I./*', . '
Ctjr jflaxioeU >r ries
jf amousf <lb Jf amilie*
R. L. POLK AND COMPANY, INC.
R. L. POLK & Co. Inc.
TABLE OF CONTENTS:
Chapter I 7
Origin of the name of Scott Early History Buc-
cleuch "The Buck in the Cleuch" Auld Wat o' Har-
den Sir Michael Scott The Wizard of the North.
Chapter II 20
The Cradle of the Race The Family and the Border
Feuds "Ready, aye, Ready" Sir John Scott of
Thirlestane "Mount for Branxholm."
Chapter III 30
Branches of the Scott Family Records of the
Different Branches Lord Chancellor Eldon and
Baron Stowell Sir Walter Scott.
Chapter IV 46
Early American History of the Family Arrival of
the First Scotts in America Story of the Early
Settlers Three Adventurers for Virginia Richard
Scott Lands at Boston Scott of Long Island.
Chapter V 56
The Scotts in Revolutionary Times From the Revo-
lution to the Civil War Civil War Records.
Chapter VI 74
The Scott Family in the United States.
Chapter VII 97
Lines of Descent in Scotland and England Heads
of the Family Notable Scotts in the British Empire.
Chapter VIII 112
Armorial Bearings Ancestral Seats.
LL races of men seem to have an intuitive
feeling that it is a subject of legitimate
pride to be one of a clan or family whose
name is written large in past history and
present affairs. Everybody likes to know something:
about his forefathers, and to be able to tell to his chil-
dren the tales or stories about their ancestors, which
he himself has heard from his parents. The command-
ment, "Honor thy father and thy mother," is good
and sufficient authority for that feeling of reverence
which is so generally shown towards a line of
honorable ancestry. The history of the family was
a matter of much importance to the Greek and
Roman; the Chinese go so far as to magnify such
reverence into ancestor worship and even the Red
Indian of our own Northwest recorded the tradi-
tions of his ancestors on the totem of his tribe.
Well, then, may the story of the chivalry, courage
and even lawlessness (so often the mate of cour-
age) of their forefathers find a responsive echo
in the hearts of Scotts of the present generation.
It is not intended in this "History of the Scott
Family" to attempt any genealogical investigation
or show any family tree, but rather to tell of those
bygone Scotts in whose achievements and history
it is the common heritage of all who bear the name
to take pride and interest old stories of Scotts
of reckless bravery, of Scotts who were good and
true friends and of Scotts who were fierce and
6 History of the Scott Family
bitter enemies stories of Scotts who fought hard,
lived hard and died as they fought and lived. Those
olden days may seem a time of scant respect for
law, of misdirected chivalry and of brave deeds,
often wrongly done, but there is surely no true
Scott who, in his inmost heart, is not proud to
claim descent from a family whose ancient records
are replete with such traditions ; whose later records
tell of those early adventurers who left their native
hills and dales for the new land of promise and
whose descendants have, in more prosaic times,
earned honors in literature, arms and art. "It is
wise for us to recur to the history of our ancestors.
Those who do not look upon themselves as links
connecting the past with the future do not fulfill
their duty in the world."
HE surname Scott is of great antiquity
and authorities differ as to the origin
of the name. The theory of Professor
Innes, in relation to the original name
of Scot or Scott in Scotland, was that long before
surnames were known, the people of that country
received the appellation of Scotus or Scot in addi-
tion to their former name, thus plain Robert became
Robert Scot and reared a family who retained the
name of their ancestor. This especially may have
been so with those who wandered from Scotland into
other countries, and who became known as Robert
the Scot, David Scotus as the case might be.
Other historians claim that the name of Scot-
land itself was derived from the family name; in
fact, claim that a family of primitive gypsies gave
a name to the country in which it located instead
of a country giving a surname to divers wanderers
from its borders.
In support of this theory Boethius, Vermundus,
Cornelius and Scaliger claim that the name of Scott
originated from Scota, the daughter of the Pharaoh
who was drowned in the Red Sea. The story told
in support of this origin of the name follows : Ga-
thelus, a son of Cecrops, King of Athens, being ban-
ished from that kingdom, fled to Egypt with a large
band of followers. This was in the time of Moses,
and Pharaoh being engaged in war was glad to
8 History of the Scott Family
accept the aid of the followers of Gathelus, whom he
made a general of the combined forces. The enemy
nations were subdued and as a reward Pharaoh
gave his daughter Scota in marriage to the vic-
torious Gathelus. Later Gathelus and Scota, with
a goodly following, escaping from the plagues in
Egypt, fled to Spain, naming that portion of the
country Port Gathale which is now known as Portu-
gal. Here Gathelus gave to his followers the name
of "Scottis" from the love he bore his wife Scota.
After years of war with the natives of Spain these
nomad "Scottis" once more set sail and landed in
Ireland, from whence they afterwards went over to
the northern part of the adjacent island of Britain,
naming the country Scotland or the land of the
This theory of the origin of the name is treated
by many historians as fabulous, but Geoffrey Keat-
ing, the Irish antiquary, claims that the followers of
Gathelus and Scota landed in Ireland A. M. 2736 (B.
C. 1303) ; and a number of ancient antiquaries and
historians agree that the name of Scott is derived
from the Egyptian Scota. An interesting point in
this connection is the entry found in the Psalter of
Cashel as follows: Heber Scot, son of Seru, son
of Easru, son of Gadelas, son of Niul, son of Feniusa-
Farsa, son of Baath, son of Magog, son of Japhet.
The name of Scot within seven generations of the
Among the very early records of persons bearing
the name are those relating to two natives of Scot-
land named John and Clement, who are mentioned
as being in Paris in the time of Charlemagne. Al-
though no authority is found enabling the exact
History of the Scott Family 9
date to be established, the fact that John or Johannes
was an instructor of Charlemagne fixes the time
about the middle of the eighth century. Scott of
Sachells, a worthy son of the border, writing in
1686 his lengthy and poetical defence of the clan,
relates the following as to John and Clement:
"A thousand years if I do not forget
By chronicles I'll prove the name of Scot.
In King Achaius time, that worthy prince,
John and Clement Scots they went to France;
In Paris they at first began,
In Charles the Great his time
To instruct the Christian religion."
And Buchanan, in his History of Scotland, confirms
the historical facts of Sachells, and asserts that
Charles the Great of France sent to Scotland for some
learned and pious men "among whom was Johannes
surnamed Scotus." Buchanan also mentions him
as the instructor of Charlemagne and Clement as a
learned professor in Paris at that time.
The first occurrence of the name of Scott in writ-
ings now preserved seems to be "Uchtred Filius
Scoti" among the witnesses to a charter to the Ab-
bacy of Selkirk, granted by David I who was on the
throne of Scotland from 1124 to 1153. Uchtred had
one son, Richard, who was the father of two sons,
Richard the elder being the ancestor of the Buc-
cleuch family and from the younger son, Sir Michael,
the Scotts of Balwearie are descended. Following
the line of descent of Richard, the elder son, we
find Sir Richard who acquired the estates of Mur-
dieston by marriage with the heiress in 1296 and
who died in 1320. His son Michael had two sons,
Robert and Walter of Synton. The latter was the
10 History of the Scott Family
ancestor of the Scotts of Harden of whom more will
be told later. Robert's great-grandson Sir Walter
was the father of two sons, Sir David of Branxholm
and Alexander of Howpaisley. From the younger
son was descended Francis of Thirlestane who was
created a Baronet in 1666 and was the father of
Sir William the second Baronet. Sir William, on
his marriage with the Mistress of Napier assumed
that name and from him is descended the present
representative, Francis Edward Basil Baron Napier
and Ettrick of Thirlestane, Selkirk. Sir David
Branxholm, the elder son of Sir Walter, had two
sons, David, whose great-great-grandson Sir Walter
was created Baron Scott of Buccleuch in 1606 and
Robert, ancestor of the Scotts of Scotstarvit.
Tradition gives the following romantic origin of
the name Buccleuch, which name had, long prior
to the creation of the title, been closely associated
with the name of Scott. Two brothers, banished
from Galloway, came to Ettrick Forest where they
were gladly received by Brydone, the keeper of
the forest, on account of their skill in forestry
and the chase; the hunting horn formerly borne in
the field of the Buccleuch arms alluding to this fact.
Kenneth MacAlpine, King of Scotland (844-860),
coming to hunt in Ettrick Forest and pursuing a
buck from Ettrick Heugh to a glen, afterwards
known as Buckscleugh, found the stag at bay. The
King and his companions of the chase following on
horseback were thrown out by the steepness of the
hill, and John, one of the Galloway brothers, follow-
ing the stag on foot, seized the buck by the horns,
threw him on his back and carrying him up the
hill, laid the buck at the feet of the King. This
History of the Scott Family 11
incident is told in Watt's Bellenden, after describing
the killing and "curee'ing" of the deer:
"The King did wash into a dish
And Galloway John he wot;
He said "Thy name now after this
Shall ever be called John Scott."
* * * *
"And for the buck thou stoutly brought
To us up that steep heugh
Thy designation ever shall
Be John Scott in Buckscleugh."
Their name and style the book doth say
John gained them both into one day."
The first Baron Scott of Buccleuch died 1611, be-
ing succeeded by his son Walter, whose title was
raised to Earl of Buccleuch in 1619. He was fol-
lowed by his son Francis, referred to by Sir Walter
Scott in "The Lay of the Last Minstrel" as "The Good
Earl Francis dead and gone." His death occurred in
1651, leaving two daughters, Mary and Anne. Mary,
Countess of Buccleuch, married Walter Scott of
Highchester, a scion of the house of Harden, who
was granted the life title of Earl of Tarras. Mary
died without issue and was succeeded in the title
by her sister Anne, Countess of Buccleuch. Anne
had been brought up in the massive square tower on
the banks of the Yarrow known as Newark Castle,
which was chosen by Sir Walter Scott as the "stately
tower" wherein the wandering harper recited to her
the story told in "The Lay of the Last MinstreL"
Anne married James, Duke of Monmouth, natural
son of Charles II and on their marriage they were
created Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch. The Duke
12 History of the Scott Family
of Monmouth was beheaded in 1685. He had two
sons, James, Earl of Dalkeith, and Henry, who in
1706 was created Earl of Deloraine. The title Delo-
raine came from the lands of Deloraine which
marched with those of Buccleuch in Ettrick Forest
and had from time immemorial been in possession
of the Scotts of Buccleuch, and granted by them to
kinsmen for Border services rendered. Among such
kinsmen was William of Deloraine, "Good knight and
true of noble strain" between whom and Richard of
Musgrave was arranged the trial by single combat
at Branksome. The Earldom of Deloraine became
extinct on the death of the fourth Earl in 1807.
James, Earl of Dalkeith, the above named son
of the Duke of Monmouth and Anne, Countess of
Buccleuch, having died in the lifetime of his father,
his son Francis became the second Duke of Buc-
cleuch. Henry, the grandson of Francis, followed
as third Duke and succeeded also to the Dukedom
of Queensberry. He had two sons, Charles the
elder and fourth Duke, and Henry, who became
by succession Baron Montagu, whose line is now
represented by Baron Montagu of Beaulieu. The
grandson of Duke Charles was William, sixth Duke
of Buccleuch, who died in 1914 and was succeeded
by his son John Charles, the present and seventh
To return to Walter Scott of Synton previously
mentioned as ancestor of the Scotts of Harden. This
family, however, trace their descent from a still
earlier younger of a Scott, who, prior to the mar-
riage of Sir Richard with the heiress of Murdieston,
was a laird of Buccleuch. Hence they bear the
cognizance of the Scotts upon the field :
History of the Scott Family 13
"Azure in a golden field
The Stars and crescent graced his shield
Without the bend of Murdieston."
Whereas, those of the Buccleuch family are dis-
posed upon a bend dexter assumed in consequence
of the Murdieston marriage. Walter of Synton was
the ancestor of Walter of Harden, a celebrated bor-
der reiver during the time of Queen Mary and re-
nowned in Border tradition as "Auld Wat," who
succeeded his father as Laird of Harden in 1563. He
married the beautiful Mary Scott of Dryhope, known
as "The Flower of Yarrow," a condition of the mar-
riage being, that for a year and a day after mar-
riage, the bride's father was bound to provide for
Wat at the Tower of Dryhope ; Harden on his part
agreeing to give Dryhope the profits of the "first
Michaelmas moon." His castle upon the brink of
a dark and precipitous glen was the storehouse
of the fruits of many a raid across the border,
the spoil from which served for the maintenance of
a large body of followers. Auld Wat has himself
left record that the Flower of Yarrow was "a curi-
ous hand at pickling the beef he stole;" and the
service of a pair of clean spurs on the usually well-
provided platter was notice to his retainers that the
time had again arrived to sally forth a-reiving. The
story is told that on one occasion the live stock had
become so low as to be referred to, in Wat's hearing,
as "Harden's coo." "By my faith," said Wat
"they'll soon say Harden's kye."
"The Michaelmas moon had entered then
And ere she wan the full
Ye might see by her light in Harden's glen
A bow of kye and a bassened bull."
14 History of the Scott Family
Auld Wat had a keen eye for business. When five
of his stalwart sons flew to arms to avenge the
death of a brother, slain in a fray by the Scotts
of Gilmanscleugh, Auld Wat locked them in the
dungeon of his castle, hastened to Edinburgh,
where he stated his case, and obtained the lands of
Gilmanscleugh as compensation. He returned to
Harden with the charter, releasing his sons with an
order "To horse, lads, and let's take possession.
The lands of Gilmanscleugh are well worth a dead
William, Wat's eldest son, apparently followed in
the f oosteps of his father, for he was captured "lift-
ing" the cattle of Murray of Elibank and condemned
to be hanged on the Elibank gallows tree, an ap-
panage of every well-equipped border stronghold.
It happened, however, that the house of Elibank in-
cluded a marriageable daughter, Agnes, who re-
joiced, or otherwise, in the descriptive name of
"Muckle-Mouthed Meg." William was given the
choice between the gallows tree and a wife and chose
what seemed to him the lesser evil, securing his life
and liberty by a marriage with Meg. Another and
more romantic version of William's marriage tells of
his refusal to wed the unseen Muckle-Mouthed Meg
as an alternative to hanging and of how Meg, posing
as the gaoler's daughter whose duty it was, each
morning, to take the prisoner his can of porridge,
won the bold reiver's heart. Browning records that
William, while actually under the gallows tree, ob-
stinately refusing marriage with Meg, is answered
by the supposed gaoler's daughter:
' "Not Muckle-Mouthed Meg! Wow the obstinate
Perhaps he would rather wed me !"
History of the Scott Family 15
"Ay would he with just for a dowry your can!"
"I'm Muckled-Mouthed Meg," chirruped she.'
They had five sons, Sir Walter Scott, the author,
being descended from their third son, Walter of
Raeburn, who, not to be outdone by others in the
family, had a descriptive name, "Watty Wudspurs."
The Scotts of Raeburn are also descended from
The eldest son of William and Meg, also named
William, died without issue; the second son, Sir
Gideon, was the father of Walter, Earl of Tarras,
who, as before mentioned, married Mary, Countess
of Buccleuch and whose great-grandson by a second
marriage, Hugh, succeeded to the Barony of Pol-
To return to Sir Michael, the second son of
Richard, and grandson of Uchtred Filius Scoti. This
Sir Michael was the great-grandfather of that most
remarkable character, Sir Michael Scott, the wizard,
who was born during the reign of William the Lion,
King of Scotland 1165-1214. His birthplace is un-
certain, but was probably in upper Tweeddale, the
cradle of the Scott family. After attending the
Cathedral School at Durham and studying at Oxford
he took Holy Orders in Paris; thence he went to
the famous law school at Bologna and later to
Palermo, where he was appointed tutor to Prince
Frederick, afterward the Emperor Frederick II.
After studying alchemy, astrology and chiromancy
in Spain, Sir Michael returned to Palermo as Court
Astrologer. According to tradition it was about
this time that "the Veil of the future seemed to be
lifted" to him and he foretold many direful happen-
ings. His fame spread as a skilful magician, and
16 History of the Scott Family
Dante in the "Inferno" refers to him as "Michele
Scotto," a renowned wizard. In 1230, he returned
to Scotland, his skill in the black arts having pre-
ceded him and it being generally accepted that he
had sold his soul to the Devil. It is told of Sir
Michael that he evoked a fiend in the shape of a
black horse on which he flew through the air. On
this demon horse he flew to Paris on an embassy
to obtain certain concessions from the Bang of
France, who received him coldly and was about to
deny his request, when Michael besought him to
delay such refusal until he had seen the horse stamp
three times. The first stamp caused the bells to
ring in every steeple; the second shook the palace
so violently that three towers fell in ruins and to
avoid a third stamp the King agreed to all Sir
Sir Michael took up his abode at Oakwood Tower,
upon the River Ettrick, where he soon learned of
the fame of a neighboring sorceress, known as the
Witch of Falsehope, living on the other side of the
Ettrick. Michael resolved to put her powers of
witchcraft to the test and riding to Falsehope en-
tered her house alone, leaving his servant and grey-
hounds on the threshold. The reputed witch stead-
fastly denied any knowledge of necromancy. While
talking with her, Sir Michael had carelessly laid his
wand on the table ; the witch snatched up the wand
and struck Sir Michael with it, instantly changing
his external appearance to that of a hare. Sir
Michael's servant, waiting without, observing the
hare scurrying from the house, at once slipped
the greyhounds who pursued him so closely to
the Tower of Oakwood that the wizard was com-
History of the Scott Family 17
pelled to take ground in a culvert, where he gained
time to reverse the charm and return of his own
This could not pass unavenged and accordingly
Sir Michael, with his servant and dogs, rode to a
hill above Falsehope, from whence he dispatched
his servant to the Witch, requesting food for the
dogs; at the same time giving full instructions as
to the course to pursue if such request were refused.
It being harvest the old woman was baking bread
for the harvesters and returned an angry refusal
to the servant, who, thereupon, following his mas-
ter's orders, affixed above the door a paper with many
cabalistic signs and the following rhyme:
"Maister Michael Scott's man
Sought meat and gat nane."
The magic worked instantly and the woman began
to dance madly round and round the fire, repeating:
"Maister Michael Scott's man
Sought meat and gat nane."
She was powerless to stop and the dance con-
tinued until the husband dispatched the harvesters,
one after another, to ascertain what had delayed his
wife sending the mid-day meal to the harvest-field.
Each messenger, as he entered the house, fell victim
to the charm and joined in the dance and song.
Round and round the fire the wife and the harvesters
danced, unceasingly chanting the rhyme. The old
man himself at last came, but remembering the trick
his wife had served Sir Michael, and becoming sus-
picious, cautiously looked through the window be-
fore entering the house. Seeing the madly dancing
18 History of the Scott Family
company and gathering from the words of the
chant the author of the charm, he hastened to the
Wizard, humbly begging a cessation of the spell.
This Sir Michael good naturedly granted, at the
same time giving the old man directions to return
to his home and break the spell by entering the
house backwards and taking the paper from over
the door with his left hand. On this being done,
the spell ceased and the dance ended.
The soul of Sir Michael having, according to pop-
ular belief, been sold to the Devil, the time arrived
when Satan at last came to claim his own. The
Wizard, however, insisted that by the terms of the
bargain three things were to be done before the
bond be paid. Of these three works two appear to
have been performed. First a cauld to be made
across the rapid tumbling waters of the Tweed, and
the cauld, still to be seen, at Kelso Mill attests the
enduring quality of His Satanic Majesty's handi-
work. Secondly Eildon Hill to be rent in three;
"Eildon's triple height" remains, to-day, a testi-
mony. But the third to weave ropes of the sea
sand at the mouth of Tweed seems yet unaccom-
plished; Tweedmouth's ever shifting sands being
evidence of the yet uncompleted work of the powers
It remains to tell of the death and place of burial
of the Wizard, concerning both of which tradition
varies. One version of his end tells how his wife,
or mistress, having treacherously learned that his
magic could ward off all danger save that of the
poison of a broth made of the flesh of a "breme" sow,
administered such a broth to Sir Michael who died
after eating it. Another version is that "the veil
History of the Scott Family 19
of the future" having been lifted to him, he could
foretell that his death would be caused by the fall
of a stone. To avert such an end, it is told that he
wore constantly a steel helmet; but in vain, for being
at Mass and raising his helmet on the elevation of
the Host a stone fell from the roof, killing him as
His place of burial is by some claimed to be at
Holme Cultram in Cumberland ; while others, includ-
ing Sir Walter Scott, claim that his grave is in the
transept of Melrose Abbey.
The first name of Scott to be found in English
history is that of John Scott, who was Earl of
Chester, born 1206. Other early instances of the
name in England are those of Sir Peter Scott, first
Mayor of Newcastle and Sir Nicholas Scott, his son.
Also Thomas Scott, afterwards Archbishop of York,
born 1424 at Rotherham or Rotheram, Yorkshire, the
name of Rotheram being assumed by him in place
of his family name. He was Master of Pembroke
College, Cambridge, also Chancellor of the Uni-
versity and was successively Bishop of Rochester,
Bishop of Lincoln and Archbishop of York. He re-
ceived the red hat from the Pope with the title of
Cardinal Ste. Ceciliae. He became Lord Chancellor
of England in 1475, being known as Lord Chancel-
lor Rotheram. He founded Lincoln College, Oxford,
and died of the plague in the year 1500.
ROM the sands of Solway to the mouth of
Tweed, stretches that land of minstrelsy
and romantic story, the borders of Scot-
land. A land of far flung hills and swift
and rocky streams, of purple heather and of lonely
wastes where even today the silence of the tarn and
the moorland is broken only by the cry of the wild
fowl or the bleat of the black faced sheep. Within
this border land, in wood girt tower and crag
bound reiver stronghold, flanked by the ravines of
Teviot and Tweed, of Ettrick and Yarrow,
"A hardy race who never shrank from war
The Scott, to rival realms a bar,
Here fixed his mountain home."
Between the Cheviots and the Lammermuirs lay
a thickly wooded country with cleugh and den closed
by precipitous cliffs, on whose rocky crests the
early Scotts built their peel towers and castles.
Here we find the Lairds of Branxholm holding a land
of hill and dale and many waters between Yarrow
and Teviot, upon a steep bank of the latter, partly
surrounded by the stream, being the House of
Branxholm. Another Scott held the wild lands of
"But what the niggard ground of wealth denied
From fields more bless'd his fearless arms supplied."
Two miles from the meeting of Borthwick burn
and Teviot, stands the House of Harden, on the
History of the Scott Family 21
brink of the deep and thickly wooded den from
which the name is taken. From Harden the Scott
country rises to the lands of Deloraine and Head-
shaw, while in the hills, above the junction of the
Clear burn and the Rankel burn is the old Tower
of Buccleuch, near the "cleuch" where, as already
told, the "buck was ta'en." Through the Ettrick
Forest and higher up on Ettrick stands Thirlestane,
another stronghold of the Scotts.
Such were some of the border fastnesses from
which the Scotts of old sallied forth across the
border to harry their English neighbors. On the
English side, in Cumberland and Northumberland,
we find the strongholds of the Dacres, Howards,
Grahams and Percys; the border castles of Na-
worth, Carlisle, Norham, Bamborough and Alnwick
being some of the stately seats which, today, re-
main a testimony to the respect paid by their build-
ers to the fighting qualities of the Scotts and like
unwelcome visitors from over the border. For cen-
turies the Scot or the Englishman whose lot was
cast within marching or riding distance of the
border was born a natural enemy to his neighbor
on the other side of the Cheviots, Liddell or Esk.
Border raids were the order of the day and no
greater security was found for kye or steer on
one side of the border than on the other. Scot
raided England and Englishman raided Scotland,
each doubtless feeling assured that he was fulfill-
ing a patriotic duty in despoiling those who would
not only as readily despoil him, but, at the same
time, were enemies of his country and legitimate
prey. Withal, the reckless, law-defying moss-trooper
and reiver was a brave, loyal and fair fighter. His
code of morality was,
22 History of the Scott Family
"The good old rule, the simple plan,
That they should take who had the powei
And they should keep who can."
and no disgrace or shame could, in his mind, attach
to a successful raid, well carried out in accordance
with the tenets of the border. We have told how
the spurs on an empty platter gave warning of
the empty larder of the Flower of Yarrow. No
whit behind were the ladies on the English side;
a naked sword lain on the table being the usual
intimation from the good wives of Cumberland that
a new supply of Scottish beef or Cheviot mutton
would be of material assistance in reducing the
medieval equivalent of the high cost of living.
Fierce and bloody was the fighting usually ac-
companying these border raids, and many a Scott
paid the penalty in fair fight, or said his neck verse
on Harraby Hill or the old oak which still over-
hangs Naworth's moat. Notwithstanding this al-
most constant state of warfare the men on either
side do not appear to have regarded each other
with that personal enmity which might have been
looked for. Friendly intercourse was frequent after
the most bitter fighting, and Froissart says that
"Englishmen on the one party and Scottes on the
other party, are good men of warre ; for when they
meet there is a harde fight without sparynge" but
that "whan they be well beaten and that the one
party hath obtained the victory, they then glorifye
so in their dedes of armes, and are so joyfull, that
such as be taken they shall be ransomed, or that
they go out of the fielde; so that shortly eche of
them is so content with other, that, at their de-
partynge, curtyslye they will say, God thank you."
History of the Scott Family 23
Unfortunately the lives thus lost at the hands of
their hereditary enemies were not the only toll taken
by these troublous times. Bloodshed was frequent
in the fighting with which the Scotts and other
border clans occupied the rare intervals of peace.
Remorseless feuds sprung from jealousies aroused
when one clan would be thought to be attaining too
much power, or arose from quarrels and insults
only to be wiped out by the death of the offender.
To avenge such a death was a matter of honor
with the Scott family, all border clans being alike
in their punctilious respect to the lex talionis. Of
such a nature was the feud between the House of
Scott and the House of Ker of Cessford. It is
not known how the feud between the two clans arose,
but the enmity of the Scotts and Kers had long
been smoldering, when in 1526, during a Justice
Court held at Jedburgh, the boy King, James V,
secretly wrote to Sir Walter Scott, "Wicked Wat
of Branxholm," bidding Sir Walter gather the
Scotts at Melrose to free him from the power of
Douglas, Earl of Angus, who had wed his widowed
mother. From Jedburgh the King rode to Melrose,
where, shortly after the escort of Kers and Howes
had taken their leave, the Scotts under Sir Walter
arrived a thousand strong. A fierce battle with
Douglas and his men was ended by the unexpected
appearance on the field of the returned Kers and
Howes; the Laird of Buccleuch and his force being
compelled to flee, "followed furiouslie" by the Kers.
At a rock, to this day known by the name of 'Turn
Again," Buccleuch's men rallied, and here Ker of
Cessford was slain and the chase seems to have
ceased. But in consequence of this battle there
24 History of the Scott Family
-ensued a deadly feud between the names of Scott
and Ker, which raged for many years upon the
borders. In the year 1535 we find Sir Walter im-
prisoned for levying war upon the Kers, and in
1552 the Kers carried "the furies of the border
var" to the streets of Edinburgh itself, where, in
the High Street, old Sir Walter was set upon by
a band of Kers and foully murdered. Quoting from
the words of another Sir Walter:
"When the streets of high Dunedin,
Saw lances gleam and falchions redden,
And heard the slogan's deadly yell;
Then the chief of Branksome fell."
"While Cessford owns the rule of Carr,
While Ettrick boasts the line of Scott;
The slaughtered chiefs, the mortal jar,
The havoc of the feudal war;
Shall never, never be forgot."
Many a Scott and many a Ker paid with their
lives for the deaths of Ker of Cessford and Scott
of Buccleuch before the feud was ended; for even
this fierce feud had an end and the time came
-when as told in Birch's Memorials "The fear of
the general trouble had reconciled them, and the
injuries which they thought to have committed
against each other were now transferred upon Eng-
land," and each clan "undertook more hazardous en-
terprises against the enemy than they would have
done if they had been at concord together."
Other feuds of the Scotts included that with the
Elliot clan, in consequence of the death of a Scott,
slain by an Elliot in 1564. Vindictively and furi-
ously was this quarrel pursued, the Scotts avenging
History of the Scott Family 25
the death upon the Elliots, and the Elliots returning
blow for blow. However, as in the case of the
Cessford feud, the common cause against their
neighbors on the English side of the border seems
to have had the effect of a peace-maker, for in 1601
the Warden of the Marches makes complaint that
"the Scotts and Elliots have again been spoiling
"All is dishonorabell quhair there is not eie for
eie and tuith for tuith," said Alexander Napier,
referring to another feud. In 1600, Scott of Bow-
hill was told by Archibald Napier of Merchiston
that one of his horses had been stolen. Presumably
the cap fitted, for Bowhill at once drew his sword
and called on young Napier to fight. The latter,
intending no insult, and surprised at the anger
of his friend, endeavored to avoid a meeting, but
was eventually compelled to fight the duel forced
upon him. Scott was slain and to avenge his death,
his brothers, and other Scotts, waylaid Napier near
Edinburgh and murdered him. The property of
the slayers was declared forfeit as rebels, until
Scott of Buccleuch, the chief of their clan, pro-
posed that they obtain pardon by payment to the
Napier family of One thousand pounds as compensa-
tion for the murder. This matter of a price for
the slaughter of a friend caused Alexander Napier
to express his opinion as above. Later in 1699,
William Scott of Thirlestane married Margaret,
Baroness Napier of Merchiston, and the present
Lord Napier and Ettrick takes descent from the
The quarrel between the Scotts and the Charltons
of Tynedale, in Northumberland, may also more
26 History of the Scott Family
properly be reckoned a feud, rather than ordinary
border warfare. This vendetta of Buceleuch's,
which lasted through several generations, appears
to have had its origin from the fact that "long
synce in warr tyme they took awaye his grand-
father's shworde and wold never lett him have itt
synce." And they never did ; the "shworde" remains
at Hesleyside in North Tynedale.
Sir John Scott of Thirlestane, an ancestor of
William Scott who married the Baroness Napier,
was granted arms and motto, as a pledge and token
of the "guid will and kyndness" of King James V.
Sir John was in possession of the estates of Thirles-
tane and Gamescleugh when, in June 1542, King
James assembled his nobility and their feudal re-
tainers at Fala Moor, with the intention of invad-
ing England in retaliation for the wrecking of
an abbey by the forces of the English King, Henry.
To the disappointment of King James, his nobles
obstinately refused to follow him over the border,
Sir John Scott alone declaring himself ready to
follow the King wherever he should lead, and with
his followers ranged himself under the King's ban-
ner. For this loyal conduct the King did "com-
mand and charge our lion herauld" to give and
grant to the family of Sir John a charter of arms,
entitling them to bear "ane border of ffleure de lises
about his coate of armes, sik as is on our royal
banner," with a bundle of spears for the crest and
the motto "Ready, aye ready."
'And hence, in fair remembrance worn,
Yon sheaf of spears his crest has borne;
Hence his high motto shines reveal'd
"Ready, aye ready" for the field.'
History of the Scott Family 27
In the reign of James I of Scotland (1406-1437),
Sir William Scott of Buccleuch exchanged, with
Sir Thomas Inglis, the estate of Murdieston, in Lan-
arkshire, for one-half of the barony of Branxholm, or
Branksome, lying upon the Teviot, about three miles
above the border town of Hawick. The remaining
half of the barony was, in 1443, granted by
James II to Sir Walter Scott and Sir David, his
son, as a reward for their services to the King,
against the house of Douglas, with whom King
James had been contending for the throne. Branx-
holm became the principal seat of the family of
Scott of Buccleuch, and the "ower word" or gather-
ing cry of the clan "Mount for Branxholm." The
castle was enlarged and strengthened by Sir David
Scott the grandson of Sir William. In 1570 it was
temporarily destroyed by the then Laird under the
following circumstances. The Earl of Northumber-
land, having assembled a strong force at Wark-
worth, crossed the border and proceeded up the
Valley of the Teviot to lay waste the lands of
Branxholm. He left not "one house, one stak of
corne, nor one shyef, without the gates of the
said Lord Buclough unburnt." Buccleuch, however,
rather than allow the castle to be despoiled by the
English, himself burned down the home of his an-
cestors. This foray of the Earl of Northumberland
was undertaken on behalf of the English Queen,
Elizabeth, who had been provoked by the frequent
raids of Buccleuch and especially by his espousal of
the cause of Queen Mary. Buccleuch quickly re-
taliated; for, with other border chiefs, he invaded
Northumberland and laying waste the country, re-
turned laden with spoil. He also, at once com-
28 History of the Scott Family
menced the rebuilding and enlarging of Branxholm ;
which work being uncompleted on his death in
1574, was finished by his widow, Dame Margaret of
Douglas. The following inscriptions still preserve
their memory. Upon a stone, bearing the arms of
Buccleuch, this legend appears, "Sir W. Scott, of
Branxheim, Knyt, oe of Sir William Scott of Kirk-
urd, Knyt, began ye work upon ye 24 of March,
1571 zier quha departit at God's pleisour ye 17th
April, 1574" and on a similar compartment are
sculptured the arms of Douglas, with this inscrip-
tion "Dame Margaret Douglas his spous completit
the forsaid work in October 1576." The Lairds of
Buccleuch observed much baronial magnificence at
Branxholm, maintaining a large household, both
probably from a desire for splendor, and on ac-
count of their border situation necessitating a
strong body of retainers.
In 1596 Sir Walter Scott, the then Laird of
Buccleuch, numbered among his many retainers a
celebrated border raider, Kinmont Willie. In March
of that year, a truce having been called with the
English for the purpose of a meeting of the War-
dens of the Marches, Buccleuch, being Warden of
Liddesdale, attended the meeting near Kershope-
foot, Kinmont Willie with other retainers accom-
panying him. Kinmont's frequent and successful
raids had made him an object of much dislike to
the English, and when riding home from the meet-
ing he was surprised and taken prisoner by Lord
Scrope's men, in direct violation of the border law
granting a full day's immunity to all present at a
Warden's meeting on a day of truce. Buccleuch
realized that he must strike at once or Kinmont
History of the Scott Family 29
Willie would hang at Carlisle. He gathered the
Scotts, Armstrongs, Elliots and Graemes, and al-
though he called for only the younger sons on such
a forlorn hope, Auld Wat of Harden and other elder
Scotts rode with their chief. They met at Einmont
Willie's tower, ten miles north of Carlisle, and in
a storm of wind and sleet, with scaling ladders
stormed the strongly fortified castle of Carlisle,
carrying out Kinmont Willie, fetters and all. King
James was compelled to accede to the constant de-
mands of Queen Elizabeth of England for the pun-
ishment of Buccleuch who was imprisoned by the
English Queen. Some two years after his imprison-
ment Buccleuch was asked by the Queen "How
dared you undertake an enterprise so desperate and
presumptous?" "Dared?" replied Buccleuch, "what
is it that a man dares not do?" "With ten thou-
sand such men," said Elizabeth, "our brother of
Scotland might shake the firmest crown in Europe."
The castle of Branxholm, and its immediate
neighborhood, is the scene of the "Lay of the
Last Minstrel," in which is described the trial by
single combat between Richard Musgrave and the
pseudo William Scott of Deloraine.
HERE are numerous branches of the
family of Scott. Reference having al-
ready been made in the preceding chap-
ters to the Scotts of Buccleuch and the
Scotts of Harden, the following branches may also
The Scotts of Balwearie trace their descent from
Sir Michael Scott who was knighted by Alexan-
der II, and was one of the assize upon a perambu-
lation of the boundary between the monastery of
Dunfermline and the lands of Dundaff in 1231. He
obtained the estates of Balwearie on his marriage
with the daughter and sole heiress of Sir Richard
Balwearie of Balwearie in the parish of Abbots-
hall. His son, Sir Michael, the famous wizard, of
whom we have already told, had two sons, Sir
Henry and Duncan, the latter being the owner of
lands in Forfarshire and ancestor of the Scotts in
the North of Scotland. The elder, Sir Henry,
died early in the reign of David II (1329-1371).
His son, Sir Andrew Scott, was killed at the taking
of Berwick by the Scots in 1355, leaving an infant
son, afterwards Sir William, who died towards the
end of the reign of Robert III. Sir Michael, his
son, was hostage for James I in 1424 and died
in the following reign. Sir Michael's son, Sir
William, married Isabel, daughter of Sir John Mon-
crief of that ilk, and with one daughter had two
sons, Sir William who succeeded him and Alex-
ander Scott of Fingask, Perthshire. The elder son,
History of the Scott Family 81
in February 1509, obtained a crown charter of the
lands of Strathmiglo, Fifeshire. The estate of
Strathmiglo had been held by the Scotts of Bal-
wearie, under the Earls of Fife, from about the
year 1251, and after the forfeiture of Murdo, Duke
of Albany, in 1424 under the crown. Sir William
accompanied James IV on his unfortunate expedition
into England in September 1513, and being taken
prisoner at Flodden was obliged to sell part of his
estates to pay his ransom. Later he was on two
occasions appointed a commissioner for effecting
a treaty of peace with England. Sir William was
nominated the first Senator, on the temporal side,
on the institution of the College of Justice in Scot-
land on 13th May 1532. He died shortly after his
appointment, leaving two sons, Sir William and
Thomas. The latter obtained a charter of the lands
of Pitgorno in 1526, and was named a Senator in
his father's place in November 1532. He was
appointed Justice Clerk by King James V in 1585
and died in 1539. The elder son, Sir William
Scott, married Isabel, daughter of Lord Lindsay of
the Byres and had two sons, Sir William and
Andrew, ancestor of the Scotts of Ancrum. Sir
William had two sons, Michael, who died in the
lifetime of his father and Sir William, who suc-
ceeded as Laird of Balwearie and Strathmiglo. His
son, Sir James, was one of the twelve gentlemen
knighted by James VI at the coronation of his
Queen, Anne of Denmark, in 1590. During his
time the barony of Strathmiglo was at its greatest,
but with him the wealth and dignity of the family
came to an end. He was involved with the Earls
of Angus, Errol and Huntly in their various re-
32 History of the Scott Family
bellions against James VI and was also connected
with the turbulent Earl of Bothwell. He was re-
peatedly fined for assistance given to this noble-
man in his attempts to gain possession of the
King's person between 1591 and 1594; and doubt-
less also paid heavily to the needy courtiers of the
King. He was obliged, from time to time, to sell
portions of his estate, until in 1600 the whole
barony of Strathmiglo was disposed of, excepting
the tower with the land and village adjoining.
The remaining portions of the barony were sold
either immediately before or after his death. He
had two sons, William and James. The former
predeceased his father, leaving a son, Walter, who
having been deprived of the estates through the
doings of his grandfather, entered the army and
died unmarried in Flanders, during the reign of
Charles I. James, the second son, purchased the
lands of Logie in Forfarshire and was the ancestor
of several families of Scott in that part of Scot-
land. His son, also James, acquired considerable
landed property and was enabled to leave an estate
to each of his sons; James Scott of Logie, Robert
Scott of Benholme, Hercules Scott of Brotherton,
Patrick Scott of Craig, John and David.
The Scotts of Ancrum, Roxburghshire, descend
from Andrew, the younger of the two sons of Sir
William Scott above mentioned. This Andrew Scott
lived in the time of Queen Mary and received from
his father the estates of Glendoich as life tenant,
the estates to revert to the family on his death.
He was also in possession of the lands of Kirkstyle,
Perthshire. His great-grandson, Patrick Scott, who
lived in the reign of James VI, sold Kirkstyle and
History of the Scott Family 33
purchased Langshaw in the south of Scotland, and
afterwards acquired the estates of Ancrum. His
son, Sir John Scott, obtained a charter under the
Great Seal, in 1670, of the lands and Barony of
Ancrum and was created a Baronet in 1671.
Reference has been made in Chapter I to the
Scotts of Harden. From Hugh, the third son of
Wat of Harden and his wife, the Flower of Yar-
row, the Scotts of Gala take descent. The Scotts
of Synton are descended from Francis, the fourth
son, who married Isabel, sister of Sir Walter Scott
The Scotts of Thirlestane, now represented by
Lord Napier, are descended from the Scotts of
Howpaisley, who got the estate of Thirlestane from
the Abbacy of Melrose. It has already been told
how Sir John Scott of Thirlestane earned arms,
crest and motto. From his third son Andrew (or
Arthur) are descended the families of Newburgh
The Scotts of Raeburn, as mentioned in Chap-
ter I, are descended from Walter, third son of Sir
William Scott, third Laird of Harden.
The Scotts of Tushielaw in Ettrick were at one
time a powerful section of the clan Scott; and like
all the race, were busy raiders and mosstroopers.
Their ancient Tower of Tushielaw is celebrated in
minstrelsy and tradition. Adam Scott of Tushie-
law, one of the most famous of their chiefs, was
known as the "King of the Thieves," or the "King of
the Border." His reiving and raiding proclivities
aroused the ire of James V, who, in 1528, made
proclamation to all lords, barons and gentlemen,
that they should "compear at Edinburgh with a
34 History of the Scott Family
month's victuals," to accompany him on an expedi-
tion to "danton the thieves of Teviotdale, Annan-
dale and Liddisdale." They seized Scott of Tushie-
law one morning before breakfast and summarily
hung him on an ash tree in front of his strong-
hold. The ash tree is said to be still standing
and is still called "Gallows Tree."
The Scotts of Malleny, Midlothian, branched off
from the house of Murdieston, before the ancestor
of the Buccleuchs exchanged that estate for half the
barony of Branxholm. James Scott of Scotsloch
was the first of the family to settle in Midlothian,
during the reign of Queen Mary. His son, Law-
rence Scott of Harprig, was clerk to the Privy
Council in the reign of Charles I. He had three
sons, William, his heir, James of Bonnytoun and
Lawrence, ancestor of the Scotts of Bavelaw. The
eldest, William, was knighted by Charles I in 1641,
and in June 1649 was appointed one of the Lords
Ordinary of Sessions, taking the title of Lord Clerk-
ington. His son John inherited from his father the
lands and Barony of Malleny, which became the
chief title of this branch of the Scott family. Gen-
eral Thomas Scott, a scion of the Malleny family
born in 1745 served, as Captain, with his regiment
in America from 1776 to 1788 and on his return
to Europe accompanied the Duke of York to
Flanders to oppose the French revolutionary forces.
He saw much service and died at the age of 96,
The Scotts of Duninald, in the Parish of Craig,
Forfarshire, descended from Patrick Scott of Craig,
born in 1623, the son of James Scott of Logic and
a descendant of the Scotts of Balwearie. At the
beginning of the 18th century, the adjoining estates
History of the Scott Family 35
of Duninald, Usan and Rossie were in the posses-
sion of three brothers of the name of Scott, who
had married three sisters, heiresses of these estates.
Upon the death of two of these brothers, the owners
of Duninald and Usan, Patrick Scott of Rossie,
the remaining brother, became possessed of the
three estates. His son, Robert, born in 1705, was
Member of Parliament for Forfarshire and repre-
sented that constituency for many years. It is told
of him that during the 1745 rising, he remained
a faithful adherent to King George, and that when
Prince Charlie's men arrived in Montrose, a party
of them went to Duninald House, threatening him
with death. The entreaties of his wife, Ann Mid-
dleton of Seton, described as a woman of fine ap-
pearance and manner, prevailed to save his life and
he was carried off a prisoner to the Montrose tol-
booth. He was set free on the arrival of the Duke
of Cumberland and died in 1780. He son, David
Scott of Duninald, married Louisa Jervis, a widow,
the daughter and co-heiress of William Delagard,
and died in 1805 leaving one son, David and three
daughters. Elizabeth, the other sister and co-heiress
of William Delagard, married James Sibbald of Sill-
wood Park, Sussex, who was created a Baronet in
1806. He died without issue in 1819, David Scott
of Duninald, the son of his wife's sister, becoming
heir to the title as Sir David Scott, second Baronet
of Sillwood Park.
The Scotts of Benholme, Forfarshire, and the
Scotts of Brotherton, Kincardineshire, are both
branches of the family of Scott of Logic ; the former
from Robert, the second son, and the latter from
Hercules, the third son of James Scott of Logie.
36 History of the Scott Family
Shortly before embarking at Montrose for France
in 1716, the Chevalier St. George, the Stuart claim-
ant of the throne, was concealed in the garden of
Brotherton, and the last night the Chevalier spent
in Scotland, he slept in the house of Scott of Logic.
The Scotts of Scotstarvet take descent from
David the second son of Sir David Scott, the eleventh
generation of the house of Buccleuch in the male
line. David Scott, known as of Allanbaugh and
Whitchester, lived in the reigns of James IV and V,
and died in 1530 leaving three sons, Robert, Alex-
ander and James. The youngest entered the Church,
becoming Provost of Corstophine and a Ltird of Ses-
sions on the spiritual side, on the institution of that
court in Scotland. Sir Alexander Scott, the second
son, was appointed Vice Register of Scotland by
King James V in 1534, and died in 1540. His son,
Robert Scott, who owned the lands of Knightspottie,
became Clerk of the Parliament and Director of
the Chancery in 1579. He had one daughter and
two sons, Robert and James of Vogrie. He re-
signed the office of Director of the Chancery, first
in favor of his elder son Robert, who predeceased
him in 1588, and secondly in favor of his step-
son, Sir William Scott of Ardross, to be held until
his grandson John, the son of Robert, came of age.
John, who later became the celebrated Sir John
Scott of Scotstarvet, was only seven years of age
on the death of his grandfather in 1592. On attain-
ing his majority, John obtained the office of Director
of the Chancery. By a charter dated 1611, he was
granted the lands of Tarvet in Fif eshire, the name
of which he changed to Scotstarvet. Appointed of
the Privy Council of King James VI, he was knighted
History of the Scott Family 37
by that King in 1617 and admitted an Extraordinary
Lord of Session in 1629, taking the judicial title
of Lord Scotstarvet. He was one of the many Lairds
and lawyers of Scotland, who accepted the covenant
and in November 1638 he declined to sign the King's
confession. In 1640 he was named one of the Com-
mittee of Estates for the defence of the realm, and
in 1641 the King created him a Judge ad vitam aut
culpam. On the occasion of the war with England,
he served on the War Committee in 1648 and 1649,
but was deprived of both the office of Judge and
Director of Chancery during the Commonwealth.
He made many appeals to be restored to the latter
office, but Cromwell, in 1652, bestowed it on Jeffrey
who held it until the Restoration. Through General
Monck, Scott again appealed to the Protector for
the reversion of the office if Jeffrey died. Instead
of reinstatement, Cromwell, in 1654, fined him
1,500, for his conduct in the war. Further, his
correspondence with Cromwell created a very un-
favorable impression on the Royalists, who, instead
of appointing him to office on the Restoration, fined
him 500. He retired to Scotstarvet, where he en-
gaged in literary work and died in 1670.
A lady of the Scotstarvet family deserves men-
tion, Majory, the daughter of David Scott of Scots-
tarvet, and great-granddaughter of the celebrated
Sir John. It has been said, that on her marriage
with Lord Stormont she took with her the ability
of the house, as she produced an illustrious Ohief
Justice, known as Silver Tongue Murray, who, it
was said, on the father's side sprung from an or-
dinary Scottish peer the eleventh of fourteen chil-
dren, raised on oatmeal porridge.
88 History of the Scott Family
The Scotts of Gala, Roxburghshire, are descended
from Hugh, the third son of Walter Scott of Harden,
"Auld Wat," and his wife the Flower of Yarrow.
Hugh Scott lived in the reigns of James I and
Charles I, being known as Scott of Deuchar. He
married Jean, eldest daughter of Sir James Hop-
Pringle of Galashiels, and had several sons, James,
his heir, Walter, George, the progenitor of the Scotts
of Auchty-Donald, John and David. Hugh Scott
died in 1640 and his eldest son, James, obtained a
charter, dated 9th June 1640, of the lands and
Barony of Gala. A descendant, John Scott of Gala,
was the intimate friend of his kinsman Sir Walter
Scott and accompanied him on his visit to the field
of Waterloo. His reminiscences of Sir Walter are
published in Lockhart's Life of Scott.
The Scotts of Hassendean, Roxburghshire, traced
descent from David Scott, who lived in the middle
part of the 15th century. He was the eldest son
of Sir William Scott of Kirkurd who, as before told,
exchanged Murdieston for Branxholm. A Scott of
Hassendean, Sir Alexander, fell at the battle of
Flodden, 1513, and among the border Barons who
in 1530 neglected to fulfill their bonds, there appears
a William Scott of Hassendean. It is also on record
that in 1564, David Scott, Laird of Hassendean, was
slain by William Elliot of Horsliehill. It is not
known at what date the male line of this branch
of the Scott family failed, but possibly on the death
of the said David Scott.
One of the most ancient branches of the Scotts
was that of Synton, descended from Walter Scott
of Synton, who lived in the reigns of Robert II
and III. George Scott was the last of the original
History of the Scott Family 39
family styled Synton, but, as we have seen, from
them are descended the Harden branch and from
the Synton family came also the Scotts of Sachells.
Sir William Scott, the founder of the Kentish
family of Scots Hall, was the son of John Scott,
seneschal of the manor of Brabourne, Kent. Sir
William was a Justice of the Common Pleas, ap-
pointed 1336, and knighted on the day Edward the
Black Prince was created Duke of Cornwall. He
died in 1350. The tradition is that Sir William was
descended from a younger brother of John de Baliol,
King of Scotland and of Alexander de Baliol, Lord
of Chilham, Kent. Family records show that in
1402, Peter de Coumbe made a settlement of the
Manor of Coumbe in Brabourne, on William Scott
who died in 1434. He is credited with the building
of the Hall, afterwards known as Scots Hall, and
had two sons, John and William. The latter, Lord
of the Manor of Woolstan and founded of the family
of Scott of Chigwell, died in 1491. The elder, Sir
John, Sheriff of Kent in 1460, was knighted and
made Comptroller of the Household by Edward IV
in 1461. He was also Lieutenant of Dover Castle,
Warden of the Cinque Ports and Marshal of Calais.
He died on 17th October 1489.
Other branches of the family of Scott include
the Scotts of Wauchope, descended from Howcleuch
and Crumbaugh, whose memorials are at Hawick.
Walter Scott of Wauchope was a friend of the poet
Burns. Also the Scotts of Whitehaugh and the
Scotts of Burnfoot, one of whom acquired the lands
of Headshaw by marriage. Also the Scotts of Mid-
dlestead, Kirkhouse, Huntly, Whitslade and Todrig.
The story of two brothers of the name of Scott,
40 History of the Scott Family
sons of a coal fitter at Newcastle, both of whom be-
came Judges and both of whom were raised to the
peerage, is worthy of a place in any record of the
family whose name they bore. Conjecture has en-
deavored to connect these brothers with the house
of Scott of Balwearie, but beyond the name, nothing
but tradition indicates such descent.
John Scott, Baron and afterwards Earl of Eldon,
Lord High Chancellor of England and William Scott,
Baron Stowell, his elder brother, were sons of
William Scott, who began life as apprentice to, and
later became principal in, a coal fitter's business at
Newcastle-upon-Tyne. William was born at He-
worth, in the County of Durham, on 17th October
1745 ; John at Newcastle on 4th June 1751 ; and both
boys were scholars at the old Grammar School at
Newcastle. William obtained a Durham fellowship
at University College, Oxford, but it was his father's
intention to apprentice John to his own business.
He, however, followed his brother to Oxford, where
he was entered at University College as a com-
moner, on May 15th 1766, his purpose then being
to study for the Church, with a view to obtain a
college living. He graduated B. A. in 1770 and in
1771 won the English Essay prize. Not until after
his marriage did John Scott turn his attention to
the study of the law, the summit of which profession
he was destined to attain. He married Elizabeth,
the beautiful daughter of a Newcastle banker, Mr.
Aubone Surtees. Young Scott's suit was strongly
opposed by Mr. Surtees who forbade the marriage,
but on the night of November 18th 1772, John Scott
carried off the lady across the border to Blackshiels,
where the marriage took place the following day.
History of the Scott Family 41
He became a student at the Middle Temple in Jan-
uary 1773 and in February of that year took the
degree of M. A. at Oxford. In 1776 he was called
to the bar, practicing in London and on the Northern
Circuit. His father died in the same year, leaving
him a legacy of 1,000 over and above 2,000 which
he had already received. His practice in London
increased slowly, but in 1780 his prospects were
suddenly improved by his appearance in the cele-
brated case of Ackroyd v. Smithson, which became
a leading case. Losing his point in the lower court,
Scott successfully argued it on appeal before Lord
Thurlow. He also appeared as counsel in several
election petitions, notably the Clitheroe petition. In
two years he took silk, becoming Kings Counsel.
Shortly after this he entered Parliament as a sup-
porter of Pitt and member for the Borough of Weo-
In 1788 he was knighted on being appointed Solici-
tor-General, and it is generally understood that he
drew the Regency Bill which was introduced in
1789. Promotion to the office of Attorney General
came in 1793 and while incumbent of this office
he conducted the memorable prosecutions for high
treason against the British sympathizers with the
French revolutionaries. In 1799 Sir John became
Chief Justice of the Court of Common Pleas, enter-
ing the House of Lords as Baron Eldon. In Febru-
ary 1801 Addington succeeded Pitt as Prime Min-
ister and Lord Eldon ascended the woolsack as Lord
High Chancellor of England. He sat for twenty-
six years as Lord Chancellor, from 1801 until 1806
and again from 1807 until 1827, the longest period
the Great Seal was ever held by one individual.
42 History of the Scott Family
Lord Eldon had been created Earl of Eldon by
George IV in 1821 ; in 1827, in the seventy-sixth year
of his age, he resigned the Chancellorship. His wife
died before him on 28th June 1831. They had two
sons, John who died in 1805 and William Henry
John who died in 1832. John, Earl of Eldon, him-
self died in London, aged eighty-seven, on the 13th
January 1838, leaving two daughters, Lady Frances
Bankes and Lady Elizabeth Repton, and a grandson
who succeeded him.
Lord Eldon's greatness as a Judge is universally
acknowledged and although he was said to be slow,
his judgments evinced great accuracy and a constant
anxiety to do justice. His manners were courtly
and winning, but he is said to have been parsimoni-
ous and his establishment and mode of life were
hardly in keeping with his high office. He enjoyed
a joke. On one occasion he challenged a poacher
on his estate who accosted him as "Old Bags keeper,"
but Lord Eldon told him he was "Old Bags himself."
The Bag Office was an office in Chancery from which
he derived his nick-name.
William, Baron Stowell, the other and elder of the
Scott brothers, was, as already mentioned, born on
17th October 1745. The fact that he was born in
the County of Durham, enabled him to qualify for
the Durham fellowship at University College, Ox-
ford, where he was appointed a tutor and eventually
became senior tutor of the College. In 1767 he took
the M. A. degree at Oxford, being elected Camden
reader in Ancient History. He was a friend of Dr.
Johnson and executor of his will. He had entered
as a student at the Middle Temple in 1762, but post-
poned his renewal from Oxford to London until
History of the Scott Family 43
1777. He was called to the bar in February 1780,
practicing in the Admiralty and Eccelesiastical
Courts, where his success has been described as
wonderful. In 1782 he received the Crown appoint-
ment of Advocate General for the office of the Lord
High Admiral. In 1783 he was appointed, by the
Archbishop of Canterbury, to the office of Registrar
of the Court of Faculties and in 1788 became Judge
of the Consistory Court of London. On September
3rd 1788 he received the honor of knighthood
and the same year was appointed Judge of the
High Court of Admiralty, also being sworn of the
Privy Council. He was Member of Parliament for
Oxford University from 1801 until, on the corona-
tion of George IV by patent dated 17th July 1821,
he was raised to the peerage with the title of Baron
Stowell of Stowell Park. In the same year his
brother John was created Earl of Eldon. Baron
Stowell ranks as among the most eminent of English
Judges and his services to maritime and interna-
tional law are unsurpassed. Lord Brougham said
of him, "There has seldom, if ever, appeared in the
profession of the law anyone so peculiarly endowed
with all the learning and capacity which can ac-
complish, as well as all the graces which can em-
bellish, the judicial character." He died on the 28th
Sir Walter Scott, born at Edinburgh on the 15th
August 1771, the most celebrated poet and novelist
of his day, described himself as "A Border Ministrel."
He came from a great fighting stock, being six gen-
erations removed from Auld Wat of Harden, tracing
his descent through the Scotts of Raeburn. His
father, Walter Scott, a writer to the signet in Edin-
44 History of the Scott Family
burgh, was the first of the family to leave the country
for the city; his mother was Anne, granddaughter
of Sir Walter Swinton and daughter of John Ruther-
ford, Professor of Medicine in the University of
Edinburgh, a scion of an old Border stock. Though
in boyhood Sir Walter's health was delicate, he at-
tended the High School and in 1783 entered the
University of Edinburgh. The precarious state of
his health continuing to interfere with his studies,
he devoted much time to his favorite subjects,
romantic lore, border history and poetry. He was
admitted a member of the Faculty of Advocates in
1792. The year 1796 saw the publication of his first
work, a translation of two of Burger's ballads en-
titled "Leonore" and "The Wild Huntsman." In
the autumn of 1797, while on a visit to Gilsland,
in Cumberland, he met his future wife, Charlotte
Charpentier, the daughter of a French refugee;
visitors to Gilsland, today, are shown the boulder in
the river, upon which Sir Walter and the lady are
said to have been seated, when he proposed mar-
riage, the rock being locally celebrated as "The
Popping Stone." They were married the same year.
His first large original work, "The Lay of the Last
Minstrel," appeared in 1805, the immediate and re-
markable success of the poem deciding Sir Walter
to devote himself entirely to literary work. "Mar-
mion" was published in 1809, "The Lady of the
Lake" in 1810, shortly after which he considered
his financial position sufficiently favorable to war-
rant his first purchase of land at Abbotsford, on the
south bank of the River Tweed, three miles above
Melrose. He had, however, hardly begun, in 1812,
his plans for building and laying out the estate,
History of the Scott Family 45
when the serious financial condition of Ballantyne
& Co., the publishing house with which he was con-
nected, brought him to the very verge of bankruptcy.
The crisis was temporarily averted by the help of
the publisher, Constable, and in July 1814 Scott's
first novel "Waverley" was published by that house,
without the name of the author being made known.
Curiosity as to the identity of "The Great Unknown"
kept alive the interest in his works and it was not
until 1827 that the secret of the identity of the
author of the Waverley novels was formally di-
vulged, though it had long been known to his
acquaintances. The building of the new house at
Abbotsford was completed in 1824, but Scott had
occupied his new home only one year, when the
estate was involved in debt connected with the fail-
ure of Ballantyne and Constable. From that time
he had a hard fight with evil fortune and disease,
but in the number of works produced, in speed of
production and diversity of subject he has never had
a rival. The Abbotsford estate was eventually re-
deemed by the fruit of his brain, but not in his life-
time. He died at Abbotsford on the 21st Septem-
ber 1832 and was buried at Dryburgh Abbey. His
eldest son, Walter, a Lieutenant-Colonel in the 15th
Hussars, succeeded to the Baronetcy conferred on
his father in 1820, the title becoming extant on his
death, while returning from India, in 1847. The
Scott Monument at Edinburgh was erected in 1846.
HILE Scott and Ker and Scott and Elliot
were still engaged in family feuds or
in spoiling their neighbors across the
Border, and Buccleuch, the head of the
clan, immolating his beloved Branxholm; while
Auld Wat of Harden was a "fyrebrande of the
Border"; adventurers from the old world were
opening up the wonders of the new land across the
Though the current of migration was slow in
the early years of the settlement of America, the
fact that members of the Scott family were among
the earliest colonists is evident by a comparison
of the dates of the first settlements with the time
of their arrival. In the year 1577 a patent of
colonization for Virginia was granted to Sir Hum-
phry Gilbert, and in 1585 one hundred and eight
settlers arrived under Sir Richard Grenville. The
first permanent English settlement, however, was
not until 1607, when a small body of colonists
founded Jamestown and other settlements along
the James River, later to become the Province
of Virginia. In the same year a small colony was
formed in what is now Maine, and from that date
onwards other communities were forming on the
Atlantic seaboard, the most important in New
England. New York was founded in 1614; while
the year 1620 saw the arrival of the historic
"Mayflower" and the founding of the Plymouth
History of the Scott Family 47
Colony, later to become merged in the Colony of
Massachusetts, which in 1629 obtained a royal
charter for the territory between the Merrimac
and Charles Rivers. Maryland was founded in
1632, being followed by other settlements until the
entire coast line north of Florida was occupied by
Having in mind the dates above mentioned, it
will be seen from the following account of some
of the first Scotts in America, that the name is
found at an early date in the records of the
newly founded settlements.
Early mention of the name is found in "The
Proceedings of the English Colonies in Virginia
since their first beginning from England in the
yeare of our Lord 1606, till this present 1612 with
all their accidents that befell them in their jour-
nies and discoveries," printed at Oxford in 1612.
It contains a list of 105 names entitled "The
names of them that were the first planters," among
whom is "Nic. Skot" otherwise Nicholas Scott.
Other early references are found in "Burk's Names
of the Adventurers for Virginia in 1620" which
includes three Scotts, Geo. Scott, Thomas Scott,
Edm. Scott; also in "A List of Names of the
Living in Virginia," dated 16th February 1623,
are Henry Scott and "at the Eastern shore" Walter
Scott and Goodwife Scott, the latter being a cus-
tomary method of recording a wife. In another
list of the inhabitants of "The Eastern Shore Ouer
the Baye" the entry is Walter Scott, Apphia Scott
and Percis Scott, the last named "borne in Vir-
A little later, mention is made of the coming
48 History of the Scott Family
of other Scotts; this time to New England. "A
note of the names and ages of all the passengers
which tooke shipping in the 'Elizabeth' of Ipswich
bound for New England the last of Aprill 1634"
includes Thomas Scott, aged 40, and his wife Eliza-
beth, with their children, Elizabeth nine years old,
Abigail seven and Thomas, six. Also Martha Scott,
aged 60, mother of the first named Thomas and
widow of Henry Scott of Rattlesden, Suffolk.
Thomas Scott and his family settled at Cambridge,
Massachusetts, later removing to the new settle-
ment of Ipswich, of which he was town officer
Another record relates to a Thomas Scott living
in Hartford in 1637. It is stated that he "was
k. 6th November 1643 careless by John Ewe for
wh. he was fin. 5 to the Col. and 10 to the wid."
In the records of the Colony of Massachusetts
Bay among "Psons made free the 7th of the 10th
month @ 1636," is Robert Scotte and at "A Court
of Assistants or Quarter Court held at Boston the
3d of the 10th mo. 1639," a Robert Scott was
one of a jury who acquitted Marmadake Peirce,
tried upon "suspition of murther."
Richard Scott was born in England at Glems-
ford, Suffolk, his father's family being an offshoot
of the family of Scots Hall. He landed at Boston,
having, probably, came over in the "Griffin" in
1633 or 1634. An entry in an old record, dated
November 24th 1634, states that he and another
"was lost in their way homewards and wandered
up and down six days and eat nothing. At length
they were found by an Indian being almost sense-
less for want of rest." He was admitted a mem-
History of the Scott Family 49
ber of the Boston Church on the 28th August
1634. He then appears in the Providence Planta-
tions, being described as "of Providence in ye
Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Planta-
tions." The Plantations comprised what is now
Woonsocket, Smithfield, Lincoln, North Providence,
Johnston and Cranston. His signature is attached
to the Providence Compact, dated 20th August
1637, and in the same year he married Catherine
Marbury. Scott prospered and sometime between
1640 and 1650 sold his property in Providence and
removed to his lands at Moshasuck. Both he and
his son John took an active part in the early
Indian fighting. In 1656 Christopher Holder, a
Quaker, arrived from England and Richard Scott
and his wife joined the new faith; Richard, it is
said, being the first Quaker convert in New Eng-
land. While on a visit to Christopher Holder at
Boston, in 1658, Catherine Scott, the wife, was
whipped with ten lashes for Quakerism; Chris-
topher Holder having already suffered the crop-
ping of one ear. Richard Scott was a representa-
tive in the General Assembly and died in 1681 or
1682. He had two sons and five daughters.
The register of the Honorable Artillery Company
of Boston recites that Robert Scott was enrolled
a member of that body in 1638, the Company then
being known as The Military Company of the
Massachusetts. This Robert Scott, an emigrant,
joined the First Church at Boston on 15th Decem-
ber 1633 and was admitted a freeman of the
Colony on the 6th December 1636. In 1637 he
was granted a "great lot for twelve heads" at
the Mount, obtaining an additional grant of 200
50 History of the Scott Family.
acres in 1640. He was clerk to the Honorable
Artillery Company in 1645. The Town Records
in 1649 refer to him as "Sergaint" and as "Ensign"
in 1652. He died in 1654.
Captain John Scott, known also as Scott of
Long Island, at one time claimed to be the owner
of "near one third part" of the Island. According
to his own account, he was the son of an Eng-
lishman of some fortune; also, that for cutting
the bridles and girths of the Parliamentary Troops
at Turnham Green, when the King's forces were
at Brentford in 1642, he was brought before a
Parliamentary Committee and, with other children,
sent to New England under the care of Edmond
Dowling in 1643. Scott was placed with a settler
named Laurence Southwick. His master, after
suffering imprisonment and being fined and
whipped during the Quaker persecution, was, in
1659, banished from the Colony of Massachusetts
and fled for safety to Shelter Island. The fol-
lowing year Scott "caused much embarrassment to
the people of Southampton" by selling to the colo-
nists land which he claimed to have bought from
the Indians, which claim was afterwards found
to be fraudulent. In 1661 he was back in London;
attracted by the news of the Restoration, return-
ing to Long Island in 1662. A second journey
to London was undertaken in order to obtain a
letter from the King in relation to the Narraganset
lands, and, while in London, Scott petitioned the
Crown that he be appointed Governor of Long
Island, supporting his prayer by allegations against
various persons and complaints of the intrusion
of the Dutch into the Island. In answer to his
History of the Scott Family 51
petition, the Committee ordered "Capt. Scott, Mr.
Maverick and Mr. Baxter to draw up a report of
the intrusions and make them acknowledge or
submit to the King's Government; or expulse
them." Scott was well received on his return to
Massachusetts, his expenses paid and an armed
force furnished him, with which he went to Long
Island. In consequence of Scott's announcement
that the King had granted the Island to the Duke
of York, a number of Long Island communities
decided to reject union with any other Colony,
empowering Scott, as President, to provide for
the public safety. Scott claimed authority over
the whole of the Island, but later, in fear of
imprisonment, escaped and joined the English
forces. A complaint was again lodged that "Scott
according to his wonted course" was creating dis-
turbance. In 1665, we find that Col. Nicholls, the
Deputy Governor appointed by the Duke of York,
had lost all confidence in Scott, whom he de-
scribes as "a man born to mischief," and more
complaints arising, Scott fled to the Barbadoes.
Nothing certain is known of his subsequent career.
Among the settlers at Gravesend, Long Island,
in 1646, appears the name Rodger Scott, and the
records of the same settlement show that William
Scott was the buyer of a house and garden on 31st
May 1660. This is believed to be the same William
Scott who obtained a license to marry Abigail
Warner in 1678. He removed to Shrewsbury, New
Jersey, in 1682 or 1683, obtaining two patents for
land in that township in the year 1688. He was
a farmer and one of the Society of Friends. He
had five sons and a daughter and died some time
prior to 1707.
52 History of the Scott Family
Other records of this period tell us that "At
a small Court at Boston the 28th of the 5th mo.
1642," Margaret Stephenson was judged at liberty
to be married to Benjamin Scott. Also that
Edmund Scott settled in New England in 1649,
becoming a freeman in 1669. He was an original
proprietor of Waterbury and died there in 1699.
In 1651, Edward Scott asked for a grant of land
at New London "yet did not improve it" and
went to Hadley in 1662. At the latter place a
marriage was recorded in 1670 between Edward
Scott and Elizabeth Webster.
Among the early settlers at Springfield in the
Colony of Massachusetts was one John Scott. He
married Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Margaret
Bliss, on the 26th July 1659. It is probable
that he and William Scott of Hatfield, men-
tioned later, were brothers and emigrated together.
In 1664 John Scott bought a tract of land on the
Agawam River and a record of the same year
states, "The Jury also presented Captain Pynchon
and John Scott for not mayntayning their fences
on the west side of the river." He took part in
the Falls fight with the Indians in 1676, and was
still a citizen of Springfield when he took the oath
of allegiance in 1678, but shortly after obtained
a grant of land at Suffield to which he removed
and died there on 2nd January 1690. He had
About the year 1668 William Scott came to
Hatfield in the Colony of Massachusetts, but there
is no record to tell from whence he came. It
is probable, as before mentioned, that he and John
Scott of Springfield were brothers who had emi-
History of the Scott Family 53
grated from the old country. On 8th August 1670,
William Scott was assigned a lot of 20 rods in
width "on the east side of the street near the
north end of the street," opposite Sergeant Wait's
property ; and in the same year he married Hannah,
daughter of Lieutenant Allis of Hatfield. Another
grant of land and a division in the commons were
granted him in 1671. William Scott's house at
the north end of the street was outside the
palisaded inclosure and undoubtedly suffered when,
in 1675, Indians numbering nearly 800 attacked
the settlement with the intention of destroying it.
The attack was, however, expected; the Indians
being driven off after hard fighting. A curious
record dated 1673, tells us that Hannah Scott,
William's wife, and five other Hatfield women
were fined for wearing silk contrary to the law.
William Scott took part in the battle with the
Indians at Turner's Falls on 19th May 1676 when
the red men were utterly defeated, though many
Colonists were killed, including Scott's brother-in-
law, William Allis, Jr. Scott was again among
the defenders, when the Indians attacked on 19th
September 1677, killing twelve settlers and taking
seventeen captive; the latter being all redeemed
with the exception of three whom the Indians had
already killed. The same year the General Court
at Boston showed their appreciation of the part
William Scott had taken in the fighting, awarding
him two pounds sixteen shillings for military ex-
penses. He had ten children and died about 1718,
leaving considerable landed property.
One year before Charles II granted a charter to
William Penn for the Province of Pennsylvania,
54 History of the Scott Family
Hugh Scott, in 1670, settled in Chester County.
He was born in the north of Ireland of Scottish
A New York Council Minute, dated 4th August
1677, states that Benjamin Scott, and others named,
came before the Council, "Informing the Governor
of their being lately come from England in the
good ship 'The Kent* now riding in the Bay near
Sandy Hoeck." Benjamin Scott, who came from
Widdington, England, was one of the commission-
ers of the London Quakers, who, with some Quakers
from Yorkshire, founded Burlington, New Jersey.
He is included in the list of "Magistrates of West
New Jersey, commission being the first dated
The third son of the first Sir John Scott of
Ancrum, Captain John Scott, came to New York
from Scotland about 1690. He was probably an
officer in the Army, as in 1717 he was in command
of Fort Hunter, at the mouth of the Scoharie
Creek. His son John was a prominent merchant in
Notwithstanding that the following hardly tends
to enhance the reputation of the name, it indicates
that even at so early a date a Scott was extensively
engaged in tobacco planting. In 1692 Jane Scott
of "Elizabeth City County," Virginia, complained
to a Justice of the Peace that her husband was
not contributing to the support of herself and
child. An order was promptly made that Scott,
her husband, at once pay her fifteen hundred
pounds of tobacco.
Three generations of one family of Scott form
links connecting an old Manse in the north of
History of the Scott Family 55
Scotland, with the erection of the Capitol to be
occupied by the Congress of the new nation. The
Rev. John Scott, born 1650 died 1726, of the
Parish of Dipple in the Presbytery of Elgin, Moray-
shire, had two sons, Alexander and James, who
leaving the old country settled in the Colony of
Virginia. Alexander Scott was ordained and
licensed for Virginia by the Bishop of London in
1710, in which same year he arrived in the Colony,
residing on an estate he named Dipple, in memory
of the old home in Scotland. He was Rector of
Overwharton Parish, Stafford County, for "near
28 years," and is mentioned as being present at
a convention of the Virginia clergy at William
and Mary College. He died without issue in 1738.
His brother, the Rev. James Scott, whom he had
invited to Virginia, inherited the Dipple estate, but
removed to Prince William County, where he died
in 1782 leaving nine children. His son, Hon.
Gustavus Scott, born 1753, went to Maryland
where he was chosen a delegate from Somerset
County to the Provincial Convention at Annapolis,
22nd June 1774; also was one of the Association
of Freemen who, in July 1775, determined to
abolish the proprietary government of Maryland.
Later he became a member of the Maryland Legis-
lature. Removing to Georgetown, the Hon. Gus-
tavus Scott was, in 1795, appointed by the City
of Washington a commissioner to superintend the
erection of the National Capitol. He died at Wash-
ington, D. C., in 1801.
HE year 1774 was a fateful year in
the history of the American Colonies. It
witnessed the meeting of the First Con-
tinental Congress, held in the City of
Philadelphia, on the 5th day of September 1774;
this Congress being the initial step towards the
conflict which was to wrest the Colonies from the
rule of the English King.
Sprung from a fighting stock, it is only to be
expected that the men of the name of Scott were
to be found among the sturdy farmers and hardy
settlers, who, through the long years from 1775
to 1783, faced the soldiers of England and fought
for the right of self-government.
The two members of the Scott family whose
names are most prominent in the records of the
Revolutionary War were Brig.-General Charles
Scott and Brig.-General John Morin Scott. The
former was a native of Cumberland County in
Virginia, where he raised the first Company of
Volunteers in that State, south of the James River,
that entered the Continental service. He was ap-
pointed Lieut.-Colonel of the 2nd Virginia Regi-
ment in February 1776 and, in May of the same
year, Colonel of the 5th Virginia Regiment. Scott
was in command of Virginian troops when, on
Christmas night, 1776, Washington recrossed the
Delaware to attack Trenton, completely surprising
and routing the Hessians. In April of the fol-
History of the Scott Family 57
lowing year, Congress appointed him a Brigadier-
General in the Continental Army, and when Wash-
ington marched to Princeton with the main army,
General Scott, with chosen troops, was detailed to
harass and retard the enemy. He commanded a
brigade at the Battle of Germantown, later going
into winter quarters with Washington during the
trying winter of 1777-78 at Valley Forge. He
was also at the Battle of Monmouth in 1778 with
express orders "to hold his position," and at the
Court Martial for the trial of Major-General
Charles Lee, convened at Brunswick, 4th July
1778, General Scott gave evidence as to having
heard Washington instruct General Lee to attack.
Taken prisoner at Charleston on 12th May 1780,
General Scott was on parole at the end of the
War. He settled in Woodford County, Va., in
1785, but again went on active service, being pres-
ent at the defeat of St. Clair in 1791, and com-
manding a section of Wayne's Army at the Battle
of The Fallen Timber in 1794. He was Governor
of Kentucky from 1808 to 1812 and died on the
20th October 1820, aged 74.
Brigadier-General John Morin Scott was de-
scended from the Scotts of Ancrum. Born in 1730,
after graduating at Yale he adopted the profession
of the law. He was defeated in the election for the
General Congress of 1774, mainly on account of
his active advocacy of extreme measures, but was
an influential member of the General Committee
of New York in 1775; also a member of the Pro-
vincial Congress of that year. Commissioned a
Brigadier-General of New York Militia on 9th
June 1776, he commanded a brigade in the Battle
58 History of the Scott Family
of Long Island, and was one of the Council of
War summoned by Washington after the battle. He
served later with General Heath in Westchester
County, being wounded at White Plains on 28th
October 1776. He left the army in March 1777
when appointed Secretary of New York State. He
was a Delegate from New York to the Continental
Congress from 1780 until 1783 and died on the
14th September 1784, being buried in Trinity
Churchyard, New York City.
In the List of Continental Army Officers, the
following of the name of Scott are mentioned as
holding commissions in that section of the forces
Brigadier-General Scott, above mentioned.
Brigadier-General John Morin Scott, above men-
Lieutenant-Colonel William Scott, 2nd South
Carolina Regiment, acted as Volunteer in com-
mand of marines on board the schooner "Defence"
for which Congress accorded him a Vote of Thanks ;
in command of Fort and made prisoner on the
capitulation of Fort Moultrie, 14th September 1780,
exchanged and served until end of war.
Major William Scott, 1st New Hampshire Regi-
ment, and 16th Continental Infantry, wounded and
Major Joseph Scott, Sr., commissioned Lieutenant
in 1st Virginia Regiment, 16th September 1775,
Brigade-Major to General Muhlenberg, 28th Au-
gust 1777, wounded at Germantown, but served
until end of war. Joseph Scott, Jr., is mentioned
Captain William Scott, 3rd Georgia Regiment
History of the Scott Family 59
Captain John Day Scott, Smallwood's Maryland
Regiment, killed at White Plains, 28th October
Captain William Scott, Lieutenant in Sargent's
Massachusetts Regiment, taken prisoner at Bunker
Hill 1775, exchanged, Captain in Henley's Conti-
nental Regiment 1777, transferred to Jackson's
Captain David Scott, 13th Virginia Regiment.
Captain George Scott, Lieutenant in Stephenson's
Virginia Rifle Company, Captain Virginia Militia.
Captain Joseph Scott, Jr., commissioned Lieu-
tenant in 1st Virginia Regiment, 21st January 1776,
Captain, 12th May 1780, and served until end of
Captain James Scott, Virginia Militia.
Captain William Scott, Thurston's Continental
Captain Ezekiel Scott, 2nd and 22nd Continental
Captain Jeremiah Scott, Rhode Island Militia.
Captain William Scott, Clotz's Pennsylvania Bat-
talion of the Flying Camp, taken prisoner at Fort
Washington, 16th November 1776.
Captain John Budd Scott, 2nd New Jersey Regi-
Lieutenant Benjamin Scott, 2nd New Jersey
Lieutenant John Eppis Scott, 15th Virginia Regi-
ment, later known as llth Virginia Regiment.
Lieutenant Walter Scott, a Virginia State Regi-
Lieutenant John Scott, Lancaster Co., Pennsyl-
60 History of the Scott Family
Lieutenant Joseph James Scott, South Carolina
Rangers, wounded at Black Mingo, 14th September
Cornet Charles Scott, 1st Continental Dragoons,
also Baylor's Regiment of Dragoons.
Ensign James Scott, 7th and 4th Massachusetts
Ensign John Scott, 2nd Virginia and 1st Vir-
Ensign William Scott, 4th Virginia Regiment.
Chaplain Alexander Scott, 1st Georgia Regiment.
Hospital Physician and Surgeon Moses Scott.
Surgeon's Mate Calvin Scott, 8th Massachusetts
From the above names of officers it will be
noted that commissioned officers of the name of
Scott represented eleven of the then thirteen States :
Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, Virginia, Con-
necticut, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, New Jersey,
New York, South Carolina and New Hampshire.
In addition to the officers in the Continental
Army, the family name was equally well repre-
sented in the other troops of the different States.
A notable example was the Company of Minute
Men raised by Captain William Scott of Peter-
borough. This Company marched on 20th April
1775 in response to the alarm of 19th April and
included seven Scotts: Captain William Scott in
command, Lieutenant William Scott, Corporal
James Scott and Privates Thomas Scott, John
Scott, William Scott and David Scott. It is not
possible to make individual mention of each hardy
hero of the name of Scott, who braved the horrors
of that memorable war and shared the honor of
History of the Scott Family 61
the ultimate victory. There were 150 soldiers and
sailors from the one Colony of Massachusetts alone !
From little Vermont came 26, from Connecticut 36,
from New York 80, and from each of the thirteen
States the old fighting stock came forth to battle.
Mention may, however, be made of the following
who, among others of the name, served as officers
in the Militia and Levies of the States: Major
Abraham Scott of Colonel Jacob Cook's Battalion,
at Battle of Brandywine, September 1777, Battle
of Germantown and in the Jersey Campaign;
Major Ezekiel Scott, New York; Captain Samuel
Scott, Vermont; Captain Daniel Scott, 2nd Lin-
coln Co., Massachusetts Militia; Captain William
Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Captain John Scott,
New York; Captain John Scott, Massachusetts
Militia; Captain William Scott, Virginia; Lieuten-
ant John Scott, Vermont Militia; Lieutenant Jon-
athan Scott, Vermont Militia; Lieutenant David
Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant James
Scott, Brigantine "Freedom"; Lieutenant John
Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant Moses
Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant William
Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant Ezekiel
Scott, Westchester County Militia; Lieutenant Ben-
jamin Scott, New Hampshire; Lieutenant John
Scott, New Hampshire; Ensign Jonathan Scott,
Connecticut ; Ensign James Scott, 7th Massachusetts
On the retirement of Brigadier-General John
Morin Scott from the office of Secretary of New
York State, he was succeeded by his son, John
Allaire Scott, whose only son, John Morin Scott,
born 1789, served in the War of 1812 as Lieutenant
62 History of the Scott Family
Two Delegates of the name of Scott were mem-
bers of the Continental Congress, Brigadier-General
John Morin Scott, Delegate from New York, 1780-
1783 and Gustavus Scott, Delegate from Mary-
The outstanding figure, both in the War of
1812 and the Mexican War, 1846-1848, was Major-
General Winfield Scott. He was born at Laurel
Branch, near Petersburg, Dinwiddie County, Vir-
ginia, on 18th June 1786. His father, William
Scott, served in the Revolutionary War as Lieuten-
ant and afterward Captain in a Virginia Com-
pany. His grandfather, James Scott, claimed de-
scent from the Scotts of Buccleuch, and having
espoused the cause of the Pretender to the Eng-
lish throne, after the defeat at Cullsden, escaped
to Virginia in 1746. Winfield Scott was educated
at William and Mary College, afterward being ad-
mitted to the bar. The prospect of a war with
Great Britain being imminent, he received his
commission as Captain of Artillery in May 1808.
On the formal declaration of war, 18th June 1812,
Scott was assigned to the 2nd Artillery stationed
at Black Rock for the protection of the Navy
Yard. In March 1813 he was appointed Ad-
jutant-General with the rank of Colonel, about the
same time being promoted to be Colonel of his
Regiment. On 9th March 1814 he was appointed
to the rank of Brigadier-General and on 5th July
of the same year won the Battle of Chippewa.
He was severely wounded in the Battle of Lundy's
Lane, but on the 16th of the following October
assumed command of the Tenth Military District
with headquarters at Washington.
History of the Scott Family 63
Congress passed a joint resolution complimenting
General Scott for his skill and gallantry in the
Battles of Chippewa and Niagara, further pre-
senting him with a gold medal. The Legislatures
of Virginia and New York also passed resolutions
of thanks. The treaty of peace being signed in
December 1814, General Scott was offered the
appointment of Secretary of War, but having de-
clined on the ground that he was too young, was
intrusted with an important mission to Europe.
On his return, in 1816, he was appointed to the
command of the seaboard with headquarters in the
City of New York. General Scott married Maria
D., daughter of Colonel John Mayo of Richmond,
Virginia, on the llth March 1817. In 1829 he was
assigned to the command of the Eastern Depart-
ment, and in 1832 and following years was em-
ployed in operations against the Indian tribes. On
November 23rd, 1846 he was ordered by Secretary
of War Marcy to take command of the forces
assembled in Mexico. He landed at Vera Cruz
in March 1847, the city capitulating to him the
same month. In April of the same year he won
the Battle of Cerro Gordo, in August the Battle
of Cherubusco, following up these successes with
the Battles of Molino del Rey and Chapultepec.
On September 14th General Scott hoisted the colors
of his country in the capital of Mexico and on
the palace of its government, later concluding an
advantageous peace. Congress again voted Gen-
eral Scott a gold medal. From 1841 to 1861, Gen-
eral Scott was General Commander of the United
States Forces, but on the outbreak of the Civil
War was too infirm to take actual command and
64 History of the Scott Family
resigned November 6th 1861. He died at West
Point on the 29th May 1866 and was buried
June 1st in the West Point Cemetery. He had
eight children, Virginia, who died unmarried;
Cornelia, who married Colonel Henry Lee Scott,
Adjutant-General to General Scott for many years;
Camilla, married Gould Hoyt of New York; Ella,
married Carroll McTavish; and two sons and two
daughters who died before reaching maturity.
General Scott was on two occasions an unsuc-
cessful candidate for the Presidency, in his auto-
biography thanking God for his political defeats.
He was of commanding presence, six feet five
inches in height, stately in has manners and ex-
acting in his discipline, with that power which
Carnot calls "the glory of the soldier and the
strength of armies." In the words of his friend
General Wilson, "He has bequeathed to his country
a name pure and unspotted a name than which
the Republic has few indeed that shine with a
brighter luster, and a name that will go down to
future generations with those of the greatest cap-
tains of the nineteenth century."
Among the officers in the Regular Army during
the war with Mexico, were the following of the
name of Scott:
Colonel Henry Lee Scott, North Carolina, son-
in-law of General Winfield Scott, also aide-de-camp,
mentioned for gallant and meritorious conduct in
the Battles of Contreras, Cherubusco, and Chapul-
tepec, Inspector General United States Army,
Major John B. Scott, Connecticut, mentioned for
Colonel 14th May 1861, retired for physical de-
bility 30th October 1861.
History of the Scott Family 65
gallant and meritorious conduct in the Battles of
Palo Alto and Resaca de la Palma.
Major John M. Scott, Kentucky, mentioned for
gallant and meritorious conduct in the several con-
flicts at Monterey.
Major Martin Scott, Vermont, mentioned for
gallant and meritorious conduct in Battles of Palo
Alto, Resaca de la Palma and Monterey, killed at
the head of his regiment in the Battle of Molino
del Rey, 8th September 1847.
Captain (afterward Major-General) Robert K.
Captain Henry Scott.
Captain Alexander Scott, Georgia.
Lieutenant Samuel C. Scott, Louisiana.
Lieutenant William H. Scott, Missouri, mentioned
for gallant and meritorious conduct at Battles of
Contreras and Cherubusco.
Lieutenant David Scott, Infantry.
Among officers of the name of Scott who served
during the Mexican War with the troops of the
different States, were: Captain Robert G. Scott,
1st Virginia Infantry; Captain Robert K. Scott,
1st Pennsylvania Infantry; Lieutenant Alexander
Scott, Pennsylvania Infantry; Lieutenant Charles
G. Scott, 7th New York Infantry; Lieutenant
Cyrus A. Scott, 4th Kentucky Infantry; Lieutenant
John Scott, 3rd Missouri Infantry; Lieutenant Nar-
borne B. Scott, Kentucky Cavalry; Lieutenant
Robert C. Scott, 4th Illinois Infantry; Lieutenant
Walter F. Scott, Arkansas Volunteers; Lieutenant
William A. Scott, 1st Virginia Infantry; Lieuten-
ant William W. Scott, Florida Volunteers.
In February 1861, two Presidents, Lincoln and
66 History of the Scott Family
Davis, left their homes and set out, the one for
Washington and the other for Montgomery. Early
the same month the Confederate States had been
formed. At half past four on the morning of
April 12th, the first shell burst over Fort Sumter,
inaugurating four years of Civil War.
In the Official Records of the Union and Con-
federate Armies, there are 322 entries of the
name of Scott, but these entries do not by any
means indicate the total number of Scotts en-
rolled. The Union records are said to be to a
great extent complete, but those of the Con-
federacy are in many respects deficient. Further,
some of the States and Territories to whom no
quotas were assigned, furnished men and many
men were enrolled on short enlistments. It is
especially worthy of note that the plan of pub-
lication of the Official Records was drawn up by
a Scott, Lieutenant-Colonel Robert N. Scott, being
engaged on the work from 1877 until 1887. Lieu-
tenant-Colonel Robert Nicholson Scott was born at
Winchester, Franklin County, Tennessee, January
21st 1838, the son of W. A. Scott, D.D. Com-
missioned Lieutenant in 4th Infantry, January 1857
and Captain 1861, in which latter year he joined
the Army of the Potomac. Colonel Scott was
wounded and mentioned for gallant and meritori-
ous service in the Battle of Gaines Mill, 27th
June 1862; also was Assistant Adjutant-General
in the formation, by General Casey, of the Pro-
visional Brigades and Divisions. Was Senior Aide-
de-Camp to General Halleck and served at the siege
of Yorktown. Major 1879 and Lieutenant-Colonel
1885. Died 1887.
History of the Scott Family 67
Among officers named Scott in the United States
Army in the Civil War were: Lieutenant-General
Winfield Scott; Major-General Robert K. Scott;
Brigadier-General George Washington Scott; Briga-
dier-General Rufus Scott; Lieutenant-Colonel
George Edward Scott; Lieutenant-Colonel Henry
Bruce Scott; Lieutenant-Colonel Robert N. Scott;
Lieutenant-Colonel William H. Scott; Major George
E. Scott; Captain David Wilson Scott; Captain
Douglas Marshall Scott; Captain James Robert
Scott; Captain James W. Scott; Captain Jesse E.
Scott; Captain John N. Scott; Captain Winfield
Scott; Lieutenant Harry E. Scott; Lieutenant John
Scott; Lieutenant David Inglis Scott; Lieutenant
Eben G. Scott.
In addition to the numbers of Organizations
which were raised in the States and Territories
during the war, the President ordered drafts and
called for large bodies of Volunteers. The List
of Field Officers of these Volunteer and Militia
Forces contain the names of several Scotts : Colonel
George W. Scott, 61st New York Infantry; Colonel
Harvey D. Scott, Indiana Militia; Colonel John
Scott, Missouri Militia; Colonel John Scott, 32nd
Iowa Infantry; Colonel Joseph R. Scott, 19th
Illinois Infantry; Colonel Robert K. Scott, 68th
Ohio Infantry; Colonel Thomas Scott, 19th Mis-
souri Militia; Colonel William T. Scott, 3rd Ken-
tucky Infantry; Colonel William W. Scott, 43rd
Pennsylvania Militia; Lieutenant-Colonel Alexan-
der Scott, 5th West Virginia Cavalry; Lieutenant-
Colonel Charles Scott, 6th New Hampshire In-
fantry; Lieutenant-Colonel Donald D. Scott, 17th
Wisconsin Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel George H.
68 History of the Scott Family
Scott, 83rd Indiana Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel
Henry B. Scott, 4th Massachusetts Cavalry; Lieu-
tenant-Colonel Isaac W. Scott, 5th Kentucky Cav-
alry; Lieutenant-Colonel Jefferson K. Scott, 59th
Indiana Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel John W.
Scott, 3rd Wisconsin Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel
Newton G. Scott, 46th Indiana Infantry; Lieuten-
ant-Colonel Oliver H. P. Scott, 48th Iowa Infantry;
Lieutenant-Colonel Rufus Scott, 19th New York
Cavalry; Major Eli F. Scott, 83rd Pennsylvania
Infantry; Major George E. Scott, V. R. C.; Major
James N. Scott, 1st Ohio Cavalry; Major Michael
Scott, 29th Pennsylvania Infantry; Major Walter
F. Scott, 120th New York Infantry; Major Wil-
liam Scott, 8th United States Coast Artillery;
Major William F. Scott, 183rd Ohio Infantry;
Major John Scott, Illinois Volunteers.
Major-General Robert K. Scott was the third
in succession in a direct line of Scotts who served
in the wars of this country. His grandfather,
Robert Scott, entered the Colonial Army and served
through the war of the Revolution; his father,
John Scott, served in the War of 1812. Major-
General Robert K. Scott was born in Armstrong
County, Pennsylvania, July 8th 1826. On the out-
break of the Civil War he was appointed Major,
with instructions to organize the famous 68th
Regiment of Ohio Volunteers. He took part in
the reduction of Fort Donelson, the two days Battle
at Pittsburg Landing and the siege of Corinth,
and in July 1862 was promoted to the rank of
Colonel. On October 3rd he was assigned to a
Brigade and took part in the Battle of Hatchie
River, receiving honorable mention for gallant con-
History of the Scott Family 69
duct and promotion to the command of a Brigade.
Was in action at Port Hudson, Raymond, Jackson
and Champion Hills. He was with General Sher-
man on his march to the Sea and was brevetted
Major-General for his conduct as an officer. In
1868 and 1870 was elected Governor of South
Carolina. He died at Napoleon, Ohio, 13th August
In the other branch of the service of the Union
Forces, the name of Scott was represented with
equal credit by Rear-Admiral Gustavus Hall Scott,
United States Navy. He was born in Virginia
1812, Midshipman 1828, Lieutenant 1841, Captain
1863, Rear-Admiral 1869. Commanded steamer
"Keystone State" 1861, Gunboat "Maratanza" N.
A. B. Squadron 1862-'3, Steamer "De Soto" 1864,
Steamship "Canandaigua" Blockade Squadron 1865
and "Saranac" Pacific Squadron 1866-'7, Rear-
Admiral Scott was Commander-in-Chief of the
North Atlantic Squadron until his retirement on the
13th June 1874. He died at Washington, D. C.,
23rd March 1882.
Captain Francis M. Scott was with the Indiana
Volunteers in the first battle of the war at Phil-
lippi, West Virginia, on 3rd June 1861, when
Volunteers from Indiana, West Virginia and Ohio
opposed the Confederate forces. He was born in
Noblesville, Indiana, February 4th 1841, the son
of Samuel Scott whose father and mother had
come to this country in 1811, settling in Pennsyl-
vania. Prior to the war, Captain Scott had or-
ganized a Military Company, which, in response
to President Lincoln's proclamation of 15th April
1861 for 75,000 Militia, immediately responded and
70 History of the Scott Family
was mustered in. He was present at the Battles
of Shiloh, Stone River, Chickamauga, Mission
Ridge, Atlanta, Jonesborough and in Kilpatrick's
raid on the Atlanta Railroad in August 1864. His
regiment marched to the Sea with General Sher-
man and took part in the two days fight at
Waynesborough. Captain Scott was wounded in
the leg at the Battle of Stone River and in the
eye at the Battle of Chickamauga. For meritori-
ous conduct in the former battle, he was placed on
the Roll of Honor by General Rosecrans and was
mustered out at Savannah 31st December 1864.
Also with the Union forces were Captain John
Scott with the "Black Horse Cavalry" and Captain
Henry D. Scott, 16th Massachusetts Battery. Ad-
jutant William F. Scott, born Dayton, Ohio, 27th
December 1844. Served in the United States Vol-
unteers from private to Adjutant of the 4th Iowa
Cavalry. He was author of "The Historical Roster
of the 4th Iowa Cavalry Veterans" and "The Story
of a Cavalry Regiment."
With the Confederate States Army were Briga-
dier-General Thomas B. Scott, son of a former Gov-
ernor of Mississippi ; Colonel John S. Scott in com-
mand of the 1st Louisiana Cavalry, C. S. A., and
Colonel C. W. Scott in command of the 44th Vir-
ginia Infantry C. S. A.
Enlisting in the army of the Confederacy in
1861, Major Charles L. Scott was elected Major
of his Regiment and participated in the first
Battle of Manassas, July 1861. He was severely
wounded in the right leg, which wound being
ruptured at the Battle of Seven Pines in 1862,
compelled him to retire from active service.
History of the Scott Family 71
John Zachary Halliday Scott, born at Belair,
Spottsylvania County, Virginia, 14th March 1843,
the son of James McClure Scott, was a student
at the University of Virginia at the outbreak of
the War, and enlisted in the Confederate States
Array with the Cavalry of Wise's Legion. Served
in West Virginia under Wise, Floyd and Lee. In
1862 his command was organized into the 10th
Virginia Regiment and was in close and constant
touch with the enemy on Johnston's retreat from
Yorktown. He was also engaged in the Battle of
Williamsburgh and included in Johnston's capitula-
tion of Goldsboro, 26th April 1865. In 1869 he was
admitted to the bar and practiced law.
Colonel Thomas Morton Scott of the Confederate
States Army was born at Cadiz, Ohio, on 25th June
1824. He traced his descent from Thomas Scott,
an English Member of Parliament, who was one
of the committee which signed the death warrant
of Charles I. Colonel Scott served as Sergeant-
Major in the Mexican War, being present at the
Battles of Monterey and Buena Vista. On the
outbreak of the Civil War he raised Company I,
9th Texas Infantry of the Confederate Army,
serving throughout the war as Captain. In 1865
he was assigned to duties in connection with the
settlement of Indian treaties and later was ap-
pointed Colonel on Governor Roberts staff.
An artist of army life and scenes in the Civil
War, Julian Scott was born at Johnson, Lamoille
County, Vermont, in 1846. He served in the Na-
tional Army on the opening of the war in 1861
and while in a Military Hospital, his sketches
attracted much attention. He consequently became
72 History of the Scott Family
a student at the National Academy, New York,
in 1863. Among his principal pictures are: "The
Blue and Gray," "In the Cornfield at Antietam,"
"Reserves Awaiting Orders," "Rear Guard at White
A report concerning Halleck's Army on the
banks of the Tennessee, states: "With it, but not
of it" was "the Assistant Secretary of War, Thomas
A. Scott, the railway king of the future, who had
come to advise and assist Halleck." Colonel Scott
was the first Assistant Secretary of War, com-
missioned under the Act of 3rd August 1861. He
was born at Loudon, Pennsylvania, 28th December
1824, being son of Thomas Scott, the keeper of
"Tom Scott's Tavern" on the old turnpike between
Philadelphia and Pittsburg. He entered the em-
ploy of the Pennsylvania Railroad Co. when it was
but partly constructed, being chosen as Vice-Presi-
dent in 1860. At the outbreak of the Civil War,
Governor Curtin placed him in charge of the
equipment and transportation of the State troops.
He was commissioned Colonel of Volunteers in
May 1861. He held office as Assistant Secretary
of War during Simon Cameron's unfortunate tenure
of the office of Secretary, Colonel Scott, however,
being known as a competent Assistant Secretary,
whose work was always efficient. When, in Jan-
uary 1862, the President dismissed Cameron and
made the admirable choice of Stanton for Sec-
retary of War, Colonel Scott remained as As-
sistant Secretary until June 1862, when he re-
signed to return to his railroad work. In Septem-
ber 1862, General Rosecrans' Army being cut off
and needing reinforcements, Scott directed the
History of the Scott Family 73
transportation of two Army Corps to its relief.
He became President of the Pennsylvania Co.
organized in 1871 to operate the Western lines,
President of the Union Pacific for one year from
March 1871 and succeeded to the Presidency of
the Pennsylvania Railroad Co. in 1874. He also
projected the Texas Pacific Railroad Co., being for
many years its President. Resigned as President
of the Pennsylvania Railroad Co. in 1880 and died
at Darby, Pennsylvania, 21st May 1881.
NT A PRECEDING chapter we have seen
that the earliest colonists of the name
of Scott settled, in the main, in Vir-
ginia and the Colony of Massachusetts.
During the settlement of the American Colonies,
branches of the family were, however, more com-
mon in the South than in the North, conformity
to the State Church in Massachusetts, before being
admitted to citizenship, proving somewhat of a
deterrent to settlement in that Colony. In order
to obtain lands for themselves, we therefore
find, in the North, later arrivals settling inland
or on the frontier, taking up lands in the in-
terior of Pennsylvania and in New Hampshire,
Vermont and Maine. In the South, the Atlantic
Coast line became, by degrees, well occupied, and
Scotts who had landed in Virginia scattered through
the foothill regions and North and South Caro-
lina. Gradually, branches of the family pushed
further West, across the mountains into Ohio,
Kentucky and Tennessee, joining the company of
virile and aggressive pioneers, who, carving perma-
nent footholds out of the wild, sent, in their turn,
sons and daughters to take part in developing
and winning the West. In the West and Northwest
most of those bearing the name are probably
descended from the Southern branches or of late
In every State and Territory, the hardy Scotts
History of the Scott Family 75
have been pioneers and men of action, taking
such active part in the strenuous movements of
American life, that today the name is found in
every branch of politics, arms, industry and busi-
ness. They have contributed professors and teachers
to the universities, colleges and schools of their
country; bishops and clergymen, judges and law-
yers, bearing the name, have furnished strength to
its religious and judicial life, and writers and
painters have added to its literature and art.
In the political life of the country the family
has been represented in both houses of Congress:
John Scott was United States Senator from Penn-
sylvania from 1869-1875. He was born at Alex-
andria, Pennsylvania, 24th July 1824. Admitted
to the bar 1846, he practiced law in Huntingdon,
Pennsylvania, 1846-1849. Elected member of the
State Legislature 1862. Son of John Scott, Rep-
resentative from Pennsylvania in the 21st United
Nathan Bay Scott, United States Senator from
West Virginia, 1899, re-elected 1905, serving from
1899 until 1911. Born Guernsey County, Ohio,
18th December 1842. He was engaged in mining
in Colorado from 1859-1862. Enlisted as private
in the Union Army and mustered out 1865. He
then engaged in the manufacture of glass at
Wheeling, West Virginia, and was elected State
Senator 1882 and 1886. Commissioner of Internal
Revenue 1898. Later engaged in banking in Wash-
ington, D. C.
Thomas Scott was member of the House of Rep-
resentatives from Pennsylvania in the 1st and 3rd
Congresses, 1789-1781 and 1793-1795. He was a
native of Ohio.
76 History of the Scott Family
John Scott, Representative from Missouri to the
17th, 18th and 19th Congresses, served from 1821-
1827. Born in Hanover County, Virginia, 18th
May 1785, graduated from Princeton College 1807
and admitted to the bar 1806. He was Delegate
from Missouri Territory to the 14th Congress and
served from 2nd December 1816 to January 13th
1817 when the seat was declared vacant. Elected
Delegate to the 15th and 16th Congresses, 1817-
1821, when Missouri becoming a State he was
John Scott, Representative from Pennsylvania
to the 21st Congress, 1829-1831. He was a native
of Marsh Creek, near Gettysburg, Pennsylvania,
and was in business as a tanner and shoemaker.
Harvey D. Scott, born in Ohio, was Representa-
tive from Indiana to the 34th Congress 1855-1857.
For many years Judge of the Superior Court at
Charles L. Scott, Representative from California
to the 35th and 36th Congresses, 1857-1861. Born
Richmond, Virginia, 23rd January 1827, graduated
from William and Mary College, he was admitted
to the bar and practiced law in Richmond, Virginia,
and later in Sonora, California.
John G. Scott, Representative from Missouri to
the 38th Congress 1863-1865. Born Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania, 26th December 1819, he moved to
Missouri and engaged in mining.
William L. Scott, Representative from Pennsyl-
vania to 49th and 50th Congresses, 1885-1889. He
was a native of Washington, D. C., born 2nd
July 1829, and settled in Erie, Pennsylvania, en-
gaging in coal and shipping business, also con-
History of the Scott Family 77
struction and operation of railroads. Mayor of
Erie 1866 and 1871.
Owen Scott, Representative from Illinois to 52nd
Congress 1891-1893. Born Jackson Township, Ef-
fingham County, Illinois. Superintendent of Schools.
Admitted to the bar January 1874, he practiced
law for ten years, later engaging in newspaper
work and becoming manager of the Decatur Herald.
Charles Frederick Scott, Representative from
Kansas to 57th, 58th, 59th and 69th Congresses
1901-1911. Born Allen County, Kansas, 7th Sep-
tember 1860. Graduated University of Kansas
1881. Editor of lola Register.
George Cromwell Scott, Representative from
Iowa to 62nd and 63rd Congresses, 1911-1915 and
to 65th Congress 1917-1919. Born Monroe County,
New York, 8th August 1864, he removed to Dallas
County, Iowa, 1880. Admitted to the bar of
Supreme Court of Iowa, 1887.
John R. K. Scott, Representative from Penn-
sylvania to 64th and 65th Congresses, 1915-1919.
Born Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, and admitted to
the bar December 1895. Member of House of
Representatives of Pennsylvania 1899, 1908, 1910,
Frank Douglas Scott, Representative from Michi-
gan to 64th, 65th and 66th Congresses. Born
Alpena, Michigan. Graduated from the Law De-
partment, University of Michigan, 1901. Was five
years member of Michigan State Senate. Presi-
dent pro tempore of Senate 1913-1914.
Connected with the 66th Congress, now in ses-
sion, are the names of, Robert T. Scott, Private
Secretary to the Attorney- General ; Walter P.
78 History of the Scott Family
Scott, Assistant Librarian of the Senate; Hugh
L. Scott, Board of Indian Commissioners; Emmett
J. Scott, A.M. LL.D., Secretary-Treasurer of How-
ard University; George E. Scott of the American
Steel Foundries, a Vice Chairman of the American
National Red Cross.
Frank A. Scott of Cleveland, Ohio, was Chair-
man of the War Industries Board. He resigned
26th October 1917.
Three members of the family have been Gover-
nors of States:
Charles Scott, who was mentioned in Chapter V,
was Governor of Kentucky from 1808 to 1812.
Abram M. Scott was the 7th Governor of Missis-
sippi, 1832-1833. He was a native of South Caro-
lina, but at an early age went to Mississippi. In
1811 he was in command of a company on an
expedition against the Creek Indians. He became
a leading planter and was one of the five Repre-
sentatives from Mississippi in the first State Con-
stitutional Convention in 1817. He represented
Wilkinson County for several terms in the State
Legislature, and served twice as Lieutenant-Gov-
ernor. His term as Governor was notable for the
Constitutional Convention of 1832, which recon-
structed the laws of the State, among other changes
being the provision for a Judiciary elected by the
people, Mississippi being the first State in the
Union to so enact. Governor Scott died in office
from Asiatic cholera, which raged through the
Mississippi Valley 1832-1833. He died 12th June
1833. His son Thomas B. Scott was a Brigadier-
General in the Army of the Confederacy.
Major-General Robert K. Scott, Governor of
History of the Scott Family 79
South Carolina, 1868 and 1870. Served in the
Civil War as described in Chapter V.
The Judiciary and Bar of the different States
contain many representatives of the name of
Scott, distinguished among whom may be men-
Thomas Scott, Chief Justice of Ohio, 1810, was
born at Skipton on the Potomac, October 31st 1772.
At the age of seventeen he was licensed by Bishop
Asbury, to preach in the Methodist Episcopal
Church, also following the trade of a tailor. He
studied law and in 1801 removed to Chillcothe,
Ohio, where he commenced the practice of that
profession. He was the first Justice of the Peace
appointed after Ohio became a State. Was clerk
of the State Senate from 1804 to 1809, when he
was appointed Judge of the Supreme Court of
Ohio. In the following year he became Chief
Justice, which office he held for five years. Mar-
ried in 1796 to Catherine Wood. He died at
Chillicothe, Ohio, 17th February 1856.
William Scott, Chief Justice of Missouri, 1854
to 1862. Born at Warrenton, Fauquier County,
Virginia, 7th June 1804. Admitted to the bar
1825. In 1826 he went to Franklin, Missouri,
where he began practice. Appointed Judge of
the 9th Judicial Circuit of Missouri in 1835, he
was promoted to the Supreme Court in 1841 and
became Chief Justice in 1854. Died at Jefferson
City, Missouri, 18th May 1862.
Josiah Scott, Chief Justice of Ohio, 1856. He
was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania,
1st ^December 1803. Graduated from Jefferson Col-
lege 1823, admitted to the bar and practiced law
80 History of the Scott Family
at Bucyrus, Ohio. Was elected to the State Legis-
lature in 1840, and to the Supreme Court of Ohio
in 1856, and served as Chief Justice. He retired
to resume law practice and died at Bucyrus, Ohio r
John M. Scott, Chief Justice of Illinois; born
St. Clair County, Illinois, 16th August 1824. He
was admitted to the bar in 1848 when he took up
residence in McLean County, where he practiced
law for a period of fifty years. In 1852 he was
elected Judge of the County Court. In 1862 he
succeeded to a vacancy in the Circuit Court, being
re-elected without opposition at the end of his term.
Elected to the Supreme Court and re-elected for
a second term in 1879, being the first native born
citizen of Illinois to hold that position. He served
as Chief Justice for three terms, 1875, 1882,
Elmon Scott, Chief Justice of Washington, 1897,
was born at Isle la Motte, Vermont, November 6th,
1863. Was admitted to the bar and in 1881 re-
moved to Pomeroy, Washington. Elected Mayor
for several terms. In 1889 was elected to the
Supreme Bench, re-elected 1892 and in 1897 became
Chief Justice of the State. Served for over nine
years on the Supreme Bench until he declined
Guy Charles Scott, Chief Justice of Illinois,
1906. Born Henderson County, Illinois, 14th Au-
gust 1863. Admitted to the bar 1886. Justice of
the Supreme Court of Illinois 1903.
Henry Wilson Scott, United States District Judge
for Oklahoma Territory 1893-1896, was born Sanga-
mon County, Illinois, 26th January 1866. Admitted
History of the Scott Family 81
to the bar 1884, he was appointed Register, United
States Land Office, Larned, Kansas, 1889. United
States District Judge 1893. Author of "Probate
Law and Practice," "Distinguished American Law-
yers" "The Laws of Nations," "The Corporate In-
stitution" and other legal works.
Francis Markoe Scott, Justice of the Supreme
Court of New York, 1897-1918. Born New York,
14th March 1848. A.B. College of the City of
New York, 1867 ; A.M. 1869 ; LL.B. Columbia Uni-
Richard Henry Scott, Justice of the Supreme
Court of Wyoming, 1906.
Tully Scott, Associate Justice Supreme Court of
Colorado, 1913, was born at St. Paris, Ohio, 12th
July 1857 and admitted to the Kansas bar, 1880.
Elected Presiding Judge, Colorado Court of Ap-
peals, and Associate Justice Supreme Court of
Colorado, 1913. State Senator 1907-1911.
Judge Walter N. Scott of Greenville, South Caro-
Judge H. William Scott of Vermont.
Sutton Selwyn Scott, Lawyer, was born at Hunts-
ville, Alabama, 26th November 1829. Was mem-
ber of the Alabama Legislature 1857-1860 and Con-
federate Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1863.
Member of the Legislature from Russel County,
Alabama, 1884-1890. United States Commissioner
to adjudicate claims in New Mexico and Colorado
1885-1887. Author of "The Mobilians," "South-
brooke" and many articles in periodicals.
Ruf us Leonard Scott, Lawyer, born Lanesborough,
Massachusetts, 31st March 1835. Descendant in
the sixth generation of William Scott, who settled
82 History of the Scott Family
in Hatfield, Massachusetts, about 1668. R. L. Scott
was admitted to the New York bar, 1861, and
practiced in New York City.
James Brown Scott, Lawyer, was born at Kin-
cardine, Bruce County, Ontario, Canada, 3rd June
in 1866. A.B. Harvard, 1890; A.M. 1891. Prac-
ticed law at Los Angeles, California, 1894-1899,
where he organized the Los Angeles Law School
in 1896. Dean 1896-1899. Professor of Law at
Columbia University, University of Chicago and
George Washington University. Solocitor for the
Department of State and Secretary of the Car-
negie Endowment for International Peace. Pub-
lished "Diplomatic Documents Relating to the Out-
break of the European War"; "An International
Court of Justice" and similar works.
Joseph Scott, Lawyer, born at Penrith, Cumber-
land, England, 16th July 1867. Came to America
1889. A.M. St. Bonaventure's College, Allegany
1893; LL.D. 1914. Admitted to bar 1894, practic-
ing in Los Angeles, California. President of Cham-
ber of Commerce 1910. Honorary Vice-President,
Panama-Pacific International Exposition.
Albert Woodburn Scott, Jr., Lawyer, was born at
San Francisco, November 6th 1869. A.B. Univer-
sity of California, 1891. Practiced law 1895-1899,
being later engaged in industrial affairs. Director,
Panama-Pacific International Exposition, President
San Francisco Street Repair Association 1906-1907,
Civic League of Improvement Clubs 1907-1909.
Austin Wakeman Scott, lawyer and Professor of
Law, born New Brunswick, New Jersey, 31st Au-
gust 1884. A.B. Rutgers College 1903 ; LL.B. Har-
vard 1909. Admitted to New York Bar 1910 ; Mass-
History of the Scott Family 83
achusetts Bar 1911. Professor Havard Law School
1914. Author of "Cases on Civil Procedure."
Frederick Andrew Scott, Lawyer, born Terryville,
Connecticut, 8th November 1866. B.A. Yale 1889;
LL.B. 1891. Member Connecticut House of Repre-
sentatives 1905, 1909, 1911. Speaker of the House
The family of Scott also contributed its quota
of willing and devoted workers in founding and
building up the churches of different denominations.
Thomas Fielding Scott was the first Protestant
Episcopal Bishop of Oregon and Washington, and
sixtieth in succession in the American Episcopate.
He was born in Iredale County, North Carolina,
12th March 1807. Graduated from the University
of Georgia (then Franklin College) in 1829. Rector
of St. James Church, Marietta and Trinity Church,
Columbus. Elected Bishop 1853 and consecrated
1854, he served his Diocese until his death in
Levi Scott, Methodist Episcopal Bishop. Born
near Odessa, Delaware, llth October 1802. Elected
and ordained Bishop in 1852. The degree of M.A.
was conferred upon him by Wesleyan University
and that of D.D. by Delaware College. He died
at Odessa, Delaware, 13th July 1882.
Job Scott, born at Providence, Rhode Island,
18th October 1751 was in the sixth generation from
Richard Scott of Providence and Catherine Mar-
bury, referred to in Chapter IV. He was a Min-
ister of the Society of Friends and a writer and
speaker of remarkable vigor. He made long jour-
neys among the Friends, and finally to Ireland,
where he died on 22d November 1793.
84 History of the Scott Family
Walter Scott, one of the Founders of the Disci-
ples or Campbellites, was born at Moffat, Dum-
frieshire, Scotland, 31st October 1796. He was
educated at the University of Edinburgh and came
to this country in 1818. He died at May's Lick,
Kentucky, 23rd April 1861.
Orange Scott, born at Brookfield, Vermont, 13th
February 1800. Was ordained Methodist Clergy-
man 1822, and ranked among the most prominent
preachers. He left the Church in 1842 and organ-
ized the Wesleyan Methodist Church of which he
was President. He died at Newark, New Jersey,
Other distinguished clergymen bearing the name
in the earlier history of the Churches in America
William Anderson Scott who was born at Rock
Creek, Bedford County, Tennessee, 13th January
1813 and entered the Presbyterian ministry in
1835. Was editor of "The Presbyterian" for three
years and pastor of the Forty-second Street Church,
New York City, from 1863 to 1870. Also of St.
John, San Francisco, 1870. D.D. University of
Alabama, 1844; LL.D. University of City of New
York, 1872. Died, San Francisco 14th January 1885.
Also Hugh McDonald Scott, born Guysborough,
Nova Scotia, 31st March 1848 and ordained to the
Congregational ministry 1874. Professor of Ec-
clesiastical History at Chicago Theological Semi-
The name of Scott has been remarkably promi-
nent in educational work, among those notable being :
Walter Q. Scott, President of the Ohio State
University, 1881-1883. Born at Dayton, Ohio,
History of the Scott Family 85
1841. He enlisted in the Union Army during the
Civil War, serving in Sherman's Cavalry until peace
was declared. He then graduated at Lafayette Col-
lege, Easton, Pennsylvania, and was ordained in
February 1874, being installed as pastor of the
Arch Street Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia,
from which he resigned to become Professor of
Philosophy at Wooster University.
William Henry Scott, President of Ohio Univer-
sity, 1873-1883, and of Ohio State University, 1883-
1895 in succession to the above Walter Q. Scott.
Born at Chauncey, Ohio, 14th September 1840.
Graduated at Ohio University, 1862. Superinten-
dent of Public Schools, Athens, Ohio. Principal of
Preparatory Department of Ohio University. En-
tered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal
Church 1865; Professor of Greek, Ohio University,
1869, and President 1873, resigning to become
President of Ohio State University.
Austin Scott, President of Rutgers College, 1890.
Born, Maumee, near Toledo, Ohio, 10th August
1848. B.A. Yale; A.M. University of Michigan;
Ph.D. Leipsic. In 1872 in Europe in connection
with the arbitration between Great Britain and
the United States. Organized the Seminary of
American History at Johns Hopkins University;
Professor of History, Rutgers College, 1883 ; Presi-
dent, 1890. Author of "A History of New Jersey"
and other works.
John W. Scott, born Beaver County, Pennsyl-
vania, 22nd January 1800. Graduated Washington
College, Pennsylvania, 1823. Professor of Natural
Science, Washington College, 1824-1828 and Miami
University 1838-1845. Ordained in Presbyterian
86 History of the Scott Family
Church 1830. D.D., 1837. Professor at Oxford
Female College for ten years. Professor, Hanover
College, 1860-1868. Principal of Presbyterian
Academy, Springfield, Illinois, and Jefferson, Penn-
sylvania. Retired in 1881, after fifty-seven years
teaching. His daughter, Caroline Scott, married
President Benjamin Harrison, and Dr. Scott was
member of the Presidential family at the White
House until his death, November 29th 1892.
Angelo Cyrus Scott, born Franklin, Indiana, 25th
September 1857. Graduated University of Kansas,
1877, A.M., 1880; LL.M. Columbia University Law
School, 1885; Executive Commissioner for Ok-
lahoma, World's Columbian Exposition, 1893. Mem-
ber Territorial Senate, 1895.
William Berryman Scott, born Cincinnati, Ohio,
12th February 1858. Graduated Princeton Uni-
versity, 1877. Studied Royal School of Medicine,
London. Ph.D. University of Heidelberg; Sc.D.
Harvard, 1909; Oxford, 1912. Blair Professor of
Geology, Princeton, 1883. Author of "An Intro-
duction to Geology" and many reports and mono-
Charlotte Angas Scott, born Lincoln, England.
B.Sc. London, 1882; D.Sc., 1885. Head of De-
partment of Mathematics, Bryn Mawr College,
Pennsylvania, 1885. Author "On the Circuit of
Plane Curves" and other treatises.
Fred. Newton Scott, born Terre Haute, Indiana,
20th August 1860. Son of Harvey D. Scott, mem-
ber of 34th Congress. A.B. University of Michigan,
1884; M.A., 1888; Ph.D., 1889. One year at Uni-
versity of Munich, Instructor of English, Uni-
versity of Michigan, 1889-1890 ; Assistant Professor
History of the Scott Family 87
of Rhetoric, 1890-1896; Junior Professor, 1896-
1901; Professor of Rhetoric, 1901. Author of
"Aesthetics" ; "Principles of Style" ; "The Standard
of American Speech"; "The Genesis of Speech";
and joint author of many works.
William Amasa Scott, born Clarkson, Monroe
County, New York, 17th April 1862. A.M. Uni-
versity of Rochester, 1889; LL.D., 1911; Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University, 1892. Professor, Uni-
versity of South Dakota, Johns Hopkins University
and University of Wisconsin. Author of "Repudia-
tion of State Debts," "Money and Banking,"
"Money" and other works on economic subjects.
George Winfield Scott, born Adams, New York,
25th August 1875. A.B. Stamford University, 1896 ;
Cornell University, 1896-1898. Fellow of University
of Chicago, 1899-1900; Columbia University, 1900-
1901 ; University of Pennsylvania, 1901-1902 ; LL.B.
University of Pennsylvania, 1901. In Europe for
Library of Congress to report on law and docu-
mentary literature to be acquired, 1904. Professor
of Law, George Washington University, 1905-1906;
Law Librarian of Congress and Supreme Court,
1903-1907; Professor of International Law, Uni-
versity of Pennsylvania and Columbia University.
Author of "Naturalization of Aliens"; "The Ger-
man War Code."
Mary Augusta Scott, Professor of English, A.B.,
A.M., Vassar College. First woman Fellow of
Yale University, 1892-1894; Professor of English
Language and Literature, Smith College, 1902.
William Earl Dodge Scott, born Brooklyn, New
York; B.Sc. Harvard, 1873; curator of Depart-
ment of Ornithology, Princeton University; author
of "Bird Studies" and technical works.
88 History of the Scott Family
Nathan Stone Scott, M.D. Oberlin College, 1885-
1887 ; Western Reserve University, 1889 ; Dean and
Professor of Surgery, Cleveland College.
Walter Dill Scott, Professor of Psychology,
Northwestern University, 1908-1916.
Colin Alexander Scott, Ph.D. Clark University,
Worcester, Massachusetts ; Professor of Psychology.
William B. Scott, Professor, Princeton Univers-
ity; lecturer and writer.
Jonathan French Scott, Instructor in History,
University of Michigan.
John W. Scott, Professor, University of Wyom-
Arthur Curtis Scott, Professor of Physics and
Engineering, Rhode Island State College; Professor
of Electrical Engineering, University of Texas.
It is not possible, in a work of this nature, to
enumerate all members of the great fellowship of
Scotts who have entered into, and succeeded in,
every field of endeavor connected with the industry
and business of the country.
Irving Murray Scott, Shipbuilder and Ironmaster,
was born at Hebron Mills, Baltimore County, Mary-
land, 25th December 1837. He learned the iron
and woodworking trades under Obed Hussey, the
inventor of the reaping machine. In 1860 he was
engaged at the Union Iron Works, San Francisco,
becoming Superintendent in 1863 and finally Gen-
eral Manager. Made a close study of industrial
establishments in Europe. Was one of three ap-
pointed to meet the Japanese Embassy in 1879. Re-
gent of the University of California, Trustee of
Leland Stanford University. In 1891, President
of the California Commissioners to the World's
History of the Scott Family 89
Charles Felton Scott, Electrical Engineer, was
born Athens County, Ohio, 19th September 1864.
He was educated at Ohio and Johns Hopkins Uni-
versities. Assisted Nicola Tesla in the develop-
ment of his induction motors and later became
Chief Electrician of the Westinghouse Electric &
Manufacturing Co. Widely known in the electrical
profession, he has written many papers read before
Electrical Engineering bodies. President of the
American Institute of Electrical Engineers 1902-
William R. Scott, Vice-President and General
Manager of the Southern Pacific Co., was born
8th November 1860 and began as locomotive fire-
Frederic William Scott, Banker, was born Peters-
burg, Virginia, 30th August 1862. In March
1918 he was appointed member of the Division
of Finance and Purchases under the United States
George Scott, native of Glasgow, Superintendent
of the Gold & Stock Telegraph Co., a branch of
the Western Union, invented and developed the
Edwin Scott, for many years proprietor of the
Scott Mills, New York City, was a native of
Greene County, New York.
Frank Hall Scott, President of the Century Co.,
with which company he was actively connected
for forty years.
Isaac M. Scott of Wheeling, West Virginia, Presi-
dent of the Wheeling Steel Works.
Holton H. Scott, born in Canada, General Man-
ager of the Doherty Operating Co.
90 History of the Scott Family
E. W. Scott, President of the Provident Savings
Life Assurance Co., New York.
E. H. Scott, of Chicago, President of Scott,
Foreman & Co.
Colonel Walter Scott, President of Butler
Brothers of New York. Colonel of the New York
F. B. Scott, President of the Syracuse Sup-
Thomas A. Scott of New London, Connecticut,
President of P. A. Scott Towing, Pile Driving and
Wharf Building Co.; appointed member of United
States Shipping Board, 28th May 1919.
If Johnson's dictum "The chief glory of every
people arises from its authors," be applied to a
family, then the Scotts can take much glory to
themselves. As will be seen from the preceding
records of American members of the family, many
were writers on a variety of legal, historical and
educational subjects, and to these may be added a
goodly list of authors and editors, bearing the
name, who have made noteworthy contribution to
Henry Lee Scott, son-in-law of General Winfield
Scott, and already referred to in another chapter,
was the author of "A Military Democracy" and
"A Military Dictionary."
Robert N. Scott, Army Officer, already mentioned
as in charge of the publication of the Civil War
Records, published "A Digest of the Military Laws
of the United States." He was born in 1838, son
of William Anderson Scott, below named.
John Reed Scott, Author and Lawyer, born
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, 1869. He first book was
History of the Scott Family 91
published in 1906, "The Colonel of the Red Hus-
sars," followed, among others, by "Beatrix of
Clare"; "The Princess of Dehra"; "The Woman
in Question" ; "The Cab of the Sleeping Horse."
Leroy Scott, born Fairmont, Indiana, 1875; Edi-
tor of Woman's Home Companion, 1900-1901; Au-
thor, "The Walking Delegate"; "To Him That
Hath"; "No. 13 Washington Square"; "The Shears
Anna Miller Scott, born Lockport, Illinois; Au-
thor, "With the Fairies"; "Flower Babies" and
Lucy Jameson Scott, Author, "Santa Glaus
Stories"; "David Douglas and His Wife"; "Gilead
Guards"; "In Circles of Light."
Mansfield Scott, Author of "Behind Red Cur-
Julia Scott, pen name of Mary A. Owen, Author
of "Voodoo Tales"; "Folklore of the Musquakie
Temple Scott, author, "The Friendship of Books" ;
"The Pleasure of Reading"; "The Use of Leisure";
"A Museum for a Poet."
Winfield Lionel Scott, Author of "Azure and
Silver" and other poems.
John Scott of Philadelphia published "Pulpit
Echoes" and other religious works.
William Scott, Author and Clergyman, born Am-
sterdam, New York, Author of "The Heart of
William Anderson Scott, Presbyterian Clergy-
man of San Francisco, was the Author of "The
Bible and Politics"; "The Church in the Army."
John Milton Scott, Author, "I Am"; "The Soul
92 History of the Scott Family
Martin J. Scott, Author, "God and Myself" ; "The
Hand of God."
Thomas Bodley Scott, Author, "The Road to a
Healthy Old Age."
Emma Scott, Author of "How the Flag Became
William Rufus Scott, Author of "The Itching
Palm," a treatise on the American tipping system.
Samuel Parsons Scott of Hillsboro, Ohio, Lawyer,
Author of "Through Spain" ; "History of the Moor-
ish Empire in Europe" ; also many translations.
Harry Fletcher Scott, Author of numerous edu-
David B. Scott, Author of "Scott's History of the
United States" and other histories.
William J. Scott, Author "Historic Eras and
Charles A. Scott, Author of "The Chinese Arbor
Vitae" ; "Provisions of the State Forest Laws."
William Moore Scott published numerous works
on plant culture.
John M. Scott, Author "Milk Production"; "Pig
Feeding" and other works on farm management.
Eugene Wiley Scott, Author of entomological
works, published by the Department of Agricul-
ture and the Entomology Bureau.
Frank Jesup Scott, Author of several pamphlets,
"Property Without Price"; "Evolution of Suf-
frage"; "Communism" and others; descended from
Thomas Scott, who settled in Hartford, October
Geneo C. Scott, Author of "Fishing in American
Charles Scott of Tennessee published "The Anal-
History of the Scott Family 93
ogy of Ancient Craft Masonry to Natural and
Revealed Religion" and other masonic composi-
George Scott, himself a pilot, published "Scott's
New Coast Pilot for the Lakes."
Harvey W. Scott, Editor, born in Illinois, re-
moved to Oregon and in 1864 went to Portland,
becoming editor and part owner of "The Ore-
gonian." He declined appointment as Ambassador
Jesup Wakeman Scott, Editor and writer on In-
ternal trade and growth of cities. He gave the
land to the City of Toledo, which enabled that
city to establish a University of Arts and Trades.
James W. Scott, born Walworth County, Wis-
consin, 1849. His father, D. Wilmot Scott, was
editor and proprietor of a newspaper in Galena,
Illinois. In 1875, James W. Scott removed to
Chicago and purchased the "Daily National Hotel
Register." In May 1881, in connection with other
journalists from the city dailies, he organized and
established the "Chicago Herald," and in 1890 the
"Chicago Evening Post."
Robert Scott, a native of Partick, Scotland, came
to America in 1883. Editor of the "Homiletic
Review" 1905; collaborator, "Modern Sermons by
World Scholars"; "The Church, The People and
The Age"; "The World's Devotional Classics."
Charles Payson Gurley Scott, Etymological Edi-
tor of the Century Dictionary.
Richard John Ernst Scott, born England 1863;
B.A. Durham University, England, 1885; M.D.
Cornell University Medical School, New York,
1899; author, State Board Examination Series and
edited numerous medical works.
94 History of the Scott Family
William W. Scott, Editor of many works on
motor car operation.
The family of Scotts is also represented in the
kindred arts of painting, music and the drama.
Julian Scott and his pictures of scenes of the
Civil War have been referred to in Chapter V.
Jeannette Scott exhibited in the Societe Na-
tionale des Beaux Arts, Paris, and at the Chicago
Exposition, Pennsylvania Academy and New York
Emily Maria Scott, born Springwater, Livingston
County, New York, exhibited a large still life
picture in the Paris Salon, 1889; also "Yellow
Roses" and "Pink Roses"; medal Chicago Exposi-
tion 1893. Roses were her principal study.
Alfred Atwood Scott, born Chillicothe, Ohio,
1857; Organist and Teacher of Music for 35
years. Organist St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Chil-
licothe for 21 years; organist of St. Andrews
Protestant Episcopal Church, Aberdeen, Washing-
Carlyle Scott, Pianist; Professor of Music, Uni-
versity of Minnesota.
John Prindle Scott, Composer, born Norwich,
New York, 1877; composer of songs and quartets;
also a trio "Nocturne."
Henri Scott, Basso, born Coatesville, Pennsyl-
vania, 1876; oratorio singer, also sang on concert
tour with Caruso, 1908; leading basso, Manhat-
tan Opera House, New York ; Rome ; Chicago Grand
Opera Co. and Metropolitan Opera House, New
John R. Scott, Actor, born Philadelphia, Penn-
sylvania, 1805. He made his first appearance at
History of the Scott Family 95
the Park Theatre, New York, in 1829, as Malcolm
in Macbeth. He next appeared as "Peter" in "Speed
the Plough" at the Tremont Theatre, Boston. He
was the original Master Walter of The Hunch-
back, played in America for the first time at the
Arch Theatre, Philadelphia in 1832. Visited Eng-
land professionally in 1847. His repertoire con-
sisted of Shakesperian characters, Massaniello,
Wizard of the Wave, leading parts in "Black Eyed
Susan" and similar parts. His last appearance
was at Sanford's Opera House, Philadelphia, in
1856, appearing in the third act of Othello. He
died the same year.
Ainsley Scott, Actor, was bass soloist in church
choir. With Bryant and San Francisco Minstrels.
He was also with Madame Ristori in Australia,
playing Macbeth to her Lady Macbeth.
Cyril Scott, Actor, born in Ireland, 1866. Came
to the United States at an early age. Made his
debut in "The Girl I Love"; with Mrs. Fiske,
Richard Mansfield, E. H. Sothern. He has ap-
peared in musical comedy and in many produc-
tions, including, "The Lottery Man," "The Prince
Chap," "A Gentleman of Leisure."
A distinguished soldier, Hugh Lenox Scott, was
born at Danville, Kentucky, 22nd September 1853.
He graduated at West Point Military Academy,
June 1876, and was appointed second Lieutenant,
9th United States Cavalry. He was promoted first
Lieutenant of 7th Cavalry on June 28th 1878;
to Captain on January 24th 1895; to Major on
May 12th 1898; to Lieutenant-Colonel on August
17th 1899. Colonel Scott served in the Sioux Ex-
pedition of 1876, the Nez Perce Expedition, 1877,
96 History of the Scott Family
and the Cheyenne Expedition of 1878. He was
Adjutant-General of the 2nd and 3rd Divisions of
the 1st Army Corps from May 1898 to February
1899, of the Department of Havana from March
1899 to May 1900, and of the Division of Cuba,
until November of the last named year. He acted
as Governor-General of Cuba until 1902. Served
from 1903 to 1906 as Governor, and Commander
of the troops in the Sulu Archipelago, Philippine
Islands; conquered and pacified the inhabitants
and abolished slavery and the slave trade. He
was appointed Superintendant of the United States
Military Academy at West Point, 1st September
1906, which office he retained until 1910. In
command of the 3rd Cavalry, Fort Sam Houston,
1912 and of 2nd Cavalry Brigade, Mexican Border,
1913. Appointed Chief of Staff, United States
Army, November 17th 1914 and Major-General,
1915. In France, 1917, to study operations on
the Western Front and the same year was member
of the American Commission to Russia. Was In
command at Camp Dix until retirement.
Mention may be made of two other items of in-
terest connected with the name of Scott in America.
Blanche Scott of Rochester was one of the first
women to fly an aeroplane, and for thirty-three
years a member of the family, Captain James G.
Scott, was keeper of the Montauk Point Light.
URNING our attention once more to the
"old country," we find that Scott is now
the family name of four peers in Great
Britain and Ireland; two of whom take
descent from the old Border Scotts.
The Duke of Buccleuch, John Charles Montagu-
Douglas-Scott was born March 30th 1864 and suc-
ceeded to the title in 1914. He is the seventh
Duke of Buccleuch and ninth Duke of Queens-
berry. Is also Marquess of Dumfriesshire, Earl of
Drumlanrig and Sanquhar, Earl of Buccleuch, Vis-
count Nith, Thorthorwald and Ross, Baron Doug-
las of Kinmont, Middlebie and Dornoch, Baron
Scott of Buccleuch, Baron Whitchester and Eskdaill,
Baron Scott of Tynedale and Earl of Doncaster.
He sits in the House of Lords under the last
named title. The estates of three different families
have become united in the family of Scott of
Buccleuch, viz., those of the family of Scott, Dukes
of Buccleuch; of Douglas, Dukes of Queensberry
and Montagu, Dukes of Montagu. His eldest son
and heir is Walter John, Earl of Dalkeith, born
1894, in the Grenadier Guards and an Aide de
Camp on Personal Staff. His second son, William
Walter, is in the Hussars and received the Mili-
tary Cross during the European War.
Baron Polwarth is also of a Border Scott family,
the title being derived from Hugh Scott, great
grandson of Walter Scott of Highchester, who was
98 History of the Scott Family
Earl of Tarras and husband of Mary, who became
Countess of Buccleuch in 1651. On her death,
Walter Scott married again and from this second
marriage the present line is descended. The Barony
of Polwarth came into the Scott family when Hugh
Hume, third Earl of Marchmont, Viscount Blason-
berry and Baron Polwarth died in 1793, the Earl-
dom, Viscounty and Barony created 1697 becoming
extinct, and the Barony of Polwarth created 1690
devolved upon his grandson, the said Hugh Scott,
who became third Baron. The fifth Baron, the
late Henry Francis Scott, assumed the additional
family name of Hepburne; by the failure of the
male line of Sir Robert Scott of Murthockstone,
the chieftainship of all the Scotts in Scotland de-
volved upon him.
The Earl of Clonmell, Rupert Charles Scott,
seventh Earl, was born 10th November 1877. He
succeeded to the title 1898. Descended from John
Scott, successively Solicitor-General, Attorney-Gen-
eral, Prime Sergeant and Chief Justice of the
Kings Bench in Ireland; created Earl of Clonmell
The Earl of Eldon, John Scott was born 8th
November 1845 and succeeded to the title 1898,
being the third Earl. The title was granted to
John Scott, Earl of Eldon, Lord High Chancellor
of England, an account of whom is contained in
Chapter III. The eldest son and heir is the Hon.
Ernest Stowell Scott, M.V.O.; C.M.G.
Many of the old Scottish branches of the family
have become extinct and newer lines of descent
arisen. But of the old branches, some still remain.
Of the Scotts of Ancrum, Sir William Monteath
History of the Scott Family 99
Scott, seventh and last Baronet, died in 1902. He
left one daughter, Constance Emily.
Sir Francis Montagu Sibbald Scott, fifth Baronet,
is the present representative of the branch of
Scott of Dunninald, Forfarshire.
The family of Scott of Gala is represented by
John Henry Francis Kinnaird Scott of Gala, County
of Selkirk, born 1859. As mentioned in a pre-
ceding chapter, this branch is descended from
Hugh, son of Sir Walter Scott of Harden ("Auld
The head of the Scotts of Melby, Robert Thomas
Scott of Melby, Shetland is descended from the
second son of the celebrated Sir John Scott of
Scotstarvet, Director of the Chancery.
Walter Scott of Raeburn and Lessuden is de-
scended from Walter Scott of Raeburn, third son
of Sir William Scott, the son of "Auld Wat" of
The Scotts of Malleny are represented by Car-
teret Cunningham Scott of Malleny. As previously
mentioned, this family is a branch of the house
Anna Katherine Scott of Brotherton succeeded
her father in 1897. The Scotts of Brotherton
branched from the Scotts of Logic.
The Scotts of Synton are not now represented
in the direct male line of descent. John Scott of
Synton who died in 1796, a minor and unmarried,
was succeeded by his eldest sister, Catherine Scott,
who married John Corse of Bughtrig, when he
assumed the name and arms of Scott of Synton in
addition to his own. The family of Corse-Scott
of Synton is now represented by John Corse-Scott
100 History of the Scott Family
of Synton in the County of Selkirk and Satchells
in the County of Roxburgh.
The Scotts of Wauchope are descended from
Walter Scott, the laird of Buccleuch, who was
slain in the streets of Edinburgh, in 1552, in the
fued with the Kerrs of Cessford, through his nat-
ural son Walter Scott of Goudilands. This Walter
Scott is described as a man of good points and
great bravery, and at the raid of Reidswyre, 1575,
the laird of Buccleuch being very young, this
Walter Scott led the clan. He was also at the
release of Kinmont Willie. The name is now Mc-
Millan-Scott, the additional surname having been
assumed in 1816, in accordance with the conditions
of the entail of the then Scott of Wauchope's ma-
ternal grandfather's estate.
The family of Constable-Maxwell-Scott of Ab-
botsford is now representative of the family of
Sir Walter Scott, the illustrious poet and novelist,
whose heir, Sir Walter Scott the second Baronet,
died without issue, being succeeded by his nephew,
Walter Scott Lockhart Scott who died unmarried,
and was succeeded by his sister Charlotte Harriet
Jane Hope-Scott, from whom the present family is
Among branches of the family in England are:
The Scotts of Betton, represented by George
John Scott, of Betton Strange, Shropshire. His
mother, Sydney Louisa Scott, only surviving
daughter of George Jonathan Scott, married, in
1868, Major William Edington Stuart, late 15th
Hussars. By Royal License the family retained the
name and arms of Scott. She was descended from
Richard Scott of Scots Halls, born 1544, who settled
History of the Scott Family 101
Sir Douglas Edward Scott, seventh Baronet, of
Great Barr, Staffordshire, is descended from John
Scott, who settled in Shropshire about 1650.
The Scotts of Lytchett Manor, Dorsetshire, are
represented by Sir Samuel Edward Scott, sixth
Archibald Edward Scott is the present repre-
sentative of the family of Rotherfield Park in the
County of Hants.
Three Baronets of later creation are :
Sir John Scott, 2nd Baronet of Beauclerc, Bywell
St. Andrews, Northumberland.
Sir Samuel Haslam Scott, 2nd Baronet, of Yews,
And the distinguished Admiral, Sir Percy More-
ton Scott, K.C.B.; K.C.V.O.; LL.D.; first Baronet
of Witley, Surrey, born 10th July 1853. He
was educated at University College, London, and
the Royal Naval College. Entered the Royal Navy
in 1866 ; served Ashantee War, 1873-1874 (medal) ;
Congo Expedition, 1875 (despatches, promoted) ;
Egyptian War, 1882 (despatches, medal, bronze
star, fourth class Medjidie), South African War,
1899-1900, when he devised special mounting for
the naval gun used for defense and relief of Lady-
smith (despatches, C.B.), China, 1900 (C.V.O.).
Sir Percy Scott invented the system of night sig-
nalling now used in the Royal Navy. Member
of the Ordnance Committee; was in command of
Gunners School; Naval Aide de Camp to His Ma-
jesty; Inspector of Naval Target Practice, 1905-
1907; in command of First Cruiser Squadron,
1908-1909; special service at the Admiralty, 1914;
later in charge of gunnery defences of London.
102 History of the Scott Family
Several members of the family have received the
honor of knighthood.
The Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Stewart Scott was
knighted in 1896, K.C.M.G.; G.C.M.G., 1899; G.C.B.
1899 and appointed of the Privy Council 1898. He
was born in Ireland, 1838 and entered the diplo-
matic service 1858. Attache, Secretary and Charge
d'Affaires at different Legations and Embassies.
Minister to Swiss Confederation; Envoy Extraor-
dinary, Copenhagen; Ambassador to the Court of
Major-General Sir Arthur Binny Scott, K.C.B.,
born 1862. Served in the South African and
Major-General Sir Charles Henry Scott, K.C.B.,
Colonel Commandant R.A. ; member of the Council
of the Governor-General of India 1905-1909.
Sir James George Scott, K.C.I.E., 1901. Born
Dairsie, Fifeshire, 1851. Joined Burma Commis-
sion in 1886; received thanks of Commander-m-
Chief and Governor-General in Council, 1888 ; mem-
ber of several boundary commissions. Author,
"The Burman, His Life and Notions"; "France
and Tongking" and other works on Burma.
Sir Buchanan Scott, K.C.I.E., 1904; Indian ap-
pointments; Senior Master of the Mint, Calcutta,
Sir James Scott, Kt., created 1911 ; born Broughty
Ferry, 1838. Engineer.
Sir Benjamin Scott, Kt., created, 1904; several
times Mayor of Carlisle.
Sir John Harley Scott, Kt., created 1892; High
Sheriff, Mayor and Alderman of Cork.
Others bearing the name who have been knighted
History of the Scott Family 103
are referred to among the following notable Scotts
of England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada and other
parts of the British Empire.
Alexander Scott, the old Scottish poet, wrote be-
tween 1545 and 1568. Some of his "sweit tunged"
poems are "Ane New Yeir Gift to Queen Mary
quhen scho came first Hame"; "To Luve Un-
luvit"; "Ladies, be war," and "Lo, quhat it is to
A father and two sons, distinguished figures
in the art of the early nineteenth century, follow.
Robert Scott, the father, was born at Lanark
in 1777. Engraver. His best work was in land-
scape, a series of twenty views of "Scenery of
Edinburgh and Midlothian" being his last pro-
David Scott, his elder son, Scottish Historical
Artist, was born in Parliament Stairs, Edinburgh,
1806. Among his best known works are, the huge
picture "Lot and His Daughters"; "The Hopes
of Early Genius Dispelled by Death" exhibited at
the Scottish Academy; "The Death of Sappho";
"Wallace Defending Scotland"; and the great pic-
ture, "Vasco da Gama, the Discoverer of India, En-
countering the Spirit of the Storm as He Passes
the Cape of Good Hope." This picture is now in
the Trinity House at Leith. "The Vintager" and
"Ariel and Caliban" are in the National Gallery at
Edinburgh. He last picture was "Hope Passing
Over the Sky of Adversity."
William Bell Scott, the younger son, Poet and
Painter, was born in 1811 at St. Leonards, Edin-
burgh. His pictures included "The Old English
Ballad Singer" ; "The Jester." He exhibited at the
104 History of the Scott Family
Royal Academy. His writings were very numerous
and included poems and art memoirs.
Andrew Scott, Scottish Poet, was born 1757.
He was at first a cowherd, later serving with his
Regiment in the American War of Independence.
He was a prisoner of war on Long Island, but
returned to Scotland in 1784. In 1811 issued
"Poems, Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect" and two
other volumes in 1821 and 1826.
Lady John Douglas Scott, born 1810, was a com-
poser of Scottish songs. Her principal claim to
remembrance, musically, is her composition of the
song "Annie Laurie," first published in 1838. She
is sometimes credited with being the composer, or
adapter, of "The Banks of Loch Lomond."
General Thomas Scott, born 1745, was the son
of John Scott of Malleny. He served in Hesse
and in America during two campaigns under Gen-
eral Burgoyne. Later served in the Netherlands,
Cape of Good Hope, and against Tipu Sultan,
being present at the siege of Seringapatam.
Admiral Sir James Scott, born 1790, a Cadet of
the Scotts of Raeburn, saw much service against
the French, in the War of 1812, in the West Indies
John Scott, Engraver, born 1774. His two mas-
terpieces are "Breaking Cover," after Reinagle
and the "Death of the Fox," after Gilpin.
Samuel Scott, Artist, and friend of Hogarth.
His picture "A View of the Tower of London"
was exhibited at the Royal Academy and his
portrait by Hudson and four of his pictures are
in the National Gallery.
Admiral, Lord Charles Scott was present, as a
History of the Scott Family 105
Midshipman, in the Black Sea during the Russian
War. He was officer in command of the "Bac-
chante" during the cruise of King George and
his brother, the late Duke of Clarence. Brother
of the sixth Duke of Buccleuch.
Benjamin Scott, born 1814, was Chamberlain of
the City of London. It was through his wonder-
ful knowledge of finance that the Corporation of
London lost not a penny of its outstanding loans,
amounting to seven hundred thousand pounds, on
Black Friday 1866.
Sir George Gilbert Scott, R.A., the celebrated
Architect, was born 1811. One of his earlier works
was the restoration of Chesterfield Church. He
won European reputation by winning the open
competition for the Church of St. Nicholas at
Hamburg. He restored several cathedrals and was
architect of the addition to Exeter College, Ox-
ford. In 1849 he was engaged in the restoration
of Westminster Abbey. Was architect of the India,
Home and Colonial Offices. In 1864, Scott was
engaged in carrying out the Albert Memorial, and
later the re-arrangement of Wolsey's Chapel at
Giles Gilbert Scott, F.R.I.B.A.; Architect, grand-
son of the above, was born 1880. Among his prin-
cipal works are, Liverpool Cathedral; Church of
the Annunciation, Bournemouth; and restoration
of Chester Cathedral.
Robert Scott, Lexicographer, born 1811, was
educated at Shrewsbury School and Christ Church,
Oxford. He was Dean of Rochester and Master
of Balliol. As a Greek scholar he has had few
equals. His life's work was his collaboration with
106 History of the Scott Family
Dean Liddell in the Greek Lexicon which bears
Edward John Long Scott, Librarian, M.A.;
D. Litt Oxon; was born 1840. Keeper of MSS.
and Egerton Librarian, British Museum, and
Keeper of Muniments, Westminster Abbey.
Rev. Charles Anderson Scott, D.D., born 1859.
Dunn Professor of New Testament Theology, Col-
lege of the Presbyterian Church of England. Au-
thor, "The Book of the Revelation"; "Evangelical
Doctrine, Bible Truth"; "Ulfilas, Apostle of the
Professor William A. Scott; A.R.H.A. ; A.R.I.B.A. ;
M.S.A.; F.R.I. A.I.; Professor of Architecture, Na-
tional University of Ireland. Among other works
he designed the Cathedral for Galway.
Hon. Mrs. Maxwell (Mary Monica) Scott, great-
granddaughter of Sir Walter Scott. Author of
"The Tragedy of Fotheringay" ; "Abbotsford and
Its Treasures"; "Joan of Arc"; "St. Francis de
Sales and His Friends."
Margaret Scott, born 1841, Author, "Every Inch
a Soldier"; "Under Orders"; "Princes in India."
Lady Kathleen Scott, Sculptor, made several pub-
lic monuments and portraits. Created Lady Scott
in recognition of the work of her husband, the
late Captain Robert Falcon Scott, Explorer, men-
Tom Scott, R.S.A., Water Color Painter, born
at Selkirk, 12th October 1854. Among his well
known pictures are "The Otter Hunt"; "Meet of
Foxhounds at Riddell"; "Mosstroopers Returning
from a Raid"; "St. Mary's Loch"; "A Hayfield in
Ettrick"; and "Auld Wat o' Harden."
History of the Scott Family 107
Michael Scott, Author of "Tom Cringle's Log";
"The Cruise of the Midge" and other stories.
Clement Scott, Author, Dramatist, Critic and
Georges Scott, Artist of the painting of King
George V, posed for at Buckingham Palace and
hung in the Paris Salon.
William Robert Scott, M.A.; D. Phil.; Litt. D.;
Hon. LL.D. (St. Andrews). Fellow of the British
Academy and Adam Smith Professor of Political
Economy in the University of Glasgow.
Dunkinfield Henry Scott, Botanist, M.A.; LL.D.;
D.Sc.; Ph.D.; Foreign Secretary of the Royal So-
ciety. Professor of Botany. Hon. Keeper of the
Jodrell Laboratory, Royal Gardens, Kew, 1892-1906.
Author of many botanical works.
Robert Falcon Scott, R.N. ; C.V.O., Antarctic Ex-
plorer. Commander of the National Antarctic Ex-
pedition, 1900-1904; F.R.G.S.; Commander of the
British Antarctic Expedition, 1910. Born at Devon-
port, 1868. Entered the Royal Navy 1882, Com-
mander, 1900, Captain, 1904. Gold medals, Royal
Geographical Society, Royal Scottish Geographical
Society, American, Swedish, Danish, Philadelphia
and Antwerp Geographical Societies. Author of
"The Voyage of the Discovery."
Two brothers, well known on the English Turf,
John and William Scott were born respectively in
1794 and 1797. John was a Trainer and William
a Jockey. John trained six Derby winners and
eight Oaks winners. William rode the winner of
the Derby four times, the winner of the Oaks
three times, and the winner of the St. Leger nine
108 History of the Scott Family
Like many other families from the "Land o'
Cakes," the Scotts have taken a prominent part
in the growth and history of the Dominion of
Canada, and other parts of the British Empire.
Hugh Erskine Scott, born Dundee, Scotland,
came to Canada and was appointed Manager of
the Quebec-Montreal Steamship Line. In connec-
tion with the Rebellion of 1837, he received the
public thanks of the Governor-General, Sir John
Colborne, for arrangements made in relation to
the transportation of troops, after the close of
James Guthrie Scott, son of the above, takes
descent on the maternal side from the Notary
Leblanc, spoken of in Longfellow's "Evangeline."
Born at Quebec in 1847, he built the Quebec &
Lake St. John and Great Northern Railways, being
General Manager of the latter road. Also, one
of the promoters of the Grand Trunk Pacific Rail-
way, Quebec & James Bay Railway Co. and the
Quebec Transport Co. Served during the Fenian
Raid, medal and two clasps. President, Quebec
Board of Trade.
Hon. David Lynch Scott, Judge of Supreme
Court, was born 21st August 1845. Barrister,
1870; Mayor of Regina, 1883; K.C., 1885; raised
to Bench, N.W.T., 1894.
Hon. Walter Scott, born London, Middlesex, On-
tario, 1867. Premier of the Province of Saskatche-
wan, 1905-1916. President of Council and Min-
ister of Education.
Duncan Campbell Scott, born 1862. Deputy
Superintendent-General of Indian Affairs, Hon. Sec-
retary Royal Society of Canada. Author, "The
History of the Scott Family 109
Magic House" (poems) ; "Labor and the Angels"
(poems) ; "The Life of Simcoe"; "In the Village of
Viger" and numerous stories and poems.
Rev. Frederick George Scott, C.M.G., 1916; M.A.;
D.C.L., born, Montreal, 1861. Rector of St. Mat-
thews, Quebec; Canon of Quebec Cathedral. Senior
Chaplain 1st Canadian B.E.F. (despatches, C.M.G.).
Sanford Gold Medal, Royal Canadian Humane So-
ciety. Author, "Soul's Quest" and other poems;
"Elton Haglewood"; "The Key of Life"; "The
Crown of Empire" and other poems written at
Lieutenant-Colonel, His Honor, James Henderson
Scott, Judge of the County Court of Lanark, 1914;
born Simcoe, Ontario, 1858. Called to the Bar,
1880; K.C., 1908; Lieutenant-Colonel commanding
32nd Regiment, 1891-1899. Long Service Decora-
Hon. Sir Richard William Scott, Statesman.
Darcy Scott, born Hull Township, Ottawa County,
Quebec, 1872. Called to the Ottawa Bar, 1895;
Assistant Chief Commissioner, Board of Railway
Frank Scott, born Montreal, 1862. Vice-Presi-
dent and Treasurer, Grand Trunk Railway.
Thomas Smythe Scott, B.A., B.Sc.C.E.; born
1871. Professor of Railways and Railway Engi-
neering, Queens University.
Frank Stewart Scott, M.P.; born Gait, 1879.
Elected to House of Commons for South Water-
Charles Summer Scott, F.C.A.; born England.
Came to Canada, 1877. President, Banking &
Loan Company, Hamilton.
110 History of the Scott Family
Sir Robert Townley Scott, Kt, I.S.O.; Secretary,
Postmaster-General's Department and Permanent
Head of the Commonwealth of Australia Telegraph
Service, 1901; born 1841 and went to Australia,
John Halliday Scott, M.D.; M.R.C.S., Professor
of Anatomy, Otago University, Australia; Dean of
the Faculty of Medicine.
Ernest Scott, Professor of History, University
of Melbourne, Australia.
Robert Julian Scott, Professor in Charge, School
of Engineering, Canterbury College, New Zealand.
Chairman, Commission Government Workshops;
Chairman, Munitions Committee for New Zealand.
Colonel Robert George Scott, V.C. ; Cape Colonial
Forces, South Africa. Served during Gaika, Galeka
and Zulu Wars (V.C.) and in 1899-1901 in com-
mand of Scott's Railway Guards during South
African War. (Despatches, Queen's Medal, 3 clasps,
King's Medal, 2 clasps, D.S.O.).
Colonel John Scott, born 1844 at Inverness, Scot-
land. Arrived in South Africa, 1878. Served in
Gaika, Galeka and Zulu Wars, medals and clasps.
Present as Guardsman at marriage of King Edward
VII, 1863, and King George's marriage, 1893.
Herbert Septimus Scott, Secretary and Examiner,
Transvaal Education Department.
Sir Basil Scott, Kt., born 1859; called to the
Bar, 1883; admitted Advocate of High Court of
Bombay, 1885; Chief Justice of High Court of
Benjamin Charles George Scott, Consul-General,
Canton, 1900-1902; attended Li Hung Chang on
visit to England, 1896.
History of the Scott Family 111
James Scott, I.S.O., 1905; Consul-General, Can-
James Scott, C.I.E., 1912; Assistant Private Sec-
retary to Viceroy of India.
John Healey Scott; Chief Magistrate, East Gri
qualand. Served in Galeka War and Northern
Border War, 1878-1880.
Rt. Rev. Charles Perry Scott, D.D.; Bishop in
North China, 1880-1913.
It is worthy of note that the British Airship,
R-34, on its memorable double flight of the At-
lantic, was navigated by a member of the family;
Major G. H. Scott, being Commanding Officer and
HE importance of the ancient family of
Scott is shown by the fact that more
than sixty Armorial Bearings have, at
various times, been granted or confirmed
to members of the family. Many are no longer in
use, but among those extant, the following are of
most general interest. A Scottish clan, as such, has
no distinctive Armorial Bearings, the arms men-
tioned being in every case those of the head of
the branch of the family.
The Armorial Bearings of the Scotts of Buccleuch :
Quarterly: First, the arms of Charles II, debruised
by a baton sinister, argent; second, or, on a bend
azure, a mullet of six points between two crescents
of the field; Scott; third, Quarterly, first and fourth
argent, a human heart gules, crowned with an
imperial crown or, and on a chief azure, three
mullets of the field; Douglas; second and third
azure, a bend between six cross-crosslets fitchee
or; Marr; the whole (of this quarter) within a
border or, charged with the double tressure of
Scotland gules; the third quarter is borne for the
Duchy of Queensberry; fourth, as the first. Sup-
porters, two female figures, habited from the waist
downwards in blue Mrtles gathered up at the knees,
their heads adorned with a plume of three ostrich
Crest A stag, trippant proper, attired and un-
Seats Dalkeith House, Dalkeith; Bowhill, Sel-
History of the Scott Family 113
kirk; The Lodge, Langholm; Drumlanrig Castle;
Eildon Hall, St. Boswells; Boughton House, Ket-
Boughton House, from the family of Montagu,
possesses a garden of above 100 acres, and avenues
more than 70 miles long. The house was built late
in the seventeenth century, after the model of
Arms of the Earl of Eldon: Argent an anchor
erect sable, between three lions heads erased gules,
on a chief wavy azure, a portcullis with chains or.
Supporters, two lions guardant proper, each gorged
with a double chain and a portcullis attached
thereto gold; pendant from the portcullis a shield
argent charged with a civic wreath vert.
Crest A lion's head erased gules, gorged with a
chain, and pendant therefrom a portcullis or.
Motto Sit sine labe decus (Let honor be without
Seat Stowell Park, Gloucestershire.
Arms of the Earl of Clonmell: Or on a bend
azure, an estolie between two crescents gold. Sup-
porters, Dexter, a female figure representing Jus-
tice, sinister, a like figure representing Mercy.
Crest A buck trippant proper.
Motto Fear to transgress.
Seat Eathorpe Hall, Leamington.
Arms of Baron Polwarth: Quarterly, first and
fourth grand quarters quartered, first vert, a lion
rampant argent; second argent, three papingoes
vert; third gules, three piles engrailed argent;
fourth argent a cross engrailed azure, over all on
an escutcheon azure, an orange with the stalk erect,
slipped proper and over it an imperial crown;
114 History of the Scott Family
second grand quarter or, two mullets and a cres-
cent in base azure; third grand quarter, quar-
tered; first and fourth gules, on a chevron argent
a rose between two lioncels combatant of the first;
second and third argent, three dock leaves vert.
Supporters, Dexter, a lion rampant, sinister, a
mermaid holding in her sinister hand and resting
on her shoulder a mirror all proper.
Crests First a lady richly attired holding in her
dexter hand the sun and in his sinister hand
a half moon. Second issuing out of a man's heart,
or, an arm from the elbow proper brandishing a
scimitar of steel, with cross and pommel of gold;
third an oak tree proper and a horse passant
argent, saddled and bridled gules.
Mottoes Fides probata coronat (Approved faith
crowns) ; Reparabit cornua Phoebe (The moon will
replenish her horns) ; Keep Tryste.
Arms of Scott of Malleny: Or on a bend azure
a star between two crescents of the first, in base
an arrow bendways proper, feathered and barbed
Crest A stag lodged proper.
Motto Amo probus.
Arms of Scott of Gala: Quarterly, first and
fourth or, on a bend azure a star of six points
between two crescents of the field; in the sinister
chief point a rose gules stalked and leaved vert,
for Scott; second and third, argent on a saltire
engrailed sable, five escallops or, for Pringle of
Crest A lady richly attired, holding in the dex-
ter hand a rose proper.
History of the Scott Family 115
Mottoes Prudenter amo; under the shield, Sur-
Seat Gala House, Galashiels.
Arms of Scott of Wauchope: Quarterly, first
and fourth or, on a bend azure a mullet between
two crescents of the first, a bordure compony
of the second and first for Scott; second and third
per pale or and argent, a lion rampant sable in
chief three mullets azure for McMillan.
Crest For Scott, A stag's head.
Mottoes Miseris succuro; Ardenter Amo.
Arms of Scott of Harden: Or, on a bend azure
a star of six points between two crescents of the
field, on sinister chief a rose gules slipped and
Crest A stag trippant
Motto Pacem Amo.
Arms of Scott of Melby: Quarterly, first and
fourth or, on a bend azure a star between two
crescents of the field, a bordure engrailed gules, a
crescent for difference, for Scott; second and third
azure, three boars heads couped or, within a
bordure indented of the last, for Gordon.
Crest A boar's head couped or, holding in the
mouth four arrows gules feathered and headed
Motto Do well and let them say.
Arms of the Scotts of Scotstarvet (male line ex-
tinct) : Or, on a bend azure a star between two
crescents of the field.
Motto In tenebris lux.
and fourth argent, a fesse embattled counter-
Arms of Scott of Dunninald: Quarterly, first
116 History of the Scott Family
second and third gules, on a chevron argent, three
mullets sable. Supporters, Dexter an heraldic tiger,
sinister a stag proper holding in his mouth a
Crest A lion's head.
Mottoes Spe vires augentur. (Strength is in-
creased by hope) ; Tace aut face. (Be silent or do.)
Arms of Scott of Synton: Or, two mullets in
chief and a crescent in base azure.
Motto Reparabit cornua Phoebe.
The Scotts of Hassendean bore the Scott arms;
and Motto Trustie and True.
Arms of Constable-Maxwell-Scott of Abbotsford
(Scott, Baronet, of Abbotsford) : Quarterly, first,
and fourth or, two mullets in chief and a crescent
in base argent within an orle of the last for Scott;
second and third or, on a bend azure three mascles
of the field, in the sinister chief point an oval
buckle erect of the second for Haliburton. Sup-
porters, Dexter, a mermaid, sinister, a savage.
Crest A nymph, in her dexter hand the sun,
in her sinister hand the moon.
Mottoes Watch well; over the crest, Reparabit
The Seat of the Scotts of Raeburn is Lessuden
House, St. Boswells.
The Seat of the Scotts of Brotherton is Brother-
ton, Johnshaven, Kincardineshire.
Arms of Scotts of Scots Hall were: Argent,
three Catherine wheels sable a border engrailed
Crest A demi griffin.
Arms of Scott of Great Barr: Argent, on a
History of the Scott Family 117
fesse gules, cotissed azure, between three Catherine
wheels sable, as many lambs passant argent.
Crest On a mound vert a beacon fired proper,
Motto Regi patriaeque fidelis.
Arms of Scott of Lychett Minster: Per pale
indented argent and pean a saltire counterchanged.
Crest Out of park pales ermine, an arm erect
holding in the hand a scroll proper.
Seats Westbury House, Northhants ; North Har-
Arms of Scott of Beauclerc: Per chevron azure
and or, in chief two bees volant and in base a
crescent all counterchanged.
Crest Between the horns of a crescent sable
a bee volant proper.
Motto Invitum sequitur honor. (Honor follows
though unsought for.)
Seat Dornby Grange, Darlington.
Arms of Sir Percy Moreton Scott: Argent,
pellety, in base a lymphad sable pennons flying to
the dexter gules, in chief two crescents azure.
Crest An ancient cannon firing to the dexter
Motto Aim straight.
A 000 1 34 633 7
University of California
SOUTHERN REGIONAL LIBRARY FACILITY
Return this material to the library
from which it was borrowed.
DUE 2 WKS FROM DATE
UCLM ACCESS Sf
1 1630 University
Box 951 575