Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Scranton and its people"

See other formats

Deacidified using the Bookkeeper process. 
Neutralizing Agent: Magnesium Oxide 
Treatment Date: 

bAUG 1997 

1 1 1 Thomson Park Drive 
CranbefryTwp.. PA 16066 








Attorney at Law; late Colonel U. S. V., War 18G1-186S 

I L 1. r S T K A T K U 




Copyright, 1914 
Lewis Historical Publishing Company 



We have had occasion to speak of the good fortune our city had in the re- 
markable characters of its pioneers and founders. Remarkable in their ster- 
ling integrity, their indomitable pluck, energy and resourcefulness, that bided 
no defeat, stopped at no obstacle, and finally wrought success out of well 
nigh impossible conditions. If she was so fortunate in her pioneers, she was 
also fortunate in a generation of young men who followed closely upon their 
footsteps. The pioneers are always selected blood. This second invasion was 
no less so. They came from all quarters, attracted thither by conditions which 
promised success to such as had the courage to wrestle and win it. These are 
the men who build the world. 

Henry Martyn Boies was one of these men. Few men had a fairer start 
in life than he, and none ever made better use of his opportunities. First 
he had the remarkable advantage of a splendid ancestry. His early paternal 
ancestors were Huguenots, who came to this country in the early part of the 
seventeenth century, and settled in New England. On his maternal side he 
inherited the sturdy Puritan blood of New England. On both sides his an- 
cestors were earnest God-fearing people. In the family is preserved a re- 
markably written document made the i8th of April, 1738, by his paternal an- 
cestor, David Boies, entitled "David Boies covenant with God," in which he 
recites his wretched and lost condition as a sinner ; God's ofier of salvation 
through Jesus Christ and his solemn acceptance of that offer and his dedication 
to Him. The document is singularly quaint in its language, and remarkable in 
being carefully drawn up, as though between earthly persons, yet it attests to 
the sturdy piety of its author and his strength of character. His father was 
Joseph Nulton Boies, who was born in Blandford, Hampden county, Massa- 
chusetts, April 20, iSog. His mother was Electa Caroline (Laflin) Boies, who 
was born in Southwick in the same county, Massachusetts. April 3. 181 1. A 
friend writes of his father as being "a man thoughtful, judicious, just, gener- 
ous, public-spirited, patriotic, conscientious — a man of positive convictions, 
who did not hesitate to express and maintain them. Through him came those 
forceful traits which distinguished the latter in his mature manhood ; and also 
that philanthropic quality which made him a beloved hero among men." The 
same friend writes: "His mother was one of the rarest of women, in person 
slender, delicate, fragile, beautiful of face, and with wonderful, luminous 
eyes. There never was a finer human expression of tenderness, gentleness 
and spirituality than that manifested in the life of this good woman. She was 
a glorious mother, and to her influence in shaping to high ideals the career of 
her son, the world is indebted as to no other." With such an ancestry, it 
would seem as though we had every desirable element centered for the mak- 
ing of a man ! We shall not be disappointed in its product. 

Henry Martyn Boies was born in Lee, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, 
Auo-ust 18, 1837, the first son of these notable parents. He was named for 
Henry Martyn, the heroic missionary to India, whose biography had just then 
been published". He entered Yale College in 1855, and graduated in 1859. 
Whether he graduated with honors, or, like General Grant, who said he would 
have stood near the top if they had turned the list upside down, chronicles do 
not show, but he had the more coveted class honor, the "wooden spoon" con- 
ferred unanimously upon him, as the best loved man in the class. 


In 1865 Mr. Boies came to Scranton as a resident member of the powder 
firm of Laflin, Boies & Tarck, of Saugerties, New York, of which firm his 
father was a member. Four years before, in 1861, he had married Emma 
Brainerd, a sister of Thomas Brainerd, one of his college classmates, and the 
daughter of Rev. Thomas Brainerd, D. D., long an honored Presbyterian 
minister of Philadelphia. She bore him three children, one girl Mary, and 
two boys, Carrington and Henry Whiting. On coming to Scranton the family 
first lived on Spruce street, below Penn avenue. Later he built a house on 
Jeflferson avenue, near where the Emanuel Baptist Church now stands. Here 
his daughter, son Carrington, and his wife, greatly beloved, passed away. 

Colonel Boies entered actively into the business of making powder. His 
firm purchased from the Raynors a small plant at Archbald, and erected an- 
other at Moosic. The business was immediately successful and was soon 
greatly enlarged, and both concerns merged into The Moosic Powder Com- 
pany, of which Mr. Boies became president and general manager. Its capital 
at first was $150,000, which was soon made $300,000. Colonel Boies continued 
at the head of this concern until it was taken over and became a part of the 
great Du Pont de Nemours Company of Pennsylvania. During this time Col- 
onel Boies had made a number of inventions, one to make safe the handling 
of powder by the miners at their work. Familiarity with danger, it is said, 
breeds carelessness. This was particularly true with miners. It was not an 
infrequent thing, despite all admonitions, for men in the mines to open and 
handle a keg of powder with a lighted miner's lamp on their caps, or a lighted 
pipe in their mouth. The result was accidents, which often not only destroyed 
life, but property as well. Colonel Boies invented the prepared cartridge to 
meet this danger. This required first the making of a strong water-proof 
paper that would shield the powder from dampness in the mines, then ma- 
chinery for loading the cartridge, all of which increased the cost of manu- 
facture, and accordingly reduced the profit in the powder, but were supplied 
at the same price for the purpose of saving human life. The invention came 
into extensive use all through the anthracite region. In 1872 he helped to 
organize the Third National Bank and became one of its directors, which posi- 
tion he held for ten years. In 1883 Colonel Boies was called to the presidency 
of the Dickson Manufacturing Company, which position he held until 1887, 
when he retired. During his connection with the Dickson Company, a large 
part of the business of which was the manufacture of locomotives. Colonel 
Boies' attention was called to the failure of the existing car wheel to do its 
work satisfactorily, and invented and patented several designs, among them 
what is known as the "steel-tired'' car wheel, which came into general use. 
He erected a plant and operated it for some years in the successful manu- 
facture of this wheel. It was finally merged in the great concern known as 
the Railway Steel Spring Company ; this plant, as a branch of that concern, 
is still in operation in our city. Colonel Boies' sudden death found him still a 
member of the great powder firm of E. I. Du Pont de Nemours Company. 
So much for the business activities of this remarkable man. As a matter of 
fact, and in his own estimation, these were the least important of his activities. 
With his Qiristian work and his civic activity, one wonders wheie he got time 
for business. 

In 187 1, at a gathering of invited friends at his house, was born the "Home 
of the Friendless," Colonel Boies renting the first building and assuming the 
cost thereof himself. In 1869-71 he was president of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association. During this time, and until his death, he was an active spirit 
on its board of directors. Under his administration Mr. William D. Moss- 
man, the first regularly paid secretary, was employed. His term and that ot 


Edward B. Sturges, who followed him (1869-74) may fittingly be called the 
fighting term of the association. Under the leadership of Colonel Boies, with 
the legal work of Edward B. Sturges and Cyrus W. Hartley as attorneys, 
both members of the board, Scranton, a "wide open town." was given a clean- 
ing up such as it had never dreamed of. It was one of the notable events in 
our history. The saloon with its cognate evils was rampant in violation of 
all law, with municipal authorities and the public at large utterly indifferent. 
In their efforts to reach young men, the association was confronted with these 
evils, rampant, defiant and conspicuous on every hand. The fight was in- 
evitable and gloriously it was won. One hundred and thirteen indictments 
were obtained against sixty-three saloon men, and after a terrific legal battle, 
in which all the forces of evil were met, the first conviction was obtained, and 
the saloon keepers surrendered. They agreed to come into court in a body, 
pay all costs upwards of $1200, and enter into an agreement binding each and 
every one to close on the Lord's day, and obey all other laws, and to assist 
in securing such obedience. A great day and a great triumph was this for 
Colonel Boies and his two young lawyer captains, Sturges and Hartley, when 
these sixty-three liquor men lined up before court and entered into that agree- 

In 1874 Colonel Boies was a charter member in the organization of the 
Second Presbyterian Church, and was elected a trustee, which office he held 
until his death. He was elected a ruling elder, but declined the office. During 
the riots of 1877, Colonel Boies and family were out of the city. On learning 
of the existing troubles, he hurried home, reaching here in time to take an 
active part in the organizing of the Scranton City Guard, of which he was made 
commanding officer with the rank of major. The history of that organization 
will be found elsewhere with that of the Thirteenth Regiment National Guard 
of Pennsylvania, of which Colonel Boies was commandant for five years, from 
1878 to 1883, and where he obtained his rank of colonel. In 1886, largely 
through his exertions, his favorite Young Men's Christian Association was 
handsomely housed in its own building on Wyoming avenue, where the Poli 
Theatre now stands. This building was largely designed by Colonel Boies, 
and was the most attractive Young Men's Christian Association building of 
that period in the state. In co-operation with his former righthand helper, 
Mr. Sturges, the Municipal League was formed, the objects of which were the 
extirpation of gambling hells and brothels and the enforcement of the liquor 
laws. To this work he gave freely of his time and means, and it was chiefly 
through this organization that our city was for many years kept practically 
clean of these evils . 

Colonel Boies was one of the organizers and promoters of the splendid 
Hahnemann Hospital, erected in 1898, and was a member of its advisory board. 
as his wife was of its board of managers. He was active in the special work 
of his own church denomination, and for several years was chairman of the 
Presbyterian committee on work among foreign speaking people. To this mis- 
sionary work he gave much time and study. His favorite achievement, the 
Young Men's Christian Association building on Wyoming avenue, was totally 
destroyed by fire in 1897. Colonel Boies' heart was bound up in this work for 
young men, and to him this was almost as much a personal calamity as it was 
to the association. To obtain that edifice with its then fine equipment had cost 
a mighty effort. Now all was gone, and the association homeless. The board 
of directors, however, met to consider the situation. Colonel Boies at once 
drew up a subscription paper and down went his name for a handsome sum 
toward a new and larger building. But they were now confronted with a 
need of far greater accommodations than the old building afforded. A careful 


estimate was made and it was found that such a building as was needed would 
cost with its equipment upwards of $250,000, and it was unanimously agreed 
that such an undertaking was too much for the young city of Scranton. One 
night's thought on the subject was sufficient for Colonel Boies. He called 
another conference at his office the next morning, and started the ball rolling 
by doubling his own subscription. It was largely through his enthusiastic 
work, influence and means, that the present superb and premier Young Men's 
Christian Association building of this commonwealth adorns our city. It is 
said that the great Cathedral of St. Peter's at Rome is made the monument of 
its builder, by a little tablet in its wall, bearing this legend, "He built this." 
A fine painting of Colonel Boies greets one as he enters the foyer of this 
splendid building. Underneath it might well have been placed the legend, 
"He built this." 

Remarkable and diversified as were the achievements of Colonel Boies, m 
business, in his civic, military and Christian activity, probably his most endur- 
ing fame will rest upon his "literary work, which he finished near the close of 
his career. This work is probably the least known of all his endeavors. He 
was not a fluent speaker, nor a ready writer. Whenever he had an address to 
make, he was careful to write it out and usually read it. It is therefore re^ 
markable that he should finally have attained a marked degree of success in the 
field of literature. It was accomplished without the least ambition in that 
direction, and it grew out of his intense interest in the themes upon which 
he wrote, which came from a long period of study and service in the field 
of which he wrote, and his desire to benefit humanity and society by his studies. 

In 1887 his personal friend. Governor Beaver, appointed him a member of 
the State Board of Public Charities. This board consists of eleven members, 
and is charged with the duty of supervising and inspecting all the charitable 
and penal or correctional institutions of the state. The position is one of large 
responsibility, but which carries with it no emoluments or compensation. It 
calls for men of sound judgment, broad intelligence, with a philanthropic and 
sympathetic nature. How he got the time with all his other work to give to this 
the conscientious attention it required, besides the time to study every phase 
of the lives of the unfortunates and the vicious which came under his observa- 
tion, is amazing. He served on tliis commission three successive terms, from 
1887 to 1902. Out of this service and experience came two books. The first, 
"Prisoners and Paupers" was published in 1893. The other entitled "The 
Science of Penology" was published in 1901. The latter soon received rec- 
ognition as a work of advanced thought upon that subject. A writer, review- 
ing the work, says it speedily revolutionized prevailing ideas upon that subject 
that up to that time the punishment of crime was treated from the standpoint 
of retribution. A man convicted of a crime was sentenced to serve so many 
years' imprisonment as an expiation of suffering for the offence. Having 
served that time he was turned loose upon society, regardless of his character, 
which as a rule was more hardened and desperate because of the rigors of his 
imprisonment. Colonel Boies attacked this theory as radically wrong. He 
contended that the only proper theory of treating criminals was the protection 
of society, and the reform of the criminal. Hence he advocated the indeter- 
minate sentence, and prison servitude under reforming influences : that the 
criminal should, for the protection of society, be kept in prison until he was 
proved fit to again have his freedom, and his prison life and treatment was all 
to be conducted with that end in view. The work was adopted as a text book 
by Yale University and other institutions of learning. This writer says " 'The 
Science of Penologv-' has admiralily fulfilled the object for which it was written. 
It is an accurate, succinct, methotlical summary of the science, a hand-book 


adapted to popular use, an eminently practical work abounding in valuable 
learning that ought to be broadly disseminated." Again this writer says, "Mr. 
Boies is likely to exert an influence surpassing that of any of his contem- 
poraries in moulding the thought and inspiring the energies of future genera- 
tions with correct views regarding crime and the treatment of criminals. Thus 
the 'Science of Penology' must be regarded as a really monumental work, and 
while Mr. Boies in many ways served his day and generation, this book is the 
crowning work of his life, and a useful public service, which justly claims for 
its author a grateful and lasting memory." 

Colonel Boies married as his second wife, Elizabeth L. Dickson, daughter 
of Thomas Dickson, the president of the Delaware & Hudson Company, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1870. Of this union there were six children as follows : Mar^ 
Dickson, died in infancy; Joseph Milton, born August 8, 1873, died April 27, 
1898: a son, died in infancy; Ethel Marvine; David; Helen Elizabeth, married 
J. J. Belden. 

Colonel Boies passed away very suddenly, December 12, 1903. He literally 
died in the service of his Master. Against the advice of his physician, he had 
undertaken a journey to Washington with Governor Beaver, and other com- 
mittee men, to invite President Roosevelt to come to this city and address the 
Jubilee Convention of the Pennsylvania State Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion, which was soon to meet here. On his way home he was seized with 
acute indigestion, reaching no farther than Wilkes-Barre, where he died of 
heart failure. So, to the great sorrow of our city, country and state, passed 
away one of the noblest, most patriotic, public-spirited, brilliant Christian men 
it has been the good fortune and the honor of our city to number among its 


No history of the development of Scranton, as a financial and industrial 
center, would be even approximately correct did it fail to chronicle the im- 
portant part the Westons, father and son, have taken during the period mark- 
ing its greatest advance and development. Both native Pennsylvanians, they 
added commercial lustre to the district and have fairly won a name on Scran- 
ton's roll of fame. While the father has gone to his eternal reward, the son 
remains, a vital living force in the financial and business world, honored and 
respected far beyond local limits and occupying the proud position as executive 
head of Scranton's large and solid financial institution, The First National 

Edward W. Weston was born in Salem, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, De- 
cember 5, 1823, died in Scranton after a long illness, October 28, 1891, son of 
Elijah and Minerva (Torrey) Weston. Elijah Weston was an early settler of 
Wayne county, while his father-in-law, Jason Torrey, was closely connected 
with the early business enterprises of the county. 

Edward W. Weston grew to manhood in Salem, attended the country school 
and obtained a good education. He was his father's assistant on the farm, but 
also taught school and obtained a knowledge of surveying. In 1844 he at- 
tained his majority and at once left home, entering the office of his maternal 
uncle, John Torrey. of Honesdale, there completing his surveying and engineer- 
ing studies, becoming practical and expert in both branches. He remained with 
his uncle, his valued assistant until 1859. when he received the important ap- 
pointment of manager in charge of the lands and surveys of the Delaware and 
Hudson Canal Company. He was stationed at Carbondale until 1861, when 
he moved to Scranton, taking in charge the construction of breakers at the 


new mines then being opened by the company, also directing the engineering 
features of the newly located mines. In 1864, upon the appointment of Thoma^ 
Dickson, as general superintendent of the Delaware and Hudson Canal Com- 
pany, Mr. Weston was appointed to the position of superintendent of all their 
coal mining operations The period of prosperity then setting in for the com- 
pany, caused by the great expansion of their coal trade and the acquisition of 
valuable railroad properties, rendered it advisable to separate the company's 
land department from the department of mines. This was done, and in April, 
1874, Mr. Weston was appointed general agent of the real estate department, 
which position gave him full authority over all real estate owned by the com- 
pany. He efficiently filled the exacting duties of his position until February 
I, 1889, when failing health compelled his retirement as the active head of 
that department. The company, however, were unwilling to lose his valuable 
services and still retained him, but in an advisory capacity. He gave freely ot 
his best judgment and long experience on all matters affecting the real estate 
investments of the company until his death, his service with the company ac- 
tive and advisory covering a period of thirty-two years, 1859-91. Nor does 
this by any means cover the full extent of his services in the development of 
Scranton and the Lackawanna Valley. He had large private and corporate 
interests, and aided and promoted many of the now well known stable, in- 
dustrial and financial corporations. He was president of the First National 
Bank, one of the soundest and most successful financial institutions in the 
state; president of the Northern Coal and Iron Company: of the Weston Mill 
Company ; of the Hudson River Ore and Iron Company ; vice-president and 
director of the Dickson Manufacturing Company: director of the Moosic 
Powder Company : of the Providence Gas and Water Companv, and closely 
identified with many other manufacturing and mming enterprises both in and 
outside Scranton. Nor was he merely a machine for the coining of money, 
but public-spirited and humane, he sought to improve public conditions and 
leave the world better for his having lived in it. His wealth, honestly and 
fairly earned, was wisely used for the good of all : the welfare of his fellows 
and the commercial progress of Scranton, being as dear to him as were his 
private concerns. He possessed a character of sterling worth and exemplified 
in his own life the uprightness and integrity that never deviates for private 

Charles S. Weston, son of Edward W. Weston and his wife, Susan 
(Moore) Weston, was born in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, August 25, i860. In 
the following year his parents moved to Scranton where his life since then ha.> 
been spent. This period covers the principal years of Scranton's greatest 
development and of his father's greatest activity, therefore there is little 
wonder that his early ambition was fired to become like his father, a leading 
factor in his city's progress. He attended Scranton's public schools until six- 
teen years of age, then entered Granville Military Academy (New York). He 
spent two years at that institution, winning signal honors. In 1878 he entered 
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute at Troy, New York ; took a full engineering 
course of four years, and was graduated a C. E., class of 1882. Now a gradu- 
ate of one of the best technical schools of the country and a fully qualified 
civil engineer, he entered the employ of the Delaware & Hudson Canal Com- 
pany, giving that company his professional services until October, 1885, 
when he was appointed assistant general agent of the company's real estate 
department, his father then being its capable agent. When later the position 
of general agent was left vacant, by the retirement of Edward W. Weston, 
the son had so proved his value to the company that he was appointed to suc- 
ceed his honored father, February i, 1889. This position, covering as it did 


the supervision of all company real estate, including mines and canals, was 
so ably filled by the younger man, that on the death of his father he was 
elected to fill the position thereby left vacant, the presidency of the Northern 
Coal and Iron Company, this company being owners of all the coal mines and 
breakers operated by the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company, south of Scran- 
ton. They also owned a railroad running from Scranton to Wilkes-Barre and 
were one of the most powerful of the coal owning companies of that day. 
Now fairly launched on the sea of business prominence the progress of Mr. 
Weston has been steady and continuous until the record of his activities seem 
almost beyond belief. He holds the following official positions: President of 
the First National Bank of Scranton ; president of the Cherry River Paper 
Company, a corporation of West Virginia with offices in Scranton ; director of 
the Lackawanna Trust and Safe Deposit Company ; Scranton Lace Curtain 
Company ; Kanawha and West Virginia Railroad Company ; Cherry River 
Boom and Lumber Company ; Hebard Cypress Company ; National Water 
Works and Guarantee Company; the Wilson Lumber and Milling Company, 
and has interests in many other enterprises of not lesser importance. His eleva- 
tion to the presidency of the First National Bank in 1913 was not only a 
compliment to the memory of its former president, Edward W. Weston, but 
was deserved recognition of the services of Qiarles S. Weston as vice-presi- 
dent of that bank and of his standing as a financier. While his early training 
had not particularly fitted him for the position, his long years of intimate 
connection with large undertakings had, while his high standing among men 
of affairs, his wide acquaintance and proven executive ability, peculiarly fitted 
him to become the head of so important an institution as the First National. 

But there is another side to this man of large affairs. He served four years 
in the Pennsylvania National Guard as second lieutenant of Company H, Thir- 
teenth Regiment. He is a member of many associations, societies, clubs and 
fraternities, thoroughly enjoys the social side of life and the company of his 
professional brethren, friends and neighbors. He is interested not only in 
the material prosperity of his city, but in her churches, hospitals and philan- 
thropic institutions, serving them with purse and personal service. A Republi- 
can in politics, he is strong in his support of good government, and while help- 
ful in the service of his friends has never sought public office for himself. 

Mr. Weston married, September 2, 1891, Grace Storrs, born in Buffalo, 
New York, a graduate of Wells College. She is the daughter of the late W. 
R. Storrs, general coal agent of the Delaware. Lackawanna & Western Rail- 
road Company. The family home of the Westons is on Monroe avenue, 
Scranton, where a gracious hospitality is dispensed. 


To few men has it been given to occupy as commanding a position in the 
affairs of his section, and the hearts of the people, as to Judge Hand, lawyer, 
iurist and business man. A review of Judge Hand's career shows him, not 
only as a brilliant lawyer, wise judge and excellent business man, but shows 
him as the interested trustee of educational institutions, president of a school 
devoted to the education of deaf mutes, active in Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation work, in the prosperity and governinent of his church and an ardent 
supporter of all that pertains to the public good. Now nearing his eightieth 
year (1914) Judge Hand can look back over a most useful life and surely the 
review can give him nothing but satisfaction. 

(I) Paternally, Judge Hand descends from John Hand, of Stanstede, Eng- 
land, who caine to America in 1644, and maternally from Robert Chapman of 


Hull, England, who settled at the mouth of the Connecticut river in 1635. 
John Hand, in 1648. settled at Easthampton, Long Island, going there from 
Southampton, where he is listed as a "whaler." From him descends a long 
line of ship builders and seafaring men, whose names are yet familiar on Long 
Island. From Long Island, a branch of the family located at Athens. Greene 
county, Judge Alfred Hand descending from this branch. The line of descent 
from John Hand, the emigrant, is through Stephen (i), died 1693: Stephen 
(2), born 1661, died 1740: John, baptized 1701, died 1755 ", John (2) ; John 
(3), born 1754, in Athens, Greene county, New York, married, March 6, 
1778, Mary Jones, and died May 30, 1809. 

(II) Ezra Hand, son of John and Mary (Jones) Hand, was born August 
9, 1799. in Albany county. New York, died in Honesdale. Pennsylvania, in 
1875. In early manhood he settled in Honesdale, where the greater part of 
his life was passed. He married, June 2, 1829, Catharine Chapman, born at 
Durham, Greene county. New York, February 11, 1808, who survived him, at- 
taining the great age of ninety-one years. She was a lineal descendant of 
Robert Qiapman. who in 1635, came from Hull, England, landing at Boston, 
but the following November was one of the company of twenty-one men, sent 
out by Sir Richard Saltonstall to make settlement at or near the mouth of 
the Connecticut river under the patent of Lords Say and Seal. Thus does 
Judge Hand's title prove clear to colonial New England ancestry on both pa- 
ternal and maternal lines. 

(III) Alfred Hand, son of Ezra and Catharine (Chapman) Hand, was 
born at Honesdale, Pennsylvania, March 26, 1835. Preparing in local schools, 
he entered Yale College at the age of eighteen years, whence he was graduated, 
class of 1857. Returning home he decided upon the profession of law. enter- 
ing the offices of William & William H. Jessup, of Montrose, Peimsylvania. 
He was admitted to the bar of Susquehanna county in November, 1859. and 
to the Luzerne county bar. May 8, i860. He was for a short time a member 
of the law firm of Jessup & Hand, but in i860 moved from Montrose to 
Scranton, where he practiced alone for six years, then admitting to partner- 
ship a former fellow law student, Isaac J. Post. This association continued 
until 1879. when, by appointment of Governor Hoyt, Mr. Hand was elevated 
to the bench, as judge of the Eleventh Judicial District, composed of the coun- 
ties of Lackawanna and Luzerne. He had taken active part in the foundation 
and early history of Lackawanna county, therefore, when the new judicial 
district was erected, he was appointed its first judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas. The following year. 1880. he was regularly elected for the full term 
of ten years. However, he did not complete but eight years of his term, as 
on July 31. 1888. he was appointed by Governor Beaver to a seat upon the 
Supreme bench of Pennsylvania, to fill the unexpired term of Judge Trunkey, 
deceased. He served with honor until the expiration of his term, January i, 
1889, then retiring to the private practice of his profession, after ten year'i 
upon the county bench and upon that of the Supreme Court of his state. He 
won legal honors as a jurist, and was regarded in point of learning, legal acu- 
men and soundness of judgment, as the peer of any of his Supreme Court 
colleagues. As a private practitioner Judge Hand was very successful and 
had a well earned reputation as the leading lawyer of the Lackawanna county 
bar at the time of his retirement. He made a specially of corporation law and 
was counsel for many of the important corporations of Scranton. His practice 
was a large one and was held closely to him by virtue of his fully recognized 
ability as an attorney and an advocate. While always a Republican, Judge 
Hand never sought office, nor did he even accept any save judicial ones. But 
large as was his practice, he yet had time for other business activities and 


civic obligations. From 1872 until 1879, he was president of the Third National 
Bank of Scranton and was instrumental in the organization of the First Na- 
tional Rank. He held directorships in the People's Street Railway of Luzerne 
county, the Jefferson Railroad Company, the Dickson Manufacturing Com- 
pany, the Lackawanna Valley Coal Company, the Oxford Iron and Nail Com- 
pany, the Davis Oil Company of New York, and was a member of the coal 
firm, William Connell & Company. This proves Judge Hand's claim to the 
title of a "busy" man, but gives no idea of the time devoted to the institutions 
in which he was particularly interested as a humanitarian and good citizen. 
He was trustee of Lafayette College, president of the Pennsylvania Oral 
School for Deaf Mutes (the first school of its kind ever established in the 
State); was president of the Scranton Free Library from its foundation; 
president for many years and an active worker of the Lackawanna County 
Bible Society, director of the Lackawanna Hospital, director and president 
of the Scranton Young Men's Christian Association. In none of these bodies 
was he a figurehead, but gave them his best effort, and all were successfully 
conducted during Judge Hand's connection with them. 

In his religious life, he has been very active, useful and earnest. In 1867 
he was elected an elder of the First Presbyterian Church of Scranton, con- 
tinuing as such for over forty years. He has represented the Lackawanna 
Presbytery in six General Assemblies of the Presbyterian church, serving on 
important committees and taking active part in the deliberations of the as- 

So all through his life Judge Hand has been active and useful in every 
department of life, and to few men has it been given to see greater good follow 
their labors. He holds a secure place in the hearts of his brethren of the bar, 
his business associates, his brethren of the church and kindred organizations, 
and in the hearts of his fellow citizens. He belongs to many bar associations, 
societies and organizations of different kinds and now with his books, his 
friends and his memories, passes the closing years of an honorable, useful life. 

Judge Hand married (first) September 11, 1861. Phoebe A., daughter of 
the distinguished jurist, William Jessup of Montrose, Pennsylvania, under 
whom Judge Hand received his first legal instruction. She died April 25, 
1872. He married (second) Helen E., daughter of Frederick Sanderson, of 
Beloit, Wisconsin. His children are: i. Horace E., of Anaheim, California, 
graduate of Yale, class of 1884. 2. William Jessup, graduate of Yale, Bachelor 
of Arts, 1887; read law with his father and on the latter's retirement from 
the bench became his law partner ; for twelve years was a director and for two 
years president of the Young Men's Christian Association ; served as council- 
man of Scranton and on the school board as a Republican. 3. Alfred, graduate 
of Yale, 1888, and of the medical department of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, whence he was graduated M. D., establishing in practice in Philadel- 
phia. 4. Harriet J. 5. Charlotte C. 6. Miles T., graduate of Williams Col- 
lege and Cornell LIniversity. 7. Helen S., wife of Dr. John Lyman Peck. 8. 
Ruth B. 


While there are interesting traditions concerning the English ancestry of 
William Throope, the Puritan, there is so much that is both true and interest- 
ing in the lives of his descendants that the traditional may properly be omitted. 
In the earliest settlement of Scranton, beginning with Slocum Hollow days, 
two men who were destined to be of great service, seem to have been first 
■drawn to the new settlement by the fact that they had married relatives. Dr. 


Throop married Harriet F. McKinney, Sanford Grant married Mary Mc- 
Kinney, a sister of Harriet McKinney. 

(I) Dr. Throop, the foimder of the Scranton Throops herein recorded was 
a descendant of Wilham Throope, the Puritan who married in Barnstable, 
Massachusetts, May 4, 1666, Mary, daughter of Ralph Chapman, who came in 
the "Elizabeth" in 1635. William Throope later was one of the first settlers 
of Bristol, Rhode Island, traveling there overland prior to 1683, with his 
family in an oxcart. He was grand juryman at Barnstable 1680, surveyor of 
highways at Bristol 1683, selectman 1689, grand juryman i6go, representative 
1691, died December 4, 1704. 

(II) Captain William (2) Throope, son of William Throope, the Puritan, 
born about 1678-79, is the Captain William Throope of Lebanon, Connecticut, 
who was elected representative 1730, justice of the peace 1736, moderator at 
town meetings and captain of militia. He was land agent for the proprietors 
at Lebanon and acted for the colony on numerous occasions in the settling of 
boundary disputes, etc. He married at Bristol, March 20, 1698, Martha Colyn. 

(III) Rev. Benjamin Throop, youngest son of Captain William Throope, 
was born at Bristol, Rhode Island, June 9, 1712; was a graduate of Yale 1734, 
studied theology and was pastor of the church he organized at Bozrah, Con- 
necticut, from January 3, 1738, until his death. .September 16, 1785; chaplain 
of the Crown Point Expedition in 1755 ; appointed to preach election sermon 
May, 1753, which was printed by the order of the legislature. He married, 
September 27, 1735, at Canterbury, Connecticut, Sybil, daughter of Colonel 
John and Abigail (Fitch) Dyer, and granddaughter of Major James Fitch, 
the patron of Yale, and his wife. Alice, daughter of Major William Bradford, 
eldest son of Governor Bradford. Miss Caulkins, the historian, says of Rev. 
Benjamin Throop : "He left behind him the reputation of a scholar and a gen- 
tleman, seasoning all his speech with a divine relish, yet genial, social, always 
diffusing good humor, always thirsting for information and ever ready to im- 
part from his ample store to others." He died at Bozrah, September 14. 1785, 
his wife August i, 1793. His funeral sermon by Rev. Andrew Leete, Yale, 
was published. An item in his will reads "to my son Horace Throop my Gun 
and the rest of the artillery," to other children he left, "books and great 
Bible," "my silver tankard," "Sermons," "Negro boy Jack." 

(IV) Colonel Benjamin Throop, fifth child of Rev. Benjamin Throop (the 
final "e" was dropped in the preceding generation), was born ilarch 9, 1744, 
died in New York State, June 16. 1822. He responded to the Lexington alarm 
as lieutenant and his commission as colonel of the Fourth Regiment Connec- 
ticut \'olunteers, signed by John Jay, secretary of the Board of War in Phila- 
delphia, March 9, 1779. was owned by Dr. Benjamin H. Throop of Scranton. 
Colonel Throop was brevetted for gallantry, and received a grant of land in 
Ontario county. New York, as bounty and half pay for life, $240.00 a year 
from April 20, 1 81 8, as pension. Dr. Throop, before mentioned, wrote of him 
under date of October 20, 1896: "He was major of the Fourth Connecticut 
Volunteers and with his regiment and three others, was ordered to New Jersey 
and Pennsylvania — spent the winter at \'alley Forge and one at Morristown : 
was at the battles of Trenton, New Brunswick and Germantown, and then 
with Sullivan was ordered by Washington to drive the Six Nations of Indians 
to their homes in Oneida count)', from winch they came down to the Wyom- 
ing Valley, now Luzerne county. With General Sullivan he drove them home, 
and after that landed at West Point on the Hudson and was in several battles 
on that river. That ended his first enlistment. He re-enlisted and was in 
various fights even to Montreal." He moved about 1800 to Red Hook. Dutchess 
county, New York, and about 1816 to Chenango county. New York. He mar- 


ried at Lebanon, Connecticut, April 4, 1766, Susannah, daughter of his father's 
first cousin, Captain Dan and Susannah (Cary) Throope, and sister of Captain 
Dan (2) Throope of the Revohition. 

(V) Major Dan Throop, eldest son of Colonel Benjamin Throop, was 
born April 27, 1768, died at Oxford, New York, May 18, 1824, and was buried 
with military honors. He is buried with his wife in the cem.etery there, the 
spot marked by a fine monument erected by his son. Dr. Benjamin H. Throop. 
Major Dan Throop served in the Revolutionary War, first entering the army 
when fifteen years of age, marching with his father's regiment as a fifer, and 
was pensioner of the government in his old age. He married, November 12, 
1788, Mary Gager, of Bozrah, Connecticut. In 1792 they sold land in Nor- 
wich "inherited from our Honored Father and Mother late of Bozrah" and 
moved to Oxford, New York. His eldest son. Captain Simon Gager Throop, 
was a brilliant, popular lawyer of Oxford, captain of militia, member of as- 
sembly and paymaster in New York, died in Honesdale, Pennsylvania, in 1880. 
Mary (Gager) Throop died in 1842 aged seventy-three years. 

(VI) Dr. Benjamin Henry Throop, sixth child and youngest son of Major 
Dan and Mary (Gager) Throop, was born at Oxford, New York. November 
9, 181 1, died at Scranton, Pennsylvania, June 26, 1897. The lad attended Ox- 
ford Academy, where among his classmates was Horatio Seymour, later gov- 
ernor of New York state, and Ward Hunt. Finishing his academical course he 
began the study of medicine under Dr. Percy Packer, afterward entering Fair- 
field Medical College, then the only medical college in the state. He was grad- 
uated M. D. in 1832, being then twenty-one years of age. In February of the 
same year he settled at Honesdale, Pennsylvania, then an insignificant village, 
located at the head of the Delaware and Hudson Canal. He remained there until 
1833, then located in Oswego, New York, and in 1836 in New York City. He 
remained in New York City until 1840, and in the early fall of that year visited 
old friends in Honesdale. While there he was called in consultation by a 
physician of the Lackawanna Yalley and so favorably did the locality impress 
him, that on October 8, 1840, he was established in Providence. 

In 1842 he married, his wife being Harriet F. McKinney, a sister of the 
wife of Sanford Grant, a member of the firm of Scranton & Grant, which 
was the first business firm to locate in Slocum Hollow, and from whose early 
eflforts grew the citv of Scranton. Through this relationship, the doctor be- 
came acquainted with the possibilities of the location and in 1847 he was per- 
suaded to settle at the "Hollow." He chose a home lot in the woods and 
erected a house, the first ever erected in Scranton proper, except those built by 
Scranton & Grant, as part of their iron making plant. He soon became known 
throughout the Valley as a skillful physician, and had a large practice. In 
1853 he was appointed postmaster, holding the office for two years. In 1835, Dr. 
Throop having become convinced that coal was to be the great source of the 
Valley's wealth and mining, its chief industry, began investing in land under- 
laid with anthracite coal. He kept increasing his holdings until, when railroads 
finally came and large coal companies began their operations, he found himself 
a very wealthy man. He continued one of Scranton's active business men, 
owned a great deal of real estate, including additions to the city in Hyde Park, 
Providence, and on his own land laid out the town of Blakely, the village of 
Priceburg, and founded the town of Throop. He purchased nearby farms, 
divided them into lots, and sold them at reasonable prices, but at a handsome 
profit. He supervised the completion of the Newton turnpike, mtroduced the 
first public milk supply, the first drug store, the first livery stable, the first 
railway package express company. He was instrumental in securing the first 
post office and was postmaster 1853 to 1858. When later the county of Lack- 


awanna was erected from Luzerne, it was Dr. Throop who worked the hardest 
to bring about the separation, he having agitated the question of division for 
years, spending a great deal of time in Harrisburg in the pursuit of friends for 
the measure. 

He was the first surgeon in old Luzerne county to respond to President 
Lincoln's call, receiving unsolicited a commission as surgeon from his friend, 
Governor Curtin. He kept his men in excellent health and was the first 
surgeon in Pennsylvania to establish a field hospital. This was a necessity, as 
the men there quartered, drawn from different states, and living under 
unusual conditions, developed a great deal of sickness. Dr. Throop. as the 
senior surgeon, was expected to provide s\iitable quarters for these men and 
he did, by seizing an abandoned hotel and the city hall, filling them with cots, 
which he furnished at his own expense, bedding being sent in from Scranton. 
He had left home expecting to be away for a day or two, but it was only at 
the end of four months of active service in the field that he was free to return 
to his home. Soon afterward he was again ordered to the front, where he 
served as surgeon of the One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania In- 
fantry, being ordered to the relief of that regiment, after they had been badly 
cut up at the battle of Antietam. There he establislied a field hospital in the 
woods, and remained in charge six weeks. He then accompanied the army to 
Harper's Ferry, remaining there until an attack of fever compelled his return 
home. It was not until after the war ended that the good doctor gave up his 
practice, but from that time until his death he devoted himself to his extensive 
business interests and to the many plans he had formed for the betterment of 
his fellow men. All through his life he continued his deep interest in the 
church and it was largely through his influence and assistance that St. Luke's 
(Episcopal) Parish was able to erect their beautiful church edifice. He aided 
in organizing the first lodge of Independent Order of Odd Fellows in Scran- 
ton, aiding also in the erection of their first hall, which was also used for 
lectures and entertainments. He was one of the presidents of the Scranton 
City Bank, president of the Scranton Illuminating, Heating and Power Com- 
pany, and was relied on for generous support in the establishment of ever^ 
laudable enterprise. 

Though long retired from practice, he never lost interest in the medical 
profession. He was a warm friend of the young doctors and the Lackawanna 
Medical Society was enriched by a gift of 200 volumes for their library. He 
was appointed October 13, 1873, by Governor Hartranft. a trustee of the State 
Hospital for Insane at Danville and was continued in that position by succeed- 
ing governors, being reappointed as follows: In 1878 by Governor Hartranft; 
1879, by Governor Hoyt ; 1882, 1883 and 1885, by Governor Pattison : 1888, 
by Governor Beaver; 1891 and 1894, by Governor Pattison; 1895 and 1897, by 
Governor Hastings. He founded Lackawanna Hospital and maintained it at 
his own expense until in 1874 the state assumed iis control. During many ot 
his long years of private practice, he was chief surgeon for the Delaware & 
Hudson and the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad companies. Po- 
litically he was a Republican, but never sought or accepted public office. In 
medical practice he was allopathic, yet independent and liberal in his views 
of the merits of other schools. He was a great reader and deep thinker, wrote 
a deal for the medical journals and for the newspapers. He collected and 
arranged a great deal of historical data concerning Scranton's early history, 
much of it having, since his death, been published. He was broad in his re- 
ligious views and possessed an uprightness of character that won him the un- 
varying respect of his associates. In the broadest and best sense, his was a 
successful life. Very few of his contemporaries are now left on the scene of 


of action, but these few speak in the highest praise of Dr. Benjamin Henry 
Throop and his great service to Scranton as hamlet, borough and city. 

He married, January 19, 1842, Harriet F. McKinney, born at ElHngton, 
Connecticut, January 31, 1817, died May 20, i8g8. Children: i. Mary E., 
born March 4, 1844, married, June 20, 1866, Horace B. Phelps, born June 2'3, 
1842. died November 21, 1881. Mrs. Phelps survives her husband, a resident 
of Scranton. 2. Eugene Romayne, died young. 3. Benjamin Henry (2), 
died young. 4. William Biglei, died young. 5. George Scranton, of whom 

(VH) George Scranton Throop, youngest son of Dr. Benjamin Henry 
Throop, was born in Scranton, September 9, 1854, died ihere March 23. 1894. 
He graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, as an M. D. and 
practiced medicine a few months but gave it up in a short time and went uuo 
business with his father, who at this time was active in real estate and coal 
projects, George S. Throop taking care of the actual supervision and outside 
work for his father. George S. Throop was a Mason, Knight Templar, Odd Fel- 
low, and was the first exalted ruler of the local branch of Elks ; was active in 
forming the volunteer fire department and later the paid department. He 
married Jennie Wall, of Tunkhannock, January 3, 1889; she died July 12, 
1893, her two months" old baby died a few days later. 

(Vni) Benjamin H. Throop, son of George Scranton and Jennie (Wall; 
Throop, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, December 22, 1889. He ob- 
tained a practical education by attendance at the Hills School, Pittston, Penn- 
sylvania, and Harstrom School, Norwalk, Connecticut, graduating from the 
latter institution in the class of 1911. His active career, so far, has been de- 
voted to dairying and stock farming, in which he has been eminently successful, 
conducting liis operations on a farm consisting of 350 acres of improved land 
located in Elmhurst, Pennsylvania, of which he is the owner. For dairy pur- 
poses he has in his possession about seventy cows, full blooded Guernsey stock, 
which yield a large amount of milk and which he keeps in a thoroughly scien- 
tific manner, paying particular attention to sanitary conditions. He also pays 
special attention to the raising and training of German Shepherd dogs, which 
he trains for police purposes, which have the reputation of being the best bred 
and trained dogs in the world, having taken several prizes at the dog show 
held in New York City, March, 1913. There is a great demand for these dogs 
throughout the entire country. Dtiring his brief business experience Mr. 
Throop has displayed ability of a high order, which, coupled with progressive 
ideas, perseverance and persistency, will win for him a position among the 
representative business men of his section of the state. He is a member of the 
directorate of the Union National Bank, Scranton Trust Company, and Young 
Men's Christian Association, in all of which he takes a keen interest and lead- 
ing part. He is a Republican in politics. 

Mr. Throop married, June 26, 191 1, Margaret E. Connell, daughter of Dr. 
Alexander J. and Fannie (Norton) Connell, a sketch of whom appears else- 
where in this work. Mr. Throop is a member of the Episcopal church, Mrs. 
Throop of the Methodist church. 


From the Palatine of Germany, prior 10 the Revolution, came an emigrant 
who settled in Allen township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. He was 
a true Teuton, industrious and thrifty, with a well stored mind and a strong 
desire to have his sons obtain all the benefits of education. To one of these 
sons, George, Northampton county and the State of Pennsylvania owe much 


of their educational prominence, for as clerk of court, lawyer, legislator and 
chief executive of Pennsylvania, his influence was always given to the cause 
of education in general and free public education in particular, he being in 
truth the father of the public school system in Pennsylvania. In the next 
generation a grandson of the German emigrant became one of the leading 
journalists of Northeastern Pennsylvania, advocating in his papers, with all 
his force, the cause not only of education, but that of good government and 
righteousness in the body politic. In the third American generation a great- 
grandson of the emigrant and grandson of Governor Wolf is found among 
the leading men in the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company, that first and 
greatest of early corporations and one inseparably associated with the develop- 
ment of Slocum Hollow to the great Scranton of half a century later. Although 
Theodore G. Wolf has not been associated with the company since 1900, he 
was for thirty-eight years a factor in their prosperity and only severed his con- 
nections to assume greater responsibilities imposed upon him by the last will 
and testament of another of the honored pioneers of Scranton, Dr. Benjamin 
Throop. Probably no family in its first three generations has produced three 
men whose lives were more completely lived in the service of their fellow men, 
than those whose careers are herein traced, but each in a different field. 

(II) George Wolf, seventh governor of Pennsylvania, was born in Allen 
township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, August 12, 1777, son of the 
German emigrant. He was educated at a classical school in the county, pre- 
sided over by Robert Andrews, A. M., a graduate of Trinity College, Dublin. 
After finishing his classical course, including a good knowledge of Latin, Greek 
and the sciences, he returned to the home farm, of which he took charge. He 
also was principal of the Allen Township Academy, but the law was his goal. 
He obtained a position in the prothonotary's office at Easton and at the same 
time read law under the direction of Hon. John Ross. The young man early 
espoused the principles of Thomas Jefferson, who, when he became president, 
appointed Mr. Wolf postmaster of Easton. He was later appointed by Gov- 
ernor Thomas McKean clerk of the Orphans' Court of Northampton, a posi- 
tion he held until 1809. In 1814 he was elected a member of the Pennsylvania 
house of assembly, ran for state senator the following year, but unsuccessfully. 
In 1824 he was elected to Congress, was twice re-elected and was known as a 
hard worker, a conscientious, upright member. In 1829 he was elected gov- 
ernor of Pennsylvania. He had previously been admitted to the bar and had a 
well established lucrative practice, which he abandoned to assume the high 
office of governor. He came to the office at a time when the great schemes 
of public improvement had caused the placing of an immense debt upon the 
state and vast sums were needed to complete them, or lose the amount already 
invested. State finances were in a deplorable condition, the revenues being 
insufficient to meet even the interest on the debt already contracted. The outlook 
was very gloomy, but Governor Wolf took the bold ground that the improve- 
ments must go on, and in his first message to the legislature recommended in 
strong language the vigorous prosecution of the public works and the adoption 
of a system of taxation by which funds would be realized to pay interest on past 
loans and such as it was still necessary to create. He received the approval of the 
public and the great work of uniting the eastern waters of Pennsylvania with 
the western and the rivers of central Pennsylvania with Lake Erie was vigor- 
ously prosecuted. 

But the greater fame of Governor Wolf rests upon his strong advocacy of 
a system of popular education. James Buchanan said in a speech delivered at 
West Chester, previous to Governor Wolf's election : 


If ever the passion of envy could be excused a man ambitious of true glory, he might 
almost be justified in envying the fame of that favored individual, whoever he may be, 
whom Providence intends to make the instrument in establishing Common Schools 
throughout this Commonwealth. His task will be arduous. He will have many diffi- 
culties to encounter, and many prejudices to overcome; but his fame will exceed even that 
of the great Clinton, in the same proportion that mind is superior to matter. Whilst the 
one has erected a frail memorial, which like everything human must decay and perish, 
the other will raise a monument which shall flourish in immortal vouth and endure whilst 
the human soul shall continue to exist. Ages unborn and nations yet behind shall bless 
his memory. 

To George Wolf that honor was accorded and to him, in all time to come, 
when the inquirer shall seek to know by whose voice and sturdy will the cause 
of public education was championed and finally won. shall the praise be given. 
Wliile former governors had noticed and favored the measure, nothing sub- 
stantial had been accomplished. Governor Wolf made the adoption of a public 
school system the special object of his ambition and the cherished purpose of 
his administration. He not only advocated the measure in public and private 
but put his own shoulder to the wheel and with iron will yielded to no temporiz- 
ing, and ere he laid aside the office of governor had the honor and great pleasure 
of signing a bill, making the first step towards the establishment of a free system 
of public education in this state : the levying of a tax for a school fund, passed 
by both branches of the legislature at the session of 1834. George Wolf was 
the first chief executive of Pennsylvania to establish his office in the State 
Capitol, previous executives having had their offices in their private residences. 
He kept regular, punctual hours, cordially received all callers, and in the dis- 
patch of the immediate business of his office kept no clerk. 

He warmly supported President Jackson in his conflict with the South 
Carolina nullifiers, but did not approve the president's action in refusing a 
charter to the United States Bank and crushing out that institution. Twice 
elected to the office of chief magistrate of the Keystone State, Governor Wolf 
was defeated for a third term. In the following year he was appointed by 
President Jackson to the responsible position of first comptroller of the treas- 
ury of the United States. For two years he acceptably filled this high office, 
then resigned to accept from the hands of President Van Buren the office of 
collector of the port of Philadelphia. He died veiy suddenly, while yet in the 
vigor of his manhood, March 11, 1840, aged sixty-three years. He held the 
governor's office from December 15, 1829, until December 15, 1835. His chief 
attributes were sterling integrity, sound judgment, strong common sense with 
a firmness that spurned dictation. As a lawyer he was noted for attainments of 
a solid rather than a brilliant character and was an unerring judge of human 
nature, one of Pennsylvania's strongest executives and one of the many great 
men of our state that we owe to our foreign-born sons. 

(Ill) Edward L. Wolf, son of Governor George Wolf, was born in Fas- 
ten, Pennsylvania, and after a life of great usefulness died at Scranton in 1881, 
aged sixty-five years. He embraced the profession of journalism and from 
early life until death he held important connection with the press of this 
section of Pennsylvania. Among the more important journals with which he 
was connected as editor and publisher may be named the Easton Sentinel, The 
Backwoodsman at Honesdale and two papers in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. 
In 1872 he catne to Scranton, as political editor of the Republican, continuing 
in that position until his death. He was a strong writer and his editorials were 
noted for their great effect in molding the public opinion. He was a member 
of Barger Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of Stroudsburg, also belonged 
to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows there. 

He married Mary G. Throop, daughter of Simon Gager Throop, of Ox- 


ford. New York, a lawyer and a classmate of President Martin L. Van Buren. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Wolf were members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
Seven of their eleven children grew to years of maturity : Theodore G., Han- 
nah M., Edward L. (2), Frederick, George E., Mary, R. B. Duane. 

(IV) Theodore G. Wolf, eldest son of Edward L. and Mary G. (Throop) 
Wolf, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, May 26, 1844. His early education 
was obtained in the public schools of Honesdale and Stroudsburg. finishing 
his studies at Scranton high school. He began business life as office boy with 
the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company. January i, 1862, and for thirty- 
eight years was continuously in the service of that great company, advancing 
rapidly from promotion to promotion. The only break in his thirty-eight years 
of continuous service was the forty days of military duty he performed in 
1863. He did not long remain in an office position, but soon went into the 
rolling mills, served a regular apprenticeship and about 1868 was made fore- 
man of a department. In 1872 he was appointed superintendent and in 1888 
general superintendent of the rolling mills. Mr. Wolf had gained the entire 
respect of the officials of the company, and had justified their confidence in 
him by administering the duties and responsibilities of his position wisely. He 
was rnaster of his business in every detail and while the great Lackawanna 
Coal and Iron Company has ever been well officered and managed, its interests 
were never better cared for than by Mr. Wolf during his years of authority. 

In 1896 he was named in the will of Dr. Benjamin H. Throop as one of the 
executors of his vast estate. For four years he acted as executor in connection 
with his duties as superintendent of the rolling mills, but in 1900 resigned the 
latter office and has since devoted himself entirely to the Tliroop estate and 
his private corporate concerns. He is a director of the Allentown Portland 
Cement Company, the Pittston Slate Company, the Nordmont Chemical Com- 
pany, the Luzerne Chemical Company and the Wyoming Chemical Company. 
His connection with the First National Bank of Scranton is most interesting, 
he being the only person now living who was connected with the bank in 1862. 
His service was as acting teller for a time. Mr. Wolf's military service was 
as a private in Company A, Forty-first Regiment Pennsylvania Militia, enlist- 
ing June 30, 1863, and remaining in the service forty days. He is a member 
of Peter Williamson Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and a member of St. 
Luke's Episcopal Church, which he has served as vestryman for twenty-one 

Mr. Wolf married Elizabeth E. Foulke, daughter of Charles M. and 
Catherine Foulke. the latter named a prominent speaker of the Society of 
Friends. Their only son, W. Scranton Wolf, born in 1872. is a resident of 


Inheriting the virile qualities of a Scotch-Irish ancestor, who fought in the 
Revolution. John T. Dunn rightfully possesses the qualities that have made the 
name of Dunn a noted one in the legal annals of Chemung county. New York. 
and Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, his grandfather, Judge James Dunn, 
having been a leading light of the former bar, while the firm of Dunn & Dunn 
— Arthur and John T. Dunn — occupy a no less important position at the bar of 
Lackawanna county. 

(I) The Scotch-Irish ancestor. John Dunn, was a Revolutionary soldier 
from Connecticut, who married and had a son, William. 

(II) William Dunn, a son of John Dunn, also served in the Revolutionary 
War from Connecticut, later settling in Elmira, New York, where he lived on 


Water street, east of Sullivan, there being now no trace of his residence. He 
first engaged in merchandising, and later was for several years a proprietor of 
the "Black Horse" tavern in Elmira, at the corner of Lake and Water streets. 
He lived for a time in F]ath. Steuben county. New York, where some of his 
children were born. Later he settled in Chemung Valley, New York, where 
he built the first grist inill in association with Judge Payne. He lived to be 
ninety years of age. His widow married (second) John Davis, although very 
much his senior. William Dunn was made a Mason in August, 1793. He had 
several sons, all of whom became politically prominent. Charles W., the eld- 
est, is said to have been the first white child born in Bath, but passed most of 
his eighty-five years in Chemung county, a merchant and landlord, proprietor 
for many years of the Franklin House at Horseheads, New York. Thoinas, 
another son. was a merchant, and married a daughter of Dr. Elias Satterlee. 

(HI) William (2) Dunn, son of William (i) Dunn, was an unusually 
brilliant young man and one of the finest of public speakers. He was an ardent 
Whig and a great admirer of Henry Gay, whom he greatly resembled in face 
and figure. He was born in 1802: married in February. 1825, Murilla Hulburt, 
of Cornwall, Connecticut, died December, 1856, the result of an injury from a 
piece of falling cornice at a fire in Elinira, near the Lake street bridge. He 
was collector of customs and one time held a department position in Wash- 

(I\') Judge James Dunn, youngest son of William (2) Dunn, gave promise 
from early manhood of becoming one of the notable men of the county. He 
was educated in the public schools, and about 1822 began the study of law with 
Aaron Konkle. He was admitted to the bar of Chemung county in 1825 and 
was subsequently a member of the law firms of North & Dunn, Dunn & Hath- 
away and Dunn & Patterson. He was the second elected "First Judge" of 
Chemung county, serving from 1844 to 1846. In his prime he was looked upon 
as possessing a strong legal mind, and was numbered with the ablest men of 
his profession. He measured swords with many of the brightest lawyers of 
his day and won many notable legal battles. In 1840 he was the candidate of 
the Whig party for Congress, but the district being strongly Democratic, he 
was defeated. For many years he was the acknowledged Whig leader in 
Chemung county, having for his trusted friends such men as Seward, Weed, 
Greeley, Charles Cook, John C. Clark and others. In 1848 Judge Dunn sup- 
ported the candidacy of his old time antagonist, Martin Van Buren, for the 
presidency, "bolting" his own party ticket in favo'- of the Free Soil Democrat, 
In 1852 he supported General Scott and became an earnest and active Republi- 
can, holding extremely radical views on the slavery question. During the 
stormv reconstruction days, he acted with the Democratic party, although his 
last vote was for President Hayes, He died May i, 1877. 

The resolutions of respect from the Chemung county bar tell of the high 
esteem in which he was held. Said Ariel S. Thurston, at a meeting of the bar 
held May 3, 1877 : "At the time of his death Judge Dunn was with one ex- 
ception the oldest member of the bar within the limits of the old county of 
Tioga, He was too, I believe, the oldest native born citizen of the city of 
Elmira residing within its limits. He was most genial and companionable in 
his manner, somewhat sarcastic ; a man of broad humor and quick repartee ; 
always enjoying a joke and with his friend, James Robinson, was often wont 
to set the table in a roar. In the argument of a legal proposition, he was by 
no means an antagonist to be trifled with." 

Judge Dunn married, April 28, 1827, Eliza Thompson, of Goshen, Con- 
necticut. Just three days prior to the death of Judge Dunn, they celebrated 
their golden wedding. He was survived by his widow and sons, D. Thnmp- 


son, Henry and Isaac B., the two former then residents of the State of 
Georgia. He also left two daughters, wives of Frank A. Atkinson, of Elmira, 
and Thomas Root, of Philadelphia. 

(V) Isaac B. Dunn, son of Judge James Dunn, was born in Elmira, New 
York, in 1846. He was educated in the public schools. He entered the public 
service of his country, was examiner of pensions and remained in government 
position until his death. He was a member of the Presbyterian church and of 
the Masonic order. He married Georgianna Frances, daughter of John 
Tatham, of English ancestry, his family early settling in Virginia Three chil- 
dren of Isaac B. Dunn grew to years of maturity: i. John T., of whom 
further. 2. Eliza, married Dr. William Carver Williams, of Chicago. 3. 
Arthur, born in Elmira, New York, March 7, 1873 ; graduate of Princeton 
University, class of 1895 : read law with Judge Alfred Hand, was admitted to 
the Lackawanna county bar in September, 1895, practiced alone until 1900, 
when he admitted his brother, the firm becoming as now, Dimn & Dunn : he 
is president of the Scranton Real Estate Company and of the Fidelity, Mort- 
gage and Securities Company ; he married Augusta Pratt Fordliam and has 
children : Arthur, John Fordham, Adelaide, Augusta, Walter Bruce. 

(VI) John T. Dunn, eldest son of Isaac B. Dunn, was born in Elmira, 
New York, July 10, 1869. He attended the public schools, prepared at an in- 
stitution of learning in Marietta, Ohio, entered Princeton University, whence 
he was graduated A. B. class of 1892. He prepared himself for the ministry, 
.attending McCormick Theological Seminary one year, Gottmgen L'niversity, 
Germany, one term, Princeton Theological Seminary two yeais and was there 
graduated Bachelor of Divinity, class of 1896. He was regidarly ordained 
a minister of the Presbyterian church and for two years was engaged m preach- 
ing. His theological and philosophical study had led him into new lines of 
thought, and in following these he was receding from the orthodox creed of 
his church. Still, environment, family influence and personal friendships, as 
well as the sentimental appeal religion ever makes to the senses, held him to 
the ministry. But the new conception of truth drew with insistent strength, 
until finally swept froin his moorings his integrity compelled him to abandon 
the ministry and with it the long cherished views, tenets, hopes and aspirations 
of a life tiine. By nature, talent, and preparation, Mr. Dunn was peculiarly 
adapted to the ministry and to renounce it cost liim not only years of mental 
struggle, but many valued friends and engendered a disappointment that only 
time can alleviate. During these years of mental anguish, he was extremely 
careful in his pulpit utterances not to violate any of the orthodox tenets of his 
church, avoiding doubtful subjects in his sermons, strictly observing his ordina- 
tion vows, and was faithful to his obligations until his decision was made and 
the ties sundered that bound him to the orthodox faith. He paid the jjrice he 
must always pay who desires intellectual and religious freedom of thought, 
but with a conscience clear and with unsullied integrity, he has never regretted 
the decision arrived at and carried out with courageous fidelity to the dictates 
of his own conscience. 

After passing this critical period of his life, Mr. Dunn began the study of 
law, under the preceptorship of his brother, Arthur ; was admitted to the 
Lackawanna county bar in starch, 1900, and at once became a member of the 
now eminent law firm, Dunn & Dunn. Both members of the firm have been 
admitted to all state and federal courts of the district. In their law practice 
they have been quite successful and as attorneys built up a very large mortgage 
business, having negotiated in Scranton and vicinity more than two million 
dollars of mortgage loans without the loss of a dollar of principal or interest. 
They became especially distinguished, however, as organizers and financiers. 


, Jtf:^^^ 


In this capacity they have added several monuments of prosperity tc the city, 
such as the People's National Bank and the Anthracite Trust Company, which 
were directly organized by them ; also the Providence Bank. Among other 
corporations organized by them were the Black Diamond Silk Company and 
the Scranton Real Estate Company, both being successful Scranton concerns. 
The .Scranton Real Estate Company occupies its own handsome office build- 
ing at 316 Washington avenue and is at the present time directly under their 
management and control, Arthur Dunn holding the position of president and 
John T. Dunn holding the official position of vice-president and treasurer. 
They have been organizers also of numerous other banks and corporations 
doing business outside of the city of Scranton. But Mr. Dunn likes best 
to be known as one interested in the public welfare. Comparatively few of the 
public undertakings for the betterment of his city find him absent, not so much 
in any prominent official capacity, but giving up much of his time and energy 
to personal work and often public speech. 

John T. Dunn took an active part in the successful endeavor of his brother, 
Arthur Dunn, in reducing the Bi-Carmel council of Scranton, of sixty-two 
members, to one of five members. He has been very active and faithful in 
the effort made by the Scranton Surface Protective Association to protect the 
surface of Scranton. He is a member of the board of trade and always found 
present. While at Princeton Mr. Dunn was a member of Whig Hall, the 
famous university debating club. He was also a member of the University 
Glee Club. He is a member of the State and County Bar associations and of 
the Green Ridge Club. Until recently he was a member of the Scranton Club 
and the Country Club. 

He married, December 19, 1906, Theodora Grace, daughter of Theodore 
F. and Matilda E. (States) Brown, of Wyalusing, Pennsylvania. Children: 
Theodore Brown and Henry Ernest. Mrs. Dunn is a member of the Elm 
Park Methodist Episcopal Church, of which Mr. Dunn is an attendant and 


The late William Tallman Smith, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, was recognized 
as one in whose personality were happily combined adherence to the loftiest 
ideals of integrity and a geniality which endeared him to all who liad the honor 
of his acquaintance. His versatility of talent won for him unique distinc- 
tion. In the world of art, in the world of literature, in the world of business, 
in the world of charitable deeds he was equally at home, honored, respected 
and admired by all. He was a descendant of English ancestors, whose first 
arrival in this country was in the year 1632. 

Ruel and Judith N. (Haskell) Smith, parents of William T. Smith, were 
natives of Massachusetts, from which state they migrated to Vermont, settling 
in Middlebury where the father was in business as a merchant, removing from 
there to Rhode Island, in 1840, where they spent the remainder of their days, 
his death occurring in the year i860, and her death in the year 1865. 

William T. Smith was born in Middlebury, Vermont, November 30, 1834, 
and died suddenly in Florida, whither he had gone on a pleasure trip, March 
25, 1898. When he was six years of age his parents removed to Woonsocket, 
Rhode Island, and the private and common schools of that town furnished 
him with the advantages of a good, practical education. Upon the completion 
of his studies he became clerk in a general store conducted by his brother at 
Woonsocket. He removed to Providence. Rhode Island, in 1857. and there 
engaged in business for a period of three years, after which he took charge 


of the quarries of the Harris Lime Rock Company in Rhode Island. He se- 
cured a temporary release from these duties in the spring of 1862 in order to 
offer his services to his country during the Civil War. He enlisted in the 
Ninth Regiment Rhode Island Volunteer Infantry, for a three months' term 
of service, and was actively engaged in the defence of Washington, which was 
at that time threatened by the Confederate army. After his term of service 
expired and his recovery from a severe illness, he returned to his duties at the 
quarries, and his fidelity in the discharge of the same was recognized by elec- 
tion to the legislature, where he ably served one term. Immediately after the 
expiration of his term in the legislature, in 1865, he went to Texas with the 
intention of making his home there if the country was to his liking, but ap- 
parently he was not satisfied, as he returned at the end of a few months. Not 
long afterward he was appointed secretary and treasurer of two silver mining 
companies in Nevada, and in order to properly discharge the duties of these 
responsible offices he spent three years in that state. Business matters then 
kept him in St. Louis, Missouri, for one year. 

In 1870 Mr. Smith became identified with the interests of Scranton. He 
then became superintendent of the Mount Pleasant Coal Company at Scranton, 
which was leased by a Boston company. He operated the mines of this comi- 
pany until 1877, then leased them in perpetuity for himself, and operated them 
during the remainder of his life, becoming one of the most extensive operators 
in the Lackawanna Valley. 

A condensed account of his other business operations and interests is as 
follows: President of the Meredith Run Coal Company, and largely interested 
in the Sterrick Creek Coal Company ; connected with the Scranton Forging 
Company, the Lackawanna Lumber Company, the Scranton Packing Company, 
the Lackawanna Mills, and some smaller corporations ; became a stockholder in 
the Third National Bank at the time of its foundation in 1872, was elected a 
director in 1883, and was in office at the time of his death ; was one of the 
incorporators of the Lackawanna Trust and Safe Deposit Company in May, 
1887, was its first president, and was in office at the time of his death. He 
served as president of the board of trade, was elected president of the Scranton 
board of health in 1886, and while in office instituted many much needed re- 
forms in this field. 

This varied scope of activity did not prevent him from being equally active 
in other directions, notably those connected with charitable and religious mat- 
ters. For many years he was a director in the Lackawanna Hospital, and so 
liberal was his support of this institution and so beneficial his efforts in its be- 
half, that upon his death the authorities issued a memorial volume in recogni- 
tion of his services. The Hahnemann Hospital also had the benefit of his sup- 
port, as did the Home for the Friendless. He served as treasurer of the As- 
sociated Charities of Scranton for many years, and was one of the founders 
of the Oral School for the Deaf, an institution which has been of inestimable 
value. So generous, self-sacrificing and valuable had been his work in con- 
nection with this institution, that after his death the board of directors pro- 
nounced him as "necessary to the success of the work." The Scranton Public 
Library was another public institution in which he was greatly interested, 
serving as vice-president from the time of the organization of its board of 
trustees until his death. He donated the fine portrait of the founder of the 
library, Mr. Albright, for whom he had entertained a great admiration. 

His religious affiliation was with St. Luke's Protestant Episcopal Church. 
in which he had been a vestryman for many years. The rector and other offi- 
cials of the church said of him : "His purse, his time, his labor, the best gifts 
of his head and heart, have always been freely given for the upbuilding of 


the church and the spreading of Christ's kingdom among men. He was a 
helper to every good work. Such a record is indeed rare, and must, we hope 
and beHeve, be a constant incentive to all who knew and loved him, to earnest 
efforts to continue the work which he so faithfully and usefully carried on." 
Art and literature found in him an ardent and generous patron, and it was a 
delight to converse with him upon these subjects and gain an insight into his 
rich store of information. Politically he gave his support to the Republican 
party, but was never desirous of holding public office. Many were the ex- 
pressions of sympathy and the tributes paid to his memory by private people 
and the business corporations with which Mr. Smith had been associated. The 
limits of this article will not permit individual mention of all, but what was 
voiced in part by the Scranton Club expresses the feeling of all : "To speak of 
our loss is but to echo what has been felt by so many organizations with pur- 
poses widely divergent. Memories of his genial presence recall a personality 
rich in the qualities which make for personal friendship, the flower of all in- 
tercourse between man and man : and the Scranton Club will ever guard those 
memories, not only as golden links to the receding years, but also as an in- 
spiration toward the maintenance of the highest ideals of companionship." 

Regarded as a citizen, he belonged to that public-spirited, useful and helpful 
type of man whose ambitions and desires are centered and directed in those 
channels through which flow the greatest and most permanent good to the 
greatest number. He was well known to be a man of keen business instincts, 
a thorough manager and financier, and as most of his business affairs were 
of a public nature, bringing upon him the test of pure criticism, the high regard 
in which he was uniformly held was an indication of his strict fidelity to duty, 
his unswerving integrity and his honorable purpose. Feeling that he was blessed 
in business, he did not selfishly hoard his wealth, but used it largely and wisely 
for the good of the world, to relieve suffering and distress, to add to the beauty 
and joy of living and to the happiness of his fellowmen. He was a manly man, 
actuated in all he did by the highest principles and a broad humanitarian spirit, 
and his memory is hallowed by the love and regard which he engendered in 
the hearts of all who knew him. 

Mr. Smith married (first) in Woonsocket, Rhode Island, in 1857, Annie 
E., daughter of George W. C. Jenckes, of that city. They had two children 
who died young. Mrs. Smith died in 1861. Mr. Smith married (second) in 
1871. Abby H., daughter of Lorenzo Richmond, of Woodstock, Vermont. 

Mr. and Mrs. Smith were in complete harmony in all their tastes, living 
an ideal life, she proving a helpmate in the truest sense of the word. She is 
a woman of the utmost culture and refinement, active and prominent in every 
worthy cause, giving freely of her time and substance to those less fortunate 
in this world's goods, and thus has won and retains the confidence and love 
of all with whom she is brought in contact, both in private and public life. Her 
gifts to the city of Scranton of the children's ward at the State Hospital in 
1901 and the William Tallman Smith Manual Training School in 1905 were 
the carrying out of the known wishes and intentions of her husband. They 
are valuable additions to the charitable and educational work of the city, and 
will serve as monuments to the memory of Mr. and Mrs. Smith, more lasting 
and endurable than any other, by reason of the amount of good performed 
in each, and will serve to perpetuate their name in the city of Scranton as 
long as they continue to exist, their good continuing even longer. Men and 
women of the type of Mr. and Mrs. Smith are a blessing to a community, and 
their example should act as an incentive to others. 



Crowned with the snow of eighty-three winters, but with eyes bright with 
the glow of his kindly spirit and brilliant mind, with step elastic, walks George 
Linen Dickson, the oldest banker of the Lackawanna Valley, dearly beloved, 
highly respected and a striking figure among Scranton's prominent citizens. 

All but six of these eighty-three years have been spent in Pennsylvania, and 
fifty-three of them in Scranton. He is well known in the railroad world of 
the United States and Canada, as a manufacturer of railroad supplies and 
equipment, while his long connection with the First National Bank which dates 
from its organization, and as its vice-president since 1887, lias made him equally 
well known in the financial world. As manager of the Dickson Manufacturing 
Company, he made his first entrance into Scranton business life in i860, and . 
from that time until the present there has never been a day that he has not been 
a vital factor in the life of Scranton, and now at the age of eighty-three years, 
so remarkable has been his life, and so conspicuous his work in the develop- 
ment and progress of the city, that no tribute is too lofty, too heart-felt, too 
generous for his friends to offer, nor is any mark of their respect and devotion 

George Linen Dickson was born in Lauder, Berwickshire, Scotland, August 
3, 1830, son of James and Elizabeth Linen Dickson. James Dickson was born 
in Scotland, son of Sergeant Thomas Dickson, a soldier of England. Ser- 
geant Dickson served in the English army twenty-five years, participated in 
fifty-two engagements, fought with his regiment, the Ninety-second High- 
landers at Waterloo, repulsing the last French charge, having previously been 
engaged with Wellington in the Peninsular campaign against Napoleon's mar- 
shals in Spain. He was with the army at the death of Sir John Moore, killed 
January 16, i8og, and was present at the funeral of that gallant officer, im- 
mortalized by the English poet, Charles Wolfe, in the poem entitled "The 
Burial of Sir John Moore." 

James Dickson, son of Sergeant Thomas Dickson, was born in Scotland, 
December 25, 1801, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, in his seventy-ninth year. 
He learned the machinist's trade in his native land, and worked there as a 
journeyman until 1832, when he came to America, landing at Quebec, Canada, 
after a voyage of seventy-seven days from Glasgow in the sailing vessel 
Chieftan. He located in Toronto, province of Ontario, spending two years 
there in charge of the machinery of a line of steamboats on Lake Ontario. 
Qiolera there became epidemic and after he lost two of his children by that 
dread disease he came to the L^nited States, reaching Rochester by boat, then 
to Rondout, New York, by Erie canal, thence by Delaware and Hudson canal 
to Honesdale, Pennsylvania, thence to Carbondale, to Dundaf. finally reaching 
the farm owned by his brother-in-law, George Linen. He soon left that point, 
returning on foot to New York, where he worked two years at his trade. He 
then returned to the Lackawanna Valley for his family, intending to take them 
back to New York with him, but on reaching Carbondale, Scotch friends there 
residing persuaded him to remain there in charge of the machine shops of the 
Delaware and Hudson Canal Company as master mechanic. He remained in 
that position eighteen years, when he was retired on a pension in acknowledg- 
ment of his valuable services. He then in association with his sons, Thomas, 
John and George L., organized the firm, Dickson & Company, Joseph Ben- 
jamin also having an interest. After two successful years the firm incorporated, 
in 1861, as the Dickson Manufacturnig Company, with works in Wilk-es-Barre 
and Scranton, doing locomotive and general machine work in the two plants. 
The burden fell upon the sons, the father having practically retired, but giving 



to the younger men the benefit of his experienced judgment. James Dickson 
become a naturalized citizen of the United States. April 50. 1S44. and cast his 
first vote for his favorite and greatly admired Henry Clay. 

He married Elizabeth Linen, who like himself was born in Scotland, died 
1866; both were communicants of the Presbyterian church, of which' he was 
a deacon for many years. Five of their seven children, all born in Scotland, 
grew to maturity, the only present survivor being George L. Dickson of Scran- 
ton. Children: i. Thomas H., mine superintendent of the Delaware and Hud- 
son Canal Company, 1859-1864; then became general supermtendent until 
1868. when he was elected president of the company. He died at his summer 
home in Morristown, New Jersey. 2. Isabella, married John R. Fordham. 
3. Mary, married (first) Andrew Watt, (second) J. B. Von Bergen. 4. John 
."Mexander, died in 1867, being at that time general manager of the Dickson 
Manufacturing Company. 5. George Linen, of whom further. 6. and 7. Two 
other children, James and Elizabeth, both died in Canada, while young. 

George Linen Dickson was about two years of age when his parents came 
to Canada and two years later was brought with them tc the Ignited States. 
He was educated in the public schools in Carbondale. He was intended by his 
pious parents for a minister of the Presbyterian church, but his brother, 
Thomas, having established in a mercantile business in Carboiidale in 1845, 
prevailed upon his parents to allow George L. to enter his employ as clerk. He 
liad as a partner Joseph Benjamin, who also was anxious to have the boy with 
them, so the parents consented, and on February 6, 1845, he began work, in- 
tending his stay to be brief, but he continued with his brother until he attained 
his majority and never returned to school. In 185 1 he bought Mr. Benjamin's 
interest, the firm becoming G. L. Dickson & Company, his brothers, Thomas 
and John, being the other partners. The firm also owned Benjamin's old 
foundry, Thomas having charge of that, and George L. operating the store. 
In 1856 they sold the store, and as the Dickson Company. George L. operated 
the foundry at Carbondale, Thomas building and managing the Scranton plant. 
The company had incorporated as the Dickson Manufacturing Company, and 
on January 16, i860, George L. Dickson came to Scranton as manager of the 
local plant, then beginning his twenty-two years' service with the company in 
Scranton. In 1867 he became president of the company, continuing until 1882, 
when he sold his interests and retired from the company. He then established 
a private business in railroad supplies and equipment, representing several of 
the best known manufactures of machinery and supplies in New York and 
Scranton, becoming widely known in the trade in the United States and Canada. 
He employed in his works and business during his manufacturing career, a 
large number of men, and made many friends among them, and also was uni- 
versally popular with the trade. He was known as an upright, capable busi- 
ness man. wherever known at' all, a reputation established by honorable straight 
forward dealing in every transaction, be it large or small. In 1863 he had 
aided in the organization of the First National Bank of Scranton, and until 
1887 served as a director. He also was one of the organizers of the Scranton 
Steel Company, and was a promoter of other Scranton industries. In 1887, 
he was elected vice-president of the First National Bank and began withdraw- 
ing from his other enterprises, retaining only his official position with the 
bank since that date. He has maintained his high record as a business man 
and no less the able financier than the capable manufacturer. Much as he 
has accomplished in his worthy business career, it is the man himself that most 
attracts. He is sympathetic, kind and loyal, a firm friend and a good citizen. 

Mr. Dickson has a distinguished Masonic career, being one of the oldest 
Masons in the city, and holding a secure place in the hearts of his brethren. He 


was made a Mason in Carbondale, and there became worshipful master of his 
lodge. On coming to Scranton he demitted and joined Peter Vv'illiamson 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. He is also past high priest of Lacka- 
wanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons and past eminent commander of Coeur 
De Lion Commandery, Knights Templar. He is a thirty-second degree Mason 
of the Scottish Rite, belonging to the various bodies of that rite in Scranton. 
He joined the Independent Order of Odd Fellows in Carbondale and is a 
past noble grand. In religious faith he is an Episcopalian, having served as 
vestryman since 1859. 

Mr. Dickson married, September 16, 1856, Lydia M., daughter of John 
M. Poore, of Carbondale. The only living child of this marriage is Walter 
May, of Scranton. He married Amanda Manville and has a son, George N., 
now a student at Cornell University, class of 1918. Lydia M. Poore was born 
in Palmyra, Wayne county. New York, a cousin of Ben Perley Poore, one 
of the most lovable authors and humorists of a generation past and gone. 
The Poore family is of English origin and was numbered among the early 
colonists of New England, where land purchased from the Indians is yet owned 
by descendants. Mrs. Dickson's paternal grandfather. Dr. Daniel Noyes Poore, 
was a native of ;\Iassachusetts, a graduate of Harvard College, and a skillful, 
well-known physician. Her father, Honorable John M. Poore, was born in 
Essex, Massachusetts ; he aided in the construction of the Erie canal through 
Chenango county as a contractor on that section, in company with his father- 
in-law. Later he farmed for several years in the south and in 1846 located at 
Carbondale, Pennsylvania, of which city he was at one time mayor. He was a 
merchant in Carbondale but spent his latter years in Scranton, dying at the 
home of his daughter, Mrs. George Linen Dickson, aged eighty years. Harriet 
Townsend Poore, mother of Mrs. Dickson, was born near the Hudson river in 
New York, daughter of E. M. Townsend, a soldier of the War of 1812 and 
a pioneer settler of Carbondale, Pennsylvania, where he kept an inn in an old 
log house, long ago vanished. He was at one time sergeant-at-arms of 
the United States senate and was well acquainted with Henry Clay and other 
famous statesmen of that period. He died in Baltimore, Maryland, aged 
fifty-six years. He was a son of the Rev. Jesse Townsend, D. D., a graduate 
of Yale and a noted divine of the Presbyterian church. A brother of Mrs. 
Dickson, Townsend Poore, of Scranton, was long and prominently connected 
with the Delaware and Hudson Railroad Company. A distinguished mem- 
ber of the Townsend family was Martin L. Townsend, member of Congress 
from New York. 


Colonel Frederick Lyman Hitchcock, lawyer, soldier, and author of the 
present "History of Scranton," is a descendant of one of the old Puritan fami- 
lies who founded the New Haven colony. His ancestors were in Wallingford, 
Connecticut, as early as 1675, and in New Haven much earlier. 

Peter Hitchcock, grandfather of Colonel Hitchcock, was a native of Clare- 
mont. New Hampshire, and his son, Daniel Hitchcock, was born in Wallingford. 
The mother of Frederick L. Hitchcock and wife of Daniel Hitchcock, was 
Mary Peck, daughter of Ward Peck, a soldier in the Revolutionary army, who 
served throughout the war. He was a nephew of him for whom he was named 
— Major General Artemus Ward, the predecessor of General Washington in 
command of the Continental army. Ward Peck was but fourteen years of 
age when the war broke out ; his brothers had all entered the army and he had 
tried to enlist, but had been rejected because he was under stature. He pro- 


•cured a large pair of boots and stuffed them with cloth in order to raise him- 
self sufficiently to reach up to the measuring rod, and was accepted, notwith- 
standing his youth. He participated in nearly all the battles of the war. in- 
cluding Trenton, where he marched barefooted, his boots being worn out. 
The route of the American army, he said, could be traced by the blood from 
the feet of such as he. He was at Valley Forge and Brandywine. and was one 
of the four who bore the wounded Lafayette from the field. He was re- 
membered by the latter, who on his visit to the I'nited States showed him 
marked attention and expressed his gratitude. 

Frederick Lyman Hitchcock was born in Waterbury, Connecticut, April 
18, 1837, and was educated in the public schools there. When quite young he 
located in Scranton, Pennsylvania, and studied law with Samuel Sherrerd. of 
that city, and E. L. Dana, of Wilkes-Barre. and was admitted to the bar of 
Luzerne county, May 16, i860. He practiced his profession until interrupted 
by the Civil War. 

On August 22. 1862, he entered the army as adjutant of the One Hundred 
and Thirty-second Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers. This regiment par- 
ticipated in the battles of South Mountain. Antietam and Fredericksburg in 
1862, and Chancellorsville in 1863. At Fredericksburg he was twice wounded 
and left on the field for dead. Lieutenant Colonel Charles Albright, in his 
report of the battle, said : "The command was meager in officers : neither 
the colonel nor major were present, and just as the regiment was moving off 
to the bloody struggle. Adjutant F. L. Hitchcock, who had been absent on sick 
leave, came to my aid and assisted me greatly. He conducted himself with 
signal gallantry and bravery, and although wounded in two places continued 
on duty. His example on and oflf the battle field is worthy of imitation." 
Lieutenant Colonel V. M. Wilcox, commanding the One Hundred and Thirty- 
second Pennsylvania Regiment, said in his report of the battle of Antietam. 
September 17, 1862: "I cannot here too highly express my thanks and admira- 
tion for the assistance rendered me by Major Charles Albright and Adjutant 
F. L. Hitchcock. They never left the field for a moment, but by their cool- 
ness and bravery assisted me greatly in inspiring the men with that courage 
which it was necessary for men to possess under so severe a fire as that to 
which they were subjected." On January 24. 1863. Adjutant Hitchcock was 
promoted to major, and commanded the regiment at Chancellorsville. He was 
mustered out with the regiment. May 24. 1863. In December following he 
was examined by Major General Casey's examining board, and was awarded 
a commission as lieutenant-colonel of colored troops, and entered upon his 
duties at once, organizing the Twenty-fifth Regiment LInited States Colored 
Troops, at Philadelphia. Early in 1864 he was commissioned colonel, and 
served in the defenses at Fort Pickens and Pensacola, Florida, until December, 
1865. During most of this time he served as inspector-general of the District 
of West Florida, in addition to his duties as colonel. His regiment was pro- 
ficient in both infantry and artillery drill and practice. After a careful in- 
spection and exhaustive examination by General Marcy, inspector-general. 
LTiiited States Army. Colonel Hitchcock was ofl^ered the opportunity of 
remaining with the regiment as a part of the regular army of the LTnited States, 
but declined. 

His only brother. Edwin Sherman Hitchcock, enlisted in the Second Con- 
necticut Volunteers in the first three months service, under Colonel Alfred H. 
Terry, in May, 1861 : he was commissioned captain in the Seventh Connecticiit 
Volunteers in the fall of the same year, under the same colonel, and was killed 
under circumstances of great gallantry at the battle of Tames Island. June 16, 


Colonel Frederick L. Hitchcock was elected the first clerk of the mayor's 
court of the city of Scranton, in 1866, and in 1878 was appointed the first 
prothonotary of Lackawanna county ; was secretary of the Scranton Board 
of Trade in 1869-71-72-73, and was president during the years 1909-10, and 
had the honor to represent the board in the National Board of Trade which 
meets annually in Washington, D. C, for nearly twenty consecutive years, and 
during this time was a member of its executive council. He has recently been 
honored with a life membership. 

In 1866 Colonel Hitchcock entered into partnership with W. C. Dickinson, 
under the firm name of Dickinson & Hitchcock, in the crockery, china and 
glassware business, on Lackawanna avenue. The next year he bought Mr. 
Dickinson's interest and continued alone until 1868. when Ezra H. Ripple came 
into the firm, with William Council as a silent partner, forming the firm of 
F. L. Hitchcock & Company. Colonel Ripple and Mr. Council retired in 1872, 
and Henry A. Coursen came in. making the firm Hitchcock & Coursen. In 
1875 Colonel Hitchcock retired and resumed the practice of the law. In 1877, 
during the riot period of July and August, he was appointed a member of the 
citizens' advisory committee of the mayor, and was one of a group of veterans 
of the Civil War who organized a citizens' corps for the maintenance of law 
and order, thirty-eight of whom met and dispersed the mob in the great riot 
of August I, Colonel Hitchcock being second in command of the body of 
defenders that day. In 1878 he spent the winter in Harrisburg, working for 
the passage of the law creating Lackawanna county, and contributed in no 
small degree to its success. Fie was made secretary of the commission ap- 
pointed under that law to survey, lay out and erect the new county. In 1879 
he entered into partnership with J. .Atkins Robertson in the real estate business, 
under the firm name of Robertson & Hitchcock. In 1882 this firm became the 
agents of the Barber Asphalt Paving Company, and secured the laying of the 
first modern street pavements in the city of Scranton. During the next five 
years the firm paved more than five miles of the city streets with asphalt pave- 

In 1877 Colonel Hitchcock's military knowledge and experience were called 
into action again, to assist in organizing the Scranton City Guard — four com- 
panies of the finest young men of the city. Colonel Hitchcock refused any 
office, but on recjuest of Major H. M. Boies, and solely to help perfect the new 
organization, he accepted the appointment of adjutant. The following year,. 
on the formation of the Thirteenth Regiment, National Guard of Pennsylvania, 
Colonel Hitchcock accepted, for the same reason, the lieutenant-colonelcy. The 
experience of 1877 had demonstrated the necessity of a first class regiment at 
this point, and he freely gave his time and military experience towards the 
perfecting of the regiment. In 1883 Colonel Boies declining a re-election. Col- 
onel Hitchcock accepted its leadership and served until 1888. During the 
second year of his term as colonel, and each year thereafter he succeeded in 
qualifying every man in the regiment as marksman in rifle practice — the first 
regiment to reach that standard in the history of the National Guard. Declining- 
a second term, he was presented by his fellow officers with a souvenir on which 
was inscribed the following legend : "He led the regiment from the left to the- 
right of the line, and stood with it at the liead of the National Guard of Penn- 

Colonel Hitchcock was director of public safety for six weeks during the 
administration of Mayor James Moir, during which he reorganized the city 
fire department, placing it on a practically paid basis. He also compelled all 
liquor dealers to obey the law. All drinking places were closed at 12 o'clock 
p. m., and on Saturdays compelled to remain closed until 6 o'clock a. m. Mon- 


day. His activities in this respect made him persona non grata to the Hquor 
interests, and he was removed. On the incoming of the administration of 
Mayor J. Benjamin Dimmick, in 1906, Colonel Hitchcock was appointed city 
treasurer, which office he held for three years, until the close of that mayoralty 
term. During this period he inaugurated the system of depositing the city 
funds in the several banks of the city drawing interest on monthly balances. 

Colonel Hitchcock was one of the three ruling elders elected and ordained 
at the organization of the Second Presbyterian Church of Scrantoii, in 1874. 
During his eldership he represented the Presbytery of Lackawanna as a lay 
delegate in the general assembly of the Presbyterian Church of the United 
States, which met in Cleveland. Ohio, in 1875. He was again a delegate to 
the general assembly of 1898, and was a member of its judicial committee 
which had before it the question of the trial of Professor McGiffert, of New 
York, for heresy. It was Colonel Hitchcock's resolution that disposed of the 
case by asking Professor McGiffert to resign from the Presbyterian church 
on account of incompatible views. Colonel Hitchcock was superintendent of 
the Sunday school of the Second Church for several years, continuing in that 
office until his removal to Green Ridge, a suburb of Scranton, in 1881, when 
he severed his membership with the Second Church and united with the Green 
Ridge Presbyterian Church. He was superintendent of a flourishing mission 
Sunday school for four years prior to his connection with the Second Church. 
In 1883 he was elected superintendent of the Green Ridge Presbyterian Sun- 
day school, and served as such for eight years, and in 1888 he was elected an 
elder in the church, and is still serving in that office. He was president of 
the Young Men's Christian Association of Scranton in 1875-76-77, and has 
also served as treasurer. He is president of the Security Building and Loan 
Association, and treasurer of the Barium Produce Company. He has been 
prominent in the Masonic fraternity, being one of the oldest past masters of 
ITnion Lodge, No. 291, F. and A. M., and he is also a director of the Penn- 
sylvania Oral School for the Deaf. 

Colonel Hitchcock married, January 24, 1865. Carohne Neal Kingsbury. 
Her great-grandfather was Deacon Ebenezer Kingsbury, of Coventry, Con- 
necticut. He was a member of the Connecticut general assembly thirty-eight 
years, a military officer of rank, and a man of note in the community. Her 
grandfather. Rev. Ebenezer Kingsbury, was a native of Coventry, Connecticut; 
graduated from Yale College in 1783 and studied theology with Dr. Backus, 
of Somers, Connecticut, and was pastor of the Congregational Church at 
Jericho Centre, Vermont, when he visited Harford, Susquehanna county, Penn- 
sylvania, and received a call to settle, February 21. 1810. He was installed in 
.August following, and continued his pastoral labors there for seventeen years. 
He traveled over a large part of the counties of Susquehanna, Bradford and 
Wayne on horseback, finding his way by marked trees and bridle paths, preach- 
ing in log cabins, barns and school houses, of which latter there were a very few 
at "the time, and assisted at the formation of nearly all the churches in that region. 
He died at Harford in 1842. The wife of Rev. Ebenezer Kingsbury was 
Hannah Williston. a daughter of Rev. Noah Williston. who was born in 1733, 
graduated from Yale College in 1757, ordained in West Haven, Connecticut, 
in 1760, and was for fifty-two years" pastor of the West Haven Congregational 
Church, and died there, aged eighty years. His wife was Hannah Payson, of 
Pomfret, Connecticut. The eldest son of Rev. Noah Williston was Rev. Pay- 
son Williston, who was for forty years pastor of the Congregational Church 
at Easthampton, Massachusetts. Hon. Samuel Williston was founder of 
Williston Seminary, at Easthampton, to which he gave $250,000. He was also 
a son of Rev. Noah Williston. The father of Mrs. Frederick L. Hitchcock 


was also named Ebenezer Kingsbury. He was iDorn in Vermont, June 13, 
1804. At six years of age he came with his parents to Harford, Pennsylvania. 
He studied law with William Jessup, at Montrose, and was admitted to the 
bar, September 2, 1828. In 1830 he was appointed deputy attorney general for 
Susquehanna county. He removed to Honesdale, Pennsylvania, in 1833, where 
he resided until his death, in 1844. From 1833 to 1840 he was editor and 
proprietor of the Wayne county Herald. From 1837 to 1840 he represented 
Luzerne, Monroe, Pike and Wayne counties in the state senate, and in the 
latter year he was speaker of the senate. He married, in 1829, Elizabeth Har- 
low Fuller, a daughter of Edward Fuller, born in Plymouth, Massachusetts. 
He was a descendant of Dr. Samuel Fuller, "the beloved physician," who came 
over in the "Mayflower." His wife was Hannah West, a native of Norwich, 
Connecticut. They had six children, of which Mrs. Hitchcock, the youngest, 
and Edward Payson Kingsbury, late controller of the city of Scranton, and 
present auditor of the Enterprise Powder Company, only survive. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hitchcock have had a family of seven children : Edwin Sherman, Frederick 
Kingsbury, Henry Payson, all now deceased : Lizzie Fuller, married George 
B. Dimmi'ck ; John Partridge ; Mary Peck, married Robert S. Douglas, of New- 
ark, New Jersey; Carrie Guilford Hitchcock. 


The Scrantons, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, are descended from John Scran- 
ton, who with others, in all about twenty-five heads of families, came to 
.■\nierica, landing at Boston in 1637, and founded the plantation of Guilford, 
Connecticut, in 1639, being one of the three plantations constituting the colony 
of New Haven, later the colony and State of Connecticut. They came from 
England, from the town of Guilford, and the counties of Kent and Surrey, 
descended from a people who had their rise in the reign of "bloody Queen 
Mary," under whose persecuting reign their meetings for religious worship 
without a liturgy were broken up and some of them burned at the stake. 

(I) Seeking religious liberty, these early Puritans came to America, and 
among them was John Scranton. He was then under thirty years of age, and 
lived until August 27, 167 1, and died at the age of about sixty. He was a free 
burgess, and was one of the company which in Robert Newman's barn in New 
Haven on June 4, 1639, laid the foundation of civil and religious polity by 
the adoption of an order of liberal government for what ultimately became 
the State of Connecticut. He was a man of prominence in the colony, was 
marshal of the colony, was repeatedly on committees of executive importance ; 
was a member of the general court in 1669 and 1670. The inventory of his 
estate is recorded in the Nev/ Haven Probate Record, October 27, 1671. 

(II) Captain John Scranton Jr., eldest child of the emigrant. John Scran- 
ton. and the first of the family name born in America, settled in East Guil- 
ford, which thereafter became the family home, and died September 2, 1703, 
age sixty-two. He was known as Captain John Scranton, was nominated in 
1669 to be made a burgess, and at the next general court was privileged to 
take the freeman's oath. He commanded the military forces of the settle- 
ment, a position of great importance, subject as they were at that period to 
attack bv the savages, as well as by the Dutch in New York. He was a success- 
ful planter and died in 1703, aged sixty-two, leaving what was then a large 
estate to his children. 

(III) Captain John Scranton, eldest son of the preceding, born in 1676, 
died March 31. 1758. He lived in East Guilford, and, like his father, com- 
manded the military of the town ; was a man of considerable property, and 


in his will made ample provision for the support of his negro man and his 
Indian slave, allowing them to choose with which of his children they should 

(IV) Captain Ichabod Scranton. son of the preceding, born February 19, 
1717, lived in East Guilford. Connecticut. A natural soldier, like his an- 
cestors, he took part in both the old French wars of 1745 and 1755. fought at 
the siege and capture of Louisburg under Sir William Pepperell, and served 
in the campaigns around Lake George and Lake Champlain against Fort 
William Henry, Ticonderoga and Crown Point. On returning from Ticon- 
deroga after the conquest of Canada, he was seized with small-pox at Albany, 
New York, and died November i, 1760, aged forty-three. He was a man nf 
patriotism, enterprise and great personal courage, and his death was niourneil 
as a public calamity. 

(V) Theophilus Scranton, born December i, 1751, died February 16, 1827, 
eldest son of Captain Ichabod Scranton, lived and died in East Guilford, no\^' 
called Madison. Only twenty-four at the outbreak of the Revolution, he 
was forced to remain at home as the sole support of his mother and sisters, 
enabling his two younger brothers to enter the Continental army, one becoming 
an officer in the cavalry and the other in the infantry. 

(VI) Jonathan Scranton, born October 10, 1781, son of the preceding, 
was well known as a contractor of wharves, break-waters, light houses and 
other public works. He was a leading member of the church in Madison and 
prominent in the affairs of the town. He died July ij. 1847. He was the 
father of Joseph H. Scranton, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, of whom notice 
will be found below : also of Erastus C. .Scranton, of New Haven, 
president of the Second National Bank of New Haven, and at the time of 
his death president of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad ; 
also of Sereno H. Scranton, of Madison, Connecticut, president of the New 
Haven, New London Railroad, and later of the Mobile & New Orleans Rail- 

(VII) Joseph Hand Scranton, son of Jonathan, while not the first of his 
name in Scranton, was the first of his direct family to make that city his 
residence. He was born in East Guilford (Madison), Connecticut, June 28, 
1813, located in Scranton in 1847, '"'•d (^\tA in Baden Baden, Germany, June 
6, 1872. He began his business career in a New Haven store, but while still 
a young man moved south, locating in Augusta, Georgia, where he became 
head of one of the largest mercantile houses of that city. While in Augusta 
he made the first of his series of investments in the Lackawanna Valley of 
Pennsylvania. His cousins, George W. and Selden T. Scranton, with others, 
had begun the manufacture of iron on the banks of Roaring Brook, and, 
needing financial assistance, applied to their cousin, Joseph H. Scranton. He 
responded with a loan of $10,000, later invested still more heavily, and in 
1847 purchased the interest of one of the partners. Mr. Grant. In that year, 
after becoming an active partner in the business, he moved to Scranton and 
thereafter made that city his home. The firm successfully solved the problem 
of iron manufacture with anthracite coal as fuel, but labored under the great 
difficulty of distance from a market, without railroad facilities. But this 
problem was also solved by their efforts, and with the building of the Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, prosperity came. In 1853 members 
of the firm organized the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company, with Joseph 
H. Scranton as manager until 1858. In that year he was elected president, 
and continued its honored efficient head until his death in 1872. In 1863, 
recognizing the need of better banking facilities, he with others organized 
the First National Bank of Scranton, was its first president and continued 


at its head until his death. Prominent as he was in these two great Scranton 
institutions, they represent but a part of his business activities. He was the 
first president of the Scranton Gas and Water Company, continuing until his 
death ; a director of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Com- 
pany; of the Mount Hope Mineral Railroad Company: the Sussex Railroad of 
New Jersey ; the Franklin Iron Company ; the Scranton Trust Company and 
Savings Bank; the Dickson Manufacturing Company; the Moosic Powder 
Company; the Oxford Iron Company, and several western railroads, in which 
he had largely invested. His standing in railroad circles caused his appoint- 
ment by Congress as one of the first commissioners of the Union Pacific Rail- 
road, an honor he fully deserved. 

Under the strain of his many responsibilities, Mr. Scranton's health finally 
gave way, and in January, 1872, with his wife and daughter, he journeyed 
abroad, hoping in complete rest and freedom from the exactions of business 
to regain his health, but in vain, his death occurring the following June while 
at Baden, Germany. His remains were returned to his adopted city, and 
there on July 13, 1872. he was laid at rest in Dimmore cemetery. He was 
awarded signal honors by the community he had so valiantly striven to up- 
build ; business was suspended and the flags of the city waved at half-mast on 
the day of his funeral, and the press of the country printed fervent eulogies 
of the man whose usefulness was recognized far beyond local confines. Rev. 
Dr. Cattell, of Lafayette College, preached the memorial sermon before an 
immense congregation of sincere mourners. He said in the course of his 
sermon : "I know not of how many companies he was president or manager 
or director, or of what great public interests he was the guiding spirit ; but 
I do know he was a Christian man, and for many years was the superintendent 
of the Sabbath school of his church (Presbyterian), and that he was a man 
whose success in all things that men most desire and for which they strive 
and toil, was conspicuous." 

Perhaps the best expression of the public feeling entertained toward Mr. 
Scranton is found in the resolutions adopted by the directors of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Scranton : 

Resolved; That having been associated with Mr. Scranton in the direction of the 
affairs of this institntion from the date of its organization, we bear cheerful testimony 
to his great executive ability, untiring energy, perfect integrity and unselfish devotion 
to its interests and to his high-minded and gentlemanly bearing in all his official in- 
tercourse whereby he contributed largely to the success of the institution, while en- 
dearing himself to us by his amiable, generous disposition. 

Joseph H. Scranton married (first) August i, 1837, Eliza Maria Wilcox, 
of Madison, Connecticut. He married (second) July 3, 1843, Cornelia 
Walker, daughter of Judge William P. and Lucy (Adam) Walker, of Lenox, 
Massachusetts. He was survived by issue of both marriages. 

(\'III) William Walker, eldest son of Joseph Hand Scranton and his 
second wife, Cornelia Walker, was born in Scranton, .^pril 4, 1844, and is now 
the only one of his name and generation living in the city that owes so much 
to his family. He has ever resided in the city of his birth and has borne his 
full share of the burden of the developinent of the great iron and steel in- 
terests and public utilities of Scranton. He began his education in the public 
schools, passing through the high school, then entering Phillip's Academy at 
.\ndover, Massachusetts, where he finished his college preparation. He then 
entered Yale University, whence he was graduated, class of 1865. While at 
Yale he took deep interest in athletics, and in 1864 and 1865 was bow oar on 
the famous Wilbur Bacon crew, which won from Harvard in those years. 
His fraternities were Ka])])a Sigma Epsilon, Alpha Sigma, Delta Kappa Ep- 


silon ; his society, the famous Scroll and Keys. It is interesting to record that 
after leaving college, Mr. Scranton did not forsake his athletic training, but 
continued so effectively that at the age of thirty-six years, in the presence of 
witnesses, he lifted a dead weight of two thousand pounds. 

Finishing his college career in 1865, Mr. Scranton at once began his long 
and successful business career, in Scranton. After thoroughly mastering its 
details by serving two years at the works of the Lackawanna Iron and Coal 
Company, of which his father was president, he was appointed in 1867 superin- 
tendent of the company's new mill, and in 1871 was appointed assistant to the 
presidcTit and superintendent of all the company mills. In 1874 he journeyed 
to Europe, making a special study of Bessemer steel manufacture as practiced 
in English, French and German plants. On his return in the autumn he was 
made general manager of the Lackawanna, Iron and Coal Company, and at 
once began the utilization of his recently acquired knowledge by erecting a 
Bessemer steel rail mill and works, doubling the capacity of the works and 
improving its quality. The increased demands of the steel works, also re- 
sulted in quadrupling the output of the company's mines and collieries. Dur- 
ing his connection with the company he was obliged to act defensively in the 
protection of the company's interests during labor troubles, and in 1871 led to 
and from the mines daily a party of non-striking miners ; he leading an escort 
of a body of miners from the mines homeward, was attacked by a mob, 
and in self defense two of the rioters were killed. During the railroad riots 
of 1877, when the works of the Lackawanna, Iron and Coal Company and 
the shops of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company were 
attacked by three thousand rioters, with an armed party he met the mob, who 
were dispersed in a few minutes, but not before three of their leaders were 
killed. The leaders of the striking element caused the arrest and trial of Mr. 
Scranton and his party on the charge of manslaughter, but they were acquit- 
ted, with the thanks of the court for their action in quelling the riot. 

In 1880, Mr. Scranton resigned his position as manager of the Delaware 
Iron and Coal Company, having decided to embark in the steel business in- 
dependently. He began by again studying the conditions existing in the steel 
mills of Europe, and from the conclusions reached formed his plans. On his 
return to the United States he organized the Scranton Steel Company, with 
works at Scranton, and there rolled the first one hundred and twenty foot rails 
from the steel ingot, afterwards, cutting them into thirty foot lengths. He 
continued president of the Scranton Steel Company until i8qi, when that 
company was consolidated with the Lackawanna, Iron and Coal Company, 
Mr. Scranton withdrawing from all connection with the business save as 
investor. He then and since has devoted himself principally to the extension 
and management of the Scranton Gas and Water Company, founded by his 
father in 1854. This, with various subsidiary companies, supplies water and 
gas in Scranton, and water to all points north of city in the Lackawanna Val- 
ley to a distance of twenty-four miles. There are other important interests in 
Scranton that have benefitted by the business ability and experience of Mr. 
Scranton and there has been little in the way of charitable, religious, educa- 
tional or philanthropic development, but what has had his support. He is a 
strong level headed man of affairs, but the finer side of his nature responds to 
every appeal or demand made upon it. While never a politician or oflfice 
seeker, he has taken deep interest in city affairs and aided the cause of good 
government in many ways. Now nearing his seventieth year, he is a man of 
unusual strength, bodily and mentally, showing few signs of the active scenes 
he has passed through, nor the many years of association with Scranton's great 


Mr. Scranton married, in Saint Albans, Vermont, October 15, 1874, Kath- 
erine M., daughter of Hon. Worthington C. Smith, Member of Congress from 
Vermont. The only child of this marriage is Worthington Scranton, of whom, 

(IX) Worthington Scranton, only son of William W. and Katherine M. 
(Smith) Scranton, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, August 29, 1876. His 
early education was obtained in Kalin's private school, preparing for college at 
Belmont School, (Massachusetts). He then entered Yale University, whence 
he was graduated, class of 1898. He then entered Harvard Law School, re- 
ceiving his degree of LL. B., class of 1901. Returning to Scranton he actively 
engaged in business with the corporations in which his father was interested, 
principally confining himself to the development of the Scranton Gas and 
Water Company, of which he is vice-president. He is also a director of the 
County Savings Bank and has other and varied interests. He is a member 
of the Scranton and Country clubs of Scranton, the University and Yale clubs 
of New York, and the Engineers' Society of Northeastern Pennsylvania. 
His college fraternity is Psi Upsilon. 

Worthington Scranton married, .\pril 11, 1907, Marion Margery, daugh- 
ter of Major Everett Warren, of Scranton (see sketch in this work). Chil- 
dren : Marion, Katherine, Sarah. 


Although thirteen years have elapsed since the death of Joseph Ansley, one 
of the old guard of Scranton's business men, who was identified with many 
of the infant, now mature, industries of the city, the memory of his uncom- 
monly useful life still remains fresh in the minds of those whose privilege and 
pleasure it was to know him. The beauty of his life and the sweetness of his 
character, together with the breadth of human sympathy that characterized his 
every action, gained for him a place in the hearts of his friends and acquaint- 
ances that was ever held sacred, even after the summons of the last call had 
taken him from their midst into the glories of the reward promised to those 
whose lives and thoughts are pure and undefiled. He was spared many of 
the soul scars that come from faithless and designing friends, departing this 
life with a firm belief in all of God's creatures, born of a perfect love of their 
Creator. Joseph Ansley was probably of Scotch descent, the family having 
been planted in Pennsylvania by his grandfather, who came thither from Con- 
necticut, locating at Paupac, Pike county. 

Brinson Ansley, father of Joseph Ansley, lived there as a farmer, married 
Elizabeth, daughter of Leonard Le Barr, and became the father of four chil- 
dren : Leonard, Joseph, William, and Amelia. 

Joseph Ansley, second son and child of Brinson and Elizabeth (Le Barr) 
Ansley, was born in Paupac, Pike county, Pennsylvania. October 26, 1825. 
He was there instructed in the public schools, early in life learning the trade of 
carpenter with a workman named La Farge. After completing his apprentice- 
ship, he remained in the vicinity for several years, then moved to Hawley, 
where he began his successful career. Working for a time at this trade, he 
soon began widening his operations, buying land and conducting an extensive 
contracting business. In connection with this he also did a great deal of 
undertaking work in the neighborhood. The scope of his enterprises extended, 
he became a contracting builder, erecting many Itomes and business establish- 
ments in the town, many upon land purchased earlier, his holdings including 
the present site of the Hawley saw mills and other buildings. Among the 
btiildings he erected were the First Baptist and Catholic churches and the first 



grist mill in Hawley. Besides his other interests he was the proprietor of a 
lumber mill and a planing mill. So successful was he that in 1866 he located 
in Hyde Park where he established the lumber bu'^iness now owned by Wash- 
burn. Williams & Company. Soon after his coming to Hyde Park, Mr. 
Ansley formed a parinership with Nicholas Washburn and Samuel Heller. 
In 1868 he bought out the interest of Mr. Heller and three years later that 
of Mr. Washburn. It was during his partnership with Mr. Washburn that 
the planing mill and sash and blind factory were established, but soon after 
Mr. Ansley continued in the business alone, so that while the credit for the 
installation of that department must be shared between them, it was Mr. Ansley 
who raised these processes to the high degree of development they had at- 
tained at his death. Until early in 1879, ^ building, known as Herman's shop 
was used for factory purposes, when substantial stone and wooden shops were 
completed and the business housed therein. Under Mr. Ansley 's skillful man- 
agement, the number of operatives increased until the payroll included 100 
persons. It is a splendid tribute to his ability as an organizer that the business 
he founded so many years ago is not only still in existence, but conducting 
operations upon a larger and more lucrative scale than ever before. In 1906, 
the widow and heirs of Mr. Ansley incorporated the Ansley Lumber Manu- 
facturing Company, which employs about fifty persons and supplies local trade. 
While Mr. Ansley never allied himself with any religious denomination, 
he conscientiously recognized and observed the obligations he felt to be his, 
attending regularly the services of the Presbyterian church. In his political 
action he was actuated entirely by the merits of the candidates and the com- 
parative strength of the party platforms. He cast his first vote for a Democratic 
candidate, in the next presidential campaign acting with the Whigs. The 
slavery discussion at this time led him to change his political affiliations, and 
at the organization of the Republican party, and the presentation of its first 
presidential candidate, John C. Fremont, he voted for him, ever afterward sup- 
porting that party. 

Mr. Ansley married, September 9, 1850, at Wilsonville, Pennsylvania, Mary 
C, now deceased, a daughter of William and Elizabeth (Shouse) Mason. Chil- 
dren : I. Elizabeth, deceased. 2. Matilda, deceased. 3. Sarah, married Henry 
T. Porter, deceased; children: Ethel, married Paul Johanning; Pearl, married 
Alvin W. Decker, of Scranton ; Leila, married Walter S. Jones, of Buffalo, 
New York. 4. John, deceased. 5. Lincoln (twin), a lumber dealer of Colorado. 
6. Hamlin, twin of Lincoln, died aged twenty-one years, born during the 
presidential campaign of i860, they were named in honor of the Republican 
candidates for president and vice-president. 7. Joseph, a lumber dealer, mar- 
ried Margaret Shififer ; children : Sarah, deceased ; Joseph and James. 8. 
James, deceased. 9. Edward, engaged in the lumber business ; married Ma- 
tilda Thompson, and had children : Ruth, deceased ; Mary, Allen and Edward. 
10. Frank, deceased. 11. Anna. 

In closing a recital of the life of Joseph Ansley, it would be indeed an un- 
faithful portrayal if no mention were made of the close and sympathetic union 
existing between him and his wife. Congenial in every respect, one supplying 
the needs of the other, with an almost sacred affection between them, they were 
mdeed happily mated. Lfnited in wedlock for better or worse, the passing 
years had brought them greater opportunities for the enjoyment of life, but 
the coming of riches could not strengthen their undying Jove, nor the luxury 
of wealth add one iota to the joy of their happiness. 

Mr. Ansley's death, occurring March 23, 1891, was deeply mourned 
throughout the locality which had been the scene of his life and labors. Al- 
though in later years removed from active business dealings he was still a 


familiar figure in the city. Of fine, erect bearing, his flowing white beard and 
kindly aspect lent to him a patriarchal dignity. His commanding appearance 
was a faithful indication of the beautiful spirit within, now long gone to 
its heavenly rest. 


Liberally educated for the profession of civil engineer, but called by the 
evidence of his extraordinary ability in dealing with men and in conducting 
business affairs from his chosen calling, W. A. May to-day stands as one of 
the most notable figures in Scranton. The city is indebted to him for valiant 
services rendered the industrial interests of Scranton during the years mark- 
ing the crucial period in the history of manufacturing in that place. His 
activity and interest in many of the most important commercial enterprises 
of the locality has made him a prominent man of afifairs and placed him high 
in the ranks of the men who "do things" in Scranton. 

Lewis j\Iav. father of Captain W. A. May. came to the United States from 
Germany, where he was born and in which country he received an evcep- 
tionally wide education, preparing him for the Lvangelical ministry. He was 
only twenty years of age when he arrived and spent most of his life in Penn- 
sylvania, holding several charges. He married Louisa Haines, of an old 
Philadelphia family, who lived on a farm where Frankford is now located. 
Lewis May was an inspired and faithful minister of the Gospel, preaching 
with all the ardor of heartfelt conviction and laboring earnestly in the serv- 
ice of his Master, and his work was blessed with gracious results. 

Captain W. A. May, son of Lewis and Louisa (Haines) May, was born 
in Hollidaysburg, Blair county, Pennsylvania, December 3, 1850. He ob- 
tained much of his early education by attendance at the public schools in the 
various places to which his father's ministerial duties called the family. When 
he was but fourteen years of age his father's death occurred, his mother going 
to her heavenly rest three years later. All of his later education, remark- 
ably comprehensive and thorough, was obtained through his own unaided 
efforts. He prepared for college at Dickinson Seminary, being awarded the 
degree of Bachelor of Arts. Although taking a seminar}' course, he was able 
to devote a great portion of his time to the study of civil and mining engineer- 
ing, and, his natural aptitude for this work placing him far in advance of the 
ordinary college graduate, was offered a position as rod man on the force 
but within a year he became chief of the engineering department of the 
Hillside Coal and Iron Company. His reputation had preceded him in his 
position and the masterly manner in which he directed the engineering corps 
of the company, as well as his highly efficient personal work, gained him un- 
usual distinction in his profession, although he was not yet twenty-three years 
of age. Feeling the need and realizing the benefits of a more advanced edu- 
cation, he severed his business connections and matriculated at Lafayette Col- 
lege in order to make more ample preparation for his life work. He was 
graduated from this institution C. E. in the class of 1876, afterward receiv- 
ing the degree of Master of Arts from the same college. He then resumed 
his studies as chief engineer of the Hillside Coal and Iron Company, from 
which position he rose steadily until he reached a height which placed him 
among the most influential men in industrial operations of to-day. Two years 
after rejoining the Hillside Company, he added to his duties those of chief 
engineer for the North Western Mining and Exchange Company, in Elk 
county, Pennsylvania, and still later took charge of the engineering depart- 
ments of the Meredith Run Coal Company and of the Gaines Coal and Coke 


Company, in Tioga county. He satisfactorily discharged all of the obliga- 
tions which these offices involved until 1883, when he accepted the superin- 
tendency of the Hillside Coal and Iron Company. He served as such until 
1 90 1, when he became general manager of the Pennsylvania Coal Company 
and the New York, Susquehanna & Western Coal Company. From 1898 to 
1901 he had been superintendent of the latter company, and is now in charge 
of the combined interests, one of the largest in the Scranton coal region. 
To understand the vast size of the operations controlled by these three cor- 
porations and the stupendous burden daily borne by Captain May in adjust- 
ing and conducting their multifarious affairs, it is only necessary to state that 
they control 30,000 acres of coal land, with an annual output of 7.000,000 tons, 
handling, in addition, one and a half million tons purchased under contract. 
About 16,000 men are in the employ of these companies. He also became 
general manager of the North Western Mining & Exchange Company and 
the Blossburg Coal Company, January i, 1908. These companies employ 
about 2000 men and produce one and three quarter million tons annually. 
He became president of these five companies, February i, 1913, having been 
made vice-president and general manager, December, 191 1. 

Captain May also has been prominent in many of the movements that have 
been of the greatest benefit and uplift to Scranton. his role in connection with 
the city board of trade being most useful and important. From 1893 to 1897, 
inclusive, he was president of that organization. It was in the first year of 
his administration that the panic occurred, demoralizing all the trade condi- 
tions and leaving many of the city's industrial establishments in a state of 
half suspended activity. Through his brilliant efforts new capital was in- 
troduced, business roused from its languorous somnolence, and fresh vigor 
imparted to the mercantile and manufacturing life of the city. He also was 
instrumental in raising the board to its present state of active efficiency and it 
was under his direction that the plans for the magnificent new board building 
were made. He was vice-president of the Board of Trade Building Com- 
pany, also serving upon the leading board committees. He is a director of 
the Third National Bank; trustee of Lafayette College since 1912 and of 
Williamstown Dickinson Seminary for the past twenty years. In pursuance 
of his constructive policy for Scranton, Captain May gave liberally of his time 
and services for the forwarding of the erection of three of the edifices hous- 
ing organizations which exercised a strong influence upon the life and thought 
of the city, the Thirteenth Regiment Armory, the Young Men's Christian 
Association, and the Elm Park Methodist Church building. 

Captain May enlisted as a private in the Thirteenth Regiment Pennsyl- 
vania National Guard, February, 1878, and was mustered out in November, 
1888, as captain of Company D. He is the holder of a ten-year marksman- 
ship medal which serves to keep fresh the memory of that period of service. 
That he still recognizes allegiance to the old regiment is shown by the in- 
terest he takes in and the support he gives its every enterprise. He belongs to 
the Elm Park Methodist Episcopal Church and is a member of its board of 
trustees. In the work of the Sunday school connected therewith he has ever 
been prominent and is now its superintendent. His exertions in behalf of 
the Young Men's Christian Association have been productive of a great deal 
of good, and as a member of the board of trustees he has largely helped to 
perfect the organization of that institution and to make it the power among the 
adolescent youth of Scranton that such an association should be. He is a 
Republican in politics, and belongs to the American Society of Civil Engi- 
neers, the Scranton Engineers' Qub, the Scranton Club, the Westmoreland 


Club of Wilkes-Barre, and the Machinery Qub of the city of New York. 
His fraternal affiliation is with the Masonic Order. 

Captain May married Emma Louise, daughter of B. L. Richards, of 
Williamsport, Pennsylvania. Of this marriage has been born a daughter, 
Maud Richards, now Mrs. James Whittaker Page. 

The life of Captain May has been one of exceptional attainment and serv- 
ice. Playing a man's part in the stern game of life he has emerged from 
the struggle strengthened and bettered by the test of skill and endurance, and 
in the gentler paths of men he has ever been a vital force for good, a help 
and an inspiration to his friends and acquaintances. 


The banking and brokerage firm of Brooks & Company, Scranton, was 
founded by Reese G. Brooks, deceased, and his three sons, of whom John 
H. has ever been considered the active head of the firm. 

Reese G. Brooks, who became one of the best known, prominent and well 
liked citizens of Scranton, was born at East Mountain, near Scranton, De- 
cember 25, 1846, died June 12, 1907. He was educated in the public schools 
of Hyde Park, but abandoned school in 1863, and enlisted with the volun- 
teers who marched to repel Lee's invasion of Pennsylvania in 1863. Upon 
his return from that campaign he entered the employ of the Delaware, Lack- 
awanna & Western Railroad, but in 1864 again enlisted, serving with the 
L^nion army in eastern Tennessee, until honorably discharged in 1865. Re- 
turning then to Scranton he engaged in mining for three years, then became 
superintendent of the Capouse Colliery of the Lackawanna, Iron and Coal 
Company. He was a valued officer of that company and was successively 
promoted until he became inside superintendent of all their mines and later 
general superintendent of their coal department. He later became an in- 
dependent operator, his operations covering extensive collieries in the valley. 
In 1884 he organized the Greenwood Coal Company, and in 1892 the Lang- 
cliffe Coal Company. At one time he controlled the Laflin Coal Company, 
also the Lee Coal Company and was president of the Bridge Coal Company. 
Active as he was in the coal industry, he had official and stockholding rela- 
tions with many of Scranton's most important industries and with her finan- 
cial institutions. He was president of the Dime Deposit and Discount Bank 
(before the merger) and held directorships in the Scranton Trust Company, 
and the Title Guaranty and Surety Company, the Westside Bank and others 
of perhaps lesser importance. Nor was he so immersed in business that 
he neglected any of the duties of a good citizen, but served the municipality 
of Scranton faithfully and efficiently for many years as a member of the 
school board, president of the poor board, the board of control and for seven 
years as city treasurer. He was a Republican in politics and for several years 
was chairman of the Lackawanna county central committee. Progressive 
and public-spirited he aided in all movements that tended to advance the 
public good, not only with his means but by his personal effort and influence. 
He enjoyed travel and after thoroughly visiting all parts of the United 
States, Mexico and Canada, he visited Europe in i8g6, touring the Con- 
tinent and the British Isles. He was an invalid for several months prior to 
his demise, but always retained his interest in cuirent aflfairs. 

He married Mary A. Morgan, who died March 27. 1905. Children : Mar- 
garet, married William R. McQave, of Scranton ; Thomas R., president of 
the North Scranton Bank, married Bertha Griffin ; George G., of Brooks &r 


Company, married Grace Williams ; John H., of whom further ; Cora M., 
married Willard Matthews, of Scranton. 

John H. Brooks was born in West Scranton, Pennsylvania, September 
16, 1872. His early education continued in the West Side schools until four- 
teen years of age, followed by four years at Scranton Central High School 
and a college preparatory course at The School of the Lackawanna. He 
then entered Princeton University, whence he was graduated B. S., class of 
1895. His years at the university were not only profitable years of earnest 
study, but of fame in the college world of athletics. He was a member of 
the baseball team during each of his four years, and in his senior year, 1895, 
was captain of the team. For three years he was one of the players selected 
for the All American College team and was also an expert tennis player. 
His college club was the Tiger Inn. 

After completing his university course he at once began an active busi- 
ness life in connection with his father's coal interests, locating for several 
years in Scranton, then moved to Pottsville in charge of the Brooks colliery 
interests in .Schuylkill county. In 1905 he returned to Scranton and organized 
the banking and brokerage firm of Megargle & Brooks, which the year fol- 
lowing became Brooks & Company, the principal members being Reese G. 
Brooks and his three sons, and continues as orginally formed with the ex- 
ception of the honored father, whose connection was terminated by death 
in 1907. This firm, of which John H. Brooks has ever been the honored 
head, transacts a large business as bankers and brokers. John H. Brooks is a 
member of the New York Exchange, his membership dating from the year 
1908. He is a director of the Scranton Savings and Dime Bank, the Girard 
Life Insurance Company, of Philadelphia, the Spencer Heating Company, 
of Scranton, also is interested in many other enterprises of importance. 
With a genuine interest in young men and their welfare, he has for many 
years been active in the work of the Young Men's Christian Association, and 
is now president of the Scranton Association. He is also a trustee of the 
Scranton Public Library and of the First Presbyterian Church. In political 
faith he is an independent Republican, but not active, save in the cause of his 
friends whom he is ever ready to serve with his influence and his ballot. 

Mr. Brooks has never lost his interest in athletic sports, but is an active 
member of the Scranton Club, holding the club bowling record, is their best 
tennis player, and, although now aged forty years, is still the expert at that 
game, always considered a young man's game. He also excels at the game 
of golf, being a player of national reputation, and in 1901 was chosen on 
the All America team to play Canada. All out-of-door sports appeal to 
him, but in those mentioned he takes the greatest delight and in those he 
excels to a degree unusual for his years. 

Mr. Brooks married, April 5, 1904, Augusta .Archbald, of Scranton. Qiil- 
dren: Ruth, Mary, John H. (2). James Archbald. The Brooks family residence 
is at No. 535 Monroe avenue. 


In the financial world of Scranton there is no name that has ever been 
more closely associated with the qualities of honor, integrity and ability than 
that of James A. Linen. Having spent most of his business career in the 
citv he has been a participant in its marvelous expansion, and in his difTerent 
relations with the First National Bank has become known as one of the 
safest and most capable financiers of Scranton. 

It is interesting to note that while every preference and instinct of James 


A. Linen led him into the field of finance, by every law of heredity he should 
have been imbued with artistic rather than practical desires, inasmuch as 
his father, George Linen, was widely known as one of the most talented 
artists of his day. George Linen was born in Greenlaw, Scotland, April 2g, 
1802. Early evincing artistic tastes and innate ability, he was entered at 
the Royal Scottish Academy at Edinburgh, where masterly training by artists 
of the highest repute led his brush from its bold and daring strokes into the 
refined and softened lines of a more delicate and more beautiful art. In the 
excellent course of instruction he received at the academy he developed into 
a portrait painter of rare accuracy in faithful and lifelike portraiture. Cross- 
ing into England, he there remained for several years, gaining steadily in 
prominence and rapidly approaching the height of perfection in his art. In 
1834 he came to New York, where he opened a studio which was soon the 
scene of busy activity, many of the most prominent men of the day in the 
business and public life of the metropolis sitting before his easel. He was 
constantly at his work, daily adding to his fame as well as to his material pros- 
perity. He made cabinet portraits his special field and one of his master- 
pieces, painted five years after his arrival in the United States, received a 
medal as the best specimen of cabinet portrait painting shown at the annual 
exhibition of the National Academy of Design. Among the official digni- 
taries of the day who sat in his studio were Henry Clay and Daniel Webster, 
of whom he painted such excellent likenesses, that from his portraits are made 
the vignettes which appear upon certain United States treasury notes of high 

Shortly after his coming to New York, Mr. Linen purchased a farm in 
Greenfield township, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania. Here he spent the 
summers with his family and here was born James Linen in the year 1840. 
It is an interesting fact that while living on this farm Mr. Lmen was in- 
strumental in persuading his brother-in-law, Mr. James Dickson, to move 
from Toronto, Canada, with his family and settle in Lackawanna county. 
Mr. Dickson's sons, Thomas H. and George L. are mentioned elsewhere in 
this history. 

In literary, as in artistic, fields of culture, George Linen was exceedingly 
well-versed, and was, withal, a brilliant convers'itionalist, his charming man- 
ners and manly graces making him much sought after socially. His well 
balanced mind and deep knowledge of human nature, gained from a study 
of the characters as well as the faces of his patrons, saved him from being 
over-impressed bv the adulation and profuse flattery of the circles in which 
he moved, and kept him ever sincere and natural. During his exceedingly 
busy life he had saved a modest competence, and after he had tasted all of 
the delights of fame and popularity, he purchased a farm at Bloomingdale, 
New Jersey, naming it Glenburne. a word from his native Caledonian tongue, 
meaning "the rivulet by the ravine." He here retired to spend his later days, 
forsaking his brushes and palette except for the occasional painting of a por- 
trait of one of his children, or when he again took up his tools to gratify the 
wish of an old friend. It was highly fitting, that, to round out a life of such 
rare beauty, there should be a deep sense of religious duty and obligation. 
George Linen was blessed with an absolute and high faith in Divine Provi- 
dence, and with the full measure of his devotion lived a life free from re- 
proach or blame. He was a member of the Reformed church, simple, sin- 
cere and earnest in his worship. He was the father of nine children by his 
marriage with Sarah Davis. 

James .Mexander Linen, son of George and Sarah (Davis) Lmen, was 
born in Greenfield township, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, June 23, 

i €'-.■"■3 S!3tffrtc:il F:. : 


a/j/eJ >J 


1840. In Newark and in New York City he received a thorough education 
extending as far as high school training. In early youth he entered the office 
of a note broker in Wall street, and during the five years of his employment 
there gained a deep insight into monetary aflfairs and the means of their ad- 
justment, inflation and depression, which proved mvaluable to him in the 
later years of his life, when he became so important a factor in the financial 
affairs of Scranton. When he was about to embark upon his independent 
career the outbreak of the Civil War occurred, and patriotic love of country 
being strong in his youthful heart, he laid aside his plans for business until 
a more propitious occasion and enlisted in the Twenty-sixth Regiment New 
Jersey Volunteers, September 19, 1862, as a private, but soon rose to the rank 
of lieutenant. He completed nine months service in the Army of the Potomac, 
which saw much strenuous action in the entire war. his regiment participat- 
ing in the battles of Chancellorsville and Fredericksburg, also in the Gettys- 
burg campaign, engaging in the first conflict of that historic manoeuvre. 
Lieutenant Linen was subsequently transferred to the Army of the West and 
for eighteen months was stationed at Camp Nelson, Kentucky, as disbursing 
clerk for Captain T. E. Hall, chief quartermaster for the Ninth Army Corps. 
When peace had once more fallen upon the country, he became identified 
with the National Guard of Pennsylvania, and at the organization of Com- 
pany D, Thirteenth Regiment, was elected first lieutenant, later becoming 
captain and serving for six years. 

In February. 1865, Mr. Linen accepted a position as teller in the First 
National Bank of Scranton and three months later was advanced to cashier, a 
position he occupied with conspicuous ability for the exceedingly long term of 
twenty-six years. During this time he was held high in the estimation of the other 
officials of the institution and played an important part in maintaining the sol- 
vency of the bank during the period of readjustment that followed the hyster- 
ical financial conditions of the Civil War and the reconstruction years. In 
all this troublous time the First National Bank, owing to its wise and far- 
sighted executive heads, not only was in no danger itself but was able to assist 
other and less fortunate concerns which were about to become links in the long 
chain of failures that were occurring hourly. In October, 189 1, Mr. Linen 
received the election as president of the First National Bank, the culmination 
of long years of faithful service and unceasing devotion to its best interests. 
In his new position he was quickened to new efiforts in its behalf and for twen- 
ty-two years guided it with clear and capable judgment, the bank retaining its 
position at the head of the financial institutions of Scranton and among the 
strongest in the United States. As proof of its success are the dividends which 
it declares, these having increased from ten per cent, in 1864 to sixty per cent, 
at the present time, the largest dividend ever paid by any Scranton corpora- 
tion. In 1913 Mr. Linen was succeeded in the presidency of the First Na- 
tional Bank by Charles S. Weston, descending from the position he had dig- 
nified for so many years to make way for a new generation of younger blood. 
Upon retiring from his office he accepted the chairmanship of the board of 
directors of the bank, thus not entirely severing the bonds which have been 
so closely welded in the past forty-eight years. He is also one of the direc- 
tors of the Delaware & Hudson Railroad Company. 

Mr. Linen has frequently been called upon to act in the capacity of execu- 
tor, trustee or administrator of large estates, and has filled many responsible 
offices requiring the services of an experienced financier, not the least of which 
was his appointment as assignee of the defunct Scranton Trust Company and 
Savings Bank, whose affairs he settled in a prompt and satisfactory manner, 
fully justifying the confidence placed in his executive powers. 


Mr. Linen is a member of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion, Penn- 
sylvania: a member of Ezra Griffin Post, Grand Army of the Republic, and 
the Country Club, the two latter being Scranton organizations. With his wife 
he is a member of the Second Presbyterian Church of Scranton. in whose dif- 
ferent activities both take a great amount of interest. 

He married, December 17, 1889, Anna C. Blair, daughter of James Blair, 
of Scranton. Children: Margaret Clark and James Blair, both died in 
childhood: Mary Belle, a graduate of Miss Masters' School, at Dobbs Ferry; 
Frank Insley, a graduate of Princeton L^niversity : James A. Jr., a graduate 
of Williams' College, was a receiver of the Scranton Steam Pump Company, 
now reorganized, and he is vice-president and treasurer of this, also vice- 
president of the C^nited Service Company: now one of the councilmen in 

To Mr. Linen there must surely come a sense of satisfaction in his own 
achievements and a feeling of pride in the generation of his name succeeding 
him. To be active in such a degree as he has maintained until past the biblical 
three score and ten is a record rarely equalled and almost never surpassed. 
It has been said that years are not always the true measure of life but that 
events are sometimes the best calendar. By the latter standard Mr. Linen 
must indeed be a centenarian ; by the former, the calendar is the only indica- 
tion of his seventy-three years, his mind preserving all of its youthful vigor 
and power. 


The Dean family is an exceedingly ancient one in this country, Walter 
Dean, the American progenitor, taking the freeman's oath in Massachusetts. 
December 4. 1638. In the six generations of the family from the emigrant 
ancestor to Isaac, the father of Arthur D. Dean, of this chronicle, the members 
of the family have been active in the different departments of life, civil, pro- 
fessional, and industrial. The pioneer spirit has always been strong in all of 
the name and one of the family was almost always among the first settlers 
in a newly developed section of the country. An evidence of this is found in 
the following abstract of a deed of sale : 

"Barnet Dickson, Voluntown, Windham county, Connecticut, to Ezra Dean, of East 
Greenwich, Kent county, Rhode Island, consideration nine pounds, grants and conveys 
unto said Ezra Dean, his heirs and assigns forever, the one full part, right or share in 
the Susquehanna purchase, so-called, which whole right, part, or share, individual, I, 
the said Barnet Dickson, purchased as being a partner or member of the body of men of 
the aforesaid Colony of Connecticut, who jointly purchased the said Susquehanna tract 
of land, commonly so called, of the Chief Sachems and Nations, proprietors of the afore- 
said country or land, dated 28 January, 1760; recorded 8 March, 1760. Acknowledged 
before John Smith, justice of the peace of Voluntown. Windham county, Connecticut." 

Isaac Dean, father of Arthur D. Dean, was born in Abington, Luzerne 
Cnow Lackawanna) county, Pennsylvania, June 9, 181 1. His early life was 
spent on his father's farm, in the clearing and cultivating of which he became 
accustomed to the hardest kind of labor. His opportunities for directed study 
were few, but he learned many lessons in the school of experience and hard 
knocks that left a life-long impression upon him. Although handicapped by 
his lack of education he marshalled his forces at hand slowly but surely to 
build the foundation of a fortune. He hauled the grain raised on his farm to 
Carbondale and Honesdale, selling it to the Delaware & Hudson Company, 
and also opened a saw mill on Sheik's Pond, now Lake Sheridan, and cleared 
his father's land and his own of all the marketable lumber thereon. In 1843, 


after his marriage with Polly Searle Heermans, daughter of Henry Heermans, 
the first merchant of Providence, Pennsylvania, he bought fifty acres of land 
from his uncle, George Gardner, and sixty acres adjoining the family home- 
stead, erecting thereon a comfortable house. He then, in connection with his 
farming operations, began a butchering business, supplementing this by buying 
live stock for drovers at a commission rate. By the judicious investment of 
fiis earnings he began to amass a considerable fortune, augmented by the pro- 
ceeds from the sale of some property inherited by his wife. Upon the organi- 
zation of the Second National Bank of Scranton, in 1863, Isaac Dean was an 
active promoter of the enterprise, acting upon the advice and under the leader- 
ship of his brother-in-law, W. W. Winton, in whose judgment and integrity 
he placed great confidence. He also became a partner in the banking house of 
Winton, Clark & Company, which later obtained a charter under the name of 
the Citizens and Miners Savings Bank and Trust Company of Providence. 
Both of these banks failed, the catastrophe sweeping away the greater part of 
Mr. Dean's fortune, although he was able to live comfortably for the rest of 
his life; Mrs. Dean died July 8, 1868, and Mr. Dean, November 15, 1902. 

Arthur D. Dean, son of Isaac and Polly Searle (Heermans) Dean, was 
born on the farm purchased by his father from George Gardner, in Abington 
township, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, January 29, 1849. He acquired 
his early education by attendance at the public schools, and so active was his 
mind and so strong his liking for academic work that when only fifteen years 
of age he entered upon a scientific course of study at the University of Lewis- 
burg, later Bucknell, completing the same in 1867, During the winter of 1867- 
1868 he taught school in the district near his home now known as La Plume, 
and in 1868 resumed his studies at East Greenwich Academy, and at the begin- 
ning of the fall term entered the classical course of Brown University, Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. He here was graduated A. B. in the class of 1872 and 
three years later the degree of Master of Arts was conferred upon him. Hav- 
ing his remarkably fine scientific and classical education for a firm founda- 
tion, in 1872 he enrolled in the law school of the LTniversity of Michigan at 
Ann Arbor, and afterward entered the office of Agib Picketts, attorney at 
Wilkes-Barre, as a student at law. He was admitted to the bar January 5, 
1875, and for the first year of his active practice remained in the office of his 
preceptor. He then took office with Elliot P. Kisner and Frank C. Sturges 
as a working rather than a nominal partner, and in 1879, ^ Y^^*" after Scranton 
had become the county seat of Lackawanna county, came to that city, where he 
has been ever since engaged in the practice of his profession. As a lawyer 
Mr. Dean is known to be reliable and talented, civil practice being his especial 
field. Intimately acquainted with all legal technicalities, his clients are assured 
that every efifort consistent with dignity and honor will be extended in their be- 
half and under his skillful handling no just cause could go down in defeat. 
Besides his professional duties, Mr. Dean is interested in the lumber busi- 
ness and is a director of the LTnited States Lumber Company, which controls 
vast lumber interests, owning 300.000 acres of yellow pine in Mississippi, 
where the company has a controlling interest in the Mississippi Central Rail- 
road, extending from Hattiesburg to Natchez, with headquarters at Hatties- 
burg, Mississippi. He has also been treasurer of the Board of Trade Real 
Estate Company, of Scranton, ever since its incorporation, and this company 
owns the Board of Trade Building. 

He married, May 11, 1882. Nettie E., only daughter of Arnold Clark and 
Isabel (Green) Sisson, of La Plume, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Dean died Novem- 
ber 25, 1901, and Mr. Dean still remains unmarried. Children born of this 
union are: i. Carroll, born March 27, 1883, a graduate of the Massachusetts 


Institute of Technology, an electrical engineer in the navy yard at Norfolk. 
Virginia; married Christine Parker, daughter of C. M. Parker, and has two 
children — Isabelle C. and Arthur Parker. 2. Russell Heermans, born March 
19, 1885, lives in Waverly, Pennsylvania; married Mrs. Elizabeth Dunn, 
daughter of Dr. A. B. Hand, and they have a son, Gobel Davis Dean. 3. 
James Davis, born July 22, 1887, graduate of Brown University, class of 
1909. and follows teaching as a profession. 4. Miriam Isabel, born October 
I, 1893, a student at Wellesley College, class of 1916. 5. Nettie Catherine, 
born November 22. 1901, a student of the Waverly High School. 

Mr. Dean, during his active life, has attained that pleasurable degree of 
success and prosperity which comes to a man after conscientious attention 
to processional duties and intelligent investment and application of his re- 
sources. Of pleasing address and personality, he is gifted with the power of 
making and holding friends, numbering in his most intimate circle of ac- 
quaintances the most talented of the legal profession and the most successful 
of Scranton's business men. His home for the past twenty years has been on 
a farm in the borough of Waverly, Pennsylvania. He has been president of 
the school board of Waverly borough for fifteen years: is a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Hepiasophs ; in college the Alpha 
Delta Phi fraternity, Phi Beta Kappa, an honorary society. 


The best evidence of a man's standing in his community is the attitude 
that is taken by the public toward the business enterprises of which he is the 
head. When a business proposition is presented to a man, his first query is : 
"Who is at its head?" The next is, "Will it pay?" Answer the first question 
satisfactorily and support is assured. Applying this test to Hampton C. 
Shafer, the result is that his standing among men of capital is found to be of 
the highest, as when in April, 1913, he began the organization of the Lincoln 
Trust Company, the response was immediate and so generous that on the 7th 
of June following, the doors of this newest of Scranton's financial institutions 
were opened for business with Mr. Shafer as its president. Mr. Shafer is a 
grandson of Peter Bernard Shafer, of German parentage, who settled in the 
northern part of Sussex county. New Jersey, where he became a man of im- 
portance, serving his state as a member of the legislature. His son, Casper, 
married Caroline, daughter of Judge Hazen of Sussex countv. Casper Shafer 
in early life was a miller, later a farmer and landowner. Children ; Nathan 
Hazen, died in December, 191 1 ; Abraham Edwin, now living in New Jersey; 
Sarah Elizabeth, married Edgar V. Kennedy, whom she survives a resident 
of Tranquility, New Jersey; E. Louise, died in August, 1913; Hampton C. 
The parents were members of the Presbyterian church, in which Casper Shafer 
served as elder. 

Hampton C. Shafer was born in Sussex county. New Jersey, September 
18, 1853. He was educated in the ])ul)lic schools. Schooleys Mountain Sem- 
inary and the New Jersey State Model School at Trenton. He began business 
life as clerk in a Trenton book store, but after six weeks' experience, entered the 
employ of the Lambertville (New Jersey) National Bank as clerk. He con- 
tinued with this institution nearly eight years, rising through the several de- 
grees of service to the post of assistant cashier. In January, 1881. he came 
to Scranton as cashier of the Scranton .Savings Bank, a position he held until 
1913. During these years he had firmly established himself in the confidence 
of the banking public and won an enviable position in the local world of finance, 
his upright, manly life and financial acumen forming the combination essential 


to the man who appeals to the pubhc for patronage. In April, 19 13, after 
carefully maturing his plans he formed the Lmcoln Trust Company, was 
elected president, and in June following began business. The success of the 
new institution was immediate and most gratifying to all concerned, but doubly 
so to the chief executive to whom it came as an indorsement of his fitness to 
safeguard the interests of his many patrons. He is also a director of the Trout 
Lake Ice Company and has other business interests. He is a member of the 
Second Presbyterian Church, which he serves officially, his wife also being an 
active member of the church and its societies. He is a director, secretary and 
treasurer of the Country Club. 

Mr. Shafer married, Mary Elizabeth, daughter of Milton, and granddaugh- 
ter of James Blair, November 13, 1891. His only child is Margaret Linen 


Ronald Prentiss Gleason, principal of the Technical High School and Wil- 
liam T. Smith Manual Training School, is a native of the State of Massa- 
chusetts. He is descended from Thomas Gleason, or Leeson, as the name was 
sometimes spelled, who came from England and settled in Watertown, Massa- 
chusetts, prior to 1650. His great-grandfather was Phineas Gleason, of West- 
borough, Massachusetts, who served as a soldier in the Revolutionary War. 
He is the son of Josiah Parsons and Ellen (Tidd) Gleason, of New Braintree, 

The American ancestor of the Tidd family settled in Lexington, Massachu- 
setts, in the first half of the seventeenth century. Seven of his descendants 
represented the family in that small band that assembled on the village green 
at Lexington, on April 19, 1775, and made an effort to stop the onward march 
of the British under Major Pitcairn. 

Ronald P. Gleason is one of ten children. He was educated in the public 
schools of Massachusetts and was graduated from the Worcester Polytechnic 
Institute with the class of 1887, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Science in 
the mechanical engineering course. For two years he taught in the high school 
at Washington, District of Columbia, then crossed the continent to accept the 
position of supervisor of manual training in the public schools of Oakland, 
California, where he remained for eleven years. When the call came for 
teachers to serve in the Philippine Islands, he was among the first to respond. 
He was appointed by the government at Washington as the ranking teacher 
in charge of the 540 or more who sailed from San Francisco, July 23, 1901, 
on the United States army transport, Thomas. Mr. and Mrs. Gleason re- 
mained in the Philippine Islands for four years. During all this time Mr. 
Gleason was superintendent of the Philippine School of Arts and Trades at 
Manila. In January, 1905, he resigned his position and, with Mrs. Gleason 
started for home visiting Japan, China, Java, the Federated Malay States, 
Burma, India, Europe. 

When the Technical High and William T. Smith Manual Training School 
buildings were completed in 1905, Mr. Gleason was elected the first principal, 
a position he still holds. His services have met with the highest approval of 
all connected with and responsible for the welfare of the schools, and he has 
raised that institution to a high plane of efficiency and usefulness. He has 
gathered together a faculty of exceptionally able teachers, who give their best 
to the school and as a result the Technical High School has become an in- 
stitution of which Scranton may well be proud. Mr. Gleason is a member of 


the Pennsylvania State and National Education associations, and also of the 
National Society for the Promotion of Industrial Education. 

Mr. Gleason' married, in 1890, Nellie Miles Rood, daughter of the late Dr. 
James T. and Ellen (Miles) Rood, of Massachusetts. Dr. Rood was a sur- 
geon in the Massachusetts volunteer militia and served his country practically 
all through the Civil War, being stationed for the greater part of the time in 
the Shenandoah Valley. Since coming to Scranton, Mrs. Gleason has taken 
an active interest in the life of the city and has been president of the Century 
Club since its organization in 191 1. 


David Chase Harrington, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, the distinquished 
jurist, is not only an eloquent advocate, capable of swaying juries, but an 
able lawyer, preparing and conducting most important cases with strategic 
skill and eminent success. It is especially noteworthy that in achieving his 
eminence at the bar he has relied not more upon his eloquence and genius, than 
upon the unwearied diligence with which he studied and toiled. His family 
has been a noted one in both lines of descent. 

(I) William Harrington, great-grandfather of David Chase Harrington, 
was one of three brothers who came from England to this country and settled 
at or near Chatham, Columbia county. New York, where he married and 
became the father of six children. He bore his share bravely in the Revolu- 
tionary War. 

(II) James Harrington, son of William Harrington, was born in 1774, and 
died in the fall of 1814 from the effects of a fever contracted while in service 
in the War of 1812. His widow, Sarah (Purdy) Harrington, removed with 
their eight children to Pine Hill, Ulster county. New York. 

(III) James (2) Harrington, son of James (i) and Sarah (Purdy) Har- 
rington, was at first a carpenter and builder, later a manufacturer of furni- 
ture. He married Emeline Harriet Chase. 

The Chase family is of ancient English origin, the name being derived from 
the French word "Chasser," meaning "to hunt." The ancestral seat of the 
branch of the family from which the American line is descended was at Ches- 
ham, Buckinghamshire, through which runs a swift stream, the Chess, which 
gives its name to the place. The Chase arms are : Gules four crosses patonce 
argent ( two and two) on a canton azure a lion passant, or. Thomas Chase, of 
the seventh generation of the English family, and the progenitor of the family 
in America, came to Plymouth Rock in 1629, and removed to Hampton, New 
Hampshire, in 1644. He married Elizabeth Philbrick. Isaac, son of Thomas 
and Elizabeth (Philbrick) Chase, married (first) Mary Perkins, (second) 
Mary Tilton. Joseph, son of Isaac and Mary (Tilton) Chase, married Lydia 
Coffyn, a great-granddaughter of Tristram Coffyn (Coffin). Abel, son of 
Joseph and Lydia (Coffyn) Chase, married Mercy Mayhew. Zephaniah, son 
of Abel and Mercy (Mayhew) Chase, married (first) Abigail Skiff, (second) 
Love (West) Skiff. He removed with his family from Martha's Vineyard 
to what is now Jewett, Greene county, New York. David, son of Zaphaniah 
and Love (West) (Skiff) Chase, married Abigail Pratt, for whose family 
the town of Prattsville, Greene county, New York, is named. Emeline Har- 
riet, daughter of David and .Abigail (Pratt) Chase, while teaching school in 
Hunter, Greene county, met James (2) Harrington, whom she married. 

(IV) David Qiase Harrington, eldest child of James (2) and Emeline 
Harriet (Chase) Harrington, was born December 8, 1834, in that part of Lex- 
ington which is now Jewett, Greene county. New York. He learned to read 

J'!^ f^ 

— >* 

;x \ 




sitting on his father's lap at family prayers in the morning. Before his father 
commenced to read he would point to the capital letters, his father telling him 
their names, and then he would watch his father read, and when he was 
two and one-half years old he could read as well as he can now. He has no 
recollection of his first going to school. .4t the age of ten years he had been 
so far in the text book as the teacher in the common schools in Greene county, 
New York, could take him, and that did not include all of arithmetic and 
very little of grammar. When at that age, a gentleman, who had graduated 
either from Harvard or Yale College, wished to study for the ministry, and 
not having the money to pay his expenses through the university he came to 
Jewett and taught school there for two years. Mr. Harrington went to this 
school during the last year and a half of this gentleman's tuition, and studied 
arithmetic, algebra, trigonometry, geometry, grammar, astronomy, botany, 
commenced the study of Latin, and went through the Latin grammar and com- 
menced to read this language by the time he was twelve years of age. 

His father was engaged in business as a carpenter and builder and the 
last piece of work he did as a carpenter was to erect a large building in 
Bushnellsville, LUster county, New York, where cane and wood seated chairs 
were manufactured for the wholesale trade. When the building was com- 
pleted they wished him to instal the machinery, which he did successfully, and 
everything was done in so masterly a manner, that he was offered the superin- 
tendency of the shops. He accordingly gave up his carpenter business and 
moved to Bushnellsville, December 24, 1847, 3"d became head of this estab- 

As there was no object in sending young Harrington to the district school 
to review what he already knew, he was given work in the finishing depart- 
ment of the factory in December, 1848, when he was fourteen years of age, and 
thus commenced the business portion of his life. In 1849 l^'^ father decided to 
go into the furniture business in Pennsylvania, and entered into a partnership 
with the man who had charge of the finishing department of the Bushnells- 
ville factory. At that time there were no railroads by which he could reach 
Providence, so he was obliged to send his household effects by teams to Rond- 
out. Lister county. New York, and by boat on a canal to Honesdale, Wayne 
county, Pennsylvania, and from there on the Gravity road to Carbondale. June 
18, 1849, he left for Providence in a carriage with his family, and arrived at 
Providence, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, June 23, 184.9. Young David C. 
was still employed in the finishing department of his business, and the partner- 
ship which he had formed was continued until 185 1. 

The construction of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad was 
commenced from Scranton to Great Bend in 1850 and completed in the summer 
of 185 1. The Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company owned the real estate 
in the village which was afterwards the borough, now the city of Scranton, 
and would not sell lots to outsiders. They owned all the property themselves, 
intending to keep their own employees there, but when the railroad was com- 
pleted, the Lackawanna Iron & Coal Company laid out their land in lots and 
sold them to any who would buy. David C. Harrington's father bought a 
lot and built a residence and wareroom, completed it and moved into it, Jan- 
uary 6, 1852. At the rear end of the lot was the building used as a shop. 

David Chase Harrington had learned to finish furniture well although he 
had had no special instruction in the ornamentation of it. He took to this 
occupation naturally, could varnish and polish, imitate the finest woods, and 
when it was necessary to put on ornamentation, was able to do that in a 
most satisfactory manner. His father was also in the undertaking business, 
and as it was difficult to obtain anyone to engrave plates for the coffins, a 


set of engraving tools was bought, and David C. successfully engraved the 
first name plate that was required, and attended to this part of the business as 
long as he was associated with his father. In 1854-55-56 he played the cornet 
in the brass band in Scranton and this gave him good chest expansion and 
was one of the means of keeping him in good health. He has a chest expan- 
sion of six inches to-day, and ascribes much of this development to his prac- 
tice on the cornet. 

He had never heard a word of German spoken until the family removed to 
Pennsylvania. Two of the cabinet makers in his father's shop in Scranton 
were Germans, who could not speak a word of English. David C. commenced 
the study of German in the fall of 1852 and by the following spring he could 
read, write and speak German sufficiently well to communicate with the men 
on matters of business, and could go into the wareroom and sell goods to cus- 
tomers who were not able to understand a word of English. He was fre- 
quently asked by Germans, concerning the part of Germany he came from. 
Years ago, when he was living in Philadelphia, the lawyers, knowing that he 
spoke the German language, and there being only one interpreter to go to the 
different rooms, when his services were already in request and a witness could 
not speak or understand English, Mr. Harrington was requested to act as 

While engaged with his father in the furniture business he also learned to 
work at the bench and to make articles of furniture, and he did turning at the 
turning lathe and all kinds of work with the exception of carving. When 
he had attained the age of nineteen years his father sent him to New York 
alone to purchase the hardware and upholstering materials and other things 
needed in the furniture business, and after he had successfully accomplished 
tills it was always his province afterwards. He now has in his home seven 
landscapes in oil that he himself painted when he was twenty-one years old. 
When he attained his majority his father took him into partnership, but at the 
end of one year this was dissolved as David C. had expressed the fixed deter- 
mination to make law his life work. 

David Chase Harrington commenced reading law in April, 1858, studying 
during the second year in the office of a lawyer. At this time there were four 
villages within a mile of each other — Providence. Hyde Park, Scranton and 
Dunmore. During the first winter David C. taught school in Dunmore. As 
he lived in Scranton he was obliged to walk a mile to Dunmore every morning, 
and the same distance upon his return at night. In this school some of the 
pupils were young men of almost his own age, one of whom was after- 
ward a judge in the Court of Common Pleas of Lackawanna county. There 
were more than 100 students in this school and Mr. Harrington had an assist- 
ant. There was but one room in the schoolhouse and a blackboard was placed 
at the rear of this room. It was therefore necessary for Mr. Harrington and 
his assistant each to use an opposite side of the blackboard to illustrate the 
subjects they taught. 

The dates of admission to legal practice of Mr. Harrington are as follows : 
Court of Common Pleas of Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, May 7, i860: Court 
of Common Pleas of Northampton county, Pennsylvania, August 28, 1862; 
Supreme Court of the State of Pennsylvania, June 20, 1866: Mayor's Court 
of Scranton, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, October i, 1866: United States 
Circuit and Districts courts, western district of Pennsylvania. August 5, 1867 
Mayor's Court of Carbondale, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, August 15, 1867 
Court of Common Pleas of Dauphin county, Pennsylvania, August 24, 1868 
Court of Common Pleas of Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, April 19, 1869 
District Court of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, December 20, 1870; Court of 


Common Pleas of Philadelphia, December 24, 1870: United States Circuit 
and District courts, eastern district of Pennsylvania, February 18, 187 1 ; Court 
of Common Pleas of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, April 14, 1874: Supreme 
Court of the United States, Washington, District of Columbia, February 2, 
1876; Court of Common Pleas of Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, January 
23, 1882 ; Court of Common Pleas of Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, 
August 15, 1898; United States Circuit Court of Appeals, Richmond, Virginia, 
December 2, 1906. 

In 1878 Luzerne county was divided and Lackawanna county was formed 
with Scranton as the county seat, and Wilkes-Barre remained the county seat 
of Luzerne county. Mr. Harrington won his first case, and the opposing law- 
yer, a prominent member of the bar, was so impressed with his conduct of 
it that he took him into partnership, and this was continued until the out- 
break of the Civil War. April 1, 1862, Mr. Harrington removed to Wilkes- 
Barre. In 1863 he laid aside his professional duties to respond to the call of 
Governor Andrew G. Curtin for emergency men to repel the invasion of 
Pennsylvania by the Confederate army under General Robert E. Lee. He 
enlisted as a private in Company K. Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania Volun- 
teers, Colonel William N. Monies commanding. Mr. Harrington's company 
was the first to be mustered in under that call, and they were stationed at Camp 
Curtin, near Harrisburg, when that city was threatened by the Confederates, 
at the time of the battle of Gettysburg. On Saturday, July 3, the regiment 
was filled and ready to march to Gettysburg, but Sunday, July 4, the great bat- 
tle at that place was ended, therefore Mr. Harrington was not in active service. 
With his command he was honorably discharged, July 26, 1863. 

While Mr. Harrington was in Wilkes-Barre he was in partnership with 
Caleb E. Wright, one of the old members of the bar, and this association was 
continued until 1870. While living in that city there was a great deal of ma- 
laria in the Wyoming Valley, and Mrs. Harrington suffered from fever and 
ague for the greater part of the time and was subjected to bilious fever once 
or twice each year, and the physician said that if she did not remove from the 
valley she could not survive. This was the cause of the dissolution of the 
partnership with Mr. Wright, in December, 1870, and within one week Mr. 
Harrington and his family were in Philadelphia, where he practiced law for 
more than thirty-one years. 

.■\fter Mr. Harrington had left Wilkes-Barre the lawyers of that city gave 
him a Christmas present, in 1872, of a fine full-jeweled gold watch of Waltham 
make with the inscription on the case as follows : "Presented to David C. 
Harrington by his brethren of the Luzerne Bar, December 25, 1872." This 
he values highly, and it is an excellent timekeeper to the present day. 

Hon. F. Carroll Brewster, who had been a judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas of Philadelphia, was attorney-general of the State of Pennsylvania. 
He was obliged to spend all his winters in Harrisburg and in summer could 
only escape the importunities of his numerous clients by taking refuge in 
Europe. In June, 1872, he requested Mr. Harringfton to take charge of his 
legal business. There were two lawyer assistants and a bookkeeper in Mr. 
Brewster's office, and in order to take charge of this extensive business and 
not neglect his own, it became necessary for Mr. Harrington to take an as- 
sistant lawyer in his own office. Judge Brewster then went to Europe each 
summer for three years and during this time Mr. Harrington had full charge 
of the business, trying the cases, preparing briefs, etc. When his term of 
office as an attorney-general expired. Judge Brewster returned to his practice, 
and Mr. Harrington was enabled to continue his personal practice. 

In 1898 he commenced to represent the International Text Book Com- 


pany in some copyright suits and attended to some of its other legal business, 
and was requested in March. 1902. to return to Scranton and take charge of 
all the legal business of this corporation. He has succeeded in winning many 
suits for the company, some of great importance, one on the question of 
"Doing Business," and that the company is engaged in interstate commerce. 
He contended that as it was giving instruction through the mails by means of 
selling printed books to students, and giving written instruction from Scran- 
ton, each letter written to a student in another state, is a book, and is inter- 
state commerce. Courts in three of the .states decided to the contrary and 
that the company could not maintain a suit. The first case to be appealed to 
the .Supreme Court of the United States arose in Kansas and was decided in 
favor of the company. April 4, 1910. and is reported in 217 U. S. 91. In that 
case it was held that giving instruction through the mail is interstate com- 
merce, and that the company need not file its charter in any state of the United 
States. Other cases appealed from Wisconsin and Vermont were decided. 
November 7, 1910, in conformity with the Kansas case and are reported in 
218 U. S. 664, so that it is now settled that a letter is a book and the selling 
of information and giving instruction by correspondence through the mail is 
interstate commerce. 

In February, 1910. the principal of the School of Law died, and on May 
16, 1910, Mr. Harrington was appointed principal of the School of Law, and 
now has charge of that department. The instruction business in the law 
courses of the company are very important, as the instruction that is given 
to students must be accurate in every particular. The two departments re- 
quire all of his time. His health has always been good. He has never been 
ill in bed, and at the present time is able to be at his desk in his office at eight 
o'clock in the morning, and he is sometimes the last to leave if there is any 
correspondence to be signed. 

Mr. Harrington united with the Presbyterian church in Greene county. 
New York, in the spring of 1849. When his father moved to Providence a 
letter was taken, and he united with the Presbyterian church in Providence. 
When he removed to Scranton in 1852 his letter was taken from the church 
in Providence and in November of the same year he united with the First 
Presbyterian Church of Scranton, and his sixtieth anniversary occurred in 
November. 1912. For many years he was very active in Sunday school work 
and in organizing Mission Sunday schools, but since returning to Scranton 
he has been obliged to abandon work of this character owing to the fact of 
his being frequently away on travels connected with his business pursuits. 
At the present time (1914) Mr. Harrington is still enjoying excellent health, 
is as vigorous as many men far his juniors in point of years, and there appears 
to be every prospect of his attaining a greater age than his maternal grand- 
father. David Chase, who lived to the age of eighty-five years, his own father, 
who died at the age of ninety-four, and his great-grandmother Harrington, 
who was ninety-eight years old at the time of her death. 

Mr. Harrington married (first) September 11, 1856. Ann Jeannette Kem- 
merer. born in Monroe county. Penn sylvan i.T. January i. 1840, died in .Scran- 
ton. Pennsylvania. November 20, 1904. Mr. Harrington married (second) 
July 18. 1906. Jeanne Ethlyn Smith. By his first wife he had children as 
follows: I. Harriet Elizabeth, born July 10. 1857: married. February 14. 
1889, Madison F. Larkin ; child. William Stark, born November 2. 1889. died 
same day. 2. Carrie Estelle. bom December 27, 1858: married (first) June 
I. !88c'. Charles W. Reichard; child. David Carl, born August 3. 1892. mar- 
ried. January 26, 1910, Marie A. Schatt ; one child. David Carl Jr.. born De- 
cember 28, 191 1 ; Carrie Estelle married (second) June 3, 1911, Samuel Porter 


Lummus. 3. Lillian Jannette, born September 15, i860, died July 17. 1898; 
married, January 13, i88f), William L. Connell ; children: i. Jessie English, 
born November 18, 1886, married, September 29, 1908, George Houck ; one 
child, William L. Connell Houck, born July 14, 1913. ii. Natalie Grant, born 
December 19, 1888, married, January 8, 1910, Rudolph Senn Houck; children: 
Ruolph Senn Houck Jr., born March 27, 191 1, and Lillian Jannette Houck, 
born July 18, 1912. iii. Lillian Jannette, born July 29, 1892. iv. Blandina 
Harrington, born September 7, 1895, died May i, 1907. 4. Blandina Jayne, 
born November 8, 1862; married, March 4, 1896, Thomas Jefferson Foster; 
child, Thomas Jefferson Jr., born October 4, 1900. 5. Walter Eugene, born 
June 3, 1866; married, November 8, 1888, Maude Hastings; children: Leigh 
Walter, born September 17, 1889, and Kenneth Connell, born November 22, 
1892, died July 24, 1893. 6. Curtis James, born April 21, 1870, died Septem- 
ber 10, 1904; married, June 6, 1891, Helen Bernadon ; child, Curtis James Jr., 
born February 27, 1892, afterwards adopted by Madison F. and Harriet E. 
Larkin, and his name changed to Curtis Harrington Larkin. 7. Frederick 
Andrew, born March 8, 1872; married, April 3, 1895, May E. Worthington ; 
child, William Lawrence Connell, born November 24, 1897. 8. Dora, born 
March 11, 1874; married, October 6, 1898, Christian Paul Hagenlocher. 9. 
Ethel, born February 25, 1877; married as his second wife, November 29, 
1899, William Lawrence Connell, her brother-in-law ; children : William Law- 
rence Jr., born June 30, 1901 ; David Harrington, born November 16, 1902, 
died May 21, 1907; Ethel Chase, born March 21, 1905, died February 14, 
1907. 10. Mabel, born January 16, 1879, died July 5, 1879. 

In 1887-88 Mr. Harrington made two trips to the City of Mexico on profes- 
sional business, and while there he learned to speak the Spanish language. 
Since that time he has lectured on his trips. In 1867 he compiled, collated, 
arranged and published "The Rules of the Luzerne County Court," an e.xhaus- 
tive volume of eighty-one pages octavo. He has also written many briefs 
which have gone into print and some of them have been widely circulated. 
Among the more important of his treatises is one on "Commerce and What is 
Doing Business, under the Statutes of the United States Relating to Foreign 
Corporations," "The Education of Minors," "Ordinances, Affecting Circular 
Distribution and Advertising," and on "Law and Facts." During a part of tlie 
time he resided in Wilkes-Barre, he reported court proceedings and local 
items of news for a paper published in Scranton, and for another published in 


Hon. Henry Alonzo Knapp, who ranks among the successful and influ- 
ential members of the Scranton bar, was born July 24, 185 1, in the town of 
Barker, Broome county. New York, the son of Peter and Cornelia Eveline 
(Nash) Knapp, both natives of the Empire State, the former a successful 
farmer and prominent citizen. Peter Knapp was the son of Henry and Anne 
(Harris) Knapp, who came to Broome county from Dutchess county in the 
same state in 1817. On his mother's side Henry A. Knapp is the grandson of 
Rufus Nash, a native of Connecticut, who emigrated to New York in 1820, 
and Rufus was a lineal descendant in the sixth generation from Edward Nash, 
who came from England about 1650 and became one of the founders of Nor- 
walk, Connecticut. 

The boyhood life of Henry A. Knapp was somewhat varied; he left the 
fann at the early age of nine years and for the most part for several years 
thereafter made his home with his uncle, S. M. Nash, who in i860 was conduc- 


tor of one of the two passenger trains on the Lackawanna Railroad, and Henry 
A. Knapp very early started on a business career by selHng newspapers and 
other commodities on the train. Later he attended the Binghamton Academy, 
and in 1873 began the study of law with Judge Handley at Scranton. 

Entering the bar in 1875 he formed a partnership with Edward Merrifield, 
Esq., under the firm name of Merrifield & Knapp, and continued that relation 
several years, and then carried on practice in his own name until 1892, with 
the exception of one year when he served as a judge of the several courts of 
Lackawanna county, by appointment of Governor Beaver. In 1892 he formed 
a law partnership with Hon. E. N. Willard and Everett Warren, Esq., under 
the title of Willard, Warren & Knapp, which has continued to the present time, 
except that during the time Judge Willard was on the bench of the superior 
court the firm name was Warren & Knapp. From 1890 to 1900 Judge Knapp 
was county solicitor of Lackawanna county, and from 1889 to 1898 he was also 
solicitor of the Scranton school district. The firm of which he is a member is 
the counsel of many corporations and his practice in recent years has been mostly 
taken up with corporation matters, largely in consultation and office work, 
although occasionally in the trial of cases in the common pleas. Judge Knapp 
has had a leading part in various business enterprises, and in matters of pub- 
lic interest has been prominent and conspicuous. 

In 1877 he was a leading spirit in the organization of Company "A," one 
of the four military companies recruited during the labor troubles of that year, 
and was chosen first lieutenant of the company and a year later succeeded 
Captain Bryson as captain. Later he was appointed judge advocate on the 
staff of General Gobin with rank of major. He was connected with the 
National Guard until his appointment to the bench in 1887, when he resigned. 
For nearly twenty-five years past he has been chairman of the advisory board 
of the Home for the Friendless ; for several years he has been a director of the 
Board of Associated Charities ; he is also a director of the Scranton Hospital 
for the Cure of Consumptives, and his legal services have been sought and 
freely extended to these and other charitable institiitions, who have found in him 
a valued and useful friend. He is vice-president and a director in the Title 
Guaranty and Trust Company and also interested in other prominent institu- 

In 1883 Judge Knapp married Lillie Logan, of Scranton, and they have 
one daughter, Alice Alden. Mrs. Knapp is a lineal descendant of John Alden, 
of Colonial fame. 


Pennsylvania is indebted first to Old England and then to New England 
for the Wintons, a name represented in the earliest history and development 
of Scranton. Of Quaker ancestry, the emigrant came to Connecticut from 
England and settled on the Naugatuck river. From this region Andrew Jack- 
son Winton, grandfather of Walter W. Winton, of this narrative, enlisted in 
the American army at the beginning of hostilites with England in 1812, and at 
the conclusion of that conflict in 1814, he settled at Butternut, Otsego county. 
New York. Because of the lack of transportation facilities in that section of 
the state, he and his brother established and conducted a stage coach line 
between Albany and New York, a public accommodation much appreciated and 
heavily patronized. 

(II) William Wilander Winton, son of Andrew Jackson Winton. was bom 
in Butternut, Otsego county. New York, where he lived until he was about 
twenty years of age, engaging, after he had obtained his education, in the peda- 


gogical profession, at the same time continuing his own studies in Latin and 
legal branches. Coming to Scranton he secured employment in the store of his 
father-in-law, Harry Heermans, one of the first merchants to establish a busi- 
ness in what is now Scranton. Harry Heermans came to this locality from 
Salem, the journey being made in wagons, containing besides his household 
effects his stock of household commodities, groceries and other articles neces- 
sary to the families of the region. Every store at that time was of necessity 
a general supply centre, whose departments covered all the varied needs of the 
small communities, from food for man to harness for beast. 

While employed by his father-in-law, William W. Winton continued his 
legal studies, his wife teaching school in the vicinity, and while he was never 
admitted to the bar he gained a sufticient knowledge of business, law and 
processes to enable him to become executor of his father-in-law's estate. He 
was largely instrumental in opening one of the first coal mines of the region, 
the vein followed extending under the old "Bell school-house." The death of 
his father-in-law left the mercantile field open for new concerns, and Mr. Win- 
ton, in partnership with A. B. Dunning, his brother-in-law, opened a store in 
Providence, Pennsylvania. He soon moved to New York City and was 
engaged in the wholesale hat, cap and fur business for a period of fifteen years, 
his establishment being on Cortlandt street. The business training he received 
in the metropolis opened his eyes to the possibilites of his former field of 
endeavor and he returned to Providence, where he organized the New York and 
Pennsylvania Coal Company, the second in the North End. Thus attracted 
by the opportunities opened to a capable and trusted financier, he opened a 
private bank, under the name of Winton & Company, bankers. This enter- 
prise met with popular favor and did a large and prosperous business. During 
the years of the Civil War he played a prominent part in the organization of 
the Second National Bank of Scranton and a few years later performed the 
same service for the First National Bank, of Providence, two institutions which 
were later merged under the name of the former. He was also the organizer 
and became president of the Winton Coal Company, whose mines were 
located at Winton, Pennsylvania, a town named in honor of the company. Mr. 
Winton's death occurred on December 30, 1894, closing a life of useful activity 
and successful endeavor, the reward of years of constant, energetic and well 
directed battering at the walls of achievement. He married Catharine Heer- 
mans, oldest daughter of Harry Heermans. 

(IH) Walter Winthrop Winton, son of William Wilander Winton, was 
born in Providence, Pennsylvania, June 3, 1845. After obtaining a public 
school education, including a high school course, he entered the law school at 
Harvard. This was the result of his father's desire, as the elder Mr. Winton 
had earnestly wished for a college legal education, and disappointed in this, 
had made it his ambition that the opportunities denied him should be ac- 
corded to his son. Walter W. Winton, however, did not care enough for the 
profession to make it his life work, and going to New York he engaged in 
the wholesale diamond and jewelry business. In this field he prospered, be- 
coming an expert in detecting the flaws in precious gems and distinguishing 
between imitation and genuine stones. In order to become more closely ac- 
quainted with the production of diamonds in which he dealt extensively, lie 
visited the world famous mines at Kimberley, Cape Colony, South America, 
in 1879, whence comes ninety-eight per cent, of the entire diamond output of 
the world. He here familiarized himself with every detail in the mining of 
these stones, thus completing his knowledge of the route followed by the 
jewels from their resting place in the rocks, where they were formed by some 
vast cataclysm of nature, to the dainty ears or shapely fingers of their final 


purchasers in the large cities of the world. Upon his return from South Africa, 
he settled in Scranton, where he opened a retail diamond establishment, at- 
tracting a wealthy and influential trade among the best people of the city. 
He became connected with the Winton Coal Company soon after his arrival 
in Scranton and is now president of that concern. While Mr. Winton is a 
strong supporter of the Republican party, his interest in office holding is con- 
fined to advancing the cause of some worthy candidate, always refusing public 
preference for himself. He has attained the thirty-second degree in Ancient 
and Accepted Scottish Masonry. 

Mr. Winton married Mary Blakey, daughter of William Blakey, of Orange. 
New York, and has one son, Walter Winthrop Jr. Of Mr. Winton's rela- 
tion to Scranton affairs it may be said that he is in no way failing the expecta- 
tions of those who judged his capacity for achievement from the record of 
his honored father, and that in him the ancienr family name finds a most 
worthv bearer. 


At the time when the mines in the vicinity of Scranton were being opened 
and operations commenced upon a large scale, there was a large number of 
Welsh miners who left their positions in their native land and made their 
homes in this locality, the reason for the influx of immigrants being that 
wages for labor in the newly opened mines were much higher than in Wales. It 
was this tide of settlers that carried Thomas Richards to Carbondale in 1833, Al- 
though his trade was that of shoemaker, not of mmer. In the following of his 
occupation throughout his exceptionally long life he acquired a competence 
that enabled him and his wife to spend their later years in quiet and com- 
fort, both dying in 1900, both aged eighty-eight years. It was a happy coinci- 
dence that two lives spent together in congenial and blessed companionship 
should be reunited so soon after their first separation. 

John T. Richards, son of Thomas and RIargaret (Morgans) Richards, 
was born in Carbondale, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, September 15, 
1853. He obtained his early education in the place of his birth, later attending 
the public schools of Scranton, and when nineteen years of age entered the 
Merchants and Mechanics Bank as errand boy. Although his early employ- 
ment was assuredly humble, he performed all of his duties with a quick and 
willing cheerfulness that won him instant favor and as rapidly as openings 
appeared above him he was placed therein. In each position the same assid- 
uous attention to business and a marked capacity for hard work, was observed 
by his superiors and four years after his first appearance in the bank he was 
appointed cashier. This office he filled with strict fidelity and proven ability 
until 1894, when he resigned to engage in wider fields of business. At the 
organization of the Alexander Car Replacer Manufacturing Company in 1894 
he became secretary and treasurer. The responsibility of the position is ap- 
parent when the capitalization of the company, $100,000, is known. The original 
officers of the concern were: Joseph J. Jermyn. president, John A. Mears, 
vice-president, and John T. Richards, secretary and treasurer. The present 
organization is J. F. Mears, president, G. Bogart, vice-president, John T. 
Richards, secretary and treasurer. The Alexander Car Replacei Manufactur- 
ing Company is a flourishing concern, their appliance being in use on most 
of the railroads in the United States, Canada, South .America. Australia, China. 
Japan, Europe, and the British Isles. Its use has also been adopted in coal 
mines using electricity. In addition to his duties as secretary of this com- 
pany, Mr. Richards, in 1895, became executor of the estate of Judge lohn 


Handley. He has also been actively concerned in coal operations in the 
vicinity for many years. 

Mr. Richards has always taken great interest in local affairs and at one 
time was a member of the Scranton select council, where he was numbered 
among the most progressive of the body, always championing any measure 
that he believed for the true good of the municipality and as stoutly opposing 
those originated for private gain or for the furtherance of selfish purposes. 
He is past master of Hyde Park Lodge, No. 339, F. and A. M. 

Mr. Richards married Josephine, daughter of Joseph Chase, of Scranton, 
and has one daughter, Margaret Louise. Mr. Richards' office is in the Mears 
Building. In his business relations he has shown marked ability as a financier, 
and as a public spirited and progressive member of the community is ever 
enrolled among those who are working for the advancement of the city's in^ 


Although prominent in the manufacture of explosives used in time of war 
with deadly effect, Mr. Belin is not a destroyer, but a constructor and most 
humane and liberal in his dealings with his fellow men. In fact his labors in 
the cause of afflicted humanity have been so beneficial, and far reaching that 
the term "philanthropist" is not misapplied in his case. 

The Belins are of French descent, the first of the name known in America 
being John Belin, great-grandfather of Henry Belin Jr., of Scranton. He 
was a planter on the Island of San Domingo, West Indies. His son, .Augustus 
Belin, succeeded him, but in the uprising of the blacks in 1791. he was com- 
pelled to flee for safety. He came to the United States, first engaging in- 
business in Philadelphia, later moving to Wilmington, Delaware, where he 
formed connection with the famous DuPont Powder Works. 

He married Alletta Hedrick, of Philadelphia, born of Danish parentage. 
Augustus Belin died in Wilmington in 1843, aged seventy-three years, leav- 
ing children : Ann, Henry and Charles. 

Henry (i) Belin was born in Philadelphia, died in Wilmington, Delaware, 
in 1891. After a thorough preparation, he was awarded a cadetship at the 
West Point United States Military Academy, where he was graduated, and 
joined the newly formed corps of Topographical Engineers, and remained with 
that corps until 1843, being connected during that time with various important 
surveys conducted by the government. Resigning from the army in 1843, 'i^ 
formed a connection with the DuPont Powder Works at Wilmington, a com- 
pany with which he was identified until 1865, when he moved to St. Louis, 
Missouri, engaging in business there for ten years. He then returned to 
Wilmington, which was his home until death. 

He married, Isabella, daughter of Henry d'Andelot. She died in 1863, 
aged fiftv years, leaving children: Gratiot, d'Andelot, died in infancy, Louisa, 
Mary, Henry Jr., of whom further. 

Henry Belin Jr. was born September 23, 1843, at West Point, New 
York, his father being then stationed at the military academy. He prepared 
for college at Hopkins grammar school, New Haven, then entered Yale 
L^niversity, whence he was graduated A. B., class of 1863. He began his 
business life with the house with which his father and grandfather had been 
identified, the E. I. DuPont de Nemours and Company, powder manufac- 
turers, and is now the president of the Pennsylvania corporation, known over 
the world. For seven years Mr. Belin made his home in Wilmington, but in 
1870 he moved to Scranton. Pennsylvania, which city has ever since been 


his home. In addition to his connection as head of the E. I. DuPont de Ne- 
mours & Company of Pennsylvania, Mr. BeHn is director of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Scranton, vice-president and director of the Cherry River 
Boom and Lumber Company, vice-president and director of the Scranton 
Lace Company, director of the Lackawanna Trust and Safe Deposit Company, 
director of the Hebard Cypress Company, and interested in other of the 
business enterprises of Scranton, where he is rated a leading factor in the 
development of the business interests of that city and section. 

Prominent as is the position Mr. Belin occupies in the world of finance 
and industry, he is ever the interested citizen and humanitarian, his sympathy 
and benevolences being freely bestowed upon every worthy object. He was in 
the service of his state for several years, serving in the Thirteenth Regiment 
Pennsylvania National Guard for two years, and for one year as aide de 
camp on the staff of Brigadier General Sigfried. In political faith he is a 
Democrat, and in religious preference is identified with the Second Presby- 
terian Church, which he serves as trustee. 

In philanthropic work for the amelioration of the conditions surrounding 
the afflicted, he has ever shown interest, sympathy and liberality. He was 
identified with all the movements resulting in the establishment of the Penn- 
sylvania Oral School for the Deaf, was one of the charter founders and has 
served from the first on the board of trustees as treasurer. The demands of 
the Hahnemann Hospital have also been recognized, he having long been a 
member of its advisory board. He is also a trustee and treasurer of Scranton 
Public Library and a member of the Pennsylvania State Library Commis- 
sion. Thus Mr. Belin has demonstrated his true manhood, and in all his 
activities displayed the characteristics, marking the best type of American 
manhood. Modest and retiring in disposition, he is forceful and practical in 
reality and while his highest ambition is to be useful to his fellow men in the 
truest sense, he has never sought or accepted public office. 

Mr. Belin married Margaretta, daughter of Ferdinand LaMotte. of Wil- 
mington, Delaware. Children : May, married Nathaniel Robertson, of Scran- 
ton ; Alice, Paul B., Charles, F. Lammot, Margaretta, d'Andelot. 


The city of Scranton became the home of Henry (2) Belin, president of 
E. I. DuPont de Nemours Company in 1871, and is still the seat of his 
activity. Here were born his two sons, Paul and F. Lammot, who have firmly 
established themselves in the business world as worthy sons of their honored 

Paul B. Belin was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, July 26, 1875. He 
attended the city schools, then entered Yale University, whence he was grad- 
uated, class of 1895. He then took a post-graduate course at Columbia Uni- 
versity in architecture, following the profession of an architect for several 
years. In 1898 he became treasurer and general manager of the Scranton 
Lace Curtain Company, one of Scranton's important industrial enterprises, 
with which he yet holds the same official position. He is also a director of 
the Lackawanna Trust and Safe Deposit Company and interested in other 
business concerns. In business circles his standing is of the highest, while in 
his official positions he is efficient and most practically useful. He is a mem- 
ber of the Engineers' Club of Northeastern Pennsylvania and of the Scranton 
Club. Mr. Belin married Lucie, daughter of Charles H. Welles, an eminent 
attorney of Scranton. Children: Henry (3) and Charles Welles Belin. 



In the person of Mr. Belin, the fourth generation of Belins occupies im- 
portant position in the great DuPont Powder Manufacturing Company. F. 
Lammot BeHn was born in Scranton, March 15, 1881. son of Henry (2) 
Behn whose own and family history is also recorded in this work. 

After completing his preparatory courses in the Lackawanna and Hotch- 
kiss Schools, F. Lammot Belin entered Yale University, whence he was grad- 
uated Ph.B., class of 1901. Returning to Scranton after graduation he was 
associated with the Scranton Lace Curtain Company for three years. He 
then formed a connection with E. I. DuPont de Nemours & Company, of 
Pennsylvania, and is now vice-president of that company, his honored father 
being president. Mr. Belin Jr. is also a director of the Traders National 
Bank and of the Wyoming Shovel Works. Though comparatively young 
in the business world he has met successfully every demand made upon him 
and ranks as one of Scranton's capable men of affairs. 

He has taken active part in city affairs as a member of the Council to 
which he was appointea m the first instance and elected by the people in 
191 1. He is an efficient, active official and takes a leading part in city legisla- 
tion. He is a member of the Scranton Club and the Scranton Country Club. 

Mr. Belin married. January 17, 1912, Frances, daughter of Frank H. 
Jermyn, of Scranton. He has a son, F. Lammot (2). 


Having sprung from the purest of English stock, the Savage family of 
Dunmore, Lackawanna county, while retaining all of a descendant's pride in 
a mother country, has become so thoroughly imbued with American thought 
and spirit that to its foster mother falls the benefit of its services and the 
credit for duty well done. 

(I) Joseph Savage, grandfather of Charles P. Savage, in 1850 came to the 
United States from his home in Bath, England. A far sighted, prophetic 
visioned Englishman, he predicted the future of Dunmore and Scranton to a 
degree and, desiring his sons to share in the growth and upbuilding of such 
a community, there made his home, although the hamlet of 1850 gave to the 
person of ordinary perception no promise of the city of the present. Here 
Joseph Savage became engaged in the development of the mining industry in 
the capacity of mining engineer, and directed work on some of the earliest 
operations in that locality, continuing in active pursuance of his calling until 
his death. 

(II) Robert P. Savage, son of Joseph Savage, was born in Bath, Eng- 
land, in 1834, died in Dunmore, Pennsylvania, in March, 1912. When his 
parents immigrated to Scranton he was but sixteen years of age, and when but 
a young man he learned the carriage building and blacksmith's trade. He 
established the first carriage building manufactory in Dunmore and for a long 
time was engaged in the making of carriages. He took a prominent part in 
the affairs of the borough and for several years served as burgess, also being a 
member of the town council. His only fraternal connection was with the 
Masonic order, in which he belonged to Peter Williamson Lodge, F. and A. 
M. Both he and his wife were communicants of the Presbyterian church. 
He married Sarah Elizabeth, daughter of Charles Wesley Potter. Children : 
Cora E., married Brevard E. Harris, of Concord, North Carolina : Charles 
P., of further mention ; Maude, married E. D. Ames, of Dunmore. 

The Potter family, which joined the Savage family by the marriage of 


Robert P. and Sarah Elizabeth (Potter) Savage, was first planted in Penn- 
sylvania by Elisha Sweet Potter, who came from Connecticut on horseback, 
settling on a farm in Providence. He was the father o^ Charles Wesley Pot- 
ter, died in 1857, aged forty-two years. Charles Wesley ^otter was born on 
the Potter farm, now the property of the Delaware and HuJson, and moving 
to Dunmore was there one of the first settlers. He conducted extensive deal- 
ings in real estate, also engaging in farming and was justice of the peace. 
He married Sarah Ann Eakin, a native of Martin's Creek, Pennsylvania. 

(HI) Charles P. Savage, son of Robert P. and Sarah Elizabeth (Potter) 
Savage, was born in Dunmore, Pennsylvania, November 28, 1862. He ob- 
tained his education by attendance at the public schools of Dunmore and at 
"Daddy" Merrill's academy in Scranton. His first employment was with 
the Pennsylvania Coal Company, his immediate superior being John B. Smith. 
He here learned telegraphy and became the company's operator. During his 
stay in the employ of this corporation he had held the office of secretary and 
treasurer of the Dunmore Gas and Water Company for several years. He 
remained in the coal business until his entrance into political service in 1901, 
during which time he was purchasing agent for the Pennsylvania Coal Com- 
pany, the Dunmore Iron and Steel Company and the Erie and Wyoming Valley 
Railroad Company, all three of which companies were under one control. In 
1901 he accepted a clerkship under County Controller E. A Jones, who 
assumed the reins of ofifice on July i, 1901, and has been connected with the 
county controller's office ever since as chief clerk, deputy, and finally as con- 
troller, the latter by appointment of the governor to fill out the unexpired 
term of Mr. Jones, whose resignation, on October 4, 191 1, left the position 
vacant. The choice of the chief executive of the slate was confirmed by the 
people of the county in November, 191 1. when Mr. Savage was elected county 
controller for a four year term. All of his political triumphs have been as the 
nominee of the Republican party. During his Dunmore residence he was for 
nine years clerk of the borough council. Mr. Savage is secretary and director 
of the Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank, of Dnnmore. He is also secretary 
and treasurer of the Delaware and Hudson and Pennsylvania Coal Companies' 
Gravity Employees Association, an organization for purely social purposes, 
composed of the old employees of the corporations, which have relinquished 
their charters and have ceased to exist in their corporate form. 

He is a member of the Masonic order, belonging to King Solomon Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Dunmore, in which he is past master : he is also 
past grand of Dunmore Lodge, No. 816, I. O. O. F. : belongs to Dunmore 
Lodge. No. 167, K. of P. ; Dunmore Camp, No. 10,270, M. W. of A. : Dunmore 
Lodge. Improved Order of Heptasophs. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church, and takes a great interest in its affairs, having been secretary of the 
board of trustees for twelve years. As controller of the county finances, Mr. 
Savage has been uniformly careful and accurate in his guard of the public 
funds. Honorable, straight- forward and reliable, the people have found in 
him a servant worthy of the highest trust. 


William P. Connell, father of Frank H. Connell, of this narrative, was a 
native of Philadelphia, where his father had been a member of the firm of 
Lovejoy & Connell, manufacturers of pewterware. William P. Connell learned 
the practical side of this business, and in 1855 came to Scranton, where in 
partnership with Henry B. Rockwell he opened a hardware store, under the 
firm name of Rockwell & Connell. Both being young men of energy and ac- 


tion they did not sit passively by and wait for trade from the surrounding 
neighborhood to seek them out, but instituted the innovation of covering the 
territory by means of wagons, conveying a complete, though necessarily small, 
stock of the different articles handled at the store. This system, inaugurated 
in an unpretentious manner, met with popular favor and was enlarged until 
the force so employed numbered between sixty and eighty men. Emboldened 
by the success of this undertaking, the firm branched out in a new department, 
plumbing, the amount of work done in that line soon eclipsing that of the 
hardware store. Mr. Connell continued in that business until his death, which 
occurred in 1899, aged sixty-six years. He was a member of the First Presby- 
terian Church, devout in the performance of religious duties. His political 
faith was Republican and he was for a time a member of the city council. He 
was a thirty-second degree Mason, belonging to Coeur de Lion Commandery, 
Knights Templar. 

William P. Connell married Alida Van Buren, daughter of House Hurd, 
a native of Kinderhook, New York. Frank H., of further mention, is the 
only one of the children living. Frederick, the oldest son, a graduate of Yale 
University, and a member of the bar of Lackawanna county, died in 1910, 
aged fifty years. Mr. Connell's home in Scranton for many years was on the 
site now occupied by the People's Bank Building. 

Frank H. Connell, son of William P. and Alida Van Buren (Hurd) Con- 
nell, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, November 15, 1862. He obtained 
an excellent education in the public schools, later attending Kingston Academy 
and Lawrenceville Preparatory School. Although ably fitted for college, he 
decided upon a business career and for over twenty years was m the employ 
of his father. He left his position with his father's firm to become secretary 
and treasurer of the Seybolt Milling Company, and was identified with that 
company for several years, later becoming connected with the Pennsylvania 
Casualty Company, which was m.erged with the Massachusetts Bonding and 
Insurance Company, the name of the latter being retained. Mr. Connell's 
position with this corporation is as manager. He here finds a wide field for the 
exercise of acutely trained business instincts, inherited from a resourceful 
and progressive sire, and controls the investments and dealings of the company 
with results most gratifying to its officials. He holds true to a course of the 
strictest integrity in his business life, seeking onlv to acquire that which may 
be obtained legitimately and thus gaining the confidence and trust of business 
as.sociates and the regard and respect of friends. His only social connection 
is with the Scranton Club, and his religious aflfiliation is with the Second Pres- 
byterian Church. He married Frances S., daughter of Calvin Seybolt, of 
Scranton. They are the parents of one daughter, Helen. 


Edward L. Caum, father of Frank Caum, of this narrative, was born in 
Camden, New Jersey. He spent nearly his entire life in the service of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad, as master mechanic, first at Mifflin, and from 1869 
until his death in 1912, aged seventy-nine years, in Harrisburg, whither the 
shops were moved in the former year. He was a member of the Masonic 
Order. He married Ellen Wright. 

Frank Caum, son of Edward L. and Ellen (Wright) Caum, was born in 
Juniata county, Pennsylvania, January 4, 1865. He attended the public schools, 
and as a young man began a connection with railroads and transportation 
companies that has continued until the present time, although that period has 
been spent in the employ of many different roads. He served his apprentice- 


ship in the trade of machinist in the shops of the Pennsylvania Railroad. He 
followed that occupation for seven years in Harrisburg, then going to Meriden, 
Connecticut, where he remained for one year, at the expiration of that time 
entering the employ of the Meriden Waterbury and Connecticut River Rail- 
road. He severed that connection to accept a position in the car barns of 
the Rochester Railroad, whose service he entered in 1890. He received a 
promotion to the position of engineer in the power station, but after a year 
had passed, resigned and took a position with the Ball and Wood Engine 
Company, of Elizabethport, New Jersey, and not finding this to his liking, after 
a few months returned to Rochester, continuing in his former capacity for 
another year. In the latter part of 1892 he became chief engineer of the 
power station of the Jersey City and Bergen road, a position he held until 
June, 1894. While with this road he was for a short time engaged in the 
building of a road in New Jersey. In August of the same year he was en- 
gaged as chief engineer of the power station of the Hartford Street Railway. 
In 1897 he was promoted to the superintendency, and in 1905 he became 
manager. The year after his elevation to that position he came to Scranton as 
general manager of the Scranton Railway Company. While Mr. Caum has 
in a sense been a rolling stone, as a stone he has possessed the qualities nf 
a ball of snow, which when set in motion constantly becomes larger and a more 
perfect specimen of a snow ball than before it was moved. So in his restless, 
nomadic wandering, Mr. Caum has gathered, not moss, but an invaluable 
knowledge of methods used in transportation, and a thorough insight into the 
workings of every department of a railway system. It is that technical knowl- 
edge that has made him so indispensable to the Scranton Railroad Company, 
whose affairs he directs from a perfect understanding of the entire system. 
Himself a trained mechanic and one who has seen active service in the lower 
grades of the employment, he knows just the amount of work of which each 
man is capable, and in fair-minded justice expects him to do no more. He is the 
type of employer in whom a faithful and conscientious workman delights, but 
a veritable thorn in the flesh to the shirking drone, who does as little as neces- 
sary in as long a time as possible. Mr. Caum is a member of the board of 
directors of the Anthracite Trust Company. 

Mr. Caum married Louise, daughter of Irvin Crane, of Harrisburg, Penn- 
sylvania, and they have one son, Norman C. It was a pleasing tribute to the 
excellent impression made by Mr. Caum that during the years when his life 
was so unsettled he could always return to the position he had just left. He 
regards each situation as but a stepping-stone to another, and all but a train- 
ing for a more important and more responsible position in the business he has 
made his life work. 


Luther Keller, a well known business man of Scranton, Pennsylvania, is a 
member of a family whose history is of more than ordinary interest. 

(I) Joseph Keller, the emigrant ancestor of this family, was born in 
Schwarzenacker, near Zweibruecken, Bavaria, Germany, March 15, 1719. tlis 
mother had been twice married, according to family tradition, her first hus- 
band being a Mr. Guth, and a son of this marriage had come to .America, as 
had also her elder son of the second marriage. Joseph Keller sailed on the 
ship William, for America, and arrived at Philadelphia, October 31, 1737. 

He lived with the family of his step-brother, Guth, and nearby lived Klary 

Engel Drumm, who later married Mr. Keller, with whom she had grown up. 
They married about 1742, and settled in Northampton county, Pennsylvania.. 



They were called upon to endure all the hardships of the early settlers, among 
these being the capture by Indians of Mrs. Keller and several of her children 
and the murder of the eldest child. They were taken by the Indians to Canada 
and handed over to the officers of the French army. They were held captives 
until three years later when the English army defeated the French at Ottawa 
and set free all prisoners held by the French. Mrs. Keller with her chil- 
dren made their way back to their home, over looo miles, and were again united. 
The children of this family were: i. Christian, born September lo, 1743; 
murdered by the Indians at the age of fourteen years. 2. Anna Margaret, 
born March 15, 1745: married a Mr. Miller, and had a daughter Elizabeth. 
3. Henry Adam, born January i, 1747, died in young manhood. 4. Simon, 
born October 29, 1749; married a Miss Dipper, and had three children. 5. 
Joseph, of further mention. 6. John Jacob, born July 10, 1754, was cap- 
tured by the Indians when a little more than two years old, and never heard 
from again. 7. John Jacob, second of the name, was born March 22, 1757; 
married Maria Dorothy Metz, and had children; later removed to Ohio. 8. 
Philip, born March 29, 1763: married (first) Sarah, daughter of Henry Miller, 
(second) Widow Susannah Engler, and had children by both marriages. 

(IT) Joseph (2) Keller, son of Joseph (i) and Alary Engel (Drumm) 
Keller, was born January 15, 1751, died April 15, 1832. He was almost six 
years old when with his mother was captured by the Indians, and about nine 
years of age when returned to his home. He enlisted as a "Seven-Months 
Man" at the time of the Revolutionary War, but the length of his service in 
the Continental army is not known. After his marriage he removed to Cherry 
Valley. He married Maria Magdalene Andre, born June 15, 1785, died 
September 6, 1831, daughter of Leonard Andre. They had children: i. 
Adam, married Elizabeth Fisher and had children ; lived in Upper Mount 
Bethel township. 2. Leonard, a blacksmith ; married and had children. 3. 
Joseph, married (first) a Miss Riegel, (second) an English woman and had 
children by both marriages ; moved to the west 4. Jacob, married Nancy 
Dennis and had children ; lived in Briar Creek Valley, Columbia coimty, Penn- 
sylvania. 5. John, married Mary Johnson and had children. 6. Henry, mar- 
ried a Miss Hess; moved to Columbia county. 7. Elizabeth, married John 
Fellenser, had five children, all deceased. 8. Mary, born 1780. died June 4, 
1842 ; married Henry Algert and had children. 9. Peter, of further mention. 

10. Sarah, married Robert Shaw; moved to Illinois. 11. George, born Janu- 
ary 15, 1797, died February 3, 1871 ; married (first) Mary Bitja, born De- 
cember 15, 1803, died October 1, 1825: married (second) Lovina Lern, born 
March 11, 1807, died August 17, 1872; had children by both marriages. 

(Ill) Peter Keller, son of Joseph (2) and Maria Magdalene (Andre) 
Keller, was born August 26, 1794, died September 20, 1878. He grew to man- 
hood in Cherry Valley, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, now Monroe 
county, where he became a prosperous farmer and mill owner, also running 
a line of freight teams from that section to and from Easton, Stroudsburg 
and Philadelphia, before the era of railroads. He was a Whig in early life, 
and upon the organization of the Republican party joined its rank, and was a 
very prominent citizen. Mr. Keller married ElizalDeth Heller, born October 
19, 1798, died November 23, 1886. They had children: i, John, born October 

11, 1818, died April 3, 1886. 2. Susan, born January 2, 1821, died March 2, 
1883. 3. Catharine, born in 1822; married Thomas W. Rhodes and had one 
son, Stewart T. 4. Daniel, of further mention. 5. Charles, born April 20, 
1827; married Lavine Smith, born February 7, 1827. died June 22, 1897; had 
children, 6. Mary Ann, born November 29, 1829; married Henry Dennis, 
born January 11, 1830, died October 10, 1901 ; had children. 7. Joseph J., 


born October i8, 1832, died December 11, 1871 : married Mary J. Rhoads ; had 
six children. 8. Lewis, born in 1833, died September 11, 1903: married Julia 
Werkheiser. y. Louise, born in 1833. 10. Sarah, born in 1835. II. Wil- 
liam, born in 1837: married Sarah Kemmerer, born February 9, 1834; had 
children. 12. Theodore, born in 1837. 

(IV) Daniel Keller, son of Peter and Elizabeth (Heller) Keller, was born 
in Monroe county, Pennsylvania, in April, 1825, died February 8, 1904. He 
learned the trade of milling in the grist mill of his father, and succeeded the 
latter in the conduct of this business, continuing in it, to the exclusion of other 
business interests, until several years prior to his death, when he had retired. 
He was a Republican in politics, and a member of the German Reformed 
Church. He married Catherine Jane Drake, born April 20, 1828, died March 
27, 1861, daughter of Wayne Drake, a prosperous farmer of Monroe county, 
Pennsylvania. Four children grew to years of maturity: I. Luther, of 
further mention. 2. Morris T., of Scranton. 3. Laura, married James 
Decker, of Monroe county, Pennsylvania. 4. Isabelle, married S. B. Decker, 
of Monroe county, Pennsylvania. 

(V) Luther Keller, eldest son of Daniel and Catherine Jane (Drake) 
Keller, was born near Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, October 27, 1850. He 
remained at home until he was twelve years of age, at which time his mother 
died. He then left the home farm to make his own way in the world, in 
which he succeeded without other assistance than his perseverance, and will- 
ingness to work. He secured a position on a farm where he worked summers 
and attended school winters until he was fifteen years of age. He then 
came to Scranton. where for four years he worked with Lewis and Sidney 
Keller, who taught him the trade of harness making. During this period he 
attended the night classes at Gardner's Business College, gaining a clear knowl- 
edge of business forms of proceduie. In 1875 he established his present place 
of business, the wholesale and retail lime and cement yard, in Scranton. He 
began in a small way, but prospered from the beginning to such an extent that 
soon afterward he leased the lime works at Portland which he subsequently 
purchased, and at the present time is operating an additional quarry, making 
it the largest plant of this kind in eastern Pennsylvania, and employing a large 
force of men. The product is sold in New Jersey, Eastern Pennsylvania and 
New York State. To this lime business he has added cement, hard wall plas- 
ter, sewer pipe, fire brick and clay, and in fact conducts a complete builders" 
supply house. Mr. Keller's office and yards are at Nos. 813-815 West Lacka- 
wanna avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania. He conducts a large and prosperous 
business, as manufacturer, wholesaler and retailer, holding the confidence of his 
many customers and of the world of business in which he moves. His success 
in life has been the result of his own energy, integrity and upright business 
principles, strictly adhered to in every transaction. He had aided in the estab- 
lishment of many, now prosperous, Scranton industries, in fact, few new 
enterprises have been established here during the past twenty years in which he 
has not taken an active interest. He has worked personally in this direction 
as a persistent advocate of Scranton's desirability as a manufacturing center, 
and through the board of trade, of which body he was president two years, 
and vice-president five years. In addition to his private business he has been 
director of the Third National Bank for twenty years ; is vice-president of the 
Scranton Textile Company, and interested in other Scranton enterprises. 
Scranton has no truer friend or one who more earnestly labors for the well 
being of the community. For fourteen years he was a member of the city 
council, its president for two years, and in that capacity used his best efforts 
to promote the public good. He was made a Mason in 1877, and is now a 



member of Union Lodge, Lackawanna Chapter, Coeur de Lion Comman- 
dery, Irem Temple and Keystone Consistory, in which he has attained the 
thirty-second degree. 

In the church of his choice Mr. Keller has been and is most useful. Since 
1868 he has been a member of what is now the Immanuel Baptist Church, 
formerly the Penn Avenue Baptist Church, for twenty-five years has been 
superintendent of the Sunday school, also president of the board of trustees 
and deacon for many years. He is widely known in the church outside of 
Immanuel, was moderator of Abington Baptist Association, two years ; presi- 
dent of the Baptist State Convention, two years : and is now a member of rhe 
executive committee of the Northern Baptist Convention, and is a charter 
member of the Ministers and Missionary Benefit Board of the Northern Bap- 
tist Convention. Mrs. Keller is a co-worker in the church, taking an active 
part in the women's organizations. The family home is at No. 515 Clay 

Mr. Keller married (first) September 18, 1879, .Annie E. Halstead, who 
died February 18, 1883, daughter of Nathaniel Halstead. There were no chil- 
dren by this marriage. He married (second) January 21, 1886, Laura F. 
Frey, daughter of Peter and Maria (Boyer) Frey, of Portland, Pennsylvania, 
and the children of this marriage now living are : Ruth, born in 1S92 ; Russell, 
born in 1899. 


Ezra H. Ripple Jr., only son of Colonel Ezra H. and Sarah H. (Hackett) 
Ripple, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1879. His early educa- 
tion was obtained in the public schools, followed by a course at the Univer- 
sity School, at Cleveland, Ohio, and at Pennsylvania Military College at Ches- 
ter, Pennsylvania. He was graduated from the latter institution, class of 
1898. He then enlisted in the Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania Infantry, 
for service during the Spanish-American War, serving until March, 1899. 
He then was engaged as mine surveyor until 190x3, when deciding upon the 
profession of law he registered as a student of Welles & Torrey, then entered 
the law department of the University of Pennsylvania, whence he was gradu- 
ated LL.B.. class of 1904, being admitted to the Lackawanna bar at the March 
term 1905. He has since that date practiced his profession in Scranton in 
association with H. C. Reynolds. He has been admitted to all state and fed- 
eral courts of the district, has a large practice, and in September, 191 1, was 
appointed referee in bankruptcy. Mr. Ripple enlisted in Company D, Thir- 
teenth Regiment, National Guard Pennsylvania, as private, June 8, 1899, and 
has received the following commissions in the regiment : November 8, 1899, 
second lieutenant; May 14, 1900, first lieutenant; August 25. 1903, captain; 
June 28, 1907, major; September 25, 1908, lieutenant-colonel, his present rank 
in the Thirteenth (1914). His college fraternities are: Phi Gamma Delta 
and Delta Chi. In religious faith he is a member of the Reformed Episcopal 
Church, which he serves as vestryman. In politics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Ripple married, October 23, 1906, Lois Schlager, daughter of Charles 
Schlager, of Scranton. Children : Ezra H. 3rd, Dorothy Lois, Marjorie 


The Reynolds family, formerly of Fell township, of which George F. 
Reynolds of Scranton is a representative, descends from the New England 


family, founded at Plymouth, Massachusetts, 1643, ^"^ at Kingston, Rhode 
Island, twelve years later. About 1750 a branch of the family moved to 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, and came thence with the first settlers of the 
Wyoming Valley, under the Connecticut charter in 1769. The family is con- 
spicuous in the records of the events of those early years, figuring in con- 
nection with the battle and massacre of Wyoming. 

(I) George Reynolds, paternal grandfather of George F. Reynolds, came 
at an early day from Rhode Island, settling in Fell township, now Lackawanna 
county, where he owned 300 acres of land. His was the first framed house 
in the township erected prior to 1825. it being covered, sides and roof with long 
white oak shingles split out of the log. In 1825 he built the first framed barn 
in the township, having in 1824 built the pioneer saw mill. This mill erected 
on Fall Brook in the southwest part of the township, was destroyed by a flood, 
was rebuilt and again was carried away by a flood, no mill having smce been 
built on the site. The old log school house built about 1820 on the creek, 
and known as the "Carr School House," was presided over in 1825 by John 
Nelson — among his pupils were, Samuel, Maria, George and Shefif Reynolds. 
The first wedding solemnized in Fell township was in 1827, one of the high 
contracting parties being a Reynolds : Maria, who married Otis Williams. 

(IIj George (2) Reynolds, son of George (i) Reynolds, was born in 
Rhode Island in 181 7, and was but a baby when his parents came to Fell 
township. He attended the old log school house sessions and grew up as was 
the lot of the pioneer boy, to hardships and toil. He helped to clear and cul- 
tivate the soil, to sow, reap, thrash and grind, living a farmer's life until 1859, 
when he moved to Scranton and opened a grocery store on Penn avenue. He 
prospered in business, continuing several years at that location, then moved 
to the west side, here he lived retired several years prior to his death in 1900. 
His wife, Mary Ann Phinney, was born in Connecticut, in 1823, daughter of 
James H. Phinney, who kept the Bristol House at Providence for many years, 
Mary Ann, his daughter, spending her girlhood in Providence. She died aged 
eighty-six years, in October, 1910. Both George (2) and Mary A. Reynolds 
were members of the Methodist Episcopal church. Six of their eight children 
grew to mature years : James S. : George F., of whom further ; Ida, deceased, 
married J. L. Harding; Clarence E. Phinney, and John C, deceased: Blanche 
and Annie, both died young, the former aged three years, the latter aged 
fifteen months. 

(Ill) George F. Reynolds was born in Fell township, Lackawanna county, 
Pennsylvania, January 7, 1848. He attended the public schools of the town- 
ship and later took a course at Dufifs Business College at Pittsburgh. Later 
still he became identified with the well known home college course inaugurated 
by the Chautauqua Association and for ten years he was a member of the 
Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle, finishing his courses and being grad- 
uated. He began business life as a clerk in Harding's grocery store, but after a 
vear moved to Oxford, New Jersey, where he was time-keeper at the iron 
works for three years. He then made a trip to the oil region of Pennsylvania, 
but finding the oil business very unattractive he took the before mentioned 
course at the business college in Pittsburgh, then returned to Scranton. He 
entered the employ of the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company, as bookkeeper 
and clerk, continuing in that employ for twenty-eight years, acquiring a splen- 
did standing with the company for reliability, dispatch and industry. In 1900 
he severed this connection and established a real estate and insurance business 
in Scranton. He operates extensively, buying large tracts and dividing them into 
building lots. In this manner he added West Park, a tract of 120 acres to 
Hyde Park. He is secretary and treasurer of the Keystone Land Company, 


and is a director of the Peoples National Bank, an institution he aided in 
organizing. A successful business man and capable executive, Mr. Reynolds 
adds to this the qualities of a good citizen, an earnest supporter of church 
and Young Men's Christian Association work. He is a member of the Elm 
Park Methodist Episcopal Church ; has been secretary of the board of trustees 
continuously since 1874 and served two years (1880-1882) as superintendent 
of the Sunday school. During the years 1880 to 1882 he was president of the 
Young Men's Christian Association and during this period taught a Sunday 
school class. In 1900 he was provisional delegate from the Wyoming con- 
ference of the Methodist Episcopal church to the general conference, held that 
year in Chicago. Mr. Reynolds is active in all departments of church work 
other than those mentioned ; is public spirited and generous, social and refined 
in his tastes and devoted to his home and family. He is a member of the 
New England Society of Northeastern Pennsylvania. There is little of true 
benefit to his community in which he is not interested and his support is con- 
fidently relied upon for all forward movements. 

Mr. Reynolds has been twice married, his first wife being Miss Ida A. 
Ware, of Pedricktown, New Jersey. Her death occurred in 1888. In 1895 
he married Mrs. Katherine (Wynkoop) Wylie, daughter of William Wynkoop, 
of Newton, Pennsylvania. Children : William W. ; Arthur E. and Margaret, 
the latter a child of Mrs. Revnolds and her first husband. 


Although a young man, Mr. Stuckart has risen to a position of responsi- 
bility in business and has shown ability of commensurate proportions. His 
years of banking experience fitted him for his present position as secretary 
and treasurer of the Anthracite Trust Company, his selection for this office 
being a natural result, following the careful attention he gave his previous 
positions and the ability displayed in the fulfillment of his duties. There be- 
ing no efifect without a cause, and in no line of business is merit quicker rec- 
ognized than in banking, so surely there are greater honors in store for Mr. 
Stuckart, one of the youngest banking officials of Scranton. 

George F. Stuckart is a son of Anthony F. and Mary C. (Reinhart) Stuck- 
art, the former born in Austria, Europe, coming to the United States when 
eighteen years of age. He landed in New York City, and for a time remained 
there, later locating in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania. He was for many years in 
the employ of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company, meet- 
ing death in a railroad accident. He married ]\lary C. daughter of George 
Reinhart, of Tannersville, Pennsylvania. Children : George F., Paul, Loretta, 

George F. Stuckart was born in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, October 25, 
1878. He was educated in public and parochial schools, Wood's Business 
College and Saint Thomas College. He began business life with the Globe 
Warehouse Company ; then for five years was bookkeeper for the Maloney 
Oil and Manufacturing Company of Scranton ; the succeeding three years 
were spent with the Merchants' and Mechanics' Bank as bookkeeper : in 1909 
he was appointed cashier of the Olyphant Bank, having been the first ap- 
pointee to that position : in 1910 he was elected secretary and treasurer of 
the Anthracite Trust Company, which office he now most capably fills. Mr. 
Stuckart enlisted in 1896 in Company F, Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania 
National Guard, and in 1898 volunteered with the regiment for service in the 
Spanish-American War. He enlisted as a private, was at first detailed to the 
hospital corps, later returned to his company and was mustered out with his 


regiment with the rank of corporal. While detailed with the hospital corps,, 
he acted as secretary to the brigade surgeon. He is a member of the con- 
gregation of Saint Peter's Cathedral ; is past faithful navigator of the Fourth 
Degree Knights of Columbus ; member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and in political faith is a Republican. Mr. Stuckart married, 
June lo, 1902, Ella R., daughter of Adam Dougherty, of Scranton. 


The ancestry of the Fuller family in America includes a progenitor who 
came to this country in the Mayflower, Edward Fuller, and Jesse Fuller, the 
sixth American generation of the name, who according to the Massachusetts 
Muster and Payrolls and the Rhode Island Service records, was a soldier in 
the Revolutionary War, enlisting from the two states previously mentioned. 

Charles A. Fuller, father of Arthur C. Fuller, was a native of Southbridge, 
Massachusetts, born January 21, 1821. By trade a builder and carpenter, he 
became the owner of a planing mill at Clinton, New York, and prospered. His 
later life was spent in retirement in Utica, New York. He married Carile 

Arthur C. Fuller, eldest son of Charles A. and Carile (Gates) Fuller, 
was born at Clinton, Oneida county. New York, February 27, 1849. He 
attended the district and high schools of Clinton, New York, but although 
prepared for college entrance, relinquished his opportunity for further study 
and secured employment as clerk in a store in Clinton, where he remained two 
years. The following year he entered the branch office of the Remington 
Agricultural Works at Utica, New York, and was soon transferred to the 
main office of the company at Ilion, New York. After three years' service 
he entered the stove manufacturing field in the employ of J. S. and M. Peck- 
ham, of Utica, New York, an industry in which he attained marked success. 
For nine years he was in charge of the finances of that company, serving 
faithfully and well, resigning to remove to Scranton. He here contracted 
relations with the Scranton Stove Works, and with J. A. Lansing purchased 
the controlling interest, became treasurer of that organization, and acted in 
that capacity for thirty years, resigning in 1912. This business was estab- 
lished and incorporated in 1866 as the Scranton Stove and Manufacturing 
Company and was later changed to the Scranton Stove Works, a corporation 
numbering among its founders men of such prominence as the late Colonel 
J. A. Price, J. J. Albright, J. C. Piatt, H. S. Pierce, J. A. Linen and William 
Connell. In 1892 the business was moved from its old factory on West Lack- 
awanna avenue to its present site, where a large and suitable plant was erected 
for it, which, including the additions recently constructed, is one of the largest 
plants devoted exclusively to stove manufacture in the East. Of the nine 
acres occupied by the works, three and one-half are under roof. Four liundred 
men are employed therein, the principal product being "Dockash" stoves and 
ranges. Mr. Fuller's present connection with this flourishing concern is as 
vice-president, but he is not at present active in the management. 

Mr. Fuller is otherwise identified with Scranton interests, being vice-presi- 
dent and director of the Lansing Hardware Company ; secretary, treasurer 
and director of the Scranton Textile Company, and also holds the same posi- 
tions with The Scranton Mills, which is the selling company for the former ; 
and was for several years director of the Scranton Savings Bank until its con- 
solidation with the Dime Discount and Savings Bank in 1913. He belongs to 
the Green Ridge Presbyterian Church and is secretary of the board of trus- 
tees. He also holds membership in the Scranton Club and the Green Ridge 



Club, and he was one of the organizers and for eleven years treasurer of the 
New England Society of Northeastern Pennsylvania. The society at its 
annual banquet in 1903 presented him with a silver loving-cup, inscribed as 
follows: "Presented by the New England Society of Northeastern Penn- 
sylvania to Mr. Arthur Charles Fuller, in recognition of efficient services as 
Treasurer, 1892-1903." 

He married, December 17, 1873, Clara Woolworth, daughter of Cornwell 
and Angeline (Coe) Woolworth. Children: Howard A., a graduate of 
Lafayette College, in the scientific course, now located at Seattle, Washington ; 
Ray W., a graduate of Lafayette College with the degree of electrical engi- 
neer, learned the stove business at St. Louis, Missouri, and at Quincy, Illi- 
nois, married Grace Sanderson, and they have two children : Arthur C, 
Louise S. ; Florence L., died aged three years ; Floid M., a graduate of the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, Massachusetts, in the mechan- 
ical and electrical engineering courses, now of Duluth, Minnesota ; Warren L., 
connected with the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Coal Company as 
concrete engineer, married Hazel Tobey. 

Mr. Fuller is numbered among the successful manufacturers of the city 
and is an authority on all departments of his business. His wise judgment 
and careful and persevering financial acumen are attributes contributing largely 
to the prosperity of the several organizations with which he is connected. 
Public-spirited to the highest degree, he is ever forward in encouraging enter- 
prises which can in any way advance the interests of Scranton. A keynote to 
his success in his many undertakings is his executive force and mastery of 
detail in whatever engages his attention. To a natural dignity of manner 
Mr. Fuller adds a geniality that wins for him hosts of friends and makes him 
welcome wherever he goes. 


The Post family is of ancient German origin. As early as A. D. 980 we 
find among the conquerors of Nettelburg, later known as Shaumburg, Herren 
Von Post, and in 1030 Adolph Post was a member of the Reichstag of Min- 
den. From the local name Von Post doubtless came the surname Post, for 
in the same town, Ludwig and Heinrich Post, in 1273, appear as witnesses to 
a deed, and this Heinrich was progenitor of a prominent German family. 

(I) Goossen Post, a descendant of Heinrich Post, and from whom the 
American family is traced by the family historian in an unbroken line, is 
mentioned in 1376 as one of the anzienlijkste Arr.heimsche burgers. Arnheim 
is in that part of Netherlands called Gelderland. He had a wife, Jantje, daugh- 
ter of Peter and Jane (Rapalje) Van Zul. They had sons: Peter, men- 
tioned below ; George. 

(II) Peter Post, son of Goossen Post, owned land in 1390 in or near 
Elspet, and is thought to have married Annatie, daughter of George and Else 
(Meyers) Suydam, of Zwolle. Children: Peter Arnold, mentioned below; 
George, said to have emigrated to England and to have settled in county Kent 
about 1473, and his will was filed at Canterbury, 1502; Jan. 

(III) Peter Arnold Van Der Poest, son of Peter Post, is given in the 
Post Genealogy as son of Peter, and his birth year as 1500, but it is probable 
that some generations were missed in the search. Goossen Post must have 
been born about 1325 to be a city officer in 1376, and his son Peter, who owned 
land in 1399, was born, say as early as 1365, Peter Arnold would be according 
to this reckoning, over a hundred years younger than his father. Peter 
Arnold married Marragrietje, daughter of Jan Bogert, and had sons : Jan, 



whose daughter Sarah niarried in Maidstone, Kent, September 15, 1607, 
Isaac Clark, or Clerk ; Panwell, mentioned below. 

(IV) Panwell \'an Der Poest, son of Peter Arnold Van Der Poest, mar- 
ried, February 7, 1571, Susannah, daughter of Abraham Van Gelder. Chil- 
dren, baptized at the Dutch Church, Austin Friars, London : Abraham, Octo- 
ber 6, 1573: Sarah, same date; Susanna, January 18, 1578; Jan, November 
S, 1579: Arthur, mentioned below. 

(V) Arthur Post, son of Panwell Van Der Poest, was baptized August 26, 
1580. He married, February 2, 1614, in Maidstone, Kent, Bennet, daughter 
of Richard Lambe. That he was the father of the American pioneer, Richard, 
is deduced from a "deed" dated June 14, 1644, "being of grete age Arthur 
Post give to my cousin Richard Van Mulken : my second son Stephen and his 
wife Margaret ; lands, tenements and hereditaments in Estling, formerly in 
the possession of my eldest son Richard, being now of New England, or some 
parts beyond the seas. Panwell, my youngest son, to have my wearing ap- 
parel." (Phillips Coll. Mss. in Mulken Gen. Mss. XXII, 4). This must mean 
will, not a deed in the proper sense of the word. 

(VI) Lieutenant Richard Post, immigrant ancestor, son of Arthur Post 
of England, is said by the genealogy and other authorities to have settled first 
at Lynn and Woburn, Massachusetts, it is true, and was a taxpayer in 1643. 
But we have record that he married in Lynn or Woburn, February 27, 1649- 
50, Susanna Sutton, and that in the same locality a Richard Post married, 
November 18, 1662, Mary Tyler. The records seem to show, however, that 
Richard Post went with the pioneers from Lynn to Southampton, Long 
Island. He shared in every division of the common land, and from 1643 ^0 
1687 he was prominent in the records of the town. It is true that he may have 
returned to Lynn for two wives, but it is not known that the Southampton man 
had any other wife than Dorothy (given in some works as Johnson). He was 
constable, marshal, magistrate, lieutenant, commissioner to treat with the 
Indians, on a committee to settle a dispute between the town and Captain 
Topping, patentee under Governor Andros' patent. The original homestead 
of Post was on the east side of Main street and has lately been owned by 
Captain Charles Howells and Henry Post. Before he died he deeded land to 
his sons, John and Joseph Post, daughter Martha, wife of Benjamin Foster, 
and grandson, Benjamin Foster Jr., April 17, 16S8. He died in 1689. Chil- 
dren : Martha, married Benjamin Foster ; Joseph, was in business in Talbot 
county, Maryland, in 1675, returned to Southampton and died there November 
10, 1721, aged about seventy-one years, leaving a will ; John, mentioned below. 

(VII) Captain John Post, son of Lieutenant Richard Post, was born 
about 1650, doubtless at Southampton. He was progenitor of all the Post 
familes of eastern Long Island ; Montrose and Honesdale, Pennsylvania : Pal- 
myra and Newburgh, New York, and California. The homestead of Captain 
John Post, was on the east side of Main street, Southampton, and the railroad 
station occupies part of it at present. He was one of the purchasers of the 
house and lot bought for and dedicated to the use of a Presbyterian parson- 
age "forever," and the property is still owned by the church. His will was 
dated December 9, 1687, and proved at Southampton, March 21, 1687-88, 
bequeathing to five sons and three daughters, homestall. close at the head of the 
creek, a fifty-pound commonage, the house and home lot formerly his fath- 
er's, the close that was his father's between the Mill path and Cobb's Pound 
path, close at Long Springs and his fifty -pound allotment at Mecox ; land at 
Hog Neck, west of Canoe place and in Great place. He died in 1687. He 
married, in 1671, Mary . Children: Mary; Captain John, mentioned 


below; Jeremiah, settled in Hempstead; Sarah; Dorothy; Martha; Debo- 
rah ; Richard, lived at Hempstead, became a Friend. 

(Vni) Captain John Post, son of Captain John Post, was born in 1673, at 
Southampton, died there in 1741. In 1690, when he was about seventeen 
years old, he was trading land, and in 1692 he was buying and selling land, 
and his name was on the tax list. In 171 2 he was a trustee and proprietor 
and purchased for the town the North End Burying Ground in which his 
uncle Joseph was the first man buried. From 1714 to 1739 he was many 
times elected to public office, serving as trustee, collector of taxes, assessor, 
commissioner on disputed boundaries and captain of the military company 
(as shown by the records at Albany). He died in 1741. He married Mary 
Halsey. Children; John, born 1704, died 1792, married Abigail Halsey; 
Joseph, born 1704, died 1780; Isaac, mentioned below. 

(IX) Isaac Post, son of Captain John Post, was born in 1712. died May 
8, 1785. He married Mary Jessup, and among his children was Isaac, men- 
tioned below. 

(X) Isaac Post, son of Isaac Post, was born in 1741, died in 1788, killed 
by a fall from a tree. He married Agnes, born June i, 1764, died May 2, 
1834, daughter of Joseph and Deborah (Hudson) Rugg (see Rugg II). His 
widow married (second) Bartlett Hinds, born April 4, 1755, and had two chil- 
dren: Richard Hinds, born December 17, 1795, and Barlett Hinds, born 
June 7, 1797. Children of Isaac and Agnes Post: Isaac, mentioned below; 
and David, born July 26, 1786, died February 24, i860. 

(XI) Isaac Post, son of Isaac Post, was born August 12, 1784, in South- 
ampton, Long Island, New York, died in Montrose, Pennsylvania, March 
23, 1855. He was one of the early settlers of Northeastern Pennsylvania, 
coming to Montrose in the early part of 1800, where he became one of the 
prominent men of the community. He conducted a general store, and also 
kept an inn. He took a foremost part in every good project in ihe commu- 
nity, and was instrumental in establishing the first bank in that section. He 
held various offices of honor and trust, was major of the Second Battalion of 
the State Militia in 181 1, and was also inspector of the Second Brigade; he 
was treasurer of Susquehanna county in 1812; a member of the state legis- 
lature from Susquehanna county in 1828; judge of Susquehanna county in 
1837. He was a member of the Masonic organization, holding membership 
in Hiram Lodge, No. 131, of Newburg, New York. He married, in 1805, 
Susannah Hinds, the ceremony being performed by Thomas Titfany, Esq. 
She was born November 10, 1782, died November 15, 1846, daughter of Bart- 
lett Hinds (see Hinds V). Their children were: Mary Ann, born March 
6, 1806, died April 17, 1806; William Leander, April 26, 1807, died Febru- 
ary 26, 1871 ; Albert Lotan, March 25, 1809, died December 6, 1886; Mary 
Susannah, May 25, 181 1, died March 23, 1812; Susannah Jane, April 4, 
1813, died February 9, 1819; Agnes Ann, September 25, 1815, died June 22. 
1816; Isaac Lucius, mentioned below; Jane Amanda, November 14, 1820, 
died October 25, 1903, unmarried ; Elizabeth Vallonia, July 4, 1825, died 
October 4, 1853, she married Gordon Dimock, M. D., of Montrose, Pennsyl- 
vania, who was a surgeon in the Civil War; George Leonidas, September 24, 
1828, died December 5, 1841. 

(XII) Isaac Lucius Post, son of Isaac Post, was born July 11, 1818, in 
Montrose, Pennsylvania, died December 8, 1899. His education was acquired 
in the district schools. During the Civil War he served in the paymaster's 
department of the Army of the Cumberland, under Colonel Asa Holt Jr., and 
after the war, in 1865, he removed to Scranton, Pennsylvania, where he was 
for a number of years engaged in the insurance business, and where he also 


served as justice of the peace and alderman. He was active in the Penn- 
sylvania Avenue Baptist Church, of Scranton. He was a very stalwart Repub- 
lican and was instrumental in bringing Congressman Galusha A. Grow before 
the public, assisting materially in raising the funds for his campaign. Mr. 
Post was married, July 28, 1846, by the Rev. H. A. Riley, at ■Montrose, Penn- 
sylvania, to Harriet Amanda, born February 26, 1828, died at Scranton, 
November 22, 1895, daughter of William and Amanda (Harris) Jessup. To 
this union was born one son, Isaac, mentioned below. 

(XIII) Isaac Post, son of Isaac Lucius Post, was born November 21, 1856, 
at Montrose. Pennsylvania. He attended the public and high schools of Scran- 
ton and Professor H. H. Merrill's Academic and Primary Trainmg School. 
He began his business career October i, 1873, as messenger boy of the Third 
National Bank of Scranton, and a year later, December 2, 1874, became mes- 
senger of the First National Bank of Scranton. His ability and fidelity to 
duty were rewarded by promotion and he was advanced by various steps to 
positions of larger responsibility. He became assistant cashier, January 4, 
1886, and in October, 1891, cashier, a position he has filled since then with 
conspicuous ability. He enlisted in the Scranton City Guards during the 
labor disturbances of 1877, in Company A, and with other members of the 
company was mustered into the Thirteenth Regiment, National Guard of 
Pennsylvania, October 10, 1878. He was discharged May 25, 1885, with the 
rank of first sergeant. In politics he is a Republican ; in religion a Presby- 
terian, being a member of the First Presbyterian Church, which he served as 
trustee for several years. 

He married, February 16, 1887, Emily Pierson, born at Roselle, New Jer- 
sey, April 14, 1861, daughter of Hiram Pierson and Caroline Elizabeth (Shny- 
der) Baldwin, the former late general passenger agent of the Central Rail- 
road of New Jersey. Children: i. Margaret Baldwin, born April 12, 1889; 
married October 8, 1912, Reuben B. Pitts, president of the Hermitage Cot- 
ton Mills, Camden, South Carolina ; one daughter. Emily Post Pitts, born July 
18, 1913. 2. Evelyn Jessup, February 22, 1892; married, June 13, 1913, 
Douglass T. Lansing, of the Lansing Hardware Company, Scranton. 3. Nor- 
man Baldwin, January 3, 1896, died March 26, 1900, at Scranton. 4. Caro- 
lyn Elizabeth, August 27, 1897. 


Although numbered among the older business men of Scranton, a finer 
example of well preserved manly vigor, one would have to go far to find. His 
life, begun in far away Wales, the family seat for many generations, has found 
its full fruition in the wonderful city his muscle, brain and genius has helped 
to create. 

William R. Williams was born March 10, 1846, in the borough of Car- 
marthen, capital of the county of Carmarthen, South W^ales, a city of over 
io,coo inhabitants, situated on the river Towy, eight miles from its mouth and 
twenty-three miles northwest of Swansea. He is the son of Reese and Cath- 
erine (James) Williams, both descendants of old Welsh families. Reese Wil- 
liams was a man of good education and one of the most expert cabinet makers 
and fine wood workers of his city. He died in his native town in 1851, 
age twenty-eight years. His wife, Catherine, was a daughter of William 
James, of Vrongach, a town in the same part of South Wales. 

William R. Williams at an early age was thrown upon his own resources, 
first obtained a good education, passing his boyhood years at the home of his 
paternal grandfather, William Williams, owner and operator of Nanty bar 


mill. William Williams was also a carpenter and cabinet maker, and on arriv- 
ing at suitable age William R. Williams became his apprentice, continuing 
until he fully mastered the trade. He remained in Carmarthen until his 
twenty-fourth year, then married and a month later sailed for the United 
States, locating finally in Scranton. This was in the year 1869, and from that 
date until the present he has been one of the factors of Scranton's greatness. 
His first employment in his adopted city was with his cousin, Daniel Wil- 
liams, a contractor and builder, who appointed him foreman over his men, 
then engaged in the construction of the Belleville Church. He continued as 
journeyman until about 1878, when he began business for himself as a con- 
tractor and builder. He had a very successful career as a builder, eighteen 
churches and innumerable residences having been erected under his super- 
vision, in Scranton and the Lackawanna Valley. He continued in business as 
a contractor until 1898, when in association with Frank Washburn and Evan 
S. Jones he organized the Washburn, Williams Company, founded on the re- 
mains of the Washburn, Zearfoss Company. Mr. Williams was chosen 
treasurer of the new company, a position he yet holds. The business of Wash- 
burn, Williams Company is that of lumber dealers and contractors, at Nos. 
119-131 Meridian avenue, with the branch yards at other points. (A full ac- 
count of the company is found in the sketch of Evan S. Jones, president of 
the company (1913).) A practical builder and an experienced contractor, the 
services of Mr. Williams have been invaluable to the company, while his wise 
and careful management of its finances has safely brought them through the 
difficulties that ever beset an industrial corporation depending, as it does 
on so many outside conditions over which it has no control. That the com- 
pany has reached its present state of prosperity is a living testimony to th« 
business acumen of its owners, all men of brain, energy and wisdom. But in 
every undertaking the final test of strength is in financial condition and here 
the wisdom of Mr. Williams, as a financier, has been most conspicuous. 

Not only in the management of the finances of the Washburn, Williams 
Company, has his worth been appreciated, but for the past twenty years he 
has been a director and vice-president of the West Side Bank, giving to that 
institution the same careful attention bestowed on his private and corporatf 
affairs. For twenty-seven years he has been treasurer of Hyde Park Lodge 
Free and Accepted Masons, a term of service unequalled in the history of tha\ 
lodge. He is also a member of Lackawanna Chapter, Royal x^rch Masons. 
and of Coeur de Lion Commandery, Knights Templar. In religious faith h(. 
is a Presbyterian, a member, and for the past twenty years a deacon of the 
Welsh Presbyterian Church. For many years he was a teacher in the Sunday 
school, which he also served as superintendent. His wife is also a communi- 
cant of the church, a member of the Ladies' Aid Society and active in genera' 
church and benevolent work. 

Mr. \A'illiams married, in 1869, in his native land, Gwenllian, daughter oi 
Richard Rosser, of Hirrwain, South Wales ; children : Gwilyni, died age 
thirty-one years ; Edna : Tudor R., of further mention. 

Tudor R. Williams, only son of William R. and Gwenllian (Rosser) Wil- 
liams, was born in Scranton, September 4, 1 88 1. He attended the public 
schools of Scranton and graduated in 1899 frof.i the School of the Lacka- 
wanna. He then entered Cornell University, from which he was graduated as 
a civil engineer in the class of 1903. Returning to Scranton he was appointed 
resident engineer for the American Railways Company, which position he 
held for three and one-half years. To broaden and make more practical his 
engineering training he then entered the employ of the Washburn, Williams 
Company, in charge of the contracting department and continuing so for 


three and one-half years. When the company was organized he was chosen 
vice-president. In 1910 Mr. WilHams, deciding to adhere more closely to the 
engineering profession, forrriied the partnership of Williams & Richardson, 
engineers and contractors, for the purpose of entering the field of reinforced 
concrete design and construction. Until the formation of this partnership, 
reinforced concrete in this vicinity was very rarely used. Since that time, 
however, many buildings have been ntade fireproof when originally designed 
in wood, only by the alertness and training of Williams & Richardson in 
economically bringing about such a change at no greater cost. Mr. Williams 
owes the foundation for his success to the honor and experience of his father 
before him. Mr. Williams is a member of the Engineers' Society of North- 
eastern Pennsylvania, Scranton Board of Trade, and the First Presbyterian 
Church. At Cornell L^niversity he was elected to class societies and the Kappa 
Sigma fraternity. 

In 1906 he married Anna, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Spencer, 
formerly of Oil City, Pennsylvania. Children : Gwen and Janet. Family 
residence at No. 1322 Gibson street. 


Although a young man Mr. Cawley's banking experience covers a period 
of eighteen years, in fact his entire business life, he having begun as book- 
keeper with the Dime Deposit and Discount Bank when a young man of seven- 
teen, fresh from school life. He has held every position in banking life from 
clerk to cashier and in all has earned the right to further promotion. He is 
diplomatic and friendly and has that needed quality in the banking business, 
the ability of winning friends and holding them. Add to a pleasing person- 
ality and a friendly spirit a thorough knowledge of his business, and you have 
William Cawley whom it would be libel to call anything but a successful and 
rising young man. 

Mr. Cawley is a grandson of Thomas F. Cawley, a native of Ireland and 
an early settler in Carbondale, Pennsylvania. When the Pennsylvania Coal 
Company opened their mines at Dunmore he moved to that town where as a 
contract miner he ever afterward remained. 

His son. Thomas F. (2) Cawley, was born near the present town of Jes,sup, 
Pennsylvania : his parents later moved to Dimmore where he attended the 
public schools. He began business life as a merchantile clerk, later he became 
a hardware merchant and so continues, his son, Edward F., being his present 
partner. He married Annie E. Lynett. born in Dunmore, daughter of Wil- 
liam and a sister of E. J. Lynett ; children : Margaret, William, Edward F., 
Catherine, Mary, Ella. 

William Cawley, eldest son of Thomas F. and Annie E. (Lynett) Cawley, 
was born in Dunmore, Pennsylvania, May 27, 1878. He was educated in the 
public schools, continuing until January 10, 1895, when he entered the employ 
of the Dime Deposit and Discount Bank of Scranton as assistant bookkeeper, 
continuing ten years, becoming paying teller. In 1905 he resigned to accept 
the position of cashier of the North Scranton Bank, holding that responsible 
position four and a half years. He then returned to the Dime Bank as cashier, 
holding that position until its consolidation with the Scranton Savings Bank. 
Under the act of consolidation the new institution became the Scranton Sav- 
ings and Dime Bank, Mr. Cawley being appointed the first cashier, a posi- 
tion he now holds and ably fills. He is a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and of the Scranton Club. 


He married, June 6, 1906, Agnes Morgan, daughter of B. H. Morgan, 
an old and present resident of Dunmore ; children: Agnes, Futh, Louise, 


As president of Matthews Brothers, Scranton's oldest drug house, Mr. 
Matthews is at the head of a business with which his father and uncles were 
connected for half a century, but whose affairs are now wholly conducted by 
the second generation. Originally founded in 1837, the firm continued as 
Matthews Brothers under several changes until February 13, 191 3, when 
Richard J. Matthews, the last one of the three brothers, William, Charles P. 
and Richard J., to enter the early firm and the last to withdraw, sold his in- 
terest to Walter L. Matthews and the firm of Matthews Brothers was in- 
corporated under the laws of Pennsylvania. The president of the company, 
Charles W. Matthews had been a member of the firm many years, succeeding 
his father, William Matthews, one of the original members. Walter L., the 
treasurer is a son of Charles P. Matthews, also an original member. Originally 
a retail business dealing in drugs, paints and oils, a wholesale department was 
added, both branches being well established and prosperous. The wholesale 
trade is principally confined to Northeastern Pennsylvania, this being the 
oldest drug house in that entire section. Under the younger men now in 
charge the company's high reputation, built up through half a century of 
upright dealing, is fully maintained and progress is still its motto. 

(H) William Matthews, son of Robert Matthews (whose life is given in 
the sketch of Richard J. Matthews), was born in Cornwall, England, July 
12, 1826. Coming to the United States with his parents in 1841, he was 
educated in the public schools, and grew to manhood in Honesdale, the 
family's American home. He was there engaged in the meat business with 
Mr. Henwood for several years, coming to Scranton later, in 1864, and join- 
ing his brother, Charles P. Matthews, who had there established a drug, paint 
and oil store in 1857. The two brothers continued in business for several 
years, then another brother. Richard J. Matthews, who for nine years had 
conducted a drug store at Providence, was admitted. In 1872 Charles P. re- 
tired from the firm, the two remaining brothers continuing until Charles W., 
son of William, was admitted, he later succeeding to his father's interest. 
William Matthews was for many years superintendent of the People's Rail- 
way Company, later was its efficient president. He gave his chief attention 
to the railway, the store management devolving upon his brother and son. 
He was a man of strong character, broad minded, public spirited and a citizen 
beyond reproach. In political faith a Democrat, he served his city faithfully 
as councilman. He was an attendant of the Episcopal church and a supporter 
of all good causes. He died December 16, 1803, in his sixtieth year. He 
married (first) Lottie Winton, who bore him a son Charles W. He married 
(second) Emma Birdsall, whose only child was a daughter Louise. He mar- 
ried (third) Alice Bailey, who bore him sons: Robert and William. He 
married (fourth) Mary Howell, who yet survives hmi. 

(Ill) Charles W. Matthews, only son of Wilham and Lottie (Winton) 
Matthews, was born in Honesdale, Pennsylvania, January 16, 1861. When 
he was four years of age his parents moved to Scranton v/here he was 
educated in the public school, the School of Lackawanna, and "Daddy Mer- 
rill's" school. At the age of sixteen years he began work in the drug store 
of Matthews Brothers, later being admitted to a partnership, then, succeed- 
ing to his father's interest at the latter's death, he and his uncle, Richard J 


Matthews, became sole owners and proprietors. The firm so continued until 
incorporated February 19, 19 13, Charles W. R'latthews becoming first presi- 
dent of the corporation. He has had thorough traming for the position, his 
life since sixteen years of age having been devoted entirely to the business 
over which he now presides. The store, located at No. 320 Lackawanna 
avenue, has been the location of the business almost from its first establish- 
ment. Mr. Matthews is a member of the Scranton Board of Trade, the 
Scranton Qub and of the Royal Arcanum. He married Emilie, daughter of 
William J. Pascoe, of Philadelphia. His two sons, Arthur P. and Richard 
J. (2), are both associated with him in business. 


There has descended to the American people of to-day from the stern, 
courageous Pilgrims who landed on the New England shore in 1620 a force 
stronger than the example of a perfect Christian life, more enduring than their 
wise, firm governments, and more uplifting than the great moral lessons they 
taught, the very blood of those Christian heroes. Pure and untainted has it 
descended through the intervening generations, and nowhere can there be 
found in this broad land one whose .\merican ancestor came to this country 
in that Heaven-guided band who does not hold his head the higher and feel 
more keenly the nobility of his race because of tliat fact. William Brewster, 
the ruling elder and spiritual leader of the company, he who sheltered the 
small gathering in his England home and at last led them forth to seek freer 
lands, was the founder of a family large in number and in greatness second 
to none. 

(I) It is of this family that Dr. Frederick Douglas Brewster is a member, 
although when Eldad Brewster moved to Long Island from Connecticut the 
family records were lost. 

(II) James Brewster, son of Eldad Brewster, lived on Long Island, and 
served throughout the Revolutionary War in the Second Continental Artillery 
from Suffolk county, first as lieutenant and later with the captain's rank. He 
was the father of two sons and one daughter, Daniel Eldad, Abigail. 

(III) Eldad (2) Brewster, son of James Brewster, in 1800 moved from 
his home at Sag Harbor, Long Island, and settled on a tract of timbered land 
at Montrose, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, which he cleared and later 
cultivated. He spent his entire life in this place in the pursuit of agriculture. 
He married Hannah Tyler, of Vermont, a sister of Moses C. Tyler, of Mont- 
rose. Qiildren of Eldad and Hannah Brewster: Tyler, born 1814, married, 
and had a son Samuel, who served in the LInion army in the Civil War, and 
died in the hospital of wounds received in battle; Lucena, born 1816; Horace, 
of whom further: Daniel, born 1820: Warren, 1822: Andrew Jackson, 1824.; 
Sally, 1826: Ann Maria, 1828; Moses Coleman, 1S30. All of the above chil- 
dren, excepting Moses Coleman, attained an age of four score vears and over, 
a wonderful family record for longevity. 

(IV) Horace Brewster, son of Eldad (2) Brewster, was born at Montrose, 
Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, in 18 18. He learned the carpenter's trade 
and after being employed as a journeyman for a short time began contracting 
and building operations. Prospering in this line of work, in his later years 
he desired respite from the cares of business and he moved to a farm near 
Montrose, this being the one cleared by Eldad Brewster in 1800, where his 
remaining days were spent, his death occurring at that place in 1904, when he 
was eighty-six years of age. He married Augusta MacNeil. Children of 
Horace and Augusta Brewster : Lizzie, married Edward Smith, a resident of 

/ \l/l^t^<Aj'<i-yi(^L^ 


Montrose ; Frederick Douglas, of whom further ; D. Truman, an attorney of 

(V) Dr. Frederick Douglas Brewster, son of Horace Brewster, was born 
at Montrose, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania. October 8, 1850. He ob- 
tained his general education in the public schools of Montrose and the Lands- 
ford State Normal School, from which latter institution he was graduated 
in the class of 187 1. For the five following years he taught school at Nichol- 
son, Halstead and different places in that region, in 1876 realizing one of his 
most earnest ambitions and matriculating at the New York Homeopathic 
Medical College. He received his M. D. from this college in 1879 and im- 
mediately began the practice of medicine at Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, 
where he was situated for ten years, with gratifying results. At the expira- 
tion of that time he came to Scranton, and in that city has met with a large 
share of success, his patronage being wide and among the best of the city's 
residents. Dr. Brewster is a member of the County, State and Interstate 
Medical societies, as well as of the American Institute of Homoeopathy. His 
fraternal order is the Masonic, in which he belongs to Peter Williamson 
Lodge, No. 323, F. and A. M. ; Lackawanna Chapter, No. 185. R. A. M. : 
Coeur de Lion Commandery. Knights Templar. His religious belief is Presby- 
terian and he belongs to the Second church of that denomination in Scranton. 

Highly regarded in professional circles for his strict adherence to the lofti- 
est of principles and respected for the qualities of good citizenship he has 
ever displayed. Dr. Brewster holds a sure and secure place in Scranton so- 
ciety, of which he has been a member for almost a quarter of a century. 


Among the representative men who liave won a place of prominence in the 
commercial circles of Scranton should be mentioned the Clarke Brothers,- 
operating under the name of Clarke Brothers Stores. 

Edward M. and George W. Clarke are sons of Matthew W. Clarke. Mat- 
thew W. Clarke was born in Ireland and came to Carbondale, Pennsylvania, 
when only a boy in the year of 1850. He served his time as an apprentice 
and learned the carpenter's trade, and in 1857 came to Scranton. Pennsylvania, 
where he followed his trade until 1859. He was of a careful and frugal nature 
and saved his money, and with this small capital he opened a general store 
in Hyde Park, being one of the first merchants there. By close attention to 
his business it grew and was successful, and he continued in this line up to the 
time of his death which occurred in 1890. During the rebellion he enlisted 
in the Union army and served during the last year of the war. His political 
affiliations were with the Democratic party in whose principles he firmly be- 
lieved. He took an active and intelligent interest in the afifairs of the ward in 
which he lived and served as one of its school directors, assisting to the fullest 
extent in bringing the public schools to the highest standard. 

He married Mary Clarke, who was born in Ireland. Her parents settled 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where she spent her childhood. They moved 
from Philadelphia to Scranton in 1855. She survived her husband and resides 
in Scranton, Pennsylvania, now aged seventy years. Mr. and Mrs. Matthew 
W. Clarke were the parents of the following children: i. and 2. Edward M. 
and George W., whose history is given more fully further on in this article. 
3. Jennie W., who married B. W. Jenkins, of IBaltimore, Maryland, a de- 
scendant of one of the oldest and most prominent families of that city, the 
ancestors of whom came to America with Lord Baltimore in 1632 and from 
that time to the present they have always been represented there. 4. 


Isabella, who married Captain Louis Mason Guilick, of the United States navy, 
now attached to the battleship, Arkansas ; Mr. and Mrs. Guilick make their 
home in Washington, D. C. 5. Elizabeth, who married Ashton Deveraux, a 
nephew of the late Archbishop Ryan, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, where 
Mr. Deveraux is a prominent lawyer. 

Edward M. and George W. Clarke were both born upon the present site 
of their large store at Nos. 310 to 322 North Main avenue, Scranton, Penn- 
sylvania, which was the home of their father for some years. The date of the 
birth of Edward M. was September 30, 1868, and it was in the public and 
high schools of his native city that he obtained the rudiments of his education. 
He began his business life as a boy in his father's store and continued in this 
until the death of the latter. He then became associated with his brother, 
George W. Clarke, forming the firm of Clarke Brothers and opening a de- 
partment store at No. 322 North Main avenue, having at that time a force 
of about twelve employees. They gave their entire attention to the business 
and have built up a large and flourishing business. To meet its demands, the 
Homestead was removed and upon its site was built the present large 
store, one hundred and fifty feet front by two hundred feet deep and four 
stories high, having a floor space of one hundred thousand square feet. This 
building is not only the largest in Scranton, Pennsylvania, but probably the 
largest in any city in the country the size of Scranton, which is given up to 
all the departments known to the modern store. 

But this is only one of their chain of stores ; they have another at Nos. 
901 and 903 Pittston avenue, one at Nos. loi and 103 Drinker street, one at 
Nos. 102 and 106 West Market street, all in Scranton, Pennsylvania, and in 
addition to these have stores at Carbondale, Olyphant, Dunmore. Providence, 
Wilkes-Barre, Nanticoke, Pittston, Plymouth, Shenandoah and Mahoney City. 
The stores in Plymouth, Shenandoah and Mahoney City were opened in 1914. 
'Not only do they operate retail, but also wholesale departments in these stores, 
and the territory from Forest City to Shenandoah is covered by their rep- 
resentatives and wagons. In November, 1913, the firm of Clarke Brothers 
was terminated and its place was taken by the corporation known as the 
Qarke Brothers Stores of which Edward M. Clarke is the president and 
George W. Clarke the treasurer. Edward M. Clarke is also a director in the 
Liberty Bank of Carbondale, and on the board of directors of the Scranton 
Board of Trade. He is a member of the Scranton and Country clubs. 

George Walter Clarke, the youngest son of Matthew W. and Mary Clarke, 
was born January 5. 1870, in Scranton, Pennsylvania, as noted above. He 
was educated in the public schools, and like his brother obtained his early com- 
mercial training in his father's store, continuing there until the death of the 
latter, when, in association with his brother, Edward M.. he formed the part- 
nership of Clarke Brothers and has been associated with him to the present 
time. When the firm was dissolved and the corporation of Clarke Brothers 
Stores was formed, George W. Clarke was made treasurer, which position 
he still holds. He is a member of the Scranton Board of Trade, the Mer- 
chants' Association of New York City, and the Scranton and Country clubs. 

He married, February 10, 1904, !\Iercedes L., daughter of Richard Rod- 
riguez, of New York City. Mr. and Mrs. George W. Clarke are the parents 
of two children: George Walter 1 2), born January i, 1905; Richard R., 
born November 22, 1906. 



There is an inspiration to future generations in the recital of the hfe oi 
anyone who has attained a position of prominence in his chosen field of 
endeavor. But for the biographer, who necessarily becomes acquainted with 
all the facts and influences surrounding or affecting the success of an in- 
dividual, there is no more genuine pleasure than to write the story of one 
upon whom fortune has disdained to smile, to whom all the short cuts to 
prosperity were blocked, who has been compelled to contend with all unfavor- 
able circumstance, and has, with dauntless determination, stormed the ram- 
parts of fortune and gained entrance to the land of prosperity and reputa- 
tion reached by the road of accepted opportunity. Such a tale is that of John 
R. Williams, such the chronicle herein unfolded. 

John R. Williams is the son of John F. Williams, a native of Bryn Mawr, 
Bredsenshire, Wales, a miner, who married in his native country and came 
to the LTnited States with his wife and two sons. John F. Williams first 
located at Weathersfield, Ohio, in 1869, and after a short time came to Provi- 
dence, where he remained for about a year, then moved to Peckville, where 
he engaged in mining. He now lives retired, aged seventy-five years with his 
family, at the old home. He married Ann, daughter of John Roberts, a native 
of Wales and a refiner in iron manufacture. Children: John R., of further 
mention ; Edmund F. ; Jennie ; Margaret, married William J. Lewis ; Kath- 
erine, married F. W. Covert: Frank. Both he and his wife are communi- 
cants of the Episcopal church. 

John R. Williants, eldest child of John F. and Ann (Roberts) Williams, 
was born in Bryn Mawr, Bredsenshire, Wales, December ig, 1861. His edu- 
cational opportunities were decidedly limited and at the age of nine years it 
was necessary that he find employment. This he did in the neighboring mines 
where he remained until he was seventeen years of age. He then was engaged 
on the old gravity road between Peckville and Carbondale, and after two years 
of this service became a teamster in Peckville. This he continued for one 
year, his next occupation being as motorman on the Scranton suburban rail- 
way, a primitive affair, boasting but two cars of the earliest type, with the 
motors on the front platforms, chain driven, the chains running back to the 
rear axle. After four years of this employment he accepted a position with 
the Scranton Drop Forging Company, and in five years gained a responsible 
place in the drop forge shop. He resigned this position and became foreman 
in the plant of the Suburban Electric Light Company. Here his ability and 
ambition speedily won him definite recognition and he was elevated to the 
office of superintendent. During the last few years he had been busily en- 
gaged in the perfection of a horse shoe calk, there being nothing on the market 
at that time to insure safe footing for horses. In December, 1902, he severed 
his connection with the Suburban Electric Light Company and began, with 
but little assistance, the manufacture of his invention. .-Mthough his output 
was small, he had at first great difficulty in getting his product on the market, 
being greatly handicapped by lack of sufficient capital. After the first appear- 
ance of the article it met with such popular approval and the demand for it 
was so great that he was compelled to seek more spacious quarters, and after 
successive additions had been made to his plant, the present factory of two 
stories, 190 by 100 feet, was erected. Herein are employed over fifty-five 
hands, and the manufactures are shipped to all parts of the country, seventy- 
five per cent, of it to points west of Buffalo, New York, through the agency 
of jobbers, at the present time, besides four different styles of adjustable calks, 
the most important product of the factory is horseshoes, the firm priding it- 


self upon the excellence of their make, an opinion held by many satisfied users. 
Besides being the first company to make left and right shoes for horses, the 
Williams Drop Forging Company was the leader in the manufacture of drop 
forged shoes to compete in the open market with those made by rolling pro- 
cess. How successful that competition has been is best shown by figures, one 
million shoes being the annual product of the Williams Company, whose prod- 
uct has the reputation of being the finest in the world. In addition to the 
above, forty thousand shoe calks are manufactured per day; mine bits are 
made, the factory supplying nearly all used in the valley ; and a line of 
wrenches is included in the company's manufacturers. On December 3, 1903, 
the incorporation papers of the company were granted by the State of Penn- 
sylvania under the name of the Williams Drop Forging Company with Alfred 
Harvey, president; John R. Williams, vice-president and general manager; 
and W. J. Lewis, secretary and treasurer. The present officers are Alfred 
Harvey, president and treasurer ; John R. Williams, vice-president and general 
manager; F. R. Williams, secretary and assistant treasurer; Edward F. Wil- 
liams, superintendent. 

Mr. Williams is a member of the Iron, Steel, and Heavy Hardware Manu- 
facturers Association, and also belongs to Scranton's Board of Trade. He is 
a thirty-second degree Mason, belonging to Green Ridge Lodge, No. 597, 
F. and A. M. ; Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Keystone Con- 
sistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret; and to Irem Temple, Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine. He also holds membership in the Temple Club. While 
interested in politics to the extent demanded of a good citizen, he has never 
sought office nor done more than cast his vote with the Republican party, in 
whose principles he is a firm believer. Both he and his wife are communicants 
of the Baptist faith. 

He married Rose, daughter of W. A. Beeman, of Scranton. They are the 
parents of one daughter. Norma. As the inventor of an article that has 
opened a new industry, Mr. Williams has left a permanent record in the his- 
tory of manufacturing, while he at the same time plays the role of benefactor 
in rendering the lot of horses much more safe and comfortable, particularly 
in wintry, stormy weather. In the development of his business he has of 
course been rewarded with a plentiful share of this world's goods, which none 
begrudge him as his just portion for his persistent, zealous endeavors. 


Nathaniel H. Cowdrey is the Pennsylvania representative of a family that 
has been seated in Connecticut since the early Colonial days of that state. 
His father, Nathaniel A., was born in East Haddam, Connecticut, and there 
grew to manhood. After preliminary education he entered the Yale Law 
School and after graduation and admission to the bar, spent his entire life 
in practice in New York, where he died, aged s'xty-five years. He married 
Jane Hartley. 

Nathaniel H. Cowdrey, son of Nathaniel A. and Jane (Hartley) Cowdrey, 
was born in Hohokus, New Jersey, September i. 1876 His early life was 
spent in New York, where he attended the public and private schools, com- 
pleting his studies at Yale University, whence he graduated A. B., class of 
1898. The Spanish War was the topic of paramount interest at the time and 
he enlisted in Battery A, First Regiment Connecticut Artillery, an organiza- 
tion that neither saw active service, nor was ordered from the state, but was 
mustered out in October. His first business connection was with the Western 
National Bank, of New York City, where he was employed for two years. 


resigning to accept a position with the Morton Trust Company. He re- 
mained with this corporation until February ig, 1910, when he became treas- 
urer of the Title Guaranty and Surety Company, an office he still holds. With 
the exception of his volunteer enlistment at the time of the Spanish War, his 
only other military service has been in the National Guard. In 1906 he be- 
came second lieutenant of Company I, Twelfth Regiment New York National 
Guard, and the following year attained the rani< of captain. For five years 
that was his title, until he was made inspector general of the First Brigade 
with the rank of major, continuing as such until his resignation from the 
organization in 1912. His fraternity is the Psi Upsilon, with which he became 
affiliated in his college days. He married Dorothy, daughter of Major Ever- 
ett Warren, and has two children : Dorothy and Jane. A capable financier, 
Mr. Cowdrey is a worthy addition to Scranton's business men, among whom 
he is well liked and popular. 


James F. Wardle, broker and promoter, is a descendant of an old English 
family, of which but two generations have been American born, four having 
lived on this continent. 

(I) Joseph (i) Wardle, father of Rev. Joseph (2) Wardle. and grand- 
father of James F. Wardle of this narrative, was brought to the United 
States by his parents when he was four years of age, his father making New 
York his home for a short time, later moving to Philadelphia, and finally to 
Lockport, Illinois, where the family resided for many years. Joseph ( i ) 
Wardle was born January 2"], 1792, and was one of the victims of a destruc- 
tive cholera epidemic, his death occurring August 10, 1854. He married 
Sarah Hartless, born February 26, 1797, died July 30, 1890, surviving her 
husband many years. 

(II) Rev. Joseph (2) Wardle, son of Joseph (i) and Sarah (Hartless) 
Wardle, was bom in Leicestershire, England. Besides his public school train- 
ing he was educated for the Methodist ministry at the C^arrett Biblical In- 
situte, of Evanston, Illinois, whence he was graduated B. D. He held charges 
in the different circuits of the Rock River conference, including different 
pulpits in the Van Brocklin circuit and at Freeport and Chicago. In 1891 
he retired, after an active and useful life, spent profitably and blessedly in 
the service of his Master. For the past fifteen years he has made his home 
with his son, James F. Wardle. He is a member of the Masonic Carder, hold- 
ing the Knights Templar degree. He married Mary, daughter of Hiram and 
Nancy (Haggard) Morris. The Haggard family is one of the oldest in 
America, dating from the landing of the Pilgrims, and also extends far back 
into the history of England. Among the more famous of its members is H. 
Rider Haggard, the celebrated author. 

(III) James F. Wardle, son of Rev. Joseph (2) and Mary (Haggard) 
Wardle, was born in Bloomington, Illinois, August 17, 1867. He received his 
academic education at Illinois Wesleyan University, whence he was graduated 
A. B. in 1890, thre€ years later receiving his IVlaster's degree. In the fall 
of 1893 he came to Philadelphia and accepted a position as road engineer for 
a firm manufacturing and mstalling heating and ventilating systems, continu- 
ing in their employ for eight years, and in igoi began a connection with the 
International Correspondence Schools, that continued for three years. He 
then became interested in Scranton's new telepiione company and was em- 
ployed in its interests for a time, in 1904 entering the investment and broker- 
age business independently. One of the many companies which he has pro- 


.noted, wholly or in part, is the Mississippi Pecan and Farm Lands Company, 
with main offices in Scranton, and of which he is secretary and treasurer. He 
is also vice-president and treasurer of the Southern Lands Sales Company, 
and vice-president of the Mountain Land Company. Mr. Wardle is a mem- 
ber of the Greek Letter Secret Society, Phi Kappa Psi, Indiana Beta Chapter. 
He is also prominently connected with the Masonic Order, being past master 
of Union Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons : past high priest, Lackawanna 
Chapter, No. 185, Royal Arch Masons : past thrice illustrious master of Scran- 
ton Council, No. 44, R. and S. M.; district deputy grand master of the Grand 
Council of Pennsylvania District, No. 6; past eminent commander of Coeur 
de Lion Commandery, No. 17, K. T. ; Keystone Consistory, Sovereign Princes 
of the Royal Secret ; Irera Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He also 
belongs to the United States Navy League, and is past patron of the Martha 
Washington Chapter. Order of the Eastern Star. Both he and his wife are 
members of the Elm Park Methodist Church. Progressive and modern in 
ideas, Mr. Wardle is a dutiful citizen of Scranton. None of her best in- 
terests are disregarded by him and in each forward movement he is an im- 
portant factor. 

Mr. Wardle married Imogene, daughter of the Rev. Jonas L^nderwood, 
of Scranton, a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Giurch, who occupies a 
Scranton pulpit and fulfills regular ministerial duties, although seventy-eight 
years of age. Children : Miriam and Evelyn. Mrs. Wardle is a member of 
the Daughters of the American Revolution ; she had four ancestors in the 
Revolutionary War. 


In a business career, covering activities in many states and responsibilities 
of great weight, Mr. Henwood has demonstrated his value as a constructive 
force and proven his ability as a wise capable man of business. While he is 
a native born son of Pennsylvania, his inheritance of English blood is direct 
on the paternal side, but through his mothei, his ancestors, though English, 
have long been settled in the New England States, coming to Pennsylvania 
from Connecticut. 

Richard Henwood, father of Walter L. Henwood, was born in Cornwall, 
England, August 6, 1815. He remained in his native land until eighteen years 
of age, then came to the United States, accomplishing the voyage to New 
York in the then quick time of five weeks, it usually requiring a much longer 
time for the sailing vessels of that period to cross the Atlantic. He had not , 
a relative anywhere in the country, but was the first of his family to break 
down tradition and come to the United States. He obtained work in Ron- 
dout, but for a short time only, then in company with H. S. Pi*rce started west- 
ward on a Delaware and Hudson canal boat. At Cuddebackville, just below 
Port Jervis, New York, obstacles in the canal, prevented further passage of 
the boat and the two men, followed the tow path on foot until they reached 
Honesdale, June 13, 1833. The young man, Richard Henwood, at once se- 
cured work at fifty cents per day with Daniel Blandin, his first day's work 
being planting corn in a field now the site of Clark & Company's glass cutting 
works. The land was then very new, it often being necessary to use an axe to 
cut up the fallen logs, in order to make room for the corn hills. He con- 
tinued with Mr. Blandin until 1837, having been engaged a good part of that 
time in butchering. In 1837 he bought Mr. Blandin's meat business and 
therein continued for many years becoming prosperous and prominent. In 
1861 he was elected a commissioner of Wayne county and on the organiza- 



tion of the Wayne County Savings Bank, November i, 1871, he was elected a 
director, continuing as such until January, 1880. He took a deep interest in 
the development of Honesdale and to him is largely due its smoothly ma- 
cadeniized streets and abundance of beautiful shade trees bordering them. 
In November. 1874, he bade adieu to the scenes of his forty years of pros- 
perity and came to Scranton, here attaining the same high position among men 
of affairs as he had held in Honesdale, although he lived a semi-retired life, 
not, however, withdrawing to an idle life, but keeping in close touch with the 
world's progress. He was an ardent Republican, a devoted member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, a man thoroughly respected for his upright life 
and Christian character. He was sympathetic, kind and generous, many a 
kindly act done for friend or neighbor was quietly, unostentatiously performed, 
his final account with the Great Bookkeeper containing numberless credits 
of this nature. He was far sighted in his investments, enterprising, with a 
rare judgment and great business ability. His public spirit was manifested in 
the generous support he gave to all public improvements in both Honesdale 
and Scranton, the Henwood Block on Lackawanna avenue, Scranton, stand- 
ing as one of the monuments to his enterprise, erected to improve that sec- 
tion. He delighted in the society of young people, and in his family life he was 
most affectionate, kind and just. He lived a life untarnished by evil report 
and left to posterity the rich legacy of an honored name. An incident that 
illustrates his reputation for strict probity is well worthy of preservation. 
He was obliged on one occasion to bring suit against a fellow townsman. The 
defendant thus instructed his lawyer: "Do not cross examine Mr. Henwood, 
for whatever he testifies will be true and I will swear to it myself." 

He was the husband of four wives, marrying (first) Mary Webb, (second) 
Emma Pascoe, (third) Catherine Bushnell, (fourth) Elizabeth Pierce. He 
left three sons, all residents of Scranton : William B., a dentist ; Sidney R., 
of the drug firm of Henwood & Company, and Walter L., of whom further. 

Catherine (Bushnell) Henwood, mother of Walter L. Henwood, was born 
in Honesdale, and there died in 1868. Her father. Pope Bushnell, was born 
in Salisbury, Connecticut, February 11, 1783, died aged ninety-thiee years; 
coming to Pennsylvania in 1817. He was a major of the First Battalion, 
Seventieth Regiment Pennsylvania Militia, and served two terms in the Penn- 
sylvania Legislature as representative from Wayne and Pike counties. He 
worked for two years aiding Maurice Wurts in securing right-of-way for 
the Delaware and Hudson canal and won the open hostility of his neighbors 
when later he advocated the right of the Erie Railroad Company to construct 
its line through Wayne county. He married Sally Hulbert, born in Goshen, 
Connecticut, March 26, 1788, died January 11, 1882, at the great age of 
ninety-four years. She was one of the celebrated family of triplets born to 
her parents, Sibyl, who died June 2-j, 1875, aged eighty-seven years; Susan, 
died October 6, 1876, aged eighty-eight years, and Sally, died January 11, 
1882, aged ninety-four years. These instances of longevity have probably 
never been equalled in one family, the record of the triplets being especially 

The Bushnell family traces its ancestry from early Colonial days, the first 
member settling in Connecticut in 1637. A direct ancestor of Walter L. 
Henwood, one Gideon Bushnell served in the Revolution. The old Bushnell 
homestead in Connecticut, containing 300 acres on which stands a brick house 
erected in 1773, is yet owned in the Bushnell name. 

Walter Lincoln Henwood, youngest son of Richard Henwood and his third 
wife Catherine Bushnell, was born in Honesdale, Pennsylvania, November 
8, 1864. He attended Honesdale schools until he was ten years of age, his 


parents then moving to Scranton, where he attended high school and Merrills 
Academy, finishing with a course at the business college. He began business 
life in 1882 as clerk in the store department of the Lackawanna Iron and 
Coal Company, remaining two years. In 1884 he went to Crown Point, New 
York, where he took a special course in chemistry under A. S. Bertholet, a 
noted authority in that field of learning. Mr. Henwood then formed a con- 
nection with the Hudson River Ore and Iron Company at their works in Bur- 
den, Columbia county, New York, remaining as chemist until June, 1886. He 
then went to the Black Hills of Dakota, there entering the employ of the 
Stevens Tin Mining Company, continuing as superintendent until the com- 
pany closed their mines in that region. At that time one of the greatest rail- 
road contracting firms in the west was Kilpatrick Brothers & Collins, their 
headquarters and offices located at Beatrice, Gage county, Nebraska. They 
were, at the time Mr. Henwood left the Stevens Company, engaged in rail- 
road construction very extensively, the Burlington and Missouri and the 
Union Pacific Railroad, having entered upon their period of greatest expan- 
sion. Mr. Henwood entered the employ of this active concern, being first sent 
to Fort Fred Steele, Wyoming, where he soon afterward was made super- 
intendent over the construction of thirty miles of railroad in the North Platte 
country. His next assignment was supervising the laying of track on the 
Burlington and Missouri extension from Curtis, Nebraska, to Cheyenne, 
Wyoming, the line crossing what was formerly known as "The Great American 
Desert." On the completion of this line, Mr. Henwood severed his connec- 
tion with Kilpatrick Brothers and Collins and returned to the Black Hills, 
again entering the employ of the Stevens Tin Mining Company, as superin- 
tendent, continuing until June, 1899, when he left the west and journeyed 
south. Locating in Virginia, he formed a partnership with a brother Penn- 
sylvanian, A. S. Smith and began contracting railroad construction at Boyd- 
town. They built thirteen miles of the Atlantic and Danville Railroad, obtain- 
ing a substantial profit. He next contracted, in 1890, seven miles of the 
Lackawanna and Montrose branch of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western, 
following this by six months spent on a large contract in Maine. On January 
I, 1892, he returned to Scranton, and formed an association with Clark iS: 
Snover, one of the largest of Pennsylvania tobacco manufacturers, and of 
this he became secretary and treasurer. 

In 1899, Mr. Henwood formed the firm of Sprague & Henwood, diamond 
drill contractors, and they have accomplished some of the most notable engi- 
neering feats in this line, principal among them being core borings for the 
great Catskill aqueduct for the city of New York, also the successful boring 
and completing of four angle holes approximately 2000 feet each in length under 
the Hudson river at Storm King, a feat never before attempted by any engi- 
neering concern in this country. 

In 1890, Mr. Henwood retired from the Clark & Snover Comipany and 
with Edward F. Lathrop and John J. Shea of New York, organized the 
Lathrop, Shea and Henwood Company of which Mr. Henwood is vice-presi- 
dent. This corporation was formed for the purpose of doing a general con- 
tracting business and has been eminently successful. Among their many con- 
tracts may be mentioned the building of the South Buffalo Railway: the mam- 
moth ore dock for the Lackawanna Company of Bufifalo, the largest dock in 
the world ; also the ore dock and canal for the Buffalo and Susquehanna Iron 
Company, thirty miles of railroad for the Pittsburgh, Shawmut & Northern 
Railroad Company, ten miles for the Buffalo & .Susquehanna Railrciad Com- 
pany, twelve miles for the Erie Railroad Company ; also the foundation for 
the beautiful new Lackawanna station in Scranton, Pennsylvania: the power 


house and reservoir for the State Hospital for the Insane at Fairview and a 
vast amount of other work of a hke character. In January, 1914, they 
received two very large contracts now being carried out, for building parts 
of the great barge canal in the State of New York. 

In the various Masonic bodies Mr. Henwood has passed through the 
different orders including, Peter Williamson Blue Lodge of which he is past 
master; Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, and Coeur de Lion Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, of which he is past commander. He has also 
taken thirty-two degrees of the Scottish Rite Masonry, and is a member of 
Keystone Consistory ; also Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. In 
addition to these he is a member of the Engineers Club of Northeastern Penn- 
sylvania, and the New England Society of Northeastern Pennsylvania, and 
Pennsylvania Society Sons of the Revolution. He has developed executive 
and financiering ability of a high order, while in his special fieki of construc- 
tive activity he is one of the most successful in his operations. In his rela- 
tions with his fellow men he is a courteous, forceful man of affairs, just, and 
keenly alive to the importance of straightforward dealing with all. In local 
affairs he is public spirited and generous, aiding in all movements that make 
for progress and the public good. He is a Republican in politics. 

Walter L. Henwood married (first) at St. Paul, Minnesota, December 22, 
1889, Lena L. Pittee, born in California ; her parents were natives of Maine. 
She died November 22, 1901, and Mr. Henwood married for his second 
wife, January 18, 1905, Esther Pray, of Albany, Georgia. 


In many of Scranton's industrial establishments may be found men in 
positions of trust, honor, and responsibility, who owe their exalted station to 
the work of their own brains and hands, but among them all there is no story 
more interesting or more full of teaching and inspiration than that of Samuel 
Samter, founder of the firm of Samter Brothers, owners of the largest store 
devoted exclusively to the outfitting of men and boys in Pennsylvania, Phila- 
delphia and Pittsburgh not excepted. We are prone to believe that the 
greatest successes in mercantile, industrial or financial life are those made by 
youths who, through some peculiar quirk of fortune, are brought into recogni- 
tion and favor with their employers ; when in reality as proven by the follow- 
ing narrative, it is the young man who is ever prompt at his task, ever work- 
ing his hardest at that duty, and performing it better than anyone else, 
who receives the greatest reward. To anyone who is constantly looking for 
something better to the neglect of his present obligation, fortune never comes, 
but the first upward glance of the faithful, conscientious employee lights upon 
a vision of opportunity beckoning him to come to a field of fairer endeavor 
and greater effort. So it has been with Samuel Samter, his assiduous at- 
tention to study, his quick, clear intelligence, and prompt seizure of every 
chance for advancement having placed him in a commanding position at the 
head of one of Scranton's most distinguished business houses. 

Prussia is the land from which the father of Samuel Samter, Jacob Samter, 
came to this country, and there for generations the family had been known 
as expert tailors. It is usual in that country for a trade or profession to be 
handed down from one generation to another, the father teachmg his son all 
of the secrets of the occupation. So it was that for many years the Samters 
had been tailors and, in the usual line of descent, that was the trade learned 
by Jacob Samter. He, however, appreciating that fact that through all the 
preceding years there had been no advance in the family's station in life, 


determined to break the bonds of tradition and to come to America, where 
life might be begim anew and fresh vigor infused into the blood of future 
generations. He established in business in Brooklyn and from the start did a 
flourishing business, prospering in a degree unheard of in his native land. 
He married Bertha Lesser and became the father of five children : Samuel, 
of whom further ; Jennie, married Maurice Levy, of New York City ; Theresa, 
married Dr. J. B. Potsdamer, of Philadelphia; Isaac, of Philadelphia; Ben- 
jamin, of Scranton. 

Samuel Samter, son of Jacob and Bertha (Lesser) Samter, was born in New 
York, New York, October 24, 185 1. He was given the opportunity for an excel- 
lent education, which he eagerly improved, and after completing a course at the 
public schools, entered Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute, whence he was grad- 
uated. Not caring to learn the trade of his father, he left home to lay the 
foundation of his future career and directed his steps toward Scranton, then 
in the full vigor of its strong and rapid growth. He answered a newspaper 
advertisement for a boy to make himself generally useful for three dollars 
a week and found it necessary to urge the advertiser to accept his services. 
Before his engagement he was able to assist his later employer in closing a sale 
involving a large amount and was placed upon the pay-roll. Upon his de- 
parture, three weeks later, he was offered a salary of $100 a month to re- 
main, but refused. He next entered the employ of Moore & Finley. When 
he began work, Mr. Moore asked him what salary he wanted, Mr. Samter 
named no figure, simply saying, "It is up to you now, but it will be up to me 
bye and bye." Here he remained for three months, leaving to enter business 
independently. When he announced his intention to Mr. Moore, the latter, in 
expressing his regret at the loss of his services to the firm and in wishing 
him good fortune, concluded with "I thought as much." In the spring of 
1872, he opened his store in the Valley House block, employing only one 
person, working in the store himself. In 1883 he moved to the Old Wash- 
ington Hall, a building up to that time more accustomed to the applause greet- 
ing the efforts of the best actors and actresses of the day than to the mingled 
noises of a mercantile establishment. This edifice was razed in 1888 and in 
its place a four story brick building erected, which has been added to at 
various times until the floor space of the store is now 27,000 square feet. 
A few years after the establishment of the business his brother, Benjamin, 
became partner, the business being conducted at the present time, as Samter 
Brothers. In 191 1 incorporation was made and the company organized with 
Samuel Samter, president ; Benjamin Samter, vice-president, and A. J. Levy, 
secretary and treasurer. 

The store of Samter Brothers has an ideal location on the ci^rner of Penn 
and Lackawanna avenues, at the central city terminal of the Scranton Rail- 
way Company. The number of employees is 1 10 and men's and boys' clothing 
is the only line of goods carried. The patronage of the firm has steadily in- 
creased and caters to the best of Scranton trade. It is to the credit of the 
city that it is the home of its largest men's and boys' outfitting store, and 
a monument to the organizing power and constructive ability of Mr. Samter. 

Mr. Samter married Julia, daughter of Emanuel Klauber, of Munich, 
Bavaria, and has three children: Minnie, married A. J. Levy, of Scranton; 
Jeanne, married B. Heinz, of Scranton; Evelyn. 


Born in England, and transplanted to a foreign land at the age of six- 
teen years, Mr. Jeffrey has taken kindly to his American surroundings and has 


here flourished and prospered as "one to the manner born." He has won an 
honored position in the Scranton Gas and Water Company and has ably- 
seconded the effort of the Scrantons, father and son, to extend that company, 
to improve its service and to render it of still greater importance in the 
development of the communities it serves. While the responsible post of 
secretary and treasurer has in a large degree confined Mr. Jeffrey to office 
activity, he has nevertheless borne an active part and is a most important part 
of the machinery that drives the corporation known as the Scranton Gas and 
Water Company. 

Joseph Jeffrey was born in Lancaster, England, May 23, 1867, son of 
William and Hannah (Bees) Jeffrey, the former now a retired miner aged 
seventy-one years. William Jeffrey, born in 1842, spent the first forty-one 
years of his life in his native country, following there the occupation of a 
miner. In 1883 he came to Scranton where he continued at the business he 
knew so thoroughly, mining, continuing for several years before laying aside 
the implements of his trade and calling. 

Joseph Jeffrey attended school in his native shire imtil twelve years of 
age, gaining a foundation for his years of later study and self -improvement. 
From twelve to sixteen years of age he was employed at such work as a 
lad of his years was capable of performing, and in 1883 he came with his 
parents to Scranton, which has since been his home as it has theirs. In Eng- 
land he had been time-keeper for the Wigan Coal and Iron Company and 
in Scranton his first employer was O. S. Johnson in whose mine office he 
started work. Later he clerked in a Dunmore store for a few years, then be- 
came an employee of the Fairlawn Store Company, remaining with them 
until April 19, i88g, when he entered the employ of the Scranton Gas and 
Water Company, as bookkeeper. Here he found his true sphere of activity 
and ten years later he had risen to the position of assistant secretary and 
treasurer of the company, and in 1906 was elected to his present office, secre- 
tary and treasurer, which he most capably fills. The position he holds has 
been fairly won and came to him in the way of promotion for valued service 
to the corporation he served. The men with whom he has been so long 
associated, and who know him best, appreciate him most, and consider no 
honor they can bestow upon him is undeserved. Mr. Jeffrey is a member of 
the Dunmore Presbyterian Church and president of the board of trustees. 
He stands high in the Masonic Order, belonging to King Solomon's Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of which he is an honored past master ; Lack- 
awanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Melita Commandery, Knights Templar ; 
and Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, the latter a Wilkes-Barre 

Mr. Jeffrey married, in 1892, Annie, daughter of George Raught and sister 
of John Raught, the well known artist of Scranton. Children : Albert R., 
Willard, Louis. 


There is no more important duty laid upon political officials of to-day than 
to carry out in all local governments the phrase in the preamble of the 
Constitution of the United States stating that one of its purposes is to "pro- 
mote the general welfare." In our municipal governments the public wel- 
fare is safeguarded and directed by the director of public safety, necessarily 
a man of action, decision and wise, far-seeing judgment. It is, therefore, no 
mean tribute to the estimation in which William G. O'Malley is held that he 


occupied this responsible position as the guardian of the peaceful and law 
abiding citizens of Scranton during the years from 1909 to 1914. 

County Mayo, Ireland, has been the seat of the O'Malley family for many 
generations, where all the earlier generations were tillers of the soil, hard- 
working, good men, but who never acquired more than a modest com- 
petence because of the lack of opportunities in that land. It was not until three 
generations ago that one of the line determined to break the chams of patriot- 
ism and sentiment that bound him to the land of bis fathers, the far famed 
"Emerald Isle," and to seek his fortunes across the sea. Edward O'Malley, 
father of Thomas B. O'Malley, and grandfather of William G. O'Malley, 
came to this country about 1848, settling in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, when 
there were but few settlers in that place. He brought with him his son, 
Thomas B., who lived in Carbondale until his marriage to Miss Bridget 
Cannon, who died December 8, 1912, aged fifty-eight years, daughter of James 
Cannon, when he moved to Scranton. While in his former place of residence 
he had been employed in the coal mines, but upon coming to Scranton se- 
cured a position in the steel works. By his marriage with Bridget Cannon 
he had seven children : Michael F., James, Mary, William G., Eugene, 
Thomas F., Daniel. 

William G. O'Malley, son of Thomas B. and Bridget (Cannon) O'Malley, 
was born in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, July 4, 187S. He was given the op- 
portunity of a public school education, but the ambition to begin work and 
to earn his own way in the world was too strong in him to permit of toil- 
some drudgery at books. Consequently at the age of eleven years he forsook 
the school room and obtained work on a delivery wagon for a local meat 
market. His next employment was in a grocery store, followed by a term of 
service in the Lackawanna mills. He then became a clerk in the ofifice of E. 
J. Walsh & Company, in 1903 entering the office of the city engineer in the 
same capacity. After one year's service his energetic application to duty gained 
recognition in his promotion to the chief clerkship in the department of 
public works. In two years he resigned his ofifice to become treasurer of the 
O'Malley Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of brass goods and plumb- 
ing supplies, usually employing about seventy-five men. and for three years 
was entirely out of public service ; he also served as director of this company. 
On April 4, 1909, he was installed in the office of director of public safety, 
continuing there until January i, 1914. Thoroughly efficient in his position 
and striving constantly to raise his department to the same plane in every re- 
spect, Mr. O'Malley gained the confidence of the city administration to such 
an extent that almost no interference was made in his execution of city laws 
and ordinances. Scranton may pride itself upon having during the period of 
five years which Mr. O'Malley served as director of public safety an official 
whose one obsession was the proper protection of the inhabitants of the city, and 
who was ever on the alert for anything detrimental to the "general welfare." 

Mr. O'Malley is a member of the Knights of Columbus ; the Fraternal 
Order of Eagles ; the Modern Woodmen of America, in which society he is 
treasurer of the local camp ; the Scranton Bicycle Qub ; and the Scranton 
Canoe Club at Lake Winona. He married Anna O'Hara, daughter of Pat- 
rick O'Hara, of Scranton. 


This branch of the Davis family dates in Pennsylvania from the time of 
the arrival of Evan P. Davis, an orphan boy of about seven years, who came 
in company with an uncle from his native land, Wales. With the usual' 
thrift of his race he prospered and left behind him an honored name. 


Evan P. Davis was born near Mertliyr Tydvil, Glenmorganshire, Wales, 
December ig, 185 1, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, June 2, 1902. He w^as 
early orphaned and did not long remain in his native land. When about seven 
years of age he came to the United States, coming with a relative to Provi- 
dence, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania. He obtained an education, began 
working around the coal mines and finally became an efficient mine superin- 
tendent. He was a member of the Welsh Baptist Church, and a good man. 
He married Mary Ann Evans, born in Minersville, Schuylkill county, Penn- 
sylvania, February 29, 1852, died May 11, 1902, leaving two children: Eliza- 
beth, married to Robert H. Carson, of Scranton ; and James E., of whom 

James E. Davis, only son of his parents, was born in Nanticoke, Penn- 
sylvania, May I, 1885. His early and preparatory education was obtained in 
the public schools, he being a graduate of the high school, class of 1902. He 
then entered Princeton University, whence he was graduated A. B., class of 
1906. After leaving the university he began the study of law under the direc- 
tion of Samuel B. Price, of Scranton, and after the required examination was 
admitted to the bar in February, 1908. For two years following his admis- 
sion he was associated in practice with Samuel B. Price, continuing until May, 
191 1, when he established a private practice with offices at Nos. 408-409 Con- 
nell Building. His practice is general in its character, excepting that he does 
not accept criminal cases. He has been solicitor for the Scranton school 
district since July i, 1912. Mr. Davis has obtained a good start in his chosen 
profession and has every prospect of a successful future. He is secretary 
and treasurer of the Lackawanna Law and Library Association, a member 
of the First Welsh Baptist Church, and is a Republican in politics. 


To note exactly how prominent a part heredity has played in the mental 
and moral composition of Madison F. Larkin, a glance at the following will 
suffice. In him are embodied the virtues of a parent of rare steadfastness 
of character, the traits of the father descending to the son, and raising the one 
to the same station of lofty respect held by the other in a preceding day and 

Of English ancestry, the seat of the Larkin family in its native land was 
Lark River, Sufifolk county, England, where available records of those of 
the name trace back to the latter part of the twelfth century. The exact date 
of the American immigration is uncertain, but in the eighteenth century 
Botetourt county, Virginia, was the home of the branch of which Madison F. 
Larkin is a member, later Clermont county, Ohio, claimed its residence and 
finally Pennsylvania. 

Joseph Franklin Larkin. father of Madison F. Larkin, was born at Felicity, 
Clermont county, Ohio, January 12, 1821. LIntil he was fifteen years of age 
he attended the common schools and numbered among his playmates and class- 
mates Ulysses S. Grant, of Civil War and Presidential fame, and, when not 
in school, performed farm labor on his father's land. It was the custom in 
those days to supply the field hands with liquor and it was thus early in life 
that he made a stand for his principles and refused to labor where such a 
practice was carried out. After holding a position as clerk in a store at 
Neville he learned varnishing in the same village. He then apprenticed him- 
self as a clerk to Robertson & Shields, merchants of Batavia, Ohio, for a 
term of three years, in return for "board and washing and fifty dollars a 
year," but, the firm discontinuing before the expiration of his contract, he was 


released therefrom and was employed in various country stores until he 
was eighteen years of age, when he was offered a position in the wholesale 
dry goods house of Wood & Sharp, in Cincinnati, through the good offices 
of a friend of his father. Rev. Maxwell P. Gaddis. After a short time spent 
in the employ of this firm he accepted a position in the bank of B. W. Hew- 
son & Company, in which he became an assistant and afterward teller, making 
his home with Mr. Hewson's family and enjoying his highest confidence and 
trust. The bank closing its doors in 1842, he identified himself with Hopper, 
Wood & Company, proprietors of an auction and commission house. Two 
years later he formed a partnership with John M. Wood, under the firm name 
of Wood & Larkin, wholesale dealers in dry goods, and in 1848 retired from 
the firm, selling his interest to his partner. He then purchased the store of 
Hines, Strobridge & Company, but soon after, finding the burden of mainten- 
ance too heavy for his resources, discontinued the business and settled with 
his creditors for forty per cent, of their claims. It is here that praise must 
be given Mr. Larkin for the manner in which he kept his credit and reputa- 
tion clear of any taint of suspicion, as twenty-three years later he assembled 
his old creditors and made payment of the balance with si.x per cent, interest 
from the date of his assignment, the honorable course of a man of honor, who 
disdained to use the letter of the law as a shield from his just debts. From 
1849 to 1853 he was in the employ of Thomas Sharp & Company, and the 
following year was connected with Morris S. Hoi:)per & Company, as a mem- 
ber of the firm, then acting as collector in the State of Indiana. It was in the 
days of free bank currency and the unstable paper issues were used in that 
state at a discount varying from five to forty per cent, and, aware of the fact 
that the same money passed in Ohio at a much higher rate, Mr. Larkin con- 
ceived the idea of speculation. Opening an office in the banking house of 
James F. Meline & Company, Cincinnati, he began the buying and selling of 
free bank notes in Indiana and Ohio and negotiating loans on securities froin 
contractors on the Ohio and Mississippi Railroad, from which he progressed 
into a general brokerage business, and in 1857 entered upon a regular bank- 
ing business, subsequently forming a partnersh'p with George and Thomas 
Fox under the firm name of Larkin, Fox & Brother, which continued for 
three years. Mr. Larkin's well known reputation for integrity and reliability 
attracted a large clientele, a prosperous business resulting, to which he gave 
his exclusive attention. In 1866 the firm expired by limitation and that of 
Joseph F. Larkin & Company rose from its ashes, capitalized at $150,000, 
financed by some of the leading capitalists of the city. As the head of this 
institution, Mr. Larkin added to his prestige in the financial world, and at the 
dissolution of the firm by limitation in 1 87 1, he formed the firm of Larkin, 
Wright & Company, with a capital of $300,000, which straightway became a 
power in the business world and transacted an immense business from its 
organization. He later purchased the interest of his partner and the business 
was continued until 1881, safely weathering all the storms that wrecked so 
many frailer barks on the sea of finance. In the aforementioned year the 
Metropolitan National Bank was organized to take over the business of J. F. 
Larkin & Company with Mr. Larkin as president, a position he resigned in 
1883 to participate in the formation of the Cincinnati National Bank, of which 
he became president. 

Early in 1867 he, with other prominent men, had organized the LTnion 
Central Life Insurance Company. The founders of this com.pany were men 
of integrity and high character in the business and religious world. There 
are found among them the names of Adam Poe, John M. Reid, R. S. Rust, 
D. D., Rev. A. Meharry, Asbury Lowery, D. D., Bishop John M. Walden. 

tf<i:D rV CH»^:BHKt,l,jrEW Y 



Bishop Davis W. Clark, and among the business men such names as John 
M. PhilHps, James Gamble, William A. Proctor, Justice Stanley Matthew;?, 
Dr. William B. Davis, William M. Ramsey and Harvey De Camp. 

Grateful in the highest degree for the material blessings that had been con- 
ferred upon him. Mr. Larkin all his life held to the old system of tithes and 
from his earliest youth placed aside one-tenth of his income for use in chari- 
table purposes. The religious characteristic in his nature was acutely de- 
veloped and from the age of fourteen years he iiad been a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church, in later years well deserving the misused title 
of pillar of Saint Paul's Church, Cincinnati. There was nothing propitiatory 
or expiating in his religion, his was the simple, trusting love of faith. In the 
time of financial embarrassment of the Cincinnati Weslevan College, his were 
the do:iations that kept life in the institution, and he likewise gave generously 
to the maintenance of Wesley Chapel, in which he worshipped for forty 
years. The Loveland Camp Meeting Association was also the object of his 
generous contributions and he financed the now famous Methodist Book Con- 
cern, while the National Association for the Promotion of Holiness, formed 
in Philadelphia, received the benefits of his gifts. He was one of the organiz- 
ers of the Freedmen's Aid Society, advancing its endeavors in everv possible 
way. His entire life was characterized by total abstinence from indulgence in 
any form of narcotics or spirituous liquors. 

Mr. Larkin married (first) in 1844, Emeline Wood; (second) Julia Ann 
Stark, daughter of William T. Stark, of Xenia, Ohio, a lineal descendant of 
the Stark family, boasting of John Stark of Revolutionary fame. In her 
young womanhood she was an intimate friend of Lucy Webb, who became the 
wife of Rutherford B. Hayes, a friendship continuing through life. 

Madison F. larkin, son of Joseph F. and Julia Ann (Stark) Larkin, was 
born in Cincinnati, Ohio, October 15, 1855. His preliminary education was 
received in the public schools, his later academic training in the Ohio Wesleyan 
College. He began his business career as messenger in the private banking 
house of Larkin, Wright & Company, of which his father was senior mem- 
ber, at Cincinnati, and soon became paying teller. In 1875 h^ was seriously 
affected by the deaths of a brother and sister, and, his health demanding it, 
left home in search of outdoor occupation. Going to Galveston, Texas, with a 
letter of introduction to a banker, who has since become well known, J. W. 
Seligman, he was prevailed upon by that gentleman to accept a position in a 
branch bank at Goliad, in that state, by the argument, that, with the change of 
air and climate, outdoor life was neither necessary nor desirable. Only par- 
tially convinced, Mr. Larkin soon after returned to his original determina- 
tion and engaged as a drover (one of thirty) to drive 4000 head of cattle 
from Goliad to Waco, Texas. This was the beginning of a concatenation of 
events that provided him with many thrilling experiences, which reached their 
climax in a fiat-boat trip down the Red and Mississippi rivers from Shreves- 
port to New Orleans, with three companions. They reached their destination, 
where they were unacquainted, safely, but penniless and shabbily clothed, 
sold their craft for a dollar, bought bread, and endeavored to appease their 
ravenous hunger. Mr. Larkin was rescued from what was fast becoming a 
pitiable plight by the arrival in port of the river steamer Charles Morgan, com- 
manded by a friend of the family. Captain Stein, who fed and clothed him, 
aided his companions, and gave him transportation to Cincinnati. Although 
the exercise and exposure had greatly improved his physical condition, it was 
thought that he could still further profit by the bracing atmosphere of the 
west, and he set out for the home of his uncle, a prosperous trader, in Arizona. 
While in this region he added to his store of adventurous experiences by a 


hairbreadth escape from a band of Indians, eluding them only by the fleet- 
ness of his horse. At Phoenix he was a clerk in a general store and also 
served as agent for the Wells-Fargo Express, being one of its first agents in 
Arizona. While here he had a narrow escape from sharing the fate of a com- 
panion with whom he was sleeping, who was crushed to death during a terrific 
tornado by the roof of their store collapsing. 

In January, 1877, Mr. Larkin accompanied King Woolsey, president of the 
Upper House of the Territorial Legislature, to Tucson, and in that year's 
session served as secretary on the committee on territorial aflfairs, which 
reported favorably on the request of the Southern Pacific Railway for fran- 
chise. While in this city, which was but a rapidly grown town, he witnessed 
many of the territory's earliest political scenes, in which a revolver shot was 
too frequently the settlement of a dispute. 

In 1879, through the friendly offices of John J. Valentine, president of the 
Wells-Fargo Express Company, he became employed in the Bank of Arizona, 
and while engaged in that institution had an interesting experience as a the- 
atrical manager. A company playing the comic opera "Pinafore," a produc- 
tion then in the height of its popularity, with Pauline Markham as leading lady, 
was stranded in Tucson. 

Mr. Larkin, assuming the entire responsibility and expense, brought it to 
Prescott and billed it for a two weeks' engagement, to the enjoyment of the 
populace and the benefit of the members of the company, who were nothing 
loath to leave the scene of their late misfortune and retrieving triumph. Fill- 
ing his bank position to the satisfaction of his employers and gaining their 
confidence by his dependability, he was offered a position in the bank of Ari- 
zona at Phoenix, also as the agent of the stage company and of the Wells- 
Fargo Express Company. Resigning his position he wrote an acceptance of 
the offer and soon after followed his letter to Phoenix, only to learn that his 
epistle had miscarried and that some one else had been called from California 
to fill the office. Disappointed, of course, by this vagary of fate. Mr. Larkin 
nevertheless was not discouraged or disheartened by his misfortune, but, re- 
turning to Prescott, entered the service of the quartermaster's department at 
Whipple Barracks under Major Grimes, and there served until 1881. 

He bade farewell to the country that had provided him with such a store of 
adventure and experience, in 1881, and returned east, entering the United 
States National Bank of New York, then one of the leading financial centers 
of the metropolis, and won speedy promotion, being thrice advanced in one 
year, and at its close holding a position as individual bookkeeper. He resigned 
this to become president of the East End Lumber Company of Cincinnati, 
which he conducted successfully for seven years, until the lumbermen's war of 
1890, which his company could not survive, and in consequence was forced 
out of business. Returning to the banking business, he entered the Market 
National Bank of Cincinnati, remaining there until the first of January, 1897, 
when he moved to Kansas City, Missouri, where he was in the employ of the 
National Surety Company (now of New York City), and subsequently of 
Swift and Company, the celebrated meat packers. Here he was engaged in 
a struggle the like of which he had never encountered in all his varied ex- 
perience, a conflict with himself. On the one side there was the necessity 
of providing for his wife and himself, on the other, the voice of conscience 
which would not permit him to perform the Sabbath labor required in his new 
situation. It was a trying moment for a man with no visible means of sup- 
port .should he resign, for his father had lost his all in the Cincinnati bank 
closure, and more than once he was on the point of giving in, but cast his deci- 
sion for the right when his devoted wife, ever the best of companions pro- 


■nounced herself as ready to share any hardships or to endure any privation in 
order that the lofty principles, as dear to her as to him, should not be dragged 
in the dust. So was the decision made and his resignation forwarded, and 
to this pair, true to their nobler selves and joyful in the costliness of their 
sacrifice, came a telegram from T. J. Foster, of Scranton, offering him an im- 
portant and lucrative place with the International Text Book Company. Surely 
this was divine watchfulness and care of His own. Entering the service of 
this corporation with renewed zeal and strengthened faith in the security of 
his destiny, he applied himself vigorously and devotedly to his duties and 
won immediate attention by his assiduous application to his tasks. Attention 
necessitated favorable comment, and following this came promotion, first to 
chief accountant, then assistant treasurer, and finally, December i, 1902, con- 
troller of the company. At the present time he fills this office and the same on 
the officiary of the International Correspondence Schools, truly a wonderful 
rise, possible only to one of exceptional merit. He is also controller of the 
International Educational Publication Company, treasurer of the Scranton 
Life Insurance Company, and an influential member and treasurer of the 
Scranton Board of Trade. 

Mr. Larkin has ever been a worker in the ranks of the Prohibition party, 
his views and convictions on the subjects forming the basis of that party's 
platform coinciding minutely with those of his honored father, and in 1910 
he allowed his name to be advanced as candidate for governor of Pennsyl- 
vania on that ticket. Disregarding his chances for victory, facing certain 
defeat, he displayed in that campaign much of the same spirit that caused 
him to resign his position in Mississippi and stood before the people of Penn- 
sylvania as the earnest exponent of a principle of immeasurable height. His- 
tory records that he was defeated, and by the same token records a campaign 
that strengthened the prohibition cause in one of the very strongholds of its 
foes and showed the supporters of the liquor traffic an ever increasing power 
that will, in time, sweep on to victory. In 1912 he was a candidate for Con- 
gress from the Tenth District and in 1913 for treasurer of Lackawanna county, 
both candidacies unsuccessful. He is a devoted Methodist and is one of the 
most ardent of religious workers among the laity. He is a member of the 
board of stewards of the Elm Park Methodist Episcopal Church, ex-presi- 
dent of the Men's League of Elm Park, president of the City Evangelization 
Union, president of the Scranton City Rescue Mission, and ex-president of 
the Lavmen's Association, Wyoming Conference. His gifts to charities are 
large and his gifts of time and service larger still, the two combined making 
him a power for good of inestimable value to the community and a haven of 
refuge to those disowned by fortune and cast out by society. 

Mr. Larkin married, in 1889, Hattie E. Harrington, daughter of David 
Chase Harrington, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They have one son, Curtis 
H., who received the major part of his education at the Bordentown Military 
Institute, Bordentown, New Jersey, and at this time just out of the Technical 
High School of Scranton. Mrs. Larkin's character is one of true nobility, 
peculiarly adapted to her husband's, a union of charming freshness, beauty and 
strength resulting from their marriage. 

Mr. Larkin's record speaks more eloquently than can the pen of biographer 
of what manner of man he is. God-fearing and upright throughout his en- 
tire life, his is the reward of fidelity to duty and the dictates of conscience. 
Having risen to regnance over self, the greatest conquest was his, all his fol- 
lowing triumphs and success springing therefrom. 



Henry F. Ferber is a descendant of a German family, whose seat for 
many generations has been the grand duchy of Baden, Germany. The emi- 
grant ancestor of the name was Augustus C. Ferber, born in Baden in 1824, 
where he obtained his education and learned the baker's trade. When he was 
twenty-four years of age he came to the United States, locating in Scranton, 
and for nine years was employed by the Scranton Coal Comi)any, assisting 
in the opening of one of the first mines ever worked on Roaring Creek. In 
1853 he moved to Pittston and there followed the trade he had learned in 
his native land, that of baker, but only remained there for five weeks, then 
returning to Scranton and to his former employers. While the family was 
residing in Pittston, Henry F., (of whom further), was born. After holding 
a position as watchman at the Diamond Mines, Augustus C. Ferber 
established in the draying business and was so engaged until the years before 
his death. For six years he served his city as chief of police, during the 
administration of Mayor Mooney. At the time of Lee's invasion of Penn- 
sylvania, he enlisted in one of the companies of Emergency Men that were 
formed, but never was in active service. Both he and his wife were active mem- 
bers and regular attendants of the Immanuel Baptist Church. 

He married Mary, daughter of Chester Fram, a veteran of the War of 
1812. Her grandfather fought in both the war for independence and the War 
of 1812. Their children, who reached maturity, were: Christina, Martha. 
Henry F., (of further mention), Elizabeth, Emma, Edward, Ella, and Jennie. 

Henry F. Ferber, son of Augustus C. and Mary (Frain) Ferber, was born 
in Pittston. April I, 1853. He attended the public schools until he was nine 
years of age, but was then compelled to discontinue his studies and to obtain 
employment in a coal breaker. Determined not to be thus deprived of all the 
advantages accruing from an adequate education, he paid a Mr. Kohler for 
instructing him in the branches of which he felt he would have the most need, 
receiving these lessons after a day of the most exhausting kind of labor in the 
breaker. At the age of thirteen years he apprenticed himself to the Scranton 
Stove Works, to learn the trade of stove moulder, following that occupation 
until 1875, when he went into the draying business. His business flourished 
and he continued in that line until 1894. when he sold his interests. He has 
been identified with the city fire department since 1866; was elected chief 
1876, served one year; again elected 1882, 1883, and 1884, but was displaced 
by changes in the administration. In 1893, he was once more appointed to 
that position, serving three years and in 1901, August i, was again appointed 
by William L. Connell and has held the position ever since. During his con- 
tinuance as head of the department it has attained a high grade of efficiency, 
has been provided with all modern equipment, and holds high rank among 
those of other cities of the country. Mr. Ferber was a lad of twelve years of 
age when the Civil War broke out. With the intense patriotism of youth, he 
was eager to join the army as drummer boy, but could not of course obtain 
parental permission. Thoughts of battle, long marches, and stirring cam- 
paigns became an obsession with him, and on five different occasions he made 
an effort to enter the service, claiming that his parents were dead. On one 
occasion he had been accepted and had donned his uniform, when the chief of 
police entered the recruiting office and compelled him to return home. The 
chief of police was the nemesis that upset his fondest hopes, as on each oc- 
casion that he tried to enlist, it was he who detected him and returned him to 
his parents. They, while full of pride in the youth and his love of country, 
would not permit him to go to the front. His only military connection ha.s 



been three years service in Company B, Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania 
National Guard, commanded by Captain Kellogg. 

He married Mary, daughter of John O. Jones, of Pittston. Children : 
Harry F., a member of the Scranton fire department ; Miriam, married W. 
W. Scheuer and lives in Scranton ; Lucille, at lionie. 

Mr. Ferber is the able head of the department of Scranton's municipal 
fire system noted for its efficiency. With the best of apparatus, efficiently 
manned by a band of brave and daring firefighters, the property of the tax- 
payers of Scranton is safeguarded, as far as is possible by human means, 
from the ravages of fire. Mr. Ferber has been a member since 1876 of Union 
Lodge, No. 291, F. and A. M., of Scranton, and belongs to the Temple 
Club, a social club of Masons. He is also a member of the International 
Associations of Chief Engineers ; Keystone Fire Chiefs ; Pennsylvania State 
Firemen's Association, in which he has held the office of president; Firemen's 
Relief Fund of Scranton ; Volunteer Firemen's Association of Scranton ; 
the Scranton Liederkranz, and the German Alliance of Scranton. He be- 
longs to the Royal Arcanum. In 1914, at the beginning of Mayor E. B. 
Jermyn's administration. Fire Chief Ferber recommended the elimination of 
horse drawn apparatus and to install motor operators instead ; this being done, 
they have seven pieces of motor apparatus consisting of tractors, triple 
pieces and combination autos. 


From Germany, the ancient home of the family, to New York, thence 
westward to Wisconsin, and then to Scranton, where the present day repre- 
sentative of this branch of the family resides, is the course followed by the 
Hessinger family in America. Ever a respected and honored name during the 
time the family has been in the LTnited States, none has been more worthy of 
honor and respect. All in this country have led busy and useful lives, engaged 
in occupations necessary to society, and never committing depredations upon 
the prosperity of their neighbors or seeking for gain without giving in re- 
turn of their talent or labor. 

(I) The emigrant ancestor, Theodore Hessmger, came to this country 
when a young man, and settled in Williamsburg, New York. While there 
he was married and moved to Sheboygan, Wisconsin, in both places follow- 
ing his trade of cabinet maker, which he had learned in his native country 
from a workman who was a master in his art and of wide reputation for the 
beauty and skillful execution of his work. He later came to Scranton, being 
among the first settlers, and formed a triple partnership for work at his trade, 
one of the other members being named Grieser. He became quite prominent 
in the public life of the city and was a member of the board of alderman. 

(II) Henry Hessinger, son of Theodore Hessinger, was born in Sheboy- 
gan, Wisconsin, in 1856. He learned his trade with his father, and in 1868 
engaged independently in the furniture and undertaking business on the South 
Side. His efforts met with gratifying success, the upbuilding of a flourish- 
ing business being interrupted by his death in 1890. Both he and his wife 
were members of the German Presbyterian Church. He belonged to the 
Patriotic Order Sons of America and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He married Margaret Kiefer, daughter of Charles Kiefer ; children : Wil- 
liam C, of further mention; Frank T., of Philadelphia; Edward R., of 

(III) William C. Hessinger, son of Henry and Margaret (Kiefer) Hess- 
inger, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, 21, 188 1. He obtained his 


early education in the public schools of the city, later attending Woods Busi- 
ness College in preparation for his active career. For a time he was em- 
ployed in woolen mills in the city, and since that time has been actively engaged 
in the establishing and conducting of the New Citizens' Building and Loan 
Association, of Scranton, of which he is secretary. While the titles of the 
other officers sound much more imposing it is upon the secretary of such an 
organization that the real burden of its business falls, and Mr. Hessinger, with 
his other business interests, has his time well filled. He is also secretary of 
the Globe Silk Manufacturing Company, a corporation organized in 1906 with 
the following officers: H. J. Ziegler, president; Henry Frey, vice-president; 
Henry F. Ziegler. secretary; Louis Schumacher, treasurer; and Joseph A. 
Gnoss, manager. At the present time the officers are unchanged, except that 
William C. Hessinger has replaced Henry F. Ziegler as secretary. The short 
life of this company has still been a prosperous one. They employ seventy 
operators, and have on an average seventy looms running. This product 
reaches the market through commission merchants. 

Mr. Hessinger is a member of Schiller Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
and General Grant Commandery. Knights of Malta. Both he and his wife 
belong to the German Presbyterian Church and are regular attendants at its 
services. He married Caroline Naher. daughter of Peter Naher. of Scranton, 
and they have one son, Paul W. 

Tremendously energetic, and directing his energies in an intelligent man- 
ner, Mr. Hessinger has proven himself indispensable to the dififerent organiza- 
tions which he serves, holding their highest confidence and giving the best 
of his labors to their interests. 


Of English ancestry. Captain Phineas Howe, grandfather of Thomas B. 
Howe, was one of the early settlers of Wayne county, securing land from the 
government and rendering service in the War of 1812. He founded a large fam- 
ily, many descendants being found in Wayne and adjacent counties, men of 
worth in their several communities. His descendant, Thomias B. Howe, represen- 
tative of the Scranton branch, is a native son of Wayne county, Scranton be- 
ing his home by adoption. The old pioneer added to the wealth of his country by 
converting wild forest land into fertile fields, but his grandson has created wealth 
and prosperity for man through his inventive genius and the thorough busi- 
ness ability that successfully placed his inventions on the market. The lot 01 
the inventor is usually to furnish the genius to contrive and construct with- 
out participating in tlie pecuniary reward that follows each meritorious in- 
vention, but Mr. Thomas both sowed and reaped, gaining fame as an in- 
ventor of useful, long needed appliances, and a high position in the business 

(H) His father, Abraham S. Howe, son of Captain Phineas Howe, was 
born in Wayne county, there lived the life of a farmer and butcher and there 
died in 1856, meeting his death by drowning at the age of fifty-one years. He 
married Rebecca Bortree, daughter of an old Wayne county settler. 

(HI) Thomas B. Howe, son of Abraham S. and Rebecca (Bortree) 
Howe, was born in Wayne county, Pennsylvania, July 14, 1849. He was but 
a lad when his father died and after finishing his studies in the public school 
of his district, he began learning the carpenter's trade. He became a skilled 
worker and continued a builder for eleven years. About 1878 he entered the 
employ of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad as fireman, later 
becoming an engineer. Locomotives at that time were built with stationary 



grates, a system both wasteful and inconvenient. Mr. Howe pondered the 
problem, long and carefull}', finally perfecting and patenting a shaking grate, 
the first one ever placed in a locomotive, being his patent and used on Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna & Western engines running out of Scranton. After four 
years as fireman and engineer he resigned to take personal charge of the 
manufacture and installation of his grate and other patented improvements. 
He is the father of twenty-eight patented inventions of practical value, the 
last being a steam dryer used for drying sand. Mr. Howe many years ago 
became interested in sand and gravel banks in both New York and Pennsyl- 
vania, and has made the development of such properties his chief business. 
He is president of the Scranton Sand Company, with plant at Waverly, New 
York; manager of Sayre Sand and Plaster Company, of Sayre, Pennsyl- 
vania, and is president of the Ariel Sand Company of Scranton, organized in 
1912, with Thomas B. Howe, president and manager, and R. C. Ruthven, 
secretary and treasurer. The Ariel Sand Company is one of Scranton's suc- 
cessful concerns, it having been formed to supply the large local demand for 
sand and gravel, now so plentifully used in constructive work. Mr. Howe 
is also a director of the Waverly Chamber of Commerce. He is an in- 
dependent in politics, always deferring to his convictions regardless of party 
in choosing his candidates. He is public spirited and generous, and so holds 
the confidence of the voters of his ward, the thirteenth, that he was chosen 
their representative in the city council serving one term. He is a member and 
past master of Green Ridge Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; is a companion 
of Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; a Sir K,night of Melita Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar and a noble of Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine. He is also mterested as a stockholder in the LInion National Bank ; 
First Mortgage and Guaranty Company, of Philadelphia, and Black Diamond 
Silk Company. 

Mr. Howe married, September 26, 1873, Maria H., daughter of William 
Copeland, an Englishman of Turnersville, Lackawanna county, where Mrs. 
Howe was born. Children : Everett T., now of Rochester, New York ; Rean 
M., now widow of Dr. A. G. Fall. Little more than a glance is here given 
of the useful life and manly character of Thomas B. Howe. Broad minded, 
progressive, just and generous, it is a matter of gratification to all, that from 
his genius of invention and soundness of executive management, wealth has 
come to him in abundance. It has been fairly earned and is rightfully used. 
The world is better, brighter and richer for his having lived in it : he has 
created not destroyed and his sixty-four years of life have been spent in a 
manner that can cause him nothing but satisfaction in its review. 


Yorkshire, England, was the home of the early generations of the York 
family, represented in Scranton by Samuel F. York, a stock and bond broker 
of Scranton, his children being the only members of this branch born in 
America. Never identified with the industrial or manufacturing interests 
of the great cities of the country, the Yorks have ever been found in the 
country villages or dwelling on their estates in rural England. Theirs was 
the free, unfettered, life in the open fields; theirs the pleasure of walking 
through the sunlit meadows by the running brooks; theirs all the beautiful 
scenes of which the English poets fondly sing, for which Browning, with a 
son's love, pines, in his "Home Thoughts From Abroad." It was because 
of this innate love of life near to nature that Thomas York, grandfather of 
Samuel F. York, all his life lived in Shadforth, England, where he was the 


proprietor of one of the inns for which the English country side is famous. 
Here he Hved quietly and peacefully, a courteous, cordial host, keeping in 
touch with the events of the world beyond his own immediate horizon by con- 
versation with the travelers who stopped at his inn for supper or for a 
night's lodging. Here William F. York was born in 1850 and grew to man- 
hood. In him the instincts of the husbandman were lost and he sought the 
thriving industries of the city, learned the machinist's trade, and in 1882 came 
to America. An expert machinist, familiar with every department of his 
trade, he found no difficulty in securing a position, and was employed by the 
Dickson Manufacturing Company as erecting machinist. He superintended 
the erection of many intricately made machines, his last work in the em- 
ploy of this company being done in the construction of the famous dynamite 
guns on Fishers Island, New York. He then entered the employ of the 
Westinghouse Electrical and Manufacturing Company in the main shops of 
the company at Pittsburgh, with whom he has ever since been identified and 
in whose service he has established a well-deserved reputation for sterling 
worth and expert ability. No problem of mechanics evades his wide and 
practical knowledge, no process so involved that he is unable to swiftly com- 
prehend its complicated workings. With his knowledge and ability he couples 
a capacity for an almost endless amount of work, and is one of the most 
trusted and best regarded men in the company's plant, which is of mammoth 
size. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel P. Harris, a wholesale and 
retail merchant of Darlington, England. She died in 1901, aged fifty years. 
Children: John F. ; Samuel F., of whom further; Ernest and Ewart, all of 
Scranton; Harry, a resident of Carbondale ; and Anna, married John F. Gib- 
son, now living in Birmingham, Alabama. 

Samuel F. York, son of William F. and Elizabeth (Harris) York, was 
born in Darlington, England, December 10, 1874. His early boyhood was 
spent in the city of Scranton and there he attended the public schools. When 
a young man he learned the printer's trade and soon after completing same 
started in independent operations as the York Printing and Publishing Com- 
pany. Establishing a reputation for high class work, especially book and maga- 
zine printing, his business rapidly grew until it was the largest of its kind in 
the city. A great deal of job work was also handled at the shop, which con- 
tinued a flourishing career until 1906, when Mr. York turned the active man- 
agement over to others, still retaining his interest in the business. For a time 
he gave his undivided attention to other interests in southern land companies, 
conducting later investment and brokerage operations. He is now the ac- 
credited representative of a large New York City banking house, in the State 
of Pennsylvania. His other business connections are as vice-president and 
treasurer of the Baumeister Drug Company, and treasurer of the Pension 
Mutual Life Insurance Company. Mr. York is a member of the Good Shep- 
herd Episcopal Church, while his wife belongs to the Emmanuel Baptist 
Church. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, belonging to Schiller Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Keystone Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the 
Royal Secret, and is a noble of Irem Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. He is one of 
the active members of the Temple Masonic Club and is vice-chairman of the 
Navy League. 

He married Bertha, daughter of Herz Lowenstein, an old merchant of 
Scranton, who established the first department .=;tore in the city of Scranton, 
on what is now Cedar avenue. Children : Warren W. and Gladys H. 

-^^Luyuci^ xTr^fe'-^-^L-'^^'x^ 



Many men pass from mortal view and are only remembered through the 
monument marking their resting place. Others by chance are brought into the 
public eye through a chance turn of fortune's wheel, while others build a 
monument of commercial fame that endures forever. To this latter class 
belongs Cyrus D. Jones, who has seen the company he founded grow to such 
proportions that the sign. Grand Union Tea Company, is found in all the cities 
of our country. He has seen it safely weather every financial storm, and 
emerge from each larger, better and stronger. Such a monument, built only 
by unceasing industry, careful judgment and wise executive ability, when built, 
is one to be proud of, and one worthy of being used as an example of what 
can be accomplished by well directed and honorable effort. 

A glance at the ancestry of the men of nerve, wisdom and energy who 
have accomplished so much, reveals the fact that their forbears were men of 
courage and enlightened minds and that Cyrus D. Jones comes rightfully by 
his pioneer spirit and owes much to the sturdy ancestors who revolted against 
kingly oppression and helped to found a nation in a new world. 

Colonel John Jones, the English ancestor, was governor of Anglesea, 
member of parliament from Wales, colonel in Cromwell's army and one of 
the court of judges who decided the fate of Charles I. of England. When 
Charles II. ascended the throne, he pardoned many who aided Cromwell and 
his cause, but the members of the court that tried and sentenced his father to 
death, he never forgave, but pursued them to the grave. Colonel Jones mar- 
ried a sister of Oliver Cromwell, and his son, William Jones, a barrister of 
London, came to America with two of the regicide judges, Whalley and Gofife, 
assisting in secreting them from the King's officers who were in close pursuit. 
The record states that Whalley and Goffe were conducted by Jones and his 
friends "some three miles into the wilderness beyond the mill, where a booth 
having been constructed, the party spent the night." 

Deputy-Governor William Jones, the American ancestor, was born in Lon- 
don, England, in 1624. He married, July 4, 1659, Hannah, daughter of 
Theophilus Eaton, governor of the colony of Connecticut. He came to Amer- 
ica with his wife and two sons, William (2) and Nathaniel, locating at New 
Haven with his father-in-law, Governor Eaton. In May, 1664, he was chosen 
deputy-governor of the colony, and had a church seat on "the long seat" 
with other men of distinction. Isaac Jones, youngest son of Deputy-Governor 
William Jones, was born in New Haven, Connecticut, June 21, 1671. He 
settled in Stratford, Connecticut, and there married Deborah Clark. Isaac (2) 
Jones, sixth child of Isaac (i) Jones, married and had a son John, who mar- 
ried and had a son Josiah, who married Sarah Smith. Their son, Isaac (3) 
Jones, was born at Stamford, Connecticut, November 11, 1794, and married 
Lois Curtis. Their eldest son, Isaac S. Jones, was born in Stamford, Con- 
necticut, there became a merchant, represented his town in the state legisla- 
ture, also filled various local offices. He married Frances J. Weed, of Pound 
Ridge, New York ; children : Frances S., Mary E., Frank S., Cyrus D., 
Charles F. While the three sons of Isaac S. Jones, Frank S., Cyrus D., and 
Charles F., at first formed the firm of Jones Brothers, later the Grand LTnion 
Tea Company, Frank S. and Cyrus D. Jones, carried the burden longer, 
Charles F. retiring ere the business assumed its latter day magnitude. 

Cyrus D. Jones was born in Stamford, Connecticut, May i, 1852. He at- 
tended school, then became clerk in his father's store, later going to New York 
City, where he clerked in a similar store, and for one year was with J. H. 
Knapp & Company, a wholesale wood and willow ware house of New York. 


In the meantime Isaac S. Jones, the father, had moved his residence to Scran- 
ton, where in 1871, he was joined by his son, then nineteen years of age. Cyrus- 
D. Jones attended Gardner's Business College and clerked in Scranton for 
about a year, then having attained his majority he joined with his brothers 
forming the firm of Jones Brothers and engaging in the tea business in Scran- 
ton. In 1877 they organized as the Grand Union Tea Company and began 
their wonderful career of growtii and expansion. The company, which started 
so humbly, September i, 1872, is now one of the mammoth retailing companies 
of the United States, regularly incorporated with head offices in New York 
City, has about 200 stores in leading cities, employs an army of over 3000 
people and does an annual business of many millions. Of this great company, 
Cyrus D. Jones is vice-president, a position he has held since its formation. 
He and his brother, Frank S., trading as an individual firm, purchase all the 
products, premiums, etc., used by the company, importing whole cargoes of 
tea and supplying the capital for the importation of the immense quantities of 
coffee annually sold by the company. The brothers also own the Anchor 
Pottery of Trenton, New Jersey, the Grand Union using the most of the output 
of that pottery. Charles F. Jones, the third brother, retired in 1893. While 
the Grand Union Tea Company, as at present conducted, is a vast, well regu- 
lated machine that is almost automatic in its workings, it was not always so, 
and while success in its fullest sense has crowned the efforts of the brothers, 
the result was not attained without the hardest kind of work and the incessant 
exercise of all the best merchandising qualities of the founders. 

During its business life of forty years the Grand Union has passed 
safely through financial crises, weathering storms that have left the country 
strewn with the wrecks of much more pretentious concerns. The company 
has so wisely conserved its resources that in times of national financial string- 
ency it has been able to extend instead of curtailing its operations. 
The history of these operations is as interesting and almost as dramatic (but 
happily less tragic) as the scenes the Jones ancestors passed through, when 
with parliament they fought their King. When the first start was made in 
1872, the brothers made a house to house canvass for orders, and were obliged 
to deliver on foot until sufficient means had been accumulated to afford wagon 
delivery. Frank S. Jones was the first president of the company, which was 
not incorporated until 1893, continuing its head until 1903, when he was suc- 
ceeded by W. J. Burke. The home office in New York City, (borough of 
Brooklyn) covers an entire block and is devoted entirely to the manufacture 
and shipping interests of the Grand Union Tea Company. It contains a plant 
for the manufacture of paper bags, another for making tin cans, a well 
equipped soap factory and a complete printing establishment. 

In addition to the conspicuous part he has evei- played in the affairs of 
the Grand Union Tea Company, Cyrus D. Jones holds important official posi- 
tion in over thirty other corporations and firms, including the presidency of 
the People's Bank of Scranton, the vice-piesidency of the United States Lum- 
ber Company and a directorship in the Traders' Bank of Scranton, also on the 
executive board of Scranton Trust Company. But these interests, weighty as 
they are, have been voluntarily laid aside so far as active participation in their 
affairs are concerned, Mr. Jones having determined to limit his personal effort. 
He has so far adhered to his resolutions that he now lives practically retired, 
his connection being advisory and voluntary. He maintains his beautiful home 
in Scranton at No. 901 Olive street, and without ostentation is a liberal bene- 
factor of the charitable and philanthropic institutions of his city. Travel is his 
chief relaxation and in pursuit of recreation and knowledge he has traversed 
Europe and America. His rare and genial nature has endeared him to a wide 



circle of friends to whom the charming hospitality of his home is freely ex- 
tended. Mr. Jones is a member of the Elm Park Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and president of the board of trustees. He has ever been a friend of the 
Young Men's Christian Association of Scranton and was a strong pillar of 
support, financially, in the erection of its magnificent building. 

Mr. Jones married, March 23, 1876, Mary S. Horn, of Scranton. Chil- 
dren: I. Arthur A., president of the Grand Union Tea Company; married 
Ellazena Bixby ; resides in Brooklyn, New York. 2. Harry L., connected with 
the Grand Union Tea Company as treasurer ; married Edna Caryl ; resides in 
Brooklyn. 3. Helen F. 4. Frederick B., a banker and broker, Bank of Scran- 


Among the earliest settlers of Carbondale, Pennsylvania, was Edward Wat- 
kins, grandfather of Daniel R. Watkins, of this narrative, who came to the 
United States in 1826 from Breconshire, Wales, where he followed the oc- 
cupation with which he had been identified in his native land, that of a miner. 
His last years were spent with his son, Thomas E. Watkins, at whose home 
his death occurred in 1879, when he was seventy- five years of age. 

(II) Thomas E. Watkins, son of Edward Watkins, was born in Carbon- 
dale, Pennsylvania, in 1828. His earliest employment was in the mines and 
all his life was spent in work connected with mining, mine foreman having 
been his position for many years before his death, on October 14, 1889, aged 
sixty years. In 1859 he moved to Scranton and was there employed for the 
last half of his life in the coal mining department of the Delaware, Lackawanna 
& Western. He was a prominent member of the Tabernacle Congregational 
Church, to which his wife also belonged, and held a place on the board of trus- 
tees. . His fraternal affiliation was with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. He married Rachel Lewis. Children : William E., a resident of New 
York City; George W. (deceased); Daniel R. (of further mention). 

(III) Daniel R. Watkins, son of Thomas E. and Rachel (Lewis) Wat- 
kins, was born in Yorktown, Carbon county, Pennsylvania, December 10, 
1857. He was excellently educated in the public schools, Wyoming Seminary, 
and the Collegiate Institute, of Newton, New Jersey. His father was pro- 
prietor of a general store in Hyde Park, although he did not give it his per- 
sonal attention, and Mr. Watkins entered the store as manager, sharing the 
duties of the position with his brother, W. E. Watkins, the two conducting 
the business of the store until 1876. He was then employed in the hosiery 
department of the Boston Store for two years, in 1878 going to Philadelphia 
with Martin Maloney to accept a position with the Penn Globe Gas Light Com- 
pany. Two years also covered his period of service with this company, after 
which he became a bookkeeper in the employ of Samuel Stetler, at Duryea. 
In 1882 he returned to Scranton and became the partner of E. C. Dimmick, 
engaging in the hardware business. At the dissolution of this partnership, on 
February 22, 1886, he again became a bookkeeper this time in the service of 
T. J. Kelly & Company. In 1895 he took a much needed rest from business, 
his health having been poor for some time. Since 1897 he has been connected 
with the department of city assessors and since the present administration came 
into office has been president of the board. 

Mr. Watkins married Miss Stella Josephine Piatt Himrod, daughter of 
W. G. Himrod, of Trumansburg, New York. Children : Thomas Brunson, a 
resident of BuiiEalo, New York, and William E.. living in Scranton. 




Wainwrights of tlie branch of which Dr. Jonathan M. Wainwright. A. B., 
A. M.. M. D., is a descendant, claim no very long residence on this side of the 
Atlantic, the first member of this branch of the family to settle in this country 
being Peter Wainwright, an English merchant, who made his home in Boston 
shortly after the Revolution. Since that time the family has been represented 
in ecclesiastical pursuits by one of the most saintly of divines, the Rev. Jona- 
than Mayhew Wainwright, bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of New York, 
well known for his labors in the general convention preparing the standard 
edition of the Book of Common Prayer, grandfather of Dr. Jonathan M. 
Wainwright, of this narrative. Among his sons were : Jonathan Mayhew, 
who attained the rank of commander in the United States navy, and William 
Augustus Muhlenburg, father of Dr. Jonathan M. Wainwright. Dr. William 
Augustus Muhlenburg Wainwright was a noted physician and surgeon, and 
made as valuable contributions to medical, as his revered father had to eccle- 
siastic literature. In his half century of life he gained wide distinction in his 
profession and was at one time president of the Connecticut State Medical 
Society. His death occurred in 1894. 

Dr. Jonathan Mayhew Wainwright, son of Dr. William Augustus Muhlen- 
burg and Helena Barker (Talcott) Wainwright, was born in Hartford, Con- 
necticut, February 20. 1874. He bears the names that were those of his grand- 
father and uncle, and have been borne nobly by at least two generations, 
one carrying it in priestly state in the paths of peace, the other bearing 
it to a grave found in the service of his country and in defence of her honor. 
He studied, preparatory to college entrance, at the Hartford High School, 
and was graduated A. B. from Trinity College in the class of 1895. Attracted 
by the profession of his father, he entered the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, connected with Columbia University, to prepare therefor, and was 
graduated M. D. in 1899. He was interne in St. Luke's Hospital of New 
York City for a period of eighteen months, and in i8gi came to Scranton to 
accept a position as surgeon-in-chief of the Moses Taylor Hospital. This is 
his present title and while his duties in connection with this institution demand 
a great deal of his time and attention, he nevertheless maintains a large and 
lucrative private practice. One of his professional connections is as chief 
surgeon of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad. In IQ05 his 
alma mater. Trinity College, conferred upon him the degree A. ^1. It was at 
this institution that he became a member of the I. K. A., a secret fraternity of 
the college. He is also a member of the County, State and American iMedical 
societies. With his wife he is a member of St. Luke's Episcopal Church. Dr. 
Wainwright's military career began m 1892, when he l>ccame a member of 
Company F, First Regiment, Connecticut National Guard, as a private, later 
becoming corporal on the regimental staff, a ranlc he held for one year. He 
was then promoted to the grade of first lieutenant, discharging the duties of 
paymaster, and held that rank for four years. When, at the outbreak of the 
Spanish-American War, his regiment enlisted as the First Regiment Connecti- 
cut Volunteer Infantry, he received a commission as captain. The First Con- 
necticut, though not in active service, was held "in readiness" at Camp Alger, 
Falls Church, Virginia, where he served as adjutant of the regiment, also as 
acting assistant adjutant general of the First Brigade, Third Division, Second 
Army Corps. At the end of the war he received his discharge from the serv- 
ice. Dr. Wainwright's clubs are the Army and Navy of New York City and 
the Scranton. 

Dr. Wainwright married Jessie, daughter of William E. Hart, of Engle- 



wood, New Jersey. Children : Jonathan Mayhew, Talcott, Grosvenor. Ruth 

A progressive and efficient exponent of modern methods and practices in 
surgerj, Dr. Wainwright has a record of proud attainment, and a reputation 
as an honorable and conscientious practitioner, brilliant promise of future 
achievement in the profession which he so worthily represents. 


The Vosburgs of Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, descend from the Dutch 
settler, Abram Pieterse Vosburg, one of four brothers who settled on the Hud- 
son river prior to 165 1. The family were early settlers in Washington town- 
ship, Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, where they are remembered by Vos- 
burg's Creek and Vosburg Station. 

(I) Stephen Vosburg, grandfather of Judge Vosburg, was the first of this 
direct line to settle in Scott township, (now Lackawanna county) he coming 
from Wyoming county, where he was born about the year 1800. He came to 
Scott when a young man, was a farmer and there died about 1870. He mar- 
ried Nancy Brown, born in Scott. 

(II) Merritt B. Vosburg, son of Stephen and Nancy (Brown) Vosburg, 
was born in Scott township, Pennsylvania, in 1842, died July 13, 1913, buried 
in Scott Valley Cemetery. He was educated in the public school and be- 
came a prosperous merchant of Montdale, finally retiring and spending his 
last years free from business cares. He was a man of alert mind and sterling 
character, these qualities being recognized by his townsmen and utilized for the 
public good. He served for many years on the school board and as justice 
of the peace for five years. He was held in high regard by a very large circle 
of friends, among whom most of the years of his long life were spent. He 
was a Republican in politics, and a member of the RIasonic Order. Squire 
Vosburg married Sarah Washburn, daughter of Dexter Washburn, of Sus- 
quehanna county, Pennsylvania ; she is now deceased. Children : Alton A., 
of whom further : Bernard V.. of Scranton ; Clara. The parents and children 
were members of the Baptist church. 

(III) Judge Alton A. Vosburg, eldest son of Merritt B. and Sarah (Wash- 
burn) Vosburg, was born in Scott township, (now Lackawanna county) Penn- 
sylvania, April 28, 1865. He was educated in the public schools and Keystone 
Academy of his own county, then entered the National University at Lebanon, 
Ohio, pursuing a course in law at the latter institution. He taught school for 
several terms during the course of his youth, and prior to completing his pre- 
liminary law studies with Gunster & Welles, of Scranton. He was admitted 
to the Lackawanna county bar in 1887, practiced in Scranton alone until 1888, 
then formed a partnership with W. S. Huslander, an association that continued 
until 1896. He then became the law partner of C. W. Dawson, which con- 
tinued until Mr. Vosburg was appointed judge of the Orphans' Court at the 
time of its establishment in igoi. He remained on the bench until the first 
Monday in January, 1903, then resumed private practice. In his quarter of a 
century Mr. Vosburg has enjoyed a large practice, both civil and criminal in 
the state and federal courts of the district, to all of which he has been ad- 
mitted. Notable cases with which he has been connected are: Dickinson, 
versus G. B. Thompson, in which he represented the defendant in the LTnited 
States Court ; the Waverly Bible School case ; and the City of Scranton, 
versus Koehler, which was carried to the superior and supreme courts. He 
was elected city solicitor in 1898, serving two years until the office became 
appointive under the "Ripper Bill." In political faith he is a Republican, has 


been a member of the county committee for twtiity-five years, and for two 
terms was county chairman. In religious faith he is aftihated with the Providence 
Presbyterian Church, which he has served as trustee. He belongs to many 
fraternal orders, including: Hiram Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; all 
bodies of Keystone Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite ; Lincoln Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which he is past noble grand ; Scran- 
ton Encampment, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; Daughters of Rebekah ; 
past district deputy grand master, Pennsylvania Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows ; Junior Order of American Mechanics, and the Patriotic Order Sons 
of America. His club is the Scranton. Honored in his profession as a 
learned and skillful exponent and strong in the confidence of his towns- 
men there is surely a future of still greater usefulness awaiting Judge Vos- 

Judge Vosburg married, in December, 1895, Belle Thomas, daughter of 
William G. Thomas, a well known and respected resident of Scranton. They 
have a son Flovd. 


For nearly a half a century the Scranton Wochenblatt has been one of the 
most widely read of German-American newspapers in the Lackawanna Valley 
and during its long existence as the standard of German newspapers has been 
closely linked with the name of Wagner, the periodical having been founded 
by father and continued by son. Both have held to a lofty plane in all de- 
partments, both have striven for the ideal newspaper of reliability and quality, 
the Wochenblatt representing their years of effort toward an agent of in- 
telligence free from the contamination of sensationalism or yellow journalism. 
' Frederick Wagner was born in Anweiler, Bavaria, December 24, 1838, 
died June 29, 1913. His father, Joseph Wagner, brought him to the United 
States when a youth, the family settling first at Pittston and later moving to 
Wilkes-Barre where the family resided at the beginning of hostilities between 
the North and the South. Both father and son enlisted in the Union army, 
the younger, Frederick, never being called into service. His father, however, 
became a member of a regiment of cavalry and was in General Sherman's 
army in its historic march, immortalized in song, from "Atlanta to the Sea." 
Frederick Wagner learned the printer's trade early in life and for a time was 
employed as foreman in the shop of Robert Bauer in Wilkes-Barre, where 
was published the Luzerne County Wachter. At the close of the Civil Wai 
he took up his residence in Scranton and there, in 1865, founded the Scranton 
Wochenblatt, of which he was proprietor until his death, although for several 
years previous to that his son, Frederick A., had been in direct charge of the 

A strong supporter of the principles of the Democratic party, it was Mr. 
Wagner's nature to labor earnestly in the cause of an able, deserving candidate 
and to refuse all nominations for himself. Only twice was he brought before 
the public in the role of one seeking political preference, the first time in 1882, 
being made a member of the board of poor directors elected by popular vote. 
The elections were never confirmed, however, for before the newly elected 
members of the board had entered upon the duties of their ofiice, the state's 
courts declared the law allowing the election unconstitutional and invalid, the 
appointment of the board being performed by the courts. His other candidacy 
was unsuccessful, when, several years later, he was the nominee of his party 
for city treasurer. 

Until a few years before his death Mr. Wagner was a conspicuous figure 


in fraternal organizations. His was the honor of founding and being the first 
president of the German-American AlHance of Lackawanna County, whose 
president emeritus he was at the time of his final summons. He also belonged 
to Schiller Lodge, No. 345, F. and A. M., and Roaring Brook Con- 
clave of Heptasophs. During his day of most active participation in busi- 
ness aflFairs Lackawanna and Penn avenues were the business centers of the 
city and it was he who erected the first store on Spruce street, opposite the 
site now occupied by the Hotel Jermyn, and attracted to that locality many of 
the commercial houses that now make it their home. In the seventy-five years 
of his busy and useful life, forty-eight were spent in the city of Scranton, ex- 
cepting two years, when he was in Elmira, New York, publishing the Chemung 
County Journal, a German newspaper. 

He married Elizabeth Hausam, and is survived by her. Children: Fred- 
erick A., of further mention : John U., a professor in the Scranton High 
School ; Dr. Joseph A. ; Anna, married William Morrow ; Ida E. 

Frederick A. Wagner, eldest son and child of Frederick and Elizabeth 
(Hausam) Wagner, was born in Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, 
February 14, 1864. He obtained his education in the public schools of Scran- 
ton, and later at Elmira, New York, whither his father had moved to publish 
a German newspaper. He learned the printer's trade under the preceptorship 
of his father and all his life has been connected with the Scranton Wochen- 
blatt. When his father laid down the reins of control in April, 1890, Frederick 
A. assumed charge of the business and has since continued it, holding to the 
course that was ever that of his lamented father, one of uprightness and honor 
in all journalistic affairs. His only other business relation is as director of the 
Artisans' Building and Loan Association, of which he has been vice-president 
and is now a director. Mr. Wagner is a member of Schiller Lodge, No. 345, 
F. and A. M., the Scranton Liederkranz, the German-American Alliance, and 

Mr. Wagner married Minnie Ailen, of Roxbury, New York. Children : 
Frieda E., Mabel J.. Ralph, Grace A., Herbert J. That Mr. Wagner is a 
worthy successor of his honored father is proven by the popularity of the 
journal he publishes. Fitted by experience, in life's prime, and in an age when 
newspapers are a vital force and potent factor in moulding public sentiment, 
his is a great opportunity to stand for the best in our modern day existence, 
cleanliness in social, honor in business, and purity in political circles. 


The Bunnell family of which Willard M. Bunnell, of Scranton, is represen- 
tative, came to Pennsylvania in 1760, Solomon Bunnell, of the fourth Ameri- 
can generation, being the original settler of the family in Pennsylvania. He 
was a great-grandson of William Bunnell, the emigrant ancestor who came 
with his brothers, Solomon and Benjamin, from Cheshire, England, in 1638, 
settling at New Haven, Connecticut. William Bunnell sprang from the 
Norman Knight, William La Bunnell, who came to England with William the 
Conqueror in 1066. From 1638. the date of emigration to America, the Bun- 
nells gained in numbers to such an extent that in 1790, the date of the first 
national census, they were found in every one of the original thirteen colonies. 
The record of the family is thus told by their historians : "Being without excep- 
tion men of character and piety, who used every opportunity to promote educa- 
tion and religion and were the first to adopt a written constitution and to re- 
fuse compensation for public service." 

Four generations of the family, William (I^ ; Benajmin (II) ; Benjamin 


(III) lived in Connecticut; Solomon (IV) leaving there in 1740, settling at 
Kingwood, New Jersey, and in 1760 continuing his migration to Pennsylvania, 
settling in Middle Smithfield, Bucks county, now Monroe county. 

(IV) Gershom Bunnell, also of the fourth generation, son of Benjamin 
Bunnell (III) and brother of Solomon Bunnell, the first of the family in 
Pennsylvania, lived and died in New Haven, Connecticut. He married, in 
1728, Margaret Johnson. 

(V) Joseph Bunnell, fifth of the thirteen children of Gershom Bunnell, 
was a soldier of the French and Indian War and also fought in the Revolu- 
tionary army. He married Abiah Kirby, as patriotic as himself, she being one 
of the' women of Litchfield, Connecticut, who melted the leaden statue of King 
George into bullets for the American troops. During her husband's absence 
in the army, an Indian attack was so feared that for several nights she carried 
her young children to a nearbv field of rye, for additional safety, if such it 
might be called. 

(VI) James Bunnell, son of Joseph Bunnell, the Revolutionary soldier, 
died in Bridgewater, Pennsylvania, August 5, 1841, at the home of his son 
Elijah, and was buried on the latter"s homestead, now owned by Willard M. 
Bunnell, where a suitable stone marks his resting place. He was a black- 
smith and spent most of his life in Connecticut, only spending his latter years 
in Pennsylvania. He married, in 1797. Azuba Carter, born in Susquehanna 
county, Pennsylvania. Children of James and Azuba Bunnell settled in Penn- 
sylvania, New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts and Tennessee. 

(VII) Elijah Bunnell, third child of James Bunnell, was born January 6, 
1803, died September 20, 1873. He was the grandfather of Willard M. Bun- 
nell and the first of his immediate family to settle in Pennsylvania, coming 
from Connecticut to Bridgewater, Suscjuehanna county, in the spring of 1833. 
He erected a suitable dwelling as soon as possible on his farm, now the prop- 
erty of his grandson, Willard M. Bunnell, and used by the latter as a sum- 
mer residence. Elijah Bunnell was the perfect type of a pioneer, str.rdy, strong 
and a noted hunter. In the spring of 1873 he visited his daughter, Lucy J. 
Rogers, in Lawrence, Kansas, was there stricken with a fatal illness, died and 
is there buried. He married Lucy Stone, daughter of .Apollos and Eunice 
(Throop) Stone, of Litchfield county, Connecticut, and two of their six chil- 
dren died yotnig. 

(\^III) William Bunnell, second son of Elijah Bunnell, was born in Con- 
necticut, February 27, 1829, died February 7, 1898. He was four years of 
age when his parents settled in Bridgewater, Pennsylvania, where he obtained 
a good education, finishing under the instruction of Dr. Lyman Richardson, 
of Hartford, Pennsylvania, a noted early educator. Mr. Bunnell taught 
school, but from 1854 to 1858 was engaged as salesman, making several trips 
through the southern states. After his marriage he engaged in farming and 
merchandising, and in 1881, with two partners, established the National Record, 
at Montrose, Pennsylvania, which they edited as the organ of the Greenback 
party. He was one of the founders of Montrose Grange, Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, was one of the promotors of the Montrose branch of the Lehigh Val- 
ley Railroad and throughout his entire life was a useful and public-spirited 
citizen. He married, December 21, 1858, Mary Jane Maine, daughter of 
Isaiah and Polly May (Williams) Maine. 

(IX) Willard Maine Bunnell, youngest of the four children of William 
and Mary Jane (Maine) Bunnell, was born at Dimock, Susquehanna county, 
Pennsylvania, January 14, 1874. He obtained his early education in the public 
school and prepared for college at Keystone Academy, Factoryville, Penn- 
sylvania. He then entered Bucknell College, whence he was graduated B. A., 



class of 1897. Deciding upon the profession of law, he began legal study 
in the law offices of Willard, Wanen & Knapp at Scranton, continuing until 
after passing the required examinations ; he was admitted to the Lackawanna 
county bar, February i, 1899. He has since then been engaged in the practice 
of his profession, in the public service, and as vice-president and trust officer of 
the Anthracite Trust Company of Scranton. He was elected in igo6 prothono- 
tary of Lackawanna county, serving with such acceptability that in 1909 he 
was elected for a second term of three years, enjoying the distinction of being 
the only Democrat ever elected to that ofifice in the county. 

Mr. Bunnell, aside from his professional and official duties, has always 
found time for social, philanthropic, fraternal and club activities. He is a 
member of a number of German and other singing societies, being himself 
gifted with fine musical ability. He is also a member of St. Luke's Protestant 
Episcopal Church, and a director of the Young Men's Christian Association, 
an institution of which Scranton is justly proud, theirs being the finest build- 
ing owned by the association in the state,, also a director of the board of as- 
sociated charities. He is also a trustee of Keystone Academy and gives these 
institutions a great amount of his time and best effort. He holds active 
membership in Peter Williamson Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Lacka- 
wanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Scranton Council, Royal and Select 
Masters; Coeur de Lion Commandery, Knights Templar; Irem Temple, Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine ; James A. Connell Lodge, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows ; Fairview Lodge, Knights of Pythias ; Scranton Lodge, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks ; Knights of the Mystic Shrine, and is lieutenant 
commander of the Uniform Rank Patriotic Order Sons of America. He is 
president of the Automobile Association of Scranton and thoroughly enjoys 
the delights of touring the rural regions of his section and state. The fore- 
going gives one an idea of the all around activity of Mr. Bunnell. Diligent 
in business, he yet fulfills all his obligations as a citi;:en and neighbor; is 
popular with his friends "whose name is legion," and stands as a true type of 
virile American manhood. 

Mr. Bunnell married, December i, 1897, Margaret Irene Walls, daughter 
of George W. and Ventilia Irene (Snyder) Walls, of Lewisburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, and is a great-granddaughter of Simon Snyder, former governor of the 
State of Pennsylvania. She descends from patriotic ancestors and holds mem- 
bership in Shikillemy Chapter, Daughters of the .American Revolution, of 
Lewisburg. Children: William Kirby, died in infancy: Walls Willard; Philip 

The summer home of the Bunnells is the old Bunnell homestead near Mont- 
rose, which Willard M. Bunnell purchased from his sister who inherited it 
from her paternal uncle, Kirby Bunnell. The farm is the meeting place of 
the Bunnell clan, who there gather in great numbers in annual reunion. Their 
city home is at No. 410 Clay avenue, Scranton. 


Three generations of Carters have been born in West Auburn township, 
Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, descendent of Hiram Carter of Con- 
necticut, great-grandfather of Levv'is B. Carter, the able lawyer and successful 
real estate dealer of Scranton. Hiram Carter came from Connecticut, about 
the year 1800, and was one of the earliest settlers in South Auburn where he 
cleared, planted and hunted. He was a famous hunter, the many wild creatures 
then inhabiting the forest giving him abundant opportunity to display his skill. 
He carved a farm and home from the wilderness and, although his many chil- 


dren were cradled in a bed hewn from a sap log, they grew up sturdy and self- 
reliant, worthy pioneer sons and daughters. 

(I) Daniel Carter, son of the pioneer, was born in Auburn township, one 
of a family of seven sons and two daughters. He lived the early life of a 
pioneer boy and spent his life in his native township, becoming a farmer and 

(II) Griswold Carter, son of Daniel Carter, was born in Auburn township, • 
August II, 1841, died April i, 1904. He was a farmer all his life, an active 
member of the Patrons of Husbandry, and a landowner. He was a man of 
bright intellect and education, mingling prominently in township affairs, serv- 
ing as school director, poor commissioner and township auditor. He was a 
prominent member of the Methodist Episcopal Qiurch, which he served in 
official capacity. He was also a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. He married Susan N., daughter of Daniel N. Seeley, of Brooklyn, 
Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania. 

(III) Lewis B. Carter, son of Griswold and Susan N. (Seeley) Carter, 
was born in Auburn township, Susquehanna county. May 4, 1870. He grew 
to youthful manhood at the home farm obtaining in the township schools, a 
good public school education. He taught school for four winter terms in his 
native county, then entered State College, working his way through, not only 
paying his own expenses, but leaving college with a surplus. He was honor 
man of his class and was graduated B. S., class of 1896. Having finished his 
classical course with honor he at once began the study of law, first under the 
direction of Watson & Zimmennan, later under Willard, Warren & Knapp of 
Scranton. He was admitted to the Lackawanna county bar, August 14, 1899, 
and at once established an office in Scranton, devoting himself to general prac- 
tice and so continuing until 1903, since which date he has made a specialty of 
the law of corporations and real estate. At the same time he began the ex- 
tensive promoting and real estate operations that have placed him foremost 
among the leaders in that field. During the years 1903-1905. he promoted the 
Scranton, Factoryville and Tunkhannock Railroad, which later was merged 
with the Northern Electric Railroad : the Sunbury and Selinsgrove Electric 
Railway and the Summit Land Company, a very successful company, handling 
the Clark's Summit tract and other suburban property. Of this latter com- 
pany, Mr. Carter is secretary. In 1908 he financed and built the Luther Apart- 
ment House; in 1910, 191 1 and 1912, the Carter .\partments of twenty- four 
suites in main building; in 1913, the Carter Apartments .\nne.x of three suites 
and store. In the spring of 1913, Mr. Carter formed with Andrew R. Muir 
the firm of Carter and Muir, to conduct a law, real estate and insurance busi- 
ness, of which firm he is the senior member. In December, 1913, his firm 
financed and promoted the Black Walnut Poultry & Stock Farm^ Company at 
Black Walnut. Pennsylvania, also Walnut Park, a fine summer resort at Black 
Walnut, Pennsylvania. An indefatigable worker with keen business instinct, 
mind and body ever alert, the success of Mr. Carter, while phenomonal even 
in Scranton, is not a matter of surprise. The qualities he possesses must ever 
win, when backed by a clean life and an honest ambition. Whether he be con- 
sidered as lawyer, promoter or business man, he meets every requirement and 
the future holds for him nothing but bright promise. 

To turn to the military career of Mr. Carter, is to reveal another ad- 
mirable side to his character. He drilled with the Cadet Battalion five years, 
closing his senior year as captain of Company D. and in July, 1896, was ap- 
pointed brevet second lieutenant National Guard of Pennsylvania. When 
President McKinley called on Pennsylvania for men at the outbreak of the 
Spanish War, he enlisted in Company A, Thirteenth Regiment, and on April 


zy, 1898, marched away with the regiment. He saw only camp and marching 
service at Mount Gretna, Pennsylvania, Falls Church, Virginia, and Camp 
Young near Harrisburg, but later was sent to Savannah, Georgia, where he 
was mustered out March 7, 1899. In January, 1901, he reenlisted in Com- 
pany A, Thirteenth Regiment, National Guard, and on April 4, 1901, was ap- 
pointed inspector of rifle practice on the staff of Colonel L. A. Watres, with 
the rank of first lieutenant, serving until 1904. He built up the rifle record 
of the Thirteenth Regiment to a height that surpassed all other regiments of 
the guard. He caused to be built a regimental indoor rifle range and an out- 
door range at Rocky Glen, and during his official term the rifle team from the 
Thirteenth won two permanent trophies for excellence of marksmanship in 
competition, and the title of the champion rifle team of the Pennsylvania Na- 
tional Guard in 1902. This team also took honorable rank in all the United 
States rifle team matches at Sea Girt, New Jersey. In 1904, Captain Carter's 
commission expired and he retired from military service. He was one of the 
organizers and is trustee of General J. P. S. Goebin Camp, No. 41, U. S. W. V. 
Both he and his wife are members of Elm Park Methodist Episcopal Church, 
active in the Sunday school, and she in the Woman's Home Missionary So- 
ciety, of which she is recording secretary. In political faith he is independent. 
Mr. Carter married, June 25, 1907, Mae Hughes, daughter of Luther M. 
Jones, and granddaughter of Benjamin Hughes of the Delaware. Lackawanna 
& Western Railroad, through whose efforts so many Welsh emigrants were 
brought to settle in the Lackawanna Valley. Mr. Carter's home. No. 331 Col- 
fax avenue, erected by Mr. Carter in 1907, is one of the many f:ne residences 
of Scranton. 


The eighth generation of a famous New England family, whose mem- 
bers were among the earliest in Connecticut, and whose immigrant ancestor 
was one of the first settlers of Windsor, Connecticut, Charles Harvey Pond, 
of Scranton, belongs to one of the oldest families in the country. 

The only son of Alvin Porter and Emeline Thirza (Clark) Pond, was born 
at .Southington, Connecticut, Decernber 15, 1847. He attended the public 
schools of his native town and Lewis Academy, also located in Southington, 
and when eighteen years of age began his business career in the employ of 
the hardware firm of George B. Curtiss & Company, of New York. In 1868 
he was employed at Bristol, Connecticut, in the interest of the same company, 
and in February, 1869, returned to the place of his birth in the service of the 
Aetna Nut Company, as bookkeeper and secretary, holding this position until 
1873, when he went to Ohio in the employ of the Gerard Rolling Mill Com- 
pany at Gerard, Ohio, and in 1874 became the junior member of the firm of 
Taylor, Mitchell & Pond, at Massilon, Ohio, manufacturers of merchant iron 
and "T" rails, both traveling in the interests of the firm and also attending to 
the office routine. 

After five years he again returned to Southington and was employed by J. 
B. Savage for the manufacture of forgings. The seat of the business was re- 
moved to Scranton in 1887, because of the greater advantages in the way of 
fuel and shipping facilities, and was incorporated as the Scranton Forging 
Company. The factory was supplied with the most modern of appliances in 
the way of equipment, drop and trip hammers, which were installed, accomplish- 
ing work formerly done by hand. The first official arrangement was with 
Mr. Savage as president, and Mr. Pond, secretary and manager of the com- 
pany, but in i8go, Mr. Pond succeeded to the presidency and has since been 


the head of the corporation, which has increased in size and importance until 
it is now one of Scranton's prominent and flourishing industries. In addition 
to the business of his founding, Mr. Pond is financially interested in various 
other corporations, and holds position upon the directorates of several in- 
stitutions and organizations, among them the North Scranton Bank. He is 
active in the councils of the Scranton Board of Trade, and is a member of 
the Green Ridge Club, also belonging to the New England Society of North- 
eastern Pennsylvania, of which he is ex-president. For twelve years he was 
treasurer of the Green Ridge Presbyterian Qiurch, and for many years was a 
trustee of the same, of which he is still a member. His political faith is 

A successful business man, Mr. Pond does not confine himself so closely to 
the relations of business but that he finds time to discharge the duties of a good 
citizen. He is a prime factor in all the projects of the board of trade and other- 
wise labors to add to the prosperity of the city that he has made his home, and 
which, by the advantages it ofifers, has added so materially to his prosperity. 

Mr. Pond married, December 15, 1874, Harriet I. Finch, born at South- 
ington. Connecticut, December 16, 1850, daughter of Samuel H. and Helen 
(Lee) Finch. Children: i. Harry Orlo, born at Massilon, Ohio, October 15, 
1875; associated with his father in business; married, October 5, lyii, Helen 
M. Heimbach, of Scranton. 2. Charles Wilcox, born at Southington, Febru- 
ary 4, 1879, died January 24, 1900. in Scranton. 


Charles H. Welles is a descendant of tlie old Welles family of Connecti- 
cut, and the pioneer Gay family of the Wyoming Valley, Pennsylvania, and 
son of Charles H. and Sarah (Gay) Welles. 

Charles H. Welles Jr. was born in Dundaff. Susquehanna county, Penn- 
sylvania, April 16, 1845. He obtained his preliminary education in the public 
schools and his final academic instruction at Luzerne Institute at Wyoming, 
although his studies of a legal nature continued for some time thereafter, first 
under Samuel Sherrerd, of Scranton, and finally in the office of Hand & Post. 
His admission to the bar of Lackawanna county was granted, after a successful 
examination in February, 1867, and to that of Luzerne county in the following 
month. His practice has always been in Scranton. In 1869 he became clerk 
of the mayor's court. The law firm of Welles & Torrey, of which he is the 
senior member, was organized in 1898, the junior partner being James H. 
Torrey, an eminent legal light. The firm continued to the present time, al- 
though three of their sons have been admitted as partners, the partnership 
now comprising a quintet of Welles and Torreys, one of the best reputed firms 
in the region, supplying the legal needs of a large practice. 

Mr. Welles has confined himself exclusively to civil practice, being minutely 
exact in his knowledge of legal precedent and processes. He has been admitted 
to all the state and federal courts of bis district and is a member of the County 
and State Bar associations. His religious connection is with the Second Pres- 
byterian Church, and in its organization he fills the position of elder. A lawyer 
of high reputation and a churchman of recognized worth, Mr. Welles is also 
keenly alive to the needs and requirements of this city, meeting his share of the 
burden with the willingness of a good citizen. 

Mr. Welles married, October 20, 1869, Hannah B. Sherrerd. He has four 
children, the second, Charles H. (3), a member of the firm of Welles & Torrev. 



Although not a native born son of Scranton, Mr. Wollerton is identified 
with important financial institutions of the city and is one of her loyal friends 
and supporters. He comes from a Chester county family, adiierents of the 
Society of Friends, they coming to that county from the town of Hicklin, Not- 
tinghamshire, England, at a date not fixed. The first marriage of record in the 
family was of Charles Wollerton, who married Jane Chilcot in Concord Meet- 
ing, 3rd mo. 18 day, 1726. The line of descent is through their son John, his 
son William ( i ) to William (2), father of Frederick W. Wollerton. 

William (2) Wollerton was prominent in the public and business life of 
Chester county. In 1851 he was elected prothonotary of the countv. and in 
1856 Associate Judge, serving in both positions with honor. In business life 
he was best known as the able president of the First National Bank of West 
Chester, one of the solid financial institutions of the county. He married 
Olivia Work, who died in 1891 ; he surviving her until 1898. 

Frederick W. Wollerton, son of William (2) and Olivia (Work) Woller- 
ton, was born in West Chester, Pennsylvania, August 24, 1854. He began 
business life as office boy in the First National Bank of which his honored 
father was president and passed through every grade of service in that institu- 
tion until finally he became cashier. In 1902 he resigned to accept a similar 
position with the Traders' National Bank of Scranton, later resigning that ofifice 
to aid in organizing the Union National Bank of the same city. He was 
chosen its first vice-president and cashier, holding this dual office until he laid 
down the latter, now (1914) being vice-president and member of the board of 
directors. He is also a director of the First National Bank of Factoryville, 
director of the Old Forge Discount and Deposit Bank, director of the Scran- 
ton Life Insurance Company and of the Scranton and Binghamton Railroad 
Company. He is independent in political action, but a man interested in all 
that pertains to the public good. He is fond of outdoor life and sports, iiar- 
ticularly golf, being one of the enthusiasts of the Scranton Cour.try Club. He 
belongs to the Scranton Country and Bicycle clubs of Scranton, the West 
Chester Club of West Chester, the Waverly Country and the Hazleton Country 
clubs, taking active interest in all. 

Mr. Wollerton married Josephine Brinton Thompson, of Philadelphia, 
and has an only child, Martha I3rinton Wollerton. 


Edward J. Lynett, editor and proprietor of The Scranton Times, and who 
has made for himself a notable record in the field of journalism, as head of 
one of the most influential newspapers of Pennsylvania, was born in Dun- 
more, Lackawanna county, July 15, 1857. 

His father, William Lynett, was born in county Sligo, Ireland, in 1820, 
and came to America in his sixteenth year. For a time he resided in New 
York, thence removing to the Dunmore settlement, near Scranton, where he 
lived upwards of fifty years and until his death. He was a competent and 
successful mining contractor. A man of good practical education and business 
ability, he was influential in the community and was called to various public 
positions, serving as school director and treasurer, and borough treasurer. He 
was a Democrat in politics, and wielded a potent influence. He married Cath- 
erine Dowd, and their children were: Ann, who became the wife of Thomas 
F. Cawley, of Dunmore; Margaret, who died in infancy; Mary, deceased wife 
of D. F. Boland, of Scranton; Edward J., of whom further; Catherine, who 


became the wife of Thomas N. Cullen, of Scranton ; Margaret, unmarried; 
Ellen, who was a teacher in the Scranton pubHc schools, and died unmarried. 
William Lynett died in 1891, his wife surviving until November 20. i8g6. 

Edward J. Lynett was educated in the borough schools and the Millersville 
State Normal School. His first work was in a coal breaker, but his abilities 
were soon recognized, and at the age of sixteen he became deputy clerk in 
the mayor's court, in which position he served acceptably for a period of three 
years ending with the abolition of the court. He subsequently spent a year 
in law studies in the offices of D. W. and J. F. Connolly. His predilection, 
however, was for journalism, in which field he was destined to become emin- 
ently useful and successful. Taking employment as a reporter on The 
Scranton Free Press, a Sunday publication, he developed marked ability, and 
was soon made editor and manager, and served in this twofold capacity until 
October 10, 1895, when he purchased The Scranton Times, of which he has 
been owner and responsible editor to the present time. On becoming owner, 
Mr. Lynett devoted all his energies to the development of The Times, and its 
character, circulation and prestige steadily advanced. In 1901 more ample 
quarters became necessary, and Mr. Lynett erected the present Times Building, 
in which he installed a complete newspaper and job printing equipment, in all 
respects adequate for every modern need. Beginning with The Times when 
its circulation was a scant three thousand, the smallest of any paper in the city, 
he advanced it to 40,000 copies, more than that of all other city newspapers 
combined. Such success affords ample evidence of Mr. Lynett's possession 
of every quality necessary to a leader in journalism in a peculiarly insistent day 
— literary ability, integrity of purpose, and business ability. Honest and fear- 
less, even aggressive when need be, he has at all times championed the in- 
terests of the people at large, defending them in their rights and earnestly con- 
tending for the remedying of their wrongs. His public spirit has constantly 
been reflected in The Times in the initiation and furtherance of various salu- 
tary measures and enterprises, and with entire unselfishness he has ever heart- 
ily seconded every laudable effort to similar ends, no matter by whom conceived 
or urged. While the material reward has not been meagre, his greatest pride 
is, in the true spirit of the conscientious journalist, that he is recognized as the 
maker of a clean, honest and well appreciated newspaper, the most popular 
and most liberally supported in the city. 

While The Times is his first care, Mr. Lynett has given useful personal 
service to the community in various capacities. He was for three years a mem- 
ber of the Dunmore borough school board : burgess of Dunmore borough for 
two years ; was for thirteen years secretary of the Scranton poor district ; 
member of the mine cave commission, 191 1- 13 ; and for several years a director 
of the Associated Charities of Scranton. He is vice-president of the Dime 
Savings Bank : president of the Paragon Plaster Company ; and is interested in 
several other industrial and commercial companies. A Democrat in politics, 
he has attended many party conventions ; he was also a delegate from his con- 
gressional district in the Democratic national conventions of 1900 and 190S, 
and a delegate-at-large in that of 1912. He is a communicant of St. Peter's 
Roman Catholic Church ; was a delegate to the National Catholic Congress held 
in Chicago in 1893 ; and is connected actively with various societies affiliated with 
the church — the Catholic Club, Holy Name Society, and the Knights of Co- 
lumbus. He is also a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Scranton Press Club, and the Scranton Club. 

Mr. Lynett married, September 30, 1896. Nellie A. Ruddy, daughter of 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Nallin) Ruddy, her father a merchant of Scranton. 
Children: William R., born September 10, 1899; Elizabeth R.. June 23, 1903: 


Edward J. Jr., July 25, 1906. The oldest son, William R., is a student at St. 
Thomas College ; the other children attend the public schools. 


The Burkes, old time residents of Pennsylvania, are represented in Scran- 
ton by Edward A. Burke, the young, enterprising and capable member of the 
banking firm of E. A. Burke & Company. 

Edward A. Burke is a son of Michael J. and Bridget A. (Faddeu) Burke, 
of Carbondale and Scranton. Michael J. Burke was for many years proprietor 
of the Eureka House on Diamond avenue, and of the "Palace" on Lackawanna 
avenue. He died in 1901, aged forty-four years 

Edward A. Burke was born in Chicago, Illinois, .September 20, 1882. He 
came to Scranton when a child with his parents and there has passed his subse- 
quent life. He was educated at the Saint Cecelia Academy, and began busi- 
ness life as a stenographer with I. F. Megargel, the first investment banker 
to establish an office in Scranton. Mr. Megarge! was succeeded in business 
by his son, Roy C. Megargel, Mr. Burke retaining the same position under the 
son and his successors, as under the father and founder. He became thor- 
oughly familiar with the investment business, mastering its every intricacy and 
detail, fitting himself by experience and knowledge to conduct a similar business 
for himself. In May, 1907, he formed the firm of E. A. Burke & Company, 
investment bankers, now located in successful business on the ground floor of 
the Traders National Bank Building. The firm make a speciality of bank 
stocks and of all northeastern Pennsylvania securities, both stocks and bonds. 
Mr. Burke has established a reputation among investors as a wise, careful and 
judicious adviser and holds the confidence of a large clientele of investors. 
He has been identified with the Northern Electric Street Railway since its 
inception, assisting the company to finance the road through sale of bonds. The 
phenomenal success of the road is well known and it has returned substantial 
profits. He is a member of the Scranton Board of Trade and the Scranton 
Club, taking active part in both. He has not only built up a good business on 
solid principles, but has made for himself a host of business and social friends, 
and is rated one of the rising young business men of the city which has been 
his home since childhood. 

Edward A. Burke married Anna, daughter of J. S. Rambo, of Norristovvn, 
Pennsylvania. He has one daughter, Nancy. The family home of the Burkes 
is at the Florence Apartments. 


The Sinn family is an old one in Pennsylvania, having been seated there 
for seven generations. The paternal ancestry of the family is German and the 
name, with precisely the same spelling, persists in the German language to the 
present time. The maternal ancestry traces to England. Chester county has 
been the place of residence of all of the name ever since the arrival of the emi- 
grant, Andrew C. Sinn, he being the first of the line to leave the immediate lo- 
cality when he moved to Philadelphia in 1840 and there established a dry goods 
business. He continued in this line until he was sixty years of age, when he 
retired, accepting the presidency of the Merchants' National Bank, of Philadel- 
phia, to which he devoted all of his time and talents during his remaining years. 
He was a member of the Masonic Order and was past master of Perkins Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Philadelphia. He married Sarah Ann Pierce, 
daughter of George Pierce, of Chester county, Pennsylvania. 


Joseph A. Sinn, son of Andrew C. and Sarah Ann (Pierce) Sinn, was born 
in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, October 17, 1854. His preliminary education 
was obtained in the public schools of Philadelphia and his college training in 
the law department of the University of Pennsylvania, whence he was grad- 
uated LL. D. in the class of 1875. He engaged in the general practice of law 
until 1866, when he was retained as trust officer of the City Trust Safe Deposit 
and Surety Company, of Philadelphia, later becoming vice-president of the 
same institution. In 1906 he was elected president of the Surety Underwriters 
Association, of Philadelphia, and in that year severed his connection with the 
former company. His presidency of the Underwriters Association continued 
until 1908, when he came to Scranton, accepting the vice-presidency of the 
Title Guaranty and Surety Company and the managership of the Surety de- 
partment, an office he holds at the present time. Mr. Sinn is a member of the 
Board of Trade and an earnest advocate of any measures tending toward the 
ultimate benefit of his recently adopted city. He belongs to the Scranton Club, 
the Country Club, the Underwriters Club, of New York, and the Union 
League, of Philadelphia. 

Mr. Sinn married Ella T. Wise, daughter of Jacob Wise, of Philadelphia, 
and has three children: Clarence Wise, of New York City; Francis P., super- 
intendent of the New Jersey Zinc Works at Palmerton, Pennsylvania ; Esthei' 


The Kellys trace to an ancient Irish ancestry. John Kelly, father of Judge 
John P. Kelly, was born in county Down, Ireland, and there grtvi' to youthful 
manhood, coming to the United States when twenty years of age. He was 
employed by the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company, at their brick yard in 
Scranton from 1850 until about 1853, when he established in Olyphant, Penn- 
sylvania, as a brick manufacturer, having thoroughly learned the business from 
his first employers. He continued in successful business in Olyphant for sev- 
eral years, then moved to Dickson, Pennsylvania, remaining there until 1873, 
when he moved to Scranton, where he was proprietor of a hotel in Providence 
for many years. He died in April, 1906, at the age of eightv-one years. In his 
younger years he took an active part in politics. He married Ella Downey. 

Judge John P. Kelly, son of John and Ella f Downey) Kelly, was born 
in what is now the borough of Olyphant, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, 
January 30, 1862. His mother died when he was young, leaving the 
care of the lad to his father, who never remarried, and his older brother and 
sisters. He was educated in the public schools, passing through the various 
grades and being graduated from Scranton High School, class of 1879. He 
had formed an ambition for the law, and soon after graduation he entered 
the law offices of Aretus H. Winton and John B. Collings, as a law student. 
After thorough preparation he was admitted to the bar of Lackawanna county, 
April 23, 1883. Soon after his admission he entered the office of John F. Con- 
nolly, then district attorney of Lackawanna county. He continued as Mr. 
Connolly's assistant in the district attorney's office until 1886, when the lat- 
ter's term expired. They practiced law together, but not as partners, for two 
years. In January, 1888, Mr. Kelly formed a partnership with Joseph O'Brien, 
as O'Brien & Kelly, an association that continued until the election of Mr. 
Kelly as district attorney, and at the expiration of his term he was elevated to 
the bench. In 1891 he was elected district attorney of Lackawanna county on 
the Democratic ticket, serving most creditably for one term, being defeated 
for re-election by the great land slide that swept about every Democrat in 


Pennsylvania out of office. He resumed private practice, and as junior of the 
firm of O'Brien & Kelly, became well known as a learned, aggressive and 
successful lawyer. He was admitted to all state and federal courts of the dis- 
trict, the firm having important cases in all. Mr. Kelly continued in successful 
practice until 1900. acquiring high reputation as a learned and able lawyer. 
On April 14, 1900, he was appointed judge of the Court of Common Pleas, 
to succeed Judge Gunster, deceased. In the fall of 1900 he was regularly 
elected judge to serve the full term of ten years. His career upon the bench 
was an honorable one and continued without interruption until January 1, 
1908, when he voluntarily resigned, laying aside his judicial honors to return 
to the private practice of his profession. He again became a partner of the 
law firm of O'Brien & Kelly and, has so continued, honored, respected and 
popular. As attorney he has been connected with many important cases, while 
as a judge he was called upon to decide many intricate legal questions out 
of the ordinary. He gained a high reputation for judicial fairness in his hear- 
ing of cases and left the bench with the good will and respect of the entire 
bar. As an advocate he is eloquent and forcible, using his deep knowledge of 
the law and his powers of oratory with telling effect in his pleadings. He is 
aggressive in his legal fights, but eminently fair to an opponent, winning his 
cases by preponderance of evidence and masterly presentation of his carefully 
prepared attacks and defences. 

A lifelong Democrat, Judge Kelly has ever been active in political affairs. 
In November, 1888, he was the successful candidate of his party for the 
legislature from the first district of Lackawanna county, serving his full term 
with honor. He is the father of the bill, which largely does away with con- 
tested election cases, and aided in the passage of much useful legislation 
passed during his term of office. 

Judge Kelly married Theresa E., daughter of Daniel B. Brair.ard, deceased, 
a one time owner of the Saint Charles Hotel in Scranton. Children : Louise, 
Marion, Margaret, Elizabeth. The family home is at No. 920 Olive street, 
the office of O'Brien & Kelly, Nos. 510-515 Mears Building. 


To James Albert Lansing, the prominent stove manufacturer of Scranton, is 
accorded the unusual ancestral distinction of a descent of nine generations, 
both maternally and paternally, from the two races which, more than any 
others, played a conspicuous part in the development of the American continent, 
who founded the strongest legal codes, fostered the deepest religious convic- 
tions, and built up the most flourishing and permanent communities in the 
new world — the English and Dutch. The progenitor of the branch of the 
family of which James Albert Lansing is a member was Gerrit Frederick Lan- 
sing, whose father, Frederick Lansing, was a native of the village of Hassel, 
Province of Overyssel, Holland. He came to America with his six children 
in 1650. settling in New Amsterdam, then governed by the man so famous in 
history, Peter Stuyvesant, who, in the exercise of his authority made himself 
so odious to the colonists that he earned, beside their cordial dislike, the sobri- 
quet, "Peter the Headstrong." A singular trait of family constancy is found 
in the fact that since the first pulpit of the first Dutch Reformed church in 
America was set up (an article of church furniture brought from Holland") 
there has constantly been a Lansing in the consistory of the historic church at 
Albany, New York, the house of worship attended by Theodore Roosevelt 
while he was governor of the State of New York and residing in Albany. 

The line of descent from the immigrant ancestor of the family to James Al- 


bert Lansing is traced as follows: Gerrit Lansing (i), father of Hendrick G. 
(2), father of Jacob (3), the first of the line on American soil. Jacob Lansing 
married Helena, daughter of Frans Janse and Alida Pruyn. Their son Hen- 
drick (4), born December i, 1703, married Annetye, daughter of Isaac and 
Mayke (Van Nes) Onderkirk, of Kinderhook. At the death of his wife 
Hendrick married second Metty, daughter of Abraham Onderkirk. Jacob H. 
(5), third son of Hendrick and Annetye (Onderkirk) Lansing, was born April 
4, 1742. died in Watervliet (now Cohoes), New York, February 7, 1826. He 
married, in 1763, Maria, daughter of Johannes and Helen (Fonda) Onderkirk. 
William (6), youngest child and only son of Jacob H. and Maria (Onderkirk) 
Lansing, was born May 12, 1774, in Cohoes, died in Mayfield, New York, Jan- 
uary 23, 1853. He married Alida Fonda. Jacob W. (7), was born in Cohoes, 
September 7, 1795, died November 5, 1848; married Helena Wynkoop. Their 
son, William J., was the father of James Albert Lansing. 

The ancestry of Mr. Lansing in the maternal American line antedates the 
paternal, and has a more stirring record, replete with patriotic deeds. Almira 
Smith (Cornwall) Lansing, wife of William J. Lansing, was descended from 
William Cornwall, a native of England, who emigrated from his native land 
in the early part of the seventeenth century. He and his wife, Joan, are on 
record as having joined the church at Roxbury, Massachusetts, in 1633. In 
May of the same year he was one of a band of seventy-seven soldiers, who, in 
revenge for constant depredations, attacked and nearly exterminated the tribe 
of Pequot Indians in their fort at Mystic, Connecticut. He was later, in 1654, 
1664, and 1665, a representative to the colonial legislature of Connecticut from 
Middletown. His son John was a sergeant in the militia at Bunker HilL 
Benjamin, son of John, was one of fourteen volunteers who enlisted from 
Middletown in the expedition against Canada in 1707. It is recorded that he 
left an estate valued at nine thousand pounds. His son Cornelius, born in 
1722, was a lieutenant in the militia, served in the French and Indian War 
and participated in the siege of Quebec, under General Wolfe, in 1759. Ashbel, 
son of Cornelius, was born in ^liddletown in 1754. He was a private in the 
Revolution in 1775, fought in the battle of Bunker Hill, served with Benedict 
Arnold in the expedition against Montreal, and was captain in the War of 
1812-1814, marching with his company from Middletown, Connecticut, to 
Sacketts Harbor, New York. His old powder horn is now in possession 
of Mr. Lansing. Ashbel, son of Captain Ashbel Cornwall, was born in Mid- 
dletown, Connecticut, in 1784, died in 1868, and was the father of Almira 
Smith Cornwall, who became the wife of William J. Lansing and the mother 
of James Albert Lansing. 

William J. Lansing, was born in Cohoes, New York, August 12, 1818, died 
in Champion, New York. January 29, 1864. He was a carriage maker by 
occupation, a man of sterling integrity. Throughout his entire life he was 
an exemplary adherent to the faith of his forefathers, and an attendant of 
their church, the Dutch Reformed. Early in life a supporter of the Whig 
party, his antipathy to human servitude made him an uncompromising Aboli- 
tionist. At the formation of the Republican party, he allied himself there- 
with, and cast his vote for John C. Fremont, its first presidential candidate, 
casting his last ballot for Abraham Lincoln. He married Almira Smith Corn- 
wall, born in Broadalbin, New York. 

James Albert Lansing, son of William J. and Almira Smith (Cornwall) 
Lansing, was born in Montague, Lewis county. New York, October 17, 1851, 
Until he was thirteen years of age he attended the public schools, and at- 
tracted by the school room, made excellent use of his opportunity for study. 
At that age he left home to support himself, a task to which he set himself 



with all of the energy and enthusiasm that has been so conspicuous in what- 
ever he has attempted. For two years he did a man's work on a neighboring 
farm, attending school for about two months in the middle of the winter, 
when the weather was so inclement as to make outside labor impossible. He 
then apprenticed himself to a tinsmith, under whom he so thoroughly mastered 
his trade that, at the completion of his apprenticeship, his preceptor, then 
his employer, offered to admit him into equal partnership in the business. 
While grateful for the friendly interest shown and the generosity of the prop- 
osition, inasmuch as he was without funds, Mr. Lansing decided to enter the 
stove business as a traveling salesman. By this decision he entered into a line 
in which he has achieved fortune and distinction, and was diverted both from 
a tinsmith's life and that of a lawyer, the latter having always been his 
favorite profession and one for which he had done some private preparatory 

Mr. Lansing's connection with Scranton and her interests began in Febru- 
ary, 1882, when, in partnership with A. C. Fuller, he purchased a controlling 
interest in the Scranton Stove Works, an industry founded in 1866 by several 
of the citizens of Scranton who formed the circle of business men most prom- 
inent in the city's enterprises. Colonel J. A. Price, J. J. Albright, J. Curtis 
Piatt, H. S. Pierce, J. A. Linen, and William Connell. After the death of 
Colonel Price, Mr. Lansing succeeded to the presidency of the company and 
has held that office to the present time. During his regime a new plant, with 
an output three times as large as the old foundry, has been built, and the loca- 
tion moved from West Lackawanna avenue to its present advantageous site. 
Additions have been made from time to time, until the Scranton Stove Works 
is the most extensive exclusively stove manufactory in the east and one of the 
largest in the world. The principal product is the celebrated Dockash brand 
of stoves and ranges, whose reputation is country wide, and which are shipped 
to nearly every foreign country. 

Although a very busy man, Mr. Lansing contrives to give a great deal of 
his time to interests outside of his own, although the task of directing such 
a mammoth industry as his would more than occupy the time of an ordinary 
man. He was one of the original directors of the Scranton Bolt and Nut 
Company, and is now a director of the Scranton Knitting Mill and the Scran- 
ton Hardware Company. In the public service he has also measured up 
to the obligations of a citizen with the best good of his community at heart 
and has given liberally of his time and service to his city. For six years he 
was a member of the select council and was a member of the sinking fund 
commission for several years after Scranton received its rating as a city of 
the second class. The capacity in which he has been able to render the most 
important services to the city was as president of the board of trade, and as 
member of the manufacturer's committee of the same for the long period 
of eighteen years. He was ever one of the board s most progressive mem- 
bers, abounding in new ideas, and always led on to further endeavors by a 
view of a larger, richer, better Scranton, the equal of the inland manufactur- 
ing cities and a pride to the state. During his presidency of the board its pow- 
ers were enlarged, its influence increased, and many new and now flourishing 
industries encouraged in making the city their home. LTnder Mr. Lansing's 
leadership the board of trade promulgated and brought to a successful con- 
summation a work of nation-wide importance, influence, and benefit, for which 
he and his colleagues received warm and hearty commendations from all parts 
of the country ; that is. Mr. Lansing originated, and the board backed, a 
movement resulting in the passage by Congress of an act providing for the 
establishment of national banks of issue with a capital of $25,000 in towns 


of less than three thousand population. The passage of the bill of our great 
deliberative forum in the form in which it was presented by Mr. Lansing and 
in which it emanated from the board is an eloquent testimonial to the knowl- 
edge of financial conditions of its composer and testifies to the intelligent in- 
terest taken by him in affairs of national importance. Broadminded, he per- 
ceived the beneficial effects of this measure, which led to an appreciation of 
the methods of the national banking system, and its extension of the smaller 
towns in rural districts, a movement which eliminated many private banks, 
instituting in their stead a more stable and uniform chain of banks under 
government supervision. 

The most recent recognition of Mr. Lansing's standing among those 
engaged in stove manufacturing came in the form of his unanimous election 
to the presidency of the National Association of Stove Manufacturers, as- 
sembled in their forty-second annual convention at New York. The associa- 
tion has within its membership nearly every prominent stove manufacturer in 
the United States, representing capital of $75,000,000 and giving employment 
to 25,000 men. His election to the presidency of this association, organized 
for the common benefit of its members, is a marked tribute to the regard in 
which he is nationally held by his associates in business and testifies to his 
value in the councils of the organization. 

Another proof of the amazing versatility of Mr. Lansing is the part b.e 
plays in the religious life of Scranton. He is an elder of the Presbyterian 
church and in the work of the Sabbath school has always assumed a heavy 
load of responsibility, serving in the capacity of superintendent. It is here 
that he has formed connections that will endear him to the hearts of Scranton's 
citizens long after he and his generation have gone to immortal rest. Gentle 
spirited and of a kindly nature, his warm, friendly and sympathetic manner 
has won him many firm and fast friends among the young people of his Sun- 
day school, upon whom the lofty example of his blameless life will leave a 
lasting impression for good. To various benevolent and charitable institu- 
tions he gives cheerful and liberal support. In his private philanthropy he has 
been the agent by which many a man, disheartened and discouraged by the 
"slings and arrows of outrageous fortune," has been lifted from the depths 
of despondency and often much lower levels, and placed upon a plane leading 
upward to higher and better things. Reckless giving, so often adding to the 
degradation of the beneficiary, has had no part in his benevolences, all of the 
favors he bestows having the aim of giving the recipient faith in the powers 
he has lost. His political faith is Republican, and the principles of his party 
he forcefully advocates, holding a firm position on the questions of the day in 
regard to the protection of American industries and commerce. The business 
and social organizations of which Mr. Lansing is a member are the Manu- 
facturers' Club, of Philadelphia ; the Scranton and County Clubs, of Scranton ; 
the New England Society, of Scranton ; the Pennsylvania Society, Sons of 
the Revolution, of Philadelphia, and the Holland Society of New York. 

He married. May 8, 1877, Mary Frances Waters, of Copenhagen, New 
York, daughter of Lyman Twining and Sarah Jane (Shepherd) Waters, both 
descendants of old New England families. They are the parents of one 
daughter, Ruth, born February 14, 1892. 

Of Mr. Lansing's rise to his present important and prominent station, 
mention has been made, as also his devoted service to his church and in be- 
half of his city's welfare. The facts have been cited, and it is only left to 
point to the noble manner in which he has held true to the ideals of his family 
cherished through so many generations, and how, the present day representa- 
tive of illustrious forbears, has proven the steel of his name and brought 


wealth, position, honor, and reputation to lay at the feet of the shrine that 
begat him, the houses of Cornwall and Lansing. 


A resident of Scranton since boyhood, Benjamin E. Watson, after passing 
through various positions, is now the capable secretary and treasurer of the 
Scranton Stove Works, one of the important industrial enterprises of the city. 
He is a son of Charles and Jane (Baxter) Watson, who came to the United 
States on their wedding trip, and to Scranton in about the year 1857. Jane 
Baxter was a member of the Baxter family, famous in Glasgow as book pub- 
lishers, her mother being buried in that city in the Baxter family burial plot. 

Charles Watson was bom in Ayr, Scotland, there grew to manhood, 
learned the carpenter's trade and immediately after his marriage came to the 
United States, settling in Scranton, Pennsylvania. For a time after his loca- 
tion here he followed his trade with the Dickson Manufacturing Company 
and in the car shops of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, after 
which he began business as a contractor and builder. In the latter capacity 
he contracted for and built the wooden portion of all the depots on the Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad between Great Bend and Stroudsburg, 
also the old Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Station in Scranton. He was 
successful as a builder until the burning of his shop and ill health caused him 
to abandon the city and remove to Flemington, New Jersey. There he lived 
retired for a time, doing a little farming. Later in life he returned to Scranton 
where he died in 1893 within a few days of his sixtieth birthday. He was 
reared in the Presbyterian church but was affiliated with the Adams Avenue 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and in New Jersey was superintendent of the 
Sunday school. After his return to Scranton he became a member of the 
Second Presbyterian Church, of which he was an elder. He was a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and in all walks of life was an 
honorable. Christian gentleman. His wife, Jane (Baxter) Watson, died in 
1903 aged seventy-eight years. Children : Charles J., John G., James B., 
George W., Benjamin E., of whom further ; Robert M., deceased. 

Benjamin E. Watson was bom in Flemington, New Jersey, February 9, 
1868. He was educated in the public schools there and in Scranton, finishing a 
high school course. He began business as clerk with the Green Ridge Coal 
Company, but shortly afterward entered the employ of the Scranton Stove 
Works as office assistant. In January, 1893, he was elected a director of the 
company, on January 11, 1896, was elected secretary, and on June 10, 191 1, 
was chosen treasurer, which position he now holds. During these years he 
studied law under the direction of C. R. Bedford, of Scranton, and in Sep- 
tember, 1900, was admitted to the Lackawanna county bar, but has not ac- 
tively practiced his profession. He has given the office management of his 
company his undivided energy, and in that department ranks with the most 
capable of business men. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, 
is active in Sunday school work, serving as assistant superintendent. Mr. 
Watson married, April 21, 1897, Jessie S., daughter of A. H. Coursen, of an 
old Scranton family. Children: Benjamin E. and Catherine A. The family 
home is at No. 709 Madison avenue. 


The Hall family of Rhode Island, a most ancient and honorable one, re- 
mained in New England several generations, Jonathan Hall, great-grandfather 


of Herschel J. Hall, of Scranton, being the first of this branch to settle in 
Pennsylvania. He located at Abington, purchasing land from the government, 
and there spent his after life engaged in farming and lumbering, owning a 
saw mill, converting into lumber the trees cut from his own lands. 

(H) Jabez G. Hall, son of Jonathan Hall, was born in Abington and there 
died in 1883 aged eighty-three years. He was a farmer, and for many years 
was collector of taxes for his township. He married Laura Callender, seven 
of their sons serving in the Union army during the war between the states. 

(HI) Byron G. Hall, son of Jabez G. Hall, was born in Abington in 1837, 
died June 6, 1912. He grew to manhood at the home farm, then for twenty- 
five years engaged in the butcher business, finally returned to his early occupa- 
tion, farming, although he continued to conduct a small meat business. He 
served as burgess for several years, a member of council and school director, 
serving faithfully in every position in which placed. He enlisted in the Union 
army with his six brothers, and was engaged in several skirmishes preceding 
the battle of Gettysburg. He and his family were all members of the Baptist 
church, he serving many years as trustee. He married Catherine Kirkman, 
daughter of John Kirkman, he born in Cornwall, England, his daughter in 
Yonkers, New York ; children : Edward L., Thomas G., Robert B., Herschel J. 

(IV) Herschel J. Hall, youngest son of Byron G. and Catherine (Kirk- 
man) Hall, was born in Scott township, Lackav.'anna county, Pennsylvania, 
May 13, 1865. He attended the public schools of Abington. finishing his 
studies at a business college in Delaware, Ohio. Pie began business life in 
Dickson City, Pennsylvania, holding his first position under John Jermyn, con- 
tinuing with him eighteen months, then for six months was in the employ of 
the Scranton Supply and Machinery Company and with Dale & Company 
about three months. At the expiration of the latter period he began his as- 
sociation with the Scranton Lace Curtain Company, acting first as bookkeeper. 
Two years later the company was reorganized under its present name and 
management, Mr. Hall being advanced to the post of secretary, and in 1913 
was appointed to the additional responsibilities of assistant treasurer. He al;o 
holds these same positions in the Scranton Lace Company, a corporation 
formed to act as selling agents for the factory output of the Scranton Lace 
Curtain Company. He is also a director of the Byxbee Publishing Company, 
of Chicago. Mr. Hall possesses the essential qualities of the modern success- 
ful business man ; has risen to his important position in the business through 
his own force of character and in winning his way has also won the respect 
and esteem of his associates. He is an active member of Abington Baptist 
Church and with his wife is useful in the Sunday school and missionary work 
of the church, he being one of the deacons and the efficient superintendent 
of the Sunday school. Mr. Hall married Rene Shedd, daughter of Walter 
Shedd, of Kankakee, Illinois. 


On arriving from England at an early date the Hicks emigrant settled near 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and later the family located in Columbia county, 
where the name is perpetuated in "Hicks Ferry" established in the year 1800 
by Mahlon Hicks, grandfather of Benjamin B. Hicks, of Scranton, and yet 
in existence. 

Mordecai Millard Hicks, son of Mahlon Hicks, was born at Willow Grove, 
Columbia county, Pennsylvania, died in 1904, aged seventy-two years. Though 
originally of a Quaker family, Mordecai Willard Hicks became a pillar of 
strength in the Methodist Episcopal Church at Willow Grove, serving as steward. 


trustee and for many years as class leader, his wife also being an active church 
worker. He was a farmer all his active years, and an active member of the 
Patrons of Husbandry. He married Harriet M., daughter of William Stahl, 
of Briar Creek, Pennsylvania. Five of their seven children grew to man and 
womanhood : Minnie, married Benjamin F. Hicks ; Alice, married S. W. Kel- 
cher; Samuel H., Benjamin B. ; Susan, married C. H. Kline, of Bloomsburg, 

Benjamin B. Hicks, youngest living son of Mordecai Millard and Harriet 
M. (Stahl) Hicks, was born at Willow Grove, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, 
December 8, 1864. He grew to manhood at the home farm, and obtained a 
good education in the public schools of Willow Grove. He continued his 
father's assistant at the farm until 1884, then left home and spent the follow- 
ing summer at Light Street, Pennsylvania. The next year he entered the 
employ of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company at Ply- 
mouth, Luzerne county, first as a helper in the freight house. In about a year 
he won promotion to the position of baggage master, later being appointed 
assistant ticket agent. In 1890 he came to Scranton as transcript clerk for 
the L'nited States Express Company, later becoming cashier, a position he 
held three years. In 1893 he began his twenty years association with the Third 
Natonal Bank of Scranton, beginning as clerk and bookkeeper. He won his 
way steadily upward until 1909, when he was elected cashier, which respon- 
sible position he now holds. In matters religious, he has not departed from 
the example and early teaching of his honored parents, but is a valued and 
useful member of the Elm Park Methodist Episcopal Church. Active in all 
departments of church work his especial interest has ever been in the Sunday 
school which he has served as assistant superintendent for twenty years. He 
is also a member of the official board, chief usher, collector of pew lents and 
always ready to lend a helping hand whenever needed. His wife is a co- 
worker in the church, active in missionary work, and in women's special de- 
partments. Mr. Hicks is a member of Peter Williamson Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of the Order of Heptasophs. In political faith he has 
always been a Republican. A trusted bank official, an upright citizen, and a 
valued friend, Mr. Hicks has fairly earned the general esteem in which he is 

Mr. Hicks married, September 9, 1891, Lydia M. Shaffer, daughter of 
Samuel U. Shaffer, of Plymouth, Pennsylvania. Children : Millard Utley 
and Harriet Elizabeth. The family home is at No. 220 Colfax avenue, Scran- 


Of English birth and parentage, Mr. Matthews has been a resident of 
Pennsylvania since 1841. when as a child of three years he was brought by 
his parents to Honesdale. Since i860 he has been engaged in business in 
Scranton, where the name is a household word, through the long and active 
business relations of Matthews Brothers and Matthews & Sons. For over 
a half a century Matthews Brothers have been wholesale and retail dealers 
in drugs, paints and oils, one of the original founders of the firm, Charles P. 
Matthews, later withdrawing and is now the head of the wholesale flour, feed 
and grain firm, C. P. Matthews & Sons. The present firm of Matthews 
Brothers, wholesale and retail dealers in drugs, paints and oils, is a corpora- 
tion, Richard J. Matthews selling his interest to a nepliew, Walter L. Mat- 
thews, treasurer of the present company; Charles W. Matthews being presi- 
dent ; both are sons of the original partners, Charles P. and William Matthews, 


which after fifty-six years from its founding passed out of existence as a 
partnership, beginning its corporate existence, February 19, 1913. 

The memory of the oldest inhabitant hardly carries back to a period when 
one of the name of Matthews was not connected with the mercantile interests 
of Scranton, yet Richard J. Matthews, whose career follows, gives no un- 
usual evidence or his years, seventy-five, or of his over half a century of 
active business life, so perfect in his health and so active his mind. 

Robert Matthews and his wife, Ann (Henwood) Matthews, both of Corn- 
wall, England, came to the United States about 1841 with sons, William, 
Charles P., Richard J., and daughter, Elizabeth. He did not come in pursuit 
of fortune, as he was an educated gentleman of means, but rather perhaps 
to give his sons the advantages a new country like this offers to young men. 
He located at Honesdale, Pennsylvania, where he purchased land, engaging in 
its management and operation by tenant farmers or hired labor. 

Richard J- Matthews obtained a good education in public and private 
schools and remained at home in Honesdale until 1858, when he obtained a 
position in a bank in New York and spent about one year in that city. In 
i860 he came to Scranton where for about a year he was clerk for his brother, 
Charles P. Matthews, who had a store where the Fuller P>uilding now stands. 
In 1861 Richard J. Matthews purchased an established retail drug store in 
Providence, which he conducted for nine years. He then returned to Scran- 
ton, joining his brothers, William and Charles P., who were conducting a 
wholesale drug, paint and oil business under the firm name of Matthews 
Brothers, the original business having been established by Chs.rles P. Mat- 
thews in 1857. About 1871 he retired from the firm, Richard J. and William 
continuing. William Matthews at this time was also manager of the People's 
Street Railway Company, consequently the burden of management of Mat- 
thews Brothers fell upon the younger brother, Richard J., who, however, was 
fully equal to the task. While in the early years the business was small, it 
constantly increased until a force of twenty-eight men is required in its 
operation. It is the oldest drug liouse in Northeastern Pennsylvania and has a 
well established trade in the Lackawanna and Wyoming Valleys. The pres- 
ent building at No. 320 Lackawanna avenue, was erected prior to 1870. Then 
until January i, 1913, the firm consisted of Charles W., a son of William 
Matthews, and Richard J. Matthews, the only member of the original finn 
then connected with the business. While the principal burden of business 
was allowed to rest upon the shoulders of the younger man, the elder partner 
was actively "in the harness" and still has important official connection with 
other Scranton institutions. He is president of the Black Diamond Silk Com- 
pany and director of the Title, Guarantee and Trust Company. He attends 
the First Presbyterian Church, and is a director of the Pennsylvania Oral 
School for Deaf Mutes, an institution in which be takes a great interest. In 
political preference he is a Republican. 

Richard J. Matthews married, March 8, 1864. Imogene Leach, of Provi- 
dence. Pennsylvania. Six children : Anna, married Joseph J. H. S. Lynch ; 
Flora L. : Mary, married George P. Griffith Jr. ; Alice, married W. H. Storrs, 
deceased ; Helen ; Burton. 


Amerman is a name well known in the legislative annals of Pennsylvania, 
and connected prominently with one of the most far-reaching beneficial acts 
ever passed in the state i. e. : The Free School Bill, of which Lemuel Amerman, 
father of Ralph A. Amerman, was the legislative father. Prior to his valuable 

'Lemuel i^^ I 



public service, his father, Jesse C. Amerman, a dairy farmer near Danvilk. 
Pennsylvania, served several years in the Pennsylvania legislature, as a Demo- 
crat. Jesse C. Amerman was also a veteran of the Civil War, attaining the 
rank of sergeant-major. 

Lemuel Amerman was a graduate of Mansfield State Normal School, 
and of Bucknell College, and prior to his legal study was a teacher in the 
former institution. He read law with James A. Gordon, of Philadelphia, and 
after his admission to the bar located in Scranton, where he was active and 
prominent in law, politics and business. He was prominent in the develop- 
ment of water privileges of his section, holding directorship in the Spring 
Brook, Mansfield, Minooka and Rendaham water companies. He was a 
Democrat in politics, and for several years clerk of the Pennsylvania house of 
representatives. He was later elected a member of the house from Scranton. 
and among the important bills he fathered and championed was the acl 
providing for free public instruction. He also served a term in Congress. 
His public career was long and honorable, and the results of his wisdom and 
public spirit will continue until "time shall be no more." He was also promin- 
ent in the legal profession, and served several years as city solicitor of Scran- 
ton. He was an active member of the congregation of Emmanuel Baptist 
Church, and also interested in Sunday school work, serving as superintendent. 
He married Mary Van Nort, of Scranton, who bore him a son, Ralph A., and 
a daughter, Mary, now the wife of Frederick Lewis, of Norfolk, Virginia. 

Ralph A. Amerman, only son of Lemuel and Mary (Van Nort) Amerman. 
was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, May 19, 1884. He attended the public 
schools of Scranton and Worcester Academy (Massachusetts), then entered 
Cornell LIniversity, taking at the latter institution the civil engineering 
course. After finishing his college course and arriving at legal age, he as- 
sisted in the organization of the Scranton Real Estate Company, and from 
1905 until 1908 was engaged in the service of that company. In 1908 he 
organized the Scranton Automobile Company for the promotion and sale of 
the Buick car. He is the general agent for the Buick car in Northeastern 
Pennsylvania, having sub-agents thoroughly covering the territory. The 
company also was engaged in the sale of auto accessories and maintained an 
extensive repair department. He also has other extensive business affairs, 
including the Scranton Taxicab Company, of which he is president. His 
college fraternity is Kappa Sigma (Cornell); his secret fraternities: Lodge. 
Chapter, Commandery, Shrine and Consistory of the Masonic Order ; clubs, 
the Scranton, Country, Press, Bicycle, Temple. A true son of his honored 
father, he is interested in both church and education, serving as trustee of 
Emmanuel Baptist Church ; president of the board of trustee of Keystone 
Academy and trustee of Bucknell University. Mr. Amerman married Ada. 
daughter of Rev. John S. Wrightnour, pastor of the First Baptist Church, 
of Scranton. The family home is at No. 537 Monroe avenue. 


Descendant of a sturdy German emigrant, who settled prior to the Revolu- 
tion in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, Joseph F. Keller, of Scranton, 
inherits a legacy of patriotism, devotion to duty and manly character. These 
traits have been strongly manifested in preceding generations and have not 
been lost in the transmission to the present representative of the family. 

The emigrant Keller fought in the Revolution, for the cause of liberty, 
was captured by the British at Marcus Hook and in his suffering kindled in 
the blood a spirit that blazed forth in his grandson, Theodore Keller, a soldier 


of the Civil War, captured at Gettysburg and confined at the Confederate 
prison at Belle Isle. But the martial spirit thus transmitted has been tempered 
by a generation of peaceful pursuits, tlie second generation having been 

The grandfather of Joseph F. Keller, born in Cherry Valley. Monroe 
county, Pennsylvania, on the paternal farm, there lived, died and was buried, 
an old man of eighty-five years. He was a prominent man in his locality, a 
pillar and liberal supporter of the German Reformed Church, commissioner 
of roads and school director. His wife, Elizabeth (Heller) Keller, was also a 
native of Cherry \'alley. 

Theodore Keller, of the third generation in Pennsylvania, was born in 
Cherry Valley, Monroe county, April 26, 1842. He learned the trade of wheel- 
wright and for many years followed that and house carpentry. In 1883 he 
settled in Dunmore, and shortly afterward entered the employ of the Dixon 
Manufacturing Company, with whom he remained seventeen years, then re- 
turned to his trade. He and his family worship in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. During the war between the states he enlisted in Company C, One 
Hundred and Fifty-third Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and 
fought in all the battles in which his regiment was engaged until Gettysburg, 
where he was captured, taken South and held a prisoner at Belle Isle. He is a 
member of Griffin Post. No. 139, G. A. R. Theodore Keller married Martha, 
daughter of Abel Staples, of Beaver Valley, Pennsylvania, of ? family that 
also traces in Pennsylvania to the days of the Revolution. Children (now 
living): Lily; Harriet, married Arthur Spencer, of Dunmore; Joseph F. ; 
May, wife of Richard Angwin, of Dunmore 

Joseph F. Keller, son of Theodoie and Martha (Staples) Keller, was born 
at Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, November 12, 1873. Until fifteen vears of age 
he attended public school, then spent three years en the Wagner cattle ranch 
in Texas. He then came to Scranton, and began learning the carpenter's 
trade, continuing as a journeyman four years after finishing his apprentice- 
ship. He was ambitious and was determined to obtain more than a knowledge 
of the correct use of tools. He studied the principles of building construction 
and read such books as treated on the strength of timber and builder's ma- 
terials until he was capable of superintending the erection of important build- 
ings, as well as becoming expert in the use of tools. In the pursuit of his call- 
ing, he traveled all over the United States, and was superintendent in charge 
of some important buildings, including some for the government in Wash- 
ington. He worked from ocean to ocean in the large cities and gained a vast 
fund of valuable experience on the different styles and quality of the buildings 
he superintended. In 1897 he located permanently in Scranton as a building 
contractor. In 191 1 he formed a partnership with Russel H Dean and as 
Keller & Dean has conducted a most successful business, making a specialty 
of fine residential and factory construction. The firm holds an enviable posi- 
tion as competent, reliable builders, and have executed many important con- 
tracts. In his relations with his employees, Mr. Keller is just to a point of 
generosity, straining every point possible in their favor. He possesses the 
perfect confidence of his men, who know their interests are carefully con- 
sidered. As a result he has a loyal corps of good workmen always at his 
command and is able to better estimate on the time clause of many of his con- 
tracts, a most important item on which important contracts are often awarded. 
Still a young man, Mr. Keller deserves the highest encomiums for the position 
he has attained as a contractor and builder. He has displayed an energy and 
ambition to rise that has not brought him mfluential friends, but has made 
his further rise in the building world certain. He is a Republican in politics. 


and an attendant of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a member of 
the Independent Order of Heptasophs. Mr. Keller married, January 12, 
1903. Myrtle Irene, daughter of Byron Davis, of Dunmore, and has a daugh- 
ter, Elizabeth Virginia. 


To the }ilegargee family, of Scranton. there is accorded the double honor 
of being descended from an ancestor whose voyage to America was made 
with the leader of the Society of Friends in America, William Penn, and of 
having continued in the family for a century and a half the art of paper 
making. The first, an accident of birth and residence, is nevertheless a satis- 
faction to those caring for the prestige attached to antiquity of family, while 
the second reflects credit upon those of the name who perpetuated the trade 
instituted as a family occupation so many years ago. The original home of 
the Megargees was in the south of Ireland where the terminal letter was "1", 
instead of "e". . With a strength of conscience and a simplicity of character 
that has characterized the family through the entire descent, the American 
father of this branch of the Megargees cast his lot with Penn's band of 
Quakers and resolutely set his face toward the West, expecting to find there. 
in the wilderness beyond the sea, not only a richer home, but a new land and 
free, where each man might live out his own salvation, unbound by the be- 
liefs or actions of his neighbors. 

Jacob Megargee, grandfather of Francis O. Megargee, was a native paper 
manufacturer and inn keeper of Rising Sun, Philadelphia. His son, Sylves- 
ter Jacob Megargee, was born in Philadelphia in 1817. He engaged all his 
life in the business instituted by his father, the paper manufacturing, in which 
he was very successful. Book paper was the line in which he specialized. In 
1876 he retired from active participation in any enterprise and lived a quiet 
and peaceful life until his death in 1880, aged sixty-three years. He married 
Ann V. Gafifney, bom in Baltimore, Maryland. Of their eight children, four 
are living, two in Scranton. Children: Sylvester Edwin, of Philadelphia: 
Charles G., of Florida ; Bernard B. : Francis Octavius. 

Francis Octavius Megargee, son of Sylvester Jacob and Ann V. (Gaf?ney) 
Megargee, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, August 10, 1862, died 
September 3, 1914, at his home in Dunmore. He obtained his education in a 
private school in Philadelphia, in La Salle College, from which he graduated 
and in the Ross Military .-Vcademy. and soon after the completion of his 
studies entered the employ of the Megargee Brothers, the leading paper 
manufacturing house in Philadelphia, as commercial traveler. He had been 
with this firm for about six years, when they discontinued business, Mr. Me- 
gargee accepting a position with I. M. Megargee & Company. The business 
of this firm was the same as that of the one by which he had been previously 
employed, and after four and a half years service, Mr. Megargee came to 
Scranton, November i, 1890, where he was a member of the firm of Megargee 
Brothers in the general paper business. He and his brother. Bernard B., who 
comprised the firm, opened headquarters in the Burr building, and the busi- 
ness greatly expanded, becoming the leader in that line not only in Scranton 
but all through Northeastern Pennsylvania and parts of New York state. 
His business interests were as vice-president of the International Poultry 
Supply Company of Brown's Mills, New Jersey, and director of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Dunmore. of which he was an organizer. He was mainly re- 
sponsible for the organization of the Scranton Poultry .\ssociation, and the 
popularizing of poultry raising. In that field he was an expert. His social 


connections were with the Scranton Club, the Green Ridge Club, the Press 
Club, and the Canoe Club. He was a member of Si. Paul's Rcma.T Catholic 
Church, of which his wife is also a member. 

Mr. Megargee married, June 29, 1899, Katlierine, daughter of William 
W. Haggerty, of Philadelphia. She was the principal of the commercial de- 
partment of the Central High School, of Scranton. Children : Francis S., 
Katherine B., Robert W., Ann E., Marjorie F., Edwin Irvin. ]\Ir. Megargee 
was a popular figure in Scranton society, a progressive, public spirited, un- 
selfish citizen. 


Edward Eisele, city controller of Scranton, is a descendant of an old Ger- 
man family, whose presence in the United States dates back but one generation. 
His father, John F. Eisele, was born in Selinger, Wurtemberg, Germany, in 
1830. He there attended the elementary schools and the gymnasium, learning 
the tailor's trade. When a young man he came to New York and there follow- 
ing his trade, of which he was a skilled master, until 1855. He then came to 
Scranton, continuing in the pursuit of his occupation until his retirement, and 
still making that place his residence (although he ilid not follow his calling for 
many years), until his death September 26. 1913, aged eighty-three years. 
With his wife he was a member of the German Lutheran church, at whose 
services both were regular attendants. He belonged to Alliance Lodge No. 540, 
L O. O. F., in which he was past grand, and for twenty-five years was treas- 
urer of that organization. 

He married Katherine Durner. and of this union twelve children were 
born, of whom five are living: J. George, general salesagent of the Delaware 
and Hudson Coal Company, resides in Scranton ; Louisa M., married Emanuel 
Fitzelman, deceased, of Scranton ; John F., Jr. ; Charles W., of Flint, Michi- 
gan ; Edward, of further mention. 

Edward Eisele, son of John F. and Katherine (Durner) Eisele, was born 
in Scranton, Pennsylvania. July 11, 1875. He attended the public schools in 
his youth and after discontinuing his studies worked at various industries at 
one time being employed in a boiler shop. He then engaged in office work, 
and was in the office of City Treasurer Robinson from 1899 to 1902, and later 
in the office of the city controller. He there gained the experience that has 
been so valuable to him in discharging the duties of the office of city controller, 
which he has held since April, 1905. His rise to that position has been the 
result of his constant application to the acquiring of a perfect knowledge ot 
the duty at hand. While acting in the capacity of clerk in the office of which 
he is now the head, there was no detail of the routine that escaped his vigilant 
notice, and when the office of city controller was left vacant, he was the logical 
choice. He performs his public duties thoroughly and conscientiously, an up- 
right and incorruptible official. In the full vigor of youth, his opportunity for 
still further exploration and conquest in political circles is great, and it is not 
likely that he will disregard it. Mr. Eisele is a member of Schiller Lodge, No. 
345, F. and A. M.; of Alliance Lodge. No. 340, I. O. O. F., of which he is 
past grand: and the Liederkranz, in which he held the office of financial secre- 
tary for seven years. With his wife, he is a communicant of the German 
Lutheran church. 

He married Rose, daughter of Herman Hagen, of Scranton. Children : 
Ruth and Edward, Jr. 



The aphorism to the effect that "the earth is our mother" is famihar to all. 
and reasoning to fundamentals it is an indisputable fact that all of our neces- 
sities, comforts and luxuries come to us from this source. There are no more 
striking examples of maternal prodigality in the bestowing of gracious favors 
than in the cases of those to whom Mother Earth has opened the treasuie 
stores of her bosom and given entrance to inestimable riches. Hugh A. Daw- 
son, of this chronicle, is one who has been a beneficiary of her lavish generosity, 
his prosperity and success having come through the seizure of opportunity 
thus freely offered. 

This branch of the Dawson family of which he is a member is of Irish 
ancestry, the home of all of the name having been county Kilkenny, Ireland, 
whence came William Dawson at the age of eighteen years. He first lo- 
cated at Paterson, New Jersey, and there followed the trade of an iron moulder 
until 1884, moving in that year to Scranton, Pennsylvania, entering the employ 
of the Dickson Manufacturing Company. He had ever been a strong sup- 
porter of the Republican party, and in 1896, when he was elected city as- 
sessor for a term of three years, he resigned his position with the Dickson 
Company to fulfill the duties of the ofifice. At the expiration of his term lie 
accepted a clerkship in the state banking department at Harrisburg and after 
five years of service was promoted to chief clerk, remaining in that position 
eight years. In ic)i2 he returned to Scranton, and is now clerk in charge of 
the state tax in the office of the county commissioners. He married Anna L.. 
daughter of Hugh Kennedy, of Scranton. Of their nine children, six reached 
maturity: John J., Hugh A., of further mention, William M., James J., Alice 
M., Anna M. 

Hugh A. Dawson, third son and child of William and Anna L. (Kennedy) 
Dawson, was born in Scranton, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, July 24, 
1884. He attended the public schools of Scranton, including the high school. 
and for one year engaged in study at the Young Men's Christian Association 
night school, later taking a one year course in the civil engineering department 
of the University of Pennsylvania. He then accepted a position with the Dela- 
ware and Hudson Company in the mining engineering department, his term 
of service covering a period of five years, from 1903 to igo8, in which time he 
was advanced from the position of chainman to that of division draughtsman. 
In the latter year he resigned to attend to the details of the incorporation of 
the Clearview Coal Company, of which, in partnership with L. B. Landau, he 
was a promoter. The company was organized in igo8 with L. B. Landau, 
president and general manager, and Hugh A. Dawson, treasurer and superin- 
tendent. The field of operation of the company is a lease held from the 
heirs of Giles Robinson, probably the last of the coal fields in that locality to 
come under lease. The concern employs on an average 200 hands, and has 
an output of 100,000 tons of coal annually. The sale of the product is largely 
local, although part of the output is shipped to New York and New England. 
The officers of the company were F. M. Van Horn, of New York, presidenc, 
F. P. Christian, treasurer and general manager, and Hugh A. Dawson, superin- 
tendent. In 191 3 he negotiated the sale of the company to a syndicate headed 
by F. P. Christian and was retained by them as general superintendent. Mr. 
Dawson fills his position as active director of the business with a great deal 
of ability, making himself personally acquainted with all the operations, from 
the digging of the ore to the shipping to the consumer. In this manner he i-^ 
able to adjust all difficulties that may arise quickly and satisfactorily, where 
as an employer whose knowledge was limited to the number of men engaged 


and their wages would be compelled to depend upon a subordinate of doubtful 
reliability. His popularity with those engaged in his line of activity is shown 
by his election as secretary of the United Mine Workers in 1903. In political 
belief he is a Republican, holding the office of judge of electors in his district 
for several years. In May, 1913. he was nominated for representative to the 
state legislature on the Republican ticket by the largest majority ever given a 
candidate in this district. .As the district is normally Republican by 1,000 
majority his election in November is a foregone conchision. 

Mr. Dawson is a member of the Greek letter fraternity. Alpha Tau Omega. 
Pennsylvania. Tau Chapter; the Railroad Young ;\Ien's Christian Association, 
the Engineers' Club of Northeastern Pennsylvania, the Scranton Club, the 
Scranton Press Club, the Scranton Bicycle Club, of which he is a director, the 
Knights of Columbus, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
Lackawanna Institute of History and Science. Mr. Dawson married Margaret, 
daughter of P. F. Weir, of Scranton, a teacher in the graded schools. 

Judging entirely from his successful career in the coal business, a highly 
useful and prosperous career may be predicted for Mr. Dawson in the wider 
fields of endeavor to which he will be called. Not yet thirty years of age, he 
holds a position of responsibility that would justify the efforts of a much older 
and more experienced man. 


In common with many other Scranton families founded there at the open- 
ing of the vast and valuable coal fields in the contiguous region, the Kellys are 
of Welsh descent. James Kelly, grandfather of Ellsworth Kelly, came to the 
L^nited States from Mountain Ash, Wales, in about 1865, bringing with him 
his wife and his son, John H., and locating at Scranton. Here James Kelly 
obtained employment in the mines of the neighborhood and spent his entire life. 

(II) John H. Kelly, son of James Kelly, was born in Mountain Ash, 
Wales, November 27, 1855. He was but a lad when his parents brought him to 
this country and he was immediately placed in the public schools. In early 
young manhood he learned the stone moulder's trade, following that occupation 
for many years. On June i, i88g, when David M. Jones was postmaster of 
Scranton, he received an appointment as mail carrier in the Scranton office. 
After twenty-five years of active service, during which time regularly and 
promptness have characterized the performance of his every official duty, he is 
still in the government employ, a remarkable record of fidelity. Mr. Kelly's 
religious convictions are Baptist, and he is a deacon and trustee of the First 
Welsh Baptist Church. He is an honored member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, and is past grand of Silurian Lodge. For over twenty years 
he has handled the finances of the lodge as treasurer and is now past district 
deputy grand master. He is also a member of the memorial committee of 
the Grand Lodge, and at the expiration of his third decade of service in the 
lodge, his home organization presented him with a medal in commendation of 
his long and useful career in the fraternity. He married Jane Evans, daugh- 
ter of John W. Evans. Of their six children tlie following four attained 
maturity: Bertha, a school teacher in Scranton; Norma; Ellsworth, of further 
mention ; Ruth. 

(III) Ellsworth Kelly, son of John H. and Jane (Evans) Kelly, was born 
in Scranton, Pennsylvania, October 27, 1884. He acquired his education in the 
public schools of the city, and until he attained his majority was emploved in 
various capacities on the staff of The Republican. His political career be- 
gan May 28, 1905, when he was appointed clerk in the department of public 





works. So efficient was he in the discharge of his duty and so rapidly did he 
famiharize himself with the method and system of the office that on Decem- 
ber I, 1906, about a year and a half after his entrance into the public works 
department, he was appointed chief clerk. It was while serving the city in 
this capacity that he became a candidate for the city clerkship and, victorious 
in the election, he entered upon the duties of his new office, January 2, 1912. 
He was re-elected city clerk at the reorganization of council held January j, 
1914. Although only having held the position for a short time, he has proven 
an able clerk, thoroughness and system predominating in all departments of 
his work. Mr. Kelly is prominent fraternally. He is a member of the Masonic 
Order, holding the thirty-second degree, belonging to the Keystone Consistory, 
Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret. He is also a Noble of Irem Temple, 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. His other relations are with Lodge No. 123,' 
B. P. O. E. ; Hyde Park Lodge, Knights of Pythias; Green Ridge Camp,' 
Modern Woodmen of America ; Washington Camp, No. 178, P. O. S. A. The 
Scranton Athletic Club and Columbia Hose and Chemical Company, No. 5, of 
which he is president, number him among their members. In religious belief 
he is claimed by the faith of his father, and is a communicant of the First 
Welsh Baptist Church. 


Thomas Moore is of the second generation of the name attaining promi- 
nence in the financial and mercantile departments of Scranton's industrial 
activity. Thomas Moore, the elder, came of a family who had been school 
masters for generations. Because of his father's profession, Thomas Moore, 
the elder, was granted an exceedingly thorough and remarkably wide education, 
without doubt the best that could be obtained outside of the walls of a uni- 
versity. Early in life he entered the employ of a firm engaging in the dry goods 
business, and when he had about attained his majority he came to New York 
City, there establishing in the dry goods business, and remaining until 1866. 
In that year he came to Scranton, and after a short period of independent deal- 
ing in his business, formed a partnership under the firm name of Moore & 
Finley, an association that continued many years. For years the name was 
synonymous with excellence and reliability to the shoppers of Scranton, and to 
many of the leading merchants of the city in the present day the establish- 
ment was a training school for their later careers, the fundamentals of every 
lesson learned being fair dealing and courtesy in all transactions. He served 
the Merchants and Mechanics Bank as vice-president for several years, his 
name lending strength to the institution and confidence to its depositors. 
Thomas Moore was a strong supporter of any movement tending to the educa- 
tional uplift of the commtmity in which he lived and was especially active 
in the management of the Keystone Academy at Factoryville, of which he 
was president of the board of trustees. He was the donor of the dormitory, 
occupied by the girls of the institution, known as Moore Memorial Hall. In the 
various organizations of the Penn Avenue Baptist Church, to which both hi 
and his wife belonged, he was an earnest and useful worker. 

Mr. Moore was a generous, open-hearted Christian gentleman, returning 
to the city much of his worldly goods derived therefrom, and held in universal 
respect for the enviable record he had made in the mercantile world by his 
unswervingly upright dealings. He married Mary Rodgers, of New York 
City, and of their eight children two grew to maturity : Mary, married William 
M. Marple, of Scranton; and Thomas, of further mention. 

Thomas (2) Moore, son of Thomas (i) and Mary (Rodgers) Moore, wa> 


born in New York City, and when a youth came with his parents to Scranton. 
His education, preparing him for college, was obtained in this city, but ill 
health prevented the further continuance of his studies and necessitated less 
confinement than would have been possible had he pursued his original inten- 
tions. He became interested in the Scranton Woodworking Company, manu- 
facturers of cabinet work and interior finishings, remaining identified with this 
firm until 1888, when the partnership of Norrman & Moore was formed, 
general fire insurance being the field of operation selected by the partners as 
the least crowded and most lucrative then oflfering. Hardly had the new firm 
gotten well underway when Mr. Norrman 's death left Mr. Moore alone in the 
business. In 1898 the pressure of work and the ever increasing needs of the 
business for more close personal supervision caused Mr. Moore to form the 
present firm of Moore & Foster. The new association was remarkably con- 
genial and the success of their later enterprises is an encouraging courier of 
greater future prosperity. 

Mr. Moore is a thirty-second degree Mason, Ancient and Accepted Scottish 
Rite, belonging to Keystone Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret, 
and is a Noble of Lu Lu Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Philadelphia, 
also a Knight Templar, of Melita Commandery. His other fraternal affilia- 
tion is with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and his social rela- 
tions with the Scranton Club, the Country Qub and the Green Ridge Club. 

In his chosen line of endeavor Mr. Moore has acquired a reputation for 
his stability and reliability in business dealings, the result of the care he has 
exercised in associating himself only with propositions conducted upon a 
strictly business basis. Moore & Foster, in insurance circles, are equalling the 
name established a generation before by Moore & Finley, in mercantile circles ; 
a notable achievement, indeed. 


The record of the Gunster family in Scranton is one of successful effort 
in whatever undertaken. The founder of the family in Pennsylvania was 
Joseph H. Gunster, born in Lockweiler, Germany, where he resided until the 
age of twenty years, then came to the United States settling in Providence, 
Pennsylvania, now a part of the city of Scranton. He learned the cabinet 
makers' trade in his native land and after coming to Providence, worked with 
David Harrington as journeyman for two years. He then established in busi- 
ness for himself, having a shop on Penn avenue, where for about twelve years 
he made fine furniture, becoming the leading furniture maker and dealer of 
the town. He prospered and when the Merchants and Mechanics Bank was 
organized, he became its first secretary. He continued with this institution until 
the organization of the City Bank, in which he assisted. He later became 
cashier of the City Bank, continuing some years, then sold his interest to 
Dr. Throop and resigned. He then served one term as deputy treasurer of 
Lackawanna county, and when the Scranton City Bank became involved he 
was appointed assignee. After winding up the affairs of that bank and re- 
ceiving his discharge from the court, Mr. Gunster retired from active life. 
He was an able business man and a citizen above reproach. He stood high in 
Masonic circles, was past master of Shiller Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; 
past high priest of Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons and a sir knight 
of Coeur de Lion Commandery, Knights Templar. 

He married Lucina, daughter of Michael Lutts of Greenridge, Pennsyl- 
vania. Children : Henry J., of whom further ; Charles W., see sketch ; 
George N., of the firm of Gunster Brothers ; Lieutenant Walter E., of the 


United States army ; Arthur, member of the firm of Gunster Brothers. The 
latter firm was established in 1888 as Gunster & Forsythe, operating a smal! 
hardware and plumbing business. About 1902 Mr. Forsythe withdrew his in- 
terest, it being purchased by George N. and Arthur Gunster and the name 
changed to Gunster Brothers. At that time the firm employed three journey- 
men, now thirty-five men are necessary to promptly fill their many contract; 
in the installation of heating plants and the erection of heavy cornices and sky- 
lights, both in Scranton and outside points. 

Henry J. Gunster, eldest son of Joseph H. and Lucina (Lutts) Gunster. 
was born in Scranton, January 11, 1858. He was educated in the public 
schools of the city, '"Daddy Merrill's" private school and Newton Collegiate 
Institute, Newton, New Jersey. After completing his years of school life, he 
entered the employ of the Scranton City Bank, continuing about three years, 
then locating in Larimer City, Colorado, where for two years he was engaged 
as a retail grocer. He then moved to Denver, Colorado, where he entered the 
employ of Sprague Warner & Company, wholesale grocers of Chicago. In 
1884 he returned to Scranton, where for a time he was with Forrest Brothers, 
later with Connell & Son, plumbers and hardware merchants. Shortly after- 
ward he became a member of Gunster & Forsythe, a small plumbing and 
hardware firm. On the retirement of Mr. Forsythe, his interest was taken by 
George N. and Arthur Gunster, and the firm continued as Gunster Brothers, 
contracting engineers of steam and water heating apparatus and power plants 
for manufacturers. They also deal in hardware, glass, paints and oils, and are 
contractors of all kinds of plumbing, tinning, cornice and skylight work of 
metal of every kind. The firm's warerooms and offices are at No. 325-327 
Penn avenue, their sheet metal works at Nos. 324, 326 and 328 Raymond Court, 
their pipe shop at No. 320 and 322 Raymond Court. The firm is a prosperous 
one and ranks high among the enterprising, modern institutions of Scranton. 
Henry J. Gunster, the head of Gunster Brothers, was for six years a member 
of Company C, of the old City Guards ; and is a member of the ]3oard of Trade, 
and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In politics he is a Democrat, 
but has never sought or accepted office. He married Margaret Cannon, of 
Scranton, and resides at No. 705 Jefferson avenue. 


Charles W. Gunster, second son of Joseph H. and Lucina (Lutts) Gunster, 
was born in Scranton, October 11, 1859, and obtained his primary and pre- 
paratory education in the public schools, and "Daddy Merrill's" private school. 
He passed the examinations for admission to Yale University, but did not 
matriculate, deciding instead to enter business life. He entered the employ 
of the Merchants and Mechanics Bank of Scranton as messenger boy and has 
steadily risen through all intervening grades to his present responsible posi- 
tion of cashier, his term of service with this institution serving a period of 
thirty-two years. He is a thorough financier, and well informed in the laws 
governing banking transactions, a close student of finance, a wise and careful 
banker and a safe adviser. 

He is a member of Peter Williamson Lodge. Free and Accepted Masons, 
past high priest of Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons : past eminent 
commander of Coeur de Lion Commandery, and a life member of Irem 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is also prom- 
inent in club life, belonging to the Scranton and Country clubs, and to the 
Scranton Liederkranz. For sixteen years he was a member of Company C, 
Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania National Guard, enlisting as a private and 


attaining the rank of lieutenant. He qualified as a sharp-shooter and shot on 
many of the winning teams at military tournaments. His standing among the 
bankers is shown in his selection as secretary of the Scranton Clearing House 
Association, and as secretary and chairman of a group of banks comprising 
the Pennsylvania Bankers Association. Mr. Gunster, like his father, is a sup- 
porter of the Second Presbyterian Church, of Scranton, and interested in other 
good works. 


Descending from pure German ancestry, Mr. Battenberg, of the fir<l 
American born generation, has made for himself an honored name in the 
state in which his father settled on leaving the Fatherland. The family record 
in the United States is one most creditable and includes service in the Union 
army by the then young German emigrant, Charles C, father of C. Augustus 
Battenburg. The United States cannot forget, nor too strongly praise, the 
military service rendered by our foreign born sons in every war we have ever 
waged, nor can too strong a wish be expressed that never in the future may 
they have to choose between loyalty to their native or to their adopted land. 
Add to their military service, their wonderful achievements in the arts of peace 
and to this the example of thrift, energy, and perseverance, and the debt be- 
comes one that can never be paid save by the untramelled opportunities our 
land has afforded them to exercise the traits mentioned to their everlasting 

Charles C. Battenberg was born in Hofgeismar, near Cassel, Germany, in 
1841, died in Archbald, Pennsylvania, in 1904. He was educated in the excellent 
school of his native province and when young came to Pennsylvania, locating 
at Archbald, where he became a stationary engineer. When the war between 
the states broke out he enlisted in Company H, 52nd Regiment, Pennsylvania 
Volunteer Infantry ; re-enlisted, serving with ardor and bravery four years and 
receiving an honorable discharge, as captain of his company, from his grateful 
adopted country. After the war he located in Scranton ; later he moved to 
Archbald entering the employ of the Delaware and Hudson Company, rising 
to the position of outside superintendent of their colliery at that place. At 
the time of his death he was postmaster of Archbald. He was a Republican 
in politics, a member of the Free and Accepted Masons, and of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. He married Amelia Miller, born in Archbald, daugh- 
ter of August C. Miller, a pioneer settler of that town, coming from Leipsig, 
Germany. He was a pianomaker in Germany, but in Archbald, followed cabi- 
netmaking and carpentering, erecting many of the older buildings there. 

C. Augustus Battenberg, son of Charles C. and .Amelia C. (Miller) Batten- 
berg, was born in Scranton, on Penn avenue, where the Eagle Hotel now 
stands, May 20, 1868. After graduating from the School of the Lackawanna 
of Scranton, he began the study of law under the preceptorship of James H. 
Torrey, and after thorough preparation was admitted to the Lackawanna 
county bar in 1894. He at once began the practice of his profession ; was as- 
sistant city solicitor under Mr. Torrey and has attained a firm honorable posi- 
tion at the bar of his native county. He has been admitted to the variou- 
State and Federal Courts of the district, having a good practice in them all. 
In fraternal and church affairs he has ever been active, useful and prominent. 
He is a member of Green Ridge Presbyterian Church, of which he is an elder, 
and at the present time is superintendent of the Sunday school; past master 
of Aurora Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons of Jermyn, and past grand of 
Archbald Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 



Andrew B. Warman was born near Stewartsville, New Jersey, May 12, 
1863. His early boyhood was spent on the farm. Mr. Warman's father, 
Theodore P. Warman, having sold his farming interests, moved to Easton 
where he resided for about two years; later he came to Scranton. Here he 
and his brother established a wholesale produce and commission business 
under the name of E G. Warman & Brother, located at No. 26 Lackawanna 
avenue. The company continued a successful business until the panic of 1873. 

Andrew B. Warman attended West Ward Academy in Easton, and the pul)- 
lic schools of Scranton until he was fourteen years old. He was first employed 
by Frank L. Crane, wholesale and retail hatter and furrier on Lackawanna ave- 
nue, remaining eight years with Mr. Crane, until the time he founded the 
business in which he is at present engaged. In 1885 the laundry business was 
in its infancy and Mr. Warman was one of the first pioneers, for he saw a 
prosperous future for this new industry, so the Lackawanna Laundry em- 
ploying seven operators, was started at 231 Wyoming avenue. This site being 
unfavorably adapted to the business, the plant was moved to what is now the 
Grand Army of the Republic Building where it remained for six years. The 
laundry business was an established fact, and a new building especially adapted 
to the needs of the business was erected at 308 Penn avenue. In a few years 
Nos. 310 and 312 were added and new buildings erected. Continual changes 
have taken place and improvements been made. Seven years ago the plant 
was incorporated as the A. B. Warman Lackawanna Laundry Co., A. B. War- 
man, president ; F. J. Donnelly, vice-president ; C. W. Bertine, secretary. At 
present this plant is the finest equipped in the state. It covers 33,000 square 
feet of ground, is equipped with the most modern machinery, run entirely by 
electricity, each machine having an individual motor. The company generates 
its own electricity for power and light. There are on an average of 225 per- 
sons employed summer and winter, of whom fifty are men. This laundry is 
credited with many innovations, such as the Sturdevent System of Ventilation ; 
a circulation of filtered fresh air is taken from the roof cooled and forced in 
the several departments. Here for the first time in the United States com- 
pressed air was applied to operating machines, thereby relieving the women 
operators from much labor. The founder by unceasing labors, not only in his 
own plant, but also in the National and State Laundry Association, serving in 
the latter for sometime as president, has helped to raise the laundry industry 
to its present state of recognition. 

Nor is his private undertaking the only activity in which he is interested. 
Mr. Warman has served for years as director of the Peoples National Bank, 
director of the Board of Trade, director of the Maccar Company and trustee 
of the Emanuel Baptist Church. For ten years he served as director of the 
Y. M. C. A., the last two also in the capacity of president ; he was also vice- 
president of Keystone Academy. Mr. Warman married Mary I., daughter of 
S. B. Stillwell of Scranton. Children : Saron B., Katherine S. and Donald S. 


When, in 1892, Bernard P. Connolly and H. Cliflford Wallace, trading as 
Connolly & Wallace, opened their dry goods store at No. 207 North Washing- 
ton avenue, Scranton, Pennsylvania, they established the first of the many 
precedents by which the shoppers and clerks of Scranton have been benefited. 
It was then considered business suicide to attempt to draw trade to that avenue, 
Connolly & Wallace being the first merchants to attempt it. They began in a 



small way with few employes, themselves acting as clerks. They prospered, 
however, and for five years did a thriving business in their original location. 
Their rapid growth drove them forth to the enlarged quarters they now occupy, 
at Nos. 123-133 Washington avenue. These were years of hard work and 
many discouragements to the young partners, as their road was not always 
smooth, nor the going easy. They met with losses that would have discouraged 
less determined, courageous men, but adversity only nerved them to redoubled 
eiTort. That they are now rated among the leading retail merchants of Scran- 
ton is entirely due to their superior business ability, their indomitable courage, 
and their progressive, modern methods. No fortunate chance turned the tide 
in their favor; on the contrary, they began under the handicap of insufficient 
capital and a new, untried location. But, shoulder to shoulder, they battled, 
finally overcoming adverse fortune and gaining the topmost rounds of the lad- 
der of mercantile fame. They have ever been leaders in all forward selling 
movements and in matters of store government. They were the first to demon- 
strate the advantage of shorter shopping hours. The latest progressive move- 
ment which they have inaugurated is early closing and Saturday half-holidays, 
from June 15 to September 15, thus giving three months of such privileges :o 
their clerks, instead of the customary two months of July and August. In 
many other matters requiring a leading champion they have had the courage 
of their convictions, never fearing to defy established custom and to lead in 
new and untried methods that their judgment or public spirit approved of. 
The firm gives full credit to their sales force for its part in the upbuilding of 
their large and successful business and in return have done all in their powet 
to improve working conditions and to make the hours of duty in the store 
pleasant and comfortable for the one hundred and twenty-five salespeople 

Bernard P. Connolly, the senior partner, was born in Trenton, Province of 
Ontario, Canada, January 3, 1859, son of James and Mary (Connor) Connolly. 
He was educated in the public schools and early began mercantile life as a 
clerk. He became manager of a store in Warkworth, Ontario, continuing in 
that capacity three years. In 1879 he came to Scranton, entering the employ 
of R. M. Lindsay, proprietor of the Boston Store. For thirteen years he 
remained with Mr. Lindsay, gaining a knowledge of merchandise and develop- 
ing plans for his own future. In 1892 he formed a partnership with H. Clifford 
Wallace and soon afterward they launched their little bark on the stormy sea 
of business. That the sturdy craft made a prosperous voyage and reached a 
safe haven has already been told. 

Mr. Connolly is fond of out of door life, is a member of the Scranton Club, 
Scranton Bicycle Club, Scranton Canoe Club, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, Catholic Club, and Liederkranz. Pleasing in his personality, he has 
many friends who appreciate his manliness of character as well as his excellent 
business qualifications. Mr. Connolly is unmarried. 


H. Clifford Wallace, of the firm of Connolly & Wallace, was educated in 
the public schools of Middletown, New York, and began business life as clerk 
in his father's dry goods store in Middletown, continuing until 1882, when he 
sought the wider field of opportunity offered by Scranton. He entered the 
employ of Cleland, Simpson & Taylor, spending with that firm ten fruitful ana 
valuable years preparing for the brilliant mercantile career that has been real- 
ized in the years since 1892, when he formed his present partnership with 
Bernard P. Connolly, with whom he has worked so successfully in establishing 


the firm of Connolly & Wallace. Mr. Wallace enjoys the social and athletic 
pleasures of club life, holding membership in the Scranton, Country and Bi- 
cycle Clubs, and is a member of the Scranton Board of Trade. In religious 
faith he is a Methodist, belonging to the Elm Park Congregation. While he 
has outside business connections, the only organization he serves officially is 
the Union National Bank of Scranton, of which he is a director. 

Mr. Wallace married, April 18, 1894, Julia, daughter of Sylvester Shively, 
of Scranton. Children : Julia, Jean, Eleanor, Harvey. The family home is at 
No. 814 Clay avenue. 


While Scranton, as a manufacturing center, holds high place among the 
cities of its class in the United States, the foundation of its prosperity is, of 
course, in the value of the mineral deposits in the neighboring region, a large 
part of which is anthracite coal. One of Scranton's foremost citizens, oc- 
cupying a prominent position in the development of this industry is Charles C. 
Rose, whose career is herein recorded. 

The Rose family has long been seated in New York, and it was in this 
state that William C., father of Charles C. Rose, was widely known. He was 
intrusted with the supervision of the construction work on a section of "Clin- 
ton's Ditch," better known as the Erie Canal, a commission he executed faith- 
fully and well. He remained here about two years, and after that was era- 
ployed by the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company as division superintendent, 
remaining in this position the rest of his life and died at the age of sixty-seven, 
residing at Port Jervis, New York, at the time. 

He married Lovina Shimer, and to this union were born six children, three 
sons and three daughters, of whom Charles C. was the youngest. 

Charles C. Rose, son of William C. and Lovina (Shimer) Rose, was born 
in Rosepoint, New York, July 20, 1847. His education was obtained in the 
public schools and at a preparatory academy at Norwalk, Connecticut. His 
relation with Scranton industries and affairs began in 1867, when he accepted 
a position as private secretary to Thomas Dickson, vice-president of the Dela- 
ware and Hudson Company. After a short time he left Scranton, going to 
New York where he followed the profession of civil engineer, serving during 
this time about five years on the Delaware & Hudson Co.'s Lake Champlaiu 
railway extension. In 1880 he was employed by the Delaware, Lackawanna & 
Western Railroad Co. upon the construction of their new railroad from Bing- 
hamton to Buffalo. After this he was moved to Scranton where he was .n 
charge of the engineering work, including maintenance of way, for the Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Co. until 1905. He was then appointed 
superintendent of the coal department of the Delaware & Hudson Co., an office 
he still holds. His position carries with it great responsibility, as the coal in- 
terests of the company are vast and cover a great deal of territory, the details 
requiring constant and minute attention. 

Mr. Rose's other business connections are as director of the Scranton Bolt 
and Nut Company and of the Peoples National Bank. His social relations are 
with the Scranton Club, the Country Club and the Engineers Club. In political 
belief he supports the Republican party, in whose principles he is a firm be- 

In 1879 hs was married to Emma K. Watson, of Port Kent, New York, and 
a son. Dr. Emmason C. Rose, of Brooklyn, New York, was born in the autumn 
of 1881. Her death occurred in 1881. In 1888 he married Emma, daughter of 


A. H. Vandling, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, and a son, Vandling D., who is now 
a student in the Sheffield Scientific School of Yale, was horn in 1894. 

Mr. Rose fills a position as one of the substantial, successful business men 
of Scranton, of proven ability : and forms one of the company upon which 
foundation of the city's prosperity has been laid. 


The Sandersons are among the old Massachusetts families, where the rec- 
ords show them as early as 1643. By marriage and intermarriage they relate; 
to many of the old and prominent families of New England, the Kingsburys, 
Spaldings, Brownes, Gardners, and others. The Revolutionary ancestor of 
George Sanderson was Captain Simon Spalding, who enlisted from Pennsyl- 
vania and saw much active service. He attained the rank of captain in the 
Revolutionary army, and afterward was made a general of militia, by which 
title he was more generally known. 

Edward Sanderson, the progenitor of the family in America, is mentioned 
in early records, found in Hampton, Massachusetts, from which place he 
moved to Watertown, Massachusetts, as early as 1643, where, October 15. 
1645, he married Mary Eggleston. He was of English descent, but it is not 
known whether he was born in England or in Massachusetts. The best evi- 
dence is to the effect that he was born in England and was the first of his 
■name to come to America. 

Deacon Jonathan Sanderson, son of Edward Sanderson, was born in Wat- 
ertown, Massachusetts, September 15, 1646, died September 3, 1673. He mar- 
ried, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, October 24, 1669, Abiah, youngest daughter 
of Ensign Thomas and Hannah (Bartlett) Bartolf, of Watertown. They had 

Samuel Sanderson, sixth child of Deacon Jonathan Sanderson, was born 
May 28, 1681, was killed by a stroke of lightning, July 8, 1722. He married, 
April 3, 1708, Mercy Gale, and settled in Watertown. 

Abraham Sanderson, son of Samuel Sanderson, was born in Watertown, 
Massachusetts, March 28, 171 1. He married, December 6, 1733, Patience 
Smith and they were the parents of thirteen children. They settled in Lunen- 
burg, Massachusetts. 

Jacob Sanderson, fourth child of Abraham Sanderson, was born in 1738. 
He married Elizabeth Child and had four children. 

Jacob (2) Sanderson, son of Jacob (i) Sanderson, married Elizabeth 
Childs and had issue. They resided in Lunenburg, Massachusetts. 

Jacob (3) Sanderson, youngest child of Jacob (2) Sanderson, was born 
October 17, 1780, in Lunenburg, Massachusetts, died December 14, 1853. 
He married, November 12, 1807, Jerusha, daughter of Captain Lemuel Gard- 
ner, of Boston, and settled in that city. Captain Gardner was the first com- 
mander of that famous military organization, the Ancient and Honorable 
Artillery Company of Boston. Jerusha Sanderson died June 18, 1843. 

Hon. George Sanderson, second son of Jacob (3) Sanderson, was born in 
Boston, Massachusetts, February 25, 1810, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, 
April I, 1886. He was educated at the Boston Latin School. After leaving 
school he went to New York City, and was there employed for a time in the 
store of a relative. From there he went to Geneva, New York. He married a 
daughter of Colonel Joseph Kingsbury, a large land-owner of Sheshequin, Brad- 
ford county, Pennsylvania. This led Mr. Sanderson to Towanda, the county seat, 
where he entered upon the practice of law. He soon became known as one of 
the leading lawyers of the county, being elected district attorney and serving 


for six years, resigning to attend to his large private business, lintenng active- 
ly into political life, he was elected state senator from Bradford county in 1853. 
In the senate in that year he made the acquaintance of Colonel George W. 
Scranton, with whom he co-operated in securing needed legislation, which was 
deemed necessary to insure the future of the then infant city of Scranton. Mi. 
Sanderson visited that growing city in 1854 and in the following year pur 
chased the Elisha Hitchcock farm, built a handsome residence, and soon after 
became a resident of Scranton. The site of his first residence is now covered 
by the magnificent building of the Scranton Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion. His first business enterprise in Scranton was the organization of the 
banking house of George Sanderson & Company, the firm consisting of himself 
and brother-in-law, Burton Kingsbury. This was a private bank, that later 
was merged with the Lackawanna Valley Bank, and still later into its present 
corporate form. The Lackawanna Trust and Safe Deposit Company, one of 
the strong, conservative, financial institutions of Scranton. He personally 
threw himself with all his energy into the development of the city of Scranton, 
as a real estate proposition. He laid out and graded beautiful streets through 
what was then farm property, and the result of his activity may now be seen 
on Washington, Adams and Wyoming avenues from Spruce to Vine streets, 
and in the handsome houses and beautiful grounds of the residential sections 
of Scranton. He donated the lots upon which the high school building was 
erected, and aided churches and philanthropic enterprises. He was twice 
elected burgess of Scranton before it became a city. Having disposed of most 
of the Hitchcock farm, he decided to retire from active business and soon after 
moved to Germantown, Pennsylvania. He could not, however, get completely 
out of the harness, and soon afterward became president of a coal company 
with offices in Philadelphia. Selling out to the Reading Coal Company, he re- 
turned to Scranton and purchased a tract of land in the northern portion of 
the city, now called Green Ridge. By the construction of the Providence and 
Scranton Street Railroad, he drew to the new suburb a community of tasle 
and refinement, erecting a mansion and continuing to reside there until his 

George Sanderson married, at Sheshequin, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, 
Marion W. Kingsbury, born September 30, 1816, died at Scranton, Pennsyl- 
vania, June 23, 1886, soon following her husband, who died in April of the 
same year. She was a daughter of Colonel Joseph Kingsbury, of Sheshequin, 
Bradford county, Pennsylvania. Four children survived Mr. and Mrs. George 
Sanderson ; James Gardner ; George, of whom further ; Anna K. ; Marion, 
married Edward B. Sturgess. Hon. George Sanderson died universally re- 
gretted. He was a sound, safe, public-spirited man, and to him Scranton owes 
a debt of gratitude for a wise and artistic development of her suburbs and resi- 
dence streets. His sons have worthily maintained their father's reputation 
and are active business men of Scranton. James Gardner, the eldest son, was 
born in Towanda, Bradford county, Pennsylvania, and lived the greater part 
of his life in Scranton; was a graduate of the Van Rensselaer Polytechnic 
Institute, of Troy, and was by profession a civil engineer ; he was interested in 
the Union Switch and Signal Company before it became a Westinghouse prop- 
erty, and in the early development of Portland Cement manufacture, the 
rotary kiln having been first used bv him ; he married Eliza McBrair, of New 

Colonel George (2) Sanderson, son of the Hon. George (i) and Marion 
W. (Kingsbury) Sanderson, was born at Towanda, Bradford county, Penn- 
sylvania, August 22, 1847, and for over half a century has been a resident of 
Scranton, Pennsylvania. He was graduated from the Scranton high school and 


from the Pennsylvania Military Academy at Chester, Pennsylvania. He read 
law in Philadelphia under the preceptorship of Samuel Robb, entered Harvard 
Law School, and was graduated in the class of 1869, at the unusual age of 
twenty-two years. He practiced his profession in Philadelphia for two years, 
in 1873 locating permanently in Scranton, where he was soon recognized as a 
lawyer of high qualifications and one well-versed in the law. He was the lead- 
ing attorney in several important cases, notably : Sanderson versus the Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, in which he obtained establishment of 
the legal principle that lease of coal lands in perpetuity was in effect a sale and 
that the lessee, as a consequence, was liable for the taxes. This was a far- 
reaching decision, affecting all perpetual coal land leases in the state, and was 
appealed to the Supreme Court, which affirmed the validity of the principle, 
for which Colonel Sanderson contended at every stage in the lower courts. 
While always actively engaged in his professional work, he has other and 
varied interests. He has long been a director and vice-president of the Lack- 
awanna Trust and Safe Deposit Company, the oldest in the city. He suc- 
ceeded his father in the management of his Green Ridge property, the beauti- 
ful suburb of Scranton. He has been, since his father's death, president of 
the Forest Hill Cemetery Association, and gave eight years of membership to 
the National Guard of Pennsylvania, from which he gains his title of colonel. 
He first served with the Scranton City Guards, afterward merged into the 
Thirteenth Regiment, as a private in Company D. He was the warm advocate 
of rifle practice for the Guard ; served upon the governor's staff', as inspector 
of rifle practice, and in that position was instrumental in developing that fea- 
ture of the service to a degree that attracted to Pennsylvania the favorable 
criticism of National Guardsmen from all over the country. For eight years 
Colonel Sanderson served the Thirteenth ward in Scranton Select Council, a 
large part of the time as president of that body, and until recently was presi- 
dent of the sinking fund commission. For the past decade he has given little 
attention to his profession, devoting his time to his business interests and to 
recreation. Colonel Sanderson is an influential Republican but not an office 
seeker, and beyond the demands of his city and her interests he has never en- 
tertained any proposition that involved personal office-holding. He is a mem- 
ber of the Masonic fraternity and a Knights Templar. His social clubs are 
the Scranton, Country, Green Ridge Wheelmen, Ciermantown Cricket, Univer- 
sity of Philadelphia, and the New England Society of Northeastern Pennsyl- 
vania, of which he is an ex-president. 

Colonel George Sanderson married, November 28, 1871, Lucy Reed Jack- 
son, born in Boston, Massachusetts, May 30, 1846, daughter of Charles and 
Maria Louisa (Reed) Jackson, of the ninth generation from the emigrant 
ancestor, Abraham Browne, of Swan Hall, England. Children of Colonel and 
Mrs. George Sanderson: i. Edward Spalding, a graduate of Cornell Uni- 
versity, engaged in business at Waterbury, Connecticut ; married Frederika 
Catlin, and has a son Edward. 2. Charles Reed, a graduate of Cornell Uni- 
versity, engaged in business in New York City ; married Edith S. Brooks. 3. 
James Gardner, a graduate of Cornell L^iversity and of the Chicago Law 
School, a practicing lawyer of Scranton : married Beatrice D. Tyler and has a 
son, James Gardner Jr. 4. Helen Louise. 5. Marion K., married to Charles 
G. Rartlett Jr., now residing in Glen Ridge, New Jersey. 6. George Jr., a 
graduate of the law department, Cornell University, class of 1910, now a prac- 
ticing lawyer in Rochester, New York. 




The father of Morton W. Stephens, the Hon. A. Wesley Stephens, was 
for several years the representative of Wyoming county in the Pennsylvania 
legislature, in which body he capably represented his district and left behind 
him a record of able statesmanship and honorable motive that is a credit both 
to him and to the district that so wisely chose him to guard its interests and 
to act for it in affairs of state. A. Wesley Stephens was born in Nicholson 
township, Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, and for many years was a farmer 
later becoming a contractor and builder and conducting operations in Nichol- 
son borough where he still resides. He married Emily D. Tiffany, who died 
February 24. 191 1, daughter of Orvil Tiffany. The Tiffany family is of Eng- 
lish descent and were early settlers in Susquehanna county. Qiildren of A. 
Wesley and Emily D. (Tiffany) Stephens: Fannie, married F. L. Fester, of 
Nicholson, Wyoming county, Pennsylvania ; Ivadean. married J. W. Kocher, 
of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania ; Beatrice, resides in Nicholson ; Morton W., of 
whom further. 

Morton W. Stephens was born in Nicholson township, Wyoming county, 
Pennsylvania, April 9, 1876. He attended the public schools of his birthplace 
and prepared for college at the Keystone Academy, whence he was graduated 
in 1897. He then obtained a teacher's position in Susquehanna county and 
was a disciple of that profession for five years, during that time holding the 
office of editor of the county educational paper. In 1901 he resumed his 
studies, attending Cornell University, and then entered the law school of the 
University of Pennsylvania, wlience he was graduated LL.B. in 1907. While 
in college, part of Mr. Stephens' course was instruction in public speaking and 
in this he took special interests, cultivating his natural forensic talents witii 
such success that he was awarded a place upon the debating team represent- 
ing the university in the inter-collegiate debates. He had begun this work at 
Keystone Academy, where he took successful part in several oratorical con- 
tests. In the same year that he was graduated from the University of Penn- 
svlvania he was admitted to the bar and has been associate editor of the Ameri- 
can Law Register. 

He married, in 1907, Alta F. Finn, daughter of Nelson M. and Myra 
(Green) Finn, of Foster, Pennsylvania. Nelson M. Finn is a member of the 
family of that name that settled in Clifford township. Susquehanna county, 
Pennsylvania. They have one child, a daughter, Freda Eloise, born December 22, 
1912. Thorough, conscientious, and exact in the preparation of a case, it is in 
its presentation that Mr. Stephens excels, his well balanced, musical, forceful 
and convincing sentences conveying the exact shade of meaning intended. 
Realizing the often salutary effect of a dramatic speech, he never descends to 
cheap emotionalism, but confines his efforts to influencing the reason, rather 
than the emotions, of a jury. He is held in high esteem by his legal brethren, 
with whom he has formed many firm friendships. He affiliates with the 
Masonic Order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Acacia Fraternity, 
International Debating Association, and Scranton Rotary Club. His political 
faith is Republican, and in religious belief he adheres to the doctrines of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 


This family dates from the earliest settlement in the region now included 
in the borough of Dxinmore, William Alsworth, a young shoemaker, settling at 
the "Four Corners" during the summer of 1783. 1'he descendants of the hardy 


old pioneer have dropped the "s" from the name m some branches, spelling the 
name Alworth. The settlement at the Four Corners was accidental, Mr. Als- 
worth being there overtaken by night, and deeming it a suitable camping-place. 
He had been searching for a location in the Wyoming Valley, on land owned 
by Connecticut, but, liking the Dunmore locality, determined on settlement 
there. Bringing his wife and family with him in a covered wagon, he took up 
land and built a log-cabin from the trees it was necessary to remove to obtain 
room for dwelling and garden, utilizing the wagon as a sleeping-place during 
the erection of the cabin. Between his cabin and the "Lackawa" settlement on 
the Paupack, twenty-four miles distant, there stood but two cabins, one ac 
Little Meadows, the other "Cobb's," both kept as houses of entertainment. 
There were many emigrants passing the cabin, needing convenient places of 
rest and refreshment, therefore quarters were provided for the entertainment 
of such passers-by as chose to avail themselves of the privilege. The larder 
of the old inn was supplied by the rifle of the proprietor, all manner of wild 
things of the forest falling before his deadly airrt. For two years he had no 
neighbors, but in the summer of 1785 others came, and Bucktown, or the 
Corners, became a place of some local note. William Alsworth kept the old 
inn in the forest until his death, his wife continuing it for several years longer. 
"Widow Alsworth's" being a favorite stopping-place. The old tavern, with 
its round swinging sign and long low bar-room, for years a spot of historic 
interest, finalh' was destroyed by fire. He was a genial host, and joke and 
kindly word cheered the weary and often discouraged wayfarer. Here he 
reared his family and left a posterity who honor his memory and worthily 
bear the name. 

Henry S. Alworth, of Scranton, is a great-grandson of the old pionee> 
son of Milton S. and Nancy Jane (Sweet) Alworth. He was born in Cliflford, 
Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1869, but when he was two 
years of age his parents, Milton S. and Nancy J., moved to Harford, a post 
village of the same county, about thirty miles north of Scranton. Here his 
youth was spent attending the graded school and working on the farm. Later 
he entered Mansfield State Normal School, whence he was graduated, class 
of 1889. He began teaching soon after his graduation, and in 1890-91 was 
principal of the graded school at Bellevue, Lackawanna township, Lacka- 
wanna county, Pennsylvania. He then entered the law school of the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated LL.B., class of 1893, and 
in ' September of the same year was admitted to the Lackawanna county 
bar, at once beginning practice in Scranton. He has a large practice in the 
state and federal courts of the district, having been regularly admitted to 
practice in all. He has taken a deep interest in public affairs, serving as a 
member of council in 1898, and in 1912 was the successful candidate of his 
party for the state legislature. 

Mr. Alworth married, February 11, 1897, Florence Louise De Munn, and 
has a daughter, Natalie. 


There is a notable record of achievement in the life of Michael A. Mc- 
Ginley that goes far toward proving the value of ambition, determination and 
perseverance, and what these qualities will do for the formation of a career. 
From the following chronicle may come a gleam of hope or inspiration to 
youths whose early circumstances seem to forbid a look above the common 
place to the higher level of existence. 

Michael McGinley, son of John and Margaret (O'Donnell) McGinley, 


was born at Maiich Chunk, Pennsylvania, in 1873. All of his school training 
was obtained before the age of fourteen years, when he apprenticed him- 
self to the machinist's trade. After three years of service in that occupation 
he entered the railroad employ as a fireman, continuing so for two years. 
Most of his spare time and all of his evenings during this period had been 
devoted to study, and in 1890 he obtained a position as court stenographer. 
The nature of his duties allowed him much leisure time and this he utilized 
by entering the office of O'Brien & Kelly as stenographer and law student. 
His studies were so diligently pursued and to such excellent result that his 
admission to the Lackawanna county bar was obtained, after passing a rigid 
examination in June, 1893. So rapid was Mr. McGinley's rise in his chosen 
profession that in 1896, when he was but twenty-three years of age, he was 
placed in the office of city solicitor, an office requiring an exhausting knowl- 
edge of municipal law. His term as solicitor of Scranton was a very busy 
one, as well as most successful. He personally conducted all the litigation in 
which the city was involved, delegating nothing to assistants and has a record 
singularly free from reverses of any kind. As earnest of the industry and 
energy which he carried into his daily duties is the fact that while in office 
he was the author of more than iioo opinions on municipal questions sub- 
mitted to him. Still further evidence of the scope of his knowledge and the 
authoritative nature of his opinions is that not one of the cases in which he en- 
gaged in defence of the principles involved in his opinions has been disturbed 
by an appellate court. In his private practice he has been counsel in eleven 
cases where the defendants were charged with murder and in none of these 
was a first degree verdict rendered. It is also a tribute to his legal genius 
and ability that he received the first acquittal in Lackawanna county in the 
case of a defendant charged with murder where the commonwealth pressed 
for a first degree conviction. 

Mr. McGinley at one time was a candidate for election to Congress from 
his district and in a close election was defeated. The record that he has made 
in his profession would have done ample credit to a man whose entire edu- 
cation and aim in life had been for the law. The fact that by an uphill battle 
with adversity, buoyed up only by his confidence in himself and the sight of 
his goal, should give a great measure of satisfaction to the man who looks 
back upon such a past. 


The record of those of the name of Stipp in Scranton has been that they 
have followed a constructive policy, working results necessary that others 
may prosper with them. Construction has indeed been the keynote of their 
efforts, contracting and building being the line followed successfully and with 
profit by three Stipp brothers. Their businesses have not been parasitic 
growths, imbedding themselves in and preying upon other industries of the 
city, but have been those in which achievement is proportionate with labor ex- 
pended and in which only ability brings success. 

Mathais Stipp, son of Ludwig and Mary Anna (Diedrich) Stipp, was born 
in Rheinfalz. Germany, November 22, 1864. After obtaining his education in 
the public schools of his native land he came to the ITnited States, settling 
in New Jersey in 1883. The year following his landing in this country, he 
came to Scranton, the city which his since been the scene of his life's work. 
For one year he held the position in the employ of another, but since 1885 has 
engaged in business independently, his destinies and fortunes shaped by his 
own hands, he alone responsible for the ends he has accomplished. In 


T892 he added to his contracting and building business, which he had es- 
tablished seven years previous, that of brick manufacture, the product of his 
factory being 30,000 bricks per day. Not alone in the business world is he re- 
garded as one of Scranton's worthy citizens, but in serving two terms as a 
member of the common council of the city he placed himself permanently on 
record as standing for cleanliness in civil life, honor and openness in the ad- 
ministration of municipal finances, and constant co-operation between citizens 
and their representatives in office for the most efficient form of city govern- 
ment. His fraternity is the Masonic Order, in which he holds the thirty- 
second degree, and he is a member of Fairview Lodge. No. 369, K. P. 

Mr. Stipp married, March 10, 1887, Ellen A. Marguart, and has children: 
Arthur P.. Ezra F.. Mathais J., Paul. 


The story of the founding of the Wedeman family in America reveals 
an unusual, to say the least, method of immigration, and one that one might 
well wish to avoid. Daniel Wedeman, a store-keeper and a single man, 
of Hamburg, Germany, had made a trip to London to purchase a stock of 
goods to replenish his depleted supply, when he was seized by British soldiers, 
compelled to don an English uniform, and was pressed into the service of that 
country. He was placed on a transport bound for America, where llie war for 
independence was passing through its birth throes, preparatory to the long, 
grueling struggle that levied such a heavy toll of lives. Enraged because of 
the high handed treatment to which he had been subjected, he deserted the 
British ranks and joined the Colonial forces, entering into the conflict with 
the double incentive to aid a cause he believed righteous and to avenge his 
own abuse. He fought throughout the entire v/ar, and after receiving an 
honorable discharge from the service he decided to remain in the land to which 
his fate had led him, and purchased 400 acres of land near Providence, being 
the second white settler in the Lackawanna Valley. He erected a log cabin 
on the site until recently occupied by Daniel Silkman's home. He married and 
among his children was Peter. 

(II) Peter Wedeman was born in Providence, now North Scranton. Penn- 
sylvania, and there followed the farmer's occupation. He married and 
was the father of the following children : Daniel. Thomas, John, Henry, 
Martin Peter, Cyrus, Ensign, Herman, Abiah, married John Hudson, of Car- 

(III) Martin Peter Wedeman was born where the borough of Mayfield 
now stands. He was a farmer throughout his entire life, taking active part 
in local affairs. He supported first the Whig and later the Republican party, 
and as the candidate of these organizations held many borough and town- 
ship offices, among them school director, supervisor of roads and councilman. 
He married, in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, in 1840, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Lewis and Elizabeth Jones, born near Merthyr-Tydfil, county Glamorgan, 
Wales, in November, 1822. The Jones family above mentioned have long 
been natives of Wales. Children of Martin Peter and Elizabeth f Jones) 
Douglas: John Daniel, born in .\pril. 1846; David Samuel, born in Novem- 
ber, 1849: Louis Peter, of whom further: William H. born in October, 1859; 
George Edward, born in August, 1863: Ella Elizabeth, born in July, 1865. 
married W. D. Bryden, a professor in the Carbondale High School. 

(IV) Louis Peter Wedeman was born at Carl.ondale, I^ckawanna county, 
Pennsylvania, March 5, 1856. He obtained his education in the public schools 
and until he was sixteen vears of age lived on his father's fa''m. He then 



learned the carpenter's trade, supplementing his income during the winter sea- 
son by teaching school. After learning his trade and working at it for a time, 
he branched out in building and contracting operations, in which he met with 
pleasing success. Inclining toward the law, he abandoned the business he had 
built up and began the study of law in the office of Blakeslee & Ainey, at 
Montrose, Pennsylvania. In this profession he found the vocation for which 
he is naturally fitted and since his admission to the bar of Susquehanna 
county in 1890 has been constantly engaged in practice. He has been admit- 
ted to all the state courts, and since 1895 has been located in Scranton. In 
1890 he was elected justice of the peace of Susquehanna county, at Forest 
City, and has been burgess of the same borough. 

He married, in New York City, December 20, 1S98, m the Old Methodist 
Qiurch, the first church of the Methodist Episcopal denomination in the city, 
Minette, daughter of Warren and Sarah (Gregory) Barlow. Warren Barlow 
is in the stone business in Wyoming county, Meshoppen, in that county, be- 
ing the birthplace of Minette (Barlow) Wedeman. Children of Louis Peter 
and Minette (Barlow) Wedeman: Louis W., born July 15, 1900: John D., 
born December 15, 1903. 


The prominence of John T. Porter in the financial and commercial affairs 
of the city of Scranton and the Lackawanna VnIIey is amply attested by his 
long official connection with various of their most im])ortant corporations, 
prominent among them being one of his own founding, the John T. Porter 
Company, wholesale grocers, the largest house of its class in the entire north- 
western part of Pennsylvania, and whose trade extends into the adjoining 
states of New York, New Jersey and Delaware. A fact which further testifies 
to his ability, enterprise and public spirit is his active identification with the 
Scranton Board of Trade, almost from the day of his arrival in the city, 
and of which excellent organization he has been president for two terms. 

Mr. Porter is a native of Delaware, born in Middletown, May 24, 1850. 
Here was also born his father, Abel J. Porter, who passed his life there as a 
farmer and miller. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
He married Sarah Ann Van Pelt, who was of Dutch extraction, her father, 
Jesse Van Pelt, being a native of Holland. The children of Abel J. Porter 
were: Lydia ; Ann Mary, who became the wife of Thomas Price, of Mary- 
land ; John T., of whom further. 

Jolin T. Porter received his education in Smyrna (Delaware) Seminary. 
At the age of nineteen years he was well equipped to make his beginning in 
an independent career, and immediately after leaving the seminary went to 
New York City, where for five years he was engaged as salesman in a foreign 
fruit importing house. Here he served with such ability and fidelity as to win 
the confidence and esteem of his employers, while the experience which he 
obtained was invaluable to him personally, and afforded him a substantial 
foundation for an early establishment in business upon his own account. In 
1875 he located permanently in Scranton. where he opened a wholesale grocery 
business at Nos. 26 and 28 Lackawanna avenue, a site which his house has 
uninterruptedly occupied to the present time. While catering to all immediate 
demands, he was constantly developing his business into larger channels, and 
added to his lines of goods large quantities of his own direct importation from 
foreign markets. Handling every description of staple and fancy groceries, 
canned goods, produce and fruits, he made his house a rival in a large field 
of those of the more pretentious metropolitan centres. He conducted this great 


enterprise under his own individual name until il)03, when he effected its in- 
corporation under the style of the John T. Porter Company. This house gives 
constant employment to more than thirty employes, many of whom are heads 
of families. 

While it would seem that the upbuilding and management of so large an 
enterprise would fully tax the capabilities of any one person, Mr Porter's un- 
bounded energy and activity have found other avenues in the part he has taken 
in connection with numerous other large undertakings, all of which are im- 
portant factors in the business of the community. He was one of the original 
incorporators of the Traders' National Bank, served long upon its directorate, 
and has been president since 1895. This bank, organized in 1890, with a 
capital of $250,000. is recognized as among the safest and most prosperous of 
the financial institutions of the city. It has afforded judicious and valuable 
support to numerous commercial and industrial enterprises of merit, and in 
all ways has contributed in large degree to the promotion of the material in- 
terests of the community. .Associated with Mr. Porter in the officiary are the 
following named gentlemen of acknowledged financial and personal standing : 
J. J. Jermyn, vice-president ; M. J. Murphy, cashier : directors : H. H. Brady 
Jr., Robert W. Beadle, F. L. Belin, David Bois, Joseph J. Jermyn, Cyrus D. 
Jones, Edward S. Jones, M. W. Collins, H. C. Manchester, Charles P. Mat- 
thews, John T. Porter, R. H. Patterson, H. Jennings, R. E. Weeks, James 
G. Shepherd. Mr. Porter is treasurer and director in the Mississippi Central 
Railroad, and holds similar relations with the United States Lumber Com- 
pany, which has extensive lumbering and other interests in Mississippi, which 
are being developed into mammoth proportions. Mr. Porter has been for 
twenty-five years a member of the Elm Park Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
of its board of trustees. He is independent in politics. He is a highly re- 
garded member of various leading social bodies — the Scranton Country Club, 
the Southern Society of New York, and the Sons of Delaware in Philadelphia. 

Mr. Porter married Harriet Schlager, daughter of the late John Schlager. 
Of this marriage have been born six children : Elizabeth, who became the 
wife of R. E. Weeks, of the firm of R. E. Weeks Company, and president of 
the Scranton Board of Trade ; Florence S. ; John Kenneth ; James Russell ; 


In the history of Scranton and her public men, men who have achieved 
success through their own individual efforts, the direct result of integrity, 
energy and perseverance, it is meet that mention should be made of John W. 
Howarth, a member of the firm of Price & Howarth, one of the extensive 
lumber enterprises of the city of Scranton. 

John W. Howarth was born in Pittston, Pennsylvania, November 29, 
1853. He spent his boyhood days at Carbondale, attending the schools in the 
vicinity of his home, supplementing this knowledge by a course at Wyoming 
Seminary, thus acquiring an excellent education. His first emplovment was in 
the transportation department of the Lehigh Valley Railroad, with which cor- 
poration he was connected for ten years. He then took up his residence in 
Scranton. Pennsylvania, becoming connected with the firm of Swan & Price, 
the senior partner being Colonel Price, his brother-in-law. and at the expira- 
tion of three years Mr. Howarth purchased an interest in the firm, and upon 
the death of Mr. Swan the business was continued by Colonel Price and IVlr. 
Howarth, the name being changed to Price & Howarth. its present stvle. 
Colonel Price died in 1892, his estate continuing to hold interest up to the 


present time. The business is that of wholesale and retail lumber, their lumber 
yard covering the entire block between Washington, Poplar and Ash streets. 
The business is one of the leading enterprises of that thriving city, giving em- 
ployment to a number of hands, thus adding to the growth and development 
of that section of the city. In addition to this other business connection, he 
serves as director of the Scranton Stove Works and the Cross Engineering 
Company, of Carbondale, and for many years has been a member of the 
Scranton Board of Trade. He is an independent Republican in politics, and 
holds membership in the Blue Lodge, Masonic Order. Mr. Howarth has spent 
the greater part of his life within sixteen miles of the court house in Scranton. 
Mr. Howarth married, in 1882, Ina Price, born in Pittstou, a sister of 
Colonel Price, aforementioned, and daughter of Samuel and Zillah fArm- 
strong) Price. Mr. and Mrs. Howarth are the parents of two children: 
Marian and Helen. The family occupy an enviable position in the social 
circle of Dunmore, where they reside, being honored and respected by all who 
know them for their many excellent characteristics. They u-e active and 
prominent in all worthy causes, ever ready and willing to contribute their full 
share toward the betterment of mankind. 


The history of the merchants of Scranton, reveals that fact that in nearly 
every instance, their beginnings were small and that the largest and most pros- 
perous firms of to-day are composed of men who have worked their way from 
the foot of the ladder to the top most rounds of commercial success. The 
present head of the Cleland-Simpson Company furnishes a striking instance 
of how a clean living, ambitious young man may overcome the heaviest handi- 
cap, and reach success through a strict adherence to the three cardinal virtues, 
work, perseverance and honesty. 

John Simpson, president of the Cleland-Simpson Company, was born in 
Stonehaven, Scotland, January 7, 1852, son of Alexander and Margaret 
(Logan) Simpson. Until fourteen years of age he attended the parish school, 
then was apprenticed to a draper (dry goods dealer) with whom he remained 
three years. At the age of seventeen years he came to the United States, locat- 
ing in Rochester, New York, there entering the employ of Sibley, Lindsay and 
Curr. After eight months in their employ, he came to Scranton as clerk in the 
newly opened "Boston store." He remained in that capacity until 1873, when 
he joined forces and capital with John Cleland, and opened a dry goods store 
in Danville, Pennsylvania. They conducted a successful business there until 
1876, when Mr. Simpson leaving his partner in charge of the Danville store, 
returned to Scranton as a partner with Lindsay and Liddle, proprietors of the 
Boston store. About three years later, still in partnership with John Qeland, 
he opened a dry goods store in Pittston, Pennsylvania, which proved a success- 
ful venture from the start. A few years later they sold their Danville store 
and opened a similar store in Scranton, concentrating their energies on the 
Scranton and Pittston establishments. The firm had now passed through the 
formative, experimental stage and had proved their ability to conduct large 
business undertakings, with judgment and profit. Deciding upon a plan of 
expansion, they admitted a former employee, David E. Taylor, to a partnership, 
placing him in charge of a new branch store at Allentown. A few years later 
this branch was sold, a store having been opened in Carbondale, which later 
was also sold. Later the business was incorporated as the Cleland, Simpson 
Company, the present officials being : John Simoson, president : Harry Simp- 
son, vice-president; U. A. Noble, secretary and treasurer. The firm employ 


three traveling salesmen in their wholesale department, and in all their de- 
partments about 200 people. An idea of the growth of this business may be 
formed from a comparison of their original, with their present quarters. The 
original building fifty by one hundred feet, one story in height, was erected by 
Horace B. Phelps ; was sold by his estate to Elias Morris, from whom the 
present owners purchased it. The present building is 100 feet front, 167 feet 
in depth, five stories in height with a basement : the new addition built in 
1913 being six stories in height. In addition to his private business and duties 
as the head of the Cleland-Simpson Company, Mr. Simpson is a director of 
the Scranton Lace Curtain Company. 

This showing of the activity and success of the strange young Scotchman 
in his forty years of business life in Scranton, stamps him as a man of rare 
business genius, backed by an untiring energy, and ambition that would not be 
satisfied with even moderate success. Unquestionably. Mr. Simpson deserves 
a place among the leading merchants of Scranton, and none more worthilv or 
justly bears tlie title of a "self-made" man. 

Mr. Simpson married, in February, 1877, Elizabeth, daughter of Jacob 
Stewart, of Danville, Pennsylvania ; children : Clara J., married Urban A. 
Noble, secretary and treasurer of the Cleland-Simpson Company ; Florence , 
Helen E., married Charles Manacces, of San Francisco, California. 


Edward Payson Kingsbury, a public-spirited citizen, and a man whose 
honorable business methods and frank and genial manner have won for him 
many friends in the city of his adoption, was born at Honesdale. Pennsyl- 
vania, May 19, 1834, the son of Hon. Ebenezer Kingsbury and Elizabeth 
Harlow (Fuller) Kingsbury, his wife. 

On both his father's and his mother's side, i\]r. Kingsbury comes from a 
long line of distingi:ished New England ancestry ; they both reach far back 
into early Colonial days, and embrace a large number of those who were well- 
known in the professions and in public life; many of them were clergymen. 
These ancestors were conspicuous for their services to the American cause 
during the Revolutionary War; among the latter was Captain Ebenezer 
Kingsbur)-, of Coventry% Connecticut. It is recorded of him that "he was a 
deacon in the church and a much valued citizen : representative in the general 
assembly of the church continuously from 1754 to 1780;" at the same time he 
was captain of a company of militia. It is said of him that during a critical 
period of the Revolution he returned from the session of the general assembly 
on a Saturday to work for the soldiers. His daughter, Priscilla. moulded 
bullets from the lead clock weights, and his son, Joseph, made and baked 
biscuits, both on the Sabbath : "sand bags were substituted for the lead weights 
in the family clock, and on Monday he returned to his post of duty, his saddle- 
bags balanced on one side with food for the soldiers, and on the other with 
bullets for their enemies." 

Mr. Kingsbury's grandfather was Rev. Ezenezer Kingsbury, a graduate of 
Yale College in the class of 1783. He had his first charge at Jericho. Vermont, 
and in 1810 came to Harford. Pennsylvania, where he preached and labored 
for seventeen years, traveling by horseback through the wilderness embraced 
by the counties of Wayne, Susquehanna. Bradford and Luzerne, going by 
Indian trails and blazed bridle paths. He died, greatly beloved and mourned 
at Harford, Pennsylvania, March 22, 1842. His wife was Hannah, daughter 
of Rev. Noah and Hannah (Payson) WilHston, of West Haven, Connecticut. 


She was directly connected with the distinguished Wilhston family of Mass- 

Mr. Kingsbury's father was Hon. Ebenezer Kingsbury, who was born in 
Jericho, Vermont, June 18, 1804, who came with tiie family to Harford, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1810, where he received his education. He studied law with Hon. 
William Jessup, of Montrose. On being admitted to the bar he moved to 
Honesdale, Pennsylvania, where he soon took a leading position in tJie practice 
of his profession. In 1830 he became deputy attorney general of the state. 
From 1833 to 1840, in addition to his large law practice, he was the editor 
and proprietor of the Wayne County Herald, the leading Democratic news- 
paper of Northern Pennsylvania. He was elected to the senate of Penn- 
sylvania for four years from 1837 to 1841, representing the counties of 
Luzerne, Monroe, Pike and Wayne. During this term he was elected speaker 
of the senate and was, by virtue of this office, next the governor in rank and 
succession. His journeys each year to Harrisbnrg took several weeks, the 
route being by stage to Philadelphia, thence by canal to Harrisburg, and re- 
quired his absence from home all winter. He was a ruling elder in the Pres- 
byterian church of Honesdale and superintendent of the Sunday school. He 
died April 15, 1844, a young man barely across the threshold of life, with a 
great future of promise and usefulness before him. It was said of him, "A 
man righteous before God in all the relations of life." He inarried Elizabeth 
Harlow Fuller, daughter of Edward and Hannah West Fuller, November 24, 
1829. Mrs. Kingsbury was born in Norwich, Connecticut, January i, 1805, 
and was a lineal descendant of Dr. Samuel Fuller, the beloved physician of 
the "Mayflower." She died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, June 13, 1871. 

Their son, Edward Payson Kingsbury, was born at Honesdale, Pennsyl- 
vania, May 19, 1834. He received his education in the common schools and 
in the academy in Honesdale, remaining a pupil until ten years of age, when, 
owing to his father's death, he was obliged to leave school and obtain employ- 
ment in Honesdale. This he found with a firm of tobacconists, H. E. & J. N. 
Conger, where he remained one year, and then went into the drug store of 
Dr. Dwiglit Reed, after which he entered the hat store of John A. Brink, 
where he remained until he made an engagement with the firm of Scrantons & 
Piatt, to enter their store at Scranton, and commenced work for them February 
13, 1850. In 1853 he was transferred from the store to the general offices 
of the company, by Mr. S. T. Scranton, and was appointed assistant to the 
chief bookkeeper. Shortly after this he was appointed cashier of the com- 
pany, and held this position until 1859, when the directors of the Lackawanna 
Iron and Coal Company, successors to Scrantons & Piatt, this firm having been 
merged into this corporation, June 10, 1853, elected him assistant treasurer of 
the company. This office he held until 1881, when, after a service with Scran- 
tons & Piatt, and their successors, of thirty-one years and six months, he 
identified himself with the Scranton Steel Company, incorporated in that year, 
with W. W. Scranton as president, Colonel Walter Scranton, vice-president, 
and E. P. Kingsbury, secretary and treasurer. In the year 1891 this comr 
pany was merged into the Lackawanna Iron and Steel Company. 

The Tribune Publishing Company was incorporated in 1891, and Mr. 
Kingsbury was its first business manager. Later he was elected president, 
vice Everett Warren, Esq., resigned. He helped to organize and became secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Enterprise Powder Manufacturing Company of this 
city. Later on the merging of this company with the E. I. Dupont de Nemours & 
Company of Pennsylvania occurred and he became a director and auditor of that 
company. Mr. Kingsbury is now a director in the following companies : The 
County Savings Bank, the Scranton Gas & Water Company, the Title Guar- 


anty & Surety Company, E. I. Dupont de Nemours & Company of Pennsyl- 
vania, the Scranton Trust Company. 

Mr. Kingsbury has been a lifelong Republican ; his first vote was cast in 
1856 for John C. Fremont for president, and he has given his vote for the 
Republican candidates at every presidential election since that time. He was a 
delegate to the national convention of the Republican party held in Chicago in 
1888, when Benjamin Harrison, of Indiana, was nominated for president of 
the United States. He was appointed a notary public by Governor Curtin, 
and re-appointed by Governors Geary and Hartranft. He was elected city 
controller in 1879 and served two terms, up to and including 1883, and upon 
many occasions has presided at city and county Republican conventions. For 
two terms he served as jury commissioner of Lackawanna county. 

He has been for many years prominently identified with Free Masonry ; 
he became a Mason and member of Union Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
January 16, 1857; elected junior warden in December, 1857; senior warden 
in 1858; and worshipful master in 1859, served as such during the year 1860- 
61-62. In 1863 he was elected treasurer of the lodge, has been re-elected an- 
nually since that time, and is now serving his fifty-first consecutive year. Mr. 
Kingsbury was also district deputy grand master of the Grand Lodge of 
Pennsylvania for several years, for the county of Luzerne. He is a life mem- 
ber of Lackawanna Chapter, No. 185, R. A. M. ; was its high priest 
for the year i860, and district deputy grand high priest of the Grand 
Chapter of Pennsylvania for several years. He is also a member of Coeur de 
Lion Commandery, No. 17, K. T., and was its eminent commander for the 
years 1868-69-70. He has also served as treasurer of the Commandery for 
forty-one years, and was re-elected for the forty-second consecutive time on 
March 17, 1914. 

From the time of his coming to Scranton, when upon the threshold of 
young manhood, Mr. Kingsbury has been an ardent factor in the social, 
religious and industrial life of our city. He has not only seen it grow — he 
has been a lifelong pushing factor in its growth from a wilderness to a great 
and teeming municipality. Scranton has been fortunate in having a large 
class of splendid men as its builders, of which Mr. Kingsbury has ever been 
one of the foremost. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Scranton, and for more than two decades acted as its chorister. 

Mr. Kingsbury married Anna Louisa Kressler, daughter of David K. 
Kressler, of Scranton, February 13, 1861. Their children are: Henry Willis- 
ton, born December 20, 1861 ; Emma, born May 28, 1863, died in infancy ; 
Lizzie, born July 18, 1865, died in infancy ; Charles Edward, born November 
3, 1867: Anna Kressler, born October 12, 1869, became the wife of Richard 
S. Storrs, of Orange, New Jersey; William Payson, born December 14, 1871, 
died May 8, 1913. Mrs. Kingsbury was a woman of strong character, charni 
ing presence and rare personal qualities. x\n earnest Christian and active 
worker in the church, she was an ideal home-maker, than which there can be 
no higher testimony paid to woman. She made her home a sanctuary for her 
husband and her children, for which she will be long loved and her memory 
revered and cherished. She passed to her rest, January 26, 191 3. 


Maurice T. Miller, president and general manager of the T. M. Miller 
Company, manufacturers of undertakers' supplies, is the first of his branch 
of the family of American birth, Germany having been the home of all pre- 
vious generations of the name. The origin of the name was probably from 



the occupation of an early member of the family, most of our surnames having 
been derived in that and similar manners. 

Theodore M. Miller, son of Otto Miller, and founder of the company of 
which his son is now the able head, was born in Leipsic, Germany, one of 
the oldest university cities in the German Empire, in 1848. At an early age he 
came to this country with his parents, settling in Archbald about 1852. Here 
his father conducted a general contracting business and also made coffins, as re- 
quired by the undertakers of the vicinity. In this town Theodore M. Miller 
attended the public schools and spent his boyhood years. In 1873 he inaugu- 
rated the present business at Jermyn, Pennsylvania, twenty years later moving 
to Scranton. While from a financial standpoint his enterprise was always 
a success, it was not until he came to Scranton that it began its greatest de- 
velopment, in the course of which it has trebled in size and has taken a position 
among the foremost houses of its kind in the country. 

Theodore M. Miller was in his youth a musician of great talent, and with 
the proper training, study and instruction would doubtless have become one of 
the leading violinists of the day. While still a lad in his teens he played first 
violin in a theatre orchestra. He was the organizer of the Jermyn Band, which 
at one of the Welsh carnivals of the early days won first prize, Mr. Miller 
was one of the most widely acquainted men in the Lackawanna valley and was 
held in universal esteem among those with whom he came into contract in 
business or social life. Friendly, of genial nature, he possessed the other 
qualities so often the concomitants of those, quick sympathy and impulsive 
generosity. He gave liberally to those in need, his gifts being tendered in the 
spirit of fellowship that took the sting away from the necessity of accepting 
charity and made the recipient of his bounty his lifelong admirer and champion. 
There were many in the region through which he traveled and in his home 
city who blessed his memiory and mourned his death as a personal grief. He 
was fraternally connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
was a charter member of the local lodge of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. He died in 1906. He married Sarah Foster, a native of Eng- 
land. One of their children died young. The others : Maurice T., of further 
mention; Gertrude, married J. Hitchcock; Harry A. ; Robert R. 

Maurice T. Miller, son of Theodore M. and Sarah (Foster) Miller, was 
born in Jermyn, Pennsylvania, February 17, 1874. He was educated in the 
public schools, and early in life began to learn the business of his father, 
working in every department and also as a road salesman. Taught to regard 
this as his life work he made every preparation possible for the position he 
now holds, and at the death of his father in igo6, incorporated the business 
as the T. M. Miller Company, with himself as president and general manager, 
and M. B. Gay as secretary and treasurer. The latter has since retired from 
active participation in affairs, his interest now being owned and his office held 
by H. A. Miller, giving the entire control of the business to the family of the 
founder. One of the first houses of its kind in Northeastern Pennsylvania, 
the T. M. Miller Company is backed by a reputation covering years of service 
performed to the satisfaction of the undertakers of the state. Their catalogue 
includes all articles needed by undertakers in their business, caskets of all 
kinds, dry goods, etc. Their field is country wide, seven salesmen traveling 
constantly in their employ and about 120 undertakers acting as local agents. 
In addition to this, through the medium of an exhaustive and profusely illus- 
trated catalogue, a large mail order business is conducted. Mr. Miller super- 
vises this business in a competent manner, maintaining the high standard set 
by his honored father. 

Maurice T. Miller is a member of Hyde Park Lodge, No. 333, F. and 


A. M., the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and serves on the Scran- 
ton Board of Trade. Both he and his wife are members of the Washburn 
Street Presbyterian Church. He married Mary, daughter of Job Harris, of 
Scranton, and has two children, Theodore H. and Alary. 

Mr. Miller, trained for the position he now occupies, has had little op- 
portunity to display his constructive ability, but in the direction of the business 
founded by his father shows executive talent that justifies faith in his future 
achievements, and promises him to be a worthy son of an honored and re- 
spected, albeit deeply mourned, sire. 


Although a resident of Scranton since 1892, and one of the leading mer- 
chants, Mr. Mosher is a native of New York state, where the Moshers and 
his maternal ancestors, the Dickinsons, are among the oldest families. He is 
a son of Adalbert and Susan (Dickinson) Mosher, the former for many years 
a merchant of Trumansburg, New York, where he yet resides. 

Luthan B. Mosher was born in Trumansburg, June 8, 1863. He was there 
educated and resided until he was twenty years of age, then went to Rochester. 
New York, always a great clothing manufacturing centre, where he learned 
the trade of garment cutter. After mastering this art he learned the tailoring 
part of the business, becoming a finished workman in both branches of the mer- 
chant tailor's trade, cutting and making. In 1892 he located in Scranton and 
established a merchant tailoring business in association with Henry D. Hodg- 
son under the firm name of Hodgson & Mosher. In 1894 Mr. Mosher pur- 
chased his partner's interest, and later admitted as partner, J. W. Coleman, 
operating as Mosher & Coleman. Four years later he bought Mr. Coleman's 
interest and has since continued the business. In 1903 his store was destroyed 
by fire, in what is locally known as the Young Men's Christian Association 
fire. He is now located in splendidly appointed quarters on the first floor of 
the Burr Building, No. 138 Washington avenue, where he conducts a most 
exclusive and well patronized tailoring establishment. Mr. Mosher is a mem- 
ber of Trumansburg Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Royal Arch Masons ; 
Saint Augi:stine Commandery, Knights Templar, of Ithaca, New York ; and 
of Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania. 
In Scranton he is a member of the Board of Trade, the Scranton Club and 
St. Luke's Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Mosher married Lois Burr, one of the two daughters of Dr. Andrew 
E. Burr, for forty years a practicing physician of Carbondale and Scranton. 
He was born in Gilbertsville, New York, in 1837, died in Scranton, Penn- 
sylvania, October 7, 1900, and is buried in Dunmore Cemetery. He prepared 
for the practice of medicine and in i860 located in Carbondale, where until 
1875 he continued in successful practice. In the latter year he moved to 
Scranton where he was in active practice until failing health, only a short 
time prior to his death, caused his retirement. He was a skillful physician 
and a good citizen, aiding by his enterprise and foresight in the development 
of Scranton. The Burr Building on Washington avenue was erected by Dr. 
Burr against the advice of his friends, but in spite of advice and ridicule he 
trusted his own foresight and became the pioneer office builder in that block, 
the site of the building being that of his residence which was removed to make 
way for the new building. He was well known and popular, had a large prac- 
tice and a wealth of friends. While in Carbondale he married Miss Phillios, 
who died in July, 1913. 



In a day when methods and processes of food preparation have become so 
unclean, unsanitary, and unhealthful, as to necessitate the vigilance of a Pure 
Food Commission and the most stringent of laws to prevent the introduction of 
adulterants, preservatives and other deleterious compounds into the articles 
intended for our consumption ; and when the United States Bureau of Chem- 
istry is constantly engaged in analyzing food-stuits and exposing their illegal 
ingredients, it is indeed a satisfaction to discover a place devoted to the prepara- 
tion of an article of food where cleanliness and purity reign supreme. Picture 
a two-story edifice, built of Avondale marble and brick, 120 by 150 feet, 
housing Kolb's Bakery. Within, every appliance used in the making of the 
bread is snowy white ; the sides of the building are little more than glass, 
through which the sunlight streams ; the robes of the bakers are glistening 
white. Fresh air, sunlight, and cleanliness defy the presence of dirt or dust. 
Here, safeguarded from any contaminating germs, 25,000 loaves of bread are 
baked daily and sent out to the homes of the Lackawanna and Wyoming 
valleys, their purchasers assured that here, at least, is a product of purity. 

The Kolb family on the paternal side has long been resident in Penn- 
sylvania, while maternally New York has been its home for an equally long 
time. John G. Kolb was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, died in 1882, 
aged fifty years. His lifelong trade was that of baker, which he followed 
independently, for the most part. He was a Scottish Rite Mason, belonging 
to the Knights Templar. He married Sarah Kaiser, and they became the 
parents of several children. 

Edward O. Kolb, son of John G. and Sarah (Kaiser) Kolb, was born in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, May 29, 1875. He obtained an excellent education 
in the public schools, graduating from high school in 1892. He first obtained 
employment with his three brothers and thoroughly learned the lumber busi- 
ness, abandoning that to learn the baking business, practiced by his father. 
In partnership with his brother, Robert C., he opened a bakery in Trenton. 
No sooner was this started upon a successful career and its popularity and 
permanence assured, than, with his brother, Frank, he went to Reading and 
there performed the same operation. After this, too, was firmly established, 
Edward O. Kolb came to Scranton and there built and equipped his present 
bakery, a model of modern and sanitary methods. In the beginning of the 
bakery's existence only ten persons were employed, the force having been 
increased in accordance to the demands of the business until now seventy- 
five persons are engaged. A most efficient system of distribution is main- 
tained, fifty per cent, of the daily output reaching families in the Lackawanna 
and VV'yoming valleys outside of the city of Scranton. The enormity of the 
amount of bread baked is well shown by the quantity of flour used in its 
making, two and a half carloads being converted into the "staff of life" weekly. 
Mr. Kolb belongs to the Masonic Order and is a member of King Solomon's 
Lodge. No. 114, F. and A. M., and Melita Chapter, Royal Arch Masons. He 
also holds membership in the Scranton Bicycle Club. He married Martha, 
daughter of William Rayer, of Rayersville, Pennsylvania. Children: Sarah 
E. and Emma. 

An excellent organizer, Mr. Kolb has placed his business in Scranton upon 
a firm and lucrative basis. Catering to the public taste in a manner and by 
a system that immediately won approval, he has built up in Scranton, as he did 
in Trenton and Reading, a flourishing trade. Progressive and modern in 
ideas, he is a valuable acquisition to Scranton society, as his business is to her 
industrial interests. 



Now one of the oldest merchants of Scranton, yet in active business, Mr. 
IngHs can boast of a mercantile experience in four countries, Scotland, Eng- 
land, South America and the United States. Coming to Scranton when a young 
man of about twenty years, his experience as clerk and merchant covers near- 
ly a half century and as the city has grown and prospered, so has Mr. Inglis. 

He was bom in Newcastleton, Roxburyshire, Scotland, October lo, 1847, 
son of Frank and Jeannette (Scott) Inglis, both descendants of old Scottish 
families, his mother belonging to the same family as Sir Walter Scott, the 
great novelist. His father, Frank Inglis, was a sheep and wool dealer. 

J. Scott Inglis was educated in the parish schools of Newcastleton, and 
on arriving at a suitable age became a draper's apprentice, serving four years 
in the town of Hawick. After finishing his years of apprenticeship he spent 
some time in Manchester, England, as clerk for the firm of Cleaton & Williams, 
drapers. An opportunity then presented itself, which he embraced, and he is 
next found in Buenos Ayres, South America. He did not long remain in that 
city, but ascending the Uruguay river to Roman, he found employment with 
a beef company, operating a large soladom there, dressing from one to two 
thousand cattle daily, the carcasses being shipped to England. While in the 
employ of the beef company, he made the acquaintance of an English com- 
mercial traveler who recognized him as a man he had seen in Hicke. They 
became friends, with the result that the Englishman induced Mr. Inglis to 
become his assistant in handling the dry goods trade in his South American 
territory. In 1866 he came to the United States, going to New York City for 
a short time, then coming to Scranton, being sent here by Samuel Rogers, a 
brother-in-law of the late Thomas Moore. He was first employed in a store 
of Mrs. Courtney, then was with Orr Brothers until they went out of busi- 
ness. He next clerked for the firm of Fisher, Sutphen & Whitmore, whose 
place of business was at the present site of Goldsmith's Bazaar. The next year 
he spent in the state of Illinois, then returned to Scranton and opened a general 
store in Dunmore, continuing in business there four years. After selling his 
Dunmore store he opened a grocery at the corner of Penn avenue and Spruce 
street, which after three years he sold. He then became a clerk in the store 
of R. L. Lindsay in the Boston Store, continuing until 1881, when he became 
manager of the carpet and furniture departments of Williams & McAnulty. 
who were just starting. Here he gained his expert knowledge of the furniture 
and carpet trade and not long afterward became a member of the firm of 
Hazlett & Company, carpet and furniture dealers. After one and a half 
years he sold his interest to Mr. Hazlett, but remained as manager of the 
store. During this period he visited his old Scottish home, spending two 
months in revisiting the scenes of his youth. After his return to Scranton he 
was manager for H. D. Judd & Company until he established a carpet store 
of his own at No. 419 Lackawanna avenue, continuing there in successful 
business for eleven years. In 1906 his store was burned and he did not again 
resume business until April 12, 191 3. He then opened his present store in the 
new building. No. 428 Lackawanna avenue, where he again engaged in the 
same lines, furniture, carpets and wall paper. His life has been an eventful 
one and from boyhood to the present has been one of activity and purpose. 
He is well known and holds an honorable position in the commercial world. 
His interests extend beyond his store and are of importance. He was one 
of the organizers of the Pine Brook Bank and its first president. In political 
faith he is a Republican, and in religious belief a Presbyterian, belonging to 
the First Presbyterian Church. 


Mr. Inglis married Nancy Victoria, daughter of Abraham Robinson, of 
Canada. Children : William W.. now manager of the Hillside Coal Company 
of Dnnmore; Jessie, married B. E. Aliller, of Scranton, head painter of the 
Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad of East Orange; Helen, married 
W. B. Jennings, vice-president of the Dime Bank of Pittston and superin- 
tendent of the Pennsylvania Coal Company. 


As a successful inventor and vice-president of the Scranton Butti^n Com- 
pany, Mr. Sylvester is well known to the industrial world. 

Born in 1852, he passed his youth in New York City where he attended 
public school until his sixteenth year, when he left home and journeyed west- 
ward, spending two and one-half years in the then sparsely settled state of 
Missouri. This separation from the turmoil of city life gave him an op- 
portunity to pursue his studies, and acquire the reading habit, which is still 
one of his greatest pleasures. Contact with the free life of the early settlers, 
untrammeled by conventionalities, developed a liberality of thought and free- 
dom from prejudice. In the solitude of the primitive forest he imbibed a love 
of nature, which still remains a source of keen satisfaction. 

He then returned to New York City, and for nearly five years was clerk 
on the wharf of the National Steamship Company plying between New York, 
Liverpool and London. Here he availed himself of the fine opportunity 
offered for studying the free play of the emotions of traveling humanity when 
under the stress and excitement of arriving and departing vessels. He ac- 
quired a good working knowledge of custom house regulations and practice, as 
well as experience in marine freight, and the discharging and loading of trans- 
atlantic steamers. Always of an inquiring and inventive turn of mind, he in- 
vented, while in the employ of the company, a reel for winding telegraph tape 
automatically. The reels were used successfully in the company's main office 
as well as on the wharf, the manager expressing his appreciation of the ap- 
paratus by presenting Mr. Sylvester with a substantial bonus. 

His leanings towards industrial inventions, however, became too strong 
for him to remain in a clerical position. In 1874 he engaged in the manu- 
facture of composition goods. Realizing the importance and advantage of 
producing a composition that could be used in the manufacture of buttons, 
dominoes, checkers, knobs, etc., he bent his energies in this direction, and 
finally perfected a substance that has proved valuable in the manufacture, not 
only of the articles mentioned, but also of many others, notably moulded 
electrical insulations, and its application in this field has kept pace with the 
development of the electrical industry. His invention of automatic machines 
revolutionized the business, and gave Mr. Sylvester and his business associates 
a great advantage over competitors. 

After fifteen years spent in Auburn, New York, in the composition busi- 
ness, in 1890 he took up his residence in Scranton, becoming associated with 
William Connell, and his son, Charles R. Connell, now president of The 
Scranton Button Company. This proved an efficient combination of talent. 
Charles R. Connell's aggressive business ability combined with Mr._ Sylvester's 
inventive and industrial executive ability have firmly established in Scranton 
the largest manufacturing plant of its kind in the world, one whose product 
is shipped to the uttermost parts of the earth. 

Although Mr. Sylvester had taken out more than twenty patents on ma- 
terial and processes, he had been granted additional patents on improved 
processes and methods of manipulation. He is constantly seeking to produce a 


still more perfect material and lessen the cost of production. He is of a 
studious turn of mind, with leaning towards scientific and philosophical sub- 

He is a thirty-second degree Mason, a member of Peter Williamson Lodge, 
No. 323, F. and A. M.; Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; all 
bodies of Keystone Consistory, Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite; a mem- 
ber of the Temple Club, the Scranton Press Club and the American Society 
for Judicial Settlement of International Disputes. Politically he is a Re- 

Mr. Sylvester married, in 1874, Louise C. Haendle, daughter of Conrad 
Haendle, of New York City. Mr. and Mrs. Sylvester have three children: 
Louise E., a graduate of Wellesley College, now Mrs. Paul L. Criblet, of San 
Francisco, California; Elfreida, salutatorian of Scranton High School, class 
of 1899 ; Louis G., graduate of Cornell University, now assistant manager of 
The Scranton Button Company ; married Harriet Lindsay, daughter of Robert 
K. Lindsay. Mrs. Sylvester and her daughter Elfreida are members of the 
Second Presbyterian Church. The family home is at 306 Webster avenue. 


When the Bliss-Davis Building, at the corner of Adams avenue and Spruce 
street, was thrown open to the public, it was as the business home of one of 
its owners, William J. Davis, merchant tailor. Mr. Davis was one of the 
early merchants and leading citizens of Forest City, Pennsylvania, until 1896, 
when he located in Scranton and here has advanced to the front rank in his 
private business and to important position in the various corporations in which 
he is interested. He was born in county Donegal, Ireland, October 30, 1856, 
son of Robert and Mary (Brown) Davis, both descendants of old families 
of that county and freeholders for many generations. His father, Robert 
Davis, came to the United States with his family of six children in 1864, and 
purchased a farm on Long Island, New York, where he engaged in agriculture 
until his death. The old homestead still remains in the possession of the family. 
He had seven children who grew to mature years, William J., of whom further ; 
Margaret ; Sarah ; John ; Robert ; George ; Minnie. 

William J. Davis passed the first seven years of his life in his native land, 
was brought to the United States with his parents in 1864 and grew to man- 
hood at the Long Island farm. He was educated in the public schools of his 
neighborhood, later continuing his studies at schools in Maine, and St. Albans, 
Vermont. After his marriage he purchased a farm in Wayne county, Penn- 
sylvania, teaching school during the winter months and managing the farm 
in the summer. In 1884 he sold his farm and began mercantile life in Forest 
City, then little more than a name, he being one of the first merchants there. 
For thirteen years he engaged in mercantile tailoring, and as dealer in ready- 
made clothing and all branches of gentleman's furnishings. He prospere(i 
abundantly and was one of the leaders in the development of Forest City from 
hamlet to borough. He held many public positions, but was especially inter- 
ested in educational matters. He was a member of the school board and its 
president when the present admirable system of schools was inaugurated and 
buildings erected for their accommodation. So carefully were they planned 
and so business-like was their erection that their comparatively small cost 
caused public comment. Mr. Davis also erected the finest opera house in the 
county, one unequaled anywhere in the country in towns even much larger. 
He also erected many other buildings ; was a member of the building com- 
mittee that erected the Episcopal church, contributed the first money for the 


building of the Methodist Episcopal church and was one of the first subscribers 
toward the building fund of the Roman Catholic church. In 1896 he located 
in Scranton, opening a merchant tailoring establishment in the old Frothinghani 
Arcade. Later he located on Spruce street, remaining there three years, then 
moving to the newly completed Bliss-Davis Building, corner Adams avenue 
and Spruce street, of which he is part owner. He does a very large merchant 
tailoring business, greater in volume than any other tailor in the city. He 
was one of the organizers of the Union National Bank, which he serves as 
director, and was president of the Scranton Fire Insurance Company until 
it passed out of existence. He is a member of Saint Luke's Episcopal Church 
and in political faith is a Republican. Mr. Davis has acquired considerable 
valuable real estate in Scranton and other towns and in connection with Mr. 
Valentine Bliss he is developing a section of land consisting of forty acres iti 
the eastern part of the city. 

Mr. Davis, married Frances, daughter of William B. Dalton, of county 
Clare, Ireland, the Daltons were originally a family of France. Oiildren : 
I. William R., a graduate of Friends School, Providence, Rhode Island, ana 
of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, degree of C.E., now engaged in his 
profession in Pittsburgh. He was one of the engineers engaged in the con- 
struction of Pittsburgh's filtration plant. 2. Ralph, graduate of Blair (Penn- 
sylvania) High School and of Cornell L'niversity, class of 191 1, C. E., now 
engaged with the great steel firm of Pittsburgh, Jones and Laughlin. ^. 
Harold, graduate of Blair High School, received an appointment as cadet to 
the L^nited States Naval Academy at Annapolis, spent one year there ; entered 
the School of Mines at Golden, Colorado, now engaged in the real estate busi- 
ness in Scranton. 4. Dalton, graduate of Blair High School, spent one year at 
Dartmouth College, then entered Columbia L'niversity, whence he was grad- 
uated 19 1 3 in pharmacy. 


That one of the leading retail business houses of Scranton is presided 
over by a woman is rather unusual even in this day of advanced thought con- 
cerning the equality of the sexes. But when the training previously secured 
while in the employ of others, her natural aptitude and her acute business 
instinct is weighed, it causes no wonder that Mr?. Evans has risen to a high 
position in the mercantile world. In fact the qualities she possesses invariably 
lead in but one direction, upward. Thoroughly a business woman and asking 
no favors from her masculine competitors on account of sex, Mrs. Evans is so 
essentially feminine, gentle and modest, that her success in the stern world of 
competitive business calls for more than passing comment. This rare business 
ability does not come to her as an inheritance from commercial ancestors, as 
their lot was cast among the mountains of Wales where extracting minerals 
from mother earth to enrich others, rather than themselves, was their por- 
tion. So as neither heredity nor environment can be charged with her rise 
in the business world, the secret must be in her own character While from 
her Welsh forbears strength of body, clearness of mind and habits of industry 
were obtained, the motive power that drives these powers into her service is 
not difficult to find. Starting humbly as a clerk, an ambition was aroused to 
become a merchant herself. With this definite ambition, close observation, un- 
tiring energy and thorough study of the principles underlying retail mer- 
chandising, soon brought her to the starting point of an independent mer- 
cantile career. The experience ripened her judgment, fewer and fewer mis- 
takes were made, success followed success as lines were broadened and trade 


increased until from the little beginning with two employes, she now is pro- 
prietor of the largest as well as the second oldest retail shoe store in Scranton, 
employing twenty-five people, enjoying a high class of patronage, sufficient to 
keep them all busy. That this has been accomplished in the years since i88i5 
seems additional reason to confer upon Mrs. Evans the title of "Scranton's 
leading business woman." 

Mrs. Jennie Lewis Evans v/as born in Carmarthenshire, Wales, daughter 
of Reese J. and Ann (Jones) Lewis. Her father, Reese J. Lewis, was a miner 
and contractor in his native land, coming to the United States in 1868. He 
spent the remaining years of his active life in mining operations, prospered and 
spent his last years retired. He died m 1887. (P'or a more extended account, 
see sketch of William R. Lewis in this work). 

Jennie Lewis was brought by her parents to Scranton in 1868 and here she 
obtained a good education in the public schools. Determining upon a busi- 
ness career she entered the employ of Goldsmith Brothers, continuing until 
1888, when in partnership with David M. Reilly, she established a letail shoe 
store at No. 114 Wyoming avenue, under the firm name, Lewis & Reilly. 
The business grew, and prosperity came as a result of well directed effort and 
the best modern methods. The firm established a high standing in the business 
world for energy and integrity, and existed in the same locality and under 
the same ownership until 1900, when Mr. Reilly withdrew. The store is still 
continued at the same location under the direct management of Mrs. Evans, its 
founder, but greatly enlarged and improved. 

Jennie Lewis married, in 1909, Elias E. Evans, born in Wales in 1862, 
son of Daniel D. Evans, who soon afterward came with his family to the 
United States, locating at Hyde Park (Scranton) where he organized the firm 
of D. D. Evans & Company, which became one of the prosperous busi- 
ness houses of that section. Elias E. Evans, after completing his studies, 
entered mercantile life, and is now proprietor of the oldest shoe store in 
Hyde Park, and a successful and prosperous merchant, senior partner of the 
firm of Evans & Powell. He is active in religious and public life of Hyde 
Park, served twelve years as school director and is a deacon of Plymouth Con- 
gregational Church. Mrs. Evans is also a communicant of that church. 


Garrett Smith, a prominent and influential resident of Scranton, Penn- 
sylvania, traces his ancestry through a long line of English forbears. He was 
born near Belvidere, Warren county. New Jersey, September 17, 1830, son 
of Jacob and Caroline (Axford) Smith. 

Captain John Axford, maternal great-grandfather of Garrett Smith, was 
born in England, December 22, 1761, died January 14, 1843. He came to this 
country previous to the Revolutionary War, in which he actively participated, 
receiving his commission as captain under General Washington. During the 
struggle he made his home at Oxford Furnace. New Jersey, where he be- 
came possessor of a large tract of land and where he made his home upon the 
cessation of hostilities. He subsequently became a drover, an occupation he 
followed for many years, as it was an agreeable and lucrative means of liveli- 
hood. He bore a reputation upon which there was no suggestion of a smirch, 
his dealings with his fellow men being honorable and upright, while his private 
life was scrupulously clean. In religious faith he was a Presbyterian, and in 
politics a staunch Whig. He married Eleanor P. Polhemus, born in the 
colonies, April 7, 1767, died June 22, 1848, aged eighty-one years, daughter of 
John Polhemus, of English birth, and granddaughter of John Hart, one of the 



signers of the Declaration of Independence. Children : Abraham, John, 
Charles, Montgomery, Eleanor. 

John Axford, maternal grandfather of Garrett Smith, was a native of New 
Jersey, a farmer by occupation, and in 1829 moved from his native state to 
southern Michigan, locating in Oakland county, a section of the state then a 
wilderness. He purchased 640 acres in the oak openings and erected a log 
house in the middle of the section. As a farmer he was practical and efficient, 
qualities which he also possessed in business dealings, together with a keen 
sagacity. He married (first) Mary De Que, of French extraction, (second) 
Charity Axford. Children of first marriage : Samuel T., John, Abraham, 
Caroline, Mary, Sarah. Child of second marriage : William J. 

(I) Peter Smith, paternal grandfather of Garrett Smith, a native of New 
Jersey, followed his occupation of farmer in Warren county, near Oxford 
Furnace, where he was the owner of 260 acres of good farm land. Upon his 
death the property came into possession of his sons, later becoming the prop- 
erty of Garrett Smith, who still retains it, with the exception of a few lots 
platted for the village of Oxford Furnace, which was named by Captain 
John .Oxford for Oxford, England. Peter Smith died at his home in Belvidere, 
New Jersey, aged eighty years. 

(II) Jacob Smith, father of Garrett Smith, was born in Warren counry. 
New Jersey. For a number of years he engaged in farming in the vicinity 
of Belvidere, later moving to near Oxford Furnace. In 1855 he located in 
Michigan and purchased a farm near Rochester, Oakland county, where he 
spent the remainder of his life. He married Caroline Axford, born in New 
Jersey in 1810, died in 1848. Among their children were: i. Sarah, married 
William Petty, now deceased, of Washington, New Jersey. 2. Garrett, of 
further mention. 3. John A., a resident of Oakland county, Michigan. 4. 
Samuel T., a resident of Rockaway, New Jersey, who served as private in a 
Pennsylvania regiment in the Union army. 5. Peter J., a resident of Rochelle 
Park, now Passaic, New Jersey, a lieutenant in a New Jersey regiment during 
the Civil War. 6. Eliza. 7. Caroline, who married John Kline. 

(III) Garrett Smith, son of Jacob and Caroline (Axford) Smith, was born 
near Oxford Furnace, Warren county, New Jersey, September 17, 1830, and 
now (1914) in his eighty-fourth year is an honored resident of Scranton, 
Pennsylvania. He obtained his education in the public schools of his native 
township, and early in life learned the miller's trade. He came to Scranton at 
an early date. 1848, and is one of the remaining residents of this city who 
remember the little settlement as Slocum Hollow, then only a furnace and 
rolling mill. He came here in company witli John Landis, making the 
journey from New Jersey by wagon and teams. Mr. Smith, then only a 
boy, drove six cows and it took four days to complete the journey. The present 
city was then little more than a hamlet, giving little promise of the prosperous 
Scranton of to-day. Mr. Smith's fund of experience in the new section is most 
interesting and includes the fact that he has hunted rabbits over the ground 
now occupied by the Lackawanna county court house. For eight months 
he worked on a farm rented by Mr. Landis and owned by the Lackawanna 
Iron and Coal Company, on which the Delaware. Lackawanna & Western Rail- 
road station and shops are now located. In the fall of 1849 h^ was employed 
in the old frame Slocum mill, operated by the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Com- 
pany. In 1850 a new mill, the Brick mill, was erected by the same company, 
that began grinding the same year, with Mr. Smith as foreman or head miller. 
This mill turned out 600 barrels of flour per month. For thirty years this 
mill was run by water power, steam then being introduced, obtained from the 


company's rolling mills. For fifty-three years INlr. Smith held his position ; 
the mill was abandoned in 1901, and he then retired from active labor, a most 
wonderful and praiseworthy record of loyalty and appreciation. On April i, 
i860, Mr. Smith removed to his present house, then a farm house located upon 
a farm owned by the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company, 
consisting of 300 acres and known as the Griffin farm tract. The house in 
which he still resides was built in 181 2, and for many years he not only acted 
as the chief miller for the company by which he was employed but also had 
the supervision of this entire farm, looking after these two interests at the 
same time. This entire tract of land has since been sold for building lots and 
it is now thickly covered with residences. 

Mr. Smith is a Presbyterian in religious faith and for thirty years has been 
a member of the board of trustees of the Washburn Street Presbyterian 
Oiurch, most of that time serving as president of the board. His political 
affiliations have always been strongly Republican. To few men has so long a 
term of active life been vouchsafed as to Mr. Smith. His long and useful 
life is a record of duty well performed, and now long past the allotted term of 
man's life he takes a keen delight in the doings of the present, although for 
him the "long ago'' is filled with the most pleasant reminiscence. A com- 
panionable, sprightly old gentleman he boasts a host of warm appreciative 
friends to whom he is both an inspiration and a delight. He is an authority 
on local history, his residence covering the long gap between Slocum Hollow 
of 1840 and Scranton, the prosperous, thickly populated capital of Lackawanna 
county of to-day. 

^Ir. Smith married Mary H. Landis, who died in Scranton, October 9, 1891, 
daughter of John Landis, with whom he came from New Jersey to Scranton. 
Children: Samuel Irving, a farmer of Lackawynna township; Li?zie Bell, 
widow of Frank Freeman, lives with her father; Marvin Colvin. an employee 
of the Gas and Water Company. 


A guest enjoying the genial hospitality of the Hotel Jermyn where his 
every need had been anticipated and every provision made for his comfort, 
gives little thought to the master mind behind it all, but regards only the im- 
mediate party supplying each need. Chef, cook, waiter, clerk or maid are each 
lauded in turn, but of Mr. Shoemaker, the managing mind of it all, he knows 
or sees but little. Yet each detail of each department is well known to him, 
its head is selected and instructed by him and the burden of the management 
of the great hotel, that cares each day for a number of people greater than 
the entire population of many villages, rests entirely upon his shoulders. So 
the personality of the man who silent and unseen, is so important to the pros- 
perity of the great enterprise, becomes of interest. 

Layton L. Shoemaker was born in Cherry Valley, Pennsylvania, October 
23, 1872. He is the son of Theodore Shoemaker, born in Cherry Valley in 
1821, son of German parents, died 1888, his death caused by accident. He 
was a farmer of the valley for several years, later moving to East Stroudsburg, 
Pennsylvania, where he entered the bridge building department of the Dela- 
ware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad as carpenter, continuing until an un- 
lucky fall from a bridge on which he was employed caused his death. 

Lavton L. Shoemaker spent his very early life in Stroudsburg, coming to 
Scranton at the age of ten years, there passing through the public schoo', 
finishing in high school, although not completing the full course, having ear'y 
in life the problem of making his own way in the world thrust upon him. He 

^- >3 ^ ^/^^^^-^-^^^ 


began his business career as errand boy in the employ of C. S. Woolworlh. 
continuing six years, but in higher position. He then entered the employ of 
The Grand Union Tea Company, at No. 109 Wyoming avenue, as clerk, re- 
maining five years, then was transferred to the Lackawanna avenue store of 
the same city, holding the same position there for three years. In 1894 he 
became a clerk for F. S. Godfrey, proprietor of the Lackawanna Valley 
House, Scranton, and there gained his first experience in the hotel business. 
He remained with Mr. Godfrey two years, then became manager of the cigar 
business of the Hotel Jermyn. The following year he was appointed cashier 
of the hotel, two years later became head clerk, and on January i, 1912, was 
appointed manager of the hotel, which position he most capably fills. His 
management of this greatest of Scranton hotels has met with the entire ap- 
proval of the owners, while the patrons of the hotel are loudest in its praise. 
The knowledge of duty well performed brings its own satisfaction and reward; 
the consciousness that one's efforts are noted and appreciated is a source of 
gratification to any man, and to none does greater credit belong than to Mr. 
Shoemaker, who has fairly won his way from the bottom of the ladder. He 
is progressive, energetic and practical, rides no hobbies, but with well formed 
plans, directs this great house of entertainment, with strict regard for the 
interest of the owners and the just rights of the traveling public. He realizes 
that these never conflict but are so closely allied that should either be neglected, 
both must suffer. He is a member of the Peter Williamson Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and of Keystone Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottisli 
Rite, thirty-second degree, also a "Shriner" of Irem Temple, Wilkes-Barre. 
In his personality genial and generous, the number of his friends is legion 
and all have for him a sincere regard. 


Of gentle blood, high university attainments and of political importance in 
the city of his birth, Dr. Deantonio voluntarily relinguished position and friends 
to become a resident of the United States. His father, Francesco Deantonio, 
was a distinguished scholar, physician, naturalist, for several years professor 
of natural science at the Lyceum of Alexandria and translator of the famous 
Tito Lucretio Caro poem "De Rerum Natura." This great work was pre- 
sented in manuscript form to the municipality of Alexandria, North Italy, 
after the translator's death, by his widow. So highly was the gift prized that 
that municipality defrayed all cost of publication and gave it to the world in 
book form. Professor Deantonio married Angiolina Rossi, of Turin, Pied- 
mont (North Italy), and had six children: i. Emilio, of further mention. 
2. Felix, prepared for the practice of law under the famed Italian jurist. 
Vincenzo Demaria. co-worker in the promulgation of the New Italian Penal 
Code ; Felix Deantonio is a leading criminal lawyer of Turin, Italy ; he mar- 
ried the then only living descendant of the renowned Italian astronomer and 
mathematician, Giovanni Plana: she died in Turin in 1913, leaving large estates 
in Stradella, Piedmont. 3. Carlo, one of the bravest and most skillful military 
tacticians of the Italian army in which he holds the rank of lieutenant-colonel : 
resides in Milan, Italy ; he was for many years professor of the Italian School 
of War, has won recognition from both his own and other governments by 
whom he has been decorated with many badges of honor ; he married Baroness 
Bichi, of one of Italy's noble families. 4. Attilio, now and for many years 
professor of literature in the high school of Casale Monferrat. 5. Louise, 
married Fortunato Tiscar, Chevalier of the Crown of Italy, the well known 
Italian consular agent of Scranton. 6. Josephine, married Julius Fassella, 


professor of physics and mathematics of Milan Normal School, son of the 
late director of the Italian Naval School at Genoa. 

Dr. Emilio Deantonio was born at Alexandria, Northern Italy, October 4. 
1870. He was educated in the preliminary school of Alexandria, the Roya. 
University of Turin and Pavia University, receiving from the latter institution 
at his graduation in 1894 the degree of M.D. He was for one year assistant 
to the present deputy, R. Rampoldi, who is professor of ophtalmology at Pavia 
University. Dr. Deantonio, soon after taking his degree, entered the arena 
'of public life and was elected a member of the council, governing the city of 
Alexandria. Later he was elected to select council, so well had he served the 
interests of the municipality. During his tenure of office as a councilman, he 
visited the United States in 1903, arriving on the steamer '"Lombardia." He 
traveled over the country with an observant eye and becoming convinced of 
the wisdom of such a step resigned his official position in Alexandria, gave 
up his practice and has ever since been a resident of Scranton. He established 
an office at No. 346 Franklin avenue for the practice of medicine and has 
found a most satisfactory demand for his professional services. Thoroughly 
qualified in his profession, mastering several languages, an educated gentleman 
and a man of refined tastes and habits. Dr. Deantonio has many friends, who 
esteem him not alone for his skill as a physician, but as a highly regarded 
friend. He is one of the directors of the Scranton Private Hospital; fellow 
of the .\merican Medical .'\ssociation, and a Progressive in politics. 


The ancestry of the Lawrence family is to be sought in that part of Con- 
tinental Europe that was the home of the Knickerbockers. The records of 
the Old Dutch Church at New York give the arrival and marriage of the emi- 
grant ancestor and the baptism of his children, from which it would appear 
that the surname of Lawrence in a less x'Knglicized form was adopted by the 
emigrant, because he was the son of a man whose Christian name was Laurens, 
and that Popinga was the actual surname of the family, if it had any, in 
Holland. In the list "Niewe Ledematen Aengekomen" is: "Anno 1662 den 2 
Jul. Thomas Laurenszen Popinga ;" and in the margin is : "Jun. 9 1663 Thomas 
Laurenszen j. m. (bachelor) Van Groeningen en Marritje Jans wede. (widow") 
Van Cornells Langevelt." A preceding entry is: "den 19 Januar. 1658 Cornells 
Van Langevelt Van St. Laurens in Vlaenderen en Marytje Jans, Van N. 
Amsterdam." There are the following baptisms : Aeltje, Laurens, Thomas, 
Samuel, Rachel, all children of Thomas Laurenszen and Marritje Jans, born 
between the dates March 26, 1664, and November 19, 1681. The eldest son 
of Thomas and Marritje Laurenszen was the father of Thomas, a councillor 
of the province of Pennsylvania. The same records give his marriage: "1687, 
den 15 April ingeschreven, Laurens Thomaszen, j. m. Van N. York en Cath- 
arina Lievens j. d. als boven, beyde woonende alhier, getrouwt den 11 May." 
In a MS. which was among Chief Justice Tilghman's papers are the follow- 
ing entries preceding the entries in the handwriting of Thomas, the councillor: 

"10 May 1687 L: Thomas mary'd Catherin Lewis, he aged 20 years and 10 
months and she 17 years and 9 months. Sep. 4 1689 Was born Thomas. 
Christened the 8th. 20 Oct. 1692 Was born Mary, Christened the 23d. 8 
June Was born Rachell, Christened ye 14th. 21st Jan. 1698 Was born 
Samuel, Christened ye 22nd. 12th May 1699 Was born Cornells, Christened 
ye i6th. 9th ist 1700 Was born Lawrens, Christened ye loth. 15 Sep. 1702 
Dyed Catherin wife of Lawrence Thomas." 

Lawrens Lawrence (mentioned previously) married, in Jamaica, Susanna, 


daughter of John Lawrence, or Lawrance, of that island, and was the ancestor 
of J. H. Lawrence-Archer, compiler of "Monumental Inscriptions in the 
British West Indies." 

Thomas Lawrence, as the aforementioned record shows, was born Sep- 
tember 4, 1689, and the record of his baptism in the Old Dutch Church at 
New York is: "1689 den 8 Sept. (Ouders) Laurens Thomaszen, Catharina 
Lievens, ( Kinders ) Thomas. ( Getuygen ) Thomas Laurenszen Popinga. 
Geesje Barens." He appears to have settled in Philadelphia about the be- 
ginning of 1720, his son Thomas being born there on April i6th of that year, 
William Assheton, the admiralty judge, and Thomas Sober standing as g0(i- 
fathers, while Catherine was the godmother at the christening, on the 24th of 
that month. He entered about this time into mercantile life, being subse- 
quently mentioned by Logan as associated with niin in shipping, and in 1730 
he became the partner of Edward Shippen, who afterward moved to Lan- 
caster, the firm being Shippen & Lawrence. He continued a merchant until 
his death, residing on Water street, and owning considerable land near the 
city as well as farms in New Jersey. Christopher Gadsden, one of the m^-n 
who attained prominence in colonial affairs and a signer of the Declaration 
of Independence, spent his early years in the countinghouse of Thomas 
Lawrence. Thomas Lawrence's family attended Christ Church, and in 1722 
he was its junior warden, being in 1749 one of the committee appointed to 
draft its charter. He was elected a common councilman of Philadelphia, 
October 3, 1722; alderman, October 6, 1724; mayor in 1727-28-34-49-53, hold- 
ing the latter honorable office at his death. He was invited to a seat in the 
Provincial council by Lieutenant-Governor Gordon, April 20, 1727, but did 
not qualify until May 10, 1728. In January, 1736-37, he was despatched by 
the council to Lancaster county in company with Ralph Assheton to take 
measures for the expulsion of a party of Marylanders who were endeavoring 
to dispossess the settlers on the Susquehanna river, and returned, after an 
absence of two weeks, reporting the organization of a posse comitatus. In 
September, 1745. Mr. Lawrence was deputed one of the commissioners from 
Pennsylvania to treat with the Six Indian Nations at Albany. On January 
I, 1747-48, Benjamin Franklin, declining the rank of lieutenant-colonel of the 
Associated Regiment of Foot for Philadelphia, "recommended Mr. Lawrence, 
a fine person and a man of influence," says the Autobiography, "who was ac- 
cordingly appointed." Among his many and varied activities Thomas Law- 
rence was for some time the presiding judge of the county of Philadelphia, s 
subscriber to the Dancing Assembly, and a trustee of the College. 

His marriage is thus recorded by himself: "Ye 25th of May 1719 I, 
Thomas Lawrence was maryed to Rachell Longfield at Raritan by Parson 
Vaughn. Present our parents. I convened John Spratt, Thomas Clark and 
Richard Ashfield." She was born in 1689, died at Philadelphia, and is buried 
in Christ Church yard, daughter of Cornelius Longfield, of New Brunswick, 
East Jersey, who was probably the "Cornells Langevelt" who was a son by 
the first marriage of Thomas Lawrence's grandmother. Cornelius Longfield 
had two other children, Henry and Catherine, who married John Cox, and 
was mother of John Cox, of Bloomsburg. New Jersey, and grandmother of 
the wife of Hon. Horace Binney and the wife of John Redman Coxe, M. D., 
of Philadelphia. 

Thomas Lawrence died April 20, 1754, and was buried in the family 
vault in Christ Church yard, the following obituary notice appearing in the 
Pennsylvania Gazette: "Last Sunday, after a tedious Fit of Sickness, died 
here, very much lamented, Thomas Lawrence, Esq. He had the Honour to 
be a Member of the Council of this Province, was President of the Court of 


Common Pleas for the County of Philadelphia, had been five Times elected 
Mayor of this City, and in the enjoyment of these Offices ended his life. 
Characters are extreamly delicate, and few or none drawn with Exactness 
and at Length, are free of Blemish. Of this Gentleman we think it may be 
truely said, he was an affectionate Husband, a tender Parent, a kind indulgent 
Master, and a faithful Friend. The Funeral was respectfully attended on 
Tuesday Evening by a great number of the principal Inhabitants of the Place, 
who justly regret the Death of so able and diligent a Magistrate as a public 
Loss." Children of Thomas and Rachell (Longfield) Lawrence: i. Thomas, 
of whom further. 2. Henry, born August 10, 1721, died in infancy. 3. John, 
born November 20, 1722, died in infancy. 4. John Spratt, born May 30. 
1724, educated at Oxford, England, became a prominent attorney of Phila- 
delphia, was a member of the council, an alderman, mayor of the city from 
1765 to 1767, and was a judge of the Supreme Court; he married, April 19. 
1750, Elizabeth, daughter of Tench Francis, attorney-general of Pennsylvania. 
and Elizabeth (Turbutt) Francis, and died January 20, 1799. 5. Mary, born 
November 30, 1725, died in 1799; she married, August 31, 1754, William 
Masters, of Philadelphia, son of Thomas Masters, who in 1708 was mayor of 
the city and was for three years a member of the Provincial council. 6. 
Longfield, born January 27, 1727, died in infancy. 7. Catherine, born No- 
vember 5, 1728, died January 13, 1729. 8. Longfield, born May 19, 1731, died 
in infancy. 

Thomas (2) Lawrence, eldest child of Thomas (i) and Rachell (Long- 
field) Lawrence, was born April 16, 1720, was baptized at Christ's Church, 
April 24, 1720, died in Philadelphia, January 21, 1775, and is buried in Christ 
Church yard. Upon becoming of age he engaged in business in partnership 
with Peter Bard, opening a store on Water street, opposite that of his father, 
and prospering. He then became a conspicuous figure in the public life of 
the day, was chosen a common councilman of the city, October 4, 1748, was 
vendue master from 1752 to 1765, became an alderman in 1755, and mayor in 
1758 and 1764. His country-seat, one hundred and fifty acres in the Northern 
Liberties of Philadelphia, was called Clairmont. He married, at Morrisania, 
New York, May 9, 1743, Mary, born November i, 1724, died in New York, 
in 1808, and is buried in the North Church yard at Hamburg, New Jersey, 
daughter of the Hon. Lewis Morris, of Morrisania, judge of the vice-ad- 
miralty for New York and New Jersey, and his first wife, Trintie or Catherine 
(Staats) Morris. Children of Thomas (2) and Mary (Morris) Lawrence: 
I. Katherine, born February 5, 1744, died May 24, 1784; married, in 1765, 
John Shee, prominent in the public service of Philadelphia and a soldier m 
the Revolution. 2. Thomas, of whom further. 3. Rachel, born October 30, 
1747, died in February, 1783; married John Marston. 4. Lewis Morris, died 
in infancy. 5. John, born September 15, 1751, died about 1799; married 
Elizabeth St. Clair, whose father was General Arthur St. Clair, of Revolu- 
tionary fame. 6. Staats, died in infancy. 7. Robert Hunter, died in infancy. 
8. William, born September 22, 1755, died 1795; married Jane Tongalou 
Ricketts, of Elizabethtown, New Jersey. 9. Morris, died young. 10. Staats, 
lost at sea. 11. Richard Morris, died young. 12. Mary, born November 5. 
1765, died before 1796; married Warren DeLancey. 

Thomas (3) Lawrence, second child and eldest son of Thomas (2) and 
Mary (Morris) Lawrence, was born October 6, 1745, was baptized at Christ 
Church, and died in Hamburgh, New Jersey, November 18, 1823. He en- 
gaged in business in New York City and was afterward a merchant in New 
Jersey, becoming a judge of the court of common pleas of Sussex county. 
He married (first) Rebecca, daughter of Dr. Thomas Bond, the founder of 


the Pennsylvania Hospital, who resided at Kenderton, in Philadelphia county, 
Pennsylvania. She died November 28, 1771. He married (second) his cousin 
Mary, daughter of Lewis Morris, of Morrisania, a signer of the Declaration of 
Independence. She died at New York in July, 1776. He married (third) 
his cousin, Catherine Morris, a sister of his second wife. Children of first 
marriage of Thomas Lawrence: i. Mary, born October 16, 1769; married, 
in December, 1789, Gabriel Ludlum, a judge of Orange county. New York. 
2. Sarah Rebecca, born June i, 1771, died at Hamilton, Madison county. New 
York, July i, 1850; married Warren De Lancey, a soldier of the Revolutionary 
war. Child of second marriage of Thomas Lawrence : 3. Thomas John, born 
July 4, 1776; was an ensign in the First Regiment United States Infantry in 
1799, in which year he died at Baltimore. Children of third marriage of 
Thomas Lawrence: 4. Lewis Moi ris, born 1779, died in early youth. 5 
Maria, born 1780, died 1870; married, 1810, Walter Lewis Shee, her cousin. 
6. Richard Morris, born 1781, dieci unmarried in 1858. 7. Catherine Jane 
Tumbull, born 1782, died unmarried in 1862. 8. Jacob, born 1784, died in 
boyhood. 9. William, born 1785, died in early youth. 10. Lena, born 1787, 
died in girlhood. 11. Thomas Johnson, of whom further. 12. Sarah Morris, 
born 1793, died in November, 1814; married, in 1813, Dr. Jesse Arnell. 

Thomas Johnson Lawrence, son of Thomas (3) and his third wife, Cath- 
erine (Morris) Lawrence, was born in 1789, died December 7, 185 1. His 
home was at Morrisvale, Sussex county. New Jersey, although his business 
kept him much of the time on the road. He married, at Christ Church, De- 
cember I, 1813, Janet Willson, who died December 17, 1821. Children: i. 
Thomas, of whom further. 2. Catherine Morris, born November i, 1816, 
died unmarried at Oaklands, November 24, 1875. 3. Euphemia Ogden, born 
May 20, 1818, died 1820. 4. Julia Ludlum, born May 20, 1818. 5. Sabina 
Rutherford, born 1819, died young. 

Thomas Lawrence, eldest son and child of Thomas Johnson and Janet 
(Willson) Lawrence, was born in Hamburgh, New Jersey, December 30, 
1814, died in 1893. His education was obtained principally in the public 
schools of his native town, and at the completion of his studies he engaged 
in the milling business at Lafayette, New Jersey. He then went to Sparta, 
New Jersey, and there for a time engaged in the foundry business, leaving 
this occupation to return to the home farm at Hamburgh. Here he remained 
until his death, taking an active part in the public life of the state. From 1879 
to 1891 he was a member of the state senate and in addition to this important 
service he was for twenty-five years interested in educational work through- 
out the state as a member of the State Board of Education. He was also the 
representative of his county upon the State Geological Board until his death.. 
Through his wisely directed and willing efforts New Jersey was made the 
beneficiary of the talents that have been possessed in such great abundance 
by the members of the Lawrence family, all the previous generations of the 
name having oflfered their allegiance to Pennsylvania, the pages of whose his- 
tory they brightened to a marked degree by the fidelity of their service. He 
married Margaret, daughter of Hugh and Martha (Linn) Taylor, of Sparta. 
New Jersey. Children of Thomas and Margaret Lawrence ; Martha Morris, 
Thomas, Hugh Taylor, Janet Willson, Robert Linn, Staats Morris, Margaret 
Rembert, Walter Livingston, of whom further ; Gabriel Ludlum, Catherine, 
Maria Morris. 

Walter Livingston Lawrence, son of Thomas and Margaret (Taylor) Law- 
rence, was born in Hamburgh, Sussex county, New Jersey, March 10, 1857. 
He attended the public schools of his birthplace and later matriculated at 
Rutgers College, whence he was graduated B. S. in 1878. His first employ- 


ment was with the United States government as a member of the census- 
taking force engaged in compiling the tenth federal census of 1880, his first 
business experience being obtained with the Burden Iron Company, of New 
York, as mining engineer. He was the chief promoter of the Hudson River 
Ore and Iron Company, organized at Hudson, New York, and until 1886 was 
assistant general manager of this company's interests, in that year opening an 
office in New York City, where he conducted business as a mining engineer 
for a short time. In October of the same year he accepted a position in the 
real estate office of the Delaware & Hudson Company as chief clerk and en- 
gineer, and in 1904 succeeded to the position of head of the department, a 
vacancy caused by the retirement of C. S. Weston, the former incumbent. 
He still serves the Delaware & Hudson in this capacity and manages with wisf 
and far-seeing judgment the various real estate operations of that company. 
His length of service in that employ is an eloquent testimonial to the genera! 
satisfaction with which his work has been regarded, and with the benefit of 
twenty years experience he is at the present time better fitted to fulfill the 
duties of his office than at any other time in his career. He is a member of 
the American Institute of Mining Engineers, and in political issues supports 
Republican principles. His church is the Protestant Episcopal, and he is a 
member of the Church of the Good Shepherd, Green Ridge, being a vestry- 
man and secretary from 1887 to 1903. 

Mr. Lawrence married Laura Lovell Brown, daughter of John Hancock and 
Lucy (Lovell) Brown. Children: Jeannette Wilson, born 1884; Lovell, born 
1887; Morris, born 1897. 


From Germany came Daniel Haas, father of Peter W. Haas, the recorder 
of deeds of Lackawanna county, descendant of an old and honorable German 
family. He was a man of forty years of age when he arrived in Scranton, 
where he was first employed in the mines, later as a worker in the employ of 
the Lackawanna Iron & Steel Company of this city. In the discharge of his 
duty he received injuries that caused his death in 1893. His wife, Amelia 
(Benke) Haas, who survives him, is also of German parentage. Children: 
Fred P., of New Jersey, connected with the Richardson and Boynton Com- 
pany ; Peter W., of whom further ; Minnie, a clerk in the International Cor- 
respondence Schools ; Harriet, married Edward Reese ; Mary, married Herman 
Bonnert ; Annie, married Adolph Hoffmeister ; Harry, residing in Detroit ; 
Jeannette, a clerk, residing in Scranton with her widowed mother and her 
sister Minnie. 

Peter William Haas, second son of Daniel and Amelia (Benke) Haas, was 
born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, January 3, 1877. He obtained a good educa- 
tion in the public schools, supplemented by a course at the Scranton Business 
College. He began his career as a breaker boy, graduating from that to a posi- 
tion as clerk in a clothing store. This was followed by a term of service with 
the Scranton Tribune-Republican, later with the International Text Book Com- 
pany, after which he became proprietor of a hotel on the South Side. In 191 1 
he was appointed clerk in the county commissioner's office, and in 1913 was 
nominated by the Republican county convention for the office of recorder of 
deeds, and at the following election, November 4, was elected by a large ma- 
jority. He assumed the duties of that office on January i, 1914. This is not 
Mr. Haas' introduction to official life. He served in the common council from 
the nineteenth ward for two years, was select councilman from the eleventh 
ward, and was chairman of the old council that was a victim of the "Ripper" 


bill that was enacted by the Pennsylvania legislature. In all capacities he has 
proved efficient, and has won the confidence of his fellow-citizens to a high 
degree. That he measures up to the same lofty standard as recorder of deeds 
is a foregone conclusion. He is a member of the Masonic Order, the Pa- 
triotic Order Sons of America, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, the Scranton 
Athletic Club, and the German Presbyterian Church. 

He married, in October, 1897, Minnie, daughter of John Halin. of Scranton. 
Children: Clarence, Robert, Peter William (2), Edna. The family residence 
is at No. 415 Pittston avenue. 


The history of the Ames family carries back to early Colonial days in New 
England, the settlement in Pennsylvania having been made by a descendant of 
the emigrant, Joseph (2) Ames, a Connecticut farmer, grandfather of Eras- 
mus D. Ames, present cashier of the Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Rail- 
road C'Laurel Line"). On leaving his Connecticut farm Joseph Ames settled 
in Canaan Corners, Pennsylvania. The family is of English origin and Con- 
necticut the first seat of this branch in America. 

(I) Joseph Ames was born in Stonington, Connecticut, and there lived his 
entire life, although he made a long visit with his son Joseph (2). He served 
in the Revolutionary army and for his services drew a government pension 
in his later years. He was a farmer by occupation, as were his progenitors 
He married, in 1777, Hannah Tyler, and had issue: William, Erastus, Han- 
nah, Elijah, Joseph. William Ames settled at Rockford, Illinois, and during 
the administration of President Pierce was United States minister to Germany. 

(II) Joseph (2) Ames, son of Joseph (i) Ames, was born in Stonington, 
Connecticut, October 28, 1790, died in Canaan township, Wayne county, Penn- 
sylvania, in August, 1849. He spent his minority on the home farm, then, on 
a fine horse, his only possession, he rode westward to Wayne county, Penn- 
sylvania, a locality that lured many Connecticut farmers from their native 
state. For the first three years he taught school in the rude log schoolhouse 
of the county, married, and settled on 125 acres of wild land he had purchased 
at Canaan Corners. This he partially cleared and made his home for several 
years. He then sold this property and purchased 150 acres, 100 of which he 
lived to clear, cultivate and improve with substantial buildings. He was an 
ardent Whig politically, and in spite of his modesty and retiring disposition he 
was frequently called to public offices of trust by his neighbors. He was a 
member of Wymart Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and a man highly 
regarded for his uprightness of life and his benevolence. He married Ger- 
trude, daughter of Colonel John H. Schenck, of Monmouth county. New Jer 
sey, of Dutch ancestry. Colonel Schenck, born in Monmouth, was a wealthy 
man and during the Revolution armed and equipped a regiment which he 
personally commanded until the war was over. Gertrude, his daughter, was 
born in 1793, in Hunterdon county, New Jersey, and came to Wayne county, 
Pennsylvania, with her father, who was one of the Wayne county pioneers. 
Colonel Schenck died at Canaan Corners after a life of political prominence 
in Wayne county. Children of Joseph and Gertrude .A.mes : Erasmus D., 
married Jane Clawson ; Nelson, married (first) Nancy Hoadley, (second) 
Susan Cramer; Eliza, married (first) Alexander Andrews, (second) William 
Annan; Tyler, died in boyhood; George R., married Catherine McClain ; 
Clarissa, married John Clawson ; Henry C, a farmer, cattle dealer, merchant 
and banker, married (first) Julia Ann Enslin, (second) Sara F. Wheeler; 
Jacob S., merchant, banker and lumberman, married Harriet N. Woodward : 


John H., of whom further ; Reuben T., married Helen Thorp ; Sarah D., mar- 
ried John Stryker. 

(III) John H. Ames, ninth child of Joseph (2) Ames, was born at Canaan 
Corners, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, in 1833, and now, after a long life of 
activity as builder, merchant and farmer, is living retired at Hawley, Penn- 
sylvania. He attended the public schools, but early became a worker, being a 
driver for the Delaware and Hudson Canal Company between Summit and 
Carbondale when but nine years of age. At fifteen years of age he began learn- 
ing the carpenter's trade with the Plums of Hav.dey. When the "Gravity"' 
road was in the course of construction he was placed in charge of the building 
of engine house No. 15, the first building he ever erected as superintendent. 
When the road was completed and put in operation he was placed in charge of 
the water wheel at Hawley. In i860 he opened a general store in that town, 
continuing until 1867, when he became a partner with his brothers, Jacob S., 
and Reuben T., trading as J. S. Ames & Brothers, and dealing in general 
merchandise, lumber, cattle, hay, grain and feed. The firm was the largest in 
Wayne county, operated the largest feed mills in the county, and owned thou- 
sands of acres of timber land. Their cattle were driven to Newburgh, New 
York, there ferried across the Hudson, and driven to the abattoir then located 
at Forty-second street. New York City. In 1884 John H. Ames withdrew 
from the firm, which continued under the same name until 1886, when the 
property was divided. In addition to money, John H. Ames received as his 
share a farm in Minnesota and one of 600 acres at Winding Hill, Wayne 
county, Pennsylvania, known as the "Ames Homestead," on which he resided 
until 1903. He then sold the estate to a New York banker and retired to 
private life at Hawley, his present residence (1914). 

Mr. Ames married Melissa, daughter of Amzi L. Woodward, born in 1806, 
died in 1878, of P'aupack township, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, son of John 
Woodward, of Cherry Ridge township, Wayne county. Amzi L. Woodward 
married Irene L. Kellam, whose parents were early settlers in the Paupack 
settlement on the Wallenpaupack, her father, Moses Kellam, born 1792, died 
in 1862, a justice of the peace at Paupack settlement and for many years county 
surveyor. Two of Amzi L. Woodward's daughters married Ames brothers, 
Melissa and Harriet N., the latter the wife of Jacob S. Ames. Children ot 
John H. and Melissa Ames: W. Dewight, William C, Densmore, Homer G., 
Erasmus Denton. Of the eleven children of Joseph (2) Ames the only sur- 
vivor at this time (1914) is John H. Ames, of pievious mention, who is now 
aged eighty-one years. 

(IV) Erasmus Denton Ames, youngest son of John H. and Melissa 
(Woodward) Ames, was born at Hawley, Pennsylvania, October 31, 1874. 
He was educated in the public schools of Hawley and the Wyoming Commercial 
College (1894). On completing his school years he became his father's as- 
sistant in the cattle buying business, continuing until 1896, when he entered the 
employ of the Erie and Wyoming \'alley Railroad as clerk at Dunmore Station 
under Victor Burschell. In the fall of 1897 he became connected with the 
Pennsylvania Coal Company at Dunmore, which connection continued until 
1900. In October of the latter year he was appointed secretary to the master 

nechanic of the Erie Railroad at Dunmore, J. B. Bronson, but a year later 
resigned that position to become a clerk under A. M. Benghan, chief clerk of 
the Erie Coal Company. When the greac coal strike of 1902 paralyzed the 
coal industry, Mr. Ames was one of the many clerks laid off. When the strike 
was over and business was resumed, he entered the employ of the Spencer 
Coal Company, of Dunmore, in charge of one of the outside gangs of work- 
men, rigging new shafts, planes, electric lights and pumps. He continued in 


this position until May 10, 1903. On May 20 following he was appointed 
cashier of the Lackawanna and Wyoming Valley Railroad ("Laurel Line"), 
to which was also added the position of paymaster, also that of treasurer of 
the Lackawanna and Wyoming Power Company. Mr. Ames is eminently 
qualified for important places he holds in the business world, and has the per- 
fect confidence of those in authority in the corporations named. He is very 
popular with the entire force of the "Laurel Line," his genial and generous 
disposition making him friends everywhere, his manly and upright character 
holding them to him. He is a member of the Masonic Order, the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and the Junior Order of L'nited American Mechanics. 
In political faith he is a Republican. 

Mr. Ames married, February 25, 1899, Maud Savage, daughter of Robert 
P. Savage. Child, Charles, born February 6, 1900. 


There are among the mixed peoples and races that comprise the popula- 
tion of the city of Scranton but a few who claim the Scandinavian Peninsula 
as their birthplace or whose ancestors owned it proudly as their home. One 
of the few who name it as the land that gave them birth is Otto Immanuel 
Eberhardt Jr., son of Otto Immanuel Eberhardt Sr. Otto Immanuel Eber- 
hardt Sr. was a lumberman and farmer of Norway, married Laura Johanna, 
daughter of Doctor Irgens, of Skien, Norway. She is now living in Minne 
sota. Children of Otto Immanuel (i) and Laura Johanna Eberhardt: Chris- 
tianna Cornelia, Otto I., of whom further. 

Otto Immanuel (2) Eberhardt was born in Skien, a seaport of Norway, 
capital of the amt of Bratsberg, situated at the mouth of the Skiensfjorden, 
August 5, 1879. He attended the public schools of his native land and was 
graduated from the high school in 1897. On August 19 of that year he came 
to the United States, taking passage on the steamship "Island," a vessel of the 
Scandinavian-American line, the voyage consuming fourteen days. He landed 
in New York City and the following year matriculated at the University of 
Minnesota, whence he was graduated E. E. in 1903. Proficient in all branches 
requiring electrical skill and knowledge, it was not difficult for him to obtain 
a position, which he did with the Minneapolis General Electric Company. He 
left the employ of that firm after one year and entered the service of the 
Western Electric Company, of New York City, in the capacity of assistant 
factory engineer. His next position was as electrical engineer for the Crocker 
Wheeler Company, of New Jersey, later with the Westinghouse Electric and 
Manufacturing Company at Philadelphia as sales agent. He was engaged at 
Philadelphia for a period of six months and was afterward transferred to 
the Hazleton office of the same company, where he remained for three years. 
At the expiration of that time the office was moved to Wilkes-Barre and he 
was in that city until 191 1. In this year he became one of the organizers of 
the Penn Electrical Engineering Company, of Scranton, which was incorpor- 
ated in the following year, when Mr. Eberhardt was made secretary and sales 
agent. In this position he plays an important part in the direction of the 
company's afifairs and efficiently manages the distribution of its productions. 
He is a member of the Engineering Society of Northeastern Pennsylvania, the 
American Institute of Electrical Engineers, the Engineers' Oub, of Scranton, 
the National Geographical Society, the Hazleton Country Club, and the Nor- 
wegian Society of Greater New York, His membership in the various en- 
gineering societies plainly shows the interest he takes in all that pertains to 
his chosen profession, and in the fact of his membership in the Norwegian 


Society is the key to the love and honor with which he regards his homeland. 
Nor is it strange that the memory of a son of Norway should hark back to 
his native country with filial love, for few of the Old World lands can boast 
of a history so replete with thrilling deeds and conquests, nor was any more 
glorified in the works of her children. Bold Vikings of the North, sons of 
Thor, their imprint is left upon their descendants, and their living and dying 
made the world richer by a mythology unrivalled even by that of the Greeks. 
Mr. Eberhardt is a Republican in politics, and belongs to the Lutheran Evan- 
gelical Church. 


In the person of John Scheuer, the old German family of the name has an 
American representative, who has taken a prominent place in Scranton busi- 
ness life and in the politics of both the city and the state. In both of these 
channels he has proven true worth, in both has held the confidence of his 
fellow-men, and in both has attained that degree of prominence and station that 
men call success. 

His father, John Scheuer, was born in Harxheim, Rhein province, Ger- 
many, and there learned and following the trade of linen weaver. He was 
engaged in the rebellion in his native land and in 1848 came to this country 
with his father, Conrad, landing in New York. They had made Scranton their 
objective point, and, in order to husband their slender resources, made the 
trip from New York on foot. They were unable to procure food for a long 
distance along their route, so that, although they die! not actually suflfer for lack 
of nourishment, the experience was not of the pleasantest. Arriving at their 
goal, they sought and secured employment in the blast furnaces of the Lack- 
awanna Iron and Coal Company, under Joseph H. Scranton. After several 
years Mr. Scheuer worked for a time with John Jermyn, running ore trucks 
from the mines and logs to the saw-mill. Not finding these various occupations 
to his liking. In i860 he entered the milk business, the first milk dealer in 
the city and the consignee of the first can of milk shipped over that division 
of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, the point of shipment being 
Glenburn. He served a route in the city for six years and then established 
as the proprietor of a retail grocery store on Willow street. In 1874 he started 
a bakery at 342 Locust street, in a modest way, with only his two sons, George, 
who had just completed his apprenticeship, and John, of whom further, as 
assistants. In i88g he retired from active business and engaged in farming 
on a moderate scale as a pastime. His sons succeeded to the management of 
the business under the name of the Scheuer Brothers Company. With his 
wife. John Scheuer was a member of the Hickory Street Presbyterian Church, 
of which he was an organizer and trustee. He died April 11, 191 1. He mar- 
ried Petronella, daughter of Conrad Hofifman, born in Wachenhein, Rhein- 
Hessen, Germany, died in Scranton, May, 1895, coming to that city when a 
young woman. Qiildren: George, president of the Pennsylvania Baking 
Company and of the Scheuer Baking Company; John (2), of whom further; 
Henry ; Philip ; Peter ; Katherine. married Peter Schillert, deceased, and resides 
in Scranton. 

John Scheuer, son of John and Petronella (Hoffman) Scheuer, was born 
in Scranton, December 12, 1858. He attended the public schools and his first 
business experience was obtained in his father's store, but after a year of tnis 
employment, he made a thorough study of the baking business. He continued 
in business with his father, taking several night courses at neighboring business 
colleges, first at Gardner's and then at Prof. H. D. Walker's, graduating from 


the latter in 1889. In that year the business founded by his father was in- 
corporated as Scheuer Brothers, which in igoi was replaced by the Penn- 
sylvania Baking Company. At the incorporation of the Scheuer Baking Com- 
pany in 1912, the bread department of the Pennsylvania Baking Company was 
transferred thereto, the latter company now engaging exclusively in the baking 
of cakes and crackers. The bakery employs about 125 persons, consumes about 
forty-five barrels of flour a day, and ships its products throughout northeastern 
and central Pennsylvania. In addition to this, eight wagons are constantly 
employed supplying the local needs. The Scheuer Baking Company, of which 
Mr. Scheuer is secretary and treasurer, the offices he holds in the Pennsylvania 
Baking Company, engages only in the baking of bread, their daily output of 
12,000 loaves, produced by sixty employees, being distributed throughout the 
valley by eighteen delivery wagons. I\Ir. Scheuer's only other business con- 
nection is as director of the Anthracite Trust Company, although he has helped 
organize and has been extensively interested in several building and loan as- 
sociations. He was also one of the organizers of the Scranton Axle Company, 
performing service in the same capacity for the South Side Board of Trade, 
being its president for three years. In politics his record as a staunch Re- 
publican reflects credit upon the party and has been of benefit to the city and 
state. In 1886 and 1887 he was a member of Scranton select council from the 
eleventh ward and was repeatedly a delegate from the city to the Republican 
state convention. From 1899 to 1902 he was a member of the state legislature, 
representing his district with distinction and securing the passage of the State 
Hospital bill, a piece of legislation providing for the state control of the Lacka- 
wanna Hospital. He presented this measure at the session of 1901, at the same 
time requesting an appropriation of $200,000 for its maintenance and improve- 
ment, both of which were acted upon favorably. His support of measures 
tending toward the benefit of other districts than his own was always enthu- 
siastically given, but he was ever the foe of graft and the direction of public 
funds into private channels. He is a member of Schiller Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, and the Royal Arcanum. With his wife, he is a member 
of the Hickory Street Presbyterian Church. Mrs. Scheuer is active in the 
various departments of church service as in the work of the Young Women's 
Christian Association. 

Mr. Scheuer married Anna M., daughter of William Linn, of Scranton. 
Children : William W., associated with his father in the bakery business : 
Anna C, married Dr. George Huber, a physician of Coffeyville, Kansas ; 
Dorothy S. : John C. ; Ruth L. ; Bernice S. Mr. Scheuer's position among his 
business associates is one of honor and respect, the former for the high moral 
character and unswerving integrity that have marked his every relation, 
public, business, or private ; the latter for the ability he has displayed in political 
and financial dealings. 


Like many other names early brought to America, this surname is found 
as Dow, Douw, Dowe, Dowed, Dowde, Doude, Dowd, D.oud and Dodd, it, in 
common with others, suffering from the diflferences of opinion and custom in 
its different branches. The name of the emigrant ancestor, as signed by him- 
self on the papers signed by all the planters before landing from the ship at 
Guilford, Connecticut, was Henry Doude. Some of his descendants have re- 
tained that form, others have dropped the tenninal "e." Henry Doude, it is 
believed, is the progenitor of all the Douds or Dowds who were in this country 
prior to 1776. He came from Surrey or Kent county, England, with a com- 


pany under Rev. Henry Whitfield, and settled in Guilford, Connecticut. He 
died in 1668, thirty years after landing. His wife, Elizabeth, died in 1713. 
They were probably married in England, and were the parents of four sons 
and four daughters. 

(H) Thomas Doud, the eldest son, is supposed to have been born in Eng- 
land, as no record of his birth has been found in Guilford. He settled in East 
Guilford, now Madison. He married Ruth Johnson and both died in 1713, 
having four sons and one daughter. 

(HI) Thomas (2) Doud, son of Thomas (i) Doud, was born in 1684, 
died in 171 1, a resident of East Guilford. He married Silence Evarts, and had 
two sons and a daughter. Silence. 

(IV) Ebenezer Doud, the eldest son of Thomas (2) Doud, was bom in 
1707, died in 1748. He resided in that part of Madison, Connecticut, known 
as Hammonasett, and was a large land owner. Before his death he took his 
two sons and, riding on horseback, directed the boys where to drive stakes in 
a north and south line across his property. He then said to Ebenezer, "The 
land on that side of the stakes is yours;" to Timothy, "The land on this side 
is yours." This was his will and the bounds thus fixed yet remain. The estate 
divided in this manner remained longer in one family than any other in Madi- 
son. He had but two sons and a daughter, Lydia. 

(V) Ebenezer (2) Doud, the eldest son of Ebenezer (i) Doud, reared a 
family of eight sons on the homestead received from his father. He was a 
farmer, and for seven years served as an officer in the Revolutionary army. 
He endured many hardships during this period which so weakened him that he 
was an invalid for many years preceding his death. He married Tamar Wil- 
cox and left eight sons, Galen (i), having died in infancy. 

(VI) Galen (2) Doud, eighth son of Ebenezer (2) Doud, was born in 
1783, died in 1851. He lived at the east end of Boston street, Madison, and 
was a prominent and influential man in his community, serving the town for 
many years as justice of the peace and in the state legislature. He married, 
in 181 2, Mary Ward, and had six sons, one dying young, and three daughters. 

(VII) Charles Hamilton Doud, second son and third child of Galen (2) 
and Mary (Ward) Doud, was born in Madison, Connecticut, October 6, 1817, 
died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, October 12, 1895. In early life he was a sea- 
man, rising to the command of a vessel owned jointly with his brother-in- 
law, Sereno Scranton, trading with Boston and New York. He left the sea 
while yet a young man and engaged as a general merchant in Madison. Later 
he was in business in Augusta, Georgia, returned to ^Madison, Connecticut, 
then settled in Scranton, Pennsylvania, where he was a highly respected mci- 
chant until his death, October 12, 1895. He was an elder of the Presbyterian 
church, and a strong, upright character. He married, about 1840, Mary R., 
daughter of Jonathan Scranton, of Madison, Connecticut, and at their mar- 
riage it was said they were the handsomest couple ever wedded in the village. 
In beauty of character they surely excelled, and in their posterity the traits 
that characterized the parents are plainly visible. Children: i. Catherine 
Josephine, bom in 1842; married, in 1864, William L. Wilson, a veteran of the 
Civil war, cashier and president of the Nebraska City National Bank (Ne- 
braska) 1872 to 191 1, dying in the latter year, his wife having preceded him 
to the grave. 2. Henry Charles, born in Augusta, Georgia, in 1845, died from 
injuries sustained from falling from a balcony at Asbury Park, Pennsylvania; 
he was a member of the firm of Maloney, Doud & Company, Scranton ; he 
married Elizabeth Porter and left issue. 3 Erastus Scranton, of whom further. 
4. Curtis William, born in Scranton in 1856; became a civil engineer and lo- 
cated in Rochester, New York, where he died, unmarried. 5. Herbert Allison, 


born in Scranton in 1859; he is a graduate of Lafayette College and shortly 
after graduation was appointed to a position in the internal revenue service 
at Omaha, Nebraska, becoming chief clerk, a position he held until Cleveland's 
second administration, when he resigned ; four years later he again accepted 
the same position; he is an elder of the First Presbyterian Qiurch of Omaha. 

(VIII) Erastus Scranton Doud, second son and third child of Charier- 
Hamilton and Mary (Scranton) Doud, was born in Madison, Connecticut, 
July 29, 1849. He was educated in the public schools of Scranton, a grad- 
uate of the high school, the State j\Iodel School, of Trenton, New Jersey, and 
matriculated in Lafayette College to enter the sophomore class of the latter 
institution in 1867. On August 26, 1867, he was offered a position as messen- 
ger in the First National Bank of Scranton, which he accepted, remaining 
until April 9, 1872, when he became cashier of the Hazleton (Pennsylvania) 
Savings Bank, later succeeded by the Hazleton National Bank. Mr. Doud re- 
mained with the second named bank until June i, 1891, when he resigned. 
He then became interested, with Alvan Markle, in the Lehigh Traction Com- 
pany, did a great deal of preliminary work in the interest of the company in 
and around Hazleton, and was president of the construction company that 
built the third rail line between Hazleton and Wilkes-Barre. From 1901 to 
1905 he was secretary of the Wilkes-Barre and Hazleton Railroad Company, 
making his home in Hazleton until the latter year, locating in Scranton on 
April 9. He was a public accountant until June 15, 1908, when he became 
secretary of the Nay Aug Lumber Company, a position he now holds (1914). 
While residing in Hazleton Mr. Doud was especially active in matters per- 
taining to public education and as a member of the school board performed 
valuable service in increasing the usefulness of the public schools. 

He is a member of the Masonic Order, belonging to Peter Williamson 
Lodge, No. 323. F. and A. M., and to all bodies of the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite, having attained the thirty-second degree. His clubs are the 
Green Ridge, of Scranton, and the Westmoreland, of Wilkes-Barre, his mem- 
bership in the latter extending over a period of twenty years. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Doud and their sons, Harold and Lawrence F., are members of the 
Green Ridge Presbyterian Church. In political faith he is a Republican. 

Mr. Doud married, April 23, 1873, Ella Augi'.sta Chase, born January 28, 
1854, daughter of Joseph and Louisa (Field) Chase. Children: i. Joseph 
Chase, born March 18, 1875; married, March 4, 1896, Edith Totten ; children: 
Lois, born in September, 1897, and Marjorie, born in 1899. 2. Walter Scran- 
ton, born June 10, 1877; married Laura Becker, of Worcester, Massachusetts, 
and has a son, Walter Scranton (2), born in 1907. 3. Mabel Louise, torn in 
October, 1879. 4. Eleanor Wilson, born in December, 1881 ; married Fisher 
Hazard Leisering, of Connellsville, Pennsylvania ; children : Hazard, Louise, 
Mary. 5. Erastus Raymond, born June 11, 1883; graduate of Lafayette Col- 
lege; married, July 24, 1912, Miss Porter, of Connellsville. 6. Daughter born 
1885, died in infancy. 7. Harold, born 1887; now assistant secretary of the 
Scranton Trust Company; married Margaret Ives, on April 23, 1913, on the 
fortieth anniversary of his parents' wedding and the twenty-third anniversary 
of the marriage of the bride's parents. 8. Ruth, born 1889. 9. Lawrence 
Field, born June I, 1891 ; now the Scranton representative of the American 
Radiator Company. 


Penn Yan, New York, has been for several generations the home of this 
branch of the Powell family, their settlement there dating from an early day. 


Charles J. Powell is the first of his immediate family to make permanent set- 
tlement in Scranton, he being attracted here by his uncle, who founded the busi- 
ness of which his nephew is the honored head. 

Charles J. Powell is the son of James S. Powell and a grandson of John 
Powell, all born in Penn Yan. John Powell was a farmer, married Jane 
Bellows, daughter of Peter Bellows, one of three brothers who settled in Bel- 
lows Falls, Vermont. She was a teacher for many years in Penn Yan, New 
York, and left issue : Lewis Bellows, Jnmes S., Mary, Sarah, Charles F., 

Lewis Bellows Powell, eldest son of John and Jane (Bellows) Powell, 
was born November i6, 1838, in Penn Yan, New York, died in Scranton, Penn- 
sylvania, August 28, 1881. He was educated in Penn Yan schools and under 
private tutelage in certain lines of study which his mother taught him, and his 
first business venture was in Scranton in 1859, establishing the first music store 
on Lackawanna avenue and brought the first organ and piano to Scranton, con- 
trolling twenty-eight counties for the sale of the Chickering Piano and Mason 
& Hamlin Organ. He adhered to the one price, not deviating an iota. The 
one price system was the backbone of his success, and advertising judiciously. 
He was a remarkable reader of human nature and he set an example to young 
men of business principle that many have appreciated in after life. He was 
a worker for every good in Scranton, and the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion found in him a great supporter. He continued in business from 1859 until 
his death, though he was not active for the five years preceding his death on 
account of a protracted illness. 

Mr. Powell married, June 28, 1871, Ruth Quincy Trask, born November 18, 
1838, daughter of Rev. George and Ruth Q. F. (Packard) Trask, of Fitch- 
burg, Massachusetts, the former named a Congregational minister located in 
Fitchburg for thirty-three years and until his death in 1875. ^'''- Powell was a 
Mason. He died aged forty-three years, mourned by all who knew him. He 
was in love with his business, and happy in his home life. He was a great 
musician and a great business man, a combination not often met with, and was 
also a Christian gentleman. 

James S. Powell, second son of John and Jane (Bellows) Powell, was born 
at Penn Yan. New York. In early life he learned the blacksmith's trade, and 
later he engaged in the hardware business for many years. He married Maria 
Easton, of Middlesex, New York; children: George K., died in 1910; Nellie 
B., now living in Los Angeles, California; Mary S., died in 1907; Charles J., 
of whom further. 

Charles J. Powell, son of James and Maria (Easton) Powell, was born in 
Penn Yan, Yates county. New York, August 14, 1856. He was educated in 
the public schools of Penn Yan and Kingston Seminary, taking a commercial 
course at the latter institution, graduating in 1874. On April i, 1875, he came 
to Scranton. Pennsylvania, entering the employ of his uncle. Lewis Bellows 
Powell, then engaged in business as a dealer in musical instruments and kindred 
lines. The young man began at the lowest round of the ladder, was office 
boy, general helper, etc., until he became familiar with the business, then was 
advanced to salesman and later confidential clerk and for the last six years of 
his uncle's life was practically manager of the entire business. He continued 
as manager of the business for Mrs. L. B. Powell after his uncle's death, and 
extended the lines until the store became a veritable headquarters for the 
music trade in Scranton. In 1909 he formed a partnership with C. H. Chand- 
ler, and they purchased the stock and good will of L. B. Powell & Company, 
the firm trading as Powell & Chandler. Mr. Powell is one of the best known 
men in the trade, has a host of friends and possesses the business qualities that 


make for success. He has built up a reputation for honorable dealing and fair 
treatment that holds his customers to him and makes them his loyal supporters. 
He was one of the charter members of the first lodge of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, formed in Scranton, and with Frank Jermyn and 
George Throop was largely instrumental in founding the lodge. Mr. Powell 
is a Republican in politics, and an attendant of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Mr. Powell married Edith G., daughter of Ambrose Stark, of Penn Yan, 
and has children: Elsie S., born September 17, 1885, married John Mac 
Meckin and resides in Seattle, Washington: Helen S., born November 19. 1886; 
Frank R., born November 27, 1890, graduate in chemistry, Lafayette College, 
class of 1912, now in the employ of the Giant Por^^land Cement Company. 


Gustav A. Miller, of the ancient German family, is one of the oldest and 
best known undertakers in the city of Scranton. His grandfather, Michael 
Miller, had the distinction of being a colonel in that most perfect of military 
organizations, the Gennan army, and his father, Michael (2) Miller, son of 
Colonel Michael ( i ) and Margaretta Miller, was born in Lutzenhausen, Rhine 
province, Germany, March 17, 1831. 

Michael (2) Miller obtained his education in the public schools and at the 
gymnasium, graduating from the latter when seventeen years of age. It had 
been his ambition to enter the Germany army as a sharpshooter, and although 
filling the requirements as to age and education, parental objections so barred 
the way that he was compelled to relinquish his earnest desire, and was for 
three years employed as a clerk in the office of a judge. Wearying of this oc- 
cupation and thwarted in his attempt to choose a career, he resolved to im- 
migrate to the United States, and in fulfillment of that resolution he took 
passage on the sailing vessel, "Emma," a craft which the following year was 
wrecked and sank in mid-ocean. It is a peculiar fact that the boat which car- 
ried Mr. Miller back to Germany for a visit, in 1889, the "Elba," met the 
same fate the year after his voyage was taken. After a passage of forty-nine 
days, uneventful for the most part, the "Emma" made Philadelphia harbor in 
safety, and Mr. Miller had reached the land of promise. He came immediately 
to Scranton. It was a period of depression in the mercantile and manufactur- 
ing industries and employment was difficult to find, but he finally secured work 
chopping wood, where the court-house now stands, at wages of forty cents 
per day. As the various activities and industries of the growing city were 
once more opened at full pressure under the stimulus of better times, em- 
ployment became more plentiful, and Mr. Miller entered the service of the 
Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company in the rolling mill, remaining there for 
thirteen years and becoming a practical iron roller. In 1863 he established a 
grocery store in the twelfth ward, remaining in business there for twelve 
years. Popular and well liked, all of his acquaintances became his patrons, a 
large and lucrative business resulting from their generous trade. He purchased 
the site of his present business in 1874, and moved his grocery business to 
that place, starting, in connection therewith, a livery stable. Eleven years 
later, when both his grocery and livery businesses were firmly established and 
steadily paying properties, he lent his name to an enterprise managed by his 
son, Gustav Adolph Miller, the undertaking business. This, too, met with the 
success that had attended all of his other dealings, and acquired a well-deserved 
reputation as one of the leading houses of its kind in the city. 

When Mr. Miller retired from active business relations, he placed his son 
and daughters in charge of his varied interests, built up by him in such a thor- 


ough and able manner by the work of his hands and the genius of his mind, 
the latter seeing the opportunity and the former carrying the plans of the lat- 
ter to a successful consummation whenever that was possible by dint of hard 
and unremitting toil. Mr. Miller retained title to five residences and a block 
in the business section of the city, properties he had acquired as investments 
with the proceeds from the different undertakings he has planted and nursed 
to a vigorous maturity. 

He was a follower of the faith that has been cherished by the family for 
many generations, the German Presbyterian. While holding to family tradi- 
tion in this respect, Mr. ■\Iiller broke a time-honored custom of all of his name 
for many years by not identifying himself with the Masonic fraternity, a Mil- 
ler of his branch always having been a member of that order. His political 
beliefs were strongly Republican, and the principles of the party he firmly 

Michael Miller married, in Dunmore, in 1852, Maria M. Fickinger, a native 
of Rhine province, Germany. Children : C. Mary ; Gustav Adolph, of whom 
further ; Louisa, married Stephen Spruks, and resides in Scranton. Mr, IMillcr 
died November 9, 1904. 

Gustav Adolph Miller, son of Michael (2) and Maria M. (Fickinger; 
Miller, was born July 29, i860. He attended the public schools and there 
obtained all the education he ever received under graded instruction. In early 
youth he entered the employ of his father in the latter's grocery store. In 
1878 he went to New York City and there learned undertaking and the art of 
embalming, and upon his return to Scranton he engaged in business under his 
father's name, being the first undertaker of the city with a knowledge of em- 
balming. His place of business has always been on the South Side and he is 
now one of the oldest established undertakers in the city, bearing an excellent 
reputation backed by years of experience. He has been treasurer of the Livery- 
mens and Undertakers Association since its organization. Mr. Miller is a 
member of the Masonic Order, is past master of Union Lodge, No. 291, F. 
and A. M., and belongs to Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Coeui 
de Lion Commandery, Knights Templar, Keystone Consistory, Sovereign 
Princes of the Royal Secret, and is a noble of Lu Lu Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Philadelphia. He also affiliates with James Connell Lodge, 
No. 170, I. O. O. F., Comet Lodge, No. 413, K. of P., and Camp No. 430, 
P. O. S. of A. Both he and his wife are members of the German Presbyterian 
Church and play an active part in all of its associations. He has been treas- 
urer of the Men's Society of the church since the second year of its ex- 
istence, while his wife and daughter are prominent in the Sunday school 
organization. He married Clara Bodenstine, of Philadelphia. Children : Mary 
Louise, and Madeline Spruks. 

A lifelong resident of Scranton, Mr. Miller has many warm admirers in 
the city who are held close to him in the firmest of friendship's ties. The 
veritable "thousandth man" of whom Kipling tells, he is ever at the service 
of those who are privileged to know him best. His life is exemplary in char- 
acter, his influence for the best and far-reaching in its effect. 


Prior to his settlement is Scranton, George Allen, father of Robert William 
Allen, the present efficient commissioner of Lackawanna county, resided in 
Bath, New York, having settled there on coming to this country. He was 
born in Ireland, one of a family of five: i. John, deceased. 2. William, now 
living in Bath, New York; married Ellen Crai<^ and has children: George: 


Elizabeth, deceased ; Annie ; May ; William, deceased. 3. Richard, deceased. 

4. George, see forward. 5. Annie, married Michael Connor and resides in 
Scranton ; children : William, manager of the Armour Beef Company at 
Wilkes-Barre ; Jennie ; Thomas, deceased ; John and Mary. 

George Allen, on coming to Scranton, found employment in the shops of 
the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, became later affiliated with 
the Knights of Labor and took an active as well as prominent part as one of 
the leaders of that organization. He became a member of the police force of 
Scranton, under Terence V. Pbwderly, and continued thereon until a few years 
prior to his death, in 1894. He took active pari in the division of Luzerne 
county whereby Lackawanna county was created and was one of the strong 
men of his day. He married Catherine Smith and had issue: 1. Katherine, 
deceased. 2. Louise, deceased. 3. Thomas, deceased. 4. George, deceased. 

5. Edward, deceased. 6. John, now spinner in a woolen mill ; married Annie 
Kblb and resides in Scranton. 7. Robert William, see forward. 8. Joseph, 
clerk in the tax commissioner's office ; married Ellen Ronton and has seven 

Robert William Allen was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, November i-^, 
1871. He has spent his entire life in the city of his birth, working himself ever 
upward from a lowly position to one of honor and influence. He was educated 
in Scranton schools and began his wage earning life as a bell boy in the old 
Wyoming House then conducted by John E. Allen. He was promoted from 
bell boy to the billiard room force, continuing with Mr. Allen seveial years. 
He then was employed at the Valley House under Fred Godfrey, next spend- 
ing five years at the old Westminster Hotel. When the Westminster was 
sold to William McBride, Mr. Allen remained with him one year, then was 
with Charles S. Gilbert at the Central Park House. He then decided to enter 
business as proprietor and for three years conducted the Coleman House. In 
1903 he was the candidate of his party for register of wills, was elected and 
served the legal term of three years. In 1906 he was a candidate for re-elec- 
tion, but was defeated at the polls. Until igoS he was m the employ of the 
Anthracite Brewing Company as collector. In the latter year he was elected 
county commissioner and in 191 1 re-elected. He has served the county well 
in official position and has the confidence of the voters as his repeated elec- 
tions indicate. Mr. Allen is president of the Anthracite Brewing Company, 
treasurer of the Scranton Base Ball Association and interested in other enter- 
prises of this city. He is a member of the P. O. S. of A., Camp No. 242 ; 
B. P. O. E., Lodge No. 123; F. O. E., Eyrie No. 304; Saint Luke's Protestant 
Episcopal Church. In political faith he is a Republican. Mr. Allen married 
Catherine Dice, of Hazleton, Pennsylvania, descendant of a German family. 


This is a well known family name in Pennsylvania and one springing from 
different nationalities. The branch herein followed was planted in Pennsyl- 
vania by Benoni Stone, of the New England family, who settled in Waverly, 
Lackawanna county, where his long life of ninety -five years was spent in farm- 
ing and farm management. He was the founder of a large and influential 
family among his children being a son, Oscar. 

Oscar Stone was born and grew to manhood in Lackawanna county, Penn- 
sylvania, his residence being at Hawley. He was educated in the public schools 
and worked on the farm for a time, later being a conductor on the Gravity 
Road running between Pittston and Hawley. He received a serious injury in 
a wreck on this road and was unable to continue *.he active life demanded of a 


railroad employee. He later became a stationary engineer at Hawley, con- 
tinuing until his death at the age of forty-five years. He married Alvira L. 
Mitchell, of HJolIisterville, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, who bore him seven 
children, two of whom died in childhood : Victor B., of further mention ; John 
M., of Hawley, a railroad man ; Earl W., a stone cutter and contractor of 
Scranton; Sidney S., a train dispatcher on the Erie & Wyoming Railroad; 
Arthur K., born January ii. 1862, a journalist, editor and proprietor of the 
News at East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, married Minnie A. Turner, deceased. 

Victor B. Stone was born in Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, and resided 
for many years in HIawley. He was educated in the public schools, and during 
his early manhood was engaged in the lumber business. He then entered the 
emplov of the Erie Railroad as fireman, received in due time his promotion to 
engineer and for twenty-five years held the throttle on one of the company's 
engines. He moved to Scranton in 1888 and here yet resides. Pie is a member 
of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, an independent in politics, and 
a valued and trusted employee of the company he has served so long and faith- 
fully. He married Mary May Enslin and has children : Francis Oscar, of 
whom further ; Friend A., a foreman ; Mark V., chief clerk in the Erie Rail- 
road shops : May ; Madge. 

Francis Oscar Stone was born at Port Jervis, New York, September 17, 
1883. His parents moved to Scranton when he was five years of age and in 
the public schools of this city he obtained his elementary education, finishing 
his study at Pennsylvania State College. He began business life in the store 
department of the Erie Railroad, continuing two years, then was with M. P. 
Michel until igo6. In that year he became attached to the clerical force of the 
surveyor of Lackawanna county, contimiing in subordinate position until 191 1. 
For a short time he was connected with the engineering department of the 
Scranton Gas and Water Company, but later in the year was nominated by the 
Republican party for the office of conntv surveyor and in the following Novem- 
ber election was chosen by the electors of the county to fill that important posi- 
tion which his technical training and years of experience eminently quali- 
fied him to fill. 

He married, June 14, 1910, Marian E. Swartz, of Dunmore, Pennsylvania, 
daughter of Frank E. and Emma Swartz ; her father vice-president of the 
Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank and secretary and treasurer of the Ceme- 
tery Association of Dunmore. One daughter, Eleanor Swartz Stone. 


In the manv years spent at the mines as breaker boy, Mr. Emery saw the 
need of a machine that would separate slate from coal, work of a trying and 
dangerous character, then performed by beys. Ht was not the first to invent 
such a machine, but followed with a perfect picker the inventions of Captain 
Thomas and Charles W. Zeigler, both of whose machines allowed the loss of 
more or less coal. So successfully did he plan, that to-day his invention (the 
Shaker Picker) is in use by the leading coal companies of the anthracite 
region, and many have been sent to Canada, Wales and England, and Mr. 
Emery is now in communication with other coal operators in foreign countries. 
In the anthracite region as well as in the foreign countries, tb.e slate has a 
flat smooth surface, and is not separated from the coal by the ordinary 
machine. By the use of the Emery oscillating machine, the slate is given a 
backward movement carrying it under the coal and through openings under- 
neath into a receptacle, the coal going forward through the regular breaker. 
The following is an illustration of the machine above described. 



Another machine which Mr. Emery invented is for the purpose of taking 
out heavy rock and is so constructed that instead of dropping the rock through 
continuous openings, a portion of the coal is taken away from the slate and is 
converted into a separate pan ; the balance of the coal and rock that drops 
through the first opening is repeated in the same manner until the final separa- 
tion is niade. Thereby no coal is lost in the process and is entirely free from 
slate and rock. The following is an illustration of the machine. 


Emery Slate Picker 


/^)t-*^'/«/r'y, A 


77f OJr£ OFS7eA77oJJ 




Drawing 2Z3> June 19 14 







^^^^ll^'^vT"^^^ n 




/"^'T'^^n/^^ '^^■' 


1914 improved eight deck ten pickings and repickings obtained in one opera- 
tion. Covered by patents issued to F. H. Emery as follows : 599569, March, 
1887; 640549, June, 1900; 755472, March, 1904; 7S4783, March, 1905 ; 969048. 
August, 1910. Other patents pending. 

The Emery Shaker Picker and the Rock Separator are not the result of a 
dream or an inspiration, but the result of the labor of years, during the hours 


the inventor could spare from his regular duties, and often were hours that 
could profitably have been spent in sleep. The machines are valuable con- 
tributions to the labor saving machinery of this day and reflect the highest 
credit upon their inventor. 

Frederick H. Emery was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, March 14, 1865, 
son of George and Anna (Richardson) Emery. George Emery was born in 
Morganshire, England, and there lived until after his marriage to Anna, daugh- 
ter of Robert Richardson. They came to the United States about 1863, set- 
tling in Scranton, where he followed the occupation of a miner until his death 
at the age of sixty-two years. He was a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and both were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Children: Elizabeth, Frederick H., Nora, Bertha, Daniel, the latter deceased; 
a sixth child died young. 

Frederick H. Emery attended the public schools of Scranton, but early in 
life became a breaker boy, later working in the mines and continuing until 1893. 
During these years he evolved his idea of a slate picker, but so closely was he 
confined by his duties in the mine that he could find no opportunity to work 
out his ideas of a picker. In 1893 he abandoned a miner's life and for fourteen 
years was in government employ at the post office in Scranton. During these 
years he worked his great invention, the Emery Slate Picker, secured his 
patents, proved its value, and, resigning his position, began manufacturing the 
machine. The firm of F. H. Emery & Company was formed, consisting of 
F. H. Emery, T. R. Hughes and J. R. Richardson, the latter now deceased, 
the first two named partners taking over his interest. The business of the 
firm is the manufacture of slate pickers from Mr. Emery's patents, a force of 
twenty-five men being constantly employed. It is gratifying to note that Mr. 
Emery reaps the reward of his years of persistent effort and controls both the 
manufacture and sale of this child of his brain. He has other business in- 
terests, principally connected with the coal trade, being a director of the South- 
western Anthracite Coal Company and of the Scranton Anthracite Coal Com- 
pany, both operating from Clarksville, Kansas. He is a member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, and in political faith is a Republican. 


A resident of Scranton since 1870, Mr. Lindsay has been for over forty 
years connected with important commercial enterprises of the city in positions 
of trust and responsibility. He was born in Bath, New York, March 9, 1846, 
son of James and Maria (Richardson) Lindsay, the former born in Sligo, 
Ireland, in 1799, the latter in Bath, New York, in 1806. 

Charles Henry Lindsay obtained a good public school education in Bath 
and until 1870 was engaged in mercantile business in that city. In that year 
he came to Scranton where until 1880 he was associated with Hunt Brothers 
& Company, from 1881 to 1903 with E. I. DuPont de Nemours & Company 
of Pennsylvania, and from 1885 to the latter year was secretary and treasurer 
of the Consumers Powder Company. In 1903 he was elected treasurer of 
DuPont de Nemours & Company of Pennsylvania and as such continues at the 
present date (1914). In addition, from 1877 to 1891, he was manager of the 
Academy of Music. The family are members of Green Ridge Presbyterian 
Church, and in political faith Mr. Lindsay is a Republican. 

He married, in Washington, D. C, October 5, 1886, Annie Mitchell, 
daughter of William H. and Eliza (Cropley) Tenney, of that city. Children: 
William Tenney, now clerk in the First National Bank of Scranton ; Carl 
Ludovic, now clerk for the Scranton Lace Curtain Company ; Louise ; Stewart. 
The family residence is No. 1631 Washington avenue, Scranton. 

-:^<">"i* jVlft^fma'/'i^ .. 





When the history of Scranton and her public men shall have been completed 
its pages will bear no more illustrious name and record, no more distinguished 
career than that of the late Robert Thompson Black, in whose demise the city 
of Scranton lost one of its representative citizens, a man of uncompromising 
integrity, unassailable character, keen perception and shrewd judgment, an 
active and potent factor in the financial and mercantile affairs of his adopted 
city, whose aggressive opposition to public or private fraud made him a man 
whose influence invariably assisted in turning the balances in favor of the 

Robert Thompson Black was born October i, 1821, in Rath Melton, six 
miles from Londonderry, county Donegal, Ireland, a descendant of a Scotch- 
Irish lineage. He was reared to maturity in his native town, attended the 
district school, and in 1842, upon attaining his majority, emigrated to the 
United States, sailing from Londonderry on the ship Lafayette, arriving in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the journey covering a period of six weeks. From 
Philadelphia he removed to Zanesville, Ohio, where he clerked for a time in a 
store owned by his brothers, John and Peter Black, later assumed charge of a 
store in McConnellsville, Ohio, and subsequently removed to Springfield, Ohio, 
where he engaged in the retail mercantile trade, continuing along that line for 
eight years, during which time he achieved a large degree of success. He then 
returned to Philadelphia and directed his attention to the dry goods business, 
purchasing an interest in the firm of Eschrick, Penn & Company, he assuming 
the active management of the business, which prospered abundantly under his 
control, he being progressive in his ideas, although conservative in his methods, 
and later he was actively engaged in the coal business, which was also a lucra- 
tive enterprise. In 1861 he disposed of his interest in the firm of Eschrick, 
Penn & Company to his brother, and in 1866 removed to Wilkes-Barre, Penn- 
sylvania, and there became connected with the Vulcan Iron Works and later 
turned his attention to the coal business, in which he had become an expert. 

In 1867 Mr. Black took up his residence in Scranton, Pennsylvania, and 
there spent the remainder of his days, residing there for more than three 
decades, being busily engaged in divers pursuits. His first business venture 
after moving to Scranton was in connection with two brothers-in-law in coal 
operations at Minooka ; later he was appointed treasurer and general manager 
of the Pennsylvania and Susquehanna Coal Company, which at first had but 
one colliery, but Mr. Black built another and operated the two for a number 
of years, making shipments by the Delaware & Hudson and Delaware, Lacka- 
wanna & Western railroads, the business growing steadily in volume and im- 
portance under his competent guidance and excellent administration of affairs. 
About the year 1878 he disposed of his interest in the company. 

During the period of his residence in Scranton Mr. Black was actively and 
prominently identified with many leading enterprises which had for their ob- 
ject the welfare and progress of the city. He assisted in the organization of 
the Second National Bank, of Wilkes-Barre, of which he was a director for 
more than twenty years, and at different times served as vice-president and 
president of the Lackawanna Valley Bank, of Scranton, holding the latter posi- 
tion at the time of its reorganization as the Lackawanna Trust and Safe 
Deposit Company, and was a director of the concern at the time of his decease. 
He was a shrewd investor, a close scrutinizer and conservative adviser, and he 
knew the value of bank stock, government bond' and securities as very few 
of his compatriots did, hence his value in high official positions, which he filled 
acceptably and commendably. 


For six years Mr. Black represented the eighth ward upon the board of 
control, and also held the position of member of the poor board for a number 
of years, finally tendering his resignation. He was a staunch adherent of the 
principles of the Republican party, in whose interests he labored faithfully, 
but he steadfastly declined nomination for local office, preferring to render his 
service in a less conspicuous manner. He was a vigorous fighter in the cause 
of good government against lawlessness. In the memorable series of prosecu- 
tions by the Young Men's Christian Association, and successively conducted 
by its presidents. Colonel Henry M. Boies and Edward B. Sturges, in the early 
seventies, against saloon keepers for violation of the liquor laws, Mr. Black was 
the financial backer, and again in 1876 he rendered a like service in the graft 
prosecution of F. A. Beamish. 

During his later years Mr. Black withdrew somewhat from the public eye 
and from the active furtherance of public work, but he never ceased to hold 
a gentle sway in the hearts of countless friends, to whom his demise was a sad 
affliction. He loved hnmanitv and was never content unless doing something 
for others, but his charity was simple and was prompted by the purest motives 
of a kindly and sympathetic heart. Especially in his later years he possessed 
a most striking personality ; having a full head of hair as white as snow and 
by contrast a fair and ruddy complexion ; an extremely vivacious manner of 
speech and a high keyed treble voice ; plain in dress, invariably wearing the 
conventional black. He had a remarkable memory and his mind was a store- 
house of facts, incidents and reminiscences, and he enjoyed a good joke and 
could tell many. He was a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Scran- 
ton, in the work of which he took an active interest. 

Mr. Black married, July 15, 1858, Caroline A. Perkins, who survived him. 
Children : Robert Thompson Jr., who was a resident of Scranton, died in 
1907 : Thomas Atherton. a resident of Scranton : Mary S., who became the 
wife of C. E. Judson, of Wyoming, who for a number of years has managed 
an extensive cattle ranch in that state belonging to the late Mr. Black. 
Around the fireside of his happy home, surrounded by his family that he loved 
dearly, Mr. Black passed many of his happiest hours, enjoying to the full 
their companionship and love. He was a loving husband, an indulgent father, 
a good friend, a kind person, an estimable citizen and an honest man, which 
tribute is more to be desired than any other. 

Mr. Black died at his home in Scranton, May 25, 1900, and mterment was 
made in the family vault in Dunmore Cemetery. The funeral services were 
conducted by the Rev. James McLeod, pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, 
and the Rev. Dr. Logan, both of whom spoke eulogistically of the character 
of the deceased. The following was Dr. Logan's tribute : 

It is fully fifty years since I first met Mr. Black, and for twenty-five years I held 
toward him the intimacy of a recognized pastor. When I first met him he had recently 
arrived in the county and was hard at work on what was then the frontier. With a 
Scotch ancestry and an Irish birth-place, he belonged to that race of Presbjlierians — the 
Scotch-Irish — who placed the Presbyterian church in this country. He called himself a 
Presbyterian. I once told him I thought him more of a Presbyterian than a Christian, 
and he said he was. From early life he had connected himself with the church, but in 
the active and multifarious contact with the world in business, for a time he departed 
from it, and it was my privilege to bring him back to the church in which he maintained 
his worthy Christian life through the last half of it. 

Robert Black was a man of strong characteristics. Honest and true in whatever he 
undertook, he was the kind of stuff out of which the citizenship of such a land as this 
is made. His life was energetic, industrious and kind, and he was more than ordinarily 
successful. There was stalwart truthfulness without effort at polish and yet in his heart 
a kindness and geniality which always bound men to him. During the last thirty years 
he walked among us engaged in great personal enterprises, but always ready to work 



and sacrifice for the building up of a Christian city. His courage in resisting the wrongs 
m our citizenship and maintaining the right was more than conspicuous. Twenty-three 
^ears ago, when the honest and good citizens of Scranton were searching for friends to 
protect them from dislionesty in office, from ignorance and vice in our citizenship, he 
was found among the first. 

Just as in the day when the nation was searching in all byways for men who by 
strength and sacrifice could s-ave the country in the dreadful war, he was true and per- 
petually active, and his manliness and steadfastness ought to be remembered. There is 
preserved in the archives of this city and in the .archives of his family, I trust, a 
worthy testimonial to the fidelity and honest and worthy citizen's sacrifice of Robert 
Black. It is where all the best men of the city have certified to his devotion and testi- 
mony for the right. His service is a part of the heritage of this peaceful and prosper- 
ous city. 

He had his faults, but we can as Christians speak no evil of the dead ; even the 
heathen would not do that. He was rugged and too earnest and honest to spend his 
time polishing down his points of contact with the forces he proposed to meet and per- 
haps men of as good qualities as he may have done the same work with less friction, but, 
with all which seemed to be rugged badness, to the worthy and true, he always mani- 
fested a great, generous heart. And his work has gone into the warp and woof of those 
labors and sacrifices which have made our city a joy and blessing to the coming gen- 

Our life is indeed short and busy, and it is very easy for him who is spared to re- 
spectable old age to find his work entirely forgotten. The children enter into the heri- 
tage of the fathers, and in a very short possession will apply it as their own. Yet it is 
true that God does not forget ; the worthy life will have its telling power, and the vir- 
tuous, honest citizenship resigned shall still remain a potency which God himself will 
demonstrate in the end of the days. 

As Mr. Black's old friend and pastor, I feel it to be a pleasure to recall his rugged 
manly, patriotic and honest life. And there are many within the sound of my voice 
who, I know, will appreciate the tribute which I have brought to his memory. He was 
not only a man that aimed to do right, but had no hesitancy in using all the power that 
God gave him to make others do likewise. 

Our sympathies go out to his family, where as husband and father he was its light 
and in whose joys and sorrows he always appeared at his best. Let us all realize that 
our time is short, and what we do for ourselves, for our country and for our God must 
be done speedily. Let us gird ourselves and go forward with new zeal, realizing that it 
is not vain to serve God, and work righteousness among our fellowmen. 


To Joseph Curtis Piatt, who came to the present site of Scranton in 1846, 
the city owes much of its early prosperity and present greatness. He had 
married in his boyhood home, Connecticut, Catherine Serena Scranton, ant! 
when Slocum Hollow emerged from its chrysalis condition, took on manufac- 
turing dignity and demanded a inore suitable name, he was instrumental 
in securing the adoption of the name of Scranton, out of compliment to Messrs. 
George W., Selden T., and Joseph H. Scranton. 

The Platts, of Scranton, are of the Saybrook, Connecticut, branch, descen- 
dants of Frederick Piatt, who settled in Killingworth, Connecticut, about 1790, 
supposedly a descendant of Richard Piatt, the emigrant of 1638, who settled 
at New Haven and Milford, Connecticut. At the latter place, among the 
coping stones of the beautiful memorial bridge over the Wapawaug to perpet- 
uate the memory of the early settlers, is one bearing this inscription : 


Richard Piatt 

Obit 1684 

Mary His Wife. 

Frederick Piatt married a Miss Fox, of New London, Connecticut. His 
third son married Hannah Lane and located at Saybrook in the part now called 
Winthrop. Captain Dan Piatt, son of Obadiah Piatt, was an officer of the 
Revolutionary army. He was born 1735, died aged eighty-eight years. He 


married, January 12, 1763, Jemima Pratt. Deacon Dan Piatt, son of Captain 
Dan Piatt, was born June 21, 1764, married Catherine Lane, December 20, 
1787, and died in Madison, Connecticut, aged over seventy-eight years. He had 
five sons and five daughters. Joseph Piatt, eldest son of Deacon Dan Piatt, 
was born in 1789, married Lydia Pratt, and died aged thirty-seven years. 
He was a lawyer and an associate of the father of Chief Justice W aite of the 
United States Supreme Court. 

Joseph Curtis Piatt, son of Joseph Piatt, the lawyer, was born in Saybrook, 
Connecticut, September 17, 1816. Left fatherless when ten years of age, he 
began at eleven years to earn his own living as clerk in a country store. In 
1836 he had accumulated sufficient capital to begin business for himself. He 
opened a general store at Fair Haven, Connecticut, carried on a successful 
business there for eight years, then married and two years later moved to 
Scranton, Pennsylvania. His marriage, April 2, 1844, to Catherine S., daugh- 
ter of Jonathan Scranton, of Madison, Connecticut, was the cause of this 
removal. Her brother had become deeply interested in iron manufacture in 
the Lackawanna Valley, the company also operating a store which in 1846 
needed a new manager. Joseph H. Scranton, on one of his trips East, per- 
suaded his brother-in-law, Mr. Piatt, to visit the Valley in November, 1845. 
The result of this visit was that the following year, having converted his prop- 
erty into cash, interested his friends with capital to also invest, he located in 
Slocum Hollow to the everlasting benefit of the then village, now city. To 
illustrate the change in transportation facilities, Mr. Piatt later in life wrote 
the following account of his coming to Scranton with his little family in 
March, 1846: 

There being no railroad we came by night steamer from New Haven, and arriving 
in New York, the next morning found the streets so full of snow that our carriage 
could hardly get to the Franklin House on Broadway, corner of Dey street. After break- 
fast we found it impossible to get a carriage to take us to the ferry at the foot of Cort- 
land street, on account of the depth of the snow, consequently we had to walk, and a hand 
cart took our baggage. At that time the Morris and Essex Railroad only ran between 
Newark and Morristown. Our car was hauled by the Camden and Amboy Company 
over its road to Newark where it was disconnected and drawn by four horses up the 
jame heavy grade that is now operated by steam. From this point we were taken by a 
locomotive with one pair of driving wheels to Morristown. At Summit Station we found 
a novel plan for supplying the engine with water. .A. pair of wheels on a line of shaft- 
ing were placed beneath the track, the upper side of them being in line and level with its 
top. The locomotive was chained with its drivers resting on the wheels beneath its 
track, when the engineer put on steam and pumped what water he needed. At Morris- 
town we took a stage and arrived at Oxford about dark. There we spent about a week, 
owing partly to a heavy rain which had so raised the Delaware River that we had to 
cross it by the bridge at Belvidere and struck the river again at what is now Portland. 
We were delayed in the Water Gap by ice and logs in the road. After covering small 
bridges with slabs of wood hauled out of the river, we finally reached Tannersville and 
spent the night. The next morning, finding good sleighing at Forks, we changed our 
vehicle to runners and again for wheels at Greenville (now Nay- Aug) and arrived at 
Selden T. Scranton's house about dark March 17, 1846. the traveling time being one day 
from New York to Oxford and two more to reach here. At present the trip is made 
over substantially the same route in 4V2 hours and from New Haven in 8 hours. This 
route generally took 2j4 days to or from New York and was the usual one followed. 
The only way to shorten the time was to take the stage at Hyde Park at noon and rid- 
ing through the night reach Middletown. New York, in the afternoon, then taking the 
Erie Railroad to Piermont and steamer down the Hudson, arriving in New York about 
6 P. M. the next day after leaving home. 

April I, 1846, San ford Grant, having retired from the association with the 
Scrantons and their iron and coal enterprises, Mr. Piatt took charge of the 
store operated by them, and in November of that year the firm was reorganized 
as Scrantons & Piatt, with a capital of two hundred and fifty thousand dollars 


Later in the same year Joseph H. Scranton and Mr. Piatt purchased the inter- 
est of E. C. Scranton, the firm continuing as Scrantons & Piatt until 1853, 
when having far outgrown their original plans, the business was incorporated 
as the Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company. In all the formative period of 
the new settlement on the Lackawanna, the laying out of the town plot of 
lots, the founding of its churches, schools, lodges, etc., Mr. Piatt bore a lead- 
ing part and it is to him that Scranton owes its broad straight streets and all 
the liberal features of the original plan. In 1850 the first steps were taken to 
lay out the village plot and of this Mr. Piatt writes: "I felt it a matter of 
importance to start right and held many consultations with Joel Anderson, 
the engineer." So interested was he in the planning and building of the town 
that this department was given into his full charge, and until he retired from 
active business in 1874 he continued in full charge of the company's real estate 
interests with the title of vice-president. 

In 1856 the borough of Scranton was organized, Mr. Piatt becoming one 
of the members of the first council. On August 27, 1858, the first Young 
Men's Christian Association was organized with Mr. Piatt as one of its man- 
agers. On March 20, 1862, the Dickson Manufacturing Company was organ- 
ized for the manufacture of machinery needed in many plants starting in the 
Lackawanna Valley. Of this company he was one of the first directors, for a 
number of years was treasurer, continuing as director until his death. In 
1863 the First National Bank was organized with Mr. Piatt a member of the 
board of directors. In 1864 he became a member of the milling and grain fiim 
of C. T. Weston & Company. In 1865 he was chosen superintendent of the 
Sunday school of the First Presbyterian Church. The great demand for 
powder to be used in the blasting demanded a better source of supply, and in 
April, 1865, the Moosic Powder Company was formed with Mr. Piatt a di 
rector, this connection continuing until death, he also serving for a time as 
treasurer. In 1867-1868 the mercantile interests of the Lackawanna Iron and 
Coal Company demanding enlarged quarters, a large and commodious store 
building was erected under Mr. Piatt's plans and direction. In 1871 he became 
a director of the People's Street Railroad Company. In August, 1872, he 
was elected vice-president of the Lackawanna Iron and Steel Company and the 
same year was chosen vice-president of the First National Bank, a position to 
which he was annually re-elected until his death. In 1874 the firm of C. F. 
Weston & Company was incorporated as the Weston Mill Company, with Mr. 
Piatt as director, and the same year he became a director of the re-organized 
Lackawanna Hospital. 

But now the heavy burdens he had carried since a boy of ten years, and the 
demands of fifty years of a busy and useful life, made themselves felt and he 
determined to spend the afternoon of life in a less strenuous manner. To this 
end he resigned his office of vice-president of the Lackawanna Iron and Coal 
Company in 1874 and seriously tried to retire from the more arduous of his 
activities — but in vain- — he could not shake off the habits of a lifetime and 
roon he was again in even heavier harness. In 1876 he became a director 
of the Riverton Mills Company of Virginia, an offshoot from the Weston 
Mills Company. In 1877 he resigned as superintendent of the Sunday school 
after twelve years service. In 1879 he was elected secretary and treasurer of 
the People's Street Railway Company, and the same year became a member 
of the First Board of Health of the City of Scranton. In 1880 he was chosen 
a director of Ihe Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company, and in 1882 a director 
of the newly finished Moses Taylor Hospital. In 1883 he joined with others 
in the creation of an institution to bring "speech to the silent" and accepted a 
directorship on the board governing the Pennsylvania Oral School for Deaf 


Mutes, one of Scranton"s most successful and characteristic philanthropies. In 
1886 he was chosen director of the newly formed "Lackawanna Institute of 
History and Science." In 1887 he resigned as secretarj- and treasurer of the 
People's Street Railway Company, but the same year became a director of the 
Scranton Forging Company, a new company transplanted from Connecticut. 

In July, 1887, he experienced a great grief in the death of his wife, whom 
forty-three years previous he had led to the altar and whose loss he was 
destined not long to sun-ive. He had now reached the age of seventy-one 
years, sixty of which had been years of business activity, seldom equalled. He 
was in full possession of his physical and mental faculties, when, in October, 
1887, he was suddenly stricken with that dread disease, paralysis, and although 
provided with the best medical attention and every comfort, he did not recover, 
but on November 15 following, his spirit fled its mortal frame and on unseen 
wings, joined his life's mate in the ''house of many mansions." 

This brief review of the life of one of Scranton's "benefactors" shows 
imperfectly how much he did and how well he performed his every duty. 
He died "in the harness," although in his latter years he labored less for 
the material things, becoming more and more interested in plans and enter- 
prises for the betterment of his fellow men and the relief of suffering humanity. 
The year prior to his death he contributed to the archives of the Lackawanna 
Institute a valuable historical paper, containing a full account of the develop- 
ment of the Lackawanna \'alley from the view point of an actual participant. 
This paper since his death has been printed and is a recognized authority on 
the period and events it covers. The life work of Joseph Curtis Piatt shows 
him to have been possessed of more than average ability and good judgment, 
but the mainspring of his success was his untiring energy, reinforced by in- 
domitable courage. He lived the simple life and cared little for wealth, ex- 
cept for the opportunity it gave him to carry out ambitious plans for the 
good of Scranton and her people. He retained his connection with the cor- 
porations previously named, and on his death his associates in each ex- 
pressed their profound sorrow by appropriate resolutions. He is buried in 
Dunmore Cemetery by the side of his beloved wife. 

As previously stated, ]\Ir. Piatt married. April 2, 1844. Catherine Serena, 
daughter of Jonathan Scranton, of Madison. Connecticut, and sister of the 
Scranton brothers famed in early annals of the city that bears their name. 
She died July 4, 1887, preceding her husband to the grave by about four 
months, they having enjoyed an ideal married life of forty-three years. 
Children: i. Joseph Curtis Jr., (q. v.). 2. Ella J., a resident of Scranton until 
her death, January 28, 1908. 3. Frank Elbert, of whom further. 

Frank Elbert Piatt, youngest son of Joseph Curtis and Catherine Serena 
(Scranton) Piatt, was born in Scranton, February 21, 1859. After preparation 
at the Peekskill Military Academy he entered Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 
of Troy, New York, whence he was graduated with the degree of Civil En- 
gineer, in the class of 1879. After his graduation he followed his profession 
as civil engineer for several years in the Water Works Department of the City 
of Troy, in the bridge department of the Delaware & Hudson Company and 
on the preliminary survey and location of the New York, Lackawanna & 
Western Railroad between Binghamton and Buffalo under the late James 
Archbald, chief engineer. He then turned his attention to iron manufacture 
and was uniformly successful as superintendent of the blast furnaces of the 
Franklin Iron Works, Clinton, New York, of the Hudson River Iron Ore 
Company. Cold Spring. New York, and of the Chestnut Hill Iron Ore Com- 
pany, Columbia. Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. 

On the death of his father, the settlement and management of his estate 


recalled him to Scranton where he has since resided. He has become identified 
with many of the business enterprises with which his father had been asso- 
ciated. He is a director in the following local corporations : The Scranton Coal 
Company, Pine Hill Coal Company, Elk Hill Coal and Iron Company, Scran- 
ton Electric Construction Company, Susquehanna County Light and Power 
Company, The Penn Store Company, Central Realty Company, Keystone Store 
Company, Dickson Store Company, Lackawanna Institute of History and 
Science, the Pennsylvania Oral School for the Deaf, and the Scranton Forging 
Company. He has been a director of the First National Bank of Scranton 
since 1905. He is a member of the University Club of New York, of the Scran- 
ton Club, the Engineers Club, and is president of the Country Club of Scran- 
ton. For the past twenty years he has been assistant treasurer of the Scra^i- 
ton Coal Company which operates thirteen collieries along the line of the 
New York, Ontario & Western Railway Company. He possesses not only the 
technical skill of the trained engineer, but the wise business sagacity required 
of the modern business man, an equipment rendering him a valuable acquisi- 
tion to the companies in which he is interested. With cultured tastes and in- 
stincts he enjoys the world of art, science and literature, and the pleasures 
of a gentleman of means. In political faith he affiliates with the Republican 
party, and in religious preference is a Presbyterian. 

Frank Elbert Piatt married Elizabeth Augusta Skinner, of Guilford, Con- 
necticut, born i860. Children: i. Margaret Scranton, born in New York City. 
2. Joseph Curtis (3), born in Cold Spring, New York, November 18, 1887; 
graduated from Yale, 1910; business, lumber. 3. Philip Skinner, born in 
Scranton, November 26, 1889 ; graduated from Yale, 1912 ; business, public 
health and hygiene. 4. Leonard Scranton, born in Scranton, June 12, 1900. 


Joseph Curtis (2) Piatt, son of Joseph Curtis (i) Piatt (q. v.), was born 
in Fair Haven, Connecticut, January 9, 1845, died in Waterford, New York, 
July 7, 1898. The year following his birth, his parents moved to what is now 
the city of Scranton, an interesting story of their journey being given in the 
preceding sketch. The boyhood of Joseph C. Piatt was spent in Scranton and 
his early education there obtained. He prepared at Phillip's Andover Academy, 
whence he was graduated, class of 1862, then entered Rensselaer Polytechnic 
Institute, Troy, New York, continuing until 1866, when he was graduated with 
the class of that year receiving the degree for which he had qualified, that of 
Civil Engineer. His youthful manhood was spent in the services of the 
Lackawanna Iron and Coal Company of Scranton, where he added to hi.s 
previous qualifications those of a mining engineer. He rose to eminence in 
his dual professions and in iron manufacture, and while still a young man had, 
as consulting engineer, charge of the construction and later operations of the 
Franklin Furnaces in New Jersey, then considered a very large and important 
iron manufacturing plant. He remained at Franklin Furnace until 1875, when 
he moved to Waterford, New York, where for nearly twenty years he was 
one of the leading manufacturers. He was president of the Mohawk and Hud- 
son Manufacturing Company and of its successor, the Eddy Valve Company, 
also proprietor of the Button Boiler Company, leading industries of that sec- 
tion. He retired from active business life during his last years, devoting him- 
self to his earlier professional pursuits by the preparation of essays on tech- 
nical engineering subjects for the scientific journals. 

He was a successful man in both professional and business life, held to 
the highest code of honor and followed his convictions with fearless and out- 


spoken candor. He was ever an enemy of the liquor traffic, denouncing i; 
publicly and privately, fighting it almost single handed in his town. Yet so 
consistent was his life and so honorable and open his opposition, that he was 
held by the liquor men in greater respect than any other man in Waterford. In 
religious faith he was a Presbyterian, was a trustee of the Waterford congre- 
gation, chairman of its finance committee, and for several years superintendent 
of the Sunday school. He also took a deep interest in all charitable and bene- 
volent work, contributing liberally of his time, good judgment and means. 

Joseph Curtis Piatt married, December 8, 1869, Katherine Judd Jones, of 
Penn Yan, New York, daughter of Ebenezer Backus (2) Jones, born in Troy, 
New York, September 5, 1808, died May 24, 1892, and his wife, Lucy (Judd) 
Jones, born in Rhinebeck, New York, in 1812, died September i, 1889. Mr. 
Jones, a successful man of high character, was engaged for many years in the 
mercantile business in Penn Yan, a son of Ebenezer Backus ( i ) Jones, of 
Troy. Lucy (Judd) Jones was a daughter of Uri Judd. of Woodbury, Con- 
necticut. Children of Joseph Curtis Piatt: i. Frederick Joseph, of whom 
further. 2. Llewellyn Jones, born at Franklin F^trnace, .New Jersey, July 23, 
1873, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, July 15, 1876. 3. Elbert Scranton, born 
December 21, 1876; graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, now in the 
chemical department of that institution in Troy, New York ; married Angelica 
Schuyler Thompson, and has a son, Elbert Scranton Piatt. 4. Edward How- 
ard, born November 5, 1878, died in infancy. 

Frederick Joseph Piatt, eldest son of Joseph Curtis (2) and Katherine 
Judd (Jones) Piatt, was born at Franklin Furnace, New Jersey, July 21, 1871. 
He prepared for college at the Peekskill Military Academy, Peekskill, New 
York, then entered Cornell University, pursuing the full mechanical and elec- 
trical engineering course and was graduated M. E., class of 1892. He later 
located in Scranton, where he has attained eminence as an electrical and 
mechanical engineer. He is president of the Scranton Electrical Construction 
Company, and treasurer of the Susquehanna County Light and Power Com- 
pany, director of County Savings Bank, director of Scranton Trust Company, 
director of United Service Company, and has other business interests of im- 
portance. He is a Kappa Alpha, a Republican in politics, and a member of the 
Scranton Club and Scranton Engineers' Club. 

Mr. Piatt married, January 24, 1895, Jessie Gay Blair, of Scranton. Chil 
dren: Joseph Curtis (3), Austin Blair, Frederick. 


There has been much in the history of the Law family in Pennsylvania to 
make the name honored among the most celebrated of the state. Inseparably 
connected with the coal mining industry in the first generation in this country, 
a pillar of the mercantile world in the second, and a power in many of the 
industrial enterprises of the present day, one of the name has ever been a prom- 
inent figure ever since the United States became the scene of the family's 
conquests. The Laws are of great antiquity in Scotland and its members -n 
that country have been elevated to positions of height in professional and civil 
life. The fruits of the latter generation are but the realization of the promise 
of earlier days. 

(I) Archibald Law, grandfather of Archibald F. Law. was the chief engi- 
neer in Scotland of the Duke of Buccleuh, and he came to this country on 
the invitation of the Delaware & Hudson Railroad to take charge of their ex- 
tensive mining operations. This was in 1830, when he was thirty-one years of 
age, and to him is due the praise for the introduction of the present method 




of underground mining used in place of the system then in vogue, the working 
of the vein from the surface by stripping or quarrying. At Wanlockhead, 
Scotland, his birth-place, he had been taught the profession of mining engineer- 
ing, and upon his arrival in Pennsylvania he obtained employment with the 
Delaware &• Hudson Coal Company in that capacity. His extended knowledge 
of his profession, gained from a close study of the properties of anthracite 
and the best miethods of working, soon made him a recognized authority upon 
these subjects, and the innovation he introduced in the extraction of coal only 
served to add to his fame and increase his prestige in his field of operations. It 
was Mr. Law's efficiency in mining matters that led to the accident causing his 
death. Although he suffered severe injuries in the year 1836 by a falling 
roof in a mine, that was only incidental to the life of a miner and was a part of 
the daily risk run by all who elected to spend their working hours buried be- 
neath thousands of tons of earth and rock, far below the light of day. His 
really fatal injury was received in 1843, after he had been promoted to the 
office of chief nxining engineer and first inspector of coal, to determine its 
qualities of combustion, appointed by the Delaware & Hud.son Company. It 
was necessary that an inspection of the mine pumps be made, a duty re- 
quiring the services of an expert engineer and involving the life and safety of 
hundreds of miners, one which no conscientious and honorable engineer could 
assign to a subordinate. While engaged in his task a mass of slate roofing fell, 
severely injuring his spine and permanently disabling him, its effects hastening 
his death, which occurred in 1848. That a life from which so much of use- 
fulness was expected in the service of his fellowmen should be so unduly 
shortened was indeed deplorable. In commemoration of his momentous rev- 
olution of the mining industry, a massive monument was erected on the oc- 
casion of the fiftieth anniversary of the city of Carbondale. marking the spot 
first worked in this manner and honoring the man introducing it. 

(II) Charles Law, father of Archibald F. Law, was born in Carbondale, 
Pennsylvania, in 1833, and there attended the public schools. His business life 
began at the early age of thirteen years, when he became an indentured ap- 
prentice to the mercantile business in an establishment conducted by Law & 
Howell, the senior partner being his elder brother. After eight years spent in 
the service of others, he establishd a mercantile business in Pittston under the 
firm name of Charles Law & Company, which was subsequently changed to 
Law & Campbell, so continuing until 1878, when Mr. Law withdrew from the 
firm, at that time conducting an extensive business. After his retirement from 
this field, Mr. Law contracted connections with many important enterprises 
about Pittston, and was actively engaged until his death, the Hendrick Manu- 
facturing Company of Carbondale being one of his chief interests. He mar- 
mied, November 25, 1854, Ellen Atwater, daughter of Charles Atwater, an 
early merchant and postmaster of Providence, Pennsylvania. The Atwaters 
were of English origin, and were among the first settlers of New Haven, Con- 
necticut, and Providence Plantations. Pennsylvania, all of the name in this 
country tracing to David Atwater, the immigrant. On November 25, 1904, 
Mr. and Mrs. Law celebrated their golden wedding anniversary. 

(III) Archibald F. Law, eldest of a family of ten children of Charles and 
Ellen (Atwater) Law, was born in Pittston, Pennsylvania, June 21, 1856, died 
at his home in Scranton, Pennsylvania, July 18, 1914. He was educated in 
the public schools and by private tutors in preparation for a college course, 
but having an inclination for active work he did not complete the course and 
began his business career in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad at Cox- 
ton, Pennsylvania, in the capacity of weighmaster, and as such was engaged at 
Pittston for a period of six years. From 1879 to 1885 he was cashier of the 


Canada Southern Railway, at Buffalo, New York, acquiring a good knowl- 
edge of modern railroading, and in the latter named year became connected 
with the large coal operating firm of Simpson & Watkins at Scranton as secre- 
tary and confidential man. Finding the occupation well to his liking, Mr. Law 
acquainted himself with all departments of the business, subsequently ac- 
quiring an interest therein. In 1899 the interest of this firm was merged with 
that of the Temple Iron Company, Mr. Law being made secretary. Later the 
duties of treasurer were added to those of this office, while shortly afterward 
he was made vice-president, with absolute control over the entire administration 
of the business of the company, a position of great responsibility, which he 
held until the dissolution of the Temple Iron Company in April, 1914. The 
business of the company included the furnace at Temple, Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania, and the eight collieries in Lackawanna and Luzerne counties, namely: 
The Northwest, Edgerton, Babylon. Mount Lookout, Forty Fort, Sterrick 
Creek. Harry E. and Lackawanna, employing in rill eight thousand men. He 
had in him the true American spirit of fair plav, and was always personally 
responsible to his employees for any official action, his equable disposition and 
genial personality rendering impossible all of the conflict so often found be- 
tween employer and employed. So considerate had lie been of the rights and 
needs of the host of men dependent upon him, and upon whom he depended, 
that no formal request within reason was ever refused them, while many of 
their desires were anticipated and fair action taken. 

In addition to the responsibilities of this office, to which most of his time 
was devoted, he was actively connected with the following industrial and 
financial organizations : The Northwest Coal Company, of which he was presi- 
dent : the Edgerton Coal Company, of which he was president : !Mt. Pleasant 
Coal Company, of which he was president ■ Sterrick Creek Coal Company, of 
which he was president ; Babylon Coal Company, of which he was president ; 
Forty Fort Coal Company, of which he was president ; the Cross Engineering 
Company, manufacturers of mining machinery, of which he was president, 
which company recently, owing to their greatly increased business, gave their 
employees a bonus of five per cent, on their earnings for the past year, they 
having in their employ about fifty men, the amounts varying from $30.00 to 
$50.00, and to Mr. Law is due the credit of instituting the profit-sharing plan 
in Lackawanna county ; the Wyoming Electric I .ight & Pbwer Company, of 
which he was president ; the Mears Mining Company of Joplin, Missouri, of 
which he was director and treasurer ; the Title Guaranty and Surety Company, 
of which he was a director ; the Peckville National Bank, the Scranton Trust 
Company, the Forty Fort Silk Company and the Lytle Store Company, at 
Minersville, in all of which he was a director. Mr. Law's knowledge of each 
of the industries and organizations was complete, thorough and systematic, 
the policy of each and the state of its business all being the property of his 
wonderfully retentive mind. 

It is doubtful whether a college education could have improved Mr. Law's 
literary tastes or widened the fields open to him in that direction. With a 
strong instinct for all that is best in the world of letters, he found his chief 
recreation in the recesses of his library, a large well-filled room, the shelves 
stocked with all the works of the classics and the best of modern authors. Many 
of his books are so rarely valuable as to make duplication almost impossible 
and in these he took the fond pride of the literary connoisseur. While con- 
tinued and diligent reading often tends toward an absorption almost selfish. 
Mr. Law escaped the construction of the only evil that could result from deep 
pursuit of the master writers of the world, and ever delighted to have others 
participate in his pleasures. To this end he was primarily the founder of the 


A. F. Law Library Association, which was given his name in lecognition of 
his generosity and pubHc spirit. To this institution, dedicated at Jessup, Janu- 
ary 24, 1905, in the presence of over 1000 of the townspeople, deeply apprecia- 
tive and grateful, he contributed more than 1000 carefully selected volumes. 
As a result of this splendid gift, Jessup prides itself upon the possession of a 
public library unequalled by that of any town of its size in the valley. 

Mr. Law was a director of the Pennsylvania Oral School for the Deaf, 
by appointment of Governor Tener, and was a member of the advisory board 
of the Hahnemann Hospital Association. He was a member of the following: 
American Society of Mining Engineers: Engineers' Society of Northeastern 
Pennsylvania; International Society of Social Insurance, of which he was the 
American delegate-at-large, headquarters, Paris, France, this institution being 
for the purpose of discussing and devising ways and means for the protection 
and insurance of working men ; the Scranton Club : the Green Ridge Club ; 
the Country Club, all of Scranton: the Westmoreland Club, of Wilkes-Barre, 
and various other societies and clubs. In the Masonic order he held the thirty- 
second degree. Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite. His only military service 
was for three years in an independent company of the National Guard of 
New York, the Buffalo City Guards. He was a member and trustee of the 
Green Ridge Presbyterian Church, and politically he was a strong supporter of 
the Republican party. 

Mr. Law married, September 25, 1878, Eva G. Brenton, daughter of Joel 
Brenton, of Pittston, Pennsylvania, and three children were born to them, two 
of whom were : Frank E., a graduate of Ya'e University, living at the 
present time (1914) : Grace B., married, September 4. 1908, Frank B. Rutter, 
who was vice-president of the Scranton Bolt and Nut Company, and both 
were instantly killed in a New Haven Railroad coach near New Haven, Con- 
necticut, September 2, 1913, their bodies arriving in Scranton on the fifth an- 
niversary of their wedding. 

Mr. Law was a good citizen, and in the development of the anthracite in- 
dustry in the valley none played a more prominent role. He learned the mining 
business from the beginning and no coal expert was more versed on mining. 
He also displayed remarkable ability and a vast capacity for governing men in 
the various positions to which he was called. He was, moreover, a Christian 
gentleman of high type, kind, considerate, benevolent and philanthropic. 


That the name of Dimmick, so closely related to many of most im- 
portant financial institutions and commercial enterprises of Scranton, and 
with numerous educational and humanitarian projects in the vicinity, should 
be one of the most highly regarded and respected is only returning to an 
ancient and honorable lineage its just due. Although in the pages of history 
the name appears as Dymock, Dimmock and Dimick, modern usage sanctions 
only the spelling used in this chronicle, Dimmick, The Rev. Dr. Miller casts 
the following light upon the derivation of the surname : "The Dymocks come 
down from Tudor, Prince and Chief of the Welsh Marches, to David ap Madoc, 
some five hundred years, they being known in Wales as Dai (from Dy), Dai 
being in Welsh the diminutive of David. His successors were known as 
Daimoc, and Sir William Dymock, the sixth in descent from him, had the 
spelling in that form." Although in the days of George IV. the office of 
hereditary champion of England was abolished, from an early period it had 
been occupied by the English Dymock, acquired by the marriage of Sir John 


Dymock, in the reign of Edward III., to the sole heirship of the Marmions, ni 
whose family the position had previously been held. 

It is Elder Thomas Dimmock that all bearers of the name in New Eng- 
land recognize as their common ancestor. He came from Barnstable, England, 
and was one of the incorporators of the town of that name in ^Massachusetts, 
in which state he held residence in 1635, although the exact date of his arrival 
is unknown. In the judicial, public, military and religious life of Barnstable 
he held positions of responsibility and honor. In religious convictions he was 
years n advance of his generation, a firm advocate of the tolerance he person- 
ally ex,;rcised. In the early settlements of the new country it was frequenth- 
to one man that the other citizens looked for guidance in all their public action 
and it was Elder Thomas Dimmock who served the village as leader in all 
matters of town government and improvement. 

Timothy Dimmick, the fourth generation of the name in this country, 
married Ann, daughter of Joseph Bradford, a direct descendant of Governor 
Bradford, who came to America in the "Mayflower." 

Alpheus Dimmick was the first of the family to make his permanent resi- 
dence outside of the boundaries of New England. He attained eminence among 
the legal lights of New York state and represented Sullivan county in the 
state legislature. He was the father of Samuel Erskine Dimmick and grand- 
father of J. Benjamin Dimmick, whose careers are herein recorded. 

Samuel Erskine Dimmick was born December 24, 1822. He was granted 
opportunities for a liberal education, and, improving these, began his honor- 
able and eventful legal career with an excellent and comprehensive foundation 
for the more involved and more important legal questions he afterward 
learned. The office in which he was entered as a student at law was that of 
his cousin. William H. Dimmick, and it was here, in the years from 1844 to 
1846, that he received much valuable and well-directed advice upon the legal 
lore that he was required to peruse, his relationship to Mr. Dimmick causing 
the latter to take special interest and concern in his welfare. On May 6, 1846. 
he was admitted to the Wayne county bar and subsequently formed a partner- 
ship with his cousin and former preceptor which continued until the latter"s 
death in 1861. In addition to his large general practice he was retained as at- 
torney for the Delaware and Hudson Canal Company, the county commission- 
ers, and the Honesdale Bank, whose interests he guarded in a most satis- 
factory manner during the years of his connection in that capacity. In 1856 
he was the choice of the Republican party of his district for the congressional 
election, his opponent being William H. Dimmick. The campaign was full of 
interest because of the peculiar circumstances of the case, the two contestant.-- 
being blood relations, law partners, and the one having been the instructor 
of the other in the very matters upon which the qualifications of each for 
office were based. The district being strongly Democratic the public choice 
fell upon the older man, the Hon. W. H. Dimmick. 

Samuel E. Dimmick was a loyal member of the Republican organization 
and a potent factor in the innermost councils of the party, to whose national 
convention he was a delegate in i860. 1864 and 1868. In 1872 he was elected 
a delegate to the constitutional convention of Pennsylvania, a splendid tribute 
to his worth in council and intimate knowledge of the political and economica' 
conditions of the country. His ap])ointment by Governor Hartranft as at- 
torney-general of the commonwealth was another proof of the confidence and 
reliance placed in his powers as a lawyer by those in authority above him. Plis 
usefulness in his new office was ended on October 11, 1875, by the grim hand 
of the Great Reaper removing him from a position in which he was only be- 
ginning to grasp the opportunity to exercise unrestrainedly the vast talent.'^ 


with which he had been endowed and which had increased abundantly under 
his careful husbandry. The following is the official gubernatorial proclamation 
issued the day after Mr. Dimmick's death : 

Executive Mansion, 
Harrisburg, October 12, 1875. 
To the People of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania : 

It is with profound sorrow that I make official announcement of the death of Sam- 
uel E. Dimmick, which took place in this city last evening. The high tone of his public 
life, the talents and the private virtues of this distinguished man. will be his enduring 
memorial in the hearts of the people of Pennsylvania. Out of respect to his eminent 
services the several departments of government will be draped in mourning for the 
period of thirty days, and closed on Friday. October 13, when his funeral will take 
place. J. T. Hartranft. 

Probably there is no more sincere and better deserved memorial to the 
worth of any public official spread upon state or national records than that 
dedicated by the executive head of the State of Pennsylvania to Samuel E. 
Dimmick in his message of 1876: 

In October last the mortal remains of the late .Attorney-General Samuel E. Dim- 
mick were reverently laid to rest in the little cemetery at Honesdale. Three years ago 
the character, integrity, and recognized legal abilities of this lamented man designated 
him for the important position he filled with so much dignity and honor, and the full 
measure of popularity he enjoyed at the time of his death showed how satisfactorily he 
discharged his responsible duties. Generous, manly, and upright in all the relations of 
life, and administering his high office with a stern and uncompromising fidelity to the 
interests of the state, the deceased attorney-general tempered his decisions with so much 
benevolence and courtesy that it is difficult to say whether as a man or official he was 
most beloved. Of delicate health and suffering from the affliction that resulted in his 
death, in response to what he believed a call of duty. Mr. Dimmick died while in at- 
tendance upon the Board of Pardons, where his merciful disposition and mature and 
correct judgment were invaluable helps in dispensing justice. With the public grief 
that deplores his loss, I may be permitted to mingle my private sorrow, for while the 
State mourns for a just and incorruptible officer, the administration has been deprived 
of a careful and wise counsellor, and the executive of a disinterested and devoted 

Samuel Dimmick married, January 28, 1855, Lucretia M. Benjamin, who 
died at Honesdale, Pennsylvania, February 14, 1880, daughter of Joseph 
Benjamin, Esquire, of New York. 

J. Benjamin Dimmick, son of Samuel Erskine and Lucretia M. ( Benja- 
min) Dimmick, was born in Honesdale, Pennsylvania, October 3, 185S. His 
opportunities for liberal education were well improved, his studies preparatory 
to college entrance being pursued at Adams Academy, Quincy, Massachusetts, 
and at Phillips Exeter Academy. In 1881 he matriculated at Yale College and 
was nearing the completion of his academic course, when, in the last term of 
his senior year, failing health necessitated the discontinuance of his studies. 
His vitality strengthened and his energies recruited by an extended European 
tour, he returned to Yale, subsequently receiving from that institution the de- 
grees of Bachelor and Master of Arts. Upon his return home he drcided upon 
the legal profession as the career best suited to his talents and liking, and after 
instruction in the office of William H. Dimmick was admitted to the bar of 
Wayne county in 1882. His active practice began in 1883, in which year he 
located in Scranton and formed a partnership with his cousin, Edward C. 
Dimmick, an association that continued for but a short tiine before continued 
ill-health compelled him to withdraw from the firm and seek a change of air 
and climate. He again went abroad, spending most of his time in Switzer- 
land, until, fully recovered, he returned to Scranton. Here he became inter- 
ested in financial and industrial affairs rather than in the practice of his pro- 


fession and has become a notable figure in many of the leading institutions 
of this kind in the city. He is president of the Lackawanna Trust and Safe 
Deposit Company, and of the Scranton Lace Curtain Company, vice-presi- 
dent of the First National Bank and in the South Side Bank he holds the 
office of director. 

Mr. Dimmick has always been a close student of political economy and 
has a broad and comprehensive knowledge of national, state and municipal 
needs and conditions. As a resident of the City of Scranton he has taken 
especial interest in its civic progress and betterment, and in 1906, in response 
to an urgent request of the citizens of the city, he permitted his name to be 
used as a candidate for the office of the city's chief executive. His election 
and induction into office was immediately followed by unusual activity and 
progress along all municipal lines, health conservation, recreation and improved 
highways receiving especial attention. While acting as mayor his name was 
first mentioned as a candidate for the office of United States senator, but it 
was not until the year 19 14 that he became an active candidate for this im- 
portant office. Although defeated by the powerful influences arrayed against 
him the strong personality of the man was manifest in the support given him 
throughout the state. As is natural with one of his wide education he realizes 
the value and companionship of good books to the individual and is a firm 
friend and supporter of the Scranton Public Library. His kind, benevolent, 
and warmly sympathetic nature is testified by his interest in the Scranton 
Society for the Prevention and Cure of Consumption, and in the Pennsylvania 
Oral School for the Deaf Mutes, in both of which he is a trustee. In the 
leading literary and social organizations of the city he is a prominent member, 
belonging to the L^niversity Club, the Yale Club, of New York City, and the 
Scranton and Country clubs, of Scranton. 

Mr. Dimmick married, November 9, 1881, Louisa H. Hunt, daughter of 
Dr. E. K. and Mary (Crosby) Hunt, of Hartford, Connecticut. Children: 
Jeannette Hunt, born July 28, 1883; Lucretia Benjamin, born May 20, 1889, 
died January 4, 1893; Mary Crosby, born February 10, 1894. 


\\''hile the records of the past are practically bare of reference to the Watres 
family of which Colonel Louis A. Watres is a member, the generations of the 
name to come will seek no fairer heritage than the honor descending to them 
found from the part played in all the different paths of life by those with 
whom this narrative deals. Patriotism in time of national need, activity in 
the aid of all humanitarian enterprises, unselfish devotion to public duty, and 
eminence in political life, are a few of the glorious attributes which make the 
name of Watres one of the proudest of the present day. 

Lewis S. Watres, father of Colonel Louis A. Watres, was born in Phoenix- 
ville, Pennsylvania, in 1808, died August i, 1882. When he was twenty-seven 
years of age he became a resident of the Lackawanna Valley, in whose material, 
intellectual and moral progress he was ever after a prominent factor. Hav- 
ing purchased 400 acres of land in iMount Vernon, now Winton, he first turned 
his attention to its clearing and to disposing of the lumber secured through this 
process. Besides being the proprietor of many of the business enterprises 
of the vicinity, he opened the first coal mine in the valley below Carbondale. 
His activity in the development of that section of the valley made him widely 
acquainted throughout the region, and for several years he served as justice 
of the peace of Blakeley township. After coming to Scranton, his participa- 
tion in political matters was confined to holding the office of alderman from 


' /^~-y-^< 



the ninth ward for seventeen years, from the time of his arrival in the city 
in 1865 until his death. 

Although at the outbreak of the Civil War physical weakness prevented him 
from going to the front, his patriotic sympathy for the Union cause led him 
to recruit a company which was mustered in at Harrisburg and assigned as 
Company H, Fifty-second Pennsylvania Infantry. He later formed another 
company, which was attached as Company I. Fifty-sixth Regiment, and by his 
successful eiiforts in raising equipment and money, and by sturdy defense of the 
war policy of the administration, was quite as useful to the cause of the North 
as though he had enlisted. Hearty sympathizers at home were of great value 
at the time, the complaints of the stay-at-homes often proving as troublesome 
to the officials in charge as the attacks of the opposing army. Mr. Watres was 
a communicant of the Presbyterian church and was the donor of the first 
church of any denomination erected in the valley, Pecktown Presbyterian 
Church. His strong and uplifting influence was felt by all of his associates, 
his sympathetic and considerate character making him a figure admired and 
loved. Contact with him lent a freshness to daily life that, lingering, abided 

Mr. Watres married Harriet G. HoUister, a poetess, possessing unusual 
talent, whose poems made a peculiar appeal to popular tastes and were widely 
read. Among her poems was "Send Them Home Tenderly," which was set to 
music and became a popular camp fire song. All were printed over the 
pseudonym "Stella of Lackawanna," and some, since her death, have been 
published in a volume entitled "Cobwebs." 

Colonel Louis Arthur Watres, son of Lewis S. and Harriet G. (Hollister) 
Watres, was born in (now) Winton, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, Ap'^il 
21, 1851. His education, as far as school training was concerned, was curtailed 
by the necessity of earning his own livelihood. He was employed in various 
ways, utilizing all his spare time for study and for attendance at night school. 
While still a young man, he secured a position as teller of the Merchants' and 
Mechanics' Bank, of Scranton, later becoming cashier of the County Savings 
Bank and Trust Company, of Scranton. His youthful ambition, a desire in- 
creasing with the passing years, had been to qualify himself for admission to 
the bar. Assiduous study and increasing application to the mastery of the 
principles of the law enabled him to reach the goal of his striving, and in 
1878 he successfully passed the examination securing him admission to the 
Lackawanna county bar. Having thus gained recognition as the possessor of 
the necessary knowledge for the practice of the law, he immediately set him- 
self to the task of proving himself worthy of his chosen profession. He ad- 
vanced steadily in his profession, and in due course of time his ability and 
dependency as an attorney was proven and testified to by a Urge and thor- 
oughly representative clientage, and he stands among the foremost lawyers 
of the state. For a dozen years, however. Colonel Watres, by reason of his 
other mterests, has been obliged to withdraw from the active practice of the 

The experience that he gained in business before his adoption of the law 
has been invaluable to him as adviser, in private, and as counsel, in profes- 
sional relations, with various business enterprises in Scranton. His keen judg- 
ment and discernment make him a most able and successful financier, and his 
services are eagerly sought. He is a stockholder and director of many corpora- 
tions in the Scranton and Lackawanna Valley. He was one of the organizers 
of the Scranton Passenger Railway Company, of which he became president. 
He is president also of the County Savings Bank, of the Spring Brook Water 
Supply Company, of the Mansfield Water Company, of the Scranton Trust 


Company and of the Boulevard Company, and is a trustee of the American 
Surety Company of New York. As the executive head of these various cor- 
porations he has added to his legal achievements those of a financier of the 
highest order, all of his concerns having a firm and sound basis and enjoy- 
ing the confidence of all investors. So well known is his reputation for the 
strictest sort of business dealing and so free his record from the slightest taint 
of suspicion of irregular transactions, that his name upon the directorate of a 
concern is proof positive of its reliability. 

Not too deeply engrossed in his professional and practical pursuits to rec- 
ognize his public duties, Colonel Watres has been a notable figure in the po- 
litical events of the day, his rise in that field being on the same broad scale as 
his advance in the other walks of life to which he has been called. Well 
versed in all political issues, and giving support and allegiance to the Re- 
publican party, as the representative of that party he attained prominence that 
has brought fame to him and honor to the Republican organization. In 1881 
he was elected county solicitor of Lackawanna county and retained that posi- 
tion until 1890. From 1883 to 1891 he was state senator, and in the senate, 
the highest deliberative forum of the state, was a commanding power, pro- 
posing and aiding in the enactment of many of the most important measures 
before that body during his years of service. Here his training as a lawyer 
stood him in excellent stead, his forensic talents often making him the choice 
of his party for the defence of legislation requiring exact and lucid explanation 
and forceful and convincing support. Called from his senatorial service to 
the duties of lieutenant-governor, he fully justified in this lofty office the choice 
of the people by the competent manner in which he bore its weighty responsi- 
bilities. Proof of his place in the estimation of the voters of the state is 
given in the figures of the election, his plurality being 22,365, while that of 
Mr. Pattison, candidate for governor on the opposing ticket. Democratic, was 
17,000. Among the more important duties devolving upon his office were 
those of president of the senate and president of the board of pardons. In 
the former he controlled legislation with a masterly hand, causing the strictest 
decorum and dignity to prevail during the consideration of any measure, and 
in the latter tempering the severity of the statutes with a mercy as wise as it 
was kind, yet observing the strictest justice throughout. By an act of the 
state assembly he v\'as appointed commissioner from Pennsylvania to the 
World's Columbian Exposition at Chicago, and subsequently he was elected 
vice-president of the board. In August, 1891, he was chosen chairman of the 
Republican state committee. For thirty years Colonel Watres has been a 
vital force in molding the affairs of the Republican party and in safeguarding 
and directing its interests in Pennsylvania. He has always been an exponent 
of the most progressive movements of the party, an advocate of the best and 
purest in politics. 

The same open plan of procedure has been followed by ColoTiel Watres in 
his public life as in all his other dealings, and his political record is an open 
book, each page free for the perusal of any one who cares to read. He has 
been actively associated with the National Guard of the State for many years, 
and during his service in that body he gained the rank of colonel. As a state 
official he did much toward promoting the efficiency of, and toward creating 
interest in, that excellent organization, whose importance and usefulness can- 
not be over-estimated. He was in continuous ser\'ice from 1877 to 1891, and 
again from August, 1898, to August, 1904, seven years of this time as captain 
of Company A, Thirteenth Regiment. From 1887 to 1891 he was a member 
of the governor's staff, as inspector of rifle practice, with the rank of colonel, 
and subsequently, during the period of the Spanish War, became colonel of 


the Eleventh Regiment Provisional Guard. On the return of the Thirteenth 
Regiment from the field and after its muster out of service, he became colonel 
of the Thirteenth Regiment National Guard of Pennsylvania. At the organ- 
ization of the National Guard Association of Pennsylvania, he became its first 
president, holding that office for two years. Colonel Watres is a member and 
past master of Peter Williamson Lodge, No. 323, F. and A. M. ; elected junior 
grand warden in 1909, and at the present time (1914) is right worshipful 
deputy grand master of the Grand Lodge of Masons in Pennsylvania. 

Colonel Watres married, in 1874, Efifie Hawley. and of this union three 
sons were born : Harold, died September 16, 1905, aged twenty-six years ; 
Lawrence and Reyburn. 

In the course of his unusually useful life. Colonel Watres has engaged in 
a variety of pursuits that proclaim him the gifted and talented man of parts. 
Perhaps his greatest achievements have been as a public servant, yet none of 
the many phases of his life's work can be disregarded. His assumption and 
discharge of the duties of good citizenship have been admirable and thorough, 
an honor to himself and the state he served. The influence of his gentle char- 
acter and of his upright example, so worthy and yet so difficult of emulation, 
will live long after the body of Colonel Louis Arthur Watres has returned 
to its natural elements and his spirit to everlasting life. 


John Kennedy, who came from Bangor, county Down, Ireland, in 1763, 
and settled in Kingston, New York, is the first of the family of whom we have 
absolute knowledge. He was born April 24, 1739. Owing to his being of the 
Scotch Presbyterian faith and having lived but a few miles from the Kennedys 
of Cultra, some have thought him related to that ancient family, who were 
doubtless connected with the Earls of Casselis in Scotland, in which the name 
John was given to the oldest son for seven or eight generations. Be that as 
it may, family tradition assures us that John Kennedy, the emigrant, was a 
man of ability, clear-headed and kind-hearted. Like the majority of those 
who came early to this country he had a trade, being a tailor, an occupation 
he pursued after coming to America. In Kingston, New York, he married 
Mrs. Josiah Van Fleet, whose maiden name was Armstrong. There were sev- 
eral children born of her first marriage who settled in Galena, Ohio. The 
time and place of her death is unknown, but her husband long survived her. 
He settled in the Wyoming Valley in 1780. He died August 20, 1809, aged 
seventy years, and was buried in Plains township cemetery, Luzerne county, 
Pennsylvania. To John Kennedy and his wife were born five children, four cf 
whom married into families who were in the Wyoming Valley previous to the 
massacre, several members of them being in that memorable conflict. Cath- 
erine, married Cornelius Courtright ; Elizabeth, married Henry Stark ; John, 
married Sallie Abbott; James, married Nancy Armstrong; Thomas of whom 

(II) Thomas Kennedy, son of John Kennedy, married, in 1801, Elizabeth 
Schofield, born April 15, 1784, in Kingston, New York, a gentle little woman, 
much beloved by her children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. She 
was descended from the Pinckneys of South Carolina, and in many respects 
was a remarkable woman. Left a widow at twenty-five years of age with five 
little children, she managed her aflfairs in such a manner that they grew to 
manhood and womanhood, a credit to their mother's training. She died 
April 12, 1880, at the home of her son, James Schofield Kennedy, where she 
had long resided. The children of Thomas and Elizabeth (Schofield) Kennedy 


were : John, married Polly Campbell ; Sarah, married William H. Sherman ; 
Polly, married Crandall Wilcox ; Henry, married Julia Mills ; James Scho- 
field, of whom further. 

(Ill) James Schofield Kennedy, son of Thomas Kennedy, was born Janu- 
ary 28, 1808. Early in life he learned the carpenter trade, and was a con- 
tractor for several years. He afterward purchased a farm in Lackawanna 
township, now Taylor, and in connection with his farm did an extensive 
business in grain and flour, selling to the merchants all along the Valley from 
Pittston to Carbondale. He was justice of the peace from 1843 to 1845. He 
sold his farm in Lackawanna just before coal was discovered, and moved 
to Hyde Park. In 1850 he opened a store in Providence in the old Arcade 
Building on North Main avenue, long occupied as an office by the Providence 
Water Company. Later he carried on business on Providence Square, being 
a partner in the firm of Kennedy & Osterhout. In 1854-56 he had a contract 
to build a section of the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad, then 
being constructed between New York and Scranton. He was active in public 
affairs, serving on the borough council and also on the school board. In 
1865 he sold out his interest in the store to his son, William DeWitt Kennedy, 
and retired from active business. He died March 7, 1885. 

He married, September 26, 1833, Pauline Jayne, born December 13, 
181 5, died May 16, 1897, daughter of Samuel and Elsie (Stephens) 
Jayne. The Jaynes were descended from Henry de Jeanne, a pro- 
fessor in Oxford University. His son, William, a student in the Uni- 
versity, afterward married in England, name of wife not known. In 1652 
he was chaplain in Cromwell's army. In 1670, his wife having died 
and the cause of Cromwell being no longer popular, he emigrated to 
America, settling in New Haven, Connecticut, leaving three grown sons in 
England. At that time he took the name of Jayne. In 1675 he married Annie 
Beigs, and soon after with thirteen or fifteen others crossed over to Long 
Island, purchased land of the Indians, and settled the town of Brookhaven. 
The graves of the first settlers are to be found there, and the old farm is 
still owned by one of the family. William and Annie (Beigs) Jayne were 
the parents of nine children. Their oldest son, William Jayne, married Eliza- 
beth Woodhull, whose oldest son, William Jayne, married Tabitha Norton; 
they were the parents of Rev. David Jayne, born May 14, 1751, died March 
9, 1837, who served in the war of the Revolution, and was afterward given 
a section of "Soldier Land" on Lake Cayuga. The wife of the Rev. David 
Jayne was Elizabeth DeWitt, born May 3, 1754, died February 15, 1825, 
whose father, Daniel DeWitt, also served in the Revolution. The son of 
the Rev. David Jayne was Samuel Jayne, bom February 4, 1779, married 
Elsie Stephens, May 2, 1796, died at Factory ville, Pennsylvania, August 12. 
i860. The grandfather of Elsie (Stephens) Jayne was Eliphalet Stephens. 
He was a native of Massachusetts, although his military service is credited to 
New York, from which he enlisted, then his home. After the war he settled 
in the Wyoming Valley, where he was a man of substance and importance. 
In the court house in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, (book of deeds No. 3, 
page 46) it is recorded, "James Finn to Eliphalet Stephens (Stevens), land 
in Pittston township, on the Lackawanna river, and one-half interest in a 
Saw Mill May 25, 1795; consideration 600 pounds sterling." Other deeds 
are recorded showing him to have been a large land owner. Eliphalet Stephens 
was born in Massachusetts, in 1731, and died in Nicholson, Pennsylvania, in 
August, 1814. Early in life he removed to Connecticut, from thence to 
Dutchess county. New York. On July 31, 1775, he enhsted in Third Regiment 
New York Continental Line, Captain Jacob S. Bruyn's company, under Colonel 



Clinton. He is described as a man five feet seven inches in height, Ught hair, 
fair complexion, age 44, occupation blacksmith. He married, in 1751, Elsie 
Holloway, who died at Nicholson, Pennsylvania, in April, 1820. Eliphalet 
Stephens had a son, Ebenezer Stephens, born in Goshen, New York, May 12, 
1759. He was also in the Revolution, entering at the age of seventeen, and 
served during the entire seven years. He was a pensioner until his death, in 
Nicholson, Pennsylvania, November 15, 1839. He married, at Goshen, New 
York, May 16, 1780, Rachel Squirrel, born at Goshen, in 1758, died at 
Nicholson, Pennsylvania, August 2, 1848. After the death of her husband, 
his widow, Rachel (Squirrel) Stephens, received the pension during her liff 
time. They were the parents of Elsie Stephens, who married Samuel Jayne; 
she was born May 15, 1780, died November 10, i860. 

James Schofield and Pauline (Jayne) Kennedy were the parents of thir- 
teen children: Mary L., married James Hicks: Catherine H., married Rev. 
Lyman C. Floyd; John Jayne, married Mehitable Griffin, he died July 21, 
1897; Sarah E., married (first) Isaac H. Heermans, (second) A. B. Crandall . 
William De Witt, of whom further; James Thomas, married Angeline Carey; 
Julia A., married Rev. George Forsyth; Charles Henry, died September 11, 
1806, unmarried; Nancy Elizabeth, died young; Adelaide May, married David 
F. Shook; Frank E., married Sylvia Davis; Clara Augusta, married George 
R. Clark, she died October 5, 1895 ; Helen, married William H. Stevens. 

(IV) William De Witt Kennedy, son of James Schofield and Pauline 
(Jayne) Kennedy, was born in Lackawanna township, Luzerne county, Penn- 
sylvania, September 24, 1842. He was educated in the public schools of 
Scranton, and Eastman's Business College, Poughkeepsie, New York. Mr. 
Kennedy was a director of the Scranton Savings Bank until it was mergeci 
with the Dime Bank, now the Scranton Savings & Dime Bank, and otherwise 
prominent in the business life of Scranton, Pennsylvania. He was for many 
years a trustee in the Providence Presbyterian Church, and now serves in the 
same capacity in the Green Ridge Presbyterian Church. He is a member of the 
Pennsylvania Society of the Sons of the Revolution on the records of Eliphalet 
and Ebenezer Stephens and Daniel De Witt. He belongs to the Country Club 
and the New England Society. He served during the war of the Rebellion in 
the Thirtieth Pennsylvania Reserves, during the invasion of Pennsylvania by 
the Southern army under General Robert E. Lee. During the last year of the 
war he was quartermaster's clerk in the Fiftieth New York Regiment (En- 
gineer Corps). He is a member of Ezra Griffith Post, No. 139, G. A. R. 

Mr. Kennedy married, February 11, 1868, Amelia Maria Carter, born 
April 29, 1844, daughter of Pulaski Carter (see Carter). Through her father, 
Mrs. Kennedy descends from sterling New England ancestry, notable for 
patriotism and high public spirit. Mrs. Kennedy graduated from East Green- 
wich Seminary, East Greenwich, Rhode Island, in 1865. She has been for 
many years interested in the philanthopic movements of the city, particularly in 
connection with the Home for the Friendless. She has been on its board of 
managers for twenty-three years, and has held many offices from secretary to 
president. For some years she has been vice-president of the Young Woman's 
Christian Association. For over fifty years she was an active member of the 
Presbyterian church, for the first thirty years of this period affiliating with the 
church of that denomination in the Providence section, but since 1893 has been 
identified with the Presbyterian church at Green Ridge. 

Mr. and Mrs. William De Witt Kennedy are the parents of three sons and 

one daughter: i. William Pulaski, born October 30, 1869; graduated from 

the Scranton (Pennsylvania) High School, class of 1889; he was for fifteen 

years teller of the People's National Bank of Scranton, Pennsylvania, now 



cashier of the Tribune Republican; he married December ii, 1895, Georgina, 
daughter of George R. and Harriet (Westbrook) Kittle; she was graduated 
from the same high school class as her husband; they are the parents of two 
children: Olive Ingalls, born December 15, 1896, graduated at Scranton High 
School, June 19, 1914, and Hilda De Witt, born June 14, 1901. 2. Dr. Lucius 
Carter, of whom further. 3. Katharine May, born November 11, 1875; grad- 
uated from the School of Lackawanna, class of 1895, afterward attending Miss 
Baldwin's School for Young Ladies at Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania ; she married, 
June 25, 1902, Dr. William Anthony Sherman, son of Albert K. and Mary 
(Barker) Sherman, of Newport, Rhode Island, descended from Philip Sherman, 
one of the eighteen persons who purchased the Island of Rhode Island from the 
Indians; Dr. Sherman was graduated from Harvard University in 1899, and 
from the medical department in 1902 ; Dr. William A. and Katharine May 
Sherman are the parents of two children : William Albert, born May 12, 1903 ; 
Charlotte Carter, born June 20, 191 1. 4. Harold Sherman, born November 28, 
1884; graduated from Blair (New Jersey) Academy in 1905; later entered the 
law department of the University of Pennsylvania, class of 1910, admitted to bar 
of Lackawanna county, October, 1910, and is practicing his profession in 

(V) Dr. Lucius Carter Kennedy, second son of William De Witt and 
Amelia Maria (Carter) Kennedy, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, Septem- 
ber 8, 1872. He is a graduate of Scranton High School, class of 1889, School 
of the Lackawanna, 1891, Princeton University, A. B., class of 1895, University 
of Pennsylvania Medical Department, M. D., 1898. After graduation Dr. 
Kennedy spent eighteen months as a member of the medical staff of Moses 
Taylor Hospital, Scranton, then pursued a post-graduate course at the Uni- 
versrty of Vienna, Austria. He then returned to Scranton and in 1900 began 
the active practice of his profession in this city where he is thoroughly estab- 
lished in public regard as a physician of learning, skill and honor. He is chief 
of the staff of one of the departments of the State Hospital at Scranton and 
ministers to a large private clientele. In 1907 Dr. Kennedy was president of 
the Lackawanna County Medical Society; is a member of the American and 
Pennsylvania State Medical associations and interested in the work of all. 
His clubs are the Scranton, Country, and Green Ridge. In political faith he 
is a Republican, and in religious association a member of Green Ridge Pres- 
byterian Church. 

Dr. Kennedy married, April 14, 1914, Margaret, daughter of William 
Robertson, of Branford, Canada. His offices are at No. 1030 Green Ridge 
street, Scranton. 


Pulaski Carter, deceased, was one of the strongest characters and most 
useful men of his day. He inherited in marked degree the sterling traits of his 
New England ancestry, and his name was ever a synonym for the strictest 
integrity and most uncompromising devotion to principle. His family has been 
from the beginning of its history in America notable for patriotism and public 
spirit of the highest quality. 

(I) The first Carters of whom we have authentic record in this country are 
Thomas Carter, blacksmith, and Mary his wife. Their names appear upon 
the church record in Charlestown, Massachusetts, in 1636. They were married 
in England. Their children were : Thomas, Joseph, Samuel, John, Mary, Han- 
nah. The will of Thomas Carter Sr. was recorded in 1652. He died possessed 
of considerable landed property. His wife Mary died in 1664, and her death 
is thus recorded : "Mary Carter, mother of the Carters in town." 



(II) Joseph Carter, second son of Thomas Carter, was a currier. He 
was first of Charlestown, but later lived on the old Billerica road, Woburn, 
Massachusetts, with his son, Joseph Jr. He died December 30, 1676. 

(III) Joseph (2) Carter, son of Joseph (i) Carter, lived in Woburn, 
Massachusetts, married Bethia Pearson, and at his demise in 1692 left three 
sons and three daughters. 

(IV) John Carter, son of Joseph (2) Carter, was born February 26, 1676, 
moved to Canterbury, Connecticut, with his wife Mary about 1706. 

(V) John (2) Carter, son of John (i) Carter, was born in Canterbury, 
February 24, 1709. He married Deborah Bundy, and they had nine children. 

(VI) Joseph (3) Carter, son of John (2) Carter, was born July 18, 1736. 
He married Patience Pellet, October 3, 1762. He served as quartermaster in 
the Revolution, and died August 15, 1796. 

(VII) Phineas Carter, son of Joseph (3) and Patience (Pellet) Carter, 
was born November 23, 1766. He was a landed proprietor of Westminster, 
Connecticut, and a man of strong character and strict integrity, upright to the 
point of austerity ; a devout Christian of the Congregational faith, rigid in ex- 
acting observance of religious forms and ceremonies ; and strict in his family 
discipline. He married Cynthia Butts, a woman of gentle nature and lovable 
traits of character. She was born March 16, 1773, and came of a family of 
prominence in the public and private colonial life of New England. Her father, 
Deacon Stephen Butts, of Westminster, Connecticut, born June 15, 1749, was 
the son of Joseph Butts, born March 17, 171 1. The father of Joseph Butts 
was Samuel Butts, who married Sarah Maxfield, July 22, 1701. Samuel 
Butts was a man of distinction in many respects, and the record of his official 
services is preserved in the archives of the state of Connecticut. He was 
elected thirteen times to the colonial assembly from Canterbury, Connecticut, 
during the period between 1715 and 1729, and was otherwise conspicuous in 
the community. His father was Richard Butts. He married Deliverance Hop- 
pin, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth Hoppin, who came from England to 
Dorchester, Massachusetts, in 1636. Phineas Carter died November 8, 1840, 
long surviving his wife, who died March 19, 1814. 

(VIII) Pulaski Carter, son of Phineas and Cynthia (Butts) Carter, was 
born in Westminster, Windham county, Connecticut, June 23, 1813. was only 
nine months old when his mother died. His father desired for him the career 
of a physician, and was much disappointed when the young man's inclina- 
tion turned toward mechanics, and he went to Brooklyn, Connecticut, where he 
learned blacksmithing. On completing his apprenticeship he went to Winsttd, 
Connecticut, where he entered the shop of Captain Wheelock Thayer, and 
there gained a thorough practical knowledge of scythe-making. He first visited 
Pennsylvania in 1840, at which time he went to Honesdale and several other 
localities, finally deciding to locate in Providence (now the first ward of Scran- 
ton). In 1841 he returned there and engaged in scythe-making. In June of 
the following year, in company with Jerrison White, he purchased the Sager 
& White Axe factory, and began the manufacture of axes as well as scythes — • 
the first factory of the kind in the state. He shortly afterward acquired his 
partner's interest, and in 1843 associated with himself a boyhood friend, 
Henry Harrison Crane. Mr. Crane subsequently disposed of his interest in 
the business, but stil! remained in the works. Mr. Carter then took as a 
partner Artemus Miller, but this partnership was soon dissolved, Mr. Carter 
assuming the entire ownership and management of the business. 

Meanwhile Mr. Carter had laid the foundations of the enterprise which 
came to be known as "The Capouse Works" (so named after the old Indian 
chief of the Monseys, from whom also the Capouse Meadows received their 
name), purchasing a thirty-acre tract of land from Henry Heermans, arid 


erecting thereon shops, etc., sufficient to commence business, and here was 
made the wide reputation of the "Carter axes" which were for many yeats 
unrivaled. In 1864 the factory burned down, entaihng a most serious loss, the 
insurance being wholly inadequate to defray the cost of rebuilding. In this 
hour of his great disaster, Mr. Carter was proffered abundance of financial 
aid by persons who appreciated his enterprise and had implicit confidence in 
his ability and integrity. These evidences of confidence he gratefully declined, 
and he built and equipped an entirely new and improved factory which for 
many years was one of the important industries of the valley, and this was 
accomplished with the preservation of that personal independence and self- 
reliance of which he was so justly proud. His business career ended only with 
his death, and he maintained to the last his deep interest and pride in the great 
enterprise which was the creature of his own brain and hands. 

In his relations to the community at large, Mr. Carter bore himself with 
the same dignity and conscientiousness that characterized the conduct of his 
business affairs. Whatever claimed his attention received from him the deepest 
interest and best efforts of which his heart and mind were capable. The 
parental training had indoctrinated him with the loftiest conceptions of an all- 
comprehending morality, and when he first left the paternal roof he came undc" 
influences which intensified his thought along the same lines. In the first days 
of his blacksmith apprenticeship, youth as he was, he became acquainted with 
the philosophy of the famous Concord and Brook Farm School. This was 
brought about through the Unitarian minister at Brooklyn, Connecticut, the 
Rev. Samuel J. May (intimate friend of \'\^lliam Lloyd Garrison, Wendell 
Phillips and Ralph Waldo Emerson), who allowed him free access to his library 
and aided him in his reading. So impressed was the young man with the field 
of thought to which he was thus introduced that in after years he was able 
to repeat from memory entire pages from the volumes which he read in those 
early days, and the sentiments which he imbibed colored his whole life. A 
signal exemplification of this was seen in 1847, when the free school idea was 
first broached. With a heart inspired with the most liberal New England ideas 
as to education, Mr. Carter, then a young man of thirty-four, threw himself 
into the struggle with all the intensity of his nature, and traversed the valley 
back and forth, preaching the gospel of free schools. An earnest and forceful 
speaker, he produced a deep impression. Nor was he content with this effort; 
he followed his appeals with labors of organization, and when the question 
came before the people he had his followers so well in hand that a decisive 
victory was won at the polls. Thus was the free school planted in Providence, 
at a time when Scranton was little more than a name upon the map. Mr. Carter 
followed his success with yet more practical effort, donating the land on which 
was erected the first free school building in the place, and he maintained an 
undiminished interest in educational affairs throughout his life. In 1857 the 
first graded schoolhouse was built, and in the public celebration of that event 
Mr. Carter was awarded high praise as the corner-stone upon which the free 
school cause had been founded. For twenty-eight years he served as director 
and treasurer of the Providence school board, and this fact speaks yet more 
eloquently of his heartfelt interest in the cause which he had so long and faith- 
fully championed, for naturally of a retiring disposition and averse to public 
prominence, he had steadfastly declined the mayoralty and other important 
positions which he was solicited to accept. His considerate humanitarianism 
found eloquent expression in his efforts in behalf of temperance. His voice 
was ever heard in denunciation of the evils of the liquor traffic, persistently op- 
posed the granting of license, and the saloon keepers greatly dreaded and feared 
him. But he went far in advance of the great mass of temperance agitator^. 


He gave his personal effort to the reclamation of the drunkard, and rescued 
many a one from a life of poverty and shame, and aided him to an honest and 
happy establishment in life. 

Mr. Carter married (first) August 5, 1839, Susan S. Spaulding, of Abington, 
Connecticut, about the time he had completed his trade, and two years before 
he located in Providence. The year of his coming (1841) a child was born 
to them, but death claimed the young mother a month later, and in the following 
summer the little one also died. Mr. Carter married (second) August 7, 
1843, Olive Ingalls, of Canterbury, Connecticut, a double cousin of his first 
wife. Her ancestry is traced to the early colonial period, her emigrant ancestor 
being Edmund Ingalls, son of Robert Ingalls, and grandson of Henry Skirbeck. 
Edmund Ingalls was a native of England, born in Lincolnshire in 1598. He 
came to Salem, Massachusetts, in 1628, with Governor Endicott's company. In 
1629, with his brother Francis and four others, he founded the settlement at 
Lynn, Massachusetts. In 1648, while traveling on horseback to Boston, he 
came to his death by drowning in the Saugus river, the accident resulting 
from a defective bridge. His son Henry, born in 1627, died 1719, was a land- 
owner in Ipswich, and was one of the first settlers of Andover, where he 
bought land from the Indians, making payment with clothing and trinkets. 
He was a wealthy man for the times, and took a leading part in town affairs. 
He married Mary Osgood, July 6, 1653, a daughter of John Osgood, who was 
the first representative to the general court from Andover, in 165 1. It is th* 
first record of a marriage in Andover. The ceremony was performed by Rev 
Simon Bradstreet, following the Puritan doctrine and belief in marriage as a 
civil compact. Their son Henry, like his father, was prominent in colonia/ 
affairs. Joseph Ingalls, son of Henry Ingalls Jr., was born in Andover in 
1697, and married Phoebe, daughter of John Farnham. Their son, Joseph Jr., 
born 1723, removed to Pom fret, Connecticut; he married Sarah Abbott, daugh- 
ter of Paul and Elizabeth (Gray) Abbott, and died in 1790. Their son, Peter 
Ingalls, born 1752, died 1783, served in the war of the Revolution. He mar- 
ried Sarah Ashley, and the homestead built by him is still standing and re- 
mains in the ownership of descended relatives of his daughter, at Elliott, Con- 
necticut. His son Marvin, who served in the war of 1812, born 1789, married 
Amelia Spaulding, who came from an old colonial family. Her father, James 
Spaulding, lived at Windham, and was one of Putnam's militia that marched 
to Lexington, and was also in the company that marched to Cambridge in the 
early period of the Revolutionary war, and his name appears on the pension 
roll of Revolutionary soldiers in 181 5. He was descended from Edward 
Spaulding, whose family records go back to an early period of English his- 
tory, and numbered at least one eminent divine among its members. Edward 
Spaulding settled in Braintree, Massachusetts, between 1630 and 1633, where 
he was prominent in town affairs, being a selectman and also for many years 
a surveyor of highways. He was a landed proprietor and left a large estate 
The crest of the Spaulding family bears the motto Hitic iiiilii saltis. Pulaski 
and Olive (Ingalls) Carter had three children: Amelia Maria. Pulaski Pliny, 
Marvin Phineas, all of whom further. 

(IX) Amelia Maria Carter, first child of Pulaski and Olive (Ingalls) 
Carter, was born April 29, 1844. She married William DeWitt Kennedy 
February 11, 1868. Mr. Kennedy is of Scotch-Irish and French-Dutch an- 
cestry. One of his ancestors of his mother's side was chaplain in Cromwell's 
army. His father was James Schofield Kennedy, who was the son of Thomas 
and Elizabeth (Schofield) Kennedy. The father of Thomas Kennedy was 
John Kennedy, whose family was of Scotch-Irish lineage. He was born 
April 24, 1739, and came to America from Bangor, Ireland, in 1763. He was 


of the Scotch Presbyterian faith. He settled in Kingston, New York, and 
later married Mrs. Josiah (Armstrong) Van Fleet, widow. Soon after his 
marriage in 1780 they moved to Wyoming Valley. His mother was Pauline 
Jayne (the original form of the family name being "De Jeanne") the daughter 
of Samuel and Elsie Stephens Jayne, the latter being the daughter of the 
Rev. David Jayne, whose wife was Elizabeth DeWitt, a cousin of the wife of 
General James Clinton, of Revolutionary fame. The grandfather of Mrs. 
Kennedy, the Rev. David Jayne, served in a New Jersey regiment in the 
Revolution, and took up a large and valuable section of "soldier land" near 
Lake Cayuga, New York. Her great-grandfather, Eliphalet Stephens, and 
his grandfather, Ebenezer Stephens, were both in the Revolutionary army. 
and remained in service the entire seven years of the war. Ebenezer Stephens 
drew a pension at Wilkes-Barre as long as he lived. 

(IX) Pulaski Pliny Carter, second child of Pulaski and Olive (Ingalls) 
Carter, was born June 6, 1849. He was educated at East Greenwich, Rhode 
Island, and at Fort Edward Institute. He is largely interested in real estatt 
enterprises, and is owner of the large office building at the corner of Adam.>i 
avenue and Linden street, Scranton. He married, June 6, 1882, Venitia White, 
born February 11, 1862, daughter of Joseph M. and Phebe A. (Cole) White, 
daughter of Immanuel Cole, the latter of excellent English descent. Joseph 
White was the son of Ephraim White, of White's Mills, near Honesdale, who 
was the son of Ezekiel (3) White, the son of Ezekiel (2) and Sarah (Vinton) 
White. He was the son of Ezekiel ( i ) White, who married Abigail Blanchard. 
Ezekiel (i) White was the son of Captain Ebenezer White, whose wife was 
Hannah Phillips. Captain Ebenezer White was born in Weymouth, Massa- 
chusetts, and was a son of Thomas White (wife's name unknown) who was 
admitted a freeman in Massachusetts colony, 1635-36. Place of nativity in 
England unknown. He was among the early settlers of Weymouth, and a 
member of the church there; many years a selectman, often on important com- 
mittees, and also commanded a military company, and was representative to 
the general court in 1637-40-57-71. 

There were bom to Pulaski Pliny and Venitia (White) Carter six chil- 
dren: I. Pulaski, born June 2, 1883; educated in the Scranton High School, 
from which he graduated in the class of 1903, the Boston School of Tech- 
nology and Columbia LTniversity ; married Pearl Lidstone. 2. Phebe, born 
September 14, 1885 ; educated in the Scranton High School, Smith College, 
Northampton, Massachusetts, and Columbia LTniversity, receiving the degree 
of A. M. in 1913 ; teacher in Technical High School, Scranton. 3. Ina, born 
March i, 1888, died January 26, 1897. 4. Olive Ingalls, born Novem- 
ber 9, 1890; educated in Scranton High School, Smith College, North- 
ampton, Massachusetts, and Columbia University, receiving the degree of 
A. M. in 1913; teacher in Meriden High School, Meriden, Connecticut. 5. 
Ada, born November 3, 1893; educated in Scranton High School and Smith 
College, attending the latter institution at the present time (1914). 6. Roy, 
born July 13, 1899 ; a student in Scranton High School. 

(IX) Marvin Phineas Carter, youngest child of Pulaski and Olive (In- 
galls) Carter, was born November 28, 1857. He was educated at East Green- 
wich, Rhode Island. He is one of the successful business men in Scranton, 
the owner of valuable real estate, a director in the People's Bank, and other- 
wise actively identified with the business of the city. He married Minnie 
Parmelia Murphy, born June 26, 1863, daughter of John Archbald Murphy, of 
Warrenville, Connecticut. He was several times elected to the state legisla- 
ture, and was a man of business prominence in the town where he resided. 
His mother was Mary, daughter of Benjamin Spaulding, descended from Ed- 



mund Spaulding, who came to Braintree. Massachusetts, about 1630. T(3 
Mr. and Mrs. Carter were born three children: i. Marvin Clarence, born 
July 29, 1885 ; a graduate of the high school, class of 1905, graduate of Lafay- 
ette College. 2. Lucius, born November 20, 1887, died June 3, 1889. 3. 
Marguerite, born May 30, 1889; graduate of Scranton high school, graduate of 
Mt. Holyoke College, Mt. Holyoke, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Carter, the father of the family above named, whose career as a man 
of affairs and a humanitarian has been treated of in the foregoing narrative, 
met with a dreadful accident from the effects of which he never entirely re- 
covered, and which doubtless shortened his life. In November, 1876, while 
driving in his carriage, his vehicle was driven into by two teams driven by 
drunken racers. Mr. Carter was caught in the wreckage and so seriously in- 
jured that for some days his life was despaired of. His excellent constitution, 
unimpaired by reason of his abstemious habits, enabled him to resume his 
accustomed avocations, but he never regained his old vigor. He died October 
13, 1884, aged seventy-one years, leaving to survive him his widow and their 
three children. His widow died December 8, 1898. 


There is found in Rev. George J. Lucas, J. U. D.. D. D., rector of St. 
Patrick's Roman Catholic Quirch, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, a blending of 
scholarly attainments and ministerial fidelity that do credit to the man possess- 
ing them. If culture may be gained in excess and the lure of study become 
harmful, its harm is in the temptation it brings to give to it paramount im- 
portance and to allow the delights of deep intellectual pursuits to exclude the 
sterner duties, the less inviting realities of iife, to place a clouding veil over the 
features of existence more enjoyably forgotten. Despite the honors that have 
been showered upon Dr. Lucas, the distinction that he has received as an author, 
educator and scholar, has neither made him regardless of his priestly responsi- 
bilities nor lessened his anxiety for the welfare of the people to whom he 

The Lucas family is of French origin, the line having been founded in 
Ireland by a Huguenot ancestor who had fled the land of his birth. The 
grandfather of Rev. George J. Lucas was a native of Ireland, and env 
braced the religion of the Society of Friends. His son George, father of Rev. 
George J. Lucas, was a master of the workhouse at Youghl, county Cork, and 
in that locality passed his entire life. He married Margaret Field, of county 
Cork, a communicant of the Catholic faith, and in that their children were 
reared. George and Margaret (Field) Lucas were the parents of: .Margaret, 
Thomas, Mary, George J., whose name heads this sketch ; Frederick, John, 

Rev. George J. Lucas was born at Youghl, connty Cork, Ireland, May 22, 
1852. Almost from his childhood his education was directed toward the priest- 
hood, his early training being received under the direction of the Christian 
Brothers of Cork, and after coming to the L^nited States his preparation con- 
sisted of a three years' course in philosophy and a four years' course in the- 
olog}' under the Jesuit Fathers at Woodstock, Maryland. He was ordained in 
St. Mary's LTniversity, in Baltimore, Maryland, October 28, 1889, Cardinal 
Gibbons officiating at the ceremony, and in June of the following year he 
received the degree of Doctor of Divinity from the same university, his first 
charge after his ordination being as assistant to Rev. E. J. Melley, of St. 
John's Church. When the degree of Doctor of Divinity was conferred upon 
him at St. Mary's University, Cardinal Gibbons, and the chancellor of the 


Catholic University of America, then onl) one year in existence, and Mon- 
seigneur Schroeder, the dean of the Catholic l^niversity. requested Bishop 
O'Hara, then Bishop of Scranton, to permit Rev. Dr. Lucas to prepare a 
standard of degrees of theology for the Catholic University of America, to 
which candidates for the degree of Doctor of Divinity should conform, and the 
permission of the Bishop having been granted. Rev. Dr. Lucas prepared such 
a standard, which was accepted by the authorities of the institution. In 
order to prepare this work, Rev. Dr. Lucas entered upon a five year period 
of study, the first of which was spent in the Catholic University of America, 
and the remaining four in private research and study. The greater part of 
this time was devoted to the preparation and vvruing of a dissertation for the 
doctorate in theolog}' at the above mentioned university, the subject of which 
is "Agnosticism and Religion," the whole being an examination of Spencer's 
"Religion of the Unknowable," preceded by a history of agnosticism, from 
Xenophanes to Herbert Spencer. This is probably the most standard work on 
the subject from the point of Christianity, regardless of denominational dif- 
ferences, that has ever been written, and its fairness of treatment, as well 
as the high literary standard that has been maintained throughout, has won 
for it the most favorable criticism from the American and European press. 
One of the most commendatory notices that has come to the hand of the author, 
and one especially valued because of its celebrated source, is a personal letter of 
three pages from the late William E. Gladstone, the famous English statesman, 
in which he expresses his great satisfaction with the scholarly disquisition and 
his appreciation of the spirit of toleration which pervades the book. The 
work was published by the Christian Press Association Publishing Company, 
of New York, in 1895, and it was after submitting his dissertation to the 
Catholic University of America that he was awarded his Doctor of Divinity 
degree from that institution in 1903, a degree that has been conferred but four- 
teen times in nineteen years by that university, his being the first to be con- 

Dr. Lucas is the author of a series of articles on the "Origin of Evil,"' 
mainly in refutation of the well known publication of Professor Fisk dealing 
with that subject, through which Dr. Lucas added to the brilliancy of his 
literary fame and gained still greater repute as a thinker, logician and scholar. 
He has taken a place among the most noted writers of the day on religious 
topics, and aside from the substantial value of his writing the reflection of the 
workings of a master intellect, the ease and grace of his expression wins the 
admiration of those who care to delve no deeper than the surface beauty of his 
work. Numerous articles above Dr. Lucas' signature have also appeared in 
the New Catholic Encyclopaedia. In 1910 the Papal University at Rome, com- 
monly known as the "Apollonaire," conferred upon him the degree of Doctor 
of Canon Law, one year later adding to this that of Doctor of Roman Civil 
Law, the two expressed by J. U. D., a degree with which but very few priests 
in the United States have been honored. Di'. Lucas has had the honor of being 
invited to be present as a special examiner of all the candidates for the degree 
of Doctor of Divinity in the Catholic LTniversity of America. This is the only 
post-graduate Catholic University in the world, one of the requirements for 
admission being a certificate of graduation from a duly recognized seminary, 
and the scholarship of graduates is perhaps the highest of any Catholic 
university in the world. 

Dr. Lucas' ministerial record comprises eight months of service as assistant 
of Rev. A. J. Melley, of St. John's Church, after which he became assistant 
to Rev. John Moylan and T. J- Comerford, of St. Thomas' Church, Archbald, 
Pennsylvania, where he remained for four years. For the next five months he 


served in the same capacity with Rev. J. B. Donovan, of Dunmore, then being 
appointed to his first rectorate, at St. Andrew's Church, of Blossburg, Penn- 
sylvania. His ministry in this place extended over a period of twelve and one- 
haJf years, during which time he conducted a valuable work among his 
parishioners, and the following three years he was rector of St. Mary's Church, 
at Pittston. On January i, 191 2, he received his appointment as rector of St. 
Patrick's Church, in Scranton, which church and city has since been the scene 
of his ministerial endeavors. His church is a thriving and prosperous one, 
financially strong and spiritually powerful, exercising an influence potent and 
far-reaching in the community. He has been appointed as examiner of the 
clergy of Scranton, serving for the past nine years, and of the most important 
local offices in the diocese. He is also one of the directors, and the secretary 
and treasurer of St. Patrick's Orphan Asylum. On October 28, 1914, Father 
Lucas will have been priest for twenty-five years and on Sunday, October 25, 
1914, he will celebrate the silver jubilee. 


Those who cavil at ancestry and deride the doctrine of heredity may with 
profit study the history of the Peck family in America. From the days of 
heraldry, three crosses formed the principal part of the Peck coat-of-arms. 
This indicates service in the Crusades, which proves the militant trait. Many, 
many years thereafter this trait shows in Jesse Peck, of the fifth American 
generation, who with three of his sons served in the Revolutionary army. In 
the next generation, the spirit of the three crosses is manifested in Luther 
Peck with whom Methodism came into the family. He was for many years a 
class leader of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and distinguished for his 
fidelity to every duty and his devotion to the cause of Christianity, the same 
spirit that drove the old Crusader to the Holy Land in an endeavor to wrest the 
Saviour's tomb from the grasp of the Saracen. Witness the result of heredity 
in the sons of this God-fearing old Methodist class leader. All five of them 
became eminent ministers of the Methodist Episcopal Church, one of them. 
Rev. Jesse Truesdell Peck, D. D. LL.D., being elected in 1872 bishop of that 
churcli and serving with such distinction that the name Peck vies with that 
of Simpson in the affection and esteem of Methodists everywhere. Two of these 
sons were also distinguished authors. Five of the grandchildren of Luther 
Peck were also eminent ministers of the Methodist Episcopal Church. So 
we can let heredity answer for itself through this wonderful Peck family, so 
honored and revered in the annals of Methodism and eminent in whatever 
station placed or profession followed. The name Peck is of great antiquity in 
England, and is found in every civilized country. In America it first appears 
with Henry Peck one of the founders of the New Haven Colony and his name 
appears as one of the subscribers to the charter of the New Haven Colony. 
He settled in New Haven, Connecticut, in 1638. The family home continued 
in New Haven during the next two generations, headed by John ( I ) and John 
(2) Peck. 

(I\') Fliphalet Peck, son of John (2) Peck, and of the fourth American 
generation, left New Haven when young, spending most of his life in Dan- 
bury, Fairfield county, Connecticut. 

(V) Jesse Peck, eldest son of Eliphalet Peck, settled in the southern part 
of Danbury (now Bethel) where he cleared a farm from the original forest. 
In Jesse and his son was revived the ancient military spirit of the family, he 
with his three sons enlisting in the Revolutionary army : Jesse and his son 
Nathaniel contracted smallpox and died before the war ended. The other two 


sons were captured in battle, carried to New York City and confined in the 
old hulk Jersey anchored in the East river, and used by the British as a prison 
ship. Here they suffered the greatest horrors, and when finally released and 
carried home were to broken down by disease and brutal treatment that for a 
time they were unable to recognize their own mother. Jesse Peck married 
Ruth Hoyt, born February 26, 1738, died February 2, 1809. 

(\'I) Luther Peck, son. of Jesse Peck, the Revolutionary soldier, left Con- 
necticut with his family in 1794, settling in what is now Middlefield Center, 
Otsego county, New York. With Luther Peck begins the connection of the 
family with the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a class leader for many 
years, and a man of most exemplary Christian life. He reared a remarkable 
family, all of his five sons becoming eminent ministers of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, as were five of his grandchildren. He married Annis Collar, 
whose father was also a Revolutionary soldier. They were the parents of 
eleven children, the youngest being Rev. Jesse Truesdell Peck, a well known 
and greatly beloved bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church, who died May 
17, 1883, eleven years after his elevation to the Episcopacy. 

(VH) Rev. George Peck, D. D., second of the five famous sons of Luther 
Peck, was born in Otsego county. New York, August 8, 1797, died in Scranton, 
Pennsylvania, May 20, 1876. He joined the Methodist Episcopal Church at 
the age of fifteen years, and three years later was licensed as an exhorter. 
The following year, 1816, he was licensed a local preacher and served on the 
Cortland (New York) circuit without salary. In the same year he was re- 
ceived into the Genesee Conference on trial. He advanced rapidly in the 
esteem of his brethren, becoming in 1824 presiding elder of the Susquehanna 
district, being then but twenty-seven years of age. In 1835 he was elected 
principal of Cazenovia Seminary, continuing three years. In 1839 he was 
again presiding elder of the Susquehanna district, and frona 1840 until 1847 
was editor of the Methodist Quarterly Review, his editorship marking a new 
era in ttie history of that magazine; from 1847 until 185 1 he was editor of the 
official organ of the church. The Christian Advocate. In 1852 he returned to 
the active ministry, stationed at Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. In 1854 he was 
presiding elder of the Wyoming district; in 1855 of the Binghamton district; 
in 1856 and 1857 in charge of Scranton Mission (now Elm Park Methodist 
Episcopal Church); in 1858 presiding elder of the Wyoming district; sta- 
tioned in 1866-67 ^'^ Providence; in 1868 at Dunmore ; in i86g presiding elder 
of the Wyoming district. In 1873 he was placed on the supernumerary list, 
having most gloriously served his church as exhorter, preacher, presiding elder 
and editor for fifty-eight years. Three years later, in 1876, he died. 

His interest in educational matters was intense. He had labored for the 
advancement of Cazenovia Seminary long before he became its efficient presi- 
dent in 1835. One of his biographers claims that he was "the orginator of 
the first course of study prescribed by tlie general conference for traveling 
preachers" and that he was "the originator and first moving spirit in the found- 
ing of Wyoming Seminary." He was a delegate to the general conference in 
thirteen sessions, 1824 to 1872, and was a member of the Evangelical Alliance 
which met in London, England, in .\ugust. 1846. Throughout almost his entire 
ministerial career, he was a valuable contributor to the literature of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church and in other fields of literature, enjoying tlie reputation 
of a faithful and accurate writer. 

In 1835 Wesleyan University conferred upon him the degree of Master oi 
Arts and in 1840 Augusta College bestowed that of Doctor of Divinity. Says 
another of his biographers : "I view him as one of the most remarkable men 
of our times, one whose genius and piety are indelibly stamped on the ec- 


clesiastical policy and wonderful growth of the church, whose wise counsels 
and herculean labors are interwoven in its development. For the past fifty 
years of his life he has been distinguished by a de^'oted love to the church, and 
unswerving loyalty to the honest convictions of truth." 

Rev, George Peck married Mary, daughter of Philip and Martha (Bennett) 
Myers. Of his five children two sons. Rev. George Myers Peck and Rev. 
Luther Wesley Peck, were ministers of the Methodist Episcopal Church ; a 
third son died in infancy ; a fourth, Wilbur Fisk Peck, was a graduate in 
medicine, of the University of the City of New York and a surgeon in the 
Union army. An only daughter, Mary Helen, married Rev. J. T. Crane, a 
graduate of Princeton College and a minister of the Methodist Episcopal 

(VIII) Rev. Luther Wesley Peck, second son of Rev. George Peck, D. D., 
was born in Kingston, Pennsylvania, June 14, 1825, died at Scranton, Penn- 
sylvania, March 31, 1900. He spent one year at Wesleyan University (1842) 
then entered the L'niversity of the City of New York, whence he was graduated 
Master of Arts, class of 1845, receiving from his alma mater in 1878 the 
degree of Doctor of Divinity. After leaving the university he finished a 
course of theological study, and in 1845 was admitted to the New York Con- 
ference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, following in the footsteps of his 
honored father. He was stationed, under the itinerant law of the church, as 
pastor of churches in New York, Brooklyn, Durham, Rhinebeck. Newburgh, 
Poughkeepsie, Kingston, Middletown and other places until 1S68. when he 
was transferred to the Wyoming conference, Pennsylvania. He continued 
in the mlinistry forty-five years ; was presiding elder of the Honesdale district, 
1876-79, and retired from active ministry in 1891 at the age of sixty-six years. 
He was a rarely eloquent pulpit orator, a pastor of great usefulness and a 
forceful, graceful, pleasing writer of both poetry and prose. His published 
works include: "The Golden Age" (1858) ; "The Flight of Humming Birds" 
(1895) ; A Poem "The Burial of Lincoln" for Rev. Jesse T. Peck's "History 
of the Great Republic," and edited, "A View From Campbell Lodge in Wyom- 
ing" written by his father. Rev. George Peck. He was also an extensive and 
valued contributor to the National Magazine, the Quarterly Review and the 
Ladies Repository. In his long and active life he accomplished great good and 
added additional lustre to the name of Peck, already illustrious in the annals 
of Methodism. 

Rev. Luther Wesley Peck married, January 18, 1848, Sarah Maria, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Ransom Hall and Hielen (Whitbeck) Gibbons. She was born in 
Dormansville, Albany county, New York, in 1828, died June 17, 191 1, in Scran- 
ton, Pennsylvania. Children: Helen, Mary E., Emma D., Frances A., Sarah 
M., Susan G., Jessie T., Fanny M., George L. 

(IX) George L. Peck, only son of Rev. Luther Wesley Peck, D. D., was 
born in Susquehanna, Pennsylvania, February \2, i86g. After a course of 
study in the public schools, he prepared for a higher institution of learning 
at Cazenovia Seminary, a school that for three years was presided over by his 
grandfather. Rev. George Peck. D. D. In 1886 he entered Wesleyan Univer- 
sity, whence he was graduated Bachelor of Arts, class of 1890. Breaking away 
from family tradition, he chose the profession of law, preparing under the 
preceptorship of Cornelius Comegys, an. eminent lawyer of Scranton, Penn- 
sylvania. Passing the necessary examinations, he was admitted to the Lack- 
awanna county bar. April 10, 1893. He at once began the practice of his pro- 
fession in Scranton and so continues, having attained high standing at the bar 
and practices in all state and federal courts of the district. 

Not only has Mr. Peck gained honorable distinction in his profession but is 


numbered among the active, useful and successful business men of his citj 
He is president of the Electric City Bank of Scranton. a sohd, prosperous, 
financial institution, and is manager of the Board of Tiade and Real Estate 
Company, with offices in the Board of Trade Building. Adhering strictly to 
the faith of his fathers, he is a useful member of Simpson Methodist Episcopal 
Church, president of its board of trustees and for the past eighteen years has 
been superintendent of the Sunday school. Thoroughly informed in church 
government, history and precedent, ]\Ir. Peck has rendered valuable layman 
service to tlie church, and in 1912 was chosen lay delegate to the quadrennial 
general conference, held that year in Minneapolis, ably representing there the 
lay interests of his church. 

Through the service of his patriotic ancestor, Jesse Peck, the Revolutionary 
soldier, Mr. Peck had gained membership to Pennsylvania Chapter, Sons of 
the Revolution, an association he greatly values. He is also prominent in the 
Masonic Order, belonging to Peter Williamson Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Coeur de Lion Coui- 
mandery. Knights Templar (of which he is past eminent commander) : Irem 
Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 

This brief account of the life and activity of Mr. Peck gives but an idea of 
his usefulness to his community, but does fully prove his own worthiness and 
the high character of his forbears, dating from the first American ancestor, 
Henry Peck. As a study in heredity, it is of deep interest and furnishes an 
unswervable arginnent in favor of the exponents of the theory that "blood will 

George L. Peck married, September 10, 1896. Helen Abigail, daughter of 
Frank W. and Harriet C. (Kilmer) Mott. Children: George Francis, James 
Knickerbocker, Jesse Truesdell, Mott. The family home is at No. 145 South 
Hyde Park avenue. 


As chief executive of Scranton borough, Alayor Von Bergen justified the 
wisdom of the voters of the city, and so far as his power extended he gave 
the friends of good government satisfaction in their choice. While not a native 
born son of Scranton, his earliest recollection does not carry him beyond the 
city, as he was but a child of three years when his parents first made Scranton 
their residence. Here he was educated and grew to manhood, imbibing the 
true Scranton spirit of progress, engaged in business, entered public life and 
gained the prominence and reputation that resulted in his election to the high 
office of mayor of the third most important city of Pennsylvania. 

(I) The V^on Bergens are a Swiss family, Mayor Von Bergen being rep- 
resentative of the first American born generation. The first of the family to 
leave their far away mountain home and to come to the LInited States was 
Andrew Von Bergen, who with his wife, Elizabeth, and children, came about 
1 85 1, settling in Jackson, Illinois. He was a carpenter by trade and after 
working in Illinois until 1856, came to Pennsylvania, locating in Taylor, where 
he engaged in farming. 

(II) John Von Bergen, son of Andrew and Elizabeth \'on Bergen, was 
born in Berne, Switzerland, April 18, 1845. He was brought to the L'nited 
States by his parents when about six years of age, and to Taylor, Pennsyl- 
vania, when eleven, having spent the intervening years in Jackson, Illinois. 
He received such education as the public schools afforded, and at Taylor as- 
sisted his father in farm labor until of suitable age to enter the coal mines. He 
worked at mining several years, winning his way upward until he became a min- 


ing contractor. In 1877 he located in Scranton and there was actively engaged 
in business until his death, April 15, 1910. He was a man of forceful char- 
acter, genial and kindly in nature, but of so retiring and quiet disposition that 
he was known as the "Silent Swiss." He was a director of the Providence 
Bank, served two terms as councilman in Scranton, then was elected di- 
rector of the poor of the city, holding that office until his death. He was a 
member of Schiller Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and Greuth-Verein. He was deeply interested in religion 
though not a professed member of any denomination and was liberal to all 
churches. It is in commemoration of these characteristics of Mr. Von Bergen 
that the congregation of the Court Street Methodist Episcopal Church are 
now assembled by the tones of a strong, richly toned bell, inscribed "Pre- 
sented to the Court Street ^Methodist Episcopal Church, March 23, 191 3, by 
John Von Bergen, Junior, in memory of his father, John Von Bergen, de- 
ceased." In presenting the bell to the congregation, the donor said in part. 
"I believe that whatever honor accrues from this contribution should go to 
him who first conceived it : Should go to him in whose honor this contribution 
is now made. I believe that it belongs to him, rather than to me who am now 
carrying out what I know to have been his most heart- felt wish. My satis- 
faction will come too, with every toll of this bell, for the sound of it as it peals 
forth from the belfry of this church, will bring back to me a very vivid recol- 
lection of one whom I believe to have been the best father that a son ever 
had." John Von Bergen married Caroline Weisen, born in Scranton, daugh- 
ter of Nicholas Weisen. She was also a devoted Christian. Children : Eliza- 
beth, married Wells Hockenberry, of Scranton; John, of whom further; 
Caroline, a teacher in Scranton public schools ; Mildred, married R. W. 
Jefifers, of Scranton ; Louis, of Stanton ; Helen. 

(Ill) John (2) \^on Bergen, eldest son of John (i) and Caroline (Weisen) 
Von Bergen, was born in Taylor, Pennsylvania, November 15, 1874. He was 
educated in the Scranton public schools and Wood's Business College, begin- 
ning business life as weighmaster in the employ of the Delaware, Lackawanna 
& Western Railroad Company. He continued in the employ of that company 
until 1900, serving in different capacities, rising to a position virtually that of 
outside assistant superintendent. He then resigned, becoming clerk in the 
office of the commissioners of Lackawanna county, remaining four years. Ir 
1904 he was elected clerk of courts for Lackawanna county, serving one term, 
but failing of re-election. In 1909 he was successful candidate of the Repub- 
lican party for mayor of Scranton. He was sworn into office, April 5, 1909, 
and served the city with a fidelity and zeal that won him hosts of friends ann 
warm supporters. He is a director of the Providence Bank and of the Anthra- 
cite Traction Company, and interested in other business enterprises. He has 
attained prominence in the Masonic Order, .belonging to Queen Ridge Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, and to all bodies of the Ancient Accepted Scottish 
Rite, Keystone Consistory, in which he holds the thirty-second degree. He is 
also a Noble of Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Wilkes-Barre, 
Celestial Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Fraternal Order of 
Eagles and the Modern Woodmen of America, being very highly esteemed 
by his brethren in these orders. 

Mr. Von Bergen married, September 28, 1904, Emma, daughter of Chris- 
tian G. Schwindt, of Scranton. Children: Mildred and John (3). 



It has been a noticeable feature of American life, and indeed of the age, 
that the tendency in all of the sciences and professions has been to develop 
men complete masters of one branch of a calling. The depth of research and 
the profundity of theories advanced have been accompanied by the realization 
that life is too short and the undertaking too vast for one to learn, under- 
stand and be an authority upon all departments of even one science or pro- 
fession. So the need of specialization has been felt and to accommodate this 
want learned men in all walks of life have concentrated their mental faculties 
upon one subject, or part of a subject, making everything known thereof 
their own and ceaselessly experimenting, searching and studying to add to 
this store of accurate evidence. As one wise man, apt in expression, summed 
up the need of the times, what is required is not simply broad men, but "broad 
men sharpened to a point." It is in the application of this method to the 
medical profession in the case of Dr. Friend A. Cross that the above is 
pertinent at the present time. 

Dr. Friend A. Cross is a descendant of a family old in Wayne county, 
Pennsylvania, his grandfather, James Cross, having been an early settler who 
there engaged in lumber dealing. The father of Friend A. Cross, Albert James 
Cross, was born in Sterling, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, in 1849, ^nd was 
for several years a teacher in the public schools, later opening a general store 
in the place of his birth, where he is now engaged in the mercantile business. 
He holds membership in the Methodist Episcopal Church. Albert James Cross 
married Mary E. Hildebrandt, of Columbia, New Jersey, and has children: 
Freeman H., Clarence G., Friend A., of whom further ; Russell E., deceased ; 
Earl B., Beulah C, H. Milton. 

Dr. Friend A. Cross, son of Albert James and Mary E. (Hildebrandt) 
Cross, was born in Sterling, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, July 8, 1882. After 
a public school education he attended the East Stroudsburg State Normal 
School. For two years he was a school teacher, in 1903 entering the Medico- 
Chirurgical College of Philadelphia, whence he was graduated M. D. four 
years later, then serving for one year as interne in the State Hospital. In 1908 
he moved to South Scranton, beginning the practice of his profession on 
Pittston avenue, a short time afterward enrolling in the New York Post 
Graduate School and Hospital, in New York City, where he specialized in the 
study of eye, ear, nose and throat, returning to Scranton in August, 1913. His 
present office is in the Dime Bank Building, in which place he receives the 
many patrons of his large practice, his knowledge, skill and ability as a phy- 
sician being universally known. From 1908 to July i, 1914, Dr. Cross was an 
assistant to Dr. Mears and Dr. C. L. Frey, of the State Hospital, in cases where 
the disease is of the eye, ear, nose or throat, his advanced study making him an 
assistant of worth. On July i, 1914, he was made chief of the eye depart- 
ment of that hospital. The many years that in all probability stretch before 
Dr. Cross offer excellent ground for the laying of a career of brilliance and 
usefulness, for he is absorbed in his profession, a tireless worker, and a con- 
stant student. His medical societies are those of the county and state, and 
he is a member of Lodge No. 330, F. and A. M., of Hamlin, Pennsylvania. 
His church is the Elm Park Methodist Episcopal. Dr. Cross married, Decem- 
ber I, 1909, Lulu A., daughter of Hon. John D. and Mary Houck. 


There is a spirit in the American people that in some manner can never 
resist the appeal made to the senses by the words of Bunker Hill. The mere 

(Of ^. -0^i>^ef-^'^ 


utterance of these magic syllables causes each head to be held a trifle higher, 
each pair of shoulders to be raised a little more erect and each breath to come 
a little quicker than its predecessor. It is a glorious monument to the Warren 
family herein recorded, that the name of one of its members has been written 
indelibly upon the records of our mighty republic, as the hero of that historic 
conflict. General Joseph Warren. 

(i) Isaac Warren, related to General Joseph Warren in a collateral line, 
has the distinction of introducing a new industry in this country, the manufac- 
ture of calf skin boots. He was the father of several children, one of his 
sons, George Frederick Warren, serving with honor in the Civil War, and 
being placed upon the stafif of General Grant at the request of that officer. 

(II) Harris Franklin Warren, son of Isaac and Leonora Warren, was 
born in Bethany, Connecticut, March 10, 1824. In 1838 he went with his 
brother to Newburgh, New York, where for a year he attended high school. 
Going west in 1843, he was employed as a bookkeeper in the large wholesale 
establishment of Reuben Towne in Detroit, Michigan, a position he resigned 
in 1848 to enter the service of the mercantile house of Zach, Chandler & Com- 
pany, of which he became junior partner in 1850. The western climate prov- 
ing unfavorable to his delicate health, Mr. Warren returned to the east and 
accepted a position in Scranton in the car and machine shops of the Delaware, 
Lackawanna & Western Railroad. For almost ten years he suffered as a semi- 
invalid, finally recovering the strength and robustness that have always char- 
acterized the family, and lived to an advanced age. Had his health been as 
vigorous as his spirit, it is possible that his efforts in a military line would have 
redounded quite as much to the honor of the family as did the deeds of his 
valiant ancestor, as his enlistment in the Lmion army at the time of the Civil 
War was barred by the examining physician. He married twice and became 
the father of three children. 

(III) Major Everett Warren, son of Harris Franklin and Marian Mar- 
gery (Griffin) Warren, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, August 27, 1859. 
Having obtained from the public schools of the day all that they had to offer, 
his insatiable desire for learning as a means of self improvement led him to 
enter Merrill's Academic School, where he obtained instruction in Latin and 
Greek, preparatory to entrance into college, payiiig his tuition fee with his 
earnings as a carrier of the Scranton Republican, subsequently for the Scranton 
Times. Not having all the preparation necessary for college entrance, he con- 
tinued to study under the tutorship of Frank Bentley, paying for this service 
with three- fourths of the wages he earned as clerk and office boy in the office 
of A. H. Winton and later of Hand & Post. Such perseverance and am- 
bition, such undaunted and immovable determination to obtain an education, 
such sincere desire for better things, could not remain unrewarded, the fall 
of 1877 witnessing the fulfillment of his college hopes and the gratification of 
a wish for which he labored long and unceasingly, his matriculation at Yale 
University. Here he applied all the energy and labor to the different depart- 
ments of his course that he had previously devoted to obtaining entrance, 
gaining special pleasure from the literary and debating work of the college, in- 
cluding an editorship of the Yale News, and graduating A. B. in the class of 
1881. After graduation he studied for the legal profession, and soon after 
his admission to the bar became the partner of the Hon. E. N. Willard. Judge 
H. A. Knapp joining the firm in 1892, the triple alliance continuing until June, 
1895, when Mr. Willard received appointment as a superior court judge from 
Governor Hastings. Since that time Major Warren has been the head of the 
firm, and has maintained a position as one of the leading members of the 
Scranton bar, the business of the firm thriving because of the excellent reputa- 


tion borne by all partners. The firm was Warren & Knapp until Judge Willard 
retired in 1898 and resumed his place in it, continuing until his death, March 
2, 1910. The firm then became Warren, Knapp & O'Malley, remaining such 
until January i, 1914, when it became Warren, Knapp, O'Malley & Hill. Mr. 
Warren has represented individuals as well as corporations in as fully im- 
portant controversies as those of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western, the 
New York Central, the Lehigh Valley, the Erie and the Erie & Wyoming 
Valley railroads, the Scranton Traction Company, the Lackawaima Iron and 
Steel Company, and the Pennsylvania Coal Company. We cite the Crawford 
will case, and the Martin case against the Delaware & Hudson, Susquehanna 
& Western Canal companies, when the biggest verdict was given that was ever 
obtained in a persona! injury case in Pennsylvania. To recount the reasons 
for his continued success in his chosen profession entails a description of the 
qualities of the man himself, his strong mentality, prepossessing personality and 
confident self assurance, which make a most favorable impression upon all with 
whom he comes into contact. All of his success, of course, is laid upon his 
extremely intimate and thorough knowledge of fundamentals, which enables 
him to unravel thread by thread the most complicated and abstruse of legal 
problems ; but aside from this, without which a lawyer could never be truly 
great, his remarkable forensic gifts have been the greatest aid to him in his 
profession. Just as the most beautiful of songs loses its entire charm by a 
poor rendition, so the strongest legal attack loses its force and power of con- 
viction unless its delivery is eloquent, well balanced and emphatic. In the 
presentation of his cases. Major Warren combined all of these qualities, with 
a result shown by the number of decisions in his favor. 

Major Warren's distinction is not confined to the bar of his state, but 
reaches into political and military circles. His connection with the Penn- 
sylvania National Guard began in 1881, when he enlisted as a private in Com- 
pany A, Thirteenth Regiment, then commanded by Captain Louis A. Watres, 
who afterward became lieutenant-governor of Pennsylvania. His promotion 
to sergeant-major followed in three years, his next rank being that of adjutant 
and finally judge advocate of the Third Regiment with the rank of major on 
the staff of General J. P. S. Cobin. In 1891 he resigned as judge advocate 
and closed an association with the National Guard which had covered a period 
of ten years, during which time he had been constantly active in the work ol 
the organization. He was offered a position on the staff of Governor Hastings 
as colonel, which he refused, and he also declined the position of judge ad- 
vocate on Major General Snowden's staff with the rank of lieutenant-colonel. 

In the field of Republican politics he has gained a position of influence and 
power, and is one of the leaders in the party in that state. In 1887 the first 
convention of the recently organized National League of Republican Clubs 
was held in the old Chickering Hall in New York, where Major Warren was 
the representative of the Central Republican Club of Scranton. and in the 
election of National ofiicers was the unanimous choice of the Pennsylvania 
delegation for treasurer. At the organization of the State League of Penn- 
sylvania at Scranton in April, 1888, he was chosen the first of three vice- 
presidents and six years later was elected president by acclamation, and at 
York in 1895 was re-elected, continuing as the cliief executive officer of the 
league until 1896. He has been a member of the advisory committee of the 
National Republican League, his advice and opinions carrying great weight 
whenever, after mature consideration of the subject at hand, he either gives 
the one or advances the other. Twice he has declined allowing his name to be 
used in connection with a nomination for Justice of Supreme Court of Penn- 
sylvania. In local politics, too, his knowledge of affairs has called him into 


service. As secretary of the county committee, chairman of the city com- 
mittee, and as a member of the advisory board of the state committee, he has 
fulfilled all the duties of a good, conscientious citizen. At the state conven- 
tion in Harrisburg in 1896 he was nominated presidential elector from the 
eleventh congressional district. 

Major Warren and his wife are communicants of St. Luke's Episcopal 
Church, he serving as vestryman. He has been a member of standing in com- 
mittees of the diocese of Bethlehem for twenty years, and deputy to the 
General Convention of the Episcopal Church. He holds fraternal affiliation 
with the Masonic Order, belonging to Peter Williamson Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; and Melita Com- 
mandery, No. 68, K. T. He was chairman of the First City Planning Com- 
mission of Scranton under appointment of Mayor Von Bergen. He is also a 
member of the Yale Club of New York, the University Club of New York, the 
Scranton Club and Country Club of Scranton. 

On May 31, 1883, Major Warren married Ellen H., daughter of Hon. E. 
N. Willard. Children: i. Marian Margery, married Worthington Scranton, 
vice-president of the Scranton Gas & Water Company. 2. Dorothy J., mar- 
ried Nathaniel H. Cowdrey, of New York City. 3. Edward Willard. Major 
Warren personified the type of American citizen in whom lies the hope of 
purity in our local, state and national politics. An honorable, upright, Chris- 
tian gentleman, deserving and holding the regard of all, highly trained in legal 
matters, and closely acquainted with the vital issues of the day, his life has 
shown nothing but a lofty attitude of service to society and earnest effort in 
behalf of his city and state. 


At the close of his quarter of a century of professional relation to the 
city of Scranton, it is the privilege of Dr. Elias G. Roos to look back upon that 
period and find therein only that which has added to his fame in his profession 
and has raised him to a lofty place in the regard of the many friends he has 
made since coming to that city. Beyond the peradventure of a doubt one of 
the most learned physicians and surgeons of the city and state, the nobility of 
his character and his attractive personality would have gained him prominence 
had not his professional ability been of so high an order. He is a member of 
an old German family and in that country prepared himself for the practice 
of medicine and surgery, attending the best of the many excellent universities 
of which that country boasts. 

His grandfather, Samuel Roos, and his father. Rabbi Kaufman Roos, were 
both life-long residents of Germany, where the latter was born, in Lichtenau, 
Baden, in 1809. Kaufman Roos obtained his education for the rabbinal at 
the world famous university, Heidelberg, in the grand-duchy of his birth. 
After the completion of his theological studies he was honored with a call 
to the old and well known Jewish Community in Schmilheim, Baden, where 
he performed the duties as District Rabbi for forty-one years or up to the time 
of his death. He married Zippora Rice, whose paternal line for three genera- 
tions had been rabbis and teachers of the Jewish law. Her brother, Simon, 
born in Breisach, Baden, Germany, came to the United States when he was 
seventeen years of age, and in i860 established himself in the grocery busi- 
ness. Several years later he admitted his brother. Max, to a partnership in 
the business, under the firm name of Simon Rice and Brother. They engaged 
in a wholesale grocery business in Scranton until the retirement of Simon 
from the firm, aged forty-seven years, after which time Max Rice continue'! 


the business independently. Simon Rice died in 1901. He had been one of the 
earliest settlers of the city of Scranton and was a member of the "Old Guard'" 
of business men of that place. While he did not reap as abundantly of the 
harvest of wealth that the region offered as some of his contemporaries and 
those that followed them, all of his efforts in behalf of the city were tendered 
in open-hearted generosity and not through hope or desire of private gain. 
He was a supporter of Republican principles and as the candidate of that 
party was twice elected a member of the Scranton council, in which body he had 
a fuller opportunity to work effectively for the city's advancement, which he 
did with energetic zeal. For many years he was an official of the Madison 
Avenue Jewish Synagogue, in which faith he had been strengthened by the 
self-sacrificing example of his father, his grandfather, and his great-grand- 
father. Rabbi Kaufman Roos died in 1875, his wife surviving him eighteen 
years, her death occurring in 1893. Children of Rabbi Roos: Gotthilf, born in 
1857; Frida, born 1858; Elias G., of whom further; Sara, 1865; Emilie, 1868. 

Dr. Elias G. Roos was born in Schmilheim, Baden, Germany, February 7, 
i860. His early education was obtained in the high school at Ettenheim and 
later on in the gymnasiums at Freiburg, Rastadt and Mannheim, from which 
latter place he was graduated in 1881 after a course of study extending over 
a period of nine years, so minute and thorough is the German system of edu- 
cation. He then entered the University at Freiburg, subsequently attending 
those at Konigsburg and Berlin, receiving after seven years of the most ardu- 
ous study the degree of M. D. He soon after came to Scranton and im- 
mediately began practice in that city. His rise to popular favor was rapid and 
for seven years he continued a prosperous practice. At the expiration of that 
time, in spite of his unusually liberal education, he felt that he would be bene- 
fitted by a course in an American institution, and accordingly enrolled at the 
Philadelphia Polyclinic College for Graduates in Medicine in 1897 and in this 
college was the winner of a fellowship. There is, in that action of Dr. Roos a 
sermon for many a youth, or indeed, for those of more mature age, that is, 
that in direct proportion to the amount of knowledge acquired, unexplored 
fields open ahead. He then returned to his Scranton patronage and has there 
ever since remained, ever becoming more firmly intrenched in the affection of 
those who are privileged to know him best, and as constantly rising in the 
respect of the many who are acquainted with him only through reputation and 
the report of his achievements along medical and surgical lines. He holds 
position as consulting surgeon to the Midvalley Hospital and as one of the 
visiting surgeons to the State Hospital in the city, and is examiner for several 
life insurance companies. Dr. Roos belongs to the County, State and American 
Medical societies, and to the Congress of Surgeons of North America. His 
political views are Republican in sympathy, and he is a member of the Madi- 
son Avenue Temple. 

He married (first) in 1891, Frances Wertheimer, of Philadelphia, who 
died in 1895; (second) Edith Hirschmann, of Binghamton, New York. Chil- 
dren of first marriage : Beatrice Frances and Henrietta Frances. 

Perhaps the most attractive point about the career of Dr. Roos is the vast 
amount of good he lias been able to accomplish as the direct result of the years 
of study and preparation spent in Germany. He could not possibly have seen 
the goal of his efforts and yet the faith that kept him so closely to his studies 
has been more than justified in the reward that has come to him in the lessen- 
ing of human suff'eiing and in restoring to some the use of faculties long 
dormant, bringing to many the light and inspiration of fresh hope for useful 



In Charles H. Von Storch the city of Scranton has found a citizen who, 
called upon to fill numerous responsible positions in municipal life, has never 
failed to respond willingly, to accept any trust, and, having accepted it, has re- 
mained true thereto until his every obligation has been discharged. Numerous 
of Scranton's institutions have felt his strengthening guidance, and for two 
decades he has been prominent in the work of the school board, having several 
times been its president, an office he ably administers at the present time. But a 
full recital of his activities follows in its proper place. 

The family of Von Storch was a noted and famous one in Germany, from 
which country the name has disappeared, one branch becoming numerous in 
Russia, another, founded by Heinrich Ludwig Christopher Von Storch, flour- 
ishing in the United States. The family record traces to Per. Staerch, who 
married, at Wassbro, a daughter of Lars Oloffson. His coat-of-arms was 
adopted by his son, Jon Persson Staerck, upon his introduction into the Hall 
of Knighthood of Sweden. 

Jon Persson Staerck, on June 5, 1608, was made groom of the bedchamber 
by King Charles IX, and on August 7, of the same year, equerry to the King. 
In 161 1, at the head of a company, acting without special order, he drove the 
Danes out of Skara and out of Sweden. For this he was highly praised by 
Gustavus Adolphus II, receiving title and deed to the Castle of Salis, Germany, 
afterward being granted Delstorp at Mitau for an eternal possession, also becom- 
ing captain of a company of horsemen. He received from the same monarch the 
promise of a diploma of nobility, but because of the illness of the recipient 
of this honor, it was not granted until his death. This diploma was dated 
August 12, 1632, and was confirmed by the royal authorities. He married a 
daughter of Christopher Goeranssen and had children, one Johann, who was 
first called Von Storch, and four others, one Isaac Jonsson, founder of the 
Swedish line of the name. 

Through Johann, who married Elizabeth Hammerstein, the descent to 
Charles H. Von Storch is through Gustav, who married Anna Von Moisling, 
and had children : Lucas Frederick, councillor of commissions ; Johann Gustav, 
of whom further; Carl Frederick, councillor of ecclesiastical economy; and 
Christian Heinrich, a pastor. 

Dr. Johann Gustav Von Storch, son of Gustav and Anna (Von Moisling) 
Von Storch, was councillor and burgomaster of Guestrow, Mecklenburg, Ger- 
many, and grand duke of Mecklenburg-Schwering. He married Sophia 
Schoeppfer. among his five children being Christian Theodosius. 

Christian Theodosius Von Storch, son of Dr. Johann and Sophia (Schoep- 
pfer) Von Storch, was doctor and pastor at Lohman, Mecklenburg, Germany, 
and was twice married, the children of his first union, with Margaret Sophia 
Conradina Schoeppfer, founding the Russian family of Von Storch, while 
Heinrich Ludwig Christopher Von Storch was a child by his marriage with 
Anna Sophia Conradina Von Wick, and the founder of the family in the 
United States, represented in the city of Scranton by Charles H. Von Storch 
attorney, financier, and public servant. 

Heinrich Ludwig Christopher Von Storch was born in Lohman, Mecklen- 
burg, Germany, in 1772, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, April 10, 1826. He 
came to the United States in 1794, in the company of a countryman, as a 
fur hunter, and after following this occupation for a time purchased three 
hundred acres of land in what is now North Scranton. He afterward returned 
to Philadelphia, where he had landed upon immigrating to this country, soon 
coming once more to the Scranton district, marrying in Wilkes-Barre. Penn- 


sylvania, Hannah Miner, daughter of Wilham Searle, a settler from Con- 
necticut. After his marriage he brought his bride to his log cabin on what is 
now the southeast side of Main avenue and Green Ridge street. Ludwig Von 
Storch was the proprietor of the first store opened in North Scranton, and 
after his death his wife and eldest son managed the farm and store. His wife 
was a woman of intellectual brilliance, possessing both business capacity and a 
knowledge of the law, and for many years prepared deeds and other legal 
papers for the neighborhood, her death occurring after she had been a widow 
for thirty-six years. May 14, 1862. Heinrich Ludwig Christopher and Hannah 
Miner (Searle) Von Storch were the parents of seven children: i. Ferdinand, 
bom December 4, 1810, died November 21, 1868; married January 17, 1873, 
Caroline, daughter of Sidney and Jane (La France) Slocum, and had issue. 
2. Theodore, bom May 19, 1812, died May 30, 1886; married, October 21, 1863, 
Josephine Deborah, daughter of Hiram and Orpha (Church) Barney, and had 
children. 3. Leopold, born May 8, 1814, died November 4, 1882; married, 
August 22, 1839, Julia Ann, daughter of Aaron and Anna D. Gregory, and 
had issue. 4. Ludwig, born April 28, 1816, died April 12, 1886. 5. William, 
born February 9, 1819. 6. Godfrey, of whom further. 7. Justus, born April 
15, 1824, married, August 9, 1882, Serena, daughter of Leonard and Mary 
Ann Boice. 

Godfrey Von Storch, son of Heinrich Ludwig Christopher and Hannah 
Miner (Searle) Von Storch, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, July 24, 1821, 
died December 3, 1887. When he was thirteen years of age his father's estate 
was divided between the mother and the seven sons, and in his youth he ob- 
tained employment upon the canal, working on the Lehigh for several sea- 
sons. He later engaged in farming, becoming owner of a saw-mill, afterward 
operating in coal, superintending the sinking of the \'on Storch and Leggett's 
Creek shafts. Prospering in material matters, he found time for public serv- 
ice, and was several times elected burgess of Providence, for three years repre- 
senting the second ward in the select council of Scranton. He married, at 
Providence, Pennsylvania, May 22, 1859, Mary, born in Exeter, Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania, April 4, 1830. daughter of Nelson and Jane (Durliii) 
Rogers, and had children: Bell and Charles Henry, of whom further. 

Charles Henry Von Storch, son of Godfrey and Mary (Rogers) Von 
Storch, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, March 13, 1863. .A^fter prepara- 
tory training in the public schools of Scranton and Merrill's private school he 
entered the University of Pennsylvania, leaving this institution in 1885, and 
two years later was admitted to the bar, having since been active in his pro- 
fession in the city of Scranton. He has made an estimable record in legal 
circles, and at the present time is president of the Providence Bank. Among 
the public service that he has performed in his native city is twenty years as 
a member of the school board, several of which were passed as president, an 
office he now holds, having been last elected thereto in 1910. He has given 
to the city a business administration of school affairs, has devoted himself 
to his arduous duties with praiseworthy fidelity, and has raised the public 
school standard of Scranton to a plane worthy of a city of its standing. He 
is a citizen of unselfish instincts, has made for himself an enviable reputation 
in the place of his birth, and is universally recognized at his true worth, a 
lawyer of talent, a municipal executive of sterling principles, and a gentleman 
of the noblest instincts. 

Mr. Von Storch married Carrie A., daughter of Frank and Harriet C. 
Mott, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, and has one son, Searle, born January 3, 1899. 
Carrie A. Von Storch died June 3, 1914. 



Dr. William Rowland Davies, one of the prominent physicians of Penn- 
sylvania, and a leader among his professional brothers in the state, comes of a 
family originally Welsh, and representative of the best type of that stalwart 
race, which has contributed to valuable an element to the composite citizenship 
of the United States. Small in numbers comparatively with the representa- 
tions of many European countries here, the Welsh contingent in America is not 
less valuable, forniing, as it does, a leaven of its own peculiar virtues for great 
capacity for labor, industry and strong moral sense. 

(I) Dr. Davies' grandfather in the paternal line was John W. Davies, a 
native of Glamorganshire, Wales, where he was born probably in the first 
decade or two of the nineteenth century. This ancestor was the founder of 
the family in America. He was married to Magdalen Daniels, also a native of 
Glamorganshire, Wales, and the daughter of Morgan Daniels,, who was born 
in Neath, in the same Welsh county in 1775. Morgan Daniels married Mary 
Gibbs in his native land, and in 1832 emigrated from there to the United States. 
He died not live a great while in his new home, however, his death occurring 
at Spring Brook, Pennsylvania, in 1846. Mr. Daniels was a prominent figure 
in both his native and adopted communities and was the father of nine children. 
When John W. Davies came to this country he settled in Carbondale, Penn- 
sylvania, and there his eldest child, William J., was born. 

(II) William J. Davies, father of Dr. Davies of this sketch, was born 
in the month of June, 1844, and as above stated, in Carbondale, Pennsylvania. 
As a boy he attended the Carbondale public schools, and later pursued a more 
advanced course at the Wyoming Seminary. Upon completing his studies he 
took up construction work, and has been employed during most of his life in 
railroad construction and on public works. He married Jemima A. Rowland, 
a native of Carbondale, daughter of Moses T. and Ann (Rogers) Rowland, 
of that place, where Mr. Rowland was a tailor at the time of the outbreak of 
the Civil War. They were from Llangesny, North Wales. The children born 
to William J. and Jemima A. (Rowland) Davies are as follows: Laura, 
who became Mrs. John B. Nicholas, of Hazelton, Pennsylvania; William Row- 
land, of this sketch: Esther, who is now a teacher in School No. 13, Scran- 
ton, Pennsylvania. 

(III) Dr. William Rowland Davies, the second living child of William J. 
and Jemima A. (Rowland) Davies, was born November 2, 1875, a* Pittston, 
Pennsylvania. He received the elementary portion of his education in the local 
public schools, but supplemented this with a course of study in the Keystone 
Academv at Factoryville, Pennsylvania, where he prepared himself for a col- 
legiate course. It had been his intention from an early age to devote his 
life to the profession of medicine, and accordingly, after completing his pre- 
paratory work, he matriculated in the Medical School of the LIniversity of 
Pennsylvania in 1895. He graduated with the class of 1899, taking the degree 
of M. D. The summer following his graduation he spent as house surgeon 
in the Pittston Hospital. He opened an office at No. 221 South Main avenue, 
and has remained in that location ever since. He is a member of the County 
Medical Society, the State Medical Society and the American Medical .Associa- 
tion. In these he has representated the county society in the state body, and 
was chosen by the latter to represent it in turn in the national organization. 
He is chairman of the public safety and legislative committees in the Lacka- 
wanna County Association. Besides these honorable and responsible posts, 
he serves on the staff of the West Side Hospital of Scranton, and is consulting 
physician of the Mid Valley Hospital. He is a member of the progressive 


section of the Republican party. He is interested in music and art. He is 
a member of Peter Williamson Lodge, No. 323, F. and A. M., and Keystone 

Dr. Davies married, June 20, 1902, Helen Clara Bard, a native of Factory- 
ville, Pennsylvania, where she was born. Mrs. Davies is a daughter of Wil- 
liam W. and Alma (Newton) Bard, and a descendant of the old and dis- 
tmguished New England family of that name. To Dr. and Mrs. Davies 
have been born three children, as follows: Frederick Bard, born January 12, 
1905; Ralph William, born October 25, 1906; Alary Alma, born November 
10, 1910. Dr. Davies and Mrs. Davies attend the First Baptist Church of 
Scranton. They are active in church work. 


In the death of Joseph H. Steell, late of Scranton, who for many years 
was an influential citizen of that city, where he was effective in promoting 
the business, social and moral advancement of the community, well known for 
his great ability and unflinching adherence to principle, his adopted city lost 
one of its most esteemed and honored members. 

Mr. Steell was born in the village of St. Clair, Schuylkill county, Penn- 
sylvania, December 2, 1846, died in Scranton, Pennsylvania, March 9, 1900, in 
the prime of life and when he had but reached the zenith of his powers. He 
grew to maturity and was educated in his native village, residing there until 
the year 1878, when he located in Scranton, in which city he spent the re- 
mainder of his days. He at once became a member of the firm of Beadle & 
Steell, which established and conducted an extensive grocery business on 
Lackawanna avenue, later the site of the Grand Central Hotel, which proved ati 
exceedingly lucrative enterprise. Later the business was removed to the cor- 
ner of Penn avenue and Center street, where they conducted successful opera- 
tions until the general store firm of J. H. Steell & Company was organized, 
with offices in the Traders' Bank building in Scranton. This corporation, with 
Mr. Steell as manager, operated six stores at one time, located at various com- 
manding points in the anthracite region, and the success achieved was due ir 
a large degree to the sagacity, foresight and executive ability displayed by Mr. 
Steell in his management of affairs. In addition to this extensive business en- 
terprise, he was an active and potent factor in various other large commercial 
and industrial concerns. He was actively and prominently identified with the 
Hillside Coal and Iron Company, his connection with this being the founda- 
tion upon which was built the Steell Store Company. He was numbered 
among the largest lumber operators in the Lackawanna Valley, connected with 
two of the most important corporations in that trade, and served for many 
years as president of the Allegheny Lumber Company, operating plants at Bell- 
haven, North Carolina, which were the very extensive dressing mills formerly 
owned and operated by the Bellhaven Lumber Company. He was among the 
incorporators of the Lackawanna Lumber Company of Scranton, of which 
he was also president, his tenure of office being noted for the utmost con- 
servatism compatible with progressive ideas, which policy aided materially in 
the development and progress of the company. There were few enterprises of 
any magnitude in the city of Scranton in which he was not interested, in one 
capacity or another, and his counsel and advice was always eagerly sought and 
earnestly followed, it proving of great advantage in every case. 

Mr. Steell displayed his love for his country by enlisting his services in 
its defence during the trying period of the Civil war, he being then but a lad 
of fifteen, but he faithfully performed the duties allotted to him as a mem- 


ber of the Pennsylvania Volunteers. He derived his greatest pleasure in the 
companionship of his family, which consisted of his wife, and four daughters: 
Nellie, Leila, Katherine, Ruth, to whom he was always most devoted, doing 
all in his power for their comfort and happiness, and to these his untimely 
demise was the greatest affliction that could befall them. His club membership 
was limited to the Scranton Club and the Country Club. Mr. Steell possessed 
all the attributes of a highly successful business man, ability, sagacity, perse- 
verance and tact, and probably the greatest compliment that can be paid him is 
that he made himself an honor to the great commercial world, as well as a 
credit to the mercantile community in which he lived. 

The directors of the Traders' Bank, in which Mr. Steell was a director, he 
numbering among its board of directors some of his most trusted personal 
friends, passed the following resolutions at the time of his death : "He was a 
man of excellent judgment, honest, upright, warm-hearted, and ever more 
willing to give than to receive. Many business institutions of the city will 
miss his wise and t'mely counsel." The directors of the Allegheny Lumbe' 
Company placed upon its records and before the public equally fervent tribute . 
"In the loss of our president we part with one who has been energetic, intel- 
ligent, and has shown great sagacity and good business judgment as the chief 
officer and manager of the affairs of this company. The business community 
also mourns the loss of one who has largely helped to mould and shape many 
successful business enterprises of this flourishing city." The same body, at 
the same time and in the same manner, touched a responsive chord in every 
heart in the community by its touching phrasing of the personal worth of 
the friend whom they mourned: "His private life was without blemish, and 
at the time of his death he enjoyed the confidence and respect of his business 
associates, neighbors and closest friends. We desire to express to the bereaved 
family our sorrow in the loss of a beloved husband and father, and commend 
them to Him who is the Father of the fatherless and the widow's God. Life i=;, 
as Prospero says: 'such stuff as dreams are made of, and our little life is 
rounded with a sleep.' " 


The ancestors of the Oakford family, represented in the present genera- 
tion by Lieutenant-Colonel James W. Oakford, a prominent resident of Scran- 
ton, were among the earliest residents of the city of Philadelphia, and several 
of them were settled on the banks of the Delaware when William Penn firsc 
sailed up that river to the present site of Philadelphia. In the years when 
Philadelphia was the chief port of the New World, members of the family 
held prestige as leading merchants, being active factors in the growth and 
development of that flourishing city. Being of Quaker ancestry, they con- 
formed to all the doctrines of that sect, leading peaceful and quiet lives. 

Colonel Richard A. Oakford, son of Joseph Oakford, who was a prominent 
importer of china and tea, as was his father, Isaac Oakford, was born in Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, December 8, 1820. He attended the public schools of 
that city, and also studied at Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, where he 
specialized in languages, and studied German, French, Spanish and Italian, 
which he read with ease, and he spoke two of these languages fluently. He 
also studied engineering. Owing to failing health, he moved from Philadelphia 
to the Wyoming Valley. Later he was engaged in the coal business in Pitts 
burgh, Pennsylvania, and made extended trips down the Mississippi Valley 
as far as New Orleans, thus becoming acquainted with the southern viewpoint 
in regard to secession, slavery and likelihood of war. Because of this he 


held a more exact and comprehensive idea of the attitude of that section tha'.l 
most northerners, not exxepting those in authority. He realized that in the 
South there would be no compromise, and knowing well the position of the 
North, was prepared at any time for the announcement of war. At the out- 
break of hostilities, at which time he was a resident of Scranton, he was 
among the first to volunteer for service, enlisting for three months, and was 
elected colonel of the Fifteenth Regiment, Pennsylvania Infantry. He was 
placed in command of the post at Camp Curtin, Harrisburg, named in honor 
of Governor Curtin, where the mobilization of the state troops was taking 
place, and when the regiment was ordered to the field, he commanded it in thf 
Shenandoah Valley. On August 15, 1862, the One Hundred and Thirty-second 
Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry was mustered into service, and he 
was chosen colonel. He was not destined to hold his new position long, for 
on September 17, 1862, while leading his men into the fray at the battle of 
Antietam, a bullet from the enemy's first volley found a vital spot in his boay. 
killing him instantly. Although he had been in the service but a short time, 
he had found that place in the regard and respect of his fellow officers and 
the men of his regiment ever held by a true gentleman and a gallant soldier. 
In the official report of the battle forwarded to the War Department at Wash- 
ington by Brigadier-General Kimball, the following notice of his death occurs : 
"Among the killed and wounded are many brave and gallant soldiers. Colonel 
Richard A. Oakford, 132nd Pennsylvania, was killed while leading his regi- 
ment." The fearless manner in which he went to his fate, and the able training 
he had given his regiment for service, were recognized in a set of resolutions 
drawn up by the commissioned officers of the regiment and presented to the 
family, testifying to his heroic action and paying tribute to him as a patriotic 
officer of unblemished reputation. That Colonel Oakford fully appreciated 
the awful danger of the engagement in which he lost his life, is shown in 
Colonel Hitchcock's history of the One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsyl- 
vania in the war — "War from the Inside" — in which, concerning the eve of 
the battle of Antietam he writes, "I can never forget the quiet words of Colonel 
Oakford, as he inquired very particularly if my roster of the officers and men 
of the regiment was complete, for, said he with a smile, 'We shall not all be 
here tomorrow night.' " Then after a description of the events previous to 
Colonel Oakford's death, he continues, "He had been in command of the 
regiment a little more than a month, but during that brief time his work as a 
disciplinarian and drillmaster had made it possible for us to acquit ourselves as 
creditably as they all said we had done. General Kimball was loud in our 
praise and greatly lamented Colonel Oakford's death, whom he admired very 
much. He was a brave, able and accomplished officer and gentleman, and his 
loss to the regiment was irreparable. Had Colonel Oakford lived his record 
must have been brilliant and his promotion rapid, for very few volunteers had 
so quickly mastered the details of military tactics and routine. He was a 
thorough disciplinarian, an able tactician, and the interests and welfare of his 
men were constantly upon his heart." To the words of a comrade of those 
stirring times little can be added, except in regret that a life promising so 
much usefulness and service in the less violent paths of existence should be so 

Colonel Oakford married, December 27, 1843, Frances Carey Slocum. 
By the marriage of Colonel Richard A. Oakford with Frances Carey Slocum, 
the English and Swedish blood of the Oakford family became allied with 
another strain of English origin. Members of the Slocum family have been 
connected with the history of Scranton since the day when it derived its 
name from them and was known as Slocum's Hollow. The records of the 

Siufdb-f CitmpbEll Bruzhsr^-Ky. 


town of Warwick, Rhode Island, contain the certificate of marriage of Johna- 
than Slocum and Ruth Tripp, on February 23, 1758, both of Portsmouth, New- 
port county, Rhode Island. In November, 1777, Jonathan Slocum settled on 
land in the Wyoming Valley purchased two years before. It was from his 
home in this valley that on November 2, 1778, his daughter, Frances, then about 
four years of age, was stolen and carried away into captivity by the Indians. 
The grief-crazed father was an implacable enemy of the Indians, and met his 
death in struggle with them in the battle which has come to be known in his- 
tory as the Wyoming Massacre, fought July 3, 1778. Isaac Tripp, his father- 
in-law, was likewise killed at that time. The search for Frances Slocum was 
never abandoned and fifty-nine years later she was discovered with a tribe of 
Indians near Logansport, Indiana, by her brothers. She had been kindly 
treated, had married into the tribe, was the mother of several children, and 
was accorded far more consideration than the Indian squaws. The Indians, 
in deference to her superior intelligence, conferred with her on many matters, 
and she had instructed them in numerous useful arts, which had been her 
natural heritage. During her long stay with them, she had completely for- 
gotten her native tongue and was compelled to converse with her brothers 
through an interpreter. Realizing that it was for her best good not to attempt 
to take her from what had become a congenial environment, they left her. Her 
death occurred near Peru, Wabash county, Indiana, March 23, 1847. William, 
son of Jonathan and Ruth (Tripp) Slocum, was bom January 6, 1762, died 
in Pittston, Pennsylvania, October 20, 1810. From 1796 to 1799 he served a? 
sheriff of Luzerne county. He married, June 4, 1786, Sarah L. Sawyer. 
Laton, the fourth child of William and Sarah L. Slocum, was born in Pitts- 
ton, Pennsylvania, August 16, 1792, died January 16, 1833. He married 
Gratey, daughter of James Scoville, and it is through the marriage of his 
daughter, Frances Carey, that the lines of the Slocum and Oakford familie.^ 

Lieutenant-Colonel James W. Oakford, son of Colonel Richard A. and 
Frances Carey (Slocum) Oakford, was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, June 
5, 1859. After a preparatory education he matriculated at Yale College, whence 
he was graduated A. B., class of 1884. At the completion of his college course 
he entered upon the study of law, in the ofhce of Judge Archbald. Upon the 
elevation of that gentleman to the bench, he was court clerk in the prothono- 
tary's office and later continued to study in the office of S. B. Price, Esq., until 
his admission to the bar. He remained in Mr. Price's office for one more 
year after gaining the right to practice, and then established an office inde- 
pendently. While meeting with success in his chosen profession, he grad- 
ually acquired so many business interests that he gave less and less attention 
to legal matters. The chief of his varied interests are the Cherry River Boom & 
Lumber Company and the Hebard Cypress Company, both controlled b)' 
Scranton capital, holding the office of president in both. He is also a director 
of the Scranton Savings Bank and the Third National Bank. 

With a love of military affairs inherited from a father who drank war's 
cup to the dregs, he has always been active in the Pennsylvania National Guard, 
and on two occasions has seen service at the call of the governor, once ar 
Homestead and again at Hazleton. Before leaving home for college he was a 
member of the Scranton City Guard and continued in membership while away. 
Returning to Scranton, he became identified with the Thirteenth Regiment 
Pennsylvania National Guard, serving six years in the ranks, later as regi- 
mental quartermaster and commissary, and afterward as brigade judge advocate, 
with the rank of major, and as division judge advocate ranking as lieutenant- 
colonel. His fraternal affiliation is with the Masonic Order, Peter Williamson 


Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Royal Arch Masons ; and Coeur de Lion 
Commandery, Knights Templar. With his wife he is a member of the Episco- 
pal church. 

Lieutenant-Colonel Oakford married Mary, daughter of William Manness, 
of Scranton. Children : Frances Slocum and Mary. 


A learned physician and a skilled surgeon. Dr. Charles E. Thomson, is 
one of the most conspicuous figures in the medical and surgical profession in 
Scranton. Educated for his life work in the highest degree and with a prac- 
tical experience gleaned from the most arduous of service, Dr. Thomson has 
identified himself with the Scranton Private Hospital as superintendent, and 
as the head of that institution gives to Scranton the fruits of his years uf 
study and the reward of his wide and varied practice. Gives these to Scran- 
ton only in so far as Scranton is the seat of the hospital of which he has the 
honor to be the leader ; in a fuller and truer sense, gives of his vast store of 
medical and surgical science for the relief of suffering humanity. Not only 
that, but through those whose instruction is received in the hospital, his in- 
fluence and power is extended an hundred fold, reaching thousands of the 
mained, sick and helpless, a mighty work of mercy. 

Dr. Charles E. Thomson, son of Alexander and Mary ( Vaugh ) Thomson, 
was bom in the Province of Ontario, Canada, October 23, 1859. He was 
educated in the provincial schools, later attending school at Canandaigua, 
New York. He then entered the Ontario Veterinary College, whence he was 
graduated in 1884 and for five years practiced as a veterinary. Impressed by 
the extent of this field and appealed to by the wider field of service in the cur- 
ing of human ills and the alleviation of bodily pain, he decided to engage in 
the study of medicine and entered P>ellevue Medical College, New York, grad- 
uating M. D. in the class of 1891. After receiving his degree he remained in 
the hospital for a period of six months, performing the duties of an interne, 
and here gained a fund of invaluable knowledge and experience. He was then 
offered the opportunity of accompanying a scientific expedition, sent out 
under the direction of the New York State Colonization Society of Liberia, as 
a physician. On this African trip he was by far the most necessary member 
of the party, as in the unaccustomed climate many of the men sickened with 
fever and for a time were in a very perilous condition. Dr. Thomson, how- 
ever, although new to the practice, met with excellent success in combating the 
ravages of the fever and not one of the cases proved fatal. This was the first 
real test of his resourcefulness and ability, for without the numberless con- 
veniences of an office and with inadeiiuate supplies, the seriousness of the task 
and the responsibility for the health of his party would have appalled a man 
of less sturdy courage or with less self reliance. After the return of the 
scientific expedition and his release from further duty in that capacity he be- 
came an interne in the hospital for the cure of Ruptured and Crippled, in New 
York City, and after one year's service then came to Scranton in 1894, ac- 
cepting the superintendency of the Moses Taylor Hospital. Upon the or- 
ganization of the Scranton Private Hospital in that year, he was appointed 
its superintendent, an office for which he has proven himself eminently fitted 
and whose duties are discharged in the most thorough and able manner. To 
this hospital belongs the honor of establishing the first hospital training school 
in Scranton, its seal antedating that of the State Hospital. Dr. Thomson per- 
sonally supervises the work of each department, his zeal in working for the 
continual improvement of the institution being responsible for the high stan- 


dard that it has set up and maintains. Engaged in a noble work, much of the 
nobility of Dr. Thomson's character shows in his performance of his daily 
duties. The responsible head of a great organization, he so directs his co- 
workers that the results of their labors are blessings to their fellow-men, 
whose blessings, in return, come to those who relieve their pain and lessen 
their anguish. 

In the pursuance of his policy of keeping abreast of the most modern move- 
ments in his profession. Dr. Thomson is an active member of the County and 
State Medical societies and American Medical Association. He also belongs 
to the Knights of Columbus, of Scranton. But perhaps the most wonderful 
achievement in the life of Dr. Thomson was his successful graduation from 
Columbia College in June, 1914, when he received the title of LL. B. He en- 
tered this college in 191 1 and for the following three years attended lectures 
weekly, commuting between his home in Scranton and New York City, travel- 
ing in this time more than thirty-five thousand miles. 

Dr. Thomson married Saraii, daughter of Richard Donnelly, of Ontario. 
Children; Marion, Charles C, Kenneth, Janett, Kelvin. 


The life of Charles Henwood is a splendid example of the position ot 
prestige and influence, honor and affection, to which sincerity, unimpeachable 
integrity and earnest effort will carry him who strictly adheres to them. He 
came of an old Cornish family, and represented that best type of Englishman 
which formed the great preponderance of our colonial population, and upon 
which, as on a sure foundation, the subsequent structure of American citizen 
ship has been safely built. 

His father, Charles P. Henwood, was employed in the English revenue 
service and in that capacity was obliged to move much about the coasts of 
England and Scotland, being stationed at various points thereon. His death 
occurred at Wellington, Somersetshire. Mr. Henwood married Sarah Kosking, 
a native of Penzance, Cornwall, and by her had two children, Charles, of whom 
further, and a daughter Elizabeth, who became Mrs. Scott Hammett, of Well- 
ington, Somersetshire. 

Charles Henwood was born May 28, 1846, at Penzance, Cornwall, Eng- 
land. He was educated in Ottery, St. Mary, Devonshire, and in William 
Corner's Academy. He used to accompany his father on the latter's various 
excursions about the United Kingdom, while still a lad, but in 1861, when he 
had reached the age of fifteen years, and completed his studies, he was ap- 
prenticed to a pharmacist, Thomas E. Hooker, who afterwards became well 
known in London as an electrician. Continuing in this service five years, Mr. 
Henwood, then a young man of twenty, removed to Bath, where his skill and 
knowledge of his subject soon won him an e.xcellent position as an assistant 
pharmacist. Equipped as he was with theoretical and practical knowledge, 
there is no doubt that he might have had a successful career in his native land, 
but his ambitious nature continually urged him to explore fresh fields of en- 
deavor, and it was not long before his attention was directed to the United 
States. Upon reaching his majority in 1867, Mr. Henwood set sail for America 
and upon arriving here settled in Scranton, Pennsylvania, which from that 
time on was to be his home. The first employment which he found was along 
the line of his former endeavors, with the firm of Matthews Brothers, phar- 
macists, with whom he continued for three years. By 1870, as a result of his 
constant industry and a worthy spirit of economy, he had amassed a con- 
siderable sum of money, sufficient to purchase the drug establishment of Rich- 


ard J. Matthews on the corner of North Main avenue and Market street. 
This purchase was made January i, 1870, and the enterprise thus begun was 
soon an assured success. His business grew rapidly and ere long had reached 
such large proportions that he found it convenient, if not necessary, to remove 
to larger and more appropriately located quarters at No. 1909 North Main 
avenue, where he continued until his death. In the year 1886 he admitted into 
partnership with himself his cousin, Sidney R. Henwood. 

Despite the size of his business and die demands necessarily made by it 
upon his time and attention, Mr. Henwood did not confine his activities to 
his personal interests but gave generously of both to the general life of the 
city. He was keenly interested in all proposals looking toward the industrial 
development of Scranton, and an unusual clear sightedness and practical sense. 
made his advice in such matters of great value and caused it to be eagerly 
sought. He was one of the most active of the organizers of the Scranton 
Woodworking Company, and held the position of treasurer of the concern for 
a number of years prior to his death. He was also a member of the Board of 
Trade and of the Druggists' Association, and in both wielded a large influence, 
born of his recognized integrity and worth. Always appealed to strongly by 
philanthropic causes, he was one of the supporters of the Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association of Scranton, and was a charter member of the same. He was 
a very successful advocate in charitable work generally for he had earned the 
right to be regarded as a practical man and one unappealed to by chimerical 
schemes, and as such was the more readily listened to by business men 
generally. Indeed it may be said that many of the industrial propositions which 
he furthered were in his intentions philanthropic in part, for it was a favorite 
purpose of his to furnish legitimate means of occupation to the needy. Mr. 
Henwood was a modest and unassuming man, but of very strong convictions, 
and in a quiet way influenced not a little the community of which he was a 
member. In politics he was a staunch member of the Republican party, 
moulding his opinions not on questions of selfish interest, but upon his ideals 
of the highest civic duties, which he counted only less important than the 
obligations of religion. He was a man of deep religious sentiment and one of 
the most highly valued members of the Penn Avenue Baptist Church, serving 
for many years as deacon and giving generously of his means to its support. 
He was also much interested in the success of the North Main Baptist Church, 
a younger organization, and it was in a great measure due to the aid which he 
rendered it that this church was early placed upon a fimi foundation and 
enabled to attain to its present useful ministry. It was in his home life, how- 
ever, that Mr. Henwood's fine traits of character were perhaps the most 
beautifully displayed, and his afl^ection and generosity formed for his family 
circle the true atmosphere of home. 

Mr. Henwood was married in Glenwood, Pennsylvania, to Ada Hartley, 
a native of that place, and a daughter of James Hartley, of Scotch-Irish 
descent. To Mr. and Mrs. Henwood were born five children, as follows : 
Elizabeth May; Frederick, died at the age of eight years; Julia Alice; Charles 
Hartley; Ethel, who died in her fifth year. 

Mr. Henwood's death occurred suddenly, February 22, 1902, in the fifty- 
sixth year of his age, and was universally deplored in the city which had so 
long been the scene of his active life, the community paying him the unusual 
honor of closing the places of business about the public square during the 
funeral services. The interment was made in the Forest Hill Cemetery. 




Lewis Martin Bunnell, who has achieved prominence as an attorney in 
Scranton and the adjoining country, represents a family which has attained 
distinction in this country and in England for many generations. He traces 
his ancestry to William La Bunnell, the Norman knight, who came to Englanc 
with William the Conqueror in 1066. In this country the family was founded 
by William, Solomon and Benjamin Bunnell, who emigrated from England 
in 1638 and settled at New Haven, Connecticut. In 1790, when the first federal 
census was taken, representatives of this family were to be found in each of 
the thirteen original states. Historians speak of them as follows : "Being 
without e.xception men of character and piety, who used every opportunity to 
promote education and religion and were the first to adopt a written consti- 
tution and to refuse compensation for public service." The first four genera- 
tions — (I) William, (II) Benjamin, (III) Benjamin, (IV) Solomon — lived 
in Connecticut. Solomon removed to Kingwood, New Jersey, in 1740, and to 
Pennsylvania in 176c, settling at Middle Smithfield, Bucks (now Monroe 1 
county. Miles Bunnell, son of Solomon, and great-grandfather of Lewis M. 
Bunnell, was born in Norwich, Connecticut, and came to Pennsylvania, locat- 
ing at a place called Auburn Corners. His son. Miles M., grandfather of Mr. 
Bunnell, was born in Danville, Connecticut, and also came to Auburn, Penn- 
sylvania. Martin Bunnell, son of Miles M. Bunnell, was born in Danbury, 
Connecticut, December 11, 1800. He married Permelia Doud, from Con- 
necticut also. They settled in Herrick township, Susquehanna county, coming 
there from Delaware county, New York, in 1827. Mr. Bunnell now owns the 
home farm. Martin and Permelia (Doud) Bunnell had nine children, five 
boys and four girls, of whom three boys and one girl are living in 1914, in- 
cluding Lewis M., mentioned below. 

Lewis Martin Bunnell was born in Herrick township, Susquehanna county. 
Pennsylvania, December 8, 1835, and attended the public schools of his native 
township until he was fifteen years of age. In his sixteenth year he was sent 
to Herrick Center, where he was apprenticed to learn the trade of wagon 
building with Patrick McGunigal, but at the end of one year, went to Dundaff, 
and there assisted in a blacksmith's shop. He worked at Keene's Pond, near 
Honesdale, during the season of 1852, then returned to his home because of 
an accident to his father, and entered the employ of Captain James Giddings. 
Later he matriculated at Harford LTniversity, remaining there two years, and 
taught school two years, 1856-57, near Idlewild, then known as Long Pond. 
Kingston was his next abiding place, and there he studied elocution, Latin, 
etc., under Professor Nelson, after which he was again occupied as a black- 
smith for one year, and then for a short time as an agent. He became principal 
of a school in Danbury, New Jersey, and upon his return to Susquehanna 
county, taught school there until April, 1859. The following month he went to 
Montrose, Pennsylvania, and there took up the study of law with R. B. Little, 
and was admitted to the bar of Susquehanna county, August 6, 1862, his 
studies having been interrupted by his military service, a detailed account- 
of which is given below. Upon his return from the war he engaged in the 
practice of law in Montrose for one year, then traveled three years, after 
which he located in Scranton, where he has been actively identified with the 
legal profession since that time. He has had charge of much important litiga- 
tion, and has been connected as attorney with many large estates, among 
these, acting as attorney to John Hernans, trustee of the estate of the late 
Joseph Fellows, a connection which existed sixteen years. Several millions 
of dollars were involved in this and some of the property consisted of coat 


lands in and near the city of Scranton. From 1873 to 1876 Mr. Bunnell served 
as school director of Hyde Park, now a portion of the city of Scranton. 

Mr. Bunnell married, January i, 1866, Anna M., born in Newport, Oneida 
county, New York, a daughter of Richard R. and Elizabeth (Briggs) Davis, a 
native of Wales. Children : Mary R., Lewis M., Bessie A., Anna M. and 
Ralph Decatur. 

The following record of the military service of Mr. Bunnell was compiled 
from official and authentic sources by The Soldiers and Sailors Historical and 
Benevolent Society : 

"Lewis M. Bunnell enlisted from Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania, 
April 10, 1861, to serve three months, and was the first man to enlist from 
that county, in what was expected to become Company A, Twenty-fifth Regi- 
ment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, Colonel Henry L. Cake commanding, 
but this company was not mustered into service, Ringgold Light Artillery, one 
of the original five companies of the state having been substituted in its place, 
the regiment having gone forward, and his company was broken up. He, 
however, took the drill, and, as a camp follower, was with the regiment, 
without muster into service or pay until it was mustered out at Harrisburg, 
Pennsylvania, July 26, 1861, its term having expired. 

"This was one of the first regiments to organize at the opening of the 
Civil War, Companies A, D, E, G and H, being the five original companies of 
the State, and engaged in barricading and guarding the Capitol until the ar- 
rival of the Massachusetts Sixth, and the New York Seventh, a period of about 
ten days. Companies A, B, C, E and H were on duty at the Arsenal, during 
the greater part of their service, and Companies D, F, G, I and K, moved, on 
June 15, to Rockville, reaching there next day. July i, moved to Pooleville, 
and reported to General Charles P. Stone, commanding the Rockville expedi- 
tion, thence via Point of Rocks to Sandy Hook, Williamsport and Martins- 
burg, where it was assigned to the Seventh Brigade, Third Division, of Gen- 
eral Patterson's Army. On July 15, marched to Bunker Hill, thence to 
Charlestown and Harper's Ferry, where it remained until July 23, when it 
was ordered home for muster out of service. 

"He re-enlisted, October 2, 1862, to serve nine months, and was mustered 
into service at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, November 11, 1862, and commis- 
sioned captain of Company E, One Hundred and Seventy-seventh Regiment, 
Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, Colonel George B. Wiestling commanding. 
"The companies composing this regiment were chiefly from the counties 
of Lycoming, Susquehanna, Dauphin, Luzerne, Perry and Indiana, and were 
organized at Camp Curtin, Harrisburg, during the months of October and 
November, 1862. A regimental organization was effected on November 20. On 
December 3, the regiment was ordered to Washington, District of Columbia, and 
proceeded thence to Newport News, Virginia, reporting to General Corcoran, 
where schools for officers were at once established and drill commenced. De- 
cember 17 it was transferred to Suffolk, to the command of General Viele, and 
was assigned to the brigade of Colonel Alfred Gibbs on the east bank of the 
Nansemond River on the opposite side of which was a pine forest, which 
General Viele ordered to be cleared. Details from the One Hundred and 
Seventy-seventh were assigned to this duty, and although the growth of the 
timber was heavy and the labor very severe, by persistent and unceasing efforts 
a tract of several hundred acres was swept. At intervals of about ten days 
reconnoissances were made toward Blackwater, the enemy being met near 
Deserted House, seven miles south of Suffolk, where skirmishing commenceo. 
On January 30, 1863, the entire force in and about Suft'olk had gone on an 
expedition except the One Hundred and Seventy-seventh, and during the 


absence of the forces, Colonel Wiestling was attacked by a body of rebel 
cavalry, which was handsomely repulsed. Upon the return of the expedition, 
General Corcoran with his stafT, arriving after nightfall, attempted to pass the 
lines without the countersign, and nearly lost his life. On March 8, the regi- 
ment moved to Norfolk, thence to Deep Bottom, on the Albemarle and 
Chesapeake Canal, and here the regiment built a fort, also a stockade at Great 
Bridge, breaking up a notorious rebel mail route, capturing letters from the 
hems of dresses, hollow handles of umbrellas, hollow spokes and rails of carts 
and other vehicles. The command also took part in several expeditions, cap- 
turing a number of rebel schooners, steamers, stores and prisoners, perform- 
ing valuable service, and was present at the battle of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. 
On July 10, it was ordered to Washington, District of Columbia, and as- 
signed to the Second Brigade, of Geary's Division, Twelfth Corps, Army of 
the Potomac, performing duty at Maryland Heights and other points until 
ordered home for muster out of service. 

"The said Lewis M. Bunnell was appointed enrolling Marshall in 1862, at 
the time of the draft; enrolled the Township of Herrick previous to the said 
draft, and was elected either lieutenant or captain of such company which he 
drilled and returned again on recruiting duty. Between July 26, 1861, and 
October, 1862, at the request of Governor Andrew G. Curtin, he recruited six 
companies of infantry and one of cavalry. In February, 1863, Captain Bun- 
nell was promoted to Brevet Major,, and placed in command of four companies 
occupying an improvised tent on the Nansemond River. He was sick and 
disabled with camp fever and diarrhoea which resulted in hemorrhoids at the 
time of his discharge. He was sent with a command of one hundred and 
sixty infantry and cavalry about one hundred miles to Currituck, North Caro- 
lina, and had a skirmish with Walker's guerrillas. After leaving South Mills, 
North Carolina, moved four miles south to the Bay, sank two barges, destroyed 
four hundred bushels of salt, captured and paroled a number of prisoners, 
and upon his return liad a severe encounter on the bridge with Bushwhackers, 
in which the Union forces were finally victorious. He received a final honor- 
able discharge at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, August 6, 1863, by reason of ex- 
piration of his term of service, and after his discharge recruited for the old 
regiment and spent three and one-half years in earnest effort for the Union 

He is a member of Griffin Post, No. 139, Department of Pennsylvania. 
G. A. R. ; a member of the Union Veteran Union ; was commander of the De- 
partment of Pennsylvania for three and one-half years; is a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias, and has 
held public office as a school director. His wife has ever been active as a friend 
of the Grand Army of the Republic ; is a member of the Daughters of Rebekah. 


Leonard M. Horton, secretary and treasurer of the Scranton Bolt and Nut 
Company, is a true son of Pennsylvania, the commonwealth having been the 
home of many of his line, most of whom resided in Bradford county. John 
M. Horton, father of Leonard M. Horton, was a follower of the shoemaker's 
trade and later conducted a hotel at what is now Terrytown, where he died 
at the early age of thirty-seven years. He married Susan L. Bacon. 

Leonard M. Horton was born in Bradford county, Pennsylvania, June 30, 
1854. He was but seven years of age when his father died and for the four 
following years he lived in Illinois. He then came to Harveyville, Luzerne 
county. Pennsylvania, and obtained his first position in a mercantile house, 


remaining in the mercantile business until he came to Scranton in 1872, and 
began a long and honorable career in the office of the Moosic Powder Com- 
pany, continuing for eighteen years. He was then connected with the Boies 
Steel Wheel Company for a period of seven years, then moving to Easton to 
become secretary of the Sterlingworth Railway Supply Company, remaining 
two years. He then assisted in the organization of the Scranton Bolt and Nut 
Company, in 1899, was elected a director and its secretary and treasurer, 
which position he has filled continuously ever since. 

Mr. Horton has always been prominently affiliated with religious move- 
ments in Scranton. He is a member of the Immanuel Baptist Church, in which 
for many years he held the office of trustee, for fifteen years was treasurer, 
and for the past eighteen years has been a deacon, and is an ardent and de- 
voted worker in all the interests of the church and its societies. He has served 
on the executive committee of the Scranton Baptist City Mission Society, in 
which organization his active co-operation has had a most desirable effect in 
furthering the projects of the society. To another branch of religious work 
which aims at the strengthening of the foundation of our nation, its young 
men, the Young Men's Christian Association, he has also given unsparingly 
of his time and labor, as well as of his means. For thirty-three years he was 
a member of the board of directors, and for ten years the watchful and faith- 
ful guardian of the association finances. He is still a participant in the magnifi- 
cent undertakings of the Scranton branch as a member of the board of trustees, 
full of interest for and pride in the splendid organization of the city, as is his 
right, after the struggle to raise it to such a fair eminence, in which his part 
has been willingly borne. He holds membership in the Scranton Club and 
Scranton Board of Trade. His military connections have been confined to 
four years' service in the Scranton City Guard and four years as commissary of 
the Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania National Guard. He belongs to the 
Navy League, of which he has been a member since its organization. He is a 
member of the Pennsylvania Society of New York, and was one of the eight 
original charter members of the Scranton Bicycle Club. 

Mr. Horton married Elizabeth, daughter of Lewis W. Keller, of Scranton. 
Children: Dickson M., associated with his father in the Scranton Bolt and Nut 
Company, and John M., an employee of the Lincoln Trust Company. 

In the fifteen years of his membership of the officiary of the company of 
which he is secretary and treasurer, Mr. Horton has filled his position in a 
most efficient and competent manner. Of high moral standard, identified witri 
the best of the city's society, and of unimpeachable integrity, he is of the type 
that founded the city's greatness and insures it for the future. 


Of distinguished Colonial ancestry, and of a family noted in the military 
history of his country, Samuel Hines, of Scranton, Pennsylvania, in his own 
person has been an important and conspicuous figure in the state for many 
years. His maternal great-grandfather, Daniel Carroll, was a member of the 
commission that met at Suters Tavern, Georgetown, March 30, 1791, when 
the proclamation directing commissioners to determine and lay out the boun- 
daries of the District of Columbia was signed by George Washington, Presi- 
dent of the United States, and Thomas Jefferson, Secretary of the State. Here 
also the commissioners, Thomas Johnson, David Stuart and Daniel Carroll, 
met September 9, 1791, and declared that the name of the national capital 
should be the "City of Washington." Mr. Hines paternal grandfather, John 
Hines, and a brother, Rudolph Hines, were soldiers of the Revolution, serving 


in a Maryland regiment. His father, Philip Hines, with five of his brothers, 
served in the War of 1812. His brother, William Hines, was a soldier of the 
Mexican war; two brothers, Thomas and Daniel Hines, were soldiers in the 
Confederate army, and two others, William and George Hines, served in the 
Union army, during the Civil War. 

Samuel Hines was born in Washington, District of Columbia, July 21, 
1843, ^nd was educated in the public schools of that city and at Union Academy, 
attending the latter institution, 1850-1858. In the latter year he commenced 
his remarkable business career as a clerk in the office of the commissioners of 
customs, serving until 1861, when he entered the military service of the United 
States as chief clerk to Colonel Henry B. Blood, deputy-quartermaster of the 
armies operating against Richmond, and continuing until 1865. In the fol- 
lowing year he began his long and valuable service in Pennsylvania as pay- 
master, later as general agent of the Mercer Iron and Coal Company, and 
treasurer of the Jamestown and Franklin Railroad Company, covering the 
period 1866-1873. He then became intimately associated with the subsidiary 
companies of the New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad Company in 
Pennsylvania, holding important positions in the following, between 1874-1896: 
President, superintendent and general manager of the Hillside Coal and Iron 
Company ; Towanda Coal Company ; Northwest Mining and Exchange Com- 
pany ; Blossburg Coal Company ; director of the New York, Lake Erie & 
Western Railroad Company ; Dagus Cahonda Railroad Company and Toby 
Creek Railroad Company. He was one of the organizers of the Erie & Wyo- 
ming Valley Railroad Company, and was a director in this from 1885 to 1890. 
He was one of the organizers of the Traders National Bank of Scranton, in 
1889, was elected the first president, and was the incumbent of that office until 
1896. This institution commenced doing business in January, 1890. with a di- 
rectorate and board of officers composed of some of the most influential and 
representative men in the city. It was capitalized to the extent of two hun- 
dred and fifty thousand dollars, and with its conservative and farsighted man- 
agement has become one of the most stable and leading of the city's numerous 
financial institutions. This result has been acquired in a great measure 
through the able offices of Samuel Hines, who enjoys and merits the confidence 
of the business and commercial circles generally. He follows closely the 
financial questions of the day, and is particularly conversant with the value and 
fluctuations of local securities. 

While the services of Mr. Hines have been invaluable to the corporations 
mentioned above in every particular, there are one or two instances of per- 
sonal influence that worked such great advantage to the Erie, that they de- 
serve especial mention. In 1886 and 1887 suit brought by Dr. C. K. Earley, of 
Ridgway, Pennsylvania, was tried and decided by the Supreme Court of Penn- 
sylvania against the Northwest Mining and Exchange Company (owned by the 
Erie Railroad Company) escheating to the state of Pennsylvania, bituminous 
coal lands belonging to the defendant company. The verdict in favor of the 
company was appealed from Elk county court to the Supreme Court of Penn- 
sylvania, the attorney-general of the state being the appellant. The decision 
was aflirmed by the Supreme Court, in terms that rendered it necessary to 
pass an act of "legislature to enable the company to hold the lands against the 
escheat. There was strong opposition to the bill among the members of the 
house representing organized labor. At the request of the lawyers represent- 
ing the Erie, Mr. Hines went to Harrisburg in the interest of the bill and 
through his friendship with Henry Hall, a member of the house, head of 
the Knights of Labor, and an old Scranton friend of Mr. Hines, he obtained 
a hearing. The result of his argument with Mr. Hall, lasting several hours, 



was the withdrawal of opposition and passage of the bill that saved to the Erie 
coal lands valued at millions of dollars, for had the escheat held, it would 
have involved the other coal companies owned by the Erie. 

Some years after the above occurrence, a general strike was ordered 
among the bituminous coal miners of the United States, which if carried into 
effect among the Erie miners would have entailed serious loss upon the com- 
pany. At the earnest request of President King and Vice-President Felton, 
of the Erie, Mr. Hines assumed control of efforts to prevent a strike, using 
his great personal influence with the miners so successfully that the men re- 
fused to join the strikers and during the strike's duration the Erie mines were 
the only ones in operation in the district, their contracts were fulfilled, and 
their engines well supplied with fuel, while other railroads were greatly hamp- 
ered and caused excessive extra expense. In carrying out his negotiations with 
the miners, frequently meetings were necessary at distant points, and for 
weeks Mr. Hines was continually on the road, making many trips by rail and 
wagon between the different mines, and keeping the strikers from influencing 
the loyal miners. On one of these trips in Bradford county, his team ran 
away, throwing him from the wagon and breaking his shoulder and also caus- 
ing concussion of the brain. From this accident Mr. Hines has never fully 
recovered, both shoulder and nervous system still showing the effects of this 

The use of small anthracite coal by the Erie locomotives may also be 
attributed to Mr. Hines, they having an abundance of a size then unmarketable. 
A volume would not contain the record of Mr. Hines' valuable service, but 
another instance of his business ability must not be omitted. As president of 
the Hillside Coal and Iron Company, he drew up a lease in 1887 for anthracite 
coal lands to the company, that was duly executed, providing for a royalty 
based on the price of coal received by the company. In 1910 the lease was 
contested by its holders and suit involving six hundred thousand dollars, for 
that year, was begun. The case was tried in the county court and decided in 
favor of the Hillside Company, a new trial resulting from the same verdict. 
An appeal was taken to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, and the judg- 
ment of the lower court sustained. On a retrial by the Supreme Court, the 
same verdict was rendered, the lease being so perfectly drawn that no other 
verdict was possible under the law. 

The standing of Mr. Hines in matters pertaining to mines and mining was 
so generally recognized that in 1883 and 1884 he was appointed chairman of the 
anthracite coal commission, formed to prepare an anthracite coal law for 
presentation to the legislature. In 1897 he became agent for the Price, Parker, 
Pancost and Throop estates, in Lackawanna county, and is now agent for the 
estates of Joseph Price, Eli K. Price and Dr. Benjamin H. Throop, Erie 
estates. Mr. Hines was one of the original members and first sergeant of 
Company D, Scranton City Guard, which was finally merged into the famous 
Thirteenth Regiment. He was elected second lieutenant, August 25, 1877; 
first lieutenant, November 15, 1878; captain, July 6. 1880. 

While the foregoing would indicate a busy life, the social side of life has 
not been neglected nor the duties of a good citizen. Through the services of 
his patriotic ancestors he received the right of membership in the Sons of the 
American Revolution, a right he exercises, belonging to District of Columbia 
Chapter, his serial mmiber being T228 of the Chapter, and 24,376 of the Na- 
tional Society. He joined the Masonic fraternity in 1870. and is now past 
master of Lake Lodge, No. 434. having accepted this chair in 1873. He is a de- 
voted churchman, and from 1875 to 1883 and again from 1902 to 1912, served 
as vestryman, senior warden and, treasurer of St. Luke's Protestant Episcopal 


Church of Scranton. In poHtical faith he is a Democrat and influential in 
party councils. When the Democratic convention was in session in Scranton 
to nominate their candidates for the fifty-second congress, a committee was ap- 
pointed to wait upon Mr. Hines and tender him the nomination, the conven- 
tion taking a recess of one hour to wait for the report, although eloquently 
urged by the chairman, Frank Thompson, he would not accept the honor. He 
was then asked to make his choice for the position and responded, "Lemuel 
Ammerman," who was then in Europe. Upon the return of Mr. Ammerman 
to this country he at first refused to accept, but through the earnest entreaty of 
his friend, Mr. Hines, he finally accepted reluctantly. His opponent was Joseph 
A. Scranton, a very strong and popular man. An ante-election canvass near 
election day showed that if a change of a few hundred votes could be effected 
in the Carbondale district, the then lead of Mr. Scranton could be overcome. 
To this task Mr. Hines addressed himself with such good effect that his 
friend, Ammerman, for whose candidacy he was responsible, was elected, and 
served in the fifty-second congress, 1890-91. In the latter year the Democratic 
city convention tendered Mr. Hines the nomination for mayor of Scranton, but 
he declined this honor also, and suggested the name of Joseph Bailey, who was 
then nominated and elected. Thus loyal to his friends, and a tower of strength 
in their behalf in politics, as in everything, Mr. Hines seeks not his own ad- 
vancement, but as a good citizen uses his best efforts to promote the public 
good. His long life has been one of honorable service and in whatever light 
he be viewed, the verdict must be "Well done, thou good and faithful servant." 
Mr. Hines, married, in 1867, Rose Nolan, of Hamilton, Canada. 


A Swiss by birth, and intensely patriotic in his sentiment toward the home- 
land, Ernest Gloor, secretary and treasurer of the Gloor & Strubi Embroidery 
Company, has nevertheless to all outward signs and purposes completely trans- 
ferred his allegiance to the land of his adoption, and in thought and feeling 
is as true an American as though his birthplace had been upon this side of the 
Atlantic. John Gloor, father of Ernest Gloor, was born in Leutwyl, Canton of 
Argovie, Switzerland, and was identified with the civil life of his native town 
for many years as town recorder. He married Elizabeth Rupp and had chu- 
dren : Frederick, died in Paris, France, in 1913; Gustavus, an employee of the 
Petersburg Silk Mills ; Elise, married a Mr. Haggi, of Oftringer, Switzerland ; 
Ernest, of whom further; Emma, died in 1910, married a Mr. Werder. The 
father of the above children died in the land of his birth in 1864. 

Ernest Gloor, son of John and Elizabeth (Rupp) Gloor, was born in 
Leutwyl, Canton of Argovie, Switzerland, April 14, 1861, and for ten years 
was a student in the public schools of his birthplace, six years being spent in 
preparatory study for the high school course of four years. In 1882 he en- 
gaged passage on the steamer "Province," a French liner, and after an unevent- 
ful voyage landed at New York, proceeding directly to Philadelphia, where for 
two years he was employed by the Sauquoitt Silk Company. This company 
later transferred him to their mills at Scranton and he was identified with 
that company in this city until 1905. In the latter year he grasped an op- 
portunity for the realization of a plan he had long cherished, the establishment 
of an independent business, and in partnership with Ernest Strubi, in March 
of that year, he opened a factory for the manufacture of embroideries. From 
its inception the project was an assured success and by 1908 its business had 
branched into such diverse channels that to facilitate the administration of the 
company's affairs incorporation papers were taken out, and the Gloor & Strubi 


Embroidery Company took its place among the industries of Scranton, housed 
in a large store and ample factory at Nos. 533-537 Orchard street. The fac- 
tory is equipped with the last word in embroidery manufacturing machinery, 
capable of turning out the finest and most delicate work, the annual output 
of the firm having a value of approximately one hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars. To Mr. Gloor is due a generous share of the credit that attached 
itself to the founding of a business and the introduction of an industry into a 
community where it was previously unknown, and a portion of like dimensions 
is deserved by Mr. Strubi, his partner in the venture. Mr. Gloor is a mera- 
ber of the Zion Lutheran Church on Mifflin avenue. He has taken an inde- 
pendent political stand, and belongs to the Scranton Gruetli Association, a 
Swiss patriotic organization, the Scranton Liederkranz, and the German Al- 
liance. He married Amelia Hungerbuhler, of Philadelphia, and is the father 
of one daughter, Amelia. 

Ernest Strubi, one of the founders of the firm of Gloor & Strubi, is the 
only son of George Strubi, a life-long resident of Switzerland, his birth-place, 
and was born at Degersheim. St. Gall, Switzerland, in 1873. He was educated 
in the public and high school of St. Gall, and in 1904 immigrated to the United 
States, the following year becoming a member of the partnership alluded to 
above. He and Mr. Gloor have ever worked in frictionless sympathy for the 
advancement of their mutual interest, to the effect that they are the owners of 
a profitable business, a structure, the work of their own hands. Mr. Strubi 
is a member of the Junger Mannerchor, while his political convictions betray 
him to no party alliance. He married Anna Landeck. 


For fifty-nine years a lawyer of Pennsylvania, most of that time passed 
in the city of Scranton, Edward Merrifield has in that time achieved brilliant 
success and has been accorded abundant honor. It has been thirty years since 
he began to loosen, one by one, the ties of his profession, gradually with- 
drawing from active practice, and even now, when he has passed the four 
score mark in years, his abandonment thereof is not complete. He is venerated 
by the members of his profession, and particularly by those who were at the 
bar when his activities were at their height, as a lawyer who has ever remained 
true to the code of honor that embodies lofty principles, as a gentleman whose 
consideration of the rights and feelings of others has made his life gentle and 
full of virtue, and as a man who in the service of a client or of the public, 
whatever his remuneration or reward, has fulfilled every obligation and has 
satisfied every trust. Not one of his many talents has been wasted, and from 
each there has come benefit to the cause of right and justice, of which he is an 
unfaltering champion. 

Edward Merrifield was born at Hyde Park, Scranton, July 30, 1832. He 
began his studies in the public schools, later becoming a student in Wyoming 
Seminary, whence he was graduated in 1849, completing his academic studies 
at Oxford Academy, of New York. In 1852 he entered the law school presided 
over by Judge MacCartney, of Easton, and the following year became a stu- 
dent at law in the office of Harrison Wright, of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. 
In 1855 Mr. Merrifield was admitted to practice at the bar of Luzerne county, 
in that year opening an office and beginning practice in Hyde Park, six yeai s 
later transferring his activities to Scranton. with which city he has been since 
prominently identified in legal and political circles. 

As he attained prominent and honorable position at the bar through the 
exercise of legal ability of unusual worth, proving his strength as an attorney 

^^^cuJ^<^ i^,'^^^/h\. 


in contest with the leading lawyers of the region, so, through devoted and 
efficient service, he gained like station in political circles. As a Democrat, in 
1870 he was nominated for the office of recorder of the mayor's court of Scran- 
ton, and in 1884 for judge of the court of common pleas of Lackawanna county, 
and in 1894 was the choice of his party for Congress, a similar honor being 
conferred upon him in 1896. In 1878 Mr. Merrifield was the author of the 
new county bill, and was appointed to use his efforts and influence to secure the 
passage of the bill. Journeying to Harrisburg, in order that he might the 
more closely watch the deliberations of the state legislature, he there worked 
valiantly that the proposed legislation might be accomplished, but it was not 
until six years later that the bill he had drawn up became a law. This was Mi. 
Merrifield's second victory in securing the possibility of a new county, as in 
1873 he had been deputized to attend the constitutional convention to advocate 
a change in the constitution in regard to the creation of new counties upon 
which the convention took favorable action. 

Mr. Merrifield's services were again required when the people of Scranton 
desired the establishment of a United States district court in this city, and he 
was delegated to present the plea of the people to the Congress of the United 
States, assembled at the Capitol. Proof of the success of his mission is the dis- 
trict court that has since sat at Scranton. Thus might the story of the projects 
he has guided to a successful consummation, of his achievements at the bar, and 
of his invaluable public service, continue at great length, but it is sufficient here 
to repeat that failure has been recorded against him only when he has been 
confronted by impossibilities and that, having accepted a trust, he remains 
faithful until the complete fulfillment of its terms. For a number of years 
he was vice-president of the Lackawanna Institute of History and Science, and 
since March, 1914, Mr. Merrifield has filled the office of president, to which he 
was elected at that date. For years and since the death of Dr. E. Fisher he 
has been the acting president of The Animal Rescue League of Lackawanna 
county, a chartered institution for the prevention of cruelty to animals, to the 
duties of which he has given much time and attention. 

Mr. Merrifield married, in November, 1855, A. Jennie Eldridge, of Owego, 
New York, and has one daughter, Jessie M., who married John H. Blackwood, 
of Los Angeles, California. 


While in his own person Dr. Hand, an eminent and representative physician 
of Scranton, is a most interesting personality, a study of his ancestry on both 
the paternal and maternal sides is also one of absorbing interest. 

The ancestors on the paternal side came from England in the early part of 
the seventeenth century, settling in Connecticut and Rhode Island. Stephen 
Hand, the great-grandfather of Dr. Hand, was born in New Jersey, was the 
father of twenty children, and was a descendant of the Connecticut and Long 
Island family of Hand, mentioned elsewhere in this work. His son, Nathan 
Hand, born in Morris county. New Jersey. November 13, 1781, died in Cortland 
county. New York, aged sixty-four years. He married Margaret Crandel- 
meyer, born in Germany, was brought to New Jeresy when five years of age, 
and died at Damascus, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, aged eighty-seven, at the 
home of her son, Nathan, who is living at the present time, aged ninety-six 
years. Her father died at the great age of one hundred years. Their son, 
Robert Hand, was born in Wantage, Sussex county. New Jersey, November 
26. 1806, died in 1854. In 1831 he moved to Hawley. then a wilderness with 
but four or five houses, and purchased one hundred and eighty acres of valuable 


timber land, cleared fifty acres, and erected a large dwelling. He then en- 
gaged extensively in lumbering, owning vast tracts of timber land, then of 
little value. The logs were rafted down the Lackawaxen and Delaware rivers 
to mills below. Later he erected saw mills, prospering in all his undertakings. 
His death was the result of fever contracted from exposure during a freshet, 
he being away from home at the time. He married, in New Milford, New 
Jersey, in 1827, Susan Goble, who bore him the following named children: 
I. Nathan G., died in a Philadelphia hospital from disease contracted in the 
army. 2. Charles F., an engineer, died at the Wayne county homestead, aged 
thirty-three years. 3. Elizabeth L., married Dr. H. B. Stephen, and after be- 
coming a widow she became noted as an evangelist and worker in the Women'*; 
Christian Temperance Union, being president of the county unions, state super- 
intendent of Mothers" Work and state organizer. 4. Melissa A., whose first 
husband, Nelson Wilber, died from wounds received in battle while serving 
in the Union army. 5. William J., served as a member of Company E, Third 
Regiment Pennsylvania Reserve Corps, fought in thirteen battles, was twice 
wounded, and at Gaines Mills, June 27, 1862, was taken prisoner. 6. David 
B., of whom further. 7. Sarah A., aged four years when her father died ; be- 
gan teaching at fifteen years of age and continued until she was thirty; she 
labored in all departments of W'omen's Christian Temperance Union work ami 
contributed largely to the educational work of that association of devoted 
women; she married. May 18, 1880, Jonathan Brown, of Lake Ariel. 

The progenitor of the family in America on the maternal side was Stephen 
Roy, great-grandfather of Dr. Hand, who at the time of the great persecutions 
in Scotland migrated to America, settling at Valley Forge, Pennsylvania. He 
became a wealthy land owner there, and during the winter that General Wash- 
ington's army was quartered at Valley Forge, he almost impoverished himself 
in his efforts to relieve their sufferings. In later years, when offered remunera- 
tion by the government, he refused to accept it, saying "My country's freedom 
is my reward." A daughter of Stephen Roy became the wife of Nathan Goble, 
born in Sussex county. New Jersey, where he was a farmer and stockman, 
and of this union a daughter, Susan, was born, who became the wife of Robert 
Hand, aforementioned. Mrs. Hand was a granddaughter of Francis Price, 
who served as judge of Sussex county for thirty-two years. She was also a 
niece of Governor Price, of New Jersey. Mrs. Hand was a remarkable woman, 
remarkable for her mental strength, noble traits of character, loving and lovable 
disposition, and true charity. Quoting from a lifelong friend and neighbor 
biographer under the caption "Life of a Truly Great Woman:" "How much 
may be bound up in life of a human being cannot be measured or appreciated. 
Influence can be traced for ages, but who shall drive the golden nail and say 
'Here influence stops.' We are constrained to this remark when considering the 
life and work of Airs. Susan Hand, of Hawley, Wayne County." "Mrs. Susan 
Hand's birth-place was in Sussex County, New Jersey. Through her veins 
flowed Scottish and French blood, and the history of her ancestors would 
sound like a page of romance from a master's hand. It would give a glimpse 
at a picture of contentment amid the streams and hills of 'Bonnie Scotland.' 
Then a scene of persecution would appear culminating in a flight for life from 
Scotland to the wilds of America." "Then as time passed on, we would catch 
a glimpse of \'alley Forge, with its suffering and starving patriots. We would 
see her grandfather impoverishing himself, spending nearly his entire fortune 
in furnishing food and comfort to those who suft'ered so awfully in that memor- 
able epoch of the American Revolution. We would hear the noble old patriot 
say proudly at the close of the war, when offered pay for what he had done, 
'My country's freedom is sufficient pay." Would that there were more such 


spirit in these days of selfishness and political dishonesty." Mrs Susan Hand 
died September 17, 1891, aged eighty years. 

Dr. David B. Hand, youngest son of Robert and Susan ( Goble) Hand, 
was bom in Hawley, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, March 31, 1848. He ob- 
tained a good public school education, and until he was sixteen years of age 
worked on the home farm, where he was for a time his mother's only as- 
sistant. He then began the study of medicine, impelled thereto as artists to 
paint or musicians to sing, and at once entered the office of Dr. George B. 
Curtis, who was pleased to say that he had a better knowledge of anatomy and 
physiolog}' than half the doctors. He matriculated later in the medical de- 
partment of the University of the City of New York, whence he was grad- 
uated, 1868, but being only twenty years of age the college would not grant 
him his degree of M. D. until he should attain legal age. He, however, began 
practice, locating at South Canaan, Wayne county, Pennsylvania, remaining 
there three years and a half, and laying the foundation for his reputation as 
one of the most skillful of physicians. He then located at Carbondale, where 
he continued in successful practice for seven years. Overwork now told on hi*; 
health, and he was obliged to desist for a time. He sold his practice and for 
several months traveled in California and other western states, then returned 
to Pennsylvania, settling at Columbia. But he loved the mountains and valleys 
of the coal regions, and in the spring of 1880 he came to Scranton and there 
purchased the practice of Dr. Horace Ladd, one of the oldest physicians of the 
city who moved to Philadelphia, Dr. Hand succeeding him in practice and still 

Dr. Hand has always had a very large practice, and during his long life has 
been brought into contact with all forms of disease. His knowledge, skill, 
experience and successful treatment of baffling intricate cases have brouglit him 
into prominence in his profession, while in his special field of diseases of chil- 
dren he stands unrivaled. He loves children and perhaps no physician has 
labored more earnestly or efi^ectivelv in their behalf. So he loves nature, ani- 
mals and the soil. In gratification of this craving for nature and her works, 
he purchased a farm of one hundred acres at Waverly and there revels in fine 
stock and a model dairy. He began operations on the farm by thoroughly drain- 
ing it, using eleven miles of tiling. In stocking it, he moved cautiously, mak- 
ing careful study of the different strains, finally deciding on Holstein. He pur- 
chased only registered cows, most of his herd being found in the "Advanced 
Registry."' His young Holstein bull, "King Pontiac," the finest bred bull 
perhaps in the world, he purchased when six weeks old at a cost of three 
thousand dollars, his neighbors considering him raving mad to pay such a price 
for so young an animal. Dr. Hand and "King Pontiac" are familiar sights at 
the Lackawanna County Fair, where the latter is exhibited with great prit^e by 
his owner. The milk from his herd, about five hundred quarts daily, is sold 
to dairies, about one-third of it bottled, especially nrepared for babies. The 
farm is Dr. Hand's greatest enjoyment and on it he has adopted every modern 
adjunct to successful dairy farming. His name is a familiar one all over the 
United States and Canada from his long connection with remedies, which he 
has placed upon the market for the alleviation of suffering and the cure of 
infant's troubles. Early in his professional career he discovered that he wa? 
very successful in treating children. He found certain remedies very effective 
and for years he labored to secure just the proper ingredients and proportion?,, 
then resigning from the medical societies to which he belonged, he placed 
these remedies on the market under the name "Dr. Hand's Remedies for Chil- 
dren." These covered the various diseases of the little ones and have always 
had a large sale. 


In the business world, Dr. Hand holds a high position. He has aided 
largely in the development of Scranton along industrial lines and holds of- 
ficial relations with eighteen corporations of importance. He is also prominent 
in the fraternal world, belonging to Union Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, 
of which he is past master ; Lackawanna Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Coeur 
de Lion Commandery, Knights Templar, of which he is a past eminent com- 
mander ; Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; to all bodies of Keystone 
Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, thirty-second degree, and to the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In political faith he is a Republican, 
serving in Waverly as a member of council. 

Dr. Hand married (first) in 1870, Sarah T. Cromwell, born May 2, 1851, 
in Hawley, daughter of James Cromwell, and granddaughter of Oliver Crom- 
well, who settled in Canterbury near Newburgh, New York. She was an earnest 
temperance worker, president of the Lackawanna County Women's Christian 
Temperance L^nion, and a devoted worker in the Methodist Episcopal Church. 
Mrs. Sarah T. (Cromwell) Hand died in 1903, aged fifty-two years. Children 
of this union: I. Mary Isabella, died at Columbia, Pennsylvania, aged six years. 
2. Fred Cromwell. 3. Elizabeth, married (first) Stephen F. Dunn, of Battle 
Creek, Michigan, deceased; married (second) Russell H. Dean, of Scranton; 
children of first marriage; David Hand Dunn and Stephen F. Dunn Jr. Chil- 
dren of second marriage: Goble Davis Dean and Howard D. Hand Dean, de- 
ceased. Dr. Hand married (second) Charlotte W. Wilcox, of Carbondale, 
Pennsylvania, daughter of Joseph N. and Adaline (Marshall) Wilcox. Joseph 
N. Wilcox came from England in 1874, settling in Carbondale. Mrs. Wilcox 
is a native of Carbondale. Mother of Joseph N. Wilcox whose maiden name 
was Newton was a direct descendant of Sir Isaac Newton. Mr. Wilcox is a 
mathematician which faculty comes naturally to him although never having 
taken up the study of mathematics. 

This record of a useful active career is not complete, as Dr. Hand is hale 
and vigorous with many plans for the future that will no doubt be realized ere 
"Finis" is written on the volume of his life's deeds. He sprang from honored 
sires and in turn transmits to his posterity the record of a life spent largely 
in the service of humanity and one that from the time, when as a boy of 
thirteen, he stood by his honored mother's side, her strong support, down 
to the present hour has never known one dull, unprofitable hour. 


A resident of Scranton since 1871, Captain James Moir has attained the 
highest civic honor the city can bestow, the office of mayor. In the military- 
service of his adopted state he has also been honored, having for ten years 
prior to 1894 served as the regularly commissioned captain of Company C, 
Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania National Guard. He has also merited the 
confidence that for ten successive terms he was chosen by the voters of the 
Ninth Ward as theii rejjresentative in councils. That such high civic and 
military preferment have been bestowed upon Captain Moir, can only be con- 
strued as a recognition of his worth as a citizen of his adopted city. 

(I) Captain Moir descends from Scotch forebears, his grandfather, John 
M. Moir, having been a resident of one of the Orkney Islands, lying north cf 
Scotland. His maternal grandfather was a native of Aberdeenshire, Scotland. 

(II) John Moir, son of John M. Moir, was born in the Orkney Islands, 
and married Elspath Robertson, of Aberdeenshire. He spent many years of 
his life in the Saskatchewan region of Canada, in the employ of the Hudson 
Bay Company. He was there brought in contact with the Indians of that 


region, spoke many of the tribe dialects and was always a friend of the Red 
Men. He finally returned to Scotland, where he died, leaving a family ci 
seven children, of whom James was the eldest. 

(Ill) The boyhood of Captain James Moir was spent in Scotland, but he 
was obliged to become a wage earner early in life. He went from Scotlan 1 
to London, England, where he learned the tailor's trade and worked until 1867. 
In that year he came to the United States, locating in Philadelphia, Pennsyl- 
vania, where he remained until taking up his residence in Scranton in 1871. 
He there opened a merchant tailoring establishment on Lackawanna avenue 
and in time built up a business of large proportions. His military service began 
in 1877, he being one of the original members of the old Scranton City Guard, 
which later became Company C, Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania National 
Guard. He rose from the ranks, passing through successive promotions until 
in 1884 he was elected captain, serving in that rank two terms of five years each. 
At the expiration of his second term, in October, 1894, he received an honorable 
discharge. Captain Moir has always been a Republican and has been for many 
years a conspicuous figure in the public life of Scranton. He was elected mayor 
of Scranton in 1899, and during his administration the present City Hall was 
erected and his name is on the corner stone. His term as mayor was preceded 
by a long term in council, being president three years and also serving as chair- 
man of the judiciary committee and a member of other important committees. 
At the expiration of his term as mayor in 1908 he was elected an alderman 
of the Ninth Ward, serving until 1913 when he was again elected to the same 
office and in which he is still serving. He attends the First Presbyterian 
Church. He is a member of the Caledonian Club and chief of this ; a mem- 
ber of Peter Williamson Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; a member of 
Keystone Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, holding the thirty-second 
degree; member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Robert Burns 
Lodge, of which he is a charter member, and now has the forty-five year badge 
of this organization. He is past treasurer of the Encampment and a Patriarch 
Militant of the same order. He is also a knighted member of the Knights 
of Malta, Columbus Commandery; also a member of the B. P. O. E., of Scran- 
ton, No. 123, and has held various offices. Thus in business, military, civic 
and fraternal life, Captain Moir has actively borne his part and in the distribu- 
tion of honors he has been awarded a generous share. 

Captain Moir married, in London, England, Frances Flint, born in London, 
England ; children : James S., John W., Helen, Robert B., Wallace W., Frank- 
lin, Wilfred, Flora, Elsie, Fannie. Robert B. Moir was a cadet at West Point 
Military Academy, appointed from Scranton, but in his second year was so 
badly poisoned by poison ivy that after three months he received an honorable 
discharge for disability. After his return home and recovery, he was ap- 
pointed to a position on the city engineering staff, continuing in that position 
imtil his death in February, 1896. 


William Lutsey Houck, of the firm of Houck & Benjamin, one of the 
most able of Scranton's many legal firms, is a member of a family long native 
to Pennsylvania, and since 1904 has made his residence in Scranton, that year 
also marking the formation of the above mentioned firm and its establishment 
in that city. 

(I) Fle is a descendant of John Wesley Houck, born in Bushkill township, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, July i. 1809, died in Columbia county, 
Pennsylvania, July 2, 1884. He spent his early years in the region of his 


birthplace and when a young man came to Luzerne county in the pursuit of his 
trade, that of millwright. Later in life he abandoned that occupation and en- 
gaged in farming, continuing so until the infirmities of old age compelled his 
retirement from active participation in manual labor. This he was loth to 
do and in his latter years chafed under the enforced idleness caused by years, 
his whole life's creed being industry, from which he derived more genuine 
enjoyment than is obtained by most people engaged in nothing more strenuous 
than a hunt for pleasure. He was a Republican in politics, and a Methodist in 
religion, having been reared by parents of that faith and having united with 
that denomination in early youth. He married and was the father of five 
children : Julia, Sarah, Samuel, John, Florence Elizabeth, the third and last 
named now deceased. 

(H) Samuel Houck, son of John Wesley Houck, and father of William 
Lutsey Houck, was born in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, June 6, 1838, died 
in Berwick, Columbia county, Pennsylvania. April 20, 1906. He was edu- 
cated in the schools of his native county, and there resided until his thirtieth 
year, when he moved to Briar Creek township, Columbia county, buying a 
farm in that township and there living until 1904. In that year he sold his 
land and moved to Berwick, in the same county, there remaining until his 
death. He had prospered in his fanning operations and after moving to Ber- 
wick lived retired. His religious beliefs were those of his father, and in all 
departments of the service of the Methodist Episcopal church he played a 
prominent part, contributing generously to its maintenance and varied bene- 
ficences. Education was a subject upon which he favored the most advanced 
views, and as a member of the school board of Briar Creek township he was 
ever progressively in favor of improved educational advantages for the chi! 
dren of the locality. In the cases of his sons he carried out his convictions 
and rejoiced in his ability to afford them all a college education. He mar- 
ried Huldah Jane Lutsey, born June 19, 1832, died September 26, 1906. She 
was a daughter of William Lutsey, a successful and prosperous farmer of 
Slocum township, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, who was a grandson of John 
Lutsey, the pioneer of the name in Pennsylvania, who came thither from 
Connecticut soon after the close of the war for independence. Samuel ami 
Huldah Jane Houck were the parents of Ulysses G., William Lutsey, of whom 
further; John W., Harry M. 

(Ill) William Lutsey Houck was born in Slocum township, Luzerne 
county, Pennsylvania, November 11, 1871. He attended the public schools 
in his youth and was graduated from the Berwick High School in the class 
of 1887, holding first honors in his class and delivering the valedictory ad- 
dress. He then attended Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport. Pennsylvania, 
and upon his graduation from that institution held first honors in his course, 
class of 1892, and was awarded, as well, a special prize for excellence m 
psychology and the prize offered in oratory by the president of the Seminary. 
He then took up his residence on his father's farm in Briar Creek township 
for a time, and prior to entering law school he taught school, being vice-prin- 
cipal of the Berwick .schools in 1897 and 1898 and for the two following years 
principal of the schools of Freeland. Pennsylvania. In 1901 he entered the Dick- 
inson School of Law, at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated in 
1904. As in his earlier school days, he displayed high proficiency in his 
studies, and was awarded prizes in Real Property. Evidence, and Constitu- 
tional Law, which augured well for his success when he should begin prac- 
tice. This he did in the year of his graduation from Dickinson, receiving his 
credentials of admission to the Lackawanna county bar in the same year. 
In October, 1904, he formed a partnership with Frank P. Benjamin, as be- 


fore stated, and this connection continues to the present time, to the mutuai 
satisfaction and benefit of those most vitally concerned. The offices of the 
firm are in the Miller Building, Scranton, and here they have attracted a 
clientele among the most desirable legal patrons in the city. The early liking 
for legal procedure which Mr. Houck displayed during his college days has 
ripened into a more mature respect for his profession. Nor was the prophecy 
of his earlier days false, for in the nine years of his active career he has per- 
formed much legal work of merit, which has been characterized by the thor- 
ougiiness of its preparation and the minute knowledge of the law shown. 
With his no less able partner, he has raised the fimi of Houck & Benjamin to 
a position of place among others of longer standing and has proved himself 
nc mean adversary in a legal contest. Mr. Houck is a Republican in political 
action, and fraternally affiliates with Knapp Lodge, No. 462, F. and A. M., 
Berwick, Pennsylvania, of which he is past master. 

Mr. Hijuck married, in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, October 28, 1908, Katherine 
May Klink. With his wife he is a member of the Green Ridge Presbyterian 


The line of American descent of Fenwick L. Peck, of Scranton, is from 
Joseph Peck, who came to Hingham, Massachusetts, in 1638, from Hingham, 
England, with three sons, a daughter, two men servants and three maid ser- 
vants. He was representative to the general court, 1639-42, removed to 
Rehoboth in 1645 ^"c' there died December 22, 1663. 

(II) Simon Peck, son of Joseph Peck, born in England, was a glazier by 
trade, lived in Dorchester, Massachusetts, where he served as selectman in 
1667., He married ( first ) Hannah Farnsworth, ( second ) Prudence Clapp. 

(III) Samuel Peck, son of Simon Peck and his second wife, was born 
April 20, 1667, settled in Mendon, Massachusetts, where he died September 
6, 1725. He belonged for many years to the Presbyterian church. His first 
wife, Sarah (Wilson) Peck, born June 20, 1792, married, December 31, 1816, 
died July 17, 1842, leaving several children. 

(IVj Jonathan Wilson Peck, son of Samuel and Sarah (Wilson) Peck, 
was born in Franklin county, Massachusetts, July 9, 1826, died in Scranton, 
Pennsylvania, October 14, 1895. When but a lad his parents settled in that, 
then unbroken, section of Pennsylvania, which later became Peckville, named 
in honor of Samuel Peck. Jonathan W. Peck engaged in lumbering with his 
father on arriving at a suitable age, and became a most influential and promin- 
ent man in his section. He was keenly active to the unusual opportunities 
ofifered at that time and was foremost in the development of Peckville, estab- 
lishing and supporting the various financial and industrial companies there 
organized. Capable business man that he was, he did not rise at the expense 
of others, but aided all who came under his observation. He is remembered 
in Peckville as mcst kindly-hearted and generous, one of his last kindnesses 
to the village being to present the Baptist congregation with a new parsonage, 
an unsolicited gift. Some ten years prior to his death he moved to Scranton, 
where he spent the closing period of his useful life in retirement. Mr. Peck 
married (first) Mercyette Hall, born in Abington, Luzerne county, Pennsyl- 
vania, August 26, 1834, died in 1874, daughter of Sheldon Hall. He married 
(second) Hattie A. Clapp, who survived him. Three of the children of Jon- 
athan W. Peck yet survive: Fenwick L., of whom further; Edson S., of 
Scranton ; Mary A., wife of Everett A. Bush, of Orange, New Jersey. 

(V) Fenwick L. Peck, eldest son of Jonathan Wilson Peck and his first 


wife, Mercyette (Hall) Peck, was born near what is now known as Elm- 
hurst, Pennsylvania, September 18, 1854. His early life was spent in Peck- 
ville, where he obtained a public school education. He then entered Wyoming 
Seminary at Kingston, whence after a three years' course he was graduated, 
class of 1875. He was his father's assistant in his lumber business until he 
was twenty-two years of age, then was admitted to a partnership, the firm 
becoming J. W. Peck & Son, and continuing until 1886. During these years 
the younger man was in charge at the Dunning ( now Elmhurst ) tract where 
saw mills had been erected. His days were spent in the woods and mills, his 
evenings being devoted to accounts and correspondence of the finn. In 1880 
the Dunning tract being exhausted, similar operations were begun at Spring- 
brook, continuing there five years, making nine years the young man had spent 
at the two tracts. They were valuable years to him, aside from the pecuniary 
reward they brought. He had developed into the strong, sturdy, physical 
man and had gained an intimate knowledge of the value of standing timber, 
and an intimate and expert knowledge of lumber manufacture in its every 
detail. In about a year after the working out of the Springbrook tract, he 
discovered and after thoroughly investigating a tract of hemlock timber in 
Potter county, Pennsylvania, organized, with the aid of his father and some 
of the wealthy men of Scranton, the Lackawanna Lumber Company with 
$200,000 capital. Jonathan W. Peck was chosen president of the company 
and Fenwick L. Peck, in whose ability perfect confidence was placed, was 
appointed general manager of all operations necessarj' to convert the timber 
into lumber and find for it a market. In 1887 the first saw mill was built at 
Mina. Air. Peck making that town his residence. Later two mills were acquired 
on the Allegheny river, logs being supplied to them by raft. The capital stock 
of the company was increased in 1892 to $750,000, additional timber lands 
being purchased and new mills erected. The annual output of the company 
rose to one hundred million feet of manufactured lumber. All through the 
panicky years from 1893, Mr. Peck continued his extensive operations and 
instead of the prophesied failure earned substantial dividends for his stock- 
holders, a result speaking volumes for his courage and executive ability. 

Later he was induced to purchase an interest in the J. J. Newman Lumbei 
Company, operating in the yellow pine belt of the state of Mississippi. In 
order to thoroughly acquaint themselves with this property and the adjacent 
territory it became necessary for Mr. Peck and his associates to make a trip 
over the entire tract by team, the distance traveled being about one hundred 
and fifty miles. The capital stock of the Newman Company was increased 
and three hundred thousand acres of additional long leaf pine timber lani 
purchased and large lumbering operations begun. In 1899 he assisted in or- 
ganizing the Cherry River Boom and Lumber Company, capital $1,000,000, and 
they purchased a large tract of spruce and hard wood timber, located in 
Pocohontas, Greenbrier, Nicholas and Webster counties, West Virginia. A 
large mill was built, but before operations were fairly begun the property was 
sold, the price offered being irresistible. 

As the advantages of combination became apparent, Mr. Peck and hi? 
associates formed the plan of consolidating their interests into one corpora- 
tion. In 1901 this plan was carried out by the formation of the United States 
Lumber Company, that corporation taking over both the Lackawanna Lumber 
Company and the I. J. Newman Company. The new company, with a capital 
of $5,000,000, purchased additional lands and so expanded that their annual 
output reached two hundred and fifty million feet of manufactured lumber. 
At the head of this corporation was Fenwick L. Peck. He was eminently 
fitted for the head of such a company, and has successfully managed the field 

y*'*-* . 




operations from its beginning and as the executive head, planned with a far- 
sightedness and courage that has brought important results. The operations 
in Mississippi, at the Hattiesburg mills, have been very extensive and the 
corporation successful. 

Mr. Peck's activity in the lumber world naturally led him into other fields 
of progress. He became one of the organizers and large stockholders in the 
Mississippi Central Railroad Company and was elected president of that 
company. He was also led into the field of finance, becoming a director of the 
State Bank of Sumrall, Mississippi ; director of the First National Bank of 
Commerce of Hattiesburg, Mississippi; director of the Guardian Trust Com- 
pany of New York, and in his own city, Scranton, is a director of the Scran- 
ton Savings Bank and of the Dime Bank. 

In other industrial fields he has also invested largely. He is vice-president 
and director of the Peck Lumber and Manufacturing Company; director of 
the Scranton Mills ; director of the Scranton Textile Company and has in- 
terests in many others not necessarily of a minor character. He continues 
in addition to all these important interests, president of the United States Lum- 
ber Company, with its varied and important business that has not diminished 
with the lapse of time. 

Scranton is Mr. Peck's home city and here at No. 545 Jefferson avenue, in 
that choice residential district, he erected a house that is remarkable in even 
this city of handsome residences. Nor have the demands of business taken 
away his enjoyment of the social side of life, nor his interest in his fellowmen, 
nor his thirst for knowledge of the world. He has visited Europe several 
times and has toured his own country many more. His early days in the 
woods bred in him a love of out-of-doors and he has seen a great many of 
natures wonders everywhere. His clubs are the Country and Scranton of 
Scranton, and the Railroad Club of New York. Politically he is a Republican ; 
in fraternal relations a Mason, holding membership in Lodge, Chapter and 

Mr. Peck married (first) November 20, 1881, Jessie V. Mott, who died m 
March, 1883, daughter of James Mott, of Blakeley, Pennsylvania. She left a 
daughter, Jessie Mott. He married (second) February 5, 1885, Mina V.. 
daughter of William and Grace (Oliver) Pethick, of Wayne county, Penn- 
sylvania. A daughter was also born of this marriage, Florence Louise, and a 
son, Charles Wilson, who died in infancy. 


Wales, "the country of mountains and each mountain a mine," is the 
land claimed by William R. Lewis, of the law firm of Taylor & Lewis, as his 
birth-place. Wales has been the home of his family for many generations, 
his father, Reese J. Lewis, being the first of the line to leave his native 
country and to seek his fortunes in a newer and richer land. Reese J. Lewis 
was a miner and contractor in Carmarthenshire, Wales, and came to the 
United States in 1868. Attracted to Pennsylvania by the similarity of its 
topography with that of his home land, he settled in the mountains of north- 
eastern Pennsylvania, at Scranton. Here he engaged in mining and through 
his native habits of industry and thrift was able to save a large part of his 
income which he invested wisely and profitably, so that during the last ten 
years of his life he was freed from the cares of active participation in business. 
The customs of years, however, were too strong to be snapped at once and 
to occupy, partially, his time, he gave his various properties much of his per- 
sonal care and supervision, seeing that they were kept in repair and attend- 


ing to many of the smaller improvements himself. Both he and his wife were 
members of the Baptist church, in whose work he was very active. His death 
occurred in 1887, he having survived his wife, Ann (Jones) Lewis, by eighteen 
years. His children were: Joseph R., deceased; Mary, married William Lewis, 
of Scranton; Annie, widow of Daniel James, of Wilkes- Barre; Jennie, married 
Elias E. Evans, of Scranton ; Katherine, married John J. Davis, of Scranton ; 
William R., of whom further. 

William R. Lewis was born in Carmarthenshire, Wales, February 26, 
1876. He was but a year old when his parents brought him to the United 
States. He was educated at the Bloomsburg State Normal School, whence 
he was graduated in the class of 1886. For five years thereafter he held the 
position of deputy prothonotary under Thomas H. Dale, during that time 
reading law under Judge Gunster and afterwards under Judge Alfred Hand. 
He obtained admission to the bar in September, 1893, and in January of the 
year following formed the present partnership of Taylor & Lewis for general 
practice. In his chosen profession, Mr. Lewis has had gratifying success. One 
of the honors that came to him as a result of the standing he had attained 
among those versed in legal affairs, was the election as district attorney, an 
office he filled with conspicuous ability from 1901 to 1906. Aside from hii 
public service he has been a potent factor in the success of his firm, which 
bears a reputation for integrity and fair dealing gained through the learning, 
uprightness and honor of the partners. Mr. Lewis' only business connection is 
with the Scranton Big Muddy Coal Mining Company, of which he is presi- 
dent. He is a director of the West Side Hospital, to whose affairs he gives a 
great deal of time and attention. 

Mr. Lewis married Josephine, daughter of Joseph D. Doyd, of Scranton. 
Their children are : Mary, Ruth, Gertrude. Mr. Lewis' residence is at No. 
614 North Main avenue, where he enjoys an ideal home life. 


This family, whose name was spelled both Corser and Courser, was brought 
to America in 1635 by William Corser. The Corser family descending from 
this Puritan sire has proved a valuable one, contributing to the public service 
many military men and many who have served equally well in business and 
professional walks of life. 

Dr. John B. Corser, of Scranton, descends from the New Hampshire 
branch founded by John Corser, born about 1678, who settled in Boscawen, 
New Hampshire, in the early settlement of that town. In April, 1776, "Articles 
of Association," including a declaration of independence antedating that issued 
by Congress in Philadelphia, July 4, 1776, were subscribed to by citizens of 
Boscawen and among the signers were David, John (i), John (2), John Jr., 
Asa, Nathan, Samuel and Thomas Corser. David (3), Asa and Jonathan 
Corser fought at the battle of Bennington ; Asa and William Corser at Bunker 
Hill, while Samuel, John, Thomas and other Corsers were also in the service. 
Similar service has been rendered by Corsers in every war waged by this 

John F. Corser, father of Dr. John B. Corser, came from New Hampshire, 
settling in Towanda, Pennsylvania, where he was a successful merchant for 
many years, moving to Scranton about the year 1900. He married Harriet E. 

Dr. John B. Corser was born in Towanda, Pennsylvania, October 14, 
1873. He was educated at Susquehanna Collegiate Institute, Towanda, then 
spent two years at Princeton University, but deciding upon the profession of 



medicine he entered the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, 
whence he was graduated M. D., class of 1898. He took post-graduate courses 
at Lackawanna Hospital, then for three and a half years engaged in general 
practice in Scranton. Deciding to make a specialty of diseases of the eye, 
ear, nose and throat, he made special preparation in hospitals in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, and in Vienna. Austria, for eighteen months, then returned to 
Scranton and began his successful career as a specialist in the diseases named. 
He is occulist at the West Side Hospital and at the State Hospital, member 
of the Pennsylvania State and American Medical associations, and has been 
president of the Lackawanna County Medical Association. He is a director 
of the Lincoln Trust Company, but gives his profession his chief attention, 
study and best effort. He obtains relaxation from the exactions of his pro- 
fession in the social and athletic features of the Scranton, Country and Bicycle 
clubs of Scranton. 

Dr. Corser married Fannie G., daughter of Charles and Helen E. (Pier- 
son) Laverty, of Elizabeth, New Jersey. Mrs. Laverty was a daughter of 

Pierson, first president of the coal company. Children : John B., 

Helen Elizabeth, Anna Laverty and Dorothy Gildersleeve. 


The VanDeusens of "VanDeusen Manor," Great Barrington, Massachusetts, 
descend from Isaac ( i ) VanDeusen, "Rich Isaac," who was the son of 
Abraham and Jemima ( Schoonhoven ) VanDeusen and grandson of Matthew 
Abrahamsen VanDeursen, one of the five brothers who came to New Amster- 
dam (New York) about 1650. These brothers were sons of Abraham Van- 
Deursen, a resident of Deursen, a small village in North Brabant, Nether- 
lands, and of an old Dutch family. Matthew Abrahamsen VanDeursen lived 
in Albany. New York, from 1657 to 1700, and his son Abraham in Kingston 
and Albany. "Rich Isaac" VanDeusen remained in Kinderhook on the Hud- 
son until May, 1735, then moved with his family to the Housatonic settle- 
ment, where he built a log house on the land of his father-in-law, Coonrod 
Burghardt, near the site of the manor-house erected a few years later. "Rich 
Isaac" acquired an estate of several hundred acres in the upper part of Greut 
Barrington, some of it lying along the Housatonic river. This was known as 
"VanDeusen Manor." He owned other lands in the neighborhood and hid 
sons added largely to their inherited estates. The VanDeusens and the Burg- 
hardts were the largest land-holders in western Massachusetts, and the old 
manor-house, of Dutch architecture, built of wood and brick, stood for more 
than a century, the home of Isaac (i), Isaac (2) and Isaac (3), the first 
known as "Rich Isaac," the last as "Wise Isaac." After the death of the latter 
in 1 83 1 the manor passed out of the family and speedily began to deteriorate. 
The main part was taken down in i860, the wing having been removed at an 
earlier date. Not a vestige of the original building remains, and the stone 
gate-post is the sole memorial of the manor building. 

"Rich Isaac" VanDeusen married, January 14, 1730, at Kinderhook, New 
York, Fiche, daughter of Coonrod and Gesie (VanWie) Burghardt. His six 
sons all settled upon lands owned by their father, which he deeded to them in 
1787. He acknowledged the deeds in 1787. but they were not recorded until 
after his death in 1796, at the age of ninety-three years. These sons, Abraham 
Coonrod, John. Matthew, Jacob, Isaac (2), were noted for their uncommon 
height, the" tallest being six feet seven and one-half inches, the shortest, six feet 
two inches. 

"Wise Isaac" VanDeusen, who afterward added an "I" as an initial, was 


the eldest son of Isaac (2) and grandson of "Rich Isaac" VanDeusen. He 
was a man of high character, a staunch churchman, and a fine French scholar. 
He lived in Great Barrington until 1806, when he moved to Ohio, later to 
Louisiana, returning to Great Barrington in 1818. In 1829 he wrote a history 
of St. James Church. He inherited the manor-house from his father in 1816, 
and from 1818 until his death in 1831 made it his home. 

Coonrod VanDeusen, second son of "Rich Isaac" VanDeusen, was bom at 
Kinderhook, New York, February 4, 1735, died December 26, 1808, at the 
"old stone house" and was buried in Mahaime Cemetery, Great Barrington. 
The "old stone house," built in 1771, stood on the east road to Housatonic at 
the western base of Monument i\lountain, Coonrod receiving lands there from 
his father. He married, in 1763, Rachel Hollenbeck, and had by her several 

John VanDeusen, third son of "Rich Isaac" VanDeusen, was born March 
19, 1737, died January 13, 1820, and is buried in the Buel Cemetery, Cana- 
joharie. New York. He lived in the brick house in Great Barrington, north 
of the family burial ground, on land given him by his father. He married, 
in June, 1762, Catherine Hollenbeck, who died August 4, 1789, and is buried 
in the VanDeusen burial ground. 

John (2) VanDeusen, son of John (i) and Catherine (Hollenbeck) Van- 
Deusen, was born in 1763. He married (second) January 28, 1796, Rhoda 
Tuller, of Egremont, Massachusetts, and had issue. 

Henry VanDeusen, eldest son of John (2) and Rhoda (Tuller) VanDeusen. 
was born in Great Barrington, Massachusetts, in 1797, and spent his life 
as a farmer. He married Julia Ann Reed and had issue: George S., died in 
191 1 ; Henry Newton, of whom further; Albert, a minister of the Methodist 
Episcopal church ; Sylvania, married J. Snyder, of Cherry Valley, New York. 

Rev. Henry Newton VanDeusen, son of Henry and Julia Ann (Reed) 
VanDeusen, was born in Cherry Valley, New York, in 1836, and after an 
active, honorable life spent in the service of the Methodist Episcopal church 
is now living a retired life. He was a member of the Wyoming Conference aru 
served many churches in both New York and Pennsylvania. He was educated 
at Cazenovia Seminary and the Methodist BibHcal Institute, the latter now 
the theological department of Boston University. Rev. Henry N. VanDeusen 
married Mary Jane, daughter of James Porter, of English descent. On Sep- 
tember 8, 1913, the aged couple celebrated their golden anniversary, amid the 
happy rejoicings of their many friends and relations. Children: Porter B., 
of Rochester, New York; Ellen G., married Frederick O. Spooner, of Syracuse, 
New York; Henry Reed, of whom further; Julia, married P. B. Genger. 

Henry Reed VanDeusen, second son of Rev. Henry Newton and Mary 
Jane (Porter) VanDeusen, was born at Laurens, Otsego county, New York, 
June 2, 1872. He was educated in the public schools of the different towns 
to which his father's ministerial duties called him, and after preparatory 
courses entered Wesleyan University, Middletown, Connecticut, whence he 
was graduated A. B., class of 1894. After graduation he was instructor in 
Greek and Latin at Dickinson Seminary, at Williamsport, Pennsylvania. He 
studied law under John J. Reardon Esq., of Williamsport, later entering the 
University of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated LL. B., class of 1899. 
In February, 1900, he located in Scranton and has since been there engaged in 
active practice of the law. He has served as assistant solicitor for the city 
and has a well-established practice. He is a member of the Scranton Club 
and the Scranton Bicycle Club, having been president of the latter for several 
terms. In political faith he is a Rei)ublican, and in religion a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 


Mr. VanDeusen married Jessie L., daughter of Edward J. Dimmick. 
Children: WiUiam, deceased; Lawrence Reed, born July 8, 1906; Henry Reed 
(2), born April 19, 1909. 


Prominence in the business world carries with it certain responsibilities 
that must be met. Among these are an upright life, and one free from every- 
thing but what would serve as an example of business probity to the young 
men who strive to emulate their successful elders. While Mr. Simpson is 
not an old man, his success in business life has brought him prominently into 
the public eye, and rendered him an object of interest to young men and it is 
to him they have often turned for example and advice. In following his busi- 
ness course, it reveals nothing but what has been accomplished in the most 
honorable manner, the secret of his life, not being hidden in mystery, can, be 
attributed to hard work, great energy, laudable ambition, clean, upright living 
and wonderful executive ability. 

(I) Mr. Simpson comes from an early Rhode Island family, his grand- 
father, Christopher Simpson, settling in Albany county. New York, during 
the early years of the nineteenth century. He was born in Rhode Island in 
1 78 1, there married his wife Dolly, born 1786, and soon afterward emigrated 
to New York State. 

(II) William S. Simpson, son of Christopher and Dolly Simpson, was 
born in Rensselaerville, New York, April 2, 1825, died at his home in West 
Pittston, Pennsylvania, December 5, 1912, one of the best known and respected 
of men. After attending public schools until his sixteenth year, he became a 
carpenter's apprentice at Prattsville, New York, becoming an expert worker 
in wood. In after life he took great pride, not only in the constructive work 
in which he was engaged but in his personal skill as a workman, equaling that 
of his best men. He located in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, where he engaged 
in building operations. He supervised the erection of the tannery in the upper 
part of the borough, erected the tannery buildings at Brackney and also built 
many dwellings for the workmen at Brackneyville near Binghamton. His long 
connection with the Scranton district began in 1856 when he settled in Dun- 
more, engaging in general contracting and building. He superintended the con- 
struction there of many public buildings and residences, among them the old 
Dunmore Presbyterian Church and Dunmore Christian Church. He became 
interested in the construction of breakers, to him belonging the honor of erect- 
ing at Archbald for Eaton & Company (afterward Jones, Simpson & Company) 
the first coal breaker erected in the Lackawanna Valley. He continued a 
private contractor until 1861, when he was induced to accept the position of 
superintendent of construction with the Pennsylvania Coal Company, then 
having their headquarters at Pittston. This necessitated the removal of 
his residence to Pittston, and from that time until the close of his long 
and useful life that was his home. His work for the company covered 
extensive operations in the erection of breakers, trestles and colliery build- 
ing in endless variety. This exacting position he filled to the perfect satis- 
faction of his company, retaining through all the years of his connection their 
confidence and respect. With his men he was ever the thoughtful employer 
and their friend. He was cheerful and optimistic, his morning greetings always 
pleasant and friendly. As he advanced in years he retained his youthful man- 
ners and ever enjoyed the companionship of the young, his home being a gath- 
ering place for old and young alike. At the age of seventy-two years he re- 
tired, having amassed a competency, living, therefore, some fifteen years to 



enjoy it. He died in his eighty-eighth year, and though of rugged physique 
the ravages of time made themselves felt, his end coming not through any 
organic complaint, but was caused by the general wearing away of all his parts. 
In his death almost the last link was broken that bound the formative early 
days of Pittston with the present. That he had borne so prominent a part in 
the upbuilding of the section was ever to him a pleasant reminiscence, and 
surely none builded better or more wisely than he. He saw the little town ot 
his adoption grow, expand and prosper until it took front rank among the 
cities of Northeastern Pennsylvania. He won to him many staunch friends, 
was one of the best known men of his section, having spent the greater part 
of his years, eighty-eight, in Northeastern Pennsylvania. His death, though 
expected, was deeply regretted and was received with many expressions of 

Mr. Simpson married (first) December 26, 1846, Catherine Brandow, of 
Prattsville, New York, who died in Dunmore, Pennsylvania, in 1854; he 
married (second) A^larch 26, 1867, Mary Emmeline Whalen Rice, of Dunmore, 
who died in West Pittston, August 30, 1884; he married (third) January 12, 
1887, Mary J. Price, of West Pittston, who survived him. In religious faith he 
was a devoted Methodist, serving the church in official capacity. 

(Ill) Clarence D. Simpson, son of William S. and Catherine (Brandow) 
Simpson, was born at Carbondale, Pennsylvania, April 4, 1849. He attended 
the public schools of Dunmore and Pittston, beginning a wage earner's life 
when young as water boy for a gang of his father's carpenters. Advancing 
sufficiently in years he became clerk for the Butler Colliery Company at Pitts- 
ton, remaining in that employ several years, constantly rising in rank, event- 
ually becoming superintendent. He resigned this position and in Buffalo, New 
York, became western representative of C. A. Blake & Company, anthracite 
coal dealers. After nine years there he returned to Pittston, becoming super- 
intendent of the Enterprise Colliery near Wilkes-Barre. About 1881, in as- 
sociation with C. M. Sanderson, he leased and opened the Pancoast Colliery, 
continuing its operation successfully about four years, when he sold his inter- 
est to his partner. He then joined forces with Thomas Watkins in leasing 
the Grassey Island Colliery. He was now successfully started in coal operations 
and in succession organized and operated with success the Northwest Coal 
Company, the Edgarton, Babylon, Mount Lookout, Harry E. and Forty Fort 
collieries, all later sold to the Temple Iron Company. In 1901 he organized 
the West End Coal Company, in which he has a large interest. Besides his 
large private interests, Mr. Simpson is a director of the International Text 
Book Company, the Cherry River Boom and Lumber Company, the Hebard 
Cypress Company and other corporate enterprises. He is a man of large affairs 
and controls a vast amount of capital, engaged in the industrial enterprises of 
Pennsylvania. While not a practical builder like his father, he is none the 
less a great constructor and much that is lasting and beneficial has arisen 
through his constructive ability. One of his enterprises, launched about 1897, 
was the New Mexico Railroad and Coal Company. Their 465 miles of rail- 
road and their 25,000 acres of coal land was made possible by Scranton capital, 
Mr. Simpson aiding in the organization of the company and becoming chair- 
man of the first board of directors. 

Mr. Simpson is emphatically a man of business, but also enjoys the social 
side of life and the companionship of his fellow-men. He is a member of the 
Scranton and Country clubs, also of the Union League of New York City. He 
gave to the city the Catherine Simpson Young Girls' Home and the land for the 
Hahnneman Hospital and contributed a large portion of the capital to build 
the same. 


Mr. Simpson married Katherine, daughter of George Perrin, of Pittston; 
she died in 1906, leaving a daughter, Clara, now wife of H. H. ]3rady. 

There is much to be gained from a study of the two men whose careers 
are herein traced. Like his honored father, Mr. Simpson Jr., began at the 
foot of the ladder and like him also reached the topmost round, although in 
a different line of activity. Both were graduates of the stern school of neces- 
sity and the secret of their rise in life may be found in their tireless energy 
and upright lives. 


One of the most distinguished members of the bar of Pennsylvania is 
Michael J. Martin, whose family, on the paternal side, came originally from 
France, but during a residence of many years in Ireland became united with 
a family of that land, a combination which has more than once resulted in 
great talents and ability, the clear annalytical powers of the French mind en- 
lightening and in turn being informed by the imaginative and romantic spirit 
of their northern kin. 

(I) The paternal grandfather of Mr. Martin also bore the name of Michael 
Martin and was born in France, being one of those members of his family 
who came from that country and settled in Ireland during the early part of the 
nineteenth century. It seems that the Martins were connected in some way 
with one of the many attempts of that period to restore independence to Ire- 
land, which in this case actually reached the stage of an armed expedition, of 
both land and naval forces against England. However, the expedition came to 
naught, being defeated by the British force sent against them, and the Martins 
among others were obliged to seek refuge in Ireland. From this country they 
never returned, but after a while settled in that most picturesque region on the 
northwest coast of Ireland, Sligo county, near Sligo bay. From this region 
northward through Donegal was a favorite resort of many French fugitives, 
especially the Huguenots, so that it is likely that the Martins often looked 
upon the faces of their countrymen, a sight which could not have been wholly 
unwelcome, despite the difference in faith, for the Martins were Roman 

(II) Patrick Martin, the father of Michael J. Martin, and son of the 
Michael Martin just mentioned, was born in Sligo, Ireland, October 26, 1846, 
and there passed his boyhood and youth up to the time he was seventeen years 
of age. He was educated in the local public schools, and upon completing his 
studies emigrated to the United States, settling in the great coal region of the 
state of Pennsylvania. Here he found employment in the mines, and fol- 
lowed the occupation of miner for a number of years, but later in life took to 
farming, from which he gained lucrative returns, and in which he continued 
until his death, September 13, 191 3. He married Margaret Sullivan, a daugh- 
ter of Charles and Jane (Stanton) Sullivan, of Denville, New Jersey, where 
she was bom May 12, 1848. To them were born ten children, as follows: 
Michael J., of whom further; Jane, now Mrs. Bagley, of Carbondale, Penn- 
sylvania; John, now a resident of Moscow, Pennsylvania; Dr. Thomas P., a 
resident of Jermyn ; Margaret, now Mrs Eagan, of Jermyn ; Frank, a resident 
of the same place ; James ; Katherine and William, all residents of Daleville, 
Pennsylvania. It was in Daleville, Pennsylvania, that Mr. Martin spent the 
latter years of his life, where he eventually met his death and where Mr.i. 
Martin and the three youngest children still reside. Mr. and Mrs. Martin 
were members of the Roman Catholic church and in that faith reared their 
large family of children. 


(III) Michael J. Martin, the eldest child of Patrick and Margaret (Sul- 
livan) Martin, was born December 29, 1871, in Scranton, Pennsylvania, where 
his parents were then residing. When he was but two years old his parents 
removed from the city of Moscow, Pennsylvania, so that the earliest associa- 
tions of childhood dwelling in his memory are with the latter place. He re- 
ceived the elementary portion of his education at the local public schools, 
and at the age of fifteen found employment as a clerk in a country store. 
He did not remain in this service for a great while, inclination and ability 
having destined him to a different sort of career. He entered the Wyoming 
Seminary at Kingston, Pennsylvania, to prepare for a college course, and hav- 
ing graduated from this institution in 1891 he matriculated soon after at 
Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, from which he graduated with the class 
of 1895. Returning then to Scranton, the city of his birth, he registered a; 
a law student in Scranton, with Hon. Lemuel Amerman, and after reading 
law in his offices for the prescribed period, was admitted to the bar of Penn- 
sylvania, February 22, 1896. Two years later, in 1898, he was admitted to 
practice before the Supreme Court of the state. From the outset Mr. Martin's 
career was assured. His practice was rapidly developed, and his handling of 
the important cases entrusted to him was such as to increase his reputation 
and bring him to the notice of litigants in all parts of the state. His services 
were in quarters to which talent and ability always find their way, and he be- 
came attorney for a number of large transportation and industrial corpora- 
tions. On February 24, 1906, Mr. Martin was admitted to practice before 
the Supreme Court of the United States. Both the volume and the importance 
of his cases now increased, and he was one of the eminent counsel chosen to 
defend Judge Archbald at the time of that jurist's impeachment. He was one 
of those who defended Judge Archbald in the preliminary proceedings before 
the house of representatives, and in December, 1912, was admitted to the bar 
of the United States senate, sitting as a high court of Impeachment, and took 
part in that now famous trial. Mr. Martin, as a result of his brilliant record, 
not alone in this case, but in many others, only less important, is now regarded 
as one of the leaders of the bar both of the state and the nation. He is a 
member of the Lackawanna Law Library Association, of the Pennsylvania 
State Bar Association and the American Bar Association, member of the 
executive committee of the Pennsylvania State Bar Association and also holds 
membership on the committee of the American Bar Association. 

Besides his chosen profession, his very obvious abilities have been in de- 
mand in other quarters, and he is a director of the LInion National Bank of 
Scranton, and of several large mining companies. He is a member of the 
Republican party, but though an interested and intelligent observer of the 
great movements taking place in the political world of today, has never been 
tempted to take an active part in that department of public life, notwithstanding. 
He takes an active part in the social life of his community, and is a member 
of a number of organizations, such as the Scranton Club. C3ne of Mr. Martin's 
chief interests lies in the delightful realm of horticulture, and he might be 
called a gentleman farmer on a large scale. He belongs to the Lackawanna 
County Horticultural Society, and to the Grange of Covington township, where 
he owns two farms, upon one of which is situated his delightful summer home, 
and where he engages extensively in the cultivation of fruit, having there ovev 
a thousand fruit trees of many varieties. 

Mr. Martin married, November 6, 1906, Ellen Griffin, a daughter of Aaron 
and Sarah (McWade) Griffin, of Scranton. Mr. Griffin was a native of 
Scranton, where he held the office of superintendent for the Delaware, Lacka- 
wanna & Western Railroad. His death occurred in 1883 and he was survived 

j-.-~,^J/7s/ef,c^//^^ ^'^ 




by Mrs. Griffin until January, 191 1. By his wife, who was Miss Sarah Mc- 
Wade, a native of Covington township, Lackawanna county, Pennsylvania, he 
had three children, daughters, as follows: Ellen, now Mrs. Michael J. Martin; 
Grace, wife of Frank H. Jermyn ; Elizabeth, wife of W. W. Lathrope. Mrs. 
Martin is a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Scranton. 


Colonel Frederick W. Stillwell, who has made a most brilliant military 
record and enjoys wide acquaintance in the National Guard of Pennsylvania, 
among whom he is highly regarded for his fine soldierly qualities, was born in 
Scranton, June 14, 1865, a son of Captain Richard and Margaret (Snyder) 
Stillwell. His father was actively and intimately associated with that splendid 
group of pioneers — the Scrantons, Charles F. Mattes, William W. Manness, 
and others, who laid the foundations of the present greatness of the city of 
Scranton. Captain Stillwell also had an enviable military record. In his 
seventeenth year he enlisted in Captain Reeder's ( Easton ) company, and rose 
to the rank of orderly sergeant. In 1854 he organized the original Scranton 
Guard, was its first captain, and made it a notable organization. During the 
Civil war he served in the One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania Regi- 
ment, as captain, and participated in the battle of Antietam ; and was of the 
forlorn hope which charged Mary's Heights, at Fredericksburg, in which he 
was so severely wounded that he was obliged to resign. After this he served 
as assistant provost marshal, and performed arduous service in enforcing vari- 
ous drafts for fresh troops, and in the apprehension of deserters. Besides 
his active professional career in connection with coal and iron industries, ke 
gave to the city valuable services as chief of the fire department, member of 
the city council, and m other capacities. His wife was descended from General 
Peter Kichlein, who commanded a regiment of riflemen in the famous battle 
of Long Island (Brooklyn). 

Colonel Frederick W. Stillwell, son of Captain Richard Stillwell, was 
educated in the Scranton schools, and at the age of sixteen became a messenger 
in the First National Bank. He acquitted himself with marked fidelity, and in 
1893 was promoted to receiving teller, in which responsible position he has 
continued to the present time. He is also treasurer of the Wayne Development 
Company, and of the Pennsylvania, New. York & New Jersey Power Company, 
which are developing a large power enterprise on the Wallenpaupack river in 
Wayne and Pike counties, Pennsylvania. The doctrine of heredity finds ample 
illustration in his military life. On January 12, 1885, at the age of twenty, 
he enlisted as a private in Company A. Thirteenth Regiment Pennsylvania 
National Guard, was promoted to corporal, July 5, 1886, to sergeant, January 
22, 1888, and to second lieutenant. January 14, 1889. In 1892 Lieutenant Still- 
well performed eighteen days duty with his company at the scene of the Home- 
stead riots. He was promoted to captain, January 22, 1894, and to major, 
April 9, 1897, and with that rank performed duty for seventeen days in Sep- 
tember of that year in the coal fields on the occasion of the Lattimer riots. 
At the outbreak of the Spanish-American war six companies of the Thirteenth 
Regiment, all of Scranton, volunteered for field service, and with them Major 
Stillwell. The regiment, under command of Colonel H. A. Courson, was 
mustered into the service of the LTnited States at Camp Hastings, near Harris- 
burg, May 13, i8g8, and from May 19 to August 30 was stationed at Camp 
Alger, Virginia. It was then ordered to Camp Meade, at Middletown, Penn- 
sylvania, where Major Stillwell was promoted to lieutenant-colonel, October 
21. same year. On November 14th the regiment was transferred to Camp Mc- 


Kenzie, at Augusta, Georgia, to make preparations for a campaign in Cuba. 
The war, however, came to an abrupt close, and Lieutenant-Colonel Stillwell 
was mustered out with the regiment, March ii, 1899. During its term of 
service the command suffered severely from disease, losing by death nineteen 
men. Twelve officers out of thirty-six were in hospital at the same time. 
Officers and men, whatever their disappointment in not being participants 
in the active operations in Cuba, had the proud satisfaction that comes from 
doing all that a soldier may — obey the call of country, and perform such service 
as demanded. The Thirteenth Regiment returned to its place in the National 
Guard establishment, Lieutenant-Colonel Stillwell retaining his rank therein. 
In 1902, during the coal strike, he served for forty days at Olyphant, taking 
the regiment to that point and commanding it until the arrival of Colonel L. A. 
Watres. Lieutenant-Colonel Stillwell was commissioned colonel, August 25, 
1904, and still commands the regiment. 

The foregoing presents an unusual record of service — long and honorable, 
without a tinge of personal vainglory. Colonel Stillwell takes a laudable pride 
in the splendid body of citizen soldiery with which he has so long been identi- 
fied, and it is the concensus of opinion of both officers and men that its ex- 
cellent condition and esprit de corps is in very large degree due to his military 
ability and the enthusiasm which he awakened and sustained. Within six 
months after he assumed command the regiment had attained such a degree 
of efficiency that it passed from ninth to third place among the regiments of the 
National Guard of Pennsylvania, and it now ranks first in efficiency, accord- 
ing to reports on file in the War Department. Of Colonel Stillwell personally. 
it is to be said that throughout his career his various promotions have been 
solely upon merit, and he holds his subordinates to the same lofty standard 
which at the beginning he set up for himself, and all appointments and promo- 
tions recommended by him are based only upon demonstrated ability and de- 
servingness, his judgment uncolored by aught of a personal or political nature. 
With a well selected corps of officers, commissioned and non-commissioned, 
constituted through his unyielding adherence to these tenets, his ample techni- 
cal knowledge and his strict disciplinarianism, the Thirteenth stands forth as 
a regiment not to be surpassed in the National Guard establishment of any 
state in the Union. 


A graduate of Bucknell University and Dickinson College, from which 
latter institution he received the bachelor's degree in both arts and law, Ed- 
win C. Amerman has been a legal practitioner in Scranton since his admission 
to the bar, his active work in the city covering a period of ten years. That 
this decade has been spent in nothing but diligent professional application is 
evidenced by his present legal status and the dimensions of the practice that 
he has acquired in that time. 

Mr. Amerman is a native of Danville, Pennsylvania, his father, Jesse 
C, born at that place in 1821. Jesse C. Amerman was a farmer. He was 
twice elected to the Pennsylvania state legislature. He married Margaret Ap- 
pleman, and had children: Charles \'., of Danville, Pennsylvania; Edwin C. 
of whom further. 

Edwin C. Amerman, son of Jesse C. and Margaret (Appleman) Amerman, 
was born November 20, 1878, and in his boyhood was a student in the public 
schools of his native place. After attending the Mansfield State Normal School 
he matriculated at Bucknell University, later entering Dickinson College and 
there completed the prescribed classical course and received the degree of A. B. 



and then took up the study of law, being graduated LL. B. in 1904. On October 
10, 1904, Mr. Anierman was admitted to the bar and immediately began the 
practice of his profession in Scranton, remaining in that city to the present 
time. He is now associated in the practice of law with George M. Maxey. 
Mr. Amerman has succeeded in his profession not only through natural talents 
that have been strong factors in his rise to prominence in legal affairs, but 
through his quick comprehension, easy adaptability, and intimate knowledge of 
the law. He has passed the period when books are his study, and derives much 
of his legal prowess from close scrutiny of men, motives and facts. At the 
bar he is a trained and fluent speaker, a forceful advocate, full of conviction, 
gaining the ear of his audience through his intense earnestness quite as much 
as through the plea he presents. Mr. Amerman is a thirty-second degree 
Mason, belonging in that society to Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, 
of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, and also affiliates with the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. His political views are strongly Democratic, that be- 
ing the party he has ever supported. He married Lillian, daughter of William 
Rechel, of Rupert, Pennsylvania, and has one daughter, Margaret. 


Dr. I. Raymond Vincent, one of the most successful of the rising genera- 
tion of physicians of Scranton, is a member of a family of Scotch-Irish origin, 
and typical of the best character of that strong and dominant race, which has 
contributed so large and valuable an element to the make-up of the composite 
citizenship of this country, and impressed our people with no little share of 
their own hardy virtues of indomitable courage and practical sense. Of this 
race in the first place, the X'incents have nevertheless dwelt for so many genera- 
tions in America, in that part comprised within the limits of Eastern Pennsyl- 
vania, that they have become completely identified with the life and traditions 
of that region. 

The paternal grandfather of Dr. Vincent was Isaac Vincent, a native, 
himself, of Pennsylvania, and a life-long resident of that state, where he 
followed the occupation of farming with a high degree of success. He was 
a well known figure in his community. He married Phoeba Watson, of what 
is now known as Watson Town, named after her family. Her father and his 
three brothers were, indeed, the original settlers in and the founders of the 
place. They were pioneers in that region, making their way at that early date 
through what was virgin wilderness. Arriving at the site of the present Wat- 
son Town, they proceeded to clear the land, and built the first rough dwell- 
ings. Coming some years later to the spot, Isaac \'incent met and wed the 
daughter of one of these hardy pioneers, Phoeba W'atson. To the couple 
were born five children, as follows: i. George, the father of our subject. 
2. Rebecca, who became the wife of Dr. J. L. Lowrie, of Winchester, Illinois, 
deceased ; they had two children. Paulina and William. 3. Elizabeth, now Mrs. 
Frederick Van Fleet, and the mother of one son. Vincent. 4. Henry Clay, 
who married Bertie Opp ; they had four children : Hazel, Fred, Dudley and 
Margaret. 5. Charles, now a resident of Boston, Massachusetts. 

George Vincent, father of Dr. Vincent of this sketch, was born in Watson 
Town, where his father had settled some years previously, in the year 1852, 
and following in the elder man's footsteps he engaged in farming all his life. 
He was very successful in this and became a man of substance and a con- 
spicuous figure in Watson Town and the surrounding country. His death 
occurred in 1904, at the age of fifty-two years. He was married to Laura B. 
McKaen, a native of Jacksonville, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of Samuel 


McKaen of that place. To George and Laura B. (McKaen) Vincent were 
born five children, as follows: i. Dr. I. Raymond, the subject of this sketch. 
2. Elizabeth Lowry, now the wife of the Rev. B. F. Bieber, a clergyman of 
the Lutheran church, and the mother of one daughter, Laura Frances. 3. 
Phoeba Rebecca, resides at the home of her parents. 4. Lucy Bell. 5. Wil- 
liam Mark. 

Dr. L Raymond Vincent, the eldest child of George and Laura B. (Mc- 
Kaen) Vincent, was born December 25, 1878, at Watson Town, Northumber- 
land township, Pennsylvania. He received the elementary portion of his edu- 
cation in the public schools of Watson Town, and graduated from the high 
school there in the year 1896, having prepared himself for college. Upon 
completing his studies at these institutions, he matriculated at Bucknell Col- 
lege, Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, and graduated therefrom with the class of 
1900, with the degree of Bachelor of Science. He then took up the profession 
of teaching, and for two years after his graduation occupied the post of in- 
structor in the schools of Watson Town and the adjoining districts. In tne 
meantime, however, the purpose had been growing in the young man's mind to 
devote his life and energies to the profession of medicine, to which he was 
strongly drawn by interest and inclination. Accordingly, at the end of the two 
years mentioned, he returned to his studies, this time matriculating at the Jef- 
ferson Medical College in Philadelphia. Here he set himself to the task of 
mastering the great subject he had chosen as his life work, with all his char- 
acteristic aptitude and zeal, distinguishing himself highly during the three 
years he remained in the institution, and graduated with the class of 1905, with 
the degree of M. D. He was twenty-seven years of age at the time of his 
graduation, but instead of immediately beginning his active practice, he spent 
six months at Wolmesdorf, Pennsylvania, and the following six months in 
the employ of the Great Lakes Coal Company, at Taylor, Pennsylvania. On 
June 18, 1906, Dr. Vincent came to Scranton, Pennsylvania, and there 
established himself in the medical practice which has steadily developed since 
that time. It is beyond doubt that his choice of medicine as a career was a 
wise one on the part of Dr. Vincent. His practice is demonstrating his ability, 
not only to his own clientele, but to his colleagues throughout the region. He 
is a member of the Lackawanna County Medical Society, and the State Medical 
Association. He is also a member of Peter Williamson Lodge, No. 328, F. 
and A. M. ; of Keystone Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret; 
Irem Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and of the Temple Club. He is a 
member of the Republican party, and takes a keen interest in all political 
questions, whether the issues involve merely local or larger considerations, 
and is an intelligent observer of local politics, albeit his duties preclude any 
participation in them on his part. His religious affiliations are with the Pres- 
byterian church, and he attends the Second Church of that denomination in 
Scranton. He is active in so far as his professional duties permit, in the work 
of the church, and materially supports the many benevolences in connection 

Dr. Vincent married (first) Kate G. Dunkel, a daughter of Hiram Dunkel, 
of Watson Town, where she was born. This marriage took place on Septem- 
ber 26, 1906. Mrs. Vincent died August 25, 1908. Dr. Vincent married 
(second) Mrs. Bessie F. Flemming, a sister of his first wife. She is a native 
of Pennsylvania. 





There is a certain satisfaction that follows duty well performed, even when 
results are not as hoped for, but to Mr. Hendrickson has been granted the 
higher satisfaction of seeing his labors crowned with the best of success. The 
Eureka Specialty Printing Company, organized with small capital, has grown 
in importance and influence until it is a firm to be reckoned with, even in im- 
portant governmental printing, and consultations are not infrequent with high 
government officials connected with the bureau of engraving and printing at 
Washington. Forrest F. is a son of John Hendrickson, and a grand- 
son of Uriah Hendrickson, of Great Bend, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, 
and of Dutch ancestry. 

John Hendrickson was born in Great Bend, September 11, 1825, died in 
1899. He learned the shoemaker's trade in early life, but later engaged in 
farming, owning his own abundant acres. He followed agriculture for several 
years, finally selling his farm and returning to the shoe business. He mar- 
ried Mary Ann Curtis and had issue : William, Fred J., Forrest F., Grace. 

Forrest F. Hendrickson was born in Jackson, Susquehanna county, Penn- 
sylvania, January 21, 1870. He attended the public schools, finishing at Gib- 
son Graded School, winning by his excellent scholarship the coveted honor 
of valedictorian of the graduating class. After completing his studies he 
taught for two years and in 1891 located in Scranton. He began business life 
as a bookkeeper for the Elk Hill Coal Company, remaining with that concern 
for three years. He then became salesman for the Eureka Cash Register and 
Credit Company, introducing their system of cash and credit accounting. He 
was with the Eureka four years, then was in the retail grocery business with 
his brother, Fred, for two years. At the end of his mercantile experience he 
sold out to his brother and returned to the employ of the "Eureka." That 
company had become sadly in the toils, but Mr. Hendrickson effected a re- 
organization under the present style and title. The Eureka Specialty Printing 
Company, with himself as president. The combined cash capital of the owners 
was but $5,000, and with this the company started business anew, but con- 
fining themselves to specialty printing. The working force in 1903, at the 
start, consisted of five boys, but under the guidance of Mr. Hendrickson work 
of quality and attractive design was turned out from the presses and orders 
flowed in. From this small start, advance has been con,stant, the end of the 
first decade in business, 1913, finding one hundred and twenty people on the 
payroll of the company, and the tiny $5,000 capital carrying a business of a 
quarter of a million dollars annually, with goods being shipped to every part 
of the United States. Pages of laudation could not equal these facts in esti- 
mating Mr. Hendrickson's efficiency as an executive manager. He founded, 
built up, and is the present head of a most prosperous company. In 1909 he 
with others organized the Green Ridge Bank, with a capital of $50,000. Of 
this prosperous financial institution Mr. Hendrickson is president. He is also 
owner of the Green Ridge Department Store, East Market street, corner of 
Boulevard avenue, which is under the management of his brother, Fred J. 
Hendrickson. Probably no man in business in Scranton can show such a 
record of achievement in a single decade as herein recorded. 

Mr. Hendrickson is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and is a trustee of the same. He is a member of the Scranton and Press clubs, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and of Camp No. 400, P. O. S. of A. 
While interested in all that pertains to the public welfare of his city, state 
and country, he has never entered into political life save in the exercise of his 


franchise, his ballot usually being cast for the candidates of the Republican 

Mr. Hendrickson married, March lo, 1892, Eva May, daughter of John 
and Anna Price. Children : Blanche, Edna, Mildred, Marion, Evelyn, Forrest, 
died in 1908, Ollie, Kenton, Robert, Elinor. 


The men of deeds are the men who excite the admiration of the world, and 
when a man rises to a position of prominence, whether it be in the business 
world or in private life, he merits and receives the esteem and respect of all 
by reason of the sterling qualities he must undoubtedly possess. It is of such 
a man that this review treats, in the person of Carey P. Williams, of Scranton, 

The Williams family of Wales and England is of great antiquity. The sur- 
name is derived from the ancient personal name William. Sir Robert Wil- 
liams, ninth baronet of the House of Williams of Penrhyn, was a lineal 
descendant from Marchudes of Cyan, Lord of Abergelen, in Denbighshire, of 
one of the fifteen tribes of North Wales that lived in the time of Roderick the 
Great, King of the Britons, about A. D.. 849. In Wales it was formerly ap 
Williams, and it is worthy of note that Morgan ap Williams, of Glamorgan- 
shire, Gentleman, married a sister of Lord Thomas Cromwell, afterwards 
Earl of Essex, who was the ancestor of the noted Puritan, Oliver Cromwell. 
The ancient Williams coat-of-arms of the Welsh family is: Sable a lion ram- 
pant argent armed and langued gules. The crest is a moor cock. The seat of 
the family was at Flint, Wales, and in Lincolnshire. The Williams families 
of America descend from more than a score of different immigrant ancestors, 
the branch in question here having landed in 1636. The immigrant ancestor's 
name was Robert. 

(I) Erastus Polodore W'illiams, great-grandfather of Carey P. Williams, 
and lineal descendant of Robert Williams, was one of the earliest of the 
pioneer settlers in Vermont, coming there from Massachusetts. He died in 
Northfield, Vermont. 

( II ) Silas Williams, son of Erastus Polodore Williams, was born in Rai'.- 
dolph, \'ermont. He was a farmer there, and died there at an advanced age. 
He married Cornelia Safiford. who died in Randolph, \"ermont, at the age of 
eighty years, and of their four children those now living are: Carlos D., cf 
further mention ; Persis Ann, married Frank A. Preston. 

(III) Carlos D. Williams, son of Silas and Cornelia (Safiford) Williams, 
was born in Randolph, \'ermont, and there grew to manhood. His educa- 
tion was acquired partly in his native town and partly in Northfield, where 
he learned the drug trade, with which he has been successfully identified a'l 
the business years of his life. From Northfield he came to Burlington, \'er- 
mont. where he established himself in the drug business and has one of the 
finest and oldest stores in the city. He has won a reputation for the reliability 
with which his business is transacted, a matter of paramount importance in a 
concern of this nature. He was in active service throughout the duration of 
the Civil war, being first lieutenant in Company F, Twelfth Regiment Vermont 
Volunteer Infantry. His last position during this struggle was in the com- 
missary department. He is a member of the local post. Grand Army of the 
Republic, has served for some time as commander, and is holding this office 
at the present time. He served on the staff of the state department com- 
mander, and has taken an active part and interest in all Grand .Army matters. 
He is also a member of the Loyal Legion and of the Masonic fraternity. 



Mr. Williams married (second) Ellen Thayer, born in Northfield, Vei- 
mont, and their only child is Carey P., of further mention. Mrs. Williams 
is a daughter of James C. B. Thayer, a prominent resident of Northfield, Ver- 
mont, where he was connected officially with several banks. She has a sister, 
Alice, who married W. M. Rennbough, and resides in Dales, Oregon, and a 
brother, H. B. Thayer, vice-president of a corporation in New York City. 
In our New England Colonial history the family name Thayer has been 
known since the first half of the seventeenth century, and is closely connected 
with John and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, of "Mayflower" fame. The name 
came to us from England, from the village of Thaydon, in Essex, about 
eighteen miles north of London. Augustine Thayer, of Thaydon, through the 
grace of his sovereign, was granted a coat-of-arms, and received other marks 
of the royal favor. Evidently he was a person of considerable distinction and 
exercised an influence in the shire in which he lived. Both in the mother 
country and in New England this surname is found written Thear, Their and 
Theyer, as well as Thayer, the latter being the generally accepted form of 
spelling by virtually all of the families on this side of the Atlantic Ocean. 
The immigrant Thaycrs were Richard and Thomas, the former of whom had 
lands granted him in 1635, and was made freeman the same year, and the 
latter in 1640. They are believed to have come to America as early as 1630, 
from Braintree, Essex, England, and were among the earliest settlers of 
Braintree, Massachusetts, in New England. 

(IV) Carey P. Williams, son of Carlos D. and Ellen (Thayer) William^:, 
was born in Northfield, Vermont, May 11, 1880. He received his preparatory 
education in the public schools and the high schools of Burlington, Vermont, 
after which he matriculated at the University of Vermont, and was graduated 
from that institution in the class of 1902. His first business position was 
with the Baldwin Locomotive Works, at Philadelphia, where he remained one 
year: he then devoted himself to the telephone business in Philadelphia, then 
remained one year at Jenkintown ; three years at Norristown ; one and a half 
years at Scranton ; one and a half years at Reading, Pennsylvania; then re- 
turned to Scranton, in October, 191 1, and his business interests have since 
been identified with that city. He was made traffic supervisor of the Scranton- 
Wilkes-Barre District, comprising a section one hundred and fifty-eight miles 
wide and two hundred miles long, and he has developed this up to the highest 
possible standard. He has executive ability of a high order, and this com- 
bined with his foresight make of him "the right man in the right place." Mr. 
Williams has taken an active part in the public affairs of Scranton, was one 
of the organizers of the Boy Scout Council, and has held official position in 
this body since 1909. He is a member of the Delta Psi fraternity ; the Loyal 
Legion of the United States, a military organization ; the Rotary Club of 
Scranton Scouts; master of the Boy Scouts; and organized the Reading 
Council. His religious affiliation is with the Protestant Episcopal church. Mr. 
Williams married, in October, 1908, Edith C. Lynch, of Philadelphia, and 
they have children : Carey P. Jr.. Charlotte T., John Alden. 


From Pennsylvania via New Jersey, Connecticut and England, the Beers 
genealogy may be traced to Holland, in Europe. The settlement in America 
was made in Connecticut at an early day, from thence two brothers settled 
in Morris county, New Jersey, from whence came Elias Tompkins Beers, 
grandfather of Fred Elias Beers, of Scranton. locating in Honesdale, Penn- 
sylvania, the birth-place of the two succeeding generations of this branch. 


Elias Tompkins Beers, who came from Morris county, New Jersey, to 
Honesdale, Pennsylvania, in 1835, was a son of David Beers, and grandson of 
Nathan Beers, one of the two brothers above referred to. He was a mason, 
contractor and builder and for many years conducted a large business in and 
around Honesdale. Monuments to his mechanical skill, sterling integrity and 
uncompromising honesty, there exist in number, including the Methodist, Bap- 
tist, Presbyterian and Lutheran churches, the public building and finest private 
residences of his day. He married Harriet Pruden, and left issue: Ulysses F., 
of whom further; Fannie, died in 191 1; Delia, married S. A. Roper and yet 
resides in Dandy, New York. 

Ulysses F. Beers, only son of Elias Tompkins Beers, was born in Hones- 
dale, Pennsylvania, October 15, 1842, where he resided until 1913 when he 
came to reside with his son in Scranton. He spent his active years as a 
builder, having been a contractor of all forms of mason work, a trade he 
learned in all its branches and followed until his retirement. He married 
Amelia S.. daughter of Z. M. Pike Bunnell, of Pennsylvania. Children, all 
deceased except Fred E. : Kniven Kirk, Harriet A., Roscoe D., Carlton F., 
Fred Elias. 

Fred Elias Beers was born in Honesdale, Pennsylvania, November 20, 1870. 
He was educated in the public schools of Honesdale, finishing at high school, 
Wyoming Business College ( 1888-89 ) then spent two years at Susquehanna 
Collegiate Institute at Towanda, Pennsylvania. At that point in his career he 
decided upon the law as his profession, entered the law department of the 
University of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated LL. B., class of 1896, 
returning the following year and taking a post-graduate course. He registered 
as a law student with Patterson & Wilcox, of Scranton, and in 1896 was ad- 
mitted to the Lackawanna county bar. After his post-graduate course he 
opened a law office in the Connell Building, and was there until 1913 when he 
moved to the Pauli Building. He is a well established, highly regarded at- 
torney of the city, piacticing in all state and federal courts of the district, in 
association with R. Louis Grambs, a graduate of the law department of Cor- 
nell L'niversity, forming the firm of Beers & Grambs at No. 419 Connell Build- 
ing. Mr. Beers is a member of the State and County Bar associations, the 
Knights of Malta, the Patriotic Order Sons of America and Green Ridge Club, 
and in political action is strictly independent. For five generations in direct 
line the family heads have been elders and deacons of the Presbyterian church 
and pillars of strength in their respective congregations. 

Mr. Beers married, in 1899, Mazie P., daughter of John and Jemima 
(Matthews) Davis. Children: Fred Sturges. born November 9, 1900; John 
Robert, November 20, 1901. The family residence is at Dalton, Pennsylvania. 


It was indeed a fortunate coincidence for the city of Scranton that in 1889, 
when a special committee of the Board of Trade presented a report to the 
eflfect "that they considered the starting of a free public library in Scranton 
as feasible, provided the sum of at least $35,000 could be raised by subscription, 
and tliat the chance of being able to do so was sufficiently good to warrant 
the effort," that John Joseph Albright, now of Buft'alo, New York, came to the 
front and offered to donate the site and building as a memorial to his parents, 
Joseph J. and Elizabeth Albright. Mr. Albright determined that the build- 
ing should be centrally located on the Albright homestead site, at the inter- 
section of Washington avenue and Vine street ; his brother and sisters joining 
him in the gift of land, and the entire tender was submitted to the city with the 


following conditional clauses : I. For the establishment of a free public library 
for the use and benefit of the citizens and residents of Scranton. II. That the 
building be called the Albright Memorial Building. III. That the library there- 
in placed be reasonably maintained. IV. That the same be managed and con- 
trolled by a board of sixteen trustees, to be selected and appointed in manner 
as specified. V. That the management and control provided for may be 
changed at any time to conform to any general laws of the commonwealth 
regulating free public libraries, when accepted by a majority of the trustees. 

In due time city councils made formal acceptance of Mr. Albright's gift, 
by an ordinance passed and approved April 5, 1890, in accordance with a deed 
of gift which conveyed the property to trustees named for the purpose. Build- 
ing operations were not begun for twelve months, the time being occupied by 
the preparation of plans, letting of contracts, and for study of the entire situa- 

Stimulated by Mr. Albright's magnificent gift, the "Citizens Subscription 
Fund" soon reached $25,000; contributions of one hundred and forty-one per- 
sons, in sums ranging from $3.00 to $1,000, and one of $5,000. The success 
of this movement, designed for the purchase of books, was due largely to the 
constant and untiring solicitations of the Rev. S. C. Logan, D. D., and the 
equally earnest labors of Henry Belin Jr., treasurer of the committee. The first 
stock of books purchased numbered about fourteen thousand six hundred 
volumes, all of which were minutely catalogued and placed in condition for 
use ; so that, on the completion of the building, and its dedication, the latter 
occurring on May 25, 1893, the library was ready to be opened to the public, 
whose use of the same began on the first of June, following. As soon as the 
proposed library became a certainty, negotiations were begun by the librarv 
board for a librarian, their choice falling upon Henry J. Carr, a most fortu- 
nate selection, who was engaged to undertake the organization of the library ; 
a work he accomplished with painstaking fidelity and has since continued as 

By a subsequent will of Trustee William Tallman Smith $1,000 was be- 
queathed the library, which has been invested to found the "William Tallman 
Smith Mining Section Fund," the income from the bequest to be used for the 
purchase of technical works on mines and mining. The library depends solely 
upon city appropriations for its support, which it has received annually, since 
its founding, in sums varying from $10,000 to $15,000 and upwards. By judic- 
ious application of those somewhat limited appropriations the library has been 
able to fill a long felt need in the life of the city ; and, as an educational centre, 
has served well the purpose of its founder and is an enduring memorial to the 
parents of John Joseph Albright. The success of the library, too, has been due 
to the stability of the board of trustees, several of the original members still 

The Albright Memorial Building was erected at a final cost to its donor oF 
$125,000, and is a substantial structure of pleasing architecture, in Franch 
chateau style of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries; the exterior material 
being gray Indiana limestone, based on brown Medina stone, all laid in coursed 
ashlar. The main portion of the building runs parallel with Vine street, and 
is two stories in height, with a basement, from which a right angle wing pro- 
jects, slightly lower, containing three stack room floors and a large room above 
The roofs are high, of steep pitch, with twelve dormer gables, covered with 
black Spanish tiles. In the panels of the dormers, as on other parts of the 
building, are elaborately carved symbols of the notable early bookmakers. 
Iron window sash, English casement style, have the glass leaded in various pat- 
terns, and the transoms contain leaded medallions, showing the distinguishing 


marks and devices used by the early printers ; while large colored glass win- 
dows, in prominent portions of the building, depict celebrated book-bindings 
of past centuries. The entrance hallway is laid in marble mosaic and the in 
terior finish is in quartered oak, including the first story ceiling. Plate glass 
partitions divide the lower floor into rooms, a view of the entire length being 
possible. Three fireplaces constructed of imported marbles give a striking 
eflfect. Including the stack-rooms, main building and basement, there is shelv- 
ing space possible for seventy thousand volumes. In the near future an ad- 
dition will be necessary; a prediction based upon the past growth and the al 
ready crowded conditions now existing. 

Henry James Carr, librarian of the Scranton Public Library, son of 
Colonel James Webster and Jane D. (Goodhue) Carr, was born in Pembroke, 
New Hampshire, August i6, 1849. He obtained his education in the grammar 
and high schools of Manchester, New Hampshire, and Grand Rapids, Michi- 
gan. From 1867 to 1886 he was accountant and cashier in commercial and 
railway offices, later taking a partial law course at the University of Michigan 
and gaining admission to the bar in 1879, although never engaging in the prac- 
tice of the profession. In 1886 he became librarian of the Grand Rapids Pub- 
lic Library, continuing as such until 1890, when he went to Saint Joseph, 
Missouri, to organize a free public library in that city. In the following year 
he came to Scranton, Pennsylvania, where he assisted the board of managers 
in their plans for the new institution, his experience being a great help to 
those in authority. Since that time he has been the capable head of the active 
library work, the city receiving from his competent management a library of 
exceptional system. He is a member of the American Library Association and 
from 1886 to 1893 was its treasurer; from 1895 to 1896 recorder; vice-presi- 
dent in 1896; secretary from 1898 to 1900; president from 1900 to 1901 ; and 
a member of its council to the present time. In other organizations relative 
to his calling he has also been prominent and is past vice-president and past 
president of the Pennsylvania Library Club; and past president of the Key- 
stone State Library Association. He is a contributor to several technical 
periodicals, his articles being mainly on commercial accounting and library 
topics. In his chosen calling, Mr. Carr has achieved an enviable reputation, 
his prominence among others of the same following proving his worth, inas- 
much as the judgment of one's colleagues is the final test of merit. Mr. Carr 
married. May 13, 1886, D. Edith Wellbridge, of Springfield, Illinois. 


In the person of Charles Dudley Sanderson the Scranton district is pos- 
sessed of a citizen, who besides holding a prominent position in many circles, 
is backed by the prestige of ancestry through "Mayflower" descent through 
his father's mother, Mary (Cook) Sanderson, a member of this family hav- 
ing had passage on that famous vessel. 

(I) The pioneer ancestor of the Sanderson family settled in Waltham, 
Massachusetts, in 1636, marrying. October 15, 1645, Mary Eggleston, of Dor- 
chester, and had children : Deacon Jonathan, of whom further ; Hester. 

(II) Deacon Jonathan Sanderson, of Cambridge, was born September 15, 
1646, probably moved to Piety Corner, Waltham, about 1689, died September 
3, 1735, and is buried in the old graveyard at Waltham. He married, October 
24, 1669, Abbie Bartlett, born May 28, 1651, died September 13, 1723, and was 
buried by the side of her husband. They were the parents of: John; Samue', 
of whom further; Edward, died in 1776. married Mary Parkhurst and had 



" '", RO,.S »5 "• THEN »VAS, 
',: •■' tENCfO THE miONlSMT «ISe OF 

/•aUl. REVCJt. 
■ - ,.p AT .BOUT TWO OC.^C. O^- r»f .ORN.NO- 

l.«,i. /« 1775, T»£ «««r BflNO etFAIf ^NO T^HE 
MOC«>H ,Ti T«;«0 «UA.(««.50T THUS fAH ON Bl* 
, ■-.M.-T^u T.-1 jnuccOr^ ALARMINO THE 

'•- ' co-f/i-POHS. Wll-LIAH OAWf 5. OP e«TON, AND DK. 



ruHKIH » BAt-K.HAK ms tSc>,Fe.PHes<iOTT, 
C1.IAHIJ»» THE srowi MTAU, ANO Fotiowmo- A PATH 



TO i-tX.NSTOW, There FiELe>»S£0, A«D ThA" 

MonK.Mft jemrp Hahcock amp Adams. 

ntfuft ,r THC NIfiHT „, , 

Tah/ef on the roac/fo Concorc/ 
(in fhe tpwn ofUhco/n) 



two children ; Hannah, married George Stearns, of Lexington, and settled at 

(HI) Samuel Sanderson, son of Deacon Jonathan and Abbie (Bartlett) 
Sanderson, was born May 28, 1681, and was killed by lightning, July 8, 1722. 
He married, April 13, 1708, Mercy Gale, born September 16, 1683, died May 
8, 1776. Children: Samuel, served in the French and Indian war; Abraham, 
married Patience Smith, settled in Lunenburg and they were the parents of 
thirteen children; Jonathan, of whom further; Mercy; Moses, married (first) 
Mary Flagg, (second) Elizabeth Goddard. 

(IV) Jonathan (2) Sanderson, son of Samuel and Mercy (Gale) Sander- 
son, was born February 24, 17 14, died March 31, 1780. He married (first) Mar)' 
Stearns, (second) Mary Bemis, born March 10, 1722, died August 16, 1801, 
their marriage having been solemnized February 26, 1744. He was the father 
of: Mary; Esther, married Captain Phineas Stearns, being his second wife; 
Samuel, of whom further; Sarah; Elijah David; Nathan, married (first) 
Elizabeth Bond, (second) Mrs. Mary Hastings, and had ten children, all by his 
first marriage ; Jacob Jonathan, married Mary Adams ; Anna, married Isaac 

(V) Samuel (2) Sanderson, son of Jonathan (2) and Mary (Bemis) 
Sanderson, was born September 8, 1748, moved to Lancaster about 1776, and 
died in 1800. He was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. He was captured 
on the same evening and at the same place as Paul Revere, as is told in the 
following lines : 


(In the Town of Lincoln) 


On the old Concord road, as it then was, ended the midnight ride of Paul Revere. He 
had at about two o'clock of the evening of April 19, 1775, the night being clear and 
the moon in its third quarter, got thus far on his way from Lexington to Concord, alarm- 
ing the inhabitants as he went, when he and his companions, William Dawes, of Boston, 
and Dr. Samuel Prescott, of Concord, were suddenly halted by a British patrol, who had 
stationed themselves at this bend of the road. Dawes, turning back, made his escape. 
Prescott, clearing the stone wall and following a path known to him through the low 
ground, regained the highway at a point further on, and gave the alarm at Concord. 
Revere tried to reach the neighboring wood, but was intercepted by a party of officers 
accompanying the patrol, detained and kept in arrest. Presently he was carried by the 
patrol back to Lexington, and there released, and that morning joined Hancock and 
Adams. Three men of Lexington, Sanderson, Brown, and Loring, stopped at an earlier 
hour of the night by the same patrol, were also taken back with Revere. 

Mr. Sanderson married at Lexington, Massachusetts, October 27, 1772, 
Mary Monroe, who died in Lexington, October 15, 1852, at the marvelous age 
of one hundred and four years. In the Hand Book of Lexington Massa- 
chusetts, published in 1891, under the direction of the Lexington Historical 
Society, Mary Monroe Sanderson is mentioned as follows : "Near the old 
Monroe Tavern, a little below and on the same side of the road, is the old 
Sanderson House in which a wounded soldier was left by the British under the 
care of Mrs. Sanderson. She lived to the remarkable age of one hundred 
years and used to tell that the English soldier feared that she ineant to poison 
him and would not take food or drink until some member of the family had 
tasted it. In this house was born Lewis Downing, the famous coach builder." 
Samuel and Mary (Monroe) Sanderson had issue: Amos; Mary, married 
Daniel Clark; Samuel, of whom further; Nancy; Lydia, married Ezra Fiske, 
of Weston, Massachusetts ; Isaac, of East Cambridge. 


(VI) Samuel (3) Sanderson, son of Samuel (2) and Mary (Monroe) 
Sanderson, was born January 17, 1776, died July 18, 1829. He married 
Eunice, daughter of George L. Lawrence, born May 3, 1784, and had children: 
Benjamin Lawrence, of whom further; Marshall; Chester, married Sarah 
Stickney; Caroline, married Edward Goodnow ; Grace; Elizabeth Herrick; 

(VII) Benjamin Lawrence Sanderson, son of Samuel (3) and Eunice 
(Lawrence) Sanderson, was born in West Cambridge, Massachusetts, and 
was a lieutenant-colonel in the Massachusetts Militia, his commission from 
Levi Lincoln, governor of the state, reading as follows : 

His Excellency, Levi Lincoln, Governor and Commander in Chief of the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts to Benjamin L. Sanderson, Esq. Greetings — 

You have been elected on the loth day of July, 1832, Lieut. Colonel of the First 
Regiment of Cavalry in the First Brigade and Third Division of the Militia of the 
Commonvifealth ; reposing special trust and conlidence in your ability, courage, and good 
conduct, I do, by these presents, Commission you accordingly. You will therefore with 
honor and fidelity discharge the duties of said office according to the laws of this Com- 
monwealth and to the Military Rule and Discipline. And all inferior Officers and sol- 
diers are hereby commanded to obey you in your said capacity, and you will yourself 
observe and follow such Orders and Instructions as you shall from time to time receive 
from the Commander in Chief, or others your Superior officers. 

Given under my hand and the seal of the Commonwealth the 14th day of July, 1832, 
and in the 57th year of the Independence of the United States of America. 

By His Excellency, the Governor, 


EDWARD BANGS, Secretary of the Commonwealth. 

Benjamin L. Sanderson married j\Iary C. Cook and had children: Theo- 
dore Lyman, born in 1824, married (first) Mary , (second) Lizzie 

Corey; Emily, married William Kidder; Clarence Marcellus, of whom further. 

(VIII) Clarence Marcellus Sanderson, son of Benjamin L. and Alary C. 
(Cook) Sanderson, was born at Charlestown Neck, now Arlington, Massa- 
chusetts, June 9, 1829, and until he was thirteen years of age attended the 
comtnon school of West Cambridge, at that age moving to Vermont. Upon 
attaining his majority he engaged in business in the copper mining regions 
of Lake Superior, in 1865 becoming a member of the firm of Day, Huddle 
& Company, coal dealers, in Maiden, Massachusetts, and in 1876 became the 
owner of the Phoenix Colliery at Pittston, Pennsylvania, organizing the Pan- 
coast Coal Company, of Scranton, the property of that company being in 
Throop. This concern enjoyed a successful continuance and Mr. Sanderson 
was connected therewith the remainder of his active life. He maintained his 
residence in Newark, New Jersey, his summer home being in the beautiful 
village of Madison, New Jersey. He was well known in social and fraternal 
organizations, belonging to the Essex Club of Newark, Lodge, Chapter, Com- 
mandery and Shrine of the Masonic Order, the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Royal Arcanum and the Knights of Honor. He married 
(first) in 1851, Mary Orinda, who died in 1864, daughter of the Hon. John 
Waite, of West Randolph, Vermont; (second) in 1866, Mrs. Eliza A. Bellman, 
of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Children of first marriage : Mary Emma, born 
in 1853 ; Charles Dudley, of whom further. By his second marriage he ha& 
one son, James Murray, born in 1872, a graduate of Columbia Law School, 
class of 1895. 

(IX) Charles Dudley Sanderson, son of Clarence Marcellus and Mary 
Orinda (Waite) Sanderson, was born at Rockland, Ontonagon county, Michi- 
gan, October 13, 1856. His birthplace was a log cabin, and in 1862 he ac- 
companied his parents to Maiden, Massachusetts, and to Newark, New Jer- 





sey, in 1866. He obtained his education in the pubHc and private institutionb 
of Maiden, Massachusetts, and Newark, New Jersey, in December, 1874, 
moving to Waverly, New York, three years later to Wilkes-Barre, Pennsyl- 
vania. In April, 1879, 'i*^ returned to Waverly, learning the trade of machinist 
in the locomotive works of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, at Wilkes- 
Barre, and at Waverly. Moving to Throop, Pennsylvania, on January 26, 
1882, he entered the employ of the Pancoast Coal Company, subsequently 
serving that corporation in a variety of capacities, among them locomotive en- 
gineer, weighmaster, bookkeeper and paymaster, being made general superin- 
tendent of the company on October i, 1888. For fourteen years and two 
months he directed the multifarious and complicated affairs of this concern, 
resigning his position at the end of that time, the ownership of the company 
having changed hands. Mr. Sanderson took up his residence in the city of 
Scranton, April I, 1901, entering into business as a stock broker, his services, 
because of his well known business record, being greatly in demand. He was 
later appointed treasurer of a manufacturing concern, and was afterward en- 
gaged as manufacturer's agent in the sale of machinery and supplies, a 
business oiifering practically inexhaustible resources in such a community as 
Scranton. While a resident of Throop, Mr. Sanderson took an active part 
in all public aft'airs and gave abundantly of his time and efficient service to his 
city, the same characteristics having marked his career as a member of the 
Scranton community. He was appointed postmaster of Throop by President 
Arthur, January 5, 1882, holding this office continuously for nineteen years, 
and on February 17, 1885, was elected burgess of Dickson City borough, serv- 
ing one year. He was a member of the school board of Dickson City borough, 
being elected in February, 1887, serving as secretary for three years, at the 
end of that time being re-elected and was made president of the board. When 
the setting off of Throop from the borough of Dickson City was proposed 
he was prominent in the agitation of this matter and instrumental in securing 
incorporation papers for the new borough, which were granted April 16, 
1894. On May i, 1894, he was elected school director of the borough of 
Throop, holding the office of secretary for one year, being re-elected the fol- 
lowing year, and for three years was president, secretary and treasurer, respec- 
tively. For seven years he was treasurer of Throop Hose Company, No. i, 
of which he was a founder, a fire-fighting organization which has performed 
meritorious service in the borough. Since April i, 1898, Mr. Sanderson has 
been a vestryman of St. Luke's Episcopal Church, having been re-elected each 
year since that date. He is a Thirty-second Degree Mason, belonging to Peter 
Williamson Lodge, No. 323, F. and A. M., of which he is past master; Lacka- 
wanna Chapter, No. 185, R. A. M. ; Scranton Council, No. 44, R. and S. M. ; 
Keystone Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret ; Coeur de Lion 
Commandery, No. 17, K. T., of which he is a past eminent commander; and 
Lulu Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is also 
a member of Scranton Council, No. 923, R. A.; I. O. of H., Providence Coun- 
cil, No. 195 ; Scranton Board of Trade ; and the Scranton Engineers' Club. 
Mr. Sanderson is numbered among the members of the New England So- 
ciety, of Northeastern Pennsylvania, of which he is vice-president, and the 
Pennsylvania Society, Sons of the Revolution. 

Mr. Sanderson married, September 10, 1887, Gertrude, daughter of Andrew 
Jackson and Jemima Ellen (Sax) Griffith, of West Pittston, Pennsylvania, 
and has children : Charles Dudley Jr., born at Throop, Pennsylvania, the birth- 
place of his brother and sister, October 14, 1889; Lucy Griffith, born May 15, 
1893; Clarence Marcellus, born November 4, 1894. 



Rufus James Foster, son of Clement Storer and Rebecca (McCamant) Fos- 
ter, and cousin of Thomas Jefferson Foster, founder of the International Corres- 
pondence Schools, was born in Minersville, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, 
October lo, 1856. He was educated in the public and private schools of Ash- 
land, Pennsylvania, and when eighteen years of age secured a position in the 
mining engineering department of the Philadelphia and Reading Coal and Iron 
Company, a connection which continued greatly to his benefit, because of the 
vast fund of practical experience he was accumulating, until the fall of 1887, 
when upon resigning his position he associated himself with his cousin, Thomas 
Jefferson Foster, in the publication of the Colliery Engineer, a technical min- 
ing paper then published at Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, now its seat of pub- 
lication being Scranton, whither it was moved in 1888. With Mr. Foster as 
editor, a circulation campaign was inaugurated, the highest authorities on min- 
ing subjects were obtained as contributors, and the general tone of the jour- 
nal so raised that as a conservative and reliable organ of mining information 
it was unsurpassed, in consequence of which it is now the most widely read 
of all periodicals in its special field. Upon the incorporation of the company 
in 1890, Mr. Foster became a member of the board of directors and at the 
organization of that body was elected president. 

In 1890 he assisted Thomas J. Foster in the formation and organization 
of the first department of the International Correspondence Schools, and 
since that year has been continuously connected with the International Text- 
book Company, of which he is now vice-president and was formerly presi- 
dent. This company is one of the largest publishers of technical works, and 
prepares the textbooks used by the International Correspondence Schools. Mr. 
Foster's personal ability and energetic enthusiasm has contributed largely to 
the success which has attended the company since its incorporation and many 
new features are the result of his careful planning. 

Mr. Foster is a member of the Board of Trade, of the Engineers' Club of 
Scranton and the American Institute of Mining Engineers ; is an associate 
member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and is an honorary 
member of the Coal Mining Institute of America. In the Masonic Order he 
is a member of Peter Williamson Lodge, No. 323, F. and A. M. ; Lackawanna 
Chapter, No. 185, R. A. M. ; Scranton Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
Coeur de Lion Commandery, No. 17, K. T. ; and Irem Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs to the Scranton Club, 
the Scranton Country Club, the New England Society of Northeastern Penn- 
sylvania, of which he was president in 1910-11, and the Pennsylvania Societv, 
Sons of the Revolution. Politically he is a supporter of the Republican party, 
and holds religious affiliation with St. Luke's Protestant Episcopal Church, of 
which he is a vestryman. 

Mr. Foster married, September 9, 1884, Jane Bennett Taylor, born Janu- 
ary 9, 1858, youngest daughter of Joseph F. and Adeline (Nice) Taylor, of 
Minersville. Joseph F. Taylor was a member of the Society of Friends, and a 
pioneer coal operator of the Schuylkill region. Mr. and Mrs. Foster have one 
son, Joseph T., a graduate of Yale University, A. B., class of 1908, a repre- 
sentative of the brokerage firm of Montgomery, Clothier & Tyler, of Phila- 
delphia. I 



For a half of a century a business man of the city of Scranton, James W. 
Guernsey entered business life only after failing health had compelled the 
abandonment of a plan of activity that he had cherished through young man- 
hood, the practice of law. He is a native of Pennsylvania, descendant of a 
New England family that was settled in Pennsylvania by James W. Guernsey's 
grandfather, Joseph U. Guernsey, coming from Connecticut. 

(I) Joseph U. Guernsey made his home in Susquehanna county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1802, and there become a man of position and prominence. He mai- 
ried and they had children : John W., for many years a member of the Penn- 
sylvania state legislature; Peter B. ; Warren; Levi B., of whom further; 
Hiram C. ; Anna ; Sophia, married Peter William and had a son, Henry W., 
for many years a judge of the superior court of Pennsylvania, passing a great 
part of that time as president judge. 

(H) Levi B. Guernsey, son of Joseph U. Guernsey, was born in Canaan, 
Connecticut, in 1798. He married Hannah P. Carrier and they had children: 
George M., married Martha Roche and they had children, Maud and Fannie; 
Peter C, married Martha Allen and they had children ; James W., of whom 
further; J. Frank; Ophelia C, died young; Abbie M., married George M. 
Sweet, a soldier of the Union army, who met his death at the battle of Gettys- 
burg; Sophia W., married William Clark; Almira C, married Alonzo M. 
Stearns ; Marie M., married J. K. Brady, of Scranton ; Alice, married Frank 

(HI) James W. Guernsey, son of Levi B. and Hannah P. (Carrier; 
Guernsey, was born at Bridgewater, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, De- 
cember 31, 1846. He there attended the public schools until he was eighteen 
years of age. After graduating from Montrose Academy, he was for one year 
a school teacher, then went to Michigan and for three years taught in the 
State Reform School at Lansing. At the end of this time he began the studv 
of law under the direction of Professor Angell, one of the most brilliant law- 
yers and most able jurists of his day, but ill health made it necessary to re- 
linquish his legal ambitions. After discontinuing his studies for the pro- 
fession of law Mr. Guernsey moved to Scranton, there establishing himself 
in the sale of musical instruments, a line he had since followed. His stock in- 
cludes instruments of all kinds, wind and string, all of a high and reliable 
grade, and through his long continuance in this business he has come to own a 
steady patronage, held to his store because of the uniformly courteous and 
attentive treatment there received and because there value is given in every 
transaction. He has prospered in gratifying measure, his business being not 
only the oldest of its kind in the city, but one which compares more than favor- 
ably with others of a §imilar nature. Mr. Guernsey is a member of the 
Masonic Order, with which he became identified in Lansing, Michigan, and be- 
longs to the Second Presbyterian Church of Scranton. His political stand 
is independent. 

Mr. Guernsey married Mary C. Ives, a teacher of the Scranton public 
schools, and they are the parents of the following children : Jessie, married 
N. B. Spencer, of Honesdale, Pennsylvania, and is the mother of James and 
Ruth ; May, married A. C. Curtis ; Edwin ; Bertha, married John Roderick, 
and they are the parents of Lois and Mary ; Clara, unmarried, acting book- 
keeper and active in the business with her father. 



Father O'Donnell has been for a quarter of a century a priest of the 
Roman CathoHc church in the Scranton district, in that time .identified with 
two churches. His administration has been in every way a success, and the 
expansion that has taken place under his leadership has been of far-reaching 
influence, its outward evidence, the erection of a new and costly house of 
worship, being one of its least important effects. 

Rev. William P. O'Donnell is a son of Patrick and Ann (McNelis) O'Don- 
nell. His father was a native of Ireland, and here he passed his entire life, 
a butcher and dealer in cattle. William P. O'Donnell was born in Donegai, 
Ireland, October lo, 1855, and there obtained his early education, his native 
land being his home for the first thirteen years of his life. Coming to the 
United States at that age he attended the public schools of Wilkes-Barre, and 
later taught in Sugar Notch, afterward entering Kingston Academy, whence 
he was graduated in the class of 1878. He then became a student in St. 
Charles College, receiving a diploma of graduation from this institution in 
1880, and then took up the study of theology in the Roman Catholic Seminary, 
at Baltimore, Maryland. After completing his course he was ordained into the 
ministry of the Roman Catholic church at Scranton, July 25, 1889, the Right 
Rev. Bishop O'Hara officiating at the ceremony. On November 19, following 
his ordination, he was appointed assistant to the Rev. Father McManus, pas- 
tor of the Providence church, and was there in service until May i, 1897, 
when he was appointed to the pastorate of the Holy Cross Church, of Scran- 
ton, by the Right Rev. Bishop O'Hara, the dignitary who performed the rites 
that made him a priest of the Church. 

Since this date Rev. Father O'Donnell has been in charge of the Holy 
Cross congregation, first building for their use a temporary church at the 
corner of Fifth avenue and Broadway, the structure being dedicated on July 
4, 1897. The congregation has now in the course of erection a church edifice 
that, when completed, will have cost seventy-five thousand dollars and will be 
a worthy temple for a congregation of the strength of that of the Holy Cross 
Church. Rev. Father O'Donnell has here perfected a church organization 
efficient and useful, his leadership able and inspired. He is a member of the 
Holy Name Society and the Catholic Alutual Benefit Society. His political 
convictions are according to the teachings of no political organization. 


David J. R«edy was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania, August 8, 1871, 
son of John and Hannah (O'Malley) Reedy, who passed the greater part 
of their lives in the city of Scranton, where John Reedy was engaged in the 
grocery business, in which he was highly successful. They were the parents 
of five children: Walter M., a practicing physician of Scranton; David J., of 
this review; Mary E., John J., William A. 

David J. Reedy attended the public schools of his native city, then pursued 
a course of study in the parochial schools, after which he matriculated in St. 
Michael's College, Toronto, Canada, and subsequently became a student in the 
law department of the University of Pennsylvania. He was admitted to the 
bar, October i, 1892, and he established in general practice in Scranton, for a 
time serving as solicitor of the local school board, and on September i, 1907, 
receiving an appointment as first assistant district attorney. Becoming thor- 
oughly familiar with the duties and requirements of the office by his in- 
cumbency of that position, upon his appointment as district attorney, January 


2, 1912, he entered vigorously upon his administration, serving with useful- 
ness until January 5, 1914, when his term expired. During that period and 
all through his professional career his conduct has been marked by a strict 
sense of honor, from which neither desire nor temptation has induced him to 
swerve. The Democratic party is that which has ever claimed his allegiance, 
and he is a communicant of the Roman Catholic church. Among the or- 
ganizations in which he holds membership are the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, the Modern Woodmen of America, the Improved Order of 
Red Men and the Scranton Country Club. 

Mr. Reedy married, October 23, 1901, Agnes Crossen, deceased, and has 
one daughter, Margaret. 


The first Slocum of record in the Lackawanna and Wyoming Valleys cf 
Pennsylvania is Joseph Slocum, the great-great-great-grandfather of George 
Washington Slocum, of Scranton, Pennsylvania. Joseph Slocum was a great- 
great-grandson of Anthony Slocum, the founder of the family in America, a 
family of honorable record from early colonial times. While the name is 
found under varied spellings, the form "Slocum" has been quite uniformly ad- 
hered to since 1700, by the descendents of Giles Slocum, eldest son of Anthony, 
who is the common ancestor of all Slocums in America claiming colonial 
ancestry dating prior to the year 1700. Anthony Slocum was of English 
birth, Somersetshire believed to have been the family seat, and 1637 the year 
of the arrival in New England. The coat-of-arms of "Slocombe" of Somer- 
setshire is thus described. "Argent on a fess gules between three griffins' heads 
couped sable, as many sinister wings or." Crest : "Griffin's head gules be- 
tween two wings extended or." 

(I) Anthony Slocum, the emigrant, is recorded as one of the forty-six 
"first and ancient purchasers" in 1637 of the territory of Cohannet, which was 
incorporated as Taunton in New Plymouth, now Massachusetts, March 3, 
1639. In 1662 he moved to that part o