
cabin inside the fort John worked at. farming and cabi- 
net making, taking an active part in the Black Hawk war 
as one of the minute company. At the age of 10 he drove 
an ox team to Florence, Neb., for emigrants and mer- 
chandise. He secured a farm and followed that work, 
new owning 100 acres and a comfortable residence. In 
18S0 ho performed a mission to Georgia. Has served as 
Constable, City Marshal and member of the City Council. 
In 1890 Avas elected Mayor, serving one term. Was ap- 
pointed Sheriff in '04. elected in ? 95 and served two years. 
Served as County Selectman for several years. His wife 
was Almeda J., daughter of W. P. and Urania McArthur, 
born in Ft. Madison October 20, 1847. They were mar- 
ried in Mt. Pleasant March 10, 1808, and have nine chil- 
dren: John P., Ella ()., Charles B., Abbie C. Louisa, 
Mary, Authneal, Parlen and Almeda M. 

/QH1USTEXSEN, JACOB, son of Christian and Mary, 
V^ was born in Denmark, September 21, 1827. He 
joined the Mormon church in his native land 
February 30, 1S,~>::, and was a. traveling elder for two 
years. In 1857 he emigrated to the United Stales and 
resided iu Omaha, for hvo years, then crossed the plains 
with his wife, their oik- child dying on the way, ami lo- 
cated at Mt. Pleasant, among the tirst settlers in the 
fall of 1850. lie now owns a nice farm north of Mt. 
Pleasant and is president of the high priests' quorum. 
Took an active part in the Black Hawk war, being a 
Captain of company A, Mt. Pleasant militia, and was in 
several engagements with Indians. He has always been 
a prominent man and much respected in the community. 
Was married in Denmark to Inger C. Thompson, who 
died in Mt. Pleasant. May 20, 1888, leaving three living- 
children: Jens C, Mary and Thomas M., ami three de- 
ceased: Thomas C, Jacob and Christian. His second 



HISTOltY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 2dd 

wife was Ingabor Christiansen. She has five living chil- 
dren: Stena, Christy, Diantha, Marie and Lena; Joseph 
and Andrew, deceased. The third wife was Anna C. 
Marborg, born in Sweden March 2, 1850. She has six 
living children: Hannah, John C, Henry, Grace, Sadie 
and Hvrum, with John C. and Jacob, deceased. 

/TNHRISTENSEX, J. G., teacher, son of Emanuel and 
\T Minnie, was born in Denmark February 24, 1806. 
In 1873 the family emigrated to Utah, stopping in 
Brigkani City, then removing to Mt. Pleasant, where 
mother died January 28, 1871. Father died April 8, 1898, 
So years of age. J. G. attended the district schools, then 
entered the B. Y. Academy at Provo, graduating in two 
years. He then taught school in this city, being princi- 
pal of the Sanpete Stake Academy for several years. In 
May, 189G, he went on a mission to Copenhagen. Was a 
member of the City Council two years and County Treas- 
urer two years. lias served as superintendent of the 
Sunday school of Sanpete county. Was secretary and 
treasurer of the Union Mercantile Company, which he 
assisted in organizing. Was married in Mt. Pleasant 
December 31, 1800, to Dorthea. M., daughter of Peter and 
Dorthea M. Monson, born in Mt. Pleasant July 23, 1865. 
They have two children: Ethelinda and George Q. 

iQLAKK, FERDINAND, of the Consolidated Furniture 
\. Company, son of Otto C. F. and Abigail Larsen, was 
born in Denmark January 23, 1851). He and his 
mother came to Utah in '73, stopping for a time in Brig- 
ham City, and locating in Mt. Pleasant in '73. He learned 
the trade of painter, which work he followed seYeral 
years. In '92 the linn of Clark, Johanson & Co. was 
formed for handling furniture and in '1)5 the name was 
changed to the present one, of which he is secretary, 
treasurer and manager. They carry a good stock of 
about $3,000 and do a successful business in furniture, 
wall paper, carpets, paints, oils, glass and toys. Ferdi- 
nand lias been Citv Justice two terms and was elected a 



234 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

member of the City Council in '95. Is a Mormon and very 
active iu church work, having been superintendent of the 
Sunday school two years, on a mission in Minnesota one 
year and was president of the Young: Men's Mutual Im- 
provement Association some years ago. Is one of the 
presidents of the sixty-sixth quorum of Seventies. His 
wife was Hannah C, daughter of James C. and Harbro 
Christensen, born in Mt. Pleasant April 27, 18(53. They 
were married in Mt. Pleasant October 1, 1880, and have 
had eight children: Iiosina. A., Otto F., Daniel TV., Myr- 
tle and Alonzo, living; Hannah C, Hazel and Heber, de- 
ceased. 

/QLAPK, OPRIN, expressman, son of Joseph and Phy- 
Vy linda Carpenter, was born in Chautauqua county, 
X. Y., November 7, 1833. His parents joined the 
Mormon church in early days and lived in the different 
Mormon settlements in Ohio and Illinois. In '51 they re- 
moved to Pleasant Grove, Utah, where mother died in 
'54, father in '67. Orrin came to Mt. Pleasant in '59 and 
resided in the fort. Was active in the Black Hawk war. 
In '65 he removed to Kanab to assist in settling that sec- 
tion. He remained there one year, being captain of a 
company, and having many exciting experiences with the 
Indians. Ke turned to Mt. Pleasant, in '67 and for many 
years has run an express and dray wagon. He also owns 
120 acres of hay land. Was married in Pleasant Grove 
in '59 to Sarah Gilson. They have nine children: Phylin- 
da, Joseph, Sarah E., Martha, William, Ella, Bird, An- 
nette and Ad die. 

g)LEMEXSEX, OLE X., harnessniaker, of the firm of 
\^ Olemensen & Borg, son of Ole X. and Annie, was 
born in Mt. Pleasant September 22, 1863, His par- 
ents came here in 1862, father died August 25, 1863, 
mother still living. The family consisted of parents and 
three sons and two daughters: George M., Ole N. and 
Melvina Crane, residing here; Newton, E., Presbyterian 
minister at Logan, and Xephena, wife of E. B. Kelsey, 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 235 

Salt Lake City. Ole N. learned the harness trade at the 
age of 21 and has since followed it. Was married in Mt. 
Pleasant October 25, 181)3, to Emma, daughter of David 
and Sarah Graham, bom near Tuscola, 111., January 19, 
1868. They have two children: Newton O., born March 
7, 1895, and an infant, August 16, 1897. 

DAY, GEORGE \Y\, farmer, son of Abraham and Char- 
lotte, was born in Mt. Pleasant September 7, 1S65. 
His parents were among the early members of the 
Mormon church, coming to Utah in '51 and locating in 
Mt. Pleasant in 'GO. Father was active in the Black 
Hawk w r ar and a member of the Mormon Battalion, being 
discharged in California. The father is living in Emery 
county. George has always resided here. Is a member 
of the Mormon church and has been president of the 
elders' quorum and counsellor to the president. Was 
married in Logan Temple November 17, 1880, to Eliza- 
beth E., daughter of Nathan and Eliza Staker, born in 
Mt. Pleasant. February 4, 1800. They have had four chil- 
dren: Arthur G., born November 20, 1888, died April, 
1889; Nathan A., born September 2, 1890; Irvin M., Sep- 
tember 20, 1892, and Olea, August 18, 1891. 

EEECKSON, JONAS H., woolgrower, son of Jonas 
and Mary J. Powell, w r as born near Murray, Utah, 
December 31, 1853. His parents came to Utah 
about '19 and his father was a man of considerable 
-wealth. In 1880 Jonas entered the sheep business, hand- 
ling his fathers flocks, and prospered so w r ell that he 
soon had 10,000 head. He came to Mt. Pleasant in '82, 
and has since been prominently identified with the busi- 
ness interests and development, of the city. Was one of 
the organizers of Nephi bank, holding the office of vice- 
president, also intei^ested in the Nephi Wool growers' 
Association, of which he was president. He was one of 
the largest stockholders in the organization of the Mt. 
Pleasant bank and has been a director. A nice farm uear 
the pity, beautiful residence in town and much peal estate 



236 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

in different places show that he is an energetic, enterpris- 
ing and successful business man. He is interested in 
several mines and is manager of a new company having 
a process for handling tailings by which all the ore in a 
duinp is to be saved. AYas for many years a member of 
the I. O. O. F. His wife was Mary E., daughter of James 
and Elizabeth A. Winchester, bora in Salt Lake county 
January 14, 1855. They were married near Murray Jan- 
uary 21, 1878, and have had seven children: Leona, Ed- 
gar J., Affel J., Hugh H. and Leslie H., living; Jonas A. 
and Ruby, deceased. 

ERICKSEX, A LIE, of the Ericksen Meat and Grocery 
Co., son of Henry and Ingeborg, was bora in Span- 
ish Fork, Utah/ July 14, 1858. In '60 the family 
removed to Mt. Pleasant, where he was raised a farmer. 
When Alif began to work for himself he purchased a 
farm and now owns a nice eighty-acre tract. He was a 
member of the City Council three years and served as 
County Tax Collector. In '92 he and brother Henry with 

C. W. Peterson opened the present business. The firm 
now consists of himself and brother and Ferdinand 
Ericksen. They have a fine stock of fresh and canned 
meats, groceries and provisions. He is a stockholder in 
the Electric Light company and Mt. Pleasant Roller 
Mills, of which he is a director. In ? 89 he went to Nor- 
way on a two years" mission. Was married in Salt Lake 
City, January 5, 1882, to Augusta E., daughter of Paul 
and Elna Dehlin, born in Salt Lake City, August 6, 1862. 
They have five children: Ellen A., Ina M., Daisy G., Alif 

D. and Oscar A. 

ERICKSEN, EDWARD A., farmer, son of nenry and 
Ingborg, was born in Mt. Pleasant in the house 
where he now resides, January 2, 1802. He Avas 
reared to farming and herding sheep and was foreman 
in managing a sheep herd for his brother for several 
years. Was married in Mt. Pleasant, June 5, 1889, to 
Vilate, daughter of Moroni and Emily Alice Seely, born 
in Mt. Pleasant, June 2, 187.°.. They have three rhil- 




JUSTUS W. SEELY. 

JIT. PLEASANT. 









n ** \ 






If 


» ; ^ 



"LARISSA J. SEELY 
MT PLEASANT. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 237 

dren: Arthur E., born August 30, 1890; Levar, June 11, 
J 893, and Wilford M., August 23, 1896. 

EERICKSEN, HON. FERDINAND, Mayor, son of 
Lars and Stena, was born in Mt. Pleasant, Sep- 
tember 30, 1863. He attended the district schools- 
and took a two years' course in the B. Y. Academy at 
Provo. Taught school four years in Mt. Pleasant and 
entered the Ann Arbor law college, studying one year. 
Was admitted to the bar of Michigan, June 5, 1890, and 
opened an office in this city. Was elected County Pros- 
ecuting Attorney in August, 1890, and County Collec- 
tor in '92. Was candidate for State Senator in '91, 
but the ticket was defeated. In '97 he was elected 
Mayor, which position he now holds. Served as 
cashier of the Mt. Pleasant bank from January, 1893, to 
July, 1895, and is at present a member of the board of 
directors. Is interested in the Ericksen Meat and Gro- 
cery Co. In '91 was elected Major of the National Guard 
of Utah, and in '96 appointed Judge Advocate, with the 
rank of Major, on Brigadier-General Willard Young's 
staff. W T as appointed a school trustee in '96, to fill a 
vacancy, and in '97 was elected to that position. He is 
an enterprising, self-made man and a representative cit- 
izen. 

ERICKSEN, HENRY, of Ericksen Meat and Grocery 
Co., son of Henry and Ingabor, was born in Lehi, 
July 28, 1856. Parents came to Mt. Pleasant in '59, 
father dying.here September 15, 1864, mother still living. 
He was brought up a farmer and engaged in farming 
and stockraising. W 7 as clerk in the Sanpete County Co-op 
store for two years. In 1889 he opened a meat market,, 
which he conducted for two years. In '97 the present 
firm was incorporated by Alif, Ferdinand and himself. 
They own a two-story brick and carry a nice stock of 
groceries, canned goods, fresh and salted meats and do 
a good business. Henry owns a farm of fifty-five acres 
ir Chester and his residence in the city. Is a member 
of the A. O. U. W. and master workman of the lodge. 
His wife was Wilhelmina, daughter of William and Mar- 
garet F. Morrison, born in Ephraim, March 13, 1858. 



234S HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

They were married in Salt Lake City, October 24, 1878, 
and have had eight children, four living and four dead. 

ERICKSEN, II. P., farmer and carpenter, was born 
in Denmark, November 11, 1844. He learned the 
trade of a carpenter from his father. The family 
joined the Mormon church and emigrated to Utah in 
'63, crossing the plains in an ox train under Capt. San- 
ders, and settled at Fountain Green, where the father 
died January 11, 1864. In the spring of '65 he came to 
Mt. Pleasant and in '66 removed to Grand Island, Neb., 
where he resided fifteen years. In '81 he returned to this 
city; purchasing a farm of 120 acres at Chester, and in 
"95 erected his present nice residence in Mt. Pleasant. 
His wife was Anna M., daughter of Ole and Anna Mad- 
sen, born in Denmark, April 2, 1846. They were mar- 
ried in Mt. Pleasant, April 4, 1865, and have two chil- 
dren living: Christian and Leonard. Christian married 
Anna Jensen. Mrs. Ericksen's mother is living, at the 
age of 89 years. Her father was one of fourteen buried 
in one grave while crossing the plains in Capt. Ohman- 
sen's train of hand carts. 

ERICKSON, JOHN N., postmaster, son of Peter J. and 
Christina, was bom in Mt. Pleasant September 20, 
1870. His parents came from Sweden and located 
in this city, where father died in '72, mother still living. 
John attended the Mt. Pleasant schools and was a stu- 
dent of the B. Y. Academy at Provo two years. He 
taught school in Indianola and Mt. Pleasant and was 
principal for one year at Redmond. In February, 1897, 
he entered the postoniee and has given general satisfac- 
tion. He is a stockholder in the Queen City Roller Mills, 
owns his residence in the city and has an interest in a 
business block on Main street. Is an active member of 
the Mormon church. 

FARNWORTH, GEORGE, son of Joseph and Mar- 
garet Mc Bride, was born in Landreton La Nord, 
France, January 24, 1818. His father was a farrier 
in the English army and he resided in France, Ireland 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 239 

and England, learning the shoeing trade. He came to 
this country with a wife and child in '47, locating at St. 
Louis, where mother and child died, he coming to Salt 
Lake City by ox train, arriving July IS, 1853. He re- 
moved to Pleasant Grove in '55 and came to Mt. Pleasant 
in '59, where he worked at his trade. He was called to 
work as tithing clerk, holding the position several years, 
then collector for the Deseret News, finally had charge 
of the stake tithing department till September, 1895, 
Spent considerable time in raising funds for the Manti 
Temple and has given his time to general church work. 
He has a good home, where he has resided since coming 
to this city. His first wife was Elizabeth Bustard, who 
had one child, both dying in St. Louis. Second wife was 
Elizabeth Hitchings, who had no children. Third wife 
was Susannah, daughter of Joseph and Ann Coates, born 
in Chesterfield, England, December 12, 1836. She had 
twelve children: Joseph, Hyruni, James, Moroni, Ro- 
sella A., Eliza J., Herbert and ^William R., living; Susan- 
nah E., George and two unnamed infants, dead. Fourth 
wife was Mary J. Allen. She has had eight children: 
John W., Charles H., Xephi, Brigham, Violet and Al- 
fred, living; George H. and unnamed infant, dec-eased. 

FECHSER, JOHX F., miller, son of John G. and Maria 
Kiserker, was born in YVurtemberg, Germany, July 
19, 1825, and learned the trade of a miller. He mar- 
ried in Hamburg Rosina F. Keyser. The family joined 
the Mormon church and in 1853 emigrated to this coun- 
try, including the father and mother. In 1854 they 
crossed the plains in an ox train under Capt. Brown; on 
the way the wife and two children died. The family re- 
sided for a time in Little Cottonwood and Spanish Fork. 
John came to Mt. Pleasant among the first in March, 
1859, and helped build the fort. He soon bought a small 
grist mill, which he ran for twelve years. In company 
with William Randall and brother he built a burr mill, 
which he operated ten years. He then assisted in build- 
ing the Upper mill, which he managed till 1880, when, 
in company with John H. Seely and L. J. Jordan, he 



240 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

built the first roller mill in the city, now owned by the 
Mt. Pleasant Roller Mill Company. Mr. Feehser is a 
first-class miller and has done much for the milling busi- 
ness in Mt. Pleasant. He has been president, treasurer 
and director and is now manager, assisted by his two 
sons, of the lower mill, which has a capacity of fifty bar- 
rels, lie took an active part in the Black Hawk war and 
has been a worker in the church; was a member of the 
fiftieth quorum of Seventies and is now a high priest. 
He married in Salt Lake City January 14, 1855, Trina 
A. Borrosen. He again married January 2, 1866, to Ida 
C. Johnson. Their children are: Sarah, Ida, Josephine, 
Frederick, James, Maria E., Elizabeth M., Hvrum and 
Ellen. 

FPANDSEX, RASMUS, farmer, was born in Denmark 
February 5, 1835. He came to Utah in '57, cross- 
ing the plains in an ox-train under Canute Peter- 
son, stopping a short time at. Ephraim and locating in 
Mt. Pleasant in '59. Assisted in building the fort and 
took part in the Black Hawk war. He took up a farm 
and has been engaged in farming all the time. His first 
wife, whom he married in Salt Lake City, was Jacobina, 
daughter of Lars and Bael Madsen. She died in Mt. 
Pleasant in '83, leaving three children: Emma, Johanna 
and Julia. Second wife was Margaret Madsen, sister of 
the first. She has five children: Peter, Erastus, William, 
Anna and Louie. Third wife was Christina Larsen. She 
has six children: Celia, Louis, Frans, Otto, Leonard and 
Edna. 

/* UNDERSEX, JENS, fanner, son of Gunder E. and 
Vl Annie Jensen, bora in Norway, September 21, 1832. 
^ He was a sailor and ship carpenter on merchant 
vessels, ami for one year was on a man-of-war. In 1852 
he joined the Mormon church, and in 1851 came to Utah 
by way of New Orleans, crossing the plains in an ox-train 
under (apt. Cowley. He was accompanied by his wife, 
her brother ami parents. They settled in Spanish Fork, 
and in January, 1860, he came to ML Pleasant, assisted 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 2ll 

in building the second fort and lived in it. He bought 20 
acnes of land, and now owns 183 acnes. Took part in the 
Black Hawk waff, being a. sergeant, and worked as a far- 
mer and carpenter. Is a. prominent member of the Mor- 
mon church and head teacher of his ward. In 1S»>1 he 
made a trip to the Missouri river for emigrants. His first 
wife, married in Norway, was Anna C. Johnson, who had 
two children, Qunnell, (hinder L., deceased. Second 
wife was Maria Peterson. She had nine children, James 
P., Gunder, Maen ('., Annie H., Maria C, Ereka, Carlina, 
John H., Tina C. and Charles C., deceased. Wife died in 
1888. Third wife was Annetta C Larsen. Fourth wife 
was Kersten M. Xeilsen, who died October 20, 1897. 

M AFEX, JACOB, shoemaker and farmer, son of Jacob 
j| and Elizabeth Spangler, was born in Switzerland, 
' February 16, 1836. He learned his trade in Switz- 

erland, joined the Mormon church and emigrated to Utah 
in 1861, crossing the plains in an ox-train under ("apt. 
Jones, and located in Pay son, wheie he lemained three 
years. Then removed to Richfield, and in 18<>o' came to 
Mt. Pleasant, where he followed his trade three years, 
became interested in a shoe store, and now has a shop 
near his lesidence. Is a ward teacher. Took an active 
part in the Black Hawk war, and performed a mission 
of two years to Switzerland during 1883-85. He is a 
stockholder in the coal mine in Pleasant valley, which 
supplies a large amount of fuel consumed in this city. 
His first wife, married in Payson, September 21, 1861, 
was Catherine, daughter of Daniel and Kosina Neff, born 
in Switzerland, December 27, 1835. They have five chil- 
dren, Helmina, Katsina, Kosetta, Lydia and Wilford. 
Second wife was Lisetta Ott. They have six children, 
William, Lisetta, Emile, Pauline, Jacob and Annie. 

MAXSEX, NEILS P., farmer, was born in Denmark 
|I September 10, 1812. He joined the Mormon church 
* when about 17 and was a traveling elder for three 
years. In 1864 he came to L'tah, crossing the plains in 
Capt. Preston's church ox-train, and located in Mt. Pleas- 



242 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

ant. Was employed in various occupations for several 
years and finally bought a farm. Now owns thirty-five 
acres. Was married in Nebraska June 18, 1864, to Maria, 
daughter of Hans and Dort.hea Hansen, born in Den- 
mark January 16, 1839. They have four children: Peter, 
John, Edwin and David. 

M ANSEN, OLE, president and manager Mt. Pleasant 
|| creamery, son of Peter and Anna, was born in Den- 
9 mark, May 11, 1848. The family came to Utah in 
1855, stopping two years in Brigham City, thence to Pay- 
son, and in the spring of 1859 came to Mt. Pleasant. 
Father assisted in building the fort and died here in 
1864. Mother returned to the States and died in 1896. 
Ole was raised on the farm and afterward engaged in 
freighting produce to the mining camps of Utah and Ne- 
vada. He then worked in the mines for several years. 
In October, 1892, he and Barton Bros, opened the cream- 
ery and operated it until 1894, when the company was in- 
corporated, he being the manager, lie also owns 60 
acres and conducts a good farm. Was married in Salt 
Lake City, October 6, 1872, to Annie B., daughter of 
James and Lena Larsen, born in Denmark, June 18, 1854. 
They have three children, Flossie, Alvira and Ernest. 

M ABLER, JOHN, agent for the Crown Piano Company 
j| and the Bush & Gerts Company for southern Utah, 
/ son of John and Susannah Leeman, was born in 
Switzerland April IT, 1839. He was a merchant, selling 
wines, liquors and cigars by wholesale, in his native 
country, and also a musical instructor and prominent 
musician. In '69 he came to Mt. Pleasant and was made 
leader of the band and instructor in music for pupils. In 
'73 he became leader of the church choir. He returned 
to his native country on a mission in 1880, remaining two 
years, dining which he composed the music for a German 
hymnbook, now in use. Was vice-president of the Equit- 
able Co-op store of Mt. Pleasant. Is secretary of the 
high priests' quorum and an active churchman and musi- 
cian. Ho has been selling musical instruments for many 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 243 

years. Was married in Switzerland May 14, 1869, to 
Louesa, daughter of Henry and Annie Thahnan, born in 
Switzerland August 26, 1843. They had nine children: 
Henry, Lydia, Walter, Emil and Mina ()., living. Second 
wife was Anna B. Knncler, married in 1885. They have 
one child: Bertha. 

I VIE, I. T., farmer, son of James R. and Eliza, was born 
in Monroe county, Missouri, .May 2d, 18-14. His pa- 
rents joined the Mormon church among the early 
members. In '48 they came to ['tali and located in 
Provo, removing to Ephraim in '58, and in '59 came to 
Mt. Pleasant in the first company. His father was one of 
the leading men and was appointed president of Mt. 
Pleasant by President. Young. He had the town sur- 
veyed and platted and superintended the building of the 
fort. He removed to Scipio, where he was killed by the 
Indians in June, 18<i(>. Mother died in Scipio in '96. I. 
T. was reared a farmer and now owns eighty acres. He 
took part in the Black Hawk war, being an active man. 
Was married in Mt. Pleasant March 29, 1861, to Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Evan and Elizabeth Evans, born in 
Xauvoo, 111., May 9, 1844. Her mother and six children 
came here in '59 with the first settlers. They have nine 
children: Edith, wife of Henry Allred; Lulu, wife of 
Fred Drury; Isabella, wife of Turner Sims; Thomas J., 
Evan, Bessie, Robert E., Maurice and Marjory. 

JACOBSEN, MADS A., deceased, son of Andrew and 
Anna M., was born in Walsted, Aalborg, Denmark, 
September 20, 1805. He w r as raised on a farm, and 
on January 8, 1847, was married to Else M., daughter of 
Lauritz and Dorthea Christensen, bom in ^Yalsted, Aug- 
ust 30, 1824. They had nine children, all born in Den- 
mark, Larsine, Andrew, Hans P., Martina and Caroline 
now living. In '68 the family emigrated in the "Emerald 
Isle,'' probably the last sailing vessel carrying Mormon 
emigrants. They came with Bishop Hans Jensen of 
Manti, fitting up with church train at Fort. Laramie. 
Were four weeks in crossing the plains, losing two chil- 
dren, Dorthea and Johan C, on the trip. Mads located at 



244 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Mt. Pleasant in '68, and made willow baskets and worked 
at his trade — a carpenter. He died here November 17, 
1876. His wife is still living; with her son, Hans P., a 
stonemason. 

JENSEN, ANDREW P., leading- fanner, son of Peter 
and Hannah, was bom in Sweden September 29, 
1837. His father died in Sweden and he came to 
Utah* in '59, locating inMt. Pleasant. He pulled a hand- 
cart across the plains from Florence, Neb., in Capt. Rol- 
lins' company. They ran short of provisions and suffered 
many hardships. Andrew located a tw r enty-acre form 
and now has sixty acres and a fine residence north of the 
city, being a representative farmer. Is vice-president of 
the North Irrigation Company. Served in the Black 
Hawk war, doing his share in guarding against Indians. 
Was married in Salt Lake City to Annie Monson, a na- 
tive of Sweden. They have ten children: Andrew, Hilda, 
Annie, Selma, Lorinda, Arthur, Mima, Leoni, Elmer and 
Afton. 

JENSEN, CHRISTIAN, farmer son of Jens and Kara, 
was born in Denmark June 7, 1825, and raised on a 
farcu. He was a workman in the palace of Frederick 
VII. for eleven years, emigrating to Utah in '56, crossing 
the plains in ox-train under Canute Peterson. He set- 
tled at. Spanish Fork and came to Mt. Pleasant in '59, 
assisting in building the fort and driving away Indians. 
Was active in the Black Hawk war, being in the Salina 
Canyon battle. He homesteaded 140 acres, now owning 
about thirty of the original. Was oae of the stockhold- 
ers of the first Co-op store and tannery. Assisted in 
building the St. George Temple, and in 78 went to Den- 
mark on a two years' mission. Has been a ward teacher 
ever since coming to Mt. Pleasant. In '95 was elected 
member of the City Council. His wife was Kara M. Pet- 
erson, married in Spanish Fork October 8, 1856. She 
died in this city November 17, 1896. They had six chil- 
dren: Hans P., Agnes, Christian, George and Maria, 
living; Joseph, deceased. 




HON C. X. LUXE) 
MT. PLEASANT. 




PETER MATSOX, 
MT PLEASAXT. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 245 

JENSEN, G J., teacher in public school and City Re- 
corder, son of Christian and Annie M., born in Mt. 
Pleasant December 20, 1865. His parents joined the 
Mormon church in Denmark and emigrated to Mt. Plea- 
sant in '63, where mother died in '77, father still living 
and known as Carpenter Jensen. He grew up in this 
city, working at the carpenter's trade for several years, 
then engaged, in mining and later was driving cattle from 
Texas to Wyoming. Attended the schools of Mt. Plea- 
sant, the L. D. S. Seminary and then completed a normal 
course in the B. Y. Academy at Provo. In '93 he began 
teaching, taught two years in the Round Hills school 
near Mt. Pleasant, then accepted a position in the district 
schools of this city, where he has a part of the fourth and 
fifth grades. Is agent for Edward Strauss & Co. and the 
American Woolen Mills, handling men's clothing. In 
the fall of '95 was elected City Recorder and re-elected in 
'97, being a Republican in politics and secretary and 
treasurer of the executive committee. Is superintendent 
of the theological department of the Sunday school. Also 
secretary of the Elders' quorum. His wife was Rozella, 
daughter of George and Susanna Farnworth, born in 
Mt. Pleasant November 15, 1868. They were married in 
Manti Temple October 23, 1889, and have four children: 
George F., born December 20, 1890; Minnie E., August 
12, 1892; Maggie V., Julv 21, 1895, and Rozella I., May 
29, 1897. 

JENSEN, DANIEL C, principal public schools, son of 
John C. and Annie E., was born in Ephraim June 10, 
1869. He attended the public schools of Ephraim, 
the Sanpete Stake Academy two years and the Deseret 
University, where he completed a normal course, gradu- 
ating in '92. Came to Mt. Pleasant after graduation and 
accepted the position of principal, which he has since 
held. Under his able management the schools have been 
much improved, seven teachers formerly being employed, 
now ten are required. He is a stockholder in the Johns- 
town Irrigation Company of Ephraim. Is a Mormon and 
during the past three years has been superintendent of 
the Sunday school and superintendent of religion classes. 



246 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Ilis wife was Mary E., daughter of Bishop L. S. aud 
Petrea Anderson, born in Ephraim April 30, 1870. They 
weiv married in Manti Temple August 2, 1890, and have 
three children: Cannon I.., born July 8, 1801, Vernon, 
Judie3, 1803, and I>. Glenn, July 0, 1807. 

JENSEN, FREDEKICK C, furniture dealer, son of 
Soren and Maria, was born in Odense, Denmark, Feb- 
ruary 10, 1858. Father died when he was 3 years old, 
and his mother emigrated to Utah with four children, 
paying the fares of many others, and arrived in Mt. Plea- 
sant fall of '62. Fred was engaged in fanning and 
freighting till at the age of 21, learned the cabinet- 
maker's trade. In 1881 he began the business of manu- 
facturing furniture, but soon gave his attention to the 
business of a dealer, conducting the business until '95, 
vvhen the company was incorporated, with F. 0. Jensen 
president and F. Clark secretary. They carry a good 
assortment of about $4,000, consisting of carpets, wall 
paper, paints, oils and general household furnishings. He 
was one of the organizers of the Mt. Pleasant bank, serv- 
ing as a director, now vice-president; is secretary and 
treasurer of the Mt. Pleasant Wool and Live Stock Com- 
pany, and an extensive wool-grower, owning over 5,000 
sheep, and buying for A. J. Knollin & Co., Kansas City, 
Mo. He was president of Board of Education in '06 and 
treasurer in '07; member of the City Council two years, 
and prominent in Republican political circles. His wife 
was Edie, daughter of Niels and Elizabeth Nelson, born 
in Mt. Pleasant, married in this city March 31, 1868. They 
have two children: Winifred Z., born December 9, '96, 
and Francis H., September 6, '91. 

JENSEN, FRANCIS, woolgrower and proprietor of 
Nielson House, son of Jens and Trena Jensen, was 
born in Mt. Pleasant, January 1, 1865, and reared a 
farmer. When about 14 he started out to make his way 
through the world, and at 16 was engaged in railroad 
grading in Colorado. At 18 he had a leg broken and was 
laid up for one year. He herded 6heep for Cahoon and 
Erickson for five years, when he secured 1,000 head on 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 247 

shares and kept them successfully. Now owns about 
3,300 bead, and is a stockholder in the Mt Pleasant bank. 
Is a member of the A. O. U. W., holding the office of over- 
seer. In '95 he purchased the Nielson Hotel, which he 
conducts with satisfaction to the traveling public, having 
the leading house and headquarters for commercial trav- 
elers. His wife, whom he married in Minersville, June 28, 
1892, was Jemima, daughter of William and Henrietta 
Dotson. They have three children: Pauline, James G. 
and Henrietta. 

JENSEN, JAMES P., liquor dealer, son of Mads and 
Mary, was born in Goshen, Utah, September 2, 1858. 
In '(31 the family came to Mt. Pleasant, where James 
was educated and raised a fanner. When he started for 
himself he began freighting produce to the mining towns 
of Utah and Nevada, and later worked in the mines of 
Park City and Bingham. In '84 he opened a place for 
selling mild drinks and cigars, running a billiard table, 
but finally enlarged into a retail liquor store. In '88 he 
built his present place, one of the nicest buildings in -the 
city, where he carries a choice line of wines, liquors and 
cigars, and conducts a poolroom. He is also a woolgrower 
and an active, enterprising business man, always ready 
to invest in anything for the public good. He is treasurer 
of the Queen City Roller Mill Company, director in the 
Mt. Pleasant bank, and vice-president of the Modern 
Mining and Milling Company, which has a mill in Cherry 
Creek, Nevada, for saving ore in dumps. Has 200 acres of 
land, and in company with John H. Seely and J. H. Proc- 
tor, has imported fifty-three head of fine shorthorn cattle. 
Is an enthusiastic Republican, formerly a Liberal, and is 
past master of the A. O. U. W. Was married in Salt Lake 
City, April 9, '83, to Josephine F., daughter of Jens and 
Trena Jensen, born in Ephraim, February 7, '60. Her 
parents were among the early settlers of Mt. Pleasant, 
mother still living. 

JENSEN, PETER, lumberman, son of Christian and 
Annie, was born in Denmark, June 6, 1842. The fam- 
ily joined the Mormon church and emigrated to the 
United States in '54, stopping for eight years in Missouri. 



248 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

They crossed the plains in a wagon train, Peter driving a 
team for Hooper & Eldredge, and hauling merchandise. 
The first location was made ten miles south of Salt Lake 
City, where he was engaged several years in getting out 
lumber. In '67 he came to Mt. Pleasant and has since 
been in the lumber business. He owns a steam saw-mill 
twelve miles east of Mt. Pleasant and manufactures lath, 
shingles and pickets. Has a farm of twenty acres near 
the city. Was married in Salt Lake City, May 30, '68, to 
Jensina, daughter of Niels and Maria Jensen, born in 
Denmark, October 2, 1849. They have had twelve chil- 
dren: Peter, Marinus, Anna,, Joseph, Isabel, Emma M., 
Frederick L. and Parley P., living; Francis, Christian, 
John W. and Rosina, deceased. 

JENSEN, SOPHUS E., farmer and woolgrower, son of 
Soren and Martha M., was bora in Odensa, Denmark, 
September 16, 1856. In '62 his mother, a widow, with 
four children, came to L T tah and located in Mt. Pleasant 
At the age of 15 he went away to work, being employed 
seven years by Frank Armstrong in a saw-mill at Salt 
Lake City. He then engaged in freighting produce to the 
mining camps of Utah and Nevada, where he spent six 
years. Then honiesteaded a ranch, engaging in farming 
and sheep-raising, in which he has been successful. He 
owns a fine farm, and in '97 erected a nice brick house in 
the city. During the past two years he has been buyer for 
the Union AYool and Live Stock Commission Company, in 
which he is a director. Is past master of the A. O. U. W. 
Was married in Mt. Pleasant, July 19, 1880, to Lura L., 
daughter of Duncan and Eliza R. Scovil McArthur, born 
in Aft. Pleasant, October 30, '61. They have four living 
children: Duncan R., Rex, Harald and an infant. 

J ESSEN, JAMES, mining man, one of the early settlers 
of Sanpete county, was married to Sine Peterson, 
who died, and on September 21, 1894, was again mar- 
ried in Mt. Pleasant to Mrs. Caroline L. Neilson, a widow, 
daughter of Mads and Christena Christensen, born in 
Denmark. Mrs. J. Jessen's aunt and uncle, Amelia and 
Jens Peterson, were killed by Indians near Rich field, dur- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 249 

ing the Black Hawk war. The present wife previously 
married Soren J. Neilson, a merchant and first cashier of 
the Mt. Pleasant bank. He was a prominent woolgrower, 
an elder in the Presbyterian church and an enterprising 
man. He died January 15, 1892. The children were: Peter 
S., Christian J., Victor, Clarence J. and Florence C. 

JOHNSON, ABRAHAM, merchant, son of Christopher 
and Mary Evanson, was born in Risor, Norway, Jan- 
uary 27, 1859. His parents joined the Mormon 
church and emigrated, stopping six months in Canada, 
and six months in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, arriving in 
Utah in '63 by ox-train. He was educated at the B. 
Y. Academy, from which he graduated at the age 
of 21. Taught school in this city for seven years and was 
principal of the Mt. Pleasant schools in 1885-6. Was 
City Recorder and teacher when he left in September, 
1886, on a two veal's' mission to Norway. Upon his re- 
turn was engaged as bookkeeped for the Mt. Pleasant 
Co-operative Mercantile Institution, which position he 
held till '92. In '91 he formed a partnership with Erastus 
Kofford and opened a general store, where they carry an 
$8,000 stock of dry goods, groceries, crockery, boots and 
shoes and notions and do a prosperous business. The 
firm owns stock in the Queen City Roller Mill Company, 
of which he is secretary. 

He was Mayor of the city for two terms, 1892 to 
'95, and was nominated by the Republican party for State 
Senator in '96, but was defeated. His wife was Vilate, 
daughter of George W. and Mary 7 Wall Bean, born in 
Provo April 27, 1864. They were married in Salt Lake 
City August 28, 1884, and have four children: Mabel M., 
Evan A., Virginius L. and Geneva B. 

JOHNSON, EDMUND C, farmer and woolgrower, was 
born in Copenhagen, Denmark, November 7, 1856. 
The family came to Utah in '63, crossing the plains 
by ox-train, and located in Spanish Fork. In '64 they 
came to Mt. Pleasant, where Edmund grew up and en- 
gaged in various occupations. He had no capital and en- 
gaged with A. A. Cahoon as foreman in the sheep busi- 



'250 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

ness for three years. He then took the sheep on shares 
and worked up to a tine herd of about. 2,400. head. Owns 
a ranch of 220 acres. Was married in Mt. Pleasant Jan. 
20, 1882, to Josephine, daughter of Frederick P. and 
Christina Neilsen. She was born and married on the lot 
where they live. They had six children: Edmund A., 
Pearly L., Virtu and Mary A., living; Ferringtan \Y. and 
Eugene, deceased. 

JOHANSEN, PETER, deceased, farmer, son of John A. 
and Karen Henna risen, was bora in Denmark De- 
cember 18, 1827. lie joined the Mormon church and 
came to Utah in '58, crossing the plains in ("apt. Haight'e 
train, and located at Ephraim. In '50 he came to Mt. 
Pleasant among the first settlers. He assisted. in build- 
ing the fort and lived inside it one summer. In the 
allotment he received a twenv-acre tract and added to it 
until he had a good farm of sixty-five acres and a com- 
fortable home in the city. He took part in the Black 
Hawk war. Was president of the Elders' quorum twenty 
years and counsellor to the president of the High Priests' 
quorum at the time of his death. Was married Novem- 
ber 21, 1858, to Annie C, daughter of Mikkel and Karen 
Chirstensen, born in Denmark May 20, 1830. They had 
ten children: Peter, Nilsina, Cecelia,. Mina, Mary, John 
and Charley, living; McCarl, Caroline and Annie, de- 
ceased. Second wife was Sena Jacobsen. She had six 
children: Joseph, Andrew, Christian and Ella, living; 
Tina and Martin, deceased. 

JORDAN, LEONARD J., woolgrower, son of James F. 
and Sarah C, was born in Hampshire, England, 
August 12, 1810. His parents joined the Mormon 
church and emigrated to Utah in '55, crossing the plains 
from Atchison, Kansas, in an ox-train, locating in Farm- 
ington. After a short stay they went to West Jordan, 
thence to Rush Valley in '58, thence to Salt Lake City 
and back to Rush Valley, where the father resides, 
mother being dead. Leonard was engaged in herding till 
24 years of age, when he began in the sheep business for 
himself. He removed to Mt. Pleasant in '81 and has since 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 251 

been extensively engaged in woolgrowing, importing and 
breeding thoroughbred French merinos. He owiis about 
300 acres of land and a line residence in the city. Is a 
stockholder in the Mt. Pleasant Roller Mill Company, 
being president for several years, and is a director in the 
Electric Light Company, having been president. Assisted 
in organizing the Mr. Pleasant Wool and Live Stock 
Commission Company, being the first manager; also 
helped organize the Southern Utah Wool growers' Asso- 
ciation at Nephi, being one of the executive board. Was 
a member of the City Council four years. Is a member 
of the A. O. U. W. On October 10, 1888, he started on a 
mission to England, where he labored in the Birmingham 
and London conferences, returning August 20, 1890. His 
wife was Eniily M., daughter of David H. and Fanny C. 
Caldwell, born in Salt Lake county September 28, 1856. 
They were married in Salt Lake City September 29, 1873, 
and have four children: Leonard E., married Mary I. 
Beck; they have one child, Marion E.; David H., Alvin 
E. and Fanny C. 

JOIiGENSEN, JENS, retired farmer, was born in Den- 
mark April 18, 1823. He was raised a farmer and 
served in the army over four years, being in several 
heavy battles. Joined the Mormon church in '51 and was 
engaged as a traveling elder for about six years and pre- 
sided over the Frederica conference for three years. In 
'57 he came to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Cow- 
ley's company. In '58 he settled in Ephraim and in the 
spring of '59 removed to Mt. Pleasant, being among the 
first set;>rs. He assisted in building the fort and took 
part in riie Black Hawk war, being commander of the 
post and major in the militia. He owns a nice forty-acre 
farm and residence. W T as a member of the first City 
Council and head teacher in the church for many years. 
His first wife, whom he married in Denmark, was Chris- 
tiana Christensen. She died in Mt. Pleasant in 1894, 
leaving seven children: John S., Sarah, James, Lena, 
George, Elizabeth and Ellnora. Second wife was Chris- 
tina Bertolsen. She has seven children: Mary, Jennie, 
Bert, Daniel, William, Franklin and Joseph. 



"252 HISTOKT OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

CAR SEN, JAMES, woolgrower, sou of James and Mary 
Anderson, was born in Ephraim, January 18, 1858. 
His parents removed to Mt. Pleasant, in '59; father 
died here and mother is still living. James worked on his 
stepfather's, Hans Poulsen's farm until the age of 20, 
when he engaged in freighting to the mining towns of 
Utah and Nevada. In 1881 he purchased an eighty-acre 
farm west of the Sanpiteh river, where he lived until '87, 
when he left on a two years' mission to Georgia, Alabama 
and Florida. In '90 he engaged in the sheep business in 
company with his brother Andrew, having about 5,000 
head, owning a part and the balance on shares. In '94 
they divided interests and he now has three herds, or 
about 8,000 head, 3,500 being his own. He own a tine new 
brick residence in the city. Was one of the organizers and 
is a stockholder in the Mt. Pleasant Electric Light Com- 
pany, of which he has been a director and president; is a 
director in the Cedar Creek and Twin Creek Reservoir 
Company, and one of the presidents of the Sixty-sixth 
Quorum of Seventies. In the fall of '97 was elected mem- 
ber of City Council, being the second highest in receiving 
votes of any member on the Republican ticket. His wife 
was Eliza Maria Tidwell, daughter of James H. and Eliz- 
abeth Harvey Tidwell. Her father was one of the promi- 
nent and leading men of early davs. They have three chil- 
dren: Alberta M., born October 18, 1882; Edith E., 
March 31, '85; Ila F., April 18, '93. 

CARSEN, LAURITZ, of New State Portrait Company, 
son of Lauritz and Ida C, was born in Mt. Pleasant, 
August 28, 1867. His parents were natives of Den- 
mark; came to Utah and located in Mt. Pleasant, where 
his father was Justice of the Peace for many years, super- 
intendent of the Sunday school two years, and a man of 
prominence. Father now dead, mother still living. He 
grew up in this city, attending the district schools and 
the B. Y. Academy at Provo. Was engaged as a clerk in 
different stores, and opened a general store in company 
with his brothers, Peter A. and George W. In '95 he sold 
out to the brothers. In '97 the New State Portrait Com- 
pany was organized and he was made president. His wife 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 253 

was Imogene, daughter of Gustave and Dora Day John- 
son, born in Mt Pleasant, January 4, 1872. They were 
married in Manti, February 19, 1890, and have three chil- 
dren: Florence, born February 11, '91; Dora, September 
13, '92; and Myrtle, February 14, '96. 

pUXDBEKG, AUGUST, jeweler and dentist, son of 
L- Andrew and Louesa, was born in Upsala, Sweden, 
November 1, 1849. He learned the trade of a jeweler 
ill Stockholm and the tinner's trade of his father. Came 
to Utah in '79, located in Mt. Pleasant and opened a tin- 
shop, which he conducted several years. In '85 he opened 
a jewelers store, and having learned dentistry in Salt 
Lake City, he added that to his business, making a suc- 
cess of both. He is superintendent and general manager 
of the Mt. Pleasant Electric Light Company, having held 
the position since its organization in July, '93. His wife, 
whom he married in Salt Lake City, October 7, 1880, was 
Christina M. Anderson. She died in Mt. Pleasant, August 
5, 1896, leaving three children: Edwin G., Mabel and 
Nancy. 

(* UND, HON. C. N., son of Lauritz and Fredrikke Niel- 
li sen, was -born in Seest, Denmark, January 13, 1846. 
Being one of a large family, he was compelled to 
earn his living from early boyhood. He joined the Mor- 
mon church in 1858, and traveled as a missionary from 
1865 till 1868. He left his native land for Utah in June, 
'68, and arrived in Salt Lake City on September 25th of 
that year, crossing the plains in the last train of ox-teams 
that came over. Worked on the railroad in Echo and 
Weber canyons, and stopped for a time in '69 in Brigham 
City. He located in Mt. Pleasant in the fall of '69. Filled 
a mission to the Northwest in '79 and '80, laboring in 
Minnesota, Iowa and Nebraska. Served four years as 
City Recorder, three years as a member of the City Coun- 
cil, and six years as Mayor. Was a member of the Consti- 
tutional Conventions held in 1882 and 1887 in Salt Lake 
City. Served as a member of the Legislature in the House 
in '90 and City Council in '94. Was Justice of the Peace 
for six years. Was appointed Bishop, May 20, 1890, which 



254 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

position lie now holds with perfect satisfaction to the peo- 
ple. He tilled a mission to Scandinavia from May, 189(5, to 
•June, 1898, during which he presided over the mission, 
including Norway, Sweden and Denmark. He is a promi- 
nent man and a representative citizen of this city. His 
tirst wife was Petra M. Jensen, born in Denmark, Febru- 
arv 21, 1852. They were married in Salt Lake City, Octo- 
ber 11, '69, and had six children: Christian N., Eliza (wife 
of George W. Larsen), William L. and James A., living; 
Amelia M. and Parley P., deceased. Wife died August 21, 
1882. Second wife was Christina A., daughter of Neils 
and Anna C. Neilson, born in Denmark, September 22, 
1859. They were married October 9, '81, and have had 
six children: Waldemar M., Christian M. E., Amanda C, 
Esther M. J. and Anthon R., living; Thorwald C, de- 
ceased. 

fX\ ADSEN, ANDREW, of Madsen and Sons' Mercan- 
/ 1 I tile Company, son of Lars and Bodel, was born in 
' ^ Denmark, on the island of Sjalland, March 3, 
1835. He learned the trade of a carpenter. Joined the 
Mormon church and emigrated in '55, crossing the plains 
in an ox-train under Canute Peterson, reaching Salt Lake 
City in the fall of '56 and located in Brigham City, where 
he lived until Johnson's army arrived. In '58 he removed 
to Ephraim and in '59 came to Mt. Pleasant among the 
first settlers, and assisted in building the fort, being cap- 
tain over ten men. Took an active part in the Black 
Hawk war, being captain of a company, and in the en- 
gagement in Salina canyon. He took up twenty acres of 
land and engaged in farming. Was the first City Trea- 
surer and a member of the City Council for about twenty 
years. Was a candidate for Mayor on the Democratic 
ticket, but the ticket was defeated. In church matters he 
has always been active. He owns about 500 acres of fine 
land. In '68, when the Mt. Pleasant Z. C. M. I. was organ- 
ized, he was one of the largest stockholders and for many 
years was superintendent. His present fine store building 
was erected by the company and he and C. W. Anderson 
purchased it, leasing it for several years, afterward open- 
ing a general store. In May, '93 the L T nion Mercantile 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 255 

Company was organized. The company was changed t<> 
its present name in '97, Andrew Madsen being president 
and his son, Neil M., secretary, treasurer and general 
manager. He is also an extensive stock and sheep raiser. 
Is a stockholder in the Mt. Pleasant bank and the West- 
ern Loan Association of Salt Lake City. Is president of 
the Pleasant Creek Irrigation Company and a stockholder 
in the Twin Creek Irrigation Company. He is also presi- 
dent of the Union Wool and Live Stock Commission Com- 
pany. Was married in Ephraim, December 26, 1858, to 
Johanna E., daughter of Niels Wintergreen Anderson, 
born in Malnio, Sweden, December 15, 1840. Their living 
children are: Annie, wife of Andrew Pearson; Andrew 
C, Anthon W., Neil M. and Hilda E. The deceased were: 
Hannah L., Louesa B., Emma and Lauritz. 

Cf\ ADSEN, LARS P., woolgrower and farmer, son of 
111 Mads Madsen and Ellen Hanson Madsen, was 
I I born in Ephraim, December 14, 1858. His parents 
were natives of Denmark, emigrating to Utah in '57, 
crossing the plains in an ox-train and locating at Eph- 
raim. Father died in Mt Pleasant, October 17, 1895; 
mother still living. Lars was raised a farmer, and at the 
age of 23 married and purchased a farm of sixteen acres. 
In 1891 he bought 1,000 sheep and has been very success- 
ful, having at present about 1,600, after selling 1,000 this 
year. He owns eighty-five acres of land and has a nice 
residence in the city. In politics he is a Republican, and 
has been a member of the City Council two years, serving 
in '91 and '92. He was appointed counsel to the Bishop in 
May, 1890, and is a consistent churchman. In 1886 he 
performed a mission to Georgia. His wife, whom he mar- 
ried in Salt Lake City, October 10, 1881, was Sophia, 
daughter of Martin and Kara M. Christensen Rasmussen, 
horn in Mt. Pleasant, October 12, 1861. Their children 
are: William, Edna, Theresa, Rubjy, Sophronia and 
Edith, living; Heber, deceased. 

fY\ ADSEN, NEIL M., manager of A. Madsen & Sons' 
Ml Mercantile Company, son of Andrew and Johan- 
' I na Anderson, was born in Mt. Pleasant Septem- 
!>er 21, 1873. He attended the Mt. Pleasant schools, took 



256 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

a course of bookkeeping and obtained a commercial edu- 
cation. Was employed as a clerk in the Union Mercan- 
tile Company's store for six and a half years, then pro- 
moted to the position of manager. The}- carry a #20,000 
stock of dry goods, groceries and everything kept in a 
large commercial retail house. The Union Mercantile 
Company was sold to A. Madsen & Sons November 30, 
IS97. He is an active, energetic young man, being pro- 
prietor of the Union Parlor Company, where he keeps a 
manager selling" ice cream and confectioneries. Is also 
secretary of the Union Wool and Live Stock Commission 
Company, which position he fills with perfect satisfac- 
tion. 

fY\ ADSEN, NIELS P., farmer and stoekraiser, son of 
ill Lars and Bodel, was born in Denmark December 
' I 17, 1832. The family, consisting of parents and 
seven children, emigrated to the United States 
in '55, stopping in St. Louis, Mo., for the winter, thence 
across the plains in ox-train under Canute Peterson, ar- 
riving in Salt Lake City September 20, 1856. Father 
died on the road at Devil's Gate, family locating in Brig- 
ham City, then in Ephraim and came to Mt. Pleasant in 
'59. Niels assisted in constructing the fort, took up 160 
acres of land and began farming and stockraising. Dur- 
ing the Black Hawk war he was active and gave five 
horses to those who had none to help in chasing Indians. 
He served three terms as member of the City Council. 
Was bishop of the North Ward from '78 to '81 and has 
always been interested in road improvement. His wife 
was Lena, daughter of Rasmus and Maria Jorgensen, 
born in Denmark Janury 3, 1840. They w r ere married 
near Salt Lake City January 3, 1857, and have nine chil- 
dren: Mary, Elizabeth S., Peter H., Rasmus L., Lena. 
George G., David, Alonzo and Berta. 

PT\ AIBEN. ALFRED H., druggist, son of Henry and 
ill Flora L. Maddison, was born in Provo, July 30, 
' ' 1873. His father was a druggist, painter and 
artist, also an actor, quite well known throughout Utah. 
Alfred attended the district schools of Provo and Salt 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 257 

Lake City and the B. Y. Academy, becoming a pharma- 
cist. He passed a satisfactory examination February 13, 
1894, and came to Mt. Pleasant in July, 1894, where, in 
company with H. R. Mc< iraw, he opened his present place 
of business. In February, 1896, tiiey purchased another 
store in Park City, which. McGraw conducted one year, 
when he took the Park City and Alfred the Mt. Pleasant 
store alone. He carries a good stock of f 3,000, consisting 
of drugs, chemicals, patent medicines, druggists' sundries 
and is doing a fine business. Is a member of the A. O. 
U. W., being foreman. His wife was Annie, daughter of 
Frank and Ellen Pritehett, born in Mt. Pleasant. They 
were married in Manti June 24, 1897. 

/TV ARSHALL, GEORGE HOWELL, M. S., principal 
III Wasatch Academy, was born near Dayton, Ohio, 
' V October 5, 1861. He was raised on a farm and 
attended school during the winter months. When he 
was 10 the family removed to Tuscola, 111., where he 
passed through high school, and then went to Lebanon, 
Ohio, taking a teacher's and scientific course at the Na- 
tional Normal University. His first school was in Cham- 
paign county, 111., where he taught several years. Taught 
one year in South Dakota. Received State certificates in 
Illinois and Dakota, also State certificate for teaching 
institutes in Illinois. Was principal and engaged in high 
school work for several years in Illinois. In '92 he came 
to Mt. Pleasant, accepting his present position. He has 
had great success in his work and given perfect satisfac- 
tion, being well liked by patrons and pupils and teachers 
under his direction. In '97 was elected a member of the 
City Council. W T as married in Tuscola, 111., August 28, 
1890, to Mary W 7 addell, who was a teacher of eight years' 
experience. They have three children : William, George 
H., Jr., and John. 

fY\ ATSON, PETER, merchant and acting bishop, son 
111 of Mons Matson and Maria Pearson, was born in 
/ * Sweden March 3, 1851. He learned the shoema- 
ker trade, joined the Mormon church at 13 and was a 
traveling elder at 18. In '73 he came to* Utah and in '74 



258 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

located in Mr. Pleasant, fallowing his trade in manufac- 
turing shoes. He performed a mission of over two years 
in Sweden, leaving for his work in 1885. Upon his re- 
turn he engaged in business with (He Hansen and con- 
ducted it. successfully till '95, when the store and cream- 
ery were consolidated under a stock company. He is sec- 
retary, treasurer and manager of the store, which com- 
prises a choice stock of dry goods, groceries, boots and 
shoes and general merchandise. Is secretary of the Mt. 
Pleasant Electric Light Company, a Republican and in- 
fluential citizen. He served as a member of the City 
Council in 1894-5 and acts as bishop while C. N. Lund 
is on a mission. His wife was Matilda Liljedahl, native 
of Sweden, born December 8, 1851. They have had twelve 
children: Augusta, John, Joseph, Otto and Ethel, liv- 
ing. Second wife was Mary Rosenlund, who had five 
children: William, Blenda, Lydia and Esther, living; 
Perry, deceased. 

/Ti CLEXAHAX, MPS. SARAH E., daughter of Wil- 
/ 1 1 Ham and Annie Reynolds, w r as born in Pleasant 
J V Grove, Utah, December 3, 1858. In '63 her pa- 
rents came to Mt. Pleasant. Her father took an active 
part in the Black Hawk war, was a member of the Mor- 
mon church and Justice of the Peace for many years. 
She was married in Mt Pleasant June 18, 1877, to James 
K. M< Ciena han. He served as Justice of the Peace one 
term and member of the City Council two years. Spent 
one year on a mission in Alabama. Was a stockraiser 
and member of the A. 0. U. W. He died May 5, 1897. 
Their children are: Annie, James W., Joseph K., Ellice 
and Clyde. 

rC\ EILING, JAMES C, farmer, son of Peter and Kat- 
/ 1 1 rina, was born in Denmark April 17, 1831. lie 
' I joined the Mormon church and came to Utah in 
'50, crossing the plains in Capt. Cowley's company, locat- 
ing in Ephraim in '57. In '59 he removed to Mt. Pleasant, 
assisted in building the fort and guarding against In- 
dians during the Black Hawk war. He took up twenty 
acres of land and now has a good seventy-acre farm three 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 259 

miles north of the city. He burned the first brick in Mr. 
Pleasant for a residence and for other buildings. Was 
water-master several years and road supervisor one term. 
In '87 he sold out. and removed to his present location. 
His first wife was Elizabeth Clemenson. They were mar- 
ried in Keokuk, Iowa, in 1856. She died in Mt Pleasant, 
Leaving two children: Peter, a farmer ami neighbor, and 
Christian, deceased. Second wife was Hannah, daugh- 
ter of Andrew and Rasmina Peterson, born in Denmark. 
They were married in 1863 and have seven children: 
Annie F., Erastus, Hannah, Sadie, Olivia, Earl and Vida. 

PT\ EYBICK, JAMES D., woolgrower, son of John and 
111 Jemima Hutchinson, was bom in Mt. Pleasant 

* I November 6, 1864. At. the age of 14 he started 
out to make his own living. In '84 he began herding 
sheep and in '90 engaged in the business with 0. P. Win- 
chester, taking sheep on shares. They continued to- 
gether for two years, when James entered the Parkville 
College in Missouri, remaining three years. On his re- 
turn from college he organized a sheepcompany known 
as the American Renburg firm, consisting of himself and 
brother George, and Charles Renburg. They keep about 
4,000 sheep and do a large buying and shipping business. 
James is also a stockholder in the Union Hide and Pelt 
Company. He was married in Mt, Pleasant May 12, 1896, 
to Annie F. Jensen. They have two children:' Pearl D. 
and Clara V. 

rpVOXSEX, JAMES, woolgrower, son of Peter and 
#11 Dorthea, was born in Mt Pleasant April 21, 1867. 

* y The family came to Utah in '58 and in the spring 
of "59 located in Mt Pleasant, living in the fort. His 
father was a. prominent man in the church, being head 
teacher and bishop's counsellor for many years. Was a 
member of the City Council for several "rears. In 1897 
he went to Denmark on a mission. James was raised on 
a farm and engaged in the sheep business. He now owns 
about 3,500 head of good sheep. Was married in Logan 
January 25, 1888, to Mary A., daughter of Hans and 



260 HISTORY OF 8ANPETE COUNTY. 

Mary Poulsen, born in Mt Pleasant July 7, 1866. They 
have four children: Marian D., Pauline, James A. and 
Hans P. 

fr\ ONSEN, JOSEPH, City Marshal, son of Peter and 
J 1 1 Dorthea, was bora in Mt. Pleasant May 1, 1863. 
/ I He was brought up on a farm, and at the age of 
21 purchased a farm, engaging in the cattle business, at 
which he has been very successful. In '05 he was elected 
City Marshal and re-elected in '97, being a popular and 
efficient officer. Was married in Mt. Pleasant November 
4, 1886, to Annette, daughter of Niels and Karen Neilson, 
bora in Mt. Pleasant October 11, 1864. They have three 
children: Florence, born September 14, 1887; Raymond, 
September 16, 1889, and Venette, December 21, 1894. 

lyf EILSON, ANDREW, farmer, son of Neils and Kama, 
JM was born in Mt. Pleasant October 14, 1864. The 
I family came from Sweden in '63 and located in this 
city. Andrew was raised to farming and has always fol- 
lowed the business. His father died here April 3, 1885, 
mother still living. He was elected City Justice in '95 
and re-elected in '97. Owns a small farm and is a stock- 
holder and secretary and treasurer of the North Creek 
Irrigation Company. 

tJt EILSON, HANS, farmer, son of Neils and Caroline, 
|M was born in Sweden March 14, 1857. The family 
I came to Mt. Pleasant when he was a small boy. He 
was raised on a farm and worked on the home for a num- 
ber of years. Was engaged for some time in freighting 
produce to the mining camps of Utah and Nevada. He 
now owns about 180 acres of land. Was married in 
Manti March 13, 1890, to Amelia, daughter of Han® J. 
and Caroline Simpson, born in Mt. Pleasant May 7, 1864. 
They have two children: Francis J., bora January 29, 
189i, and Priscilla C, January 1, 1894. 

*J EILSON, H. S., of the Sanpete County Coop, largest 
JM merchandise firm in the county, was born June 16, 
I 1853. He was a clerk in the Co-op store for several 

years, then took an interest which the family still retains. 




-r-*J - 



JAMES MONSEN, 
MT. PLEASANT. 




W. W. WOODRING, M. D., 
MT. PLEASANT. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 261 

Assisted in organizing- the Mt. Pleasant bank, and was 
cashier until his health failed and he was compelled to 
retire from business. Was married January 20, 1872, to 
Josephine, daughter of Bent, and Helena Hansen, born in 
Mt. Pleasant April 1, 1861. They have four children: 
Henry L., born November 28, 1882; Albertha, September 
28, 1884; Christine, March 29, 1889, and Olive H., March 
1, 1891. 

Ki EILSEN, N. B., deceased, was bom in Sweden July 
JM 7, 1837. He learned the trade of a carpenter. Joined 
' the Mormon church and came to Utah in '63, cross- 
ing the plains in an ox-train, and located in Ephraim. 
In 1864 he removed to Sevier county to assist in settling 
that section, but was compelled to leave on account of 
Indians, and removed to Mt, Pleasant, where he followed 
his trade for several years. He built the Neilsen House 
and conducted it as a hotel for many years. He died in 
Mt. Pleasant September 21, 1895. His wife, whom he 
married in Ephraim November 6, 1863, was Elizabeth, 
daughter of Hans and Kersta Olsen, born in Sweden 
April 6, 1830. They had three children: Mary, Eda, wife 
of F. C. Jensen, and Hilma, wife of Louis F. Becker of 
Manti. 

kf EILSON, NEILS P., farmer aud woolgrower, son of 
|M Peter aud Mattie, was born in Denmark September 
\ 8, 1816. He worked at the cooper trade, on a farm 
and at dairying. In 1867 the family came to Utah, stop- 
ping two years in Ephraim, and located in Mt. Pleasant 
in 1869. The father died here in March, 1892, mother 
still living. Neils worked in mining camps for several 
years, opened a store in Spring City in 1875 and con- 
ducted it till 1881. Removed to Pleasant. View in 1881. 
He is a successful farmer and owns over 300 acres of land 
and about 3,000 head of sheep. In company with H. C. 
Beauman and S. J. Neilson he built the Wasatch store r 
which they kept for two years and sold. Is a stock- 
holder and director in the Mt. Pleasant bank, owns stock 
in the Queen City Roller Mill; is a stockholder and direc- 
tor in the Creamerv and the Cedar Creek Reservoir Com- 



262 HISTOHY 01 SANPETE COUNTY. 

pauy. Was married in Mt. Pleasant March 20, 1875, to 
Mary D. C, daughter of Hans C. and Annie M. Davidson, 
burn in Denmark February 22, 1853. Her parents came 
here in 1865; both died in this city. Father was the first 
printer in Mt. Pleasant. Their children are: Mattie L. 
C, Voltaire X. 1'., Socrates II. A., Cortex X. A., Grace D. 
J. and Charlemagne G. E. 

At E1LS0N, N. S., president Mt. Pleasant bank and large 
J)| sheepman, son of Neils and Beuta Swenson, was 
I born in Sweden, September 5, 1848. In '68 he came 
to Utah with a sister, Hannah, locating in Moroni, where 
he engaged in farming, mining and railroading. About 
'69 herenioved to Mt. Pleasant, and in '72 became a stock- 
holder in the Sanpete County Co-op. store, the largest 
institution of its kind in the county. In '77 he engaged in 
the cattle business in a small way, and in '97 sold 1,000 
head. He started in the sheep business in '83, now having 
about 10,000 head, having bought and sold about 20,000 
in the fall of '97. When the Mt. Pleasant Commercial and 
Savings bank was organized, he became one of the largest 
stockholders and was elected president, which position he 
now holds. He also carries a small stock of agricultural 
implements. Conducted a meat market for several years. 
Is a stockholder in the Electric Light Company, and trea- 
surer; has stock in both the roller mills, being president 
of the Mt. Pleasant mill. Was a member of the City Coun- 
cil two terms, and elected Mayor in '95. Is a member of 
the I. O. O. F. His wife was Beuta, daughter of Neils and 
Kara Neilson, born in Sweden, June 5, 1860. They were 
married in Mt. Pleasant, October 3, 1883, and have had 
three children: Irene and Beatrice, living; Adie, de- 
ceased. 

WeILSON, ANDREW S., manager Sanpete County 
|M Co-op., son of Neils and Beuta Swenson, was born 
I in Sweden, June 22, 1851. In '72 he and his brother 

Hans came to Utah and engaged in mining, railroading 
and brickmaking in Juab county and near Salt Lake City. 
They came to Mt Pleasant in '76 and bought their present 
place, engaging in business with a few hundred dollars. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 263 

In '68 they built their two-story brick, keeping the small 
one, and continued to do a most prosperous business. The 
stock contains about $20,000 assortment of dry goods, 
clothing, hats and caps, boots and shoes, crockery, glass- 
ware and general merchandise. Business is owned by 
three brothers, N. S., A. 8. and H. S. Neilson, and August 
Wall, A. C, Wall, Jr., and 0. G. Bjelke. Andrew is a 
director in the Mt. Pleasant bank, president of the Queen 
City Roller Mill Company, and an influential member of 
the I. O. O. F. lodge and the Republican party. His wife 
was Hannah M., daughter of John and Sophia M. Olsen, 
born in Denmark, July 31, 1859. They were married in 
Mt. Pleasant, October 12, 1878, and have five children: 
George R., Addie C, Rhoda H., Andrew L. and Roxie C. 

OLSON, WILLIAM, farmer, son of John and Sophia 
Maria, was born on Bornholm island, Denmark, 
June 3, 1853. In '6G the family came to Utah, cross- 
ing the ocean in the ship "KenilwoTth," and the plains in 
an ox-train under Capt, Rawlins, father of Senator Raw- 
lins, and located in Mt. Pleasant. Father still lives, 88 
years of age; mother died in "82. William was brought 
up a farmer and owns a farm of forty acres. In '87 he 
engaged in the sheep business, under the firm name of 
Olson & Rosenlof. They have about 2,500 head. He as- 
sisted in organizing the Mt. Pleasant bank and the Elec- 
tric Light Company, owning stock in each. In '95 he was 
elected a member of the City Council on the Republican 
ticket, and was re-elected in '97. His wife was Sarah J., 
daughter of Harvey and Elizabeth Tidwell, born in Plea- 
sant Grove. Her parents were among the early settlers of 
Mt. Pleasant. Was married in Salt Lake City, April 10, 
'76. They have five children: William A., Berkley, Guy 
ft., Theodore and Mary E. 

0STERLIX, PETER H., farmer and carpenter, son of 
Hans P. and Hannah, was born in Sweden, Novem- 
ber 22, 1845. He learned the carpenter's trade of his 
father. The family joined the Mormon church and came 
to Utah, settling in Weber county; thence to Cache 
county, and later removed to Bear Lake, where his par- 



264 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

ents died. Peter left home at the age of 20 and lived in 
Brighani City four years, then in Salt Lake City till 7H, 
when he came to Mt. Pleasant, where he has since resided, 
and engaged in farming and carpentering. He has a nice 
twenty-five-acre farm. Was married in Salt Lake City, 
January 6, '73, to Josephina B., daughter of Jens Neil- 
sen. She died December 20, '90, leaving one child, Han- 
nah C. Married again November 2, '95, to Annetta 0. 
Larsen, nee Peterson. They have four children: Annie 
M., Josephine, Lorina and Sevelina. 

PEEL, PETER M., retired farmer, son of Henning H. 
and Karen C, was born on the island of Bornholm, 
Denmark, August 24, 1820. He learned blacksmith- 
iiig and emigrated to Utah, coming on a sailing vessel to 
New Orleans, up the Mississippi river to St. Louis and 
across the plains by ox-train, arriving in Salt Lake City 
October 5, 1854, and locating in Lehi. In this place they 
lived in an old hut covered with poles and dirt, which 
caved in, almost killing his Avife. He came to Mt. Plea- 
sant in '59, being among the first settlers, and assisted in 
building a fort. Took up twenty acres of land and farmed 
it, working winters in the blacksmith shop till three 
years ago, when he retired. In the past he served as a 
Bishop's counsellor and member of the first City Council. 
His wife was Christiana Folkman, born on the island of 
Bornholm, Denmark, August 17, 1820. They were mar- 
ried November 27, 1846, and celebrated their golden wed- 
ding in this city. Their children were: Maggie, wife of 
John Seely; Annie, wife of W. D. Candland, living; 
Christina, Christiania, Christopher F., Christian F. and 
Hannah L., deceased. 

PETERSEN, GEORGE P., farmer and woolgrower, son 
of Lars and Annie M., was born in Denmark, Janu- 
ary 8, 1856. The family joined the Mormon church 
and io '06 emigrated to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. 
Rawlins' company, and located at Moroni. In '69 they 
came to Fountain Green, where mother died in '94. 
Father is still living, at the advanced age of 94 years. 
George P. was thrown from a horse when 15 years of age, 



HISTOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 265 

breaking his right ami, which had to be amputated. He 
then herded cattle seven years and engaged in woolgrow- 
ing. Now has 3,000 sheep and a good farm of sixty-eight 
acres. Is a part owner in the Phoenix Flouring Mill. 
Served as a member of the Town Board four years. He is 
a prominent man of the town. Was married in Fountain 
Green, December 15, "78, to Annie, daughter of Hans and 
Magdalene Madsen, born in Denmark, September 14, '60. 
They have five children: Annie E., Sena H., George A., 
Louis and Mary M. In June, 1898, Mr. Peterson moved to 
Mt. Pleasant, where he expects to make his home. 

PHIPPS, ISAAC X., farmer and gardener, son of Isaac 
X. and Mary E., Avas born in Beaver county, Penn- 
sylvania, June 18, 1815. He came to Utah in '52 and 
located in West Jordan with a farmer named Joseph 
Smith. In the fall of '61 he removed to Mt. Pleasant, took 
up thirty acres of land, erected a home and has since re- 
sided here, growing small fruits and vegetables for home 
market. Is a member of the Mormon church. Was mar- 
ried in Mt. Pleasant, December 24, '76, to Emeline, daugh- 
ter of John and Jane Tidwell, born in Utah county in 
April, '55. They have six children: Louisa J., Marv E., 
Chasty R., Sarah A., Letrie M. and Leo E. 

QASMUSSEX, MORTEN, deceased, son of Rasmus and 
|T Mary, was born in Denmark October 27, 1831. In 
* 1851 he came to Utah, crossing the plains by ox- 
■ train, and located in Ephraim. He worked two years in 
Salt Lake City, returning to Ephraim, where he married 
and removed to Mt. Pleasant in April, 1859, assisting in 
building the fort. He was captain of a company in con- 
structing the fort walls. Took an active part in the Black 
Hawk war and settled on a home, where he farmed and 
engaged in lumbering. He was interested in the first 
sawmill; was a member of the City Council several years; 
a member of the board of county commissioners and a 
ward teacher eighteen years. He was a hard worker and 
assisted in organizing some of the early companies and 
industries, being a director in the Co-op store. He per- 
formed a missioL to Denmark from '81 to '83. Died in 



266 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Mt. Pleasant June 28, 1885. His wife was Kara M., 
daughter of Christian X. and Margaret Christiansen, 
born in Denmark July 26, 1842. They were married in 
Ephraim April 1, 1859, aud had twelve children: Morten, 
Sophia M., Lars C, John, Annie M., Erastus, Daniel and 
Wilford, living; Mary, Henry, George and Hyruni, de- 
teased. 

I^ASMUSSEN, MARTIN, agent for George A. Lowe, 
1 \ son of Martin ami Karen M., was born in Mt. Plea- 

V sant December 6, 1859. At the time of his birth his 
parents were living in the fort and he is probably the old- 
est resident now living that was bora in this city. He 
Avas raised on a farm and now owns about fifty acies and 
his home in the city. Is a stockholder in the Mt. Pleasant 
Roller Mills. In 1889 he accepted the agency for George 
A. Lowe and handles all kinds of farming implements, 
machinery, wagons and extras. Was married in Mt. 
Pleasant. May 27, 1880, to Nicholena, daughter of Andrew 
and Nellie Christensen. They had three children: Henry 
A., Martin L. and Nellie M. Wife died December 1, 1887, 
He was married again June 11, 1890, to Emma E., daugh- 
ter of William and Emma Jeffs, bora in England April 
12, 1859. They have had four children: Carrie and 
Jeneal, living; Rosetta E. and Lucille, deceased. 

QENBUEG, CHARLES M., of Meyriek & Renburg, 
|T sheep gatherers, son of Charles C. and Mary Larsen, 

V was born in Mt. Pleasant May 15, 180)2. His parents 
came from Denmark and located in Mt. Pleasant in 1860, 
where his father died, being killed by the Indians in 
Gooseberry Valley during the Black Hawk war in 1865. 
He was quite a prominent man in the Mormon church as 
a missionary and worker. Mother is still living in this 
city. She accidentally shot out the palm of her hand by 
handling a loaded gun during the Indian war. Charles 
was the oldest child and has had to assist in caring for 
the family by herding sheep and caattle and other work. 
In 1894 the company of Meyriek & Renburg was formed 
to collect cstray sheep for about 200 firms. In addition 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 267 

to this work they buy and ship hides aud pelts. Was 
married in Mt. Pleasant January 1, 1891, to Christina, 
daughter of Jens and Maria Gundersen, born in Mt. 
Pleasant January 29, 1870. They have had three chil- 
dren: Bertha L. and Velaria, living; Yeleto, deceased. 

I^OLPH, M. Gh, proprietor Mt. Pleasant Cigar Factory, 
|T son of Mons and Bengta, was born in Sweden De- 

V ceinber 21, 1801. The family came to Mt. Pleasant 
by ox-train in 1866. At the age of 19 he engaged in the 
mercantile business with Ids brother, N. A., who died in 
New York City in 1886. He continued the business till 
1892, when he sold out and purchased sheep, which ven- 
ture was not a success. July 15, 1896, he opened his pres- 
ent cigar factory, wdiere he employs two men and does a 
good business. His brands are Queen City Gem, San- 
pete Famous, Peerless and Honest Five. He owns the 
postoffice building and a place on either side of it. Is a 
member of the A. O. IT. W., holding the office of guide. 
Was member of the City Council four years and Deputy 
United States Marshal one year. Married in Logan April 
28, 1888, to Annie, daughter of John and Kara Knudsen. 
She had three children: Ettie, Lucille and Annie, and 
died in this city October 8, 1891. 

I^OLFSOX, JACOB, deceased, was born in Norway. 
|T He joined the Mormon church and emigrated to 

V Utah in '61, stopping in Ephraim. In 1862 he 
came to Mt. Pleasant, where he resided until the time of 
his death in 1883. He took part in the Black Hawk war, 
standing guard and oing his share. In 1877 he went to 
Norway on a two years' mission. He was always an 
active worker in church matters. His wife, Margerethe, 
still resides in Mt. Pleasant. 

l^OSENBUKG, ALMA, farmer, son of Magnus and Jo- 
IT hanna, w r as born in Mt. Pleasant February 15, 1866. 
* He was raised on a farm and for the past twelve 
years has been with John H. Seely and in the last seven 
years has been foreman. Was married in Salt Lake City 
October 10, 1891, to Carrie, daughter of Maria Halverson. 



268 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

They have two children: Gladys, born June 7, 1893, 
and Angus, October 27, 1896. 

QOSENLOF, MARTI X A., carpenter, son of Nils and 
|T Mary, was bora in Mt. Pleasant October 22, 1862. 

V He was brought up in this city, worked in the 
mines at Bingham and elsewhere and learned the carpen- 
ters trade. Is engaged as a contractor with R. Strom, 
and has assisted in erecting many of the large business 
buildings and residences of Mt. Pleasant. He is a mem- 
ber of the Mormon church and is interested in woolgrow- 
ing. Was married in Manti Temple December 17, 1890, 
to Nora, daughter of Martin and Hannah Aldrich, born 
in Mt. Pleasant December 18, 1869. They have one child: 
Vivian. 

I^OSENLOF, NILS, carpenter, son of Peter and Mary 
|T Johansen, was born in Sweden September 18, 1826. 

V He learned his trade in Sweden, joined the Mormon 
church and emigrated in I860 to the United States stop- 
ping in Omaha. In 1861 he crossed the plains in an ox- 
train under Capt. Murdock and came to Mt. Pleasant, 
where he has since resided. Took part in the Black 
Hawk war and has assisted in erecting' many of the 
buildings in this city. Is one of the Seventies' quorum. 
Was married in Sweden to Annie M., daughter of Martin 
and Annie Johansen Rosengren. They had six children: 
Olof, John, Albert, Annie, Frank and Fritz. His wife 
died in Mt, Pleasant in 1875. Second wife was Johanna, 
daughter of John and Martha Torstenson Stohl. They 
had seven children: Alfred, Hilding, Walter, Levi, Rinda, 
Ephraim and Ruby. 

P)OSENLOF, OLOF, farmer, was born in Sweden Feb- 
|T ruary 5, 1854. In 1860 the family came to the 
' United States, stopping one year in Omaha. They 
crossed the plains in an ox-train, settled, for a time in 
Provo and came to Mt. Pleasant in the fall of 1861. The 
family then << insisted of parents, Olof and brother John. 
They resided in the fort two years. When he was 15 he 
joined the brass band and was alloted ten acres of land. 




MARTIN ALDRICH. 
MT. PLEASANT. 




JACOB HAFEN. 
MT. PLEASANT. 



HIST0R5T OF SANPETE COUNTY. 269' 

Has followed farming and is quite extensively interested 
in wool growing. He was one of the first stockholders in 
the Mt. Pleasant bank and is now a director. Is a direc- 
tor in the Electric Light Company and a stockholder iiL 
the Mt. Pleasant Roller Mills. He is one .of the leading 
farmers of the city. Was married in Salt Lake City Octo- 
ber 18, 1875, to Christina, deughter of Hans and Caroline 
Simpson, born in Lehi, Utah, April 17, 1858. They have 
eight children: Carrie, Elzina, Parley O., Virgie, Wil- 
liam, Abner, Leo and Chrystal P. 

SEELY, JOHN H., farmer, stockraiser and wool- 
grower, son of Justus W. and Clarissa J., was born 
in San Bernardino, Cal., April 29, 1855. The family 
removed to Mt. Pleasant in 1859, where he was educated 
and grew up a fanner. At the age of 21 he had nothing 
and made a start at hauling mine timbers in Bingham. 
He secured about 3,800 sheep on shares and at the end of 
three years had about 10,000 head. He now owns about 
6,000 high-grade French merinos, having expended muck 
in breeding both sheep and cattle, owning 200 head bred 
from Durham. Also has fifty fine Berkshire hogs, thor- 
oughbred Scotch collie dogs and Plymouth Rock chick- 
ens. Owns a good home in the city and has several hun- 
dred acres of land, raising about 2,000 bushels of grain 
and cutting 600 tons of hay annually. Is a stockholder 
in the Mt. Pleasant Roller Mill Company, the Electric 
Light Company and Wool and Live Stock Commissions 
Company, assisting in their organization. He owns a 
sawmill in the canyon and a planing mill in the city. Is 
a Republican in politics, a member of the A. O. U. W. and 
was a member of the City Council for six years. His wife- 
was Margaret, daughter of Peter M. and Christina, Folk- 
man Peel, born in Lehi March 1, 1858. They were mar- 
ried in Salt Lake City January 15, 1880, and have eight 
children: Ethel A., Zella G., Earl H., John L., Leonard 
J., Arbretia C, Lucretia V. and Chesley P. 

SEELY, JOSEPH, farmer and lumberman, son of Jus- 
tus W. and Clarissa J., was born in Mt. Pleasant 
March 30, 1862. He was reared on a farm and on 
the death of his father purchased the interest of some of 

9 



270 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

his heirs, thus getting a fine tract of seventy-four acres, 
which he cultivates. In company with two brothers. 
John ami Stuart, he owns and operates the Seely saw- 
mill. Was two years engaged in temple work aud per- 
formed a mission of two years to Kentucky. His first 
wife was Sarah EL, daughter of Samuel and Harriet 
Allen, born in Alt. Pleasant September 5, 1864; married 
in Logan. She died March 4, 1S87, leaving one child, 
Sarah H., born February 15, 1887. Second wife was 
Adella E., daughter of Nils and Caroline 01 sen, born in 
Moroni December 24, 1869. They were married in Manti 
October 25, 1893, and have three children: Joseph F., 
born September 6, 1894; Justus O., November 28, 1895, 
and Adella C, April 14, 1897. 

5EELY, JUSTUS W., deceased, son of Justus A. and 
Mehetable Bennett, was born in Pickering, Home 
District, Upper Canada, January 30, 1815; died in 
Mt. Pleasant April 24, 1894. He learned the cooper's 
trade from his father in Upper Canada. Joined the Mor- 
mon church in 1837 and went to Caldwell county Mo., 
August, 1838; came in an ox-train to Utah, arriving in 
Salt Lake City September 30, 1817. On March 13, 1851, 
he left by ox team for San Bernardino, Cal., where he re- 
sided till December, 1857, when he returned to Pleasant 
Grove, and in 1859 located in Mt. Pleasant, assisting in 
erecting the fort. In I860 he built the home where his 
wife now resides. He assisted in putting in the first 
steam sawmill in the canyon and was in that business 
many years. The first mowing machine, horse rake, 
twine binder, thresher and fanning mill purchased in the 
city were his. He served as bishop's counsellor seventeen 
years; was Justice of the Peace twenty years; member of 
the City Council twenty years and Marshal for several 
years. He was surgeon and dentist for the town for 
many years, pulling teeth and setting fractured bones. 
His wife, whom he married at Galland, Iowa, March 10, 
1812, was Clarissa Jane, daughter of Hassard and Sarah 
Seely Wilcox, born in Carmi, White county, 111., October 
1, 1821. They had three children born in Iowa: Orange, 
Sarah and Don Carlos, who, with their mother, were 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 271 

awarded pioneer medals at the Jubilee in 1897. Their 
other children were: Hyrum, Justus W., William EL, 
John H., Mary M., David A., Joseph and Stuart R. Sec- 
ond wife, married in Mt. Pleasant November IT, 1873, 
was Sarah J. McKinney. She had one child, Eva R. 

SEELY, MORONI, farmer and stockraiser, son of 
Bishop William S. and Elizabeth De Hart, was 
born in Salt Lake City May 29, 1848. The family 
came to Mt. Pleasant in 1859 and he engaged with his 
father in riding the range. In 1872 he took a four-mule 
team and freighted produce to the mining towns of Utah 
and Nevada, afterward engaging in the cattle business, 
without capital. He lived in Indianola during the lirst 
three years of ranging and then removed to this city, 
allowing Ms cattle to increase until he had about 1,000 
head. He is now a large property owner in the city and 
vicinity; has about 200 acres of land beside city property 
and about 100 sheep. His wife was Alice, daughter of 
John and Susannah Barton, bom in Bountiful, Utah, 
' May 2, 1850. They were married in Salt Lake City April 
10, 1872, and have nine children: Alice V., Cyrus M., 
Clara, George L., Luanda M., Orson R., Mell Gay, Arta 
J. and Catherine Verda. 

SEELY, STUART R., farmer, son of Justus W. and 
Clarissa J., was born in Mt. Pleasant February 16, 
1865. He was raised a farmer and has followed 
that work with other occupations. In 1890 he and his 
brothers John and Joseph built a sawmill in Ralston 
canyon, where he has worked at getting out timber. He 
owns a farm of seventy-five acres, three miles north of 
the city, where he erected a home in 1894, and tills the 
soil and raises stock. His wife, whom he married in 
Manti July 16, 1894, was Millie, daughter of Fred and 
Christina Nielson. Thev have one child, FerryR., born 
February 14, 1895. 

SEELY, BISHOP WILLIAM S., deceased, of Mt. 
Pleasant, was a native of Upper Canada, born in 
Pickering, Home district, May 18, 1812. His par- 
ents were Justus A. and Mehittabel Bennet Seel v. He 



272 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

joined the Mormon church in 1838 and came to Utah 
with the pioneers of 1847. He lived for a time in Salt 
Lake City, Pleasant Grove, and was one of the first set- 
tlers in Mt. Pleasant, in 1859. He was bishop thirty 
years, Mayor several years, took part all through the 
Black Hawk war, rilled two missions to Canada, going 
in 1873 and again in 1878. He had three wives, two of 
whom are still living. His first wife was Elizabeth De 
Hart, who died April 6, 1873. Six children are living, 
Elizabeth, Emily, Moroni, Emeline, Joseph X. and Lu- 
cinda. Second wife was Ellen Jackson, the children are, 
Justus L. and William S. Third wife was Ann Watkins, 
and her children are William A. and Anna E. Bishop 
Seely was an active and prominent citizen in local af- 
fairs and well and favorably known throughout the 
State. He died September 17, 1896. 

Q^HULTZ, HANS J. H., farmer, son of Hans H. and 
^^ Anna M. Jorgensen, was bom in Junland, Den- 
mark, July 18, 1841. At the age of 11 he joined the 
Mormon church, and being well educated, taught the 
English language to those intending to emigrate to the 
United States. Was engaged in teaching emigrants for 
three years. In 1863 he came to Utah, crossing the plains 
by ox-train in Capt. Young's company, and located in 
Mt. Pleasant. He engaged in farming, bought a small 
farm and now owns fifty-five acres. Was active during 
the Black Hawk war, doing his share of guarding. 
Taught school for two winters. Was for many years 
a member of the Elders' quorum. His mother came with 
him and still resides at his home. She was born June 
27, 1807. 

SIMPSON, HANS J., one of the oldest settlers of Mt. 
Pleasant, son of James and Amelia, was born in 
Denmark January 12, 1824. In 1854 he emigrated to 
Utah, crossing the plains in an ox-train, under Oapt. 
Olsen. He lived in Salt Lake City till 1858, then removed 
to Ephraim, and on April 10, 1859, came to Mt. Pleasant, 
assisting in building the fort, and lived in it for one year. 
He erected a log house where his present residence is, 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 273 

took up twenty acres of land and has continued farming. 
Now owns a nice farm of fifty acres. Took an active part 

in the Black Hawk war; carried express for some time. 
Served as a ward teacher for over thirty-five yeais and 
was ordained a high priest. Was married in Salt Lake 
City September 13, IS.")."), to Caroline, daughter of Hen- 
ning P. and Karen C. Peal, born in Denmark March 5, 
183<>. Her parents were among the early settlers of 1860 
in this city. They have ten children: Christina, Mary, 
Caroline, Millie, James, Peter, Hannah, Christian and 
Mina, living; Joseph, deceased. 

SORENSEN, C. W., teacher in public schools, son of 
Christian and Christina, was born in Mt. Pleasant, 
November 1, 1863. He was raised on a farm, at- 
tending school in winters, and at the age of 20 entered 
the B. Y. Academy at PrOvo, taking a two years' course. 
Has taught school in this city ever since, except '92 and 
'94, when he performed a mission to Aarhus, Denmark, 
presiding over that conference. Was principal of the pub- 
lic schools in '01. Was City Recorder two years, City As- 
sessor and Collector four years, and in '97 was elected a 
member of the City Council. He carries on farming to 
some extent. Was married in Mt. Pleasant, March 1, 
1885, to Dena, daughter of Christian and Cidsel M. Han- 
sen. Her parents came to Utah in '58 with the first Scan- 
dinavians. Wife died September 25, 1888. He married 
again in Manti, June 21, '91, to Eva, daughter of Jorgen 
and Hannah Madsen, born in Manti, April 12, '72. They 
have had two children: Luella, born April 4, 1892, died 
February 27, '97, and Ruby V., bom June 19, '96. 

S TAKER, JAMES B., of the firm of Staker & Hansen, 
planing mill, son of Nathan and Eliza, was born in 
Pleasant Grove, Utah, February 7, 1858. The fam- 
ily removed to Mt. Pleasant in '59, his father taking an 
active part in the Black Hawk war, and being prominent 
IE church matters as president of the High Priests. He 
died in this city March 29, 1884. James was raised a far- 
mer, and now owns a fine farm of 100 acres. He is a mem- 



27-4 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

ber of the A. O. U. W. In '92 the planing mill firm of 
Hansen, Staker & Johnson began business, owning also 
a sawmill. In "95 the firm changed to Staker & Hansen, 
James running the mill most all the time since. They 
have a good plant costing about $5,000, and manufacture 
rustic, ceiling, flooring, mouldings, with scroll sawing 
and turning. The firm assisted in organizing the Queen 
City Roller Mills Company. He was married in Salt Lake 
City, June 10, 1880, to Elizabeth C, daughter of John F. 
and Elizabeth Fechser, born in Mt. Pleasant, January 30, 
i861. They have had seven children: Elizabeth C, Eliza 
M., James B., Grace P., John F., Flossie R. and Meddie 
C, living; Nathan J., deceased. 

5TROM, JOHN E., carpenter, son of Joseph and Maria, 
was born in Sweden, October 16, 1844. He learned 
the carpenter's trade. Joined the Mormon church 
and in '70 came to Mt. Pleasant, where he has since fol- 
lowed his trade. Was engaged in the undertaker's busi- 
ness for fifteen years. Was a large stockholder and a 
director in the Co-op. store until it failed. Is a stock- 
holder in the Mt. Pleasant bank, the Mt. Pleasant Roller 
Mills and the Electric Light Company. His wife, whom 
he married in Salt Lake City, October 13, 1872, was 
Sophia M. Ohman, born in Sweden. She died in Mt. Plea- 
sant, May 4, 1894. 

5TROM, RUDOLPH, carpenter, son of John E. and 
Sophia, was born in Upsala, Sweden, January 22, 
1862. In '72 the family came to Utah and located in 
Mt. Pleasant. He was raised here and learned the carpen- 
ter's trade, which he now follows. During the past six 
years he and Albert Rosenlof have worked together, as- 
sisting in the construction of many of the prominent 
baildings of Mt. Pleasant. He was a member of the City 
Council one term. Was married in Fairview, October 10, 
1S86, to Louisa, daughter of August and Mary Rauche, 
born in Fredrikshald, Norway, February 17, 1864. They 
have three children: Theresa, born July 2, '87; John A., 
February 24, '89, and 01 ga, November 7, '91. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 2(0 

5YKDERGAAED, A. J., farmer, son of James C. and 
Annie K., was born in Denmark, in the village of 
Sunby, May 11, 1851. His father died when he was 
a boy of 7, and his mother, with two sons and two daugh- 
ters, came to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox-train un- 
der Capt. Madsen, arriving in Mt. Pleasant in October, 
'62. They bought a farm and the boys worked it. He now 
owns a good forty-five-aere farm. Was a policeman in 
this city several years and a member of the City Council 
one year. His wife was Maria, daughter of Niels and 
Christiana Johansen, born in Aalborg, Denmark, June 2, 
1850. Her parents were old residents of Mt. Pleasant. 
A. J. and Maria were married in Salt Lake City in Octo- 
ber, '69, and have had thirteen children: Gertrude, Kate, 
Anna M., Hyrum, Anthony, James, Olive, Parley and 
Hortense, living; Christina, Andrew, Lars and Joseph, 
deceased. 

I J A\LL, AUGUST, retired carpenter, son of Carl F. 
VJL/ and Katrina, was born in Sweden, August 8, 
1839. He learned the carpenter's trade in Sweden, 
joined the Mormon church and emigrated to Utah in ? 64, 
locating in Mt. Pleasant. His parents and sister came 
here in '63. Both parents are now dead. He worked at his 
trade till '90, when he retired from active life. When the 
Sanpete County Co-op. store was started in ? 73 he became 
a shareholder, and has seen the business grow until it is 
the largest of the kind in the county. Has three sons en- 
gaged in the store. He is also a stockholder in the Mt . 
Pleasant bank. Was married in Mt. Pleasant, February 
2, 1869, to Hannah Xeilson, born in Sweden, December 
14, 1842. They have four sons living: Oscar F., cashier of 
the bank; August C, Edward W. and Henry F., clerks in 
Sanpete County Co-op. store. 

I f AlLDEMAR, AXEL B., City Watermaster, son of 
VJL/ James and Nellie, was born in Sweden, January 
22, 1862. He came to Mt. Pleasant in '73, residing 
with his uncle, Neils Waldemar, till at the age of 16 he 
started out for himself. He worked at different mining 
camps and on railroads until he was married and settled 



276 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

down in this city. In "96 he was appointed City Water- 
master, which position he still holds, giving good satis- 
faction. Is a member of the Mt. Pleasant Lodge No. 20, 
I. O. O. F., in which he was Noble Grand in '97. His wife, 
whom he married in Mt. Pleasant, October 22, 1890, was 
Annie C, daughter of George and Martha C. Tuft, born in 
Mt. Pleasant, June 2, 1872. They have two children: 
Ariel, born July 31, '91, and Neva, October 14, '93. 

1 I /ALDEMAB, JOHN, farmer, son of Asmund and 

\XJ Hannah, was born in Sweden September 12, 
1837. He studied music and became a good per- 
former on the violiu, flute and cornet. Also learned the 
trade of brickmaker. Joined the Mormon church and 
came to Utah in 1859, crossing the plains in an ox-train 
under Capt. Neslen, and located in Mt. Pleasant. As- 
sisted in building the fort walls and lived in a dugout in- 
side. Tie worked at his trade and played in the Taberna- 
cle choir for many years. Had a meat market several 
years and started the Sanpete County Co-op store, being 
secretary for a time and connected with the store till 
1886. He was active as a minute man in Capt. Day's com- 
pany during the Black Hawk war. Served as a member 
of the City Council two years. Owns a nice farm of fifty 
acres and a good home north of the city. Was first mar- 
ried in Mt. Pleasant March 19, 1862, to' Sophia, daughter 
of Andrew and Ingreed Meneur, a native of Sweden. 
Second wife was Elizabeth, daughter of Henry and Inge- 
bord Eriksen, born May 10, 1863. She had eleven chil- 
dren: John L., Elizabeth E.. Hannah, Louis F., Nels A., 
Ella C, James A., Erick and Ralph L., living: Henry E. 
and Ada H., deceased. 

1 J fiEST, THOMAS, farmer and woolgrower, son of 
\XJ Thomas and Harriet Moore, was born in St 
Joseph, Mo., October 1, 1853. Father died in 
Missouri, the mother with Thomas and sister Elizabeth 
coming to Utah in 1855. They located in Salt 1/ake, 
where his mother married Sam Allen, removing to Provo, 
thence to Mt. Pleasant in 1863. When 18 years of age 
Thomas started out for himself, working for three vears 




J. G CHRISTENSEN, 
MT. PLEASANT. 




THOMAS WEST. 
MT. PLEASANT. 



HISTORY OF 8ANPETE COUNTY. 277 

at railroading and in mining camps. He returned to this 
city, purchased a forty-acre farm in Chester, built a 
house and added to his farm till he now has about 200 
acres. In 1895 he moved to Mt. Pleasant He engaged 
in the sheep business in 1888 and has about 3,000 head. 
Was one of the organizers and a director of the Chester 
Reservoir and Ditch Company and later treasurer and 
superintendent. Is a stockholder in the Mt. Pleasant 
Electric Light Company, the Queen City Roller Mill Com- 
pany, of which he was president two years, and the Cen- 
tral Utah Wool Company at Manti. His wife, whom he 
married in Mt Pleasant, was Emma, daughter of Isaac 
and Emma Allred, born in Ogden October 15, 1857. They 
have five children: Grace, Wilford, Idella, Zella and 
Ray. 

1 I t HITTAKER, RICHARD, wool and sheep-buyer, 
\XJ was born near Manchester, England, July 5, 
1857. He came to Utah in 1872, located in Salt 
Lake City and soon engaged in the sheep and cattle busi- 
ness in the employ of James D. Powell of Lehi, where he 
spent several years. Was afterwards foreman for Jonas 
Erekson for ten years, then engaged in the business for 
himself, his dealings being very extensive. During the 
last few years he has given his attention to buying and 
shipping wool and sheep. He has also been interested 
for the past eighteen years in mining in the West Tintic 
district. Is manager of the Burlington Mining Company, 
which owns a group of fine claims, which is being devel- 
oped, taking out a large amount of low-grade ore. He 
is also interested with A. A. Cahoon in copper claims in 
the Deseret Mining district He has a large dipping and 
shearing corral in Thistle Valley. Is a member of the 
A. O. L T . W. His wife, whom he married in Mt. Pleasant, 
was Ida Waldemar, a native of Sweden They have three 
children : Viola ,Indra and Alene. 

\ J f ILCOX, CANDACE B., City Treasurer, daughter 

*aJ of C. C. and Mary N. Rowe, was born in Fremont, 

Iowa, July 24, 1857. In 1852 the family came to 

Utah, crossing the plains in Oapt Jolley's train, locating 



278 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

in Pay sou till 1860, when they removed to Mt. Pleasant. 
Her father was a member of Company A of the Mormon 
Battalion and receives a pension from the Government. 
He was active in the Walker war, being Second Lieuten- 
ant, Company B of Pnyson Post, Nauvoo Legion. In the 
Black Hawk war he was Second Lieutenant in the Silver 
G-ueys. Candace was married to Joseph Wilcox, a farmer 
of this city. He died in Mt. Pleasant December 30, 1888. 
She was elected City Treasurer on the Democratic ticket 
at the election of November, 1897. Her children are: 
Mary M., Isabella C, Annie, Joseph W., David, Benjamin 
F., Hymm W. and Bessie J. 

1 I f ILCOX, JOHN HENRY, farmer, was born in Ar- 
\XJ kansas February 11, 1821. The family removed 
to Marion county, Mo., where his father died. 
His mother joined the Mormon church in Marion county, 
moved to Jackson county, then to Clay, then to Caldwell 
and Lee counties, Mo., then going to Lee county, Iowa, 
from which they departed for Salt Lake City in ox team 
with John Taylor, arriving September 3.0, 1817. In 1850 
John removed to Manti, thence to Pleasant Grove and 
North Ogden, and in 1800 came to Mt. Pleasant. He took 
up twenty acres of land, which he still owns, with his res- 
idence in the city. When the Walker war broke out he 
worked in Pleasant Creek canyon and lost his wagon 
and lumber and two yoke of oxen. He took an active 
part in the Indian war. His wife was Mary, daughter of 
James and Elizabeth Seely Young, born in LTpper Can- 
ada, June 6, 1831. She drove three yoke of oxen across 
the plains, assisted in hauling logs to build her parents' 
home and moulded the adobes for the chimney. They 
were married in Salt Lake City, March 11, 1S18. Their 
children are: Hassard, Elizabeth, Sarah, James H., John 
0., Mary, Clarissa, Ella, Hannah, Martha and Justus. 

1 I /INTERS, MORGAN A., farmer, son of Hyrum A. 
\XJ and Elizabeth, was born in Mt. Pleasant, Novem- 
ber 30, 1863. His parents came to Mt. Pleasant 
in '61, where his father studied medical works and was a 
practicing physician for several years. Morgan was 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 279 

brought up a farmer and became interested in woolgrow- 
ing. He was engaged in the sheep business for eight 
jears, owning as many as 7,000 head, when he sold out 
and returned to the farm. He now has a nice farm of 
about thirty-seven acres southeast of the city. His wife 
was Lydia, daughter of Daniel F. and Susan B. Tebbs, 
born in Cedar Fort, Utah, Sept. 20, 1867. She is engaged 
in the millinery business and has a good, choice stock of 
goods. They were married in Panguitch, August 6, '89, 
and have one child, Usher. 

I I A30DRING, WILLIAM W., M. D., son of Jacob and 
\XJ Mary A. Hahn, was born in Elizabethtown, Ky., 
May 25, 1841. He was raised in Kentucky and 
attended the Louisville School of Physicians, the Miami 
of Cincinnati, the National University of Chicago and the 
Medical University of Kansas City. He served in the 
Civil War two years and nine months, holding the rank 
of Captain of Fourth Kentucky Infantry, on the Confed- 
erate side, and saw much of active military service. Has 
practiced medicine in Bedford, Ind. ; Independence, Kan. ; 
Kansas City, Mo., and in '87 came to Utah, locating at 
Moroni for eighteen months, when he came to Mt. Plea- 
sant, where he has a fine practice and is well liked. He is 
a Mason of high degree, a Shriner since '69 and an Odd 
Fellow since '72. Has been a continuous member of a 
medical society for thirty-one years. Is a prominent and 
active Democrat, always taking a leading part in Na- 
tional affairs. Was a delegate from Kansas to Cincinnati 
and helped nominate Gen. Hancock for the Presidency. 
In Utah he has been a member of the State Central and 
Executive Committees three years. Is United States Pen- 
sion Examiner, having served in that capacity fourteen 
years. He has a large practice and spends Thursday of 
each week in Moroni. Was married in Bedford, Ind., Aug- 
ust 17, 1867, to Phoebe Ray, a native of Indiana, who died 
in Kansas, leaving four children : Samuel H., a lumber 
merchant in Texarkana, Tex.; Willie H., a pharmacist 
and proprietor Woodring's Pharmacy, Salt Lake City, 
living; James H. and Lyre, deceased. Second wife was 
Mary V. Snauffer, a native of Maryland. She had four 






280 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

children: John J., one of the proprietors of The Pyramid; 
S. Lewis, a pharmacist, and Mary C, living; William W., 
deceased. 

ZABBISKIE, WILLIAM, fanner, son of L. O. and Mary 
Higbee, was born in Quincy, 111., September 13, 1839. 
The family crossed the plans in '51 in Roswell Ste- 
vens' company, and settled in Provo, where they lived 
nine years. In the spring of "GO they located in Fairview. 
He took part in the Walker and Blackhawk wars, being 
in Mt. Pleasant in '59, tinally locating here in '61, where 
he opened a store and conducted it till '70; engaged in 
mining two years and entered the law office of R. H. 
Robertson in Salt Lake City. He was admitted to the bar 
in Provo, March 27, 1876, and has practiced in this city 
and the District Court until about two years ago. Was 
United States Commissioner about six years. He incor- 
porated the Mt. Pleasaut Milling Company, of which 
he was secretary; also the Moroni and Mt Pleasant Irri- 
gation and Ditch Company, being secretary and now a 
director. He procured the franchise and effected the in- 
corporation of the Mt. Pleasant Electric Light Company, 
of which he is a stockholder. His wife, whom he married 
at Fairview, August 20, 1859, was Christine Nelson. They 
have seven children: William H., Helena, Isaac N., Char- 
lotte, Ida, Lewis C. and Edward A. 



EPHRAIM. 



EPHRAIM is situated near the geographical center 
of Sanpete county, seven miles northeast of Manti 
and 118 miles south of Salt Lake City. The loca- 
tion is a beautiful elevation near the base of the Wasatch 
mountains, commanding a pleasant view of the greater 
portion of the famous granary of Utah. It is the second 
city in the county in age, the third in population and oc- 
cupies about equal prominence with competitors in com- 
mercial transactions and business qualifications. Being 
at the point of intersection of the Rio Grande Western 
and Sanpete Valley railroads the place is commonly 
known as the "Junction City of Sanpete." The city is 
surrounded by the evidences of agricultural prosperity, 
with 10,000 acres of magnificent farms, yielding immense 
crops of golden grain, for supplying the home demand 
for bread, and furnishing many carloads every year for 
exporting to other less favored sections. 

The first attempt at making a settlement on the 
present site of Ephraim was made in the fall of 1850, 
by Isaac Behunnin, one of the Sanpete pioneers of '19, 
who observed that "Pine creek had more water and the 
location was better for a town than anywhere in the 
valley." He met with much opposition, however, from 
the wily Indians, who did not appreciate his efforts at 
ditch building and cultivating the soil. The red men 
forced him to return to Manti and await reinforcements 
before converting the desert into its present land of 
paradise. Many of the original pioneers of the valley 
looked upon this chosen spot as a most desirable loca- 
tion but could not collect a sufficient band of fearless 
veterans to insure personal safety until 1854. 

In early spring of this year (1854) Reuben W. Allred 
with fifteen families located the site of Ephraim and 
began the erection of homes and cultivating the soil. 



282 HISTORY <>F SANPETE COUNTY. 

These hardy sons and daughters of civilization had at- 
tempted a settlement at Spring City the previous year, 
but were driven away by Indians. TJie fort they had 
constructed was burned and the savages destroyed every 
vestige of colonization, thinking the people would never 
leave the fort at Manti. But, the land and water and 
delightful situation for a colony impelled those home- 
seekers to pitch tents on Ephraim lields and the present 
magnificent city proves conclusively their efforts were 
not in vain. Here are combined a delightful climate, 
pure mountain water, fertile soil and a progressive, in- 
dustrious and contented population. 

The first two years in the history of Ephraim were 
days of disappointments and tribulations such as none 
but the most determined men and women could endure. 
Frost killed the first crop of grain and grasshoppers de- 
stroyed almost every other species of vegetation. The 
Indians prowled 'round day and night and attacked 
herders and wood haulers when found alone or a few 
hundred 1 yards from Hie settlement. A fort was con- 
structed as soon as possible and houses built inside to 
protect the people and shelter the stock from Indiau 
depredations. On July 4, 1854, the first celebration of 
Independence day in this city, Henry Beal and Mary 
Thorpe were married, being the first couple united in 
matrimony within the new colony. The small fort was 
completed this season and people went into winter quar- 
ters. 

During the fall of '54 a number of Scandinavian 
families were sent from Salt Lake City to join the colony 
and strengthen it against the Indian foes. The small 
group of homeless people remained in the fort through 
a long, severe winter, with many vexatious troubles to 
combat, but notwithstanding the combinations of hunger, 
cold and Indian hostilities, they enjoyed excellent health 
and the following spring found them in good spirits, 
ready to continue the work of conquering the desert and 
building homes in the midst of poverty and savage ene- 
mies. A second and larger fort was erected in '55, but 
the grasshoppers did not respect even this effort at self 
preservation, for they came by the millions and greedily 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 283 

devoured everything upon which they alighted. Men, 
women and children became warriors in the battle for 
bread and fought day and night to destroy the pests. 

The co-operative plan was adopted by the original 
colonists and one common tield, irrigated from the waters 
of Pine creek, through union ditches, was occupied. In 
'57 a bountiful harvest crowned the efforts of the sturdy 
husbandmen and the granaries were tilled with an abund- 
ance of the staff of life. Reuben W. Allred was the pre- 
siding bishop and instituted schools and social amuse- 
ments for the educating and interesting of old and young, 
and the time passed more pleasantly and comfortably 
than the preceding winters. During the three winters 
following the loss of crops, provisions were scarce and 
the small food supply had to be carefully hoarded and 
divided among the people, but with the good crop of '57 
a change came over the struggling colonists and they re- 
joiced at the dawning of prosperity. In 1860 the city 
lots were surveyed and the families left the forts to build 
homes upon their own land, which was divided and pro- 
portioned as in other early settlements of Utah. No 
elegant mansions were constructed but the houses were 
built of logs and adobes or stone as each family could 
afford, and individual work began to be placed upon 
the several properties. Men engaged in farming and 
stock-raising and have continued at that work until the 
present comfortable homes, rich fields and fine barns 
show the effects of well-directed energy and thorough 
mastery of the details of business. The natural facili- 
ties were such as to develop the inert powers of man- 
hood and create a bond of friendship entirely foreign to 
deceitfulness and self-aggrandizement, hence Ephraim 
grew and prospered by honesty and industry. 

A company of Ephraim citizens was called in 1865 
to settle Circle Valley and educate the Indians to the 
American customs of agricultural peace. They built 
houses, constructed irrigating ditches and cleared land 
preparatory to conquering the desert and making homes, 
but the Indians decided their presence was too much 
indication of approaching civilization. In November, 
after the colonists were settled for the winter, the In- 



84 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

dians raided the settlement, killed some of the people 
and drove away The stock. The next spring repeated 
raids were made and in July, 1866, the place was aban- 
doned and the settlers returned to Ephraim, every family 
losing almost everything they possessed. They began 
life anew in Ephraim and today many are among the 
wealthiest and most respected families of the city. 

Ephraim was incorporated as a city February 14, 
1868, with an area of one and one-half square miles. The 
conservative policy adopted by the several municipal au- 
thorities is still a remarkable characteristic and in con- 
sequence, the city has no indebtedness; taxes are low; 
contagious and epidemic diseases are practically un- 
known, because of the ditches and streets being kept 
clean and quarantine measures strictly enforced. The 
present population consists of about 3000 people, engaged 
chiefly in agricultural pursuits and kindred occupations. 
Ephraim now has numerous mercantile houses; good 
hotels; modern and well-equipped saw and grist mills; 
a good newspaper; well-appointed drug stores and prac- 
tical druggists; model and thorough public schools and 
the Sanpete Stake Academy; and is one of the most moral 
and law-observing cities of central Utah. 

The commercial interests of Ephraim have always 
been conservative and carefully guarded by thoughtful 
and responsible financiers. The co-operative system was 
inaugurated in early days and has been generally ob- 
served. Irrigation being the basis of prosperity has 
commanded universal attention and the water has been 
generously yet economically managed and equally dis- 
tributed. The Cottonwood Canal and Tunnel Company, 
incorporated November 9, 1894, with a capital stock of 
$ 45,000, and the Sand Ridge Reservoir and Canal. Com- 
pany, incorporated December 22, 1897, with a capital 
stock of $20,000, with numerous individual and co-oper- 
ative farm ditches, supply sufficient water for irrigating' 
the surrounding fields that yield immense crops of cereals 
for which the county is noted throughout the West. 
TV a term asters are employed and the water is distributed 
at a nominal expense to each individual irrigator. 

The shipment of grain, wool and farm products has 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 285 

become quite an extensive business in Ephraim and many 
thousands of dollars are received annually by citizens in 
payment for articles exported to foreign markets. 
Among- the rirms interested in handling produce none 
are more successful, nor have been of greater service to 
the people than 0. Andrews & Co. of Xephi. A branch 
house has been maintained in Ephraim by Peter Greaves, 
Sr., president of the company, who has shipped many 
trainloads of grain and other marketable produce and 
furnished a home demand for the farmers' surplus. John 
Otterstrom is also a heavy shipper in grain, butter, eggs, 
etc. Previous to the building of railroads many local 
teams were employed in freighting produce to the mining 
camps and other markets, and in this manner some of 
the best citizens accumulated sufficient means to pur- 
chase farms. 

In 1890 the Rio Grande Western railroad was com- 
pleted to Ephraim, and the event celebrated by a grand 
banquet given the officials. This opened up the hither- 
to hidden avenues of commerce with the outside 
world and stimulated all kinds of financial enterprises. 
The farmers Sound a better cash market for their grain 
and produce and ranchmen were enabled to ship their 
sheep and cattle to the large Eastern markets. Since 
then there has been a constant flow of money to the 
residents of this city, in payment for products shipped 
and general prosperity prevails everywhere. The rail- 
road company erected a commodious depot and has al- 
ways kept obliging agents and furnished first-class pas- 
senger and freight service. 

The Sanpete Valley railroad was added to the re- 
sources of Ephraim in 1893] and thereby connected this 
city with the markets not reached by the Rio Grande 
Western. A good depot was erected near the business 
street and within a few rods of the other railroad office, 
and Ephraim at once sprang into prominence as the 
Junction City. Many citizens were employed in con- 
structing this road, under the management of Henry 
Beal, and some are still engaged in keeping the roadbed 
in repair. Regular trains pass through Ephraim daily 
over both roads, insuring the verv best accommodai ions 



286 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

for business men and commercial travelers. The revenue 
derived from taxation of these corporations assists very 
materially in paying the expenses of the municipality, 
hence taxes are lower here than elsewhere in the county. 

A flouring mill was built in the canyon east of 
the city in the early days, by Manti parties, and has later 
been changed to modern process, with all the improved 
facilities for making flour. The Climax Mills are noted 
far and near for superior products of breadstuff's, and 
shipments are made to all the principal local markets. 
The excellent hard wheat grown by irrigation finds a 
market in the leading Western cities and the value of 
Ephraim as a bread and grain producer is known at home 
and abroad. The mill is owned and operated by home 
people, interested in the development of home enterprises 
and is an index of the business abilities of the citizens. 
An electric light and power plant may some day be 
added to this, and its usefulness increased. 

The Ephraim Equitable Creamery was built in the 
summer of 1895 by a stock company. Officers were 
Christian Willardsen, president; D. W. Anderson, vice- 
president; George Larsen, secretary; S. P. Peterson, 
treasurer, with P. K. Olsen, Ephraim Peterson and C, P. 
Neilson completing the direct 017. The stock is now 
owned principally by George Larsen, Ephraim Peterson 
and C. P. Neilson, who conduct, the business. They man- 
ufacture butter and cheese of superior quality and pay 
good prices for milk, thus creating a home cash market 
for the farmers' product. The creamery is well located 
and with the best possible shipping facilities, gives as- 
surance of becoming a permanent and successful financial 
addition to the Junction City. 

In 1892 Oluf Neilson attempted to establish a home 
foundry for casting »* ^ n nd brass, but gave up the enter- 
prise because of the thought that work would be insuf- 
ficient to justify the outlay for necessary machinery. In 
1898 he returned to this city and in company with Paul 
B. Alder of Manti put in a first-class plant. They are 
fully equipped with all kinds of machinery and prepared 
to do casting in iron and brass for repairing farm imple- 
ments, stoves and other necessities in their line. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 2b7 

Ephraim is strictly an agricultural community, 
though many of the prominent citizens are engaged in 
stock-raising and wool-growing in addition to cultivating 
their farms and orchards. But little interest has ever 
developed in mining prospects, though some excellent 
showings of good con) .— ■• '"iind in the canyon to the east, 
and good assays of silver have been obtained from the 
western mountains. Fruit-growing has recently received 
a stimulus and the acreage planted to orchards increases 
every year. Numerous tests of soil and sugar beets 
grown here denv - tlmt conditions are favorable 

for successful beet culture, while all the natural facilities 
are present for a sugar factory, tannery, woolen mills, 
breweries, starch factories and many other similar plants 
for consuming the raw materials. 

In June, 1890, the first issue of the County Kegister 
was "published in Ephraim, under the management of 
James T. Jakeman. This was the second paper printed 
in the county and was devoted to the interests of the 
people, being independent in politics and religion. Later 
the plant was purchased by M. F. Murray & Co., and the 
name of the newspaper changed to the Enterprise. This 
weekly publication is now issued by the company, with 
M. F. Murray as editor, and is a creditable paper, deserv- 
ing of patranoge by the citizens of the county. It is 
Democratic in politics and an able defender of the rights 
of the people and an exponent of the many resources and 
possibilities in the financial development, of this city. 

All the pioneers of Ephraim were members of the 
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and the 
church organization was considered one of the important 
factors in colonization. Reuben W. Allred was the first 
bishop. His place was filled by Bishops Chase, Kofford 
and Caleb Edwards. In 1867 Canute Peterson was called 
as bishop and in July, 1877, was appointed president of 
the stake. The present church organization consists of 
two wards, with L. S. Anderson and C. R. Dorius bishops. 
An elegant and commodious tabernacle adorns the center 
of this city and regular meetings are held every Sunday 
afternoon. This building was erected by individual do- 
nations, the material being native stone obtained near 



288 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

the city. Sunday-schools and other church societies are 
held regularly and are in flourishing condition. 

In the spring of 1S75 Rev. I). J. McMillan held ser- 
vices in the South ward schoolhouse, under the auspices 
of the Presbyterian church. A mission school was opened 
two rears later by J. S. McMillan and a Sunday-school 
organized. Miss M. Fishback soon took charge of the 
schools and continued the work till 1879. Her school was 
kept in an earth-covered house belonging to George 
(juinn. The property was afterward purchased by Miss 
S. Carrie Rea and donated to the Presbyterian church. 

In the fall of '77 meetings were held in the hall 
owned by 0. A. Larsen, Rev. F. Franson and M. Freder- 
ickson being the preachers. An interest was developed 
and several members were added to the church. On Feb- 
ruary 1, 1SS0, Revs. D. J. McMillan and F. Franson or- 
ganized the church with four members, and Rev. G. W. 
Martin was soon after put in charge as pastor. The build- 
ing is a neat stone structure 25x40 feet, substantially 
built and well furnished at a cost of about |2100, most 
of which was furnished by the board of missions. It was 
formally dedicated August 20, 1882, Rev. G. W. Leonard 
X'i'eaching the dedicatory sermon before the Presbytery 
then in session. Regular services are held by Rev. G. 
W. Martin, the efficient pastor. The membership now 
numbers twenty-six, and the school is well patronized. 

In September, 1880, Miss Rea took charge of the 
school and remained the teacher for ten years, giving 
good satisfaction and succeeding in building up a fine 
school. The teachers since employed were Misses Brown, 
Helen N. Cough, Fannie Galbraith, L. B. Work and A. 
B. Fitts, now in charge. The enrollment has ranged from 
thirty-six to sixty pupils and the school has always been 
of the highest order. 

The first attempt at organizing a Methodist church in 
Ephraim was made in 1883 by Hans Hammer, a lay 
preacher, and in 1885 the present church edifice was 
erected, being the first Methodist building constructed 
iij Sanpete county. The work was chiefly among Scan- 
dinavians and is continued so under the present able pas- 
tor. Rev. Johan M. Hansen. Among the ministers who 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 289 

have assisted in this mission are: Lars Olsen, N. L. Han- 
sen, O. O. Twede, P. M. Ellefsen and P. E. Petersen. The 
teachers have been Misses Emma Thorsen, Julia Iverson 
and Lydia Arveson. Methodism has made good progress 
ii nd numbers some prominent citizens of Sanpete among 
its membership. The schools are always well conducted 
and the services marked by earnestness and desire to bet- 
ter humanity. 

Ephraim is not a lodge city, though many of her 
representative residents are members of different secret 
societies and beneficial orders in other cities. Court Eph- 
raim No. 8544, Ancient Order of Foresters of America, 
was organized in this city March 23, 1895, with twenty 
members. A hall was fitted up and regular meetings 
held for some time, when the charter was surrendered 
and the court disbanded. The first officers were: A. J. 
Young, chief ranger; N. J. Madsen, sub chief ranger; M. 
F. Murray, past chief ranger; Lawrence Rasmussen, sen- 
ior woodman; Ephraim Clawson, junior woodman; H. O. 
Connell, senior beadle; Albert Greaves, junior beadle; 
M. F. Murray, secretary; H. P. Larsen, treasurer and 
druggist; Dr. H. V. Cassiday, physician. 

Ephraim has probably furnished more pioneers in 
colonizing new places than any settlement in Sanpete 
county. The first settlers of Mt. Pleasant, in 1859, 
were citizens of Ephraim; the missionaries to Piute coun- 
ty for settling Circle Valley were from Ephraim; the 
pioneers of Mayfield were chiefly raised in this city, and 
many of the colonists of Castle Valley in Emery county 
were sons and daughters of the people of Ephraim. In 
addition to the colonists of other later settlements in 
Sanpete coming largely from this place, scores of mis- 
sionaries have traveled in all parts of the world, and a 
good share of the county and State officials have been 
residents of this city. Hons. Henry Beal and Canute 
Peterson represented the people in the Territorial Legis- 
lature of 1882. Hon. A. C. Lund represented this city 
in the Constutional Convention and Hon. Peter Thomp- 
son served as a member of the first State Legislature. 
Hons. Peter Greaves, Sr., Peter Greaves, Jr., C. W. Peter- 
son, A. H. Lund and others have served in different posi- 
tions of honor in county and State. 



290 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

The people of Ephraim have always been a quiet, 
peace loving community, and but few cases of criminal 
characters have originated in the city. But, when the 
residents of Sanpete county needed assistance to protect 
their lives and property against Indian invasions, the 
citizens of Ephraim responded to the call for volunteers 
and minute men, and continued the tight until peace was 
declared and property safe from devastation. The same 
spirit entered the youths and prompted several to offer 
their services to the United States when war was de- 
clared against Spain, and the independence of Cuba 
promised. Those who left home and friends for patriotic 
love of country and humanity were: Warren Larsen, 
James W. Allred, Frank Anderson, Parley Christensen, 
Louis Anderson, Oscar Breinholt, Henry Olsen, Thor- 
wald Christensen and Dr. H. W. Young. 

In educational matters this city ranks among the 
more prominent settlements of Sanpete county and cen- 
tral Utah. Public schools have been maintained ever 
since the first year the town was settled, and the best and 
most experienced teachers have been employed. The 
Sanpete Stake Academy began in Society hall November 
5, 1888, as a higher institution of learning, under the di- 
rection of Alma Greenwood as principal. This institu- 
tion has flourished beyond the fondest expectations and 
its students come from all settlements of southern Utah. 
The studies include rhetoric, physiology, algebra, 
geology, Spanish, penmanship, typewriting, stenography, 
commercial arithmetic, commercial law, book-keeping, 
music, carpentry and blacksmithing. 

The enrollment for 1897 numbered 198 pupils and 
there were fifteen graduates. The faculty comprises 
some of the best educators in the State, the personnel of 
which is as follows: Newton E. Noyes, principal and in- 
structor in theology, rhetoric, pedagogy and physics; 
George Christensen, instructor in theology, general his- 
tory, algebra and methods of teaching; Parley Nielson, 
registrar and instructor in theology, grammar, arithmetic 
and geography; Thomas A. Beai, instructor in phono- 
graphy, typewriting, commercial arithmetic and penman- 
ship; Carrie Peterson, instructor in music; Charles Jen- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 291 

sen, M. D., instructor in physiology and hygiene; Eph- 
raim Hansen, LL. B., instructor in commercial law; En- 
dreas Olsen, instructor in mechanical drawing and car- 
pentry; Alfred Doll, instructor in black smithing; Maud 
Bliss, instructor in dressmaking. The Academy is under 
the following stake Board of Education: Canute Peter- 
son, president; Henry • Beal, treasurer; John B. Maiben, 
William T. Reid, Christian A. Madsen, John W. Irons, 
James A. Allred, Christian N. Lund, Lewis Swensen. 
The executive committee consists of the following: Ca- 
nute Peterson, president; Henry Beal, John B. Maiben, 
Annie Peterson Frost, secretary. 



PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

The present efficient school board consists of well- 
known and representative citizens, who are deeply inter- 
ested in educational affairs: J. P. Hansen, Jr., president; 
Peter Thompson, clerk, and J. P. Jensen, treasurer. The 
school teachers for 1898 are under the able guardianship 
of Prof. A. W. Jensen as principal and are as follows: 
Heber Xielson, D. W. Thompson, Bay Lund, Christian 
Larsen, Misses Callie Thorpe^ Julia Dorius, Matilda Ras- 
mussen and Ida Peterson. According to the last report 
of the trustees, dated June 30, 1898, the school popula- 
tion consists of 719 pupils and 71 per cent were enrolled 
in the public schools during the school year. The aver- 
age pay of teachers is $55 per month for males and $35 
for females. School grounds, furniture and apparatus 
were valued at $2392.25. 

The Ephraim opera-house is without doubt the finest 
and neatest arranged amusement building south of Salt 
Lake City. It was begun about 1896 by a company of 
citizens and afterward assigned to Andrew Thorpe and 
Ezra Madsen, who completed and equipped the building. 
It is seventy-six and one-half feet in length and fifty feet 
in width, centrally located and an ornament to the city. 
The fact that such a building could be erected and kept 
in order is proof positive that this city surpasses all 
others as an amusement place. The owners have a fran- 



292 HI8T0RY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

chise for lighting the city from an electric plant which is 
soon to be operated in connection with the opera-house. 

Ephraim has practically the same political history 
as other settlements in the county. The Peoples party 
was almost unanimous until the division on national 
party lines, when the two leaving- parties were about 
equally represented. The present city officials are: 

Mayor, J. P. Hansen, Jr.; Councillors, Peter 
Schwalbe, Christian Frandsen, William J. Armstrong, C. 
R. Dorius, A. W. Jensen; Recorder, Adolph Hansen; Mar- 
shal, David X. Real; Treasurer, Laura Hansen; Justice 
of the Peace, J. P. Anderson; Pound-keeper, Ras. Han- 
sen; Street Supervisor, Thomas P. Peterson; Sexton, John 
O. Johnson. 




PETER JOHAXSEX. 

MT. PLEASANT. 





JENS GUNDERSEX. 
MT. PLEASAXT. 



HAXS J. SIMPSON, 
MT. PLEASAXT. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF EPHRAIM. 



f\ LLRED, GEORGE, farmer, son of Martin C. and Mary 
Y\ Heskitt, was born in Caldwell county, Mo., Sept. 
/ 27, 1837. Parents died when he was two years old, 
and his grandfather raised him. They came to Utah in 
'51, crossing the plains in ox train under Isaac Allred, 
and located in Manti. In March, 1852, they removed to 
Spring City, but were soon driven out by Indians, return- 
ing to Manti, and in '54 came to Ephriam. The family 
consisted of George, his grand parents, James and Eliza- 
beth, and his sister Eliza E. Edwards, widow of William, 
who died on the way across the plains. They assisted in 
constructing the fort. In '65 he, with others, went to 
Circle Valley, remaining two years, when they were 
driven out by Indians. He took part in both Indian wars, 
being in several engagements in Spring City in '53 and 
Kabbit valley in '67. He has a nice farm of forty acres, 
well stocked and a comfortable residence in the city. 
In '95 ht- was elected a member of the City Council. His 
wife was Maria, daughter of Xeils and Helena Sorenson, 
born in Denmark, January 7, 1843. They were married 
in Ephraim Fort, March 16, 1857. She died in this city 
April 16, 1892. They had ten children: Mars* H., James 
W., Charles, Orson and Andrew H., living; Hannah M., 
George M., Eliza E., John F. and Parley P., deceased. 

Q XDERSOX, BISHOP LARS S., son of Andrew Larson 
K| and Annie Kathren Hansen, was born April 16,. 
I 1829. His father was a sailor and lost his life at sea 
in 1841. Mother was left with five children and Lai's and 
a brother supported them. He served as a saiior in a two- 
years' war and receiv°4 a diploma for faithful services. 
February 8, 1852, he joined the Mormon church and May 



294 HISTORY OP SANPETE COUNTY. 

10th of the same year was married t<> Annie Sophia, 
daughter of Lars Jensen and Annie Marie Larsen. They 
left their natiTe land for Utah November 27, LS55, and 
after a voyage of eleven weeks and three days reached 
the United States, after losing their infant child, in 
the spring- of 1856 they crossed the plains in an ox-train 
under Capt. Canute Peterson, and located ;.t Ephraim. 
He took part in the Johnson and Ittaek Hawk wars and 
was active in guarding the people. Was appointed head 
teacher in 1858, and in 1867 was appointed first cnunsel- 
ler to Bishop Canute Peterson. Served as City Coun- 
ceilor eight years, and a director in the Co-op. store eight 
years. In 1873 he was called on a mission and presided 
over the Christiania conference. In 1875 he returned 
to Utah as president of a company of 175 Saints: ar- 
rived in Ephraim July 21th with sixteen wagons loaded 
\ : th emigrants. Was appointed bishop of Kphraim, 
north ward, in 1879 and continues to hold that position 
Avith perfect satisfaction to the people. In 1887 he per- 
formed a second mission to Scandinavia, where he pre- 
sided over the Aarhus conference. On his return he was 
leader of the company of 317 emigrants. He is engaged 
in farming and stock-raising, besides being bishop and 
tithing clerk. His family consists of twenty-one children, 
eleven being alive and the others deceased. 

A NDERSON, ANDREW, farmer, son of Andrew and 
yl Mary, was born in Denmark, November 4, 1836. He 
* joined, the Mormon church, and in '56 came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in an independent ox train. Thev 
endured many hardships, suffering from cold and hun- 
ger, and were brought to Salt Lake City by a relief com- 
pany, December 16, 1856. In '57 he came to Ephraim 
and engaged in farming. He purchased a small tract and 
now has fifty acres and a home in the city. In '62 he 
went to Omaha for emigrants, and in '65 removed to Cir- 
cle Valley to assist in settling the country. Built a home, 
but had to leave because of Indians. He took part in the 
Black Hawk war, being a minute man. In '83 he went 
to Denmark on a two years' mission. Is one of the pres- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 295 

idents of the Forty-seventh quorum of Seventies. Was 
married in Ephraim, December 21, 1S59, to Kersten, 
daughter of Rasmus and Ingabor Olsen, born in Den- 
mark, February 27, 1811. Her parents came to Ephraim 
in "51, where they both died. Her children are: Christina, 
Hannah S. and Rosetta. 

Q NDEBSON, ANDREW L., farmer, son of Lars A. and 
r{ Mary, was born in Denmark, Jan. 22, 1850. The fam- 
/ ily joined the Mormon church, and came to Utah, 
crossing; the plains in Canute Peterson's company, and 
located in Ephraim in October, 1856. They lived in the 
fort several years; father took part in the Black Hawk 
war, and died here January 26, 1882. Mother died here 
also. Andrew was raised here, father giving him ten 
acres of land. He freighted produce to the mining 
camps and added to his land, till he now has forty-five 
acres. Went on a mission to Denmark in '81, and for 
eighteen months had charge of Bander's branch. Was 
married in Salt Lake City, October 31, 1870, to Johanna 
0., daughter of Thomas C. and Caroline Jensen, born in 
Denmark, August 1, 1853. They have had nine children, 
Jchanna, James, Lydia, Archie and Omra, living; An- 
drew, Albert, Thomas and Elizabeth, deceased. 

A NDEBSON, JENS, farmer and stockraiser, son of An- 
H dreas and Ellen, was born in Sweden April 29, 
/ 1833. He was raised on a farm, joined the Mormon 
church in '53 and came to Utah, crossing the plains in 
an independent train under Capt. Olsen, and arrived in 
Ephraim in October, 1854. Assisted in building the fort, 
and received five acres of land and a lot in the city. 
The following year the grasshoppers took his crops and 
they had a hard time. In '66 he went to the Missouri 
river for emigrants. Was active during the Black Hawk 
war, and was called to assist in settling Circle Valley. 
He built a home and raised a crop, but was driven out 
by Indians, losing all he had. He was a member of the 
City Council five years. In '77 he returned to Sweden 
and Denmark on a two years' mission. He has been 
head ward teacher and president of the Seventies quo- 



296 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

rum for several years. Was married in Epkrainr, Decem- 
ber. 1854, to Lana Anderson, She has had eight children, 
James P., Maria C, Ellen, Andrew, Lauretta and George, 
living; Malinda and Lena, deceased. Second wife was 
Christina Berlin. She has had three children, Xora and 
Annie, living-; Sarah, deceased. 

r\ NDBBSON, JENS P., son of Andrew and Catherine, 
M was born in Denmark, January 4, 1820. He learned 
f the trade of a miller and served ninteen months in 

the army. Joined the Mormon church November 5, 1852, 
and came to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox train 
under Copt, olsen, arriving in Salt Lake City, October 
5. 1854. While working there 1 on a canal the bank caved 
on him and he had to walk on crutches for two years. 
In '56 he came to Ephraim and assisted in building- the 
fort. Took part in the Black Hawk war. In '62 he re- 
moved to Glenwood, among the first settlers, built a 
home, but was driven out by Indians, losing everything. 
He returned to Ephraim in '66 and engaged in farming, 
following it at present. His first wife, married in Den- 
mark, was Mary Jacobsen. She died in Salt Lake City, 
February 9. 1855. their only child, a daughter, dying 
while crossing the ocean. Second wife was Rebecca C. 
Frieze. She had three children, Jens P., Mary and Joseph 
E., and died November 24, 1866. Third wife was Maria, 
daughter of Thomas C. and Karen M. Jensen; married 
December 6, 1866; born in Denmark, January 12, 1842. 
She has six children, Jens P., Erastus, John F., Nora, 
Marinda and Lena. Also has three childen by a former 
husband, Peter Peterson. They are Kirstena, Mena and 
Joseph C. 

Q XDBRSON, JOHN A., farmer, son of John and Mar- 
M tha. was born in Malmo, Sweden, December 18, 
' 1844. He and his parents came to Utah in '63, cross- 
ing the plains in Cant. Saunders company, reaching 
Ephraim in October. In '63 they were called to Circle 
Valley to assist the settlers, but had to return in '66 on 
a.-.ount <»f Indians. John was raised on a farm and 
m orked at railroading and other occupations. Took part 



HISTOliY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 297 

in the Black Hawk war, and in '66 went back to the 
Missouri river after emigrants. In '75 he went on a two 
years' mission to Sweden. Was a member of the City 
Council in '74-75, City Recorder in '78 to '82, and Citv 
Assessor and Collector six years. In '88 he became man- 
ager of the Ephraim Co-op store, which position he held 
for over six years! Was a member of the Quorum of 
Seventies several years. Is now engaged in fanning, 
having eighty acres of land. Was married in Salt Lake 
City, September 20, 1869, to Maria Neilson. She died 
December 29, 1891, leaving nine children, John A., Em- 
ma, Anna, Lilly, Alvin, Huldah, Nora and Arthur, living; 
Ernest, deceased. Married again to Christina Michael- 
sen. She had two children, Maria and Annie. 

f\ NDERSON, NEILS, farmer, son of Andrew P. and 
rj Ellen was born in Sweden, November 26, 1835. He 
' joined the Mormon church at the age of 18, and 
emigrated in '55, going from St. Louis to Iowa on a mis- 
sion, then presided over the branch at Weston, Mo. Came 
to Utah in '57, crossing the plains in Capt. Cowley's com- 
pany, located at Ephraim and built a house inside the 
fort. Took an active part in the Black Hawk war. In '64 
he was called to Circle Valley to assist the settlers. He 
built a home and had a farm, but was compelled to leave 
everything on account of Indians. Returned to Ephraim, 
took up a small farm and has since engaged in farming. 
Has been a member of the High Council since the stake 
was organized. In '73 he went on a two years' mission to 
Sweden, presiding over the Scane conference. His first 
wife, married in Ephraim, was Ingaborg Paulsen. She 
had four sons, Neils W., Andrew C, James P. and Syd- 
ney R. Second wife was Anna O. Jensen. She had seven 
children: John A., Ellen, Joseph A., Louis H., Orson A., 
Francis R. and Mary A. Third wife was Maria P. Peter- 
son. She has six children, Emma M., George A., Daniel 
M., Arthur H., W T ilford E. and Esther R, 

f\ NDERSON, N. O., farmer, son of Ole and Annie, was 
r\ born in Skurop, Sweden, September 20, 1845. The. 
" family joined the Mormon church, and in '55 came 

to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox train under Capt. 



298 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Hogan, and located in Epkraim Helped to build the 
outside fort and lived inside it. Father died in the fall 
after arriving' and was the second person buried in the 
Ephraim cemetery. Mother married Torey Thurston, and 
N. O. lived with them till be was 13, then with Jens 
Anderson one year and with Rasmus Larson seven years. 
ITe took part in the Black Hawk war, being a minute 
man, and had several narrow escapes. In '66 he went 
to the Missouri river for emigrants. Performed a two 
years' mission to Sweden, leaving in 1S80 . Was a mem- 
ber of the City Council six years. Was married in Eph- 
raim on November 2, 1867, to Josephine, daughter of 
Andrew and Caroline Overlade. She died November 10, 
•1S84. They had seven children, Neils O., Adelbert, 
Annie, Frank, Archie, Frederick and Leroy. Married 
again December 18, 1885, to Matilda Nilson. She has one 
child, Neils H. 

f\ NDERSON, PETER, farmer, son of Lars and Mary, 
r\ was born in Denmark, November 16, 1844. The 
f family joined the Mormon church and emigrated, 

crossing the plains in Canute Peterson's train, and lo- 
cated in Ephraim in September, 1856, where parents 
died. Peter took part in the Black Hawk war, being in 
the Salina canyon and Circle Valley engagements. In 
'63 he went to the Missouri river after emigrants. In '85 
went on a two years' mission to Denmark, during the 
last three months of the time serving as president over 
Bander's branch. He owns seventy-five acres of land 
and residence. Was married in Ephraim, April 25, 1865, 
to Elsie M., daughter of Lars and Karen Paulsen, born 
in Denmark, October 18, 1847. They have nine children, 
Peter C, Louis, Hyrum, Alice M., Caroline L., Mary S., 
Joseph F., Seymour G. and Ida E. 

f\ NDERSON, P. C, manager Junction Co-op store, son 
r\ of Peter and Margaret, was born in Ephraim, March 
/ 10, 1866. Attended the public schools and took a 
< f ourse of one year in the normal department of the Uni- 
versity of Utah. Taught school in Ephraim seven years, 
being principal of the intermediate department. Was 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 299 

elected City Treasurer, in '88, served two years, and was 
elected City Recorder in '97. Quit the schoolroom in '90 
on account of ill health and was appointed assignee of 
the Co-op store, which failed. The store was purchased 
by E. C. Willardsen, C. W. Peterson and Ole Olson, and 
in January, 1897, P. C. bought a one-fourth interest. 
They carry a stock of about $17,000 and do a business of 
£40,000 annually, selling dry goods, groceries and arti- 
cles usually kept in a general store, besides buying and 
shipping grain and produce. The firm does the largest 
business in buying grain of any company in the county. 
lie is director, secretary and treasurer of the Sand Ridge 
Reservoir and Canal company, capable of irrigating 1000 
acres of land. Is superintendent of the Ephraim Sunday- 
school and an earnest worker. He is a self-made man, 
starting without a cent and borrowing money from Chris- 
tian Willardsen to attend school. Was married in Manti 
temple, February 13, 1889, to Healon A., daughter of 
Henry B. and Elizabeth Stevens, born in Shonesborg, 
Utah, January 22, 1869. They have two children, Peter 
M. and Healon C. 

f\ RMSTRONG, JAMES, farmer and woolgrower, son 
M of William and Agnes S., was born in Carlisle, 
' Cumberland county, England, November 21, 1814. 
His parents joined the Mormon church among the early 
members and came to the United States in '49, stopping 
at St. Louis, Mo.j where his father died. In '54 the family 
came to Utah, crossing the plains with Horace S. Eld- 
redge and Orson Pratt. They located in Ephraim, April 
5, 1857, mother taught school here several years and died 
December 12, 1893. James was raised to farm work, 
now owns 150 acres and is extensively interested in wool- 
growing. Has 2500 sheep, and is a successful and enter- 
prising citizen. He took part in the Black Hawk war in 
guarding, and was in two or three engagements. Was a 
member of the City Council four years. Married in Salt 
Lake City, August 7, 1871, to Annie C, daughter of A. 
1*. and Annie Olson, born in Denmark, September 25, 
1852. They have had twelve children, John, Andrew, 
Sarah; James A., Nancy H., Erne O., Annie G., Jede- 



300 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

diah and James W., living; Agnes M., Nancy H. anil 
Horace A., deceased. 

Q RMSTROXG, WILLIAM J., farmer, son of William 
r\ and Agues S., was born in St Louis, Mo., March 24,. 
/ 1850. His father died in St. Louis, and in '54 his 
mother, himself and brother James came to Utah, cross- 
ing the plains in an ox train under Capt. Horace Eld- 
lvdge. Mother married again in Salt Lake City, to 
William Babbitt, by whom she had one child, Helen E., 
who married Brigham Young, and has one child, Joseph 
A. Young. She and child live with William. Mother 
died in Ephraim, December 9, 1893. Stood guard and 
herded stock during the Black Hawk war. Owns fifty- 
five acres of land and cultivates it successfully. W^as 
Justice of the Peace two years. In '97 was elected a 
member of the City Council on the Republican ticket. 
Was married in Ephraim, January 22, 1890, to Hannah 
Wickman, who died December 16, 1892, leaving two chil- 
dren, Jessie C. and William W. 

BAILEY, ALFRED, farmer, son of James and Mary A., 
was born in Birmingham, England, February 26, 
1839. He learned the trade of a silversmith, work- 
ing with his father, and followed it till he came to Utah. 
The family joined the Mormon church and emigrated in 
'56, crossing the plains in the first hand-cart company. 
They were nine weeks in crossing under Capt. Ellsworth, 
and endured many hardships. Came to Ephraim and 
lived in the fort, parents both dying here. Alfred worked 
at farming and later learned the trade of a stonecutter,, 
which he has followed some years, cutting tombstones 
and other work. He owns a farm of seventy-two acres. 
Was City Recorder ten years, a member of the City Coun- 
cil several years and City Treasurer four years. Is one 
of the presidents of the Forty-seventh quorum and has 
been secretary thirty years. In the fall of '81 he went, on 
a two years' mission. Was an active man during the 
•Black Hawk Avar, and in '62 went back to the Missouri 
river after emigrants. Was married in Ephraim, De- 
cember 18, 1862, to Sophia Warrillo of England. They 




HAXS C. H. BECK. 
MT. PLEASANT. 





EDWARD A. ERICKSEX, 
MT. PLEASANT. 



MRS. EDWARD A. ERICKSEX. 

MT. PLEASANT. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 301 

have had ten children, Louisa R., Alfred, William, 
Franklin, James, John, Sarah and Ada, living; Frederick 
and Carrie, deceased. 

BAWDEN, WILLIAM, farmer and dealer in woolen, 
goods, son of Henry and Ann Ireland, was born in 
Devonshire, England, August 17, 1844. The family 
came to the United States in '51, stopping one year in 
St. Louis, Mo., and in '52 came to Salt Lake City, crossing 
the plains in an ox train. Was raised in Salt Lake, 
where his father was a blacksmith, and in '66 came south 
with Heber Kimball's company to assist in the Indian 
war. In '72 he located in Ephraim and engaged in farm- 
ing and freighting to the mining camps. During the 
past thirteen years has been agent for James Whitehead 
of Springville, handling all kinds of woolen goods. He 
owns and operates a good farm. Was married in Salt 
Lake City, September 14, 1S67, to Emma J., daughter of 
Stephen and Emma J. Williams, born in Bristol, Eng- 
land, April 7, 1849. They have had thirteen children, 
Emma J., Sarah E., William H., Thomas A., Levi S., 
Mary V., Martha A. and Joseph I., living; Ann R., 
Stephen N., George L., Hazel and Ophelia, deceased. 

BEAL, HON. HENRY, farmer, son of John and Ann 
Deacon, was born in Onandaga county, N. Y., April 
30, 1835. His parents jointed the Mormon church 
in New York and came to Nauvoo, 111., and to Utah in '50. 
They crossed the plains in an ox train, mother dying on 
the road. Father died December 4, 1896, aged 96 years 
6 months. They reached Manti about November 1, 1850,. 
where Henry lived till '54, when he came to Ephraim, 
assisted in building the fort and erected the second house- 
in the town. He received a piec^ of land near the town 
and has since been engaged chiefly in farming. Was the 
first Justice of the Peace and the first man to be married 
in Ephraim. Assisted in building the Climax roller mill 
and still retains an interest. Was one of the incorpor- 
ators of the old Co-op store, losing heavily when it failed. 
Was a member of the City Council several years, County 
Commissioner many yearSj and was elected Mayor in '95. 
He was one of the contractors in building the Sanpete 

10 



302 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Valley railroad and graded eleven miles of the Rio 
Grande Western. Has always been a prominent church- 
man, was high counsellor and bishop's counsellor several 
years, and is now first counsellor to President Peterson. 
His first wife was Mary Thorpe, married in Ephraim, 
July 4, 1854. Their children are Ann E., John S., George 
A., Henry T., David N., Mary J. and Rosabel. Second 
wife was Anna C. Byergo, married March 28, 1863. Their 
children are Mary A., Alice, Sarah A., Thomas A., Or- 
scn, Nora, Owen and Bardella. Third wife was Mary 
A. Thompson, married April 25, 1868. Their children 
were Henry L., Annie M., Mary M., Ellen C. and Martha 
M. He has thirteen children married. Forty-eight grand- 
children have been born. 

BEAL, DAVID N., marshal and farmer, son of Henry 
and Mar\-, was born in Ephraim, November 15, 1863. 
He was raised here and engaged in farming. Owns 
eighty acres of land. Was elected Constable in '94 and 
City Marshal in '95. Was married in Logan, October 29, 
1886, to Martha, daughter of Jens P. and Bendicta Han- 
sen, born in Ephraim, September 16, 1862. They have 
five children, David O., Bendetta, Frances, Nelson and 
an infant. 

BECK, JENS X., fanner, son of Neils and Anna, was 
born in Denmark, May 6, 1847. He was raised on 
a farm, joined the Mormon church in '66 and came 
to Utah, crossing the plains with his uncle, Peter Kjess- 
gaard, in an ox train under Capt. Rice, reaching Ephraim 
in October, 1867. He worked in the canyon two or three 
years, freighted to mining camps two years, then bought 
a farm; now owns ninety acres. In '94 he opened a gen- 
eral store, which he conducted till '96, when he went on 
a mission for one year to Denmark. Was married in Salt 
Lake City, December 2, 1871, to Olena M., daughter of 
Hans C. and Hedevig Jensen, born in Denmark, March 
26, 1852. Her parents came here in '63, father took part 
in the Black Hawk war and was in the canyon when the 
crowd was attacked by Indians and two killed. Her 
children are Anna, James, Stena, Hans O., Neils H., 
Newman, Daniel and Leo, living; Wilford, deceased. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 303 

BENTSON, MARTIN, farmer, son of Neils and Mette 
was born in Sweden, December 13, 1846. The fam- 
ily joined the Mormon church in '53 and came to 
Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Olsen's company 
reaching Ephraim in October, 1854. They lived in the 
small fort several years and helped build the large one. 
Father was an active church man, being president of 
the Seventies quorum and a High Priest when he died. 
He went out in '57 to meet Johnson's armv, and in dis- 
charging his gun lost the thumb of his left hand. Martin 
took part in the Black Hawk war, being in the Grass 
valley skirmish. In '66 he went back to the Missouri 
river after emigrants. Owns a farm of forty acres Was 
married in Ephraim, March 7, 1866, to Mette M., daugh- 
ter of Soren and Annie Larsen, born in Denmark, April 
10, 1846. They have had eight children, Annie, Andrew, 
-Nora, Neils, Minnie, Lucinda and Mattie, living, Martin, 
deceased. 

BJERREGAARD, ANDREW N., farmer and stock- 
raiser, son of Andrew N. and Boletta, was born in 
Denmark, June 6, 1851. The family joined the 
Mormon church and came to Utah, stopping a short time 
m Bngham City and Goshen and locating in Ephraim 
Parents removed to Missouri several years ago, Andrew 
remained here and engaged in freighting produce to the 
mining camps for about twenty years. He purchased a 
tract of land and engaged in cattle-raising and now has 
a tine herd of 150 Durhams and Herefords. Owns over 
oo iS 8 A of . lan(1, Was marr ied in Ephraim November 
if> l* 16 ** Caroline M., daughter of Charles and Matilda 
Whitlock, born February 1, 1858. They have had ten 
children: Nora M., Charles, Ruth, Minnie M, \rthur 
Jennie Ferguson, Allen E. and Jovdell, living; and 
Katie, deceased. 

DREINHOLT, HANS L., farmer, son of Christian L 
*s and Annie 8., was born in Denmark February 21 
10ro l 8 ° ' . T he fami ^ ™me to Ephraim in 1869.' In 
18 < 2 Hans joined the United States army and served five 
years, chiefly in Texas on Indian frontier. Was dis- 



304 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

charged in 1877 and came to Ephraini where he bought a 
small farm. Father died here July 19, 1897, mother died 
on the plains en route to Utah. Hans was married in 
Ephraim, May 00, 1877, to Maria, daughter of Frederick 
C. and Amelia Sorenson, born in Ephraim, April 11, 1855. 
Her parents came to Ephraim in 1854. Father was a 
member of the City Council several years and died here 
September 7, 1891. Mother still living. Children are: 
Oscar, Lydia, Sophronia and Florence C. 

gjHBISTENSEN, ANDREW, farmer and wool-grower, 
\ son of Andrew C. and Mary E., was born in Eph- 
raim, January 31, 1868. He was raised on a farm 
and began with wool-growing on the shares. Purchased 
a small farm, now has 1G0 acres and 1000 sheep and many 
on shares. Was married in Ephraini September 12, 1894, 
to Mary, daughter of Alfred and Eliza Pehrson, born in 
Ephraim October 4, 1873. They have two children: 
Vera D, born June 14, 1895, and an infant. 

/QIIR1STENSEN, ANDREW C, farmer, son of Chris- 
V^ tian and Elsie M., was born in Denmark, August 
31, 1825. He learned the carpenter's trade, joined 
the Mormon church and came to Utah, crossing the plains 
in an ox-train under Bishop Preston, and located at Eph- 
raim in September, 1863. Removed to Mt. Pleasant in 
1864, in 1865 went to Richheld, but was driven out in 
1867 by Indians, and returned to Ephraim, losing all his 
property. Took part in the Black Hawk war, then ob- 
tained ten acres of land and began fanning. Later he 
took up 160 acres three and one-half miles west of Eph- 
raim, lived on it fourteen years, and in 1891 removed to 
the city; dividing the farm among his sons. Was mar- 
ried in Denmark July 4, 1851, to Mary C. Paulsen, who 
died several years ago, leaving five children: Christian, 
Lars, Martin, Lena and Andrew. Married again June 
19, 1889, to Elsie C. Olsen, a widow, daughter of Chris- 
tian and Annie E. Peterson, born in Denmark April 16. 
1853. They have four living children: Catherine T., 
James L., Violet J. and Calvin J. Her first husband was 
James Olsen, by whom she had three children: Lehi C, 
Elizabeth and Daniel. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 305 

/QHRISTEXSEX, ERICK, brickmason, plasterer and 
\ farmer, son of Rasmus and Anna, was born in Den- 
mark May 11, 1839. He learned the trade of a ma- 
son, joined the Mormon church in 1862 and came to Utah 
in 1866, crossing the plains in an ox-train under ('apt. 
Lowry. His wife, whom he married in Denmark April 
9, 18G6, died of cholera, while en route to Utah. He came 
to Mt. Pleasant and followed his trade till 1870, when he 
removed to Ephraim. Has contracted and put up many 
of the large buildings of this city. He owns a good fifty- 
acre farm which he operates. In 1894 he went on a two 
years' mission to Denmark. Was married the second 
time in Mt. Pleasant November 24, 1866, to Karen C. 
daughter of Jens and Kersten Jensen, born in Denmark 
October 15, 1835. They have had seven children: Anna 
M., Jensena C, Amelia D., Erick P. and Saretta L., living; 
Carmelia K. and Caroline, deceased. 

/QHRISTEXSEX, JENS P., fanner and stock-raiser, 
Vy son of Jens P. and Dorthea M., was born in Eph- 
raim January IT, 1862. His parents joined the 
Mormon church in Denmark and emigrated to Utah, lo- 
cating in Ephraim. Father was a prominent man in 
church and political matters, being a member of the high 
council from its organization till his death, September 8, 
1891, was Mayor of Ephraim for fifteen years, Justice of 
the Peace twenty years, the first notary public and a 
delegate to many county and Territorial conventions. 
Jens was raised on a farm and has followed that and 
stock-raising. He has about 150 acres of land. Is a no- 
tary public and Justice of the Peace. Was the first chair- 
man of the Democratic party in Ephraim, holding the po- 
sition four years and taking a leading part in politics. 
His wife was Mary H., daughter of George and Caroline 
M. Allred, born in Ephraim January 9, 1862. They were 
married in Salt Lake City in November, 1883, and have 
one child: Eliza A., born February 20, 1885. 

/QHRISTEXSEN, JENS P., deceased; son of Christian 

\ and Elsie H., was bom in Denmark February 9, 

1833. He was raised on a farm, joined the Mormon 

church, and in 1855 started for Utah, stopping in Alton, 



306 HISTOBY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

111., and Dakota City, Neb., till 1860, when he crossed 
the plains as captain of the Danish portion of his com- 
pany, reaching Ephraim in October. Bought a farm and 
engaged in farming, then became agent for the Co-op. 
Wagon and Machine Company, which position he held 
until his death, September 8, 1891. Served as Justice 
of the Peace and notary public and was Mayor ten or 
twelve years. Was an active churchman, being a mem- 
ber of the high council. W T as married in Denmark May 
2, 1854, to Dorthea M., daughter of Mads C. and Margaret 
Madsen, born in Denmark August 24, 1834. They had 
seven children: Jens P., Christian M., born in Ephraim 
February 1, 1867, who acted as traveling salesman and 
assistant for his father. He is a violin player. Was 
married November 5, 1884, to Nicolina D., daughter of 
Neils I'. and Petrea K. Christensen, born in Denmark Au- 
gust 13, 1864. They have had six children: Clara, Al- 
bert and Chloe, living; Mabel D., Grace C. and Robert 
E., deceased. 

Lewis E., born in Ephraim June 14, 1873. Engaged 
in different occupations. Married in Manti January 15, 
1896, to Elizabeth, daughter of James and Elsie C. Olsen, 
born in Ephraim August 18, 1875. The four deceased 
were: Erastus, Emma, Dorthea M. and Clara. 

/QHRISTIANSEN, NIELS C, retired mason and far- 
V^ mer, son of Christian and Anna M., was born in 
Denmark, October 4, 1817. He learned the trade of 
a mason, joined the Mormon church and came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in Capt Fosgren's company, being the 
first Scandinavian company, arriving in Salt Lake City, 
September 30, 1853. He worked on the Salt Lake Temple 
until '60, when he came to Ephraim and continued work- 
ing at his trade. Took part in the Black Hawk war, 
being Captain of the Silver Greys, and for years had 
charge of the commissary department. Was a member 
of the City Council twenty years and a school trustee 
twenty-two years. Is a member of the High Council and 
counsellor to the president of the High Priests, being 
president of the council in Ephraim. Was married in 
Denmark, to Catherine Mortensen. They had five living 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 307 

children, Anna M., Christian, Emma, Hannah and Cath- 
erine. Wife died in Ephraim, February 26, 1893. Second 
wife was Dorthea C. Dahl of Denmark. She had three 
children, Parley, bishop of Mayfield, Mary and Elizabeth. 

fQ HIUSTENSEN, WILLARD, known as Willard Pehr- 
V son, son of Ole and Gunnell Christensen, was born 
in Christiania, Norway, February G, 1S57. Ilis father 
died in Norway, and the family emigrated in '63, cross- 
ing the plains in an ox train, and located in Ephraim. 
Willard was raised to farm work and now has a nice 
farm of 130 acres. He was a sewing machine dealer for 
nine years, then engaged in the stock business and farm- 
ing and later opened a saloon, his present place. Was 
married in Ephraim, March 14, 1878, to Diantha, daugh- 
ter of Jorgen and Pauline Olsen, born in Copenhagen, 
Denmark, June 18, 1857. They have four children: 
Blanche, Myrtle, Adolphus and Kesler, living; Batina, 
deceased. 

DORIUS, BISHOP CHARLES R., son of Carl C, N. 
and Ellen G. Bolfson, w r as born in Ephraim, July 
10, 1858. His father was bishop of the Ephraim 
south ward for seventeen years. Was among the early 
settlers, a very prominent man, and much interested in 
laying out land, building roads and making ditches. Was 
a member of the City Council for several years. He died 
March 4, 1894. Charles R. was raised on a farm and 
freighted produce to the mining camps of Utah and 
Nevada. In '86 he went on a two years' mission to Nor- 
way. On his return he entered the B. Y. academy of 
Provo, taking a normal course and graduating in 1890. 
Taught school in Ephraim four years. Was superinten- 
dent of the Sunday-schools several years, also superin- 
tendent of the Y. M. M. I. A. for four years. Appointed 
bishop to succeed his father, May 15, 1894. Served as 
City Collector two years and was elected City Treasurer 
in '95. He owns a small farm and operates it. Was 
elected a member of the City Council. Was married in 
Ephraim, December 11, 1879, to Margaret, daughter of 
Christian and Karen Neilsen, born in Ephraim April 21, 



308 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1861. Her parents were early settlers, father died in '89, 
mother still living. They have had six children, Caro- 
line M., Orpha O. and Sarah M., living; Margaret G., 
Ellen T. and Charles B., deceased. 

DORIUS, BISHOP C. C. N., deceased, was born in 
Copenhagen, April 5, 1830. He served an appren- 
ticeship as a cabinet-maker, joined the Mormon 
church when quite young, and became a traveling elder. 
Came to Utah in '57, crossing the plains in a hand-cart 
company under Capt. Fosgren, reaching Salt Lake City 
in September. In the company was the bishop, his wife 
and her sister, who walked all the distance from Iowa 
City, and Mrs. Dorius's mother, who came in a wagon. 
They were ten weeks crossing the plains. In '58 he came 
to Ephraim. In '60 he returned to Norway on a three 
and one-half years' mission, being president of the Chris- 
tiania conference. On his return was appointel bishop by 
President Young, and held the position till his death, 
March 4, 1894. He served as Major in the Black Hawk 
war, and was a leader in educational matters and public 
improvements, being well liked by everybody. Was mar- 
ried first in England, April 24, 1857, to Ellen Rolfson. 
She had one son, C. R. Dorius, now bishop. Second wife 
was Tomine Fredericksen, who died, leaving four chil- 
dren; first wife raising the two living, Anna S. Johnson 
and Ellen TV. Third wife was Julia P. Peterson. She 
has five children, Rebecca, John N., Julia, Mabel and 
Erastus. Fourth wife was Mary Williams. She has no 
children. Fifth wife was Charlotte Otterstrom. She 
has one child, Mary. 

DORIUS, EDWIN, farmer, son of John F. F. and 
Gunild, was born in Ephraim, February 6, 1866. 
He was raised on a farm and now owns 160 acres, 
north of the city. Is a stockholder in the Cottonwood 
Tunnel and Canal company. Was married in Manti 
temple, February 19, 1890, to Nora, daughter of John E. 
and Dorcas Christensen, born in Ephraim, July 18, 1872. 
They have two children, Vivian, born January 21, 1891, 
and'Helene, February 28, 1895. 





MORONI SEELY, 

MT. PLEASANT. 



STUART R. SEELY, 
MT. PLEASANT. 




HYRUM SEELY, 
INDIANOLA. 



JOSEPH SEELY. 
MT. PLEASANT. 



HISTOBY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 309 

DORIUS, JOHN, JR., merchant, son of John F. and 
Caroline Frantzen, was born in Spring City June 
20, 1860. The family removed to Ephraim when 
John was a small boy. He attended the public schools 
and was engaged several years in freighting produce to 
Salt Lake City and mining camps. Was engaged as 
local agent for the Consolidated Implement Company for 
three years, afterwards opening a general store. He has 
a nice place of business and a good trade. Carries about 
$4000 stock of dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes and 
clothing. Also owns a good farm of sixty acres. Has 
been deputy City Treasurer for the past four years. Was 
married in Salt Lake City October 10, 1879, to Maria S., 
daughter of Bishop L. S. and Sophia Anderson, born in 
Ephraim December 11, I860. They have had eight 
children: Ruth M., Mattie S., Seymour R., Hazel, Grace 
and Scena, living; John C. and Marie, deceased. 



DORIUS, JOHN F. F., son of Nicalai and Anna S. 
Christoffersen, was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, 
June 15, 1832. He learned the trade of a shoemaker, 
joined the Mormon church in 1850 and was a traveling 
elder for seven years in Norway and Denmark. In 1857 
he came to Utah, crossing the plains in a handcart com- 
pany under Capt. Christiansen, pulling a handcart from 
Iowa City to Salt Lake City. He remained in Salt Lake 
till 1858, when he came to Ephraim. In 1860 he returned 
to Norway on a mission, remaining till 1863. Was coun- 
sellor to his brother, C. C. N., who was president of the 
Christiania conference. On his return he stopped one 
year in Spring City and returned to Ephraim. Was clerk 
several years in the Co-op. store and engaged in farming. 
In 1876 he went on a second two years' mission to Nor- 
way and presided over the conference. In 1896 he per- 
formed a mission to Chicago, 111., returning December, 
1897. Is senior president of the forty-seventh quorum of 
seventies and has always been an active churchman. His 
first wife was Caroline Frantzen. She had five children: 
Martha M., John, Caroline, Heber and Orson. She died 
in Ephraim in 1895. Second wife was Gunnell Torgesen. 



310 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

She had seven children: Sarah, Edwin, Joseph, Hyrum, 
Augusta, Clara and Agnes, Third wife was Anna M. 
Staalsen. She had seven children: Oliver, Dora, Charles, 
Alma, Lewis, Ida and Relies. 

DORIUS, LEWIS O., farmer and stock-raiser, was born 
in Denmark September 5, 1841. The family came 
to Utah in 1S55, crossing the plains in an ox-train 
under Capt. Guynian, and stopped in Salt Lake City. 
Many of the company died on the road from cholera, and 
Lewis was compelled to dig roots for food after reaching 
Salt Lake. He came to Ephraim in 1856, where he grew 
up and followed farming. Purchased a small farm and 
now owns seventy-five acres, which he works and raises 
stock. Took part in the Black Hawk war, being in the 
Salina Canyon and Grass Valley engagements. Was a 
member of the City Council several years, and one of the 
high council a number of years. Was a bishop's counsel- 
lor seventeen years. In 1862 he went to the Missouri 
river after emigrants. W T as married in Ephraim October 
4, 1863, to Mary Ann Firth, who had one child. Mother 
and child died. Married again April 11, 1867, to Caro- 
line, daughter of Hans and Annie K. Jensen, born in 
Denmark September 4, 1847. She has five living child- 
ren: Julia A., Lewis N., Hannah D., Charles and Clara J. 
Third wife was Pauline Pehrsen. Her parents came here 
in 1S62, being in a company of 400 of whom 200 died on 
the route. She has five living children: Ellen C, Mary 
A., Annie, Cordelia and Peter W. 

FRANDSEN, CHRISTIAN, farmer, son of Anders C. 
Frandsen and Margaret Christensen Frandsen, was 
born in Denmark March 10, 1849. He was raised on 
a farm and in 1872 came to Ephraim, where he engaged 
in farming. In 1885 he went on a two years' mission to 
Denmark, traveling over the Aalborg conference and pre- 
siding two years over Hjorring branch. Upon his return 
he engaged as miller for Neils Thompson for several 
years. Served as counsellor to the president of the Y. 
M. M. I. A. for some time and has been a worker in the 
Sunday school fourteen years. Served as City Councilor 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 311 

two terms, being re-elected in 1897. Was married in Salt 
Lake City November 14, 1878, to Anna K., daughter of 
Jorgen C. and Caroline Jensen, born in Denmark August 
1, 1854. They have had seven children: Matilda, Annie 
L., Carl C, Clara L., Harry L. and Ledru E., living; Har- 
old, deceased. 

C REAVES, HON. PETER, SR., buyer and shipper of 
wool, hides and grain, son of Thomas and Dorothy, 
was born in Paterson, N. J., August 26, 1837. The 
family removed to Ohio when he was seven years old, 
thence to St. Louis, where they remained till 1850. 
Father died in St. Louis in 1849, mother died when Peter 
was small and stepmother brought him to Utah. They 
started from Kanesville in 1852 in an ox-train and ar- 
rived in Salt Lake City in September, locating in Provo, 
where he learned the carpenter's trade. He came to 
Ephraim in August, 1856, received a small piece of land 
and followed farming and carpentering. He soon en- 
gaged in buying and shipping grain and produce. In 
1886 the firm of C. Andrews & Co. was formed with head- 
quarters at Nephi, he became president and has since 
held the position. They do an extensive business in buy- 
ing and shipping wool, hides and grain and he attends to 
the Ephraim branch. He owns over 100 acres of land 
and a comfortable residence in the city. Is also inter- 
ested in the Climax Roller Mill. Was a member of the 
City Council for eight years in early times. In 1891 was 
elected to the Territorial Legislature and is now chair- 
man of the Board of County Commissioners. Was mar- 
ried in Manti June 20, 1858, to Elizabeth, daughter of 
William and Elizabeth Motley, born in Herefordshire, 
England, June 10, 1837. They have had nine children: 
Peter, John, Lillie, Albert M., Sarah L. and Minnie M., 
living; William T., Margaret and Roy, deceased. 

C REAVES, PETER, JR., merchant, son of Peter and 
Elizabeth Motley, was born in Ephraim, September 
14, 1859. When a boy he worked on the farm sum- 
mers and attended school in winters. At the age of 
19 he attended the Deseret University where he studied 



312 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

one and one-half years and returned. Was engaged as 
teacher in Sanpete county until 1895, being principal of 
the Ephraim schools for several years. Served as County 
Superintendent of Schools for seven years and City Re- 
corder eight years. Was a member of the City Council 
two years. On October 1, 1806, he opened his present 
place of business, where he carries a full line of dry 
goods, groceries, notions, hats and caps, boots and shoes, 
tinware and general merchandise. He is an energetic 
and successful business man. His wife was Catherine, 
daughter of Jens C. and Jensina Mortensen, born in Den- 
mark October 28, I860. They were married in Salt Lake 
City October 9, 1S82, and have had six children: Renel 
M., Hazel E., Gescal, Grover P. and Amy I., living, Elva- 
tina, deceased. 

CREEN, HENRY, farmer, son of Charles and Mary, 
was born in Gloucestershire, England, March 11, 
1832. He joined the Mormon church and came to 
Utah in 1853, crossing the plains in James Young's com- 
pany, and locating in Salt Lake City. In 1S56 he came 
to Ephraim and engaged in farming. He now owns 
about 100 acres, and has a fine residence in the city. He 
has been a member of the City Council for several years. 
His wife was Betsey, daughter of William and Rose Mee, 
born in Coalville, Leiscestershire, England, March 4, 
1842. They were married in Ephraim March 18, 1860, 
and have seven children: Sarah E., wife of John Beal; 
John S., William T., Fannie C, Joseph F., Mary A. and 
James. 

11 ANSEN, ANDREW, farmer and stock-raiser, son of 
[1 Andrew N. and Christina, was born in Richfield, 
/ Utah, February 16, 1866. In 1867 the family came 
to Ephraim, where Andrew was raised on a farm. He 
has 100 acres of land and he and his brother, Adolph, 
are starting a prune orchard. He is also interested in 
the stock business. Was married in Logan temple April 
21, 1887, to Zina, daughter of George and Mary A. Tay- 
lor, born in Ephraim January 29, 1867. They have four 
children: George A., MoHa, Delilah and Paul G. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 31$ 

M ANSEN, ANDREW N., usually known as Tailor Han- 
|l sen, was born in Norway March 6, 1836. He 
9 learned the trade of a tailor, joined the Mormon 
church in 18G0, and in 1863 came to Utah, crossing the 
plains in Capt. Nebeker's train and located in Salt Lake 
City. Came to Ephraim in 1861, and in 1865 removed 
to Richfield, remaining two years, when he was com- 
pelled to leave on account of Indians, losing all he had. 
Returned to Ephraim and opened a tailor shop, having 
his brother Hans with him for several years. He now 
owns a farm of 200 acres and is one of the largest and 
most successful farmers of Ephraim. He served through 
the Black Hawk war and did his share. Was married 
in Richfield in April, 1865, to Jensina, daughter of Chris- 
tian and Annie E. Peterson, born in Denmark May 12, 
1814. They have had nine children : Andrew, Parley, 
Adolph, Joseph, Thorwald, Christian and Ann E., livings 



M ANSEN, CHRISTIAN, 

Jl Dorthea, was born in Denmark August 29, 1846. 
* He joined the Mormon church and came to Utah in 
1866, crossing the plains in an ox-train under Capt. 
Lowry, and located in Ephraim. The company was 
nearly nine weeks on the road, many dying of cholera 
and thirty-two- oxen dying just before reaching Salt Lake 
City. He took part in the Black Hawk war and was en- 
gaged six weeks in killing grasshoppers during what i» 
known as the* grasshopper war. In 1893 he went on a 
two years' mission to Denmark. Owns a forty-acre farm 
and residence in the city. Was married in Denmark 
February 18, 1866, to Elsie M., daughter of Johan and 
Inger M. Johansen, born in Denmark March 10, 1841. 
They have had nine children: Hans C, Canute P.,. 
George, Ephraim, John, Erinda and Sarah, living; Eliza 
and Wilford, deceased. 

M ANSEN, JAMES H., farmer, son of Hans and Annie> 
M was born in Denmark May 4, 1848. The family 
' emigrated to Utah in 1853, crossing the plains in 
Capt. Olsen's company and .located in Ephraim in No- 



314 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

vember, 1854. His father was prominent in the Mormon 
church, and died in Ephraim July 30, 1895. Mother 
died August 31, 1895. James has followed farm- 
ing and running threshing machines and harvesters. 
He owns about 100 acres of land. Was a member of the 
City Council for eight years and is an active Democratic 
politician. He performed a mission to Denmark in 1880 
and 1882 and is president of the quorum of elders. His 
wife was Olivia, daughter of Ole C. and Margaret Jorg- 
ensen Olsen, born in Copenhagen April 5, 1851. Her 
father was bishop of Mayfield many years, and the 
father of James H. was a rapid translator, doing much 
work in translating from English to the Danish language. 
They have ten children: Jennie O., Annie A., James, 
Hans T., Wilford C, John W., Grover A., Carrie E., Eva 
L. and Alonzo L. 



HANSEN, HON. JAMES P., JR., farmer and stock- 
|| raiser, son of James P. and Bendecta, was born 
' in Spanish Fork, Utah, October 16, 1859. His pa- 
rents removed to Ephraim when he was three weeks old 
and located where they now reside. He attended the 
schools of Ephraim, the B. Y. Academy at Provo and 
the Deseret University at Salt Lake City. Taught school 
in Ephraim for several years, then gave his attention to 
farming. He now has a nice farm of seventy acres and 
200 acres of pasture land. Was City Treasurer two 
years, City Justice four years, City Councillor two years 
and present school trustee. Was elected Mayor in 1897 
on the Democratic ticket. In church matters he has ta- 
ken an active part, being a home missionary for a num- 
ber of years and alternate in the high council. Was for 
several years superintendent of the Sunday-school and 
president of the Y. M. M. I. A., afterward being secre- 
tary, treasurer and holding other positions. He was 
married in the Logan temple April 21, 1887, to Hattie 
Taylor. They have two children, Eva and Pearl. Was 
married again in the Manti temple September 29, 1897, 
to Caroline, daughter of David and Mary Thompson, born 
in Ephraim December 14, 1864. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 315 

I] AXSEN, LARS C, farmer, son of Hans and Dorthea, 
M was born in Denmark December 16, 1839. He 
9 joined the Mormon church against his parents' 
wishes, left home on that account, and was a traveling 
elder four years. Came to Utah in 1865, crossing the 
plains in Capt. Atwood's company, and located in Eph- 
raim. Was at once engaged in the Black Hawk war, 
guarding and herding stock. He constructed two lime 
kilns and burnt lime for many years, then purchased a 
farm; now having sixty acres, and carrying on farming 
and hog-raising, having as many as 100 hogs. Was mar- 
ried in Faiiwiew January 19, 1866, to Karen J. Hansen. 
They have had ten children: Caroline, Louis, Heber, 
Merne, Richard, Nephi, Henry, Anthon and Eva, living; 
Olivia, deceased. 

M AXSEN, THORWALD W., merchant, proprietor of 
jl the Golden Rule, dealer in ladies' and gents' fur- 
' nishings and notions, son of John J. and Fredrikke, 
was born in Copenhagen August 30, 1868. In 1878 the 
family came to Utah and located in Ephraim, where he 
was raised. At the age of 20 he engaged as clerk in 
the Co-op. store and became manager. In October, 1896, 
he opened a store of his own, and in 1898 erected a fine 
business block at a cost of about $2500, in which he car- 
ries a well-selected stock. Was married in Ephraim 
December 23, 1891, to Sarah A., daughter of Henry and 
Stina Beal, born in Ephraim March 27, 1872. They have 
two children: Ivan A., born January 18, 1896, and Glen 
L., born June 29, 1898. 

ISAACSON, PETER, farmer, son of Isaac and Anna 
M., war born in Denmark May 30, 1828. He learned 
the trade of a carpenter, joined the Mormon church 
in 1854, and came to Utah via New Orleans, stopping 
awhile in western Missouri. Drove a team across the 
plains, and spent one winter in Salt Lake City. In 1858 
he came to Ephraim and worked at his trade until he 
secured a small farm. In 1876 he was called to Arizona 
to help settle the country and civilize the Indians. He 
remained there till 1893, engaged in farming and stock- 



"316 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

raising, and returned to Ephraim, where he now owns 
forty acres of land. Took an active part in the Black 
Hawk war, being Captain of fifty, and was in the Eph- 
raim canyon when two men were killed. Was married 
in Missouri to Anna M. Paulsen, who died in a few 
months. Married again in Salt Lake City April 21, 1857, 
to Martha C. Clemenson, born in Denmark. She had 
four children: Isaac, Anna M., and Martin, living; Peter 
I., deceased. 

JENSEN, ADOLPH W., principal of the Ephraim 
schools, son of Jens P. and Dorthea, was born in 
Ephraim March 10, 1871. He attended the public 
schools of this city and took a. course of one year in the 
B. Y. Academy at Provo. Began teaching the primary 
department, was promoted to the grammar grade, and in 
1S95 became principal of the schools. Under his man- 
agement the schools have prospered and he has the good 
will of parents, pupils and subordinates. Is a member 
of the Mormon church, and for two years was president 
of the Y. M. M. I. A. Is second assistant superintendent 
of the Sunday-schools and secretary and treasurer of the 
Stake Sabbath schools. AYas elected a member of the 
City Council in 1897 on the Republican ticket. Was mar- 
ried in Manti June 5, 1895, to Elizabeth, daughter of John 
and Elizabeth James. They have two children: Adolph 
L. and Evart J. 

JENSEN, CHRISTIAN S., farmer, son- of Jens and 
Elsie, was born in Denmark March 12, 1826. He 
joined the Mormon church in 1855 and in 1856 came 
to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox-train and suffering 
mucli from hunger and cold. He lost three yoke of oxen, 
one of their children died, and they arrived in Salt Lake 
City, through a relief company, in over three feet of snow, 
with nothing left. In 1857 he came to Ephraim, assisted 
in building the fort and lived in it for two years. Served 
in the Black Hawk war. Before coming to this country 
he served one year in the w r ar against Germany, receiv- 
ing a bullet in the left shoulder. In his battalion were 
1300 men, 900 being killed or wounded in one day. He 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. ( 317 

went to Circle Valley to help settle the country, but had 
to leave after building a home, on account of Indians. 
Was head watermaster fifteen years. Is one of the high 
priests. Was married in Denmark to Karen Jensen. 
She died in Ephraim March 3, 1897, leaving one living 
son: Hans C. Second wife was Trena Neilson, native ol 
Denmark. She has three children: Christina, James C 
and Annie. 

JENSEN, HANS C, farmer, son of Jens and Kirsten, 
was born in Denmark January 25, 1834. He learned 
the trade of a miller, and in 1864 he came to Utah, 
bringing his mother, crossing the plains in Capt. Pres- 
ton's train, and located in Ephraim. He went to Circle 
Valley to assist the settlers, and in company with his 
brother, P. C, and Ivor Peterson, constructed a grist 
mill, propelled by wind power. In 1866 they were driven 
out by Indians, losing everything, and returned to Eph- 
raim. Hans then run vVillardsen's mill for eight years 
and went to farming, which he still carries on successful- 
ly, owning 250 acres of land. Was a member of the City 
Council two terms. Married in Salt Lake City July 31, 
1871, to Nellie, daughter of Lars and Christina Lund- 
stem, born in Sweden. She died May 5, 1891. Thev had 
ten children: Amelia, Louesa, Hans C, Harold W. and 
Edgar M., living; John H., Nicolina, Ada, Roval F. and 
Nellie, deceased. 

JENSEN, JENS P., farmer, son of Hans and Annie K. 
Hansen, was born in Housenge, Denmark, December 
12, 1845. He was raised to farming, joined the Mor- 
mon church and came to Utah in 1866, crossing the plains 
in an ox-train under Capt. Abner Lowry, and located at 
Ephraim. Bought five acres of 'land and now owns 
seventy-five acres. He was a member of the City Coun- 
cil for several years. Before leaving Denmark he was 
a traveling elder two years, and in 1882 went back as a 
missionary, remaining about two years. Was married 
in Salt Lake City October 23, 1866, to Dorthea Jensen, a 
native of Denmark. They have had eight children: 
Peter D., Adolph W., Sophia K, Hans E. and Christian 



318 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

N., living; Jens J. A., Anna K. and Josephine E., de- 
ceased. 

JENSEN, JOHN C, deceased, farmer and wheelwright, 
son of Jens and Johanna M., was born in Denmark 
June 24, 1828. He learned the trade of a wheel- 
wright, joined the Mormon church and came to Utah in 
1862, crossing the plains in an ox-train under Bishop 
Madsen, and located in Ephraim. Was a prominent man 
in church affairs and for many years counsellor to the 
president of the elder's quorum. He followed his trade 
of a wheelwright and died here November 17, 1889. Was 
married in Denmark to Annie S., daughter of Neils and 
Dorthea Christensen Neilsen, born in Denmark July 24, 
1835. They had twelve children: John C, Daniel C, 
Charles F., Andrew N., Benjamin L. and Erastus T., liv- 
ing; Jens J., Johanna D., Martina B., Marinus L., Jensina 
J. and Mina, deceased; four died while crossing the ocean. 

JENSEN, OLE C, farmer and stock-raiser, son of Hans 
and Hetta, was born in Denmark September 2, 1854. 
The family came to Utah in 1S63, crossing the plains 
in an ox-train, and located in Ephraim, remaining ten 
years, when they removed to Levan, where they now re- 
side. Ole grew up to farm life and freighted produce to 
the mining camps of Utah and Nevada. He bought a 
small farm and cultivates it, having also about 100 head 
of stock. He and his father took part in the Black Hawk 
war, being in a party that were driven from Ephraim 
canyon, losing their teams. Is interested in a threshing 
machine and follows that work every fall. Was married 
in Spring City July 23, 1877, to Maria, daughter of Soren 
and Karen M. Mortensen, born in Denmark November 
15, 1853. They have had ten children : Hans O., Myrtle, 
Orvel, Randolph, Caroline, Edwin, Ross, Selma and an 
infant, living; Franklin, deceased. 

JENSEN, P. C, known as P. C. Jensen Kjolbye, son of 
Jens and Kirsten, was born in Denmark April 24, 
1830. He learned the trade of a carpenter, joined 
the Mormon church, and in 1862 came to Utah, crossing 



HISTORY OF SA.NPETE COUNTY. 319 

the plains in Capt. Madsen's company, and located in 
Ephraini, where he followed his trade for several years. 
In 1S65 he went to Circle Valley, built a grist mill and 
good home, which he lost with several cattle, when the 
settlers were driven out by Indians. He returned to 
Ephraim and took part in the Black Hawk war. Oper- 
ated a meat market several years, then went to farming 
and wool-growing, now having 4000 sheep. In 1877 he 
went on a mission of twenty-six months to Copenhagen. 
Was married in Denmark in 1860 to Mary C. Christensen. 
They have had five children: Jacob, Martin, Peter and 
James, living; Elsina, deceased. 

JENSEN, PETER D., teacher of the grammar grade of 
the public schools, residing in Ephraim, son of Jens 
P. and Dorthea, was born in Ephraim May 17, 1S69. 
He was raised to farm work and attended the Ephraim 
district schools. Taught school during the winter of 
1891 and 1892, then entered the B. Y. Academy at Provo, 
taking a two years' normal course. Taught three years 
at Monroe and one in Manti. Is an active worker in the 
Sunday-school and missionary for Sanpete county. Was 
married in Manti temple September 26, 1894, to Sarah 
J., daughter of Nephi and Mary A. J. Rees, born in Wales, 
this county, December 13, 1S73. They have two children: 
Eva D., born in Wales, July 3, 1895; and Delille, born in 
Ephraim June 30, 1897. 

JENSEN, RASMUS, farmer, son of Jens and Mary 
Jorgensen, was born in Denmark January 31, 1842. 
He was raised on a farm, joined the Mormon church 
and came to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Saunder's 
ox-train, and located in Ephraim in October, 1863. His 
parents and brother came in 1866, mother died on the 
road and father here in 1888. Rasmus took part in the 
Black Hawk war; was in the canyon when three persons 
were killed by Indians, and had to run for his life. In 
1868 he went to the North Platte river after emigrants. 
Was engaged several years in freighting produce to the 
mining camps, then bought a farm, now owns 100 acres 
and considerable cattle, being a successful man. Was 
married in Ephraim October 22, 1876, to Ingabor Iversen. 



320 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

She has three children: James, Erastus and Orson. Also 
has one by former marriage: Gustave A. Iversen. 

JENSEN, SOREN P., farmer, son of Peter and Ker- 
sten, was born in Denmark August 17, 1843. The 
family joined the Mormon church and emigrated in 
1862, crossing the plains in Bishop Madsen's train, and 
located in Moroni. Father died in Moroni May 18, 1872; 
mother May 20, 1880. In 1863 Soren came to Ephraim 
and engaged in farming. He took part in the Black 
Hawk war, being in the Salina canyon and other engage- 
ments. In 1S66 he went to the Missouri river, in Capt. 
Abner Lowry's company, after emigrants. He purchased 
a small farm and now has sixty acres and a good home in 
the city. Is also interested in a threshing machine, 
which he works every year. In 1889 he went on a two 
years' mission to Denmark. Was married in Ephraim 
to Mary Christensen. She had six children: Mary, 
Peter, Maria, Christian, Soren and Elvina. Wife died 
and he married Dorthea Folkersen, who also died, leaving 
two children: Sidonia and Wilford. Was married again 
September 8, 1897, to Martina King. 

JOHANSEN, AUGUST, farmer and woolgrower, son of 
Carl and Keisa, was born in Sweden, November 24, 
1845. The family joined the Mormon church and 
father and mother emigrated in 1S63, August, arriving in 
1864, crossing the plains in an ox-train under Bishop 
Preston, and located in Ephraim. They took part in the 
Black Hawk w r ar and parents both died here. August 
reached Ephraim without a dollar and owing for his fare 
across the plains, now has 6,000 sheep which he and his 
two eldest sons handle successfully, besides conducting a 
good farm. He was married in Salt Lake City, November 
30, 1867, to Christina Jorgensen. They have ten children, 
Charles, Annie, Edwin, Clara, Josephine; Arthur, Greorge, 
Rupert, Albert and Harold. 

JOHNSON, ALBERT, proprietor of Ephraim saw and 
planing mill, son of Christen and Nicoline. was born 
in Norway, April 18, 1868. He and a sister came to 
Ephraim in 1880 and he learned the carpenter's trade. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 321 

In 1889 be and Madsen Bros, secured the present loca- 
tion, then an old mill known as Thorpe's, and put in 
wood working machinery, using water power. In 189-1 
he purchased the entire business and is doing well in con- 
tracting and building and furnishing materials, lie has 
erected several fine buildings in this city. lu January, 
1898, he put in a steam plant and employs two to four 
men. Is a stock-holder in the Gunnison roller mills and 
interested in a saw-mill east of the city. Was married 
in Ephraim, December 28, 1S92, to Jennie, daughter of 
Niels and Catherine Thompson, born iu Ephraim, No- 
vember 7, 1872. They have three children, Lucile, Grace 
and Robert A. 

JORGENSEN, JOKGEN, farmer, son of Jens C. and 
Caroline, was born in Denmark, June 18, 1851. The 
family joined the Mormon church and came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in Bishop Madsen's company, reach- 
ing Ephraini in November, 18G2. Jorgen and his father 
quarried rock for many years, furnishing material for 
numerous buildings in Ephraim. The parents removed 
to Lehi. He does some quarrying, but devotes most of 
his time to handling a ninety-acre farm, which he owns. 
Took part in the Black Hawk war; went on a '..ission to 
Denmark in 1896, and was watermaster for fifteen years. 
Was married in Salt Lake City, March 9, 1871, to Dorcas, 
daughter of Andrew and Margaret Larsen, born in Den- 
mark, November 30, 1852. They have had eleven chil- 
dren, Camilla, George A., Enoch, Rebecca, Orpa, Gil- 
bert and Lyman living; Trena, Nora, Josephine and John 
H. deceased. 

CARSEN, CHRISTIAN, farmer and stock-raiser, son 
of Christen and Marha, C, was born in Denmark, 
raim, September 18, 1869. He was raised to farm 
work and now owns 120 acres of good land, seventy head 
of cattle and is a prosperous young farmer. Was mar- 
ried in Ephraim, November 15, 1893, to Sarah, daughter 
of Gustav and Fredrikke Soderberg, born in Ephraim, 
April 24, 1873. They have two children, Ira D., born \u- 
gust 30, 1894, and Evan C, November 12, 1896. 



322 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

CARSEN, CHRISTEN A., farmer and stock-raiser, son 
of Christen and Maria C, was born in Denmark, 
March 6, 1836. His parents joined the Mormon 
church in 1852 and father was an elder in the church. 
In December, 1853, the family started for Utah and ar- 
rived in Salt Lake City, October 5, 1851, in Captain 01- 
sen's company of ox-teams. Parents came to Ephraim 
in fall of 1851, father paying the fares of twenty >thers, 
had nothing when he arrived. Father died in Nephi in 
1887, mother died in Denmark when Christen was 9 years 
of age. He remained in Salt Lake City two years, then 
came to Ephraim, receiving a small piece of land, which 
he has added to, and now owns over 300 acres, being in 
terested in stock-raising. During the Black Hawk war 
he was an active participant, at one time in a skirmish 
with Indians having a horse shot from under him. Was 
a member of the City Council two years. Does some 
money loaning for himself and others. He is a strong 
believer in free speech and religious freedom. Was ex- 
communicated from the church about 1871, and later 
erected a large hall by his residence and fitetd it up, giv- 
ing any and all denominations the privilege of using it 
for many years. Was married in Ephraim, May IS, 1858, 
to Mary A., daughter of Andrew and Annie Jensen, born 
in Denmark. They liave seven children, William, Mary, 
Annie, Christian. Olivia, Alma C. and Zenobia. 

CARSEN, 0. P., farmer and stock-raiser, son of 
Christen and Johanna M., was born in Denmark, 
October 6, 1S10. The family joined the Mormon 
church and emigrated in 1855, stopping in Burlington, 
Iowa, until 1857, when they crossed the plains in Capt. 
Cowley's company. He came to Ephraim in 1858, par- 
ents and four children coming in 1S60. Father died here 
in 1881, mother in 1862. In 1862 C. P. went back to the 
Missouri river for emigrants. He served in the Black 
Hawk war and was in the skirmishes in Salina canyon 
and Grass Valley. Was married in Ephraim, April 9, 
1862, to Mary, daughter of Rasmus and Caroline Larsen. 
Her parents came to Ephraim in 1854 among the first 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 323 

settlers, and both died here. She has had ten children. 
Peter, Rasmus, Nora, Amelia, Rosella, John C, Raymond 
and Mabel living; Ole and Caroline V., deceased. 

CARSEN, GEORGE, deceased, son of Christian and 
Mary, was born in Denmark, November 10, 1846. 
The family came to Utah in 1851 and located in 
Ephraim. He was raised a farmer and continued the 
work till his death, January 29, 1873. In the Black Hawk 
war he was a minute man, going on many trips after In- 
dians. Was an active churchman and went back to the 
Missouri river in 1866 after emigrants. He was in the 
engagements with Indians east of Ephraim and in the 
canyon, seeing the three men killed. Was married in 
Salt Lake City, November 2, 1867, to Kisty, daughter of 
Rasmus and Anna C. Johnson, born on the island of Fals- 
ter, Denmark, November 22, 1818. They had three chil- 
dren, Anna C., wife of Charles Nelson; George C. and 
Lillie, wife of Christian Willardson. Mrs. Larsen came 
from Denmark in 1853 and was in Manti when a list of 
settlers w T as made for Ephraim. Her father was the first 
Danishman to sign the roll. He helped build the forts 
and served in the Black Hawk war. Father died July 2, 
1874; mother, March 14, 1889. 

CARSEN, H. P., druggist, son of Michael and Annie 
K, was born in Horbelov, Island of Falster, Den- 
mark, January 15, 1857. He attended the schools of 
his native country and then studied for overseer of a 
farm. His father died and mother joined the Mormon 
church and came to Utah with him and sister, Karen M., 
locating a short time at Scipio and coming to Ephraim in 
1873. He learned the carpenter trade which he followed 
for a number of years. Studied music and became a 
teacher of the violin and leader of the city orchestra. 
Then studied pharmacy under Dr. W. H. Olsten, and be- 
came a registered pharmacist. He opened his drug store 
in 1887 and has a fine place, the first one in Ephraim, car- 
rying drugs, medicines, chemicals, toilet articles, paints, 
oils, groceries, hardware, and is doing a very successful 



324 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

business. He was appointed postmaster in November, 
1SS7, and resigned in October, 1S97. Is a member of the 
Utah Pharmaceutical association and an active Demo- 
cratic politician. Married in Salt Lake City to Sarah E. 
Christensen. She died leaving one child, Sarah E. Was 
married again to Mary A. Larson. They have two chil- 
dren, Rhoda E. and Aubrey Iff. 

CARSEN, JAMES P., farmer, son of Christen S. and 
Johanna M., was born in Denmark March 11, 1812. 
The family joined the Mormon church and emi- 
grated in 1855, stopping at Burlington, la., for lack of 
funds till 1859, when they came to Utah in an ox-train* 
under Capt. James Brown, and located in Ephraim, 
where parents died. James took part in the Black Hawk 
war, being in the Salina canyon engagement and shot 
through the coat sleeve. In 1863 he went to the Missouri 
river after emigrants. In 1880 he was called on a two 
years' mission to Denmark. He w^as for many years a 
member of the band. Has a nice farm and is a successful 
fanner. Was married in Ephraim, January 19, 1863, to 
Kisty, daughter of Rasm-as-aj id Carolin e Larsen, born in 
Denmark, January 21, 1817. Her paints were among 
the first settlers of Ephraim; both died here. She has 
had twelve children, Annie, Caroline L., Tina, Eliza, Vi- 
late, Carrie, Alonzo and Lavor living; James R., Lewis, 
Hannah D. and George H., deceased. 

CARSEN, OLE, millwright, son of Rasmus and Caro- 
line, was born in Denmark, on the Island of Falster, 
November 13, 1850. The family joined the Mormon 
church and came to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt 
Fosgren's company, reaching Ephraim in 1853, and going 
to Manti. In 1851 they returned to Ephraim, father as- 
sisted in building the forts, and was a prominent church- 
man, for many years being president of the Quorum of 
Seventies. Parents died here some years ago. Ole 
learned the trade of a cabinet maker, then went to Salt 
Lake City and learned to be an engineer. Later he learned 
to be a millwright and assisted in putting up most of the 




PRESIDENT CANUTE PETERSON, 
EPHRAIM. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 325 

mills in the county. He owns an interest in the Hunting- 
ton mill in Emery county, which he put up. Is a con- 
tractor in erecting- buildings. Took part in the Black 
Hawk war in guarding and other duties. Was married 
in Salt Lake City, April 15, 1870, to Annie M., daughter 
of Andrew P. and Annie Olsen, born in Denmark, Sep- 
tember 22, 1S52. They have four children, Annie C, wife 
of William H. Bailey; Clara L., wife of Adelbert Ander- 
son; Angeline, wife of Charles Jensen, and Marinda, wife 
of Andrew 7 T. Bjerregaard. 

CARSEN, WILLIAM A., farmer and woolgrower, son 
of Christian A. and Mary A. Larsen, was born in 
Ephraim, February 23, 1860. He was raised to farm 
work and now follows farming and stock-raising. Owns 
145 acres of land. Attended the University of Utah a 
short time and made a study of music for two years, be- 
coming an expert on the flute. Was a member of the 
brass band fifteen years. Served as assistant post- 
master in Ephraim five years and postmaster at Price, 
Carbon county, eight months. Was married in Salt Lake 
City, October 28, 1880, to Matilda, daughter of Lars and 
Mary A. Anderson, born in Ephraim, October 4, 1859. 
Her parents died here, coming in 1856 among the early 
settlers, father being a representative man. Her chil- 
dren are William A., Drucilla E., Mary R., Mary A. J., 
Hillary L., Grace O. and Vera M. living; Raphael and 
Christian R., deceased. 

eUND, HON. ANTHON H., merchant, son of Henry 
and Ane Christine, was born at Aalborg, Denmark, 
May 15, 1844. He was sent to school at 4 years of 
age and soon learned to read. The historical part of the 
Bible had a special attraction for him. This early read- 
ing has proved of incalculable value to him in his min- 
isterial labors. At 7 years he entered the city schools of 
Aalborg and when hardly 12 years old he had reached the 
foremost place in the highest grade. His uncle and 
grandmother joined the Mormon church early in the '50's, 
but he was but a young boy when he first came in con- 



326 HISTORY 01 SANPETE COUNTY. 

tact with the Saints, but he became deeply interested in 
their teachings and was soon convinced of their truth. At 
13 years of age he was sent as a missionary to the Aal- 
borg conference. At 10 he was appointed to preside over 
the Aalborg branch and also a traveling- elder. In the 
spring of 1802 he emigrated to Utah in the company of 
Bishop C. A. Madsen. Arriving in Utah, he spent three 
months in Fairview as a farm hand. He went next to 
Mount Pleasant. John Barton, one of the early settlers 
of that place, engaged him to teach his children. He 
lived with these people nearly seven years. In the spring 
of 1804 he was sent to the Missouri river after emigrants. 
Was clerk of the company and helped in guard duties. 
When he returned to Mount Pleasant in the fall he was 
engaged to teach school. The next spring he was en- 
gaged as clerk in William Jenning's store in Mount 
Pleasant. In the winter of 1866, when the building of 
the Deseret telegraph line was contemplated, President 
Young called a number of young men to learn telegraphy 
and he was chosen. On his return to Mount Pleasant he 
built a telegraph office and photographic gallery, and 
when the Deseret telegraph line was extended through 
the southern settlements he took the position of operator 
and also engaged in the business of photography. In the 
fall of 1870 he moved to Ephraim, having married the 
daughter of Bishop Peterson, and has resided here ever 
since. When the Co-op. store was established he was 
elected a director and appointed secretary. Was also 
elected a member of the first City Council. In the spring 
of 1871 he accompanied his father-in-law on a mission 
to Scandinavia and was appointed business manager of 
the mission. In 1873 he accepted a position in the Eph- 
raim Co-op. store and became its manager, wmich posi- 
tion he held until 1883, when he was again called to go 
to Scandinavia on a mission. Under his management the 
store had become one of the leading stores of the county, 
and for years the shareholders received a dividend of 25 
per cent. In 1871 he was chosen a member of the High 
Council, and when the Sanpete stake was organized in 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 327 

1877 he was chosen to be a member of the new High 
Council and also appointed clerk of the Sanpete stake. 
In 1883 he went to Scandinavia as president of that mis- 
sion. He edited two papers in Danish and one in Swed- 
ish, and attended to a large emigration business. He re- 
turned in the fall of 1S85 and was elected a member of 
the Territorial Legislature, re-elected in 1887. Among 
the bills he introduced, which were passed, were the bills 
for the founding of the Eeform School and the Agricul- 
tural College. In 1886 he accepted the position as agent 
for Z. C. M. I. in Sanpete and Sevier counties, and held 
it until May, 1888, when he was appointed vice-president 
of the Manti Temple and a member of the Church Board 
of Education. In 1889 he was sustained as one of the 
Twelve Apostles. On the death of President D. H. Wells 
in 1891 he succeeded him in the presidency of the Manti 
Temple. In 1893 he received the appointment of presi- 
dent of the European mission and occupied this position 
over three years. His knowledge of several of the Euro- 
pean languages was a great help to him in that position. 
In 1897 he was elected a director of the Z. C. M. I., and 
in December of the same year he was sent on a special 
mission to Turkey. He organized branches of the church 
at Aintab and Aleppo, and visited Jerusalem and the 
Holy Land. He returned in June, 1898. During the last 
ten years he has carried on a successful business in stoves 
and furniture. He has always taken an active interest 
in public affairs, especially in the improvement of 
schools. He held the position of school trustee for many 
years and as superintendent of the North Ward Sunday- 
school. His wife was Sarah A., daughter of Canute and 
Sarah A. Peterson, born in Lehi, January 4, 1853. They 
were married in Salt Lake City, May 2, 1870, and have 
had nine children, Anthony C, who has received a musi- 
cal education in Germany, has had charge of the musical 
department of B. Y. academy the last three years, and 
was the youngest member of the Constitutional State 
convention; Henry C, taking a law course in the Michi- 
gan University; Kay, teacher in Ephraim schools; Oth- 



328 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

niel, August William, George C. and Eva, at home; Sarah 
H. and Canute, deceased. 

CUND, THOMAS P., manufacturer of lumber, son of 
Peter and Mary' A., was born in Denmark, August 
6, 1S57. He came with his parents to Utah in '68, 
crossing the plains in an ox train and located at Eph- 
raim. Worked on a farm and in the canyon getting out 
lumber till '87, when he purchased a sawmill, thirteen 
miles east of Ephraim, which he still owns, employing 
twelve to fifteen men and cutting about 300,000 feet of 
lumber annually. Also owns 100 acres of land and is 
engaged in stockraising. He served in the Black Hawk 
war at guarding and herding stock. Was married in Salt 
Lake City, May 20, 1880, to Carrie C, daughter of Soren 
and Elsie M. Olsen. They have six children: Elsie M., 
Tressie, Thomas L., Alma C., Eva S. and Carrie E. 

/T\ ADSEX, JENS C, retired farmer, son of Christian 
ill and Anna K., was born in Denmark, December 3, 
" I 1821. He was raised on a farm, and came to 
Utah in '63, crossing the plains in Capt. Saunder's com- 
pany, and reaching Ephraim on October 12th. When he 
arrived he had 5 cents in cash, with a wife and four chil- 
dren depending on him. Soon purchased a small farm 
and culti rated it until he retired on account of age. Took 
part in the Black Hawk war and did his share of the 
duties. Was married in Denmark to Anna K. Jacobsen. 
They have had four children: Christian, Johanna and 
Anna K., married and living in Utah; one child, Ger- 
trude, deceased. 

fY\ ADSEX, MADS PETER, farmer, son of Peter and 
111 Ellen, was born in Ephraim, March 25, 1856. He 
* V is the second oldest male child born in Ephraim, 
now a resident. Owns twenty-five acres of land and fol- 
lows farming. Served as Justice of the Peace one term. 
In October, 1884, went on a two years' mission to Den- 
V ark. Is a member of the Quorum of Seventies and has 
always taken an active interest in the Y. M. M. I. A., 
having been counsellor to the president. He worked 



HISTOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 329 

several months in the Manti and St. George temples. 
During the Black Hawk war was shot in the back by 
an arrow while playing outside the fort. Was married 
in Salt Lake City, June 26, 1876, to Josephine, daughter 
of Ole and Annie Johnson Olsen, born in Christiania, 
October 24, 1858. They have eight children: Peter F., 
Orson, Hyrum B., Ellen^ Clifford L., Charles H., Katie J., 
Edith L. and Thelma. 

/Y\ADSEN, NEILS J., of Madsen Bros. & Co., manu- 

/ 1 I facturers of lumber, son of Peter and Ellen, was 
I I born in Ephraim July 19, 1859. He was brought 
up to farm work, but engaged in lumbering when he be- 
came a man. In '87 he and brother David built a mill in 
Cottonwood canyon, run by water power, where they 
made lumber. In '91 they put in steam power and opened 
the first steam planing mill in Ephraim. They admitted 
A. C. Anderson in '97, thus forming the present company, 
^seils is also interested in woolgrowing. His wife was 
Viola, daughter of John and Caroline Pratt Van Cott, 
born in Salt Lake City June 19, 1860. They were married 
in Salt Lake City July 8, 1880, and have seven children: 
Maggie, Ruby, Joseph, Van Le Roy, Harold, Ray and 
Harvey. 

fY\ ADSEN, PETER, retired farmer, carpenter and 
J | I wheelwright, son of Mads and Anna, was bora on 
.1 V the island of Sjelland October 11, 1818. He 
" learned the trade of a wheelwright, was baptized into the 
Mormon church December 29, 1851, and came to Utah in 
1853, crossing the plains in John Fosgren's company. He 
located in Spring City, where he soon left on account of 
Indians, going to Manti, and in 1851 coming to Ephraim, 
where he assisted in building the fort. He endured all 
the hardships and privations of early days and took part 
in the Indian troubles. For many years he had a shop 
near by his residence and worked at his trade and doing 
carpentering. Had a farm which he worked till six years 
ago, when he retired because of age. Was city treasurer 



330 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

for two years, and has always been quite active and 
prominent in public matters. His first wife, whom he 
married May 9, 1S52, was Ellen Nielson. She died in 
Ephraim January 15, 1SS4, leaving four children: Mads 
P., Ellen 0. and Joseph, living and married; Josephine, 
deceased. Second wife was Maria C. Thompson. She haa 
three children: David P., Ezra S. and Daniel F., all 
living in Ephraim. 

rr\ ORTENSEN, NEILS N., farmer and stockraiser, son 
ill °f Jens and Anna C, was born in Denmark Sep- 
/ * tember 10, 1S37. He joined the Mormon church 
in 1S63 and emigrated in 1864, passing through Germany 
to England to evade being pressed into service in the 
army. Himself and wife with two children reached 
Ephraim in September, 1864, having crossed the plains 
in Captain John Smith's company. Purchased a farm 
and now has 500 acres of land, being one of the largest 
farmers in Ephraim. He went on a mission in 1886 to 
the Northern States. Was married in Denmark in 1861 
to Christina Jensen. She died June 1, 1S83, leaving ten 
children: Anna C, George, Matilda, Neils, Petreana C. r 
Mortena and Josephina, living; Josephine C, Heber and 
George A., deceased. 

fy\ UBRAY, M. F., born in Philadelphia, Penn., De- 
J 1 I cember 12, 1862. Family moved to Osage, Iowa, 
I V in I860, and from there moved to I^e Roy, Minn., 
in 1875. He received his education in public schools of 
Le Roy. Learned the printing business in the office of 
the Le Roy Independent. In 1889 moved to South Sioux 
City, Nebraska, and was for two years foreman and city 
editor of South Sioux City Times. Came to Utah in 
search of better health in 1801, in which year he estab- 
lished the Ephraim Enterprise, which he has conducted 
ever since. Is a Democrat and has taken an active part 
in county and State politics. Is at present chairman of 
the Democratic County Committee. Was elected County 
Clerk in 1896. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 331 

]v[eILSEN, CHRISTIAN, deceased, son of Soren and 
li Mary, was born in Denmark, February 12, 1810. 
* He joined the Mormon church and came to Utah, 
c.cssing the plains in Capt. Olsen's company, reaching 
Ephraim in November, 1854. In '65 he went to assist in 
settling Circle Valley, but had to return in one year on 
account of Indians, losing about all he had. Engaged in 
farming and followed it till his death, September 16, 1889. 
Was married in Denmark, his wife dying while en route 
to Utah, leaving two children, Mary and Annie K. Mar- 
ried again in Ephraim, January 9, 1855, to Karen, daugh- 
ter of Peter and Johanna Hansen, born in Denmark, De- 
cember 12, 1835. She had seven children: Caroline, wife 
of N. P. Neilsen; Margaret, wife of Bishop C. R. Dorius; 
Christian P., Thomas F. and Hannah E., wife of Eph- 
raim Peterson, living; Hans C. and Mary J., deceased. 

|V| EILSEN, NEILS P., farmer and quarryman, son of 
1 1 Peter and Kersten Anderson, was born on the isl- 
and of Falster, Denmark, February 13, 1S47. His 
mother joined the Mormon church in 1858, and he and 
father in 1862, when the family came to Utah, crossing 
the plains in an ox train in Capt. Horn's company. 
Father died while en route, on the Sweetwater. The fam- 
ily reached Ephraim in November, 1862. Neils P. assist- 
ed in quarrying stone for the fort and stood guard during 
the Black Hawk war. He w T as married in Salt Lake City, 
December 15, 1868, to Caroline, daughter of Christen and 
Anna M. Christensen, born in Hjoring Amt. Jyland, Sep- 
tember 5, 1848. They have had thirteen children: Heber 
P., teacher in the Ephraim public schools and proprietor 
of the Arcade Book-store; Hans F., proprietor Centre 
Street Meat Market; David W., Abel C, Aurelia C, Aaron 
G., Moses M., Anna A., Matilda C, Ernest H. and Joseph 
R., living; Neils P. and an infant, deceased. When the 
land was divided he received five acres, and now has a 
nice farm of fifty acres. Is a small woolgrower and was 
a stockholder in the Co-op store. He has always been 
an active worker in church and Sunday-school, and never 
i- issed attending Sunday-school in twenty-five years. 
Served as assistant superintendent and was counsellor 




p 



HON. AXTHOX H. LUND, 
KPHRAIM. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 333 

1£49. Her children are: Hilda, Hannah, Joseph, Frank- 
lin, Amelia, Martin, Almah and Hazel, living; Batilda, 
Neils D., Alvin H. and Betsey E., deceased. Third wife 
was Betsey Neilson, who had two children: Benjamin, 
living, and John, deceased. Fourth wife was Annetta 
Tulberg. She has uo children. 

kf IELSON, SOREN, deceased, was bom in Christiania, 
1)1 Norway, about 1810. He spent many years in quar- 
I rying stone and the livery business, 'in 1S53 he emi- 
grated to Utah, leaching Ephraim in '56 and locating. 
Was engaged many years in farming and freighting pro- 
duce to the milling camps of Utah and Nevada, then went 
into the mercantile business. Took an active part in the 
Black Hawk Avar, standing guard and other duties, and 
lost many head of cattle by Indian depredations. He was 
a very successful business man and accumulated consid- 
erable money, which he loaned during the last few years. 
He died in Ephraim October 19, 1893. Was married first 
in Norway to Maria 0. Brunn, who had one child: Mary 
C. Second wife was Maria Dennison, who had one child": 
Sorina. She was married previously to Niels Ericksen, 
having two living children : Caroline and Mads N. 



LSEN, SOREN A., farmer, son of Andrew P. and 
Elizabeth, was born in Denmark August 30, 1852. 
In 1862 he came to Utah with his grandfather, 



o 

„^ ^_ w wvm. »nu JJJ.O gA tt 11 U.1 a Llld", 

-crossing the plains in an ox-train with Captain Soren 
Christofferson, and located in Ephraim. Parents came 
later. During the Black Hawk war he stood guard and 
herded stock. Was raised to farm work and freighted 
produce to the mining camps of Utah and Nevada. He 
secured a farm, now owns 150 acres and is a very success- 
ful farmer and stockraiser, having 200 head of cattle. 
Was married in Salt Lake City to Trena Olsen. She had 
seven children: Christian, Martin, Osman, Marinda, 
Irvin and Katie, living; and Erastus, deceased. Wife 
died and he married again in Logan October 12, 1887, to 
Emma, daughter of Hans and Lena Neilsen, born in Den- 



334 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

mark February 2, 1861. She has had seven children: 
Delia, El vena, Orson, Elvina, Emroy and Dosena, living; 
Lena, deceased. 

OLSON, OLE, traveling salesman for Consolidated Im- 
plement Company, was born in Denmark June 6, 
1862. Uis parents came from Denmark, crossing 
the plains by ox-train in 1866 or 7. Father is living; 
mother dead. He was raised on a farm and engaged in 
farming and stockraising, now owning about 100 acres 
of land and a residence in the city. In 1889 he began 
selling agricultural implements for D. M. Osborne and 
the Studebaker Company; was with them six years, and 
engaged in his present work, being very successful and 
having charge of Sanpete county. He also owns a one- 
fourth interest in the Junction Co-op store, which carries 
about $15,000 stock of general merchandise. Served as 
Justice of the Peace for several years. His wife was 
Emma, daughter of Niels and Catherine Christiansen, 
born in Salt Lake City June 17, 1859. They were married 
in Salt Lake City April 24, 1S81, and have four children: 
Ole TV., Emma K., Joseph E. and Anna D. 

0TTERSTROM, JOHN H., farmer and dealer in grain 
and stock, son of Jonas and Mary K. Johansen, was 
born in Christiania, Norway, March 24, 1850. The 
family came to Utah in 1856, crossing the plains in Can- 
ute Peterson's train, and located in Ephralm. They lived 
in the fort several years, father being a blacksmith and 
an active worker in the church, took part in the Black 
Hawk war and died in April, 1884. Mother died Septem- 
ber 2, 1897. John was raised here and learned the black- 
smithing trade of his father. He worked in the canyon 
at farming and freighting and then went to buying and 
shipping grain. Owns a farm and has a good residence 
in the city. Served as a member of the City Council. Was 
married in Salt Lake City March 9, 1871, to Nicolina, 
daughter of Soren and Elsie M. Olsen, born in Denmark 
August 11, 1851. Thev have had seven children: John 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 335 

H., Joseph F., Alice, Oscar and Neoini, living; Charles 
W. and Mahonroy, deceased. 

PAULSEN, PAUL, fanner, son of Lars and Caroline, 
was born in Denmark, July 24, 1845. In the fall of 
'53 the family left for Utah, crossing- the plains in 
Capt. Olsen's ox train company, reaching Ephraiin in Oc- 
tober, 1854, being one year on the way. They assisted 
in building the outside fort, father quarrying the rock 
and mother driving team in hauling. Father died in '84, 
mother still living, 77 years of age. Paul took part in 
the Black Hawk war, being in the Salina canyon and 
Grass Valley engagements. He purchased a small farm 
and now has ninety acres. In "63 he went to the Missouri 
river after emigrants. In '97 he went on a mission to Den- 
mark, but had to return on account of sickness. Was 
married in Ephraim, March 20, 1866, to Anna C. Overson. 
She had five children: George P., Heber, John E., David 
and Annie C, and died October 13, 1884. Married again 
in November, 1885, to Annie S. Jorgensen. She has one 
child: Annetta. 

PETERSEN, NIELS, one of the first settlers of Eph- 
raim, son of Peter and Sena Neilson, was born in 
Denmark, October 29, 1814. He started for Utah 
in '52, crossed the plains in Capt. Fosgren's company, and 
reached Spring City in October, 1853. Went to Manti for 
the winter and in the spring of '54 came to Ephraim. 
Assisted in building the fort and took part in the Black 
Hawk war. The land was apportioned and he received 
twenty acres, which he farmed successfully and raised 
stock. Was recognized as a good, solid and substantial 
farmer. He died in Ephraim, March 28, 1897. Was mar- 
ried on the plains to Mary, daughter of Jens and Kirsty 
Jensen, born in Denmark, December 20, 1830. They had 
nine children; five still living in Sanpete. Jens P., Chris- 
tina wife of Daniel B. Funk; Annie E., wife of Charles 
Whitlock, Jr.; Maria, wife of Peter Thompson, and Eph- 
raim, born March 29, 1868; married to Hannah E., daugh- 
ter of Christian and Karen Nielson, born in EphrarBS, Sep- 
tember 14, 1872. 



336 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

PETERSEN, PETER T., farmer, son of Jens T. and 
Caroline, was born in Denmark, on the island of 
Falster, October 25, 1841. The family joined the 
Mormon church and came to Utah in 1854, crossing the 
plains in Captain Guy man's company of ox-teams, and 
located in Ephraim in September, 1855. They assisted 
in building the fort and lived inside it three years. Father 
died here March 10, 1877, mother December 2, 1801. Peter 
has always followed farming, now owns 100 acres of 
land. In 1864 he went to the Missouri river after emi- 
grants. Took part in the Black Hawk war, being a min- 
uteman and being in the saddle a great deal. Was mar- 
ried in Ephraim February 22, 1S77, to Helga, daughter 
of Christian and Christina Schagaard, born in Norway 
July 18, 1853. They have had six children: Melvina A., 
Alice C. A., Oscar C. and Dagness O., living; Peter J. J. 
and Maggie C, deceased. Wife died October 26, 1881. 

PETERSON, PRESIDENT CANUTE, son of Peter 
Johnson and Herborg Peterson, was born in Eidf- 
jord, Hardanger, Norway, May 13, 1821. His pa- 
rents came to the United States when he was twelve and 
located in La Salle county, 111., where they died. Father 
died in 1838, mother in 1818. The parents were poor and 
had borrowed §100 to pay their emigration, which was 
paid in full by Canute before ho was nineteen years old. 
He had no opportunities for attending school, hence is 
a self-made man. He followed teaming in the summer 
and threshing during the winters. August 12, 1812, he 
joined the church and in 1819 came to Utah, crossing 
the plains in an ox-train under Capts. Henry Ericksen 
Selbe and Ezra T. Benson. He was married at Kanes- 
ville July 1, 1S19, to Sarah Ann Nelson. When they 
reached the Elk Horn river he and another man swam 
the stream to get the ferryboat, which was used in cross- 
ing. The company arrived in Salt Lake City October 
25th, where he located. He was called to Lehi and re- 
moved there March 18, 1851, and later was married to 
Gertrude Mamie Rolf son and Charlotte Ekstrom. In 
1852 he was called on a four veal's' mission to Norway, 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 337 

^r of the a tv ro^ ld r nt °/ Lehi he *" v "> as a «'™- 
and h« • f the father of twenty-one children 

' family removed to Ephraim when he was 1 W r! 
attended the public schools and took a noi^al eouLt 

sohooi tn if 6my at Provo ' where he graduated. Tautnt 
feoliool in Ephraim several rears WoSt „„ „ • "» ut 

a second mission to Norway in W ^S7" He , went on 



338 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

PETERSON, HANS P., farmer, was born in Denmark, 
April 15, 1S39. He was raised on a farm and at 
the age of 22 entered the army, serving in the cav- 
alry two years during the war with Germany. Joined 
the Mormon church in '6$, and in '71 came to Utah, lo- 
cated in Ephraim and engaged in farming. Was mar- 
ried in Denmark, March 17, 1865, to Ann McGrader. They 
have had nine children: Nels P., Carl E., Louis F. and 
Ilansina C, living; Jens Christian August, Joseph John, 
Hans Peter, Maria and one not named, deceased. 

PETERSON, JENS P., farmer and stockraiser, son of 
Niels and Mary Jensen, was born in Ephram, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1855. He is probably the oldest male 
child now living in Ephraim, who was born here. The 
family came here in the spring of '54 with the first set- 
tlers. When Jens was 13 he took part in the Black Hawk 
war, standing guard and doing other duties. Was raised 
on a farm, worked in a sawmill several years, then pur- 
chased a farm and has a number of cattle. Was married 
in Spring City, November 12, 1877, to Martina, daughter 
of Andrew P. and Annie Mortensen Olson, born in Den- 
mark, November 4, 1857. They have had nine children: 
Electa, Nels O., Zenobia, Hazel, Alonzo, Sana and Kay 
L., living; Elesta and James E., deceased. 

PETERSON, LEHI, dealer in cattle and sheep and 
woolgrower, son of Canute and Gertrude M. Rolf- 
son, was born in Lehi, Utah, October 25, 1858. The 
family removed to Ephraim when he was 9 years old; he 
grew up on the farm and engag*ed in the stock business. 
He bought for N. S. Neilson of Mt. Pleasant for several 
years, and in 1897 bought for Keat & Lewis of Nephi. 
Was married in Salt Lake City, October 11, 1878, to Caro- 
line, daughter of Andrew and Caroline Overlade, born in 
Ephraim, November 17, 1859. Her parents were among 
the early settlers of Ephraim, father being a carpenter 
and cabinet-maker, assisting in building the Tabernacle 
and organ. He died in Ephraim, mother still living, 75 
years of age. Lehi's children are: Cordelia, Lehi, Merle, 
Josephine, Sarah R and Andrew, living; Carrie, de- 
ceased. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 339 

PETEKSON, NELS, farmer and stockraiser, son of Ca- 
nute and Sarah A., was born in Lehi, Utah, January 
26, 1861. The family came to Ephraim when Nels 
was about 6 years old. He was raised to farm work and 
took charge of the home farm until 1880, when he en- 
gaged in the stock business. Owns about fifty head, 
mostly Durham, and has 100 acres of land. Is engaged 
in farming, stockraising and woolgrowing. Was mar- 
ried in Salt Lake City, May 29, 1884, to Martina C, daugh- 
ter of Peter C. Jensen, born in Circle Valley, Utah. They 
have had one child, Peter N., deceased. 

PETEKSON, NEILS L., usually known as Lead Pencil 
Peterson, was born in Sweden, November 14, 1820. 
He worked for two years as superintendent of a 
factory, making stove polish; joined the Mormon church 
in '52, was traveling elder one year, and came to U/tah, 
crossing the plains in Capt. P. O. Hansen's company, 
reaching Salt Lake City, September 7, 1855. Lived in 
Salt Lake, Spanish Fork and Moroni, where he built a 
heme. In '63 was called to assist the settlers in Marys- 
vale, where he took up land and built, a home, but was 
compelled to leave in '66 on account of the Indians, when 
he came to Ephraim. He engaged in farming and con- 
tinues in that business. Was married in Moroni to Chris- 
tina Neilsen. She died in Ephraim, and he married 
again, October 11, 1878, to Martha, daughter of Ole C. 
and Annie Olsen, born in Denmark, June 5, 1856. They 
have had five children: Hannah C, Carrie N., Ellen O. 
and Niels L., living; Mary A., deceased. 

PETERSON, NEILS L., farmer and stockraiser, was 
born in Denmark, October 8, 1857. He was raised 
on a farm and came to Utah in '73, locating in Eph- 
raim. Arrived here with no capital and went to freight- 
ing produce to the mining camps; was soon able to pur- 
chase a farm and engage in stockraising. Now owns a 
farm, seventy-five head of cattle and 800 sheep. Was 
married October 8, 1880, to Jensina J., daughter of John 
C. and Amasena Jensen. They had three children: Clar- 
ence, Gilbert and Phenor. Wife died March 17, 1891. 



340 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Married again March 25, 1897, to Mary C. Stevens, nee 
Olsen, daughter of Peter and Johanna, born in Sweden, 
October 3, 1862. She has one child, an infant. 

PETEHSOX, PETER, farmer and woolgrower, son of 
Peter and Anna, was born in Stubbekjobing, on the 
island of Falster, Denmark, October 11, 1844. He 
was raised on a farm and joined the Mormon church in 
1862. In 1861 he and brother Hans came to Utah, he 
driving an ox-team across the plains for a Salt Lake com- 
pany. He stopped in Manti for the winter and came to 
Ephraim in the spring of 1865. Has been engaged in 
farming and sheepraising. Owns 100 acres of farming 
besides other dry land and a nice home in the city. 
Served as City Marshal two terms and was a member of 
the City Council two terms. Took part in the Black 
Hawk war. Is a member of the high council of Sanpete 
Stake. Was married in Ephraim November 1, 1865, to 
Mary Thompson, widow of David. She had three living 
children: Louisa, David W., and Caroline and Diantha 
and Elizabteh M., deceased, by her first husband. She 
has had six children since marrying Peterson: Orval, 
Lorinda and Sarah, living; Peter, Hannah and Dorothy 
A., deceased. 

PETERSON, THOMAS P., usually known as Thomas 
Thompson, son of Peter and Dorthea, was born on 
the island of Falster, Denmark, January 2, 1841. 
The family joined the Mormon church and emigrated, 
crossing the plains in an ox-team under Captain Olsen, 
reaching Ephraim in October, 1851. Mother died on the 
Mississippi river and father with five children came here, 
being in good circumstances, he paid the fare of several 
others. He was a leader in public improvements, a prom- 
inent churchman and assisted in building the fort. He 
died here some years ago. Thomas removed to Circle 
Valley in 1865 and built a home, which he was compelled 
to leave with nearly all he had on account of Indians and 
return to Epliraira. He freighted produce to the mining 
camps several years and engaged in farming. In 1868 




HON. HENRY BEAL. 
El'HRAIM. 




NEILS P. NEILSEN, 
EPHRA1M. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 341 

he went to Cheyenne after emigrants. Was city 
street supervisor in 1896-97 and county road supervisor 
in 1897-98. Was married in Ephraim to Mary J. Whitlock, 
who died here, leaving two children: Diantha and Lissa. 
Married again to Ganey M. Christensen, who has five 
living children: John O.. Ida E., Ole H., Clarence and 
Raymond. 

9UINN, GEORGE, saddler and harnessmaker, and no- 
tary public, son of William and Mary A., was born 
in St. Heliers, Isle of Jersey, England, May 28, 1842. 
Father was a furniture dealer and cabinet and chair- 
maker. Parents joined the Mormon church and came to 
this country in '56, fitting up handcarts at Iowa City to 
cross the plains. He tired of the work and stopped to 
play marbles and was lost from his parents, they stop- 
ping at Council Bluffs, where they remained four years. 
In '60 they came to Utah in Joseph W. Young's com- 
pany, an ox train, and located in Ephraim, Christmas, '64. 
His parents died here. During the Black Hawk war 
George was a member of the martial band and made 
saddles. He was a member of several theatrical compa- 
nies, being a comic singer and comedian. Was postmas- 
ter for seven years and interested in many enterprises. 
Was five years in the firm of Quinn, Larsen & Co., that 
did a business of |25,000 annually. In '94 he opened his 
present place of business, manufacturing harness and 
saddles and dealing in wagons, buggies, agricultural im- 
plements and real estate and loaning money. His wife 
was Elizabeth, daughter of William B. Wilson of Council 
Bluffs, Iowa. They were married in Salt Lake City, Au- 
gust 17, 1862, and have had eleven children: William H., 
Emma, John, Lilly, Ida, Myrtle and Hettie, living; 
George W. and Arthur L., deceased. 

pASMUSSEN, RASMUS, farmer, son of Hans and 
IT Mary, was born in Denmark February 16, 1845. In 
V '56 his parents and five children came to- Utahj 
crossing the plains late, and having to abandon wagons 
and contents and come to Salt Lake Citv with a relief 



342 . HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNT*. 

company. Father was a well-to-do farmer in Denmark 

and paid the fares of twenty-eight persons besides his 
family. In '57 they removed to Ephraim, where father 
died in '87, mother still living. Rasmus grew up a 
farmer, now owns fifty acres and a home in the city. Took 
part in the Black Hawk war being a mintiteman. Was 
a member of the City Council one year, and has held sev- 
eral minor offices. Was married in Ephraim March 8, 
1866, to Annie Bjerregaard. She had four sons: Andrew, 
Hans, Oliver and Homer. Wife died and he married 
again May 14, 1885, to Hannah, daughter of Charles and 
Catherine Cooper. She has three children: Rasmus D., 
Charles A. and Jrdin E. 

50RENSEN, SOREN A., farmer, son of Andrew and 
Ollegor, was born in Denmark November 11, 1839. 
His parents joined the Mormon church and came to 
Utah, crossing the plains in Captain Olsen's ox-train, and 
located in Ephraim, arriving here October 6, 1854. They 
assisted in building the fort and lived in it several years. 
Father died May 29, 1875, mother October 26, 1879. Soren 
was brought up on a farm and owns seventyfive acres and 
his home in the city. In '61 he went to the Missouri 
river after emigrants. Took part in the Black Hawk w T ar 
and witnessed the killing of a man and two women by 
Indians, when Black Hawk shot at him but missed. Was 
married in Ephraim October 26, 1861, to Johanna, daugh- 
ter of Johannes and Bengta Larsen, born in Sweden Octo- 
ber 3, 1834. They have three living children: Annie, wife 
of Peter H. Peterson; Hannah, wife of Alfred Bellander, 
and Soren. 

50RENSON, JOHN, merchant, son of Neils n.nd Hel- 
ene, was born in Denmark August 19, 1853. His 
parents joined the Mormon church and emigrated 
in 1854, locating in Ephraim in September, 1855. 
They crossed the plains in an ox-train, father pay- 
ing the fares of several others and coming here without 
funds. Father died March 4, 1893, mother still living, 82 
years of age. Father and two sons took part in the Black 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 343 

Hawk war, Jens being killed by the Indians in Salina 
Canyon. He shot five Indians, killing three in his last 
engagement, being shot six times before lie died. John, 
though a small boy, took part in the war and had a nar- 
row escape when three people were killed west of town. 
He purchased a farm and worked it till '93, when he 
engaged in the mercantile business. Carries a §3000 
stock of general merchandise and does a good business. 
Owns his store, thirty acres of land and a nice residence. 
Was married in Salt Lake City May 31, 1875, to Johanna, 
daughter of Christian and Anna C. Siinnmusen, born in 
Denmark March 1, 1S55. They have had seven children: 
Don C, Hugh L. E. and Joan C, living; John O., Nels C, 
Edgar A. and Johanna J., deceased. 

50RENSON, SOREN N., farmer, son of Neils and 
Helene, was born in Denmark July 3, 1893. The 
family came to Ephraim in 1855, crossing the plains 
in Captain Guyman's company, and lived in the fort for 
several years. Father died here March 4, 1895, mother 
still living. Soren was raised to farming and has always 
followed it. In '64 he removed to Circle Valley to assist 
in settling that country; lived there till his brother Jens 
was killed by Indians in Salina Canyon, when he re- 
turned to Ephraim. Took part in the Black Hawk war in 
guarding and herding stock. His first wife was Carrie E. 
Rasmussen. She has three children: Neils P., Caroline 
M. and Enger H. Second wife was Mary C. Sorenson. 
She has had six children: Carrie E. and Parley E., liv- 
ing; Hannah, Joseph W., Neils C. and Soren H., deceased. 

5TEVENS, HENRY, son of Henry and Chloe, was born 
in Vermont June 18, 1812. He came to Utah in 
1850 and lived in Payson for three years, then re- 
moved to Manti, being called to help settle Sanpete. 
Came to Ephraim in '54 and assisted in building the fort. 
In '01 he went to Shonesburg, where he lived three years, 
but had to leave on account of Indians. Removed to Rock- 
ville and in '70 returned to Ephraim. He is probably the 
only man living in Ephraim who passed through all the 



344: HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Mormon persecutions in Far West, Xauvoo and else- 
where. While living in Far West lie lost $600 in prop- 
erty, in Parson he lost considerable and again in Dixie 
he lost all he had. During the past twenty years lie has 
been confined to the house most of the time. Was mar- 
ried first in Canada to Mary A. Howe, by whom he has 
two children: Henry B. and Elisha. Married again in 
Salt. Lake City July 25, 1S54, to Augusta, daughter of 
Nicholas and Ann 8. Dorms, born in Copenhagen August 
29, 1837. She has four living children: Charles J., Laura 
A., Ellen M. and Juliet. 

5TEVEXS, HENBY B., farmer, son of Henry and Mary 
A., was born in New York State October 26, 1834. 
The family joined the Mormon church, living in 
Xauvoo and Kirtland, and then came to Utah in '50, 
crossing the plains in Captain Pace's company, and lo- 
cated at Farmington. They removed to* Payson, thence 
to Manti, and in '54 came to Ephraim, assisting in 
building the fort, Henry has always followed farming, 
now owns sixty acres of land. Took part in the Walker 
war at Payson, in Sanpete and in Dixie. He lived here 
three years, in Spring City three years and in Dixie seven 
years, returning again to his present place. Was a mem- 
ber of the City Council two years. His first wife, mar- 
ried in Ephraim, was Elizabeth Whitlock. She has four 
living children: Melinda, Healon, Olive R. and Lula L. 
Second wife was Lucy A., daughter of Redick and Lucy 
Allred. She has three children: Newton H., Lucy A. 
and Redick E. 

SAYLOR, HON. GEORGE, a pioneer of '59, son of 
Thomas and Hannah, was born in Woodborough, 
Nottinghamshire, England, March 16, 1830. He was 
raised on a farm, joined the Mormon church, and in 
March, 1853, started for Utah, crossed the plains in Cap- 
tain Harmon's train, arriving in Salt Lake City October 
16, 1853. In '56 he returned to England on a two years' 
mission. In the fall of '59 he located at Manti, and in the 
spring of '60 came to Ephraim. He learned the trade of 



m 5 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 345 

sawyer and followed it for thirty years, giving up the 
work in '95. Has also carried on farming. Was elected 
the hrst Mayor of Ephraim and held the office three 
terms. A member of the Legislature in 1868-69-70. Took 
part in the Black Hawk war. Served as bishop's counsel- 
lor for a number of years and is a member of the high 
council and stake recorder. Was married in Salt Lake 
City to Mary A. Quinn. They had seven children. Mary 
A., Harriet, George, Elizabeth, Thomas, Zina and Pre- 
sendia. Second wife was Charlotte E. Leggett 

SHOMPSON, ANDKEW, SB., farmer, son of Thomas 
and Dorthea, was born in Falgverslov, Denmark, 
December 4, 1831. He was raised on a farm, joined 
the Mormon church in '53, and came to Utah, crossing 
the plains in an ox-train under Captain Fosgren, and 
located in Spring City. The company was short of pro- 
visions and Andrew with others went to Utah county and 
worked for food. Advised to go to Manti by the author- 
ity of the church on account of Indian troubles. Andrew 
lived with John Beal and in the spring of '54 came to 
Ephraim among the first settlers. They built a fort and 
lived inside it. He received twenty acres of land and en- 
gaged in farming. Was active in the Black Hawk war, 
standing guard and doing his share. He is first counsel- 
lor to the bishop. Was married in Ephraim November 
21, 1857, to Christena, daughter of Andrew and Anna 
Jensen, born in Denmark August 6, 1837. She came here 
in '57, pulling a handcart 1,300 miles. Her parents 
came the same year and died here. Her children are: 
Andrew, Jr., Diantha C, Thomas P., Hannah M., Eliza- 
beth A., Daniel H. and Joseph M., living; Anna M., 
James and Sena, deceased. 

HOMPSON, NEILS, farmer, woolgrower and mer- 
chant, son of Peter and Dorthea, was born in the 
island of Falster, Denmark, January 23, 1846. The 
family came to Ephraim in October, 1854, where Neils 
grew up. He engaged in freighting produce to the min- 
ing camps of Utah and Nevada from 1869 to 1879. He 
took part in the Black Hawk war, being in the engage- 



346 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

nients in Salina Canyon and Grass Valley. In 1879-80 he 
went on a mission to Denmark. On his return he took 
a homestead at Chester, where he resided three years, 
then returned to Ephraim and engaged in the woolgrow- 
ing business. Now owns about -4,000 sheep; has a one- 
half interest in the Gunnison roller mills and is a director 
in the Central Utah Wool Company at Manti. In Janu- 
ary, 1898, he purchased the general store of Peter 
Greaves, Jr., and his sons conduct the business in an 
obliging and successful way. His first wife was Caroline 
Schwalbe, who had two children. Wife and children 
died. Was married again in Ephraim to Mary C. Hjer- 
min, a native of Norway. She has had eight children; 
Jennie, Nels A., Blanche, Joseph EL, Jacob P., Agnes C. 
and Leander T., living; Ralph E., deceased. 

SHOMPSON, HON. PETER, fanner and sheepraiser, 
son of Peter P. and Mary, was born in Ephraim 
July 17, 1860. His parents came from Denmark in 
'54: and located in Ephraim. Father was a prominent 
man, an earnest churchman and hard worker for good 
roads and public improvements. He paid the emigration 
fares of many poor people and was well liked by every- 
body. Father died in 1875, mother died in 1S90. Peter 
was raised on a farm and turned his attention to sheep- 
raising, now having a large herd. He was the oldest 
child and did much to support and care for his parents. 
In '90 he was elected a member of the City Council. Was 
Justice of the Peace one year; Mayor of the city two 
years, and a member of the State Legislature, elected on 
the Republican ticket. Was married in 1866 to Lena 
Anderson, who died one year later, leaving one child, 
which died at the age of six years. Married again Octo- 
ber 4, 1892, to Maria, daughter of Neils and Mary Peter- 
son, born in Ephraim. They have had three children: 
Erne and Senia M., living; Marie, deceased. 

T-IIORPE, CHRISTIAN L., farmer, son of Lars and 

V3 Bodild Peterson, was born in Denmark January 5, 

1834. He was raised on a farm, joined the Mormon 

church and came to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 347 

train under Oapt. Saunders, reaching Epbraim Septem- 
ber 12, 1863. Worked at different occupations until after 
the Indian Avar, when he bought a small farm, now has 
fifty acres. Was a Lieutenant of minutemen during the 
Black Hawk war and took an active part. He was at the 
mill in Ephraim canyon when several were killed by 
Indians. Served as a member of the City Council four 
years and has held several minor offices. Is a member of 
the High Council and was bishop of the North Ward over 
two years. Was married in Denmark June 8, 1855, to 
Anna M., daughter of Mads and Mette Knudsen, born in 
Denmark December 13, 1832. They have five living chil- 
dren: Thomas, Christian L., Mary A., Andrew L. and 
Joseph. Second wife was Kirsty Sorensen. She has five 
children: Hannah, Charles, Laura, Callie and David. 

SHOliPE, HIRAM, farmer, son of William and Char- 
lotte Cruse, was born in Ephraim May 2, 1862. His 
parents were English and came to Utah about 1S54, 
locating in Ephraim in 1857. Father was a music 
teacher and leader of the Tabernacle choir several years. 
He was killed east of Ephraim in '65 during the Black 
Hawk war. Mother is still living in Nephi. Hiram was 
raised here and was engaged eight years in getting out 
lumber, then working a shingle mill. Has eighty acres 
of land and is now engaged in farming and stockraising. 
Was married in Logan Temple March 10, 1886, to Mary 
D., daughter of A. C. and Mary E. Anderson Nielson, 
born in Ephraim. They have had six children: William 
E., Mary C, Ada P. and Nina V., living; Amos H. and 
Andrew E., deceased. 

\ I CKERMANN, C. A., of the firm of C. A. Uckermann 
(J & Co., planing mill, son of Johan and Annetta, was 
born in Bergen, Norway, January 31, 1842. He 
learned the trade of railroad engineer and car builder. 
Joined the Mormon church in '56 and came to Utah in 
'63, crossing the plains in Capt. Saunder's ox-train, and 
located in Ephraim. He began making spinning wheels 
and in '66 built a shop, where he manufactured shingles 



345 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

and furniture. Iu '70 lie put iu the first planing mill in 
Sanpete county at the present site, changing- it in '94 to 
a steam mill. It is now fitted with machinery for making 
all kinds of building material and chopping feed. He 
also has a sawmill attached. Was an active man during 
the Black Hawk war. His first wife, married in Eph- 
raim, was Johanna Larsen. She had three sons: Charles, 
Albert and Andrew. Second wife was Katrina Ericksen 
of Ephraim. She had six children: Agnes, Hannah, 
Maggie, Ernest. Bertha and Irena. Third wife was Chris- 
tina Larsen. No children. 

I I /HITLOCK, CHARLES, saddle and liarnessmaker, 
\XJ son of Andrew and Hannah, was born in Ray 
county, Missouri, January 4, 1833. His parents 
were among the early members of the Mormon church, 
passing through all the persecutions in Missouri and 
Illinois. He came to Utah in '51, driving seven yoke of 
oxen for Livingston and Kincaid. Stopped in Manti for 
a time, locating in Spring City and then returning to 
Manti on account of Indians, finally locating in Ephraim 
in ? 54. The family then consisted of his father, three 
sons and five daughters. They assisted in building the 
fort and took part in the Indian wars, his brother Andrew 
was wounded by an arrow, but recovered. Father died 
in Ephraim in '65. Charles learned the harness trade in 
Missouri and has followed it about thirty years. He owns 
a thirty-five-acre farm near Mayfield. Was constable 
seven years and City Marshal one year. His wife was 
Caroline M., daughter of Eleazer and Caroline King, born 
in New York. They were married in Spring City Febru- 
ary 1, 1853, and have six children: Charles, George, 
Caroline, Warren, John and Hannah. 

I I AlLARDSON, CHRISTIAN, JR., farmer, son of 
\JJ Christian and Mary, was born in Ephraim No- 
vember 6, 1870. He was raised on a farm and 
when he grew up engaged in farming. Owns a fine farm 
of seventy-five acres at Mayfield, thirty-five acres near 
Ephraim and a good brick residence in this city. He was 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 34.9 

one of the organizers of the Ephraini Equitable Creamery 
Company, being president about two years. Has always 
been an active worker in church matters, being one of 
the missionary aides to the superintendent of Sunday 
schools of the stake. Was married in Manti Temple 
March 28, 1894, to Lillie, daughter of George and Kisty 
Larsen, born in Ephraini December 22, 1S71. They have 
two children: Mary A., born January 21, 1S95, and Kisty 
O., September 10, 1896. Mr. Willardson went on a mis- 
sion for two years, leaving home May 3, 1898. 

1 | /iLLARDSON, CHRISTIAN, deceased, one of the 

\JJ first settlers of Ephraini, was born in Denmark 

April 6, 1810. He was left an orphan when very 

small and on his own resources. Started with nothing 

but soon obtained a farm and became quite comfortable . 
He joined the Mormon church about '51 and in '52 started 

with his wife for Utah, crossed the plains by ox-train in 
Capt Fosgren's company, reaching Spring City in the 
fall of '53. Was soon driven to Manti by Indians, and in 
the spring of '54 came to Ephraini and helped build the 
fort. Took an active part in the Black Hawk war and 
passed through all the trials of grasshoppers and Indians 
incident to early days. He had an interest in the first 
burr mill, and finally organized a company and built the 
Climax Roller Mill, of which he was president and the 
principal stockholder till his death. Was engaged in 
merchandising, his store being later incorporated as the 
Co-op. He constructed a tannery and earned on farming 
and freighting produce to market. Was a leading man 
in the community. Bought a burr mill in May field and 
changed it to the present roller process, now owned by 
the family. Performed a mission to Denmark and 
brought several emigrants to Utah. Was first married 
in Denmark in April, 1851, to Karen Peterson. She has 
five children living: Willard, Christina, Erastus C, 
Joseph and Maria. Second wife was Mary Larson. She 
has four children: Christian, Caroline," Andrew and 
James. She had two children by a former marriage: 
Mary A. Allred and Mena Oviatt. * Third wife was Ann 



350 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

K. Sorenson, born in Denmark November 10, 1849. She 
came to Ephraini in September, 1871, was married No- 
vember 13, 1871, and has four children: Annie, wife of 
James R. Ware; Lorinda, wife of Lester Braithwaite; 
Peter and John. 

I I /ILLARDSON, ERASTUS, son of Christian and 
\\J Caroline Sorenson, was born in Ephraim Febru- 
ary 6, 1858. His parents came from Denmark in 
'52, crossing the plains in Capt. Fosgren's company, and 
located in Ephraim in '54. He was raised on a farm and 
freighted produce to the mining camps of Utah and 
Nevada for several years. Learned to be a miller in his 
father's mill — the Star — and in '88 went on a two years' 
mission to Denmark. On his return he took charge of the 
Climax Roller Mill ; now owns an interest and is superin- 
tendent. Is president of the Junction Co-op and has an 
interest in the Mayfield Roller Mill at Mayfield. He owns 
a farm and operates it. Is a bishop's counsellor. Was 
married in Salt Lake City December 9, 1880, to Caroline 
B., daughter of Tora and Margaret A. Hansen Thurston, 
born in Ephraim July 6, 1862. They have had eight chil- 
dren: Ann C, Lennie L., Erastus L., Sarah G. and an 
infant, living; Margaret L., Victoria and Leland, de- 
ceased, -j !$*H|fJ 



FAIRVIEW 



FAIRVIEW is situated at the north end of Sanpete 
Valley, six miles from Mt. Pleasant, and as the 
name implies, commands an excellent view of the 
great granary extending south even beyond Manti, thirty 
miles distant. This magnificent location was selected in 
1859 as a suitable spot for forming a colony, and a band 
of brave veterans, consisting of .James H. Jones, Henry 
W. Sanderson, Lindsay A. Brady, Jehu Cox, Isaac Y. 
Vance and others left their families in the fort at Mt. 
Pleasant and erected homes, which were surrounded by 
a small fort, on the site of the present city. The follow- 
ing spring they removed to the new quarters and pro- 
ceeded to construct ditches for irrigating crops. The 
most conservative men estimated that there was suffi- 
cient water to supply twenty-five or thirty families, and 
therefore advised new settlers to seek other more favored 
localities. 

The present population, numbering probably 1,800 
comfortably situated farmers, stockraisers, wool growers 
and horticulturists, demonstrates that the fear of over- 
crowding was not well grounded, and even today the 
boundaries are increasing and the city growing in com- 
mercial importance with every annual round in the cycle 
of time. /But, these indications of happiness, luxury and 
wealth were not obtained without many hard struggles 
against Indians, cold and hunger, mixed with disappoint- 
ment in harvesting crops and consequent poverty and dis- 
tress of the pioneers. The settlement was., known as 
North Bend until 1864, when a postoffice was obtained 
and the present appropriate title, Fairview, was suggest- 
ed by Archibald Anderson, Sr., to Orson Hyde, then pres- 
ident of Sanpete Stake. Being a frontier town, the peo- 
ple were kept in constant dread of Indian depredations, 



352 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

and many of the crimes of the redmen recorded in the 
county history were committed in this vicinity. 

In 18*56 the Indians became so troublesome and nu- 
merous that the settlers were forced to leave their homes 
and seek refuge in the larger settlements. The men re- 
turned that fall, however, and erected a larger and 
stronger fort, in which the families were sheltered until 
the Black Hawk war ceased and peace was declared. A 
plain narrative of the many hardships endured in these 
trying days cannot give any idea of the days and 
months of long suffering, anxiety and privations 
of the primitive colonists, who entered upon the 
lands of sagebrush and cacti, with earnest resolu- 
tions to conquer their foes, reclaim the desert and erect 
permanent homes for themselves and families. The In- 
dians and grasshoppers came from the mountains and 
canyons to pillage and destroy homes, crops and cattle 
and lay waste the land of the colonists. But the people 
were men and women of strong muscular force, inured 
to hardships and determined to crown their efforts with 
success. 

Fairview was incorporated as a city, by act of the 
Legislature, February- 16, 1872, and included twenty 
square miles. In the fall of this year the final treaty of 
peace with the Indians was signed at Mt. Pleasant and 
the Black Hawk war closed, leaving the people at liberty 
tc till the soil unmolested. With no further obstacles to 
progress and a municipal administration as protection, 
the community began to prosper. Irrigation canals were 
constructed, mercantile establishments opened and saw- 
mills erected for the manufacture of lumber. The co- 
operative plan governed in all public enterprises and the 
general welfare of the people was considered in every 
transaction of a public nature. The results of such a pol- 
icy are noticeable in the solid financial institutions, mer- 
cantile houses, creamery, sawmills and other branches of 
industry now standing as monuments to enterprise, hon- 
esty and a union of individual interests. 

The Co-op store was among the first financial invest- 
ments, commencing on a very limited scale and growing 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 353 

with the city to its present dimensions. Hon. Peter 
Sundwall was the first manager under whose wise direc- 
tion the institution prospered. The present manager, 
Hyruni De Fries, is an able and capable business man, 
and transacts the great volume of business in a most 
creditable manner. The company carries a general stock 
of si4,000 in merchandise, dry goods, groceries, farm im- 
plements and machinery and transacts a good business 
in lumber, sheep and grain. In addition to the store, the 
company has two sawmills, and owns an interest in the 
Union Roller Mills and the Co-op sheep herd. 

Swen and Lars Xielson are most enterprising and 
much respected citizens and have a well stocked general 
supply house which is &. credit, to the city. They began 
as poor boys and have climbed the ladder of prosperity 
until they are known as the largest farmers and mer- 
chants in the northern end of Sanpete county. They 
carry a stock of $12,000 to $15,000 of general merchan- 
dise and do an enormous business. They also own 1200 
acres of land and are engaged in farming, stockraising 
and woolgrowing. The business of buying and selling 
sheep and cattle in which they are engaged furnishes 
a market for local growers and distributes many thous- 
ands of dollars annually among the people of Fairview 
and vicinity 

The irrigation question is an important feature of 
success in Fairview and vicinity, and several companies 
have been incorporated to properly control and distrib- 
ute the irirgation waters. The Gooseberry and Cotton- 
wood Irrigation company, with a capital stock of $20,000, 
was incorporated February 25, 1890. The Meadow Irri- 
gation company, with a capitalization of $500, was incor- 
porated May 3, 1890. The Oak Creek Irrigation company 
was incorporated February 18, 1889, with a capital stock 
of $2,240. The Birch Creek Irrigation company, with a 
capital stock of $1,000, was incorporated March 11, 1889. 
The Mammo*h Reservoir company, incorporated March 
4, 1896, with headquarters at Manti, contemplates the 
impounding of the waters of Gooseberry creek near this 
place, and utilizing the vast volume now running to 



354 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

waste for irrigating a large area of desert land in the 
valley below this city and throughout the county. 

In 1^90 the Kio Grande Western railroad was com- 
pleted through the city and a highway of commerce 
opened for all home products. This stimulated the lum- 
ber business, which has become one of the great money 
producing industries of the city, and until the Govern- 
ment agents so rigidly enforced the timber cutting laws, 
many of the most representative citizens were engaged 
in lumbering. The railroad put Fairview in communi- 
cation with the markets of the world, furnishing the 
marts for consuming the surplus products of ranch and 
range, thereby making of this city one of the leading 
shipping points of Sanpete county. The farms have been 
extended to include Oak Creek and the surrounding dis- 
trict and Fairview proper is rapidly becoming a large 
and prosperous agricultural community, with her bor- 
ders enlarging year by year to a rich and contented col- 
ony of industrious husbandmen. 

Soon after the opening of the coal mines at Wales, 
the Deseret Coal and Coke company was organized by Ca- 
nute Peterson, John H. Hougaard and others, to develop 
the rich coal fields near Fairview. The mine is located 
fifteen miles northeast of this city and a twelve foot vein 
of fine fuel has been uncovered for many years. This in- 
dustry has been operated principally by residents of Fair- 
view,' Ephraim and Manti, and has furnished an addi- 
tional business impetus to the place. The New York 
mine, located near the Deseret, yields a fine quality of 
bituminous coal and has been worked for the past quar- 
ter of a century. Other mineral deposits near the city 
have attracted the attention of local and foreign pros- 
pectors, and much money has been expended in develop- 
ing the various claims. The rich coal measures are no 
doubt indications of the presence of iron and other de- 
posits which time will discover and add another import- 
ant industry to the numerous resources of this favored 
community. 

The Latter-day Saints organized a ward and erected 
a meeting-house soon after the settlement was begun, 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. bOO 

and Amasa Tucker was appointed the Presiding Bishop. 
The several church societies, including Sunday School, 
Relief Society, Mutual Improvement Associations, Pri- 
maries, Quorums and other organizations were added, 
and the church has flourished along with the prosperity 
of the people. The people are noted at home and abroad 
for their honesty, temperance and general moral attrib- 
utes, due to the high religious sentiment and absence of 
saloons and other temptations to the young. Bishop 
James C. Peterson, who was honored as a member of the 
Constitutional convention, now presides over the ward in 
a satisfactory manner, being well liked by the people. 
No poverty or beggary is noticed throughout the ward 
and the members are honestly and conscientiously living 
their religion. 

A mission school was opened in 1881 by Miss Sara 
Sorenson, a pupil of the Wasatch Academy at Mt. Pleas- 
ant. This was under the auspices of the Presbyterian 
Board of Missions, and though hampered by many incon- 
veniences, prospered beyond expectations. After three 
years Miss M. Fishback followed as teacher and remained 
for five years, when Misses Mary Nielson and Sadie Meil- 
ing continued the school. They were from the Wasatch 
Academy at Mt. Pleasant. An old dwelling house with 
a lot was purchased and in 1894 a chapel was erected. 
The Misses Sadie McOlure and Nettie Gray are the pres- 
ent efficient instructors and the school is a popular edu- 
cational institution. Religious services have been held 
by Rev. E. N. Murphy and Elder James Todd of Mt. 
Pleasant, and several additions to the church have been 
made. The members hold fellowship with the church in 
Mt. Pleasant until an organization shall be effected in 
Fairview. 

The people of Fairview have always been interested 
in educating the young and have provided good school 
houses and able instructors. Many of the representative 
young men and women of Sanpete's educational affairs 
are residents of this city, and numerous students of both 
sexes have graduated from the higher schools and col- 
leges of the State. An excellent public school system is 



356 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

conducted under the present able management of Prof. 
A. U. Miner, principal, assisted by O. M. Sanderson, 
Heber Olsen, Annie D. Stevens and Helena Anderson, 
all competent and capable instructors. The school trus- 
tees for 1898 are: Hon. Samuel Bills, Hon. Peter Sund- 
wall and Lewis Larson. The enumeration for 1898 gives 
Fairview a school poulation of 4 ( J7 pupils, with a valua- 
tion of $5,862.50 for school property. 

The Union Holler Mill is one of the results of co- 
operative efforts in behalf of the city, and an indication 
of enterprise characteristic of the prominent citizens. 
This is a fifty-barrel mill, well equipped, with all mod- 
ern machinery for doing first-class custom and commer- 
cial work. The mill is leased by John A. Walker and 
Hans P. Hansen, two popular citizens, who keep it run- 
ning all the year 'round. Fairview flour finds a ready 
market everywhere and the supply is never equal to the 
demand. The mill is appreciated as supplying a good 
home market for much of the wheat for which Fairview 
farms are noted for producing. 

The Fairview Creamery is owned by the people, 
through a co-operation of capital and labor, and is a 
credit to the industrious fanners and a money-producing 
concern for the city. Hon. Swen O. Xielson is the able 
and efficient manager, under whose direction the com- 
pany has made a success and pays handsome dividends. 
The manufacture of butter and cheese is carried on at all 
seasons and a ready cash market obtained for all the pro- 
ducts. This has stimulated the people to the purchasing 
and feeding of better cows and resulted in a constant 
cash income to many farmers in the vicinity, who supply 
the creamery with milk. 

Fairview people have always been noted for their 
love of amusements and the home talent developed in 
theatrical performances. As a natural result the city 
has a Social Hall and Eclipse pavilion devoted to danc- 
ing, public meetings and dramatic entertainments. On 
politics the citizens have been the same as in other set- 
tlements throughout the county, in that the People's 
Party has always controlled, until National parties were 




JAMES ANDERSON. 
FAIRVIEW. 




JOHN ANDERSON. 
FAIRVIEW. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 357 

organized. The two parties are about equally represented 
and several prominent men have been elected to State 
and county offices from this city. Among the most rep- 
resentative official citizens are Hons. James C. Peterson, 
Peter Sundwall, Swen O. Xielson and Samuel Bills, who 
have held important offices. 

In 1895 the Sanpete County Poor House was com- 
pleted and became a fixed institution added to the busi- 
ness interests of Fairview. It is an elegant brick struc- 
ture, situated in a beautiful spot, one and one-half miles 
northeast of the city and surrounded by a fine farm and 
orchard. The inmates are few, but are well cared for by 
competent and trained attendants, under the able man- 
agement of Jordan Brady. This acquisition to the busi- 
ness of Fairview was obtained chiefly through the earn- 
est labors of Hon. Swen O. Nielson and Thomas D. Rees, 
who at the time of location were County Selectmen. 

Fairview has all the prominent business houses and 
tradesmen represented by similar sized cities; an excel- 
lent water supply and perfect system of distribution; un- 
excelled climate for fruit-growing and gardening; an 
industrious, peaceable and educated community of lib- 
erty-loving people; numerous mineral deposits of coal 
and other valuable metals; fine building stone and many 
lumber mills, manufacturing native timber; and a future 
of untold wealth and happiness for the present and com- 
ing generations. The municipal matters are well man- 
aged by good men, alive to the interests of the city and 
economical disbursement of funds. Hon. Lorenzo Peter- 
son presides as Mayor. Heber Olsen is Justice of the 
Peace and H. W. Sanderson, Jr., Constable. 

Fairview has a nice public library containing over 
700 volumes; is connected with adjoining towns by pub- 
lic telephone' and has some of the most representative cit- 
izens in the county. When volunteers were called for in 
the war with Spain, Chas. Asplund enlisted. He was 
soon promoted to the position of Sergeant in Company 
B, Utah Battery, now located at Manila. James Swenson 
is also in the Government service at the Presidio, Califor- 
nia, as an expert horseman. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF FAIRVIEW. 



A LLRED, JAMES M., farmer, son of Isaac and Julia 
H A. Taylor, was born in Caldwell county, Mo., Feb- 
/ ruary 11, 1839. The family were driven out when 

he was three weeks old, and in '15 removed to Garden 
Grove, Iowa, then to Council Bluffs, and in '51 started 
for Utah, father being Captain of fifty wagons. In the 
company were not less than thirty Allreds, James' father 
bringing two wives and eleven children. They reached 
Salt Lake City in August and settled in Kays ward. In 
'53 father went on a three years' mission to England. In 
'58 they removed to Ephraim, and in '39, James and 
brother, Sydney H. and Al Zabriskie with live yoke of 
cattle, were the first to drive on the present site of Mt. 
Pleasant. Father died in Mt. Pleasant; mother living in. 
Cache county. James lived there till '02, then bought a 
fifteen acre farm in Fairview, where he now owns sev- 
enty-live acres. He had a meat market for several years. 
Was Constable and Marshal twelve years. In \S1 he went 
on a mission to Tennessee and Alabama. Was married 
March 27, 1860, to Mary F., daughter of Isaac Y. and 
Martha E. Vance, born in Hancock county, 111., Septem- 
ber 6, 1841. They had eleven children, Martha E.. Mar- 
tin YV,. Isaac W., Sarah F., Mary A., Minnie A., Ernest 
R, Lawrence and Edgar L., living; Ann E. and George 
A., deceased. Married again May 16, 1868, to Christiana 
Anderson. She had eleven children, James C, John F., 
Emanuel, Louis, Junius S., Legrande, Frederick H. and 
Dorcas A., living; Mary E., Minerva and Iduma deceased. 
He has had twenty-eight grandchildren. 

A XDEKSOX, JAMES, farmer, son of Archibald and 
H Agnes Adamson, was born in Scotland, October 3, 
' 1812. His parents came to Fairview in March, 1860, 

where he was raised on a farm. He owns a nice farm of 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 359 

seventy acres and has 3,000 sheep. Is president of the 
Co-op store; director in the Union Roller Mills Co., and 
stockholder in the Creamery and Social Hall companies . 
Took an active part in the Black Hawk war. Was a 
member of the City Council for several years. He went 
back to the Missouri river with Bishop Seely after emi- 
grants, being- with the company when six men were 
drowned in Green river. Assisted in rescuing the troops 
from Salt Lake City when surrounded by Indians in 
Thistle Valley during the Black Hawk war. Is a mem- 
ber of the Twenty-Sixth Quorum of Seventies. Was mar- 
ried in Fairview, January 1, 1866, to Hannah M., daugh- 
ter of Elam and Hannah Cheney, born in Salt Lake City. 
They have had nine children: James, Jr., Hannah E., Ma- 
tilda D., Archie E., Elam H., Agnes, Sylvia R. and Loren 
A., living; John W., deceased. 

r\ XDERSOX, JOHX, farmer and stockman, son of 
r\ Archibald and Agnes Adamson, was born in Glas- 
/ gow, Scotland, July 28, 1840. His father came to 
Utah in '55, mother and three sons coming in '56, crossing 
the plains in a handcart company under Capt. Daniel 
Me Arthur. The family had their own cart and started 
from Iowa City. They settled ten miles south of Salt 
Lake City, then removed to Spanish Fork, and in '60 
came to Fairview and helped build the fort. Father was 
a prominent man in the church and died here in '68. 
Mother died here August 19, 1891. John worked in the 
coal mines in Scotland till he came to Utah. He took ten 
acres of land when he came here and now owns 100 
acres and 2,500 sheep. Took part in the Black Hawk 
war, being one of the minutemen. He made two trips 
to Richfield to assist the people in removing from there 
during the Indian troubles. Was a member of the City 
Council for twelve years. Served as superintendent of 
the Sunday School for several years, and is a member of 
the Twenty-Sixth Quorum of Seventies. Has always 
been an active, public-spirited man. Is a stockholder in 
the Creamery and Co-op store. Was married in Wales, 
Utah, February 20, 1863, to Helena R., daughter of 



360 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Thomas and Margaret L). Bees, born in Wales (Old Coun- 
try), November 5, 1846. They have had eleven children: 
Agnes J., Archibald R., Sarah A., Leonora, Helena, Ter- 
resa, John R., Maud M. and Margaret G., living; others 
died in infancy. 

A XDERSON, PETER, tanner, son of Jens and Oniinel, 
r\ was born in Ohristiania, Norway, December 22, 
f 1S5T. The family joined the Mormon church, and 

in '73 he came to Utah, locating in Salt Lake City, where 
he lived six years. He worked in the mining camps for 
a time, settled in Fairview in '79, and in '88 located at 
Oak Creek, where he owns a farm of seventy-live acres 
and a nice brick residence. He is first counsellor to the 
president of the Y. M. M. I. A. Was married in Salt Lake 
City March 14, 1877, to Lena Peterson, a native of Nor- 
way. They have ten children: Peter, Lily, Mary, John, 
Oscar, Gundy, Jennie, Andrew, Nora and Elva. 

r\ NDERSON, HANS, brother of Peter, was born in 
Y\ Norway March 30, 1861. He came to Utah in 1875, 
/ located at Fairview and worked around the mining 
camps till '83, when he settled at Oak Creek, where he 
has forty acres of land. Is a member of the quorum of 
Seventies and counsellor to the president of the Y. M. M. 
I. A. Was married in Salt Lake City October 11, 1883, 
to Katrina E. Neilson, born in Sweden. They have four 
children: Hans L., Levi A., Wallace S. and Clara L. 

BILLS FRANKLIN R., gardener, son of John and 
Sarah E., was born in Nauvoo, Illinois, May 22, 
1815. The family came to Utah when he was small, 
father went to California and died. Mother married again 
and started for California, but died on the road from the 
effect of an accidental gunshot in the arm. Franklin and 
his brothers were bound out to other families who came 
to Utah about '60. He lived in Dixie for a time, then 
in Beaver, and in '69 came to Fairview, where he ow T ns 
a small place and garden. In '64 he went to the Missouri 



HISTOliY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 36 L 

river after emigrants. Took an active part in the Black 
Hawk war as a minuteman and interpreter, having 
learned the Indian language when a boy. In '74 he was 
called as a missionary to labor among the Lamanites at 
Indianola, where he remained one year, and is said to 
have been the most efficient man ever sent among the 
Indians. Through his efforts 147 Indians were baptized. 
He raised the first crop of grain at Indianola. He has 
passed through many hardships and dangers among the 
Indians and is a typical pioneer. Was married in Beaver 
November 3, 1863, to Nancy A. Davidson, born in Nauvoo, 
Illinois, June 26, 1846. They have six living children: 
Nancy E., Sarah J., Franklin K., John C, Effie M. and 
Ann A. 

BILLS, HON. SAMUEL, farmer and stockraiser, son of 
John and Elizabeth Scott, was born in Council 
Bluffs, Iowa, March 22, 1848. His parents joined 
the Mormon church and in '49 came to Utah, locating 
ten miles south of Salt Lake City. Soon after locating 
father started for California and died on the road in '50. 
Mother married and removed with Samuel to California, 
where she died. In '38 he came to Utah with David H. 
Jones and family, stopping in Mt. Pleasant in '50, in 
Fairview in '60, then to St. George in '62 and in '65 re- 
turned to Fairview. In '66 he went to the Missouri river 
after emigrants. Took part in the Black Hawk war and 
was in two or three skirmishes with Indians. He pur- 
chased a farm and now owns twenty-eight acres and en- 
gaged in farming, stoekraising and woolgrowing. Was 
a member of the City Council several years and Mayor 
three years. In '80 he went on a mission of one year to 
Georgia. Is one of the bishop's counsellors, a school 
trustee and an active worker in educational matters. 
Was married in Fairview September 12, 1867, to Ophelia 
A., daughter of Edmund and Sarah Howell, born in 
Council Bluffs, Iowa, January 16, 1852. They have had 
twelve children: Sarah E., Samuel D., John E., Mary E., 
'Celestia O., Jordan E., Martha E., Charles O., Annie M. 
and James S., living; William G. and Hazel M., deceased. 



362 HISTORY 01 SANPETE county. 

BRADY, WARREN P., farmer, son of Lindsay A. and 
Elizabeth Hendrickson, was born in Calloway 
county, Kentucky, December 30, 1836. His parents 
joined the Mormon church about '34, and when War- 
ren was a child removed to Missouri and passed through 
all the persecutions of the Mormons in Missouri and 
Illinois. In '50 they came to Utah, crossing the plains- 
in Capt. Warren Fosters train, and located, at Union, 
twelve miles south of Salt Lake City. Father was a 
prominent man in church matters. In April, 1859, War- 
i' -ii and family removed to Mt. Pleasant, being the 
fifth wagon on the ground. The next fall he took up 
twenty acres of land near Fairview, and in '60 built a 
U«g house. He wrote Brigham Young, making applica- 
tion to settle Fairview, and was one of the first of five 
to arrive here on March 17. They had built the fort and 
lived in it for a time. He took part in the Black Hawk 
war and was in many excursions against the Indians. 
Served as a member of the City Council for many years. 
Was married in U/nion Fort, May 6, 1856, to Rachel, 
daughter of Jehu and Sarah Cox, born in Missouri March 
27, 1836. They have had fifteen children, eleven living: 
Rosannah, Simeon, Rachael A., Sarah J., Marion, Lind- 
sey, Elias. Heber, Martha, Marilla and Perrv. 



BRADY, JORDAN, son of Lindsey A. and Elizabeth 
A., was born in Nauvoo, Hancock county, Illinois, 
June 7, 1843. Father was a prominent church man 
and helped build the Nauvoo Temple. In 1850 the fam- 
ily came to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox train, un- 
der Capt. Warren Foote, and located at Union Fort, Salt 
Lake county, till '59, when they came to Fairview, 
Father took part in both the Walker and Black Hawk 
wars as a home guard and performed a mission to the 
Southern States. He died in '85. Jordan took an ac- 
tive part in the Black Hawk war, being in the engage- 
ment at Fish Lake. Was a member of the City Council 
fur two years and served as Assessor and Collector. Is 
Second counsellor to Bishop Peterson. Was ordained a 
Patriarch on June 18, 1893, by Apostle F. M. Lyman. In 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. S6H 

'66 lie went on a mission to the Missouri river after 
emigrants. In 'i>6 be was appointed Superintendent of 
the County poor farm, which position he still holds, be- 
ing satisfactory to all concerned. He is a stockholder in 
the Gooseberry and Cottonwood Reservoir company, and 
a prominent and representative man. Was married in 
Fail-view, December 10, 1861, to Mary L., daughter of 
Edniond W. and Sarah Howell, born in New York State, 
November 27, 1S44. She came to Utah in '52 and to 
Fairview in '60. They have had thirteen children, Jor- 
dan H., Keziah L., Lindsey E., Martha E., Mary E., Wil- 
lis A., Sarah M., Ada C, Radna A., Warren A., Ophelia 
S., Millie R., living, and Samuel J., deceased. 

/QARLSTON, JOSEPH C, railroader, son of Hans and 
\ Margaret, was born in Fairview, May 11, 1861. He 
was raised here and engaged in mining for some 
years. Is at present engaged with the Rio Grande West- 
ern Railway company, in which position he has worked 
for several years. Is a member of the Y. M. M. I. A. an. I 
an honest, industrious and representative young man. 
Was married in Logan Temple, October 2, 1885, to Han- 
nah, daughter of Henry and Mary Wilcox, born in 
Mt. Pleasant, April 13, 1868. They have four chil- 
dren, Joseph Delos, Hannah C, Edna Si. and Ralph C. 

/QARLSTON, HENRY J., miner, son of Hans and Es- 
V^ ther L., was born in Fairview, April 1, 1861. He 
was raised here and received his education from 
the common schools. Has been instrumental in sinking 
most of the wells in Fairview. Served as a Sunday-school 
teacher three years and ward teacher in the lesser priest- 
hood five years. Has acted as missionary for the Y. M. 
M. I. A. and is an earnest church worker. Is a stock- 
holder in the Sanpitch Ditch company and during the 
past three years has been engaged as a butcher. Was 
married in the Logan Temple, January 20, 1888, to Ida 
C, daughter of John F. Fechser of Mt. Pleasant, born 
October 26, 1869. They have two living children, Ida B. 
and Sarah L. 



364 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

/Q HRISTENSEN, JOHN W., manufacturer and dealer 
V in lumber, son of Frederick and Sophia, was born 
in St. Thomas, Lincoln county, Nevada, July 20, 
1807. The family came to Fairview when he was small 
and have resided here since, father being a photographer. 
John was raised here and has followed the lumber busi- 
ness, has a portable mill and saws lumber in the canyons. 
Was married in Logan Temple, April 20, 1887, to Laura, 
daughter of Henry and Sarah J. Sanderson, born in Fair- 
view, March 7, 1869. They have had five children, Wil- 
liam, Lee R., Aaron and Harold living; Laura, deceased. 

/QLEMENT, DARIUS S., gardener and fruitgrower, 
V^ son of Thomas and Betsey, was born in New York, 
November 21, 1831. He came West and was bap- 
tized into the Mormon church at Council Bluffs, Iowa, in 
"16, coming to Utah in '18 in President Brigham 
Young's company. He located in Salt Lake county and 
resided there for about fourteen years, when he went to 
St. George and remained about six years, then came to 
Fairview, where he has since resided. He was the Fair- 
riew miller for eight years and is now engaged in garden- 
ing and fruitgrowing, having a beautiful place, made so 
through hard labor and perseverance, for which he is 
noted. In '62 he went to the Missouri river after emi- 
grants. He is an energetic worker, a thoroughly reliable 
man, and a much respected citizen of Fairview. Was 
married at L T nion Fort, Salt Lake county, November 27, 
1859, to Louisa, daughter of Easton and Abigail Kelsey, 
born August 9, 1814. They have had ten children, Dar- 
ius A., Easton, Oliver, Nancy A., Jesse W., Orin F., Amos 
B., Thomas A. and Clarence, living; Elizabeth, deceased. 

/QOX, AMASA B., farmer and stockraiser, son of Or- 
V^ ville S. and Elvira P. Mills, was born in Manti, 
March 25, 1861. His father was a native of New 
York, mother native of Ohio. They came to Utah in '47 
in Capt. Charles Rich's company, father being Captain 
cf a ton and mother driving a team. First settled at 
Sessions, and in the fall of '19 removed to Manti and 
ramped under the quarry. Father took part in the In- 




SWEN i>. NIELSON, 
FAIRVIEW. 




JOHN A. WALKER, 
FAIRVIEW. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 365 

<lian wars and assisted in settling several places in Utah. 
He was among the early settlers of Fairview, and died 
here July 4, 1888. He had three families. Amasa's 
mother still lives with him, being 78 years of age. He 
came in '02 with the family to Fairview and grew up 
here. Herded cattle from the time he was 13 till 21 
years of age, then bought a farm. Now owns thirty-five 
acres and a good dairy. Is a director in the Gooseberry 
and Cottonwood Irrigation company, and creamery, and 
a member of the City Council. Was married in Manti 
Temple, November 12, 1S90, to Annie C, daughter of 
Charles K. and Caroline Hansen, born in Fairview, Oc- 
tober 21, 1872. They have four children, Amasa I., 
Charles E., Newell B., Harold A. and Roscoe C. 



(QOX, ORVILLE, farmer, son of Orville and Elvira, 
V^ was born in Sessions settlement, Salt Lake county, 
November 29, 1847. His parents removed to Manti 
in '49, among the first settlers in the county, and lived 
under the quarry. In '62 mother and family came to 
Fairview, where father had built a house in '61. They 
have resided here ever since, except two years. Orville 
took part in the Black Hawk war, doing guard duty. He 
has thirty acres of land one and one-half miles northeast 
cf Fairview\ Was married in Fairview, August 10, 1875, 
to Rosannah, daughter of Benjamin and Rosannah 
Jones, born July 10, 1857. They have five children, Ida 
L., Roy B., Orville M., Vera and Bessie. 



/QRUSER, ANNIE E., daughter of Christian and Chris- 
\ tine Peterson, was born in Mount Pleasant, Feb- 
ruary 7, 1868. She was married in Salt Lake City, 
September 25, 1884, to Christian Ouser. He was a prom- 
inent man in church and political affairs. Served as pres- 
ident of the Elders' quorum and Y. M. M. I. A. and a 
ward teacher. W r as also City Treasurer for one term. 
He was bora in Fairview, May 9, 1863, and died here No>- 
vember 18, 1892, leaving her with two children, Francis 
L. and Laura H. 

12 



366 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

DAY, ELI A., teacher and farmer, son of Abraham 
and Charlotte K., was born in Springville, Utah, 
September 23, 1856. In February, '60, the family 
removed to Mount Pleasant, where father was quite a 
prominent man, being Mayor, member of the City Coun- 
cil, City Attorney, and interested in some of the flouring 
and sawmills and other industries. He was a genius and 
built probably the first threshing machine in Mt. 
Pleasant. He now resides in Emery county. Mother 
died in 72. Eli was raised in Mt. Pleasant to farming 
and general work. Attended the district schools till 18 
years old, when he entered the Normal department of 
the Deseret university and graduated. Taught school in 
Mt. Pleasant for seven years, being principal six 
years. Was a member of the City Council, active in the 
Y. M. M. I. A., and superintendent of the Sunday-school 
two years. In '83 he came to Fairview and was prin- 
cipal of the schools five years. Was principal of the 
Emery Stake academy in '90 and '91. Like many others 
he entered into polygamy and served five months in the 
penitentiary-, being the youngest man in that institu- 
tion. Is at present principal of the Milburn schools. Is 
City Justice and carries on a small farm. Is a member 
of the Council of the Twenty-sixth Quorum of Seventies 
and first assistant superintendent of Sunday schools. Is 
a teacher of vocal and instrumental music, manager of 
the Home Dramatic company, and was eight years a 
choir leader. Was married in St. George Temple, June 
3 9, 1878, to Eliza J., daughter of Nathan and Eliza 
Staker, born in Mt. Pleasant. They have eight chil- 
dren: Eliza E., Sarah E., Martha G., Dora P., Eli A. 
Joseph S., Roenna M., Alvin D. Second wife married 
July 2, 1S84, was Elvira E., daughter of Orville S. and 
Elvira P. Cox, born in Fairview. She has four children, 
Orville C. Abraham E., Rye E. and Ellen H. 

FOWLES, HENRY, farmer, son of Timothy and Eliza, 
was born in Westershire, England, October 18, 
1844. lie worked in an iron mill several years, 
and in '03 <ame to Utah, driving four yoke of oxen 
across the plains in Capt. White's company. Reached 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 367 

Salt Lake City October IStb, without any money, and 
soon located in Moroni. In '67 lie came to Fairview,. 
farmed on shares for a time and bought ten acres, now 
owns 100 acres of land. He took part in the Black Hawk 
war. Worked one year on the St. George Temple. In '81 
he was sent to St. John, Arizona, to assist in settling 
that country, and was a contractor, merchant and farmer 
several years. Returned to Fairview, but soon went back 
to Arizona, where he was president of the Co-op store for 
several years. Is a stockholder in the Co-op store, sheep 
herd and flour mills and a representative citizen. Was 
married February 20, 1806, to Elizabeth, daughter of 
Richard and Mary Graham. She died in Arizona Novem- 
ber 3, 18S7, and he married in Logan April 19, 1888, to 
Sarah E., daughter of Jacob and Charlotte Bushman, 
born in Lehi, Utah, March 17, 1869. They have had three 
children: Jacob T. and Ruby R., living; Henry H., de- 
ceased. 

FRIES, HYRUM DE, superintendent of the Co-op. 
store, son of John and Halemankua, was born on 
the island of Kawaii, of the Hawaiian group, April 
1, 1865. His parents had joined the Mormon church 
about '55 and father was a rice planter. In '72 father 
and son came to Utah and in '73 located in Fairview, 
where father engaged as a carpenter and undertaker, 
but has recently retired. In '77 Hyrum engaged as 
clerk in the store for Peter Sundwall, and in '96 became 
the manager of the Co-op store. They carry a $14,000 
stock of general merchandise and do a large business. 
The company also owns two sawmills, has some sheep 
and an interest in the Union Roller Mills. He owns a 
one-third interest in the Eclipse pavilion, being a direc- 
tor in the company; is secretary and treasurer in the 
Social Hall Company; secretary and treasurer of the 
Cottonwood Irrigation Company; a stockholder in the 
Gooseberry Irrigation Company and vice-president of the 
Union Roller Mills Company. Is City Justice and City- 
Recorder. Is an active worker in church and Sunday- 
school and has performed a three years' mission to the 



368 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Hawaiian Islands. Was married in Fairview March 24, 
1885, to Annie, daughter of Andrew and Sarah Nielson, 
born in Fairview January' 11, 1867. They have had six 
children: Hallie G., Sarah H., Vera and Hyrum L., liv- 
ing; Hyrum R. and Andrew, deceased. 

II ANSEN, CHARLES K., farmer, a prominent citizen, 
j] son of Peter and Christiana Lanstrup, w r as born in 

# Frederickhaven, Denmark, September 15, 1833. He 
learned the trade of a shoemaker from his father, joined 
the Mormon church in '61 and for six years was a travel- 
ing elder, the last two years he presided over the branch 
at Aarhus. In '67 he came to Utah, crossing the plains 
in an ox-train as teamster under Capt. Rice and located 
in Fairview in the fort. The following year he removed 
to his present residence. Took part in the Black Hawk 
war and worked at his trade until he purchased a small 
farm; now owns twenty-seven acres. Served as City 
Treasurer, school trustee and first assistant, superinten- 
dent and secretary of the Sunday-school. In '87 he went 
on a two years' mission to Denmark and presided over 
the Aalborg conference. He was clerk of the Co-op store 
two and a half years, and secretary of the United Order, 
then opened a general store under the name of C. K. 
Hansen & Co., which he sold and returned to his trade 
and farming. Is now president of the High Priests, 
clerk of the ward and a leader in educational and Sun- 
day-school matters. Is a stockholder in the Co-op Sheep 
Company. Was married in Denmark December 14, 1860, 
to Caroline M. Anderson, who died in crossing the plains 
in '64. Married again April 7, 1867, to Caroline, daugh- 
ter of Rasnius and Anna Rasmussen, born in Denmark 
March 15, 1842. They have ten children: Charles, Jo- 
seph, Hyrum, Caroline, Oscar, Herbert, Orson P., Lewis 
W., Hannah C. and George A. 

II AXSEX, PETER X., deceased, son of Niels and In- 
f| gree, was born in Denmark June 9, 1833. The fam- 

# ily joined the Mormon church and he and his 
mother with four sisters started for Utah in '56. They 
traveled from Iowa to Florence, Neb., — 300 miles — with 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 369 

handcarts, and mother and one sister died. In '57 they 
came to Utah, resided awhile in Salt Lake City and in 
'58 located in Ephraim. He came to Fairview in '60 and 
assisted in building the fort. Took part in the Black 
Hawk war. Bought a farm and engaged in farming. 
Was a member of the City Council, director in the Co-op 
store and took an active part in church and school mat- 
ters. He died in Fairview February 14, 1895. Was mar- 
ried in Fairview October 5, 1862, to Maria Hendrickson, 
born in Denmark March 15, 1830. They had nine chil- 
dren: Mary, Peter H., Emma, Ann E., James E., [Nelson 
and Ingree M., living; Joseph and Celestia, deceased. 

IJ ANSEN, NILS, blacksmith and farmer, son of Isaac 
jl and Inger, was born in Sweden, November 30, 1858. 
' He joined the Mormon church in his native land 
and came to Utah in '84, locating in South Cottonwood, 
where he remained six years, then came to Fairview. 
He served as registration officer for Precinct No. 2 in 
'97. Is a stockholder in the Fairview Creamery and a 
representative young man. In church matters he takes 
a leading part, being head teacher and a member of the 
Y. M. M. I. A. Was married in Logan Temple, July 11, 
1888, to Augusta, daughter of Carl and Christina Ander- 
son, born April 1, 1871. They have five children, Inge- 
barg E. C y Esther V., Ruth CX, Isaac A. and Nils R. 

M ARTLEY, CALEB T., farmer, son of Caleb C. and 
jl Mary, was born in Oxfordshire, England, March 
' 19, 1841. His mother, two brothers and sister died 
at Atchison, Kan., in '55, while en route to Utah, leav- 
ing him alone. He came to Utah in Capt. Isaac Allred's 
church train, living in Ogden, Pleasant Grove and other 
places till '59, when he removed to Mt. Pleasant and 
engaged in freighting produce to the mining camps of 
Utah and Montana. In '63 he went to the Missouri river 
after emigrants. Took part in the Black Hawk war as 
a minuteman. In '72 he located in Fairview, remaining 
there till the spring of '75, when he took up eighty acres 
cf land at Oak Creek. Now owns 240 acres and is en- 
gaged in general farming. Was married in Fairview, 



370 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

November 24, 1873, to Christina, daughter of Andrew 
and Anna Peterson, bom in Salt Lake City, September 
15, 1855. Her parents came to Utah in '54:, located in 
Ephraini in '59, removed to Mt Pleasant among the 
first settlers. In 'GO they settled in Fairview, where 
father died, January 20, 1873. Mother still living. They 
have eleven children, Mary, Lutisha, Andrew T., Caleb 
C, Anna M., Sylvia, Urbon, Mineiwa, Peter, Isabella 
ai d Dosena. 

M DWELL, ELIAS W., of the firm bf Terry & Howell 
j| Planing Mill company, is a prominent citizen, son 
/ of Edmund W. and Sarah Vail, was born on Long 
Island, N. Y., April 29, 1836. His father was a shoe- 
maker and joined the Mormon church about '10, removed 
to New York City in '43, to St. Louis in '46, then to Win- 
ter Quarters, and in '52 came to Utah, crossing the plains 
in an ox-train under Capt. Wood. Father and one daugh- 
ter died on the plains from cholera. The family located 
in Little Cottonwood, then in Ogden, and in '62 came to 
Fairview. Tbey lived in the fort for a time. Elias took 
p^rt in the Black Hawk war. Bought twenty acres of 
land and now owns fifty-five acres. Is a leader in public 
en terp rises, being a stockholder and vice president in 
the Co-op. sheep herd, Co-op. store and president of the 
T nion roller mill and the Cottonwood Irrigation com- 
pany, and a stockholder in the creamery and- business 
c anager of the Eclipse Pavilion company. Was a mem- 
ler of the City Council one term and sewed as City In- 
spector. He first married in Salt Lake City February, 
1858, to Martha J. Rigby. She had four children, Sarah 
L., Martha A., Rosalie F. and Drusilla. Second wife was 
Mary J., daughter of Henry W. and Rebecca A. Sander- 
son, born in Salt Lake county April 17, 1872. They have 
had twelve children, Mary M., Willis H., Sarah R., Ed- 
mrnd S., Chancy V., Ada S., Clydia A., Junius F., Delora, 
Ira V. and Bertha. M., living; Artemesia, deceased. 

JENSEN, P. C, JR., lumber dealer, son of Peter C. and' 
Mary, was born in Ephraim, March 18, 1858. The 
family removed to Mt. Pleasant, then to Rieh- 
fit-ld, and when he was about 10 vears old came to Fair- 



HISTORY OF 8ANPETE COUNTY. 371 

view, where he has since resided. He was engaged about 
two years in the mercantile business with E. W. Howell 
ard E. L. Terry, and they now own and operate a saw- 
mill. He owns a portable mill and has a farm of ninety 
acres near Milburn. Was married in Salt Lake City, 
April 3, 1878, to Martha A., daughter of Elias W. and 
Martha J. Howell, born at Union Fort, Salt Lake county, 
December 31, 1801. They have had nine children, Mar- 
tha L., Christian E., James L., Heber, Ellis G. and Le- 
vern, living; Mary S., Otis A. and Ethel C, deceased. ' 

JONES, JACOB, farmer, son of James N. and Sarah A., 
was born in Morgan county, Ohio, April 26, 1835. 
The family joined the Mormon church in Nauvoo, 
where Jacob was baptized. In '49 they crossed the plains 
in an ox-train under Ca.pt. A. Johnson, father being cap- 
tain of a ten, reaching Salt Lake City in August. They 
remained in Salt Lake City two years, then removed to 
Provo. Father was sent with others to look over the 
site for Fairview and he selected their present location. 
They camped in Mt. Pleasant and built the fort in 
Fairview. He was Bishop a number of years and a 
leading man in the town. Parents both died here. Jacob 
took an active part in the Indian wars. Was a Lieuten- 
ant in the Walker and Tintic wars, and an interpreter 
and scout in the Black Hawk war. He has always fol- 
lowed farming and, in company with his tw T o sons, owns 
a 360-acre stock range in Wyoming. Was married in 
rairview to Emma, daughter of Jehu and Sarah Cox, 
born in Nauvoo, 111., May, 1845. They have eight chil- 
dren, James T., Mary J., Lydia, Elizabeth, Cornelia M., 
Jehu, Lucretia and Alvaretta. 

LASSON, ANDREW, farmer and stockraiser, son of 
Ole and Sissa, was born in Sweden, October 23, 
1843. He joined the Mormon church in his native coun- 
try and in May, '65, came to Utah, driving a merchandise 
team across the plains. On Christmas day, '65, he 
reached Fairview, having no money or property. He 
went to work and in '76 took up 160 acres of land at Oak' 
Creek, four miles north of Fairview, where he now re- 



372 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

sides. Now owns 550 acres and is a very prominent 
farmer and stockraiser, and a representative citizen. Has 
imported numerous thoroughbred stock and is exensively 
interested in Durham and Herefords. Is director in the 
Fairview Co-op. store and creamery. He may well be 
designated as a self-made man and a thorough farmer 
and financier. Was married in Fairview, June 3, 1878, 
to Albertina, daughter of Andrew and Louesa C. Ander- 
son, born in Sweden, November 13, 1857. They have had 
ten children, Nellie, Selna, Emily, Agnes, Mabel, Cleone 
L. and Clista R., living; Bernhardina, Priscilla L. and 
Ellna A., deceased. 



/TWINER, MORMON, farmer and stockraiser, son of 
I J I Albert and Tama Durfee, was born in Kirtland, 
\ V Ohio, September 26, 1S37. The family were 
from New York of English descent. They joined the 
Mormon church in '32 and passed through all the per- 
secutions in Ohio, Illinois, Missouri and Iowa, where 
father died in January, '48. In '50 mother and six chil- 
dren started for Utah with two yoke of oxen* and two 
yoke of cows, all on one wagon. They reached Salt Lake 
City in October and located in Springville, where mother 
married again. Mormon and his brother came to Fair- 
view in '60 and assisted in building the fort. They 
brought thirty head of stock with them. Mormon 
bought twenty acres of land and now owns 120 acres, 
which he and his sons successfully handle with consid- 
erable stock, mostly Durham. He assisted in organiz- 
ing and establishing many of the local enterprises. Was 
a member of the City Council ten years. Is one of the 
Presidents of the Twenty-sixth Quorum of Seventies. In 
'63 he went on a two years' mission to the Northwest- 
ern States, Was married in Springville, February 24, 
1861, to Emeline P., daughter of Uriah and Phoebe Cur- 
tis, born in Hancock county, 111., December 6, 1844. They 
have had thirteen children, Martin M., Albert U., Mary 
IJ., Melvin O., Homer F., Ernest L., George D., Lester 
and Louie M., living; Erastus, Phoebe, Loretta and Lee 
7,' . '•"•ensed. 




MORMON MINER. 
FAIR VIEW. 




iSKPH N. SEE1.Y 
FAIR VIEW. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 373 

rniNEE, ALBERT U., principal of the Fairview 
I J 1 schools, sou of Mormon and Emeline P., was 
I ' born in Fairview August 10, 1865. He attended 
the schools of Fairview and the B. Y. Acadenry at Provo 
for a time. Taught school in Spring City one year, then 
in this city one year, and in '97 was made principal over 
the six schools of this district. In July, 1891, he went on 
a mission, laboring in the Pennsylvania conference, and 
for one year presided over that conference and a branch 
of the church. Returned in November, 1893. He is sec- 
retary of the Twenty-sixth quorum of Seventies. Is inter- 
ested with his father in stockraising. Was married in 
Logan Temple November 10, 1886, to Maria, daughter of 
Archibald and Sarah J. Anderson. Wife died December 
16, 1888. Married again in Manti Temple June 23, 1897, 
to Estella, daughter of Eli A. and Eliza J. Staker Day, 
born in Mt. Pleasant April 29, 1879. 

fy\ INER, ALMA L., farmer, son of Albert and Tama 
ill Durfee, was born in Hancock county, 111., Sep- 
' I tember 7, 1841. In '50 the family came to Utah 
and settled in Springville. Alma removed to Fairview in 
'65, bought a twenty-acre farm and now has a nice farm 
of 100 acres. In '63 he went to the Missouri river after 
emigrants and in '66 went to St. Joe, Mo., for a threshing 
machine, which he hauled to Springville, having five yoke 
of oxen and being five months in making the trip. Is a 
stockholder in the Co-op store and a director in the Co-op 
sheep herd and flouring mills. Was married in Spring- 
ville March 26, 1868, to Caroline, daughter of Andrew 
and Sarah Neilson, born in Denmark January 27, 1852. 
They have twelve children: Alma H., Inez M., Orson A., 
Effie A., Emma A., Andrew C, Nellie M., Gilbert L., Don 
C, Sarah J., Edna I. and Ivie C. 

Pf\ OW T ER, HENRY, son of Henry and Mary, was 
111 born in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, November 
I 1 22, 1824. His parents joined the Mormon church 
among the early members and were in the trials and 
persecutions in Illinois. In '38 they removed to Spring- 
field, remaining two years, then to Nauvoo, 111. Henry 



374 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNT*. 

was married first m Nauvoo, and in '47 started foi* Utah, 
with no outfit, and had to remain at Kanesville two 
years. In the spring of '49 lie started for Utah with two 
yoke of cattle and a cow, in ("apt. Silas Richards' com- 
pany, arrived in Salt Lake City in November and lo- 
cated. He conducted a hotel and sold provisions to Cal- 
ifornia emigrants till '51, when he removed to Union 
Fort. In '51: he moved to Springville, where he ran the 
first threshing machine He came to Fairview in '62, 
took part in the Black Hawk war, and has been in the 
employ of the Government almost all the time, carrying 
the mail. Every traveler in Sanpete is familiar with 
"Uncle Henry." He works a small farm. Has had six 
wives and served a short term in the penitentiary for 
polygamy. The wife with whom he is now living w r as 
Ruvina Siler nee Mount, born in Erie county, Pennsyl- 
vania, May 14, 1S34. They have four living children, 
Cynthia M., Amasa X., Lula A. and Lydia M. She had 
two children by first marriage, Samuel H. and Hiram B. 

[Y\ OWER, SARAH M., daughter of Lindsey A. and 
111 Elizabeth Ann Brady, was born in Union Fort, 
/ V Salt Lake county, Utah, November 30, 1852. She 
was married in the Endowment House, Salt Lake City, 
in 1867, to John A., son of Henry and Susan Mower, born 
August 3, 1851. He was a prominent citizen of Fair- 
view and took an active part in the Black Hawk war, 
losing a team by the Indian depredations. Served as 
road supervisor for a number of years. Was president 
of the Y. M. M. I. A. and superintendent of the Sunday- 
school, and at the time of his death, June 30, 1894, was 
president of the Seventies' quorum. He owned a farm 
of fifty acres; was stockholder in the Co-op. store and 
grist mill, and an earnest worker and much respected 
citizen. There are ten children living, John W., Susan 
M., Marion H., Jordan, Mary E., James A., Martha C, 
Sarah M., Milla T. and Rosalie. 

pT\ OWER, JOHN L., farmer and stockraiser, son of 
111 Henry and Elizabeth, was born in Springville, 
/ I Utah, January 9, 1859. The family removed to 
Fairview when he was a child and he was brought up 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 375 

there to farm work. In July, 1882, he located at Oak 
Creek, where he has 190 acres of land and is interested 
in farming and stoekraising, having 100 head of stock. 
He also buys and sells stock and is a good, substantial 
citizen. Was married in Fairview, September 21, 1879, 
tie Amelia A., daughter of Andrew and Louesa Ander- 
sen, born in Sweden, April 4, 1864. They have had eight 
children, John L., Edna B., Arthur L., Maude A. and 
Alben W., living; Emily A., Andrew H. and William L., 
deceased. 

AT\ OWER, GEORGE H., farmer and stockraiser, son 
Ml of Henry and Elizabeth, was born in Little Oot- 
I ' tonw r ood, Salt Lake county, June 25, 1852. The 
family removed to Fairview when he was 10 years old 
and he was raised there. He worked about mining 
camps for a time after becoming a man, and had charge 
of Neilson Bros, stock farm for seven years. He owns 
160 acres of land north of Milburn and twelve acres at 
Oak Creek, where he lives. Is engaged in farming and 
raising stock. Was married in Fairview, July 15, 1873, 
to Sariah E., daughter of Nathaniel and Amanda Stew- 
art, born in Provo. They have five children, Amanda, 
George H., Emma J., Elva M. and Delia P. 

[Y\ OWER, CHARLES A., farmer, son of Henry and 
ill Alice, was born in Springville, Utah, November 
' I 10, 1859. His parents removed to Fairview when 
he was a small boy and he was raised here. After grow- 
ing to manhood he worked about the mines and at herd- 
ing stock. In '83 he located at his present home, three 
and one-half miles north of Fairview, at Oak Creek, 
where he owns sixty acres of land and is engaged in 
stoekraising and farming. Is an active member of the 
Mormon church and a teacher in the Sunday-school. Was 
married in Fairview, December 6, 1880, to Henrietta, 
daughter of James and Elizabeth Stewart, born in Fair- 
view, November 16, 1861. They have had seven children, 
Charles L., Alice L., Mary L., Hyrum C, James H. and 
Francis M., living; Leonard R., deceased. 



376 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

fc/lELSON, SWEN O., of the firm of Swen & Lara 
JM Xielson, merchants and farmers, son of Ole and 
I Pernellie Bonim, was born in Christianstade, Swe- 
den, January 1, 1854: In '55 the family removed to Den- 
mark, where at the age of 7 Swen began working in a 
chicory factory at 3 cents a half day, attending school 
the other half; followed that work till '63, when he and 
his mother, brother and sister came to Utah, stopping 
at Mt. Pleasant, and in 'G7 located in Fairview. Father 
came in '65 and died here in February, 1S76. Mother is 
still living. Swen worked at herding and farming and 
attended school until 17, when he went to Pioche, Xev., 
and engaged in driving team for six years. He returned 
to Fairview, took up 160 acres of land, now he and his 
brother Lars have 1,200 acres, with line improvements. 
In '79 he and his brother built a sawmill in Dry Creek 
Canyon, and later put in others, which they operated for 
ten years. In '85 they opened a general store in a little 
adobe building, and the following year built their pres- 
ent one, where they carry a stock of $12,000 to $15,000, 
consisting of everything usually kept in a first-class 
country store. They buy and ship sheep, cattle and grain 
and have imported Cotswold sheep. He is superintendent 
of the Fairview Creamery Company and member of the 
City Council. Is a member of the Mormon church and 
has performed a short mission, being forced to return on 
account of ill health. Is a Republican and chairman of 
the county committee and member of the State commit- 
tee. Served as chairman of the County Commissioners 
and was nominated for member of the Legislature, but 
the ticket was defeated. Was married in St. George 
February 14, 1S78, to Rachael, daughter of William and 
Rachael Atkin, born in Salt Lake City March 14, 1S61. 
They have had nine children: Swen W., Annie N., Sarah 
L., Estella M., Sina C, and Peter F., living; Rachael M., 
Ole M. and Venice, deceased. 

|yf IELSON, LARS P., of the firm of Swen & Lars Niel- 
\\ son, the largest landowners, sheepraisers and busi- 
I ness men in northern Sanpete, son of Ole and Per- 
nellie, was born in Denmark June 27, 1857. He came to 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 377 

Utah in '63 with his mother and brother Swen, a sister 
Sine dying in Nebraska. They crossed the plains in a 
church ox-train under Capt. John F. Sanders, the boys 
walking most of the way, reaching Mt. Pleasant in Sep- 
tember. Father and son Peter followed in '65. Peter 
went to the Missouri river in '68 after emigrants and was 
drowned with five others while crossing Green river. The 
family was in debt for emigration and did not get the 
debt paid until '68. In '67 they removed to Fairview, 
where father died. The boys grew up there and herded 
sheep and cattle and did other work until about '74, when 
they went to Pioche, Nevada, and engaged in hauling 
mine timbers. Lars bought four yoke of oxen and two 
wagons on time and paid the bill, about $600, in six 
months. Swen owned a team and in this way they made 
a start. They returned and each filed on 160 acres of land 
four miles north of Milburn. They now own 1,200 acres, 
all under fence, principally in hay and pasture, with good 
buildings and machinery. They usually have about 4,000 
sheep on the farm, which Lars cares for, while Swen 
manages a large general store in Fairview. 

Ji/lELSEN, ANDREW, farmer, son of Niels and Karen 
\\ Johansen, was born in Denmark January 1, 1S27. 
' He learned the trade of a bricklayer, married and 
joined the Mormon church in '61, and for seven months 
presided over a branch of the Aarhus conference. In '62 
with his wife and three children he started for U/tah, 
crossing the plains in church train under Capt. Mur- 
dock, and remained in Salt Lake City one year. Re- 
moved to Fairview in the fall of '63 and took part in the 
Black Hawk war. He had a hard time in getting along 
on account of Indians and grasshoppers and being in 
debt for emigration expense, which with interest 
amounted to nearly §100 and required eleven years' sav- 
ing to pay. He took a small farm and worked at his trade 
and in '71 removed to Fountain Green. In '82 he re- 
turned to Fairview. Was a member of the City Council 
two years. Is one of the presidents of the quorum of 
High Priests. W T as married in Denmark September 5, 



378 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1857, to Sarah Rasmussen, born in Denmark September 
6, 1S27. They have six children: Caroline J., Antoine, 
Peter, Sarah J., Annie J. and Andrew J. 

OLSON, Peter, of Pehrson & Olson, woolgrowers and 
cattlemen, son of Olof and Christina C, was born in 
Sweden December 24, 1861. He came with his 
mother and two sisters to Utah in '67 and settled at Ver- 
non, where he was engaged herding and working in the 
mines. He then purchased sixty-six sheep and secured 
some on shares and has made quite a success of the busi- 
ness. In 1885 he came to Fairview and now owns a half 
interest in 5,000 sheep and fifty head of cattle, a nice 
farm and is a stockholder in the creamery company. In '92 
he was elected a member of the City Council and served 
two years. Was married in Manti Temple August 28, 
1890, to Christina M., daughter of Lars and Olena Lar- 
sen, born in Fairview June 20, 1869. They have five chil- 
dren: Ida E., Sophronia C, Lena A., Peter E. and Char- 
lotte L. 

OLSEN, CHRISTIAN, farmer, son of Christian and 
Brigitta, was born in Sweden February 23, 1841. 
He was raised on a farm, joined the Mormon 
church, and in January, 1864, was ordained an elder, 
after which he spent most of the winters at missionary 
work, until '68, when he came to Utah and located in 
Salt Lake City. In October, 1869, he came to Fairview 
and engaged in farming, then in manufacturing lumber 
and for a time was in the mercantile business. Went on 
a two years' mission to Sweden in '79 and labored in the 
Stockholm conference. Was a member of the City Coun- 
cil nine years, president of the Gooseberry and Cotton- 
wood Irrigation company six years and an active worker 
and teacher twenty years. Was married in Salt Lake 
City March 17, 1869, to Christina Olsen, a native of Swe- 
den. They have had six children: Heber S., Christian 
P. and George F., living; Mary C, Erick O. and John J., 
deceased. 



I 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 37$ 

PEDERSOX, CHARLES O., lumberman and farmer,, 
son of Ole and Olong, was born in Norway Decem- 
ber 22, 1860. He came to Utah with his mother in 
'71, resided in Salt Lake City six years, then removed to 
Fairview. ne is a stockholder in the Gooseberry and 
CottonAvood Irrigation company. Owned and operated 
a sawmill for eight years and served as a Democratic 
member of the City Council in '96-7. He served as Sun- 
day-school teacher three or four years and as assistant 
to the president of the Scandinavian society. Is a ward 
teacher and was ordained a member of the quorum of 
Seventies in '85. Was president of the Y. M. M. I. A. in 
? 89. In '85 he went on a two years' mission to Norway 
and gained many converts to the church. He is a repre- 
sentative and honorable citizen. Was married in Manti 
Temple June 14, 1888, to Elizabeth T., daughter of Ran- 
som A. and Tranquilla A. Stevens. They have four living- 
children: Tranquilla A., Helena, Ruth F. and Ruby; the 
deceased being Ovidia and Charles O. 

PEDERSON, PETER O., farmer and lumberman, son 
of Ole and Olong, was born in Norway, May 21, 
1849. He joined the Mormon church March 12, 
1870, and came to Utah August 10 of the same year, re- 
siding in Salt Lake City over six years, then removed to 
Fairview. Owns several shares in the Gooseberry and 
Cottonwood Irrigation company and is engaged in farm- 
ing and getting out lumber and timbers. Is a member 
of the Elders' quorum and the Y. M. M. I. A. and a good 
citizen. Was married in Norway, May 13, 1870, to Caro- 
line, daughter of Hans C. and Petrinila Fiksted, born 
in Norway, August 11, 1849. They have had two chil- 
dren, Ole H., living, born May 10, 1874; Peter O., de- 
ceased. Ole H. is now on a two years' mission to Nor- 
way. 

PETERSON, HON. LORENZO, Mayor, son of Andrew 
and Anna M., was born in Ephraim, July 29, 1858. 
His parents emigrated from Denmark in '54, lived 
in Brigham City and Salt Lake City till '67, then re- 



380 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

moved to Ephraim, thence to Mt. Pleasant, and in '60 
located in Fairview among the first settlers. Father was 
bishop a short time and a leading man. He died Jan- 
uary 20, 1873. Mother is still living. Lorenzo was raised 
here and worked at carpentering and blacksmithing. 
Was elected Mayor in '90, serving two and one-half years, 
having been City Assessor and Collector four years. 
Served as .Tusice of the Peace three years, and in '97 was 
again elected Mayor. Is secretary of the Co-op. store; 
secretary of the Union Roller Mills company; secretary 
of the Gooseberry Irrigation company; a director in the 
Ccttonwood Irrigation company, and vice-president of 
the Social Hall company. Was married in Fairview, 
June 9, 1879, to Mary, daughter of John and Chastie 
Norstrom, born in Sweden, July 22, 1858. They have 
seven children: Chastie M., Mary M., Christina E., Annie 
H., Arthur L., Peter L. and Ruby N. 



PETERSON, BISHOP JAMES C, was born in Den- 
mark, April 5, 1812. Father died when he was six 
years old and mother with three children started 
for Utah in December, 1851. Mother died of cholera near 
Mormon Grove and the children were taken by different 
families. They crossed the plains in an ox-train under 
Capt. Guyman, reaching Salt Lake City in September, 
1855. James was taken by Thomas Bullock and brought 
up on a farm seven miles south of Salt Lake City. In 
'64 he went to the Missouri river after emigrants. He 
secured a small farm and added to it gradually until by 
diligence and economy he had a good home. In '81 he 
removed to Fairview and purchased a small farm. Was 
appointed bishop April 20, 1S90, and served in that ca- 
pacity with perfect satisfaction to the entire people. Is 
a Republican in politics and was a member of the Con- 
stitutional convention. Is a member of the City Council 
and a good, charitable citizen. Was married in Salt 
Lake county, December 31, 1865, to Sarah A., daughter 
of Jonathan and Sarah dishing Brown, born in England, 
September 1, 1846. They have four living children, 
James J., Charles A., Mary E. and Floren. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 381 

PETERSON, JAMES, fanner, son of Andrew and An- 
nette, was born in Fairview, March 12, 1872. He 
was raised there to farm work, and in '92 removed 
to Oak Creek, where he owns twenty-six acres of land. 
Is a member of the Mormon church and leader of the 
choir in Sunday-school and the Y. M. M. I. A. Was mar- 
ried in Fairview, October 28, 1891, to Melissa, daughter 
of James and Elizabeth Stewart, born in Fairview, De- 
cember 12, 1871. They have had four children, Dorcas 
and Ernest L. living; James R. and Hyrum R., deceased. 

PETERSON, ANDREW S., farmer and carpenter, son 
of John E. and Christine, was born in Sweden, 
July 26, 1862. He came to Utah with his parents 
in '76, locating in Fairview, where they arrived July 
21. He has always been active in church matters, be- 
ing a member of the Seventies' quorum, the Y. M. M. I. 
A., and a ward teacher. Is a stockholder in the Goose- 
berry and Cottonwood Irrigation company, and an ener- 
getic and representative citizen. He owns a farm which 
he cultivates and attends to the duties of his trade, be- 
ing an experienced mechanic and first-class carpenter. 
Was married in the Endowment House, Salt Lake City, 
August 27, 1883, to Caroline, daughter of Carl and Caro- 
line Magnuson, born in Sweden, March 27, 1865. She 
died April 9, 1889, leaving three children, Caroline E. 
and Hilmia living; and Andrew C. deceased. Was mar- 
ried again January 6, 1892, in the Manti Temple, to An- 
nie M., daughter of Ivor P. and Caroline M. Peterson, 
born in Spring City, January 3, 1870. They have three 
children, Newel L., Eskel L. and Crystal M. 

PETERSON, LEWIS, City Marshal, son of Andrew 
and Annette, was born in Fairview, February 9, 
1868. He was raised here and worked in the can- 
yen at lumbering. Was engaged in the sheep business 
with Samuel Bills for several years, and now owns sev- 
eral hundred head. Owns an interest in a binder which 
is operated every year. Is a member of the Mormon 
church and a ward teacher. Was elected City Marshal 
in '97 and fills the position with satisfaction to the peo- 



3b2 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

pie. Was married in Logan Temple, November 10, 1886, 
to Sarah E., daughter of Samuel and Ophelia A. Bills, 
born in Fairview August 5, 1808. They have had six 
children, Ina A., Lionel L., Hilden L. and Alden L. liv- 
ing; Ruby E. and Ophelia D. deceased. 

PETERSEN, CHRISTIAN, farmer and stockraiser, 
was born in Denmark, May 3, 1815. Father died 
in Denmark in '48, and mother and family started 
for Utah. Mother died at Weston, Mo., in '55, and Chris- 
tian, with a brother and sister, was taken by other fam- 
ilies and brought to Utah. He lived with H. P. Peel in 
Stilt Lake City and Lehi for a time, when the family re- 
moved in '57 to Ephraim and in '61 to Mt. Pleasant. 
He was brought up to farming. Took part in the Black 
Hawk war, being a minuteman under Capt. Ivie. In 
'66 he went to the Missouri river after emigrants. Re- 
moved to Fairview in '69 and bought a farm, where he 
has since been engaged in farming and stockraising. 
Served as City Marshal seven terms; Constable five 
terms, and Deputy Sheriff four years. Has been super- 
intendent of the Sunday-school for four years. Was 
married in Mt. Pleasant January 2, 1867, to Christina, 
daughter of Andrew and Ellen Anderson, born in Swe- 
den, January 2, 1850. They have had eleven children, 
Annie E., Amelia H., Hannah C, Alice M., Andrew C, 
Caroline E., James L., Ellen M., Minerva S. and Edward 
J. living; and Joseph F., deceased. 

PRITCHETT, JAMES M., retired farmer, son of Sam- 
uel and Rebecca Anderson, of Scotch-Irish de- 
scent, was born in Smyth county, Virginia, June 1, 
1817. He was raised on a farm and came to Fairview 
in November, 1S66, crossing the plains in an ox-train. 
Bought a small farm and has since been engaged in 
farming. Took an active part in the Black Hawk war. 
Is a stockholder in the Co-op. store and was once presi- 
dent of the company for two years. Served as a mem- 
ber of the City Council. Is one of the high priests in 
the Mormon church. Was married in Virginia, Septem- 



1 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 383 

ber 18, 1835, to Mary A., daughter of Douglas and Nancy 
Atw r ell Fulcher, born in Surrey county, North Carolina, 
July 4, 1S19. They have four children, John A., Thomas, 
James D. and Rebecca. 

PRITCHETT, N. B., farmer and stockraiser, son of 
Samuel N. B. and Mary J., was born in Linn coun- 
ty, Mo., March 19, 1863. The family came to Fair- 
view in '65 in Capt. Pritchett's company, an uncle to N. 
B. Father was a farmer and stockman and died here 
in '70. Mother is still living. N. B. was raised in Fair- 
view, working at various occupations and finally went 
into the sheep business, accumulating 2,500 head. In 
'96 he sold his sheep and engaged in the cattle business; 
now has seventy head and 150 acres of land, being an 
extensive and successful farmer. Is a stockholder in the 
Gooseberry Irrigation company, the creamery, the Union 
roller mill and the Co-op. store. Served as Deputy City 
Marshal two years. Was married in Logan, November 
16, 1887, to Olive L., daughter of John F. and Mary I. 
Sanders, born in Fairview, October 19, 1872. Her par- 
ents were among the early settlers of Fairview, father 
being an extensive and wealthy cattleman, who brought 
two companies of emigrants to Utah and died May 19, 
1896. She has five children, Mary L., Rolland N., Hazel 
B., John F. and Thomas L. 

QASMUSSEN, ANDREW, farmer, son of Anders and 
{X Mary, was born in Denmark, January 22, 1831. He 
V was raised there, and in '54 joined the Mormon 
church and became a traveling elder for four years. In 
May, '60, he started for. Utah, crossing the plains in an 
ox-train and located at West Jordan, where he resided 
two years. Removed to Fairview in March, 1864, and 
bought ten acres of land. Took part in the Black Hawk 
war and was alone twice in the foothills when he met. 
parties of Indians, but escaped by rare presence of mind. 
Served as a member of the City Council six years. Is a 
stockholder in most of the local enterprises which he as- 
sisted in starting. Is senior president of the Twenty- 
sixth Quorum of Seventies. Was married in West Jor- 



384 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

dan, October 12, 1862, to Sevirine M. Madsen, who has 
live children, Mary, Andrew, Amasa, Nephi and Jacob. 
Second wife married October 12, 1875, was Sidsel M. 
Xeilsen. Third wife was Annie K. Mortsensen, married 
November 1, 1SS3. 

r^IGBY, JAMES, farmer and stockraiser, son of James 
|T and Jane, was born in Burlington county, Iowa, 

V October 8, 1844. His parents joined the Mormon 
church in Manchester, England, and started for Utah. 
Father died in Iowa and mother and family crossed the 
plains in an ox-train in '50. James grew up in Salt Lake 
City, hauled wood for several years, and went to Tooele 
county and engaged in the cattle business. In '80 he 
came "to Fairview and went into the sheep business, run- 
ning the Co-op. herd four years and getting 2,500 head 
of his own. He sold out in '97 and returned to the cat- 
tle business, having Durhams principally. Owns a nice 
farm of ninety acres, is a stockholder in the creamery 
and superintendent and director of the Gooseberry Irri- 
gation company. He took part in the Black Hawk war 
as a minuteman in company A, cavalry, of Salt Lake 
City, under Capt. Miles. Was married in Salt Lake City, 
March 21, 1870, to Fannie, daughter of James and Sarah 
Jordan, born in England, October 8, 1852. They have 
ten children, James L., Fannie M., Leroy, Charles, Joseph 
C, Mary E., William F., Samuel B., Frank and Louis. 

I^IGBY, CHARLES, farmer, son of James and Jane, 
|T was born in Iowa, September 1, 1847. In '50 the 

V family came to Utah, crossing the plains in an ox- 
train, and located in Salt Lake City. In '70 he came to 
Fairview and bought a farm. Now owns fifty acres. He 
has always taken an active part in educational matters 
and is one of the school trustees. Was married in Fair- 
view, September 27, 1875, to Julia, daughter of Henry W. 
and Rebecca Sanders Sanderson, born in Green River, 
Wyo., September 26, 1856. They have had twelve chil- 
dren, James M., Lovena, William E., Howard W., Victor 
]{., Thomas M., Francis E. and Roland L. living; Charles 
II., John F., Emily E. and Horace D., deceased. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 385 

SANDERSON, OWEN M., teacher, son of Hon. Henry 
W. and Sarah. J., was born in Fairview, November 
23, 1863. The family came to Fairview among the 
first settlers. Father died November 12, 1896. Mother 
is still living. Owen grew up here, and in 1893 went to 
Salt Lake City and entered the law office of Richards & 
Moyle, where he studied one year, then went on a two 
years' mission to Tennessee. On his return he attended 
the B. Y. Academy at Provo one year, taking the normal 
course. Is now engaged in teaching the school north of 
town, where he has been engaged some years. He served 
a,« City Marshal two years. Was a contractor in build- 
ing the Rio Grande Western railroad, and operated the 
Deseret coal mines for two years. He was the prime 
mover in founding a city library, which now contains 
about 700 volumes. Is president of the Y. M. M. I. A. 
and head teacher in the theological department in the 
Sunday-school. He is a stockholder in the Co-op. store, 
the Co-op. sheep herd, the Social hall, and is business 
manager of the Home Dramatic company, being an en- 
terprising man and an earnest laborer in all public mat- 
ters. Was married in Logan Temple, October 2, 1885, to 
Mary, daughter of Archibald and Caroline Anderson, 
born in Fairview, February 1, 1868. 

SANDERSON, JAMES, farmer and stockraiser, son 
of Henry W. and Rebecca Sanderson, was born 
near Salt Lake City, May 6, 1851. In '57 the family 
removed to Fillmore, remaining one season, then to 
Mt. Pleasant, being among the first settlers. The 
company consisted of James' parents and grandparents 
on his mother's side, Moses M. Sanders and wife, and 
grandmother on father's side, Mary J. Sanderson. They 
helped build the fort. In '59 they came to Fairview and 
assisted in constructing the fort here. Father was a 
Mormon battalion veteran and drew a pension at the 
time of his death. He was a native of Massachusetts 
and one of the best educated men in Fairview. Served 
as tithing clerk, Justice, Councilman, Mayor, and was 
postmaster fifteen years. He died November 19, 1896. 
Mother is still living. James grew up as a fanner. At- 



386 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

tended the local schools and was a student of the Des- 
eret university one year. Taught school in Fairview one 
year. In '79 he went on a two years' mission to Michi- 
gan. On his return was appointed manager of the Co- 
op, store, which he held about three years, then freighted 
goods and bought a farm. Now owns 160 acres and is 
interested in farming, cattle and sheep raising. Was a 
member of the City Council and Justice of the Peace 
several years. Is a director in the Co-op. store and stock- 
holder in the mill. Was married in Fairview, February 
o, 187S, to Martha A., daughter of Henry D. and Mar- 
garet Rees. Wife died January 11, 1882, leaving two 
sons, James H. and Thomas R. Married again February 
15, 1883, to Margaret Rees, sister of first wife, born in 
Wales, Utah, September 24, 1S66. They have seven chil- 
dren, Theodore R., Martha M., William V., Stella, Delia, 
Margaret and Marian. 

SEELY, JOSEPH N., farmer, son of Bishop William 
S. and Elizabeth, was born in Pleasant Grove, 
Utah, March 5, 1853. The family removed to Mt. 
Pleasant in '59 among the first settlers, and Joseph grew 
up in that city. At the age of 21 he went to Indianola, 
took up 160 acres of land and engaged in stockraising 
and later changed to sheep, selling out in '97. In '91 he 
purchased a farm in Fairview, where he now resides. 
He owns about 500 acres. Has served as Justice of the 
Peace four years. Was married in Fairview, June 9, 
1879, to Cecelia, daughter of Hyrum and Elizabeth Wint- 
ers, born in Pleasant Grove, July 7, 1854. Her parents 
were among the early settlers and her father, Dr. Wint- 
ers of Mt. Pleasant, is an old-time practitioner, well 
and favorably known. She has five children, Effie R., 
Joseph H., Maxwell D., Dean W. and William G. 

STEVENS, ARNOLD, lumberman and farmer, son of 
R. A. and T. A. Stevens, was born in Fairview, 
March 2, 1866. He grew up here and has since 
resided in this place. He has a farm of forty acres and 
is engaged in farming and getting out lumber from the 
mountains. Is a member of the Young Men's Mutual 
Improvement association and an honest and industrious 



HISTORY OF SA.NPETE COUNTY. 387 

citizen. Was married in Logan Temple, March 25, 1885, 
to Augusta, daughter of Hans and Caroline Amunson, 
born October 4, 1866. They have five children, Hans 
A., Ransom A., Delia A., # Ernest A. and Hannah C. 

Q- TEYEXS, RANSOM A., farmer and market gardener, 
^ son of Arnold and Lois, was born in Springfield, 
111., September 27, 1839. His father took part in 
building the Nauvoo Temple and was fourth corporal 
of company D in the Mormon battalion. He died in 
Pueblo, Colo. Ransom A. was born in the Mormon faith, 
came to Utah, in '51 and settled on Spanish Fork river, 
east of Spanish Fork, where he lived six years, then re- 
moved to Spanish Fork for four, thence to Salem one 
year, and came to Fairview in '61. He was one of the 
home guard in both the Walker and Black Hawk wars. 
Served as a member of the police force two years. Has 
been quorum teacher and ward teacher and is now a 
member of the High Priests' quorum. He helped build 
the first grist mill and is at present a stockholder in the 
Fairview creamery and the Gooseberry and Cottonwood 
Irrigation company, and is one of the leading public- 
spirited citizens of the town. Was married in Fairview 
February 17, 1863, by Bishop James X. Jones, to Tran- 
quilla A., daughter of Lindsey and Elizabeth Ann Brady, 
born in Hancock county, Illinois, January 22, 1816. They 
have had twelve children, Arnold, Lindsey A., Elizabeth 
T., Lois A., Tranquilla A., Justus P., Rhoda M., Sophia 
B., Keziah F. and Warren A., living; Ransom M. and 
Mary E., deceased. 

STEWART, HENRY L., son of Nathaniel and Phebe 
A., was born in Provo, Utah, April 15, 1859. His 
parents came to Fairview in the spring of '60 among 
the early settlers. Some years later they removed to 
Payson, where father died, and the family returned to 
Fairview, where mother still resides. A brother, Na- 
thaniel, was killed two miles north of town by Indians 
while herding cattle. Henry was raised here and has 
served one term as City Marshal. 



388 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

STEWART, JAMES, farmer, son of Nathaniel and 
Dorcas, was born in Green county, Indiana, Feb- 
ruary 14, 1827. The family removed to Missouri 
and were in all the Mormon persecutions in that State 
and Illinois, and lived for a time in Iowa. He enlisted 
in the Mormon battalion in Council Bluffs in company 
D under Capt. Nelson Higgins. In '47 he came to Utah, 
arriving with the company that reached Salt Lake City 
July 28, 1847. He soon returned to Missouri, and in '50 
came again to Utah, locating in Provo. His parents 
followed in '51. Took part in the Black Hawk war and 
has spent most of his time in canyon work and farming. 
Was married in Provo July 23, 1852, to Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Jonathan and Rebecca Hoops, born in Columbus 
county, Ohio, June 28, 1833. They have had twelve chil- 
dren, James W., Edmund W., Francis M., Emily R., Sa- 
lina, Henrietta, George, Sarah E. and Melissa living; 
Jonathan, Hyrum and Eva, deceased. 



SUXDWALL, HON. PETER, merchant and post- 
master, son of Olof and Katrina, was born in As- 
pos, Sweden, June 11, 1848. He was raised in Swe- 
den and came to Utah in '72, worked in the mines till 
'75, when he located in Fairview and soon became man- 
ager of the Co-op. store. In '81 he went on a mission to 
Scandinavia, returning in '84 and resumed his work as 
manager of the store till '94, when he was called to pre- 
side over the Scandinavian mission, with office in Co- 
penhagen. Was appointed postmaster on his return in 
'96, and elected the same year a member of the Board of 
County Commissioners. Served as Mayor from '85 to '91 
and was County Commissioner in '93. Is a director in 
the Union Roller Mill company and president and man- 
ager of the Co-op. Sheep company. Is a Democrat in 
politics and a member of the Twenty-sixth Quorum of 
Seventies in church matters. W r as married in Salt Lake 
City February 1, 1S75, to Anna K., daughter of Lars 
•Tohanspn, born March 17, 1848. They have five children, 
Peter, Annie, John, Marv I., Olof and an adopted son, 
Carl. 




ELI AS W. HOWELL 
FAIR VIEW. 




ANDREW LASSON. 
PAIRVIEW. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 389 

TERKY, ANDREW B., son of Otis L. and Martha J., 
was born in Fairview November 13, 1867. He was 
raised here as a farmer. In '90 lie began taking 
sheep and caring for them on shares, and in '96 he took 
the Co-op sheep herd, which he has since handled with 
perfect satisfaction to the stockholders. Was married in 
the Manti Temple, November 7, 1894, to Phebe B., daugh- 
ter of William S. and Phebe J. Taylor, born in Fairview 
March 19, 1873. They have two children: Edna L., 
born December 19, 1S95, and Andrew B., August 16, 1897. 

TEKBY, CHARLES A., lumber manufacturer, son of 
Otis L. and Sarah II., was born in Union Fort, Salt 
Lake county, May 3, 1858. The family came to Fair- 
view in '60, where Charles was raised and has resided, 
being engaged in fanning and lumbering. He has a farm 
of 125 acres and for many years has manufactured lum- 
ber and shingles. Is also interested in woolgrowing. In 
'86 he went on a two years' mission to southern Illinois. 
Is one of the presidents of the Twenty-sixth quorum of 
Seventies. Was married in Fairview November 5, 1876, 
to Margaret A., daughter of Archibald and Sarah J. 
Reese Anderson, born in Fairview, May 25, 1860. They 
have had eleven children: Charles A., Archibald O., Mar- 
garet M., Thomas R., Ira L., Essie M. and Eva O., living; 
Sarah L., Lula D., William L. and Agnes A., deceased. 
Second wife, married in Logan Temple August 8, 1885, 
was Jane A. Beswick, who died October 15, 1895. r /he 
has one child living: Joseph A., and Edmund L., Francis 
N. and Annie S., deceased. 

TERRY, EDMUND L., son of Otis L. and Sarah V., 
was born in Salt Lake county April 20, 1S54. His 
parents came to Fairview among the first settlers. 
He learned the carpenter's trade and made furniture for 
some years, then engaged in the lumber business. He, 
with others, built the first sawmill — an up-and-down — in 
Huntington Canyon, and afterward changed to a circular 
saw\ Later he and three others purchased a steam saw- 
mill and soon added another, operating both. He then 



390 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

engaged in the mercantile business for several years un- 
til his store was merged into the Co-op. Has an interest 
in one of the mills; is a stockholder in the Co-op store, 
being superintendent in "94-'95; a stockholder in the 
Co-op sheep herd and the flouring mill, having been man- 
ager of the mill. Served as a member of the City Council. 
In January, 1896, ho wont on a mission to Alabama, 
where he still labors. Was married in Salt Lake City 
February 23, 1874, to Rebecca C, daughter of Amasa and 
Rebecca W. Tucker, born in Pleasant Grove March li, 
1856. They have had twelve children, seven living: 
George O., Hyrum W., Ellice T., Mary P., Jessie A., Sarah 
A. and Irving L. 

TERRY, OTIS L., son of Otis and Cynthia Ruggles, 
was born in Worcester county, Mass., March 12, 
1818. The family resided in various places and 
located in Michigan, where they joined the Mormon 
church. In '45 they removed to Xauvoo, 111., in '16 to 
Winter Quarters, and in '50 to Salt Lake City, Otis being 
captain of a company of fifty in ox-train. He located 
at Fnion Fort and learned the trades of a cooper and 
blacksmith. In "60 he came to Fairview and assisted in 
building the fort. Took part in the Black Hawk war. 
Received twenty acres of land and engaged in farming 
and running flour and saw mills. Is a stockholder in the 
L'nion roller mill. Has always been an active man in 
the church and is now one of the High Priests. Was 
first married in Oakland, Mich., in '12, to Fannie M. 
Loveridge. She died in Ogden April 1, 1856, leaving 
four living children: Orson M., Emma J., Otis L. and 
Alvin D. Second wife was Levee T. Dancy, married in 
Salt Lake City in '51. She has six living children: Hul- 
dah C, Terresa, Cynthia, Lois, John and Emily A. Third 
wife was Jane Hart. She and two children are dead. 
Fourth wife was Sarah Howell, a native of Long Island, 
X. Y., born June 29, 1818. She has six children: Elias 
W., Mary L., Ophelia A., Edmund L., Charles A. and 
Celestia M. Fifth wife was Martha J. Vanvalkenberg. 
She has five children, William, Margaret L., Eugenia G., 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 391 

Berdell and Wilford. His descendants number nearly 
500 persons. 

TERRY, HON. OTIS L., JR., farmer, son of Otis L. 
and Fanny M. Loveridge, was born in what is now 
East, Mill Creek ward, Salt Lake City, January 6, 
1852. His parents removed to Fairview among the first 
settlers, when he was a boy, but he remained with grand- 
parents and was raised to farm worn at Union Fort 
In '86 he came to Fairview, where he has a farm of thir- 
ty-one acres. Was a member of the City Council in '94- 
'95, and elected Mayor in fall of '95 on the Democratic 
ticket. He was president of the Y. M. M. I. A. six years; 
second counsellor to the president of the High Priests' 
quorum, and an active teacher eight years. Was mar- 
ried in Salt Lake City December 28, l876, to Sarah L., 
daughter of Elias W. and Martha J. Howell, born in 
Union Fort January 3, 1859. They have had ten chil- 
dren, Phylinda, Willis E., Martha L., Charles D., Fanny, 
Roselee, Oscar and Walter living; Otis L. and Emma J., 
deceased. 

TERRY, WILLIAM H., farmer, son of Otis L. and 
Martha J., was born in Fairview January 3, 1864. 
He was raised here and has been engaged in farm- 
ing and lumbering, having leased and operated several 
sawmills in tbis vicinity. Was married in Salt Lake City 
November 15, 1883, to Annie S., daughter of Joseph and 
Annie Res wick, born in Fairview August 24, 1863. They 
have had seven children, five living, the others, with the 
mother, being dead. Children are: William H., Margaret 
L., Joseph B., James L. and Ernest B., living; Annie S. 
and Rosetta, deceased. 

TUCKER, HON. AMASA, SR., son of James and 
Nancy, was born in Woodstock, Brooklyn county, 
Conn., October 22, 1833. The family removed to 
Massachusetts when he was 2 years old, and to Xauvoo, 
111., when he was 7, having joined the Mormon church in 
'39. They removed to Pottawattamie county, Iowa. 
Father died in Lee county, Iowa, and in '52 they crossed 



392 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

the plains iu an ox-train under Capt. James 0. Snow, and 
located in Pleasant Grove. In '59 the family, consisting 
of Amasa, his wife, mother and two brothers, removed 
to Mt. Pleasant. lie took part in the Black Hawk >vnr 
as a niinuteman, being Captain of a company, and was 
in many excursions against Indians. In '06 he was ap- 
pointed bishop of Fairview and removed here, holding 
the position for twenty-three years. He and his son, with 
brother George, operated a portable sawmill for many 
years. He ran the Temple sawmill six years and the 
Deseret coal mine two years. Was Mayor six years and 
a member of the City Council two years. Was married in 
Pleasant Grove June 20, 1855, to Rebecca Winters. She 
had six children: Cordelia R., Helen S., Amasa and 
Sarah A., living; Elis M. and George O., deceased. Sec- 
ond wife was Martha Anderson. She had nine children: 
James H., Geneva, Ethel G., Jessie P., Arthur R., Francis 
M., Loren and Winnie M., living; Mabel R., deceased. 
Third wife was Annete Petersen. She has had seven 
children: Annete S., Amos F., Mary, Moroni, Annie and 
Chnrles P., living; Hyrum, deceased. 

SUCKER, AMASA, JR., lumberman, son of Amasa 
and Rebecca Winters, was born in Mt. Pleasant 
March 1, 1863. In '60 the family removed to Fair- 
view, where Amasa has spent most of his time working 
in sawmills. Has been an engineer in mills during the 
past sixteen years. Was married in Salt Lake City No- 
vember S, 1883, to Lois A., daughter of Otis L. and Levee 
T. Terry, born in Fairview July 22, 1863. They have four 
living children: Amasa L., George O., Percy D. and Hil- 
den E., and Arza R., deceased. 

SUCKER, GEORGE, farmer, son of James and Nancy, 
was born in Massachusetts October 27, 1837. He 
came to U/tah in '52, stopping in Pleasant Grove till 
"60, then removed to Mt. Pleasant, and finally came to 
Fairview, where he has since resided. He took an active 
part, in both the Walker and Black Hawk wars, being 
captain of militiamen in Mt. Pleasant during the Black 



HISTOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 39H 

Hawk war. He was one of the men who helped recap- 
ture and exterminate San Pitch and his men when they 
escaped from Manti jail. Served as City Marshal six 
years and a member of the City Council two years. Is 
president of the Elders' quorum and has served in that 
position for some time. Is also a ward teacher and an 
honest and earnest churchman. He was part owner of a 
sawmill for twenty years and has but recently sold out 
his interest. Has 160 acres of land, fifty acres being un- 
der cultivation, and is a well-known and representative 
man. Was first married in Mt. Pleasant February 6, 
1861, to Tena Swenson. She died in '67 and he married 
Emma J. Hurst in Fairview March 7, 1868. She died 
June 1, 1882, leaving seven children: Travers, Myron, 
Mary R., Frank, William, Amos, Byron E. and Charles. 
Was again married in Fairview, December 16, 1883, to 
Mary C. Christiansen. Their children are: Hyrum M., 
Orson, Emma R. and Reuben M. 

UANCE, HYRUM If., farmer, son of Isaac Y. and 
Martha, was born at Union Fort, Salt Lake county, 
Utah, September 27, 1857. The family removed to 
Fairview among the first settlers^ and Hyrum was raised 
to farming. He owns fifty acres of good land and has 
a nice farm. Was married in Fairview December 11, 
1889, to Edith E., daughter of Joseph and Amy Jones 
Garlick. They have had five children, Hyrum M. and 
Amy living; Mary F., Martha E. and Sarah E., deceased. 

I /aXCE, GEORGE H., farmer, son of Isaac Y. and 
\J Martha, was born in Salt Lake county September 
14, 1849. The family were among the early set- 
tlers of Fairview, arriving in 1859. George, though only 
a boy, took part in the Black Hawk war, being one of 
the minutemen, and has taken an active part in local 
affairs ever since. He married in Salt Lake City De- 
cember 20, 1869, Mary Wakefield, daughter of John and 
Susan, born in Pottawattamie county, Iowa, April 20. 
1850. Their children are Martha, Sarah, Julia, Myron, 
Byron, Alice, Marinda, living; and Mary E. and George 
H., deceased. 



394 HISTORY OP SANPETE COUNTY. 

1 I AaJLKER, JOHN A., lessee of the Union roller mills, 
\XJ of the hrm of Walker & Hansen, son of Robert and 
Mary J., was born in Wellington county, Ontario, 
February 28, 1855, of Scotch and German parentage. In 
'72 the family removed to Jackson county, Iowa, where 
they remained four years. He went to California in 
'76 and began learning the jeweler's trade, but in '78 
came to Fairview. Being a natural machinist he worked 
at various occupations, developing the love for mechan- 
ism till January 1, 1898, when he and Hans P. Hansen 
leased the Union mill, a fifty-barrel mill, well equipped 
with modern machinery, a first-class flouring mill. The 
firm is also interested in mining property west of Eph- 
raim. John is a stockholder in the Co-op. store, pavilion, 
Social hall, Co-op. sheep herd and the mill, and owns a 
fortv-acre farm. Is a member of the Twenty-sixth Quo- 
rum of Seventies and a ward and Sunday-school teacher. 
Iu '91 he went on a two years' mission to Nebraska. Was 
married in Logan Temple February 10, 1887, to Mary J. 
Hansen nee Xeilsen, born in Denmark October 13, 1852. 
She has one son, Hans P. Hansen, born January 21, 1876. 
He attended the schools of Fairview and took a normal 
course in the B. Y. Academy at Provo. Is a prominent 
musician, leader of the band and a member of the or- 
chestra, and has studied chemistry. Is a member of the 
Elders' Quorum and quite an active worker in the Y. 
M. M. I. A. 



MORONI. 



Moroni is a pleasantly located city in north central 
Sanpete, eighteen miles from Manti, on the Sanpitch 
river and the Sanpete Valley railroad. This settlement 
was begun in the spring of '59 by Bishop G. W. Brad- 
ley, J. Woolf, Isaac Morley, H. Gustin, G. H. Bradley, 
Niels Cummin gs and N. L. Christensen, a party of bold 
pioneers from Nephi, who selected the site because of its 
delightful situation and central point for the building up 
of a commercial city. N. L. Christensen's wives were the 
first women in Moroni. The first colonists were strong, 
determined men and women, who tunneled the snow- 
banks of Salt Creek canyon, working earnestly and with- 
out faltering for three days to clear a road through the 
canyon and across the divide into this chosen valley. 
They had none of the present home-making materials and 
were satisfied with constructing dugouts on the river 
bank, where gardens were planted, ditches constructed 
and preparations made for establishing a permanent 
and prosperous colony by observing the principles of 
home co-operation. 

The high waters soon destroyed all fond anticipa- 
tions of early gardens and practically robbed the settlers 
of the first year's crops by overflowing the fields and fill- 
ing the irrigation ditches. But the early colonists of 
Utah, and especially of Sanpete county, were not baffled 
by misfortunes, and notwithstanding the loss of crops, 
the Moroni people were determined to succeed in erect- 
ing homes and conquering the desert. They elected 
Bishop Bradley captain of the town and organized for 



396 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

mutual protection against Indians, who became trouble- 
some soon after the settlement was begun. New families 
were soon added to the original company and the colony 
assumed business porportions. A grist mill was built by 
Bishop Bradley, a store opened by John Ganut and a 
ward organized, which necessitated the erection of a 
church and school building. Amusements were intro- 
duced and as the town increased in population more mod- 
ern privileges were enjoyed. 

The colony endured many hardships incidental to 
pioneer life, but withstood all discouragements until the 
Black Hawk war, when, for a period of about six years, 
the people could do nothing but fight Indians and guard 
their homes and property from the savages. The city 
was incorporated in 186(3, and at the close of the Indian 
wars began to flourish as an important place. A grist 
mill, sawmill, stores and other business houses were 
erected and irrigating canals constructed to the several 
fields for growing hay, grain and potatoes, for which 
Moroni has become famous. The first important mercan- 
tile establishment was that of the Moroni Go-op store, 
w T hich began business on a very limited scale, occupying 
a little room 13x20 feet and carrying a small stock of 
goods. The capital stock at the beginning was only $500, 
yet the first year the business done aggregated f 3,600 and 
a dividend of 25 per cent was declared. 

The present capitalization of the store is $20,000, and 
a business of $50,000 is transacted every year. Bishop 
John W. Irons is president, having occupied that position 
for twenty years. Andrew Anderson is the present effi- 
cient manager and treasurer. The company now occu- 
pies two large brick store buildings and carries a com- 
plete stock of general merchandise, furniture, farm im- 
plements and machinery. Go-operation characterized all 



HISTORi* OF SANPETE COUNTY. 397 

early efforts of the people in all enterprises and the irri- 
gation canals were thus constructed. Several farm 
ditches are in operation and the Moroni and Mt. Pleasant 
Irrigating Ditch company, incorporated June 20, 1893, 
with a capital stock of §30,000, completes the irrigation 
systems of the city and vicinity. The city has nice or- 
chards, good gardens, and nearly 5,000 acres under irri- 
gation. Stockraising and woolgrowing engage the atten- 
tion of some of the citizens, while many are engaged in 
farming and lumbering. 

A Latter-day Saints' ward was organized immedi- 
ately after the arrival of the pioneers, and Bishop George 
W. Bradley controlled the ecclesiastical powers until 
'76, when he resigned, and Bishop John W. Irons, the 
present incumbent, was appointed. The several church 
auxiliaries of Belief Society, Mutual Improvement Asso- 
ciations, Primaries, Sunday-schools and various quorums 
were soon organized and are now in a flourishing condi- 
tion, reflecting the high moral and religious sentiments 
for which Moroni citizens are praised by their neighbors 
in adjacent towns and cities. The benefits of these or- 
ganizations were never more distinctly visible than dur- 
ing the early days, where Indian ravages, floods, grass- 
hoppers and other calamities visited the people, necessi- 
tating the presence of kind friends to assist each other- 
in their bereavements. 

In '80 Miss Sarah A. McMillan opened a mission 
school in Moroni under the auspices of the Presbyterian 
Board of Missions. She occupied only rented buildings 
and worked under many disadvantages. The work was 
continued by Misses Sadie E. Brown and Florinda 
Stayers for about five years and then discontinued. A 
building lot was purchased, but no house has been 
erected. Occasional services have been held by the pas- 



398 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

toi at Mt. Pleasant, but no church has yet been orgau- 
ized. The Methodist Episcopal church began missionary 
work in Moroni in '83, the laborers being from Mt. 
Pleasant. In '86 a chapel was erected and regular 
schools conducted. The first teacher was Miss Mary 
Iverson, who was succeeded by Misses Mary Jensen, Liz- 
zie Evans and others. The school has always been first- 
class and the teachers accomplished in their vocations. 

Amusements had to be provided for the young in 
early days and local theatrical performers were trained 
to the demands of necessity. The schoolhouses were used 
for entertainments until '91, when Horn Mons Monson 
and T. J. Morley exhibited their enterprise and faith in 
the future of the city by the erection of the largest and 
bety§] equipped Opera House in the county. The building 
is constructed of brick and stone, the roofing being of cor- 
rugated iron. It is 35x83 feet and has a seating capacity 
of 1,000, being frequently filled when general political 
or other public meetings are held. The building is an 
ornament to the city and a credit to the amusement-lov- 
ing citizens. It is used for dancing and general amuse- 
ment purposes. An elegant stage occupies a space of 35x 
25 feet and is highly appreciated by theatrical companies, 
who seldom find such an opera house in towns of this 
size. 

Jensen Bros.' grist mill, located two miles east of 
the city, was built in '85 and has since been remodeled 
and furnished with all the modern machinery necessary 
for a first-class custom and co mm ercial mill. The build- 
ing is 40x60 feet, three stories in height, and has abun- 
dant storage room for home grain. Water power from 
never-freezing springs propels the mill and a constant 
run is made the entire year round, with a capacity of 
5,000 pounds of first grade flour every twenty-four hours. 
The products are found on all the general markets of 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 399~ 

Utah and command a ready sale everywhere. Many saw- 
mills, owned by Moroni people, have been operated in 
the canyons in the past years, until the laws on timber 
cutting were so strictly enforced, and some of the best 
citizens have engaged in lumbering. Mining has never 
engaged the people of this city to any great extent-, ex- 
c( pt in outside camps, but more or less prospecting has 
been done in the West mountains supposed to contain 
gold and silver." 

Moroni people have always been much interested in 
education and in consequence have maintained good pub- 
lic schools at the most convenient points in the city. 
Several students have been prepared for higher educa- 
tional institutions and some have won honors at home- 
and abroad in the highest classes. The present popula- 
tion numbers about 1,800, and several first-class schools 
are taught during the school years. In politics the city 
is Democratic, having been controlled by the People's 
prrty, previous to the general organization of the national 
parties. Among the most prominent men who have filled 
important county and State offices from Moroni are:, 
lions. J. L. Jolley, member of the Constitutional conven- 
tion; Aaron Hardy, member of the State Legislative As- 
sembly; Will L. Irons and Mons Monson each serving as 
County Treasurer on the Kepublican and Democratic 
tickets respectively. 

The Sanpete Valley railroad was built to Wales in 
the early days of coal mining and later abandoned and 
a track put down to Moroni and this city made the ter- 
minus. This stimulated foreign shipments and gave the 
place an impetus to financial prosperity. Car shops were 
constructed here and local men employed in conducting 
the general work of the railroad company, and Moroni 
was made the distributing point for mail to all Southern 
cities and towns. Since the completion of the road to- 



400 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Morrison and the opening of coal beds operated by the 
Sterling Coal and Coke company, this city has become 
a prominent shipping point in supplying the mines and 
also a good market for the home coal. The road has 
many residents of Moroni employed in its operating de- 
partment and there is a bond of union and sympathy be- 
tween the city and corporation, not noticed in many lo- 
calities. 

The Meadow View and Moroni creameries are im- 
portant industries located in the vicinity and using Mo- 
roni as a shipping point. These companies distribute sev- 
eral thousand dollars annually among the people in pay- 
ment for milk and supplies. The city has good hotels 
and stores, enterprising and industrious artisans and me- 
chanics; first-class mills and machinery; numerous shops 
and institutions of commerce and industry, and a most 
energetic and honest population devoted to their several 
occupations. In former years a company of the National 
Guard of Utah was maintained in this city and consisted 
of the most representative young men, G. W. Lowry being 
Captain, Mart Bradley and D. H. Cook Lieutenants. The 
company was discharged at the termination of the period 
of enlistment and has not since reorganized. When Pres- 
idfnt William McKinley issued a call for volunteers in 
the war with Spain, the following patriotic young men 
responded : John Jensen, Christian Blom* 

Moroni has always been economically managed by 
competent men comprising the several municipal boards; 
taxes have been low; sanitary conditions excellent and 
the health and prosperity of the people has been the 
watchword of the city officials. The present City Council 
consists of the following well-known and representative 
citizens: Orlando Bradley, Mayor; Daniel H. Cook, J. M. 
Christensen, Jr., John Bailey, Andrew L. Bradley and 
Joachim C. Anderson, Councilmen; John Stott, City Re- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 401 

corder; George P. Simpson, Justice, and G. W. Lowry, 
Constable. The city has good soil for the manufacture of 
brick and for growing sugar beets. The central location 
and excellent shipping facilities make it an ideal spot for 
the investment of capital in many manufacturing enter- 
prises. The close proximity to abundant cheap fuel, suffi- 
cient water power and surrounded by inexhaustible raw 
material, constitute a favorable situation for woolen 
mills, starch factories, boot and shoe factories and many 
more equally important and dividend-paying home in- 
dustries. 

Freedom is a most pleasantly situated suburban 
mountain retreat four miles from Moroni. This little par- 
adise was located in 70 by Henry Draper and family. 
He remained there for many years and occupied the po- 
sition of bishop. The present bishop is Hon. M. V. Tay- 
lor, founder of the Meadow View creamery. The little 
mountain cove is a perfect fruitdale and the home of the 
dairy. Here are located a few families engaged in the 
several agricultural pursuits surrounded by the evidences 
of health, wealth and happiness. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF MORONI. 



AMES, REUBEN K., farmer, son of Reuben, was born 
r\ in Ephraim September 17, 1857. His father was a 
/ native of Norfolk, England, Joined the Mormon 
church and emigrated to Utah in the early '50s, living in 
Salt Lake City, Manti, Ephraim and Moroni, coming here 
in ? 59. He took an active part in the Black Hawk war, 
and was a prominent man in Sunday-school work and 
among children. He followed farming and was universal- 
ly admired by those who knew him. Both parents died, 
leaving five children, of which the subject of this sketch 
is one. Reuben K. was raised here and engaged in farm- 
ing, now owns a nice thirty-acre farm one mile east of 
the city. He served as a member of the City Council two 
years. Is an active member of the Mormon church and a 
much respected man. Was married in Moroni November 
13, 1881, to Mary M., daughter of James and Mary A. 
Cloward, born in Salem, Utah. She died in '89, leaving 
five children: Reuben R., Melissa, James, Glendora and 
Roscoe. He was married again in April, 1891, to Helen, 
daughter of H. P. and Ansene Peterson, a native of Den- 
mark. They have had three children: Edith and Sada, 
living; Mary, deceased. 

A NDERSON, ANDREW, manager and treasurer of the 
M Co-op store, son of Peter and Christina, was born in 
/ Moro.ni November 8, 1864. He was educated in the 
Moroni district schools, and in '81 entered the Co-op as 
a clerk. In '89 he became manager. He has three assist- 
ants and carries a general stock of dry goods and gro- 
ceries, besides farm machinery, wagons and buggies. The 
stock usually carried amounts to §20,000 and the firm 
does a business of §50,000 a year. Bishop John W. Irons 
is president. Andrew is a live, hustling business man 
and one of the representative citizens. In '98 he con- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 403 

structed one of the finest residences in the city. Was 
married in Manti December 10, 1890, to Mary A., daugh- 
ter of Lars N. and Peruella Larsen, born in Moroni De- 
cember 27, 1863. Her parents, both now deceased, were 
among the early settlers of Moroni. She has two chil- 
dren: Andrew F. and Rodney L. 

A NDERSON, JOACHIM C, contractor and builder and 
M member of the City Council, son of Andrew C. and 
/ Katrina, was born in Denmark September 13, 1852. 
He learned the trade of a carpenter and in '81 came to the 
United States, residing in Iowa, Illinois and St. Paul, 
Minn., till '86, when he removed to Manti, having joined 
the Mormon church in St. Paul, and worked on the Tem- 
ple two and a half years, when he came to Moroni and 
worked over one year on the meeting-house. He then 
opened a shop and has contracted and put up many 
buildings in Moroni. Owns a forty-acre farm; was a 
school trustee three terms and elected a member of the 
City Council in '97. Is an active member of the Demo- 
cratic club, having served as chairman and secretary. Is 
secretary of the quorum of Seventies and a director of the 
ecclesiastical board and a much respected citizen. Was 
married in Logan October 21, 1887, to Annie C. Ander- 
son, born in Mt. Pleasant September 2, 1S67. They have 
had five children: Abner J., Andrew P., Raphael M. and 



ANDERSON, DANIEL, farmer, son of Neils J. and 
r\ Caroline, was born in Denmark March 28, 1866. 
I The family joined the Mormon church in '72, came 
to Utah and located at Moroni. Mother died here. 
Father is still living and has performed a mission to his 
native land. Daniel grew up here to farm work and now 
has seventy-five acres of land. He was married in Logan 
Temple, October 27, 1886, to Vilate, daughter of James 
M. and Mary A. Cloward, born in Moroni April 17, 1870. 
Her father was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
October 17, 1826; came to Utah in '51 and to Moroni 
about '67. He served as a member of the City Council 



404 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

and Mayor and was accidentally killed by a horse in 
Emery county May 27, 1890. He was a blacksmith and a 
prominent citizen. Mother was born in Chester county, 
Penn., July 19, 1836, and died in Moroni April 24, 1886. 
The children of Daniel and Vilate are: Mary C, Daniel 
3. and Annie E., living; Addie A", and an unnamed infant 
deceased. 

BAILEY, JOHN, farmer and stockraiser, and member 
of the City Council, son of John and Jane, was born 
in Leiscestershire, England, November 26, 1840. 
The family joined the Mormon church and in '56 emi- 
grated to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Martin's 
handcart company, fitted out at Florence, Nebraska, in 
which many persons died from cold and hunger. They 
were met by a relief expedition and brought to Salt Lake 
City and from there went to Nephi, where they resided 
till '60, when they came to Moroni. They took up land 
and farmed. Father died in '91, aged 85 years. Mother 
died in '95, aged 86 years. John took part in the Black 
Hawk war as a minuteman, being in the engagements in 
Salina canyon and Grass valley. In '63 he returned to 
the Missouri river after emigrants. He now has a farm 
of sixty acres and is a stockholder in the Co-op store. Is 
a prominent Democrat, being chairman of the party, and 
a member of the City Council, which position he has held 
thirteen years. Is road supervisor and a representative 
citizen. Was married in Moroni February 20. 1866, to 
Charlotte, daughter of Joseph and Ellen Shepherd, born 
in Staffordshire, England, May 7, 1848. They have eleven 
children: Sarah E., Ellen, Jane, John, Joseph, Parley, 
Albert, George, Edward, Melissa and Fern. 

BLACKHAM, JOHN, farmer, son of Samuel and Mar- 
tha Robinson, was born in Lancashire, England, 
November 14, 1827. He learned the trade of a cot- 
ton spinner, joined the Mormon church April 28, 1849, 
and in '55 came to Utah with his wife and two children, 
crossing the plains in Capt. Milo Andrews' ox-train, and 
located in Salt Lake City. In '56 he responded to the call 
of Brigham Young and went with others in an expedition 




NIELS CHRISTENSEN, 

MORONI. 




Yens w. jensen, 

/ MORONI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 405 

to relieve the handcart company. He removed to Fill- 
more in '57 and in '59 came to Moroni, where he received 
a small farm and now has twenty-seven acres. He took 
an active part in the Black Hawk war, holding the rank 
of Second Lieutenant, and was in the Salina canyon en- 
gagement. With his three sons he was among the first 
to work on the Manti Temple. Is a stockholder and for- 
merly a director in the Co-op store and a land company . 
Is a member of the High Priests' quorum and was for 
several years superintendent of the Sunday-school. He 
is an old resident and respected citizen. Was married 
in England April 21, 1851, to Susannah, daughter of 
John and Betsey Lees, born in Lancashire, December 11, 
1830. They have nine children: Elizabeth, Martha, Wil- 
liam, John, Jos i ah, Samuel, Alma, Betsey and Mary A. 
Second wife was Elizabeth Christensen. She has two 
children: John M. and Annie. 

BLAOKUAM, WILLIAM, farmer, wool grower and 
manufacturer of lumber, son of John and Susan, 
was born in Salt Lake City October 31, 1856. He 
came to Moroni with his parents in the spring of '59 and 
grew up to farm work. At the age of 18 he began freight- 
ing produce to the mining camps of Utah and Nevada 
and continued in that business fifteen years. He then 
bought a farm and now owns forty acres and a band of 
500 sheep. In '95 he and William Cook bought a porta- 
ble sawmill east of Mt. Pleasant, which they run. He 
served as a member of the City Council two years and is 
an honest, hardworking man. Was married in Salt Lake 
City March 24, 1881, toVicinia C, daughter of Uriah and 
Elizabeth Curtis, born in Springville, Utah, October 15, 
18G0. 

BLACKIIAM, ALMA, farmer and wool grower, son of 
John and Susannah, was born in Moroni November 
5, 1869. He was raised to the accoupation of a 
farmer and when he attained manhood bought a small 
farm. He now owns twenty acres of land and has 2,300 
sheep. Is an active Republican politician, an energetic 
worker and prominent citizen in church and public mat- 



406 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

ters. He was married in Manti Temple December 22, 
1S03, to Lucy, daughter of Henry E. and Amelia Potter, 
born in Moroni. They have two children: Amelia and 
Alma E. 

LACKHAM, HIRAM, farmer, son of James and Har- 



B 



of the first children born in the town. His parents 
emigrated from England in '57, locating in Salt Lake 
City, then to Nephi and to Moroni, as one of the first fam- 
ilies. Father helped make the first irrigation ditches. 
Hiram was brought up here to farming and has been en- 
gaged in that work. He was baptized into the Mormon 
church in '73, and for the past five years has been coun- 
sellor to the president of the Elders' quorum. Was mar- 
ried in the Endowment House, Salt Lake City, November 
22, 1874, to Arlety, daughter of Isaac and Abiali Morley, 
born in Moroni February 15, 1863. They have seven chil- 
dren: Hiram, Harriett, Edgar, Edney, Alphonso, Morley 
B. and Laura. 

BRADLEY, HON. ORLANDO, Mayor, son of George 
H. and Elizabeth A. Love, was born in Moroni De- 
cember 25, 1862. He was raised on a farm and has 
followed farming all his life. Now owns thirty-five acres 
of good land. In "93 he was elected a member of the City 
Council and served as City Marshal for a short time. In 
'97 he was elected Mayor on the Democratic ticket and 
serves in that capacity with satisfaction to the people. 
He has performed a mission of two years to the Southern 
States and is prominent in church and political circles. 
Was married in Logan December 4, 1884, to Irene, daugh- 
ter of William and Mary H. Draper, born in Spanish 
Fork March 8, 1861. They have had five children: Laura, 
Grover O., assistant superintendent of the Sunday- 
school, Sadie M. and Irene A., living; Mary E., deceased. 

BRADLEY, ANDREW L., member of the City Council 
and farmer, son of George H. and Elizabeth A. 
Love, was born in Nephi, Utah, June 6, 1858. He 
came with his parents to Moroni in '59, where they were 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 407 

the first settlers. At the age of 16 he began freighting 
to the mines of Utah and Nevada, when his father and 
grandfather became railroad contractors, and he worked 
for them. He afterward became a contractor in hauling 
coal and grading on the Sanpete Valley railway. Is now 
engaged in farming and owns thirty acres. Served as a 
school trustee three years and in '97 was elected a mem- 
ber of the City Council on the Democratic ticket. Is a 
prominent politician and has been a delegate to many 
State and county conventions. Was married in Salt Lake 
City February 3, 1881, to Elsie M., daughter of John N. 
and Elsie Anderson Larsen, born in Moroni September 
20, 1861. They have six children : Andrew L., Ella M., 
John F., Mary G., Katie and Bigelow. 

0IIRISTENSEN, NIELS, farmer and proprietor of the 
\^ Moroni Creamery, son of Niels and Christiana, was 
born in Mill Creek, Salt Lake county, Utah, May 16, 
1859. The family came to Moroni in 'GO and Niels was 
raised here to farm work. When he grew to manhood 
he engaged in farming and stockraising, and now has 170 
acres of land. In the spring of '95 he started the Moroni 
Creamery, with a capacity of 3,000 pounds per day. He is 
now making about 2,000 pounds daily. He served as a 
member of the City Council two years and is a prominent, 
reliable business man. He was married in Salt Lake City 
January 15, 1880, to Maria, daughter of Rasmus and 
Maria Johnson, born in Denmark October b, 1859. They 
have had seven children: Hannah E., Elmer R., Ruby 
C, Grover E. and Rhoda A., living; Victoria M. and Niels 
E., deceased. 

/Q HRISTENSEN, PETER C, farmer, son of Christian 
\^ and Caroline, was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, 
December 5, 1850. His parents died on the ocean 
while en route to Utah and he was taken by John Fos- 
gren, who brought him to Utah in '53, locating in Eagle 
valley till '58, thence to Box Elder county and in '59 he 
came to Moroni. He lived with Fosgren about five years, 
then with Abner Lowry twelve years. In '66 he began 
farming for himself and has followed farming, freight- 



408 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

ing and the mercantile business. Is now engaged in 
farming, having 140 acres of land. Owns an interest in 
a steam sawmill and is a 'stockholder in the Meadow 
View Creamery company. Has served as a member of 
the City Council and delegate to many county conven- 
tions of the Republican party, of which he is an active 
member. Served as counsellor in the Elders' quorum 
two years. He was married in the Salt Lake Temple to 
Mary, daughter of Edward and Ophelia Mallinson. They 
have nine children: Edward C, Peter A., Blanche, Ernest 
R., Hannah, Nelson, Randall, Viola and Frank J. 

rt)HRISTENSEN, NIELS, retired farmer, was born in 
%. Denmark April 23, 18.32. He was raised on a farm, 
joined the Mormon church in '53 and in '57 came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in a handcart company under Capt. 
Christiansen. The company was fitted up at Iowa City 
and he, with his wife and three children, started for 
Utah. Caroline, the eldest child, was then 3 years old, 
and is now married to Lauritz Christensen of Freedom. 
The second child died on the road and the third, Chris- 
tina, then only three weeks old, is now the wife of James 
Syme of Moroni. They had to haul the children, bedding 
and provisions by hand and were eighty-seven days mak- 
ing the trip. He first located at Mill Creek, Salt Lake 
county, remaining two years, and in January, 1860, came 
to Moroni, where he bought a small farm; now owns 
eighty-six acres. He took part in the Black Hawk war, 
being an express carrier. Has served as a member of the 
City Council several terms; was City Justice two years. 
Assisted in organizing the Co-op store and served as a 
director and superintendent two years. He has always 
been active in church matters, being a teacher, counsel- 
lor, assistant superintendent of the Sunday-school and 
at present a member of the High Priests' quorum. Was 
married in Denmark in January, 1853, to Christiana 
Christensen, daughter of Jeppa and Karen. She died in 
Moroni September 28, 1884. The children not named as 
crossing the plains are: Niels, Hyrum, Christiana E., 
Emily and Heber. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 409 

0HEISTEXSEN, J. M., JR, principal of the district 
\ schools, son of James M. and Annie K., was born 
in Moroni October 27, 1S68. His parents came to 
this country in '67 and located at Moroni, where father 
was engaged as a farmer and merchant and served as 
Mavor of the city for several years. He took part in the 
Black Hawk war and was superintendent of the Co-op 
store for some time, iu which he is still interested. Is 
the principal stockholder in the Meadow View Creamery 
and one of the firm of J. M. Christensen & Co., Salt Lake 
City, where he now resides. J. M., Jr., grew T up here, 
attended the schools of Moroni and the Deseret Univer- 
sity and began teaching. In '92 and '93 he was made prin- 
cipal of the schools, which position he still retains with 
satisfaction to patrons and pupils. Is a stockholder in 
the Co-op store and a director and treasurer of the Mea- 
dow View Creamery company. Is an active Democratic 
politician and has served the third terra as a member of 
the City Council. Was married in Manti December 5, 
1894, to Elizabeth, daughter of George H. and Elizabeth 
Bradley, born in Moroni December 28, 1874. They have 
one child: Melba. 

g) HRISTENSEN, LAUEITZ, farmer and stockraiser, 
\ son of Soren and Elsie, was born in Denmark April 
28, 1845. His early days were spent in farming and 
fishing and as a ferryman. The family joined the Mor- 
mon church about '58, and in '60 emigrated to Utah, 
crossing the plains in Capt. Oscar Stoddard's handcart 
company. They fitted out at Florence; father, mother 
and two sons pulled the handcart to Salt Lake City and 
located in Moroni, where parents died. In '64 Lauritz 
went back after emigrants. When the Black Hawk war 
broke out he was chosen Captain and led his company 
into the engagements in Salina canyon and at Fish Lake. 
In '75 he located at his present home, where he has a nice 
sixty-acre farm, with good orchard, one and a half miles 
north of Freedom. Was married in Salt Lake City May 
19, 1873, to Caroline, daughter of Niels and Christiana 
Christensen, born in Denmark. They have eleven chil- 



410 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

dren: Lauritz U., Vina, Ettie, Niels A. r Emma I., Sorea 
E., Joseph, William E., Dorthea, Celia M. and Ernest L. 

i COOK, DANIEL H., blacksmith and City Councilor, 
%. son of William N. and Elizabeth, was born in Gold 
Hanger, Essex county, England, December 1, 1850. He 
entered a blacksmith shop when 9 years old and worked 
there till '06, when he came to Utah on account of having 
joined the Mormon church; crossed the plains in Capt. 
Glassby's ox-train and located at Salt Lake City. In No- 
vember, 1874, he removed to Moroni, where he has fol- 
lowed his trade and erected a fine brick residence. Pie 
was one of the first miners in the Tintic district and 
helped develop that district at Silver City and Camp 
Floyd. Now owns a seventy-five-acre farm, which is con- 
ducted by the boys. Is an active Democrat and was 
elected a member of the City Council in '97. Has served 
as a delegate to several county and State conventions. 
Is an active churchman, member of the Elders' quorum 
and a respected citizen. Was married in Salt Lake City 
October 3, 1873, to Emeline, daughter of William and 
Fannie Draper, born in Draperville, Utah, June 8, 1S55. 
They have had seven children: William N., Charles R., 
Edna E., Clara B., Chloe and Macel E., living; Lily M., 
deceased. 



DANIELS, WILLIAM, farmer and stockraiser, son of 
Frederick and Dorthea, was born in Germany June 
1, 1831. He learned the trade of a stone mason and 
in '53 removed to Denmark, where he joined the Mormon 
church. In '75 he emigrated and located in Moroni for a 
time, then took up 160 acres of land two and a half miles 
south of the city, where he now has 200 acres, and is en- 
gaged in stockraising. He is a member of the board of 
school trustees and a good, representative citizen. W r as 
married in Denmark July 3, 1856, to Sophia Thompson, 
born in Denmark March 8, 1833. They have six children: 
Dora, Mene, Henry, Christian, Josephine and Hyrum. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 411 

DRAPER, AMOS, lumber manufacturer, son of Wil- 
liam and Ruth H., was born in Spanish Fork, Utah, 
March 4, 18G3. He came with his parents to Moroni in 
March, 1865, and grew up here. In '82 he engaged in the 
sawmill business and has followed the work ever since. 
He is a stockholder in the Moroni Irrigation company 
and served as teacher in the Elders' quorum in '95 and 
'96. Was married to Sarah J., daughter of Charles and 
Jane Thomas, born in Moroni May 7, 1864. They have 
six children: Almira, Amos, Charles P., Sarah J., Wil- 
liam C. and Cora. 

DRAPER, WILLIAM J., farmer, son of Moses and 
Rachel, was born in Draper, Utah,. June 25, 1S62. 
He grew up in Moroni to farming and freighting 
work. Now owns about twenty-five acres of land and is 
engaged in farming. Is a Democrat and acted as dele- 
gate to the county convention in '97. W T as married to 
Laura C, daughter of J. C. and Cheston Nielson, born 
December 22, 1865. They have had eight children: Win- 
nie I., Niel J., Arthur, Tessie, Austin and Rosbel, living; 
Oscar J. and an unnamed infant, deceased. 

DRAPER, RILEY N., farmer and stockraiser, son of 
William and Fanny, was born in Draperville, Utah, 
May 7, 1S57. His father came to Utah with the pio- 
neers. Riley N. owns a farm of sixty acres; is one of the 
ecclesiastical board of directors for two years' term and 
, one of the prominent farmers of Moroni W T as married 
in Moroni January 2, 1879, to Margaretta, daughter of 
Isaac and Abiah Morley, born April 29, 1861. Wife died 
August 18, 1897, leaving five children: Margaretta L., 
Delbert M., Roswell N., Fanny A., Sherman L. and Phile- 
mon, and Philetus, deceased. 

DRAPER, MOSES, farmer, son of William and Eliza- 
beth, was born in Canada of American parentage 
July 9, 1832. In '34 the family removed to Kirt- 
land, Ohio, having joined the Mormon church the year 
before through the preaching of Brigham Young. Father 
helped build the Kirtland Temple and passed through 



412 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

the church persecutions in Missouri and Illinois, losing 
a great deal of property. When they were driven from 
Xauvoo their property was burned for the third time. In 
'19 they came to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. 
'George A. Smith's company, and located at Draper, 
named after father, who was bishop and the leading man. 
Moses was married in Salt Lake City October 1, 1855, to 
Rachel M. Hefner, President Brigham Young officiating. 
In April, 1865, they came to Moroni, where he now has a 
farm of 130 acres. He performed a mission of six months 
in the Elk Mountain country in '55 and took part in the 
Walker and Black Hawk Indian wars. His eleven chil- 
dren are: Moses H., Julia A., William J., Margaret A., 
Ada, Anna, Lauraett, Celestia, Ervin, Erwin and Mel vim 

DRAPEK, PARLEY P., farmer, son of William and 
Betsey, was born in Pike county, Illinois, March 30, 
1813. The family joined the Mormon church and 
passed through the persecutions in Missouri and Illinois, 
father being a bishop in Iowa. In '19 they came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in an ox-train under Capt. George A. 
Smith, and soon located in Draper, the town being named 
for father Draper, who was bishop eighteen years. They 
resided for a time in Spanish Fork and in '61 came to 
Moroni, where father was an enterprising and leading 
citizen. He died at Freedom. Parley P. grew up here to 
farming and stockraising. In '66 he went back to the 
Missouri river after emigrants in Capt. Abner Lowry's 
company. He was in active service throughout the Black 
Hawk war, being in the Salina Canyon engagement, 
where he and George Jackson were cut off from the com- 
pany and almost captured. The Indians fired fifty shots 
at them. He held the rank of Second Lieutenant. He 
served as City Marshal two years; was in the City Coun- 
cil two years and is at present engaged in farming, hav- 
ing twenty acres of land. Was married in Draper to 
Margaret Simmonson, a native of Denmark. They have 
eleven living children: Parley J., Hetty, Frank, Free- 
man, Homer, Orson, Vina, Ray, Amanda, Archie and 
Marv. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 413 

EDWARDS, JAMES P., JR., barber, son of James P. 
and Catherine Petty, was born in Manti May IT, 
1870. He removed to Sterling in '84 and followed 
farming for three years> then went to Glenwood Springs, 
Colorado, and engaged in the sawmill business with his 
brother Albert. After one year he returned to Sterling 
and resumed farming and stockraising. He and brother 
Albert then contracted timbers for S. S. Jones and fur- 
nished lumber and ties for the Sanpete Valley Railway 
company in '94. After marriage lie engaged with Wil- 
liam Montgomery of Manti as barber for one year, then 
came to Moroni, where he had a nice shop and did a good 
business. Was married May 15, 1895, to Janie L., daugh- 
ter of Abner and Arlish Funk Lowry, born October 4, 
1874. They have had one child, Erwin, born January 20, 
1895; died August 4, 1896. Mrs. Erwards learned the 
trade of milliner from Mrs. Rhoda Smyth of Manti and is 
doing a fine business in that line. 

ELIASSON, NILS L., proprietor of the Eliasson HoteJ, 
son of Lars and Hannah, was born in Sweden Au- 
gust 27, 1838. He learned the trade of a landscape 
gardener and joined the Mormon church in '60. In '67 
he came with his family to Utah, crossing the plains un- 
der Capt. Rice, and located at Moroni. He bought a farm 
and now owns 250 acres, being engaged in general farm- 
ing and stockraising. In '81 he was appointed postmas- 
ter and held the position till '93. Served as registration 
officer during the time of the Utah Commission and was 
census enumerator for the eleventh census. Is one of the 
directors in the Moroni Irrigation company and a prom- 
inent and representative mam Was married in Sw T eden 
August 9, 1863, to Elna Pehrson, born in Sweden Sep- 
tember 6, 1843. They have had six children: Nils, Or- 
lando, Wilhelm, Berthman, Emma and Erica. 

FAUX, JABEZ, farmer, son of Thomas and Ann, was 
born in Yorkshire, England, March 16, 1837. He 
learned the trade of fitter in a machine shop, joined 
the Mornfon church and in '60 emigrated to Utah, cross- 



414 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

ing the plains in a handcart company under Capt. Robin- 
son, walking all the way from Florence, Neb., and lo- 
cated at Moroni. He worked some time in a blacksmith 
shop, making plows of old government wagon tires and 
other iron scraps picked up on the plains. In a few years 
he engaged in farming and now has seventy-five acres. 
He took an active part in the Black Hawk war. Helped 
organize the Co-op store; was the first clerk and for twen- 
ty-five years has been connected with the institution, 
most of the time as superintendent; is now one of the di- 
rectors. Served as a member of the City Council and 
City Recorder several years. Since '90 he has been super- 
intendent of the Sunday-school. In politics 'he is a Re- 
publican and is a prominent and much respected citizen. 
Was married in Moroni December 24, 1862, to Anna Dan- 
ielson, born in Sweden. They have had eight children: 
Jabez, Joseph, John, Anna and George, living; Ada, 
Marv and an unnamed one, deceased. 



QEE, JOSEPH, notary public, son of Joseph and 
Xancy, was born in Bradbury, Cheshire, England, 
October 20, 1834. He learned the trade of a cotton 
spinner and worked at that for thirty years. In '54 he 
joined the Mormon church and was president of Ashton 
under Lyne, Oldham and Rochdale. He came to Utah in 
'74, settled at St. George two years, then removed to 
Moroni in '76. Is at present deputy watermaster and 
notary public. Was elected Assessor and Collector of 
Moroni and served four years, and defeated for City Jus- 
tice in '97. Served as head teacher several years and is 
one of the prominent citizens of the town. Was married 
in England December 25, 1858, to Clara, daughter of 
John and Hannah Stafford, by whom he had nine 'it- 
dren in England and three in America. She died in 'SO. 
Was married again to Sarah Kellett nee Prestwich, who 
had one child: Dorothy. The first wife's children living 
are: Samuel E., Albert W., Mary Jane, Alice, Joseph, 
James, Clara, Aaron and Ervin. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 415 

II ARDY, HON. AARON, member of the State Legisla- 
jl ture, sou of George and Merab, was born near Man- 
/ Chester, England, December 22, 1839. He learned 
the trade of a weaver, joined the Mormon church Feb- 
ruary 28, 1854, and came to Utah in '63, crossing the 
plains in Capt. Peter Nebeker's ox-train. He reached 
Moroni without capital, but soon secured a farm, worked 
on the railroad; was salesman in the Co-op store eight 
years and schoolteacher fifteen years. Served as ttas 
first City Recorder; was Mayor three terms, Justice of 
the Peace twelve years and County Selectman from '80 
to '82. Took an active part in the Black Hawk war. In 
'96 he was elected to the State Legislature and appointed 
chairman of the Committee on State Prison and Indus- 
trial School. He took an active interest in these mat- 
ters and secured legislation beneficial to the inmates, 
making many warm friends through his philanthropic 
work. He now owns fifty acres of land and does notary 
work. Was first married in England September 11, 1861, 
to Elizabeth Prestwich, who died June 20, 1870, leaving 
two children: Aaron and Elizabeth. Second wife, u tar- 
ried in Salt Lake City December 19, 1870, was Emma, 
daughter of Bishop Warner of Nephi. She had seven 
children: James, Addie and Wilford, liviug; William, 
Samuel, Joseph and Mary, deceased. Third wife was 
Amy Faux. She had seven children: Charlotte, Walter, 
Edna and John H., living; George, Amy and Arthur, de- 
ceased. Fourth wife was Anna M. Anderson, married 
September 9, 1880. She is president of the Relief society. 

II UTCHINSON, DAVID, farmer, son of David and 
J I Janet Crookston, was born in Fifeshire, Scotland, 
9 May 1G, 1847. He was born in the Mormon church, 
his folks having joined in early days. When a boy he 
worked at coal mining. In '61 the family came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in Capt. Murdock's company, and lo- 
cated at American Fork. He came to Moroni in '62, his 
parents having come before, and bought a small farm; 
now has forty acres. He has been engaged in woolgrow- 
ing, but now attends to his farm. Is superintendent of 



416 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

the Centreville Sunday-school, a ward teacher and mem- 
ber of the High Priests' quorum. He is an energetic 
church worker and a good citizen. Was married in 
Moroni in < Htober, 1850, to Jane, daughter of William 
and Jane Longshire Prestwich, born in England May 9, 
1847. They have nine living- children: Jane, Janet, 
David, William, Dorothy, Thomas, Jemima, William and 
Mary; three, Isabel, Elizabeth and an infant, deceased. 

IRONS, BISHOP JOHN W., son of John W. and Hester 
Applegate, was born in Ocean coun T y, New Jersey, 
November 21, 1823. He was raised there on a farm 
and joined the Mormon church in '60. In '03 he came to 
Utah, crossing the plains in an ox-train under Ca A >t. Pres- 
ton, and stopped in Salt Lake City one winter. He came 
to Moroni in the spring of '64 and has resided here since. 
Took an active part in the Black Hawk war as Captain 
of Company A, infantry. In '77 he was appointed bishop 
by Brigham Young and still retains that position. Is 
president of the Co-op store and has been for the past 
twenty years. He is an active, representative citizen, 
having been quite prominent in all public a'Tairs in 
Moroni. Was married April 24, 1844, to Deborah P., 
daughter of John and Rebecca Lippincott, born in Ovean 
county, New Jersey. They have had four children: Will 
L., farmer and stockraiser; Annie, wife of Hyrum Jack- 
son, a telegraph operator; Hetty I. married Owen Smith, 
now dead; and John W. was teller in McCor nick's bank. 

| RONS, W T ILL L., farmer and stockraiser, son of Bishop 

in Ocean county, 
W r hen he was 4 
years of age the family removed to Utah, stopping for a 
time in Salt Lake City, then came to Moroni. He went 
through the home district schools and took a short course 
in the Deseret University. He then bought a farm and 
now has a nice place, making a specialty of breeding 
Hereford cattle. Served as a member of the City Council 
several years, and in '84 was elected to the office of 
County Collector on the Republican ticket. He is a 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 417 

stockholder in the Co-op store and a well-known repre- 
sentative citizen. Was married in Moroni to Sarah. J. 
Jolley, born in Parson September 22, 1861. They have 
eight children: Hettie I., Will M., Elmo, John W., Edith 
I., Jennie F., Leola and Roldo. 

JACKSON, HYRUM, farmer, son of John and Jane, 
was born in Wakefield, England, May 16, 1869. The 
family emigrated in '73 and located in Moroni, 
where they now reside. Father was a shoemaker. Lly- 
rum grew up here and has always followed farming, lie 
now owns a small farm of fifteen acres, which he culti- 
vates. He was married in Moroni February 12, 1895, to 
Annie D. Cahoon nee Irons, daughter of Bishop J. W. 
and Deborah, born in Ocean county, yew Jersey, July 8, 
1S57. She has two children bv former marriage: Stephen 
E., born June 12, 1881, and Annie D., July 22, 1884. She 
learned telegraphy when only 13 years of age and has 
ever since had charge of the Deseret Telegraph office at 
Moroni. 

JEXSEX, A3JDEEW, known as "little Soldier," son of 
Peter and Kirsten, was born in Denmark December 
1, 1814. He was raised on a farm, joined the Mor- 
mon church in '61 and in '02 tame to Utah, crossing the 
plains in Capt. Madsen's independent train. He walked 
all the way and helped drive 200 cows. The family lo- 
- cated in Moroni, where he secured a ten-acre farm; now 
has 175 acres, and is engaged in stock and fruitraising 
and woolgrowing. He ran the Co-op sawmill in early 
days for ten years, then managed the United Order sheep 
and cattle four years. In company with others he built 
a sawmill in Canal Creek canyon. He afterward bought 
a steam sawmill in Four-Mile canyon and operated that 
several years. In '85 he and brothers Jens and Christian 
built fhe Jensen Bros/ flouring mill, which has recently 
been remodeled, and now is an up-to-date sixty-barrel 
mill. He is a stockholder in the plaster mill near Xephi, 
a director in the First National Bank at Xephi and in- 
terested in the Xephi Mining and Salt Manufacturing 



418 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

company and Fish Springs mines. He served in the 
Black Hawk war and was given the name of "Little Sol- 
dier" by Madison D. Hamilton. He is one of the leading 
citizens and a prominent financier and business man. 
Was married in Salt Lake City to Maria, daughter of 
Lauritz and Maria Lauritzen, born in Denmark May 18, 
1848. They have had ten children: Maria, Mary C, 
Annie, Louisa, Andrew E., Serena, Hannah, Martena 
and Charles W., living; James P., deceased. 

JENSEN, HON. ANDREW L., farmer and ex-Mayor, 
son of Jens and Mary', was born in Denmark Au- 
gust 31, 1848. The family joined the Mormon 
church and in '62 came to Utah, crossing the plains in 
Capt. Van Cott's company, aud located at Moroni, where 
parents both died. Andrew was raised here to farming 
and now has a farm of 150 acres. He took an active part 
in the Black Hawk war. In '68 he returned to the Mis- 
souri river after emigrants under Capt. Seely, and in 
crossing Green river the boat was capsized and he with 
others was thrown into the water, six men being 
drowned. In '82 he went on a two years' mission to Ala- 
bama; made several converts. He is a stockholder and 
vice-president in the Co-op store. Served as a member of 
the City Council several years and was Mayor eight years. 
Is an active Republican and has been a delegate to many 
county and State conventions, being well known and an 
influential man in the community. Was married in Salt 
Lake City May 19, 1873, to Christina, daughter of Rasmus 
P. and Maria Christensen, born in Denmark February 14, 
1857. They have had ten children: Mary, Maria, Hetty, 
Andrew, James V., John E., Franklin P., Delina C. and 
Delmore W., living; Lula, deceased. 

JENSEN, JENS W., farmer and one of the firm of 
Jensen Bros.' Milling company, was born in Den- 
mark in January, 1839. He learned the trade of a 
weaver and joined the Mormon church in '61. In '62 he 
started for Utah with his parents and family of nine per- 
sons, crossing the plains in Capt. Madsen's company, and 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 419 

located in Moroni. His parents both died here. He 
worked at anything he could get to do and finally secured 
a small farm; now owns eighty-five acres. In '84 he 
and brothers Andreas and Christian built the flouring 
mill two miles east of town, and in '97 they remodeled it, 
making it sixty-barrel capacity, with all the latest and 
improved machinery for merchant and custom work. He 
took an active part in the Black Hawk war, being in 
many excursions against the Indians. Served as City 
Treasurer fourteen years. In '85 he went on a two years' 
mission to Denmark and presided over a branch of the 
church. He is quite an extensive woolgrower and a di- 
rector in the Co-op store. Is a member of the High 
Priests' quorum. Has always been a leader in local en- 
terprises and an energetic and representative citizen. 
Was married first in Salt Lake City to Annie Anderson, 
now deceased. His second wife was Kersten M. Soren- 
son. She has six children: Neils P., Mary, James, An- 
drew, Caroline and Christian. The third wife was Sophia 
M. Anderson. She has four children: Annie C, Frank- 
lin P., Ella V. and Junius C. Mr. Jensen also moved to 
San Luis valley, Colorado, in '88, returning in '96. While 
there he had the misfortune to lose his little son Orson 
H., 3 years of age, who strayed from home. An active 
search was kept up all night, but when found he was 
frozen to death, it being a bitter night. 

KEMP, CHARLES, retired millwright, son of John 
and Ann, was born in Lancashire, England, in '31. 
He learned the trade of a machinist, serving an ap- 
prenticeship of seven years. In December, 184S, he joined 
the Mormon church and in '53 came to Utah, crossing the 
plains in Capt. Wheelock's company, and located at 
Nephi. He superintended and helped make the machin- 
ery for a cut-nail factory and molasses mills and erected 
the building. In '59 he came to Moroni and tried farming- 
far a time, but returned to his trade and assisted in con- 
structing flouring mills in Moroni and other towns, put- 
ting fifty mills together in Utah and Idaho. Assisted in 
putting in the electric light plant at Mt. Pleasant and in- 



420 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

troduced a new kind of water-wheel for power. He put 
in the first full line roller flour mill in Utah at Fairview. 
Served as County Selectman one term. Is a member of 
the High Priests' quorum and an old, respected resident. 
Was married first in England to Adelaide S. Prestwich, 
who died in Xephi with her daughter Alice Ann. Second 
wife was Sarah Blackham, born in England. The chil- 
dren are: Jesse, Seth, Mary, Sarah J., Olive, Elizabeth, 
Anna and Maud, living; Charles and Martha A., de- 
ceased. 

CAURITZEX, CHRISTIAN, barber, son of Lauritz 
and Matilda, was born in Moroni February 17, 1875. 
His father came to Utah in '60, crossing the plains 
in an ox-train, and was one of the first settlers in Moroni. 
He resided here until his death, which occurred August 
11, 1S96. Mother died August 11, 1897. They left three 
children: Ida, Christian and Lewis. Christian grew up 
here and followed farming and stockraising till '97, when 
he opened a barber shop, having learned the business of 
Walter Lund. He is doing well and gives general satis- 
faction to his many patrons. 

CIVINGSTON, CHARLES C, postmaster, son of 
James C. and Agnes, was born in Salt Lake City 
February 6, 1868. He was educated in the district 
schools and attended the Deseret University one year. 
In '79 he came to Moroni, where he engaged as salesman 
in the different mercantile institutions till January 5, 
1898, when he was appointed postmaster. He is a partner 
in the Christensen general merchandise business that car- 
ries a stock of 82,500 or more and does an annual business 
of 87,500. Is an active man in Sunday-school and church 
matters, being one of the department teachers. He is 
an enthusiastic Republican and a very energetic and suc- 
cessful business man, well liked in the community. W T as 
married in Salt Lake City December 25, 1889, to Julia, 
daughter of James and Christina Sellers, born in Salt 
Lake City September 6, 1868. They have six children: 
May, Flora, Laura, Ethel, Ernest and Leonard. 




NEILS OLSON, 
MORONI. 




MRS. NEILS OLSON, 
MORONI. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 421 

COWRY, GEORGE W., farmer, Constable and deputy 
Shenlf, son of Abner and Louisa, was born in Manti 
May 19, 1S57. He came to Moroni August 19, 1889. 
Acted as special police for two years and was then 
elected City Marshal in '92. Is at present precinct Con- 
stable and deputy Sheriff. Served three years in the 
Utah National Guard, being- a Second Lieutenant, and 
promoted to Captain. Is an Elder in the Mormon church 
and a respected citizen. Was married in Moroni Decem- 
ber 23, 1879, to Nina, daughter of Henry and Martha 
Draper. They have two children: Martha L. and 
George E. 

COWRY, JAMES W., farmer, son of Abner and 
Louisa, was born in Moroni February 25, 1863. He 
grew up there and followed freighting for several 
years, then was a contractor in grading part of the San- 
pete Valley and Rio Grande Western railways. 
In '94 he engaged in farming and has followed that work. 
He now owns a twenty-acre farm, which is under good 
cultivation. He is first counsellor to Bishop Taylor and 
superintendent of the Sunday-school and a well re- 
spected citizen. Was married in Sterling October 8, 
1885, to Florence M., daughter of Martin V. and Cornelia 
Taylor, born in April, 1870. They have two children: 
Nina and Simer D. 

COWRY, ABNER, one of the '49 settlers, is a son of 
John and Mary Mee^x, born in Lewis county, Mis- 
souri, October 12, 1831. Tke family passed through 
the church persecutions, and in '46 removed to Winter 
Quarters, coming through with the pioneers in '47, cross- 
ing the plains in John Taylor's company. In '48 Abner 
took one of his father's teams and went with a relief 
party to bring in a company from the plains, Brigham 
Young being one of them. The family came to Sanpete 
with the pioneers in '49 and located in Manti. Abner 
took part in the Provo war, then in the Walker war, 
where he was a Lieutenant, and again in the Black Hawk 
war, holding the rank of Major of the Fifth battalion of 



422 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

cavalry. Was in the Salina Canyon engagement and 
other skirmishes. He followed fanning and stockraising 
and in '61 came to Moroni. Served as Mayor of the city 
four years and County Selectman fourteen years. In '60 
he returned to the Missouri river for emigrants and 
brought out 250 persons; fifty-two died on the road of 
cholera. Was married in Nephi November 22, 1852, to 
Betsey L., eldest daughter of Bishop Bradley, a native 
of New York. She died in Sterling December 6, 1881, 
leaving ten children: Mary E., Abner, George W., Susan 
L., James W., John EL, Melinda, Ernest, Marion A. and 
Claire. 

fY\ ALLIXSOX, JOHN, farmer, son of Edward and 
/ 1 1 Ophelia, was born in Ashton under Lymes Laues, 
/ I England, September 14, 1844. He joined the 
Mormon church in '62 and' came to Utah in '01, locating 
at Moroni. Took an active part in the Black Hawk war 
as a home guard and engaged in farming. He now owns 
thirty acres of land. Is a. member of the quorum of Sev- 
enties and an honorable citizen. Was married in the 
Endowment House, Salt Lake City, March 7, 1871, to 
Esther, daughter of John and Alice Cunliffe, born Sep- 
tember 22, 1853. Wife died December 27, 1893, leaving 
six children: Mary A., Anettee, John E., Esther, Eobert 
and William. He was married again February 14, 1874, 
to Martha, daughter of John and Susannah Blackham. 
She has one son: Samuel. 

pr\ AKX, PHILLIP, farmer, son of George and Bar- 
/ I I bara, was born in Germany March 1, 1S34. He 
I X learned the trade of a shoemaker. In '52 he and 
brother John came to the United States, where he worked 
at his trade till '55, when he enlisted in United States 
army, Company A, Seventh regiment of infantry. They 
were sent to Texas until '58, and while there had many 
encounters against Indians. His regiment then marched 
to the Mississippi river and went up the river by boats 
to Jefferson Barracks, near St. Louis. They soon started 
for L'tah and walked all the wav to Cedar Yallev, where 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 423 

they built a post. He was honorably discharged April 
23, 1860, very much broken down in health. He now gets 
a pension of f 6 a month from the Government. In May, 
1S60, he located in Moroni and worked at his trade of a 
shoemaker for fifteen 3-ears. When the Black Hawk war 
broke out he was made a Captain and drilled the local 
company, taking an active part throughout the war. In 
'73 he took up 160 acres of land, where he now resides, 
two miles south of Moroni, and has a nice farm of ninety- 
seven acres. Was married April 23, 1860, to Mary Jacob- 
sen, by whom he has three children: Phillip, Josephine 
and Jacob. Second wife was Maria Neilsen, by whom he 
has six children: Andrew, George, Tilda, John, Joseph 
and Alvin. He married a third wife January 2, 1895, Nel- 
sine Easmussen, born in Denmark September 26, 1831. 

fTi OXSON, HON. MONS, Treasurer of Sanpete coun- 
/ I 1 ty, is a native of Lund, Sweden, where he was 
/ I born March 18, 1850. His father, Bengt Monson, 
was a farmer by occupation and came with his family to 
the United States in '51. They resided in Keokuk, Iowa, 
two and one-half years, when they came across the plains 
to Utah, locating in Spanish Fork. In the fall of '60 they 
moved to Moroni, Sanpete county, and took up a small 
farm of twenty-five acres. His father died May 9, 18S9. 
Our subject learned the trade of cabinetmaker, at which 
he worked winters and farmed summers. He has a fine 
farm of about 100 acres three miles south of town, twen- 
ty acres inside the city limits, and a nice residence in the 
city. Mr. Monson has always taken an active part in 
politics and was chairman of the Democratic party in 
Moroni three years. He held the offices of Constable, 
Justice of the Peace and was Mayor of the city from '92 
to '95. He has also been a worker in the church; in 
'76 he helped establish a colony in Arizona, working as a 
carpenter. He spent the two years '84-'85 on a mission, 
laboring in Sweden and Lapland. In November, 1896, 
he was elected to the office of County Treasurer, which 
he fills to the satisfaction of the people and with great 
credit to himself. Mr. Monson is a highly respected citi- 



424 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

zen and stands liigh in the estimation of the people of 
Sanpete county, lie was married in Salt Lake City No- 
vember 6, 1872, to Janet, daughter of John and Barbara 
Synie, by whom he has eight children: Bengt, John, Bar- 
bara, Annie, Gilbert, Ernest, Ophelia and Hazel C. 

fY\ ONSON, MONS, (second), farmer, son of Basmus 
ill and Bodie M., was born in Denmark February 28, 
I I 1S44. He was brought up a farmer and joined 
the Mormon church in '77. In ? 7S he came with his fam- 
ily to Utah and located at Moroni. He now has a fine 
farm of forty-three acres, with a nice brick residence and 
modern outbuildings situated three miles east of the 
city. He was married in Denmark September 17, 1S70, 
to ilary C, daughter of Jens and Inger Jensen, born in 
Denmark July 31, 1848. They have six children: Annie, 
wife of Andrew Johansen, farmer; Basnius, sheepherder; 
Orson, Bohney L., Berry G. and Elvira C. 

fY\ ORLEY, THOMAS J., blacksmith and wheel- 
/ I 1 wright, son of Isaac and Cyntha A., was born in 
\ \ Manti February 12, 1854. The family came to 
Moroni in '59 and Thomas was raised here, learning the 
trade of a mason from his father. At the age of 19 he 
went to Sandy and learned the trade of a blacksmith and 
wheelwright. In '76 he built the shop where he is now 
located. He erected a large stone building in ? 86 and 
now makes a specialty of horseshoeing. In company with 
Mons Monson he built the Moroni opera-house, investing 
$3,000 in this handsome and commodious structure. 
Served five years as Justice of the Peace and four years 
as school trustee. Though only a boy during the Black 
Hawk war, he did his share of the work and carried ex- 
press messages. He had a narrow escape one day in 
Canal canyon, when 300 Indians surrounded him and a 
brother and Isaac Bruno. When the Indians learned he 
was a Morley they decided to let him go, as the family 
had always been kind to them, so the three were given 
their liberty. The Indians passed on and in a few min- 
utes killed Dan Miller in Oak Creek canyon. Mr. Morley 



HISTOHY OF SANPETE CODNTY. 125 

is an industrious and enterprising man, well liked in 
the community and having a. nice family. He was mar- 
ried in Spring City June 2, 1877, to Ellen C, daughter of 
Bengt and Annie Monson, born in Spanish Fork March 
12, 1858. They have had seven children: Thomas J., 
Lillian, Melvin, Leroy and Mabel, living; Ellen A. and 
Jennett, deceased. 

fY\ ORLEY, ISAAC, son of "Father Morley," who led 
ill the first settlers to Sanpete by direction of Brig- 
' V ham Young, was born in Kirtland, Ohio, May 2, 
1829. His father was a native of Massachusetts, where 
he resided until he attained manhood, when he went to 
Kirtland, Ohio, and joined the Mormon church in the 
early '80s, becoming one of the prominent members and 
a patriarch. He was through all the Mormon persecu- 
tions and at one time was cast into prison. In '48 he 
came to Utah with Brigham Young, bringing several of 
his wives. He was appointed by President Young in *49 
to lead the settlers into Sanpete and was afterward made 
president of the stake. He spent most of his life in church 
work in Utah, going about blessing the Saints. He died 
in Fairview June, 1865. The subject of this sketch drove 
one of his father's three teams across the plains in '18, 
and settled in Manti. He came to Moroni in June, 1850, 
and has always followed the trade 'of a mason, building- 
many of the houses in this city. He served as a member 
of the first City Council in Manti and is at present a 
member of the High Priests' quorum. Was married in 
Manti in' 'November, 1851, to Cynthia A., daughter of 
Thomas J. and Betsey Bradley, born in Erie county, New 
York, September 14, 1833. Their children are: George 
F., Thomas J., Betsey A., Lucy, Theresa, Margareta, Ar- 
ietta, Isaac, Amorillas, Daniel H., Evelyn, William A., 
Heber C, Anna M. and Jerome B. 

(Y\ ORLEY, DANIEL H., mason, son of Isaac and 
ill Abiah, was born in Moroni October 3, 1868. He 
' y grew up here as a farmer, and about '83 began 
the work of a mason, having since followed that occupa- 



426 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

tion. He has been instrumental in building many of the 
ornamental residences in Moroni. Served as City Coun- 
cillor during '96 and '97. He owns the millinery shop on 
Main street, and is a respected workman of this city. 
Was married October 30, 1890, to Sarah J., daughter of 
Charles and Sarah Kemp, born in Moroni October 9, 1869. 
They hare four children: Olive E., Daniel A., Sarah A. 
and Madeline. 

R| EILSEX, C. P., blacksmith and farmer, was born in 
\\ Denmark, April 21, 1826. He learned the trade of 
i a blacksmith, joined the Mormon church in March, 
1851, and in '54 started for Utah. He resided in the 
Eastern States until '60, when he came to Utah, crossing 
the plains in Capt. Taylors independent company. Spent 
some time in Draper and Spanish Fork, and in January, 
1863, came to Moroni, where he has since followed his 
trade and conducted a small farm. He took part in the 
Black [lawk war, and has always been recognized as a 
steady and industrious citizen. Was first married on the 
sea while en route to this country, to Elsie C. Larsen, 
who died in Moroni. His second wife was Dorothy Ja- 
cobsen. They have seven children: Mary C, Sene, Mene, 
i.'ebecca, Lauritz S., Esther and Annie. 

*f EILSEX, NIELS- C, farmer, son of Andrew and Mag- 
1 1 dalena, was born in Denmark, August 31, 1845. He 
J came to Utah, in "62, crossing the plains in an ox- 
train under Bishop Madsen, and located in Moroni. 
Served for two years in the Black Haw*k war, as one of 
the minutemen. In '66 he went back to the Missouri 
river after emigrants. Was road supervisor for Moroni 
from '84 to '89, and held the position of City Marshal two 
years. Has been City Poundkeeper for several years and 
still holds that position. He was head watermaster in '81 
and deputy watermaster for twenty years. Served as 
ward teacher three years and counsellor to the president 
of the Y. M. M. I. A. one year. Is a stockholder in the 
two irrigation companies, and a much-respected resident. 
Was married in the Endowment House, Salt Lake City, 
January 9, 1871, to Annie M., daughter of Michael and 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. -427 

Helena Sorensen, born in Denmark, November 3, 1854. 
They have had thirteen children: Niels A., Angeline, 
Michael, Helena, Maria B., Joseph, Elinora, Sarah J., 
Lydia M., Andrew H. and Feary L., living; Mary- E. and 
Lillian, deceased. 

lMELSON, ANDREW, carpenter and builder, son of 
JM Jens C. and Anna M., was born in Moroni, January 
J 22, 1860. When a boy he learned the cooper trade of 
Lis father and later learned the trade of a millwright, and 
followed that four years. He learned the business 
of contractor and builder and has erected most of the fine 
residences of Moroni. He is a first-class mechanic and an 
energetic man. For two years he was interested in the 
Jensen and Nelson sawmill and ran it. Served as post- 
master from October 1, 1893, to January 15, 1898. Was 
City Collector one term. He is an active thinker and a 
pronounced Socialist. Was married in Salt Lake City, 
January 15, 1880, to Minnie, daughter of William and 
Sophia Daniels, born in Denmark, February 4, 1860. They 
have nine children: Minnie, Andrew W., Elizabeth C, 
Caroline, Christian, Mertie, Ezra F., Pine D. and Dar- 
win D. 

KEELSON, DANIEL C, harnessmaker, son of Jens C. 
|M and Mary A., was born in Big Cottonwood, Utah, 
i March 28, 1858. The family came to Moroni in the 
spring of '59, where he was brought up a farmer. He 
attended the B. Y. Academy at Provo, two years, and 
taught school several years. Served as a member of the 
City Council four years and as school trustee four 
years. Is active in Sunday school work and was 
secretary several years. He owns a twenty-three- 
acre farm and the Palace Pavilion, in which he 
has a small store and dancing hall in the rear. 
Is a harnessmaker and has a good shop next door 
to Pavilion, with a fine, large residence in town. He is a 
representative citizen and very enterprising business 
man. Was married in Salt Lake City, February 15, 1880, 
to Mary Sorenson, born in Ephraim, May 15, 1859. She 
died June 22, 1894, leaving five children: Gertrude, Bo- 



428 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

lirda, Alice, Stella and Daniel E. Second wife was Ce- 
celia Nelson, married December 11, 1895, born in Den- 
mark, January 9, 1874. She has one child: Dallon. 

KfELSEN, HON. JENS C, farmer and ex-Mayor, was 
\\ born in Fauborg, Denmark, August 10, 1830. He 
i learned the trade of a cork cutter, which he followed 
seven years. In '52 he joined the Mormon church, spent 
two years as a traveling elder, in Hamburg Germany, and 
in "55 emigrated to the United States, spending one year 
in Missouri, and in '56 came to Utah, in Canute Peter- 
son's company. He resided for a time at Big Cottonwood, 
then in Ephraim and in '59 came to Moroni as one of the 
first settlers, and worked at the cooper trade. When the 
city was organized he was one of the first Council and 
Mayor three terms. Took part in the Black Hawk war 
as a First Lieutenant, and was in the Salina canyon and 
Grass valley engagements. He and others captured Chief 
San Pitch's men when they escaped from jail at Manti. 
Ir '76 he went on a three years' mission to Denmark, and 
in '85 he filled another mission, both times having charge 
of the Aarhus conference and baptizing many converts. 
He then engaged in farming, and has been ward clerk for 
the past ten years. Owns forty acres and has a nice home 
in town. Served as president of the Co-op store when it 
was started and is still a stockholder and much respected 
citizen. Was first married in Salt Lake county to Anna 
M. Anderson, who died in Moroni, leaving six children: 
Daniel, Andrew, Mary, Ephraim, Joseph and Annie. 
Fccond wife, married in Moroni, September 29, 1873, was 
Karen Xpilsen. born in Denmark, October 16, 1843. She 
has had four children: Sophia, Dorthea and James C* 
living; Caroline, deceased. 

fcfELSON, SOREN R., farmer, son of Rasmus and Mete 
\\ K., was born in Aarhus, Denmark, April 21, 1845. 
I He learned the trade of a carpenter and worked on 
a farm. Spent seven years working in a woolen mill. 
January 14, 1S72, he joined the Mormon church, and in 
'78 came to Utah, locating at Moroni. He worked at his 
trade and finallv secured a farm: now owns 100 acres 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 429 

and is engaged in farming. Served as ward teacher many 
years. Was married in Denmark in May, 1861, to Kama 
J bonds Jhonsdotter, a native of Sweden. She died in Mo- 
roni, in November, 1883, leaving six children: Annie, wife 
of Crisp Taylor of Moab; Eliza, wife of Edward Kump of 
Moroni; Josephine, wife of Andrew Meyers of Eureka; 
Serrebene, Soren and Caroline. He again married, Au- 
gust, 1871, to Caroline, daughter of Jens C. and Kjersten 
Neilsen, born in Denmark. They have six living children: 
Kjersten M., James P., Mary, Carrie and Elvine. Mrs. 
Nelson had three children before her marriage to Soren 
I.'. They were: Walter, Hannah and Maria. 

OLSEN, PETEE, deceased, a native of Denmark, was 
born August 17, 1821. He joined the Mormon 
church in '51 and though a wealthy man, sold ail he 
had and emigrated poor people to Zion, arriving himself 
in '57 without any funds. He married Anna Anderson 
and they came together, crossing the plains in the hand- 
cart, company under Capt. Christiansen, pulling their cart 
from Florence, Neb., to Ephraim. In 7>9 they came to 
Moroni with the first settlers. He labored one and one- 
half years in Denmark as a missionary. v\ as a promi- 
nent public-spirited citizen, taking part in many of the 
local enterprises and helped organize the Co-op store, of 
which he was the treasurer several years. He took an 
active part in. the Black Hawk war. He died July 12, 
1?88; his wife is still living, 75 years of age. Their only 
son, Peter, was born here and raised a farmer. He is a 
prominent farmer and stockraiser and served as a mem- 
ber of the City Council two years. In '$5 he went on a 
two years' mission. Is a stockholder in the Co-op store, 
president of Y. M. M. I. A., one of the presidents of the 
Thirty-seventh quorum of Elders and served as secretary 
of the quorum and Sunday-school ten years. He is a well- 
known, respected citizen. Was married, November 8, 
1883, to Helena, daughter of Neils and Anna M. Soren- 
son, born in Fountain Green, October 2, 1862. They have 
had eight children: John L., Elsie M., Leander, Eva M. 
and Helena, living; Peter C, Peter and Annie M., de- 
ceased. 



4 30 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

OLSEX, SWEN, farmer and stockraiser, son of Ole and 
Sophia M., was born in Sweden, March 14, 1840. 
He learned the trade of a wheelwright, joined the 
Mormon church in '66 and the same spring started for 
Utah. Was married on the ocean June IT, 1866, to Mary 
W. Christensen, daughter of Christen E. and Ane K., 
born in Denmark, May 4, 1843. They crossed the plains 
in Capt. Xebeker s ox-train and settled in Mt. Pleasant, 
where he fanned and worked at his trade of wheelwright. 
H e also had a shop and manufactured furniture, employ- 
ing from four to five men. In '81 he removed to his pres- 
ent place, three miles east of Moroni, and has now a fine, 
well improved farm of 200 acres. Is quite an extensive 
stockraiser and one of the representative citizens of his 
vicinity. He took part in the Black Hawk war, doing 
his share of the guard and other duties. The famliy con- 
sists of seven children: Swen M., Mary A., wife of H. A. 
Willis; Isaac; Lillian, wife of Christian Daniels; John S., 
Lottie and Winnifred. 



OLSOX', XEILS, farmer and stockraiser, was born in 
Sweden, January 8, 1838. He was raised on a farm, 
joined the Mormon church in '56 and in '57 the fam- 
ily came to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Cowley's 
train. Father died in Salt Lake City in '57 and the fam- 
ily resided in Little Cottonwood and Spanish Fork, 
coming to Moroni in '60. The family then consisted of 
mother and two brothers and one sister, all having since 
died in this county. Xeils took up a small farm, now has 
fifty acres and is engaged in stockraising and woolgrow- 
ing. He is a stockholder in the Co-op store and a much- 
respected citizen. During the Black Hawk war he took 
his share of the duties in guarding the homes and stock 
from the Indians. He was married in Salt Lake City, 
February 22, 1S62, to Caroline, daughter of James and 
Annie Larsen, born in Sweden. She died February 22, 
1897, leaving five children: Olof, Mary, Frank, Edwin and 
Edella. The four deceased were Xephi, Oscar, Charles 
and an infant. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 431 

OLSON, JOHN H., farmer, son of John and Myra E., 
was born in Moroni, July 31, 1873. His father came 
here among the early settlers and took part in the 
Black Hawk war, being in the Salina canyon engage- 
ment. In '82 he went on a two years' mission to Sweden, 
and was instrumental in bringing many emigrants to 
this country. He was a prominent churchman, an Elder 
and a good citizen. Served as a member of the City Coun- 
cil and was in many of the local enterprises. He died 
May 3, 1896. Mother was born and raised in Manti. She 
is a stockholder in the Moroni Co-op store and Moroni 
Irrigation company. Is engaged in woolgrowing and 
owns a fifty-acre farm, which John H. cultivates. He is 
a deacon and teacher in the Mormon church and a mem- 
ber of the Y. M. M. I. A. There are eight living children 
in the family: Myra L., wife of Aury Draper; John EL, 
subject of this sketch; Daniel L., Euphemia, Edna, Eme,. 
Jefferson and Ellis. 



QOSTRON, DAVID R., truck gardener, son of William 
|T T. and Nancy Eeid, was born in Manchester, Eng- 
V land, October 16, 1846. He came to Utah in '62 and 
located at Spanish Fork, where he resided three years, 
then came to Moroni and went to work for Bishop Brad- 
ley, as a farmer. Has been engaged in truck farming for 
several years, and was the first in Sanpete county to cul- 
tivate celery successfully. Served as secrtary of the El- 
ders' quorum fourteen years and secretary of the Y. M. 
■ M. I. A. eleven years. Is at present librarian of the Y . 
M. M. I. A. and Sunday-school. Was married, December 
15, 1866, to Mary Ann, daughter of John and Mary Ann 
Underdown Tilby. Her father was among the early 
settlers of Moroni, coming here in '60. She has had nine 
children: Hary A., Emma, John, Francis, W T ilford and 
Caroline, living; David, Sarah and Jane, deceased. 

5IMPSON, GEORGE P., farmer, son of John and Han- 
nah, was born in Durham, England, November 12,. 
1846. He learned engineering in the old country, 
came to Utah in '65, and located at Moroni. He assisted 



432 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

iD building the first railroad south of Salt Lake City and 
helped construct the Union Pacific through Weber can- 
yon. Served in the Black Hawk war as commissary ser- 
geant among the minutemen. Has been Constable for 
about ten years; was City and Precinct Justice for about 
twenty years, and City Sexton seven years. Was married 
July 24, 1S66, to Annie J., daughter of Michael and Ann 
Foster, born in Bangor, North W T ales. She died June 3, 
1864, leaving four children: George V., Annie J., Angelo 
F. and Michael L. Was married again at Moroni, No- 
vember 13, 1897, to Maria, widow of Niels Sorensen. She 
has six children: Niels P., Alvin L., Ella M., Charles D., 
Amanda H. and Anette C. 



5 



TOTT, JOHN, City Recorder and clerk of bishop's 



born in Lancashire, England, June 7, 1835. He 
learned the trade of a cotton spinner and machinist, be- 
ginning work when 6 years old. In '50 he joined the 
Mormon church and in '67 came to Utah, crossing the 
plains in an independent ox-train. He resided in Cen- 
terville one year, when his family arrived and they came 
to Moroni in '68. In '76 he became clerk of the tithing 
office, which position he still retains. He owns a ninety- 
acre farm and for the past twelve years has been City 
Recorder, giving perfect satisfaction and being an ex- 
emplary officeholder and honorable man. Was married 
in England, to Sarah A. Armfield, born December 15, 
1S36. They have had eight children: Francis, William, 
Emma J., Nancy M., Sarah A. and John H., living; Mary 
J., Harriet and John, deceased. 

5WENSEN, PETER, ma*son, son of Lars and Annie E., 
was born in Moroni, November 28, 1869. His pa- 
rents emigrated from Denmark and located in Mo- 
roni about '60, where father engaged in farming. He was 
a prominent man in the Mormon church; serving as coun- 
sellor to the bishop many years and acted as bishop two 
years. Was head teacher several years and performd 
two missions. He took part in the Black Hawk war, be- 
iDg in the Salina canyon engagement. Father died No- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 433 

vrmber 16, 1894. Peter was raised here and learned the 
trade of a mason, which he still follows. He was married 
in the Manti Temple, November 28, 1894, to Sylvania, 
daughter of Abner and Arlisha J. Lowry, born in Manti, 
May 9, 1876. They have three children : Peter R, Geneva 
and Vera. 

5YME, JOHN, deceased, was born in Scotland, in Feb- 
ruary, 1824. He was brought up a miner and fol- 
lowed that occupation. He was married March 5, 
1847, to Barbara Wylie, daughter of William and Janet 
Fife, born in Scotland, December 31, 1819. She joined 
the Mormon church in '42 and he became a member soon 
after. In '51 they emigrated to the United States and 
located in St. Louis. They came to Utah in '61, crossing 
the plains in Capt. Murdock's ox-train, and located at 
Moroni. In '65 they removed to Monroe, Sevier county, 
and engaged in farming. He took part in the Black Hawk 
war and was forced out of the settlement, with others, 
by the Indians, returning to Moroni, where he died, 
August 2, 1894. There are five children living in Mo- 
roni: William, married Cene Poulson; James, married 
Christina Christensen; George; Richard, married Jane 
Bailey, and Janet, wife of Mons Monson. 

SAYLOR, BISHOP MARTIN V., son of Benjamin 
Franklin and Ann Menels, was born in Loraine 
county, Ohio, December 26, 1835. His parents 
joined the Mormon church in '41 and in '42 removed to 
Macedonia, Illinois, one of the Mormon settlements. They 
passed through all the persecutions of that State, and in 
'46 moved to Kanesville, from which they started for 
Utah, in '50, in Capt. Foote's ox-train. Many of this com- 
pany died of cholera while en route, but the family 
reached Utah and located on Little Cottonwood. The next 
year they went to California, with Lyman Rich, and 
founded a colony at San Bernardino. In '57 they re- 
turned to Utah and located at Springville, and about '70 
settled at Little Salt Creek, or Juab. Elmer, a brother 
• >f Martin, was bishop of Juab and Levan for several 
years. Martin spent several years in freighting to the 



434 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

mining camps of Montana, and in '83 came to Freedom, 
•where he engaged in farming and stockraising. He fol- 
lowed cattleraising and woolgrowing some years, and 
now has a line farm of 140 acres. About '93 he, in com- 
pany with others, started the Meadow View Creamery, 
of which he was manager, and made it a success. He is 
now one of the principal stockholders of the company. 
In '97 he was appointed bishop of Freedom, and has 
given general satisfaction, being well liked by everybody, 
and an enterprising and upright citizen. He was married 
in San Bernardino, California, to Amanda Hart, by whom 
he had ten children: Benjamin F., Martin A., Alice A., 
Jesse E., Vasco H., Forest N., Jane, Lucy, Nettie and 
Crispin. The second wife was Mary A. Clemens, who had 
one child: Minnie. Third wife was Cornelia Mount, who 
had six children: Mary, Florence, Lee, Joseph M., Jean 
and Mattie. The fourth wife was Joanah Jennings. She 
had eight children: Ray, Heber C, Polly B., Schuyler, 
Wane, Duke, Nephi and Earl. 



GUNNISON 



Gunnison is the oldest town of the Sevier Valley, 
situated fifteen miles southwest of Manti and within two 
miles of the junction of the Sanpitch and Sevier rivers. 
The town was located in the spring of 1S60 by Jacob 
Hutchinson and a few families and named in honor of 
Capt. J. W. Gunnison, the lamented and much-honored 
United States topographical engineer, who was killed by 
Indians on the Sevier river September 26, 1S53. He and 
company camped on the site of the now prosperous and 
enterprising colony which bears his name as a perpetual 
monument to his manhood and kind treatment of the 
settlers of Sanpete Valley. The town in early days was 
a home of refuge for isolated southern colonists attacked 
by hostile Indians. 

The first settlers of Sanpete saw this delightful spot 
while engaged in protecting their homes and stock from 
Indians, and many decided that as soon as the savages 
were conquered or driven back to their mountain retreats 
a colony would be established. When the first settlers 
arrived and located upon their chosen fields, another 
company composed chiefly of residents of Springville, 
settled farther down the river and two colonies were be- 
gun. A union was soon perfected and after an unsuc- 
cessful attempt at settling "Hog Wallow," the present 
appropriate site was decided upon, and in 1862 the col- 
onists built homes where they now reside. An attempt 
was made by surveyors to locate an Indian reservation 
on the towmsite, but the settlers were recognized by the 
general Government and given titles to their lands. 



436 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Being a frontier town, the people suffered much loss 
of property and continual annoyance from Indian depre- 
dations. The savages would attack the nothern settle- 
ments, and when pursued by the troops, rush into Gunni- 
son to complete their work of death and destruction. 
Many hundred head of cattle were stolen by the redskins 
and several lives lost in defending the people from inva- 
sion by the painted warriors. In 1864 several families 
removed to Salina and Richfield, thereby reducing the 
strength of this colony, and in 1865, when the Black 
Hawk war began, the people were almost defenseless, 
but stood out manfully against their foes, who for six 
years threatened the lives and property of every colonist. 
The grasshoppers added to their troubles by coming in 
vast numbers and destroying the crops, thus leaving 
them almost without food. 

>'■ The many trials and battles with savage foes, grass- 
hoppers and poverty developed such a determined trait 
of manhood as seldom witnessed in even the hardiest 
pioneers, and the present generation of men and women 
has inherited a legacy of indomitable courage character- 
istic of the greatest colonists of the world. Here abide 
honesty and sobriety intermingled with the art of accu- 
mulation, and Gunnison is probably the wealthiest town 
of its size in central Utah.*\ With a population of about 
1,S00 industrious and contented people engaged in farm- 
ing, stockraising and general agricultural pursuits, every 
class of mercantile and industrial work, and investments 
of the most generous character, the town ranks among 
the most important municipalities of the State. 

The commercial interests of Gunnison have steadily 
developed through the combined enterprise of her citi- 
zens. Among the more prominent mercantile establish- 
ments is the Co-op store, organized in 1869, and grown 



\ 




NF.PHI ANDERSON, 
GUNNISON. 




THEODORE E. CHRISTENSEN, 
GUNNISON. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 437 

from a very small concern to its present dimensions. It 
is an incorporated concern with a capital stock of $7,000, 
and doing a business of |15,000 a year. The board of 
directors are well-known and representative citizens and 
consist of the following: Jacob A. Tuft, president; E. J. 
Kearnes, secretary and treasurer; O. B. Berglund, mana- 
ger, and Neils 0. Sorenson. The firm has always de- 
clared satisfactory dividends and is known as one of the 
solid financial institutions of the town. It has been con- 
ducted as other organizations under the co-operative plan 
and gives a local market for general produce. 

Irrigation has been the great factor in reclaiming 
the deserts and making of Gunnison the leading grain- 
producing section of Sanpete county. Several sources of 
water supply are utilized and the broad fields made to 
yield enormous crops of grain and alfalfa. One mam- 
moth undertaking for a colony like Gunnison is the con- 
struction of a huge reservoir by using the banks of the 
Sanpitch river between Sterling and Manti for natural 
walls of enclosure. A dam has been built across the 
river near Sterling and a large sheet of water four miles 
or more in length, about one mile in width and twenty 
feet in depth, impounded to be used in irrigating the 
fields of Gunnison. By this means the high waters of 
spring are held in check and distributed to shareholders 
for a nominal sum, thus adding many thousands of 
bushels to the annual cereal productions of this town. 

The different irrigation companies represent the in- 
vestments of all the farmers, in water ditches, and have 
an aggregate capitalization of §245,S00 divided among 
six incorporated and distinct concerns. The Gunnison 
City and Antelope Valley Canal Company was incorpor- 
ated February 18, 1896, with a capital stock of §50,000. 
The present official directory consists of C. A. Madsen, 



438 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

president; A. A. Prouty, vice-president; Xephi Gledhill, 
secretary and treasurer, who with Paul M. Jensen, Chris- 
tian P. Jensen, llenry McKenna and C. A. Swalberg, Sr., 
control the affairs of this company. The Bobbins and 
Kearnes Dam and Canal Company, with a capitalization 
of $46,800, was incorporated February 25, 1896. The di- 
rectors are: H. A. Kearnes, president; A. H. Kearnes, 
secretary; James L. Kearnes, A. J. Robbins and John 
Bartholomew, completing the official list of managers. 
The Gunnison Irrigation Company was incorporated 
June 22, 1888, with a capital stock of $50,000, divided 
among the numerous users of water. This company has 
nine officers and directors as follows: X. C. Sorenson, 
president; Xephi Anderson, vice-president; Peter H. 
Bogh, secretary; C. A. Swalberg, Sr., treasurer, with 
Brigham Jensen, C. E. Ericksen, Christen Larsen, H. M. 
Garrick and William Metcalf, directors. The Gunnison 
Highland Canal Company, with a capital stock of $50,- 
000, was incorporated March 14, 1896. The officers are: 
W. B. Parker, president; O. B. Berglund, secretary and 
treasurer; L. C. Myrup, Fred C. Snow and L. C. Ludvig- 
son, remainder of the board of directors. The Westview 
Irrigation Company was incorporated June IT, 1895> with 
a capital stock of $25,000. The officers are: C. A. Swal- 
berg, Jr., president; William Gee, secretary and treas- 
urer; Alfred H. Lund, Julius Christensen and Christian 
Sanders. The Willow Creek Irrigation Company was in- 
corporated April 17, 1S9T, with a capital stock of $24,000. 
The officers and directors are: Axel Einarson, president; 
Josias Jensen, vice-president; Soren C. Sorenson, secre- 
tary and treasurer; J. P. Carlson, Annie M. W T atts, 
Charles Boshardt and John P. Peterson. The several 
canal companies with private and co-operative farm 
ditches furnish an abundant water supply, which enables 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 439 

the industrious and painstaking farmers to harvest boun- 
tiful crops of all the cultivated cereals, plants and 
grasses. The area of tillable land is being increased 
every year by reclamation from desert aridity and the 
domains of grain fields surrounding Gunnison include an 
immense acreage, making an oasis of wealth in the des- 
ert of primitive barrenness and native sagebrush. 

Gunnison citizens participated in the Indian wars 
and her sons did not lose the patriotic spirit when the 
President of the United States called for troops to de- 
fend the Nation and protect the people's honor. When 
the first call for volunteers in the war with Spain was 
published six young men proffered their services and 
were accepted. E. H. Olark entered Torrey's Rough 
Riders regiment, Adelbert W. Whiting enlisted in the 
cavalry, and Ezra Funk, John W. Beemus, Leo N. Gled- 
hill and Halie M. Madsen chose the artillery. Others 
equally patriotic were unable to pass a satisfactory med- 
ical examination, or the recruits from Gunnison would 
have been double. The town, however, is entitled to the 
honor of furnishing more men than any settlement of 
similar population in the county. 

A mission school was opened in May, 1881, under the 
auspices of the Presbyterian church, Miss Mary Crowell 
of Ohio being the teacher. A small house on Mrs. Chris- 
tensen's lot was used until the present lot was purchased 
and chapel completed in 1884. Miss M. E. Campbell suc- 
ceeded Miss Crowell, and was followed by Miss Clara 
San ford. In September, 1884, Mrs. M. M. Green took 
charge of the school and has since been assisted by her 
daughter Alice. Mrs. Green has been the teacher, 
preacher, physician and benefactress of Gunnison since 
her coming, and has proven an earnest, conscientious 
worker in the cause of humanity. The school has been 



440 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

prosperous from the beginning, and numbered many of 
the young people of the town among its pupils. The house 
was completed in 1884, at a cost of about §3,000. The 
chapel was dedicated in April, 1886, the dedicatory ser- 
mon being preached by Rev. S. L. Gillespie. Mrs. Green 
erected a reading-room and put up a belfry and placed 
the first bell in position in the city. The building is a 
neat stone structure, 25x45 feet, erected from native ma- 
terial. Several citizens of Gunnison are members of the 
Presbyterian church in Manti and elsewhere, and the 
mission is in a satisfactory condition. 

The Latter-day Saints organized a ward with the 
first settlement of Gunnison, and the church has pros- 
pered ever since, with all its auxiliary organizations. H. 
H. Kearnes was the first Bishop, and introduced every 
new industry to develop the public enterprise of the citi- 
zens. The present Bishop is C. A. Madsen, who has served 
for many years and enjoys the good-will and confidence 
of his people. The Sunday School, Y. M. M. I. A. and 
other church societies are prosperous and. directed by 
earnest, conscientious men and women, interested in the 
cause of enlightening humanity. The church has a fine 
meeting-house, and the Relief Society owns a commodi- 
ous hall, which is generously used for many public pur- 
poses. 

In 1S91 the Rio Grande Western railroad was com- 
pleted to the borders of Gunnison, and thus opened up 
the avenues of American commerce, enabling the farmers 
and ranchers to ship their grain and live stock to the mar- 
kets of the world. The financial interests then received 
an impetus which is rapidly transforming the town into 
one of the important cities of Sanpete county and a lead- 
ing commercial and trading point for south-central Utah. 
The Sanpete Valley railroad will no doubt be built into 
the town limits within a short time, and thereby place the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 441 

future city on a second great highway to commercial in- 
dependence. This will give the best transportation, ship- 
ping and telegraphic service, and insure a rapid and 
healthy municipal growth. 

Gunnison was made a town under the powers of the 
County Court, in 1893, and elected the following officials: 
Anthony Madsen, President; W. H. Gribble, Austin 
Kearnes, F. Ludvigson and E. Sanderson, Trustees. They 
organized the town, appointed the several requisite offi- 
cials and passed suitable ordinances for the protection of 
citizens and property, and the place at once assumed the 
airs and importance of more pretentious cities. Since 
then the streets have been kept clean, business blocks 
have become more central, and the ravages of epidemics 
or contagious diseases have been minimized by more 
thorough and systematic quarantine restrictions. Gunni- 
son has forged ahead, with a better water system, more 
guarded discipline of the youth and a happier and health- 
ier people. 

Salt is obtained in great abundance in the vicinity of 
Gunnison, and the manufacture of fine table salt will 
soon become an important business in this town. The 
quality of this pure mountain rock, from which the best 
commercial article is obtained, is not excelled by even the 
famous Liverpool salt, and wherever exhibited the home 
product has been accepted as possessing no superiors. 
The mineral is found in inexhaustible quantities, and is 
easily refined by boiling and crushing. In early days 
Gunnison salt was in demand throughout all Sanpete 
valley and men would visit this settlement when in need 
of the saline for home and domestic purposes. The solid 
rock as mined is taken to the mountains and used for 
sheep and cattle in its native state. 

Many official tests of soils and sugar beets grown in 
the vicinity of Gunnison have proven that the conditions 



-442 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

are more favorable for successful beet culture than in 
any other section of Utah. These facts have caused much 
agitation in favor of erecting a large sugar factory here, 
among the foremost men interested being Bishop C. A. 
Madsen. The capital can be easily obtained and experi- 
enced men secured to operate the largest factory in the 
West, when sufficient beets are guaranteed by the far- 
mers, and the matter of making Gunnison one of the 
most important sugar shipping points in Utah is only a 
question of time. With the sugar factory would come 
feeding yards for sheep, cattle and hogs, and a more 
thorough system of agriculture, which would make of this 
place the model home city of the intermountain region 
and metropolis of Sanpete. 

In 1898 a new ward was organized in what was pre- 
viously known as Gunnison field, or South Gunnison. 
This was called Centerfield, and a postoffice was created. 
The town has thus gradually grown until two places have 
been established, and its domains are increasing every 
year. New reservoirs are under contemplation, new ca- 
nals being constructed and more farms are added to the 
agricultural resources. Gunnison certainly has a most 
enticing future for the homeseeker, investor and pro- 
moter of new enterprises. An excellent climate, unlim- 
ited resources, plenty of water and an energetic and pub- 
lic-spirited community, with the prospect of another rail- 
road, make of this town an ideal place for prosperous 
business men, good schools and all the luxuries of modern 
times. 
h The people of Gunnison have always been interested 
in public school matters and have supported as good 
schools as anywhere in the county. An excellent school 
system is now conducted under the direction of compe- 
tent trustees. 1 ' The schools are managed by an able and 
efficient principal, with a corps of competent instructors 



HISTORY. OF SANPETE COUNTY. 443 

as assistants. Many pupils from Gunnison have attended 
the several State institutions and passed the highest de- 
grees of honor for studiousness and general efficiency. 

The political history of Gunnison is the same as in 
other settlements of the county, in that the People's party 
prevailed until the organization of National parties, 
when the division was about equal, both parties having 
been successful. Among those who have served with 
honor to themselves and credit to the town, in county and 
State positions, are: Hons. N. C. Sorenson, Anthony Mad- 
sen, James Metcalf, Jacob A. Tuft and others. The pres- 
ent Town President is John Larsen. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF GUNNISON. 



HLLRED, ISAAC N., buyer and shipper of produce, 
r\ son of William and Sarah, was born in Bedford 
' county, Tenn., March 25, 1S30. The family resided 
in Missouri and Illinois and passed through all the 
church persecutions. In 1SG1 they came to Utah in Capt 
David Cannon's company of sixty-four wagons. Isaac 
located with his family at Spring City, where he bought 
a small tract of land and engaged in farming. He took 
part in the Black Hawk war, serving as adjutant, and 
being in several skirmishes with Indians. Served as 
City Alderman of Spring City three terms. In 1898 he 
engaged in buying and shipping produce. Was married 
in Pike county, 111., in September, 1849, to Julia A., 
daughter of Cornelius and Mary A. Brown, born in Pike 
county, 111., November 26, 1831. They have nine children: 
Zerilda J., John W., Mary A., Martha L., Lucy E. and 
Hannah R., Sarah S., Elsina, Albert M. In 1898 he moved 
to Gunnison and is now engaged in a confectionery busi- 
ness. 

f\ NDERSON, NEPIII, farmer and woolgrower, son of 
r\ Mads C. and Christina, was born in Burlington, 
/ Iowa, November 6, 1858. The family came to Utah 
when he was a small boy, settling in Provo. They re- 
moved to Gunnison among the first settlers; father still 
lives here; mother died in October, 1896. Nephi was 
raised here to farm work and engaged in the sheep busi- 
ness. He now owns a nice farm of 125 acres and has 3,000 
sheep. In 1891 he went on a two years' mission to Nor- 
way, where he was in charge of a branch. He is vice- 
president of the Gunnison Irrigation Company and an 
energetic and enterprising citizen, being much respected 
in the community. He was married in Gunnison Feb- 
ruary IT, 1879, to Annie, daughter of James and Mette 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 445 

S. Larsen, born in Denmark November 1, 1857. They 
have had nine children: Anna L., Leo, Evelyn, Luella and 
Elvina, living; Nephi, Lorana, Lillian and Estella, de- 
ceased. 

BARDSLEY, JOSEPH, farmer, son of Samuel and 
Hannah, was born in Oldham, Lanes, England, Oc- 
tober 10, 1841. His parents were members of the 
Mormon church and he learned the trade of a cot- 
ton spinner. He came to Utah in 1862, crossing the 
plains from Florence, Nebraska, in an ox-train under 
Capt. H. Daynes, and came to Sanpete with church cat- 
tle. He served as a home guard and messenger during 
the Black Hawk war and helped put in the Deseret Tele- 
graph line. Is one of the largest stockholders in the 
Gunnison Irrigation Company and has served as a direc- 
tor. He is a consistent Latter-day Saint and member of 
the Elders' quorum. Was married in the Endowment 
House, Salt Lake City, December 31, 1872, to Alice M., 
daughter of Edward and Margaret Duffin, born October 
1, 1853. They have eight living children: Joseph E., 
Samuel S., Ernest H., Millie A., Mary A., Leo S., Roy D. 
and Jessie. 

BARDSLEY, WILLIAM, farmer, son of Samuel and 
Hannah, was born in Oldham Lanes, England, Au- 
gust 9, 1844. He learned to be a cotton spinner, 
and came to Utah in 1862, crossing the plains by ox team 
in Capt. John Murdoch's company, and located in Gunni- 
son. He took part in the Black Hawk war as a minute- 
man and was in the engagement when Warren Snow was 
wounded. In 1866 he went to the Missouri river in Capt. 
Abner Lowry's company after emigrants. He is a stock- 
holder in the Gunnison Irrigation Company, being a di- 
rector for six years, and was first locator of the Gunni- 
son reservoir. Has a farm of ninety acres and is a re- 
spected and representative citizen. Was married in 
Gunnison by Bishop Kearnes June 8, 1869, to Martha A., 
daughter of Edward nnd Margaret Duffin, born Decem- 
ber 31, 1850. They have nine children: William J., 



446 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Mary, Elizabeth H., Edward, Amber, Violet, Linda, Virse 
and lone. 

BERGLUND, O. B., manager of the Co-op store, son of 
Carl F. and Lucy M., was born in Denmark Novem- 
ber 17, 1858. The family emigrated to Utah in 1864 
and the following year came to Gunnison. O. B. grew up 
here and attended the home district schools, after which 
he took a three-year course in the B. Y. Academy at 
Provo. He taught school in Hoi den from 1882 to 1885 
and in Gunnison in 1886. In the fall of 1891 he was 
elected manager of the Co-op store, in which he is a 
stockholder, and has since filled that position with per- 
fect satisfaction. He is a member of the A. O. U. W. at 
Manti. Owns a 400-acre farm four miles south of town 
and is interested in stockraising. He is an enterprising 
business man, a thorough gentleman and a leading citi- 
zen of the town. 

/QHILDS, H. M., farmer and cattle-raiser, son of Wil- 
V^ Ham and Mary, was born in Brigham City, Utah, 
September 16, 1856. His parents emigrated from 
England and crossed the plains in an ox-train soon after 
the pioneers, locating in Salt Lake City, thence to Brig- 
ham City and Springville and came to Gunnison among 
the first settlers. Later they were called to help settle 
Salina, but were driven out by Indians and returned to 
Gunnison, where they both died. H. M. grew up here 
and for many years was engaged in freighting to the 
mining camps of Utah, and Nevada. He now has 200 
acres of land and a good home in town. Is a part owner 
in the Gunnison Roller Mills and an industrious, hard- 
working citizen. Was married in St. George 1 Temple No- 
vember 23, 1881, to Abigail, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth Gribble, born in Ephraim August 30, 1864. 
They have four children: Lillian, Loa, Clarence and Idel. 

/JJHILDS, LORENZO H., farmer, son of William D. 

V^ and Mary, was born in Kaysville, Utah, May 1, 

1858. His parents came to Utah in 1850, residing in 

Salt Lake City, Brigham City and Springville, and about 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 447 

1861 came to Gunnison, where father died August 19, 
1872; mother February 5, 1897. Lorenzo H. was raised 
here and has been engaged in farming and stockraising. 
For three years he conducted a general store in Centre- 
field. He now has 100 acres of land and is a director in 
the Gunnison Roller Mills Company. Was married in 
Gunnison to Amanda Curtis, who died here. He was 
married again May 7, 1884, to Ida, daughter of Rasmus 
and Inger Jensen, born in Gunnison January 20, 1867. 
Her parents were among the early settlers of Gunnison 
and both died here. She has had five children: Lovel L., 
John G., Leola and Clifford H., living; Luella, deceased. 

/JJHILDS, WILLIAM D., farmer and storekeeper, son 
\ of William and Mary, was born in Salt Lake Citv 
April 22, 1852. His parents came from England in 
1850, crossing the plains by ox team, and located in Salt 
Lake City until 1861, wiien they came to Gunnison. Both 
parents died here and William grew up a farmer. He 
took part in the Black Hawk war as a home guard and 
escort to travelers. He was hunting cattle when the In- 
dians made a raid and stole part of those collected but 
did not see him. Served as a school trustee for four 
terms and has been precinct Constable two terms, now 
holding that office. Is a stockholder in the Gunnison 
Irrigation Company, having served as vice-president and 
a member of the board of directors. He conducts a farm 
and has a general store on the county road south of Gun- 
nison. Is a stockholder in the Co-op store and an enter- 
prising business man. Was married in Gunnison No- 
vember 20, 1876, to Mary A., daughter of John and Mary 
Knighton, born in Pennsylvania July 1, 1856. They have 
nine children: Mary R., John E., Chloe, Hubert, Flor- 
ence, Darral, Zoe, Dorcas and Eldon. 

/J) HRISTENSEN, J [JLIUS H., deceased, son of Herman 
V^ J. and Hannah, was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, 
April 26, 1844. He came to Utah when a boy with 
his parents among the first Scandinavian emigrants. The 
family located in Sanpete county and Julius" resided in 
Manti many years, where his father was a prominent 



448 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

man and accumulated much wealth. He was vice-presi- 
dent of the Manti City Savings Bank and connected with 
all the financial institutioms of that city, loaning money 
in all parts of the county. Julius grew up in the county 
and engaged in farming at Gunnison. He was also 
heavily interested in stockraising and woolgrowing and 
was known everywhere as one of the leading men of this 
section. His investments extended beyond mere local 
affairs, in which he was always interested, to* many of 
the prominent concerns of the county. He had stock in 
the Manti Savings Bank, the Central Utah Wool Com- 
pany and other financial houses. He took an active part 
in the Black Hawk war, being in several engagements, 
including those in Salina Canyon, Grass Valley and else- 
where. His death occurred December 25, 1891. He was 
married in Gunnison October 7, 1865, to Annie, daughter 
of Lars P. and Annie Darling, born in Sweden July 21, 
1844. They had seven children: Rose, wife of A. J. Rob- 
bins; Sarah, Elizabe 
and Julius, deceased. 

/QnRlSTENSP:X, LARS M. C, farmer and freighter, 
V son of Christen and Carrie, was born in Denmark 
July 22, 1847. The family joined the Mormon 
church in 1866 and came to Utah, crossing the plains in 
Abner Lowry's company, and located at Manti. The 
Black Hawk war being then in progress, he had to stand 
guard and do his share of the work in fighting Indians. 
He came to Gunnison in 1870 and has been engaged in 
farming and freighting to the mining camps. Now has 
a forty-acre farm and a comfortable home in town, and 
is an energetic, upright citizen. He was married in Den- 
mark April 22, 1866, to Elsie K. Christensen, born in Den- 
mark February 9, 1847. They have nine living children: 
Christian I., farmer and woolgrower of Gunnison; An- 
drew B., teacher; Joseph A., teacher; Albert H., studying 
law at Ann Arbor; Elsie K., teacher; Emma E., teacher; 
Louis D., Arthur and Elvina. Louis D. volunteered at 
first call for troops, but the complement being filled, was 
sent home. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 449 

gNHRISTENSEN, THEODORE E., farmer, Btockraiser 

\^ and woolgrower of Gunnison, was born in the city 
of Copenhagen, Denmark, December 28, 1845, son 
of Herman J. and Hannah. The family came to Manti in 
1853. The father was a ship carpenter and millwright. 
He, in connection with N. S. Beach, Richard Hall and 
John Crawford, built a sawmill near Manti, which they 
successfully ran for a number of years, when it was 
finally torn down, and not very long after he was em- 
ployed to build a grist mill, now known as the Christof- 
ferson mill, in Manti. He was a very prominent man of 
this county, and was largely interested in the growth 
and development of Manti. Was one of the founders of 
the Manti City Savings Bank, in which he had a large 
interest, and of which he was vice-president at the time 
of his death, which occurred June 26, 1897. He was a 
stockman, woolgrower, farmer, freighter and merchant, 
and was one of the first settlers of Gunnison, in this 
county, where he was engaged in the mercantile business 
for many years, and was one of the largest woolgrowers 
in Sanpete, having and owning as many as 16,000 sheep 
at one time, and was once the heaviest cattle-raiser in 
the county. He was always staunch and true to his 
friends and a liberal donor to charity. Theodore was 
raised on the farm and when a young man the family 
moved to Gunnison, in the southern part of the county. 
He married at the age of 19 in Gunnison Ellen Wasden, 
daughter of Thomas and Alice Wasden, who were among 
the earliest settlers there, and where they recently died. 
Mr. Christensen has seven children, viz. : Edward, Ellen, 
Mary, Albert, Belle, Laura and Newell, and Frank, de- 
ceased. He is quite an extensive stockowner and farmer, 
having 4,500 head of sheep, about 100 head of cattle, and 
has the finest orchard in the county at Christensen, three 
miles east of Gunnison at the mouth of Twelve-Mile 
Creek. In the near vicinity he has 500 acres of land, be- 
sides a nice, comfortable home in Gunnison. Is a large 
stockholder in the Gunnison Irrigation Company, having 
a very large reservoir located on Sanpitch river just 
north of where Six-Mile Creek empties, and is also a 



450 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

stockholder in the Gunnison City and Antelope Valley 
Canal Company, being one of the board of directors. Is 
one of the wealthy and most influential men of the south- 
ern part of the county and is one of the heaviest tax- 
payers, and in all his business career has been upright 
and straightforward and is well liked by the people of 
the county. Was all through the Black Hawk war in all 
the engagements and was the main express rider through 
those troublous times. 

EMBLEY, CHARLES H., farmer, son of Samuel and 
Annie, was born in Springfield, Illinois, January 9, 
1859. He came to Utah w r ith his mother in 1875, 
and in 1879 joined the Mormon church. In 1893 he went 
to New Zealand on a three and a half years' mission and 
was instrumental in gaining a number of converts to 
the church, having baptized thirty-one subjects. He is 
counsellor to Bishop Fjelsted, chairman of the board of 
school trustees and one of the ecclesiastical trustees. Is 
a member of the Y. M. M. I. A., and for a number of years 
was the president He owns a small farm of twenty-two 
and one-half acres and takes good care of it. Is a stock- 
holder in two of the local stores and the Gunnison Irriga- 
tion Company, and a prominent and representative citi- 
zen. Was married in the Endowment House, Salt Lake 
City, October 16, 1879, to Sarah A., daughter of Edward 
and Margaret Duffin, born October 10, 1860. They have 
five children: Dellie D., Margaret A., Charles E., Junius 
S. and Myrtle. 

FJELSTED, BISHOP ANDREW C, farmer and stock- 
raiser, son of Lars P. and Maria, was born in Den- 
mark October 14, 1855. His parents came to Utah 
in 1862, crossing the plains in an ox-train under Bishop 
Madsen, and located in Mt. Pleasant till 1863, when they 
moved to East Gunnison, from which they afterward 
came to the present site of Gunnison. Father died here 
and Andrew grew up to the occupation of farmer and 
stockraiser. He took part in the Black Hawk war as a 
home guard and was present when the treaty of peace 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 451 

was concluded with Black Hawk. In 1895 he went on a 
two years' mission to Denmark and part of the time pre- 
sided over the Aalborg branch. Has always been an 
earnest church worker and Sunday school laborer. Au- 
gust 29, 1897, he was appoined the first bishop of Center- 
field Ward by Apostle A. H. Lund and President Canute 
Peterson. He is a shareholder in the Gunnison Irriga- 
tion Company and served as a director for two terms. He 
owns 120 acres of land and is a prominent farmer and 
stockman and a much-respected citizen. Was married 
in Gunnison March 7, 1877, to Matilda Larsen, who died 
December 6, 1888, leaving four children: Winifred A., 
Alfred L., Richard A. and Sydney J. Was married again 
February 26, 1890, to Mary, daughter of Lars N. C. and 
Mary Myrup, born March 22, 1868. They have three chil- 
dren: Ethel M., Alvin and Gilbert. 

FJELSTED, JAMES P., farmer, mail contractor and 
Justice of the Peace, son of Lars P. and Marianna, 
was born in Denmark August 20, 1850. The family 
joined the Mormon church and in 1862 came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in Bishop Madsen's company. They 
lived near Salt Lake City for a short time, then removed 
to Mt. Pleasant, where James P. attended school taught 
by David Candland. In the spring of 1863 they came to 
Gunnison, where father took up land and was an active 
man in the church till his death, November 13, 1895. 
James P. grew up here, and with his father took up land 
at Willow Creek, where they lived several years, farming 
and stockraising. He sold out there and lived two years 
in Emery county, then located in Gunnison. Was a clerk 
three years and during the past three years has been 
local agent for the Utah Implement Company. Served 
as school trustee for five years. Took an active part in 
the Black Hawk war, and has always been an energetic, 
industrious citizen. In 1894 he took the contract to carry 
the mail from the depot to town and from Gunnison to 
Fayette. In 1897 he took another contract to carry mail 
from Marysvale to Panguitch. Was married in Gunni- 
son October 11, 1875, to Fredrika, daughter of Neils C. 



452 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

and Catherine Tollestrup, born in Denmark. They have 
eight children: Frederick, Jennie L., Loa, Evelyn, Olga, 
Leonard, Elma and Labartlie. 

QARRICK, HAMILTON, M., farmer and stockraiser, 
son of John and Esther, was born in Gallowayshire, 
Scotland, November 29, 1834. He joined the Mor- 
mon church in 1851 and performed a mission of one year 
on the Irish mission before coming to Utah. Learned the 
trade of a boilermaker, and in 1S57 came to Utah, cross- 
ing the plains in an ox-train under Capt. Jesse Martin, 
located for a time in Salt Lake City, then removed to 
Manti, where he remained three years, and came to Gun- 
nison. He built the first house on Gunnison Bench, the 
present site of the town. Took an active part in both the 
Walker and Black Hawk wars as a minuteman and bass 
drummer. He served as poundkeeper of Gunnison for 
several years and was one of three to locate site of the 
cemetery. Was postmaster one term and interested in all 
the public matters of early days. In church matters he 
has always been an earnest worker, serving as a ward 
teacher in the old country under James Fergusson and 
J. D. T. McAllister and in the same capacity in Gunni- 
son under Bishop Kearnes. He is a member of the board 
of directors of the Gunnison Irrigation Company and 
was one of the early directors of the Co-op store. He 
owns sixty acres of land and thirty shares of water and 
is a representative man in public matters, a careful, con- 
servative farmer and a worthy, much-respected citizen. 
Was married in Ephraim December 8, 1857, to Elizabeth, 
daughter of Richard and Phoebe Tilley, born in Liver- 
pool, England, March 9, 1837. They have had nine chil- 
dren: Phoebe, Mary J., John R., Ellen, Esther, Lilly M., 
Mable, living; Hamilton and Alexander, deceased. 

/^LEDHILL, CHARLES, farmer, son of James and 
\J Mary, was born in Lanes, England, May 29, 1838. 
^ He joined the Mormon church and came to Utah in 
1859, crossing the plains in a handcart company under 
Capt. Rolley, and located in Manti one year, when he 
came to Gunnison, he and H. M. Garrick being the first 




BISHOP A. C. FJELD.STED, 

GUNNISON. 




C. A. SWALBERG, 
GUNNISON. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 453 

settlers. He took an active part in the Black Hawk war 
as a home guard and helped to recover the bodies of men 
killed at Gravelly Ford and the wounded in Salina 
Canyon. Was head water-master of town of Gunnison 
for fourteen years and has served as a director in the 
Co-op store and Gunnison Irrigation Company. He took 
a very active part in surveying and constructing the nrst 
dam to divert water to Gunnison, and has always been 
among the foremost men in public matters. Is an earn- 
est church worker and member of the High Priests' 
quorum. Was married at sea, on the sailing ship Tap- 
scott, in 1859, to Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel and Han- 
nah Bardsley, born in England March 20, 1832. She died 
in Gunnison February 9, 1889, leaving four children: 
Mary A., Annie E., Violet, and Charles, who died August 
24, 1S96. Was married again in Manti Temple Septem- 
ber 25, 1S89, to Mary A., daughter of Ardley and Hannah 
Bingley, born July 21, 1856. They have three children: 
James, Hazel and Dora. 

CLEDH1LL, JOHN, retired farmer, was born in Lowes, 
England, October 8, 1830. He was engaged as a 
coal miner and about 1845 became a member of the 
Mormon church. In 1.S73 he came to Utah and located in 
Gunnison, where he has since resided. He engaged in 
farming and has followed that work until the past year, 
when he sold his farm, except a few acres in Centerfield. 
He is a stockholder in the Gunnison Irrigation Company 
and a respected citizen of the town. Was married in 
England December 11, 1854, to Hannah, daughter of 
Henry and Mary Ramsbottom, born November 7, 1832. 
They have two children: Mary and Martha A. 

/* LEDHILL, NEPHI, notary public and conveyancer, 
yj son of James and Mary, was born in Oldham, Lan- 
^ cashire, England, December 13, 1853. The family 
joined the Mormon church and in 1868 came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in an ox-train under Capt. Murdock, 
and located at Provo. Mother died in Provo and father 
came to Gunnison in 1885, where he died February 12, 



454 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1889, aged 82 years. Nephi came to Gunnison in 1870, 
taught school for a. time, then clerked in the Co-op store 
two years. From 1880 to 1886 he worked on the Manti 
Temple and handled most of the cut stone in that build- 
ing. He resided in Fairview two years, where he served 
as City Kecorder in 1892. In 1893 he moved to Gunni- 
son, where he is now engaged as a land agent, notary and 
conveyancer and holds the positions of secretary of the 
Gunnison and Antelope Valley Irrigation Company and 
Town Clerk. He has twenty-seven acres of land adjoin- 
ing town, where he resides. Was married in Fayette to 
Sarah J., daughter of John and Elizabeth Caldwell, born 
in Burlington, Iowa, December 5, 1856. They have eight 
children: Leo N., one of the volunteers under first call 
for troops, in Battery A, U. L. A.; William J., Amelia J., 
Luella, Mary L., Sylvia, George A. and Edna. 

QUEEN, MRS. M. M., teacher in the mission school, a 
native of New Hampshire, was born in Coos county 
April 19, 1837. She received a high school educa- 
tion and attended an academy in Canada two years. 
Taught school and "boarded around" one year, then went 
to New York City in the spring of 1857 and united with 
Dr. Cuyler's church, beginning at once to* do city mission 
work. Her maiden name was Martha M. Merriam, and 
on November 8, 1860, she was married to James F. Green, 
a hardware merchant. She and her husband were then 
teachers in a Sunday school mission. He passed through 
the ups and downs of a financial panic and ill health, and 
died of consumption May 1, 1876, leaving her with two 
children: Alice, who assists her in the mission work, a 
very successful and hard-working teacher, and James W., 
an assayer in San Diego, Gal., and graduate from tne 
School of Mines, Deer Lodge, Mont. She did mission 
work and educated her children. In 1884 she was in- 
duced to come to Utah to prosecute her work, and located 
in Gunnison, where herself and daughter have done ex- 
cellent work. They have carried along an industrial 
school, cooking school and Sunday school. She has prac- 
ticed medicine here for manv vears until 1898, when a 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 455 

regular practitioner came to town. There being no pas- 
tor, she has filled the pulpit for the past twelve years. 
She has built a nice home near the church and is com- 
fortably situated. Both she and her daughter are well 
liked by the people of Gunnison. 

/* BIBBLE, W. H., dealer in general merchandise, son 
I I of William and Elizabeth, was born in Ogden, 
^ Utah, January 24, 1S56. The family removed to 
Ephraim about I860 and in the spring of 18G3 came to 
Gunnison, where father was a farmer and stockraiser, 
and one of the wealthiest men in the town. He was a 
member of the Mormon Battalion and fought all through 
the Mexican war, afterward spending some time in Cali- 
fornia and accumulating some gold. He owned a tan- 
nery in Ephraim and died in Nephi October 14, 1866. W. 
H. grew up here and obtained a very limited common 
school education. He was engaged several years in farm- 
ing and stockraising and then owned an interest in two 
sawmills. In 1892 he sold out his mills and stock and 
bought the present place of business from his father-in- 
law, John Knighton. He carries a general stock of mer- 
chandise, agricultural implements, wagons and hard- 
ware, amounting to about $6,000, and does a business of 
$15,000 a year, employing three assistants. Owns a farm 
of 150 acres and is one of the leading citizens of the 
town. Was married in Gunnison May 28, 1878, to Emma 
J., daughter of John and Mary Knighton, born in Illinois 
April 4, 1861. They have seven children: W 7 illiam, Lor- 
retta, Edna, Belle, Jessie, Marsden and Rulon. 

M ANSEN, JENS, farmer, son of Niels and Johanna, 
f| was born in Sweden May 7, 1840. He came to Utah 
/ in 1864, crossing the plains in an ox-train under 
Capt. Preston, and located in Gunnison. Took an active 
part in the Black Hawk Avar as a minuteman and helped 
build the fort in Salina Canyon. He was one of the com- 
mittee that called on Chief Black Hawk after he signed 
the treaty of peace to inquire about some stolen cattle. 
Served as poundkeeper two years, school trustee three 
i years and as counsellor to Bishop Madsen seven years. 



456 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

He was Sunday school superintendent several years and 
always has been an earnest church worker. He owns a 
sixty-acre farm and is a shareholder in the Gunnison 
Irrigation Company. Was married October 11, 18G8, to 
Ingabor M., daughter of John and Ingor Peterson, born 
in Norway April 3, 1837. She came to this country alone. 
They were married in the Endowment House in Salt 
Lake City and have seven children, only one living. Han- 
nah, their only daughter, is now Mrs. Hannah Jensen, 
mother of the first baby born in Utah State. The boy re- 
ceived a prize of a silver cup offered by the Salt Lake 
Herald for the first baby born in the State. 

JENSEN, PAUL M., farmer, son of Andrew and Mary, 
was born in Denmark August 4, 1838. He was 
raised on a farm, joined the Mormon church in 1867 
and came to Utah the same year, crossing the plains in 
an ox-train under Capt. Wright, and located at Mt. Plea- 
sant. He resided there three years, then moved to Eph- 
raim, where he remained till 1876, when he came to Gun- 
nison and frighted produce to the mining camps for sev- 
eral years. Now has a farm of sixty acres and a nice 
home in town. Is a director in the Gunnison City and 
Antelope Valley Canal Company and one of the repre- 
sentative citizens. He took part in the Black Hawk w r ar, 
doing his share in guarding the homes and property of 
the people. Was married in Denmark in November, 1864, 
to Lena Easmussen. Wife died in Ephraim February 22, 
1868, leaving one son, Andrew, now a resident of Chester. 
He was married again to Sene Johnson. They have 
eleven children: John, Mary, Christian, Parley, Ellen, 
Birdie, Janet, Rebecca, Francis G., Leonard and Peter, 
deceased, was struck by lightning on August 20, 1S98, at 
1:15 p. m. 

KEARNES, AUSTIN, farmer and stockraiser, son of 
Hamilton H. and Charlotte, was born in Bonapart, 
Van Buren county, la., September 2, 1845. His par- 
ents joined the Mormon church in 1850 and came to 
Utah in Capt. Johnson's company and located in Salt 
Lake City, thence to Springville, where father was a 



HISTOKY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 457 

wheelwright. In 1859 Austin and father came to Gunni- 
son, mother having died in Salt Lake City. They located 
in Hog Wallow, two miles southwest of where Gunnison 
now is, and father took up sixty acres of land. He was 
appointed bishop and postmaster. Two years later they 
moved to Gunnison, on the advice of Brigham Young, 
and father took up 100 acres. Father and Austin owned 
three sawmills and manufactured lumber for seventeen 
years. Father was bishop manv years and a prominent 
man in all public enterprises. He took part in the Black 
Hawk war and the Walker war and became an extensive 
stockraiser and woolgrower. He died in Gunnison. 
Austin was associated with his father in various enter- 
prises. He now owns forty acres of land. Is president 
of the town board. Is active in church matters, being 
president of the Sixty-fifth quorum of Seventies, and has 
performed a mission of eighteen months. He was First 
Lieutenant of cavalry in the Black Hawk war, being 
in the Salina Canyon engagement when his brother Wil- 
liam was killed. Was married in Gunnison January 29, 
1865, to Mary, daughter of Andrew and Elizabeth Jor- 
gensen, born in Denmark July 15, 1840. Her parents were 
among the early settlers, coming here in April, 1860. 
She has had eleven children: Austin W., Charlotte E., 
Mary M., Andrew H., John M., missionary- to Texas; 
Francis O., Neils F., Lydia, Elmer E. and Blanche, liv- 
ing; Laura, deceased. 

KEARNES, E. J., agent for A. J. KnolJin, one of the 
most extensive sheep buyers of Kansas City, Oma- 
ha, Chicago and St. Louis, son of Hamilton H. and 
Emma M., was born in Springville, Utah, December 29, 
1858. The family removed to Sanpete county about 1862 
and located in Lower Gunnison, and in about four years 
settled in the present town of Gunnison. Father was a 
prominent cattle-raiser, merchant and bishop for several 
years. He died February 22, 1874. E. J. has always been 
interested in the sheep and cattle business and buying 
and selling. Bought for White & Sons three years, then 
for B. F. Saunders of Salt Lake City. In 1893 he ac- 
cepted his present position and has charge of the West- 



458 HISTORY or SANPETE county. 

era business. He and his father were contractors in con- 
structing the Rio Grande Western railway. He owns a 
nice farm of about 100 acres and a good residence in the 
town, his mother residing with him. Is one of the princi- 
pal stockholders in the Gunnison Co-op store and is in- 
terested in stockraising. Was an officer for some time in 
the Gunnison Irrigation Company and one of the organ- 
izers. Is a member of the Mormon church and the A. 

o. u. w. 

KEARXES, HEXRY A., of Gunnison, is one of the en- 
terprising men of the county, being extensively en- 
gaged in farming, stockraising, buying, shipping, 
etc., son of Hamilton H. and Orilla Kearnes, and was 
born March 24, 1854, in Cedar City, Iron county, Utah. 
His parents were among the early settlers of Gunnison, 
where his father died February 22, 1893, aged 77 years, 
and his mother now resides in Salt Lake City. His father 
was a leading man and influential citizen of the county, 
prominently connected with the Mormon church and was 
a bishop of Gunnison for twenty years. Henry A. was 
raised on the farm and received all the early training 
usual to pioneer life, and when he grew up to manhood 
engaged in merchandising, railroad contracting, etc. Dur- 
ing the construction of the Rio Grande Western Railway 
he was for two years a contractor of the firm of Rob- 
bins' Sons & Kearnes. They did all the grading from 
the State line to Green River, sixty-five miles, and then 
took a $300,000 contract on the Salina branch, which 
they completed, but the road is now abandoned, and dur- 
ing this time they employed from 1,500 to 2,500 men and 
teams. Afterwards he engaged in raising, buying and 
shipping live stock from southern Utah, where he is well 
and favorably known. Mr. Kearnes, with James Rob- 
bins, built the Robbins & Kearnes dam, six miles south 
of Gunnison on the Sevier river and in this vicinity, he 
with the Robbins' Sons own about 3,000 acres of fine 
fanning and hay land. He is also a stockholder in the 
Gunnison City and Antelope Valley company, of which 
he is a director. He is a stockholder in the 
Gunnison Highland Canal Company, ranking among the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 459 

largest enterprises of the kind in the State. Is a mem- 
ber of the A. O. U. W. Married in Gunnison July 7, 1880, 
Miss Ellen M. Robbins, daughter of James and Mary 
(Childs) Bobbins, bom in Salt Lake City. They have had 
five children: Frankie, Ernest B., Orilla M., Melissa, de- 
ceased, and Daisy. Mr. James Robbins and family were 
among the early Utah settlers, arriving here from Eng- 
land about 1857, and was a prominent merchant, and con- 
tractor, resided in Salt Lake City many years and was 
well and favorably known. He became interested in mi- 
ning in the Tintic district and owned the Robbins Eureka 
mine, which was afterwards consolidated with the Cen- 
tennial-Eureka. Mr. Robbins died while on a business 
trip to Denver in 1886. 

KNIGHTON, JOHN M., farmer and stockraiser, son of 
John and Mary, was born in Gunnison September 
28, 1867. His parents joined the Mormon church in 
early days and emigrated to Utah, being among the first 
settlers of Moroni. They were called to help settle Mon- 
roe, but were driven away by Indians and located in 
Gunnison in 1866. Father was a dealer in cattle and for 
many years was engaged in the mercantile business. He 
was superintendent of the Co-op store several years and 
an active man in public matters. He removed to Salina 
in 1888, where he is a leading citizen and merchant. 
John M. was raised here, and was engaged with his 
father in buying cattle. In 1890 he took charge of his 
father's store in Gunnison and managed two years until 
it was sold to W. H. Gribble. He ran a hotel at Juab for 
two years and has since been engaged in handling cattle 
and farming. Has a nice farm of sixty acres and a fine 
stone residence in town. Is an active Democrat and has 
served as chairman of the party in Gunnison. Was mar- 
ried in Juab April 10, 1890, to Mary, daughter of Elmer 
and Mary Taylor. 

CARSEN, ANDREW, farmer, son of Lars and Katrina, 
was born in Sweden December 21, 1842. He joined 
the Mormon church in 1868 and came to Utah in 
1869, located for a time in Ogden, then removed to Gun- 



460 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

nison. He is a very earnest church worker and served 
as a ward teacher for twenty years. Is a member of the 
Seventies 1 quorum and a conscientious worker. He owns 
a nice farm of fifty-five acres, which is under cultivation, 
and seventy-five acres in hay meadow. Is a shareholder 
in the Gunnison Co-op store and the Gunnison Irrigation 
Company. Was married in the Endowment House, Salt 
Lake City, in 1873, to Louisa C. Lundeen, born July 17, 
1845. They have four children: Edith C, Sentie, Emily 
and John A., living; Andrew F. and Carl O., deceased. 

CARSEN, HOX. JOHN, merchant and president of the 
town board, was born in Sweden August 27, 1848. 
He learned the trade of a carpenter, joined the Mor- 
mon church in 1866 and in 1869 the family came to Utah 
and located in Gunnison. Father died the same year of 
their arrival; mother is still living. John followed his 
trade and in the fall of 1869 purchased an interest in a 
sawmill, built that year by H. H. Kearnes. He ran the 
mill several years and in 1886 they built a new and larger 
one. He was a stockholder in the Co-op store, organized 
in 1869, and from 1883 to 1886 was the manager. He has 
always taken an active part in irrigation enterprises, 
being secretary of the Gunnison Irrigation Company six 
years, and a director two years. He took part in the 
Black Hawk war and assisted in building roads, ditches 
and general public enterprises in early days and is now 
one of the prominent, energetic and highly respected men 
of the town. In the fall of 1897 he was elected president 
of the town board, which position he fills with honor. Is 
second counsellor to the bishop and interested in all 
church matters. In 1890 he opened a general store, 
where he buys and sells grain and produce. Was mar- 
ried in Salt Lake City May 29, 1870, to Annie Erickson, 
born in Sweden in June, 1845. They have four children: 
John A., Joseph A., Lillian and Rosalind. 

CARSEX, OLE, farmer and freighter, was born in Den- 
mark, October 6, 1839. He served as coachman for 
the royal family several years. He emigrated to 
Utah in 1863, driving six yoke of cattle, bringing mer- 




LARS C. N. MYRIP, 




SYLVESTER WHITING, 

GUNNISON. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 461 

enandise across the plains, and located in Manti, where 
he engaged in farming. In 1874 he came to Gunnison and 
has been engaged since in freighting to the mining 
camps of Utah and Nevada. He has a farm of 1G0 acres 
and is engaged in farming- and stockraising. Took part 
in the Black Hawk war, standing- guard and doing his 
share. Was married in Denmark Mar 6, I860, to Hani 
Haaken, a native of Sweden, born April 6, 1838. Thev 
have six living children: Maria, Christina, Ole, Caroline, 
-Neils and Joseph. 

CUBLIX, SAMUEL, farmer, son of Samuel and Jo- 
hanna, was born in Mt. Pleasant Julv 11, 1862. His 
parents came to Utah in 1857, crossing the plains 
m handcarts in Capt. Christiansen's company. Thev 
stopped some years in Salt Lake Citv, then removed to 
Sprmgville and returned to Salt Lake Citv, where father 
was a guard around the Temple block, then thev removed 
to Mt, Pleasant and finally to Gunnison in 1863. Father 
was bora in 1816 and died here in 1882. He served as a 
home guard during the Black Hawk war. Mother died 
August 12, 1898, in Gunnison. Samuel was raised here 
and has engaged in farming. He was appointed Town 
Marshal February 10, 1897, which position he now holds 
He served as watermaster for some time. Is a share- 
holder in the Gunnison Irrigation Company and has a 
nice well-tilled farm. Was married in Gunnison Decem- 
ber 14, 1882, to Ingar C, daughter of Peter H. and Carrie 
-Hansen Bogh, born September 16, 1866. They have had 
six children: Edward, Alfred, Hazel, Venuf and Des- 
eret, living; Annie L., deceased. 

CUDVIGSON, FRED E., farmer, son of Ludvig and 
Dorthea, was born in Denmark October 5, 1836. He 
joined the Mormon church and came to Utah in 
1862, crossing the plains in an ox-train under Bishop 
Madsen, and located at Manti until 1865, when he came 
to Gunnison. He took an active part in the Black Hawk 
war, serving as a home guard. In 1883 he went on a two 
years' mission to Denmark and was instrumental in con- 
verting many to the Mormon faith. Has served as a 



462 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

member of the town board for two terms and a school 
trustee three terms. Is a stockholder in the Gunnison 
Irrigation Company and has been one of the directors. 
He is engaged in farming and is one of the energetic, en- 
terprising citizens of the town. Was married in Salt 
Lake City September 23, 1862, to Annie M., daughter of 
Lars N. C. and Maria Myrup, born July 16, 1812, in Den- 
mark and married on the first night of her arrival in Salt 
Lake City. They have six children: Maria, Ludvig, 
Frederica, Orson, Frederick and Stella. 

fY\ ADSEN, ANTHONY, representative of the Consoli- 
I 1 I dated Implement Company, son of Paul and 
* I Christiana, was born in Denmark June 3, 1860. 
The family came to Utah in 1873 and settled in Gunni- 
son, where Anthony grew up and married. After mar- 
riage he located at Ironton, being employed by the 
Utah Forwarding Company for two years. He then re- 
turned to Gunnison and engaged in farming and run- 
ning a threshing machine. In 1801 he took up 320 acres 
of land south of town, where he raises immense crops of 
grain and keeps stock. He was employed in 1889 as local 
agent for the Consolidated Implement Company and in 
189S accepted the position of traveling salesman for 
southern Utah. In 1896 he was elected County Commis- 
sioner on the Republican ticket and served with credit 
to himself and party. He has been school trustee and 
held different local offices and is a much respected busi- 
ness man. Was married in Gunnison October 18, 1882, 
to Sina, daughter of Christian and Karen Christensen, 
born in Denmark June 15, 1S62. They have five sons: 
Ernest, Rov. Delbert, Clarence and Bart. Wife died 
July 21, 1898. 

fT\ ADSEN, BISHOP CHRISTIAN AUGUST, was 
111 hern in Copenhagen, Denmark, July 23, 1822. 
I I lie was raised and educated to the work of farm- 
ing. In 1858 he emigrated to Utah, located in Salt Lake 
City till 1862, when he came to Gunnison. He has per- 
formed two missions of five years in Scandinavia, where 
lie was arrested twice for preaching the Latter-day 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 463 

Saints doctrines, but released without prosecution. Was 
appointed captain of a company of 350 emigrants on his 
return from one mission and managed the transportation 
with credit to himself and honor to the church. He be- 
came a naturalized citizen of the United States in 1865. 
Served as Justice of the Peace in 1S65 and 1SCT; notary 
public in 1871; County Selectman in 1870 and 1876; and 
was a delegate to the Utah convention in 1872. He was 
captain of cavalry in the Utah Militia in 1867 and chief 
of staff of the Third Brigade of Utah Militia in 1870, and 
post commander from 18G7 to 1870, through the Black 
Hawk war. He has an account against the Government 
of over |3,000 for services rendered during the Black 
Hawk war. He served as a member of the Stake High 
Council until ordained bishop in 1876. He is a repre- 
sentative man and leader in the community, always 
working for the building up of the town and county. 

rY\ ADSEN, C. M., traveling representative of the 
Ml Co-op Wagon and Machine Company, son of Paul 
I I and Christiana, was born in Denmark June 3,. 
1860. The family came to Utah in 1873 and located in 
Gunnison, where his parents now reside. Father has 
been town sexton for the past fifteen years. C. M. was 
brought up here and started in farming and stockraising. 
Now has an eighty-acre farm and some cattle. He has 
held numerous local offices and been delegate to Repub 
lican State and county conventions. In 1892 he engaged 
as local agent for the Co-op Wagon and Machine Com- 
pany of Salt Lake City and in 1894 became traveling rep- 
resentative for the southern part of the State. He is a 
successful salesman and an earnest worker in his line. 
Was married in Gunnison November 16, 1881, to Julia 
C, daughter of Lars C. and Mary A. Myrtip, born in Den- 
mark January 9, 1861. They have five children: Julia 
A., Erne, Laura C, Edna M. and Miles M. 

/TV 'KENNA, HENRY, merchant, son of John and 
111 Elizabeth, was born in Monmouthshire, England,. 
* \ November 12, 1842. The family joined the Mor- 
mon church and came to Utah in 1852, crossing the plains. 



464 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

in Bishop Snioot's company, and located in Salt Lake 
City. In 1658 they removed to Pleasant Grove, where 
father died in January, 1851), and in August of that year 
they moved to Manti. Henry came to Gunnison among 
the first settlers. He and Bishop Olsen of Mayneld built 
the first two houses in this town. He took up a small 
farm and helped lay out and build the roads and irrigat- 
ing ditches. In 1864 he removed to Salina, where he re- 
sided until the people had to leave on account of In- 
dians, when he returned to Gunnison. He took an active 
part through the Black Hawk war, being a First Lieu- 
tenant of regulars, and in the engagements in Salina 
Canyon, Gravelly Ford and Grass Valley. In 1872 he re- 
moved to Mt. Pleasant, where he worked at his trade of 
mason. He bought a farm in Mil burn in 1880 and re- 
sided there till 1883, when he removed to Grass Valley, 
where he had a farm and was engaged in stockraising. 
In 1885 he removed to Redmond and was extensively en- 
gaged in stockraising and woolgrowing. He returned to 
Gunnison in June, 181)7, and opened a general store, 
where he is doing a nice business. He is a member of the 
I. O. O. F. Lodge No. 20 at Mt Pleasant, and a well- 
known, prominent citizen and enterprising business man. 
Was married in Salina to Christina Olsen, a native of 
Sweden. They have had ten children: John, Alice, 
Henry, Albert, Thomas P., Charles B., Christena E. and 
Parlen, living; William A. and James E., deceased. 

rO ETCALF, ANTHONY,, farmer, son of John E. and 
I 1 I Mary, was born in Belfast, Ireland, September 5, 
f V 1843. The family came to Etah in 1S53, crossing 
the plains in Claudius Spencer's company. Anthony, 
though a boy of 10 years, walked from the Missouri river 
to Utah. They located for two years in Salt Lake City, 
and then removed to Springville. In the spring of 1866 
they moved to Warm Creek, from which they were run 
out by Indians, and located in Gunnison. Anthony served 
as a Lieutenant in the cavalry during the Black Hawk 
war and .took part in several skirmishes. He was the 
first miller in Warm Creek and had to be guarded by 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 465 

armed men while running the mill to prevent an Indian 
attack. lie served two terms as president of the Town 
Council and declined a third nomination. Has also 
served as Constable two terms. He was elected president 
of the Gunnison Irrigation Company at the time of its 
organization and has served with honor to himself and 
credit to the people, forcing an equal division of the 
waters of Six-Mile Creek. He is a shareholder in the 
Co-op store and was a director for several years. Is a 
member of the quorum of Seventies and a consistent 
churchman. Served as a missionary to New Zealand in 
1884 and was instrumental in gaining three converts to 
the Mormon faith. Was married in Springville in Au- 
gust, 1862, to Sylvia E., daughter of Cyrus and Sylvia 
Sanford, born November 16, 1845. They have ten living 
children: Mary E., Sylvia E., Anthony E., Melissa E., 
Clara E., Emma E., Cyrus W., Arthur V., Ina and 
Jane A. 



fX\ ETCALF, JAMES, JR., postmaster, son of James 
111 and Maria, was born in Gunnison October 12, 
I I 1869. His father was a prominent man in Gun- 
nison for many years, holding numerous offices in the 
gift of the people. He took part in the Black Hawk war 
and all the public enterprises of early days. Was exten- 
sively engaged in farming, stockraising and woolgrowing 
until 1893, when he removed to Salt Lake City, where he 
and family now have a soda water factory, make flavor- 
ing extracts and handle Lithia water. Father and two 
sons, James and Fred L., are interested in the company. 
They do a good business throughout Utah. The family 
also owns a number of sheep and a nice 100-acre farm . 
James, Jr., was raised here and educated in the district 
schools, taking a course in the B. Y. Academy at Provo 
and the Deseret University in Salt Lake City. He was 
appointed postmaster January 1, 1898, and is a young- 
representative citizen of the town. Was married in Sa- 
lina September 5, 1892, to Eliza, daughter of John and 
Mary Knighton, born in Gunnison. 



466 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

rrVETCALF, WILLIAM, farmer, stockraiser and 
111 woolgrower, son of John E. and Mary, was born 
I V in Salt Lake City May 5, 1S55. The family came 
from England about 1853 and resided in Salt Lake till 
185 7, when they moved to Springville, where they lived 
several years. About 1865 father was called to help 
settle Fayette and build a grist mill, which was a small 
burr, the first and only mill in the town. Father was the 
presiding teacher there and was one of the leaders in this 
part of the county in his time. He and Bishop Kearnes 
built the first sawmill in Gunnison, which was completed 
about 1868. Parents both died in Fayette. William 
grew up here and when about 18 engaged in the stock 
business, in which he has been successful. He usually 
has about seventy-five head. During the past fifteen 
years he has been a woolgrower, having about 2,500 
sheep. He now owns 320 acres of land and is extensively 
engaged in farming. He held the office of Constable four 
years, was Town Marshal two years and deputy county 
Sheriff under James Burns. Is a director in the Gunni- 
son Irrigation Company and Mrs. Metcalf is a member 
of the board of school trustees, of which she is secretary. 
He is a well known and generally respected citizen, be- 
ing always ready to engage in ajiy enterprise for the ad- 
vancement of the town. Was married in Salt Lake City 
July 3, 1879, to Emma U., daughter of Neils and Gustava 
A. Capson, born in Virgin City, Kane county, Utah, 
March 17, 1862. Her parents emigrated from Sweden 
and located in Ephraim in 1861, then moved to Virgin 
City, where father died September 19, 1863. Mother came 
to Gunnison in 1864 and still resides here. The children 
of our subject are: William J., Ray B., John E. and 
Emma T. 

mYRUP, LARS C. N., farmer, son of Lars and Maria, 
was born in Denmark March 26, 1845. He joined 
the Mormon church and came to Utah in 1866, crossing 
the plains in an ox-train under Capt. Abner Lowry, and 
located in Salt Lake City for one year. In 1867 he re- 
moved to Manti, where he remained three years and then 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 467 

came to Gunnison. He took an active part in the Black 
Hawk war, serving as a home guard. Took up land and 
now owns 100 acres, being one of the prominent farmers 
of the town. In church matters he is an earnest, con- 
scientious worker, having spent six years as home mis- 
sionary in Denmark previous to coming to Utah. Is a 
shareholder in the Gunnison Reservoir Company, having 
served as president six years and director two years. He 
is an honest, industrious and enterprising man and one 
of the most respected citizens of Gunnison. Was mar- 
ried first in Denmark April 22, 1866, to Mary, daughter 
of Christian and Karen Christensen, born February 11, 
1849. She died in 1882, leaving five children: Mary, 
Lars, Niels, Adolph and Joseph H. He married a second 
time in 1876 and his wife died October 19, 1882, leaving 
three children: Metta M., Josephine and Mena G. Was 
married again February 15, 1877, to Mary A., daughter 
of Soren P. and Annie Peterson, born September 15, 
1858. They have seven living children: Ella O., Annie 
M., Lars Q", Rena M., Stella P., Leah and Levi C. 

ROBERTS, ROBERT C, stockraiser, son of William 
|T and Elizabeth, was born iu North Wales August 
V 25, 1847. He spent some years in making school 
and roofing slates. In 1869 he emigrated to the United 
States, going to California, where he engaged in placer 
mining in Dutch Flat for four years, then in Virginia 
City, Nevada, three years. He lived in Mono county, Cali- 
fornia, for a time, then went to Bellevue, Idaho, where 
he had a butcher shop, and later engaged in mining and 
stockraising. In 1881 he came to Gunnison, where he 
has been a stockraiser. He has 480 acres of land and a 
home in town. He has done the principal work in con- 
structing an irrigating canal from the Sevier river to his 
farm and others in that locality, and is an energetic and 
prominent man. W r as married in Salt Lake City March 
29, 1881, to Elizabeth, daughter of William L."and So- 
phia Christensen, born in Manti December 6, 1857. They 
have had six children: Lillie, Howard and Irwin, living; 
Grififie, Frances and Allen S., deceased. 



468 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

QOPER, JOSEPH B., son of William and Susannah 
IT Smith, was born in Toynton, England, November 

V 2, 1834. Father died when he Avas a small boy, and 
mother joined the Mormon church, and in 1848 came with 
her three children to Utah, crossing the plains in Brig- 
ham Young's company, and located in Salt Lake City. 
Mother removed to Provo, then to Lehi, where she died 
in 1863. Joseph had to work around at anything he 
could do to make a living. He took part in the Walker 
war. In 1876 he came to Gunnison, where he served as 
tithing clerk for several years. He. was appointed post- 
master in 1893 and held the position till January 1, 1898. 
Was married in Lehi February 26, 1857, to Hannah E., 
daughter of Jesse and Lurany Molen, born in Bureau 
county, 111. Her parents were among the early arrivals 
in Utah in 1817. She has nine living children: Joseph 
B., Lurany I., Mary E., Julia A., W T illiam S., Hannah V., 
Jesse W., Jeanette and Howard D. 

QOSENW T ALL, EMIL, blacksmith, son of Erick and 
|T Annie, was born in Sweden October 12, 1870. The 

V family came to Utah in 1879 and located at Gunni- 
son, where father died. Emil grew up here and is a nat- 
ural genius in a mechanical line, experimenting in per- 
petual motion, flying machines, watchmaking and simi- 
lar inventions. In 1895 he built a shop for blacksmith- 
ing and general repairing and is now fully occupied all 
his time. He also runs the local creamery. Was mar- 
ried in Gunnison December 22, 1897, to Camilla, daughter 
of Neils C. and Marv Tollestrup, born in Gunnison Feb- 
ruary 20, 1878. 

50RENSON, HON. NEILS C, farmer and stockraiser, 
son of Andrew and Karen, was born in Aalborg 
Ant, Denmark, February 20, 1850. Father died 
when Neils was 2 years old, leaving mother with three 
sons and four daughters. Mother joined the Mormon 
church and in 1859 brought the family to Utah, crossing 
the plains in Capt. Robert Neslen's company, and located 
in the Tenth Ward of Salt Lake Citv. About 1873 she 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 469 

moved to Levan, where she died February 17, 1880. Neils 
C. grew up in Salt Lake City and at the age of 12 started 
to make his own living. He was a paper carrier for the 
Daily Telegraph, then hauled wood and freighted to the 
mining camps until 1875, when he located in Gunnison. 
He now has a nice farm of 100 acres and is engaged in 
farming and stockraising. Is president of the Gunnison 
Irrigation Company and a leading man in local and 
county affairs. He was elected County Commissioner on 
the first Democratic ticket in 1891 and re-elected to an- 
other term. In the fall of 1896 he was elected a member 
of the State Legislature and was instrumental in passing 
a land bill allowing the State to select land in a body. 
He is an enterprising, self-made man, a thorough Demo- 
crat and a much respected citizen. Was married October 
3, 1875, to Sarah C, daughter of Neils and Gustava A. 
Capson, born in Spanish Fork July 31, 1858. They have 
four children: Yio, a graduate from the B. Y. Academy 
and teacher in Gunnison; Sarah R, Cornelia and 
Neils C. 

5WALBEKG C. A., Sr., blacksmith, machinist, wagon- 
maker and horseshoer, son of Neils and Ann Swal- 
berg, was born in Sweden September 28, 1835. He 
learned the trade of a machinist in the old country, 
joined the Mormon church in 1873 and in 1875 came to 
Utah and located in Gunnison. Now has a fine shop and 
is doing an extensive business in manufacturing and re- 
pairing machinery, horseshoeing and general blacksmith- 
ing. He usually has two assistants and owns his shop 
and residence near by. Is treasurer of the Gunnison 
Irrigation Company and a director in the Antelope Val- 
ley Canal Company. He is an active man in church mat- 
ters and a representative citizen of the town. Was mar- 
ried in Westmoreland, Sweden, November 1, 1864, to 
Caroline Peterson, born December 17, 1841. They have 
had nine children: August, farmer in West View; Au- 
gusta, wife of James Bawlins, Draper; Frederick, on a 
mission to Sweden; Emily, Ernest and Clement, living; 
Helena, Eda and Anna, deceased. 



470 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTS. 

» 

50LLESTRFP, N. C, fanner and mason, son of Chris- 
tian E. and Gertrude, was born in Denmark October 
2:5, 1833. He joined the Mormon church and came 
to Utah in 1861, crossing- the plains by ox-train in Capt. 
John Murdock's company, located two years in Salt Lake 
City and came to Gunnison. Took an active part in the 
Black Hawk war, being Captain of Second Company, and 
was in all the engagements. He has always been an 
active church member, served as a missionary in his na- 
tive land nine years and was a ward teacher in Gunni- 
son several years. He is at present a counsellor to Bishop 
Madsen, a member of the High Priests' quorum- and an 
earnest, conscientious worker. Served as Constable for 
Gunnison precinct for eight years and is now engaged at 
his trade and occupation of mason and farmer. Was 
married in Denmark in 1855 to Caroline Christensen. 
She died in 1867, leaving four children. Was married 
again in 18G9. He is the father of nineteen children, six- 
teen of whom are still living. 

SUFT, JACOB A., fanner and stockraiser, member of 
the Board of County Commissioners, son of Hans 
and Anna Thompson, was born in Denmark March 
4, 1854. His parents were Mormons, mother dying in 
Denmark and father emigrating to Utah with four sons 
in 1863. They crossed the plains in an ox-train w T ith 
Capt. Sanders and settled in Gunnison, the father after- 
ward removing to Monroe, where he died in February, 

1895. He engaged in the Indian wars, assisting in re- 
moving settlers from SaliDa to Gunnison. He owns a 
farm of seventy acres, two miles south of Gunnison; is 
president of the Gunnison Co-op store and vice-president 
of the Gunnison Irrigation Company. In November, 

1896, he was elected a member of the County Commis- 
sioners on the Democratic ticket. Being an active edu- 
cational man, he has served as school trustee one term 
and is chairman of the finance committee in constructing 
a school building near his home. His wife was Mary E., 
daughter of Hamilton H. and Mary F. Kearnes, born in 
Springwille, Utah, September 19, 1859. They have had 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 4J1 

seven children: John TV., Bayard K., and Clyde H., liv- 
ing; Anna V., Alster F., Mida and Hannah, deceased. 

1 I t BITING, SYLVESTER, farmer, son of Sylvester 
\XJ and Elizabeth, was born in Pisgee, Ohio, August 
29, 1848. He came to Utah with his mother in 
1S53, crossing the plains by ox-team, and stopped in Salt 
Lake City two years, thence removed to Ogden, then to 
Payson and Ephraim and finally to Gunnison, where he 
has since resided. He took part in the Black Hawk war 
as a home guard and express rider, and was one of three 
who went with H. H. Kearnes to effect a treaty of peace 
with the Indians. He has always been an active man in 
church and public matters, having served as superinten- 
dent of the Sunday school, assistant ward teacher and 
home missionary and is at present first counsellor to 
Bishop Fjelsted. He is a stockholder in the Gunnison 
Irrigation Company and was one of the directors and 
promoters of that enterprise. Served as head watermas- 
ter for Gunnison one term and is a respected citizen. He 
owns forty acres of land, which is kept in good cultiva- 
tion. Was married in Gunnison November 12, 1874, to 
Hannah, daughter of Jorgen and Hannah Hansen, born 
October 20, 1861. She died November 20, 1886, leaving 
five children: Annie M., Chauncey S., William D., Con- 
rad and Estella M. Was married again in Logan Temple 
August 12, 1887, to Hnldah L., daughter of Peter and 
Annie C. Sanders, born March 2, 1868, iD Denmark. She 
came to Utah alone and now has five children: Lucius 
S., Edwin P., Xellie E., Fred E. and Ellsworth. 



SPRING CITY. 



Spring City is a centrally located municipality, situ- 
ated on ('anal Creek, fifteen miles northeast of Manti. 
This pleasant little country village was settled in the 
spring of '52 by James Allied,* James T. S. Allied and a 
company of fifteen families sent from Salt Lake City to 
strengthen the colonists of Sanpete Valley. The small 
colony proceeded at once to build a fort for protection 
against Indians and began the cultivation of the soil. 
They named the settlement Springtown, which remained 
as the official title, with a later addition of "Little Den- 
mark/' until February 11, 1S70, when it was incorporated 
as a city, and the original name changed to the present 
more significant term. After one season of continued 
trouble from Indian maraudeis, during w T hich the entire 
colony then located at Mt. Pleasant took refuge in their 
fort and shared their hospitalities, the Springtown pio- 
neers were forced to abandon their colony and remove to 
Manti. 

The Indians made their work of devastation com- 
plete on January H, 1834, by burning the fort and all 
dwellings erected by the settlers. After the winter had 
been spent in the Manti fort the Springtown colonists 
began the settlement of Ephraim and abandoned this 
place until '59, when a second attempt w T as made to 
build up the town. The settlement was then called 
"Little Denmark" because of so many Danes being 
in the pioneer company. This attempt was more suc- 
cessful, but the colonists endured many hardships inci- 
dental to cold winters, Indian hostilities and an isolated 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 473 

community. The leaders in this second settlement were 
George Blain, R. N. Allred, Bishop C. G. Larsen and 
others. They erected homes and farmed under many 
difficulties until '66, when the colony was temporarily 
abandoned on account of Indian troubles and resettled 
in the fall. 

By co-operative efforts ditches were constructed, 
church and school buildings erected and other public 
work consummated. The land was divided as in other 
settlements and the stock herded in one town band. The 
Co-op store was the first financial concern, which began 
business on a very small scale in '68, and in '80 be- 
came an incorporated concern, with a capital stock of 
$5,000, divided into shares of §5.00 each, and later in- 
creased to §10,000. The store opened in a small room of 
a dwelling house, but has increased its volume of busi- 
ness, under the wise management of such officials as 
James A. Allred, Robert Blome, John R, Baxter, James 
C. Christensen, Joseph T. Ellis and others, until it now 
does an annual business of over §50,000, carrying a 
selected stock of general merchandise, farm implements 
and machinery and purchasing grain and farm produce. 

The chief occupation of the residents of Spring City 
is agriculture, but many are engaged in stockraising, 
woolgrowing, lumbering and other rural pursuits. Since 
the completion of the Rio Grande Western railroad in 
'90 the city has become a very important commercial 
point for the shipment of grain, wool, stock, lumber and 
other products. The native oolite stone quarries, for 
which the city is noted, have been developed somewhat 
and some of the choicest building stone in Ogden and 
Salt Lake City has been shipped from this place. Xo ex- 
tensive manufacturing industries have been established, 
but the people are contented and happy, having nice 



474 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

homes, beautiful farms and surrounded by the necessi- 
ties and luxuries of life. Water for irrigation purposes 
is obtained from Canal Creek, and many wells are in 
use for domestic purposes. The location is delightful in 
every respect and the inhabitants enjoy the best health of 
any community in Sanpete county. 

The churches have not neglected Spring City, as the 
Latter-day Saints, Presbyterians and Methodists are 
well represented in schools and buildings. The Latter- 
day Saints organized a ward at the beginning of the set- 
tlement and the many associations and societies have 
since been fully organized and are active factors in mak- 
ing of this city the highly moral and educated commun- 
ity it is recognized to be wherever its people are known. 
Hon. James A. Allred is the present bishop, having re- 
mained in that position for many years. He is an old 
pioneer, well liked by his ward and has been honored by 
the election to numerous important civil offices in the 
county, Territory and State. 

About 1SS0 Key. D. J. McMillan purchased some 
property on Main street in this city and began a mission 
school under the direction of the Presbyterian Board of 
Missions. Miss Alice Young opened the first school in 
an old store building and taught one year. She was fol- 
lowed by Misses Lucy Hindman, A. M. Whitehead, Sara 
Sorensen, A. M. Peck and Sadie McClure. They were 
followed by Mrs. C. M. Hastings and the Misses Clemens, 
Fishback and Mary Neilson. The school has been dis- 
continued for the past two years. Occasional preaching 
services have been held by the pastors at Mt. Pleasant 
and many have united with the church. The property is 
still retained for mission purposes and a church building 
may soon be erected on the grounds and a society organ- 
ized. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 475 

The Methodist Episcopal church began missionary 
work in Mt. Pleasant in 1883 and soon after established 
a school in Spring City. The work has been prosecuted 
steadily under the direction of the following teachers: 
Misses Tenie Winters, Anna Telger and Mary Larsen, 
the present instructor being Lena Sinionsen, an estima- 
ble and accomplished lady. A chapel was erected in 
'87 and regular religious services are held by the Mt 
Pleasant pastor. Xo church society has been organized, 
though several persons have become converted to the 
church doctrines. The schools have always been of the 
highest educational character and the teachers among 
the best educated in the county. 

Irrigation has always been an important factor in 
developing Spring City, as the dry climate necessitates 
an artificial water supply. This has come from the 
Canal creek and is abundant for present purposes. The 
Spring City Irrigation Company was incorporated March 
24, 1894, with a capital stock of $3,000, fully paid up by 
the citizens owning land watered by canal, Oak 
creek and one-half of Cedar creek. The Big Hill Reser- 
voir Company was incorporated February 27, 1886, with 
a capitalization of $4,000. This is used to impound water 
-for additional irrigation of fields not supplied from the 
creek and assists materially in supplying the necessary 
water for growing crops. The water is distributed very 
cheaply by the co-operative community plan and but 
little is ever transferred from the original claimants. 

Spring City has liberally patronized public schools,. 
and some of the popular educators of the county have 
been employed here as teachers. In '98 the school 
population numbered 388, and the valuation of school 
property was $1875. Among the many prominent teach- 



476 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Allred, member of the State Senate, who is well and 
favorably known as a capable, competent and earnest 
instructor. In politics Spring City has a history simi- 
lar to that of other settlements in the county. Since the 
organization of the two national parties, the people are 
about equally divided in political sentiment. Several 
prominent members of both parties, residing in this city, 
have filled important State and county positions. Among 
those honored by the election to offices are: Hons. James 
A. Allred, Jacob Johnson, Lauritz Larsen, J. F. Allred, 
A. E. Allred and others. Hon. Lauritz Larsen was one 
of Sanpete county's delegates to the Constitutional con- 
vention. 

The municipal authorities of Spring City are men 
of enterprise, interested in the upbuilding of the city, 
and keeping taxes within the limits of economy. Hon. 
Rasmus Justesen is the present Mayor, and presides over 
the municipal destinies in an able and competent man- 
ner. The precinct officers are E. A. Billington, Consta- 
ble; L. Burdick, Precinct Justice; John R. Baxter, City 
Justice. 

Spring City is represented in the United States 
troops fighting for Cuban independence by Edward Rob- 
inson, who enlisted on the call of the President. Other 
patriotic young men tendered their services, but could 
not pass the medical examination. In the Indian wars 
the pioneer settlers of this little city held many import- 
ant positions, among the number was Col. R. N. Allred, 
who did heroic service in defending the people and 
homes against Indian robbers. The people have always 
assisted in every enterprise for the building up of the 
county, and furnished several missionaries and colonists 
for new fields in the great West and Canada. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF SPRING CITY. 



jQCORD, ABEAM, deceased, son of Zurs and Martha 
r\ Luster, was born in Fremont county, Ohio, March 
-# 22, 1830. His parents removed to Indiana, where 

they died, leaving him an orphan at seven years of age. 
He was raised by his grandmother, who resided in In- 
diana and Iowa. Was married while living in Iowa, 
March 23, 1S55, and in '61 they removed to California, 
in '62 to Nevada and in '64 to Spring City, where they 
joined the Mormon church. He was engaged in fanning 
and was quite an extensive cattle raiser. Was a mem- 
ber of the first City Council, assisted in organizing the 
€o-op store and remained a stockholder till his death. 
Took part in the Black Hawk war, being in several en- 
gagements. Built and operated a sawmill for two years. 
In ? 86 he went to Chihuahua, Mexico, and engaged in 
farming and stockraising. He died March 24, 1895. His 
first wife was Nancy, daughter of Samuel B. and Ke- 
becca Foreman Frost, bora in Hancock county, 111., April 
22, 1S40. They had twelve children: Oliver. Henry L., 
Mary F., Jennie, Elizabeth, Abram F., James E., Nellie 
and Jacob A., living; Frederick S., William and Nora, de- 
ceased. Second wife was Mary M. Robinson. She had 
seven children: Celia, Clara, Hettie, John, Ethel, Hugh 
and Minnie. Third wife was Martha Adams. She had 
seven children: Hyrum, Laura, Alice, Erastus, Liva, 
Abram and Blanche. 

f\ LLRED, A. E., County Assessor, son of Isaac M. and 
Y\ Charlotte Henderson, was bora in Spring City 
' March 3, 1860, being the second boy born in the 
settlement. He was raised here and received a common 
school education. His parents removed to Kaysville 
when he was eight years old, but returned w T hen he was 
eleven. He grew up a farmer and has forty acres in 
Chester, where he resided three years and returned to 



478 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Spring City. While in Chester he was president of the 
Y. M. M. I. A. Is a Democrat and was elected City Mar- 
shal in '84 and County Assessor in '96. Was married in 
Spring City February 20, 1883, to Maria J., daughter of 
Niels H. and Annie Barreson, born in Springville Febru- 
ary 15, 1865. They have five children: Zella B., Vance 
E., Vay A., Jennie V. and Alvin E. 

A LLRED, DAVID H., farmer, son of William and 
H Sarah Warren, was born in Bedford county, Ten- 
/ nessee, August 26, 1825. The family were old 
Southerners and wealthy planters. They joined the Mor- 
mon church in early days, and went through the persecu- 
tions in Missouri and Illinois. Mother died, and in '61 
the family came to Utah in Capt. David H. Cannon's 
company/ David brought his wife and six children, 
reaching Spring City August 27, 1861, and located on 
the lot where he now live®. He bought forty acres and 
now has eighty acres of land. Took part in the Black 
Hawk war. Was a member of the City Council two 
years. Is a member of the quorum of high priests. Was 
married first in Pike county, Illinois, September 21, 1848, 
to Elizabeth R, daughter of Cornelius and Mary Brown, 
born in Scott county, 111., August 19, 1823. They have 
six living children: William H., James P., John W. r 
Mary E., Perry B. and Sarah A. Wife died in Spring 
City" August 29, 1866. Was married again August 30,. 
1868, to Elsie C, daughter of Dietrich and Mary Morten- 
sen, born in Denmark, July 11, 1851. They have eight 
children: Orson C, Huel M., Melvin A., Hardin L., 
Violet. A., Loren B., Jennie D. and Milford L. 

f\ LLRED, ISAAC M., farmer, son of Isaac and Man' 
H Calvert, was born in Monroe county, Mo., January 
/ 22, 1835. The family were among the earliest mem- 
bers of the Mormon church and passed through ail the 
church persecutions in Missouri and Illinois. They came 
to Utah in '49 and located at Big Cottonwood. In '53 
they removed to Kaysville, where Isaax^ was married 
February 11, 1855, to Charlotte, daughter of Samuel and 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 479 

Elizabeth Harris, born in Washington county, Mo., Sep- 
tember 25, 1837. They came to Spring City in '59 with 
one child. He received twenty acres of land and has 
since been engaged in farming. Took an active part in 
the Black Hawk war, being in the skirmishes in Salina 
canyon and at Fish Lake, holding the rank of Lieutenant. 
Served as a member of the City Council two years. They 
have six children: Isaac E., Alvin E., Freeman E., Law- 
rence E., Sheridan E. and Cynthia F. 

[\ LLRED, HON. JAMES A., bishop, son of William and 
r\ Sarah Warren, was born in Bedford county, Tenn., 
/ Nov. 22, 1819. The family were farmers and joined 
the Mormon church in '35, removing in '36 to Kay 
county, Mo., but had to move to Caldwell county on ac- 
count of opposition to Mormons. They had over 600 
acres of land, and in '39 were compelled to remove again 
to Pike county 7 , 111. Father was a prominent man in 
the church and was arrested with James and a brother 
during the persecutions. Father was a bishop, ordained 
bv Hvrum Smith in Pike countv, 111. He died July 28, 
1841/ Mother died May 28, 1858. In '61 James* and 
his wife with one son came to Utah in an independent 
company, under Capt. William McKissick. In '65 he 
came to Spring City and engaged in farming and stock- 
raising 1 . He lost about 100 head of stock during the. 
Black Hawk war, in which he took an active part. 
Served as County Selectman for two years, was the first 
Mayor of Spring City, elected August 1, 1870, and served 
five terms. Resigned to accept the office of Probate 
Judge November 5, 1878, to fill the vacancy caused by 
the death of Judge Peacock. Was re-elected twice. Was 
ordained bishop September 3, 1882, by Apostle John 
Henry Smith. Is president of the Co-op., having held 
the office twenty-five years, since the organization. Was 
married in Pike county, Mo., December 30, 1844, to Eliza- 
beth Parks. She had two children, deceased: Stephen 
H. and William. Second wife was Mary A. Pollard, 
married in Salt Lake City January 6, 1866. She had six 
children: James C, Lola J., Joseph D., Martha A. and 



480 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

•John A., living; Mary O., deceased. Third wife was^ 
Elizabeth A. Brough, married November 14, 1873. She 
has one child: Wilford M. 

A LLRED, HON. JOHN FRANK, principal of the pub- 
r\ li<- scIk Mils, son of John F. L. and Marinda M. 
/ Knapp, was born in Pottawattamie county, Iowa, 

January 1, 1851. Father died in the fall of '50, and in 
the spring of '51 the family, consisting of mother, 
brother Silas L., John F. and grandfather, James, started 
for Utah, crossing the plains in an ox-train, and reaching 
Provo in October, where mother afterward married and 
now resides. John F. was raised in Provo, where he at- 
tended the district schools and the B. Y. Academy, being 
an assistant teacher two terms. In '73 he came to 
Spring City and taught three years, then went to Manti, 
where he taught the high school two winters. Returned 
to the B. Y. Academy and graduated from the normal 
department in '78, and then came to Spring City, where 
he has since taught, thus having been teaching longer 
than any man in the county. He has been principal of 
the schools many years and stake superintendent of the 
Y. M. M. I. A. Was a member of the City Council many 
years, City Recorder two years and City Attorney three 
years. Was elected to the State Senate in 1896. Was 
married November 9, 1874, to Mary K., daughter of S. G. 
and E. K. Bunnell, born in Provo. They have nine liv- 
ing children: Silas L., Ellen M., John F., Samuel 0. r 
Mary, Olive, Armina, Iline and Bessie. Second wife, 
married July 7, 1883, was Sarah E., sister of first wife. 
She has five children: Rozilla M., Coleman, Louisa, 
Matthias and Lorus. 

A LLRED, JAMES T. S., the oldest inhabitant of 
r\ Spring City, son of James and Elizabeth Allred, 
/ was born in Bedford county, Tenn., March 28, 1825. 
The family removed to Monroe county, Mo., in 1830, 
joined the Mormon church in '32, moved to Clay county 
m '35, to Caldwell county in '36 and in '39 were 
driven out with the Mormons to Pittsfield, Pike county, 
111., thence to Nauvoo. Father was one of Joseph Smith's 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 481 

twelve life guards, and after the killing of Joseph and 
Hyruni, went to Carthage and rescued Apostle Taylor, 
who was wounded. James worked on the temple while 
in Nauvoo. On February 7, 1846, father and two brothers 
started west, and on May 20th James followed with three 
brothers, meeting at Pisgah. At Council Bluffs James 
enlisted in the Mormon battalion in company A. They 
went to Santa Fe, from which place he and others re- 
turned to Pueblo on detached service, and in '47 again 
started west under Capt. James Brown, reaching Salt 
Lake City July 29th, where he was discharged. He went 
to making adobes, but was called to help settle Sanpete. 
In May, 1849, he was sent with ten others, by President 
Young, to construct a bridge across the Platte river. 
They ferried teams at |4 each wagon, at the rate of 
seventy per day. He cleared f 1000 and returned to Salt 
Lake City with an outfit of two wagons, four yoke of oxen, 
four cows and a heifer, with all kinds of merchandise 
picked up on the river, having been left by emigrants. 
He brought a good supply of seed w r heat, which was 
taken to Manti in Capt. Isaac Morley's company of 30, 
which reached there in November, 1849. He also took a 
whip-saw and sawed lumber there and in other settle- 
ments. The first winter was severe, and he lost nine head 
of stock and fed most of his seed wheat. On March 22, 
1852, he and father, with their families, came to Spring 
City, being the first on the ground. He brought a log 
house ready to put up, and erected it the first day, cover- 
ing with boards. The company consisted of James, his 
wife and two children, father, his wife and son Andrew 
J., three grandchildren and Charles Whitlock, George 
M. Allred and James F. Allred, with an Indian boy and 
girl he had bought from the Utes. Others came in the 
fall. On July 29, 1853, they lost all their stock and had 
to return to Manti on account of Indians. In October 
they returned to Spring City, but had to leave again De- 
cember 17th. On February 4, 1854, they went to Ephraim 
and helped build the fort. In May, 1855, he was called 
to the Las Vegas Indian mission as an interpreter, and 
remained two years, returning to Ephraim. In '64 was 



482 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

called on an Indian mission to Circle Valley, where he 
built a home and had many improvements, but was 
driven out in June, 1866, and returned to Ephraim. Came 
to Spring City again in July, 1866, built a home, received 
some land, and now has 73 acres. He served as Major 
in the Black Hawk war, and was Captain of minutemen 
in Spring City. Was road supervisor one term, Select- 
man for several years. Was first councillor to first bishop 
of Ephraim and Spring City. Bishop R. M. Allred was 
second counsellor to Bishop C. G. Edwards at Ephraim. 
Was also County and City Surveyor for several years. 
His first wife was Eliza B. Manwaring. She has eight 
living children: Eliza B., Ellen E., Elizabeth D., James 
T. S., Edward F., William H., Brigham Y. and Margaret 
B. Second wife was Margaret Manwaring. She has four 
children: Malinda, Lovina S., Heber K. and Barbara, all 
married. Third wife was Purlina J. Coy. She is the only 
wife living. His progeny now number 120. 

f\ LLRED, ORSON, farmer and stockman, son of Isaac 
r\ and Mary Henderson, was born in Weber county, 
9 Utah, September 22, 1856. The family came to San- 
pete in '58, residing in Ephraim and Mt. Pleasant, and 
in ? 60 located in Spring City. Orson grew up here to 
farm work, and at the age of 18 went to Nevada, where 
he was employed four years as a cowboy. He then started 
in business for himself in a small way; now has about 
100 head of cattle and a 35-acre farm. Is one of the presi- 
dents of the Eightieth quorum of Seventies. Was mar- 
ried in Spring City January 31, 1878, to Lorena, daughter 
of Peter and Annie Sorensen, born in Manti, February 27, 
1859. They have had ten children: Pearl, Lorena E., 
Dorcus, Helen D., Arnold, Hortense, Ophelia and Leland 
S. and an infant, living; Orson A., deceased. 

n LLRED, REUBEN W., farmer, son of Reuben W. and 
r\ Lucy A., was born in Salt Lake City December 9, 
' 1849. Father was a native of Tennessee, mother of 
Kentucky. They were married in Missouri, where they 
joined the Mormon church and passed through all the 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 483 

persecutions in Missouri and Illinois. They came to Utah 
in '49, located for a time in Salt Lake City, then in Ses- 
sions, and in '53 removed to Manti; later came to Spring 
City, where father was the first bishop. The settlement 
. was then known as "Little Denmark." The settlers were 
soon driven out by Indians and returned to Manti. The 
family soon removed to Ephraim, where father was 
bishop five years, and in '61. came again to Spring City. 
Father was president of High Priests' quorum when he 
died October 4, 1896. Mother died December 16, 1884. 
Father took part in the Black Hawk war, being an offi- 
cer. Reuben was raised to farming, and now has 100 
acres of land. Served as a member of the City Council, 
Constable and City Marshal. In '85 he went on a mis- 
sion of twenty-six months to Alabama. Was married in 
Salt Lake City, December 19, 1870, to Clara A., daughter 
of John and Emma Robinson, born in England, April 12, 
1854. They have had twelve children: Drusilla E., War- 
ren, Maud, Herbert, Thomas, Lenora, Zalema, Lee, Louie 
and Royal, living; John B. and Reuben, deceased. 

Q LLRED, COL. REDICK X., son of Isaac and Mary 
r\ Calvert, was born in Bedford county, Tenn., Febru- 
/ ary 21, 1822. The family removed in '29 to Monroe 
county, Mo., where they joined the Mormon church, 
Redick being baptized in '33. In '35 they removed to 
Clay county, and in '36 to Caldwell county, and in '39 to 
Adams county, 111., thence to Nauvoo, where they passed 
through the church persecutions, losing much property 
and suffering many hardships. In '46 they started west, 
and at Council Bluffs he enlisted in the Mormon battalion 
as third sergeant in commissary department, Company 
"A." He left his family in wagons and went to Leaven- 
worth, Kansas, where the troops were equipped and 
marched to Santa Fe under Col. Smith. They then went 
to San Diego under Col. Cook, being 102 days on half 
rations. Here he was appointed quartermaster sergeant 
on non-commissioned staff. They were discharged July 
16, 1847, at Los Angeles. He was selected as captain of 
fifty to return to the States with a pack mule train. They 



484 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

returned to Council Bluffs, and thirteen days before tlieir 
arrival were out of rations, having to subsist on rawhide, 
mule meat and parched corn. In '40 he started for Utah 
as captain of seventy-two wagons, arriving in Salt Lake 
City November 16th, and located in Salt Lake county. 
In '52 he went on a three years' mission to the Sandwich 
islands, and on his return found the family had moved to 
Davis county on account of the depredations of Indians. 
He went as captain of ten to Sweetwater in '56 as a re- 
lief company to bring in the starving handcart company. 
In '58 he removed to Xephi and in '60 came to Spring 
City among the first settlers. Was the first Justice and 
postmaster. Served as Colonel of the First regiment of 
Sanpete military district during the Black Hawk war, 
and was in command at the battle in Salina Canyon. 
AVas a member of the Territorial Legislature one year 
from Davis and four years from Sanpete county. Pre- 
sided as bishop of Chester for ten years, and has always 
been an active churchman. Was married in Nauvoo, 111., 
November 26, 1843, to Lucy Hoyt. She had five children: 
Redick R, Avelia E., Newera, Jennett E. and Henry D. 
Second wife was Amilla J. McFerson. She had five chil- 
dren: Miriam A., Charles R, Pratt D., Lvdia J. and 
Wilford L. 

f\ LLRED, SAMUEL, farmer, son of Isaac and Mary 
M Henderson, was born in Pottowatamie county, la., 
' June 3, 1851. The family were then en route to 
Utah, father being captain of a fifty, and" after arriving 
settled in Kaysville. In '52 father went on a three years' 
mission to England, and in '55 the family removed to 
Slaterville. In '58 they moved to Ephraim, and in '59 to 
Mt. Pleasant, among the first settlers, where father was 
killed May 12, 1859. In March, 1860, they came to Spring 
City, living in a wagon the first summer, mother did 
weaving and sewing, and Samuel and brother herded 
stock. He took part in the Black Hawk war at 14, stand- 
ing guard, and later with saddle and gun; was in several 
skirmishes and did considerable express riding. He has 
always been engaged in farming. Is active in the Y. M. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 485 

M. I. A. and a teacher. Is road supervisor and has held 
other minor offices. Was married in Salt Lake City, Sep- 
tember 19, 1870, to Elizabeth D., daughter of J. T. S. and 
Eliza B. Allred, born in Manti, March 25, 1852. They 
have had ten children: Samuel W., George, Manett, Isaac 
P., Sanford S., Ida J., Wallis and Reid H., living; Wilson 
M., and Geneva D., deceased. 

A NDERSON, CHRISTIAN, farmer, was born in Den- 
H mark, September 27, 1855. His parents were poor, 
/ and when he was six months old he was adopted 
by Jens and Kisty Anderson. They joined the Mormon 
church, and in '63 came to Utah, crossing the plains in 
Capt. Sanderson's company, and located in Mt. Pleasant 
till '68, when thev came to Spring City. The adopted 
father died July 16, 1895, mother May 28, 1894. Christian 
was raised to farm work, and now has 45 acres of land. 
He has been engaged for the past twenty years in cutting 
and threshing grain in this vicinity. Was married in 
Salt Lake City, April 5, 1875, to Jannett A., daughter of 
Col. R. X. and Lucy H. Allred, born in Spring City, Feb- 
ruary 11, I860. Thev have had ten children: Milan R., 
Edith A., Henry C, Lloyd L., Theodore H. and Homer L., 
living; James A., Jessie L., Burnice L. and Annie, de- 
ceased. 

BAXTER, HON. JOHN R., merchant, son of John and 
Jean, was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, February 9, 
1851. He joined the Mormon church in '06, and in 
■68 emigrated to Utah, working on the railroad and what 
he could get to do. In '69 he located in Spring City and 
worked at farming. In '95 he opened his present place of 
business, where he carries a general stock of about $2000, 
and does a good business. He also owns a 60-acre farm, 
and is interested in woolgrowing. Is a stockholder in 
the Co-op. store. Was City Recorder and member of the 
City Council several years, and Mayor in '95-96. In '80 
he went on a two years' mission to Scotland. Was mar- 
ried in Logan November 16, 1887, to Jennet, daughter of 
William and Jessie Jack, born in Leith, Scotland, August 



486 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

4, 1SC1. They have had six children: John R., William, 
Thomas and Jean, living; Jessie and Alma, deceased. 

BECK, SIMON T., farmer and woolgrower, son of Xiels 
R. and Maria Thompson, was born in St. Louis, Mo., 
April 1, 1855. His parents were then on their %vay 
to Zion, and arrived in Salt Lake City in the fall, where 
they resided till '57, when they removed to Manti. In 
'50 they located in Moroni, where father joined the Mor- 
risites, and died in Deer Lodge, Mont, in '88. Mother 
and four children came to Spring City in '63, where 
Simon was raised a farmer. When he was 20 he and 
brother Erastus went to Deer Lodge, Mont., to see their 
father, and he gave them eighteen cows and eighteen 
calves, which they drove home. Erastus Beck then moved 
to southern Utah, where he married Miss Leah Jane 
Young, then returned to Spring City, then moved to 
Chihuahua, Mexico, where he now resides. His wife died 
there August 5, 1808. Simon herded the cows and other 
stock, and gradually worked up into the cattle business. 
In '81 he changed to sheep, and now has 3500 fine me- 
rinos. He owns a farm of 200 acres. Is a stockholder 
and superintendent of the Young Men's Co-op store, is 
a director in the Union Wool and Live Stock Commission 
company. Was a member of the City Council four years, 
and school trustee ten years. Assisted in constructing 
the Manti Temple and worked in it two years. He took 
part in the Black Hawk war, and was at Rocky Ford 
when his stepfather, L. A. Justesen, was killed. Was 
married in Salt Lake City, January 31, 1878, to Sarah A., 
daughter of Charles and Martha Moore- Crawford, born 
in Provo, May 10, 1850. They have nine children: Sarah 
J., Simon W., Martha M., Charles S., Reid, Joseph I., 
Erastus R., Yirgie and Osmer H. 

BEHUXXIX, ISAAC M., son of Isaac and Mary, was 
born in Oswego county, Xew York, September 0, 
1831. His father joined the Mormon church in '33, 
and removed to Khtland, O., the next year. He then 
went to Missouri and thence to Nauvoo, passing through 
all the church persecutions. They crossed the plains in 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 487 

Capt. Milo Anderson's company, reaching Utah in Sep- 
tember, 1849, and located at Provo. In '51 they came 
to Ephrairn, where father was the first settler, and took 
part in the Walker and Black Hawk wars, and was con- 
nected with the early enterprises for building up the 
county. He died at Long Valley, May 10, 1881. Mother 
died in '31. Isaac M. was raised to farm work and 
learned the trade of a blacksmith, working at that for 
about fifteen years. Served as a Captain in the Walker 
and Black Hawk wars. He moved from Ephraim to 
Spring City, thence to Circle Valley and again to Spring 
City. Now has a farm of 120 acres. Was counsellor to 
the" Stake President in Circle Valley. Seiwed as Mayor 
of Spring City one term. He formerly owned a sawmill 
and assisted in building a saw and grist mill at Ephraim. 
Was married March 4, 1855, to Emily Jane, daughter of 
Eleazer and Caroline King, born March 21, 1810. He 
took part in the Elk mountain mission in 1855, his 
brother William being killed. Wife died September 11, 
1890, leaving twelve children: Isaac W., John E., Albert 
M., Emily M., Angeline M., Elsie E., Sarah A., Abigail 
P., David A. and Johnathan. He was married again De- 
cember 5, 1881, to Maranda Wilson, born August 28, 
1816. She had iour children by a former husband: James 
M.. Thomas A. and Wayne M., living; Franklin L., de- 
ceased. 

BENSON, NELS, farmer, son of Nels and Jo- 
r hanna Johansen, was born in Sweden, August 23, 
1816. In '62 he came to Utah with his mother, sis- 
ter and brother, crossing the plains in Capt. Horn's com- 
pany. He was taken by Jens Jensen, and in '63 they 
came to Spring City. In '61 he started for himself, worked 
in mining camps and herded stock. W r as a minuteman 
during the Black Hawk war, and in several engagements. 
In '70 he bought a small farm and now owns fifty acres. 
Was a member of the City Council for several years. 
Went on a two years' mission to Sweden, May 12, 1892. 
Is president of the Y. M. M. I. A.; ward teacher and a 
home missionary. Was married in Salt Lake City, De- 
cember 18, 1870*, to Philinda Kofford, born February 18, 



488 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

1854, at Manti. She had four children: Johanna I., Xels 
E. and John I., living; Fanny P., deceased; and died Oc- 
tober 5, 1889. Second wife was Mary A., daughter of 
James M. and Phoebe Jones Works, born in Manti, Sep- 
tember 22, 1865. They were married in Manti, June 26, 

1890, and have had four children: Merrill: L., Ezel P. and 
Nels M. living; Elden W., deceased. 

BILLIXGTOX, E. A., dealer in agricultural imple- 
ments, son of William G. and Catherine J., was 
born in Kirksville, Mo., December 21, 1855. He was 
raised there on a farm. In '77 the family came to Spring 
City, where they now reside, father being the mail car- 
rier. In '91 he engaged in the mercantile business and 
getting out timber for the railroad company. He sold out 
in the spring of '98 and engaged as agent in Sanpete 
county for the Utah Implement company, handling all 
kinds of agricultural implements, farm machinery, wag- 
ons and buggies, lie owns a 200-acre farm and raises 
stock. Was married first in Spring City, to Elsie Adler, 
who died soon after marriage. Married again, May 26, 

1891, to Adelia, daughter of Lutellus and Sarah Burdick, 
born in Provo, April 5, 1862. She was the widow of Wil- 
liam Conover, by whom she had two cl^ldren: William 
and Albert. In '88 she was appointed postmistress and 
held the position seven years. Her children by last mar- 
riage are: Elsie, Carlisle, Catherine and Ruby. Mr. Bil- 
lington is also Constable. 

BILLIXGTOX, WILLIAM G., mail carrier, son of Eze- 
kiel and Polly A. Billington, was born in Monroe 
county, Mo., December 9, 1830. His parents joined 
the Mormon church in '36, and were in all the persecu- 
te ns up to Far West, losing all they had and having to 
trade 80 acres of land for enough to get away. Father 
died in Adair county, Mo., November 16, 1857. William 
was raised in Missouri to farm wark, and when 12 years 
of age the family removed to Adair county, where he mar- 
ried and lived until he came to Utah in '77. He bought 
a small farm in Spring City and has since resided here. 
Was road supervisor for ten years. In '91 he began carry- 



HISTOKY OF SANPETE' COUNTY. 489 

ing the mail from the railroad to postoffice, a distance of 
about two miles, and is still employed at that work. His 
wife was Catherine J., daughter of Hon. Edward M. O. 
and Elizabeth Morelock, born in Green county, Tenn., No- 
vember 22, 1834. They have had five children, E. A. Bil- 
lington of this city being the only one living. Her father 
was a prominent man in Missouri, represented his district 
in the State Legislature, was Clerk of the County and Cir- 
cuit court, and many years editor of the Kirksville Demo- 
crat. 

BLAIX, JOHN, farmer, sen of John and Isabella, was 
born in Carlisle, Cumberland county, England, 
April 27, 1850. In '63 the family came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in a church train, under Capt. Mur- 
dock, and located in Spring City. John was raised here 
to farming, the family having seven boys, he left 
home and was employed by different parties. He 
secured a small farm and now owns thirty acres 
and a comfortable residence in town. He served 
as a member of the City Council from '86 to '93 
and was again elected in '97, on the Democratic 
ticket. Was head watermaster four years. Was mar- 
ried December 19, 1S70, to Serilda J., daughter of Isaac 
and Julia A. Allred, born in Pike county, Illinois, July 
18, 1853. They have had twelve children: Rosey M., Mary 
F., Clarissa B., Serilda J., Laura E., Jessie L. and Myrtle 
I., living; Julia I., Sarah S., Don C, John X. and Warden 
W., deceased. 

BLAIR, ROBERT, son of John and Isabella Graham, 
was born in Carlisle, Cumberland county, England, 
August 27, 1843. His parents were among the early 
members of the Mormon church. He was employed as a 
railway ticket agent and telegrapher till '62, when he 
and brother George came to Utah, crossing the plains in 
an independent company under Capt. Canfleld, and 
reached Spring City in November. Father died in Eng- 
land, and in '63 mother and seven children came to L'tah. 
Robert worked at various occupations, and finally secured 
a farm of 30 acres and his residence in town. In '77 he 
entered the Co-op. store as a clerk and became manager. 



490 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

January 6, 1894, he went on a mission to England, return- 
ing in February, 189(>, and resumed his work as manager 
of the store till '97, when he retired. He is one of the 
largest stockholders in the Co-op. Served as school trus- 
tee and postmaster for several years. Was married in 
Salt Lake City, October 4, 1S69, to Jane, daughter of John 
and Elizabeth Slack. She died October 15, 1871, leaving 
one son, John S. Second wife, married May 12, 1878, was 
Melissa, daughter of Thomas J. and Lucinda Barney, 
born in Spanish Fork, December 18, 1857. Her mother 
still lives, ased 82 years. They have had seven children, 
Robert H., Raymond, James M., Earl, Cloid and Grover, 
living; Lilian, deceased. 

B ROUGH, GEOKGE W., farmer, stock and sheep- 
raiser, son of George and Elizabeth, was bora in 
Lehi, Utah, February 8, 1854. The family came 
from Yorkshire, England, where they joined the Mormon 
church. They came to Utah in '52, being married while 
crossing the ocean. Crossed the plains in an ox-train r 
reaching Salt Lake City in November, and located at 
Lehi. In '60 they came to Spring City, among the earliest 
settlers, and received ten acres of land. George and 
father took part in the Black Hawk war. Father was 
postmaster fifteen years; tithing clerk sixteen years and 
Justice of the Peace. Mother died here May 2, 1882. 
George was raised to farming, and now owns 153 acres, 
with 1500 head of sheep. In '95 he was elected a member 
of the City Council on the Democratic ticket and re- 
elected in '97. Was married in Salt Lake City, January 
5, 1874, to Elizabeth, daughter of Charles and Martha 
Crawforth, born in Mormon Grove, Mo., June 17, 1855. 
They have eight children: Rosina A., George A., Ray- 
mond G., Charles W., Owen L., Eva D., Vera and Oral. 

BUKDICK, LUTELLUS, M. D., son of Alden and Je- 
rusha, was born in Jamestown, New York, Decem- 
ber 16, 1830. His parents joined the Mormon church 
in '30, the year of its organization, and removed to Han- 
rr.ck county, Illinois, where father died in '45. Father 
was the first man ordained a seventv and in the first 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 491 

quorum. He spent some time in missionary work. Mother 
removed to Nauvoo after father's death, the family being 
well acquainted with Joseph and Hyrum Smith. In '51 
the family came to Utah and located at Kaysville. Mother 
died in Farmingtpn. In '52 Lutellus went to California 
on account of gold excitement, but returned in '53 and 
settled at Lehi. He studied medicine at different times 
after being 1 19, and in '71 came to Spring City, where he 
now has a good practice. Served as City Justice several 
years, and is now Precinct Justice and notary public. 
Has been city physician during the past twelve years. 
Was married in Lehi, January 8, 1854, to Sarah, daughter 
of Moses and Elvira Meacham, born in Mercer county, 
Pa., August 11, 1829. They have eleven living children, 
Juliet, Elvira, Annie, Emma, Adelia, Lutellus, Moses, 
Viola, Flavius, Frank and Thomas. 

/^LAWSON, JAMES, traveling salesman for George 

V A. Lowe Implement Company, son of Clawson and 
\ Ann M. Rasmussen, was born in Denmark, Febru- 
ary, 1853, and came to Utah with his mother and brother 
Chris. They crossed the plains in an ox-train with Capt. 
Murdock, James walking all the way, arriving in Salt 
Lake City in September. 1S62, and located at Moroni. He 
removed to Mt. Pleasant, where he was engaged in team- 
ing. At 17 he went to Pioche, Nevada, engaging in va- 
rious occupations and returned to Spring City, where he 
purchased a farm and has since resided, growing stock 
and freighting. In '91 he entered the employ of George 
A. Lowe and now has charge of the business in Sanpete 
county. He was a member of the City Council two years, 
Justice of the Peace one term, and is a director in the 
Spring City Co-op. store. His wife was Sarah, daughter 
of John and Annie Larsen, among the first settlers of the 
town. They were married in Spring City, January 29, 
1873, and have six children, Hetty G., James C, Sarah 
V., Annie G., Alderman and Alloyd. 
COMMANDER, JAMES, retired farmer, son of Wil- 

V liam and Dorthea, was born in Hull, Yorkshire, 
> England, October 28, 1820. He went to sea when 

14 years of age, and was a seaman 22 years, when he 



492 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

joined the Mormon church, and in "56, with his wife and 
her mother, came to Utah, crossing the plains in the first 
handcart company, under Capt. Edmund Ellsworth. The 
company built their own carts, James and his wife walk- 
ing all the way, she pulling a handcart to Salt Lake City, 
where they arrived in September, and located at Lehi. 
In "60 he removed to Spring City, where he received a 
small farm and has since been engaged in farming. He 
took part in the Black Hawk war. In '64 he went to the 
Missouri river after emigrants. Served as postmaster a 
short time. Was City Treasurer five years. Was mar- 
ried in Hull, England, October 12, 1850, to Mary, daugh- 
ter of William and Alice Brough, born in Yorkshire, Sep- 
tember 14, 1830. 

/^RISP, JAMES W., farmer and stockraiser, son of 
V George and Hannah, was born in Norfolk, England, 
^ August 4, 1851. Mother died there, and in '66 he 
and father came to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. 
Thompson's train, and stopped one year in Spanish Fork. 
In '67 they came to Spring City, where father died Sep- 
tember 5, 1885. James worked at various occupations* 
and freighted produce to the mining camps. He received 
ten acres of land at the time of the division, and now has- 
205 acres, well stocked with sixty head of cattle, and 
good buildings. Is a member of the Mormon church, and 
has held the offices of Justice of the Peace and County 
Coroner. 

DOWXARD, JOSEPH, farmer, son of George and 
Sarah A., was born in Kent county, England, Sep- 
tember 11, 1855. The family joined the Mormon 
church in England, father being a missionary and teacher 
several years. In '62 they came to Utah and located in 
Spring City, where father was a carpenter and painter. 
They removed to Richfield, took up land and built a home, 
but were driven out from there and Richfield and Circle 
Valley and returned to Spring City. Father was a mem- 
ber of the choir and held the office of City Treasurer. In 
'81 the parents removed to Emery county. Joseph is en- 
gaged in farming and has fifty-five acres of land in ad- 




HON". JALOB JOHNSON. 
SPRING CITY. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 493 

dition to a home in town. Was a member of the City 
Council several years. Served as assistant superinten- 
dent of the Sunday-school many years. Is one of the pres- 
idents of the Eightieth quorum of Seventies aud had 
served as ward teacher. Was married in Salt Lake City- 
November 28, 1878, to Annie, daughter of Jens and Mary 
C. Peterson, born in Goshen, Utah, May 4, 1861. Her par- 
ents were among the early settlers of Ephraim and Spring 
City. Father took part in the Black Hawk war and now 
resides in Carbon county. She has five children, Alice M., 
George E., Annie V., Joseph E. and Sarah E. 

DOWNAKD, WILLIAM, wheelwright and carpenter,, 
son of George and Mary E., was born in Spring City 
July 12, 1867. His parents joined the Mormon 
church and emigrated from England in '62, remaining 
for a time in Salt Lake City. They removed to Marysvale, 
where they lost all their property and had to leave on 
account of Indians, and came to Spring City. In '81 father 
moved to Emery county. He served as City Treasurer 
several years while residing here. Mother died here No- 
vember 14, 1897. William was raised here and learned, 
the trade of a wheelwright and carpenter, which he still 
follows, He is a stockholder in the planing mill. Is a 
ward teacher and a worker in the Sunday-school. Was 
appointed a member of the City Council and elected in 
'97 on the Democratic ticket. Was married in Logan, 
August 3, 1887, to Annie G, daughter of Peter N. and 
Bertha M. Dahl, born in Denmark April 7, 1866. They 
have five children, Emma A., Bertha M., Arnold W., Peter 
E. and Arthur. 

r^LLIS, JOSEPH T., son of Joseph and Ann Tickle, was 
£ born in Warrington, Lancashire, England, October 
20, 1828. He learned the trade of carpenter and 
joiner and was a contractor and builder in Manchester, 
where he joined the Mormon church. In '53 he came to 
the United States, stopping one year in St, Louis, Mo., 
and in '54 drove a yoke of oxen across the plains for Wil- 
liams and Hooper, reaching Salt Lake City in November, 
where he followed his trade. In '58 he removed to Eph- 
raim and in '59 came to Spring City with County Surveyor 



494 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Petty and others and assisted in laying out the town. 
He built a house and removed his family here, receiving 
twenty acres of land, where he now has thirty-five acres. 
Took part in the Black Hawk war and held the rank of 
Major. Has served as postmaster, Justice of the Peace, 
member of the City Council, City Assessor and Collector 
and City Attorney. Worked four years on the Manti Tem- 
ple as superintendent of carpenters. Performed a mis- 
sion to England. Is senior president of the Eightieth, 
quorum of Seventies. His first wife was Sarah Major. 
Second wife was Emily Hudson. She has four children, 
Joseph, Caroline S., ^nnadj. and James. Third wife was 
Sena Christensen. She has seven children: Ralph J., 
William P., Ann, Olivia, George, Mary and Ruth. 

ERICKSON, EMIL, manager of the Young Men's 
Co-op, son of Andrew J. and Anna G., was born in 
Sweden September 2, 1858. He came to Utah in 
•63, crossing the plains in an ox-train, and located at 
Fountain Green. In Y>4 he removed to Spring City, where 
father still lives. The family went to Richfield in '05, and 
built a home, but in '68 were compelled to return on ac- 
count of Indians, losing most all they had. Emil en- 
gaged in farming and carpentering till the fall of '89, 
when he and Lewis Olseu opened a general store, which 
was soon incorporated into the Young Men's Co-op, he 
being secretary and a director. In October, 1897, he be- 
came manager. He is also interested in the planing mill 
and opera house. Was a member of the City Council a 
number of years, City Recorder two and a half years, 
and school trustee eight years. In '83 he went on a twen- 
ty-seven months' mission to Sweden and had charge of 
a branch. Was married in Salt Lake City November 20, 
1880, to Anna M., daughter of Christian G. and Maria 
Larsen, born in Spring ( 'ity January 14, 1863. They have 
four children: Edith, Austin E., Junius L. and Evan C. 

FRANTZEN, JOHN, son of Lars and Martha M., was 
born in Norway March 11, 1837. The family joined 
the Mormon church, and in '57 emigrated to Utah, 
crossing the plains in a handcart company. In the com- 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 4 ( J5 

pany were father, mother, sister and her husband, John 
F. F. Darius, and John, who walked and pulled a hand- 
cart the entire distance — 1,300 miles — reaching Salt 
Lake City September 13, 1857. They settled at Lehi and 
in '60 came to Spring City, where parents died. John 
received fifteen acres in the division of land and now own* 
fifty-five. He took part in the Black Hawk war. Was a 
member of the first City Council and Justice of the Peace 
two years. In '73 he went on a mission to Copenhagen, 
where he was a bookkeeper. In '61 went to the river 
after emigrants. Is first counsellor to the bishop, having 
been in that position fifteen years. Is a stockholder in 
the Co-op store and tithing clerk. Was married in 
Spring City September 21, 1861, to Mary A., daughter of 
Adolph and Inger M. Borsen Hansen, born in Norway 
December 31, 1836. She had one child, Mary A. Second 
wife, married March 31, 1873, was Elvilda M. Arnesen. 
She has six children: Clara M., Elenora M., Joseph A., 
Nellie A., Euth V. and John L. 

M ANSEN, ANTHON M., teacher of the fifth grade in 
J| the district schools, son of Hans M. and Bertha, 
' was born in Christiania, Norway, November 6, 1871 . 
He came to Utah with his mother in '81 and located in 
Spring City. Attended the schools of Ephraim and 
Manti and was for a time in the L. D. S. College at Salt 
Lake City. Worked in Z. C. M. I. one year and returned 
to Spring City. In September, 1897, he began teaching in 
the public schools. Is an active man in the Y. M. M. I. 
A. Was married in Spring City December 20, 1893, to 
Mary A., daughter of John and Mary A. Frantzen, born 
in Spring City September 18, 1864. 

II ANSEN, HEMMING, farmer, son of Hans J. and 
j| Annie C, was born in Denmark March 25, 1818. 
' The family joined the Mormon church and came to 
Utah in '59, crossing the plains in Capt. Neslin's com- 
pany, and located in Ephraim till '60, when they re- 
moved to Spring City. Both parents died here. Hem- 
ming remained in Salt Lake county till '61, when he 



496 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

came to Spring City, where he grew up a farmer, and now 
owns 130 acres of land. In '85 he went on a two years' 
mission to Denmark, where he had charge of the island 
branch. He took part in the Black Hawk war as a min- 
uteman. Was married in Spring City November 7, 1870, 
to Annie M. Olsen, born in Denmark March 4, 1852. They 
have had eleven children: Hemming E., Peter A., Elnora 
M., Orson P., Joseph F., Hyrum L., Henry M., Orlan L. 
and Stephen L., living; Hansina and Parley A., deceased. 

II YDE, CHARLES A., stockman and horseraiser, son 
j| of Orson and Annie E., was born in Salt Lake City 
/ May 13, 1858. The family removed to Sanpete 
county when he was a boy, locating at Manti, and then 
removing to Spring City. His father was a well-known 
man, having seiwed as president of the Sanpete Stake and 
later as an Apostle, which position he held at the time 
of his death in this city. Charles A. grew up in Spring 
City, and when quite a young man started out for him- 
self in the cattle business. He gradually accumulated 
stock and horses until now he is extensively interested 
and is a prominent citizen, well and favorably known in 
the city and county. He is also interested in mining. 
Was married in Salt Lake City August 17, 1881, to Sarah 
E., daughter of Rasmus and Sarah A. Justesen, born ; .n 
Moroni January 18, 1802. They have three children: 
Grace M., Maud and Barney H. 

JOHXSON, HON JACOB, Judge of the Seventh Judi- 
cial District of L'tah. Holds court in Manti, San- 
pete county; Price, Carbon county; Castle Dale, 
Emeiy county; Moab, Grand county, and Monticello, in 
San Juan county — the largest circuit in the State. Born 
near the city of Aalborg, Denmark, November 1, 1847. 
Is a son of Jens C. and Mary. His father died when our 
subject was an infant, and he came with his mother to 
L'tah in "54. located in Ogden, remaining tnere until 
'63, thence to Sacramento, Cal., where he studied law 
under N. Green Curtis, thence to Carson City, New, in 
■09: to White Pine in '70, and also at Elko. In these 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 497 

places he was engaged in mining. Was Deputy Sheriff 
of Elko county eighteen months. In '72 returned to 
Utah and located in Spring City, where he has since re- 
sided. Opened a law office there and practiced his pro- 
fession. Was City Attorney for Fairview, Mt Pleasant, 
Moroni, Fountain Green, Ephraim, Gunnison and Spring' 
City, all at the same time for a number of years. Was 
notary public several years and County Attorney of San- 
pete county one and a half terms, resigned to accept the 
Judgeship in '95. Was appointed Probate Judge of 
Sanpete by President Harrison and also by President 
Cleveland; resigned to accept the nomination to the Ter- 
ritorial Legislature, to which he was elected, and served 
winter of '93-94. His Judgeship began January 6, 1896. 
He was a leader in the Liberal party, and when the divi- 
sion came on party lines he affiliated with the Republi- 
cans, and in each campaign, although his partv was in 
the minority, yet he ran ahead of his ticket. He was i 
S. Commissioner about ten years, appointed in '80. Was 
Assistant U. S. District. Attorney under Hon. Philip T. 
Van Zile. Also held the same position under Hon. Charles 
S. Varian. Is popular, especially in Grand and San Juan 
counties, where he has been instrumental in quelling 
lawlessness and crime; the people are well pleased. Is 
a charter member of the A. O. U. W. and first Master 
Workman of Mt. Pleasant Lodge Xo. 22; also charter 
member of I. O. O. F. of Mt. Pleasant Lodge No. 20; also 
charter member of Damascus Lodge A. F. and A. M., Mt. 
Pleasant. Was one of the incorporators of the Mt. feas- 
ant Commercial and Savings Bank and was its vice- 
president until he was elected Judge, when he resigned. 
He owns the controlling interest in the Young Men's Co- 
operative Mercantile Companv. Was a promoter and 
spent |20,000 in the Horseshoe Canal Company. He c m- 
structed a ditch on the east side of Horseshoe mountain 
and drove a tunnel through the mountain and brought 
water into Sanpete Valley which otherwise would have 
gone into Green river; this water is supposed to irrigate 
3,000 to 4,000 acres of land. He married in Spring City 
October, 1873, Margaret Anderson. She had tW chil- 



498 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

dren: Morgan and Arthur, and died 1884. He again 
married December 15, 1885, Matilda Justesen, whose 
father was killed by the Indians between Salina and 
Richfield April 4, 1868; he was with a company of set- 
tlers under Frederick ( Hsen, who were moving south to 
re-establish one of the abandoned settlements. By this 
marriage were five children: Ada, Dora, Fergus, Dono- 
van and Lola. The Judge has always been a hard worker 
in the cause of justice and law, and in his position on the 
bench has often been called upon to administer punish- 
ment to polygamous offenders, but has always seasoned 
justice with mercy and was never vindictive, thereby 
making many friends among the people whom duty 
called him to judge, and his great majority at the polls 
when running for the Judgeship shows the esteem in 
which he was held, for when the light of liberty dawned 
upon Utah, all old animosities, if any existed, vanished 
away, and many who were partisan and of the other 
party voted for him cheerfully, for they recognized his 
great ability as a jurist. He has a fine comfortable home, 
one of the best in Spring City or surrounding settlemeuts, 
and is loyal to the people and to his country — the country 
of his adopted choice. 

JUSTESEN, JOHN P., manager of the Spring City 
Co-op, son of Rasmus and Sarah A., was born 
in Spring City October 18, 1871. He was raised in 
Spring City, attended the district schools and the L. f>. 
S. Seminary of Mt. Pleasant. Engaged hi woolgrowing 
and on February 14, 1898, was appointed by the board of 
directors as manager of the Co-op. He owns eighty acres 
of land and residence in town and continues in the sheep 
business. Was married in Spring City November 13, 
1895, to Lola, daughter of Bishop James A. and Mary A. 
Allred, born in Spring City January 6, 1874. They have 
one child: Cleo, born August 9, 1896. 

JUSTESEN, JOSEPH A., farmer and woolgrower, son 
of Rasmus and Sarah A., was born in Spring Oity 
October 5, 1868. He was raised here to the occupa- 
tion of a farmer and herded, his father's sheep a number 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 499 

of years. In '90 he began business for himself, taking 
others' sheep on shares. He owns 1(50 aires of land and 
is also engaged in farming. Was a member of the City- 
Council in '96 and ? 97. Was married in Manti December 
28, 1892, to Genera, daughter of Orson and Ann E. Hyde, 
born in Spring City, January 2, 1871. They have three 
children, Lois I., Lavinia G. and Tarza P. 

JUSTESEN, HON. RASMUS, Mayor, son of Lara A. 
and Caroline, was born on the island of Falster, 
Denmark, January 7, 1812. The family joined the 
Mcrmon church in '52 and emigrated to Utah, crossing 
the plains in Capt. John Fosgren's company, reaching 
Spring City October 10, 1853. They moved to Manti in 
December on account of Indians, and the following spring- 
went to Ephraim and assisted in building the fort and 
constructed a two-room adobe house. In '59 they removed 
tc Moroni, and in '62 came to Spring City. Father was 
■< n active man in church affairs. Father also was Bishop 
Kofford's counsellor at Ephraim for several years; also 
counsellor to Bishop Bradley at Moroni for three years. 
He was killed by Indians at Rocky Ford, on the Sevier 
river, dying April 5, 1868. Rasmus took an active part 
in the Black Hawk war, being Captain of a company and 
promoted to Adjutant. Was in the engagement in Sa- 
lina canyon and other skirmishes. He bought a small 
farm and now has fifty acres. Was a member of the City 
Council four years and Maror one year. Was again 
elected Mayor in ? 97, which he now holds. Was a bishop's 
counsellor for several years. Was married in Moroni 
November 22. 1860, to Sarah A., daughter of Joseph and 
Ellen Shepherd, born in Yorkshire, England, September 
4, 1842. They have nine children.: Sarah E., Rasmus O., 
Joseph A., John F., Orson O., Charles R., Osman, Edith 
V. and Benjamin R. Second wife was Annie Larsen. She 
had five children, Ruth, Clara, Ernest, Nettie and Leah. 

I AMBERT, JOHN T., retired farmer, son of Thomas 
I and Elizabeth, was born in Norfolk county, Eng- 
\ land, March 15, 1822. He was raised a farmer, 
and fifty years ago joined the Mormon church. In '54 



500 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

he came to Utah in Ca.pt. Richards' company and settled 
in Salt Lake City. Several years later he removed to' 
Rush valley, thence to Xephi, and in '70 came to Spring 
City, where he bought a farm and engaged in farming 
until '9S. when he sold out and retired. He took part in 
the Black Hawk war, serving* as Adjutant, and was in 
several skirmishes. Served as a member of the City Coun- 
cil four years. He has been married four times, the first 
being in England. First wife was Faith Wright. Second 
<»ne was Ann Howard, who had one child, Georgiana. 
Third was Emilv Rushniore. Fourth was Marv R. Peter- 



I ARSEX, H. E., farmer and member of the City Coun- 
I cil, son of Soren and Maria Jensen, was born in 
\> Ephraim January 21, 1S56. His parents came from 
Denmark in '55, married on board ship, and located in 
Ephraim. In '60 they came to Spring City, w T here father 
died August 29, 1891. Mother is still living. H. E. was 
raised here and has worked in the canyons and at farm- 
ing twenty-four years. He has a farm of sixty -two acres. 
He took part in the Black Hawk war, doing guard duty. 
In '81 was appointed a member of the City Council and 
has held the office since, except for tw r o years, being most 
of the time chairman of the Committee on Public Im- 
provements and on Irrigation. Has always taken an ac- 
tive part in public matters and has held office longer 
than any other man in the town. Was married in Spring 
City January 1, 1888, to Elizabeth, daugjiter of Hans C. 
and Anna M. Jensen Davidson, born in Pleasant Grove, 
Utah, August 21, 1859. Her father was one of the old 
settlers and one of the early printers of the county. She 
has six children, Silver S., Rose S., Sarah Z., Prude S., 
Alligee M. and Neva C. 

I ARSEX, LARS, farmer, son of Lars and Mary A., was 
I born in Denmark September 17, 1852. He came to 
^» Utah in '80 and to Spring City in '81 and worked 
several years in the tithing yard. Was married May 31, 
1890, to Petroa, daughter of Peter Monsen, who came to 
Spring City in 'HO among the first settlers. He took part 




COL. REDICK N. ALLRED, 
SPRING CITY. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 501 

in the Black Hawk war, was engaged in farming and died 
here April 7, 1889, leaving a wife, who still lives, and 
daughter Petrea, born March 26, 1861, now the wife of 
Lars. They have three children, Mons P., Bergetta E. 
and Mary G. 

/TV ORTENSBN, MABENUS, carpenter, son of Knud 
III and_ Elsie M., was born in Denmark August 16, 
* * 1857. Father was a horn-spoon maker. The fam- 
ily joined the Mormon church in '51 and came to Utah 
in '63, crossing the plains in Capt. Sanders' train, and 
located that year in Spring City. Soon after they re- 
moved to Monroe, Sevier county ,' to help strengthen the 
settlement. They assisted in building a fort, erected a 
log house and had a small farm, but had to leave on ac- 
count of Indians. They returned to Spring Citv, where 
father died November 19, 1884. Mother died February 26, 
1897. Marenus was raised to farming and picked up the 
carpenter trade. He makes and paints all the coffins used 
in Spring City, besides being a regular tradesman at car- 
pentering and painting. Was married in Salt Lake Citv 
November 20, 1879, to Maria, daughter of Mons and Maria 
Matson, born in Sweden July 20, 1856. Thev have had 
ten children, Joseph, Wilford, Neve, Harold,' Evan and 
Olive, living; Nephi, Mabel, Olga and Emil O., deceased. 

M IELSEN, HANS, farmer and president of the Young 
l)| Men's Co-op., son of Jacob and Ellen, was born in 
I Denmark November 30, 1850. The family joined 
the Mormon church about '67, and in '68 came to L'tah, 
crossing the plains in an ox-train. Hans walked all the 
way. Two children died on the road, and when they ar- 
rived the family located at Spanish Fork, but in '71 came 
to Spring City, where they still reside. Hans came here 
in '80, bought a small farm and now has forty acres. 
When the Young Men's Co-op. store was incorporated he 
became one of the largest stockholders and a director. In 
'93 he was elected president and has since held the posi- 
tion. Served as City Assessor and Collector four years 
and a member of the City Council two vears. W T as mar- 
ried in Spring City April 'l2, 1880, to Hannah C. Christen- 



502 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

sen, a native of Denmark, born March 21, 1861. They 
have had seven children, Alfred, Jane E. and Emil, living; 
Hannah E., Albert, Oliver and Arlin, deceased. 

lyf IELSEN, MADS, fanner, son of Rasmus and Diantha, 
\\ was born in Denmark May 23, 1S12. His parents 
I joined the Mormon church in '53, and in December 
of that year started for Utah, with four children, one 
dying on the road. They crossed the plains in Capt. Ol- 
son's ox-train and reached Ephraim in October, 1851, 
where they helped build the fort. Father died there in 
June, 1861. In '65 the family was called to assist in 
settling Circle Valley, where they took up land, built a 
home and took part in the Black Hawk war. Mads was 
married there October 22, 1866, to Ellen A., daughter of 
J. T. 8. and Eliza B. Allied, born in Manti January 13, 
1850. In the fall of '66 they went to Salt Lake City for 
provisions, and on their return when within three miles 
of home were attacked by Indians. The wife retreated 
to a bog, where she stood in water to her neck while he 
warded off the Indians with an old revolver. They killed 
one horse, took the other, destroyed their provisions and 
allowed him and wife to escape. She had dreamed the 
entire occurrence two nights previous. In '67 they were 
compelled to return on account of Indians and again lo- 
cated in Ephraim, where they resided till '72, when they 
came to Spring City. He has followed farming and now 
owns 192 acres of land. In '90 he went on a two years' 
mission to the island* of Bornholm, Denmark, where he 
had charge of a branch. Was a member of the City Coun- 
cil a short time. They have had eight children, James 
R\, Eunice D., Mary J., Joseph M., Jedediah G. and Mabel 
living; Ellen E. and Orrin M., deceased. 

OLSEN, MARTIN, fanner and carpenter, son of John 
and Karen, was born in Norway November 17, 1833. 
He became a seaman at the age of 18 and followed 
it nine years. In October, 1862, he joined the Mormon 
church, and in '63 came to Utah, living in Cache county 
and other places till '71, when he came to Spring City. 
He learned the trade of a carpenter and has followed 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 503 

that and farming; has a nice small farm and brick resi- 
dence in town. Was first married in Florence, Mo., to 
Christina Esterlin. They crossed the plains in an 'ox- 
train with Capt Murdock. Their children are" Hyrum, 
Charles, Henry, Lorenzo, Emma and Rosetta, Second 
wife was Christina Christensen, married in Levan. She 
has three children, John, Nora and Andrew. 

PETERSEN, HON. OLE, son of Iver and Ane M., was 
born in Denmark July 6, 1849. The family joined 
the Mormon church in '53 and came to Utah, father, 
mother, Ole and a brother crossing the plains in Capt. 
Olsen's company and located in Ephraim in '54. They 
helped build the large fort and lived inside it for several 
years. Father was a well-known cooper. In '64 they 
were called to Circle Valley, where they took up land 
and built a home. Father and another man built 
a windmill and were grinding grain when the In- 
dians drove all the people away and they returned to 
Ephraim. In '73 they removed to Spring Citv, where 
father died January 10, 1890. Mother died August 26, 
1873. Ole learned the trade of a millwright-carpenter 
and has put up many of the houses of Spring Citv. In 
'91 he built the Spring City planing mill, of which he is 
manager, furnishing all kinds of building materials. He 
was appointed a member of the City Council in '91, to fill 
a vacancy, and in '92 was elected' Mayor on the Demo- 
cratic ticket, being re-elected in '95. He took part in the 
Black Hawk war, and is a representative citizen. Was 
married in Spring City May 7, 1880, to Ida Neilson. Thev 
have four children, Dora O., Christian E., Gertrude and 
Viola. 

P>OBINSON, JOHN, farmer, son of John and Mary Sor- 
1 A rel, was born in Birmingham, England, May 4,^1850. 
His parents joined the Mormon church in the '30's, 
being among the early members. Father was a gun- 
smith and emigrated to the United States, living in Nau- 
voo when Joseph Smith was killed. When the Mormons 
were notified to leave his wife had to be carried and put 
in a boat and moved to St. Louis, where she died. Father 



504 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

returned to England and married again. She soon died, 
leaving John as their only child. He married again, 
and in '50 came to Salt Lake City, thence to Springville, 
and to Manti about '59, and in 'til to Spring City, where 
they received some land and father died in '84. He was 
the first superintendent of the Sunday-school and was 
kept busy during the Black Hawk war repairing old guns. 
John grew up here; took part in the Black Hawk war 
and was engaged in canyon work and freighting to the 
mining camps. He now owns a twenty-five-acre farm. 
Was married in Salt Lake City December 11, 1871, to 
Matilda, da lighter of Isaac and Matilda Allied, born in 
Salt Lake county May 12, 1853. Wife died August 21, 
1889, leaving four children, Edward I, Samuel W., Wil- 
liam A. ami Sarah E. Married again August 7, 1894, to 
Mary Schofield nee Peterson. They have two children, 
nazel and an infant. She has two sons by former mar- 
riage, James W. and Henry S. 

SCHOFIELD, JOHN, farmer, son of William and Han- 
nah Gregson, was born in Yorkshire, England, De- 
cember 24, 1830. He worked in a cotton factory as 
a spinner. Joined the Mormon church with the family 
in '41 and in '59 came to Utah with his wife, crossing the 
plains in a handcart company under Capt. George Kow- 
ley. He and his wife, with brother Thomas, pulled a 
cart from Florence, Neb.; had to live on half rations latter 
part of trip and were met by a relief expedition and 
brought to Salt Lake City September 14, 1859. In '61 
he came to Spring City and helped build* the fort. He 
received ten acres of land and now owns sixty acres. Took 
part in the Black Hawk war. Served as a member of the 
City Council five years. Was assistant superintendent 
of the Sunday-school ten years and leader of the choir 
twenty-four years. Was married in England in '53 to 
Mary Broadbent, born in Oldham, England, April 6, 1828. 
They have three children, Joseph G., John and Emma 
Married again May 18, 1874, to Josephine Peterson, born 
in Salt Lake City September 1G, 1857. She died October 
17, 1890, leaving five children, Mary J., Ann E., Eliza- 
beth, W T ilford W. and Hyrum M. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 505 

SORENSON, SOREN P., farmer, son of Pefter and An- 
nie Simmonson, was born in Denmark November 
27, 1840. The family joined the Mormon church in 
'53, came to Utah in '54, crossing the plains in Oapt. 01- 
sen's ox-train and settled in Manti, where they assisted 
in building the fort. Here Soren had to shoulder a gun 
and help guard the town, though only a boy of 15 years. 
In '59 they removed to Moroni, helping start the town,, 
and in '62 to Mt. Pleasant. In February, 1864, he, with 
five others, were sent to survey and lay out the town of 
Salina, and in March the family moved there, taking up 
land and building homes, but in '66 were driven out by 
Indians, losing most all their stock. He was in the Sa- 
lina Canyon engagement during the Black Hawk war. 
The family came to Spring City from Salina, where he 
received twenty acres of land and now T owns fifty acres. 
He freighted produce to the mining camps several years. 
In '61 he went to the Missouri river after emigrants. Was 
a member of the City Council nine years. Father died in 
Spring City in '87. Mother is still living. Soren was 
married in' Salina February 21, 1865, to Agnes Hutchin- 
son. They have nine children, Peter, David, Mary E., 
Amelia, Rosella, William H., Archie R., Void L. and 
Urn A. 



STODDARD, CALEB, farmer and gardener, son of 
William and Margaret, was born in Carlisle, Cum- 
berland county, England, July 22, 1837. He learned 
the trade of a weaver. Joined the Mormon church in '55, 
and in '56 the family of seven came to Utah. They fitted 
up in Iowa City with the first handcart company, about 
fifty carts and four wagons started across the plains. They 
had half rations a part of the way, father said he could 
eat all the allowance for the family. A relief expedition 
met them and they reached Salt Lake City in September, 
settled in Lehi, where they lived till '60, when they came 
to Spring City among the early settlers. Father was a 
good, reliable citizen and died here in September, 1892. 
Mother died August 9. 1882. Caleb received a small farm 
in the land division and has followed farming. He took 



506 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

part in the Black Hawk war, and in '68 went to the Mis- 
souri river after emigrants. 

STRATE, O. II., farmer and agent of P. V. Coal com- 
pany, son of J. H. A. and Mete M., was born in Den- 
mark Mar 15), 1860. His father was a German. The 
family joined the Mormon church, came to Utah in '73 
and located in Spring City in '74. Father was engaged 
in the manufacture of brick for several years, then be- 
came a farmer. Parents both died here. C. H. was 
brought up to fanning and now owns 140 acres. In '92 
he became agent for the Pleasant Valley Coal company, 
which position he now holds. Is also engaged in buying 
and shipping grain. Was married in Spring City Octo- 
ber 25, 1883, to Mary F., daughter of Abram and Nancy 
Acord, born in Galena, New, June 3, 1863. They have 
had seven children, Marsha, Abram, Edith, Frederick C, 
Sarah E. and Clara V. living; Henry, deceased. 

STRATE, RASMUS, fanner, son of John H. A. and 
Mete M., was born in Denmark July 14, 1857. His 
parents joined the Mormon church, came to Utah in 
'73, residing one year in Salt Lake City and removed to 
Spring City in '74. The family were very poor, owing 
for immigration. Father made brick several years, then 
purchased a farm. He died in June, 1882. Mother died 
August 8, 1891. At the age of 20 Rasmus went to Bristol, 
Nev., and worked around the mines for three years. He 
returned to Utah and now has 350 acres of land. Was 
married in Salt Lake City March 9, 1881, to Anna M., 
daughter of Hans A. and Caroline Thomsen, born in Den- 
mark. They had three children, Rasmus A., Caroline V. 
and Annie M. W T ife died Febraary 25, 1886. The young- 
est child was taken to the wife's parents, who removed 
to Mexico. In '91 the family was attacked by Indians 
and killed except the little girl and a boy, who hid in a 
chicken coop. His second wife, married in Manti Feb- 
ruary 14, 1894, was Christena, daughter of N. P. and 
Ellen M. Jensen, born in Denmark March 5, 1869. She 
has two children, Mabert and Andrew E. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. ."307 

ZABRISKIE, LEWIS 0., deceased, son of Henry and 
Ellen Galpin, was born in Hamilton county, Uhio T 
September 17, 1817. The family removed to Indiana, 
when he w r as a child, and later to Missouri, thence to Illi- 
nois, Avhere they passed through the Mormon persecu- 
tions. He was married in Council Bluffs July 25, 1817, to 
Sarah A., daughter of John and Matilda Park, born in 
Gibson county, Tennessee, October 5, 1828. They raised 
their own oxen and in May, 1852, started for Utah with 
two yoke of oxen and two yoke of cows, reaching- Salt 
Lake City, in Capt, Stevens' company, in the fall. Their 
first location was Provo, then in '61 removed to Fair- 
view, and in '62 came to Spring City, where he engaged 
in farming, and died November 17, 1872. The children 
by second marriage to Sarah Park were Joseph, Matilda, 
George, David, Louisa, Esther and Charles, living; Louis 
P., James H. and Sarah E., deceased. Sarah E. was mar- 
ried to John S. Blain and died October 8, 1896, leaving 
two children, Robert L. and Arthur. 



FOUNTAIN GREEN 



Fountain Green is a nice little town of 1,200 or more 
honest, industrious and enterprising people, located on 
Uinta Creek, twenty-five miles north of Manti, and within 
six miles of the northern boundary line of Sanpete 
county. This beautiful mountain home was selected by 
George W. Johnson as the most suitable spot in the val- 
ley for founding a colony, and amid the most daring 
scenes of Utah early days, this bold frontiersman, with 
his family and a few equally courageous pioneers, braved 
the perils of Indian hostilities, cold and hunger, and 
erected homes in the isolated wilderness of sagebrush 
and quakenasp trees. The site had been a camping place 
for travelers to and from Manti, and was known to all 
colonists as Uinta Springs. 

In the spring of 1S59 George W. Johnson obtained 
permission from Brigham Young to locate the town and 
get settlers, and immediately after July 4th he secured 
the services of Albert Petty, then surveyor for Sanpete, 
and surveyed the original site, consisting of five blocks. 
The chain-carriers in this hazardous expedition were 
Amos P. Johnson and Heber Petty. While the party 
were engaged in running the lines and setting stakes, a 
band of Indians dashed down from the cedars on the 
mountain slope and stole the horses, then grazing on the 
native grass. This left the company alone, with no choice 
except to walk to Santaquin, thirty-two miles away, or 
return to Manti, twenty-five miles south. After a weary 
journey on foot Pioneer Johnson and son reached their 
home at Santaquin and began making preparations for 
returning and building- a new home on the site surveved. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 509 

August 1st the family, consisting of father, mother and 
three sons, Amos P., Horace and Oliver, reached the 
townsite and proceeded to erect a log house, cutting 
quakenasp poles for the purpose and using lumber 
hauled from Santaquin for flooring and doors. They 
were joined by J. 8. Holman and family, who built the 
second house, and John Green, Sam Allen, Christian 
Otteson and families, with Jacob Miller and William 
Gibson, two young men. These colonists built homes 
and put up hay for the winter, which was spent as pleas- 
antly as the circumstances permitted. They were joined 
by Reese K. Lewellyn, Albey L. Sherman, Pleasant 
Moenche and others, and with the company of travelers 
en route to or from Salt Lake City, had enough diversion 
to drown the monotony of complete isolation. The first 
birth was Lester Holman, who was born soon after the 
houses were completed. 

The following spring William Gibson and Asbury 
Parks contracted to cut a set of quakenasp logs for a 
meeting-house, which was erected a little west of the 
place where the present house is located. The floor was 
made of lumber hauled from Santaquin, the windows 
consisted of two 8x10 glass put in lengthwise of the 
building, and the roof was made of dirt. During this 
spring the wife of Asbury Parks died, being the first 
death occurring in the new town. Aside from this death 
the health of the people was most remarkably good con- 
sidering the rude houses and limited facilities for pro- 
tection against cold. A small ditch was ploughed into 
the canyon and the water brought down in one stream 
to irrigate the little gardens planted as early as possible. 
It was then thought that the colony was too large for the 
water supply and some families would be compelled to 
seek homes elsewhere. 



510 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

The laud was divided among the colonists in a man- 
ner similar to that of other settlements in Utah, and the 
work of building up a town began with bright prospects. 
A ward of the Mormon church was organized and R. L. 
Johnson appointed bishop in '61. He opened the first 
store and conducted the pioneer hotel of the town. The 
settlement prospered as well as could be expected while 
so far away from other towns until the Black Hawk war 
forced the people to abandon their homes during the 
summer of 'G6 and remove to other more protected 
points for safety from Indian depredations. A fort was 
erected during the fall of '66 and the people returned, 
but suffered much from Indian raids on their stock. 
During this war James Guyman served as Major and 
Thomas Robinson as Captain of minutemen. 

In '67 Bernard Snow erected a small burr mill on 
the creek above the town and supplied the people with, 
flour and feed stuff until '71, when it was burned. The 
following year a larger and more improved mill was 
built and Fountain Green began to supply some flour for 
the general market. In '88 the roller process was 
adopted, but the next year the mill was destroyed by 
fire. The present company, consisting of Charles Foote 
of Xephi, Lewis Anderson of Manti, A. J. Aagard, George 
Peterson and Ole Sorenson of Fountain Green rebuilt the 
mill in '90 and put in all the modern appliances. It is 
now a forty-barrel model roller mill, doing an excellent 
custom and commercial trade, under the able supervision 
of Ole Sorenson, an experienced and capable miller. 
Fountain Green flour is in demand wherever its qualities 
have been tested and is found on all Utah markets. 

Fountain Green was connected with the outside 
commercial world on the completion of the Sanpete Val- 
ley railroad into the county and was the first town in 



HiriTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 51 1 

Sanpete to secure a railroad. This opened up trade in 
every line and gave a market for the agricultural pro- 
ducts for which the town is noted at home and abroad. 
The town was organized under the direction of the 
County court in '93 and has continued to grow and in- 
crease in commercial importance. The Co-op store was 
organized in early days and has done a good business, 
now being under the able management of H. C. Hansen 
Bogh. Another important business house is the general 
store conducted by Andrew Aagard, one of the most en- 
terprising and energetic men of the town. Mrs. Eliza 
Anderson handles furniture of all kinds and is the oblig- 
ing postmaster. 

The traveling public will find two good hotels in this 
town, conducted by Cornelius Collard and Bishop C. J. 
Christiansen. Lumbering is one of the industries and a 
planing mill is operated by Olof Olson. I The busmess of 
stockraising and woolgrowing occupies the attention of 
a majority of the people and returns an immense annual 
cash income. 1 Wheat, oats and potatoes are the staple 
farm products, the quality of which cannot be excelled 
in any section of Utah. Brickmaking is being developed 
and the natural clay is peculiarly fitted for this purpose. 
The quality of brick manufactured here is not found any- 
where else throughout the State and many carloads are 
therefore shipped away every year and sold in competi- 
tion with the best imported eastern building material. 
In this one natural facility Fountain Green excels all 
other localities in central Utah and her citizens are proud 
to know it. 

The people of Fountain Green are loyal and patriotic 
in the cause of humanity and upholding the Nation's 
honor. When President McKinley issued a call for vol- 
unteers to fill the ranks of the United States troops in 



512 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

the war against Spain for freeing Cuba, four liberty-lov- 
ing sons of Fountain Green hastened to respond to the 
demand by enlisting. They were: Chris Lund, James 
Robinson, Thomas Mattson and William Olson, all prom- 
inent young men and belonging to representative fam- 
ilies. The people gave them a grand farewell party and 
a purse of $100, contributed from the free-will donations 
of generous men and women. This is an indication of the 
sterling traits possessed by the steady, honorable citizens 
of this quiet, peaceful town in the canyon of the Sanpitch 
mountains. 

In political matters Fountain Green has practically 
the same history as that of other settlements in the 
county. The People's party was almost unanimous until 
the national parties were organized, when a division was 
made and the Republican party gained the majority 
votes. The present Town Council, with Lars Nielson as 
president, manages the local affairs in a very satisfactory 
manner, insuring peace and contentment to the citizens. 
No drunkenness or disorderly conduct is noticed in the 
amusement halls, church gatherings or social entertain- 
ments and the most perfect moral conditions prevail 
everywhere within the town limits. No extensive manu- 
facturing industries are yet constructed, but the natural 
facilities are good for beet sugar factory, increased brick 
and tiling factories, starch factory and woolen mills, 
some of which will no doubt be erected before many 
years. 

Fountain Green has always maintained a good 
school system and educated some of the brightest pro- 
fessional men in Sanpete county. The schools are now 
under the able management of N. M. Anderson as prin- 
cipal. 



PROMINENT CITIZENS OF FOUNTAIN GREEN. 



f\ AGARD, ANDREW J., merchant, farmer and wool- 
r\ grower, son of James P. and Mahren A. Anderson, 
/ was born in Denmark January 15, 1844. The fam- 
ily joined the Mormon church and in '60 came to Utah, 
crossing the plains in Capt. Johnson's train, and located 
at Moroni. In '63 they came to Fountain Green and en- 
gaged in farming. Father died in "74, mother died later. 
Andrew grew up on the farm and began farming with 
no capital at his command. In '80 he engaged in the 
sheep business and now has a 200-acre ranch, 12,000 
sheep and some cattle. When the Co-op store was organ- 
ized he became a stockholder and served as president, and 
superintendent several years. He still retains an inter- 
est in the store. In February, '95, he bought the mercan- 
tile business of P. E. Anderson and carries a general 
stock of f 5,000, besides agricultural implements, wagons 
and buggies. Is a director in the Union W T ool and Live 
Stock Commission Company of Mt. Pleasant. Was for 
several years president of the town of Fountain Green. 
In '90 he went on a mission to Denmark. He is an en- 
terprising man and a prominent citizen. Was married 
in Moroni March 14, 1865, to Annie Jensen, daughter of 
Jens and Mahren Anderson, born in Denmark January 
30, 1843. They have eight children: Mary, Annie C, 
Ellen M., Hannah C, Andrew J., Neils P., manager of 
the store, Serine and John E. 

A LLRED, ANDREW H., farmer, son of Parley P. and 
r\ Caroline, was born in Glenwood, Sevier county, 
/ Utah, March 30, 1867. The family came to Foun- 
tain Green the same year he was born, where he was 
brought up a farmer. He now owns a small farm near 
town and is engaged in farming. Was married in Manti 
December 17, 1890, to Filanda, daughter of James and 



514 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Mary Boden Guyman, bora in Fountain Green February 
23, 1871. They have three children: Andrew F., Mary 
F. and Lee R. 

f\ LLKED, PARLEY P., fanner, son of Willey P. and 
M Sarah Zabriskie, was born in Adams county, 111., 
/ 'Tuly 8, 1S39. His parents joined the Mormon church 
among the first members and were intimately acquainted 
with Joseph and Hyruni Smith. They passed through 
all the church persecutions in Missouri and Illinois. 
Father helped cut the stone for the Xauvoo Temple. The 
family came to Utah in '51, crossing the plains in Capt. 
Kelsey's company, and located at Sessions. They re- 
moved to Provo and in the fall of '52 settled at Spring 
City, but had to leave in July, 1853, on account of In- 
dians. They went to Manti and in '54 located in Ephraim, 
where father put up the first house. In '59 they moved 
to Spring City again and August 1, 1862, came to Foun- 
tain Green, where father lived many years, and finally 
removed to Castle Valley, where he now resides, at the 
age of 80 years. Parley went back to the Missouri river 
in '63 for emigrants. In '64 he removed to Monroe, where 
he lost fifty head of stock, and had to return because of 
Indians. He now lias a farm of eighty acres and a good 
home in town. He took an active part all through the 
Black Hawk war, being in several engagements with In- 
dians. He was shot through his clothing and once a 
bullet grazed his cheek. Was married in Ephraim Octo- 
ber 2, 1859, to Caroline, daughter of Ole and Ann Ander- 
son, born in Sweden April 10, 1841. They have had ten 
children: Parley P., Thomas W., Willey P., Andrew H., 
Sarah A., Joseph F., Charles E., Ole A. and Caroline, liv- 
ing: Lorenzo, deceased. 

Q XDERSEN, JAMES P., JR., farmer, son of James 
r\ P. and Christiana, was born in Salt Lake City No- 
/ vember 28, 1855. His parents were among the early 
settlers of Ephraim, where father still resides. James 
was raised here and has followed farming. He has 640 
acres of land five miles north of town. Is a stockholder 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 515 

in the lirm of C. Andrews & Co. of Nephi. Served as a 
member of the town board for two years. In October 
'96, he went on a mission to Arkansas. He is a well known 
and respected citizen. Was married in Moroni October 
31, 1875, to Elizabeth, daughter of George and Janet 
Crowther, born in Payson, Utah, August 15, 1857. They 
have nine children: Janet, James W., George C, David 
E., Thomas M., Robert V., Mildred E., Fay E. and Mary- J. 

A NDERSON, JOHN, deceased, son of Erick and Maria 
r\ C, was born in Sweden December 28, 1862. The 
/ family joined the Mormon church and came to Utah 
in 77, locating at Fountain Green, where parents both 
died. John grew up in this place and on August 25, 1886, 
went on a two years' mission to Sweden. On his return 
he was married in Fountain Green November 28, 1888, 
to Eliza M., daughter of Jacob and Maria Bischoff, born 
in Big Cottonwood November 22, 1867. Soon after mar- 
riage he took the stock of furniture of Lewis Anderson 
and was agent for the Co-op Machine Company and other 
concerns and was doing a good business at the time of his 
death, which occurred August 18, 1893. Mrs. Anderson 
secured the postoffice December 1, 1897, and carries on 
the furniture business in connection. She was left with 
a family of small children and in limited circumstances, 
but by hard work and careful business methods is mak- 
ing a success and certainly deserves the patronage of the 
people. Their four children are: Katie M., Eliza, Anna 
M. and Emma A. 
\ 

\ C\ NDERSON, OLE C, woolgrower, son of Rasmus and 
r\ Annie K., was born in Moroni, Utah, August 29, 
* 1866. The family removed to Fountain Green when 
he was a small child, and at the age of 10 years he be- 
gLn herding sheep. When he was 15 he, with his brother 
and father, engaged in the sheep business. He now has 
2,000 sheep, a good farm of 100 acres, and a house in 
town. Is a stockholder in the Central Utah Wool com- 
pany at Manti and owns a half interest in the Fountain 
Green Opera-house. Served as a member of the Town 



516 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

Board for two years. Was married in Fountain Green 
November 1, 1888, to Sarah A., daughter of Parley P. and 
Caroline Allred, born in Fountain Green November 1, 
1869. They have had four children, Sarah E., Ole V. and 
Arthur C, living; Rasmus P., deceased. 

A NDERSON, PETER E., woolgrower, son of Rasmus 
r\ and Annie 0., was born in Moroni, Utah, September 
' 19, 1S64. The family came to Fountain Green when 
he was a small boy, where he grew up and engaged in 
the mercantile business with A. E. Christensen. After 
two years he purchased his partner's interest and con- 
tinued the business 'four years, when he sold to A. J. 
Aagard and engaged in woolgrowing. He now has about 
o,500 sheep and a nice brick residence in town. Is a 
stockholder in the Co-op. store. Served as a member of 
the Town Board two years. Went on a two years' mis- 
sion to California in '95. Is an active church and Sunday- 
school worker, having served as assistant superintendent 
of the Sunday-school. Was married in the Temple Au- 
gust 15, 1888, to Sarah E., daughter of Adam C. and 
Emily Smyth, born in Logan, Utah, December 14, 1866. 
They have two children, Emily and Erastus L. 

f\ NDERSON, RASMUS, deceased, son of Ole and Bole, 
r\ was born in Denmark January 13, 1832. He was 
' raised on a farm, joined the Mormon church and 
spent five years as a traveling elder. In April, 1863, he 
started for Zion and was married on the way at Flor- 
ence, Neb., June 18, 1S63, to Annie K. Neilson. They 
crossed the plains in an ox-train and located in Moroni 
in the spring of '64. In '70 they came ' to Fountain 
Green, where he engaged in farming and became 
quite an extensive woolgrower. He was a represent- 
ative citizen and took an active part in the Black 
Hawk Avar. He died in Fountain Green April 5, 1891. 
Their children .are Peter E., OleC, a woolgrower; Robert, 
an attorney in Mt. Pleasant; Annie B., wife of W. D. Liv- 
ingston, an attorney in Manti; Nephi, a school teacher in 
Fountain Green; Niels M., principal of the Fountain 
Green schools; Maria S. and George A. 




JAMES T. S. ALLRED, 
SPRING CITY. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 517 

FVISCHOFF, ROBERT J., school teacher, son of Jacob 
.lD and Maria, was born in Fountain Green September 
2, 1869. His parents were natives of Germany and father 
served in the army a number of years. They joined the 
Mormon church, and in '67 emigrated to Utah, residing 
in Big Cottonwood and Spanish Fork till '69, when they 
came to Fountain Green. Father died in the fall of '74, 
mother died April 28, 1897. Robert J. was raised here 
and educated in the district schools, supplemented by one 
year in the B. Y. Academy at Provo. He has taught 
school in Fountain Green four years. Is a member of 
the Town Board, president of the Y. M. M. I. A., and sec- 
ond assistant superintendent of the Sunday-school. In 
'94 he went on a mission to Virginia, returning in '97. 
Was married in Manti Temple May 12, 1897, to Rose 
Ann, daughter of Christian H. and Mary Anderson Jen- 
sen, born in Millard county, Utah, November 20, 1875. 
They have one child, Robert K. 

r\ AREXTSEN, ANDREW M., farmer, son of Christian 
ID and Susannah, was born in Denmark January 22, 
1833. He was raised on a farm. In '54 and '55 he 
was a soldier. In '63 he came to Utah with his wife and 
children, crossing the plains in Capt. Sanderson's com- 
pany and located at Pleasant Grove. In '65 he removed 
to Richfield, where he took up land and assisted in or- 
ganizing a canal company and building a canal. He took 
part in the Black Hawk war, holding the rank of Lieuten- 
ant. In '67 the Indians forced the settlers to leave and 
lie came to Fountain Green, where he bought a five-acre 
farm and city lot. He now owns fifty acres. Is a stocky 
holder in the Co-op. store and was director and superin" 
tendent one year and treasurer one year. He was coun- 
sellor to the bishop for fifteen years. Was married in 
Denmark March 4, 1854, to Maria, daughter of Erick and 
Mahren Erickson, born in Denmark January 28, 1819. 
They have seven children, Susannah, Eliza, Andrew M., 
Maria, William, Christina M. and Matilda. 

R OGH ' H - ( - ha:n '^ e ^' superintendent of the Co-op 
lD store, son of Peter and Karen, was born in Den- 
mark September 6, 1861. The family came to Utah 



518 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

in '74 and located at Fountain Green, where he was 
reared a fanner. In *89 he entered the Co-op. as a clerk, 
in '90 was employed by A. E. Christensen for six months, 
then became manager of his store for three years. In 
January, 1895, he was made superintendent of the Co-op., 
being then a stockholder and director. Daring the past 
eight years he has served as Justice of the Peace. He 
also owns a farm and is interested in agriculture. Was 
married in Salt Lake City September 2, 1880, to Caroline 
M., daughter of Jens M. and Caroline A. Jensen, born in 
Pleasant Grove June 19, 1861. They have had eight chil- 
di-en, James I*., Jesse L., Edward M., Clarence W. and 
Robert E., living: Hans L., Joseph T. and Caroline L., 
deceased. 

gjARTER, REUBEN, farmer, son of George and Fanny 
V^ Watts, was born in Paulton, Somersetshire, Eng- 
land, December 1, 1826. He grew up a coal miner, 
joined the Mormon church and emigrated in '00, locating 
at Belleville, 111. His family followed in '61 and in '62 
they came to Utah in an ox-train under Capt. Wareham, 
an independent company, and stopped in Bountiful one 
year. In '63 he came to Fountain Green and has since 
been engager! in fanning. He took part in the Black 
Hawk war. In '84 he went, on a mission of one year to 
England. Was for many years a counsellor to the bishop 
ai d is now president of the High Priests' Quorum. Is a 
stockholder in the Co-op. store. Was married in Wor- 
cestershire, England, to Ellen Jones, daughter of Edward 
and Sarah Bailey, born in Worcestershire, September, 
1830. They hare two sons, George, born in Worcester- 
shire, England, June 22. 1850 v , was raised to farming, now 
owns a nice farm and home. In '93 he was elected sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Co-op. store, which position 
he still holds. He served as Town Clerk and was post- 
master four years under Cleveland. Took part in the 
Black Hawk war as express carrier and standing guard. 
W,"- mnrrf. ,1 in Moroni to Sarah A., daughter of George 
and Ruth Jackson, born in Iowa. They have four chil- 
dren. Malinda, Elmer, Ada and Loretta. Beuben, the 
other son, is a carpenter at Mona. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 519 

0HEISTIANSEN, BISHOP G. J., son of Soren and Car- 
V^ oline, was born in Denmark April 17, 1855. The 
family came to Utah in '60 and located in Ephraim 
for one year, and in "01 came to Fountain Green. The 
bishop was raised to farming - , and at the age of 21 bought 
a farm; now owns sixty acres. When the Co-op store 
was organized he became a stockholder and has held the 
office of president for several years. He took part in the 
Black Hawk war in guarding and scouting. Assisted in 
the building of the Temples at St. George and Manti, and 
worked one year in the latter at ordinance work. In '82 
It* went on a two years' mission to Denmark. Was or- 
dained a Seventy in '84 and a High Priest and appointed 
Bishop of Fountain Green in "91. Was married in Salt 
Lake City May 29, 1876, to Ellen J., daughter of Peter 
and Catherine Oldroyd, born in Ephraim November 11, 
1856. They have had eleven children, Christian T., Peter 
M., Agnes M., Ellen J., Soren A., Archibald L., Koy O., 
Catherine J. and Leah B., living; Isaac F. and an un- 
named infant, deceased. 

/QOLLARD, CORNELIUS, farmer, and proprietor 
\^ Fountain Green hotel, son of John and Elizabeth 
West, was born in Almondsbury, Gloucestershire, 
England, May 1, 1832. He learned the trade of a black- 
smith, joined the Mormon church in March, 1853, and emi- 
grated to the United States in '56, residing two years in 
Kent county, Delaware. In '58 he removed to German- 
town, Pa., in '59 to Omaha and in '61 came to Utah, cross- 
ing the plains in an independent ox-train under Capt. 
Casper. He worked awhile at Ephraim and in '62 came 
to Fountain Green, wmere he built a shop and worked at 
blacksmithing for twenty years. Is now chiefly engaged 
in farming and owns a good farm. In '95 he opened the 
hotel in his residence and conducts it satisfactorily to the 
traveling public. Is a stockholder in the Co-op store, of 
which he was president for several years. W T as a ward 
teacher several-years and for twenty-one years president 
of the Elders' quorum. Is now a member of the High 
Priests. W T as married in Smyrna, Del., March 27, 1857, 
to Frances Peel, born in Birmingham, England. They 



520 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

had four children: Elizabeth, Mary, William and Har- 
riet J. Wife died in Pennsylvania. Was married again 
in Fountain Green October, 1868, to Sarah Collard, nee 
Booth, daughter of Joseph and Ann, born in Bolton, 
Lancashire, England, August 18, 1837. They have four 
children: Sarah J., Clara and Rachel, living; Annie, de- 
ceased. 

(Q OLLARD, JAMES, farmer, son of Edward and Eliza, 
V^ was born in Almonsbury, Gloucestershire, England, 
June 21, 1814. In '55 the family came to the 
United States and located in Smyrna, Delaware, where 
mother died. In '60 father and second wife, with James 
and brother Albert, crossed the plains in Capt. Steven- 
son's company and located at Ephraim till '62, when they 
came to Fountain Green. Father was first counsellor to 
Bishop Johnson and captain of a company of minutemen 
in the Black Hawk war. He died April 12, 1886. Mother 
died October 23, 1857. James secured a farm and has 
been engaged in farming. Xow owns seventeen acres 
and a home in town. He also learned the trade of a 
wheelwright from his father and has done some work. 
Took part in the Black Hawk war as a scout and stand- 
ing guard. Was married in Fountain Green October 1, 
1S62, to Hannah, daughter of John and Sarah Hunt, 
born in Denby, Derbyshire, Eugland, August 1, 1813. 
They have four children: Mercie, Sarah E., Clara A. and 
James E. 

/Q OOMBS, W. H., farmer, son of George and Eliza, was 
\^ born in Staffordshire, England, August 29, 1838. 
He learned the trade of a brick mason from his 
father and worked at it in the old country. The family 
joined the Mormon church in early days and in May, 1864, 
started for Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Warren's 
company, and located in Fountain Green, where both 
parents died. Father died in July, 1S95, from the effects 
of falling from a wagon. W. H. followed his trade and 
now has a twenty-acre farm. Ts a stockholder in the 
Co-op store. Is an active churchman and president of 
the Deacons' quorum. He took an active part through 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 521 

the Black Hawk war in guarding and other duties. Was 
married in Fountain Green October 22, 1S77, to Eliza J., 
daughter of Thomas and Fanny Vizzard Morgan, born in 
Moroni October 19, 1860. They have had seven children: 
Charles R., Mary A., William M., Prudence H. and Zelpha 
C, living; Thomas H. and Fannie E., deceased. 

/7\ ROWTHERS, WILLIAM J., farmer and woolgrower, 
\~ son of George and Janet Wiley, was born in Sevier 
county, Utah, May 12, 1865. His father was a na- 
tive of England, mother of Scotland. They joined the 
Mormon church in Scotland and emgirated to the United 
States in '50 and resided in Illinois till '57, when they 
crossed the plains in a handcart company under Capt. 
Israel Evans. They endured many hardships and priva- 
tions, hauled one child all the way in a handcart. She 
is now the wife of Hans P. Larsen of Manti, and one 
walked across the plains, now the wife of Albert Collard 
of Huntington, Emery county. They settled in Salt Lake 
City till '58, when they removed to Payson, then to Mt. 
Pleasant in '60, and to Fountain Green in '67. Father 
took part in the Black Hawk war and was one of the set- 
tlers driven out of Sevier county by Indians. He died 
April 17, 1S97. William was raised on the farm and 
when he grew up began herding sheep. He now has 
about 800" sheep, a farm of forty-one acres and a nice 
brick house in town. Was married in Fountain Green 
October 24, 1889, to Rena, daughter of Hans P. and Ellen 
C. Olsen, born in Fountain Green October 8, 1867. They 
have three children: Lorena M., Ellen J. and William V. 



D 



PAPER, EDWARD, farmer, son of Henry and Mar- 
tha A., was born in Jo Daviess county, Illinois, 
March 16, 1861. His parents were natives of Illinois 
and joined the Mormon church, losing all their property 
bv mob in Caldwell county, Missouri. Grandfather Will- 
iam came to Utah in '49, father in '50 and the balance of 
the familv with Edward came in '61 and located near Salt 
Lake City. In '64 they settled in Moroni and in '70 re- 
moved about three miles west to Freedom, being the 
first settlers. Father was first bishop of Freedom. He 



522 HISTORY OP SANPETE COUNTY. 

took part, in the Black Hawk war. In 79 the family 
came to Fountain Green, where father worked as a me- 
chanic till '86, when he removed to Goshen. Edward has 
resided here since he hist located and has a thirty-acre 
farm. He was married in Fountain Green December 27, 
L883, to Mary E., daughter of Joshua and Fanny Coombs, 
born in Fountain Green January 9, 1865. They have six 
children: Martha L., Fannie M., Sarah A., Edward M., 
Ethel E. and Lei and J. 

EXSLEV, S. S., blacksmith and watermaster, was born 
in Aarhus, Denmark, September 26, 1837. He 
learned the trade of a blacksmith in the old coun- 
try and served ten years as a soldier. He held the rank of 
second sergeant in the war with Germany and was in 
seven battles on land and water. Was wounded by a 
sabre cut on the left arm just as he killed the man in- 
flicting it. He has a war medal presented him by King 
Christian IX. In '71 he joined the Mormon church and 
for many years his home was headquarters for the mis- 
sionaries. Also did some missionary work and served as 
a ward teacher. He worked in a machine shop for manu- 
facturing engines fourteen years, being foreman eight 
years. Came to Utah in '80. Has served as watermaster 
of Fountain Green for fifteen years. Was married in 
Denmark May 22, 1866, to Mary Rasmussen. They have 
one son: Antoine C, principal of the Timpanogas school 
at Provo. 

/* REEX, JOHN, farmer, brickmaker and lime manu- 
\J facturer, son of William and Harriet, was born in 
^ Nottinghamshire, England, May 12, 1835. He was 
raised on a farm, joined the Mormon church and in '54 
emigrated to the United States, and located at Burling- 
ton, Iowa. His mother came in '55, and in '56 they crossed 
the plains in (/apt. Merrill's ox-train and located at Provo. 
He married Man' Partington at Provo December 25, 1857, 
und in October, 1850, they came to Fountain Green and 
built a log house. Father followed in the spring of '60 
and resided here till his death, June 29, 1887, at the age 
of 84 vears. When the land was divided John received 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 523 

twenty acres and a city lot. He took part in the Black 
Hawk war, serving as Captain of niinntenien, and went 
out to meet Johnston's army. Was many years leader of 
the choir, and with his wife sang the first hymn in the 
town. He has been engaged in making brick since '73, 
haying a good yard and lime kiln, and ships brick all over 
the county. His first wife was killed by falling from a 
wagon, July 11, 1860. Married again in Salt Lake City 
November 11, 186(5, to Hephzibah, daughter of William 
and Hephzibah Matthews, born in Nottinghamshire, En- 
gland, February 10, 1844. She has one child, Charles. 
First wife's children are Elizabeth H., William J. and 
Alice, living; John and Allen, deceased: and by former 
marriage, Mary H. and Sarah A. Third wife was Eliza- 
beth A. Wilson. She had eight children, George W., 
L'ichard E., Thomas F., Wallace, Wilford, Francis M. and 
Orson, living: James A., deceased. 

QUYMAX, JAMES, retired farmer, son of Thomas and 
Sarah, was born in Jackson county, Tennessee, De- 
cember 27, 1816. The family removed to Edgar 
county, Illinois, when he was 10 years of age. They 
joined the Mormon church about '33, James became a 
member in '35. He was arrested twice for being a Mor- 
mon and had several narrow escapes. Was driven with 
others from place to place and had to sacrifice his farm 
to get away from Illinois. In '40 he came with •his fam- 
ily to Utah, crossing the plains in Capt. Silas Richards' 
ox-train. He located at American Fork two years, then 
removed to Springville, whence he was called as an In- 
dian missionary to Parowan. In '04 he came to Fountain 
Green, secured a farm and worked it until '07, when he 
retired, ami new has a little store at the residence. He 
took an active part in the Black Hawk Avar, being com- 
mander of the post at Fountain Green and Major. He 
has always been a hard working, honest citizen, and per- 
formed his duty when called by church or the people. 
Has had six wives and thirty-three children, four women 
and twenty-two children living. His last, wife was Chris- 
tena Christiansen, daughter of James and Mary Ander- 
son, born in Denmark December 18, 1852. Her mother 



.^24 HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. 

died on the ocean in '00 and the family came to Utah, lo- 
cating in Fountain Green in '61. Father died here in '66, 
haying been engaged in the Black Hawk war. 

M OLMAX, JAMES A., fanner, son of James S. and 
j! Naomi R. Le Baron, was born in Crawford county, 
' Pennsylvania, September 1, 1835. His father came 
to Utah in '47 and the family followed in '48. They lived 
in different parts of the Territory till '59, when they came 
to Fountain Green. Father took part in the Walker war 
before moving here. In the fall of '60 James came to 
Fountain Green and took up a small farm and engaged in 
farming. He took part in the Black Hawk war. Has 
been extensively engaged in the cattle business. In '85 
he took up 160 acres of land one mile south of town. Was 
married in Payson November 30, 1855, to Sarah A., 
daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth Ross Mathis, born in 
Carroll county, Tennessee, December 7, 1836. They have 
ten children, James, Sarah J., John, David, Nancy, War- 
ren, Parley, Naomi, Robert and Ray, with three deceased, 
Zilpah, William F. and Elmer. 

liOLMAN, SANFORD, farmer, son of James S. and 
jT\ Naomi R. Le Baron, was born in Nauvoo, 111., June 
' 18, 1841. His parents were among the early mem- 
bers of the Mormon church and were through all the per- 
secutions in Missouri and Illinois. Father was one of the 
Utah pioneers of '47, the family coming in '48. They 
lived a short time in Salt Lake City, thence removed to 
Sessions, then to Santaquin, and in '59 came to Fountain 
Green. In '64 his parents removed to Holden, Millard 
county', where they both died. Sanford engaged in freight- 
ing produce to the mining camps when 20 years of age 
and followed that, for sixteen years. He then home- 
steaded 160 acres and now owns 120 acres and manages a 
farm. In '62 he went to the Missouri river after emi- 
grants. Took pan in the Black Hawk war as a minute- 
man and was in several engagements with Indians at 
Fish Lake and elsewhere and helped capture the chief, 
Sanpitoh, ami eight, others at Nephi. Was married in 
Fountain Green October 6, 1863, to Elizabeth H., daughter 




JOSEPH CHRISTIANSEN. 
MAYFIELD. 



HISTORY OF SANPETE COUNTY. OZO 

of Willey P. and Sarah Zabriskie Allred, born in Lee 
county, Iowa, September 27, 1843. They have nine chil- 
dren, Sarah E., James S., Naomi R, Mary E., Emma J., 
David L., Jesse A., Myron M. and Grace E. 

JACKSON, GEORGE T., deceased, son of George and 
Hannah Clayton, was born in Yorkshire, England, 
October 14, 1840. The family joined the Mormon 
church and emigrated to the United States when George 
was a small boy, and resided for some time in Iowa. In 
'62 the family came to Utah by ox-team and located in 
Moroni. George took part in the Black Hawk war and 
m as in the engagement in Salina canyon. In '70 he came 
to Fountain Green and engaged in farming till his death, 
which occurred May 19, 1876. He was married in Moroni 
July 8, 1866, to Mary E. Dobbs, daughter of Thomas and 
Jane M. Wiseman, born in Norwalk, Conn., November 3, 
1843. They had five children, George D., now on a mis- 
sion to Indian Territory; John W., Henry, Mary E. and 
Thomas C. 

JACOBSEN, JENS, farmer and blacksmith, was born 
in Sweden August 15, 1838. He learned the trade 
of a blacksmith and joined the Mormon church in 
'61, came to Utah in "66, crossing the plains in Capt. Ab« 
ner Lowry's company, and located in Fountain Green. 
He worked at his trade, paying $3.50 per week for the 
use of tools, but soon made his own, including an anvil r 
vise, dies and other machinery. Before coming to this 
country he spent twenty-six months on a mission to Den- 
mark. In '81 h