(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Shelby County, Ohio, and representative citizens"

a 



EM 



■'I l 1 .'I i i 'l im , lM|i( i; | IHMAIi , 

3 1833 01268 6918 



GENEALOGY 

977.101 

SH4HA 



History of 

Shelby County, Ohio 



AND 



Representative Citizens 



A. B. C. HITCHCOCK 

SIDNEY, OHIO 



'History is Philosophy Teaching by Example' 



PUBLISHED BY 

RICHMOND-ARNOLD PUBLISHING CO. 

T. J. RICHMOND, Pres.; C. R. ARNOLD. Sec'y and Treas. 

CHICAGO, ILL. 



The reproduction of this book has been 
made possible through the sponsorship of 
The Lewis Boyer Chapter Daughters of 
the American Revolution, Sidney, Ohio. 



A Reproduction by Unigraphic, Inc. 

4400 Jackson Avenue 

Evansville, Indiana 47715 

Nineteen Hundred Seventy Three 



Binding by 

Modern Pre-Binding Corporation 

Portland, Indiana 



1771083 



PREFACE 

The aim of the publishers of this volume and of the author of the history 
has been to secure for the historical portion thereof full and accurate data 
respecting the history of the county from the time of its early settlement 
and to condense it into a clear and interesting narrative. All topics and 
occurrences have been included that were essential to this object. 

The reviews of resolute and strenuous lives that make up the biographical 
part of the volume are admirably calculated to foster local ties, to inculcate 
patriotism and to emphasize the rewards of industry dominated by intel- 
ligent purpose. They constitute a most appropriate medium for perpetu- 
ating personal annals and will be of incalculable value to the descendants of 
those commemorated. These sketches are replete with stirring incidents and 
intense experiences and are flavored with a strong human interest that will 
naturally prove to a large portion of the readers of the book one of its most 
attractive features. In the aggregate of personal memoirs thus collated 
will be found a vivid epitome of the growth of Shelby county, which will 
fully supplement the historical statement, for its development is identical 
with that of the men and women to whom it is attributable. Sketches un- 
revised by subscribers are marked by a small asterisk placed after the name 
of the subscriber. 

The publishers have avoided slighting any part of the work, and to the 
best of their ability have supplemented the editor's labors by exercising 
care over the minutest details of publication, in order to give the volume 
the three-fold value of a readable narrative, a useful work of reference and 
a tasteful ornament to the library. 

Special prominence has been given to the portraits of many represent- 
ative citizens, which appear throughout the volume, and we believe that 
they will prove not its least interesting feature. We have sought in this 
department to illustrate the different spheres of industrial and professional 
achievement as conspicuously as possible. 

To all who have kindly interested themselves in the preparation of this 
work, and who have voluntarily contributed most useful information or 
rendered any other assistance, we hereby tender our grateful 
acknowledgments. 

The Publishers. 

Chicago, III., February, 1913. 



\» 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I 



Introductory 19 

Geographical Location of Shelby County — Its Origin and Area — 
Loramie Trading Post and Its Founder — The French and Indians — 
Naming of the County — The Pioneers and Their Hardships — The 
Mound Builders — The Largest Glacier. 

CHAPTER II 

Discovery of America 24 

An Account of the Early Explorers and the First Settlements Made 
in America. 

CHAPTER III 

Indian Occupancy ^31 

Character of the Indians, with an Account of the Principal Indian 
Tribes East of the Mississippi River Subsequent to the Discovery of 
America by the Whites — Their Wars and Treaties. 

CHAPTER IV 

•Yhe Old Northwest 52 

The Northwest Territory as Defined in the Ordinance of 1787 — 
State of Ohio Formed — Character of Its Citizenship — Indian Inhab- 
itants — Prohibition of Slavery — Provision for Education — Settle- 
ment of Marietta — Appointment of Governor St. Gair — Law and 
Order Established — George Rogers Clark and His Work — Conflict- 
ing State Claims — Their Settlement — Treatment of the Indians — 
Story of Black Hawk — The Last of the Indians — The Greenville 
Treaty. 

CHAPTER V 

Geology and Topography 60 

Situation and Boundaries of Shelby County — Its Elevation — 
Topography — Drainage and Soil — Rainfall — The Loramie Reservoir 
— The Drift — Bowlders — Remains of Human Art — Extinct Animals 
— Bedded Stone — The Niagara Formation — Physical Features. 



8 CONTENTS 

CHAPTER VI 

Organization of Shelby County 77 

Date of Organization — Naming of the County — Selection of 
County Seat — Organization of Townships — Extracts from Com- 
missioners' Journal — Court Minutes — Early Marriages — Pioneer 
Conditions — Land Entries — Population — Political Parties — County 
Officials. 

CHAPTER VII 

Sidney, the County Seat 171 

Name of Sidney — Early Settlers — Sidney Made County Seat — 
First Houses and Roads — Jail and Court House — Benefit of the 
Canal — Sidney's Growth — Mayors — Police and Fire Departments — 
Commercial Club — Cemeteries — Wagner Conservatories, etc. 

CHAPTER VIII 

Manufactures and Commerce 188 

Sketches of the Principal Manufacturing Industries of Sidney. 

CHAPTER IX 

Transportation 205 

Construction of Roads and Highways — Taverns— -The Canal — 
Railroads and Electric Lines — The Mails. 

CHAPTER X 

Public Institutions 214 

The Infirmary — The Shelby County Children's Home — Sidney 
Public Library. 

CHAPTER XI 

Banks and Banking 221 

Origin of Banking — L^ses of Modern Banks — Bank and Bankers 
of Shelby County. 

CHAPTER XII 

The Press , 228 

The Newspapers of Shelby County — Sketches of the Daily News, 
Democrat, Journal, Republican, etc. — The Editors and the Pro- 
prietors. 



CONTENTS 9 

CHAPTER XIII 

Agriculture 234 

History of the Shelby County Agricultural Society. 

CHAPTER XIV 

Religious Development 243 

Pioneer Preachers — History of the Principal Religious Denomina- 
tions in Shelby County — Churches and Pastors. 

CHAPTER XV 

The Medical Profession 256 

The Pioneer Doctor — Prevailing Diseases in Early Days — Crude 
Methods of Cure — Great Medical Discoveries — Some of the Early 
and Later Physicians of Shelby County — The Shelby County Med- 
ical Society — Present Physicians and Surgeons. 

CHAPTER XVI 

Education 262 

Lack of Educational Facilities in Early Days — The Old Log 
Schoolhouse — Introduction of Graded Schools — The Schools of Sid- 
ney and Shelby County — Superintendents and Teachers — The New 
High School. 

CHAPTER XVII 

Military Record 269 

Shelby County in the Civil War — Regimental Histories — Neal 
Post, G. A. R. — Company L in the Spanish-American War. 

CHAPTER XVIII 

The Bench and Bar 322 

Organization of the Courts — Interesting Cases — Old Time Judges 
and Lawyers — The Shelby County Bar of Today. 

CHAPTER XIX 

The Townships (I) 332 

Historical Sketches of Clinton, Cynthian and pinsmore Townships 
— Organization — Early Settlement — Villages — Schools — Churches, 
etc. 



10 CONTENTS 

CHAPTER XX 

The Townships (II) 349 

Franklin, Green and Jackson Townships. 

CHAPTER XXI 

The Townships (III) 361 

Loramie, McLean, Orange and Perry Townships. 

CHAPTER XXII 

The Townships (IV) 381 

Salem, Turtle Creek, Van Buren and Washington Townships. 

CHAPTER XXIII 

Miscellaneous 395 

Singing Schools — The Old Shoemaker — Some Well Known Citi- 
zens, John Blakeley, John E. Bush, S. I. Gamble, Morris Honnell, 
Nathan Moore, Philip Smith, Dr. Hezekiah Stout Ailes, Dr. J. A. 
Throckmorton, Silas D. Young. 



INDEX 



Achbach, Henry 612 

Ailes, Hezekiah' S 400 

Ailes. H. P 801 

Ailes, John F 809 

Albers, J. Henry 551 

Allen, Anthony J 698 

Allton, William L 718 

Altenbach, Frank J 640 

Altenbach, Joseph 512 

Althoff, H. J 857 

Amann, W. O 485 

Amos, Ernest C 231 

Amos, Howard A 232 

Amos, James 230 

Amos, W. T 231 

Anderson, George D 594 

Apple, Fernando W 773 

Apple, Henry A 598 

Apple, H. H 600 

Apple, H. W 604 

Apple, J. J 599 

Applegett, A. E 758 

Applegate, J. F 465 

Arkenberg, Ferdinand C 556 

Arling, John 567 

Aselage, Bernard 469 

Atkinson, J. L 486 

Baker, Allen 730 

Baker, Elza A 697 

Baker, E. M 563 

Baker, Emory E 674 

Baker, George M 617 

Baker, Lewis W 837 

Baker, Milton 782 

Baker, Orla A 720 

Baker, William C 728 

Bambauer, Henry 820 

Barhorst, Anthony 561 

Barhorst, Bernard 445 

Barhorst, Joseph H 651 

Barnes, Joseph D 572 

Beaman, Robert K 788 

Beamer. T. M, M. D 584 

Beebe, Henry E., M. D 441 

Beebe, Hugh McD., M. D 5'7 

Bender, J. Clemens 465 

Benjamin, Charles W 773 

Bennett, Harry E 77' 

Bensman. Anthony 788 

Billing. Edward H 778 

Billing, George H 535 

Billing, William F 694 



Bingham, Evan W 431 

Bingham, R. 665 

Blake, John M 540 

Blakeley, John 417 

Blakeley, L. E. 643 

Bonnoront, Phillip 746 

Booher, S. J 621 

Borchers, Henry J 549 

Borchers, Frank J 548 

Borchers, John B 501 

Borchers, William J 506 

Border, Jesse E 634 

Borger, John 617 

Bornhorst, Frank 551 

Bowen, Joseph 473 

Bowen, William H 531 

Boyer, Calvin 767 

Boyer, George W 694 

Brandenburg, Shelby J 491 

Brandewie, Bernard 455 

Broerman, Charles F 488 

Brown, J. W 475 

Buirley, S. T 499 

Bull, Broachey T 779 

Burkhart, John 562 

Burress, Nathan R 327 

Bush, John E ' 412 

Campbell, John F '.681 

Cargill, Henry 798 

Carity, August 586 

Carothers, Wilson 81 1 

Carpenter, F. M 508 

Cashner, William 558 

Caven, H. W 606 

Caven, William M 582 

Cecil, B. S 611 

Christian, Forest D 673 

Clancey, James W 810 

Clark, Fred D., D. 778 

Clawson, Fred A 642 

Clayton, Francis M 748 

Clinehens, David T 726 

Cole, Joshua F 622 

Coleman, W. E 687 

Conklin, Dr. H. S 258 

Conklin, Hon. Jacob S 325 

Conklin, John W 328 

Cook, Orrie W 710 

Coon, Marshal K 454 

Cotterman, Harry 821 

Cowan, Dr. Wilson V 259 

Croft, Louis G 785 



INDEX 



Crumbaugh, Samuel D 781 

Crusey, Conrad 663 

Cummins, John C 856 

Cummins, John E 327 

Curtner, R. D 430 

Danzig, Bernard 516 

Danzig, Frank 498 

Davies, William D 807 

Davis, A. W 807 

Deam, F. M 581 

Deiters, John 768 

Denman, Martin F 660 

DeWeese, Robison J 726 

DeWeese, Wyant A 724 

Dickensheets, Harry N 512 

Dill, Wilson 759 

Dillon, Benjamin E 497 

Dirksen, H. B 815 

Doorley, Owen 469 

Dorsey, Charles M 492 

Dorsey, John E 569 

Dorsey, Samuel M 532 

Dreses, Joseph 596 

Duncan, S. J 843 

Duncan, Thomas 5°9 

Dundon. Patrick 587 

Dunn, E. A 662 

Dunson, John K 7°8 

DuVall, Wallace S 731 

Ehrhardt, George 521 

Ehrhardt, Henry W 507 

Eilerman, Frank J 467 

Eilerman, Henry A 595 

Eilerman, Peter J 583 

Eldredge, J. C, V. S 819 

Emert, J. F 620 

Emmons, Wilbur J 473 

Enders, Christopher 659 

Enders, Nicholas C 761 

Epperson, James J 791 

Ernst, Frank 584 

Ernst, Henry A 530 

Eshman, Hon. Irenus A 749 

Evans, Robert B 519 

Everley, L. F 522 

Eversman, Henry 667 

Faler, George W 756 

Faulder, George 661 

Fergus, William A 528 

Ferree, Jeremiah D 718 

Fessler, Levi D 608 

Fey, John C 477 

Fielding, Dr. William 257 

Finkenbine, Jacob M 717 

Finkenbine, John, Sr 544 

Finkenbine, Lewis H 683 

Finkenbine, William 678 

First National Bank, The, Jackson Center. 777 
Forrar, William H 699 



Fortman, Henry 491 

Fosnight, Albert J 828 

Foster, Benjamin F 474 

Foster, George W 611 

Francis, George N 610 

Frankenberg, Joseph 675 

Frazier, George A 696 

Fretz, Walter E 831 

Fristoe, Earl D 662 

Fristoe, William H 481 

Gaier, Joseph V 537 

Gaines, Waldo M., M. D 738 

Gamble, Samuel 1 411 

Gearhart, George L 727 

Gerber, John C 758 

Gilfillen, William E 707 

Ginn, C. G 488 

Ginn, Johnson 530 

Given, Charles E 509 

Given, John F 855 

Goode, Hon. P. G 324 

Goode, Sampson G., M. D 443 

Graham. William A 853 

Gran, Gotleib 703 

Green, Thomas 411 

Griffis. Elias J 664 

Grisez, John F 838 

Gross, Lewis Phillip 690 

Gudenkauf, August B., M. D 466 

Hagelberger, George 631 

Hance. Willis N 458 

Hansellman, GfBrge W '-455 

Harbour, Elmer E 769 

Harbour, Wallace R 800 

Harp, John W 487 

Harris, Paul 724 

Harrod, Henry F 640 

Harshbarger, Isaac 420 

Hatfield, Sinclair J 780 

Heiser, John 450 

Helmlinger, Jacob 861 

Helman J. A 735 

Hemm, George 804 

Herring, John W 737 

Hess, Andrew J '--834 

Hetzler, V. C 570 

Heneisen, Frank G 744 

Hickok, C. F 592 

Hiegel, Anthony 624 

Hiegel, Charles A 713 

Higgins, B. P 519 

Higgins, Samuel 502 

Higgins, Thomas L 736 

Higgins, W. H 532 

Hippie, George K 468 

Hitchcock, A. B. C 578 

Hoelscher, Henry F 638 

Hoelscher, Henry, Sr 641 

Hoewisher, William 774 

Hohn. Lewis 821; 

Holscher, John B 518 



INDEX 



Honnell, Morris 408 

Hoskins, Hon. Emery L 329 

Howell, P. A 564 

Hubbell, Flint L„ M. D 570 

Huber, Joseph 746 

Huffman, John J 538 

Hughes, John M 862 

Hunt, Preston R 740 

Hussey, Dr. Stephen C 260 

Jackson, C. A 73° 

Johnston, Charles A 683 

Johnston, J. W 597 

Johnston, William T 574 

Jones, Henry 632 

Jones, Robert V 762 

Kah, Edward E 520 

Kah, Louis, Jr 821 

Kaiser, Joseph 812 

Kauffman, Jonas 517 

Kemp, John H 496 

Kerr, O. L 644 

Kettler, Julius W. C 858 

Kev, David R 750 

Key, Orlando Burton 706 

Kies, George 676 

Kiggins, John C. F 479 

Kilborn, Wilber E 425 

King, Joseph 460 

King, Prof. Webster C 652 

Kirsch, Christian 457 

Kiser, Elmer D 794 

Klase, John M 835 

Klipstine, William 446 

Kloeker. Herman 637 

Kloeker, J. William 548 

Knoop, L. L 449 

Knoop, Samuel M 745 

Koenig, John C 649 

Kuether, Henry 826 

Lacey, Martin 821 

Lallemand, J. P 633 

Lamb, James A 522 

Laughlin, William Watt 833 

Leapley, Jacob R 539 

Lee. Earl 854 

LeFevre, Jacob M 744 

LeFevre, Gen. Benjamin 653 

Lemaster, O. O., M. D 857 

Lengerich, John 837 

Lindhaus, Frank 547 

Lininger, Ernest 5*0 

Lochard, John W 567 

Lochard, Wallace A 793 

Lorton, John W 628 

Loudenbach, George R 782 

Loy, Michael 495 

Lucas, Marcelius N 705 

McCashen, Charles M 716 

McCloskey, William H 568 



McClure, John C 540 

McCormick, E., M. D 689 

McCullough, C. D 786 

McCullough, John E 327 

McKinstrv, D. A 619 

McLean, William T 811 

McNeil, Fred 571 

McVay, Edd 808 

McVay, Frederick R., M. D 649 

McVay, Herbert R 823 

Mader, Edward C 623 

Marrs, Emory F 593 

Marshall, Armstrong L 458 

Marshall, Charles C 836 

Marshall, George A 328 

Marshall, Hon. Samuel 323 

Martin, Ora A 628 

Martz, Mrs. Lilly M 550 

Mathers, Hon. Hugh T 439 

Mathers, John H 326 

Maurer, Allen 698 

Maurer, Chas. A 860 

May, John, Jr 787 

Mayer, William H 468 

Meighen, John F 480 

Meighen, William F 490 

Mentges, George 577 

Meranda, J. E 693 

Metz, Jacob 765 

Metz, Lewis J ' 793 

Meyer, William J 527 

Middleton, Elva N 485 

Miller, Frank B 435 

Miller, Dr. John L 260 

Miller, Samuel 725 

Milliette, Delphis R., M. D 700 

Mills, D. Finley 506 

Minniear, T. K... .800 

Monnin, F. I 652 

Moore, Hon. Emerson V. '. 436 

Moore, Nathan 405 

Moothart, John 630 

Mowry, John H 682 

Moyer, Nathan 536 

Moyer, Perry 642 

Munk. Jacob 624 

Murphey, William G 675 

Murray, Gen. James 326 

Nutt, Capt. Edmund E 432 

Oldham, John 827 

O'Leary, William 777 

Partington, E. W 563 

Partington, John D 704 

Partington, M. E 569 

Paulus, N. A 547 

Paulus, Peter 606 

Pauwells, Mrs. Elizabeth 429 

Pence, J^hn Q. A 757 

Pence, W. 832 

Pepper, Charles 674 



14 



Perry, William A 572 

Persinger, William H 487 

Pickering, W. T 535 

Piper, Samuel 498 

Poeppelman, Joseph 550 

Polhamus, D. G 593 

Polhamus, G. S 478 

Pope, G. A 826 

Potts, Harrison M 588 

Prince, D. N„ Sr 637 

Princehouse, William H 441 

Pruden, C. K 521 

Pruden, David M 557 

Quellhorst. J. Henry 732 

Quigley, P. Wright 695 

Qumlisk, Hon. Martin 723 

Randolph, William 453 

Ratermann, Adolph F 538 

Raterman, A. P 442 

Ratermann, Frank J., M. D 507 

Ratermann, Louis P 615 

Rausenberger, John W 847 

Redinbo, C. 815 

Retter, Sanford C 709 

Rneinish, George A 780 

Rhodehamel, James H 839 

Rhoades, William F 671 

Richards, Jacob W 482 

Richeson, Dr. J. Frank 852 

Riethmann, Anton 816 

Roberts, Marion 789 

Roeth, Ernest J 650 

Rogers, S. H„ D. V. S 803 

Roth, Michael A 677 

Rottinghaus. J. W 515 

Rovon, Joseph C 591 

Runkle, Daniel 845 

Russell, Fred J 828 

Russell, Grant E 647 

Russell, Hon. J. Edward 425 

Russell, Moses R 505 

Russell, William A 603 

Salm, William F 733 

Sanderson, William D , V. S 843 

Sayre, Frank M 470 

Schtieeberger, William 861 

Schenck, Edgar A 459 

Schiff, George C 713 

Schiff. John M.. Jr 678 

Schnelle, Louis H 824 

Schurr, J. H. M 629 

Schwartz, John 585 

Scott, D. W 560 

Segar, Bernard 552 

Sexauer, Carl A 444 

Shafer, Edward J 647 

Shanely, Lewis Grant 716 

Shearer, Christopher 672 

Sheets, Herbert E 629 



Shellenbarger, Christian 840 

Sherer, J. W 802 

Sherman, Adolph F 511 

Sherman, Henry F 607 

Sherman, John B 633 

Sherman, John J +27 

Sherman, W. J 426 

Short, George W 543 

Short, John, Sr 541 

Short, J. C 548 

Showers, Lauson C 509 

Shrover, Elmer 803 

Shrover. Henrv 688 

Siegel, John 587 

Siegel, Reinhart 496 

Silver, Arthur, M. D 844 

Silver, Dr. D. R 259 

Simmons, Judson Ward 747 

Skillen, T. C 608 

Sleetcr, Frederick H 462 

Sloan, Hugh B 833 

Smith, Edmund 327 

Smith, James E 714 

Smith, Philip 668 

Smith, William J 792 

Snodgrass, Link T 527 

Snow, William Marion 816 

Snyder, Charles F 475 

Springer, Solomon 648 

Stackhouse. A 583 

Stafford, Parker L 704 

Staley, Edward F 559 

Stalev, George P 667 

Stalev, George W •. 686 

Staley, John M 328 

Staley, John Thomas 684 

Staley, Joseph P 696 

Staley, Roger W 743 

Staley, Squire Nicholas .' 707 

Stalev. Orrin C 720 

Stangel. John C 685 

Stein, Charles 859 

Stengel, George 739 

Stephenson. John G 328 

Stockstill. P. 615 

Stockstill. Thomas 799 

Stolly, Hon. John B 653 

Stout, Jonathan 761 

Studevant. Lafayette M 790 

Struble, Emanuel J 766 

Sullivan. M. C 650 

Taylor, Harry J 466 

Taylor, Oliver J 447 

Taylor, Percy R 618 

Thedieck, I. H 851 

Thie, J. G 769 

Thompson, D. T 772 

Thompson, Hon. Hugh 325 

Thompson, J. W 738 

Thomnson, Robert P 5 2 5 

Threlkeld. Kirbv 666 



Throckmorton, Dr. J. A 399 

Toland, R. - M 749 

Toy, Daniel 595 

Tucker, Col. James B 753 

Valentine, Milton 835 

Valentine, William F 400 

Van Demark, Henry V 446 

Van Demark, Jacob N 690 

Van Riper, Capt. James L 561 

Verdier, P. F 814 

Vertner, Howard 787 

Vondrele, Bernard 529 

Vordemark, William 859 

Wagner, Bernard P 754 

Wagner, George H 660 

Wagner, Henry 770 

Wagner, L. Cable 698 

Wagner, Louis F 804 

Wagner, Louis R 762 

Wagner, William H 573 

Ward, John C 479 

Ward. Thomas H 797 

Warner, Darwin H 526 

Watkins, C. E 822 

Wehneman, Simon 477 

Wendeln, Henry 489 

Wenger, George 7'4 

Wenger, John F 832 

Wevmer, J. W 560 

Wheaton, A. G 500 

Wheaton, Thomas 428 



White, J. E 735 

Wildermuth, F. M 685 

Wiley. James W 501 

Wilkinson, Isaac M 748 

Wilson. Dr. Albert 258 

Wilson, Col. Harrison 329 

Wilson, L. C 582 

Windle. Charles L 631 

Winemiller, C. J 844 

Winner, Charles 845 

Winner, Joseph 537 

Wise, August 627 

Wolke, Clemens <i6l 

Wolaver, Charles A 610 

Wones, John C. 709 

Woolley, William E 499 

Wyatt, George M 836 

Wvman, Hon. Chas. M 860 

Wyman, Hon. William C 739 

Yager, Charles F 848 

Yates, Earl A.M. D 596 

Yost, Elisha 555 

Young, Philip W 639 

Young, Silas D 39§ 

Young, William M 760 

Zedeker, George W 659 

Zedeker, John W 732 

Zedeker, Oliver C 715 

Zimpfer, Henry J 728 

Zimpher, Walker 73o 




HITCIK'OCK 



History of Shelby County 

CHAPTER I 
INTRODUCTORY 

Geographical Location of Shelby County — Its Origin and Area — Loramie 
Trading Post and Its Founder — The French and Indians — Naming of 
the County — The Pioneers and Their Hardships — The Mound Builders — 
The Largest Glacier. 

By way of preface I hasten to assure the reader that while I have the 
prime qualification for a historian of a hoary head I have not that of being 
indigenous to the soil and may often have to say "I read that" or "I was told 
that" instead of "I recall that." I have been here since 1861, a period of 
more than fifty years and less than one hundred years will cover the marvelous 
changes in our brief history. 

We are all interested in first things — in the oldest things — whether they 
be the work of man or of nature. In the founding of a great state, a county 
or a city, the interest is just as intense, and we of today love to read the 
names and recall the deeds of those who felled the primeval forest, bridged the 
stream, and made the valley blossom like the rose. We are interested in them 
because they made possible the comforts and refinements of today and it is 
not only a duty but a pleasure to recall the names and deeds of those who 
were truly pioneers. 

A little more than a century ago Shelby in common with all western Ohio 
was swamp and forest, the battle ground of Shawnees, Delawares, Wyan- 
dottes, Pottawattomies, Ottawas, Miamis, Chippewas and the Wabash tribes. 
In 1794. only one hundred and eighteen years ago, a council of the big chiefs 
met in Greenville and discussed scalps and wampun and boundary lines instead 
of electric light plants, armories, water works, and street paving. 

These momentous questions were not settled by Messrs. Brown, Smith and 
Jcnes from the first, second, and third wards, but by Little Turtle, New Corn. 
Tetaboskke, Agoosshaway and Mashipansiwish. The French and the English 
both claimed this land. In 1749 Celeron de Bienville was sent from Quebec tc 
bury plates in Ohio and claim it for the French. The same year the English 
under direction of the Ohio company built Pickawillamy as a trading post with 
Indians. The exact location is disputed. Some say it was at the junction of 
Loramie creek with the Miami. Pickawillamy is important as it was the 
first British settlement in Ohio. Marietta, 1788, the first permanent settlement. 
There were often as many as fifty traders here at once, among them, Christo- 
pher Gist, Trent, Piatt, Weiser, Chartier. The Twig tree branch of the 



20 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Miamis was friendly to the English. Pickawillamy did not endure long, but 
was destroyed by the French, Chippewas, and Ottawas in 1752. Peter Lora- 
mie, in 1769, was sent as a missionary to the Wyandottes and Shawnees but 
Loramie did not long perform the function of priest for the Jesuit order was 
suppressed by Pope Clement XIV in 1773. He then became a trader at the 
place that bears his name. In 1782 Gen. George Rogers Clark was sent to 
punish these Wyandottes and Shawnees, friends of Loramie's, and Clark 
burned Loramie's store. 

Peter Loramie escaped and made arrangement with Colonel Johnston, 
Indian commissioner, to emigrate with several hundred Shawnees to a'reserva- 
tion west of the Mississippi. In 1791 St. Clair and Col. Parke were defeated 
at Fort Recovery in Mercer county. In 1792, General Harmar with Col 
John Hardin, proceeded against the Indian towns at St. Joseph. 

Miami embracing Shelby was at first a part of Montgomery when Miami 
was detached in 1807. In 1819 Shelby was detached and named after Gen. 
Thomas Shelby, of Kentucky, who had much to do in wresting Ohio from 
the Indians. It had at first jurisdiction over Auglaize and Allen which formed 
the original Auglaize and Amunda townships of Shelby county. Hardin was 
treacherously killed by the Indians, where the village of Hardin now stands. 
In 1794 Gen. Anthony Wayne went north to the Indian village of Maumee, 
which lie captured. He built Fort Wayne and on his return he visited the site 
of Loramie's store and old Pickawillamy. He rebuilt Fort Loramie, which 
was occupied till 1812. 

Those pioneers who migrated to a forest-encumbered country a cen- 
tury ago to carve a home confronted a most serious proposition which can 
hardly be realized by those of the present day. 

The implements to perform the life-work were clumsy and crude when 
the struggle for the necessities of life commenced. The luxuries, now so 
seemingly essential to comfort, were not thought of or were scrupulously 
eliminated from their thoughts. They faced untiring work no matter which 
way they looked and were every inch heroes, and not the less were their 
helpmeets in the brave encounter. When one contrasts what these mothers 
fared in raising their children in their meager households as compared with 
the present time he feels that each one deserves a lasting monument of grati- 
tude. 

The mound builders, which left traces of their existence in the southern 
and southeastern part of the state, never invaded this county. This strange 
people whose origin is unknown, were swept from the earth by a fatal epi- 
demic more universal than the cruel edict of Herod — as it spared neither 
young nor old — or were exterminated by the ravages of a superior foe, 
or perhaps smothered under a blanket of mephitic vapor that issued from 
the earth's gaseous interior. In any event their advent and their fate are 
alike unknown and unknowable mysteries, but the strange mounds they 
built defy the corroding tooth of time and are gazed upon with ever increas- 
ing interest and are the fruitless source of the wildest and most conflicting 
conjecture. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 21 

Sometime in the dark ages of the past a huge glacier sauntered through 
here from the frozen north and with irresistible force plowed the groove 
through which the Miami river courses to the Ohio, rounding the cobble 
stones and grinding rocks to sand and depositing it along the river in numer- 
ous banks. In its leisurely travel this glacier loosened its grip upon a huge 
cubical rock, containing over 1,200 cubic feet and weighing over 100 tons, 
and left it about one mile east of Sidney. This rock, antedating in antiquity 
the pyramids of Egypt or even profane or sacred history, has been visited 
by many archaeologists and geologists of note. It is said to be by far the 
largest rock deposited by a glacier in Ohio. 

From the fragments of history that have come down to us from tradi- 
tion it is learned that this territory was formerly occupied at different 
periods by the Twigtees, Miamis and Shawnee Indian tribes, but which of 
these tribes exercised sovereignty over this section is not known. The first 
white men to visit .within the limits of the county were the early French 
traders. In 1740. a band of English traders settled at a place they named 
Pickawillany, within or near the southern line of the county. Three years 
later the French from Canada broke up this settlement and carried the 
traders off to Canada where they were held as prisoners for several years. 
A French trader named Loramie established himself here and built up an 
extensive trade with the Indians. His place became the headquarters of the 
Indian tribes, who so continuously made war on the Kentucky settlers. In 
1792 George Rodger Clark marched an army of Kentucky militia into this 
territory, defeated the Indians and destroyed Loramie's trading post. Of 
this post Clark says: "The property destroyed was of great amount and 
the provisions surpassed all idea we had of Indian stores." 

White settlers began coming into the county in 1805, among whom were 
the Wilsons, Cannons, Marshalls, Mellingers, Careys and McClures — names 
familiar to every one in the county. These settlers selected for their homes 
either the river bottoms or the highest portions of the country on account 
of much of the other parts being swampy. They came from Kentucky, 
Virginia and New Jersey principally, brought little of this world's goods, 
but they possessed that hardy industry, good sense and high character so 
necessary to the pioneers who have builded beyond their fondest anticipa- 
tions. From 1830 to 1850 there was a large immigration from Germany to 
the county, of those who came here for political freedom. They and the 
French settlers in the west part of the county have been a valuable acquisi- 
tion to our citizenship and the wealth and prosperity of Shelby county 

Shelby county was detached from Miami county in 1819, and was 
named after General Shelby, a stern patriot and brave soldier in the Revo- 
lution, after whom nine counties have been named. He was afterward 
governor of Kentucky. The southern part of the county is undulating, ris- 
ing in places along the Miami into verdure-clad hills. The northern por- 
tion is flat table-land, forming part of Loramie's Summit, 378 feet above 
Lake Erie, the highest elevation in this part of the state. The soil is based 



22 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

on clay, with some fine bottom land along the streams. The southern part 
is best for grain and the northern for grass. 

The principal stream in the county is the Great Miami river, which enters 
the county on the east side and runs southwest, affording a large amount of 
water-power, by which many mills and other industrial establishments are 
propelled. There are some creeks of importance, among them the Muchinippi, 
Tawawa, and Nine Mile creek. 

The Miami canal and one of its feeders traverses the county, having 
direct connection, through the Miami river, with the Lewistown reservoir, 
located in the townships of Stokes, Washington, and McArthur, in Logan 
county, and which covers an area of some sixteen thousand acres, including 
the Indian or Miami lake. This reservoir was built, according to act of 
Congress, for the purpose of supplying an inexhaustible water-power for 
the canals. 

There are two lines of railroads running through the county: the Cleve- 
land, Columbus, Cincinnati and Indianapolis, and the Dayton and Michigan 
railway, a description of which will be found elsewhere in this work. 

The county seat was originally located at Hardin, and the first court was 
held there, in a log cabin, May 13 and 14, 1819. Honorable Joseph H. 
Crane, of Dayton, was the presiding judge; Samuel Marshall, Robert Hous- 
ton, and William Cecil, associates; Harvey B. Foot, clerk; Daniel V. Ding- 
man, sheriff; and Harvey Brown, of Dayton, prosecutor. In 1820 the county 
seat was moved to Sidney, where the courts were at first held in the resi- 
dences of the citizens, until some two years afterwards, when the first court 
house was erected. It was a small frame structure, twenty-four by thirty 
feet. The jail was sixteen by eighteen feet, and built of logs; and on the 
occasion of a prisoner escaping the commissioners were compelled to pay 
the fine for the nonpayment of which the prisoner was incarcerated. 

Shelby county is situated not far from the intersection of the fortieth 
parallel of latitude and the eighty-fourth meridian of longitude and mid- 
way between Lake Erie and the Ohio river, one hundred miles, m round num- 
bers, from each. 

At one time, when counties were much larger than now, it was embraced 
by Montgomery county, then was a part of Miami county and subsequently 
was detached from it and included Auglaize and Allen counties. They were 
eventually sliced off and Shelby county was pared down to its present area 
of 407 square miles, about the exact size of Miami count}-. 

As early as the year 1752 there existed on the banks of the Miami a 
trading post. It was located at the mouth of Loramie creek and was the 
first place settled by the English in Ohio. The French having heard of this 
trading post which they designated as the "English trading house of the 
Miami," detached a party of soldiers to demand a surrender of the store, 
which was probably a block house. This place was known as Loramie's 
store and was used to mark one of the boundaries of the Greenville treaty 
line. The house was inhabited by a number of friendly Indians and some 
Enelish traders. On the demand of the French for the surrender of the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 23 

place they refused to deliver up their friends. At attack was 
made and after a severe fight in which fourteen natives were 
killed, the remainder were taken prisoners and marched to Canada. The fort 
and trading house were called Pickawillany. Loramie, who was a French 
Canadian, was a founder of the trading post and was a hitter enemy of the 
Americans. 

Howe in his early history of Ohio says of Loramie : 

"The French had the faculty of endearing themselves to the Indians; and no doubt 
Loramie was in this respect fully' equal to any of his countrymen, and gained great influence 
over them. They formed with the natives an attachment of the most tender and abiding 
kind. 'I have,' says Colonel Johnson, 'seen the Indians burst into tears when speaking of the 
time when their French father had dominion over them; and their attachment to this day 
remains unabated.' 

"So much influence had Loramie with the Indians that when General Clarke, of 
Kentucky, invaded the Miami Valley in the autumn of 1782 his attention was attracted to 
the spot. He came on and burnt the Indian settlement here, and plundered and burnt the 
store of the Frenchman. The store contained a large quantity of goods and peltry, which 
were sold by auction afterwards among the men. by the general's orders. Among the 
soldiers was an Irishman, named Burke, considered a half-witted fellow, and the general 
butt of the wdiole army. While searching the store he found done up in a rag twenty-five 
half-joes, worth about two hundred d'.llars, wlv'ch he secreted in a hole he cut in an old 
saddle. At the auction no one bid for the saddle, it being judged worthless, except Burke, 
to whom it was struck off for a trifling sum, amid roars of laughter for his folly. But 
a moment elapsed before Burke commenced to search, and found and drew forth the money 
as if by accident. Then shaking it in the eyes of the men. exclaimed, 'An' it's not so bad 
a bargain after all.' Soon after, Loramie emigrated, with a party of Shawnees, to the 
Spanish territories west of the Mississippi. 

"In 1794 a fort was built at the place occupied by Loramie's store, by Wayne, and 
named Fort Loramie. "^—1 

There are many evidences of the former presence .if the Indians still- remaining. Fre- 
quently, during excavations, skeletons are found bearing an unmistakable resemblance to 
the gigantic and well-formed aborigine. In Turtle Creek Township there remain to this 
day several graves, wherein repose the dust of some noble red men. whose spirits have 
departed to the "happy hunting-grounds." The Indians in tin- vicinity were generally of 
a peaceful disposition, after the appearance of the white settlers among them. In "1792, 
however, Colonel John Hardin wns murdered in this county, while on a mission of peace 
to the Indians. The town of Hardin was laid out on the spot whereon occurred the tragedy. 
This, and that of a man named Boyier, were the only murders by the Indians from 1792 
to 1811. 

According to the same authority, the first white family who settled in the county was 
that of James Thatcher, in 1804. who settled in the west part, in Painter's Run. Samuel 
Marshall. John Wilson, and John Kenuard came soon after. 

Thus we see that Shelby county was once the theatre of Indian wars, Indian massacres, 
and sanguinary conflicts. 



CHAPTER II 

DISCOVERY OF AMERICA 

An Account of the Early Explorers and the First Settlements Made in 
America 

Columbus discovered America and landed on October 12, 1492. The 
country was named after Americus Vespucius, who discovered South 
America seven years later, and North America itself had been 
discovered five hundred years prior to Columbus' discovery. Yet 
Columbus was given credit for the discovery, as it was his voy- 
age, followed up, which settled the country. Toward the close of the 
ninth century Naddod, a Norwegian, while attempting to reach the Faroe 
Islands, 200 miles northwest of the British Isles, was driven by storm to 
Iceland, and he found the land had already been visited by the Irish. The 
Norsemen made a settlement there in 875 by Ingolf. The colonization at 
Iceland was carried in a southwesterly direction, through Greenland to the 
New Continent. Notwithstanding these Icelandic explorations westward, 
one hundred and twenty-five years elapsed when Lief, a Norwegian, the son 
of Eric the Red, in one of his voyages landed on the American coast, between 
Boston and New York, in the year 1,000. He called the new land Vinjand, 
on account of the grapes growing there, and he was naturally delighted with 
the fruitfulness of the soil and the mildness of the climate as compared with 
Iceland and Greenland. Later a settlement was made here, and when the 
white people came to Rhode Island in 1638 they discovered a tower of 
unhewn stone made from gravel of the soil around, and oyster-shell lime. 
It was circular in form, 23 feet in diameter and 24 feet high. The Narra- 
gansett Indians knew nothing of it's origin. The Icelandic chronicles state 
that besides Lief the Red, Thorfinn Karlsefne visited the point and settled 
here with his wife Gudrida, and that a son was born to them, Snorre Thorb- 
randsson. These historic chronicles seem to have been written in Green- 
land as early as the twelfth century and partly by descendants of settlers 
born in Vinland, so others besides Snorre were born there. The care with 
which the genealogical tables are kept was so great that that of Thorfinn 
Karlsefne, whose son Snorre Thorbrandsson, was born in America, has 
been brought down from 1007, the date of Snorre's birth, to the present, 
and Lossing states this geneological tree shows that Thorwaldsen, the great 
Danish sculptor, was a descendant of this first known white child born on 
American soil. The Icelandic history also shows that explorers erected three 

24 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 25 

boundary pillars on the eastern shore of Baffin's Bay, bearing a date of 1135. 
When these were found in 1824 there were also discovered the ruins of a 
number of buildings, showing there had been a settlement there, and the 
records further show frequent fishing trips to this and other localities along 
Baffin's Bay. 

At this time Iceland was an important place. It had in 1100 a popula- 
tion of 50,000 people, had a government and records, and poets and writers, 
and was farther advanced in literature at that time than any European 
nation.* Ships from Bistol, England, kept up a constant trade with Iceland, 
and Christopher Columbus himself, in a work on "The Five Habitable Zones 
of the Earth," says that in the month of February, 1477, he visited Iceland, 
"where the sea was not at that time covered with ice, and which had been 
resorted to by many traders from Bristol." Columbus, in the same work, 
mentions a more southern island, Frislanda, a name which was not on the 
maps published in 1436 by Andrea Bianco, or those in 1457 and 1470 pub- 
lished by Fra Mauro. The island is dwelt upon at length in the travels of 
the brothers Zeni, of Venice, in 1388 to 1404. But Columbus could not 
have been acquainted with the travels of the Zeni brothers, as they were 
unknown to Zeni's own Venetian family until 1558, when they were first 
published, fifty-two years after the death of Columbus. Therefore Columbus 
knew there was land southwest of Iceland. He could easily have reached 
this land by taking the beaten track to Iceland, and then southwest, but his 
genius told him he could find it by taking a westerly course from Spain, 
which he did, and became the discoverer of a new world. 

The landing of Columbus was on what is now San Salvador, latitude 
24 north, longitude 76 west, one of the Bahamas, about 300 miles east of 
the Florida coast. On this trip he cruised south as far as 20 degrees north 
latitude and discovered Cuba and San Domingo. In March, 1493, he 
returned to Spain with plants, birds, animals and Indians of the new world, 
and his journey overland from Palos to Barcelona, to meet Ferdinand and 
Isabella, was the march of a conqueror. At Barcelona the throne of the 
rulers was erected in a public square and Columbus was received with royal 
honors. The counselors of Spain believed it advisable to keep the wonder- 
ful discovery quiet, as Columbus reported fabulous wealth in the new world. 
That same year he returned again to America, taking with him several 
horses, a bull and some cows, the first European animals taken to the new 
world. He made two other voyages. In 1498 he discovered the Orinoco, 
on the north coast of South America. On his third voyage he was returned 
to Spain in chains, owing to misrepresentations made to Queen Isabella. 
Matters were easily explained and he made his fourth and last trip, in 1502, 
but on his return in 1504 the Queen was dead, and his enemies were in power, 
and he who had given Spain a new nation and a glory that would last for all 
time, died in poverty and obscurity at Valladolid on the 20th of May, 1506. 

In the meantime Americus Vespucius in 1499 visited the Orinoco, one 
year after Columbus had discovered it, and returning gave a glowing account 
of the new world and it was named America. 

♦Encyclopaedia Britannica. 



26 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Immediately after the first discovery of Columbus, Spain made settle- 
ments in the islands of the West Indies and reduced the Indians to slavery, 
and Spanish cruelty and wrong broke the spirit and lowered the standard 
of the Indians. The Spanish colonists married the Indian women, and from 
this union came the mixed race of the West Indies. The Pope recognized 
the discoveries of Spain, and by an edict granted Spain the ownership of the 
new world; that there might be no future doubt of what Spain owned he 
gave them control of "the whole region westward, beyond ?n imaginary 
line 300 miles west of the Azores." 

Notwithstanding Spain made no public announcement of the discoveries 
of Columbus, the most extravagant stories drifted through Europe of the 
fabulous wealth of a new world, and Sebastian Cabot, of Bristol, England, 
on March 16, 1497, was granted a commission of discovery by Henry VIII. 
Bristol was the port which years previous had done most of the trading with 
Iceland, and when Cabot started, he took the well-known route towards the 
northwest, and on July 3, 1497, discovered the rugged coast of Labrador. 
He skirted along the coast southward, past Newfoundland, touched at sev- 
eral points, and returning to England announced the discovery of what was 
undoubtedly a new continent. The next year, 1498, he fitted out another 
expedition, and, like Columbus, his main object was to discover a passage 
to India. Again he reached Labrador, and cruised north, but the ice stopped 
his progress, and he abandoned his search for a northwest passage and 
went south, exploring the coast from Labrador to North Carolina. 

On March 2j, 15 12, Ponce de Leon landed in Florida, and took pos- 
session in the name of the King of Spain — the first appearance of Spain on 
United States soil. Years later, in 1539, Ferdinand de Soto landed in 
Florida with six hundred men, all warriors, ard proceeded inland through 
Georgia, Alabama and Mississippi, crossing the Mississippi river somewhere 
below Memphis in May, 1541, taking possession of the land he passed over, 
and the land beyond that river in the name of the King of Spain. During 
the entire trip he had much trouble with the Indians, men died of sickness, 
and when he reached Florida on September 20, 1543, of the six hundred men 
who started but sixty returned, but they had made a trip of three thousand 
miles, through an unbroken wilderness, wandering on and on in a vain 
search for the fabulous gold they dreamed was somewhere in the interior. 

In 1534 Jacques Cartier, a Frenchman, went up the St. Lawrence river 
with his ships as far as where Quebec now stands, and learning the Huron 
(Wyandotte) King had his capital at a point called Hochelaga he paid him 
a visit. The Wyandotte King entertained his guest with the greatest hospi- 
tality and showed by every means possible that the visitors were welcome. 
Cartier remained the guest of the King for several days and climbed the 
large mountain, saw the magnificent St. Lawrence stretching above and 
below him. the rich country as far as the eye could see in every direction, 
and he named it Mount Real, which is its name today, the Metropolis of 
Canada with a population of half a million. Cattier returned the King's 
hospitality by a dinner on board his vessel in which he made him a prisoner 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 27 

and took him to France, exhibiting him to that civilized nation as one of 
the barbarian curiosities of the new world. In 1 542 Cartier returned to the 
St. Lawrence, and had intended taking the King back with him, but the 
unfortunate savage, pining for his home and people, had died of a broken 
heart. On Cartier's arriving at Quebec with a force of men to make a set- 
tlement, he found the Indians so unfriendly that he was compelled to build 
a fort at Quebec for his protection. This was the first experience of the 
Wyandotte Indians with the newer and higher order of civilization. 

Practically the same thing occurred in South Carolina. D'Ayllon, a 
French navigator, who had founded a colony at San Domingo, started for 
the Bermudas to capture a few slaves to work the Domingo sugar and tobacco 
plantations. Bad weather drove him to the coast of South Carolina where 
he was furnished water and provisions by the natives, and treated with the 
greatest hospitality. He entertained them in return on his boats, showed 
them over the vessels, and when a hundred savages were below fastened 
down the hatches, and sailed for San Domingo. One vessel was lost, and 
on the other the savages stubbornly refused food, and nearly all died of 
starvation. A few years later D'Ayllon returned for more slaves. He 
landed on the same coast, and was again hospitably received by the ignorant 
natives. They gave him feasts and banquets, and arranged a magnificent 
feast at their capital, thirty miles from the (?) for the feast, and when in the 
wilderness, miles from help, they were led into an ambush, and the entire 
party massacred. Thus early were the Indians learning the higher order of 
civilization. Cortoreal of Portugal obtained a permit from King John to 
make discoveries. He reached Canada, captured fifty natives, took them 
back to Portugal and sold them for slaves. The investment was so profitable 
that he immediately started for a second cargo, but he was never heard of 
afterward. 

In 1523, Francis I, of France, sent out John Verrazini with four vessels to 
make discoveries. In March 1524 he reached the Cape Fear river in North 
Carolina, and explored the coast, anchoring in Delaware Bay and New York 
harbor, and landed where New York now is. He treated the Indians to 
liquor, and not being used to it, many became very drunk, from which fact 
the Indians then called the place Manna-ha-ta, "place of drunkenness." He 
continued his trip north and named Canada New France. 

The entire coast had now been discovered; Spain had Florida and the 
southern part of the United States and beyond the Mississippi; England 
from the Carolinas north, and France had Canada, all this within half a cen- 
tury after Columbus' great discovery. Settlements had been established by 
the Spanish and French in the West Indies and by the Portugese in New- 
foundland, but no permanent settlement had yet been made in the United 
States. 

The era had now arrived when John Calvin in England, Martin Luther 
in Germany, and the Huguenots in France were bitter in their opposition to 
the Catholic church, and Admiral Coligny, the advisor of the weak Charles 
IX of France, decided to establish a place of refuge for the Protestants in 



28 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

the new world. The King granted him a commission for that purpose, and 
on February 28, 1562, a squadron under command of John Ribault sailed 
for America. The fleet first touched near the harbor of St. Augustine, 
Florida, sailed north past the St. John's river to Port Royal, the southeast- 
ern part of South Carolina, where they established their colony, calling it 
Carolina, in honor of Charles of France. The colony did not prosper and 
additional settlers were sent. 

In the meantime Philip II of Spain, who claimed the territory by virtue 
of Columbus' discovery, and the edict of the Pope giving Spain everything 
west of the Azores, was highly incensed at this invasion of his territory, and 
sent Pedro Menendez to Florida as governor with strict instructions to drive 
out the French and establish a Spanish colony. He had a strong force 
and landed at St. Augustine, founding a town there, the first in the United 
States, and proclaimed the King of Spain as monarch of all of North America. 
Ribault, learning of the landing of Menendez, started down the coast to 
attack him, but his ships were wrecked, many of his men drowned, and 
those who reached the shore were either killed, or were murdered by the 
Spaniards. In the meantime Menendez marched overland to Port Royal 
surprised the settlement, and murdered all of them, about nine hundred in 
number. He erected a cross on the site of the wholesale butchery and on it 
placed an inscription that these men were slain, "not because they were 
Frenchmen but Lutherans." And being in a particularly pious frame of 
mind he laid the foundation for a church to commemorate the deed. 

When Charles of France learned of the murder of his subjects, matters 
at home were in such shape that he could not avenge the insult, but a wealthy 
Frenchman, Dominic de Gourges, fitted out a ship at his own expense, and 
landed at Port Royal with 150 warriors, captured the 200 men left in charge 
there, and hanged the whole party, he, too, erecting a cross with the inscrip- 
tion : "I do not this as unto Spaniards or Moors, but unto traitors, robbers 
and murderers." His force was too small to risk an attack on Ft. Augustine, 
and being in danger of being attacked by the Spaniards at any moment, he 
had no time to even lay the foundation of a church, but sailed immediately 
for home, leaving the placarded Spaniards hanging to the trees as an object 
lesson to the Indians of the new and higher order of civilization. 

From 1579 to 1585 settlements were made by the English in Virginia 
and North Carolina, but they were not permanent. In 1585 Sir Richard 
Grenville landed at the island of Roanoke in Albemarle Sound. He treated 
the Indians very badly and they returned the compliment with interest. He 
was finally compelled to return to England, which he did, leaving fifteen men 
in charge. Two years later, in 1587, John White went over with reinforce- 
ments, and found the colony abandoned, the men having been murdered by 
the Indians. 

White re-established the colony, and reversed the policy of Grenville. 
treating the Indians kindly and cultivating their friendship. He induced 
Manteo, their chief, to become a Christian, and baptized him. White further 
pleased the Indians, and their chief by investing him with the title of Lord 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 29 

of Roanoke, with great formality and display, followed by a feast to the 
Indians and presents. This was the first — as well as the last — peerage ever 
created in America. When White returned to England he left behind his 
daughter, Eleanor Dare, wife of Lieutenant Dare, one of his officers. On 
August 1 8, 1587, there was born to Lieutenant and Mrs. Dare, a daughter, 
and she was named Virginia Dare, the first English child born in what is 
now the United States. In 1589 White again started for America but was 
driven back by the Spaniards; however in 1590 he returned to the colony only 
to find it abandoned and all traces of the colonists lost, and it was not until 
eighty years later the English learned that their lost kindred had been adopted 
by the Hatteras tribe, and become amalgamated with the children of the 
wilderness.* 

In April, 1607, a settlement was made at Jamestown, Virginia, composed 
almost entirely of English "gentlemen" whose profligate lives had left them 
in destitute circumstances in England, and who only came to America in a 
spirit of adventure, and the hope of realizing a fortune in the new world 
without work. The colony was an absolute failure, dependent on the Indians 
for the necessaries of life. Capt. John Smith, a man of great force, later 
took charge of the colony and endeavored to instill a spirit of industry into 
the men. He urged the cultivation of the soil, but at the end of two years 
the two hundred settlers had only forty acres under cultivation, and but for 
the Indians would have starved. It was not until June, 1610, on the arrival 
of Lord De La Warr. with a different class of colonists, that a permanent and 
lasting settlement was established in Virginia. 

In 1 61 3 the Dutch from Holland settled in New York City, calling it 
New Amsterdam, honestly buying the land from the Indians for $24. On 
December 22, 1620, the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock, with forty-three 
men and their families. In 1629 a colony was founded in New Hampshire; 
in 1633 in Connecticut; in 1634 in Maryland; in 1636 in Rhode Island; and 
in 1638 in Delaware, all by the English. In 1623 the Swedes founded a 
colony in New Jersey. 

This settled the entire coast; New England being English; New York, 
Holland ; New Jersey, Sweden ; Delaware, Maryland and the Carolinas, Eng- 
lish; Georgia and Florida, Spanish. The Dutch claimed New Jersey as 
their territory, and forced the Swedes to acknowledge their claims. But in 
1682, when William Penn made his settlement in Pennsylvania, the Swedes 
preferred English rule to that of Holland, and in time they came under the 
control of the English. Still later the English took possession of New 
Amsterdam calling it New York, which gave them the entire coast, excepting 
Florida and Southern Georgia. The French were in undisturbed possession 
of Canada. 

While the English were colonizing and securing possession of the coast 
line, the French, through Canada, were exploring the interior, passing 
through the state of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Wisconsin, estab- 
lishing forts and trading posts, exploring the Mississippi, and by virtue of 

* Ellis.— People's Standard History of the United States. 



30 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

their discoveries, all the land west of the Alleghenies and north of the Ohio 
river was under the control of the French; and beyond the Mississippi 
France owned all the Mississippi Valley to the Rocky Mountains; Spain 
owned Texas and all west of the Rockies up to the northern boundaries of 
California. 

In 1763, after a long war between England and France, the American 
colonies being English assisting the mother country, France was driven from 
the United States and Canada, all east of the Mississippi being ceded to Eng- 
land; all her possessions west of the Mississippi being ceded to Spain, and 
in this treaty Spain ceded Florida to England. In 1783, at the close of the 
Revolutionary war, England secretly ceded Florida to Spain, and the United 
States bought it in 1819. In 1801 Spain ceded her territory beyond the 
Mississippi to France, and in 1803, Napoleon needing money, and to prevent 
England ever securing it, sold it to the United States. The war with Mexico 
gave the United States all west of the Rocky Mountains, that part west of 
the Rockies and north of California being claimed by the United States by 
right of the discoveries of Lewis and Clarke, a claim disputed, but conceded 
later by England and Spain in the settlement of the northern boundary 
between the United States and Canada. 

When Spain first discovered America she claimed the entire continent, 
north and west to the Pacific ocean. The rulers of England in granting char- 
ters, followed the same liberal policy, and their charters were for land between 
certain degrees of latitude on the coast, extending to the Pacific ocean owing 
to their ignorance of American geography or to carelessness, some of the 
boundaries as defined in the several colonial charters, overlapped, which sub- 
sequently led to disputes between the states and these were only settled by 
the final cession of the disputed territory to the general government. 



CHAPTER III 

THE INDIAN TRIBES 

Character of the Indians, With An Account of the Principal Indian Tribes 
East of the Mississippi River Subsequent to the Discovery of America 
by the Whites — Their Wars and Treaties. 

The Indians of the United States were a race who had no written history. 
They were principally forest wanderers, living on game and fish, and what 
little grain the Indian women cultivated, for no Indian warrior would demean 
himself by labor. In the early history of the country a brisk trade existed by 
adventurers bringing colored men from Africa and selling them to the early 
settlers as slaves. The thrifty pioneers endeavored to secure slave labor 
cheaper by capturing Indians, but in all the colonies where it was attempted it 
proved a failure. The Indians would not work, and although cruel and brutal 
punishment was inflicted it was useless. The Indians died under the lash 
rather than degrade themselves by manual labor. They had, as stated, no 
written language, the Iroquois being regarded as the most intelligent, as they 
could count up to one hundred, many of the tribes being unable to definitely 
express numbers above ten. 

Long before the hunter and trapper wandered through- the great North- 
west, the Jesuit and Moravian missionaries, following on the heels of the early 
discoveries, became very friendly with the Indians. These missionaries were 
told by the older men of the Lenni Lenape (Delawares) that centuries pre- 
vious their ancestors dwelt in the far west, and slowly drifted toward the 
east, arriving at a great stream, called the Namoesi Sipee (Mississippi) or 
"river of fish." Here they met the Mangwes (Iroquois) who had drifted 
westward to the Mississippi, far to the north, the Delawares having come east 
about the center of the United States. The country east of the Mississippi 
was reported as being inhabited by a very large race of men, who dwelt in 
large towns along the shores of the streams. These people were called the 
Allegewi, and it was their name that was given to the Allegheny river and 
mountains. Their towns were strongly fortified by earth embankments. The 
Delawares requested permission of the Allegewi to establish themselves in 
their territory, but the request was refused, although permission was given 
them to cross the river, and go through their country to the east. When the 
Delawares commenced crossing the river the Allegewi became alarmed at 
their numbers, and fell upon them in force and killed those who had crossed, 
threatening the others with a like fate should they attempt to pass the stream. 

31 



32 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The legend indicates the Allegewi were not of the Indian race but the 
the Iroquois were. The Delawares were indignant at the murder of their 
braves and the treachery of the Allegewi, so they took counsel with their 
Iroquois brethren, and formed a compact to unite and drive the Allegewi 
l>eyond the Mississippi, and divide the country. The war lasted for years and 
great was the slaughter on both sides, until finally the Indians conquered, and 
the Allegewi fled down the Mississippi, never more to return. The Iroquois 
then took the country along the great lakes, and the Delawares the country 
to the south. The two nations remained peaceful for many years, and the 
Delawares wandered further to the east, until finally they established their 
principal headquarters along the Delaware and Susquehanna rivers. The 
Iroquois covered the territory north of the Delawares and along both shores 
of the St. Lawrence. The Delawares, occupying land from the Atlantic to 
beyond the Mississippi river, became divided into various tribes, but they had 
grown in strength as the years passed and far outnumbered the Iroquois. 
Trouble arose between the two nations, and they went to war. To overcome 
the superiority in numbers of the Delawares the Iroquois resorted to stratagem. 
An Indian tribe is one family, and an injury done to one member is avenged 
by the entire tribe. Each tribe had its war instruments marked with some 
peculiar design, or totem. The Iroquois murdered an Indian of one of the 
Delaware tribes and left at the scene of the murder the war club bearing the 
mark of another branch of the Delawares. This caused war between the two 
branches of the Delaware tribes. The shrewd Iroquois soon had the Dela- 
wares hopelessly divided, fighting and killing each other. 

The treachery of the Iroquois was discovered and the Delawares called a 
grand council, summoning their warriors from the Atlantic to the Mississippi, 
with the intention of utterly exterminating the Iroquois. Then was formed 
by the Iroquois the Five Nations, organized by Thannawaga, an aged Mohawk 
chief. It was an absolute alliance of the Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas, 
Cayugas, and Senecas, a form of republic in which the leaders of the five 
nations consulted and acted as one. Under this powerful organization the 
Delawares were forced back to their own lands. 

The Five Nations, having driven back the Delawares, turned their atten- 
tion to the French, who were forcing them south from their hunting grounds 
on the St. Lawrence. North of this river were the Hurons (Wyandottes) 
and although of the Iroquois branch of the Indians, yet they were now a sep- 
arate nation and at enmity. Although Cartier had treacherously taken their 
chief to France on his first visit, Champlain, nearly a century later, had made 
friends with the Hurons and when the Iroquois began resisting the French 
inroads on their territory, Champlain organized the Hurons and made a raid 
on the Iroquois in 1609, administering a crushing defeat, the Hurons return- 
ing to Quebec with fifty scalps. In 1610 another attack was made on the 
Iroquois by Champlain and his Huron allies, but they were driven back by the 
Iroquois. The French now abandoned further extensions to the south, and 
the Iroquois made an onslaught on their ancient enemies, the Delawares, and 
drove them from the Atlantic westward to the Alleghenies. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 33 

It was land the Five Nations had taken from the Delawares that they sold 
to William Penn in 1682. The Iroquois as early as-1609 became the inveterate 
enemy of the French, an enmity which continued with undiminished hatred 
for a century and a half. So when the French created this hatred by their 
attacks on the Iroquois, this, and an admiration the western and northern 
Indians had for the French, made them allies. The Hurons were not as 
warlike as the Iroquois, but like all Indians they took up the cause of any insult 
to any member of their tribe. As a result the battles between the Iroquois 
and the Hurons were frequent, and they were ever inveterate enemies. To 
balance the Five Nation league of the Iroquois, the Hurons also united all 
that branch of the Algonquins in the north and west who were opposed to the 
Iroquois, the principal nation of the confederation being the Wyandottes. 

After the French and Hurons had defeated the Five Nations on Lake 
Champlain, they remained quiet for some time. The Franciscan friars had 
done much missionary work among the Hurons and many had adopted the 
Catholic faith, and with religion came a less warlike spirit, and mote culti- 
vation of the soil. With the Iroquois the missionaries could do nothing, many 
losing their lives in the attempt. 

The Jesuits followed the Franciscans, and found a fruitful field of labor 
among the Hurons. This was from 1625 on, and the energetic Jesuits soon 
supplanted all over the west the quieter and less religiously aggressive Fran- 
ciscans. The Jesuits established missions and schools all along the northern 
border of the lakes, at Detroit, through Indiana, Illinois and Wisconsin, and 
along the Mississippi from its source to New Orleans. It is to be noted, 
however, that even these zealous Jesuits in going from Quebec, on the St. 
Lawrence, to Detroit, kept north of the lakes, as the more convenient route 
by way of the Niagara river and Lake Erie was controlled by the ferocious 
Iroquois, whose implacable hatred of everything French had been started by 
Champlain. It is but just to the Jesuits to say some did visit the Iroquois, 
only to be horribly treated, sometimes tortured and burned at the stake; or, 
if allowed to return, maimed for life. 

For nearly forty years the warlike Iroquois remained quiet, except occa- 
sional marauding expeditions against neighboring tribes and treacherous 
attacks on the white settlers. They had made a treaty of peace with the 
New England settlers, and in 1648 made a treaty with the Dutch of New- 
Amsterdam. Under this treaty the Dutch sold them arms and ammunition, 
which, prior to this time, they had scrupulously refused to do. After two- 
score years of rest a new generation had sprung up, equally warlike and equally 
fearless, and they concluded to try their new weapons on the Eries, another 
of the tribes of the Huron combination. The Eries then occupied the southern 
shore of Lake Erie, including the territory now embraced by Crawford and 
adjoining counties. The Eries were entirely unprepared and the victory was 
so complete that the Eries never again became prominent. This led to a war 
between the Hurons and the Iroquois, and it raged with undiminished fury 
for several years, until in 1659, the Iroquois crossed into Canada in great 
force, above the French settlements, and marched through the Huron terri- 



34 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

tory, massacreing their enemies, burning their towns, destroying the mis- 
sions and murdering the priests. The Hurons fled through lower Canada, 
across the river at Detroit, and into upper Michigan, and only found final 
refuge from their insatiable foes on the southern shores of Lake Superior, 
where the Chippewas came to their defense and drove the Iroquois back. 
The Iroquois were now in undisputed control from the Atlantic to the Missis- 
sippi and from the Lakes to the Ohio river. 

In the Lake Superior region the bulk of the Wyandottes_and Ottawas 
(another of the Huron branch) made their home for many years, until two 
French priests arrived among them, Jacques Marquette and Claude Deblon, 
and began organizing them in the interest of the French, and establishing a 
headquarters for all the Indian allies of the French at Mackinac. This was 
in 1671, and here they remained for thirty years. In 1701 Cadillac, who had 
been in command of the French forth at Mackinac, established a new post at 
Detroit, which was called Fort Ponchartrain, later changed to Detroit, a name 
it ever after retained. When Cadillac moved to Detroit, at his request most 
of the Indian allies accompanied him ; they were joined by other Indians, and 
new tribal relations established, and the Hurons took the name of their lead- 
ing tribe, the Wyandots,* the name meaning "Traders of the West." 

The Wyandots were frequently attacked by their old enemies, the Iroquois, 
but the Indians around Detroit were all united ; they received anus and ammu- 
nition from the French, and when necessary the French soldiers fought with 
them, and at the end of six years the Iroquois were compelled to give up the 
struggle and leave the French and Wyandots in control of lower Michigan 
and Canada north of Lake Erie and Ontario. 

But the shrewd Iroquois were not idle. They instigated the Fox nation 
to make an attack on the Detroit setlement. They chose a time when the 
Wyandots were away on a hunting expedition, early in May, 1712. Du 
Buisson was then in command of Fort Ponchartrain, with only twenty-one 
men. He sent runners out to notify the Indians to return. On the 13th an 
assault was made on the Fort, but the Foxes and their allies were held at bay. 
While the fight was going on the Wyandots returned, and drove the Foxes 
into the fort they had erected when they came to capture the French settlement. 
The French and Wyandots in turn attacked the enemey's fort, but were unsuc- 
cessful. For nineteen days the fighting continued, when the Foxes were com- 
pelled to flee, and hurriedly built a fortification a few miles north of Detroit. 
Here they were attacked by the French and their allies, the French bringing 
two small cannon to bear on the enemy. The fighting lasted three days more, 
when the Foxes were utterly routed, the Wyandots, and their allies, the 
Ottawas and Pottawatomies massacreing 800 men, women and children, and 
nearly wiping out the Fox nation, a few of those remaining joining their 
friends, the Iroquois, and the remainder removing to Wisconsin and the south 
shore of Lake Superior, where they became as bitter enemies of the French 
as were the Iroquois in the east. It was this same year the Tuscaroras, driven 
from North Carolina, came north and united with the Iroquois and the con- 

* The correct name was Wyandotte, but from this date the name is given according 
to the modern spelling. 



1771083 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 35 

federation became the Six Nations. While the battles at Detroit intensified 
the anger of the Six Nations and the Foxes against the French, it gave the 
latter the strong friendship of the Wyandots and all those Indians who sur- 
rounded the French settlement, a friendship which, to the credit of the Wyan- 
dots, they faithfully maintained through all the varying fortunes of war for 
the next half century, and when, in 1763, the flag of France fell before the 
meteor flag of England, and the French retired from American soil, for some 
years after the treaty of peace between England and France was signed the 
Wyandots with their western allies were at war against the British. 

The Wyandots now gradually extended their hunting grounds along the 
southern shore of Lake Erie, the nearly half a century of war of the Iroquois 
with the French having left that nation in so crippled a condition that they 
never again appeared west of the Alleghenies on a warlike expedition. The 
Wyandots, extending their territory, were soon in control from Lake Erie 
to the Ohio river. In 1740 the remnant of the once famous Delawares was 
driven from Pennsylvania by the Six Nations and by the advance of the 
Pennsylvania colonists, and the Wyandots gave them permission to occupy 
the Muskingum Valley. A number of the Shawanese also made their home 
along the Scioto, and the Ottawas had land between the Sandusky and the 
Maumee rivers, and from here, as allies of the French, they frequently made 
warlike excursions into Pennsylvania and Virginia, surprising the settlers 
at dead of night, and massacreing entire families, men, women and children, 
and when the expedition was in retaliation for some real or fancied wrong, 
returning with the prisoners and holding a war dance while the unfortunate 
captives were horribly tortured until death relieved them of their suffering. 

In 1755 all of the coast states were British colonies; the French were in 
control of all west of the Alleghenies and north of the Ohio, they had fortifi- 
cations all along Lake Erie; one at Forth Duquesne (Pittsburg) another at 
Erie, Pennsylvania ; at Detroit ; two at the mouth of the Sandusky, others in 
Indiana and Illinois, and the Indians in all this great Northwest were their 
friends and allies. The French claimed the territory, and justly, by right of 
discovery ; the English claimed through charters of British rulers, granted to 
companies for so many miles along the Atlantic "and extending west to the 
Pacific ocean." 

In 1744, when the war occurred between France and England, practically 
all the Indians of the northwest gave their services to the French. They 
attacked the frontiers of Pennsylvania and Virginia; some went down the 
St. Lawrence, reported at Montreal, where they were given arms and ammu- 
nition, and attacked the settlers of New York, and even extended their depre- 
dations across the Hudson to massacre settlers in far-off New England. They 
were as loyal to their French friends as they were bitter and implacable in 
their hatred of the English and the Iroquois, who after a hundred years, 
were still the loyal friends of the English. In 1745 a French commandant's 
record in Canada shows the number of Indians reporting for duty in the war 
against England, among them the Wyandots. Other records show that in 
one year at least twenty of these blood-thirsty murdering bands were sent out 






36 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

by the French, frequent mention being made of the part taken by the Wyan- 
dots in the wholesale butcheries which followed in these bloody raids. 

In 1748 a treaty was patched up between England and France and com- 
parative quiet was maintained until 1754, but as the French still remained in 
possession of the great Northwest, and England was determined to have the 
territory, war again broke out. In the spring of 1754 a company of French 
soldiers from Fort Duquesne, while extending their explorations southward, 
were attacked by some Virginia rangers under Lieut. Col. George Washing- 
ton. A fight for the ownership of the great Northwest between the French 
and English was so inevitable that during the winter of 1754-55 England and 
the colonies on the one side and the French on the other organized for the 
coming struggle, which commenced in 1755, and lasted for seven long years, 
England and the extreme eastern colonies marching to Canada, and the Vir- 
ginia and Pennsylvania militia joining with the English soldiers in the battles 
in the northwest. 

In this section the war commenced with the attempt of Gen. Braddock in 
command of the English, and Col. George Washington in command of the 
militia, to capture Fort Duquesne, situated at the point where the Allegheny 
and Monongahela unite to form the Ohio. The French sent an army from 
Detroit, and they were joined in their march by the Wyandots, who were then 
the leading nation of the northwest, the most numerous, and in bravery the 
equals of the Iroquois. They were among the Indian troops who were secreted 
in the woods and poured the deadly fire on the ambuscaded Americans and 
English. The French loss was four killed, and the American and English 
300. Among the slain was General Braddock, who had refused advice as to 
Indian warfare, and who paid the penalty with his life, leaving Washington 
in command to save what he could from the slaughter. 

The victory at Fort Dequesne excited the Indians' thirst for blood; and 
nearly every Wyandot warrior took to the war path. Along the borders of 
Pennsylvania they left a trail of death and desolation ; they were with Mont- 
calm in Canada, where the French were defeated : then on to Ottawa, which 
fell into the hands of the British; returning to Fort Niagara they received 
another repulse; everywhere the English and Americans were slowly but 
surely driving back the French. Bravery, endurance and fortitude were 
characteristic of the Wyandots, but adversity they could not stand. Their belief 
in French superiority was becoming shattered, and by degrees they drifted 
back to the banks of the Sandusky, disappointed and discouraged, and took 
no further hand in the struggle. It ended in 1763 when France relinquished 
Canada, and all her possessions in the United States east of the Mississippi 
to the English. 

While the French were receiving their reverses, Pontiac an Ottawa chief 
(Huron branch of the Indians) organized practically all of the Indians of 
the northwest to seize every English outpost, probably twelve in number. . In 
the great Northwest ihey failed only at Detroit, where the siege lasted for 
many months, by which time the English had regained their forts and relieved 
Detroit, and peace was declared. In this peace Pontiac refused to join, but 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 37 

retired with his Ottawas to Illinois. The capture of the different forts was 
arranged for May 7. 1763. The Wyandots captured the fort near the mouth 
of the Sandusky. Here Ensign Paully was in command, and on May 16 he 
was approached by seven Indians with a request for a conference. He admit- 
ted them without hesitation, when he was seized, hound and the fort captured, 
the garrison being taken unawares. Nearly all the garrison, eleven in number, 
were massacred and the fort was burned. Ensign Paully being reserved for 
torture. He was tied to the stake, and just as the fagots were about to be 
rired an Indian squaw, whose husband had been killed, claimed the prisoner to 
take the place of her dead husband. Paully consented, and was liberated, but 
at the first opportunity made his escape, leaving the widow doubly bereaved. 

Pontiac in Illinois remained the inveterate foe of the English, and in [769 
he was murdered by an Illinois Indian. The Wyandots, who had for some 
years been living quietly, on learning the news, accompanied by the Ottawas 
and other tribes marched to Illinois and avenged the chief's death by almost 
wiping out the Illinois tribe. 

In 1764 General Bradstreet. who was in command at Detroit, with a force 
of men "ascended the Sandusky river as far as it was navigable by boats." 
The point reached was probably the old Indian town of l T pper Sandusky on 
the river about three miles southeast of the present town of L'pper Sandusky. 
Here a treaty of peace was made with the chiefs and leading men of the 
"Wyandots. 

This peace was fairly observed until in 1774. the Wyandots, Shawanese, 
Delawares and Mingoes made an attack on Point Pleasant, where the Kanawha 
joins the Ohio. They had a force of over a thousand warriors, tinder com- 
mand of Cornstalk. General Lewis was in command of Point Pleasant with 
1,100 men. The fight continued all day the English loss being two colonels, 
five captains, three lieutenants and 100 soldiers, besides 140 wounded. The 
Indian loss must have been severe, as during the night they retreated across 
the Ohio river and returned to their homes. Just before the battle they were 
joined by Simon Girty. who had been a scout for the English. He was an 
efficient scout, but in some altercation with General Lewis, the latter struck 
him with a cane over the head, inflicting a deep gash. Girty threatened ven- 
geance, and escaped from the fort, joining the Indians, and in the attack on 
the fort was as savage and bitter and cruel as any Indian warrior could desire. 
He remained with his new friends and ever after made his home with the 
Shawanese. Delawares and Wyandots. He declared he had foresworn his 
white blood and assumed the garb of the Indians with their painted flesh and 
feathered headdress. 

After the Americans and English had succeeded in driving out the French 
in 1763, England for years pursued an unjust policy toward the colonies, 
which eventually culminated in the Revolutionary war. In the east all manu- 
factures which interfered with England were prohibited or crippled by severe 
laws. All goods must be bought in England ; all products raised in America 
must be sold to England alone, and forwarded on English vessels. The Eng- 
lish commercial policy also affected the great Xorthw est. The Erench. by their 



38 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

explorations, and by their trading posts all over this great territory had built 
up a large business in furs, of which they had a monopoly. The English 
merchants secured this trade, and it was so vast and profitable they wanted 
it continued. As a result they petitioned the King and Parliament: "It does 
appear to us that the extension of the fur trade depends entirely on the Indians 
being undisturbed in the possession of their hunting grounds, and that all 
colonizing does, in its nature, and must in its consequences, opearte to the 
prejudice of that branch of commerce." So George Third issued a procla- 
mation declaring the new territory, the Great Northwest from the Ohio to the 
Lakes and from the Alleghenies to the Mississippi, royal domain, and pro- 
hibited further settlement in this vast territory, or the purchase of any part 
of it from the Indians. This was in 1774, and the English statesmen, foresee- 
ing a coming contest, attached this territory to the Province of Quebec, and 
( )hio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Wisconsin were a part of Canada. 

Eight years later the Province of Quebec was the danger point in the 
treat v of peace between England and the United States. The American com- 
missioners were Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, John Jay and Henry 
Laurens. Their imperative instructions were that the independence of the 
United States must be recognized. Other matters were minor. France had 
been the ally of the I nited States and the treaty must be satisfactory to that 
nation. France had received from Spain practically all west of the Missis- 
sippi river, and desired to have her rights recognized by England. Spain was 
with France, and the two secretly arranged with England that the north 
boundary of the United States should be the Ohio river, basing the claim 
on the ground that the Great Northwest was a part of the Province of Quebec, 
and there was no question that Canada was to remain English territory. In 
the early part of the treaty, while this agreemnet was not definitely reached, 
matters were tending that way. Franklin, as minister to France, conducted 
the earlier negotiations, and later, when John Adams and John Jay arrived, 
the boundary came up. The English were insistent ; Vergennes, the French 
minister, favored the English, until finally Adams and Jay positively declared 
they would submit to no boundary except the lakes. Laurens and Franklin 
stood by them solidly, and it was over a year before England finally yielded 
the point, and Ohio and the Great Northwest became a part of the L nited 
States. England probably thought the territory of far less importance than 
it was, having relegated all that vast region to a great hunting ground, with 
no higher conception of its future use than the protecting and raising of fur- 
bearing animals. How different the views of John Jay. who speaking of this 
territory in congress in 1777, prophetically said: "Extensive wildernesses, 
now scarcely known or explored, remain yet to be cultivated: and vast lakes 
and rivers, whose waters have for ages rolled in silence to the ocean, are yet 
to hear the din of industry, become subservient to commerce, and boast delight- 
ful villas, gilded spires, and spacious cities rising on their banks." 

On the breaking out of the Revolutionary war, the Wyandots and their 
neighbors at first saw no reason to take any hand in the contest. In the east 
the British had secured the assistance of the Six Nationals, the Mohawks being 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 39 

then the chief tribe, but by 1777 the English had succeeded in enlisting the 
Wyandots and other Ohio tribes on their side, and under British pay they 
made onslaughts on the western borders of the colony, attacking the settlers 
in Pennsylvania and Virginia. Many joined the British army, and a number 
of Wyandots joined the army of General Burgoyne, in New York state, but 
did little beyond burning a few houses of settlers, stealing their stock and 
murdering a number of the pioneers. In an excursion with Burgoyne into 
New Hampshire, a number of Wyandots were killed, and they blamed the 
British general for the loss, claiming the warriors were needlessly sacrificed. 
This, and the fact that Burgoyne endeavored to restrain their ferocity and 
cruelty, disgusted the Wyandots, and most of them returned to their home on 
the Sandusky; but still under the pay of the English, continued to harass the 
frontier, destroying, burning and murdering. The English had a trading- 
post at the Indian village of Sandusky, where settlement was made, and at 
this point nearly all the Indian tribes were paid for the scalps taken. 

Their first expedition was in 1777. The renegade Girty was thoroughly 
conversant with affairs along the Ohio river, and at his suggestion 500 war- 
riors, Delawares, Wyandots and Shawanese, started on an expedition against 
Fort Henry, near where Wheeling now is, on the Ohio river. The British 
had supplied them with arms and ammunition, and the Indians made their 
way through the dense forests, along their trails, crossed the Ohio and sur- 
rounded the fort with its garrison of forty men, and a number of women 
and children. Col. David Sheppard was in command, and rumors had reached 
the fort that 500 warriors had started from the Sandusky region on some 
murdering expedition, destination unknown. On the evening of September 
26, 1 77 1. settlers reported Indians in war paint had been seen. lurking in the 
neighborhood. Cabins were abandoned, and all sought safety in the fort. 
Colonel Sheppard sent out two men to reconnoitre; one was killed and the 
other returned to the fort wounded; the colonel then sent out 14 men, and as 
they were proceeding cautiously down the river they fell into an ambush, 
and' 1 1 were instantly killed, the others escaping in the dense forest. Hearing 
the firing, the colonel sent 12 more men to relieve the imperiled party; eight 
of these were promptly killed. The fighting force in the fort was now reduced 
to a dozen men. The Indians made constant attacks, but were as constantly 
driven back. It was during this engagement that, when the powder gave out, 
Elizabeth Zane bravely went to the storehouse, sixty yards away, and brought 
back the powder in safety. She volunteered for this service, saying that no 
man could be spared for this perilous trip under the direct fire of the enemy. 
Night coming on, the Indians retired until morning. During the night a dozen 
men arrived from a neighboring settlement, and succeeded in gaining entrance 
to the fort. In the morning 40 more rangers arrived, and the Indians now 
regarded it as useless to continue their assault on the fort. They therefore 
destroyed everything they could, set fire to the houses, and killed or carried 
off 300 head of cattle. They had killed 21 men, with several others wounded. 
Their own loss, however, was over a hundred. They returned to Sandusky 
with 21 scalps for which cash was paid by the British agent. 



40 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

While the Wyandots were allies of the English, as well as the other tribes 
of Ohio, on an eastern branch of the Muskingum in Tuscarawas county were 
several hundred Moravian Indians, of the Delaware tribe, who constantly 
refused to take part in the war ; they had become Christian Indians, had three 
settlements in Tuscarawas county, and had cleared considerable land, devoted 
their time mostly to farming and kept up constant business relations with the 
Americans at Pittsburg, about 60 miles distant, which was the headquarters 
of the American forces in the west. They refused all the overtures and bribes 
of the British. Finally, in the fall of 1781, Colonel Elliott, of the British 
forces, who was stationed at Upper Sandusky, took with him two chiefs and 
300 warriors, and marched to the Moravian settlements, their route being 
through Crawford, crossing the Sandusky at a point one mile south of the 
Tod township line, and passing through Bucyrus township in the direction 
of New Winchester and in a southeasterly direction toward the Kilbuck in 
Holmes county and on to the Tuscarawas settlements. The three Moravian 
towns, all on the Tuscarawas river, were Schonbrunn, two miles 'south of the 
present town of New Philadelphia, seven miles further south was Gnaden- 
hiitten and five miles further Salem. 

On reaching the Moravians the Indians urged their brethren to stand by 
them in their war against the Americans: the English colonel offered them 
presents, but the Moravians stood firm. Failing in peaceful persuasions the 
Indians insisted they should accompany them to the banks of the Sandusky. 
claiming they were too near Pittsburg, and the Wyandots were afraid they 
might ally themselves with the detested Americans. Expostulations were use- 
less and the peaceful Moravians were forced to leave their crops ungathered, 
and accompany their captors in the long and weary march to the banks of 
the Sandusky. The Moravians were taken to Sandusky and from there their 
missionaries were sent to Detroit as prisoners. Some writers place the Morav- 
ian winter quarters on the river southwest of Bucyrus. but Butterfield fixes 
it near the old Indian town, three miles southeast of the present town of 
Upper Sandusky. Here they passed the winter, suffering great hardships. 
as the Indians make no provision for the future, and the addition of several 
hundred to the Indian villages along the Sandusky was beyond their means of 
support. After a severe winter a number were allowed to return to their vil- 
lages to gather the crops of the fall previous. About 150 of them, men with 
their wives and children, made the journey to their former homes, and resumed 
their work on the clearings, dividing their force so as to look after all three 
of the villages. 

While the Moravians had spent the winter suffering on the banks of the 
Sandusky the Wyandots had not been idle, but had made marauding expedi- 
tions on the settlers of Pennsylvania and Virginia, with their usual burning 
and killing. 

The settlers of the upper Ohio and the Monongahela determined to admin- 
ister a lesson that would be a warning to the Indians, and a corps of 100 
mounted men was organized, and under command of Colonel Williamson 
started for the Moravian towns. They knew the Moravians had spent the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 41 

winter on the Sandusky, the point where all the brutal, murdering expeditions 
were organized ; they knew they had again returned to their villages on the 
Tuscarawas. In what follows, the most lenient might concede they did not 
know the peaceful Indians had been taken there against their will, but this 
is not borne out by history. The rangers under Williamson reached Gnaden- 
hiitten after a forced march of two days, and at this village found the Indians 
gathering corn on the west bank of the Tuscarawas. A boat was secured and 
sixteen of the men crossed the river, but found more Indians there than they 
had expected. Then the rangers certainly learned that their visit to San- 
dusky had been an enforced one, for they sympathized with them for the 
cruel treatment they had received and were assured of their friendship and 
that they had come to see in what way they could protect the Moravians. 
They further assured them that another expedition would come from the 
Sandusky region, and they would again receive the same cruel treatment, 
and that their friends at Pittsburg had advised them to go to that place where 
they would receive protection. Knowing the settlers of Pittsburg had always 
treated them with the greatest friendship, and being Christian Indians, they 
did not doubt what the men told them, and placed themselves under their 
protection. The trusting Indians also sent a messenger clown the river to the 
village of Salem to notify the Indians there of the kindness of their new- 
found friends, urging them to join them at Gnadenhutten. They crossed the 
river with the rangers and gave their guns into their hands, after which they 
were ordered into houses and a guard placed around them. Colonel William- 
son sent a party of men down the river to the village of Salem, but on the 
way they met the Salem Moravians coming up the river to join their brethren 
at Gnadenhutten. The Salem Indians arrived and they, too, were deceived 
into giving up their arms after which they were imprisoned- Colonel Wil- 
liamson then called a council of war, and put the question for the men to 
decide, as to whether the Indians should be taken as prisoners to Fort Pitt 
(Pittsburg) or whether they should be put to death. There were 18 who 
favored the minor outrage of carrying them away as prisoners and 82 voted 
for immediate death. 

No sympathy was manifested by the majority. They resolved to murder 
the whole of the Christian Indians in their custody. They were ordered to 
prepare for death. But the warning had been anticipated. Their firm belief 
in their new creed was shown forth in this sacl hour of their tribulation, by 
religious exercises of preparation. The orisons of these devout people were 
already ascending to the throne of the Most High. The sound of the Christ- 
ian's hymn and the Christian's prayer found an echo in the surrounding 
woods, but no responsive feeling in the bosoms of their executioners. With 
gun, and spear, and tomahawk and scalping knife, the work of death pro- 
gressed in these slaughterhouses, till not a sigh or moan was heard to proclaim 
the existence of human life within. All perished save two. Two Indian 
boys escaped as by a miracle, to be witnesses in after times of the savage 
cruelty of the white man toward their unfortunate race. 

After committing this cruel and cowardly act. t'he buildings containing 



42 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

the mutilated bodies of the murdered Indians were set on fire, and the flames 
of the heavy logs soon reduced to crumbling ashes all that remained of the 
Christian Indians. 

Having thus removed all traces of their inhuman act, the men started up 
the river for Schonbrunn to murder the Moravians there, but the Christian 
savages had learned of the sad fate of their companions and fled to the forest, 
and were beyond pursuit. The number murdered was 96; of these 62 were 
grown persons, about 42 men and 20 women ; the remaining 34 were children. 

It was only a part of the Moravians who had been murdered; the larger 
number were still on the banks of the Sandusky, and to this same retreat fled 
the 50 Christian .Moravians who had escaped from Schonbrunn. Immediately 
on Williamson's return, arrangements were made for a new expedition to 
go to the fountain-head of all the trouble — the headquarters on the Sandusky 
■ — and administer a blow that would leave the settlers in peace. The massacre 
of the Moravians took place May 3, 1702, and on May 7 the decision was 
reached to attack Upper Sandusky, the seat of the Wyandots, not that the 
Wyandots alone were guilty of all the murdering and massacring, butcher- 
ing and scalping of the unfortunate settlers and their families, but because 
Upper Sandusky was the headquarters of the Wyandots, Ottawas, Delawares, 
and Shawanese, and here was their rendezvous, where they gathered to start 
on their raids. Volunteers to the number of 480 were secured, all mounted 
and well armed, all from two or three counties south of Fort Pitt. Monday, 
May 20, was the time set for their assembling and the place chosen was Mingo 
Bottom, on the west bank of the Ohio, about seventy-five miles below Pitts- 
burg, and about two miles below the present city of Steubenville. They began 
assembling on the 21st, and on the 24th the last man had reported. A vote 
was taken as to who should command the expedition, and Col. William Craw- 
ford received 235 votes, and Col. David Williamson, who had commanded 
the expedition against the Moravians, 230. Colonel Crawford was therefore 
selected as commander with Colonel Williams as senior major, and second 
in command. Besides the two commanding officers there were three other 
majors: Gladdis, McClelland and Bunton, with Daniel Leet as brigade major, 
and Dr. John Knight as surgeon. John Slover and Jonathan Zane accom- 
panied the expedition as guides. There were 18 companies, the captains, as 
far as known, being McGeehan, Hoagland, Beeson, Munn, Ross, Ogle, Briggs, 
Craig, Ritchie, Miller, Bean, and Hood. 

The Williamson expedition against the Moravians was a private affair 
of the settlers. The expedition against the Wyandots was a government 
affair, under direction of General Irvine, who commanded the western depart- 
ment of the United States, and Lieutenant Rose, a member of his staff, accom- 
panied as his representative. 

Saturday morning, May 25, 1782, the expedition started for the Sandusky 
Plains, about 150 miles distant, but to avoid the Indian trails, so the savages 
would have no knowledge of the attack, their course was through the unbroken 
forest, to the Tuscarawas, on the banks of which were the destroyed Moravian 
towns, and it took them four days to cover the 60 miles, although Williamson's 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 43 

men, over the traveled route, had made it in two days when on their mission 
of murder. They encamped at the ruined town of Schonbrunn, and two offi- 
cers, reconnoitering, saw in the distance two Indian warriors, who had been 
spying on their movements. After a forced march through the wilderness of 
Holmes county, they encamped May 30, about ten miles south of the present 
site of VVooster, just south of the Wayne county line. From here they went 
almost due west, passing north of Odell's lake, and on to the Mohican, fol- 
lowing up the river until near where Mansfield now is they turned west and 
encamped on June 1st at Spring Mills, eight miles east of Crestline. The next 
day. June 2, about one o'clock, they entered Crawford county and continued 
west to the Sandusky river at the mouth of a small creek called Allen's Run, 
near the present town of Leesville. They reached the Sandusky river south 
of the Wyandot trail, which the Indians used on their excursions from the 
Sandusky towns east to Pittsburg. In the last five days they had made 85 
miles, and were now about 25 miles due east of the Indian town. A little to 
the southwest were extensive plains reaching to their destination. Early on 
the morning of June 3d they entered the plains, and the open sunlight, after 
the long and dreary march through the dense woods, was a pleasing relief 
to all. Passing about four miles south of Bucyrus, they journeyed west to 
an Indian trail skirting the west side of the Sandusky which they followed 
into Wyandot county, and made their final encampment near the present town 
of Wyandot, within ten miles of their destination. 

On reaching the old Indian town of Sandusky, on the east bank of the 
river, about three miles southeast of the present town of Upper Sandusky, 
they found it deserted. The officers and guides were astonished and a halt 
was called. The volunteers feared a mistake had been made and that there 
was no village short of Lower Sandusky ( Fremont) 40 miles down the river, 
through a section known to be covered by roving bands of Indians, for they 
were now in the heart of the Indian country. The army had but five days' 
of provisions left, but it was decided to move forward in search of the Indians. 
They crossed the river to the west side, continuing along the trail up the west 
bank to the site of the present town of Upper Sandusky; they continued a 
mile further, with no sign of Indians and the troops became anxious, and for 
the first time expressed a desire to return home. Crawford promptly called 
a halt and a council of war. Colonel Crawford and Guide Zane both favored 
an immediate return, as further progress was dangerous, and the final decision 
was made to continue that day and if no Indians were discovered they would 
return. The march was continued, and the troops had gone but a short dis- 
tance, when one of the light-horse scouts, who in the open prairie were gen- 
erally a mile in advance, returned at full speed announcing the Indians were 
in front of them. The Volunteers were now enthusiastic and the whole army 
moved forward rapidly. 

The Indians had kept trace of the army ever since it had left Mingo Bot- 
tom, and had sent warriors to the Shawanese, in the Miami valley, and to the 
Wyandots and Delawares on the Sandusky to prepare for an attack. The 
various tribes gathered and when Crawford left the Tuscarawas in a north- 



44 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

westerly direction, it was known the Sandusky Indians were the objective 
point. Pomoacan, Wyandot chief, sent special messengers to Detroit, notify- 
ing DePeyster, the English commandant at that point, of the intended attack. 
DePeyster acted promptly, and started Butler's rangers, a mounted troop, to 
Lower Sandusky (Fremont) by boats to assist their allies; special messengers 
were also sent by the Wyandots to the Shawanese on the Miami, and 200 
warriors started on their march of 40 miles from Logan county to help their 
brethren. In the meantime the Delawares, under Pipe, had assembled 300 
warriors at his town on both sides of the Tymochtee, about one and a half 
miles northeast of the present town of Crawfordsville, Wyandot county, near 
the place now marked by the monument erected on the site where Colonel 
Crawford was burned at the stake. Zhaus-sho-toh was the Wyandot war 
chief, and the village of Pomoacan, the "Half King," was five miles north- 
east of Upper Sandusky, in Crane township, on the Sandusky river. Here 
he had 400 warriors. 

The Americans had advanced about two miles north of Upper Sandusky, 
and were one mile west of the river, when they met the enemy, the Dela- 
wares, being in the front line of battle, under Pipe, his assistants being the 
renegade Simon Girty and Chief Wingenund, the latter having joined the 
Delawares from his village about two and a half miles northwest of the 
present site of Crestline, Crawford county. The Delawares had taken posses- 
sion of a small grove called an "island," and from this they were promptly 
driven by the Americans. The Wyandots under Zhaus-sho-toh, with whom 
was the British Captain Elliott, came to the support of the Delawares. Elliott 
took command of both tribes, and the Delawares occupied the west and south 
sides of the grove, and the Wyandots the north and east. The firing began 
at four o'clock, and the battle lasted until dark. As the Indians exposed 
themselves when skulking through the grass they were picked off by the 
American sharpshooters. The day closed decidedly favorable to the Ameri- 
cans; their loss was five killed and 19 wounded. Indian losses were never 
known, but their killed and wounded far exceeded the Americans. Although 
the Americans were in full possession of the field, the Indians were not dis- 
pirited. Desultory firing was resumed at six o'clock in the morning and 
continued until noon, the Americans believing the Indians had not recovered 
from their defeat of the day previous, and plans were discussed by the Ameri- 
cans to attack the enemy in force ; the Delawares were drawn up south of 
them and the Wyandots north. 

Before the plan of attack was matured, a sentinel reported mounted 
troops coming from the north ; they proved to be Butler's rangers, sent by 
DePeyster from Detroit, and a few minutes later another sentinel reported 
the arrival of 200 Shawanese from the south; during the late afternoon addi- 
tional small detachments of Indians were continually arriving. The council 
of war now unanimously decided on a retreat that night. About nine o'clock 
the retreat started and by a circuitous march to the west passed around the 
T> '■». wares and Shawanese south of them, reaching the old town of Upper 
Sandusky just before daylight. Here a halt was called and stragglers kept 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 45 

constantly arriving, but Colonel Crawford, Doctor Knight and John Slover 
the guide, and many others were missing. 

The command now devolved on Williamson, and his force numbered 300. 
After a short rest the army went south along the east bank of the Sandusky, 
crossed the river at the mouth of the Little Sandusky, and then east, skirting 
the southern bank of the river. They were again on the Sandusky Plains, 
and when they reached where the town of Wyandot now is, they saw in the 
distance a large force of mounted Indians and Butler's rangers following in 
pursuit. They were a dozen miles from the woods on the eastern boundary 
of the plains, where alone lay safety. Their horses had had two days' rest 
at Sandusky during the battle, but the eleven days previous marching, and the 
long night ride had left both man and horses in a jaded condition. They were 
also hampered by their wounded. Yet Colonel Williamson urged his troops 
forward with all possible speed and was ably assisted by Lieutenant Rose, 
the military genius of the expedition. 

The retreating column left the Sandusky at Wyandot, and started north- 
east across the plains. Their route lay through Crawford county and they 
passed the site of the present city of Bucyrus about three miles to the south. 
The enemy followed them closely, harrassing them with occasional shots, 
and it required all the courage and skill of Colonel Williamson and Lieutenant 
Rose to prevent the demoralization of the troops. The woods and safety 
were still six miles away, and they were in an open prairie, being almost sur- 
rounded by double their number of infuriated savages, from whom they could 
expect no mercy. When within a mile of the woods it was found necessary 
to make a stand, and the little army was reversed and, facing to the west, 
hurriedly formed ranks to resist the attacking foe. Fortunately the British 
allies of the Indians had left their artillery behind. The first attack was 
repulsed with unbroken lines and the second was also a failure. The Indians 
then sought the protection of the high grass and continued their attack until 
a heavy storm came on which drenched both armies to the skin and rendered 
the fire-arms useless, finally causing a cessation of hostilities. The Ameri- 
cans had lost three killed and eight wounded, the loss of the enemy being 
much greater. 

Hurriedly burying their dead and making their wounded as comfortable 
as possible for transportation, the army resumed its retreat, pursued by the 
foe, who fired on the Americans from a respectful distance, different com- 
panies taking turns in protecting the rear. In this way the tired troops 
finally reached the shelter of the woods. They passed the night in camp at 
Leesville and next morning resumed the retreat, the last shojs of the enemy 
being heard as they passed the borders of Crawford county, just north of 
the site of the present town of Crestline. 

When the retreat was started Colonel Crawford missed his son John 
Crawford, his son-in-law, William Harrison, and his nephew, William Craw- 
ford. While looking for these relatives. Doctor Knight joined him. A little 
before midnight they reached the Sandusky which they crossed less than a 
mile south of the village of the Wyandot chief Pomoacan. At daylight Craw- 



46 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

ford, Knight and a boy entered Crawford county, their progress being slow 
on account of the darkness and the jaded condition of the horses. Near 
Osceola, Crawford and the young man were compelled to abandon their horses, 
and on foot they continued their journey and about two o'clock fell in with 
Captain Biggs, who had carried Lieutenant Ashley from the battle, the latter 
being badly wounded. After reaching the point on the Sandusky, where 
the troops had left the river on their outward march, discussion arose as to 
the future course and it was decided to follow the course of the army. They 
followed the south bank of the Sandusky, through the site- of the present 
town of Leesville and just east of that place several Indians started up less 
than fifty feet from Crawford and Knight. The doctor jumped behind a 
tree and was about to fire, when Crawford, observing how many Indians 
there were, advised him not. An Indian who knew them came forward and 
shook hands; Captain Biggs in the meantime had fired on the savages, but 
missed, and he and his companion, Lieutenant Ashley took to the dense 
woods as did the two young men. The party that captured Crawford and 
Knight, were Delaware Indians, who under their chief, Wingenund, had 
followed the retreating army as far as their camp, which was only half a mile 
distant from the place where they captured Crawford, about a mile and a 
half northwest of Crestline. 

The details of Crawford's subsequent death at the stake are too harrow- 
ing to make pleasant reading and will be omitted. The renegade Simon Girty 
was present at the awful scene and either could not or would not interfere. 
Doctor Knight escaped from his captors, thereby avoiding a similar fate, 
and after a toilsome journey and much suffering, reached home in safety. 
The Wyandots had nothing to do with Crawford's death. He was a Dela- 
ware prisoner. The Wyandots for some years had ceased the burning of 
prisoners at the stake. The Delawares and Shawanese still adhered to the 
custom. 

The British general, Cornwallis, had surrendered at Yofktown on Octo- 
ber 19, 1781, which practically ended the war of the Revolution, although 
the treaty of peace was not signed until a year later, November 30, 1782. 
The British still retained possession of Detroit, and kept the Indians of the 
northwest hostile to the Americans, and the depredations still continued. The 
Americans, however, were now more free to protect their border, and expe- 
ditions were sent against them in the Miami valley and up toward the Maumee 
and Detroit, the Wyandots sending all their warriors to oppose the Americans 
on these expeditions. 

On January 27, 1785, a treaty was signed at Fort Mcintosh, a fort on the 
Ohio. 30 miles below Pittsburg, at the mouth of the Beaver river, where the 
town of Beaver, Pennsylvania, now is. This treaty was made between the 
Americans and the Wyandots, Delawares, Chippewas and Ottawas. The 
boundary line between the United States and the Wyandots and Delawares 
was declared to begin "at the mouth of the river Cuyahoga, and to extend, 
up said river to the portage between that and the Tuscarawas branch of the 
Muskingum, thence down that branch to the crossing place above Fort 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 47 

Laurens (on the border line of Stark and Tuscarawas counties, near where 
the town of Bolivar now is) thence westerly to the portage of the Big Miami, 
which runs into the Ohio (its western point being Fort Recovery in Mercer 
county) at the mouth of which branch was Fort Slovel which was taken by 
the French in 1752: then along said portage to the Great Miami or Omee 
river ( Maumee) and down the south side of the same to its mouth, then along 
the south shores of Lake Erie to the mouth of the Cuyahoga river, where it 
began." All of the territory inside this boundary (all of northwestern Ohio), 
was assigned to the Indians, with a few trading-posts reserved, six miles 
square at the mouth of the Sandusky, and a tract two miles square at Fremont. 

Sha-tay-ya-ron-yah, or Leather Lips, who signed this treaty and kept it, 
was afterward murdered under Indian law on account of his friendship for 
the Americans. In 1810 Tecumseh commenced his organization of the Indians 
against the whites, but found the Wyandots, led by Tar-he and Leather Lips, 
were bitterly opposed to the plan. General Harrison was of the opinion the 
chief's death was the result of the direct command of Tecumseh. 

January 9, 1789, another treaty was made by Gov. St. Clair at Fort 
Harmar (Marietta), with the Wyandots and others, confirming the treaty 
of 1785. It was not kept and the Indians, supplied with arms and ammuni- 
tion by the British at Detroit, continued their depredations, and several 
expeditions sent against them were disastrous to the Americans. Finally, 
in 1794. Gen. Anthony Wayne, "Mad Anthony," led the expedition against 
them, and at the battle of Fallen Timbers he gained a complete and decisive 
victory, and on August 3, 1795, the Greenville treaty was signed, making 
the Indian reservation about as before. 

On July 4. 1805, another treaty was signed at Fort Industry between the 
United States and the Wyandots and other tribes, by which the eastern bound- 
ary of their reservation was a meridian line, starting at a point on Lake Erie, 
120 miles west of the western boundary of Pennsylvania, thence south to the 
Greenville treaty line. This line was the present west boundary of Erie and 
Huron counties; it passed through Crawford county, giving the present 
eastern seven miles to the United States, the western thirteen miles being 
reserved to the Indians. It touched the Greenville treaty line about two miles 
east of what is now Cardingtoh, in Marrow county. All east of this north 
and south line, north of the Greenville treaty line, extending to the Cuyahoga 
river was now open to settlement. For this territory the Indians were given 
goods to the amount of $20',ooo, and were to receive in addition $7,500 in 
goods annually. From this new territory Richland county was created in 
1807. For some years the Indians remained peaceful, their severe losses in 
their constant wars having so greatly reduced their numbers that they realized 
without help, all further opposition to the Americans was hopeless. 

This peace would have continued but for the actions" of the British in 
forcing the war of 181 2. England for several years had been stopping 
American ships on the high seas, seizing seamen on those vessels and impress- 
ing them into the British navy on the claim they were British seamen. Many 
American born sailors were thus seized, and to all protests the British gov- 



48 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

eminent turned a deaf ear. The British also instigated the Indians in the 
northwest to recommence their depredations against the Americans, and 
Tecumseh organized the savage tribes, and when war was declared by the 
United States Tecumseh and nearly all the northwestern Indians joined their 
forces with the British, with headquarters at Detroit. Tarhe "The Crane," 
was chief of the Wyandots at that time, and assisted by Between-the-Logs, 
another Wyandot chief, urged their tribe to remain neutral, which the major- 
ity of them did, very few Wyandots following the lead of Tecumseh. At 
the breaking out of the war. the first year in the northwest, the Americans 
met with a constant succession of reverses. 

In July, 1812, Gen. William Hull, in command at Detroit, surrendered 
that post to the British and Indians, without firing a gun. The allied army 
consisted of 1,000 British and 600 Indians. The force surrendered was 
2.500 men. with thirty-three cannon, arms and ammunition. Just prior to 
the surrender a detachment of 500 had been sent south to guard some sup- 
plies coming from Ohio. These were a part of Hull's army and were sur- 
rendered also, and as they were returning they were met by a company of 
British soldiers who astonished them with the statement that they, too, were 
included in the capitulation. The American troops were released on parole. 
A number started home on foot, others were transported in boats across 
Lake Erie to the mouths of the Sandusky, Huron and Cuyahoga rivers, and 
left at those points to go overland the nearest route to their homes, many 
passing through Crawford as the nearest way home. 

Gen. William Henry Harrison was placed in command of the army in 
the northwest in September of 1812, the objective point of this campaign 
being to regain Detroit from the British. General Harrison immediately 
established a line of defense across the state from Wooster through Craw- 
ford county, to L T pper Sandusky and St. Mary's to Fort Wayne. The army 
was divided into three divisions, the left composed of the Kentucky troops 
and the Seventeenth and Eighteenth United States regulars under Brigadier- 
General Winchester; their route was up the Miami, with the base of supplies 
at St. Mary's, Auglaize county. The central division was composed of 1,200 
of the Ohio militia and 800 mounted infantry under Brigadier-General Tup- 
per, with their base of supplies at Fort McArthur (Kenton. Hardin county). 
The right was composed of three brigades of militia from Pennsylvania, Vir- 
ginia and Ohio, and were to assemble at Fort Ferree, a fort erected at Upper 
Sandusky, where General Harrison had his headquarters. On October 22d, 
General Harrison wrote to the war department : "I am not able to fix any 
period for the advance of the troops to Detroit. It is pretty evident that it 
cannot be done, on proper principles, until the frost shall have become so 
severe as to enable us to use the rivers and the margin of the lake for the 
transportation of our baggage on the ice." During November and December 
General Harrison did what he could toward improving the roads. 

While at his headquarters on the Sandusky, Tarhe, the Wyandot chief, 
called on General Harrison, and suggested that a meeting of the Indians be 
held, as it was his opinion many of the Indians had been deceived into join- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 49 

ing the British forces. In response to this, a council of Indians, both friendly 
and unfriendly, was held on the American side of the Detroit river at Browns- 
town. The Wyandots were then the leading and most powerful Indian nation, 
and Tarhe, their chief, sent a strong message urging them to remain neutral. 
Tarhe's message was received in sullen silence, and Round Head, a Canadian 
chief, and a Wyandot, made a bitter speech against the Americans, which was 
endorsed by practically all present. The British were represented at the 
council by two agents, Elliott and McKee, and Elliott, seeing the spirit of the 
Indians, made a very insulting speech, boasting of the victories already 
achieved, and alluding to the president of the United States as a squaw, and 
saying: "If she receives this as an insult and feels disposed to fight, tell her 
to bring more men than she ever brought before. If she wishes to fight me 
and my children she must not burrow in the earth like a ground hog* where 
she is inaccessible. She must come out and fight fairly." The leading chief 
of the Wyandots present was Between-the-Logs, the chief orator of that 
nation, and to the insulting speech of Elliott he made a dignified reply. 

This closed the council, the Canadian Indians remaining with the British, 
while the Ohio Wyandots followed the advice of Between-the-Logs. Tarhe 
made another attempt and sent another message to his Canadian Wyandot 
kinsman: "Let all the Wyandots abandon the British. They are liars and 
have always deceived the Indians. They built Fort Miami, as they said, to 
be a refuge to the Indians. When wounded and bleeding, after our defeat 
by General Wayne, we fled to their fort for protection, they shut the gates 
against us." Later in the campaign Tecumseh threw this same treacherous 
act up to General Procter. It referred to a campaign when "Mad Anthony" 
Wayne defeated the British and Indians, and the British sought refuge in 
Fort Miami, and closed its gates against their fleeing Indian allies. He called 
attention to several other acts of perfidy of the British but it had no effect 
on his Canadian people, although nearly all the Wyandots in Ohio remained 
on the side of the Americans: only a very few joining the British. 

During the War of 1812 General Harrison had his headquarters much of 
the time along the Sandusky river. He established Fort Ferree, the present 
site of Upper Sandusky; Fort Ball at Tiffin and Fort Seneca half way 
between Tiffin and Fremont. This latter place had been a trading-post over 
a century, established by the French, and here was Fort Stevenson. 

On December 17, 181 2, Governor Meigs sent a message to the state legis- 
lature appealing for aid for the Ohio militia at Sandusky, in which he said : 
"The situation of the men as to clothing is really distressing. You will see 
many of them wading through the snow and mud almost barefooted and half 
naked. Not half the men have a change of pantaloons, and those linen." 

In January, 1813, General Harrison marched from Upper Sandusky to 
the Maumee and about January 20th erected Fort Meigs, on the south side 
of the river just above where Perrysburg now is, and for the balance of the 
winter supplies and troops were sent forward and the fort strengthened. 

* Alluding to the Americans having pits in the embankments to shelter them from cannon 
balls thrown into their forts. 



50 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Toward the last of April the fort was besieged by General Procter and 
Tecnmseh with 2,000 British and Indians, but the small force ther^ made so 
determined a resistance until re-inforcements arrived under General Clay, 
that on May 5th, the allies gave up the siege and retired. General Harrison 
sent word to Governor Meigs that more troops were needed, and they were 
soon on their way to the different posts. On May 8th the commander at Fort 
Ferree wrote that 500 men had arrived that day and 1,000 more would be 
there the next day. 

On July 2 1 st General Procter and Tecumseh again laid siege to Fort 
Meigs with 4,000 British and Indians, General Clay being in command of the 
fort. The British general, Procter, left Tecumseh to watch the fort, while 
he, with 500 British troops and 800 Indians, marched to Lower Sandusky 
(Fremont) to capture Fort Stevenson, which was garrisoned by 150 men 
under Major Crogan. a young man of twenty-one. They- arrived before the 
fort on August 1, 1813, and Procter demanded its surrender under the threat 
that its defense against his superior force was hopeless, and if they were 
compelled to capture the place, it would be impossible for him to restrain 
the savagery of the Indians, and the entire garrison would be massacred. 
The demand was refused and on August 2d the attack commenced, and after 
several hours of fighting the enemy endeavored to take it by assault but were 
repulsed with great slaughter. General Harrison was at the time at Fort 
Seneca, nine miles tip the river, with a large force of troops, and Procter fear- 
ing an attack in return gave up the attempt and returned to Detroit. The 
American loss was one killed and seven wounded. 

The Ohio militia continued pouring into Fort Ferree until in August there 
were from 5. 000 to 6.000 men there under command of Governor Meigs. It 
was impossible to care for so many, besides the enemy had abandoned their 
attempt to capture Fort Meigs and retired to Detroit, and the pressing need 
for the militia had passed, so all but 2,000 were disbanded and sent home, an 
order which was received with the greatest disapproval by the disbanded 
troops, and led to indignation meetings in which severe resolutions were 
passed against General Harrison. 

On September to, 1813, Perry gained his signal victory on Lake Erie 
and General Harrison pushed forward into Michigan to retake the fort. 
Reaching Detroit lie found the place deserted, the British and Indians having 
retired across the river into Canada. On October 2d. Generals Harrison and 
Shelby, with 3.500 Ohio and Kentucky troops, started after the retreating 
army and overtook the allied forces at the river Thames, 80 miles from 
Detroit. A battle followed on October 5th, in which Tecumseh was slain, 
which so demoralized his Indian followers that they immediately took flight. 
A large number of the British were killed or captured and the rest fled. This 
was the final battle of the northwest, and from that time the settlers of 
northwestern Ohio were no longer disturbed by the British or Indians. The 
war, however, continued in the east and south, until the last battle was fought 
at Xew Orleans, on January 8, 1815, by General Jackson, who, with 6,000 
men, behind entrenchments, administered a crushing defeat to General Pack- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 51 

enham's attacking force of 12.000. The troops of Packenham were the pick 
of the British army, the survivors returning to Europe in time to take part 
in the hattle of Waterloo, while the troops of Jackson were the raw militia 
of Kentucky, Tennessee and the northwest, but every man a fine marksman. 
During the war of 1812, in the battles along the Maumee, the brutal murder- 
ings by the Indians of the soldiers after they had surrendered, were of fre- 
quent occurrence. In this war the English endeavored to curb the cruelties 
of their Indian allies, but it was generally useless, and it was only on a few- 
occasions that Tecumseh himself was able to restrain the ferocity of the 
savages. 



CHAPTER IV 

THE OLD NORTHWEST 

The Northwest Territory as Defined in the Ordinance of ij8j — State of 
Ohio Formed — Character of Its Citizenship — Indian Inhabitants — Pro- 
hibition of Slavery — Provision for Education — Settlement of Marietta — 
Appointment of Governor St. Clair — Law and Order Established — George 
Rogers Clark and His Work — Conflicting State Claims — Their Settle- 
ment — Treatment of the Indians — Story of Black Hawk — The Last of 
the Indians — The Greenville Treaty. 

Shelby county, Ohio, formed a part of the old Northwest. By the cele- 
brated ordinance of 1787 the territory "northwest of the river Ohio" was to 
be divided into not less than three nor more than five sections or states. By 
the same law it was provided that "whenever any of the said states shall have 
60,000 free inhabitants therein, such state shall be admitted, by its delegates, 
into the congress of the United States, on equal footing with the original 
states, in all respects whatever; and shall be at liberty to form a permanent 
constitution and state government." (Article V. Ordinance of 1787.) 

Acting under this provision of our organic law, Ohio became a state, by 
act of congress, February 19, 1803, and Shelby county, as part of Ohio, 
entered upon her history-making career, although the county had been organ- 
ized in 1800, by proclamation of territorial governor, General Arthur St. Clair. 

There were five states carved out of the old Northwest — Ohio, Indiana, 
Illinois, Michigan and Wisconsin making a total area of 250,000 square 
miles. At the time of the passage of the ordinance of 1/87 it is probable 
that there were not more than 60,000 "free inhabitants" in the entire five 
states. Today there are more than 17,000,000. In this section — the old 
Northwest — we find now the largest lakes, joined by silvery rivers and canals, 
the richest mine deposits, and the most fertile soil in North America, if not 
in the world. Here are the longest rivers — and upon their banks sit in pride 
and majesty, the noble cities from whose factories and mills come the cloth- 
ing and food that help to feed and to protect the hungry millions of earth. 

The citizenship of this section is among the most enlightened and progres- 
sive, Ohio alone having furnished seven presidents of the United States, one 
vice-president, three presidents of the senate, one speaker of the house, two 
chief justices, five associate judges and 22 cabinet officers. In addition there 
is a long list of distinguished senators, representatives, inventors, authors 
and scholars. 

52 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 53 

For many years after the coming of the white men, the American Indians 
— the original owners of the soil — made life a burden for these white men, 
who were often forced to bare their breasts upon "upland glade or glen" to 
the tomahawk, the poisoned arrow and the faggot. The soil was redeemed 
for the white men by the veterans of three wars. It was reddened by the 
blood of the Indian, the French, the English and the American. It was 
consecrated by the death of many a noble son. 

But the great ordinance did more than to provide for the admission of 
states — it had strong provisions in regard to slavery and education. "There 
shall be neither slavery nor involuntary servitude in said territory, otherwise 
than in the punishment of crimes whereof the party shall have been duly con- 
victed." No such expression had yet been seen in any document; and this 
is all the more wonderful and noble, when we recall the fact that, at that 
time, all the original states had slaves. From this can be traced the liberty- 
loving sentiment ever afterward found in the people of the northwest. But 
this is not all. The great document resounded throughout the wilderness, 
as with a Titan's voice, the cause of religion and education. "Religion, 
morality and knowledge being necessary to good government and the happi- 
ness of mankind, schools and the means of education shall forever be encour- 
aged." 

The sixteenth section of every township of 36 sections was set aside for 
maintenance of common schools in each of these five states. This generous 
grant on the part of the general government gave to these five states 5,000,000 
acres. From the sale of this land the schools have realized more than 
$20,000,000. The spirit of this section of the ordinance spread to all the 
western states and they now have magnificent school funds. The ordinance 
also gave to each state one township entire for the maintenance of a uni- 
versity. In Ohio this township is located in Athens county, and this grand 
old Ohio University, at Athens, originated and is, in part, sustained today. 
It is the oldest university west of the Allegheny Mountains. Thus was the 
fund for education in Shelby county begun. In 1905 the entire United States 
expended $307,000,000 for 'elementary and secondary schools alone. 

In 1787 Rev. Manasseh Cutler led a band of 48 intrepid pioneers into 
the wilderness, and they formed the first colony or settlement in what is 
now Ohio, at Marietta, April 7, 1788. They named their camp "Marietta" 
after the beautiful French Queen, Marie Antoinette. Before the first year 
had passed Marietta had 132 men and 15 families. The first Fourth of 
July, 1788, was right royally celebrated in this new home of liberty. On 
the 15th of that month, the first governor of the northwest territory, Gen. 
Arthur St. Clair, arrived and took charge of affairs. He was well received 
by the people and most heartily supported by them. Governor St. Clair 
soon began the work of organization and he laid out Ohio's first county 
(1788), which embraced about all of the eastern half of Ohio, and which he 
named Washington county. A sheriff, judges and other officers were 
appointed, and on Campus Martins, the first court 'in Ohio was opened in 
the block house. 



54 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

This was a great event, for on that day law and order began in the 
wilderness. The beginnings of great things are always of great interest, 
and this interest grows with each decade. This beginning of established 
law was announced from the door of the log cabin court house, on Campus 
Martins, in the fall of 1788, by the newly appointed sheriff in these words: 
"Oyez! Oyez! A court is now opened for the administration of even- 
handed justice, to the poor and to the rich, to the guilty and to the inno- 
cent, without respect of persons; none to be punished without trial by their 
peers, and then in pursuance of the laws and evidence in the case." From 
this first county of Ohio, the number has grown to 88, and courts of jus- 
tice are established in each county. 

The history of the old Northwest cannot be told without relating the 
great work of George Rogers Clark. It would really be the play of "Ham- 
let" with Hamlet omitted. He was born in Virginia in 1752, and was a 
brother of Capt. William Clark, whose great journey of 8,000 miles into the 
Oregon county. 1804-06, in company with Capt. Meri weather Lewis, a 
grateful nation in the year (1905) commemorated by a World's Fair at 
Portland, Oregon. George Rogers Clark was made a brigadier general in 
1 781, but is generally known in history, especially during the campaign 
in the old Northwest, as Colonel Clark. He was only 20 years old when 
he plunged into the unbroken wilderness of Ohio, as a soldier and surveyor 
of Lord Dunmore's expedition. He was as fine a rifleman as ever entered 
a forest, and he was skilled in all the knowledge of woodcraft. As a sol- 
dier he was brave and manly ; as a commander he was sagacious, patient 
and fearless. The Indians respected and feared him alike, and gave him and 
his men the name of "The Long Knives." 

In 1775. at the close of Dunmore's war, Clark went to Kentucky, where 
he assisted Daniel Boone to fight Indians and to build a new commonwealth 
in the wilderness. On his return to his old home in Virginiajie learned 
that the war for liberty bad actually begun l>et\veen the colonies and Eng- 
land — the mother country. One year later we again find him in Ken- 
tucky, aiding the settlers on the border in many ways. He is chosen by 
them to command the rude militia of this country, and it proved a wise 
choice. Every settlement was in constant danger of attack by the blood- 
thirsty Indians, and Clark knew full well how to resist them. But Virginia 
was claiming ownership of this country of Kentucky — "the dark and bloody 
ground" — and the hardy settlers thought they should have some protection 
from Virginia. 

At last two delegates, Clark being one, were chosen to go to Virginia 
and see the governor — then the noted Patrick Henry — and very forcefully 
showed him their needs and the necessity of immediate action. They peti- 
tioned for the formation of their country into an independent enmity, and 
that they might be allowed to assist the colonies in their struggle against 
the tyranny of England. They also asked for 500 pounds of gunpowder 
and a supply of rifles. The governor was at first inclined to refuse these 
requests on the ground that Virginia had all she could manage in the defense 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 55 

of the colonies. But Colonel Clark told him plainly that a country that 
was not worth defending was not worth claiming. The delegates obtained 
their desired arms and ammunition, and when the legislature next met, 
the county of Kentucky was formed with almost the identical boundaries 
that now mark the state of Kentucky. 

General Hamilton, the British commander at Detroit, had set a price 
upon every settler's scalp in the Ohio valley, and in the spring of 1777 the 
Indians had been so incited to cruelty and bloodshed by the promise of 
pay on the part of the British, that they made constant raids upon the 
settlements across the Ohio. Hiding in the dense forest, they boldly attacked 
the unprotected and helpless pioneer while at work in his field, burned his 
cabin, destroyed his cattle and his crops, and carried his wife and children 
into hellish captivity. Not a single life was safe, for there was always a 
hidden dusky foe on every hand. Unless relief could be obtained soon, 
all the whites in the valley would be destroyed. Relief came — and under 
the guiding hand of the brave young Clark. He conceived the plan of not 
only protecting the settlements but of saving the Great Northwest. But to 
carry out his plans he must have more men, and he therefore hurried back 
to Virginia and laid his plans fully before Governer Patrick Henry. He 
was duly commissioned to raise seven companies of 40 men each among the 
settlers west of the Allegheny mountains. As an incentive each soldier was 
promised 300 acres of land, to be selected from the richest valleys of the 
conquered territory. Thus originated the Virginia Military Reservation, 
between the Scioto and Miami rivers in Ohio, and the reservation, now in 
the state of Indiana, for Clark and his soldiers. 

In May, 1778, he started on the famous expedition from Redstone Old 
Fort — Brownsville, Pennsylvania — with only about 150 men. 'But the band 
increased in size as it marched on to old Fort Pitt, where it embarked upon 
the Ohio. When Colonel Clark left the governor of Virginia he was entrusted 
with two specific commands. One was to protect the settlers in Kentucky, 
and the other — not yet to be made public — authorized him to attack Kas- 
kaskia, a British post on the Kaskaskia river, one mile east of the Missis- 
sippi. Governor Henry also gave him $1,200 and an order on the com- 
mandant at Fort Pitt for all the powder he might need. 

From this fort the little band of men, without uniforms, fresh from the 
cabin, the forest, and the mountains, began their perilous journey to con- 
quer what has proved to be as rich a country as can be found upon the 
globe. A motley crowd they were ! Clad only in the garb of the hunter, 
and armed with the clumsy flint-lock rifle, the tomahawk and the long knife. 
But each man felt that he had a mission to perform, and under the leader- 
ship of the "Hannibal of the West," he knew not defeat. 

At the falls of the Ohio the army of backwoodsmen halted and camped 
on "Corn Island" opposite the present site of Louisville. Here the settlers 
who had accompanied the expedition decided to remain and build their 
homes. Colonel Clark drilled his soldiers here, then boldly informed them 
of his secret commission from Governor Henry to attack the British post 



56 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

at Kaskaskia. Cheers from the soldiers followed the announcement. Clark 
wisely decided to make the journey by land, and therefore hid his little flo- 
tilla near the mouth of the Tennessee and began his journey through the 
tangled forest. This journey was filled with dangers and difficulties, but 
on the night of July 4, 1778, he surprised the garrison and captured the fort 
and the town. By a masterful management he brought all the inhabitants 
to take the oath of allegiance to the United States — and that without shed- 
ding blood. The British colors were lowered, and in their place the "Old 
Blue Flag" of Virginia was hoisted. Without fighting, the garrison of 
Cahokia, a few miles up the Mississippi, also surrendered. Then quickly 
followed the surrender of Vincennes, on the Wabash, 240 miles distant. 

Vincennes at this time was deserted by most of the British, as the gov- 
ernor-general, Hamilton, had returned to Detroit. But on learning of its 
capture by Colonel Clark and his backwoodsmen, and also that Kaskaskia 
and Cahokia were in his possession, Hamilton hastened to Vincennes with 
a large body of British regulars and Indian allies. He found the fort in 
possession of just two men — Captain Helm and a soldier. The captain 
placed a cannon at the open gate and demanded the honors of war if the 
fort was to be surrendered. The request was granted and two men marched 
out between rows of British soldiers and Indians. 

Hamilton again took command of the fort, but as it was now the dead 
of winter, decided to await the coming of spring before attacking Kaskas- 
kia. But Clark was informed by his faithful Spanish friend. Colonel Vigo, 
who loaned Clark nearly $20,000 to aid in this campaign, that Hamilton 
had sent most of his men home for the winter, with the intention of recall- 
ing them early in the spring for an attack on Kaskaskia. Clark at once 
marched against Hamilton, a long and dangerous journey. The streams 
were filled with floating ice, the meadows and valleys were full of water 
and the ground was swampy and irregular. Often the men had to wade 
four or five miles at a stretch, through water to their waists. Food became 
scarce and the men were falling from sickness. But fortunately for them 
they captured a canoe from some squaws, and in it they found a goodly 
quantity of buffalo meat, corn, tallow and kettles. This revived the weak 
ami gave them all added courage to press on to the attack. 

At last they camped on a small area of dry ground within sight of Vin- 
cennes. Hamilton was not aware of the approach of any enemy, and con- 
sequently felt secure in his stronghold. When night fell upon the camp, 
Colonel Clark led his men in a bold rush upon the town. The people of Vin- 
cennes were most heartily tired of British rule, and they welcomed the 
Americans. After some sharp fighting Hamilton agreed to meet Clark in 
a church and arrange terms. The valiant Clark would listen to no propo- 
sition from this "murderer of defenseless women and^children" but uncon- 
ditional surrender. The next day Hamilton's men, 79 in number, marched 
out and laid down their arms. The American colors were again hoisted 
over "Old Vincennes." and the fort was rebaptized with a new name, "Fort 
Patrick Henrv." To the good name of George Rogers Clark also belongs 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 57 

the great work of the invasion of the rich country of the Shawnees, and 
the defeat of the Miamis. This successful campaign gave to Clark undis- 
puted control of all the Illinois country and the rich valley of the Wabash. 
In fact he was the unquestioned master of the country from Pennsylvania 
to the "Father of Waters," and from the Ohio to the Great Lakes. 

By the treaty of Paris, 1783, at the close of the Revolutionary war, this 
great area, now consisting of five states, was transferred from Great Britain 
to the United States. To the hero of this expedition America owes an 
enduring monument. But we have not always rewarded our great men in 
due measure. It is said that George Rogers Clark was allowed to pass his 
last years in poverty and neglect. His death came in 1818. 

For a long time it was doubtful to what state this newly acquired region 
belonged. Virginia claimed nearly all of it — and certainly her claim was 
a strong one. Massachusetts, New York and Connecticut each laid claim 
also to parts of this territory.. But Delaware, New Jersey and Maryland 
absolutely refused to enter the Union unless all the other states gave up their 
claims to congress. Their contention was this: Should Virginia, or any 
other state, be given the whole or even a great part of this vast area, she 
would then have too much power. Therefore, all claims, they said, should 
be surrendered by these states to congress for the general good. This firm 
stand on the part of these three small states finally prevailed, and all claims, 
save certain reservations, were given up to the general government. It was 
many years, however, before the Indian tribes gave up their rich hunting 
grounds to the white men. We cannot find heart to censure them for this, 
for it was no small matter for the savage son of the forest to yield the 
land of his birth and the bones of his fathers to the encroachments of alien 
foes. The treatment given these original owners of the soil of God's broad 
footstool will ever bring the blush of shame to every honest American ,for 
these lands were taken from them by misrepresentation, dishonesty and over- 
whelming force. 

Senator John Sherman — Ohio's great senator — always claimed that the 
government never kept a single treaty made with the Indian. Is it any 
wonder, then, that we find the Sacs, the Foxes, the Ottawas, the Winneba- 
goes, the Wyandottes, the Shawnees and the Kickapoos making a last des- 
perate struggle to retain their happy hunting grounds? 

The story of this last long effort by these tribes centers around the one 
chief who towers above all others in this country, as Mt. Blanc towers among 
the foothills of the plains, viz : Black Hawk, a chief of the Sacs and Foxes. 
He was born in 1767, in the Indian village of Saukenuk, on the north 
bank of the Rock river, about a mile above its mouth. At the age of nine- 
teen, upon the death of his father, who was killed in battle, he "fell heir 
to the medicine bag of his forefathers," and for fifty years was the only 
leader of his people — the last savage patriot to defend his land against the 
irresistible force of civilization. Black Hawk was a born warrior and 
leader of warriors. His great grandfather was a .mighty chief before him 
— the celebrated old Thunder, who more than a hundred years before had 



58 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

led his fierce people — the Sacs — from the northern shores of the St. Law- 
rence to the rich valleys of Rock river and the Wisconsin. 

Black Hawk taught his people a rude form of agriculture, and they 
made a garden of Rock Island. Until the unfair and one-sided treaty 
was made by the authorities at St. Louis in 1804 for a narrow strip of land 
along the great river, in order to work the mines of lead there, he was a 
friend of the Americans. But he never would acknowledge the rights of this 
treaty by which the valuable lands of his people were filched from them. 
This had been accomplished by loading the four chiefs who had been sent 
to St. Louis to secure the honorable release of a Sac warrior imprisoned 
for killing a vicious backwoodsman in a quarrel, with gaudy presents, and 
filling them with whiskey. In addition, they were made Battering promises, 
and under these various influences they finally consented to give the Ameri- 
can commander — the representative of the American — certain parts of their 
country on two rivers — the Illinois and the Mississippi. It was also prom- 
ised, on the part of the president of the United States to pay the Sacs $1,000 
per year for his valuable grant. These chiefs had no right to make any 
treaty, though they thought by thus complying with the wishes of the white 
chief they would gain his good will, and save the life of the Sac warrior 
whom they had been sent to aid. Instead, however, they saw him led out 
and shot to death — murdered without a trial — in the very land over which 
the ordinance of 1787 had expressly stipulated: "The utmost good faith 
shall always be observed toward the Indians ; their lands and their property 
shall never be taken from them without their consent ; and in their prop- 
erty, rights and liberty they shall never be invaded or disturbed, unless in 
just and lawful wars authorized by congress, but laws founded in justice 
and humanity shall from time to time be made for preventing wrongs being 
done them and for preserving peace and friendship with them. 

From this one abuse originated the Black Hawk war. But it was aug- 
mented by many other causes of even greater flagrance and dishonor. False 
reports about this great chief were spread far and wide, and the govern- 
ment sent an army against him. Our own great Lincoln formed, when a 
mere youth, a militia company, and marched to the supposed scene of "the 
great Indian uprising." Black Hawk, who never really meant to fight the 
Americans, but had long borne in silence his deep wrongs, was captured, 
through the treachery of the YYinnebagoes, and imprisoned. His tribes — 
men, helpless women and children — were ruthlessly shot down or drowned 
in the Mississippi, the very river upon whose banks they had so long hunted, 
lived and loved. After a long imprisonment in Jefferson barracks in Mis- 
souri, he was taken to Washington, where President Andrew Jackson held 
an interview with him. When asked by the President why he had attempted 
to make war against the Americans, he answered: "I am a man and you 
are another. I took up the hatchet to avenge injuries which could no longer 
be borne." The great President sent him back to live in peace with the few- 
remaining people of his race, upon the plains of Iowa, where he died in 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 59 

1838. Tims was closed forever, in the old northwest, the efforts of the 
Red Man to retain the lands and hunting grounds of his fathers. 

The Greenville treaty between the United States and the Wyandots, 
Miamis, Delawares, Shawnees, Chippewas, Weas, Pottawatomies, Eel Rivers, 
Kickapoos, Plankinshaws and Kaskaskias was made Aug. 3, 1795, and vir- 
tually ended the sanguinary troubles between the whites and the Indians in 
this part of Ohio. It was in substance as follows : 

The boundary line established May 3, 1895, between the United States 
and the Indians began at the mouth of Cuyahoga river, and thence up the 
same to the portage, between that and the Tuscarawas branch of the Muskin- 
gum ; thence down the branch to the crossing place above Fort Lawrence; 
thence westerly to a fork of that branch of the Great Miami river running 
into the Ohio at or near which fork stood Loramie's store, and where com- 
mences the portage between the Miami of the Ohio and St. Marys river, 
which is a branch of the Miami which runs into Lake Erie; thence a west- 
erly course to Fort Recovery, which stands on a branch of the Wabash ; 
thence southwesterly in a direct line to the Ohio so as to intersect that river 
opposite the mouth of Kentucky or Cuttawa river. 

As an evidence of good faith the Indian tribes ceded lands along the 
treaty line one tract six miles square at or near Loramie's store in Shelby 
county. The tribes were to receive $20,000 and a perpetual annuity of 
$9,500. This treaty had more to do with the abandonment of Ohio by the 
Indians for lands and reservations beyond the Mississippi than anything 
else. The only one left in Shelby county who still survives is a wooden 
aborigine in front of a cigar store somewhat weather beaten and disfigured 
but still in the ring. 



CHAPTER V 

GEOLOGY AXD TOPOGRAPHY 

Situation and Boundaries of Shelby County — Its Elevation — Topography — 
Drainage and Soil — Rainfall — The Loramie Reservoir — The Drift — 
Bowlders — Remains of Human Art — Extinct Animals — Bedded Stone 
— The Niagara Formation — Physical Features. 

This county is situated in the second tier of counties from the bound- 
ary line betwen Indiana and Ohio, and about half-way of the state from 
north to south. It is bounded on the north by Auglaize county, on the east 
by Logan and Champaign, on the south by Miami, and on the west by Darke 
and Auglaize. The county seat is Sidney. The water-shed between the 
Maumee and Miami river systems is partly in the northern part of this 
comity. The road known as the Kettler turnpike, in a general way, may 
be regarded as marking the line of the water-shed, at least for some miles 
«it" it- course, nearest the Loramie reservoir. The water-shed bears to the 
northeast, after leaving this county, into Hardin and Wyandot counties. 

Elevation of the County — At Cincinnati, low water in the Ohio 
river is 432 feet above tide-water, and the water in the Sidney feeder is 512 
feet above low water in the Ohio, or 945 feet above tide-water. The great- 
est elevation yet measured in the county is 134 feet, on the Tawawa turn- 
pike, east of the Miami river. The line between tin's county and Cham- 
paign, on this turnpike, is 121 feet above the water in the feeder. The 
greatest elevation on the line of the Stewart turnpike is 121 feet, and on 
the line between Shelby and Logan counties 1 1 1 feet above the water in the 
canal. On the Infirmary turnpike the greatest elevation is 87 feet, and at 
the end of this road, on the line between this county and Miami, it is 40 
feet below the level of the canal. On the St. Marys turnpike, about two 
miles from Sidney, the highest point is reached at iu feet above the water 
in the canal. The bottom of the reservoir is about eight feet above the 
water in the canal. The main canal extends entirely across the county, run- 
ning in a northwesterly direction from a point on the southern boundary 
line about midway of the county, from east to west. The Sidney feeder is 
twelve miles in length, and extends from Port Jefferson to Lockington, and 
is the channel through which the water from the great reservoir at Lewis- 
town reaches the summit level of the canal. The Sidney feeder and the 
main canal above Lockington are on the same level, and the water from 
the Lewistown reservoir flows indifferently north or south. The summit- 

60 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 61 

level of the Miami and Erie canal is, therefore, the same as that of the Sid- 
ney feeder — 944 feet above the level of the sea. The highest land in the 
county (so far as any measurements have extended) is 1,078 feet above tide- 
water, and 646 feet above low water in the Ohio river at Cincinnati. To 
aid in the comparison of the elevations in this county with other portions 
of the state, I will here give a few measurements taken from Prof. Orton's 
Report of the Geology of Highland county, in the volume for 1870, p. 258. 
At the head-waters of the Scioto and Miami rivers, in Logan county, an ele- 
vation is given, on the authority of Colonel C. Whittlesey, of 1,344 feet, 
which is 266 feet greater than any in Shelby county. A measurement still 
greater is given of a summit in Richland county, 1,389 feet above the level 
of the sea. The highest land in the state, so far as known, is a point about 
three miles northeast of Bellefontaine. Its elevation above the sea, as deter- 
mined by Prof. F. C. Hill, for the Geological Survey, is 1,544 feet. The 
summit-level of the canal in this county is 400 feet lower than the water- 
shed between the Miami and Scioto rivers in Logan county. This state- 
ment will show the resources of the canal for water supply in this direction. 
The surface drainage and spring-water of a surface of about 900 square 
miles., must lie available at the head-waters of the Miami as a supply for the 
canal above the summit-level — one-half of which, with other resources, 
would float a tonnage greater than was ever floated in the canal. 

Topography of the County — From the preceding statements it will 
be seen that the surface of the county is little diversified in regard to eleva- 
tion. There are no hills or deep valleys giving variety to the climate or the 
productions, or producing picturesqueness of scenery. While the surface 
is everywhere rolling and well drained, the difference in level from the 
lowest to the highest point within the limits of the county is but little over 
200 feet. The water from the summit-level is locked down southward from 
Loekington altogether by six locks, an aggregate of 67 feet, in detail as 
follows, commencing at the lowest lock: No. 48, from the Ohio river, 
the lift is ten feet; passing over the Loramie by an aqueduct, Lock 49 has 
a lift of eleven feet; the 50th and 51st have each a lift of eleven feet: the 
52c! and ^y] each twelve feet — in all 67 feet. If the water in the bed of 
the river at the county line is twelve feet below the level of the canal, that 
would make the lowest point in the count}' 79 feet below the highest level 
of the canal: add 134 feet for the greatest elevation of any point in the 
count}- above the canal, and we have the difference in level between the 
lowest and highest points in the county, which is 213 feet. This calculation 
includes the valley of the Miami. If we leave this out of the calculation, 
the variation in level of the upland, the larger part of the county by far. 
would not be more than about 125 feet. 

The surface of the county, excluding the valley of the Miami, would 
average about 75 feet above the water in the canal. Before the water- 
courses had worn their channels in the drift, the surface, nearly level, sloped 
gently toward the south from the dividing ridge; north of that line still 
less toward the north. 



62 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The drainage is very simple. The water which falls on the surface of 
the county is drained off by the Miami river and its tributaries, with the 
exception of a strip north of the Kettler turnpike, of a width of about two 
miles, and but little greater in the other dimension. This is drained into 
the Maumee. The Miami flows from the county on the south at a point 
about midway from east to west. Near this point.it receives its most impor- 
tant tributary, the Luramie, coming from the northwest, along whose course 
in the county the Miami canal is conducted. This tributary, besides per- 
forming an important part in the drainage of the county, is immensely 
valuable in relation to the canal, the Loramie reservoir being formed in this 
stream. Coming into the county about centrally on the north, a small 
stream, it moves sluggishly over the Hat district which forms the dividing 
ridge, and gradually moving its course to the west, reaches a point in its 
journey far to the western part of the county, where its course is turned to 
the south in connection with important accessions to its volume of water; 
cutting a decided channel and receiving important accessions from both 
sides, it gradually returns eastward to midway of the county, where it 
debouches into the Miami. It is in the upper part of its course, just where 
it leaves its sluggish meanderings on the high land of the water-shed, that 
the important reserve >ir which receives its name from the creek is situated. 
There is a descent of jz, or So feet from the bottom of the reservoir to the 
mouth of the Loramie. The eastern part of the county is drained by 
other tributaries of the Miami. The Tavvawa, formed by the junction of the 
Leatherwood and Mosquito creeks, is an excellent mill stream, and drains 
the principal part of the county east of the Miami river. Frpm the appear- 
ance of this stream in the dry months of July and August, I conclude it is 
largely fed by springs, as the volume of water was kept up to a good stage 
when many other streams had failed. There are some copious springs in 
the county, but they do not form such a feature as they do in some other 
counties situated at a lower level. As might be expected, the high land 
west of the Miami has fewer and less copious springs than are found in less 
elevated localities in the county. In conclusion of this subject, the drain- 
age of the county by natural channels is ample. 

The character of the soil out of the river and creek bottoms depends 
upon the nature of the underlying drift. The drift will be spoken of more 
particularly further on. The soil in the river bottoms is composed largely 
of partially decomposed vegetable matter. There is nothing peculiar about 
this class of soils in this county, except that on some of the tributaries of 
the Miami, as Plum creek, there is an unusual body of it compared with the 
size of the creek. The explanation of this seems to be that in the upper course 
of this stream especially, the fall in the bed of the creek is often very slight, 
and the drainage was very imperfect. Before the country was cleared the 
water was still more impeded by rubbish and undergrowth, and it stood on 
the ground for at least a portion of the year. Large accumulations of vege- 
table mould took place, which the size of the streams, as seen today, do not 
~eem adequate to produce. This mould is not alluvium, but the result of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 63 

vegetable growth on the spot. It has not been washed thither by the water, 
but the vegetation which made it, grew up in the swamps which existed 
along this sluggish watercourse. The upland soil in the county is naturally 
divided into two classes, one called black soil, composed of the clay of the 
drift, mixed with a greater or less proportion of vegetable mould; the other 
is light-colored, "thin" soil, with little vegetable matter. The dark-colored 
soil is related in origin to that of the creek bottoms or flats, just referred 
to. Wherever the water formed swampy districts, there accumulated vege- 
table matter. Some of these places were yet swampy at the first settlement 
of the country, and were shunned as unhealthy localities; but others, often 
extensive, were no longer swampy, but from channels being worn through 
them or out of them, were dry, and invited, not in vain, the early settler. 
The face of the country may have changed so that the land is readily drained 
at present and this still be the true explanation of these black lands in this 
and adjoining counties. Moisture made rank and abundant vegetation, while 
it also impeded its entire decay. The partially decayed vegetable products 
accumulated, and mingling with the clay below, formed that rich, dark-brown 
loam. But there is unfortunately a large area of thin and light-colored soil in 
the county than of the soil just described. This thin soil is not peculiar to 
this county, but is found in other counties situated in like manner. Its color 
shows it to be quite destitute of the products of vegetation. It differs equally 
from the yellow clay soils of the uplands of Butler, Warren and Hamilton 
counties, and seems less capable of being made productive. The clay of this 
class of soils is impermeable to water, and is so situated that water has drained 
oft' readily, and has not stood upon it in natural swamps. The soil is com- 
posed of a fine-grained material and is compact, and sheds water like a 
roof. How the circumstances in which the fine-grained material was depos- 
ited differed from those in which other drift deposits were made, I will not 
undertake to state. This soil seems to have been exhausted rather than 
enriched by ages of primeval vegetation. What chemical analysis would 
show it to lack of fertilizing material. I cannot say, but. the deficiency of 
limestone pebbles in it would indicate that it might be lacking in lime, and 
it has not had the advantage of being overspread with decaying boulders, 
which add to a soil potash and other fertilizing ingredients. It seems to 
have been the least fine sediment deposited from receding water — lifeless 
water. 

This soil, lying so as to drain away water, and not of a nature to absorb 
and retain it, became covered slowly with vegetation. But it always lacked 
that rankness and exuberance of vegetation which lower and moister places 
possessed. Still many, countless generations of plants and unknown crops 
of trees have grown and decayed here without leaving behind them much 
vegetable matter commingled with the soil. What has become of the sub- 
stance of plants that it has not accumulated in the soil? The answer must 
be that the growth upon this soil have passed back to their original elements 
— have gone as they came — in the form of water and gases. The bulk of 
vegetation is composed of water (oxygen and hydrogen), carbonic acid 



64 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

(carbon and oxygen), and nitrogen. When vegetation decays these mate- 
rials are evolved, and pass off into the atmosphere. It is when decay is 
impeded that vegetable matter accumulates in the soil. Mould is partially 
decayed vegetation. When vegetable products are protected from the atmos- 
phere by water their decay is retarded and impeded, and certain compounds 
are formed of a complex character, which do not so readily undergo decom- 
position. This is what we call vegetable mould, mixed with clay — loam. 
In dry situations, exposed to the action of the atmosphere, logs, grass, 
leaves, straw, utterly disappear and leave no trace behind. The same mate- 
rial heaped together, in wet situations, does not entirely decay, as every one 
must have observed, but gradually disintegrates, and becomes a uniform 
mass of dark-colored matter. A cool situation makes this process more 
sure and complete. Partially decayed vegetation becomes mould, muck or 
peat, according to the material, the location and extent of the process of 
decay. These vegetable compounds do not decay readily, but do gradually, 
and hence results a common experience in the use of muck as manure. Until 
a dissolution of the muck occurs, it will not nurture vegetation, hence it is 
often necessary for it to be exposed a season or two to the action of the 
atmosphere before it becomes sufficiently advanced in decomposition to give 
up it^ elements of fertility to vegetation. My conclusion is that this light- 
colored soil, not being a good absorber of water, and being so situated as 
to drain it off readily, the vast amount of vegetation, in different forms, 
which has grown upon it has entirely decayed and passed off in the forms 
in which its elements first came to it. namely, as ga-c-s 

Here is the place to speak of one of the most interesting features of this 
upland soil in the county — the fine beds of peat which mark the line of the 
water-shed. Peat is a vegetable product — it is an accumulation of vegetable 
matter in circumstances in which decay is arrested. A cool climate and a 
moist situation are the conditions in which peat is formed. On the scarcely 
sloping tract, lying just where the drainage, being both ways, was effective 
neither way, and where the surface was formed of a soil quite impermeable 
to water, we find to-day several extensive beds of peat of good quality. They 
lie in Van P.uren township, and near the line of the new Kettler turnpike. 
Mr. William Kettler owns about 140 acres of peat; in section ten of the 
same township are 140 acres more; in section fourteen, ten acres; in sec- 
tion twenty-two, about thirty acres, and smaller quantities in one or two 
other places, being over 300 acres in all. It is not certainly known how 
deep these beds are; it is supposed they will average at least ten feet. I did 
not learn the facts upon which this belief rests, hut, from the character of 
the men from whom I obtained the information, I feel that the statement 
can be relied upon. Where I examined the peat, on Mr. Kettler's farm, 
although large ditches had been conducted through it to drain it, there was 
110 place where the bottom could be seen, nor the distance to it from the 
bottom of the ditch be ascertained, by such explorations as we could make 
with a fence-stake. 

On this water-shed the effect of continued washing is seen in a slight 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 65 

furrowing of the surface into broad and shallow troughs, leading toward 
the drainage of Loramie creek. Suppose that at a time when all the region 
was densely covered with forest and protected from the sun's rays, the fall- 
ing of a tree, or the erection of a dam by beavers should have cut off the 
passage of the water, bogs of greater or less extent and depth would have 
been formed. In these vegetation would soon nourish suited to such locali- 
ties — plants which flourish in and near moisture — coarse grasses and vines, 
luxuriant ferns, and particularly the sphagnous mosses which are known to 
compose so large a proportion of peat-beds. We can hardly conceive of 
the rapidity with which the accumulation of vegetable material takes place 
in such circumstances. The remains of beaver dams are still confidently 
pointed out by residents there, and the traditions of the county are numer- 
ous, and corroborative in regard to the existence of these ingenious animals 
at a time not long antedating the memory of the "oldest inhabitant." Jn 
complete confirmation of this general conviction. I have in my possession 
teeth of the beaver found in the county. 

The peat is of a uniform consistence and of a drab color, where freshly 
exposed. On the surface, where it has been drained, it is sufficiently decom- 
posed to nourish the most luxuriant vegetation which I saw in the county 
— vines, grasses, briers, bushes, and ferns, and, where under cultivation, 
the finest of corn crops. The beds are purely vegetable; neither on the 
surface, nor beneath it, could there be distinguished a particle of earth 
mixed with the peat. Being about at the Summit, there was no source from 
which earth could have been washed into the forming peat. When dry it 
burns readily with a cheerful blaze and rather strong odor, glowing like 
the embers of leaves in a draft. It is not, however, used as fuel, on account 
of the great abundance of wood in that region and its distance from any 
market, and doubtless the day is remote when it will be in demand as fuel 
on account of the abundance of coal even more convenient to the great mar- 
kets than these beds of peat. The great productiveness of the porous, friable 
upper crust, where the beds have been drained, suggests a use for this mate- 
rial of great interest. It is contiguous to these great beds of peat that the 
thin, light-colored soils, so destitute of vegetable mould, abound. Here is 
a supply, not easily exhausted, of the very material which that soil needs. 
If these beds average ten feet in thickness, there is enough vegetable matter 
in them to cover, to the depth of one-half a foot, nearly ten square miles of 
land. I pointed out to Mr. William Kettler a danger which threatens the 
destruction of those beds which are perfectly drained. He has dug large 
trenches through his extensive beds for the purpose of drying them to 
bring them into cultivation. Where the peat becomes dry it is porous, light, 
and friable. It requires no breaking up to receive the crop, but is only fur- 
rowed out to secure precision in the rows of corn that it may be worked 
with the plough. The process of drying must continue from year to year 
where the system of drainage is complete. The result may be disastrous 
if such a bed of inflammable matter is exposed, as it must be, to the malice 
or carelessness of any one who might set fire to it in the extremely dry 



66 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

weather of our late summer seasons. Already, imperfectly dried out as the 
beds are yet, where persons have carelessly allowed fire to catch in the sur- 
face of the peat, deep holes have been burned, extending, doubtless, to the 
undried substratum. No means that could be brought to bear in those 
regions would be effectual in quenching a fire in one of those peat beds if they 
are once thoroughly dried out. The remedy I would suggest is one of pre- 
vention — it is to close up the system of drains during the winter, allowing 
the water to stand in them, saturating the beds completely. The drains 
being opened in the spring, the beds of peat would not become fully dried 
out during summer. By retaining moisture they will bring better crops and 
be safe from conflagration. 

The Rain-fall — This county is near the border of the area marked in 
the "Rain-Chart" of the Smithsonian institution in which the average of 
rain-fall is forty inches. In the absence of other reliable data, any indefinite 
impressions that the amount is less than this must be disregarded. We 
are apt to judge by the effects; for example, the state of the crops, whereas 
the larger portion of the rain-fall is at a season when no visible influence 
can reach the crops from it. Plainly, all the rain and snow-water, which 
runs off the frozen crust of the ground in the winter does not affect, one 
way or the other, the crops of the ensuing summer. The same can be said 
of the most of the rain, which runs off as soon as it falls, at any season. 

An interest attaches to the amount of water which falls, in various 
forms, in this and the adjoining counties, particularly to the northeast, on 
account of the requirements of the canal. Data are wanting for determining 
the amount of water carried off by the canal and the river from the area 
above the summit-level of the canal in this and the adjoining counties on 
the northeast. The nature of the soil is such that it will shed as large a 
proportion of the water which falls upon it as any other soil in the state. 
An immense quantity flows from above the highest level of the canal without 
any advantage to the canal. It is equally true that a much greater propor- 
tion of it could be utilized than actually finds its way into the canal — enough, 
certainly, to remove the question of the supply of water out of the discussion 
concerning the abandonment of the canal. 

The Loramie Reservoir — This body of water, covering at present but 
little over 2,000 acres of land, lies wholly in Shelby county, and although 
not one of the largest of the state reservoirs, nor the most important, still 
it is exceedingly valuable to successful navigation in the summer and early 
fall. The bottom of the reservoir is about eight feet above the summit- 
level of the canal. It is supplied by the drainage of about 65 or 70 square 
miles. Being near the water-shed, the surface from which water can be col- 
lected into the reservoir is limited, and less water comes from springs than 
would be the case in many other localities not so high. While the main reli- 
ance is on drainage from a limited surface, still such is the nature of the sur- 
face-soil, that a much larger proportion of the water falls upon the surface 
runs off at once than would run from soil of a more porous character, or 
one underlaid by large beds of clean gravel, or sand, or porous rock. The 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 67 

construction of roads, drains, and ditches, as well as the clearing away of the 
timber and the cultivation of the soil, cause a more rapid flowing away of 
the water which falls upon the surface. Formerly the reservoir received 
more water from the gradual draining of the surface; this maintained it 
at a good stage for a longer time, and enabled it to furnish a greater sup- 
ply during those months of the dry season when water is usually low in 
the canal. If the capacity of the reservoir could be increased so as to hold 
more of the water which falls in the winter months, its usefulness might 
be greatly increased, for instead of being maintained in good stage until 
late in the summer by the gradual running out of the water from the exten- 
sive swamps of an early day, it is now filled up by the rapid surface drain- 
age, and to furnish as much water when most wanted, must have a capacity 
to hold at once all that comes into it in the winter and spring. In 2,000 
acres of land there are 87,120,000 scpiare feet. If it is filled, during the 
year, with eight feet in depth of water, there would be 696,960,000 cubic 
feet; allowing that one-half is lost by evaporation, soakage, and waste from 
imperfect bulkheads, there would remain 348,480,000 cubic feet for the uses 
of the canal — enough to luck clown, with the present size of locks, 80 boats 
from the summit level every clay of the year. With 65 square miles of drain- 
age, from which the reservoir must receive its supply, how much of the 
forty inches annual rain-fall would be necessary to furnish this amount? 
Less than five inches. A much larger proportion of the 40 inches than this 
certainly flows from the surface of the ground. 

It is but justice to the people of the county to call attention to some facts 
connected with the history and present condition of Loramie reservoir. As 
it is, the people of the county do not feel kindly disposed toward it. The 
ground covered by the water of this reservoir was covered in part by the 
original forest when it was constructed. The forest was not removed, but 
the trees surrounded by water died, and in the course of time fell down, and 
now lie in great numbers beneath the water when the water is high, and 
partly out of it when the water is low. This exposure of the timber to the 
air in the late summer and the autumn months causes, it is believed, the 
generation of a miasm which pervades the whole region, rendering it 
unhealthy. The exposure of the logs to the atmosphere, it is believed, also, 
has been the cause of the destruction of many tons of fine fish during the 
past two seasons. It seems, and who will not say with justice, to the peo- 
ple of the county, that the state should do something to remedy the evils 
which they suffer from the causes just mentioned. They think that the 
reservoir should be an attractive rather than a repulsive body of water, that 
it should be a benefit rather than an injury to the interests of the county. 
Now. when it is borne in mind that there are hundreds of thousands of 
cubic feet of logs and other sediment in the reservoir, and that all dis- 
places as many cubic feet of water, it is after all a question worthy to be 
considered, whether it would not be economy to remove all this rubbish to 
have its room occupied by water every year. How many hundred, perhaps 
thousand, times would the water-soaked forest which lies beneath the reser- 



68 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

voir, with the other vast accumulations of vegetable matter and mud, fill 
one of the locks of the canal? This would be the measure of gain each year 
resulting from the removal of all this material from the reservoir — for 
every lock-full of logs a lock-full of water would be gained. This would 
remove a nuisance from the county, and in some degree compensate for the 
withdrawal of so large an area of land from cultivation, from improvement, 
from tax paying. The importance of the reservoirs of the state as sources 
of supply of fish, deserves to be mentioned here; not only the actual amount 
of fish for the table to be procured from them, but as sources from which 
the waters of the state may be restocked and kept supplied with young 
fish. The reservoirs are at the bead-waters of our principal rivers, and, 
with the present knowledge of artificial fish-breeding, could be made of 
immense value to the state as sources of supply of fish for the rivers of the 
state. 

The amount of water which could be made available for the canal depends 
upon the area of land which is above the level of the canal. All that part of 
the county, embracing about nine townships, which lies on the east and 
northeast of the main canal, and west and northwest of the Sidney feeder, 
is above the highest "level" of the canal — it will average about 75 feet above 
the canal. Of course it would be possible to gather many times more water 
from this area than could be contained in Loramie reservoir. While all this 
area could not be made available, yet there must be much of it which could 
be, were it considered a matter of sufficient importance to have it done. 
Considering, then, alone, the great area, both in this county and in the 
counties above this, about the head-waters of the Miami river, there should 
be ii" question as to the abundance of the supply of water above the summit- 
level of the canal to continue it as one of the most important avenues of 
commerce of the state. 

The Drift — The level of the canal at Sidney is about 30 feet above the 
rock surface. Add to this distance the ascertained elevation above the canal 
of any point in the count}-, and it will give approximately the thickness of 
the drift or clay, gravel, and bowlder deposits. This would make the 
greatest thickness of the drift on the Taw aw a turnpike 104 feet above bedded 
ruck. Within about two miles of Sidney, on the turnpike to St. Marys. 
the elevation measures iij feet above the canal at Sidney. Add to this 
30 feet and we have 142. which may be very confidently considered the 
depth of the drift at this place. It is true these figures may not be the exact 
measure of the distance from the surface down to the solid rock. Other 
formations which are known to occur north of this county, and which oxer- 
lie the formation which occurs here, may underlie the deep drift of the 
northern part of this county, but this not not certainly known to be the 
case. On the south, at the line between this and Miami county, on the 
Infirmary turnpike, the grade falls 40 feet below the level of the canal, 
which is ten feet lower than the top of the rock mar Sidney. By the course 
of the river it will be seen that there is a dip on the surface of the rock as 
we go southward. The canal rises 152 feet from Tippecanoe (below Lock 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 69 

39) to the feeder at Sidney. While accurate measurements were not taken 
of the difference in elevation of the top of the Clinton stone in the neighbor- 
hood of Tippecanoe, and the surface of the canal, yet some measurements 
which I recorded make the distance about do feet. Taking this from 152 
makes this formation about 92 feet at Tippecanoe below the level of the 
Sidney feeder; whereas the top of the Clinton, where this formation is last 
seen above Bogg's mill-seat, near the end of the bridge over the river, as 
before stated, is near 60 feet below the canal, these figures would give to the 
Clinton a rise in level with the horizon of about 30 feet in that distance. 

The surface of bedded rock underlying the drift in Shelby county is 
doubtless worn unevenly, in some places rising above the level indicated 
by the top rock, on the .Miami, below Sidney, 111 others sinking more or 
less below that level — perhaps, in places, greatly below. 

Rising sometimes to 164 feet, maintained generally at a level ranging 
from figures but a little lower than this, down to 75 feet (seldom going 
lower), we may conclude that there is an average depth of drift in the county 
of 100 feet. This depth of drift is not equaled in any of the counties 
which lie south of this. We are here on the line which bounds the deep 
drift on the south. 

The opportunities to ascertain the nature of the drift are numerous in 
the excavations made in constructing the canal and railroads, especially the 
Indianapolis and Belief ontaine branch of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincin- 
nati, and Indianapolis railroad, which runs at a considerably lower level 
than the Dayton and Michigan road, which runs through the county in a 
north and south direction. At the point where the east and west road runs 
below the track of the Dayton and Michigan, on the western border of 
Sidney, a good opportunity is afforded of seeing the nature of the drift for 
a distance of 30 or 40 feet below the surface. About one mile east of the 
bridge over the river, on this road, is a still deeper cut. There is little 
stratification observed in the deposit as seen through these deep cuts. Sand 
arid gravel largely predominate in the composition of the drift as seen here, 
mixed with clay and numerous granitic or quartz bowlders, varying in size 
from mere pebbles to masses containing from 10 to 20 cubic feet. The 
gravel, sand, and bowlders are distributed through the clay, and all are 
lying in confusion. It seems to me safe to say that fully 25 feet in thickness 
of clear gravel, were it separated from the clay, would be found in the drift 
throughout this county — a quantity so inconceivably great that I will not 
undertake to express it in figures, more than to say that it would yield 
25,000,000 cubic yards to the square mile. But this gravel is too much com- 
mingled with clay to make it available, in general, for ballasting or road- 
making, and with all this the county is not abundantly supplied with good 
gravel for such uses, well distributed in different localities. Enough has, 
however, been found to construct a system of free turnpikes not surpassed, 
in extent or excellence, by those of any county of similar size and situation 
in the state, although the material has had to be hauled, in some instances, 
for inconvenient distances. I will make special mention of one of the roads, 



70 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

constructed by Mr. D. W. Pampell as engineer — I refer to the one called at 
Sidney "the St. Marys road," on the line of an old road formerly projected 
to connect Sidney with the town of St. Marys. This road, of excellent 
width, careful and full grading, and well graveled, is carried on a perfectly 
straight line for a distance which falls short by but a few rods of 13 miles, 
wholly in this county. The numerous excellent roads which have been 
recently constructed through all portions of the county must have an impor- 
tant influence on its future development. 

The total number of miles of turnpike roads in Shelby county, at the 
present time is 159, of which only 18 miles are toll-roads. The free turn- 
pikes extend to all parts of the county and intersect nearly every important 
neighborhood, and are the means of the development now seen in progress 
of the material, moral, and intellectual interests of the county. The cost of 
these roads I ascertained, from the county auditor, Mr. Guthrie, who kindly 
furnished me with the statement, to be about $4,000 per mile, or an aggre- 
gate of $564,000 for the 141 miles of free turnpike road within the county. 
While there has been found an abundance of gravel for these roads, it has 
not always been convenient, and the distance it has been necessary to haul 
it has enhanced the cost considerably. But for this expense the people 
of the county have obtained good roads, carefully laid out, and well graded 
and drained. 

"Washed Gravel — Wherever the drift has been .washed into troughs or 
vallevs, more or less gravel has been deposited in beds, generally at the junc- 
tion of two such valleys. Usually these depressions are far from any water- 
course that could in the least affect them at present. They are on the higher 
levels where no streams of water exist now, and show the effect of the 
washing of the water which once covered over the whole surface as it ebbed 
and flowed when it was gradually subsiding, or they are more visibly related 
to the water-course of to-day and serve to mark the stations where the water 
stood successively during the time in which the deep valleys, in which the 
streams now flow, were being excavated. In this county, the gravel of the 
higher beds is less abundant, is not so coarse or so free from clay. This 
must have resulted from the condition of the higher deposits of the drift, 
in which a gravel of a smaller grain was found; as if there had been coarser 
«ravel in this portion of the drift, not it, but the finer, would have been the 
sooner washed onward, and the coarser would have been left in the higher 
beds. Above and separated from the portion of the valleys of the water- 
courses, particularly of the river, affected by the action of the water at any 
stage, at the present time, are some fine beds of washed gravel, showing 
the effect of moving water in varying circumstances of force and velocity. 
Near Port Jefferson is the best example of gravel beds of this description 
in the county. It occurs at the junction of two valleys now threaded by two 
brooks, the shrunken successors of broad streams of former remote ages. 
Here are the wide channels which they cut, wide compared with the small 
paths of the creeks which now meander by a struggling course to reach the 
river channel. At the point of land where these two waters joined, and 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 71 

where their streams mingled with that of the Miami, is a grand deposit of 
alternating layers of gravel and sand, heaped up 30 or 40 feet deep and 
exposed now, by the removal of the extreme point to a width of about 100 
feet. When one or the other, or both, the streams which excavated the 
unequal channels (for one greatly exceeds the other in magnitude) which 
join at this point, were swollen and were carrying onward a load of sand 
and gravel, as well as clay, and meeting here, and one spreading over the 
valley of the other, if unswollen, or both widening as they entered the broad 
valley of the river and losing a part of their momentum and carrying 
power, they deposited a portion of their freight at the point of junction 
where the rapidity of the current was first checked. In these strata can be 
read the history of the currents which flowed here, and left their records, 
not in rocks, but in sands. There is first, in nearly horizontal layers, a suc- 
cession of strata composed of clean gravel (the lowest exposed at the time of 
my visit, the lower had been covered previously), then one of coarse, gray 
sand ; another next of fine sand ; then ten feet of sand finely stratified ; then 
to the top alternating layers of gravel and sand. After these layers now 
referred to were deposited, another deposit of clean gravel was made, not 
parallel with these, but covering the ends of all of them from the highest 
to the lowest. I will simply refer to another deposit of gravel, near the 
south end of the iron bridge over the river south of Sidney. This large 
accumulation is less available for road-making than it would have been had 
it not become so cemented together by a deposit of carbonate of lime. I dis- 
tinguished from these beds of gravel that large accumulation, at a lower 
level, and underlying the "river bottom." or the "second bottom," exemplified 
by an accumulation of clean sand, used for building purposes, just below 
the west end of the railroad bridge, east of Sidney, over the Miami river,' 
and perhaps underlying more or less the town of Sidney. 

The broad excavation made by the Miami river through the drift of this 
county and the counties above, lias exposed to the transporting action of 
water countless thousands of perches of sand and gravel which have been 
removed down the course of this river, and even into the Ohio and far 
down it, strewing its beaches with these materials so useful to man. Per- 
haps no water-course in the state has borne so much sand and gravel along 
its course and lodged it in places where it is accessible to man. This is a 
striking peculiarity of the Miami river; its broad terraces are underlain 
with a bed of the cleanest, finest gravel for road-making in quantities prac- 
tically inexhaustible. I have but to cite the immense deposits beneath the 
alluvium at Middletown, on both sides of the river at Hamilton, and indeed 
along its whole course, culminating in that bed at Harrison junction, cut 
and exposed by the Indianapolis and Cincinnati railroad. 

Bowlders — while the transported rocks do not constitute a marked 
feature in Shelby county, still there are many of them. ' The largest bowlder, 
however, that has yet come under my observation in the state lies near the 



72 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

railroad, one mile east of Sidney. It contains 1,250 cubic feet, and weighs 
about 103 tuns. 

******* 

Remains of Human Art — I did not see as many flint and stone imple- 
ments among the people in this county as I have in some others, though 
such articles are not uncommon even here. There may be ancient mounds 
in the county, though I did not see any. Along the Miami river and other 
water-courses are localities where a variety of flint arrow-points and spear- 
points in considerable numbers have from time to time been found, though 
but tew seem to have been preserved. Other classes of implements, as stone 
hammers and pestles, seem not to be common, and I did not see any place 
where indications were found which would lead any one to suppose that 
these or other implements had been manufactured there. The most favored 
localities for arrow-points are along the water-courses and on the highest 
points in the county. But the larger number are found on the river and its 
tributaries. It is worth remark that the indications in the position of the 
flints do not point to an extreme antiquity as the lime of their manufacture. 
There are many places along our larger water-courses in the west where 
extensive manufactories of arrow-points, stone axes, and pestles, etc., have 
existed, and where pottery ware has been manufactured and burned. These 
localities have never before been disturbed by the inroads of the rivers, but 
are now being undermined and washed down for the first time. The imple- 
ments in all stages of manufacture are found in great numbers; old bark 
peelers and pestles, which had been injured by use, or from some fault in 
original construction did not give satisfaction, were undergoing repair or 
remodeling; heaps of chips are found, and great numbers of lap-stones. 
hammers in connection with hearths, and remains of fire together with 
crockery, are found in these localities at no great depth below the present 
surface of the soil, where overflows are still a common occurrence. A very 
remote antiquity could not be ascribed to these remains of human art and 
industry from anything in their situation. In the course of a few centuries 
the rivers in the secular oscillations which they execute from bank to bank. 
a result of laws in constant operation, must disturb and redistribute, by the 
constant eating away of the lunik, the whole of the alluvial deposit near its 
own level. Nothing is more constant, nothing more certain than the wear 
of an abrupt alluvial bank during high water, with a regularity which admits 
of calculation. The great number of such stone-tool manufactories, which 
are now disclosed along the course of the Ohio river, afford evidence that 
their age was not far back in gray antiquity. A few banks that are now 
crumbling might have escaped the erosion of the surging waters for a very 
long period ; but it is incredible that so many as are now delivering up their 
relics of human art. their evidences of human industry and ingenuity, 
places in which for the first time since the ancient workman finally laid down 
his tools or kindled his fire upon his well-made hearth of bowlder pebbles. 
for the last time, should have escaped for indefinite ages just such action of 
the water as they are now yielding to. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 73 

Remains of Extinct Animals — A few bones of animals not now found 
in the state — as a few teeth of the beaver, and portions of the antlers of 
one or two elk, and some reports of discoveries of mammoth or mastodon 
remains — were all that came to my knowledge of fossils of this character. 
We may be prepared to hear of the discovery of such fossils in the peat 
beds, if they are ever much worked. Peat seems to possess the property of 
preserving the bodies of animals which become mired in it. 

Bedded Stone — We come now to speak of the underlying consolidated 
strata which are exposed within the county. The only bedded stone found 
within Shelby county, lies in a narrow strip bordering the river, extending 
from the southern boundary of the county to within a mile of the town of 
Sidney. From the county line to a locality known as Boggs' Mill, wherever 
stone is seen in situ, it belongs to the formation called by geologists the 
Clinton. It is the stone which immediately underlies the building stone in 
the suburbs of Piqua, in Miami county, and which is burned into lime so 
extensively just south of that town. It possesses, in the locality in Shelby 
county referred to. all the characteristics by which the stone of this forma- 
tion is so surely detected. The physical characteristics of being unevenly 
bedded, highly crystallized, of sandy texture, and of a rust color from the 
presence of iron, and withal a hard stone, here show themselves. The fossils 
common to the Clinton in the vicinity of Piqua, are here abundantly seen — 
Halysites catenulata, Stromatopora, Asyrinyipora. and some species of Fovo- 
sitcs. These were exposed on the surface. No fossil shells were to be 
seen. Fragments of crinoid stems seemed to compose a considerable por- 
tion of the rock, and several species of Fenestella abounded. This forma- 
tion has never been quarried here, apparently, for any economical purpose. 
It is in the neighborhood of an excellent limestone belonging higher up, and 
which furnishes lime of the first quality. The Clinton formation furnishes 
no good building stone in this part of the state, and, while it makes the 
strongest kind of lime, it is hard to burn, and heats greatly in slaking, and 
sets rapidly when mixed. It is highly esteemed in paper-mills, where a 
strong lime is desired, as it more readily softens the material used in the 
manufacture of paper. 

The next formation ascending, is that known as the Niagara. It is not 
seen here in actual contact with the preceding, as the exposure is not continu- 
ous; but within about a mile of the river, an outcrop of stone is observed 
nn and near the banks of the river. A casual examination shows that a 
great change has taken place in the character of the stone. We have not 
only passed to a new formation, but into the upper strata of it. The stone 
is neither well stratified nor compact, and not suitable for building pur- 
poses. It is porous, comparatively soft, and very fossiliferous, and of a 
light blue color. It is burned here into an excellent lime, known locally 
as the Pontiac lime. The strata of the Niagara, so much prized for building 
purposes, found at Piqua, and also those found at Covington, Miami county, 
belong below this horizon. The superposition of this quality of stone upon 
that of the Covington quarries, is ocularly demonstrated on the Stillwater. 



74 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

This river rises gradually up to the level of and ahove the stone of the Cov- 
ington quarries ahove Covington. At the village of Clayton, on the Still- 
water, about two miles north of Covington, the hanks of the river are formed 
of the same strata as those from which the Pontiac lime is made, within 
about a mile of the last exposure of the Clinton, on the Great Miami. The 
last exposure of the Clinton on the Stillwater, is several miles south of Cov- 
ington ; and a familiar example of the Clinton stone may be given in the 
falls of the Panther creek. It will be seen that all that thickness of building 
stone about the town of Covington, and exhibited so well at the falls of 
Greenville creek, as well as that of the Piqua quarries, belongs above the 
Clinton and below the strata which first appear above it on the Miami, near 
where the "Pontiac" lime-kilns are situated. The inference follows, that if 
there is any good building stone within Shelby county, it will be found 
somewhere between Bogg's mill-seat and the Pontiac lime-kilns. The short- 
ness of the distance, together with the slight fall in the river, would pre- 
clude the existence of any extensive strata in this locality. There may exist 
here a few feet of evenly layered rock, corresponding with the upper layers 
of the Covington stone; but the hope of very much good stone, even if any 
is found, is too slight to encourage much expense in searching for it. It 
will be thus seen that the Niagara thins out in this direction, especially the 
lower strata, while the upper strata maintain a considerable thickness. Indeed, 
it is possible that the upper strata of the Niagara lie here immediately upon 
the Clinton. The thickness of the strata is not known with certainty, but 
can be approximately made out. The Pontiac limestone is but little, if any, 
above the surface of water in the river in its lower layers, and a mile south 
of Sidney the top of it is about 25 feet above the water. With a fall of 50 
feet in that distance, there would be a thickness of 75 feet of this quality 
of limestone. I think there is as much as this. We do not know that this 
is its greatest thickness, for it may rise higher under the drift in some 
places. It is a soft stone, and has, no doubt, been ploughed down by the 
forces which deposited the drift. It would not retain any marks of wearing 
forces on its surface. Although not valuable for building purposes, it con- 
tains an inexhaustible store of the best quality of lime. The lime manufac- 
tured from this stone is of a pure white when slaked, and is suitable for all 
purposes for which lime is used. From a previous volume of this Survey 
(1870, p. 449) I make an extract, showing the composition of the limestone 
taken from one of the quarries of this county. I will add the remark, that 
the locality from which the specimen submitted to examination was taken, 
is about midway between the lowest and the highest strata. I will say also, 
that from the appearance of the weathered surfaces of the stone at Dugan's 
quarries, I concluded that there was a larger quantity of oxide of iron in 
the stone of this locality, than would be found either above or below, espe- 
cially below. The rusty color indicated the presence of iron. From the 
porous nature of the stone, I supposed the iron may have been filtered out of 





of iron 




nesia 


Total 


trace. 


I.60 


55-oo 


42.92 


99-52 


.20 


•5° 


5440 


44,S8 


99.68 


.10 


1.70 


55- 10 


43-05 


99-95 


.10 


.20 


54-70 


44-93 


99-93 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 75 

water which lias run through it. There was an entire absence of that rust 
color in the Pontiac quarry, and the same might be said of the quarries 
near Sidney. 

Silicious Alumina and Carbonate Carbonate 
matter sesquioxide of lime of mag- 

Niagara, Sidney, Dugan's, 
Niagara, Sidney, Dugan's 
Holcomb's limestone, Spg'fTd 
Frey's limestone, Springfield 

It will be seen that there is little to choose between the best Springfield 
lime and the Shelby county lime. The former is a little nearer the best 
markets in Ohio, and enjoys the additional advantage of the competition of 
several independent lines of railroads leading to the best markets. The 
Shelby county lime could perhaps be burned a little cheaper on account of the 
lower price of fuel, but not enough so to overcome the disadvantage before 
referred to. When it shall be burned more extensively, which will be done 
when it can find a market at less expense of freight, it will become an import- 
ant article of commerce between this county and other places. 

PHYSICAL FEATURES 

The county comprises an area of 413 square miles, or more than 256,000 
acres. The soil is varied in character, but extremely fertile throughout the 
county. The county is bounded north by Auglaize, east by Logan and Cham- 
paign, south by Miami, and west by Darke and Auglaize counties. For the 
most part the surface may be called level, although the southern part and the 
lands adjacent to the Miami river and Loramie creek partake of a rolling 
character, sometimes deserving to be called hilly. The altitude is such that 
Lockington, within the county, marks the summit of the Miami and Erie 
canal, the waters from the Miami feeder being here diverted to both the 
north and south. The natural water-shed, however, is deflected southward 
for the whole county, for all natural streams find a final outlet through the 
Great Miami, which enters the county from the east and flowing to the south- 
west, crosses the line to immediately receive the waters of Loramie creek, 
which carries the drainage of the whole west side of the county. Owing to 
these larger streams and their smaller tributaries the drainage of the county 
is effected without great difficulty, although necessarily extensive. That 
artificial drainage is still carrying forward, but is so far complete as to 
reduce that which is yet to do to the level of mere auxiliary work. This is 
viewing the county as a whole, for when viewed by localities there will be 
found sections still calling for not the spade and tile alone, but for the axe 
as well. This applies perhaps more particularly to the northeast corner of the 
county, comprising a large fraction of Jackson township. Still a few years 
more will develop a system of drainage for the whole area, not only compre- 
hensive, but also perfect. Of the streams, the Great Miami river and Loramie 
creek are the most important. In addition to these as contributing to the drain- 



76 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

age must he mentioned Muchanippi, Turtle, Tawawa, Rusli, Nine Mile, 
Brush, and Turkey Foot creeks, as well as Panther Run and Count's Run. 

The Miami and Erie canal crosses the county from south to north, and 
affords shipping' facilities to several inland towns. The soil throughout the 
county, although diversified in character, may be classed as fertile, as will 
be shown by agricultural statistics. 

In 191 1 the acres owned were 215,224; the numbers of acres cultivated, 
140,208; acres in pasture, 45,744; in woodland, 20.305; lying waste, 8,957. 

Wheat produced in ign, 36,503 bushels; rye. 6,213; oats > I .334»78o; 
winter barley, 2,420: spring barley. 2,341; shelled corn, 1,677,630; broom 
corn, 3.000; sugar corn, 47 tons; tomatoes, 810 bushels; Irish potatoes, 55,765 
bushels; sweet potatoes, [40; hay. 10.480 tons; clover. 8.726 tons; Alfalfa, 
281 tons; tobacco, 133,650 pounds: butter. 29,220 pounds; eggs, 1,099,109 
dozens; eggs shipped out of state. 83.570 dozens; sorghum, 1,964 gallons; 
maple syrup. 463 gallons; honey, 1,848 pounds; apples. 176,078 bushels; 
peaches, 1,885 bushels; pears. 6,660 bushels: cherries, 954 bushels; plums, 
[,683 bushels; number of horses owned, 8,509; beef cattle, 135; milch cows, 
8,513; all other, 4,856; sheep, 5.120; hogs. 18,231; wool, pounds shorn, 
28,934. In 1S25 the number of horses in the county were 535, cattle 1,004, 
owned by 493 individuals. 



CHAPTER VI 

ORGANIZATION OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Date of Organization — Naming of the Comity — Selection of County Scat — • 
Organization of Townships — Extracts from Commissioners' Journal — 
Court Minutes — Early Marriages — Pioneer Conditions — Land Entries — 
Population — Political' Parlies — County Officials. 

Shelln- county was formed from Miami in 1819, and was named for 
Gen. Isaac Shelliy, an officer of the Revolution, who, in 179-', when Kentucky 
was admitted into the Union, was almost unanimously elected its first gover- 
nor. Miami county, including Shelby, was a part of Montgomery county until 
January 16, 1807. When Shelby was formed from Miami county, it included 
Auglaize and Allen counties, which were subsequently detached. Allen county 
in 1831, and Auglaize in [848. The population increased rapidly and on 
May 17, 1819, a court of common pleas convened in Hardin,* which was con- 
ducted by the lion. Joseph H. Crane, of Dayton, as presiding judge, and 
Robert Houston, Samuel Marshall and William Cecil, associate judges. Har- 
vey I!. Foote was appointed clerk of court and Henry Bacon, prosecuting 
attorney and. at this time, the first grand jury was called and reported. The 
term adjourned December 14th, and this sealed the doom of Hardin as a seat 
of justice, for the next term of court was held in Sidney, -with the same 
judicial executive and clerical officers, on April 24, 1820. 

A hoard of commissioners convened at Hardin on June 17, 1819, con- 
sisting of Robert McClure, William Berry and John Wilson, with David 
Henry as clerk of hoard, and James Lenox, treasurer of the county. They 
entered at once upon their respective duties. Archibald Defreer was appointed 
collector. On June 12th the bonds of John Craig, as coroner, and Daniel V. 
Dingman, as sheriff, were accepted and' after some routine business the board 
adjourned to September 2d. and Shelby county, armed and equipped, started 
on its full-Hedged career and has been in motion ever since. The epitaph on 
a dav-old baby's tombstone might appropriately be applied to Hardin: 

"Since so soon I am done for, 
I wonder what I was begun for;" 

but everything has to have a beginning and Hardin, the peaceful hamlet on 
the Indian trail portage, between the Miami and Maumee rivers, was a suit- 
able place as a starter. 

* Named for Col. Hardin, of Kentucky, who was killed by Indians there. 

77 



78 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

A permanent location for the county seat was sought and the general 
assembly of Ohio appointed Thomas Van Horn and James Steele to view 
the different sites and make a report. After an extensive looking-over of 
sites, they settled upon Sidney, five miles east of Hardin, on the beautiful 
Miami, and named in honor of Sir Philip Sidney. Their report was as 
follows : 

To the Honorable the Court of Common Pleas of Shelby County. 

The undersigned commissioners appointed by the legislature of Ohio at 
their last session, to fix on the most eligible site for the seat of justice for the 
county of Shelby, met at the town of Hardin, in said county, on the 22d 
inst., agreeable to appointment — previous notice having been given as the 
law directs, said notice being acknowledged and having been duly qualified 
— proceeded to examine the different sites pointed out by the inhabitants of 
said county; and after traversing the county to ascertain the most proper 
place, have selected part of a fraction number 36 in township 8, range 6, west 
of the Great Miami river, belonging to Charles Sterrett; commencing at a 
creek or run of water southeastward^ of a house in said fraction, occupied 
by a Mr. Cannon, running east of north with the bank, and westwardly for 
the quantity of seventy acres, offered as a donation by the said Charles Ster- 
rett. as will appear by the inclosed bond, proposal, etc. 

Signed, Thomas B. Van Horn, 



hies Steele. 



Dayton. September 26, 1819. 



The donation referred to in this report is fully explained by the sub- 
joined article of agreement, made by Charles Sterrett, proprietor of the plat 
chosen as the site of the county seat : 

I, the undersigned subscriber, proprietor of fraction No. 36, in township 
eight, range six, east of the meridian line, and on the west bank of the Great 
Miami river, do make a donation to the commissioners of Shelby county of 
seventy acres of land, for the use and benefit of said county, on any part of 
the above-named tract of land that the commissioners appointed by the legis- 
lature see proper to locate the seat of justice for said county; provided the 
commissioners for fixing the said seat of justice see proper to fix said seat 
permanently in said fraction; provided that I do receive one-half of the pro- 
ceeds of the sales of the lots after the said county commissioners locate, lay 
off, and sell the lots which may he laid off on said donatii >n. 

September 24. rSicj. Charles Sterrett. 

X. li. I also bind myself to give the privilege of all the springs within 
the bounds of said fraction as above described, for the use of the town, and 
the privilege of conveyance to the town. C. S. 

Reserve Clause 

I, the said Charles Sterrett, do make the following reserves out of the 
seventy acres proposed to the commissioners for the seat of justice for the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 79 

county of Shelby to wit: One acre for the public square; two half acres 
for two different denominations of religious societies; one acre for each of 
two different denominations of religious societies for graveyards; and one 
acre for use of schools. 

Charles Stekrett. 
Robert McClure, 
John Wilson. 
Wm. Berry, 

Commissioners. 

In accordance with the provisions of the articles of donation, Charles 
Sterrett executed to the commissioners a bond in the sum of $3,000, dated 
September 25, 18 19. 

In consideration of securing the seat of justice at Sidney other donations 
than that of the proprietor were made by several citizens, who were favor- 
able to the project. These are exhibited by the following certified agreement : 

We the undersigned bind ourselves to the county commissioners of Shelby 
county, to pay the several sums annexed to our names, provided the seat of 
justice for the county of Shelby is established on the above tract of land as 
described, and the conditions as above are complied with : 

D. Henry $-'0 00 

Wm. Richardson 20 00 

Peter Musselman, in plank 50 00 

George Chiles, in plank 20 00 

Wm. Robinson 10 00 

, Samuel Marrs, in carpenter work 20 00 

Francis Rorack, one barrel of whiskey 

Otho White 10 00 

Charles Johnson 25 OO 

lolm Johnson 20 00 

John Gilbert 10 00 

Arch. Defrees 3° °° 

Thomas W. Ruckman, in sawing 50 00 

Isaac Parks 5° °° 

Benj. Brandon 5° °° 

Alex. McClintock • 100 00 

Edu arcl Jackson 50 OO 

Wni. Marrs subscribes his big bull, price untold 

Rodham Talbott 20 00 

George Pool 10 00 

Wm. Johnston 5° °° 

John Lenox 75 00 

State of Ohio, Shelby County, ss. December Term, 1819. 

The court appoints David Henry director of the town of Sidney, to 
be laid off upon the ground selected by the commissioners, for the seat of 



80 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

justice of Shelby county, who gave bond with Rodham Talbott, Edward 
Jackson, and Thomas \Y. Ruckman, his sureties, in the sum of $6,000. The 
court further order that the director proceed to lay off a town upon the 
premises aforesaid in lots of five rods by ten. in blocks of eight lots each, 
with alleys one rod in width, running through the center of each block at 
right angles with each other and with the streets; the alleys to divide the 
blocks into four equal parts. The streets be laid out six rods in width, and 
that a public square be laid out in said town by striking out the center block 
of lots. 

That the director, as soon as the said town shall be laid out, shall, after 
giving one month's notice thereof, in six of the most public places in this 
county, and in the Gazette, printed in Dayton, shall proceed to sell at public 
sale one-third of said lots upon the following terms, to wit: 

One-fourth in ninety days; one-fourth in nine months; and one-fourth 
in fifteen months, and the residue in two years; to be secured by a lien upon 
the lots, until the whole shall lie paid; reserving one lot upon or adjacent to 
the public square, to he selected by the commissioners, for the purpose of 
erecting temporary buildings for the county. 

1 certifv that the above is a true copy of the minutes of the court. 

Harvey B. Foote, Clerk. 

In accordance with the instructions of the court, the director of the town 
procured the survey of the plat by Benjamin S. Cox, who, after making 
the survey, submitted the following report: 

Survey of Sidney. 

I do hereby certify that, being called on by David Henry, Esq., director 
of the town nf Sidney, to survey said town plat, I executed the same under 
his directions, by running the exterior boundaries agreeably to the following 
courses and distance, to wit.: 

Beginning at a stake — the northwest corner of said town — standing four 
rods due south of the northern boundary line of the fraction witnessed by a 
small white oak standing north 7 cast. 7 links distant; then south 5 east. 
27 poles, to a stake in the cornfield; then south 85 west. _'<>'_> poles. t,> a 
stake witnessed by two small buckeyes; one bearing due north, at 6 links 
distance; the other south 47 1 _- west. () links also; thence south 5~ east. 108 
poles, to a stake — the southwest corner of said town plat — witnessed by a 
large blue ash tree standing north 64 west. S poles and H>'j links distant; 
thence north 85 cast. So poles, passing Abraham Cannon's house and corner- 
ing at a stake, the southeast corner of said town; said stake standing a few 
rods s,, u th of a run. and witnessed by a large blue ash standing south $&/> 
east, l8j4 links distant; thence north 5 west, Si pules, to a stake at the upper 
end of the cornfield; thence north S5 : east, 14!^ poles, to a stake standing 
22 links north of a large beech, and 34 links east of a smaller one; thence 
north 5 west, 27 poles, to a stake having for witnesses a blue ash, standing 
north 68° east, 21 links and a small buckeye, south 55° west, 12 links distant; 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 81 

thence north 85 east, 1334 poles, to a stake witnessed by a large white oak 
standing south 75 ° east, 4 links and a blue ash north 82 ° west, 17 links dis- 
tant; thence north 5 : west, 27 poles, to a stake — the northeast corner of said 
town — witnessed by a beech standing south 40 west, 271/ links distant; 
thence south 85 west, 81 54 poles, to the beginning: containing by calcula- 
tion 70 acres and 2534 poles. The above courses were run for a supposed true 
meridian, and at right angles to the same ; believing the true meridian, when 
running north, to be five degrees west of the magnetic one. 

In testimony of which, and for the truth of the above certificate, I here- 
unto affix my signature, this 24th day of February, 1820. 

Benjamin S. Cox, Surveyor. 

State of Ohio. Shelby Count}-, ss. : 

Personally appeared before me, a justice of the peace for said county, 
the above-named Benjamin S. Cox, who qualified the above town plat of 
the town of Sidney to lie a true survey made to the best of his ability. 

Given under mv hand and seal the 24th day of February, 1820. 

[Seal] D. Henry, J. P. 

The next action was an order of sale directed by the court to David 
Henry, director of Sidney, and providing as follows: 
State of Ohio, Shelby County, ss. Court of Common Pleas, April Term, 1820 : 

It is ordered by the court that the director of Sidney offer for sale at 
public vendue, giving one month's previous notice in six public places in the 
county and in the newspapers published at Troy, one-third of the lots now- 
remaining unsold in Sidney, on the following terms, viz. : One-fourth of 
the purchase-money in hand; one-fourth in nine. months; one-fourth in fifteen 
months; and the remaining fourth in two years; the purchaser giving bond 
and approved security for the payment of the last three instalments, and to 
receive from the director a certificate for the lot or lots purchased, stipulat- 
ing that a deed shall be executed on the completion of the payments; and the 
director is further authorized to dispose of at private sale any lots remain- 
ing unsold at the public sale hereby ordered in the terms prescribed by this 
order. 

I hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy from the minutes 
of the court. 

April 24, 1820. Harvey B. Foote, Clerk C. C. P. S. C. 

The State of Ohio, Shelby County, ss. September Term, 1820. 

The director of Sidney having represented to the court that certain lots 
in said town, ordered to be sold in December term last, have reverted to the 
county, in consequence of the failure of the purchasers to comply with the 
terms of sale, it is, therefore, ordered by the court that the director sell the 
said lots which have so reverted on the follow ing terms, viz. : One-fourth 
of the purchase-money in hand; one-fourth thereof in nine months; one- 
fourth in fifteen months; and the remaining fourth part in two years from 
the day of sale. The purchaser giving bond and approved security for the 



82 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

payment of the last three instalments, and to receive from the director a 
certificate for the lot or lots purchased, stipulating that a deed shall be executed 
to the purchaser, his heirs, or assigns, on the completion of the payments. 
The said sale to take place on the 6th instant, public notice having been given 
thereof heretofore in the newspapers printed at Picjua; and the director is 
further authorized to dispose of at private sale any of the said lots remaining 
unsold at the public sale hereby ordered in the terms prescribed by this order. 
I hereby certify that the above is a true copy of the minutes in my office 
this sixth day of September, 1820. 

H. B. Foote, Clerk, C. C. P. S. C. 

To the director of the town of Sidney. 

In pursuance of these instructions, the director offered the designated 
lots for sale; after which he submitted the subjoined statement in account 
w ith the county : 

David Henry, Director of Sidney, in Account with Shelby County: 

1 820 Dr. Cr. 

March, June and September sales: By receipts in bundle 

To«his receipts for moneys No. 1 $2,437 69 

received for lots sold at r>v lots 13, 88, and 91, 

different times, and to 'forfeited 18506^ 

different persons . . . .$3,094 25 Bv notes due 53 g g6 y A 

To lot No. V 25 00 B accounts not due _ 

\\ m. I- elding . . 



To lot No. 
To lot No. 98. 
To lot No. 104 
To lot No 



25 


00 


50 


00 


2 3 


69/2 


25 


00 


50 


00 


100 


00 


no 


00 


36 


5° 


37 


5° 



E. Evans 
B. Mapes 



To lot no. 81 100 00 2 a ? 1 i 5 1 1 J Io r ,ns 

To lot No. 32 1 10 00 T - W - Ruckman 

To lot \ T o. 53 36 50 B y orders 

To lot Xo. 93. . . . 



60 


00 


137-50 


25 


00 


36 


5° 


37 
101 


50 
85^ 



$3,560 07 

$3,551 94H Balance $8 i2# 

( Conditions of a Supplemental Sale of Lots in the Town of Sidney. 

The conditions of the sale of lots to be sold this day in Sidney, agree- 
able to an order of the court of common pleas for Shelby county, last term : 

Article rst. The highest bidder is to be the buyer. 

Article 2d. The purchaser agrees to pay one-third of the purchase- 
monev in hand: one other third part in six months: and the residue in one 
year from this date. 

Article 3d. On payment of the first third part, the purchaser will be 
entitled to a certificate, conditioned to make a deed, on completing the above 
payments, at the end of one year, as aforesaid: still it is fairly understood 
and agreed that if the purchaser, or his assigns, fails to make payment at 
the cud of one year, as aforesaid, then the lots thus sold is to revert back to 
the county, and money paid to forfeit. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 83 

Any person buying a lot, and not making the first payment on this day, 
shall forfeit ten per cent, for disappointment, and lose their bid. 

June i, 1820. David Henry, Director. 

ORGANIZATION OF THE TOWNSHIPS 

Four townships in Shelby county retained the name and area when a part 
of Miami county. They are Clinton. Turtle creek, Cynthian and Loramie. 

Clinton, in which Sidney, the county seat, is situated, was reorganized 
by the commissioners in 1825. It is irregular in outline., being bounded on 
the south by the tortuous Miami river. 

Turtle creek township, named after a creek which traverses it, was reor- 
ganized in 1825. The Big Four railway is its southern boundary. Its cen- 
ter is the hamlet of Hardin, the seat of Justice in 1819, one year, and named 
after Mr. Hardin, who was killed by the Indians. 

Washington township was organized in 1825 under the name of Gray- 
son, but the name was soon changed. It was watered by the Loramie, Turtle 
creek and by the canal feeder. Its principal town is the village of Locking- 
tun through which runs the Western Ohio electric line. 

Loramie township was reorganized in 1825. It was named after Lora- 
mie, the French trader, who had a store at the mouth of the creek at Lock- 
ington as early as 1752. It contains four villages — Mt. Jefferson, Houston, 
North Houston and Russia. The last two are Big Four railway stations. 
The principal streams are the Loramie, the Nine-Mile run and the Miami and 
Erie canal. 

Cynthian township was reorganized in 1825. Newport is the only vil- 
lage. Its streams are the Loramie, Lick run and Lawrence run and the 
Miami canal. 

Orange township was organized in the year 1820 and is very fertile. It 
is bounded on the north by the Miami river. It has one village, Kirkwood, 
which is a station on the Dayton and Michigan railway. 

Green township has two small villages, Palestine and Plattsville, which 
were laid out in the early thirties. The name of Palestine has been changed 
to Tawawa. It is watered by Mosquito creek and the Leatherwood. 

Perry township was organized about 1824 and has a very productive 
soil. Pemberton, a small village, which is a station on the Big Four railway, 
seven miles east of Sidney, is its largest town. It is bounded on the north 
bv the Miami river 

The township of Salem was stricken from Perry in 1826. Port Jeffer- 
son, a pretty village, and being at the head of the feeder, nine miles in length, 
of the Miami and Erie canal had brilliant prospects before the day of rail- 
ways, but collapsed upon their advent. The Miami river runs through the 
town! The township has one other village, Maplewood, a station on the 
Lima and Northern railway. 

Dinsmore township was organized in 1832 and the board of commission- 
ers ordered the election to be held in the house of Joseph Green on Christ- 
mas day. The township contains the village of Botkins and one-half of 



84 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Anna, both flourishing towns on the Cincinnati and Dayton railway. The 
water courses are the Loramie and Hull's creeks. 

Jackson township was organized in 1833 and is one of the most fertile 
in the county. It contains the thriving village of Jackson Center, a railway 
station and the hamlet of Montra. 

McLean township was organized in 1834. It has a large German element 
of excellent farmers who vote wet when local option is before the people. 
McLean is watered by the Loramie which heads in Dinsmore township and 
contains Loramie reservoir of 6,000 acres. Being on the summit it is a 
feeder to the Miami and Erie canal. It also contains Mile creek and Second 
run. The land is very fertile 

Van Buren township was organized in 1834. Rumley was settled .by 
a colony of negroes but is now owned by white people. The land is very 
fertile and productive. 

Franklin township was organized in 1835 and contains one-half of the 
village" of Anna. The principal streams are Turtle creek and Plum creek. 

COURT HOUSE AND JAIL 

As soon as the first court of justice was established at Hardin in 1819 
in an old block house it was evident that a provision must be made for a 
suitable building. As the county seat was removed to Sidney after one year 
the county commissioners held a session February 1, 1820, and action was 
taken for" the erection of a court house and jail, the latter being necessary 
when the court found culprits guilty of criminal misdemeanors. 

The following plans were adopted and recorded : The court house to 
be of frame. 24 by 30 feet, roofed with joint shingles, and weatherboarded : 
two doors through the middle of the first story; four eighteen-pane windows; 
the story ten feet between floors; a place for two fireplaces six feet wide; 
second storv eight feet high with six fifteen-light windows; window frames 
and doors underpinned with stone eighteen inches above the ground. 

The jail was t<> he 16 by 18 feet, with two stories of seven feet between 
the floors, and to he built of timber 1 2 inches square, laid completely close. 

The first and second floors to be made of square timber, laid close, the 
same as the wall; one window. 18 inches square in each story, well grated 
with iron bars; one door in each story sufficientlv ironed and locked; third 
floor to be of hewed timber; roof of joint shingles ; a chimney at one end with 
a fireplace in each room. 

These building contracts were ordered to be sold in Sidney on the 22d 
of February. On June 16. 1821. an additional contract was sold to John 
Snvder for $130. 

On March 4. 1822, the commissioners convened at the new court house 
on Ohio avenue, west of the public square. 

This building served its purpose until 1831, when, on June 22, the com- 
missioners met for the purpose of adopting a plan for a new court house, 
to be built in the center of the public square. The building was to be of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 85 

brick 44 feet square and two stories high, and a belfry. The foundation was 
to be of stone, the lower story to have 16 windows of 15 lights each and the 
upper story 20 windows of 12 lights each, 12 by 16 inches in size. It was 
further ordered that the old court house be sold in May, 1832 and the pro- 
ceeds be applied to the new building. On July 25, 183 1, the contract was 
let to Charles Bush, William Dock and George D. Leckey. The building 
was completed and accepted March 30, 1833. 

The building, viewed in the light of the present day, as it was neither 
Ionic, Doric, Corinthian nor Composite, had all the artistic beauty of a 
store box, but it served for 50 years and the ablest legal arguments and 
most eloquent appeals and stirring political speeches ever made in Sidney 
were echoed from its walls. 

THE NEW COURT HOUSE 

For fifty years the squatty and inconvenient building in the public 
square had withstood storm and fire and flood and seemed to have a charmed 
hold on life unless human hands should remove the monstrosity which was 
devoid alike of beauty or utility. 

At the April election in 1880 the question of building a new court house 
was submitted to the people of the county and resulted in a vote of 2,024 
for it and 1.786 against the same. The old court house was then sold to 
the highest bidder, which was $295, he to remove the building by March 
10, 1881. 

On August 14, 1880, the board of commissioners, consisting of John E. 
Bush, Christian Kingseed and John Linker entered into .a contract with 
G. H. Maetzel. architect, of Columbus, to furnish plans, specifications, 
details and working designs for the contemplated building, Maetzel to have 
sole superintendency of the work and to see that all the materials used 
were according to specifications. Maetzel's compensation was to be five per 
cent of the cost, estimated at $140,000. 

The original contracts for materials and work were let as follows: Cast 
and wrought iron work to H. P. Clough & Co., of Middleton, Ohio, for 
$30,050; brick work to Henry Gucker. $13,623; carpenter work to John 
Houser, $10,086.30; cut stone work to Wittenmeir Bros., $35,500; tin, 
galvanized iron and slating to W. R. Kinnear & Co., $9,998; painting and 
glazing to Philip Knapf, $4,977; plastering and stucco work to Michael 
Hayes, $2,900; gas-piping to Andrew Shwartz, $330; plumbing, same, 
$998; drainage, same. $392. 

The building is located in the center of the public square, which was 
enlarged from its original donation of one acre, made by Charles Sterrett, 
to a little less than three acres. The site is a beautiful one, and is richly 
ornamented by forest trees, while delicate, flowering shrubs of many hardy 
varieties are massed around the walks, with the four sides of the building 
furnishing the background, thus making the situation for a public build- 
ing one of the best in the state. 



86 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The court house being centrally located in the square, fronts all the 
cardinal points, is substantially built, very commodious and elegantly finished 
and furnished. It is heated by air, conducted in pipes from the heating 
building in the rear of the jail, and is practically fireproof. The four cor- 
ners rise into towers, while the center tower, about 150 feet in height, 
looks down upon all other buildings within the city, there being no 55-story 
sky-scrapers within its limits. It is furnished with a clock which presents 
a dial mi four faces. The contour of the public square was uneven as in 
a state of nature, requiring over 5.000 loads of dirt to make it perfectly 
level as it is to-day. 

The celebration of July 4, 1881. was made more imposing in Sidney 
than ever before by the laying of the corner stone and brought a large 
crowd from the county and surrounding towns, though the death of Presi- 
dent Garfield cast a gloom over the occasion. No fewer than 5,000 people 
were present. The display of flags and bunting all over the city was very 
fine. The arrival of the train and band over the Big Four from Union 
City was met by Tappe's band and the band from Anna came. The hotels 
were crowded and a large number took dinner at the Methodist church. 
Orders of Knights of Pythias and Masons came from Lima, Bellefontaine 
and other points. They appointed their own marshals, but all were under 
the direction of Chief Marshal E. M. Green and his assistants, J. S. Laugh- 
lin, W. H. Taylor, E. E. Nutt. J. B. Edgar and H. M. Lehman, and the 
order of procession was as follows: The Anna band; county and city offi- 
cials in carriages; pioneers and citizens in carriages; Martial band; Grand 
Army of the Republic; Piqua band; Knights of Pythias; Union City band; 
fire department ; Odd Fellows ; Lima band ; Shawnee and Coleman com- 
manderies; Bellefontaine Lodge of Masons, with band; Tappe's band; and. 
Sidney Lodge of Masons No. -3, which included Stokes Lodge of Port 
Jefferson and Epler Lodge of Jackson Center. The grand marshal pro- 
claimed as follows: "By authority of the Most Worshipful Grand Master 
of Masons in the state of Ohio, and in obedience to his order, I do now 
command and require all persons here assembled, to preserve silence and 
to observe due order and decorum during the performance of the cere- 
1 lonies of this occasion." 

This was followed with prayer by Grand Chaplain Rev. O. Kennedy, 
and singing by the choir. 

The following articles were deposited in a receptacle made in the corner- 
stone : A list of the present officers of the county; a copy of the Constitu- 
tion and Bydaws, and a list of the present members and officers of Temper- 
ance Lodge No. 73, F. & A. Masons ; a list of the officers and members of 
Stokes Lodge No. 305, F. & A. Masons: a list of the members of Summit 
Lodge No. 50, Knights of Pythias; and the name of the architect, and a 
list of the names of the contractors and workmen employed on the stone 
and brickwork of the new court house; a list of the members of Tappe's 
cornet band; a copy of the Shelby county Democrat; a copy of the Sidney 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 87 

Journal; a copy of the Sentinel; a copy of the record of the three first ses- 
sions of the court of common pleas of Shelby county in 1819. 

The following is a copy of the report of the first three courts in the 
county : The first court of common pleas for Shelby county met in the 
village of Hardin, in Turtle Creek township, on the 16th day of May, 1819: 
President, Judge Jos. H. Crane, of Dayton; Robert Houston, Samuel Mar- 
shal, William M. Cecil, associates ; Harvey B. Foote, clerk. The term lasted 
only one day. The journal of the court mentions no one as sheriff. Henry 
Bacon, of Dayton, was appointed by the court as prosecuting attorney. The 
next term was held September 13 and 14, 1819, at same place, by the fore- 
going named judges and officers. The third term was held at the same 
place, beginning December 13, 1819, same judges and officers, and also Daniel 
V. Dingman as sheriff. At the close of the December term, 1819, the court 
ordered the next term to be held at the then newly situated county seat, viz., 
the village of Sidney, where the courts have all been held ever since. 

The covering was then lowered to its place with appropriate ceremonies 
by Past Grand "Master of the State, A. H. Newcomb, and the ceremonies 
closed with prayer by Grand Chaplain O. Kennedy. 

The oration was delivered from the stand erected by A. L. McKinney, 
of Troy, and was a brilliant, eloquent address. The ceremonies closed about 
half -past four o'clock. 

commissioners' proceedings and common pleas court minutes 

These journals, replete with information touching the development and 
growth of the county, as well as the course of justice, are submitted in their 
entirety for the formative period, or first years of the organization. They 
will both be found to differ widely from the board and court records of 
to-day, and although lacking system will be found possessing breadth enough 
to embrace almost everything of a public nature. The two journals com- 
prised very largely the scope now embraced by the board of commission- 
ers, common pleas court, probate court, recorder's office, and sheriff's office. 
Possessing this comprehensiveness the records of the board and the court 
are reproduced for that period with a completeness which will show not 
only the business transacted, but also the methods of transaction. 

commissioners' journal 

June 17, 18 19. The board of commissioners for Shelby met at Hardin. 
Present, Robert McClure, William Berry, and John Wilson. David Henry 
is appointed clerk of the board, who appeared and took the oath of office. 

Order No. 1. Ordered that the county treasurer pay Samuel McClure 
for four days' service as lister for Loramie township for this year, $4.00. 

Order No. 2. Ordered that the county treasurer pay Charles Botkin 
for his service as lister and appraiser of property, for Perry township and 
the fractional part of Essex township this year, $9.00. 

Order No. 3. Ordered that the county treasurer pay John Francis for 



88 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

one day's service as clerk of election for Perry and fractional part of 
Essex township on the 5th of April last, $1.00. 

Order No. 4. Ordered that the county treasurer pay Richard Defrees 
for six days' service as lister and appraiser of property for Turtle Creek 
township this year, $6.00. 

Order No. 5. Ordered that the county treasurer pay John Francis for 
one day's service as clerk of election for Perry and fractional part of Essex 
township on 1st of May last, $1.00. 

Order No. 6. Ordered that the county treasurer pay Peter Musselman 
for one day's service as judge of election for Perry and fractional part of 
Essex township on the 1st of May last, $1.00. 

Order No. 7. Ordered that the county treasurer pay William Berry, 
Jr., for one day's service as judge of election, and one day's service taking 
returns to Hardin for Perry and fractional part of Essex township on the 
1st of May last. S2.00. 

Order No. 8. Ordered that the county treasurer pay George Berry for 
one day's service as appraiser of property for Perry and fractional part of 
Essex township lor this year, $1.00. 

Order No. 9. Ordered that the county treasurer pay David Henry for 
one day's service as clerk of election for Perry and fractional part of Essex 
township on the 6th of April last, $1.00. 

James Lenox is appointed county treasurer, and appeared and gave bonds 
and took the oath of office according to law. 

Samuel McClure, lister and appraiser of proj>erty in Loramie township, 
appeared and made return of his duplicate for said township. 

Charles Botkin, lister and appraiser of property for Perry and frac- 
tional part of Essex township, appeared and made return of his duplicate 
for said township. 

Archibald Defrees. lister and appraiser of property for Turtle Creek 
township, appeared and made return of his duplicate for said township. 

Archibald Defrees is appointed collector of the tax for Shelby county 
at ten per cent on the county levy. 

The board adjourned until the nth instant. 

Robert McClure, 

Attest. D Henry, Clerk. Wm. Berry. 

Tune 11, 1819. The board of commissioners met pursuant to adjourn- 
ment. Present : Robert McClure, William Berry. John Wilson, and David 
Henry, clerk. 

Archibald Defrees. collector of Shelby county, appeared and gave bond 
with legal security, and took the oath of office. 

On the petition of Alexander Jackson, Caleb Goble, Joseph Donaldson. 
Elisha Kirtland, and Jesse Jackson, accompanied with the consent of a 
majority of the inhabitants of town. 1, range 7 east: Ordered that John 
Lenox, Philip Coleman, and Edward Jackson, taking to their assistance a 
skilful surveyor, two chainmen, and one blazer, proceed on Monuay, the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 89 

28th inst., to view and lay out into convenient lots (agreeable to the laws 
in such cases made and provided) the school section in township No. 1, 
range 7 east, and carefully value the same, and make report of your pro- 
ceedings to the board of commissioners at their next meeting. 

Adjourned until the 12th inst. 

June 12, 1S19. The board met agreeable to adjournment. Present: 
Robert McClure. William Berry, John Wilson, and David Henry, clerk. 

Ordered that the county treasurer pay Abraham Davenport for one day's 
service as judge of election for Turtle Creek township on the 1st day of 
May last, $1.00. 

Ordered that the county treasurer pay Jeremiah White for one day's 
service as judge of election for Turtle Creek township on the 1st day of 
May last. $1.00. 

Ordered that the county treasurer pay Wm. Herrald for one day's ser- 
vice as appraiser of property for Turtle Creek township this year, $1.00. 

Ordered that the county treasurer pay Daniel Vandemark for one day's 
service as judge of election for Perry and fractional part of Essex township 
on the 1st of May last, $1.00. 

Ordered that the county treasurer pay Harvey B. Foote for one day's 
service as clerk of election on the 1st of May last for Turtle Creek town- 
ship. Si. 00. 

Ordered that the county treasurer pay Samuel Stewart for one day's 
service as judge of election for Turtle Creek township on the 1st of May 
last. Si. 00. 

Ordered that all the fractional part of 'Essex township that falls in 
Shelby county be attached to and incorporated into Perry township, and is 
in future to be considered as composing a part of the said township of Perry. 

The commissioners have made out the duplicate for the county levy. 
Ordered that the same be entered on their records. 

Know all men by these presents that we, John Craig, Robert Aldrich, 
and John McClure, of Shelby county, are held and firmly bound unto 
Robert McClure. Wm. Berry, and John Wilson, commissioners of Shelby 
county, or their successors in office, in the sum of two thousand dollars, cur- 
rent money of the United States, to the payment of which we bind ourselves, 
our heirs, and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents; sealed 
with our seal, and dated the 12th day of June, one thousand eight hundred 
and nineteen. 

The condition of the above obligation is such that the above named 
Tohn Craig shall faithfully discharge all the duties enjoined on him by law 
as coroner for the aforesaid Shelby county; then this obligation to be void 
and of no effect ; otherwise to remain in full force and virtue in law. 
Given under our hand and seals the day and year above written. 

John Craig, [seal.] 

Robert Aldrich, [seal.] 
John McCllre. [seal.] 

Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. 



90 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Know all men by these presents that we, Daniel V. Dingman and James 
Dingman, of the county of Shelby and state of Ohio, are held and firmly 
bound unto Robert McClure, William Berry, and John Wilson, commis- 
sioners of Shelby county, and their successors in office, in the sum of four 
thousand dollars, lawful money, to the payment of which we bind ourselves, 
our heirs, and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents; sealed 
with our seals, and dated the 12th day of June, 1819. 

The condition of the above obligation is such that whereas the above 
bound Daniel V. Dingman has been duly elected and commissioned sheriff 
for Shelby county; now if the said Daniel V. Dingman does well and truly 
collect, and pay over all moneys that the law makes it his duty to collect 
to the proper person to receive it, and perform all the duties of sheriff of 
said county faithfully; then this obligation to be void and of no effect;' else 
to remain in full force and virtue. 

Daniel V. Dingman, [l. s] 
James Dingman, [l. s] 

Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. 



Adjourned till the 2d Monday in September next. 



Robert McClure, 
Wm. Berry, 
John Wilson, 

Commissioners. 



Hardin, Ohio, September 13, 1819. The board of commissioners met 
per adjournment. Present : Robert McClure, Wm. Berry, John Wilson, 
and David Henry, clerk. 

Alexander Jackson applied for a permanent lease for lot No. 1 of the 
school section in township 1, range 7 east. 

Jesse Jackson applied for a lease for lot No. 2 in said section. 

Joseph Donaldson applied for a lease for lot No. 4 of same section. 

Elisha Kirtland applied for a lease for lot No. 5 of same section. 

John Manning applied for a lease for lot No. 6 in said section. 

The report of the freeholders appointed the nth of June last to lay 
out and appraise the school section in township 1, range 7 east, is received 
and ordered to be recorded. 

A petition of part of the inhabitants of Shelby county praying to vacate 
part nf the county road through Turtle Creek township was read and laid 
over until the next meeting of the hoard. 

It is ordered that Perry township be divided as follows : Running through 
the middle of the 13th range, and that the south part of said township be 
organized into a new township by the name of Orange, and that the election 
for township officers be held at the house of Wm. Minnear, on the 23d inst. 

Ordered that David Henry have an order on the county treasurer for 
four days' service as clerk of the hoard, and $1.00 for extra service, in 
all. Sio.oo. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 91 

Ordered that Robert McClure have an order for book and paper fur- 
nished, $3.62^2. 

Ordered that David Henry have an order for one book for the clerk of 
commissioners, 50 cents. 

Adjourned to the last Friday in October next. 

Robert McClure, 
John Wilson, 
Wm. Berry, 
Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. Commissioners. 

Hardin, October 29, 1819. The board of commissioners met as per 
adjournment. President : Robert McClure, Wm. Berry; Joseph Mellinger, 
and David Henry, clerk. 

The board of commissioners proceeded to draw their allotments for their 
terms of service. Robert McClure is for one year, Wm. Berry for two 
years, and Joseph Mellinger for three years, who each took the several oaths 
required by law to qualify them for the duties of their said offices. 

Cable Goble applied for a lease on lot No. 3 in the school section in town- 
ship 1, range 7 east. 

Ordered that John Francis. John Manning, James Lenox, Joseph Mel- 
linger, Conrad Pouches, Zebediah Richardson, Joseph Steinberger, Henry 
Hershaw, John Stevens, Archibald Defrees, Cephas Carey, Peter Mussel- 
man, John Bryan, R. Lenox, and Abraham Davenport each have $1.50 
for services as grand jurors; and that George Carey, constable, have 75 
rents for one day's service at last September term. 

Ordered that Thomas Hurley, Wm. Cecil, Wm. Berry, Nathan Cole- 
man, Jacob Wise, Alexander Miller, John Miller, Benjamin Blankinship, 
John Craig, Robert Aldrich, James Crossman, Elisha Kirkland each have 
50 cents for services as petit jurors; and that James Moore, constable, have 
25 cents for attendance at one trial at last September term. 

Ordered that John Manning have for one day's service as judge of elec- 
tion for Orange township, and one day for taking in the returns of the same 
at last October election, $2.00. 

Ordered that John Hathaway, Jacob Lemasters, Rodham Talbot, judges, 
and Peter Musselman and George Morrison, clerks, each have $1.00, for 
judge and clerk's fees for one day's service at the last annual election for 
Perry township. 

On petition of sundry inhabitants of township 7, range 6 east, it is 
ordered that Daniel Vandemark, John Stewart, and Robert Hurley, taking 
to their assistance a skilful surveyor, two chainmen, and one blazer, proceed, 
on the 10th day of October next, to view and lay out into convenient lots — 
agreeable to law in that case made and provided — the school section in town- 
ship 7, range 6 east, and carefully value the same, and make report of your 
proceedings to the board of commissioners at their next meeting. 

Ordered that Abraham Davenport have $1.00 for one day's service as 
judge of election October 12, for Turtle Creek township. 



92 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Ordered that James Marshall for one day's service at May term and 
associate judge two days' service at September term, $9.00. 

The board adjourned. 

Robert McClure, 
Wm. Berry, 
Joseph Mellinger, 

Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. Commissioners. 

Hardin, December 13, 1819. The board met. Present: Robert McClure, 
Wm. Berry, Joseph Mellinger, and David Henry, clerk. 

Ordered that Harvey B. Foote have for one book for records and six 
quires of paper, $6.25. 

That R. Bush have for one day's service as judge of election for Orange 
township on the 12th of October, 18 19, $1.00. 

That John Francis have for one day's service as clerk of the annual 
election for Orange township on the 12th of October last, $1.00. 

That Wm. Minnear have for one day's service as clerk of last annual 
election for Orange township the 12th of October last, $1.00. 

That Henry Bacon have for his service as prosecuting attorney at Sep- 
tember term. $15.00. 

That Wm. Johnston, John Francis, and Dan Dingeman proceed to view 
a part of the road from Dingmansburg on the division of Wapakoneta that 
leads through Rodham Talbot's land, as he wishes, and make report agree- 
able to law to the hoard at their next meeting. 

Ordered that Abraham Cannon, John Lenox, and Daniel V. Dingman, 
together with Benjamin S. Cox, taking to their assistance two chainmen 
and one blazer, proceed on the 22d inst. to view and lay out a road as follows : 
Beginning on the state road from Piqua to Wapakoneta where it crosses 
Mill creek, in Turtle Creek township, running northwesterly to Abraham 
Cannon's, and make report of their proceedings to the next board of com- 
missioners. 

James Barnett applied for a permanent lease on school section in town- 
ship 6, range 7 east, lot No. 1. Lease made. 

Henry L. Jackson applied for lot 3. same section. Granted. 

Henry Jackson applied for lot 4, same section. Granted. 

Jacob Jackson applied for lot 5, same section. Granted. 

Joseph Porfuelts applied for lot 6, same section. Granted. 

Adjourned till tomorrow. 

December 14. 1819. Board met in full session. 

Ordered that Peter Princehouse, John Medaris and Thaddeus Tuttle, 
together with Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, taking with them two chairmen 
and one blazer proceed on the 29th inst. to view and lay out a road as 
follows : Beginning at or near the 5-mile-tree on the Mosquito creek road, 
thence to the county line on the east side of section 5, township 2, range 13, 
at the most proper point for a road to the seat of justice of Logan county, 
and make report of your proceedings to the next board of commissioners. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 93 

The report of the board of viewers appointed by the last board of 
commissioners to view the school section in township 7, range 6 east, was 
received and ordered to be recorded. 

Ordered that all that part of the county of Shelby situate north of a 
base line that crosses the Big Auglaize at or near the mouth of Hog creek, 
east and west, be incorporated into a separate township, to be known by 
the name of Auglaize, and that the electors of said township assemble at 
the house of Moses Rice on the first Monday in April, to elect township 
officers. 

Ordered that Archibald Defrees have for his service as collector of the 
county levy for this year, $17.50. 

Ordered that the next board meet at this place the first Monday in 
March. Adjourned. 

ROREBT McCLURE, 

Wm. Berry, 
Joseph Mellinger. 
Attest, D. Henry. Clerk. 

Sidney, February 1. 1820. The board met. Present: Wm. Berry, Joseph 
Mellinger, and David Henry. Clerk. 

Know all men by these presents that we, Thomas W. Ruckman, John 
Lenox, Archibald Defrees. and Wm. Johnston, are held and firmly bound 
unto Robert McClure. Wm. Berry, and Joseph Mellinger, commissioners 
of Shelby county, and their successors in office, in the just sum of $4,000, 
lawful money of the United States, and for the true performance of which 
payment we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, and administrators, jointly 
and severally, firmly by these presents, sealed with our seals' and dated the 14th 
day of January, 1820. 

The condition of the above obligation is such that whereas the above 
bound Thomas W. Ruckman has been duly elected and commissioned sheriff 
of Shelby county: now if the said Thomas W. Ruckman does well and truly 
collect and pay over all money that the law makes it his duty to collect, to 
the proper person to receive the same, and perform all the other lawful 
duties of sheriff of Shelby county, faithfully and honestly, then this obli- 
gation to be void and of no effect ; else to remain in full force and virtue in law. 

Thomas W. Ruckman, 
John Lenox, 
Archibald Defrees, 

his 
Wm. X Johnston. 
mark- 
Attest. D. Henry, Clerk. 

Plan of the jail to be erected for the county: To be 16 by 18 feet: two 
stories, each seven feet between the floors; built of timber twelve inches 
square, laid completely close: the first and second floors to be made of 



94 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

square timber laid close, the same as the wall ; one window eighteen inches 
square; in each story, well grated with iron bars; one door in each story 
sufficiently ironed and locks; third floor to be of hewed timber; roof of joint 
shingles; a chimney in one end, with a fireplace in each room. 

The house for the court to be a frame, 24 by 30 feet, roofed with joint 
shingles and weatherboarded ; two doors through the middle of the first 
story; four iSdight windows; the story ten feet between the floors; a place 
for two fireplaces six feet wide; second story eight feet high; six 15-light 
windows; window-frames and doors underpinned with stone eighteen inches 
above ground. The above buildings are ordered to be sold on the 22d inst. 
at Sidney. 

Sidney, February 22, 1820. Commissioners met; full board present. 

Then proceeded to sell the contract for erection of court house and jail, 
w ith alterations agreeable to the bond taken in that case. 

Adjourned. 

Robert McCllre, 
Wm. Berry, 
Joseph Mellinger. 

Attest. D. Hexkv. Clerk. 

Hardin, Ohio. March 6. 1820. The board met. Present: The full board. 

The report of the viewers appointed to view the road through Rodham 
Talbott's land is received and ordered to be recorded. 

Ordered that the following bills be allowed : William Minnear, James 
Bryan, Daniel Yandemark. Joseph Bennett, John Mellinger, Zachariah Hur- 
ley, John Wilson, Robert Aldrich, Wm. Bush, David Crow, John Shennard, 
Gideon Wright, Charles Weeks, John Hathaway, each have $1.50 for one 
day's service as grand jurors at December term, and that James Moore have 
75 cents for services as constable. 

Ordered that John Johnston, Joseph Aldrich. James Buchanan, David 
Mellinger, Aaron Cecil, Isaac Robins, William Robinson, Wm. Marrs. James 
Green, John Hathaway. Joseph Bennett, have each 50 cents for attending a 
trial at December term, and that James Moore, constable, have 2^ cents for 
attending same trial. 

Ordered that Samuel Marshall, Esq., have for two days' service as 
associate judge. $6.00. 

Ordered that Benjamin S. Cox have for his service as surveyor of a 
road from Mill creek to Sidney, two days and plat, $4.50; for chairmen and 
blazers, same time, S4.50. 

Ordered that Benjamin S. Cox have for his service in surveying a road 
from the 5-mile-tree in the Mosquito creek to the county line, two days and 
plat, $4.50; for chainmen and blazers, $4.50. 

Ordered that John Lenox, Abraham Cannon, Daniel V. Dingman, each 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 95 

have $2. oo for two days' service as viewers of a road from Mill creek to 
Sidney. 

Ordered that John Medaris, Thaddens Tnttle, and Peter Princehouse 
each have $2.00 for two days' service viewing road from 5-mile-tree, on the 
Mosquito creek road, to the line of Logan county. 

Ordered that Jacob Wise, Samuel Marshall, and Daniel V. Dingman, 
viewers, and Benjamin S .Cox, surveyor, and assistants, proceed and lay 
out a road from Dingman's through Sidney and Hardin, to Cynthian, on the 
20th instant, and report to the next board. 

Ordered that Robert Aldrich, John Mellinger, and Samuel McClure, 
viewers, and Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, and assistants, proceed on the fourth 
Monday of this instant to view and lay out a road from the state road at 
or near William Morrow's; thence to Steinberger's mill; thence a northeast- 
erly course to intersect the road from Mill creek to Sidney, and report to the 
next board. 

Ordered that Abraham Cannon, James Thatcher, and Samuel Stewart, 
viewers, and Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, and assistants, proceed on the first 
Tuesday in April to view and lay out a road, beginning at or near Hardin; 
thence to the state road at or near the Nine-mile creek, in Loramie township, 
and report to the next board. 

Ordered that David Larue, Charles Johnston, John Ellsworth, Aquilla 
Ellsworth, William Ellsworth, viewers, and Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, 
and assistants, proceed on the second Monday in April next to review the 
following part of the road from Honey creek to Mosquito creek, to wit: 
Beginning at the county line, thence to Peter Princehouse's, and make such 
alteration as may be necessary, and report to the next board.. 

Adjourned till tomorrow. 

Hardin, March 7. 1820. The commissioners met pursuant to adjourn- 
ment. Present : Robert McClure, William Berry, Joseph Mellinger, and 
David Henry. Clerk. 

The viewers appointed by the commissioners, on the 14th of December 
last, to lay out and view a road from the 5-mile-tree, on the Mosquito 
creek road, to the county line of Logan county, with the surveyor of said 
road, have made their reports, which, being openly read yesterday and today 
at the board, and no objections being made, the said road is ordered to be 
recorded a public highway. 

Ordered that Jeremiah White have for one day's service as judge of the 
last annual election for Turtle Creek township, $1.00. 

Ordered that Samuel Stewart have for one day's service as judge of 
last annual election for Turtle Creek township, $1.00. 

Ordered that Hezekiah Stout have for his service for selling property 
at Sidney, $1.00. 

Ordered that all that part of Orange township that is east of the west tier 
of sections in the second township of Bath, 12th and 13th range, be erected 



96 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

into a new township, by the name of Green township and that the qualified 
electors of said township meet at the house of John Medaris, on the first 
Monday in April next, to elect township officers. 
Adjourned sine die. 

ROREBT McClLRE, 

Wm. Berry, 
Joseph Mellixgek. 
Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. 

State of Ohio, Shelby county, ss. : 

We, John Lenox. Philip Coleman, and Edward Jackson, viewers appointed 
by the board of commissioners of Shelby county to view and appraise section 
Xo. 16, township i, range 7 cast, being lir-^t duly sworn according to law, 
have proceeded to view and lay out the same into lots, and appraised the 
same as follows, towit: Lot No. 1, ^2)A acres at $3.25 per acre; lot No. 2, 
4<>'_, acres at $2.75 per acre; lot No. 3. 99 3 100 acres at $4.00 per acre: 
lot No. 4, 60 98/100 acres at $2.50 per acre: lot No. 5, 104 acres at S4.50 
per acre; lot No. 6, 78 18/100 acres at 82. 00 per acre. All of which we 
have viewed and appraised to the hest of our skill and ability. Given under 
our hands and seals the nth day of September, 1819. The plat herewith 
annexed made by James Crugan, surveyor of Miami count)', September 
11, 1S19. 

John- Lenox, [seal.] 

Edward Jacksox, [seal.] 
Philip Coleman, [seal.] 
Shelby county: 

We, the undersigned, do hereby certify that we did, by order of the 
commissioners of Shelby county, go, on the 10th day of November. 1819, 
with a surveyor and two chainmen and one blazer, and divided section 16. 
in range 3. township 7, into six lots, containing as follows: No. 1, 98^4 acres; 
No. 2 and No. 3, each 102 }< acres; No. 4 and No. 5, each 106 1 /; acres; and 
No. 6. I02 T S acres; which lots we valued at $2.00 per acre, each lot sep- 
arately. 

John Stewart, 
Robert Hurley. 

Appraisers. 

Sidney. Ohio, April 24. 1820. 

The board of commissioners met. Present: Robert McClure. William 
Berrv, Joseph Mellinger. and David Henry, clerk. 

Ordered that James Thatcher. John Wilson, and William Davis, together 
with Benjamin S. Cox, taking to his assistance two chainmen and one blazer, 
proceed on the first Wednesday in May to view and lay out a road, begin- 
ning at Cynthian. thence to intersect the road leading from Greenville to 
said town, at the Darke county line, and make report to the next board of 
commissioners. 

The commissioners granted a permanent lease to Thomas Kysar for lot 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 97 

No. 2. in school section of township 7, range 6 east. Granted as above lease 
for lot No. 3, in same section, to Henry Jackson. 

Adjourned till tomorrow. 

April 25, 1820. The commissioners met pursuant to adjournment. 
Present: Robert McClure, William Berry, and David Henry, clerk. 

The report of the reviewers, appointed the 6th of March last, to review 
the road from Honey creek to Mosquito creek, beginning at the county line 
to Peter Princehouse. is received ; and being read in open meeting yesterday 
and today, and no objections being made, the same is established a public 
highway, agreeable to survey made and returned with said report. 

The report of the viewers, appointed in March last, to view and lay out 
a road from Hardin to the state road, at or near Nine-mile creek, is received; 
and being read in open meeting yesterday and today, and no objections being 
made, the same is established a public highway, agreeable to survey there- 
with returned. 

The report of the viewers, appointed in March last, to view and lay out 
a road from Dingmansburg, through Sidney and Hardin, to Cynthian, is 
received: and being read yesterday and today in open meeting, and no objec- 
tions being made, the same is established a public highway agreeable to sur- 
vey therewith returned. 

Tlit- report of the viewers, appointed in March last, to view and lay out 
a road from the state road, at or near William Morrow's, past Steinberger's 
mill, thence northeasterly to intersect the new road to Sidney, is received; 
and being read in open session yesterday and today, and no objections being 
made to the same, it is established a public highway, according to survey 
therewith returned. 

Ordered that William Herrald have for making a -table and jury-box 
for the clerk. $8.00. 

That Henry Hershaw have for one day taking in the poll-book for justice 
in April last for Turtle Creek township. $1.00. 

That Henry Bacon, Esq.. have for his service as prosecuting attorney, 
$30.00. 

That Robert Aldrich, Samuel McClure. and John Mellinger have each 
for two and one-half days' services in viewing road from William Morrow's 
to Sidney, $2.50. 

That James Thatcher and Samuel Stewart have each for two days' ser- 
vices in viewing the road from Hardin to the state road at nine mile, $2.00. 

That Benjamin S. Cox have for his service in surveying the road from 
Hardin to the state road at nine mile, two days' and plat, $4.50. For chainmen 
and blazer for same. $4.50. Surveying the road from Dingmansburg to 
Cynthian, three days and plat, $6.25. For chainmen and blazer for same, 
$6.75. For a road from Morrow's to Sidney, two and one-third and plat, 
$5-37/ / 2- For chainmen for same, $5.i2 T / />. For surveying a road from 
Honey creek, two days and plat. $4.50. Chainrnen for same, one and one- 
half days. $3-37K>- 



98 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

That Samuel Marshall, Daniel Dingman, and Jacob Wise have each 
$3.00 for services in viewing the road from Dingmansburg to Cynthian. 

That John Ellsworth. Aquilla Ellsworth, and William Ellsworth have 
each for one and one-half days' services for reviewing a road, $1.50. 

That William Berry have for money he paid for getting duplicate at 
Troy, $4.50. For one quire of paper for commissioners, 37^2 cents. 

That David Henry have for twelve days' service as clerk of commissioners 
and writing at home up to this time inclusive, $1 00 per quire of paper, 

Adjourned till the first Monday in June. 

Robert McClure, 
Wm. Berry. 

Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. 

Sidney, June 5. 1820. The hoard met. Present: William Berry, Joseph 
Mellinger, and David Henry, clerk. 

Henry Sturm, lister of property for Green township, appeared and 
returned his list of property for said township. 

Samuel McClure, lister of property for Loramie township, appeared and 
returned his list of property for said township. 

George Berry, lister of property for Orange township, appeared and 
made his returns for said township. 

Rodham Talbott. lister of property for Perry township, appeared and 
made returns of taxable property for said township. 

Robert Aldrich, lister of properly for Turtle Creek township, appeared 
and made return of taxable property for said township. 

The collector of the county levy appeared and made final settlement for 
the year 1819. 

Ordered that Benjamin Beeden have for the balance for building jail, 

$275-85- 

Ordered that Edward Dwire have for a part of his contract building 

court house. $50.00. 

Ordered that Edward Jackson have on account of Edward Dwire in part 
of his contract, $6.25. 

Ordered that Edward Jackson have on account of E. Williams in part 
of Dwire's contract, $4.69. 

Ordered that Robert Aldrich have for listing and appraising property 
for Turtle Creek township, $4.00. 

Ordered that Thomas W. Ruckman have on Dwire's order in part of 
contract, $24.25. 

Ordered that Thomas W. Ruckman have on account of Beeden's order 
in part of contract. $9.25. 

Ordered that Thomas W. Ruckman have for plank furnished, $4.82^2- 

Ordered that Edward Jackson have on account of Benjamin Beeden, 
$4.40. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 99 

Ordered that George Berry have for lister and appraiser for Orange 
township, $4.00. 

Ordered that Samuel McClure have for lister and appraisers for Loramie 
township, $5.00. 

Ordered that William \V. Cecil have for his service as associate judge 
at May term, 1819, one day; at September term, two days; at December 
term, two days; and at April term, one day, $18.00. 

Ordered that Henry Sturm have for listing Green township, $3.00. 

Ordered that Rodham Talbott have on account of Dwire's contract, $13.00. 

Ordered that William Mellinger have for attending one trial at December 
term, 50 cents. 

Ordered that Benjamin S. Cox have for surveying and platting road 
from Cynthian to Darke county line, $4.50. 

Ordered that John Wilson have for viewing same road, two days, $2.00. 

Ordered that James Thatcher have for viewing same road, $2.00. 

Ordered that William Davis have for viewing same road, two days, $2.00. 

Ordered that William Montgomery- have for chaining on same road, 75 
cents. 

Ordered that Thomas McClish have for chaining same road, 75 cents. 

Ordered that William Jerome have for marking same, one day, 75 cents. 

Ordered that Jonathan Nichols, appraiser of property for Green town- 
ship, have for one day, $1.00. 

Ordered that Abraham Cannon have for keeping, $2.00. 

Ordered that Harvey Foote have for his extra fees as clerk of the court 
of common pleas up to May 16, $25.00. For copies furnished the April 
term inclusive, $2.93. 

Ordered that William Robinson have for his taking poll book for Green 
township at June election for justice of peace, $1.00. 

Ordered that John Lenox, foreman, Samuel Stewart, Richard Lenox, 
Jacob Wise, John Houston, Henry Hershaw, John Bryan, Archibald Defrees, 
George Barker, John Underwood, John Manning, John Stewart, Philip Cole- 
man, William Johnston, and William Cecil have each $1.50 for services as 
grand jurors at April term ; and Samuel Marrs for attending same, 75 cents. J 

Lessees of school land lots: James Barnett, lot No. 1, Thomas Kyser, 
lot No. 2, Henry L. Jackson, lot No. 3, Henry Jackson, lot No. 4, Jacob 
Tackson, lot No. 5, and Joseph Porquetts, lot No. 6. Above all in school 
section township 7, range 6. They have each received leases; rent to com- 
mence from this date. 

The report of the viewers appointed to view the road from Cynthian 
to Darke county line is received, and being read in open meeting yesterday 
and today, and no objections being made, the same is established a public 
highway agreeable to survey to be opened forty feet wide. 

James Lenox, county treasurer, appeared and settled up his official account 
in his said office. 



100 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Jonathan Beatty is appointed county treasurer; he appeared, gave bond, 
and took the oath of office according to law. The duplicate of the county 
levy is made out and ordered to be recorded. 

John Lenox is appointed collector of county levy and state tax. 

Adjourned sine die. 

JOSEPH MeLLTNGER, 

Wm. Berry. 
Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. 

Commissioners" office, June 7, 1820. Alexander Jackson took lease for 
lot Xo. 1, in school section township 1. range 7; interest from 13th of Sep- 
tember. Joseph Donaldson took lease for lot No. 4, same set, and interest 
same time as above. Elisha Kirtland paid his quota of expense for survey- 
ing, etc., of the above section for lot No. 5 ; interest from same time. 

Bond. — Know all men by these presents that we, John Stephens, Abraham 
Davenport, William Davis, and Ebenezer D. Stephens, all of Shelby county 
and state of Ohio, are held and firmly bound unto Robert McClure, Joseph 
Mellinger, and William Berry, commissioners of said county, in the sum of 
$2,000, lawful money of the United States, to be paid to said commissioners 
or their successors in office, to which payment well and truly to be made we 
bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, and administrators firmly by these 
presents, sealed with our seals this tenth day of June in the year of our Lord 
one thousand eight hundred and twenty. 

The condition of the above obligation is such that if the above bound 
John Stephens — who has been duly elected coroner of Shelby county — shall 
well and truly execute the duties of said office, then this -obligation to be 
null and void: otherwise to remain in full force and virtue. 

John Stephens, [seal.] 

Abraham Davenport, [seal.] 
Wn.r.rAM Davis, [seal.] 

Ehenezer Stephens. [seal.] 
Signed and sealed in the presence of 
James Wells. 
Thomas McClure, 
James Moore. 
Recorded June 15, 1820. 

Commissioners' office, July 31, 1820. John Lenox, collector for this 
vear of the county levy, gave bond agreeable to law for the faithful dis- 
charge of the duties of his said office, together with Daniel V. Dingman and 
William Drake his surety, in the sum of $445.02. and took the oath of office, 
and received the duplicate of levy. 

September 5. 1820. Commissioners met. Present: Robert McClure. 
William Berry, Joseph Millinger, and D. Henry, Clerk. 

Ordered that Matthias Sturm. Henry Princehoiise, and William Bothel, 
together with Benjamin S. Cox. surveyor, taking to his assistance two chain- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 101 

men and one blazer, proceed on the 16th inst. to view and lay out a road, 
beginning at or near the southwest corner of section 2, township 2, range 
13; thence east to the county line, and make report to the board at the next 
meeting. 

Jesse Jackson received his lease for lot No. 2, in school section town- 
ship 1, range 7, and paid his first year's rent. 

On application of James Botkin, Levi Johnston, William Botkin, John 
Carpenter et ah, it is ordered that William VV. Cecil, Henry Levalley, and 
Jacob Wise, taking to their assistance a skillful surveyor, two chainmen, 
and one blazer, proceed on the 13th inst. to lay off the school section in 
township 9, range 5, into convenient lots, and appraise the same agreeable 
to law, and make report of proceedings to the board at next meeting. 

Ordered that Benjamin Manning, Philip Coleman, and Edward Dwire, 
viewers, together with Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, taking to his assistance 
two chainmen and one blazer, proceed on the 20th inst. to view and lay out 
a road as follows, towit : Beginning at the north end of Main street of 
Sidney; thence up the river to the road from Dingmansburg to Wapakoneta, 
near Rodham Talbott's ; thence with said road to the hill near Elisha Kirt- 
land's; thence an easterly course to William Hathaway's; thence to the ford 
of Miami above George Morrison's; thence the nearest and best way to the 
county line between Logan and Shelby counties to intersect the road from 
Mosquito creek to Bellefontaine and make report to next meeting of the 
board. 

Ordered that Robert Houston, Sr., William Morrison, Charles Johnston, 
together with Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, taking to his assistance two chain- 
men and one blazer, proceed on the 29th inst. to view and lay out a road 
to Sidney ; to begin at the bridge on the road from Ruckman's ; thence north 
to the south end of Main street of Sidney, and make report at the next meet- 
ing of the board. 

Ordered that Robert Houston, William Morris, and Charles Johnston, 
together with Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, and assistants, proceed on the 
29th inst. to view and lay out a road from the southward of Ohio street, 
in Sidney: thence south to the Muddy run; thence down the run to the new 
bridge on the road to Ruckman's mill, and make report to the commissioners 
at the next regular meeting. 

Ordered that the collector of the county levy may receive current paper 
in payment for the county levy. 

John Lenox, collector of the state tax, gave bond, with Daniel Vande- 
mark and Rodham Talbott, his sureties, for the faithful discharge of the 
duty of his office in the sum of $4,000, and took the oath of office according 
to law. 

Samuel McClure, road commissioner, deposited a bond in this office for 
the faithful discharge of his duties, with Samuel Stewart and Eleazer Hath- 
away as securities, in the sum of $1,000. 

Ordered that Edward Dwire have, in part of his contract for court 
house. $26.36. 



102 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Ordered that John Lenox have, in part of Dwire's contract, $23.97. 

Ordered that Elisha Williams have, in part of Dwire's contract, $77.33. 

Ordered that Rodham Talbott have, for listing Perry township this year, 
$4.00. 

Ordered that Michael Young, a judge of election for Orange township, 
October 12. 1819, have for one day, $1.00. 

Ordered that John Francis, appraiser of property for Orange township, 
1820, have for one day, $1.00. 

Ordered that Thomas W. Ruckman, sheriff, have for summoning grand 
jury April and September terms, $2.00 each, $4.00. 

Ordered that Henry Bacon. Esq.. have for his fee as prosecuting attor- 
ney September or present term. $15.00. 

Ordered that Aaron Harkness, Henry Levalley, Gideon Wright, Cephas 
Carey. Jeremiah White, Abraham Minnear. Alexander Miller, William Gib- 
son. Thomas Hurley, Samuel McClure. William Morrow, Collin Aldrich, 
Isaac Robins, Hezekiah Hubble, Philip Coleman, have each, for one day's 
service as grand jurors for September term, 1820, $1.50. 

Samuel Marshall, road commissioner, deposited his bond in this office, 
with Robert Aldrich and Thomas McClish as sureties, in the sum of $1,000 
for the faithful discharge of his official duties. 

Adjourned to the first Saturday of November next. 

Robert McClure, 
Wm. Berry, 
Joseph Mellinger. 

Attest. D. Henry, Clerk. 

November 4. 1820. The board of commissioners met. ' Present: William 
Berry. Joseph Mellinger. and David Henry, clerk. 

David Henry appeared and produced a certificate of his election as com- 
missioner in this board, and of his qualification, and accordingly took his 
seat. 

Adjourned without day. 

Wm. Berry, 
Joseph Mellinger. 

December 10, 1820. The board of commissioners met. Present: William 
Berry, Joseph Mellinger, and David Henry, the latter acting as clerk. 

Ordered that the qualified electors in the second township in range 13 
west, meet on the second Saturday in January next, to elect three trustees 
and a treasurer for the school section in said township. 

The report of the viewers appointed to view and lay out a road from 
tlie south end of Ohio street, in Sidney, to Frenchman bridge, is received; 
they have performed their service and. the same being read in open meet- 
ing yesterday and today, and no objection being made, the same is estab- 
lished a public highway and made sixty feet wide. 

The report of the viewers appointed to view a road from Sidney, up 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 103 

the river to the Logan county line, is received and, the same being read in 
open meeting yesterday and today, and no objection made, the same is estab- 
lished a public highway, to be opened forty feet wide. 

The report of the viewers appointed to lay out a road from the Mos- 
quito creek road to West Liberty is received and, the same being read in 
open session yesterday and today, and no objection being made, the same 
is established a public highway, forty feet wide. 
Adjourned sine die. 

Wm. Berry, 
Robert McClure, 
Joseph Mellinger. 
Attest, D. Henry, Clerk. 

March 31, 1821. The board of commissioners met. Present: William 
Berry and D. Henry. Settled in full with Samuel Marshall, road commis- 
sioner on the road from Piqua to Wapakoneta, and find that he has judiciously 
filled his obligations of office. 

Adjourned. 

The petition of a number of the inhabitants of Loramie and Turtle 
Creek townships, praying to alter the road from William Morrow's, by way 
of Steinberger's mill to Sidney, was read and laid over until the next meet- 
ing. Record of Rodham Talbott's road, between Miami river and Plumb 
creek, as altered by William Johnston, John Francis, and Daniel Dingman, 
on the 3d of March, 1820. Established under date of March 3, 1821. 

June 4, 1 82 1. The board of commissioners met. Present : William Berry, 
Joseph Mellinger, David Henry, and J. Wells, clerk. 

Received the list for county levy for Perry, Green, Orange, Turtle 
Creek, and Loramie townships. Settled with Robert Aldrich, late county 
auditor, and allowed his final amount of $12,12^2, and direct the present 
auditor to draw an order on the treasurer for the same. 

Received a petition, signed by Jesse Jackson, for an alteration of the 
road near his house, leading from Sidney to Bellefontaine, which being 
granted, ordered that Daniel Vandemark, James Dingman, and John Francis, 
together with Benjamin S. Cox, surveyor, and assistants, proceed on the 
9th instant to alter said road, beginning at the corner of George Morrison's 
fence; thence northwesterly to the top of the bank; thence along the bank 
to or near said Jackson's house, an easterly course across the run and river 
above the road and usual place of crossing. 

Settled with John Lenox, collector for 1820. and find he has fulfilled 
the duties of his office, and is entitled to lift his bond. 

Settled with Samuel McClure, road commissioner for the state road 
from Piqua to Fort Loramie, and find that he has faithfully performed the 
duties assigned him. 

Allowed Samuel McClure $45.00 for his services as road commissioner 
for above-named road, and direct the auditor ' to draw an order for the 
same on the county treasurer. 



104 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

June 5. The rate of the county levy is established at the highest allowed 
by law. 

Allowed Elisha William- for work on the court house as per bill, 
$57.25^; and ordered that the county auditor draw on the treasurer for 
the same. 

Allowed Alexander McKee fur work on the jail. $3.00. as per bill; and 
ordered that the county auditor draw on the treasurer for the same. 

The board appoints Jonathan Beatty county treasurer, and directs the 
clerk to take security according to law. 

Appoints Thomas \V. Ruckman collector of the state and county tax. 
The county levy at 8 per cent., and the state tax at 4 per cent.; and directs 
the auditor to take security, agreeable to law. in $2,000. for the state tax; 
and $1,000 for the county levy. 

Allowed William Beatty $2.00 for work on the jail as per bill, and 
ordered that the county auditor draw on the treasurer for the same. 

Jonathan Beattv appeared and gave bond as treasurer, and was duly 
sworn as the law directs. 

Adjourned to June 16th. 

Tune 9, 1 82 1. This day Gideon Wright appeared and gave bond on 
his "appeal from the decision of the board of commissioners, rejecting the 
petition for an alteration of the county road leading from Steinberger's 
mill to Sidney. 

J. Wells, Clerk of Board. 

June 16. 1821. The board met pursuant to adjournment from the 5th 
instant, for the purpose of contracting for the building Of a chimney and 
filling the walls of the court house. Present: William Berry, David Henry, 
and James Wells, clerk. 

Contracted with John Snider for the above at $130. The work to be 
completed by the last of October next. 

Adjourned without day. 

December 3. 1821. The board convened at the court house, in Sidney. 
William Berrv'- time of service having expired, and David Henry having 
resigned, an election for two commissioners was held in October last. John 
Wilson appeared, presented his certificate of election, and. being duly sworn, 
took his seat. Present: Joseph Mellinger, John Wilson, and James Wells, 
clerk. 

Received a petition of sundry inhabitants of Clinton. C.reen and Orange 
townships for a county road from Ruckman's. by John Francis to the east 
line of the county. 

Ordered that William Berry, Matthias Stums. Jr.. and Isaac Parks, 
taking to their assistance a skillful surveyor, two chainmen, and one marker, 
proceed on the 13th inst. to view and locate a road from Ruckman's saw 
mill easterly through John Francis'- land; thence to Bush creek, below Syca- 
more bottom: thence to or near Jonathan Nichols; thence to John Medaris' 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 105 

mill ; thence to the east boundary line of this county, in section No. 6, town- 
ship 2, range 12, at or near the center of said section line. 

Ordered that the clerk grant receipts, one to George Childs for plank 
furnished for public buildings, to offset against donation to the county seat ; 
one to Peter Musselman for the same. George Childs, $20.00. Peter Mus- 
selman, $12.25. 

Ordered that David Henry have a receipt for $11.25, f° r fi ve days' 
service as clerk of board, to offset against his donation to the county. 

Ordered that John Snider be allowed $130 for work on the court house, 
and direct the auditor to draw on the treasurer for the same, $130.00. 

Ordered that Elisha Williams have $14.40 for 144 lights of sash, and 
direct the auditor to draw an order for the same, $14.40. 

An order of court having been served on the board: Ordered that the 
clerk certify the records appertaining to the alteration of the road petitioned 
for by Gideon Wright and others. 

A report was received, submitted by James Dingman, Daniel Vande- 
niark. and John Francis, viewers, for the location of a road from Sidney 
to Bellefontaine, which report was duly considered, and the viewed and 
platted road established a public highway. 

The following report was also received and ordered to be recorded: 

Upper Piqua, November 30, 182 1. 
Gentlemen : In pursuance of an act of the last general assembly author- 
izing the establishment of a state road from Wapakoneta to Fort Meigs, 
the undersigned, commissioners appointed for the purpose, have discharged 
the duties imposed on them by law. An account of their proceedings will 
be found in the Piqua Gazette of the 18th of October, 1821, which was com- 
municated for public information, a paper containing their report is here- 
with transmitted, and to which we beg leave to refer as forming a part of 
this our official return as required by law. 

A report was made from Fort Meigs to the commissioners of Wood 
county, and a plat of the road has since been forwarded to them in obedience 
to the law. 

Mr. Benjamin S. Cox will hand to your board a plat of the road, which 
with their communication will constitute our report to the commissioners 
of Shelby county. An account of the expenses will be furnished to your 
board hereafter. 

John Johxston, of Miami county, 
Samuel Marshall, of Shelby county, 

Commissioners. 
A true copy. 

Attest. J. Wells, 

Clerk of board of commissioners of Shelby county. 

March 4, 1822. The board convened at the court house in Sidney. 
Major John Lenox appeared and produced a certificate of his election to 



106 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

this board, and being duly sworn to discharge the duties of the office, took 
his seat. Present : John Wilson, John Lenox, and James Wells, clerk. 

Ordered that the auditor draw an order in favor of William Johnston 
for$i.oo for hauling plank for court house floor. 

Received the report of the road viewers appointed at the last session, 
which was read. 

Received of William Johnson the treasurer's receipt for $54.37> / 2, in 
payment of his donation to the county. 

Received of George Pool the treasurer's receipt for $1.00, in part pay- 
ment of his donation to the county. 

Received the petition of sundry inhabitants of Perry and Clinton town- 
ships, praying for a road beginning at the east end of South street in Sidney, 
and thence to Water street in Dingmansburg. 

Ordered that Abraham Dingman, Elisha Williams, and Robert McClure, 
viewers, with legal assistance, proceed to view said road on the 9th inst., 
and make report at next session of the board. 

Ordered that the auditor draw an order in favor of David Henry for 
furnishing glass and whiting for the court house, $10. 62}^. 

The board settled with Thomas W. Ruckman, collector of the state tax 
for 1 82 1, and find he has performed the duties, and is discharged from his 
bond fur the same. Also settled with said Ruckman as collector of county 
levy for 1821, and discharge him from his bond for same. 

Adjourned till tomorrow. 

March 5. 1822. Present: John Wilson and James Wells, clerk. Xo 
other commissioner appearing, adjourned sine die. 

James Wells, Clerk. 

June 3, 1822. The board convened at the court house.' Present: Joseph 
Mellinger, John Wilson, John Lenox, and James Wells, clerk. 

Allowed John Francis for four days' service as lister and appraiser of 
property for Orange township in 1822, $4.00. 

Allowed Henry Sturm for serving as lister and appraiser of property for 
Green township in 1822, $3.50. 

Allowed Mathias Sturm as appraiser of property for Green township in 
1822, 50 cents. 

Allowed Tames Lenox as lister and appraiser of property for Turtle Creek 
township in 1822, $5.00. 

Allowed Conrad Funk as lister and appraiser of property for Loramie 
township for 1822, $5.00. 

Allowed Alexander Miller as appraiser of property for Loramie town- 
ship for 1822, $1.00. 

Allowed Frederic Steinberger as appraiser of property in Turtle Creek 
township for 1822, $1.00. 

Allowed Samuel McKean as appraiser of property for Orange township 
for 1822. $1.00. 

Allowed George Pool as lister and appraiser of property for Clinton 
township in 1822, $5.00. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 107 

Allowed John Johnston appraiser of property for Clinton township for 
1822, $2.00. 

Allowed Samuel Wilkinson lister and appraiser of Perry township for 
1822, $4.00. 

Allowed Elijah Monterey as appraiser of property for Perry township 
for 1822, $1.00. 

Received the petition of sundry inhabitants of Loramie township pray- 
ing for a division of said township, and said petition being granted : Ordered 
that a record be made thereof agreeable to the prayer of the petition, and an 
election for township officers be held at the house of Alexander Miller in said 
township, on the 4th day of July next. 

Allowed Daniel Vandemark for furnishing wood for court term, of 
December, 1821, $1.87/. 

The board appoints Alexander McKee collector of the county levy and 
state tax, and allowed him two per cent on each. 

Ordered that the county levy be established at the highest rate allowed 
by law. 

Adjourned until to-morrow. 

June 4, 1822. The board met pursuant to adjournment, the full board 
present. 

The report of the viewers appointed to locate a road from Ruckman's 
saw-mill to the east line of the county was read yesterday and to-day, and 
no objection being made the same is declared a public highway to be opened 
forty feet wide, and so recorded. 

John Wilson and John Lenox determined the term of their service as 
commissioners by lot resulting in Wilson holding for three and Lenox for 
two years from date of election. 

The report of the viewers appointed to view and locate a road from 
South street in Sidney to Water street in Dingmansburg was read in open 
session yesterday and to-day, and no objection being made the same is ordered 
to be recorded a public highway to be opened sixty feet wide. 

Allowed Alexander McKee for repairs on the jail and lock for same, 
$1.87/2. 

The board appointed Jonathan Beatty treasurer of the county. 

Allowed Win. Beatty's account for repairs on the jail, $1.75. 

Jonathan Beatty appeared and gave bond for the performance of the 
duties of the office, and was duly qualified as the law directs. 

The commissioners examined the auditor's vouchers and accounts, and 
approve the same, and direct him to publish an exhibit of the county's expenses 
from June 4, 1821, to June 4, 1822. 

Adjourned sine die. 

Mellinger, 
Wilson, 
Lenox, 

Commissioners. 
Wells, Clerk. 



108 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

December 2, 1822. The board convened at the house of John Blake. 
Present : John Wilson and William Berry, commissioners, and James Wells, 
clerk. 

Since last session, Joseph Mellinger's time having expired and John 
Lenox having resigned, Wm. Berry and Joseph Mellinger were elected at the 
last October election to fill said vacancies. 

Allowed Montgomery Evans $5.00 as judge of election for Auglaize town- 
ship and returning poll book. 

Received the petition of Charles Sterrett et al. to vacate the road run- 
ning from Ohio street south and Main street north, in the town of Sid- 
ney, leading to Barbara Tilburg's, which was read this day without objections. 

Received the petition of Charles Sterrett et al. to vacate a road leading 
from South street in Sidney, to Dingmansburg ; also, one running up the 
west side of the river, which was read this day. 

Allowed the bill of expenses laid in this day by John Johnston and 
Samuel Marshall, road commissioners, who located the state road from 
Wapakoneta to Fort Meigs. 

Received the petition of Jeremiah Redinbaugh et al. praying a road to 
be laid out, commencing at the south boundary, at the end of the road leading 
from Dayton up Lost creek, near Fleming Jones', and running thence north- 
westerly to or near Michael Young's; thence through John Stoker's lane; 
thence to or near the southwest corner of the southeast quarter of section 1, 
town. 1, range 13; thence north to intersect the road leading from the east 
boundary line to Ruckman & Stewart's mill. 

Received the petition of Wm. Richardson and others praying for a 
road commencing at the road leading from Sidney to Urbana, at or near 
the Bellefontaine road; thence south across Mosquito creek; thence along 
the high bank of Leatherwood to the old ford; thence the best way to the 
northeast corner of Jonathan Nicolas's land; thence south along hjs line; 
thence southwesterly to Byron Wilson's; thence to John Stoker's; thence to 
Michael Young's north line; thence west to intersect the Piqua road. 

Adjourned till to-morrow. 

December 3, 1822. Present: Wilson and Berry. 

Received the remonstrance of John Blake and others against vacating 
the road from the northeast corner of the public square in Sidney to the 
ford near Henry Bryan's; whereupon John Lenox, John Johnston, and 
Richard Lenox were appointed viewers to view said road on the 14th inst. 
and report at next session. 

The first petition of Charles Sterrett was read this day, and no objection 
being made, was ordered to lay over to the next session. 

The petition of Jeremiah Redinbaugh and Wm. Richardson was read 
this day, and no objections being made, viewers were appointed to view 
said road on the 25th inst. 

John Lenox, John Johnston, and Richard Lenox were appointed to 
view, on the 14th inst., the road petitioned to be vacated by Charles Sterrett 
and remonstrated to by John Blake, to report at next session. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 109 

Daniel Vandemark, Peter Musselman, and Booth Burdette were appointed 
to view the road petitioned for by Wm. Richardson. 

John Lucas, John Medaris, and John Underwood were appointed viewers 
on the road petitioned for by Jeremiah Redinbaugh. 

Received a transcript from the docket of James Lenox, Esq., certified 
by the clerk of the court for costs in state cases before said Lenox, which 
is laid over to the next session. 

Adjourned sine die. 

John Wilson, 
Wm. Berry. 

March 3, 1823. The board convened at the house of Francis Kendall, 
in Sidney. Present: John Wilson, Wm. Berry, and James Wells, clerk. 

Received the report of the viewers appointed to view and report the 
expediency of vacating the road leading from the northeast corner of the 
public square in Sidney to Henry Bryan's ford; and they report that it 
is inexpedient to vacate said road; signed by John Lenox and John John- 
ston, viewers. 

Received the petition of Isaac Davis and others praying for a county 
road, which is deferred until the first Monday of June next. 

.Allowed T. W. Ruckman's account for one pair of irons to convey Glass- 
mire to the penitentiary, $1.18^4. 

John Lucas, a road viewer, having removed, Peter Princehouse is 
appointed to serve in his stead. 

Received the commissioner's report and surveyor's plat of a state road 
from Bellefontaine, in Logan county, to Sidney, and the sarne is ordered to 
be recorded. 

Adjourned sine die. 

John Wilson, 
Wm. Berry, 
Commissioners. 

June 2, 1823. The commissioners convened at the court house in Sidney. 
Present: John Wilson, Joseph Mellinger, Wm. Berry, and James Wells, clerk. 

Allowed Gabriel T. Wilkinson for services as lister and appraiser for 
Perry township, 1823, $5.00. 

Allowed Benjamin Manning for services as appraiser for Perry town- 
ship, 1823, $1.00. 

Allowed John Francis for services as lister and appraiser for Orange 
township, 1823, S4.00. 

Allowed Wm. Minear for service as appraiser for Orange township, 
1823, $1.00. 

Allowed John Johnston for service as lister and appraiser for Clinton 
township, 1823, $5.00. 

Allowed Wm. Johnston for services as appraiser for Clinton township, 
1823, $1.00. 



110 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Allowed Samuel Marshall for services as lister and appraiser for Tur- 
tle creek, 1823, $6.00. 

Allowed Joseph Steinberger for service as appraiser for Turtle Creek 
township, 1823, $1.00. 

Allowed A. W. Hathaway for listing and appraising Loramie township, 
1823, $3.00. 

Allowed John Gates for service as lister and appraiser for Cynthian 
township for 1823, $4.00. 

Allowed Jacob Wise for service as appraiser for Cynthian township, 
50 cents. 

Allowed John Bodkin, as lister and appraiser of property for Green 
township, 1823, $3.50. 

Allowed L. Nichols, appraiser of same, 50 cents. 

Allowed John Workman, road commissioner, to locate the state road 
from Belle fontaine, in Logan county, to Sidney, five days. 

Allowed Joseph Bennett, a commissioner in same, five days. Thomas 
Thompson, surveyor in the same, six days and a half. Wm. Minnear and 
Jacob Woodcock, chainmen in same: 2 2/3 days to Minnear; 2>Va days to 
Woodcock, Thomas Dickson, and Benj. Schoder, blazers; one day to Dick- 
son, and 2/4 days to Schoder. 

The petition of Isaac Davis and others, laid over from last session, 
was this day read without objection. 

The petition of Elisha Kirkland and others praying to alter to state 
road leading from Sidney to Logan county-seat, so as to save the fence 
and spring of said Kirkland, beginning at the Four Mile Tree, thence to 
the top of the ridge west of his house; the same was granted at his own 
expense. Benjamin Manning, James Dingman, Jr., and G. W. Wilkinson 
were appointed viewers to view the same the 18th inst., and report at next 
session. 

Received the petition of sundry citizens of Allen county praying that 
said county may be organized into a separate township, said petition being 
granted: Ordered that record be made thereof agreeable to the prayer of 
the petition, and an election for township officers be held at the house of 
Samuel Washburn in said township on the 4th day of July next ; said town- 
ship to be known by the name of Amanda. 

.Adjourned until to-morrow. 

Met June 3 pursuant to adjournment. 

Examined the books and vouchers of the auditor and found them cor- 
rect, and direct him to publish an exhibit of the expenses of the county. 

The board appoint Jonathan Beatty county treasurer for the year ensuing, 
and direct the auditor to take bond in the sum of $3,000. 

The board appoint John Blake collector of the state tax and county levy 
for the year 1823 at one-half of one per cent for such. 

The petition of Isaac Davis and others was read this day, and no one 
appearing to give bond the same is dismissed. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 111 

Joseph Mellinger and Win. Berry, both elected commissioners in October 
last, Mr. Mellinger 's time expires in October next, and Mr. Berry's in Octo- 
ber, 1825. 

Allowed Elisha Williams for desk for use of auditor, $6.50. 
Adjourned sine die. 

John Wilson, 
Joseph Mellinger, 
Wm. Berry, 

Commissioners. 

Monday, December 1, 1823. The board convened at the home of John 
Blake in Sidney. Present : John Wilson, Wm. Berry, and Joseph Mellinger 
(re-elected) commissioners, and James Wells, clerk. 

Received the surveyors' plat and field notes of the state road located from 
Wapakoneta to Fort Brown, at the mouth of the Little Auglaize river. 

Received and accepted the report of the viewers appointed last June ses- 
sion to review and alter the state road passing by Elisha Kirkland, and 
ordered said alteration recorded. 

Allowed Wm. Vaniam for repairs on the door of the jail, 75 cents. 

Received the plat and field notes of the survey of the county road from 
the south line of the county, and terminating on the road leading from 
Ruckman's mill to the east line of the county. 

Allowed B. S. Cox for survey and plat as above, for survey two days 
and plat, $4.00. 

Allowed John Miles for one day, 50 cents. 

Allowed George Barker for the same service, 30 cents. 

Allowed John W. Stoker one day as balance on the -above road, 50 
cents. 

Allowed Robert Houston and John M. Corkle, commissioners who located 
the state road from Fort Loramie to St. Mary's, each five days at $1.75 per 
day. 

Allowed B. S. Cox for surveying said road four days at $2.00 per day. 

Allowed James Houston and John Houston, chainmen on same, four 
days each at 75 cents per day. 

Allowed David Houston four days as blazer at 75 cents per day. 

Adjourned sine die. 

John Wilson, 
Joseph Mellinger, 
Wm. Berry, 

Commissioners. 
Attest, James Wells, Clerk. 

First Monday of March, 1824. The board convened at the home of John 
Blake in Sidney. Present : Wm. Berry and Joseph Mellinger, commissioners, 
and James Wells, clerk. John Wilson, commissioner, , also appointed. 

Ordered that the county treasurer proceed according to law to collect 



112 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

the rents due on the school section No. 16, in township 7, range 6 east, of the 
principal meridian line drawn from the mouth of the Great Miami river, 
in the district of lands sold at the land office at Cincinnati. 

Ordered that the road commencing near Fleming Jones's, at the south 
line of the county, and terminating at the road leading from Ruckman's 
mill to the east line of the county near John Francis's, be recorded and opened 
a public highway to be thirty feet wide. 

Allowed John R. Medaris for one day viewing road from south line 
of the county, intersecting the road from Ruckman's mill to the east line of 
the county, 75 cents. 

Elisha Williams is appointed keeper of the county seal, and authorized 
to procure a standard half bushel, and seal S. C. S., at the expense of the 
county. 

Ordered that the clerk give public notice that if the donors of the county 
seat of Shelby county do not pay their several donations previous to the first 
Monday in June that legal steps will be taken to recover the same. 

Adjourned sine die. 

John Wilson, 
Wm. Berry, 
Joseph Mellingek, 
Commissioners. 
Attest. James Wells, Clerk. 

Same time as above allowed Elisha Williams (a transcript of certain 
state cases wherein the state of Ohio failed) to receive orders from the 
auditor on the treasurer for the costs on his obtaining the certificate of 
the clerk of the court of common pleas as to the correctness of the same. 

April 23, 1824. Present: John Wilson, Joseph Mellinger, and Wm. 
Berry. 

The board having received the resignation of James Wells, late audi- 
tor for Shelby county, and appointed David Henry to fill the vacancy, who 
appeared and gave bond according to law, with Wm. Pratt and James Ding- 
man, Jr., his security, for the faithful performance of the duties of said 
office, and took the oath of office. 

Adjourned to meet the first Monday in June. Signed by the board. 

June 7, 1824. Present: Full board. 

Allowed Thomas W. Ruckman, late sheriff, for his extra services from 
the 14th of January, 1823. to the expiration of his term of service. $30. 

Allowed George Fool, lister of Clinton township, for this year's services. 
$4.00. 

Allowed James Garver, appraiser, $1.00. 

Allowed John Francis, lister for Orange township, for this year's ser- 
vices, $4.00. 

Allowed to D. Minnear, appraiser, $1.00. 

Allowed Samuel Marshall, lister of Turtle Creek township, $4.00. James 
Steinberger, appraiser, $1.00. Robert Swaney, lister of Amanda township. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 113 

$3.00. G. F. Wilkinson, lister of Perry township, $4.00. Thomas E. Eng- 
lish, appraiser as above, $1.00. John Botkin, lister of Green township, $4.00. 
Jonathan Nicols, appraiser, 50 cents. Stever Julian, lister of Loramie town- 
ship, $3.00. John Beck, appraiser as above, $1.00. Wm. Hicks, lister of 
Cynthian township, $3.00. 

Allowed Joseph Stewart, surveyor, for surveying the road from Mosquito 
creek to Michael Young's, three days, $4.50. Booth Burdette, two days' 
viewing same, $1.50. Peter Musselman, same service, $1.50. Chas. John- 
ston, chainman, $1.50. Wm. Montgomery, chainman, $1.50. Peter Prince- 
house, as viewer, 75 cents. Robert- Cunningham, marker, 75 cents. John 
Stoker, marker, 75 cents. 

June 8th. Commissioners met. Present : Full board. 

Ordered that Charles Sterrett, proprietor of Sidney, have an order for 
$520.66, his full half of the proceeds of sale of lots sold in Sidney, that 
is now made. Except three-fourths of three lots considered forfeited for 
non-payment, to wit, lots Nos. 13, 88, and 91, one-fourth of which has been 
paid and accounted for; the other three-fourths depend only on the lots for 
payment, which, when collected, is to be accounted for, or one-half of what 
the lots may bring. 

Allowed Elisha Williams for work done at court house, $20.00. 

Allowed James Wells, late auditor, for one day's service for bringing 
his account up to the date of his resignation, $1.50; also for measure seal, 
$1.50. $3.00. 

The report of the viewers appointed to locate a road beginning at the 
Bellefontaine road on Mosquito creek, thence past Jonathan Nichols, John 
Stoker, and Michael Young, to intersect the Piqua road ; and the same being 
read in open meeting yesterday and to-day, and no objections being made, 
the same is established a public highway, to be opened thirty feet wide. 

Received the petition of James Dingman, Jr., and others, praying the 
vacation of a part of the state road from Sidney to Bellefontaine, from 
Plumb creek to E. Kirtland's; the same being read yesterday and today, 
is laid over to next meeting. 

Received the petition of Francis Kendall and others, praying the vaca- 
tion of the above state road from E. Kirkland to Alex. Jackson's; and the 
same being read yesterday and to-day, is laid over to next meeting. 

The county levy is set this year to the highest extent of the law. 

Thomas W. Ruckman came and settled his donation given to the county 
by giving his note, payable in lumber, December next. 

Allowed Jonathan Beatty, treasurer, for attending to the collection of 
rents in school section range 6, town. 7, two days, $3.00. 

Francis Rook has varied his donation subscribed to the commissioners 
by giving a note for a barrel of whiskey, payable the first Monday in Decem- 
ber next. 

William Beatty is allowed for collecting county levy 4 per cent; for 
state tax, 3 per cent. 

William Beatty is appointed collector of the state and county tax; 



114 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

reappears and gave bond, with John Johnston, Robert Blakely, Jonathan 
Beatty, and Nathan Coleman, his sureties; the county levy in the sum of 
$1,000; and the state tax same securities, in $2,000, and took oath of office 
in both. 

The petition of George Carey and others was received and read, pray- 
ing for an alteration of the Mill creek road running through Carey's land, 
beginning twelve rods below the branch, at Rufus Carey's; thence to Rufus 
Carey's rope works; thence to a white oak four rods east of Elias Carey's 
house ; thence to George Carey's land ; thence to intersect the old road at 
or near the mile end. And Aaron Cecil-, John Furgus, and Jeremiah White 
are appointed to view the same, and make report according to law on the 
third day of July. 

June 9. Ordered that the auditor procure the eaves of the court house 
to be boxed, the windows not glazed to be boarded up, the doors hung, and 
house cleaned, and steps made for the jail door; also locks put on court house 
doors. 

Treasurer's Report of Shelby County for the year ending 1824. 

To uncurrent paper $ 6.25 

To Esquire Lenox for fines 7.00 

To Auditor ( for state tax) 136.39^ 

To Auditor, county purposes 34-92 

To Director of Sidney 124.77 

To Esquire Henry, fines 2.00 

To A. McClintock, donation 20.00 

To B. Brandon, donation .' . . . 6.00 

To G. Pool, donation -. 4.00 

To A. Evans, licenses 1 1.27J4 

To self, permits 5-33/4 

To schools and roads 230.33^4 

To money due county last year 5.91 

$600.06 

To the balance due county per settlement, $38.47. exclusive of the county 
portion of state tax for 1823, and other collections for the same year. 

In Account with Shelby County. 

By money paid for school $ 4.00 

By money paid Robert McClure, road i3- 6 3^4 

By money paid J. McClure 1 i.o6>4 

By money paid Turtle Creek 10.94 

By money paid J. Blake 1 12.61 

By money paid Tas. Wells 5.00 

By money paid self 5-33 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 115 

By money paid Cynthian, road $ 11.97 

By money paid orders redeemed 262.37^ 

By uncurrent paper , . . . . 6.25 

By road receipts 1 17.61 

By balance due county 38.47 

$600.06 
Signed, J. Beatty, S. C. T. 

Jonathan Beatty is appointed county treasurer, who appears and gave bond 
according to law, with William Beatty, John Whitmore, and James Roby as 
his sureties, and took oath of office. 

Examined the orders issued by the old and new auditor, and found them 
correct. 

Adjourned. 

John Wilson, 
Joseph Mellinger, 
Wm. Berry, 

Commissioners. 
D. Henry, Clerk. 

Nov. 13. A special meeting of the commissioners, for the purpose of 
improving the public building. 

John Hathaway and Charles Johnston produced their certificates of elec- 
tion and were sworn into office, and proceeded to business. Repairing the 
court house and jail was the object of the meeting. The contract with Nicho- 
las Smith to plaster the room for the clerk's office in the manner stipulated 
in his contract, in which he agrees to do the work for $12.00. The repairing 
on the jail was laid over until their regular session in December. 

Adjourned. 

December 6, 1824. Present: Full board. 

The account by John Blake, in favor of Ira Dickson, assigned to said 
Blake for house-rent for an office to H. B. Foote, is allowed $9.50. 

John Francis, for fuel for court up to present, $2.12^. 

John Blake, for room-rent for the last grand jury, is allowed $2.00. ' 

Joseph Stewart, surveyor of the road from Sidney to St. Marys, is allowed 
$11.37. 

Asa Hinkle, commissioner on said road, is allowed $6.63. John John- 
ston, commissioner, $5.70. Christ F. Tilberry and Parker, $3.80. Jos. Blake 
and Henry Bryan, chainmen, $5.70. Henry Smith, marker, $2.85. 

The petition of Matthew Sturms and others, praying for a road begin- 
ning at the West Liberty road, thence through the land of E. Sargent 
and P. Locker to the Dayton road, was received and read ; and Philip Locker, 
Jacob Kyser, and Henry Sturms are appointed viewers of the same ; or any 
two of them, together with Joseph Stewart, surveyor, and legal assistance, 



116 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

is to proceed on the 16th instant to locate said road, and make report at the 
next session of this board. 

December 7. The board met. Present as before. 

The petition of Francis Kendall and others, praying for a vacation of 
that part of the state road leading from Sidney to Bellefontaine, that runs 
through said Kendall's and Jpckson's land, that was read last session, was 
again read, and no objections made, and it appearing to the board to be 
reasonable, the same is hereby declared vacated. 

The petition of James Dingman and others, that was read last session, 
praying for the vacation of the state road through said Dingman's land, 
was taken up and read; no objections being made, the said petition was 
granted. 

The report of the viewers, appointed last session, to view the county 
road past Rufus Carey's to Sidney, was received with plat of survey, which 
being read, and no objections made, the same was granted. 

John Hathaway and Charles Johnston, the late commissioners elected, 
drew lots for their term of office. John Hathaway drawing for one year, 
and Charles Johnston for three years. 

Allowed to Joseph Garver for washboard and facing for two windows 
in court house, $2.00. 

Ordered that the qualified electors of the original surveyed township 
Xo. 7, range 6, to be notified to hold an election, on the first day of January 
next, at the house of James Barnett, to elect three trustees and one treasurer, 
to take charge of the school section. 

Allowed James Wells for books, stationery, and drayage, $8.3114. 

David Henry, county auditor, for his services to this date, $45.57. 

Ordered that the clerk collect and record all townships and roads, on 
file in this office. 

Adjourned. 

Joseph Mellinger, 
John Hathaway, 
Chas. Johnston. 
Attest. D. Henry, Clerk. Commissioners. 

Commissioners' Office. Shelby Co., O., March 7, 1825. Commissioners 
met. Present : Full Board. 

Allowed David Henry, late auditor, the amount of his bill up to March 
1. $25.00. 

The board appointed Win. W. Cecil, Benj. Blankinship, and Samuel 
Marshall, appraisers to view and revalue school fraction No. 16, town. 
1, range 7 east, on the tenth day of March next, in accordance with an act of 
the general assembly. 

Ordered by the board that the inhabitants of township 8, range 6 east, 
meet at John Stephens' on the 19th instant and proceed to elect three trus- 
tees and one treasurer for school section 16, for the purpose of organizing 
the said original surveyed township. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 117 

Ordered by the board that a new township be created out of the town- 
ships of Turtle Creek, Clinton, and Loramie, beginning at the N. E. corner 
of fraction n, township 7, range 6 east on the river, and running west to the 
S. E. corner of section 4; thence north along said line to the centre of said 
line ; thence west to the centre of the west line of section 2, township 9, range 
5 east ; thence south along the section line to the county line ; thence east to 
the Miami river; thence up the river to the place of beginning, be organized 
into a new township by the name of Grayson, and that the qualified electors 
meet at the house of Joseph Stewart on the first Monday of April next to 
elect township officers. 

March 8. The board met pursuant to adjournment. Received the report 
of the viewers appointed last session to view and lay out a road from the 
West Liberty road south to the county line, and being real in open session, 
and there being no objection, the same was granted. 

Ordered that the auditor procure the following work to be done in the 
court house : to fit the banisters on the south side of the doors and make 
sufficient benches from the banisters to the south end of the house on each 
side to mage a bench for the judges on the south end of the house, to be 
raised two feet from the floor; a writing desk ten feet long and four feet 
wide, with sloping top ; and fill the windows with glass. 

Allowed James Wells $1.00 for two set of door latches for court house, 
and one quire of paper. 

Allowed Thos. W. Ruckman, auditor, his account of four dollars ($4.00). 

Adjourned. 

Joseph Mellinger, 
John Hathaway, 
Chas. Johnston. 
Attest, Thomas W. Ruckman, Clerk. Commissioners. 

Samuel McClure, of Loramie township, appeared and gave notice of 
his taking an appeal from the commissioners to the court of common pleas, 
respecting the creating of Grayson township in Shelby county, and also gave 
bond for costs, with James Wells as security. 

March 12, 1825. Thos. W. Ruckman. 

Commissioners' Office, Sidney, June 6, 1825. The board met. Present: 
Toseph Mellinger, John Hathaway and Charles Johnston, and Thos. W. 
Ruckman, clerk. 

Received the petition of George Layman and others, praying for a road 
to be established, beginning at the east line of section 5, where the road 
crosses leading to Dayton from Sidney, and running south with said line to 
the southeast corner of section 4, town. I, range 12, to intersect a road lead- 
ing from Troy up Spring street. 

The board appoints John Lucas, John Miles and Wm. Bireley viewers, to 
view and locate the above-named road, taking to their assistance the county 
surveyor and other assistance necessary, on the 18th day of June inst. 



118 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The board allow Stephen Julian, lister of Loramie township, for 1825, 
$5.00. 

Allowed Jacob Shayley, lister of Cynthian township, for 1825, $5.00. 

Allowed John Francis, lister of Orange township, 1825, $4.50. 

Allowed Samuel B. Musselman lister of Perry township, 1825, $4.00. 

Allowed Aquilla Ellsworth, lister of Green township, 1825, $4.50. 

Allowed Jas. A. Graham, lister of Turtle Creek township, 1825, $5.00. 

Allowed Elisha Williams, lister of Clinton township, for 1825, $3.50. 

Allowed Joseph Steinberger, appraiser of Turtle Creek township, 1825, 
$1.00. 

Allowed Win. Minnear, appraiser of Orange township, 1825, $1.00. 

Allowed George Myers, appraiser of Cynthian township, 1825, $1.00. 

Allowed James Roberts, appraiser of Perry township, 1825, $1.00. 

Allowed James Forsythe, appraiser of Clinton township, 1825, $1.00. 

Allowed Joseph Sutton for listing Amanda township, $3.00. 

Mr. Win. Beatty, collector of Shelby county for 1824, produced the state 
treasurer's receipt for $165.43.2. 

Also the state auditors receipt for receipts paid into the county treasury, 
to wit: for road purposes, $168.00.7; for county purposes, $66.85.9; f° r tne 
proportion of land tax due Shelby county from state, $102.00.6; for expenses 
printing, etc., $40.11.0; also the county treasurer's receipt for the county 
levy of 1824, $285.48.0. 

The above discharges him from his said office, errors excepted. 

Ordered that Alex. W. McKee be allowed for work, etc., at the court 
house, $15.42. 

June 7. The board met the same as yesterday. 

Allowed Cephas Carey for the use of a horse five- days to Dayton for 
house, $15.42. 

Allowed John Blake for carriage to Wells to go to Dayton for books, 
$1.25. 

To James Wells for cost in the cases of the directors of the town and 
Beatty & Blake. $1.41^. 

To Elisha Williams, justice fees in the above case, 56M cents. 

To James Wells for six chairs for the use of the court house and offices, 
$4.00. 

June 8. Board met the same as yesterday. 

Ordered that the county levy lie charged at the highest rate the law allows. 

John Blake was appointed collector of Shelby county for the year 1825, 
at 2 T /2 per cent for state, road, and county taxes of Shelby county. 

Ordered that the auditor take bonds of said collector, with good and 
sufficient security, to the amount of $2,000.00 for the state and road taxes, 
and $1,000.00 for the county levy. 

The board appointed Jonathan Beatty treasurer of the county for one 
year from this date. He appeared and gave bond, with W'm. Beatty, Abra- 
ham Dingman, Amos Evans, and Win. Drake, Jr., to the amount of $3,000.00 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 119 

Ordered that Alex. W. McKee have $12.78.4, being road tax in money 
overpaid by him for the year 1822. 

June 9. The board met the same as yesterday. 

Ordered that a publication be put in the Piqua Gazette for the build- 
ing of a new jail at Sidney, to be let out on the 16th day of July next, to be 
22 feet by 30 feet; one story high; with a cell; the walls to be hewed timber 
and double; filled in with stone. Conditions made known on day of sale. 

Ordered that notice be given to the commissioners of Logan and Mercer 
counties that the county surveyor of Shelby county will be ordered to pro- 
ceed to run that part of the bounds of Shelby county which lies in the new 
purchase, north of the old boundary line; to commence on the nth day of 
July next, at the old boundary line on the east line of Shelby county, and 
run it agreeable to the law for the division and creation of Shelby county. 

Ordered that Francis Rook be notified by the auditor to produce a barrel 
of whiskey due the county on the 16th day of July next in Sidney, to be sold. 

Ordered that Cynthian township record be altered agreeable to the peti- 
tion for the organization of said township. 

Ordered that the auditor be authorized to cause cases to be put on the 
inside of the windows of the court house that have sash in, and also strips to 
hold the sash in, and to procure shutters to the under windows. 

Allowed T. W. Ruckman, auditor, the balance of his account, $23.72.5. 

John Blake produced the receipts for his collections of 1823 for state 
and county purposes of Shelby county, and is discharged from said office, 
errors excepted. 

Adjourned sine die. 

Joseph Mellinger, 
John Hathaway, 
Charles Johnston. 
Attest, Thos. W. Ruckman, Clerk. 

July 16, 1825. Special session. 

The board proceeded to sell to the lowest bidder the building of a new 
jail in Sidney, agreeable to the plan and conditions on file in the auditor's 
office, and Augustus Richards became the contractor for $793; one- fourth to 
be paid when the work is commenced, as appears by his bond with Samuel 
McClure and Amos Evans, his securities, for the completion of the build- 
ing by the 25th day of December next, in a good, substantial, workmanlike 
manner. 

Ordered that the auditor issue orders for one-fourth when the work 
is commenced. 

Adjourned sine die. 

Joseph Mellinger, 
John Hathaway, 
Charles Johnston. 
Attest, Thos. W. Ruckman, Clerk. 



120 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

July 26. 1825. Present: John Hathaway, Charles Johnston and T. W. 
Ruckman. clerk. 

The board entered into an additional agreement with Augustus Rich- 
ards, for the jail to be raised two feet higher, and to cheek three doors 
with iron, to make the windows in the criminal room to be as large as the 
iron in the old jail will answer, and the windows in the debtor's room to be 
two feet square. Also to check the outside wall at the windows with iron, 
as entered on plan or conditions. It was also agreed Augustus Richards 
should have orders for the additional iron that will be required at cash 
value, and to be advanced for raising the wood wall two feet inside and two 
feet outside, and the stone wall between one foot; the said Richards is to 
have, agreeable to the first undertaking, the iron in the old jail at cash rate, 
to be deducted out of the additional iron required. 

September 16. 1825. Special session. Present: John Hathaway, Charles 
Johnston, and T. W. Ruckman, clerk. 

The board authorized the auditor to make a calculation of what addi- 
tional iron will be required, and to issue orders on the treasurer to the 
amount required by selling the orders at sixty-two and a half cents on the 
dollar, or the best price they will command, and to furnish the orders or 
the amount they will bring in cash to the contractor when wanted to go after 
the iron, after deducting the iron furnished out of the old jail. 

It is ordered by the board, in consequence of an appeal taken by Samuel 
McClure from the decision of the commissioners of March 7, 1825, creating 
Grayson township, to meet the court of common pleas, which was continued 
by the court under advisement until August term last, when it was dis- 
missed by the court, as appears by the the clerk's certificate, dated August 13 ; 
therefore it is ordered that the clerk of the board advertise an election to be 
held in Grayson township on the 26th day of September inst, for the pur- 
pose of electing three trustees, one clerk, one treasurer, two overseers of 
the poor, two fence viewers, and one constable for said township. 

March 6. 1826. 

Ordered by the board that all that part of Perry township lying west 
of the following line be attached to the township of Clinton, beginning as 
follows: At the southeast corner of section 4, town. 1, range 13, thence 
north with the surveyed township line to the northeast corner of section 
5, town. 1, range 13. on the river, and ordered to be recorded. 

Charles Johnston, 
John Wilson. 
Attest. Thos. \V. Ruckman, Clerk. 

April 26, 1826. Special session. Present: Joseph Mellinger, Chas. 
Johnston, John Wilson, and T. W. Ruckman, clerk. 

The board agreed with the contractor to give him $100 in addition to the 
amount of the first contract for the additional contract, exclusive of an order 
issued for the additional iron, making in all $893 for building the jail. The 
board orders that the auditor issue orders for $694.75, being the balance due 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 121 

after deducting the one-fourth of the first contract which has been issued to 
the contractor. 

Adjourned sine die. 

June 5, 1826. Commissioners convened. Present: Joseph Mellinger, 
Charles Johnston. John Wilson, assessor Amos Evans, and clerk T. W. 
Ruckman. 

The board orders that one tier of sections be struck off the north side of 
Green township and attached to Perry, and that all that part of Perry lying 
on the northwest side of the Miami river be created a new township by the 
name of Salem, and that the qualified electors of said Salem township meet 
at the house of John Hathaway on Saturday, the 24th day of June inst., for 
the purpose of electing three trustees, one clerk, one treasurer, two overseers 
of tlie poor, two fence viewers, and one constable for said township. 

Ordered that the auditor give notice of aforesaid election. 

Ordered that all that part of Grayson township lying east and north 
of the following lines be attached to Clinton township: Beginning on the 
line of said township at the northwest corner of section 10, town. 7, range 
6 east; thence south to the southwest corner of said section; thence east with 
the section line to the Miami river; ordered also that this be duly recorded. 

June 6, 1826. The board appointed James Lenox collector of the taxes 
for the county of Shelby for present year. 

The board appointed James Forsythe treasurer of Shelby county for 
one year. 

William Richardson paid his donation to seat of justice in full May I, 

$i6,6 4 M. 

Benjamin R. Brandon paid on his father's donation, $12.50. 

Rodman Talbott paid on his donation, $13.00. 

December 6, 1826. Present: Charles Johnston, John Wilson, Peter Mus- 
selman. and Clerk Ruckman. 

Ordered by the board that the auditor give public notice and attend to the 
selling of the old jail on Saturday, the 16th day of this instant, on a credit 
of six months, with good and sufficient security for the payment. The 
purchaser to remove the building in twenty days after date. 

March 7, 1827. The board appointed Booth Burdette assessor of the 
county, under act of January 16, 1827. 

June 4, 1828. Ordered that the auditor take bond of James Forsythe, 
treasurer of the county, in the sum of $4,000, for the faithful performance 
of the duties of his office. 

John Wilson, 
Peter Musselman, 
John Francis. 
Attest, Thos. W. Ruckman, Clerk. 

December 1, 1828. Samuel Marshall appointed and took his seat as com- 
missioner. Present also Peter Musselman, John Francis and Clerk 
Ruckman. 



122 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

June 3, 1829. The board allows James Wells, postmaster, the privilege 
to keep the post office in the court house; he paying therefor the sum of 
$3.00 in compensation, from the 1st of June, 1829, to the 1st of June, 1830; 
said postmaster is in no wise to interrupt the court or lower room of said 
court house, but to have privilege to pass and repass through said room. 

Treasurer's Report, 1830. James Forsythe, Treasurer. 

Dr. 
1829. To amount of balance on hand at last settle- 
ment $ 302 10 

To amount received from state treasurer 

for amount due for 1828 29 55.3 

July 13. To amount of license of H. Hubble 5 00 

Sept. 2T,. To amount of license of David Henry, 

Director of Sidney 100 00 

Nov. 2. To amount of John Blake, tavern license 5 00 

Nov. 2. To amount of Wm. Mills, tavern license. . 5 00 

Nov. 2. To amount of M. F. Brodrick for permit 2 50 
Nov. 4. To amount of Adam Hull, Sheriff, jury 

fees 6 00 

Nov. 5. To amount Jas. Wells, elk., jury fees. ... 6 00 

Nov. 6. To amount of Jas. Wells, for J. Evans, fine 3 00 

Nov. 7. To amount of Jesse P. Blankinship, per't 4 07 

Dec. 16. To amount of B. B. and Geall, per't. ... 4 07 

Dec. 16. To amount of B. B. and Geall, per't. ... 5 75 

Dec. 26. To amount of Jason Taylor, coroner. ... 12 00 
1830. 

June 1. To amount of B. Bleden for tav. license. . 5 00 

June 20. To amount on sale of school lands 599 60 

June 20. To amount on duplicate for state and 

canal taxes 386 03.8 

June 20. To amount of for school purposes 95 63.8 

June 20. To amount of for county purposes 515 25.7 

April. To amount of for stallion license 27 00 

June. To amount of clerk for fine and costs 

against N. Burnett 7 94.5 

To amount of against Director of Sidney 210 00 



Cr 



By state treasurer's receipt for monev on school 

lands .' $ 6,18 36 

By his percentage for carrying same to Columbus . . 6 24 

By state treasurer's receipt for state and canal tax 

collected, 1829 3 6 - 8 7-4 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 123 

To amount of school orders redeemed 24 55.9 

To amount of taxes not collected in Allen county 

and in Shelby county 5 56 

To amount of county paper redeemed 779 52.7 

To amount of his percentage on $2,030 32.2 21 51.7 

To amount of balance produced in cash 413 81.5 

$2332 45.2 
James Forsythe, Treasurer S. C. 

March 8, 183 1. The board appointed Amos D. Kennard assessor of 
Shelby county for the year 183 1, to fill the vacancy of Amos Evans, removed 
from the county. 

Thomas W. Ruckman. elected auditor in October, 1830, entered into bond 
with Rodham Talbott, David Henry and Bazell Burton, as sureties, on the 
7th instant. 

Samuel Gamble, elected commissioner October, 1830, and took his seat 
in the board at December session following. 

July 23, 1 83 1. The commissioners met for the purpose of forming the 
plan of a new court house, to be built on the centre of the public square, 
in the town of Sidney. Shelby county, Ohio. The following is the plan and 
condition of said building: The walls above the foundation to be built of 
brick, forty-two feet square and two stories high. The foundation to be 
of stone, well laid in lime and sand mortar, eighteen inches under ground, 
and eighteen inches above ground, and two and a half feet thick. One foot 
of the top of the said wall to be range work jointed on the outside. The 
sleepers on lower joist to be three by ten inches of oak timber, laid twenty 
inches from centre to centre, and put in three lengths long, and supported 
by two walls of stone or hard brick across the building at the ends in from 
the out walls. The said two walls to be sunk one foot in the ground. The 
first story to be sixteen feet high in the clear, and the walls twenty-three inches 
thick, and the second story eleven feet high in the clear, and the walls eighteen 
inches thick. The joist at the top of the first story to be three by ten inches, 
laid eighteen inches from centre to centre, and the upper joist three by eight 
inches, laid twenty inches from centre to centre. The second and third tiers 
of joist to be good, sound, durable timber, both put in two lengths' long, 
framed into one girder in each story, supported by two columns in the lower 
story, to be turned in a proportion to the height of the story, and set upon 
sufficient pillars of stone or laid brick, and the upper column a sufficient square 
size. Two pieces of good strong timber, six by ten inches and forty-four 
feet long, to be laid at right angles across the upper girder in a proper posi- 
tion to build a cupola on. The building to be covered with a hip roof ( framed 
with a space in the centre of twelve feet square for the purpose of building 
a cupola hereafter, but well covered for the present). The roof to be covered 
with joint shingles eighteen inches long. The eaves' to be finished with a 
good cornice all around. There are to be three doors with eight panels in 



124 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

each. One in the north, one in the south, and one in the east, four feet wide, 
with elliptical tops, and a blank door in the west side with an elliptical top. 
The door tops to be finished with a transom, a circuling frame and sash filled 
with glass, and the door 1 frames finished on the inside with single architraves, 
and hung with substantial hinges fastened with sufficient fastenings. 

The lower story to hav^ sixteen windows, four in each side, to be placed 
at proper distances from the doors and each other, to contain fifteen lights 
of glass twelve by sixteen inches in each, and put double window shutters to 
them, panelled and lined, hung with substantial hinges and fastenings, and 
fastenings to hold the shutters open. The upper story to have twenty 
windows, five in each side, with twelve lights in each twelve by sixteen inches 
size in each ; all the windows to be finished in the inside with single archi- 
traves, and sills to the windows for architraves to stand on; all the doors, 
including the blank door, and all the windows to be recessed four inches 
in the walls on the outside, and circuling at the top. To be one fireplace in the 
lower story, four feet wide in the clear, and two fireplaces in the upper story, 
two and a half feet wide in the clear. The lower floor to be laid with oak or 
ash plank, sawed one and one-eighth inch thick, not more than eight inches 
wide, well seasoned, and laid with a square joint. The upper floor to be laid 
with the same description of plank, and ploughed and grooved, to be four- 
teen squares of partition in the upper story, with one and a fourth inch 
poplar plank, planed on both sides, making four rooms, with a button door 
to open into each room, finished with single architraves, hung and fastened 
\\ ith sufficient hinges and locks. A flight of open newal stairs, rampt and 
kneed, to be run from the lower floor to the second. The walls to be painted 
outside a good brick color and penciled. The roof to be painted with two 
coats of Spanish brown, except the part over where the cupola will be built. 
The doors, door frames, and window frames to be all painted white with 
white lead, on the outside with two coats. The window shutters to be painted 
with two coats on both sides. The sash to be all painted white with two 
coats of white lead. 

The whole of the material for the building to be of a good substantial 
quality, and the work all done in a good substantial workmanlike manner. 

The undertaker to receive $350 when the brick is burnt, $650 when the 
walls are up, $200 when the roof is on and painting of the roof and walls done, 
and the balance when the work is done and received, to be paid in orders issued 
on the treasury of the county. The proceeds of the sale of the present 
court house and lot to be applied, when sold, to the undertaker of this one. 
The whole work to be completed by the 1st of October, 1832. 

The purchaser or undertaker to give bond and security for the per- 
formance of the work of said building and completion of the same, the 
centre of the building to be in the centre of the public square. 

The commissioners also propose that $150 in cash shall be advanced in 
January next, and that the present court house and lot should be sold in May 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 125 

next, with conditions that the payments should be paid in cash, a certain 
portion at time of sale, and the remaining part within twelve months, and 
the payment when made to be applied to the use of said contractors. 

Samuel Marshall, 
Peter Musselman, 
Samuel Gamble 
Attest, Thos. \V Ruckman, Clerk. 

July 25, 1 83 1. The board offered the building of the new court house 
agreeable to the foregoing proceedings, and Charles Bush, Wm. Doak, and 
George D. Leckey became the contractors agreeable to the conditions of 
the proposals offered on day of sale as recorded. 

Samuel Marshall, 
Peter Musselman, 
Samuel Gamble. 
Thos. W. Ruckman, Clerk. Commissioners. 

John Barkalow elected assessor at October election, 1831, failed to 

give bond, and, at a meeting of the commissioners held March 5, 1832, the 

office was declared vacant. Barkalow having appeared was appointed to 

fill said vacancy for the year 1832, and gave bond on the succeeding day. 

March 31, 1832. 

The commissioners met for the purpose of making an alteration in the 
building of the court house, with the consent of the contractors, and making 
provision for selling the old court house and lot. On consulting with the 
contractors it is agreed that the stories shall each be thirteen feet high in 
the clear for the purpose of the court up stairs, thereby deducting one foot 
from the height; also that the entry in the lower story shall run north and 
south twelve feet wide; to partition the lower story in five rooms, three on 
the west of the entrance and passage of equal size, and two on the east side, 
the northeast room to be fourteen by twenty-six feet; to put in a window 
in the west side in place of the blank door, the same size as the other lower 
windows. The fireplace down stairs to be in the large room. It is agreed 
that the difference in expense caused by this alteration shall be calculated 
when the building is completed. 

The commissioners and contractors sign the minutes so far as relates 
to said alteration, and said minutes to be considered binding in law and in 
fact. 

Peter Musselman, 
Samuel Gamble, 
Samuel Marshall, 

Commissioners. 
Charles Bush, 
Wm. Doak. 
Attest, Thos. W. Ruckman, Clerk. Contractors. 



126 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

May 16, 1832. James Wells is this day appointed recorder of Shelby 
county by the board, such appointment to continue until the next annual elec- 
tion in October. 

October 20, 1832. Description of a Cupola to be built on the court house 
in Sidney. — The octagon to be framed into timbers resting on the upper 
joists, extending fifteen feet above the top of the roof, ten feet in diameter, 
a window in each square inclosed Venetian blinds from the bottom of the 
windows to the floor; there is to be a door which, together with all the 
window blinds are to be hung with hinges and to have iron fastenings on the 
inside; the joists on the top of the roof to extend one and a half feet outside 
of the octagon, making the floor fifteen feet square, with posts set upon the 
roof, framed into and extending two and a half feet above the floor, finished 
with Chinese balustrading, and weather-boarded from the floor down to the 
roof, the lower edge to be scalloped. The octagon ro be finished with a Doric 
cornice in full, round the top. On the iron part of the spire there are to be a 
brass or guilt ball 20 inches in diameter, 2V1 feet from the wood work, and 
a weather vane two feet in the clear above the ball. The outside to have 
two coats of white lead, except the blinds, which are to be painted green. 
Also, a conducting iron rod to extend from the ground eight inches above 
the top of the spire, safely secured and cased with boards six feet high from 
the ground. The frame to be put up and the floor laid tight by the 15th of 
December next, and to be completed by the 1st day of June next. One half 
w ill be advanced in county paper by orders issued on the treasurer when the 
frame is up and floor laid, including the subscription by individuals, and the 
remaining half in county paper when the work is completed. John Xis- 
wonger became the purchaser at $390. 

Gamble and Marshall, Commissioners. 

December 3, 1832. Commissioners present: Samuel Gamble, Samuel 
Marshall, and John Francis ; also, Thos. W. Ruckman, Clerk. 

Ordered that a new township be created, beginning at the southwest 
corner of town. 8, in the Piqua Land District, on the old boundary line at 
the range line dividing ranges 5 and 6; thence north with the said range line 
to the north line of Shelby county; thence east on the Shelby and Allen line 
to range line dividing ranges 6 and 7 ; thence south with the said range line 
to the old boundary line ; thence west with said boundary line to the place 
of beginning: and further, that all included in the above described bounds 
be organized into a township under the name of Dinsmore. 

Ordered also that the inhabitants of said township meet at the house of 
Joseph Green on the 25th day of December, inst., for the purpose of elect- 
ing township officers according to law : and further — 

Ordered that the electors of the original surveyed township Xo. 7 south, 
range 6 east, in the Piqua Land District, meet at the house of Joseph Green 
on the 25th of December, inst., and then and there elect three trustees and 
one township treasurer for the original surveyed school section of said town- 
ship. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 127 

March 30, 1833. At a special meeting of the commissioners for the 
purpose of receiving the new court house on the contract entered into by 
Charles Bush. Wm. Doak, and George D. Leckey, contractors for building 
said new court house, present, full board. 

The board received the new court house as being built according to 
contract, with the exception of the moulding around the doors and windows, 
and the glazing of the sash above the doors. The moulding to be put on and 
the sash to be glazed on or before the 1st clay of August next. 

The board contracted with Charles Bush and Wm. Doak to put on the 
base around the brick wall, above and below, at two cents per foot ; and also 
pay said Bush and Doak the customary price for the materials. The said 
Bush and Doak agree to have said work completed on or before the 1st day 
of August next, and take county paper in payment. 

The board order that the auditor issue orders on the treasurer to the 
contractors for the building of the new court house' to the amount of the 
balance on the contract. 

Samuel Gamble, 
John Francis, 
Robert Huston, 

Attest, \Y.\i. Murphy, Ch-rk. Commissioners. 

May 12, 1833. At a special meeting of the commissioners for the purpose 
of receiving the cupola built on the new court house in the town of Sidney 
upon the contract entered into by John Niswonger as contractor for building 
said cupola : the board received the cupola as being built according to con- 
tract, and also allow the said contractor $9.50 for extra work on said cupola, 
and for hindrance of the hands at court in May, 1833. 

The board orders that the auditor issue orders on the treasurer to the 
amount of $204.50 (to the contractor), said sum being the amount due for 
building said cupola. 

Samuel Gamble, 
John Francis. 
Attest, Wm. Murphy. Commissioners. 

At a session held June 4, 1833, the board allowed the contractors for the 
building of the court-house their account for extra work done to said court- 
house, and for forty-three panes of glass — said account amounting to forty- 
six dollars and seventy-five cents in full. 

December 2, 1833. Present: Samuel Gamble, John Francis, Wm. W. 
Cecil, and Wm. Murphy, clerk. The board of commissioners, upon being 
petitioned to erect a new township, ordered that a new township be created, 
bounded as follows, to wit : beginning at the place where the Indian boun- 
dary line intersects the east boundary line of Shelby county; thence north with 
said east boundary line of Shelby county to the county line between Shelby 
and Allen counties; thence west with the line between said counties to the 



128 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

place where the east boundary line of Dinsmore township intersects said 
boundary line between Shelby and Allen counties ; thence south with said east 
boundary line of Dinsmore township to the place where said east boundary 
line of said township intersects the Indian boundary line; thence easterly with 
said Indian boundary line to the place of beginning; and further, that all 
included in said bounds be organized into a township under the name of 
Jackson. 

The board orders that the inhabitants of said new township meet at the 
house of Andrew Naggle in said township, on the 25th day of December inst. 
for the purpose of electing township officers for the said township of Jackson, 
according to law. 

March 3, 1834. Present: Samuel Gamble. John Francis, Wm.'W. Cecil, 
and Wm. Murphy, auditor. 

The board being satisfied that it is necessary to-erect a new township, and 
being petitioned for that purpose, they proceeded to erect a new township 
of the following bounds, to wit : beginning at the county line between Darke 
and Shelby county where the old Indian boundary line (made at the Green- 
ville treaty in 1795) intersects said county line, and running thence with said 
Indian boundary line in an easterly direction to the southeast corner of section 
8 in town. 8 south, range 5 east; thence north with the section line to the 
county line between Shelby and Allen counties ; thence west with said line to 
the northwest corner of Shelby county; thence south and west with the west 
boundary line of Shelby county to the place of beginning; and the board 
order that said township be known and designated by the name of McLean : 
and the board do further order and direct that notice be given (by advertise- 
ment, according to law) to the electors of said township to meet at the house 
of Hezekiah Hubble on the first Monday of April next, for the purpose of 
electing township officers for said township. 

December 1, 1834. The board received a petition signed by sundry per- 
sons, to the number of seventeen, praying for the setting off of a new town- 
ship of the following bounds, to wit: commencing on the old Indian boun- 
dary line at the southeast corner of McLean township; thence east with said 
line to a point so as to take one tier of sections off the west side of range 6: 
thence north to the Allen county line ; thence west to the northeast corner of 
McLean township; thence south to the place of beginning: and the board 
being satisfied that legal notice of the presentation of said petition has been 
given, and that said petition was signed by a majority of the householders 
residing within the boundary of the said proposed new township; and believ- 
ing it necessary to erect said township, they therefore order that said new 
township as described and bounded as, aforesaid, be set off and known by the 
name of Van Buren : and the board do further order and direct that notice 
be given (by advertisement, according to law) to the electors of said town- 
ship, to meet at the house of Moses E. Baker, in said township, on the 1st day 
of January, 1835, for the purpose of electing township officers. 

June 5, 1837. The board convened. Present: A. K. Hathaway, James 
G. Guthrie, and Wm. Murphy, auditor. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 129 

The hoard of commissioners received a petition praying for the following 
alteration in Perry township, to wit : to attach the whole of fractional town- 
ship No. i, in range 14, which is in Perry township, to Salem township; and, 
the board being satisfied that said petition was signed by a majority of the 
householders residing within the boundaries of said proposed alteration, and 
also that 30 days' previous notice of the presentation of said petition had been 
given, the beard therefore makes the alteration as prayed for in said petition, 
by attaching to Salem township all of fractional township number one, range 
fourteen, which is in Perry township. 

June 6. 1837. The board proceeded to estimate the annual income of 
each of the practising lawyers and physicians residing in Shelby county, as 
returned in the assessor's list in 1837, and to charge a tax on each according 
to his income, as follows, to wit : — 

Practising Lawyers. — Patrick G. Goode, income, $1200; tax, $4. Joseph 
S. Updegraff, income, $1200: tax, $4. Wm. J. Martin, income, $300; tax, $1. 

Practising Physicians. — Ezekiel Thomas, income, $1200; tax, $3. H. S. 
Conkiin, income, $600: tax, $1.50. Nathan Updegraff. income, $600; tax, 
$1.50. L. K. Milton, income, $800: tax, 2. Julius Deppe, income, $1200; 
tax, $3. S. B. Musselman, income. $400: tax, $1. Levi Houston, income, 
S400; tax, $1. James H. Stewart, income, $1000; tax, $2.50. 

March 5, 1838. Board convened. Present: A. K. Hathaway, J. G. 
Guthrie, Wm. M. Flinn, and Wm'. Murphy, auditor. 

The board received a petition praying for the following described altera- 
tion in Orange township, to wit : to strike off from Orange township all of 
fractional section 9, town. 1, range 13, and attach the same to Clinton town- 
ship: and the board being satisfied that said petition was signed by a major- 
ity of the householders residing within the boundaries of said proposed altera- 
tion, and being also satisfied that legal notice of the presentation of- said peti- 
tion had been given, and the board believing that it was necessary to make the 
proposed alterations, did therefore order that fractional section No. 9, town. 
1, range 13, be stricken off from Orange township, and attached to and 
included in the bounds of Clinton township. 

June 5, 1838. The board, together with the auditor, estimated the annual 
income of each of the practising lawyers and physicians residing in Shelby 
count v, as returned by the assessor in 1838, and charged a tax on each as 
follows : — 

Practising Lawyers. — P. G. Goode, income, $960; tax, $4. J. S. Upde- 
graff. income, $1200; tax, $5. J. S. Conkiin, income, $960; tax, $4. Wm. J. 
Martin, income, $600; tax, $2. 

Practicing Physicians. — Ezekiel Thomas, income, $1200; tax, $4. H. S. 
Conkiin, income, $1200; tax, $4. James H. Stewart, income, $900; tax, $3. 
Robert C. Johnston, income, $1200; tax, $4. A. Sanborn, income, $600; tax, 
$2. Levi Houston, income, $1200; tax, $4. Julius Deppe, income, $900; 
tax, $3. S. B. Musselman, income, $300; tax, $1. Peter Julian, income, $300; 
tax, $1. Lewis A. Davis, income, $600; tax, $2. 

December 3, 1838. The board received a petition praying for the follow- 



130 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

ing described alteration in Orange township, to wit: to strike off from said 
township the north half of section 3 in town. 1, range 13, and attach the same 
to Clinton township; and the board being satisfied that said petition was 
signed by a majority of the householders residing within the boundaries of 
said prayed alteration; and being also satisfied that legal notice of the presen- 
tation of said petition had been given, and the board being of opinion that it 
was necessary to make said proposed alteration, did therefore order that the 
said north half of section 3 in town. 1. range 13, be stricken off from Orange 
township, and attached to and included within the bounds of Clinton township. 

June 4. 1839. The board together with the auditor, estimated the annual 
income of each of the practicing lawyers and physicians residing in Shelby 
county, as returned by the assessor of said county in 1839, and assessed a tax 
on each as follows, to wit : — 

Practising Lazvyers. — Joseph S. Updegraff. income, $1440; tax, $3. Jacob 
S. Conklin, income, $1440; tax, $3. Patrick S. Goode, income, $3440; tax, 
$3. Win. J. Martin, income, $960; tax, $2. John H. Ryers, income, $720; 
tax. $1.50. 

Practising Physicians. — Julius Deppe. income, $900; tax, $2. W. L. M. 
Le Fevre, income, $480; tax, $1. Lewis A. Davis, income, $480; tax, $1. 
Samuel B. Musselman, income, $240; tax, 50 cents. Park Beaman, income, 
$720; tax, $1.50. William fielding, income. $1200: tax, $2.50. Ezekiel 
Thomas, income. $1200: tax. $2.50. Henry S. Conklin, income, $1200; tax, 
$2.50. Horace C. Mann, income, $960; tax. .$2. James H. Stewart, income. 
S720; tax, $1.50. Robert C. Johnston, income, $1200; tax, $250. Levi 
Houston, income. $1200; tax. $2.50. Peter Julian, income, $240; tax, 50 
rents. Win. C. Avers, income, S4.80 ; tax, $1. 

June 1. 1840. The board, together with the auditor, did estimate the 
animal income of each of the practising lawyers and physicians residing in 
Shelby count)-, as returned and listed by the assessor and deputy assessors of 
said county in 1839, and did assess a tax on each as follows, to wit : — 

Practising Attorneys. — J. S. Updegraff, income. $1440; tax, $3. J. S. 
Conklin. income. $1440; tax. $3. Patrick G. Goode, income, $1440; tax, $3. 
William J. Martin, income. $960; tax, $2. Win. Armstrong, income, $720; 
tax. $1.50. 

Practising Physicians. — Ezekiel Thomas, income, $1200; tax, $2.50. 
Henry S. Conklin. income, $1200; tax, $2.50. Wm. Fielding, income, $1200; 
tax, $2.50. Robert C. Johnston, income, $1200; tax, $2.50. Levi Houston, 
income, $1200; tax, $2.50. Julius Deppe, income, $960; tax, $2 Horace C. 
Mann, income, $960; tax, $2. T. V. W. Young, income, $960; tax, $2. Park 
Beaman. income, $720; tax, $1.50. Lewis A. Davis, income, $480; tax, $1. 
Samuel B. Musselman, income, $240; tax, 50 cents. 

June 6, 1843. Practising Physicians. — R. C. Johnston, N. Updegraff, H. 
S. Conklin, James Stewart, P. Beaman, Wm. Fielding, E. Thomas, H. C. 

Mann, W. V. Cowan, M. Zitzler. Ewing, S. B. Musselman, A. Moyze, 

L. A. Davis, J. H. Drum, J. Deppe, Duffengweller, Little, O. H. P. 

Baer, L. Houston, C. Emerson, A. C. Bliss. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 131 

Attorneys.— J. S. Conklin, R. C. Poland, J. H. Byers, Edward Smith, 
B. F. Metcalf, W. J. Martin, J. S. Fry. 

1846. Practising Attorneys. — J. H. Byers, Wm. J. Martin, J. S. Conk- 
lin, B. F. Metcalf, P. G. Goode. R. C. Poland, E. D. Smith. 

Practising Physicians. — P. B. Beaman, R. C. Johnston, H. S. Conklin, 
H. C. Mann, Wm. Fielding, H. S. Stewart, N. Updegraff, O. H. P. BaelS 
W. C. Cowan, Charles Emerson, L. Houston, P. Julian, Jno. C. Leedom, 
J. Deppe, L. A. Davis, S. B. Musselman, A. Moyze, A. W. Pinkerton, Wm. 
Manson, M. Zitzler, John Little. 

March 5, 1845. The board made final settlement with James Blair, con- 
tractor for the building of the jail, per John W. Carey, sub-contractor, when 
it was found that a balance of $52.50 was due said contractor on the original 
contract and supplemental contracts for extra work performed, which made 
an aggregate cost of $3,750.18, inclusive of said balance due of $52.50. 

June, 1846. Under section 20 of an act for levying taxes on all property 
in the state according to true value, passed March 2, 1846, the full board and 
auditor present, proceeded under said law to divide the county into districts 
as follows : District No. 1 to include Orange, Green, Perry, and Salem town- 
ships. No. 2 to include Clinton, Turtle Creek, Franklin, Dinsmore, and Jack- 
son townships. No. 3 to include Washington, Loramie, Cynthian, McLean, 
and Van Buren townships. 

Assessors were appointed as follows: 1st district. David Buchanan; 2d 
district, Samuel A. Croy : 3d district, Elijah Stoker. The per diem allowance 
of assessors was fixed at $1.50. 

It was ordered, under provisions of "An act to authorize county commis- 
sioners of the state to lay out and establish state roads," passed February 27, 
1846, that all free turnpike roads within the county of Shelby be and are 
hereby declared to be changed into state roads, to be constructed and repaired 
as other state roads are by law constructed and repaired. 

October 30, 1848. Under "An act for incorporating the Bellefontaine 
and Indiana Railroad Company," passed February 25, 1848, an election was 
held on the second Tuesday of October, 1848, to vote for or against the sub- 
scription for capital stock in said road. 

The returns of said election showed that 1659 of the qualified voters at 
said election voted for said subscription, and 350 voted against it, being a 
majority of 1309 in favor thereof. 

The board then proceeded, agreeably to the will of the people of said 
county thus expressed, to subscribe the amount of $50,000 to the capital stock 
of said road as the law provided ; and the auditor, Andrew Waucop, was 
directed to subscribe the same on the books of said company. 

Lowman, Dill, and Marshall, commissioners; Waucop, auditor. 

March 6, 1850. A petition was received from citizens of Cynthian town- 
ship, praying for the following alterations in said township, to wit: That 
fractional section 34, in town. 12, range 4 east; also sections 1, 2, 3, 10, 11, 
and 12 in town. 11, range 4 east ; also fractional section 35 in town. 11, range 
5 east; also sections 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 in town. 10, range 5 east, 



132 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

be attached to McLean township in said county ; and the board being satisfied 
that said petition was signed by a majority of the householders residing in 
the bounds of said proposed alteration, also that thirty days' notice of the 
presentation of said petition had been given, do order and direct that the 
alteration as prayed for be granted, and that the above described territory be 
attached to McLean township for all civil purposes. 

April 9. 1850. Under an act entitled "An act to authorize the commis- 
sioners of Shelby county to subscribe stock in the Bellefontaine and Indiana 
Railroad Company," $60,000 was subscribed by the board. 

Abstract of votes cast for and against the subscription of $60,000 to the 
capital stock of the Bellefontaine and Indiana Railroad: election held April 1, 
1850. 

For Against 

Townships Subscription Subscription 

Clinton 319 5 

Turtle Creek 118 6 

Washington . . . 74 66 

Loramie 108 4 

Cynthian 109 26 

Orange 105 36 

Green 78 7j 

Perry 102 12 

Salem 39 193 

Dinsmore 49 21 

Jackson 35 74 

McLean 34 29 

Van Buren 27 16 

Franklin 97 18 

1294 583 

Being a majority of 711 in favor of capital stock. 

December 6, 1850. The board authorized the council at Sidney to erect 
a market-house in the northeast corner of the public square, said building to 
front on Poplar and Main streets, and to be a good substantial brick, at least as 
large as the one at Piqua. 

June 9, 1852. Under the act of April 13, 1852, providing for the assess- 
ment and taxation of property, the county was divided into four districts, as 
follows: First district to embrace Clinton, Orange, Green, and Perry town- 
ships. Second, to include Washington, Loramie, and Cynthian townships. 
Third, to embrace Turtle Creek, Van Buren, and McLean townships. Fourth, 
to embrace Salem, Jackson, Dinsmore, and Franklin townships. 

December 8, 1852. The board being satisfied by the testimony of John C. 
Elliott, of Jackson township, that there are more than twenty legal voters 
residing in the original town. 7 south, range 7 east, in Shelby county, it is 
ordered and directed that an order be issued, requiring the qualified electors 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 133 

residing in said original township to meet at some place as near the centre of 
said township as is convenient (five days' notice having been given) for the 
purpose of electing three trustees and one treasurer, to perform all and singu- 
lar the duties of trustees and treasurer as pointed out by law. 

April 8, 1835. Election ordered in original town. 2, range 12, M. R. S., 
situate in Shelby and Miami counties, to be held at some place near the centre 
of the township, for the election of three trustees and one treasurer, under 
act of March 14, 1831. 

September 5, 1853. The board sold six hundred shares of Bellefontaine 
and Indiana Railroad stock to the incorporated village of Sidney for $30,00x5 
in village bonds, to be issued under the act incorporating the D. & M. R. R. 
Co., said bonds to bear interest at the rate of seven per cent, and be redeem- 
able March 15, 1865. 

January 26, 1854. Sold $10,000 worth of B. & I. R. R. stock to the trus- 
tees of Ginton township, to be paid for in township bonds. 

March 6, 1855. Joseph Elliott presented the following petition: To the 
commissioners of Shelby county, Ohio. Your petitioners, inhabitants of sec- 
tions 31, town. 6 south, range 6 east, sections 6, 7, 18, 19, and 30, town. 7 
south, range 6 east, of Van Buren township, would respectfully represent that 
that public convenience and wants require that the above-named sections be 
attached to Dinsmore township; also to attach sections 31, town. 7 south, 
range 6 east, and section 6, town. 8 south, range 6 east, to Franklin township. 
This petition was granted. 

March 7, 1855. A petition was granted attachinng sections 31 and 32, 
town. 6 south, range 5 east; also sections 5, 6, 7, 8, 17, 18, 19, 20, 29, 30, 31, 
and 7,2. town. 7 south, range 5 east, to Van Buren township; also attaching 
sections 1, 2, 3, 4, and so much of 9, 10, 11, and 12, as belongs to Van Buren 
in town. 8 south, range 6 east, to Turtle Creek township. 

Common Pleas Court Minutes 

May term, beginning May 17, 1819. Court at Hardin. Present: Honor- 
ables Joseph H. Crane, president; Robert Houston, Samuel Marshall, and 
Wm. W. Cecil, associate judges. 

Harvey B. Foote was appointed clerk of the court' pro tempore, and gave 
bond in the sum of two thousand dollars, with Daniel V. Dingman and Samuel 
Stewart his sureties, approved of by the court, and took the oath of office, 
and the oath to support the constitution of the State of Ohio and that of the 
United States. 

Henry Bacon was appointed by the court prosecuting attorney for Shelby 
county. 

The court order that an election be held according to law in Turtle Creek 
township, for the election of an additional justice of the peace for that town- 
ship. 

Monday, May 17, 1819. The court grant a license to Teagle Trader to 
keep a store in Perry township, on his paying intp the county treasury the 
sum of ten dollars. 



134 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

License also granted to Robert Aldrich & Co. to keep a store in Turtle 
Creek township, on the payment of ten dollars. 

On petition and proof of publication the court grant a license to Hezekiah 
Stout to keep a tavern at his house in Hardin for one year, on his compliance 
with the law. 

The court then adjourned without day. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Shelby county, court of common pleas of September term, 1819. Monday, 
September 13, 1819. Present: Honorable Joseph H. Crane, president; 
Robert Houston, Samuel Marshall, and YVm. W. Cecil, associate judges. 
Harvey B. Foote, clerk pro tempore. Daniel V. Dingman, sheriff. Henry 
Bacon, prosecuting attorney. 

The sheriff returned the following venire to serve as grand jurors: John 
Francis, foreman ; John Manning, James Lenox, Joseph Mellinger, Conrad 
Pouches. Zebediah Richardson, Joseph Steinberger, Henry Hushan, John 
Stevens. Archibald De Frees, Cephas Carey, Peter Musselman, John Bryant 
and Richard Lenox. 

John Kennard, who was summoned, not appearing, the sheriff was ordered 
to fill the panel from the bystanders, whereupon Abraham Davenport was sum- 
moned, who, with the jurors aforesaid, was sworn and charged, and retired 
to perform the duties assigned them by the court. 

Monday, September 13, 1819. Thomas McClish and James Wells 
appeared and surrendered Hugh Scott to court, for whom they were bonds- 
men, and the recognizance was therefore declared void. 

Application being made for the appointment of an administrator for the 
estate of Robert Hardesty, deceased, Nancy Hardesty is appointed with James 1 
Marshall and "Jacob Wise as her security, to give bonds in the sum of four 
hundred dollars. Administratrix was sworn in open court. The court also 
appointed John Houston, John Wilson, and Conrad Ponches as appraisers of 
said estate. 

Jacob Wise was appointed guardian of Elizabeth Philips, aged nine years, 
Mary Philips, aged eight years, Wm. Philips, aged seven years, and George 
Philips, aged six years, minor heirs of George Philips, deceased; the bond of 
one hundred dollars was given, with Leonard Danner as security. 

Monday, September 13, 1819. Criminal docket. 

State of Ohio vs. Hugh Scott. Taken before A. Harkness, Esq., and 
held in $300. Recognized to answer. 

State of Ohio vs. Thomas Driver and Wm. Underwood. Recognized to 
testify in sum of $100. Taken before A. Harkness, Esq. 

State of Ohio vs. Rebecca Gerrard. Recognized to answer. Taken before 
Tames Lenox. Esq., in $100. 

State of Ohio vs. Harvey Sturms. Recognized to testify. Taken before 
James Lenox in $50. 

State of Ohio vs. Rebecca Gerrard. Indicted for larceny. Plea of not 
guilty. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 135 

Thomas Driver being three times called, and failing to appear, his recog- 
nizance is therefore forfeited, $100. 

State of Ohio vs. Rebecca Gerrard. 

There haying been no jurors returned from the proper offices of the dif- 
ferent townships to serve as jurors as appears to this court, it is ordered that 
a venire issue, commanding the sheriff to summon twelve good and lawful 
men to try the issues aforesaid ; the sheriff thereupon returned that he had 
summoned Thomas Hurley, Wm. Cecil, Wra. Berry, Benjamin Blankinship, 
John Craig, Nathan Coleman, Robert Aldrich, Jacob Wise, James Crossman. 
Alexander Miller, and Elisha Courtland, who being duly elected, tried, and 
sworn, say upon their oaths that the defendant is guilty in manner and form 
as she stands indicted. 

State of Ohio vs. Hugh Scott. Assault and battery. Plea of not guilty. 

The defendant with Thomas McClish recognized in the sum of one hun- 
dred dollars conditioned for the appearance of said defendant to answer to 
said indictment from day to day during the present term. 

The grand jury came into court, and presented sundry bills of indictment, 
and having no further business were discharged. 

The court then adjourned until tomorrow morning at nine o'clock. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Tuesday, September 14, 1819. The court met pursuant to adjournment. 
Present : same judges as yesterday. 

State of Ohio vs. Hugh Scott. Assault and battery. The defendant per- 
sonally appeared, withdrew his plea of not guilty, and entered a plea of guilty. 
Judgment, to pay a fine of $10.00 and cost of prosecution. 

Wm. Underwood ; claim three days, $3.00. 

State of Ohio vs. Rebecca Gerrard. Indictment for larceny. Defendant 
set up a motion for a new trial. Motion granted. The defendant with 
Wm. Cecil recognized in the sum of $200 conditioned for the appearance 
of said defendant to answer to said indictment at the next term to be held in 
and for the county of Shelby, and not to depart the court without leave, and 
abide the decision of said court, then this recognizance to be void, otherwise 
to remain in full force and virtue in law. 

Hunt and Forsyth vs. Hugh Scott. Attachment. On motion of defend- 
ant's counsel writ was quashed at cost of plaintiffs. 

It appearing to the satisfaction of the court, that there are no justices 
of the peace, in the township of Orange, the court orders that an election be 
held, according to law, in the said township of Orange for two- justices of the 
peace. 

Robert Broderick was appointed inspector for the county, who, with James 
Lenox, his surety, is to give bond in the sum of $500, conditioned as the law 
directs. 

The court appointed Harvey B. Foote clerk pro tern', until next term. 

The court allowed Henry Bacon $15.00 for his services at this term. 

Whereupon the court adjourned sine die. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 



136 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Shelby county, court of common pleas, December term, 1819. Monday, 
December 13, 1 819. Present: Joseph H. Crane, president; Robert Houston, 
Samuel Marshall, and Wm. W. Cecil, associates. Harvey B. Foote, clerk 
pro tern. Daniel V. Dingman, sheriff. Henry Bacon, prosecuting attorney. 

State of Ohio vs. James Jackson. Assault and battery. The defendant 
being arraigned pleads, and says he is guilty in manner and form as he is 
charged, whereupon it is considered that he pay a fine of $3.00 and costs of 
prosecution. 

Then came the grand jurors, to wit: James Francis, foreman; Wm. Min- 
near. Tames Bryan, Daniel Vandemark, Joseph Bennet, John Mellinger, Zach- 
ariah Hurley, Robert Aldrich. Wm. Bush. David Coon, John Kennard, Gideon 
Wright, Charles Weeks, John Hathaway. 

Wm. Richardson being several times called and not appearing, the sheriff 
was ordered to fill the panel from among the bystanders, whereupon the sheriff 
summoned John Wilson, who, with the jurors aforesaid, was sworn and 
charged, and retired to enter upon the duties assigned them. 

State of Ohio vs. Joel Hurley. Affray. Plea of guilty; fined $5.00 and 
costs. 

State of Ohio vs. Alex. Jackson. Recognized to answer before D. Henry 
in sum of $25.00. 

State of Ohio vs. Isaac Lemasters and John Hathaway. Recognized to 
testify. Taken before D. Henry in sum of $25.00. 

State of Ohio vs. Rebecca Gerrard. Larceny. 

The sheriff returned the venire, whereupon came a jury, to wit: John 
Tohnston, Joseph Aldrich, James Buchanan, Daniel Mellinger, Wm. Mellin- 
ger, A. Cecil, Isaac Robins, Wm. Robinson, Wm. Marrs, James Green, John 
Hathaway, Joseph Bennett. 

The aforesaid jurors being elected, tried, and sworn, say, upon their oaths, 
that the defendant is guilty in manner and form as she stands indicted. 

State of Ohio vs. Alex. Jackson. Assault and battery. Plea of guilty, 
and fine of $5.00 and costs. 

The grand jury reported after finding an indictment, and were discharged. 

The court then adjourned until tomorrow at 9 o'clock. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Tuesday. December 14, 1819. Court met pursuant to adjournment, with 
same judges present as yesterday. 

The court allowed Henry Bacon $15.00 for his services as prosecuting 
attorney at this term. 

State of Ohio vs. Rebecca Gerrard. Appearance for sentence. Sentence 
of two hours' imprisonment, a fine of $25.00 and costs. 

On petition, the court grant a license to Michael Dickey to keep a house 
of entertainment at Cynthiana, by his paying into the county treasury the sum 
of $5.00. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 137 

On petition, the court grant a license to Wm. A. Houston to keep a house 
of entertainment at St. Mary's, by his paying into the county treasury the 
sum of $5.00. 

The court appoints David Henry director of the town of Sidney, to be 
laid off upon the ground selected by the commissioners for the seat of justice 
of Shelby county, who gave bond with Rodham Talbott, Edward Jackson, 
and Thomas W. Ruckman, his securities, in the sum of $6,000. 

The court further orders that the director proceed to lay off a town upon 
the premises aforesaid, in lots of five rods wide by ten rods long, in blocks of 
eight lots each, with alleys one rod in width running through the centre of 
each block, at right angles with each other and with the streets, the alleys to 
divide the blocks into four equal parts; that the streets bt laid out six rods 
in width, and that a public square be laid out in said town, by striking out the 
centre block of lots. 

That the director, so soon as the said town shall be laid out, shall, after 
giving one month's notice thereof in six of the most public places in this 
county, and in the Gazette printed in Dayton, shall proceed to sell, at public 
sale, one-third of said lots, upon the following terms, to wit: one-fourth in 
ninety days, one-fourth in nine months, and one-fourth in fifteen months, and 
the residue in two years ; to be secured by a lien upon the lots until the whole 
shall be paid; reserving one lot upon or adjacent to the public square to be 
selected by the commissioners for the purpose of erecting temporary buildings 
for the county. 

The court appoints Harvey B. Foote clerk of the court of common pleas 
for Shelby county for the term of seven years, who gave bonds with Daniel 
V. Dingman and Samuel Stewart, his securities, approved by the court, and 
took the oath of office and the oath to support the constitution of the state of 
Ohio and that of the United States. 

The court orders that an election be held in the township of Auglaize for 
two justices of the peace. The court orders that the inspector be directed to 
fix the bounds agreeable to the bounds of Miami county — only substituting 
the word "Shelby" instead of Miami. The court orders that the next court of 
common pleas for Shelby county be held at the town of Sidney, the seat of 
justice established by the commissioners appointed by the legislature to fix 
the seat of justice of said county. 

The court then adjourned sine die. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Monday, April 24, 1820. Held at Sidney. Present: Joseph H. Crane, 
president; Robert Houston, Samuel Marshall, William W. Cecil, associates; 
Harvey B. Foote, clerk; Thomas W. Ruckman, sheriff; Henry Bacon, prose- 
cuting attorney. Grand jurors: John Lenox, foreman; Samuel Stewart, 
Richard Lenox. Jacob Wise, John Houston, Henry Hershaw, John Bryant, 
Archibald Defrees. George Barker, John Underwood, John Manning, John 
Stewart, Philip Coleman, Wm. Johnston, and Wm. Cecil. 



138 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

On application by petition, license was granted Abraham Cannon to keep 
a tavern at his house in Sidney for one year, on his paying $5.00 into the 
county treasury. 

It appearing to the satisfaction of the court that there are no justices of 
the peace in the township of Green, lately laid off by the commissioners, it 
is therefore ordered by the court that the trustees of said township order an 
election according to law. for the purpose of electing two justices for said 
township. 

The last will and testament of Charles Botkins was proved by the oaths of 
Aquilla Ellsworth and William Ellsworth, subscribing witnesses thereto, and 
ordered to be recorded. David Henry and George Chiles, executors therein 
named, were sworn in open court. Wm. Marrs, Samuel Robinson, and 
Charles Johnston were appointed appraisers. 

The grand jury reported sundry true bills and were discharged. 

On application by petition, the court grant license to Hezekiah Stout to 
keep a tavern in the town of Hardin by the payment of $5.00. 

Ordered by the court that the director of Sidney offer for sale at public 
vendue, giving one month's previous notice in six public places in the county 
and in the newspaper published at Troy, one-third of the lots now remaining 
unsold in Sidney, on the following terms, viz., one-fourth of the purchase- 
money in hand, one-fourth in nine months, one-four in fifteen months, and 
the remaining fourth in two years ; the purchaser to give bond and approved 
security for the payment of the three deferred instalments, and to receive 
from the director a certificate for the lot or lots purchased, stipulating that 
a deed shall be executed on the completion of the payments; and the director 
is further authorized to dispose of at private sale any lots remaining unsold 
at the public sale hereby ordered, on the terms prescribed by this order. 

The court allows Henry Bacon $15.00 for his services as prosecuting 
attorney. 

Trial Docket : — 

Isaiah Duncan vs. Moses Hicks. Replevin. Discontinued. 

Xiel Thompson vs. Daniel V. Dingman, late sheriff of county. Trespass. 
Discontinued at plaintiff's cost. 

Abraham Cannon vs. Bryan McXamer. Slander. Continued. 

Xiel Thompson vs. Daniel V. Dingman. Trespass. Continued. 

Court adjourned sine die. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

State of Ohio, Shelby county, court of common pleas. Monday, Septem- 
ber 4. 1820. Present: Hon. Joseph H. Crane, president; Robert Houston, 
Wm. W. Cecil, associates; Harvey B. Foote, clerk; Thomas W. Ruckman, 
sheriff; Henry Bacon, prosecuting attorney. Grand jurors: Aaron Hark- 
ness, foreman; Henry Levally. Gideon Wright, Cephas Carey. Jeremiah White. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 139 

Abraham Minnear, Alex. Miller, Wm. Gibson, Thomas Hurley, Samuel 
McClure, Wm. Morrow, C. Aldrich, Isaac Robbins, Hezekiah Hubble, Philip 
Coleman. James Coleman, constable. 

Abraham Cannon vs. Bryan McNamer. Slander. Rule for declaration 
in sixty days. Continued. 

State of Ohio vs. Abraham Cannon. Adultery. Plea of not guilty con- 
tinued on affidavit of defendant. The defendant, with Robert Aldrich and 
William Johnston, is recognized in the sum of $200 conditioned for the appear- 
ance of said defendant to answer said indictment at the next term of 
court to be held in and for the county of Shelby, and not to depart the court 
without leave, and abide the decision of the court, then this recognizance to 
be void; otherwise to remain in full force and virtue in law. 

State of Ohio vs. Jacob Trout. Larceny. Plea of not guilty. Continued 
on affidavit of defendant, whereupon the defendant with John A. Cavan is 
recognized in the sum of $300, conditioned for the appearance of said defend- 
ant to answer to said indictment at the next term to be held in and for the 
county of Shelby, and not depart the court without leave, and abide the deci- 
sion of the court, then this recognizance to be void, otherwise to remain in 
full force and virtue in law. 

The grand jury reported after finding several true bills, and were dis- 
charged. 

State of Ohio vs. Justus Cooper. Assault and battery. Defendant taken 
into custody of sheriff, and recognizance of Thomas Hurley declared void. 

License was granted to Alex. Miller to keep a house of public entertain- 
ment at the town of Cynthiana for one year, by his payment of $5.00. 

State of Ohio vs. Joseph Bennett. Recognized to answer. 

State of Ohio vs. John Carey and C. Mason. Recognized to testify. 

State of Ohio vs. Justus Cooper. Recognized to answer. 

State of Ohio vs. Henry Zamer, Zachariah Hurley, Moses Hicks, John 
Borders, and Wm. Hicks. Recognized to testify. 

Upon application, the court appoints Wm. Robinson guardian to Thomas 
Ralph Robinson, aged seven years, and Sally Robinson, aged eleven years, to 
give bond in the sum of $200 with David Henry his security. 

State of Ohio vs. Joseph Bennett. Assault and battery. Plea of guilty. 
Fine of $2.00 and costs. 

State of Ohio vs. Justus Cooper. Assault and battery. Plea of not guilty. 
Tried before a jury consisting of John Medaris, John Gilbert, Jas. Coleman, 
James Lenox, Conrad Poucher, Wm. Skillen, Azariah Julian, James McCain, 
Isaac Minnear, Robert McClure, Thomas Young, and Edward Jackson. The 
jury returned a verdict of guilty as charged, whereupon the defendant was 
sentenced to pay a fine of $5.00 and costs, and be imprisoned in the county 
jail for a term of ten days. 

State of Ohio vs. John Borders. Assault and battery. Plea of not guilty. 
Recognized with security in sum of $75.00 to appear. 

Tacob Scott vs. Zebediah Richardson. Continued on showing. 

Jacob Haaks vs. Zebediah Richardson. Continued. 



140 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Neil Thompson vs. Daniel V. Dingman. Trespass. Damages $5.00. 
Jury trial. Verdict of not guilty. Notice of appeal by plaintiff. 

The court allow the prosecuting attorney $15.00 for his services at this 
term. 

Peter Pallanque, an alien, formerly a subject of the king of France, now 
a resident of this county, came into court, and gives notice of his intention to 
Income a citizen of the United States, and took an oath of such his intention, 
and to renounce forever all allegiance and fidelity to every foreign prince, 
potentate, or sovereign, and particularly to Louis XVIII., king of France. 

Win. Dunlap. an alien, formerly a subject of Great Britain, now a resi- 
dent of this county, came into court, and gives notice of his intention to 
become a citizen of the United States, and took an oath of such his intention, 
and to renounce forever all allegiance and fidelity to every foreign prince, 
potentate, or sovereign, and particularly to the king of England. 

Robert Montgomery is appointed by the cour* administrator of the estate 
of John Bennett, deceased, — the widow having relinquished the administra- 
tion thereof — and gave bond in $300, with Alexander Miller and Archibald 
Defrees his sureties, conditioned as the law directs. John Miller, Wm. Gibson, 
and John Houston were appointed appraisers. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

State of Ohio, Shelby county, court of common pleas, December term. 
Monday, December 11. 1820. Present: Hon. Joseph H. Crane, president; 
Hon. Robert Houston, Hon. Samuel Marshall, and Hon. Wm. W. Cecil 
associates. Harvey B. Foote, clerk. Thomas W. Ruckman, sheriff. Henry 
Bacon, prosecuting attorney. Grand jurors: George Chiles, Wm. Houston, 
Thomas Wyatt, Abraham Davenport, Wm. Robinson, Samuel Robinson, 
Joseph Steinberger, Wm. Johnston, John Mellinger, Wm. Robinson, Jr., John 
McClure, Daniel Vandemark, John Kennard, James Marshall, and Elisha 
Williams. 

Jacob Haak vs. Zebediah Richardson. Continued on showing at cost of 
plaintiff. 

State of Ohio vs. Abraham Cannon. Adultery. Jurors : Richard Bush, 
Win. Flinn, Thomas McClish, Jacob Crane, Wm. Buirley, Abraham Medaris, 
Wm. Kendall, Wm. Mellinger, Jr., Henry Sturms, Rufus Carey, Aaron Cecil, 
and John Johnston. Verdict of not guilty, and judgment of acquittal. 

Abraham Cannon vs. Bryan McNamer. Slander. Nonsuit. 

Upon application the court appoint Samuel Robinson guardian to Wm. 
Robinson, aged fifteen years, minor heir of Thomas Robinson, deceased, who 
gave bond with Wm. Robinson in the sum of $200. 

The court grant license to Samuel Spicer to solemnize marriage according 
to law, upon proof of ordination. 

State of Ohio vs. John Davis. Affray. Plea of guilty. Fine of $1.00 and 
costs imposed. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 141 

The court, an application, grants a license to John Blake to vend merchan- 
dise at his house, in Sidney, for one year, on payment of $10.00 into the 
county treasury. 

The court then adjourned until Tuesday morning at 9 o'clock. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Tuesday, December 12, 1820. Present: the same judges as yesterday. 

The State of Ohio vs. Jacob Trout. Larceny. Verdict of "not guilty" 
by the jury. 

Atchinson Blakely vs. John Blake. Appeal. Declaration filed. Case 
continued. 

Robert Gibson vs. Win. Johnston and Wm. Wiley. Action in debt. 
Declaration filed and case continued. 

The grand jury reported and was discharged. 

State of Ohio vs. John Borders. Assault and battery. Continued. 

State of Ohio vs. Riley Moore. Affray. Plea of guilty. Fine of $1.00 
and costs. 

State of Ohio vs. John Blake. Dealing without license. Plea of guilty. 
Fine of $2.00 and costs. 

Letters of administration granted to Charles Roby to administer upon the 
estate of Ruel Roby, deceased. 

The court allows Henry Bacon, prosecuting attorney, $25.00 for services 
this term. 

David Henry, director of the town of Sidney, presented his account for 
moneys expended and services performed as director aforesaid, which account, 
amounting to $121.00, is hereby allowed. 

Benjamin S. Cox, Jr., is appointed by the court county surveyor for the 
county of Shelby. 

Court adjourned sine die. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

The state of Ohio, Shelby county, court of common pleas, April term, 182 1. 

Tuesday, April 24, 1821. Present: Samuel Marshall, Wm. W. Cecil, 
associate justices; Harvey B. Foote, clerk; Thomas W. Ruckman, sheriff; 
Henry Bacon, prosecuting attorney. 

There not being a quorum of judges, court was adjourned until tomorrow. 

Criminal docket: — 

State of Ohio vs. Wm. Drake, Jr. Recognized to answer. 

State of Ohio vs. Alex. Jackson and Jesse Hathaway. Recognized to 
testify. 

State of Ohio vs. Levi Talbott. Recognized to answer. 

State of Ohio vs. Jonathan Beatty and Benjamin S. Cox, Jr. Recognized 
to testify. 

State of Ohio vs. Ira Dickson. Recognized to' answer. 

State of Ohio vs. Ira Dickson. Recognized to answer. 



142 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

State of Ohio vs. Joseph Cabbinan and James Blake. Recognized to testify. 

State of Ohio vs. David Houston. Recognized to answer. 

State of Ohio vs. Samuel McClure, Eleazer Hathaway, and John Gates. 
Recognized to testify. 

State of Ohio vs. Robert Hurley and Edwin Barker. Recognized to 
answer. 

State of Ohio vs. Thomas Safrord and Otho White. Recognized to testify. 

State of Ohio vs. John Tilberry, Benjamin S. Cox, Jr., and Win. Drake. 
Recognized to testify. 

H. B. Foote, Clerk. 

Wednesday, April 25, 1821. A quorum of judges not being in attendance, 
the sheriff again adjourned court until tomorrow at 9 A. M. 

Harvey B. Foote, Clerk. 

Thursday, April 26, 182 1. There being no quorum of judges, the sheriff 
adjourned court without day. 

Harvey B. Foote, Clerk. 

The state of Ohio, Shelby county, court of common pleas, September 
term, 182 1. Tuesday, Septemher 4, 182 1. Present: Hon. Joseph H. Crane, 
president ; Hon. Samuel Marshall, Hon. Wm. W. Cecil, associates. Harvey 
B. Foote, clerk. Thomas W. Ruckman, sheriff. 

The court appointed Stephen Fails prosecuting attorney pro tan. 

Grand jurors: John Francis, foreman; Elisha Kirtland, Cephas Carey, 
Joseph Bennett, John Stoker, Philander Ketchum, Wm. Minnear, John John- 
ston, Win. Richardson, Elisha Williams, Archibald Defrees, Edward Jack- 
son, Peter Musselman, Wm. Cecil, John Lenox. 

Charles Roby vs. James Lenox, J. P. Declaration filed. Continued. 

License is granted to John Blake to keep a tavern at his house, in the town 
of Sidney, for one year from the 4th day of Septemher, 1821, upon the pay- 
ment of $5.00. 

The court orders that an election be held according to law in Perry town- 
ship for the election of an additional justice of the peace. 

The court grants that Robert Montgomery, administrator of the estate 
of John Bennett, deceased, be allowed until next session of the court to settle 
the accounts of the estate aforesaid. 

State of Ohio vs. John Borders. Assault and battery. Continued. 

State of Ohio vs. William Anderson. Assault and battery. Plea of guilty. 
Fine of $1.00 and cost^. 

State of Ohio vs. James Myers. Assault and battery. Xollied. 

Jacob Haak vs. Zebediah Richardson. In debt. Jury disagreed. Cause 
continued. 

Jurors : John Mellinger, Eleazer Stephens, Daniel V. Dingman, .Thos. 
Butte, Tames Buchanan, Thomas McKee, James Bryan, Richard Lenox, Wm. 
Flynn, Wm. Houston, John Stephens, Henry Cahoon. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 143 

On motion the court orders that Charles Roby, administrator of Ruel 
Roby, deceased, show cause why he should not be removed, and account to 
the court at 2 P. M. tomorrow to answer affidavit filed. 

The grand jury reported sundry indictments, and again retired to consider 
further matters. 

Frederic Bray vs. Andrew Russell. Action for debt. Quashed at plain- 
tiff's cost. 

Robert Gibson vs. Wm. Johnston and Wm. Wiley. Debt. Judgment 
against Johnston by default. 

John Alexander vs. James Dingman. Debt. Declaration filed. Continued. 

Jacob Replogle vs. Henry Wing. Debt. Settled at plaintiff's cost. 

Samuel Marshall, treasurer of Turtle Creek township vs. Wm. Flynn. 
Action for debt. In this case it appears to the court that one of the associate 
judges is the father-in-law of the defendant and one other of the associate 
judges is plaintiff in the case, and there not being a sufficient number of dis- 
interested judges to try the cause, it is therefore ordered that the cause be 
certified to the next supreme court for the county. 

The state of Ohio vs. Atchison Blakely. Recognized to answer. 

The state of Ohio vs. Charles Roby. Recognized to answer. 

The State of Ohio vs. Rebecca Gerrard, John Childers, John Kennard, 
and Wm. Harrell. Recognized to testify. 

The state of Ohio vs. Atchison Blakely. Recognized to answer. 

The state of Ohio vs. Wm. Skellen. Recognized to testify. 

The state of Ohio vs. John Mathews. Recognized to answer. 

The state of Ohio vs. Thomas Butte, Thomas Cassell, Jacob Shageley, 
Alex. Miller, Robert Steen, and Henry Haskall. Recognized to testify. 

The court then adjourned until Wednesday at nine o'clock A. M. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Wednesday, September 5, 1821. Court convened pursuant to adjourn- 
ment. Same judges as yesterday. 

The state of Ohio vs. John Mathews. Assault and battery. Verdict of 
guilty. Sentenced to pay a fine of three dollars and costs, and a recognizance 
of $100 for his good behavior for the time of twelve months. 

Atchison Blakely vs. John Blake. Debt. Verdict for the plaintiff. 

Moses Sticks vs. Samuel McClure. Debt. Continued. 

Wm. Flinn vs. George Johnston. Damage. Continued. 

Abner Glassmire vs. Robert Miller. Damage. Continued. 

Robert McClure vs. Nancy Hardesty, administratrix of the estate of 
Robert Hardesty, deceased. Continued. 

Henry Levally, assignee of H. Hagerman and Alex. Miller vs. Thomas 
Butte. Debt. Continued. 

The same vs. \\ ni. Houston. Debt. Continued. 

Frederick Bray vs. Andrew Russell. Debt. Continued. 

The jury made final report and was discharged. 



144 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The state of Ohio vs. Benjamin S. Cox, Jr. Assault and battery. Verdict 
o f guilty. 

The state of Ohio vs. Robert Hurley. Assault and battery. Plea of 
guilty. Fine of $3.00 and costs. 

The state of Ohio vs. Atchison Blakeley. Assault and battery. Verdict of 
guilty. Fine of $3.00 and costs. 

The state of Ohio vs. Charles Roby. Theft. Continued. 

The state of Ohio vs. Levi Talbott. Assault and battery. Recognizance 
forfeited. 

The state of Ohio vs. George Johnston. Assault and battery. Recog- 
nizance forfeited. 

James Marshall vs. Griffith Mendenhall and Erastus Smith. Attachment 
discontinued at plaintiff's cost. 

The state of Ohio vs. David Houston. Assault and battery. Recog- 
nizance forfeited. 

The state of Ohio vs. John Mathews. Assault and battery. Bond to 
keep the peace. 

Court then adjourned until tomorrow morning at eight o'clock. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Shelby county, common pleas court, September 6, 182 1. Present: the 
same judges as yesterday. 

The state of Ohio vs. Benj. S. Cox, Jr. Assault and battery. Verdict 
of guilty. Fine of $3.00 and costs. 

Gideon Wright vs. commissioners of Shelby county. Appeal. Continued. 

The court allows Stephen Fails, prosecuting attorney, $35.00 for services 
at this term. 

Thomas McClish and Jeremiah White vs. Charles Roby, administrator of 
Ruel Roby, deceased. On rule to show cause why defendant should not be 
removed. Administrator removed and ordered to account at next term. 

The state of Ohio vs. Charles Rob)'. Stealing. Continued. 

The court appoints Elisha Williams and John Kennard administrators of 
the estate of Ruel Roby. deceased, in the stead of Charles Roby, removed. 

The state of Ohio vs. Charles Roby, James Wells, Ralph Roby, Elizabeth 
Roby, Thomas Dart, Thomas Safford and Wm. Davis. Recognizance taken 
before James Lenox, J. P., for appearance of Charles Roby in $500. Recog- 
nizance forfeited. 

The court then adjourned without day. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Court of Common Pleas. At a called court, held on the 12th day of 
November, 1821, to grant letters of administration, etc. Present: Hon. 
Robert Houston, Samuel Marshall, Wm. W. Cecil, associate judges; Har- 
vey B. Foote, clerk 

Susanna Porches, widow of Conrad Porches, deceased, having relinquished 
her right to administer the estate of the deceased, therefore letters of admin- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 145 

tration are hereby granted to Henry Hushaw, who, together with Robert 
McClure. Jr.. and Thomas Butte, his securities, entered into bond in the sum 
of $600, conditioned as the law directs, and the administrator was sworn in 
open court. Appraisers: Win. Gibson, Esq., John Houston, Esq., and John 
Miller. 

The court adjourned without day. 

Signed, Robert Houston, A. J. 

Attest, H. B. Foote, Clerk. 

Shelby county, court of common pleas. Tuesday, December II, 1821. 
Present, Hon. Joseph H. Crane, prest. ; Samuel Marshall, Wm. W. Cecil, asso- 
ciate judges; Harvey B. Foote, clerk; Thomas W. Ruckman, sheriff; Henry 
Bacon, prosecuting attorney. 

Grand Jurors: Benjamin S. Cox, Jr., foreman; Archibald Defrees, Wm. 
Marrs, George Berry, Samuel Robinson, Wm. Underwood, David Coon, 
Charles Johnston, John Medaris, Jacob Lemasters, Abraham Davenport, 
John Ellsworth, Charles Weeks, Israel Post, Henry Sturms. 

The court grant letters of administration to Mary Hurley, administra- 
trix of Thomas Hurley, deceased, who gave bond with Robert Hurley and 
Zachariah Hurley in the sum of $300. Wm. Gibson, John Miller and Alexan- 
der Miller were appointed appraisers of said estate. 

Snow Richardson is appointed administrator of the estate of John Man- 
gan, deceased, and gave bond accordingly. Robert McClure, Jr., Henry 
Hushaw and William Gibson were appointed appraisers of said estate. 

The state of Ohio vs. John Borders. Assault and battery. Verdict of 
acquittal. 

Moses Hicks vs. Samuel McClure. Appeal in debt: Continued. 

John Alexander vs. James Dingman. Action in debt. Judgment for 
$100 and costs by default. 

Charles Roby vs. James Lenox, J. P. Misconduct. Continued. 

Robert McClure vs. Nancy Hardesty, administratrix of Robert Hardesty, 
deceased. Settled. 

The grand jury reported after finding one true bill, and was discharged. 

Frederick Bray vs. Andrew Russell. Debt. Judgment by default for $300 
and costs. 

The state of Ohio vs. John Blake. Indictment for bartering liquor to an 
Indian. Plea of guilty. Fine of $5.00 and costs. 

The state of Ohio vs. George Johnston. Assault and battery. Plea of 
guilty. Fine of $3.00 and costs. 

The state of Ohio vs. James Dingman. Assault and battery. Plea of 
guilty. Fined $2.00 and costs. 

The state of Ohio vs. David Houston. Assault and battery. Plea of guilty. 
Fine of $5.00 and costs, and recognizance to keep the peace. 

License was granted John Blake to keep a store in the town of Sidney for 
one year by paying the sum of $10.00. 



146 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The state of Ohio vs. Elisha Williams. Assault and battery. Plea of 
guilty. Fine of $3.00 and costs. 

Abraham Glassmire vs. Robert Miller. Appeal. Continued. 
The state of Ohio vs. Charles Roby. Theft. Set for tomorrow. 
The court then adjourned until Wednesday at 9 A. M. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Shelby county, common pleas. Wednesday, December 12, 1821. The 
same judges present as yesterday. 

On motion, further time is granted Robert Montgomery, administrator 
of the estate of John Bennett, deceased, to settle up the estate. 

The state of Ohio vs. Charles Roby. Theft. Verdict of acquittal. 

The state of Ohio vs. Levi Talbott and Wm. Drake. Recognizance for- 
feited. 

The state of Ohio vs. Levi Talbott, Benjamin S. Cox, Jr., and Jonathan 
Beatty. On recognizance. Recognizance forfeited. 

The court allow Henry Bacon/prosecuting attorney, $25.00 for his services 
at this term. 

On motion, further time is granted to Charles Roby, administrator of 
Ruel Roby, deceased, to settle the account of said estate until next term of 
this court. 

Jacob Haak vs. Zebediah Richardson. Appeal in debt. Continued. 

Gideon Wright vs. county commissioners. Appeal on road case. Con- 
tinue'. 

William Flinn vs. George Johnston. Appeal. Continued. 

Hugh Levalley, assignee, vs. Thomas Butte. Appeal, etc. .Continued 

1 lenrv Levalley, assignee, vs. Win. Houston. Appeal. Continued. 

Charles Roby vs. James Lenox. Certiorari in error. Continued. 

Charles Roby vs. John Kennard, Elisha Williams, and John Stevens. 
Trespass, assault and battery, and false imprisonment. Continued. 

The state of Ohio vs. Charles Roby, James Wells, Ralph Roby, Eliza- 
beth Roby, Thomas Dart. Thomas Lafford and Wm. Davis. Recognizance. 
Dismissed. 

John Shays vs. Callen Aldrich. Debt. Alias ordered. 

Ira Dickson vs. Elisha Williams. Trespass, assault and battery, false 
imprisonment. Continued. 

The court appoints Harvey B. Foote. administrator of the estate of 
\-a I kibble, deceased, to give bond with Wm. Drake and James Forsythe, 
sureties, in the sum of $200. Appraisers. John Johnston, Robert McClure and 
Win. Richardson. 

Jeremiah Bodkin, aged fifteen, and Lydia Bodkin, aged thirteen years, 
minor heirs of Charles Bodkin, deceased, came into court, and chose John 
Bodkin, their guardian, who gave bond accordingly. 

Thomas W. Ruckman produced in court a commission as sheriff of the 
county of Shelby, and gave bond in the sum of $2,000, conditioned as tne 
law directs. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 147 

Robert McClure produced a commission as coroner of Shelby county, and 
gave bond in the sum of $1,000. 

Upon application the court appoints John Bodkin guardian of Saul H. 
Bodkin, aged eleven, and Moses T. Bodkin, aged ten years, minor heirs of 
Charles Bodkin, deceased; said John Bodkin to give bond in the sum of 
$300, with D. Henry and Wm. Richardson as securities. 

The court then adjourned without day. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

. Shelby county, court of common pleas. Monday, May 20, 1822. Present: 
Hon. Joseph H. Crane, president; Hon. Samuel Marshall; Hon. Robert Hous- 
ton and Hon. Wm. W. Cecil, associate judges. Harvey B. Foote, clerk. 
Thomas W. Ruckman, sheriff. Henry Bacon, prosecuting attorney. 

The sheriff returned the venire facias, and had summoned as grand jurors 
John Manning, Esq., foreman; Daniel Vandemark, George Berry, Abraham 
Minnear, Frederick Steinberger, Conrad Fink, John Houston, Thomas Wyatt, 
/Wm. Marrs, Aquilla Ellsworth, Edward Conroy, David Jerome, James For- 
sythe, Joseph Steinberger and John McCreight. 

Petit jurors: Israel Post, John Gilbert, Wm. Robinson, Thomas Dart, 
James Marshall, John Miller, Jonathan Nichols, Silas Dorsey, George Mor- 
rison, Daniel Gobble, John Matthews, Archibald Defrees. Alexander McKey, 
constable. 

Jacob Haak vs. Zebediah Richardson. Appeal in debt. Judgment. 

Tabitha Davis chose Philip Coleman as her guardian. 

Upon application the court orders that an election be held in Clinton 
township for an additional justice of the peace, public notice having been 
given according to law. 

Abraham Glassmire vs. Robert Miller. Appeal. Verdict of not guilty. 

Moses Hicks vs. Samuel McClure. Dismissed at plaintiff's cost. 

Wm. Flinn vs. George Johnston. Dismissed at plaintiff's cost. 

Henry Levalley, assignee, vs. Thomas Butte. Dismissed at plaintiff's 
cost. 

Henry Levalley, assignee, vs. Wm. Houston. Dismissed at plaintiff's cost. 

John Shays vs. Collin Aldrich. Dismissed at plaintiff's cost. 

Charles Roby vs. John Bennard, Elisha Williams, and John Stevens. Con- 
tinued. 

Ira Dickson vs. Elisha Williams. Continued. 

Andrew Russel vs. Frederick Bray. Bill in chancery. Dismissed at plain- 
tiff's cost. 

Frederick Bray vs. Andrew Russell and Francis Sunderland. In chancery. 
Continued. 

Wm. Minnear vs. Cyrus Wilson. Continued. 

John Blake vs. Atchison Blakely. Bill in chancery. Motion to dissolve 
injunction. 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. Resisting officer. Continued. 

On motion of Wm. McGean, the court removed Robert Montgomery from 



148 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

the administration of the estate of John Bennett, deceased, on account of the 
removal of said Montgomery from the state, and appointed Alexander Miller 
administrator de bonis non of said estate. 

The court then adjourned until Tuesday at 8.00 A. M. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

Shelby county, common pleas court, Tuesday, May 21, 1822. Present: 
Hon. Joseph H. Crane, president ; Hon. Robert Houston, Hon. Win. W. Cecil, 
associates. Harvey B. Foote, cterk. Tlios. W. Ruckman, sheriff. Henry 
Bacon, prosecuting attorney. 

George C. Johnston, Robert Johnston and James Johnston, former aliens 
subjects of Great Britain, but now residents of this county and state, severally 
came into court and gave notice of their intention to become citizens of the 
United States, and severally took an oath of such their intentions, and to 
renounce forever all allegiance and fidelity to every foreign prince, potentate, 
state, or sovereignty, and particularly to George IV., King of Great Britain 
and Ireland. 

The grand jury reported several bills, and was discharged. 

On motion leave is granted to withdraw from the file of the court a promis- 
sory note, executed by James and Daniel Dingman in favor of John Alex- 
ander, whereon judgment was entered against said James Dingman at the 
December term, 1821. 

John Blake vs. Atchison Blakely. Injunction dissolved and bill dismissed. 

Charles Roby vs. James Lenox. Continued under advisement. 

Charles Roby vs. James Lenox. Certiorari writ quashed at plaintiff's 
cost. 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. On recognizance. Recog- 
nizance cancelled. 

The court allows Henry Bacon $25.00 for services as prosecuting attorney 
this term. 

Gideon Wright vs. county commissioners. Alteration of road. Continued. 

Charles Roby, former administrator of the estate of Ruel Roby, deceased, 
produced his accounts and vouchers for settlement, agreeable to the order 
of the court, by which it appears that assets in the hands of said administra- 
tor amount to $542.5854. Vouchers and credits allowed by court, $617.43^. 
Leaving a balance in favor of the said Charles Roby against the estate of the 
said Ruel Roby, deceased, of $74.83^2. 

Ira Dickson vs. Elisha Williams. Trespass, assault and battery, and false 
imprisonment. Damages claimed, $500. Pleadings filed and cause continued. 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. Perjury. Continued. 

On motion of Charles Roby, it is ruled and ordered that Elizabeth Davis, 
formerly the wife of Ruel Roby, deceased, and Wm. Davis, her present hus- 
band, show cause, on the first day of next term, why a guardian should not be 
appointed for Ruel, Augustus, Adeline and Harriet Roby, children and heirs 
of the said Ruel Roby, deceased. 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. Resisting officer. Continued. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 149 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. Perjury. Continuance set 
aside by agreement and consent. The jury returned a verdict of guilty. 
Motion for a new trial. 

Court adjourned until Wednesday morning at 8 o'clock. 

Wednesday, May 22, 1822. Same judges present as yesterday. 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. Perjury. Motion for new 
trial. On motion, in arrest of judgment, the case was continued, and the 
defendant, failing to give bond, was committed. 

It appearing to the court that Alexander Miller, appointed at this term 
as administrator of the estate of John Bennett, deceased, was one of the sure- 
ties of Robert Montgomery, removed, and as the said Alexander Miller has 
not yet received letters of administration, it is ordered that the clerk with- 
hold the letters until the further order of the court and the said Miller show 
cause at the next term of this court why he should not be removed from the 
said administration, and some suitable and disinterested person be appointed 
administrator of the goods and chattels yet remaining to be administered of the 
said John Bennett, deceased. 

The court then adjourned without day. 

Shelby county, court of common pleas, Monday, August 12, 1822. Pres- 
ent: Hon. Joseph H. Crane, president; Hon. Robert Houston, Hon. Samuel 
Marshall, Hon. Wm. W. Cecil, associates; Harvey B. Foote, clerk; Thomas 
W. Ruckman, sheriff; Henry Bacon, prosecuting attorney. 

Grand jurors: David Carter, foreman; John Bryant, Joseph Bennett, 
Nathan Coleman, Jacob Sclosser, Charles Johnston, John Murphy, Rufus 
Carey, Zebediah Richardson, John Miller, John Peck, William Minnear, 
Benj. Blankinship, George Poole, James H. Coleman. 

The grand jury retired, but returned no findings, and was discharged. 

Gideon Wright vs. county commissioners. Road petition. Continued 
for report. 

Charles Roby vs. James Lenox, J. P. Misconduct in office. Demurrer 
sustained. 

Charles Roby vs. John Kennard, Elisha Williams, John Stevens. Trespass. 
Plaintiff failed to appear. Judgment of nonsuit. 

Frederick Bray vs. Andrew Russell and Francis Sunderland. In chan- 
cery. Continued. 

Wm. Minnear vs. Cyrus Wilson. Trespass. Appeal. Continued. 

Joseph Steinberger vs. Ralph Roby. Appeal in debt. Continued. 

The court order an election in the township of Cynthian for two justices 
of the peace. 

Ira Dixon vs. Elisha Williams. Trespass. Discontinued by consent. Costs 
to be shared equally. 

Mary Hurley, administratrix of Thomas Hurley, deceased. Petition to 
sell land. Order of sale. 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. Perjury. New trial granted 
and case continued. 

The state of Ohio vs. Abraham Glassmire. Resisting officer. Continued. 



150 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Ordered that Alexander Miller be removed from the administration on 
the estate of John Bennett, deceased; and, on application, Samuel McClure 
is appointed said administrator. 

Court adjourned without day. 

Signed, Joseph H. Crane. 

At a session held September 20, 1822, letters of administration were 
granted Isabel Russell, who gave bond and was sworn to perform the duties 
of administratrix of the estate of Andrew Russell, deceased. Robert Brod- 
erick, James Thatcher and Thomas McClish were appointed appraisers of 
said estate. 

At a special session, held September 28, 1822, letters of administration 
were granted unto Aaron Hicks and Lyman Myers upon the estates of Moses 
Hicks and George Myers, both deceased. 

On the 14th of October, 1822, a called court granted letters of adminis- 
tration to John McCorkle upon the estate of Isaac Parks, deceased. 

PROBATE COURT RECORDS 

A search among these records revealed some things which are deemed 
worthy of permanent record on account of the interest attaching to them 
by many of the citizens of today. Among these things are the records of early 
marriages, of which a full list is given for the first few years which the records 
embrace. Aside from this, the record of one marriage and that of a will are 
given, not because of their antiquity, but on account of their curious natures. 
While the one may provoke a smile at its seeming incongruity, the other must 
carry with it a sadness which will impress itself upon the reader who con- 
templates the murmur of despair which escapes the testator. It is the wail of 
undone manhood and expiring hope. 

EARLY MARRIAGES 

1824. June 3 — Lewis Xevite and Charity Mason, by Augustus Richards, 
M. G. October 14 — Archibald Defrees and Jane Wilkinson, by Augustus 
Richards, M. G. November 25 — Hiram I. Wilson and Elizabeth Vandemark, 
by Augustus Richards, M. G. December 28 — John Widney and Caroline 
Brodrick, by Arthur W. Elliott. 

1825. June 23 — Michael Kizer and Amelia Jackson, by James Kinkennon, 
E. C. C. June 28 — Abel Grossley and Ann Rouse, by Elisha Williams, J. P. 
July 3 — Elisha Grady and Maria Schoonover, by Levi White, C. P. July 10 — 
David Mellinger and Sarah Safford, by John McClure. J. P. August 11 — 
James Cannon and Nancy Hardesty, by John McClure, J. P. September 29 — ■ 
Thomas Wilkinson and Nancy Jackson, by Philip Locker J. P. October 6 — 
Benjamin Crov and Mary Holmes, by James Kinkennon. E. C. C. October 13 
— Reuben Jackson and Christena Le Fevre. by D. Henry, J. P. November 3 
— Robert Chambers and Hannah Movers, by John Houston, J. P. November 
i~ — j h n Marrs and Elizabeth Johnston, by John McCreight, J. P. Novem- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 151 

ber 21 — Wesley Ditts and Cynthia Kennard, by G. W. Maley, M. G. Novem- 
ber 29 — Thomas Wilkinson, Jr., and Annie Kirtland, by John McCreight, 
J. P. November 26 — James McKinney and Catharine Longworth, by Joseph 
Bennett, J. P. December 1 — John Blakely and Mary Weeks, by John Francis, 

J- P- 

1826. January 5 — James Thatcher, Jr., and Abby Carey, by Abraham 
Davenport J. P. January 17 — Thomas Weeks and Eliza Henderson, by 
John Francis, J. P. January 22 — John Julian and Caroline Powers, by John 
McCreight, J. P. February 9 — Wm. Ruggles and Sarah Cecil, by Joseph 
Bennett, J. P. February 14 — Benj. Coleman and Margaret Tilberry, by 
J. H. Coleman, J. P. March 6— Wm. Wright and Elizabeth McCune, by 
James Coe, V. D. M. March 16 — Clark Levally and Susan Childers, 
by Joseph Bennett, J. P. March 21 — George Morgan and Eliza McKee, by 
John Francis, J. P. March 30 — John Matthews and Priscilla Clayton, by 

D. Henry, J. P. April 10 — John Jackson and Rachel Smith, by J. Kinkennon, 

E. C. C. April 26— Jonathan Julian and Mary Matthews, by Augustus Rich- 
ards, M. G. April 20 — Wm. Young and Margaret Madden, by Jno. Francis, 
J. P. Joseph Garver and Eliza Ann Foote, by Augustus Richards, M. G. 
May 14 — Charles Mason and Sidney Shaffer, by D. Henry, J. P. May 18 — 
Wm. Carey and Phebe Levally, by Joseph Bennett, J. P. June 10 — Samuel 
Day and Hannah Jackson, by J. H. Coleman, J. P. June 15 — John Adams and 
Mary Flinn, by John Francis, J. P. August 3 — Christopher Tilberry and 
Mary Moore, by J. H. Coleman, J. P. August 18 — Joseph Baltzel and Minerva 
Kisling, by John Francis, J. P. August 15 — J. R. Caldwell and Elizabeth 
Stewart, by A. Davenport, j. P. August 28 — John Carey and Catharine Ken- 
nard, by George Gatch, M. E. M. September 12 — Samuel, Cannon and Susan 
Ham, by Robert Houston. Jr., J. P. September 21 — Wm. Miller and Lucinda 
Gabble, by J. H. Coleman. J. P. December 6 — Samuel Blakely and Eliza- 
beth Latterell, by Joseph Steinberger, J. P. December 28 — Livius Matthews 
and Sally Brown, by D, Henry, J. P. 

1827. February 19 — Aaron Harter and Sally Miller, by Samuel Wash- 
burn, J. P. February 2j — M. Withers and Drusilla Carey, by Joel Franke- 
berger, J. P. March 2j — Samuel Tilberry and Polly Tilberry, by J. H. 
Coleman, J. P. April 12 — Joseph Hughes and Hannah Black, by James Coe, 
V. D. M. April 12 — Benj. Skillen and Catharine Hartman, by D. Henry, 
J. P. June 5 — Wm. Taylor and Mary Cannon, by D. Henry, J. P. June 
21 — Thos. Leally and Elizabeth Hubble, by Joel Frankeberger, J. P. July 
19 — James Fugate and Miller Brown, by John Francis, J. P. July 26 — 
Abraham Bunlett and Catharine Hearn, by Booth Burdett, J. P. August 9 
— Elisha Freeland and Wilmot Medaris, by J. Nichols, J. P. September 18 — 
J. S. Luttrell and Elizabeth Mellinger, by Joseph Steinberger, J. P. Septem- 
ber 27 — R. D. McKinney and Mary Levally, by James Lenox, J. P. Septem- 
ber 2j — Joseph Cox and Anna Thompson, by James Coe, M. G. October 4 
— Jabez Lucas and Osi Peace, by Jonathan Nichols, J. P. October 6 — Henry 
Jackson and Drusilla Bush, by Joel Frankeberger, ' J. P. October 18 — J. H. 
Pepper and Sally Ellsworth, by Jonathan Nicols, J. P. November 1 — Isaac 



152 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Minnear and Lydia Weaver, by Joseph Bennett, J. P. November I — Wm. 
Steinberger and Elizabeth Kenuse, by Joseph Steinberger, J. P. November 
3 — Joseph Barnett and Betsey Bluejacket, by Samuel Washburn, J. P. 
November 30 — John Buffington and Sarah Hurley, by J. Kinkennon, E. C. C. 
December 6 — Abraham Goble and Effa Drake, by John Francis, J. P. Decem- 
ber 18 — David Mellinger and Mary McVay, by Joseph Steinberger, J. P. 
December 2j — Jesse Ruggles and Amanda M. Lambert, by John Francis, J. P. 
December 31 — George Barker and Polly Phillips, by John Miller, J. P. 

1828. January 3 — Isaac Botkin and Elizabeth Sargent, by J. Nichols, 
J. P. January 24 — Abner Gerrard and Susan Taylor, by Joel Frankeberger, 
J. P. January 24 — John Turner and Jane Blakely, by James Lenox, J. P. 
January 31 — David Shipley and Anna Harvey, by Robt. Houston, J. P. 
March 18 — Edward Ladd and Susan Tilberry, by Joel Frankeberger, J. P. 
April 17 — Joel Johnston and Elizabeth Cecil, by Joseph Bennett, J. P. May 
15 — John Schooler and Elizabeth A. Randall, by Booth Burdett, J. P. June 
26 — John Bush and Elizabeth Henshaw, by John Miller, J. P. September n 
— Thomas Holmes and Jane Childers, by John Francis, J. P. November 7 — 
Hiram Coon and Nancy Levally, by Solomon McKinney, E. C. C. Novem- 
ber 21 — Samuel Wise and Malinda Enos, by Robert Houston, J. P. December 
2 — James Wilson and Elizabeth Duprey, by James Lenox, J. P. December 9 
— John Blake and Matilda Kennard, by W. H. Raper, M. G. December 18 — 
Nicholas Sturm and Catliarine Davis, by Ezekiel Leavgeant, J. P. December 
25 — Wm. Carey and Hannah Jackson, by D. Henry, J. P. 

1829. January 1 — John Minnear and Jane McKee, by John Francis, J. P. 
January 1 — Richard Henry and Barbara Jackson, by D. Henry, J. P. January 
8 — Thomas Hubble and Alary Harrison, by Joel Frankeberger, J. P. January 
8 — Robert G. Sturgeon and Rosanna Marshall, by James Coe, M. G. January 
18 — James Davis and Jane McCullough, by James Lenox, J. P. January 26 
— John McCullough and Eleanor Marshall, by Joseph Steinberger, J. P. Feb- 
ruary 18 — -John Valentine and Rebecca Kinkinnon, by Solomon McKinney. 
February 19 — Hiram Young and Charity Clauson, by John Francis, J. P. 
March 17 — George Butte and Lucinda Mann, by John Miller, J. P. March 
18 — George H. Ward and Mary Robinson, by John Miller, J. P. March 19 
— Wm. Hawkins and Nancy Williams, by J. Kinkinnon, E. C. C. March 
22 — Benjamin Keneese and Catharine Mellinger, by Joseph Steinberger. 
April 7 — John LeFevre ami Margaret Stout, by R. M. Cannon, J. P. April 
1 1 — Samuel Butt and Leah Hathaway, by John Miller, J. P. April 14 — Jesse 
Jackson and Susanna Jones, by John McClure, J. P. April 29 — -Win. Skillen 
and Fannie Crumer. by E. Hathaway, J. P. April 23 — Henry Levally and 
Mary Funks, by Jonathan Nichols, J. P. May 30 — Levi Houston and Permelia 
Cassel. by Wm. Wright, J. P. May 30 — David Coon and Mary Bush, by 
James Lenox. June 9 — Richard W '. Valentine and Ann Eliza Cecil, by David 
Clark. M. G. June 1 1 — Alexander Beers and Margaret Sargent, by D. Henry, 
J. P. July 12 — Solomon LeFevre and Sally Stout, by Joel Frankeberger, 
j. P. July 15 — James Houston and Desdemona Sample, by William Wright. 
T. P. July 16 — Robert Graham and Polly Burditt, by Joel Frankeberger, J. P. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 153 

September 24 — Milton Keyser and Silence B. Ellsworth, by John Furrow, 
M. G. October 6 — Joseph Hamilton and Mary Gamble, by W. H. Roper, 
M. G. October 8 — John Hetzler and Margaret Redinbaugh, by J. W. Valen- 
tine, J. P. October 8 — J. R. Ellsworth and Mary Parke, by John Furrow, 
M. G. October 31 — James Thatcher and Elizabeth Manning, by J. H. Cole- 
man, J. P. November 5 — Silas Richards and Elizabeth McClanahan, by Caleb 
Worley, M. G. November 1 — Jesse Jackson and Hannah Masters, by J. H. 
Coleman, J. P. November 30 — Wm. Thatcher and Sarah Masters, by J. H. 
Coleman, J. P. December 1 — Wm. C. Dills and Nancy Carey, by Joshua 
Boucher. December 24 — Joseph Wyatt and Catharine Ellis, by William 
Wright, J. P. 

1830. January 3 — David LeFevre and Eliza Mellinger, by Joseph Stein- 
berger. 

MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 

The State of Ohio, Shelby County, ss. 

I certify that I have this day solemnized the marriage of Mr. Alexander 
McCune with Miss Sarah Clark. 

Witness my hand this 24th day of November, A. D., 1850. 

R. Dinsmoor, J. P. 

Black is the cloud without one sunbeam ; 

Long is the day that hath no noon ; 
But blacker that heart which could refuse 

To marry Miss Clark to Alex McCune. R. D. 

JAMES COOK'S WILL AND PROBATE, FILED OCTOBER 19, 1855 

The last will and testament of James Cook, of Shelby county,' Ohio. 
Having been left ten times by a wife whom I took in poverty from necessity, 
and who after having slandered me and charged me with every crime that 
disgraces humanity; who has destroyed my character by her infamous lies; 
robbed me six times, and cost me directly and indirectly more than three thou- 
sand dollars, and now having stolen my property six times, and broke my 
heart, and then left me without cause; now know that I, James Cook, do 
make this will. 

Item. If I die before Susan W. Cook gets a bill of divorce then it is 
my will that Susan gets one-half of my personal property in the house by 
choice or sale ; one-third of my other personal property, including notes after 
paying my debts, which are small, and one-third of the rents and profits of 
my real estate, and so to remain while she is single, and if Joshua Peck out- 
lives her then to him during his lifetime. If she gets a bill of divorce then 
the law to decide. 

Item. If I die before she settles our case, then I wish the gold watch to 
he left, and Mary, mare, and the buggy taken as an offset to the watch, as I 
do not wish my name on anything she keeps. 



154 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Item. I wish after complying with the former provision that all my other 
estate be properly disposed of, and that the interest be equally divided between 
Allen Cook and Thomas Cook, and when one dies all the interest to go to the 
children, leaving out the heirs entirely of any brothers I ever had, as they 
before have been provided for. 

Item. My gold watch to be given to the best daughter of Allen Cook, to 
be left to Win. E. Cook, now of Rock Island City, Illinois, to decide. 

Item. I do not wish to be buried on my land nor here, but make a place in 
some burying ground, or by my codicil to be left to certain M. D.'s to make 
an examination, etc. 

Item. I leave my wife to the tender mercy of an everlasting God, and 
may he forgive as I have forgiven her, for I have forgiven her not only seventy 
times but one thousand times. 

Item. I will not place on record my curse. God will do that. I pity a 
poor half-deranged woman whom I have loved, deeply loved, and truly love 
now. if pure and free from vice. 

Item. In making this will I am not intending to cast any reflections on 
humanity. All have their faults. May God assoilzie the guilty. I am not. 

This will made on Sunday the ioth day of April, 1853. 

( iiven under my name on said day. 

James Cook, [seal.] 

Witnesses present Monday, April 11, 1853: — 
Henry Rose, 
Joseph Thompson, 
g. x. furman. 

Sworn to and subscribed, October 10, 1855, by 

Thompson & Furman. 

vouchers for wolf scalps taken within the jurisdiction of shelby 

COUNTY 

To the State of Ohio, Shelby County, ss : 

Before me, an acting justice of the peace for Turtle Creek township, per- 
sonally appeared Ebenezer Stevens, who being duly sworn according to law, 
produced a wolf scalp over the age of six months, killed within the state of 
Ohio, for which he is entitled to four dollars. 

Given under my hand and seal this 10th day of May, 1819. 

James Lenox, J. P. [seal.] 

The State of Ohio, Shelby County, >s : 

Personally came before me, the undersigned, an acting justice of the peace 
of Turtle Creek Township, Cephas Carey, who being duly sworn according 
to law, produced two wolf scalps over the age of six months, killed within 
the State of Ohio, for which he is entitled to eight dollars. 

Given under my hand and seal this 13th day of August, 1819. 

James Lenox, J. P. [seal.] 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 155 

July 19, 1819. I hereby certify that Thomas Young produced a wolf's 
scalp under the age of six months, and took the necessary oath according to 
law, that he killed it in Shelby county. Perry township, for which the law 
allows him two dollars. 

John Hendershott, J. P. for Miami Co. [seal.] 

Shelby County, Ohio, November 11, 1819: 

I do hereby certify that James Pertu, living at Camp No. 3, near Fort 
Defiance, is entitled to receive sixteen dollars for killing four wolves over the 
age of six months, agreeable to an act of the General Assembly to encourage 
the killing of wolves. 

Given under my hand the date above written. 

Robert Broderick, J. P. 

You, Benjamin Wallingford, do solemnly swear that the five scalps now 
produced are the scalps of wolves taken within the county of Shelby, Ohio, 
by you within twenty days last past and that you verily believe the same to 
have been over six months old and that you have not spared the life of any 
she wolf within your power to kill, with a design to increase the breed. 

Benjamin Wallingford. 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this second day of June, 1847. 

C. W. Wells, Clerk, by Jon a. Counts, Dep. Clerk. 

LIST OF WOLF SCALPS, SHOWING VALUATION. BY WHOM TAKEN, AND WHEN 

1819. May 1. Hezekiah Hubble, one wolf $ 4.00 

1 8 19. May 10. E. Stevens, one wolf _ 4.00 

1819. July 29. Thos. Young, one wolf 4.00 

1819. July 22. Z. Richardson, one wolf 4.00 

1819. August 13. Cephas Carey, two wolves 8.00 

1819. September 22. John Plummer, two wolves. . . . 8.00 

1819. October 22. Jesse H. Wilson, one wolf 4.00 

1819. October 21. John Hunt, one wolf 4.00 

1819. December 11. James Pertee, four wolves 16.00 

1819. December 11. James Pertee, four wolves 8.00 

1819. December 11. Michael Horner, one wolf 4.00 

1819. December 13. Nathan Coleman, one wolf.... 4.00 

1820. January 1. Charles Johnston, one wolf 4.00 

1820. April 24. John Hebber, one wolf 4.00 

1820. February 2^. Wm. Groove, one wolf 4.00 

1820. February 7. Daniel Flinn, one wolf 4.00 

1820. September 18. John Gallant, two wolves 8.00 

1820. June 23. William Bush, one wolf 4.00 

1820. August 22. John Bush, one wolf 4.00 

1820. February 2 7,. Thos. McClish, two wolves 8.00 

1820. March 9. John Gallant, one wolf 8.00 



156 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

1820. March 9. Charles Johnston, one wolf 4.00 

1820. November 2$. John Gates, two wolves 8.00 

1820. December 22. Samuel Hanson, one wolf 4.00 

1820. February 26. William Ike, two wolves 4.00 

1820. December 26. William Ike, two wolves 8.00 

1820. June 13. William Ike, one wolf 4.00 

1820. December. Thomas McClish, one wolf 4.00 

1820. October. Michael Horner, three wolves 12.00 

1820. December. John Hunt, one wolf 4.00 

1820. December. Nathan Coieman, one wolf 4.00 

1820. April. Thos. McClish, two wolves 8.00 

1820. February. John L. Steinberger, one wolf 4.00 

1820. March. Thos. McClish, one wolf 4.00 

1820. November. Isaac Larrison, one wolf 4.00 

1820. May. John Gallant, one wolf 4.00 

1S20. February. Thos. McClish. two wolves 8.00 

1820. January. Samuel Tilberry, one wolf 4.00 

1820. June. James Coleman, two wolves 4.00 

1820. March. William Sturm, one wolf 4.00 

1820. April. Benj. Coleman, one wolf 4.00 

1820. April. John Carey, one wolf 4.00 

1820. April. Thos. Coleman, one wolf 4.00 

1820. February. Richard Cannon, one wolf 4.00 

1820. April. Wm. Robinson, one wolf 4.00 

1820. April. Nathan Coleman, two wolves 8.00 

1820. March. Isaac Larrison, one wolf 4.00 

1 82 1. January. Samuel Howell, one wolf 4.00 

1 82 1. January. Cephas Carey, one wolf ' 400 

182 1. January. Benj. Skillen, one wolf 4.00. 

1821. January. Thos. McClish, one wolf 4.00 

1 82 1. January. Josiah Sclosen, one wolf 4.00 

1821. February. Thos. McClish, one wolf 4.00 

1821. February. John Stevens, one wolf 4.00 

1 82 1. February. James Coleman, two wolves 8.00 

1822. March. James Coleman, two wolves 8.00 

1822. April. Thos. McClish, two wolves 8.00 

1822. May. William Hicks, one wolf 4.00 

1822. May. James Coleman, one wolf 4.00 

1822. December. Nathan Coleman, one wolf 4.00 

1822. December. Samuel Washbur, five wolves 20.00 

1822. December. Benj. Coleman, one wolf 4.00 

1822. December. Thomas Coleman, one wolf 4.00 

1822. December. Thomas Coleman, one wolf 4.00 

1823. May. Ebenezer Lucas, two old, eight young.. 18.00 

$264.00 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 157 

NUMBER OF WOLVES KILLED AND AMOUNT PAID IN THE FOLLOWING YEAR: 

In Wolves Amount In Wolves Amount 

year. killed. paid. year. killed. paid. 

1819 20 1832 

1820 45 1833 

1821 19 1834 $816.00 

1822 15 1835 

1823 66 1836 5 20.00 

1824 33 $132.00 1837 13 46.00 

1825 51 204.00 1846 6 

1826 44 176.00 1847 7 

1827 22 1848 

1828 18 1849 2 

1829 11 1850 

1830 35 1851 1 

1831 17 1854 1 

Commissioners' Office, 1825. 

Records of the metes and bounds of the different townships in Shelby 
county, as they have been established by the commissioners, and entered by 
their orders. 

PERRY TOWNSHIP 

Begins on the southeast corner of section 4, town. 2, range 13, east line of 
Shelby county; north with the aforesaid county line to the northeast corner 
of the county; thence west with the county line to the line between sections 
29 and 30. town. 1. range 7; thence south with the line between the aforesaid 
sections, continued on to Miami river, and across the river; thence with the 
river down to the land between sections 10 and 9, town. 1, range 13; thence 
with the last said line east, to continue on to the place of beginning. 

GREEN TOWNSHIP 

Begins at the southeast corner of the county; thence north to the south 
line of Perry township, between sections 3 and 4 of town. 2, range 13; thence 
west with the sections line to the east line between sections 33 and 34 in the 
aforesaid town. 2, range 13; thence south to the country line between sections 
34 and 28, town. 2, range 12 ; thence with the county line east to the beginning. 

ORANGE TOWNSHIP 

Begins at the south line of the county, on the Miami river; thence east to 
the west line of Green township, on the line between sections 34 and 28, town. 
2, range 12; thence north to the south line of Perry township, in the middle 
of the 13th range; thence west with the line through the middle of the 13th 
range aforesaid to the Miami river; thence down the river to place of 
beginning. 



158 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

CLINTON TOWNSHIP 

Begins at the northwest corner of Perry township, on line between sections 
29 and 30, town. 2, range 5; thence with the line between said sections south, 
and continued on to the Miami river; thence down the river to where the line 
between sections 15 and 18, town. 7, range 6, intersects the same river; thence 
north between said sections 15 and 16, and continued on to the county line; 
thence east with said line to the beginning. 



TURTLE CREEK TOWNSHIP 

Begins at the Miami river, between sections 15 and 16, town. 7. range 6; 
thence north with the west line of Clinton township to the county line ; thence 
west to the line between sections 35 and 36, town. 11, range 5; thence south 
between sections 34 and 35 to the south line of the county, between sections 
26 and 25, town. 9, range 5 ; thence east to the river, and thence up the river 
to the place of beginning. 



LORAMIE TOWNSHIP 

Begins between sections 25 and 26, town. 9, range 5, at the county line at 
southwest corner of Turtle Creek township; thence north with said Turtle 
Creek township line to the line between sections 35 and 36. town. 10. range 
5 ; thence west to the county line ; thence south to the southwest corner of the 
county ; thence east to place of beginning. 



CYNTHIAN TOWNSHIP 

Begins on the west line of the county, between sections 27 and 34, town. 11. 
range 4; thence east to the west line of Turtle Creek township: thence north 
to the county line; thence west to the northwest corner of the county; thence 
south to the beginning. 

On June 18, 1825, the description of Cynthian township proving to be 
inaccurate, was corrected, as set forth in the following entry: 

Record of Cynthian township, agreeable to the petition for the organiza- 
tion of the same : Beginning at the west line of the county, on the line between 
towns. 10 and 41, range 4 east; thence east to the west line of Turtle Creek- 
township; thence north to the county line; thence west to the northwest corner 
of the county ; thence south to the place of beginning. 

The record of this township was found to be incorrect, and ordered by the 
commissioners to be corrected. All the numbers marked to be on the north 
line of the county are on the old Indian boundary, there being no numbers 
known on the north line. Still, in that case the north line of the county is to 
be considered the north boundary of such townships. 

Examined and approved by the commissioners. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 159 

PIONEER CONDITIONS 

In pioneer days there was not a top buggy in Shelby county and but very 
few spring wagons, even fifty years ago, the highways being so execrable, that 
the sturdiest kind of a farm wagon did service for church or market or pleasure 
outings or joy rides, although an alleged turnpike, thinly graveled, subject to 
toll, had been constructed for 20 miles north to W'apakoneta. 

The rich earth, shaded by the primeval woods, were avenues of mud and 
the corduroying of them with logs of various sizes made it possible to travel 
only at the slowest pace. Grain had to be hauled to Cincinnati or Sandusky 
100 miles distant and the trip took more than a week. The price obtained 
was very low and only the necessities of life were purchased with the scant 
receipts. 

In 1865 a toll turnpike was built from Sidney to Palestine, eight miles 
east, but in the latter part of the sixties a state law was passed permitting the 
building of free turnpikes to be paid for by taxing lands two miles each side 
of the pikes to be paid in yearly installments. This started pike building and 
a boom in real estate. At this time there are about 300 miles in the county, 
costing nearly two millions, so that now joy riders, in their automobiles 
raise the dust at a speed of twenty miles an hour, or more, where jaded horses 
at a snail's pace with lumher wagons bounced over the corduroy or mired 
in the mud. These pikes in many instances provided outlet for farm under- 
drains and there are now thousands of miles of tile drainage and the swampy 
lands, worthless in an undrained condition are the richest in the county. 
Farms can not be bought under $100 an acre, some bringing $150, where 
buildings are good. The luxuries of civilization on a higher plane have come 
to stay, with high cost of living. Those who have to buy grumble, while 
those who have things to sell rejoice. 

Since pioneer days, fever and ague, with break-bone accompaniments, has 
become a thing of the past, of which the present generation know nothing 
and mosquitoes are on the road to ultimate extinction. 



There was no surplus money in Shelby county when it started on its career. 
The earth, by dint of labor, ministered to life's necessities but luxuries had 
no place on the daily bill of fare which probably inspired the poet to give 
birth to the immortal stanza "Bean porridge, hot, bean porridge, cold in the 
pot, nine days old." The wardrobe was in keeping with the homely diet, 
"neat, but not gaudy." Some money had to be obtained to get the country 
under headway, pay the officials, etc. The first financial exhibit, the debts 
and credits were a little more than $1,100, with a deficit of $708 in the year 
1 8 19, which remained the same until June, 1820. The county treasurer's 
settlement for 1822 made a better showing and the sum of $769 was on each 
side, no surplus and no deficiency. In 1823 there was a credit surplus of $5.91 
and in 1825. $128. 



160 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

LAND ENTRIES 

The numerous land entries prior to 1822 show that the settlers were 
not adventurers but came for permanent homes, and here follow the names 
of the loriginal proprietors: 

Jonathan Nichols, Robert Gibson, Daniel Vandemark, Azariah Julian. 
William Johnston, John Kennard, David Hendershott, James and John Len- 
nox, James Marshall, Joseph Mellinger, John Mellinger, Rebecca Earl, Wil- 
liam Stuart, John Decker, Hezekiah Hubble, Robert Hurley, David Henry, 
Conrad Pouchers. William McClure, Eleazar Hathaway, Abraham Hathaway, 
Robert Houston, John Houston. William Houston, William Bush, James 
Buchanan/Thomas McKey. Philip Smyser, William Berry, Thomas Butt, 
Cephus Carey, Fred Steinberger, Moses Vale, John Hendershott, Rufus Carey, 
Elias Carey, Philip Coleman, James Cannon, George Chiles, Joseph Defrees, 
Patrick Doak, James Dingman, James Dingman, Jr., John Mathers, John 
Cowan, David Henry,AVm. Marrs. Thomas McClish, Azariah Julian, Robert 
McClure. Samuel McClure, John Miller, Wm. Morrow, Samuel Marshall, 
Robert McClure, John Johnston, Wm. Berry, Samuel Marshall, John Peck, 
Thomas Plummer, McMillen and Belderback, Parks and Brandon, Samuel 
Robertson, John Redinbaugh. Wm. Robertson, George Chiles, Thomas Rob- 
ertson. Azariah Julian, Wm. Robertson, John Stephens, John Hendershott, 
Charles Sterrett, Henry Sturm, Joseph Steinberger, Ebenezer Stephens, Rod- 
ham Talbott, John Underwood, Daniel Valentine, Harmon Dildine, John" 
Wilson. James Logan, Charles Weeks, Jeremiah White, James Cannon, Con- 
rad Pouchers, Michael Young, John Bronson, Win. Botfiel, Joseph Brown, 
Benjamin Bayless, Isaac Ballinger. Nathan Bujf, McMillan and Belderback. 
Hezekiah Hubble. Moses Vale, David Hendershott. Joseph Darlington, Chris- 
topher Telker, Robert Gibson, Wm. Griffith, Wm. Townley, Francis John- 
ston. John Johnston, James Jackson, James Johnston, Moses Kain, Nathan 
Kelly. James Logan. John McClintock, James Marshall, John Mathers, Adam 
McClintock, Wm. Townley. Thomas Norman, John Orbison, John A. Parr, 
Charles Helvard, Isaac Swaringer, Henry Sturm, O. M. Spencer, D. Talbott, 
James Cannon, Wm. Wells. 

POPULATION 

The population of Shelby county in 1820 was 2,142; 1830, 3,671; 1840, 
12.153; l8fi o. 17.493: lg 8o. 24,137; 1890, 24,707; 1900, 24,625; 1910, 24,663. 

The population per square mile is 59.7; the rural population per square 
mile is 43.7. 

The taxable valuation of property in Shelby county in 191 1 was $37,108,- 
660: personal, $8,589,340; real. $28,519,320. According to the census of 
1910. the population of Sidney, the county seat, was 6,607; taxable valuation 
of property, 1911, $6,511,400; personal, '$1,959,850; real, $4,551,550. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 161 

The total amount raised for taxation in Shelby county for the year 1912 
was $335,462.48. 

Distributed as follows : 

State fund $ 16,419.29 

County fund 109,145.01 

Township fund 25,628.55 

Local School fund 94,821.00 

Special taxes 32,830.43 

City and Village tax 54,918.00 

Dog fund 2,100.20 

POLITICAL PARTIES 

The politics of Shelby county date back to the organization of the county, 
though for some years the voting population was small and elections were 
not held in all the townships as they are constituted today. About the first 
elective officers of the county were justices of the peace, or "squires" as they 
were commonly called. These officers were selected from among the most 
intelligent citizens; they were known as the peacemakers of their respective 
localities and often settled neighborhood disputes out of court. They held 
"court" in the largest room of their houses, and the yard was taken up with 
the vehicles of those who came to hear the trials. There was very little "wire- 
pulling" for the early settlers met irrespective of party and put the best men 
in the field, then went to the different polls, traded horses, voted and went 
home. However, excitement rose to a high pitch when it came to state and 
national elections and Shelby county could generally be depended upon to 
give a whig majority. 

The first real exciting campaign in this county was the presidential cam- 
paign of 1828. Partisanship became very bitter; there were Jackson and 
Adams meetings everywhere, the schoolhouses resounded with praise and 
defamations and before this campaign closed there were many bloody noses 
and blackened eyes. 

The next great contest was that of William Henry Harrison in 1840. Har- 
rison ,was the idol of the whig party and his name raised the greatest enthusi- 
asm. / The county did not see another great campaign until that of 1866 when 
the political club came into existence. There were barbecues, torchlight 
procession's, turpentine balls, and the air was made melodious with the singing 
clubs and their political songs. But the most exciting political battle ever 
waged in the county took place in 1864. Meetings were held day and night; 
the highways were thronged with political processions and gaily decorated 
wagons filled with girls were a part of the parade. The following episode 
may give its reader an idea of the state of the times. It was during the Brough- 
Vallandigham campaign of 1864, when Ohio was still an October state, that 
Frank McKinney, of Piqua, an ardent democrat, who represented this district 
in congress, and C. L. Vallandigham, of Dayton, member of congress, and 
candidate for governor on the democratic ticket, were advertised to address 



162 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

A meeting' at Sidney. Thousands were gathered to hear the speaking. A 
regiment of soldiers was in the town awaiting transportation to their homes 
in Michigan and were encamped in Poplar street. When the carriage con- 
taining Air. Vallandigham and Mr. McKinney passed by the soldiers they 
commenced yelling and shouting their guns over the top of the carriage which 
frightened the horses causing them to run down a hank and almost upset the 
vehicle. However, the carriage reached the hotel. Mr. Vallandigham was 
hurried in and the doors were closed. Mr. McKinney remained on the side- 
walk and addressed a mob of soldiers who demanded the surrender of Valland- 
igham and attempted to enter the hotel. A riot was imminent. More than 
two thousand democrats, armed, surrounded the hotel waiting for the soldiers 
to make an attack. A message was sent to S. B. Walker, the mayor of Sid- 
ney, and he and the leading republicans were informed by Mr. McKinney 
that if blood was shed and property destroyed they would be held responsible. 
The mayor persuaded the soldiers to return to camp; they were gotten on 
trains and rushed out of town and the meeting was held. When the soldiers 
departed they took with them a cannon named the "Swamp Angel." which 
the democrats were using for the celebration and which was cast by Philip 
Smith in his own foundry for the occasion. This cannon was thrown into a 
pond up in Michigan and years afterwards was raised by Philip Smith him- 
self and brought back to Sidney. The feeling against Vallandigham was 
caused by the fact that he was a southern sympathizer and had been sent 
through the rebel lines and found refuge in Canada. 

This campaign represented the high-water mark of political excitement, 
for Shelbv county is overwhelmingly democratic and hut few times since the 
birth of the republican party have any members oi that faith been elected 
to countv offices. The instances are: Jacob S. Conklin, prosecuting attor- 
ney. 1858 to 1880; James A. Irwin, recorder, 1856, clerk, i860; J. P. For-. 
sythe, auditor from 1873 to 1875; G. E. Allinger. sheriff, 1887 to 1889; John 
P. Brown, commissioner. 1895 tn '898, and J. C. Rosser, auditor from 1905 
to 1909. 

The townships of Orange. Perry. Salem. Turtle Creek and Washington 
give reliable republican majorities, while Cynthian. Dinsmore. Green, Jackson, 
Loramie. McLean and Van Buren are almost unanimously democratic with 
Franklin and Clinton furnishing smaller majorities for the party of 
Jefferson. 

The county is in the Fourth Congressional District composed of the 
counties of Auglaize, Allen, Mercer, Darke and Shelby and is now repre- 
sented in congress by J. Henry Goeke, Democrat, of Auglaize, whose plurality 
in the district at the last election was [1,245: majority 3,029. It is in the 
Twelfth Senatorial District made up of Miami. Darke and Shelby counties and 
has just elected to the legislature Dr. I. C. Kiser. of Miami, whose plurality 
in the district was 3.517 for the 1912 election. 

The following is an abstract of votes cast at the presidential and guber- 
natorial election for to 1 - in Shelby county : 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 163 



Democrat. Republican. Socialist. Social Labor. 

For president — 3305 1613 245 8 52 678 

For governor — 3433 1466 241 8 63 625 

The vote of Sidney and the fourteen townships for president, November 
5, 1912, was as follows: 

Democrat. Republican. Socialist. Social Labor. Prohibition. Progressive. 

Sidney 844 550 154 204 4 II 

Clinton 463 99 25 42 1 5 

Cynthian 194 28 1 27 o 2 

Dinsmore 368 81 6 11 o 1 

Franklin 143 68 6 14 o o 

Green 101 85 14 40 1 4 

Jackson 266 84 5 61 o 5 

Loramie 225 j^ 11 t,^ i i 

McLean 287 38 1 102 

Orange 93 55 7 49 1 1 

Perry 132 96 2 30 o 10 

Salem 146 92 3 2,2 o 4 

Turtle Creek .... 82 56 4 51 o 2 

Van Buren 199 48 1 46 o o 

Loramie .......225 jt, " 33 * I 

Shelby county, as it exists today with its fertile farms and nearly one thou- 
sand miles of turnpike of gravel, of which there is abundance to keep them in 
repair, with its happy prosperous people, is in strange contrast to what it was 
a century ago. 

From 1805 to 1812 at the advent of the first pioneers what is now within 
its limits was an unbroken forest, a free run-way for wild animals and the 
untutored Indian. Much of the surface was covered with water' in a rainy- 
time and got dry by slow evaporation, as most of the land was level, with 
little natural drainage. It was a paradise for mosquitoes .and frogs and a 
delightful abode for the festive turtle. 

The bravery, which verged on desperation, of the original settlers, may 
well excite wonder, for it is almost impossible to conceive of any induce- 
ment for their removal from the environment of civilization with its comforts 
and social pleasures. They were almost uniformly men of superior type, 
who had been comfortably situated, and were not men who had suffered 
from penury or escaped from crime, nor did they come to seek a life of ease, 
for their arrival here only meant f he beginning of the most arduous toil, with 
little prospect of any immediate reward. 

They came to carve out their own destiny — the forerunners of civilization, 
the pioneers of progress — with a stern determination to cope with the vigors 
of nature, to rear homes in the wilderness, and to dedicate temples of religion, 
education and justice in the midst of savagery and wildness. They sub- 
jugated the new conditions which confronted them and conformed to the 
better ideas and stern principles which prevailed in the communities which 
they had left, renouncing all their old associations. They came to build 



164 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

homes and that meant to plant the seeds of civilization and enjoy the benefits 
of organized society. Gradually the wilderness gave way to the sturdy arm 
and untiring frame of the pioneer, who never knew rest until the forest was 
made to blossom with fruit and grain. Along the stream he built his mill and 
in the protected valley he laid out his village — now the city with its thousands 
of people. He met the howling woif with defiance and dined upon venison 
and wild turkey. As the virgin forest yielded before his axe, cattle, sheep, 
hogs and horses flourished in his meadows. The meadows in turn gave place 
to the corn, and later to the wheat and we have the snow-white loaf super- 
seding the "johnny cake." Their only garments were "linsey-woolsey" made 
by their own hands. The mothers were as untiring as the fathers — the daugh- 
ters as capable as the sons for everybody worked from daylight until late 
in the night. The pioneer was his own manufacturer. He could build a chair 
or a house. He could shoe a horse or "iron" a wagon. He could make his 
children's shoes or a spinning-wheel and the female contingency of the house- 
hold could cleanse and card the wool, hackle the flax, spin and weave the 
cloth for the family and make the garments without the aid of a sewing 
machine or any other labor saving device. These garments, if not pretty, 
had amazing strength and durability. The pioneers had little aesthetic or 
agricultural taste and but scant knowledge of hygiene, and had it not been 
for their huge fireplaces would have well-nigh suffocated for lack of pure 
air by ventilation. It was a pioneer, but perhaps not a Shelby county one, 
who, when his family were all sick with typhoid fever, and his doctor said the 
trouble was caused by a faulty drain, replied th^.t it could not be, for there 
wasn't any drain. 

Their homes were rude but the spirit of hospitality pervaded them, bring- 
ing to mind the beautiful words of Goldsmith's Traveller: 

But they were men of thought, of enterprise, of resolution. Such traits 
of character were necessary to bring the young man of strong purpose, or 
the head of a family, to break up the old associations of life, and. dare the 
hardships and privations of a new settlement in the wild woods of the West. 
Of such qualities were the early pioneers of our noble state. They were the 
men of nerve, of intellect, and strength of purpose that led the way over the 
Alleghenies to the borders of our beautiful streams and teeming valleys. 
Nor were they ignorant or uncultured in the rudiments of a fair education. 
They had been brought up in a land of schools and churches, and brought with 
them their education and religion. The early settlers were worthy of the land, 
they were not Goths and Vandals seeking conquest but our own countrymen 
speaking our own Anglo-Saxon language. They came from Connecticut, New 
York, New Jersey, Virginia and Pennsylvania. What a grand combination ! 

Well might General Washington in his eulogy upon our first settlement 
sav, "No other colony in America was ever' settled under such favorable 
circumstances as that which has just commenced upon the Ohio river. Infor- 
mation, property and strength will be its beginning." 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 165 

ROSTER OF COUNTY OFFICIALS 

Any apparent discrepancies in the length of terms of service of the differ- 
ent county officers are due to changes in the law affecting the same. 



David Henry, 1819-1821 ; James Wells, 1821-1824; David Henry, 1824- 
1825: Thomas W. Ruckman, 1825-1833; William Murphy, 1833-1840; Sam- 
uel Croy, 1840-1844; Milton Bailey, 1844-1848; Andrew Waucoys, 1848- 
1852; William Murphy, 1852-1856; Samuel Leekey, 1856-1862; E. M. Green, 
1862-1868; Harvey Guthrie. 1868-1873; J. P. Forsythe, 1873-1875; O. O. 
Mathers, 1875-1880; H. S. Ailes, 1880-1886; J. K. Cummins, 1886-1892; 
J. S. Loughlin, 1892-1898; R. B. Dill, 1898-1904; J. C. Rosser, 1904-1907; 
H. T. Ruese, 1907 — . 

TREASURERS 

James Lenox, 1819-1820; Jonathan Beatty, 1820-1826; James Forsythe, 
1826-1835; Elijah McGrew, 1835-1839; Richard Hathaway, 1839-1840 
Benjamin Brandon appointed to succeed Hathaway, 1840-1841 ; William 
Murphy 1841-1853; John Duncan, 1853-1855; Milton Bailey, 1855-1855 
Guy Relsev appointed to succeed Bailev, deceased, 1855-1857; John Duncan 
1857-1861; Daniel Bush. 1861-1865^ Hubbard Hume, 1865-1869; A. J 
Robertson, 1869-1873; Ferdinand Amann, 1 873-1 877 ; Joseph Loughlin, 1877- 
1881; Peter Goffena, 1881-1885; William Kingseed, 1885-1889; Charles 
Timeus, 1889-1893; John Heiser. 1893-1897; Ben. B. Amann, 1897-1901 ; 
Oliver Staley, 1901-1905; J. B. Trimpe, 1905-1909; Elmer Kiser, 1909 — . 



Daniel V. Dingman, 1819-1820; Thomas Ruckman. 1820-1825; Adam 
Hull, 1825-1829; A. Defrees, 1829-1831 ; A. D. Kennard, 1831-1837; Rich- 
ard Hathaway, 1837-1839; T. H. Kirkendall, 1 839-1 84 1 ; A. D. Kennard, 
1 841-1847; J. H. Kirkendall, "1847-185 1 ; J. R. Francis, 1851-1853; J. C. Dry- 
den, 1853-1857; J. F. Skillen, 1857-1859; J. C. Dryden, 1859-1861 ; Matthew 
Ensey, 1861-1863; Benjamin McLean, 1863-1867; Isaac Harshbarger, 1867- 
1871; Charles Eisenstein, 1871-1875; Alexander Ramsey, 1875-1879; H. M. 
Lehman, 1879-1883; L. M. Hussey, 1883-1887; G. E. Allinger, 1887-1889; 
Joseph Ratterman, 1889-1893; E. P. Ailes. 1893-1897; W. H. Fristoe, 1897- 
1901 ; A. Braudewie. 1901-1905; D. J. Snow, 1905-1910; E. E. Gearhart, 
1 9 1 o — . 

RECORDERS 

H. B. Foote. 1819-1824; August Richards, 1824-1825; James Wells, 1825- 
1835; Amos D. Kennard, 1835-1838; James Wille, 1838-1844; William Skil- 
len, 1844-1856; James A. Irwin, 1856-1859; George L. Bush, 1859-1868; 
A. L. Marshall, 1868-1874; A. J. Rebstock. 1874-1880; Hudson Gartley, 



166 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

1880-1886; Louis Pfaadt, 1886-1892; Cliarles C. Johnson, 1892-1898; Frank 
Lucas. 1898-1904; William W'enger, 1904-1910; Hudson Flinn, 1910 

PROBATE JUDGES 

Vincent Guerin, 1852-1854; W. W. Skillen, 1854-1860; N. R. Wyman, 
1860-1869; John G. Stephenson, 1869-1875; W. C. Wyman, 1875-1881 ; 
David Bowersoc, 1881-1887; A. J. Rehstock, 1887-1893; John M. Staley, 
1893-1899: E. L. Hoskins, 1899-1905; I. A. Eshman, 1905-1911; I. A. Esh- 
man, 191 1 — . 

PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS 

Henrv Bacon, 1819-1S22 ; Harry Brown, 1822- 1828; Robert Young, 1828- 
[832; Patrick Goode, 1832-1&34; D. G. Hull, 1834-1836; J. S. Updegraff, 
1836-1840; \V. J. Martin. 1840-1846: Jacob S. Conklin, 1846-1848; Edmund 
Smith, 1848-18^0; Hugh Thompson, 1850-1854; John E. Cummins. 1854- 
1856; Silas B. Walker, 1856-1858; Jacob S. Conklin, 1858-1862; John H. 
Mathers, 1862-1868; A. T. Rebstock, 1868-1870; X. R. Burres, 1870-1874; 
B. L. Martin. 1874- 1880;" Jacob S. Conklin, 1880-1883; George A. Marshall, 
[883-1889; James E. Way. 1 889-1895; Joseph D. Barnes, 1895-1901; Harry 
Robison, 1901-1907; Charles Marshall, 1907-1911; Charles Hall, 191 1 — . 

CLERKS OF COURT 

Harvey Foote, 1819-1826; James A. Wells, 1826-1839; James Wells, 
1830-1847; Charles Wells. 1847"- 1849; S. B. Walker, 1849- 1850; Jonathan 
Counts, 1850-1854; Samuel Cowan, 1854-1857; Jonathan Counts, 1857-1860; 
James A. Irwin, 1860-1863; James Harvey, 1863-1869; H. H.-Sprague. 1869- 
'1874; Dennis Mulvihill, 1874-1880; Frank Hunter, 1880-1886; John Hussey, 
[886-1892; Hugh Dorrley. 1892-1899; McVay Lindslay, 1899-1904: John 
Duncan, 1904-1911; Fred Counts, ioij — . 

STRVEYORS 

Benjamin S. Cox. 1819-1822; Joseph Stewart. [822-1825; Daniel Hop- 
kins. 1825-1828; X. F. Broderick, 1828-1834; B. K. Brandon, 1834-1837; 
Jonathan Counts, 1837-1840; J. A. Wells, 1840-1841 ; Jonathan Counts, 1841- 
1850; Harrison Maltby, [850-1853; W. J. Sherman. 1853-1865; D. W. Pam- 
pel, 1865-1871; A. M. Weaver, 1871-1877; C. H. Flinn, 1877-1883; Philip 
Ratterman, [883-1889; Charles Counts, 1889-1895; James E. House. 1895- 
1901 ; Charles Counts. 1901-1907; Walter Looker — . 

STATE REPRESENTATIVES 

James Miles. 1820-1821 ; Jacob Miller. 1821-1822; James Miles. 1822- 
[823; James Riley, [823-1824; John McCorkle. 1824-1825; James Fergus, 
[825-1827; William Fielding. 1827- 1828; John McCorkle, 1828-1829; William 
Barber. 1829-1832; Amos Perrv, 1832-1833; Patrick Goode, 1833-1835; 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 167 

Stacy Taylor, 1835-1837; James Cook, 1837-1838; Robert Skinner, 1838- 
1839; Edmund Fisher, 1839-1840; Hiram Bell, 1840-1841 ; Isaac N. Gard, 
1841-1842; Jacob Counts, 1842-1843; James Bryson, 1843-1844; Isaac Hos- 
tetter, 1844-1845; Ezekiel Thomas, 1845-1846; John S. Purviance, 1846- 
1847; Jacob S. Conklin, 1847-1848; Luther Montfort, 1848-1849; George 
Ward, 1849-1850; John Lenox, 1850-1852; R. C. Poland, 1852-1854; Levi 
Houston, 1854-1856; W. V. Cowan, 1856-1858; Hugh Thompson, 1858- 
1860; A. E. Cary, 1 860-1 862 ; Charles T. Wells, 1862-1864; William Fielding, 
1864-1866; Benjamin F. Lefevre, 1 866-1868'; William Fielding, 1868-1870; 
John McVay, 1870-1872; Jonathan Counts, 1872-1874; E. M. Green, 1874- 
1876; J. M. Carson, 1876-1878; Hubbard Hume, 1878-1882; E. M. Green, 
1882-1884; Phannel Hunt, 1884-1888; Jachomeyer Counts, 1888-1892; PL N. 
Harshbarger, 1892-1896; C. R. Hess. 1896-1900; W. E. Partington, 1900- 
1904; Cliff McGinnis, 1904-1909; Charles Wyman, 1909-1913. 

STATE SENATORS 

William Henderson, 1820-1821 ; Walter Buell, 1821-1822; Thomas Fur- 
nas, 1822-1824; Robert Young, 1824-1826; D. M. Workman, 1826-1828; 
William Fielding, 1828-1830; John Shelby, 1830-1832; Robert Young, 1832- 
1833; James Johnston, 1833-1835; John E. Hunt, 1835-1837; Curtis Bates, 
1837-1839; John E. Hunt, 1839-1841 ; William J. Thomas, 1841-1842; Joseph 
S. Updegraff, 1842-1844; John O'Farral, 1844-1846; William Wilson, 1846- 
1848; J. S. Conklin, 1848-1850; James H. Hart, 1850-185.2; Rankin Walkup, 
1852-1854; John McClure, 1854-1856; William H. Lawder, 1856-1858; Isaac 
N. Gard. 1858-1860; Hardesty Walker, i860- 1862; William McCIung, 1862- 
1864; Jonathan Cranor, 1864- 1866; John E. Cummins, 1866- 1868; John L. 
Winner, 1 868-1 872 ; John W. Morris, 1872-1876; N. R. Burress, 1876-1878; 
J. M. Carson, 1878- 1880; George Moore, 1880- 1882; Jennison Hall, 1882- 
1884; A. C. Cable, 1884-1886; Curtis A. Cole. 1886-1888; A. J. Robertson, 
1888-1891; H. VV. Thompson, 1891-1891 ; J. O. Amos, 1891-1892; T. A. 
Burns. 1892-1894; McPherson Brown, 1894-1898; George S. Long, 1898- 
1902; Orla Harrison, 1902-1906; J. E. Russell, 1906-1909; H. L. Yount, 
1909-1913. 

COMMISSIONERS 

Robert McClure, 1819; William Berry. 1819; John Wilson, 1819; David 
Henry. 1820-1823; Joseph Millinger, 1821-1830; John Wilson, 1822-1825; 
John Lenox, 1823-1826; John Hathaway, 1825-1831 ; Charles Johnson, 1825- 
1827; Peter Musselman, 1827-1832; Samuel Marshall, 1828-1834; John 
Francis. 1830-1833; Samuel Gamble, 1832-1835; Robert Houston, 1833-1836; 
John Houston. 1834-1837; A. K. Hathaway. 1835-1841 ; James G Guthrie, 
1836-1842; William N. Flinn, 1837-1845; Andrew Waucop, 1840-1843; Har- 
vey Houston. 1841-1844; George Clancy, 1843-1846; Stephen Blanchard, 
1844-1847; Jeremiah Layman, 1845-1851 ; Richard C. Dill, 1846-1849; Sam- 
uel Marshall 1 847-1850; Joseph Mendershall, 1849-1858; John C. Elliott. 
1850-1856; William Millinger, 1851-1854; Curtis Kelsey, 1854-1857; Cor- 



168 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

nelius Arbogast, 1856-1859; Isaac Short, 1857-1860; D. K. Gilleskie, 1858- 
1864; Samuel E. Maxwell, 1871-1874; H. H. Dressman, 1860-1869; John C. 
Elliott, 1 862-1865: E. Ludlutn, 1864-1870; William L. Woolley, 1 868-1871 ; 
William M. Baker, 1869-1875; M. J. Winget, 1870-1874; Samuel Maxwell, 
1871-1874; Tohn Walkup, 1873-1879; William Johnston, 1874-1880; John 
Hale. 1875-1878; W. R. Jackson, 1878-1881; John Linker, 1879-1885; C. 
Kingseed, 1880-1886; John E. Bush, 18S1- 1 887 ; Jeremiah Miller, 1885-1892; 
Jacob Paul, 1887-1893; Thomas Hickey, 1888-1894; Frank H. Turner, 1892- 
1895; George Cleckner, 1893- 1899; Martin Quinilisk-,1894-1900;. John P. 
Brown, 1895-1898; William C. Baker, 1898-1904; B. J. Wuetker, 1899-1905; 
T. M. Hussey, 1900-1906; J. H. Peltier, 1904-1910; John Lochard, 1905- 
1911; Alex Fisher, 1906-1911; John Sherman, 1910 — ; Charles Windle, 
[qti — ; John C. Stangel, 191 1 — . 



The reports of the clerk of court for the year ending June 31, 1912, show 
business transacted as follows: 

Total fines collected, $315.00. 

Number of cases pending July 1, 191 1; common pleas court, 67; circuit 
court, 3. 

Number of cases filed during year: common pleas court, 190; circuit 
court, 9. 

Cases disposed of: 171, common pleas court; 5, circuit court. 

Number of cases carried up to circuit court, 9. 

Number of cases pending June 30, 1912: common pleas court, jj ; circuit 
court, 7. 

Divorces brought during the year ending June 30*, 1912, 2^; pending 
July 1. 191 1, 11 ; number decided during the year, 24 /number still pending, 
12; cases brought by the wife, 26; by the husband, 10. 

Coroner's inquest filed on 11 cases during the year: 9 males, white; 2 
females, white. 

There have been 8237 civil cases filed in the common pleas court since the 
organization of the county in 1819; 2320 criminal cases, 6365 cases brought 
up from justices courts and 302 cases filed in the circuit court. 



The report from the recorder's office for the year ending June 30, 1912, 
gave agricultural lands, deeds recorded, 166, with a valuation of $721,723.24, 
at an average price per acre of $60.68. 

Deeds recorded of city, town and village lots, 376, at a consideration of 
$313,142.24. Total deeds recorded for the county, 678. 

The number of mortgages recorded of agricultural lands, 208, on 15,630 
acres, with a consideration of $526,807.00. The number of mortgages 
recorded on city, town or village lots, 324, consideration, $217,671.96. 

Mortgages cancelled on agricultural lands, 264, consideration $357,999.42 ; 
on city, town and village, 198, consideration, $138,912.52. 

The report from the probate judges' office for the year ending March 31. 
1912, shows 198 marriages for the year; 183 by license. 15 by bans. Six 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 169 

persons were sent to insane asylums, 5 male, 1 female. Forty-six wills admit- 
ted to probate ; 30 letters testamentary, 24 letters of administration. About 
20 cases considered by the juvenile court; all but two held as wards by the 
judge who keeps a watchful eye on his charges. One boy sent to the Boys 
Industrial School, one to the Reform Farm. 

Population of Shelby county for each decade beginning with the fourth 
decennial census. 

1820 1830 1840 1850 i860 1870 1880 1890 1900 1910 
2.106 3,671 12.154 13,958 17,493 20,748 24,137 24,707 24,625 24,663 

POPULATION' BY TOWNSHIPS, INCLUDING VILLAGES 

Townships 1870 1880 1890 1900 1910 

Clinton 3591 4618 5776 6837 8015 

Cynthian 1597 1835 1605 1402 125 1 

Dinsmore 1700 2257 2212 1941 2084 

Franklin 889 999 1232 1062 936 

Green 1254 1447 1221 1061 961 

Jackson 1461 1852 1794 2085 1978 

Loramie 1707 1730 1628 1528 1464 

McLean 1309 1545 1658 1615 1640 

Orange 951 984 1012 935 877 

Perry 1208 1242 1 134 1060 977 

Salem 1428 1576 1569 1427 1 181 

Turtle Creek 1230 1359 1314 1163 1032 

Van Buren 1381 1647 1621 1676 1470 

Washington 1092 1046 931 833 797 

Urban territory. Sidney, population 1900, 5,688, for 1910, 6,607. P er 
cent of increase, 16.2. 

Rural territory, remainder of country, population 1900, 18,937, for 1910, 
18,056. Per cent of increase. 4.7. 

The auditor's report for year ending August 31, 191 1, shows the enumera- 
tion of school youth of the country to be 7,248, 3,694 male. 3,554 female. 
There are 1,160 between the ages of 6 and 8, 2,921 between 8 and 14, 1,071 
between 14 and 16, and 2,096 between 16 and 21. 

Tax vaulation of taxable school property, $37,000,000. Received from 
state common school fund, $14,150; from other funds $4,482.25. 

Amount levied in county for school purposes, $107,650.30; received from 
other sources, $6,253.65; total receipts, $132,545.20. 

Amount paid teachers, $84,015.38; total expenditures made for school 
purposes. $132,576.38. 

PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUATION 

The following figures were taken from the abstract of personal property in 
Shelby county on file at the auditor's office, as returned by the different asses- 
sors for the year 1912: Horses, 10.144, value, $1,153,387: cattle, 14,425. 



]70 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

value. $331,323; mules. 230, value, $25,325; sheep, 6,501, value, $23,550; 
hogs, 21,134. value, $140,880; automobiles, 391, value, $115,775; watches, 
688, value. $8,340; pianos and organs, 987, value, $75,995; merchants' stock, 
value $506,330; value listed as banks, broker or stock jobber, $600; manufac- 
turers' stock, value, $581,085; value of moneys in possession or on deposit 
subject to order, $1,282,926; value of credits deducting debts, $628,217; value 
of money invested in stock and bonds, etc., $4,410; average value of property 
converted into non taxable securities, $3,000; dogs at assessed value, 8, value, 
$225; money in banks, $347,800; steam railroads, value, $2,328,100; electric 
railroads, value $523,780; total value of all taxable property, except dog tax, 
$9,234,540; number of male dogs, 2,159, female, 97; bonds exempt from tax- 
ation, $4^8.170. 



CHAPTER VII 

SIDNEY, THE COUNTY SEAT 

Name of Sidney — Early Settlers — Sidney Made County Seat — First Houses 
and Roads — Jail and Court House — Benefit of the Canal — Sidney's Groivth 
— Mayors — Police and Fire Departments — Commercial Club — Cemeteries 
— Wagner Conservatories, etc. 

SIDNEY, THE COUNTY SEAT 

Sidney, as stated in the preceding chapter, was named in honor of Sir 
Philip Sidney, and the land on which the city now stands, was a farm owned 
by Charles Starrett, who donated some fifty acres to be platted into lots in 
consideration of the county seat being located at this point. Whether there 
were at that time any houses on the plat is not known, but within a few years 
after the settlement of the county seat, a number had been builded. 

Between 1805 and 1810 the families of James Thatcher, John Wilson, 
James Cannon, Samuel Marshall, Joseph Mellinger, Cephas Carey, and the 
McClures came to Shelby county as permanent settlers. Sidney was incor- 
porated as a village in 1820, as a town in 1834, and received its present char- 
ter in 1897. The town was laid out on the farm of Charles Sterrett who 
donated seventy acres to be platted into lots in consideration of the county 
seat being located at this point, and that he receive one-half the proceeds from 
the sales of the lots. A copy of the provision is here reproduced and it seems 
to have been a good business proposition for the donor as the land was used 
for a cornfield and could be bought for eight dollars an acre, and he received 
more than $3,000 from the sale of lots. 

I. the undersigned subscriber, proprietor of fraction No. 36, in town- 
ship 8, range 6, east of the meridian line, and on the west bank of the 
Miami river, do make a donation to the commissioners of Shelby county of 
seventy acres of land, for the use and benefit of said county, on any part of 
the above named tract of land that the commissioners appointed by the legisla- 
ture see proper to locate the seat of justice for said county, provided the com- 
missioners for fixing the said seat of justice see proper to fix said seat perma- 
nently in said fraction provided that I do receive one-half of the proceeds of 
the sales of the lots after the said county commissioners locate, lay off, and 
sell the lots which may be laid off on said donation. 

This was signed September 24, 1819, and some reserves made December 
14, 1819, which are here given: 

171 



172 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

I. the said Charles Sterrett, do make the following reserves out of the sev 
enty acres proposed to the commissioners for the seat of justice for the county 
of Shelby, to-wit : One acre for the public square, two half acres for two dif- 
ferent denominations of religious societies for graveyards, and one acre for 
use of schools. 

The sum of $690 was also subscribed by citizens to secure the county seat 
among whom were Musselman, Johnson, Defrees and Puckman and the glory 
of Hardin departed when Sidney became the county seat. The town wa:; 
named for Sir Philip Sidney an English knight. 

Abraham Cannon's log cabin on Sterrett's run was used for a court house 
till one could be built which was done in 1822. The first frame house was 
built in 1820 by John Blake, with English and Montaney contractors, on the 
site of Thedieck's store and was later bought by John Carey and changed to 
the National Hotel where board could be secured at $1.25 a week. 

It occupied this lot until 1882. and was used as a hotel, a store, and a meat 
Citizens Bank now stands, . The Sterrett homestead still stands on Walnut 
market. The first brick building was erected about 1830 and stood where the 
street at the west end of South just south of Klepstine's lumber yard. 

There was said to have been a swamp four feet deep on the east side of the 
square. Roads were built from Piqua to Wapakoneta; Troy to Dingmans- 
burg: Dingmansburg to Wapakoneta. and the Piqua-Wapakoneta road to Har- 
din and St. Marys, a road from Hardin to the State Road and many others. 
After all of these improvements in 1825. the books showed $128 in favor of 
the county. 

An old road ran diagonally across the square, northeast to southwest, till 
the brick court house was built. A log jail stood on the southeast corner 
which was burned in 1839 when a brick one was erected 6n the southwest cor- 
ner which stood until the seventies. A market house partly filled Poplar. street 
between Fry's and Taylor's corners. The only school house, though there were 
private schools, prior to 1857 when the Central school building was erected, 
was that in a log cabin on a lot given by Sterrett afterwards called the old 
Schwerer property. The Monumental building was constructed in 1875 on 
the site formerly occupied by the Farmers' Hotel. The present court house 
was built in 1881. The town was dark at night in these early days except 
when the moon shone. There were neither gas nor oil lamps. Most of the 
people used tallow candles, lard oil or camphene in their homes. There were 
no matches: tinder, flint and steel being used to obtain a light. The married 
women wore caps and all women carried "reticules" which were sometimes 
adorned with cucumber or muskmelon seeds to "set them off." Every Satur- 
day night the young men greased their shoes w ith tallow to look well for Sun- 
day. When they needed blacking, soot was taken from the under side of the 
kettle and mixed with water lor the purpose. Such an article as a cooking 
stove was unknown in early Sidney, the wide chimneys affording sufficient 
space for all cooking purposes. Time was kept without a clock and they were 
as regular in their habits as we. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZEN'S 173 

The coming of the canal and the railroad to Sidney were events of supreme 
importance. The former was finished to the town in 1837 and put her in 
touch with the outside world. 

About this time produce in Sidney was commanding the following prices : 
Flour, per barrel, $2.62 ; wheat 3754 cents ; bacon, per pound, 3 J/2 cents ; chick- 
ens, per dozen, 50 cents ; eggs, 3 cents ; butter, 6 T 4 cents ; sugar, 654 cents ; 
tallow, 654 cents. In a short time the canal was found inadequate for the 
shipping of grain and the railroad was heralded as the only salvation for the 
people. In 1850 the C, H. & D. began running through Sidney. Shortly 
after trains on the "Bee Line" as it was then called passed through Sidney 
from Cleveland to Indianapolis and it was then the town took on an air of 
importance for in the days of the canal Port Jefferson was the principal town 
of the county. 

Sidney never had a phenomenal growth ; its advance has been healthy. In 
pioneer days it was a country town dependent upon the country for support. 
Sidney merchants have realized this and the past quarter of a century her pro- 
gressive business men are not only taking care of local trade but forging 
ahead. They have seen the necessity of manufacturing interests and today 
the varied products of the city's industries find a ready sale in all markets of 
the civilized world. 

The total assessed valuation of all taxable property in Sidney for 1913 is 
$6,500,000; that of Sidney school district over $7,000,000, and of the county 
approximately $38,000,000. 

The old landmarks are fast disappearing with all their sentiment which 
yielded to the commercial aggression of this bounding age and to the exigen- 
cies of business life. 

In other chapters will be found mention of the banks, schools, churches, the 
press, and the several industries of the city. I realize that the present chapter 
does not fully cover the history of Sidney and Shelby county, but its salient 
features have been given with all the accuracy attainable and is thus submitted 
to the reader. 

The old frame building which, up to 1882, occupied the lot on which 
Thedieck's store now stands, was one of the first business houses of any con- 
sequence erected in the village. The first brick building was erected about 
1830 on the present site of the Citizens Bank. For some time the place grew 
slowly, almost the only considerable influx in the population being at the time 
that some construction work was undertaken, as the digging of the canal, and 
the building of the Big Four and the C. H. & D. railroads through the village. 
Though covering a short time, these were periods of great activity and when 
the work was finished many of those who had been employed, and who had 
come from other places, remained here and subsequently became some of the 
most successful mechanics and merchants of Sidney. 

But though the growth of Sidney was slow, it was a healthy growth. The 
surrounding country, with its fertile fields, yielded bountiful harvests, and the 
village w ith its progressive merchants, became a popular trading point for miles 
around. During the last quarter of a century, however, Sidney's progressive 



174 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

men, no longer satisfied to depend entirely upon local trade, have recognized 
the value of manufacturing interests as a town builder, and have engaged in 
various lines of manufacturing industry, in general with gratifying success. 
An account of the principal industries of this nature may be found in a special 
chapter of this work. Other important interests and activities of the city may 
also be found under their appropriate heads in separate chapters of the volume. 

THE OLD STONE BRIDGE 

The old stone bridge over the canal on which many have "stood at mid- 
night" is doomed and before long will be but a recollection. No structure in 
this county has served its purpose so well. It was built in the latter part of the 
forties on honor when that commodity was fashionable, before the age of 
graft, at a cost of $2,800. This amount was deemed so extravagant by the 
people of the county that Samuel Marshall, then serving his first term as com- 
missioner, was not reelected on that account for he put the matter through. He 
builded better than the people knew or he himself, for there it has stood for 
over sixty years never crying to be done over again, nor to be repaired, nor 
clamored for a coat of paint. In spite of the fuss it made it was the best and 
cheapest structure the people ever paid for public use in the county. 

The contractors were two brothers by the name of Chamberlain of New 
York, and James H. Fletcher, whose memory embraces a period of over sev- 
enty years, furnishes this incident. 

Among those trundling a wheelbarrow with stone and mortar, was an 
Irishman, but a stranger here, who had applied and got a job at $1 a day. In 
constructing the arch over the canal it had twice fallen and the contractors 
were getting discouraged when this Irishman ventured the remark that accord- 
ing to mathematical principles they were not building it right to stand. At first 
he was scoffed at but finally they told him to superintend the work if he 
thought he knew enough. He did so and the bridge stands a monument to 
his skill though his name is forgotten, if it ever was known here. Mr. Fletcher, 
at that time, was going to the private school of Mr. McGookin, where the 
Grand Hotel stands, and one day this Irishman, in his blue overalls, came tc 
visit the school and took a seat l>eside Mr. Fletcher, whose geometry was oj>en 
on the desk. He took it up and began to ask questions showing familiarity 
with geometry and a trained and educated mind. It was subsequently learned 
that he was a graduate of Dublin University but had become stranded here. 

If the sturdy "arch de triomphe" had kept a record of the doings, sayings 
and happenings of the last sixty years, and a register of the names of those who 
have passed over it and under it, it would be a roster of the inhabitants, not 
only of Sidney but a more complete one of those of the county, than could be 
obtained anywhere else and thousands, now in the maw of relentless and 
speechless oblivion, would be rescued. 

In view of the fact that the old bridge makes a hump in the paved street 
leading to the C. H. & D. station, unsightly in aspect and somewhat difficult 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 175 

to surmount with heavy loads, the structure is to he removed and another one 
to suit the grade built. 

Sentiment has a poor show in this materialistic age when pitted against 
traffic and comfort, and in this unequal contest the old bridge must yield and 
give up the ghost. This bridge gave place to the new one in 1907. 

MAYORS OF SIDNEY FROM 1846 TO I9I3 

1846— James Irwin. 1870— M. C. Hale. 

1849 — Joseph Cummins. 1871 — John W. Knox. 

1850 — Leonard Werst. 1872 — M. C. Hale. 

1851 — David Carey. 1874 — H. Guthrie. 

1852— W. I. -Martin. 1876— J. G. Stephenson. 

1855— M. B. Newman. 1878— D. L. Bush. 

1856— W. T. Martin. 1880— C. C. Weaver. 

1857— William Serviss. 1882— D. L. Bush. 

1858— D. B. Rhinehart. 1884— W. C. Wyman. 

1861— Samuel Mathers. 1886— M. C. Hale. 

1863— D. B. Rhinehart. 1890— H. S. Ailes. 

1864— Samuel Mathers. 1896— C. W. Nessler. 

1866 — J. G. Stephenson. 1901 — Emerson V. Moore. 

1867 — J. F. Frazer. 1906 — W. M. Crozier. 

1868 — Hugh Thompson. 1912 — John Duncan. 
1869 — J. F. Frazer. 

POLICE DEPARTMENT 

The police department of Sidney is under the control of the chief, William 
O'Leary, subject to the general supervision of the director of public safety. 
The department consists of the chief and three patrolmen, Jacob Eisensteih, 
Charles Williamson, and Frank Kritzer. The chief, William O'Leary, has 
been identified with the department for twenty years, fourteen as chief. The 
expense of maintaining this part of the public service was $3,394.41 for the 
year 191 2. 

A rather unique system of calling the police obtains in Sidney, two signal 
lights on the spire of the court house, turned on by the telephone operators, 
call the attention of the safeguards of the public to the fact that they are 
wanted in some locality. 

FIRE DEPARTMENT 

The fire department is full paid and under the control of the chief subject to 
the general supervision of the director of public safety. The first organization 
was a volunteer one which was changed to a paid one in 1885. George Hume, 
the chief, has been identified with the department for nearly seventeen years, 
five as chief. He is assisted by five men. The expense of this branch of the 
public safety was $5,738.55 in 191 2. The quarters of the fire department are 
on the first floor of the Monumental building and plan's are on foot to make the 



176 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

equipment as efficient as the most progressive cities by the purchase of a triple 
combination pumping, chemical engine, and hose motor car, sealed proposals 
for which are being received now. The machine, which will cost in the neigh- 
borhood of $10,000, must have six cylinders with not less than 100 horse 
power and carry 1.200 feet of 2'S inch fire hose and one 40 gallon chemical 
tank. 

Contract this with the early days when the equipment consisted of a hook 
and ladder wagon pulled by ropes in the hands of the men and a "bucket bri- 
gade." which worked in conjunction with them. 

An incident which is recalled by a survivor of the old days was the burn- 
ing of the C. H. & D. station when long lines of men were formed and the 
buckets, which were filled from a near-by creek, were passed laboriously along 
the line practically empty when they reached the last man. These buckets were 
of leather and Sidney's were red. 

Henry Young was the first chief of the voluntary fire department and the 
Holly system of water works furnished the extinguishing liquid. On January 
28, 1885, the paid fire department was organized and the chiefs in their order 
are: John B. Edgar, James McClung, A. O. Waucop, John W. Kendall, Jas- 
per Wade. George W. Covill, John \V. Kendall, Jasper Wade, H. C. Jones, 
Mort McNeil, Henry Yost and George Hume, the present incumbent. 

WATER WORKS 

If Sidney has one thing more than another of which to be justly proud it 
is her splendid supply of pure water from artesian wells fed by underground 
streams adequate for all present and future demands. 

The present system was installed in 1889 and consists of six eight-inch and 
two twelve-inch wells sunk around the pumping station at various depths, none 
lower than 100 feet. The station embraces about two acres of ground located 
between the canal and the river in the northeastern part of town. 

The Pohle Air Lift system is used with an Ingersoll-Rand duplex air com- 
pressor with a capacity to lift 1.100,000 gallons a day. A stand pipe built at 
the top of Miami avenue hill is connected with the distributing system which 
has a storage capacity of 300.000 gallons. There are 130 public fire hydrants. 
This system supplanted the old Holly water works which was installed in 
1873 ar, d which was located across the river where the electric light plant 
now stands. 

The plant is owned by the city of Sidney and the system is under good 
supervision and well managed. It is operated under the direction of the super- 
intendent of water works, G. A. Hatfield, who has served in his present ca- 
pacity since 1909. The secretary is S. D. McCullough. The water works 
come under the management of the director of service, D. H. Warner. 

The water works is now more than self-supporting. The cost of operation 
in 191 1 was $15,126.09 and the total receipts $26,055.81, leaving a balance of 
$10,929.72. The figures for 191 2 show the cost of maintaining the depart- 
ment to have been $9,314.41: extraordinary expenses such as extending the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 177 

mains, $4,278.60; other items which bring the cost of the department to 
$14,276.58; total receipts $18,159.94, leaving a balance which includes that 
carried from last year of $14,813.08. 

THE COMMERCIAL CLUB COMPANY 

These articles of incorporation of the Commercial Club Company; Wit- 
nesseth, That we the undersigned, all of whom are citizens of the State of 
Ohio, desiring to form a corporation for profit, under the general corporation 
laws of said State, do hereby certify : 

First: The name of said corporation shall be The Commercial Club 
Company, 

Second : Said corporation is to be located at Sidney, Shelby county, 
Ohio, and its principal business there transacted. 

Third : Said corporation is formed for the purpose of promoting the 
best interests of Sidney, Ohio. 

Fourth : The capital stock of said corporation shall be $5,000.00, divided 
into 200 shares of $25.00 each. 

In Witness Whereof, we have hereunto set our hands, this twenty-sixth 
day of February, A. D. 1903. 

B. M. Donaldson. 
E. S. Maxwell, 
H. E. Beebe, 
James Anderson, 
E. J. Griffis. 

The books were opened for subscriptions to the capkal stock March fifth, 
1903, and the names of the 1 original members of the company are here given: 

James Anderson, A. W. Reddish, W. T. Amo<f, C. W. Benjamin, Web W. 
Robinson, William Binkley, J. D. Barnes; Fletcher M. Roberts, E. W. Bing- 
ham, A. Braudewie, G. D. Robertson, C. J. Briggs,' J. P. Braudewie, H. W. 
Robinson, H. C. Carey, H. E. Beebe, James Rostron, John H. Durick, John 
T. Bryant, J. C. Royon; Jessi L. Dickenstiets, A. P. Carey, Fred SalrfT, E, C. 
Dyer, Wilson Carothers, C. R. Sargent, A. A. Gerlack, J. W. Costolo, T. A. 
Sawyer, B. D. Higgins, G. E. Cyshers, T. F. Shaw, E. L. Hoskins, B. M. 
Donaldson, C. A. Sexaner, T. M. Hussey; C. W. Frazier, William Shine, 
E. E. Kah, C. E. Given, Luik T. Snodgrass, E. W. Laughlin, John T. Given, 
L. M. Studevant, Robert Marshall", E. J. Griffis, W. D. Snyder, E. V. Moore, 
W. H. C. Goode, O. B. Taylor, Charles Neal, William Haslup, I. H. Thedieck, 
Samuel Piper, C. L. Haslup, J. A. Throckmorton, J. E. Russell, A. J. Hess, 
W. H. Wagner, N. Sanderson, Milt Herzstam, John H. Wagner, W. K. 
Sterlim, B. S. Hunt, Milton M. Wagner, W. S. Sears, George W. Henne, Ben 
P. Wagner, J. B. Shine, R. V. Jones, Henry Wagner, G. E. Smith, Louis Kah, 
Harry G. Wagner, Charles Timens, W. E. Kilborn, L. Cable Wagner^ W. A. 
Underwood, John Loughlin, James P. Ward, Louis R. Wagner, William S. 
Ley. H. G. Woodward, H. Wilson, H. T. Mathers, W. P. Metcalf, W. R. 



178 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Wyinan, E. S. Maxwell, C. B. Devveese, Charles Wymarr, E. C. Nutt, James 
N. Anderson, H.Young, William Piper, J. Altenbach, William H. Princehouse. 



The club occupies the second floor of the Harry Wagner building, on 
Poplar street, which it has fitted up in luxurious style for the comfort and 
enjoyment of its members and guests, and its annual banquets are looked 
forward to by Sidney society as a feature of the winter season. 

The company labors faithfully for the welfare of the community, promotes 
business enterprises, encourages new industries and stands for civic improve- 
ment. 

After an initiation fee of $25.00 each member pays $10.00 annually. The 
first Monday is held to hear reports and suggestions, at which time refresh- 
ments are served. There are about 100 members. 

These representative citizens have been presidents of this organization since 
it started in 1903 in the order of succession: E. J. Griffis, I. H. Thedieck, 
H. T. Mathers, H. E. Beebe, W. H. Wagner, W. E. Kilborn, James N. Ander- 
son, P. R. Taylor, C. F. Hiebok, W. H. C. Goode. 



CEMETERIES 



If Sidney is becoming such a beautiful place to live in it is hardly less 
beautiful in which to die in, if the word has a place as a qualifying term to 
the dread hour which Time will bring at last to the high as well as the low. 
On the banks of the murmuring and willow-fringed Miami is the ever-growing 
and peaceful white city of Graceland with its shaded drives and silent repose. 
Views have entirely changed from the pioneer ideas a" to the Festing-place for 
the dead — the neglected graveyards, weed and briar infested, which Whittier 
so truthfully describes as being 

"The dearest spot in all the land 

To death was set apart ; 
With scanty grace from Nature's hand 
And none from that of art." 

for now by universal consent there is a laudable strife to make the cemeteries 
as beautiful as possible and to keep them so. 

Sidney can lay claim to one of the most beautiful burial grounds in the 
state. It consists of 23 acres of gently rolling ground overlooking the Miami 
river and adjoining the town on the south. This land was bought of H. B. and 
Robert Reed, in 1866, and three sections were laid out by William Brown and 
J. D. Moler, of Springfield, Ohio. The first deeds for lots were made August 
12, 1867, to J. F. Frazer, George Vogel, D. L. Bush, George Ackerly, Jason 
McVay, E. H. Arbuckle and Sophia Young. 

The first interment was that of Mrs. Jane Irwin, the 27th day of Septem- 
ber, 1867. Three burials were made that year and eleven during the year 1868. 
The first sexton was Rudolph Kaser, appointed April 17, 1868, at a salary of 
$400. 

Sections four and five have since been laid out and improvements made 
from year to year to correspond with the original plan. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 179 

There are now buried in the cemetery 4,504 persons, including the removals 
from the old Presbyterian and Sterrett burying grounds. 

Much credit is due W. P. Stowell, who followed Samuel Mathers, the first 
superintendent for the artistic taste shown in laying out the grounds, planting 
trees and shrubs, for some most magnificent maples spread their branches in 
this ever growing city. Mr. Stowell devoted a large share of his time for 
fifteen years to this work. 

The present superintendent, G. C. Anderson, has been connected with the 
management of the cemetery for more than 30 years and since the death of 
Mr. Stowell July 10, 1894. has carried on with such marked efficiency the 
beautifying of the grounds that one might say of Graceland, as was said of the 
spot where Keats lies buried, that it makes one fall in love with death to be 
buried in so sweet a place. 



Glen cemetery in Port Jefferson, Salem township, is a most beautiful burial 
ground on the banks of the Miami and Cedar Point in Perry township which 
takes its name from the cedars planted there, is most artistically laid out on 
a triangular piece of ground overlooking Mosquito creek. Houston and 
Hardin in Loramie and Turtle Creek townships respectively have beautiful 
cemeteries. 

FRATERNAL AND SOCIAL ORDERS 

Temperance Lodge No. 73, F. & A. M.. Sidney, O. ; charter granted Jan. 
20th, 1826, with William Fielding as master; Robert Blakely, senior warden; 
John Lenox, junior warden. Officers for 191 2 and 1913 are as follows : Bros. 
James H. Millikin, W. M. ; Thaleon Blake, S. W. ; Chas. E. Betts, J. W. ; 
\V. A. Graham, Treasurer; Jesse L. Frazier, Secretary ;• Benjamin F. Martin, 
S. D. ; Henry B. Albuis Jr., J. D. ; John A. Mumford, Tyler. 

Sidney Chapter — No. 130, Royal Arch Masons; charter granted in 1872. 

Officers for 1912 and 1913: Companions, James H. Millikin, H. P.; 
George B. Toland, King; Thaleon Blake, Scribe; C. E. Johnston, C. of H. : 
O. S. Kumy, P. S. ; R. H. Toy. R. A. C. ; W. A. Graham, Treasurer; Jesse 
L. Frazer, Secretary; L. M. Studevant, G M. 3d V.; Don F. Edgar, G. M. 
2nd V. ; Herman T. Reuse, G. M. 1st V. ; John A. Mumford, Guard. 

Sidney Council No. 70, Royal and Select Masters; charter granted in 1882. 

Officers for 1912 and 1913: Companions, Chas. E. Betts, T. I. M.; Benj. 
F. Martin, D. I. M. ; Thaleon Blake. P. C. of W. ; W. A. Graham, Treasurer; 
Jesse L. Frazier, Secretary; C. E. Johnston, C. of G. ; L. M. Studevant, C. 
of C. : R. H. Toy, Steward; John A. Mumford, Sentinel. 

Sidney Commandery No. 46; charter granted in 1888. 

Officers for 1912 and 1913: Chas. E. Betts, E. C. ; W. R. Wyman, Gen- 
eralissimo ; W. J. Emmons, Captain General ; J. H. Millikin, S. W. ; Jesse L. 
Prazier, J. W. ; Frank D. Elwell, Prelate; W. A. Graham, Treasurer; George 
B. Toland. Recorder; William P. Collier, Standard Bearer; R. V. Jones, 



180 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Sword Bearer; J. E. Russell, Warden; J. H. Mumford, Sentinel; M. R. Linn, 
Third Guard; Hartman Miller, Second Guard; Thaleon Blake, First Guard. 
I. O. O. F. — Sidney Lodge. No. 60 meets every Tuesday evening in I. O. 

0. F. hall. Osceola Encampment, No. 63, meets first and third Friday even- 
ings of each month in I. O. O. F. hall. Maple Lodge No. 254, D. of R., 
meets first and third Monday evenings of each month in I. O. O. F. hall. 

K. of P. — Summit Lodge No. 50, meets every Wednesday evening in 
Castle hall. Sidney Company, U. R. K. of P., meets first Monday evening 
of each month in K. of P. hall. El Shereef Temple No. 32 Knights of Khor- 
assan, meets the fourth Thursday of each month in K. of P. hall. Summit 
Temple No. 9, Pythian Sisters, meets second and fourth Tuesday evening of 
each month in K. of P. hall. 

Jr. O. U. A. M. — Western Star Council No. 340, meets every Monday 
evening in their hall. Arabian Degree Klan meets on call in Jr. Order hall. 
Honorable Council No. 104 meets first and third Tuesday evenings of each 
month in Jr. O. U. A. M. hall. 

K. of C. — Sidney Council No. 659 meets second and fourth Wednesday 
evening of each month in K. of C. hall. Fourth Degree Assembly meets 
quarterly on call in K. of C. hall. 

B. P. O. E.- — Sidney Lodge No. 786 meets every Tuesday except June, 
July and August in Post Office Bldg. 

I. O. R. M. — Tawawa Tribe No. 67 meets every Wednesday evening in 

1. O. R. M. hall. Alpharetta Council No. 108 meets second and fourth Mon- 
day evening in I. O. R. M. hall, Thompson Bldg. 

G. A. R. — Neal Post No. 62 meets second and fourth Monday evenings 
of each month in G. A. R. hall. Neal Relief Corps No. 76, meets second and 
fourth Monday afternoon of each month in G. A. R. hall. 

U. S. W. V. — Camp J. Rush Lincoln No. 60 meets fourth Tuesday even- 
ing in G. A. R. hall. 

K. of G. E. — Miami Castle No. 8 meets every Thursday night in Golden 
Eagle hall. Valley City Temple No. 8 meets second and fourth Monday 
evening of each month in Golden Eagle hall. 

U. C. T. — Valley City Council No. 273 meets first Saturday evening of 
each month in I. O. F. hall. 

I. O. F. — Court Ft. Loramie No. 3475 meets every Friday evening in 
I. O. F. hall. 

R. A. — M. R. Waite Council No. 1091 meets second and fourth Friday 
evenings of each month in G. A. R. hall. 

K. O. T. M. — Meets first and third Tuesday evening of each month in 
I. O. F. hall. 

L. O. T. M. — Valley City No. 252 meets first and third Friday evenings of 
each month in G A. R. hall. 

B. H. — Sidney Court No. 19 meets second and fourth Friday evenings of 
each month in Jr. O. U. A. M. hall. 

C. K. of A. — St. Joseph's Branch No. 115 meets in Holy Angels School 
Bldg. on call of president. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 181 

M. W. of A. — Sidney Camp meets second and fourth Tuesday evening in 
K. G. E. hall. 

F. 0. E. — Sidney Aerie No. 1403 meets Monday evening in their hall, 106 
Ohio ave. 

American Steel Scraper Aid Association — Meets second Welnesday even- 
ing of each month in I. O. F. hall. 

Business Girls' Association — Meets each Friday evening in their rooms, 
113^2 S. Ohio Ave. 

Iron Workers' Mutual Aid Association — Meets second Monday evening 
of each month in I. O. F. hall. 

Shelby County Medical Society — Meets first Thursday of each month in 
Court House. 

Ministers' Association of Sidney — Meets first Monday of each month in 
library. 

THE WAGNER CONSERVATORIES 

The beautiful park west of Sidney and joining the corporation is a charm- 
ing spot of over one hundred acres and growing in beauty each year. Twenty 
acres or so is a natural forest of lofty trees indigenous to Ohio. The under- 
brush has been removed, the dead limbs also, and drives wind beneath a shaded 
canopy while artificial lakes abound. 

The entire conception of the park originated in the brain of Bernard P. 
Wagner, one of the four brothers of the Mathias Wagner family. Possessing 
ample means to indulge fully his exquisite aesthetic taste his fancies have been 
given full play and landscape gardening has become to him an assiduous study. 

In the year 1900 the Wagner Park Conservatories were started, being the 
outgrowth of the love and interest B. P. Wagner had for years taken in 
flowers and landscape gardening. The work increased each year and Wagner 
Nursery stock was recognized for its quality and the care used in packing it for 
shipment. 

The work of planning and planting grounds and the giving of advice has 
now extended its field over a number of states and the Wagner organization 
is prepared to go anywhere in the United States to execute or advise on lari'd- 
scape work. 

Recently the company has been incorporated under Ohio laws for $100,- 
000.00 under the name of the Wagner Park Nurseries Company. The officers 
are B. P. Wagner, president and treasurer; W. H. Wagner, vice president; 
H. L. Brown, secretary. These officers with Messrs. M. M., L. R. and J. F. 
Wagner and Mr. A. M. Brown make up the board of directors. 

Upon entering the grounds of the Wagner park the chief group of build- 
ings are the conservatories in which many of the flowers are cultivated. Fif- 
teen thousand square feet of space is under glass for this purpose. 

A new office building has recently been built. The first story is stucco and 
the second mission timber. Mission finish is also carried out in the interior. 
The room entered first is the library reception room: Here on file the periodi- 
cals and books relating to flowers and landscape gardening are kept for the 



18i> HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

use of not only the visitors but for the men in the nurseries. On this same 
floor are the general offices together with the private offices of Mr. B. P. 
Wagner and that of the secretary and general manager, Mr. Brown. The 
second floor is given over to the landscape department. It is beautifully lighted 
and in every way adapted to drafting room purposes. The building has also 
a fireproof vault for plates and records. 

Leaving the office via the green house the first section entered is the palm 
house which is 20 x 100 ft. in size. Here numerous palms of all varieties 
are kept for inspection and sale. Two rose houses are maintained. In the 
first the roses are at present in full bloom and present a most striking appear- 
ance as the visitor passes into the long glass roofed structure. Roses of all 
varieties are grown here. In the second rose house which is the exact size 
of the first recently the plants have been stripped of their bloom and over 
thirty-five thousand cuttings made which have been transplanted into the sand 
of the propagating frame. 

A large hot water heating system furnishes heat for the entire conserva- 
tories. This is located in another building equipped for the purpose. The tank 
house contains a large water tank into which the water for the grounds is 
pumped by a gasoline engine. From the tank house into the packing house 
where the plants and flowers are prepared for shipment and the mission plant 
boxes are made during the slack business months. 

The storage building is fifty by one hundred feet in size. Here everything 
for the use of the conservatories is kept. 

Leaving the buildings proper the lath house is next of interest. Here in 
a structure built entirely of lath as the name indicates are kept boxwoods and 
the more tender evergreens for use in landscape gardening. The lath house 
furnishes the slight protection necessary to these evergreens from the changes 
in the climate so common to this part of the country. 

In the propagating frames planted in sand fifteen thousand shrub cuttings 
and thirty-five thousand rose cuttings are making their struggle for life. The 
size of this one frame is six by one hundred feet. 

Close by the propagation frame is the soil pile in the barnyard court. 
Here soil fit for certain plants is in the process of manufacture by decay con- 
stantly. The pile is probably one hundred feet long by twelve feet wide by 
twelve feet deep. 

The growing fields are over one hundred acres in extent. Here flowers 
of all varieties are cultivated for the market and the use of the landscape 
gardening department of the firm. In busy season seventy-five men are 
required to attend to the cultivation and shipment of these. They present 
a most entrancing appearance with their variety of colors spread over the 
fields as far west as the observer can see. Each foot of space is cultivated and 
ravines and plains, hills and valleys which go to make up the general contour 
of the land occupied is utilized for different species of flowers, shrubs and 
trees. 

Most unique and interesting is the arboretum just started by the gar- 
deners. Here every species of plant cultivated by the conservatories will be 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 183 

grown for display. Evergreens and plants, flowers and shrubs from China, 
Japan, France, Germany, in fact from every portion of the known world are 
here cultivated and nurtured. Over three hundred varieties of evergreens are 
planted here, the varieties of shrubs number five hundred and of trees two 
hundred and fifty. The bed is over two thousand feet long and ranges from 
twelve feet wide at the narrowest place to fifty feet at the widest. The arbo- 
retum extends the width of the grounds and doubles back following the west 
park boundaries. Although this was just commenced this spring and the 
weather was not the best for the purpose the arboretum is most beautiful and 
interesting. When after a few years' growth it will be as interesting as those 
of Arnold at Boston and Shaw at St. Louis. Students from all over the 
country will visit these gardens to study and observe plants and plant life from 
all over the world, where hundreds and hundreds of foreign plants have been 
imported and grown in this arboretum. For convenience and study all the 
plants are arranged in alphabetical order and designated by markers bearing 
the Latin name. 

Nearby the entrance to the park from the south and north of the office 
the Isle of Nippon gardens captivate the eye. Here around a little lake and 
on several islands of that lake Mr. Wagner has caused to be planted and made 
a real Japanese garden with only flowers from the fair Isle of Nippon. The 
waters of the lake are clear and placid. Rustic bridges span the space to the 
islands. At the entrance a Japanese gate of logs has been erected and bears 
a small placard with the legend "Nippon." 

For Sidney and Sidney people Mr. Wagner has been very considerate in 
building the beautiful Wagner park with its shaded drives following the 
natural contour of the woods, its pretty little lakes and novel gardens in which 
are planted wonders of nature from everywhere. Here Sidney people are 
privileged to hold picnics and reunions and enjoy the beauties of the park- 
place. Here are wonderful stretches of stately old flowers our grandmothers 
loved grown in marvelous perfection. Here are scores of admirable if less 
well known horticultural beauties, rescued from obscurity by botannical expert- 
ness and presented to the modern hardy garden: myriad groups of shrubs in 
superb condition, deciduous, decorative, useful; unusual and effective conbina- 
tions; long avenues of fine native trees; plantations of many interesting speci- 
mens that you may not know — such is the language of the florist in the 
Wagner park catalogue in describing the beauties of the park. 

Probably the one section of the Wagner business that is best known is his 
landscape gardening. The \\'agner"s landscape service has become known the 
world over. This department is conducted under the personal supervision of 
B. P. Wagner assisted by a corps of able landscape artists, who have not only 
been thoroughly trained in the theory of every branch of this profession but 
have had a number of years of practical experience on the park grounds and 
are perfectly familiar with the "Wagner" methods of landscaping which have 
met with such universal success and given satisfaction and pleasure to thou- 
sands of patrons throughout the United States and foreign countries. 



184 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

In the catalogue published by the nurseries the following description of 
the Wagner idea of gardening is taken : 

"By the Wagner method of landscaping, lawn, garden and wooded ground 
are treated in a pictorial way, mainly with large effects. Lesser incidents, 
flower borders and masses, specimen shrubs, etc., are introduced in such a way 
as to add to the repose and simplicity of the whole. Harmony of color is 
especially studied. Unsightly outlooks are obliterated. Privacy is created. 
'Vistas' are formed where existed moi.otony of outlook and illusions are manu- 
factured by art, working on the principle of nature. 

''The dominant feature in landscape beauty is an unbroken lawn space. 
All the better if it passes around the sides of the house. Beyond the green 
stretch of perfect turf are groups or formal planting of fine trees, with here 
and there — placed exactly at that point for some sound artistic reason — clumps 
of shrubbery adding their varying heights to the picturesque irregularity of 
the planting line. Across a shaded lawn also what a picture is formed by the 
brilliant undulation of hardy perennials grown in borders, a drift of bulb- 
blossoms, or a glorious mass of single flower-color! The arrangements of 
all these features make or mar the aspect of a place." 

The landscape department does an extensive business in planning and 
laying out private and public grounds. The principles characterize the Wag- 
ner idea : First, keep the center of the lawn open ; second, plant in masses ; 
third, avoid straight lines. 

In the literature published for the company appear many cuts of the homes 
of prominent Sidney people who have employed the services of the Wagner 
architects to plan and plant their grounds. Private grounds are pictured 
located all over the United States where the Wagnei artists have done good 
work for a beautiful America. 

The Wagner park nurseries have been the birthplace of many new species 
or varieties of flowers and shrubs which have been grown by selection years 
have been devoted to the cultivation and manufacture of a species to delight 
some fancier. The Wagner park new phlox varieties and the novelty roses, 
President Taft, Madam Taft, Jean D'Arc and others are some of the culti- 
vations made and originated here. 

In addition to his contributions to the flower world Mr. Wagner and his 
able assistant publish Landscape and Garden, a periodical which tells of how 
to make the home beautiful, a distinct contribution to the literature of flowers. 

The Miami Valley Gas & Fuel Company was originally incorporated by 
outside parties, as The Mercer Gas & Fuel Company, Calvin S. Brice, of 
Lima, O., and William P. Orr, of Piqua, being the chief promoters, and 
Mr. Orr the first president of the company. No stock was taken in Sidney. 
The system went into operation July i, 1888. About four years later the 
supply of gas gave out and the company then extended its pipe lines to 
Red Key, Indiana, at which time a pumping station was put in. The new 
supply lasted about four or five years, at the end of which time the pipe was 
dug up and taken to the Sugar Grove field, in Fairfield county, O. (known as 
the Lancaster field), from which gas has been obtained up to the present 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 185 

time. The pumping station was also removed to Sugar Grove. Durng the 
past six years an additional supply has been obtained from the Pan Handle 
field, in West Virginia. The old field in Mercer county was sold to the 
corporation of Minster and they now get some gas from it, it not being 
entirely exhausted. The company now supplies Sidney only, the gas being 
used for heating purposes, factory power, and to some extent for illumina- 
tion. The present officers of the company are in part: Frank E. Randall, 
of New York, president; F. L. Chase, of Columbus, O., secretary and treas- 
urer. The local agent is A. L. Marshall, who has held this position for the 
past 20 years, he having served five years previously. as assistant to Frank 
Hunter, the former agent. 

The Sidney Electric Light Company is an offshot of the Sidney Gas 
Light & Coke Company, established in 1872. About 1886 certain persons 
who were interested in the gas company organized the electric light com- 
pany, which had the same stockholders — D. W. Pampel, W. P. Metcalf, Judge 
Hugh Thomson, Jacob Piper, Sr., and J. C. Royon. An arc-light sys- 
tem was soon installed and went into operation for the lighting of the 
streets, stores and public buildings. About ten years later the arc-light sys- 
tem was supplemented and in part superseded by incandescent lights, which 
were introduced into private dwelllings. A few years after the organization 
of tlie Miami Gas & Fuel Company in the interests of the Electric Light 
Company were transferred to the latter and the two systems were com- 
bined under one administration, Mr. Pampel and Mr. Metcalf being then 
the controlling stockholders. About ten years ago the artificial mains for 
conveying coal gas were abandoned and natural gas was adopted. A. L. 
Marshall is local agent for the company. 

The Sidney Telephone Company was organized in 1899, the articles of 
incorporation being filed February 13th of that year, and the franchise 
granted on the same date. The company was capitalized at $30,000, the in- 
corporators being L. M. Studevant, I. H. Thedieck, W. H. Wagner and 
Frank Crissman. At that time a company using the Bell system was oper- 
ating here and until about three years ago the two companies were in com- 
petition, when the Sidney Telephone bought out the interests of its rival 
and came into full control. During the summer of 1910 a complete new 
central office equipment was installed, known as the central energy system, 
and of Western Electric Company's make. In 1905 C. R. Bleakney became 
manager, at which time the company had 780 phones. The number of 
phones at the present time (January 1, 1913) is 1,575, m Sidney, with 
Anna and Ft. Loramie exchanges. W. H. Wagner is president of the com- 
pany; I. H. Thedieck, vice president; A. J. Hess, secretary, and L. M. Stude- 
vant, treasurer. Five men are employed, four of them on outside work. 

The Farmers Telephone Company was incorporated April 16, 1910, for 
the purpose of constructing and purchasing telephone lines, or both, and 
doing a general telephone business in Shelby and adjoining counties. It was 
capitalized at $24,000, by J. H. Millhouse, Charles F. Snyder, John C. Ward, 
Oliver C. Steley, Elva N. Middleton, James M. Baker and George L. Mar- 



186 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

tin. The company now has about 700 phones in Sidney and the vicinity, 
the system being up-to-date, and the prospects are good for future business. 
The present officers of the company are as follows: R. J. DeWeese, presi- 
dent; J. H. Millhouse, vice president; Charles F. Snyder, secretary; T. M. 
Beamer, treasurer, and C. C. Hermetet, manager. The directors are R. J. 
DeWeese, G. L. Martin, P. A. Howell. W. F. Valentine, Sherman Cain. 
J. W. Harp, R. M. Yinger, M. K. Coon and Orin C. Staley. 



I have seen gas "works installed in Sidney, the electric light plant, the 
Holly system of water works across the river which did service for some 
fifteen years, the new water works built up the canal, which pumped river 
water into the mains for some time but which was supplanted by pure crystal 
water from artesian wells from the rock between one hundred and two hun- 
dred below the surface and which is Sidney's special pride. All the old 
churches have been demolished since the sixties and ten or more beautiful 
structures erected, and a modern courthouse built in the delightfully shaded 
park of nearly three acres in the center of the city; a magnificent $60,000 
monumental structure, several miles of street paving, the city's sidewalks all 
paved with Berea ore or concrete, and a fire department so alert and well 
equipped that conflagrations for years have been nipped in the head. A one 
hundred thousand dollar high school nearly completed, where once was the 
Presbyterian graveyard, a building site purchased by the government for the 
next postoffice, and the location secured on South street, formerly the Mount 
Vernon African Baptist church, for an armory to be built by the state. 

A row of elms, years ago, of more than a mile in length, was planted on 
the berme bank of the canal, the roots of which, extending" to the water, pro- 
mote a most luxurious growth which in time will be magnificent. 

The C. H. & D. Railway gives the city and the contiguous region a 
much desired outlet to the south. The C. C. C. & St. L. places Sidney in 
communication with the east and west and an electric trolley line of two 
hundred miles in length connecting Cincinnati with Toledo, with lateral 
branches east and west passes through Sidney with its cars at frequent in- 
tervals. The beautiful parks at the C. H. & D. and Big Four stations 
displays exquisite taste, the latter the result of ceaseless efforts on the part 
of our fellow townsman, William Shine. The tender consideration of the 
poverty stricken and unfortunate is seen in the beautiful surroundings of the 
infirmary with the commodious apartments for their care and comfort while 
the Children's Home for orphan waifs is charming in every feature. The 
aesthetic taste dispalyed in the selection of the site and the beautifying of the 
environments, the wholesome instructor in manners and manual training, as 
well as books and the varied landscape of indescribable charms can not fail 
to make indelible impressions for good upon their children's plastic minds. 

Aesthetic taste received an impulse from the beautiful Wagner conservatory 
which has achieved a national reputation and from the efforts of the Com- 
mercial club, which is ceaseless in its endeavors to make Sidney one of the 
prettiest gems in the incomparable Miami valley. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 1H7 

I have seen Sidney grow from a village of two thousand to a city of 
seven thousand, not a phenominal growth but a healthy one. Thirty years 
ago we were entirely an agricultural community. Gradually a change has 
been wrought in the character of our industries until we have become quite 
an important manufacturing city with varied products which find a ready 
sale in all markets of the civilized world. We now have about forty man- 
ufacturing plants with invested capital of more than two millions which 
give employment to nearly fifteen hundred people. These industries bring to 
Sidney about $3,000,000 annually, and about one-fifth of the entire receipts 
is paid for wages yearly. 

Some idea of the growth of the city and her resources may be had by a 
comparison of her financial institutions with those of thirty years ago. There 
were then two banks with a capital and surplus of about $20,000 and deposits 
of about $350,000. Now we have four financial institutions with capital and 
surplus of more than 500,000 and deposits of about $3,000,000. This does 
not mean the wealth of the community for there are large sums invested in 
bonds and mortgages that do not appear in the operations or statements of 
the financial institutions. 



CHAPTER VIII 
MANUFACTURES AND COMMERCE 

Sketches of the Principal Manufacturing Industries of 

Sidney.* 

WAGNER HOLLOW-WARE COMPANY 

Three quarters of a century or more ago several stalwart Germans, brothers 
and sifters, emigrated from the fatherland and settled in this part of Ohio. 
Large, dark and swarthy, they were all splendid physical specimens and being 
full of pluck and energy they were such people for whom a new country calls 
to subdue the stubborn features of nature, make them blossom as the rose 
and achieve a lofty destiny. They all rolled up their sleeves and with a deter- 
mination that knew no such word as fail, encountered their life work. 

The branch of the family with which this article has to deal is that of the 
scions of Mathias Wagner, one of the brothers. He was a strong, powerful 
man w ith a rare fund of common sense and unbounded ambition. At first he 
worked a while on the Miami and Erie canal, then being built, but did not 
continue long at the tedious and not very lucrative work, for, as soon as he 
had accumulated enough to buy an outfit, he commenced killing beeves and 
hogs in sufficient numbers to supply meat to the laborers and their families. 
This proved a fortunate venture and with his gains he bought property, which 
was cheap in and around Sidney, never selling any real estate but holding on 
until he became Sidney's wealthiest citizen. He continued to butcher and sell 
meat as long as his age and health would permit. 

In the meantime he married Miss Mary Rauth, vigorous, large and strong, 
who seconded every effort of her energetic husband giving him sound advice, 
for she had sterling business acumen and was a helpmeet in every particular. 
Twelve children, of whom eight are living, were born in their household and 
were reared with the utmost care and educated. It was an ideal home, where 
happiness flavored the atmosphere. In time, Mr. Wagner passed away, but 
the large estate was not divided among the children and is intact to this day. 
Mrs. Wagner died only a few years ago and as long as she lived was the head 
of the vast interests. 

Perfect harmony existed among the children, for there was no black sheep 
in the flock and today they work together like parts of a flawless machine. It 
! For industries located outside of Sidney see Townships. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 189 

is of the business of the Wagner brothers, consisting of William, Milton, 
Bernard and Louis, that this article is written. 

For many years the Sidney people have been justly proud of the factory 
on the fair ground hill but few have known that here is made a, great part of 
the hollow-ware used in the world and that from this factory is shipped daily 
goods to all parts of the civilized globe. 

To just view the Wagner plant from the outside is scarcely sufficient to 
give an accurate impression of its immensity and up-to-dateness. A trip 
through the shop several times only reveals new wonders in manufacturing 
science and to the one new to the factory such a trip serves to rather bewilder 
with its extent and the various processes and numerous kinds of goods made. 

Just finished is the extensive addition made this year to the factory to 
accommodate the increasing business of the firm. The office has been 
extended and enlarged. The second story newly built adds to the storage 
rooms for hollow-ware. The polishing department has been greatly enlarged 
and new store rooms for the factory supplies have been added. The cost of 
these improvements has been very great and when one realizes that since the 
founding of the plant in 1881 that only two years have passed in which addi- 
tions have not been made the growth of the plant is of far more significance. 

In 1881 the Wagner brothers founded this plant for the manufacture of 
hollow-ware on the hill next the C. H. & D. railway where shipping facilities 
were good. The shop was small then and only two buildings were built. Only 
twenty men were employed. R. O. Bingham, the present superintendent, was 
the manager in charge and built the factory on lines of his own design. He 
had been a moulder and practical machinist by trade and had spent some time 
as superintendent of foundries. The start was small but the growth has been 
rapid. In the thirty-one years of its existence the Wagner Manufacturing 
Company has increased its capacity twenty-nine times allowing only two years 
to pass in which improvements and enlargements have not been made to 
accommodate their ever-increasing business. Their original superintendent 
has been with them continually since the founding of the plant and with him 
have remained in their employ several men who started to work when the shop 
was founded. 

The office of the factory has been made and remade several times but the 
complete refitting and remodeling this time will make it the largest it has 
ever been and thoroughly up to the time. Eight rooms and a hall comprise 
the working rooms of the business end of the plant. Upon entering, the large 
and commodious general offices are seen. A separate room opens from thi= 
room which will be used as a stenographer's room where all the typewriting 
will be done. Adjoining this will be the private office of the purchasing agent 
of the factory and last on that side of the hall is the private office of the 
president of the company. Another private office adjoins this to the rear. 
These private offices are specially constructed for the purpose. The office 
supply room opens off the hall to the rear and here also 'the secretary of the 
company has his office. A long hall connects all these rooms. 

In the same building fronting on Fair avenue in which the office section 



190 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

forms but a small part are the ware rooms of the factory in which are kept 
the finished products. On the first floor the heavy iron goods are stored ready 
for shipment. On the second floor the gray iron hollow-ware is kept. Here 
also is located the large shipping department of the factory. In the packing 
room several men are constantly employed packing the goods ready for loading 
on the box cars. Three inspectors go over the products before they are 
packed and see that no imperfect pieces are sent out of the factory. Here 
the pieces are also counted, billed and loaded. On the third floor is placed 
the cleaning room for aluminum. Here is kept the aluminum products ready 
for packing and shipment. The entire size of this building is one hundred 
and forty feet long by thirty feet wide and is three story brick. A heavy 
freight elevator connects the three floors. 

The second building is two hundred and ten feet long by ninety-six wide 
and three stories. In this is located the finishing department for the entire 
factory and is connected by overhead bridges with the warehouses and offices. 

On the first floor on this building in one large room the grinding room 
is situated. Here the rough hollow-ware is ground and edged, before the 
polishing is commenced. In another section of the first floor the store rooms 
for the factory are located. Here handles for waffle irons and other supplies 
for the use of the workmen will be kept when the new addition is completed. 

The engine room occupies a large section of the first floor through the 
center of the shop. In the first room is located the old steam plant with its 
battery of boilers and one hundred and forty horse power engine which is 
used only to run the aluminum polishing department on the third floor and 
to operate the blasts for the cupolas. The large two hundred horse power 
tandem gas engine is placed in another larger engine room connecting with the 
steam room. This engine furnishes power for the rest of the plant. A 
smaller gas engine is required to crank and start this engine. Two engineers 
are in charge of the engine rooms who are experts in their departments. 

The second floor of the finishing building is devoted to polishing of iron 
goods. The nickel-plating rooms and the present pattern and machine shop 
are located in separate rooms in the east end of this floor. The present store 
room for the factory and the carpenter shop is in this large room. 

In the new addition will be placed a large machine shop where expert 
machinists will be constantly at work under the supervision of the superin- 
tendent constructing the special machinery used in the manufacture of high 
grade hollow-ware. At the far southwest end of this room the pattern room 
will later be moved and the superintendent will have his office for the direc- 
tion of the work in the shop. The machine shop will be 66 x 46, the pattern 
room 18 x 30 and the superintendent's office 14 x 18. 

In the office of the superintendent may be noticed the following motto 
which expresses the spirit of the man and the idea on which the shop is run, 
"Life without industry is guilt, industry without art is brutality." Leaving 
the second floor the aluminum finishing department; on the third floor is 
visited. Here the aluminum is taken from the foundry and ground and pol- 
ished in preparation for shipment to the merchants. In the new section of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 191 

the aluminum polishing department twenty new polishing machines will be 
run by individual motors each of five horse power. A powerful fan system 
sucks all the dust from the grinding rooms and polishing rooms into a large 
tower where it is collected and disposed of. Five fans are required to do 
this work. 

Returning to the first floor visitors are shown the large milling rooms in 
which thirty-two milling machines commonly known as rattlers break the 
rough edges off the product as it comes from the foundry and before it is 
taken to the finishing department. 

In another room opening off the gas engine room is placed a large five 
hundred light dynamo which furnishes light for the factory. 

The blacksmith shop must not be neglected. This is at present a very small 
affair located back of the warehouse. Later a larger shop 20 x 30 will be 
constructed for this department. 

The foundry is the next place of interest. Here eighty-three moulders 
are at work and here every afternoon as the last thing of the day the pouring 
off is done. The aluminum foundry is located at the extreme west end of 
this building and is separated by a high partition. The aluminum process is 
secret and so no one was allowed to visit this part of the shop. The foundry 
building is no x 450 feet in size and is well lighted. Job work for various 
factories about town is also done here. 

The cupola room is located in the extreme east end of the foundry depart- 
ment. Here two cupolas are placed. The smaller is used only in emergencies, 
having outlived its present usefulness. Its capacity is eight tons. The big 
twenty ton cupola is now used daily to melt up the iron used in moulding. 
Three different kinds of pigs are used to secure the proper composition. The 
fire lighted the blast will melt the iron ready for pouring off in two hours. 
Five men are required to operate this cupola. 

The iron mine so called is next visited. In a deep hollow which has been 
scooped out from the cinders reclaimed by this process is located a small 
frame shed in which an electric cinder mill daily reclaims a great quantity of 
iron from the cinders which have been dumped here in the past years as refuse. 
This has only been in operation in the past few years and more than pays for 
itself. Another cinder mill reclaims the iron from the cinders each day that 
are dumped from the cupola. After the iron has been reclaimed the waste 
product is dumped as before. This reclamation process has only been recently 
discovered and in this one place alone reclaims about four dollars worth of 
iron daily. This is only one of the many methods used in this big shop to cut 
down the cost of production and utilize the waste products through scientific 
management. 

The kettle ana flask store room is to the north of the foundry. It is two 
stories in height and sized 32 x 80. On the ground floor the heavy sugar 
kettles are stored and in the second story the flasks are placed for the use 
of the moulders. 



192 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

A fire proof building, 36 x 18, sets a good distance from the rest of the 
shop in which the patterns are stored when not in use. The originals are all 
kept here. The patterns are most valuable, many of them being patented. 

Fire protection for this factory is furnished by plugs and fire hose located 
in convenient places about the shop. Plenty of hose and several stand pipes 
have been provided and are supplied with water from a six-inch main sur- 
rounding the shop completely and drawing water from the city supply. 

The water for use in the factory is supplied by an artesian well near the 
engine room from which a special pump draws twenty thousand gallons per 
day for factory use. This well is two hundred and thirty-nine feet deep. 

When running at its full capacity the shop will employ three hundred men. 
The time record of these men is kept by two automatic registering clocks. 

At every place possible the superintendent has introduced modern methods 
to save in the costs of production by reclaiming waste products. The cinder 
mill is a great factory in itself. There all the aluminum buffings are col- 
lected and sold to a firm where a special process is used to reclaim aluminum 
from them. It is understood that later a new machine and process will be 
installed to do this work at the plant. All the waste paper of the factory is 
baled and sold. Wherever a dollar can be saved in costs the proper utensils 
have been introduced to aid in this work. This is one of the greatest proofs 
that the Wagner Manufacturing plant is an up-to-date factory. A complete 
telephone system connecting the various parts of the factory with the general 
offices and the superintendent's office will soon be installed and will doubtless 
prove a great time and step saver. 

The Wagner brothers have surely been progressive and have built a factory 
which is a great credit to Sidney and an honor to their enterprise and ability. 
Those who have the direct management of the firm in charge are W. H. 
Wagner, Milton Wagner, B. P. Wagner, Louis R. Wagner and L. Cable 
Wagner. As superintendent of the plant R. O. Bingham served since the 
founding of the company and has piloted the manufacturing end through 
all these years. 

THE JOHN WAGNER SONS' BREWING COMPANY 

The John Wagner Sons' Brewing Company was incorporated in 1896 and 
is managed by the three sons of the founder, Henry, Edward and Louis. The 
company consists of the family only and is organized with the mother, Mrs. 
Mary Wagner, president; Henry, vice-president; Edward, secretary and treas- 
urer, and these with the five daughters, directors. The brothers are members 
of the Ohio Brewers Association, and the United States Brewers Association, 
and are intimately connected with many other business enterprises. 

Their present plant covers an acre of ground, is equipped with the latest 
and best cooling machinery, with storage cellars that have a capacity of 28,000 
barrels. Their annual output exceeds 24.000 barrels of the Golden Pilsener 
Lager and the bottled Pale American Export. 

John Wagner, the founder of the present company, came to Sidney when a 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 193 

little boy from Columbiana county, Ohio, where he was born in 1834. He 
rented a brewery from his brother Joseph, which he operated for one year, pur- 
chased an interest in the plant which he retained until 1876, when he became the 
sole owner of the business which he managed up to his death May 1, 1881. 
An extremely genial man he was very popular and had a wide acquaintance- 
ship in the county. He was one of five Wagner brothers, Joseph, George, 
Peter, Mathias, who settled in this county in its early history and whose names 
are interwoven with much of its development. 

THE R. GIVEN AND SONS COMPANY 

In pioneer days when the fabrics of the family were fashioned under the 
domestic roof of the calf-skins and cowhides were tanned for home use, and 
shoemakers made their rounds and shod the household. To meet the local 
demand vats for tanning were found in almost every township. Oak bark 
was plenty and years were given to tanning the product, consequently a pair 
of boots and shoes had the element of durability and a person was known by 
the tracks he made. These tanneries have long had their day. Such a thing 
as a farmer having a side of leather is not now known and a traveling shoe- 
maker would be a novelty; in short like the dodo, he is an extinct species. 

Way back in the fifties a tannery stood on a very small portion of the 
ground now occupied by the main building and in a very small way tanning 
was done. When Robert Given, the originator of the present firm, came to 
Sidney in 1854, the business was flourishing in its small way. Mr. Given, 
the elder, did not enter into the firm until 1868 when with S. Alex Leckey he 
purchased the plant and business and made the beginning of the present 
business. At that time the plant consisted of one small building in front which 
can even now be distinguished from the additions by the ancrent color of the 
brick. Here the business was started and at that time it was a huge industry 
and one of the very few in Sidney. 

Mr. Leckey died in 1881 and the business was taken over by Mr. Given. 
Later when he died his sons, John and Charles, and J. C. Royon continued the 
business. Several additions have been made from time to time. The first 
to be made were in 1880, when the north building, the engine rooms and the 
first part of the yard were added. In 1901 the new tannery section was com- 
pleted and the last addition to the old plant was made in 1909 when" the office 
section to the south was built. 

In 1901 the company was incorporated under the laws of Ohio as the 
R. Given and Sons Company and under that firm name it has done business 
since on an ever increasing scale. 

The main building of the tannery covers the lot 165 x 165 in extent. It 
is three stories and basement all over and a part four stories, thus making the 
floor space now occupied by the main building alone 108,000 square feet. 
The Givens believe in condensation and the utilization of every square foot of 
space, so the plant now covers every inch of the property included between the 
two alleys and Lane and Ohio streets. 



194 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

In addition to the main plant, a complete machine shop is maintained in 
a building across the street where the company employs three expert machin- 
ists to do the repairing to the machinery in the shop and plan and build new 
machines for use. 

The store rooms and tan yard of the company have been located several 
squares from the main factory. This has been done because of lack of room. 
On East avenue the old Yenney factory and yards have been utilized for this 
purpose and tons of material are unloaded and stored here. The building is 
two stories and basement 1 50 x 75 in size. 

Extensive as the present plant is the company is cramped for room and 
must build to accommodate their business soon. This year a part of the 
product has been withheld from further sales as they were sold up to the 
capacity of the plant in that department. 

It will be remembered that some time ago the company started to make 
additions and asked the city council for the vacation of Lane street, which 
they claimed was practically unused. The street was not vacated and the 
additions of the company necessarily stopped through litigation. The matter 
remains as yet unsettled. However the tannery company has purchased the 
property formerly known as the Milholland home and all the section bounded 
by Lane street, Main avenue and the Big Four railway, and now only awaits 
the decision in regard to the vacation of the street to erect improvements which 
will more than double the extent of the plant and enlarge their business in 
enormous proportions. The plans and specifications for the new section are 
now being prepared by the Chas. H. Stehling Company of Milwaukee. As 
planned the new addition will be three story brick triangular in form. Leases 
have been secured from the state and from the New York Central lines 
granting the company use of the territory next the railroad and on the canal 
bank when the new building is erected. The buildings will be extended to 
the track for shipping purposes. 

It is estimated that the new building alone will cost $90,000 and furnish 
employment for at least one hundred more men in addition to the one hun- 
dred and fifty now employed. Should this improvement be made the increase 
in the pay roll will amount to about $50,000 per year. 

Wherever collars are used for horses the R. Given and Sons tannery is 
known. The business is particularly well established throughout the great 
Xorthwest, in Texas and the central states. However throughout America 
Given products are shipped. The leather goods are even used in Europe. 

Starting from the office a trip through the factory was made and the proc- 
esses explained. The hides which are used by this tannery to be converted 
into the finished leather products are secured from Chicago, Cincinnati and 
other points where hide merchants job them to tanners. These hides come 
from the great packing houses of the country such as Armour, Swift and the 
like. The hide reaches the tanner in a salted condition ready for the first 
processes of tanning. 

From the storage the salted or green hide is taken to the beam house where 
it is soaked and washed. It next goes through 'a machine which scrapes the 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 195 

hide and removes all particles of flesh which may be hanging on the hide. This 
is called green fleshing. After this process the hide is thrown into large lime 
vats where the hair of the hide is loosened so that it may be easily scraped off. 
It is next worked out on a beam and put through the process by which the 
lime and dirt is worked out and the hide thoroughly cleaned by being washed 
in a wash wheel. It is next bated making the leather soft and pliable. 

The hide is now ready for the coloring or tanning. In large tanks which 
form the floor of a room over which are placed boards so that passage may 
be made are hung the hides for the soaking process. in the tan bark liquor 
which colors them. The liquor is changed every few days until the process 
of coloring is completed. After the coloring the hide is cured by being placed 
in a layaway between layers of tan bark. 

After the hide has been cured it is taken to the shaving room, where by 
machinery all loose flesh is removed, the hide scoured by another machine 
which takes all the liquor and dirt out, then hung up to dry. It is then stuffed, 
set out by machine, then by hand, hung up to dry then reset. 

The harness leather is next buffed black by staining, black set, greased off, 
bleached on the flesh side, trimmed, finished and brushed after which it is 
assorted and rolled ready for use or shipment. 

The process in finishing the collar and fly net leather is somewhat different. 
From the tanning room it is taken to another part of the factory where it is 
pressed. Next through a splitting machine which splits the hide to any desired 
thickness from one and one-half to ten ounces weight. After splitting it is 
retanned, washed, brushed, stuffed and set. It is next tacked on a frame 
where it is left to dry and to stretch smooth. The complete hide is tacked on 
this frame. It is next trimmed, glassed, which gives it a smooth surface and 
glossed by machinery. 

Perhaps the most wonderful machine in the Given factory is the measuring 
machine in which the leather hide is measured before converting it into the 
finished product. The machine is about twelve feet wide with numerous 
teeth sef at regular intervals which do the gauging. A large dial on which is 
marked feet and inches is on top. The hide is started through this machine 
and when it comes out the dial registers the area in square feet and inches 
exactly. Every hole in the hide is missed and every indentation taken cog- 
nizance of. The hide which was measured to demonstrate the machine was 
49^4 square feet in area. 

From the tannery where the hide is made ready for use the trip was made 
to the collar factory one part in the manufacture of the leather into the 
numerous products. In the cutting room the hide is cut over patterns by hand 
for the manufacture into horse collars of the ninety different varieties which 
the firm manufactures. Each collar part is cut by hand. The several parts 
are then assembled and sewed temporarily. On the tacking table the rim is 
tacked on and finally the parts are sewed permanently either with leather 
thong or thread as the collar specification calls for. 

Next the stuffing and shaping room was visited where the collar is stuffed 
and shaped. Specially built machines do this work under the care of a man 



196 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

for each machine. The straw with which some brands of the collars are 
stuffed is prepared on the floor above where one or two men cut it into proper 
length and fill the chutes with it. 

The first part to be stuffed is the rim that holds the hame to the collar. 
This is stuffed with long straw by means of a long steel tubular needle 
operated by power under the control of the workman. This long straw is 
dove tailed in rim which makes a continuous wad through the rim. 

Next the collar is faced with curled hair by another man after which still 
another fills it out with. short straw. It is finally backed out with straw cut 
in twelve inch lengths. 

The forming or blocking process in which the collar is made to take the 
shape it is intended to, comes next. Four huge pressure forming machines 
do this work. The collar is placed in its shapeless form in this machine, 
clamped in place and the power turned on which forces it to the pattern shape. 
After shaping the buckles are riveted on and after the dyeing process on the 
basement floor the collar is ready for market. 

All the work in the net factory is done by machinery except the lacing. 
Women are mostly employed here to do the work. First the leather is taken 
and cut into strips one inch in width. These are afterwards cut by machines 
into various widths made to suit the various lashes. The bars are punched by 
machinery. The lacing is all done by hand. 

In connection with the net factory is operated a harness factory in which 
harness of all kinds is made much in the same way and with the same 
machinery as is used in the old trade way. The leather is cut by hand to suit 
the pattern of the harness piece to be made. It is then assembled and sewed 
and finished into the harness set. All kinds of strap work is also done here. 

Two large boilers furnish steam for the three hundred horse power Ham- 
ilton Corliss engine which runs the plant. A great economy practiced by this 
factory is the use of the spent tan bark for fuel. This makes a very hot 
tire and is good for firing purposes. In addition to the regular steam equip- 
ment the engine room contains a large air composer, and a light plant which 
is able to generate power for 1,000 lights. 

Another new feature is the complete water works system operated by 
the plant. In a specially built cellar is located huge steam pumps which force 
water all over the building. Later a large storage tank will be built with the 
capacity of 100,000 gallons. A sprinkler system furnishes fire protection. 

The shipping department of the firm is located on the ground floor in the 
old section. Here all the goods are prepared for shipment and sent out under 
the direction of able shipping clerks. The office is on the first floor of the new 
south building and is large and commodious. 

The direct management of the company is in the charge of the brothers 
Charles and John Given. J. C. Royon also assumes direct responsibility. 
Others about the city own stock in the enterprise. 

A progressive and increasing business, a credit to Sidney and an honor to 
its builders and owners, the R. Given & Sons tannery stands as one of the 
largest and best among the manufacturing enterprises of Sidney. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 197 

THE AMERICAN STEEL SCRAPER COMPANY 

The American Steel Scraper Company, operating one of the most impor- 
tant manufacturing enterprises of Sidney, O., was organized in 1876 hy B. 
Slusser, inventor of the first steel drag scraper known to the trade, and W. S. 
Magill. Soon after the establishment of the factory it passed into the hands 
of W. H. C. Goode, who is now president of the company. W. E. Kilborn 
is treasurer and general manager. The plant, located at the corner of Court 
street and Wilkinson avenue, is a large and up-to-date concern, well equipped 
with improved machinery and all modern facilities, and the business is a 
large and prosperous one. The concern manufactures various styles of 
steel drag scrapers, plows, wheelbarrows, etc.. and its products are shipped 
all over the world. 

SLUSSER MCLEAN SCRAPER COMPANY 

The Slusser-McLean Scraper Company was established as a partnership in 
1880, by Benjamin Slusser, inventor of the first steel drag scraper known to 
the trade, and William T. McLean. A number of years previously Mr. 
Slusser and William H. C. Goode had established the American Steel Scraper 
Company, the partnership being continued until Mr. Goode bought out Mr. 
Slusser in the year above mentioned. Mr. Slusser died in 1899, but the 
business has since been continued under the guiding band of Mr. McLean. 
The concern is engaged in the manufacture of steel drag scrapers, wheeled 
scrapers, also line road-grading plows, and rooters, the product being shipped 
all over the L T nited States and Canada and exports being made to foreign 
countries. The plant located at East avenue and Shelby street, is an up-to-date 
one in every respect and is the only water-power plant in Sidney. 

THE SIDNEY STEEL SCRAPER COMPANY 

The Sidney Steel Scraper Company, whose plant is located at Poplar and 
Walnut avenues, was founded about 1880 by William Haslup and J. H. 
Doering, as a partnership concern, and was thus conducted until 1892, when 
it was incorporated. May 15th. with William Haslup, president and J. D. 
Barnes, secretary. Mr. Haslup died in April, 1912, and was succeeded as 
president by W. A. Perry, with \ T . L. Synder, secretary, they being the only 
local officers. The company is doing a prosperous business in the manufacture 
of steel scrapers ( Haslup's Scraper), wheelbarrows, contractors' grading 
plows, road graders and general road machinery, the product being shipped 
all over the world. 

THE BIMEL BUGGY COMPANY 

The Bimel Buggy Company, manufacturers of the famous Bimel buggies 
and carriages, was founded in Sidney, O., about 1849.' Five or six years later 
he moved the business to St. Mary's, O., where it was continued subsequently 
for many years. The company was reorganized in 1896 and the plant moved 



198 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

to Sidney, where it has since remained. The concern has acquired a notable 
reputation for the excellence of its product, which has a wide sale. The 
officers of the company (1912) are: A. C. Nobes, president; I. C. Minnich, 
vice-president; T. E-. Miller, secretary; S. V. Wilcutts, assistant treasurer; 
T. M. Miller, treasurer and general manager. 

THE SIDNEY MANUFACTURING COMPANY 

The Sidney Manufacturing Company, engaged in the manufacture of 
metal buggy seats, was incorporated in 1907 with a capital stock of $75,000, 
by A. J. Hess, L. M. Studevant, Herbert Sheets, I. H. Thedieck and P. P. 
Dyke. The above mentioned, with the addition of A. A. Gerlach and E. J. 
Griffis, constitute the board of directors. On its organization the company 
took possession of the old Maxwell mill, which was purchased by Mr. Thedieck 
for $17,000, and which, with a few necessary improvements and equipment 
makes an admirable plant for the business. The concern, of which Mr. I. H. 
Thedieck is president, is among the more important business enterprises of 
Sidney. 

THE MONARCH MANUFACTURING COMPANY 

The Monarch Manufacturing Company originated about twenty years 
ago and was conducted for some time by Sebastian & May at the present 
site of the Sidney Tool Works. The old concern was not very successful 
and the plant was finally purchased by A. P. Wagner, who after some legal 
difficulties in regard to patents, removed it, with machinery, to Detroit, Mich., 
in 1896. Its career there was handicapped by financial difficulties, but it 
existed there until August, 1909, when it was purchased by I. H. Thedieck, 
of Sidney, O., and brought to this city. Mr. Thedieck is now president of 
the company, with W. E. Whip, manager. The directors are I. H. Thedieck, 
L. M. Studevant. W. H. Wagner, A. J. Hess, and E. J. Griffis. 

SIDNEY ELEVATOR MANUFACTURING COMPANY 

Sidney Elevator Manufacturing Company was established in 1902 by the 
present proprietor, W. R. Blake, and is engaged in the manufacture of ele- 
vators, dumb waiters, box hoists and concrete mixing machines. The concern 
has an up-to-date plant in the northeast part of the town, near the Big Four 
tracts. Mr. Blake was formerly proprietor also of the Superior Broom Com- 
pany, which he operated in connection with his present plant, but which went 
out of existence about two years ago. 

THE BUCKEYE CHURN COMPANY 

The business controlled by this company was transferred to Sidney from 
Carey, Wyandot county, O., in 1891. It was then operated as a partnership 
concern by James Anderson and Wilson Carothers, and under the same 
name. The present plant, at Park street and the C. H. & D. railroad, was 
built at that time. In 1904 the concern incorporated with a capital stock of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 199 

$100,000, with James Anderson, president; Lawrence B. Anderson, vice- 
president, and Wilson Carothers, secretary and treasurer. The stock was 
increased in 191 1 to $150,000, and at present the officers are: James Ander- 
son, president ; Robert Anderson, vice-president ; Thomas Anderson, secre- 
tary and L. B. Anderson, treasurer. The directors include the above mentioned 
officers, with the addition of Wilson Carothers. The company, which is 
doing a fine business, manufactures churns, washing-machines, buckets, 
heavy horse pails, colonial columns for residences, bank furniture and finish 
for houses, besides doing a general wholesale and retail lumber business, an 
up-to-date sawmill forming part of the plant. The company are agents also 
for B. A. Hjorth & Co., of Stockholm, Sweden, controlling the United States 
and Canadian trade for the Primus cream separators, some of the parts of 
which are made at the Sidney plant. 

THE FOLDING MACHINE COMPANY 

The enterprise known as The Eclipse Folding Machine Company was 
started in 1884, by A. T. Boscom and L. M. Studevant. As a partnership 
under the name of Boscom Folder Company, the product being a newspaper 
folding machine, the invention of Mr. A. T. Boscom. Being the first suc- 
cessful medium-priced newspaper folding machine built, it met with success 
from the start. After about three years Mr. John'W. Skillen purchased an 
interest in the firm and Mr. Boscom retired. New designs were brought out 
from time to time and some years later the name was changed to Boscom- 
Eclipse Folder Company, and finally the "Boscom"' was dropped and the 
present name of The Eclipse Folding Machine Company was adopted. 

The partnership between Studevant & Skillen continued without inter- 
ruption until April, 1906, when Mr. Skillen desiring to retire from business 
sold his interest to Mr. Studevant, who became the sole owner. 

Being engaged in many other enterprises and having to entrust much of the 
management of the business Mr. Studevant thought it prudent to convert 
the business into corporate form which he immediately proceeded to do under 
trie laws of Ohio with a full pail up capital stock of $50,000. 

Mr. Studevant is the present president and principal owner of the com- 
pany. Mr. W. C. Horr has been associated with him as secretary and general 
manager since January, 19 12, and the business is in a highly prosperous 
condition. 

The company's products are sold in all parts of the civilized world and 
probably one-half of all the medium-priced newspaper folding machines in 
use at this time bear the name plate of The Eclipse Folding Machine Company. 

MENTGES FOLDER COMPANY 

Mentges Folder Company, manufacturers of newspaper and job folding 
machines, with plant at the corner of Oak and Poplar avenues, Sidney, was 
established by George Mentges about 1897. The original factory was a 
small building on South Main avenue. In igofi the present factory building 



200 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

—a fine modern brick structure — was erected and the business transferred 
to this location. Since then improvements have been made and the floor 
space more than doubled. About fifteen men — mostly skilled mechanics — 
are now employed and the output of the concern is shipped all over the United 
States and Canada and to foreign countries. Mr. George Mentges is still 
proprietor of the business. 

THE TL'CKER WOODWORK COMPANY 

The Tucker Woodwork Company, occupying capacious buildings on North 
Main street, Sidney, was organized January 18, 1903, with a capital stock of 
$50,000, for the purpose of manufacturing bent wood work, such as single 
piece wood rims for bicycles and other wire wheeled vehicles, invalid chair 
hand rims, automobile steering wheel rims and various other products from 
complete circle bending; also, the production of bendings for carriage and 
automobile seats. To employ the waste products of the company, a depart- 
ment was added a few years ago for the production of folding porch and 
lawn furniture and children's blackboards. Owing to the rapid growth of 
the business, the capitalization was increased, in April, 1907, to $150,000. 
The company enjoys a very active demand for its various products and is 
one of the most important and substantial manufacturing concerns in Sidney. 
James B. Tucker is president. 

THE FARMERS GRAIN AND .MILLING COMPANY 

The Farmers Grain and Milling Company is a recently established con- 
cern, operating the old Stone Bridge grain elevator and mill and is successor 
to The Sidney Grain and Milling Company. The business was established 
some years before the Civil war by McGrew & Co., who were succeeded 
several vears later by J. F. Frazer; it was then sold to a Mr. Levering of 
Piqua and from him passed into the hands of Joseph DeFreese. The next 
proprietors were Forsythe & Co., who sold out to J. N.. J. M. and E. E. Nutt. 
who conducted it for awhile. Later J. N. Nutt dropped of the concern and 
it was conducted by J. M. and E. E. Nutt until July, 1887, when the business 
passed into the hands of E. J. and W. A. Griffis, the firm being known as 
Griffis Bros. In June, 1897. the style became E. J. Griffis & Co., and it was 
thus conducted until December 4, 1904, at which time Capt. E. E. Nutt bought 
the plant back. After his death it was conducted by the administrators under 
the name of The Sidney Grain and Milling Company until it came into the 
hands of its present proprietors, J. M. Blake, F. J. Russell and F. M. Sayre, 
Mr. Blake being active manager of the concern. The present elevator was 
built in 1895. the flouring mill being added to the plant in 1898. The concern 
deals in grain, seeds, salt, coal, cement, plaster, hay. tile, straw, etc., and is 
doing a prosperous business. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 201 

THE PEERLESS BREAD MACHINE COMPANY 

The Peerless Bread Machine Company, a newly established concern, is 
the successor to the Standard Clutch Company, which was established in 1905 
by William Harmony and Frank Lucas, who for two years conducted a general 
repair shop. They then added a foundry and subsequently conducted the 
business until April, 191 2, when it was taken over by E. J. Griffis and W. E. 
Wenger, who conducted the plant as a general machine shop until October 
1st, at which time they opened up a foundry and began to make and market 
the Peerless bread moulding machine, in which business they are now engaged. 
The company was incorporated in 1897 at $3°>°°o, which capitalization has 
not since been changed. The present style was assumed early in January, 
1913. The officers of the company are: E. J. Griffis, president; William 
Piper, vice-president, and F. X. Lauterber, secretary and treasurer. The 
company has good prospects of doing a successful business. 

THE MIAMI VALLEY GRAIN COMPANY 

The Miami Valley Grain Company was incorporated May 20, 1907, and 
succeeded to the business of J. E. Wells & Co. The following well-known 
business men are identified officially with the enterprise : E. T. Custenborder, 
president ; J. W. Allihger, vice-president ; W. H. Persinger, secretary, and 
George Allinger, treasurer and manager. These gentlemen have had experi- 
ence in the business in hand, knowing its every detail, and able at all times 
to afford their customers the best information as to the grain market. The 
company operates one of the largest elevators in the county, having a capacity 
of 40,000 bushels and equipped with the latest appliances. A modern grist 
mill is also operated and all kinds of feed and meal are, sold or ground for 
customers. Mill feed and flour always on hand and at the lowest prices. 
The company is on the market at all times for the purchase of grain and 
seed. The Miami Valley Grain Company has a large trade which grows con- 
tinually and the gentlemen connected with it have in the largest measure the 
confidence of all with whom they do business. 

THE WILLIAM KLIPST1NE LUMBER COMPANY 

The William Klipstine Lumber Company is one of the largest and most 
conveniently arranged lumber yards in the state. This industry was formerly 
the George H. Worch Lumber Company and about 1909 became the property 
of the new company. Wm. Klipstine, who for so many years was manager 
of the company, remains in charge of the new company. The new building 
erected several years ago enables them to keep much of their lumber in the 
dry. There are two buildings 48 by 132 feet connected by a building running 
along Walnut avenue 48 by 70 feet, all three stories high ; also a brick stable 
in rear, 30 by 70 feet, giving them over 60,000 square feet of floor space. 
All kinds of lumber and builder's hardware is handled, also coal, lime, cement, 
locust posts and composition roofing. The plan, of the new buildings give 
three drive ways which facilitate the easy loading and unloading of goods. 



202 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

JONES GRAIN COMPANY 

The elevator conducted by this concern was built about eighteen years ago 
by Emory C. Nutt, who was proprietor of the business for about ten years. It 
then passed into the hands of R. V. Jones and E. S. Sheets, who operated the 
plant for six years, or until recently, when R. V. Jones became principal 
proprietor, being associated in the ownership with J. C. Wagner and W. B. 
Jackson. The mill is located at West avenue and North street, close to the 
Big Four tracks and a prosperous business is being conducted in grain, seeds, 
etc. 

II. B. HOLE, POULTRY, EGGS AND BUTTER 

This business was established in April, 1907 by H. B, Hole, of Ver- 
sailles, the Sidney plant, located in the northeast part of the town, near the 
Big Four tracks, being a branch concern. Mr. Hole is the sole proprietor. 
About $50,000 to $60,000 worth of produce is shipped per annum to the New 
York and New Jersey markets. 

SIDNEY CEMENT STONE COMPANY 

Sidney Cement Stone Company was established in March, 1906, by C 
B. DeWeese, the present proprietor, and is one of the pioneer plants of the 
kind in the state. The concern manufactures and deals in cement, building 
blocks, water table, caps, sills, brick, chimney blocks, pedestal blocks, porch 
columns, porch trimmings, coping and garden furniture. The output is con- 
siderable, being equal to that of most of the largest plants elsewhere. They 
have the most modern machinery for the manufacture of their product and 
are doing a successful business. 

THE PIONEER POLE AND SHAFT COMPANY 

The Pioneer Pole and Shaft Company, with plant corner of Park street 
and the C. H. & D. Railroad, was established in Sidney some years ago as a 
branch concern, the main offices being located at Piqua, Ohio. As the name 
of the company indicated, it is engaged in the manufacture of poles and 
shafts for vehicles of various kinds. A. R. Friedman is president and gen- 
eral manager; C. C. Carey, local manager. 

THE CHERRY CHEER COMPANY 

This business was established in 1908 by W. R. and J. C. Carothers, and 
was first conducted in a small way under the name of the Cherry-ola Com- 
pany. In the fall of 1909 the concern adopted its present style and incorpo- 
rated with a capital stock of $25,000, the officers being: Wilson Carothers, 
president; W. R. Carothers, vice-president and manager; J. C. Carothers, 
treasurer ; F. K. Carothers, secretary ; and E. J. Carothers. The above men- 
tioned officers, with the addition of E. J. Carothers, are the directors. The 
company is engaged in the manufacture of soda fountain sirups, including 
cherry cheer, zolakone, orangeade, grapall, mint-fire and coco-cheer, the 




SroH 

_ . W - ' 





AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 203 

product being shipped all over the United States and to foreign countries. 
The present plant, built in 1910, is located in the west end of Sidney, near the 
C. H. & D. railroad station. About 16 people are employed in the plant, 
while the company has forty travelling men, besides employing a number of 
house to house canvassers and demonstrators. Distilled water is used in the 
manufacture of the sirups. 

THE W. M. TOY COMPANY, SIDNEY, OHIO 

The VV. M. Toy Company, Sidney, O., is engaged in the manufacture of 
plows, street scrapers, etc. The business was started more than 50 years ago 
by Daniel Toy-Sr., who was the originator of the Toy plow and who made 
the plows used in the construction of the C. H. & D. Railroad. At his death 
he was succeeded by his son, W. M. Toy, who has since conducted the busi- 
ness successfully. The latter's son, Hugh Toy, is associated with him. Im- 
portant improvements in the plant are contemplated in the near future. 

C. R. BENJAMIN & SON 

C. R. Benjamin & Son, are engaged in the manufacture of handles, and 
are also dealers in coal, cement, etc. The business was established by C. R. 
Benjamin about thirty years ago and has been in continuous operation since, 
Charles W. Benjamin being the junior member of the firm. June 17, 1912 
the plant was destroyed by fire but is now being rebuilt and will employ about 
40 people. 

THE CROFT LAUNDRY 

The Croft Laundry on West avenue is one of the best laundries in the 
state. Mr. Croft has been in the laundr-y business for more than twenty- 
three years and his cement stone building houses the latest and most improved 
equipment, which is arranged for the careful and successful handling of 
rough and fine work. In addition to keeping things clean for the people of 
Sidney he has numerous agencies established in the surrounding towns which 
bring considerable laundry work to Sidney. With competent help and 
prompt deliveries the work speaks for itself. Mr. Croft takes pride in giv- 
ing the people the best in laundry work. He is popular with all, prominent 
as an Eagle, Elk and K. of C. and takes a lively interest in affairs generally. 

THE HARRISON M. POTTS' SAWMILL 

The Harrison M. Potts' Sawmill, located on Miami avenue close to the 
canal, was established in Sidney a number of years ago by its present pro- 
prietor, Mr. H. M. Potts who is an experienced lumberman. 

In addition to the manufacturing industries mentioned, Sidney is well 
provided with a goodly number of mercantile enterprises, most of which are 
doing a prosperous business. 



1>04 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

THE MARY L. POULTRY PLANT 

The Mary L. Poultry Plant, once an important industry of Sidney, was 
founded in 1895 by John Loughlin, and is said to have been the largest 
poultry plant in the world. It included a number of buildings, the egg house 
being 40 by 537 feet and the hatchery 20 by 840 feet. Three hundred chick- 
ens were hatched daily and 9,000 eggs were constantly in incubation. The 
plant attracted large numbers of visitors from all over the country. The 
business, however, resulted in failure; Mr. Loughlin left Sidney and is now 
deceased. 

THE SIDNEY MARBLE AND GRANITE WORKS 

The Sidney Marble and Granite Works, now conducted by James J. Shea, 
were established by William Shea in 1881. who acquired a wide reputation 
for the tastefulness of his designs and the thoroughness of his workmanship. 
This reputation has in no wise suffered since the business past into the hands 
of the present proprietor. 



CHAPTER IX 

TRANSPORTATION 

Construction of Roads and Highways — Taverns — The Canal — Railroads and 
Electric Lines — The Mails 

TRANSPORTATION 

In no way can we see the century's progress better than to turn to out- 
splendid system of turnpikes, steam and electric lines and compare them 
with early days of transportation and travel in the county. For a long time 
there were no roads at all, only the buffalo trails and Indian paths, and these 
zig-zagged in every direction. They were at first used by the men who opened 
the wilderness and were followed by the blazed ways from one settlement or 
town to another. As the various settlements grew and the people increased 
in numbers, better roads became necessary, and the settlers began to construct 
them. Long before the days of the turnpike came corduroy roads, which 
were constructed by the men and boys of the neighborhood with their axes 
and oxen. The men would cut down trees, split the large ones into rails and 
haul them with the ox teams to the worst places in the road. They would 
first lay brush in the road to support the logs and prevent them from sinking 
too deep in the mire, then place the logs and rails on top of the brush and 
shovel mud over them. The lack of good roads was a detriment to the settle- 
ment of the county. While neighbors were few and far between yet milling 
had to be done, and this necessity, to some extent, brought about the construc- 
tion of better roads than the first primitive ones but many years elapsed before 
these rude country roads gave way to the magnificent turnpikes which now 
reach in every direction. 

As early as 1806 congress took a hand on road building in Ohio for in this 
year it passed an act making a road from Cumberland, in the state of Mary- 
land, to the state of Ohio, and it was this act which enabled Thomas Jeffer- 
son to become the official father of the national road. 

While this famous thoroughfare did not touch Shelby county it passed 
through a portion of Miami and Montgomery and was the first great highway 
from the east to the west and did much to open up the Miami valley and its 
adjacent territory. It was conceived in the brain of Albert Gallatin, a Swiss, 
who was secretary of the treasury under Jefferson. It was to cost $7,000,000 
and to reach from the Potomac to the Mississippi. It passed through the 
states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indiana and Illinois and was one of the most 
important steps in that movement of national expansion which followed this 

•205 



206 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

conquest of the West. The eastern division oi the road at a cost of S3.000 

per mile was finished in 1S17. Travel across the Alleghany mountains into 

the Ohio basin began and in ss authorized the extension of this 

great road in: ghway stretched westward travel 

over it became md in a short time vehicles of every descrip- 

!ed the new thoroughfare, and it- opening gave rise to many stage 

lines which competed with one another for the traffic. The-e cumbersome 

had three seats inside and could comfortably carry nine 

ind richly painted, the linings being often 

affairs without springs or braces 

There were fifteen-inch back bands 

and high bands of ten inches and the braces were little less than loads of 

nsidered ordinary and competition 
ine travel was always at fever heat. Toll was charged all along 
The gate keepers were ap]>ointed by the 
lly received a salary ! nth. 

g into being even- few miles with gaudily painted 
entertainment for man and beast, and in short everywhere 
ely and uncc 
hich may be recalled by some of the older people 
. ern on the Wapakoneta pike at Anna. 
It was kept by a genial old man of the name 
rd and in time became the place of entertainment for Sidney parties 
I thither to partake jers. 

Shelby county- now has 720 miles of turnpike roads constructed at a cost 
of about S-1,000 a mile, which, of course varies in different localities. The 
material for the making of good pikes has had to be brought from incon- 
venient 5 for this unty does not furnish good gravel enough for 
such uses as its gravel is commingled with too much clay to make it available. 
the year ending August 31. 191 1. the total expenditures on pikes 
; 96.04. no new ones being constructed. About three miles are being 
constructed this summer of 1912 in Jackson and McLean townships at a 
1 : 2.000. The width of these pikes is forty feet much narrower than 
the ones constructed years ago. The cost is met by the county paying 50 
per cent and the township and property owners 2-, per cent each. 

The pride of Shelby county was for many years the "St. Marys pike" 
on the fine of an old road formerly projected to connect Sidney with St. 
This road, of excellent width, was carried on a perfectly straight 
line for a distance which falls short by but a few rods of thirteen miles, 
wholly in this county. The engineer who constructed most of the pikes in 
Shelby : avid W. Pampel. who was a useful and prominent citi- 

zen, became a director in the German American bank and met a tragic death 
in the nineties of the Big Four station as he was alighting from the cars. 
being crushed between the train and the platform. 



AXD REPRESENTATIVE CITIZZ. - 207 

THE CANAL 

The canal is older than the Christian era ar.c has always been recog- 
nized as a great aid to civilization. It was employed as a means of navi- 
gation and communication bj Sans, Hm iis and Chinese 
and the Royal Canal of Babylon v.- a- ne 
The first canal in the United States of any consr nee . the Erie canal, 
336 miles long connecting the Hudson river at Albany and Troy with Lake 
Erie at Buffalo. It was begun in 181 7 and opened with great ceremony in 
. : - - _ :oo. 

The git : the Erie canal induced the people of Ohio to begin 

the work of canal building for this ' :he struggle is 

: long continuous effort. 

During the period of settlement in the . - - ads such as we know 

them now were e known to : arated communities in 

ere railroads. With very ere only widened 

bridle paths, improved in swampy places by patches of corduroy construc- 
tion, but almost impassable in the spring and falL Thus in the absence of 
roads, overland transportation for trade was impracticable and productions 
of any kind were of no value so long as they could not be shipped cheaply 
to the consumer by water. The need of cheaper communication was keenly 
realized from the time of the first settlement west of the great barrier, the 
Alleghanies. and most keenly by those situated some distance from ai 

- - cut off from the usual modes of transportation by canoe, flatboat, 
"keel-boat" or 

n relating to Ohio can al s was introduced into 
'y. and the friends of the project entered, actively into the 
fall campaign to elect men pledge 1 rnal improvements, and 

not with - :in canals increased and in 

ebated the question of granting j 7-nment lands in Ohio 
for canal purposes. Not ah. - internal improvement 

in Ohio as famous reply I 

declared this very question. What interest has South Carolina in 
in Ohio" - treen months after congress 

had granted the " the Ohio and Indiana canals. 

Februai 4 .: gis re decided to and Erie 

canal, following the old Sc: . Cleveland to Ports- 

mouth and the Miami canal, following the Great Miami river fro:: 
to Cincinnati. It also promised to extend the Miami canal to Toledo in a few 
years. 

The work on the Ohio and Erie commenced at once and the pay for 
laborers was 30 cents a day. with plain board, and a "jiggerfull of 
The work on the Miami canal was not to be begun until December 1. 1831. 
l>y legislative enactment and did not commence until 1833. The ccs: 
work was paid in part by land grants from the government and from Ohio 
and Indiana. Congress by an act approved Ma __ 828 granted to the 



;X)8 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

state of Ohio a quantity of land equal to one-half of five sections in width 
on each side of the canal from Dayton to the Maumee river at the mouth of 
the Auglaize so far as the canal should traverse public land. The act 
reserved to the United States such alternate section of the land unsold, with 
the provision that such reserved land should not be sold at less than $2.50 
per acre. The number of acres included in his grant was 438,301.32. 

Indiana then conveyed land granted to her by congress for canal con- 
struction, March 2, 1827, as lay within Ohio, if the latter would build the 
Wabash and Erie canal from the Indiana state line to Lake Erie. Ohio then 
received further grants from congress by act of May 24, 1828, of 500,000 
acres of government land for canal purposes. These three land grants gave 
to Ohio a total of 1,230.521.95 acres of land to be sold for the aid of her 
canals. The state has sold most of these lands for $2,257,487.32 and has 
remaining, principally within the limits of the Grand Reservoir, land worth 
perhaps $100,000. 

The Wabash and Erie canal was completed in 1842, being 67.75 miles long 
from its junction with the Miami extension canal to Toledo and having a 
water surface width of 60 feet, a bottom width of 46 feet, and a depth of 6 
feet. 

The Miami Extension canal was completed three years later, 1845, and 
was 114 miles long. 5 feet deep. 36 feet wide at the bottom, and 5 feet wide 
at the top. 

A little later navigation also began on the Miami canal and on November 
28, 1837, three boats crowded with citizens, left the basin six miles north 
of Cincinnati and proceeded to Middletown with the most perfect success. 
The progress of the boats was about three miles an hour, including locks and 
other detentions. 

In 1841 the Miami and Erie canal was completed to Dayton, which, place 
remained the head of navigation six years when the canal was completed to 
Piqua. This afforded cheap transportation to Cincinnati. It was found 
to be the very thing the people needed and they were not slow to take advan- 
tage of it. 

By an act of the legislature March 14, 1849, the three canals previously 
known as the Miami canal, the Miami Extension canal, and the Wabash and 
Erie became known as the Miami and Erie canal, and so it has remained to 
this day. It is impossible to state the value of this canal to the country 
through which it passes. The whole length of the Miami and Erie canal, 
including 32 miles of feeders, is about 300 miles and cost $8,062,680.80. 

The gifts of land by the state greatly reduced the cost to the taxpayers. 

The income from canals in Ohio is about $130,000 annually and in 191 2 
it will amount to $150,000. 

It was not until the completion of reservoirs or feeders that the canal 
entered upon the era of its greatest prosperity. For many years it was the 
means of transportation and travel. The worth of the canal was soon appar- 
ent to every one. Shortly after it was put in operation wheat advanced in 
price and before 1840 merchandise was brought from New York City to 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 209 

Dayton by the all water route of 1,100 miles in 20 days at a cost of $17.25 
a ton. 

The route followed the Erie canal to Buffalo, the lake to Cleveland, the 
Ohio canal to Portsmouth, the Ohio river to Cincinnati, and the Miami canal 
to Dayton. The "canal counties" at once took the lead in industrial and 
agricultural growth, a lead they never lost as today these thirty of the eighty- 
eight counties contain fifty-two per cent of the state's population. 

A dam was constructed in Logan county across the Miami river and a 
reservoir of several thousand acres formed and another dam at Port Jeffer- 
son across the Miami turning a part of the water into a feeder, nine miles 
long, which runs through Sidney and enters the main canal at Lockington, 
being entirely within Shelby county. Port Jefferson, at the head of the 
feeder, cherished bright prospects and saw in mind's eye a flourishing city 
but the advent of railways dissipated its hopes. 

THE MAILS 

The transportation of the mails in the early days of Shelby county was 
poor and primitive. When one considers the mail service of the present day, 
the fast mail trains, the free rural delivery, the commodious postoffices and 
other mail faculties enjoyed by the people, a comparison with the old mail 
service provokes a smile. 

There was but little correspondence before the introduction of steam 
for it required days to get a letter through to its destinations ; postage stamps 
had not come into use, but the amount of postage due was written on the 
outside of the letter. The old fashioned letters were written on a single 
sheet and so folded as to form the envelope. The address ,was placed on the 
blank page, a stick of red sealing wax held over the flame of a candle and 
a bit of the heated substance dropped upon the fold and allowed to cool. 
Now and then the writer if she were a young lady, would stamp the impres- 
sion of her ring on the wax and the letter was ready to post. Mucilage then 
was unknown. If two sheets of paper were used the postage was doubled. 
Thus you can see how necessary it was to have the power to condense. 

Rates of postage in those early days differed greatly from those of today. 
They were regulated by distance and not by weight. The charge was 6% 
cents for 50 miles or less; 12^ cents for from 50 to 150 miles; 1834 cents 
up to 300 miles ; and over that 25 cents to any part of the United States. 

Today a letter may be sent from Sidney to London, England, for two 
cents and to the ends of the earth for five cents. 

The first mail route in the Northwest territory was established in 1799 
from Wheeling, West Virginia to Limestone, Kentucky, the mail to be car- 
ried once a week each way, the whole distance being 226 miles. 

Nor was the transmission of the early mails, no matter how they were 
carried, conducted in safety for the mail robber was abroad in the land. Some 
of the mails brought to this country eighty years ago came by post riders 
to Wheeling and thence down the Ohio to Cincinnati in mail boats, built like 



210 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

whaling craft, each manned with four oarsmen and a coxswain, armed, thence 
by post roads to the Miami region. The voyage from Wheeling to Cincinnati 
occupied six days and the return trip up stream twelve days. The blowing 
of a horn announced to the people of the neighborhood the arrival of the mail. 
The early postoffices of the county were generally log structures, but they 
answered the needs of the times well enough. The postmaster was frequently 
merchant, cabinetmaker and government official all in one for his salary was 
small and business was not heavy. The mail bag was never filled to over- 
flowing and the few recipients of its contents were indeed the lucky ones. We 
can hardy realize the burden and inconvenience the high and uncertain 
postage rates imposed upon the pioneers as money was scarce and difficult to 
obtain. 

The first postoffice in Shelby county was established at Hardin in 1819 
with Col. James Wells postmaster and was in a shop in which he worked at 
his trade as a hatter. The next year he removed to Sidney which had been 
made the county seat and continued as postmaster until 1841. He was during 
his period as postmaster auditor, clerk of courts and recorder of the county 
thus showing that salary of postmaster could not be depended on for a 
livelihood. 

The following postmasters have served the people of Sidney since 1825 
with their term of service given. This list was furnished by the postoffice 
department at Washington. There is a discrepancy in the dates furnished 
by the county records and those from the first assistant postmaster general 
as to the establishment of the Sidney postoffice, which can not be reconciled 
by the writer. 

POSTMASTER DATE OF APPOINTMENT 

James Wells (established) April 3, 1825 

Hugh Wilson May 31, 1842 

Elijah Lynch August 23, 1841' 

James Wells June 7, 1845 

Milton Bailey June 1, 1849 

Daniel L. Bush May 16, 1853 

George Murray March 29, 1861 

M. C. Hale August 20, 1866 

Margaret Walker March 28, 1867 

Samuel Mathers January 16, 1873 

Robt. H. Trego September 22, 1876 

J. E. Wilkinson May 5, 1881 

J. S. Laughlin May 27, 1885 

Hugh B. Neal June 11, 1889 

Franklin Hunter March 15, 1894 

Robert V. Jones May 24, 1898 

The present postoffice is in the building owned by Harry Wagner of Day- 
ton, formerly of Sidney on Poplar street and will probably remain there until 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 211 

the erection of a federal building on the location bought by the government 
at the corner of Ohio and North streets for the sum of $20,000. 

During Postmaster Jones' first term January 1, 1899, the first rural mail 
route was started in this county through Orange and Green townships and 
was carried by Kerr T. Carey. At the present time the rural system from the 
Sidney office consists of 1 1 carriers covering 275 miles of territory daily, 
except Sundays and legal holidays and serving about 7,500 people. 

The salary of the rural carrier is $1,000 annually. 

The Sidney postoffice is second class. Salary of postmaster $2,800. 
There are 5 city carriers covering about 90 miles of territory daily. Their 
salaries are $1,100 annually. 

POSTOFFICE REPORT FOR YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, I9I2 

Postal receipts for year, $31,462.44; registered mail and parcels delivered, 
2,359; registered mail received for delivery, 2,702; transit registered mail, 
4,881; money orders issued, domestic, 11,287; money orders issued, foreign, 
76. A. B. C. Hitchcock. 

THE BIG FOUR RAILWAY 

The Cleveland, Columbus & Cincinnati Railway Company was chartered 
March 12, 1845; was completed and trains ran through from Cleveland to 
Columbus, a distance of 138 miles, February 22, 185 1. In the year 1861, 
the C. C. C. acquired by purchase that portion of the Springfield, Mt. Vernon 
& Pittsburg railway between Delaware, O., and Springfield, O., fifty miles. 

The Indianapolis, Pittsburg & Cleveland railway extending -from the city 
of Indianapolis eastward to Union City, eighty-four miles, and the Belle- 
fontaine & Indiana railway extending eastward from Union county to Galion, 
119 miles, were consolidated under the name of the Bellefontaine railway 
in 1864, pursuant to the laws of the states of Ohio'and Indiana. 

In April, 1868, the C. C. C. Railway Company was consolidated with the 
Bellefontaine railway under the name of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincin- 
nati & Indianapolis Railway Company with a total length of 391 miles. 

January 24, 1871, the road became the lessees of the Cincinnati & Spring- 
field railway, eighty and one-half miles. 

This made the total length of road owned and operated by the C. C. C. 
& I. 471^2 miles. This road traverses Shelby county east and west. 

The building of the C. C. C. & I. railway had a depressing effect on the 
general prosperity of the town for several years. The citizens were anxious 
to procure the road and the only inducement offered was to buy stocks. Many 
of the merchants of Sidney and some private individuals sold their property 
to the company, taking the nominal equivalent in stock. Numbers subse- 
quently sold for thirty-three cents on the dollar. Those who hung on and 
passed from the enthralment of the company, and regained their property did 
well, as also did those who could afford to keep their stock. The road now 
belongs to the Vanderbilt lines; and the benefits of its construction can not 



212 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

now be measured, though a general depression in business and a sore retard- 
ment to the prosperity of the town, followed its opening. 

The tax commission fixed the taxable value of the Indianapolis division 
of the C. C. C. & St. L. railway on 23.17 miles of main track and 7.5 miles 
of siding and all other property in the right of way at $1,379,520 for Shelby 
county for the year 1912. 

THE CINCINNATI, HAMILTON & DAYTON RAILROAD 

The Dayton and Michigan railway was constructed in 1856. It runs 
from Toledo to Dayton and traverses Shelby county from north to south. 
It has proved a benefit to the county notwithstanding the fact that its advent 
was hailed with some disapprobation by the usual number of persons who 
stand in the way of progress. 

The first sod of this line was cut at the end of Water street in Sandusky, 
September 7. [835, by General Harrison of Cincinnati, afterwards president 
of the United States. The occasion was one of general rejoicing and great 
gayety — processions were formed, the air was resonant with music and the 
display of bunting was profuse. 

The first locomotive named the "Sandusky" was the first locomotive in 
America to which a regular steam whistle was applied. At this time the 
track was known as the Mad River & Lake Erie railway and ran through 
Bellevue to Tiffin. 

The Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton railroad was chartered March 2, 
1846, its present name being given to it by an act passed March 15, 1849. 
The road was opened for business September 19, 1850, but a little more than 
a year after work had been commenced upon it. It was built without the aid 
of township subscriptions and its stocks and bonds sold at par from the start 
both in Xew York and Cincinnati. In less than a month after the opening of 
the subscriptions for stock, three-fourths of a million dollars in cash was paid 
in by Cincinnati investors. The rest of the stock and the first issue of bonds 
were taken in Xew York at par. This is supposed to be the first instance of 
the kind in the history of railroading. On May I, 1863, the road from Day- 
ton to Toledo, belonging to the Dayton & Michigan Company, and which 
passed through Sidney, was leased to the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton, and 
on February 18, 1869, it became the lease of the Cincinnati, Richmond & 
Chicago Railroad Company, which covered also the Richmond & Miami Rail- 
way. In 1872 the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Indianapolis railroad was added 
to the system. Within the last two years extensive improvements have been 
made by the C. H. & D. railway in Shelby county, by eliminating grades, 
straightening curvature and double-tracking the road-improvements which 
have materially assisted in the economical operation of the property. The tax 
commission has fixed the value of the D. & M. branch of the C. H. & D. 
railway in Shelby county for the year 1912 on 20.49 miles of main track 
and 10.08 of second track, and 7.29 siding at $857,680. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 213 

THE DETROIT, TOLEDO & IRONTON RAILROAD 

This road, which passes in a northwesterly and southeasterly direction 
through Jackson and Salem townships, with stations at Jackson Center and 
Maplewood, is the old Ohio Southern and was constructed in 1894. Its 
taxable value has been fixed by the tax commission at $90,900 on 9.555 miles 
of main track and 1.56 siding for the year 1912. 

THE WESTERN OHIO RAILROAD 

The Western Ohio railroad (electric), passing through Shelby county 
in a northerly and southerly direction, furnishes convenient connections with 
Piqua, Troy, Dayton, Springfield, Lima, Findlay, Fostoria, Fremont, San- 
dusky, Cleveland, Toledo and other points. Within the county the line runs 
through Sidney, Lockington, Swanders, Anna and Botkins, by means of 
branch lines connecting also with Ft. Loramie. Cars run at frequent intervals 
and the road enjoys a good patronage. 

DETROIT, TOLEDO & CANTON R. R. 

This railroad, which runs in a general northerly and southerly direction 
through Jackson and Salem townships, with stations at Jackson Center and 
Maplewood, is the old Ohio Southern. It crosses the tracks of the Big 
Four at Ouincy, just beyond the eastern boundary line of the county, thus 
furnishing indirect communication with Sidney. 

WESTERN OHIO R. R. 

The Western Ohio Traction Company was incorporated in 1902 and has 
a mileage in Shelby county of twenty-two miles. It owns and operates 111^ 
miles of railway between Findlay and Piqua. The first cars were run through 
Sidney. April 30. 1903. The road was assessed for taxation in Shelby 
county in 1912, $493,460 on 21.97 miles of main track and .58 of siding. 

It is now possible to go from Toledo to Cincinnati by means of these in- 
terchanging electric lines and a net work of railways gives interurban con- 
nection with Cleveland. 



CHAPTER X 

PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS 

The Infirmary — The Shelby County Children's Home — Sidney Public 
Library — Shelby County Institute 

THE INFIRMARY 

On the 23d of March, 1866, the county commissioners purchased of James 
Rollins a farm of 158 acres in the southwest quarter of section 10, town. 7, 
range 6, for the purpose of building an infirmary. The purchase was made 
for $85,000, payable as follows: $4,500 cash, $2,000 in one year, and $2,000 
in two years from date of purchase, which was secured by mortgage bearing 
six per cent interest from date. 

A board of infirmary directors consisting of C. Kingseed, M. J. Winget 
and H. Guthrie was created by the commissioners which selected Jacob Leh- 
man for superintendent of the infirmary farm at a salary of $50 per month. 
A short time after Lehman was succeeded by Jesse B. Howe, August 20, 1866. 

Contracts for a new infirmary were let by the commissioners February 
16, 1869, as follows: Slate, tin and galvanized iron work awarded Gephart 
& Sanders for $8,400; cut stone given to Webber & Lehtnan for $2,400; 
carpenter and joiner work to Rouzer & Rouzer for $14,400, this to include 
glazing; plumbing and steam-fitting to Brooks & Light for $6,845; brick 
work to Samuel and John McCune for $8,000; said parties to allow $2,000 
for brick already on the ground. William C. Wyman contracted for the plas- 
tering at 35 cents per yard and F. Lierman the painting for $1,700. 

This building, which is an elegant and substantial brick of two stories 
with a mansard roof, is situated about three miles southwest of Sidney, in 
Clinton township and reflects great credit on the citizens of the county. A 
beautiful lawn in front of the home, which sits back from the road, shows 
the good taste of its managers, while the rest of the farm is highly cultivated. 

On the 26th of February, 1875, Superintendent Howe resigned and was 
succeeded by William Widener, who was followed by Harvey Guthrie in 
1897. William Guthrie succeeded his father till 1899 and was in turn 
followed by Emanuel Needles till 1903. Lawson Showers is the present 
superintendent and with his estimable wife as matron gives a most efficient 
administration of affairs. The institution at this time contains thirty-eight 
inmates. 

214 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 215 

THE SHELBY COUNTY CHILDREN'S HOME 

The following article was prepared and written by Attorney James E. 
Way, trustee of the home. 

On the brow of one of the magnificent hills overlooking the Great Miami 
river, and about one mile south and east of the city of Sidney, stands 
the Shelby County, Ohio, Children's Home, recognized as one of the best 
conducted and managed charitable institutions of its kind in the state. 

The view from the home is one of unsurpassed beauty. To the west is 
seen the Great Miami river, its clear and sparkling waters, fringed with tall, 
magnificent elms, stately sycamores and bending willows, winding like a 
silver cord onward, as described in one of Tennyson's poetic visions, forever, 
toward the sea. Northward, we are treated with a most beautiful panoramic 
view of the lively, bustling city of Sidney, snugly nestled among the hills, 
and spread out over them in artistic loveliness. To the east and south is 
presented an extensive view of well cultivated and productive farms, and 
lofty hills, luxuriant with the beauties of nature's own handiwork of forests 
of the hickory, oak, ash, and many other splendid specimens of the monarchs 
of the woods, with climbing and clinging vines interspersed between. 

At the general election, held in the fall of 1893, the question of erecting 
a Children's Home was submitted to the people of the county for a test of 
sentiment. The generous hearted electorate of the county being thus appealed 
to, answered in the affirmative, and authority was thereby given to proceed 
in the good work. Afterwards, at the January term, 1894, of the court of 
common pleas, of Shelby county, a committee, consisting of S. J. Hatfield, 
A. J. Hess and S. L. Wicoff. was appointed by the court to select a location 
for the home, and approve plans for the buildings. After viewing several 
places the committee selected the present site, the farm containing about one 
hundred and forty-two acres in Clinton and Orange townships, and, likewise, 
approved the plans for the buildings as subsequently erected thereon. 

In July, 1894, the county commissioners, acting upon the report and sug- 
gestions of the committee, made purchase of said land at the agreed price of 
$7,562 for the whole. The erection of the several necessary buildings, at an 
approximated cost of $30,000, including the purchase price paid for the land, 
as above stated, speedily followed, and on the 4th day of November, 1897, 
these were formally dedicated with appropriate exercises, and made ready 
for occupancy. Later, through the philanthropy and christian spirit of 
one of Sidney's splendid women, Mrs. Mary A. Barkdull, who by her last 
will provided that the proceeds of the sale of a part of her real estate be given 
to the home, the board of trustees was enabled to have erected on the grounds 
a neat and commodious school building, whcih stands as a fit memorial of and 
dedicated to the memory of that good woman who found a greater blessing 
in giving than in receiving. The building has encased within the front wall 
a tablet, bearing these words: "Barkdull Memorial 1903," as a further tribute 
to her whose memory shall ever be green to all the children who enter its doors. 

Of the home farm, about seventy acres consists of cultivated lands, the 



216 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

rest being wood and pasture lands, including the home park, upon which 
the several buildings were erected. The park has been greatly beautified, 
and presents a very cheerful picture from all points of view. The valuable 
services of Edgar Emley, one of the best known lovers of nature in the county, 
were secured to take charge of beautifying the park, and for a time he had 
supervision in the matter of selecting and planting the trees therein. He 
insisted in planting the native forest trees, giving as a reason that in time, 
when our forests will be denuded of their trees, we still would have the 
native kinds of timber on the park to remind the people of the woodlands 
of earlier days. Mr. Emley's idea prevailed, and the park has a beautiful 
growth of the hickory, maple, ash, elm, and numerous other kinds of trees, 
the product of Shelby county, secure for generations yet to come, and a 
fitting monument to the memory of him who placed them there. 

The home, very soon after its dedication, was opened for the admission 
of children, and Dr. W. N. Shaw was appointed its first superintendent, and 
his wife, as matron. Dr. Shaw and wife resigned their positions on the first 
day of April, 1898, and were succeeded by J. H. McClung and his wife, as 
superintendent and matron, respectively. After eight years of faithful service, 
Air. and Airs. McClung severed their official relations with the home, and 
were succeeded by J. H. Kemp and his wife, Ann, who remained in charge 
and faithfully performed their duties as such officials until their resignations 
on the first day of March, 1912. Since that date the management of the home 
has been under the supervision of \V. F. Meighen and his wife, Lina, and is in 
a very prosperous condition. 

The first board of trustees of the institution, namely, S. L. Wicoff, R. D. 
Mede, \Vm. A. Graham and Jeremiah Miller, gave to the organization the 
full benefit of their splendid services for a number of years, and at the end of 
their terms of office, were succeeded by J. N. Dill, S. D. Voress and George 
Hagelberger, respectively. The present members of the board of trustees are 
George Hagelberger, B. T. Bulle, James E. Way and J. W. A. Fridley. 

The school building was opened for the admission of pupils in 1903, Miss 
Rachel McVay being selected as the first teacher therein who taught there 
until the year 1908, and was succeeded by A. M. Shidaker, now in charge of 
the schools. 

In the school, the elementary and common branches of study, including 
music, are taught, with manual training and industrial departments, in addi- 
tion thereto. In the manual training department, the boys receive practical 
instruction in the handling of tools, as applied to woodwork, as well as on 
the farm, as applied to agriculture. In the industrial department, the girls 
are taught plain and fancy needlework, and are likewise instructed in the 
art of cooking, and in other useful household duties. It is the aim of the man- 
agement to qualify the children, as far as possible, while in the care of the 
home, to become good and useful citizens of the future; and the success 
attained along this line is attested by scores of bright,, well educated women 
and men. formerly of the home, who are now honored and respected citizens 
of several of the states of our nation. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 217 

Since its organization, there have been received into the home and cared 
for, one hundred and ninety-three children, one hundred and seventeen boys 
and seventy-six girls, of whom one hundred and eighteen have been provided 
with comfortable homes, with worthy families in different parts of the state, 
from time to time, the remainder having been discharged by reason of age 
limit and returned to their parents, there being at present fourteen boys and 
twelve girls under the care of the institution. 

The gross cost of maintaining the children per capita, in the home, since 
organization, has averaged about $175 per annum as near as can be ascer- 
tained. This estimate, of course, includes the total cost of maintaining the 
institution, namely, the salaries of all employees, schooling, clothing, medi- 
cal attention, provisions and other necessaries, as well as the purchase of live 
stock, agricultural implements, and the like, but does not take into considera- 
tion the several sums received' from the sale of farm products, live stock, and 
from other sources, and turned into the county treasury as a credit to the insti- 
tution. Deducting these several credits from the total cost of maintaining the 
home, as above estimated, and it can readily be seen that the net cost, per 
capita, would be very much less. 

The main buildings are heated by steam, lighted by electricity, and sup- 
plied with water from the Sidney waterworks plant, and otherwise well 
equipped for successful management, clean and sanitary. 

All in all, the Shelby County Children's Home is an institution of which 
the citizens of the county may justly be proud; and in taking care of and in 
educating the little, unfortunate ones committed to their care, are following 
after the precepts of the Divine entreaty: "Inasmuch as ye have done it unto 
one of the least of these, my brethren, ye have done it untome." 

Herew ith, appended, are extracts taken from the last "report of the state 
examiner of the bureau of inspection and supervision of public offices, rela- 
ting to the Children's Home, covering the period from- April 1, 191 1, to June 
1, 1912 : — 

"The financial matters of the institution are handled in a manner which 
absolutely precludes criticism. The books and records kept by the superin- 
tendent are models in completeness, and every transaction is so thoroughly 
detailed that it was a pleasure to audit them. * * * The splendid con- 
dition of the buildings and grounds, and the schooling of the children in use- 
ful trades and handiwork are especially worthy of commendation. The board 
of trustees and the employees of the institution are entitled to commendation 
for the excellent manner in which all departments are conducted." 

SIDNEY PUBLIC LIBRARY 

The Sidney Public Library was first organized as a stock company, being 
incorporated December 5, 1869. It had a fund of about $1,500 with which 
to purchase books, and was opened to the public during the year 1870. It 
continued to be operated as a stock company until the year 1879, when its 
books, property, and franchise were turned over to the trustees of the Monu- 



218 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

mental building, under a contract whereby the trustees agreed to place the 
books in the Monumental building, and thereafter, as soon as the debt on the 
building should be paid, to maintain the same as a public library out of the 
rents derived from the building, devoting what was commonly known as 
Memorial hall to the purpose of a public library and reading-room forever. 
From 1879 to 1886 the books were stored in a part of Memorial hall, but 
the trustees, having no funds available, they were hot accessible to the public. 
During the latter year the village touncil made a small levy for library pur- 
poses, and, with the consent of the board of trustees of the Monumental 
building took the necessary steps to keep the library open to the public until 
such time as the trustees might be in condition to take charge of the same 
and carry out their contract. 

Under this arrangement the immediate management was in the hands 
of a committee appointed by the village council, which also elected the libra- 
rian. This arrangement continued until in the autumn of 1897, or the early 
part of 1898, when the board of trustees of the Monumental building organ- 
ized as a library association, adopting a plan of government whereby the 
immediate control and management of the library was placed in the hands 
of a committee of three appointed by the board of trustees, which also elected 
the librarian. The managing committee was composed of one member of 
the board of trustees, one member of the city school board and one unofficial 
citizen of the city. Subsequently the membership of the committee was 
increased to four, two of whom were to be chosen, or concurred in, by the 
board of education. This form of government has proven satisfactory, and 
is still in force. 

At the beginning of 1898 the library had about 1,200 volumes, exclusive 
of public documents, of which it probably had as many more, for it had been 
a depository library since about 1886. During the year 1897, the last year 
the library was under the management of the city council, the monthly average 
of books taken from the library for home reading was 343. The monthly 
average during the first year under the new management, being the year 1898, 
was 1,094 volumes per month; while the average monthly circulation for 
1899 was 1,729 volumes per month. The average circulation for the year 
191 1 was 2,804 volumes per month. The library itself has grown from 1,200 
volumes in 1898 to 12,000 volumes exclusive of public documents, on January 
1, 19 1 2. Its revenues are made up of rents derived from the Monumental 
building and a levy made by the board of education. From 1898 to 1902, 
inclusive, the board of education made a levy of three-tenths of a mill for 
library purposes under the law passed in 1897. Since 1902 the levy has been 
made under the law of 1902, which authorizes the levy of a mill, and for 
several years past the levy has been a mill, which on the valuation of the Sid- 
ney school district nets about $2,800. 

In the spring of 1901 the library began placing small collections of books 
in the school rooms of the city for the circulation of books for home read- 
ing — the books being under the control of the teacher, and given out by her. 
Five such libraries were placed in schoolrooms during that year as an experi- 



1 


■■•; 


J | 




j 


' 




o 


-' 





AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 219 

ment. The number of such libraries has been increased from year to year 
until now schoolroom libraries are being- maintained in all the schoolrooms of 
the city down to and including the second grade. 

The library now occupies the whole of the second floor of the Monu- 
mental building, furnishing floor space about equal to 37 by 95 feet. The 
building was erected in 1875 as a memorial to the soldiers who enlisted from 
Shelby county and died in the service during the war of the Rebellion. The 
first and third floors have the same floor space as the second — the first being 
leased for business rooms, and the third floor being used for lodge rooms. 
The Memorial Tablets are placed in the main room of the library, on the 
second floor. This building is not, therefore, technically a library building. 

The whole of the second floor has been devoted to library purposes 
since the autumn of 1905, since which time the library has had a separate 
children's room equipped with over 1,000 books arranged in cases along the 
wall, open to the children at all times from half past eight o'clock in the morn- 
ing until eight o'clock at night, and having a complete card catalog in the 
room for the use of the children, giving subject, author and title, arranged 
in dictionary form. A story hour for the smaller children once a week, on 
Saturday morning, has been maintained for several years. 

In 1906 the library started a museum as an adjunct — limiting it, how- 
ever, to such objects as would have educational value appropriate to and in 
conjunction with a library. This feature has been found both interesting 
and valuable from the library standpoint. It has cost a very slight money 
expenditure, the specimens having almost entirely come to the library as gifts. 

During the year 1908 the congressional set of U. S. government docu- 
ments, which had accumulated to about the number of 3,500 volumes, were 
assorted, about half of them, those of least importance t6 a small library, 
being returned to the government, and the remainder — about 1,800 volumes — 
were marked with the serial number on the outside, and shelved in the order 
of the serial numbers. At the same time the document lists in the government 
indexes were checked up in red ink showing just what volumes were in the 
library. This makes the volumes accessible to any one who understands 
using the indexes. 

The library is especially strong in reference books, many (and the most 
valuable) of which, were gifts, either of the books themselves, or of the money 
with which they were purchased. The spirit of giving to this department 
has been fostered and encouraged with good results. Quite a number of these 
gifts were of a memorial nature. In several instances money which otherwise 
would have gone into the purchase of flowers for funerals has been invested 
in some valuable reference work for the library. 

The use o"f the reference department has greatly increased during the 
past few years, as the people have become better acquainted with it, and with 
the methods of using the aids and helps available. It has been the great desire 
of the librarian to popularize this department of the library, believing that all 
readers of ordinary intelligence may become able to- use the greater part, at 
least, of the reference books without the aid of a library assistant. With that 



220 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

end in view, the librarian during the past year, acting in cooperation with the 
superintendent of schools, has been giving instruction in the use of the refer- 
ence department to the pupils in the high school, — receiving them at the library 
in groups of six to eight at a time, and having them do practical reference 
work under her direction. The same general line of work is also now being 
pursued with several of the study clubs, while others are anxious to under- 
take it. 

The idea underlying this work is, that all the student class of the com- 
munity, as well as all other ordinarily intelligent readers should be able to 
use the library to a great extent without the aid of the library force, relying 
merely upon their own efforts to help themselves in the library. Looking to 
this end, the library has open shelves throughout. The reference books are 
shelved in a corner of the reading room devoted exclusively to reference work. 
The bound volumes of magazines are shelved in alphabetical arrangement, 
and the classed books for circulation are arranged according to the Dewey 
classification, — the ends of each case having labels indicating plainly the con- 
tents of the case, and then the shelves being labeled to show the exact location 
of each class. 

Miss Emma Graham has been a most efficient librarian since 1898 when 
the library association was organized and the present plan of government 
adopted. She is one of the foremost educators in this line in the state and 
is prominent in all its activities. She works with the idea that the library 
exists for all the people and that it should contribute to the life-long educa- 
tion of all classes, has built up and strengthened along every line its collec- 
tion of books, thus making it, not in name only, but in fact the "post-grad- 
uate school of the community." S. L. Wicoff has been an untiring worker. 
for the library giving much of his time to the intelligent administration of its 
affairs. 

The present library board of directors consists of Harrison Wilson, W. A. 
Graham, W. B. McCabe, W. T. McLean, L. M. Studevant, and Perry Frazier, 
the place of W. H. Wagner, who recently resigned, not yet having been filled. 

S. L. Wicoff, Robert Bingham, W. A. Graham and W. D. Snyder con- 
stitute the present library committee. 

The Sidney public library is seeking to do a great work in this community 
and is an important part of the free educational system of the town and 
county. 



CHAPTER XI 

BANKS AND BANKING 

Origin of Banking — Uses of Modern Banks — Banks and Bankers of Shelby 
Comity 

The word "bank" is from the Greek and in that language means a bench 
or table for changing money. The word "bankrupt" is of Italian origin 
and the term Banca Rotta meant "broken bench," hence a bankrupt had his 
bench broken. The first bankers sat behind a little bench on the open street 
with their money piled upon the bench in front of them and when their money 
was lost, their bench was said to be broken from whence comes our word 
"bankrupt." 

The bank of today performs three great functions, namely: the receipt 
of deposits, the making of discounts and the issue of notes. For the last 
named, a charter is generally granted at the present time, though in earlier 
days private banks and banking firms could issue notes. It is possible, how- 
ever, to group all the duties of the bank under two heads — lenders and bor- 
rowers. Their loanable funds consist of their own capital and that of their 
depositors; their profits arise from the payment to them of interest on loans. 
The modern banker is generally a dealer in credit, while in ancient times he 
was a mere custodian of other people's money and a buyer of and dealer in 
foreign moneys. Bills of exchange, which were the first credit instruments 
handled, appear to have been in use thousands of years before the birth of 
Christ. The rise of modern banking, however, dates from the establishment 
in Venice of the Banco di Rialto in 1587, which was absorbed by the Banco 
del Gino in 1619 and became the support of the government. In the eighteenth 
century the two characteristics of modern banking — the issue of notes not 
covered by coin, and the granting of deposit accounts upon the mere credit of 
borrowers — were evolved, and this forms a part of the banking system of 
today. In America the words "Wall Street" carry with them a financial 
significance recognized in every part of the world. 

The money interests of the United States are on a par with the greatest 
nations of the world. 

No civilized country can make advancement without a bank and in Shelby 
county it may safely be said that the financial interests are well managed and 
of liberal patriotic usefulness when needed for the welfare of the county. 
All the banking institutions are conducted on a sound monetary basis, have 
conservative and intelligent management, and are secure of the. confidence of 

221 



222 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

the community. One disastrous failure has marked the progress of banking 
in Shelby county, that of the German- American in 1904, but the blessings 
of prosperity were checked but a short time by that piece of bad financial 
management. 

The oldest inhabitants are not very clear as to when the first bank was 
established in Shelby county and the written history of the county does not 
disclose it but the writer wishes to thank Mr. W. A. Graham of the Citizens 
Bank for many of the facts concerning the history of banking in this 
community. 

Quite early in the fifties of the last century a gentleman by the name of 
Clark came to Sidney from Urbana and opened a bank but there is no evidence 
as to how long he continued. 

Later John W. Carey, a prominent citizen and a man of great energy and 
considerable enterprise, embarked in the business. Whether he succeeded to 
the business of Mr. Clark or launched a new enterprise the oldest residents 
do not recall nor the date of his beginning but it is in evidence that he was 
engaged in the business as far back as 1854 and continued banking for a num- 
ber of years affording the community with facilities of a bank and securing 
profit for himself. He was located in the room now occupied by the gas 
company. 

Some years later Hugh McElroy opened a bank in the room now occupied 
by the First Xational Exchange Bank and used the rear of the room with 
his banking outfit while O. J. Taylor conducted a hardware business in the 
front part of the room. Later McElroy moved into the room now used by 
E. Lierman & Son. 

On February 14. 1864. the First National Bank of Sidney was chartered 
and authorized to begin business, which it did soon after. Among the incor- 
porators were J. F. Frazer. Judge Hugh Thompson, L. C. Barkdull, Win.' 
P. Reed and William Lee These men were peculiarly fitted to serve as bank 
directors. They were old residents and had been doing business in the com- 
munity most of their lives. Mr. Frazer had been a financier of note. A 
very successful man. he was a druggist by profession, in the room now occu- 
pied by Harry Taylor's hardware store, a man of genial disposition, of 
unquestioned integrity, and enjoyed the confidence of the community to an 
unusual degree. 

Mr. Barkdull was a jeweler by occupation, somewhat stern and severe in 
manner, but of sound judgment and paid strict attention to business. 

Judge Thompson was a lawyer, a man of keen foresight, tactful and diplo- 
matic, with splendid business sagacity. 

Mr. Reed was a cabinet maker by trade but early in life became a note 
buyer or "shaver," as he was styled. He was not a man of education, but of 
considerable natural ability and sound judgment, of extensive acquaintance 
in the county and familiar with the property and financial condition of nearly 
every one in Shelby county. He was a valuable counselor and in constant 
demand by his business associates. Mr. Lee was a contractor, a railroad 
builder, a successful business man. He subsequently moved away from Sid- 



AND REPRESEXTATIVE CITIZENS 223 

ney and was succeeded by John H. Mathers, who continued a director until 
his death. 

The first cashier was a Mr. William Gibbs, who served the bank for per- 
haps a year when he was succeeded by William Murphy. Mr. Murphy had 
been many years auditor of the county and was a man of incorruptible char- 
acter. He lost an arm early in life by paralysis and it was difficult for him 
to work rapidly so that he labored late into the night to get his books balanced 
and ready for the next day's business. He was succeeded three years later 
by Charles C. Weaver of Butler county, Ohio, about 1868. 

In 1869 John H. Wagner entered the bank as a bookkeeper and general 
assistant. He was a neat bookkeeper, a rapid accountant and an expert 
handler of money and detector of counterfeit, and popular with patrons of 
the bank. 

On June 9, 1874, William A. Graham entered the bank as collector and 
clerk. He had been teaching school and added to his slender salary by shear- 
ing sheep during vacations. He was an energetic young man of strict moral?, 
aspiring and destined to become a man whose sagacity is recognized in busi- 
ness circles. 

Early in 1875 Mr. Weaver and Mr. Wagner left the bank and W. R. 
Moore, agent for the Big Four railway, was made cashier. In December 
of the same year, Mr. Graham resigned and J. C. Cummins and D. R. Orbiy 
son were employed until the bank closed out its business in 1877. The bank 
went into liquidation and paid its stockholders one hundred and eighty per 
cent. 

THE GERMAN AMERICAN BANK 

The German American Bank opened for business May 1, 1875. Asso- 
ciated in the organization as stockholders with Messrs. Wagner and Weaver 
were B. W. Maxwell, Mathias Wagner, Peter Wagner, Christian Kingseed, 
Judge H. Thompson, E. E. Nutt, H. W. Thompson, D. W. Pampel, John 
E. Bush and others. 

The bank was popular and prosperous and grew from the start. Its first 
president was B. W. Maxwell, cashier, John H. Wagner. Mr. Maxwell 
resigned two years later and was succeeded by H. Thompson, who continued 
president until his death. John H. Wagner was then made president and 
D. R. Orbison became cashier. 

Mr. Orbison finally resigned and F. D. Reed succeeded him. 

The bank failed in 1904 for $850,000 and in about two years the receiver, 
J. D. Barnes, had paid its creditors twenty-seven and a half cents on the 
dollar. This institution, being a private one, held its stockholders individ- 
ually liable for the full amount of indebtedness. 

THE CITIZENS NATIONAL BANK 

The Citizens National Bank was organized in 1870 and began business 
July first of that year. James A. Lamb and Louis E: Mathers were the pro- 
moters of the enterprise and associated with them were John H. Mathers, 



224 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Edmund Smith. William Johnston, Jacob Piper, Sr., Samuel Rice, John Bar- 
kalow, C. T. Pomeroy, James Murray, George Hemm, W. L. Alfele, Kendal 
and Conroy and Nathan Moore. 

Mr. Lamb was its first president until his death in 1808 and was suc- 
ceeded by H. W. Thompson, who died in 1908. W. P. Metcalf followed 
Mr. Thompson and in 19 10 was succeeded by Dr. H. E. Beebe. Louis E. 
Mathers was its first cashier. He died in 1872 and the next cashier was his 
brother, O. O. Mathers. In 1875 W. E. Kilborn succeeded Mathers and 
remained with the bank until January 13, 1881, when he was followed by 
W. A. Graham, who still occupies the place. 

The institution has a capital stock of $100,000 with a surplus and undi- 
vided profits of $65,000. 

The present official force of the bank is Dr. H. E. Beebe, president; C. W. 
Frazer, vice president; W. A. Graham, cashier. Board of directors — W. A. 
Graham, W. P. Metcalf, H. E. Beebe. Jacob Piper, I. N. Vandemark, C. W. 
Frazer. and YV. B. McCabe. 

The bank enjoyed a natural and prosperous growth and in view of the 
urgent necessity for a home better suited to the increasing requirements of its 
business erected a modern brick building equipped for security and conven- 
ience on the site of the old one at the corner of Poplar and Main streets in 
1888 at a cost of $25,000. 

THE FIRST NATIONAL EXCHANGE BANK 

The First National Exchange Bank was organized by L. M. Studevant 
and his associates in 1899 and began business September 18th of that year, 
with a capital of $50 000. Mr. W. H. Wagner was its first president and is 
still its president. Mr. Studevant was its first cashier. The bank was at 
first located in the room with the Peoples Savings and Loan Association, 
but in 1906 moved into its present quarters formerly occupied by the German 
American. In 1906 Mr. Studevant resigned as cashier and was succeeded 
by J. C. Cummins, the present incumbent. 

The growth of the bank has been rapid and substantial. It has an author- 
ized capital of $100,000; surplus and undivided profits, $45,000. 

The officers are W. II. Wagner, president; L. M. Studevant, vice presi- 
dent; J. C. Cummins, cashier; C. W. Nessler, assistant cashier. Board of 
directors, C. R. Benjamin, Charles Timeus. L. M. Studevant, Peter Goffena. 
W. T. Amos, J. E. Russell. R. H. Trego. W. H. Wagner, A. J. Hess, I. H. 
Thedieck, and J. C. Cummings. 

THE PEOPLES SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATION 

Saturday, October 23, 1886, The Peoples Savings and Loan Association 
opened for business in the office of Studevant and Way in the building known 
as the old Hickok corner. A charter had been secured and a plan adopted 
known as the "perpetual plan" on which to operate the association, which 
organized by electing D. W. Pampel, president ; Frank Hunter, vice-president ; 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 225 

L. M. Studevant, secretary; Wm. M. Ivingseed, treasurer; James E. Way, 
attorney. Nine months later the association moved into the room now occu- 
pied by the Miami Gas and Fuel Company and six years later, in 1893, it 
took up permanent quarters in the Robertson building on the corner of 
Court and Ohio. Its offices are commodious and well-arranged, its furnish- 
ings are elegant and its office equipment includes every machine and device 
that is useful or can add to the efficiency of the service; it is provided with a 
chrome steel-lined burglar and fire-proof vault, inside of which is a burglar 
proof safe equipped with an automatic door, which is secured by a triple- 
movement time lock. Safety deposit boxes are also provided for the use of 
customers. 

The officers and directors at the present time are W. H. Wagner, president ; 
R. H. Trego, vice-president: Wm. M. Kingseed, treasurer; Andrew J. Hess, 
attorney; L. M. Studevant, secretary; Miss Leal Robertson, assistant secre- 
tary; W. O. Anderson, bookkeeper; J. E. Russell and C. R. Benjamin. 

The 26th annual statement of the association, January 1, 1913, shows 
resources: Loans, $1,311,207.83; cash, $150,160.67; interest clue from 
borrowers, $1,720.47. Total, $1,463,088.97. Liabilities: Capital stock, 
$56,581.17; surplus, $110,471.18; deposits, $1,296,036.62. Total, $1,463,- 
088,97. 

During the twenty-six years of its existence it has distributed to its 
patrons in profits $773,584.85 as interest and dividends on deposits. 

It has been a leading factor in the prosperity and wealth building of 
Sidney and Shelby county and well may its founder, L. M. Studevant, be 
proud of his work. With its one and one half million dollars of assets this 
institution is the largest corporation, either financial or .otherwise, in this 
county. It has on deposit a sum equal to a per capita of $52.00 for every 
man, woman and child in Shelby county and of $196.00 for every inhabitant 
of the city of Sidney, which ranks it first of its kind in the state, figuring 
either the population of the county or of the city as the unit. It also ranks 
second in the state in its percentage of earned surplus to assets. These are 
but three distinguishing features of a really great savings institution right 
here in our midst at the service of the thrifty borrowers and depositors of 
Sidney and Shelby county. 

THE SHELBY COUNTY BUILDING AND LOAN ASSOCIATION 

The history of the Shelby County Building and Loan Association dates 
back to December 14. 1895. when it was incorporated with a capital stock 
of $2,000,000, divided into 20,000 shares of $100 each. Its first board of 
directors consisted of John H. Taft, W. A. Perry, Louis Kah, William Piper, 
John Loughlin, M. L. Heffelman and Louis Pfaadt. William Piper was 
chosen president; J. H. Taft, vice-president; D. R. Orbison, secretary; W. P. 
Metcalf, treasurer; D. Oldham, attorney. 

The association began business on the south side of the square in the 
Timeus block, but its constantly increasing business brought the officers of 



226 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

the bank face to face with the necessity of seeking enlarged and more com- 
modious quarters, and the Amann property on the north side of the square 
was purchased of the Ferdinand Amann heirs and fitted for banking purposes 
in 1902. 

The past year a new building, save the side walls, has been erected on the 
site, which is in the center of Lancaster's commercial district. The new 
bank is three stories high with a cut stone front, a lobby, well-equipped office 
and directors' room on the first floor, handsomely furnished in quartered 
oak with tile floors and a burglar and fire-proof safe. 

The following figures show the remarkable growth of the association: 
1897, $84,128.56; 1900, $235,725.89; 1904, $389,150.15; 1908, $433,320.06; 
1910. $490,486.84; 1911, $697,881.84; 1913, $902,238.02. 

The official force of the association for 1913 is William Piper, president; 
E. J. Griffis, vice-president; Louis Kah, Jr., 2d vice-president; Ben Amann, 
secretary; R. C. Kah, assistant secretary; Finley Mills, attornev 

Financial statement of the Shelby County Building and Loan Association, 
February 1, 191 3. 

STATEMENT 

For the year ending Jan. 31, 1913. 
Assets Liabilities 

Cash $ 27,309.94 Stocks and deposits $846,261.41 

L oans 853,221.34 Contingent Fund 22,00000 

Furniture and fixtures... ' 500.00 ^ w \ der \ ds , ■ • ■ ■ 276.00 

„ , „ ^ t „„„/:„„ Lndivided profits 16,877.39 

RealEstate 19.236.22 Borrowed money . I5 ,ooo.oo 

Interest, insurance and Interest due from bor- 

taxes 7,970.52 rowers 1,823.22 



$902,238.02 $902,238.02 

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF JACKSON CENTER, O. 

The First National Bank of Jackson Center, O., was organized June 19, 
1895, under the style of The Farmers & Merchants Bank of Jackson Center, 
with Shelby Baughman as president, and P. R. Clinhents as cashier. The 
first account was opened by the Jackson Center Elevator Company, and the 
second name on the books of the institution was John Johns. 

After a service of two years, P. R. Clinhents died and Frank Baughman 
succeeded him as cashier and F. M. W'ildermuth became assistant cashier 
in 1905. Mr. Baughman resigned on October 19, 1909, and he was suc- 
ceeded by F. M. Wildermuth. In the meanwhile, on February 1, 1907, the 
business was reorganized, the bank becoming The First National Bank of 
Jackson Center, when it entered upon a new and still more prosperous career. 
The initial capitalization was $10,000, while its present capital is $33,000, 
and according to its statement of September 4, 1912, it has assets of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 227 

$392,830.92, surplus $66,000, and $45,000 undivided profits. The bank 
owns its own substantial building and it is equipped with a screw-door safe, 
the wall being twenty inches in thickness. The officers of the bank are: 
Shelby Baughman, president; G. A. Swickard, vice-president; F. M. Wilder- 
muth, cashier, and Walter C. Meranda, assistant cashier, with a board of 
seven directors. 

THE FARMERS AND MERCHANTS BANK COMPANY, ANNA, O. 

The Farmers and Merchants Bank Company was established at Anna, 
O., in 1907 by parties from Columbus, O. On May 29, 1910, it was incor- 
porated by Daniel Runkle, R. D. Curtner, William C. Henrich, Geo. D. 
Fridley and E. M. Martin, with a capital stock of $25,000. The bank is 
doing a good business and has undivided profits of $1,600. The present 
officers are : Daniel Runkle, president ; R. D. Mede, vice president, and A. W. 
Fridley, cashier. 

THE SHELBY COUNTY BANK, BOTKINS 

The Shelby County Bank was established at Botkins about 1897 by Philip 
Sheets, who conducted it as sole proprietor until his death in 1905. The 
business then passed into the hands of his sons, E. S. and H. E. Sheets, who 
continued it as a private bank until 19 12. It was then incorporated with a 
capital stock of $25,000, with H. E. Sheets, president; Philip Sheets Jr., 
vice president, and E. S. Sheets, cashier, which is the official board at the 
present time, January 1, 19 13. The bank is a prosperous concern and an 
important factor in the commercial life of Botkins and the surrounding 
district. 

THE LORAMIE BANKING COMPANY 

The Loramie Banking Company, of Ft. Loramie, O., is a thriving financial 
concern, of which B. J. Wuebker is president, the official board and directors 
being men of acknowledged business ability. The bank has been established 
for a number of years, and is an important factor in the business and financial 
affairs of the western part of the county. 



CHAPTER XII 

THE PRESS 

The Newspapers of Shelby County — Sketches of the Daily News, Democrat, 
Journal. Republican, etc.— The Editors and the Proprietors. 

THE DAILY NEWS AND THE DEMOCRAT 

The first number of The Shelby County Democrat was issued January i, 
1849. \s no files of the paper were preserved until it came under the present 
management, very little is known at present about its early history, except 
that S. Alex. Leckey, then a contractor and active in politics, was the leading 
spirit in starting the paper. William Ramsey was the first editor of the paper. 
Mr. Leckey afterwards became the editor. In the first and second years of 
its publication it was called the Democratic Yeoman, but after that it was 
called The Shelby County Democrat. We learn from old citizens of Shelby 
count}- that during the first ten years the Democrat had a precarious existence 
and changed hands almost every year and sometimes twice a year. In i860, 
A. Kaga. of Tiffin, came to Sidney and became the editor. He remained 
until the spring of 1861. when the Civil war broke out, he abandoned the 
paper, raised a company and went into the army. 

After Kaga left, the paper was run by a committee for some time. Then 
General Thomas L. Young became the editor and published it for several 
months. One day he wrote a very bitter anti-war article and went to Cincin- 
nati. This stirred up an intense sentiment against him in Sidney, which he 
learned of on his way home, and he too, abandoned the paper and never came 
home. He shortly afterwards went into the army, rose to the rank of brevet 
brigadier general and afterwards served in the Ohio senate, two terms in 
congress from Hamilton county, was elected lieutenant governor and when 
Hayes became president Young became acting governor of Ohio. After 
Young abandoned the paper, it was again published by a committee of demo- 
crats for some time. 

In the year 1863 Joseph McGonigal became the editor and publisher of 
the paper. McGonigal was the first man to put the paper on a basis that met 
current expenses. He published the paper alone at first, but afterwards took 
in his son-in-law, Dr. Lewis, and the firm of McGonigal & Lewis published 
it. In 1872 H. Hume bought the interest of Dr. Lewis and McGonigal & 
Hume were the publishers until April 1, 1874, when it was sold to James 
Van Valkenburg, who became editor and publisher. Van Valkenburg died 

228 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 229 

December 6, 1875. anci January 25, 1876, James O. Amos bought the plant 
and took charge as editor and publisher January 28, 1876. He has been the 
editor of the paper ever since. 

When Mr. Amos took charge of the paper the office occupied two rooms 
of the building on the alley north of Christian's drug store, now owned by 
Dr. C. B. Arbison. In 1882 a two story building was erected south of the 
Robertson block and The Democrat was moved into a home of its own. 
Afterwards another story was added. In 1882 the paper was changed from 
a four page paper to an eight page paper. The South Ohio avenue building 
was the home of the Democrat for ten years. It was in this building that the 
publication of The Sidney Daily News was commenced. 

The Sidney Daily News was started in 1891 at the urgent request of many 
of the citizens of Sidney. It was run under the management of Miss Delia 
Amos until her marriage to Horace Holbrook in November, 1905. Since that 
time it has been under the same management as the other departments of the 
office. Although The News was started at the solicitaiton of many of our citi- 
zens, a daily paper was an innovation in Sidney and it took time and lots of 
hard work to place it on a basis to make it a paying investment. It has always 
been an up-to-date paper and now ranks as one of the best papers in Ohio, in 
a city the size of Sidney. With the addition of The News, the increased 
circulation of The Democrat and the establishment of a large job depart- 
ment, the business had outgrown the size of the rooms it occupied and it 
became necessary- to look for new quarters. The old United Presbyterian 
church was purchased, torn down and a new three story building erected in 
its place. The Democrat and Daily News were moved into the west side of 
this building in April, 1893. They occupied the first floor .and part of the 
second floor. 

In 1903 a large Meihle job cylinder press was added. This press will 
do as fine half tone work as any press in the country. Since it has been intro- 
duced into the office of the job department The Sidney Printing and Pub- 
lishing Company has printed a large number of fine half tone jobs for Sidney 
manufacturers, besides jobs for factories in several other cities. In 1905 
a new linotype machine was added and a two story addition sixty-five feet 
deep was built expressly for accommodation of the newspaper department. 
In 1906 a new Cox Duplex press was added. This Duplex press will print 
on both sides from rolls of paper, cut, paste, fold and make ready to mail 
6,000 newspapers per hour. At the same time a new twenty-two horse power 
gas engine was put in. In 1909 another linotype machine was added to the 
composing room of the office. The first story of the new building is occupied 
by the Duplex press, engine and a stock room, the second floor is used for 
a composing room. This room is lighted from three sides and is one of the 
finest rooms in the state for the purpose. 

THE SHELBY COUNTY DEMOCRAT 

In 1903 The Shelby County Democrat, job department and The Sidney 
Daily News were incorporated under the name of The Sidney Printing and 



230 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Publishing Company and have been continued ever since as a corporation. 
J. O. Amos, Delia E. Amos, W. T. Amos, E. C. Amos and Howard A. Amos 
became the active members employed in the company, the three latter having 
learned the printing trade during their school vacations. Delia Amos had 
entered the office after she had finished her course in the high school. 

The office of The Sidney Printing and Publishing Company now has an 
eight page Cox Duplex newspaper press, three job cylinder pi esses, two plat- 
ten presses, two linotype typesetting machines, two gas engines, a power 
paper cutter, power wire stitching machine and card cutter and was recently 
equipped with new type. 

For the past five years it has given constant employment to twenty people, 
all skilled in the department in which they work. In each year of that time 
it lias used an average of over 200,000 pounds of paper per year in the news- 
paper and job departments in the office. 

The plant is considered by men engaged in the printing business to be 
one of the best equipped to be found anywhere. A systematic arrangement 
of the machinery with an ability to turn out the very best in the printing line 
has resulted in the building up of a large business. Anything in the printing 
line that can be done anywhere can now be done in Sidney and the output 
of this establishment includes anything from a small visiting card to large 
bound books. Letter heads, envelopes, printed stationery of all kinds, any- 
thing in the bill line, the finest half tone and three color work is handled with 
neatness and dispatch at this printing establishment. Their line of work not 
only includes circulars and catalogues for the local factories but it has taken 
large orders for catalogues and circulars, which have come to them through 
bidding from some of the larger cities of the state. 

James O. Amos was the owner of the plant from January, 1876, until it 
was organized as a company in 1903 and has been president of the company 
ever since. He was born in Monroe county, near Beallsville in 1833. He 
grew up on the farm, attending school in the winter and worked on the farm 
in the summer. At the age of eighteen he began teaching school and between 
the age of eighteen and twenty-seven he continued teaching school and work- 
ing on the farm. With the exception of one term in an academy his educa- 
tion was obtained in the common school and private study at home. While 
on the farm he studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1859, and immedi- 
ately began the practice of law. In 1861 he was elected prosecuting attorney 
of Monroe county and served two terms. He was appointed school examiner 
in i860, an office he held until 1870, when he resigned after he had been 
elected to the senate from the nineteenth district. He served two terms in 
the Ohio senate and in 1874 was appointed adjutant general, a position he 
held for two years. During his administration of the adjutant general's 
office, the nucleus for the present system of the Ohio National Guard was 
founded. He also settled $144,000 worth of claims between the state of 
Ohio and national government, whereby the old copdemned arms that had 
been given to the state during the Civil war were turned back to the national 
government and credited up to the state. The state drew in place of these 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 231 

Springfield breech loading rifles. At the expiration of his term of office he 
came to Sidney and purchased The Shelby County Democrat, a history of 
which is given above. In 1878 he was appointed a school examiner in Shelby 
county serving three years and refused a re-appointment. In 1891 he was 
elected to the senate to fill a vacancy caused by the death of Senator A. J. 
Robertson. He enjoys the distinction of having been elected to the senate of 
Ohio from two separate districts, an honor that no other citizen of the state 
can claim. Besides his connection with The Democrat and Daily News he 
has been in a small way identified with several of the manufacturing enter- 
prises in Sidney, more from the purpose of encouraging the growth of Sidney 
than from a financial object. His work as an editor and publisher for the 
past third of a century has been an open book before the people of Sidney 
and Shelby county almost everyone of whom know him and who are better 
able to judge the manner he has filled the difficult position before them, than 
he is himself. 

Delia E. Amos, now Mrs. Horace Holbrook, was closely identified with 
The Democrat ever since she graduated from the Sidney high school and was 
the manager of The Daily News from the time of its first publication to 
November, 1905. She was an all around employee of the office. During 
her connection with the paper she traveled extensively in this country, 
Mexico, Europe, Egypt and the Holy Land. She wrote over one hundred 
letters descriptive of her travels which were very much appreciated by the 
readers of The Democrat and News. She has delivered a number of lectures 
on her travels and newspaper work. She is president of the Ohio Women's 
Press Association, a position she has held for three years. Four years ago 
she was married to Horace Holbrook and they went to California and pub- 
lished the Yreka News for more than a year and then sold out and purchased 
The Western Reserve Democrat at Warren, where she has a beautiful home. 
\V. T. Amos, who has been business manager of The Sidney Printing 
and Publishing Company for the past ten years, was educated in the Sidney 
schools from which he was graduated. He spent one year in West Point 
Military Academy. He then entered the Wooster University from which he 
graduated in 1891 and immediately entered the office of The Democrat and 
News, having learned the trade during his school vacations. He at once 
became a useful and active man in the office and soon became the general 
manager. Soon after he graduated from the university he was elected cap- 
tain of Company L, Third regiment, Ohio National Guards, a position he 
filled during the Spanish American war. After that war the Third Regiment 
was re-organized and he was made lieutenant colonel, the position he still 
holds. At present he is the ranking lieutenant colonel in the Ohio National 
Guard. He has charge of the extensive job department of The Sidney Print- 
ing and Publishing: Company. He is known by every business man in the 
county. He is a director in the First National Exchange Bank since its organ- 
ization and a director of the Sidney Home Telephone Company. 

> Ernest C. Amos was born at Woodsfield, Ohio, arid was educated in the 
Sidney public schools. After graduating from the Sidney high school he 



232 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

entered Wooster University from which he graduated at the age of twenty- 
one. After graduating he entered the office of The Democrat and News as 
local editor, which position he held for a number of years, subsequently 
becoming bookkeeper, circulation manager and all around man in the office. 
He has been treasurer of The Shelby County Building and Loan Association 
for the past two years, 

Howard A. Amos was born in Columbus and was educated in the Sidney 
schools. After leaving the high school he entered the job department of The 
Sidney Printing and Publishing Company. He worked several months in the 
Chicago Legal News Record office. At the age of twenty he became foreman 
of The News composing room which position he held several years when he 
became city editor of The Democrat and News, a position he still holds. 

Miss Katherine Amos entered the office after Mrs. Holbrook retired and 
has been actively employed in the business department ever since. After 
graduating from the Sidney schools she entered the School of Art at Columbus 
from which she graduated. She has taken post graduate courses with several 
of the leading artists of this country and taught in her profession in Sidney, 
Cambridge and Barnesville. She has traveled extensively in this country, 
Europe, Egypt and the Holy Land and her many letters on her travels were 
published in the News and Democrat. 

THE JOURNAL-REPUBLICAN 

The Sidney Journal, the oldest newspaper in Shelby county, was estab- 
lished in the year 1832 by J. Smith, a very eccentric individual who, it is 
said, would go to Cincinnati on foot, a distance of 100 miles, .buy paper for 
his office and carry it on his back to Sidney. 

About 1842 the paper was called the Bugle Blast of Fredom which pre- 
tentious name was changed to Aurora; it was then bought by Clinton 
Edwards, who rechristened it the Herald. He continued the publica- 
tion until 1854, when it was purchased by Samuel Mathers, who came from 
Pennsylvania. He changed the name to the Sidney Journal and ran the paper 
until 1861, when it was bought by P. A. Ogden. Subsequently it was passed 
into the hands of Bliss Adgate, J. Dubois and John McElroy now editor of 
the National Republican, of Washington. 

In 1869 it was purchased by Trego and Binkley, who published it until 190-, 
when they sold it to J. H. Williams and Elias J. Griffis, who named it the 
Journal Gazette, and in 1908 they sold it to David Oldham and a stock com- 
pany, since which time it has been known as the Journal-Republican and is 
now a daily as well as a weekly, and at present edited by Harry McGill. 

SHELBY COUNTY ANZEIGER 

The Anzeiger, established 22 years ago by Frank Sieverding of Botkins. 
Dinsmore township, is an eight-page, seven column sheet with offices in the 
Oldham building on Poplar street. It is the only newspaper published in 
German in Shelby count}- and has a large circulation in the outlying German 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 233 

settlements. It is politically a democratic sheet and is building up a splendid 
job printing department. Hugo J. Antony, the present owner, resides at 
Minster, Auglaize county, and bought out P. E. Sherman a few months ago. 
One of the former editors, Ambrose Wirtz, is now a sugar planter in the 
Hawaiian Islands and will represent those possessions in congress the next 
session. 

THE SIDNEY GAZETTE 

In the year 1890 a company was formed for the publication of a new 
republican newspaper with Jesse L. Dickensheets as its editor, but in a few 
years it was sold to J. H. Williams who with E. J. Griffis subsequently bought 
the Sidney Journal, so the press of Shelby county in Sidney consists of the 
Democrat, the News and the Journal-Republican, the Anzeiger, the Botkins 
Herald and the Jackson Center News. 

THE JACKSON CENTER NEWS 

The Jackson Center News was established in 1896, Vol. 1, No. 1, appear- 
ing July 24th of that year. C. N. Shook, now mayor of Lima, O., was the 
first editor and publisher. The paper was at that time a five-column quarto 
with inside patent. Mr. Shook's equipment at that time consisted of a 
Washington hand-press and a few fonts of type that had seen better days. 
Yet he put out a bright newsy paper and enjoyed a liberal advertising patron- 
age from the start. In January, 1907, the paper was enlarged to a six- 
column quarto and from that time on had a steady growth. In 1905 Mr. 
A. J. Ulsh, of Kansas, bought the paper. He made many improvements, both 
in the paper and in the equipment. He continued to publish the paper until 
January 1, 191 1, when he moved the plant to Oakfield, N. Y. The Carter 
Bros., of Greenup, 111., purchased the subscription list and good will of 
Mr. Ulsh and continued the publication until December 1, 191 1, when they 
sold the plant to the Socialists of St. Mary's, O., leaving Jackson Center with- 
out a paper. J. G. Sailor, who was at that time mayor of the village, pur- 
chased the plant of the Quincy Inland Press, that happened to be on the 
market at that time. He moved the plant to Jackson Center and continued 
the publication of the News. It is now a six-column paper of from eight to 
twelve pages and has a large circulation throughout north Shelby, Logan 
and southern Auglaize counties. In politics it is independent. 

THE BOTKINS HERALD 

The Botkins Herald, a six-column quarto weekly, was established about 
15 years ago by Adam E. Blakeley, who conducted it until his death in January, 
191 1, when he was succeeded in the proprietorship by his son, Lowell E. 
Blakeley. The paper is independent in politics and has a considerable circula- 
tion throughout this part of the county. A new cylinder press has recently been 
installed. 



CHAPTER XIII 

AGRICULTURE 

History of the Shelby County Agricultural Society 

On the uth of April, 1839, the legislature of the state passed "An Act to 
Authorize and Encourage Agricultural Societies in the Several counties in 
the State and Regulate the Same." Under this a call was made by William 
Murphy, Esq. (then auditor of the county), for a meeting of the county to 
be held in the court house, on the 21st of August, 1839, to form an agricul- 
tural society. 

The meeting was organized by calling Stephen Wilkin to the chair, and 
appointing J. S. Updegraff secretary. At this meeting seventy-one names 
were recorded as members of the society. 

The organization was perfected by the election of the following officers : 
president, H. Thompson; vice president, Luke Fish; corresponding secretary, 
William Fielding; recording secretary, W. A. Carey; treasurer, John Shaw. 
A committee, consisting of George D. Leckey, William Fielding, and J. S. 
Updegraff, was appointed to draft a constitution. An adjournment was then 
had until the second Monday in September, at which time a constitution was 
reported and adopted, and 150 copies ordered printed. 

The first annual meeting of the society was held on the 27th day of Jurie, 
1840, when the following officers were elected: president, Stephen Wilkin; 
vice president, James McLean; treasurer, Samuel Mathers; corresponding 
secretary, H. S. Conklin; recording secretary, H. Thompson. John Shaw, 
late treasurer, made his report. Balance in the treasury $27.81^. 

A committee was appointed to wait on the county commissioners and 
solicit a donation from them in aid of the society in accordance with law. 

On the 8th of October, 1840, the board met at the office of Dr. H. S. Conk- 
lin, and fixed the time for holding the first county fair on the 17th of October, 
and at the same time prepared a premium list amounting to $45.00. 

Among the premiums awarded at this fair was one of $5 to George D. 
Leckey for the best acre of corn, 99 yy bushels ; one to Stephen Wilkin of 
$2 for the best J4 bushel of potatoes, 146 bushels; and one to J. H. Kirkin- 
dall, $5, for the best stallion, Tuckahoe. At this fair there were twenty-six 
premiums awarded. The record shows that the fair was considered a success, 
and augured well for the future success of the society, and that Shelby county 
was destined to take a prominent rank among the grain-growing and stock- 

234 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 235 

raising counties of our flourishing Miami valley. The place of exhibition was 
in the court square. 

The second annual meeting was held at the court house on the 12th of 
June, 1841, when the following officers were elected: president, Benjamin 
Fulton; vice president, David Reynolds; treasurer, H. Thompson; recording 
secretary, William Murphy ; and corresponding secretary, J. S. Updegraff. 

The second annual fair was held at Sidney September 28th and 29th. 
The list of premiums at this fair amounted to $52.00. 

The prediction made by the secretary at the first fair was not realized, for 
we find that there were but two fairs held under that organization ; and that 
on the 9th day of August, 1845, a meeting was held at the court house for the 
purpose of reviving the society (a period of four years having elapsed since 
a fair was held). But we cannot learn that an organization was completed 
until April, 185 1, when a constitution was reported and adopted, and an 
election for officers was held under it, as follows : president, Irwin Nutt ; 
vice president, H. Walker ; secretary, J. P. Haggott ; treasurer, T. Stephenson. 
The fair for this year was held October 15, 1851, in the market place on 
Poplar street. 

March 26, 1852, the annual meeting was held, and the following officers 
were elected : president, Irwin Nutt ; vice president, Curtis Kelsey ; secretary, 
J. P. Haggott; treasurer, Thomas Stephenson. 

At a meeting of the board held in August, it was resolved to have but one 
day of fair, as there was a show advertised for one of the days of the fair. 
This fair was held on the 28th of September. The exhibition of stock was 
very good. Twenty-three premiums were awarded on horses, fourteen on 
neat cattle, with a fair display of sheep, hogs, farm products, and miscellane- 
ous articles. 

At a meeting on the 6th of December, 1852, the treasurer made his report ; 
Receipts $186, $67 of which had been received from the county; $73.59 paid 
for premiums ; balance in treasury, $1 12.41. An election for officers was held : 
president, W. J. Thirkfield; vice president, Sam. Stephenson; secretary, S. 
Alexander Leckey ; treasurer, T. Stephenson. 

The third annual fair was held on the 5th and 6th days of October, 1853, 
on the grounds west of Sidney (known as the Jordan property), then owned 
by Dr. H. S. Conklin. There were 181 premiums awarded at this exhibition, 
consisting of silver cups, money and diplomas. A greater display and variety 
of domestic and miscellaneous articles were on exhibition than at any previous 
fair held in the county. The display of poultry was the largest that had been 
seen in the county. A premium was awarded to Dr. Conklin for a fine speci- 
men of rat terrier dog. 

December 6, 1853, the following were elected officers : president, Col. J. W. 
Carev; vice president, Hugh McElroy; secretary, S. Alexander Leckey; treas- 
urer,' W. J. Thirkield. 

April 22, 1854, the- board met. The constitution was amended fixing the 
second day of the fair for the election of officers. 

The fourth annual fair was held October 12th and 13th, oh the ground? 



236 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

of B. W. Maxwell, east of the river. A fine display of thoroughbred cattle 
was exhibited by Dr. Thirkield, Spense, J. W. Carey, and others. An elec- 
tion of officers was held during this fair, which resulted as follows : president, 
A. F. Munger; vice president, H. Walker; secretary, W. P. Stowell; treasurer, 
\Y. J. Thirkield. 

The fifth annual fair was held on the grounds of I. T. Fulton, on the 4th 
and 5th days of October, 1855. There does not seem to have been the same 
interest taken at this time that there had previously been, for we find that this 
was the last fair held for several years, or until i860, when the present inde- 
pendent society was organized, under the name of the Shelby County Agri- 
cultural Institute. The matter of securing a place to hold the fairs became 
burdensome and it was difficult to find grounds for the exhibition of stock 
and for domestic, mechanical and miscellaneous articles. 

The grounds now owned by the Institute were purchased from W. P. Reed 
and J. L. Thirkield, as administrators of the estate of W. J. Thirkield, 
deceased, and contain twenty acres. Deeds were made on the 12th day of 
November, i860, to John H. Mathers, S. Alexander Leckey, James A. Wells, 
I. F. Fulton, and J. C. Coe, as trustees for the Institute. For the payment of 
the purchase-money and the improvement of the ground there were 229 shares 
of stock subscribed, at $10 a share, by 222 persons, on which had been paid 
$2299. 15, leaving a balance on stock subscribed and unpaid $290.85. From the 
above it will be seen that the grounds are not the property of the county, but 
belong to individuals who have invested their money for the purpose of fur- 
nishing a place for the accommodation of the agricultural and mechanical 
industries of the county to exhibit their productions, and from which the 
stockholders have never received one cent in the shape of dividends or interest 
on the investment — the annual receipts from fairs having been expended in 
the improvement and beautifying of the grounds, and much more is required 
at this time to make further improvements that must be made. 

At the first election in i860 for officers of the Institute the following were 
elected : president, James A. Wells ; vice president, E. Lytle : secretary, S. 
Alexander Leckey; treasurer, John Duncan. 

The first annual fair was held on the 4th, 5th, and 6th days of October. 
At the second election in 1861 the same officers were re-elected, and the second 
annual fair was held on the 1st, 2d, 3d, and 4th days of October. At the 
election in 1862 the same officers were re-elected, and the third annual fair 
was held on September 30th, October 1st, 2d, and 3d. At the election in 1863 
the same officers were re-elected, with James I. Elliott as secretary. 

The fourth annual fair was held in October, 1863. At the election in 1864 
the following officers were elected : president, E. Lytle; vice president, H. M. 
Reed ; treasurer, John Duncan ; secretary, A. B. C. Hitchcock. The fifth 
annual fair was held on the 27th, 28th, and 29th of September. On the 16th 
of January, 1864, J. A. Lamb was elected trustee to supply the vacancy occa- 
sioned by the death of I. T. Fulton. January 21, 1865, at the annual election 
the same officers were continued, and the annual fair held in October. J. C. 
Coe tendered his resignation as trustee, and Edmund Lytle was elected to 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 237 

supply the vacancy. The annual fair was held in October. January 20, 1866, 
the following were elected officers: president, William Shinn; vice president, 
James A. Wells ; treasurer, John Duncan ; secretary, A. B. C. Hitchcock. The 
annual fair was held in October, 1867. The same officers were elected. At 
the annual meeting in 1868 the following were elected: president, John Dun- 
can ; vice president, W. A. Carey ; secretary, J. S. Read ; treasurer, O. J. Tay- 
lur. At the annual meeting in 1869 the following were elected: president, 
J. A. Wells; vice president, J. R. Kendall, with secretary and treasurer as 
before. The tenth annual fair was held in October. At the election in 1870 
the following were elected: president, J. R. Kendall; vice president, Morris 
Honnell ; secretary and treasurer same as before. The eleventh fair was held 
in October. In 1871 the following were elected: president, J. R. Kendall; 
vice president, Morris Honnell; treasurer, L. E. Mathers; secretary, H. B. 
Blake. The twelfth annual fair was held in October. In 1872 the following 
were elected : president, R. Joslin ; vice president, D. M. Line ; treasurer, L. E. 
Mathers; secretary, J. S. Read. The thirteenth annual fair was held in Octo- 
ber. In 1873 tne following were elected: president, R. Joslin; vice president, 
S. Alexander Leckey; treasurer, C. C. Weaver; secretary, J. S. RJead. In 
1874 the officers were: president, S. A. Leckey; vice president, M. Honnell; 
treasurer, O. O. Mathers ; secretary, J. S. Read. 

The fifteenth annual fair was held September 22, 23, 24, and 25, 1874. 
At the election held January, 1875, the following officers were elected: presi- 
dent, Francis Bailey ; vice president, Morris Honnell ; treasurer, O. O. Math- 
ers; secretary, J. S. Read. 

The sixteenth annual fair was held September 21, 22, 23, and 24, 1875. 
Officers elected January 15, 1876: president, Francis Bailey; vice president, 
M. Honnell; treasurer, John Duncan; secretary, J. S. Read. 

The seventeenth annual fair was held September 19, 20, 21, and 22, 1876. 
Officers elected January jo. 1877: president, S. Alex. Leckey; vice president, 
Ed. E. Nutt; treasurer, C. C. Weaver; secretary, J. S. Read. 

The eighteenth annual fair was held September 25, 26, 27, and 28, 1877. 
The total amount of receipts for the eighteenth annual fair from all sources 
was $2081.28. Total disbursements were $2084.94, leaving a deficit of $3.66. 
The election for officers for the year 1878 resulted as follows : president, 
S. Alex. Leckey; vice president, Ed. E. Nutt; treasurer, C. C. Weaver; secre- 
tary, J. S. Read. 

The nineteenth annual fair was held October 1, 2, 3, and 4, 1878. The 
total number of entries made in the different classes was 1320, an advance of 
more than fifty per cent over that of the year before, showing that the Institute 
was at this time in a flourishing condition. The result of the election held 
January 18, 1879, was the re-election of all the officers of the preceding year. 

The time of the twentieth annual fair was September 30th and October 
1st, 2d, and 3d. The total number of entries made at the twentieth annual 
fair was 1,618. Total receipts from all sources $2,590.08. This included 
$106.63 in treasury from the last year. Total disbursements, $2,160.30, leav- 



238 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

ing a balance of $41976 in treasury. At the election held January 17, 1880, 
the same officers were elected as those of the preceding year. 

The time of the twenty-first fair was the last three days of September and 
the first of October, 1880. 

This year, 1880, the Institute purchased six and a half acres of ground in 
addition to their former grounds, for which they paid the sum of $1,300. 
The number of acres in the grounds at this date was twenty-six and a half. 
Cash value of the grounds and improvements was $8,000. 

September 6, 1880, S. Alex. Leckey, the president of the Institute, died. 
By his death the society lost one of its most efficient members. Appropriate 
resolutions were passed in honor of his memory, and the same were recorded 
in the secretary's book. 

At a meeting held January 15, 1881, the following officers were elected: 
president, Morris Honnell ; vice president, Daniel Staley; treasurer, O. J. 
Taylor; secretary, H. Guthrie. 

The time of holding the twenty-second fair was September 27th, 28th, 
29th, and 30th. During the year 1881 the Institute purchased one and a half 
acres of land adjacent to their grounds, for which they paid the sum of $325. 
The receipts for the fair held in September, 1881, were as follows: received 
from sale of tickets, $2,190; entrance fees, $209; received from state, $120.68; 
balance from last year, $180.77; Ir0m al l other sources, $593.40; making a 
grand total of $3,293.85. Total disbursements, $2,433.22. Balance in treas- 
ury, $860.63. At tne election for officers for the year 1882 the same persons 
were re-elected of the year previous. 

The twenty-third annual fair was held September 26th, 27th, 28th, and 
29th. This was one of the most successful fairs ever held in the county, 
although the weather was very unfavorable, raining every day. The entries 
in all departments (excepting that of fruit) were better than those of any pre- 
vious year. The general attendance was better, and it is safe to say that if the 
weather had been favorable the receipts of the fair would have exceeded those 
of the year previous by from $500 to $1,000. The total receipts for this fair 
were $3,061.71. Balance on hand from previous year, $860.63. Total, 
$3,922.34. Disbursements for the year, $3,545.03. 

At the annual meeting of the society held January, 1882, a resolution was 
offered to prohibit the sale of ale, beer, and wine on the fair grounds. This 
resolution met with some opposition, but was adopted by the board. The year 
previous they had received for the permit of the eating-house and the sale of 
beer, ale, and wine the sum of $135. This year they could get no offer for 
the privilege of an eating-house. It accordingly was given to the ladies of the 
First Presbyterian church of Sidney free of charge, who made a success of 
it and gave universal satisfaction. 

A noticeable feature at this fair was the quietness and good behavior of 
the large crowd of people in attendance. No drunkenness or disorderly con- 
duct was seen. This proved, not only to the board of directors but to all who 
were there, that beer, ale, and wine are not essential to the success of a fair 
in Shelby county. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 239 

The election for officers held January, 1883, resulted as follows: presi- 
dent, Daniel Staley; vice president, Isaac Betts; secretary, Harvey Guthrie; 
treasurer, O. J. Taylor. The time for holding the fair was September 25th, 
26th, 27th, and 28th. 

At the stockholders' annual meeting held January 19, 1884, Isaac Betts 
was elected president, H. C. Wilson vice president, O. J. Taylor treasurer, and 
Harvey Guthrie secretary. 

September 23d to 27th inclusive was fixed for holding the twenty-fifth 
exhibition. 

January 17, 1885, the same officers were re-elected and the time for hold- 
ing the fair fixed for September 22d, 23d, 24th, and 25th. G. C. Anderson 
was elected February 7th, to fill out the term of H. Guthrie, secretary. 

At the annual stockholders' meeting held January 16, 1886, the board of 
officers was continued as amended and the 24th, 25th, 26th, and 27th days of 
September fixed for holding the twenty-seventh annual fair. 

During this year the first Farmers' Institute was held in Monumental hall 
under the auspices of the Shelby County Agricultural Society and the Ohio 
State Board of Agriculture. The institute convened February 10, 1886, for 
a two days' session and was addressed by the Hon. J. H. Brigham, of Delta, 
W. H. Scott, president of Ohio State University, and John Gould, dairy editor 
of the Ohio Fanner. W. J. Chamberlain delivered his lecture on "The Boy 
in Town and Country." Local speakers and singers varied the programme of 
a most profitable and interesting session. 

Officers elected for 1887 were E. Blanchard, president; J. T. Kelsey, 
vice president; G. C. Anderson, secretary; O. J. Taylor, treasurer. The fair 
for 1887 was fixed for September 27th, 28th, 29th, and 30th. 

At the annual meeting of stockholders January 21, 1888, 'the election of 
officers resulted in E. Blanchard for president; J. T. Kelsey, vice president; 
G. C. Anderson, secretary; Isaac Betts, treasurer. The time for holding the 
fair September 25th and 28th inclusive. 

The second Farmers' Institute was held in Monumental hall February 3, 
and 4, 1888, and was addressed by Secretary Bonham of the State Board of 
Agriculture, who delivered lectures on improvement of live stock. 

James McGregor spoke on various topics and gave a most interesting lec- 
ture on Modern Civilization. Local speakers throughout the county talked on 
various phases of farm life and the session was a most profitable one. 

The fair association's officers for 1889 were H. Guthrie, president; W. W. 
Huffman, vice president; G C. Anderson, secretary; Isaac Betts, treasurer. 

At the annual meeting January 26, 1889, it was decided to limit the pay- 
ment of premiums to Shelby county but not to prevent exhibits from other 
counties or states. 

The fair exhibit was fixed for September 24th to 27th, inclusive. 

At the annual meeting January 18, 1890, the following officers were 
elected : H. Guthrie, president ; \V. W. Huffman, vice president ; G. C. Ander- 
son, secretary; J. S. Laughlin, treasurer. 



240 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The thirty-first fair was appointed for September 16th, 17th, i8th, and 
19th. 

H. Guthrie, president ; \V. W. Ginn, vice president ; G. C. Anderson, sec- 
retary and J. S. Laughlin, treasurer, constituted the board of officers for 
1891 and the annual- fair appointed to be held the 22d, 23d, 24th and 25th of 
September. 

At the annual meeting January 16, 1892, H. Guthrie was elected presi- 
dent ; W. W. Ginn, vice president ; John Duncan, treasurer and A. L. Mar- 
shall, secretary, September 20, 21, 22, 23 were selected for the fair exhibit. 

H. Guthrie, Isaac Betts, John Duncan, Al. Marshall, president, vice- 
president, treasurer and secretary, respectively, made up the fair board for 
1893 and the annual fair appointed for September 19 to 22 inclusive. 

In 1894 the same board of officers served for the year and the fair held 
September 18, 19, 20 and 21. 

At the election of officers January 19, 1895, H. Guthrie, W. A. Graham, 
O. J. Taylor and G. C. Anderson were elected president, vice-president, treas- 
urer and secretary, respectively, and the fair dated for September 17 to 20 
inclusive. 

It being necessary to enlarge the grounds a meeting of the stockholders 
was held January 19, 1895, for the purpose of passing on the decision that 
the Shelby County Agricultural Society was a corporation. This was decided, 
a loan negotiated with the People's Savings and Loan for $8,000 and land 
bought of W. P. Reed, James Hennessey and wife, Frank Brown and Antony 
Braudewie at a meeting of the stockholders June 1, 1895. The Braudewie 
purchase involved twelve acres on the west and was used to make a race track 
and locate a grand stand capable of holding two thousand persons. 

At this meting it was decided that the family tickets costing $1.00 
each include the heads of families and all females under eighteen. Vehicle 
tickets for 25 cents which included vehicles with one or two horses and a price 
of 15 cents fixed for the grand stand. 

The fair was dated for September 8 to 1 1 inclusive. At the annual stock- 
holders meeting January 18. 1896, Isaac Betts, S. M. Wagoner, J. E. Russell 
and A. L. Marshall were elected president, vice-president, secretary and 
treasurer, respectively, and the fair date fixed for September. 

The fair board elected January 16, 1897, was H. Guthrie, president; E. 
W. Stowell, vice-president; J. E. Russell, secretary and O. J. Taylor, treas- 
urer and the fair dated for September 21, 22, 23 and 24. 

The total receipts of the fair of 1897 were $2,450.52 and the disburse- 
ments $2,427.78. 

The fair officers elected January 22, 1898, were E. W. Stowell, president; 
H. C. Roberts, vice-president ; J. E. Russell, secretary ; W. E. Lierman, treas- 
urer. The time for holding the thirty-ninth fair was fixed for September 
20, 21, 22 and 23 inclusive. 

At a meeting of the directors, February 8, 1898, an assessment of $5.00 
was placed on each stockholder in order to pay the premiums due from 
the institute for the year 1897. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 241 

There was no fair held in 1899 and for the three following years J. E. 
Russell, receiver, conducted the exhibitions under the order of the court. 

The first fair was held on the present grounds the 4th, 5th and 6th days 
of October, i860. At that time and until November, 1902, the property 
belonged to individuals, who had invested their money for the purpose of fur- 
nishing a place for the accommodation of the agricultural and mechanical 
industries of the county to exhibit their productions, and for which the stock- 
holders never received one cent, the receipts received from the annual fairs 
having been expended for improvement and beautifying the grounds. 

At the November election, 1902, the electors of the county decided by 
ballot to authorize the county commissioners to take over the grounds by 
authority of an act of the legislature passed April 29, 1902, entitled "An Act, 
To Authorize the Board of County Commissioners of Shelby county, Ohio, 
to purchase and improve lands upon which to hold county fairs, and to issue 
bonds of said county and levy taxes to pay for the same." 

The act provided that there should be elected from each township two 
persons to a board, styled, The Board of Managers of the Shelby County 
Agricultural Society and under this new management the receipts of the 
county fair are continually growing. 

At a meeting of the board of managers, January 10, 1903, J. C. Royou, 
Elisha Yost, J. E. Russell, John Duncan were elected president, vice-president, 
secretary and treasurer respectively and it was decided to hold the forty- 
second fair on September from the 8th to the nth inclusive. January 31, 
1903, the board adopted new rules and regulations and fixed the bonds of 
the secretary and treasurer at $3,000 and $5,000. January 8. 1904, the board 
of managers convened and the secretary's books showed that the receipts were 
$6,878.13 and the orders issued by the treasurer $6,752.72, showing a balance 
of $123.40 for the fair of 1903. 

The same officers were re-elected for 1904 and the forty-third fair fixed 
for four days in September beginning with the 6th. 

At a meeting of the board of managers January 14, 1905, the secre- 
tary's books showed the receipts to be $8,120.1 1 and the treasurer's books the 
disbursements to have been $7,824.39 for the fair of 1904, furnishing a 
balance of $295.72. 

D. J. Cargill, E. Yost, J. E. Russell, John Duncan were elected president, 
vice-president, secretary and treasurer, respectively and the forty-fifth fair 
fixed for the four days beginning September 12, 1905. 

January 13, 1906, at the annual meeting, D. J. Cargill, Wilson Dill, J. E. 
Russell and John Duncan were elected president, vice-president, secretary and 
treasurer and the forty-sixth fair dated for September 11 to 14, inclusive. 

At the annual meeting January 12, 1907, William T. Johnston, Wilson 
Dill, Thomas Quinlin, J. E. Russell were elected president, vice-president, 
treasurer and secretary and the forty-seventh was fixed for the fair days 
beginning September 10, 1907. 

At the annual meeting held January 11, 1908, the secretary's books 



242 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

showed the receipts of the fair of 1907 to be $7,149.40 and the treasurer's 
orders to have been $7,397.66 furnishing an overdraft of $248.26. 

Martin Quinlick, president; C. D. McCullough, vice-president; J. E. Rus- 
sell, secretary; Thomas Quinlin, treasurer were elected for the year and the 
fair fixed for September 15 to 18 inclusive. 

At the annual meeting held January 9, 1909, the secretary's receipts were 
$10,900.96 and the treasurer's disbursements $12,220.06 showing an over- 
draft of $1,319.10. 

The same board of officers was chosen for the year, and the fair appointed 
/or the four days beginning September 14. 

At the annual meeting held January 8, 19 10, the reports showed the re> ^ipts 
for the fair of 1909 to be $8,158.80 and the disbursements $7,545.83. The 
board of officers of 1909 was re-elected and the fair fixed for September 13, 
14, 15 and 16, 1910. This was the fiftieth Shelby county fair and was to be 
made the golden anniversary, a home-coming celebration. August 6, 1910, 
Oscar McMillen was elected superintendent of the grounds. 

January 14, 191 1, at the annual meeting, George Hagleberger, Earl B. 
Fristoe, James E. Burrons and J. E. Russell were chosen president, vice- 
president, treasurer and secretary for the year and the fifty-first fair appointed 
for September 12, 13, 14, 15. William Darst was elected superintendent of 
the grounds. 

At the annual meeting held January 13, 191 2, the same board of officers 
was re-elected and the date for holding the fifty-second annual fair fixed or 
September 10, 11, 12, 13, 1912. 

The receipts for the Shelby county fair of 1912 were by far the large" f 
of any fair ever held in the county. The receipts were $11,444.05; disburse- 
ments, $9,584.86. The affairs of the Agricultural Society are in a most 
flourishing condition, enabling the officials to make extensive improvemerts 
at the grounds. 

The present fair ground is in striking contrast to days long gone. It is 
now one of the most beautiful in the state or country. The original ground, 
in a state of nature, was a magnificent forest of lofty oaks which have been 
carefully preserved with maples set out in vacant spots which are now large 
and afford ample shade. 

The water works of Sidney have been extended by pipes so that an abun- 
dant supply of pure water from the artesian wells which furnish the city is 
convenient for stock as well as the people. The grounds have been increased 
from twenty acres to forty-three acres. The only director of the fair when 
the grounds were bought is Morris Honnell, now eighty-eight years old, who 
lives at his ease in retirement near the fair grounds in his delightful home, 
with his daughter Ollie. 

Secretary J. E. Russell has been in that office for seventeen years and 
to his efficient work is due the present prosperous condition. Most of the 
buildings are comparatively new with a fountain playing in the art and floral 
hall. The appointments are up-to-date and it is the design of the managers 
to keep abreast of the times. 



CHAPTER XIV 

RELIGIOUS DEVELOPMENT 

Pioneer Preachers — History of the Principal Religions Denominations in 
Shelby County — Churches and Pastors 

THE PIONEER PREACHER 

One of the first to enter the forest of Ohio was Charles Frederick Post, 
a Moravian missionary, a calm, simple-hearted, and fearless man, who was 
sent into Ohio after the defeat of Braddock to preach the gospel, as well as 
to win the Indians over to the cause of the English. At the close of the Pontiac 
war in 1761, Post returned to the valley of the Muskingum and settled among 
the Delawares. It was not until after the close of the Revolutionary war that 
the tide of pioneer preaching reached the real valley of the Ohio. It swept 
northward from Kentucky, headed by the good old itinerant, who rode from 
settlement to settlement with Bible and saddlebags, preaching wherever he 
could find a congregation, however small. He did as much to civilize the 
wilderness as those who wielded the axe, and built towns where naught but 
the unbroken forest had been. Strong and powerful men were the backwoods 
preachers, and their mentality was equal to their physical strength. They 
knew no fear. Imbued with the Holy Spirit, they set up their altars in the 
most remote localities, undaunted by adverse circumstances, and surrounded 
by dangers seen and unseen. These heroic men of different denominations 
came from different localities. The first Presbyterians emigrated from Ken- 
tucky, the Baptists from Virginia, where they had suffered much persecution, 
and John Haw and Benjamin Ogden were the first followers of John Wesley 
to cross the Alleghanies. 

The Roman Catholics sought the new west from Maryland and loyal tc 
their church, they grouped themselves in neighborhoods where they could 
enjoy its first instruction and offices. There was some rivalry between denomi- 
nations in this region and great controversies about baptism and Pedro-Bap- 
tism, Free Grace and Predestination. Falling from Grace and the Perseverance 
of the Saints, but at no time did the pioneer preachers lose .sight of the holiness 
of their mission. 

The office of the backwoods preacher was no sinecure. His salary rarely 
exceeded a hundred dollars a year and nothing more was allowed a man with 
a wife, for it was understood by the ministers of the old church that a preacher 
was a great deal better off without one. 

16 

243 



244 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The early ministers of Shelby county had small encouragement in the 
way of pecuniary support to which they could look forward. They came to 
the wilderness to face perils, want, weariness, unkindness, cold and hunger. 
There was great force and stamina in the method of the first preachers of the 
country. They spoke loudly and with the whole body; their feet and hands 
were put in requisition as well as their tongues and head; they knew their 
hymn-books as well as their Bibles, for they had to make their sermons as they 
were traveling along the way from settlement to settlement. At this time 
there were few places dignified with houses of worship. There were many 
camp-meetings in the dawn of church history in this county. These were 
famous gatherings to which the whole neighborhood turned out and they lasted 
for days. There were some wonderful conversions during these meetings. 
The mourners' bench often erected in the forest always had its complement of 
sinners seeking grace. Everybody joined in singing old-fashioned hymns, the 
prayers were frequently interspersed with fervent "Amens," hundreds pro- 
fessed the new life and went on their way rejoicing. 

The true worth of the pioneer preacher cannot be computed. He builded 
up little congregations, which in time became the foremost ones of the county. 
His whole soul was in his mission. He visited the sick, comforted the mourner, 
prayed with the dying and often read the burial service to the howl of the 
prowling wolf. He carried his saddle-bags through the snows of winter, 
forded the Miami amid the howlings of the tempest and appeared as a visit- 
ing angel to the family around the settler's hearth. 

There are no living duplicates of these men, for the times have changed 
and the wilderness lias disappeared. They were the men for the times, they 
came forth when they were needed, did their work nobly and left the infant 
church to the care of the earnest believers who were to come after them. 

The picture given us in Oliver Goldsmith's incomparable "Deserted Vil- 
lage," of the village preacher, is a faithful painting of the pioneer preacher 
under whose ministrations our forefathers and foremothers worshiped. 

"Unskilled he to fawn, or seek for power 
By doctrines fashioned to the varying hour; 
For other aims his heart had learned to prize 
More bent to raise the wretched than to rise." 



And again 



"Thus to relieve the whetched was his pride, 
And e'en his failings lean'd to Virtue's side ; 
But in his duty prompt at every call, 
He watch'd and wept, he pray'd and felt for all." 



THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH 



The Presbyterian church in Sidney had its beginning in 1820 or perhaps 
1821. Then the first missionary effort was made to establish preaching. In a 
year or two an organization was effected which for some reason had but a 
brief existence. The first permanent organization was in the month of Septem- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 245 

ber, 1825, through the efforts of the Rev. Joseph Stevenson, when a little 
band of people gathered together in the old court house standing where is now 
the Woodward building in Ohio avenue. The church originally consisted of 
eight members: Dr. William Fielding and his wife Elizabeth; John Fergus and 
his wife Margaret; William McClintock and his wife Sarah; James Forsythe 
and Sarah Graham. William Fielding and James Forsythe were the first 
ruling elders. Preaching statedly was furnished by the Rev. Joseph Steven- 
son for a few years, and then by the Rev. Sayers Gaylay. Uniting with the 
church at an early period in its history were Joseph and Mrs. Cummins, Mr. 
and Mrs. Samuel McCullough, Mr. and Mrs. Hugh Wilson and Mr. and Mrs. 
Allen Wells. In the year 1833 the little congregation built its first house of 
worship, costing the round sum of $900, the house standing on the rear of the 
lot on which the present church now stands which was donated for that pur- 
pose by Charles Sterrell in 181 9. In this little structure the people worshipped 
for thirteen years. 

During the year 1834 the Rev. Samuel Cleland became a stated supply to 
the church, which position he filled for five years. After him ministerial 
services were rendered by the Reverends Hendricks, Greer, Hare and Bonar. 
In 1842, the church extended a call to the Rev. W. B. Spense, who was then 
preaching in Troy, which call he accepted and labored as the first regularly 
installed pastor of the church for twenty-two years. In 1845 the congrega- 
tii in res< lived to build a larger and better house of worship and the brick church 
which stood for more than thirty years was the result of their effort. The 
Rev. Daniel Bridge succeeded the Rev. Spense and resigned in nine months 
and was followed by the Rev. Robert McCastin, October 1, 1866, who presided 
over the congregation for thirty-three years and is still living in Sidney with 
his daughter, Mrs. J. L. Dickensheets. While he has no regular charge, he 
visits the sick, preaches over the dead, performs marriages and occasionally 
occupied a pulpit though long since passed the three score and ten mark. 

He was succeeded by James Albert Patterson D. D. in 1898, who served 
the congregation four years and left the field for the Central Presbyterian 
church of Columbus. 

The Rev. Leroy Coffmanthen accepted a call from this congregation, which 
he presided over for six years leaving in 1908 for Davenport, Iowa, the Rev. 
John Charlton, the present minister took charge October 15, 1908, and the 
church at the present time numbers 710 members. The enrollment of the 
Sunday school is 350. 

Officers of the church — Rev. John T. Chalter, minister. The session — 
Moses Russell, Stephen Lytle, Johnson Wiley, W. A. Graham, H. L. Mathers, 
John Mumford, George C. Anderson, John Orbison, and J. J. Bush. 

Trustees — E. W. Bingham, O. B. Taylor, Wilson Carothers, C. S. Line, 
C. W. Benjamin, C. B. Orbison. Officers of Sunday school — Milton Snyder, 
superintendent; J. J. Bush, assistant superintendent; Frederick McLean, sec- 
retary; Floyd Sarver, treasurer; organist and choir leader, Miss Jessie Ayers 
Wilson. 

The present house of worship was dedicated in 1883 and is both beautiful 



246 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

and convenient built on the site of the old church at the corner of North and 
Miami streets. North of it is the parsonage and to the east the high school 
building, now in course of erection placed in what was formerly the old Pres- 
byterian burying ground. 

The year of 1829 is the date of the organization of the United Presby- 
terian church of Sidney. From its organization till 1840 it was served with 
preaching by the Rev. John Reynolds, J. C. Porter and Samuel 
Sturgeon. The first church edifice was a frame structure located on the site 
where St. John's Lutheran church now stands at a cost of $700 and the 
first ruling elders were Robert \Y. Stephenson and Samuel Gamble. The 
Rev. Reynolds started with a congregation of twelve members and 
previous to 1840 the ministers were stated supplies. In 1840 a call was ex- 
tended td the Rev. C. T. McCaughan whose labors extended over a period of 
sixteen years and showed great congregational growth. During his pastor- 
ate in 1854 a new church was built, a substantial brick structure on the south 
side of the square costing $10,000, quite a fine church in those early days. 

On May 25, 1858. the union of the Associate and Associate Reformed 
churches was consummated and from this time the Sidney congregation 
which was the Associate Reformed, took the name it now bears. Mr. Mc- 
Caughan was succeeded by the Rev. J. G. Armstrong, who was ordained and 
installed November 15, 1859. In 1863 he was released to take charge of a 
church in St. Louis and subsequently entered the Episcopal church in Vir- 
ginia. The Rev. M. M. Gibson followed in 1864 and in succession the Rev. 
J. \Y. Bain, 1867, the Rev. J. A. Bailey, 1869 until 1876. Then in turn the 
Revs. R. I. Miller. J. T. Wilson and J. P. Sharp in the years 1878, 1882 and 
1883 respectively. Under the pastorate of the Rev. Sharp the church which 
had seen good service since 1854 was sold to J. O. Amos and is now the site 
of the Amos' newspaper offices. 

The congregation now selected a lot mi North Main avenue, a little dis- 
tance from the business part ol the town, and there erected a beautiful church 
with modern appointments. 

In 1889 the Rex. I. 1'. Robb took charge of the congregation and re- 
mained until 11)03. when he retired from active work, universally beloved. 
The pulpit was tilled from 1904 to 1906 by the Rev. R. G. Smith. The pres- 
ent pastor, the Rev. Samuel Adams Moore, was called here in 1907, and is 
full of religious enthusiasm. The church maintains a Sunday school with 
George Hutchinson, superintendent : the session is made up of David Ritchie, 
Miller McVey, Robert Watson and Will Wead. The different societies are 
the Young Women's Christian Union, Women's Missionary Society and the 
Men's League. Miss Hazel Watson is the organist, Miss Helen Moore the 
choir leader. 

The congregation has always been conservative but active in all matters 
of mural reform and has numbered in its membership many of the substan- 
tial families of Sidnej and its vicinity. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



THE METHODIST CHURCH 



The history of Methodism in Sidney begins with the year 1825, at which 
time the first Methodist sermon was preached in the house of Joel Franken- 
berger. by the Rev. Levi White. Under his pastorate a class was organized, 
consisting of Joel Frankenberger and wife, George Poole and wife, John 
Bryan and wife. Mother McVay and Father Defreese. 

Sidney was then a part of Bellefontaine circuit, which extended from Sid- 
ney to Bellefontaine, thence to West Liberty and Westville, including all the 
intervening territory. At the time of the organization of the church in Sidney, 
Rev. David Young, whose name is as sweet incense to the memories of those 
who knew him, was the presiding elder. 

There was no meeting house in Sidney until 1831, and the services during 
the six years preceding that time were held in the house of Joel Frankenberger 
in the winter, and in the summer under the wide spreading branches of a large 
elm tree that grew on the river bank just below the present bridge. Here 
piotracted meetings were held, and under the mighty influence of primitive 
preaching and singing souls were converted and the church strengthened. 

At the quarterly conference, held at Bellefontaine, November 10, 1827, 
while James B. Findlay was presiding elder and Joshua Boucher, pastor, a 
committee, consisting of Joel Frankenberger, George Poole, and John Hol- 
lingshead, were appointed to inquire into the practicability of building a meet- 
ing house in Sidney. This committee did not make a report until January 31, 
1829, when they announced that they had'purchased a lot on which to build 
a church. This lot is the one on which the Baptist church now stands, and 
cost $16. and was paid for by the committee together with Mr. Persinger, each 
paying $4. On this lot a small church was erected in 1831.' This house was 
built "without money and without price," some furnishing material, while 
others did the work. 

The Second Methodist Episcopal church edifice in Sidney was the one 
owned and used by the Baptist congregation of this place and was sold to them 
March 25, 1872, tor the sum of $1,700. It was erected in 1838, and dedicated 
by the Rev. Edward Gehon, who has since become prominent in the Church 
South. Rev. David Warnock and Rev. William Sutton were then preachers 
on the circuit. In 1834 the Bellefontaine circuit was divided, and Sidney 
circuit formed. Sidney remained the centre of Sidney circuit until 1843, when 
it was made a station, and Rev. David Warnock was returned as the first 
stationed preacher of this church. In 1867 the present church edifice was 
erected under the supervision of the Rev. W. J. Wells, but was not completed 
until 1874, under the management of Rev. J. Wykes. It was dedicated by 
Rev. Bishop R. S. Foster, August 11, 1874. Sidney held its first quarterly 
conference on the 19th of April, 1828, while John W. Clark and James W. 
Findlay were preachers on the circuit. Sidney has five times been the seat of 
the annual conference; first in 1847, when Bishop James presided; the second 
time in 1874, when Bishop Andrews presided; the third time in 1882, with 
Bishop Warren, the presiding bishop; the fourth time in 1898 with Bishop 
Joyce presiding, and in 1909 with Bishop Neeley. 



•248 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

From 1825 to 1S80 fifty-three preachers have been appointed to the Sidney 
charge, whose names we will give in chronological order, though some of them 
have served the charge the second time : Levi White, George Gatch, Thomas 
Beachman, Joshua Boucher, John W. Clark, James W. Findlay, Thomas 
Simms, William M. Sullivan, William Morrow, John Stewart, Peter Sharp, 
Daniel D. Davidson, James Smith, W. C. Clark, George W. Walker, David 
Kempler, Wilson Smith, Silas Chase, L. P. Miller, David Warnock, Madison 
Hausley, Samuel Lynch. George Taylor, L. W. James, Jacob A. Brown, Wil- 
liam M. Spafford. M. L. Starr, Elmer Yocum, W. G. Wells, Joseph Wykes, 
William Lunt, Lemuel Herbert, S. H. Alderman, L. C. Webster, Jacob Holms, 
C. W. Ketcham. T. W. Alderman. J. L. Bates, Franklin Mariott, Gershom 
Lease. T. C. Reade, Oliver Kennedy, Louis M. Albright, P. P. Pope, I. N. 
New ton. W. W. Lance. J. H. Bethards, Thaddeus Wilson, M. M. Figley, W. 
G. Waters. E. E. McCannon, C. A. Smucker and W. B. Armington, who is 
now entering upon the fourth year of his pastorate here. 

Sidney has been favored with the preaching 61 the following presiding 
elders, in the following order : David Young, John Collins, James B. Findlay, 
John F. Wright, William H. Raper, Robert O. Spencer, William S. Morrow, 
Samuel P. Shaw, Wesley Brock, H. M. Shaffer. J. S. Kalb, Alexander Har- 
mount, Joseph Avers. Joseph Wykes, Wesley G. Waters, S. L. Roberts, E. D. 
Whitlock, Andrew J. Fish. C. R. Flavighorst and D. H. Bailey, the last two 
being called district superintendents. 

In one half century Sidney has sent out from its number sixteen preachers, 
viz., Isaac Hunt. Joseph Park, George M. Bond, George W. Taylor, P. G. 
• loode, John H. Bruce. A. C. Shaw, David Bulle. X. B. C. Love, H. Maltbie, 
A. Clawson. D. Rhinehart, Elanson Barber, Levi Moore, Webster Stockstill 
and Harley Hodge. 

The original church consisted of eight members; it now numbers about 
1 , 1 50. 

The semi-centennial of Methodism in Sidney was held in the M. E. church 
November 26, 2j and 28. 1875. when the Rev. T. C. Reade was pastor. The 
opening sermon was preached by Rev. David Rhinehart. On Saturday, 
Xovember z~, at 2:00 P. M.. the Lev. J. R. Colgan preached, after which 
refreshment- were served. One hundred and twenty-five of the congregation 
and visitors sat down at the social repast together. This was followed by toasts 
and responses from laymen and ministers. Wesley G. Waters preached on 
Sunday, and T. C. Reade read a short historical sketch of Methodism in Sidney. 

The church has greatly prospered since its organization and has been 
a power for good in the community a net gain of 350 being made during 
the pastorate of its present minister, William B. Armington, D. D. The 
total membership of the church is 1,150; of the Sunday school, which is a 
graded one. 1,125. The primary class of which Miss Emma Haslup is super- 
intendent has an enrollment of 140. 

The contributions for benevolent purposes for the past three years have 
been Sq.ooo. of which $3,600 was made the year just closing. There have 
hern S45.000 subscribed for the new church project. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 249 

The following separate organizations are a part of the church: Men's 
Brotherhood, Woman's Aid, Woman's Foreign Missionary Society, Woman's 
Home Missionary Society, Young Men's Gymnasium Association, Boy Scouts, 
Camp Fire Girls, Young Ladies' Circle, Home Guards, Epworth League. 

Officers of the church — Rev. E. H. Bailey, district superintendent; Rev. 
William B. Armington, minister; Miss Donna L. Kulp, deaconess; Mrs. W. 
H. C. Goode, superintendent of Sunday school. 

Stewards— W. H. C. Goode, W. E. Kilborn, R. O. Bingham, C. C. 
Sollenberger. W. L. Van Riper, John Oldham, David Oldham, I. N. Wilkin- 
son, V. S. Scott. Dr. A. W. Reddish, C. J. Briggs, W. W. Robinson, W. B. 
McCabe, L. M. Studevant, George Ohlinger. 

Trustees — William Piper, Emory Nutt, Dr. B. M. Sharp, J. S. Crozier, 
C. W. Frazier. Finlay Mills, Dr. A. W. Grosvenor, P. O. Stockstill. 

Class Leaders — William McCally, George Yenney, Elisha Yost, organist, 
George T. Blake ; chorister, Maud Haslup. 

Officers of Sunday School— Mrs. W. H. C. Goode, superintendent; Hugh 
Bingham, assistant superintendent; Miss Emma Haslup, primary superin- 
tendent; W. L. Van Riper, treasurer; Nellie Van Riper, secretary. 

The church is now projecting a new building to cost $60,000, three- 
fourths of which sum has already been raised. Proposals are now being 
called for the remodeling of their present edifice and the construction of a 
basement and two story Sunday school addition covering about 4,800 square 
feet. This is made necessary by the growth of the church and Sunday 
school. 

The building will contain a completely equipped gymnasium with shower 
baths for both sexes; reading room for men and boys; a dining room seating 
250, with a kitchen equipped with modern appointments for caring for large 
gatherings, all to be finished in about one year. 

EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN 

Saint John's Evangelical Lutheran congregation was organized July 5, 
[840, by the Rev. George Klapp, when Shelby county numbered but 12,000 
inhabitants while Sidney had exactly 713. 

The first church council, installed November 1, 1840, was composed of 
but two members, besides the pastor, John Jacob, elder, and Jacob Pfeifer, 
deacon. 

The first list of communicant members dated October 30, 1842, contains 
the names of thirty-three. The Rev. Klapp died in 1844 and was succeeded 
by the Rev. Isaac Hursch and he in turn by the Rev. George Spaengler in 
1850. It was due to his zeal and enterprise that the congregation finally 
secured a church home of its own in 1854 by purchasing the modest frame 
building and lot on Wales street vacated by the Associate Presbyterians, who 
had built it in 1835, for the reasonable price of $800 and in this the congre- 
gation worshipped for thirty-four years. He resigned in 1859 and his widow, 



250 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Mrs. Dorothy Spaengler still worships in the church, a familiar figure to old 
and young. 

In succession came the next twenty years the Revs. George Loewenstein, 
J. Graessle. J. Bundenthal and J. Dingeldey who had 117 members at the 
end of his term of service. 

In 1879 the Rev. Frederick A. Groth took charge of the pastorate and 
started a movement for a new church building. He was succeeded in 1885 
by the Rev. A. H. Minneman who was pastor of the congregation for twenty 
years, retiring July 1, 1905. During his pastorate a new church was built 
on the site of the old one costing $10,200, which was dedicated October 14, 
1 888. 

July 1, 1905, the Rev. E. Poppen began his work as pastor with 250 
communicants. In October of that year the lot adjacent to the church on 
the west side was purchased and in 1907 a handsome parsonage was finished 
for the pastor. Three years later a fine pipe organ was installed. 

At the present time Saint John's numbers 450 communicants, with an 
enrollment in the Sunday school of 240. 

Officers of Sunday School — Rev. E. Poppen, superintendent and teacher 
of Bible class; George Schneeberger, assistant; Anna Albers, secretary; John 
W. Smith, assistant; Dorothy Frey, treasurer. 

The Church Council — Rev. Poppen, president; John W. Smith, secre- 
tary; William Kliustine. treasurer; Henry Sexaner, elder; Fred Stany, 
deacon; Edward Schiff, deacon; Jacob Weingartner, trustee; John W. Smith, 
trustee; William Klipstine, trustee. Organist, Mrs. Emmanuel Poppen. 

The societies of the church are the Frauen-Verein, organized in 1859; 
The Lydia Society; The Emmanuel Society; The Lutheran Helpers; The 
Men's League. 

HOLY ANGELS' CATHOLIC CHURCH 

In the year 1848 only a small number of Catholics resided in Sidney, but 
they formed themselves into a society and held their religious services in a 
private dwelling house and were ministered to by the Rev. Thomas Shehan. 
He was succeeded by the Rev. John Ouinlan, Bishop of Mobile, Alabama, 
who then lived at Piqua but looked after the spiritual wants of the Catholics 
in Sidney. 

At this time a frame building which had served as a cooper's shop, was 
purchased and converted into a house of worship on the lot to be occupied by 
the armory where the negro church now stands, at the corner of West and 
South streets. In 1855 this was blown up with powder and stone during the 
Know-Nothing excitement. The three years following mission services were 
held in different halls of the town attended by the resident priests of Piqua. 
In 1856 the site u]K>n which the present church now stands was purchased 
by Mathias W r agner, Peter Wagner and John Smith, trustees, and a building 
erected which was opened in 1858. A partition was run across the west 
end of the church from north to south which gave a room 23 x 50 feet and 
here the school was commenced with an attendance of twenty children. The 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 251 

church was still a mission in charge of priests from Wapakoneta from i860 
to 1862, when the first resident priest, the Rev. Florentine D'Arcy, succeeded 
in 1862. He was followed by the Rev. William D'Arcy in 1865, and he by 
the Rev. William O'Rourke. In 1867 the Rev. John D. Kress became pastor 
and remained three years. In 1870 Rev. William Sidley took charge of the 
congregation and was succeeded by Rev. Henry Rowecamp, and in March. 
1875, Rev. Francis M. Oualman became the rector of Holy Angels' church. 
At this time the church consisted of no families and the pupils on the 
school roll numbered 95. In September, 1876, the present school building 
was opened on the west side of the lot occupied by the church. It is a well 
graded school and graduates pupils with a four years high school course, 
has a department of music connected with the school and all branches are 
taught by the Sisters of Charity from Mount St. Joseph near Cincinnati. 
There are at present seven sisters engaged in teaching. These, with a resi- 
dent teacher, and the two priests who teach the Latin, make up the teaching 
faculty. The school is supported by a small monthly fee for tuition, by 
collections and donations from the members of the church. 

In January. 1876, a lot north of the church grounds was purchased and 
the present brick building was erected for the sisters and is now used as a 
In inie for the priest. 

The present church was consecrated in May, 1890, by Archbishop Elder 
and represents with its interior decorations and furnishings an outlay of 
$75,000. It has a seating capacity of 750 and is a magnificent tribute to the 
untiring zeal of the Rev. Oualman, who lived to minister to his congrega- 
tion nine years in the new edifice. He died November 15, 1909, after a suc- 
cessful pastorate of nearly thirty-four years. The thirtieth anniversary of 
his ministry was made the occasion of a great celebration which was par- 
ticipated in by Catholics and Protestants alike. 

His successor was the Rev. Fortman of Kenton, Ohio, who is the present 
pastor, and who has an assistant in the Rev. Reverman. In 191 1 a substantial 
home of pressed brick was built for the sisters on the lot formerly occupied 
by the old Peter Wagner homestead, south of the church, at a cost of about 
$8,000. 

The different societies of the church are the Married Ladies' Sodality, the 
Young Ladies' Sodality, Children of Mary, Boys' Senior and Junior Society 
of St. Aloysins, and the Holy Name Society for Men. 

The officers of the church — trustees, W. H. Wagner, John Collins, Dennis 
Hoban, Frank Allenbach, Martin Quinlisk and William Salm. The organist. 
Frank Doorley. 

There are belonging to this church 1500 communicants, representing 300 
families, and 265 pupils enrolled in the parochial school. 

RELIGIOUS DENOMINATIONS 

As early as 1850 a number of German Baptist families or Dunkards set- 
tled about five miles east of Sidney and held church services in their dwellings. 
Later they built a small house of worship on the banks of Mosquito creek, 



252 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

which stands today, but has been abandoned since March, 1895. Elder 
Keiser served the congregation for thirty years. They then purchased the 
old German Methodist church located on South Ohio and South streets and 
in 1896 Elder Longenecker began his pastorate with twenty members, and 
in four years affected a growth of sixty. Elder Fitzwater followed and in 
1905 the Rev, S. Z. Smith came to Sidney and took charge of the work. 
The mission board sold the church and built a new cement block house on 
Grove street. They now have a membership of 114 with a Sunday-school 
of 150 in charge of Mrs. Smith. 

FIRST REGULAR BAPTIST CHURCH 

On the thirteenth of November, 1869, E. M. Thresher and G. N. Bierce 
of Dayton visited Sidney as a missionary committee of the Union Baptist 
Association and commenced holding prayer meetings in the homes of Baptist 
families. A Bible class was organized for the study of the Scriptures every 
Sunday and prayer meetings appointed regularly for Sunday evenings. 
Preaching was supplied by ministers of the association who voluntarily took 
turns in coming to Sidney. The meetings were held in what was then and is 
still now known as Union hall in the Deweese building', but it was not till 
January 27, 1S70. that an organization known as the First Regular Baptist 
church was made at a meeting of Baptists held at the home of Mrs. Mary 
Whitman. The names of the seven original members are as follows: \Y. M. 
Whitaker, Mary W'hitaker, John Grey. Anna Perrin, A. S. Moore. John 
Holverstolt and Callie Holverstolt. At this meeting a church covenant known 
as the New Hampshire Articles of Faith was adopted and suitable officers 
elected. October 1. 1870. the Rev. A. Snyder became the first pastor of the 
congregation preaching one-half the time. In February, 1871. the pastor 
resigned and the church was without a minister until February 4. 1872, when 
the Rev. T. J. Shepherd of Clyde. Ohio, took charge. With the coming of 
the Rev. Shepherd energy was infused and the Baptists began to look around 
for a home of their own. With that in view the old M. E. church property, 
the site of the present Baptist church, was purchased, for the sum of $1,700. 
The work of cancelling this debt was done in a surprisingly short time and 
was no small undertaking for the entire membership of the church was only 
fifteen and the only male members were W. M. W'hitaker and J. Grey who 
were the deacons. After a little more than four years the Rev. Shepherd 
closed his labors and in January. 1877. the Rev. J. C. Tuttle of Bellefontaine 
became pastor of the ilock and served for six months. 

Pie was followed by the Rev. Perry W. Longfellow who took up the work 
and served till 1882 and he in turn by the Rev. E. B. Smith. Then came in 
succession the Revs. Speece, Downer. Waiter, F. M. Meyers. C. W. Baker, 
T. P. James, B. F, l'att and in 1910 the present pastor, the Rev. J. W". Kinnett. 

The congregation met with a severe loss when January 14, 1904. their new 
church, which had been built in 1884 under the pastorate of the Rev. J. R. 
Downer, at a cost of $8,540, burned, but nothing daunted the members after 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 253 

heroic sacrifice rededicated the building January 15, 1905, and now the church 
property, which includes the parsonage, is valued at $25,000. The church 
at the present time has 350 members with a Sunday school as large and by 
the first of March, 1913, will be entirely out of debt. 

Officers of the church — pastor, Rev. J. W. Kinnett; deacons, James A. 
Hall, J. B. Xewhall, E. E. Dell, C. A. Kiggins, Frank Smoot, Oran C. Staley, 
G. \Y. Donahue; emeritus, George Kessler; trustees, Elwood Clark, James 
Fitzgerald, John Wiant, J. R. Hall, H. W. Wilmore. 

Sunday school — Frank Smoot, superintendent; D. L. Minton, assistant; 
Neva Hall, treasurer; Grace Archer, secretary. 

Societies — Ladies' Aid, Mrs. William Linn, president ; Missionary Circle, 
Mrs. J. B. Xewhall. 

Organist — Le Roy Bland. 

RELIGIOUS DENOMINATIONS 

The organization of the St. Paul's Evangelical church took place some 
time in 1N70 by the Rev. Hermann. The congregation joined the Evangeli- 
cal Synod of North America in 1887. From 1870 to 1886 services were 
held in the frame building at the corner of North Lane and Miami avenue, 
when the property at the corner of Miami and Water streets formerly used 
as a hose house was secured. A parsonage adjoining the church building 
was built in 1893. The congregation has successively been in charge of the 
following pastors: The Rev. Allardt from 1870 to 1873, Rev. Vontobel, 
187} to 187;, Rev. Weisgerbcr, 1875 to 1880. Rev. Carl Wissling, 1880 to 
1882, Rev. J. Boehr, 1882 to 1883. The Rev. G H. Schmidt then reorgan- 
ized the church and had charge from 1887 to 1889, followed by the Revs. 
Dorn. [889 to 1893, Keller, 1893 to 1897, Ratch, 1897 to 1899, Schneider, 
whom their new church was built was pastor of the congregation from 1904 
iyoo to 1903, Cramm, 1003 to 1904. 

The Rev. Theodore I'. Frohne, under whom their new church was built, 
was pastor of the congregation from 1904 to 1910. In 1905 the Amann lot 
at the corner of Main avenue and South street was bought for $3,000 and 
on November 4. 1906. the corner stone for a new building was laid. Two 
years later the church was finished at a cost of about $20,000. Its dimen- 
sions are forty by seventy-five feet and it consists of an auditorium and Sun- 
day-school room, w ith all the modern appointments in the basement. A gallery 
is erected across the west end of the auditorium. 

The church was consecrated September 2j, 1908, with an elaborate pro- 
gram and a new pipe organ, one half the cost of which was donated by An- 
drew Carnegie, was opened at the same time. 

Beautiful stained glass windows were furnished by individual members. 
The Rev. Frohne was succeeded by the Rev. R. Wobus in 1910 and handed 
over to his successor a church in a most flourishing condition which had more 
than doubled itself during his pastorate. 

The church council for 1912 consists of A. R. Friedman, president; An- 



254 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

drew Curtner, vice-president; Allen Maurer, secretary; Carl Wolf, treasurer 
Deacons — Julius Stein, George Weiss. Trustees — George Weiss, Fred 
Brock-man, Julius Stein. Elders — Andrew Curtner. Carl Wolf. Organist — 
Miss Ola Friedmann. 

The United Brethren church was organized in September, 1894, by the 
Rev. E. E. Swords, a missionary pastor, who commenced with nine charter 
members in the old Dunkard church at the corner of Ohio avenue and South 
street. A Sunday school had been formed prior to this, by W. W. Lucas, 
who served as • superintendent for five years. The Rev. L. C. Reed took 
charge of the church in 1895 and was its pastor for two years and built the 
Sunday-school room, which is a part of the church, at a cost of $3,500. He 
was followed by the Rev. Waldo, 1897 to 1898, and he by the Rev. J. W. 
Lower, who conceived the idea of a memorial church dedicated to the mem- 
ory of Ella Schenck. who met a tragic death in Africa while devoting her 
life to missionary work. Miss Schenck was from Shelby county. The Rev. 
W. T. Roberts became the pastor in 1899 and under his pastorate the church 
was built at a cost of $9,000, a splendid memorial to the martyr missionary. 
Eighty-nine persons were received during his ministry, which lasted until 
1903. The Rev. W. S Sage was pastor from 1903 to 1904 and was followed 
by the Rev. L. S. Woodruff, who received two hundred and ten persons into 
the church. The Rev. Carl Jameson took charge from 1907 to 1909, fol- 
lowed by the Rev. Carl Roop. The present pastor, the Rev. D. C. Hollinger, 
followed in September 10 10 and has a church membership of 391, a wonder- 
ful growth. H. G. Henly has supervision of the Sunday-school, which is 
graded into five departments with an enrollment of three hundred and ninety- 
four members. 

The Mount Vernon Baptist church, African, is now in the process of 
building at the corner of Park and Linden streets in the northwestern 
part of the city. The structure is built of cement at a cost of $3,000 and is 
modern in all its appointments, making a splendid church home for its sixty- 
five members. The Rev. Hathcock is the present pastor. The congregation 
worshipped for many years at the corner of South and West avenues in a 
little frame church on property bequeathed by Charles Sterrett. The town 
council bought the lot last year for $1,800 and it has been selected as the 
location for the new armory to be built by the state this year of 1913. 

During the year of 1895 Arch Deacon Brown, now Bishop of Arkansas, 
came to Sidney and found four communicants of the Episcopal church, Mrs. 
Sarah Stuber. Mrs. J. W. Cloninger, Mrs. W. S. Ley and Mrs. B. M. Don- 
aldson. With these as charter members under the leadership of the Rev. 
Barkdull, St. Marks parish was begun. A series of services was held in the 
assembly room of the court house. The first confirmation service with the 
Rt. Rev. W. A. Leonard. Bishop of Ohio, in attendance was held in the U. P. 
church. Shortly after this the old Christian church on Xorth Miami avenue 
was remodeled and decorated and fixed up as a mission in charge of the Rev. 
T. R. Hazzard. In 1901 the strength of the mission was considered great 
enough to build a church of its own on the church lot. This lot on Xorth 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 255 

Miami avenue had been left to the church in 1820 by Charles Sterrett, who 
was a member of that denomination. Mr. Hazzard drew the plans for the 
building after a church he had so much admired in England. It is built of 
red brick, with brown trimmings, Gothic in style, finished off in Flemish oak 
with beamed ceilings, a dignified little church. To be as economical as pos- 
sible the Rector donned blouse and overalls and did much of the manual 
work. Rev. Hazzard was called to a New York pastorate and Rev. Linric 
became Rector in charge. He was succeeded by the Rev. Stalker and he in 
turn by the Rev. T. G. C. McCalla. The Rev. H. J. Haight followed and 
at present the mission is in charge of the Rev. John Stewart Banks, who 
divides his time between Bellefontaine and Sidney. 



CHAPTER XV 

THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 

The Pioneer Doctor — Prevailing Diseases in Early Days — Crude Methods 
of Cure — Great Medical Discoveries — Some of the Early and Later Phy- 
sicians of Shelby Comity— The Shelby County Medical Society— Present 
Physicians and Surgeons. 

The first disciples of Esculapius and Hippocrates to practice within the 
present limits of Shelby county did not have the advantages enjoyed by their 
brethren of the present day. One hundred years ago the practice of medi- 
cine was crude and unsatisfactory. It was the day of the lancet, calomel and 
jalap. People then were afflicted with many diseases arising largely from the 
climate and exposures. Doctors were few and ofttimes a half day's ride from 
the isolated cabin and not infrequently a swollen river intervened. They 
were men of the family physician type — a type which has almost passed 
away in these days of specialism. They did their work well and never 
flinched where duty called them. Their patients honored them as they did 
their priest or minister. They were the men who fought the scourging epi- 
demics of smallpox, black diphtheria, chills and fever and typhoid that were 
so prevalent. They did it the best they could with the means at their command. 
The prevailing diseases of the early days of county history were many. T,he 
winters were cold. Consumption was practically unknown among the pio- 
neers, croup was the terror of the household, rheumatism and, along the 
water courses, remitting and intermitting fevers including ague were com- 
mon. Dysentery occurred every summer in this locality, jaundice was com- 
mon and besides the scourge of smallpox, there were two invasions of 
cholera. Among the other diseases with which the first physicians had to 
contend were scrofula, rickets, scurvy, dropsy and apoplexy. Cancers were 
hardly known in the county then and insanity was very rare. No bills of 
mortality were kept in the early days, there were no boards of health, and 
the old doctors were not called upon to furnish mortuary statistics. The old- 
time medical profession of the county had an intense hatred of the charlatan 
or quack doctor who came to the surface now and then to the detriment of the 
regular profession. Drug stores were unknown and every family was largely 
its own doctor. 

Who has not heard of the thrifty housewife and her bowl of goose grease 
for smearing the children's throats, a custom which obtains to the present day. 
Each household had various remedies compounded from herbs and roots — 

256 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 257 

among which tansy, boneset, snakeroot and poke were favorites. Stim- 
ulants were found in the prickly ash, Indian turnip, sassafras, ginseng and the 
flower of the wild hops, tonics in the bark and flower of the dogwood, the 
rose willow, yellow poplar, the cucumber tree and the Spanish oak, while the 
red maple, wild cherry and crowfoot were regarded as astringents and so 
used. Almost every neighborhood had its "charm doctor" that claimed to 
be expert in the removal of ringworms, tetter, felon and the like. 

It mattered little how weak a patient might be he had to be bled. The 
bleeding process obtained in this county till long after the birth of the nine- 
teenth century. Sometimes, when they could be obtained, leeches were used 
in the practice of medicine to draw blood from the patient. They bled for 
croup, which was another name for diphtheria, and nothing was as efficacious 
for pneumonia. It is said that Washington was bled to death by his physicians. 

It must not be thought that the pioneer doctor was a man of little educa- 
tion. He was a man much ahead of his profession. He kept abreast of his 
time and especially in the therapeutics of the day. His stock of medicine came 
generally from the east, though in later years pharmacopoeias were estab- 
lished at Columbus and Cincinnati. For the remedies which he did not manu- 
facture himself he drew on the nearest medical depot and aside from jalap 
and calomel, he was dependent on his own resources. 

To the introduction of anaesthetics and antiseptics is due a complete 
revolution of earlier methods, complete reversal of mortuary statistics, and 
the complete relief of pain during surgical operations; in other words, to 
these two discoveries the human race owes more of the prolongation of life 
and relief of suffering than can ever be estimated or formulated in words. 
In the same class from the point of usefulness to mankind may be placed the 
discovery in recent years of the great value of antitoxin by 'Professor Von 
Behring of Berlin. To Lord Lester is due the great honor of the discovery, 
of antiseptics — a process that would avail against putrefaction and to Dr. 
William T. G. Morton the use of ether in surgery first proved to the world 
in 1846. On his tomb in Mount Auburn Cemetery in Boston is this self- 
explanatory inscription: 

"Inocutor and revealer of anaesthetic inhalation, before whom in all time 
surgery was agony, and by whom pain in surgery was averted and annulled ; 
since whom science has controlled pain." 

The two grandest medical discoveries of all time are of Anglo-Saxon 
origin — the one British, the other American. 

It would be next to impossible to qatalogue all the old physicians of the 
county. Some are forgotten and the record of them is but the slightest. 
They lived in the days of poor fees and hard work but this did not daunt them. 

The first practicing physician that settled in Shelby county was Dr. Wil- 
liam Fielding who settled in Sidney in 1824, shortly after its selection as the 
county seat. He was born May 1, 1796, in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, and 
after a full medical course, commenced the practice of his profession in 1816 
in Madison county, Ohio. He was in the War of 1812 and served six months 
under Colonel Johnston. In 1818 he went to Franklin and there practiced 



258 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

until coming to Sidney. Dr. Fielding was identified with church, state and 
.Masonic affairs as he was one of the ruling elders in the organization of tht 
Presbyterian church in 1825. He represented this county in the legislature 
for seven years both as senator and representative and was one of the original 
petitioners of Temperance Lodge No. 73, in 1825, was honored with being 
its first worshipful master, which position he held during his life at different 
nines for twenty-seven years. He was a thirty-third degree Mason and to 
this clay the brethren assemble in the lodge room on his birthday every year. 
His portrait in oil hangs on the walls of the temple. He was probably the 
most learned of the past physicians of the county, a fine scholar and deep 
thinker, a Lord Chesterfield in manners, immaculate in dress and his name 
tor nearly fifty years was a household word in Sidney and Shelby county. 
He was married in 1 8 1 8 and the father of twelve children, eleven of whom 
reached maturity. 

In 1830. when Sidney had a population of about one thousand, Dr. H. S. 
Conklin came to Sidney. The country for miles around was wild, the roads 
merely trails or paths through the forest and enough game remained in this 
section to furnish hunting grounds for a few Indians. A physician's practice 
extended over a large area and carried with it a great deal of genuine 
exposure and hardship. Sleep was often found in the saddle, while the 
saddle-bag-- were capacious enough to carry both medicines and surgical 
instruments. The subject of this sketch was born in Champaign county, 
Ohio, in 1814. and read medicine with Dr. Robert Rogers of " Springfield. 
He graduated from the Ohio Medical College at Cincinnati in 1836 and at 
once located in Sidney where he continued practising up to his death in 1890. 
lie was surgeon for the state militia for fifteen years and held the offices of 
president and vice president of the State Medical Society, and was surgeon 
with General Fremont during the war. He was largely instrumental in secur- 
ing the 1). and M. and C. C. C. and I. railways for Sidney. A great lover 
of line stuck, he indulged his fancy to the fullest extent. A man of splendid 
physicjue, with a mind so astute as to enable him to arrive at a diagnosis of 
a case with almost unerring correctness, he was wise in counsel and sought 
for all over the state. In 1838 he married Miss Ann Blake, a native of 
England and raised a family of three children. • 

Dr. Albert Wilson, the third son of Col. Jesse H. Wilson, one of the 
pioneers of Shelby county, was one of the early practitioners of the county, 
settling here in 1852. He was born September 14, 1826, studied medicine 
under Dr. H. S. Conklin, of Sidney, and graduated from the Ohio Medical 
College of Cincinnati in 185 1. In the spring of 1861 he entered the army 
as regimental surgeon and remained in the service four years and three months. 
He was the first volunteer from the town of Sidney having offered his service 
as surgeon within forty-eight hours after Lincoln's first call for troops. At 
the close of the war he returned to his practice in Sidney and in 1875 engaged 
in the drug trade in connection with his practice. In 1871 he married Miss 
Irene Ayres of Wapakoneta, and had one daughter,' Jessie Ayres Wilson. 
He possessed a strong physical organization coming from a hardy race of 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 259 

people, was loyal to his friends, honest and sincere, and his life was certainly 
an exemplary one. He died June 2, 1903. 

Another physician that was contemporaneous with our early practitioners 
was Dr. Park Beenian, a native of New York, who settled in Sidney in 1838. 
No data concerning the doctor can be found but it is recalled that he made 
surgery a specialty, was painstaking and honest and a man highly respected 
in the community for his deferential bearing to his elders and the sympathy 
and aid to the sick and unfortunate. One of his two daughters, Mrs. Glori- 
ana Driscoll, of Detroit, still survives him. 

While not contemporaneous with the old time practitioners of Shelby 
county il is thought best to enroll the name of Dr. D. R. Silver in the list of 
early physicians and his death a year ago, December 8, was sincerely 
mourned by the entire community. He was reared on a farm near Wooster, 
Ohio, where he was born April 1, 1844, and when eighteen years of age 
entered upon an academic course at Vermillion Institute in Haysville, Ohio. 
After finishing there he studied medicine in Wooster and then graduated from 
the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia in 1868. He came to Sidney 
in 1 87 1 from Apple Creek, Wayne county, where he had been practising and 
married Miss Jennie E. Fry of Sidney, June 2, 1872, and has had three 
children, two of whom survive, Edith and Arthur, the latter having taken up 
his father's practice since his death. 

Dr. Silver was possessed of an analytical mind, positive in his convic- 
tions and unswerving in his devotion to his principles. He was a stanch 
Republican in politics, an implacable enemy of the saloon and it is said his 
activity in the wet-and-dry campaign hastened his death. An orthodox Pres- 
byterian in which church he had been an elder since 18731 A member of 
the board of health of the city, identified with the schools as medical inspec- 
tor, in which capacities he made investigations of sanitary conditions and 
the laws of hygiene. The father of the Shelby County Medical Society and 
a member of the Ohio State Medical Society. 

One of the old school of physicians was Dr. Wilson V. Cowan, born near 
Urbana, Ohio. January 11, 1816. Atter receiving such instruction as the 
public schools afforded he attended Miami University taking a four years' 
course. He was a graduate of the Ohio Medical College of Cincinnati and 
in 1844 commenced the practice of his profession in Hardin, Turtle Creek, 
township, which he continued up to his death in 1874. He was elected to 
the lower house of general assembly in 1856 and in 1861 joined the Fremont 
Body Guards as assistant surgeon. He was surgeon of the 1st Ohio Cavalry 
and afterwards was made brigade surgeon. He was married in 1845 and had 
a family of eight children. 

He was an excellent physician, suave and gentle in his manners, kindly 
in the sick room and a charming entertainer in his home. A most ardent 
Methodist and a stanch Republican in politics. 

A doctor universally beloved by his community in, which he lived, whose 
home was noted for its old time hospitality, was John C. Leedow, who settled 
on a farm near New Palestine in Green township in 1842. He was born in 



260 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Bucks county, Pennsylvania, November 13, 1817, was educated in the Phila- 
delphia schools, and in the Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia. He 
was married in Pennsylvania in 1839 and had five children. He combined 
the business of farming in connection with his profession and was a most 
enterprising man keeping abreast of the times. A fine looking man of splendid 
physique, with most agreeable manners, he was truly a physician of the old 
school. He died at his home in Green township October 28, 1891. 

The first Doctor Hussey, we say first because two of his sons adopted the 
profession of their father, Allen, who practiced in Port Jefferson, and Millard 
F., who has a large practice in Sidney, came to Port Jefferson, Salem town- 
ship, in 1848. and thus is identified with the early history of the county. He 
was born Stephen C. of Irish parentage in Greene county, Ohio, in 1819, the 
third in a family of seven children., He was a graduate of Sturling Medical 
College, Columbus, and continued the practice of medicine until his death in 
1 87 1. In 1840 he married Miss Ann W'ical and raised a family of eleven 
children, ten of whom were living at his death. He was a man of genial 
disposition, positive in his convictions, a Democrat of the Jackson type, and 
one of the first officers in Stokes Lodge, No. 305, of F. and A. Masons. 

Dr. John L. Miller was another Port Jefferson practitioner, a student of 
Dr. S. C. Hussey, who enjoyed a lucrative practice in that community for 
many years. He was bom in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in 1833, and came to 
Salem township in 1854. After studying medicine there he attended Star- 
ling Medical College and commenced the practice of his profession in Port 
Jefferson in 1857. He married Miss Margaret Henry in 1858, and had two 
sons one of whom survives him. He was a physician of more than ordinary 
ability, of fine literary tastes, and his death which took place in 1906 at Dela- 
ware, where he passed the last few years of his life, was most sincerely 
mourned by his old friends. His body lies in Graceland cemetery. 

The Shelby County Medical Society was organized in 1871 and its founder 
was the late Dr. D. R. Silver. Its organization is on the plan adopted by the 
American Medical Association that is that the County Society is the unit of 
organization. It is a component part of the Ohio State Medical Association 
and also of the American Medical Association. Any member of the Shelby 
County Medical Society in good standing is a member of the Ohio State 
Medical Association and is likewise eligible to membership in the American 
Medical Association. The officers of the County Association are Lester C. 
Pepper, president: J. D. Geyer, vice president; Arthur Silver, secretary. 

LIST OF PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Sidnev— F. D. Anderson. Henrv E. Beebe, Hugh McDowell Beebe, W. D. 
Frederick. J. \Y. Costolo. J. D. Geyer, S. G. Goode, A. W. Grosvenor, A. B. 
Gudenkauf" A. W. Hobby, Flint C. Hubbell. B. S. Hunt, Millard T. Hussey. 
C. E. Johnston, Lester C. Pepper, A. W. Reddish,. B. M. Sharp, E. A. Yates. 
Osteopath, I-'. D. Clark. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 261 

Anna— C. W. B. Harbour, D. R. Millette. 

Botkins — Frederick McVay, G. M. Tate. 

Montra — C. M. Faulkner. 

Jackson Center — Arlington Ailes, Mary E. Hauver, J. M. Carter, 
Edward McBurney, Edgar McCormick. 

Maplewood — O. C. Wilson, Waldo N. Gaines, Dr. Elliott. 

Lockington — S. S. Gabriel. 

Houston — William Gaines. 

Newport — J. N. Strosnider. 

Kettlerville — O. O. Le Master. 

During the past century medical advance in the county has been great. 
The old system of practice has passed away and there remains of it at the 
present day nothing but a memory. It may be said in conclusion that the 
medical profession of the county has a record to be proud of and that it 
keeps in the foremost rank of research and discovery in its particular domain. 



CHAPTER XVI 

EDUCATION 

Lack of Educational Facilities in Early Days — The Old Log Schoolhouse 
— Introduction of Graded Schools — The Schools of Sidney and Shelby 
County — Superintendents and Teachers — The Nezv High School. 

SCHOOLS 

While the pioneers had a high appreciation of the value and necessity of 
the education of their children it is amazing how crude were their ideas of 
the essentials in the furtherance of it. With forests that were an encum- 
brance all around, they erected small, squatty school houses out of the logs. 
crow dint;- the pupils together on inconvenient and excruciating seats, paying 
no regard to their comfort. 

With land cheap and boundless in extent no yard which ought to have 
consisted of an acre or more furnished a play ground for the children, but 
the house was set as close to the highway as possible with a stake and ridered 
fence high and strong enough for a bull pen or a buffalo corral. 

The fact is the fathers and mothers did not stop to think that conveniences 
and beauty played any part in the right development of the mental and physi- 
cal man. and it is only in later years that parents have struck the right track. 

Public schools paid for by taxation were not known and teachers were 
remunerated by subscription and the fathers of large families kept up the 
schools while childless homes took no part in defraying the expenses. Large 
families were looked upon as blessings and were in the sparsely settled country 
but the burden of their educational support rested upon the comparatively 
poor and when a fund for the purpose was proposed it was largely antagonized 
by men of property. Happily things have changed and the children of the 
poor are educated without money and without price in buildings commodious 
and beautiful. 

Prior to the 2d day of January. 1S57, all the schools of Sidney were taught 
in private bouse-, or churches in different parts of the town, except one that 
was taught in a log house erected on the school lot given by the proprietor 
of the town 1 Mr. Sterrett). They were supported by private subscription, 
with the exception of a small fund from the state and a fund arising from 
the rent of a farm donated to the Sidney schools by Win. Covill in 1843. There 
was no system of graded schools until after the erection of the present Union 
school building in iS;0. In 1855 the board of education of the school district 

262 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 263 

determined to take steps toward the erection of a Union school building. 
Accordingly it was ordered that the clerk of the board should give the requisite 
notice to the voters of Sidney and the territory thereto annexed for school 
purposes, to assemble at the courthouse and vote upon a proposition to levy a 
tax of $12,000, payable in three annual installments, commencing in 1856, 
and t<~> issue corporation bonds therefor, bearing seven per cent, interest, for 
the purpose of building a schoolhouse in said village and buying the necessary 
grounds upon which to erect it. It was also stipulated in the notice through 
the public prints that if the school tax should carry, the qualified voters of the 
district should have the right of voting on the location of the school building. 
Accordingly, as per notice, a vote was taken on the 30th day of April, 1855; 
the result of the vote was 134 in favor of school tax and 79 against. There 
was a great strife in the selection of the site. A number of propositions were 
made by different persons in different parts of the town, and it was some 
length of time before a site was selected; finally, lot No. 106 and the west half 
of lot 105 were selected and purchased from Birch & Peebles at a cost of about 
$2,100. The east half of lot 105 had been given to the town by its proprietor 
for school purposes. Upon these lots a brick building, 90x64 feet and three 
stories high (beside basement) was erected at a cost of about $18,000. The 
building was not ready for occupancy until the 1st of January, 1857. At the 
completon of the building only eight rooms ( four in the first and four in the 
second story) were fitted for schoolrooms; the third story was used as a hall 
for several years. As soon as necessity demanded, the third story was divided 
into four rooms, making in all twelve rooms. In the year 1828 Win. Covill 
came from England to the United States, and for a few years stopped in the 
state of New York, but prior to 1840 he came to Shelby County, O., and bought 
the northeast quarter of section 26, in Clinton township. Some time prior 
to his death (which occurred in July, 1843), he bequeathed to the common 
schools of the town of Sidney this piece of land, which the board of education 
accepted, and gave a lease of the same for ninety-nine years. The fund aris- 
ing from the lease of said land has, since that time, been used in the mainte- 
nance of the schools in the town of Sidney. 

In the fall of i860 Gideon Wright (an early settler of Shelby county) 
gave to the Sidney school district (by verbal will) $500, with the expressed 
desire that the principal should be safely invested, and the interest arising from 
the same should be used by said district for tuition purposes. The condition of 
said donation was, that the schools were to grant to the descendants of said 
Wright one perpetual scholarship in the Union schools of said district. This 
donation was accepted, and the clerk was ordered to issue a certificate of 
scholarship in favor of the heirs of Gideon Wright. The above $500 were 
invested in United States bond No. 9427, bearing six per cent, interest. 

The first superintendent employed in the schools was Joseph Shaw of Belle- 
fontaine, Ohio, at a salary of $800 a year. The schools were opened on the 
second day of January, 1857, with J. S. Driscoll at the, head of the Mathema- 
tical department, Miss Harriet Chapin, teacher of sixth room, Miss Louisa 
Knox of the fifth. Miss Man' Nettleton, fourth, Miss Charlotte Swan, third. 



264 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Miss Martha Crow ell, second, and Miss Arnett, primary. Although no room 
had heen set aside especially for high school work yet a course had been 
arranged at the commencement of school and the records give the names of 
Jennie K. Cummins and John B. McPherson, now United States district judge 
at Philadelphia, as having completed the curriculum of study but either from 
a scarcity of funds or lack of interest no diplomas were issued. 

Superintendent Shaw was succeeded by Ira W. Allen and he in turn by 
W. H. Schuyler. Then in succession came Benjamin S. McFarland, S. S.-Tay- 
lor, X. S. Hanson, W. C. Catlin, J. M. Allen, J. D. Critchfield, A. S. Moore, 
T. C. Harper. George Turner, R. E. Page, A. B. Cole, Van B. Baker, J. N. 
Barns P. W. Search, M. A. Yarnell, E. C. Cox, M. E Hard and the present 
superintendent. H. R. McVay, who took the management of the Sidney schools 
in September, 1902. and has had the longest term of service in their history. 
Mr. McVay was born April 14, 1865, on a farm in Athens county, and grad- 
uated from the Ohio University at Athens in 1890. 

Tlie schools of Sidney have never taken backward steps; they are there- 
fore today in better condition than ever before. The common schools have 
grown to exceed the wildest guess of those in charge but a few years ago. At 
the present time there are more than 1,200 pupils enrolled in the various build- 
ings with an attendance which will reach 250 in the high school this year of 
19 1 2, showing an increase of more than a hundred per cent in the last ten years. 
There are 40 teachers employed, 10 making the high school faculty. Mr. 
McVay lias a most efficient assistant in Lee A. Dollinger, principal of the high 
scIk m! now entering on his seventh year in that capacity. Genial and 
sympathetic lie is a hoy with the boys but always maintains his dignity and 
has the respect and love of his pupils. 

Besides the building described above which is known as the Central school 
now we have the first, second, third and fourth ward schools, all taxed to the 
extent of their capacity. 

In [904 the high school was removed from the Central building to the 
fourth ward school as a precautionary measure on account of the unsafe con- 
dition of its upper story which was condemned by the state department. 

In [91 1 the city council recognizing the need of a new high school build- 
ing gave to the board of education the title to the grounds a little less than 
two acres, of the old Presbyterian graveyard long since abandoned, just east 
of the church of that denomination. The consideration was $[.500 and all 
expenses incurred in exhuming of the bodies. This ground was donated to 
the town of Sidney by Charles Sterrett, September 24. 1819, in a proposition 
which he made to the commissioners of Shell)}- county in which he gave 70 
acres of land to the county, the consideration being that the seat of justice 
be moved from Hardin to Sidney and that he be given one-half the proceeds 
of the sales of the lots after the said county laid them off and sold them — a 
good business proposition considering the fact that the land had been worth 
about $8.00 an acre. In a reservation made December 14, 1819, one acre 
each was set apart for two different religious societies for graveyards. 

At the regular election Tuesday, November 7, 191 1, the voters of Sidney, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 265 

after a vigorous campaign, conducted by Superintendent McVay with the help 
of the teachers and pupils voted to issue bonds to the extent of $100,000 for 
the purpose of erecting a new high school building on lot 113, better known 
as the old Presbyterian graveyard. Sidney's school property now is listed 
at $74,000; after June, 1913, when the new high school is to be completed, it 
will probably be valued at more than $200,000. 

The architect selected for the work is Frank L. Packard, of Columbus, 
with H. L. Loudenback, of Sidney, as superintendent of construction. The 
style affected is a modified type of English Gothic enabling the free use of 
large window areas, straightforward architecturally, representing and express- 
ing from the outside the purpose of the interior. There are two openings to 
the south and two to the north, at the extreme ends of the stair corridors which 
are 14 feet wide, extending through the building from south to north. The 
main facade of building has a frontage of 166 feet and will face south. The 
east and west pavilions will be 104 feet over all and 44 feet wide. The extreme 
depth north and south will be 170 feet. 

The plans as proposed make provision for the following rooms with their 
minor sub-divisions: two study halls with total provision for 400 students; 
seven recitation rooms; a large room for mathematics; commercial depart- 
ment ; domestic science department and manual training department ; offices for 
the board of education, superintendent and principal ; laboratories for chemis- 
try and physics with lecture room between laboratories for biology, botany 
and agriculture, a gymnasium with locker rooms and shower baths: retiring 
room for men and women teachers; toilet facilities and coat rooms; an 
assembly hall seating 800 inclusive of the balcony; drinking fountains, elec- 
tric clocks and everything that is pertinent to education. 

The materials contemplated for the exterior of the buildings are Egyptian 
tapestry brick set in dark mortar with stone copings, sills, water tabbs, 
approaches, etc. 

The floors throughout will be reinforced concrete or tile arch construction, 
the finished floors of hard wood, the stairways of iron or reinforced concrete. 
The heating and ventilating apparatus installed to be of an approved mechani- 
cal system, guaranteeing 40 cubic feet of fresh air per pupil per minute, 
and to be operated by automatic regulation. The high school building is being 
made as attractive as possible to compete with the attractions offered in a 
business way to the young people for boys and girls have no trouble in get- 
ting employment in the factories and the temptation is great to stop school. 

The character of the teachers employed in these schools is better with each 
succeeding year. All of the later additions have been recruited from the Nor- 
mal schools. These bring with them the latest ideas which soon permeate 
the whole school, it being frequently found that the older teachers can make 
better use of these than can those who introduce them. All are required by 
regular and systematic reading of the newest and best things in school litera- 
ture and by attendance at state and county teachers' meetings to keep up-to- 
date and to meet the ever growing requirements of a'n increasingly intelligent 
citizenship. 



266 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The broader meaning of the value of school property is being recognized 
and school property in out of school hours is being devoted to the public good. 
Mr. McVay has done much in furthering things that are useful in socializing 
the children and their parents in the community. 

That the work of the school is done according to generally accepted stand- 
ards is proved by the fact that it is ranked by the state commissioner of com- 
mon schools as of the first grade, that the school holds membership in the 
Northwestern Association of College and Secondary schools and that the 
colleges of Ohio accept its graduates without examination. 

TOWNSHIP SCHOOL STATISTICS 

Clinton township: Number of schoolhouses, 5; teachers, 5; enroll- 
ment, 150; total tax levy for 19 12, $0,002; local taxes for school pur- 
poses, $2,784.88; received from state common school fund, $382.00; re- 
ceived from other state funds, $153.01 ; total receipts, $3,319.98; total expen- 
diture, $3,136.45; valuation of school property, $4,000.00. 

Cynthian township: Number of schoolhouses, 2; teachers, 3; en- 
rollment, 81; total tax levy for 1912, $0.0038; received from state com- 
mon school fund, $146.00; local taxes for school purposes, $635.00; re- 
ceived from other funds $23.83; total receipts, $891.88; total expendi- 
ture, $934.19; total value of school property, $1,800.00. 

Dinsmore township: Schoolhouses, 7; teachers, 7; enrollment, 180; 
total tax levy for school purpose in 1912, $0.0028; local taxes for school 
purposes, $3,687.80; received from state common school fund, $428.00; 
received from other funds. $191.02; total receipts, $4,472.14; total expendi- 
ture, $3,904.95 ; total valuation of school property, $1 2,000. 

Franklin township: Number of schoolhouses, 8; teachers, 8; total en- 
rollment. 167; total tax levy, $0.0024; local taxes for school purposes', 
$4,777.32; received from state common school fund, $442.00; received from 
other funds, $113.77; total receipts, $5,379.32; total expenditure, $4,555.33; 
total value of school property, $27,500.00. 

Green township: Number of schools, 5; number of teachers, 5; total 
enrollment, 183; total tax levy for 1912, $0,002; local taxes for school 
purposes. $4,094.65; received from state common school fund, $528.00; 
received from other funds. $279.18; total receipts, $5,204.60; total expen- 
ditures, $4,993.93; total value of school property, $9,700.00. 

Jackson township: Number of schools, 9; number of teachers, 9; 
total enrollment, 235; local taxes for school purposes, $1,491.00; received 
from state common school fund, $676.00; total tax levy, $0,001; total 
receipts, $2,516.77; total expenditures $4,987.26; total valuation of school 
property, $12,000. 

Orange township: Number of schoolhouses, 6; number of teachers, 
6; total enrollment, 165; total tax levy for 191 2, $0,002; local taxes for 
school purposes, $2,6X1.77; received from state common school fund, 
$362.00: received from other funds, $135.85; total receipts, $3,701.88; 
total expenditures, $4,763.29. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



267 



r<s>-gxy-*r : 









g „ N ,o *„„<, c-~« MfJ o 8 

H. O O M 'j; » CC^J - vl "Ji On O OCO 31 »u! - - 4- - OOCCfg ~ Oj 4 ~ £ rvj i^ QO-K 

tlirliilliiiifrilriilliiiiiriiriii! 

8 8 ,8 8 8 8 1 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 § 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 3 § 8 8 8 

00 n CT\4iOj<_n 10 5o^ lo u, 10 o\ 4» M *• O 0>N 00 OiOi" 11 00W 

H « « to 4i -CjmOjK) N 

C\"to "fe. "i ui *■ "fe J- Ui 4- 4- - Oj 4^ Cn Ln Oj f- 4- O boi- wioU^OiOj 10 A -t' 4» *. <b 
4- 5 r « VO '-J ^P O ~ C^ 4- ui "^ v£ VI VI VI t- L« v, GO-^ I- 3 4- 4- ■-" vl C (- 00t-n Cn Ui 

bio's* i j ~ -S ~ - cji - c vd be c cf c c - --> •* Oi L •-- m»ib b\ui vi 60 

O^O'i OO'O ^j '^ tv GCOMG ~ O SC r -n '-n '^ NO £ X4- O On O O 0>V1 VHO O QO" M 
OOpOUOfO O.00OI. OOO O O »U OSX p 4- 0V04. S\ CO 00 to 004- O to 4- 

8 888888 8 8 8 8888888888888 8 8888888888 

§>« - bS^ "a«S^ S^ 5><- 86 Bfc«K Sxff&iiSt-* 004.Sc 8§ 
S^tb 8&fc S 53 is 5 &t fc$ S S3 %5 it && fi? 5 t £ V3 "S &fc frg^S I?S 

-hh -. ~ 0\ 4* -. Jx Cn Co Co m 

bltn'ji O OO'J? vi vj onm 4* Cn OO O-U vj ^ " N ?ȣ, ^ <o (j (j, Oi A U (ji (fl Ui On'*-' 
to I. —4-4- Co nO O C\V] r_n to O - O '-" J- '? ^ f -/i 00'-" -*■" CO- i- N'^ '^.O WUi fl -< 

\0 o N '-~ co - .-■-»- a. to to on o on o Q co p o oocn o Co vj i w _ c cevi *. w owoo 

00 b CVjj :X '- nO "M L 72 to Cn '- b ~ Co Co nO to bovi Co oo Onvj b NO \D Co bo-fe. UOiCn 
4*H , JiooO p '-t-a ONCn O O CO vj vj O Cn ON to ONOOtO MM 5 O Cn NO — Cn Cn OnnO 

vp 1- pN4- O v l^ ON ONOo NO CO^O Co 00 cn OOto 1- W OOUN h -p 00-h jo 00»0«vj 
W O ^'J' - 'Ji -- O Oi Co to 4- C '1/1 tO Q\vi Cn ON Q sO -< ON OncVi bCovjji K)dn\bCo to 
Co vj 00 4_ t^ CO CT\ cc O Ocnv) O ty C CO O ^ Oj On OOCo vj — Co Co O Co O Onvj O Co Cn 



No. of 
Schoolhouses 



No. of 
Teachers 



Total Value of 
School Property 



Local Taxes 
for School 
Purposes 



Received from 
State Common 
School Fund 



Received from 
Other School 
Funds 



Total 
Receipts 



Total 
Expenses 



268 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Perry township: Number of schoolhouses, 7; teachers, 8; total en- 
rollment, 200; total tax levy for 1912, $0.0028; local taxes for school 
purposes, $6,380.36; received from state common school fund, $450.00; 
received from other funds, $178.95; total receipts, $7,279.02; total expen- 
ditures, $5,471.48. 

Salem township; Number of schoolhouses, 7; teachers, 7; total en- 
rollment. 112; total tax levy for 1912, $0.0021; local taxes for school 
purposes. $2,476.75; received from state common school fund, $384.00; 
received from other state funds, $182.69; total receipts, $3,126.31; total 
expenditures, S4.006.91. 

Turtle Creek township: Number of schoolhouses, 7; number of 
teachers 7; total enrollment, r.61 ; total tax levy for 1912, $0,003; local 
taxes for school purpose's, S3. 360. 72; received from state common school 
fund, $380.00; received from other state funds, $64.53; tota l receipts, 
$3,862.45; total expenditures, $3,750.27. 

Van Buren township. Number of schoolhouses, 10; number of 
teachers, 10; total enrollment, 495; total tax levy for 1912, $0.0017; local 
taxes for school purposes, $4,075.44; received from state common school 
fund, $996.00; received from other state funds, $373.96; total receipts, 
$5,4X1.10; total expenditures, $5,054.67; total value of school property, 
$15,000.00. 

Washington township. Number of schoolhouses, 6; number of 
teachers. 6; total enrollment, 118; tax levy for 1912, $0.0016; local taxes 
for school purposes, $1,741.78; received from state common school fund, 
$312.00; received from other state funds, $415.79; total receipts. 
$2.562.85 ; total expenditures, $3.379.32 : total value of school property. 
$7,200.00. 

Superintendents or principals of schools in Shelby county: H: R. 
McVay, Sidney; A. A. Hoover, Anna; W. C. King, Botkins : YV. G. 
Polan, Jackson Center; O. L. Simmons, Houston; Mary L. Patton, 
Lockington. 



CHAPTER XVII 

MILITARY RECORD 

Shelby County in the Civil War — Regimental Histories — Neal Post, G. A. 
R. — Company L. in the Spanish- American War. 

"How sleep the brave who sink to rest 
By all their country's wishes blessed! 
When Spring, with dewy fingers cold, 
Returns to deck their hallowed mold; 
She there shall dress a sweeter sod. 
Than Fancy's feet have ever trod. 

"By fairy hands their knell is rung; 
By forms unseen their dirge is sung ; 
There Honor comes a pilgrim gray. 
To bless the turf that wraps their clay; 
And Freedom shall awhile repair 
To dwell a weeping hermit there!'' 

Shelby county need not be ashamed of her part in suppressing the war 
of the rebellion as is shown in the history of her soldiers taken from the mili- 
tary record. 

FIFTEENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY. 

This regiment was organized at Camp Jackson, near Columbus, O., 
May 4, 1 86 1 , but a few days later moved to Camp Goddard at Zanesville, 
where preparations were made for field service. It was then ordered into 
West Virginia on guard duty on the Baltimore & Ohio Railway, and 
advanced as far as Grafton. It took part in the engagements at Philippi, 
Laurel Hill, and Garrick's Ford, and at the expiration of the term of enlist- 
ment was discharged. about the ist of August, 1861. 

The next call of the president was for three hundred thousand men for 
three years, and the old Fifteenth responded almost unanimously. It was 
then reorganized at Camp Modecai Bartley, near Mansfield, and moved to 
Camp Dennison, September 26, 1861. On the 4th of October the regiment 
went to Lexington, Ky., but eight days later moved to Camp Nevin, near 
Nolin's Station, by way of Louisville. It was here assigned to the Sixth 
Brigade, commanded by Gen. R. W. Johnston, of the Second Division, under 
command of Gen. A. McD. McCook, of the Army of the Ohio, then under Gen- 
eral Sherman. On the 9th of December, 1861, the division moved out to Bacon 
Creek, and the next day the brigade occupied Mumfordsville. On the 14th 



270 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

of the month the division broke camp to move against Fort Donelson, but 
learning of the fall of that fort, a march was made to Bowling Green, and 
Nashville was finally reached on the 2d of March. Here a camp was formed, 
but on the 16th the march to Savannah began, that place being reached on the 
night of April 6. The next morning the Fifteenth marched to the battle 
ground, and remained in the engagement from noon till 4 o'clock, when 
the enemy fell back. In this engagement the regiment lost six men killed 
and sixty-two wounded. 

At Corinth the Second Division formed the reserve force, and so did 
not move to the front until the 27th of May. It next marched to Bat- 
tle Creek, Term., where it arrived on the 18th of July. Here it remained 
until the 20th of August, when it moved to Altemonte, and from here to 
Nashville, which place was reached on the 8th of September. Again it 
moved out, and on the 25th reached Louisville. The division next pursued 
Bragg as far as Orchard Knob, and then marched to Nashville, November 7, 
1862. On the 26th of December the army advanced upon Murfreesboro', and 
in the battle of Stone River tire Fifteenth Regiment lost eighteen killed and 
eighty-nine wounded. 

On the 24th of July. 1863, an advance was made on Tullahoma and 
Shelbyville, and in the engagements which followed this regiment took a 
very prominent part. The division afterward moved to Bellefonte, Ala., 
which place was reached August 22, and on the 2d of September the march 
was continued in the direction of Rome, and on the nth the division took 
position with the main army in Lookout Valley. Here the regiment occu- 
pied the extreme right flank until the morning of the 19th, when it marched 
tnr the liattle-field of Chickamauga. and was engaged immediately upon its 
arrival. 

It then took part in the siege of Chattanooga and the assault on Mission 
Ridge. We next find it with the First Brigade, Third Division, Fourth 
Army Corps, marching to the relief of Knoxville, Tenn., where it arrived 
on the 8th of December, and on the 20th the command moved to Straw- 
berry Plains. In January, 1864, the greater portion of the regiment re-en- 
listed and started to Columbus, O., via Chattanooga, to receive furloughs. 
On the 10th of February the regiment reached Columbus three hundred 
and fifty veterans strong, and on the 12th the whole regiment was fur- 
loughed. 

They next appear at Camp Chase on the 4th of March recruited to the 
strength of nearly nine hundred men. The regiment reached Nashville 
in March and Chattanooga on the 5th of April. On the 8th it went to 
Cleveland, Tenn., and to McDonald's Station on the 20th, where it remained 
until the spring campaign. On the 3d of May camp was broken and the regi- 
ment joined the army of Sherman at Tunnel Hill. The regiment afterward 
participated in the battle of Resaca, and again in that of Dallas, in which it 
lost nineteen men killed, three officers, and sixty-one privates wounded and 
nineteen missing, who were supposed to be killed or desperately wounded. 
The coh.r guard, with the exception of one corporal, were all killed or 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 271 

wounded, but one corporal, David Hart, of Company I, brought the colors 
safely from the field. The army next moved to Kenesaw Mountain, and 
on the 14th of June the regiment lost one man killed and five wounded from 
Company A. 

The regiment next crossed the Chattahoochee and finally appeared before 
Atlanta. After operating on the rear of Atlanta the regiment was marched 
to the relief of Resaca, and finally to Columbia. At Nashville the regiment 
formed the extreme left of the army. It next moved against the enemy's 
position on the Franklin Pike. After following the enemy to Lexington, 
-\la.. it went into camp at Bird Springs. It next moved to New Market, 
Tenn., in March, and then to Greenville to guard against the escape of Lee 
and Johnston, who were being pressed by Grant and Sherman. In April it 
was ordered back to Nashville, which place was reached about the 1st of 
May. 1865. Here the regiment lay in camp until the 16th of June, when it 
was ordered to Texas. On the 9th of July it reached Indianola, Texas, and 
the same night marched to Green Lake. Here the regiment lay until about 
the 10th of August, when it marched toward San Antonio. On the 21st it 
reached the Salado, near San Antonio, where it lay until October 20. when 
it entered upon post duty in the city. Here the regiment remained until the 
2 1 st of November, when it was mustered out and ordered to Columbus, O., 
for final discharge. Leaving San Antonio on the 24th of November the 
regiment reached Columbus, December 25, and was discharged on the 27th 
after a period of four years and eight months' service. 

Company I, Fifteenth Regiment O. V. I. 

Henry Fletcher. 

Lucas Borer, killed December 31, 1862, at Stone River. 

John W. Clearity, killed at Stone River. 

Aaron Rambo, sergeant; discharged 1865. 

Frank H. Riggs: discharged September 13, 1863. 

Henry Seiters; discharged August, 1862. 

L. F. Kerkendall, corporal. 

James C. Delancy; taken prisoner at Stone River, June, 1865. 

John H. Seiter, corporal, November, 1862. 

William Price, wagoner. February, 1863. 

William Ash: wounded at Chickamauga July, 1864. 

Alva Anderson: taken prisoner at Stone River September, 1863. 

Charles Baldwin. May 17, 1862, Shiloh. 

Samuel Couter ; taken prisoner at Stone River September 20, 1864. 

David Fletcher, May 5, 1863. 

Samuel Fletcher. 

F. Fire, November, 1861. 

Benj. Gallatine: wounded at Pickett's Mills May, 1864. 

James Guthrie; taken prisoner at Stone River September, 1864. 

Martin Haw ver. September. 1864. 

S. B. Hoadley, February. 1863. 



■27-2 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

George L. Hersluser ; taken prisoner at Chickamauga September, 1863. 
Wellington Lathrops, September, 1862. 
Andrew Larick . September, 1864. 
l'rvin I. Mellard. November, 1861. 
Isaac A. Myers, February, 1863. 
Joseph Mortimore, April, 1863. 

William Morton ; wounded at Stone River September, 1864. 
Joseph E. Meek ; wounded and taken prisoner at Stone River September, 
1864. 

Thomas S. Hart, May, 1865. 

George W. Rockwell; taken prisoner at Stone River September, 1864. 

Gardner Sawyer; taken prisoner at Stone River September, 1864. 

George F. Summers; taken prisoner at Stone River June, 1863. 

John A. White. May. 1862. 

John F. White; taken prisoner at Stone River September, 1864. 

"William Winton, March. 1863. 

Winfield G. White; wounded at Stone River September, 1864. 

TWENTIETH OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY 

The Twentieth Ohio was recruited for three months in May, 1861, and 
reorganized at Camp King, Kentucky, October 21, 1861. The commanding 
officer was Col. Charles Whittlesey, of Ohio, who was a graduate of West 
Point, and had won great distinction as an engineer and geologist in the 
Superior region. During the winter of 1861-62 the regiment guarded sev- 
eral batteries in the rear of Covington and Newport, Ky., and at one time 
four companies were sent to quell an insurrection in the region of Warsaw. 

On February 11, 1862, the regiment embarked on the steamers Emma 
Duncan and Doctor Kane for the Cumberland River. It reached Fort Don- 
elson on the 14th of February, and went under fire the next day. It marched 
to the extreme right and went into a reserve position. After the battle 
the regiment was sent north in charge of prisoners, and so became greatly 
scattered. Soon afterward seven companies were brought together and 
went up the Tennessee on the expedition to Yellow Creek, on the steamer 
Continental, on which General Sherman had headquarters. 

On the 6th of April, while on inspection at Adamsville, the regiment 
heard the guns at Pittsburg Landing, and at 3 P. M. marched to the field and 
went into position on the right of the army. It participated in the fight 
of the next day and is entitled to share in the glory of that victory. During 
the engagement it was under command of Lieutenant-Colonel Force, Colonel 
Whittlesey being in command of a brigade. During the advance on Corinth 
the regiment remained on duty at Pittsburg Landing. After the fall of Corinth 
the regiment went to Purdy, where it joined its division, marched to Bolivar, 
and became a part of that garrison of June 6, 1862. 

On August 30, 1862, the Rebel General Armstrong, with fifteen regi- 
ments on an expedition northward, was held in check a whole day by 
'the Twentieth Ohio, a portion of the Seventy-eighth Ohio, and two com- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 273 

panies of the Second Illinois Cavalry. Late in the afternoon two companies, 
G and K, of this regiment were captured by a cavalry charge, but not until 
they had repulsed two charges. For their courage on this occasion the 
officers and troops were highly commended. The regiment next assisted in 
driving Price from Iuka on the 20th of September. On November 28th it 
marched south from Lagrange in the Second Brigade of Logan's Division, 
and on the 4th of December entered Oxford, Miss. 

About this time the Seventeenth Army Corps was organized, and 
Logan's Division became the Third of the corps. By slow marches the 
Twentieth reached Memphis on January 28, 1863, and was reinforced by 
two hundred men. On February 22 the regiment moved down the Mis- 
sissippi on the steamer Louisiana, landed at Lake Providence, and a few 
weeks later marched to the relief of Porter's fleet, blockaded in Steele's 
Bayou, and after three days in the swamps, returned to camp. 

On May 12 the Twentieth deployed in advance of the corps toward Ray- 
mond, Mississippi, and while resting with stacked arms, was fired upon from 
a thicket beyond a stream. The regiment at once formed and advanced, 
using the opposite bank of the stream as a breastwork. A severe struggle 
ensued for an hour, during which the Twentieth was exposed to a cross-fire. 
Every man stood firm until the Rebels were compelled to yield. The regi- 
ment lost twelve killed and fifty-two wounded. Private Canavan, of Com- 
pany E, was promoted to a sergeantcy on the field for skilful management 
of the company after the other officers and sergeants were disabled. Captain 
Wilson was decorated with the Seventeenth Corps Medal of Honor for 
gallantry in assembling his skirmishers under the very muzzles of the enemy's 
guns during the first charge. Lieutenant YVeatherby, of Company A, being 
on the extreme right of the skirmish line with his company,' and being cut 
off from his regiment, assembled his company, and reported to the colonel of 
the nearest regiment — the Eighty-first Illinois — and fought as a part of that 
regiment. The Eighty-first showed their appreciation of its services by giv- 
ing three hearty cheers for the "Twentieth Ohio Boys." Again the regi- 
ment moved from point to point and engaged from time to time in skirm- 
ishes, until we find it in the rear of Vicksburg, where it acted as support 
to an assaulting party on May 21. Here it continued at work until May 29, 
when with a brigade it withdrew from line and went on an expedition to the 
Yazoo Valley. On the 4th of June it had returned and was in reserve at 
Vicksburg. On the 26th of June the regiment withdrew to Tiffin with the 
Second Brigade to watch the movements of Johnston. After the fall of 
Vicksburg the regiment camped at Bovina Station, but was soon ordered to 
join Sherman's army then besieging Jackson. 

In January, 1864, two-thirds of the men re-enlisted, and on the 8th of 
February the regiment crossed Big Black and joined the Meridian expedi- 
tion. Arriving at Meridian, the regiment assisted in destroying railroads and 
then marched to Chunkey Creek. The regiment afterward went north on 
furlough, and after thirty days rendezvoused at Camp Dennison on the 1st 
of May, and proceeded to Cairo, and from there by steamer to Clifton, Tenn. 
From here it marched, via Pulaski, Huntsville, Decatur, and Rome, to 



i>74 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Acworth. where it joined General Sherman on the 9th of June after a march 
of two hundred and fifty miles. After some skirmishes, the regiment 
appeared before the Rebel works at Atlanta on the 20th of July. The regi- 
ment took position in the advanced line on the 21st. and on the next day 
firing was heard to its rear. It formed in the works, the Rebels advanced, 
and the men leaped the parapet and faced the enemy. The Rebels pressed 
around the regiment and bullets came from front, flank, and rear. The 
Twentieth delivered their fire wherever the strength of the Rebels appeared 
until cartridges became scarce, when portions of Companies A, F, and D 
risked life and obtained, in the face of the enemy, five cases of ammunition. 
Even this was insufficient, and the ammunition of the wounded and dead was 
distributed, and charges made to capture Rebels for the sake of their car- 
tridges. The liatteries in Atlanta threw shell upon the rear of the brigade, the 
enemy redoubled the fire in front, and placing a captured gun within fifty 
paces of the flank of the Twentieth, raked the regiment with canister. Orders 
rami- to retire, and the men withdrew to form a new line, firing their last 
cartridge as they withdrew. In the new line the Twentieth was placed in 
reserve except a detachment of one hundred men who were posted in the 
works on Force's Hill, and fought desperately until the close of the battle. 
In this engagement the Twentieth lost forty-four men killed, fifty-six 
wounded, and fifty-four missing. Many instances of personal daring were 
mentioned, among which were Lieutenant Nutt, of Company F; Skillen, of 
Company G; Privates Crabbe and Casey of Company C; Elder, of Company 
G; and Speker and Stevenson of Company F, especially distinguished them- 
selves. 

The regiment changed about until the 24th of August, when it received 
orders to march as guard to the supply trains of the Army of the Tennessee. 
Four days later it joined its brigade at Fairburn and assisted in destroying 
railroads. It went into battle at Tonesboro' on the 31st, and as "refused 
flank" was exposed to a heavy artillery fire. It then went to Lovejoy's Sta- 
tion, but a few days later went into camp near Atlanta. On the 5th of 
October it engaged in the pursuit of Hood and at Galesburg turned back, and 
on November 5th again went into camp near Atlanta. It left Atlanta with 
Sherman's army November 15 for Savannah, participated in the destruction 
of Alillan. Ga.. and reaching Savannah, went into position on the right of 
the Seventeenth Corps. On December 19th it was detached and sent to 
Ogeechee. where it engaged in building wharves for the landing of supplies. 
The work was ended by the surrender of Savannah and the regiment rejoined 
the brigade December 24th in camp at the outskirts of the city. 

On January 5. 1865, the regiment embarked on the steamer Fanny and 
proceeded to Beaufort, S. C, crossed Port Royal Ferry, and advanced until 
the enemv was found entrenched beyond a rice swamp. The Twentieth 
deployed as skirmishers, charged the enemy's works in splendid style, and 
the regimental colors were soon waving from the parapet. At dark the 
troops encamped before the fortifications of Pocotaligo, and on the morn- 
ing of the 13th of January the regiment was assigned camping ground 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 275 

beyond the railroad station of Pocotaligo, and remained there until the 30th, 
when it joined the Carolina campaign. The head of the column struck the 
enemy on February 3d near the north Edisto bridge at Orangeburg, and two 
companies of the Twentieth were deployed as skirmishers. Soon the regi- 
ment advanced at double-quick and drove the enemy back to their fortifica- 
tions, from which they opened fire. The regiment deployed as skirmishers, 
advanced through an ice-cold and waist-deep swamp, opened fire on the ene- 
my and held the position until relieved in the evening. The next day the 
river was crossed and the railroad destroyed. Reached Columbia the night 
of its destruction, and the next morning marched through its smoking ruins 
and destroyed the railroad as far as Winnsboro'. On the 24th was left in 
rear of the whole army to guard the pontoon train, and after a hard march 
entered Cheraw March 3d and Bennettsville on the 6th. On the 20th of 
March Bentonville was reached, and on the 24th the regiment entered 
Goldsboro'. Two weeks later the regiment pushed to Raleigh, and on the 
15th of April moved toward Johnston's army. It became known that John- 
ston had asked terms of surrender, the men went into ecstasies of joy, and 
even stood on their heads in the mud as they contemplated the final scene of 
the war. Leaving Raleigh on the 1st of May the regiment marched via 
Richmond to Washington, participated in the grand review, May 24th, was 
sent to Louisville, Ky., and on the 18th of July returned to Columbus and 
was mustered out of the service. 

The whole history of this regiment is creditable to the men, to the officers, 
and to the nation. 

Field and Staff Officers 

Charles Whittlesey, colonel, August, 1861-April, 1862. 

Manning F. Force, colonel, April, 1862; promoted to brigadier-general. 

Harrison Wilson, colonel, June, 1865; mustered out with regiment. 

John C. Fry, colonel, January, 1864; resigned 1864. 

Harrison Wilson, lieutenant-colonel. 

Peter Weatherby, major. 

Henry O. Dwight, first lieutenant and adjutant. 

John W. Skillen, first lieutenant and quartermaster. 

Henry P. Fricker, surgeon. 

James W. Guthrie, assistant surgeon. 

James Knapp, J. W. Alderman, Chaplain. 

William A. Nutt, sergeant-major. 

Hiram H. Varner, quartermaster sergeant. 

Henry V. Wilson, commissary-sergeant. 

Company B, Twentieth Regiment, O. V. I. 

John C. Fry, major, August 18, 1861 ; discharged April 19, 1863. 

Andrew J. Edwards, captain; resigned April 14, 1863. 

Russell B. Neal, first lieutenant, January 1, 1862-January 5, 1865. 



276 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Reuben M. Colby, first lieutenant, January 5, 1863. 

William A. Skillen, sergeant. 

Isaac H. Coy, sergeant, October 25, 1862. 

Samuel W. Dickerson, corporal. 

John C. Sullivan, musician, July 14, 1862. 

Perry Burch, private, August 18, 1861-May 5, 1862, at Shiloh, Tenn. 

George W. Bains, private, August 18, 1861-July 24, 1862. 

Benjamin H. Croy, private, July 1, 1862. 

John M. Coleman, private, February 16, 1863. 

[oseph R. Conckright, December 19, 1861. 

"William B. Elefrits, April 13, 1862, Shiloh. 

Arnold S. Coleman, October 22. 1863, Vicksburg. 

Tames F. Horn, August 29, 1862, Bolivar. 

Tohn D. Hall, August 25, 1862. 

Clay R. Joslin, July 15, 1862. 

William Longacre. April 17, 18A2, Shiloh. 

John W. Langstaff, July 25, 1862, Grand Junction. 

Peter Miller, December 26, 1862, Lagrange, Tenn. 

Adam Neil, July 5, 1862, Columbus, O. 

Joseph McVay, March 16, 1862. 

Isaiah O'Bryan, May 7, 1862, Shiloh. 

William O'Bryan, October 25, 1862, Bolivar. 

George W. Staley, September 9, 1862, Bolivar. 

George W. Shann, June 27, 1863, Vicksburg. 

William R. Stipp, December 21, 1861, C. King, Ky. 

Aaron Smith, May 6, 1862, Shiloh. 

Mark Thompson, April 8, 1862, Shiloh. 

John H. Vannater, April 8, 1862, Shiloh. 

Thomas M. Wale, April 4, 1862, Crump's Landing. 

David Cargill, August, 1864. 

William Woodruff. April 12, 1862, Shiloh. 

Stephen M. Young, March 11, 1862, Atlanta, Ga. 

George W Zirby, September 21, 1864. 

Jacob H. Allen, September 21, 1864. 

William B. Cannon, September 21, 1864. 

William H. Herschell. September 21, 1864. 

John D. Hall, September 21, 1864. 

Allen Halterman, September 21, 1864. 

John Morris, September 21, 1864. 

William F. Packer, September 21, 1864. 

David Scisco, September 21, 1864. 

Robert M. Toland, September 21, 1864 

Silas D. Young, September 21, 1864. 

Philip W. Young, September 21, 1864. 

Charles I'.. Cannon, September. 1862-September, 1863. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 277 

Transferred 

James Knapp, chaplain. 

E. N. Owen, adjutant. 

Robert N. Sharp, October 15, 1863. 

John F. Smith, October 15, 1863. 

John K. Wilson as Hospital Steward. 

W. A. Skillen, promoted to first lieutenant, August, 1864. 

Killed in Battle and Died 

John S. Wilkinson, sergeant, died May 31, 1862, Shiloh. 

Elias Baldwin, private, died May 27, 1862, Paducah, Ky. 

David Baldwin, private, died March 21, 1863, Jackson, Tenn. 

William R. Campbell, private, died October 15, 1862, Sidney, O. 

Levi Gump, died August 16, 1863, Vicksburg. 

Thomas J. Goble, died April 25, 1862, Pittsburg Landing. 

Harlam P. Hall, killed April 7. 1862, at Shiloh. 

Amos Huffman, died July 2, 1862, Sidney, O. 

Francis M. Hall, died January 26, 1863, Lagrange. 

Jonas Harshberger, died May 12, 1863, wounds in action. 

Henry D. Munch, died May 5, 1862, C. Denison. 

Benjamin F. Ogle, died August 5,, 1862, Paducah. 

George Pencil, died April 18, 1862, St. Louis. 

Joseph S. Schenck, died March 27,, 1862, Savannah. 

Henry Schench, died March 22,. 1862, Savannah. 

Henry S. Staley, died June 15, 1862, Paducah. 

Martin L. Thrush, killed in action May 12, 1863. 

William Walter, died May 9. 1862. Shiloh. 

Nehemiah B. Cannon, died February 24, 1863, Bull Run. 

Veterans of Company B mustered out with Regiment July 18, 1865 

Newton R. Persinger, captain. William Davis. 

Chancey Grimes, first lieutenant William Elifrits. 

Co. D. Arthur C. Gregg. 

Henry V. Wilson, commissary- Joseph S. Gerard, 

sergeant July, 1865. J ohn W. Gerard, January 1, 



Andrew Cox, sergeant. 1864. 

James A. Fleming, sergeant. Isaac Gump. 

George H. Sharp, sergeant. William H. Goble. 

Christopher Layman, sergeant. Homer L. Hall. 

Simon Wicks, musician. Thomas Wick. 

Henry T. Bryan. William G. Martin. 

George W. Bain. William, C. McColly. 

Isaac N. Carey. Levi Pence. 

Henry H. Davis. Thomas Plunkard. 



278 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Jonathan Rea. John M. Stephens. 

Samuel Rosell. S. W. Smith. 

Clarence Robinson. Jacob Taylor. 

John Smith. James E. Taylor. 

Discharged May, 1865. 

Benjamin A. F. Greer, captain. Jesse F. Halterman. 

Reuben M. Colby, first lieutenant. Lewis John. 

Chancey Grimes, first sergeant. Henry Ruppert. 

Isaiah Euckley, private. Thomas McVay. 

Daniel Eichers, private. Peter Urivmmer. 

Samuel Hamlet. George Snyder. 
William Hubner. 

Died. 

Gabriel K. Crawford, killed in action July 22, 1864, Atlanta, Ga. 

William H. Borum, died in prison, Andersonville. 

John Rinehart, died March 24, 1864, Vicksburg. 

Perry Bailey, killed July 22, 1864, Atlantic. 

George W. Ragan, died May 28, 1865, Andersonville Prison. 

James H. Coleman, died March 17, 1865, Grafton, W. Va. 

John Johnson, killed April 8, 1865, Pocotaligo, S. C. 

John B. Mc Alexander, killed July 22, 1864, Atlantic. 

George W. Rush, died March 14, 1864, Vicksburg. 

John W. Wilson, died March 14, 1864, Vicksburg. 

Harvey Watts, died April 17, 1865, hospital. 

Sylvester Wright, died April 18, 1865, hospital. 

David Clinton Baker, died June 2, 1863. 

Company F. Twentieth O. V. I. enlisted in Sept. and Oct. 1861. 

William W. Updegraff, captain; resigned February, 1863. 
John W. Skillen, sergeant, promoted. 
David R. Hume, first lieutenant. May 16, 1862. 
Reuben Woodmancy, first lieutenant, November 1, 1864. 
Allen Arbogast, sergeant; discharged October 2, 1864. 
Samuel McMananny, sergeant; discharged October 25, 1862. 
Benjamin McCullough, sergeant; discharged May 15, 1862. 
David Robbins, sergeant; discharged October 10, 1864. 
James Hume, corporal; discharged April 12, 1862. 
David Ritchie, corporal; discharged August 1, 1862. 
John C. Stipp, corporal; discharged October 2, 1864. 
Josiah Morris, corporal; discharged October 2, 1864. 
John Arbogast, private; discharged March 29, 1862. 
William S. Blakely, private; discharged October 2, 1864. 
Isaac Betts, discharged August 1, 1862. 
John E. Blakely, discharged October 2, 1864. 
Elijah C. Coleman, discharged August 25, 1862. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 279 

George Clickner, discharged January 10, 1862. 

Eli Davis, discharged May 1, 1862. 

Levi Hughes, discharged at Vicksburg. 

Robert R. Johnson, discharged September, 1862. 

George Jordan, discharged January, 1863. 

John Kershaw, discharged February, 1863. 

David Kennedy, discharged May, 1862. 

Thomas C. Leapley, discharged August, 1862. 

Abra Lenox, March, 1863. 

Daniel Leapley, discharged March, 1862. 

James Lattimer, discharged March, 1862. 

William McDowell, discharged March, 1862. 

George S. McNannama, January, 1863. 

John Moore, August, 1862. 

E. E. Nutt, discharged to receive promotion June, 1863. 

Wm. A. Nutt, discharged with regiment in 1865 as sergeant major. 

David R. Hume, private, August, 1 861 -May, 1862. 

Joshua Russell, private. 

Andrew Speker. 

William Smith. 

Daniel Smith. 

Thomas Smeltzer, November, 1862. 

Amos Winks. 

William Scisco, September, 1862-May, 1865. 

William J. Swander, served nine months. 

Hugh B. Neal, corporal, September, 1861-June, 1864. 

William Ogden, discharged March 29, 1862. 

Hiram Orwiler, enlisted October, 1862; discharged January, 1863. 

Joshua W. Russell, discharged July, 1862. 

Andrew Speker, discharged October, 1864. 

William Smith, discharged May, 1862. 

Daniel Smith, discharged August, 1862. 

Thomas Smeltzer, discharged January, 1863. 

Amos Winks, discharged July, 1862. 

Newton R. Perringer, quartermaster-sergeant, promoted. 

William Clemcey, hospital steward, September, 1863. 

George W. Cypners. corporal. 

George E. Eddy. 

Henry W. Neal. 

Seth Johns, 1861-October, 1864. 

William H. Coy, died December 29. 1861, Camp King, Ky. 

William Crotenteler, died March 26, 1862, Steamer City of Memphis. 

Lemuel Ellsworth, died March 18, 1862, Pittsburg Landing. 

William Edwards, died February 19, 1863, Memphis., 

William O. Heffeman, died February 13, 1862, Cincinnati. 

Philip Hall, died May 7, 1862, Shiloh. 



> HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

William Heaman, died January 20, 1863, Lagrange. 

Martin Hole, died May 17, 1863. 

Thomas Minnear, died November 21, 1862, Shelby county, O. 

George Olden, died April 1, 1862, Shelby county, O. 

Nathan L. Russell, died May 13, 1862, Steamer Tycoon. 

Thomas Smith, died May 21, 1862, Shelby county. 

Daniel Vanote, died February 22, 1863, Memphis. 

John W. Vandever, died March 25, 1863, Berry's Landing. 

Veterans. 

Edmund E. Nutt, captain; discharged July, 1865. 

Silas A. Reynolds, first lieutenant; discharged January, 1865. 

G. C. Allinger, first sergeant; discharged February, 1865. 

James Williams, sergeant, January, 1864. 

Paul Beezley, sergeant, January, 1865. 

William Wright, sergeant, April, 1865. 

Willis H. Dye, corporal, January, 1864. 

Peter W. Speker, corporal; captured July, 1864-May, 1865. 

Charles Stevenson, corporal, October, 1864. 

Thomas Buchanan, corporal, October, 1864. 

John T. Hathaway, corporal, July, 1865. 

John T. Neal. corporal, July, 1865. 

Mustered out with Company July 18, 1865. 

Cornelius Amnions. Peter W. Speker was in Ander- 

George Burnett. sonville and other prisons, 1865. 

John W. Wade. Timothy Kelly. 

William Blocker. John W. Moore, Aug. 1861. 

George W. Boyer. James McManamy. 

John Bright. Shepherd Shaw. 

John Biggert. Wm. Speker, sergeant. 

Squire J. Baker. Charles C. Wright. 

Samuel Churchill. William Musgrove. 

Jacob Cost. John Malahan. 

James Coons. Abraham Mapes. 

George Clackner. Jeremiah Reels. 

A. L. Cain. George Speker. 

Joseph Elliott. Samuel Stevenson. 

William Fulton, prisoner of war. Thomas Wright. 

John W. Fisk. Daniel Wright. 

Jonas Garrett. William Willis. 

Henry Gilkison. George Woods. 

Maxwell P. G. Hageman. William H. Williams. 

Michael King. John W. Whires. 

F. S. Lewis. Robert N. McGinnis, corporal. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 281 

Joshua Barbee, private. Robert Johnson. 

John Barbee. William McDowell. 

August Bahr. William Scisco.. 

Aza B. Curtis. William Munford. 

Thomas Evans. John Wical, October, 1862-June, 

Lewis Galimore. 1865. 

R. R. Johnson. Joseph Green, private, Sept. 1864. 

Died and killed in battle. 

Matthias Elliott, killed in action Atlanta, Ga., July 22, 1864. 

Cornelius Davenport, died at Marietta, Ga., September 29, 1864. 

Robert Elliott, killed in action, Atlanta, Ga. 

Albert Hine, killed in action, Atlanta, Ga., July 22, 1864. 

John Shaw, killed at Savannah, December 13, 1864. 

Company K, Twentieth O. V. I. 

William D. Neal, captain; killed June 26, 1864, Kenesaw Mountain. 
Abraham Kaga, captain; wounded and discharged January, 1864. 
William L. Waddle, first lieutenant ; promoted to captain. 

D. B. Rinehart, first lieutenant January, 1862; resigned January, 1863. 
Seneca Hale, second lieutenant November, 1861 ; resigned February, 1863. 
Joseph S. Laughlin, sergeant, January, 1862-May, 1863. 

Toseph E. Wilkers, corporal, January, 1862-October, 1862. 
John F. Bull, July, 1862. 
Henry Clousing, July, 1863. 

E. P. Elger, July, 1862. 

Tesse M. Furrow, September, 1862. 

Jacob S. Gottchell, July, 1862. 

William Hurt, January, 1862-September, 1862. 

William Kiggins, January, 1862-July, 1862. 

John C. Knox, December, 1861-July, 1862. 

Lewis V. Mason, March, 1862-October, 1862. 

Warret Owen, January, 1861. 

William Swander, January, 1861-July, 1863. 

F. M. Thomas, January, 1861-July, 1862. 
Reuben Thompson, January, 1861-November, 1862. 
James W. Watson, January, 1861-July, 1863. 
Benjamin Snow, January, 1 861 -September, 1863. 

Died and killed in battle. 

Andrew J. Watson, died July 4, 1863, Vicksburg. 
Samuel Bryan, died May 20. 1862, Shiloh. 
Oliver P. Baggart, wounded July 13, 1863, Memphis. 
Thomas Baldwin, died February 13, 1863. Memphis. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Columbus Beeson, died March 28, Jefferson, Mo. 
Jesse Babcock, killed May 23, 1863, Vicksburg. 
Isaac O. Cole, died May 20, 1862, Shiloh. 
Jasper N. Davis, died June 15, 1863, at home. 
James Dalton, died October 18, 1862, Shiloh. 
Jesse Day, died October 18, 1862, Bolivar. 
Perry Deweese, died March 9, 1863, Memphis. 
E. S. Gallimore, died June 18, 1862, Camp Dennison. 
Freeman Hawkins, died April 24, 1862, Shiloh. 
Henry Hardesty, died June 30, 1863, on transport. 
James A. Knox, died May 16, 1863, Raymond, Miss. 
Ozias Lambert, died February 5, 1862, Cincinnati. 
Abraham Lenox, died March 12, 1863, St. Louis. 
Elias Manning, died April 29, 1863, Lagrange. 
Moses Sturgeon, died June 29, 1863, Vicksburg. 
John Wagnog, died June 21, 1862, Grand Junction. 
David C. Baker, died June 2, 1863, Nashville. 
William Henry Sturm, drowned in 1862. 



Mustered out with Regiment July 18, 1865. 



R. M. Colby, captain, mustered out 
with company. 

.William H. Nogle. 

William P. Manning, first ser- 
geant. 

Richard M. Wilson, sergeant. 

Andrew Wilson, sergeant. 

Luther Stewart, sergeant. 

George W. Dorsey, sergeant. 

Benjamin F. Whitmer, corporal. 

George W. Redinbo, corporal. 

John A. Jackson, corporal. 

Gotleib Demler, corporal. 

Geo. W. Smalley, corporal; miss- 
ing in action. 

George Blakely, private. 

John M. Blakely, private. 

David W. Barber. 

Irwin M. Bolenbaugh. 

E. L. Bogus. 

John H. Bird. 

John W. Clement. 

John B. Croner, January, 1862. 

Jacob Crusey. 

Henry F. Dickensheets. 



Daniel C. Dickensheets. 

Oliver P. Davis, October, 1862. 

Thomas Duncan. 

George Deal. 

William T. Dickerson. 

William Elzroth. 

Samuel Emmitt. 

Ira Fosnight, October, 1862. 

William Golden. 

William Henry. 

John W. Harrison. 

William H. Harrison. 

William Haig. 

Daniel P. Haines. 

William J. Hines. 

E. H. Kiser. 

John A. Krabah. 

Martin Line. 

Henry C. LeFever. 

John M. Martin. 

Daniel H. Manning. 

James W. Martin. 

Jacob Manning. 

William A. Messenger. 

Samuel H. McCabe. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



John McBain. 

John E. Mitchell. 

James A. Peer, June, 1863. 

William H. Princehouse. 

John H. Ruppart. 

Samuel Russell. 

James H. Smith. 

Henry H. Staley. 

Henry Shue. 

Henry J. Souder. 

Philip Tunks, December, 1863. 

Frederick Troutwine. 

Thomas Tuley. 

William Weaver. 

Nelson Wright. 

Hugh Marshall, corporal. 

S. J. Baker. 

John Balmer. 

Henry Brewer. 

James Fidler. 

William Glasford. 

Samuel M. Graham. 

Lucas Hardesty. 



Josiah M. Hedges. 
William Hammell. 
Thomas C. Kiser. 
Orrin Kiser. 
Elisha H. Kiser. 
Labarr J. Kiser. 
William H. Kibbons. 
Benjamin F. Martin. 
Abraham Mapes. 
Jonathan Niswanger, August, 
1862. 

George W. Quillan. 

William P. Rupport. 

Seth T. Reddick. 

Reuben Smeltzer. 

Robert Smeltzer. 

Calvin F. Shaw, August, 1862. 

Jonathan Smith. 

Toney Thomas. 

Levi Williams. 

Jacob Waltz. 

Henry Waltz. 



Died and killed in battle. 

William D. Neal, killed at Kenesaw Mountain, June 26, 1864. 

William Airgood, died October 24, 1864, Rome, Ga. 

William S. Dodds, wounded and died October 10, 1864, Rome, Ga. 

Thomas Gleason, wounded July 27, 1864, Atlanta, Ga. 

Christopher Jelly, killed July 22, 1864, Atlanta, Ga. 

John E. Kessler, killed July 22, 1864, Atlanta, Ga. 

James Moore, killed July 22, 1864, Atlanta, Ga. 

John Umphery, July 22, 1864, Atlanta, Ga. 

Andrew Willis, died from wounds, June 28, 1864, Rome, Ga. 

Company I, Twentieth O. V. I. 

Benjamin D. Dodds, December, 1861 ; killed in 1864. 

John Pierce, December, 1861 ; died February, 1862. 

John Manning, August, 1862. 

John S. Sparling, December, 1 861 -June, 1865. 

T. G. Ailes, December, 1861 ; killed at Peachtree Creek, July 22, 1864. 

George W. Schenck, private Company H, April, i86j-August, 1861. 

John T. Snodgrass, private Company H, April, 1861-August, 1861. 



284 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

NINETY-NINTH OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY 

The Ninety-ninth was organized at Camp Lima, O., and mustered into 
service August 26, 1862. Of this regiment two companies were raised in 
Allen county, two in Shelby, two in Hancock, and one each in Auglaize, Mer- 
cer, Putnam, and Van Wert. 

For the regiment seventeen hundred men were recruited, but seven 
hundred were at once transferred to the One Hundred and Eighteenth Ohio. 

They left Camp Lima, August 31, with one thousand and twenty-one men, 
under orders to report at Lexington, Ky. While en route it was learned that 
the enemy had taken Lexington and the regiment was ordered to Cynthiana. 
After a few weeks it went to Covington and entered the fortifications at Fort 
Mitchell. In September it went by steamer to Louisville, and was so disposed 
as to assist in the defence of the place against the threatened assault of the 
army under Bragg. On the 1st of October the regiment was transferred 
to Colonel Stanley Matthew's Brigade, which was composed of the Fifty-first 
and Ninety-ninth Ohio; the Eighth and Twenty-first Kentucky, and the Thirty- 
fifth Indiana. This subsequently became the Third Brigade, Third Division, 
Twenty-first Army Corps. The regiment now marched in pursuit of Bragg's 
retreating forces as far as Wild Cat, from which place the brigade moved to 
Mount Vernon, and again in regular order to Somerset, Columbia, Glasgow, 
and Gallatin. From this last point it was ordered to Lebanon to intercept the 
command of John Morgan. The march to Lebanon and back to 
Silver Springs was made in one day, and Morgan's command was first dis- 
lodged, but followed the brigade on its retreat and captured about one hundred 
of the Union forces who were unable to keep up the rapid march of the brigade. 
About twenty of these stragglers who were captured belonged to the Ninety- 
ninth. After a few days' rest the regiment moved toward Nashville and took 
position about seven miles from that city. Here the troops suffered greatly 
from sickness, and when the forward movement was ordered to Stone River 
the regiment could only muster three hundred and sixty-nine privates, two field 
officers, seven line officers, and three staff officers, who were fit for duty. On 
December 26, the regiment advanced toward Murfreesboro', being under the 
rebel fire during part of the march. At the battle of Stone River it formed on 
the extreme left of the line. On the morning of December 31 the division 
crossed Stone River, but on account of the disaster on the right, was ordered 
back to hold the ford while the first and second brigades were sent to reinforce 
the corps of General McCook. On January 1, 1863, the third division crossed 
the river and took a position which it held until Friday afternoon, when the 
rebels formed in heavy column, and doubling on the centre, drove Van Cleve's 
division across the river. This division was at once reinforced and drove the 
rebels back, capturing all the artillery used in the attack. Bragg commenced 
his retreat under cover of that night. In this battle the Ninety-ninth lost three 
officers and seventeen men killed ; two officers and forty-one men wounded, and 
one officer and twenty-nine men captured. 

After this battle the regiment took position at Murfreesboro' on the left of 
the line. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 285 

On June 30, 1863, it marched to McMinnville, where it remained until the 
1 6th of August, when it moved to Pikeville. 

After various marches and duties the regiment moved to Ringgold and 
participated in the battle of Chickamauga. Soon afterward the Twentieth and 
Twenty-first Corps were consolidated, and the Ninety-ninth Regiment was 
transferred to the Second Brigade, First Division, Fourth Corps. This brigade 
camped for a time opposite Lookout Mountain, but on the 1st of November 
moved to Shell Mound, where it did duty guarding and repairing the rail- 
road from Chattanooga to Bridgeport. On the 22d it moved up the valley, 
and on the 24th participated in the "battle above the clouds," being the second 
line of the charging column. As the lines swept around the mountain the 
Second closed up on the First, until, nearing the Point", it rushed impetuously 
through the first, line and held the advance until relieved by fresh trooos after 
nightfall. 

The next day the regiment was engaged at Mission Ridge, occupying the 
extreme right of the National line. After following the Rebels to Ringgold 
the regiment returned to Shell Mound, where it remained until February^ 
1864, when it moved to Cleveland, Tenn., and on the 3d of May entered upon 
the Atlanta campaign. It next participated in the actions of Rocky Face 
Ridge, Kenesaw Mountain, Pine Mountain, Atlanta, Jonesboro' and Lovejoy, 
in all of which engagements the regiment bore an honorable and prominent 
part. 

On the 28th of June it was assigned to the Fourth Brigade, Second 
Division, Twenty-third Corps, and on the 19th of July took possession of 
Decatur. The regiment participated in the actions before Atlanta and moved 
to Jonesboro' and Lovejoy. It was next assigned to the First Brigade and 
returned to Decatur, having lost in the Atlanta campaign thirty men killed 
and fifty-six wounded. On the 1st of October the regiment started in pursuit 
of the command of Hood, moving to Centreville by way of Resaca, Johnson- 
ville, and Waverly. For a few weeks its communication was cut off, but it 
finally received orders by courier to march to Franklin. As this place was in 
the hands of the enemy the march was continued to Nashville. 

It next appeared in line in front of Nashville, and on the morning of the 
15th of December moved against the intrenched army of Hood. It drove the 
enemy from one position to another until it found them posted on a hill covered 
by a stone wall. The division, without orders, charged the position, carried 
it, and turned the guns upon the retreating foe. The enemy was pursued to 
Columbia, where this regiment was consolidated with the Fiftieth Ohio and 
the Ninety-ninth ceased as an organization. The regimental colors were then 
sent to Sidney, until the return of Sergeant Wm. M. Van Fosse'n, when he took 
them in charge, and they are still in his possession. 

Field and Staff Officers. 

Albert Langworthy, colonel; August, i862-Sep^ember, 1864. 

Peter T. Swaine, colonel ; December, 1864. 

John E. Cummings, lieutenant-colonel ; transferred to 50th O. V. I. 



286 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

James Day, major; resigned, December, 1862. 
Benjamin F. LeFevre, major ; transferred to 50th O. V. I. 
J. T. Wood, surgeon; transferred to 50th O. V. I. 
George J. Wood, assistant-surgeon; October, 1862. 
James M. Morrow, chaplain. 

Company H, Ninety-ninth Regiment, O. V. I. 

Nathan R. Wyman, captain; August, 1862-February, 1863. 

James H. Hume, sergeant; August, i862-October, 1864. 

Michael Quinn, sergeant; August 1862-October, 1863. 

Vincent S. Wilson, sergeant; August 1862-October, 1863. 

Benjamin M. Sharp, sergeant; August, 1862. 

Benjamin F. Burrows, corporal ; August, 1862. 

E. G. Spence, corporal ; August, 1862. 

Morgan A. Le Fevre, corporal; August, 1862- July, 1865. 

S. L. Russell, corporal. 

Solomon Bahmer, corporal. 

N. F. Connell, corporal. 

Jasper S. McCoshen, corporal. 

John C. Senoff, corporal. 

Robert Beers, private; August, 1862-July. 

Nathan Bunnell. 

H. H. Bushman. 

John Craft, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

L. S. Coffin, August, i862-July,i865. 

Alfred O. DeWeese. 

James R. Doesan.. 

John W. Swander, August, 1862; wounded at Stone river, and died Febru- 
ary 3, 1863. 

Aaron Swander, August, 1862; killed at Chickasaw Mt. June 20, 1863. 

Francis M. Shaffer, private, August, 1862-March, 1863. 

Joseph D. Hume, private, August, 1862; died at Bowling Green, Ky., 
November, 1862. 

Samuel W. Murphy, private, August, 1862; killed at Stone river, January, 
1863. 

Jacob W. Richards, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Doemeyer, August, 1862; died. 

Elisha Yost, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Henry M. Lehman, enlisted August, 1862 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Company K, Ninety-ninth Regiment, O. V. I. 

James C. Young, private, August, 1862; died at Bowling Green, Ky., 
November 27, 1862. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 287 

Daniel Staley, private, August, 1862 -July, 1865. 
Valintine Staley, private, August, 1862-July, 1865. 
Philip Staley, private, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Company C, Ninety-ninth Regiment, O. V. I. 

James Knapp, captain, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. Dead. 

Thos. Stevenson, first lieutenant, enlisted August, 1862; discharged, 1862. 

R. E. Johnston, second lieutenant, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 

Thos. C. Honnell, first sergeant, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as 
captain. 

Wm. H. Shaw, sergeant, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as first 
lieutenant. 

M. E. Thorn, sergeant, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863, as second lieuten- 
ant. Dead. 

P. L. Frazier, sergeant, enlisted, 1862 ; discharged, 1865, as sergeant-major. 

W. M. Van Fossen, corporal, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as first 
sergeant. 

W. B. Simpson, private, enlisted, 1862 ; discharged, 1865, as sergeant. 

W. Duncan, corporal, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as sergeant. 

A. A. Davis, corporal, enlisted, 1862 ; discharged, 1865, as sergeant. 

I. N. Redenbo, private, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as corporal. 

Charles O. Frazer, private, enlisted, 1862. Died, 1864. 

Edward Reed, corporal, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1864, as sergeant. 
Dead. 

S. McElroy, sergeant, enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863, as private. 

Frank Luckey, private, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 

J. L. S. Lipencott, private, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

Charles McMullen, private, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

W. H. Shafer, private, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

Samuel Walters, private, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

G. W. Bland, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

Lean S. Davis, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as corporal. 

J. L. Luckey, corporal; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. 

James Wolf, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as corporal. Dead. 

John W. Stevens, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as hospital 
steward. Dead. 

B. Arstenstall, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. Dead. 
A. Smith, private; enlisted, 1862 ; discharged, 1865. Dead. 

James Wiley, corporal ; enlisted, 1862 ; discharged, 1862, as private. Dead. 

R. D. Coon, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. Dead. 

T. W. Graham, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

N. Boham, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

G. Beason, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

N. D. Brown, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

W. F. Smith, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, as corporal. 



j HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

John W. Slagle, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 

Davis Brown, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

George Brown, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

S. R. Babcock, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

P. O. Babcock, private; enlisted, 1862. Killed, 1864. 

S. D. Babcock, private ; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. 

John Sullivan, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863, as drum major. 

I. L. Davis, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 

Scot Lipencutt, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

John Fix, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

David Clayton, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

George Curl, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

John B. Moorehead, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

Joel Mattox, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

W. H. H. Cover private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

Isaac N. Kizer, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

Fred Wolf, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865, Dead. 

W. McClure, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1862. 

Tohn Emett, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. Dead. 

E. Williams, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

W. H. Wittick, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1862. 

John Hartsell, private; enlisted, 1864. Died, 1864. 

M. McDermet, private; enlisted, 1864; discharged, 1865. 

John Crawford, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

W. B. Flesher, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. Dead. 

H. Flesher, private; enlisted, 1864. Killed, 1864. 

George Hemelright, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

D. Duerbalt, private; enlisted, 1862. Killed, 1863, at Stone rive- 
Aaron Ringlespaugh, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 
Frank Irwin, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

James Luckey, private; enlisted, 1862. Killed, 1863, at Stone river. 

Davis Swickard, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

James Darst, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

Joseph Delap, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1862. 

W. R. Wilkinson, private; enlisted, 1862. Killed, 1864, at Chickamauga. 

Jerry Sullivan, private; enlisted, 1862. Killed, 1864, at Kenesaw mountain. 

E. F. Bull, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. 
G. W. Wiley, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 
Isaac Redcnbo, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 
Daniel Redenbo, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. Died. 
Daniel D. Curtis, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1864. Died. 

F. S. Borne, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

W. S. Clary, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. Dead. 
Jesse Jackson, private; enlisted. 1862; discharged, 1865. 
Aaron Baldwin, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 
Samuel S. Wirick. private; enlisted. 1862; discharged, 1865. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 289 

M. Ragan, private; enlisted, 1864; discharged, 1865. 

Josiah McGee, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 

John Camomile, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

G. W. Sharp, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

Samuel Silver, private; enlisted, 1865; discharged, 1865, as wagon master. 

Michael Collins, private ffienlisted, 1865; discharged, 1865. Dead. 

Jesse Wood, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. Dead. 

Jasper Lewis, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. Dead. 

George McCabe, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 

Poke Nutt, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863, as musician. Dead. 

Wm. E. Bayley, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

James F. McClure, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

Martin Denman, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1864. 

Wm. H. Ogden, corporal; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. 

Andrew King, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1862. 

John E. Darnell, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 

L. Davis, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1864. Dead. 

C. Bodkin, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1862. 

G. W. Windle, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1862. 

Wm. Ramsay, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

A. L. Humphry, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

Joseph H. Cartright, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. Dead. 

H. Stumbaugh, private; enlisted, 1863; discharged, 1865. 

H. Wilson, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

Robert Wells, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. Dead. 

Ed. Williams, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead, 

H. Levingston, enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

J. E. Wilkinson, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1865. 

George G. Line, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

William Austin, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1863. Dead. 

George W. Frank, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

Benjamin Forest, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

James Hagan, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

Frank Irvin. private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

Ed. Reed, corporal; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1864, as sergeant. Dead. 

Beeman, private; enlisted, 1862; discharged, 1862. Dead. 

Wm. Franklin, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1863. 
Julius T. Vorus, private; enlisted, 1862. Died, 1862. 

Company H, Fiftieth Regiment, O. V. I. 

Hamilton S. Gillespie, captain, August, 1862; promoted to colonel. 

Solomon Balmer, corporal, December, 1864. 

William Wilson, corporal. 

Henry M. Lehman, corporal, December, 1864. 

John C. Lenox, musician. 

Joseph L. M. Cashen, musician. 



290 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Mark Galimore, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Daniel W. Abbott, private, August, 1862-May, 1853. 

Samuel Flesher, September, 1864-July, 1865. 

Espy C. Dill, August, 1862; missing after battle of Chickamauga. 

James A. Deweese. 

Theodore Farrote. 

Philip Griner. 

George Huffman. 

William G. Herbert, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Henry A. Jackson, May, 1865. 

Wm. B. Kessler, May, 1865. 

Nicholas Cleinhen, August, 1862-May, 1865. 

Jacob A. Line. 

James H. Lenox. 

Wm. H. Forrar. 

Thomas I. Lash, December. 1864. 

Jacob McClashen. 

David W. McAlexander. 

John M. Morton. 

William Meyers. 

William R. Parke, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Richard Pluman. 

Isaac N. Parke, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Jacob W. Richards. 

Philip M. Randolph. 

John Schraer. 

Alfred E. Toland, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

George W. Zeibe. 

James R. Dodson; died December 22, 1862, at home. 

James Mapes; died May 25, 1865, at New York. 

Alfred Swander; died in Libby prison January 1, 1864. 

Veterans 

Vincent S. Wilson, August, 1862-March, 1865. 

Benjamin F. Burrows, March, 1865. 

E. L. Spence, March, 1865. 

Nathaniel L. Carrell, March, 1865. 

L. S. Coffin. 

Thomas Enright, August, 1862-May, 1865. 

Vincent Wilson, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Philip M. Randolph, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Virgil C. Lenox, sergeant-major, August 1, 1862-June, 1865. 

William Wilson, corporal, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Richard Pleiman, private, August, 1862-June, ' 1865. 

Philip M. Randolph, August, 1862-June, 1865. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 291 

Samuel L. Russell, sergeant, August, 1862 -June, 1865. 
George Huffman, private, August, 1862-June, 1867. 
Alex. Harmony, Company D, August, 1862-June, 1867. 

Company B 

Peter B. Weymer, sergeant, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Daniel Fuller, private, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Jacob Galley, private, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Edward M. Reed, sergeant, August, 1862-March, 1864. 

Wm. M. Van Fossen, first sergeant, August, 1862-July, 1865. 

Wm. Ramsey, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Thomas McKee, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Simon P. Stonerock, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Robert G. Johnston, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Henry Wilson, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

George Brown, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

James Wolf, corporal, August, 1862-March, 1865. 

Jonathan Emert, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

John Emett, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

William Flinn, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

George Curl, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Edmund R. Cecil, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

William M. Morrow, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Henry Wolf, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

William H. Day, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

David Bowlsby, private, August, 1862; died, January,, 1864. 

Robert P. Crozier, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

David S. Davenport, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

James T. Lucas, lieutenant, August, 1862; killed at Mission Ridge, 1864. 

John F. Pohamus, private, August, 1862; killed, May 31, 1864. 

Davis J. Thompson, first lieutenant, August, 1862-March, 1863. 

Frederick Wolf, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Jacob Helminger, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Jesse W. Lenox, August, 1862; died, August, 1864. 

William H. Shaw, first lieutenant, Company C, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Peter Charpier, private, Company F, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHTEENTH REGIMENT OHIO VOLUNTEER INFANTRY 

This regiment, eight companies strong, was sent to Cincinnati in Septem- 
ber, 1862, as that city was then threatened by Kirby Smith. The ninth com- 
pany was here formed, and the regiment mustered into the service. Late in 
September it moved, under Gen. A. J. Smith, toward Lexington, but at 
Cynthiana was detached to guard the railroad. Patrol and guard duty was 
performed, and rebel recruiting largely prevented. On August 1, 1863, it 
went, by Lexington and Louisville, to Lebanon, Ky., and on the 20th 



292 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

set out on a march for East Tennessee. On November ioth, Kingston was 
reached, and a few days later the rebels cut the communication between that 
point and Knoxville. Picket duty became arduous, to prevent a surprise from 
Wheeler's cavalry. The victories at Knoxville and Chattanooga relieved the 
Kingston garrison, and on December 9th, the regiment reached Nashville, and 
from there went to Blain's Cross Roads, and finaly to Mossy Creek, to sup- 
port Elliott's cavalry. On the 29th, the rebel cavalry under Martin and Arm- 
strong assaulted General Elliott, at Paultier's creek, when he fell back to 
Mossy creek. As the cavalry approached, the regiment took position in the 
edge of a piece of woods, when the rebel force moved directly upon them. 
When the enemy approached within a hundred yards, the regiment opened a 
rapid fire, which was kept up about two hours, when it charged the rebels, and 
drove them over the crest of a hill. In this action the rebels lost about forty, 
killed and wounded. It was disposed with great skill, by Lieutenant-Colonel 
Young, and commanded by General Elliott. While in East Tennessee, the 
regiment suffered great privations, and subsisted about six months on half and 
quarter rations. They had neither sugar nor coffee for four months. Cloth- 
ing was also short, but with all this the troops never murmured, but were even 
cheerful. The regiment was then kept changing about until the campaign of 
1864. One march of one hundred miles, to Charleston, was made in five 
days. May 4th, the regiment encamped on state line. Here all baggage was 
sent to the rear. On the 7th, the regiment moved upon Dalton, and again 
advanced upon Resaca. On the afternoon of the 14th, it participated in a 
charge on the enemy's works, and lost one hundred and sixteen men, in less 
than ten minutes, out of three hundred actually engaged. On the 15th the 
engagement was renewed, but that night Johnston retired .to Cassville, which 
in turn he abandoned, on approach of the national forces. After a few days' 
rest, the regiment went into the desperate battles of Dallas and Pumpkin-Vine 
creek, and bore a gallant and honorable part. It was afterwards engaged at 
Kenesaw mountain, at the Chattahoochie, at Utoy creek, and in the final move- 
ments about Atlanta. In these operations, about seventy-five men were lost. 
During one hundred and twenty-one consecutive days, the regiment was within 
hearing of hostile firing every day except one. During sixty consecutive 
days it was under fire sixty different times, and during one week there was 
not a period of five minutes during which the whistling of a ball or the scream 
of a shell could not be heard. After the fall of Atlanta the regiment fell back- 
to Decatur, where, after a short rest, it joined in the pursuit of Hood, as far 
as Gaylesville, Ala. On the 23d of November it went to Johnsonville, 
Tenn., and then to Columbia, to join the army confronting Hood, finally 
reaching Franklin on the 30th. The brigade was drawn up in single line, its 
right resting on the Williamsburg pike, and its left at the Locust grove, this 
regiment being second from the right. The enemy struck the line to the left 
of the regiment. The shock was terrific, but the line stood firm, and poured a 
terrific fire into the rebel column. The troops fought desperately, the men 
using bayonets, and the officers side-arms, over the very breastworks. By 
daylight the One Hundred and Eighteenth \yere across the river, and falling 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 293 

on Nashville, where it was again engaged. After the battle of Nashville, it 
participated in the pursuit of the rebels as far as Columbia, and then went 
to Clifton. From there it proceeded to North Carolina, and on January 16, 
1865. On February nth, it embarked on a steamer at Alexandria, landed at 
nati proceeded by rail to Washington City, which was reached January 27, 
1865. On February n, it embarked on a steamer at Alexandria, landed at 
Smithville, at the mouth of Cape Fear river, moved immediately on Fort 
Anderson, captured it, and the One Hundred and Eighteenth regiment was 
the first to plant its colors on the walls. On February 20th, it engaged in a 
sharp action at Town creek, in which three hundred horsemen and two pieces 
of artillery were captured, and then entered Wilmington on the 22d. On the 
6th of March it moved to Kingston, then to Goldsboro", and joined Sherman's 
army on the 23d of March. It then camped at Mosley Hall until April 9th, 
when it participated in the final operations against Johnston. It then camped 
near Raleigh until May 3d. when it moved to Greensboro', and then to Salis- 
bury, where it remained until June 24th, when it was mustered out of the ser- 
vice. The regiment arrived at Cleveland, O., June 2. was welcomed by Chief 
Justice Chase, participated in a 4th of July celebration, and was finally dis- 
charged on the 9th of July, 1865, having first gone into camp at Lima, O., in 
August, 1862. 

Field and Staff Officers 

Col. Samuel R. Mott; resigned, February 10, 1864. 
Col. Thomas L. Young; resigned, September 14, 1864. 
Col. Edgar Sowers; mustered out with regiment. 
Lieut.-Col. John Walkup. 
W. H. Phillips, surgeon. 
Wm. Morrow Beach, surgeon. 

Company C, One Hundred and Eighteenth Regiment, O. V. I. 

Capt. William D. Stone. 
Capt. Charles H. Floyd. 

Capt. Abram O. Waucop ; promoted frorii sergeant. 
Samuel Schwartz, orderly sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
John S. Christman, sergeant. 

Joseph Marshall, wounded at Moss Creek. Tenn. ; discharged, November 
17, 1864. 

Charles H. Mann, corporal. 

Wm. F. Carey, commissary sergeant, August. 1862-June. 1865. 

Thomas B. Ramsey, commissary sergeant. 

Jacob Flowers, musician. 

George Baker, killed at Resaca, May 14, 1864. 

John Barker, wounded at Resaca, May 14-June, 1865. 

George Bickman. 

Joseph Bickman, killed at Resaca, May 14. 1864. 

Charles F. Behr, discharged, March 19, 1863. disability. 

James H. Clawson. killed at Resaca, May 14, 1864. 



294 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Perry Clawson, wounded at Resaca, May 14, 1864. 
Peter Clawson, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
Thomas Clawson, died at Knoxville, Tenn., July 7, 1864. 
Joseph Daes. 
Bernard Drees. 
William Flowers. 
Levi Gump. 

Jeremiah Hullinger, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
Edward Huston, died at home since discharge. 
Charles D. Keck, wounded at Resaca and Nashville. 
Andrew Kistner, wounded at Resaca June, 1865. 
Joseph Kistner, died at Townsend's Bridge February 4, 1863. 
Asa Leming. 

Horace H. Malcom, taken prisoner at Atlanta, Ga. 
Henry Menke, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
Philip J. Millhoff. 

Francis Morman, A igust, 1862-June, 1865. 
George Moyer. 

Chas. W. Mann, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
William Moyer. 
Andrew Murray. 

George Murray, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
Uriah Nunlist. 
Henry Popplemon. 
George Reiss. 

William Rademacher, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
August Soup, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
John Shaffer, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
"Joseph W. Shaffer, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
Henry Schlater, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
Benard Shultz, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
William J. Short, August, 1862-June, 1865. 
Robert Taylor. 

Henry Tholemier, wounded at Resaca and killed at Camp Dennison, Ohio. 
Andrew Wolfrom, wounded at Resaca June, 1865. 
George Austin, wounded at Resaca. 
Samuel Austin, died at Nashville. 

William H. Mann, wounded at Atlanta, Ga., July 22, 1864. 
John Sweigart. 

Ebenezer Thompson, died at Jeffersonville, Ind., January 17, 1865. 
Mahlon Erwin, corporal, August, 1862-June, 1865; died at home since 
discharge. 

Henry P. Johnston, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865 

Company I, One Hundred and Eighteenth Regiment, O. V. I. 
Captain, Edger Sowers, promoted to major ana colonel. 
First lieutenant, William H. Taylor, promoted to captain. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 295 

First sergeant, R. M. Campbell, promoted to first lieutenant and quarter- 
master. 

Second sergeant, Wm. H. Mitchell. 

Third sergeant, Geo. W. Black, promoted to orderly sergeant. 

Fourth sergeant, H. S. Ailes, promoted to sergeant-major. 

Fifth sergeant, R. S. Woolery, discharged 1865. 

Corporal, George M. Thompson, promoted to first lieutenant. 

Corporal, Robert L. Gouge, died at Lexington, Ky. 

Corporal, Joseph Blue. 

Nathan Kent, corporal, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Jacob B. Duvall, corporal, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Peter Morgan, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Richard S. Woolery, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Cassius C. Wilson, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

William H. Mitchell, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

John W. Nicholson, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Francis M. Akers, corporal, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Bazel Burton, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

John K. Dinsmore, sergeant, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

Isaac Fulton, private, February, 1864-June, 1865. 

John M. Peckham, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

William H. Sceyter, private, August, 1862-June, 1865. 

C. B. Coulson, died at Knoxville, Tenn. 

A. A. Lawrence- 

Cassius C. Wilson, promoted to sergeant. 

Musician, Harry Thorn. 

Wagoner, John W. Nicholson. 

Private, Allen Oscar, July, 1865. 

Corporal, F. M. Akers. 

Private, S. E. Burton. 

Wm. Consolover, died. 

Frederick Dudy, died at Mosler Hall, N. C. 

Corporal, J. K. Dinsmore. 

J. B. Duvall. 

Samuel Edwards, July, 1865. 

George Fodra, July, 1865. 

David D. Fagan, July, 1865. 

Stephen R. Guthrie, July, 1865. 

George P. Graham, July, 1865. 

Beeman Hardisty, July, 1865. 

Robert Julian, died at Knoxville, Tenn. 

Nathan Kerst, July, 1865. 

John H. Kestler, died at Moorehead City, N. C. 

William Landers, July, 1865. 

Aaron Morgan, died near Kenesaw Mountain, Ga. 

C. Mellinger, died at Chattanooga, Tenn. 



296 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Thomas H. Melvin, July, 1865. 
Benjamin Mopes, July, 1865. 
Ira T- Peebles. 

— Peebles. July, 1865. 

John M. Peekham, July, 1865. 

Richard Parr, 1862. 

Jacob F. Rhinehart, July, 1865. 

Toseph Sattler, July, 1865. 

Wm. H. Seister, July, 1865. 

Francis M. Stockstill, July, 1865. 

Joseph M. Stang, died at Knoxville, Tenn. 

Robert Thompson, died at Nashville, Tenn. 

John Tillow, July, 1865. 

Jonathan C. West fall, died at Knoxville, Tenn. 

T. F. Campbell, recruit in 1864; July, 1865. 

Isaac Allen, recruit in 1864; July, 1865. 

Bazel Burton, recruit in 1864; July, 1865. 

Isaac Fulton, recruit in 1864; July, 1865. 

Fulton Walker, recruit in 1864; died at Nashville, Tenn. 

Battery M, First Ohio Light Artillery, 

was recruited in the counties of Shelby, Miami, and Auglaize, by Capt. F. 
Schultz, and organized at Camp Dennison in September, 1861. It was 
mustered into the United States service by Capt. P. H. Breslin, December 3. 
1861. In January, 1862, in company with Battery F, it proceeded to Louis- 
ville, Ky., and reported to Major-General Buell, who was at that time organiz- 
ing the Army of the Ohio. The battery was ordered to join the main army 
at Bowling Green. It moved with the army to Nashville, and was there 
attached to the Artillery Reserve, Colonel Barnett commanding, with which 
it operated during the march to and the battle of Pittsburg Landing. It also 
took an active part in all the movements before Corinth, and after the evacua- 
tion of that place by the rebels, moved to Huntsville and Stevenson, Ala. In 
August, 1862, it returned to Nashville and remained there as part of its 
garrison during Buell's march to Louisville and through Kentucky, and until 
the return of the army to Nashville under General Rosecrans. The battery 
was then assigned to General Negley's division of the Fourteenth Corps, and 
with that division took part in all the skirmishes preceeding the battle of Stone 
river. It greatly distinguished itself in Ahat engagement. When Rosecrans' 
army moved from Murfreesboro' towards Tullahoma and Chattanooga, Bat- 
tery M accompanied it and took part in all the skirmishes of that march. It 
also fought through the battle of Chickamauga and the subsequent victory of 
Mission Ridge. While in Nashville it was recruited up to its maximum, and 
newly equipped with guns and horses. It was shortly thereafter again ordered 
to the field, and on the 25th of June. 1864. it joined the main army at Kenesaw. 
Ga. On July 22<\ the battery joined Gen. George H. Thomas' Fourth Army 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 297 

Corps at Peach-tree creek, having marched overland from Nashville. It 
was immediately placed in the trenches before Atlanta, where it remained 
until the flank movement against Jonesboro'. From that time to the battle of 
Jonesboro' the battery was attached to the First Division of the Fourth Army 
Corps, and took part in all its marches and skirmishes, pushing on with the 
army from Jonesboro' to Lovejoy's, where the battery took part in the engage- 
ment at the last-named place. A few days thereafter the whole army was 
ordered back to Atlanta, and while there the battery was relieved from duty 
and ordered to Chattanooga, where it was mustered out of service October, 
1864. 

Maj. F. Schultz, September. 1861-July 12, 1865. 

Capt. Charles W. Scoville, October, 1864; mustered out with company. 

First Lieut. Ferdinand Amann, September, 1861 -November, 1862. 

First Lieut. Constantine Schwerer, September, 1861-November, 1862. 

First Lieut. Joseph Hein, November, 1861-November, 1862. 

First Lieut. Eben P. Sturgis, November, 1862, with company. 

First Lieut. Charles F. Chase, March, 1864, with company. 

First Lieut. Frank R. Reckard, March, 1864. with company. 

Second Lieut. Joseph Eberle, September, 1861 : resigned October, 1862. 

Second Lieut. John C. Linch, October, 1862; resigned June, 1863. 
Declined promotion. 

Second Lieut. Jacob Zeigler, June, 1863 ; mustered out with company. 

Second Lieut. Stephen Sloane, May, 1864; mustered out with company. 

Second Lieut. Lee P. Beatty, September, 1864 ; mustered out with company. 

Second Lieut. Win. H. Manning, May, 1865; mustered out with company. 

Charles Kotzebue, promoted to second lieutenant. 

William Ruff, quartermaster-sergeant, December 13, 1864. 

Charles Bodmer, quartermaster, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

Thomas Meier, sergeant-major. 

Henry Schunk, sergeant, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

George Achbach, sergeant, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

William Eisentein, sergeant, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

Jacob Eisenstein, corporal, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

John Bruning, private, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

Christian Christler, private, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

Peter Cigrant, private, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

Adam Emig, private, September, 1861-December 13, 1864. 

Otto Frantz, private. Joseph Miller, private. 

John Gottschall. George Monroe. 

Charles Grim. John Nuss. 

Philip Hagelberger. George Rock. 

John Heiser, September, 1861. William Rineker. 

Joseph Heiser, December, 1864. Gottlob Zeigler. 

John Kaufle. Daniel Vesper. 

Tacob Messmar. Christian Wasserman. 



298 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Frederick Eisenstein, died November 5, 1862, Nashville. 

August Nassber, died November I, 1862, Nashville. 

Henry Foust, died July 2, 1862, Corinth. 

Theobold Nicholas, died September 1, 1862, Nashville. 

Christian Wolfrom, died November 4, 1862, Nashville. 

George Kemper, died May 13, 1862, Louisville, Ky. 

John Weist, corporal, May 1, 1862. 

Frank Assman, corporal, July 15, 1863. 

Christian Enders, March 17, 1863. 

George Grimm, disability, October 19, 1863. 

Jacob Hassler, died May 14, 1862. 

Frederick Mauser, died June 24, 1862. 

John Weiss, first, died May 4, 1862. 

Paul Nichel, died June 22, 1862. 

Gottlib Schabe, died May 14, 1862. 

Conrad Wissenger, died March 17, 1863. 

Peter Bodaur, private, February 29, 1864. 

Thomas M. Wyatt, private, June, 1865. 

John W. Johnston, private, July, 1864. 

Miscellaneous 

Abbott, Eli, private, Company D, One Hundred and Ninety-second O. V. 
I. ; enlisted February, 1865 ; discharged September, 1865. 

Anderson, Abner, private, Company I, Forty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted 
December, 1861 ; discharged September, 1863. 

Allen, Peter, private, Company K. Thirty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted Novem- 
ber, 1 861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Anderson, Wm. G., private, Company C, Seventy- fourth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged July, 1862. 

Anderson, George W., private, Company B, Seventy-first O. V. I.; enlisted 
January, 1864; discharged November, 1865. 

Aplas, David, corporal, Company K, Twelfth O. V. I., enlisted October, 
1863; discharged November, 1865. 

Apple, Orin, corporal, Company I, Forty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted Novem- 
ber, 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Apple, James, private, Company I, Forty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted Novem- 
ber, 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Baldwin, Nehemiah, private, Company G, Ninth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted 
October, 1863; discharged May, .1865. 

Baker, Martin, private, Company G, Ninth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted October, 
1863; discharged May, 1865. 

Burrows, B. F., private, Company E, Benton Cadets; enlisted April, 1861 ; 
discharged 1861. 

Babcock, Joseph C, private, Company F, One Huhdred and Ninety-first 
O. V. I.; enlisted February, 1865; discharged June, 1865. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 299 

Burton, S. C, private, Company G, First O. V. Cav. ; enlisted February, 
1864; discharged June, 1865. 

Bird, Levi J., private, Company K, Twelfth O. V. Cav.; enlisted October, 
1863; died in Libby Prison. 

Bulle, David T., private, Company I, Fifty-seventh O. V. I. ; wounded at 
Shiloh July, 1862. 

Born, Samuel R., private, Company B, Eighth O. V. I.; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Bushwaw, John, private, Company B, Eighteenth 111. V. ; enlisted May, 
1861 ; discharged June, 1864. 

Block, Herman, private, Company F, Eleventh O. V. I. ; enlisted June, 
1861 ; discharged June, 1864. 

Black, Joseph F., private, Company F, First O. V. I. ; enlisted December, 
1864; discharged June, 1865. 

Bowen, Joseph, private, Company H, Eighty-third O. V. I. ; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Buckner, John, private, Company H, Twenty-third U. S. C. T. ; enlisted 
August, 1864; discharged June, 1865. 

Buckingham, George W., private, Company F, Tenth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted 
March, 1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Batchelder, John, private, Company A, Eleventh Mass. ; enlisted Decem- 
ber, 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Baumann, Christian M., private, First O. Art.; enlisted September, 1861 ; 
discharged December, 1863. 

Baumann, Christian I., private, First O. Art.; enlisted January, 1864; dis- 
charged July, 1865. 

Brown, John W., private, Company F, Forty-first O. V. I. ; enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1864; discharged May, 1865. 

Butler, Ludlow S., private, Company (Eighty-eight), Second O. Bat.; 
enlisted August, 1862; discharged June, 1865. 

Bull, Francis M., private, Company E, Seventy-first O. V. I. ; enlisted Feb- 
ruary, 1864; discharged November, 1865. 

Brown, William A., private, Company F, Eighty-first O. V. I. ; enlisted 
September, 1861 ; discharged September, 1864. 

Burnett, George S., private, Company F, Twentieth O. V. I.; enlisted 
September, 1861 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Brown, Cornelius, private, Company I, Fifty-seventh O. V. I.; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged April, 1865. 

Blue, John H., private, Twenty-second Battery; enlisted April, 1863; dis- 
charged February, 1865. 

Blue, J. M., private, One Hundred and Thirty-fifth O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 
1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Baker, Joshua, corporal, Company I, Fortieth O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1 86 1 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Bruce, Eugene, private, Company C, Ninety-ninth 111. I. ; killed at Atlanta 
August, 1864. 



300 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Bruner, John M., private. Company D, One Hundred and Ninety-first O. 
V. I.; enlisted February, 1865; discharged September, 1865. 

Brown, Charles W., private. Eighth Ohio Battery; enlisted March, 1864; 
discharged August, 1865. 

Bryan, Michael O., private, Eleventh O- V. I.: enlisted April, 1861 ; dis- 
charged 1864. 

Beery, Isaac, private, Company H, Sixty-third O. V. I. ; enlisted February, 
1864; discharged July. 1865. 

Boyle, Sylvester H., private. Company I. Ninety-fifth O. V. I.; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged August, 1865. 

Barkalow, James D., private, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty- fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Bull, Francis M., private. Company E, Seventy-first O. V. V. I.; enlisted 
February, 1865 ; discharged November, 1865. 

Birch, Pern Brook, O. S., Company C, Sixty-ninth O. V. V. I.; enlisted 
April 16, 1865; discharged July 17, 1865. 

Black, Jos. F., private, Company C, Fifth C. V. I. ; enlisted December, 
1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

31ue. Reuben R., private. Company A, Eighty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted 
September, 1861 ; discharged June, 1864. 

Bushwaw, Augustus C. O. S.. Company B, Eighteenth 111. V. I.; enlisted 
May, 1 86 1 ; discharged July, 1864. 

Clayton, Henry N., private. Company D, One Hundred and Ninety-first 
O. V. I.; enlisted March. 1865: discharged June, 1865. 

Coon, David F., private. Company G, First O. V. Cav. ; enlisted Febru- 
ary, 1863; discharged June, 1865. 

Clark, Daniel Z.. private, Company K, Twelfth O. V. Cav.; enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1863; discharged June, 1865. 

Croy, Albert T., private; enlisted November, 1861 ; discharged December, 
1864. 

Cleckner, George, private, Company F, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted March, 
1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Calvert, Samuel C., sergeant, Company E, One Hundred and Tenth O. V. 
I.; enlisted August, 1862; discharged May, 1865. 

Cook, Frank, private, Company C, Forty-sixth O. V. I. ; enlisted March, 
1862; discharged March, 1865. 

Coffield. James F., sergeant, Company I, Fortieth O. V. I.; enlisted Octo- 
ber, 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Crawford. John, private. Company E, Benton Cadets. 

Cromer, Walter C.. bugler. Company H, First O. V. Cav. ; enlisted Febru- 
ary, 1864; discharged September, 1865. 

Crawford, John, private. Company E, Benton Cadets. 

Crawford, John, private, Company B, Fiftieth O. V. I. ; August. 1862. 

Crusey, Jacob, private. Company M. First Light Art. ; enlisted September. 
1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 301 

Crumbaugh. David M.. first lieutenant. Company F, Fifty-fifth 111. V. I.; 
enlisted April, 1861 ; died April 15, 1865. 

Crumbaugh, John, private. Company G, Seventy-ninth Ind. V. I. ; enlisted 
May, 1862; died January, 1865. 

Crumbaugh, David M., first lieutenant. Company F, Fifty-fifth 111. V. I.; 
enlisted April, 1861 ; discharged March 21, 1865. 

Crumbaugh, Daniel H., private, Company G. 

Conner, John, private. Company F, Fifteenth Q. V. I.; enlisted April, 
1861 ; discharged September, 1861. 

Conner, John, private. Company K. One Hundred and Thirty- fourth O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Davis, Franklin M., Benton Cadets. 

Davis, Calvin M., Company F, One Hundred and Ninety-first O. V. I.; 
enlisted February, 1865; discharged June, 1865. 

Davenport. David S., Company E, Benton Cadets. 

Davenport, David S., Company B, Fifth O. V. I.; enlisted August. 1862; 
discharged March, 1865. 

Dickensheets, Joseph, Company G, Twelfth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1863; discharged November, 1864. 

Drake, William E., lieutenant, Company E, Fifty-eighth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged January, 1864. 

Dever, Samuel, private, Company C, Fourth O. V. I. ; enlisted January, 
1862; discharged March, 1865. 

Dickensheets, William, private, Company A, Fortieth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
September, 1861 ; discharged September, 1864. 

Driscoll, Jerry, corporal. Company D, Fifteenth O. V. I. ; enlisted January. 
1864; discharged November, 1865. 

Dill, Solomon, private. Company L, Eighth O. Cav.; enlisted February, 
1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Dunnavant, Esquire, private, Company K, One Hundred and Eighty-third 
O. V. I.; enlisted February, 1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Dodds, Josephus, private, Company K, Fifty-seventh O. V. I. ; enlisted 
December, 1861 ; discharged October, 1862. 

De Nise, James S., private, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Elliott, William C., private, Company I, Forty-fourth O. V. I.; enlisted 
October, 1861 ; died at Meadow Bluff July, 1862. 

Emely, Abraham H., private, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Estabrook, John T., private, Company I, Ninety-fourth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged April, 1863. 

Evans, John, private, Company G, Ninth O. V. Cav. ; discharged May, 
1865. 

Eisenstein, Jacob, corporal. Company M, First O. V. Art. ; enlisted October. 
1862: discharged July, 1864. 



302 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Epler, Benjamin C, private, Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G.; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Epler, Jacob, private, Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. N. 
G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Elliott, Leonard T., private, Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Elliott, John H., private, Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Edgar, John B, One Hundred and Forty-seventh O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 
1864; discharged September, 1864. 

English, James B., private, Company D. Eighty-eighth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
January, 1863; discharged July, 1865. 

Feree, J. D.,; first sergeant, Company G, First O. V. Cav. ; enlisted Feb- 
ruary, 1864; discharged September, 1865. 

Faurot, Theo., private, Company H, Fifteenth O. V. I.; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged June, 1865. 

Fielding, Charles, musician, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Faulder, George, private, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G; enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Ferree, Jeremiah D., first sergeant, Company G, First O. V. V. I. ; enlisted 
February, 1864; discharged September, 1865. 

Gillimore, Lewis C, private, Company C, Sixth V. R. Corps. 

Gray, William G, private, Company I, Forty-second O. V. I.; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged November, 1864. 

Geuss, Chrstian, private, Company I, Forty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted No- 
vember, 1 86 1 ; discharged November, 1864. 

Geen, John, private, Company B, Ninty-fourth O. V. I. ; discharged June, 
1865. 

Gessler, Dennis, private, Company I, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged July, 1864. 

Gahret, Jones, private, Company F, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted March, 
1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Gregg, Arthur C, private, Company B, Twentieth O. V. I.; enlisted Jan- 
uary, 1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Gilfillen, William, private, Company G, First O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1 86 1 ; discharged August, 1864. 

Goffena, Peter, 66th O. V. I. 

Green, Tohn, private, Company D, Twelfth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted September, 
1862 ; died July, 1863. 

Green, Thomas, sergeant, Company I, One Hundred and Fifty-sixth O. N. 
G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Gregg, Calvin W., private. Seventeenth O. V. Battery: enlisted August, 
1862; discharged August, 1865. 

Garrison, Samuel, private. Company K, First O. V. I. ; enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1861 ; discharged, 1864. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 303 

Hall, W. M., orderly sergeant, Company C, One Hundred and Ninety-sec- 
ond O. V. I.; enlisted 1864; discharged 1865. 

Hall, W. M., Forty-fifth O. V. I.; enlisted 1861 ; discharged 1863. 

Harshbarger, J. H., private, Company E, Benton Cadets. 

Hagelberger, P. J., private, Company M, First O. L. Art. ; enlisted 1861 ; 
discharged 1864. 

Herbert, Joseph K., private, Company D, Fifty-first O. V. I.; enlisted Oc- 
tober, 1864; discharged June, 1865. 

Haney, Isaac R., private, Company E, One Hundred and Tenth O. V. I.; 
enlisted September, 1862; wounded at Winchester, and died June, 1863. 

Haney, Peter L., private, Company E, Seventy-first O. V. I. ; enlisted Octo- 
ber, 1861 ; killed at Hartsville, Tenn., October, 1863. 

Hinsky, Adam, Company K, First O. V. I. ; enlisted September, 1861 ; dis- 
charged May, 1865. 

Hines, Allen, private, Company G, Ninth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted August, 
1863; discharged July, 1865. 

Haney, Franklin B., private, Company G, Ninth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted 
August, 1863; discharged July, 1865. 

Hemphill, Granville M., Company A, Seventy-ninth O. V. I.; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged January, 1863. 

Hanselman, William, sergeant, Company E, Fortieth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
September, 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Henderson, George A., Company C, Fifty-seventh O. V. I. ; enlisted Octo- 
ber, 1861 ; discharged October, 1862. 

Harp, Albert, private, Company B, Fifth O. V. I.; enlisted August, 1862; 
discharged June, 1865. 

Harp, Abram, Company C, Sixty-ninth O. V. I.; enlisted' April, 1862; dis- 
charged July, 1865. 

Harter, George S., private, Company H, One Hundred and Tenth O. V. I ; 
enlisted August, 1862 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Haggott, Benjamin P., hospital steward, Fifty-fourth O. V. I. ;• enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged December, 1862. 

Hume, David R., corporal, Company F, 15th O. V. I.; enlisted October, 
1861 ; discharged August, 1862. 

Hathaway, John F., corporal, Company F, Twentieth O. V. I.; enlisted 
October, 1861 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Hassenauer, John, Company I, Twentieth O. V. I.; enlisted August, 1862; 
discharged July, 1864. 

Harshberger, James H., corporal, Company L, First H. Art. ; enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1861 ; discharged May, 1865. 

Henry, Maxwell B., private, Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Henderson, William J., private, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty- 
fourth O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Harbor, Henry, private, Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 



304 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Isenberger, Henry, corporal, Company B, Sixty-sixth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
January, 1862 ; discharged 1865. 

Jones, Armstead, Company M, first sergeant, Company D, Fifty-fifth 
Massachusetts; enlisted May, 1863; discharged August, 1863. 

Johnson, Robert, private. Company F, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted Octo- 
ber, 1862; discharged May, 1865. 

Jackson, Matthew, private, Company B, Twenty-seventh U. S. C. T. ; 
enlisted December, 1863; discharged 1865. 

Johnston, Samuel P., private, Company I, One Hundred and Fifty-sixth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864 , discharged August, 1864. 

Kohler, John, private, Company H, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth O. 
V. I.; enlisted December, 1863; discharged July, 1865. 

Kauffeld, Henry, private, Benton Cadets. 

Kiser, Orin, private. Company K, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Kehr, Samuel, private, Company K, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Key, Norman, private, Company H, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth, O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Key, John H., private, Company H. One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. : enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Kerns, Joseph L., private, Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Knoop, John, private, Company E, One Hundred and Tenth O. V. I. : 
enlisted August, 1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Lawhead, Philip S., private, One Hundred and Forty-seventh O. N. G. ; 
enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Loth, John, Company G, Forty-seventh O. V. I.; enlisted August, 1861 ; 
discharged August, 1865. 

Littlejohn, George W., private, Company I, One Hundred and Tenth O. V. 
I.; enlisted August, 1862; discharged October, 1865. 

Ladd. George, corporal. Company B, Fifth U. S. C. T. ; enlisted Novem- 
ber, 1863; discharged September, 1865. 

Linn, John, private, Company F, One Hundred and Eighty-third O. V. I. ; 
enlisted October, 1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Lenhart, George D., sergeant, Company C, First Michigan; enlisted July, 
1863; discharged July, 1865. 

Lawrence, Asher A., corporal, First Bat.; enlisted August, 1861 ; dis- 
charged July, 1865. 

Lenox, Napoleon, private, Benton Cadets; enlisted 1861 : discharged 
August, 1 861. 

Le Fevre, Morgan A., private, Company F, Fifteenth O. V. I.; enlisted 
April, 1861 ; discharged August, 1861. 

McKee, Chas. W., sergeant-major, Eighty-eighth Ind. V. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged June, 1865; was wounded at Perrysville and Resaca. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 30o 

Markley, John, private, Company B, Sixty-sixth O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

McVay, Russell B., private, Company F, O. V. Cav. ; enlisted February, 
1864; discharged September, 1865. 

Mumford, John A., private. Company H, Eleventh O. V. I. ; enlisted April, 
1861 ; discharged July, 1864. 

Minniear, Amos G., private, Company C, Seventy-first O. V. I. ; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged November, 1864. 

Miller, Martin, private, Company D, Ninety-fourth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged June, 1865. 

Moore, Charles H., hospital steward, Second 111. Cav. ; discharged Novem- 
ber, 1865. 

Moore, Charles H., private, Company I, Second 111. Cav. ; enlisted July, 
1861 ; discharged November, 1865. 

Mahony, Patrick H., private, Company H, Twentieth Iowa ; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged September, 1862. 

McCullough, Charles, private, Company E, Benton Cadets. 

Moyer, George W., private, Company K, First Heavy Art. ; enlisted July, 
1863 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Messmer, Jacob, private, Company M, O. Light Art. ; enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1 861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Mann, Charles W., corporal Company F, Benton Cadets. 

Martin, William C, private, Company F, Fifteenth O. V. I. 

Mitchell, Wm. M., private, Company K, One Hundred and Eighty-fifth O. 
V. I. ; enlisted February, 1864 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Martin, John M., private, Company K, Twentieth O. V. T. ; enlisted Janu- 
ary, 1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Mulford, Henry J., private, Company D, Fifty-fourth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
September, 1861 ; discharged September, 1864. 

McDaniel, James, Company C, Sixty-ninth O. V. I.; enlisted 1862; dis- 
charged 1865. 

Maurer, Frederick, private, Company K, Twelfth O. V. I.; enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1863; discharged May, 1865. 

Mapes, Henry C, private, Company L, First O. Heavy Art. ; enlisted June, 
1863; discharged May, 1865. 

Markley, John, private, Company B, Sixty-sixth O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1861 ; discharged December, 1865. 

McVay, James, Company E, One Hundred and Eighty-fifth O. V. I. ; 
enlisted February, 1865; discharged September, 1865. 

Michael, Dewit C, private, Company K, One Hundred anl Thirty-ninth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

McVay, James, private, Company E, One Hundred and Eighty-fifth O. V. 
I.; enlisted February, 1865; discharged September, 1865. 

McCormick, James K., private. Company K, Fifty-seventh O. V. I. ; 
enlisted February, 1862; killed February, 1863. 



306 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

McCormick, Valentine, brigade wagon master; enlisted December, 1863; 
discharged June, 1864. 

Millhouse, Jacob J., corporal, Company E, One Hundred and Forty-seventh 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Mcintosh, Wm., private, Company E, Forty- fourth O. V. I. ; enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1861 ; discharged November, 1864. 

Mellinger, Joseph, private, Company K, Eighty-seventh O. V. I. ; enlisted 
June, 1862; discharged October, 1862. 

Maxwell, Capt. B. K., One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. N. G. ; enlisted 
May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Morrow, Thomas E., private, Company F, Eleventh O. V. I. ; enlisted 
April, 1 861 ; discharged July, 1864. 

McGinness, Leander, sergeant, Company C, Forty-fourth Ind. V. I.; 
enlisted August, 1861 ; discharged September, 1865. 

Nuss, Andrew, private, Company A, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged July, 1864. 

• O'Neil, William, private, Company A, Fifty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted 
August; discharged June, 1865. 

Phillips, John A., private, Company E, Thirty-sixth Ind. ; enlisted August 
1861 ; discharged September, 1863. 

Potts, Harrison M, private, Company E, One Hundred and Tenth O. V. 
I. ; enlisted August, 1862 ; discharged June, 1865. 

Parr, Wm. A., private, Company G, Seventy-first O. V. I. ; enlisted Janu- 
ary, 1862; discharged December, 1862. 

Powell, William, private, Company F, Eleventh O. V. I.; enlisted June. 
1861 ; discharged February, 1864. 

Powell, William, private, Company D, Thirty-first O. V. I. ; enlisted Feb- 
ruary, 1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Pilliod, Francis, private, Company I, Fortieth O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1 861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Proctor, John, private, Company F, One Hundred and Tenth O. V. I. ; 
enlisted August, 1862; killed 1864. 

Price, Wm. H., private, Company C, Ninth N. J. V. I. ; enlisted Novem- 
ber, 1864; discharged May, 1865. 

Patterson, Robt. M., first lieutenant, Company I, One Hundred and Eigh- 
teenth O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 1862 ; discharged June, 1865. 

Patterson, John H., corporal, Company E, One Hundred and Forty-sev- 
enth O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; died August, 1864. 

Patterson, Thomas R., private, Company E, One Hundred and Forty-sev- 
enth O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Quillen, Alvin E., private, Company L, Eighth U. S. Cav. ; enlisted Febru- 
ary, 1864; discharged November, 1864. 

Ouinn, Michael, sergeant, Company H. Fifteenth O. V .1. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged June, 1865. 

Russell, Joshua W., private, Company E, Second Heavy Art. ; enlisted 
September, 1863: discharged June, 1865. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 307 

Rylatt, James, corporal, Company A, Fourth Del. ; enlisted August, 1862 ; 
discharged June, 1865. 

Rodifer, Wm. L., private, Second Bat. Light Art.; enlisted August, 1862; 
discharged August, 1865. 

Reed, John J., sergeant, Company G, Twelfth O. V. I. ; enlisted September, 
1863; discharged November, 1865. 

Rebstock, Adolphus, private, Company I, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged July, 1864. 

Rebstock, Adolphus, first class musician, Second Brig. First Div. ; enlisted 
February, 1865; discharged July, 1865. 

Roberts, Henry C, private, Company I, Fifty-first O. V. I.; enlisted May, 
1863 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Rike, Dayton, private, Company K, Fifty-seventh O. V. I. ; enlisted Febru- 
ary 1862; discharged August, 1865. 

Rike, Wm. E., private, Company E, One Hundred and Eighty-fifth O. V 
I. ; enlisted February, 1864; discharged September, 1865. 

Reed, Wm. A., private, Company G, Twelfth O. V. Cav. ; enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1863; discharged November, 1865. 

Rasor, James A., private, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Steel, James A., private, Twenty-fifth O. V. I.; enlisted February, 1864; 
discharged 1864. 

Shaw, William H., private; Company F, Fifteenth O. V. I. ; enlisted April, 
1861 ; discharged August, 1861. 

Shellenbarger, Company M, First O. Art.; enlisted September, 1862; dis- 
charged March, 1865. 

Shoup, John, private, Company C, Third U. S. Art. ; enlisted December, 
1862; discharged December, 1864. 

Smeltzer, Thomas, commissary sergeant, Company G, Ninth O. V. Cav.; 
enlisted August, 1863; discharged August, 1865. 

Swearinger, G. A., corporal, Company B, Ninety-fourth O. V. I.; enlisted 
July, 1862; discharged June, 1865. 

Strunk, Levi, private, Company A, Eleventh O. V. Cav. ; enlisted October, 
1861; discharged April, 1865. 

Starret, David, private, Company I, Fortieth O V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1 861; discharged December, 1864. 

Soupp, Victor, private, Company I, Fortieth O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1 861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Stewart, Robert, private, Company B, Seventy-sixth O. V. I. ; enlisted Feb- 
ruary, 1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Stewart, William, Company E, Forty-fifth O. V. I. ; enlisted July, 1862 ; 
discharged June, 1865. 

Snodgrass, James H., sergeant, Company A, Twenty-eighth Mich. ; enlisted 
January, 1864; discharged June, 1866. 

Snell. John, private, Company E, Fortieth O. V. I.; enlisted September, 
1 86 1 ; discharged December, 1864. 



308 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Shanely, Isaac, private. Company I, Forty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted Novem- 
ber. 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Shue. John, private, Company E, Second O. Heavy Art. ; enlisted July, 
1863; discharged August, 1865. 

Shue, Conrad, private, Company K, Thirty-first O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 
1861 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Shanely, John, corporal. Company I, Forty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Spears, David, sergeant. Company A, Fifty-fifth Mass.; enlisted May, 
[863; discharged August, 1865. 

Shaw, James XV., sergeant, Company K, Twelfth O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1863: discharged November, 1865. 

Shue, Henrv. private. Second Bat.; enlisted January, 1864; discharged 
July. 1865. 

Souder, Henry J., private, Company K, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged May, 1865. 

Sparling, John S., private, Company I, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted Janu- 
ary, 1864; discharged March, 1865. 

Shaw, David, private. Sixteenth O. V. I. ; enlisted November, 1861 ; dis- 
charged November, 1862. 

Scott, George, private. Company E, Fifty-fourth O. V. I.; enlisted Jan- 
uary, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Smith, Robert, private, Company H, Fifty-fourth Mass. ; enlisted April, 
1863; discharged August, 1865. 

Surin. Deamons, sergeant, Company G, Seventy-first O. V. I. ; enlisted 
January. 1864; discharged November, 1865. 

Staley. Valentine, first sergeant, Company E, Fifteenth O. V. I.;. enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged March, 1865. 

Staley. Philip, private. Company H, Eighth O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Shearer, Jeremiah, private. Company B, Fiftieth O. V. I. ; enlisted August, 
1862; discharged June, 1865. 

Surin. Henry, private. Company G, Seventy-first O. V. I. ; enlisted Janu- 
ary, 1862; discharged February, 1865. 

Stew art, Luther, private, Benton Cadets. 

Snodgrass, Finley. private. Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. V. I. : enlisted January, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Smith. S. D., assistant surgeon LT. S. navy; enlisted spring of 1863; dis- 
charged fall of 1863. 

Smith. Win. P., orderly sergeant. Company E, One Hundred and Tenth 
O. V. I.: enlisted 1862; discharged July, 1865. 

Schenck. Geo. \\\, sergeant, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. : enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Schenck, John, private,. Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May. 1864; discharged August, 1864. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 309 

Staley, Daniel, private, Company F, Fourteenth O. V. I.; enlisted October 
1861 ; discharged November, 1863. 

Stockstill, Henry I., private. Company D, Fifty-first O. V. I.; enlisted 
September, 1864; discharged September, 1865. 

Stewart, Thomas D., corporal, Company E, Benton Cadets; enlisted Sep- 
tember, 1861 ; discharged January, 1862. 

Sparling, James, private. Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. : enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Staley, David, private, Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Staley, Armstrong, private, Company A, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864 ; discharged September, 1864. 

Slagel, Jacob S., private, Company B, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged 1864. 

Sceyster, \Ym. H., private, Company G, Seventh N. Y. I., Mexican war; 
enlisted 1846; discharged 1848. 

Schwartz, Samuel, private, Benton Cadets; enlisted 1861 ; discharged 1861. 

Stewart, Win. D., private, Company K, Fifty-seventh O. V. V. I.; enlisted 
January, 1864; discharged August, 1865. 

Stewart, Willoughby, private, Company F, Forty-seventh O. V. I. ; enlisted 
September, 1864; discharged July, 1865. 

Skillen, James F., bugler, First O. V. Cav. ; enlisted 1862; discharged 
1865. 

Stewart, Joseph, private, Company E, Forty-fifth O. V. I. ; enlisted July, 
1862; discharged June, 1865. 

Smith, John, private, Company B, Twentieth O. V. V. I. ; enlisted Septem- 
ber, 1 861 ; discharged June, 1865. 

Turner, George, private. Company D, One Hundred and Ninety-second O. 
V. I.; enlisted February, 1865; discharged April, 1865. 

Trapp, P. M., sergeant, Company G, First O. V. I. ; enlisted September, 
1 86 1 ; discharged August, 1864. 

Tourdot, Chas., private, Company I, Fortieth O. V. I. ; enlisted November, 
1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Thompson, Robt. J., private, Company I, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged August, 1864. 

Unum, David, private, Company E, Fortieth O. V. I. ; enlisted October, 
1861 ; discharged September, 1864. 

Van Ripley, William L., private, Company K, O. V. I. ; enlisted May. 1864; 
discharged September, 1865. 

Verdier, William I., private, Company I, Forty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted 
November, 1861 ; discharged December, 1864. 

Viney, Charles, private, Company F, Forty-third U. S. C. T. ; enlisted 
April, 1864; discharged October, 1865. 

Voorhees, Charles F., corporal, Company E, Benton Cadets; enlisted 
September, 1861 ; discharged January, 1862. 



310 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Williams, William H., private. Company F, Fifteenth O. V. I.; enlisted 
for three months. 

Woodruff, John A., private, Company K, Fifty-seventh O. V. I.; enlisted 
October, 1861 ; discharged August, 1865. 

Waldon, Alex., private, Company K, Thirty-second O. V. I. ; enlisted 
March, 1864; discharged August, 1865. 

Wicker, James, private, Company B, Fifth U. S. C. T. ; enlisted Novem- 
ber, 1863; discharged September, 1865. 

Wirich, George, Company F, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted September, 
1861 ; discharged October, 1863. 

Wright, Charles, Company F, Twentieth O. V. I. ; enlisted September, 
1 86 1 ; discharged October, 1864. 

Wyatt, Adam B., Company F. Eleventh O. V. I.; enlisted June, 1861. 

Weigend, Vinzing, Company D, First O. Heavy Art. ; enlisted June, 1863; 
discharged July, 1865. 

Williams, Elijah A., Company F, Nineteenth O. V. I. ; enlisted February, 
1865; discharged August, 1865. 

Wones, Simon, private, Company I, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. 
N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Wambaugh, B. F., private, Company A, Forty-seventh O. V. I. ; enlisted 
March, 1862 ; discharged June, 1865. 

Wilson. Dr. Albert, surgeon, First O. V. I.; enlisted April, 1861 ; dis- 
charged July. 1865. 

Wilson, Isaac N., private, Company A, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth 
O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Wenrick, John A., private, Company C, Twenty-fifth O. V. V. I.; enlisted 
October, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Wilson, J. Wesley, private, One Hundred and Thirty-fourth O. N. G. ; 
enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Wilkinson, Isaac N., private, Company D, One Hundred and Thirty- 
fourth O. N. G. ; enlisted May, 1864; discharged September, 1864. 

Wilson, Joshua, private, Company B, One Hundred and Fourth 111. V. I. ; 
enlisted August, 1861 ; discharged July, 1865. 

Williams, Job W., corporal, Company A, Seventy-first O. V. I. ; enlisted 
1 86 1 ; discharged 1865. 

Zerbe, George W., private, Company H, Fifteenth O. V. I.; enlisted 
August, 1862; discharged June, 1865. 

NEAL POST 

Shelby county bore its full share in the great contest in the sixties. As 
the years have passed this war has shown that it had far more to do with the 
world's history than the mere settlement of our own local questions. Ther- 
mopylae and Marathon held back the lower civilization of Persia, which 
was hurled against the higher civilization of the Greeks. Lepanto witnessed 
the destruction of the Turkish Mohammedan fleet and Christian civilization 
was granted a new life. The hands on the dial of time moved forward. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 311 

In the sixties the North had free speech, free schools and above all the 
right to labor without stigma. In the South free speech was at the risk of 
life; there were no common schools worthy of the name and the laborer was 
put upon the level of the slave. For a century this had dominated its people, 
and they had a lower and a higher civilization separated by only imaginary 
or natural lines. It was a conflict between them that called forth the war- 
riors. The destruction of slavery lifted not only our land but the whole 
of humanity to a higher plane and the conflict continued until the grave was 
dug so deep that a resurrection could never be possible. Our political status 
was placed on a safer foundation and our soldiers look at it with eminent 
satisfaction. This satisfaction is very much enhanced when the results are 
more fully known and realized. 

Had the Southern Confederacy succeeded, the first thing would have been 
the reestablishment of negro slavery on such a firm basis, that it would 
have remained for centuries, with all its evil influences, not only on their 
own people but with a reflex action on our side. They being the stronger, 
would have compelled the North to enter into such a treaty as would have 
made every civil officer responsible for the escape of their negro chattels. We 
would have been compelled to use all diligence, and to invoke all the powers 
of law to apprehend and hold property that belonged to the other side. From 
the Atlantic to the Pacific the border would have had its fortifications which 
would require armaments and men — this on both sides. 

In addition to this, each side would have required an army of revenue 
officers, to guard and collect the revenue according to such tariff laws as 
might have been enacted. All this expense would have come from a divided 
country, harrassed by constant internecine contests. 

The right of secession would have been settled affirmatively and we 
would have had that to face. New England would have said that she had 
no frontier to guard and why should she be taxed for the civil and military 
expenses — and she would have seceded. Likewise the Pacific coast, guarded 
on the east by the Rockies, would have done as New England did, and how 
could it be helped? 

Disintegration would surely have followed and we would have gradually 
become separate principalities without prestige or power. Taxes would have 
increased so that, as a whole, the amounts now paid as pensions would be 
but a drop in the bucket. Opportunity for English extension would have 
been manifest and in the course of time the English flag would have floated 
where now is the Star Spangled Banner. 

Shelby county sent into the ranks much of its best blood and when times 
of stress occurred, her soldiers carried themselves through with credit and 
honor to their country. On their return home they took up the work their 
hands had laid down and never faltered in their civil duties any more than 
in their military ones. 

The organization of the Grand Army of the Republic became a national 
one, and almost every community had its post. A, call was made April 5. 
1881, for the purpose of establishing one in Sidney. The charter members 



312 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

were C. W. McKee, W. A. Nutt, Thomas Wright, W. A. Skillen, VV. M. Van 
Fossen, E. E. Nutt, Albert Wilson, J. A. Montross, G. S. Harter, H. B. Neal, 
Hugo Stahl, C. R. Joslin, J. S. Laughlin, J. C. Haines, C. E. Fielding. H. A. 
Ailes, Reuben Smeltzer and Pember Burch. The name selected was "Neal," 
in honor of Capt. William D. Neal, Company K, Twentieth O. V. I., who 
was killed in front of Kenesaw mountain, June 26, 1864. At the date of 
compiling this history there have been mustered 489 veterans, coming from 
twelve different states and representing all arms of the service. 

The post has passed through many vicissitudes, and yet was generally 
prosperous, as it had the sympathy of a large majority of our citizens. But 
ape is fast thinning its ranks. Many live at a distance and the attendance is 
now small and soon Neal Post, No. Sixty-two, G. A. R., Department of 
Ohio, will lie numbered among the things that were. In the organization 
Xeal Post has borne no small part. On May 16, 1894, Capt. E. E. Nutt was 
elected Ohio department commander for one year. He appointed from the 
post, T. B. Marshall as his adjutant and H. C. Roberts as his quartermaster. 
At that time the department had nearly 44,000 members in some 650 posts. 

To formulate the necessary orders; receive and reply to the thousand and 
one questions was a task of no small dimensions. The year's administration 
was a very successful one and much praise was accorded to Commander Nutt 
in consequence. While in this connection it seems proper to give Mr. Nutt's 
history, both civil and military, as he was all his life one of the leading citizens 
of the county. 

He was born near Sidney in October. 1837, on a farm and prepared him- 
self for college. When teaching a district school he resigned and enlisted in 
the three months' service upon the firing on Fort Sumter. The regiment 
was the Fifteenth O. V. I. At the expiration of his enlistment, he joined 
the Twentieth O. V. I. for three years and advanced from private to captain. 
From the official records of the war. and while a lieutenant, he was awarded a 
silver medal for conspicuous bravery in the battle near Atlanta, July 24, 1864, 
by Maj.-Gen. F. P. Blair. His civil life was uneventful. He engaged in the 
grain trade, which he successfully pursued, and except for an interval of a 
few years continued until the close of his life in 1911. Outside of his busi- 
ness he was always interested and took an active part in various municipal 
affairs, chiefly in school matters. , His influence was long felt and he was 
considered a man of forceful character, a lifelong republican in politics and 
a professing Methodist in religion. The post now numbers eighty and its 
present commander is Dr. B. M. Sharp. 

THE MONUMENTAL BUILDING 

One of the most imposing structures in Sidney is this memorial edifice 
erected to the fallen heroes of the Civil war by a grateful people. In the 
year 1865, just at the close of the war, a town meeting was called to con- 
sider the proposition to erect a monument in the 'public square in memory 
of the martyred dead heroes of Shelby county. Many plans were suggested 
by various speakers but no definite action was taken at that meeting. After 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 313 

considering the matter for some time Messrs. C. W. Van De Grift, Frank B. 
Carey and Cyrus W. Frazer organized a private association for the purpose 
of conducting a lottery, the proceeds of which should be devoted to that pur- 
pose. Mr. Frazer withdrew and J. R. Fry became his successor. The 
lottery was established with real or personal property and the tickets were 
placed on sale at one dollar each. 

It was resolved to raise $60,000 and when $40,000 was realized $30,000 
was used in the purchase of real estate and personal property for prizes. 
When the sale of tickets was exhausted the lottery was drawn, the prizes 
distributed and the proceeds of the drawing, $11,473.97, delivered to the 
council. 

On the 2d of May, .1871, the general assembly of Ohio passed an act 
providing for the appointment of trustees and the disposition of moneys or 
other property held in trust for the erection of soldiers' monuments. This 
act provided for the appointment of trustees by the court of common pleas, 
who should give bond for the faithful discharge of the duties of the office; 
that such board of trustees should not exceed seven members, each of whom 
should be a resident of the county in which a monument was to be erected; 
that the board, or a majority thereof, should determine whether to erect a 
monument or a monumental building ; that permanent tablets should be pro- 
vided, on which should be inscribed the name of each soldier who lost his life 
in the service of his country ; that vacancies in the board should be filled by 
the court of common pleas; that all monuments or monumental buildings 
should be forever free from taxation. 

On the 27th of May, 1871, W. P. Stowell, Esq.. presented a petition to 
the court of common pleas, asking that the funds held by J. F. Frazier, George 
Vogle, and J. R. Fry, being the proceeds of the lottery,' be placed in the 
hands of trustees under the act of May 2, 187 1. Messrs. Frazier and Vogle 
appeared in court, waived service, and on June 12th the court determined, 
after due examination, that there were in the hands of said persons money, 
property, and assets to the value of $11,473.97, the same being a fund set 
apart for the erection of a soldiers' monument. The court thereupon 
appointed a board of trustees, consisting of Levi C. Barkdull, Nathan R. 
Wyman, H. S. Gillespie, Daniel Staley, Hugh Thompson, Joseph C. Haines, 
and R. R. Lytle. The court further directed the original trustees, Messrs. 
Frazier. Vogle, and Fry. to bring said amount of $11,473.97 into court on 
the 17th of June inst. This order was complied with, the new trustees gave 
approved bonds, and received the property in trust with instructions to loan 
the same in good and sufficient security. The trustees met on the same date 
and organized by electing Hugh Thompson, president; N. R. Wyman, secre- 
tary; and Hugh Thompson, N. R. Wyman. and L. C. Barkdull, executive 
committee. 

On May 27, 1873. the trustees purchased the corner lot, known as the 
Ackerly corner, and being the south half of the lot on corner of Court and 
Ohio streets. Sidney. The consideration was $4,500 and possession until the 
1st of April, 1874. 



314 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

On February 15, 1874, A. J. Robertson and Col. Harrison Wilson were 
appointed members of the board of trustees vice R. R. Lytle and H. S. 
Gillespie, who became non-residents. The property was then rented to John 
Mather for one year at $50 per annum. 

In the autumn of 1874 Mr. Robertson suggested the idea of requesting 
an additional legislative act to authorize the town and township to raise a 
joint fund which, with the amount already in the hands of the trustees, 
should be applied to the erection of a monumental building. This action was 
approved by the legislature, and the people were authorized to hold an elec- 
tion to determine whether the town and township should contribute to the 
project. Under this provision the corporation of Sidney and Clinton town- 
ship each voted $13,000, and issued bonds for said amount. 

On March 21, 1875, the board had resolved to erect a monumental build- 
ing if sufficient aid could be obtained from Sidney and Clinton township 
to make an aggregate fund of $40,000, and as noted above, said fund was 
raised by taxation. 

On May 30, 1875 Hugh Thompson and Col. H. Wilson were appointed 
to take proper measures to have another amount of $12,000 voted by 
Sidney and Clinton township, or a tax of $6,000 each. This was done March 
15. 1876, the same having been changed to $7,500 each, or an aggregate of 
$15,000. 

On the 14th of April the trustees rented a room for office uses in the 
residence of Hugh Thompson, and authorized A. J. Robertson to act for 
the board in arranging terms with the town and township as to the rights 
and privileges of each concerning the proposed building. Levi C. Barkdull, 
Harrison Wilson, and N. R. Wyman were appointed a committee on plan 
of building, subject to the approval of the full board. Hugh Thompson 
and L. C. Barkdull were authorized to dispose of the building which occupied 
the lot already purchased. The trustees, town councM, and township trustees 
elected representatives to report plans and confer in joint session. A. J. 
Robertson was chosen by the building trustees, Samuel McCune by the town 
council, and John Wagner by the township officers, as representatives of the 
three bodies concerned. Plans were received, and, after a full examination 
by the joint bodies, the plans submitted by Samuel Lane of Cleveland were 
adopted, and on May 10, 1875, a committee on contracts was appointed, con- 
sisting of A. J. Robertson, L. C. Barkdull, and N. R. Wyman, their action to 
be subject to the approval of the whole board. A. J. Robertson was appointed 
to superintend the construction of the building. 

Description and contracts. — The size of the building is one hundred 
and sixty-five feet on Court street and forty-four feet on Ohio street; three 
stories high, with basement in front thirty-five by forty-one feet, and a cellar 
under the whole building, which is so arranged as to be converted into rooms if 
any necessity of this character should arise. 

The brickwork was let to W. W. Robertson .for $9,259.82. The cellar 
wall to Jacob Hopler for $954.26. Cut stonework to Thomas Jones for 
$9,650. Additional work to Thomas Jones for $473. Woodwork to Mr. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 315 

McCoy for $11,500. Painting and glazing to F. Gierman for $2,963. Gal- 
vanized iron, tin, and slating to W. M. Service & Co. for $1,915. Plastering 
to Fullers & Pecks for 6,508. Iron columns to Manning & Son for $2,887.29. 
Gas fitting to P. Smith & Bro. for $225. Frescoing and scene painting to E. 
F. Harvey for $1,200. Steam heater to Brooks, Leight & Co. for $3,397. 
Stage carpenter work to F. Fowler for $430. Cost of stone for cellar and 
area walls for $1,479.85. 

\ 1,400-pound bell was furnished by the corporation of Sidney. 

Laying the corner-stone. — The following order of exercises was observed 
on Thursday, June 24, 1875, being the occasion of the laying of the corner- 
stone of Monumental Building. Prayer, by Rev. T. C. Reade, after which 
the square, level, and plumb were masonically applied to the corner-stone, and 
the corn, wine, and oil sprinkled upon it; whereupon the grand master struck 
the corner with his gavel, and the whole ceremonies were masonically 
explained. A box was then deposited in the corner-stone containing the fol- 
lowing-named articles: Programme of the day; list of discharged soldiers of 
Shelby county; list of officers and members of Company M, First Ohio 
Light Artillery of Shelby county; copy of Shelby County Democrat of June 
24, 1875; copies of Sidney Journal of April 21, 1865, and June 18, 1875; list 
of Summit Lodge, No. Fifty, K. of P. ; a $500 monumental bond of the village 
of Sidney, of issue of June 14, 1875; Wide-awake badge of J. C. Jacobs, 
lieutenant-colonel of the Twenty- fourth New York Cavalry; list of Silver 
Star Cornet Band ; copy of Cincinnati Gazette, Commercial, and Enquirer of 
June 24, 1875; charter of Orange Lodge, No. One Hundred and Fifty-two, 
and names of charter members ; name of the former owner of the building site, 
George Ackerly; names of survivors of the Mexican war, A. J. Robertson, 
George Ackerly, Amos Woaley, and W. H. Howell ; names of building com- 
mittee, A. J. Robertson, N. R. Wyman, and L. C. Barkdull; name of archi- 
tect, Samuel Lane, associate member of American Institute of Architects. 

It may here be observed that after this part of the ceremony, Sergt. W. 
M. Van Fossen, who in the procession was color-bearer of the Ninety-ninth 
regiment, veiled the corner-stone with the flag, saying, "Done in memory of 
the fallen heroes of Shelby county, in the state of Ohio and town of Sidney, 
June 24th, in the year of our Lord 1875." 

A Masonic address was then delivered by J. F. McKinney, Esq., of Piqua, 
to a large and enthusiastic assemblage in the public square. 

John G. Stephenson was appointed a member of the board February 9, 
1877, vice L. C. Barkdull, resigned. 

On April 14, 1877, the trustees were authorized to issue bonds for the 
completion of the building, and H. Thompson and J. G. Stephenson were 
appointed to procure printed bonds. Messrs. Haines and Stephenson were 
instructed to collect $670 from Sidney and $100 from Clinton township, to be 
applied to the payment for heating apparatus. 

On the 4th of May the trustees submitted a report to the court of com- 
mon pleas. Moneys received consisted of real estate, notes, etc., amounting to 
$59,538.32. Disbursements, $58,289.08. Balance on hand, $1,249.24. 



316 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

On February i, 1890, the trustees met to consider a proposition to receive 
the books and other property from the Library Association trustees, and on 
February iotli the proposition was accepted on the following conditions: 
That the library be free to the clergy, their wives and minor children; to 
soldiers and sailors of the Civil war and their wives and minor children; to 
the widows and mothers of such soldiers or sailors who may have died in the 
service; to all others upon such terms as the trustees may prescribe; the whole 
institution to be governed by such rules and regulations as the board may 
adopt. The Monumental Association, by the board of trustees, bound the cor- 
poration to accept the proposition and comply with its provisions as soon as 
the funds of said association would justify full acceptance. 

The building, which was completed in 1877, has a splendid basement 
devoted to various uses ; the first floor on Ohio street, as originally conceived, 
had two store-rooms, one one hundred and twelve by nineteen feet, and 
the other seventy-five by nineteen feet. These have entrances on Ohio street, 
as have also the library and hall, while the store-rooms have entrances on 
Court street, also. Adjoining the Court street entrance to the hall and second 
story is a room eighteen by forty-three feet, once used for the postoffice, and 
west of this the fire department. 

On the second floor is Library Hall, forty-two by seventy-five feet, with a 
librarian's office and museum, thirty-five by eighteen feet. In Library Hall 
are preserved the marble tablets upon which are inscribed the names of the 
illustrious patriots who died in the War of the Rebellion. Its splendid afcoves, 
arches and decorations make it a fit place to enshrine the names of the 
county's dead. 

TIk- third floor was the Opera Hall, forty-two by one hundred and twenty- 
six feet, which was complete in ornament, scenery and furniture and capable 
of seating seven hundred and fifty people. This room was abandoned as an 
opera house in 1895 and has since been the home of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 

The whole is surmounted by a mansard roof, with a niche on the Ohio 
street front in which is a bronze statue of a private soldier resting on his gun. 

The building has always been a source of pride to the community and 
stands a crowning credit to its originators, and all who in any way contributed 
to its construction. 

The present board of monumental trustees consists of Judge Harrison 
Wilson, president; W. A. Graham. W. B. McCabe, W. T. McLean, L. M. 
Studevant and Perry Frazier. 

TABLET ROSTER 

The soldiers' tablets in Monumental Hall contain the roster as given 
below. The inscriptions at the head of the three tablets are also reproduced. 



D. M. Crumbaugh, Fifty-fifth Illinois. 
D. Elliott, Lincoln Guards. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



317 



J. W. Michael, Company D, Twenty-fifth 111. 

J. Ouatman, Thirty-second Ind. Cav. 

G. Turner, Company K, One Hundred and Ninety-second O. V. I. 

J. McKercher, Company C, Second O. Art. 

Lieut. R. B. Neal, Fifth IT S. Col. Hy. Art. 

One Hundred and George Baldwin, Ninth O. Cav. 

Neh. Baldwin, Ninth O. Cav. 
George Hardesty, Ninth O. Cav. 
Francis R. Honnell, Ninth O. Cav. 
Virgil C. Hardesty, Ninth O. Cav. 
John P. Powell, Ninth O. Cav. 
Thomas Powell, Ninth O. Cav. 
Austin E. Wright, Ninth O. Cav. 
Amos Winks, Ninth O. Cav. 
Charles Beers, Seventy-eighth O. 
V. I. 

Anth. J. Wilford, Seventy-eighth 
O. V. I. 

E. Brust, Sixty-sixth 111. 
W. C. Elliott, Forty-fourth O. 
H. H. Quillen, First O. Inf., Com- 
pany E. 

P. O Jacobs, Forty-fifth O. Inf., 
Company E. 

J. B. Graham, First O. Inf., Com- 
pany G. 

E. Eisenstein, Schultz's Battery. 
Henry Faust, Schultz's Battery., 
Ch. Katzabua, Schultz's Battery. 
August Nessler, Schultz's Battery. 
George Remfer, Schultz's Battery. 
N. Theabold, Schultz's Battery. 
Chris. Wolforn, Schultz's Bat- 
tery. 

Samuel Ashby, First O. Cav. 
Wm. Boyer, First O. Cav. 
Thos. O'Neil, First O. Cav. 
John Slagle, First O. Cav. 
Jas. A. Steale, First .O. Cav. 
Isaac R. Haney, One Hundred 
and Tenth O. V. I., Company E. 

Clark Morrow, One Hundred and 
Tenth O. V. I., Company E. 

John Procter, One Hundred and 
Tenth O. V. I., Company E. 



J 

Twenty-sixth O. V. I. 

P. S. Hodge, Forty-fifth O. V. I. 

I. Gallimore, Thirty-first O. V. I. 

Isaac Rollins, Fortieth O. V. I., 
Company E. 

Frank Kemper, Fortieth O. V. I., 
Company E. 

Henry Segner, Fortieth O V. I., 
Company E. 

Samuel Chambers, Fortieth O. V. 
I., Company I. 

John P. Born, One Hundred and 
Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

John B. Dunham, One Hundred 
and Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

John W. Denman, One Hundred 
and Thirty- fourth O. N. G. 

George Line, One Hundred and 
Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

Cyrus W. Jackson, One Hundred 
and thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

Tames R. McClure, One Hundred 
and Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

Jerry Ray. One Hundred and 
Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

Wm. Stone. One Hundred and 
Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

Wm. K. Wilkinson. One Hundred 
and Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

Thomas Wise, One Hundred and 
Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

Emerson Williams, One Hundred 
and Thirty-fourth O. N. G. 

T. Rollin. Fifty-eighth O. V. I. 

Levi J. Bird, Twelfth O. Cav. 

Ransom Gregg, Twelfth O. Cav. 

John Green, Twelfth O Cav. 

John D. Struble, Twelfth O. Cav. 

Wm. R. Wright, Twelfth O. Cav. 

Samuel G. Brown, Ninth O. Cav. 



318 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



James U. Corvvih, Forty-second 
O. V. I. 

Isaac DeBoy, Forty-second O. V. 
I. 

Wm. Gray, corporal, Forty-sec- 
ond O. V. I. 

Jas. McConnaughey, Forty-sec- 
ond O. V. I. 

John Baldwin, Benton Cadets. 

Clark J. Baker, Benton Cadets. 

Wm. W. Darnell, Benton Cadets. 



John Forsyth, Benton Cadets. 

Wm. Ginn, Benton Cadets. 

W. T. Windle, Benton Cadets. 

Wm. B. Crowell, Eleventh O. V. 
I.. Company F. 

Sam Lippencott, Eleventh O. V. 
I.. Company F. 

E. A. Morrow, Eleventh O. V. I., 
Company F. 

James Wolf, Eleventh O V. L, 
Company F. 



SHELBY COUNTY'S FALLEN HEROES 



Fifty-seventh Regiment, O. V. I. 



P. Doolan, Co. A. 
J. Lotteridge, Co. A. 
J. W. Toland, Co. C. 
J. G. Meranda, Co. K. 
F. M. McCormick, Co. K. 
J. Merchling, Co. K. 



J. McCormick, Co. K. 

J. M. Rhodehamel, Co. K. 

Jas. J. Smith, Co. K. 

David Smith, Co. K. 

S. Woodruff, Co. K. 

J. W. Weatherhead, Co. K. 



Co. B. 

J. T. Lucas, Lieut. 
David Bowlsby. 
Chris. Botkin. 
Henry L. Baker. 
Wm. Conway. 
A. C. F. Feinck. 



Fiftieth Regiment, O. V. I. 

Wm. Flint. 
Robert Ginn. 
Moses M. Grey. 
John Humphrey. 
Robert Jeffries. 
Jesse Lenox. 
J. Lippencott. 



W. Magginnis. 
J. W. McDonald. 
Wm. T. Peer 
J. F. Polhanus. 
Thomas Day. 
John Jones. 



Co. B. 

Elias Baldwin. 
W. H. Borum. 
George Baldwin. 
David Baldwin. 
Perry Bailey. 
W. R. Campbell. 
Jas. H. Coleman. 
Gabriel Crawford. 
Daniel Eicher. 
T. J. Goble — L. Gump. 
Harlin P. Hall. 
Amos Hoffman. 



Twentieth Regiment, O. V. I. 

Francis M. Hall. 
J. Harshbarger. 
John Johnston. 
Abr. I. Mapes. 
Henry D. Minnick. 
Wm. Munch. 
J. B. McAlexander. 
Ben. J. F. Ogle. 
George Pence. 
John Rinehart. 
G. W. Rush. 
George W. Ragen. 
Joseph S. Schench. 



Henry Schench. 
Henry Staley. 
Martin L. Thrush. 
J. W. Wilkinson. 
William Waters. 
Sylvester Wright. 
John K. Wilson. 
Harvey Watts. 
J. C. Williamson. 

Co. F. 
J. E. Blakely. 
William H. Cov. 
P. Crotenbiler. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 



319 



William F. Clancy. 
Cor. Davenport. 
Mathias Elliott. 
Lemuel Ellsworth. 
William Edwards. 
Robert Elliott. 
Levi Hughes. 
Philip Hall. 
John Hinkle. 
Albert Hines. 
William Heffelman. 
William Henman. 
John Hinskey. 
Martin Hale. 
Thomas Jackson. 
George W. Jordon. 
Thomas Minnear. 
George Olden. 
S. E. McManama. 
Nathan Russell. 
John S. Shaw. 
Thomas Smith. 
Daniel Vanate. 
John W. Vandever. 



Co. I. 

Theophilus G. Ailes. 
Demmitt Barker. 
Benjamin Dodds. 
Adam Englehart. 
Pierce Johns. 
Silas Kemp. 
T. G. McClelland. 
B. L. Shackelford. 

Co. K. 

Wm. D. Neal, Capt. 
William Airgood. 
William Baker. 
Oliver P. Bogart. 
Columbus Beeson. 
David C. Baker. 
Samuel Bryan. 
Thomas Baldwin. 
Jesse Babcock. 
Elisha Bogue. 
Isaac O. Cole. 
Thomas Duncan. 
James Dalton. 



Perry Deweese. 
George Deal. 
Jasper N. Davis 
Jesse Day. 
William Dodds. 

E. S. Gallimore. 

F. Hawkins. 
Eli Hardesty. 
H. Hardesty. 
Christian Jelly. 
James A. Knox. 
John E. Kessler. 
Ozias Lambert. 
Martin Line. 
Abraham Lenox. 
Elias Manning. 
Jasper Miller. 
James Moore. 
George W. Quillen. 
George Ridenbo. 
Moses Sturgeon. 
William H. Sturm. 
John Umphrey. 
John Wagner. 
Andrew J. Watson. 
Andrew Willis. 



One Hundred and Eighty-fifth Regiment, O. V. I. 

Co. E. Jacob Bogar. J. W. Hogan. 

Jacob Bland. Jacob Cook. John Shane. 



IN PEACE 

Seventy-first Regiment, O. V. I., Company C. 
Peter L. Haney. Jacob W. Miller. Wharton S. Woolery. 

One Hundred and Eighteenth Regiment, O. V. I. 



Co. C. 

Joseph Backman. 
George Baker. 
James H. Clavvson. 
Thomas Clawson. 
Andrew Invin. 
Joseph Kistner. 



H. Tholmier. 
E. Thompson. 

Co. I. 

C. Coulson. 
William Consoliver. 
Frederick Dudy. 
Robert L. Gouge. 



Robert Julian. 
John H. Kessler. 
C. Mellinger. 
Aaron Morgan. 
John M. Stang. 
iR. J. Thompson. 
B. F. Walker. 
T. Westfall. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Ninety-ninth Regiment, O. V. I. 



Co. C. 

David L. Brown. 
Christian Botkin. 
G. R. Beeson. 
Perry O. Babcock. 
Michael Beeman. 
W. H. Cover. 
David Clayton. 
Martin Denman. 
Joel Darnell. 
Joseph Delap. 
Dudenick Dearbolt. 
Frank Irwin. 
Charles O. Frazier. 
John Fix. 
Henry Flesher. 
William Franklin. 
W. T. Graham. 
John Hartzell. 
John Kizer. 
Andrew King. 
James N. Luckey. 
William McClure. 



Joel Maddox. 
Stewart McElroy. 
John B. Morehead. 
Charles H. McMullen. 
A. Ringelspaugh. 
G. W. Sharp. 
Jerry Sullivan. 
J. T. Voorhees. 
W. R. Wilkinson. 
G. W. Windle. 

Co. H. 

J. L. Goble, Lieut. 
John August. 
Robert Blakely. 
William Barker. 
Edwin Barker. 
John Collins. 
John Chambers. 
N. F. Cannon. 
Espy C. Dill. 
James R. Dodson. 
George U. Dormire. 
Lafavette Daviss. 



S. Dunsbarger. 
Lewis Haney. 
Jonathan Haven. 
Joseph Hume. 
G. W. Kizer. 
John Mapes. 
James W. Murphy. 
W. H. Ogan. 
Wm. C. Penrod. 
Cyrus H. Russell. 
Charles Streets. 
John Swanders. 
Aaron Swanders. 
Alfred Swanders. 
John Schrarer. 
B. F. Stone. 
G. W. Shearer. 
George P. Wilkinson. 
George Weimer. 
Edwin Wooley. 

Co B. 

John W. Berry. 
David Kizer. 



COMPANY L, SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR 

Company L, Third Infantry, Ohio National Guard, answered first call 
for troops for the Spanish-American war, April 26, 1898, mobilized at Camp 
Bushnell, Columbus, O., and was mustered into United States service, May 
10, 1898. 

The Third regiment was assigned to the Fifth Army Corps and sent at 
once to Tampa, Fla. The corps was ordered to prepare to embark on trans- 
ports for Cuba, had excess baggage stored and some of the horses loaded, 
when word came that, owing to there not being sufficient transports, the 
Third Ohio would not be taken, greatly to the disappointment of the ambi- 
tious recruits and the relief of the mothers and sweethearts at home. The 
six months' service of the regiment was spent in camp at De Sota park near 
Tampa at Femandino, Fla., and Huntsville, Ala. 

1 he company on the first call was made up of seventy-two officers and men. 
Upon the second call for troops the company was filled with recruits to the 
number of one hundred and nine, whose names are here recorded: Officers: 
Capt., William T. Amos; first lieut., Henry M. Theurer; second lieu.t., Emer- 
son V. Moore ; sergeants, first, Jesse C. Wilson ; q'. m., Cliffe Wilson, Benjamin 
McCullough. Jesse L. Frazier, Frank M. Hussey and Arthur W. Kah. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 321 

Corporals, Elmer Kendall, Louis P. Kraft, Melvin T. Williams, James 
Orbison, Robert Van De Grift, Omer Dill, Dan Wikofif, Eayre Haines, Robert 
Ginn, Ferd Amann, Jesse Laughlin, Weber Hussey and James Luckey. Musi- 
cians, Harland E. Kah, Charles Rostron; artificer, Asby G. Talbot; wagoner, 
William Sarver. 

Privates, George Ackerly, William Apgar, De Witt S. Bush, Daniel Bur- 
ton, Rolla Barber, Joseph Brandt, Martin Bennett, Henry W. Beck, Samuel 
Bower, Marion Bulle, Jason Carey, Edwin Cowan, William Dunnavant, Wil- 
liam Deveney, Fred S. Edgar, William F. Eberle, Ervin Elliott, George Ehr- 
hardt, Eayre Flinn, Chris Frey, Oliver Foust, Benjamin Funk, William 
Gilfillan, Frederick T. Given, Henry Griffen, Albert Huffman, George Haines, 
Ralph Heiges, Clem Hussey, Fred Havescher, Charles Harbaugh, Harry 
Humphreys, Oliver Horner, William Hoff, Clinton Kiplinger, William Kress, 
William Kummer, George Lewis, Reuben Luckey, John Longenecker, Harry 
Lewis, John Ludwig, William Leymaster, George Morton, Roy Motsinger, 
Harry Miller, Bayly Montross, John McHenry, Frank McVay, John McKer- 
cher, Harry Neal, Edward Nicholson, Frank Ockenfels, Daniel O'Neil, Omer 
Odell, Walter Parcher, Marenas Price, Louis Pfaadt, George Ruff, Harry 
Rhodefer, William Rostron, Joseph Reiger, Alvin Rhinehart, John Stang, 
Emory Sarver, Julius Struckman, Stephen Shannon, Philemon Snider, Jacob 
Staley, George Swob, Joseph Schaub, John Toller, Elmer Vogler, Todd 
Weaver, Adolphus Williams, Albert Wagner, Freeman Wright, Franklin 
Willoughby, Ben. Wiley, John Young, Adam M. Young, and Karl F. Young. 

These officers and men were at the time of service all residents of Shelby 
county. There was much sickness due to the unsanitary condition of the camp 
at Tampa. Many of Company L were in serious condition and rfiany were 
sent home on sick furlough, but a remarkable feature was that there was not 
a death in the company during the six months' service. The company was 
mustered out at Columbus in October with their flag, a beautiful silk one pre- 
sented by the young ladies of Sidney, unspotted with blood and unsullied with 
the marks of the battlefield. At the reception given in the armory a few 
evenings after their return Melvin Williams on behalf of the boys presented 
Lieut.-Col. W. T. Amos with a beautiful sword. 



CHAPTER XVIII 

THE BENCH AND BAR 

Organization of the Courts — Interesting Cases — Old Time Judges and 
Lawyers— The Shelby County Bar of Today. 

Following the admission of Ohio into the Union February 19, 1803, the 
first legislature passed an act organizing the judicial system. Montgomery 
county, which is as old as the state, was established by an act of the same 
legislature the same year and embraced what are now the counties of Preble, 
Darke, Mercer, Allen, Van Wert, Paulding, Williams, Fulton, Henry, Defi- 
ance, Putnam, Auglaize, Shelby and Miami. 

In 1807 Miami was separated from Montgomery and formed into a 
county with Staunton as the county seat. 

In 1819 Shelby county was detached from Miami and erected into a 
separate organization with jurisdiction extending northward over the present 
counties of Auglaize and Allen, which formed the original Auglaize and 
Amanda townships of Shelby county. It is recalled that at this time the 
whole county was undeveloped but settlements had been pushed forward with 
rapid strides from 181 2 to 1819 which indicated complete and permanent 
development. So it was that on the 17th of May, 1819, we find a court of 
common pleas in session at Hardin ready to "administer even-handed jus- 
tice to the rich and poor alike." 

This court was conducted by the Hon. Joseph H. Crane, president judge, 
and Robert Houston, Samuel Marshall and William W. Cecil, associate 
judges. On the first day of the session Harvey B. Foote was appointed clerk 
of the court and Henry Bacon prosecuting attorney. 

A few licenses were granted and the court adjourned sine die on its initial 
day. The next session convened September 13, 1819, with a full staff of 
judicial, executive and clerical officers and at this time the sheriff, Daniel V. 
Dingman, returned the following venire to serve as the first grand jury in 
the Shelby county courts : John Frances, foreman ; John Manning, James 
Lenox, Joseph Mellinger, Conrad Ponches, Lebediah Richardson, Joseph 
Steinberger, Henry Hushan, John Stevens, Archibald Defrees, Cephas Carey, 
Peter Musselman, John Bryant and Richard Lenox. One juror not appear- 
ing, Abraham Davenport filled out the panel from the bystanders. 

The first case on the criminal docket was that of the State of Ohio vs. 
Hugh Scott, indicted for assault and battery. He plead guilty and was fined 
ten dollars and costs. 

322 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 323 

The next term of court convened at Sidney, April 24, 1820, Hardin hav- 
ing lost the distinction of being a seat of justice. 

It might be interesting to note in this time of "high cost of living" that 
Samuel Marshall was allowed $17 and William Cecil $17.38 for services as 
associate judges from the 4th of June, 1821, to the 4th of June, 1822; the 
prosecuting attorney, Henry Bacon, was paid $50; the grand jurors, $93; 
petit jurors, $4 : constables, $7.80. 

Court at Hardin convened in an old block house and w r hen Sidney was 
made the county seat the sessions were held in- the humble homes of different 
citizens until the spring of 1822 when the first court house was built. The 
first meeting of court at Sidney was in the log cabin of Abraham Cannon on 
the south side of a corn field which occupied the center of the town. About 
the court stretched the forest rich in the varied garb of nature and abounding 
in wild game. The bridgeless Miami flowed unvexed toward the gulf and the 
craft that cut its waters were the flat boats of the first traders. 

The launching of the first county court must have been an event of 
supreme importance to the people. It assured them that a new era had opened 
and that the new county had taken its place among internal commonwealths. 

In course of time the number of attorneys increased. There were tedious 
journeys over poor roads to the county seat and these were performed in all 
sorts of weather. Locomotion, therefore, was slow and the early lawyers had 
ample time to think over their cases. 

In early times court terms were limited to two weeks and consequently 
the docket was always crowded. The system of pleading was under the old 
common law, the complications of which often tried the patience of the early 
bar. Divorce cases were few and not many criminal cases -were docketed. 

Those were the days of meagre fees ; in fact, litigants as a rule were poor 
in this world's goods and therefore avoided litigation as much as possible. 

The first pleaders before the bench of Shelby county were men "of worth 
and ability and of much erudition. They knew literature as well as law; 
they were as familiar with Shakespeare as with Blackstone. The old bar 
of the county has disappeared. 

The last of the old practitioners passed with Judge Thompson and the 
temple of justice which echoed long ago to its wit and eloquence has given 
place to a new structure but the record left behind by the first lawyers has 
not been lost. It would be invidious to discriminate but we give a brief 
summary of the lives of some of the early practitioners. 

The first lawyer of Shelby county of whom we have any record is Judge 
Samuel Marshall, who was born in Ireland a year before our Declaration of 
Independence and came to Washington, Pennsylvania, in 1784, with his 
father. In 1808 he started westward and settled in Washington township 
where the Marshalls became one of the oldest and most influential families in 
the county. He served as one of the first associate judges of the courts for 
many years, was county commissioner from 1828 to, 1834. and in all official 
capacities as in the private walks of life was held in high esteem. He was 
one of the first contractors of the old Piqua and Fort Defiance mail route 



324 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

from Piqua to Bellefontaine. His sons Hugh and C. C. Marshall, carried the 
mail over these routes at a very early day. Judge Marshall died February 12, 
1838. 

The Hon. Patrick Gaines Goode, named after the illustrious Patrick 
Henry, an intimate friend of his father, belonged to the sixteenth generation 
of the illustrious family of Goode. They were Huguenots and many emi- 
grated to Virginia at an early day, figured prominently as loyalists in its pro- 
vincial history, but took a decided stand as patriots in the war of the Revo- 
lution. Many of the family were lawyers, physicians and legislators in the 
state and in congress. 

Judge Goode was born in Prince Edward county, Virginia, May 10, 
1798, and came to Ohio near Xenia with his father in 1805. Here he worlced 
on a farm until sixteen when he entered a classical school for three years and 
later followed the same instructor to Philadelphia where he studied for two 
years. He then came back to Ohio and commenced the study of law at 
Lebanon, Warren county, which boasted of some of the great legal lights 
of the day. He was admitted to the bar at the age of twenty-three, practiced 
a little while at Madison and Liberty, Indiana, and in 1831 came to Sidney. 
As the county was yet new he devoted a part of his time to teaching and 
was a zealous worker for the State Sabbath School Society, organizing 
schools in Shelby and the counties north of it. In 1833 he was elected to the 
Ohio house, reelected, and in 1835 received a certificate of election to the 
Ohio senate which he refused to claim because some of his opponents' votes 
were thrown out on technicalities. 

The following year he was sent to congress from a district of fourteen 
counties extending from Dayton to Toledo, twice reelected and refused a 
fourth term. In congress he was an indefatigable worker and labored inces- 
santly for the improvements in the Maumee valley. When the sixteenth 
judicial district was created in 1844, composed of Shelby and Williams with 
the intervening counties, ten in number, he was elected president judge of the 
district by the general assembly for a term of seven years. After his term 
was out he resumed the practice of law in Sidney but shortly abandoned it 
to enter the ministry. In 1857 he was granted a regular appointment in the 
M. E. conference and so zealous was he that he overtaxed his endurance at 
a meeting of the conference in 1862 at Greenville where he was burdened 
with responsibilities owing to his knowledge of parliamentary law that he 
died two weeks later, October 7, 1862. 

He was married July 3, 1832, to Miss Mary Whiteman in Greene county, 
and had three children, two of whom survived childhood. 

Handsome in person, easy and gracious in manner, lofty in his ideas, he 
made a deep impression on everybody he met. Eminently religious by nature 
he set a high moral example in the practice of politics. Judge Goode was not 
only a jurist but a man of fine literary taste and was all his life a student. 
At the establishment of the Ohio Wesleyan University at Delaware he was 
made a member of the college board of trustees and continued in that capacity 
up to the time of his death. He was an able advocate and profound lawyer, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 325 

ready and proficient in all matters of evidence and practice and his industry 
was such that he was always found fully armed and ready for the fray. 

Well may the language of Antony which he applied to Brutus be applied 
lo him: "His life was gentle, and the elements so mixed in him, that Nature 
might stand up and say to all the world 'This was a man !' " 

Jacob S. Conklin, whose services on the bench and at the bar have justly 
made his name a distinguished one in Ohio was born in Jackson township, 
Champaign county, Ohio, December 14, 181 5. His early youth was spent 
there and it was there that the foundation of his education was laid. After 
holding a clerkship in two of the county offices at Springfield, Clark county, 
he came to Sidney in 1836 and commenced the practice of law with Judge 
Goode. His practice extended over a large area of territory and in 1844 he 
was elected prosecuting attorney for this county. He declined a reelection 
and in turn served in the legislature both as a member of the lower and 
upper house. In the Fremont and Buchanan campaign of 1856 he was a 
Fremont elector. After another term as prosecuting attorney he was 
appointed by Governor Brough in 1864 to fill a vacancy on the common pleas 
bench, a position to which he was elected for the full term -a year later. In 
1880 he was again made prosecuting attorney in the face of a heavy demo- 
cratic majority. Judge Conklin was married in 1841 and had eight children, 
two of whom are living at the present time. He died October 2, 1887. 

His was a brilliant intellect, with a retentive memory enriched with the 
choicest gems from the classics. An able and conscientious judge whose 
written opinions show a mind of choice legal capabilities. They are. clear and 
comprehensive. As a lawyer his arguments on the facts of a case were 
remarkable for their completeness in presenting the whole, case, showing a 
mastery of the facts and an appreciation of the strong and weak points on 
each side and ability to sift evidence. His forte was in arguments tq the 
court. His fund of reminiscences was never ending for the lawyers of the 
pioneer days were obliged to travel extensive circuits to practice their pro- 
fession and as they endured the same hardships and privations the warmest 
personal friendships grew up among them. 

Judge Hugh Thompson was born in a family of high social standing near 
Uniontown, Fayette county, Pennsylvania, November 30, 1807, of Irish 
parents, and died in February, 1889. After some years of farm life at home; 
he associated with his father in the mercantile trade in Uniontown and in 
183 1 came to Sidney when it was a village of 637 inhabitants. He pursued 
the business of merchandising but in 1834 he was chosen an associate justice 
for Shelby county to fill the unexpired term of the Hon. Samuel Marshall. 
At the end of his term he was continued for the full term by an appointment 
of the general assembly and continued to hold this position until 1841 when 
he entered the profession of law and remained in practice up to 1875. He 
was seven years prosecuting attorney of the county, a member of the State 
Constitutional Convention of 1851, and served in the lower house of the 
general assembly from 1857 to 1859. He was a stanch democrat in politics 
and an ardent Presbyterian in religious faith in which church he was for 



326 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

many years an elder. He married in 1833 and one daughter, Mrs. Elizabeth 
T. Mathers, the mother of Judge Hugh T. Mathers, survives. 

He was one of the original incorporators of the First National Bank- 
chartered in 1864, at one time president of the German American and a 
director in the Citizens Bank. In social life Judge Thompson was one of the 
pleasantest of men. His humour and repartee were of the highest character 
and an hour with him in social conference was a joy and a pleasure. As a 
lawyer he was patient in hearing facts from his clients, prudent and careful 
in preparing his cases, terse and logical in his pleadings and successful in his 
practice. 

One of the cases in which he was engaged when a member of the law firm 
of Thompson & Mathers attracted general interest at the time because it 
was the first time that particular principle was enunciated and shows his 
power of analysis. 

One partner had sued another for alleged slander in charging him with 
having had a hand in the burglarizing of their store. Thompson and Mathers 
were employed to defend and Thompson correctly analyzing the case and 
applying the legal principles involved demonstrated in court that inasmuch as 
it was not a crime for a partner to enter his own store room and take away 
goods he was owner of, no crime charged. Hence no slander case. 

A retrospective view of many now living can bring to mind a second 
generation of lawyers which took the places of these early advocates. The 
names of Mathers, Murray, Smith, Cummins, Burress, Walker, Bailey, 
Martin, McKercher, Stephenson, McCullough, Conklin, Davies, Marshall, 
Staley, Hoskins, Hatfield, Wilson and others are brought to mind. 

About the first of this generation was John H. Mathers, born February 
25, 1830, in Mifflintown, Juniata county, Penn., of splendid lineage. His 
early education was directed by his grandfather, the Rev. John Hutchinson, a 
Presbyterian divine, and the doctrines of that faith were early instilled in the 
boy. He graduated from Jefferson College with a good record, studied law 
with his father, was made district attorney, came to Sidney in 1856, and 
formed a partnership with Judge Conklin. He was three times made prose- 
cuting attorney and in 1863 went into a law firm with his father-in-law, 
Judge Thompson, whose daughter Elizabeth he had just married. He had 
a son Hugh, the present common pleas judge, and two daughters, Jean and 
Loucretia. He died April 29, 1875. A man of culture and learning whose 
close application to business won him a lucrative practice. 

Perhaps the foremost lawyer of this group was Gen. James Murray, 
whose parents came to Cincinnati in 1834 from Scotland, where he was 
born four years before with Scotch Presbyterianism incorporated in every 
fiber of his being. The Murrays came to Sidney in 1836, James was educated 
in Mr. McGookin's academy, studied law with Judge Conklin, was admitted 
to the bar at nineteen years of age and went into a law firm at Perrysburg. 
He served two terms as attorney general of the state, first elected in i860, 
and was then made general attorney of the D. & M. railway. 

He moved to Sidney in 1863, established a partnership with Colonel 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 327 

Wilson and died June 15, 1879. He married Miranda Hamilton of Somers, 
Conn., August 30, 1858, and left two children, James and Kate. James 
Murray had a peculiar legal mind; his memory was prodigious; an intense 
student, he possessed the finest law library in this part of the state; his English 
was classic, never embellished with rhetorical flights. In him centered many 
paradoxes of human nature. Argumentative and logical as he was his 
aesthetic tastes were of a high order. He loved the dry details of the law, 
yet reveled in the realm of poetry; a warm friend though apparently cold. 
A lawyer whose opinions were sought for far and wide, his practice being 
confined almost entirely to the higher courts. 

Edmund Smith of the law -firm of Smith & Cummins dropped dead in 
Cincinnati, March 13, 1874. during the deliberations of the third constitu- 
tional convention. He represented Shelby county in the convention. He 
was a man of positive character with personal magnetism that enabled him 
to sway a jury, very popular and had established a lucrative practice. He 
married a daughter of John Carey who survived him with five children, one 
of whom, Edmund, is an attorney of Columbus. 

John E. Cummins, of Scotch-Irish ancestry, was born at Mifflintown, 
Penn., in 1832. The family settled in Sidney in 1834, and was prominently 
identified with the history of Sidney. It was at his father's home that General 
Harrison, the hero of Tippecanoe, was entertained during the famous Har- 
rison and Tyler campaign. He took a course at Washington and Jefferson 
College, Canonsburg, Penn., enlisted in the army and was made lieutenant- 
colonel of the 99th O. V. I., and for meritorious bravery was brevetted briga- 
dier-general by congress at the close of the war. He was admitted to the 
bar, a member of the law firm of Smith & Cummins, but died at the beginning 
of his career in April, 1875. He was married to Harriet Carey, a daughter 
of John Carey, who survived him with three sons, Knox, Carey and Frank. 

Nathan Raper Burress was born in Turtle Creek township in 1845. He 
received such education as the country schools afforded and studied law with 
Edmund Smith. He was admitted to the bar in 1868, and in 1870 and 1872 
was elected prosecuting attorney. He was made state senator in 1875, but 
declined a renomination and commenced the practice of law with Judge 
Conklin. He was married in 1876 to Miss Anna Stipp and had one son. 
He died December 15, 1883. He was a man of refined literary tastes, with 
a remarkable command of language, vivid imagination, and a mind of choice 
legal capabilities. 

John E. McCullough was the descendant of sturdy Scotch ancestors 
who settled in Virginia, and were identified with American history at an 
early period. His father, Samuel McCullough, came to Sidney in 1835 and 
was intimately connected with its interests for nearly sixty years. A Presby- 
terian of the blue-stocking type, he would have suffered martyrdom for his 
religion. 

John was born in Sidney, September 14, 1852, was educated in the public, 
schools, studied law with James McKercher and was admitted to the bar 



328 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

in 1884. He had a clear-cut mind, his powers well in hand, was a positive 
character and the soul of geniality and generosity. 

He married Miss Anna Duncan January 22, 1874, and had two sons, 
Ben and Sam. 

He died July 30, 1886, at the beginning of a life of bright promise. 

George A. Marshall, one of the eleven children of Samuel Marshall, a 
pioneer of Turtle Creek township, was born September 14, 1849, and there 
he attended country school. 

He took a course in the Ohio Wesleyan at Delaware, studied law in the 
office of Conklin & Burress, and was admitted to the bar in 1876. In 1878 
he formed a partnership with Judge Conklin and two years later opened an 
office alone. Twice he was elected prosecuting attorney on the democratic 
ticket, in 1877 and again in 1882. In 1896 he was elected to congress from the 
4th district and served one term. He died April 21, 1899, leaving a wife 
and three boys. 

He had considerable native ability and with sound judgment and common 
sense made a strong jury lawyer. 

John Milton Staley was born in Franklin township February 2, 1847, 
and died April 4, 1901. He secured the best education the country schools 
afforded, attended the university at Delaware for two years and then gradu- 
ated from the Lebanon normal school, where he fitted himself especially for 
the teaching of music. In a few years he commenced the study of law at the 
Cincinnati Law School, was admitted to the bar and opened an office in Sidney. 
He was made probate judge in 1884 and served two terms. Always a great 
lover of music, he conducted for many years one of the best orchestras in 
this part of the state. 

John G. Stephenson, born July 9, 1823, in Greene county, went to Cali- 
fornia with the gold seekers in 1852, came to Sidney sometime in the sixties, 
and in 18C9 was made prosecuting attorney for six years. He was elected 
mayor in 1876 and in 1881 moved to Kentucky, where he lived until his 
death. September 7, 1902. 

Judge W. D. Davies was born in Iowa, January 2, 1850, of parents who 
were natives of Wales. He finished his education with a three-year course 
at Ohio State University and was admitted to the bar in Iowa City in 1870. 
He was in the employ of various railroads until 1875, when he came to Sidney 
to practice his profession. He married Miss Belle Mathers of Mifflintown, 
Penn.. November 11, 1880, and raised a daughter, Amelia. 

An active partisan, he was a leader in the republican party and was 
honored with nominations for various offices and was a delegate to the 
national republican convention in 1900. He was appointed judge of the 
common pleas court to fill the unexpired term of Judge \V. T. Mooney, from 
February to November, 1901. He died March 13, 1902. 

John Wilson Conklin, son of Judge Jacob S. Conklin, was born in Sidney. 
August 7, 1848, and died May 4. 1903. He studied law after growing to 
manhood and was admitted to the bar in 1876. He married Miss Carrie 
McBeth of Bellefontaine. December 2j, 1877, practiced law in Celina for 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 329 

several years and then returned to Sidney. He was genial, with a brilliant 
mind, but did not appreciate his native ability, which suffered because it was 
not cultivated to the limit. 

Judge Emery L. Hoskins was born near Magnetic Springs, Union county, 
August 4, 1857, was admitted to the practice of law in 1882, and in 1883 
settled in Sidney. 

A stanch democrat, he was elected probate judge in 1899 and served 
two terms. He was a member of the school board for fifteen years, prominent 
in fraternal orders of EC. of P. and Odd Fellows, being grand master of the 
Ohio grand lodge in 1907. He was a partner of W. D. Davies in the law 
firm of Davies & Hoskins and died April 4, 1909. As a man he was kind, 
attentive and affable, and had a wide acquaintance in the county. 

S. J. Hatfield was born on the Western Reserve in Wayne county, Ohio, 
September 21, 1845. He inherited the stern religious and moral virtues of 
this offshoot of New England which he never forgot in all the activities of 
his career. His early life was spent in the public schools until ready for a 
course at Western Reserve College. Choosing the law for his life work he 
fitted himself for its duties in the University of Michigan and in 1875 came 
to Sidney, where he pursued the profession of which he had the most exalted 
idea. He was a stalwart republican, an ingrained Presbyterian and for many 
years a member of the state board of pardons and a trustee of the children's 
home. He loved the true, the beautiful, and the good, reveled in the best 
literature, and was animated by the loftiest sentiments. He died October 30, 
10 u, the oldest member in years of practice of the bar association. 

Col. Harrison Wilson was born near Cadiz, Ohio, March 15, 1841, the 
vWngest in a family of six sons and three daughters. When a little boy his 
parents moved to Belmont county and there he got a country school education 
which he supplemented with a college course at the Ohio University, in 
Athens, by great effort and sacrifice. At the outbreak of the war he was 
assigned to the 25th O. V. I., and successively held commissions from second 
lieutenant to colonel when he was mustered out with the regiment July 15, 1865. 

He was in forty-two battles and skirmishes, at the siege of Fort Donel- 
son, Vicksburg and Atlanta, and went with Sherman "to the sea." He came 
of a family conspicuous for its bravery, his grandfather, Thomas Wilson, 
having served in the Revolution and his five brothers in the Civil war. Colonel 
Wilson himself was awarded a medal by congress. 

After the war he settled in Sidney for the study of law, was admitted to 
the bar and went into partnership with General Murray, which continued till 
Murray's death in 1879. He took a keen interest in politics and served thir- 
teen years as circuit judge in the 2d judicial district of Ohio from 1895 to 
1909. For the next two years he was identified with a prominent law firm 
in Columbus, but left for Nordhoff, California, in the spring of 1912 to spend 
the remainder of his days indulging his taste for outdoor life. He married 
Mary Caroline, a daughter of J. T. Fry of Sidney, in 1867, and raised a family 
of nine children, eight of whom are living. 

Wilson took high rank among the lawyers of Ohio. He had a mind of 



330 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

choice legal capabilities. As a judge his decisions were clear and compre- 
hensive and he now has the confidence of his associates on the bench for his 
unswerving integrity. Dignified in manner, in habits simple, and austerely 
temperate. 

THE ARTIS MURDER 

The Artis case is celebrated from the fact that it terminated in the only 
legal execution ever held in the county. 

Alfred Artis, a full-blooded African, of Cynthian township, was found 
guilty of murder in the first degree, November 16, 1854. Five days later he 
was sentenced by the court to be confined in the county jail till the 23d of 
February, 1855, and then be hanged between the hours of ten of the clock 
in the forenoon and four of the clock in the afternoon. He was taken from 
his cell fighting and struggling to the gallows which was erected in the jail, at 
two o'clock in the afternoon and there hanged in the presence of thirty spec- 
tators amid dramatic scenes. The sheriff, J. C. Dryden, conducted the hang- 
ing, for which he received $300, assisted by the deputy sheriff, Isaac Harsh- 
barger, who is the only living eye witness of the event. Mr. Harshbarger, 
eighty-seven years old, is living in Sidney with his daughter and says they 
had to beat the negro almost to insensibility before they could hang him. He 
was not a large man, weighed about 130 pounds, but as wiry as a cat. The 
jail, a two-story brick structure, stood in the southwest corner of the court- 
yard and was used until the building of the present one in 1875. 

The crime for which the victim paid the penalty was one of the most 
shocking ever known. He kept his daughter Emma, twelve years old, impris- 
oned in a cold room in his log cabin with an iron chain about her neck, 
fastened to a block without clothing nor a bed to lie on, occasionally giving 
her a little food and beating her for a pleasant pastime with a hoop pole which 
he kept for that purpose. She was obliged to shell corn at night and was let 
out once in a while in day-time to work. He kept her in the room for three 
months, when she died, starved and frozen, February 17, 1854. The negro 
buried her body four and a half miles west of Rumley. He was infuriated 
with the girl because she had run away from home. 

The inquest was held by Isaac Harshbarger, coroner, the 27th of February, 
1854, and the names of Dr. Albert Wilson and Dr. Park Beeman appear in the 
testimony given at the inquest. Judge Hugh Thompson prosecuted the case, 
assisted by Judge Jacob Conklin. 

Shelby county is in the second judicial district of the court of appeals. 
The following eleven counties make up the district. Champaign, Clark. 
Darke, Fayette, Greene, Franklin, Madison, Miami, Montgomery, Preble 
and Shelby. The judges for the court of appeals, second judicial district, 
are: Hon. James Alread, Greenville; Hon. H. L. Ferneding, Dayton; Hon. 
A. H. Kunkle, Springfield. 

It is in the first sub-division of the third judicial common pleas district 
which will continue until the new constitutional provision becomes effective in 
1 914 when each county of the state becomes a district in itself. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS £31 

Eleven counties make up the third judicial district, common pleas court, 
of which Allen, Auglaize, Mercer and Shelby are in the first sub-division, 
Henry and Putnam in the second, and Defiance, Fulton, Paulding and Van 
Wert in the third. 

Officers of the court are Hon. Hugh T. Mathers, Hon. William Klinger, 
Hon. F. C. Layton, judges; Fred Counts, clerk; F. M. Counts, deputy clerk; 

E. E. Gearhart, sheriff; Cliff Gearhart, deputy sheriff; Charles C. Hall, pros- 
ecuting attorney; Walter M. Scott, court stenographer; W. B. Woolley, 
court constable; F. B. Fitzpatrick, janitor. 

The following is the present personnel of the Shelby county bar : 
Attorneys — Barnes & Mjlls (J. D. Barnes, Finley Mills), H. F. Counts, 

F. J. Doorley, Andrew J. Hess, Charles R. HesS.'Royon G. Hess, Charles C. 
Hall, Charles C. Marshall, Logan W. Marshall, E. V. Moore, Earl E. Nutt, 
David Oldham, Harry Oldham, John Oldham, H. W. Robinson, J. C. Royon, 
J. E. Russell, P. R. Taylor, Jame's E. Way, Wicoff, Emmons & Needles (S. L. 
Wicoff, W. J. Emmons, H. H. Needles). 

Justices of the peace, Shelby county, Ohio — Clinton township, C. R. Hess, 
Emanuel Needles; Cynthian, J. F. Emert; Dinsmore, J. B. Stolley, G. W. 
Hensel; Franklin, George C. Schiff; Green, Thomas Kiser; Jackson, H. P. 
Ailes; Loramie, J. F. Flinn; McLean, Adolph Sherman, John Barhorst; 
Orange, P. O. Stockstill; Perry, S. B. Cannon; Salem, John Reeves, A. S. 
Retter; Turtle Creek, Isaac Beery, J. J. Huffman; Van Buren, E. H. Meck- 
stroth ; Washington, Jacob Everly. 

Township clerks, Shelby county, Ohio — ^Clinton, Karl F. Young, Sidney ; 
Cynthian, E. B. Sweigert, R. F. D., Houston; Dinsmore, Leroy F. Hemmert, 
Botkins; Franklin, T. S. Price, Anna; Green, E. F. Rolfe, Sidney, R. F. D.-; 
Jackson, Geo. P. Staley, Anna; Loramie, Geo. M. Francis, Russia; McLean, 
William H. Niederkorn, Fort Loramie; Orange, James Wiley, Sidney; 
Perry, N. C. Enders, Pemberton ; Salem, H. L. Haney, Port Jefferson ; Turtle 
Creek, L. A. Richards, Sidney; Van Buren, Henry Roettger, Kettlerville ; 
Washington, William Douglas, Sidney, R. F. D. 



CHAPTER XIX 

THE TOWNSHIPS (I) 

Historical Sketches of Clinton, Cynthian and Dinsmore Townships — Organi- 
zation — Early Settlement — Villages — Schools — Churches, Etc. 

CLINTON TOWNSHIP 

This township, which lies southeast of the geographical center of Shelby 
county, was at first organized as a part of Miami county, in which, as else- 
where stated, the whole of Shelby county was formerly included. It still 
hoWever retains its original name. It is bounded north by Franklin, east by 
Salem, Perry and Orange, south by Orange and Washington and west by 
Washington and Turtle Creek townships. The territory embraces portions of 
town 8, range 6; town i, range 7; town 1, range 13, and town 7, range 6. 
This comprises sections and fractional sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11, 19, 
22. 23, _'4, 25, 26, 27, 30. 34, 35, 36, and 3 and 10 repeated being of different 
towns or ranges. Since its organization the township has undergone numerous 
territorial adjustments and readjustments, account of which may be found 
in the report of the county commissioners' proceedings. 

Clinton township is drained by the Great Miami river, which enters at the 
northeast corner and flows south by west, and then, running southwest, 
becomes for a distance of about two miles the boundary line between Clinton 
and Orange township. Side by side with the river flows the Miami feeder 
with its water supply, which it carries to the canal at Lockington. Tawawa 
creek enters the Miami opposite Sidney, coming from the east, while another 
small tributary, flowing in the same direction, joins the large stream about 
a mile south of the mouth of the Tawawa. Three small streams enter the 
Miami from the west within the bounds of the township. 

The township is crossed north and south by the Cincinnati, Hamilton & 
Dayton Railroad, and east and west by the Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago & 
St. Louis Railroad, which two roads cross at Sidney, the county seat, the town 
lying on the west side of the Miami. The canal leaves the river for a certain 
distance in order to pass through the central portion of the town. The 
chief importance of Clinton lies in its possession of the county seat, which 
attracts population, though throughout the township farming is carried on 
extensively and the inhabitants in general are prosperous. 

The lands bordering on the Miami river are in particular noted for their 
fertility. The surface is broken, rolling away westward, and while not 

332 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 333 

jagged or precipitous, is still broken and even hilly along the river. The 
Infirmary farm comprises the extreme southwest quarter of land in this town- 
ship, being the southwest quarter ( 160 acres) of section 10, range 6, town. 7. 

MATTERS OF RF.CORD 

At an election held in the township of Clinton by order of James Wells, 
Esq., auditor of Shelby county, on the 25th day of October, 1821, agreeably 
to notice given, the following township officers were elected: 

Trustees, Philip Coleman, Robert McClure, and Rufus Carey. Clerk, 
Harvey B. Foote. Overseers of the poor, John Tilbury and James Forsythe. 
Fence viewers, William Drake and Benjamin Mapes. Treasurer, George 
Poole. 

Thomas Lambert appeared and gave bond, with William Drake and 
Thomas W. Ruckman, conditioned as the law directs, and was duly qualified 
to perform the duties of constable for Clinton township according to law, 
November 3, 1821. 

Monday, March 4, 1822. The trustees met according to law, and agree- 
ably to order of court of the 4th of February they proceeded to select W. Cecil, 
Jacob Sclosser, Wm. Johnston, Philip Coleman, Rufus Carey, Nathan Cole- 
man, and Elias Carey as grand jurors (7), and also John Tilbury, Archibald 
Defrees, Robert Blakeley, John Whitmire, and John Johnston as petit jurors 
(5), to serve the ensuing year, the list thereof returned to the clerk's office 
the same day. 

The trustees allow B. S. Cox $1.00 for services as clerk ol the first town- 
ship election in this township; order given on treasurer. 

John Lenox, supervisor for district No. 6, Turtle Creek township, as 
appointed by the trustees before the township was divided, made his return, 
and charges nothing for his services. Return filed. 

Ordered, that it (the township) be divided into three districts (road); 
Sidney, No. 1 ; Plum Creek, No. 2 ; and Mile Creek, No. 3. No. 1 to work 
the road from the ford below Ruckman's mill to the public square in Sidney, 
the road leading to Hardin, and the one from Dingmansburg to Sidney. 
No. 2 to work the road from the public spuare on the road that leads up the 
river past Wm. Johnston's and Talbert's to the township line, and the Plum 
Creek road to the township line. No. 3 to work the road that leads from 
Sidney past Rufus Carey's to the township line, and the road from where it 
intersects the aforesaid road leading past Mr. Levalley's as far as the township 
line. John Blake supervisor district No. 1, N. Coleman of district No. 2, and 
a supervisor to be elected in No. 3. 

Ordered that the clerk advertise according to law for an election to be held 
on the first Monday next to elect one clerk, three trustees, two overseers of 
the poor, two fence viewers, two appraisers, one of whom shall be lister as 
well as appraiser, one treasurer, two constables, and three supervisors, to 
serve the ensuing year (1822) for the township of Clinton. A true record. 
Attest. Harvey B. Foote, Twp. Clerk. 



334 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE 

Elisha Williams, 1823; J. H. Coleman, 1825-; John McCreight, 1825; 
James H. Coleman, 1831; John Lenox, 1834; E. McGrew, 1835; Alex. 
Stuart; Sam McCullough, 1837; Alex. Stuart, 1838; Sam. McCullough. 
1840; John Shaw, 1841 (resigned); J. F. Frazer and Alex. Stuart, 1841 ; 
Sam McCullough, 1843; J. F. Frazer, 1844; Stephen Wilken, 1844 (never 
qualified); J. H. Byers, 1846; Fred Robinson, 1846; J. F. Frazer, 1847; 
Irwin Nutt, 1848; F. Robinson, 1849; J. F. Frazer, 1850; M. C. Hale, 185 1 ; 
F. Robinson, 1852; J. F. Frazer, 1853; Wm. D. Walker, 1854; M. B. New- 
man, 1855 (resigned March 8, 1857) ; F. Robinson, 1855; J. F. Frazer, 1856; 
M. C. Hale, 1857; D. B. Rinehart, 1857; J. F. Frazer, 1859; M. C. Hale, 
i860; D. B. Rinehart, i860; Samuel Mathers, 1862: M. C. Hale, 1863; A. 
T. Robertson, 1864; Sam. Mathers, 1865; M. C. Hale, 1866; J. F. Frazer, 
1867; S. Alex. Leckey, 1868; M. C. Hale, 1869; Irwin Nutt, 1870 (resigned 
Tuly 2, 1870) ; A. J. Rebstock, 1870; A. A. Leckey, 1871 ; Mathew C. Hale. 
1872; Harvey Guthrie, 1874; A. J. Rebstock, 1874; M. C. Hale and H. 
Hume, 1875; S. J. Hatfield, 1867; M. C. Hale, 1878; Daniel L. Buch, 1878; 
J. G. Stephenson, 1881 ; D. L. Bush, 1881 ; Geo. H. Bunnelle, 1881 ; Mathew 
C. Hale, 1884; Wm. C. Wyman, 1884; M. C. Hale, 1887; W. C. Wyman, 
1887; H. S. Ailes, 1890; H. S. Ailes, 1893; Wm. C. Wyman, 1893; M. C. 
Hale, 1896; Chas. W. Nessler, 1896; Wm. C. Wyman, 1899; Chas. W. 
Nessler, 1899; J- W. Conklin, 1902; M. C. Hale, 1902; Ben D. Higgins. 
1904, 1905; G. W. Elliott, 1905; C. R. Hess (appointed April 24, 1907, until 
successor elected); C. R. Hess, 1908; Emanuel Needles, 1908; E. Needles, 
191 1 ; C. R. Hess, 191 1. 

The present township clerk of Clinton is Karl F. Young. Trustees: — 
William Salm, F. M. Hussey and Geo. Ehrhart. 

CYNTHIAN TOWNSHIP 

Cynthian township is one of the west tier of townships. It is oblong in 
form, contains 32 sections and extends four miles north and south and eight 
miles east and west. McLean township bounds it on the north, Turtle Creek 
on the east and Loramie on the south, while Darke county lies on its western 
boundary. 

Cynthian has a more rolling surface than any other township in the 
county. Its soil varies, in some parts being clay while in others black loam and 
sand are found. Its fine gravel beds furnish excellent material for highway 
construction. Almost centrally from north to south flows Loramie creek, 
other streams being Buffalo run, Lawrence creek and Salt Lick. Close to and 
parallel with Loramie creek runs the Miami and Erie canal and Great and 
South Panther creeks empty into it from the east. The farms and residences 
throughout the township present abundant evidences df prosperity on the part 
of its inhabitants. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 335 

SETTLEMENT 

There is evidence that Cynthian township attracted settlers as early as 
1815. In that year Thomas Butt, John Wise and Conrad Pouches had estab- 
lished themselves with their families, but it is still a question which came 
first. Nevertheless they soon had other neighbors for between that date and 
1824 the following pioneers — some from the older states and others from 
countries across the sea— took up their residences in the township: Leonard 
and Tobias Danner, Henry Hershaw, Zachariah Hurley, John and Alexander 
Miller, Samuel and Benjamin Leighty, Jacob Seerfauss, John Barker, John 
Gates, C. Stoker, William Hicks, George Harman, William Jerome, Charles 
Lovell, George Moyer, Jacob, John and Andrew Wise, Robert Steen, J. Shag- 
ley, Robert Chambers and John Borden. 

As in other sections, the pioneers in Cynthian township lived at first in 
log cabins and while these primitive dwellings were adequate to their early 
needs, as they grew more prosperous, frame houses were erected, which still 
later gave place to those of stone and brick. The first frame house in the 
township was erected on the present site of Newport by JosiaS Reaser but he 
did not, apparently, occupy it, selling it to Cyrus Reese. George Butt was the 
first to build a brick house, probably burning the brick on his own land. A 
saw mill — one of the first necessities — was built by Conrad Pouches, and a 
tannery — another desirable enterprise in a pioneer settlement — was started by 
Stephen Blanchard. William Mills was the first blacksmith and in the vil- 
lages which rapidly grew, other lines of business were started so that, within 
the first quarter of a century from the time of settlement, civilized conditions 
prevailed all over the township. Very early the people began to agitate the 
subject of schools and the first building especially dedicated to the cause of 
education was built on land owned by Jacob Wise. The United Brethren 
appear to have been the first here in the religious field. Originally this town- 
ship belonged to Loramie but was detached in 1822. The first township 
election was held at the house of Alexander Miller, July 4, 1822. 

TOWNS AND VILLAGES 

Four towns — North Port, Newport, Cynthian and Basinburg — have been 
platted at different times in the township's history. 

North Port — The plat of North Port (incorporated into Newport?) con- 
tained twenty lots and was located on the west half of northeast quarter of 
section 30, town. 10, range 5 east and was surveyed for Richard Short, its 
proprietor, in June, 1839. It was laid out with four streets: Main, North. 
Elm and South. 

Newport was surveyed and platted in the same year as North Port, for 
Nicholas Wynant. It is situated in section 30, on the Miami and Erie canal 
and at present has about 140 inhabitants the population having decreased con- 
siderably in the last twenty-five years. The first frame house as mentioned 
above was located here and was used as a hotel by Cyrus Reese, who built 
a second one in which he conducted a grocery store. Pilliod Brothers, 



336 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

C. Belt and John Link, were early business men here and E. Pilliod 
operated the first steam saw and grist mill. In 1881 O. O. Mathers, of Sidney, 
established the Newport Flax Mill, which he operated in connection with the 
Sidney Flax Mill. This mill is still standing but has not been operated for 
a number of years. 

Cynthian — On September 14, 1819, a town was platted, surveyed and 
recorded, at the Loramie crossing, in section 30, on land which subsequently 
was owned by the Sweigert family. It was named Cynthian village and a few- 
lots were sold but not enough to make possible a village organization. In 
1825 all hope of this was dissipated and the land was purchased by William 
Mills, who devoted it to agricultural purposes. 

Basinburg — There was a time when Basinburg had prospects of becoming 
a considerable business and social center for the township but progress was 
slow and its village organization is no longer evident. It was laid out in 1839 
by Herman Mier in the northwest quarter of section 18, town. 10, range 5 
east, the plats showing sixty-five lots, the sixty-fifth being donated to the 
citizens as a site for a church edifice. Its main streets were Main, Canal, 
Basin, Water, East and South Lane. 

Oran, formerly a postoffice, is now a settlement of about thirty-eight 
people, located on the line between sections 27 and 28, and receives mail 
through Dawson. 



The people of Cynthian township are well supplied with school facilities, 
there being eight special school districts, the officials of these being selected 
from among the leading men of the township. Hopewell special school 
district's officers for 191 1 and 1912: S. M. Winemiller, president; F. B. 
Miller, clerk, William Wiley, treasurer, and Charles Snow and Nathan. 
Cromes, in 191 1, the only change in 1912 being that Henry Bodemiller took 
the place of Nathan Cromes. Grisez special school district for 191 1 had 
John P. Lallemand for president ; John Grisez for clerk ; Henry Achbach for 
treasurer, with Blaize Cardo and Philip Cardo as other members of the 
board. The officers and members for 1912 were: Jesse Barder, president; 
John Grisez, clerk ; J. P. Lallemand, treasurer, and Xavier Cardo and Henry 
Achbach. Turner special school district's board of education for 1912 : Henry 
Sherman, president; Peter Eilerman, clerk; Frank Turner, treasurer, and 
N. A. Paulus, William Kloeker and Jacob Batty. Basinburg special school 
district in 191 1 had John Swartz as president, Michael Loy, clerk, Henry 
Harrod, treasurer, and Joseph H. Kessler and John Martz, while in 1912 
the board was as follows: J. H. Kessler, president; Michael Loy. clerk; 
Henry Harrod, treasurer, and Frank Lindhaus, John Lengerich and Joseph 
Wurtz. Short special school district board for 191 1 had Henry Eilerman 
for president ; Henry Holscher for clerk ; Charles Broerman for treasurer and 
G. W. Short and Joseph Winner, no change being made in 191 2, except that 
John C. Short took the place of Joseph Winner. Forest' special school district 
for 191 1 elected J. H. Rhodehamel as president of its board; Charles C. Sny- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 337 

der, clerk, David A. McKinstry for treasurer and Robert and Leander Wright 
as the other members. In 1912 the officials and members were: Leander 
Wright, William Jelly and W. W. Widener, the same officials serving. Oran 
special school district's board of education for 1912 had D. W. Christman as 
president ; George Wyatt as treasurer ; E. J. Eny'art as clerk, with David Swab 
andA. Fagan as other members. Other school statistics may be found in the 
chapter on education. 

CHURCHES 

Methodist Episcopal Church — In 1872 through the efforts of Dr. Reaner 
and Mrs. Henry Sweigart, a Sunday school was organized at Newport, which 
developed into the Methodist Episcopal church at that place. . A brick edifice 
was completed in the fall of 1873, the congregation then under the minis- 
terial charge of Rev. Rauch. In spite of the decreased population of the vil- 
lage this church has maintained its organization and has always been active 
in Christian work. Rev. Parker is the present pastor. 

Oran Christian Church — This church originally known as Cynthian Chris- 
tian church, was founded in 1833, its first members being Samuel Penrod and 
wife, Isaac Short and wife, Isaac Mann, and George and Samuel Butt and 
their wives. A church building was erected in 1851 and the congregation 
is now presided over by Rev. Cain. 

The Loramie German Baptist church was organized in 1848 and for a 
number of years the faithful gathered at stated times in private houses and in 
the Christian church. In 1865 the membership in the township was aug- 
mented by a number who came from other, sections and in the next year an 
edifice for church purposes was erected and this society was known until 1877 
as the North Branch of the Covington Society. In that year they became a 
separate congregation, Rev. Jacob Hollinger being elected the first minister. 

The United Brethren have a church in this township and there is also 
a Dunkard church, presided over by Rev. McCokle. 

St. Peter's and St. Paul's Catholic church at Newport was erected in 1856, 
and the same structure is still standing. It has been kept in good repair, and 
is now a modern structure and a church of which its members should feel 
proud. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE 

Between 1835 and 1910, Cynthian township has been served by fifty-three 
of its representative citizens in the office of justice of the peace, a list of the 
same being herewith given: Michael Penrod, 1835; John Miller, 1837: 
George Hale, 1838; John Miller, 1840; Isaac Short, 1841 ; John Miller, 1843; 
G. G. Murphy, 1844; Josiah Clawson, 1846; H. Gloyd, 1847; G. G. Murphy, 
1847; John Miller, 1848: Harry Gloyd, 1853; W. W. Skillen, 1854; James R. 
Johnston, 1855; Isaac Short, 1858; J. S. Chrisman, 1859; Isaac Short, 1861 ; 
Eugene Pilliod, 1862; Isaac Short, 1864: Eugene Pilliod, 1865; M. Merrick, 
1867; Isaac Short, 1868; George Barker, 1869; Eugene Pilliod, 1871 ; Charles 
Mann, 1871 ; Edward Huston, 1874; Charles Mann, 1874; Edward Huston, 
1877; N. W. Mills, 1877; A. H. Leckey, 1877; Julius Foust, 1880; Francis 



338 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Turner, 1880; A. H. Luckey, 1883; Frank Turner, 1883; S. S. Laymaster 
1886; John Carpenter, 1886; Frank Moorman, 1888 (resigned in 1889) 
Charles Mann, 1889; Anthony Marshall, 1890; Benjamin F. Foust, 1890 
G. W. Carpenter, 1892; R. Harrop. 1893; B. F. Foust, 1893; E - B - Sweigert. 
1889; O. W. Nisewonger, 1899; J. F. Withringham, 1902; F. H. Turner 
1902; J. P. Galley, 1903; Wilbur Spraley, 1906; John H. Pickering, 1906 
H. H. Short, 1909; J. F. Emert, 1910. 

The present township clerk is E. B. Sweigert. Trustees : Joseph Barhorst, 
Nathan Cromes and James Wolaver. 

DINSMORE TOWNSHIP 

Although this township was very late in its settlement and organization, 
its development was steady and its progress, along every line, rapid. It boasts 
of the two most important towns in the county, aside from the county seat, 
in Botkins and Anna, although the latter is partly in Franklin township. It 
is regular in its outline, being six miles square, and is centrally located in the 
northern tier of townships of Shelby county, its north line being bounded by 
Auglaize county. The commissioners' records show the township to have 
been independently organized on December 3, 1832. Pursuant to an order 
by the commissioners of the county, the citizens of the township met at the 
home of Joseph Green, December 25, 1832, and elected the various township 
officers. 

Dinsmore township is level, practically speaking, and the soil is such 
as to attract agriculturists, being well adapted for the growing of the various 
grains and grasses. It is drained by a number of small streams which take 
their rise in the township. It seems the first real settlement was made here 
in 1832, which marked the arrival of a number of families, but it is reason- 
ably certain some located farms here the previous year, notably Wilham 
Blakely, of Franklin county, Ohio, and Silas D. Allen, of Pickaway county, 
Ohio. There has always been a diversity of opinion as to who was the. first 
to take up residence within the township, many according the honor to George 
Turner, who came from Greene county, Ohio, in 1832. The latter did not 
remain long at that time, owing to the prevalence of milk sickness, but in 
1837 again returned but took up a different farm. Mr. Turner was followed, 
in the same year, by Joseph Green, from Warren county, Ohio, who with his 
wife and five children, located on a farm in section 28, on a part of which the 
village of Anna is partly located; John Munch, of Greene county, Ohio, whose 
farm also lay in section 28, a^d was partly included in the village of Anna; 
Richard C. Dill, of Hamilton county, Ohio, who brought his wife and eleven 
children; Samuel Blakeley, of Franklin county, Ohio, who came here from 
Franklin township where he had settled in 1830; and Richard Botkin, who 
came from Hamilton county, Ohio. The following year, 1833, witnessed 
the arrival of: Alfred Staley, of Montgomery county, Ohio; Hector Lemon, 
of Chester county, Pennsylvania: Joseph Park, of New Jersey; Erasmus B. 
Toland, of Miami county, Ohio ; Philip Good, who'came from Greene county, 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 339 

Ohio, but was a native of Pennsylvania ; and Philip Hagelberger, a native of 
France. In 1834, there came: Jacob Wilford, his wife and five children, 
from Virginia; Philip Brideweiser, from Franklin county, Ohio; David 
Taylor, his wife and eight children, from Greene county, Ohio; Peter Boling 
and family, from Montgomery county, Ohio; William Ellis and family from 
Virginia; Frederick Oxburger, of Germany; and Samuel and William Elliott, 
w ho located in section 4 ; Thomas Iiams and family came from Warren 
county, Ohio, in 1835; Cornelius Elliott, of Licking county, Ohio, in 1835; 
Daniel Toland, of Montgomery county, Ohio, in 1836; William H. Abbott, 
in 1836; John Fahr, of Perry county, Ohio, in 1836; and Diadrich Schulte. 
in 1838. This is by no means regarded as an exhaustive list of those who 
came during the period mentioned, but time has thoroughly obscured facts 
once so easy to obtain. Settlement was quite backward in the early years, 
largely because of milk sickness, but became very general in the forties, and 
as a whole those who came were of a wholesome and progressive class. 

Henry Hildebrant was the first justice of the peace of whom there is 
record, the year of his election being 1835, and he was succeeded in turn by 
Richard Botkin, in 1837; Henry Hildebrant, in 1838; John Elliott, in 1839; 
Richard Botkin, 1840; John Elliott, 1842; Elias Horner, 1842; Samuel Elliott, 
1843; John Elliott, 1845; Jacob Wilford, 1846; John Elliott, 1848; E. F. 
Mede, 1849; John Elliott, 1854; Jacob Wilford, 1855; Samuel Elliott, 1855; 
Joseph Hildebrant, 1858; Samuel Elliott, i860; Samuel Elliott, 1863; D. E. 
Morgan, 1864; Isaac G. Stafford, 1866; D. E. Morgan, 1867; Samuel Elliott, 
1869; P. Hunt, 1870; Samuel Elliott, 1872; P. Hunt, 1873; Samuel Elliott, 
[875; William Munford, 1878: P. Hunt, 1879; Lewis Applegate, 1881 ; S. 
Wilken, 1882; J. M. Carson. 1882; S. Wilken, 1885; R. B. Dill, 1888; J. B. 
Stolly, 1888; J. B. Stolly, 1891 ; R. B. Dill, 1891 ; George.W. Hensel, 1892; 
J. B. Greve, 1894^ George W. Hensel, 1895; J. B. Greve, 1897; George W. 
Hensel, 1898; J. B. Greve, 1900; M. A. Roth, 1901 ; George W. Hensel, ic/oi ; 
George \V. Hensel, 1904; M. A. Roth, 1904; J. B. Stolly, 1908; George W. 
Hensel, 1908; George W. Hensel, 1910; and J. B. Stolly., 1912. At the present 
time, LeRoy F. Hemmert, of Botkins, is township clerk, and the trustees are 
Jacob J. Fogt, John B. Schulte and Frank J. Marx. 

Farming has generally claimed the attention of the rural residents of 
Dinsmore township, and such industries as have been fostered have been 
mainly in the villages. There was in earlier years considerable sawing done, 
but timber too quickly disappeared for that industry to be other than a small 
one here. A very successful plant, established in Dinsmore, on the William 
P. Davis farm, in 1871, was a tile yard which was given the name of the 
Montra Tile Yards, being three-fourths of a mile west of Montra. It was 
started by William P. Davis and M. Merkling and was operated by them some 
years before passing into other hands. 

In 1849 a saw mill was established in section 26, operated by a forty-horse 
power engine. Silas D. Allen and George Duff, the original owners, conducted 
it until the death of the former in June, 1850, after which the latter carried 
on the business until in 185 1. He then sold a hali interest to Michael Fogt 



340 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

and the firm of Duff & Fogt continued for several years. It was then operated 
by several owners until 1861, then existed in a state of disuse until it was 
finally torn down. In 1874, Messrs. L. Davis and J. C. Linton established what 
was long known as the Linton steam saw mill, they conducting it in partner- 
ship until 1878, when Mr. Linton conducted it alone. The business was dis- 
continued here many years ago. the proprietors moving to Dayton, Ohio. 

The citizens got together in the organization of a branch of the Patrons 
of Husbandry. Estey Grange. No. 924. being organized May 25, 1874, by 
Deputy Johnson. It originally had twenty-four members and experienced a 
healthy growth. 

SCHOOLS 

The first regular school in the township was conducted in a 
crude log structure, about twenty feet square, with puncheon floor and seats. 
A large fire-place extended the full width of the building, on one side, and 
there was a stick chimney and a one-light window. It was built in 1836 and 
the first teacher there was William D. Johnson. A second building of similai 
type, except as to windows, was built in section 23 in 1840, and here William 
Wilson and E. T. Mede were early teachers. The third schoolhouse, also log, 
was erected in section 14, and became known as the Beck schoolhouse, the 
first teacher there being James Beck. The buildings of the next period rep- 
resented the advancement from the round log to the hewed log and frame type, 
and were variously located throughout the township. A uniform plan of 
locating them came into being, a building being erected in the center of every 
four sections, thus making nine schools. An additional school was established 
for the colored children, but in 1870 race segregation was abolished. As new 
school laws came into effect, the districts were much changed from time to 
time. More detail with regard to the schools may be found in the chapter 
on Education. 

A X X A 

Anna, a station on the C. H. & D. Railway, was surveyed for John L. 
and Fletcher S. Thirkield. in 1867, and lies in Dinsmore and Franklin town- 
ships. The name, Anna, was given it in honor of Mrs. Anna Thirkield. It is 
a prosperous place, the last census showing its population to be 460, and it is 
steadily growing. The plat of the town was recorded April 25, 1868, and in 
1877 a petition was presented to the board of county commissioners for its 
incorporation as a village, the signers being: A. Clason, F. S. Thirkield, Lewis 
Kah, P. W. Young, J. D. Elliott and thirty-two others. The petition was 
granted June 26, 1877. and recorded as granted September 3. 1877. The first 
board of councilmen consisted of 1.. Kah. M. Norcross, A. Clason, M. Billings, 
Dr. Lefevre, and J. W'eatherhead. The first mayor'was L. Applegate, and the 
other first officers were : J. C. Koverman. marshal ; Dodfrey Kembold, treas- 
urer; and F. W. Stork, clerk. The first postmaster was F. S. Thirkield, but 
his service long antedated the incorporation of the village. Anna has an 
adequate fire department, the equipment consisting of a gas engine, hose-cart 
and ladder. The present mayor of the town is R. D. Curtner. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 341 

Among the principal commercial industries of Anna are the following: 
H. C. Hagelberger, clothing, tailoring and gents' furnishings ; business estab- 
lished nine years ago; R. D. Mede, stoves, tinware, tinners' supplies, metal 
work, roofing, buggies and carriages ; Mr. Mede has been established in busi- 
ness here for the past thirty years, and in addition to the commercial lines 
mentioned above, he is agent for the Oliver plows and cultivators. 

E. B. Ballinger & Company are conducting the business established by 
J. L. Applegate, thirty-nine years ago, the present business style being assumed 
August 17, 19 1 2. The concern deals in furniture, carpets, mattings, linoleum, 
window shades, lace curtains, curtain poles, and sewing machines. Mr. 
Ballinger also conducts a business in undertaking and embalming. A. Weller, 
druggist, also dealer in stationery, wall paper, etc., has been established in 
Anna for the last twenty years. 

P. W. Young is dealer in general hardware, farming implements, stoves, 
paints, oils, glass, etc. This business was established forty-one years ago by 
Elliott & Young; the former partner, Mr. Elliott, died about twenty-five 
years ago. 

The Farmers and Merchants Bank Company was established in 1907 by 
parties from Columbus, Ohio. On May 29, 19 10, it was incorporated by Daniel 
Runkle, R. D. Curtner, William C. Heinrich, George D. Fridley and E. M. 
Martin, with a capital stock of $25,000. Its present officers are: Daniel 
Runkle, president; R. D. Mede, vice-president, and A. W. Fridley, cashier. 
The directors last elected are: C. C. Toland, J .W. A. Fridley, \V. M. Runkle 
(since deceased), E. M. Martin (not sworn in), R. D. Mede, Daniel Runkle, 
and George C. Schiff. The bank has undivided profits of $1,600. 

Finkenbein & Manning, dealers in grain, feed, flour and, seeds, are pro- 
prietors of a grain elevator, the present firm having been established January 
1, 1 91 2. The business is an old one, having been established forty years ago 
by K. H. Stock & Company, who were succeeded by L. Finkenbein, who had 
been a partner with Mr. Stock, and who conducted it for a number of years. 
In 1895 it came into possession of L. Finkenbein, Jr., which proprietorship was 
continued until the present partnership was formed. The firm has an adequate 
plant and is doing a successful business. 

Martin Manufacturing Company are successors to the William Johnson 
spoke factory. They are now putting in new machinery and will engage in 
the manufacture of staves. 

Milton C. Fogt is conducting a prosperous hardware business. Miss S. E. 
McCullough is proprietor of a millinery and notion store. M. H. Ailes con- 
ducts a general insurance business. 

The grain business now carried on by C. C. Toland was established fifty 
years ago, the elevator being built at that time. John Thirkield conducted the 
business for fifteen years, his successor being Frank Thirkield, who was pro- 
prietor for about five years. The property was then leased to Farrington, 
Saluson & Nelson, by whom it was carried on for five or six years. The next 
proprietor was Judge Bowersox, of Sidney, from whom the business was 
bought by C. C. Toland. The business was conducted for some time as a 



342 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

partnership concern, under the style of Toland & Ludvvig, but about twelve 
years ago Mr. Toland bought out his partner and has since been sole pro- 
prietor. Mr. Toland deals in grain, seeds, salt, etc., and is doing a prosperous 
business. 

Other business enterprises of Anna are Fred Woehrle, groceries; George 
Fleckinstine, drain tile; L. Finkenbein, groceries, dry goods, notions, etc.; 
C. McVay & Son, livery, established twenty-two years; B. F. Martin, notions, 
Mr. Martin being the successor of his grandfather, R. Martin, who estab- 
lished the business; Rembold Brothers, W. T. and J. G., boots, shoes and rub- 
ber goods, have been established four years, the business having been previously 
carried on for seven years by YV. J. Rembold alone. 



Botkins, which is located on the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton Railway, 
near the north boundary of Dinsmore township, was platted as a village for 
Russell Botkin, who owned the land, in July, 1858. It was certified by J. A. 
Wells, surveyor, and acknowledged July 31, 1858. The town became a pros- 
perous trading center and had a steady growth. It aspired to the dignity of 
an incorporated village in 1881, a petition being filed with the county com- 
missioners on March 7, of that year. Although strenuously fought by some 
of the citizens, through remonstrance and protest filed, the proposition was 
carried through, a majority of the people being in favor of it. The petition 
was granted August 2, 1881, and was recorded January 3, 1882. A special 
election was held, at which the following officers were elected : P. W. Speaker, 
mayor ; H. H. Varner, clerk ; F. M. Hemmert, treasurer ; J. B. Staller, marshal ; 
and John McMahon, Dr. G. M. Tate, Dr. P. K. Clienhens,' Alexander Botkin 
and J. B. Hemmert, councilmen. Since then the growth of the village .has 
been slow but steady. There has been no marked "boom" but business in 
general has flourished and the citizens are prosperous. Though some former 
industries and commercial enterprises have passed out of existence with the 
mutations of time, others have taken their places, and present conditions, on 
the whole, mark a satisfactory advance. 

For a town of its size, Botkins has a very complete and efficient fire 
department, with a good engine house. The apparatus consists of a Howe 
gasoline engine, hook and ladder wagon and hose-cart with several thousand 
feet of hose. There is also an old hand engine which can be used when 
required. There is a good water supply, the water being obtained from 
cisterns (50 by 25 feet), which are sunk at convenient places on the streets. 
These cisterns are supplied from an artificial lake, covering two acres of 
ground and from twelve to fifteen feet deep, which is owned by the cor- 
poration. The department consists of a volunteer company numbering forty 
men, under the command at the present time of Chief John Morris. 

The Botkins Herald, a six-column quarto weekly, was established about 
fifteen years ago by Adam E. Blakeley. who conducted it until his death, in 
January, 191 1. He was then succeeded by his son, Lowell E. Blakeley, who 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 343 

is the present proprietor. The paper is independent in politics and has a con- 
siderable circulation throughout this part of the county. A job printing office 
is run in connection with the plant and does a good business.' A new cylin- 
der press has recently been installed, and the office is supplied with all the 
latest faces of job type. The proprietor. Mr. Blakeley, is the present post- 
master of Botkins. 

Among the principal commercial industries of Botkins at the present time 
are the following : The Botkins Hardware Company, John C. Koenig, propri- 
tor, are dealers in hardware, stoves, roofing, fence, pumps, buggies and imple- 
ments. The business was established by Mr. Koenig about seven years ago 
and is in a flourishing condition. The store is large and well supplied with 
an ample and varied stock. H. W. Weigert & Company, dealers m clothing, 
dry goods, shoes, groceries and general merchandise, has been established 
about two years ago and gives promise of a successful future. W. C. Zaenglein 
& Brother, are proprietors of a well-equipped department store. W. H. Bride- 
weser, dealer in harness, has been established in Botkins nearly eighteen years 
and is conducting a successful business. Thomas Kennedy Implement Com- 
pany deals in hardware, stoves, wire fencing, fence posts, implements, cement, 
lime, plaster, etc., and has been doing a successful business for ten years or 
more. William Oppeman conducts a well-appointed livery stable. F. G. 
Gutman conducts a general store. J. H. M. Schurr, undertaker and furniture 
dealer, is successfully carrying-on the business established by his father, Chris- 
tian Schurr, twenty-four years ago, B. A. Steinke is proprietor of a black- 
smith shop. There are also several other stores, including the Blakeley Milli- 
nery, one or two barber shops and several saloons. A saw mill has been con- 
ducted here for a number of years by M. A. Roth, who also does ditch contract- 
ing. -The Paul & Shafer grain elevator is an up-to-date concern and is 
doing a good business. The old mill was built by Taylor & Marx, who 
were its proprietors for about five years, the business then being bought by 
Mr. Shafer, who conducted it under the style of Shafer Grain Co. About 
a year later, July 6, 191 1, it burned down, but in the same year the erection 
of the present mill was begun and in October, 1912, it was opened for busi- 
ness. In the meanwhile, or July 1, 1912, Mr. Paul became a partner with 
Mr. Shafer and the firm adopted its present style of Paul & Shafer. The 
concern deals in grain, seeds, salt, flour, coal and fence posts and building 
tile, and are buyers and sellers of live stock. The elevator is a commodious 
and up-to-date structure. 

The Botkins Product Company was organized in the spring of 191 1, 
and was incorporated with a capital stock of $5,000. the following being 
the incorporators: J. M. Sheets, Louis Zimmerman. H. E. Sheets, Walter 
A. Looker and J. B. Reineke. J. M. Sheets was elected president; Louis 
Zimmerman, vice-president; H. E. Sheets, treasurer: and Walter A. Looker 
secretary. The company was formed to engage in the manufacture of "Kob 
Korn Krisp," the parching of corn on the cob. 

Sheets Manufacturing Company, of Botkins, was established in 1903. 
by H. E. Sheets, who remains sole proprietor of the business. The concern 



344 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

has a large factory, well equipped with up-to-date woodworking machinery 
and is engaged in the manufacture of bent rims and spokes for wagons, 
•implements, carriages and automobiles. The factory contains 20,000 square 
feet of floor space and employment is given to about eighty-five men. About 
10.000,000 feet of lumber is used annually, most of which is worked from 
the log to the finished product, the latter being shipped all over the United 
States, besides a considerable amount that is exported. 

The Sheets Grain Company was established about thirty years ago by 
Philip Sheets, who continued the business until his death in 1905, when his 
sons, E. S. and H. E. Sheets, continued the business. The company handles 
grain, feed, seed, etc., having an up-to-date elevator in Botkins, and also 
own other elevators outside the county, namely, one at each of the following 
places in Auglaize and Logan counties : Wapakoneta, Lakeview, Waynes- 
field, Geyer and Gutman. 

The Shelby County Bank was established at Botkins about 1897, by 
Philip Sheets, who conducted it as sole proprietor until his death in 1905, 
after which time the business passed into the hands of his sons, E. S. and 
H. E. Sheets, who continued it as a private bank until 19 12. It was then 
incorporated, with a capital stock of $25,000, with H. E. Sheets, president; 
Philip Sheets, Jr., vice-president, and E. S. Sheets, cashier, which is the 
official board at the present time, January, 19 13. 

M. A. Roth is proprietor of a saw mill established several years, and is 
also engaged in ditch contracting. 

CHURCHES 

The greatest civilizing agency we have, the church, was not long in estab- 
lishing itself, in fact before the township was more frhan sparsely settled. 
Brief mention is here made of the history of the various congregations : 

St. Jacob's Evangelical Lutheran Congregation. — One of the most 
beautiful church edifices in the county is that of St. Jacob's Evan- 
gelical Lutheran at Anna, which was dedicated August 4, 1907. The birth 
of this church was eighty years ago in 1832, when a few Lutherans, strong 
in their faith, settled in the virgin forest near Anna and the first preacher 
was the Rev. Henry Joesting, whose parsonage was a log structure of one 
room, which served as a residence, a schoolhouse, and a place for Sunday 
services. The names of John Altermath, Michael Altermath, Louis Bey 
and John Moothart, appear on the records, and they were soon joined by 
Germans of like faith. 

In the fall of 1833 their number was increased by Philip Jacob Hagel- 
berger, John Fogt, John Jacob Finkenbein, John Jacob Zimpher, Frederick 
Knasel, Henry Breitweiser, Henry Schaefer, Samuel Schaefer, and Ben- 
jamin Werth, with their families. A log church was erected in 1835-36, 
thirty-six feet long and twenty-four feet wide, for which the contractor, 
Jesse Weistch, got $100 for his labor. The seats were boards on trestles. 
It was built on the site which afterwards was the Lutheran cemetery, David 
Sw ander giving the land. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 345 

The first class was confirmed in 1836. The Rev. George Klapp served 
the church from 1840 to 1844, the Rev. Hursh till 1850, and the Rev. Spang- 
ler followed with a pastorate of seven years. 

The congregation outgrew their old log church of twenty years and 
dedicated a new one October 21, 1855, which cost $1,100. The church, 
made of brick, stood its ground for seventeen years and eventually was 
torn down and used in the building of a tile mill. The Rev. Christian 
Sappes was pastor in 1857, followed by the Revs. Gottfried Loewenstein, 
J. F. Grassie, and John Bundenthal, and was followed by a theological 
student from Columbus, from 1871 to 1877. The brick church was soon 
found too small for it was such a Lutheran nest that if an inhabitant in that 
vicinity got scratched the chanches were Lutheran blood was spilt, so a 
frame structure 60 by 40 feet was built in 1870 and 1871 at a cost of $5,000. 

Rev. John Michael Meissner served as pastor from 1877 to 1889, the 
longest term in its history. He baptized 303, mostly babies, for race suicide 
was not on their program, and he confirmed no. The Rev. E. H. D. 
Winterhoff took charge in 1889 and was succeeded by the Rev. R. C. H. 
Lenski, the editor of the Synodical Journal. At the time the present church 
was dedicated there had been during his pastorate of seven years 200 bap- 
tisms and 210 confirmations, 33 of whom were adults, making the number 
of communicants 550. 

The sacred frame structure could not begin to hold the crowds firtfd with 
Lutheran zeal, and so a building committee consisting of the pastor as 
chairman, George C. Schiff, C. E. Fogt, C. C. Fogt and George Hagelberger 
signed the contract with the builders, Newmier and Hemmert, of Wapa- 
koneta, for $17,490.70. The architect was R. C- Gotwald, of Springfield. 
The congregation was as harmonious as a colony of workipg bees, after 
the drones had been disposed of, and as the building progressed new and 
more extravagant ideas were advanced and approved until everything was 
done to make the interior of the church as artistic and perfect in its appoint- 
ments as one could wish. Could the early saints in the Anna congregation 
be permitted to visit the earth again they would almost wish to leave Heaven 
for awhile to worship in so sweet a place. On Tuesday after the dedication 
the Rev. Emanuel Poppen, of Sidney, with 100 of his congregation, took 
charge of the past dedicatory services, his wife bringing out the possibilities 
of the new pipe organ with good effect. 

The Rev. Lenski accepted a call to Columbus in August, 191 1, and was 
succeeded by the Rev. C. J. Gohdus, who served a year and he was followed 
December 8, 1912, by Rev. H. J. Schuh, the present pastor, who came here 
from Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, where he had served a pastorate of twenty- 
eight years. The congregation now numbers 579 communicants. 

Botkins Methodist Episcopal Church — The congregation of this 
church was in existence some years before a church edifice was erected. It 
was organized in 1833 or 1834 at the home of Richard Botkin, by the Rev. 
Daniel D. Davidson, assisted by Rev. James Smith. Among the prominent 
early members were: Richard Botkin and wife, Henry Hildebrant and wife. 



346 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Cornelius Montfort and wife, Cornelius Elliott and wife, and Samuel Elliott 
and wife. For several years services were held in the home of Richard 
Botkin, and subsequently in a log house in Botkins until 1841, in which year 
they erected a hewed log church, on ground donated for that purpose by 
Richard Botkin. This was in i860 replaced by a frame church building, 
dedicated in the fall of that year by the Rev. Wilson, assisted by the local 
pastor, Patrick G. Goode. In 1881 they erected a substantial brick build- 
ing at a cost of $2,040, and this was dedicated June 18, 1882, by Rev. 
Watters, assisted by Rev. J. S. Ayers, presiding elder of the Bellefontaine 
district. This church has since maintained its organization and has a live 
membership. Services are held Sunday afternoon and evening alternately. 
The present pastor is Rev. J. W. Miller. 

The Lutheran church, Botkins, Rev. A. Pnenger, pastor, holds alternate 
services Sunday mornings and evenings, with Sunday school in the fore- 
noon. 

Anna Methodist Episcopal church, originally known as Mt. Gilead Metho- 
dist Episcopal church, was organized at the home of Richard C. Dill, in 
1833, Rev. D. D. Davidson and Rev. James Smith. Services were for some 
years held in the homes of Mr. Dill and Joseph Park, and from 1840 until 
the completion of a house of worship in 1841, at the home of Mary J. Young. 
It was built a quarter of a mile north of Anna, was of the hewed-log type, 
and served the congregation until a frame structure was erected some years 
later, in the same vicinity. The latter was dedicated in July, 1858, by Revs. 
Wilson and P. G. Goode, the latter being then pastor. Among the original 
members were Mrs. R. C. Dill, Jane Dill, E. B. Toland and wife, Thomas 
Iiams and wife, Mrs. Forsha, John Lucas and wife. The present Methodist 
Episcopal church in Anna was dedicated November 1, 1886. The church 
is a brick structure, with slate roof, stained glass windows and having an 
audience room, lecture room, and two class rooms. The regular preaching 
services are held one Sabbath morning, the next Sabbath • morning and 
evening and so alternately. The church now has 126 members. Rev. J. W. 
Miller is now in his second year as pastor, having succeeded Rev. W. W. 
Motter. 

Roman Catholic Church of the Immaculate Conception, Botkins, Ohio. — 
The history of this congregation dates back more than six decades, when 
a few Roman Catholic families settled in the vicinity of the present town 
of Botkins. They were all German immigrants, and hence possessed but 
scanty means wherewith they might contribute toward the erection of a 
church, and the support of a pastor. Missionaries, however, came at regular 
intervals from surrounding well-settled communities, and provided for the 
spiritual wants of their poor brethren. Divine service was held at first in 
the residences of some families, later on in an old schoolhouse, and subse- 
quently in a log church, which finally was replaced by the present church. The 
first church organization was formed in 1865, and immediately preparations, 
were made and measures taken for the erection of a suitable house of wor- 
ship. Two years afterwards in 1867 the zealous people of the congrega- 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 347 

tion worshiped for the first time in the new edifice. The church, which had 
been erected at a cost of about $8,000, is a handsome brick building of 85 
by 45 feet, crowned by a neat steeple. In 1875 the congregation purchased 
the home of Andrew Gutman, which was first occupied by the reverend 
pastor but later became residence for the teachers. Clemens Huber, a pioneer 
of the congregation, donated in 1878 two acres of land for a new cemetery. 
The want of a school was provided for in 1881 by the purchase of the old 
Methodist Episcopal church, which has received an annex at the cost of 
$800. In 1887 the new parsonage, a two-story brick building, was com- 
pleted at a cost of $3,000. The church was remodeled and highly embellished 
by the brush of the able artist, F. H. Hefele, 1898, and but one year later 
new beautiful stained glass windows were put up to give the renovation a 
finishing touch. 

Father Joseph Goebel was the organizer of the congregation, and remained 
in charge of it till 1871. when he was succeeded by Rev. Henry. Daniel. 
In 1873, Rev. Nicholas Eilermann, a pious and energetic priest, was appointed 
pastor and he fulfilled his duties most successfully until his demise, June 24, 
1893. Since that time the Rev. Henry Daniel has reassumed the pastoral 
charge of the congregation. 

St. Lawrence Roman Catholic Church, Rheine. — This church is located 
near the southwest corner of section 36, Dinsmore township, three miles 
east of Botkins, on the Botkins pike. With about twenty families, Father 
Henry J. Muckerheide started a congregation in 1856, and held divine ser- 
vice for them in the schoolhouse of subdistrict No. 1, Dinsmore township, 
until another and more spacious building could be erected. At' a cost of about 
$2,100 the newly organized congregation reared a new church of brick 
structure 50 by 40 feet, and in the autumn of 1858 Rev. H. J. Muckerheide 
was already enabled to dedicate it to the service of the Most High. In the 
spring of 1893 the cornerstone for a new church was laid, and on Christmas 
following it was successfully completed. The beautiful edifice as it now 
greets the eye of the traveler is a massive, yet handsome, brick building of 
80 by 43 feet, which had been erected at a cost of $12,400. The solemn 
strains of bells invite all to enter its hallowed walls. Moreover, new altars, 
and the excellent frescoing by F. H. Hefele have embellished the interior 
aspect, while a new furnace has helped to increase the comfort of the 
church. Most Rev. Archbishop Henry W. Elder, of Cincinnati, dedicated 
the new building with grand ceremonies, August 26, 1894. A two-story 
brick schoolhouse, 48 by 36 feet, was erected in 1878 at a cost of about 
$1,800. 

Several fraternal orders have lodges in Botkins. Botkins Lodge No. 
903, I. O. O. F., organized four years ago, has now between fifty and sixty 
members. They hold regular meetings in their own hall. 

The Rebecca Lodge, I. O. O. F., has been established for the last three 
years and holds meetings in the Odd Fellows hall. 



348 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Summit Camp No. 131, Woodmen of the World, was established here 
six years ago and now numbers forty members. They also have a hall for 
meeting purposes. 

The Knights of St. John, a Catholic order, was instituted in Botkins 
fifteen years ago and have their own hall. 

The Catholic Knights of America, a Catholic insurance order, flourishes 
under the auspices of the Catholic church. The members meet at the 
Knights of St. John hall. 



CHAPTER XX 

THE TOWNSHIPS (II) 

Franklin, Green and Jackson Townships 

FRANKLIN TOWNSHIP 

Surface and Soil. — The location of Franklin township being in the 
second tier from the north is crossed by the Greenville Treaty Line and its 
boundaries are as follows : Dinsmore is the sister township on the north ; 
Jackson and Salem townships form its east line; Salem, Clinton and Tur- 
tle Creek are along the southern border, and Turtle Creek and Van Buren 
townships bound it on the west. A generally level surface and a rich soil 
mainly of black loam have made fine agricultural possibilities here, while 
sand pits and gravel beds in some portions have proved well worth develop- 
ing. Transportation facilities are excellent, there being fine roads and 
from north to south runs the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton (the old Day- 
ton & Michigan Railroad), with shipping points at Swanders, Anna and 
Botkins. This road is paralleled by the Western Ohio Electric Railroad. 
which does a good passenger business. This section of Shelby county was 
largely settled by natives of other parts of Ohio and its people have ever 
been of the quiet, law-abiding class. 

Villages. — Swanders is a small village of about eighty-six population, cen- 
trally located, and has outlived Massena, Woodstock and other once promising 
settlements. Woodstock, a town of sixty-four lots, was laid out in June, 
1836, but the village organization is no longer maintained. In 1857 the 
Dayton & Michigan Railroad (now the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton) 
was constructed and in 1867 the company established a flag station about 
five miles north of Sidney, which was named in honor of James Swander, 
who was appointed agent of the railroad company, was the first postmaster 
(1867), and established and conducted the first dry goods and general store. 

Industries. — Tile making was formerly an important industry at Swan- 
ders, the tile \ards being conducted for a number of years by Killian & 
Ludlum, but the business has been abandoned. In 1868, Henry Smith 
erected a steam saw mill, which he sold a year later to James Swander, who 
in turn sold out to Bulle & Minniear. The latter firm operated it with suc- 
cess for a number of years, but the business becoming unprofitable, was 
finally given up. The most important industry now at Swanders, or indeed 
in Franklin township, is the grain elevator of W. M.. Alton & Son, which 



350 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

is doing a good business. Edward H. Billing is postmaster and conducts a 
general store. 

Justices of the Peace. — The list of those who have served in the office 
of justice of the peace in Franklin township is as follows : Daminett Cole, 
May 26, 1836; John Lenox, January 20, 1837; William M. Ross, April 8, 
1839; George Clancey, December 28, 1839; George Clancey, October 17, 
1842; David Deweese, April 25, 1845; George Clancey, November 15. 
1845; Thomas Shaw, April 17, 1848; David Deweese, October 21,. 1848; 
George Clancey, December 30, 1848; Henry Bogan, November 8, 1851 ; 
George Clancey, November 8, 1851 ; George Wenner, April 14, 1854; 
Eliakim Ludlum, May 19, 1856; George Clancey, 1857; Eliakim Ludlum. 
April 12, 1859; David Deweese, October 20, 1859; Eliakim Ludlum, April 
22, [862; Eliakim Ludlum, April 14, 1865; E. T. Ailes, April 11, 1866; 
Lewis Fridley, April 5, 1867; Eliakim Ludlum, April 13, 1868; J. McDe- 
weese, April 12, 1869 (resigned May 26, 1870); J. D. Elliott, April 15, 
1871 (resigned); Eliakim Ludlum, April 11, 1871 ; Daniel Staley, April 5, 
1872; Eliakim Ludlum, April 10, 1874; Lorenzo Sitzman, April 9, 1875; 
Lewis Applegate, April 8, 1876; Eliakim Ludlum, April 17, 1877; Lewis 
Apple-gate, April 17, 1879; Eliakim Ludlum, April 14, 1880; P. W. Young, 
April 13, 1881: P. W. Young, 1884-1887; E. Ludlum, 1886-1889; P. VV. 
Young, 1887; Peter Fogt, 1889; John Hagelberger, 1890; Peter Fogt, 
1892; John Hagelberger, . 1 893- 1 896; Peter Fogt, 1895; August Maurer, 
1896; Peter Fogt, 1898; August Maurer. 1899-1902; Peter Fogt, 1901 ; 
David Bushman, 1901 ; Andrew Bertsch, 1902; Andrew Bertsch, 1904; 
George C. Schiff, 1905; George C. Scliiff, 1908; George A. Fogt, 1908; 
P. W. Young, 191 1 ; Peter Fogt, 1912. 

The present clerk of Franklin township is T. S. Price.' Trustees: L. W. 
Border, Lewis Knasel and Anthony Summer. 

CHURCHES 

The Reformed Church Society. — The early settlers of Franklin town- 
ship were not slow in taking measures to secure church privileges and the 
first society formally organized was that known as The Reformed Church 
Society, in September, 1832, at the house of Jacob Schlosser, by Rev. John 
Pence. The members of the first class were Jacob Schlosser and wife, 
James Swander and wife, David Swander and wife, Philip Swander and 
wife, Henry Swander and wife, Peter Hartman and wife, Jacob Woodring 
and wife, and Joseph Carmany and wife. They were all earnest Christian 
people and while they struggled for two years to secure a proper church 
structure, they became only the more closely united as they met for reli- 
gious meetings at each other's homes. In 1834, with the help of the Luth- 
eran society, a union building was put up on the YVapakoneta turnpike road, 
two and half miles south of Anna. It was constructed of hewed logs and 
its dimensions were 25 by 30 feet. The two church bodies met alternately 
in this building until 1845. when the Reformed society sold its interest and 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 351 

in the following year erected a frame edifice. The church has a live mem- 
bership, presided over at present by the Rev. R. R. Yocum, of Maplewood. 

Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church. — In 1883 the Methodists 
of Franklin township decided to bring about the organization of a society 
of their faith and, although there were but seven initial members, their zeal 
was such that Rev. Thomas Simmes acceded to their request and afterward, 
for a number of years, regular meetings were held at the house of Philip 
Young. The church edifice known as Wesley Chapel was erected about 
1847, and is situated on the Murphy turnpike road near the center of the 
west line of section 36. north of boundary line, in Franklin township. It 
has been remodeled in recent years. The church membership at present 
approaches one hundred and ministers have all been supported and church 
affairs decorously carried on. The first revival meeting in this neighbor- 
hood was held at the home" of Philip Young. The last survivor of the 
original membership was Mrs. Samuel Barley. Rev. J. \V. Miller, of Anna, 
Ohio, is now the pastor of this congregation. 

Plum Creek Methodist Episcopal Church Society. — The frame structure 
known as the Plum Creek Methodist Church, situated three miles north ot 
Sidney, near Plum creek, on the Wapakoneta turnpike road, was dedicated 
in November, i860, by Rev. Jacob M. Holmes, but has since been remodeled. 
The society was organized in February, 1839, by Rev. David Warnock and 
the first members were Nathan Burress and wife, Thomas Shaw and wife, 
Henry Yinger and wife? Louisa Leapley, Jane McVay, Mary Critton, Caspar 
Yinger, Valinda Yinger, Elizabeth McVay, David Greenlee, Elizabeth Bur- 
ress and Sarali Burress. Many of these old township families are yet rep- 
resented in its membership. Rev. John Parker is present pastor. 

An account of the schools of Franklin township may be found in the 
chapter on education. 

GREEN TOWNSHIP 

This township, forming the southeast corner of Shelby county, is five 
miles square and contains 25 sections of land. It was a part of Orange 
township prior to March 7, 1820, when it was erected as an independent 
township. It possesses a fertile soil, is mainly level, and is well drained by 
various streams, principally by Tawawa or Mosquito creek and Leatherwood 
creek, with their respective numerous tributaries. There are also numerous 
drain ditches, which have been established through the flat sections of the 
township. Settlement here antedates the organization of the township some 
years, the first known family to penetrate the forest here and establish a 
home being that of Henry Sturm, who came from Clark county, Ohio, in 
1814. This pioneer, with his wife and twelve children, settled in the south- 
west quarter of section 1. His children were Matthias, Margaret, Nicholas. 
Henry, Peter, William, Jacob, Frederick, Ephraim, Elizabeth, George and 
John, most of whom grew to become well known residents of this or other 
townships in the county. 



352 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

The spring following their arrival marked the coming of Henry Sturm's 
son-in-law, Samuel Robinson, who also had several small children. Among 
those who came a little later we may mention : Ezekiel Sargeant, who came 
from Clark county, Ohio, in 1816; William Bothel, who came from Penn- 
sylvania, in 1816; John R. and Adam Medaris, who came in 1817, and were 
progressive men and active citizens here for many years; John Ellsworth, 
who came in 1817: Peter Princehouse, who also came in 1817 or the year 
following: Thaddeus Tuttle, Edward Conroy and family; David Larue, who 
came from Champaign county, Ohio; all came in 1818. About this time — 
some of them even earlier — Joseph Park, William Richardson, Jacob Kiser, 
George W. Frazier, Daniel Apples, John Botkin and John Dorsey cast 
their lot with the newly developing community. 

Among those of a latter period we might mention Robert C. Cunning- 
ham and Samuel Redenbo. who arrived in 1819 ; Silas Dorsey, in 1824; 
Peter V. and David S. Sherwood, in 183 1 ; Samuel Bird and William Xis- 
wanger, in [832; John Piatt and William B. Williams, in 1833; Elias Bar- 
bee, in 1834; Timothy Conover and John Dickensheets, in 1835; Herman 
R. Hunt, in 1836; Matthias Gray, in 1837; Paul F. Verdier and Samuel 
Woodward, in [839; Mahlon Moon, in 1840; and Dr. John C. Leedom, 
in 1842. Dr. Leedom was by no means the first practicing physician here, 
as he was preceded by Doctor I'ratt, who came as early as 1820, and by a 
Doctor Little, who came subsequently to Doctor I'ratt. The first election 
was held in the house of John R. Medaris in April, '1820. The first justices 
of the peace were Henry Sturm and Charles Johnston, who were chosen at 
the election above mentioned. The first clerk was Charles Dorsey. 

The justices in order after the first election of Mr. Sturm and Mr. 
Johnston were: Philip Jackson. 1835; Thomas Vaughn,- 1836; Elias Barbee, 
1836; Elias Barbee. 1839: Thomas Vaughn, 1839; X. Sherieff, 1842; Thomas 
Vaughn, 1842; X. Sherieff, 1845; Thomas Vaughn, 1845; N. Sherieff, 1S48; 
Samuel Lewis, 1849; Ira F. Hunt. 1851; John Hume, 1852: Alexander E. 
Carey, 1854; William Beezley, 1855; Samuel Lewis, i860; A. L. Smith, 1863; 
David Bowersock, 1865; L. G. Simes, 1866; David Bowersock, 186S; L. G. 
Simes, 1869; David Bowersock, 1871 ; L. G. Simes, 1872; David Bowersock, 
1874; G. L. Simes. 1875; Samuel Lewis, 1877; G. L. Simes, 1878; David 
Bowersock, 1880; L. G. Simes, 1881 ; L. G. Simes, 1884; John Sargent, 1885; 
L. G. Simes, 1887; Madison Bennett, 1888; L. G. Simes, 1890; E. M. Baker, 
1890; L. G. Simes. 1893; Elisha Yost, 1893; David X. Prince, 1896; L. G. 
Simes, [896; Elisha Yost, 1899; E. O. Marrs, 1901 ; W. H. Baker, 1902; E. 
Xeedles, 1903; X. H. Baker, 1905; C. A. Jackson. 1908; E. E. Wiley, 1908; 
and 1". J. Kiser, in 1911. E. !•". Kolfe is the present township clerk, and the 
trustees are W. F. Valentine. J. L. Atkinson and Harvey Wiley. 

Schools. — Although this subject is dealt with in another chapter of this 
volume, we may here make some mention of the pioneer school. It was at 
first held in the homes of the settlers About the year 1818 or 1819 a school 
was conducted in a primitive round log building on the farm of David 
Larue, in section 10. The first term consisted of but seven days and it is 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 353 

related that the teacher, Mr. Dorsey, received but fifty cents a day, or three 
and a half dollars for the term. The first house built especially for school 
purposes was erected in 1820 near the old graveyard in what is now Platts- 
ville. Miss Lucy Wilson was the first instructor here. In 182 1 another 
log schoolhouse was built near the Sturm graveyard, and the first teacher was 
Doctor Pratt. Until 1853, there were none but subscription schools, but on 
June 1 8th of that year the township was divided into six school districts and 
a tax levied on the township for school purposes. The first brick schoolhouse 
had its inception in that year, and since that time the community has been 
blessed with good buildings and superior instruction, school affairs being 
under the guidance of capable directors chosen from among the citizens 
whose hearts were in the work. 

Churches. — Hand in hand with development educationally and commer- 
cially, was the development spiritually. From almost the first the settlers 
were wont to gather in the home of some settler for divine worship, and from 
this humble beginning societies were gradually formed and in time churches 
erected. Denominational lines were not so closely drawn in those days, as 
there were too few of any one denomination. We herewith present facts 
regarding some of the religious bodies that struggled and conquered under 
the most adverse circumstances: 

The Salem Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 1825 by Rev. 
Simes or Rev. Westlake, and among the most prominent of its members 
were David Larue and wife, Silas Dorsey and wife, and Mrs. Jemima Con- 
roy. A hewed log church was erected in section 4, and served as long as 
the organization continued, which was until about the year 1840. 

The Charity Chapel Methodist Protestant church was organized about 
1840, with Silas Dorsey as the leader of the society, it drawing considerably 
from the membership of the Salem Methodist Episcopal church. Meetings 
were held in Mr. Dorsey's house for a number of years, when a frame 'build- 
ing was erected in section 4 of Green township. It ceased to exist as a 
church body in 1864 or 1865. 

The Spring Creek Christian church was organized March 15, 185 1, by 
James T. Hunt and James Skillen in a log schoolhouse on the Cephas T. 
Sanders farm, with sixty-one members. Meetings were held in the school 
building until 1852, when a frame building was constructed in the south- 
east corner of section 28, near the Miami county line. It was dedicated in 
1853 by Rev. Griffin. In 1868, a fine new church building was erected and 
was dedicated in November of that year by Rev. James Linn. Among the 
original members may be mentioned: Cephas and Nancy Sanders, Cephas 
T. Sanders, Rachel Sanders, David and Chloe Sherwood, John Luseney, 
Martha Luseney, Martha Sanders, David and Catherine Wiles, William and 
Rachel Williams, Jackson and Mary Cramer, John and Almira Henman, 
David and Matilda Hall, and Catherine Sanders. It started out with a 
goodly membership, and the church affairs have always continued in a good 
healthy condition. The present pastor is Rev. L. W. Ryan. 

Charity Chapel Christian church was organized in the Methodist Protes- 



354 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

taut church building in 1864 or .1865 by Elder Asbury Watkins. William 
Benham and Thomas Stith were appointed the first deacons of the church. 
Worship was held in the Methodist Protestant building until 1878, when 
they erected a building of their own, which was dedicated on December 27, 
1878, by Elder E. M. Rapp. The church is served by Rev. L. W. Ryan, 
pastor of the Spring Creek Christian church. 

The Methodist Episcopal society at New Palestine (now Tawawa) had 
its inception about the year 1820, and was organized by Rev. Finley. Among 
the members were Philip Locker and wife, William Bathel and wife, Jacob 
Riser and wife, and Ezekiel Sargeant and wife. They met around at the 
various homes for worship and continued in that way while the organiza- 
tion lasted, which was until the late thirties. 

The Christian church at New Palestine had its beginning in an organi- 
zation formed at the residence of Daniel Neal in Champaign county, by 
Elders Jeremiah Fusion and John T. Robertson. The latter was the first 
pastor and meetings were held in the Neal home for about one year, and in 
May, 1838, they equipped a vacant house on the Ira Hunt farm in Green 
township with seats, using that as their house of worship for many years. 
They next built a frame church in New Palestine, which was dedicated in 
June, 1851, by Elder Samuel Fusion, assisted by Elder Justus T. Hunt. 
When this building proved inadequate for further use for church purposes, 
the society erected a larger structure near the old one, it being dedicated 
January 1, 1882, by Elder A. L. McKinney, of Troy, Ohio. The original 
members of the congregation were Ira and Anna Hunt, Justus T. Hunt 
and wife, David Bever and wife. Daniel Neal and wife, Joseph Basey and 
wife, David Greeley and wife, Ira F. Hunt and wife, Eleanor Woolley, 
Mary A. Flemmon and Daniel Currier. This church is at present served by 
Rev. A. J. Adriance, of Defiance, Ohio. 

The Plattsville Methodist Episcopal church, at one time known as the 
Antioch Methodist Episcopal church, was organized about 1819 or 1820, 
and until 1828 or thereabouts, meetings were held in the homes of various 
members. In that year or the following a hewed log building was erected 
on the ground later occupied by the cemetery at Plattsville, the land being 
donated for that purpose by Thaddeus Tuttle. They continued in this build- 
ing until 1849, when a new one was built on property purchased at Platts- 
ville, from John R. Medaris. The church was dedicated in 1850, the name 
being changed from the Antioch Methodist Episcopal church to the Platts- 
ville Methodist Episcopal church society. Among the original members 
were Thaddeus Tuttle and wife, John R. Medaris and wife, and William 
Ellsworth and wife 

The Plattsville L niversalist church was erected in 1877, and was dedicated 
on July 29th of that year by T. S. Guthrie, assisted by the local pastor, Rev. 
f. D. Lawer. The society was organized on September 30th following, J. D. 
Lawer and thirty-six others constituting the membership. It has been a very 
prosperous organization. Rev. Colgrove is the present pastor. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 855 

Villages. — New Palestine, Plattsville and Ballou are the villages which 
have existed in Green township. 

New Palestine was laid out on September 27, 1832, by Ephraim David- 
son, who owned the land on which it was located, and the first settlers in 
the village were George Swiger and family. The first store was conducted 
by John Stephen, and the first hotel by Joseph Knot. The former postoffice 
for this village was named Tawawa, but has been abandoned, and the vil- 
lage is now known by its original name only. New Palestine has two lodges, 
a K. G. E., with a membership of ninety-eight, and on I. O. R. M. lodge, 
membership about sixty. 

Plattsville, with a population of 134, is located near the center of Green 
township, on what was the old John R. Medaris farm. The latter had it 
surveyed in 1844 by Jonathan Counts, and it was recorded September 26, 
1844. In 1849, an addition to the village was surveyed for J. R. Medaris, 
and this was recorded on July 4th of that year. The first business at this 
point was an ashery and general store, of which Thomas Farshee was pro- 
prietor. The Methodist Episcopal and the Universalist churches are located 
here, drawing membership largely from surrounding territory. Plattsville 
Lodge No. 643, I. O. O. F., was instituted in the village on July 12, 1876, 
by Nathan Jones, grand master of Ohio. The original members were: 
Samuel Griffis, L. P. Redenbo, P. R. Hunt, B. F. Johnson, G. W. Frazier, 
\Y. H. Bulle, J. T. Princehouse, W. L. Woolley, D. Bowersock and James 
Williams. 

Industries of Green Township. — -The first mill was established by John 
Medaris, and was a corn cracker, located near the village of Plattsville. A 
water power saw mill was erected on Leatherwood creek, in 1826 or 1827, 
by William Ellsworth, and a few years later Abraham Medaris also built 
a saw mill in the same locality near Plattsville. The next saw mill was the 
one conducted by Samuel Robinson on Leatherwood creek. In 1854 Hage- 
man Brothers built a steam saw mill one mile south of Plattsville, and a 
steam saw mill was built by John Sargeant and John Neal near New Pales- 
tine. In 1879, a portable steam saw mill was started by Gabriel Harbaugh 
and was operated many years with great success. At the present time Wil- 
liam F. Valentine operates the only tile mill in the township, his output 
being from 18 to 22 kilns annually. Mr. Valentine also engages in ditch 
contracting and in a season uses over 200 carloads of tile additional to the 
product of his own plant. 

The present township clerk of Green is E. F. Rolfe. Trustees: W. F. 
Valentine, J. L. Atkinson and Harvey Wiley. 

JACKSON TOWNSHIP 

Jackson township, which is bordered on the north by Auglaize county, 
on the east by Logan county, has Salem township on its south and Dinsmore 
and Franklin townships on its western boundaries. IPs general settlement 
was more recent than many of the other townships, although, in 1912, it 



356 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

may lay just claim to being one of the most important. While the land was 
originally heavily timbered, the soil proved very fertile and all agricultural 
activities have prospered. 

EARLY SETTLERS 

In 183 1 James McCormick, traveling from Green county, found desir- 
able land in what is now Jackson township and entered a tract in section 34 
There are no other recorded transactions in land until 1833, when Andrev 
Nogle, of Fairfield county, settled in section 30. In the following yeai 
another pioneer, Thomas Cathcart, of Montgomery county, made an entrj 
of land in section 33; and from the same county, in 1835, came David Snidei 
and William Johnston. In 1837 the homesteaders were John W. Knight, 
Jeptha M. Davis, Dudley Hughes and William Babcock, and in 1838-1839, 
Jonathan Howell and Samuel Brandenberg. There is no further record of 
permanent settlers until 1843, when Christian Hawver of Miami county, 
located in section 33. Two years later, Philip Hawver, of the same county, 
bought 160 acres of the McPherson grant, and in the following year a member 
of the same family, George Hawver, also settled here. Other early settlers 
whose date of location cannot be definitely stated were Mathew Vandine, 
Timothy Wale, Julius Wale, Moses Quick, Kimmer Hudson, Henry Roland, 
Lewis Bland, Reuben Clayton and William Dawdon. It is probable that 
Luther L. Davis came about 1837 and that Jacob H. and David Babcock may 
have come in 1840. The McPherson section of grant above alluded to, com- 
prises 640 acres lying entirely within Jackson township and was a special 
grant to James McPherson by the St. Mary's treaty of 1818. 

Mills — Perhaps no industry in a pioneer region is mbre necessary than 
that of milling and where water could be utilized there was always some 
man enterprising enough to build a mill ; even when no fall in a stream was 
sufficient, a horse mill was frequently built. The first mill in Jackson town- 
ship — one of the latter character — was erected by Daniel Davis, in 1839. 
being located on the north half of the southwest quarter of section 3. Ten 
years later Joel Babcock erected a steam saw mill in what is now the town of 
Jackson Center, but it was destroyed by fire in 1868. In the following 
year the Babcocks erected another mill on the same site and operated it until 
1875, when it was purchased by R. F. Buirley, who continued its operation. 
In 1866 the firm of McCod & Slusser built a saw mill, in section 33, operated 
it until 1 881, the firm becoming McCord & Munch. For many years the 
Dearbaugh operated a saw mill and also a handle factory at Jackson Center, 
the latter being erected during the summer of 1882. Among present or recent 
industries are a cane mill, which has been operated for three years by William 
Hughes; also the mill and grain elevator of L. Kraft, who purchased it 
from William Ludwig. This, one of the most extensive business concerns 
of the township, was destroyed by a fire, in December, 1912, the loss was 
estimated at $15,000. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 357 



Jackson township has several important business centers. The village of 
Montra, with a present population of 160, was surveyed May 22, 1849, and is 
situated in the north half of the southeast quarter of section 18, town. 7, range 
7 east. At first the village houses were constructed of logs and the first 
store was in a log building, conducted by a Mr. Mahuren, who was also post- 
master and he not only carried the mail to Port Jefferson but also carried 
the greater part of his store stock, making his trips on foot. He evidently 
was a man of considerable enterprise, as he also conducted an ashery and a 
cooper shop. The village has several thriving industries at the present time, 
including the grocery and restaurant of Daniel Collins and the establishment 
of ]. C. Heintz, devoted to pumps, steel tanks and wind-engines. 

JACKSON CENTER 

The situation of Jackson Center is in the north part of the township, in 
sections 10 and 15, consists of twenty-four lots and the plat was recorded May 
4, 1835. The first postmaster was E. P. Stout, who was also the first mer- 
chant. There has always been a considerable amount of business done here, 
among the present industries being the following: The Richmond Auto 
Company, automobiles and supplies; R. S. Heinler, hardware; J. B. Zehner, 
drugs ; Chas. M. Lambert, musical goods and bicycles ; Dearbaugh & Moodie, 
general merchandise; L. H. Sollman, bakery and restaurant; Mrs. G. A. 
Swickard, millinery, and the mill interests already mentioned. Dr. L. M. 
Babcock has a well appointed dental office here. There is also a good news- 
paper published here — The Jdckson Center News, proprietor, J. G. Sailor, 
a fuller account of which can be found in the chapter on the Press of Shelby 
county. For mention of the First National Bank of Jackson Center see, 
chapter on Banks and Banking. 

CHURCHES 

Education both secular and religious has been a leading interest with 
the people of Jackson township and intelligence and good citizenship prevail. 
The more important educational statistics of the township may be found in the 
chapter on Education. 

Jackson Center Seventh Day Baptist church was organized March 22, 
1840. at the house of Solomon Sayrs, by Elder James Bailey, assisted by 
Elders Simeon Babcock and S. A. Davis, with about thirty members, viz., 
Luther L. Davis, Solomon Sayrs and wife, Emeline Sayrs, Dudley Hughes, 
Davis Loofborough and wife, Calvin Davis and wife, James M. Davis and 
wife, Uriah Davis and wife, James Davis and wife, John W. Knight and wife, 
Simeon Babcock, and some others whose names are not mentioned. They 
held their meetings at the houses of the different members alternately, making 
the house of Solomon Sayrs their regular place for .holding the quarterly 
meeting about two years, or until 1842, when the society erected a hewed log 



358 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

church building west of Jackson Center. _Maxson Babcock and Jacob Max- 
son were appointed deacons of the church, Brooks Akers was the clerk, and 
Eled Simeon Babcock was the first minister in charge, and remained as such 
for over twenty years. The society met in the log church building for several 
years, or until the erection and completion of the old frame church building 
one-fourth of a mile west of Jackson Center, which was dedicated in Septem- 
ber, 1859, by Elder L. A. Davis, assisted by Elders S. Babcock, Benjamin 
Clement, and Elder Maxson. In May, 1881, the society began the erection of 
a fine frame church building in Jackson Center 48 by 30 feet, which was com- 
pleted at a cost of about $2,000, and dedicated during the summer of 1882. 
The present pastor is Rev. E. L. Lewis. 

St. Jacob's Lutheran church was organized in April, 1851, its original 
membership being Jacob Zorn, Sr., Jacob Zorn, Jr., Jacob Metz, Sr., Philip 
Metz, Philip Kempfer, Sr., Michael Elsass, Jacob Nonnoront, Michael Keis, 
Sr., Nicholas Shearer, Michael Shearer, and their wives, together with John 
Iseman and wife, Jacob Iseman and wife, George Heinz and wife, and Mrs. 
Elizabeth Christler. Nicholas Shearer, John Iseman and Jacob Zorn were the 
first church trustees. Under the direction of Rev. George Spangler, the 
company purchased a little over one acre of land in the northeast quarter of 
section 6, town. 7, range 7, on which a hewed log structure was built and 
this continued to be used as a meeting place until in 1877 when a commodious 
brick church building was put up. The church has maintained its organiza- 
tion up to the present time. Rev. Mr. Pfluger, of Botkins, is now serving 
as pastor. 

St. Emanuel's Lutheran Church — The Lutherans at Montra united in 
i860 and a society was organized by Rev. Henry King. They were earnest 
people who were willing to meet for worship in an old storeroom until a 
proper church edifice could be completed, which was accomplished in the fall 
of 1862. Services were held here until the building was destroyed by fire in 
1874, the membership having increased and during the summer of 1875 the 
new church building was erected on the old site. Many gifted preachers and 
zealous Christians have ministered to this congregation since then. The 
present pastor is Rev. B. F. Mittler. 

Montra Methodist Episcopal Church— The Methodist faith was pro- 
fessed by some of the earliest settlers at Montra, but they had no special 
church organization until in the winter of 1864-65, when Elijah Holmes and 
wife, Mrs. Mary Foster, Henry Carter and wife, Samuel J. Piles and wife, 
William Baker, Elizabeth Kah and Joab Click and wife, under the direction of 
Revs. Rinehart and Smith, became a recognized religious body. The society 
worshiped for several years in an old log building in the town but were able 
to dedicate a new structure in June, 1879. the minister then in charge being 
Rev. J. B. Findley. Rev. B. F. Smith, of Jackson Center, is now serving the 
congregation. 

Pleasant Hill Methodist Episcopal Church — This church, located one mile 
east of Jackson Center, was organized some time prior' to 1838. The earliest 
class included Andrew Holmes and wife, Lewis Bland and wife, Thomas 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 359 

McVay and wife, Henry and James Roland and their wives, Philip Keith and 
wife, John Armstrong and wife, Mary Kertler and others. The first meetings 
were held in private houses, but by 1843 a 1°& structure was put up, which 
was supplanted in 1853 by a frame edifice. The latter continued to be the 
church home until the erection of a much more pretentious one in 1882, at 
which time the membership numbered some sixty families, with missionary 
and other organizations. This society, however, disbanded some time ago and 
is no longer in existence. 

There is also at Jackson Center a Disciples, or Church of Christ, organi- 
zation, Rev. Harry Stinson being its pastor. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE 

The list of justices of the peace that have served in Jackson township from 
1836 until 1910 will show that representative men here have held this impor- 
tant position: 

James Maxwell, November 8, 1836; Thomas M. Cathcart, October 21, 
1837; Wesley Noland, October 14, 1839; Thomas M. Cathcart, November 9, 
1840; Newland Meranda, April 28, 1842; Wesley Noland, October 17, 1842; 
Newland Meranda, April 24, 1845; John C. Elliott, October 21, 1845; Davis 
Loofbourrow, April 22, 1846; John C. Elliott, November 8, 1851; Valentine 
McCormick, April 21, 1855; E. H. Hopkins, April 16, 1858; H. M. Ailes, 
November 10, i860; E. H. Hopkins, April 22, 186 1 ; John C. Elliott, October 
23, 1863; G. N. Meranda, April 23, 1864, resigned September 3; Peter M 
Young, October 18, 1864; John C. Elliott, October 17, 1866; P. M. Young, 
October 15, 1867; John C. Elliott, October 18, 1869; John Moodie, Octobei 
19, 1870; Alfred Ailes, October 12, 1872; John Moodie, October 20, 1873; 
Alfred Ailes, October 20, 1875 ; John Moodie, October 18, 1876; Alfred Ailes, 
October 14, 1878; John Moodie, October 18, 1879; Alfred Ailes, October 19, 
1881; H. P. Ailes, March 18, 1882; J. C. Babcock, 1884, resigned March 9, 
1886; H. P. Ailes, 1885; John Moodie, 1886; H. P. Ailes, 1888; Louis Apple- 
gate, 1889, resigned same year; James M. Hussey, 1889; H. P. Ailes, 1891 ; 
James M. Hussey, 1892; H. P. Ailes, 1894; J. A. Leininger, 1894; H. P. 
Ailes, 1897; H. P. Ailes, 1900; A. A. Davis, 1900; H. P. Ailes, 1903; A. A. 
Davis, 1903; C. F. Babcock, 1906; H. P. Ailes, 1906; H. P. Ailes, 1909 
(appointed) ; C. F. Babcock appointed January 22, 1909, resigned April 5, 
1909; J. G. Sailor, 1909; H. P. Ailes, 1910; W. E. Baker, 1910. 

The present township clerk is Geo. P. Staley. 

Trustees — William Schneeberger, Jacob Helmlinger and J. .M. Hughs. 

FRATERNAL ORGANIZATIONS 

Jackson township has several flourishing fraternal organizations. Lodge 
No. 736, Odd Fellows at Jackson Center, has about' one hundred members. 
Granite Camp No. 15573, at Jackson Center has an active membership of 
thirty-one. 



360 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Epler Lodge, No. 458, F. & A. M. was organized at Montra, Shelby 
county, Ohio, on the 25th of November, 1871, and began working under 
dispensation, with officers as follows : T. W. Epler, W. M. ; H. S. Ailes, S. 
W.; A. A. Davis, J. W. ; J. E. Elliott, treas. ; J. C. Grafton, sec; D. Glick, 
S. D. ; G. W. Elliott, J. D. ; E. V. Ailes, Tyler. The charter members were 
C. M. Davis, J. M. Carter, H. Arnett, B. F. Wren, and H. M. Stout They 
received their charter on the 16th of October, 1872. Their place of meeting 
was at Montra until December 17, 1877, when they moved to Jackson Center, 
where they have since held their meetings. 

Poplar Knob Grange is an active and flourishing society, with W. C. 
Baker and Sidney Ailes, trustees. 



CHAPTER XXI 

THE TOWNSHIPS (III) 

Loramie, McLean, Orange and Perry Townships 

LORAMIE TOWNSHIP 

This township, located in the southwest corner of the county, is more or 
less distinguished from the other townships in its citizenship and its customs. 
It is quite cosmopolitan in its citizenship, but from an early period the western 
portion has been settled largely by the French. It is traversed by the Big Four 
Railroad, with three stations in the township, namely: Dawson, North Hous- 
ton and Russia. The old canal cuts through the northeast corner of the 
township. 

Loramie township is for the most part level and is exceedingly rich in its 
soil. It is well drained as within its limits are to be found Loramie creek and 
Nine Mile creek, together with various small tributaries. It is well suited for 
general agriculture, all products growing here readily. The first settlers 
came shortly prior to the War of 1812, and among the first of whom there 
is any knowledge was Samuel McClure, who with his family settled on what 
afterward became known as the J. W. Akin farm in section 9. There were 
only occasional arrivals during the war, but about 1814 settlers began coming 
in numbers. In that year came Robert and David Houston, and they were 
followed the succeeding year by William and John Houston. Among others 
of that early period who cast their fortunes with that of the township were 
the following: William Morrow, who came from Cumberland, Pa., in 181 5; 
William Johnston of Pennsylvania in 1816 and John Patterson the same 
year; William Skillen from Westmoreland county, Pa., in 1817, and shortly 
before that time Zebediah Richardson, William Anderson and Thomas Wyatt; 
Henry Zemer and Jacob Black, in 1818; Jacob Everly, David Clark, Henry 
Harp and Robert Johnson were to be found here in 1820; William Johnston 
of Ireland, James Harvey and Joseph Blackwood came in 1823; William 
Ellis in 1826; Henry Day in 1830; Joseph Wyatt in 1831; William Legg in 
1832; John Worley and Jacob Rouston, the latter from Maryland, in 1833; 
Christian Mader of Germany in 1834; Jacob S. Apple from Montgomery 
county, O., in 1837; Fred Bishop of Germany in 1838, and about the same 
time, J. R. Griffis of Butler county, O. ; William Harrup from England in 
1839: Emanuel Sherer in 1840; Henry S. Apple from Montgomery county, 
O., in 1843; a "d Peter Wright, who in 1839 came to Cynthian township from 

361 



362 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

Pennsylvania, moved to this township in 1848. Late in the thirties the west- 
ern part of the township began to be settled by people of the French race, 
among the most prominent of them being James Unum, who came here in 
1835; J. J. Debrosse and Joseph Gaible who came in 1837; John B. Malliott 
and Amos Peppiot in 1838; Tebone Didier in 1840; Henry Delaet in 1844; 
Simon Richards in 1845; Louis Peltier in 1848; and Nicholas Didier in 1852. 

The following, taken from the records of the township, is given, primarily, 
to show the names of people who played a part in the affairs of the time, and 
secondarily the difference in volume of business transacted through the town- 
ship officers in that day and this : 

Orders issued and granted in 1824— No. 23. To Jacob R. Harp for one 
dollar for services as supervisor, dated March 7, 1825; $1.00. No. 24. To 
William Johnston for one dollar for services as supervisor, dated March 7, 
1825; $1.00. No. 25. To Jonas Richardson for one dollar and seventy-five 
cents, dated March 7, 1825; $1.75. No. 26. To Samuel McClure for one 
dollar and fifty cents for services as trustee, dated March g, 1825; $1.50. 
No. 27. To Robert McClure for one dollar and fifty cents for services as trus- 
tee, dated March 7, 1825 ; $1.50. No. 28. To John Booker for one dollar and 
fifty cents for services as trustee, dated March 7, 1825; $1.50. No. 29. To 
Snow Richardson for two dollars for services as township clerk, dated March 
7, 1825; $2.00. Total amount of orders granted and issued, $10.25. 

Treasurer's Report, March 7, 1825. — No money received, and none 
expended. 

Road Districts in 1825. — The trustees convened according to law, and 
laid out the township in the following road districts, to wit: No. I. Com- 
mencing at the northwest corner of section 3 ; thence to the mouth of Nine 
Mile creek; said creek being the line into William Wright's improvement 
(and including said William Wright in said District No. 1) ; thence to incliide 
all north of District No. 1. Robert Johnston, township clerk. In 1826 the 
township was divided into three road districts 

Orders Issued in 1826. — No. 30. To John Booker, trustee, $3.00. No. 31. 
To Thomas Wyatt, trustee, 75 cents. No. 32. To Jacob R. Harp, constable, 
$1.00. No. 33. To William N. Flinn, trustee, $2.25. No. 34. To James 
McCane, supervisor, 75 cents. Total amount of orders for 1826, $7.75. 

School Districts in 1826. — No. 1. Beginning at the n6rtheast corner of 
section 22, town. 9, range 5 ; thence west in said line to the northeast corner 
of section 20; thence south to the northeast corner of section 29; thence west 
in said line to the Darke county line; thence south to Miami county line; thence 
east on said line to the southeast corner of section 2~j ; thence north to place of 
beginning. No. 2. Beginning at the northwest corner of section 6; thence 
south to the northeast corner of section 19; thence east to Grayson (Washing- 
ton) township line; thence north in said line to Cynthian township line; 
thence west on said line to place of beginning. No. 3. Including all the 
township not included in Districts Nos. 1 and 2. 

List of Householders in these Districts. — No. I. Wm. Morrow, Wm. 
Johnston, John Patterson, James McClure, Wm. Anderson. No. 2. Thomas 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 363 

Wyatt, John Houston, Wm. Skillen, Janos Richardson, Isaac. Mann, Wm. 
N. Flinn, Wm. Gibson, Wm. Flinn, Harvey Houston, Eleazer Hathaway, 
Henry Hashaw, Robert Houston, Levi Levaley, Robert McClure, Jr., 2d, 
Robert Houston, Jr., Stephen Julian, Zebediah Richardson, Snow Richardson, 
Robert McClure, Robert McClure, Jr., Phebe Richardson, James Cannon, Wm. 
Bodkin, Robert Johnston, Sarah Johnston. No. 3. Henry Harp, Anthony 
Harp, Wm. Johnston, Jr., Wm. Houston, Wm. Wright, Joseph Hughs, John 
Hughs, George Black, Jacob Black, James Hervey, George Livingood, Henry 
Zemer, Jacob Everley, James Myers, Andrew Black, Margaret Clark, David 
Houston. 

Treasurer's Report for 1827. — Received from Thomas Wyatt, J. P., fifty 
cents, being the amount collected by him as a fine ; 50 cents. 

Orders for 1827. — To Wm. Houston, trustee, 75 cents. John Hughs, 
constable, $1.11^2. Robert Johnston, trustee, 75 cents. Wm. Wright, clerk, 
$2.00. Total orders issued March 3, 1828, for year 1827, $5.11^. 

In March, 1828, the township was divided into two school districts, with 
twelve householders in the first, and thirty-three in the second. In July 
three districts were formed, and in November these were reformed, so that 
the first embraced seventeen householders, the second twenty-two, and the third 
fourteen. 

On Decern ber 2j, 1828, sections 27, 28, 21, and 22 of Loramie township 
were attached to school district No. 2, of Grayson (Washington) township, 
in answer to petition. 

Receipts and Expenditures in 1828.— Receipts, $0.00; expenditures, $0.00. 

Robert Houston, L. T. C. 

Election. — I do hereby certify that Daniel C. Flinn was elected captain 1 
of the 2d Company, 2d Regiment, 2d Battalion, 12th Division, Ohio Militia, 
on the 8th day of August, 1829, by a majority of twenty-one votes. 

James Hervey, L. T. Clk. 

In 1831 a "list of hands in road districts," shows thirty-six in the first, 
fourteen in the second, and twenty in the third district. 

Grand jurors selected in October, 1831 : Eleazer Hathaway, Thos. Wyatt, 
Richard Jeffries, Wm. Houston, Robert Houston, Jacob Everley, Jr. Petit 
jurors selected same date: John Crozier, Robert Houston, Jr., Robert John- 
ston, Charles Mann, Snow Richardson, Joseph Blackwood. 

At an election held for state and county officers October 11, 1831, fifty- 
five votes were cast. In March, 1833, the township was divided into four 
road districts. 

Exhibit for 1832. — Received from John Crozier one dollar for Sabbath 
breaking, which sum is now in the treasury, for school purposes. 

Orders Issued. — To Harvey Houston, constable, 75 cents. 

In 1834 the township was divided into four school districts. In 1838 six 
road districts were formed. At an election held in 1843 ninety-eight votes 
were cast; in 1847, sixty-five votes. 



364 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

In 1855 twelve road districts were formed, and at spring election one hun- 
dred and thirteen votes were polled. 

The following is a list of justices of the peace of Loramie township and the 
year of their respective elections: James Hervey, i824;»Robert Houston, 
1826; Thomas Wyatt, 1827; Eleazer Hathaway, 1828; William Wright, 
1829; Robert Houston, 1830; John Crozier, 1831 ; William N. Flinn, 1833; 
John Crozier, 1834; William N. Flinn, 1836; John M. Ross, 1837; Cyrus 
Jeffries, November 21, 1838; Snow Richardson, January 7, 1840; Robert 
Houston, December 7, 1840; John G. Hunter, December 24, 1842; Robert 
Houston. February 13, 1844; John W. Day, December 11, 1845; Robert 
Houston, February. 1847; J. G. Hunter, April 17, 1848; Samuel Clark, 1848: 
Asa D. Young. 1851 ; A. D. Young, 1854; Samuel Clark, 1854; David Flinn, 
1857: William Bland, May 1. i860; David Flinn, October 18, i860; John 
Gartley, 1861 ; David Flinn, October 2^, 1863; John Gartley, September 1, 
[864; William Flinn. 1866: C. B. McKinney, 1867; William Flinn, 1869; 
C. B. McKinney, 1870; William Flinn, 1872; Joseph Voisard, 1873; William 
Flinn, 187s; Joseph Voisard, 1876; William Flinn, 1878; Joseph Voisard, 
1879; Jeremiah Miller, 1880; William Flinn, 1881 ; Jeremiah Miller, 1883; 
David Souder, 1884; Justin Monnin, 1887; J. M. Wyatt, 1887; William 
Flinn, 1890; J. M. Wyatt, 1890; Irene Eshman, 1892; Hudson Flinn, 1893: 
I. A. Eshman, 1895; Hudson Flinn, 1896; I. A. Eshman, 1898: Hudson Flinn, 
1899: George K. Nash, 1901 : John B. Moorman, 1902; J. F. Flinn, 1902; 
John B. Moorman, 1905; J. F. Flinn, 1905; John B. Moorman, 1908; B. L. 
Grillot, 1908; J. F. Flinn, 1910; and B. L. Grillot, 1912. 

The present officers of Loramie township are George M. Francis of 
Russia, -clerk ; and C. A. Wolaver, E. C. Mader and James, Voisard, trustees. 

In addition to general farming, there was in former years considerable 
activity in the various industries, especially milling. In 1876 Crone Brothers 
established a large saw mill in the township, with a capacity of 8,000 feet per 
day. and about the year 1879 John Wright bought the interest of one of the 
brothers, A. J. Crone. It was then conducted under the name of Crone & 
Wright with much success, but is now out of existence. As early as 1862. 
John Wright and E. W. Pampel built an icehouse on the Wright farm near 
Houston, its dimensions being 106x42 feet. In 1866 a second icehouse was 
built. 103 x 52 feet in dimensions, and in 1871 a third was built, 106 x 106 
feet, giving a total storage capacity of 9,500 tons of ice. It was first operated 
under the name of Wright & Pampel, the numbers being John Wright and 
E. W. Pampel, and later Henry Crone bought the interest of Mr. Pampel, 
and thereafter the business was conducted for a number of years under the 
name of the Summit Ice Company. It is now owned by Dr. S. G. Marti. 



Within the confines of the township there have been a number of villages, 
more or less flourishing at times, namely: Houston, Mt. Jefferson, North 
Houston, Russia, Dawson and Massena. 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 365 

Houston was surveyed May 4, 1838, by Jonathan Counts, for Harvey 
Houston, and was made to include a part of the northwest quarter of section 
9, being situated on the state road between Piqua and St. Marys. The plat 
was recorded May 25, 1838. The founder of the village, Harvey Houston, 
resided on the east side of the road, just north of the village, in a log house, 
which he for some years used for hotel purposes. Mrs. Houston was the first 
postmistress of the township, receiving appointment in 1834. On November 
1, 1855, the town of North Houston was laid out for Asa D. Young and also 
lies in the northwest quarter of section nine. It is situated on the Big Four 
Railroad and is known as Houston station, the old name having been dropped. 
In Houston, the first store was conducted by Nicholas Gresham, who started 
the business about 1832. Other merchants to follow him, were: Singer and 
Brown, Joseph Taylor, B. Mallot and C. Delaet. Mr. Taylor was also a grain 
dealer and was identified with the pork packing industry. The village received 
one very serious setback in its history, when it was almost wholly depopulated 
because of the cholera panic. Its population according to the 1910 census was 
227 people. The business of North Houston in the early period was repre- 
sented by Akin & Flinn, who conducted a warehouse; William Flinn & Co., 
who conducted a grocery and also a tile factory; and J. F. Black, who was 
proprietor of a general grocery and mercantile store. W. Flinn & Co. also 
conducted a sawmill at North Houston, which is now owned by N. C. Barr 
of Houston. 

Mt. Jefferson, lying on the main road from Piqua to St. Marys, was laid 
out January 12, 1838, by Jonathan Counts for Samuel Farnum. The village 
never assumed any larger proportions than that of a small country center, 
although they had within their midst three churches, a Presbyterian, Christian 
and Episcopal. The first store there was conducted by Charles Rutherford. 

Massena was laid out for a town March 15, 1833, by David and Cynthian' 
Houston, and consisted of twelve town lots, but never made any headway, 
and the lots were soon again more profitably employed for farming purposes. 

Russia, a station on the Big Four Railroad, according to the last census, 
has a population of 251 inhabitants. Its name was derived from the fact that 
as originally laid out it resembled a locality in Russia in which some of the 
first citizens had formerly lived. The first house erected within its limits was 
that of Lewis Phillip in 1853. He it was who purchased the original town- 
site from a man named Febaux, and conducted the sale of lots. The plat of 
the village was made subsequently. The second house was built by Clement 
Lachat in 1854, and the third by Ferial DeBrosse in 1856 or 1857. Among 
those who have conducted business enterprises within the village limits may be 
mentioned: Lewis Phillip, who established a grocery in 1853; Jasper Corden- 
ner who conducted a dry goods store about 1861 ; Joseph Delaet, George 
Marshall; A. F. Ashman; Francis Didier; Joseph Miller; Frank Subler; and 
C. Besonnet. The business enterprises, in addition to the stores, included 
blacksmith shops, grain elevators and saw mills. The saw mill industry was 
at one time an extensive one, and the mill established by John A. Marshall, 
Michael Meham and John B. Marshall, in 1867, was operated for years .with 



366 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

unvarying success. Frank Simon succeeded to Mr. Meham's interest in 1868, 
and the business was conducted under the name and style of Marshall & Simon, 
until about 1888, when it passed into the hands of C. F. Francis, who is still 
the proprietor. When a postoffice was established here, Lewis Piney was 
made the first postmaster. The Roman Catholic congregation erected a church 
edifice within the village. 

Schools. — It was not long after the settlement had become general that 
the settlers realized the necessity for educating their children. It was a serious 
problem they had to solve, one we can little understand in this day and age. 
A beginning was made by holding school in various homes, among them we 
might mention the homes of Robert Houston and William Skillen. William 
Wright and C. Wyatt were early teachers here. The teachers in that day and 
for many years afterward, boarded around with the different families who had 
children in school. When the growth of population had been sufficient to war- 
rant it, plans were made for the erection of a school building. These plans 
were carried out in 1827 or 1828, with the erection of a building in section 18, 
a rude log structure. As time passed, the progressive element of the people 
saw that new and adequate buildings were erected in different parts of the 
township, which was divided into different school districts. Further data in 
regard to the schools of Loramie township may be found in the chapter on 
Education. 

Churches. — In the main, it was a God fearing class of citizens who took 
up their residence in Loramie township, people used to the refining influences 
of church work, and it was not long before little gatherings for worship were 
being held in various homes. Gradually they became segregated into little 
groups of this denomination and the other, generally according .to the faith to 
which they were reared, until church organizations were perfected and still 
later churches built. 

A Methodist Episcopal church was founded in 1825 and as a branch of 
the Piqua Methodist Episcopal church, by Rev. Levi White and John Wood- 
ney, in the home of Thomas Wyatt. Abner Wyatt was the first class leader. 
Until 1832, meetings were held in the homes of Thomas Wyatt, Henry Harp 
and Richard Stone, and in that year a hewed log house was erected in section 
17, and was dedicated in December, 1836, by Rev. James Findley. In 1854 
a frame church was built at Mt. Jefferson, in which services were held for a 
number of years. 

The Mt. Jefferson Presbyterian church was organized December 31, 1848, 
by Rev. J. A. Meeks, of Piqua, Rev. W. B. Spencer of Sidney, and Elder 
William Linn of Piqua. John G. Hunter was ordained the first ruling elder 
on that date. The original members of the society were: John G. and Char- 
lotte Hunter, James and Jane Harper, Brazillai and Abigail Gray, Eliza A. 
Young, Margaret Blackwood, Catherine Young, Ann Diltz, Mary Diltz, Eliza- 
beth Diltz, J. W. Hunter and Maria Hunter. A brick church was built at Mt. 
Jefferson, and was dedicated January 2, 1850, by Rev. Thomas Elcock, who 
served about two years as pastor. The church has maintained its organization 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 367 

up to the present time and is a potent factor in the religious life of the 
community. 

The Mt. Jefferson Christian. church was organized in 1849 by Elders 
Caleb Wooley and James Fahnestock, and had originally eight members, as 
follows : Frederick Everly, Jesse Ellis, Jephtha M. Wyatt and wife, Jesse D. 
Elliott and wife, and John Hughes and wife. In 1852 a frame church build- 
ing was erected at Mt. Jefferson. This organization is still flourishing. 

The Beech Grove United Brethren church was organized in the Apple 
fJioolhouse about the year 1866, by Rev. William Mittendorf, who, was its 
first minister. Reuben Schuler was the first class leader. A church building 
was erected on land formerly owned by J. S. Apple, and was dedicated on 
September 5, 1869. The first members of the congregation were Reuben 
Schuler and wife, Jacob Hengle and wife, and Anthony August and wife. 
The church flourished for a number of years but is not now in existence. 

The St. James German Reformed church was built in section 7, and was 
dedicated September 14, 1881, by Revs. Shaw and Weaver. The congrega- 
tion had been organized by Rev. Jacob Weaver as early as 1867, but no build- 
ing had been erected in which to worship. The first members were : Christian 
Harmony and wife; George Singer, his wife and.three children; George Arent 
and wife; George Sherer and wife; and J. Lindsey and wife. This church 
also has gone out of existence. 

St. Remy Congregation, Russia. — In the early part of the present century 
a colony of immigrants from France, Alsace, and Loraine settled in the western 
part of Shelby and eastern part of Darke counties, forming what is now 
known as Frenchtown, Versailles and Russia. These early settlers, true to 
the ancient faith, resolved to build a house of worship, to honor God after 
the custom of their fathers. This first church, known as St. Walbert's church, 
was situated one and a half miles northeast of the then Jacksonville, nqw 
Versailles. The ancient site is now used as the cemetery of St. Denis church, 
Versailles. It was the parish church of the three settlements. Soon, how- 
ever, it became necessary to provide for better accommodations. The Cath- 
olics of Russia resolved to form a parish and build a church, under the direc- 
tion of the Rev. L. Navaron, who continued to administer to their spiritual 
needs as their first pastor. The new church of logs was dedicated to St. Remy, 
the apostle of France, and in it for the first time on the 15th of June, 1854, was 
celebrated with great ceremonies the first holy communion of children and 
confirmation administered by the Most Rev. Archbishop Durcell, on the 26th 
of the same month. The congregation continued to increase and soon the erec- 
tion of a new and more spacious edifice became necessary. In 1869 a large 
and imposing brick church was built under the direction of the Rev. C. Berard, 
and again after some years it became necessary to erect a new and still more 
spacious edifice because growing number of Catholics. The present beautiful 
church was begun in 1891 under the direction of the Rev. Nicholas Poiry, 
and was completed in 1892, and is one of the most imposing and beautiful 
structures of the archdiocese. It is built in purely Roman style and is the 
pride of the congregation. The present pastor is Rev. F. Kruskamp. 



363 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

St. Michael's Catholic Church, Ft. Loramie, O. — Berlin was constituted 
a parish in 1838, at which time about 40 families were registered. Some Ger- 
man families had already been here for several years, and when the canal was 
constructed the population materially increased, many families coming here 
from Cincinnati and other cities. About that time a log church was erected 
and occasionally a priest came from Minster, read mass, baptized children, 
solemnized marriages and interred the dead. The priests of the society of 
"The Precious Blood" labored at Minster, to which place the Berlin catholics 
frequently went to attend services. In 1840 the parish of Berlin embraced 
over 100 families. They continued to worship in the log church until 1849, 
at which time a brick church, 60 by 30 feet, ground dimensions, was con- 
structed, and hung with a 700-pound bell. But the season of 1849-50 proved 
trying to the new community, for an epidemic of cholera broke out, which 
within two months, swept away 28 persons, some 200 dying from the same fell 
disease at Minster. 

The plague, however, ran its course and the people resumed neglected 
undertakings. The new church was dedicated and the services of Rev. 
Augustus Berger, of the Grand Duchy, were secured by the congregation. 
Under his care the new priest's house was built. He was succeeded in 1857 
by Rev. Henry Muckerheide, of Oldenberg, who labored here until 1863, 
with great zeal and ability. He was succeeded by Rev. M. Anton Meyer, of 
Canton Basel, of Switzerland, who had an addition of 20 feet made to the 
church, and a few years later carried the construction of a schoolhouse to 
completion. In 1873, on account of failing health, he resigned from active 
labor in this field. 

In that year, 1873, the institution of the "Fathers of the Holy Spirit" was 
abrogated in Germany, and Archbishop Purcell, wrote to "the Rev. General- 
chief of the society to procure some priests for this country. Accordingly, 
in January, 1874, four priests and twelve lay brothers of the society left Paris 
for the United States, among whom was Rev. William Bigot, who became 
pastor of Berlin parish, this county. He had seen arduous service during 
the Franco-Prussian war in ministering to the wounded soldiers, and in per- 
forming other important offices, for which services the French government 
had conferred upon him the Cross of Chivalry, the Legion of Honor and the 
Cross of Merit. He reached Berlin, Shelby county, O., January 20, 1874, 
and here he found plenty of work awaiting him. Old debts amounting to $700 
had to l)e paid, the priest's house to be repaired, and the holy vessels to be 
renewed. All this was readily done, but the parish needed a new church, an 
enterprise which the congregation did not yet feel ready to undertake. Father 
Bigot himself gave a year's salary for the purchase of a 3,800 pound bell; 
but a new tower was needed for the bell, and a new church for the tower. By 
1879 conditions had become more favorable and it was resolved to build. 
It was decided that, over and above the manual labor the members could 
perform, the building should not cost over $30,000. There already existed a 
fund of $4,000 for the purpose and a nine days' collection throughout the 
parish brought in $if>,ooo more. The collection for the year 1881 brought 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 369 

$8,000, which, added to a pew-rent surplus fund of $2,000, raised the aggre- 
gate to $30,000 before the completion of the church. Aside from this 
individual gifts were received, such as a stained glass window or a figure. 
One family contributed $800 for St. Mary's altar, while many others gave in 
a quiet manner, something over the regular subscription. By the 12th of Octo- 
ber, 1879, the foundation was completed and on that date the Most Reverend 
Archbishop laid the cornerstone with imposing ceremonies. 

The consecration ceremonies took place on Sunday, October 2, 1881, the 
Most Rev. William H. Elder presiding. The inhabitants had previously 
decorated their houses, and on Saturday afternoon the highly venerable con- 
secrator was met at the boundary of the parish by forty young men mounted 
on horses and was by them received and escorted to Berlin, to the accompani- 
ment of pealing bells and a salute fired by cannon. The procession passed 
under triumphal arches. Soon after the arrival of the Rt. Rev. Bishop the 
relics destined for the high altar in the new church were transferred and 
carried over in solemn procession, in which all Berlin participated, to the old 
church, and there set to view during the night for reverence by the faithful. 
At 4.00 A. M. on Sunday morning the holy masses began, and at 6.00 A. M. 
the solemn and imposing ceremonies of the consecration began and were con- 
tinued until after ten o'clock, four priests being present. After the consecra- 
tion the Most Rev. Archbishop celebrated a pontifical high mass, assisted 
by the clergy, deacons and other officials present. The Rev. N. Nickols then 
ascended the pulpit and preached the festal sermon in the German language, 
after which the Most Rev. Archbishop made an address to the congregation. 
In the afternoon solemn vespers were held, after which the General-vicar 
P. Otto Jair, O. S. F., preached. During the pontifical high mass the Maenner- 
chor of Piqua, sang, and during vespers, the church choir of the congregation. 
At the close of vespers the festivities closed with the singing of the Te Deum. 

St. Michael's church is a really magnificent structure. It is built in the 
Italian-Gothic style. Four slender pillars alternately divide the interior into 
three naves. The decorations are rich and the glass painting of the windows 
magnificent. The side windows contain respectively paintings of St. Augustine 
and St. Boniface. Of the fourteen other windows five are in fresco painting, 
while upon the remaining are represented St. John the Baptist, the most blessed 
Virgin Mary, St. Anna, St. Elizabeth, St. Catharina, St. Henricus, St. 
Anthony, St. Lawrence and the child Jesus. The three altars are masterpieces, 
namely: the high altar, whose table is supported by six small pillars. The fields 
between the pillars are filled up with emblems, of which the middle one con- 
tains the book with seven seals with the lamb. The tabernacle has richly 
ornamented folding doors; above these is a niche for the ostentation of the 
Most Holy Sacrament, beside which two worshipping angels are standing 
under canopies. The altar picture is the crucifixion-group in a niche under a 
canopy which -terminates in turrets with buttresses and finials richly provided 
with carved ornaments. The side fields contain the statues of both apostle- 
chiefs, likewise under canopies, with richly articulated tower and pyramid. 
Beside the altar there are placed on both sides pedestals for worshipping 



370 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

angels. Both of the side altars (St. Mary's and St. Joseph's altars) are 
wrought correspondingly with the high altar, and contain in the chief respect- 
ively St. Mary's and St. Joseph's statue. The St. Mary's altar contains in the 
side niches the statues of St. Rosa and St. Theresa. The altar table, decorated 
in the Gothic style, contains the statue St. Mary. The St. Joseph's altar con- 
tains in the side niches the statues St. Francis Xavier and St. Alois; the altar 
table the signature "St. Joseph." Pulpit and communion table are held in like 
style and are splendid works. Likewise is the organ, in its outward appear- 
ance corresponding with the building style of the church held in rich Gothic. 
The building is 150 by 65 feet and represents a cost of over $40,000. It is 
numbered among the most beautiful churches in all America. The present 
pastor of St. Michael's is Rev. Anthony Moeller. 

McLEAN TOWNSHIP 

ORGANIZATION 

McLean township, which lies on the west side of the county, where its 
boundary is Auglaize county, has Cynthian township as its nearest neighbor 
on the" south, Van Buren and Turtle Creek townships on the east and Van 
Buren township and Auglaize county on the north. In answer to petition made 
to the county commissioners, the order for its organization was issued March 
1, 1834, the legal description being as follows: "Beginning at the county line 
between Darke and Shelby counties, where the old Indian boundary line made 
at the Greenville Treaty Conference, in 1795 — intersects said county line, and 
running thence with said Indian boundary line in an easterly direction to the 
southeast corner of section 8, in town 8 south, range 5 east; thence north with 
the section line to the county line between Shelby and Allen (Auglaize) coun- 
ties; thence west with the said line to northwest corner of Shelby county; 
thence south and west with the west boundary line of Shelby county to the 
place of beginning; and the board orders that said township be known and 
designated by the name of McLean." 

SURFACE AND DRAINAGE 

The surface of McLean township is generally level, the soil is easily worked 
and agriculture flourishes here. The Loramie reservoir, covering an area of 
about 6,000 acres, is located mainly in McLean township, about 1,000 acres 
being in Van Buren. This reservoir is formed by the damming of Loramie 
creek and constitutes a feeder for the Miami and Erie canal, which traverses 
the township from north to south. Loramie creek, flowing from Dinsmore 
township, waters a large section and Mill creek and Second run have afforded 
ample outlet for drainage. 

EARLY SETTLEMENTS 

McLean township was mainly settled by Germans. They brought with 
them to what was a primeval wilderness, their home-making qualities, their 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 371 

thrifty habits and plodding industry, and found their reward in the possession 
of land tnat responded to their cultivation and an independence that they 
could never have secured in Germany. Not all who have built up McLean 
township, however, came from that country, for there are many names that 
proclaim other native lands, but at the present day they are all so thoroughly 
American that no difference is noted. Perhaps politics have interested the 
residents here to a larger extent than in some other sections and a few early 
election statistics may be of interest. 

In the state election of 1850, ninety-three votes were cast, seventy-nine of 
these being for the democratic candidate for governor, Reuben Wood. At 
the election in 185 1 which was for the adoption or rejection of the new con- 
stitution and for or against the sale of intoxicating liquors, the vote for license 
stood 118, five votes being cast against. In the presidential election of 1852, 
122 votes were cast for the democratic electors and twenty-eight for the 
whig electors. In 1864 the democratic electors received 219 votes and the 
republican electors 20 votes. 



No section of the county has been more interested in the spread of educa- 
tion than has McLean and as early as 1850 the trustees of the township 
divided it into six school districts, the board consisting of Henry Whermann. 
Joseph Sherman and Philip Hoffman, Henry Sherman being township clerk 
in 1850 when this division was made. The officers serving as members of the 
boards of education in the different special school districts in McLean town- 
ship in 181 1- 12 are: 

Berlin Special School District for 191 1 : John Borger, president; Ferdinand 
C. Arkenberg, treasurer; J. B. Ratermann, clerk and Adolph Ratermann and 
John Seger. In 191 2 the same president and treasurer served, Bernard" 
Aselage becoming clerk and Henry Wendler and John Seger being the other 
members. 

Sherman Special School District: John Seigel, president; Clemens" Wolke, 
treasurer; Adolph Sherman, clerk, and Henry Ernst, W. J. Meyer and Bar- 
ney Ernst, no change being made in 19 12 except that Bernard Barhorst became 
a member. 

Walkup Special School District: Charles Winner, president; Henry Stur- 
wold, treasurer; Henry Borchers, clerk; and Anton Hilgefbrt and Joseph 
Poeppelman, for 191 1, the same president and treasurer serving in 1912, with 
John Holthaus, clerk and Anton Hilgefort and Fred Broermann, members. 

Deiter Special School District for 1911-12: Anton Riethmann, president; 
Henry Schnitmeyer, treasurer; Stephen Schmitmeter, clerk; and Herman 
Berning, Clem. Prenger, Anthony Wolfe and Bernard Knob. 

Dirksen Special School District for 191 1 had Bernard Seger for presi- 
dent; August Schmiesing for treasurer; Henry Fortman for clerk, with 
Bernard Brandewie, Frank Bornhorst and J. Henry Albers as members. The 
same body with the addition of Clem. Hoying served in 191 2. Further school 
statistics mav be found in the chapter on Education. 

23 



372 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

FORT LORAMIE 

Students of history can easily recall the annals of Jhe French and Indian 
war and of the military maneuvres which made this section, in 1756, a battle 
ground and many yet living can remember the tales of their grandfathers of 
the building and occupancy of old Fort Loramie, which was situated less 
than one mile from the site of the present village of the name formerly known 
as Berlin, and later as Loramie, for which the name Fort Loramie has been 
recently substituted. This village was surveyed December 2, 1837, and all its 
lots are 4 by 8 rods except fractional ones. Its principal streets are Main, 
Walnut, Water, Elm and High. It is situated on the Miami and Erie canal. 
Not far away flows Loramie creek, the mouth of which is below Lockington, 
south of the county line. Many lines of business are successfully carried on 
here and the people in general are prosperous. 

The following is a list of business enterprises at Fort Loramie: 
August Wise, saw-mill; John Bramlage, flour-mill; Loramie Banking 
Company, established in 1904, B- J- Wuehker president, J. D. Inderrieden 
vice-president, A. F. Ratermann cashier, W. J. Sherman assistant cashier; 
Willmann Bros., general merchandise; J. D. Inderrieden, hardware, imple- 
ments and lumber ; Barney Krampe, implements, stoves and ranges ; John 
Albers and Company, hardware and lumber ; Henry -Tecklenburg, hotel and 
livery; W. J. Borchers, general merchandise and livery; C. C. Wagler, brick 
manufacturer; Gregor Fleckenstein, tile manufacturer; Bernard Danzig fur- 
niture and undertaking; Herman Pleiman, groceries; W. H. Quinlin, drugs; 
Clem Daniel, groceries; John H. Romie, saddlery; M. Gregor, meat market; 
Herman Gaier, bakery and groceries ; Peter Rieger, shoe store ; J. H. Behrns, 
tailoring; Peter Krampe, blacksmithing ; John Seger, carpentering; Carl 
Freitag & Son, masonry; Peter Kessler, cider-mill; Albert Anthony, barber; 
Peter Kiefer, plastering; Mat Brucken, saloon; Ben Vogelsang, saloon; John 
Tecklenburg, saloon; Paul Borger, poultry; Joseph Henke, poultry; Wm. H. 
Niederkorn, poultry; Kramer and Dickman, skimming station. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE 

On November 18, 1837, W. C. Ayres became a justice of the peace in 
McLean township and the record from then until 191 1 is as follows: 

Isaac Edwards, June 8, 1841, resigned May 25, 1842; Jacob Hauss, June 
18, 1842; resigned October 14, 1843; Frances Pilliod, November II, 1845; 
Alexander H. Hayes, October 24, 1846; William A. Edwards, January 18, 
1850; William A. Edwards, January 22, 1853; Joseph Mendenhall, January, 
1856; John Walkup, April 14, 1857, resigned June 2, 1857; Andrew Ginn, 
October 21, 1857; J. B. Rottinghaus, April 12, 1859; Milton Kemper, Novem- 
ber 10, i860; J. B. Rottinghaus, April 22, 1862; William Ginn. April 17, 1863; 
J. B. Rottinghaus, April 14, 1865; Henry Menke, April 11, 1866 (refused to 
serve) ; William Ginn, June 24, 1866; Henry Sherman, April 13, 1868; J. W. 
Barber, April 12, 1869; Henry Rottinghaus, October 1*2, 1872; Henry Rotting- 
haus, October 20, 1875; David K. Brown, April 20, 1877; Joseph Raterman, 



A'ND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 373 

October 14, 1878; Henry Rottinghaus, May 26, 1880; Albert Hasebrook, 
October 14, 1881 ; Albert Hasebrook, 1884; J. H. Rottinghaus. r886; Albert 
Hasebrook, 1887; J. H. Rottinghaus, 1889; William H. Quinlin, 1890; Wil- 
liam H. Quinlin, 1893; J. H. Rottinghaus. 1895; John Barhorst, 1896; J. H. 
Rottinghaus, 1898; John Barhorst, 1899; J. H. Rottinghaus, 1901 ; John 
Barhorst, 1902; J. H. Rottinghaus, 1904; John Barhorst, 1906; Adolph Sher- 
man, 1906; Adolph Sherman, 1908; John Barhorst, 1909; John Barhorst, 
1910; Adolph Sherman, 1911. 

The present township clerk is William H. Xiederkorn. Trustees — Fred 
Holthaus, Joseph Boltheimer, and Clem Daniel. 

There are two fraternal orders that have lodges in McLean township, 
namely : the Knights of St. John, having 50 members and the Catholic Knights 
of America, with 12 members. 

McClean township has two churches, Emanuel Reformed church, Rev. 
Albert Grether, pastor; and St. Michael's Catholic church, Rev. Anthony 
Moeller, pastor. 

ORANGE TOWNSHIP 

Located in the southern part of the county, with its southern boundary 
touching Miami county, lies Orange township, which is one of the best 
improved sections of the county, the well tilled farms and general air of pre- 
vailing thrift giving evidence of successful agriculture. It has an area of 
about twenty-three square miles and embraces parts of town 1 and 2, of. range 
12 and 13. Perry and Green townships lie along its eastern line and Clinton 
and Washington townships, separated from it by the Great Miami river, on 
the north and west. 

Orange township was formed from Perry township. On September 13, 
1819, the county commissioners, at their meeting held at Hardin, ordered that 
Perry township should be thus divided: a line running through the middle of 
the thirteenth range should have the southern division organized as a new 
township which should be called Orange, and that decision made Orange 
township include all the territory embraced within the present limits of Orange 
and Green townships. At a meeting held at Hardin by the commissioners, 
March 7, 1820, it was ordered that all that part of Orange township that is 
east of the west tier of sections in the second township of both ranges 12 and 
13, be erected into a new township and that it should be given the name of 
Green. 

SOIL AND WATER 

The surface of Orange township is generally undulating and along the 
water courses somewhat broken and hilly. The soil is well adapted to the 
growing of grains and grasses, consisting of gravel and clay loam, while the 
gravel beds have supplied sufficient gravel for the construction of many miles 
of fine roads. Along the banks of the Great Miami river there is an abund- 
ance of limestone, which has been worked more or less at different times. This 



374 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

township is well watered, principally by the Great Miami river, on the north 
and west side, and additionally by Brush and Rush creeks. There are also 
numerous fine springs. 

EARLY SETTLEMENTS 

In 1806 the Cannon family located on section 16, this being the first white 
settlement made within the present limits of Orange township. In the spring 
of 1809 came John Phillips and William Berry and in the fall of the same year 
came Daniel Valentine and Edward Jackson. Still others, who settled here 
prior to the War of 181 2, were Thomas Young, Abram Glossmire, John 
Matthews, Luke Xorris, John Gilbert and Harman Dildine, and Judge Francis 
located here very soon after the close of the war. The first frame house was 
built by Wiliam Berry, who also erected the first flouring mill, and it is known 
that flour and meal came from this mill for General Harrison's troopers on 
their march to the Northwest. This was the only mill within a radius of fifty 
miles. With the outbreak of the War of 1812, the settlers found that the 
heretofore friendly Indians had become hostile to the settlers and hence it was 
deemed advisable to build block-houses in which the families could take shel- 
ter in case of a sudden alarm. One was accordingly built near the Berry mill 
and another on the farm of Edward Jackson, who later built the first brick 
house that was ever put up in Orange township. On March 17, 181 1, the first 
white child was born in the settlement — Isaac Young, who lived to an 
advanced age. 

Orange township people soon showed interest in education and religion, 
the first schoolhouse being built on the farm of Thomas Young. The earliest 
teachers were Joseph Rollands and James B. McKenney, while Edward Jack- 
son opened his house for church purposes in 181 5, services being held by an 
itinerant Methodist preacher, the Rev. John Furrow. Without question, he 
had a large and deeply interested congregation. Shortly afterward preaching 
followed at the home of Daniel Valentine, by Revs. John McNemer and 
Jacob Antrim. 

United Brethren Church — The Valentines and the Youngs, prominent 
among the early settlers, had left, reluctantly, their old church connection when 
they came into this wilderness but very early began the organization of a 
United Brethren communion in the new settlement. The members of this 
faith were scattered but when the missionary preacher arrived he found a 
warm welcome and left with an assurance that the faith was not dead nor yet 
sleeping, only awaiting the time when the believers could assemble together 
and form the nucleus which, many years afterward, became the United Breth- 
ren church at Kirkwood. The early meetings were held at the houses of 
Daniel Valentine, Jacob Boyer and others until 1844, when a schoolhouse that 
had been erected on the present site of Kirkwood was utilized. In 1847 a 
frame edifice was constructed on the land of R. W. Valentine, and George 
Warvel was the name of the first preacher. It was used as a place of worship 



AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS 375 

until 1876, when a more commodious church building costing $2,500 was put 
up at Kirkwood. The present pastor is Rev. Mayne, of Lockington. 

Wesley Chapel — The Methodist Episcopal church early sent missionaries 
to visit the settlers in Orange township. In 1833 regular meetings were held 
in the private houses of the members of this faith, by Rev. Arza Brown, and 
in 1840 the society built a brick structure, near the Miami county line, which 
hecame known as Wesley Chapel. Among the early members of this society 
were Henry Rhodehamel and wife, Father Kerns and wife, and Jacob Tabler 
and Amos Gray, with their families. This society did good Christian work 
in the community until a few years ago, when it disbanded. 

Spring Creek Baptist Church — The society originally known as the Salem 
church was organized as early as 18 16. Like other struggling religious bodies 
its first meetings were held in private houses but later a log house was built 
on Spring creek and services were held there, the membership including the 
pioneer families of the neighborhood and also some from Piqua. As the 
society grew it was found desirable to have separate church bodies and in 
August, 1840, measures were taken for the organization of the Spring Creek 
Baptist church, the first pastor being Elder Eaton and the second, Elder Fuson. 
During the latter's pastorate a church edifice was erected. A nunjl>er of 
pious and zealous elders succeeded. In 1867, during the pastorate of Elder 
Daniel Bryant, a new church was built, it being located north of the Shelby 
and Miami company's line on a lot presented to the society by John F. Hetzler, 
in which services were subsequently held. This church