The B'.irland-DesWats Litho.Compr THE HISTORY OF SHEFFORD, CIVIL, ECCLESIASTICAL, BIOGRAPHICAL AND STATISTICAL. - BY C THOMAS. Montreal: PRINTED LJY LOVELL PRINTING AND PUBLISHING CO. 1877. TO THE CITIZENS OF WATERLOO, WITH WHOM HE HAS SOJOURNED, AS A TEACHER, FOR NEARLY THREE YEARS, AND FROM WHOM HE HAS RECEIVED THE MOST COURTEOUS TREATMENT AND CORDIAL SUPPORT, IN THIS AND IN ALL OTHER LABORS, THIS LITTLE WORK IS RESPECTFULLY AUTHOR. BY THE PREFACE. A HISTORY, like the following, recording events which have transpired within the recollection of many still living, and containing sketches of indi- viduals still, in existence, is, doubtless, of all species of composition, the most irksome and unsatisfactory to its author. First Unlike the history of countries that have been peopled for centuries, the events are neither of the number or character to prove interesting to readers beyond the locality in which they occurred. Second. Interest, jealousy or treacherous memo- ries may cause a wide difference in the opinions of persons at the present time of events of which they were eye-witnesses a decade or more of years ago ; hence, the one who transfers those events to the page of history is not unfrequently subjected to se- vere and unjust criticism. Third. A similarity in the events described, neces- sitates much effort on the part of the author to prevent a monotonous similarity in the descriptions ; and, even with all this effort, a degree of sameness 6 PREFACE. will inevitably pervade his work that may prove dis- tasteful to the connoisseur in literary art. Last, but not least, is the danger of omitting some name that one or more readers think should appear, or of speaking of others in more eulogistic terms than may be consonant with the ideas of parties claiming more perfect knowledge. Whatever criticisms of the kind, however, may arise, it cannot be denied that the local history is a necessity something that, sooner or later, will be imperatively demanded ; and, with this view, the writer has embarked in this simple literary venture, trusting that the future historian may accord to it more importance than it will receive at present. With the design of rendering the work useful at the present as well as in future time, besides its his- toric character, it has been made to partake some- what of the nature of a Gazetteer. The writer has received valuable assistance from different sources while compiling the work, but he desires especially to acknowledge that rendered by C. H. Parmelee and O. B. Kemp, Esqrs. Waterloo, P. Q., 28th Nov., 1876. INTRODUCTION. As in all new countries, the first permanent settle- ments in Canada were made along the large rivers which communicate with the ocean, and afforded the only means of penetrating the wild wastes of the newly discovered land. Quebec had sprung up, grown old, and its name been familiar for more than a century at the Courts of the French and English Monarchs it had been beleaguer- ed by hostile armies and had won a proud place in his- toric annals; Ville Marie had expanded into a city, and had figured in wars with the Iroquois, the English and the French ; Three Rivers, Sillery, St. Joseph and St. Mary, had also become famous in Canadian history, while the country east of the Riche- lieu, now forming a part of the Eastern Townships, was in "the lap of savage desolation." A broad tract of country possessed of great fertility of soil, rich in mineral deposits, blessed with perennial streams, dotted with beautiful lakes, unsurpassed in the gran- deur of its scenery a territory yet to be acknow- ledged the " Garden of Canada," was unknown to the civilized world till more than a quarter of a century after the triple cross banner of England had sup- planted thefleur de Us of France. An exploring party was sent out to this section by order of Governor Haldimand, and they carried back to the settlements on the St. Lawrence such a favor- able account of their discoveries, that, in the autumn 8 INTRODUCTION. of 1781, a party, styled United Empire Loyalists, decided to emigrate hither. Desirous of effecting a settlement as near as possible to mills and markets, they " pitched their tents " on the shore of Missisquoi Bay and in the country adjacent. Lake Champlain and the Richelieu afforded the only convenient means of travelling, and St. Johns, twenty miles distant by land and sixty by water, and Burlington, in Vermont, were the only places where they were able. to procure the necessaries of life. From Missisquoi Bay new settlers gradually pushed eastward. Others daring and adventurous spirits plunged northward into the unbroken wilderness from different sections of New England ; and thus commenced the settlement of these now flourishing Townships. Much has been said respecting the IT. E. Loyalists, who, for the love they bore the mother country and the veneration they still cherished for monarchical institutions, voluntarily accepted a home amidst the wilds of Canada. Eulogies have been lavishly and indiscriminately bestowed on all the early pioneers of this section, as if they all belonged to this class, and were thus entitled to the admiration of every loyal heart. Panegyrics like these, however, should be received with caution, and with due allowance for fervid imaginations and proneness to hyperbole in their authors. It is a well established fact that a large proportion of the pioneers of this section, so far from being martyrs to their political principles, cared as little for royalty as they did for republicanism, and only INTRODUCTION. 9 emigrated to this country to escape the dangers and turmoils of war. In the early part of the contest between the American colonies and England, not an insignificant part of the population of the colonies remained loyal to the British cause. Another, and no inconsider- able party, desirous, no doubt, of following quietly the peaceful pursuits of life, regardless of the Stamp Act, Tea Tax and other grievances of which their neighbors complained, attempted to remain neutral in their movements during the approaching contest. Such, however, was inconsistent with the wishes of their Radical brethren, who both suspected their friendship and detested their want of patriotism. The Radicals, consequently, not only reproached them, but indulged in other acts of aggression against them until they were compelled either to join one of the belligerent armies or seek peace and safety in exile. Many choosing the latter alternative emigrated to Canada, and, induced by a the cheapness of the land and fertility of the soil, plunged into the wilderness east of the Richelieu. It is a fact, too, that after the independence of the American Colonies had been declared by Great Britain, not a few of those who had fought in the con- tinental armies became pioneers in this part of the Dominion. Thus we find among the early settlers of this section, not only those who admired the insig- nia of royalty and believed in the " divine right of kings," but those who were passively indifferent to thesl^things, while others cherished as little respect for them as they did for the religious tenets of Mahomet, A2 10 INTRODUCTION. Whatever the religious or political principles of the pioneers, however, it cannot be denied that in providing homes and sustenance for their families in these wilds, amidst every privation they toiled on with the self-sacrifice of martyrs and the devotion of patriots. There is a heroism displayed in their per- severance and in the fortitude with which they en- dured hardships that demands our admiration, and which it becomes their posterity to emulate. In addition to the difficulties under which the early inhabitants labored, on account of their long distance from mills and markets, much inconvenience was also experienced from the absence of legal tri- bunals in the Townships, and in having roads estab- lished in the manner prescribed by law. In 1796, an act was passed entitled, " An act for making, repairing and altering the highways and bridges in this Province, and for other purposes ; " and by this it was enacted that " all the king's highways and public bridges shall be made, repaired, and kept up, under the direction of the Grand Voyer of each and every district within the Province, or his deputy." This law, with but little if any alterations, continued in force till 1841. Although his works were homologated by the Court of Quarter Sessions, it will be seen that much authority was vested in the Grand Voyer. These Townships were obliged to send all the way to Montreal or Quebec for this dignitary or his deputy to establish roads, and. at that time the work of bringing him to the backwoods of this section w#can easily imagine involved both time and expense. HISTOEY OF SHEFFOKD. The township of Shefford is bounded north by Roxton, east by Stukely, south by Brome and west by Gran by. It was erected into a township by Let- ters Patent dated February 10th, 1801, and granted in part to Capt. John Savage and his Associates.* The term " Associates " not being generally well understood, a few words by way of explanation,. may not be amiss. Any individual of responsibility who had sustained losses from his loyalty to the government, or other- wise merited reward, by pursuing a prescribed course in company with a certain number of others of un- doubted loyalty could obtain a grant of five-sevenths of a township. The individual who took the most active part in procuring this grant, and bore the ex- penses, was denominated " Leader or Agent." The course pursued was substantially as follows : The Agent presented a petition to government, in which his claims were set forth, and the tract of land prayed for usually described. The grant was made only on condition that the Agent and each of the As- * Names of Associates. John Savage the younger, Hezekiah Wood, John Allen, Simon Griggs, Richard Powers, John Savage the son of Edward Savage, Peter Savage, Ezekiel Lewis, Henry Hardie, Anthony Cutler, Isaac Kennison, Solomon Kennison, Malcolm McFarland, Peter Hays, Edward Graves, Henry Powers, Alexander Efouglas, Silas Lewis, John Lockhart Wiseman, James Bell, John Mock, Timothy Hoskins, William Moffat, Thaddeus Tuttle, Isaac Lawrence the younger, Elijah Lawrence, James Berry, Abraham Kennison, John Spalding, John Knatchback, John Mock the younger, Joseph Mock, William Bell, John Bell, Samuel Bell. 12 HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. sociates should take the oath of allegiance, and they, their heirs, or assigns, should make " actual settle- ment," and certain improvements in the township before a specified time. Five-sevenths only of the township were granted to the Agent and his Associates, and these were divided equally among them ; the remaining two-sevenths being reserved for the support of the Protestant clergy and for the disposition of the Crown. But a private bargain was previously made between the Agent and each Associate, in which it was stipulated that the latter should have a certain number of acres gener- ally two hundred and should deed back to the Agent all he should draw more than this amount. The Agent was to defray the expense of opening a road through the township, of building mills and of having the township surveyed ; the land deeded to him by the Associates being received as compensation for the expenses thus incurred. These private bargains, in many instances, were not faithfully adhered to by the Associates, and much trouble and expensive litigation frequently arose in consequence. WEST SHEFFORD. This small village, often called Shefford Plain from the level ground on which it is built, is situated in the south-west part of the township on a branch of the Yamaska. Capt. John Savage, who was a native of Ireland, was the first settler at this place, and the first one in the township. We have no records to show at what time he came to America, but a little light is thrown on his subsequent history by a petition which he pre- sented to the Governor of Canada, a copy of which is given below : " To His Excellency Alured Clark, Esq., Major General, Commander in Chief of His Majesty's Forces in America. The Humble Petition of John Savage Most humbly Sheweth : That Petitioner took an early and active part in the late Rebellion, and served as Lieutenant in a Corps raised by Governor Tryon for His Majesty's Service ; being made prisoner by the Rebels, and re- fusing to join them, he was committed to Albany Jail, from whence he escaped and joined the Army at New York, with which he served until taken prisoner a second time and closely confined in irons in Kingston Jail. That Petitioner was very serviceable to the 14 HISTORY OP SHEFPORD. scouts sent out from this Province by His Excellency the late General Sir Frederick Haldimand, then Com- mander in Chief, by procuring for them intelligence and affording them assistance. Petitioner at present has a farm in CaldwelPs Manor within the American lines, from which Colonel Allen is attempting to remove him, for refusing to take the Oath of Allegiance to the American States. Petitioner having never received from government any compensation for his losses, and wishing to come under the protection of a British Constitution, humbly implores that Your Excellency will be pleased to grant him a township of ten miles square, to be owned by Petitioner and his Asso- ciates ; and he, as in duty bound, will ever pray. JOHN SAVAGE. Quebec, 30th July, 1792." The following is an extract from an account kept by Capt. Savage during his efforts to obtain the grant prayed for above. 1792. June 5 A journey to Quebec to obtain the warrant to survey for the township of Shefford at 10 shillings 48 10 Sept. To Capt. John Savage's expenses ... 23 15 " To exploring township, 10 days. ... 5 00 Nov. 15 To cutting the road from St. Johns to Yamaska Eiver with six men, 4 weeks, each 40 shillings a month. . . 1200 To myself 28 days at 10 shillings. 14 00 To provisions and money expend- ed in cuttingHSaid roads 8 00 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 15 1793. May 10 To cutting the road from Sutton to Shefford, 16 miles 16 00 July 13 To cash paid John Clark, Dept, Surveyor, for 92 days at 10 shillings a day 46 00 1799. June 24 To cash paid Jesse Pennoyer and Patrick -Conroy, Esq., for their ser- vices in apprizing the improvements in the township of Shefford 6 00 Capt. Savage canre to Shefford in 1792. He direct- ed his course by means of a compass, and was followed by men who cleared away the underwood for the pas- sage of ox sleds which brought his household goods and provisions, and these in turn were followed by his family. A pile of s.tones on the stream near the vil- lage still marks the spot where he built the " Dutch back" of his first cabin. He brought with him to Shefford thirty head of cattle, all of which, with the exception of three, died from the scarcity of fodder and the intense cold of the following winter. Mr. Savage had two sons, one of whom died before the removal of the father to Canada ; the other, John Savage the younger, was one of the Associates of Shefford, and the first settler in the north part of the township. Many of the descendants of Savage live in Shefford, and are numbered with its honored citizens. The second inhabitant of the township was a man named Towner, but his stay was brief. In the winter of 1794 * Isaac Lawrence from Hines- *For this sketch of Isaac Lawrence we are indebted to Mrs. Day's Pioneers of the Eastern Townships. 16 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. burg, Vt., took up his residence in the township, set- tling in or near the present limits of the village of Waterloo. Samuel Lawrence, one of his sons, settled at West Shefford. About the year 1804, he commenced erecting mills at this place, and his brother Henry, who had been assisting him in this enterprise, was despatched to Westford, Vt., for the purpose of pro- curing the necessary irons. He took with him a yoke of oxen with which to draw in the machinery, but having no vehicle, he was obliged to resort to his wits to invent means of transporting the heavy load. Accordingly he made a dray, which was nothing more than a long piece of timber split at one end, pried open, and fastened by inserting a short beam crosswise between the parts, when eight hundred pounds of iron castings were bound on it by heavy chains. This end trailed on the ground, while the other end was fastened into the yoke on the necks of thejsturdy beasts, and drawn by them over rough roads and through rapid streams to Sheldon, Yt., where the young man obtained a pair of large heavy cart wheels on which he fastened the dray, load and all, so as to balance, and then'proceeded on his way. There was a ferry over the Missisquoi Elver, but all the other streams had to be forded. At St. Armand he took the then only route through to Shefford through Dunham and Farnham ; but the roads were so rough and the load so heavy that the axletree of his cart gave way three times, and was ready for the fourth breakdown on arriving at his destination. With the aid of axe and auger, with which he was provided, and a piece of the hard timber which grew so plentifully by the way, he repaired the damage each time. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 17 The clatter of the iron load, as the cart rolled over stones, logs and other obstructions, aroused the people as it passed along the line of road, attracting consider- able attention from being the first pair of wheels that had penetrated by that route so far into the interior of the country. Two. years after the arrival of Capt. Savage, his son-in-law, Hezekiah Wood, from Fishkill, N. Y., became an inhabitant of West Shefford, settling in a lot now owned by Henry Eoberts. Three of his sons still live at this place. Peter Hayes from New Hampshire was another of the pioneers of West Shefford. He first came alone, selected a lot in the north part of the township, where he cut down seven acres of forest, and then returned to New Hampshire for his family. In the winter of 1796, he returned to Shefford with the design of taking up his abode on the lot where he had pre- viously labored, but as his family were worn out with their long journey on a sled, and several miles of unbroken forest still intervened between him and the spot he desired to reach, when he had arrived at West Shefford he decided to remain there till the following spring. When spring arrived, however, he had abandoned his intention of leaving his present habitation, and thus remained there till his death, which occurred on January 2nd, 1834. He has several descendants in Shefford, and his son, Stephen B. Hayes, now lives in the homestead. In 1822, Edward Eoberts, from Ireland, became a resident of this part of Shefford. He had previously been a merchant, but having failed, he came to America to retrieve his fortune. 18 HISTORY Otf SHEFtfORt). He died poor, however, and left his children to be- come the architects of their own fortunes. His son Duke affords another striking example of what a young man with tact and energy may accomplish. With nothing but his hands to sustain him, he boldly commenced the battle of life. Having placed himself in a comfortable position by farming, he began to turn his attention to buying and selling- cattle and horses, and so successfully has he managed this, with his other business, that he has amassed a fortune. He owns a fine residence at West Shefford, but, leaving this in possession of one of his sons, two years since, he moved to Waterloo, where he still resides. Although settled the first of any part of the town- ship, West Shefford is still comparatively a small vil- lage. It is situated in the midst of a beautiful level farming country, and in beauty of location surpasses Waterloo, though, owing to various causes, the latter has far outstripped its elder sister in growth. There is one hotel here, two groceries and two stores. A public house was first opened here in 1837, on the spot now occupied by the hotel. The stores are owned respectively by John !N. Mills and George Tait. Mr. Mills has been engaged several years in mercantile business, and is widely known in this section of the country as a dealer in bark and butter. He is esteemed as n man of public spirit and has held municipal offices. Mr. Tait is also regarded as a man of worth. He is Postmaster and a School Commissioner. A post HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 19 office was established here about the year 1840,* and a man named Johnson was appointed Postmaster. A large brick building, designed for a temperance hall, was erected here in 1863 ; it is now used as a place of worship and also for a school. The village contains two church edifices belonging respectively to the Roman Catholics and Episco- palians. A sketch of the Church of England mission at this place will be found in the history of Waterloo. A short distance from West Shefford is another small village springing up, now known as Sheffington. The stream affording good facilities here for manu- facturing establishments, in 1859 *a man named Ephraim Senior, erected a woollen factory. Two years afterward, Ashley Kilburn purchased the factory and a sawmill standing near. The factory not long afterwards wa^i burned. Another one was erected, and this, together with the saw mill, a few years subsequently was swept away in a freshet. Mr. Kilburn, being one of those sanguine and deter- mined men not easily disheartened, soon built other mills, and is now doing an extensive business in the way of wool carding and manufacturing cloth and lumber. A post office was established here, April 1st, 1875, and James Hayes was appointed postmaster. Mr. Hayes is one of the public men of the township, and has been called to fill one or more of the municipal offices. He opened a store here in 1874, in company with Mr. Henry Neil. * On the 29th of November, 1841, the building in Quebec containing records of the establishment of Post Offices in the Province previous to that time was consumed by fire, consequently in obtaining this date, we have been obliged to trust to the memory of the " oldest inhabitant." FROST VILLAGE. This place now scarcely deserving the name of village, so small is the number of houses here, is situ- ated in the south-east part of the township. About the year 1808, three brothers, Jonathan, Richard and Joseph Frost, from Marlborongh, New Hampshire, came to Shefford and settled at this place, their name in after time being given to the village which sprang up hereT Jonathan Frost was the one who first felled a tree at this place, and his first house was erected where the dwelling long occupied by Hon. L. S. Huntington now stands. He subsequently sold his improvements, built, and sold again several times in the same locality. Richard settled on a lot about a mile north of the present village. Joseph became the first occupant of the lot now owned by his nephew, David Frost. In 1810, Jeremiah Frost, a brother of those named above, and from the same place, arrived in Shefford. He first purchased the improvements of his brother Richard, but, about two years afterward, he bought a piece of land on the site of the present village, and built a house on the spot now occupied by that of John Parker. Subsequently, he purchased the farm where HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 21 his son David now lives, and there resided till 1830, when he died. He had seven children, three sons and four daughters, who arrived -at maturity, but David was the only one of these who remained permanently in Shefford. He is a highly respected citizen, and has held the office of municipal councillor. He has three sons who are numbered with the prominent men of Waterloo. David Frost, jun ., one of these, was a very successful teacher for some time in the Province of On- tario. For several years he has been an efficient and popular station agent at Waterloo, and also holds the position off councillor in the village council. About the year 1812, Richard Frost, mentioned above, opened a public house at Frost Village, the first one in the place. A few years after this he removed to Granby, where he lived during the remainder of his life. A son, now deceased, was for a long time one of the prominent and influential men of that township. - Not many years after the four Frost brothers had made their home in Canada, they were joined by an- other, Aaron, who likewise came from Marlborough, N. H. He was a cabinetmaker, and on his arrival erected a shop and followed his trade here for some years, but finally abandoned it, sold out and returned to the States. Alvin Williams was an early settler at Frost Village. He came from Newfane, Vt., to Stukely, about the year 1801, and settled on a lot in the north part of the township, several miles from any inhabitants. He was then a young man, only twenty, and with perseverance and energy, at which modern degeneracy wonders, remote from civilization, he toiled for com- petency and a home. 22 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. To strong arms and courageous hearts like his, are we indebted for our fertile fields ; and though we smile at the uncouth manners and rustic garb of our fore- fathers, it cannot be denied that they possessed the qualities which in other men in different circum- stances have won the chaplets of heroes. On one occasion, while living alone in the wilderness, Mr. Williams cut his knee with an axe, which so disabled him that his circumstances became unpleasant and perilous in the extreme. His provisions were ex- hausted, and being so lame that he could not hope to reach another human habitation, the sad prospect of dying in this secluded place without kindred or friends to solace him, rose with all its terrors before him. Nerved, however, by a forlorn hope, he crawled up to an eminence in the forest, and shouted as loudly as his feeble state would permit. He was induced to do this from the fact, that he had learned a few weeks before, while absent from home, that parties were soon coming into that section to look for land ; and the thought struck him that someone, providentially, might even then be within reach of his voice. Strange as it may seem, his cries were answered by a man named Aylmer, who happened to be near, in the forest, for the purpose named above. Through his aid, the young invalid was supplied with provi- sions, and cared for, ^tili he was restored to health. In 1804, he was married to Charlotte Rebecca Rogers, the daughter of a merchant from Newfane, Yt., who had settled in South Stukely. He had once been wealthy, but had failed in business on account of having his property chiefly invested in Continental money which proved worthless. HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 23 At the time of which we write, wolves were nume- ms in Stukely, and bands of Indians occasionally strolled through the forest. Some time after the marriage of Williams and the birth of several children, he was one day absent from home and his hired man was at work in a field surrounded by woods, some distance from the house. Suddenly, Mrs. Williams was startled by loud cries, and supposing that their neigh- bor Aylmer's family had been attacked by Indians, she hurriedly prepared herself and children for flight. She was, however, arrested in her purpose by the hired man who came running in, hatless and breathless, affirming that he had barely escaped from the wolves with which the field, where he had been at work, was literally covered. Amidst scenes similiar to this, and all the hardships incident to the life of a pioneer, Mr. Williams spent nine years in North Stukely, and then removed to the southern part of the township,- from which place he moved, in 1821, to Frost Village. He took up his residence on the lot now owned by his grandson, Geo. Williams, and lived here till his death, which occurred February 17th, 1849. Mr. Williams was a man deservedly esteemed. Possessed of integrity, a genial temper and a pleasing manner, he soon won the confidence and respect of those with whom he was called to associate ; and his influence among them always tended to harmony and goodwill. He was for some time a school com- missioner, a commissioner for the summary trial of small causes, justice of the peace and captain of militia. He had four sons, John, William, Henry and Arad ; the first named being the only one living. Henry 24 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. entered mercantile business in Brome, and became one of the prominent men of that township. Arad was a successful and respected farmer in Bolton. William remained on the homestead . The esteem in which he was held by his fellow citizens may be learned from the following obituary, copied from the Waterloo Advertiser of October 21st, 1869 : " An old and highly respectable citizen of Frost Village, Wm. Williams, Esq., died at his residence there, on Friday last, after a short illness. He was an amiable, kind-hearted man, esteemed by all who knew him. He has filled many local offices, and at the time of his decease was a municipal councillor. He was one of those quiet, unassuming, unobtrusive men that gradually acquire a hold in the esteem of their neighbors, and, in everything that tends to make a good citizen, are all that could be desired. It may truly be said of him that no solicitor of alms went empty-handed from his door. On Sunday last his remains were followed to their final resting-place by a large concourse of friends and neighbors." John Williams, like his brother William, has been entrusted with various offices, the duties of which he has discharged^to the general satisfaction of his fellow- townsmen. He has been postmaster, captain of militia, school commissioner for fifteen years, and a municipal councillor. He early turned his attention to mercantile pursuits at Frost Village, in which business, through tact and industry, he has been remarkably successful. He etill resides here, in an attractive residence. Samuel Willard was another active and prominent early inhabitant of Frost Village. He was born in Petersham, Mass., and was the son of Major Willard, Loyalist, distinguished in the American Revolution. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 25 He first commenced business at Newfane, Yt., from which place he removed to Sheldon, in the same State, thence to Stukely, in Canada, and became Agent for the Associates of that township. After residing there for several years, he came to Frost Village to engage in mercantile business. In this he was for a time successful, but, having lost a new and, for that period, an extensive stock of goods, by the burning of a steamer on the St. Law- rence, between Quebec and Montreal, he failed, and returned to his farm in Stukely. The energy, the active business talent of Major Willard is still remembered by the old citizens of Frost Village, and the era at which he resided here is regarded as one of the most pleasant and prosperous of the place. He left respected descendants in the Townships ; and Samuel Willard, grandson, is one of the popular young merchants composing the firm of Robinson, Stevens & Willard, of Waterloo. Benjamin Martin was another pioneer who pur- chased a lot near Frost Village. He left three sons, Benjamin, Reuben and Simeon Martin, who settled in Shefford and took an active part in the affairs of the township. Benjamin Martin remained on the home- stead, where he died a few years since. His family still live here and his widow has ably managed the farm and business left by the deceased. The following is an obituary of another of the early inhabitants of this place who died in 1860 : " It is our painful duty to record, this week, the death of another old and respected resident of this township, Orange Ellis, Esq., which took place at his 26 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. residence, in Frost Village, on the 28th ult. Mr. Ellis had led a long and active life, and had lived to see his children and grandchildren grow up to be men and women about him. He was among the last of the early settlers, and with him is removed another link that bound us to the age which has passed away. Mr. Ellis was a man of sterling independence, strong practical good sense, and more than ordinary intelli- gence. He bore his last long and painful illness a cancer- with the meekness of a child and the forti- tude of a martyr. Only a few days before his death, he said Jo the writer that he longed to be at rest, and begged him to bear witness how his trust in Jesus comforted and sustained him. And in this peaceful trust he fell sweetly asleep." Mr. Ellis came from Rockingham, Mass., to Canada, in 1814. He first settled at Odelltown, P. Q., but some years afterward, removed to Frelighsburg, and from that place came to Shefford in 1832. His two sons, B. A. and J. C. Ellis, are mentioned farther on in the History of Waterloo. For the following paragraph and sketch of Dr. Foster, the writer is indebted to 'Mrs. Day's History of the Eastern Townships : " When the Settlements were so advanced as to make it necessary that a way of communication should be opened between Montreal and the townships east, and a route was chosen from Magog Outlet, through Stukely, Shefford, G-ranby, &c., to Chambly, Frost Village became a sort of centre for the retail trade of the section, and several business and profes- sional men located here. Prominent among these was Dr. Stephen Sewell Foster, born at Oakham, Mass., HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 27 Nov. 22, 1791. February 7th, 1813, he married Miss Belknap of Dummerston, Vt., and, in 1817, settled to the practice of his profession in Newfane, Vt., where he remained till 1822, when he came to Canada with his wife and four children. His fir.st location was at Frost Village, but, after a residence here of one year, he removed to the locality where is now situated the thriving village of Waterloo, at the time when there were only cloth dressing works, mills, a blacksmith's shop and two dwellings in the place. After a short residence there, however, the Doctor returned to Frost Village, and settled upon the farm until recently occupied by his second son, Hon. A. B. Foster. His license to practice his profession had been received from the Vermont Medical Society, but, after coming to this country, he attended lectures at Quebec, and obtained license to practice in Canada. Under the Earl of Dalhousie, he was appointed surgeon to Col. Jones' Battallion. After the establishment of the McGill College he attended lectures therefor a period, and, on the formation of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, was elected one of its governors, which position he held till 1866, when failing health obliged him to resign. He also held the office of Justice of the Peace and Commissioner for the trial of small causes, when there was no other court in the Eastern Townships. In 1841 he was elected to the Provin- cial Parliament from Shefford County, and, being re- elected, was a member of that body for seven years. At the time Dr. Foster settled in Frost Village, there was no physician for many miles around, his practice extending from Yamaska Mountain to Mis- 28 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. sisquoi Bay ; and it was no uncommon thing for him to attend patients in Stanstead, or even in Derby and Coventry, Yt. At such times he went by bridle paths through the forest to the outlet of Lake Mem- phremagog7 (six miles intervening between dwell- ings at places on the way, ) and thence up the lake in a log canoe. On other occasions he was guided by nothing more definite than marked trees ; sometimes seeing the wolves cross the path before him, and often hearing them howl in the woods on either hand. In the practice of his profession under such circum- stances he was often brought in contact with scenes which excited his warmest sympathies, and had fre- quent occasion for the exercise of a benevolent and kindly feeling, which was manifested in ways peculiar to himself, and which won the hearts of the people among whom he lived and practised so long, and established a claim upon their lasting esteem and gratitude. In October, 1857, he removed to Kn owl ton, in Brome, with the double view of retiring from the active practice of his profession and of being near his eldest son, Capt. Hiram S. Foster, of that place. He died at Knowlton, December 29th, 1868. Dr. Foster had eleven children, and some of his sons have held high positions in public life." Hiram S. Foster was registrar of Shefford County for some time, and on removing to Knowlton, many years ago, he was appointed registrar of the County of Brome, and still holds the office. He has been war- den of that County, and has also held many other posi- tions of honor and responsi bility. Few men are better known than he in the District of Bedford. Generous, HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 29 and glad to witness the progress of improvement, he has been a patron of everything that promotes the prosperity of his county. Another son of Dr. Foster has long been one of the prominent men of this district. He was an advocate residing at Kn owl ton when, about eight years ago, he was appointed district magistrate. A sketch of Hon. A. B. Foster, his brother, will be found on a succeeding page. The first school house at Frost Village was built about the year 1812, on the site of the present one. In 1824, a building designed for a church was erected by the Episcopalians. It was not completed till the year 1833, when it was sold to the Methodists, with the reservation, by the Episcopalians, of using it one half the time. The upper part of this building was finished and used for several years as an academy, and became the Alma Mater of many of the sons and daughters of Shefford. An incident occurred on the day that the frame of this building was erected which is still often related by one or two aged individuals who were present : A wolf which had that day been caught was exhi- bited to the men who were engaged in raising the frame of the church, and after he had afforded them sufficient amusement a discussion arose as to what should be done with him. It was finally decided that he should be supplied with a coat of tar and sulphur; that a bell should be fastened on his neck and that he should then be freed to roam at pleasure through the forest to frighten away, if possible, by his uncouth appearance the bands of wolves that were prowling in the vicinity, and committing nightly depredations on the flocks of the settlers. 30 HISTORY OF SHEFFORu. This novel method of frightening away the wolves, however, seems to have had little effect, as this same wolf, always known by the bell he wore, was fre- quently seen in company with others, in the borders of clearings. He was at last killed with a stone by a man known as Dr. Wash burn. Frost Village was the place where formerly nearly all the business of Shefford was transacted. In the early days of these Townships, journej 7 s to distant markets were usually performed in winter. Many of the first settlers depended chiefly on the potash which they made from ashes for the necessaries of life, though occasionally one fattened pork to sell, but the latter did not become a general article of com- merce till a later day. The potash, pork, or whatever the settler had to dispose of, was placed on a rough but strong ox sled, and then the pioneer, in company with many others having similar loads, started on his tedious journey for Montreal. When their pro- duce had been sold, they always endeavored to pur- chase enough of household necessaries to last their families a year, as they were not at all desirous of making a second trip to market within that period. The inhabitants of the surrounding country often met and started together from Frost Village on these expeditions, and the number of ox teams thus setting out was sometimes so- great as to form a train a mile or more in length. Viewing in our imaginations these slow, toiling trains, taking many days to perform the journey, we cannot refrain from thinking of the wondrous change that has taken place since that period, seeing, as we now do, the farmer of this section seating himself, in the morning, in a hand- HISTORY" OP SHEPPORD. 3L >mely finished car, going to Montreal, transacting lis business, and returning to his family in the even- ing of the same day. The District of Bedford Teachers' Association was organized in this village. The first meeting occurred here on Friday, the 29th day of Oct., 1858. Nearly all the High School teachers of the District were pre- sent. The Eev. Dr. Nichols, Principal of the Univer- sity of Bishops' College, Lennoxville, was elected chairman for the session. Henry Baker, Rector of the Freleighs burgh Grammar SchooljWas elected secretary pro tern. The Association which was then formed con- tinued to hold annual meetings and to increase in im- portance until finally, by uniting with others, it grew into a Provincial Association, which is still flourish- ing, and has its annual sessions. Its efforts have done much towards elevating the standard of schools and promoting the cause of education in the Province, and its growing strength and popularity seem to promise grand results in the future. Commissioners courts were formerly held in this village, and the township and county councils also held their sessions here. Frost Village was once the head of the Shefford Methodist Circuit, and the parsonage was located here ; but, as the ecclesiastical history of Sheiford is given in the history of Waterloo, the reader is referred to that for a further account of the rise and progress of Methodism in this section. Another individual who was prominent among the citizens of this place is Thomas L. Osgood, who came here from Hatley, in October, 1829. He began keeping hotel at the old stand in Frost Village, in 32 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. November. The first county representative to Par- liament being sent from Shefford, the election was held at this village, as the principal place in the county, on Nov. 29th of the same year. The candidates were Le Mesurier of Quebec and Lyman Knowlton of Stuke- ly. The latter being successful, the usual festivities were celebrated at Mr. Osgood's hotel. When the Eebellion of 1837 and 1838 broke out, Frost Village being the head quarters of the militia, the hotel became their chief rendezvous. Here too, on a cold winter night, Wolfred Nelson was brought after his capture in the woods, in a most pitiable condition of mind and body. Mr. Osgood, with his own hands, ministered to his comfort, during the three days pre- ceding his being sent to Montreal Jail. Frost Village not only became the rendezvous of the volunteers and militia, but here, also, during this year came loyal French gentlemen for protection from the insurgents, among them Major Chaffers and Messrs. Casavant and Guereut. These gentlemen stopped at Mr. Osgood's house, bringing with them their* books, papers and other valuables, and remained , until affairs became more settled. During Col. Head's term of service as commander-in-chief of the forces, Mr. Osgood had the honor of entertaining at his house for some time this refined and courteous gentleman. It would perhaps be only justice to say, that, although Mr. Osgood kept during this exciting time, a house of entertainment for the volunteers with the promise of compensation from the Government, he has, up to the present time, re- ceived none whatever. He remained in Frost Village twelve years. After an absence of several years he returned to Shefford, and has lived in Waterloo and HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 33 vicinity for the last twelve years. His wife died in Waterloo in October, 1868. Mr. Osgood is at present in his seventy-ninth year. He has had three children, one son and two daughters. The former, Thomas Edwin Osgood, died at Frost Village in 1840. One of his daughters married Benjamin Haskell, Esq., a prominent and very- worthy citizen of Water- loo, who was for some years the secretary of Hon. A. B. Foster, and who has recently been appointed inspector of weights and measures for the district of Bedford. The other daughter married Michael Mitchell, a surveyor, who has long been a citizen of Waterloo. He is very efficient in his vocation, and has surveyed many of the railroad routes in this and other sections of the Province. In the year 1823 a weekly post was established between Chambly and Stanstead, and a post office was opened at the same time in Frost Village. For a long time the mail was carried in summer on horseback, one side of a pair of ancient saddle bags being used for this purpose ; the other was devoted to provisions for the mail carrier and to the pound of tea for which inhabitants along his route would occasion- ^lly send to Montreal. On one occasion when returning from Chambly this dignitary, having imbibed a little too freely of the po- tato whisky with which the country at that time was abundantly supplied, lost his way in the dark when near the site of Waterloo and wandered into a beaver meadow. Early the next morning, loud shouts were heard by a passer-by, and on penetrating the marsh, which was concealed from sight by bushes, he found the mail carrier presenting a forlorn appearance his u2 34 , HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. hat being lost, his face and clothes besmeared with mud, his horse in the mire up to his sides and unable to move. Be it said, however, as one proof of his trust- worthiness as a servant of the public, that the mail, which consisted of two letters and three newspapers, had been preserved intact. The Waterloo and Magog Railway is completed through Frost Village as far as the western boundary of Stukely, but, as yet, none but freight trains have ever run over the road. At the time the registry office was moved from this place to Waterloo a rapid emigration commenced, many of the leading families taking up their residence at the latter place ; and this migration was increased as the railway was completed and the depot erected at Waterloo. Although the land around Frost Village affords a very pleasant site for a large village, the abundant water-power at Waterloo, and the successful operation of mills and manufacturing establishments already in existence there, rendered it a more desirable location for those engaging in business ; hence it became the centre of trade and the chef-lieu of the county. Frost Village, on the other hand, has continued to. decline in importance, many of its buildings having been burned, others yielding to the ravages of time so that at present it presents a desolate aspect. WATERLOO. This village is situated in the southern part of the township of Shefford, two miles from Frost Village and eight from West Shefford. It is adjacent to Waterloo Pond, a beautiful little sheet of water some- thing less than two miles in length and nearly a mile in breadth. It is said that the way in which the place received its name is this : Several individuals were once en- deavoring to fix on a name for the yet unchristened settlement when the late Judge Knowlton of Brome, who was present, suggested Waterloo, and the sug- gestion met with a hearty approval. The name was one cherished by the Judge from the fact that he was a great admirer Of Wellington, and had taken a deep interest in the battle which gave to the Duke his crowning laurels and decided the destinies of Europe. Waterloo was incorporated Jan. 1, 1867. The limits of the village are lots Nos. twenty, twenty-one, twenty- two and the south half of lot No. nineteen in the fourth range, and lots Nos. twenty, twenty-one, twenty-two and the north half of lot No. nineteen in the third range. In speaking of the pioneers we shall mention not only those who settled within the limits of the Cor- 36 HISTOEY OF SHEFFORD. poration, but others who took up land near it and were prominent either in developing the resources of, the township or in improving its social fabric. Silas Lewis from Templeton, Mass., one of the " Associates " of Shefford, became an occupant of the lot now owned by Lewis Clark as early as 1796. He remained there only until 1804, when he sold his land and moved to West Shefford. In the following year he returned and settled on the lot now owned, in part, by his son, Amasa Lewis. Here he died in September, 1849. He had nine children eight of whom settled in Shefford. One daughter became an inhabitant of Stukely. Mr. Lewis was a quiet man, caring little for public affairs, and preferring to spend his time chiefly in cul- tivating his farm and in providing for his family. He was a devoted member of the Episcopal Church. He built the first mills erected at the outlet of Waterloo Pond, where now the mills of J. C. Ellis stand. Mr. Lewis was appointed captain of militia, and held the office several years. His daughter Elizabeth was the first female child born in the township. He had a large family, but only one child, a son, bearing the name of his father, lived permanently in Shefford. The descendants of these two brothers are numerous in this township, and are numbered with its sober and in- dustrious citizens. The early inhabitants were obliged to go to St Johns, forty miles distant, for the most common necessaries of life. On one occasion, Silas and Ezekiel Lewis, with two or three others, went there on foot, to pur- chase salt, which they brought home on their backs. In returning, Ezekiel Lewis became so exhausted, that HISTORY OP SHEPFORD. 37 he sank down in the forest, unable to proceed farther without assistance. The others pushed forward to the nearest settlement, procured aid, returned and rescued their companion. The land and improvements of Silas Lewis, where he first settled, in Shefford, were purchased in 1804, by Daniel Clark, from Al burgh, Vt. Mr. Clark, with the aid of his sons, cleared up the greater part of this lot, and lived on it till his death, which occurred in 1854. He once let to a man the job of felling several acres of forest. One morning, soon afterwards, the man commenced work, and continued it till nearly noon, when he sought shelter in the house of Mr. Clark, from an approaching thunder-storm. It raged with great violence, and when the woodman returned to his work, to his surprise he found not a tree standing of those he had engaged to chop down. Mementoes of this event may still be seen, in the shape of numerous hillocks, resulting from upturned roots. Mr. Clark had six children, three sons and an equal number of daughters. The sons all settled in Sheiford, and two of them are still living. They are quiet, industrious men, and so strong is their local attachment that they have never been far from the place of their residence. John, the eldest child of Daniel Clark, settled in a lot adjacent to that of his father, which is now owned by his own son, John R. Clark. He died here on the 14th of February, 1869, in the 78th year of his age. He, also, was very strongly attached to his adopted township, and was never known to be absent there- from more than two weeks at any one time. 38 HISTORY OF SHEFFOED. John E. Clark, his son, is one of the active and highly esteemed citizens of the township. For seve- ral years he was a conductor on the S.S. & C. Railway, but is now in trade in the village, and is a member of the village council. He has long been connected with the Methodist Church, and is regarded as one of its pillars. Zepheniah Harvey, from Marlborough, Mass., set- tled at Frost Village, ShefFord, on the lot now owned by Wm. Gr. Parmelee, Esq., in March, 1810. He was the first occupant of the lot, and built a block house on the site of the house now standing there, and for- ' merly occupied by Mr. Parmelee. About twelve years after this, he removed to the lot near Waterloo, now owned and occupied, in part, by his son Cyrus Harvey. There was no house on this lot at the time he pur- chased it, but small patches had been cleared, here and there, by parties who had consumed the timber in making ashes for potash. Mr. Harvey was an active, earnest Christian. He died July llth, 1858. He had three sons, Cyrus, David and Zepheniah. The two latter settled in Granby ; the former remained on the homestead, and is one of the staunch Christians and industrious far- mers of Sheiford. He has four sons; three of whom live in Waterloo and contribute their influence to- wards industry and respectability. The first settlers of Sheiford suffered, like those of all new countries, from the incursions and depreda- tions of wild beasts. The last excitement, in the vici- nity of Waterloo, occasioned by their appearance, occurred about a quarter of a century ago. One evening Mr. Cyrus Harvey, and his neighbor Mr. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 39 Longley, hearing wolves howl, went in pursuit of them, and discovered that they were on the north side of the stream running into Waterloo Pond, near their own clearings. They gave notice to the citizens of the village, and early in the morning the woods were surrounded by men and boys, eager to capture the marauders, but, owing to the scarcity of fire-arms, the wolves, six in number, and two of them black, broke through the line and escaped. In 1812, Benjamin Longley, from Marlborough, N.H., but originally from Littleton, Mass., settled in Shefford. His son, Edmund Longley, now resides where his father purchased, and the family name has been given to the place, which is known as Longley Hill. Soon after coming to Canada, Mr. Longley broke his leg, which misfortune made him an invalid during the remainder of his life. He died in 1837. He had a large family, but his son Edmund is the only one whose history is connected with that of Waterloo. He has been a very active man, and has taken large contracts for grading railroads, not only in this section but in other parts of the Province. He has held various offices, having been a commissioner for the trial of small causes, justice of the peace, councillor and mayor of the township. He has two sons, Dr. Edmund Longley, now residing in Manson- ville, P. Q., who has practiced medicine with much success both in the Townships and in Massachusetts, and the Rev. B. Longley who is at present pastor of the St. James' Wesleyan Church, Montreal. He is a young man, graduating from college as recently as 18*74. The following notice of his graduating honors is from the Advertiser of June 12th, 1874 : 40 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. " At the convocation of the University of Victoria College, held on the 27th May, we observe that Rev. B. Longley of Magog, and formerly of Waterloo, de- livered the valedictory oration and took the degree of B. A., as Silver Medalist and Valedictorian. He also won the Prince of Wales Silver Medal; the Webster Prize, First English Essay; the Punshon Prize, first in Composition and Elocution ; in the Faculty of Arts ; in Theological department the Cooley Prize, first in Ethics and Evidences ; and in the Literary Association the prize poem. This is about the most creditable record we have seen for a long time, and Waterloo may be proud of him." William Whitcomb, originally from Winchendon, Mass., became an inhabitant of Shefford in 1822. He had previously spent a. few years in Vermont and New York, and came to Canada at the solicitation of Rufus Whitcomb, a younger brother, then residing in Shefford, at the place now called Warden, where he owned a saw mill and a grist mill. William Whitcomb, at the time he decided to emi- grate to" Canada, was living in the town of Augusta, Oneida County, New York. Leaving that place, he had proceeded on his way as far as Watertown on the the Black River, when he met an old friend, who endeavored to dissuade him from coming to Canada, describing it a as cold, barren place where there was such a dense growth of white birch that "a hog could not get through the woods." Discouraged by this account, he decided to remain where he then was for a while, and then to return to Watertown. Accordingly, he dismissed the man whom he had HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 41 hired and paid to bring his family and effects to' Shefford. Shortly afterwards he started out one morn- ing on foot, with his boy Mark, to visit his brother. Mark (now Major) Whitcomb describes Warden at that time as a small clearing where there was only one house, and the old mills referred to above. The nearest neighbor of his uncle lived a mile distant. Finding the country more attractive than had been represented by his friend at Black River, Mr. Whit- comb returned for his family and lived with his brother Rufus a year, after which he took up his residence on the lot now owned and occupied by his son, Major Whitcomb. He died June 3, 1837, leaving four sons and one daughter. These all settled in Shefford, and have an honorable social status. Mark Whitcomb has ever been a useful, public- spirited citizen, one prominently identified with every important social, political or religious movement that has taken place in the township. He is an old mem- ber of the Methodist Church, has always held respon- sible Church offices, and, by*his earnest efforts, has done much towards sustain ing and building up Metho- dism in Waterloo. He has been a school commis- sioner, councillor, justice of the peace, and major of militia. During the Canadian Rebellion of 1837-38 Major Whitcomb, (at that time sergeant of militia) heard one day that three suspicious-looking individuals were secreted in an isolated house at Stukely. The Sergeant, after considerable effort, succeeded in get- ting a few men to accompany him, and they set out in the evening, by moonlight, to ascertain the char- acter and business of the persons whose actions were 42 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. the subject of so much comment. On the way to Stukely, the party was augmented by other men liv- ing along the road they were travelling, until, in all, they numbered nineteen. Arriving near the place designated, they held a short consultation as to the best method of surprising and capturing the inmates of the cabin. It was finally decided that they should quickly and noiselessly steal up to the door, enter, and arrest them, before they should have time to offer resistance. But who should be the first to enter? As it required more than ordinary courage to open the door of a strange house, in the night, in the face of enemies, no doubt desperate and well armed, this was a question not easily answered. After some hesi- tation, however, Sergeant Whitcomb and another man volunteered to lead the way.. Silently approaching the dwelling, they burst into it and demanded an im- mediate surrender. To their chagrin they found that the men had fled and that the house was empty. On searching, however, they discovered the tracks of the fugitives in the light snow that covered the ground, and they at once started in pursuit. A few hours, subsequently, they overtook them in North Stukely and made them prisoners. One of them was the notorious Dr. Wolfred Nelson for whose apprehension the Provincial Government had offered a reward of $2,000 ; the others were an Indian and a Frenchman, and all were endeavoring to reach the States. Nelson was nearly exhausted from hunger and fatigue. The prisoners were brought to Frost Village where they were kindly treated and then sent to Montreal, there to await, imprison, their trial for treason. The reward HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 43 was equally divided amongst the men who effected the capture. Major Whitcomb, has several stories of rencounters with wild beasts, but our space forbids the insertion of more than one. In his youthful days he and another young man were once at work near Waterloo in a road leading to Gran by. Suddenly, they were startled by a loud bellowing in the woods adjacent, and,on going to ascertain the cause of it, found a huge bear despatch- ing a young moose. After much shouting on their part and throwing of clubs, Bruin retreated, leaving them in possession of the moose. One of the earliest pioneers at Waterloo, whose enterprising spirit gave an impetus to business and whose descendants are still, morally and socially, among the first citizens of the place, was Hezekiah Robinson, Esq. He came from Newfane, Vt., in May, 1821, and took up his residence in Stukely. He had previously been engaged in wooLcarding and cloth manufacturing, and, on coming to Canada, at once turned his attention to this pursuit. He started a carding mill in Stukely, but the thought that the outlet of Waterloo Pond afforded better facilities for his business than the place where he was then located, induced him to purchase in Shefford, which he did, in the month of Oc'tober, following his arrival in Stukely. This purchase consisted of lot No. 21 in the 4th range,on which the mills were standing, and on which, also, was the frame of a small house, which he moved to the spot now occupied by D. Dcirby's office and completed for his dwelling. It has already been stated that the first mills at this 44 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. place were built by Captain Ezekiel Lewis. These were first sold to a man named Lalanne, and he subsequently sold them to a man named Lestourneau, who in turn sold to Mr. Eobinson. The latter gen- tleman built a carding mill and repaired the other mills to render them fit for use, and with these differ- ent mills he was chiefly employed during the first few years of his residence in Shefford, but he never ne- glected to do, meanwhile, what he was able to do, to build up the township of his adoption. In 1829 he opened a store, and in the following year erected a new saw mill. In 1832 he entered into partnership with Peasely and Copp, two gentle- men who had been engaged in mercantile business in G-eorgeville, where they had amassed considerable property; and the capital they furnished enabled him to make changes in his business which he had long desired to make, but which, from want of means, he had, hitherto, been unable to effect. Immediately after the formation of this co-partner- ship, the old grist mill was greatly improved, so that it answered the demands of the place, until 1835, when the one which is still in use here was built. In 1841 the co-partnership was dissolved, and Mr. Eobinson, having been successful, found himself at this time more able to engage in enterprises congenial to his tastes. He now built the stone store which has long been noted in the Townships for the large amount of business transacted in it, and a year subsequently entered into partnership with his son Jonathan, and son-in-law, B. A. Ellis. About this time he purchased a lot of land on which the principal part of the village now stands. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 45 Mr. Bobinson died in 1851, and bis loss was deplored as deeply, doubtless, as that of any person who has ever died in Waterloo. Coming to this place at a time when it was merely a patch in the wilderness, and possessing the energy and generous spirit requisite to promote the interests of a new settlement, he became identified with every enterprise that contri- buted to its growth and prosperity. So destitute was Waterloo of those conveniences and comforts which are found in it at the present time, in the early years of his residence here, that he was once obliged to travel to Derby, in Vt., a distance of forty-five miles, to post a letter, that being the near- est point at which a post office could be reached. At one time, also, in the history of this thriving village, Mr. Robinson's watch was the only time-piece in the place, and his was the only team of which the place could boast. Mr. Robinson earnestly endeavored to induce intel- ligent and active men to take up their residence in Waterloo, and it was owing to his exertions that several men settled here who figure prominently in the history of the place. His loyalty was unquestioned. During the Eebel- lion of 1837 and '38, reports were circulated in Water- loo to the effect that the Radicals were intending to attack the village, and burn the residences of those who were known to be in favor with the Government. No sooner had Mr. .Robinson heard this, than he boldly hoisted the British flag from the roof of his store, and for weeks it floated there as an evidence of his deter- mined spirit and the reverence he cherished for the British Crown. 46 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. He was devotedly attached to the new country to which he had emigrated, and also to the Church of England. As a Christian husband, father, friend and neighbor, a magistrate and man of business, his char- acter was most exemplary,and deservedly commanded the respect of all who knew him. Among the many contributions that he made for benevolent or public purposes, he gave seventeen acres of land as a glebe for the Church of England in Water- loo, erected in 1843, and subscribed more largely than any other person towards its erection. Mr. Robinson married Selucia Knowlton, a daugh- ter of the late Judge Knowlton of Brome. After his death she also subscribed generously for religious and educational purposes, and for public improve- ments. She gave $400 towards the building of the present Anglican parsonage, gave the site for the present French School building, and presented the Park to the village Corporation. Their children were nine in number, all of whom, with the exception of one, grew up, married and settled in Shefford and in its immediate vicinity. Frederick Robinson, their second son, was educated at Bishop's College in Lennoxville, and was the first student that entered that College from the Townships ; also the first native of the Townships ordained from that Institution. He was ordained in 1847, and ap- pointed to the temporary charge of Coteau du Lac. In 1848, he went to Abbottsford, in Quebec, as an as- sistant clergyman and incumbent of Rougemont, but soon took the whole charge of the parish, and is still an acceptable pastor at the same place. George Robinson, another son, entered the ministry, HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 47 and was ordained in the Episcopal Church in 1863. He took charge of a church in Clarendon in 1864, where he still remains, and has become much endeared to his parishioners by his earnest and consistent efforts as a clergyman. In his earlier years, while with his father at Waterloo, he devoted much lime and atten- tion to agriculture, and the knowledge he thus ac- quired, has made him serviceable to the new settlers of the section where he resides. Edward Robinson, a younger brother, engaged in mercantile business, but death, a few years afterward, prevented the realization of his youthful hopes. H. L. Robinson, a fourth son, also became a mer- chant, and his success may be learned from the follow- ing article taken from the Waterloo Advertiser of Sep- tember 30th, 1869 : " Our village is losing some of its best citizens this summer. Aside from those we have, from time to time, mentioned as taking their departure from our midst, we have this week to announce that Major Luke Robinson is about to leave Waterloo to take up his residence in the city of Baltimore, Maryland. He has been in trade here so long, and is so intimately connected with the best interests of the place, that it is hard to realize that he is going to leave us. There are but few men, if any, who will be more missed than he. For any benevolent or public work, Major Luke was a ready donor and on this account, as well as many others, he will be sadly missed. One good quality of his, among many others, was the interest he always manifested in the young men of the place, A word of encouragement or of advice from a man of position is, at some periods in a young 48 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. maVs life, of incalculable benefit. In his new home, and in the career opening before him, he will have the best wishes of the people of this place for a con- tinuation of health, happiness and prosperity." Major Robinson, preferring a home in his native country, returned after the lapse of a few years, and entered into business in Montreal where he still remains. Jonathan, the eldest son of Hezekiah Robinson, re- mained in Waterloo, and was long known as one of the leading merchants and active business men of the place. For several successive terms he was the mayor of the township and warden of the county of Shef- ford. He also filled the position of postmaster here for many years, to the satisfaction of all. He died in 1866. He married Emma J., a daughter of "William Dampier, Esq., and she and her children still reside at Waterloo, where their influence is justly felt and appreciated. Wm. H. Robinson, their eldest son, commenced the study of medicine and passed his primary examination at McGill College, where he took the first prize in his class. His health failing at this time he traveled ex- tensively in Europe, and then returned and entered the mercantile firm of Robinson Brothers & Stevens. In September, 1871. he was married to Julia M., youngest daughter of Zenas Reynolds, Esq. He has filled several municipal offices, and was for a time secretary- treasurer of the Waterloo Boot and Shoe Company a Company that he was largely instru- mental in forming. He resigned this position in 1875 for that of accountant in the Eastern Town- ships Bank, at Waterloo, which place he still retains. HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 49 Arthur F. Robinson, his brother, is one of the rising roung merchants composing the firm of Robinson, Stevens & Willard. J. H. Robinson, a still younger brother, is already well known as an amateur musician. At the present time he is in Europe, for the purpose of completing his musical education. Charlotte K. Robinson, the eldest child of Heze- kiah Robinson, married R. A. Ellis, Esq., who com- menced business in her father's store as a clerk, and rose by his ability and integrity to one of the most influential men of Waterloo. He was a son of Orange Ellis, Esq., mentioned in another part of this work, and was born in Odelltown, P.Q. His youth was spent in Frelighsburg, but for nearly forty years he was a resident of Waterloo, and was intimately con- nected with all the material interests of the place. For several years he was successfully engaged in trade, and was regarded by all who knew him as a straightforward, reliable man of business. The office of magistrate, which he long held, was filled with honor to himself, and to the entire satisfaction of the county. His success in business had enabled him to retire from its perplexities and cares, and, during the few years preceding his death, he had been quietly closing up his affairs and enjoying the repose of the family circle. He was an active and consistent member of the Church of England, and his house was emphatically the clergyman's home. He cheerfully responded to every call of the Church on his time or money, and the present Church edifice in Waterloo is largely due to his exertions. Mr. Ellis died April 2, 1873. There was a large 50 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. attendance at the funeral, and, as a mark of respect to the deceased, Judge Dunkin adjourned the Circuit Court, then in session, during the service, and he and the members of the Bar attended. Not only did the business portion of the citizens of Waterloo and Shef- ford feel that a void had been created in their midst by the death of Mr. Ellis, but a respected family was left to mourn his loss. Sarah H. Robinson, another daughter of Mr. Ro- binson, married Dr. J. C. Butler, whose obituary will be found on another page. From Hezekiah .Robinson and his descendants we pass to another pioneer of Sheiford and founder of Waterloo Daniel Taylor, Esq. : Mr. Taylor was from Newfane, Vt. He was a cloth- dresser, and, previous to coming to Waterloo, in 1823, had been for some time engaged at his trade in Clare- mont, N.H. On his arrival here he bought a house, which stood on the site of the present residence of J. B. Malboeuf ; he also purchased the building which had been erected by Timothy Harvey for a cloth- dressing shop, and at once engaged in his former business. He afterwards- became a partner of H. Robinson and Charles Allen, Esqi*s., in other business, the details of which will be found in the succeeding sketch of Mr. Allen. Mr. Ta} T lor was twice married ; first, to Mary A. Ainsworth, of Claremont, N.H., who died in June, 1826, and next to Lucia Chase, of Wethersfield, Vt. His .obituary, published in the Advertiser of Sept. 23, 1858, gives us an idea of his moral worth : " It is our painful duty to record this week the death of Daniel Taylor, Esq., of the firm of Allen & HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 51 Taylor, of this place, one of our oldest and most respected citizens. Mr. Taylor had been for some time in poor health, but to the last was able to exercise the active oversight of his large business. The imme- diate cause of his death was paralysis. He was a good man, just and generous ; of quiet, unobtrusive habits, but of sound judgment, liberal views, and ex- alted moral and religious principles. In his social relations, he was kind and courteous; no man had fewer enemies or deserved them less. He was the liberal patron of whatever tended to promote the progress of intelligence, morality and religion, and his sudden death has created a sad void among us, and cast a deep gloom over our entire community. ' Death loves a shining mark.' Mr. Taylor was buried here, with Masonic honours, on the 19th instant, and was followed to his grave by a large procession of relatives and sympathizing friends." He left one daughter and two sons. The daughter married Leonard L. Brown, and settled in Dunham, where she died in 1875. The sons, Walter A. and Edwin A. Taylor, still live in this village. The former is one of those cheerful, fun-loving individuals,whose presence is a rebuke to melancholy, and whose peculiarities, generally, makes him a celebrity in the community in which he lives. In his youthful days he sought his fortune in Boston. His unpretentious appearance made many a specu- ating Yankee regard him as an individual with whom a profitable trade might be negotiated, but the sequel of the trade generally proved that the Yankee had emphatically caught a Tartar. In 1849, he'married Mary A. Bryant, of Boston, 52 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. and in 1855, he returned to Canada, and engaged in agricultural pursuits. Though never losing an opportunity of indulging his propensity for fun, he nevertheless possesses a good judgment, and a quick and clear appreciation of character. His influence as a man of business is deservedly acknowledged in Waterloo, and he is not unfrequently called upon by his fellow-citizens to fill one or more of their local offices. He is now a school commissioner. Edwin A. Taylor devoted his early years to farm- ing, but on the death of his father in 1858, he and his brother took charge of their father's business in the firm of Allen & Taylor, and he has ever since been a member of that firm. Some men obtain influence in a community imper- ceptibly and unconscious to themselves. A man who unostentatiously pursues his vocation, year after year, who is proverbially courteous and honorable in his dealings with his patrons, slowly, but surely, secures their esteem. Edwin Taylor is a man of this stamp. Without ever seeking office or popularity, he holds the respect of the citizens of Waterloo with a tenure stronger and more enduring than that which could bind them to a man continually courting applause. His generosity is well known, and no enterprise is started which has for its object moral or social im- provement that does not receive his cordial support. In 1862, he married Ellen M. Lawrence, a daughter of Wesley Lawrence, Esq. Of those whose histories are identified with that of Waterloo, few are more prominent than Charles Allen, Esq. He was born in Andover, Windsor Co., Vt. His HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 53 father subsequently removed to Chester, in the same state, and the son lived there till he was twenty-one, when he went to Troy, N.Y., and apprenticed himself as a blacksmith. The following account of his arrival in Canada is given in his own language : " I arrived in Waterloo on the 31st day of March, 1825. I was ten days in making the journey from Claremont, and had a tedious time of it. Being informed at Montpelier, Yt., that I had reached the terminus of the stage line, north, I started from that place on foot, and, with the exception of an occasional short ride I was sometimes fortunate enough to ob- tain, I performed the remainder of the journey in this manner. " I first came to East Hatley, and started from there to Magog, being directed in my course by blazed trees. A heavy snow storm set in about the time I left Hatley, and, as I was already beginning to feel the discomforts of home-sickness, this part of my journey was anything but pleasant. I stayed in Magog all night, and the next morning, again placing my pack on my back, I resumed my journey. After travelling about three miles, I was overtaken by a man witl^ a two-horse team, to whom I gave half a- crown the only money I possessed for a ride to Frost Village. This village, at that time, was a lively little place, and the only one at all prominent in what is now known as the County of Shefford. In Water- loo there were but six families when I arrived, and their dwellings, together with a shoemaker's shop, an old rickety saw.mill, a grist mill, carding and cloth dressing shop, and a small hotel, comprised the entire village. I was very glad to see my old friends, Daniel 54 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. Taylor and his wife, and their society mitigated in a great measure the unhappiness I felt in coming to a land of strangers." Mr. Allen engaged to work at blacksmithing for Taylor and Hezekiah Robinson, very soon after coming to Canada. He was thus employed for three months; he then purchased Tay- lor's interest in the business, and entered into part- nership with Robinson. Having been successful, two years afterwards he bought out Robinson, and con- tinued the business alone. Possessing much mechan- ical ingenuity, and having tools for manufacturing sheet-iron and stove-pipe, he was very serviceable as a mechanic to the new settlers of the county, and thus became widely known. In 1829, he married Laura, a sister of Daniel Tay- lor. In 1832, his shop, which stood where now the shop of Hill & Foss stands, was burned, by which fire he lost about everything he possessed. With characteristic energy, however^he went to work, and, in a short time, erected a much larger and better shop on the site of the old one. Uniting his business once more with that of Daniel Taylor, in 1835 they built a foundry and continued in partnership till 1837. At that time, business being much affected by the break- ing out of the rebellion, Mr. Allen sold his business to Taylor and a man named Stevens, and enlisted in a cavalry company in the interest of the loyalists. A year after this he was about returning to the States, but being earnestly solicited by his friends to remain, decided to do so, and soon after, a new copartnership was formed, under the name of Allen & Taylor. In 1839 they opened a store, and this, in connection with their other business, they continued together, till the HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 55 death of Mr. Taylor in 1858. The two sons of Mr. Taylor then continued the business, representing their father's interest in it, until 1865, when one of these brothers retired. George H., the second son of Mr. Allen, who had for some years been a clerk in the business, became a partner in 1861, and still remains as such. During the period of all these changes the business of the firm has been enlarged, new buildings have been erected, and the reputation of the firm has increased, until the name of Allen & Taylor has become familiar in every household in the Townships and to all the business men of the Pro vince. At present, they have ten different buildings, besides their store, devoted to their business. The first of these is a pattern and wood shop, in which the woodwork of agricultural implements is made and general job work done ; the second is a stove fitting shop ; the third a brass and iron foundry, 70 by 50 feet in size; the fourth an engine house, from which proceeds the power by which all their machi^ nery is propelled ; the fifth building is a "machine shop, brick, 100 feet by 40, two storeys in height, and devoted to the manufacture of various kinds of brass and iron machinery. In the upper part of this are stored the various machinery patterns. The next building is a blacksmith shop, and the next, in order, is a sample room. Besides these buildings they have three warehouses, in the basements of which are kept the rough materials, and in the upper rooms the manufactured articles. The value of the machinery and patterns connected with this business is $20,000, and that of the real estate $10,000. From 200 to 300 tons of iron are manufactured here annually. Anglo 56 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. Saxon manhood is acknowledged to be capable of great things, but the granite features of the stock are seldom seen with more distinctness than in the life of Charles Allen, Esq., who, through unflagging energy and perseverance, has become one of the leading merchants and manufacturers of the country. His ability has long been felt and acknowledged by his fellow citizens, who have repeatedly entrusted him with municipal offices. He has been a school com- missioner and a member of the municipal council for many years, secretary-treasurer of the Agricultural Society, and also a justice of the peace. It would be unfair, however, to deny that his success is owing, in part, to the tact and ability of his partners. Geo. H. Allen, his son, mentioned above, who is now mayor of Waterloo, has long been one of the leading men not only of the township but of the county of Shef- ford. He has been secretary-treasurer of the Agri- cultural Society of the County for twenty years, Auditor of the Township and . County several times, and has frequently served as municipal councillor. His generous off-hand contributions for benevolent purposes and enterprises of pub- lic utility have made him renowned in Water- loo, while his devotion to business, his genial manner, clear judgment and fearless way of expressing his convictions at once demand from all who know him the tribute of unqualified respect. In February, 1864, he was married to Mary T. Edgarton, daughter of J. B. Edgarton, Esq., late registrar of the county of Shefford, Chas. T., the eldest son of Chas. Allen, a worthy HISTORY OF SHEFPORD. 57 citizen now living in Shefford, has always devoted his attention to farming. Daniel Allen, the youngest of the sons, has for some years been a clerk for the firm. He is a graduate of St. Francis College. After completing his college course he commenced the study of Medicine, but was obliged to abandon it on account of ill health. Subse- quently, he travelled extensively for the purpose of regaining his health, and in the course of his rambles visited the Holy Land, Dr. Rotus Parmelee, whose name is so familiar to both young and old in the District of Bedford, may be numbered with the pioneers of Shefford. The sketch of his life here given was published in the Advertiser of July 8th, 1870. " Died At Forest Grove, Oregon, 27th May, 1870, after a long and painful illness, of a disease contracted whilst in discharge of his duty as school inspector, Dr. llotus Parmelee, formerly cf Waterloo, P.Q., in the 69th year of his age. Probably no man was better known in this district, or knew so much of the district as Dr. Parmelee, to whose memory we devote these lines. His long and popular career as Government school inspector was a fit supplement of the active years he had devoted to the practice of his profession, and the severe toil of those early years in the (then) new country where he made his home. True, his life did not abound in adventure, nor was it marked by achievements to win the world's applause, but as one of the pioneers of this aforetime wilderness, he was an active participator in the struggles -those men made, and has left the present generation in posession of cultivated lands where stood 2 58 HISTORY O'F SHEFFORD. the wilderness, of comfortable houses in the place of the rude dwellings of those days, and of luxuries instead of deprivations. The life of such an one is worthy of all honor though the great deeds be want- ing, One cannot honor too highly those sturdy old pioneers, among whom the name of Dr. Parmelee stands prominently out. He was born at Fairfax, Yt., April 1st, 1802, and even in his childhood days must have known something of the life of a pioneer, in a country which was then almost a wilderness. To obtain a higher culture than that afforded by the District school, was no easy task in the early history of Dr. Par melee's life. He was ambitious to obtain that higher education, however, and in order to obtain the funds necessary to pay his way through college he taught school from time to time as he went along with his studies. He graduated at Yermont Univer- sity, Burlington, about the year 1826. Soon after gra- duating became to Canada and taught in the Academy at Hatley, in Stanstead County. It was while teach- ing at that place that he commenced the study of medicine with the late Dr. Weston, then a noted prac- titioner in that part of the country. In the course of his studies he attended medical lectures at Montreal and Quebec, and in due time obtained his Diploma. In 1829, he married Sarah H., eldest daughter of the late Wm. Grinnis, Esq.,of Hatley, and in the same year settled in Waterloo, where he continued to reside until the last autumn. In those days of bad roads physicians were scarce. The newly settled country possessed strong arms and stout hearts but wealth was wanting. In the extensive and successful practice of his profession, in such a country, the young physician HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. 59 had a hard life, but for many years he devoted him- self unremittingly and uncomplainingly to the arduous task of ministering to the bodily ills of a large circuit of patients, of which Waterloo was the centre, until the increasing population brought an influx of medi- cal men, and his own appointment as Government Inspector of Schools for the District of Bedford ne- cessitated his retirement from the practice of medicine. Previous to this, in the political entanglements and complications of the troublous times existing in the country, growing out of new political combinations, he had been brought forward by his friends, as a can- didate to represent the County in Parliament. He was not ambitious of political honors ; his tastes and habits of life found no congeniality in politics, and he was just as well pleased that the result of the election was not in his favor. He was, however, one of those men who deemed the right of suffrage in the nature of a solemn act to be consummated vigorously and consistently ; and without participating in the many exciting contests that shook the County to its centre from time to time, he yet always recorded his vote for the party which he believed after mature consi- deration to represent the principles most advantageous to the country ; and for many years he recorded the first vote polled in the township of Shefford, until it came to be admitted as a sort of customary right or privilege which none might gainsay. In the early part of 1834 he lost his wife. In 1 835 he married again, Sarah H., a daughter of late Judge Knowlton, and widow of D. W. San born, Esq., Newfane, Yt., who survives him. From the time of his appointment as school in- 60 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. spector till the day of his resignation he devoted himself assiduously to the duties of his office. Under his charge were about three hundred schools, besides several Academies and high schools, each of which he visited twice a year a task requiring energy and patience. Owing to bad management and a poor scho<51 law he found the schools in this district in a lax state, but he at once set himself earnestly to work to reform whatever was wrong in the management, and to improve the schools that were doing well. It was a work in which he took pride as well as delight, and he lived to see amazing improvements in scholastic matters in the district, before he took oif the harness. Out of the educational chaos he brought order ; school houses were erected all over the district; teachers with higher qualifications were provided; interest was evoked in aid of the schools until the common schools of this district will bear comparison with any in the Province. Those who remember how matters stood before Dr. Parmelee received the appointment of school inspector, and who watched with an appreciative interest his course throughout his term of office, cheerfully accord him the credit of the great reform which this district has witnessed, not many years past, in educational matters. He brought the whole power of his strong and active mind, and he devoted the whole of his time unceas- ingly to education in the district, and he was satisfied only with the best results. School commissioners, managers and teachers, he kept well up to their work, never deviating from the path of duty him- self, nor allowing it in those connected with him in the work of education. He was one of the pro- HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 61 moters of the District of Bedford Teacher's Asso- ciation, and took an active part in its deliberations. He was its president for one or two terms, and much of the good it accomplished during its exist- ence is in main due to his efforts. For many years he was an active magistrate, until infirmities and the requirements of his office compelled him to relinquish that important duty. While on a tour for his health, two years since, extending to California and Oregon, he was so much pleased with the latter state (and having a daughter there, the wife of Professor Marsh, of Oregon Uni- versity,) he determined to make it his place of abode for the remaining years of his life. Accordingly he returned to Canada, closed his business, and then took his final departure for the Pacific coast. Soon after his arrival there a disease which he had long before contracted assumed more alarming proportions, and, after many months of patient suffering,, he was called away to a better land, " a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens." Dr. Parmelee was highly respected wherever known. He was a descendant of that old Puritan stock that settled New England, and he retained their firm dislike to vice and their unswerving at- tachment to right, not because it was the best policy out because it was God's teaching and man's duty, He was a member of the Advent Church here for many years, and, up to the time of his removal, was one of its most active members. He was in all respects a zealous and consistent Christian. He leaves many relatives in this district to mourn his loss, as well as a large circle of friends. 62 HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. Besides the daughter alluded to above, Dr. Parmelee left one son, Win. G-. Parmelee, whose history, like his father's,. has been intimately connected with that of Shefford. A man of honor, sobriety and wisdom, his influence has long been felt in his native town- ship and he has frequently been solicited by his fel- low townsmen to accept their most responsible muni- cipal offices. Honors of this kind, however, he has steadily declined, and wherever we find him holding a public office it is because the honor has been literally thrust upon him. He has always displayed a lively interest in educational matters, and has been one of the governors of the Academy at Waterloo, since its organization. About sixteen years ago he was engaged a clerk in the Eastern Townships Bank, but his efficiency soon won for him the place of manager, a position he occupied until the commencement of the present year, 1876. At that time, his ability as an accountant and his trustworthiness as a man of busi- ness having become widely known, he was called to Ottawa and employed as accountant and chief clerk in the Customs Department. In 1873, he received the appointment of Justice of the Peace, and, during his residence in Waterloo, he was frequently called on to exercise the prerogative of this office, which he always did with such impar- tiality and justice that his decisions were never sub- jected to criticism. In 1874 he was one of three commissioners appointed under the Great Seal of Canada to investigate affairs at the Montreal Post Office. In the same year he was elected school commissioner of Waterloo. In discharging the duties of these various offices he has always been HISTORY OF SHEFFOKD. 63 actuated, not by self interest but by an inflexible regard for rectitude and a desire for the public good. Possessed of broad and liberal views with an independent spirit, he has ever been above the influence of men controlled by jealousy or sordid ambition ; indeed, so well known are his principles that no one presumes to solicit his aid unless conscious that his cause is fortified by reason and justice. Amidst all the demands which his onerous duties have made on his time, he has not neglected the continual cultivation of his mind. A great reader, with a desire to exa . ine whatever is novel or mysterious. he has kept pace with the progress of literature and science, so that he is well informed with regard to both past and present events in the world's history. As may be imagined, the removal of Mr. Parmelee to Ottawa was a source of sorrow to the citizens of Waterloo. He was a popular manager of the Waterloo Branch of the Eastern Townships Bank, and his departure on this account would have been more keenly felt had he not been succeeded by a popular and very capabje manager, W. I. Briggs. Mr. Briggs, like his predecessor, became connected with the Eastern Townships Bank as clerk. He was first employed at Stanbridge in 1859. Evincing not only activity and honesty in this position, but talent as an accountant he was promoted to the office of manager of the Cowansville branch of the Bank in 1871. Here he officiated to the satisfaction of the directors of the Bank and of the public generally, until the commence- ment of the present year. Faithful and courteous in the discharge of his duties, genial in his manner, he is regarded by the citizens of Waterloo as a valuable acquisition to their society. 64 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. While it is a fact that Hezekiah Robinson, Daniel Taylor and Charles Allen, Esqs., were the founders of Waterloo, and continued to reside here amidst many discouragements, and to perfect enterprises that result- ed in public good, it is a fact no less undeniable, and in every way worthy of record, that Waterloo is very largely indebted for its growth and present nourish- ing condition to the daring enterprise and generous spirit of the Hon. A. B. Foster. Mr. Foster is a son of Dr. Foster, of whom a biographical sketch has already been given in the History of Frost Village. He was born in Newfane, Vt , in 1817. Like many others who have secured a niche in the temple of renown, and astonished the public by the magnitude of their achievements, he commenced life without fortune. His first appearance in business was at Waterloo, while only a youth, where he entered into partnership with a merchant named Woodward. He discontinued this after a short time, went to the States, and was engaged for some years with an uncle residing in Dummerston, Vt., in building railroads. In 1849 he was married to ,Miss Fish. Having ac- quired much knowledge of railroads, and of the most easy, expeditious and proper method of constructing them, in 1841, he took a contract for building a part of the Boston and Portland R.R. This being com- pleted, he engaged as contractor in building several miles of the Vermont Central .Railway on the Southern section of that road. Not long after the fulfilment of this contract he returned to Canada, and the Grand Trunk Railway being then in process of construction, he found once more an opportunity to embark in the business for which he seemed to have acquired a HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 65 liking, and again appears as a contractor. By this time he had become widely known. His enterprising spirit winning the admiration of the people of the County of Shefford, his success in business assuring them of the correctness of his judgment, they began to regard him as eminently fitted to represent their interests in the Provincial Legislature. Accordingly, at the solicita- tions of his friends, he offered himself as a candidate for Parliament in the interests of the conservative party, and was elected to the Legislative Assembly in 1858. In 1860 he resigned, and was elected by acclamation to the Legislatire Council for Bedford Division, which he represented until the Union. Previous to this, the Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly Railway had been commenced. Mr. Foster was one of the Directors of this road, and as its completion seemed to be a matter of uncertainty, on account of the lack of funds, he resign- ed his office of director and took a contract for com- pleting the road from Granby to Stukely Line. This labor was successfuly accomplished, and he then took a lease of the road for a term of years. Soon after this he leased it to the Vermont Central Eailroad Co. for twenty years, or until 1882. His next step in the way of railroad enterprise was building the Montreal Vermont Junction, and this was followed by the construction of the South Eastern Counties, and the Canada Central Railways. At present he is engaged in completing the Northern portion of the South Eastern Railway from Sorel to Sutton Junction, and the Canada Central Extension, commencing at Sand Point, and terminating at Lake Nipissing. Among the honors that he has received, 66 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. some years since, he was appointed Lieut.-Col. of the 1 st Battalion of Shefford Militia. It is not surprising that, after having devoted so much time to railroad building; after having repeat- edly embarked in gigantic railway enterprises, from which most men would have shrunk in dismay, he should be regarded as the Canadian Railway King. In 1867, he was called to the Senate, by Eoyal Proclamation, and held this office till 1874, when he resigned. During all these immense and varied labors, he has not been unmindful of the prosperity of the village where he resides. We have already said that the completion of the railroad, and the erection of railroad buildings at Waterloo, tended to produce emigration to the place and give a rapid impetus to its growth. To continue this growth, Mr. Foster always labored unceasingly ; his purse being opened generously for the promotion of everything which promised to benefit those already here, or offered inducements for others to come. One of his first steps towards building up the place was to open several new streets, and to make a free gift of many desirable building lots to individuals to induce them to settle here. He also erected a com- modious public house, known as the Foster House, besides a goodly number of private residences. He built a steam saw- mill, which he afterwards presented to the Shaw Brothers, to be enlarged and fitted up for a tannery, and also gave to them sufficient land for a site. In this way the southern part of the village rapidly sprung into existence, and it has ever since been in lively competition with the much older part known as the Lower Tillage. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 6*7 Among the many generous contributions for edu- cational and other purposes that came from his hand, we mention a few which the citizens of Waterloo have reason to hold in grateful remembrance. He presented to the village one acre of land for the site of an academy, and subscribed largely towards the erection of the building. He gave to the Church of England the site for their church edifice, and $1000. To the Universalist Society he gave the land on which their church is built and $200. To the Methodist Society he gave the beautiful site on which their church stands, containing one acre of ground, the brick for their church, and $200. The Roman Catho- lics are indebted to him for the site of their church, also for liberal pecuniary assistance. The Adventist Society has likewise received from him liberal aid. In 1865 he built a house in Waterloo, at an ex- pense of several thousands, which, for size and architectural, beauty vies with any of the private residences in and around our large cities, while, for the beauty of its surrounding grounds and situation, it is unsurpassed. In his business habits, Mr. Foster is in a degree anomalous. Reticent with regard to his projects, even his friends are frequently in igno- rance of his plans until they are well matured, and, sometimes, even till they are in execution. Such is his memory, that he keeps the details of his immense business ever in mind, and is able to define and explain it in all its ramifications when occasion de- mands, without referring, like most men, to a multi- plicity of written documents. With him, to conceive is to execute. Generally, when a man projects a work of more than ordinary magnitude, he enters 68 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. upon it with many misgivings and with much caution. A long time is spent in speculating, pondering and consulting. The opinions of others are solicited, and even when they are of the most encouraging nature, he commences work with a trepidation which is dis- heartening to those interested, and which often cheats the enterprise of a successful issue. Not so with the honorable gentleman of whom we are speaking. When he has once conceived the desire to accomplish a work, its consummation is certain. Without hesi- tation, quietly and confidently, he begins, and, as if by magic, everything that can contribute to the fur- therance of his schemes is made to offer tribute. Possessed of an intuitive perception of character, he seldom fails in selecting the proper person to perform the work assigned him, and such is the magnetic in- fluence that he exerts over his fellows, that he rarely meets with opposition. In his business, in later years, he has received valuable assistance from his two sons, Charles W. Foster and Asa B. Foster, jun., also from his sons-in-law, T. A. Knowlton and J. B. Edgarton. Having devoted the foregoing pages to the pioneers of Shefford, we shall next attempt to give an his- torical sketch of the ecclesiastical affairs of the town- ship. The following account of the Church of England Mission has been prepared for us by the Eev. D. Lindsay : " The history of the Episcopal Church in this village is deeply interesting, from the fact that, hav- ing been for many years the only station occupied by that Church in this district of country, all the other parishes more or less trace their source to it. The HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 69 first regular appointment was that of the Reverend R. Whitwell, in the year 1821, during the Episcopacy of the first Bishop Mountain. These are the remem- brances of the Reverend Mr. Garlick, who is men- tioned in Mrs. Day's History of these townships as having ministered in this village. No records are found of his work. In those early days he did, no doubt, what he could in the wilderness, and it is to be regretted that no authentic account of his labors is to be found. Mr. Whitwell's mission was almost without limit the nearest minister of the Church being at Dunham. Many a memory of his labors still remains in the parish, though his work was rather that of a travelling missionary than a settled pastor. In 1826 he was promoted to the rectory of Philips- burg, where he labored successfully for upwards of thirty years, and then resigned his parish, on account of growing infirmities, in 1856. He died in the year 1864. He will always be remembered as a holy, self-denying man, one of those early pioneers of the Church, who had difficulties to contend with that we can scarcely estimate. During his ministry a church was completed on Longley's hill, but destroyed by fire just as it was finished. West Shefford church, also, seems to have been completed, though not consecrated till 1833,by Bishop Stewart. This church,with its beau- tiful burial-ground, still remains, and is, from its age and association, one of the most interesting in the Diocese. The church at Frost Village seems to have been commenced in 1824, and, after much struggling on account of the want of funds, was finally finished as an Union church, with an academy in the upper story, and dedicated in 1833. This appears to have 70 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. been the only building specially set apart for the public worship of God, in this part of Shefford, until the church was built in Waterloo. The district school- houses being used then, as they are now, in new places, for the purpose of religious worship. Upon the resignation of Mr. Whitwell, the Rev- erend George A. Salmon was appointed by Bishop Stewart, and it was during his ministry that the Union Church in Frost Village was first occupied and the church at West Shefford consecrated. He was very much respected for his high Christian character, and the zealous and punctual performance of his duty. Failing health obliged him to resign in 1838. He returned to Simcoe, Ontario, and was occupied in teaching and taking occasional duty. He was succeeded in the Mission by the Reverend A. Balfour, who was appointed by Bishop Mountain in 1838. Mr. Balfour still survives, and is living at Kingsey, in honorable retirement from active work, which his many labors in years past have amply won. He has kindly sent a few reminiscences of his work, from which we make the following extract : He says that upon his entrance to the Mission, except the Stations of West Shefford, Waterloo, Frost Village and South Stukely, the church maintained a strug- gling existence. It was not generally known nor heard of without prejudice. The nearest clergyman on the East was Hatley, and at the West at Abbotts- ford and Dunham. On the North and South to the French Country or the Province Line, our church had not a cordial greeting. Taking in the state of the roads and the discordant elements of religious thought, it was a formidable undertaking to cultivate this moral HISTOBY OP SHEFFORD. 71 wilderness. The Church, working on its old lines, had enough to do to hold weakly its own ground. The Village of Waterloo receiving always the first consi- deration and holding its regular services in the old school house, until about the year 1848, when, through the zealous exertion and liberal aid of H. Eobinson, Esq.,one of the first enterprising and successful sel tiers of the village and chief supporter of the church a church edifice, which had been commenced in 1843, was completed on an elevated and then central ground, giving a free access to the country parts by the newly- opened road. As necessity called, or a door freely opened, Mr. Balfour^spread his canvas, taking a stand- ing at every school-house promising a good result, on all sides of Waterloo, and seldom failed in gather- ing a Church Congregation at North Shefford, Rollins Hill, Roxton, Granby Village, South Ridge, South Ely and North Stukely, while the more sparsely settled Townships of Bolton, Brome and Potton received an occasional or periodical visit. To these remote settlements he was frequently called for the customary funeral sermon, which, though a heavy tax, was always cheerfully given. Here it may not be irrelevant to note an incident in con- nection with Potton : A gentleman by the name of Perkins became a resident of Waterloo, and con- ducted a tannery at that place. He said he had never attended Episcopal worship before ; this man and his family became attached to the church, and, being an educated and exemplary man, he was a great acqui- sition. After some years he purchased a farm in Potton, near Mr. Hanson's mill, and took his family there. Being warmly interested in the church, he eagerly desired to have it with him in Potton. He 72 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. invited Mr. Balfour to visit him and hold service there, also requested him to intercede with his Lordship Bishop Mountain to that end. This was accordingly done, but without any immediate effect. This gentle- man is now dead, but lived, I believe, to see the church established there. It must be confessed that, during the twelve years of Mr. Balfour's incumbency, the church became well and favorably known and sought after. Within this period, however, he was relieved on one side by the appointment of the Rev. Mr. Slack to the mission of Granby; and, through the public spirit and liberal zeal of Hon. P. H. Knowlton, the 1 church was established and endowed in the Township of Brome, which owes so much to the fostering care of its dis- tinguished benefactor and patriotic statesman. Mr. Balfour was succeeded by Mr. Whitten in 1850, and, in the early part of 1851, Frost Village and Stukely were formed into a new mission under the Eev. David Lindsay. The first church of St. Luke's was consecrated by Bishop Fulford, in 1851, and was for many years the only church in this village, a very different state of things from what exists now. North Shefford also become part of Granby Mission in 1852. In 1862, Frost Village was united to Water- loo, and a new mission formed of which West Shef- ford was the centre. Mr. Whitten took charge of the latter, where he lived till he went with his family to Nebraska, in the year 1871, and was succeeded by the present incumbent, the Rev. R. D. Mills. The Rev. David Lindsay was appointed to Waterloo in 1862. The growth of Waterloo, consequent upon the completion of the railroad, had its effect upon the Episcopal church as well as other bodies. The church HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 73 edifice was no longer in the centre of the village, nor was it in size adequate to the wants of its members. The present church was opened in December, 1870, and the old one taken down a few months afterwards. Duke Roberts, Esq., has since built a handsome house on the place it formerly occupied. The new church enters upon its work under circumstances very different from the earlier history of the parish, and we can only trust that it may be as successful as its more humble predecessors, whether of school house or church, in which so many members of the church who have passed away have met for prayer and praise. The following list of churches may not be uninteresting, showing as it does the growth of the little company, which looked to this place for its spiritual sustenance, and under whose pastors these churches at one period or another of their history, have been more or less cared for and tended. It tells also of a material progress, the trials of which we, whose lines are fallen in pleasant places, ought to keep in remembrance and think what fields there are to which we can give the same spiritual culture which our predecessors have given to the fields we have entered, and so leave behind us, as they have done, memories which can never fail : West Shefford, North Shefford, Frost Tillage, Iron Hill, Stukely, Potton, Fulford, Bolton Centre, Knowlton, Bolton East, Brome Corners, Bolton South, Granby, Boscobel, Milton, North Ely. 74 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. We should be doing injustice to our readers, should we omit a sketch of a clergyman who, like Mr. Lind- say, has lived and labored for a quarter of a century in a township whose history we are writing. Mr. Lindsay was born in London, in 1821, and spent his boyhood in that city. He came to this country in 1843, having, in the meantime, spent some little time in England ; he went to Lennoxville in 1849 to study for the ministry. He was sent by Bishop Ful- ford as lay reader, to Waterloo, in December, 1850, and was ordained Missionary for Frost Village and Stukely in March, 1851. In 1862, Waterloo and Frost Village were united, when Mr. Lindsay was appointed Incumbent, Mr. Whitten going to West Shefford at the same time. In 1874 he was appoint- ed Eural Dean of the district of Bedford. He has built churches at Fulford, Frost Village, Stukely, and started missions at Boscobel and South Ely. The life of Mr. Lindsay, during his residence in Shef- ford, has been one of earnest, patient and unremitting toil. Keenly alive to the responsibility resting upon him as a minister of the gospel, he has devoted his time and all his physical and mental energies to the furtherance of the work he has had in hand. He has warmly espoused the 'temperance cause, and there is no doubt that his exhortations and lectures, united with his example, have done much good in this direc- tion. A lover of literary pursuits, he has always endeavored, by the encouragement of schools, libraries those around him, and it has ever been a source of sorrow to him to see the young of his parish neglect- and literary societies, to awaken a taste for them in ing the cultivation of their minds. Hia works of HISTORY OF SHEPPORD. 75 benevolence are manifold, and in them he has always been ably and heartily assisted by Mrs. Lindsay. The preachers of the Methodist Church commenced their labors in the Eastern Townships in the year 1806. Itinerant preachers from the States had frequently visited Shefford and labored here, but the first Mis- sionary sent by the English Conference was Eev. Thomas Caterick, who came in 1821, and was stationed here as the incnmbent for three years the utmost limit of Methodist itinerancy. In the interval between 1823 and 1876, the follow- ing ministers have been stationed here: Revds. W. Squire, Thos. Turner, Eichard Pope, Jas. Booth, Wm. E. Shenstone, Adam Townley, Thos. Turner, JohnB. Selley, John Tomkins, Thos. Campbell, E. S. Ingalls, Hugh Montgomery, Malcolm McDonald, Eufus A. Flanders, Giiford Dorey, Wm. A. Bake well, John Armstrong, John Tomkins, J. P. Lews, Joseph E. Sanderson, M.A., Alfred H. Rayner, B.A., Wm. Gal- braith, W. W. Eoss, Wm. H. Peake, John Armstrong, L. Hooker, Wm. Timberlake, J. M. Hagar, B.A., Allan Patterson, D. Connolls, and E. M. Taylor, B.A. It has already been stated that the first building used by the Methodisfcs in Shefford specially for public worship was erected at Frost Village. The first Methodist churh at Waterloo was built in 1864, and it^was opened for divine service in the month of July of that year. This was burnt on the 18th day of February, 1868. Another was soon erected on the site of the old one at an expense of something over six thousand dollars, and this was ready for use in June, 1869. 76 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. After several divisions and subdivisions of the Shef- ford Circuit, Waterloo was set apart as a station for one minister, at the Conference of 1876. .Rev. D. Connolly is the present incumbent, and, being an ear- nest, able minister^e seems to be working to the general satisfaction of his people. The number of communicants belonging to the Church at Waterloo is one hundred and fifty, the num- ber of adherents about four hundred. Some years ago the Rev. Thomas Charbonnel, Methodist, came to Shefford, and labored amongst the French population of the township, and formed a society at Saxby's Corners. At the time of his arrival, there were but a few Protestant French fami- lies in the township. In 1872, he was succeeded by the Rev. J. A. Dorion, who has labored in Shefford and in* adjacent townships with good success. He has formed a French Methodist Society in Waterloo which has about twenty-five members. Their services, as yet, are held in a school house. The Advent Church of Waterloo was organized in 1851 ; Elder R. Hutchinson being pastor. He resigned in 1855, when Rev. J. M. Orroek, who had been associated with him became pastor of the church, which office he held until 1866, when he was called to Boston, Mass., to take editorial charge of the Advent now Messiah's Herald; a position he still occupies. He was a successful pastor, an able ex- pounder of the Word, and now conducts the paper with marked ability. Among the principal contributors to the house of worship were Dr. R. Parmelee, L, Taylor, W. O. Law- rence, E. A. Taylor, W, A. Taylor, Cyrus Harvey and HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 77 Jonathan Allard. The building was dedicated February 27th, 1862. After Elder Orrock resigned, the church was for a time without a pastor. In 1868, Eev. G. W. Burnham, of Newburyport, Mass., became pastor, preaching here and at Magog, alternately. He was a very earnest and successful laborer. In 1869, Eev. W. B. Kinney was called to the pastorate ; he remained six years. He was a scholarly gentleman, popular with all sects of Christians. He is now pursuing his studies, though with precarious health, at the Baptist Theo- logical Institution, Newton, Mass. He was succeeded by the Eev. S. F. Grady, an energetic young man of sterling piety, who is still laboring here with a good degree of success, as is evidenced by the growing interest and increasing congregations. This church once numbered one hundred and fifty members, but is now much smaller, owing to deaths and removals. The following has been kindly furnished us by a member of the Universalist Church of Waterloo : " In the summer of the year 1827 or 8, when there were but few families settled in this vicinity, Rev. Joseph Ward made an appointment to preach in the school house at Frost Village, and the news was spread abroad. When the time came, Mr. Charles Allen of Shefford, Mr. Elijah Goddard from Stukely, Artemus Stephens, Benjamin Martin, Daniel Taylor, and their families, or parts of them, and others were present. This was but a year or two after Mr. Chas. Allen first came into Shefford. He was a Univer- salist when he came into Canada, as were the most of those, if not all, who were present at the meeting above mentioned at Frost Village. Mr. Ward was then living in Stanstead. This was the first preach- 78 HISTORY OF 6HEFFORD. ing of this sect of Christians in this vicinity. The next summer Mr. Thomas Wheeler was ordained in Frost Tillage by Rev. Joseph Ward and Rev. Joseph Baker. There was no more preaching for a year or two after this, until Rev. Eli Ballou came into these parts and preached in various places ; there being no churches, these men held their meetings in school houses for the most part. About the year 1831, Rev. Eli Ballou was prevailed upon to come to Knowlton one-fourth of the time. His time was all employed, as the other three Sabbaths he preached in other places. He remained upon that circuit a year, and then the people in the vicinity of Knowlton were without preaching for a time until the year 1835. At this time there was an association formed, taking in the three counties of Shefford, Brome and Missisquoi. Geo. Cook of Brome was secretary. This association obtained the services of Rev. Joseph Baker, who came and preached at Waterloo, Warden and other places. He was here about a year, and during that time there was a great meeting at Dun- ham Flat, and at this meeting the Sacrament of the Lord's Supper was observed. The church in which this meeting was held is now gone. Reverends Joseph Ward, Joseph Baker and Eli Ballou were present, and took part in the religious services. About this time, the secretary of the association Geo. Cook, died, and, the Rebellion breaking out, there was no more preaching, and no efficient work for some time. A Rev. Mr. Sargent came and preached for a time, but did not remain long. He afterwards became a lawyer. About 1855, a new association was formed, and HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 79 'illiam Fuller of East Farnham was chosen presi- dent. Rev. Mr. Chapin was then hired, and preached at Waterloo, Warden, Knowlton, Dunham, Stanbridge and East Farnham. Mr. Chapin remained about a year. After this there was only occasional preach- ing, by Revds. Eli Ballou and C. P. Mallory in the vicinity of Waterloo, and Rev. Y. G. Wheelock in Stanbridge and Abercorn. In the year 1869, Rev. Geo. W. Quinby of Augusta, Maine, came to Waterloo by invitation of Mr. Chas. Allen, and preached a few evenings; and on the Sabbath following, while he was in the place, he induced the Universalists, who were then quite nume- rous, to move in the direction of building a church. A subscription was circulated the following spring, and the friends signed liberally. Chas. Allen, Esq., and the Shaw Company were the largest subscribers, each giving $1,000. Wm. Clark, Chas. S. Hall, J. B. Edgarton, Mr. Hayes, of West Shefford, and J.. C. Ellis were also liberal subscribers. It was finished that autumn at a cost of $10,000. A nice organ was put into it at a cost $1,600, and, on the 22nd day of February, 1871, the church was solemnly dedicated to Almighty God. Rev. Geo. W. Quinby preached the dedicatory sermon. Rev. James Mars- den was called to the pastorate from the Second Uni- versalist Church in Portland, Maine. Mr. Marsden remained with them until the first of May, 1872. He did much for their prosperity. In April, 1871, he organized a church. He brought the Sabbath School into quite a flourishing condition, and gave tone arid strength to the pastorate generally. In November, 1872, the Rev. H. J. Whitney, a 80 HISTORY OP SHEPFORD. young man from the Divinity School at St. Lawrence University, was called to the pastorate. He was a young man of much talent, and was liked very much by the people. In his care they prospered, especially financially. When he came, a large debt was weigh- ing them down, which he managed to greatly lessen. He was obliged to return to the States about the first of January, 1874. Rev. W. P. Payne came shortly after the departure of Mr. Whitney. He was not permanently settled as pastor, but remained with them about three months. He was much esteemed by the people. From the first of May, 1874, the church was with- out regular preaching and pastoral work until the first of the September following. Brother Thomas Thompson, a young man in his third year at the Divinity School, preached to good acceptance a part of the time. About the first of September, 1874, the church called the Rev. L. S. Crosley, a young man just graduated from the Divinity school. He was a man of great piety, and much beloved. He was a great worker, and his zeal led him to overwork at times, and, being of feeble health, he soon broke down. He has since partially regained his health, and is at work again in the Master's vineyard. Immediately after Mr. Crosely went away the Rev. S. S. Davis was called to the pastorate." Mr. Davis is a native of Eddington, Maine. He was educated at St. Lawrence University, St. Law- rence Co., N.Y., where he graduated in 1871. He was ordained in 1873. Previous to coming to Water- loo, in 1874, he preached eighteen months in East HISTORY OP 8HEPFORD. 81 Montpelier, Vt. A studious and able man, his minis- trations have been very acceptable to his congrega- tion. " During all these years the cause has been steadily gaining ground; and since the church edifice was built, whenever the pastor has been obliged to be away, or whenever there would occur an interval when no minister could be obtained, Bro. H. Rose has occupied the pulpit, using the service book and reading the sermon. " The society now numbers about forty families, and the church forty-seven members. The Sabbath School takes all the children of these families and many others." The following history of the E. C. Church of Waterloo has been prepared for us by request : The greater part of the territory now included in the parish of St. Bernardin de Waterloo belonged formerly to the parish of St. Franois Xavier de Shefford, where service was conducted by Rev. Chas. Boucher, the first resident cure. In 1859, there was only one Catholic family in Waterloo, and there was only a few Catholic families in the surrounding country, principally on the south and west sides of the Mountain. From that date the population increased, particularly in the village, to such an extent that the Rev. Chas Boucher thought best to call a meeting of his Parishioners at the Court house, the 17th August, 1862, to devise means to con- struct a church in the centre of the village. A sub- scription list was opened, and through the energy of Messrs. Jos. Lefebvre, Joseph St. Denis, N. Y. D. Labonte, Ed. Perras, Charles Gregoire, and Louis p2 82 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. Brodeur, who visited each of the parishioners at their domiciles to solicit their aid, a sufficient sum was raised. Seeing this, the Hon. A. B. Foster gratuitous- ly gave to the Rev. Chas. Boucher and his successors in office a piece of land in block nine of the village plan. The deed of donation was dated 30th Nov., 1863. "Work was commenced on the new church and continued until the following Spring. About the beginning of the Autumn of 1864, the Rev. Chas. Boucher was transferred to the Parish of St. Liboire, and was replaced here by Rev. P. E. Gendreau, then Vicar at Compton. Knowing well what he had to do in this young and struggling Parish, with a characteristic spirit of enterprise, Mr. Gendreau spared neither trouble nor fatigue to carry to successful issue the work commenced by his pre- decessor, hindered to some extent by difficulties which arose in the course of the summer. He made arrangements with the Hon. A. B. Foster, and with the pecuniary assistance obtained from the Hon. Senator, he was able to recommence work upon the church, finishing it, so that he had the good fortune of celebrating the first Mass in Waterloo on Christ- mas Day, 1864. In the course of the January follow- ing, he made a visit throughout his parish and ascer- tained that there were forty rnine families, comprising two hundred and ninety-seven souls. Upon the authorization of the Bishop of St. Hyacinthe, he left West Shefford and established himself at Waterloo, about the last of April, 1865. The Parish was canonically erected the 23rd September, 1865, and the first wardens were elected on the 31st day of December, of the same year. The HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 83 6th- February, 1866, the church was formally opened by its dedication and the benediction of a bell, weigh- ing 817 Ibs. The Rev. Misael Archambault, Cure of St. Hugues, presided at the benediction of the church and bell. The civil acknowledgement of the Parish took place on the 8th of February, 1866, but the decree was proclaimed only on the 26th March following. During the month of June following the Parish was honored by receiving a visit from Monseigneur Chas. Larocque, Bishop of St. Hyacinthe r who gave the Sacrament of confirmation to one hundred and thirty-eight persons. About the end of September, 1868, the Rev. Mr. Gendreau, upon the order of his Bishop, left Waterloo for Cookshire, his departure occasioning great grief to his flock. He was replaced by the Rev. Alph. Phaneuf, at Waterloo, who took possession of his Parish on the 25th September, 1868. Besides the duties of his ministry he "was oblig ed to toil for the liquidation of the debt upon his church, in which he was successful through the gene- rosity of the members of his Congregation. At that time the Cure had no Presbytery, but on the 3rd September, 1870, the Fabrique purchased the house of Mr. Toussaint Bachaud for that purpose, and it has been used as such since. At present the Rev. Mr. Phaneuf is working indofatigably to cause the erection of a new church, to be in no respect behind the other church buildings of the place, and a convent for the education of his numerous parish- ioners. Mr. Phaneuf is a gentleman much esteemed. A person of retiring manners, a fluent and interesting speaker and an earnest worker, he has the warmest 84 HISTORY OP SHEPFORD. affections of his congregation. The census made- by Mr. Phaneuf, in January, 1875, showed, in the limits of the village municipality, one hundred and fifty- three families, and in the parish outside of the village limits, one hundred and five, making a total of two hundred and fifty-eight Catholic families in the whole parish, with a population of 1,295 souls. The number of baptisms, marriages and burials, from the 25th October, 1865, to the 1st July, 1876, are as follows, viz. : Baptisms 754 Marriages 103 Burials 263 The first school house in Waterloo was erected in 1825, near the site of Gilmour's block. Waterloo has never been without very fair school accommodations. As early as 1860, before the town had assumed much importance in population and wealth, a few promi- nent citizens took preliminary steps for the establish- ment of a high school or academy. With an ener- getic determination worthy of the people, plans were at once discussed, adopted and carried out, which resulted in the completion of an academy building in 1862. This was entirely accomplished by private means, and not by any assistance from the muni- cipality. On Monday, the 22nd December, 1862, the school was opened with R. W. Laing, M.A., as Prin- cipal, assisted by an efficient staff of teachers. The academy was ably managed by a Board of Trustees for a number of years. Principal Laing, a gentle- man of large experience as a teacher, and a ripe scholar, remained here till the autumn of 1869, when he resigned to accept a better position in a College in one of the Western States. He was succeeded by HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 85 Mr. C. E. C. Brown. In 1870, the academy came into the hands of the School Commissioners, and a graded school was established. Mr. Lane, B.A., was the first principal under the new regime. He was followed the next year by Mr. Charles W. Bastable, who remained but one year. Edward Archibald next assumed the principalship, which he held for nearly two years, and resigned to enter the Episcopal ministry, Rev. W. B. Kinney and C. A. Jackson completed the unexpired term of his second year. Mr. C. Thomas became Principal in 1874, and still holds the position. The academy has always main- tained a high place among the educational institu- tions of the Province, and many young men have left it to matriculate at the University, or enter upon the battle of life. While for municipal purposes Waterloo and the township of Shefford were divided by the incorpora- tion of the former in 1867, the school interests of the municipalities remained united until the summer of 1874. In June of that year, by an order of Council, Waterloo was established into a separate school municipality, with same limits as the municipal cor- poration. The management of both school munici- palities has been facilitated and rendered more satis- factory by this change. The township has an excel- lent system of common schools. A French model school building was erected in Waterloo, at a cost of $2,500, a few years ago, and is largely attended by the French Canadian children. The Township School Board is composed of the following gentlemen : William Chapman, Chairman ; John L. Cleary, Lewis E. Richardson, Francois Desmarais, jun., and James T. 86 HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. Booth. The following gentlemen are at present on the Waterloo School Board. : Thomas Brassard, Chairman ; Wm. Clark, Walter A. Taylor, Orrin Pickle and A. F. Savaria. The early history of the Waterloo Advertiser is given in the succeeding sketches of Mr. Huntington and Mr. Noyes. The latter gentleman transferred his interests in the paper, January 1st, 1870, to H. Eose, who for some years previous had been engaged in newspaper editorial work in different parts, of the Townships. Mr. Rose has always taken an active part in the temperance cause, and from this, and the warmth with which he has espoused other movements calculated to elevate the morals and intelligence of the community, he has proved himself a worthy citizen. He has recently opened a book store in Waterloo, in connection with which he, also, has a book-bindery. In the early part of the year 1875 he sold the Advertiser to Parmelee & In galls, two young gentlemen who still have the paper in charge. C. H. Parmelee is editor, and, although quite young, his able management of the paper, and the talent which he displays as a writer, bespeak for him a prosperous future. Like every chef-lieu of a county, Waterloo has always had its quota of advocates. Foremost in the list of these stands the name of the Hon. L. S. Huntington. Although he long since ceased to be a citizen of this township, the interest that he has always taken in it, and the affection that still lingers in the inhabitants for their former representative, demand that a sketch of his life shall have place in these pages. The Hon. Lucius Seth Huntington HISTORY OF SHEFPOBD. 87 Postmaster General, was born on the 26th day of May, 1827, at Compton, P. Q. His ancestors came from Norwich, England, to Massachusetts, in 1663, and in the early part of this century his grandfather emigrated to Canada, taking up his abode in Compton. His father, Mr. Seth Huntington, also resided there until his death in 1875. The maiden name of Mr. Huntington's mother was Hovey, also from New England, of English stock. The Hoveys were among the Associates to whom the township of Hatley, in Stanstead County, was patented by the Crowu. Mr. Huntington received his education in the com- mon schools and academic institutions of the Eastern Townships, finally fitting himself for a college course at the (then) celebrated Brownington Seminary, Vt., but was prevented from carrying out his design of matriculating for college training. During his studies there were many gaps caused by his teaching in the common schools. In these days he was a frequent participant in the debates of the village lyceums, and those who knew him then state that he was a ready debater and vigorous speaker, giving ample promise of that success which was destined to be attained. After leaving Brownington,' Mr. Huntington com- menced to study law at Sherbrooke with Judge Sanborn ; teaching during his studies at Hatley and Magog and finally Shefford academy, then located at Frost Village and in high repute. One of his pre- decessors in the latter institution was Judge Doherty of Sherbrooke. While at Frost Village Mr. Hunting- ton met and finally married Miram Jane, only daughter of Major David Wood. For a short time 88 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. he engaged in mercantile pursuits at th'at place. He was admitted to the Bar in 1853, at Three Eivers, to which section of the Bar the District of St. Francis then belonged. At that time there certainly was not a rich opening for a professional man. The courts were all held at Montreal, rail- roads there were none, the country but sparsely settled, and the Eastern Townships very different from what they are to-day. In 1856, Mr. Huntington started the Advertiser at Knowlton, Brome Co., in conjunction with the late Hon. P. H. Knowlton and Hiram Foster, Esq., the two latter retiring in a short time. The Advertiser com. menced with many grand objects in view for which to battle in the interests of these Eastern Townships. It is strange to read to-day in the Prospectus of that paper, that the Eastern Townships " are excluded by nature from easy access to the great commercial marts of the country, and that such exclusion is but a type of the political isolation to which we have been uni- formly doomed." It was true, however, at that time. Decentralization of the law Courts, represen- tation in Parliament by men personally interested in the Townships, the opening up of the country by railways, and the development of our agricultural, mining and industrial resources, are some of the questions of which his paper became the fearless champion. Vigorous and sparkling editorials soon attracted the attention of the public to these subjects, and the rare powers of organization which he pos- sessed enabled him to take advantage of the public opinion he had helped to create therein, and effect combinations which ultimately brought success HISTORY Of SHEFFORD. 89 Without the Advertiser and Mr. Huntington, pro- bably, these necessary reforms would have been achieved, but that both he and his paper hastened their accomplishment many years, cannot be gain- say ed. The outlook for success was dismal at times, and the early fyles of the Advertiser show not only the means at work for and against, but also the undis- mayed courage of Mr. Huntington under disap- pointments that must have discouraged any but those possessed of the largest faith. About that time the agitation for the construction of the Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly R.B. began of which Mr. Huntington became an early and active promoter. He was appointed secretary of the road shortly after its incorporation, and with a short inter- mission, held that post until his resignation in 1874, when he was appointed a director. In July, 1857, the Advertiser was removed to Waterloo, where Mr. Huntington opened a law-office, having been practising at Knowlton whilst his paper was published there. He retired from the Advertiser in 1863. In September, 1857, he entered into a law partnership with the late A. B. Parmelee, Esq., which continued until October, 1858. Shortly after- wards he opened an office in the " Old Advertiser building," where his sign remained as L. S. Hmnting- ton until 1861, Huntington & Lay (the late John B. Lay) from 1861 until 1864, Buchanan & Huntington from 1864 until 1865, Huntington & Leblanc (the late Joseph LeBlanc) from 1864 until 1866, Huntington, LeBlanc & Noyes from 1866 until 1871, and since that time as Huntington & Noyes. He was created a 90 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. Queen's Counsel in 1863. At the Bar he had a large practice. A fluent speaker, he possessed the faculty of making his points concisely and clearly, and his professional aid was much sought. For a short period he was secretary-treasurer of Shefford, and was for one term municipal councillor. He presented himself for parliamentary honors in 1860, for the first time, having M. A. Bessette, Esq., for his opponent, the result being a tie. Both sides demanded a scrutiny, but before a decision was reached the house was dissolved. In 1861, he was elected over F. E. Blanchard, Esq. On the formation of the Mac- donald-Dorion Administration, in 1863, he accepted office as Solicitor-General East, and at the general election which followed defeated his old opponent, Mr. Bessette. In 1867, the first Dominion election, he ran against and defeated the late A. B. Parmelee, Esq. ; at the general election of 1872, he defeated Chas. Thibault, and in 1874, he was successful over J. J. Curran. A few months after the formation of the Government of the Hon. Mr. Mackenzie, Mr. Hun- tington took office as President of the Council, and was elected as such at the general election of 1874. He became Postmaster-General in 1875, on the eleva- tion to the Bench of the Supreme Court of the Hon. Mr. Fournier, and holds that portfolio at present. In 1865, Mr. Huntington purchased the copper mines in Bolton, known as the Huntington Mines, and at once commenced developing them. The mines are very rich, but the obstacles in the way of their successful operation were of a very discouraging character, chief of which was the cost of transporta- tion to and from Waterloo, the nearest railroad station. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 91 To obviate this, in 1869, he constructed the Hunting- ton Tram Railway from Waterloo to the mines. It was changed from a wooden to an iron railway a few years later, and now forms a portion of the Waterloo and Magog Eailway. In 1871, he sold his mines to a Scotch Company, by which they are still worked. A few years previous to his entering the Dominion Cabinet he became president of Missisquoi and Black River R.E., but resigned that position on entering the Cabinet. In 1873, he formulated from his place in Parliament grave charges against the Macdonald Government. These charges are now designated in political nomen- clature as the " Pacific Scandal," and, after heated dis- cussions and a bitter struggle in and out of the House, they led, in the fall of that year, to the resignation of the Macdonald Cabinet. The forbearance and self-reli- ant steadfastness of Mr. Huntington during that time, under the fiercest criticism of the press opposed to him, and of the most bitter attacks of opponents in public life, to which any public man in the Dominion had been subjected, was such as to win high encomiums from his political friends and the admiration of those who differed from him. It is not within the province of a work of this nature, did space permit, to enter at any length upon a subject to a large extent within the domain of national politics. It belongs more naturally to a history of the country than to a section, how- ever important it may have been in the most general sense to the latter. We trespass lightly upon a question of politics, and have said thus much only because it formed an exciting episode in the public life of the subject of our sketch. 92 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. In politics Mr. Huntington belongs to the Liberal party. At one time he advocated Canadian Indepen- dence, on the assumption, from the utterance of public journals and politicians of the mother country, that the policy of the Home Government was in favor of sundering the colonial connection. This having been demonstrated to the contrary, he withdrew from the advocacy of the question. Mr. Huntington's reputation as an orator is admitted to be of the highest order. He has few, if any, super- iors in the country as a campaign speaker, and in the House is one of the first debaters. His style is easy, vigorous and brilliant. He possesses wonderful powers of sarcasm, and understands the art of impal- ing an opponent with a cutting sentence. At the outset of his parliamentary career he obtained great influence as a debater, and was one of the most reliable speakers of his party. For many years pre- vious to the death of that popular orator, the late Hon. T. D. McGee, Mr. Huntington was pitted against him in the House, being assigned the no light dnty of re- plying to that gentleman, and he did not always come off second best. In public life Mr. Hunting-ten's career has been eminently successful, the result of a mind remark- ably constituted for public life. His business capa- city, powers of organization, self-reliance and know- ledge in the administration of affairs have been felt in the country and in her highest interests. He has many warm friends, particularly among young men, in whom he takes a lively interest, and whom he is always happy to encourage. A. B. Parmelee, Esq., a nephew of Dr. Rotus Par- HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. 93 melee who died in June, 1875, was for years an advo- cate in this village. The following is an extract from an article published in the Waterloo Advertiser of FebruaryG, 1874: " On Monday last, A. B. Parmelee, Esq., advocate, of this place, retired from the position he has so long and worthily held of the mayoralty of the township of Shefford and warden of the County of Shefford, in consequence of his retirement from the first named office. We know of no man in the Eastern Townships who has been engaged in municipal offices during so long a term of years as Mr. Parmelee. For consider- ably more than thirty years Mr. Parmelee has been connected, in various capacities, with the municipal administration in the County of Shefford, and more particularly in the township of Shefford. He served a faithful apprenticeship as secretary- treasurer of the Local Council of Shefford, of Shefford township and of the County Conncil. So largely was his experience known and so great was the confidence in his judg- ment in the wants of the county in municipal matters, that he was called to Toronto by the Hon. L. T. Drummond, then Attorney-General of Canada, to assist in the perfection of what was afterward known as the Lower Canada Municipal and Eoad Act. In 1858, Mr. Parmelee was elected mayor of Shef- ford township and warden of the County of Shefford and has filled both these offices up to the present time. It is a matter of deep regret that his health renders it impracticable for him to continue to fill the posi- tion he has so acceptably occupied for some years to come." Mr. Parmelee was a man of strong prejudices, and 94 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. he was well known for his fearless and emphatic manner of expressing his convictions. But, whatever offence this may have given, no one ever denied that he was a man of sound judgment and an honest lawyer. The following is an extract from an obituary notice published in the Advertiser of July 26, 1872 : u John B. Lay, who died on the llth day of June, 1872, was for several years an active lawyer and pro- minent citizen of Waterloo. He was born in the Township of Bolton, not far from Bolton Springs, in 1834. He received his education at Shefford Academy in Frost Village, and was for some time assistant teacher in this Institution, as well as a very successful teacher in the common schools of this section. He commenced the study of law with Mr. Huntington, at Knowlton, was admitted to the legal profession in De- cember, 1861, and immediately entered into partner- ship, at Waterloo, with his old patron, Mr. Huntiugton. In 1859, when the Circuit Court for the County of Shefford was established, Mr. Lay was appointed the first clerk of that Court. He was also appointed secretary-treasurer of the township of Shefford, in 1858, which office he held until 1865, when he re- signed. He was a staunch advocate of the Temper- ance cause, and filled all the grades of ofiice in the Temperance organization of his locality, and was, during one term, the Grand Worthy Patriarch of the Grand Division Sons of Temperance for this Pro- vince. He sat in the National Division, and also in the Grand Temple of Canada. In 1862, he was married to Eleanor, second daugh- ter of Col. B. Savage. During his later years he took HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 95 a deep interest in church and school matters, as well as continuing his efforts in the Temperance cause. He was for some time a warden in the Church and also a delegate to the Synod, where he took an active part in shaping legislation upon vital questions. He was also school commissioner and, at the time of his death, chairman of the board. In his death Waterloo lost a good citizen. It was well said of him, that " you always knew where to find him." He was always on the side of right. He was possessed of great energy and perseverance, and, had health been vouchsafed him, he would have made his mark in public life." W. A. Lay, a younger brother of J, B. Lay, was also a lawyer in this village. He attended the McGill Law School and was admitted to the Bar in 1867. He was a gentleman of genial manners, and might with effort and good health, have been one of the leading lawyers of the place, but declining health, during the last years of his life, prevented his doing much in the way of active labor. He died September 2. 1876, and was buried at Waterloo with Masonic honors. John P. Noyes is one of the most prominent and successful advocates of Waterloo. He was born in Potton, P. Q., in 1842. While yet a child, he removed with his father to Bangor, Franklin Co., N. Y., where he lived until 1861, when he came to Waterloo, He was educated chiefly at Bangor and Fort Covington Academy, and while at school, gave evidence of ability which if rightly employed, would secure him honorable distinction. After returning to Canada, he acquired a good knowledge of the French language, and devoted some time to the study 96 HISTORY OP SHEPPORD. of the classics. He commenced the study of the law in the office of Huntington & Lay, but his articles of indenture were subsequently transferred to the Hon Mr. Laframboise. He graduated at the law school connected with St. Mary's College, and was admitted to the Bar in October, 1866. He first commenced practice with Huntington & LeBlanc, but the latter soon afterwards retiring he continued to practice with Huntington. Previous to being ad- mitted he was elected secretary-treasurer of Hhefford and, after Waterloo was incorporated, he also became secretary-treasurer of the village, and still holds both offices. On the resignation of Mr. Huntington he took his place as secretary of the Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly railway. In 1867, he was married to Lucy A. Mercy, a lady residing in Magog, and who for three years was a very able and popular precep- tress of Shefford Academy. About a year after Mr. Huntington severed his connection with the Adver- tiser, Mr. JXbyes took charge of it, and continued to hold tha position of editor until 1870. Being con- nected with other business as he was, during the whole time he occupied the editorial chair, he could not be supposed to make the paper what it would otherwise have been, nor could he display to the full extent his ability as a writer ; yet, amid all his manifold labors, he managed to make it a good local paper, and one extremely popular with the great Liberal party of this country. Many of his news- paper contemporaries have reason to remember his pungent replies to their attacks upon him, and, though an individual may now and then have felt aggrieved by a paragraph that fell /rom his pen, it should be HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 97 said that every thing of that kind arose from a well- ing fountain of humor, and a keen appreciation of the ludicrous which he possesses rather than from any inclination to^wound the feelings of others. He is thoroughly well read, and, by one not intimately acquainted with him, might be regarded as better fitted for literary pursuits than for the tedium of the labors connected with the law ; but the fact that he has many cases at every session of the Superior Court, shows that he is a successful member of the Bar. But whatever may be said to his credit, as a law- yer, one thing surpasses all, and that is, that he never encourages litigation, and always manages his cases with a strict regard to honesty. A. D. Girard is another advocate of this village. He was educated at St. Hyacinthe College, graduated at the Law School connected with St. Mary's College in Montreal, and was admitted to the Bar in 1864, After practising a few years at other places, he came to Waterloo, and has been so successful that he has a very extensive practice. In 1875 he was the candi- date opposed to the Hon. Mr. Laframboise for Mem- bership in the Local Legislature, and, though defeated, received a large number of votes. John F. Leonard was educated at both Nicolet and St. Hyacinthe Colleges. He studied law in Montreal, was admitted to the Bar in 1866, and in the same year came to Waterloo. In 1873 he was appointed secretary- treasurer of the Board of School Commis- sioners of the township, and the following year received the office of secretary-treasurer of the School Board of Waterloo. He is a good French 98 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. scholar, and for this reason is more fully qualified for the offices he holds, a large part of the popula- tion of both the township and village being French and speaking the French language. He also has a good practice. D. Darby is a native of Ely. He was educated at the schools and academies of the Eastern Townships, and attended the McGill Law School in Montreal, where he received his degree of B.C.L., and was admitted to the Bar in 1870. He immediately com- menced practice in Waterloo, and by industry and probity has won an honorable standing in his profes- sion, and secured a large amount of business. 0. A. Nutting, a son of Y. Nutting, Esq., of this village, is the youngest member of the Waterloo Bar. He received a good mathematical and classical edu- cation under tuition of Prof. _R. W. Laing, when he had charge of Sheffofd Academy. He took his degree from the McGill Law School, and was admitted to the Bar in 1872. His success, thus far, has been good, and his youth and ability bespeak for him honors and extensive practice in the future. He has recently erected a neat and commodious brick build- ing for an office on Main street. F. X. Girard was born in Boucherville, P. Q., in 1841, and was educated at the Seminary of St. Hya- cinthe. He studied law with Judge Sicotte, received the degree of LL.D. from the Law Faculty of the Seminary of Jesuits, Montreal, in April, 1863, and was immediately admitted to the Bar. He practiced law two years in Montreal and for the same length of time, also, in St. Hyacinthe. While in the latter place he edited the Courier de St. Hyacinthe. In 1865 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 99 he was married to Marie Rosalie Tanguay, eldest daughter of Joseph Tanguay, Esq., of that city. During a period of ten years he acted as deputy pro- thonotary at both St. Hyacinthe and Sweetsburg. From June, 1867, to October, 1870,he kept the office of T. Sauvageau, official assignee, in Montreal, conducting the legal department of the business under the In- solvent Acts of 1864~'65 and '69. He came to Waterloo in 1870, and is still here in the practice of his profession. Besides her advocates, Waterloo has prominent citizens belonging to the NOTARIAL PROFESSION. Thomas Brassard, N.P., is one of the oldest and best known notaries in the District. He was born at Murray Bay, on the Saguenay River, now a famous Canadian watering - place, and educated at the Seminary of Quebec. He studied for his profession at Quebec, was admitted to practice in 1855, and at once settled at Henryville, county of Iberville, where he spent eight years. In August, 1863, he came to Waterloo. Of genial temper, good acquirements and happy adaptation, he has been called to serve in many different public capacities. He was secretary- treasurer of the school commissioners for eight years. In 1866, the secretary-treasurership of the county council was accepted by him, a position which he has since filled with great credit to himself and the community. Under the Insolvent Act of 1869 he was appointed official assignee, and, when this law was replaced by the new Insolvent Act of 1875, he was re-appointed by the Government, assignee for 100 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. the District of Bedford. When the separation of the sch ool interests of Shefford and Waterloo was effected in 1874, by the erection of the latter into a separate school municipality, he was elected school commis- sioner for Waterloo, by acclamation, a position which his long connection with school matters ad- mirably fitted him to fill. He is now chairman of the Board. Joseph Baphael Tartre was born at St. Hyacinth e in 1843, and educated at the college of that city. He came to Waterloo in 1864, and received a commission as bailiff of the Superior Court of Bedford. While attending to his duties as bailiff he commenced to study for the notarial profession under Mr. Thomas Brassard, to which lie was admitted, after passing a thorough examination, in 1871. He entered into partnership with Mr. Brassard, and took the secre- taryship of schools off that gentleman's hands, hold- ing the office for two years. When the late Mr. Edgarton became, by illness, incapacitated for his duties as registrar of Shefford County, Mr. Tartre was appointed deputy registrar, and assumed the entire responsibility of the office till that gentleman's death, in April, 1876, and the appointment of another registrar, a period of over two years. He again went into partnership with Mr. Brassard after leaving the registry office. He occupies a place on the Catholic Board of School Examiners of the District of Bedford, and is commissioned to receive affidavits for the Superior Court. Louis J. Jodoin, N. P., was born at St. Pie, Bagot County, and educated at the St. Hyacinthe College. He studied for the notarial profession under Mr. A. HISTORY OP SHEFFORD 101 Gauthier, St. Pie, and was admitted to practise in 1867, when he at once came to Waterloo. He was for many years deputy registrar under the late Mr. Edgarton, and is now clerk of the Commissioners' Court, and commissioner for receiving affidavits for the Superior Court. The different registrars of Shefford may properly be mentioned in this connection. A registry office for the County of Shefford was opened at Frost Village on the 23rd of July, 1832, and Eichard Dickinson was the first registrar. Hiram S. Foster, Esq., of whom we have already given a sketch, succeeded him. In 1848, Mr. Joseph B. Edgarton came to Shefford, and at once became deputy registrar. He continued to act as such until 1856, when he was appointed registrar, and in the same year the office was moved to Waterloo. Mr. Edgarton held the position with credit to himself and satisfaction to the community till the time of his death, in April, 1876. He was born at Shirley, Mass., in 1803, and received a good education in the schools of that State. He held several positions of honor and trust in the United States, and earned the reputation of being a painstaking, honorable, business man. Dur- ing the twenty-eight years that he held an important public position in Canada he maintained the universal respect and confidence of the people. No public official could have given more general satisfaction. He was of a retiring disposition, and, when not en- gaged in his office, seemed to enjoy himself best in his own family circle. His wife, a kindly, charitable lady, survives him. Joseph Lefebvre, Esq., the present registrar of Shefford County, was born at Laprairie, P.Q., on the 102 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 9th of November, 1834, and in 1849 became a resident of Ely, where he carried on a farm for two years. He then abandoned agricultural pursuits for commercial life, and entered the store of Erastus Lawrence, Esq., Lawrenceville, as a clerk, with whom he remained four years. He moved to Knowlton at the expiration of his engagement with Mr. Lawrence, and, in 1856, received the appointment of deputy registrar for Brome County, under Hiram Foster, Esq. It was shortly after this that he commenced to study for the notarial profession, to which he was duly admitted by the Board, in October, 1863. For eight j^ears he was the only notary in Brome County, and had a large practice. During a number of years he efficiently discharged the duties of clerk of the Circuit Court, and, upon the establishment of District Magis- trates Courts in 18J9, he was made clerk of that Court for Brome as well. These several positions he only resigned on receiving the registrarship of Shefford County, in July, 1876. A few years since he erected a large building at Knowlton, and commenced the ex- tensive manufacture of furniture. The management of this manufactory he has now given over to his two sons, Joseph and William R., who are conducting it, notwithstanding the pressure of the times, with marked success. Mr. Lefebvre was appointed regis- trar, as before stated, by the Quebec Government, in July, 1876, to succeed the late Mr. Edgarton. The appointment gave general satisfaction, and that is saying a great deal in a mixed community like ours. Mr. Lefebvre is pre-eminently social in his nature, of a genial, obliging disposition, and makes warm per- HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 103 sonal friends wherever he goes. His eldest son Joseph is deputy registrar. THE MEDICAL PROFESSION. The oldest practitioner among the physicians ot Waterloo is Dr. Ezekiel Minckler, who was born in Grand Isle, Vt., and graduated from the Medical Department of Vermont University. Soon after leaving college he came to Canada, settling at St. Cesaire, where he had an extensive and successful practice. Thence he moved to Granby and remained some time. In 1864, he came to Waterloo. Here he has succeeded in sustaining the high reputa- tion he had gained by long years of devotion to his profession. Advancing years have rendered him too feeble to attend to calls which require much travel, especially at night. The following is an obituary notice, published in the Advertiser of April 18th, 1861 : " It was our painful duty to record last week the death of Dr. J. 0. Butler, of this village. For years the victim of a painful disease, whose fatal termina- tion was well known to him, Dr. Butler endured the afflictive dispensation with the fortitude of a martyr, and the cheerfulness of a Christian. He was a man of rare abilities, and his clear, strong, well-cultivated intellect was unclouded to the last. Few men have more devoted friends than Dr. Butler, or have deserved them more; and though his long, painful illness had prepared them for the sad event, his death has cast a deep gloom over our community which time only can remove. Providence, in its wise dispensations, has been pleased thus to call away 104 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. our friend in the prime of his usefulness: the flower and vigor of his manhood and it is left for us but to kiss the rod which has chastened us, and to < mourn not as those without hope.' Dr. Butler was buried here on Thursday last with Masonic honors. A large number of Masons, from all parts of the District, was present to take part in the ceremonies." Dr. Angus A. Gilmour, son of Dr. W. A. R. Gilmour, received his early education at Nicolet College, and graduated from McGill University with the degree of M.D., C.M., in 1868. He first settled in Granby and subsequently in Waterloo. He has been very succes- ful as a surgeon. His father was an active physician at Three Rivers for forty years, previous to 1859, when he came to Granby. He has practised in the Townships, almost uninterruptedly, ever since. Dr. Joseph Ducharme received his degree from the Medical Department of Victoria University, at Mon- treal, in 1867. He came to Waterloo fresh from Col- lege, and has shown himself loyally devoted to his profession. His practice is principally among the French, and has been attended with considerable suc- cess. As Coroner, to which office he was appointed in 1870, he is well known over the District. Dr. Cornelius J. F. R. Phelan was born in the parish of St. Columbia, County of Two Mountains, P.Q., in 1 840, and received a classical education at the College of Ste. Thereee. Leaving this institution, he entered the Medical Faculty of McGill University, from which he graduated with the degree of M.D., C.M., in 1865. During the College vacation of 1864, he visited the hospitals of the United States in order to perfect his knowledge of surgery. After graduat- HISTORY OP SHEPPORD. 105 ing from McGill, he received his license from the Board of Physicians and Surgeons, and commenced practice at Knowlton, P.Q., where he remained till 1870. In January of that year he came to Waterloo, and at once established a large practice. Dr. Phelan is a studious man, of quiet habits and gentlemanly demeanor, and by rare devotion to his profession has won the esteem and confidence of a large circle of friends. He has been very successful, and is often consulted by his fellow practitioners in difficult cases. Dr. B. R. Jameson, after receiving a liberal educa- tion, entered the Montreal College of Physicians and Surgeons, from which he graduated with the usual medical degrees in 1847. He, at once, settled in Onta- rio, where he maintained a large and successful prac- tice for several years. Later, he established himself in Chatham Township, Que. ; then in St. Andrews, and from that place he went to Montreal, and remained in that city a few months. Thence he went to St. Pie, and in 1867 moved to Waterloo, where he has permanently resided ever since. Arriving here at a favorable time, he soon became very popular as a physician, but his manner is so retired that few have become acquainted with him outside of his profession. He has always received a liberal share of the practice of the town. Waterloo has two dentists. Newell Pisk studied Dentistry with the late Aldis Bernard, Montreal, and duly received his degree of L.D.S. He first commenced practice in St. Hyacinthe. After remaining there a short time he removed to Montreal and worked in Dr. Bernard's office for a while and then came to Gran by. In 1866, he moved to E2 106 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD Waterloo, which he has since made his place of resi- dence, but spends a few weeks each year in the prin- cipal villages in the District. He is considered a skilful dentist, and has a large practice, extending over the whole of this section of the country. A. A. Knowlton commenced the study of Dental Surgery in 1859, at St Albans, Vt., with Dr. Oilman. After learning his profession he returned to Canada and practised in various places in the townships, set- tling permanently in Waterloo in 1871. He was licensed to practice as required by statute, in 1870. During his residence in Waterloo he has received a good share of the public patronage. We devote the few following pages to sketches of several of the public men * of Waterloo. The following is an extract from an obituary notice of Wesley O. Lawrence, Esq,, which was pub- lished in the Advertiser, July 3, 1874 : Mr. Lawrence was long a resident of Waterloo, and was a descendant of Isaac Lawrence, mentioned in the history of West Shefford in another part of this work. " In those early struggles of the early settlers Mr. Lawrence bore a part, storing his mind with such knowledge as could then be attained in the schools in those early days. He came in after life to sit in the old County Council in the days of the municipal regime, and when our present municipal system went into operation he was many times selected by his fel- low townsmen to represent them at the Council * The first two of these should properly have been mentioned among the pioneers, but were forgotten until it was too late. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 107 Board. He aided and took an active part in the pub- lic works in the township and village. For some years past he has been an active magistrate. His reading as well as his strong common-sense and love of right made him an exceedingly useful citizen in that capacity, and since the death of R. A. Ellis, Esq. who had been our oldest magistrate for years the brunt of the burden had fallen upon him. Notwith- standing bodily infirmities, he was always ready when called upon to serve his fellow- citizens in his magisterial capacity, no matter how great might be the suffering to himself. So when it came about that after years of the greatest physical suffering when he had wandered down very near the valley of the shadow of death many times he at last succumbed to the great enemy. There was a feeling of sadness throughout the village and township at the final departure of a good man and a useful citizen." A son of Mr. Lawrence, George Lawrence, is a reliable and popular mail clerk on the Shefford and Chambly Railway. The following is copied rom the Advertiser of April 28, 1864 : " With this issue of our paper we furnish our readers with the mournful intelligence of the death of Capt. Z. Eeynolds, of this place, who died on Saturday last after a short illness of about two weeks of pleuratic fever, in the 56th year of his age. Captain Reynolds came to this place about 25 years ago, and has resided here ever since. Consequently he has felt and endured most of the hardships of a pioneer's life, and known the vicissitudes attendant upon the first settlers in the backwoods of the Eastern Town- 108 HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. ships. In 1852 Mr. Reynolds was appointed Captain of the Militia, and in 1863, upon the prospect of an outbreak between the United States and Great Britain, he formed a Volunteer Company, of which he was appointed Captain, a post which he held at the time of his death ; and only a few weeks since we chron- icled the fact of his being presented by his company with a silver tea-service on account of their high appreciation of his many excellent qualities. By the death of Capt. Reynolds our village has met with the loss of one of its best citizens, the community of one of its benefactors, the poor an ever ready and willing friend, and his family a kind husband and affectionate father. Few, indeed, are the men in our midst held more highly in the estimation of their neighbors. We are not aware that he had an enemy in the world, although he has held offices of trust and been a servant of the public for a long series of years. He was identified with all the literary, local and intellectual improvements going on, and his purse was ever open to public contribution. At Knowlton, on the 26th inst., upon motion of S. "W. Foster, Esq., the Circuit Court adjourned over one day, to give the members of the Bar and others having business before the Court an opportunity of being present at his funeral. His Honor Justice McCord paid a high tribute of respect to the memory of the deceased, whom he had known, he said, for the last twenty years. The funeral took place yesterday, at which it is estimated about 1500 persons were present, includ- ing a large number of Masons, (of which order the deceased was a member, and, at the time of his death, HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. 109 Master of the Lodge here) and also a large turn out of Volunteers." Hon. G. G. Stevens was born inBrompton, P.Q., in 1814. Gardner Stevens, his father, was one of the early pioneers of Brompton, and became a thrifty far- mer and one of the prominent men of that township. Until the age of 21, the younger Stevens lived on the farm, but at that time he assumed the charge of a farm, mill and store in Waterville and was thus employed for ten years. He then became connected with the British American Land Company as agent, and devot- ed his attention chiefly to this agency for a quarter of a century. In 1847 he married E. J., daughter of the late Sidney Spafford, Esq., of Compton. He moved to Shefford in March, 1851, and, with the exception of four years which he spent in Roxton Falls, he has lived here ever since. While residing at Eoxton he was elected municipal councillor and mayor of the town- ship. He has been a justice of the peace for many years, and since his return to Waterloo has held the office of councillor, mayor 6f the township and warden of the county. He was largely instrumental in estab- lishing the Eastern Townships Bank, and has been connected with it as director for ten years. He is also a director of the Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly Railway, and, on the organization of the Company, was elected treasurer. Having by his ability shown himself worthy of these various honors, in February, 1876, on the resignation of Hon. A. B. Foster, he was appointed to fill his place as senator. Mr. Stevens is emphatically a self-made man, and like all men of this class his perceptive faculties, sharp- 110 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. ened by cultivation, make him keenly cognizant of whatever affects his own interest or anything com- mitted to his trust. A man of extensive reading and retentive memory, with ready powers of conversation, he is eminently qualified to amuse or instruct. Ac- customed to habits of industry, he appreciates this quality in others, and while he is ever ready to assist the young man who is bravely fighting the battle of life, he has no sympathy for the one who shrinks from hardships, or who, with everything in his favour, makes shipwreck of his possessions. Gardner H. Stevens, his eldest son, is in company with Robinson & Willard in mercantile business, and is also postmaster in Waterloo. Sidney J. Stevens, his remaining son, is a clerk in the Eastern Townships Bank. Both are esteemed for their intel- ligence, politeness and efficiency in business. O. B. Kemp, Esq., crown land and timber agent, has had his office in this village since March, 1874. Mr. Kemp is a grandson of Elijah Kemp, Esq., one Of the very early settlers of Frelighsburg, who be- came prominent in that village, and who was for many years the leading citizen of St. Armand East. His son, the late Col. Kemp, and the father of O. B. Kemp, also became a prominent man in the Town- ships, and during his life held a number of impor- tant offices. Among these was that of crown land agent, which office, on his death, was given to his son. O, B. Kemp resided in Frelighsburg, his native village, until April, 1871, when he removed to Granby. During his residence in Frelighsburg he became one of the most influential men in the place, and was made the recipient of many of the public Th< Burland-Destarats.Litho. Com HISTORY OF 8HEFFORD. Ill offices. He was secretary-treasurer of the municipal council -for seven years, school commissioner for six years, clerk of the Magistrates' and Commissioners' Court, and one of the trustees of the grammar school. The ability with which he filled these dif- ferent offices, his social qualities and politeness, greatly endeared him to the citizens of the place. On his departure they presented him with a valuable silver tea service, as a testimonial of their esteem. He received the crown land agency in 1866, and to this was added, in 1869, the timber agency. Mr. Kemp lived in Gran by till March, 1874, when, as above stated, he came to Waterloo, where he has already formed many warm friends. Inflexible in his purposes, independent in spirit, persevering and hon- orable, he ably sustains the reputation of his ances- tors, who were reputed true specimens of the Anglo- Saxon stock. The court house was commenced in 1859, and com- pleted in ^60. V. Nutting, Esq., has very efficiently discharged the duties of the clerk of the Circuit Court, since 1861. He was once secretary- treasurer of South Stukely, and also of the county council. He has long been a resident of Shefford, and is regarded as one of the efficient public men of the township. The Grange movement, which has been, and is still, so popular, as an agricultural organization, in the Western States, first extended to the farmers of this section in 1875. Granges were organized at Knowl- ton, South Stukely and West Bolton, and are now largely supported by many of the best farmers. Later, a lodge was formed at Warden, which is patron- 112 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. ized by the farmers of North Shefford principally. In the spring of 1876, a Grange store was started at Waterloo, with Mr. E. Slack as agent. In the fall of the same year this commercial venture was put upon a more reliable basis by changing it into a joint stock company, under the name of the " Grangers' Co-operative Society," of which Mr. Slack was made the managing-director. This gentleman is a son of the late Bev. George Slack, rural dean, and was edu- cated at Bishop's College, Lennoxville. He early entered upon commercial life, and has been engaged in many important enterprises. He is at present and has been for many years, a member of the municipal council of Waterloo, in which capacity he has served with great satisfaction to the electors. Appointed a justice of the peace in 1874, he at once qualified, and has since adjudicated upon most of the cases not brought before the higher courts. MANUFACTURES. The extensive manufacturing establishment of Allen, Taylor & Co. has already been described. In addition to this there are others doing an amount of business which would do credit to a much larger place. One of the most nourishing of these is the extensive tannery of S. & E. G. Shaw & Co. In 1864, Fayette Shaw of Boston, Brackley Shaw of Montreal, William Shaw of Kingman, Maine, all brothers, and carrying on extensive business in their respective places of residence, built a tannery and commenced business in Waterloo. In the same year Spencer Shaw, an uncle of the brothers named above, came here to take charge of the business. In 1865 he and HISTORY OF SHEFPORD. 113 another nephew bought one-half the business, and the firm then was known under the name of E. G. Shaw & Co. This establishment contains three en- gines of thirty-horse-power each, and employs forty men. It turns out five hundred tons of leather annu- ally, consumes six thousand cords of bark, and pays $12,000 for labor. For the year ending May 1, 1876, seven thousand two hundred and twenty cords of bark were purchased at the tannery. Besides this, there are two small tanneries in Waterloo, doing consider- able business, and are owned, respectively, by J, C. Bull and J. D. Porchno. The Waterloo Boot and Shoe Company is not only one of the most important manufacturing companies of the village, but of the Province. It was organized, a building was erected, and a steam engine, with other necessary machinery, purchased in 1874, but the Com- pany was not chartered till March, 1875. It consists of sixty-one members, with Hon. G. G. Stevens for presi- dent, and E. D. Lawrence for vice-president. The sum of $17,000 is now paid annually to the employees these at present numbering fifty. During the year 1875, thirty-six thousand pairs of boots and shoes were manufactured, which were sold in all parts of the Province. The popularity of this manufactory so rapidly increases that the demand for its gooda is already greater than the supply, and necessitates enlargement of the business. The sale of the goods, at first chiefly confined to the district of Bedford, has since spread over the greater part of the Province of Quebec, and is extensive in Ontario. W. T. Rockwell is foreman of this establishment, and his efficiency has aided much toward securing the success of the 114 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. enterprise. Although a young man, he has had much experience in the business, having been foreman of an extensive boot and shoe manufactory in Newport, Vermont, previous to coming to Waterloo. Gardner Eldridge, a gentleman deservedly esteemed, both for ability and politeness, is secretary treasurer of this establishment. Hill & Foss, who entered into partnership in 1873, are proprietors of a boot and shoe store, and give employment to several men. They manufacture boots, shoes and harness, and receive a large share of the village and county patronage. N. V. D. Labonte is also proprietor of a boot and shoe store which gives employment to several men and does good business. Mr. Labonte has taken much in- terest in public matters, and has filled several of the local offices to the satisfaction of the citizens. There are two bakeries in Waterloo, Hills & Hills and Hugh Contois'. Hills & Hills opened a bakery in this village in 1867, and besides doing the work generally performed in a country bakery they have been engaged somewhat extensively in the mak- ing of crackers and confectionery their trade in these articles extending over many of the town- ships. They are now completing a building on Main Street, which is designed for a bakery, salesroom and office. It is brick, and its imposing appearance not only adds to the architectural beauty of the village, but indicates the success of its proprietors in business. Hugh Contois entered this business in 1865; he is also doing a thriving business in confectionery, and largely supplies the families of the village. There are two tin shops in Waterloo. One in the HISTORY OP SIIEFFORD. south end of the village, owned by W. M. Fessenden, was opened in 1873. Hot air furnaces and stove pipes are manufactured here quite extensively, and all the various kinds of tin ware. The one at the lower end of the village, near the foundry, is owned by Wm. Goodwill, who commenced business in Waterloo in 1872. He gives employment to two or three men, and manufactures the various articles made of tin, copper or sheet iron. There are three cabinet shops and furniture ware- rooms in the place. H. W. Dawson has been en- gaged in the manufacture of furniture here for some years, and has also kept a good stock on hand. Jos. Lefebvre has recently opened warerooms here, in connection with which J. B. Malboeuf has a cabinet shop. An extensive stock of furniture may constantly be found here. Wm. Jolly is also engaged in the furniture business, and has a supply on hand. A carriage factory, owned by Wallace & Payan, has been doing good business here since 1871. The machinery is propelled by an engine of thirty horse power. They give employment to fifteen men, turning out a goodly number of carriages during the year, which for durability and beauty are acknowledged to be unsurpassed by any in the country ; and in addition to this, the firm is extensively engaged in the manu- facture of sash, doors,blinds, etc., and general job work. Eldridge & Harvey also have machinery in the same establishment for the manufacture of broom handles. They have but recently commenced the- business, but have already received extensive orders. A sash and blind factory owned by Norbert Beaulne is in operation here, and gives employment to several 116 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. hands. The machinery of this also is propelled by steam power. J. C. Ellis has been doing an extensive business since 1861 . He is now assisted by his son, 0. E. Ellis* He owns the saw mill, grist mill and carding mill, at the outlet of the pond, and has recently started a shin- gle machine and box factory. In 1873, the Star Peg Manufacturing Company of Montreal started a branch at Waterloo under the name of the " Star Manufacturing Company of Water- loo." They put up a building and placed in it a small engine for the purpose of manufacturing ribbon pegs and shanks. Finding that this building was not large enough, in 1875 they erected a much larger one, purchased new machinery and an engine of forty horse power. At this time, they were making pegs, shanks, broom ferrules and bottle tops. In the same year they built a saw mill and fitted it up with a circular saw. This manufactory not only gives employment to many men but also furnishes market for good lum- ber. Birch is used exclusively in the manufacture of shanks, but this must be of the best quality. A half cord of birch is frequently cut into shanks in one day. This Company also manufactures shingles, and intend soon to put in machinery for making lath and clap- boards. J. M. Dubois owns a marble shop in this village and gives employment to several men. His work is ex- ecuted with artistic neatness, and he receives orders from a large section of country for tombstones, monu- ments, sinks, and other articles usually manufactured at shops of this kind. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 11*7 STORES. As Waterloo is the business centre of a large sec- tion of thickly settled country, it is necessarily well supplied with stores. Most of the merchants keep a general stock, in order to supply every want of their customers. Starting at the south end of the town, commonly known as the Station, Eldridge & Lynch's large establishment comes first. This firm com- menced business in 1872. They deal most extensively in butter, grain, flour arid produce. Near them is the large and neatly arranged store of Elihu D. Law- rence, who keeps a full stock in every department of country trade. He started at about the same time that fcldridge & Lynch did. The centre of the village is accommodated by the fancy goods store of J. H. Tou- zin, and the large general store of J. & J. E. Clark. The latter firm has been in business here several years. A. F. Savaria has been a successful merchant in Waterloo for a long time. He is also at present a school commissioner, and a director of the Water- loo Boot and Shoe Company. His place of business is near the market. In the new block nearly op- posite his store, Henry A. White has recently opened a drj goods establishment. Next in order is the fancy dry goods and stationery business of A. T. Lawrence, in the Post Office block. Passing the Advent Church on Main Street, the next building is the Gilmour block, in which G. W. Gilmour keeps a general store. In this block also is the bookstore and book-bindery of H. Rose. Standing nearly vis-d-vis on Main street, north side of the bridge, are the two oldest stores in Waterloo, belonging, 118 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. respectively, to Robinson, Stevens & Willard and Allen, Taylor &Co. They were both started many years ago, and have kept pace with the progress of wealth and population in the surrounding country. In 1873, Mrs. D. C. Hodden opened a dry goods store between the " old stone store " and the Brooks House, and has succeeded in securing a good trade. There are three drug stores in the place, of which G. "W. Gilmour, C. Skinner and F. M. Carpenter are the respective proprietors and dispensing drug- gists. In 1874, F. M. Carpenter succeeded L. L. Dutcher & Sons, of St. Albans, Yt., who started a branch here in 1874, and he, already, has an exten- sive wholesale trade. He has had much experience in pharmacy, and is thus prepared to give satisfaction to his many customers. C. Skinner has been engaged in the drug business in Waterloo for some years. He has recently erected a neat building, on Main street, for a drug store, and in it he also has a telegraph office and jeweller's shop. G. W. Gilmour keeps quite a stock of drugs in connection with his dry goods store. There are seven groceries in Waterloo, as follows : T. O'Eegan, Station; M. Temple, Foster street; E. P. Harvey, Clark's block ; A. Fontaine, Foster street ; Mrs. F. B. Hudon, Foster street; E. K Shaw, Main street. The latter gentleman has a jeweller} 7 busi- ness in. addition to his grocery. Hugh Contois has a grocery and a bakery near the foot of Main street. HOTELS. Waterloo has five hotels. Commencing at the south end of the village the first of these is the Foster House. This is a largo and imposing structure kept HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 119 by C S. Hall, and will probably accommodate the greatest number of guests of any hotel in the place. Mr. Hall has made hotel-keeping a specialty for many years, and with much success. The next hotel, as we proceed northward from the Station towards the lower village, is the National Hotel, the proprie- tor of which is J. O. Paquette. Although not as large as some of the others, the able manner in which it is conducted by its intelligent and gentlemanly landlord causes it to be well patronized by the public. Farther down the street is the Eastern Townships Hotel, owned by Isidore Beaulne, and the large hotel lately remodelled of T. Legue. At the lower end of the village is the Brooks House, of which L. H. Brooks is proprietor. This is a large brick building, erected in 1874, and its imposing front at once attracts the atten- tion of the stranger who visits the place. It is heated by furnaces, and has all the modern improvements of the city hotels. In 1870, a large brick building was^erected in the centre of the village, the upper part of which was designed for a town hall and council room and the lower part for a market. Still beneath this in the basement of the building is the dreaded " lock up," which has received many offenders and which no doubt helps to preserve good order in the commu- nity. The market is opened *for the benefit of the public two days in the week, and, though unlike Bonsecours market in the variety and quantity of its wares, it answers well the purpose of its erection and is a great convenience to the citizens of Waterloo. The pleasure afforded by the gala days and evening 120 HISTORY OF 6HEFFORD. entertainments of Waterloo is often greatly enhanced by the music discoursed by Hubbard's brass band. A band had been in existence in the village for several years, but about two years since it was re-or- ganized and now consists of sixteen members. They have devoted much time to practice, and, having received thorough instruction, are prepared to entertain as successfully as any band in the Pro- vince. Since the spring of 1875, H. S. Hubbard, a young gentleman of St. Armand, has been their in- structor. Mr. Hubbard early displayed great aptitude for music, and by practice has become so proficient in the art that he is widely known, and has been called to different localities to give instruction. In compli- ment to him the members of the band at Waterloo have called themselves Hubbard's Brass Band. From the Advertiser of June 17, 1870: "On Monday, June 13, 1870, Waterloo was honored by a visit from his Royal Highness Prince Arthur. The Prince was received at the station by the mayor, G. G. Stevens, Esq., and the warden, A. B. Parmelee, Esq., and was introduced by Hugh Allan, Esq. After the Prince and his suite had been escorted to a platform where addresses were read by the mayor and warden, and replied to by the Prince, the dis- tinguished party crossed the square to the Foster House. This hotel was handsomely decorated with evergreens and its balconies lined with ladies who were awaiting the carriages to convey them through the village. The procession soon formed, W. B. Heath, Esq. master of the ceremonies, on horseback, leading the way; the Prince with Lady Young and the mayor HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 121 in the first carriage ; His Excellency the Governor General, Mrs. Worseley, and the warden in the second ; then followed the rest of the suite in car- riages, the village and county councils and a long string of carriages. The procession moved down Uourl. street. Across this street, between the Foster House and the brick store, was erected an arch, deco- rated with evergreens,in festoons and wreaths, bearing the inscription " Welcome Arthur" on both sides the whole surmounted with flags, and bearing the Royal Coat of Arms. At B. A. HaskelPs, the band and singers, to the number of about 200, played and sang God save the Queen, to the evident satisfaction of H. R. Highness, who repeatedly acknowledged the compliment by bow- ing to the performers. Between the Advent Church and Labonte's store, on Main street, another arch was erected, massive pillars of evergreen formed the sides and surmounted by flags and wreaths, the beaver, the national emblem of Canada, and bearing the inscriptions on one side " Bienvenue au Prince Arthur" and on the opposite side " Vive la Reine," Across the bridge was another arch, nicely decor- ated, surmounted with flags, and inscribed on one side, " Long live Prince Arthur " and on the other, Dieu et mon Droit, The procession moved up Ellis street, then along West street and North street to Main street, taking the route back to the station. At Reynolds' hotel the Prince was loudly cheered. The stores and principal places of business dis- played bunting, and were decorated with evergreens. 122 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. At the old stone store was displayed a full sized por- trait of the Queen. The procession then passed up Main street and Foster street. Between the Foster house and Hutchins' store, was another arch similar to the one on the opposite side of the Foster house on Court street, and ornamented with flags and a beautiful crown made of evergreens, bearing the inscription on both sides, " God Save the Queen." The procession then broke up on the square, and as His Royal Highness and party moved rapidly out of the village towards Knowlton, the assembled crowd made the welkin ring with cheers, and then quietly disbanded for their homes." A post office was opened in Waterloo in 1836. The locomotive passed over the S. S. & C. Railway from Gran by to Waterloo for the first time on Monday, August 19th, 1861. In the early part of the year 1876, the part of the Northern section of the South Eastern railway between Sutton Junction and Waterloo was completed, and the remaining part between this place and Sorel is now in rapid process of completion. This work accomplished, Waterloo will be in ready communication with all the great commercial marts of the country. Situated in the midst of a rich agri- cultural district, with stores of lumber and minerals adjacent, it requires no prophetic vision to see that Waterloo, at no distant day, will vie in wealth and population with the cities of the Province. A stranger visiting Waterloo is struck by the air of city-like elegance and substantiality of several of its public and private buildings. Of the former Clark's Block, Stevens' Block and Gilmours' Block deserve to HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 123 be mentioned ; of the latter we notice the residences of W. G. Parmelee, Dr. Jameson, J. F. Leonard, J. P. Noyes, G. G. Eldridge and A. B. Parmelee, besides that of Hon. A. B. Foster which has already been men- tioned. For a time the growth of the village seemed to be confined to the Southern section, but at present it is enlarging in all its borders. In 1874, C. Deragon made quite an addition to its tenement houses by the erec- tion of several buildings. The people of Waterloo are pre-eminently social a feature in their character developed, no doubt, in a great measure from the isolated position of the place. Distant from the large towns and cities of the Province its inhabitants have felt the necessity of relying upon their own efforts hence, musical, dramatic and liter- ary entertainments are of frequent occurrence, and are conducted with such skill and taste that the stranger is convinced the performers are no novices in the work. Morally, Waterloo may not have reached the strict standard set up in the early Puritan days of New England, yet, it will compare favorably in point of morals with any village of its size in the Dominion. For the following history of the village council we are indebted to the politeness of O. B. Kemp, Esq. : First general session of village council, 24th January, 1867. Members. Hon. A. B. Foster, G. G. Stevens, H. L. Robinson, G. H. Allen, Noel V. D. Labonte, Auguste Hebert and Spencer Shaw. Hon. A. B. Foster elected mayor ; J. P. Noyes elected secretary-treasurer. Session, 24th January, 1868. Members. Hon. A. B. Foster, R. A. Ellis, Charles Allen, Spencer Shaw, N. V. D. Labonte and A. Hebert. R. A. Ellis elected mayor. 124 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 3rd election, January, 1870. Members. G. G. Stevens, N. V. D. Labonte, Joseph Leblanc, E. Slack, D. Frost, jun., Hon. A. B. Foster, J. B. Lay. 1st Session. G. G. Stevens, elected mayor, 14th February, 1870 13th June, 1870. An address was presented to His Royal High- ness Prince Arthur, upon his visit to Waterloo, by the Mayor : TO HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS PRINCE ARTHUR. MAY IT PLEASE YOUR ROYAL HIGHNESS. On behalf of the Municipal Council and the citizens of Waterloo, I desire to express the gratification we feel on this occa- sion, and to cordially welcome you to the Eastern Townships. Your visit is so unexpected that we are unable to honor you with a more attractive reception, but we feel assured that, in the noble and romantic scenery of this part of the country, you will find more delight than in any grand ceremonial our limited oppor- tunities could devise in your honor. In the Eastern Townships of this Province, Your Royal Highness will find a loyal and patriotic people, earnest in their attachment to, and veneration for, your gracious mother, Her Majesty Queen Victoria. In other times, the people of this section have more than once displayed their fidelity to Her Majesty's Government, and it is with profound gratification that we know that Your Royal Highness, as a partici- pant in the late movements to repel the Fenian invasion of our Province, has had an opportunity to witness the gallantry of Eastern Townships men in defending their country, and in evin- cing their stern loyalty to a throne that they revere. We are not prone to vaunt our loyalty, but prefer rather to express it by action. We trust that Your Royal Highness will be pleased to convey to Her Majesty the Queen the expression of our deep-seated attachment for Her, and that the prayer of our people is, that Her Majesty may long be spared to rule over a united and prosperous country. We earnestly hope that Your Royal High- ness' sojourn here will be pleasant, and that the recollections of the Eastern Townships will not be among the least agreeable of those you will carry back with you, of the country which is proud to honor the son of so good a sovereign. To which His Royal Highness made the following reply: HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 125 TO THE MAYOR, MUNICIPAL COUNCIL AND CITIZENS OF WATERLOO. GENTLEMEN, Pray accept my sincere thanks for your loyal address, which, I am pleased to find, gives utterance to sentiments so fully in accordance with my own views. Let me assure you that it is not the splendor of the ceremonial which I value, but rather the truly loyal and hearty spirit with which the welcome is given ; and my reception here this day shows clearly how strong that spirit is here. I am well aware that your's are not idle words, but that you are, and ever have been, ready to prove yourselves staunch adherents to your Sovereign, and the presence of those gallant men, soldier-comrades, lately met at the frontier, shews me that you are able as well as willing. Should circumstances ever .require it, which, however, God for- bid 1 proud would I be to lead on men like you in the defence of country and their Queen." (Signed,) ARTHUR." Election, 8th January, 1872. Members elected. Orrin R. Foss, Hon. A. B. Foster, N. V. D. Labonte, G. G. Stevens, A. Herbert, E. Slack, David Frost, jun. Session, 12th February, 1872. G. G. Stevens, Esq., re-elected mayor. Election, 15th January, 1873. G. G. Stevens and A. Herbert, re-elected. First Session, 10th February, 1873, G. G. Stevens, Esq., re-elected mayor. Election, llth January, 1875. N. V. D. Labonte, Edward Slack, and George H. Allen. (La- bonte and Slack re-elected.) First Session, 8th February, 1875. G.G.Stevens, Esq., re-elected mayor. 8th March, 1875, John R. Clark was elected by Council to fill the vacancy caused by the absence of Hon. A. B. Foster over three montha. Election, 10th January, 1876. G. G. Stevens and Clovis Deragon elected. First Session, 14th February, 1876. George H. Allen elected mayor. 126 HISTORY OF SHEFPORD. Present composition of the Board. Mayor George H. Allen. Councillors E. Slack, N. V. D Labonte, David Frost, jun., J. R. Clark, G. G. Stevens, C. De- ragon. VALUATION OF WATERLOO. 1867 $255,456 1869 276,660 1872 305,643 1875 505,425 WARDEN. This village is located about two miles north of Waterloo. John Mock, one of the Associates of Shefford, settled here and built mills in 1795. As has already been stated, he afterwards sold his land and mills to Eufus Whitcomb. This property passed through several hands previous to 1848, when it was purchased by Col. P. H. Knowlton, Hiram Foster and Mark Whit- comb. These men at once built new mills here, thus increasing business and attracting settlers. From this time until the establishment of the post office in 1858, with the name of Warden, the place was called Knowlton's Falls, Salvin Eichardson was the first postmaster, and was succeeded in this office by his son, L. E. Eichardson. The latter also has a store here, and is one of the influential citizens of the township. Selby Lee built a tannery here about 1850. This was purchased in 1872 by the Shaw Company, men- tioned in the history of Waterloo, who enlarged it and placed in it an engine of thirty horse-power. At present this tannery employs fifteen men, con- sumes three thousand cords of bark annually, and tans two hundred and twenty-five tons of leather. 128 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. A Methodist church was erected here in 1861. In 1875 a neat and commodious model school building was erected. Besides the store of Mr. Richardson, Warden has a grocery owned by Paig- non. It also has a few mechanic shops, and two hotels owned respectively by Michael Harper and J. Wallace. SAXBY'S COENEES. John Savage, a U, E. Loyalist, came to Shefford about the year 1800, from Caldwell's Manor, and settled at Shefford Mountain, on the lot now occupied by John Copeland. He had served as a soldier in the British army in the war of 1812. He was taken prisoner at Philipsburg during the war, and, after being confined in Burlington for some time, was liberated. He returned to Canada where he remained until his death, in 1856. He had nine children, several of whom still remain in the township. One of his sons, Benjamin K, Savage, born here, became an honored and influential man in the town. During the rebellion of 1837-'38, this son, Capt. Savage raised a company of volunteers, and was in such active service as was required at that time. He was promoted to the rank of Ineut.-Col., and sundry commissions of different Governor-Generals testify to the high consideration in which his ability and loyalty were held by the Executive Govern- ment. Early in life Col. Savage engaged in mer- cantile pursuits at Saxby's Corners, amassing .a considerable fortune. He took an active interest in the township and county, and was a member for many years of the township and county councils. F2 130 HISTORY Or SHEFFORP. 9& " ' He was a warm advocate of the Stan stead, Shefford and Chambly Railway, and aided much in its con- struction ; and was also one of the directors. He was one of the earliest promoters of the Eastern Townships Bank, and one of the directors till his removal West. He was frequently solicited to pre- sent himself as a candidate for Parliamentary honors, but he persistently declined. He was faithful to any trust imposed on him, and his removal to Illinois, in 1862, was much regretted. He died at Foreston. 111., Nov. 20th, at the ripe age of seventy-two. Take him all in all he was a noble,true man, and his death is mourned by a large circle of friends. S. N. Blackwood has lived in Shefford for thirty- five years. He was born in Montreal. Commencing the business of life with only the capital of a clear head and willing hands, his success has been eminent. For some years after coming to Shefford he was his own shoemaker, harnessmaker, general mechanic and farmer. Now a fine farm of over two hundred acres ) with farm buildings to correspond, evidences his success in the last pursuit. For twenty years he has been president of the Agricultural Society of'Shef- ford, and also succeeded Judge Dunkin as member of the Agricultural Council for the District of Bedford. He has been a commissioner of the Commissioners Court for twenty -four years, and municipal councillor for several years. Mr. Blackwood, though Canadian by birth, is of Scotch descent, with all the distin- guishing characteristics of the sons of the land o' hea- ther : stern, upright, thrifty, benevolent, and, withal, a man of no ordinary judgment and ability. Wm. Saxby, now one of the most influential men HISTORY OF SHEFPORD. 131 here, and from whom the place gets the name of Saxby's Corners, has resided here several years, as merchant and postmaster. He has been municipal councillor, and now holds the office of mayor of Shef- ford. In 1852 the post office was established here, Daniel E. Savage being the first postmaster. The office took the name of Shefford Mountain. Dr. Wash burn, who is mentioned in the history of Frost Village, once met with an adventure near this place. Riding along on horseback he discovered a bear, with one or two cubs, crossing the road before him. Dismounting, he followed Mistress Bruin over a brush fence, somewhat in bravado, intending to frighten her, and perhaps seize one of her cubs, which were quite small. The bear, however, squared round to him as soon as he had crossed the fence, and, as he had no weapon save the slender switch he used for a riding-whip, he found his situation not altogether pleasant. Fearing to retreat, he boldly walked up to the bear sitting on her haunches, and lustily laid his switch over her head. The bear snarled, growled, and tried to fend off his blows for a few moments, and then, much to her assailant's comfort, turned and ran away. NOETH SHEFFORD. John Savage, jun., son of Capt. John Savage, the first settler at West Shefford, was the first who took up his abode in this part of the township. He cut his way through the forest from West Shefford, and settled here in 1796. He took up a lot, now owned and occupied by the widow of his late son, Charles Savage. He built a sawmill here about the year 1820, and some years subsequently his son, Abram, built a grist mill. Since that period the place has been known as Savage's Mills. In 1875, several lots were taken from this part of Shefford and united with lots from adjacent townships to form the parish of Ste. Pudentienne. In the early history of Shefford two companies of militia were organized and were commanded respec- tively by Capt. Henry Powers and Capt. John Savage. At the commencement of the rebellion of 1837-'38 two companies of volunteers were formed, and these were commanded by Capt. Mark Whitcomb and Capt. Abram Allen. A company of cavalry was also organ- ized at the same time. In 1862, two companies of HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. 133 volunteers were also formed, and these were com- manded respectively by Capt. Zenas Eeynolds and Capt. Charles Maynes. On the death of Capt. Rey- nolds H. L. Robinson took his place as Captain, bv request of the Company. On his resignation F. E. Fourdrinier took the captaincy,and he being promoted not long afterwards was succeeded by George Codd, who is still captain of this company. Capt. Charles Maynes died, and was succeeded in the command of his company by his brother, James Maynes, who still retains the position. In 1864, another company was organized, of which J. H. Leonard became captain, but, resigning soon, L. H. Brooks took his place. In 1865, a volunteer company was organized at West Shefford, commanded by Capt. W. Wood. In 1864, a prize offered by Government to the volunteers in the district of Montreal for proficiency in drill, was won by the company of Capt. Reynolds, and that of Capt. Maynes, at the same time, received honorable men- tion for their good drill. The surface of Shefford is somewhat broken, though very little of it is so rough as to render it unfit for agricultural purposes. The only mountain is in the western part of the township. The number of elementary schools in Shefford is 23. The following history of the Township and County Councils has been prepared by O. B. Kemp, Esq. : Formation of Township Council of Shefford, July, 1855. Members. James Thompson, Jonathan Robinson, Mark Whitcomb, Simeon Martin, James Hays, John Booth and Lucius S. Huntington. First Session held Waterloo, 13th July, 1875. A. B. Par- melee, Esq., appointed secretary-treasurer. Jonathan Robinson, mayor. 134 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. January 2nd, 1856, James Thompson was replaced by appointment of Col. Benj. Savage. April 6th, 1857, a By-Law was passed taking 14375 stock Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly Kailway. November 2nd, 1857, Council tendered two sites for Court House, and a third site was recommended. 2nd General Election held in January, 1859. Members. Jonathan Robinson, John Booth, Duke Roberts, Silas Geer, Hugh McClintock, Benjamin Savage and Lucius S. Huntington. First General Session, 1st February, 1858, James Miller appointed secretary-treasurer. J. Robinson re-elected mayor. Session July 5th, 1858, sites tendered for Court House were withdrawn and another site, to wit, one half acre north of the residence of George Robinson, on Lot 21, in 4th Range tendered. December 6th, 1858, James Miller resigned, and John B. Lay, Esq., was appointed secretary-treasurer. 3rd General Election of Councillors, 9th January, 1860. Members. A. B. Parmelee, S. N. Blackwood, Charles Allen, James Miller, Duke Roberts, Jesse S. Martin and Jedediah C. Spencer. First Session, 3rd Council, 16th January, I860. A. B. Parmelee elected mayor. J. B. Lay resigned, and L. S. Huntington appointed secretary-treasurer. 15th November, 1860, L. S. Huntington resigned, and J. B. Lay appointed secretary-treasurer. 4th General Election of Councillors, 12th January, 1862. A. B. Parmelee, J. S. Martin, W. 0. Lawrence, Alfred F. Lay, John N. Mills, John Clary and Edward Perras. First Session, 4th February, 1862. A. B. Parmelee re- elected mayor. 5th General Election, llth January, 1864. A. B. Parmelee, G. G. Stevens, Jesse S. Martin, John Clary, Hugh McClintock, Samuel N. Blackwood and Moise Poirier. First Session, 1st February, 1864. A. B. Parmelee, re- elected mayor. 4th March, 1865, J. B. Lay resigned. John P. Noyes appointed secretary-treasurer. October 1st, 1866. Resolution of sympathy was passed to family of J. S. Martin, and same Session William Wil- lliams was appointed to the Council to succeed Martin. At a General Monthly Session, 7th January, 1867, Syl- vester S. Martin was appointed councillor in room and place of G. G. Stevens, who became incapacitated from HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. 135 acting in consequence of his residing in the Corporation of the Village of Waterloo. At same Session, A. B. Parme- lee re-elected mayor ; that, although he lived within Cor- poration of Waterloo, he owned land in the Township. Township divided into two Electoral sub-divisions 4th February, 1867. 7th Election, February 3rd, 1878. A. B. Parmelee, Hugh McClintock, S. N. Blackwood, Flavien Cote, S. S. Martin, W. W. Williams and John N. Mills. Session, 3rd February, 1868. A. B. Parmelee elected mayor. 8th Election, 10th January, 1870. A. B. Parmelee, Hugh McClintock, S. S. Martin, Dennis M. Savage, Flavien Cute, John Williams, and George Tait. A. B. Parmelee re-elected mayor, 7th February, 1870. By- Law passed taking stock in the Richelieu, Drummond and Arthabaska Railway, $50,000, 6th February, 1871 ; recon- sidered 6th March, 1871 ; approved by electors, 4th April, 1871 5 ratified by Council, 1st May, 1871. 9th Election, 8th January, 1872. A. B. Parmelee and George Tait elected by acclamation, and Francis Fortin, Dennis M. Savage, William Saxby, Fla- vien Cote and Sylvester S. Martin by greatest number of votes. 5th February, 1872, A. B. Parmelee re-elected mayor. Meeting of Electors held 12th January, 1874, for election of two Councillors, at which meeting George Savage and William Pearson were elected, replacing Francis Fortin and Dennis M. Savage. 2nd February, 1874. S. S. Martin appointed mayor. 16th June, 1874.' A. B. Parmelee resigned and Philo A. Curtis appointed by Council to fill vacancy. A vote of thanks was passed to A. B. Parmelee upon his resignation for the services rendered by him during the many years he had filled the offices of secretary-treasurer and mayor of said Township. General Public Meeting for Elections of Councillors, 1 1 th January, 1875 S. S. Martin, William Saxby and Flavien Cote re-elected. First Session, 1st February, 1875. S. S. Martin re-elect- ed mayor. March 1st. 0. B. Kemp appointed assistant secretary- treasurer. S. S. Goddard appointed 5th April by Council to fill vacancy occasioned by disqualification of George 136 HISTORY OF SHEPFORD. Savage, whose domicile is in the Parish of St. Pudentienne, which was organized in January, 1875. General Election, llth January, 1876. George Tait re-elected by acclamation after contest. Philo A. Curtis re-elected. First General Session. William Saxby elected mayor. Composition of Present Council. Mayor William Saxby. Councillors S. S. Martin, Wil- liam Pearson, George Tait, Philo A. Curtis, S. S. Goddard, Flavien Cote. VALUATION OF TOWNSHIP OF SHEFFORD. 1855 $392,805.00 1858 555,035.00 1860 524,674.00 1864 672,618.00 1865 521,268.00 1866 773,452.00 1867 631,682.00 1869.... 565,487.00 1872 680,905.00 1875 , *714,508.00 1st General quarterly session of County Council of the County of Shefford, held llth Sept., 1855. MEMBERS. Jonathan Robinson, Mayor of Shefford. Washington Frost, (l Granby. Asaph A. Knowlton, " South Stukely. Michel A. Bessette, " North Stukely. Flavien R. Blanchard, Ely. John S, Cummins, " Roxton. Pierre H. Guyon, " Milton. Jonathan Robinson elected warden, and A. B. Parmelee, secretary-treasurer | delegates, Knowlton and Bessette. Session 12th March, 1856, resolution passed to build a registry office; site accepted from Charles Allen, Esq. Building accepted September ^lOth, 1856. Quarterly ses- sion, March llth, 1857. Hyzien Dubrule replaced Cum- mins, Roxton. A report was received from the Township * After deducting 40 lots taken from the Township in forming the Parish of Ste Pudentienne. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 137 Council of Shefford that the amount required to be paid by Shefford towards county buildings had been subscri^d. Waterloo fixed as the chef -lieu of the county, and sec- retary-treasurer ordered to petition the Governor General to approve of the village of Waterloo as the chef-lieu of the county at which the Circuit Court should be held. MEMBERS, 1858. J. Robinson, Mayor of Shefford. Washington Frost, " Granby. Thomas Hacket, " Milton. G. G. Stevens, " Roxton. F. R. Blanchard, " Ely. M. A. Bessette, u North Stukely. Thomas Rooney, " South Stukely. J. Robinson re-elected warden, Stevens and Blanchard, county delegates. Members 1859 same as above, and Patrick Hackett, mayor village of Granby. March 9th, 1859, warden author- ized to receive deed of land offered by Township Coun- cil for site of County Court House. June 8th, 1859. Plan of County Court House accepted, and secretary-treasurer ordered to advertise for tenders. By-law passed taking 1150 shares in capital stock of Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly Railway. Quarterly session July 26th, 1859. Members as above, Harrison L. Knowlton replaces Thomas Rooney, South Stukely _ Tenders for building Court House by H. D. Jordan andA.' F. Lay for $2,664 accepted, and secretary-treasurer ordered to give notice of meeting of electors of county to approve or disapprove taking stock in the Stanstead, Shefford and Chambly Railway for 22 August, 1859. By-law confirmed by electors, and by-law ratified by Council, August 30th, 1859. General quarterly session, March 14th, 1860. MEMBERS. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. Jacob Shepherd, " South Stukely. M. A. Bessette, " North Stukely. F. C. Gilmour, " Village of Granby. John Wood, " Roxton. F. R. Blanchard, Ely. Marcus Dougherty, " Granby. Thomas Hackett, Milton. 138 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. A. B. Parmelee elected warden, and V. Nutting appoint- ed secretary-treasurer. MEMBERS, 1862. A. B. Parmelee, - Mayor of Shefford. M. A. Bessette, " North Stukely. F. R. Blanchard Ely. Hyacinthe Dubrule, " Roxton. Charles Brin, " Milton. James Homer, " Village of Granby. Robert Cunningham " Granby. Amasa E. Knowlton, " South Stukely. A. B. Parmelee, re-elected warden. V. Nutting, Esq., resigned, and M. Boyce appointed secretary-treasurer ; delegates, Bessette and Blanchard. MEMBERS, 1863. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. M. A. Bessette, " N. Stukely. F. R. Blanchard, " Ely. Amasa E. Knowlton, " South Stukely. Robt. Cunningham, " Granby. James Homer, " Village of Granby. John Wood, " Roxton Falls. Hyacinthe Dubrule, " Roxton. 1st January, 1864, Township of Ely was divided for Municipal purposes. MEMBERS, 1864. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. Charles Brin, " St. Cecile de Milton. Charles Chaput, St. Valerien de Milton Narcisse Trudeau, " Roxton. John Wood, " Village Roxton Falls. Robert Cunningham, (l Granby. E.Bradford, " Village of Granby. Pierre Gendreau, " Ely. Joseph Smith, " North Ely. A. B. Parmelee re-elected warden. County delegates Trudeau and Chaput. June Session. Resolved that County Council Meetings in future be held in lower part of Court House. A petition was presented by R. A. Ellis, Esq., and others, praying for the erection of a certain tract of land in the Township of Shefford into a village municipality, and was HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 139 referred to M. Mitchel, Esq., provincial land surveyor, as special superintendent. General Quarterly Session, 4th September, 1864. M. Mitchel reported in favor of the erection of the Vil- lage of Waterloo into a separate municipality, which was duly homologated. MEMBEKS, 1865. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. M. A. Bessette, " North Stukely. Charles Brin, " Milton. Charles Chaput, St. Valerien. N. Trudeau, " Eoxton. John Wood, Eoxton Falls. Kobt. Cunningham, " Granby. A. Dubrule, " Ely. Joseph Smith, " North Ely. W. W. Willard, South Stukely. E. Bradford, " Village of Grranby. MEMBERS, 1866. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. W. W. Willard, " South Stukely. M. A. Bessette, North Stukely. Joseph Roussin, " South Ely. N. Trudeau, " Roxton. P. H. Guyon, St. Cecile. R. Cunningham, " Granby. J. G. Cowie, " Village of Granby. Joseph Perreault, " St. Valerien. John Wood, " Roxton Falls. Joseph Smith, " North Ely. A. B. Parmelee re-elected warden. County delegates Warden, J. G. Cowie and M. A. Bes- sette. January 20th. M. Boyce resigned, and Thomas Brassard, Esq., appointed secretary-treasurer. MEMBERS, 1867. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. Hon. A. B. Foster, " Waterloo. W. W. Willard, " South Stukely. M. A. Bessette, North Stukely. Joseph Roussin, " South Ely. John Wood, " Roxton Falls. F. F. Legendre, " St. Cecile de Milton. 140 HISTORY OP SHEFFORD. J. G. Cowie, Mayor of Village of Granby. R. Cunningham, " Granby. Joseph Smith, " North Ely. Joseph Perreault, " St. Valerien. Narcisse Trudeau, " Eoxton. A. B. Parmelee re-elected warden. County delegates Warden, Cowie and Bessette. MEMBERS, 1868. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. R. A. Ellis. " Waterloo. W. W. Willard, " South Stukely. M. A. Bessette, " North Stukely. John Wood, " Roxton Falls. Narcisse Trudeau, " Roxton. F. H. Ayet, " St. Valerien. Andrew Kay, " Granby. J. G. Cowie, " Village of Granby. Joseph Smith, " North Ely. Joseph Roussin, " Ely. Antoine Cote, " St. Cecile. A. B. Parmelee re-elected warden. County delegates Warden, Cowie and Cote. MEMBERS, 1869. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. W. W. Willard, " South Stukely. A. Cote, " St. Cecile. Andrew*Kay, " Granby. J. G. Cowie, Village of Granby. R. A. Ellis, " Waterloo. M. A. Bessette, " North Stukely. John Wood, " Roxton Falls. N. Trudeau, " Roxton. F. H. Ayet, " St. Valerien. James Smith, North Ely. Joseph Roussin, " Ely. MEMBERS, 1870. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. G. G. Stevens, li Waterloo. Benj. M. Martin, " South Stukely. M. A. Bessette, " North Stukely. Warren A. Lay, South Ely. Wm. L. Davidson, North Ely. Narcisse Trudeau, " Roxton. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 141 John Wood, Mayor of Eoxton Falls. F. H. Ayet, " St. Valerien. Theophile Brunelle, " St. Cecile. Andrew Kay, " Granby. J. G-. Cowie, " Village of Granby. A. B. Parmelee re-elected warden. County delegates Warden, Trudeau and Cowie. Quarterly Session, 8th June, 1870. An address was pre- sented by County Council to his Koyal Highness Prince Arthur, tendering him a welcome upon his arrival in the Eastern Townships. MEMBERS, 1871. A. B. Parmelee, G. G. Stevens, B. M. Martin, M. A. Bessette, * W. A. Lay, W. L. Davidson, N. Trudeau, John Wood, F. H. Ayet, F. Brunelle, A. Kay, J. G. Cowie, Mayor of Shefford. " Waterloo. " South Stukely. " North Stukely. " South Ely. " North Ely. " Roxton. " Roxton Falls. " St. Valerien. " St. Cecile. Grranby. " Village of Granby. MEMBERS, 1872. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. G. G. Stevens, R. Peters, J. B. St. Pierre, N. Trudeau, Fred. D. Pariseau, Andrew Kay, James Irwin, Joseph Robin, W. L. Davidson, John Wood, F. H. Ayet, Waterloo. South Stukely. North Stukely. Roxton. St. Cecile. Granby. Village of Granby. Ely. North Ely. Roxton Falls. St. Valerien. A. B. Parmelee re-elected warden. County delegates Stevens, Trudeau and the warden. Lay replaced by 0. Gendreau. 142 HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. MEMBERS, 1873. A. B. Parmelee, Mayor of Shefford. G. G-. Stevens, " Waterloo. R. Peters, " South Stukely. J. B. St. Pierre, " North Stukely. J. Robin, " Ely. N. Trudeau, Roxton. John Wood, Roxton Falls. Andrew Kay, " Granby. S. H. C. Miner, " Village of Granby. Thomas Cassidy, " North Ely. Damase Langevin, " St. Cecile. F. H. Ayet, " St. Valerien. A. B. Parmelee re-elected warden. County delegates Warden, Stevens and Trudeau. MEMBERS, 1874. G. G. Stevens, Mayor of Waterloo. S. S. Martin, " Shefford. M. R. Knowlton, " South Stukely. Chas. Willard, " St. Cecile. Andrew Kay, " Granby. S. H. C. Miner, Village of Granby. J. B. St. Pierre, North Stukely. Joseph Robin, " Ely. W. L. Davidson, " North Ely. John Wood, " floxton Falls. N. Trudeau, " Roxton. F. H. Ayet, " St. Valerien. G. G. Stevens, Esq., elected warden. County delegates Warden, Kay and Trudeau. A vote of thanks was passed unanimously to A. B. Par- melee, Esq., upon his retirement, for the able and impar- tial and straightforward manner in which he has conducted the affairs of the Municipality during the long period fourteen years) he has filled the office of warden of this County. MEMBERS, 1875. G. G. Stevens, Mayor of Waterloo. S. S. Martin, " Shefford. R, Peters, " South Stukely. Dr. J. Fregeau, " North Stukely. W. L. Davidson, " North Ely. Benj. Truax, " South Ely. HISTORY OF SHEFFORD. 143 W. Trudeau, Mayor of Eoxton. John Wood, " Eoxton Falls. F. H. Ayet, St. Valerien. Hyacinthe Lecours, " St. Cecile. A. Kay, " Granby. S. H. C. Miner, " Village of Granby. G. G. Stevens, Esq., re-elected warden. County delegates Warden, Kay and Trudeau. 0. B. Kemp appointed assistant secretary-treasurer of County Council, Parish of Ste. Pudentienne, organized 1875, taking part from North West corner of Shefford. MEMBERS, 1876. G. H. Allen, Wm. Saxby, John Wood, A. Kay W. L. Davidson, John Wood, R. Peters, Benj. Truax, N. Trudeau, Magloire Fregeau, Jeremie Bachand, S. H. C. Miner, Cleophas Leclerc, Mayor of Waterloo. " Shefford. " Roxton Falls. " Granby. " North Ely. " Roxton Falls. " South Stukely. " Ely. " Roxton. " Ste. Valerien. " Ste. Pudentienne. " Village of Granby. St. Cecile. John Wood elected warden. County delegates Warden, Kay and Trudeau. 145 HUNTING & NOYES, WATERLOO, r. Q. BOX. L. S. HUNTINGTON', Q.C. J. P. NOYES. D. DARBY, B.C.L, ADVOCATE, WATERLOO, ..... P. Q, Jl & O JrtMR , WATERLOO, - - - - P. Q. 146 C. A. NUTTING, ADVOCATE, WATERLOO, - - - P.Q. J. F. LEONARD, ADVOCATE, WATERLOO, - - - - P.Q. F. X. GIRARD, ADVOCATE, WATERLOO, P.Q BRASSARD & TARTRE, NOTARIES, Official Assignees for the District cf Bedford, Commissioners of the Superior Court, Agents for the Loan of Moneys and General Agencies- OFFICE, - WATERLOO, P.Q. 147 A. T. LAWRENCE, POST OFFICE BLOCK, Stationer & Bookseller, DEALER IX Fine Boots and Shoes, Ladies' Fancy Requi- sites and FA.NCY GOODS, In general. Always on hand a good stock of Books, By Standard Authors. ine of Stationery and jBlank AND TEIE FINEST STOCK OP in the Eastern Townships. All shades of Berlin Wool usually in stock. Full Lines of Slipper, Stcol, Bracket, Pincushion and various other Patterns. Orders received for Books or other Goods in my line not in Stock will be procured at earliest convenience, with no extra charge. Orders taken for periodicals at publishers' rates. A. HEBERT, PROPEIETOR, THIRD DOOR NORTH OF BROOKS HOUSE, WATERLOO, . P. Q. 148 F. M. CARPENTEE, Wholesale and Detail Druggist, Dawson's Block, near the Brooks House, WATERLOO, - P. Q., A LARGE STOCK OF Drugs, Medicines, Chemicals, Dye Stuffs, Oils, Perfumery, Druggists' Sundries and Manufacturer and Proprietor of Carpenter's German Cologne, The most fragrant and lasting perfume in the world. Two sizes. Price 25 cents and $1.00. Carpenter's Extract of Jamaica Ginger, An invaluable remedy in Dyspepsia and Sluggish digestion. Price 25 cents. Carpenter's Blood Renovator, For all diseases of the blood. Price $1.00 per Bottle. Sole Agency for the Dominion for L. L, Dutcher & Sons' Proprietary Medicines. J. M. DUBOIS, DEALER IX Monuments, 'Grave- Stones, Tablets, COUNTER AND TABLE TOPS, MANTLE PIECES, &c, &c. STEVENS' BLOCK, WATERLOO. SSTOrders by Mail Promptly attended 149 NEW DOMINION BAKERY. HILLS A HILLS, Manufacturers of Crackers, Pastry, Bread, and dealers in Choice Brands of Flour and Goflfeetioeery, Wholesale and Retail. WATERLOO, . . . P. Q. PHOTOGRAPHER^ SJP * ^Jf LATE OF JAMES INGLIS, MONTREAL. The best of PHOTOGRAPHS finished in latest sUles. Al s COLORED WORK. A Collection of Chromos, Steel Engravings, Frames, &c : , Always on hand. ~~C. S. MARTIN," Bailiff of the Superior Court. AND lklH@tlftif, WATERLOO, . P. Q. 150 Fancy Store and Barber Shop, EVERYTHING IN Gents Furnishing Department Always on hand. Barber Shop kept in first-class style. Only competent men employed, and satisfaction guaranteed. A full Stock of Jewellery and Watches, Cigars and Tobaccos of every Brand. Oyster Saloon refitted with all the latest conveniences. J. II. TOUZIN. WATERLOO, P. Q., Dec. 1st, 187G. WATERLOO CARRIAGE FACTORY, & PAYAff In addition to all descriptions of CARRIAGES, this firm 'u exten- sively employed in the Manufacture of Sashes, Doors and Blinds. STEAM POWER. Employs about Twenty Hands. 151 i2/w iv-5? In all its branches executed in first-class style and at moderate prices. (Pictures Framed to order. A Stock of ' Constantly on hand. I have on hand nil the negatives taken in this place by E. B. HODGE ; Also all those taken in this place since he went away. Orders on any of them will receive prompt attention. Also Agent for the Celebrated Ellas Bewe Sewieg Machines. JWain. Street, Next to Dawson's Furniture Booms, WATERLOO, - - "... P.Q. 152 ESTABLISHED IN 1839. WATERLOO IRON WORKS. The undersigned would respectfully announce to the pu!li< that they are Manufacturers of first-class Machinery, consistiiu i n part of CIRCULAR SAW MILLS, With improved Lercr Set, Planers, Clapboard Mills, Water Wheels, Shafting, Hangers, Tanner's Machinery, A large assortment of COOKING STOVES, Double and Si BOX STOVES, PARLOR STOVES, HEATING STOVES for Hot Air Furnaces. Particular attention is called to the Popular COOK STOVE, LORD DUFFERIN, Nbs. 8 and 9, which for beauty of design, convenience and supe- riority of workmanship, is unsurpassed in the Dominion, Also. THE LADY DUFFERIN, A Parlor Cook Stove, which combines economy of space and good heating qualities. Agricultural Tools, Plows, Cultivators, Straw Cutters, Shell ers, Sugar Grates and Arch Irons, &c, Farmers are requested to notice that we are Manufacturing u Superior BARK MILL, both right and left Imml, with sec- tional teeth. General Jobbing done in Iron and Brass Foundry, Machine and Wood Shops. All orders entrusted will be executed with neatness and des- patch at moderate prices. Dealers in Smith's Coal, Bar Iron, Steel and General Merchandise. ALLEN TAYLOR & CO. WATERLOO, Dec. 5tl>, 1870.