(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of southeastern Dakota, its settlement and growth, geological and physical features--countries, cities, towns and villages--incidents of pioneer life--biographical sketches of the pioneers and business men, with a brief outline history of the territory in general"

M. U f 

Gc 

978.3 

H62 

1281088 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 01066 6961 



HISTORY 



OF 



Southeastern Dakota 



Its Settlement and Growth, 



Geological and Physical Features — Counties. Cities 

Towns and Villages — Incidents of Pioneei" Life 

— Biographical Sketches of the Pioneei's 

and Business Men, 

WITH A BRIEF 

Outline History of the Territory in General 



"Therefore I hopp, as no unwelcome guest, 

At your warm fireside, when the lamps are lighted, 

To have my place reserved am mg- the rest. 

Nor stand as one unsought ana uninvited!" 

—liongje^iyw. 



SIOUX CITY IOWA: 

WeSTEBN PtTBLISHING COMPANY. 

1881. 



PERKINS BROS. 

t-^- Steam Book and Job Prinicis 
\ Sioux City, Iowa. / 



\ 



^JhSf^t 



\ 281G88 
CONTENTS. 



PAGE 

History of Dakota 10 

Federal Officers 28 

Members of Legislative Assembly 29 

The Census of 1880 32 

Present Population (estimated).. 33 

Organized Counties of Dakota 35 

The James Eiver Valley 3.5 

Dakota's Claims to Statehood 37 

History of Southeastern Dakota 41 

The Sioux Falls Settlement 41 

The "Provisional Government. . . 48 

Murder of Judtre Amidon and Son .50 

Altandonmentof Sioux Valley. . . 52 

Establishment of Fort Dakota... .54 

History of Sioux Falls .50 

Dell Rapids 106 

Valley Springs 113 

History of Lake County 116 

Madison 118 

History of Moody County 123 

Flandreau 124 

Egan 1.31 

Hi,-tory of Brookings County 134 

Brofdcings 1,38 

Volga 141 

Elkton 145 

Kingsbury, Hamlin, Deuel, Grant, 

Clark and Spink Counties 145 

History of Beadle County 148 

Ilunm 149 

McCook County 1.54 

History of Codiuirton County 1.54 

Watertown 150 

Beloit, Calliope and Poitlandvil'e, 

Iowa .104 

History <if Lincoln County 170 

Canton 175 

Eden 180 

Lennox 182 



PAGE 

History of Turner County 185 

Parker 186 

Marion Junction 189 

Union County and Elk Point 191 

History of Bon Homme County 196 

Bon Homme 197 

Scotland 198 

Springfield. . . ." 201 

History of Clay County 205 

Vermillion •206 

History of Davison County 215 

Mitchell.... 216 

Hutcliinson County 221 

History of Yankton County 222 

The City of Yankton 237 

Biographical Directory 306 

Sioux Falls 300 

Elkton 31^ 

Marion Junction 318 

Parker 319 

Egan 322 

Madison 323 

Dell Kapids 327 

Scotland 331 

Huron 334 

Lennox 336 

Portlandville 338 

Canton 340 

Si)rintifield 342 

Eden 344 

Callio|H' 345 

Watertown 346 

Elk Point 353 

Brookings 3.59 

Vermillion 362 

Yankton 368 

Valley Springs -382 

Volga 384 



EiiRATUM— On 1 age .50, for "The spring and -unnutr of IFOS." etc., rerd '1862. 



^f^fhli4-t7A^ 



PREFACE. 



CURIOSITY is inherent in human nature, especially concerning events affect- 
ing' one's personal interests. What then cm more pleasurably occupy the 
attention of the reader than a narrative of the primary incidents inseparable 
from the organization of his own civil and social surroundings? A naiTative of 
the birth and gro^vth of the communitj^ to which he is by every tie attached ; a 
record of tlie happenings incident to that birth and growth; the prosaic and 
matter-of-fact details, and the romantic and adventurous details as well — a his- 
tory of an epoch of true Western progressiveness, the beginning of an era of so 
great possibilities, developing mto the fact of so prosperDus a present, and 
making doubly ?ure the assurance of an incredibly prosperous future. And 
how important it is that these early details be gathered for appropriate presen- 
tation while yet personal sources of accurate information are obtainable. 

The publishers can but beheve that every candid person ■nail agr-ee with them 
in thus highly estimatmg the importance, even at this comparatively early date- 
of preserving in proper and convenient fonn the History op Southeastern^ 
Dakota. While the contemporaneous reader may not value the work so 
highly as jiature consideration would warrant, yet it is to those who come after 
that the historian must appeal, and if the result of his labors in this instance 
shall be to throw light upon the pathway of future workers, making clear the 
obscure places, and lessening the tasks of those whose lot it shall be to chronicle 
the History of the mighty State of Dakota, then, indeed, will a laudable mis- 
sion have been meritoriously fulfilled. We have seen works of this character, 
even slightingly spoken of at first, nevertheless, in the lapse of years, attain 
high value and become accredited with having saved to the world much that 
was important, but which would otherwise have passad beyond the attempts of 
later history to recall. 

Such considerations as thesa assuredly preclude necessity for apology in pre- 
senting the accompanying historical sketch of the early settlement and subse- 
quent development of Southeastern Dakota, in which section we include what 
is everywhere favorably known as the Valley of the Big Sioux River, and por- 
tions of the Dakota or James River country, embracing in all, for the purposes 
of the work, the counties of Spink, Clark, Codington, Grant, Dcuel, Hamlin 
Beadle, Kingsbury, Brookings, Miner, Lake, Moody, Davison, Hanson, 
McCook, Minnehaha, Hutchinson, Turner, Lincoln, Bon Homme, Yankton, 
C'ay and Union, with less particular reference to other counties contiguous. 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



Obviously, the plan of such a work will include: 1. A brief outline history 
of the entire Territorj'. 2. A general historj' of Southeastern Dakota, o. 
Particular histories of the difierent countits,- their cities and villages. To these 
will be found to be added numerous biographical sketches of pioneer, ofKcial 
professional and business men, a department which has baen obtained at the 
expense of much labor and means, and which in a condense 1 form contains 
much interesting and valuable information. 

With reference to the physical features of Southeastern Dakota, the character 
and composition of her soil, her surpassing fertility and the wondrous rapidity 
of her settlement and growth, the writer has not felt called upon to deal in 
florid rhetoric or figures of exaggeration. It must be borne in mind that this 
is not a work issued for the pecuniary profit of speculators m real estate, nor at 
the instance of a bureau of immigration. While such books and pamphlets are 
calculated to benefit the country which in their usually glowing terms they may 
depict, and while the present History of Southeastern Dakota will doubt- 
less bear no small part in calling attention to the resources of the TeiTitory and 
in aiding the good cause of desirable immigration; neveitheless, its objects, 
pure and simple, are as stated a,bove, and its Publishers will be more than con- 
tent should these objects be satisfactorily accomplished. It is, indeed, most 
gratifying to know that it is not necessary to call in the aid of exaggeration or 
the pufleiy of extravagant literature to describe Dakota m attractive terms; 
hence we here a 'plain, anvarnished tale relate," confiJent that Truth in 
her soberest, prosiest guise will 'throne "Supremacy like a sliming star" within 
the fair borders of Dakota. 

That instances of minor inaccuracies will occur in a work of th;s character, 
howsoever great care may l>e taken to prevent, is to be expected, since so many 
dates, and so numf Dus and varied incidents, are necessarily introduced; ana 
especially is this true ot the biographical department, errors in which, however, 
as in nearly every other instance, will be found to be attributable to uninten- 
tional misstatements by the parties themselves, who, naturally enough, not 
being so closely interested in the accuracy of details as the laborious compilers 
of the woik, may have been more or less careless of their statements at the time 
of making them. All that painstaking and impartial effort can accomplish has 
been done, and no pains have been spared, either in the compiling or the print- 
ing, to secure strict accuracy in every respect; and so f;ir as conscientious labor 
is concerned, we feel confident that the work wiU be ascertained to merit the 
lenient consideration of the candid and unbiased reader. 

We desire also to acknowledge our appreciation of the uniform and cordial 
courtesy of the press of SoutheasteiTi Dakota, whose files we have had frequent 
occasion to constdt, as well as the obligations which we owe to Mr. James S. 



CJ^//r^^^^ 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



Foster's excellent "'Outlines of Histoiy."' and especially to, the admirable pro- 
ductions of the Hon. M. K. Armstrong. We are indebted to the Hon. W. W. 
Brookings for that portion of the work, which relates more particularly to the 
Sioux Falls settlemeut, from the beginning to about the year 1871 — a narrative, 
which, we are pleased to state, is herein told for the first time accurately and 
in detail. The names of the good citizens of Southeastern Dakota, upon whose 
funds of valuable information we have felt at all times at liberty to draw, are 
Legion; and to them we wish to express our most sincere thanks. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 
December. J8S1. 



^fj^i^Am^ 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA, 



« 



# 



^HE ''Land of the Dacotahs" is peculiarly rich in abor- 
V\ iginal traditions. A history of savage life within its 
t^o^'V l^oi'^srs, the origin, interminglings, warfares, mutations, 
J^ "^^A dirainishment and gradual disappearance of the red races 
that have inhabited it since the years beyond the limits of authen- 
tication, would necessarily be tinged with the rhythm of barbaric 
folk-lore; and since this is true of the most prosaic of these records, 
it is no wonder the dealer in the imagery of fiction has found 
herein abundance of material for poetic exaggeration. Whether 
or not "it is pretty clearly established that the primitive tribes of 
the Northwest migrated from Eastern Asia, and in their early drift- 
ing, like sea-foam, across the northwestern waters, brought with 
them a glimmer of civilized history, which has long since vanished 
into tradition, in the chase and war-path of the wilderness," may 
be left to the deliberation of the professional ethnologist or the 
amateur in love with the study of the curious. Certain it is, that 
this theory has become tacitly accepted, apart from speculation as 
to a sufiicient reasonableness of hypothesis. 

Seemingly well authenticated history traces Prince Madoc, or 
Madowe, from North Wales, with ten ships and a large colony of 
his countrymen, to the mouth of the Mississippi River in the early 
part of the fourteenth century, and the traditions of their own 
country have it that the colony settled somewhere in the interior 
of North America, where eventually their descendants became 
merged into tribal relations with the aborigines. It is even 
averred that the journeyings and ancient fortifications of this 
colony have been traced from the Ohio River to the old Mandan 
village in Dakota. In support of the theory that the Mandan 
tribe of Indians are descendants of Prince Madoc's colony, ceitiin 
similarities in language and customs are instanced. Nicollet, who 
was sent by the government at Quebec to treat with certain 
tribes of western Indians in 1639, first mentions the Dakota 
family of Indians. Nicollet visited the Ounipcgons (Winnebagos), 
a name signifying ''a people who came from a distant sea."' Jogues 



10 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



and EaymbauU, Jesuits, visited the Ojibways of Lake Superior in 
1641, by whom they were informed that eighteen days' journey to 
the west of them lived a powerful nation known as the 
"Nadouechiouch," or "Nadsuessiouex," meaning "enemy," but 
subsequently designated by the abl)reviation, "Scioux," "Sioux," or 
"Sou," and now correctly called "Dakotas," meaning the "friendly- 
nations," in consequence of alliances formed among them, at a 
later period, after the long and bloody wars with the Algonquins. 

Two young Canadian fur traders accompanied a party of In- 
dians to the Far West in 1654, and it is thought were the first 
white men who entered the T)resent Territory of Dakota. 

Tn 1541 De Soto discovered the great Mississippi River; it was 
visited by Marquette and Joliet, who entered it by the way of 
Wisconsin, in 1673; Hennepin ascended it to a point above the 
present city of St. Paul, Minn., in 1680, and its mouth was dis- 
covered by LaSalle in 1683. In 1602, Viscaino, the Spanish navi- 
gator, ascended the northwest shore of the continent as far as the 
43d parallel, by virtue of which discovery Spain claimed all the 
country between the Mississippi and the Pacific. The American 
ship "Columbia," commanded by Capt. Gray, entered the mouth of 
the Columbia River in 1792, and gave it its name in honor of his 
vessel. The whole northwest country, embracing an "indefinite 
distance to the northward," was then known as Louisiana Ter- 
ritory. 

It is claimed that the Indian tribes, who inhabited this vast 
region at this time, were the great race of the "Sioux," — the 
Hurons, Iroquois, Winnebagoes, Wyandottes, Illinois and Foxes — 
all families of the great Dakota nation, and at war with the whole 
Algonquin race of the Atlantic coast. The introduction among 
the Algonquins of fire-arms, steel arrows and liattle axes by (^ma- 
dian traders, were effectual weapons against the fiint-headed arrows 
and wooden war clubs of the Dakotas, and the great nation, de- 
feated and ])ursued by the conquerers, fled toward the regions of 
the setting sun. Very little is known concerning the tribes that 
inhabited Dakota prior to that bloody era. "Tradition says that 
the Cheyenne (Shiens, or Dog,) Indians were once a powerful 
nation, and were the first race of people who migrated to the Mis- 
souri \'alley; that after having been repeatedly driven down from 
the regions of the Xorth, they located on a western tributary of 
the Red River, where their Idood poured out in battle against their 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 11 



invading foes, mingling with the waters of the northern stream, 
changed its hue, and gave it the name of the Wood-colored or Red 
River of the North. Again they Avere defeated, and again they 
struck their tents and fled, with the bleeding remnants of their 
tribe, across the northern plains of Dakota, and formed a new 
home on a stream that enters with the Missouri from the west, 
which they called the Che3^enne. 

"Charlevoix relates of the primitive tribes of Southern Dakota^ 
that, nearly two centuries ago, the lowas, Omahas and Ottoes were 
in this portion of the territory, and roamed and warred through the 
regions watered by the Des Moines, Big Sioux and James, or 
Dakota, Rivers, and that these tribes annually assembled in peace 
around their sacred council fires at the Great Red Pipestone 
Quarry. From here they were afterwards driven south and west 
by the great nation of Dakotas moving down from the North like 
a migh ty army, and covering the whole plain with their tents and 
war dances." 

The period of this great Indian retrogression was probably some 
time before the beginning of the seventeenth century. Up to 
that era the Dakotas had remained as one nation; but during the 
great war and flight from the North, they had become disbanded 
and dispersed into smaller parties, and in order to be distinguished 
from other tribes, abandoned the ancient name of "Nadsuessioux," 
or "Sioux," and called themselves Dakotas, or the "friendly 
people." Since that period, history and tradition agree in placing 
the Dakotas as masl^ers of the vast region between the Mississippi 
and the Mountains. The Yanktons at that time inhabited the 
region between the James and the Big Sioux Rivers, and were 
known as the "tribe that lives at the en:l;" all the tribes to the 
northwest of them were cplled "those who came over the moun- 
tains from the sea." 

In 1762, France ceded the whole northwestern territory to 
Spain, who in turn, in 1800, receded it to France, by which latter 
government it was transferred to the United States, in 1803, for 
fifteen millions of dollars. The number of white inhabitants in 
the whole northwestern territory at that early day, is variously 
estim ited at from one to less than five thousand, the only "foot- 
prints of civilization" from the Great Lakes to the Pacific Ocean 
being the small trading posts where now stand, among others, the 
present cities of St. Louis, Detroit, Chicago, Milwaukee, San Fran- 



12 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



Cisco and Astoria-. Mention is made by the early navigators of 
the Missouri River, of seven poor families a few miles above the 
present city of St. Louis, which was the only settlement of white 
people in the Missouri River Valley in 1803. In 1787, the terri- 
tory northwest of the Ohio River, lying east of the Mississippi, 
was framad into a separate Territory, which in 1800 was divided 
into the Territories of Indiana and Illinois, and in 1805 the Terri- 
tory of Michigan was established. iSoon after the purchase of 
Louisiana from France in 1803, the territory west of the Missouri 
was divided, and all south of the 39th degree was called the Terri- 
tory of New Orleans. 

During the administration of President Jefferson, in 1804-5, 
Congress and the President authorized the exploration of the 
great unknown West, by way of the Missouri River and the 
Rocky Mountains, to the Northern Pacific Coast, the party to 
report to the Government the result of their discoveries and adven- 
tures. Thus was created the famous Lewis and Clark expedition. 
Captains Lewis and Clark, "with a band of forty-two men, starting 
from St. Louis, in open sail and oar boats, on the 14th of May, 
1804, upon a journey of five thousand miles through an unknown 
wilderness, inhabited only by wild tribes of Indians. They were 
the first party of American explorers to ascend the Missouri River 
into the land of the Dakotas, their printed Journal affording to 
the world the earliest written description of this great valley of 
the Northwest. They reached the Big Sioux River, the present 
eastern boundary of Dakota, on the 21st of August, 1804; on the 
28th of October they arrived at the old Mandan Indian villages, 
above the present crossing of the Northern Pacific Railroad, and 
began the construction of log huts and stockades for their winter 
quarters. Here they passed the winter of 1804-5, and on the 7th 
of April, 1805, launched their boats on the river to continue their 
devious and perilous journey mountainward. I'he great Falls of 
the Missouri River, near the western boundary of Dakota Terri- 
tory, as originally organized, were discovered on the 13th of June, 
and on the i2th of August, the enthusiastic little party of adven- 
turers stood upon the summit of the great range of the Rocky 
Mountains, around the little spring from which came bubbling the 
remotest waters of the great Missouri. "They had now reached 
that hidden source which had never before been seen by civilized 
man; and as they quenched their thii-st at the chaste and icy 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 13 



fountain, — as they sat down by the rivulet which yielded its dis- 
tant but modest tribute to the parent ocean, — they felt themselves 
rewarded for all their labors and difficulties." Crossing the moun- 
tains on horseback, they reached the source of the Columbia, 
built canoes, and descended that mighty river to the Pacific Coast, 
where they passed the winter of 1805-6, among the Indians, living 
in bark and earth huts, and speaking a jargon of languages like 
the natives of India and Tartary, from which countries many of 
the early Indian tribes of the Northwest are believed to have 
migrated. 

During their westward journey, on the morning of the 27tli of 
August, 1801, the Lewis and Clark expedition passed the mouth of 
the James River, when an Indian swam to their boats and in- 
formed them that a large body of Sioux were encamped in their 
immediate vicinity. Three men, with an iuterpreter, were dis- 
patched to the Sioux camp, while the boats proceeded on about 
eleven miles, where, on a beautiful plaiu, near Calumet Bluff, 
above where Yankton now stands, the party encamped and waited 
the arrival of the Sioux. A speech and appropriate presents were 
prepared, and here at noon the chiefs and warriors of the Yank- 
tons arrived, and were received in council under a large oak tree, 
near which the American flag was flying. Thus, nearly four- 
score years ago, did this little band of American adventurers first 
fling to the breeze of an unknown wild the flag of the American 
Republic, on the spot where now stands the capital of a vigorous 
and growing Territory, vA^ith its sturdy population of over two 
hundred thousand energetic souls, and on the threshhold of admis- 
sion to the mighty sisterhood of States. 

Soon after the Lewis and Clark expedition. American traders 
and adventurers began to push their way into the thitlierto un- 
knoAvn Northwest, establishiug posts for the trade in furs with 
the natives. The goods for the trade with the Dakotas were 
brought up the river in open boats, propelled by oars and "v^^nd, 
and "cordalled'' over the bars with long tow ropes fastened to the 
boats and drawn by men walking along the shores. The furs and 
peltries were taken to the distant St. Louis market in the spriug. 
the journeys down the upper tributaries being often made iu circu- 
lar boats of skins, with which the channel could be followed, 
regardless of the sand-bars, snags and darkness. The Missouri 
Fur Company was established in ISOS; the American Fur Com- 



14 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



pany, by John Jacob Astor, of New York, in 1809, and about 
this time tl-.e fir.-^t tradin<i^ posts were established in the country 
drained by the Missouri River. Astor litted out the first over- 
hand fur party in 1811, who voyaged in oar-boats up 
the Missouri River to the Arickaree Indian viUages, and 
thence overland across the country north of the Black 
Hills, through the Wind River and the Rocky Mountains, 
'to Astoria, on the Pacific Coast. The Rocky Mountain 
Fur Company commenced to make annual expeditions to the 
head-waters of the Missouri in 1826. The American Fur Com- 
pany, stimulated by this competition, extended their operations, 
until, in 1832, it had become the controlling corporation in the 
whole Northwest. It is claimed that Pierre Choteau, of this com- 
pany, was the first man to run a steamboat up the Missouri River 
into Dakota Territory, and under his pilotship the steamers Ante- 
lope and Yellowstone, in 1832 and 1833, were the first to plow 
Dakota's waters. The first steamboat had ascended the Missis- 
sippi to Fort Snelling, above the present city of St. Paul, ten 
years prior to this, and in the same year Lord Selkirk established 
the oldest settlement in Dakota, on Red River, near the British 
boundary. 

Canada passed into the control of the British government in 
176:5, McKenzie, of the old Hudson Bay Company, leading the 
first party of white men across the continent, from the Canadian 
border to the Pacific, north of the 51th parallel, as early as 1787. 

The old Northwest boundary of 49 degrees, between the United 
States and the British Possessions, was proposed in the early part 
of the present century, a long diplomatic controversy ensuing as 
to the rights of discovery and occupancy of the territory south of 
this boundary. 

The first treaty with the Indians west of the Mississippi was 
made by General Scott, at Davenport, in 1832, and the great Ter- 
ritory of Wisconsin was organized in 1836, with Burlington as 
the capital, at which place, in 1837, the first Legislature northwest 
of the Mississippi River assembled. Father De Smet, in 1840, 
was the first to carry the cross of religion and the seeds of agri- 
culture to the wild natives of the Rocky Mountain regions. 

Connected with this era there is a period of history comprising 
the earlier expeditions of Robert Cimpbell's fur parties to the 
West, and the discovery of Great Salt Lake, 1826, and of Captain 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 15 



Bonneville's two years of adventure in the mountains with his 
train of trappers, in 1833-34, and of the early trials and wander- 
ings of the Subletts, Choteaus, Wythe, Fitzpatrick, Henry, Stuart, 
and many others, who long ago led their cavalcades across the 
vast wilds of the Northwest, when no trace of civilized settlement 
could be found in all the country between the Missouri River and 
the Pacific Ocean; also the later explorations of Nicollet and Fre- 
mont, and of Catlin, in 1833, Pope in 1819, and the still more 
recent expeditions of Stevens, Warren, Harney, Hayden, Mullen, 
Sully, and others; while the memorable slaughter of Colonel Fet- 
terman and his Avhole command west of the Black Hills in the 
winter of 1865-66, the perishing in a snow-storm near Fort 
Wads worth of Captain Fields and his soldiers, together with the 
terrible fate of General Caster and his mounted battalion of gal- 
lant men, all form a part of the pioneer history of the great 
Northwest. 

Not until 1831 did the first American colony emigrate to the 
Pacific Coast, and in 1839 the first printing press was carried be- 
yond the mountains. In 1835 the first newspaper in the Missouri 
Valley was published at Dubuque, in the then Territory of Wis- 
consin, from which vast region of country have since been carved 
and organized the Territories of Iowa in 1838, Minnesota in 1819, 
Nebraska in 1851, Dakota in 1861, Idaho in 1863, Montana in 1861; 
Avhile still farther to the west, beyond the mountains, have been 
framed the Territories of Oregon in 1818^ and Washington in 
1853. 

By act of Congress in 1819, a portion of Dakota was included 
within the boundaries of the newly organized Territory of Minne- 
sota, which had hitherto remained a portion of the old county of 
St. Croix, in Wisconsin Territory. In 1851, at Traverse-de-Sioux, 
Minnesota, was consummated the memorable treaty between the 
United States and the upper bands of Dakota Indians, by the 
provisions of which the Government became possessed of the first 
acre of land in Dakota, to which the Indians had relinquished 
their title. It embraced a strip of laud in the upper valley of the 
Big Sioux River, covering the present toAvns of Sioux Falls, 
Flandreau and Medary, including that portion of territory lying 
between the Big Sioux and the Minnesota State line and taking 
in the western shores of Big Stone Lake. In the same year the 
Minnesota Legislature divided their Territory into nine counties. 



16 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



one of which (Dakota County) covered all the country lying be- 
tween St. Paul and Yankton, constituted the Sixth Council dis- 
trict, and was entitled to^two Councilmen and one Representative 
in the Minnesota Legislature, In 1854 the Territory of Nebraska 
was organized, and included a large portion of that country which 
is now in Dakota, beyond the Running Water, at which time 
there was not a white settler on the Dakota side of the Missouri 
River. The Hai-ney treaty was consummated in 1855, and his 
forces marched from the Platte to the Missouri, and encamped for 
the winter at Fort Pierre. The command consisted of about 
1,200 men, among the officers being the heroic Lyon, who fell in 
the war for the Union; Captain Gardner, a rebel general in the 
Southern army, and Captain J. B. S. Todd, the first Delegate to 
Congress, from Dakota. In 1856, old Fort Lookout was occupied 
by the Grovernment troops, and General Harney made his head- 
quarters there; but early in the spring, he selected the site and com- 
menced the erection of Fort Randall, where, in June of the same 
year, the two first companies of soldiers were landed by steam- 
boat. 

During the same season. Captain Sully, at the head of two com- 
panies, marched across the plains from Fort Abercrombie for the 
purpose of relieving a portion of the command at Fort Pierre, at 
which point he remained until 1858, and then recrossed the 
country to Fort Ridgely. Lyon remained in charge of Fort 
Lookout until the summer of 1858, when both Pierre and Lookout 
were abandoned, and with the exception of a few companies, sta- 
tioned at Fort Randall, the military forces were removed from the 
frontiers to other parts of the country. During these early mili- 
tary movements, Lieutenant Warren and Dr. Ilayden were prose- 
cuting their scientific investigations in the mysterious regions of 
the Black Hills and Bad Lands, while no perceptible settlements 
had penetrated the Upper Missouri Valley, and the soil of Dakota 
was yet unbroken by the hand of civilized agriculture. A few ad- 
venturous pioneers had. however, entered the wilds and built cabins 
in the Indian country, preparatory to the consummation of the 
proposed treaties. 

In the spring of 1857, the Interior Department sent A. S. H. 
White, an attache of the Indian Bureau, to visit the Yankton In- 
dians, for the purpose of inducing them to &end a delegation to 
Washington, with a view to negotiating a treaty ceding their 



HISTOKY OF DAKOTA. 17 



lands, in what is now Southern Dakota, to the government. 
White's mission was unsuccessful, and in the fall of the same 
year, Capt. J. B. S. Todd, of Fort Randall, at -the request of the 
Department, securing the services of Charles F. Picotte, who had 
great influence with the Indians, and who still resides at the Yank- 
ton Agency, succeeded in his enterprise, and early in the winter of 
1857, started to Washington with the Yankton chiefs, accom- 
panied by Mr. Picotte, as interpreter. April'-lO, 1858, a treaty was 
made with these Indians, by which they ceded to the United States 
all the lands owned, possessed or claimed, by them, wherever sit- 
uated (except 400,000 acres, embracing their present Reservation) 
and described as follows: 

" Beginning at the mouth of the Te-han-kas-an-data, or Calu- 
met, or Big Sioux River; thence up the Missouri River to the 
Pa-hah-wa-kan, or East Medicine Knoll River; thence up the said 
river to its head; thence to the head of the main fork of the Wan- 
dush-ka-for, or Snake River; thence down said river to its junction 
with the Te-han-san-san, or Jaques River, or James River; thence 
in a direct line to the northern point of Lake Kampeska; thence 
along the northern shore of said lake and its outlet to the junction 
of the said outlet with the said Big Sioux River; thence down the 
Big Sioux River to its junction with the Missouri River. And 
they also cede and relinquish to the United States all their right 
and title to and in all the islands in the Missouri River, from the 
mouth of the Big Sioux River to the mouth of the Medicine Knoll 
Creek." 

In consideration therefor the United States agreed to pay 
to them, or to expend for their benefit, the sum of ^65,000 per an- 
num for ten years; 840,000 per annum for and during ten years 
thereafter, §25,000 per annum for and during ten years thereafter, 
and 815,000 per annum for and during twenty years thereafter, 
making in all 81,600.000 in annuities in the period of fifty years. 

The following chiefs signed the treaty: 

Pa-la-ne-a-pa-pe — The man that was struck by the Ree. 

Ma-to-sa-be-che-a — The Smutty Bear. 

Chas. F. Picotte — Eta-ke-cha. 

Ta-ton-ka-wete-co — The Crazy Bull. 

Pse-cha-wa-ke-a — The Jumping Thunder. 

Ma-ra-ha-ton — The Iron Horn. 

Nom-be-kah-pah — One that knocks down two. 



IS HISTOHY OK DAKOTA. 



Ta-ton-ke-e-yak-ka— The Fast Bull. 

A-ha-ka-nia-ne--The walking Elk. 

A-lia-ka-na-zhe— The Standing Elk. 

A-ha-ka-ho-ehe-cha — The Elk with a Bad Voice. 

Cha-ton-wo-ka-pa- The Grahbing Hawk. 

E-ha-we-cha-sha The Owl Man. 

Pia-son-wa-kau-na — The White Medicine Cow that Stands. 

Ma-ga-scha-che-ka The Little White Swan. 

Oke-che-la-wash-ta— The Pretty Boy. 

Immediately after the ratification of this treaty, A. H. Kedfield, 
of Detroit, Mich., was appointed Agent for the Indians, and ar- 
rived in the Territory early in July. Buildings were at once erected 
on the site of the present Agency, and the Indians were all located 
on the Reservation before winter. As soon as the Indians were 
removed, settlers began to come in rapidly, locating principally on 
Big Sioux Point, Elk Point, Vermillion and Yankton. The ear- 
lier locations by the Western Town Company, of Dubuque, and 
the Dakota Land Company, of St. Paul, Minn., at Sioux Falls, in 
1857; by the latter Company at Medary, Flandreau and Emineza, 
in the same year; and the pioneer locations elsewhere in Southeast- 
ern Dakota, beginning with those of 1857, are treated of at length 
in their proper places in this History. The tracing of the progress 
of events in these early settlements, through the adventurous 
vicissitudes precedent to the populousness and prosperity of the 
present time, the details of hardships and struggles, the Provisional 
Government and the days of Squatter Sovereignty, form a very 
considerable portion of the task before us. 

Here begins the date of permanent settlement in Dakota, when 
the retreating red race looked back upon the advancing sentinels 
of civilization, who had come to subdue the wilds and adorn the 
rivers with thriving villages. And here commences the written 
history of Dakota's white race, established in a land where "wild 
tribes of men have marched their armies over towns and fields, and 
fierce battles have been fought where, ere long, churches may rear 
their spires, and plough-shares turn furrows amidst the graves of 
buried races, and children play, perhaps, where generations of chil- 
dren have played before." A decale in the Northwest is a century 
among the older civilization of the East. 

On the 8th of November, 1859, the settlers at Yankton held a 
meetin , with D. T. Bramble as Chairman, and M. K. Armstrong, 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 19 



Secretary, and adopted a memorial petitioning Congress for a Ter- 
ritorial organization. A similar meeting was held at Vermillion 
on the 9th of the same mouth, at which J, A. Denton presided, 
and James McHenry was Secretary. In the meantime the people 
of the Sioux Falls settlement were similarly active. But the 
prayer of the people was unheeded, and amid the tumultuous prep- 
arations for a Presidential election, and the muttering throes of a 
Southern rebellion, Congress adjourned, leaving Dakota ungov- 
erned and unorganized. Not to be discouraged by this partial 
failure, the pioneers assembled again in mass convention at Yank- 
ton, December 27, 1860, and again on January 15, 1861, and pre- 
pared earnest memorials to Congress, which having been signed by 
five hundred and seventy-eight citizens, were forwarded to the 
Speaker of the House of Representatives and to the President of 
the United States Senate. Congi-ess at last granted the prayer of 
the petitioners; the Oi'gauic Act was passed in February, 1861, and 
approved by President Buchanan on the 2d day of March, 1861, 
thus giving to Dakota a Territorial government. The Territory 
being at that time so far removed from railroads and the telegraph, 
the news did not reach Yankton until eleven days after the pas- 
sage of the law. 

Under the new boundaries, the Territory, at that time, com- 
prised all of the present Territory of Montana and the eastern 
slope of Idaho, and contained about 350,000 square miles, being 
bounded on the north by the British line, east by Minnesota and 
Iowa, south by the Iowa line, and the Missouri, Niobrara and Turtle 
Hill Rivers, up and along the ISd parallel of latitude, to the Rocky 
Mountains: thence along their snowy range to British America. 
Some 70,000 square miles of this territory was situated east of the 
Missouri River, and constituted that country which had been 
trimmed off from the State of Minnesota in 1858; while a vast 
expanse of the new Territory, reaching from the Missouri to the 
Rocky Mountains, was carved out of the old Territory of Ne- 
braska, as formed in 1851. Dakota, thus established, constituted 
the largest organized Territory in the United States, and afforded 
a river navigation of not less than 2,000 miles. 

In the month of June, the Federal officers of the Territory 
arrived, and entered upon the discharge of their duties. William 
Jayne, of Illinois, was the first Governor; John Hutchinson, of 
Minnesota, Secretary; Philemon Bliss, of Ohio, Chief Justice; L. 



20 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 

P. Williston, of Pennsylvania, and J. L. William^, of Tennessee, 
District Judges; W. E. Gleeson, of Maryland, United States At- 
torney; W. F. Shaeffer, United States Marshal; George D. Hill, 
of Micdiigan, United States Surveyor-General; W. A. Burleigh, of 
Pennsylvania, United States Agent for the Yankton Indians; H. 
A. Hoffman, of New York, Agent for the Ponca tribe. 

A census was taken showing the population of the Territory to 
be two thousand, four hundred and two, and on the 13th of July 
the first proclamation of the Governor was issued, dividing the 
Territory into judicial districts and assigning the judges thereto. 
On the 29tli of July, 1861, the second executive proclamation was 
issued, dividing the Territory into legislative districts, and ap- 
pointing the 16th day of September for a general election to 
choose a Delegate in Congress, members of the Legislature and 
county officers. 

And now for the first time the hardy pioneers of Dakota had to 
do with the perplexing questions of politics. Captain J. B. S 
Todd appeared as the independent candidate for Delegate in Con- 
gress; a convention held at Vermillion in June nominated A. J. 
Bell as the Union candidate; while C. P. Booge declared himself 
as the people's candidate. Todd was supported by the Dakotaian, a 
newspaper, at Yankton, and Bell by the Bepnblican at Vermillion, 
while Booge relied upon his stump speakers and fast horses. Elec- 
tion came and passed; five hundred and eighty-five votes were cast 
in the Territory, of which Todd received three hundred and nine- 
ty-seven, Booge one hundred and ten, and Bell seventy-eight. 
The Board of Territorial Canvassers ^therefore issued to Todd 
the certificate of election as first Delegate to Congress from 
Dakota. The Legislature chosen at the same election, consist- 
ing of nine members of the Council and thirteen members of 
the Lower House, was convened by the Governor at Yank- 
ton, March 17, 1862, and perfected its organization by the 
selection of J, H. Shober, President, and James Tufts, Secre- 
tary of the Council ; and George M. Pinney, Speaker, and J. 
R. Hanson, Chief Clerk of the House. A creditable code of laws 
for the Territory was enacted, the capital located by law at Yank- 
ton, and the Pembina settlement given a representation of three 
legis'ators. The contest over the location of the capital grew ?o 
threatening that the Governor ordered a squad of armed United 
States soldiers into the House to prevent violence to Speaker Pin- 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 21 



ney. The next day Pinney resigned, and J. L. Tiernon waS 
chosen Speaker, The Legislature adjourned May 15, 1862, hav- 
ing been in session sixty days. 

During the winter of 1861-62, in the midst of the Rebellion, the 
Secretary of War authorized the enlistment of Company A, Da- 
kota Cavalry, which organization, consisting of ninety-six men, 
was mustered into the United States service, April 19, 1862, with 
Nelson Miner as captain; and in the following winter. Company 
B, Dakota Cavalry, consisting of eighty-eight men, was mustered 
into the United States service, with William Tripp as captain. 

In March, 1862, during the breaking up of the Missouri River, 
that great stream became gorged with ice below the mouth of the 
Dakota River, and the waters were thrown over the banks, cover- 
ing nearly the whole valley for sixty miles to Sioux City. The 
settlers were driven from their homes by the floods, and were 
obliged to flee to the high lands, with their families and their 
herds, for safety. The preceding winter had been one of terrible 
storms and drifting snows, causing much suffering in the poorly 
constructed houses of the pioneers, and in some cases death from 
freezing; while the great prairie fires of the previous autumn had 
brought much disaster to property and danger to life. The sea- 
son of 1862 following, however, proved to be one of comparative 
prosperity to the husbandman; the harvests were bountiful, immi- 
gration increased, and towns and villages sprang to view along the 
wooded streams. 

The second general election was held September 1st, 1862. — 
Gov. Jayne and General Todd were opposing candidates for Con- 
gress. Politics were discarded, and they entered the field as Union 
candidates, accompanied by two corresponding tickets for territo- 
rial offices and members of the Legislature. Eight hundred and 
sixty-seven votes were polled in the Territory, of which Jayne re- 
ceived four hundred and eight and Todd three hundred and seven- 
ty-five. Todd contested the seat of Jayne before the United States 
House of Representatives, and was awarded the seat as Delegate in 
that body, upon a basis of three hundred and forty-five votes for 
Todd, and two hundred and forty-six for Jayne. 

On the 30th day of August, 1862, the inhabitants were startled 
by the alarming news that the Sioux Indians of the adjoining state 
of Minnesota had broken out in bloody war against the whites, 
and that several hundred defenceless men, women and children 



22 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 

had been savagely murdered in their homes. This fearful tale of 
slaughter, coupled with the rejiort that the revengeful army of 
red men, reeking with innocent blood, was moving westward to 
attack the weak and defenceless settlements of Dakota, could not 
but cast terror and tears around the hearthstone of many a home 
in the territory. Here these people had planted their humble 
abodes in the Wild West, and with scanty means, but with indus- 
try and frugality, they were perfecting, day by day, their little 
homes of peace and comfort. 

The Governor immediately issued a proclamation, calling into 
armed service all citizens of the Territory subject to military duty, 
to protect the frontier homes and families against the expected at- 
tack. Some four hundred citizens of the Territory responded to 
the Governor's proclamation, left their fields and work-shops, and 
formed themselves into hastily organized military companies, fur- 
nishing their own fire-arms, subsistence and clothing. Fortifica- 
tions were speedily thrown up in the principal towns, and all the 
farming settlements on the Missouri slope were quickly abandoned, 
some sending their women and children to the neighboring States 
for safety, while others took refuge in the stockades at the towns, 
to uiiite with the villagers in mutual protection. Two citizens of 
Sioux Falls were murdered near the village; one citizen was mur- 
dered and others wounded at the Dakota River ferry, within three 
miles of the capital; the United States mail carrier between Sioux 
Falls and Yankton was waylaid and robbed; a stage driver on the 
public highway, near Choteau Creek, was shot dead; and between 
Vermillion and Yankton a skirmishing war-party for a time pre- 
vented travel upon the stage-road. At Yankton all the inhabitants 
of the surrounding country had assembled for defence within the 
barracks of the town. Within these rude walls the citizens re- 
mained under arms day and night, until United States troops began 
to arrive, and the Indians had retreated from the embargoed set- 
tlements. The farmers then ventured back to their devastated 
homes, to gather a winter's subsistence from their damaged har- 
vests and scattered herds. Company A, Captain Miner, and Com- 
pany B, Captain Tripp, were stationed for the winter among the 
settlements. 

The second session of the Territorial Legislature commenced on 
the 1st of December. The Lower House was in session seventeen 
days before a permanent organization could be efiected, the Gov- 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 23 



ernor withholding his message meanwhile. The Council organized 
permanently on the first day of the session, by the selection of 
Enos Stutsman, President, and James Tufts, Secretary. The 
House formed a temporary organization by the election of A. J. 
Harlan, Speaker, and B. M. Smith, Chief Clerk. Ten days were 
consumed over contested seats, when, upon the ground of an ob- 
jectionable decision by the Speaker, six members withdrew from 
the House, leaving that body without a quorum. The six mem- 
bers returned on the sixteenth day of the session, and the House 
was permanently organized by the election of M. K. Armstrong, 
Speaker, and Robert Hagamau, Chief Clerk. The following day 
the Grovernor's messrge was received, and the session proceeded in 
harmony. 

During the summer of 1862, the first discovery of gold had 
been made in Western Dakota, on the eastern slope of the Rocky 
Mountains, within the limits of the present Territories of Idaho 
and Montana; and on the 3d of the following March, 1863, Con- 
gress constructed the new Territory of Idaho, comprising all that 
portion of Dakota west of the 27th degree of longitude, passing 
northward through the Black Hills, and near the mouth of the 
Yellowstone River. Over twelve thousand people emigrated to 
the mountain mines of Idaho in 1863, and in May, 1864, the new 
Territory of Montana was framed out of Eastern Idaho, with a 
population of ten thousand people, and a yearly product of seven 
million dollars in gold. 

The spring of 1863 had opened with discouraging prospects to 
the settlers in Southern Dakota. The fear of a long and disas- 
trous Indian war was still prevalent among the people. The set- 
tlements were again unguarded and defenceless; no military pro- 
tection was afi^orded by the commander of the district until a dar- 
ing murder was committed by a war-party of Indians on a public 
hio-hway within three miles of the capitol, and whole settlements 
of industrious farmers had abandoned the Territory with their 
families and herds. 

In June, 1863, the Government dispatched to the Territory two 
thousand mounted troops, under General Sully, who pursued and 
punished the Indians at the battle of Whitestone Hills, and after- 
wards returned to garrison the frontier settlements for the winter. 
Fort Sully was built and garrisoned as the most frontier military 
post in the Territory. The Santee and Winnebago tribes of Indians 



24 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



were removed, during the same season, from Minnesota and located 
upon reservations in Dakota. Eighteen large steamboats passed 
up the Missouri River into the Territory the same season, being 
engaged in transporting freight for the soldiers and Indians, and 
mills and mathiner}' for the mines in the Rocky Mountains. 

Dakota's population was augmented in the spring of 1864, by a 
colony from the State of Ncav York, headed by Hon. J. S. Fos- 
ter, nearly all of whom located in the Missouri Valley. 

In June of this year, General Sull}" led his second military expe- 
detion through the Territory, to punish the tribes which were still 
on the war-path. One of his steamers made the first trip up the 
Yellowstone River to near mouth of the Big Horn, carrying sup- 
plies for the troops. His command numbered about two thousand 
five hundred men, and notwithstanding detachments of troops 
were left in his rear to protect the settlements, the United States 
mail stage was attacked and a murder committed almost within 
signal-shot of a garrison. A whole family of innocent and 
defenceless children were horribly butchered by the Indians at St. 
Helena, twelve miles below Yankton. The season of 1864 was a 
sad one for the settlements. Not onlv did lurking Indians hang 
upon the border for robbery and rapine, but unremmitting drouth 
and clouds of grasshoppers swept the bloom from the fields and 
verdure from the plains, and with the approach of autumn, the 
despondent farmers repaired with their teams to the neighboring 
States, to bring in supplies upon which to subsist until another 
hervest-time. The prospects for the future were indeed gloomy, 
and many of the earliest settlers abandoned the Territory for the 
purpose of riaking homes elsewhere. 

On the 11th of October occurred the third Congressional Elec- 
tion, wherein W. A. Burleigh and J. B. S. Todd were opposing 
candidates for Delegate, running substantially upon the same po- 
litical platform. But little interest was manifested, and a small 
vote was polled. Indians, grasshoppers and continued misfortunes 
had abated the political and agricultural ardor of a despondent 
people. Six hundred and seven votes were polled, of Avhich Bur- 
leigh received three hundred and eighty-six and Todd two hundred 
and twenty-two. Burleigh was therefore duly declared by the 
canvassers to be elected as the third Delegate in Congress. The 
annual message of Governor Edmunds to the Legislature, in De- 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 25 



cember, recited in full the misfortunes and losses of the past year, 
but predicted a more encouraging future. 

The spring of 1865 gave promise of a prosperous future to the 
Territory. Eighty-five thousand dollars had been appropriated by 
Congress for the opening of wagon roads through the Territory to 
the Rocky Mountain gold mines. Col. James A. Sawyers was ap- 
pointed Superintendent to construct the road from Niobrara to 
Virginia City, with ^50,000; Col. G. C. Moody was assigned to the 
road from Sioux City up the Missouri Valley to the Great Chey- 
enne, with $25,000; and W. W. Brookings, with |30,000, was se- 
lected to construct a road across Dakota from the Minnesota line, 
out to Cheyenne, to intersect with the Sawyers route, west of the 
Black Hills. The first permanent bridges were built over the Big 
Sioux, Vermillion and Dakota Rivers. 

In June, Gen. Sully led his third expedition up the Missouri 
Valley into the Indian country, and with the exception of the 
Brule Creek Massacre in August, peace and safety generally pre- 
vailed throughout settled portions of the Territory. The season 
was a favorable one for the farmers, and the fields yielded a boun- 
tiful harvest. Schools were numerously established throughout 
the Territory, and the erection of an Episcopal church was begun 
at Yankton. The Supreme Court of Dakota held its first session 
at Yankton, on the 6th day of July. 1865. 

With the opening of spring in 1866, the three years' war with 
the Indians was declared at an end, and a Board of Peace Commis- 
sioners, to form treaties of perpetual peace and friendship with the 
wild tribes of Sioux on the Missouri River, was sent out by the 
Government, Governor Edmunds, of Dakota, being one of the 
Commissioners, and M. K. Armstrong, Secretary. The Commis- 
sion left Yankton by steamboat in May, and ascended the Missouri 
above the mouth of the Yellowstone, into Montana, returning in 
August, having spent nearly four months in holding councils and 
making treaties with nearly all the wild tribes on the upper river. 

In the autumn the regular Congressional election occurred. Dr. 
W. A. Burleigh and W. W. Brookings were opposing candidates. 
Burleigh ran on the ''Johnson" platform — Brookings as a straight 
Republican. The total vote Avas eight hundred and forty-six, of 
which Burleigh received five hundred and ninety-two, and Brook- 
ings two hundred and fifty-four, indicating a population of about 
five thousand. The previous year, the first assessment of personal 



26 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



property in the Territory had been made, the returns exhibiting a 
valuation of one hundred and fifty-eight thousand, nine hundred 
and sixty-three dollars. 

There was a steady and increasing groAvth in 1867 and 1868; new 
counties were organized, towns and villages increased, immigra- 
tion was renewed, the land surveys were extended into the Red 
River Valley, and the Territory, for the first time, began its career 
of permanent progress. The first railroad to Sioux City, Iowa, 
was completed in 1868, near the eastern line of Dakota. The 
Union Pacific railroad was also completed through Southwestern 
Dakota, and the territory of Wyoming was created therefrom by 
act of Congress. Prior, however, to the separation of Wyoming 
from Dakota, the fifth congressional election had been held in the 
autumn of 1868, whereat the united vote of the two Territories was 
4,681; S. S. Spink received 1.424; J. B. S. Todd, 1,089; M. Too- 
hey, 878; W. A. Burleigh, 697: J. P. Kidder. 591. Spink was 
therefore declared elected. 

Governor Faulk's annual message to the Legislature that winter 
revealed a very satisfactory condition of the growth, prospects and 
finances of the territory. The great Sioux Indian Treaty had 
been made, and the Black Hills country set apart as a reservation 
for the variovis tribes of Sioux. The white population of Da- 
kota had increased forty-two per cent. Over one thousand farms 
had been located by immigrants under the homestead and pre-emp- 
tion laws. The harvests were bountiful, and found ready sale by 
reason of the constant demand to supply the new Indian agencies 
and military posts on the upper river. Immigration pressed into 
the territory as never before, selecting homes in the southern 
counties, on the streams, and at the close of the year the popula- 
tion of the territory was estimated at twelve thousand. 

With the opening of 1869, the stream of immigration to the 
southern counties continued to pour in; navigation on the Missouri 
River far exceeded that of any former season; many large and 
substantial blocks of buildings were built in the various towns, 
and handsome church edifices and commodious school houses began 
to take the places of the rude structures of earlier days. Mer- 
chants and mechanics prospered, and the farmers were favored 
with abundant harvests, although in some localities the great prai- 
rie fires of autumn laid waste much valuable property. 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 27 



During 1869 and 1870 several iinsuecessfnl attempts were made 
to secure the building of a railroad along the Missouri Valley, 
through the counties of Clay, Union and Yankton, a line of road 
having been sarveyed and a mile or two graded to Elk Point; but 
no aid being given by congress, the project was temporarily aban- 
doned. The first telegraph line in the Territory was built in the 
fall of 1870, leading from Sioux City, Iowa, to Yankton. Seven 
newspapers were published in the Territory, each Republican in 
politics. 

The fifth congressional election took place in October, 1870, W. 
A. Burleigh, S. L. Spink and M. K. Armstrong being the candi- 
dates. Three thousand, three hundred and two votes were polled, 
of which Armstrong received one thousand, one hundred and nine- 
ty-eight, Burleigh one thousand, one hundred and two, and Spink 
one thousand and two. Armstrong was declared duly elected. At 
the assembling of the legislature in December, the message of 
Governor Burbank pronounced the Territory on the high road to 
prosperity. The national census of 1870 showed the population of 
Dakota to be fourteen thousand, one hundred and eighty. 

The succeeding two years were marked by continued prosperity 
and renewed activity in the matter of railroad building. Over 
two hundred miles of railroad were built in Dakota in 1872. In 
October of the same year occurred the sixth congressional election. 
G. C. Moody, W. W. Brookings and M. K. Armstrong were the 
candidates. The total vote of the Territory was forty-five hun- 
dred and ninety-nine, indicating a population of about twenty- 
three thousand people. Armstrong received two thousand and 
three. Moody fifteen hundred and ninety four, and l^rookings one 
thousand and two. Mr. Armstrong was declared elected. 

The year 1873 opened with most encouraging prospects. The 
railroad to the capital had been completed, and with spring nava- 
gation the government freights for the upper military posts and 
Indian agencies were shipped by rail to Yankton, and there trans- 
ferred to steamboats to be transported up the river. The season 
propitious to the husbandman and the yield of wheat and other 
grains was so large that for the first time in the history of the 
Territory, considerable shipments were made to eastern markets. 
During 1873 and 1874 grain raising was established as the princi- 
ple feature of farming in Dakota, and additional flouring mills 
were erected in diiferent parts of the Territory. The new forest 



28 IIISTOKY OK DAKOTA. 



culture law of Congress had done much toward settling up the 
prairie countries, while the recent discovery of gold in the Black 
Hills by General Custer's army had attracted large numbers of 
miners to Western Dakota. With the gathering of the harvests 
of IST'l, it was demonstrated that the soil and climate of Dakota, 
rendered it one of the finest wheat-growing regions of the whole 
West, and the grain was eagerly sought by eastern buyers. 

In October came the seventh congressional election in the Ter- 
ritory. Judge J. W Kidder and M. K. Armstrong were the candi- 
dates. Nine thousand, five hundred and eighteen votes were re- 
turned, indicating a total population of nearly fifty thousand.— 
The certificate of election was awarded to Kidder. 

The following is the list of 

DELEGATES IN COXGRESS 

from Dakota, from the first election to the present time, together 
with their terms of service: 

J. B. S. Todd, Fort Randall, 1861-65; W. A. Bnrleiijli, Bon Homme, 1865-69; 
S. L. Spink, Yankton, 1869-71; W. K. Armstrong, Yankton, 1871-75; JefF P. 
Kidder, Vermillion, 1875-79; G. G. Bennett, Deadwood, 1879-81; R. F. Petti- 
grew, Sioux Falls, present incumbent. 

FEDERAL OFFICERS. 

The persons who have held ofiices in Dakota Territory under 
appointment of the President of the United States and other terms 
of service, are named below: 

Governors.— W. Jayne, 1861 to 1863; Newton Edmunds, 1863 to 18G6; A. J. 
Faulk, 1866 to 1869; John A. Burbank, 1869 to. 1874; John L. Pennington, 1874 
to 1878. Wm. A. Howard assumed the office of governor on the 14th of April, 
1878, and died on the 10th of April, 1880. N. G. Ordway. 

All of Dakota's ex-Governors, excepting the last named, are liv- 
ing, and three of them— Edmunds, Faulk and Pennington reside 
in the territory. Jayne resides in Springfield, Ills., and Burbank 
holds a position in the postofiice department at Washington. 

SECUETAUIES. 

John Hutchinson, 1861 to 1865; S. L. Spink, 1865 to 1869; Turney M. Wil- 
kins 1869 to 1870; Geo A. Batchelder, 1870 to 1872; Edwin S. McCook. ap- 
pointed in 1872 and was assassinated in Sept., 1873, by Peter P. Wintermute. 
Oscar Whitney, 1873 to 1874; Geo. H. Hani, present incumbent. 

CniEF .JUSTICES. 

Philemon Bliss, 1861 to 1864, now in Missouri; Ara Barllett, 1865 to 1869,' 
nowin Kansas; Geo. W. French, 1869 to 1873, now in Maine; Peter C. Shan- 
non, 1873, present incumbent. 

ASSOCIATE .rUSTICES. 

Lorenzo P. Williston, 1861 to 1865; Jo.'eph L. Williams. 1861 to 1864; Ara 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 29 



Bartlett, 1864 to 1869; Wm. E. Gleason, 1864 to 1865; J. P. Kidder, 1865 to 
1875; J. W. Boyle. 1866 to 1869; W. W. Brookings, 1869 to 1873; A. H. Barnes, 
1873 to 1881; G. G. Bennett, 1875 to 1878; G. C. Moody, 1878, present incum- 
bent; J. P. Kidder, 1879, present incumbent; Sanford A. Hudson, 1881, pres- 
ent incumbent. 

DISTRICT ATTORNEYS. . 

Wm. E. Gleason, 1861 to 1865; Geo. H. Hand, 1866 to 1873; Wm. Pound, 
1873 to 1878; Hugh J. Campbell, 1S78, present incumbent; Wm Pound died in 

office. 

SURVEYORS GENERAL. 

Geo. D. Hill, 1861 to 1865; Wm. Tripp, 1865 to 1869; W. H. H. Beadle, 
1869 to 1873; W. P. Dewey, 1873 to 1877; Henry Espersen, 1877 to 1881; C. S. 
Fessenden, 1881, present incumbent. 

The following are the names of United States Marshals and In- 
ternal Revenue officers, given in the order in which they served: 

U. 8. MARSHALS. 

Wm F. Shaffer, Geo. M, Pinney, L. H. Litchfield, J. H. Burdick, John B. 
Raymond. 

Internal Revenue Officers. 

Wm. Sliriner, collector; A. L. Edwards, assessor; G. P. Bennett, collector; 
John Pope Hodnett, assessor; Geo. W. Kingsbury, assessor; W. K. HoUen- 
beck, collector; John L. Pennington, collector. 

members op the legislative assembly. 
The following is a complete list of the members of the Legisla- 
tive Assembly, beginning with the first session, in 1861-2, and in- 
cluding the session of 1881: 

FIRST SESSION — 1861-2. 

Counc>l.—\Y. W. Brookings, Austin Cole, H. D. Belts, John W. Boyle, Ja- 
cob Deuel, Enos Stutsman, D. T. Bramble, John H. Shober, J. Shaw Gregory. 

House — John McBride, Christopher Maloney, G. P. Waldron, Hugh Donald- 
son, A. W. Puett, Lyman Burgess, J. A. Jacobson, John Stanage, M. K. Arm- 
strong, Geo. M. Pinney, Reuben Wallace, John L. Tiernon. 
SECOND SESSION — 1862-3. 

Council. — W. W. Brookings, Austin Colo, John W. Boyle, Jacob Deuel, Enos 
Stutsman, D. T. Bramble, J. H. Shober, J. Shaw Gregorj^ H. D. Betts, James 
McFetridge. 

House. — M. K. Armstrong, L. Bothun, J. Y. Buckman, H. S. Donaldson, M. 
H. Somers, E. GifFord, A. J. Harlan, J. A. Jacobson, R. M. Johnson, Knud 
Larson, F. D. Pease, A. W. Puett, N. J. Wallace, G. P. Waldron. 

THIRD SESSION — 1863-4. 

Co((«r(7.— Enos Stutsman, J. M. Stone, G. W. Kingsbury, J. 0. Taylor, M. 
M. Rich, John Mathers, Lasse Bothun, Hugh Compton, Franklin Taylor, D. P- 
Bradford, J. Shaw Gregory, John J. Thompson. 

House — Washington Reid, P. H. Risling, E. W. Wall, Jesse Wherrj-, Peter 
Keegan, M. G. Curtis, Asa Mattison. B. A. Hill, Duncan Ross, Albert Gore, 
L. Burgess, Ole Bottolfson, A. W. Puett, E. M. Bond, Wm. Shriner, 0. L. 



30 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 

Pratt, John Lawrence, Henry Brooks, L. H. Litchfield, W. Brookings, Knud 

Larson. 

FOURTH SESSION — 1864-5. 

C'o»»ri7.— Enos Stutsman, .1. M Stone, G. W. Kingsbury, J. 0. Taylor, M. 
'SI. Kich, John Mathers, Lasse Bothun, Hugh Conipton, Franklin, Taylor, D. ?• 
Brailfbril, J. Shaw Gregory, John J. Thompson. 

lIoKsr. — W. W. Brookings, H. Burgess, J. P. l?urgman, A. Christy, B. W. 
Collar, Felicia Fallas, J. R. Hanson, Peter Keegan, G. W. Kellogg, Peter Le- 
monges, John Lawi-ence, M. M. Matthiesen, Helge Matthews, Francis McCarty, 
J. W. Owens, G. W. Pratt, Washington Reid, John Rouse, Wm. Shriner, Geo. 
Stickney, John W. Turner, E. W. Wall. 

FIFTH SESSION — 1865-6. 

Council. — M. K. Armstrong, Austin Cole, G. W. Kingsbury, Chas. La Breeche, 
Nathaniel Ross, 0. F. Stevens, John J. Thompson, J. W. Turner, A. Van Osdel, 
Knud Weeks, Enos Stutsman. 

House. — Thomas C. Watson, E. C. Collins, Wm. Walter, Michael Currj', 
Michael Rj'an, Jas. Whitehorn, H. J. Austin, G. B. Bigelow, Amos Hampton, 
Franklin Taylor, Jas. McHenry, Jas. Ellis, A. M. English, Jacob Branch, H. C. 
Ash, S. C. Fargo, W. W. Brookings, Jonathan Brown, J. A. Lewis, C. H. Mc- 
Carthy, Wm. Stebens, Edward Lent, G. W. Kellogg, Chas. Cooper. 
SIXTH SESSION — 1866-7. 

Council. — M. K. Armstrong, Austin Cole, A. G. Fuller, G. W. Kingsbury, 
Chas. LaBreeche, J. A. Lewis, D. M. Mills, Nathaniel Ross, 0. F. Stevens> 
John J. Thompson, J. W. Turner, A. Van Osdel, Knud Weeks. 

House.— E. C. Ash, H. J. Austin, D. T. Bramble, W. N. CoUamer, Michael 
Curry, Hugh Fraley, Chas. Frick, L. T. Gore, Wm. Gray, Hans Gunderson, M. 
U. Hoyt, Daniel Hodgen, Anion Hauson, R. M. Johnson, G. W. Kellogg, Vin- 
cent La Belle, C. H. McCarthy, N. C. Stevens, Wm. Stevens, John Trumbo, 
Franklin Taylor, J. B. S. Todd, Eli B. Wixon, Kii-win Wilson. 
sevp:ntu SESSION — 1867-8. 

Council. — H. J. Austin, W. W. Brookings, W. W. Benedict, Aaron Carpen- 
ter, R. J. Thomas, Hugh Fraley, R. R. Green, A. H. Hampton, G. W. Kellogg. 
C. H. Mclntyre, D. M. Mills, C. F. Rossteuscher. 

House. — Wm. Blair, Wm. Brady, F. Brown, Jacob Branch, Jonathan Brown, 
Caleb Cummings, Michael Curry, F. J. Dewitt, Martin V. Farris, Felicia Fallas, 
L. T. Gore, Hans Gunderson, A. Hanson, M. U. Hoyt, John L. Jolley, Jas. Kee- 
gan, G. C. Moody, F. Nelson, Michael Ryan, Enos Stuti-man, C. G. Shaw, John 
J. Thompson, J. D. Tucker, T. C. Watson. 

EIGHTH SESSION — 1868-9. 

Council.— E. J. Austin, W. W. Benedict, W. W. Brookings, Aaron Carpen- 
ter, Hugh Fraley, R. R. Green, A. H. Hampton, G. W. Kellogg, J. A. Lewis, 
C. H. Mclntyre, C. F. Rossteuscher, J. A. Wallace. 

Home.- A\fved Abbott, C. D. Bradley, G. P. Bennett, C. M. Brooks, Jacob 
Branch, John Clemcntson. M. G. Curtis, J. M. Eves, J. Shaw Gregory, J. T. 
Hewlett. O. T. Haggin, John L. Jolley, A. W. Jamieson, Hiram Keith, James 
Keegan, Lewis Larson, Knud Larson, Joseph La Rorhe, Joseph Moulin, G. C. 
Moody, Chas. Ricker, Enos Stutsman. M. H. Soniers, R. T. Vinson. 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 31 



NINTH SESSION — 1870-1 

Council — M. K. Armstrong, Jacob Brauch, W. M. Cuppett, Hugh Fraley, 
S. W. Kidder, J. C. Kennedy, Emory Morris, Xelson Miner, C. H. Mclntyre, 
W. T. McKay, J. M. Stone, J. W. Turner. 

House — Clias. Allen, Ira Barnes, F. J. Cross, C. P. Dow, A. P. Hammon, 
Geo. H. Hand, John Hancock, Wm. Holbrough, 0. B. Iverson, H. A. Gerauld, 
James Keegan, J. La Roche, Nelson Learnen, A. J. Mills, E. Miner, Rudolph 
Mostow, S. L. Parks, Amor F. Shaw, Philip Sherman, J. C. Sinclair, Ole 
Sampson, Noah Wherrj-, E. W. Wall. 

TENTH SESSION — 1873. 

Council— B. T. Bramble, E. B. Crew, H. P. Cooley, G. W. Harlan, Alexan- 
der Hughes, John Lawi-ence, Nelson Miner, Joseph Mason, C. H. Mclntyre, 
W. T. McKay, 0. T. Stevens, Enos Stutsman, Heniy Smith. 

House — Samuel Ashmore, Ole Bottolfson, John Becker, Jacob Brauch, New- 
ton Clark, J. W. Garland, Michael Glynn, Wm. Hamilton, James Hyde, Cyrus 
Knapp, T. A. Kingsbuiy, Judson La Moure, Joseph Laglois, A. J. Mills, 
Ephriom Miner, Geo. Norbeck, R. F. Pettigi-ew, 0. C. Peterson, Silas Rohr, 
Martm Tiygstadt, J. W. Turner, John Thompson, B. E. Wood, F. T. Wheeler, 
J. M. Wahl, Jens Peterson. 

ELEVENTH SESSION — 1875. 

Council — H. J. Austin, Jacob Brauch, Phihp Chandler, Benton Fraley, G. 
W. Harlan, John Lawrence, A. McHench, John L. JoUey, M. Pac'C, M. W. 
Sheafe, 0. F. Stevens, C. S. West, E. A. Williams. 

House — H. 0. Anderson, Geo. Bosworth, Hector Bruce, J. L. Beriy, L. 
Bothun, Michael Crerrj', Desire Chause, J. M. Cleland, Ira Ellis, Patrick 
Hand, J. H. Haas, Knud Larson, Joseph Zitka, H. N. Luce, G. C. Moody, W. 
T. McKay, Henry Reifsnyder, A. F. Shaw, C. H. Seams, L. Sampson, S. 
Svenson, A. L. Van Osdell,' M. M. WilUams, Scott Wright, J. M. Wahl, 0. B. 
Larson. 

TWELFTH SESSION — 1877. 

Cotinil—B.. S. Back, M. W. Bailey, W. A. Burleigh, Wm. Duncan, Hans 
Gunderson, J. A. La Moure, Nelson Miner, A. J. Mills, R. F. Pettigrew, J. A. 
Potter, C. B. Valentine, J. A. Wallace, Robert Wilson. 

House— J. M. Adams, A. L. Boe, H. A. Burke, J. Q. Burbank,* W. H. H. 
Beadle, A. L. Clark, T. S. Clarkson, G. S. Codington, W. F. Dmidam, John 
Falde, D. C. Ha?e, A. G. Hopkins, M. 0. Hexom, Edmund Hackett, D. M. 
Inman, Erick Iverson, D. M. Kelleher, Chas. Maywald, Hans Myron, John 
Sellberg, Decatur Stewart, Asa Sargent, John Tucker, Franklin Taylor, John 
Thompson, C. H. Van Tassel, S. Soderstrom, F. M. Ziebach. 

*Awarded the seat of D. M. Kelleher, on the 29th day of the session. 

THIRTEENTH SESSION — 1879. 

Council — Wm. M. Cuppett, M. H. Day, Ira Ellis, Newton Edmunds, W. L. 
Kerlkendall, Nelson Miner, R. McNider, R. F. Pettigrew, S. T. Roberts, Silas 
Rohr, C. B. Valentine, H. B. Wynn, G. H. Walsh. 

i/ow5t>— Alfred Brown, J. Q. Burbank, P. N. Cross, D. W. Flick, A. B. 
Fockler, J. R. Gamble, Ansley Grey, H. Gunderson, Ole C. Helveg, John 
Hayes, 0. J. Hosboe, Andrew Hoyer, J. R. Jackson, Sever Johnson, J. 0. 
Langness, Adolph Mauxsch, J. M. Peterson, Michael Shely, Andrew Simonson, 



32 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



J. H. Stevens, Decatur Stewart, Martin Trygstadt, E. C. Walton, Joel Web- 
ber. Kmid Wei'ks. N. C. Whitfiokl. * ""■^" 

KOUUTEENTII SESSION — 1881. 

Council— M. H. Day, Ira W. P'li^her. John It. Gamble, John L. Jollev, J. A. 
J. Martin. J. 0. B. Scobev, Amos F. Shaw, P. R. Smith, John Walsh, Geo. H. 
Wig^in, John R. Wilson, Geo. H. Walsh. 

House — James Ba}^les, S. A. Boyles. F. J. Cross. G. H. Dickey. Erick Elief- 
son, L. B. French, J'. D. Hale, J. A. Harding, D. M. Innian, C. B. Kennedy, 
Judson La Moure, Paul Landman, S. McBratney, J. L. Miller, Knud Nomland, 
Silas Rohr, Vale P. Thielman. David Thompson, Albion Thorne, A. L. Van 
Osdel, Porter Warner, E. P. Wells, Isaac Moore, W. H. Donaldson. 

The following are the present incumbents of the principal 

TERRITORIAL OFFICES: 

Governor, Nehemiah G. Ordway: Secretary, Geo. H. Hand; Chief Justice, 
Peter C. Shannon; Associate Justices. J. P. Kidder, Vermillion; G. C. Moody 
Deadwood. Sanford A. Hudson Fargo; U. S. Attorney, Hugh J. Campbell, 
Yankton; U. S. Marshal, John B. Raymond, Fargo; Surveyor General, C. S. 
Fessenden ; Auditor, L. M. Purdy; Treasurer, W. H. McVay; Superintendent 
of Public Instruction, Wm. H. Beadle. 



THE CENSUS OF 1880. 

The following statement as to the census of Dakota for 1880, is 
as accurate as is obtainable. Mr. Hughes, the Census Superintend- 
ent for Dakota, reported to the newspapers soon after the Census 
was completed, the following 

POPULATION" OF CITIES: 

Deadwood :3677 Lead City 14B7 

Yankton :3484 Central City 1012 

Fargo 2695 Terryville 776 

Sioux Falls 2163 Watertown 746 

Bismarck 1760 Elk Point 719 

Grand Forks 1500 Vermillion 714 

Canton 635 Mandan 239 

Wahpeton 400 South Bend 209 

Rapid City :«5 Custer City 201 

Rockerville 321 Bonnersville 195 

Valley City 308 Huron 163 

Ft. Pierre'. 297 GayviUe 130 

As to the rapid increase of the population of the above cities, 
since this enumeration was made, and, indeed, as to the birth and 
astonishing growth of towns not enumerated in the above, the 
reader is referred to the details which follow in their appropriate 
places. 

The following table exhibits the results of the first count of 
population according to the schedules returned to the census office 
by the enumerators of the several districts concerned. 

" Indians not taxed," /. e., Indians in tribal relations, under the 
care of the government, are not included. 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



33 



A careful, competent and reliable gentleman, who is in position 

to form an intelligent, close and unbiased estimate, furnishes the 

writer with the following brief statement as to 

Dakota's present population: 

Population of Dakota, June 30tli, 1880 136,000 

Land taken in Dakota in 1881-2, 2,600,000 acres— 16, 250 quarter sections 
Counting three persons to eacli quarter sections, (a low estimate, as 
much of Dakota's immigratibn consists of families), gives additional 

population of over 48,000 

Add one-half as many for that portion of 1880, from June, 1880, to Jan- 
uary, 1881 24,000 

Purchasers of railroad lands 10,000 

Increase in population of towns ... 6,000 

Natural increase of population 6,000 

Total population of Dakota, December, 1881 230,000 



COUNTIES. 











a 


> 






S 


o3 


f^ 


k; 



fe 



Armstrong 

Barnes 

Bon Homme 

Brookings 

Burleigh (part of). 

Cass 

Clark 

Clay 

Codington 

Custer 

Davison 

Deuel 

Grand Forks 

Grant 

Hamlin 

Hanson 

Hutchinson 

Kingsbury 

Lake 

Lawrence 

Lincoln 

McCook 

Meyer 

Miner 

Minnehaha 

Moody 

Pembina 

Pennington 

Richland 

Stutsman 

Traill 

Turner 

Union 

Yankton 



2,607 
1,585 
5,469 
4,965 
1,997 
8.998 

114 
5,001 
2,156 

995 
1,256 
2,302 
6,248 
3,010 

693 
1,301 
2,966 
1,102 
2.657 
13,248 
5,897 
1,283 

115 

363 
8,252 
3,915 
4,862 
2,244 
3,597 
1,207 
4.123 
5,320 
6,813 
8,390 



1,361 

988 
2,933 
2,861 
1.259 
5,501 
75 
2.714 
1,338 

781 

758 
1,331 
3,729 
1,896 

432 

771 
1,549 

690 

1,520 

10,123 

3,166 

738 
92 

236 
4,549 
2,293 
2,842 
1,750 
2,130 

660 
2,459 
2,844 
3,543 
4,381 



1,246 

597 
2,536 
2,104 

738 
3,497 
39 
2,287 3 

8181 

214 

498 

971 
2,519 
1,114 

261 

530 
1,417 

412 
1,137 
3,125 
2,732 

545 
23 

127 
3,703 5 
1,622 
2,020 

494 
1,467 

347 
1,664 
2,476 
3,270 
4,009 [4 



1,678 

689 

2,727 

1,554 

556 

4,117 

19 

1,693 

527 

230 

219 

756 

3,852 

817 

308 

290 

1,857 

302 

640 

3,952 

1,779 

353 

29 

64 

502 2,750 
989 926 
6633,199 
674 570 
9161,681 
694 313 
,8,^6 2,237 
,857i2.463 
,779:2,034 
,834 3,556 



929 
896 
,742 
,411 
,441 
,881 

95 
,308 
,629 
765 
,037 
,546 
,396 
193 
385 
Oil 
109 
800 
017 
296 
118 
930 

86 
299 



2,607 
1,583 
5,440 
4,959 
1,928 
8,956 

114 
4,998 
2,156 

985 
1,255 
2,302 
6,215 
2,967 

693 
1,299 
2,966 
1,102 
2,657 
12,921 
5,897 
1,283 

112 

363 
8,204 
3,689 
4,399 
2,226 
3,587 
1,004 
4,122 
5,320 
6,802 
8,334 



2 
29 

6 
69 

42 



10 
1 

33 
43 



327 



226 

463. 

18 

10 



11 

56 



*lncluding in Bon Homme county, 7 Indians and half breeds, in Burleigh Co., 
(part of) 2 Chinese and 6 Indians and half-breeds; in Cass Co., 3 Chinese and 



34 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



27 half-breeds anil Indians; in Clay Co., 1 Indian; in Grand Forks Co., 29 half- 
breed Indians; in Grant Co., 43 Indians; in Hanson Co., 2 Indians; in Law- 
rence Co., 220 Chinese and 10 Indians and half-bi-eeds; in Minnehaha Co., 28 
Indians; in Moody Co., 222 Indians; in Pembina Co., 452 Indians and half- 
breeds; in Pennington Co., 10 Chinese; in Richland Co., 10 Indians; in Union 
Co., 11 Indians and half-bre3ds; in Yankton Co., 2 Indians ; in Custer county, 1 
Indian. 

Note. — The population of the following counties is given in combination, 
the returns from each not having been separated: 

Ashmoreand Sully counties, total 587; males, 397; females, 190; native. 481; 
foreign 106; white 416; colored, 174. Aurora (part of) and Brule counties, to- 
tal, 202; males, 178; females, 84; native 178; foreign, 74; white, 261; colored, 1. 
Aurora (part of), Buffalo, Lyman and Presho counties, total, 232; males, 171; 
females, 61; native, 264; foreign, 68; white, 209; colored, 23. Beadle and 
Hand counties, total, 1,443; males, 7,236; females, 207; native, 981; foreign, 
462; white 1,443. Berthold, Bottineau, McHenry, Renville and Stevens coun- 
ties, totid, 247; males, 201; females, 46; native, 181; foreign, 66; white, 243; 
colored, 4. Billings, Mercer, Morton and Stark counties, total, 1,523; males, 
1,440; females, 83; native, 888; foreign, 634; white, 1,514; colored, 9. Bore- 
man, Campbell, Rush and Walworth counties, total 676; male.«, 511; females, 
175, native, 484; foreign, 192; white, 595; colored, 81. Brown and Day counties, 
total, 450; males, 344; females, 106; native, 307; foreign, 143; white, 439; col- 
ored, 11. Burleigh, (part of) Emmons and Sheridan counties, total, 1,287; 
males, 944; females, 343; native, 891; foreign, 396; white, 1,241; colored, 46. — 
Caviller, Foster and Ramsey counties, total, 318; males, 214; females, 104; na- 
tive, 216; foreign. 102; white, 311; colored, 7. Charles Mix, Douglas and Todd 
coimties, total, 616; males, 382; females, 234; native, 483; foreign, 133; white, 
512; colored, 104. DeSmet, Gingras, Kidder and Logan counties, total, 89; 
males, 80; females, 9; native, 48; foreign, 40; white, 88; colored, 1. Edmunds, 
Faulk, McPherson and Spink counties, total, 481; males, 335; females, 146; na- 
tive, 398; foreign, 83; white, 478; colored, 4. Forsyth and Shannon counties, 
total, 113; males, 93; females, 20; native, 89; foreign, 24; white, 106; colored, 
7. Howard, Montraille, Wallette and Williams counties, total, 471; males, 
400; females, 71; native. 321; foreign. 150; white, 448; colored, 32. Hughes and 
Stanley counties, total, 770; males, 587; females, 183; native, 642; foreign, 128; 
white, 691; coloi'ed, 79. LaMoure and Ransom counties, total, 557; males, 344; 
females, 213; native, 357; foreign, 200; white, 557. Sisseton and Wahpeton 
Indian reservation and Fort Sisseton, total, 207; males, 153; females, 54; native, 
152; foreign, 55; white, 184; colored, 23. 

*Including, in Ashmore and Sully counties, 167 Indians; in Aurora (part of) 
and Brule counties, 1 half-breed Indian; in Aurora (part of ), Buffalo, Lyman and 
Presho counties, 21 half-breed Indians; in Berthold, Bottineau, McHenry, Ren- 
ville and Stephens counties, 3 Indians and half-breeds ; in Billings, Mercer, Mor- 
ton and Stark counties, 7 Indians; in Boreman, Campbell, Rush and Wadsworth 
counties, 72 Indians and half-breeds; in Brown and Day counties, 11 Indians 
and half-breeds; in Burleigh (part of) Emmons and Sheridan counties, 35 In- 
dians and half-breeds; in Cavalier, Foster and Ramsey counties, 1 Indian; in 
Charles Mix, Douglas and Todd counties, 97 Indians and half-breeds; in Ed- 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. lL28i08S ^^ 

munds, Faulk, McPherson and Spink counties, 4 Indians and half-breeds; in 
Howard, Montraille, Wallette and Williams counties, 10 Indians and half-breeds 
in Hughes and Stanley counties, 77 Indians and half-breeds; in Sisseton and 
Wahpeton reservation and Fort Sisseton, 21 Indians and half-breeds. 
TOTAL FOOTINGS. 

The total footings for Dakota Territory are as follows: 

Males 82,302 

P'emales 52.878 

Native 83,387 

Foreign 51,793 

White 133,177 

Colored * 2,003 

Total 135,180 

*Including- in the Territory, 233 Chinese, and 1,384 Indians and half-breeds. 
The following are the 

ORGANIZED COUNTIES OF DAKOTA. 

Armstrong. Clay. Kidder. Pembina. 

Aurora. Clark. Lake, Pennington. 

Barnes. Caster. Lawrence. Ransom. 

BonHomme. Davidson. Lincoln. Richland. 

Beadle. Deuel. LaMoure. Spink. 

Brown. Douglas. McCook. Stutsman. 

Brookings. Grand Forks. Minnehaha. Traill. 

Burleigh. Grant. Miner. Turner. 

Brule. Hanson. Moody. Union. 

Cass. Hamlin. Morton. Walsh. 

Charles Mix. Hutchinson. Mandan Yankton. 

Codington. Hughes. 



JAMES RIVER VALLEY. 

The following brief description of the James River Valley, by a 
competent writer, is pertinently accurate: 

"In order to give an adequate idea as to why this region is now, 
and to a much greater extent must soon inevitably become, the 
central attraction and leading Eldorado of the great mass of pov- 
erty-stricken and mortgage-burdened people of the East, who are 
now setting their faces westward, I must give a brief and truthful 
description of this wonderful valley of the James. Im'agine, for a 
moment, a tract of country 500 miles long, by from forty to sixty 
miles wide, drained by a strong and never-failing stream, which 
by its curves is over 1,000 miles in length, and into which flow, 
both from the east and the west, numerous smaller streams, abun- 
dantly watering the countrA^ and beautifully diversifying the land- 



3G HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 



scajie. NoAv think of this magnificent tract of country upon which 
nature seems to have showered her greatest favors and exhausted 
her choicest powers, as being already, though as yet only in its 
earliest infancy, dotted with thriving and prosperous towns, most 
of them excellent market places; as consisting of millions of acres 
of land as fertile as the far-famed valley of the Nile, with scarcely 
a mile of waste land in its whole extent; as being intersected east 
and w^est by seven lines of railroad, four of which have already 
crossed it and entered the Missouri valley on the west, while two 
north and south lines are being rapidly constructed, which taken 
together will give it immediate and rapid connections with all the 
best markets of the East. Look for a moment at this situation, 
and then add the facts, that of all these broad acres, attended by 
these almost incredible advantages, not a tithe has as yet been ap- 
propriated by the actual settler; that no speculator can get posses- 
sion of a single acre of this goodly domain, except as he purchases 
from the settler, and that settlement is all that is required to pos- 
sess it, and it will be readily seen that nothing short of a providen- 
tial intervention can keep the tax-ridden, overcrowded, and sorely 
burdened people of the East out of it." 

The same writer observes: "Truly, in spite of prophetic fore- 
bodings, 1881 has been a red letter year for Dakota, and especially 
for this portion of the Territory. While the regions to both the 
east and west of us have, during the season, been alternately 
parched with scorching droughts, and submerged by devastating 
floods, we have enjoyed refreshing showers, and tempered sunshine, 
so equally distributed as to cause all products, both indigenous and 
cultivated, to flourish in a degree truly remarkable. 

The growth of vegetation upon our fertile prairies this year has 
been really marvelous. In this valley immense crops of corn, po- 
tatoes, flax, roots, etc., have been raised upon the raw prairie sod, 
broken last spring, while upon those lands which had been culti- 
vated for some years, the yield, even with little attention, was far 
in advance of the most sanguine expectations of the settlers. It is 
no Avonder that our people are prosperous, happy, energetic, con- 
tented and confident. They have before their eyes, in tangible 
form, and within easy reach, all the elements of abundant pros- 
perity and actual independence, and it is only natural that their 
universal message to their friends in the East should be, not as in 
the case of many western emigrants, 'Send us money Avith which 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 37 

to get out of this accursed country, but come to Dakota, and 
share our prosperity, and enjoy with us the remarkable benefits to 
be derived from the rapid and vigorous development of one of the 
grandest commonwealths that ever has been, or ever will be, 
carved out of the great Northwest.'" 



DAKOTA'S CLAIMS TO STATEHOOD 

Apropos of the immediate probability of Dakota's admission 
into the Sisterhood of States, another observant writer, has the 
following remarks to offer: "The scheme of making Dakota a 
State is not a wild one. Political expediency may suggest it, and 
a majority of one may carry it through the Senate, but sufficient 
merit is not lacking. A Territory that builds 865 miles of railroad 
in a single year — 1880 — must be a region of some wealth, present 
or prospective. The Northern Pacific traverses the width of the 
Territor}', from Fargo to Montana line, 375 miles; the same road 
has completed and is operating fifty miles of road north from Cas- 
selton; the Fargo-Southwestern branch has been located, and the 
graders have been busy all fall; the Jamestown branch has been 
surveyed in a northerly direction, and the contract for grading 
twenty-five miles let and partly filled. The Milwaukee has built 
one branch to the Missouri in Southern Dakota, and has purchased 
the right of way through the Big Sioux reservation to the Black 
Hills. The same road has completed the Hastings & Dakota divis- 
ion to Aberdeen in the James River Valley, a distance of 120 miles 
west of the Minnesota line; more grading and roadbed by the 
same line, here and there, north and south through the James 
Valley, indicating a practical intention to furnish ample transpor- 
tation facilities for that rich valley. The Chicago & Northwestern 
is operated to Fort Pierre on the Missouri, and like the Milwaukee, 
has purchased its right of way to the Black Hills, is also building 
northwest from Lake Kampeska and north and south, through the 
James Valley, keeping step with its great rival, the creation of 
Mitchell and Merrill; roads connect Sioux City and Yankton and 
Sioux City and Sioux Falls, and Marion Junction and Yankton. 
The Manitoba line has built from Breckinridge on the Red River, 
and west and north fifty miles, crossing the Northern Pacific near 
Casselton; has also completed in a jiffy the eighty miles of road 



3S HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 

between Grand Forks and Fargo and lias started west from the 
former ])l:ice a line across the Territory to Fort Biiford at the 
mouth of the Yellowstone. iVnd still there are several more rail- 
way enterprises erystalizing that we c( nld mention if we desired to 
color this showini^. And don't forget the Missouri and Red River 
are equivalent to two railroads. 

"The population, 5,000, and wealth of Deadwood and the half- 
dozen towns of the Black Hills tributary, are known to all men. 
There are mines in this region that cost $1,500,000 to develop. 
One of them, the Homestake, even boasts the Corliss engine that 
was the wonder of the Centennial Exposition. The production of 
the Hills is counted by the millions. 

''Bismarck, with her 3,000 jieople, twenty steamboats, commerce 
radiating with all the points of the compfss, and her big bridge 
over the Missouri, costing '^1,000,000. is a conspicuous item in Da- 
kota's assets. 

•"Fargo, with her 4,000 or 5,000 people, elevators, water works, 
gas works, street railway, three railroads, twenty-one additions to 
the original town plat, and unprecedented growth year after year, 
will not be denied her importance even by the Bourbon of Bourbons. 
"Sioux Falls.the metropolis of the beautiful and rich Sioux Val- 
ley, has her 3,000 people, and a water power the first in importance 
in Dakota, driving three or four flouring mills that would not be 
out of place in Minneapolis. In fact, the Queen Bee is believed 
to be on a par with the best equipped mill in the Flour City." 

"Yankton, the mother of the others, and capital of the Territory, 
with 3,500 people; Grand Forks with nearly 3,000, and Mandan, 
Wahpeton, Jamestown, Valley City, Tower City, Casselton, Pem- 
bina, Watertown, Huron, Pierre, Canton, Vermillion and Elk 
Point, with none of them enumerating at present less than 500 
people, swell the ranks of the towns to the requirements of tate- 
hood. 

"As feeders to these towns there are scores of villages with fifty 
to four hundred inhabitants. Some of them are more than feeders 
— they are little centers of themselves. All the towns over five 
hundiel inhabitants are not named in the above list. A village of 
one hundred inhabitants grows so fast that a semi-annual census 
could not keep us posted. 

"The Black Hills furnish the mines; Southern Dakota a varied 
agriculture, including fine water-power for manufacturing, and 



,£JB44^r^^rt>'^^ 



^ 



HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 39 



Northern Dakota the largest wheat fiekls in the United States, 
outside of California, where everything is more marvelous than in 
any other land. The wheat and gold shipments prove the produc- 
ing capacity of the Territory. There are probahly no two 
opinions upon that head. If we can raise gold and wheat, we are 
on a specie basis, and are entitled to a respectful hearing. 

"We cite in proof of the Territory's agricultural popularity, the 
records of the local land offices: The first day the Grand Forks 
office opened in May, 18S0, the officers received the largest num- 
ber of entries ever known at a local land office in a single day. 
They earned their salaries, $6,000, the first week, and had to work 
the rest of the year for nothing. That is, their fees and commis- 
sions footed 'maximum,' and if business had totally ceased after 
the first week, they would have received just as much for their 
week's work as they did for a year. From the day of opening to 
the present, the rush has been on. The establishment of the 
Grand Forks office was intended as a relief to the Fargo office, but 
there has been no relief. Business this year has been larger than 
ever. It is as much of a necessity as the Grand Forks office was. 
If one is established this winter by Congress, you will see the first 
day's work at the Grand Forks office duplicated and a whole year's 
business about equal to that of the first ofishoot of Fargo. Any 
Senator who will study the land office records of Dakota for a 
few hours will find overwhelming proof of her settlements past, 
present and prospective. 

The total business for the year ending June 30, 1881, has not 
yet been made public by the Commissioners of the General Land 
Office, but the increase over 1880 will be very creditable, and far 
in excess of any other State or Territory in the West. The local 
offices, at Bismarck, Dead wood, Fargo, Grand Forks, Mitchell, 
Watertown and Yankton, all did a larger business, and the aggre- 
gate must necessarily show the increase claimed. During the year 
ending June 30, 1880, the aggregate number of acres disposed of 
in the United States under the homestead, timber culture and 
pre-emption laws, was 9,166,918; of that amount Dakota's aggre- 
gate was 2,268,809 — nearly one-fourth of the total. Kansas was 
second to Dakota; her aggregate being 1,521,905. Nebraska was 
third, with 1,327,038 acres. Minnesota fourth, with 852,266 
acres. Colorado, the Centennial State, only foots up 187,796 
acres; Oregon, 210,058 acres; Washington, 121,617 acres. This 



40 HISTORY OF DAKOTA. 

year, ending last June 30, Dakota will be 1,000,000 acres ahead of 
Kansas at least; and more likely 1,500,000." 

The total area of Dakota is about one hundred and fifty-six 
thousand square miles, and its present population is, as we have 
seen, not less than two hundred and thirty thousand white people^ 
exclusive of the Indians and other races. That the soil, the 
climate and other attractions of this vast and favored region, are 
not overestimated, is proven by the unprecedented growth of its 
population of late years. Nothing that the historian could write, 
would add to the wonderful showing which is made by the simple 
presentation of the facts in connection with the settlement and 
development of the mighty Empire of Dakota; for Empire it is^ in 
all that goes to make up a powerful, populous and prosperous 
Commonwealth- — in all that contributes to the establishment of 
enlightened progress, of culture and refinement, of wealth and 
healthful social, civil and physical conditions. An Empire, in- 
deed, in all these things — but a great Republic in the rational 
development of true liberty of sentiment, freedom of action, and 
unhampered incentives to the pursuit of the True, the Substantial, 
the Beautiful and the Good. 

What the future of Dakota shall be, is not within the writer's 
province to predict. Surely, it is scarcely possible to be over-san- 
guine, in view of the facts already assured. Surely, no observant 
citizen of this great Commonwealth can be thought otherwise 
than most reasonably justifiable in "pointing with pride" to the 
grand Past, the mighty Present and the incalculably promising 
Future of the "Land of the Dacotahs." 




SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 



THE SIOUX FALLS SETTLEMENT. 

In the latter part of the summer of 1856, Dr. J. M. Staples, of 
Dubuque, Iowa, while on a tour of the Upper Mississippi, ob- 
tained a copy of Nicollet's Travels in the Northwest, in which 
was a description of the Falls of the Big Sioux River, called bj 
the Indians '"Te-han-kas-an-data," or the ^'Thick-Wooded River." 
The Doctor Avas immediatel}^ struck by Nicollet's graphic descrip- 
tion of this favored and picturesque region: and, the land and 
town speculative fever at that time running high, he at once set 
about forming a company to secure so desirable a location. The 
result was the organization of the Western Town Company, of 
Dubuque, Iowa, composed of Dr. J. M. Staples, Mayor Hethering- 
ton, Dennis Mahoney, editor of the Herald, of Dubuque; Austin 
Adams, now one of the Judges of the Supreme Court of Iowa; 
G. P. Waldron, William Tripp, and several others whose names 
are uiiknown to the writer. 

Towards the close of October, 1856, the Company employed 
Ezra Millard, of Sioux City, Iowa, now President of the First 
National Bank of Omaha, to find the coveted Falls of the '''Thick 
Wooded River," and to take up three hundred and twenty acres of 
the land contiguous, under the land laws of the United States, for 
a townsite, in the name of the W^estern Town Compan3\ In the 
early part of November following, Mr. Millard, in company with 
D. M. Mills, who lived a few miles north of Sioux City, set out 
for the promised land. iVfter wandering for several days along 
the east bank of the Big Sioux River, at twilight of a rainy, dis- 
mal day, the explorers drove down Prospect Hill, near the beauti- 
ful little island at the head of the Falls, greatly delighted at find- 
ing the object of their search. But their delight was brought to 
a sudden termination, as before they could alight, several Indians 
appeared upon the scene. Taking their horses by the head, and 
turning them about-face, the noble red men suddenly ordered the 
astonished travelers to depart. Believing discretion the better 
part of valor, Messrs. Millard and Mills stood not upon the order 
of going, but left at once, retracing their steps as far back as 



42 HISTORY OF f^Ol'THEASTERN DAKOTA. 



Split Kock River, a branch entering tlie Big Sioux from the north- 
east, about twelve miles below the Falls. Here they passed a 
sleepless night, the cool, gray dawn finding them on their way 
back to Sioux City, where they in due time arrived, with scalps 
intact. 

Six weeks later. Mills returned with another party, and in the 
name of the Western Town Company, took possession of three 
hundred and twenty acres of land, consisting of what now consti- 
tutes the northeast quarter of section 16, and the northwest quar- 
ter of section 9, in town 101 north, of range 49 west, and for him- 
self, the northwest quarter of section 16, and built a log cabin, 
ten by twelve feet in dimensions, on Brookings Island at the 
head of the Falls. The party then returned down the Sioux for 
the winter. 

In May, 1857, Jesse T. Jarrett, John McClellan and Messrs, 
Farwell and Oleson, representatives of the Western Town Company 
visited the Falls, for the purpose of holding and improving the 
townsite, and commenced the construction of a small stone house, 
near the river immediately above the Upper Falls. These gentle- 
men had been at the Falls but a few days, when a number of rep- 
resentatives of the Dakota Land Company, of St. Paul, put in an 
appearance. 

The Dakota Land Company Avas chartered by the Legislature of 
Minnesota Territory, in the winter of 1856-7, its object being to 
push out into the proposed new Territory of Dakota, and secure 
some of the best locations for future towns. To this Company we 
are indebted for all that part of Dakota east of the Big Sioux 
River; for in the original enabling act to admit Minnesota as a 
State, the western boundary extended to the Big Sioux River; but, 
as there was no land west of the river from which the Indian title 
was extinguished, the Dakota Land Company procured an amend- 
ment to the act, having the western boundary run due south from 
the foot of Big Stone Lake to the Iowa State line, leaving some 
thirty miles east of the Big Sioux, from which the Indian title 
had been extinguished, to commence the new Territory. 

The representatives of this Company left St. Paul by steamer iji 
May, 1857, with banners flying and bright expectations looking 
Dakotaward. Proceeding by boat to New Ulm, they took teams 
from that ])oint to Dakota. The original incorporators of the Da- 
kota Land Company were: W. H. Nobles, J. R. Brown, A. G. 



SIO'JX FALLS SETTLEMENT. 43 

Fuller, S. A. Medary, Samuel F. Brown, James W. Lynd, N. R. 
Brown, F. J. DeWitt, Baron F. Friedenriech, B. M. Smith, A. 
Gale, Parker Paine, 'ihcnias Cnmplell— and oihers were also mem- 
bers of the Compmy. The party at once proceeded to the Big 
Sioux River, in what is now Brookings County, and located the 
town of Medary. named for the then Governor of Minnesota Ter- 
ritory; which to^A u they intended to be the capital of the new Ter- 
ritory to be f aimed out of the western half of Minnesota Territory. 
From Medary they journeyed down the river, locating the town of 
Flandrau, named in honor of Judge Flandrau, of St. Paul, add 
then pushed on to Sioux Falls, where ihey found themselves anti- 
cipated, the prize having already been secured by the Western 
Town Coinpauy, of Dubuque. Not to be crowded out, however, 
the Dakota Land Company took up three hundred and twenty 
acres of land south of the Falls, where Gale's Addition is now^ 
located, to which they gave the name of Sioux Falls Cit}". James 
L. Fiske and James McBride were left to hold this location. Capt. 
Fiske afterwards became somewhat famous by leading parties 
across the country to Montana, having been once, for a number 
.of days, surrounded by a band of hostile Indians, and at different 
times encountering the perils incident to so venturesome a life. 
Fiske aud McBride constructed a log house on the Dakota Land 
Company's town site, it being the third house ever built at the 
Falls. This company also took six hundred and forty acres of land 
at the mouth of Split Rock River, naming the location Eminiza, 
and built a house thereon. 

Everything went smoothly Avith the pioneers until the latter 
part of July, the population of Sioux Fall^at that time consisting 
of only five persons, McClellan, Farwell. Oleson, Fiske and McBride, 
when the troublesome Indians again put in an appearance to mar 
the prospects of the embryo " Lowell of the West." About that 
time the savages appeared at Medar}" in large numbers, stopping 
Col. Noble's party of fifty men, who were engaged in laying out a 
wagon road from Fort Ridgley to South Pass, and threatening all 
the settlements on the Big Sioux River Avith the cloud of war. — 
The Dakota Land Company immediately Avithdrew all their em- 
ployes, thus leaving McClellan, Farwell and Oksjn, the sole occu- 
pants at Sioux Falls. These gentlemen also, recognizing the un- 
healthy condition of the impending storm, placed their personal 
effects in a canoe at the foot of the Falls, and in search of a more 



44 HUT.)RY OF 801THEASTERN DAKOTA. 

cougenial latitude, began the navigation of the Big Sioux to its 
mouth, which they reached after several days, safely arriving at 
Sioux City, Iowa. This was probably the first time the Big Sioux 
was ever navigated to its mouth by white men. 

Thus was the Sioux Valley once more left t ) the undisputed pos- 
session of the red man, who, reversing the poetical order of things, 
" followed close on the track " of the pale face. 

On the 17th day of August, 1857, Jesse T. Jarrett, J. L. Phil- 
lips, W. W. Brookings, S. B. Atwood, A. L. Kilgore, Smith Kin- 
sey, John McClellan, Callahan and Godfrey, in the employ of the 
Western Town Company, started from Sioux City, Iowa,- for 
Sioux Falls. The party traveled with one horse- and two six-ox- 
teams, carrying machinery for a saw-mill, a cjuantity of imple- 
ments and provisions for starting a town. Jesse T. Jarrett was 
the agent of the Company in charge. At Rock River, they were 
joined by D. M. Mills. The progress of the party was slow, as the 
teams Avere heavily laden, and it was often necessary to bridge 
creeks before crossings could be effected. 

At noon of the 27th of August, the party arrived at the sum- 
mit of Prospect Hill, and for the first time (to all save Mills, 
Jarrett and McClellan), the Falls in all their grandeur and beauty 
burst upon their sight. A doffing of hats, and three hearty cheers, 
and the party drove down the hill, camped north of the island, and 
spent the remainder of the day in explorations. The day following 
the members of the party selected claims, each for himself, and on 
the morning of the third day, Messrs, Jarrett, Mills, Atwood and 
Godfrey started back to Sioux City for more provisions, leaving 
the other six at work, building a mill, house and store, cutting 
hay and otherwise preparing for winter. In ten days, Jarrett re- 
turned in company with Dr. J. M. Staples, of Dubuque, one of 
the Directors of the Company. 

Jarrett, the agent of the Company, was one of those passionate 
men, who, by their very natures, are unfitted to be good leaders, 
and had already become involved in trouble with some of the em- 
ployes. Dr. Staples, having been sent out with authority to make 
a change, at once appointed W. W. Brookings agent in place of 
Jarrett. From this time on, everything went smoothly, all being 
busy preparing for winter, until about the 10th day of October. 
Indians had been seen but once, and these only by Brookings and 
Kilgore, who, while out exploring, about five miles up the river, 



SIOUX FALLS SETTLEMENT. ' 45 

suddenly ran across a party of Indians close to tlieir camp. Both 
parties at once beat a retreat. 

At sunset, in the evenin«" of October 10th, about a dozen 
mounted Indians, covered with war-paint, swooped down over the 
bhiffs, surrounded the only pair of oxen at the place at the time, 
and amid yells and war-whoops, hurried them away before any 
steps could be taken to prevent them. As there were but six per- 
sons at the Falls at the time, and they almost wholly unacquainted 
with frontier lite, the serious nature of the apprehensions felt at 
this occurrence may be better imagined than described. Never- 
theless, four of the party undertook to follow the redskins, return- 
ing at nightfall from their unsuccessful pursuit. Certain it is, 
there was but little sleep at the camp that night. Agent Brook- 
ings, who was absent at the time of the startling occurrence, re- 
turned the next morning, and was a welcome comer, as every man 
counted in such emergencies. It will be remembered that this was 
the year following the Spirit Lake Massacre, only eighty miles 
east of the Falls, and the Sioux Indians were known to be more 
or less hostile. No Indians, however, again appeared until mid- 
winter. 

The middle of October brought, as an addition to the papulation 
at the Falls, a party of seven of the Dakota Land Company, who 
immediately began preparations for the winter. The beginning 
of winter found three dwelling houses erected, one of stone, a store, 
a saw-mill, and the following population: W. W. Brcokings, J. 
L. Phillips, John McClellan — at present (1881) residents of Sioux 
Falls — L. B. Atwood, A. L. Kilgore, Smith Kinsey, Charles Mc- 
Connell, R. B. McKinley, S. D. Brookings, E. M. Brookings, of 
the Western Town Company; James L. Fiske, James McBride, 
James M. Evans, James Allen, William Little, C. Merrill, of the 
Dakota Land Company — sixteen in all. 

The early part of winter was employed in cutting and drawing 
logs to the mill. In January, Messrs. Brookings and Fiske visited 
Sioux City and brought back a mail. A very heavy rain storm oc- 
curred in the latter part of January, raising the streams so as to 
overflow much of the bottom lands. 

On the first day of February, Messrs. Brookings and Kinsej'^ 
started out to secure for the AVestern Town Company the site 
whereon the city of Yankton now stands. On reaching Split 
Rock River, twelve miles below the Falls, as then traveled, they 



•16 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

found the water very high; but as they were on horseback, they 
succeeded in crossing the strfiun, getting somewhat wet in the 
operation. Changing part of their clothing, they pushed on, at 
night reaching Rock River, fifty miles from the Falls, where they 
camped. Th:it night a "Dakota blizzard" set in, and in the morn- 
ing it was found impossible to cross Rock River, as the water was 
fifteen feet deep, and it was raining heavily; so that it became 
necessary to retrace their steps, to do which they were compelled 
to face a fierce, cold and blinding wind. So cold and piercing 
was the wind, that it was impossible to face it on horseback; con- 
sequently, they were obliged to dismount, and putting their horses 
ahead, run to keep from freezing. At seven o'clock in the even- 
ing, Split Rock River was reached. The Ford was frozen over, 
but not enough to bear the weight of the horses; and it was 
found necessary to break a ford through the ice, in doing which 
Mr. Brookings fell through into the river and was thoroughly 
drenched. With the thermometer 28 degrees below zero, the hor- 
rors of such a bath may be imagined. It was only by means of 
extraordinary effort that Mr. Brookings Avas enabled to regain the 
shore, on reaching which he found the only way to prevent ab- 
solutely freezing to death was to run for his life, which he did 
throughout all that terrible night, arriving at the Falls at nine 
o'clock the next morning, in a fearfully frozen condition; so much 
so, indeed, as to necessitate confinement to the house for a period 
of six months. 

In December, 1857, the Governor of Minnesota Territory ap- 
pointed James Allen, Register of Deeds; James Evans, Sheriff; 
James L. Fiske, Judge of Probate; W. W. Brookings, District 
Attorney; J. L. Phillips, Justice of the Peace; and William Little, 
James McBride and A. L. Kilgore, Commissioners, for Big Sioux 
County, as defined by the Legislature of Minnesota, constituting 
what is now the county of Minnehaha. 

On the 11th day of May, 1858, the easttra portion of Minne- 
sota Territory was admitted as a State, and all that portion of the 
present Territory of Dakota, bounded on the north by the 
Dominion of Canada, on the east by the States of Minnesota and 
Iowa, on the south and west by the Missouri and White Earth ' 
Rivers, was left in an unorganized condition, in which condition 
it remained until the 2d day of March, 1861, when it was included 
in the Territory of Dakota. During this time there were no laws 



SIOUX FALLS SETTLEMENT. 47 

extending over this excerpt from the Territory of Minnesota, 
which, by common consent, was named Dakota, from the hirge 
tribe of Indians of that name, who had inhabited it as long as it 
had been known by the whites. 

In the spring of 1858, many immigrants came in, and the pros- 
pects of the pioneer settlements began to brighten exceedingly. 
A Mr. Goodwin and wife arrived early in May, Mrs. Goodwin be- 
ing the first white woman to come to the Territory to settle. Soon 
afterwards, came Charles White, \vife and daughter. Mrs. White 
and daughter Ella were the first white women who came to Da- 
kota and remained permanently, these ladies remaining through- 
out all the Indian troubles. Mrs. Wliite died, a few years ago, in 
Yankton; her daughter lived at Sioux Falls until her marriage^ 
and is now living at Cheyenne, Wyoming Territory. 

As June was drawing to a close, the Indians again made trouble, 
this time driving all the settlers from Medary and the upper part 
of the Valley, burning their houses and destroying their property. 
They also sent word to the people of Sioux Falls, ordering them 
to leave. In this dilemma, the people of the Falls assembled for 
consultation, when the conclusion was reached to fortify for de- 
fense and remain. At that time there was a defensive force of 
more than sixty able-bodied men at the Falls. A sod fort was at 
once erected, in which most of the people gathered at night. The 
condition of anxious suspense, the fears, the anxieties, the per- 
plexities and the privations of the little garrison can only be ap- 
preciated by pioneers Avho have been participants in similar expe- 
riences. On the heels of these busy preparations, a delegation of 
painted warriors, sent by their tribes, arrived at the Falls and ad- 
vised (?) the people to leave, but did not attempt measures for 
forcible ejectment. These Indians were Yanktonnais. 

Although much courage, on the part of the settlers, was appar- 
ently manifested during the period of the threatened inva- 
sion, the real panicky condition of aff'airs was soon shown; for no 
sooner had the excitement subsided, than a large portion of the 
total number left for regions of greater security; and, m conse- 
quence, the population of Sioux Falls had reached its highest tide, 
for years to come, on the 1st day of July, 1858, on which day it 
was greater than at any other time up to 1869. 

In October, 1858, Messrs. Brookings and Phillips traveled from 
Sioux Falls to Dubuque. Iowa, by ox-team, and after the former 



4.8 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

]iad visited Philadclpliia, returned by the same conveyance in 
midwinter. 

TIIK PROVISION' AL GOVERNMENT. 

A Provisional, or "•Squatter,"' Legislq^nre was elected in Octo- 
ber,. ISJ"^, as will be explained by the following notice — copies of 
which notces Avere the hrst printing done in Dakota. The print- 
ing was done on small slips of paper, about two inches by five in 
dimensions, and a copy, now before the writer, reads as follows: 
"election kotice." 

"At a Mass Conv:'ntion of the people of Dakota Territory, held in the town of 
Sioux Falls, in the County of Big Sioux, on Saturday, September lb, 1858, all 
portions of the Territory being represented, it was resolvecl and ordered that an 
election should be held for members to compose a Territorial Legislature." 

"In pursuance of said resolution, notice is hereby given that on 

MONDAY, THE FOUKTII DAY OF OCTOI5EK 
NEXT, AT THE HOUSE OF 

IN THE TOWN OF 

IN. THE COUNTY OF 

An election will be held for members of the Council , and 

of the House of Representatives for said Legislature. 

"The polls \vi\\ be opened at 9 o'clock in the morning, and close at 4 o'clock 
in the afternoon of said dav. 

"Dated at ^ , this 20th day of September, A. D. 1S58." 

["D.i'ot.v Dnn)crat" Print, Sioux Falls City.] 

At the date of the above notice, Samuel J. Albright started the 
Dakota Democrat, the first newspaper printed in Dakota Territory, 
which was published by him at intervals until the autumn of 1860, 
when Albright left, and the paper fell into the hands of a Mr 
Stewart, who printed it for a short time, under the name of the 
Independent; the reason for which change of name was grounded in 
necessity, Albright having taken the Democrat heading away with 
him. The Independent heading had formerly been used for the 
name of a paper published at Sergeant Bluffs, Iowa, by F. M. 
Ziebach. 

Soon after the election, the Provisional Legislature convened. 
Henry Masters was elected President of the Council, and S. J. Al- 
bright Speaker of the House. During the session, Henry Masters 
was elected Governor. This first session of — to say the least — an 
irregular legislative body, lasted but a few days, memorialized Con- 
gress for the organization of a new Territory, and authorized A. 
G. Fuller to represent the proposed new Territory in Congress. 

The year 18.59 was in the main an uneventful one, the Indians 
varying the monotony by stealing a horse occasionally. Governor 



SIOUX FALLS SETTLEMENT. 49 

Masters died in the early autumn of that year, this being the lirst 
death of a white man to occur in the Valley. Another election of 
members of the Legislature and Delegate to Congress, took place 
in the fall of 1859, J. P. Kidder being elected Delegate. The 
Legislature met early in the autumn at Sioux Falls. W. W. 
Brookings was elected President of the Council, and S. J. Albright 
Speaker of the House. At the close of the session, W. W. Brook- 
ings was elected Governor. This Legislature passed a few bills, 
but the principal business was the memorializing of Congress for 
the organization of a new Territory. 

During the year 1859, A. F. Shaw came to the Territory, locat- 
ing at Sioux Falls, on the east side of the river. The year before, 
William Stevens, S. Nesmith and Joseph Scales, had located on 
the east side. Later in 1859, George P. Waldron moved with his 
family from Dubuque, Iowa, to Sioux Falls. Mr. Waldron was a 
Director of the Western Town Company. 

The year 1860 was passed with but few incidents of importance, 
and was characterized by but little immigration. J. B. Amidon 
and family came early in 1860, or late in 1859. B. M. Smith 
made yearly visits to the Falls, as agent of the Dakota Land Com- 
pany, and in the summer of 1859, Hon. J. P. Kidder visited the 
Falls, stopping two weeks or more. 

March 2d, 1861, the bill for the organization of Dakota Terri- 
ritory was approved by President Buchanan, but owing to the dull 
times and the excitement East, incident to the war of the Rebel- 
lion, but few new settlers came. In addition to the constant un- 
easiness, and the more or less perilous state of affairs with which 
the pioneers had to contend, on account of the unreliable and 
blood-thirsty tribes of Indians by which they were surrounded, it 
must not be forgotten that, during the period which elapsed be- 
tween the admission of Minnesota as a State, and the organization 
of the Territory of Dakota by Congress, the situation of the Sioux 
Valley colonists, was a peculiar one; as, in all that interval, neces- 
sarily, by reason of the inchoate condition of things, there was 
really no duly authorized government, and no law. So far as the 
purely legal status of the settlers was concerned, they were all 
''squatters" on virgin soil, and each was a law unto himself. Never- 
theless, we have seen that social and civil regulations, rude and ir- 
regular as they Avere of necessity, were yet adequate to the emer- 
gencies of the times; and by organized persistence, order was finally 



50 HISTORY OF WOUTHEASIERN' DAKOTA. 

brought out of chaos, the redemption of the soil to civilized ut-es 
went on in the main unchecked, and this vast region took its place 
by the side of its Sister Territories, destined by the lapse of a few 
years to outstrip them all in the race. 

In the first regular organized Legislature, Sioux Falls was given 
a member of the House of Representatives, and was put in a Coun- 
cil district extending from the mouth of the Big Sioux River to 
the British Possessions, and entitled to two Councilmen. W. W. 
Brookings, of Sioux Falls, and Austin Cole, of Sioux Point, were 
elected to the Council, and George P. Waldron, of Sioux Falls, to 
the House. The first Legislature divided the Sioux Valley into the 
counties of Cole (now Union), Lincoln, Minnehaha, Brookings and 
Deuel. Lincoln County was named after Lincoln County, Maine, 
(the county in which W. W, Brookings was born,) and after Pres- 
ident Lincoln; Minnehaha, from the Falls; Brookings, for Council- 
man Brookings; and Deuel, for a member of the first Council. Some 
of the first officers of Minnehaha County were: J. B. Amidon, 
Judge of Probate and Treasurer; Harry Masters, Register of Deeds; 
J. W, Evans, Sheriff; William Stevens, William Amidon and B. C. 
Fowler, Commissioners; James McCall, Justice of the Peace. 

The spring and summer of 1863 opened very favorably for the 
Sioux Valley. A detachment of Company A, Dakota Cavalry, 
Lieutenant Bacon in command, was stationed at the Falls for pro- 
tection from the Indians. Two of Sioux Falls' oldest citizens, 
John McClellan and A. F. Shaw, joined this company and served 
through the war. The crops were very fine, and new settlers be- 
gan to arrive in encouraging numbers; but this promising outlook 
was brought to a most unexpected and gloomy termination. On 
the 16th of August, the succession of terrible massacres on the 
frontier of Minnesota Avas begun by the Indians, and eight days 
later, on the 25tli of the month, Judge J. B. Amidon and son, of 
Sioux Falls, fell victims to the savage assassins. 

The circumstances of this double murder, which occasioned the 
greatest consternation, are substantially as follows: Judge Amidon 
and son went, on the morning of the 25th, from their home in 
Sioux Falls to their land, a mile north of town, for the purpose of 
cutting hay, taking their di'^ners with them. As they did not re- 
turn at night, Mrs. Amidon, becoming alarmed, notified the sol- 
diers, who at once started in hunt of them. Their oxen Avere found 
chained to the wagon wheel, but the search for the father and son 



SIOUX FALLS SETTLEXEXT. 51 

was ansuccesslul that night. At dawn of the following morning, 
the search wa? renewed, resulting in finding the bodies of the Judge 
and his son. Judge Amidon. when found, w^as lying on his face 
with a bullet-hole through his body; the son was found farther 
back in the cornfield, the body shot with a dozen or more arrows. 
Circumstances indicated the details of the manner in which they 
met their death, to be about as follows: While haying near the 
cornfield, their attention Avas evidently attracted among the corn, 
and on going into the cornfield to see what was transpiring, the boy 
was shot with arrows. Attracted by the cries of his son, Judge 
Amidon started for the cornfield, but seeing the Indians, turned 
and fled in the direction of town. The flight of the father was 
stopped, and his life suddenly terminated, by a bullet from the gun 
of one of his pursuers, the ball entering the back and penetrating the 
heart or other vital organs^ as he had fallen forward on his face in 
the direction of the town, and had apparently died almost instantly, 
there being no evidence of a single struggle after falling. The 
boy, although almost literally covered with the arrows of the sava- 
ges, had evidently survived for some time, as he had drawn the 
shafts from his body and laid them beside him. 

The squad of cavalry commenced at early dawn to scour the 
country in search of the savage murderers, and while the most of 
them were out, a party of Indians came over the bluffs and fired in- 
to their camp, but, on the approach of the soldiers, the Indians fled to 
the river, where, in the brush, timber and high grass they escaped. 

All this time, nothing was known at Sioux Falls of the dreadful 
massacres by the savages on the Minnesota frontier; but on Wed- 
nesday, two couriers arrived from Yankton Avith the fearful intell- 
igence, and with orders from the Governor commanding the sol- 
diers to at once proceed to Yankton, bringing with them all the 
settlers oEthe Valley. 

It was w^tli heavy hearts that this little band of pioneers aband- 
oned their earthly possessions, and turned their backs upon the 
fields and dwellings they had fondly Called their owm — dear to 
them, not only for their intrinsic value, but that they were the 
measure of sacrifices made, of toil endured, of hopes and ambitions 
unattained, that had nerved the weary arms and cheered the hearts 
of the little company in their struggle to win from the recesses cf 
nature, homes, with home influences, home surroundings and heme 



52 HISTORY OF SOFTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

love. All these bright anticipations were destroyed, when it was 
decided that the town must be abandoned. 

In a few hours all the inhabitants of the Sioux Valley, with 
most of their stock, and with what goods could be hastily got to- 
gether, were on their way to Yankton, and the Sioux Valley was 
for several years deserted. 

After the people of Sioux Falls had departed, the Indians came in 
and burned all the houses, save three, and in these fires were 
lighted; but fortunately, the flames expired without doing serious 
damage. Interesting relics of this eventful period yet survive, in 
the shape of partially burned papers belonging to Judge Brook- 
ings, among which was his diploma of gi'aduation from Bowdoin 
College, Maine, and the certificate of his admission to the Bar. 
These, with the remaining contents of a trunk in the house, which 
he, with others, had occupied, were heaped in the middle of the 
floor, and set fire to, with the intention of burning the building. 
All that had been done to improve the place — all the property that 
had been accumulated during years of toil and hardship, privations 
and loneliness — was swept away, and the town of Sioux Falls, so 
beautifully situated, with so bright prospects for the future, was 
blotted out, as though it had never been. All that the blind fury 
of the ruthless savages could do to obliterate every trace of civiliza- 
tion in this part of the Northwest, was put into execution before 
the settlers had fairly passed from sight. This might fitly be 
termed the Indian Romance of the History of Sioux Falls, although, 
it is scarcely necessary to remark, it appears vastly more romantic 
at this distance of time than at the period of these occurrences, and 
to the unlucky participants therein. 

Two months later a party of soldiers and citizens came back to 
look after the property they had left behind them. It was the 
time of the full moon, and the party camped on the west bank of 
the river, at the old Yankton crossing, three and one-half miles 
from Sioux Falls. The party was under the command of Captain 
Miner and consisted of not more than twenty soldiers and citizens, 
the authorities on the Missouri River fearing to spare a greater 
number of soldiers. Captain Miner and one or two other soldiers 
rode forward into town in the night, to reconnoitre, and on return- 
ing, reported no signs of Indians; so that all in camp slept well 
for the remainder of the night, and were up bright and early in 
the morning, anxious to catch a glimpse of the burned town. Their 



SIOUX FALLS SETTLEMEKT. 53 

surprise can be imagined, on coming over the hills south of the 
Falls, at seeing a party of mounted Indians rise out of the valley 
below and form on the bluffs north of town. 

Nothing but supreme audticity could serve the turn in such an 
unexpected dilemma, the Indians being largely in the majority; so, 
clapping spurs to their horses, the command dashed madly forward 
to the attack; which show of confident bravery, the Indians per- 
ceiving, and doubtless thinking the advancing force much larger 
than it really was, the whole band immediately commenced a rapid 
and disorderly retreat for the river and the timber north of town, 
the soldiers following in hot pursuit. In crossing a wet and 
marshy spot, the horse of one of the Indians sank in the mire, 
which caused him to dismount and run for his life. This noble 
red rascal was overtaken, and despite his protestations that he was 
a ''heap good Injun," was summarily dispatched. By that time the 
rest of the band was among the timber and beyond successful pur- 
suit; so the pursuing party hastily returned, gathered a few things 
at the devastated settlement, and retreated twenty-five miles before 
halting, making a short stop at the west side of the Vermillion 
River, where they fed their horses and then moved on twenty-five 
miles further before going into camp. 

In October of this same year, all Dakota Avas deserted by the 
whites, save those of Yankton and BonHomme counties, who 
were enclosed in a sod stockade at Yankton, expecting every hour 
to be attacked by the savages. All this abandonment of a vast 
region in a fair way to be reclaimed, w;h the result, partly of an 
Indian ''scare" consequent upon the Minnesota massacres, and 
partly in consequence of the appearance of small parties of preda- 
tory Indians along the Missouri River. How much of the alarm 
was justifiable by the true state of affairs, and how much of it came 
from that panicky part of human nature, which is often aroused 
by a mere spark, and spreads on all sides without apparent reason, 
magnifying petty dangers, and eventuating in a general stampede 
— is a matter for difference of opinion. Certain it is, that there 
were grave causes for serious alarm, and equally certain is it, that 
the stampede was eflFectual and almost universal. Many of the 
incidents of the hurriedjflight were ludicrous in the extreme, and are 
told to this day with great relish by those who were eye-witnesses 
of the occurrences. Clay and Union — quite thickly settled coun- 
ties — were depopulated in a day, the people rushing into Sioux 



54 HISTORY OF SOI'THEASTERX DAKOTA. 

City, and leaving everything behind them — not even stopping to 
secure the entrances to their liouses. Everywhere was demoraliza- 
tion, ending in complete and rapid desertion. 

The Sioux Valley remained deserted from August, 1802, until 
May, 1865, when Fort Dakota was established at Sioux Falls, Cap- 
tain Eicher, v/ith Company E, Sixth Iowa Cavalry, being detailed 
for that purpose, and a tract of land five miles square, including 
the present townsite, was set apart for a military reservation. The 
location of this post was selected by Col. John Patteje and W. W. 
Brookings. The latter gentleman had carte blanche to locate the 
post where he thought best, and came with the intention of locat- 
ing it on the nortliAvest quarter of section sixteen, instead of on 
the southwest quarter; but Col. Pattee was of the opinion that, if 
the Fort should be located near the Island, the Indians could fire 
into it from the bluffs — a point, which, being apparent to Mr. Brook- 
ings, that gentleman yielded his preference; and, in consequence, 
from this incident, the town of Sioux Falls was started near where 
the Cataract House now stands, many thousands of dollars being 
thereby added to the value of the southwest quarter of section 
sixteen. 

A. F. Hayward, now of Yankton, was the first sutler or post 
trader at Sioux Falls, but only remained there until November, 
1865, when he sold out to C. K. Howard, who at that date located 
at Sioux Falls, where he has ever since remained, and has become 
the most widely known resident of the Sioux Valley, as well as one 
of the most enterpising, prosperous and popular business men. 

The Volunteers were soon relieved by regular troops under Col. 
Knox, who remained until the fall of 1869, when Fort Dakota was 
abandoned. The reservation, however, remained until the spri]ig 
of 1870. 

In the summer of 1866, John Nelson, John Thompson, William 
Melville and Sylvester Delaney, with their families, settled in Min- 
nehaha County. The two former have lived here ever since, and 
are among the wealthy and influential farmers of the county of 
Minnehaha. 

In 1867, Ole Gunderson, Foster Gundcrson, Martin Gunderson, 
John Johnson, Larson Sweet, J. Larson, Ole 0. Getset, OleJ. Arn- 
son, and their families, settled in the county. In the same year, 
Edward Broughton settled at Sioux Falls, and a number of par- 
ties moved into the Sioux Valley, within the limits of Lincoln 



SIOUX FALLS SETTLEMENT. 55 

County; and during the session of 1867-8^ the Legislature re-organ- 
ized Minnehaha County, after an interregnum of six years, by the 
appointment of John Nelson, John Thompson and William Mel- 
ville, Commissioners, and Edward Broughton, Register of Deeds; 
and Lincoln County by the appointment of Benjamin .^llinger, 
Roger T, Beal and Patrick McDonald, Commissioners; J. L, Laird, 
Sheriff; William L. Kuykendall, Judge of Probate; William Morris, 
Register of Deeds; N. J. Bond, A. B. Moore and Lewis Lowell, 
Justices of the Peace; James Mastersou, Constable; J. H. Gilder- 
sleeve, County Superintendent of Public Instruction; S. H.Vinson, 
Surveyor; Ed. P. Johnson, District Attorney. 

From this time on, the Sioux Valley settled rapidly. In 1869, 
N. E. Phillips, one of the most popular and successful merchants 
of the Valley, settled at Sioux Falls, John Hunter, J. Duling, D. 
Reynolds and Clark Coates were among the settlers of the same 
year, are all here still, with the exception of Mr. Duling, deceased, 
and have all been quite successful in their business undertakings. 
The year 1870 found R. F. Pettigrew, John Bippus and Col. Allen 
here, as also Dr. J, L. Phillips and John McClellan returned to 
their old camping ground. 

In 1869 a few settlers came into Brookings County, and in Jan- 
uary, 1871, Brookings County was organized by the appointment of 
Martin Trygstadt, L. M. Hewlet and Elias Thompson, County Com- 
missioners, and W. H. Packard, Register of Deeds. This was the 
third county organized in the Sioux Valley. 

In 1871 William Van Eps, who has since become one of the most 
prominent merchants of Dakota, moved to Sioux Falls. 

In 1870 the military reservation at Sioux Falls was vacated, and 
much of the land that Sioux Falls now occupies was pre-empted 
from the government. From this time forward the settlement of 
the Sioux Valley has progressed with wonderful rapidity. In the 
fall of 1871 Minnehaha County sent Col. Charles Allen and 0. B. 
Iverson to the Legislature, and during the same year, W. F. Kiter' 
started the Sioux Falls rantacjrapli. In May, 1872, Judge W. W. 
Brookings held at Sioux Falls the first term of court ever held in 
the Sioux Valley. 

Having thus brought down th hitht.L^ unwritten history of 
the early settlement of the Sioux Valley, to vv'ithin a time when the 
material data are easy of access from the recoras-, both official and 



56 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

printed, we now proceed to the further pleasant task of noting the 
progress of events, beginning with 1871. 

SIOUX FALLS. 

The ''Capital of Minnehaha County,'' which — by way of paren- 
thesis, — we may state, occupies an elevation of 87.1 feet above 
Sioux City, Iowa, 25.8 feet aboA^e Yankton, and 1413 feet above 
the sea-level, is located on sections sixteen, seventeen and twenty- 
one, of town one hundred and one, range forty-nine. As its name 
indicates, it is situated near the Falls of the Big Sioux River, 
which, being so uncommon in prairie countries, has given the place 
more than a mere local celebrity. When we speak of these Falls^ 
we mean/a//s, not mere rapids; the equal in beauty of St, Antho- 
ny's, and surpassed in grandeur only by Niagara. The general 
course of the river is south; but its direction through this town- 
ship is to every point of the compass, flowing north through the 
village and finding its way through the granite, quartz-like rocks 
that mark its banks. Here the water comes gliding along doAvn 
the incline worn in the solid rocks by the incessant wash of the 
ages of the eternal past, until it meets an obstruction, where it 
seems to pause just long enough to form a graceful curve, and 
then plunges with a roar into the abyss below, where it moves for- 
ward in a seething, boiling mass, until another obstruction is met, 
which it leaps with a bound, a portion of the volume rising in the 
form of spray, making rainbows in the sunlight and falling like 
rain on the adjacent rocks, while the greater portion rushes on, 
impatient of restraint, until, the last barrier passed, it moves off 
quietly to the Missouri. 

Just below the business portion of the town, the river divides 
and forms what is known as Brookings Island, an island containing 
about twenty acres. This island is thickly covered with a heavy 
srrowth of choice hardwood timber. Surrounded as it is Avitk clear 
water and projecting rocks, and, during the summer season, covered 
with a thick shade, through which comes the music of the water- 
fall just below, it is one of the most desirable, if not the most 
desirable, resort for pleasure seekers in all the great Northwest. 

From 1871 the present town of Sioux Falls has had a very steady 
and constant growth, and here begins the following detailed histor}- : 

The advent in the year following of T. Pomeroy and E. G. 
Hancock, jewelers; R. C. Hawkins, mason; 0. P. Weston and A. 



SIOUX FALLS. 57 



Petterson, carpenters and builders, and W. F. Kiter with a print- 
ing office, while it undoubtedly entitled them to the appellation 
of ^'first settlers," caused no such excitement as had the arrival of 
new settlers in previous years. 

The year 1873 Avas one of exceptional prosperity to the then 
young town. A second newspaper, the Sioux Falls Independent^ 
was established May 15th, by C. W. McDonald; the U. S. Land 
Office was located here June 9th; the Sioux Falls mills were put in 
operation; a brick yard was opened by D. H. Talbot; hotels were 
built; business houses established; the old barracks were torn down 
in July, giving place to more modern architecture, and everything 
seemed to promise a brilliant future for Sioux Falls, without its hav- 
ing to pass through the customary stages of doubt aud]uncertainty 
so common at the settlement and building of towns further east. 
The population of the town kept pace with the growth of the bus- 
iness interests, the school census taken in September showing the 
number of people residing in the town to be 593. 

During the winter of 1871, the brewery was built by Messrs. 
Knott & Nelson, the material of the old stonej^hotel" which stood 
in the middle of Main Street, just west of the Island, being thus 
utilized. 

The grasshopper visitation of 1871 will long be remembered by 
tlie older inhabitants. Their ravages were so wide-spread in ex- 
tent, and the destruction following in their wake so complete, that 
many families were left destitute of the means of subsistence, and 
a still larger number was left, unable to again seed their land with- 
out assistance. To meet this emergency the Minnehaha County Aid 
Society was organized January 25th, 1875, for the purpose of sup- 
plying the wants of the needy poor, and assisting those who were 
unable to buy seed for their next season's crops. Daring the time 
this society was in operation it distributed -^531.68 in money, be- 
sides vast quantities of clothing, seed, &c., sent out by the gener- 
ous hearted people of the East. That the substance of all the 
people here was not destroyed by the voracious '' hopper-grass," is 
amply proved by the fact that in the spring of 1875, after all the 
ground was seeded, some 6,000 bushels of surplus wheat were sent 
to market in one train. 

In the spring of 1875, people went to work, the same as though 
they had never seen a grasshopper l-^tf^rmiued to surmount all ob- 
stacles and build a city. Gale's Grove was set out in May of this 



58 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

year. During the summer, Henry Callender's dwelling, Dennis' 
blacksmith shop and Sherman's postoffice building (now First Na- 
tional Bank building), were built, being the first brick buildings 
erected in Sioux Falls. 

The year 1876, was in a measure one of disappointment to the 
people of Sioux Falls, as many of them had confidently expected a 
railroad to the town during the Centennial year. When they 
found this Avas not to be, they at once turned their attention to 
the task of getting communication with the rest of the world by 
telegraph. This undertaking was completed in November, and E. 
W. Coughran was selected as operator. The first business mes- 
sage sent from Sioux Falls was by W. H. Corson; the first paid 
message reseived was for R. M. Clapp. Since this time Sioux 
Falls has enjoyed almost uninterrupted telegraphic communica- 
tion with the East. Upon the removal of Mr. Coughran from the 
city, the office was placed in charge of the present efficient opera- 
tor, E. J. Manix. 

During the summer of 1876, a sidewalk was built from the 
Land Office to Van Eps' store, which was hailed by the people 
with delight, as a token of the coming metropolitan greatness of 
the town. The bridge across the river at Eighth street was fin- 
ished December llth, at an expense of ^1,750.00, nearly the en- 
tire amount being raised by private subscription 

One of those little incidents, which show more forcibly than 
columns of figures can, the growth of a business, was told in the 
fall of 1876. While the workmen were cleaning up the rubbish 
that had accumulated at the back-end of Howard's store, they came 
upon an old greasy wooden box, almost fifteen inches square, and 
about three feet long. "Charley" being called out for an explan- 
ation, said: "I had that made to go around a tin can in 1871; 
then I was the only one in Sioux Falls who sold kerosene; the 
stage made but one trip a week. I used to strap that old box on 
behind the stage and have it brought up full of oil, and it used to 
last the w^hole town until the stage came up again. Now, just 
five years after, Avith seven other firms in the town selling kero- 
sene, my last lot of oil Avas fifty barrels." 

The next improvement (?) in tiie toAvn, of a public character, 
was tlie building of the calaboose in February, 1878, the village 
having been incorporated in 1877. This structure, built of 2 by 
4's, spiked together, Avas used by the city until the completion of 



SIOUX FALLS. 59 



Sherman's stone building, corner of Main and North streets, in the 
fall of 1878, or spring of 1879, when the county exchanged with 
the village, giving the use of the cells in the basement of Sher- 
man's building for the use of the old calaboose, which was moved 
down the river bjlow the Commercial House, and enlarged. This 
building served as the common jail of the county until the comple- 
tion of the present handsome structure of brick and stone on Main 
street. Aft^.-r serving its day and generation this "noble" old 
building, hallowed with so many historic associations, went down 
stream, bugs and all, in the flood of 1881. 

The bridge at Tenth street was begun in March of this year, 1878, 
and completed September 1st, at an expense of ^2,700.00. Like 
the bridge on Eighth street it was built mostly by subscription. 

Up to this time, the county officers had had no official home; 
the county books and records were to be found distributed among 
the various business houses of the town, wherever the officiars 
private business interests happened to be located. At the April 
meeting of the Board of County Commissioners, E. A. Sherman 
made a proposition to the Board, for the erection of a suitable 
building for the county officers, provided the county would rent the 
same until such time as the county should be able to build a suita- 
ble Court House. The proposition was accepted, and Mr. Sher- 
man at once proceeded to the erection of the stone building, cor- 
ner of main and Fifth streets. The cells are in the basement; the 
ground floor has two commodious offices, one for the Register of 
Deeds, and one for the Clerk of the District Court, with a fire-proof 
vault attached for the safe keeping of the county records; while, 
on the second floor, are two more offices, one for the Judge of 
Probate, and one for the Superintendent of Schools, and a court 
room of ample dimensions. 

The Germania Verein Society was organized January 10th, 1880, 
and the building of Germania Hall began in July. The Hall will 
comfortabl V seat 550 persons, and is duly appreciated by the citizens. 
The cost of the building, when completed, will not be far from $7,000" 

In May, 1880, a hook and ladder truck was received, which was 
the first public acknowledgment that the city was liable to be dam- 
aged by fire. The expense of the truck and accompanying appli- 
ances was §1,200. A fire company was organized, but having no 
place in which to hold their meetings, it has been disbanded so 



60 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN" DAKOTA. 



that Sioux Falls is now depending on frequent showers of rain 
and the volunteer efforts of its citizens, for jirotection from fire. 

In May, 1880, the County Commissioners contracted for the 
building of a jail, to be erected on Ninth street, at a cost of S7,627i 
Messrs. McCormack and Stratton being the successful bidders* 
After the building had reached the second story, it was found that 
the foundation was not suitable; work was discontinued, and after 
discussion and consultation, the building was removed to its pres- 
ent location on Main street near Sixth. 

In June, 1880, the Cross Mining Company was organized, with 
a capital of $20,000, for the purpose of operating the Cross mine 
in the Black Hills, the officers being: R. F. PettigreAv, President; 
J. L. Phillips, Vice President; H. L. Hollister, Treasurer; E. W. 
Coughran, Secretary; N. E. Phillips, Superintendent; and C. H. 
A^incent, T, H. Brown and E. Sharpe, Directors. 

The U. S. Census, completed in June of this year, showed Sioux 
Falls to have a population of 2,227, while in the county there 
were 8,222. 

The U. S. Land Office was closed September 11th, of this year, 
having been ordered to Mitchell. During the seven years and 
three months of its location in Sioux Falls, our people had formed 
so strong an attachment for it, and its gentlemanly officers, that, 
while admitting the justness of the order for its removal, they 
were sorry to see the office go. 

At the last session of the Dakota Legislature, Sioux Falls was 
selected as the location of the Territorial Penitentiary, and $50,000 
was appropriated for its erection. The Directors named in the bill 
were T. H. Brown, R. H. Booth and W. L. Dow. At the organi- 
zation of the Board, W. L. Dow was elected President; T. H. 
Brown, Secretary; and R. H. Booth, Treasurer. The site selected 
by the Directors, for the building, is on the bluff just north of the 
Falls, and east of the Southern Minnesota railroad track. 

After visiting various State institutions, the Directors adopted a 
plan, of which the following is the official description: 

"The Penitentiary will consist of a main building, 54 by 70 feet, 
and a wing, 51 by 77^^- feet. The main building is three stories high 
in front, anl four in the rear. The first story is eleven and one- 
half feet high, and contains an entrance hall, lavatory, cook roonii 
cellar and two store rooms. The second story is eleven feet high, 
and contains the entrance hall. Warden's and Dejiuty Warden's 



SIOUX FALLS. 61 



offices, dining room and three guard rooms. The thii-d story con- 
tains a chapel and two rooms for hospital purposes. The chapel is 
twenty feet high, the rear portion made in two stories, the upper 
story to be used for a female prison. The total height of walls 
above the grade line, is 45 feet; the wing contains a block of cells, 
four tiers in height, seventy-two in number. Each cell is five feet 
wide, by eight feet long, by seven feet high, and is designed for 
two prisoners. The cells are connected by iron galleries and stairs. 
The corridor around the cells is twelve feet wide and thirty-two 
feet high. The walls of the building are to be of iSioux Falls 
stone, with some light colored stone for trimmings, as selected by 
the Directors. The stone walls are to be lined with brick. The 
cells are to be of brick, except the floors which are to be of stone; 
partition walls of brick, cornices, gutters and roofing of iron. 
The first floor will be of concrete, and those above of wood, with 
plaster filling. The building will be as near fire proof as possible 
with the means at command." 

The contract for the building was awarded August 30th, '81, to 
R. D. Silver, of Lincoln, Nebraska, for 844,763. Work on the 
building has been commenced, and will be prosecuted with all reas- 
onable despatch, until the work is completed. 

The snow fall of 1880-81 was unprecedented in the history of 
of the Northwest. From October 15th, 1880, the date of the first 
snow storm of the season, it seemed as though all the moisture then 
in the atmosphere, or likely to be in the atmosphere for years to 
come, had been inspired with an instinct to form itself into snow 
and precipitate itself on the prairies and in the valleys tributary to 
the Big Sioux River. Not only were the snow falls immense in 
volume, but they followed each other with provoking promptness, 
and a strife for ascendancy, worthy of a better cause. By the be- 
ginning of 1881, the railroad was hopelessly blockaded; the mails 
only came at intervals and provisions and fuel began to get scarce. 
By the middle of February, actual iiscomfort began to stare those 
in the face, who, under ordinary circumstances, Avere able to pro- 
cure food and fuel. What shall be said, then, of the anxieties of 
those who had neither food, fuel nor money ? It was indeed one of 
those seasons that recall to our minds, that in the great scale of 
existence, the whole family of mankind are upon a level with each 
other. The capitalist, as well as the dweller in the sod shanty, was 
compelled to take his coffee "straight'' — sugar was a luxury not to 



62 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

be had. They each had to gather their robes around them, to keep 
warm, and in tliis regard, the poor man; having been schooled in 
privation, liad not the dread of the keen wind blowing across miles 
of snow, that his more o])nlent neighbor had. When the wood 
and coal was coasumed, the lumber yards were next attacked by 
those who could afFord-^rather, had the money to pay for — this 
kind of fuel. The Worthington & Sioux Falls Railroad Company 
had thousands of ties piled up along the track here, ready for the ex- 
tension of its line as soon as spring should open. These were gen- 
erously placed at the disposal of the citizens at actual cost; a com- 
mittee was appointed to superintend their distribution, and they were 
carefully doled out to the inhabitants — the poor man Avithout a 
cent of money getting his "rations"the same as the man with his 
pocket filled with cash. Thus passed Februaiy and March, every 
one hoping that winter would let up with April — and it did. 

High water was expected when the vast body of snow should go 
off; it was the theme on every tongue; the possibilities and the prob- 
abilities were the staple subjects for discussion at every gathering, 
on every corner, at every table. As the middle of April came and 
went, the people began to get more anxious and uneasy, if possible; 
still the snow seemed to take all the water offered, apparently in- 
clined to " bear " the market. Not until the 17th of April did the 
river show any signs of the tremendous break-up that was so soon 
to come. The "old settlers" prophesied four feet of water where 
the lumber yards were located on the east side of the river, basing 
their prophecv on the fact that they had seen that much water 
there when there was less provocation than then existed. Their 
statement was believed — and yet was it believed? No effort was 
made to secure the property on the east side; all that was done, be- 
ing to raise each of the wagon bridges a few feet. 

At half past two o'clock on the morning of Wednesday, April 
20th, 1881, the ice moved out of the Sioux River, taking with it 
the Tenth Street, Eighth Street and Pembina Railroad bridges, 
Webber's restaurant and dwelling, C. 0. Henjum's blacksmith shop, 
E. Price's barn, T. T. Cochran's stable, H. Gilbert's ice house, Ross 
& McKinnon's carpenter shop, the Badger lumber office, and office 
building of the Queen Bee Mill. 

After this terrible outburst, and exhibition of power and energy, 
the river fell about afoot, but on Thursday again began rising, and 
continued rising, until Saturday, about noon, when the river had 



SIOUX FALLS. C3 



reached a height of fifteen feet and six inches above its ordinary 
level, the water being five and a half feet deep on the grinding 
floor of the Cascade Mill. 

On Island Avenue the water cama up to the front of Stringhani 
& Gillets' block, stretching around just back of the Williams 
House, the Emerson block at Ninth street having about five feet 
of water in the basement, all the basements north of this being 
flooded. The water covered Phillips Avenue half way between 
the postoffice and Van Eps' corner; thence diagonally across the 
town, past Parker's lumber yard, toward Van Eps' residence, and 
thence to the bluffs south of the brewery. On the east side the 
water extended east of the buildings a block, east of the depot to 
the switch and thence down the track, past the Queen Bee Mill, 
coming into the channel again just below the lower mill. 

The persons and corporations who were losers by this flood, to 

the extent of $1,000 and upwards, are as follows: 

Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul R. R $27,000 

Chicag-o, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha 20,000 

Queen Bee Mill Co 15.000 

Oshkosh Lumber Co 12,000 

E. Sharpe & Co.. lumber 8,000 

A. A. Grrout, lumber 8,000 

B. F. Roderick, lumber 5,000 

Webber, Shaw & Watson Mill 8,000 

Minnehaha County bridges 6,000 

E. Price, hotel 3,500 

Ross & McKinnon, shop and planing mill 2,700 

C. A. Paulus. hotel 2,500 

J. F. Webber, grain 2,000 

Badger Lumber Yard 2,000 

Phillip Piaster, saloon 2,000 

Village — Calaboose and damage to streets 2,000 

Emerson, Sherman & Co., Mill 1,500 

T. T. Cochran, stable and stock damaged 1,500 

Gilbert & Oilman, grain warehouse 1,500 

Grout & Petterson, ice houses 1 ,400 

Parmley & Davis, ice houses 1 ,200 

Other losses, smaller in amount, but in many incidents more 
keenly felt, perhaps, than any of these, bring the footing of the 
losses up to 81J:0,000. Much of the work done on the east side dur- 
ing the past summer has been the repairing and replacing of the 
property swept away by this great flood. 

TOWif PLATS. 

The first recorded plat of the present village of Sioux Falls was 
made by Dr. J. L. Phillips, dated August 9th, 1871, and is entitled 
"J. L. Phillips' Sioux Falls." It consisted of nine blocks, in the 
northwest corner of the southwest quarter of section 16, town 101, 



fl4 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

range 49, and extending from Phillips Avenue on the east to 
Minnesota Avenue on the west, and from Sixth street (just north 
of the Merchant's Hotel) on the north, to Ninth street (just south 
of the Cataract House) on the south. 

Gale's addition to the town of Sioux Falls was recorded Angus 
16th, 1S7J, and comprised twenty-one blocks on the north side of 
the northwest quarter of section 21, town 101, range 49. 

Since that time the following additions to the town have been 
made, platted and recorded, in the order named: 

West Sioux Falls, by John McClellan, January 5, 1872. Brook- 
ings & Edmunds' addition, by W. W. Brookings and N. Edmunds, 
April 23, 1872. Shaw's Addition, by A. F. Shaw, July 22, 1872. 
Phillips' Addition, by Dr. J. L. Phillips, September 10, 1872. 
Gale's Addition, No. 1, by A. Gale, July 22, 1873. Grigbsy's Ad- 
dition, No. 1, by M. Grigsby, July 23, 1873. East Sioux Falls, 
by I. Emerson, December 29, 1875. Bennett's First Addition, by 
R. H. Bennett, May 26, 1876. Bennett's Second Addition, by R. 
H. Bennett, October 11, 1877. Phillips' Addition to East Sioux 
Falls, by N. E. Phillips, L. T. Dunning and R. F. Pettigrew, Feb- 
ruary 18, 1878. Gale's Third Addition, by A. Gale, May 18, 1878. 
Emerson's Addition, by E. A. Sherman, June 8, 1878. Sherman's 
Addition, by I. Emerson, July 18, 1878. Pettigrew's Addition, by 
R. F. Pettigrew, December 9, 1878. Millspaugh's Addition, by H. 
C. Millspaugh, March 25, 1879. Folsom's Addition, by Peter Fol- 
som, March 29. 1879. Morse's Addition, by Marshall Morse, R. 
F. Pettigrew, L. E. Gale and A. Gale, May 30, 1879. Gale's 
Fourth Addition, by A. Gale, April 4th. 1879. 

Other additions will undoubtedly follow as rapidly as there is a 
demand for the lots. All these various additions are included in 
the corporate limits of Sioux Falls, except those of Sherman and 
Emerson, Avhicli lie just outside the village limits, Sherman's addi- 
tion being on the south, and Emerson's on the west. 

VILLAGE CORPORATION". 

At the twelfth session of the Legislature of Dakota, in January, 
1877, all that portion of township 101, range 49, known and de- 
scribed as "all of section 16, and the east half of the east half of sec- 
tion 17, and the west half of the west half of section 15, and 
the north half of the north half of section 21, and the northeast 
quarter of the northeast quarter of section 20. and the northwest 
quarter of the northwest quarter of section 22," was constituted a 



SIOUX FALLS. 65 



body corporate and politic by the name of tbe Village of Sioux 
Falls, and by that name they and their successors forever were^to 
have perpetual succession. 

The government of the corporation was thus created, and the man- 
agement of its affairs was vested in a President, who is ex-officio a 
Trustee, and four Trustees and other officers provided for. The 
first election under the charter was held on the third Tuesday of 
March, 1877, and resulted in the election of C. K. Howard, Presi- 
dent; J. L. Phillips,Wm Van Eps, E. A. Sherman and H. Callender, 
Trustees; CO. Natesta, Clerk, and Geo. B. Sammons, Treasurer. 

The annual election of 1878 resulted in the choice of C. K. How- 
ard, President; J. L. Phillips, E. A. Sherman, N. E. Phillips, 
Henry Callender, Geo. B. Sammons, Trustees; C. 0. Natesta, Clerk, 
andH. L. Hollister, Treasurer. 

At the session of the Legislature in 1879, amendments were 
made to the charter, extending the boundaries of the village so as 
to cover all of section 16, the west half of 15, the east half of 17, 
the north half of 21, the northeast quarter of 20, the northwest 
quarter of 22, the south half of the southwest quarter of 10, the 
south half of the south half of 9, and the south half of the southeast 
quarter of 8, 101-49. Another amendment was also made provid- 
ing for the annual election of a police justice. 

At the election of March, 1879, C. K. Howard was elected Presi- 
dent; J. L. Phillips, C. H. Vincent, J. B. Watson and T. T. Coch- 
ran, Trustees; E. W. Caldwell, Clerk; H. L. Hollister, Treasurer 
and L. M. Estabrook, Police Justice. 

By the election of 1880, the affairs of the village government 
were entrusted to C. K. Howard, President; L. T. Dunning, 0. P. 
Weston, T. T.Cochran and Andrew Petterson, Trustees; Wm. H. 
Holt, Clerk; H. L. Hollister, Treasurer; and R. C. Hawkins, Police 
Justice. 

The present Village Board, elected in March, 1881, are L. T. 
Dunning, President; J. B. Watson, W. E. Willey, F. Kemerth and 
Andrew Petterson, Trustees; Wm.H. Holt, Clerk; H. L. Hollister, 
Treasurer and R. C. Hawkins, Police Justice. The Board appoint- 
ed E.D. Tracy, Marshal, and C. F. Jeffers, Assistant Marshal. 

The affairs of the village from the first have been judiciously 
conducted, and the people are to be commended for their choice of 
officers. 



6Q HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN" DAKOTA. 

TOWNSHIP OF SIOUX FALLS. 

The people of Minneliaha county decided by ballot, in 1880, to 
adopt the system of township organization and government pro- 
vided by the general statutes. At the general election in that year 
the first Township Boards were elected, the persons chosen in the 
township of S'oux Falls (which includes the village for election 
purposes) were: H. R. Hunter, A. F. Davenport and K. Thompson, 
Supervisors; E. Currey, Clerk: G. B. Sammons, Treasurer; H. Cal- 
lender. Assessor; L. D. Henry and F. S.Emerson, Justices of the 
Peace; H. Callender and C. T. Jeffers, Constables. 

In July, 1881, F. Currey resigned his office as Clerk, and C. W. 
McDonald was appointed to fill the vacancy. 

THE CHURCHES OF SIOUX FALLS. 

With the first immigration to Sioux Falls came the Missionaries 
of the Church. Men, who, in the spirit of the disciples of old, who 
left all that they might follow Christ, accepted all the discomforts 
of the frontier, the hardships that naturally follow in the wake of 
pioneer life, and the privations incident to the settlement of a new 
country, that on the extreme limits of civilization, they might be 
instrumental m establishing the outposts of the Kingdom, and in 
the name of King Immanuel, might take possession of this goodly 
land. They came with strong arms willing hands and warm hearts, 
ready to do the work to be accomplished. 

Methodist Episcop(d. — The Northwest Iowa Conference of Ihe 
M. E. Church was among the first to recognize the importance of 
occupying this particular field. In the year, 1871, that body sent 
the Rev. Thomas Cuthbort to organize the work of that denomina- 
tion in this part of the Ten-itory, and to lay the foundation of a 
Methodist Episcopal Church in Sioux Falls. He found the mem- 
bers few in numbers and weak financially. He was followed, in 
1872, by the Rev. G. M. Curl, who divided his labors between Sioux 
Falls and other adjacent appointments, preaching first in the old 
barracks, afterward in the Episcopal Church. Near the close of the 
Conference Year, in 1873, he had succeeded in the erection of a 
building, 18 by 26 feet, on Fourth Avenue, near Coats Street, which 
was used by the society for its public worship until January 1st, 
1878, when they occupied the basement of their church on Main 
Street. Mr. Curl was succeeded by the Rev. J. W. Rigby, who in the 
fall of 1874, was in turn succeeded by the Rev. G. D. Hook. During 
Mr. Hook's ministration the society was incorporated under the ter- 



SIOUX FALLS. 



ritorial laws as the '" First Methodist Episcopal Church of Sioux 
Falls," the incorporation being effected August 31st ,1875. The 
trustees were: A. W. Manning; C. W. McDonald, Mrs. L. E. 
Gale, H. J. Whipple and James Morrison. The Rev. B, B. Scott 
was the appointee of the Conference in 1875. He was succeeded in 
1876 by the Rev. W. Fielder. During Mr. Fielder's ministration 
the society was exceptionally prosperous. His ability, sterling in- 
tegrity and manly worth, together with his zeal for the Master, in- 
creased the membership, and attracted such audiences, that the lit- 
tle room was no longer large enough for their accommodation, and 
the Society took steps for the erection of a more commodious build- 
ing iu which to hold services. September 10th, 1877, two lots on 
the corner of Main and Eleventh Streel:s were purchased for the 
Society, and the project for building a church was so far matured 
that on the 18th of September, the Rev. W. Fielder, R. C. Haw- 
kins and C. W. McDonald were elected a Building Committee and 
charged with the erection of a church building to cost not less than 
^3,000. The plans were furnished by A. V. Lambert, of Fort Dodge, 
Iowa, and tlie contract for the carpenter work taken by Messrs. 
Weston & Petterson, of this City. The basement is built of stone; 
is 32 feet, 10 inches, by 50 feet, 10 inches, and nine feet between 
floor and ceiling. The audience room is 32 by 50 feet, side walls 
18 feet in height, center of ceiling 24: feet from floor. The bell 
tower is 5^ by 11 feet at the ground floor, and 8 feet square above 
the ceiling of audience room, and 57 feet high. The doors and win- 
dows are gothic. The audience room is finished in solid ash and 
walnut. The total cost of the building when dedicated iu August, 
1879, was 8^,616.40. In 1879 the Rev"^ S. P. Marsh was assigned 
to Sionx Falls, and was succeeded in 1880, by Rev. L. Hartsough. 
Early in the present year the society built a parsonage on the lot 
adjoining the church, 20 by 30 feet, one and one-half stories above 
the basement. 

('o}igregafio)ial Church. — The Congregationalists were among 
the first of the denominations to occupy Sioux Falls, establishing 
an ecclesiastical organization here July 1st. 1872, with the Rev. J. 
A. Palmer as pastor. Tlie church accommodations were of a very 
limited nature, the Society at first using the old barracks for its 
public worship. At the completion of Allen's Hall, the church 
found a new home, and again changed its place of holding service 
at the completion of Phillips" Hall. Mr. Palmer's pastorate ended 



GS HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

in 1874. He was succeeeed, in 1875, by the Rev. A. D. Adams, 
who continued as pastor until 1878. He was in turn succeeded by 
the Rev. J. N. McLoney, who is the present pastor. On the Gth 
of March, 1879, the Society was incorporated as the "First Congre- 
gational Church of Sioux Falls," with Dr. J. L. Phillips, A. Gale 
and 0. C^>. Holman as Trustees. Early in the year, 1879, Messrs. 
E. A. Sherman, J. B. Young and R. J. Wells were elected a Build- 
ing Committee and charged with the erection of a church, 36 by 
58 feet, with a lecture room, 16 by 27 feet. A contract was made 
with S. McCormack, and the church was completed in August 
1879. The church is situated on the west side of Dakota Avenue, 
between Eleventh and Coats streets. Present membership of the 
church, eighty-five. 

Protestant Episcopal Church. — Bishop Clarkson, of the Epis- 
copal Church, was early in the field, and secured two lots for the 
location of a church for the Episcopal societ}^ which he established 
here. A building, 20 by -40 feet, to which has since been added 
chancel and vestry rooms, was built in the summer of 1872. The 
Society, under the name of Cavalry Episcopal Church, was organ- 
ized September 30th, 1873, by the election of E. G. Wheeler, Senior 
Warden; F. D. Cowles, Junior Warden; C. H. Winsor, W. A. 
Cory, J. A. Hand, J. M. Washburn and Dr. J. Roberts, Vestrymen. 
The Rev. W. H. H. Ross was the first Rector, and acted in that 
capacity until May, 1874, when he was succeeded by the Rev. W. 
W". Fowler. At the close of Mr. Fowler's pastorate, the Rev. Mr. 
Huntington was Rector for a few months, and was followed by the 
Rev. W. P. Case. Upon Mr. Case's departure from the city, Rev. 
T. B. Berry was sent to take charge of the society. Soon after 
the death of Mrs. Berry, which occurred in the spring of the pres- 
ent year, Mr. Berry resigned his pastorate, and returned to New 
York State, since which time the church has been without regular 
services. The present ofiicers are: G. V. Quilliard, Senior Warden; 
G. W. Lewis, Junior Warden; A. T. Fleetwood, E. G. Wright and 
R. Fleming, Vestrymen. 

Baptist Church. — Through the efforts of the Rev. A. W. Hilton, 
the members of the Baptist Church were gathered together, and 
an organization of the society effected, July 4th, 1875. The society 
at this time numbered ten members, with the Rev. A. W. Hilton 
as pastor, who continued to act in that capacity until August 1st, 
1878. On the 6th of October, 1877, the society was legally incor- 



i 



SlOrX FALLS, 69 



porated as the ''First Baptist Church of Sioux Falls," with Messrs. 
M. T. Hogaboom, F. P. Dobson, and M. W. Boulet as Trustees. 
September 1st, 1878, the Rev. H. E. Norton accepted the pastorate 
of the church, which position he held until October 1st, 1881, the 
society at present being without a pastor. There are now twenty- 
five members of the church, of whom M. T. Hogaboom, B. F. 
Roderick and M. ' W. Boulet are Trustees. Arrangements are 
about complete for the building of a house of worship, the society 
in the meantime holding regular services in Sherman's Hall. 

The Methodist Church— On the 11th of November, 1878, the 
Free Methodist ('hurch perfected an organization, A. W, Hays, R. 
Hanson and E. E. Warren, being elected Trustees. The first pas- 
tor was the Rev. S. P. LaDue. Mr. LaDue was succeeded by the 
Rev. D. W. Cook, the present pastor. The society have a small 
church building on Fourth Avenue, near Coats street, of which A. 
W. Hays, C. E. Ulrich and George Hyde are the Trustees. 

Second Adventlsts — The Second Adventists effected an organi- 
zation in Sioux Falls during the summer of 1879, their minister 
having frequently visited the place during the previous year. They 
now hold services regularly each week in Sherman's Hall. The 
Rev. E. B. Whitney is pastor. They are now about to incorpor- 
ate the society as the "Seventh Day Adventists," the trustees being 
John Hays, L. W. Jones and W. T. Henton. The society have 
purchased three lots south of the school house, and are awaiting !he 
arrival of the material, ordered some time since, so that they may 
erect a church thereon, 21x36 feet. 

Unitarian Church — The Rev. John Visher visited Sioux Falls 
during the summer of the present year and found members enough 
to form a Unitarian Society. Their place of holding service is 
Germania Hall. Pastor, Rev. John Visher. 

Lutheran Churc]i--T\\e "Norwegian Evangelical Lutheran Con- 
gregation of Sioux Falls" was organized January 10th, 1877, 
with the Rev. 0. 0. Sando, of the Norwegian Evangelical Luther- 
an Synod of America, as pastor. Mr. Sando remained pastor un- 
til August 7th, 1881, when the Rev. A. J. Lee took charge of the 
congregation at Sioux Falls, Split Rock and Slidre. The Society 
was incorporated under the general Territorial laws on the 31st of 
December, 1879, under the title of "The Norwegian Evangelical 
Lutheran Congregation of Sioux Falls," with K. Thompson, C. E. 
Jousberg and J. Hen jam as Trustees. The Society has purchased 



70 HISTORY OF i^OUTlIEASTERN DAKOTA. 

the west one-third of lots 1, 2 and 3 of block 6, Phillips' Sioux 
Falls, upon which they intend building a church in the near fu- 
ture; at present their services are held in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Present membership of the Society, about fifty. 

Swedish Luilieran Cliurcli — The Augustanus Synod of the Swed- 
ish Lutheran Church effected an organization among the members 
of that denomination, living in and around Sioux Falls, in the 
year 1873. They now have on their circuit over one hundred 
members, and are building a church in township 101, range 47, 
northwest of Sioux Falls. The pastor is the Rev J. H. Randahl. 

Catholic Church. — St. Michael's Society was organized in April, 
1879, by the Rev. Father Knauf, with about thirty members. A 
church was built in West Sioux Falls, which, together with its con- 
tents, was destroyed by fire June 23, 1881; loss, about ^2,000. Since 
the destruction of their church, the society has held its services in 
VanEps' Hall. The society is not as yet incorporated, though 
steps have been taken to that end; the acting Trustees are: M. 
Gerin, P. P. Boylan and John Norton. The plans for anew church 
edifice have been made and accepted; the new structure is to be of 
brick, 40 by 75 feet, side walls 21 feet above basement, with sacristy 
49 by 20 feet, two towers, one 20 feet, the other 50 feet above side 
walls. Estimited co?t of the building, when complete, $8,500. 
The pastors since the organization of the society have been the 
Rev. Father Knauf, Rev. Father Brogan and Rev. Father Wm. M. 
Maher. the present pastor, who began his labors here last August. 
The present membership of the society is about two hundred. 

PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

The first official action having for its object the establishment of 
public schools in Sioux Falls, was in 1871, when the County Super- 
intendent, John Bippus, designated the boundaries of School Dis- 
trict No. 1. as embracing all of township 101, of r'ange 49. This 
action of the County Superintendent was approved by the County 
Commissioners July 3d, 1871, but nothing further Avas done until 
April lltli, 1873, when County Superintendent A. Thorne issued a 
notice for the first school meeting in the District. The notice was 
directed to Edwin Sharpe, and appointed the meeting at the bar- 
racks on the 29th of April. 

At the meeting, so appointed, Mr. A. Gale was elected Director, 
R. F. Pettigrew, Clerk; and D. S. Goodyear. Treasurer. Although 
Sioux Falls was then dignified with a school organization, its ofl^i- 



SIOUX FALLS. 



cers were powerless to act, as the district had neither school house 
apparatus or funds wherewith to pay taashers. To overcome these 
difficulties, a special meeting of the voters of the District was called 
for the 12th of May, at which time a tax on the property in the 
District, of one per cent., Avas voted to be expended in building a 
school house, and a further tax of one-fourth of one per cent., was 
voted to be used in the purchase of school furniture. At this 
meeting, John Bippus, R. H. Booth, H. J. Whipple and R. F. Pet- 
tigrew were appointed a committee to select suitable grounds for a 
school house. This committee reported, June 2d, the selection of 
six lots in block two of Gales' addition and a corresponding num- 
ber in block 7, of J. L. Phillips' addition, adjoining. These lots 
were afterwards purchased by the District, being the ones now oc- 
cupied by the High School building. The voters present at the 
mseting directei theBjard to proceed at once to the collection of 
the tax voted, and to take such other steps as they deemed neces- 
sary in order that the school might b3 in operation at the earliest 
possible moment. The most sanguine of the people were sure that 
a public school would be started in a few days, or weeks at farthest, 
but thc'y were doomed to disappointment. The Treasurer had 
doubts in regard to his authority to collect the tax, and by the time 
he had satisfied his doubts, and got fairly to work, he found his 
Avarrant was of no use to him, he having held it until it liad ex- 
pired. The taxes he had collected were returned, and the project 
for the immediate commencement of the public school was for the 
time abandoned. At the annual meetin ;• held September 6th, 1873, 
Mr. A. Gale was elected. Director, H. J. '\Vhipple, Treasurer, and 
C. W. McDonald, Clerk. To the Board, as thus constituted, was 
committed the task of providing niue mouths of sclioolduriug the 
ensuing year, the collection of a tax of three-fourths of oue per 
cent, on all the taxable property in the District, and the building 
of a school house to cost not exceeding $1,000.00. In order to 
carry out their instructions, the Board engaged the most available 
room in the town, and on Monday, the loth day of September, 
1873, the first public school of Sioux Falls v/as opened in the Lib- 
bey building (now a part of the Commercial Hotel), on Main street, 
with Miss Clara Ledyard as teacher. They also entered into a 
contract with Edwin Sharpe for the erection of a building for 
school purposes, 22x40 feet, with twelve-foot ceiling, for 1985.00. 
The collection of the tax voted, was resisted by some of the tax 



HISTORY (IF SOl'THEASTEKN DAKOTA. 



payers, aud a petition for an injunction was presented to Judge 
Shannon, asking the Court to restrain farther proceedings in its 
collection. The prayer of the petition was not granted; the taxes 
were collected, and on the 5th day of December, 1873, the school 
house was finished and turned over to the district to the satisfac- 
tion of all parties concerned. The second terra of school, in the 
town of Sioux Falls, was taught by H. J. Whipple, beginning Jan- 
uary 12, 1874. The next term of the public scliool was taught by 
Miss Mary H. Cory, beginning April 27th, 1874. 

By the fall of 1874, the number of children in the district enti- 
tled to the privileges of the public school had increased to such an 
extent that an additional school room, aud an additional teacher, 
were found necessary. To raaet this want, the building used by the 
Methodist Society for church purposes was secured, and Misses M. 
PI. Cory and Clara Ledyard engaged as teachers; the officers of the 
district being the same as during the year 1873. 

The School Board elected in 1875, was: A. Gale, Director; C. 
Walts, Treasurer, and C. W. McDonald, Clerk. The teachers 
during this school ye&r were Misses M. H. Cory, E. F. Cowdrey 
and C. Ledyard. 

At the annual election, in 1876, T. H. Brown was elected Direc- 
tor, the other othcers holding over. The teachers selected were: 
Hon. Newton ('lark and Miss L. C. Bryan. 

During the session of the Legislature, in 1877, the school law 
Avas so amended as to make the election of officers come in the 
spring instead of the fall as before. In accordance with this 
requirement, an annual school meeting was held April 3d. 1877, 
at Avhich T. H. Brown was elected Director for one j'ear; C. W. 
McDonald, Clerk for two years, and C. Walts, Treasurer for the 
ensuing'three years. The teachers, during this school ye;ir. were 
L. D. Henry, Principal; Miss L. C. Bryan, teacher of the Interme- 
diate Department, and Miss S. Wagner, teacher of the Primary 
Department. 

The increasing needs of the district, for more school room, were 
presented to the district at the annual meeting, in 1878, at which 
time it was decided to build another school house, sufficiently large, 
not only for the present, but also for the near future. After sev- 
eral meetings had been held, and the reports of several committees 
had been heard, a Building Committee, consisting of T. H. I^rown, 
C. W. McDonald, C. Walts, J. B. Young and N. E. Phillips, was 



SIOUX FALLS. 73 



selected, and instructed to proceed with the erection of a building 
substantially as siig^'ested by the School Boai-d. After consulta- 
tion Avith the Board, the plans were drawn by C. A. Wilbur, of 
Dubuque, for a frara^ building, veneered with brick, 60 feet square 
two stories and basement with stairways and entrances on the out- 
side; each floor to be divided in the center, both ways, making 
eight school rooms, each 30 feet square, the rooms on each floor 
connecting by an octagonal room in the center of the building. 
The Buihling Committee was further charged with the furnishing 
of the building with seats, heating apparatus, etc. The contract 
for the erection of the building was let to John D. Cameron, and 
the work was done in the fall of 1878 and spring of 1879. 

The feeling engendered, in regard to the collection of the tax 
voted in 1873, took a practical turn, and petitions were presented 
to the county authorities asking for the formation of other Dis- 
tricts. At the hearing of the petitions, January 9th, 1874-, six sec- 
tions in the northeast corner of the township were attached to Dis- 
trict No. 16, At the same time, sections 10, 14, 15, and the por- 
tions of 9 and 16 lying on the east side of the Sioux River, were 
designated as School District No. 25. 

The first meeting in District No. 25 was held November 2Sth, 
1874, at which time J. F. Webber was elected Director, 0. P. Wes- 
ton, Clerk, and A. F. Shaw, Treasurer. The first terra of public 
school on the east side of the river was taught by Miss AUie F. 
Storey, beginning May 31st, 1875. 

At the annual meeting in 1875, H. W. Lewis was elected Direc- 
tor, (3. P. Weston, Clerk, and A. F. Shaw, treasurer. There was no 
school taught in the district during this school year, the district 
electing to pay tuition of the scholars attending school in District 
No. 1, and expending the moneys raised in the erection of a school 
house. At the meeting held in May, 1877, the same officers were 
re-elected, and three lots purchased from A. F. Shaw for a school 
house site. The school during the summer was taught by Miss 
Alice Morrison. 

At a special meeting held July 28th, 1877, F. M. Harthorn was 
elected Director to fill the vacancy caused by the death of I"Ir. 
Lewis. At the annual meeting held April 2nd, 1878, M. A. Stick- 
ney was chosen Director for three years. The teacher, during the 
summer, was Miss Inda Bryan, the fall term of school being taught 
by Miss Cora Chamberlin. The last meeting of the district, as a 



HISrORY OF SOUTHEASTERN^ DAKOTA. 



separate organization, of which there is any record, was on Janu- 
ary 16th, 1870, at which iresolutions were passed in opposition to the 
bill then before the Legishiture for the consolidation of Districts 1 
and 25, and the organization of an Independent School District, to 
cor.iprise all the territory embraced in the corporate limits of the 
village of Sioux Falls. 

The number of children in the twodistricts, entitled to the bene- 
fits of the public schools, as shown by the Clerk's reports, for the 
several years that they were separate organizations, was as follows: 
1873, 136; 1875, 130; 1877, 170; 1874, 140; 1876, 170; 1878, 289. 

At the session of the Legislature, in 1879, the Independent School 
District of Sioux Falls was incorporated, its limits to be indentical 
with the corporate limits of the village of Sioux Falls. T. H. 
Brown. C. W. McDonald, C. Walts, A. F. Shaw, 0. P. Weston, E. 
A. Sherman, E. Sharpe andB. F. Campbell were made a Board of 
Education for the village of Sioux Falls; by the terms of this bill, 
the said persons were to qualify on or before the first Monday in 
March, 1879, and enter upon their duties on the first Tuesday of 
March, 1879. From the time the Board of Education assumed the 
duties assigned them by this act of the Legislature, School Districts 
Numbers 1 and 25, in Minnehaha County ceased to exist. 

The first meeting of the Board of Education for the village of 
Sioux Falls was held March 11, 1879. C. W. McDonald failing to 
qualify, N. E. Phillips was appointed to fill the vacancy. At this 
meeting T. H. Brown was elected President of the Board, and N. 
E. riiJilips, Secretar\^ 

Tiio teachers selected for the balance of the year, were: L. D. 
Henry, Principal; Misses L. C. Bryan, C. E. Chamberlin, Sarah 
Wagner, for the Main Street school, and Mrs. Annie Roberts, for 
the East Side school. 

April 1st, 1870, E. 0. Kimberly was elected Secretary of the 
Board. May 14th, 1879, Mr. Kimberly having resigned his posi- 
tion as Secretary, C. M. Morse was elected to fill vacancy. Sep- 
tember 13th, 1879, Mr. Morse resigned his office, and F. L. Bayce 
was elected Secretary of the Board, which position he has since 
filled. T. H Brown resigned his position as a member of the Board 
August 5th, 1879, and John ]3ippus Avas appointed to fill the va- 
cancy. On the 13th of September, 1879, E. A. Sherman was elec- 
ted President of the Board, which position he held until the selec- 
tion of a new Board in March, 1880. 



SIOUX FALLS. 10 



The teachers of the winter term of 1879-80 were: L. D. Henry, 
Pi-incipal; Misses Mina L. Fletcher, Louisa C. Bryan, Maud W. 
Rouse, Cora E. Chamberlin, Sadie Wagner and Nellie Blanc hard. 

At the election in March. 1880, W. R. Bourne and E. 0. Kim- 
berly were added to the Board, in place of E. A. Sherman and 0. P. 
Weston, whose terms of office had expired. At the organization 
of the new Board, John Bippus was elected President. At a meet- 
ing held Jaly 20th, 1880, T. H. Brown was appointed a member of 
the Board, in place of N. E. Phillips, who had resigned. 

The teachers elected for the ensuing school year, were: J. B. 
Hawley, Principal; Mrs. C. Everett, Assistant: Misses L. C. Bryan, 
C. E. Chamberlin, N. Blanchard, A. Allison, and M. E. Bissett. 
Miss Bissett failing to accept the position tendered her. Miss H.J. 
MacPherson was selected in her stead, aud assigned to the east side 
school. 

August 17th, 1880, E. A. Sherman was appointed a member of 
the Board to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of T. H. 
Brown. At the organization of the Board in March, 1881, Mr. 
Sherman was elected President, which position he now holds. The 
Board of Education at present consists of the following-named 
gentlemen: E. A. Sherman, T. H. Brown, E. 0. Ivimberly, C. 
Walts, E. Sharpe, 0. P. Weston, C. L. Norton and W. H.' Nel- 
son. 

The teachers selected b\- this Board for the year 1881-82, are, S. 

E. Young, Principal; Miss Mary Bissett. Assistant; Misses C. A. 
Parker, Carrie Thompson, Nellie Blanchard, T. M. Rice and Mrs. 
C. Everett, for the High School building, and Miss L. C. Kinney, 
teacher in the east side school. 

Deaf Mute 5'c/^oo/— Through the efforts of the Rev. T. B. Berry, 
of Sioux Falls, and Miss Jennie Wright, of Burlington, Iowa, the 
"Dakota School for Deaf Mutes" was opened in Sioux Falls on the 
first Monday in November, 1880. The school was duly incorpor- 
ated with the following Board of Trustees: C. A. Lounsberry, of 
Bismarck; 0. S. GrifFord, of Canton; Rev. J. C. Pennell, J. S. Scobey, 
of Brookings: Vale P. Thielman, of Swan Lake; Newton Edmunds, 
of Yankton; C. K. Howard, E. A. Sherman, E. Gr. Wright and A. 

F. Shaw, of Sioux Falls. At the meeting held for adopting articles 
of incorporation, Messrs. Sherman,Wi'ight and Shaw were appointed 
a committee for the purpose of raising funds to keep the school in 
operation until the convening of the Legislature in 1881. At the 



76 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

fourteenth session of the Le<i^ishitive Assembly of Dakota, held. 
at Yankton in January, 1881. this school was declared to be the 
'•Territorial School for the Education of the Deaf Mutes of this 
Territor}^'' and a])pro})riations were made for its support and en- 
largement. By the terms of the law enacted, every deaf and dumb 
person resident of the Territory, between the ages of five and 
twenty-one years, is entitled to receive an education of at least five 
years (including what has already been had), at this institution, at 
the expense of the Territovy ; jjrorided, the County Commissioners 
decide the persons responsible for the care and education of such 
person are unable to pay such expense. The amount approjiriatcd 
by the Territory for expenses for such pupil is five dollars per week 
for each and every pupil. At the same session of the Legislature 
a conditional appropriation was made, of $2,000, for the erection of 
suitable buildings for the school. Ten acres of land and $1,000 
have been donated by the city for the school, the site selected be- 
ing on the bluffs just east of the city, where a building 36 by 40 
feet, two stories high, with an ell 16 by 24: feet, has been erected, 
capable of accommodating twenty-five pupils. The teachers of the 
school are: Miss Jennie Wright, Superintendent, and Prof. James 
Simpson. The course of study comprises: language, reading, spell- 
ing, writing, arithmetic, geography, history and bible lessons. 
The advancement made by the pupils, during the past year, gives 
ample evidence that the school is in proper hands, and that the 
reputation of the Territory will be zealously guarded. 

Dakota Collegiate Institute. — The Southern Dakota Jiaptist As- 
sociation, at its session July 2d, 1881, decided that the denomina- 
tion would build a first-class Christian Academy in Dakota, and 
referred the matter to its Committee on Education. This com- 
mittee invited proposals from the towns in the southern part of 
Dakota for the location of the Academy, which were opened by 
the committee at its meeting in this city September 26th, 1881. 
Dell Rapids offered $5,500 cash, and Sioux Falls |6,000 cash. On 
motion, Sioux Falls was unanimously selected as the location. 
Articles of incorporation of the '"Dakota Collegiate fnstitute" 
were adopted, and the following l^oard of Trustees elected: For 
one year- Rev. E. Ellis and J. B. Young, of Sioux Falls, and P. 
Morse, of Dell Rapids. For two years — Rev. W. Ross, of Oak- 
wood; J. H. Drake, of St. Paul; Geo. Morehouse, of Brookings, 
and B. F. Roderick, of Sioux Falls. For three years— Rev. J. W. 



SIOUX FALLS. 77 



Reese, of Lu Verne; Rev. A. W. Hilton, of Parker, W. W. 
Brookings, of Sioux Falls, and M. J. Lewis, of Yermillion. The 
Board of Trustees was organized by the election of E. Ellis, 
President; Geo. Morehouse, Vice-President; B. F. Roderick, Sec- 
retary; J. B. Young, Treasurer. A committee to arrange for the 
opening of the Institute this fall, if deemed advisable, was ap- 
pointed, who have secured the services of the Rev. Thomas Ure, 
formerly Professor of Ancient Languages in Cedar Valley Semi- 
nary, Iowa, as Principal, and will open the first term of the Insti- 
tute in Sherman's Hall November Tth, 1881. 

CEMETERY ASSOCIATIOiSr. 

In November, 1873, tAventy-two of the residents of Sioux Falls 
organized a Cemetery association, with Dr. Joseph Roberts, Presi- 
dent; F. D. Cowles, Clerk: Dr. J. L. Phillips, William Van Eps, 
W. H. Corson and Edwin Sharpe as Trustees. The organization 
was incorporated under the name of the Mount Pleasant Cemetery 
Association, January 12, 1874. The Association purchased twenty 
acres of land in the northwest corner of the northeast quarter of 
section 22, town 101, range 49, just a mile from town on the east 
side of the river. The site is a beautiful one, overlooking the 
valley of the Sioux and the village. The officers elected in 1875, 
Avere Dr. J. L. Phillips, B. F. Roderick, N. E. Phillips, Edwin 
Sharpe and Joseph Roberts, Trustees; N. E. Phillips, Treasurer, 
and H. W. Lewis, Clerk. At this meeting it was voted to lay out 
a portion of the grounds, Avhich Avas accordingly done. At the 
annual meeting in July, 1877, E. A. Sherman was elected Presi- 
dent of the Association; C. W. McDonald, Clerk: N. E. Phillips, 
Treasurer; J. L. Phillips, \V. H. Corson, T. H. Brown and E. 
Sharpe, Trustees. The platting of the grounds, ordered two years 
before. Avas reconsidered, and another plan substituted. By this 
last plan the entire grounds OAvned by the Association are divided 
into forty-eight blocks, of fourteen lots in each block, each lot 
being 21 by 21| feet. There are two principal streets, 40 feet 
Avide, one running north and south, the other east and west^ 
through the center of the plat. A twenty-foot street separates 
the blocks each way, and an eight-foot alley runs between the lots 
each way. The next meeting of the Association was held July 7, 
1879. at Avhich E. A. Sherman Avas elected President; C. W. Mc- 
Donald, Clerk; N. E. Phillips, Treasurer; E. A. Sherman, J. L. 
Phillips, W. H. Corson, John McKee and EdAvin Sharpe, Trustees. 



78 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

These persons are still the officers of the Association. The 
f^^ronnds have been fenced and the corners of the lots adjacent to 
the streets marked Avith stone monnments. The Association is 
not able, iinanciall}', to do anything towards beautifying the 
grounds, as its only source of revenue is from the sale of lots, and 
the price of the grounds and improvements already made have ex- 
hausted all that has thus far been received. By the provisions of 
the Articles of Incorporation, the Association must expend all 
moneys received, after paying the necessary items above set forth, 
in beautifying the grounds; so that the greater the number of 
lots sold, the sooner Avill the Association be able to adorn the 
resting place of the mortal remains of those of our numl)er who 
have gone to the Great Beyond. 

THE MASONIC ORDERS. 

Minnehaha Lodge. — Early in the year 1873, T. H. Brown and 
R. C. Hawkins began canvassing the town to ascertain if there 
were not enough Blue Lodge Masons in Sioux Falls to form a 
lodge, and a meeting was held in Howard's granary, at which it 
was decided to organize a Blue Lodge. Lipon application, a dis- 
pensation was granted by the Grand Lodge of Iowa, at its annual 
communication in 1873, to Minnehaha Lodge No. 328, T. H. 
Brown, \i. C. HaAvkins, E. Sharpe, T. Pomeroy, G. B. Sammons, 
W. H. Holt, J. H. Moulton and George Hill being the charter 
members; T. H. Brown, W. M.; R. C. Hawkins, S. W.; E. Sharpe, 
J. W. Li 1871, a charter was granted the Lodge, and the follow- 
ing persons elected under the charter: T. H. Brown, W. M.; R. 
C. Hawkins, S. W.; R. L. Austin, J. W. The first meeting under 
the charter was held June 10, 1871. The order occupied the ujjper 
room of the old Libbey l)uilding, onMain street, until the comple- 
tion of the Land Office building, when they moved their furni- 
ture and paraphernalia to that building, and made it their Masonic 
home, until June, 1881, when they leased the third floor of the 
Emerson block, which has been fitted up for the convenience of 
the Blue Lodge, Chapter and Commandery, and where the several 
orders hold their meetings. The officers for 1875, were: T. H. 
Brown, W. M.; G. B. Sammons, S. W.; J. Callender, J. W. At 
the formation of the Dakota Grand Lodge, in this year, they trans- 
ferred their Masonic allegiance to that body under the name of 
Minnehaha Lodge No. 5. The officers since that time have been 
as follows: 



SIOUX FALLS. 79 



1876— G. B. Sammoiis, W. M.; R. C. Hawkins. S. W.; E. 
Sharpe, J. W. 

1S77— T. H. Brown, W. M.; John Bippus, S. W.; J. L. 
Phillips, J. W. 

1878— R. C. Hawkins, W. M.: John Bippus. S. W.: W. H. 
Kelson, J. W. 

1879— John Bippus, W. M.; W. H. Nelson. S. W.; 0. P. 
Weston, J. W. 

1880 — Owing to a change in the Grand Lodge By Laws, there 
were tAvo elections. The first resulted ia the election of W. H. 
Nelson. W. M.: K. Maxfield, S. W.; D. S. Glidden. J. W. The 
second: T. H. Brown. W. M.; R. C. Hawkins, S. W.; George 
B. Samraons, J. Vi . 

Twice has the Master of this Lodge been called upon to take the 
Grand East in the M. W. Grand Lodge of Dakota. 

There have been four Secretaries of the Lodge since its organiz- 
ation. T. Pomeroy holding the office continuously from 1873 to 
1876, and again from 1880 to 1881. W. S. Reynolds held the 
office in 1876-7: W. R. Williams. 1877-9; and P. P. Peck, 
1879-80. 

The present membership of the Lodge is sixty-eight. 

Sioux Falls Chapter ^'o. 2. — Early in the year, 1879, a meeting 
of Royal Arch Masons was held, at which it was determiiied to 
form a Chapter in Sioux Falls. A dispensation was obtained and 
the organization of Sioux Falls Chapter No. 2, effected, April 8tli, 
1879, with the following charter members: I. K. Buck, D. W. 
Stites, E. P. Allen. C. L. Norton. D. S. Glidden. John Richter, 
E. E. Sage, Frank Caldwell, E. 0. Kiniberly, J. W. Callender. D. 
Stewart, K. Maxfield. C. T. Barrett and W. H. Davenport. The 
first officers were: L K. Buck, H. P.; D. W. Stites, K.;E. P. 
Allen, S.; C. L. Norton, Secretary. The Chapter now numbers 
thirty-one members, and holds its meetings at Masonic Hall. The 
present officers are: D. W. Stites, H. P.; I. K. Buck.' K.: E. E. 
Sage, S.; W. H. Nelson, Secretary. 

Commandenj. — There are a sufficient number of Sir Knights in 
the immediate vicinity of the city for the formation of a Com- 
mandery. The}^ have received their recommendation and applied 
to the proper parties for a dispensation. 

L 0. 0. F. 

The Odd Fellows resident in Sioux Falls, in 1875, decided that 
the town should have a Lodge of this ancient and honorable order. 



80 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 



[ii pursuance of this decision, "Sioux Falls Lodge No. 0" was in- 
stituted May 2-J:t]i, 1870, with fourteen charter members, the 
officers being: A. Louoous, N. Gr.; A. Ladewig, V. G.; W. B. 
Dick, Secretary; H. Gilbert, Treasurer. Since the organization of 
the Lodge, the following named persons have held the office of 
N. G.: A. Loneous, A. Ladewig. E. Sharpe, Jr., Z. P. Herrick, J. G. 
Botsfurd, W. B. Dick, J. W. Odell, N. S. Johnson. P. W.Wildt, F. S. 
Emerson and C. H. Vincent. The membership is now thirt3--eight, 
with the following named officers: C. H.Vincent, N. G.; T. C. Angel. 
V. G.; A. R. Howard, Secretary; H. Gilbert, Treasurer. 

The Lodge meets every Thursday evening at its rooms in 
Gilbert's block. 

Encampment. — '"Royal Purple Encampment"' was instituted at 
Vermillion, D. T., May 22d, 187-i, and removed and organized at 
Sioux Falls May 13th, 1S79, by order of John B. Harmon, M. W. 
Grand Sire, officiating; R. R. Briggs, D. D. Grand Sire for Da- 
kota. The first officers after its removal were: E. Sharpe, Jr., C. 
P.; J. W. Odell, H. P.: P. W. Wildt, Senior Warden; F. S. 
Emerson, Scribe; R. R. Briggs, Treasurer; T. F. Deifendorf, 
Junior Warden. The present officers are: J. W. Odell, C. P.; T. 
S. Emerson, H. P.; S. E. Blaisvelt, Senior Warden; A. R. 
Howard, Scribe; R. R. Briggs, Treasurer; Z. P. Herrick, Junior 
Warden. The membership numbers thirty-eight; regular meet- 
ings on the first and third Tuesdays of each month, at Odd Fel- 
lows Hall, in the Gilbert block. 

TEMPERANCE ORGANIZATIONS. 

Although Sioux Falls has been heretofore considered on the ex- 
treme frontier, almost from its first settlement there have been 
organizations in active operation for the suppression of intemper- 
ance. A Division of the Sons of Temperance was established in 
the Avinter of 1874-5, and flourished for a year or more. The Tem- 
perance Army did effective work among the children and young 
people in the years 1877 and 1878. The Christian Temperance 
Union was organized in February, 1880, with H. E. Horton, Presi- 
dent; Miss L. C. Van De Mark, Secretary, and E. Currey, Treas- 
urer. The first meeting of the Woman's Christian Temperance 
Union was held December 12, 1880, and effi'cted a permanent 
organization by the subsequent election of Mrs. E. T. Wilkes, 
President; Mrs. L. Hartsough, Mrs. J. F. Redfield, Mrs. M. W. 
Boulet, Mrs. Ulrich, Mrs. J. B. Young and Miss Ann Gerin, Vice- 



SIOUX FAILS. 81 

Presidents; Mrs. D. Brown, Secretary, and Mrs. R. Nation, 
Treasurer. Executive committee: Mrs. E. Allen, Mrs. Goddard 
and Mrs. Wright. A committee of one from each of the churches 
■was appointed to see that the subject of Temperance had the 
attention its importance demands in the Sunday Schools connected 
with the churches. The committee so appointed was: Miss Rice, 
for the Congregational Church; Mrs. JMort-on, for the Baptist 
Church; Mrs. Redfield for the Episcopal Church, and Mrs. Brown 
for the Methodist Church. At almost the first meeting of the 
Union it was decided to establish a Free Reading Room in Sioux 
Falls. Public meetings were held, the matter discussed, a sub- 
scription started, and over four hundred dollars was raised for this 
purpose. A room on the ground floor of Sherman's building, 
corner of Main and Ninth streets, was rented, appropriately fitted 
up and opened to the public on the 7th of May, 1881. Since this 
date the room has been open regularly, every week-day evening, 
from 7 till 10, and Sunday from 3 to 6 p. m. On the tables are 
to be found the best current literature, to which the ladies invite 
the attention of all persons in the city, whether citizens or 
strangers. 

Good Templars. — There have been two or three different Lodges 
of Good Templars since the town was started. The present Lodge 
was organized in March, 1881, with about fift}' charter members. 
The meetings are well attended, and a good degree of interest in 
the work is manifested. Notwithstanding many of those, who 
first united with the Lodge, have removed from the place, and 
others have let their dues remain unpaid, there are now upwards 
of forty working members. Their place of meeting is Sherman's 
Hall. The present officers are: J. Winslow, W. C. T.: Julia A. 
Brown, W. V. T.; R. D. Thomas, W. C; Jonas Jones, W. Sec; 
Lena Kennedy, W. Asst. Sec; S. M. Edgington, W. F. S.; Mrs. 
C. Kingsbury, W. T.; Charles Butler, W. M.; Fannie Wmslow, 
W. Asst. M.; Jemina Jones, W. I. G.; S. Lawrence, W. 0. G.; 
Lizzie Thomas, W. R. H. S.; Florence Sherman, W. L. H. S.: R. 
J. Wells. P. W. C. T. 

THE PCSTOFFICE. 

From the first settlement of the place, the General Government has 
made the Sioux Falls postoffice one of the most important ones of 
the Department in all the great Northwest. Before the advent of 
the railroad it was the terminus of eight or nine difterent routes; 



82 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

SO that our people have been liberally supplied with mail facilities. 
C. K. Howard was the first Postmaster, receiving his appointment 
in 1868, and keeping the olhce in his store. In 1870, Col. Allen 
was appointed to succeed Mr. HoAvard, and removed the office north 
of Eighth Street to his store. In 1872, W. F. Kitor was appointed 
Postma>:ter, who removed the office still nearer the Falls, into the 
old ranicKjrdph hniUliug. Li the Spring of 1873, John Bippus 
received his appointment as Postmaster, and the postoffice was 
again removed, to the bulding now opposite Willey's livery stable. 
and near Cameron's old store building, where it remained until 
the completion of Sherman's brick building (now the First Na- 
tional Bank Iniilding) in September^ 1875, when the office was 
located in that building until January, 1877. Daring Mr. Bip- 
pus' term of office (July 1st, 1875) the office was made a Money 
Order Office. A. T. Fleetwood, the present Postmaster, succeeded 
Mr. Bippus January 2d, 1877, and removed the office to the east 
side of Phillips Avenue, north of Ninth Street, to his building on 
the lot now occupied by Angel's cigar factory, Avhere it remained 
until the completion of the south half of the Edmison block, cor- 
ner Ninth Street and Phillips Avenue, in January, 1879. Upon 
the completion of Peck's and Grigsby's block, in the fall of 1879, 
the office was moved to its present location. 

When Mr. Fleetwood took charge of the office, in January, 
1877, it was rated by the Department as an office of the fourth 
class. January 23d, 1879, it was made an office of the third class, 
and July 1st, 1881, it was ranked as an office of the second class. 

NEWSPAPERS. 

Notwithstanding the fact that Sioux Falls enjoyed for years the 
distinction of being upon the western verge of civilization, it has 
not been devoid of the means of making its wants and attractions 
known to the world by means of "the lever that moves the world." 

Dakota Democrat. — The first ncAvspaper ])ublished in the Terri- 
tory was issued at Sioux Falls. This was the Dakota Democrat, 
established in 1857 by S. J. Albright. It was the "official organ" 
of the Legislature, which convened in Sioux Falls in 1858-9. In 
1860, the name was changed to the Northwestern Imlependent. 
The Independent was published about a year, and then indefinitely 
suspended. A portion of the material was left here when the town 
was raided by the Indians, who destroyed such portions of it ai 
they concluded would be of no use to them. After peace was de- 



SIOUX FALLS. 83 



clared, a portion of the type found its way back to the Avhites, in 
the shape of ornaments to the pipes which the Indians fashion out 
of the red pipestone. 

Sioux Falls Pantarp-aph. — The next newspaper venture was 
that of W. F. Kiter, who established the Sioux Falls Pantagraph 
in February, 1872. The Pantagraph was an eight-column folio, 
weekly, printed on the co-operative plan, and was Republican in 
its political tendencies. It was published irregularly until October, 
when it went into winter quarters, where it remained until April, 
1873. It was then again revived, and published, with occasional 
interruptions, until the spring of 1877, when the material was 
locked up by order of the Court and finally used in starting the 
Roscoe Express. During this time W. F. Kiter, F. D. Cowles, F. 
E. Everett, R. Buchanan and W. S. Guild presided at the editorial 
table. 

The Sioux Falls Independent, — A weekly eight-column folio, 
Republican in politics, was established by Chas. W. McDonald, 
May 15th, 1873. From that date, until the 6th of January, 1881, 
the Independent was published without missing an issue. At the 
last mentioned date the paper was merged into the Dakota Panta- 
graph. The editors of the Independent were C. W. McDonald, E, 
A. Sherman, F. E. Everett and W. A. Williams; L. C. Hitchcock 
had editorial charge of its columns for about six weeks during the 
campaign of the fall of 1878. 

The Dakota Pantagraph, — An eight-column Republican paper, 
(weekly) was started by M. Grigsby and G. M. Smith, with the 
material formerly used by the Swan Lake Era, in the spring of 

1877. Mr. Grigsby continued as editor of the paper until April, 

1878, when it was sold to the present proprietors, Messrs. Caldwell 
& Stahl, who have published the paper with commendable regu- 
larity, despite the opposition of blizzards, blockades and floods. 
They have made many additions to their facilities since taking 
charge of the office, until at present the Pantagraph takes rank as 
one of the foremost papers of the Territory. 

Tiie Sioux Falls Times. — A handsome nine-column folio, Re- 
publican, (weekly) was established November loth, 1878, by Messrs. 
E. 0. Kimberly and C. M. Morse. At the expiration of the first 
quarter, February, 1879, Mr. Morse sold his interest to Mr. Kim- 
b.n'ly, who has remained as the sole proprietor, until quite recently, 
when T. H. Brown purchased a half interest in the office. To the 



8 J: HISTORY OF SorXHEASTERN DAKOTA 

Times belongs the honor of introducing the first power press hirge 
enough for printing an oi'dinary sized newspaper. In connection 
with the Times is one of the best equipped job offices in the North- 
west, and its proprietors take especial pride in the quality of the 
job work, as well as the quantity, that leaves the office. 

The Dakota — A Scandinavian weekly, was established early in 
the year 1880, by N. C. Frederickson. The paper was a six-col- 
umn folio. Republican in Politics; so far as it had any particular 
bias; but, owing to the pecuniary embarrassments of the proprietor, 
it was published but a few months, when tlie most of the material 
was taken to Iowa, and the paper discontinued. 

The SioKX Falls Argus. — The only Democratic paper in the 
county; was established as a weekly, August 2d, 1881, by the Argus 
Publishing Company with W. A. Fulmer and C.A. Patterson as ed- 
itors. The ArfjKS^ though young, gives promise of a long andbusv 
life. 

RAILROADS. 

From the time of the first settlement of Sioux Falls, each and 
all of its inhiibitants were of the opinion that at some time in the 
future the town would have several railroads. They not only be- 
lieved this, but were ready to give a reason for their belief: That 
the county was one of the best (if not the best county) in the Ter 
ritory; that the town of Sioux Falls, with its many natural advan- 
tages, and from its location, was the natural trading point for all 
ihe settlements in the Sioux, Skunk and Upper Vermillion Val- 
leys; and that, as these localities became settled and improved, their 
incalculable wealth would pour into the streets of Sioux Falls- 
seeking here to have the products converted into shape for eco- 
nomical shipment -and that in pursuance of the general law of 
supply and demand, the town must become an important railway 
point. 

In order to keep up the interest of people not residing here, 
railrotid meetings wtre held at judicious intervals, and a great deal 
of enthusiasm was worked up, which was duly reported to peoj)le 
at the East. But no one seemed inclined to put much money or 
time into enterprises of this character. The real state of affairs 
up to the fall of 1875, was simply this: Every one was willing a 
railroad should be built to Sioux P'alls — provided always that they 
were not called upon to bear any expense or make any sacrifice to 
obtain it. In other words: If any railroad company desired to 



Siorx FALLS. 85 



build a road to Sioux Falls, "Barkis was willin.'" Previous to this, 
none of our people had felt that a railroad was a necessity, and 
even then there was a number of business men Avho opposed any 
effort towards getting a road to Sioux Falls for the reason That 
the entire freight business of Sioux Falls for years to come would 
not equal ten full cars each waij in a year! Bat with the immense 
surplus crop of 1875 on hand", and to be moved, our business men 
felt the need of a railroad and determined to secure one at the 
earliest day possible. A meeting was held Nov. 2d, 1875, at which 
it was resolved to take immediate steps to organize a company, 
survey a route, procure the right of way, and then turn the same 
over to any company that would complete and operate the road. 
The result of this meeting was the organization on Nov. 10th, 

1875, of the Sioux Falls Railroad Company, organized for the pur- 
pose of building and operating a railroad from a point on the 
eastern boundary of Dakota, through Sioux Falls to Yankton. 
The Company consisted of A. F. Shaw, Joseph Roberts, M. L. 
Wood, E. A. Sherman, J. D. Cameron, R. F. Pettigrew and M. 
Grigsby. Before Christmas, the survey was completed, and a 
committee visited St. Paul. They reported that the St. Paul & 
Sioux City company would extend their line to Sioux Falls during 

1876. It was decided that 8100,000 was all Sioux Falls ought to, 

or could give. 

The organization of the Sioux Falls Company was kept up, and 
in March, 1876, a company was formed in St. Paul to connect with 
this, which completed a road to LuVern? :n 1877. 

The demands of the Minnnesota Company were finally modified 
so that they were acceptable to the people of Sioux Falls, and the 
local Company merged into the Worthington & Sioux Falls Com- 
pany, which used every means at their command to hasten the com- 
pletion of the road. 

On Thursday, August 1st, 1878, at 12:40, local time, the first 
passenger train arrived in Sioux Falls, and was saluted with a 
musical welcome, three cheers and a tiger. 

The Company at once began the erection of its buildings, and be- 
fore the close of the year, had built an elevator, 50 by 60 feet, 72 
feet high, having a capacity of 65,000 bushels, at an expense of 
about 815,000; a depot, 31 by 90 feet, costing about 82,000; an en- 
gine house, 44 by 69 feet, 81,000; a water tank and wind mill, 
82,500, and a turntable, costing about 8800. 



S6 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

While work on this line was progressing so favorably, other in- 
terests were pushing forward to completion other roads that had 
in view the division of the railroad business of Sioux Falls. The 
Sioux City and Pembina was completed to Beloit, January 1st, 1879, 
and asked an appropriation from the people to enable them to build 
to Sioux Falls; the oflicers ot that road assuring the citizens that, 
if sufficient aid were given, the road would be extended to this point 
duriug the year. 

The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Company were at this time 
engaged in the extension of their line west from McGregor, and 
many of the citizens of Sioux Falls were in favor of extending aid 
to that company rather than to the Pembina Company. The Mil- 
waukee, Sioux Falls & Red River Company was founded, and an ef- 
fort made to divert the main line of the Milwaukee to Sioux Falls. 
The members of this company were M. Grigsby, C. K. Howard, A. 
Gale, B. F. Campbell, J. M. Washburn, N. E. Phillips, T. H. Brown, 
E. W. Caldwell, H. Callender, W. VanEps, R. S. Alexander and 
W. J. Gibbinson. This company was informed by the Milwaukee 
Company, under date of April 12, 1879, that they could do noth- 
ing for them, even in the way of a branch line, until after their 
main line was completed. 

July 1st, 1879, the Pembina Company offered to complete their 
road to Sioux Falls at once, if given the right of way from the south 
line of Minnehaha County, depot grounds in the village, and 87,000 
cash or bonds. This offer was ^nodified, July 26th, 1879, to right 
of way from Canton to Sioux Falls and depot grounds in the vil- 
lage. This last proposition was accepted, and a committee at once 
went to work to secure the right of way. 

The Sioux City & Pembina and Dakota Southern Companies be- 
ing consolidated October 26fch, 1879, Sioux Falls had a continuous 
line to Sioux City and Yankton, on the completion of the second 
railroad to Sioux Falls, December 18th, 1879. April 1st, 18S0, the 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Company took possession of the 
Sioux City & Dakota road, absorbing it into their vast railroad sys- 
tem, thereby giving Sioux Falls acontinuous line under one man- 
agement to Milwaukee and Chicago. 

On the 30th of August, 1879, representatives from the Southern 
Minnesota Railroad Company visited Sioux Falls^and offered, in con- 
sideration of right of way for ten miles north of corporation line, 
and depot grounds in the village, to build that road to Sioux Falls. 



SIOUX FALLS. 87 

The proposition was accepted without debate, grading at once began 
and the third road to Sioux Falls is in active operation. 

In Octobei*, 1879, the work of extending the Worthington & 
Sioux Falls road west of this place began. At present the exten- 
sion is completed and in operation to Salem, McCook Connty, forty- 
miles west. 

In order to show the fallacy of the argument that a road was not 
needed in Sioux Falls, because '' ten cars loaded each way would 
do the entire business of Sioux Falls for a year," we append the 
statement of the shipments and receipts of the two companies now 
doing business here for the last three months. This statement 
embraces only the freight stopping here and shipped from here: 

WORTHINGTON & SIOUX FALLS ROAD. 

Received pounds Fowarded pounds, 

July 4,02;i,101 1,792,305 

Auirnst. 4,359,048 577,173 

September 2,743,588 811;115 

Total 11,125,737 3,180,593 

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE & ST. PAUL. 

July 1,423,185 2,087,680 

August I,133,.s54 1,398,460 

September 1,693,887 989,740 

Total 4,150,926 4,425,880 I ' 

Making a grand total of 15^276,663 pounds received, and of 
7,606,473 pounds forwarded, or of 22,883,136 pounds of freight 
handled. This large amount of freight reduced to tons makes a 
fraction over 11,441, or 953 full carloads of 12 tons each. These 
figures show that the freight business of Sioux Falls for the last 
three months has been on an average of a fraction over twelve full 
car loads per day for each week day. 

SIOUX FALLS MILL. 

The first successful use made of the water power, at the second 
building of Sioux Falls, was in connection with the grist mill of 
Webber & Harthorn, which was put in operation early in 1873. 
The building was on the east bank of the river, just below the 
Falls — ^the last fall in the series being used to obtain the requisite 
power^ — and was 30 by 40 feet. The basement was of stone, quar- 
ried on the ground, the superstructure being of native burr oak. 
The mill was designed by a Mr. Ash, of Sioux City, Iowa, the work 
being done by Messrs. 0. P. Weston, Mr. Harthorn and Mr. May- 
nard. It was the event of the year, when the mill was first put in 



88 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

operatiou, as it was not only an earnest of cheaper prices for the 
"staff of life," but made a home market for the quantities of grain 
grown in the immediate neigliborhood, and dimly shadowed forth 
the possibilities of the Sioux Falls water power in the days to come 
when the water that for so many centuries had been expending its en- 
ergies in sim})ly wearing a channel through the rocks, should be har- 
nessed and controlled by the inventive genius of man, and made to do 
his bidding. This mill remained in active use for the benefit of the 
people until the spring of the pesent year, when the waters that 
had so long acted as a servant, took the jjosition of master, and 
showed something of their power by sending the mill bodily down 
the stream. 

CASCADE MILL. 

The next improvement of the water power was made in 1877. 
During the month of September, 1. Emerson, E. A. Sherman and 
J. G. Botsford, under the firm name of Emerson, Sherman & Co., 
purchased the water power and five acres of land on the east side 
of the river, just north of Eighth street, and began the erection of 
the ''Cascade Mill." The most formidable part of the undertaking 
was the building of the dam, which was begun October 3, 1877. 
This structure is of native stone, sixteen feet wide at the base, and 
the whole structure firmly bolted to the bedrock. The engineer 
in charge of this work was the late Mr. Meltimore, of Evansville, 
Wisccnsin. That he did his work faithfully and well, is evidenced 
from the fact, that although the ice and high water have caused all 
the other dams on the Sioux River to give way, this one has stood 
secure. 

The mill proper, 36 by 52 feet, three stories in height, was 
designed by Asa Forrest, of Dubuque, Iowa, and contains five run 
of stone. It was fitted up with the very best of machinery, with 
all the latest improvements, by -the Novelty Iron Works, of Du- 
buque, Iowa, and began turning out flour in September, 1878. 

Long before the machinery was put in motion, the people of 
Sioux Falls appreciated the enterprise as one in which they had a 
personal and pecuniary interest, as upon its success depended in a 
large degree not only the price of the grain they might from sea- 
son to season have for sale, but also their facilities for being sup- 
plied with flour. 

Rigiit royally has the mill fulfilled all the anticipations of its 
friends, and proved a success to those more immediately interested. 



SIOUX FALLS. 89 



as it has been in almost constant operation day and night since 
the machinery was first put in motion. At the present time, the 
mill is turning out flour at the rate of one hundred barrels per day. 
The local demand is more than supplied by the produce of the mill, 
but the surplus finds a ready market in the East. The fame of 
this mill is not local in character, some of the flour manufactured 
here being sent across the Atlantic and competing in the markets 
of the old world with the world-renowned brands. 

Connected with the mill, and really forming a part of it — with a 
track from the Milwaukee, Chicago, & St. Paul Railroad to its 
doors — is an elevator 30x40 feet, of the same height as the mill, 
having a storage capacity for 20,000 bushels of grain, the lower 
story furnishing warehouse room for the surplus flour awaiting 
shipment. 

Mr. Botsford has lately disposed of his one-fourth interest in the 
property to Mr. Geo. E. Wheeler— consideration, ^16,000.00. The 
nam 3 of the firm remxins unshang.vl, while the grade of the flour, 
owing to improvements lately introduced into the machinery, is 
materially improved. 

When it was first noised abroad there was to be a mill erected 
here of the capacity of the Cascade, and some people said the day 
was not far distant when a larger mill than the Cascade would be 
built ia Sioux Falls, a gceib niiuy p^r^oa^ laughed at the idea, and 
said the Cascade was larger than the agricultural interests of the 
Sioux Valley demanded — that the enterprise would prove dead 
capital to those who had invested their property in it — that not 
enough grain to keep the mill in operation half the time could be 
secured in the country tributary to Sioux Falls — that it would not 
pay to ship after grinding, etc.; in short, that the growth of the 
town had culminated in the building of the Cascade Mill. It is 
safe to say that these persons never expected to see the erection of 
a mill of the dimensions, capacity and facilities of the "Queen Bee,'' 
nor supposed such an institution could find adec|uate employment 
for its machinery in this part of the country. 

The old method of milling by which the grain was 
crushed between mill stones, thereby breaking the bran 
and mixing it with the flour, and the dirt adhering to 
the berry in the case, also finding its way into the flour, 
thus coloring the whole manufactured product, and so in- 
juriously affecting the prices that the flour had to be sold at a low 



90 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

figure, and often at a sacrifice — made the business so uncertain, 
and at times so expensive, tliat it became absolutely necessaiy to 
invent some means by which these difficulties and drawbacks could 
be overcome. The inventions to this end first took practical shape 
in Hungary under the name of the Hungarian Process. This pro- 
cess consisted in, first,thoroughly cleansing the outside of the grain, 
and then breaking it between rollers, which would make it possi- 
ble to clean all parts of the berry before it was finally reduced to 
flour. This process has been continually improved upon since its 
first introduction, by the best millwrights in all parts of the world, 
until now, under the name of the "Gradual Reduction Process" it 
has achieved a success and attained a degree of perfection little ex- 
pected by its originators. The "Queen Bee Mill," begun here in 
August, 1879, is built for working up the grain by this process, 
and embodies all the advanced ideas and latest improvements that 
have up to this time been brought before the milliug public. 

It ma}^ be interesting to give a short account, divested of all 
technical terms, of the different processes through which the grain 
passes, from the time it arrives on the track until it is barreled, 
ready for shipment. 

The wheat, after being shoveled from the car, is thereafter 
handled by machinery in all its various journeys thr.ough the ele- 
vator and mill. Before leaving the elevator, it passes through 
cleaning machines, which takes out all the grosser impurities, as 
sticks, chaff, straw, etc. It is then sent to the mill by conveyors, 
and passed through separators, which extract all the oats and 
weeds; from thence it goes to another machine which takes out all 
the cockle. After being freed from all foreign matter, it is 
scoured and passed thrpugh two sets of brushes, w4iich remove all 
the dust and dirt from the outside of the grain, which is then 
ready for the first set of corrugated rolls. 

The first break is intended to crack open the berry without 
breaking it into fine pieces. This is not such an impossible task 
as it might seem to be to the uninformed, as the bran and the part 
of the grain next to the bran are a great deal tougher than the cen- 
ter of the berry. It is then passed through reels, purifiers and 
brushes, which remove the remaining dirt. A very little flour 
comes out at this stage of the process, but it is of a very inferior 
grade. 

The grain next passes to a second set of corrugated rolls, set a 



CU^^/./^^^^^ 



SIOUX FALLS. 91 



little closer together than were the first. From this break there 
are three separations made — two of middlings and one of flonr. 
The finer middlings go to the purifiers and the coarser to the third 
set of corrugated rolls. From the third break, four grades of mid- 
dlings are made, according to their fineness. The fourth break is 
a repetition of tlie third with a similar result. The fifth break 
produces only three grades of middlings, all the finer parts having 
been taken out in the previous crushings. The sixth and last 
break, by corrugated rolls, yields two grades of middlings and 
the bran. 

Thus far the crushing has been but the necessary preparation 
for the manufacture of the choice brands of flour, all the flour 
thus far obtained being simply the fine particles which have bro- 
ken loose from the berry and sifted out in the cleansing of the 
middlings. 

Each of the four grades of middlings, that have been separated, 
are now purified by diffierent machines, each adapted to the partic- 
ular grade which it is intended shall pass through it, after which 
they are passed between the smooth rolls of chilled steel, highly 
polished, to extract the small particles of bran and germ. The 
middlings in turn pass through four sets of smooth rolls, each set 
being a little closer together than the preceding, from whence 
they are taken to the bolting ruts, and thence to the packing ma- 
chines, emerging therefrom as the choicest brands of patent flour, 
ready for the retail trade. 

Any part of the grain not thoroughly reduced by this process is 
sent to the old-fashioned buhrs and converted into a low grade of 
flour. It will be seen from this, that, by this process, every part 
of the grain is utilized, such parts, except the l)ran, as will not 
make the best of flour, being converted into that of an inferior 
grade. 

THE QUEEN BEE MILL 

Was begun in August, 1879, and is now nearly completed. It bears 
about the same relation to an ordinary grist mill that the Great 
Northwest does to the cramped localities of the East. It embodies 
all the latest improvements in milling machinery, many of the im- 
provements and appliances being entirely original and peculiar to 
this mill. 

The building is of stone, quarried on the ground, 80 by 100 feet, 
and 104 feet from foundation to top of walls, which are six feet 



92 HISTORY OF SOUTIIEASTKKN DAKOTA. 



thick. This space is divided into seven stories— six beside the base- 
ment—though the third, fourth and fifth floors are ]>ractieally 
each two stories. 

The mill was designed by J. W. McKcen, of Minneapolis, to 
whom has been entrusted the entire construction. Mr. McKeen 
has been ably seconded in his labors by Messrs. H. W. Stearns, 
(who will remain permanently at the mill after its completion in 
the capacity of millwright), Peter Paff, L. R. Williman and W. Mc- 
Connell, foremen in different departments, Geo. Gildersleeve, first 
miller, and G. V. Quillard, second miller. 

To show the accuracy with which the building was planned, it is 
only necessary to say that the workmen have found it necessary to 
cut but one joist in all the vast building, to accommodate the 
almost numberless machines, shafts and belts. 

The office on the ground floor is connected with all parts of the 
building by speaking tubes and electric bells, by means of which 
inst 'itaneous communication can be had with the workmen in all 
par of the building. The mill, office and warehouse is lighted 
thv ^hout with gas manufactured on the premises and heated by 
ste Connected with the heating appuratus is the arrangement 

for hiuguishing fire in case of accident. A Beedy elevator runs 
froL he basement to the upper floor. In short, everything of use 
tliat uuman ingenuity has been able to invent, is to be found here 
in successful operation. The shaft from the waterwheel terminates 
in the basement, which is literally filled with shafting, destribul-ing 
the power to such parts of the mill as it is needed. 

On the first floor are arranged seventy pairs of rolls, seven sets 
buhrs, and two brush machines. 

On the second floor are two more brush machines, five flour pack- 
ers, ten stock bins and about eighty bins for middlings. 

On the third floor, are arranged seven double bolting chests, with 
four reels in each, one single bolting chest with two reels, one 
cockle machine, and twenty-two F^mith purifiers. On the middle 
floor, in this story, are five Smith purifiers and nine Allis aspirators. 

The fourth floor has seven double and one single bolting chests, 
twenty-two purifiers and three wheat separators. On the middle 
floor, are five purifiers and four l)ran dusters. 

On the fifth floor are seven more double and one single bolting 
chests, eleven purifiers, eleven iis])ir!itors i;nd two wheat screens; 
while the sixth floor has six middlings graders. 



SIOUX FALL?. 93 



All the available space between and around the machines, above 
the grinding floor, is filled with bins and garners, there being some 
two hundred of them in the mill. 

The mill contains nearly two miles of elevators, three miles of 
conveyors, eight miles of spouting, and ten miles of belting. Every 
tiling in and about the building, from basement to roof, is built in 
the most thorough manner, being "cabinet work," in every sense 
of the term. 

Adjoining and connected with the mill is an elevator with a ca- 
pacity of 100,000 bushels, and a warehouse, 50 by 142 feet, four 
stories in height, containing a feed-separating reel, two bran pack- 
ers and barrel elevators. The large bins for bran occupy an entire 
story of the building. The warehouse has a storage capacity of 
10,000 barrels. 

Near the warehouse is the cooper shop, which is intended to fur- 
nish room at present for forty coopers. 

The mill has a side track, leading from Chicago, St. Paul, Min- 
neapolis & Omaha R. R., which is divided into a double track just 
before it reaches the elevator, one track passing near the elevator, 
the other near the warehouse. At the northern end of the track 
is a transfer, by means of which a train of cars can be pushed in, 
unloaded on one track, transferred to the other, loaded and leave 
the premises, without any unnecessary switching, or without 
requiring a great amount of track room. 

The power necessary for driving all this vast amount of machin- 
ery, comes from the Sioux River. A canal has been blasted through 
the rocks, from a point nearly east of the center of Brookings 
Island, to within about four hundred and fifty feet of the wheel 
pit, from which point the water is conveyed in an iron tube seven 
feet in diameter to the wheel — an American turbine, four feet in 
diameter, giving eight hundred horse-power. The "head" at pres- 
ent is fifty-six feet; can be increased to seventy by further blast- 
ing, if it is thought advisable. 

The general direction of all the work in and around this great 
establishment — employing in its various departments a hundred 
men — as well as the arrangements necessary for obtaining the 
grain to keep the mill in operation, is under the immediate charge 
of Mr. C. W. Hubbard, a gentleman who has made hosts of friends 
since taking charge of the work. 



9i HISTOKY OF SOUTHEASTE.'tN DAKOTA. 



BUSINESS IN DETAIL. 

[ In this ennmoratioii we have tried to give the business complete; 
but there undoubtedl}' are omissions, from the fact that some per- 
sons have been in business but a few months, and their coming 
and going were unknown to the writer. The parties named are 
still in business, unless it is otherAvise stated.] 

GENERAL MERCHANDISE. 

C. K. Howard was the first one to open a stock of goods in Sioux 
Falls. In 1868 he. purchased the business of the post trader and 
began his business in the old hospital building, then standing near 
the present location of the Williams House. In 1871 he put up a 
frame building, corner Phillips Avenue and Tenth street, to Avhich 
additions Avere made from time to time until nearly the entire lot 
was covered. In the spring of 1880 the old frame building was 
entirely removed aud the present Howard & Taylor block- — one of 
the marvels of this great northwest — erected in its place. This 
block has a frontage on Phillips Avenue of 88 feet and 150 feet on 
Tenth street. Mr. Howard occupies the south half of the block, 
his store room being 44 by 130 feet, immediately west of this 
room and connected with it is his meat market 20 by 44 feet, 
fronting on tenth street. The entire block is heated Avith Boyn- 
ton furnaces and is lighted with plate glass Avindows. The base- 
ment and second story, connected with ground floor by an eleva- 
tor, being more especially devoted to his Avholesale business. His 
stock is extensive and demonstrates his ability to carr}' out his ad- 
vertisement to the letter: ''Howard buys anything and sells every- 
thing."' 

I. Harthorn and J. H. Moulton opened a stock of general mer- 
chandise in 1869, but after a short time gave up the business and 
turned their attention to other matters. 

Col. Allen opened a stock of general merchandise in the fall of 
1870, and continued the business until the fall of 1873, Avhen he 
closed out his entire stock. 

VV^m. VanEps built a frame store and tilled it Avith general mer- 
chandise in the spring of 1871. His business from theiirst has been 
steadily increasing both in the Avholesale and retail line. It has 
been his intention from the time of his first establishment here to 
keep a stock of everything likely to be called for, froui a i)aper of 
pins to a threshing machine, and unlike many others Avho iiave at- 
tempted such an extensive business he has not alloAved onebrandi 
of it to jirosper at the expense of another. His location from the 
first has been corner Phillips A.ve. and Eighth St. 

Geo. ]i. Sanimons, established in the spring of 1873, continued 
in luisiness until the summer of 1881, when he removed his stock 
to Brandon. 



SIOUX FALLS. 95 



CO. Natesta, opened a stock of general merchandise on Main 
Street in August, 1873. In 187-1: he removed to Phillips Ave. 
Upon his election to the office of Register of Deeds in 1878 he dis- 
posed of his entire stock. 

C. N. Bunce, established in June. 1876. continued in business 
about a year. 

Turner Brothers, established September, 1878. In December, 
1879, one of the partners reported that he had been " robbed " at 
Worthington. and the firm was soon closed by creditors. 

Mundt & Kunerth, Tenth street, east of Phillips Aveune. estab- 
lished in June, 1878. In January. 1881, F. Kunerth purchased 
the entire business, which he still continues at the same location. 

P. P. Boylan. dry goods, groceries and provisions, corner Main 
and 8th Sts. Established October, 1878. 

H. Gilbert & Son, east side Phillips Ave., north of Ninth street. 
Established in October, 1881. 

DRY GOODS. 

Wise Bros., opened an extensive and the first exclusive stock of 
dry goods ever brought to Sioux Falls in, Allen's building corner 
Phillip's Ave. and 8th street, in Augusi 1876. After a few months 
the entire stock was taken to Yankton. 

P. W. Wildt, began business in Sioux Falls, in the Cataract block 
in June, 1878. His stock of dry goods was bought by C. K. How- 
ard in 1880, and his stock of clothing by Williams Bros., in the 
spring of 1881. 

W. R. Kingsbury, built on the lot adjoining First National Bank 
on the north, in April, 1878, where he remained until about the 
1st of September of the present year, when he removed to Edmi- 
on block, corner Ninth St. and Phillips Ave., which he now occu- 
pies. 

Hardt & Waters, Cataract block, established September, 1878. 
In 1879. Mr. W. C. Waters purchased the entire business which 
he has since conducted at tbe same location. 

_ P. S._ Wpst, exclusively dry goods, established May, 1880, con- 
tinued in the business about six months. 

A. W. Allison, established July, 1880, Avest side Phillips ave., 
two doors north of the Howard &" Taylor block. 

E. J. Daniels & Co., better known as "Dan and Harry;"' west 
side Phillips ave., south of 8th st., established Sept., 1880. 

F. A. Kennard, Cataract block, established September, 1880. 

C. Comerford, established October, 1880, continued in business 
till July, 1881. 

MILLINERY & LADIES FURNISHING. 

Mrs. E. G. Wheeler, established June, 1873, continued only a 
short time. 

Mrs. C. G. JcAvett, established April, 187-1, continued about a 
year. 



06 HISTOKY OF SOriHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Mrs. W. H. Biyan, established December, 1875, on east side 
IMiillips ave.; afterward removed to present location, west side 
Phillips ave., between 10th and 11th streets. 

Mrs. J. Waldo, established October, 1877, continued only a few 
months. 

Misses McCall & Blanchard, established October, 1878, contin- 
ued about a year and a half. 

Mrs. ]']. 0. l?ice, established in spring of 1878. in building ad- 
joining Van Eps' store; removed to her present location, west side 
Phillips ave., near 9th street in August, 187!>. 

W. Obert. west side Phillips ave., near lOtli street, established 
August. 1879. 

Mrs. M. E. Pattee, Tenth street, east of Phillips ave., established 
June. 1881. 

Mrs. A. Allen, west side Phillips ave., north of 8th street, estab- 
lished Sejitember, 1881. 

CLOTHING, &c. 

Williams Bros., southwest corner Phillips ave. and Ninth street, 
established March, 1876. 

J. B. Cloudas & Co., Cataract block, established September, 1880. 

Schroeder & Peterson, west side Phillips ave.. south of 10th st., 
established March, 1881. 

Louis Frank, established in spring of 1880; continued about 
four months. 

MERCHANT TAILORS. 

L. 0. Johanson, established March, 1876. In 1877 sold to A. P. 
Anderson, and after a short time again started his business on 
Main street. Is now with Schroeder & Peterson. 

A. P. Anderson, successor toL. 0, Johanson, established spring 
of 1877; sold his business in 1880. 

Dahl & Skoven, successors to A. P. Anderson, established Feb- 
ruary, 1880; sold to Dahl in 1881. 

0. M. Dahl, successor to Dahl & Skoyen, west side Phillips 
Avenue, near Nineth street; established October, 1881. 

G. H. Rognus, Tenth street, east of Phillips xlvenue, established 
April, 1878. Mr. Rognus' health does not permit him to work at 
his trade at present. 

J. l:{echer, east side Phillips Avenue, near Eighth street, Estab- 
lished. September, 1880. 

C. Listman, established in 1878; west side Phillips Avenue, cor. 
9th street. 

DRUGS AND MEDICINES. 

Wm. Van Eps, established in spring of 1871. 

D. H. Henry, established June, 1873, sold to Dunning in 1871. 
L. T. Dunning, northwi^st corner Phillips Avenue and Eighth 

street, successor to D. H. Henry, established October. 1874. 

Phillijis (S: Brown, established August, 1877; sold to N.E. Phill- 
ips September, 1879. 



SIOUX FALLS. 97 



N. E. Phillips, successor to Phillips & Brown, established Sep- 
tember, 1879; sold to Phillips & Nelson, February. 18S0. 

N. E. PhiUips & Co.— N. E. Phillips andW.H. Nelson— suc- 
cessoi-s to N. E. Phillips, west side Phillips Avenue, near Tenth 
street; established February, 1880. 

Geo. Mahoney & Co., established October 1878; removed from 
the place in 1879. 

U. Hyerdahl, established in spring of 1879; sold to Brush in '80. 

George Brush, established in fall of 1880; sold toStiltesin 1881. 

A. H. Stiltes, southwest corner Phillips Avenue and Tenth street, 
established July, 1881. 

Noble Bros., established in summer of 1880; sold to Langbelle 
in 1881. 

Geo. Langbelle. successors to Noble Bros., west side Phillips 
Avenue, near Eighth street; established 1881. 

SCHOOL FURNITURE AND MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS. 

E. G. Ledyard accepted the agency for Dakota, for the sale of 
the celebrated Victor School Furniture and sevei'al first-class mu- 
sical instruments in January, 1878. In November, the firm of 
Ledyard & Farwell was formed. The business of the firm has been 
very extensive, extending to nearly every organized county east of 
the Missouri; in the spring of 1881, Mr. F. W. Farwell purchased 
the entire business which he still continues. Office and salesroom 
east side Phillips ave., just south of 10th street. 

SEWING MACHINES. 

The Singer Manufacturing Co., J. G. Phelps, agent, is the only 
estaldishment in the city dealing exclusively in sewing machines. 
Agency established in December, 1880. 

WATCHMAKERS & JEWELERS. 

E. G. Hancock, established in fall of 1872; continued till Octo- 
ber, 1877. 

T. Pomeroy, established during summer of 1872. 

R. D. Thomas, established Sept , 1877, continued about a year. 

R. S. Imili, established November, 1877; moved to Mitchell 
August, 1880. 

H. P. Hanson, established in 1878; removed in 1879. 

R. B. Struthers, established in 1878; removed in 1879. 

C. F. Sischo, west side Phillips ave., near 8th street, established 
February. 1880. 

Oscar Ericsson, west side Phillips ave., near 10th street, estab- 
lished April, 1880. 

D. J. Turner, corner Phillips ave. and Ninth street, established 
July, 1880. 

PHOTOGRAPHERS. 

Hudson & Munson, established May, 1878; sold to Munson in 

1879. 



98 HISTORY OF SOUTAEASTERN DAKOTA. 

John M. Munson, successor to Hudson & Munson, east side 
l'lulli]is ave.. near lOth street, established August, 1879. 

H. J. Brown, established Sept., 1878, sold to H. Easton in 1879. 

H. Easton, established in spring of 1879, sold to Dunn & Eas- 
ton in 1881. 

Dunn & Easton, successors to H. Easton, west side Phillips ave., 
near 7th street, established June, 1873. 

In addition to these parties a car used occasionally to visit Sioux 
Falls in an early day, A. Loneous and C. Foss being the operators. 

SHOEMAKERS AND DEALERS IN" BOOTS AND SHOES. 

J. J. Hancock, established in the old barracks in the summer of 
1871; afterward removed to west side Phillips ave.^near 9th street, 
continued the business till Jul}", 1877. 

N. Boucher, established in August, 1872, continued about four 
years. 

D. Tharaldson, east side Phillips ave., near 10th street, estab- 
lished November, 1876. 

J. F. Redfield, established July, 1878, discontinued business July, 
1880. 

C. R. Tate, established April, 1878, continued only a few months. 

0. Olson, established August, 1878, continued about a year. 
H. Julson, established in 1876, continued but arfew months. 
W. C. Hopkins, east side Phillips ave., north of 10th street, es- 
tablished in spring of 1878. 

D. S. Glidden, east side Phillips ave., near 9th street, established 
November, 1878. 

W. Lloyd & Sons, west side Phillips ave., south of 9th street, 
established April, 1879. 

W. Rabe, east side Phillips ave., north of 9th street, established 
November, 1879. 

J. M. Entzminger, Cataract block, established, September, 1880. 

GROCERIES. 

C. B. Culbertson. established December, 1873, continued about 
a year, 

John Henjum, west side Phillips Ave., south of 10th st. Estab- 
lished May, 1877. 

Lockwood & Jeffrys, established December, 1873. continued about 
a year. 

T. T. Cochran, wholesale and retail groceries, corner Phillips 
Ave. and 8th St., established September, 1877. 

A. W. Ogden, established April 1878, continued till April 1879. 

1. K. Buck, west side Phillips Ave., south of Ninth street, estab- 
lislu^d November, 1878. 

E. J. Brown, established September, 1878, continued till spring 
of 1879. ^ " 

J. M.Murray, established in fall of 1878. continued till fall of 
1879. 



SIOUX FALLS. 99 



A. Cleudenniiig, established October, 1878, continued about a 
year. 

P. F. Thompson, Tenth street, east of Phillips Ave., established 
December, 1878. 

M. Gerin, west side Phillips Ave, near 9th st., established Janu- 
ary. 1879. 

Kamph & Hage, established March, 1880, continued till January 
1st, 188 1 

Webb & Alatteson, west side Phillips Ave., north of 8th st., es- 
tablished, October, 1881. 

Leavitt Bros., established May, 1878. Sold out in October, 
1881. 

W. A. Noble, successor to Leavitt Bros., west side Phillips Ave. 
near 8th st., established October, 1879. 

BAKEKIES AND RESTAURANTS. 

Geo. Bordman, began business in the old barracks in June, 1873; 
continued with occasional intervals until 1879. 

A. J. Hayes, bakery and restaurant, east side Phillips Ave., near 
8th St., established November, 1879. 

P. Hall, Cit}^ Bakery and Restaurant, west side Phillips Ave. 
near 8th st.; established April, 1880. 

A. Palm, restaurant, Phillips Ave. north of 8tli st.; established, 
July, 1881. 

C. Weihe, Vienna Bakery, established Feb'y, 1880, continued but 
a few months. 

MEAT MARKETS. 

A number of persons have opened meat markets in Sioux Falls 
who, after a time, have closed their markets and either engaged in 
other businesses or removed from the place. Those that can now 
be called to mind are Castor & Blades, liere in 1873-1; Castor & 
Chamberlain, 1871-5; W. Hauser, 1875; Otto Anderson, 1875; G. 
C. Gladwyn, 1876-7; G. W. Bainbridge, 1877; T. C. Allen, 1878; 
John Zente, 1879. Those now in business are: 

C. K. Howard, 10 st.; established fall of 1873. 

J. B. Peterson & Co., 9th st.; established November, 1878. 

H. H. Carroll, east side Phillips Ave., north of 9tli st., establish- 
ed in June, 1881, as Carroll & Pattee. 

Michael & Roberts, west side Phillips Ave., near 7th st.. estab- 
lished August, 1881. 

FLOUR, FEED, ETC. 

In the fall of 1877. D. T. Scott opened a flour and feed store on 
the west side Phillips Avenue, which he continued for about a year 
when he formed a partnership with W. C. Boyce and moved across 
the Avenue. In October^ 1879, Mr. Scott disposed of his interest 
to Messrs. Boyce, Fairbanks & Co.; August 1st, 1880, this last 
mentioned firm sold to W. C. Boyce & Co. — W. C. Boyce and W. 



100 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

H. Byran^ — vvho still continue the business, east side Phillips 
Avenue, between Ninth and Tenth streets. 

W. W. Johnson, east side J^liillips Avenue, north of Eighth 
street, established May, 1879. Mr Johnson also deals in hides and 
wool. 

GUNS, ETC. 

G. K. Gunderson, east side Phillips Avenue, north of Ninth 
street, established September, 1880. 

HARNESS MAKERS, ZTC. 

John McKee, west side Phillips Avenue^ north of Ninth street, 
established in 1871. 

N. E. Cisna, established in spring of 1877; continued about two 
years. 

N. L. Anderson, east side Phillips Avenue^ near Tenth street; 
established September 1878. 

F. Wesser, east side Phillips Avenue, near Eighth street, estab- 
lished November, 1879. 

CHINESE LAUNDRY. 

Sang Lee, on alley between Eighth and Ninth streets; estab- 
lished in spring of 1880. 

TOBACCO, CIGARS, ETC. 

A. T. Fleetwood, east side Phillips Avenue, south of Eighth 
street. Since April, 1879, the firm has been Fleetwood & Lloyd, 
and located in post office building. 

D. J. Fisher, cigar factory; established June, 1879, continued 
about a year. 

F. F. Angel & Son, cigar factory, east side Phillips Avenue, 
south of Eighth street; established September, 1879. 

Henry Pontz, cigar factory, west side Philips Avenue, just south 
of Nineth street; established August 1880. 

NEWS, STATIONERY, BOOKS, ETC. 

E. T. Mallory, established June. 1873, continued about a year. 
C. 0. Natesta, established November 1873; sold to Mr. Russell 

in January, 1879, who sold to S. M. Bear & Co., in March, 1879. 
S. M. Bear, & Co., west side Phillips Avenue, next door north of 
Cataract block; established March, 1879. 

F. W. Farwell, established April, 1878; continued the business 
until November, 1878. 

Fleetwood & Lloyd, Post office building; established April, 1879. 

BANKS. 

J. D. Cameron, established the first bank in Sioux Falls in May, 
1874. He continued the banking business for about two years, 
when he devoted his entire attention to the real estate business. 

T. R. Crandall & Co., came to Sioux Falls in June, 1874, pre- 
pared to open the Minnehaha County Bank, but sold their material 
to J. D. Cameron before opening an office. 



SIOUX FALLS. 101 



J. B. Young, established the Sioux Falls Bank in August, 1876, 
In June, 1877, H. L. Hollister purchased an interest in the busi- 
ness; from that time until the organization of the First National 
Bank, the bank was known as the Sioux Falls Bank of J. B. Young 
& Co. 

The First National Bank of Sioux Falls, Avas chartered April 
•1st, 1880, with J. B. Young, President; R. F. Pettigrew, Vice 
President and H. L. Hollister, Cashier. The capital stock — 150,000 
—being owned as follows: H. L. Hollister, 120,000; J. B. Young. 
$16,000; R. F. Pettigrew, $3,000; J. Schaetzel, $3,000; C. K. 
Howard, $2..500; N. E. Phillips, $2,500; C. F. Webber, $2,000; C. 
G. Walts, $1,000. 

R. Nation, establishel tlie Citizens Bank in September, 1878; 
sold to Hills & Beebe in 1881. 

Hills & Beebe, Citizens Bank, corner Phillips Avenue and Tenth 
street; established February, 1881. 

Easton & McKinney, established November, 1880; sold to Mc- 
Kinney & Scougal in 1881. 

McKinney & Scougal, successors to Easton & McKinney, corner 
Phillips Avenue and Eighth street; established in summer of 1881. 

BRICKYARDS. 

The first kiln of brick manufactured in Sioux Falls was burned 
by D. H. Talbot, now of Sioux City, in June, 1873, on Frank street, 
just east of where the Worthington & Sioux Falls Railroad now 
crosses. In the summer of 1871, D. H. Talbot and John D. Cam- 
eron burned several kilns of brick on the east side of the river, 
near the bluffs. 

Bayse & Kindred, Frank street, east of Eighth Avenue, estab- 
lished September, 1877; sold to Kindred in 1878._ 

N. B. Kindred, established July, 1878; yard in the southeast 
part of the town. 

D. Donahoe, established in summer of 1879; yard near the river, 
east end of Frank street. 

BREWERY. 

Knott & Nelson, established in summer of 1871, sold to Knott 
& Co. in fall of 1871. 

G. A. Knott & Co. — G. A. Knott and C. K. Howard — successors 
to Knott & Nelson, established in fall of 1874; located on bluffs at 
north end of Main street. 

WHOLESALE LIQUORS. 

H. Gilbert, east side Phillips Avenue, near Nintli street; estab- 
lished June, 1873. 

J. Q. Houts, corner Phillips Avenue and Ninth street; estab- 
lished as a branch house of Ohlman & Co., in April, 1878. 

T. T. Cochran, corner Philips Avenue and Eighth street; estab- 
lished September, 1877. 



102 niSrORY of SOnilEASTERX DAKOTA. 



FUKNITURE. 

I. C. Dixon, established in si)rinL;; of 1872; corner Main juid 
Eighth streets: moved to 13rown block, west side Phillips Avenue, 
near Eighth street, in 1880. 

Weston & Petterson, established July 1874; sold to A. J'etterson 
in 1880. 

A. Petterson, successor to Weston & Petterson; corner Phillips 
Avenue and Tenth street; established October, 1878. 

Nichols X: Kinney, established November, 1880; continued tlie 
business but a few mouths. 

HARDWARE. 

W. S. Bloom, corner Main and 8th streets, established in ]870; 
had groceries in connection, continued about a year. 

Wni. Van Eps, corner Phillips ave. and &th street, established 
in spring of 1871. 

F. J. Cross, established in the fall of 1872 in the old barracks. 
In the spring of 1873, with N. E. Phillips, under firm name of 
Phillips & Cross, commenced business on west side Phillips ave., 
between 0th and 10th streets; sold out in spring of 1874. 

Phillips & Brown, successors to Phillips & Cross, established in 
spring of 1874. sold to Buck & Bro., in 1878. 

I. K. Buck & Bro., successors to Phillips & Brown, established 
September, 1878, sold to Graves & Taylor in 1870. 

Graves. & Taylor, successors to I. K. Buck & Bro., established 
March, 1879, sold to Taylor in 1881. 

F. W. Taylor, successor to Graves & Taylor, Howard & Taylor 
block, corner Phillips ave. and lOtli street, established June, 188] . 

W. S. Kimball, established July, 1873, continued about a year. 

T. F. Leavitt & Co., west side Phillips ave., north of 9th street, 
established December, 1876, had grocery stock when first started; 
the style of the firm has been changed to Leavitt & Vincent. 

E. Larson, west side Phillips ave., south of 9tli street, estab- 
lished April, 1877. 

H. A. Cadd, established April, 1876, moved to Dell Rapids in 
1877. 

G. W. Howard, established June, 1878, moved away in 1880. 

0. S. Swenson, west side Pliillips ave., between 9th and 10th 
streets, establislied in the fall of 1880. 

BT.ACKSMITHS, WAGON MAKERS, &C. 

Z. P. Herrick, blacksmith, south side 8th street, near the river, 
established in fall of 1871. 

True Dennis, blacksmith, established in 1871, continued the 
business until 1878. 

T. H. Pruner, blacksmith, established September, 1877. Shop 
was first located on 9th street near the river, thence moved to near 
lOLh street bridge, and again to west side l^hillips ave., near 7th 
street, where he is now located. 



SIOUX FALLS. 103 



W. N. Dillabougli, wagon shop, established in 1872; continued 
until 1878. 

A. Anderson, 8th street, east side of river, established October, 
1878. 

E. Jensou, blacksmith, east side of river, established October, 
1878; when tirst established had wagon shop in connection, lost in 
flood of 1881. 

Norton & Miu-ray, brick shop, east side Phillips ave., between 
9th and 10th streets, established November, 1878; have a wagon 
shop in connection. 

Stringham & Gillett, corner 10th street and Island ave., estab- 
lished Ma}', 1878; Have a wagon shop in connection. 

LUMBER. 

Wm. Van Eps was one of the first to start a lumber yard in Sioux 
Falls, which he continued until the spring of 1874. 

Edwin Sharpe& Co., began business in Sioux Falls in ihe sum- 
mer of 1872, at the corner of Main and Eighth Streets. Upon the 
advent of the railroad the yard was moved to the east side near the 
St. Paul depot, where they still continue business, 

Roderick & Brown, established in May, 1873; corner Phillips 
Avenue and Tenth streets; sold out in spring of 1874. 

B. F. Roderick, successor to Roderick & Brown, established in 
sprnig of 1874. In 1878 removed to the east side of the river, at 
the crossing of Eighth street and Pembina railroad. His entire 
stock was swept over the falls in the flood of April 1881. The 
stock recovered was sold to other parties and Mr. Roderick now 
devotes his entire attention to the grain business. 

Bates & Son, near Tenth street bridge, established in January, 
1877; stock bought by Sharpe & Co. in 1879. 

I. N. Waples, Phillips Avenue, near Seventh street; established 
in spring of 1878. continued about a juv. 

W. R. Bourne (N. C. Foster & Co..) e- st side: established Octo- 
ber 1878: stock bought by Sharpe & Co., in 1880. 

''Badger'' lumber vard, east Eighth street, near river; established 
in 1880; stock lost in flood of 1881. 

J. W. Parker & Son, corner Main and Seventh streets; established 
October, 1879. 

A. A. Grout, Minneapolis Lumberyard; established August, 1878; 
north side east Eighth street, after the flood of April, 1881, moved 
to higher ground on south side of Eighth street, east side, where 
he still continues business. 

H. W. Ross, Oshkosh yard; Eighth street, east side, near St. Paul 
elevator, established September, 1880. 

COAL, AVOOD, LIME, ETC. 

D. A. Brown opened a coal yard and lime house near St. Paul el- 
evator, in September 1878. He afterwards sold to R. G. Parmley 
&Co. 



1C4 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

R. G. Pariiiley & Co., coal, wood and lime, near St. Paul elevator; 
establisiied November, 1878. 

VV. C. Boyce, wood and coal, also dealer in carriages, evstablished 
in summer of 1878. In November, 1878, associated with D. F. 
Scott, under tirm name of Scott & Boyce, and included flour and 
feed. October 1st, 1879, firm changed to Boyce, Fairbanks & Co. 
Angust 1st, 1880, firm changed to W. C. Boyce & Co.— W. C. 
Bovce and W. H. Br3^an — east side l^hillips Avenue, between 9th 
and 10th streets. 

C. F. PUice & Co., wood and coal in connection with draying; 
established in spring of 1880; west side Phillips Avenue, corner 
11th street; in spring of ISSl, yards removed to 7th street, near 
railroad track. 

Smead & Alguire, wood and coal; east side Phillips Avenue, just 
south of 10th street; established in the spring of 1880. 

A. A. Grout, wood, coal and lime in connection with lumber 
business; established in fall of 1878. 

E. Sharpe & Co., Avood and coal in connection with lumberyard; 
established in 1872. 

B. F. Roderick, wood and coal in connection, with lumber yard: 
established in fall of 1878. 

AGEICULTURAL IMPLEMENTS. 

C. K. Howard, establishei this part of his business in 1870. 
Wm. VanEps. established in 1871. 

G. C. Lawton, established May, 187o, continued about a year. 

Skinner &. Austin, established May, 1873. A. J. Skinner suc- 
ceeded the firm in 1874, and continued about three years. 

0. & K. Thompson, east sid-? Phillips Ave., between 9th and 10th 
streets; established June, 1875. K. Thompson succeeded the firm 
in June, 1878, and continues the business. 

Gilman & Dick, established in sjtring of 1877, continued about a 
year. 

C. M. Bunce, established in spring of 1879; continued about a 
year. _ 

Stringliam iK: Gilett, agricultural implements and manufactur- 
ers of wagons, corner Tenth st. and Island Avenue; established 
May, 187'8. 

Norton & ]\[urray, agricultural implements and manufacturers 
of wagons, east side Phillips Ave., near 10th st., establishtd No- 
vember, 1878. 

MVERY STARLES. 

(Jallender Bros., east side Phillips Ave., near 8th st., established 
in s])ring of 187;}. sold to W. E. Willey in 1880. 

W. E. Willey, successor to (/allender Bros., east side Phillips 
Ave., near 8th st., established in spring of 1880, 

P. P. Peck, established April, 1874, east side Phillips Avenue, 
north of Ninth street. Tn 1877 moved south about a block on 



SIOUX FALLS. 105 



same street, and in 1879 moved to corner Main and 9th streets, 
where he is permmeiitly located. 

Dodge & Carson, established September, 1878; sold to P. P. Peck 
in 1879. 

Bersie Bros., established in summer 1879; continued until 1881. 

J. P. Tufts, miiu street near Gth, established in spring of 1880, 
Queen City Livery stables, corner Main and 10th streets, 
established August, 1881, by Jac Schaetzel, Jr., is a model liA^ery 
for the West. The building is 40 by 72 feet, two stories high. — 
The first story contains stalls for thirty horses, well, mixing troughs 
for feed, &c. On the second floor is the carriage room, oftice, sleep- 
ing room for the hostler, closets for robes, &c. The third floor is 
for hay and feed and furnishes ample room for storing 1,000 bushels 
of oats, four or five tons of biMn and seventy tons of hay, besides 
room for machinefor cutting the feed. 

LIFE AND FIRE INSURANCE. 

Briggs & Robinson, established a general insurance agency in 
Sioux Falls in February, 1879. They represent fourteen different 
companies and devote their entire attention to the business of in- 
surance. Office over Post Oflice. 

Geo. W. Lewis, oflice over first National Bank, established in 
1879. Does a general insurance and loaning business. 

The various professions have been fully represented in Sioux 
Falls from the time of its first settlement. We give filenames and 
dates of the establishment of the ditferent parties in chronological 
order so far as possible. Unless otherwise specified, they are still in 
business in the city: 

PHYSICIANS. 

J. L. Phillips, summer of 1869; Joseph Roberts, fall of 1872; 
removed to his farm in 1874, died in 1881. J. C. Morgan, May, 
1873; S. Olney, Aug., 1877. Dr. Olney formed a partership with 
L. 0. Tanner, in spring of 1879, which last but a few months. Dr. 
Tanner removing from the city. E. P. Allen, April, 1878; re- 
moved in 1880. E. Watson, Sept. 1878; A. L. Marcy, April, 1879; 
H. J. Cate, January, 1880, moved in October,1880. J. B. LeBlond, 
May, 1880; Harry Stites, July, 1881. 

RESIDENT DENTISTS. 

Peter Bush, spring of 1878; E. Bedford, Julv. 1881. 

LAND AGENTS. 

A. Gale, fall of 1871. 

T. H. Brown, July, 1872. 

E. A. Sherman. July, 1873. 
J. D. Cameron. June, 1874. 

Jac Schaetzel, Jr., January, 1876. 

F. S. Emerson, January, 1878. 
E. E. Sage, December, 1878. 
L. D Henry, October, 1880. 



106 HI.STi)KY OF .SOUTHKASTKKN DAKOTA. 

In this connection we would remark that all the attorneys give 
more or less of their attention to real estate business. 

ATTORNEYS. 

IJ. F. Pettigrew, September, 1869. 

John ]ii])})us. May, 1870. 

W. i\. McLaurv, October, 1870; removed June, 1876. 

M. Grio-sby, Juiv. 1872, now Grigsby & Wilkes., 

E. G. Wheeler. 'May, 1878; removed" in "74. 

C. H. Winsor, June, 1873. 

C. J. Hadley, December, 1873; removed in "74. 

T. R. Kershaw. June, 1877; now Kersbuw k Flagg. 

C. W. McDonald, June, 1877. 

A. M. Flagg, Sept. 1877; now Sherman & Flagg. 

W. W. Brookings, fall of 1877. 

E. Parliman, fall of 1877; now Parlimau & Frizzcll. 
L. M. Estabrook, spring of 1878. 

F. L. Boyce, spring of 1878. 

G. P. Cross, April, 1878. 

J. A. Wilson, June, 1878; removed in 1879. 
A. Frizzell, June. 1878. now Parliman & Frizzell. 
L. C. Hitchcock. June, 1878, removed in 1880. 
Pv. J. Wells, August. 1878. 

Wall & Disney, October, 1878, removed April, 1879; 
W. A. Wilkes, November. 1878. now Grigsby & Wilkes. 
L. S. Swezey, fall of 1879. 
E. G. Wright. October, 1880. 
T. J. Wolf, fall of 1880. 
Bottum & Dawes, fall of 1880. 
Coughran & I^IcMartin, fall of 1880. 
Free & Polk, fall of 1880. 
Clark & Fairfax, spring of 1881. 
C. H. Wynn, June, 1881. 

In addition to the business here enumerated, Sioux Falls has a 
full (|uota of carpenters, masons and workmen in all the trades. 



DELL RAPIDS. 

Dell Rapids is one of the growing and substantial towns of the 
Sioux Valley, with a well developed country around it, and with 
prospects of the most gratifying certainty. The town is the out- 
growth of actual necessity; it is the supply which a demand has 
created, a town which has been made by the surrounding country, 
and which has kept pace with the settlement of the agricultural 
community from which it derives its support. As nearly every 
community of Dakota has at least one prominent natural feature, 



1 



i 



DELL RAPIDS. 107 



by means of which the attention of tourists is attracted, so it is 
with Dell Rapids, the town itself takino- its name from the re- 
markable freak of Dame Nature in clcse proximity which is every- 
where known as 

THE DELLS. 

A visit to this picturesque locality will well repay the lover of 
the strange aud beautiful. The Dells have l)een aptly termed the 
safety-valves of the water-power at Dell Rapids. Beginning at a 
break in the Big Sioux River, on the south bank, opposite the 
town, at first the Dells present the appearance of a rivulet flowing 
out of the main body of water, taking a circuitous direction to re- 
unite with the parent stream some two and one-half miles further 
along its eccentric course. Yet only in the higher stages of its 
waters does the Sioux overflow the dam across the aperture be- 
tween itself and the Dells, and it becomes instantly apparent that 
it is not from the river that this peculiar branch, which is not a 
branch, obtains its water supply. Investigation determines that 
the Dells are fed by invisible springs, indefinite in number and 
indefinable in volume, which maintain in the bed of this curious 
stream an average depth of about eleven feet, although a much 
greater depth is found in vjrious places. As you progress along 
the banks of the Dells, you notice increasing accumulations of the 
well known Big Sioux quartzite in its dull red and leaden colors; 
the banks grow more and more precipitous; the rocks are heaped 
strata upon strata in immeasurable quantities, and take on fantastic 
shapes and unreal formations; the Dells deepen into a gorge, far 
down into the bottom of which the waters, taking their hues from 
the sky above them, creep along in almost imperceptible ripples. 
Overhead, pile on pile, hangs the rugged quartzite, shelving out 
over the liquid blue beneath: in the sides of the rocky banks in- 
numerable swallows build their nests, while above them shrubbery 
cling?' and cacti grow, seemingly nurtured in a soil of adamant. 
Perhaps the highest perpendicular point, from the summits of the 
overhanging rocks to the waters below, is very nearly forty-five 
feet; but so precipitous is the descent, and so grotesquely wild the 
aspect, that it is no wonder the majority of tourists report the 
height much greater. Descending a fissure, gazing down which 
descent seemed impossible, the writer pushed off in a rude canoe 
and paddled for some distance under the overshadowing banks. 
Here, indeed, looking upward, the impression was intensified, and 



lOS HISTORY OF SOL'THKASTEKN DAKOTA 

t was possible to imagine the gigantic forces which in some grand 
upheaval had turn these banks apart and given to them with whim- 
sical violence their strangely weird formations. 

The town itself is located on the north bank of the river, upon 
a gradually ascending upland. The townsite as ultimately agreed 
upon is on the southeast quarter of section 9, town lOi, range 49, 
and is distant about twenty miles north of Sioux Falls. 

The year 1871 witnessed the beginning of the settlement. In 
that year Dennis Rice, Byron D. Graves, Cash Coates, Gilbert 
Rice, E. F. Metcalf, Peter Morse, R. S. Alexander and Albion 
Thorn e, recognizing the advantages of the location, took meas- 
ures for the acquisition of property in the vicinity of the Dells. 
Complications which grew out of the disposition of the claim con- 
taining the present mill-site, in no small measure affected the 
future of Dell Rapids, which but for divers and sundry circumstances 
would in all probability have been the County Seat of Minnehaha 
County, as it was advantageously located with reference to the 
county limits at that time. Out of these and other complications 
grew a contest as to what should be the townsite of the future 
city, four different sites being laid out in 1872, the owner of each 
of which zealously strove for his own interests as against the 
others, which rivalry, while grounded in human nature and justi- 
fiable from an individual standpoint, nevertheless could not fail to 
have its effect upon the growth of the vigorous young community. 
Happily, the matter was finally compromised in 1875, by which 
compromise two of the four townsites were consolidated and the 
other two abandoned. 

In the winter of 1871 an order to commence mail service at the 
Dells on the 1st of January, 1872, was received. Albion Thorne 
was appointed Postmaster. As evidence of the scanty population 
at that time, it may he mentioned that it required the entire num- 
ber of male inhabitants to furnish the requisite bondsmen and 
assistants for the Postmaster. Lewis Hewlitt was the first mail 
carrier on the route from Sioux Falls. Hewlitb made his first aj)- 
pearance in that capacity on the 25th of December, 1871. On 
that day the entire population of the settlement ate Christmas 
dinner at the house of Postmaster Thorne. The company num- 
bered thirteen in all, and was composed of the following persons: 
Albion Thorne, wife and daughter; Dennis Rice, wife and daughter; 



DELL RAPIDS. 109 



R. S. Alexander and daughter, E. F. Metcalf, Geo. Forrester, R. 
T. Alexander, Lewis Hewlitt and a Mr. Hooke. 

Hewlitt carried the mails first on foot; afterwards, during the 
snowy weather, in an Indian cutter made of ash poles and cotton- 
wood boards; and when the snow disappeared, on foot and on 
horseback alternately. The mail was carried in a grain sack. In 
the spring Thorne moved the postoffice to his claim on the south- 
east quarter of section 4. The office was in fact kept, during the 
eighteen months of Mr. Thome's service as Postmaster, in a small 
trunk, which he still preserves a^ an interesting souvenir of the 
tintie. The Postmaster's salary for the first eighteen months 
amounted to the magnificent sum of eighteen dollars. Byron D. 
Graves succeeded Mr. Thorne as Postmaster. The settlement was 
at first called Dell City, the name of the postoffice being simply 
Dell, The name of the toAvn was changed to Dell Rapids in 1872, 
which name the Postoffice Department also adopted in the follow- 
ing year. 

In 1871 the first paper was printed by J. C. Ervin. It was called 
the Dell City Journol, was printed at Webster City, Iowa, and 
issued at Dell Rapids, or Dell City, as it was then called. Albion 
Thorne was the local editor. Ervin moved to Dell Rapids in 1872, 
and the paper was continued until some time in 1873, when Ervin 
moved to Marshall, Minn. From that time no paper was 
printed at Dell Rapids until February, 1879, when E. C. Whalen 
began the publication of the Dell Rapids Exponent. Whalen ran 
the paper for a period of seven months, when Albion Thorne suc- 
ceeded as editor and proprietor. On the first of January, 1880, 
Mr. Thorne sold the paper to Charles E. Griswold, the present 
editor and proprietor. The Exponent., as conducted by Mr. Gris- 
wold, is what ^ts name indicates, being a neat, ncAvsy publication, 
and a clear and creditable exponent of the necessities and opinions 
of its constituency. 

The first store in Dell Rapids was established by Byron D. Graves 
in 1873, "on the northeast quarter of section nine. A Mr. Cowen, 
also built a store in the following year, which store was shortly va- 
catedby reason of his death. Gust. A. Uline came to Dell Rapids, in 
February, 1874, and took possession of the store vacated by Cowen. 
In May, 1874, John E. Halleck, Graves and Lukens united in 
business near the mill-site, opposite Uline's establishment. In the 
fall of 1874 M. C. Lyons purchased the store of Halleck, Graves 



110 IIISTOICY OF SOUTIIKASTKUN DAKOTA. 

and Lukens, and moved it to. its present location, it being the 
building now occupied by F. E. Huntington as a flour and feed 
store. This was for some time the first and only store on the pres- 
ent townsite. Two years afterwards Mr. Uline moved his estab- 
lishment to its present location. 

In 1872 Frank C. Rice commenced to build the first installment 
of the Dell Rapids Flouring Mill, which he sold in 1874, to Wil- 
liam VanEps, of Sioux Falls, for $9,000. This mill forms one of 
the leading industries of Dell Rapids, and although seriously dam- 
aged by the floods in the spring of the present year, Jias Ijeen re- 
built and improved until it is now in first-class condition, fully up 
to the requirements of the tiuies, and turning out large quantities 
of number one flour. 

A bridge over the river, which had been built at a cost of $2,500, 
was also washed away by the floods, and has been replaced by a 
structure which, although costing a much smaller sum. neverthe- 
less answers the purpose sufficiently well. 

The first means of crossing the Big Sioux, established for th" 
convenience of the traveling public, wa? a small boat, at first bor- 
rowed, and subsequently purchased by Thorne and others. After- 
Avards, in 1S74, a ferry was establisliel. a boat with suflicn'ent ca- 
pacity to carry teams being built by subscription. This ferry was 
run uu*^il the construction of the large bridge in 1877. Thomas 
Lyons was the ferryman. 

in the fall of 1871 a dam wis built across the rivt>r where the 
flouring mill now stands, and a saw mill was erected, which remained 
three or four years. At tlrj first settlement of Dell Rapids the 
banks of the river in the vicinity were skirted with timber, which 
has since disappeared in compliance with that principle of utility 
which sacrifices everything b-autiful for the unroniantically prac- 
tical. 

In 1875 J. R. Richardson entered into the agricultural imple- 
ment business at Dell Rapids, which fact has not a little to do with 
the growth of the community, as through his instrumentality at 
first, supplemented by other enterprising dealers who came later, 
the farmers were placed in possession of the improved imjdements 
of husbandry. Mr. Rlehardson was also for a time interested in 
the lumber trade. 

An act of the Legislative Assembly in the spring of 1877, estab- 
lished a Territorial road from the Minnesota State line through to 



DELL RAPIDS. Ill 



Fb. Thompson, by the way of Dell Rapids and Madison. Dell 
Rapids subscribed liberally to the project and caused the survey of 
the road. The survey was conducted by Albion Thorn e as far as 
Herman, and by R. iS. Alexander thence to Ft. Thompson. The 
object of this road was to open up communicatio)! to the Black 
Hills, and the highway was of considerable importance to Dell 
Rapids until the cominc^ of the railroad. Alexander and Thome 
juade a preliminary survey to Pipestone, Minn., as early as 1875, 
to ascertain the advantages of the route for the Southern Minne- 
sota Division of the C. M. & St. P. R. R. Co. The first train 
reached Dell Rapids from Flandreau on the ITth of September, 
1880. and connections were, during the present season per- 
fected througli to Sioux Falls. The town of Dell Rapids issued 
bonds to the amount of $12,500 in aid of this road. 

There are two large grain elevators at Dell Rapids owned and 
operated by La Crosse, Wis., firms, and the lumber interests, which 
are extensive, are controlled by the firms of Drew Bros., John Paul 
and W. F. Coleman. 

The Dell Rapids Bank is the outgrowth of the commercial ne- 
cessities of the present year, and was established by Messrs. Mc- 
Kinney & Scougall. of Sioux Falls and Yankton. Mr. Geo. H. 
Johnson is Cashier. 

The population of Dell Rapids is variously estimated at from 
♦^>00 to 80(>. Its growth of late has been of much greater rapidity 
than for a number of years past. The town was incorporated un- 
der special act of the Legislative Assembly in 1879. 

CHURCHES. SCHOOLS AXD SOCIETIES. 

The Baptist Chuichof Dell. Rapids was organized in July. 1872, 
and has a roomy chiirjh edifice. The organization of the Congre- 
gational Church was effected in the spring of 1873. This society 
also has an appropriate building. The Episcopal Society occupies 
Episcopal Hall, and was organized in the winter of 1880-81. The 
Presbyterian Society, organized in August, 1872. has an edifice in 
process of completion, as has also the Methodist Episcopal Society 
of recent organization. 

The Union Sunday School, organized in the winter of 1872, was 
continued until 1880, all denominations uniting, and was very 
largely attended. It continues to be successfully held, although 
in 1880, the Baptist Society organized a separate and flourishing 
Sabbath School, the number of whose pupils is 117. Peter Morse 



112 HISTORY OF S0rTHEA8TERX DAKOTA. 



is Superintendent of the Baptist, and E. S. Tresidders Superintend- 
ent oi: the Union Su iday School organization. 

An attempt was m ide to build a school house as early as 1872. 
The building. Avhich was to be of stone, was to be paid for by sub- 
scriptions to the amount of Si. 50 per each male resident of the 
district, either in money, materials or labor. The subscriptions, 
however, were not forthcoming, the work being thrown on the. 
hands of the contractors and never completed. In 1875 a second 
and successful attempt was made, the structure being erected on 
the credit of the district. Since the erection of the present school 
building, the educational facilities have been excellent, and a very 
satisfactory grade has been maintained. Mrs. C. A. Codington is 
the Principal. 

Dell Rapids Lodge, No. 8, 1. 0, 0. F. — This lodge was instituted 
May 23d, 1876, by William Blatt assisted by Ralph R. Briggs and 
Zini Richey, and is in a flourishing condition, having a member- 
ship of over thirty. The Lodge built a new hall, twentv-two by 
sixty feet in dimensions, in 1880. The applicants for charter were 
W. B. Parker, Thomas Lyons, Wm. M. Carr and Geo. W. Hoyt. 
Present officers: M. R. Kenefick, N. G.: W. B. Parker, V. G.; 0. 
H. Smith, F. S.; L. N. Loomis, R. S.; Albion Thorne. Treasurer. 

Dell Rapids Lodge No. 8, L 0. G. T.— Instituted in March, 1881; 
has a membership of about one hundred, which number composed 
its charter membership. Present officers: W. B. Parker, W. C; 
Mrs. Mary Thorne, V. C; Eber Wilde, F. S.; C. E. Griswold, R. 
S.; Eugenie Parker, Treasurer; C. W. Shelton, Chaplain. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTORY. 

President of Council — Gust. A. Uline. 

Councilmen— Gust. A. Uline, C. S. Gifford, Georg.3 HeywoDd, .Tnlius A. Mar- 
tin, 0. H. Smith. 

Clerk — Lewis Loomis. 

Treasurer — Henry A. Cadd. 

Attornei/ — Albion Thorne. 

Justice of the Peace — Thomas Lyons. 

RUSIXKSS DIRECTORY. 

i^rt«^•— McKinney A: Scougal, G. H. Johnson, Cashier. 
Attorneiis—n-iOx-nQ & Bolster, Wright & Hall, M. K. Kenefick. 
Phi/sicians—W. B. Parker, 0. 0. Sawyer. 
Dentist — J. E. Nutting. 

General Merchandise— Gnat. A. Uline, Geo. Heywootl, Geo. Whitnian. Cross- 
man Bros., John Naughten. 
Neu\<ipaper—De\\ Rapids Exponent. C. E. Griswold, Editor and Proprietor. 



DELL RAPIDS. 113 



Drucjgists — Henry Cobb, Henry A. Cadd. 

Clothing, Etc. — J. S. k J. C. Lee. 

Hardware — John F. Scriver, C. J. Johnson. 

Agricultural Implements — C. J. Johnson, John F. Scriver, J. R. Richardson. 

Harness Shops. — Loomis & Nisbet, S. E. Tresidder. 

Postmaster. — A. C. Folsoni. 

Furniture. — Edgar A. Harvey, L. C. Harriny-ton & Son. 

Wagon Works. — L. C. Harrhigton & Son. 

Restaurants. — R. W. Harper, E. A. Richardson. 

Jeweler. — R. A. Knight. 

Lirerg.—ioh.n F. Demeree, M. W. k W. D. Richardson. 

Milliner If. — Hager & Nisbet. 

Lumber. — C. L. Coleman, C. S. GifFord, Agent; John Paul, E. R.Jones, Agent; 
Drew Bros, Eber Wilde, Agent. 

Hotels. — Merchants, Albion Thome; Western Hotel, S.II. Burke; Exchange, 
V. A. Potter. 

Saloons. — Mike E. Collins, Win. G. Driscoll, Cornelius Johnson. 

Elerators.—Curgill Bros., R. Stowell, Agent; Bonner & Hodges, Scott Stew- 
art, Agent. 

Flouring Mills.— Wm. VanEps. 

Depot Agent. — F. F. Powers. 

Drni/s.—M. C. Lyons, M. F. Coville. 

Butchers. — W. C. Putnam, Remington Bros. 

SJioemal-er. — B. D. Graves. 

Blacksmith. — L. S. Winsor. 

Barber. — Mac. Culbertson. 

Flour and Feed. — W. F. Huntington. 

Sewing Machines, — Mrs. E. A. Ervin. 

Photographer. — L. V. Bean. 

Painters. — Siim Averill, John E. Hoyt. 

Masons. — A. Pitzer, R. D. Hickman, John J. Hoyt, Joseph E. Davis. 

Carpenters. — I. F. Angstad. 

Boarding House. — B. D. Woodruff. 



VALLEY SPRINGS. * 

The township of Valley Springs is bounded on the north by Red 
Rock Township, on the west by Brandon Township, on the east by 
Minnesota, on the south by Iowa, and contains twenty-four sec- 
tions of land. The village of Valley Springs is located on the 
northwest quarter of section three, and the land whereon it is lo- 
cated wa5 pre-empted by J. Dunham, M. L. Wood and Miss Nancy 
Merchant, the land occupied by the present townsite having been 
owned by Miss Merchant. 

In June, 1872, a small fi'ame building was erected, the lumber 
being brought by ox-teams from Worthington, Minn., which build- 



114 UISTOKY OF SOrillKASTERN DAKOTA. 

i IS stood where the residence of D. B Cook now is, and was built 
by Messrs. Dunham and Wood, who first arrived at this point by 
stage from AVorthington to Sioux Falls, passing through the fu- 
ture town of Valley Springs, May 2J:th, 1872. The laud was pre- 
empted by these gentlemen, June 10th, of that year, lumber being 
immediately procured with which to build their residence. The 
first land broken, was by M. L. Wood, for garden purposes, during 
June. During the summer of 1872, one hundred acres of land were 
broken. Shortly afterwards, a claim was taken up by Edson 
Wheeler in section four. 

Application was immediately made for a postoffice, but a com- 
mission was not received until January 1st, 1873. The selection 
of a name was made by Mr. Wood, who, by reason of the beautiful 
valley in which they had " pitched their tents," and the great 
number of springs which it contained, decided upon the name of 
"the valley of springs," or Valley Springs. J. Dunham was ap- 
pointed Postmaster, which position he held one year, the postoffice 
being kept at his residence. A. C. Stone was the second Postmas- 
ter, the postoffice being moved to his residence, and subsequently 
located at the store of Stone & Howe, whence it was afterwards 
moved to McLauren's store, P. E. Howe being appointed Postmas- 
ter. Mr. Howe was succeeded by Alfred Larson in 1876, and occu- 
pied the position until July, 1880, when Charles Olson, present 
Postmaster, was appointed. 

H. P. Ljunggren and C. M. Johnson located on section thirty- 
three in town 102, range 47, — now known as R ?d Rock, about 
one-fourth mile from the village of Valley Springs — May 4th, 1872, 
taking each a claim of one hundred and sixty acres. Mr. L. also 
took a claim of one hundred and sixty acres for Ole Oleson in sec- 
tion four, Mr. J. taking a like claim in the same section for G. 
Anderson. In August, 1872, Mr. L. built a sod house on his claim, 
as did also Mr. Johnson, the former breaking forty acres during 
that summer, and the latter twenty acres. 

The first election was held at the residence of Loren Burgenson, 
near Split iiock River, during the fall of 1873. 

The first school held at Valley Spriugs, was begun during the 
summer of 1874, in a house bought by the citizens of School Dis- 
trict No. 15, of G. Hemsley, and was taught by Ida Shafer. The 
present school building was erected in the summer of 1878. at a 
cost of '$1,600, and is a fine two-story structure. 



VALLEY SPRINGS. 115 



The first store was established by A. C. Stone and P. E. Howe, 
under the firm name of Stone & Howe, and was opened in the fall 
of 1873, in the building now used by Geo. E. Henton as a resi- 
dence. Stone & Howe used this building as a store about two 
years. The next store started was by L. F. McLaurin, of Wor- 
thington, Minn., in a building located where George E. Henton's 
blacksmith shop now stands, and which is now used as a harness 
shop, on the south side of the railroad. Alfred Larson was installed 
as manager, and conducted the establishment two years. The 
building was then sold, and the goods sent to Mankato, Minn. 

Social gatherings at Valley Springs were inaugurated at the res- 
idence of A. C. Stone, about the first of August, 1873, in honor of 
the completion of the building. About ninety people, of whom 
sixty-five were adults, participated in the festivities of the occasion. 

June 28, 1874, the first marriage at Valley Springs was solemn- 
ized, the contracting parties being Mr. Perry E. Howe and Miss 
Prances H. Acker, Rsv. J. W. Rigb}^ a Methodist minister, being 
the officiating clergyman. The first birth was that of a daughter 
to John C. and Martha Shepard. 

C. 0. Remming opened the first blacksmith shop, 16 by 20 
feet in dimensions, on the north side of the railroad, in May, 1876. 
A blacksmith shop was also established by Geo. E. Henton in 1879. 
Edson Wheeler established the first harness and saddlery store, a 
like establishment being also opened by W. W. Bell in November, 
1880. 

Mr. Ljutiggren completed the erection of his hardware store in 
August, 1878. The establishment is 20 by 50 feet in dimensions, 
and is two stories high, the first story being used for the require- 
ments of the business, the second story for dwelling apartments. 

The Congregational Church of Valley Springs was organized in 
the summer of 1878, the first Trustees being J. R. Jackson, F. C. 
Bell and D. B. Cook. There were eighteen members at the time 
of organization. Rev. J. A. Palmer was installed as the pastor. 
Services were first held in Larson's Hall. Since 1879, the Society 
has used the upper story of the present school building. 

Alfred Larson and P. Zimmerman erected the building occupied 
by Zimmerman & Co., during the fall of 1878. This building is 
22 by 40 feet in dimensions, two stories high, the lower story u^ed 
as a tt jre, with an addition also so used, and the upper story used 
as a dwelling-. 



ll.T HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

The Valley Springs Cemetery Association was organized May 
2d, 1879, and is located on the southeast quarter of section three, 
town 102, range 17, containing ten acres. Its officers are: D. B. 
Cook, President; George Cassady, Sec'y; J. E. Hallett, Treasurer. 

The village plat was surveyed and completed by D. B. Cook in 
1878. 

The Central House, located on Broadway, was built in 1878, be- 
ing used as a private residence one year, when it was bought by 
Grove Hemsley and conducted as a boarding house until 1880. In 
1881, an addition was constructed and the house assumed hotel 
proportions, having now eleven rooms, to which additions will be 
made in accordance with the necessary demands of trade. 



LAKE COUNTY. 

The topography of Lake County is nothing if not picturesque. 
The county takes its name from the number of beautiful sheets of 
water within its borders. Its first occupancy by white settlers dates 
from 1871, its organization as a county from 1873. Its early colo- 
nization was attended with many difficulties and hardships, to the 
enhancement of which the facetious red man contributed not a lit- 
tle. The degenerate sons of the once warlike Sioux are sparsely 
scattered through the county, living by hunting and fishing, and 
now thoroughly subservient to the dominant race. Until within 
a few years their escapades were by no means infrequent, but the 
increasing tide of white immigration here as elsewhere has ])roved 
too much for them. One of the characteristic^instancesof the ab- 
original lack of sand was when AVilliam Lee, an old settler of Lake 
County, was intercepted by an Indian riding a wild pony and with 
a rifle duly cocked for the occasion. Biding in front of Mr. Lee, 
Lo made significant motions with his weapon, accompanied by an 
unearthly " Ugh ! '" Lee promptly presented a Colt's revolver, 
hirge-size. "You no 'fraid Ingin?" queried the savage. " Notify 

a"' Well not by what a professor of chemistry would call 

a "notable quantity," was the intent and meaning of Lee's em- 
phatic reply. '" H — 1, Ingin just make fun ! " returned the noble 
red man, as he clapped heels to the flanks of his pony and rap- 
idly disappeared from view. 

The nutritive properties of the native grasses are said to be re- 
markable. Instances are related of early settlers Avho, arriving 



DELL RAPIDS. 117 



after the grass had been killed by the frost, cut it in its perfectly 
dead condition and brought their cattle safely through the winter 
on this. Isolated from markets and deprived of the means of dis- 
posing of their crops, the hardy pioneers for some years turned 
their attention to hunting and trapping, which furnished means 
of livelihood and profitable employment. In the winter the scanty 
population devoted themselves to fishing, tons of fish being taken 
from the lakes and hauled to the various towns on the Missouri, 
principally to Yankton and Sioux City, where they met with ready 
sale at good prices. 

Sioux City was the principal trading point in those days, from 
which flour and other provisions were hauled. A neighborhood in 
those times included a circuit of fifty miles or more, and dances and 
merry-makings drew attendance from within the radius of a day's 
journey. The citizens of Lake County no longer patronize Sioux 
City, and the days of hunting, trapping and fishing as distinctive 
occupations are already well nigh forgotten. The surpassing beauty 
and fertility of the prairies surrounding the chain of lakes in the 
central part of the county, together with the rare loveliness of the 
lakes themselves, were chiefly instrumental in drawing the nucleus 
of the present population around their shores, and thus the work 
of colonization and development began to progress with astonishing- 
vigor and enterprise. The population of Lake county quadrupled 
in 1878; its present population is about 4,500. The inhabitants are 
chiefly Americans from adjoining Western States, with a scattering 
number of Scandinavians and Grermaus, the latter largely from the 
vicinity of Milwaukee, and from an enterprising anl thrifty class 
of citizens who have made extensive investments. 

The chain of lakes is a notable feature which should not be 
passed by without uiore than mere mention. They intersect the 
county from the western boundary nearly to the line of McCook 
County on the southeast, finding an outlet thx'ough a stream which 
bears the euphonious name of Skunk Creek, and finally blend with 
the waters of the Big Sioux a short distance above Sionx Falls. 
These lakes vary in dimensions from one mile in width and 
six miles in length to small bodies covering but a few acres. All 
are fed by springs, the banks of some showing within a few 
paces an equal number of trickling streams flowing in equal 
volumes throughout summer and winter, thus giving to the water 
unequaled purity. The depth of the lakes varies from eight to 



lis HISTORY OF 80UTHEASTEKX JIAKOTA. 

thirty feet, from eight to ten feet being the average. There are 
great variety and unlimited abundance of fish peculiar to fresh 
water. These attain a size and weight positively astonishing to 
one unacquainted with the waters of Dakota. Pickerel weighing 
from fifteen to twenty pounds and buffalo fish weighing from fifty 
to seventy pounds have been caught, and in certain seasons a 
wagon load offish is not considered an unusual day's catch. 

Aside from the beauty of the lakes, the abundance of fish and 
wild fowl in spring and autumn, in addition to the sport which 
they afford and the ornamentation which they give to a locality 
otherwise picturesque, they are vastly more beneficial to the country 
than would be an equal extent of arable lands; for as every ravine 
and creek within a large tract surrounding them slope towards their 
beds, the drainage of the county through their agency is made per- 
fect, while to the herds of live stock which graze upon the prairies 
in their vicinity, the advantage of pure water and plentiful shade 
along the banks of the lakes can not be overestimated. Scattered 
through the county are tracts of land, apparently dry beds of for- 
mer lakes and ponds, which, although unfitted for agriculture, by 
reason of periodical overflows, form a series of natural meadows 
producing an excellent quality of nutritive wild grass. It will be 
observed from the above that the facilities for profitable stock 
raising, as well as remunerative agriculture are exceptionally good. 

The present county officers of Lake County are: L. M. Coon, 
E. B. Stacy, P. Zimmerman, Commissioners; J. A. Trow, Register 
of Deeds; A. McKay, Treasurer; A. Fish, Judge of Probate; J. G. 
Wadsworth, Sheriff'; W. F. Smith, Clerk of Court; J. B. Walters, 
Coroner. 



MADISON. 

No more fitting instance of the wonderful energy and in- 
domitable enterprise which has characterized the settlement and 
growth of the great Sioux Valley, can be pointed out than the 
almost incredible rapidity with which this town has sprung into 
being and taken position as one of the best known, most substan- 
tially prosperous and prop<M'ly influential communities of Dakota. 
This gratifying condition of things demonstrates in the best way 
what well directed and united effort is capable of accomplishing 
when unhampered by individual selfishness or local jealousies. It 



MADISOX. 119 

must be borne in mind that there were two Madisons, the old 
Madison and the new Madison. 

To correctly understand this situation, it Avill first be necessary 
to give a briel history of old Madison, now abandoned for its young 
and thrifty successor. 

Old Madison, then, dates an existence from 1875, on the 13th of 
July in which j'Car, the town was platted, the village and lake be- 
i;ig named by William Van Eps, of Sioux Falls, from the similarity 
of the townsite and adjoining lake to the townsite of the Capital 
of Wisconsin and the lake on which it is situated. Old Madison 
was located on the shore of Lake Madison, about four and one-half 
miles southeast of the present town. Not long after the plat was 
surveyed, Madison was made a trading post by the erection of a 
building used as a general merchandising store by Brooks & Styles, 
of Sibley, Iowa. In the autumn of 1875, the County Seat of Lake 
County Avas located at Madison, and a large business growth 
resulted; but the coming of the iron horse was a death-blow to the 
old town, and the location of the station at the site of the present 
town was the .signal for general preparations to move. 

The new Madison is the present terminus of the Southern Min- 
nesota Division of the C, M. & St. P. R. R., and is beautifull}^ 
located between Lakes Madison and Herman, being only, one and 
one-quarter miles from the geographical center of Lake County. 
It would be difficult to imagine a more desirable location, or one 
more favorable in every way for the advancement of a community's 
interests. Surrounded by a tine agricultural section, well settled 
and developed, it is the focus from out of which radiates activity 
and prosperity on every side. There is aii abundance of good 
water, clear, bracing atmosphere; and exceptionally healthful con- 
ditions. The present town was platted July 6th, 1880, by William 
Van Eps, P. H. Harth, 0. E. Batchelder and William Lee, and a 
general migration from the old town to the new began to take 
place immediately afterwards. J. W. Davison was the first to 
open a stock of merchandise in the new town. 

The first railroad train reached Madison January 12th. 1881. and 
the town was incorporated under the provisions of the Territorial 
Code on the first of May. following. Its present population is fully 
600, and is rapidly receiving valuable accessions. The streets are 
one hundred feet in width, with sidewalks ten feet wide, and already 
much money has been expended in improvements in this direction. 



120 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

All branches of business are well represented, the buildings being 
of a superior class and everything wearing an appearance of thrift 
and permanency. 

A recent valuable addition to the enterprises of the town is the 
Lake County Flouring Mill. OAvned b}' Mr. B. D. Sprague, the 
construction of which was begun in May of the present year, and 
completed in October, at a total cost of about ^20,000. They are 
roller mills and contain all the latest improvements, no trouble or 
expense having been spared to that end. They will grind about 
500 bushels of wheat per day, and their work will not suffer by 
comparison with any other mills in Dakota. Mr. H. A. Snyder is 
the head miller. 

Madison has two excellent newspapers, the Madison Sentinel 
and the Lake Counfy Leader. The Sentinel was first started at 
ohl Madison in April, 1879, by Joe H. Zane and F. L. Fifield. W. 
F. Smith succeeded Fifield in March, 1880. In May of the same 
year Smith disposed of his interest to Zane, and in June W. H. 
& A. M. Jones became interested in its publication. W, H, Jones 
became sole editor and proprietor in December, 1880. The Leader 
was established in June, 1879, at Herman, six miles west of old 
Madison, by F. C. Stowe, who brought it to new Madison in No- 
vember, 1880. Its final sale to E. A. Fuller and J. M. Preston 
was consummated September 3d, of the present year. It is pub- 
lished by Fuller & Co., with J. M. Preston as the editor. Both 
the Sentinel and the Leader have contributed in no small degree 
to bring about the present prosperous condition of affairs at Madison. 

The hotel and other accommodations are excellent, and the bus- 
iness men wide awake to appreciate and avail themselves of every- 
thing conducive to the advancement of the community. 

CHURCHES, SCHOOLS AND SOCIETIES. 

Tliere are five church organizations at Madison, all with encour- 
aging prospects. The Presbyterian S ociety was organized at Old 
Madison, in 1877, and has a handsome edifice. Rev. G. F. Leclere 
is the pastor. Th^ Baptist Society is of recent organization, and 
has also an appropriate edifice. The Congregational Society was 
organized in August of the present year, and holds services in Davi- 
son's Hall. The Society will erect a suitable structure as soon 'as 
practicable. A Methodist Episcopal organization existed at Old 
Madison, the members of which expect shortly to organize their 
Society in the new town. There is also a large Catholic member- 



MADISOX. 



121 



ship ill Madison, an edifice for the accommodation of which will 
shortly be erected. 

The educational facilities, present and prospective, are unusually 
excellent. The contract for the new school building, which is to 
cost ^1,000, calls for its completion November 20th, 18S1. Mean- 
time a temporary building has been occupied. A matter for con- 
siderable self-gratulation is the success attending the efforts of the 
citizens for the establishment of a Territorial Normal School at 
Madison. The Legislative Assembly having at its last session 
passed an act establishing five Normal Schools in the Territory, 
conditioned upon the deeding by each locality, where such an in- 
stitution was desired, of one hundred and sixty acres of land to the 
Territory for such purpose', within the period of six months, the 
citizens of Madison promptly bought and paid for by private sub- 
scription the requisite one hundred and sixty acres, at a cost of 
$1,750, and deeded it to the Territory as required by the act. The 
deed has been accepted by Secretary Hand as Acting Governor du- 
ring the absence of Governor Ordway, and the appropriations will 
no dou])t come as a matter of course, thus securing to Madison an 
institution of great benefit to the entire community, as well of the 
highest credit to the people of the Territory. It will especially be 
borne in mind in this connection that Madison is the only town in 
the Territory which complied with the conditions of the above act. 

The Lake County Agricultural Association, whose objects are all 
that the name implies, was organized in the fall of 1879, and held 
its third annual fair on the 29th and 30th of September, of the 
present year. Its grounds are about one-half mile east of town, 
contain sixty acres, and are unsurpassed in adaptability for the pur- 
pose for which they are used. There is an excellent half-mile cir- 
cular track, good buildings and conveniences, a large floral hall be- 
ing among the erections of the present year. Competition in all 
departments is unlimited, premiums liberal, and the annual meet- 
ings will bear favorable comparison with any of the Middle and 
Western States. The present officers of the Association are: 
President, G. P. Borland; Vice-President, P. H. Harth; Secretary, 
F. C. Stowe; Treasurer, David Mullen; Board of Directors, Jacob 
Bersjstresser, John Fitzgerald, R. B. Mullen, J. M. Preston, Philip 
Zimmerman. Lake County claims the honor of being the first 
cjunty to organize an Agricultural Association in Dakota. 



122 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN" DAKOTA. 

The organiziition of the Luke County Cemetery Association was 
perfected April 23,1881. Its officers are: President.?. II. Harth; 
Vice-President, J. Gr. Wadsworth; Secretary, J. M. Preston ;Treas- 
m-er, A. E. Clough; Directors, A. M. McCallister, G. P. Borland, 
Wm. Lee: Superintendent of Grounds. J. H. Law. 

Madison Lodge No. 20,1. 0, 0. F.— Was instituted April 10, 1880, 
by D. D. G. M. Woodruff, of Dell Rapids, with the following 
charter members: William Lee, Charles Miller, P. Marquart, 
John Jacobs, William Luce, C. W. Howard, C. C. Kosnow, J. G. 
Wadsworth, J. R. Taylor, A. E. Clough. Its first officers were: P. 
Marquart, N. G.; C. Miller, V.G.; A. E. Clough, Secretary; W. H. 
Luce, Treas. The following are its present officers: A. E. Clough, 
N. G.; J. I. Taylor, V. G.; H. Gulstein, Secretary: P. Hansen, 
Treasurer; Representative to the Grand Lodge, Charles Miller. 
The membership is about fifty, and comprises one of the finest 
3^oung lodges in the Territory, its number embracing a majority of 
the substantial business men of the town. The Lodge is financially, 
prosperous, has mone3Mn its treasury, and the membership is rap- 
idly increasing. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTORY. 

President Board of Trustees — A. E. Clough. 
Trustees— k. E. Clough, Wm. Lee, E. VV. Dyer. 
Cleric— J. M.Preston. 
Treasurer — E. W. Hart. 
Justice of the Peace — E. Sheridan. 
Marshal— D. T. Scott. 

Board of .Education — Alexander McKay, A. E. Fuller, J. "W.DaviFon; J.M. 
Preston, Clerk. 

UTISIKESS DTRF.CTOKY. 

Aftornei/s.—Y.L. Soper, G. K.Tittany, S. M. Smolkn, J. M. Preston, W. F. 
Smith, C. B. Kennedy. 

Agricultural fnq^lovents — Wadsworth & Harth, A. K. Howlaiul i: Son. J. 
F. Richardson. 

Blacksmiths- -JohnRimtimcY, B. U. Holt, W. S. P.evce, Peter Hansen. 

Boardinfi House — Mrs. Mary Gdden. 

Banls — Citizens" Bank, J. A. Trow, Cashier; Lake Couniy Bank, F. W. 
Thaxter, Cashier. 

Boots and Shoes — John McCormack. 

Barbers — E. Rice. F. M. Cooksin. 

Contractors and Builders — Fuller Bros., John Buckley. 

Depot Affcnt — W. J. Mallon. 

Druggists — Clough & Howe, A. A. Broodie. 

Fuel — R. R. Company, H. J. Patterson. 

Flour and Feed — II. J. Patterson. 



MOODY. COUNTY. 123 



General Merchandize — P. H. Harth, Daly and Fitzgerald. A. McKay. J. W. 
Davison, C. S. Raymond. Clark & Cameron. 

Hardware — E. W. Dyer, McCallister Bro.«, 

Hotels — Madison Honse, J. D, Andrews: Commercial House, J. J. Cranney. 

Insurance. — C. B. Kennedy, F. W. Tliaxter. 

Jeweler. — 0. G. Au'ey. 

Liceri/, — Scott & Sheridan. J. Vandervort, A. W. Clark. 

Lake Counfi/ Flouring Mills. — B. D. Spragua. 

Lumber.— J o'm Paul, Henry Gulstain, Ag?nt; C. L. Coleman, We.-^ley HilL 
Agent; Drew Bros., by Frank Drew. 

Merchant Tailor. — N. Grosch, 

Meat Mdrkets. — Renner & Schultz, Frank Snyder. 

Millinery. — Mrs. A. E. Clongli, Miss Jennie Jones. 

Newspapers. — Lake County Lead3r, Fuller & Co. Proprietors, J. M. Preston, 
Editor; Madisen Sentinel, W. H. Jones, Editor and Proprietor. 

Notions. — A. Fritz. 

Physicians. — A. E. Clough, S. M. Jenks. 

Postmaster.—?. H. Harth, J. M. Preston. Assistant. 

Painter.~\Y. A. Cole. 

Restaurant. — L. Ricker. 

Real Estate and Loan. — Citizen's Bank, Lake County liank, C. B. Kennedy, 
W F. Smith. F. L. Soper, Scott & Sheridan. 

Stone Masons. — S. Q. Brown, James Barrett. 

Saloons. — Batchelder &. Smith, A. B. Houts, T. Lannon, A. Froeliger. 



MOODY COUNTY. 

The L'^gislative Assembly formed the boaadaries of Moody 
County in IS 73. The following summer the first County Com- 
missioners were appointed, and the County was organized. The 
ofScers appointed were as follows: Commissioners — David Fari- 
bault, Harry Stoughton, EdAvard Pierce. Register of Deeds — M. 
D. L. Pettigrew. Treasurer and Judge of Probate — A. G. Hop- 
kins. Sheriff — Thomas Davis. Officers were subsequently elected 
as follows: Commissioners — M. P. Hopkins, Morris Bebb, David 
Faribault. Register of Deeds— M. D. L. Pettigrew. Sheriff— E. 
1. Heald. Treasurer — Marshall Morse. 



FLANDREAU. 

Elsewhere in its proper place will be found an account of the 
location of Flaudreau in 1857 by the Dakota Land Company, of 
St. Paul, Minn., together with the names of the principal stock- 
holders and incorporators of the Company, as also an account of 
the expediticn, beginning with flying colors at St. Paul, in May of 



124 HISTORY OF SOUTHEAST E:IN DAKOTA. 

that year. It will be observed that the town of Flai:dreau was 
named in honor of Judge Charles E. Flandraii, of St. Paul, there 
being latterly, however, a slight alteration in the orthography of 
the name by the insertion of an additional "f." 

The predatory character of the noble red man, together with his 
native hostility to the innovations of the pale face, rendered abor- 
tive the speculative efforts of the Dakota Land Company, and 
brought their plans to a summary standstill in June, 1858, at 
which time the Indians rose in their might and drove the settlers 
from the valley of the Upper Sioux. Thus is chronicled the rise, 
decline and sudden fall of the old Flandreau, and years elapsed 
previous to the rise of the present new and prosperous Flandreau 
in its stead. About the only indications of former white inhabit- 
ancy are to be found digged in the side of the hill in the timber 
above the mill, on which spot a white man's cabin in all proba- 
bility once stood. 

The country in and about Flandreau was no doubt a favorite 
camping ground for the Indians, who came from localities far and 
near to the Great Pipestone Quarry, one mile north of Pipestone, in 
Pipestone County, Minn., and about fifteen miles east of Flandreau. 
This celebrated region abounds in Indian folk-lore and traditions, 
more or less romantic and worthy of credence. It was here that 
the Pipe of Peace was obtained, and here to this day the Wards of 
the Government get the material from which their pipes and other 
articles are carved in many rude and fantastic designs. The Legend 
of the Great Pipestone Quarry has thus been beautifully immor- 
talized by the poet Longfellow: 

THE PEACE-PIPE. 

From the Mountains of the Prairie, 
On the Great Red Pipestone Quarry, 
(lih'he Manito, the nii<rhty, 
He the Master of Life, descending, 
On the red crags of the quarry 
Stood erect, and called the nations. 
Called the tribes of men together. 

From his footprints flowed a river, 
O'er the prtcipi(<' plunging downward, 
Cileanied like Ishkoodah, tlie comet. 
And the Spirit, stooping earlliward, 
With his tjngpr on the Meadow 
Traced a winding pathway for it. 
Saying to it, '"Run in this way! " 

From the red stone of the (juany 
With his hand he broke a fragnient 



FLANDRKAF. 125 



Moulded it into a pips-head. 
Shaped and fashioned it witli figures; 
From the margin of the river 
Took a long reed for a pipe-stem. 
With its dark green leavi-s upon it; 
Filled the pipe with bark of willow, 
With the bark of the red willow ; 
Breathed upon the n;>ighboring forest, 
Made its great boughs chafe together, 
Till in flame they burst and kinaled; 
And erect upon the mountains 
Gitehe Manito, the mighty, 
Smoked the Calumet, the I'eace-Pipe, 
As a signal to the nations. 

And the smoke rose slowly, slowly, 

Through the tranquil air of morning, 

First a single line of darkness, 

Then a denser, bluer vapor, 

Then a snow-white cloud unfolding. 

Like the tree-tops of the forest, 

Ever rising, rising, rising, 

Till it touched the top of heaven, 

Till it broke against the heaven. 

And rolled outward all around it. 

From the Vale of Tawasentha, 
From the Valley of W^yoming, 
From the groves of Tuscaloosa, 
From the far-off Rocky Mountains, 
From the northern lakes and rivers, 
All the tribes beheld the signal, 
Saw the distant smoke ascending. 
The Puckwana of the Peace-Pipe. 

And the prophets of the nations 
Said, "Behold it, the Puckwana! 
By this signal from afar off. 
Bending like a wand of willow, 
Waving like a hand that beckons, 
(xitche Manito, the mighty, 
Calls the warriors to his council!" 

Down the rivers, o'er the praiiies, 
Came the warriors of the nations, 
Came the Delawares and Mohawks, 
Came the Choctaws and Comanches, 
Came the Shoshones and Biackfeet, 
Came the Pawnees and Omahas, 
Came the Mandans and Dacotahs, 
Came tlie Hnrons and Ojibways, 
All the warriors drawn together 
By the signal of the Peace-Pipe, 
To the Mountains of the Prairie, 
To the Great Red Pipestone Quarry. 

And they stood there on the meadow. 
With their weapons and their war-gear. 
Painted like the leaves of autumn, 
Painted like the sky of morning. 
Wildly glaring at each other; 



126 HISTORY OF SOrTHKASTERX DAKOTA. 

In their faces stern d'tiance. 
In their hearts the femls of ages, 
The hereditary hatred. 
The ancestral thirst of vengeance. 

Gitche Manito, the mighty, 

The creator of the nations, 

Looked upon them with compassion, 

Witli paternal love and iiity: 

Looked upon their wrath and wrangling 

But as quan-els among chihh-en, 

But as feuds and fights of children! 

Over them he stretched his right hand, 
To subdue tlieir stubborn natures, 
To allay their thirst and fever, 
By the shadow of his right hand : 
Spake to them with voice majestic 
As the sound of far-oli waters. 
Falling into deep ab3-sses. 
Warning, chiding, spake in this wise : — 

"0 ray children, my poor children, 
Listen to the words of wisdom, 
Listen to the words of w"arning_ 
From the lips of the Great Spirit, 
From the Master of Life, who made you ! 

"I have given you lands to hunt in, 
I have given you streams to fish in, 
I have given you b 'ar and bison, 
I have given you roe and reindeer, 
I have given you brant and beaver. 
Filled the marshes full of wdld-fowl, 
Filled the river full of fishes ; 
Why then are you not contented? 
Why then will you hunt each other? 

"1 am weary of your quarrels. 
Weary of your wars and bloodshed. 
Weary of your prayers foi vengeance. 
Of your wrangliiigs and dissensions; 
All your strength is in your union, 
All your danger in discord; 
Therefore be at peace henceforward. 
And as brothers live together. 

"T will send a Prophet to you, 

A dehve.er of the nations, 

Who shall gnideyou and shall teach you. 

Who shall toil and suffer with you. 

If you listen to his counsels. 

To 1 will multiply and prosper; 

If his warnings pass unheeded. 

you will fade away and perish ! 

"BaHie now in the stream before you. 
Wash the war-paint from your faces, 
Wash the blood-stains from your fingers, 
Bury your war-clubs and your weapons, 
I^reak the red stone from this quarry. 



FLANDREAU. 127 



Mould and make it into Peace- Pipes, 
Take the reeds that grow hesiJe you, 
Deck them with your brightest feathers, 
Smoke the cahxmet together. 
And as brothers hve hencefofward!" 

Then upon the ground the warriors 
Threw their cloaks and shirts of deer-skin, 
Threw their weapons and their war-gear. 
Leaped into the rushing riv. r, 
Washed the war-paint from their faces; 
Clear above them flowed th ; water, 
Claar and limpid from the ibotprints 
Of the Master of Life descen ling; 
Dark below them flowed the river. 
Soiled and stained with stseaks of crimson. 
As if blood were mingled with it! 

From the river came the warriors. 

Clean and washed from all their war-paint ; 

On the banks their clubs they buried. 

Buried all their war-like weapons. 

Gitche Manito, the mighty, 

The Great Spirit, the creator. 

Smiled upon his helpless children! 

And in silence all the warriors 
Broke the red stone ot the quarry. 
Smoothed and formed it into Peace-Pipes, 
Broke the long reeds by the river, 
Decked them with their brightest feathers, 
And departed each one homeward. 
While the Master of Life descendina: 
Throngh the opening of cloud-curtains. 
Through the doorways of the heaven, 
Vanished from Viefore their faces. 
In the smoke that rolled around him, 
The Puckwana of the Peace-Pipe ! 

For years after the abandoiiment of Flandreau in 1858, the In- 
dians hunted and fished undisturbed by the white man, save by an 
occasional trapper, who, for the most part, adopted their modes of life 
and lived with them on friendly term-;. Yet the inevitable could not 
long be postponed, and the harbinger of advancing civilization be- 
gan once more to appear, this time predicating permanent redemp- 
tion of the soil from savage uses, and foreshadowing the teeming 
industries and the church spires of the future. About the year 
1869 the more civilized Indians of the Santee and Sisseton agen- 
cies, encouraged by the missionaries who labored among them, be- 
gan to select claims in Moody County, and to make for themselves 
homes along the river. Thus we have the apparent anomaly 
of the Indians themselves giving the first impetus to the tide of 
civilization, which was soon supplemented by the establishment, in 



12S HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

1S69, of a trading post at Flaiidreau by C. K. Howard, the well 
known merchant of Sioux Falls. 

In 1871 the Indian Presbyterian Society erected the church edi- 
fice which was afterward sold to the United States Government, 
and which has ever since been used as a school Iniilding in which 
the young aboriginal ideas are taught " how to shoot." The In- 
dians hauled the lumber for the building from Windom, Minn, 
The present teacher of this Indian school is the Rev. John Eastman, 
an intelligent half-breed Indian, who is also a Presbyterian clergy- 
man. Candor compels the admission that, although from thirty 
to forty Indian pupils are enrolled, comparatively few attend, the 
solution of the Indian problem through the avenue of education 
being no neai-er reachad at Flandreau than at other points where the 
experiment has been tried. Still much good is doubtless being 
accomplished in this way, and the money of theCjovernmentis well 
spent in this direction. 

In April, 1872, F. W. Pettigrew come to the present townsite of 
Flandreau. M. D. L. Pettigrew came in June of the same year. 
F. W. Pettigrew^ took up what is now the townsite as a homestead 
and built a homestead house thereon in July, 1S72. Mr. Pettigrew 
platted the town in 1873, and from that time dates the growth of 
this pleasant and prosperous little city. In the homestead house 
which he built in 1872, Mr. F. W. Pettigrew now has his real estate 
office, the building having been enlarged since the winter of 1872-3, 
when Mr. Pettigrew, E. I. Heald and Almond Campbell kept 
" bachelors' hall " therein, and entertained the traveling public, 
with now and then an itenerant preacher of the gospel. In this 
building was kept the first po.vtoffice at Flandreau, which was es- 
tablished in 1872 under the name of West Bend P. 0.. Mr. F. W. 
Pettigrew being Postmaster. 

The postoffice of West Bend was discontinued in the fall of 
1873. and the postoffice of Flandreau was established. Marshall 
Morse was the first Postmaster of Flandreau P. 0. Mr. Morse 
cametoFhmdreau in the latter year, and establislied a general store, 
and in 187-1 William Jones, who had for several years before led 
the life of a hunter and trapper in and around the site of the future 
town, also began business in Flandreau. starting a store therein in 
connection with Mr. Howard, of Sioux Falls. Dr. Seals also 
established a store in 1873. The postoffice was kept by Mr. Morse 
in the building now occupied by T. Freeman, merchant tailor. 



FLANDREAU. 129 



The growth of the community suffered a severe check by reason of 
the grasshopper invasion of 1874, vt^hich continued Avith more or 
less disastrous consequences for three years. 

In 1875 M. D. L. Pettigrew built a small portion of the present 
Flandreau House. The growth of the town was very slow, how- 
ever, from 1871: to 1878, in which latter year a new impetus was 
given to the settlement, which from that date has grown with a 
rapidity exceeding the most sanguine expectations. New business 
establishments of all kinds have sprung up as if by magic, church 
organizations have been effected, and both religious and educational 
facilities enlarged to a degree absolutely astonishing to those unac- 
customed to the ceaseless activity of western ways. The close of 
1878, found Flandreau a busy, bustling town, and since that time 
there has been a steady influx of new-comers. 

Flandreau was incorporated under special act of the Legislature 
in 1879; its population in 1880 was 550; present population, esti- 
mated, from 600 to 700. The townsite is located on the northeast 
quarter of section 28, town 107, range 48. 

The Moodij County Enterprise ^vas started in 1878, by Funk & 
Smith, A, B. Funk being the editor. Its first publication was on 
June 27th of that year. April 1st, 1879, Mr. Funk left Flandreau, 
going to Spirit Lake, where he purchased the Spirit Laice Beacon^ 
which paper he is still publishing. On the retirement of Mr. 
Funk, the Enterprise was purchased by Williamson & Middleton, 
and afterwards H. M. Williamson, the present editor, became sole 
proprietor. The Enterprise, as conducted by Mr. Williamson, is a 
highly creditable paper and deservedly ranks among the influential 
publications of Dakota. The flrst train of the Southern Minne- 
sota Railroad arrived at Flandreau January 1st, 1880, and already 
the effects anticipated from this much desired addition to business 
and traveling facilities are being largely realized. 

The Flandreau Flouring Mills, owned by Bates & Lindsay Bros., 
and of which Henry J. Jacobshagen is the manager, is one of the 
leading industries of the place, and turns out flour of a highly satis- 
factory grade, being mainly engaged in custom work. Work on the 
mills was first begun by A. H. Wheeler in 1878. Other industries 
are well represented in our biographical department. 

CHURCHES, SCHOOLS AND SOCIETIES. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Flandreau was organized in 
1879 by Rev. Mr. Suftring, of Minn. The present pastor is Rev. 



130' niSTOKY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

L. W. Miller. There is a membership of about fifty, and the so- 
ciety has a commodious church edifice. 

The Second Presbyterian Church of Flandreau was organized 
June 30th, 1880, by Rev. A. K. Baird, of .[owa. Rev. R. H. Hooke 
is the present pastor. The membership is al)out thirty. An ap- 
propriate edifice was erected during the present year at a cost of 
about .$1,800. 

The Indian Presbyterian and the Indian Episcopal congregations 
each have suitable buildings. David Weston is the catechist of 
the Episcopal, Rev, John Eastman the pastor of the Presbyterian 
congregation. 

The English Episcopals, the Baptists and the Catholics are each 
arranging for more perfect organizations, and "svill no doubt ere 
long be in possession of appropriate places of worship. 

The first school in Flandreau was taught in the summer of 187-1 
by Miss Hattie Pettigrew. The school building is at present ade- 
quate for the accommodation of the pupils, and meets the require- 
ments of so valuable an institution. Miss Mary Taylor is the Prin- 
cipal. 

Flandreau Lodge, No. 15, I. 0. 0. F., was instituted October 5th, 
1878. Applicants for charter: F. W, Pettigrew, William Jones, 
E. I. Heald, H. C. Gardner, O.I. Huseboe. Present officers: Geo. 
Murnby, N. G.; F. M. Lighthizer, V. G.; Claus Junge, R. S.; 
Wm. Jones, Treasurer. The Lodge has a membership of about 
thirty, and is in a flourishing condition. 

Flandreau Lodge No. 11, A. F. & A. M. — instituted in the fall 
of 1878, under dispensation. Charter members: A. B. Funk, 
C. H. Gardner, W. A. Clark, M. Simpson, H. C. Gardner, R. L. 
Brown, C. M. Lake. Present officers: R, L, Brown, W. M.; W. 
A. Clark, S. W.; M. Simpson, J. W.; W. F: Gafes, Secretary; J. 
A. Seaman, Treasurer; T. V. Nash, S. D.; L. Thompson, J. D. 
Member.ship about thirty; in prosperous condition. 

Flandreau Lodge No. 11, I. 0. G. T.- -instituted in the spring 
of 1881. Present officers: Dr. Frank Fluno, W. C; Mrs. S. J. 

Clark, W. V. C; John Hamilton, R. S.; Van Scotter, F. S.; 

Miss Mary Taylor, Treasurer. This lodge has a membership of 
about forty, and is in excellent working order. 

OFFICIAL* DIRECTOHY. 

President Boaril of Tnisfcr.s — E. Huntington. 

Board of Tntsfer.<!--E. Huntington, W. A. Clark, M. M.Jones, T. E. Miner, 
Marshall Morse. 



FLANDREAU. 131 



Secretary — T. E. Carter. 
Treasurer — William Jones. 
Marshal — Claus Junge. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORV. 

Attorneys — H. A. Williamson, George Rice, R.J. Simenson, A. D. Bubb. 

Physicians — J. A. Seaman, F.J.Fluno, H. Goetting. 

General Merchandise — Landon Nelson ^ Co., Wm. Jones <.V: Co., Neperud 
Bros., I. F.Winnek & Co. 

Boots d'- Shoes^J. E. Tbibau, A. Higg>. 

Shoemaker — Lewis Hackett. 

Hardtvare — R. L. Brown, C. C. Martin, Dickson k Few. 

Agricultural Implements — T. E. Carter, 1. B. Taylor, F. J. Sbields. 

Groceries — Geo. H. Few, Charles Hall, A. Moulton. 

Furniture — A. Moulton. 

Harness and Saddlery — W. A. Clark, S. A. Heath. 

iS'a Zoo « 5 ^Thomas Collins, P. E. Davis, Ole Eiickson, A. Seaman. 

Druggists — D. S. White, James Bray. 

Barber — H. A. Bates. 

Hotels — Flandi'eau House, M. D. L. Pettigrew; Sioux Valley House, C. H. 
Gardner; Central House, Thomas O'Xeill. 

Restaurant — A. S. Frink. 

Bakery and Xotions — Mrs. E. Close. 

Livery — T.J. Haxton, Frank Willard. 

Blacksmiths — Wm. Dunn, Dahl & Holden. 

Flouring Mill — Bates & Lindsay Bros. 

Coal and Wood — Lindsay Sz Bates, Cargill Bros. 

£'/er,7fo/-s— CargillBros.,AV. R. Hyde, Agent; Hyde. Hodges k Co., J. H. 
McMillen. Agent. 

Contractors and Builders — Mac Simpson, M. P. Lower. 

Lumber — C. A. Coleman, L. K. Knudson, Agent; John Paul, P. E. Minier, 
Agent. 

Millinery— Mrs. D. Mason, Mrs. D S. White, Mrs. A. Higgs. 

Merchant Tailor — T. Freeman. 

Newsjxqjer — Moody County Enterprise, H. ]\L Williamson, Editor and Pro- 
prietor. 

Bsnks — Bank of Flandrean, C. E. Thayer, Cashier: Moody County Bank, T 
H. McConnell, Cashier. 

Meat Markets—M. McDonnell. A. Schillhig. 

Jeiveler — H. B. Wood. 

Postmasters — M. Morse, M. ]\1. Jones, Assistant. 

Real Estate and Loan — F. W. Pettigrew. E. Hunlington. 



EGAN. 

The prosperous and enterprising town of Egan is a worthy illustra- 
tion of the astonishing rapidity of growth Avhich characterizes the 
communities of Dakota. At the date of the first publication of the 



132 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

E(jan Express, May 27th, 18S0, there was but one building other 
than that of the Express office, within a radius of one mile and a 
half, viz: the residence of Mr. Alfred Brown, about one-half 
mile from the location of the venturesome newspaper man. At 
date of this Avriting (autumn of 1881) Egan contains a population 
of nearly 500 souls, with business houses, churches, schools and all 
the evidences of a thrifty civilization. 

The town was platted in April, 1880, by Alfred Brown, J. H. 
Eno and John Hobart, and was incorporated under special Act of 
the Legislative Assembly in April, 1881. H. A. Leinbach has re- 
cently platted an addition north of town. Egan contains within 
its limits the geographical center of Moody County. The town- 
site is located in section 7, township 106, range 49, the excellent 
judgment displayed in the selection being apparent even to the 
casual observer; its environs are pleasing and attractive, and the 
location itself is advantageous!}^ situated with reference to the 
main arteries of trade on either hand. The town is above high 
water mark, a fact which cannot fail to command favorable atten- 
tion, since during all former floods, by which other places suffered 
more or less, the towusite of Egaii rested complacently above. the 
limits of danger. Another advantage which may be mentioned is 
the abundance of excellent Avater and the facilities for reaching it. 
On digging from four to five feet a coarse gravel is reached, and 
at a depth of from sixteen to twenty-four feet, the sparkling liquid 
is invariably found in almost unliuiited quantities. The eccentric 
waters of the Big Sioux, with its unforeseen bends aad unexpected 
curves, flow along the eastern side of the town. 

The Southern Minnesota branch of the C, M. & St. Paul R. R. 
has established at Egan the largest coal house on the line west of 
LaCrosse, and is building an extensive depot, and otherwise invest- 
ing in profttal)le improvements. A number of the Company's em- 
ployes already have their residences in Egan. The first train 
reached Egan August, 1880. 

As stated above, the E<jan Express was started in May, 1880, 
being removed thither from Roscoe by J. H. Eno. The Express 
came into the possession of Messrs. Lanning & Shelden, the pres- 
ent proprietors, in May, 1881, and is a very creditable publication. 
Geo. R. Lanning is the editor. 

At ])resent there are two church edifices, the Methodist Episco- 
copal and the Baptist, both of which congregations are in a pros- 



EGAN. 133 

perous condition. There are also a Congregational and a Catholic 
Societ}^ each of which expects shortly to erect suitable places of 
worship. 

The school building is well adapted to educational purposes, and 
the district is the only independent school district thus far estab- 
lished in Moody County. Miss Ella Waite is the Principal. 

The Bank of Egan was established in October, 1881, by Melvin 
Grigsby, Esq., and Geo. M. Smith, of Sioux Falls, and is a much 
needed addition to Egan's commercial facilities. Mr. Smith is the 
efficient manager. 

The business and professional interests of the community will be 
found to be well represented in thebiographicalsketchesof its citi- 
zens which elsewhere appear. The following is the 
OFFICIAL directory: 

President of the Council. — E. G. Boynton. 

Conicihnen.—E. G. Boynton, H. A. Leinbach, J. D. S. Smith, W. G. Ken- 

aston . 

Recorder. — W. S. Cobban. 

Treasurer. — Dwiglit llsley. 

Justice of the Peace. — W. T. Brown. 

Marshal. — Chas. Pettit. 

Street Commissioner. — Alfred Brown. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Attornei/s.—Geo. M. DeGroif, J. H. Eno. 

Phi/sician. — J. H. Schneider. 

Hotels.— Tiiylov Honse, S. Taylor; Ida House, Smith & Tuttle. 

General Merchandise. — D. Bidwell & Son, R. llsley. 

Hardware. — John Hobart, C. F. Rathman. 

Druggist. — 0. E. Schneider. 

Restaurant. — W. E. Gessell. 

Grocery. — W. G. Kenaston. 

Wagon Making.— A. J. Vallier. 

Blacksmith. — J. M. Runyon. 

Saloons. — P. Jordan, B. B. Skinner. 

Liverg. — Pettit Bros. 

Newspapers. — Egan Express, Lanning & Shelden, Publishers; Geo. R. Lan- 
ning-. Editor. 

Shoemaker. — W. T. Browm. 

Postmastsr. — S. R. Moore, Geo. E. Bidwell, Assistant. 

Notion Store. — Geo. E. Bidwell. 

Lumber.— John Paul, E. G. Boynton, Agent; Drew Bros. 

Depot Agent.— W. H. Nichol. 

Real Estate.— Geo. M, DeGrofF, J. H. Eno. 

Insurance — Lanning & Shelden, Geo. M. DeGroff. 

Carpenters. — 0. D. Fuller, A, S. Sumner, L. C. Payne, J. H. Tapper, R. C. 
McGregor. 

Stone Mason. — Geo. J. Rose. 

Meat Market. — Enos Karn. 

Bank of Egan. — Grisby & Smith, Geo. M. Smith, Cashier. 



1S4: HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

BROOKINGS COUNTY. 

The primar}'' facts concerning the organization of this rich and 
promising county elsewhere appear. The top-soil is a rich loam, 
var^-ing in depth from twelve to thirty inches, containing, more- 
over, a fine quality of sand, thus making it rapidly productive. 
Goo I crops result with a comparatively small rainfall. The sub- 
; oil is of clay, which holds water nearly as well as an earthen vessel 
• — the best of all combinations, according to authorities — doesn't 
beco e soft or mirey. The top-soil rapidly absorbs moisture; the 
subsoil retains it — thus forming a supply for vegetation to draw 
from, by capillary attraction, in a dry time. The dews are very 
heavy. The land lies in long, gentle slopes, making perfe 2- drain- 
age, and not w^ashing by reason of heavy rains — all of w^hich pre- 
sents most favorable conditions for large wheat raising. 

The county is well watered by streams and lakes, and contains 
about 1,500 acres of timber. The towns are Medary, Oakwood, 
Brookings, Elkton, Aurora, and Volga. The town of Fountain, 
auspiciously begun, was subsequently abandoned in consequence 
of the suddenly appearing importance of the new town of Brookings. 

Fountain was situated eight miles northeast of Brookings, on 
section two, in town 110, range 49, and was started in April, 1878, 
by Dr. Kelsey and J. 0. Walker — the latter gentleman being the 
present proprietor of the Brookings House in Brookings. G. W. 
Hopp, the present proprietor of the Brook/nc/s CoHnti) Press^ came 
first to Fountain in February, 1879. The town soon contained a 
two-stoi-y printing office, a hotel, two blacksmith shops, a school 
house, and dwelling houses, besides a Baptist Church organization. 
Mr. J. 0. Walker was the first proprietor of the Fountain Hotel. 
The town was named Fountain from several natural fountains, or 
springs, owned by Mr. Walker, and subsequently sold with his 
claim by him to A. A. Stevens. Although the exigencies of pio- 
neer growth demanded a different municipal location, yet the 
country, in and about Fountain, has in no wise suffered from the 
removal of the projected town, being well settled, well improved, 
and in every respect a desirable portion of a justly appreciated and 
richly endowed county. 

A well known, and thoroughly reliable money dealer does not 
put the general condition aud prospects of Brookings County any 
too strongly, when in a business address to his "constituency" he 
observes : 



BROOKINGS COUNTY. 135 



''Impressed by a firm belief in the wonderful development now 
taking place, and still more largely to be realized in Dakota, our 
resident partner, before locating in Brookings, made an examina- 
tion of the southeastern tier of counties — the older and more 
thickly populated — commencing opposite Sioux City, Iowa, and 
going up the valley of the Big Sioux River, extending his trip 
over a range of two and three counties west of the Iowa and Min- 
nesota State lines. 

''Everywhere farm houses dotted the landscape. Towns and 
villages are springing into being with a rapidity unparalleled; the 
larger, with populations varying from 800 to 2,500, forty to sixty 
miles apart, and interspersed between, at distances of six to fifteen 
miles, smaller hamlets and villages. On the rich bottom lands the 
grass, swaying in waves, reiiched above the backs of the liorses, 
and the farmers were busily at work with mowers cutting it by 
the hundreds of tons, while in the higher portions immence fields 
of wheat, cut and shocked, awaited the threshers. 

"Brookings County is justly called the 'Banner County of the 
Sioux Valley.' Situated in the central belt of Southeastern Da- 
kota, it reaches west thirty-six miles from the Minnesota State 
line, across the fertile valley of the Big Sioux, and extends twenty- 
four miles north to south. Its surface, in general, is a gently 
rolling prairie, sloping down to broad and level meadow lands 
along the streams and river bottoms; nor is it anywhere so much 
broken as to render it unfit for agricultural purposes. The drainage 
is perfect everywhere, and such a spot a> waste land is unknown. 
The soil is a rich, black alluvial loam, eightean inches to five feet 
in depth, with a clay subsoil on the higher portions, and a gravel 
subsoil on the bottom lands. The population is from Minnesota, 
Wisconsin, IMichigau, New York and Massachusetts, interspersed 
with a few Norwegians, an enterprising, industrious, temperate 
people. The rapidity with which they are settling and improving, 
independent of the actual value of the land, makes the security of- 
fered for small loans, absolute. 

"Three years ago all was government land, and not 250 settlers 
in the county. The census of 1880 gives the county 6,200, 
and it is safe to estimate it now at 8,000. The Chicago & Northwest- 
ern Railroad gives us a through line from Fort Pierre, on the Mis- 
souri river, two hundred miles west, to Chicago, dividing the 
county from east to west in two nearly equal sections, while 



136 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA 

branching oft' to the north, two lines are now being built, one near 
the eastern and the other the western boundary, reaching further 
up the valley to the counties north, and ultimately to connect with 
the Northern Pacific Kailroad. What, therefore, does all this in- 
dicate? It means that that unbroken law of settlement which 
landed first at Plymouth Rock and New Amsterdam, the Virgin- 
ias and the Carolinas, and which, as new States sprang into being, 
settled first their eastern boundaries, is but being repeated in Da- 
kota." 

Medary, the pioneer settlement of the county, is located on the 
east bank of the Big Sioux, one mile from the south county line. 
Brookings County contains 518,000 acres of land, which, at an 
average of twenty bushels to the acre, would produce 10,368,000 
bushels of wheat annually. The winters, as elsewhere in Dakota, 
are dry, steady and clear, with good roads and a l>racing atmos- 
phere. The clay subsoil is filled with a deposit of lime, that gives 
great strength to the straw and hardness to the wheat beny. Bar- 
ley grows remarkably, some fields having yielded fully sixty bushels 
to the acre. Oats yield profitable crops. The kind, cjuality and 
Cjuantities of corn raised would do credit to Iowa and Illinois 
Potatoes are raised in great C[uantities on sod-lands, and winter 
wheat does well. Timothy and clover are successfully grown. 
Wild grass grows largely — blue-joint, where the fire is kept out, 
and the best of hay and pasture are afforded. Oxen, cows, cattle 
and horses have wintered on hay alone. The amount of meadow 
land is small, in proportion to the rolling prairie; but is fine, 
smooth and dry, and cuts from two to four tons to the acre. In 
some places, the grass can be tied over an ordinary-sized, horse's 
back, and is so thick that, when cut with a mowing machine, it 
leaves a '^swathe" as thick as that left by a scythe in ordinary 
grass. The water is pure, and the supply is unlimited. 

A Mr. Trygstadt, in the spring of 1869, with his sons, Ole, Mar- 
tin, Cornelius, Erick and Michael; Ole Gjermstad, and Christopher 
Ballmeder, of Salem, Minnesota, settled in Brookings Count3\ 
Two years afterwards, they were joined by Ohms Peterson, Oliver 
Egaberg, Mngnus Nacttins, James Ilagan and Joeum Olseii. For 
two years, their postoffice was at Sioux Falls, sixty miles away; 
but, in about two years, an office was established at Flandreau, 
twenty miles from their location; and six months later, Martin 
Trygstadt received a postmaster's commission — and tlius was organ- 



BROOKINGS COUNTY. 1S7 

ized the first postoffi ;2 in Brookings County. For the first year, 
the nearest trading point was New Ulm, and in the fall, a trip was 
made to New Ulm with oxen, in order to obtain Avinter supplies. 
Thus the hardy pioneers underwent hardships and privations — the 
extent of which can hardly be appreciated at this day — in order 
that "civilization should blossom as the rose," in Dakota. 

The first business establishment in Brookings County was started 
by James Natesta in the autumn of 1873. He commenced the 
mercantile business in a little log house near Erick Trygstadt. 
His entire stock invoiced fifty dollars. He occupied with his bus- 
iness one corner of the room, the remainder of which was used as 
a bed-room, kitchen and parlor. The cracks between the logs 
were. not plastered, and it was "nice and cool;" but when the pro- 
prietor of this extensive business establishment awoke one cold 
winter morning, and found two inches of snow on his bed, he con- 
cluded about as judicious a thing as could be done, was to "cork 
up the cracks." The house was some distance from neighbors, 
and as our merchant was not then blessed with a "beltjr-half," a 
local chronicler has it that he used to go out doors for amusement, 
of evenings, and shout with all his might and main, in order to 
break the painful stillness of his surroundings. In the fall of 
1874, Mr. Natesta removed to Medary. 

A terrific tornado visited Brookings County on Sunday, August 
3d, 1879, at about 10:30 o'clock of that night. The track of the 
storm was about one and one-half miles in width. Great quantities of 
rain fell, and in some localities, hail. At Fountain, and elsewhere, 
houses were blown down, grain damaged, property of all sorts 
strewn about, and a number of people were injured, but, fortu- 
nately, none fatally. 

A letter From Charles E. Simmons, dated September 30, 1870, 
to William H. Skinner, contains the information that " The toAvn 
on range 46 is 'Verdi;' the one on 49, 'Aurora;' the one on 50, 'Brook- 
ings;' the one on 51, 'Volga;' the one on 53, 'Nordland;' one on 56 
' DeSmet;' the one on 58, ' Iroquois;' the one on 60, ' Cavour,' and 
the one on 61 and 62, ' Huron.'" Mr. Simmons was Land Com- 
missioner of the Chicago and Northwestern Raih-oad Company. 

The County Officers of Brookings county at the time of writing 
are: Commissioners — Martin Trygstadt, Frank Pond, D. S. Bone- 
steel. Sheriff— T. G. Risum. Treasurer— H. T. Odegard. Regis- 
ter of Deeds — James Hauxhurst. Judge of Probate — L. L. Jones. 



13S HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

Snperinteudent of Schools — W. E. Hendricks. Surveyor — F. H- 
Newtou. Assessor — P. J. Haserman. -Jr. 



BROOKINGS. 

A portion of ibis thriving town, and County Seat of Brookings 
County, was surveyed and platted on the 3d and 4th of October, 

1879, six blocks being " laid off" into lots. Mr. Hopp moved the 
Brookings County Press to Brookings from Fountain on the 18th 
of the same month, and a general migration to the new town from 
Fountain began. The town of Brookings is only four miles south 
of the geographical center of the county. The question of the loca- 
tion of the County Seat came up at the election in November, 1880, 
the seat of the county government being as a result removed from 
Medary to Brookings. On the 2d day of October, 1879, the first 
railroad train — under the proprietorship of the Winona & St. Pe- 
ter Railroad Company — crossed the line into Brookings County. 
The first issue of the Press at Brookings was under date of Octo- 
ber 28, 1879. On the 17th, of November, 1879^ the first car load 
of lumber arrived at Brookings. The town is located on section 
26, town 110, range 50, and was incorporated under special act in 
April, 1881. G. W. Pierce, Drs. Kelsey and Higgms, G. W. Hopp, 
G. L. Smith, W. H. Skinner, R. H. Williams, W. H. Shortley and 
others, were among the first to select business locations. 

The Sioux Valley Journal was established at Brookings in March, 

1880, by J. M. Miles and W. H. Skinner, the latter gentleman re- 
tiring in January, 1881. Mr. Skinner now occupies the responsi- 
ble position of Clerk of the Courts. 

Business of all kinds is well and extensively represented, the 
buildings being exceptionally creditable in appearance. The pri- 
vate residences and hotels are also attractive in appearance, and aid 
materially in making up the tout ensemble of a prosperous, pro- 
gressive and beautiful little city. 

CHURCHES, SCHOOLS A XD SOCIETIES. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in the autumn 
of 1879, its first pastor being the Rev. Mr. Dibbles. Rev. J. 
Jeftrey is -the pastor in charge. As yet the Baptist Society has 
no regular supply. Both churqh organizations have handsome 
and commodious church edifices. The large and well furnished 
school building was erected in the spring of 1880. Miss Van 



BROOKINGS. 139 



Diisen is the Principal. Both the religious and educational inter- 
ests of Brookings are well attended to, thus forming an element of 
attraction for the most desirable class of immigration. 

The Legislative Assembly, at its last session, passed an act locat- 
ing a Territorial Agricultural College at Brookings, provided that 
the citizens donate eighty acres of land to the Territory for such 
purpose; which provision was duly attended to in September last, 
the designated number of acres being purchased by private sub- 
scription at a cost of $600, the land adjoining the town on the 
northeast — and, it is hardly necessary to state, the forthcoming 
appropriation is now confidently awaited. This will add greatly 
to the Territorial importance, as well as to the educational and 
financial prosperit}^, of this very enterprising town. 

Brookings Lodge, A. F. and A. M., was instituted in the autumn 
of 1880, under dispensation from Grand Master George H. Hand, 
of Yankton. The Lodge's first ofiicers were: George W. Pierce, 
W. M.; J. J. George, S. W.; W. G. Lockhart, J. W.; A. J. Dox, 
Secretary: George Morehouse, Treasurer; E. B. Hart, S. D.; J. 0. 
Walker, J. D. The present ofiicers are: George W. Pierce, W. 
M.; A. J. Dox, S. W.: W. H. Roddle, Secretary; George More- 
house, Treasurer; E. B. Hart, S. D.; J. 0. Walker, J. D. The 
condition of this Lodge is excellent, and its prospects unusually 
flattering. 

A Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows was expected 
to be organized during the season just ended, which organization 
has doubtless ere this been perfected. 

The Brookings Cornet Band, although organized as recently as 
June of the present year, has made remarkable progress, and is a 
credit to the community, as is also the Brookings Dramatic Club, 
which afi'orded entertainments of a high order during the winter 
of 1880-81. 

The Brookings County Agricultural Society and Mechanics' 
Institute was organized in June, 1880, the first annual fair having 
been held in September of that year. The second annual fair was 
held September 28, 29 and 30, of the present year. The grounds 
are extensive and convenient of access, a number of substantial 
buildings having already been erected. The officers qf the Asso- 
ciation are: President — T. Q. Loveland. Vice-President — Robert 
Hughson. Secretary — J. M. Miles. Treasurer — George W. 
Pierce. 



140 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 



Greenwood Cemetery Association was chartered June 10, 1881. 
The Directors are: L. L. Jones, C. AV. Higgins, Knud Thompson, 
W. H. Roddle, T. R. Qualley. George W. Pierce is President; 
R. H. Williams, Secretary; George Morehouse, Treasurer. 

OFFICIAI- DIKECTOIiV. 

Ma!/or.—n. S. HacUey. 

Recorder — P. C. Johnson. 

Treasurer — Geo. Morehouse. 

Justice— R. S. HacUey. 

Marshal— Orin Walker. 

Councihnen—R. H. Williams, Geo. A. Mathews, Horace Fishback. 

BUSINESS DIRECTOKY. 

Atfornei/s—Maihev^s 8: Scobey, Katwick & Diamond, R. S. Hatlley. 

AgricultHraJ InqyJemenis — Kelsey Bros., Thompson and Odegard, V. C. 
Dillingham. 

Boots and Shoes— T. R. Qualley. 

Barber — L. Chapman. 

Books a)id Stationery— C. W. Higgins, E. E. Gaylord. 

Banks— Q&rik of Brookings, Geo. Morehouse, Cashier; Brookings County 
Bank, Olds & Fishback. 

Blacksmiths— FA. Williams, M. B. Runyon. 

Boarding Houses — S. J. Severson. 

Contractors and Builders— U. W. Mclntyre, L. L. Jones, A. H. Wellman. 

Druggists— G. L. Smith, C. W. Higgins. 

Drai/age—k. A.Robinson. 

Depot Agent — H. G. Smith. 

Elerators-Ymn Dusen <t Co., H. G. Lawshe agent; Winona Mill Co., C. W. 
Wiiliams agent. 

Furniture — E. E. Gaj-lord. 

Flour and Feed — R. M. Crawford. 

Fuel — Thompson, Odegard & Co.. Van Dusen &: Co. 

General Merchandise— R. H. Williams, C. G. Leyse <fc Co., Olds A: Fishback, 
Magnussen & Oefstos, John Olson. 

Groceries — G. W. Pierce, C. Garlick. 

Horse Market — Lawshe & Pool. 

Hotels — Brookmgs House, J. 0. Walker; Commercial House, A. A. Aikin; 
Christiania House, Geo. G. Rude. 

Hardware— k. J. Dox, P. C. Johnson, W. H. Rodlle. 

Harness and Saddlery — Adams Bros. 

Insurance— ^.lathews & Scobay, Natwick & Diamond, Olds & Fishback. 

Jewelers — Chas. Gagel, P. Hansen. 

Lumber— Land, Norton & Co., 0. C. Johnson, Agent; Youmans Bros. & 
Hodgius, W. G. Lockhart, Agent. 

Lirerif—W. J. Pool, Howard & McMurphy. 

Meat Market— Mndgp.t <fe Roddl". 

Millinery— Mrs. V. C. Dillingham, Mrs. R. S. Hadley. 



VOLGA. 141 

Newspapers — Brookings Qonnty Press, Geo. W. Hopp, Editor and Proprietor; 
Sioux Valley Journal, J. M. Miles, Editor and Proprietor. 

Photographer — E. E. Gaylord. 

Phi/siciatis — C. W. Higgins, G. J. Colla". 

Real Estate and Loan — Mathews & Scobey, Natwick & Diamond, Wilson, 
Toms & Co., W. H. Skinner. 

Masons~-n. P. Child, Olin & Dufoe. 

Painter—W. J. Tucker. 

Saloons — Deeth & Russell, William Mad.len. 

Undertal-er—E. E. Gaylord. 

Veterinari) Surgeon, S. N. Blair. 

Wagon Making — Daniel Doughty. 



VOLGA. 



I 



The beginning of this prosperous and promising town substan- 
tially dates from September, 1879, in which month Volga was 
platted by Col. Jacoby, the platting agent of the Chicago & North- 
western Railroad Company. The land on which the townsite is 
located, was owned by Nicolai Evenson, Hans Terkelsen, Alex. 
Johnson and Lewis Johnson, who each donated forty acres of land 
for townsite purposes, making these relinquishments as an induce- 
ment to the Railroad Company to locate a station at that point. 
For some time — from November, 1879, to May, 1880 — Volga was 
the terminus of the road, and under the stimulus which this fact 
gave to it, its settlement and growth during this period were as- 
tonishingly rapid. The end of the railroad track reached Volga 
about the 15th of November, 1879. The agents of the Company 
until late in the winter, transacted business in a box car on a side 
track, and a number of the employes boarded and lodged in a 
boarding car. The first hotel was the "Pioneer," the construction 
of which was begun by Johnson Harris in September, 1879. For 
the time the accommodations at this hostlery were sufficiently rude, 
the partitions consisting of army blankets. Miller Willson built 
the second hotel, forty or fifty boarders taking lodgings therein 
long prior to its completion. I. P. Farrington built the present 
Farrington House in the winter of 1879-80, but the house was 
not fairly opened for business until the spring of the latter year. 
Norton Bros, were the proprietors of the Railroad Boarding 
House. 

During the winter of 1879-80, there was a very considerable 
floating population, there being probably three hundred employes 



]42 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

located at Volga, every place of entertainment being more than 
comfortably crowded. The spring of 1880. began with bright pros- 
pects for the embryo town. Building went on apace, although the 
inhabitants suffered somewhat from limited capital for investment. 
The population, as will be seen, was necessarily of a more or less 
temporary character; yet the town has more than ''held its own," 
and a succession of good crops will place it on a permanently envi- 
able footing. Much good was accomplished in the way of bridge 
building, mainly through the energetic instrumentality of Mr. 
Charles Keith, in the fall and winter of 1870-80, which winter, it is 
well remembered, was a particularly "open'" one, wheat being 
sown in the month of February. A gratifying fact is, that during 
all floods and seasons of high-Avaters, Volga has been " high and 
dry," beyond the reach of danger from that very troublesome 
source. 

The first deed of real estate in Volga was made April 14, 1880, 
by Albert Keep and wife — representing the Railroad Company — to 
Charles Keith, and transferred lot number six in block one. 

L. V. Rich's '-Rich Hotel" was built in the winter of 1879-80. 
The principal pioneer business men were H. Kirby, Nils Kjos, 
Hatheron & Son, T. H. Maguire & Company, Harkins & Rowley, 
James W. Ask, and others. The town may very properly pride 
itself on the excellent class of business men in general which its 
inducements have attracted. The well known and extensive busi- 
ness firms of G. W. Van Dusen & Co., the Winona Mill Company, 
Youmans Bros. & Hodgins, Laird, Norton & Co., are well repre- 
sented by the following efficient managers, respectively: Charles 
Keith, John Albertson, C. L. Warner and L. Johnson. 

Volga is located on sections 14, 15, and 23, forty acres in each, 
town 110, range 51. The population is about four hundred. 
Town lots were surveyed — blocks one, two, three and four — at the 
first survey, the first lot being occupied by H. Kirb}^ The first 
building on the townsite was erected by Nils Kjos, the second 
building by Kirby. The first family to arrive was that of Mr. J. 
Harris, on the 6th of October, 1879. 0. L. Anderson, the first 
harness maker, came on the same date. October Sth, 1879, is the 
date of the first well digged in Volga, which was by E. M. Lenan- 
der for Harris. E. Nelson moved his blacksmith shop from Ren- 
shaw on the 10th of October. On the 13th, Frank Cline, the first 
blacksmith in Volga, began operations. Lewis Wilson, the first 



VOLGA. 143 

shoemaker, came October 22d. The first passenger train arrived 
November 17th. The first public worship in Volga was held Jan- 
uary •ith, 1880, Rev. W. L. Alexander, Presbyterian, officiating. 
The first death to occur was that of Willis Mowl, March 9th, 1880; 
the first settler to enter the bonds of matrimony, was P. Balgord, 
the pioneer wagon and carriage maker, on the 31st day of March, 
1880. The first birth to occur in the vicinity, after the starting 
of the town, was a son, to C. C. Saunders, living on the forty acres 
subsequently donated by Lewis Johnson as part of the townsite. 

The character of the soil in this section, is that of a dark loam, 
varying in depth from six to twelve feet, before the gravel is 
reached. As you go west to Nordlaud, this depth increases to 
from twenty-five to one hundred and twenty feet. The subsoil is 
of clay. The w^ater supply is abundant and easily reached. The 
county, along the Sioux River, is mainly inhabited by Scandina- 
vians, nationalities being vastly more varied seven or eight miles 
to the north. From Volga, north and south, the country is very 
well settled. There are several hundred acres of burr-oak timber 
in the vicinity of Lake Tetonkaha. Oakwood, on this lake, was 
first settled in 1878. 

Mr. Charles Keith, who has in every respect proved an energetic 
promoter of the interests of Volga and vicinity, first came to Volga 
September 25th, 187D, for the purpose of looking up business 
prospects generally. Mr. Keith first engaged in the lumber trade, 
and received the first car-load of lumber delivered in Volga, on 
November 18, 1879. He represented Laird, Norton & Co., of Wi- 
nona, Minn. At that time, the people who were unable to procure 
lumber, occupied canvas tents. The first lumber was taken imme- 
diately from the cars by the purchasers, having been bought be- 
fore unloading. 

CHURCHES AND SCHOOLS. 

The Presbyterian and the Congregational Societies have each an 
appropriate building. The Presbyterian Society was organized in 
1879. The first pastor was the Rev. William Carroll. Rev. John 
B. Taylor is the pastor at the time of writing. The Congrega- 
tional Society was organized in the summer of the present year. 
The Schools of Volga are in excellent condition. 

The Brookings County Agricultural and Driving Park Associa- 
tion, of Volga, was organized in the autumn of 1880. Its officers 
are as follows: Board of Directors — George Henry, Thomas Bandy, 



144 HISTORY OK SOCTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

T. H. Maguire, Peter Balgord William Nichols, J. W. Ask, E. 
Engleson, J. P. Farrington. Page Downing, Peter Lindskog, H. 
L. Wadsworth. President — George Henry. Secretary — E. Eng- 
leson. Treasurer — H. L. Wadsworth. The grounds of the Asso- 
ciation are one-half mile southwest of town, and are excellently 
adapted to the purposes for which they are used. There is a first- 
class half-mile track. The second annual fair was held September 
21, 22 and 23 of the present year. Competition in all classes 
is unlimited, and the exhibits are unusually good. 

UrsiNKSS DIRECTORY. 

Attorney— V. Philip Cady. 

Agricultural Impleinoits. — John Albertson, T. H. Maguire, Chas. Keith. 

Barber— B. F. Gates. 

Boots and Shoes. — Joseph Daum. 

Blacksmith. — H. C. Loomis. 

Bakery. — C. S. Johnson. 

Contractors and Builders. — John Ike, W. F. Williams, W. E. Tubbs. 

Civil Engineer. — Jacob Brown. 

Druggists. — A. C. Porter, C. H. Drinker. 

Draymen. — Stewart & Hunt, C. T. Wilson. 

Depot Agent. — H. L. Wadsworth. 

Elevators. — Van Dusen & Co., Chas. Keith. Manager. 

Furniture. — A. D. Harrison. 

Flour and Feed. — W. M. Nichols, Chas. Keith for Van Dusen & Co. 

General Merchandise. — Henry Kirby, Hai-kins & Rowley, J. W. Ask, Wm. 
Fisher & Co., Seielstad & Hansen. 

Hotels. — Farrington House, J. P. Farrington; Rich House, L. V. Rich; Will- 
son House, Miller Wilson: Farmers" Home, P. C. Ford; Skandinavisk House, 
T. R. Jevne. 

Hardware. — Nils Kjos, T. H. Maguire & Co. 

Harness and Saddlery. — 0. L. Anderson. 

Insurance. — Mitchell & Engleson. 

Jeweler. — A. C. Porter. 

Lumber. — Laird. Norton & Co., C. L. Warner; Younians Bros. S: Hodgins, 
L. Johnson, agent. 

Livery. — Stewart tt Hunt. 

Masons. — F. S. Idell, C. McCreery. 

Meat Markets. — El. Achenbach. Carl Sec. 

Millinery and Dressmaking. — Miss K. C. Ryan. 

Newspaper. — Dakota Gazette, Geo. W. Brown, p]ditor and Proprietor. 

Photographer.— W. H. DeGraff. 

Postmaster. — Jacob Brown . 

Physician — W. H. Everhard. 

Real Estate, Loans and Collections — Mitchell Si Engleson, P. Philip Cadv, 
CM. Story. 

Saloons — E. Snider. T. P. Farrington. 

Undertaker — A. D. Harrison. 

Wagon and Carriage \f'orks — P. Balgord. 



BROOKIKGS AND KINGSBURY COUNTIEe. 145 

ELKTON. 

The town of Elkton, which is a lively, growing place, was plat- 
ted in the spring of 1880, and has a population of about two hun- 
dred people. It is situated on the line of the Chicago & North- 
western Railroad, and has numerous advantages, both in point of 
location and in every evidence of thrift. In fact, the town would 
astonish the ordinary traveler. Every branch of business is well 
represented. Its stores, its buildings and its population are in 
keeping with Dakota's rapid '^onward march.'' A business direc- 
tory of the town would read somewhat as follows: 

General Merchandise — A. W. Blancharcl & Co., John Black, A. F. Henry. 

Hardware — W. H. Carnell, 0. T. Grattan. 
[^Harness and Saddler)/ — S. R, Stevens. 

Hotels — Metropolitan, Elkton House. 

Blacksmiths — 0. Pencil, Ed. Johnson. 

Lumber — Laird, Norton & Co., W. 0. Barnes, Youmans Bros. & Hodgins, T 
V. Braitliwait. 

Druggist — F. L. Skillman. 

Meat Market — H. C. Chamberlain. 

Bestaura)tfs — John F. Mead, M. Collins. 



KINGSBURY COUNTY. 

The county of Kingsbury is being rapidly populated. It is rich 
in resources, as, indeed, is every other county within the limits of 
Southeastern Dakota. Kingsbury County was organized Decem- 
ber 13, 1879, its first Commissioners being Henry J. J. Burvie, Ben- 
jamin Loker, Herbert II. Palmer. Its principal settlements are De 
Smet, Fairview, Lake Thompson, Spring Lake, Lake Badger, Pleas- 
ant Valley, Nordland and Lake Preston. At the latter prosperous 
settlement most favorable evidences of the promising future of 
Kingsbury County are to be found. The village of Lake Preston 
was started in July of the present year. Mr. T. H. Maguire.of T. 
H. Maguire & Co., of Volga, located the town. Lake Preston is 
situated ten miles east of DeSmet and twelve miles west of Nord- 
land in the center of a tine farming country. Nearly all branches 
of trade are represented. A steam elevator and a flouring mill are 
in process of construction. The population is about 150. There 
is a good class of buildings, and the town is destined to be one of the 
best in that region of country. Mr. Maguire has started, near Lake 
Preston, a blooded-stock farm, having already a fine herd of Jerseys 



Hid HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERNDAKOTA. 

and a number oi pure-blooded trotters, of Hambletonian and Mam- 
brino stock. Mr. Maguire has named his farm the Milwaukee 
Stud Farm, Lake Preston is about seven miles long and one and 
one-half]miles wide. DeSmet, the County Seat, is a thriving and 
rapidly growing town. 



HAMLN COUNTY. 

North of Kingsbury and Brooking Ccunties, is Hamlin County, 
possessing a vast area of most excellent farming and stock-raising 
lands. This county w^as organized August 12th, 1878, Jacob Han- 
son, Magnus Hanson and Lewis Nelson being the first Commis- 
sioners. The following are the remaining County Officers first ap- 
pointed: Sheriff, James Boswell; Treasurer, Jacob Cass; Clerk and 
Register of Deeds, J. M. Hoyt: Judge of Probate. G. W. Hubbell; 
Surveyor and Clerk of Court, E. S. Ricklin. 

The present officers are as follows: Commissioners — Jacob 
Cass, William Marshall, J. D. Riley. Sheriff — Samuel Colgrove. 
Treasurer — H. P, Horswill. Clerk and Register of Deeds — J. M. 
Hoyt. Judge of Probate — Jacob Cass. Surveyor — William Fitz- 
gerald. Superintendent of Schools — A. I. Darnell. Assessor — 0. 
H. Merrick. Clerk of Court — C. P. Parsons. 

Estelline is the County Seat. Hamlin County contains a num- 
ber of very extensive and finely managed farms or "ranches,'' par- 
ticular mention being due to the well knoAvn '"Keator Ranch.'' 
This farm is owned by J. S. Keator, of Moline, HI., and embraces 
ten thousand acres^ two thousand of which are under cultivation. 
The writer had the pleasure to be enabled to personally inspect 
this magnificent farm. The estimated Avheat yield of this farm, 
for 1882, with anything like an average season, is twent}' thousand 
bushels. AVillium Marshall is the manager in charge, and is a 
gentleman who Avell understands how to so conduct the immense 
enterprise as to make it as profitable as it should be. Keator Post- 
office is located on this farm, Avhicli is about thirteen miles south 
of Watertown. Mr. Marshall is the Postmaster. Stock raising is 
largely entered into on this "ranch." As might be expected, a 
large force of employes is necessary. 



DEUEL, GEANT AND CLARK COUNTIES. 147 

DEUEL COUNTY. 

East of Hamlin is Deuel County, some account of whose organ- 
ization is to be found elsewhere in these pages. This growing 
County was organized April ^6, 1878. Its first Commissioners 
were: Capt. H. N. Herrick, B.J. Cochran, Andrew.!. Torgenson 
W. H. Stanley was the first Treasurer; G. W. Baillet, Judge of 
Probate; H. H. Herrick, Surveyor; M. G. Cobb, Assessor; Its present 
officers are: County Commissioners — Chairman, Jacob Fraker; H. 
H. Herrick, Erick E. Distad. Register of Deeds — Fred .1. Bowman 
County Treasurer— W. H. Stanley. Sheriff— H. H. Whetstone. 
Judge of Probate, — G. W. Baillet. Surveyor — W. L. Brown. Sup- 
erintendent of Schools — C. B. Westcott. 

Gary, the County Seat, is a prosperous town of some four hun- 
dred inhabitants, with churches, schools and all the concomitants 
of a growing civilization, and with hotel and other business accom- 
modations of all desirable kinds. Capt. Herrick, the proprietor of 
the Herrick House, came to Deuel County August -Ith, 1871, en- 
tered the first land in the county, made the first final proof, and 
to his ''better-half," was born the first child in Deuel County. 
The county of Deuel is attracting large numbers of the lest 
classes of immigration, and may be set down as one of the perma- 
nently prosperous counties of Southeastern Dakota. 



GRANT COUNTY. 

The county of Grant, north of Deuel, was organized January 5, 
1878, Solomon Roberts, James G. Lamdreaux and Levi C. Card 
being its first Commissioners. Lockwood, Osceola, Parnell, Kil- 
born, Milbank, Twin Brooks, Granville, Yellow Bank, Grant Cen- 
ter, Brown Earth and Troy are its principal settlements. 



CLARK COUNTY. 

West of the populous county of Codington is the rich and fer- 
tile county of Clark. Among the first settlers — if not the first 
settler — was John Bailey, who located in the northern part of the 
county in l&7c. The first persons to take land about the County 
Seat, were M. V. B. Hutchinson, Frank Hoskins, S. J. Conklin, 
and Mrs. M. E. Greenslet, who located land on the same day in 
September, 1879. Clark is the County Seat of Clark County, and 
is located on section 6, town 116, range 57. The county was or- 



148 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

gauizetl May 23d, 1881. The officers appointed Avere: Commis- 
siouers — M. V. B. Hutchinson, John Bailey, James Hosmer. 
Sheriff— Mervin Wait. Register of Deeds— J. A. Williams. 
Treasurer — R. W, Day. Judge of Probate — S. J. Conkliu. Su- 
perintendent of Schools — Walter Hern. Assessor— David Hern. 
Surveyor — S. Yeomans. Justices of the Peace — S. G. Updyke, 
William M. Tripp. Clerk of the Court—E. F. Conklin. The 
extension of the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad from Water- 
toAvn is already graded as far as the County Seat of Clark County. 
The description of the nature and character of the soil, applied to 
the counties generally in Southeastern Dakota, applies equally to 
Clark County. 

SPINK COUNTY. 

This county, which lies west of Clark, is destined in the progress 
of events to take rank as one of the most prosperous of the coun- 
ties described in this work. It is one of the i-ichest portions of 
the famous "Jim" River Valley, and is attracting immigration at 
a rate which would greatly astonish the staid inhabitants of the 
East. The county was named in honor of the late Hon. S. L. 
Spink, of Yankton. Spink County was organized July 22d, 1879. 
its first Commissioners being George M. Bowman, Charles Foster 
and James B. Churchill. 

BEADLE COUNTY. 

This is one of the very best counties in the James River Valley. 
Among its first settlers were Charles Miner, Martin Baum, A. J. 
Sweetser, S. T. Nelson, James Neilson, E.C.Walton, James S. 
Bishop, John H. Bishop, Jacob Kaup, John B. Haggin and Wat- 
son Weed. 

The first County Commissioners were appointed in July, 1880. 
These Commissioners, viz: E. C. Waltoji, S. S. Neilson and Chas. 
Miner, met July 26, 1880, at 10 a. m , for the purpose of county 
organization, and appointed the following County Officers: Sheriff" 
— Charles Hudson. Register of Deeds — J. H. Alexander. Judge 
of Probate — W. B. Ingersoll. Treasurer— E. G. Wheeler. Su- 
perintendent of Schools —James S. Bishop. Surveyor — W. B. 
Joy. Assessor — Watson Weed. 

The first county election was held on the first of November, 
1880, and the following officers were elected: County Commission- 



BEADLE COUXTY. 1-19 



ers — E. C. Walton,. S. S. Neilson, F. R. Van Dusen. Sheriff-^Da- 
vid Bell. Treasurer — R. A. Harris. Superintendent of Schools — 
J. S. Bishop. Judge of Probate — E. P. Caldwell. Register of 
Deeds — J. H. Alexander; I. J. Mouser, Deputy. Surveyor — W. 
B. Joy. Assessor — Charles Hudson. 

Huron is the County Seat, there being as yet only three other 
towns organized in the county, viz: Cavour, nine miles east of 
Huron; Broadhead, twelve miles to the northwest, and Hitchcock, 
twenty-four miles in the same direction. Wagner and Goodale 
are two newly established postoffices. 

The present County Officers are: Commissioners — Dist. Xo. 3, 
E. C. Walton, chairman, Huron; term expires Jan. 7, 1884. Dist. 
No. 1. S. S. Neilson, Cavour; term expires Jan. 1, 1883. Dist. 
No. 2, Frank Van Dusen; term expires Jan. 1,1882. Register of 
Deeds and County Clerk — J. H. Alexander, Huron; I. J. Mouser, 
Deputy, Huron. Probate Judge — E. P. Caldwell, Huron. Treas- 
urer — R. A. Harris, Huron. Sheriff — D. Bell, Huron. Assessor 
— Chas. Hudson, Cavoar. School Supt. — Jas. S. Bishop, Huron. 
Surveyor — W. B. Joy, Huron. Coroner — Hugh Russell, Huron. 
Justices of the Peace — T. F. Nicholl, Huron; A. H. Risdon, Hu- 
ron; John H. Bishop, Huron; A. J. Sweetser, Cavour. Consta- 
bles—John McDouall, E. M. Chase, Seth Markham and Martin 
Baum. 



HURON. 

Huron is the County Seat of Beadle JC >i uty, Dakota. It is situ- 
ated on the west bank of the James River, and bids fair to become 
the great railroad center of Dakota. The Chicago and North- 
western main, east and west line, passes through it, and the same 
road has built a line north from Huron up the James River, and 
proposes one south from that point. The Chicago, Milwaukee & 
St. Paul is building a north and south line down the James River 
Valley through Huron, and several other roads are projected through 
this growing toAvn, and will no doubt soon be built, thus throwing 
Huron far ahead of all other points in Dakota as a railroad center. 

Huron was laid out in May, 1880, and to-day is a town of 1,000 
inhabitants, and is growing rapidly in business, building and pop- 
ulation. Its rise, progress, and prospects equal that of any fast 
growing towns of the Northwest. Its friends predict for it a 
future equal to that of Omaha, Cheyenne, and Minneapolis, and in 



150 IIISTOKY OK SOUTHEASTERN ]1AK0TA. 



view of all circumstances and surroundings, such expectations are 
only reasonable. 

The town of Huron is located on tlio west half of section 6, 
town 110, range 61, and in section 1, town 110, range G2, the 
range lines running through the center of the city, and nearly 
through the center of the county. The town was platted by Peter 
Folsoni, a surveyor in the employ of the Chicago and Northwest- 
ern Railroad Company. The survey was commenced on the fij&t 
day of May, 1880. jb The first building Avas begun on the townsite 
on the day previous to the beginning of the surve\'. It was a 
frame building owned by John Cain, the editor of the Seftler, now 
the Time's, and by W. B. Ingersoll. The first store Avas built by 
E. G. Wheeler, and used as a drug and book store. The town 
was incorporated, under the provisions of the Territorial Code, the 
election for this purj^ose being held on the 29th day of January, 
1881. On the 19th day of the following February, the first town 
officers were elected, as follows: Trustees — Edward Sterling, C. 
C. Hills, W. K Ingersoll T. F. Nicholl, S. W. Roberts. Edward 
Sterling was the first President of the Board. H. M. Jewett was 
Clerk, Treasurer and A.ssessor. 0. A. Cheney was the Justice of 
the Peace. R. B. Clark was City Marshal. 

The regular annual election was held May 2d. 1881, and the fol- 
lowing officers were elected: Trustees — C. C. Hills, President; W. 
B. Ingersoll, John McDonald, Judd Buck, Neils Meng. Clerk, 
Treasurer and Assessor — H. M. Jewett. Justice of the Peace — 
E. M. Milliken. Marshal--David Bell. AV. H. Davis was ap- 
pointed to till the vacancy caused by the removal of Judd Buck 
from the Territory. 

The first newspaper published in Huron was TJie Beadle County 
Settler, established March 17th, 1880, before the town was started, 
by John Cain, and changed to The JItiron Times June 4th, 1881 ■; 
being then enlarged to an eight-page paper. The next 
paper started was the Dakota Central, established in April, 
1880, by the Dakota Central Publishing Company. A. M. 
Jones was the editor. This paper was suspended in Octo- 
ber, 1880, by the ^'bli/.zard" of that month. The Huron Tri- 
bum', was next established, by Shannon & Hopp, June 2d, 1880, and 
is now published by the firm of Davis, Shannon & Hopp. 

W. B. Ingersoll, then Judge of Probate, performed the first mar- 
riage ceremony. 



HURON. 151 

The first church services were hekl in the store-building belong- 
ing to E. G. Wheeler, May 6, 1880, Rev. M. E. Chapin, a Presby- 
terian clergyman, officiating. 

The first settlers to come and remain were: John Cain, W. B. 
Ingersoll, E. G. Wheeler, M. F. Wright, W, B. Joy, C. D. Joy, 
S. W. Roberts, I. J. Mouser, J. H. Alexander, A. H. Risdon, T. F. 
Nicholl, T. J. NicholE. P. Caldwell, V. R. Davis, L. J. Corbin, 
Charles Reed, A. T. Robinson, L. W. Moser, John McDonald, M. 
J. Dinneen, Davis Bell, E. M. Chase, and others. 

Huron has a Board of Trade, organized in August, 1881. ' The 
membership now numbers forty. All members are elected by bal- 
lot, and must be engaged in some legitimate business. The officers 
of the Board are: President, T. J. NichoU; Vice President, W. 
B. Ingersoll; Secretary, W. T. Love; Treasurer, C. C. Hills; Exec- 
utive Committee, J. W. Shannon, John Cain. 

A Lodge of the order of Free and Accepted Masons was institut- 
ed in August, 1881, and is working under dispensation. Its offi- 
cers are; L. J. Corbin, W. M.; A. 0. Harvey, S. W.; T. J. Nich- 
oU, J. W.; G. W. Sterling, Secretary; F. F. B. Coffin, Treasurer; 
E. C. Harris, S. D.; S. "Roberts, J. D.; E.fT Walton, Tyler— all of 
whom are charter members. 

The Episcopal Church Society of Huron was organized in August, 
1881, with five communicants. The first service was held in Sep- 
tember, 1880, at the residence of T. J. Nicholl. The Society now 
has a substantial edifice, sixteen by thirt3'-two feet in dimensions, 
all paid for by the members thereof. The Rev. Dr. Hoyt, Dean of 
Dakota, is the pastor. The Society at present has fifteen com- 
municants and forty adherents. 

The Postoffice of Huron was established July 13, 1880. John 
Cain is the Postmaster. Daily mails are had, east, west and north, 
and a tri-weekly mail from the south. 

The first term of District Court was held in Beadle County in 
August, 1881, Chief Justice P. C. Shannon presiding. 

The Presbyterian Church of Huron was organized August 29th, 
1880, by Rev. Walter S. Peterson, with ten members. At present 
there are twenty-four communicants. The Society is now erect- 
ing a church building thirty by forty-four feet in dimensions, 
with a corner tower ten feet by ten. and a pulpit recess five feet by 
thirteen. The cost of the building will be about $1,800, The 
Board of Trustees are: E. C. Lyman, J. B. Carter and Sanford 



152 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Smith. The present pastor is the Rev. John B. Pomeroy, a grad- 
uate of the University of Wooster, Ohio, and who also graduated 
from the Union Theological Seminary, of New York City,in 1877. 
Mr. Pomeroy came west in 1880, being sent by the Home Board 
of Missions. He assumed the pastorate of the church at Huron 
in August, 1881. 

Rev. Mr. Cressey is the pastor of the Baptist Church Society, 
which is in a flourishing condition. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Huron was organized August 
Isi, 1881. Rev. Abraham Thompson is the pastor. The Society 
has fifty communicants, and is erecting a commodious edifice. 

The Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Huron held their first 
meeting November 1st, 1881. The Lodge is working under a char- 
ter, and has twenty-five members. 

The Huron Brass Band was organized March 14, 1881 with 12 
members. J. H. Devoe is the Leader. 

Huron has good stage communication with Mitchell and other 
points. Stages leave Huron, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, 
returning from Mitchell the day following, connecting with trains 
to and from the East at Mitchell, and with trains from the West, 
East and North at Huron, and with stages at Mitchell for Yank- 
ton. 

The Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company now have 255 
miles of road running east and west, through Dakota, "91 miles 
north to Ordway, and 77 miles graded and ready for the iron; and 
will have a road running from Pierre to Deadwood within a year. 
The company has expended a large amount of money for shops 
and depots at this point, the construction of which was begun in 
September, 1880. These improvements consist of one machine 
shop, 60x124 feet; a blacksmith shop, 50x70 feet; one engine room, 
24x30 feet; a ten stalled engine house, with improved covered 
turn tables; an oil house, 16x30 feet; a sand house, 20x40 feet; 
coal sheds covering an area 26x640 feet, and capable of holding 
4,000 tons of coal: a car repair shop, 22x80 feet; general office and 
depot, 24x80 feet; freight house, 22x96 feet; emigrant freight 
house, 22x96 feet; baggage house, 16x30 feet. The Company at 
this point does all kinds of ordinary repairing for coaches and en- 
gines, and repair all the tools used on the Division. They employ 
sixty men in the shops. The general office employs nine men. 
The first train arrived at Huron June 25th, 1880. 



HURON^. 153 

DAKOTA CENTRAL RAILROAD OFFICERS. 

Division offices at Huron: T. J. Nicholl, Superintendent; S. A. 
Mosher, Assistant; E. F. Potter, Superintendent of Construction; 
E. C. Harris, Train Dispatcher; S. W. Breton, Assistant Train 
Dispatcher; T. F. Nicholl, Overseer of Town Properties; W. E. 
Johnson, Train Master, 

Huron is throughout a lively, thriving, pushing place, with un- 
limited aspirations and most promising prospects. It is a town 
with a future, and unless all indications fail, will yet realize every- 
thing that is so confidently claimed for it. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTOKY. 

President— C. C. Hills. 

Trustees— T)\&\.. No. 1, W. B. Ingersoll; No. 2, C. C. Hills; No. 3, John 
McDonell; No. 4, W. H. Davis; No. 5, Nils Meng. 

ClerJc, Treasurer and Assessor — H. M. Jewett. 

Justice of the Peace — E. M. Milliken. , 

Marshal— D. Bell 

School Board — Director, T. J. Nicholl; Clerk, G. A. Cressy; Treasurer, J. K. 
Hanney . 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Black-SDiiths—E. M. Chase, J. C. Chisan. 

Lumber Dealers — Youmans Bros, tt Hodgins; Laird, Norton & Jeffreys, 

Liver// Stables— Terry & Clark, Tisdall eV: McWhortor. 

Drug and Book Stores— X. J. Stoe!, Blonn; & Hood, Edwin G. Wheeler, E. 
C. Walton. 

Hotels — Wright House, M. F. Wright; Corbin House, L. J. Corbin; Dakota 
House, M. J. Dinneeu; Huron House, J. McDonnall. 

Groceries and Provisions — Sauer & Johnson, W. W. Peckham, Joy Bros. 

Barber — William Ritschlag. 

Depot Agent — F. M. Wilcox. 

Saloon — Robinson & Rowe, Mosier & Weeks, Terry & Clark, A. Pappin. 

Stage Line — D. I.King, Proprietor; Richardson Bros., Agents. 

Furniture and Stationer g — Richardson Bros. 

Phgsicians d- Surgeons— (}. W. Morely, 0. A. Harvey. H. Russell, A. J. 
Dickerson. 

Dentist — G. W. Girard. 

General Merchandise — P. M. Liddy, Andrew F. Anderson, T. M. JetFries & 
Co., Dunning McHemy & Co. 

Drg Goods, Clothing, Gents Furnis)ii)H/s — L. Adler & Co., Parker Bros. 

Bank—C. C. Hills. 

Laiv,Beal Estate, Loan, Collection and Insurance — N.D. Wallirg, Ingersoll 
& Elson, W. T. & Geo. J. Love, Jewett& Kelley, Geo. W. Sterling, I. J. Mouser, 
C. F. Simmerman, Caldwell & Davis, N. E. Reed, J. K. Hanney. 

Jeweler — J. E. Baker. 

Dress Making a)id MiUinerg — Flora Suits, Carlotta Bloodgood, Martha Mc- 
Connell. 



154 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Shoemakers — Otto Larson, A. Hull. 

BaJi-eri/ and Bestaurant — G. W. Ormond. A. T. Jiinies, G.H. McKinniss. 
La undfij — Charles Faur. 

Meat Markets — Fayant i^' Maj", Barclay & Bor<,nvarcU. 

Hardware — A. H. Risdon, C. D. Houghton, Rowe Sc Stiver, Siiedigar Sc 
Davis. 

Tailor — W. F. Tngham. 

Cigars and 'rohharro — Charles Lampe. 



McCOOK COUNTY. 

This county is justly participating in the general prosperity of 
Dakota. McCook County was organized May 16, 1878. Its first 
Commissioners were: David Manary, William H. Weels and 
Isaac Manary. 

Cameron was the first County Seat of McCook County u}) to the 
autumn of 1880, when Salem, Bridgewater and Montrose entered 
into competition at the election for the "post of honor." After- 
wards, the County Commissioners moved the office of Register of 
Deeds and their place of meeting to J3ridgewater, where they con- 
tinued to meet. The Clerk of the Court moved his office to Salem. 
Cameron is still, according to law, the County Seat, but there is 
little left there now, save the school house. Cameron at one time 
had from thirty to forty buildings, with one hundred and fifty 
people, and was a promising toAvn; but when the railroad left it on 
either side, its prospects suddenly vanished. The county now has 
about two thousand inhabitants, and is one of the best in South- 
eastern Dakota. Montrose, Salem and Bridgewater are all lively 
towns. The first two are on the C, St. P., M. & 0. Railroad, the 
latter on the line of the C. M. & St. P. Railroad. 



CODINGTON COUNTY. 

Codington County is the second county west of the Minnesota 
State line, and through the southern part of which passes the 45th 
parallel of north latitude. The lands of this county are prairie 
and the surface gently rolling; the Big Sioux runs through the 
county from the northwest to the southeast. Beautiful lakes adorn 
nearly every township, dotting the prairies on every side with their 
mirror-like surfaces. The largest is Lake Kamjseska, which is two 
miles wide by six miles in length. This is one of the most beau- 
tiful lakes in the Northwest, and is not surpassed by any which 



CODINGTOK COUNTY. 155 



we have seen. The most violent storms never so much as soil its 
crystal waters, which are as pure as the mountain springs. Its 
shores furnish a splendid drive, and are always as clean as a well- 
kept gravel walk: they are composed of cornelians, moss agates, and 
other beautiful and curious stones and shells, which excite the ad- 
miration of visitors to such an extent that tons of them have al- 
ready been carried away, and are treasured up as rare specimens of 
nature's most remarkable and beautiful handiwork. 

The soil throughout the county is a rich, sandy loam, very dark 
in color, and of an average depth of thirty inches, with alight col- 
ored porous clay subsoil, largely impregnated with lime and vege- 
table substances, and is conceded by all who have investigated the 
subject to be unsurpassed for the production of wheat. Barley, 
oats, flax and buckwheat do equally as well, while root crops grow 
so astonishingly as to surpass the belief of any one unacquainted 
with the facts. 

The early varieties of Dent corn ripen with certainty in this lati- 
tude, and yield as well as in Southern Wisconsin or Northern 
Illinois. 

It has already been demonstrated that currants, strawberries, rasp- 
berries, and blackberries, and all small fruits, thrive luxuriantly 
here. The country has not yet had the age to demonstrate its adap- 
tion to the growth of apples, plums, cherries, etc., but it is confi- 
dently believed by the best judges that all varieties that have suc- 
ceeded in Wisconsin, Northern Iowa and Minnesota will do equally 
well here. 

The varieties of fine short grass that ripen and cure uncut on the 
highest and driest prairies, it is claimed, are much more nutritious 
and possess more fattening qualities than the best quality of blue 
joint hay. Cattle, during the winter season must be well watered, 
and well sheltered during the night time, but except during occas- 
ional storms there is little or no necessity for feeding hay. Sheep 
will keep as fat upon the winter pasture of these prairies as during 
any time in the summer. It is the coimtrj par excellence ior wool 
growing, and there is a mine of wealth in store for those who turn 
their attention to wool growing and furnishing the eastern market 
during the winter and spring months with choice mutton. 

The Winona & St. Peter Railroad, owned and operated by the 
Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company, passes though the 
county from east to west, and the Pembina Road is located through 



150 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

the county from south to north, forming a junction with the Wi- 
nona & St. Peter Railroiul. 

The act creating Codington County was approved February 15, 

1877, the county being formed out of Hamlin, Grant and Clark 
Counties. The organization of the county was effected July 19, 

1878, the following being its first officers: Commissioners — Wil- 
liam Mclntyre, 0. S. Jewell, Geo. H. iStoddart. Clerk and Regis- 
ter— W. R. Thomas. Treasurer~0. H. Tarbell. Judge of Probate 
— A. D. Chase. Sheriff — James Riley. Surveyor — Geo. H. Stod- 
dart. Superintendent of Schools — E.N.Brann. Assessor — Chas. 
0. Carpenter. 

The first election was held in the fall of 1ST9. The following 
officers were elected: Commissioners — Alex. Davidson, George 
Hanson, 0. H. Jewell. Judge of Probate — John H. Drake. Clerk 
and Register — VV. R. Thomas. Treasurer— Oscar P. Kemp. As- 
sessor — Chas. 0. Carpenter. Surveyor — Geo. Carpenter. Super- 
intendent of Schools — E. N. Brann. Sheriff — James Riley. 

The present County Officers are: Commissioners — Alex. David- 
sou, F. M. Grant, Geo. Hanson. Treasurer — 0. Gesley. Clerk 
and Register — R. B. Spicer. Judge of Probate — C. Campbell. 
Surveyor— Geo. H. Stoddart. Superintendent of Schools — Frank 
Crane. Assessor Allen. 

The Winona & St. Peter Railroad Company finished their road- 
bed in 1873 to the outlet at the northeast end of Lake Kampeska, 
claiming that their grant of lands from the Government extended 
that far, but did not operate the road beyond the Minnesota State 
line, farther than Gary, until the fall of 1878. In that year the 
Company repaired the road from Gary to AVatertown. In the 
summer of 1878, J. C. B. Harris, of Yankton, proposed to donate 
a forty-acre tract, and half, divided or undivided, of a half-section 
near the outlet of Lake Kampeska, to the Railroad Compan}^ in 
consideration of the location by the Company of a town at that 
point. June 28, 1873, Harris had filed a pre-emption on the north- 
west quarter of section 13, town 117, range 53. Afterwards entries 
were suspended until 1875. The projected town of Kampeska was 
laid out in August, 187S. Harris first went up to Lake Kampeska 
in the summer of 1874, on a tour of inspection. There was only 
one white man in Codington County at that tiuu\ none in Hamlin, 
and but two in Deuel. James P. Warner, now a resident of Clark, 
was the only white resident of Codington County at the time of 



CODINGTON COUNTY. 157 



Harris' visit. Harris went out again in 1876, at which time he 
found D. B. Lovejoy and William C. Pike located on the opposite 
side of the Sioux River from the present town of Watertown. At 
Gary, Capt. Herrick was then located, and there Avere perhaps a 
dozen settlers in Deuel County. 

On the 5th of February, 1875, David D. Keeler was appointed 
Postmaster of Kampeska Postoffice, and J. B. Montgomery, As- 
sistant Postmaster and Notary Public. At that time the office was 
included in Hamlin County. Kampeska Postoffice was discon- 
tinued November 30, 1875. Montgomery went first to Lake Kam- 
peska. Geo. H. Stoddart remained with Montgomery part of the 
winter of 1874. Warner came to that point in the spring of 1874. 
Montgomery was the first white man to break land in Codington 
County, raising about six acres of corn and two acres of "garden 
stuff'." Keeler and Montgomery left in March, 1876, the former 
returning to Yankton, the latter going to the Black Hills, where 
he still resides. 

Robert Pike, a surveyor in the employ of the Winona and St. 
Peter Railroad Company, in connection with others, organized the 
Kampeska Homestead Company, with about forty members, in 1872 
each member obligating himself to take a homestead ia the vicin- 
ity of the Lake. A paper called the Commonirealth — a monthly 
publication, printed in Chicago — was issued from Kampeska, the 
first number appearing in January, 1874. W^hite & Pike were the 
publishers. William C. Pike, a brother of Robert Pike, came out 
in the spring of 1873, accompanied by his wife, who remained but a 
short time. The grasshopper invasion of 1874 caused the abandon- 
ment of this attempt at settlement. This, and the death of Robert 
Pike, caused the dissolution of the Kampeska Homestead Company. 
September 25th, 1874, W^illiam C. Pike and others organized the 
Lake Kampeska Homestead Colony, which was substantially the 
same in its objects as its predecessor, the intention being to estab- 
lish a ''community," with a common mode of living, "corporate 
farming," and upon principles, many of which would no doubt be 
useful, were they not impracticable. How closely — or whether, at 
all, — any of the principles of the '"■ Colony " resembled those of the 
famous Oneida Community it is foreign to the purpose of this His- 
tory to discuss. Pike spent two winters in the East, lecturing upon 
the advantages of the project; but little or nothing came of it, and 
the Lake Kampeska Homestead Colony, after a brief and altogether 



158 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

unsatisfactory existence, went tlie way of many such enthusiastic 
but short-lived schemes. 

The grasshopper invasions were a serious drawback to this sec- 
tion as to all others that were visited by the scourge, and retarded 
immigration for several years. Without attempting to give the ar- 
rivals of the first permanent settlers in the order in which tliey 
came, the writer will go on to state that William Mclntyre came 
to Codington county October 9th, 1877, and located upon a half- 
section, on the east half of section 34:, town 117, range 53. two 
miles west of the present town of Watertown. Mr. Mclntyre 
came out again from Sparta, Wisconsin,]in company with his broth- 
er and others, in February, 1878. The party located 2,600 acres of 
land in one day, in the neighborhood of Mclntyre's claim. 

0. S. Jewell came out to the vicinity of the Lake in 1876, and 

D. B. Lovejoy came in May of the same year. During the winter 
of 1876-7, the County was abandoned. Lovejoy built for himsylf 
a house, in June, 1876, hauling the lumber there from Marshall. 
In the fall of 1877, Mclntyre found Jewell and Lovejoy the 
only two settlers in Codington County. In the summer of 
1878 quite a number of people came in. Among the first 
were the Kemp Bros., of Sparta, Wis., Rice Bros., of the same place, 

E. H. Ulrick, Ernest Brizee. R. Mclntyre, A. M. Mclntyre, D. M. 
Richardson and two sons, and James Tanner, also of Sparta; Rev, 
A. D. Chase, George Crosier and others, of Yernon County, Wis.; 
Charles Carpenter and family, 0. H. Tarbell and family. C. C. 
Wiley, James Riley and Geo. H. Stoddart were among the very 
earliest settlers in Codington County, as appears elsewhere in the 
biographical sketches of these gentlemen. Rice Bros, and Kemp 
Bros, engaged in the mercantile business on their claims in the 
spring of 1878. Owsley Bros., of Sparta, Wis., came in the spring 
of 1879, and immediately engaged in business. L. L. Leach's fam- 
ily came in the autumn of 1879. R. B. Spicercame in June, 1878, 
and located a claim adjoining Watertown. 

The first five acres of wheat raised in Codington County were 
grown by 0. S. Jewell during the summer of 1878, west of Lake 
Kampeska. It was threshed with a flail, and yielded twenty bush- 
els to the acre. 

The postofiice of Kemp was established early in the spring of 
1878, on the Kemp farm. Oscar P. Kemp was the Postmaster. 
The postofiice was removed to Watertown in the spring of 1879. 



£y^^rr^^^e^/t^^L 



WATERTOWlSr. 159 



Rice Bros, were occupying a little cabin on their farm, one mile east 
of town, and were engaged in selling goods, as were also the Kemp 
Bros., on their farm. 

WATERTOWN. 

There is no more substantial or promising town in Dakota than 
Watertown. Nowhere else in the Territory will be found a pop- 
ulation made of a better or more progressive class of immigration. 
Its various business establishments — all branches of which are rep- 
resented — are placed upon exceptionally good footings, and are 
conducted in a manner which compels the admiration of the dis- 
interested visitor. It is not the province of a work of this charac- 
ter, to enter into details as to each business house, as to the amount 
of business transacted therein, or, indeed, to advertise goods and 
wares. The writer, however, can but pay a deserved compliment 
to a growing little city of more than a thousand inhabitants, Avhich 
stands, where less than two years ago, not a solitary evidence of 
civilization appeared. The buildings of Watertown are of a su- 
perior character. 

Save one or two small buildings, there were no buildings on the 
present townsiteof Watertown, until the first of April, 1880, about 
which time the place became the scene of remarkable activity. 
The town was platted in September, 1878, by Col. Jacoby, and was 
incorporated under the provisions of the Territorial Code, in April, 
1880. It is located on section 31, township 117, rai.ge 52. There 
are two additions — one platted by Wm. Mclntyre on a part of the 
northwest qiiarter of section 32, township 117, range 52, and called 
East Watertown; to which there is an addition platted by R. F. 
Pettigrew, and called Pettigrew's Addition to East Watertown — 
the other platted by C. 0. Carpenter on the southeast quarter of 
section 30, township 117, range 52, and called North Watertown, 

Probably one hundred carpenters were put to work on or about 
the first of April, 1880, and as a resident expresses it, there was a 
"continual pounding from morning till uight." From that time, 
the town grew wish undiminished rapidity, save for the depriva- 
tions of the great snow blockade of the Avinter and spring of 1880 
-81, the incidents of which are in themselves sufficient to fill a 
volume. 

The United States Land Office is permanently located in Water- 
town, and transacts an immense amount of business, owing to the 



160 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

continuous stream of immigration which pours into this point. 
A. C. Wellette is the Register, and A. R. Pease, Receiver. Hon. T. 
A, Kingsbury is the obliging Chief Clerk. 

The hotel accommodations are excellent, the Central House, 
Merchants Hotel and East Watertown Hotel being the principal 
places of public entertainment. 

There are two first-class grain elevators. The first was erected 
by Van Dusen & Co., in the summer of 1879, and is one of the 
largest elevators west of Winona. It is managed by the Alexan- 
der Brothers, who came here in April, 1859; Melvin from Cassop- 
olis, Mich., Barton from Red Wing, Minn. 

The second elevator is also a large one, and was erected in 1880, 
by the Porter Milling Co., of Winona, Minn., one of the very 
large flouring mills for which the State is so justly famous. They 
have a capacity of about 1,000 barrels of flour per day. 

The Bank of Watertown was established March 1st, 1880, by 
Col. 0. C. Johnson and 0. Gesley, both of Beloit, Wis. Mr. Ges- 
ley came here in March, 1879, and Col Johnson in March, 1880. 
This bank is located on Oak street, in a substantial brick building 
erected by them for that purpose. The building is 24 by 70 feet 
two stories high, and is elegantly finished throughout. The large 
vault is thoroughly fire proof, and their valuables are further pro- 
tected liy one Hall's latest improved fire and burglar proof safes, 
the doors of which are faithfully guarded — by a time lock. This 
bank receives deposits, buy^ and sells exchange, and does a general 
banking business. 

The Codington County Bank opened its doors for the first time 
on the 1st day of September, 1880. It is owned by H. D. Walrath 
and S. B. Sheldon, both formerly of Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence 
Co., N. Y. This bank is located on the corner of Oak street and 
Kemp avenue, in a brick building erected by them for that pur- 
pose. The building is built of brick, 23 by 45 feet, and two stories 
high, and is tastefully designed and elegantly finished. The inside 
of the building is f(|ually beautiful in design and finish. The 
bank is supplied with a perfectly solid brick and stone fire-proof 
vault, and within the vault is one of Hall's latest improved burglar 
proof safes, that can only be 0})ened through the medium of one 
of the most approved time locks. This bank receives deposits from 
farmers, merchants and others, buys and sells foreign and domestic 
exchange, makes collections and does a general banking business. 



AVATEKTOWlSr. 161 



The Dakota Neivs was established June 23, 1879, by S. J. Conk- 
lin. of Waterloo, Wis., and W. 0. Fraser, of Marion, Ohio. The 
firm natna is Conklin & Fraser. The paper is a six-column quarto, 
and has already a large and rapidly increasing circulation. Its 
jobbing department is very complete, and it is supplied with all 
the modern conveniences of a first-class news and job office. 
• The Codington County Cowrj'er is a seven-column folio, published 
weekly by Geo. A. Edes, who came here from Marshall, Minn., in 
thesummer of 1880, and purchased the good will of the Water- 
town Independent, which was established in April, 1879. Both 
these papers are excellent publications, creditably representing an 
intelligent constituency. 

Trinity Episcopal Church was organized in the summer of 1881. 
The Society propose building shortly. Rev. M. Hoyt, D. D., Dean 
of Dakota, is the Rector. Wardens — H. D. Walrath, J. I. Monks. 
Vestry — Oscar P. Kemp, S. A. Briggs, A. R. Pease, S. B. Sheldon, 
F. W. Hoyt. Treasurer— S. B. Sheldon. 

The Congregational Church was organized in March, 1879, by 
Rev. H. B. Johnson, who also preaches at Estelline in Hamlin 
County, and at Clark, Clark County. 

The Methodist Society was organized about the same time, by 
Rev. A. D. Chase, who came here from Wisconsin in 1878, and 
entered land here, on which he has made valuable improvements. 
The Baptist Society was organized in 1880, by Rev. A. S. Orcutt, 
formerly of Chicago, and a Church of the Disciples has been organ- 
ized by Rev. Geo. Clendenan. 

Watertown Lodge No. 21:, L 0. 0. F., was instituted August 20, 
1880, by D. D. G. S. Poore. The following are charter members: 
C. M. Cannon, C. W. Swift, C. Goss, Geo. A. Edes,C. C. Whistler, 
August Huntzicker, Geo. E. Watson, Phil. Crittenden, John Saur. 
The first officers were: C. W. Swift, N. G.; C. C. Whistler, V. G.; 
C. M. Cannon, Secretary; C. Goss, Treasurer. Present officers: I. 
M. Westfall, N. G.; C. Goss, V. G.; C. C. Whistler, Secretary; D. 
C. Thomas, Treasurer. The membership is about twenty-five, and 
the Lodge is in a flourishing condition. 

Kampeska Lodge No. 13, A. F. & A. M., was instituted in No- 
A'ember, 1879, under dispensation from the Grand Master of Dakota. 
The charter bears date June 9, 1880. Charter members and first 
officers: D. C. Thomas, W. M.; W. H. Edes, S. W.; I. R. King, 
J. W.; S. Snyder, Treasurer; Frank Hoskins, Secretary; W. R. 



132 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Thomas, S. D.: Geo. E. Hanson, J. D.; W. A. Carroll, S. S.; H. 
B. Johnson, J. S.; G. H. Cady, Tyler; S. W. liowman, M. T^ 
Briggs, C. E. Edes, J. J. Owsley. The present officers are: D. C 
Thomas, W. M.; W. A. Carroll, S. W.; G. E. Hanson, J. W.; J. 
J. Owsley, Treasurer; John M. Hoyt, Secretary; W. R. Thomas, 
S. D.; L R. King, J. I).; M. T. Briggs, S. S.; Frank Hoskins, J. 
S. ; G. H. Cady, Tyler. The Lodge has a membership of about 
forty and enjoys an enviable reputation. The Grand Lodge of 
Dakota will meet with Kampeska Lodge. in June. 1882. 

E. N. Brann was appointed County Superintendent of Public In- 
struction in September, 1878, and elected in November of the same 
year. The first school district was organized in April, 1877, the first 
meeting for that purpose being held April 23d at the house of C. 
0. Carpenter. Miss Laura L. Leach (now Mrs. L. S. Deming) 
taught the first school in the summer of 1879, in the hall of Gesley 
& Duxtad. The school house was built in the fall of 1879, 48x50 
feet in dimensions, and has a seating capacity of abcut two hun- 
dred. E. N. Brann was the Principal, Miss Eva Carpenter, Assist- 
ant. In the winter of 1880-81, J. N. Williams was also employed 
as teacher. Frank Crane, of Sparta, Wis., became Principal in 
May, 1880, Mr. Crane, Miss Carpenter and Miss Carrie Briggs, 
constituting the corps of. teachers for the present year. The last 
enrollment was one hundred and thirty-five pupils. There are 
nineteen school districts in Codington County, and seventeen school 
houses, all well l)uilt, substantial structures, and provided with the 
latest improved school furniture and apparatus. 

The first municipal election was held June 8, 1880. 

OFPICIAI. DIRECTORY. 

Election, iAVO— Trustees— Win. McTntyre, President; John Kemp. W. L. 
Beals, Frank Rice. 

C/erA-— Charles X. SewarJ. 
Treasurer — C. C. Whistier. 

Assessor and Marshal— John N. Johnson. 

Justice of the Peace— S. A. Briggs. 

Present Oj^cer«— Trustees— Wm. Mclntyre, President; Frank Rice, M. D 
Alexander, Hans Johnson. 

Clerk— Civdn. X. Seward. 

Treasurer— C. C. Whistler. 

Marshal — James L. Wiley. 

Assessor— J. C. Miller. 

Citi/ Attorney — Chas. X. Seward.. 

Justice of the Peace — Wm. M. Pierce. 

Board of Education— John N. Johnson, R. B. Spicer, S. B. Sheldon 



WATEKTOWX. 103 



BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Aftorn<'!/s—S. J. Conldin, Poore & Church, Campbell & Comfort, D. C. & W. 
R. Thomas, Banvard <t Wood, Warrer & Budd. Sewardf Glass & Eddy. 

Banks— Codington County Bank, Walrath t\: Sheldon; Bank of Watertown, 
0. C. Johnson. 

Temperance Billiard Parlor — C. C. Maxwell. ^ 

Boarding and Restaurant — P. F. Englesby, 0. J. Webster. 
Barbers— Langhonn & Co. 

Clothing, Etc.—Y. W. Hoyt, Henitz & Hassinger. 

Contractors and Builders — Chas. Walker, R. A. Zimmerman, Sours Bros. 
Druggists — 0. E. Dewey & Co., Tarbell Bros., C. Goss. 

Elevators— G. W. Van Dusen & Co., Alexander Brothers; Porter Milling 
Company. 
Flour and Feed — L. F Tondro. 
Furniture — Peter Mauseth. 

Groceries — W. W. Dennis, A. Weaver, P. C. Holm3s. 
Blacksmiths— G. E, Bartlstt, S. Blackburn & Co. 
Plow Factorg—H. E. Stewart. 

Hotels— Centrdi House, Ulrick A: B^als; Merchants Hotel, J. C. Mulholand; 

Johnson House, Johnson & Cartford. East Watertown Hotel, AVm. Mclntyre. 

Dakota House, D. McMath. 

Hardware and Farm Machinerg. — Kemp Bros., 0. Gesley. Monks & Wiser. 

General Merchandise. — Rice Bros, Cleveland and Greer, Owsley Bros. & Co. , 

Archie Weaver, C. H. Bradford, P. C. Holmes, H. 0. Hagen, Graham Bros. 

Insurance— "Waxn^v & Budd, S. B. Sheldon, S. A. Briggs, S. J. Conklin, 0. 
Gesley,, Seward, Glass & Eddy. 
Jewelers.— 0. I. Fleod, M. Greer, Jr. 

Livsrg.—W. H. Blooui, Hig.^in? & E itoii, C^^^^b & Son, Kinsay & Wiley. 
Milliner g, — Mrs. Fox, Mrs. Cameron. 

Newspapers .—1!\\Q Dakota News, Conklin & Frnzer. Codington County Cour- 
ier, Geo. A. Edes. 

Meat Market. — Stephens and Whistler, C. F. Fosdick. 

Lumber. — Yoaman Bros. & Hodgins, R. B. Spicer. Laird, Norton & Co., J 
C. Miller. Empire Lumber Co., Wm. M. Reed. 
Depot Agent. — G. E. Starkweather. 
Painters.— G. Cox & Son, J. A. Baker. 
P/i/ysiV/rtMs.— Bennett & Briggs, L M. WesttkU. 
Shoemaker — J. D. Moulton 
Saloons — L. M. Thomas, J. C. Muhlholland. 
Postmaster — J. I. Monks. 

Real Estate cC- Loans— Wdvnev & Budd; Seward, Glass &'_Eddy; Banvard* 
Wood, S. D. Scudder, Poore & Church, S. .r. (Conklin, D. C. & W. R. Thomas, 
W. H. Donaldson. 

Undertaker. — Peter Mauseth. 
Wagon Maker — D. F. Owsley. 
Merchant Tailor — S. A. Briggs & Co. 



164 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN" DAKOTA. 

BELOIT. 

Beloit, one of Iowa's prosperous border towns, is located in the 
southeast corner of Lyon County. Among its first settlers were: 
Halvor Nelson, Ole Nelson and L. P. Hyde, who came about the 
year 1866. Beloit was platted in 1871, by Halver Nelson and 
James A. Carpenter. Its first officers were: Justice of the Peace 
— Charles Goetz. Trustees — Thomas Thorson, E. E. Carpenter, E. 
W. Lewis. Clerk and Treasurer — F. A. Keep. 

The first County Officers of Lyons County were: Judge of Cir- 
cuit Court — Judge Ford. Treasurer — James H. AVaggoner. Audi- 
tor — Charles A. Goetz. Register of Deeds — Thomas Thorson. 
Clerk of the Court — D. C. Whitehead. Superintendent of Schools 
— L. A. Ball. Coroner— S. B. Willard. Sherifi— T. W. Johnson. 

The following are the present County Officers: Treasurer — J. 
Shade. Auditor— J. M. Webb. Recorder— W. S. Peile. Clerk 
of the Court — F. A. Keep. Superintendent of Schools — A. H. 
Davidson. Sheriff — James McAllen. Coroner — J. M. Aldrich. 
Judge of Circuit Court — J. R. Zuver. 

A saw mill was in operation at Beloit, but the logs giving out, 
naturally the mill ceased to be one of the institutions of the place. 
The grist mill, which is still actively employed, was erected in 1872 
by Halvor Nelson and James A. Carpenter. 

The Sioux City and Pembina Railroad was constructed to Beloit 
in December, 1878. 

A prospective newspaper, to be published at Beloit, is to be 
under the proprietorship of L. C. Rene, of Chicago. It is the inten- 
tion to print one-half the paper in English and the other half in 
Norwegian. As yet the paper has not received a name. Rev. 
Kroyness and E. E. Carpenter are to be the editors. 

The first school house was built on section 10, town 99, range 
48, M. W. Jeffries being the first teacher. The members of the 
first Board of Education were: Amos Severtson, Chris. Sogn, E. 
W. Lewis. The following are the members of the present Board 
of Education: Chris. Sogn, John Hanson, William Paxton. 

The present school building was erected in 1881, at a cost of 
$1,300. There are three departments. Bishop Perkins is the 
Principal. The first school house in the village was erected in 
1875, at a cost of $5,000, and was afterwards sold to the Augus- 
tina Academy, which is now located here. There are two Profes- 
sors and assistants. 



BELOIT. 165 

The postoffice was located here hi 1870, with Chris. Sogn as 
Postmaster. The present Postmaster is D. J. Carpenter. 

The M. E. Church of Beloit was organized in 1872, by George 
Tillotson, D. N. Tillotson, James A. Carpenter, E. E. Carpenter 
and others. The first services were held in the school house, and 
also at the residences of different members. In 1880, the church 
building was erected at a cost of Sli-lOO, the expense being partial!}^ 
defrayed by the Church Society in the East, and partially by con- 
tributions from the people. Rev. Mr. Petersojj was the first pastor, 
and was succeeded by Rev. Mr. Pomeroy. The use of the building 
is shared with the Norwegian Lutheran Church. The present offi- 
cers of the M. E. Society are: Trustees — E.E. Carpenter, George 
Tillotson, Mrs. D. J. Carpenter, D. N. Richardson. Clerk — George 
Tillotson. Treasurer — Mrs. D. J. Carpenter. The building not 
being quite completed, has consequently not yet been dedicated. 
This denomination was the first to build a church at Beloit. The 
names of some of the ministers who have officiated from time to 
time, are: Rev. I. Wakefield, Rev. A. J. Benjamin, Rev. Mr. 
Newell, R"v. B. Webster and Rev. Mr. Grace. 

The Norwegian Lutheran Church was organized by E. Oleson, 
in 1870. The Society first met for worship in the house of H. T. 
Helgerson, afterwtirds holding their meetings in various places, and 
subsequently meeting at the school house; but at present, their 
meetings are held in the M. E. Church building. Rev. E. Oleson 
Avas the first and is the present pastor. The membership is about 
twenty. Present officers: Trustees — John Chraft, Chris. Sogn, 
0. T. Helgerson. 

The organization of the Presbyterian Society dates from 1878, 
when the society was organized by Rev. W. S. Peterson with nine 
members. The Society first met in the school house, where their 
meetings continued to be held until the erection of the M. E. 
Church in 1880, in which they now hold services. Rev. Mr. Peter- 
son was succeeded by Rev. J. B. Pomsroy in 1880. At present the 
Society is without a pastor. The membership numbers ten. The 
Society was originally organized as a Congregational Church by S. 
Sheldon. Moderator, and A. J. Palmer, Clerk; but was changed to 
a Presbyterian Society in 1878. The officers of the Congregational 
organization were: Deacon — A. B. Reynolds. Clerk — George 
Worthington. 

T. K. Bradley established the first hotel, Charles A. Goelz and 



IGG HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Thomas Thorsou the first store, and Arne Lee was the first black- 
smith. The first death to occur was that of K. Gesley; the first 
birth was that of a child born to H. T. Helgersou in the fall of 
1878. The first marriage was that of F. A. Keep to Ruby Carpen- 
ter in the winter of 1873. 

OKFICIAI, DIKECTOKY. 

President— D. N. Richardson. 
Trustees— GzovgATillotson, John Chraft. 
Clerk — D. J. Carpenter. 
Justices — Charles A. Goetz, A. B. Reynolds. 

}5USINESS mRECTOEY. 

Agricultural IinpJcnients — 0. T. Helgeson. 

Barber — Thomas Coffield. 

Blacksmith — Magnus Bergstrum. 

Carpenters — P. J. Anderson. Thomas Rood, W. S. Smith. 

Creamer// — Wm. Paxton and Son. • 

Clothing — II. Adee. 

Furniture — W. S. Smith. 

General Merchandise — Richardson and Son, F. D. Mead, F. M. Rowley. 

Hotels — Jerome Tillotson, A. B. Reynolds. 

Hardware — Michael Nelson. 

Harness and Saddles — T. W. Taddershall. 

Meat Market — Henry Skewis. 

3rniiner!/—Mv?. Adee, Mary A. Buckley & Co. 

Phi/sician — Eddie Monroe. 

Pumps rf^ Wind Mills — Cotheld Brothers. 

Plafterer — Walter Angell. 

Painter — John Anderson. 

Restaurant — C. A. Sumner. 

Saloon — William KuUer. 

Wagon Maker — C. Jensen. 

Woolen 3IiU—E. E. Carpenter & Co. 



CALLIOPE. 

Just '"across the borders," in Sioux County, Iowa, is the thriving 
little town of Calliope. The town is located on the northwest 
quarter of section 35, town 95, range 48. On the south is Port- 
landville, to the north is Eden, east is Orange City, and on the 
west is the Dakota line. 

The town was platted on the 2d of September, 1878, by Alexan- 
der Johnson, who is tlie original town proprietor. In 1870 Lewis 
Larson erected his flouring mill, with one run of stone. Machin- 
ery for five run of stone is being added. Johnson & Tibbies 
opened the first store- general merchandise — in 1870. George H. 



CALLIOPE. 167 

Root established the first hotel in the autumn of 1869. Robert 
McCrary is entitled to the credit of being the first settler. In 
1869, the first school house was built, it being a frame structure 
costing $1,200. The first wedding ceremony was that in which J. 
J. Jefi'ers and Mary Root were the contracting parties, the mar- 
riage rites being celebrated in a small shanty ''out on the prairie" 
by G. B. West. Efiie M., daughter of Harry and Eliza Lantz, was 
the first child born. George H. Root was the first Postmaster, the 
present Postmaster being Caleb E. Smith. Emma Ames was the 
first teacher of the public schools. 

October 23, 1880, the contract was let to George B. West, for 
the erection of a school house at Calliope, for the sura of f^l,393. 
The furniture of the building was put in at a cost of $215.26. W. 
C. Walton is the present teacher. The members of the Board of 
Education are: C. P. Tarbox, Chairman; W. D. McClure, E. J. 
Earl, W.E. AYest, Clerk; John Chenowoth, Treasurer. The town 
is not yet incorporated. 

The present County Officers of Sioux County are: Treasurer — 
A. J. Betlew. Auditor — John E. Wyatt. Register of Deeds — H. 
J. Lendevink. Clerk of the Courts — Jelle Pelmulder. Superin- 
tendent of Schools — Simon Knyper. Sheriff — Thos. H. Dunham. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Calliope was organized in 
the spring of 1881, by Rev. Samuel Snyder. The church officers 
are: Class Leader— G. B. West. Stewards— G. B. West, W. C. 
Walton. The first services were held in the depot building. Rev, 
Mr. Snyder, the first Pastor, was succeeded by the Rev. Mr. Pen- 
dell. There are ten communicants. Calliope and Pleasant Hill 
constituting the circuit. It is expected to erect a suitable church 
edifice during the coming spring. 

Altogether, the town of Calliope is one with encouraging pros- 
pects, and one in which the "lines" of the inhabitants may be said 
to be a "pleasantly cast." 

OFFICIAL DIKECTOJIY. 

Preside>it—W. D. McClure. 
Trustees — John Chenowoth, E. J. Earl. 
Clerk and Treasurer— W. E. West. 
Justices — D. B. Horton, G. H. Root. 
Co lis fable— J). T. Gearhart. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Blacksmithing — William Reese, D. E. Btincroft. 
Druggist — J. H. Brower. 



168 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

General Merchandise — David Stephen, P. F. Sweinhart. 
Grain Dealers — Cossett it Huntting. 
Hardware — A. W. Herald and Co. 

Hotels — Hodgin House, Elisha Hodgin; Leggett House, M. Leggett; Numsen 
House, Clouse Numsen. 
Lumber Dealer — W. E. Hodgin. 
Meat Marhet—YiuW k Tibbies. 
Newspaper — Calliope Independent. 
Physician — J. H. Brower. 
Postmaster — C. Smith. 
5«?ooHS— James Kennedy, Clouse Numsen. 



PORTLANDVILLE. 

The town of Portlandville, Plymouth County, Iowa, was at first 
called "Portland," but the Postoffice Department subsequently 
changed the name to Portlandville. The town is located on the 
west half of the southeast quarter, and the east half of the south- 
west quarter of section 31, township 93, range 48. To the east is 
LeMars, Iowa, to the west Vermillion, Dakota, to the north is Cal- 
iope, while to the south are Elk Point and Sioux City. The 
original town proprietor is E. W. Sargent, the town having 
been laid out by E. W. Sargent and L. N. Crill. Portlandville was 
organized January 6, 1873. 

The first town officers were: Justices of the Peace — S. Dennison, 
E. B. Donaldson. Trustees— H. P. Gough, William McCauliff, H. 
D. Barr. Clerk — M. K. Dubois. Assessor — J. L. Coates. Con- 
stable — -S. Smith. Road Supervisor — Edward Haymond. 

The earliest settlers were: E. W. Sargent, George Reed and 
H. D, Barr and family, who came in the summer of 1870; also M. 
W. Toppings. 

Sargent & Crill erected a flouring mill with one run of stone in 
1870, but the mill has since been enlarged to three run of stone. 

The postoffice was established in 1874, with Thomas Martin as 
Postmaster. Miss Am}' Hampton is the present Postmistress. 

The County Officers of Plymouth County are: Treasurer — John 
Heron. Auditor—A. M. Duus. Clerk of the Courts— W. S. Willi- 
ver. Register of Deeds — Geo. S<"anley. Sheriff — James Hopkins. 
Superintendent of Schools — F. W. Gurnsey. 

The first store in Portlandville was opened by E. W. Sargent; 
the first hotel by George Reed. An infant son, born to H. D. Barr, 
was the first birth, and the leath of A. H. Smith was the first death 



PORTLANDYILLE. 169 



to occur. Andrew Palm and Emma Johnson were the contract- 
ing parties to the first marriage. 

The first school house was built in 1873, a frame building, with 
two departments, costing about 5^3, 000. Mrs. E. B. Donalson was 
the first teacher. The present teachers are: I. L. Albert, Princi- 
pal, and Mrs. Josie Waterbury. 

The following are the members of the Board of Education : Wil- 
liam Kidd, S. B. Gilliland, Henry Waterbury, W, W. Soper, Sec- 
retary; E. W. Sargent, Treasurer. 

The M. E. Church of Portlandville was organized in 1874, by 
Elder James Williams, of Elk Point. The number of members is 
about fifty. The first church building was erected in Portland- 
ville by this Society at a cost of $1,000. Prior to the building of 
the church, the meetings were held in the school house. The church 
was dedicated in 1879, Rev. T. M. Williams preaching the dedica- 
tory sermon. Rev. H. D. Brown was the first pastor. Rev. S. 
Snyder is the present incumbent. A parsonage was erected in 1879, 
the cost of the church property being $1,300. The use of the 
church edifice has frequently been granted toother denominations. 

The Baptist Church organization was effected in 1873, by Rev. 
T. W. Freeman, of Elk Point. The church edifice was built in 
1879, at a cost of $1,000. Religious services were first held at the 
residence of Elder Coppick, afterwards in the school house, until 
the erection of the church building. Elder Coppick was a brother 
of the man Coppick, who was with John Brown at Harper's Ferry. 
Elder Coppick was the first pastor, and was succeeded by Elder J. 
P. Coffman, he by Elder Freeman, the present incumbent. The 
Congregationalists occupy the same building; also the Episcopal- 
ians, who are as yet unorganized. The Baptist Society numbers 
forty persons. Its present officers are: Deacons — Dr. J. Freeman, 

W. F. Bonney, Jeffers. Secretary and Treasurer — Dr. J. 

Freeman. 

A Temperance League was organized at Portlandville September 
15th, 1881, by Rev. W. Walker, of Vermillion. This organization 
is not of a secret nature. Its officers are: President— Y. G. Farn- 
ham. Vice-President — W. S. Bell. Secretary — J. H. Muhs. 
Treasurer — W. W. Soper. 

■Portlandville Lodge No. 54, L 0. G. T., was instituted in the 
autumn of 1865. Meetings were at first held in the school house, 
Newman's Hall being next rented. For a time the Society pros- 



170 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA, 

pered; bat subsequently they felt constrained to return to the 
school house as the place for holding their meetings. At one time 
the Society numbered one hundred and eight members. The char- 
ter members were: W. W. Soper, J. H. Hampton, Amy Hamp- 
ton, Mrs. A. H. Smith, Mr. and Mrs. F. N. Morgan, J. C. Button, 
N. P. Hampton, and others. In 1879, the Lodge's career termin- 
ated, after a period of useful existence. The last officers of the 
Lodge were: James Biddlecome, W- C.; Mrs. A. H. Smith, W. 
V. C; J. H. Hampton, Chaplain; A. R. Whitney, F. S.; G. W. 
Peck, P. W. C. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTORY. 

President — W. W. Soper. 
Trustees — Thomas Sedgwick, John Sophy. 
Clerk and Treasurer — J. C. Button. 
Justices — C. E. Robinson, H. H. Sargent. 
Consfahle—A. H. Smith. 

BUSI^ESS DIRECTORY. 

Af/rirultural Implements — Hans Mm-phy. 
BJacksmitliiny—M.. W. Topping, W. P. Kidd. 
Confectionery — Miss Amy Hampton. 
Coal Dealer — 0. A. Hubbard. 
Drufjgist — L. H. Farnham. 

General Merchants — C. Newman and Sen, Muhs and Johnsc n, A. L. Mc- 
Ginnis and Brother. 
Grocer— R. H. Miller. 
Hardware — V. G. Farnham, B. Ferguson. 
Hotels— J. W. Strong and Son, 0. A. Stowell. 
Lumber Dealers — Ashley and Race. 
Milliner!/— Mrs. A. H. Smith, Mrs. H. J. Muhs. 
Miller— E. W. Sargent. 

Meat Markets — A. P. Douglas, J. W. Strong. 

Xewsjxiper — Plymouth County Record, F. T. Shepard, Editor and Publisher. 
Physician — R. D. Clark. 
Postmistress — Miss Amy Hampton. 
Shoemakers — J. Biddelcome, Henry Waterbury. 
Saloons — J. A. Larkin, Heniy Agnes. 
Wacjon making — Peter Muir. 



LINCOLN COUNTY. ■ 

From a carefully prepared article printed in the Sioux VaJleii 
Neivs^ of Canton, in the issue of that paper bearing date of July 19, 
1881, many of the following facts are taken. The statements of 
the article referred to have been verified by the personal inspection 
of the editor of this work, who herewith presents in addition. 



LINCOLN COUNTY. 171 



other matters of importance and interest concerning Lincoln 
County and the settlements which it contains: 

About the year 1S61, a band of hardy pioneers and trappers, the 
vanguard of civilization, crossed the Sioux River and plunged 
boldly into what was then considered a vast wilderness, devoid of 
all that helps to make life attractive. Instead of a desert, how- 
ever, they fouud a country teeming with the most luxuriant vege- 
tation their eyes had ever beheld, watered by inuamerable clear, 
sparkling brooks, cool springs and dashing rivers. They found a 
dim ite unsurpassed, a soil of superior richness and a country of 
surpassing beauty. The attractiveness of this entire region soon 
brought other settlers, and on April 5th, 1862, this county was 
set off and its boundaries fixed by the Legislature. Prior to 1866, 
however, the county was mostly given up to trappers, hunters and 
wandering tribes of Indians, the latter being largely in the ma- 
jority. 

The first settlement was made where the flourishing city of Can- 
ton now stands, by L. P. Hyde and his son Henry. They broke a 
few acres of ground, but soon after returned to the East. In the 
fall of the same year, A. J. Linderman came into the county and 
pre-empted and settled upon a valuable tract of timber land near 
his present location, and has since made his home here, being at 
the present time a resident of Canton. On the 18th of Ma}^, 1867, 
Benjamin HilLWilliam Hill and James Sorter and their families 
movea into the county and settled on Beaver Creek a short dis- 
tance above its mouth. In the summer and fall of the same year 
a number of families came from the East and settled near the site 
now occupied by the city of Canton. Others of these early settlers 
were: J. T. Fitzgerald, William Craig, W. S. Smith, Thomas Sar- 
gent, Daniel McLaren and Josiah Weakley, who came in the 
autumn of 1867; W. M. Cuppett, John W. Hewitt, Geo. T. Ray, 
John H. Holsey, S. C. Lashley, A. B. Wheelockand others, who 
came the following spring. 

During the winter ofl867-8, the settlers were greatly disturbed 
by the Indians, who threatened on several occasions to massacre 
the entire community. Fortunately, however, these threats were 
never executed, and the early settlement of Lincoln County was 
effected without bloodshed. 

A petition for the organization of the county was presented to 
the Legislature in 1867, and the county duly organized by an act 



172 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

of that bod}^ approved December 30th, 1867, and the name of 
Lincoln given the new organization in honor of our mart3'red 
President, Abraham Lincoln. The boundaries were not satisfac- 
torily established until 1870, when a bill was introduced fixing the 
lines as follows: ''Beginning at the southeast corner of Turner 
County; thence north along the east line of said Turner County, 
to the north line of township 100; thence east along said township 
line to the center of the main channel of the Big Sioux River; 
thence southerly along said main channel to the northeast corner of 
Union County; thence west along the line of LTnion and Clay 
Counties to the place of beginning." By the establishment of 
these boundaries, it fixes the length of Lincoln County at thirty 
miles, its breadth at twenty-two miles, and its area at G60 scjuare 
miles. The County Seat was located by the act of 1867, ''upon the 
southeast c^uarter of the southeast quarter of section 14^ township 
98 north, of range 49, west of the fifth principal meridian,'" and 
by the unanimous votes of the settlers, the name of Canton was 
given to the new County Seat. By the same act of the Legisla- 
ture, the first county officers were appointed. 

At the time of the incorporation, there were but sixteen voters 
in the county. In the spring of 1868, twenty-five Norwegian 
families moved from Iowa and settled a short distance from the 
new town of Canton. About the same time, a number of families 
from the East settled in the present township of Eden, and these 
were soon followed by others, who settled in what is now known 
as Fairview Township. On July 1st of this year, the first post- 
office in the county, was established in Canton, and shortly after, 
another one was opened at Eden, as it is now called. The first 
school house was built at Canton in 1870. 

The first officers of the county were: Commissioners — A. J. 
Liuderman, H. P. Hyde, Benjamin Hill. Sheriff — C. H. Swift. 
Judge of Probate — J. Q. Fitzgerald. Register of Deeds — William 
Hill. Justices of the Peace — William Hyde, W. S. Smith. Cor- 
oner — Josiah Weakley. 

The first general election was held in 1868, and resulted in the 
selection of the following officers: Commissioners — T. M. Sargent, 
C. H. Sogn, W. S. Peters. Sheriff— C. H. Swift. Treasurer— S. 
C. Lashley. Register of Deeds — W. M. Cuppett. Judge of Pro- 
bate — J. ii. Fitzgerald. Assessor — John Hewitt. Very few of the 
officers qualified, and others were appointed to fill the vacancies. 



LINCOLN COUNTY. 173 



Early in 1871, immigration began to pour into the county, and 
from that time forward, its growth has been rapid and prosperous. 
A number of postoffices were now established, and several villages 
laid out; farm buildings commenced to dot the prairies in every 
direction, numerous artificial groves were planted, and an era of 
rapid and substantial improvement was fairly inaugurated. In 
August, 1872, The SioKx Valley Netrs, the first paper published in 
Lincoln County, was issued. 

The development of Lincoln County's resources was necessarily 
slow, until the Sioux City & Pembina Railroad reached the south- 
ern boundary line, in the fall of 1879. No sooner was this road 
completed, than a perfect flood of immigration commenced. In 
July, 1879, the main line of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul 
Road crossed the Big Sioux and entered Lincoln County. This 
gave immigration a new impetus, and Lincoln County has enjoyed 
a continuous boom ever since. All of its sixteen townships are 
now settled, and within its boundaries are some of the most impor- 
tant towns in Southeastern Dakota. 

Lincoln County ranks among the best agricultural counties in 
all this fertile Territory. The face of the county is diversified by 
level prairie and rolling lands, "the numerous clear running streams 
with which it abounds forming numerous valleys, the soil of which 
is the richest to be found in all this section of country, being 
especially adapted to the cultivation of cereals." The county is 
bounded by the Big Sioux on the east, and the Vermillion on the 
west, while the Missouri is but twenty-five miles south of its south- 
ern boundary. Besides these rivers, the county abounds in clear 
running brooks and bubbling springs which afford an abundance 
of clear, pure water. The soil is rich and moist, though not wet, 
and is particularly adapted to agriculture, the yield of all descrip- 
tions of grain being large, though flax, rye, oats, barley and corn, 
are proving a more profitable crop than wheat. For stock raising 
the county is unsurpassed. 

The land in the eastern townships, bordering on the Sioux River, 
is more rolling than that of the western townships, but none less 
adapted to agriculture or stock raising, and the scenery in many 
places, particularly along the river banks, is beautiful in the 
extreme. In the central and. western townships the land is less 
rolling but equally rich and productive. Owing to the care 
bestowed upon tree culture, the county abounds in large and beau- 



174 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

tiful groves, which are as useful as they are attractive, while the 
banks of the rivers are lined with a heavy growth of excellent 
timber. 

Lincoln County is largely settled by Eastern people. Churches 
and school houses are profusely scattered throughout the county, 
and the standard of education and morality is as high as it is in 
Wisconsin, Ohio, New York, or any other State. In a word, "Da- 
kota society is Eastern society transplanted." 

Lincoln County has two of the best railroads in the West, the 
Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul, and the Sioux City & Dakota, by 
either of which it has direct communication with the leading mar- 
kets of the East, and by which it has a superior outlet for its sur- 
plus products. The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. PauljRoad, which 
crosses the county from east to west, is a direct line to Chicago 
and Milwaukee. The Sioux City & Dakota, running from Sioux 
City to Sioux Falls, enters the county at Eden, and crosses Canton, 
Dayton, Springdale, and the northeast corner of La Valley Town- 
ships. Over this road, the traveler or shipper has the advantage 
of several routes after reaching Sioux City. Thus, it will be seen, 
•the citizens of Lincoln (Jounty are in no danger from oppressive 
freight or passenger tariifs. The distance to Chicago by either 
route is about 500 miles. 

The following are the present County Officers of Lincoln County: 
Commissioners — 0. T. Brandhagen, Nathan Noble. P. C. Parker. 
Register of Deeds — Elling Opsal. Treasurer — A. C. Deeds. Sheriif 
— A. P. Dixon. Clerk of Courts — W. M. Cuppett. Superintend- 
ent of Schools — John AUibone. Surveyor — Oscar E. Rea. 
Judge of Probate — R. Z. Bennett. Coronet — H. Southard. 

The names of the various townships in the county are as fol- 
lows: Delapre, Springdale, Perry, LaV alley, Dayton, Grant, Lynn, 
Canton, Delaware, Lincoln. High land, Fairview, Pleasant. Brook- 
lyn, Norway, Eden. There are numerous small villages in the 
county, all of which are in a prosperous condition, and some of 
them l)id fair to l)ccome important towns. 

In this connection, the following miscellaneous items will prove 
of interest: 

On the first day of January, 1868, every white inhabitant of 
Lincoln County, save three, assembled at the house of J. Q. Fitz- 
gerald and partook of a New Year's dinner. There were thirty 
persons present. 



LINCOLX COUXTY. 175 



The first death to occur in the county was that of an infant son 
of Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Sorter. 

The first hotel in the county was "kept" by Benjamin Hill. It 
was a log house, and was located a few rods south of where the 
south line of Hill's Addition to Canton now runs. 

In the latter part of the summer of 1868, this portion of the 
country was devastated by grasshoppers. 

The first postoffice was established July 1st, 1868, with Benja- 
min Hill as Postmaster. 

In the fall of 1868, Thomas Sargent and W. S. Smith procured 
a shingle machine, and made the first shingles ever made in Lin- 
coln County. 

The first wedding to occur in Lincoln County, took place on the 
13th of October. 1868, John Hanson and Siren Louise Bille, being 
the contracting parties. The lady had but just arrived from Nor- 
Avay. 

The first school house in the county was built in Canton in ISTO. 
The first church — Congregational — was built in 1872. 

District Court was established at Canton, by act of the Legisla- 
ture, in 1870. The first term of court was held in October, 1871, 
Judge J. P. Kidder presiding. Court was held in the school house, 
which building is now occupied by G-. A. Nelson, as a boot and 
shoe store, at Canton . 



CANTON. 

Much of the historj" of the County Seat of Lincoln County, and 
one of the most important towns in Southeastern Dakota, neces- 
sarily appears in the preceding detailed county history. 

Canton is beautifully situated on the west bank of the Sioux 
River, in the eastern part of the county. It is surrounded by rich 
rolling prairie land, thickly dotted over by large and well tilled 
farms and beautiful natural and artificial groves. 

Standing on an elevation, facing the south, directly in front of 
the visitor, and about an eighth of a mile distant, flows the beauti- 
ful river, fringed on either bank with a narrow strip of second 
growth timber, while further off, and a^trifle to the left, the small 
village of Beloit, Iowa, nestles at the foot of huge bluffs. Off in 
the distance to the right and in front, a range of bluffs meets the 
eye. 



176 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

Turning from the beautiful picture which nature spreads before 
him, to an inspection of the town itself, the observer sees a well 
built and thrifty community, with large and attractive business 
establishments, comfortable residences, activity on all sides, and 
everything that goes to make up a prosperous and growing town 
of more than 1,000 inhabitants. Again turning from the business 
portion of the town — which it is not the province of a purely his- 
torical work to describe in that detailed manner which smacks of 
the advertisement — the writer takes up the pleasant task of de- 
scribing the 

CHURCHES, SCHOOLS AND SOCIETIES. 

The Congregational Society was organized October 16th. 1870, 
by Rev. J. Ward, of Yankton. Meetings Avere at first held in a 
sod house that stood on the Court House Square: afterwards in the 
old school house; and continued to be held in school houses until 
the erection of the church building in 1872. The cost of the build- 
ing was about $1,000. A parsonage has been recently erected at a 
cost of $800. The membership is forty-six. J. W. Martin and 
John Grain were the first Deacons of the Society. Rev. Lucius 
Kingsbury is the present pastor. The present officers of the Socie- 
ty are: Trustees— N. C. Nash, [. N. Martin, J. Q. Fitzgerald. 
Deacons — Hiram Benedict, I. N. Martin. Clerk — John Zellar. 
Sabbath School Suijerintendent — Hiram Benedict. The attend- 
ance at Sunday School is about fifty pupils. This Societ}'^ was for 
some time tiie only Congregational Society in the Sioux Valley. 
The pastors in order have been: Rev. J. A. Palmer, Rev. M. V. 
B. Morrison, Rev. D. Thomas, Rev. L. Kingsbury. 

The Episcopal Society was organized in 1876, under the admin- 
istration of the Rev. W. W. Fowler, and is in a flourishing condi- 
tion. Their church building is now nearing completion, and will 
cost $1,500. Rev. J. M. McBride, of Eden, has been the clergy- 
man in charge for the past two years. Rev. W. W. Fowler, the 
first pastor, was succeeded by the Rev. Mr. Huntington, after whom 
came Mr. McBride. There are twenty-seven communicants. The 
officers of the Society are: 0. S. Gilford, AVarden; .lohn 0. Tay- 
lor, M. D., J. W. Taylor. 

The Presbyterian Society was organized about the year, 1870, 
continued in existence about one year, and then, by vote, resolved 
to unite with the Congreirationalists. 



CAXTOX. . 1 77 

The " Evangelien Lutran " Society of Canton was organized 
by Rev. Mr. Christionson in 1868, and met first at the houses of 
different members. They afterwards held services in the Court 
House, where their meetings continue to be held. The Society 
contemplates building a suitable edifice immediately — to be 34 by 
50 feet in dimensions, and to cost in the neighborhood of $1,500. 
Rev E. Olson, the present pastor, succeeded Rev. Mr. Christionson. 
There are from one hundred and fifty to two hundred members of 
the society, Canton and Land's Church constituting the circuit. 
The officers are: Trustees — Englebred Torkelson, Amon Peterson. 
Secretary — Mathias Hanson. Treasurer — M. L. Syverud. 

The Methodist Episcopal Society was organized in 1869, by 
Elder Mitchell. Services were first held in W. D. Parke's building, 
afterwards in the building used as a school house in Canton. In 
1877, they began to hold meetings in the Congregational Church, 
which they continued to do every alternate Sabbath for a year. In 
the spring of 1880, the Society erected a church building at a cost 
of 81,000. The pastors in order were: Revs. Almon Gore, Thomas 

Cuthbert, Ira Wakefield, A. J. Benjamin, 0. Bryan, Newell, 

B. Webster. Rev. Mr. Grace is the present pastor. There are about 
sixteen members. The first officers were: Trustees — W. D. Parke, 
J. Q. Fitzgerald, I. N.Mirtin. Stewart — Ed. Carpenter. Present 
officers: Trustees — Mathew Keller, E. Wendt, H. H. DeLong, 
Frank Dunham, George Tillotson, Mrs. M. E. Wells. The church 
was dedicated in the autumn of 1880. Rev. Wilmot Whitfield 
preaching the dedicatory sermon. 

The Norwegian Lutheran Bethlehem Society of Lincoln County 
includes one church in Norway Township and one in Canton. 
They have no church building in Canton, but have selected a 
site on which they propose building, the present autumn (1881). 
they have a church building in Norway Township, which was erect- 
ed in 1879, at a cost of about $800. The Society was organized 
in 1872 by the Norwegian people of the county. The first pastor 
was Rev. 0. E. Hofstad, the present incumbent. There are about 
six hundred members, and the Society is in a prosperous condition. 
The contemplated building in Canton will be 30 by 60 feet in di- 
mensions, and will cost about $2,000. The officers of the Society 
are: Trustees — M. Monrad, Andrew Johnson, S. Wendblom, E. 
Shulson. M. Moe, J. Matthison. Treasurer — M. Monrad. Secre- 
tary — M. Aas. 



178 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA . 

Silver Star Lodge No. 4, A. F. & A. M. Under the Iowa dis- 
pensation, this Lodge was No. 345. It was organized June 3d, 

1875. Charter members: W. H. Miller, Sr., M. W. Bailey, S. H. 
Stafford, Jr., and others. Their charter was renewed at the session 
of the Grand Lodge of Dakota in Yankton, in June, 1876. First 
officers: W. H. Miller, Sr., W. M.; M. W. Bailey. S. W.; S. H. 
Stafford, J. W.; W. M. Cuppett, Secretary; George Keller, Treas- 
urer; D. H. Hawn,S. D.; G. M. Holmes,' J. D.; J. W. Steele, S. 
S.; G. W. Naylor, J. S.; J. W. Hewitt, Tyler. Present officers: 
0. S. Gitford,'w. M.; D. H. Hawu, S. W.; Filing Opsal, J. AV.; 
0. E. Rea, Secretary; C. Christopher, Treasurer; A. B. Wheelock, 
S. D.; G. A. Nelson. J. D.; Robert Lanning, Tyler. Meetings are 
held in the hall over Gale & Ward's bank. The menibersiiip is 
about fifty. The Lodge is a prosperous one. 

Centennial Lodge No. 10, I. 0. 0. F., was instituted July 22d, 

1876. Charter members: M. W. Bailey, W. M. Robinson, 
Robert Lanning, Gottlieb Gerber, J. C. Jewell. First officers: M. 
W. Bailey, N. G.; Robert Lanning, Treasurer. Present officers: 
G. W. Harlan, N. G.; 0. A. Rudolph, V. G.; N. C. Nash, Secretary; 
Joseph Horn, Treasurer. The membership is about thirty-five. 
Meetings are held in Dahl's Hall. The Lodge is in a prosperous 
condition, and expects to build a suitable hall very soon. 

Canton Lodge No. 2,1. 0. G. T. — formerly Rescue Lodge No. 2 
— was organized under the latter name August 25th, 1876. The 
change of name occurred in March of the present year. Charter 
members: N. C. Nash, W. S. Benedict, J. K. Fitzgerald, Rev. L. 
Kingsbury, Mrs. Kingsbury, Mrs. Fitzgerald, Ada Fitz- 
gerald, J. B. Pattee, Miss Lillian Coloney, Miss Carrie Tay- 
lor, and others. There are about fifty members. Meet- 
ings are held in Dahl's Hall. Present officers: C. E. Judd, 
W. C.;Miss Lillian Coloney, V. C; Miss Opsal, Secretary; Mrs. J. 
W. Taylor, Treasurer; Mrs. Wells, F. S.; Rev. L. Kingsbury, Chap- 
lain; Oscar Rea, P. W. C; Nina Nash, M.; H. Keeler. I. G. 

Security Lodge No. 1, A. 0. U. W., was instituted in November, 
1880. Charter members: F. R. Aikens, J. W. Taylor, G. A. 
Byers, F. J. Martin, J. N. Menor, G. W. Martin, E. 
Wendt, F. Klopper, G. H. Wiggins, A. F. Tate, E. 
M. Miles, C. A. Bedford, N. C. Nash, G. W. Harlan, M. 
M. Clark. Membership about twenty-five. Present officers: J. 
W. Taylor, M. AV.; G. W. Harlan, F.; E. Wendt, Receiver; E. N. 



CANTON. 179 

Miles, Recorder; C. A. Bedford, Financier; G. W. Martin, G.; T. 
J. Myers, I. G.; G. Byers, 0. G. Meetings are held in Dahl's 
Hall. 

The Canton Brass Band was organized in the spring of 1876, 
and continued until the autumn of 1880, when it disbanded. 

THE NEWSPAPERS OF CANTON. 

The Sioux Valleii News was established in 1872, under the man- 
agement of R. H. Miller, to whom Arthur Linn succeeded. Jan- 
uary 1st, 1877, N. C. Nash bought a one-half interest, and shortly 
afterwards became sole proprietor. Mr. Nash has continued as 
editor and proprietor ever since. The paper is Republican in pol- 
itics, is an eight-column folio, has a circulation of seven hundred 
copies, and is the official paper of the city and county. 

The Canton Advocate was established in 1876, its first issue be- 
ing dated April 26th, of that year. Skinner & Tall man were the 
proprietors, under which management it was conducted but a short 
time, there being several changes of proprietorship during the first 
year. June lOtli, 1877, Carter Bros., purchased the Advocate of 
South & Martin, and it has continued under their management. It 
is a seven-column paper, and is Republican in politics. Both papers 
are quite creditable publications. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTORY. 

Maijov—Q. S. Giftbrd. 

AJdermen—S. W. Hewitt, A. R. Brown, S. C. Madole, J. Horn, W. M. Cup- 
pett. 

Clerk— 3. Falde, Jr. 
Treasurer — T. J. Fosdick. 
Marslial—Qt. VV. Harlan. 
Police Justice — E. H. Wilson. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Attorneys.— G. S. Gifford, Taylor & Rassell, M. Randolph, Kennedy Bros., B. 
Wilson, O^car Rea, J. C. Kline, J. W. Carter. 

Architects and Builders — J. B. Pattee, Hewitt andAlexander, Thorn- 
ton. 

Banks — Gale & Ward, Lincoln County Bank. Brown Brothers' Bank. 

Blacksmitliing- -3 . Horn it Co., Ole Isacson. 

Barbers — George Webb. 

Bakery — William Robinson. 

Brewery — A. Hanschenk. 

Boots and Shoes — G. A. Nelson. 

Confectionery — Ira Soule. 

Clothing— T. J. Fosd'ck, A.F. Rudolph. 

Druggists ~T. W. Hood, Lewis & House, J. Keller. 



180 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

Dry Goods — Madole & Hinkley. 

Doctors— ^l. M. Clark, Dr. Southard, E. Y. Brown, J. I. Taylor, Dr. Smith. 

Furniture — H. Woere, L. Simmons. 

Grain Dealers — Bassett & Hanttingf, H. C. Marsh & Co. 

General Merchandise — E. Wendt, Linad Christenson, Charles Christopher, 
William Miller. 

Hotels — Havlan House, Naylor House, Thompson House, Merchants House 

Harness — J. W. Hewitt. 

Hardware— T. P. Thompson & Co., 0. F. Rudolph, Mallory. 

Insurance — Taylor & Russell, Thomas Thorsen & Co. 

Jewelers— E. M. Mdes & Co., M. L. Syverud. 

Lirenj — Charles Slack, A. G. Brooman. 

Millinery— Mrs. E.M. Wells, Mrs. L. Loken, Mrs. Haroldson. 

News Depot — J. I. Taylor. 

Newspapers — Sioux Valley News, N. C. Nash, Editor aud Propi-ietor; Canton 
Advocate, Carter Bros., Editors. 

Saloons — W. S. Corson, A. J. Linderman, A. Hoffman. 

Wagon Making — D. H. Hawn, A. M. Ross, J. Kramer. 



EDEN. 

The original town of Eden was located two and one-half miles 
southwest of the present town, oi Frazier Gilman's land. Mr. 
Gilman was the town proprietor, and built a fine store building, 
where he conducted business for about two years. He also built a 
hotel, and surveyed a number of lots, none of Avhich were ever 
recorded. 

The earliest settlers were: Frazier Gilman, John Davis, Andrew 
Gove, David Thorpe, J. B. Bradley. A. B. Wheelock, and others, 
who came in 1(S6S. After Gilman closed out his store in the old 
town, the business was then continued for four years by S. B. Cul- 
bertson, who carried a stock of general merchandise. The railroad 
was built to the present townsite in 1878, which was the signal 
for a general removal from the old town. The date of the town- 
ship organization is the 3"ear, 1877. The population of Eden is 
about 200. The first town officers were: Trustees — P. H. Fritts, 
Joseph Millett, H. D. Fitch. Clerk— J. A. Fowles. Treasurer— 
E. J. Harris. Present town officers: Trustees— P. H. Fritts, G. 
S. Millett, Peterson Pierce. Clerk — J. A. Fowles. Treasurer — 
E. J. Harris. Constable — T. W. Knight. The present town of 
Eden was platted by A. B. Wheelock in 1878. 

The Eden Sun was started in January, 1880, with Geo. W. 
Mathews as editor and proprietor. The Sun "shone"' until Octo- 



EDEN", 181 

ber, 1881, when it was moved to the town of Meno in Hutchin- 
son County. 

Strnble Bros, started the first flouring mill in 1876; the bank, 
of which Taylor & Russell are proprietors, was started during the 
present year; the first hotel in the new town was established by 
A. Snyder, and the first store by S. B. Culbertson. A. B. Whee- 
lock was the first Postmaster, the present Postmaster being George 
W. Mathews. 

A school house was built in the old town in 1872, at a cost of 
about $300. In 1880, a new school house was built in the present 
town, at a cost of §1,700, having two departments. Miss Hattie 
Taylor and Miss Van Meter were the first teachers in the new 
building. Prof. C. D. Stack, of Canton, is the present Principal. 
The enrollment is sixty-five pupils. 

Eden Lodge No. 4, I. 0. G. T., was instituted in April of the 
preseut year. Charter members: Rev. Mr. McBride, Frank Odell, 
Enoch Hunt, Charles Steward, Ed. Hunt, Sarah Hunt, Mina Fritts, 
C. M. Quint, M. B. Quint, James Jackson, J.'J. Jackson, A. Mil- 
ler, A. Fritts. First officers: M. B. Quint, W. C; J. J. Jackson, 
V. C; J. S. Jackson. P. C; Rev. Mr. McBride, C: Enoch Hunt, 
Secretary; Mina Fritts, Treasurer: A. Fritts, F. S. The present 
officers are the same as above. 

The Episcopal Society is the only church organization in Eden 
at the present time. Their church edifice was built in 1879, and 
cost $1,500. Rev. Mr. McBride was the first, and is the present 
pastor. The Society was organized in 1878. 

The Eden Cornet Band was organized December 10, 1880. P. 
A. Overseth is the Leader, C. E. Blount, Secretary, and M. R. 
Odell, Treasurer. 

OFFICIAL DIKECTOKY. 

President— V. H. Fritts. 

Trustees— (j. S. Millett, Peterson Pierce. 

Clerk— J. A. Fowles. 

Treasurer — E. .J. Harris. 

Constable— T. W. Knight. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORT. 

Agricultural Implements — W. K. Slacle and Company. 

Blacks mithing — Jackson Brothers. 

Contractor and Builder — T. W. Knight. 

Coal and Wood—i. B. Bradley. 

Druggist — A. M. Avery. 

Grocers— M.. B. Quint. 



182 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 



General Merchaudise—Overseth iuu\ Dyste, S. B. Culbertson. 
Grain ami Stock Dealers— B. F. Ilart-zoll, Bassett and Huiittin<,', Stnlgwick 
Brothers. 

Harness— C. Smith. S. A. Waterbury. 

Hardirare—W. K. Shide and Company, Cady. 

Hotels— SnyAov Ho:ise, A. Snyder; Oommerciiil House, L. P. Farley. 

Lumber Dealers— ^t Croix Lumber Co. 

Livery — T. H. Van sickle. 

Meat Markei—OdeW Brothers. 

Millinery— Mrs. T. R. Law, Mrs. T. W. Knight. 

Painter — A. Ammidson. 

Physician — A. M. Avery. 

Saloon — Sophy Brothers. 

Wagon Makiny — Jackson Brothers. 

LENNOX. 

Among the earliest settlers of Lennox were: A. Boynton, who 
came in July, 1879; F. H. Treat, Dr. G. W. Moody, H. C. Conk- 
lin, J. V. Conklin, S. F. Hitchcock, J. M. Macomber, W. B.Wait, 
B. Gillmore, D. T. Debelts, N. Smith and brother, and others. 

Lennox was platted by the C, M. & St. P. Railroad Co., in 1879. 
The village is situated in the township of Perry, whose first officers 
were: Supervisors — D. S Waldo, Chairman; William Bedford, A. 
Boynton. Clerk — E.C.Jacobs. Treasurer — F.H. Treat. Asses- 
sor — A. J. Flemming. Justices of the Peace — G. W. Palmer, David 
Little. Officers in 1880: Supervisors — J. V. Conklin, Chairman; 
0. P. Ashley, Martin Holter. Clerk^P. F. Haas. Treasurer 
— W. B. Wait. Assessor — John Isackson. Justices of the Peace 
— G. W. Palmer, David Little. 

Lennox was named for the Private Secretary of S. S. Merrill. 
The population, according to the census of 1880, was but 90, which 
haslsince been increased to at least 150, and continues to be increas- 
ed by valuable accessions. 

The first store was built bv A. Boynton; the second by Mr, 
Conklin. F. H. Treat was the first Postmaster. The Dakota Loan 
Company have established the first bank. 

There was a contest over the location of the townsite, which re- 
tarded the growth of the town somewhat. The land was held as a 
timber claim by Mr. J. Sheldon, who with Gen. John Lawler, of 
Prairie du Cliien, became the town proprietors. Dr. Moody made 
a contest by hling a pre-emption on the townsite. It was settled 
amicably by dividing the townsite, each sharing his proportion 



LENNOX. 183 

thereof. The town has been heretofore one of the best shipping 
points for grain on this line of the road in Dakota. 

The first newspaper published at Lennox Avas the Dakota Demo- 
crat, which was established October 6th, 1880, under the supervis- 
ion of W. H. Clark. On the 1st of December of that year, it was 
bought by P. F. Haas, who in April of the present year, named it 
the Lincoln Count tj Independent October 28, 1881, J. E. Hazlitt 
purchased a half-interest with Mr. Haas. This firm intend also to 
print a German paper, w^hich will be a seven-column folio, and the 
second German paper in the Territor3^ 

The Lennox Weeldij Star was established with George L. Conk- 
lin as editor, during the present year. Mr. Conklin formerly pub- 
lished a paper at Watertown, Dakota. Conklin & Bayley are pro- 
prietors. The paper is a five-column quarto. 

The first car-load of grain ever shipped over the C, M. & St. P. 
Road from Dakota, was shipped from Lennox. The car itself was 
beautifully embellished by the Company. Lennox is the second 
station west of Canton, in the western part of the County. 

The first school house was built in November, 1879 — not for use 
as a school building, but was rented by the District for that pur- 
pose. It was situated in the south part of the town, and was after- 
wards purchased by Mr. Treat, who moved the building to his hotel, 
of which he made it a part. Miss Nona Miller was the first teacher. 
The present school building was erected in the autumn of 1880, at 
an expense of about §2,000. It has three departments, but as yet 
only one teacher is employed, viz: Mr 5. i . P. Ashley. The mem- 
bers of the first Board of Education were: J. E. Davis, H. B. Shel- 
don, Clerk; Josiah Sheldon, Treasurer. The present Board consists 
of the following gentlemen: J. N. Macomber, W. B. Wait, Clerk; 
Josiah Sheldon, Treasurer. 

The first railroad train arrived in Lennox July 22, 1879. A sur- 
vey for a road to Yankton has been made by the Company, but as 
yet the project has not assumed definite proportions. 

The Methodist Episcopal Society was organized in the autumn 
of 1879, by Rev. Mr. Bachelder, of Yankton. Services were first 
held in the old school house. A church was erected in the fall of 
1880, costing 81,000. Other denominations have been freely per- 
mittelto use this building, which was the first church edifice erect- 
ed in Lennox. Rev. Mr. Bachelder was succeeded by R3V. Mr. 
Kent, he by Rev. Mr. Miller, who is the present pastor. The mem- 



184 HISTORY OK SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

bership is about fifteen. The first officers of the Society were: — 
David Little, George Hart, W. B. Wait, B. Gillinore, E. Davis. 

The Baptist Society have no regular organization, but merely 
what is known as a ''preaching station,'' with V. B. Conlin as a 
Missionary of the Home Missionary Society. They have an organ- 
ization at Lincoln Center, a portion of the inembers of which re- 
side in Lennox, where they intendtoshortly organize a church and 
erect a suitable edifice. 

St. Augustine's Church was organized in May, 1877, by Rev. C. 
J. Knauf, of Minnesota. Meetings were first held at the residence 
of M. M. Crow^ley, where they continue to be held, until the com- 
pletion of their church building now in course of erection, at a 
cost of about ^600. The membership represents about forty fam- 
ilies. The officers are: T. B. Quigley, T. F. Crowley, P. H. Har- 
ley, M. M. Cj-owley, Treasurer. R3V. W. M. Maher is the pastor. 

Silver Star Lodge No. 7, L 0. G. T., was instituted in Septem- 
ber, 1881. The charter was granted on the 6th of that month. 
Charter members: W. B. Wait, E. Gillmore, 0. P. Ashley, E. 
Davis, J. F. Ferguson, George Thickett, H. Little, Ed. Rodgers, Mrs. 
Davis, Mrs. Treat, Mrs. Wait, Miss Little, Mrs. Brooks, Mrs. Geo. 
Hart, and others. There are thirty members, and the member- 
ship is increasing. The first officers were: 0. P. Ashley, W. C; 
Mr. Hazlitt, Sec; E. Gillmore, F. Sec: Mrs. E. Davis, Treasurer; 
Mrs. Treat, V. C; J. F. Ferguson, M.: George Thickett, C; J. N. 
North, P. C; Mrs. E. Gilmore. I. G.; Mrs. E. Davis. 0. G. 

OFFTCIAI, DIKECTOKY. 

Chairman — J. V. Conklin. 

Siqjervisors — 0. P. Ashley, Martin Holtfr. 

Clerk— F. F. Haas. 

Treasurer— W. B. Wait. 

Assessor — John Isackson. 

Justices — G. W. Palmar, David Little. 

BUSINESS DIKECTOKY. 

Attonu'j/ — P. F. Haas. 

Agricultural huplements — A. A. Freeman. 

Banks — Dakota Loan and Trust Company. 

Blacksmiths— R. J. Little, D. T. Debelts. 

Carpenters — L M. Macomber, Louis Biitzn-. 

Confectioner — 13. Gilhnore. 

Coal Dealer— W. B. Wait. 

Drue/gist — I. M. Macomber. 

Furniture — Loui.s Butzer. 

Flour and Fecfl—W. B. Wait. 



TURNER COUNTY. 185 



GeneralMeychaiits—Yriink'H.. Treat, 'N. Smith & Brother, Coiiklin & Car- 
penter. 

Grain Dealers— k. A. Greenman, S. M. Durantl. 

Hardware — D. S. (Jiiiiiter, A. Boynton. 

Harness — 0. P. Ashley. 

Hotels — Merchants House. 

Insurance — J. V. Conklin. 

Lireri/—J. N. Munsil. 

Lumber JJealers — J. F. rer2:uson & Co. 

Mi I tin ei 7/ — Mrs . Her zoy . 

Meat Marhet — Thomas B. Quigiey. 

Xeirspapers — Lincohi County Independent, Lennox Weekly Star. 

Phi/sicians — William H. Rcu.se. 

Saloons — M. A. Fihon. 

Shoeinal'er — Geortre Thickett. 



TURNER COUNTY. 

This fertile county was organized by the Legislative Assembly 
in 1870. The iirst election was held in 1869, there being only 
iive votes cast, a cigar-box being used as the ''palladium of liberty." 
The "total" vote of the county for Delegate to Congress, Avas as 
follows: Dr. Burleigh, 2 votes; M. K. Armstrong, 2 votes; S. L. 
Spink, 1 vote. The general surface of the land is undulating, but 
not abruptly so. The soil generally is a rich black loam, except at 
Parker, where its elements are gravelly. 

The first settlement of Turner County was in 1869, by W. W . 
Aurner and family, and Vale P. Thielman. Miss Helen S. Bach- 
elder was the first white woman to settle in the county. Lois J. 
S. Scott, born in May, 1871, was the first white child born in the 
county. The first marriage was that of William Robinson and 
Mrs. Hammond, which occurred in the spring of 1871. 

The following were the first County Officers: ('ounty Commis- 
sioners — Vale P. Thielman, W. W. Aurner, Louis Eliot. Register 
of Deeds — Charles Scott. At this time there were not enough 
people to fill the offices; so officers were appointed as fast as the 
settlers came in. Vale P. Thielman at first acted as Chairman of 
the Board of Commissioners, Register of Deeds, County Clerk, 
(younty Surveyor and Deputy Treasurer, in which capacities he 
acted until others were appointed. Mr. Thielman states that, even 
then, with all these duties to perform, he could he absent from his 
post Avithout occasioning any inconvenience with regard to the 
machinery of his varied offices. 



c> 



186 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

The first postoffice in the county was established at Swan Lake 
in 186!), before there was any perceptible settlement. Miss Helen 
S. Bachelder was the Postmistress, receiving her appointment at 
Yankton. The first store was established in 1872 at Swan Lake, 
by T. J. Hill. 

The present County Officers are: Commissioners — Thomas 
Elce, Jr., Christian Epple, Charles Flowers. Sheriff — Daniel Dyer, 
Jr. Register of Deeds and County Clerk — C. M. Pier. Treasurer 
— J. B. Beebe. Clerk of the Court — Yale P. Thielman. Judge of 
Probate— Joseph Allen. Superintendent of Schools — H. F. Roupp. 

The first religious society organized in Turner County was at 
Swan Lake, where an Episcopal Church was built by the Rev. Dr. 
Hoyt in 1871. 

The various towns in the county are: Parker, situated a little 
north of the center of the county, with a population of 300; Ma- 
rion Junction, in the northwestern corner of the county, with a 
populaaion of 200; Swan Lake, east of the center of the county, 
with a population of about 50; Turner, six miles east, Centerville, 
ten miles east, and Daneville, six miles south, of Swan Lake. 



PARKER. 

The first settlers in Parker were: George W. Howard, J. M. 
Simerson, W. W. Robbins, C. G. Pratt, M. T. Howard, L. Gilbert, 
S. Hayward and Son, H. H. Schafer, and others. The town Avas 
platted by Kimball and Sanborn in 1879, and is not yet incorpo- 
rated. It is located on section 17, town 99, range 53. Just east 
and south of the village is a slight elevation, rising to the height 
of about twenty feet. The west branch of the Yermillion liiver 
runs about eighty rods west of the village, thus affording excellent 
drainage. From the bluffs on the river banks the "iron horse" can 
be seen for a distance of fifteen miles. In all respects Parker is 
most eligibly located. 

The C, M. & St. P. Railroad was completed to Parker in July, 
1879. 

In 1876^ a newspaper was started at Swan Lake by H. B. Chaffee, 
under the name of the Swan Lake Era. Its publication was con- 
tinued about twenty months. It was subserpu^utly revived by W. 
H. Gardner, who conducted it as the Siran Lake Press for a period 
of seven months, when it was purchased by (I F. Hackett, and the 
name again clumged to the New Era. In 1879, Mr. Hackett 




PARKER. 187 



moved his effects to Parker, where he is now located, and where 
the paper is published as the Parker New Era. It is the official 
and only newspaper printed in Turner County; is independent iu 
politics, and is a five-column quarto. Its circulation is about 500. 

The contest to decide the question of the location of the County 
Seat at Parker, instead of Swan Lake — its present location — is at 
this wndting — autumn of 18S1 — being vigorously waged, the mat- 
ter to be decided by vote of the citizens at the November ejection. 
Quite a number of substantial business houses and residences are 
being built in Parker the present season. There is a gravel sub- 
soil, where the town is located, and the water is abundant and of 
the purest quality. 

The first hotel at Parker was started by Orange Hill, in August, 
1879; the first store — hardware — by G. W. Howard in the same 
year; Gale & Stone's bank in 1880. The first death to occur was 
that of Mrs. C. Weber, in the spring of the present year. 

The postoffice was established in September, 1879, with C. K 
Hollenback, the present incumbent, as Postmaster. 

The school house was completed in December, ]879, at a cost of 
'f 2,000. The schools are graded, and contain two departments. 
The first teacher was L. N. Alberty, who was also County Super- 
intendent. The present teachers are Prof. Mumford and Miss 
Clisby. 

The first church building was erected by the Presbyterians, in 
ISB), afc a C3 5t of $")"}). This Society was organized by Rev. J. B. 
Currens, in the spring of the latter year, the first sermon having 
been preached by J. B. Currens in October, 1869. The member- 
ship is about thirty. The use of the building has been frequently 
granted to the Methodists, Episcopalians and Baptists. The build- 
ing was dedicated November 18, 1880, the dedicatory sermon being 
preached by Rev. J. B, Pomeroy, of Iowa. 

The first Sunday School was organized by the Baptist Society in 
October, 1879, with H. 0. Newby as Superintendent. 

The Baptist Society was organized in the autumn of 1880, by 
by the resident minister. A building is being erected at a cost of 
^1,500. The membership is fifty. Services are for the present 
held, for the most part, in the school house. 

The Episcopalians have organized a mission at Parker, with Rev. 
M. Robinson as the Rector. Services are held in the Presbyterian 
Church. 



188 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERX DAKOTA. 

The Methodist Episcopal Society was organized in August, 1881. 
Rev. L. W. Miller is the pastor. A building is being erected, to 
cost $1,500. 

The Seventh Day Advents were organized in the sununer of 
1880, with W, T. Henton as pastor. Their membership is thirteen, 
and services are held in the school house. 

Parker Lodge No. 2, A. 0. U. W., was instituted in December, 
1880, by W. H. Buford. A charter was granted early in 1881. 
Charter members: William Morton, G. Gilbert. G. W. Stone, 
Vale P. Thielman, W. S. Branch, C. Weber, J. V. McRaith. A. L. 
Peterman, J. S. Parson, E. H. Stone, R. E. Buchanan, and others. 
The membership is twent3^-five. Present officers: C. D. Cone, 
M. W.; William Morton, P. W.; G. Gilbert, Recorder; W. S. 
Branch, R. The first officers were: Wm. Morton, M. W.; V. P. 
Thielman, P. W.; G. Gilbert, R.; J. Y. McRaith, F.; W. S. 
Branch, R. 

The Parker Flouring Mill was built in 1881, by L. Clisby, of 
Wis. It has five run of stone, and was built at a cost of $12,000. 
Its capacity is about 100 barrels. This mill has all the modern 
improvements for making the patent flour. It is a frame structure, 
stone basement. 

BUSINESS DIRECTOKY. 

Attornei/s — C. D. Cone, James A. Hand, Vale P. Thielman. 

Agricultural Implements. — Robbins & Pratt, S. A. Henton, Orange Still, J. 
H. Shurtleff. 

Bank — Gale k Stone. 
' Barber. — George Hatch. 

lilacl-smiths. — Smith & Hudsmith, Clans Weber. 

liottJiny Worhft — Wm. H. Heselton. 

J)ruf/f/i.9ts.—W. S. Branch ^- Co., J. E. Kondull. 

Furniture. — H. H. Vernon. 

Flour and Feed.— E. C. PfeifFer. 

General Merchant-^!. — H. H. Schatbr, Gustav Gilbert. E. AV. Crocker. Renben 
Wales. 

Grain Dealers — Bossett & Huntting. 

Hardtvare— George W. Howard, M. T. Howard. R. Wales, Roblnns iV: Pratt. 

Harness — S. Hay ward & Son. 

Hotels.— Weniworih Honse, Still's Hotel. 

Insurance. — Vale P. Thielman. 

Jeweler. — Milo Eatinger. 

lAveri/. — Wm. Sheldon, Fay k Spec?. 
■ Lumber. — Robins <fc Pratt, St. Croi.K Lnmlx'r Company. 

Millineri/ — Mrs. A.Ludden, Mrs. L. Gilbert. 

Meat Market.— Shmtton'k Hibbert. 



MARION JUNCTION". 189 



Newspaper. — Parker New Era, C. F. Hackett, Editor and Proprietor. 

Physicians — A. L. Peterraan, A. B. Saga. 

Photographer. — G. L. Spooner. 

Real Estate — Vale P. Thielman. 

Saloon — Wm. H. Heseltoii. 

Stock Dealers— R. S. Marsh & Co. 

Wagon Making — George S. Rathbun. 



MARION JUNCTION. 

The village of Marion Junction was organized during the month 
of September, 1881, Marion Junction was platted by the survey- 
ors of the C, M. & St. P. Railroad Co., in. 1879, and was named in 
honor of the daughte of S. S. Merrill, of Milwaukee. Among 
the first settlers were: John Ryan, H. Fritz, Jacob Frantz, John 
McNamee, who came in 1879. George L. McKay and C. H. Flow- 
ers came shortly afterwards. The town was incorporated in the 
autumn of 1881. 

The Marion Gazette was established by M. A. Fuller in 1879, 
and existed about a year. The printing material is still in Marion 
Junction, and it is expected to have the paper revived shortly. 
The circulation of the Gazette was about three hundred. 

The C, M. & St, P, Railroad was built to Marion Junction in 
1879, the first train arriving two days after it had reached Parker, 
A flouring mill is expected to be erected here during the coming 
year. 

The Village is beautifully located, thirty-fivB miles from the east 
line of the Territory, and contains about fifty business houses, 
hotels, warehouses, &c. The surrounding country is being rapidly 
settled. 

The first town officers were: Trustees — Jacob Hieb, Fred. 
Roeber, Joseph Bingenheimer. Clerk — Th. Schriber. Treasurer 
— E. Reifi". Justice of the Peace — James Christian. The location 
of the village is on the northwest (piarter of section 5. town 99, 
range 54. 

The school house was built in 1879, at a cost of $2,000. It has 
two departments. M. L. Kanable was the first teacher. The 
present teacher is Miss Felmly. 

The Catholic Church of Marion Junction was organized by Rev. 
Father Mc(Jarty, of Mitchell, in 1880. The first services were held 
at the Central House. In the same year a church building was 



190 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

erected, 30 by 60 feet in dimensions, and costing $800. The Soci- 
et}'^ has about 150 communicants. 

The German Lutheran Society have no regular organization, but 
hold services in the school house. The)'- contemplate building 
soon. These remarks equally apply to the Presbyterian and Uni- 
ted Brethi-en Societies. 

The first store was started by John Ryan; the first hotel, by H. 
Pool; John McNamee was the first Postmaster. 

Anniversary Lodge No. 22, L 0. 0. F., was instituted April 22, 
1880. Meetings are held in the school house. Charter members: 
Lawis Sawady, M. L. Kanable, J. M. Koeber, Jacob Frantz, M. A. 
Fuller, J. C. Loss, and others. The first officers were: M. L. Ken- 
able, N. G.; Fred. Roeber, Y. G.; M. A. Fuller, Secretary; J. M. 
Roebei'. Treasurer. Present officers: L. Sawaday, N. G.; R. C, 
Tousley, V. G.; Frank Cotton, Secretary; J, M, Roeber, Treasurer. 
The membership is nearly forty, and the Lodge is in excellent 
working condition. 

OFFICrAL DIliKCTOKY. 

President — Jacob Hieb. 

Trustees — Fred. Roeber, Joseph Bingenheimer. 

Clerk— T. H. Schriber. 

Treasurer — E. Reiif. 

Marshal — E. Bertleseii. 

Just ice — James Christian. 

BUSINESS niHKCTOHY. 

Attornei) — G. L. McKay. 
, Boots and Shoes — Chiistnia Beuchler. Henry Roeber, Louis Schafer. 

Banl- — Marion Loan and Savings Bank, l)y Reitt'and Nagle. 

Druffi/ists—Ueif^ and Nagle. 

Drayage — John Murray. 

Furniture — Th . Schriber. 

General Merchants — John Ryan, John Montgomery, Jacob Hieb and Com- 
pany, Th. Schriber, L. George. 

Grain Z)mZer.s— Bassett and Huntting, C. H. Flowers and Company. 

Hotels — Marion House, Central House, Summit House. 

Hardware— F . Roeber, Reiff" and Nagle. 

Harness— i:. C. Winn. 

Lireri/ — Mr. Dimmick . 

fvUinher — C. H. Flowers and Company, J. H. Sbananl. 

Meat Market — Joseph Bingenheimer. 

Phj/sicians — W. W. Nutting, Dr. Sifert. 

Saloons — Christina Hcuchlcr, Charley Trving. Gus. Trotiiow. 



ELK POINT. 191 



ELK POINT. 

The original name of the county of which the prosperous town 
of Elk Point is the County seat, was Cole, under which name it, 
in connection with a number of other counties, was organized at 
the first session of the Legislative Assembly. For reasons which 
were deemed good and sufficient, the name of Cole was subsequent- 
ly dropped, and the county was named Union. 

On the morning of July 22.1,1859, not a settlers cabin was to be 
seen from the Big Sioux River to Green. Point, now known as Bur- 
bank, in Clay County. On that day Eli B. Wixon took his claim 
at Elk Point, and began the erection of a log building, 12x16 feet, 
one story, with earth for floor and roof. In August follov^^ing, Mr. 
Wixon moved into this house and opened to the public a hotel and 
grocery store. Settlements began to be made about Elk Point, and 
Mr. W.'s house was well patronized. The following winter, seven- 
ty-five Santee Indians camped at Elk Point for the purpose of 
hunting. With these Indians Mr. Wixon's trade was good. In 
the spring of 1860, several families located near Elk Point, and 
the settlement began to prosper. 

During this year Mr. Wixon built the Elk Point House upon 
the townsite, where he continued m the hotel and mercantile busi- 
ness, and also cultivated sixty acres on his claim. In the winter 
of 1860, Joseph LaBarge lived in the hotel, Mrs. LaBarge being 
the first white woman resident upon the townsite. The same year, 
W. W. Adams build the old A.dams House. 

In the summer of 1861, the townsite was surveyed, and by act 
of the Legislative Assembly, it was incorporated April 2-lth, 1862. 

The first officers were: Council — John R. Wood, President; 
Myron Sheldon, William W. Adauis, Preston M. Hotchkiss. Re- 
corder — E. B. Wixon. 

The first school house was built in 1861, and the first school was 
taught by Hon. N. J. Wallace, afterwards Receiver of the United 
States Land Office at Vermillion. The first sermon was preached 
in Elk Point by Rev. C. D. Martin in the winter of 1860; the first 
lecture v,^as delivered by Hon. J. P. Kidder. 

In the autumn of 1862. great excitement was occasioned by the 
Indian depredations at Sioux Falls, and a military company was 
organized at Elk Point, Mr. Wixon's hotel being turned into a 
block house, or barracks. In the spring of 1863, the company was 



192 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 



mustered into the service of the United States, under Gen. Sully, 
as Company B, First Dakota Cavalry. 

The first postoifico was established in 1860, with E. B. ^Vixon as 
Postmaster, which position he held until 1803, when A. L. Ed- 
<vards succeeded him as Postmaster. In 1860 the mail was carried 
once a week by a four-mule team, from Sioux City to Fort Ran- 
dall. 

The first regular store was opened in Elk Point by Fairchild & 
Green, in 1865; the next store, in 1866, by J, W. Vandevere. 

The County Seat of Union County was located, by vote of the 
people, at Elk Point in 1865. The first term of court was held in 
the old log school house, Hon. J. P. Kidder presiding. In 18()5-6, 
a large and well arranged Court House was built by the citi- 
zens of Elk Point, and donated to the county. J. A. Wallace, 
Esq., was the first attorney to locate at Elk Point. 

The first birth was a son, to Mr. and Mrs. LaBarge, in the spring 
of 1861 ; the first death, William Wallace Tripp, February 19th, 
1863. 

The town was located on section 19, town 91, range 49, and sec- 
tion 21, town 91, range 50. It was incorporated as a city January 
10th, 1873, its first ofiicers, under this incorporation, being: Mayor 
— H. H. Blair. Couucilmen— E. B. Wixon, J. M. Talcott. Clerk 
McKinzey Kane. Treasurer — J. W. Hoffman. Justice — J. A. 
AVallace. Marshal — A. H. Stringer. 

The first regular Baptist Church of Elk Point was organized 
March 11th, 1871, by Rev. Geo. W. Freeman, General Missionary 
of the American Baptist Home Missionary Society, with eleven 
members; and on the following day four were added by baptism. 

The General Missionary supplied this Church until the following 
October, when J. H. Young, Esq., of Dixon County, Neb., was 
called to the charge of the Society, and in January, 1872, was or- 
dained. The following July, he was called to the charge of the 
Yankton Baptist Church. August 1st, 1872, Rev. T. H. Judson, 
of Floyd County, Iowa, took charge of the Society for one year. 
Ilev. J. P. Coffman, of Iowa, was called to succeed this pastorate, 
and continued his services until December 1st, 1876. During one 
year, this Society had no regular pastor. In November, 1877, Rev, 
Geo. W. Freeman was called to the pastorate, and is still acting in 
that capacity. The Society has reached a membership of more than 
seventy. Many members have removed farther west and to other 



ELK POINT. 193 



sections of the country. The present membership is forty-six. 
The church edifice was built in the spring of 1873. Rev. Geo. W. 
Freeman preached the dedicatory sermon, assisted by Rev. T. H. 
Judson. The cost of the structure and grounds was ^1,200. 

The United Brethren Society was organized in the hitter part 
of 1870, by J. E. Hott, a missionary, ssnt from Ohio. A. Potter 
and John Morris, assisting. Their church edifice is tlie hxrgest in 
the town. It was built at a cost of about ^3,000, and was not ded- 
icated until October 11th, 1879. The dedicatory sermon was 
preached by Bishop M. Wright, of Richmond, Ind. Rev. Mr. Hott 
was succeeded by the following clergymen in the order named: 
Revs. J. D. Snyder, J. H. McVey, S. J. More, D. T. Hutchinson, 
D. 0. Darling. The present memljership is twenty-four. 

St. Andrews Episcopal Society was established as a mission by 
Rev. Dr. Hoyt, Dean of Dakota. This mission was continued by the 
services of Rev. W. W. Fowler, now of the Santee Agency. Rev. 
W. P. Huntington succeeded and was followed by Elder Himes, the 
present pastor in charge. A church edifice was built at Elk Point 
by this Society, in 1868, largely by contributions from New York 
and Philadelphia, at a cost of about -^1,000. Its seating capacity is 
about one hundred and fifty persons. The Congregationalists also 
worshiped in this building for a time. DuringElder Himes' pas- 
torate, he has taken great pride in making improvements, and has 
now.the best furnished church building in the town. The member- 
ship is twenty-five, and the attendance at Sabbath School, of which 
Elder Himes is the Superintendent, is about seventy. 

The Congregational Society was organized by Rev. Mr. Shelton, 
General Missionary for Dakota, in 1872. This organization was 
placed under the supervision of James Oakey. They used, for a 
time, the Episcopal Church building, which afterwards became the 
United Brethren Church. During the pastorate of Mr. Oakey, the 
Society had a membership of twenty. 

St. Joseph's Catholic Church was organized in 1879. The church 
building Avas erected in 1880-81, at a cost of about $3,000. which 
was contributed largely by the Catholics themselves. The build- 
ing is 72 by 35 feet in dimensions. Rev. John Brogan was the 
first regular pastor appointed. xA.bout forty families are represent- 
ed in the membership. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in 1865, by El- 
der Kane. This Society held its meetings at Brule Creek, but 



10 i HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

afterwards removed to Elk Point. They have a church building, 
which was erected at a cost o£ about $1,000, in 1870. The first 
services were held in the Court House and in the old school house. 
The dedicatory sermon was preached by Rev. B. Mitchell in 1870. 

After the destruction by fire of the old school house, in the 
winter of 1872, school was taught in the U. B. Church and in the 
Talcott building, near John R. Wood's livery stable, until the 
erection of the present school house. The present structure was 
erected in the autumn of 1877, and cost about §1,000. It is a 
graded school, of four departments. The first teachers were: Ed. 
Cumraings, Principal; 0. S. Bryan, Grammar; Abbie Laird, Prim- 
ary, The Board of Education at this time consisted of the follow- 
ing gentlemen: F. W. Smythe, J. A. Wallace, H. H. Blair. Pres- 
ent corps of teachers: Prof. C. A. Kibliug, Principal; Miss 
Maggie Jackson Butcher, D. W. Myers, Mrs, Emma P. Myers. 

Elk Point Lodge No. 4, I. 0. 0. F.: Charter granted December 
30th, 1872. Meetings were first held in a hall over Blair's drug 
store. Charter members: J. A. Wallace, J. Griffin Conley, 
Alexander Hughes, E. W. Miller, J. G. Hughes, G, W. 
Roberts. The Lodge now meets in Odd Fellows Hall, 
over the store-room of C. W, Beggs, The mjmber-ship 
is about thirty. First officers elected: E, W, Miller, N, G.; 
J. G. Conley, V. G.; J. A. Wallace, Secretary; A. Hughes, Treas- 
urer. Present officers: F. M. Budde, N. G.; A, Ronne, V, G.; E. 
W. Miller, Secretary; A. Stroble, Treasurer. 

Hesperian Encampment No. 3, ]. 0. 0. F.: Charter granted 
June 18th, 1875. Instituted July oth, of the same year. Charter 
members: J. A. Wallace, C. F. Mallahan, W. E. Gantt, A. E. 
Ronne, E. W. Miller, P. W. McManus, W. E. Caton, Alexander 
Hughes, W. J. Conle3^ First officers: W, J. Conley, C, P.; W. 
E. Caton, H. P.; J. A. Wallace, S. W,; E, W, Miller, J. W,; C. F. 
Mallahan, Scribe; P, W, McManus, Treasurer. Present officers: 
A. E. Ronne, C. P.; J. A. Wallace, H. P.; F. M. Budde, S. W.; E. 
W.Miller, J. AV.; S. W. Kent, Scribe; C. F. Mallahan, Treasurer. 
The Encampment has twelve members. 

Elk Point Lodge No. 3, 'A. F. & A. M.: Charter granted, unc!er 
the Iowa Jurisdiction, June 7th, 1871, the number of the Lodge 
then being 288. The Lodge was re-chartered by the Grand Lodge 
of Dakota, July 21st, 1875, and re-numbered as above. Charter 
members: H. H. Blair, Elias Hyde, E, H, Webb, J, A, Wallace, 



ELK POINT. 195 



E. B. Wixou, Preston Hotchkiss, P. E. Wagnard, C. W. Beggs. 
Present officers: A. 0. Ringsrud, W. M.; H. J. Mulis, S. W.; W. 
M. Vinson, J. W.; A. E. Ronne, Secretary. Meetings were first 
held in Masonic Hall, over Dr. Smith's drug store. The Lodge 
now meets in the hall over C. W. Beggs' store. 

Elk Point Lodge No. 6, L 0. G. T.: Charter granted in Au- 
gust, 1881. Meetings were first held in the Episcopal Church. 
First officers: E. G.Mathews, W. C; Miss Mary Wood, V. C; 
Hans Murphy, Treasurer; E. C. Ericson, Secretary; Rev. George 
Ford, P. W. C. The Lodge adjourned temporarily with eighteen 
members, until a permanent place of meeting is secured. 

The Centennial Cornet Band, consisting of fifteen members, 
was organized by Millard Zeigler. J. Coverdale is President, J. H. 
Bryan, Secretary, and W. M. Vinson, Treasurer of the organi- 
zation. 

The first newspaper printed in Elk Point was the Elk Point 
Leader, published by F. 0. Wisner, its first issue being of date, 
March 17th, 1870. The establishment was destroyed by fire in 
April, 1871. November 24th, 1871, L. B. Redpath started a pa- 
per called the Vnion Countij Courier., which he ran but two weeks, 
when he sold it to the Courier Publishing Company, composed of 
H. H. Blair, J. M. Talcott and C. M. Northup. June 19th, 1872, 
C. E. Mallahan purchased the paper, of which he has ever since 
continued to be the efficient editor and proprietor. The paper is 
an eight-column quarto, is the only newspaper published in the 
county, and is in every respect a publication which reflects credit 
both upon its editor and the intelligent and prosperous community 
from which it derives its support. 

In October, 1872, the Dakota Southern Railroad was completed 
to Elk Point. The business establishments of the town are ex- 
tensive and well conducted, the class of business men, as a rule, 
being of that character which is calculated to best promote the in- 
terests of a progressive community. The population of Elk Point 
may be set down at from seven hundred to eight hundred. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTORY. 
Mayor— M. W. Sheafe. 

Councilmen — Hans Murphy, Michael Hoffman, J. M. Talcott. 
Treasurer — J. E. Blair. 
Clerk—Wash. D. Percival. 
Marshal — Alson Bovee. 
Justice — F. W. Smvthe. 



196 IIISTOKY OF SorTHKA^TEUX DAKOTA 



BUSINESS DIRECTOKY. 

Atfonieijs—.h A. Wallace*. E. W. Miller, CharU's H. Wahvcrth. George 
Stickney. 

Afp-icultural Implements— Mkhae\ Holi'iiuni. Hans Mvnpliy. 

Black-t<iiiithing--J. Coverdale,J. H. Bryan. 

Barber — John Steckman. 

Broom Factorij—k. D. Weed. 

Boarding —io»e\>\\ Steckman, Almon Gore. 

Carpenters a))(l Builders— T\-\om'A,^^\^\\i^o\\, Ed. Quick, J. M. Talcott, J. R. 
Kent, E. E. Morris, Piatt A^ail. 

Druggists— E. C. DeWitt, H. H. Blair. 

Flour and Feed— S. Crumrine, Henry Fleminy. 

Furniture — Benjamin Briggs. 

General Merchandise— George Ford, E. Rowe & Son, C. W. Beggs, Freeman 
Bros. 

<7ro(7'rs— Flannery & Vassar, M. B. Gorham, F. M. Budde. J. B. Brnbacher, 
John Mounsey, Almon Gore, A. E. Eddy. 

Grain Dealers— Yveeman Bros., C. W. Beggs. 

Harness Makers— H. W. Kent, F. W. Smythe. 

ifarf7(<-'are— Michael Hoffman, E. Rowe & Son. 

Hotels — Merchants House, Elk Point House. 

Jewelers— k. L. Dawson, G. B. Steckman. 

Livery— ioh.n B. Wood, Uriah Wood, E. L. Pettis. 

Lumber Dealer — S. B. Stough. 

Meat Markets— F. Strobel, Warren Fisk, Henry Fleming. 

Mill—^l. W. Sheafe, Proprietor. 

3rillinery—E\\ii Wagner, Laird A: Rich, Mrs. G. W. Havens. 

Neirsjmper—JJnion County Courier, C. F. Mallahan, Editor and Pioprietor. 

Photographer — George B. Steckman. 

P%s)V/flns— J. Griffiin Conley, G. W. Havens, W. J. Conley, Mr. and Mrs. 
G. P. Bennett. 

Real Estate— J. A. Wallace, Walworth & Percival. 

Restaurants — M. B. Gorham, F. W. Budde, Almon Gore, A. E. Eddy, Jo- 
seph Steckman. 

Railroad Agent Smith. 



BON HOMME COUNTY. 

The first settlers who located in Bon Homme County were: 
George T., Cordelia A., and Francis Bounds, Thomas J. Tate and 
a Mr. Shober, who came from Minnesota, and settled where the 
townsite of Bon Homme now is, about twenty-two years ago. 
Among the settlers who followed wore: Dr. W. A. Burleigh and 
family, Judge J. W. Boyle and family, Hugh Fraley and family, 
Mrs. B. Cogan and son, A. J. D. P. Bradford and family. 



BON HOMME. 191 



Bon Homme County was organized in 1867, Among the first 
officers were: Frank Donnelly, Richard Johnson, W. W. War- 
ford, Nathan McDaniels, and others, now residents of this county. 
The present County Officers are: Commissioners — John Stafford, 
W, W. Bennedict, William Muller. Clerk and Register — Peter 
Byrne. Clerk of Court— C. T. McCoy, Treas arer— George W, 
Snow. Sheriff — John Petrie, Superintendent of Schools — Frank 
Richmond. Judge of Probate— W. S, Cole. Coroner — R, Cart- 
wright. Justices of the Peace — Paul Landman, A. T. West, A. 
T. Bridgman, Bart Cole. 

The surface of the county is slightly rolling, the soil of remark- 
able fertility, and the water supply abundant, making this an 
excellent agricultural and stock-raising county. It is claimed that 
Bon Homme County contains more timber than any other county 
in Dakota. 



BON HOMME. 

The townsite of Bon Homme is about 0]ie mile square. The 
land was originally granted by the Government to Zephyr Ren- 
contre, a Frenchman, who came up the Missouri River about sev- 
enty years ago, at which time he was but fifteen years of age, and 
who died about two years ago. 

Bon Homme was incorporated in 1867, but the incorporation 
fell through in consecjuence of lack of attention to the elections. 

In the autumn of 1876, N, G, Cogan started a small paper at 
Bon Homme under the name of the Bo7i Homme Counfij Democrat. 
After publishing it for eight months, he enlarged the paper and 
changed the name to the Dakota Citizen., which latter was pub- 
lished by him as an independent paper. In February, 1880, he 
moved his office and material to Scotland, this county, where he 
continued to publish it for a year and a half, when he sold the 
establishment to the present publishing firm. 

Bon Homme has one church edifice, and several church denom- 
inations, who hold services iu the school house and Court House. 
Therp is a good school house, and a large attendance of pupils. 
School is taught about nine months in the year. 

The first Postmistress was Mrs. Francis Rounds; the first wed- 
ding occurred in 1860, a Mr. Grant and Miss Hattie E. Bradford 
being the contracting parties; the first birth was in the family of 
Mr. Grant in 1862 — Miss Emma Grant, now residing at Bon 



19S HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Homme; the first death was that of Mr. Grant. There are two 
stores, two hotels, a blacksmith shop, a chiircli and scliool house 
in Bon Homme, and also — by wa}^ of parenthesis — a jail. 

Among the attractions of the place are its beautiful scenery and 
location. The town lies about eighty feet above the Missouri. 
Opposite the town is Bon Homme Island, covered with an immense 
forest of about 4,000 acres. This Island is now being used by 
Charles N. McColIum, wlio has an extensive wood-yard, and is 
engaged extensively in the stock-raising business. Many others 
have live stock on this Island. Cattle live there all winter Avithout 
hay. and are always in good condition in the spring. 



SCOTLAND. 

The name for this thriving town, was proposed by Gen. Charles 
T. Campbell, from the fact that he, with three other families of 
the early settlers, were of Scottish derivation. The names of those 
Avho were on the ground at the time the town was named, are: 
Joseph Gunn, John Gunn, Mrs. Hugh Gunn, and Charles Sanborn. 
Gen, Campbell was the first settler on Dawson Creek, on the old 
Firesteel Road to Yankton, and came in June, 1871. This loca- 
tion subsequently became the townsite of Scotland. Next came 
John Stafford and his four sons, with their families. These last 
families came in 1872, from Canada. About one hundred Cana- 
dian families came during the next year or two. The members of 
the Russian settlement came in 1873. 

Scotland was platted by the Railroad Company, Gen. Campbell 
and John Stafford donating eighty acres of land for the townsite. 
The town was incorporated in March, 1881, by an act of the Leg- 
islative Assembly.— The first locomotive of the C, M. & St. P. 
Railroad Company arrived at Scotland in November, 1881, The 
Company is now grading a road from Yankton to Scotland. The 
prospects are that the C. & N. W. Railroad Company, in their sur- 
vey from LeMars, will make a crossing at Scotland, 

The first town officers were: Trustees — J, Brinkerhoff, Presi- 
dent; Charles Max, H. A. Reeves, W. V. Williams, Martin Hofer. 
Treasurer — George Josman. Clerk — William A, Robinson. Mar- 
shal—John Clark. The population of Scotland is about 600. It 
is located on section 8, town 96, range 58, in the northeast corner 
of Bon Homme County. 



SCOTLAND. 199 



The staple articles of shipment are cattle, flax, wool and wheat. 
It is estimated that $100,000 Avorth of wool, and 150,000 bushels of 
flax have been shipped from Scotland during the current year. The 
average shipment of flax per day from Scotland, during the months 
of September and October, was 2,000 bushels. It is generally con- 
ceded that Scotland is destined to become one of the great wool 
markets of the West. 

The soil is a black loam, a little sandy, and from two to four 
feet in depth. It presents to the eye an undulating appearance — 
just right for good drainage. The uplands produce the " blue joint 
red top " and bunch grass in abundance. This portion of the 
county is well watered, there being streams every fewm.iles, empty- 
ing themselves into the James River. The only timber, which is 
a scarce article, is along the James River. Wood for fuel is ob- 
tained from the Missouri River, which is distant eighteen miles. 

A flouring mill, three miles below Scotland, on the James River, 
is owned by Maxwell & Parmenter, and has three run of stone, with 
the improved machinery for turning out the patent flour. 

The first postoffice was established at the old village in 1872, with 
Charles Sanborn as Postmaster. Gen Campbell at that time con- 
trolled the mail routes between Yankton and Firesteel. 

Mention of the establishment of the Dakota Citizen at Scotland, 
and its removal from Bon Homrhe, by A. J. Cogan, editor and pro- 
prietor, is made in the account of Bon Homme. The paper is Dem- 
ocratic in politics, is a seven-column quarto, and has a circulation 
of about 300. 

The first store was established in 1873, in the old village, by 
John Stafford: in the spring of 1872, the first hotel — the Camp- 
bell House — was completed and opened to the public, with Gen. 
Campbell as proprietor. 

The first school was begun in 1871:, in the room over John Staf- 
ford's store, with Wesley Douglas as teacher, and Avith an attend- 
ance of forty pupils. In 1876, a school house was built by sub- 
scription, at a cost of '?500, and was also used as a church. The 
present school building was erected in August, 1881. and cost 
$2,000. Bonds running ten years were issued in payment. It is 
a frame building, of two stories, nO by 30 feet in dimensions, with 
two departments. Mrs. Dollard is the Principal. 

There are two church buildings, erected by the Presbyterians and 



200 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

the Methodists. The Catholics, Lutherans and Evangelists are 
about to erect edifices. 

The Presbyterian Society was organized by llevs. A. K. JJaird 
and M E. Chapin in October, 1879. Services were at first held in 
the M. E. Church. Their present church edifice was completed 
during the present year. It is a frame building, cost about $^2,00O, 
and was dedicated July 17th of the current year, Rev. W. S. Pe- 
terson preaching the dedicatory sermon. Its membership is about 
twenty. The first officers of the Society were: Elders — James 
Gibbon, Thomas Thyme. Trustees — Christian Shautz. William 
Hebbert. George Gunn. Kev. H. P. Carson is the pastor. 

The Methodist Episcopal Society was organized in 1870, with 
Rev. Mr. Cook as the pastor. The building is 40 by 22 feet in di- 
mension^, is of chalkstone, cost about $500, and was erected in 
1876. Rev. Mr. Pearce is the present pastor. 

The Scotland Brass Band dates its organization from March of 
the present year. Prof. G3a. L. Rice is the L3ader. There are 
eleven members in all. 

()FKICI.\I> I>II!i;(TOKY. 

Pre.iideiit — J . Bvinkerhoft'. 

Tnisfees—ChiirleaMiix, H. A. Reeves. AV. V. Williams, Martin Hofer. 

Treafntrer — George Josmann. 

C/crA-— William A. Robinson. 

MarsltaJ — John Clark. 

DUSINKSS OIKECTOKV. 

AilO)-)ic//.s — .Andrew J. Faulk, Jr., Robert Dolland. 

Af/rirnJfKral M(ic}ii)ieri/—Foiik'itt ami Raeves, Chaldek Brothers, Alfrel 
Browji. 

Banks— Gii\e and Boyert. 

BUtrksmiths — M. M. Boyles, Beyerle and Wiedenbaeh; John Stickle. 

Boot^ and Shoes— George Josmann. 

Barher—TAwurd Stafford. 

Carpeiifcrs—C. L. Ogden, Edward Fellen. IIeii:y Fix. John Clav'c, George 
Musslemann. 

Dru(/(/ist—J. F. Weber. 

i'^((r;nVM/-e— John Esaack, Edward Fallen. 

General Merchants— A. W. Lavender, Martin Hrfer. Staff iri and William-. 
Henry Sieler, Frederick Becker, Jacob Kusler. 

Grain f)eah'r.s-W. H. Curtis, B. F. Wise, Alfred Brown. 

Hotels — Campbell House, Scotland Hotel. 

Hardware — Foskett and Reeves, Landman and Schmierer. 

JIarness and Saddles— ^. M. Fogarty. 

Liver// — J . Brinkerhotf . 

Meat Market— -.lohn Schliesmann, James Han?cot. 



SCOTLAND. 201 



Xeu^'spn vers .--The Dakota Citizen, with A. J. Cogan as editor and proprietor. 

Phi/siciaiis— Dr. Munii, Dr. L'artwright. 

Saloons — Martin Hof r, George Linley, George Steagr. 

Shoeni nl-er — Anton Arens. 



SPRINGFIELD. 

Springfipkl was founded by John A. Burbank, at that time (tov- 
ernor of Dakota. The town was organized in 1869. The first 
house was built in the summer of 1870 by Luman N. Jadd, who 
was then Register of the Land Office, the building being used as 
an office. The first settlers were: Luman N. Judd, Ogden Marsh, 
John L. Turner, Isaac Hawthorne, William Emmons, John A. 
Lee, George Lee, Philip Stimal, Nathan McDaniels, J. E. Russell, 
Samuel Henderson and George Snow — who came in 1870. In 

1871, the following persons came: L. D. F. Poore, George Mead, 
Clark Rowe, I. James, A. F. McAuley, Michael Griffin, E. W. 
Wall, R. T. Wood, B. H. Wood, and others. 

The town was platted by John A. Burbank, in 1869, He pur- 
chased one hundred and sixty acres, for the townsite, of John A. 
Lee and George Lee. Springfield was incorporated in the winter of 
1879, by an act of the Legislative Assembly. The first town of- 
ficers were: Mayor — John L.Turner. Aldermen — George Hef- 
ner, James Stephens, Mr. Van Curren. Clerk — Fred. Gassmann. 
Treasurer — A. T, Stillie. Justice of the Peace — A. T. Bridgraan. 
Marshal — Charles Klemme. 

Springfield was incorporated by the County Commissioners m 

1872. In 1876, this action was decided to be illegal, and conse- 
quently all official business that had been transacted in pursuance 
thereof, was null and void. 

TheC.M. & St. P. Railroad was built to Springfield in 1879, 
the first train arriving at that point in the autumn of that year. The 
population of Springfield is about 300. The town is located on 
the southeast part of section 23, the northeast part of section 26, 
and in part of section 24, township 93, range 60. 

The first postoffice in this neighborhood was established at 
Emanuel Creek, two and one-half miles north of the present town. 
Nathan McDaniels was Postmaster. The present Postmaster of 
Springfield is INIichael Griffin. The postoffice was removed from 
Emanuel Creek to Springfield in 1870, when John L. Turner be- 
came Postmaster. 



202 HISTORY OF SOUTH KASTKRN DAKOTA. 

The first school house was built in 1872, and cost about $400. It 
was 18x34 feet iu dimensions. The first teacher was Miss Volver- 
ton. The present school house was built in 1S79, is a brick struc- 
ture, and cost ^3,000. It is a large and liandsome building, and 
has two departments. It is now being used as a Territorial Nor- 
mal School, Avith Prof. Critchett as Principal, Misses Robb and 
Seccombe, Assistants. 

The ground has already been secured, and paid for by subscrip- 
tion, upon which to erect a Territorial Normal School building, in 
pursuance of the provisions of a recent Legislative enactment. It 
is^scarcely necessary to add that the citizens of Springfield are now 
earnestly in favor of the ''old flag and an appropriation." 

The district school is now held in a building rented for that pur- 
pose, which it is expected to use until the Normal School building 
is erected, when the district school will be moved back to its old 
quarters. 

The first store in Springfield was started in 1870, by John L. 
Turner, in one of Ogden Marsh's buildings, with a stock of goods 
invoicing from fifty to sixty dollars — which business has since de- 
veloped into great dimensions, and is one of the leading establish- 
ments of Southeastern Dakota. The firm name now is Bonesteel 
& Turner. William Emerson started the International Hotel in 
1870. 

The first death to occur in Springfield was that of Ogden Marsh 
in 1872; the first marriage, A. F. McAuley and Mary Grifiin, in 
1873, at the residence of Michael Griffin, Rev. Father Sommereisen, 
of Yankton, officiating; the first birth, a daughter born to Ogden 
Marsh and wife, in 1871. 

Samuel Henderson, of Wisconsin, started a saw mill at Springfield 
in 1870, and sawed the first lumber that was sawed in Bon Homme 
County. 

The Congregational Society was organized by Rev. Stewart Shel- 
don, of Yankton, November 4th, 1881, with a membership of seven. 
Services were held in the school house until the Society purchased 
their present church edifice, which is worth probably from $1,000 
to $1,200. The dimensions of the building are 24 by 36 feet. 
Rev. T. M. Binks was the first pastor. He was succeeded by Rev. 
Mr. Kirk; the order of succession to the pastorate thereafter being: 
Rev. C. L. Hall, Rev. J. C. Beekman, Rev. Charles Seccombe. The 
first officers were: Deacon— Samuel Hitchcock. Clerk — H. J. 



SPRINGFIELD. 203 



Smith. Treasurer — Ira J. Smith. Trustees — Samuel Hitchcock, 
George Owens, Ira J. Smith. Present officers: Deacon — Samuel 
Hitchcock. Clerk — Ira J. Smith. Treasurer — John Fry. Trustees 
— Samuel Hitchcock, W. W. Benedict, John Fry. 

St. Stephen's Catholic Society was organized in 1880, with a 
membership of about fifty. Services were at first held at the resi- 
dence of Michael Griffin. Their church building was erected in 
1880, at a cost of $2,000, and is 50 by 30 feet in dimensions. A 
presbytery is to be erected on the church lot during the coming 
spring. This church was built by subscription in the spirit of un- 
denominational liberality. Rev. Father A. Carolan was the first 
pastor, and was succeeded by Rev. Father Daniel Vincent Collins, 
the present incmnbent, who is using efficient energy in behalf of 
his promising Society. 

The Springfield Times was established July 27, 1871, with L. D. 
F. Poore as editor and proprietor. It was a six-column folio, and 
its publication was continued under this management until June 
of the present year, when the paper was purchased by John Todd, 
who is now the editor and proprietor. The paper was changed in 
August, 1878, to a six-column quarto. It is Republican in politics, 
and has a circulation of 450. 

The Yankton and Ft. Sully Telegraph Line was completed to 
and beyond Springfield during the year 1871, and was contruct- 
ed through to the point of destination — Ft. Sully. Assoon as 
completed, the line was put in operation. The first office this side 
of Yankton was established at Springfield, in the office of Dr. 
Agersborg, and under his charge. 

Hope School was organized in 1879, by the Episcopalians, under 
the care of W. H. Hare, Biship of Niobrara, Neb. There are 
twenty-six 5'^oung Indians in process of instruction at this institu- 
tion. Two teachers are employed. Hope School is held in the 
building which was formerly the International Hotel. All the 
common branches are tauglit. It derives its support from the 
School Mission, which even furnishes clothing — and is doing a 
a good work, the pupils making remarkable progress. 

Mount Zion Lodge No. 6, A. F. & A. M., was instituted in 1876, 
with seven charter members, as follows: J. L. Turner, Daniel 
Niles, D. E. Wood, D. H. Wood, A. T. McAuley, George Mead, 
Edwin Benedict. The Lodge now occupies Masonic Hall, a com- 



2<U msroRY of southeastern Dakota. 

modious room, handsomely carpeted and furnished. The Lodge 
contemphites the erection of a brick buihling, to cost $2,000. Its 
first officers were: B. E. AVood, W. M.; J. L. Turner, S. W.; 
Daniel Niles, J. W,; George Mead, Secretary; A. F. McAuley, 
Treasurer. Present officers: C. T. McCoy, W. M.; M. H. Day, 
S. W.; T. Alexander, J. W.; G. W. Snow, Treasurer; F. W. Gas- 
mann. Secretary. The membership is fifty-five. Meetings are 
held Tuesday evenings of each month, on or before the full of the 
moon. 

Springfield Lodge No. 7, L 0. 0. F., was instituted December 
11th, 1875. Charter members: L. D. F. Poore, Thomas B. 
Eagle, H. A. James, B. R. VanCurren, John Petre, Edward F. 
Bushnell, F. W. Sutlifi^, Geo. W. Snow. First officers: Thomas 
B. Eagle, N. G.: Geo. W. Snow, V. G.; E.L. Bushnell, Secretary; 
H. A. James, Treasurer. Present officers: J. W. Armstrong, N. 
G.; B. R. VanCurren, V. G.; J. H. Stephens.R. S.; H. A. James, 
F. S.; M.H.Day, Treasurer. The membership is about thirty- 
seven. Meetings are held in Bushneirs Hall, which was purchased 
by the Lodge about one 3'ear ago. 

OFFICIAI, DIRECTOKY. 

Mayor— John Turner. 

Aldermen — George Hefner, James Stephens, V. R. VanCurren. 

Clerk — Fred, Gassmann. 

Treasurer— A. T. Stillie. 

Marshal — Charles Klemme. 

Justice of the Peace — A. T. Bridgman. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Attornei/s — George W. Sterling, P. A. Saunders. 

Agricultural Implements — Covell and Grant, Bonesteel and Turner, Geo. 
Hefner, Griffith and Taj-lor. 

Blacksmitli — V. R. VanCurren. 

Carpenter — James C. Hutton. 

Collection and Loan Agency — J. C. Klemme. 

Druggists — Bonesteel and Turner, Dr. Charles Carlin. 

Drayage — John Brown. 

Grocer — E. W. Monfore. 

Grain Dealers — Bonesteel and Turner. 

General Merchants — Bonesteel and Turner, L. Schnerdtmann, J. Junger- 
mann. 

Hotels — Baskin House, James H. Baskin; Springfield House, Mrs. M. E. Love. 

Hardware — Griffith and Taylor, George Hefner. 

Harness and Saddles — James H. Stevens. 

Insurance — Sterling and Kleinm .'. 

Lnmher — Rrekwell and Mortran. 



CLAY COUXTY. 205 



Llrery — Fred. Culver. 

Meat Market — Robert Cowgill, Joseph Robson. 

Millinery — Mrs. H. A. James. 

i\re!t'5^rt^)er— Spnngfield Times, John Tocid, Editor and Proprietor. 

Phi/sicians — James L. Camp, Charles Carlin. 

Postmaster — Michael Griffin. 

Shoemaker — Fred. J. Smith. 

Saloons — James E. Russell, A. F. AIcAu'ey. 

Tinner — John Fry. 



CLAY COUNTY. 

This fertile and well-settled county was among those organized 
by the first Legislative Assembly. It is situated in the southeastern 
corner of Dakota, and is the secondcounty reached on coming into 
the Territory. It is. bounded on the north by Turner and Lincoln 
Counties, on the east by L^nion County, on the west by Yankton 
County, and on the south by the Missouri Kiver. It is about 
eighteen miles wide, east and west, and twenty-five miles north and 
south. 

The surface of Clay County resembles that of Union and Yank- 
ton, the southern portion being level bottom lands along the Mis- 
souri River, varying in width from one to fifteen miles, and the 
northern portion gently rolling prairie. Near the center of the 
county, near the Vermillion River, is the " Spirit Mound,'" men- 
tioned by Lewis & Clarke in the journal of their exploring expedi- 
tion up the Missouri in 1S04. This mound is a regular cone-shaped 
hill, with smooth sides, and is nowise remarkable except for the 
Indian legends and traditions concerning it. It can be seen for 
many miles on the prairie, and is a prominent land-mark to trav- 
elers. 

The soil is extremely fertile, yielding bountiful crops of wheat, 
corn, oats, and in fact all kinds of grain or vegetables grown in 
this latitude. There is probably no dilference between the soils of 
any of the lower counties. What is said of one county will gen- 
erally apply to all. 

The county is well watered by the Missouri and Vermillion 
Rivers and Clay Creek, which is a tributary of the Vermillion. 
Springs are numerous in the uplands, especially along the bluffs, 
where the uplands and lowlands meet. On the bench land above 
Vermillion, although the ground is fifty feet above the bed of the 



206 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Missouri, excellent wells of never failing water are obtained by dig- 
ging only 15 or 20 feet. 

The date of the county organization is April 10, 1862. The pres- 
ent County Officers are as follows: Commissioners — C. N. Taylor, 
F. Taylor," W. Lowrie. Sheriff— G. H. McDonald. Register of 
Deeds — H. E. Hanson. Treasurer — W. Shriner. Judge of Pro- 
bate — H. A. Copeland. Clerk of Courts — S. W. Kidder. Super- 
intendent of Schools — C. C. Bridgman. 

The first settlements of Clay County were made at Vermillion in 
1869, by James McHenry, P. H. Jewell, M. Robinson and L. E. 
Phelps. A. C. VanMeter, Hugh Campton and Jacob Deuel were 
also among the first settlers. Outside of the town of Vermillion, 
the first settlements were made on the bluffs above Vermillion, and 
also along the Missouri west of Vermillion. Capt. Nelson Miner 
and family are among the earliest settlers of Clay County. W. 
W. Benedict, B. E. Wood and James Whitehorn were among the 
early settlers of the county west of Vermillion. Other portions of 
the county were settled previous to the stampede, and were aban- 
doned in 1862 and 1863. 



VERMILLION. 

The new '' Vermillion-on-the-Hill," which has sprung up Phoe- 
nix-like, from what was left of the old town by the terrible ice- 
gorge of 1881, is located in town 92, range 52, in the southern 
part of Clay County. It is one of the oldest settled places in the 
Territory, having been occupied by the whites as soon as the In- 
dians were removed after the treaty. Jas. H. McHenry, George 
Brown, L. E. Phelps, Miner Robinson and P. H. Jewell located 
here in 1859. Mr. McHenry opened a store in the spring of 1860. 
The U.S. Land Office was opened here in 1862, where it still remains. 
The U. S. District Court for the 1st Judicial District also holds its 
sessions at Vermillion. The county offices are also kept at the 
('ounty Seat. It is surrounded by an excellent agricultural country, 
the trade of which centers at Vermillion. During the darkest days 
that Dakota ever saw in 1861-5 good crops were raised on the up- 
lands near Vermillion. The farmers on the bench land near Ver- 
million have as fine farms, and under as good cultivation, as those 
of any other section. Vermillion has now about 900 inhabitants. 

The town organization was perfected in 1873. and in 1877, it was 



VERMILLIOX. 207 



incorporated by special act of the Legislative Assembly. Otto Vot- 
tolfsou entered the land which is now the townsite of Yermillion, 
in 1869. 

The first city officers were: Mayor — John L. Jolley. Clerk — 
C. C. Bridgnian. Treas., C. Prentis. Marshal— A. M. Anderson. Al- 
dermen — H. E. Hanson, 1st Ward; H. C. Jensen, 2d Ward; L. H. 
Barron, 3d Ward; A. E. Lee, 4th Ward; Nick Hansen, 5th Ward; 
W. E. Hodgin, 6th Ward. 

The first hotel in Vermillion was opened by Samuel Mulholland 
in 1860; the first bank, by Prentis & Newton, m October, 1871; 
the first mill was started by Snyder & Maynard about the year, 
1872. This mill has two run of stone, and is now owned by Stan- 
ley & Lowrie. 

The first birth at Vermillion was that of Miss Viola VanMeter; 
the first death. Judge Denton, in the winter of 1859. A. A. Par- 
tridge and Miss Seiner were the contracting parties to the first mar- 
riage ceremony at Vermillion, which took place in November, 
1860. 

Vermillion was on the high tide to prosperity, when the terribly 
disastrous 

FLOOD AND ICE-GORCiE OF 1881 

Obliterated at one stroke nearly all the accumulations of years of 
energetic eff'ort. From The J^ennill ion Standard's series ol graphic 
accounts of the disaster, the following particulars are gleaned. 

Sunday, March 27th, 1880, was the warmest day since the pre- 
vious autumn. The snow melted rapidly, but nobody supposed 
the ice would move that night. About 11:30 p. m., the ice began 
to break and move down stream. In a few moments it gorged 
below the island, and the rapidly accumulating water began to run 
through the streets. The Baptist Church bell was immediately 
rung to alarm the people, and in a very short time, the streets 
were full of men, women and children, hurrying to the blufi's, some 
leading horses and cattle, and others carrying whatever clothing 
they could lay their hands on during their hurried exit. Before 
all could escape, the water on the north side oi the city, along the 
bluff's, had risen to the depth of three feet, and covered the railroad 
track, giving many of the fugitives an ice-water bath. 

Boats were brought into requisition, and those who had heard 
the alarm too late to escape, were taken off to a place of safety. 
Some, however, believing, like the sinners in Noah's time, that it 



20S HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

"wasn't going to 1)e niueh of a shower, after all,"' walked upstairs 
and remained in their residences the remainder of the night. 

By morning, the water had gone down, so that all that pjirt of 
the city ea.^t of a line drawn from the east end of the depot, to 
Reeve's corner, and from thence to Carr's residence on the bank of 
the river, was clear of water, except for some distance along the 
railroad track. All of the city west of that line, was, however, 
under water to the depth of from three or four inches, to three 
feet. This situation was maintained until in the afternoon, when 
the water raised, west of the above line, about a foot, but did not 
cover the rest of the city. By Tuesday morning the water had 
subsided to about the same depth as Monday morning, but raised 
again in the afternoon, a little over a foot, and continued to gain 
slowl}', until Wednesday evening, when it began to rise more rap- 
idly, and Thursday morning it had covered the depot platform to 
the depth of several inches. 

Thursday morning, March 31st, the river rose rapidly, until it 
covered the highest point, by the Bank block, to the depth of from 
four to five feet. The ice in the river also commenced mov- 
ing, and by 10 o'clock a. m., as far as the eye could reach, in every 
direction (except in the bend fronting the city), nothing could be 
seen but floating ice. The timber in Van Meter's grove kept most 
of the ice out of the city, so that but little damage was done by it 
during the day. 

About nine in the morning, the buildings commenced moving. 
Butler's photograph gallery moving first, and going to pieces in 
the rajtids, Avhich extended from Depot street to the river. Others 
followed in quick succession during the day and night, until forty 
buildings had been carried down and smashed to pieces against the 
ice. During Thurslay night, the water rose three feet higher than 
during the day previous, anl the Dakota Republican printing of- 
fice was taken down stream. This additional rise subsided before 
morning. The water tank from the railroad crossing of the Vermil- 
lion River, above the city, c.imedown in the moving ice, and in the 
afternoon, Mr. Pinkham's house, from near Meckling, moved oft". 
To add to the horrors of the situation, a terrible blizzard prevailed 
during the day, making it almost impossible to row a boat against 
the fierce, howling, northwest wind. About a dozen persons, in- 
cluding a woman and two children, slept in Bank block Wednes- 



VERMILLION. 209 



day night, and were caught there l)y the rising waters. They were 
subsequently rescued. 

Towards night, the solid ice in front of the city moved out, and 
gorged down below the island, and in an incredibly short sp;>ce of 
time, the ice had packed the river channel full, back to the ferry 
landing at Douglas' Mill. 

Friday, April 1st, the water remained about the same as on 
Thursday, except that it rose a few inches during the day, and 
carried away several buildings. The inhabitants busied themselves, 
meanwhile, saving all the property that could possibly be rescued 
from the general destruction. 

Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, the Avater lowered a 
few inches, and from Depot street east to the gorged ice in the 
bed of the river, ran like a mill-race. The work of saving property 
continued, and hundreds gathered on the bluffs, and watched the 
whirling, eddying waters. Wednesday, April 6th, the water com- 
menced rising, about ten o'clock, and by eleven, the ice commenced 
moving. The alarm was given, and the boats engaged in saving 
property pulled speedily to the shor(^ By 12 o'clock, the build- 
ings commenced moving out, mostly to the current in the Ver- 
million, some six or seven being in the stream at the same time. 
The water continued rising, until it was at least a foot higher than 
the highest point previously reached. Fifty-six buildings were 
carried down, and smashed to pieces against the gorged ice below 
— among them being the St. Nicholas Hotel, the railroad depot, 
the Congregational Church, Shafer's large store building, and other 
large buildings. The water carried the Chandler House about 
fifteen feet, the north end was knocked out, and the building was 
badly wrecked. Masonic and Odd Fellows' Hall building was car- 
ried off its foundation, and the lower story smashed. Carr's build- 
ings, south of Masonic Hall, were also badly wrenched. Every 
residence on the bottom, except a half-dozen, was either carried 
away or badly damaged, while many of the wooden business build- 
ings were greatly damaged, or moved from their foundations. 
When the water was at the highest, at least twenty buildings were 
floating off at the same time. 

During the rise, the channel was constantly filled with great 
bodies of floating ice, which broke down everything it came in 
contact with. It packed up against the gorged ice in the channel 
of the river, and bv the time the water went down, had filled the 



210 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN" DAKOTA. 

entire space below Depot street; and west of the railroad track, it 
had packed the entire distance to Van Meter's grove; so that peo- 
ple could walk upon it without difficulty. 

Thursday morning, April 5th, the Vermillion River had again 
cut a channel through the gorged ice to the center of the Missouri, 
and a strong current carried away the back-water which had run 
up to Vermillion. At the place where the Vermillion enters the 
Missouri, a large hole was worn in the ice, and an eddy formed, in 
which large quantities of broken timbers and immense cakes of 
ice were constantly floating around. The main channel of the 
Missouri, together with the sand bar, and the channel south of the 
island, packed full of huge cakes of ice from the bend, five and 
one-half miles below the city, up to Douglas' Landing, and the 
water that came through the Vermillion, ran over the bank east 
of Judge Kidder's residence, passing along the bluff to the Big 
Sioux River — the water, at one time, on the track north of Elk 
Point, being three or foar feet deep. 

The river, above Douglas' Landing, as far as could be seen with 
a field-glass, w^as clear of ice. The bottom between Vermillion 
and Meckling was covered with ice from six to twenty feet thick. 
The city bridge, at the mouth of the Vermillion, the Government 
bridge at Miles RusselFs, the railroad bridge, Lee & Prentis' bridge; 
and Bond's bridge were swept aAvay. 

April 14th, the snow commenced thawing, and weakened the 
ice in the river in front of the city, so that the Vermillion broke 
through the icy barrier to the narrow, open channel along the 
north of the island. This allowed the water, which covered the 
city to the depth of from three to ten feet, to drain off, leaving the 
ice from one to six feet m the streets. By Saturday morning, the 
water had all drained off from that part of the city south of the 
railroad track, and east of Depot street. 

The scene from the bluffs presented a sickening spectacle. The 
remaining wooden buildings were, most of them, badly twisted and 
wrecked, and others carried off their foundations, while the streets 
were covered with the debris of the wrecked buildings^ strewn 
around upon the slimy, muddy ice. In the upper part of the city, 
where the buildings were mostly swept away, nothing could be 
seen but water and ice, the latter being packed up to the roofs of 
some of the remaining buildings, and half-way up the windows of 
others. 



I 



VERMILLION. 211 



The terrible calamity which drowned and crushed Vermillion 
seemed insufficient to satisfy the fates, and it was left to the Ver- 
million River, swollen to the proportions of the Missouri at high 
water, to complete the work of destruction. The deluge and ice 
left a good many buildings in Vermillion, but the river ''stepped 
in'^ and took about sixteen of these. The first house to go was 
Cal. Shaw's, on Sunday, April 17th. Others followed in succes- 
sion, the water falling just in time to save the Chandler House, 
Col. Jolley's house and Copeland's house from a like fate. Ver- 
million aud the farmers on the bottom lands in Clay County, were 
probably the greatest sufferers by the overflow in Dakota. The 
tract of country lying between Vermillion and Gayville, between 
the bluffs on each side of the river, was swept clean of everything, 
with an occasional exception. Houses, barns, fences, cattle, horses, 
hogs and sheep, were destroyed, leaving the farmers and their fam- 
ilies little else than the clothes upon their backs, and the bare 
lands, without a team, a plow, or a grain of seed, to commence 
farming operations with. Their condition appealed loudly to the 
charitable in more favored parts of the country, and this appeal, 
happily, did not go unheeded, as is elsewheie duly recorded. 

Three-fourths of Vermillion was destroyed. One hundred and 
thirty-two buildings were totally destroyed, and many others 
wrecked. The total value of buildings and other property des- 
troyed in Vermillion, as closely estimated by Mr. G. H. Wheeler, 
who devoted some time to obtaining the necessary information, 
was $142,260. 

The rapidity with which Vermillion has recovered from this 
dreadful catastrophe; the astonishing spirit of enterprise mani- 
fested in immediately building anew — on higher land, beyond the 
reach of future depredations by floods — a city superior in all 
respects to the one destroyed — is in itself sufficient comment on 
the tireless energy and indomitable pluck of western communities. 

Vermillion's business houses are of a substantial, thrifty charac- 
ter, and the large volume of trade which pours into the town from 
various quarters, is rapidly adding to the general prosperit3\ Its 
hotels are excellent, the Chaudler House, particularly, having no 
superior in Southeastern Dakota. The VermUUon Fepnhlican, 
owned and edited by F. N. Burdick, is a newspaper with all that 
the term implies. 



212 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA, 

CHURCHES, SCHOOLS AND SOCIETIES. 

The Methodist Episcopal Society first met in the old log school 
house, and afterwards in the Adelphi Hall, as far back as 1S71. 
The first minister was Rev. McEndrie Stewart, who was succeeded 
by Elder Kane, who died recently at Elk Point. The Society built 
a church in 1873, at a cost of about §2,000. Rev. H. D. Brown was 
the pastor at the time. Mr. Brown was succeeded by Rev. H. T. 
Curl, after whom came S. T. Moore, T. W. Owen, H. W. Jones, 
John Webb, 0. S. Bryan, D. W. Chamberlain and A. Amburn. 
Aaron Carpenter, R. R. Briggs and A. Pickett were appointed 
Trustees at the time of the organization of the Society. 

The Congregational Society was organized September llth, 
1870, at a meeting conducted by the Rev. Stewart Sheldon, of 
Yankton. The following named persons participated in the organ- 
ization: C. E. Prentis, A. E. Lee, F. McKercher, Sarah J. Mc- 
Kercher, Hattie J. Ufford, E. Mathews, Pauline Mathews. C. .E 
Prentis was elected Deacon, F. McKercher, Clerk. The Society 
erected a church edifice in 1872, at a cost of '$1,200, and a parson- 
age, at a cost of $1,000. Services were held, before the erection 
of the church, in Lee & Prentis' Hall. Rev. Mr. Sheldon was suc- 
ceeded by Revs. J. N. McLoney, W. E. \\"alker and Ct. S. Bas- 
com. The church was dedicated in 1873, the dedicatory sermon 
being preached by Rev. A. L. Briggs, of the Santee Agency Mission. 
The Society lost very heavily by reason of the floods of 1881. 

The organization of the Baptist Society dates from 1871, and 
was effected under the leadership of Deacon T. K. Hovey, who 
was the General Missionary at that time. The church edifice 
erected by this Society was built at a cost of $2,500. A parsonage 
is now (1881) in process of erection. Rev. E. H. Hnrlbutt, of Jef- 
ferson City, Mo., was the first pastor, and was succeeded b}'- Rev. 
T. H. Judson, under whose pastorate the church membership 
largely increased. The Society Avas obliged by the flood to move the 
church building to the hill,which with other expenses consequently 
incurred, will involve an expenditure of $1,500. The church mem- 
bership is large, and the attendance upon the Sabbath School is 
about one hundred pupils. 

In 1874:, the Scandinavian Lutheran Society was organized by 
Rev. G. L. Graven and George Norbeck. Their churcli building, 
which was erected at a cost of $1,000, was dedicated in the autumn 
of 1874. Rev. G. L. Graven preached the dedicatory sermon. Mr. 



VEEMTLLION. 213 



Graven is still pastor of this Society, The use of the building has 
been freely granted to the Baptists, Methodists and other denom- 
inations. The Society will move its building back upon the hill. 

An old log hut, which now stands in the hollow at Vermillion, 
was the first school building erected in the Territory. It was 
built by a military company in 1864 or '65, of logs, with a sod 
roof. The building was also used for church purposes, all denom- 
inations being privileged to enjoy its benefits. The first church 
building was also a log house, built before the old school house. 
Rev. Mr. Martin, whose memory is still green in the minds of old 
settlers, used to preach his characteristic sermons in this building. 
The first teachers, in the order named, were: Amos Shaw, Miss 
Josephine Moleaud and Hon. John L. Jolley. 

The present public school building was erected in 1873, at a cost 
of about $3,000, which was paid by taxation, Capt. Miner donat- 
ing the grounds. The schools have three departments, involving 
a twelve-years* course of study. Present corps of teachers: S. H., 
Seccombe, Principal, Mrs. Seccombe, Assistant; Miss Frederis 
Miner, Primary Department. 

Incense Lodge No. 2, A. F. & A. M. — Charter granted in 1872 
This Lodge was under the Iowa dispensation four or five years be- 
fore the present charter was granted. Meetings were first held in 
Snyder & Bergman's building, which was destroyed by the flood. 
The Lodge had, however, previously moved to Macomber's building, 
which being destroyed by fire, occasioned the loss of a great por- 
tion of their paraphernalia. The Lodge next moved into Salmer's 
bailding. where the first session of the Grand Lodge of Dakota 
was held. Thence the Order moved to Odd Fellows' Hall, which 
was totally destroyed by the flood, the Lodge at this time losing 
all of its efleets; since when it has had no place of meeting. Pres- 
ent officers: Judson Graves, W. M.; Andrew Amundson, S. W.; 
A. E. Lee, J. W.; H. B Chaff-ee, Secretary; W. D. Gould, Treas- 
urer. Charter members: A. G. Fuller, W. M.; J. C. Duman, S. 
W.; H. J. Austin, J. W. — and others. 

Vermillion Lodge No. 3, I. 0. 0. F., was instituted August, 
21st, 1872. Meetings were first held in Snyder & Bergman's build- 
ing; thence the Lodge moved to Macomber's building, losing all 
their eff'ects when that property was destroyed by fire, in 1874. 
The Lodge then moved into Lewison's Hall, and in 1879 erected 
Odd Fellows' Hall at a cost of $1,200. As mentioned'above, this 



214 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

hall was destroyed by the flood, and the Lodge again lost nearly 
all of its effects. They have at present no place of meeting. Char- 
ter members and first officers: Finlay McKercher, N. G.; C. B. 
Valentine, V.G. Jared Runyon, Sec'y ; George L. Bellows, Treasurer. 
The Vermillion Cornet Band consists of the following officers 
and members: T. A. Robinson, President and Leader; C. F. Oak- 
ley, Secretary; G. W. Williams, Treasurer; L. W. Bell, G. W. Ash- 
ard, A. M. Anderson. E. J. Hoffman, W. A. Williams, Ed. Moulin, 
G. L. Beckett, Frank Beckett. 

OFFICIAL DIKECTOKY. 

Mayor — F. N. Burdick. 
Aldermen — 1st Ward, S. J. Lewis. 

" 2d Ward, W. W. Demming. 

3d Ward, G. G. Porter. 

4tli Ward, A. E. Lee. 
" 5th Ward, Nick Hansen. 

6th AVard, W.G. Bower. 
CUrlc—C. F. Oakley. 
Treasurer — Martin L. Lewis. 
Marshal — Charles Mills. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Attorneys — J. L. Jolley, S. J. Lewis, H. A. Copeland, G. B. Bigelow. 

Boots and Shoes— S. Hayward& Son, W. F. Earls. 

Blacksmiths— R. T. Comes, Vaughn Brothers. A. J. Chan-lin. 

Bankers — D. N. Tnman & Co. 

Barber — G. H. Wheeler. 

Butter and Egg Dealers-- Smith & Farr, Lee &Prentis. 

Confectioners— W . A. Paul, J. T. White. 

Druggists— k. Helgeson, C. C. Eves, G. T. Salmer. 

Denfisfs-^C. A. Maxson. 

Furnifure-^C. Snyder. 

Flouring Mill^Stunlcj & Lowrie. 

General Merchandise— Lee andPrentis, B. F. Reeve, H. J. H. Lunde, J. W. 
Grange. 

Grocer— C. F. Miller. 

Hardware— K. B. Finley, Barron and Ireeson, Quarnbergand Norelias. 

Hotels— Chni^d\er House. W. C. Chandler; Sylvan House, C. C. Bridgnian. 

Insurance — S. .J. Lewis, 

Jewelers — Bridgman <fe Lotze. 

Livery— Esii-t Brothers, W. W. Demming. 

Lwmher—k. H. Lathrop, M. D. Thompson. 

Milliners and Dress Makers— Mrs. A. S. Oakley, Miss M. Knight, Miss Emma 
Maxson. 

Meat Markets— Ct. W. Bower, Hunn and Lowrie, E. Lackous. 

Newspaper— YevmWWon Republican, F. N. Burdick, Editor and Proprietor, 

Photographer— Mr. Butler. 



DAYISON COUNTY. 215 



Physicians — F. N. Burdick, C. Call, G. S. Agersbery. 

Postmaster- C. G. Shaw. 

Stationer)/ — Bridg-man and Lotze. 

Stock Dealers — Hansen & Dailey, M. D.Thompson, Lee & Prentis. 



DAVISON COUNTY. 

South of Miner and east of McCook, is Davison County, not more 
remarkable by reason of the fertility of its soil, and the beauty of 
its landscapes — characteristics of the noted James River Valley 
throughout — than for the fact that it contains, as its County Seat, 
the growing town of Mitchell — a city of great expectations that are 
being rapidly realized. 

The first settlements of Davison County date from about the 
year, 1872. John Head came in this year, and built the first frame 
house in the county. H. C. Green, Israel Green and Joseph Piatt 
came in 1873; Luke Lowell, John Lowell and Mr. Norton, in 1874; 
Martin Blakesly, Peter Smith, R. F. Allerton, A. S. Curtis and A. 
J. Curtis, in 1875. 

The officers appointed in pursuance of the organization of Davi- 
son County, were: Commissioners — John Head, Levi Hain, Luke 

W. Lowell. Sheriff— I. M. Tyrrell. Clerk and Register 

Parkhurst. Treasurer and Judge of Probate — John Lowell. Sur- 
veyor—I. Green. 

The first election occurred in 1878, at which the following offi- 
cers were elected: Commissioners — A. J. Curtis, Thomas Watson, 
H. C. Green. Sheriff— A. S. Curtis. Cl-rk and Register— R. F. 
Allerton. Treasurer — John Morris. Surveyor — Israel Green. 

Present officers: Commissioners — Thomas Watson, A. J. Cur- 
tis, Carl Filers. Sheriff-^T. H. Wilson. Treasurer— H. C. Apple- 
gate. Assessor — Charles Huntington. Clerk and Register — J. K. 
Smith. Superintendent of Schools — Rev. E. C. Downs. Judge of 
Probate — L. W. Warren. Surveyor — Israel Green. 

The remarks elsewhere concerning other localities of the James 
River Valley are equally pertinent to Davison County, to enter into 
a detailed description of whose soil, and its characteristics, would 
thereioie be needless repetition. 



216 HISTORY OF SOriHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

MITCHELL. 

The James River Valley iu Dakota, in which the thriving town 
of Mitchell is located, has been settled for a number of years by a 
few people who were attracted to this section, then remote from 
railroads, by the great fertility of the soil and the extent aud ex- 
ceedingly nutritious quality of the native grasses. Before the coni- 
ng of the C, M. & St. Paul li. R., Davison and other counties in 
the James River Valley were organized; while the population was 
yet sparse, the people being largely engaged in stock-raising, which 
was then, and still is very profitable. 

During the winter of 1879, it was understood that the C, M. & 
St. P. Railway Company would, during the following season, ex- 
tend the Black Hills branch of its road to the James River in D. T. 
and it was evident that, wherever this road crossed the river, there 
a town of considerable proportions was destined to spring up. 
Many believed that Rockport, 15 miles south of Mitchell, was to be 
the favored point, and consequently located there, inaugurating a 
period of anxious waiting for the expected crossing to be made. 
It is unnecessar}^ to add that these were disappointed. The Com- 
pany decided to make their crossing at Firesteel, and about this 
time, M. H. Rowley visited this section, and located the townsite 
of Mitchell, which was named for the Hon. Alexander Mitchell, 
President of the great railway corporation. 

About the 1st of May, 1880, the first train of cars reached Mitch- 
ell, at that time only a few months old. The cars brought build- 
ing material, merchandise and settlers, and the new town, being 
pleasantly located, commenced to grow rapidly. All kinds of trade 
were soon represen.ted, and a lively business commenced, which has 
steadily continued to improve, until a pleasant village of twelve 
hundred people has sprung up, with a fair prospect of a splendid 
town. 

Among the first settlers of Mitchell were: John L. Bowman, 
Smith & Farrow, Wills & Co., R. A. Ketchum, Mary Green, John 
Head. John Lowell, Mr. Manning, Fred. Kappos, Bates & (-o., J. 
M. Adams, Johnson Bros., Mr. Hewitt, J. W. Walsh, and others. 

The first family to locate in Mitchell was Mr. and Mrs. W. A. 
Cox, and next came M. F. Dunham and family. The postoffice 
was established December 15th, 1879, with J. W. Walsh as Post- 
master. The Mitchell Exchange Bank was established in 1880. 
Wm. Van Eps established the first store in December, 1879. The 



MITCHELL. 217 



first marriage ceremony to take place in Mitchell, was that o£ C. 
G. Wass to Jennie Gibbens, at the Mitchell House, January 24th, 
1880, Rev. Mr. Mitchell officiating. The first death was that of a 
son of Mr. J. K. iSmith, in July, 1880; the first birth, a daughter, 
born near Firesteel, August 18th, 1879, to Mrs. Smith Crippen. 

The quality of well water at Mitchell is excellent and easily 
obtained. Some unfailing wells of good water are found at a depth 
of twelve feet, but in other places wells are sunk to the depth of 
thirty feet before a sufficient supply of water is obtained. 

Most of the buildings erected in Mitchell, as in other rapidly 
growing western towns, are constructed of wood. Lumber is fur- 
nished at low figures by the extensive lumber companies doing 
business here and elsewhere along the line of the railroad. 

The town is located on the west half of section 21, and east half 
of section 22, township 103, range 60. 

Mitchell was incorporated in April, 1881, and the following 
named officers elected: Trustees — J. J. Devy, James S. Foster, P. 
T. McGovern, J. L. Davenport and A. J. La Barre. Treasurer — 
F. E. Moses. Clerk— C. W. Taylor. Marshal— Geo. A. Clark. 
Assessor — J. H. Green. 

The railroad facilities of Mitchell are good now, Avith a prospect 
of better in the near future. That great and liberal corporation, 
the Chicago. Milwaukee & S':. Paul Railroad Compan}^ is gridiron- 
ing Dakota with railroads to meet the wants of this rapidly devel- 
oping section, and extending its mainline westward from Mitchell 
toward the Black Hills, crossing the Missouri River at Chamber- 
lain, seventy miles west of the James river. Mitchell is the end 
of a division on the road, and the Milwaukee Company's round- 
house, machine shops, and car repair shops are located here. A 
line of road is to be built at an early day by this company from 
Yankton to Mitchell, and thence up the river to the Northern 
Pacific. The C. & N. W. Railway Company are now engaged in 
the survey of a line, which will ru.n from Sioux City, via Mitchell, 
to Huron. 

The "Alex. Mitchell"' Hotel is a product of the enterprise of the 
present year, and has been built at a total cost o£ $25,000, the 
building alone costing $15,300. There are seventy sleeping apart- 
ments. The dimensions of this building are 112 by 87| feet; it is 
three stories high, has a dining room 30 by 56 feet, and an '"L" 16 
by 30 feet. 



218 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA 

P. F. Kennard, of Sioux FjiIIs, established a brick-yard at 
Mitchell during the present year. 

Sehofield, White & Co. erected during the past season, a flouring 
mill at Mitchell, at a cost of ^10,000. It is a three-story frame 
building, with one run of stone, but two additional run of stone 
will shortly be made. The mill is situated three and one-half 
miles east of town. It is run. by water-power, and has all the 
modern machincr}' for making the patent flour. 

A United States Land Office was established at Mitchell in 18S0, 
and does an amount of business probably surpassed by no Land 
Office in the country. Col. B. F. Campbell and Maj. J. M. Wash- 
burn were its first officers. Its present officers are: Hon. W^illiam 
Letcher, Register; Hon. Hiram Barber, Jr.. Receiver. 

The first newspaper published in Davison County was the Da- 
kota Mail, which was started at Rockport, with J. W. Walsh as 
the editor. After its removal to Mitchell, the name of the paper 
was changed to the Mitchell Capital. Messrs. Stockwell & Has- 
kell purchased it in July, 1880, and converted it into a six-column 
quarto. Its publication was continued until March, 1881, when 
S. W. Rathbun, of Marion, Iowa, purchased Stockwell's interest, 
and shortly afterwards, Mr. Haskell's interest, also. Mr. Rathbun 
is now the editor and sole proprietor. 

The Mitchell Repuhlican was established in 1880, with Rec. 
Stanbery as editor and proprietor. It is a seven-column quarto, 
published every Saturday. Its circulation is about 800, and it is 
the official paper of the county. When first started, it was pub- 
lished as the Western Bugle. 

CHURCHES, SCHOOLS AND SOCIETIES. 

The first terms of school at Mitchell were taught in the winter 
of 1879-80, with H. S. Herrick as teacher, in the building known 
as the Presbyterian Chapel. The present building was erected in 
1880, and cost 87,000. It is a frame building, and has four depart- 
ments. As yet, but two teachers are employed, viz: Mrs. C. W. 
Taylor and Miss Carrie Johnson. The school grounds were donat- 
ed by the l?ailroad Company. 

The Free Methodist Society was organized by Rev. J. W. Sharp 
in July, 1881. Services are, for the present, held in Wills & Co.'s 
Hall. The Society will shortly build an edifice on lots number 1, 
2, 3, and 4, in block 1-1. There are about twelve members. The 
cost of the proposed building will be about 81,000. Rev. Mr. 



MITCHELL. 219 



Sharp is the pastor. The officers of the Society are: Trustees — 
George Johnson, Sr., .J. W. Sharp, L. W. Taylor. Stewards — J. 
W. Downs, G. Johnson, A. S. Smith. Class Leader — G. Johnson. 

The Presbyterian Society was organized by Rev. A. K. Baird, of 
Iowa, in October, 1879. Services are held in the Presbyterian 
Chapel. The Society has a building in course of erection, which 
will cost al)Out 13,000. The first pastor was Rev. M. E. Chapin, 
who was succeeded by Rev. J. B. Taylor, the- present pastor. The 
membership is about twent3^-five. First Board of Trustees: S. F. 
Goodykoontz, J. C. Christman, M. H. Rowley. Present Board: 
S. F. Goodykoontz, C. W. Taylor, John Helwig. 

The Congregational Society was organized August 18th, 1881, 
by Jay Willman, James S. Foster and J. M. Crary. Services are, 
for the present, held in the school house. ' Their church edifice 
was expected to be completed by Christmas of 1881, and will cost 
about $2,000. Church officers: Trustees— Jay Willman, James 
S. Foster, J. M. Crary. Clerk— Mrs. Dr. Tatman. Treasurer- 
Rev. J. R. Reitzell. 

The Episcopal Society was organized in September, 1880, by 
Bishop Clarkson, of Omaha. The Society was originally institut- 
ed at Firesteel, and was known as St. Mary's Mission. It was 
transferred to Mitchell shortly after the beginning of the town. 
Their church building in Mitchell was completed in August, 1881, 
and cost $2,000. Rev. D. A. Sanford, the first pastor, continues in 
charge of the Society. Church officers: Warden — 0. R. Betts. 
Secretary— H. C. Green. Treasurer— Dr. F. Andros. 

The Catholic Church Society was organized in 1880. Services 
are held in a building, which the Society uses temporarily, until 
the erection of an edifice in the near future, which is to be built at 
a cost of $3,000. First Board of Trustees— John Gleason, P. T. 
McGovern, J. L. Davenport. Present Board: John Gleason, P. 

T. McGovern, ■ Koch. Rev. M. M. McCarter was the first 

pastor, and was succeeded by the present pastor, Rev. Mr. Tobin. 

The Baptist Society has not as yet effected a permanent organ- 
ization. They expect to build an edifice in the spring of 1882. 
Services are held in the school house, under the ministrations of 
Rev. Mr. Coffman. 

An Agricultural Society was organized in Davison County, in 
1880. Grounds have been purchased containing a half-mile track. 
As yet no regular annual meeting of the Society has been held. 



220 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Resursam Lodge, U. D., A. F. & A. M. Organized in July, 1881, 
under dispensation from the Grand Master. Charter Members: — 
W. L. Warren, A. E. Hitchcock, F. Andros, Charles St. John, J. 
T. Bradle3\ Freeman Shultis, John Beattie, Mr. Kuowles, Dr. 
Tremain, Mr. Rightson, George Clark, Mr. Blakely, Thomas Ors- 
well. First and present officers: W. L. Warren, VV. M.; A. E. 
Hitchcock, S. W.; F. Andros, J. W.; Mr. Knowles, Secretary; 
Thomas Orswell, Treasurer. The membership is about twenty. 
Meetings are held in Odd Fellows' Hall. 

Chauka Lodge No. 21, I. 0. 0. F., was instituted April 26, 1880. 
Charter members and first officers: J. M. Adams, N. G.; A. S. Cur- 
tis, V. G.; T. W. D. Orswell, Secretary; G. H. Rathman, Treas- 
urer; H. C. Green, A. W. Odell, H. Schwartz. Present officers: 
A. W. Odell, N. G.:A. S. Waterhouse, V. G.; T. E. Moses, P. S.; 
J. L.Bowman, R.S.; Dr. H. Half hide. Treasurer. 

Mitchell Star Lodge No. 18, I. 0. G. T., was instituted in July, 
1881. Charter members: E. S. Johnson, George Chatfield, Guy 
Wellman, George A. Clark, F. E. Moses, Mrs. G. Wellmau, Mrs 
L. W. Adams, Miss Carrie Johnson, and others. At present the 
Lodge has no regular place of meeting. First officers: E. E. John- 
son, W. C; Mrs. G. Wellman, V. C; F. E. Moses, R. S.; G. A. 
Clark, Lodge Deputy. Present officers: E. S. Johnson, W. C.;- 
Miss Kittie Blaine. V. C; James Williams, Secretary; Carrie John- 
son, Treasurer. The Lodge now has about thirty members. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTORY. 

President— A. J. La Barro. 

Councilmen — J. J. Devy, James Foster, P. T. McGovem, J. L. Davenport. 

Cleric— G. W. Taylor. 

Assessor — Harry Green, 

Treasurer — F. E. Moses. 

Marshal— Ct. A. Clark. 

BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Attorneys. — Mizener and Haprer, Faust and Waterhouse, H. C. Preston, 
Johnson Brothers, G. E. Srhwhidt, W. L. Warren. W. Abbey, Kershaw, Flagg- 
and Doolittle, Foster and nitehcock, Windsor and Metcalf. 

Blacksmithing- -MWh and Gillingham, Curtis and Lott. 

Banks — Mitchell Exchange, Bank of Mitchell. 

Barbers — J. L. Cotton, George Smith. 

Brkh Yard—Y. T. Kenyard. 

Carpenters — H. II. Calhoun, Jacob Wnght, La Barre Brothers. 

Clothinfi — Fosdick, TiUottson and Company. 

Coal and Lumber — Oshkosh Lumber Company, F. E. Moses. 

Dentists— Dr. J. L. Roberts. Dr. George B. Dix. 



HUTCHINSON COUNTY. 221 



Druggists — Hammer and Hammer. L. 0. Gale. 

Furniture — M. F. Dunham. 

General Merchandise — William Van Eps, P. T. McGovern, Weil Brothers. 

Grocers — Knowles and Pittwood, M. Farron and Company, Henry Koch, J. 
M. Adams. 

Grain and Feed Stores — Letcher and Fan-ow, P. Hartman, Applegate and 
Wilson. 

Hardtvare — Moore and Company, L. W. Adams, 0. R. Betts. 

Harness — E. Wedchase. 

Hotels — Alex. Mitchell, J. L. Davenport, Sanboni House, Dakota House, 
Gleeson House, Milwaukee House, Bradley House. 

Liven/ — Walworth and Morrow, Darling and Vanalstine, Silas Steward. 

Land Agents — Distad and Devj-, Windsor and Metcalf, Mizener and Hager, 
Washburn and Currey, Davenport and Beckett, Johnson Brothers, Wan-en and 
Schwindt, Foster and Hitchcock, L. 0. Gale, J. J. De^-y, J. C. Tatman. 

Meat Markets — Rowley and Indra, Applegate and Wilson, Jacob Frantz. 

Millinery — Miss Matie Williams, Mrs. Silas Steward, Lillie M. Almy. 

Xeicspapers — Mitchell Republican, Rec Stanberry as Editor and Proprietor; 
Mitchell Capital, S. W, Rathbun as Editor and Proprietor. 

Ph;/sicians—W. E. Crane, F. Andros, J. C. Tatman, W. W. Cutting, M. 
Halfhide. 

Postmaster — J. W. Walsh; G. B. Walker, assistant. 

Painters — C. W. Smith, Martin and Adams. 

Stationery — Walker and Walsh. 

Saloons — R. C. Wills & Co., J.H.Green, Ole Arneson, John H. Sulhvan, 
Wooden Drake. 

Shoemaking — S. P. Leslie. 



HUTCHINSON COUNTY. 

Hutchirson County was one of the several counties which was 
organized by the first Legislative Assembly. It lies in the Da- 
kota or James River Valley, the first county'north of Yankton. Its 
surface is gently rolling prairie land. The soil of this county is 
similar to that of all the counties lying in the valley, and is a deep, 
dark loam. It is well supplied with small lakes and creeks which emp- 
ty into the James River, which runs through the county. There are 
a number of good water powers on the James River, in this county. 
Olivet, the County Seat, is located upon the banks of the river, 
where there is excellent water-power. Providence, Milltown, 
Martell, Wolf Center, Freeman, Oak Hollow, Wittenberg, Meno, 
Friedenhal, Maxwell and Sharon, are other settlements in this 
county. 



222 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

YANKTON COUNTY. 

A history of Y^ankton and Y^aiikton County is necessaril}^ very 
largely a history of Dakota — particnlarly of Southeastern Dakota 
— for Yankton has so long been the "hub" arouud which 
Territorial affairs have revolved, that it is impossible to think of 
this pioneer settlement in a limited w^ay. Y'^ankton County was 
organized by act of the Legislative Assembly in 1862. The first 
meeting of the Board of Comity Commissioners was held June 2d, 
of that year. As a matter of historical importance, and for con- 
venience of reference, we append at the outset the following list of 

COU.NTY OFFICERS 

of Yankton County, from the date of its organization to the present 
time: 

FIKST OFFICERS. 

Justus Townscnd, Henry Bradley, Otis B. Wheeler, Coirmiss'or.ers. 

William Bortleno, Register of Deeds. 

J. R. Hanson, Probate Judge. 

There is no record of any other officers for that year. The above, 
however, were sufficient for all the demands of public business at 
that early day. Of these first officers, two, Justus Town&end and 
Otis B. Wheeler, have left the Territory; William Bordeno died in 
Y'ankton in 1876, and J. R. Hanson and Henry Bradley are still 
residents of Yankton. 

1863 TO 1865. 

Otis B. Wheeler. N. W. Berge, D. 0. Higley, Commissioners. 

William Miner, Register of Deeds. 

Charles F. Rossteuscher, Sheriff. 

James M. Stone, Probate Judge. 

Samuel Grant, J. S.Presho, Justices of the Peace. 

(reo. N. Propper, County Attorney. 

James M. Stone, County Surveyor. 

James E. Witherspoon, Coroner. 

A. D. Fisher, J. B. Greenvvay, Constables. 

In 1863 no general county ticket was chosen. Charles F. Picotte 
and Ole Sampson were elected to fill vacancies in the Board of Com- 
missioners, created by the removal from the Territory of Otis B. 
Wheeler and D. C. Higley. 

1865 TO 1867. 

Charles F. Picotte, W. E. Root, Ole Sampson, Commissioners. 

C. A. Rossteuscher, Register of Deeds. 

*Franklin Bronson, Sheriff. 

Henry Brook-i, Probata Judge and ex-o.*ticio County Treasurer. 

Geo. N. Propper, County Surveyor. 



YANKTON COUNTY. 223 



^Appointed by the Board, January 5th, 1865, to fill the vacancy 
created by the failure to qualify of W. H. Werdebaugh, Sheriff 
elect. Mr. Bronson resigned June 5th, 1865, and S. C, Fargo was 
appointed to fill the vacancy. 

The records show that in 1865, C. F. Picotte, B. M. Smith and 
W. E. Root were County Commissioners; Wm. Bordeno, Sheriff, 
J. S. Foster, Coroner, and Henry Brooks, Treasurer. 

1867 TO 1869. 

B. M. Smith, Felix LeBlanc, H. C. Ash, Commissioners. 

J. S. Foster, Register of Deeds. 

Charles Van Eps, Sheriff. 

A. G. Fuller, Probate Judge and ex-offitio County Treasurer. 

James A. Hand, County Attorney. 

M. K. Armstrong, County Surveyor. 

A. G. Fuller, Superintendent of Public Schools. 

J. W. Evans, Coroner. 

John Stange, Justice of the Peace. 

Henry Fisher, William Van Osdel, Constables. 

In 1868, Bly Wood, Gr. W. Kingsbury and Warren Osborne were 
County Commissioners, and M. Fisher, Probate Judge and ex-officio 
County Treasurer. Mr. Fisher died during his term of office, and 
T. W. Brisbine was appointed to the position. 

1869x0 1871. 

Geo. W. Kingsbury, Warren Osborne, Milton Morey, Couim'ssioners. 

Geo. Black, Sheriff. 

J. S. Foster, Register of Deels. 

T. W. Brisbine, Probate Judge and ex-officio (bounty Treasurer. 

M. Hoyt, Superintendent of Schools. 

G. C. Mo^dy, County Attorney. 

Richard Dawson, Coroner. 

In 1870, Joel A. Potter was elected a County Commissioner in 
place of Geo. W. Kingsbury, whose term expired, but he failed to 
qualify, and Newton Edmunds was appointed in his place. The 
Commissioners for that year were Chas. Eiseman, Clark West and 
Newton Edmunds. 

In the official roster of that year the names of David DeVol and 
Richard Dawson appear as Coroners. 

1871 TO 1873. 

Chas. Eiseman, Clark West, S. D. Presba,* Commissioners. 

Erick Iverson, Register of Deeds. 

Stephen Flick, Probate Judge and ex-otficio County Treasurer. 

Henry Fisher, Sheriff. 

O.B. Orton, County Attorney. 

Joseph Ward, Superintendent of Schools. 



< 



QS'l HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

R. Dawson, Coroner. 

Lewis Oliver, Charles Shepardson, Justices of the Peace. 

L. Lawrence, T. Wclby, Constables. 

*Resigned January, 10th, 1871, and Newton Edmunds was ap- 
pointed to fill the vacancy. 

The Sheritf, Henry Fisher, died daring his term of office, and L. 
W. Case was appointed by the Commissioners to fill the unexpired 
term. 

At the election in the fall of 1871, J, J. Thompson was elected 
Commissioner in place of Clark West, and Geo. B. Hoffman in the 
place of Newton Edmunds, and the Board for the succeeding year 
was Eiseman, Thompson and Hoffman. 

1873 TO 1875. 

Charles Eiseman, John J. Thompson, Geo. B. Hotfinan, Commissioners. 

Erick Iverson, Rej^ister of Deeds. 

Stephen Flick, Probate Judge and ex-offic!o County Treasurer. 

L. W. Case, Sheriff. 

P. K. Faulk, County Attorney. 

W. B. Valentine, Assessor. 

Joseph Ward, Superintendent of Schools. 

J. W. Wheeler, Coroner. 

C. C. P. Meyer, Surveyor. 

In 1873, J. A. Potter was elected Commissioner in place of G. B. 
Hoffman, and the following were elected to fill vacancies: Asses- 
sor, J. H. Haskell; Superintendent of Schools, F. M. Ziebach; Cor- 
oner, W. F. Eldridge; Justices of the Peace, E. T. White, C. S. 
West, J. L. Foskett. F. M. Ziebach did not qualify as Superin- 
tendent of Schools, and W. F. Eldridge was appointed to fill the va- 
cancy. S. A. Bentley, Joseph Chladek, Justices of the Peace. 

1875 TO 1S77. 

Charles Eiseman, J. A. Potter, Daniel Wilcox, Commissioners. 

Erick Iverson, Register of Deeds. 

F. Schnauber, Probate Judge and ex-officio County Treasurer. 

M. A. Baker, Sheriff. 

J. R. Gamble, County Attorney. 

Nathan Ford, Superintendent of Schools. 

D. F. Etter, Coroner. 

M. T. Wooley, County Surveyor. 
' *.- ^^ T. W. Brisbine, J. A. Hand, Peter Hubcr. K. C. Walton, Justices of the 
/"^ Peace. 

Theo. Mnmme, (i. M. Tarbox, M. Hoft'richter, P. C. Conway, Constables. 

1877 TO 1X7!). 
' W. B. Valentine, M. P. Ohlman, Daniel Wilcox. Commissioners. 
Ephriam Miner, Regisiter of Deeds. 



YANKTON" COUNTY. 225 



Fred Sclinauber, Treasurer. 

P. K. Faulk, County Attorney. 

Herman Ellerraan, Assessor. 

M. A. Baker, Sheriff. 

James A. Hand, Probate Judge. 

Joseph Peir, G. W. Roberts, E. T. White, H. Raynor, Justices of the Peace. 

T. Mumme, A. L. Hinman, A. Wood, E. R. Holland, Constables. 

1879 TO 1881. 
Ole Sampson, W. B. Valentine, William Blatt, Commissioners. 

E. Miner, Register of Deeds. 

F. Sclinauber, County Treasurer. 
M. A. Baker. Sheriff. 
Herman Ellerman, Assessor. 

L. Congleton, Probate Judge. 

D. F. Etter, Coroner. 

G. W. Roberts, E. T. White, Andrew Stranne, S. W. Howe, Justices of the 
Peace. 

James A. Hardin, Gus. Swanson, Peter Franz, T. Ganderson, Co:nmis3ion3rs 

PKESEXT OFFICERS. 
Ole Sampson, £. E. Hudson, W. B. Valentine, Commissioners. 
Peter Royem, Register of Deeds. 
Joseph Peir, Treasurer. 
M. A. Baker, Sheriff. 
John Aaseth, Assessor. 
L. Congleton, Probate Judge. 

E. D. Palmer, Surveyor. 

T. S. Dixon, Supeiintendent of Schools. 

G. W. Roberts, L. Fletcher, Justices of the Peace. 

Yankton County is one of the south'eru tier, and is bounded on 
the north by Hutchinson and Turner, on the east by Clay and 
Turner, on the south by Nebraska, from which it is separated by 
the Missouri River, and on the west by Bon Homme. It extends 
twenty-four miles east and west, and about the same distance 
north and south. Its genieral features are the same as the other 
counties bordering on the Missouri River. It has a strip of bot- 
tom lands extending along the river, varying in width from a few 
rods to several miles, the remainder being rolling prairie, well 
adapted to pasturage or tillage. 

The soil is a rich sandy loam, very fertile, and produces well any 
kind of grain or vegetables, usually grown in this latitude. 

The climate is healthful and pleasant, the winters being gener- 
ally not so long as in the same latitude in New England, and usu- 
ally quite mild until near January, about which time occasionally 
severe storms occur, and which last for a few days only, succeeded 



226 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

by several weeks of fair weather. The springs generally commence 
early in March, the Missouri River breaking up soon after the 
midfUe of this month, and by the first of April, farmers have gen- 
erally finished sowing their wheat and oats. The summer weather 
is not hot and sultry, owing to the pleasant breezes which invari- 
ably spring up in prairie countries, some time in the forenoon and 
continue through the day. The evenings are generally cool and 
pleasant. The rainy season of Dakota usually comes in the month 
of June, but showers are frequent during the spring and summer. 
It is a fixed fact however, that there is much less cloudy weather 
at Yankton, than in Central New York. The climate is usually 
healthy, fevers and lung diseases not being frequent among those 
who have long breathed the pure air of Dakota. 

The greatest portion of the timber of Yankton County is to be 
f ouna along the Missouri River, in the southern part of the county, 
but considerable timber is also to be found in ravines, running out 
from the Missouri and James Rivers. 

The Missouri River washes the entire southern boundary, while 
the James River runs diagonally across the county from northwest 
to southeast. The James River has numerous creeks emptying 
into it, the most important of which is Beaver Creek, six miles 
north of Yankton. Springs are common along the bluffs, which 
border on the bottom lands along the rivers, many of which are 
the sources of streams of considerable size. Good wells of excel- 
lent water are generally easily found on the bottoms, by digging 
from ten to twenty feet, and on the uplands, from fifteen to thirty 
feet. Plenty of stone for building purposes can be found on the 
table lands. Wells are from thirty to fifty feet deep in the city of 
Yankton. The building stone of Yankton is one of its peculiar 
features. It is a species of soft lime-stone, called ''chalk-stone," 
because, ivhen first quarried, it is as soft as chalk, and can be used 
for marking, like chalk. It can be readily sawed into shape for 
building, or hewn with an ax. When exposed to the weather, it 
becomes harder, and makes a perfectly solid wall, much cheaper 
than brick; and when properly put up and ornamented, makes a 
beautiful house, resembling granite. This stone is found in inex- 
haustible quantities within half a mile of the city of Yankton. A 
large grist mill and several elegant residences have been constructed 
of this material. 



YAXKTOX 227 



YANKTON 



Much that might be here written, concerning Yankton, the Cap- 
ital of Dakota, and the County Seat of Yankton County, has 
already been consigned to the tender mercies of the infallible com- 
positor, and appears in preceding portions of this work. When 
Yankton became the Capital, and under what circumstances, are 
elsewhere shown, as also, necessarily, in rhe development of the 
series of facts, which have gone to make up the settlement of 
Southeastern Dakota, many other circumstances attending the 
early period of Yankton's being and surroundings. 

Yankton had its inception in a steamboat landing and a small 
trading-house, in 1857. The first real settlement began in 1859, 
as soon as the Indians were removed. George D. Fiske. Francis 
Chappel, Enos Stutsman, D. T. Bramble and Gren. Todd were 
among the first white occupants of the site of Yankton. Mrs. H. 
C. Ash was the first white woman who came to Yankton to reside. 
Mr. Ash was proprietor of the first hotel in Yankton. 

The city is located in township 93, ranges 55 and 56, and con- 
tains in the neighborhood of 5,000 inhabitants. It is in reality — 
what is often said of less favored localities, merely, perhaps, because 
it has a pleasant ring — "beautifully situated" on the north bank 
of the Missouri River, in the midst of a prairie country, on a level 
plateau above the bottom lands, and out of floods, yet surrounded 
by gently sloping hills. The location surpasses any on the river; 
its environment is enviable; around it on three sides are fertile 
upland prairies of the county to which it gives its name, while 
southward, across the river in Nebraska, stretches the broad valley 
of the Missouri, heavily timbered, and back of this again, the roll- 
ing prairie of Cedar County, which is tributary to Yankton. 

About 1.200 acres of land have been platted and recorded. The 
streets, running east and west, are 80 feet wide, those running north 
and south are broad avenues of 100 and 130 feet. Third, Capitol 
and Broadway streets are devoted largely to business, and two and 
three story brick buildings predominate. 

For eight years Yankton, although the Capital of the Territory, 
did not thrive rapidly. The frontier was kept in a constant state 
of excitement in consequence of the Indian wars. Dakota was also 
suffering from the eflects of a severe drouth, which lasted several 
months and discouraged many of the settlers. But the cloud that 



228 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

had hung over the Northwest for a number of years, at length 
passed away, and the sunlight of prosperity shone upon Dakota, 
and her Capital City began to improve. 

The town, therefore, may not be said to have actually begun its 
growth until as late as 1866, It has, within the past fifteen or six- 
teen years,- attained a position of commanding influence in the 
Northwest, while its relation to the Upper Missouri trade, to pre- 
sent and future railway traffic, the agricultural and chief commer- 
cial and material interests of the Territory, give it great prospect- 
ive importance. Yankton cannot fail to become an important 
railroad center. Its location and surroundings are, in themselves, 
a permanent fortune. 

In September, 1862, the Sioux Indian war, entailing the gravest 
alarm, and retarding the settlement of the entire Southeastern Da- 
kota, Yankton became a place of refuge for the frightened pioneers 
and their families. The publication of the paper at Yankton was 
suspended. A stockade was constructed around the printing office, 
where Broadway now intersects Third Street, and F. M. Ziebach, 
of the Dakotaian, w^as made Commander in Chief of all the armies 
of " Fort Yankton," while G. W. Kingsbury, his partner, served 
as an humble private in the ranks. Sixty Yanktonians constitut- 
ed the guard for three or four weeks, and the Indians gave them a 
wide berth. In course of time the Indians became settled on the 
reservations, and desisted from meddling with the jirogress of 
events. Old troubles were forgotten, and settlers began to take 
up the rich lands adjoining Yankton. Up to 1875, the settlements 
were mainly confined to the southeast and northwest corners of the 
Territory, and probably fifty thousand people came into Dakota. 
The Black Hills excitement brought thousands imd advertised the 
Territory. About this time the large wheat farms of the North- 
ern Pacific belt began to attract universal attention, and there was 
a steady flow of immigration to the northeast, southeast and south- 
west. The valleys of the Red, Big Sioux, Vermillion and James 
Rivers, were the favorite resorts, together with the pine-clad hills 
of the mineral regions. 

In the meantime, Yankton grew apace. About the month of 
June, 1871. 

THE DAKOTA SOUTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY 

was chartered. The first Bjard of Directors of this Company, 
which proved to be the entering wedge which was to open up pos- 



YANKTON. 229 



sibilities even grander than were dreamed of at the time, was com- 
posed of the following gentlemen: J. M. Stone, W. W. Brook- 
ings, J. R. Hanson, N. Edmunds, D. T. Bramble, Greorge Whet- 
more and W. A. Burleigh. J. M. Stone was the President, J. R. 
Hanson, Secretary of the Board. In September, 1871, Burleigh, 
Stone, Brookings and Whetmore visited Chicago for the purpose of 
conferring with parties representing sufficient capital to carry on 
the enterprise, and were so successful as to be enabled to enter into 
a contract with responsible gentlemen for the construction of the 
road. 

At the election in October, 1871, Stone, Brookings, Burleigh, 
Whetmore, Weston and Bramble were elected Directors; W. W. 
Brookings was chosen President, Weston, Superintendent, and 
Hanson, Secretary. 

In December, 1872, C. G. Wicker, J. H. Wicker, J. S. Heck- 
ling, W. W. Brookings, J. M. Stone and J. A. Burbank were elected 
Directors: C. G. Wicker, President; W. W. Brookings, Vice Presi- 
dent; J. S. Meckling, Superintendent; J. R. Hanson, Secretary. 
These last officers continued as such for several years. During 
1877 and 1878, W. W. Brookings was Solicitor for the road. 

The Sioux City & Pembina Rciilroad Company was organized in 
Sioux City, and was consolidated with the Dakota Southern Road 
in the latter part of 1878, or the first of 1879, under the name of 
the Sioux City & Dakota Railroad Company. The two roads, thus 
consolidated, were sold to the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Rail- 
road Company, in 1881. 

Judge W. W. Brookings, of Sioux Falls, is still a member of the 
Board of Directors, and the only one now left in Dakota, liaving 
been a Director of the original Company — the Dakota Southern — 
from its organization to the consolidation with the Sioux City & 
Pembina, resulting into the absorption of that Road by the Mil- 
waukee Company — and having served as President, Vice-President, 
Solicitor and Attorney. The first locomotive that ever entered 
Dakota was named the "Judge Brookings.'' It is now the "Brook- 
ings No. 327 " of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St Paul Railroad 
Company. It is but due the veracity of history, to state that the 
conception of the organization and building of the first railroad in 
Dakota, was Judge W. W. Brookings', and this was the com- 
mencement of the Dakota Southern. Judge Brookings also sug- 
gested the name of the Road, and to the liberality of Yanktcn 



230 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

County is due the buildin<y of the Road, although, in order to get 
it, J. M. Stone and Judge Brookings had to mortgage all their pri- 
vate property. Inquiries directed to those best in position to know, 
develop the fact that to Judge W. W. Brookings, more than to 
any other one man, Dakota owes the beginning of her railroad sys- 
tem, which has already grown to so great proportions, and the con- 
tinuance of whose growth seems limitless. While paying this de- 
served tribute to one of Dakota's most active and enterprising citi- 
zens, it affords pleasure to the editor of this work — who is equally 
v^ell pleased to acknowledge the many obligations under which he 
rests to the distinguished gentleman, for material facts furnished 
by him in furtherance of the arduous labor attached to a history of 
this kind — to append the following pertinent remarks concerning 
Judge Brookings, by a well known journalist, in the Centennial 
year: 

" Judge W. W. Brookings, one of the dozen first white men who 
ever came to the Territory for settlement, ex-Associate Justice, 
Speaker of the House and President of the Territorial Senate, half 
a dozen times a meml)er of both branches of its Legislature, and 
always a leading and inspiring man in every movement for the ad- 
vance of the social, intellectual and material interests of Dakota, is 
a man to be honored and remembered. Of genial social temper, 
liberal views, clear and quick perceptions, good judgments, gener- 
ous impulses and great working power, he has been able to do more 
for the Territory than any man within its borders. Judge Brook- 
ings is a man of very generous intellectual culture, passed his col- 
lege days at old Bowdoin and has not forgotten his Ama Mater. He 
never forgets anything. He is alike versatile in knowledge and its 
uses. He is the railroad genius of the Territory, inspired the build- 
ing of a road to Yankton several years before it would have come 
of its own volition, and is now its Vice-President. His fertile 
brain is full of embryo railroads, audit won't be long till some of 
them are sprung into realities. I like this man for his social ways, 
his working powers and public spirit, and shall be glad to know more 
of him." 

The impetus given by railroad enterprise, to the embryo city of 
Yankton, was destined to last, and its growth, while it has not 
been of a spasmodic character, has, nevertheless, been in the main 
entirely satisfactory. Of late, the city has taken unto itself a new 
and highly gratifying "boom," and it has become more and more 




YAXKTON. 231 



apparent that, whatever may befall other localities, the city of 
Yankton is, in a commercial sense, "founded upon a rock." 

The city government consists of a Mayor, and eight Aldermen, 
one City Marshal and assistants, a City Clerk, "City Treasurer, Po- 
lice Justice and other city officers. The finances of the city are in 
good condition, the city being clear of debt and money in the treas- 
ury. The rate of taxation is not burdensome, but the accumula- 
tions in the treasury are owing to a judicious and economical 
administration of municipal affairs. 

THE YANKTOlSr AND LE MARS RAILROAD COMPANY. 

A later enterprise — one which belongs to the present, and which 
seems to be in a fair way to fruition — is that of the Yankton and 
Le Mars Railroad Company, the object of which is the construction 
of a line of railway to make connection with the < '., M., St. P. & 
O., and the Illinois Central Railroads, at or "near Le Mars, Iowa. 
The articles of organization, of this Company, were filed Octo- 
ber 13th, 1881. The meeting of the Directors for organization 
was held October 18th. The books of the Company were opened 
for subscriptions, and a soliciting committee is busily engaged in 
disposing of the stock. There appears to be little or no difficulty in 
connection with the right of way, the inhabitants all along the 
proposed line manifesting an anxiety to afford all reasonable aid to 
tha project. Yankton and Yankton people have taken hold of the 
matter with a will, and energetic endeavors are co-operated in, most 
harmoniously. It is the evident determination, on all sides, to 
push the enterprise through to a successful termination. The ad- 
vantages which will accrue from this new route, are too self-evi- 
dent to require examination in detail. Other railroad plans and 
probabilities in connection with Yankton, are set forth elsewhere 
in their proper relations to the communities whose interests they 
effect. The central office of the Company is at Yankton, and the 
following are its officers: Directors — S. B. Coulson, President; E. 
E. Hudson, Vice President; C. J. B. Harris, Secretary; G. R. Scou- 
gal. Treasurer; J. L. Pennington, General Superintendent; J. R. 
Sanborn, J. E. Bruce, M. P. Ohlman, G. E. Hawley, H. F. Jencks 
A. W. Howard, D. F. Etter, J. W. C. Morrison. 

RIVER NAVIGATION. 

Yankton does a larger steamboat business than any other city 
on the Missouri River. A large fleet of boats owned by three dif- 
ferent companies winter here, and many of the boats are repaired 



232 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

during the winter on the steamboat ways which have been erected 
in this city for that purpose. Some idea of the amount of busi- 
ness done can be formed when you know that there are about 
forty steamboats engaged in the river traffic wliich operate from 
Yankton, carrying freight and passengers to the military posts , 
Indian Agencies, the Black Hills and other points up the Missouri 
River. 

STAGE ROUTES FROM YANKTON. 

From Yankton, stage lines run out in all directions, carrying 
the mails and passengers. The principal stage line runs up the 
Missouri River, through Bon Homme, Springfield, Yankton Agency, 
Fort Randall and Fort Pierre, thence up the river to Bismarck, 
also on the Missouri River, the western terminus of the Northern 
Pacific railroad. This stage runs daily to Springfield with covered 
four-horse coaches. 

The James River route runs a daily stage from Yankton, to 
Mitchell, through Utica, Lesterville. Odessa, Scotland, Milltown, 
Martella, Rockport and Rosedale, to Mitchell, 75 miles up the Da- 
kota River. And from Mitchell to Jamestown on the Northern 
Pacific railroad, a semi-weekly mail passes up the beautiful valley 
of the Dakota River, a distance of about 200 miles. 

Stages run across the country intersecting these lines already 
mentioned, so that a person can easily reach any desired locality. 

YANKTON NEWSPAPERS. 

The Press and Dakoiaian. — The WeeMij Dakofaian was first 
published June 6th, 1861, by the Dakotaian Printing Company — 
F. M. Ziebach being the Company aforesaid. J, C. Trask bought 
the Dakotaian of Ziebach in March, 1862, and was made the first 
Public Printer of Dakota. Trask did the printing for the first 
Legislative Assembly, .and after the session, sold to George W. 
Kingsbury. Ziebach subsequently became a partner in the busi- 
ness. During the next session of the Legislature, Kingsbury & 
Ziebach became Public Printers, and held possession of the Dako- 
taian until May 26th, 1863, when it passed into the sole possession 
of Kingsbury. 

Beginning with the issue of March 29th, 1861, A]l)ert Gore be- 
came the editor of the paper, with Kingsbury as the publisher. 
Kingsbury withdrew May 31st, 1864. 

June 2Jst, 1864, Kingsbury started the Dakota Union, with 
Hon, M. K. Armstrong as the editor. The publication of the pa- 



YANKTON. 233 

per was suspended in the middle of August following. November 
19th, lS6i, the Union and the Dakotaian were consolidated, with 
Kingsbury as the publisher and Armstrong as the editor. Arm- 
strong's connection as the editor ceased with the issue of January 
7th, 1865, and Kingsbury took sole charge of the paper, which 
was thus conducted until September Ith, 1869, when Kingsbury 
sold to James S. Foster and Charles H. Mclntyre, who ran it under 
the firm name of Mclntyre & Foster. April Tth, 1870, Arthur 
Linn became interested in the concern, the firm then becoming 
Mclntyre, Foster & Linn. The next issue, Linn became sole pro- 
prietor. Linn conducted the paper until November, 12th, 1873. 
£ August 10th, 1870, the Yankton Press was started by the Yank- 
ton Press Publishing Company, and edited by Hon, George H. 
Hand. Mr. Hand retired November 2d, 1870, and J. M. Stone and 
and Kingsbury became the editors and publishers. Stone with- 
drew July 30th, 1873, and was succeeded by S. V, Clevenger. INo- 
vember 12th, 1873, the Union and Dakotaian and the Yankton 
Press were consolidated, Linn retiring, and E. M. Brown, Kings- 
bury and Clevenger assumed control. 

The present heading of the weekly edition of the Press and Da- 
kotaian was adopted December 4th, 1873. Kingsbury sold to 
Clevenger his interest in the paper, which was then run by Clev- 
enger and Brown, up to May 21st, 1874, Avhen W. P. Dewey 
bought Brown's interest, the firm becoming Dewey & Clevenger. 
August 27th, 1874, A. W. Barber succeeded Dewey, the firm becom- 
ing Clevenger & Barber. December 5th, 1874, W. S. Bowen and 
Kingsbury took possession, under the firm name of W. S. Bowen 
& Co., and August 7th, 1875, Kingsbury took a half-interest in the 
establishment, the firm name being then changed to Bowen & 
Kingsbury. The first daily edition of the Press and Dakotaian 
was issued April 26th, 1875. The Press and Dakotaian is Repub- 
lican in politics, and — both daily and Aveekly — is a highly credit- 
able publication. 

The Dakota Heraltl. — The Herald was established in February, 
1872, by Maris Taylor and T. F. Singiser, the firm name being 
Taylor & Singiser. Singiser remained^ in the firm about one year, 
when Taylor Bros. — Maris Taylor and James Taylor — took posses- 
sion. In October, 1879, Maris Taylor became sole proprietor, the 
paper being conducted under his management until September, 
18S1, when T. J. Sargent purchased a half-interest. The present 



234 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

firm is, therefore, Taylor & Sargent. The Herald is Democratic 
in politics, is pabrished every Saturday, and is a credit to the jour- 
nalistic guild, as well as to the community. 

THE YANKTON POSTOFFICE. 

The postoffice of Yankton was established in 1857. D. T. Bram- 
ble was the first Postmaster. Mr. Bramble held this postoffice four 
years, when he Avas succeeded by William Miner, who h*^ld the 
office seven years. M. U. Hoyt became Postmaster in 1867, and 
in May, 1870, William Pound succeeded him. In October, 1871, 
C. H. Mclntyre Avas appointed Postmaster. Mr. Mclntyre was 
succeeded in November, 1872, by A. W. Howard, the present Post- 
master. Yankton postoffice was made a money order office in 
1864, and advanced to an office of the second class in 1876. It has 
been the distributing office for all of Dakota and Northern Ne- 
braska, is still a depositing office for the Territory, and has always 
transacted a very large amount of business. Under Mr. Howard's 
management, the office is conducted in a systematic and highly 
satisfactory manner. 

U. S. LAND OFFICE. 

The land office for the counties of Yankton, Turner, Lincoln, 
Union, Clay, Bon Homme, Hutchinson, Douglas and Chaj'les Mix, 
is located at Yankton. G. A. Wetter is the Register, Alexander 
Hughes^ the Receiver. 

TERRITORIAL OFFICES. 

The various Territorial Officers have their offices here, the prin- 
cipal of which are the Governor. Secretary, Chief Justice of the 
Supreme Court, U. S. Marshal, U. S. Attorney. Surveyor General, 
Registerjin Bankruptcy, Superintendent of Indian Affairs, Auditor, 
Treasurer and U. S. Signal Officer. The Legislature of Dakota 
meets biennially at the Capital. 

U. S. ARMY OFFICES. 

The United States military offices for Dakota, consisting of U. 
S. Quartermaster, Purchasing and Depot Coiiimissary of Subsis- 
tence, U. S. Paymaster, and U. S. Signal officer, are located at 
Yankton. Large quantities of army supplies are annually pur- 
chased at Yankton and forwarded by steamers to the military posts 
on the Missouri Biver above. 

THE COURTS AT YANKTON. 

Dakota is divided into four judicial districts. Southeastern Da- 
kota being within the Second District, and holding two general 



l/y L^ 



YANKTON. 235 

terrtii of the U. S. Court at Yankcon in each year. Sab-districts 
are formed of one or more counties, where courts are held as oc- 
casion requires. 

THE ASYLUM FOR THE INSANE. 

This institution was established over three years ago through the 
efforts of the late Governor Howard, and has been in successful 
operation since that time. It is located on a section of land one 
mile north of the city and commands a beautiful view of the city, 
river, and surrounding country. The present buildings are but the 
nucleus oi the Asylum as planned. The last Legislature appro- 
priated 8^0,000 for the erection of a permanent building, to be 
about 200 feet long, 3 stories and basement in height, to be built 
of brick. The contractors are now at work, and it will be finished 
this year. Having a section of land donated by the United States, 
and liberal appropriations from the Legislature, this will be one of 
the largest State institutions. 

THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

Gen. W. H. H. Beadle, the Territorial Superintendent of In- 
struction, resides in Yankton, and is h.defatigable in his efforts to 
advance the cause of education. The Territorial Superintendent is 
nominated by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislative Coun- 
cil (senate), salary ^600 per annum, with ^300 for traveling ex- 
penses and 8100 for stationery, books, printing and postage. No 
other Territorial expense permitted. 

Each organized county elects every two years a County Super- 
intendent, who receives $3.00 per day for actual time employed, and 
five cents per mile for distance necessarily traveled on duty. He 
has general supervision of public schools in his county, examines 
teachers and grants certificates for not more than one year; visits 
all schools in his county at least once each year; apportions county 
general tuition fund to districts on basis of school population; re- 
ceives reports from districts and reports to Territorial Superinten- 
dent yearly, and has other minor allowances and duties. 

In the cities of Yankton, Fargo, Deadwood, Bismark and Ver- 
million, and the village of Sioux Palls, the schools are managed 
by boards of education, provided for in the municipal charters. 

The school revenues are derived almost exclusively from taxation. 
There is no vested school fund. The United States has reserved 
the 16th and 37th sections in every township to be applied to schools 
in the future State. The law levies a general tax of two mills on 



236 niSTORY OF southeastern DAKOTA. 

the dollar for tuition, which is collected and apportioned by each 
county separately. Besides this each school district may levy taxes 
for teacher's wages, school house building, and for incidental ex- 
penses, to the maximum in all of three and a quarter per cent, an- 
nually. 

The law requiries three months school in each year, and a late 
amendment authorizes every parent of a child of school age to re- 
quire six months school in default of which he may send pupils to 
any other district at cost of his own district. 

A late act authorizes every school district to borrow mone}^ at 8 
per cent, interest upon its bonds, to be used in building and fur- 
nishing school house. The amount is limited to $1,500 at most in 
each district, and the bonds run not less than ten nor more than 
twenty years. 

An act of the Legislative Assembly approved January 6th, 1875, 
provided for the establishment of a Board of Education for the city 
of Yankton, and inconsequence, Yankton's present efficient system 
of education may be said to date from that time. The Board was 
organized on the second day of Februar}'^, 1875, the first financial 
report of the^Secretary covering a period of fourteen months from 
the date of organization to the first day of April, 1876. The follow- 
ing gentlemen were the members of the first Board of Education: 
First District — F. M. Ziebach, D. T. Bramble. Second District — 
J. R. Sanborn, F. J. Dewitt. Third District— Bartlett Tripp, 
Kewton Edmunds. Fourth District— Joseph V/ard, E. P. Wilcox, 
William M. BristoU was the Secretary, Charles E. Bramble, Treas- 
urer. Mr. Bristol! was elected Secretary of the Board, February 
5th, 1875, and was at once charged, ex-officio, with the duties of 
Superintendent of the City Public Schools, both of which respon- 
sible positions he has continued ever since to most acceptably fill. 

At the same meeting an accurate census of the children of school 
age in the city, was directed to be taken. The number of persons 
of school age in Yankton for 1875, was ascertained to be 783; for 
1876, the number was 867. 

The four jjublic schools existing at tbe time of organization were 
allowed to complete the work of their winter term, and were closed 
March 26, 1875. April 5-7 a reorganization of the schools was 
effected. The East and the West Primary and the East and the 
West Intermediate Schools were opened on the 5th, the Grammar 
School on the 6th, and the High School on the 7th. 



YANKTOJS, 237 



During the spring term, the Board employed five teachers, the 
Superintendent serving as Principrl of the High School, and fur- 
nishing his own assistant. During a part of the school year, 1875 
-6, the Board had eight schools in operation and employed seven 
teachers besides the Superintendent, who cared for the High school 
as during the spring term, 1875. 

At the opening of the fall term, 1875, the East and the West In- 
termediate Schools were consolidated and a secondary school open- 
ed. The Intermediate and Secondary Schools were located in the 
center, in the Walnut Street School House, and the East and West 
Primary Schools in rented buildings, on Capital and Linn Sts., re- 
spectively. The Primary Schools became so crowded that the 
Board resorted, in November, to the plan of devoting their morn- 
ing sessions to second grade pupils and their afternoon sessions to 
first grade pupils. Ths Grammar and High Schools remained in 
the Academy building on Walnut St., which the Board had leased 
for their accommodation. 

At the opening of ths winter term, the applicants for admission 
to the schools were so numerous that a second secondary school was 
opened on the 12th of Janizary, located on Capital St., and called 
the East Secondary School, the secondary school on Walnut St. 
taking the name of West Secondary School. At this time, to re- 
move all occasion for dissatisfaction with the Primary Schools, the 
Board again threw the morning and afternoon sessions, in each of 
them, open to all the pupils belonging to them. 

In February, the last private school existing in the city was 
closed, and it was found necessary to furnish additional school ac- 
commodations by removing the West Secondary School to Dakota 
Hallon Linn St. and opening another intermediate school in the 
Walnut St. School House. The new school received the name of 
First Intermediate School and the original Intermediate School be- 
came the Second Intermediate School. 

One new two-room brick school house was built during the year, 
and, at the close of the year, the schools occupied three leased 
buildings, or in all, five school houses, containing eight school rooms 

The year '75-6 was marked, in the history of the High School, 
by the sending forth of its first graduates. At the close of the 
third anniversary exercises, by direction of President J. R. San- 
born, citing the authority of the Board, appropriate diplomas, cer- 
tifying to the completion of the courses mentioned opposite their 



238 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

names, were presented, by the Principal, to Horace Ward Sheldon, 
four years' Classical coar>e. William Henry Sanborn, four years' 
Academic course. Helen Eliot Moody, three years' Classical 
course. These are believed to be the first proper alumni of any 
institution of learninf? in Dakota Territory. 

At an adjourned meeting, on the 22d of June, it was voted to 
purchase the Academy premises, corner Sixth and Walnut streets, 
for two thousand six hundred and fifty dollars. Eleven coupon 
bonds of two hundred and forty dollars each, payable in ten years 
from the 13th day of June, 1877, and bearing interest at the rate 
often per cent, per annum, payable semi-annually, together with a 
warrant for ten dollars in cash, were issued in payment for this 
property, which consisted of three lots, with two-story school 
building (-10x36.) out houses, fences and plank walks. 

The school year ending August 31st, 1878, witnessed the com- 
pletion and occupation of the south wing of the new Franklin 
School. The foundations of this two-story, brick edifice were 
laid broad and deep, and the superstructure, with eighteen-inch 
vaulted walls to the top of the lower story and fourteen-inch above 
to the cornice, substantially erected thereupon. This wing is 
33x1-1 f33t in its extsrior dimMinoa?, ani, with its two frame ves- 
tibules, affords accommodations for two schools, one below and 
one above, with the necessary hallways, stairways, recitation, 
cloak and janitor's room. 

According to the school census of 1881, the number of persons 
of school age in Yankton was 1,122; number of school rooms 
owned by the city and used for school purposes during the year, 
eight; rooms leased for school purposes, two — total rooms so used, 
ten. 

The public schools of Yankton have justly achieved a most envi- 
able reputation. The standard of education is high, and through- 
out every department a system is maintained which is thoroughly 
in keeping with the progressive spirit of the best schools of the 
East. The present corps of teachers is as follows: 

William M. Bristoll, Principal. 
Viola T. Hayes, Second Wehster Primary. 
Maggie E. Cooley, Fourth Primary. 
May Lynch, First Webster Primary. 
Hannah S. Prime, Third Primary. 
Henrietta Fellows, Third Grammar. 
Anna E. Hoyt, Second Linn St. Primary. 



YANKTJN. 239 

Carrie E. Lawrence, Assistant 2d and 8d Grammar. 
Louisa A. Mclntyre, First Linn St. Primary. 
Duane Rifenbark, High School. 
Gertie E. Flanagan, First Grammar. 
Mary A. Lawrence, Second Grammar. 

Janitors — William H. Werdebaugh, Franklin and Linn St. Schools. Robert 
Thogerson, Walnut St. and Webster S 'hools. 

THE UNIVERSITY OF YANKTON. 

This institution under the auspices of the Congregational 
churches of Dakota has been located here. $13,000 have been 
subscribed by the citizens of Yankton towards erecting suitable 
buildings, and $50,000 has been promised by wealthy members of 
this denomination residing in the eastern States. Commodious 
buildings will soon be erected on a commanding site in the north 
part of the city. 

The Court House is a substantial two story brick structure 
erected at a cost of about $12,000. Connected with it, and under 
the control of the sheriff, is the county jail. 

THE ACADEMY OF THE SACRED HEART. 

The Academy is a large commodious building, built of brick, 
three stories high, situated on the highest eminence west of the 
city. It has grounds covering three blocks, and from its cupola 
the view is unsurpassed. Twenty Sisters of Mercy reside here. 
They have thirty young lady boarders, beside a large attendance of 
day scholars and a parochial school on Cedar street. They have 
recently erected a large brick residence for the chaplain, and the 
Bishop of Dako*"a intends building on the adjoining grounds a large 
and beautiful residence. 

CHURCHES AND SOCIETIES. 

The following churches have been built in Yankton and have 
resident pastors, viz: Congregational, Methodist, Episcopal, Bap- 
tist, Univei'salist, Catholic, (rerman Evangelical, Lutheran, Re- 
formed Lutheran, Scandinavian and Russian. Rev. Joseph Ward 
is the pastor of the Congregational Society; Rev. Wilmot Whit- 
field, of the Methodist; Dr. E. Epstein, of the Baptist; Rev. W. L. 
Willard, of the Catholic, and Rev. Mr. Hielscher, of the German 
Evangelical Society. 

The Women's Christian Temperance Union of Yankton was 
organized in the winter of 1879-80, with Mrs. Dunlap as President. 
The present officers are: Mrs. James McVay, President; Mrs. H. 
H. Smith, Mrs. 0. H. Carney, Vice-Presidents; Mrs. A. W. How- 



2-10 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

ard, Treasurer; Mrs. J. B, Van Velson, Secretary. In February, 
1881, rooms were opened, where refreshments could be served and 
reading matter furnished, and after a temporary suspension on 
account of the floods, rooms were again opened on the 21st of 
May. The present rooms are commodious and comfortable, well 
furnished and conducted in the cosiest possible manner. Coffee 
and other refreshments are served at all hours, and the rooms are 
supplied with the choicest and latest periodicals. Socials and other 
entertainments are occasionally held in these rooms, the proceeds 
of which go to defray expenses. The rooms are in charge of Mrs. 
C. N. Thompson. This practical step in the direction of Temper- 
ance reform deservedly meets Avith the encouragement of the 
citizens. 

St. John's Lodge No. 1, A. F. and A. M. — Instituted in June, 
1863, under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Iowa, its num- 
ber at that time being 166. In 1875, the Grand Lodge of Dakota 
was organized, and this Lodge then became No. 1. Charter mem- 
bers and first officers: M. Hoyt, W. M.; D. T. Bramble, S. W.; 
John Hutchinson, J. W.; G. N. Propper, S. D.; F. M. Ziebach, J. 
D.; M. K. Armstrong, Secretary; G. W. Kingsbury, Treasurer; 
B. E. Wood, Tyler; H. C. Ash, Nelson Miner, Justus Townsend, 
J. M. Allen. Present officers: F. J. Dewitt, M.; I. E. West, S. 
W.; William Goodwin, J. W.; W. H. H. Beadle, S. D.; I). McCully, 
J. D.; W . H. Edmunds. Secretary; J. R. Sanborn, Treasurer; T. 
L. Pratt, Tyler. The Lodge's membership is about eighty, and its 
condition prosperous. Meetings are held the first and third Tues- 
day evenings in each month. 

Yankton Chapter No. ?, R. A. 3/.— Holds its meetings on the 
second and third Tuesday in each month at Masonic Hall. It was 
instituted in 1878. William Blatt is H. P., John 0. Bates, Secre- 
tary. The membership is about forty-five. 

Dakota Lodge No. 7, /. 0. 0. 7^'.,^Instituted May 25th, 1870. 
First officers: N. J. Catill, N. G.; E. 0. Norton, Secretary. Pres- 
ent officers: Peter Royem. N. G.; John 0. Bates, Secretary. 

Humboldt Lodge No. 5 J. 0. 0. i^.— Instituted March 11th, 1871. 
First officers: William Blatt, N. G.; M. P. Ohlnian, Secretary. 
Present officers: C. Hameister, N. G.; George Bauman, Secretary. 

Yankton Encampment No. 2, I. 0. 0. F. — Instituted May 4th, 
1875. First officers: William Blatt, H. P.; C. S. Deming, Scribe. 
Present officers: A. F. Brecht, H. P.; J. Kingsbury, Scribe. 



YANKTOISr. 241 



Grand Lodge of Dakota, I. 0. 0. F. — Instituted October 13th, 
1875. First officers: Ezra W. Miller, of Elk Point, G. M.; Ralph 
R. Briggs, of Vermillion, G. S. Present officers: W. A. Bentley, 
of Bismarck, G. M.; Ralph R. Briggs, of Sioux Falls, G. S. 

Grand Encampment of Dakota^ I. 0. 0. F. — Instituted August 
10th, 1881. First officers: Frank S. Emerson, of Sioux Falls, G. 
P.; A. J. Romne, of Elk Point, G. S. Present officers: D. S. 
Dodds, of Grand Forks, G. P.; Ralph R. Briggs, of Sioux Falls, G. S. 

ARTESIA]Sr WELL AXD MIJflXG COMPANY. 

The Yankton Artesian Well and Mining Company was organ- 
ized in September, 1880. The officers of the Company were as 
follows: J. C. McVay, President; E. T. White, Secretary; J. M. 
Fogerty, Treasurer; W. P. Dewey, Attorney; J. C. McVay, E. E. 
Hudson, F. L. Van Tassel, A. W, Lavender, I. Piles, Directors. 
There were about thirty-eight members originally. The capital 
stock was ^10,000, with a privilege of increasing to ^50,000. 

In December, 1880, the contract for boring an artesian well 
was let to Mars & Miller, of ('hicago, and work was begun 
early in the summer of 1881. Water was "struck" at a depth 
of about four hundred feet, in July, and about one hundred feet 
further down, a water supply of from one hundred and eighty 
to two hundred gallons per minute, was reached. The well is 
located on the hill west of the city, and the Company has purchased 
ten acres of the land surrounding it. It is the intention to con- 
struct a complete system of water Avorks for the city, which are 
expected to be ready for operation in 1882. The estimated cost of 
the entire works is less than $50,000. Everything connected with 
the enterprise is so favorable, that its success appears to be already 
as sured. The following are the present officers of the Company: 
I. Piles, President; E. T. White, Secretary; Leighton Wynn, 
Treasurer; E. E. Hudson, F. L. Van Tassel, A. W. Lavender, G. R. 
S cougal, I. Piles, Directors. 

Yankton is in every respect a beautiful city — both from its ad- 
V antageous and picturesque location, and from the substantial 
character of its public, private and business buildings. The amount 
of business, wholesale and retail, which is transacted in Yankton, 
would be incredible in any other locality than the Great North- 
west, population and the disadvantages peculiar to a new country 
being taken into consideration. The business men of Yankton, 
t aken as a class, are live, energetic and responsible gentlemen, who 



242 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

have both the capacity, the means and the will, to make the most 
of present opportunities. The reader may confidently rely upon it 
—if there is aught to be known of the future from the substantial 
indications of the present — that in the years to come, few cities 
will command greater attention, achieve greater prosperity, or 
exert a wider influence upon the commercial world about them, 
than the Capital of the future Empire of the Northwest. 

ADDITIONS TO THE CITY OF YANKTON. 

The following are the plats, or additions, which make up the 
city of Yankton: 

1 — ^Yankton. 2 — Witherspoon's Yankton. 3 — Lower Yank- 
ton. 4 — Central Yankton. 5 — West Yankton. 6 — North Yank- 
ton. 7— East Yankton. 8— B. C. Fowler's Addition. 9— H. C. 
Ash's Addition. 10 — John Noble's Addition. 11 — Glazier's Ad- 
dition. 12— Presho's Addition. 13— B. C. Ash's Addition. 14— 
English's Addition. 15 — Collamer's Addition. 16 — Wetmore & 
Stew^art's Addition. 17 — Hoffman's Addition. 18 — W. A. Bur- 
leigh's Addition. 19— C. & S. Eiseman's First Addition. 20— C. 
& S. Eiseman's Second Addition. 21 — Thompson & Hanson's Ad- 
dition. 22 — Reinhold's Addition. 23 — Julia A. Presho's Addition. 
24 — W. B. Valentine's Addition, 25 — S. C. Fargo's Sub-division. 
26 — Extension of Lower Yankton by J. R. Hanson & Co., and W. 
W. Brookings. 27— J. D. Sears' Addition. 28.— Picotte & Han- 
son's Sub-division of part of Lower Yankton. 

OFFICIAL DIRECTOKY. 

Mayor — J. R. Sanborn. 

Clerk— Y.. T. White. 

Treasurer — William Blatt. 

Justice of the Pence — G. W. Roberts. 

Marshal — William Reinhardt. 

Police — P. C. Conway. 

Surveyor — E. D. Palmer. 

Phi/sician — J. M. Miller. 

W eighmaster — H. W. Pike. 

Aldermen— J. L. Foskett, Chairman; Dr. D. F. Etter, W. M. Powers, C. J. 
B. Harris, Patrick Brennan, Joseph Bader, Jacob Max, Zma Richey. 

Board of Education — First District — William P. Dewey, J. C. McVay. Sec- 
ond District — Josiah R. Sanborn, G. W. Kingsbury. Third District — Newton 
Edmunds, Bartlett Tripp. Fourth District — Joseph Ward, H. F. Living,-ton. 
Secretary — William M. BristoU. Treasurer — William Blatt. 

Judge of District Court — P. C. Shannon. 

Clerk of District Court — A. J. Faulk. 



YANKTON, 243 



BUSINESS DIKECTORT. 

Attoi-nei/s—G. J. B. Harris, Dewey & French, Tripp & Boyles, S. H. Gruber, 
Geo. H. Hand, I. E. West, Campbell & Smith, Phil. K. Faulk, Gamble Bros., 
E. L. Fletcher, Oliver Shannon, N. J. Cramer, E. T. White. 

Eeal Estate— G. W. Roberts, G. P. Hay ward & Co., E. L. Fletcher, M. M. 
Matthieson, C. J. B. Harris. 

Physicians— Z. M. Miller, D. F. Etter, James Buchanan, James McGregor, 
Geo. W. Vanderhule, J. B. Vanvelsor, V. Sebiakinross. 

Banks — First National Bank, McKinney & Scougal, Edmunds & Wynn. 

Dentists— W. H. H. Brown, H. D. Dodge. 

Druggists— Mills & Purdy, Eugene Webber, E. M. Coates, G. W. Vander- 
hule, Geo. Taman, Peter Neff. 

Dn/ Goods— L. D. Palmer, Chas. Eiseman, Jacob Max, N. Anderson, Chris- 
tian Steinbach. 

Clothing— Rdrry Katz, John 0. Bates. 

TaiVors— Hacker & Grebe, R. G. Grady. 

Boots & Shoes — I. Piles, John J. DufFack, Jno. A. Weeks, Jacob Max, Chris- 
tian Steinbach. 

Wholesale Grocers — Bramble, Miner & Co. 

Grocers — Jacob Max, A. W. Lavender, Wm. Blatt, H. W. Pike, Christian 
Steinbach, J. L. Norris, Albert Zimhcka, Walter H. Carr, 0. P. Hage. N. An- 
derson, T. F. Marshall, Dan. McDevitt, Samuel Vance. 

Carpenter Shops — Osborn Evenson, Pratt & Goodwin, E'red. Burgi, A. Dil- 
linger, G. Burgi, John Thornton, W. F. Lauman, T. Moore. 

Meat Markets — Wyman & Ward, Mike Brennan, Patrick Brennan, Maxwell 
& Lingo. 

Hides and Leather — Peir & Luebke. 

Wholesale Liquors — Adler & Ohlman, J. Hirshtein, J. E. Bruel. 

Wholesale Cigars and Tobaccos — Adler & Ohlman, F. Hirshtein, Bramble, 
Miner & Co., J. E. Bruce. 

Queensivare — Marshall & Odiorne, 0. P. Hage. 

Newspapers — Press and Dakotaian, Daily and Weekly, Bowen & Kingsbury, 
Proprietors. Dakota Herald, Taylor & Sargent, Proprietors. Frie Presse, G. 
A. Wetter, Proprietor. 

Book Binderif — Bowen & Kingsbury. 

Hardware — Geo. E. Hawley, Wynn & Buckwalter, E. E. Richey, Shroeder 
& Bates, J. C. Morman, Orth & Huber. 

Furniture — J. R. Sanborn k Son. 

Agricultural Implements — Gardner Bros., Wynn & Buckwalter, Wilcox & 
WiUiams. J. L. Foskett. 

Gunsmiths — Geo. Wagner, H. B. White. 

Livery — Louis H. Eliot, Peter StefFen, Wm. M. Powers. 

Millinery — C. A. Lyons & Co., E. J. Coggins, Mrs. E. J. Morrow. 

Hair Dresser — Mrs. Pray. 

Photographers — S. J. Morrow; De Long & Son. 

Saloons — Geo. Brown, J. F. Evans, John Larton, Albert Zemlicka, Jacob 
Branch. Lev. Biermeyer, Fred. Lerch, M. Demendes, J. H. Balmat, Wallbaum 
& Becker, Frank Schepperheyn. 



24 -t HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

Harness amd Saddlerij—J . M. Fogarty, John Novotney, D. B. Cooley. 

Confectioner!/, Etc— II. A. Schoregge & Son. Walter H. Carr, H. W. Pike, 
Jenkinson Bros. 

Books and Stationery — rostoffice News Company, A. W. Howard, proprietor; 
Mills it Purely. 

Hotels — Jcncks Hotel, Jcncks & Son; Merchants Hotel; Smithsonian, H. H. 
Smith: Germania House, Wallbaum & Baker; Bradley- House, .1. C. Curtis; 
Central Hotel, John Jacobs; Madison House, Fred Kincie; Eagle House, Au- 
gustus Kountz; Minnesota Hotel, Joseph Bolder; American House, N. Morgan; 
Pacific Hotel, George Wagner; Chicago House, Charles Brotherson; Farmers' 
Home, Leo Beermeyer; Custer House, Chas. Long; Skandinavisk Hotel, Ole 
Cook. 

Steamboat Lines — Coulson Line, S. B. Coulson, Manasrer; J. C. McVay, 
Secretary and Treasurer. Peck Line, A. C. Aiken, Manager. 

Wacfon Making and BlaclsmitJiiny — Tyler & Nissen, Carr & Sanderson. 

Painting — Semple & Munroe, William Tobin, John Bramsen. 

Architects — John Thornton, A. E. Cobby, W. L. Daw. 

Lumber — E. P. Wilcox. St. Croix Lumber Co.; Michigan and Chicago Lum- 
ber Co. — J. D. Hoskin, Proprietor. 

Foundry — J.J. Campbell, Martin L Anderson. 

Jewelers— E. G. Cark, J. P. Redaelli, John Otto, C. Wedell. 

Flouring Mill — Excelsior Mill Company, Bramble, Miner it Co., Proprietors. 

Mill Furnisher — Samuel Kaucher. 

Auctioneer — L. M. Kee. 

Butter and Eggs — Smith and Farr. 

Music — Mrs. M. M. Sullivan, Mrs. Whitney. 

Sewing Machines — F. Hammond, C. A. Lyons & Co., Orth & Huber. 

Farriers — Stockwell & Buchanan. 




THE FLOOD AT YANKTON. 



The following facts concerning the great flood at Yankton in 
the spring of 1881, are taken from the Dakota Herald's series of 
graphic accounts, which were subsequently printed in pamphlet 
form : 

[Dakota Herald, April 2i\.] 
For years people have listened to tales of high water in the Mis- 
souri River, told by Indians and " oldest inhabitants;" listened 
generally with incredulity, and sometimes with open mockery. 
Since 1862, the spring breakup has never been attended with any 
disaster, save in isolated cases, and it is not to be wondered at that 
the settlers on the bottoms had been lulled into a false sense of se- 
curity, and regarded the stories handed down in regard to the great 
inundations of past years as the mere vaporings of chronic exag- 
gerations. But it has been a terrible awakening; the worst stories 
of the past have been far surpassed by the horrors of the actual 
present. For ten days the Missouri River Valley for hundreds of 
miles has been covered with a seething torrent of water and ice. 
Whole towns have been absolutely obliterated, many lives have 
been lost, property incalculable has been swept away, and hundreds 
of people, but yesterday in comparative affluence, are to-day little 
else but beggars. It is utterly useless to attempt to describe it as it 
is, but following will be found a clear, concise and careful state- 
ment of the facts so far as the Herald has been able 'to collect 
them. News is as yet painfully wanting, but we trust that the 
horror of the full revelation will not be any considerably greater 
than that which now weighs down our people: 

THE BREAKUP. 

The river at this point, long watched with fear and trembling, 
at four o'clock, Sunday afternoon, with scarcely a preliminary sign, 
burst its icy covering, and in a few moments the whole channel was 
one solid mass of heaving, groaning, grinding cakes of ice, tossed 
and tumbled into every conceivable shape by the resistless current. 

As the ice broke up the river rose with almost inc] edible rapidity, 
and in a few moments was nearly bank-full. The steamer West- 
ern, lying just below the ways, was the first victim of the ice. An 
immense cake was hurled against her side, near the stern, makincr 



246 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA 

a hole nearly twenty feet long, tlirough which the water rushed 
with terrible swiftness, and in spite of the efforts of a large corps 
of pumpmen, she soon filled and sank. The water began to sub- 
side about five o'clock and the people breathed easier, thinking that 
the worst was over However, the upward movement soon com- 
menced again, and continued all day Monday^ the whole bed of the 
river being constantly filled with moving ice. Monday afternoon 
word was received that the whole Jim River Bottom below the city 
was overflowed from bluff to bluff, something never before known. 
This report was quickly succeeded by another to the effect that 
many families living in that section were completely cut off from 
escape and in need of assistance. Tuesday morning several 
boats were sent out from the city, which succeeded in rescuing 
several families. Others were left and an account of their fate 
will be found below. 

Many of our citizens, on Tuesday, took occasion to visit the bluffs 
at Major Hanson's place, and the view there presented was truly 
grand, not to say terrible. As far as the eye could reach was an 
unbroken volume of water, moving steadily along, bearing on its 
bosom huge cakes of ice, and dotted here and there by half-sub- 
merged farm-houses, whose inmates had fled to the hills for safety. 
Where the mighty current swept across the railroad track the rails 
were twisted and dragged long distances by the ice, while telegraph 
poles, fence posts and small trees were snapped in two like tallow 
candles. Cattle and horses were floundering and struggling in the 
flood, every cake of ice was freighted with a passenger list of small 
animals, while here and there a small skiff, manned with rescu- 
ers from Yankton, paddled about from house to house, seeking after 
straggling persons who had been caught by the Avater. It was a 
spectacle long to he remembered, and one that a man might well 
pray to never behold again. 

THE GORGE. 

Tuesday evening at five o'clock the ice which had been sweep- 
ing by the city all day, suddenly formed a gorge a few miles below 
the cit}^ which held firm all night, meauAvhile extending itself far 
up the river toward Springfield. A deathly stillness hung over the 
bosom of the river as if in omen of the awful burst of seeming rage 
that was to follow. Men watched Avitli anxious eyes, fearing the 
worst. Suddenly, Wednesday morning at 11:30 o'clock a shudder 
ran through the vast body of the gorge, when-' great hillocks of 



THE FLOOD AT YANKTON". 247 

ice were piled in solid layers rods high. The waters gave a mighty- 
roar like some blood-thirsty giant awaking from troubled sleep, and 
with a sudden jerk the whole tremendous mass began to rear, and 
crash, and tumble, as if it knew of its awful power for destruction 
and was giving way to pranks of diabolical glee. As the millions 
upon millions of tons of icy matter moved off down the river, the 
water began to creep up the banks. 

Up, up it came, faster and faster, until it could fairly be seen to 
crawl up the ascent. Huge cakes of ice went hurtling against the 
sides of the steamers along the ways, crushing great holes in their 
hulls, snapping immense hawsers, and precipitating the Black Hills^ 
Helena and Butte into one common jumble. Still it rose, poured 
over the railroad track, hurling the little ferry boat, Livingston, 
clear across it, and even carrying the gigantic Nellie Peck and 
Peuinah far up on the bank. It now appeared to rest a moment, 
and then with a resistless force and a mighty swell, on it came 
again. From the bottling works, down along the river front to 
where the water had come out the day before, the torrent poured 
into the lower part of the city, actually seeming to have a fall of 
from six inches to a foot directly out of the river. Then ensued a 
scene that our pencil is inadequate to describe. People ran hither 
and thither in wild excitement. Household goods were hastily 
thrown into wagons and removed to places of safety. Shouting, 
swearing men, weeping women and children, pawing, frightened 
horses, all combined with the roaring, rushing waves to form a pic- 
ture to delight the heart of the monarch of Pandemonium. As the 
waters rose higher and higher, skiffs, yawls and other small craft, 
began to shoot through the streetsi n lieu of the vehicles. Furniture, 
clothing and babies were handed out of the windows and ferried 
to high ground. Out-houses and movable truck danced around on 
the surface. . Hogs and chickens squealed and squawked and swam 
and flew to places of safety. The first to move to what they consid- 
ered safe ground were chased by the exultant waves and forced to 
again "move on." All through the lower part of the city — every- 
where in fact below the bench — roared an angry, surging torrent 
of yellow water, from one to six feet in depth, literally covered 
with the debris incident to a great fload, all banging, smashing and 
rolling about in one common medley. Looking south and east it 
Avas a solid I'iver twenty miles wide, rolling, a very besom of de- 
struction, cutting a swath of havoc and ruin which cannot be com- 



248 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

puted. Down the channel of tlie river swept hay-stacks, water- 
tanks, live animals and the fragments of fences, houses, &c., w'hich 
had been swept from God knows where up the river. Far over on 
the Nebraska bottoms could be seen clusters of cattle on ever3'.knoll 
and as the water rose inch by inch, and the ice swept over and crush- 
ed them between its ponderous fragments,the struggles of the poor 
animals could be plainly seen. Great trees struck by the jagged 
chunks, Avhipped and shook as though jarred by a heavy wind, and 
finally would be cut clean off and tumbled into the vseething hell 
of waters Avhich roared about them. Here and there appeared the 
roof of a house, and alas ! in too many instances, that roof held 
human beings, clinging to it in a desperate effort to save themselves 
from a watery grave. Women, and strong men, too. turned away 
from the awful sight, and refused to look upon it. No man ever 
wants to see the like again. 

THE DESTRUCTION OF GREEN ISLAND. 

It had been apprehended for weeks past that Green Island, just 
across the river from Yankton, would suffer in case of high w^ater, 
and many of the inhabitants had made preparations for it by re- 
moving their household goods and stock to high ground. But 
nobody was prepared for the awful catastrophe which came on 
Wednesday, and in a few hours swept from existence a busy little 
town of 150 people, together it is feared with several of its resi- 
dents. On Tuesday, it was apparent from this shore that the town 
was entirely surrounded by water, and the few people left in it 
could be seen busily engaged in removing stock to a high knoll 
just back of the village, there being some determined spirits Avho 
were evidently resolved to sta}^ till the last. Attempts were made 
to communicate with them, but unavailingly. When the gorge 
broke on Wednesday, those who were watching Green Island soon 
discovered that the ice was being forced around in the rear of the 
town from above, and it was not long until it was encompa.'ised on 
every side by strong and wide currents, across which no living 
thing could attempt a passage without certain death staring them 
in the face. A thrill of horror ran through the spectators on this 
shore, and from that time until the final collapse, every eye was 
rivited as if by an awful fascination upon the doomed village. 
Higher and higher crept the environing torrents, and nearer and 
nearer swept the horrible masses of ice. At last it could be seen 



THE FLOOD AT YANKTON. 240 

by aid of glasses that the water covered the entire town. Borne 
on the hissing, gurgling breakers, the ice commenced to thunder 
through the streets and against the houses. The madden el strug- 
gles of the cattle and horses as they floundered about in the icy bil- 
lows could be plainly witnessed, but they were soon swept away. 
The water rose until it appeared as if little but the upper sto- 
ries of the buildings was unsubmerged, and at last the village 
church, aliandsome structure with a tall spire, unable to longer 
withstand the ponderous blows of the huge floes, was seen to leave 
its foundations, turn half way round, and then float gracefully off 
with the current. Its course was destinctly visible until the top 
of its spire disappeared behind a strip of timber about a mile from 
the town, where it went to pieces. Shortly after another building 
floated away, and then followed in quick succession five or six 
others, including the large hotel and school house. On the roofs 
of several, persons could be distinguished, but as the buildings were 
caught in the maelstrom of ice and water and twisted and tum- 
bled about, the tenants were seen one by one to lose their hold and 
drop into the waves until not one remained. No words can de- 
scribe the horror of that terrible sight, as witnessed by thousands 
of awe-filled eyes from Yankton's house-tops. In two hours from 
the time the first mass of ice crashed into the village, not a house 
was left standing, save one store, which being prq,tected by large 
trees, and lined with brick, still stands, though battered and crush- 
ed into a shapeless hovel. The mind of the most imaginative 
writer of fiction that ever lived never pictured a destruction more 
swift, more complete, or more dreadful. 

The foregoing is a brief and imperfect description of the floods 
of Wednesday, as they appeared from this point. 

THE STEAMBOATS. 

The damage done to steamboats on all the lines with head- 
quarters at Yankton is almost incalculable. Every boat at or in 
the vicinity of Yankton is damaged terribly. The Western is en- 
tirely gone — torn into kindling wood. The Butte is broken square 
in two in the middle, and is considered a total loss. The Helena 
is twisted like an auger, and jammed full of holes. It is doubtful 
whether she can be made serviceable again this season. The Black 
Hills, of the three boats on the ways, is the least damaged, but 
even she is badly racked and crushed. The Peninah and Nellie 
Peck were driven high and dry on the bank, where they now lie 



250 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTEKX DAKOTA. 

in a badly sli uttered condition. The Yankton ferry-boat. Living- 
stone was driven clear across the railroad track, where she 
now lies. It will require an enormous expenditure to get all of 
these boats repaired and into the channel again. Old steamboat- 
men say that in all their experience on the river, they have never 
known so disastrous a series of losses. 

The people of Yankton never exhibited themselves in a better 
light than during the terrible experiences of the past week. Every 
one, so far as our knowledge extends, has exerted himself to re- 
lieve the sufferings of the inundated population, and on AVednes- 
day night every house in the upper portion of the city Avas placed 
at the disposal of the people fleeing from the waters. Food, cloth- 
ing and fire were furnished for all, and we believe that there were 
no cases of actual physical suffering. 

It was a weird and picturesque scene that was presented on the 
river front Thursday morning, and one might imagine that he 
was gazing at one of the imaginary pictures drawn by Jules Verne 
in his "Field of Ice." The cold wind had frozen the gigantic piles 
of ice which had gorged on the shore the day previous, solid, and a 
thousand fastastic shapes and pinnacles were presented. The great 
boats were sheathed in an icy armour, and the strange manner in 
which they were strewn about, added to the novelty of the sight. 
The oldest inhabitant even was silent, and privately acknowledged 
that he had never seen anything to equal it. 



[The Dakota Herald, April 9th. J 
THE GREAT G0RC4E. 

Terrible as was the inundation described in last week's Herald^ 
it pales before the horrors of the one which has deluged the face 
of the earth, for four hundred miles up and down the Missouri 
River during the past week. While more actual loss of life and 
property may have resulted from the terrible suddenness of the 
first onslaught of the turbid tide, in the heighth reached by the 
water and in the awful body of ice born on its current the second 
and latest rise completely overshadows the former. The spectacle 
as furnished the sight-seers from Sunday evening until Wednes- 
day morning was one constant panorama of continually changing 
scenes of interest, all Idended into a phantasmagoria of awful sub- 



THE FLOOD AT YANKTON". 251 

liniityancl grandeur by the knowledge of the tremendous destruc- 
tion of property and life that all felt must be taking place, when- 
ever such life and property were located on the valley lands drained 
by the monstrous and merciless river. Briefly described, the man- 
ner of the coming of the last rise was as follows: As stated last 
week, after the great rise of Wednesday the 30tli ult., which in- 
undated lower Yankton and the Jim River bottoms, and swept the 
town of Green Island out of existence in a few hours, the river fell 
rapidly back into its banks. Thursday, Friday and Saturday, it 
remained with but little change, although constantly filled with 
floating ice, sometimes in greater quantities than others. On Sun- 
day morning, however, it commenced to rise rapidly, owing to the 
gathering of the ice a few miles below the city. The water con- 
tinued to come steadily up all day, the gorge meanwhile extending 
itself up the river with amazing swiftness. Towards evening peo- 
ple living in the lower part of the city, who had moved back after 
the falling of the first rise, again began to move out, and that 
their fears were well grounded, was proven on Monday morning, 
when the waters again covered all that portion of the city below 
the bench. All day Monday the gorge held firm, with the excep- 
tion of intervals for a moment or two, when it would groan and 
heave and move a few rods down the stream, only to become sta- 
tionary again. The water rose steadily all the time^ and the press- 
ure brought to bear on the gorge must have been incalculable. 
When the tremendous mass would move down the river, on one of 
its semi-occasional jerks, great masses of ice weighing many tons, 
would be forced high in the air and borne along until finally they 
would be overridden by a piece yet larger than themselves and 
agaiu forced under. The large trees, a foot or more in diameter, 
which stood on the side of the bank on the point just above the 
city, were submerged by the rising torrent and finally cut smooth 
oft' and dragged under as if in the tentacles of one of the mighty 
devil fishes described by Hugo. The whole Green Island bottom 
opposite the city was again being ground beneath the mighty mill- 
stones of ice, heaving and rolling about as if seeking fresh prey on 
that devastated spot. This was the only place where the ice 
moved continually on Monday. The gorge continued all night 
Monday and all day Tuesday, with but little change of its features. 
All this time the streets were literally alive with people. At last, 
on Tuesday evening at 4 o'clock the mighty wall of ice suddenly 



25'? HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

gathered itself for a last assault, and then with a resounding roar 
gave way and went tumbling down in one mighty avalanche of de- 
struction, awful to gaze upon and grand beyond description in its 
resistless progress. The water fairly leaped up, and in a few mo- 
ments had reached its highest altitude since the beginning of the 
flood — 41 feet above low water mark. Below town the current 
swept straight out across the bottom, the gorge having not yet 
broken five miles below the city. The same scenes were enacted 
as on the Wednesday previous. The water rushed through the 
lower part of the city like a mill-race. Solid cakes of clear, blue 
ice, three feet thick and of vast circumference, were carried along 
with amazing swiftness. All that saved the entire lower part of 
the city from destruction, was the fact that the huge bank of ice 
formed on this side during the first gorge, and left there by the 
receding waters, held firm and prevented the immense body of ice 
in the channel from rushing Yanktonwards. As it was, the lower 
Goverment warehouse was entirely destroyed, the small one just 
below the ways, ditto, while the middle one is but little better than 
a total loss. E. P. Wilcox's mammoth stock of lumber was en- 
tirely lost with the exception of a small quantity in the sheds on 
the west side, which stood the flood. A huge floe struck the cor- 
ner of Tom Stewart's house, literally tearing the entire end out of 
it. Nearly every house in the district bounded by Capitol street on 
the west, and Third street on the north, is scarred and battered, 
and many of them damaged considerably. Many small barns and 
sheds were carried off bodily. 

The torrent continued to pour out over the bottom between 
Risling's farm and Kunze's brick yard for about two hours, and 
fears were entertained that another gorge would be formed there, 
but about 7 o'clock the big gorge in the river below Risling's tim- 
ber burst, and the terrible storm of ice and water took to its first 
love, the main channel, and the water fell more rapidly than it 
had risen. By ten o'clock the water was out of the city limits and 
by Wednesday morning the streets were again passable. But it 
was a scene of dessolation and ruin that presented itself. Little 
but the bare houses and the great mass'es of ice, tons in a place, 
remained. Everything moveable had been swe})t away. Scarcely 
a piece of wood in the shape of fences, fuel, barrels, boxes, and 
small utensils had escaped. But looking over toward the 
river bank where hugh mountains of ice reared their heads twenty 



THE FLOOD AT YANKTON". 253 

feet high, the people could well afford to be thankful. Had that 
shore gorge given completely away and allowed the heaving chan- 
nel, which watchers say was at times ten feet higher than the 
shore, to sweep through the city, it is doubtful whether a house 
would have been left standing in the inundated region, or a steam- 
er remained at the levee. 

Cruel and savage as those awful glaciers appear, the salvation of 
lower Yankton resulted from their remaining where they did, and 
nothing but the fact that the receding of the waters of the first 
gorge allowed them to settle into the mud of the bar, where they 
were frozen into a solid mass, from six to twenty feet deep, a mile 
long and from twenty to forty rods wide, prevented them from be- 
ing driven from their places by the Titanic strength of Tuesday's 
rise, and hurled through the streets, plowing a furrow of destruc- 
tion sickening to contemplate. Enough ice did break through to 
show its power, and the result if the whole had moved cannot be 
doubted. The fate that was Green Island's would have been lower 
Yankton's, and where the loss can now be computed by tens of 
thousands, it would have been hundreds of thousands. 

THE SUBMERGED BOTTOMS. 

The reports brought in from time to time, this week, by parties 
engaged in the work of rescuing the inhabitants from the bottoms, 
between Yankton and Vermillion, are of the most horrifying de- 
scription. A thickly settled valley, twenty-five miles long and 
from five to ten miles wide, which two weeks ago presented a rich 
and flourishing aspect, dotted closely with cozy and comfortable 
farm houses, is now nothing but a desert of water and ice, whose 
monotony is only broken here and there by the roof of some house 
or the tops of a grove of trees. The gi-eat ice floes are piled in fan- 
tastic shapes, which rival the very Bad Lands for wonderful views, 
while the air of utter desolation and woe which hangs over this 
Gehenna of destroying elements chills the stoutest heart. Not a 
foot of this whole tract but is covered not less than two feet with 
water. Many of the lighter and less substantial houses have been 
carried away, while of the hundreds of barns and sheds with their 
thousands of cattle, horses and hogs, but a very small portion re- 
mains. It is amid such scenes of sorrow^ and sadness as these that 
the crews of Capt. Lavender, S. K. I^elton, J. H. Moulton, Erick 
Iverson, C.H.Bates, Capt. Noble, Wm. Giggey and many others, 
have been working for over a week past. During that time they 



254 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

have removed iitMrly tliree Jiundred people to the bluffs, and the 
Avovk is still going on, many people being yet on the bottoms. 

UP THE RIVER. 

The reports received this week from points above Yankton, 
nearly all confirm the worst published in our last issue. Commen- 
cing at Smutty Bear bottom two or three miles above the city, and 
extending to INIandan, opposite Bismarck, is but the''unbroken 
record of casualty and disaster. .Everything within the reach of 
the .yeasty mountains of water that have passed us, has been 
swallowed up, and reports of loss of life are quite numerous 
Frankfort bottom, opposite Smutty Bear, which was well stocked 
with horses and cattle, is ripped from end to end, and is now but 
one solid field of ice. Hundreds of animals were seen to be over- 
whelmed from this side, but nothing is yet definitely known as to 
the loss of human life. 

GREEN" island's HORROR. 

The horrible catastrophe which overtook Green Island last week 
loses nothing of its appalling features, save that there is now a 
probability that no lives were lost save that of Mischke, who ^is 
yet unaccounted for. Most of the people have been removed to 
this side or to the Nebraska bluffs, although at the time of the 
flood on Monday and Tuesday of this week, there were still people 
at the Morton residence and the brick house below town. Noth- 
ing has been heard from them since then, but they are believed to 
be all right. The narratives of some of the rescued who are stop- 
ping in Yankton are thrilling in the extreme. Clinging to house- 
tops and trees, they may be said to have fought a hand-to-hand 
fight. Not a man on the whole bottom saved a dollar's worth of 
property, with the exception of a few head of cattle which gath- 
ered on the high knoll at the Morton residence. The net loss 
must be nearly $50,000, not taking into consideration the incalcu- 
lable value of many household goods destroyed, which were hal- 
lowed by the tender memories of a life time, and which, had they 
been saved, would have gone far toward breaking the bitterness of 
the greater losses. 

The lives actually known to be lost, as reported thus far, are 
remarkably few, considering the scenes of deadly peril that so 
many have passed through. We pray that the list may not be 
swollen by fuller particulars from isolated places. The following 



THE FLOOD AT YANKTOX, 255 

are the only persons known to be drowned, and those who are gen- 
erally given up: Joseph Inch, Hans Cole, J. Mischke, Joseph Loe- 
ber, Frank Bates, wife and child. Wm. Hadderman, unknown man 
and squaw at White Swan. 

At the time of the issuance of this pamphlet (April 9th, 1881), 
the waters are rapidly subsiding. The reports that come in from 
the submerged sections are in the highest degree encouraging, and 
but for the loss of property and the suffering engendered hj expos- 
ure, but few complaints would be heard. 

Gratifymg news from Meckling and Gayville announces that 
the water is rapidly seeking its level, and that no lives have been 
lost, thanks to the efforts of the gallant crews of rescuers who have 
worked so indefatigably since the commencement of the flood. 
Some portions of the bottom are now dry and if the waters con- 
tinue to fall as there is but little doubt but they will, the whole 
will soon be passable for footmen. The only place not heard from 
is the remote corner of Haggin's Bend, where several families are 
known to have been at the commencement of the flood. Grave 
fears are entertained as to their safety. At Elk Point, news 
received to-day, renders it certain that no damage has been done 
except what has resulted from the rush of water four feet deep 
through the streets. The most of the inhabitants had fled to the 
high bluffs on the Iowa side of the Sioux River, eight miles dis- 
tant. Never before had water been known to enter the limits of 
Elk Point, which is regarded as the highest point between the 
junction of the Sioux and Missouri Rivers and Yankton, a distance 
of about 60 miles. From the country between Elk Point and 
Sioux City, a distance of about 20 miles^ most deplorable accounts 
are received. From a distance of five miles beyond Elk Point and 
extending to the junction of the rivers, the water has been from 5 
to 12 feet deep. Every hoof of stock is destroyed, and with them 
human lives. Houses, barns, fences and farming implements were 
all swept away in one common ruin, and the farmers of that dis- 
trict, accounted the richest in the Territor}^ are left almost penni- 
less. The whole bottom, from Vermillion to Sioux Point, is rep- 
resented to be entirely covered with monstrous cakes of ice, with 
the exception of a small spot in the immediate vicinity of Elk 
Point. All reports tend to confirm the general belief that in the 
immediate vicinity of the river below Vermillion many lives have 
been lost, and, indeed, taking into consideration the extreme width 



256 HISTORY OF SOUTHEASTERN DAKOTA. 

and lowness of the valley in that region, it could hardly be other- 
wise. The loss, of course, in property, is simply incalculable. 
Coining toward home, but little change remains to report from the 
accounts from the Herald^ preceding this concluding chapter. The 
bottoms, of course, are in a terrible condition and hundreds of peo- 
ple are in a state of utter destitution. Thousands upon thousands 
of cattle and horses are lying dead, and a very hell of havoc and 
ruin is presented to the gaze. For miles and miles the valley is 
strewn with the wrecks and fragments of what two weeks ago were 
happy homes, and seeking shelter among neighbors are to be found 
hundreds of people who were but lately considered independent, 
A terrible change it is, truly; but already there are sigus of a re- 
viving spirit. The grit and determination of the true westerner 
shows forth in the words and actions of every impoverished settler;' 
and it will be but a few weeks until the hum of agricultural indus- 
try will be heard on the spots where the devastating ice now rests 
in absolute possession. The waters are seeking their natural chan- 
nel, the sun is beginning to shine, and with the springing up of 
the grass, and the coming of seed-time, the sorrows of the present 
will be forgotten in the whirl of industry and preparation for 
future prosperity. 

Here in Yankton "things" are 0. K. People who fled to escape 
the [rising floods are moving back, losers are counting up their 
losses, and the whole ci-ty is devoted to the work of relieving the 
wants of the needy, made so by the infernal (if we may be par-, 
doned the word) floods of the last two weeks. Everybody rejoices 
over the subsidence of the waters, and joy runs particularly high 
over the comparatively small loss of life. The "oldest inhabitant" 
and the "tenderfoot" lie down together and each tells stories of 
equal magnitude. Business commences *to revive, and with the 
opening of the railroad, which Superintendent Sanborn assures us 
will take place at the earliest practicable date, the city will take on 
its normal aspect. 



TheGreatSiouxCityiPacific Railroad 

OONSTITUTINCg- 



AND THE 



•^"Great East and West Line 



!S^ 






KUNS 

PULLMAN PALACE SLEEPING CARS 

BETWEEN 

Kansas City and St. Paul 

A^v D A 

SOLID m\n from COUNCIL BLOFFS to ST. PAUL 

\%itliout Change. TIME: IG HOURS. 

The EAST and WEST LINE Trains leave Sioux City at 3.48 a. m. and 
and 1.50 p. m. for CHICAG-0 and all intermediate points. 

Pullman Palace Sleeping Cars 

AND 

IMPERIAL PALACE DINING CARS 

ALSO THE 



Trains leave LONG PINE (within 50 miles of Fort Niobrara) and fall into 
line with this Great Route, connecting' at 

J^issoTJiri Valley J" -0.11011011 

For CHICAGO and all po'nts East. Th^s ELK HORN VALLEY ROUTE 
runs throuffh the GARDEN AGRICULTURAL SECTION of NORTH- 
EASTERN NEBRASKA, and into the celebrated 

FREE HOMES FOR THE MILLIOjYS 

Section along the upper waters of the Niobrara and Elkhoi-n Rivers, and Long 
Pine and Plum Tree Creek Valleys. 

J. S. WATTLES, J. R. BUCHANAN, 

Superintendent. Gen'l Pass. Agent. 

P. E. ROBINSON, Ass't Gen'l Pass. Agent, 

mi»>SOURt VALLEY, IOWA. 



1 



'§) nBim Miyii i^ ^m\ 



▼IFl 



ATTORNEY 



,<Ni&), 



lllllsl 






iSW^ 



SIOUX FALLS, 



^^£:^./i^2:?^^^>/^ '^'^ 



, W, BROO 



THE LARGEST 




mlers iti ^ed ^^htk 



DAKOTA LANDS. 



lIPFimft FAMS and CITI PKiEETI 



J^ATI' o - 



Low Figures, 



SIOUX FALLS, DAKOTA. 



Commenced Building in 1879. 



Completed, Oct. 1881. 



COST, $325,000. 



H 



KJ J_Jl_JX 



H 



H 



H 



joui Falls lakf Potr Coiiipaiif 



^nVCa.xxTxfsi.o't-ca.x'ex's of^ 



Choice Patent Spring Wheat 



FLOUR. 



PPxINCrPAL BRANDS: 

Queen Bee, Jasper and Big Stone. 



J. II. DRAKE, 

President. 



C. W. HUBBARD, 

Supt. and Sec. 



SiOTja.3s: JF'.sa.lls. 



lI>alkoln Alc.tl I-li^tiitte iSoii;;i!ifl, ^ol4l ami 
Kxt'liciiigetl. Xsaxes fl^uitl lor I^oii- 
9 ISe.<^i(l«-']it!i>. 9<iioHX A'^allM, S>:il<4>ta. 



EGAlSr. 


GEO. M. DE GROFF, 


GEO. R. LANXING, 


ATTORNEY AT LAW, 


^rcpiidoV' 0/ ^^aii ^xptcU 


EGAN. 


EGAN. 


W. E. GESSELL, 


T. T. TAYLOR, 


CONFECTIONEK 

And Dealer in Yankee Notions, 


Proprietor 

TAYLOR HOUSE 


EGAN. 


EGAN. 


Thos. Van De Grift, 


D. BIDWELL & SON, 


GRAIN DEALER, 


DEALERS IN 

General Merchandise 


EGAN. 


EGAN. 


JOHX HOB ART, 


J. E. SCHNEIDER, 


Hardware Dealer, 


Pliysician and Surgeon, 


EGAN. 


EGAN. 


ELI BOY>TOX, 


GEO. E. BIDWELL, 


Lumber Dealer, 


Dealer in 

BOOKS AND STATiO^ERY 


EG AN. 


EGAN. 


M. GRIGSBV. GEO. M. SMITH. 

BANK OF EGAX, 


ENOSIKARN, 


A General Banking Business Transacted. 
Real Elate Loans a Specialty . 


1«'oai S^^^&ei 


EGAN. 


EGAN. 

1 



rnilfl&l r OAOr l>iiK4>t» ICoal i:!9ta<o lluu^lil, Soltl and 
rliWlN r \Alir i:x<;liaiiKe«l. laxos raia lor I\uu-Rc»i- 

LUfflli Li UfiUL «ioiitM. i^ioux raiiM, i>.'r. 




EDWIN E. SAGE 



]>aI«:otH Real Ki^tate ISongSit. !<a1«1 and 
Kxeliaiiged. Taxes Paid lor ]\oii-Re<!>i- 
dents. Nioitx Falls. I». X. 




EDWIN E, SAGE 



l»siko1:i R4>:il IC^tatc IBoii^Iil. Nold :t]i<l 
IOx4-li:iii;;'«Ml. 'I'ax*'* I'aitl ior I\oii-Kesi- 
doiif M. Sioiix l-'alliS, B». X. 



HURON. 



J. T. McAVHOKTOR, 

Livery & Sale Stable 



HDKOiV. 



I. J. MOUSER, 

ATTORNEY AT LAW 



ABSTRACTS OP TITLE 
HUKOIV. 



EDWIN G. WHEELER, 

Pioneer Mercluint, 

Wholesale luid Retail Dealer in Drug-s, 
Rdoks, Stationerv. Sewing- Machines and 
all liinds ol Musical Merchandise. 
HURON. 



RICHARDSON BROS. 

FURNITURE CARPETS, 

News Depot, lllank Books, Wall Paper, 
Trunks, Valises. 

OIHce Anieiiean E.vpress Company, and 
Western Stage Conipauj . 

HUKON. 



G. A. McKTNNIS, 

J^iQptieioF of &umpmii Jioiel mid c^tMatitanf, 



HUROX. 



EDEN. 



ODELL BROS. 

MEAT MARKET 

And Dealers in Lime, Brick, Plaster, etc. 

KHIiX. 



L. T. FARLEY, 

Proprietor of 

Commercial Hotel, 



W. K. SLADE & CO. 

DE.VI.EKS l.N 

General Hardware, 

ICOICX. 



OVERSETH & DYSTE, 

Dealers in 

General Merchandise 



fCHKN. 



G. W. MATHEW^S, 

Publisher of Eden Sun 



liWICM. 



SNYDER HOUSE, 

A. SNYDEIJ, Prop. 
EIDEIV. 



L. PRITZKAN, 

Agent I'or 

Si. (Bioix £uinbet Bcmjmnij 
ii:ui!:N. 



S. P. MACKEY, 

Ba^hic'c ^ah'ofa J^oan ^' S'mii 

('OINIPANY, 

Does a General Banking- Business, 

EDKIV. 



S. B. CULBERTSON, 

*Dmkr- in Qmmal Jitemhandik'. Baih J? aid for- Stock £^ §mm 



EDUIV. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Dakota Real Estate Boiiglit, Sold and 
li^xeltaiitied. Taxes Paid lor Non-Rosi- 
deiits. Sioux Falls, D. T. 



WATERTOWN. 


BENNETT & BRIGGS. 


East "Watertown Hotel, 


Physician and Surgeon, 


Wm. McIxtyre, Prop. 


AVATERTOWN. 


WATERTOAVN. 


D. C. & W. R. THOMAS, 


CODINGTON CO. BANK, 


Attorneys at Lav/, 


WALRATH&: Sheldon, Props. 


WATERTO\rN. 


AVATERTOWN. 


ALEXANDER BROS. 


MERCHANTS' HOTEL, 


GRAIN DEALERS, 


J. C. MuLHOLLAND, Prop. 


WATERTOWN. 


WATERTOAVN. 


C. C. MAXWELL, 


SEWARD, GLASS & EDDY, 


Temperance Billard Parlors 


ATTORNEYS AT LAW, 


WATERTOWN. 


AVATERTOAAN. 


S. D. SCUDDER, 


G. E. BARTLETT, 


Real Estate and Loan Ag't 


BLACK SMITHING, 


WATERTOWN. 


WATERTOWN. 


POORE & CHURCH, 


C. G. SHERWOOD, 


Attoroej's at Law, Real Estate & Loan AgectSj 


ATTORNEY AT LAW, 


WATERTOWN. 


Clark County, D. T. 


M. G. COBB, 


EMPIRE LUMBER CO. 


UVSUHAJVCU AGEJVT, 


Wm. Reed, Agent, 


GARY. 


WATERFOWN. 


F. W. HOYT, 


ULRICK & BEALS, 


GiotliiBg and Kent's Furnisliiiig Goods, 


PROPRIETORS CENTRAL HOUSE 


WATERTOWN. 


WATERTOAVN. 



^^ I ■ fBH ^S ]>akota I 

Edwin E. Sage j^-r- 



]>akota Itoal KKtate Ifuii:>;Iit, Sold ami 
ued. Taxes Pai<l Jor Noii-Kei«i- 
. SIuiix Falls, I>. T. 



WATERTOWN. 


PETER MAUSETH, 


CAMPBELL & COMFORT, 


Fimvltare Dea 1ei% 


ATTORNEYS AT LAW 


And Undortakcr. 
W A T E K T O W N. 


WATERTOWN; 


H. O. HAGELL, 


BANK OF WATERTOWN, 


General Merchandise 


0. C. Johnson, Prop. 


AVATEKTOAVN. 


AVATERTOWN. 


Heiiitz & Hassinger, 


C. H. BRADFORD, 


General Merchandise 


General Merchandise 


WATEUTOWX. 


WATERTOWN. 


Cleveland & Green, 


TARBELL BROS. 


General Merchandise 


Drugs, Books! Stationery 


WATERTOWN. 


WATERTOWN. 


Owsley Bros. & Co. 


MONKS & WISER, 


General Merchandise 


Jiar^dmate ^ ola^m jlimhincUj 


WATERTOWN. 


W^ATERTOWN. 


JOHNSON HOUSE, 


RICE BROS. 


JOHNSON & CARTFOUD, Proprietors. 


General Merchandise 


AVATERTO«N. 


AVATERTOWN. 


STEVENS & WHISTLER, 


KEMP BROS. 


MEAT MARKET, 


Jiardimm ^ c^mm Jllachinettj 


AVATERTOWN. 


WATERTOWN. 


JAMES RILEY, 


THOMAS & DEMING. 


Harness and Saddlery, 


9vcal'§:>ta^■ecnv^ il'oan tlcjctib 


WATERTOWN. 


WATERTOWN. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Dakota Real Estate Boiiglit ifiiold and 
Kxcliani^ed. Taxes Paid lor Non-Res- 
deiits. Sioux Fails, I). T. 



WATERTOWN. 



ARCHIE WEAVER, 

] )ealer in 
GROCERIES, PROVISIONS, CROCK- 
ERY, BOOTS, SHOES, Etc. 

Oalt Street, ^VATERTOAVN. 



O. E. DEWEY & CO, 

C^^DRUGS AND GROCERIES, ^^ 

Paints, Oils, Patent Medicines, Crockery 
and Glassware. Gloves and Mitts in season. 
Maple St., opp . Depot, WATE RTO WN . 



C. C. WILEY & CO. 
Real Estate and Loan Agents, 



WATERTOWN. 



VOLGA. 



E. SNIDER, 
SAMPLE ROOM, 



VOIiGA. 



E. S. JOHNSON, 

B .A. k: E rt ^, 



VOLGA. 



W. M. NICHOLS, 
Dealer in Flour cf Feed, 



VOLGA. 



MITCHELL & ENGLESON 

REAL ESTATE, 

Lo.^iN AND Collection Agency, 

VOLGA. 



NILS KJOS, 

Dealer in General Hardware, Tinware, 

Stoves, Table and Pocket Cutlery. 

Farm Macliinerj-. 

VOLGA. 



J. W. ASK, 
Dealer in General Merchandise, 

VOLGA. 



Seielstad & Hansen, 

Dealers in Dry Goods, Notions, Hats, 
Caps, Boots, Shoos, Groceries, and Pro- 
visions. 

VOLG 1. 



P. BALGORD, 

Wagon and Carriage Maker, 



VOLGA. 



JOHN ALBERTSON, 
Dealer in Grain & Farm Machinery 



VOLGA. 



HARKINS & ROWLEY, 
Dealers in General Merchandise, 

VOLGA. 



STEWART & HUNT, 
Livery and Feed Barn, 



VOLGA. 



W. FISHER & CO. 

Dealers in General Merchandise, Flour, 
Feed, Carbon Oil and Apples. 

Stoneware in Car Lots a Specialty. 

VOLGA. 



piB I ■ ^B ^ l»:ikota K<>al IXaln Itn 

I" n\A/in r" ^^PIO"^ l':x»liaii-t'd. 'lax«'.*l»ai 
li^vJ VY II I kaa V^Ci^W deiilM. Siuiix Fallw, 1». 



l»:ikota K<>al IXaln Itoii^ht, Sold and 
i«l lor Noil ItoMi- 
T. 



VOLGA. 


p. PHILIP CADY, 


JOSEPH DAUM, 


Attorney at Law, 


DEALER IN BOOTS AND SHOES, 


Collections a Specialty. VOIiGA. 


Volga. 


T. H. 3Iaguire & Co. 


ED. ACHENBACH, 


Hakdwake & Farm Machineky, 


MEAT MARKET, 


VOIiGA. 


Volga. 


FARRINGTON HOUSE. 


C. H. DRINKER, 


1. P. Farrington, Prop. 


Dealer in DRUGS & STATIONERY, 


VOLGA. 


Volga. 


WILL H. DE G-RAFF, 


FARMERS' HOME, 


PHOTOGRAPHER, 


P. C. Ford, Proprietor, 


Volga. 


VOLGA. 


RICH HOUSE, 


DAKOTA G-AZETTE, 


L. V. RICH, Proprietor. 


Geo. W. Browx, Editor and Proprietor 


Volga. 


VOLGA. 


HENRY KIRBY, 


A. C PORTER, 


Dealer in General Merchandise, 


Dealer in DRUGS AND JEWELRY, 


VOLGA. 


Volga. 


W. E. FRIBBS, 


T. R. JEVNE, 


CONTRACTOR AND BUILDER, 


Proprietor of Skandinavisk House, 


Volga. 


VOLGA. 


JOHN H. IKE, 


WILSON HOUSE, 


CONTRACTOR AND DUILDER, 


]\IiLLEH Wilson, Proprietor. 


VOL.GA. 


VOLGA. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



Uakota Real Estate Uong-ht, Nold and 
Excliang'ed. Xaxes Paid lor IVon-Resi- 
dents. Nioitx Falls, 1>. X. 



VOLGA. 


KATIE C. RYAN, 


CHARLES KIETH, 


FASHIONABLE MILLINERY 

and Dressmaking. Full Line of Fancy 

Goods, Trimmings, &c. Patterns of 

Latest Styles Furnished to Order. 

VOIiGA. 


Dealer in Eveiything in the Farm Ma- 
chinery Line, Plows, Drags, Pumps, 
Wagons, Wind Mills, etc.. Hard and 
Soft Coal and Wood. 
Highest Market Price for Wheat. VOLGA. 


0. L. ANDERSON, 


Manufacturer and Dealer in HARNESS, SADDLES, COLLARS, and aU Kinds of 

Horse Furnishing Goods. Repairmg Done Neatly. 

VOIiGA. 


ELK POINT. 


J. A. WALLACE, 


E. W. MILLER, 


ATTORJ^EY AT LAW, 


ATTOnJ^EY AT LAW, 


ELK POINT. 


EliK POINT. 


BENJAMIN BRIGGS, 


J. H. BRYAN, 


FURNITURE, 


Blacksmith and Wagon Maker, 


EliK POINT. 


Elk Point. 


E. ROWE & SON 


J. GRIFFIN CONLEY, 


HardTrare and General Merchandise 


Physician and Surgeon, 


Elk Point. 


BliK POINT. 


F. W. SMYTHE, 


S. W. KENT, 


HARNESS AND SADDLERY, 


HARNESS AND SADDLERY, 


Elk Point. 


Elk Point. 


WARREN FISK, 


URIAH WOOD, 


M:eaT I^ARKIBT, 


Livery, Sale and Feed Stable 


Elk Point. 


ELK POINT. 


JOHN R. WOOD, 


G. B. STECKMAN, 


Livery, Feed and Sale Stable 


WATCKMAKER AND JEWELER 


EliK POINT. 


EliK POINT. 



EDWIN E. SAGE, 



l>akota Real Etiitate Koiislif, 5<ol4l :in<t 
Kx«"liaiis«Ml. Xiixew ■"aid for .'>i«m- 
l£fNi(l4'iil!». Nioiix I-^Jills, IKikotsi. 



ELK POINT. 



F. STROBLE, 

CITY MEAT MARKET, „^ 
Elk Point. 



JOHN MOUNSEY, 

GROCERIES AND LIQUORS, 
Elk Point. 



P. VAIL, 

Ciirpenter and Builder, 



K1.K POINT. 



H. H. BLAIR, 

Drugs and Medicines 



EIiK POINT. 



ALMON GORE, 

GROCERIES, CONFECTIONERY 

and DINING HALL, 
ELK POINT. 



TREFLE BAIL, 

Carpenter and Builder, 



ELK POINT. 



M. W. SHEAFE, 

Proprietor of Dakota Flouring Mills. 

EliK POINT. 



SCOTLAND. 



J. CH. WENZLAFF, 

Dealer in Hardware, 

stoves, Iron, Steel, Tin and Wooden Ware, 

Wagons, Reapers, Mowers, Seeders, &c. 

SCOTLAND. 



JOE. F. WEBBER, 

Druggist & Apothecary, 



SCOTIiAND. 



BRINK & WHALING, 

Proprietors of the 



ZETUS BROWN, 

Dealer in 

Jl^timiiur^ul (JmplemenU, 

Well Augurs and Wini Engines, 
XCOTIilND. 



C. T. CAMPBELL, 

Prop. Campbell House, 



SCOT1.AND. 



HIRAM A. REBATES, 

Dealer in 



DEXTER LIVERY, FEED ! J^ A R.ID W.A.R.HJ 



AND SALE STABLES, 

SCOTLAND. 



GEO. STEIGER, 

Wholesale and Retail 

LIQUOR DLALER 

SCOTLAND. 



And Aj^'ricultural Implements, 
SCOTLAND. 



CHARLES MAYWALD, 

Dealer in 

Harness, Saddles, Whips 

ET(^, KTl,'. 

SCOTLAND. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



Dakota Real Estate Bong-ht, ^iiold and 
Excliaugecl. 'Faxes Paid torNoii-Resi- 
dents. Nioiix Falls, I> X. 



SCOTLAND. 



A. J. FAULK, Jr.. 

SCOTI^AND. 



FOSKETT & REEVES, 

Dealers in 

Hardware and Agriculturallmplements, 

SCOTL.A1VD. 



WILL B. ROBINSON, 

Agent for 

Oshkosh Lumber Co, 

Dealers in Building Material and Hard 
and Soft Coal. 

SCOTIiAND. 



STAFFORD & WILLIAMS, 

Dealei-8 in 

Dry Goods and Groceries 

SCOTIiAND. 



JNO. E. MAXWELL, 

Laud and Loan A^ent, 



SCOTIiAND. 



ROBT. BOLLARD, 

Attorney at Law, 



SCOTIiAND. 



GALE & BOGERT, 

Bankers, Transact a General Banking Business 

Colleetiona will Receive Pronipt Attention. SCOTIi AND. 



FLANDREAU. 



J. A. SCA3IAN, 

Physician and Surgeon, 



FliANDREAU. 



T. J. SHIELDS, 

Dealer in Agricultural Implements 



FLiANDKEAU. 



Wm. DUNN, 

BLACKSMITH, 

And dealer In Agricultural Implements. 
FLANDREAU. 



W. A. CLARK, 

Harness Maker 

F1.ANDREAU. 



A. D. BABB, 

ATTORNEY AT LAW 

Real Estate and Chattel Loans, 
F1.ANDREAU. 



NEPERUD BROS. 

Dealers in 

General Merchandise 



FliANDREAU. 



W. W. CAYWOOD, 

Carpenter and Builder, 



C. E. THAYER, 

Cashier O. D. Brewn & Co.'s Banking 
House. 



FLANDREAU. 



Established in 1879. 



FLANDREAU. 



EDWIN E, SAGE 



Iftakottt Real K^fate KoiiKlit. Wold aiiid 
■<>x4-liaiiK^4'4l. Taxes Paid for I^on-itesi- 
d«''Ill^!•. Nioiix ■''alls, l>. '1'. 



FLANDREAU. 


D. S. WHITE, 

Dealer in Drugs and Medicines, 

FliANDREAU. 


GEO. RICE, 

Attorney at Law and Loan Agent, 

FLANDREAU. 


H. A. BATES, 

Barber and Hair Dresser 

FLANDREAU. 


FRANK MILLARD, 

Livery and Feed Barn, 

FLANDREAU. 


JAMES BRAY, 

Dealer in Drugs and Medicines, 

FI^ANDREAU. 


Wm. JONES, 

Dealer in General Merchandise, 

FLANDREAU. 


R. L. BROWN, 

Hardware Dealer, 

FliANDREAl'. 


MICHAEL Mcdonald, 

MEAT MARKET, 

FLANDREAU. 


R. J. SIMENSON, 

Attorney at Law and Real Estate 
Dealer. 

FLANDREAU. 


C. C. MARTIN, 

Dealer in Hardware, Stives and 
Tinware, 

FLANDREAU. 


M. D. L. PETTIGREW, 

Proprietor 

FLAJVDREA U HO USE, 

FLANDREAU. 


C. F. HALL, 

Dealer in Fancy Groceries, 

FLANDREAU. 


F. W. PETTIGREW, 

Real Estate and Loan Agency, 

FLANDREAU. 


T. J. HAXTON, 

Livery and Feed Stables, 

FLANDREAU. 


LINDSAY BROS. 

Proprietors of Flaiitlreau Flooriiig Mills, 

FLANDREAU. 


H. A. HANGAN, 

Dealer in Dry Goods, Groceries, 
Hats, Caps, Boots, Shoes, etc. 

FLANDREAU. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Dakota Real Estate Bought, Sold an<i 
Kxelianged. Taxes Paid for Non-Kesi- 
dents. Sioux Falls. D. T. 



FLANDREAU. 

1 


S. A. HEATH, 
EARJYESS MAKER, 

FI.ANDREAU. 


F. C. DICKSON, 

Dealei' in Groceries, 

FIiANDREAU. 


A. S. MOULTON, 

Dealer in Furniture and Groceries, 

FliANDREAU. 


GEO. H. FEW, 

Dealer in Hardware and Groceries, 

FLANDRFAU. 


THOMAS FREEMAN, 

MERCHAJYT TAILOR, 

FliAMORFAU. 


A. S. FRINK, 

RESTAURAJVT, 

Oysters, Candles and Fruits, 
FLANDRFAU. 


DAHL & HOLDEN, 

Blacksmith and Wagon Making, 

FliANDRSAU. 


A. HIGGS, 

Boot and Shoe Store, 

FLANDREAU. 


E. HUNTINGTON, 

DEALER IJ^ REAL ESTATE, 

FL.ANDREAU. 


MADISON. 


S. M. JENKS, 

Physician and Surgeon 

MADISON. 


B. D. FROELTGER, 

Proprietor of Ten Pin Alley, 

MADISON. 


P. H. HARTH, 

Dealer in General Merchandise, 

MADISON. 


N. GROSCH, 

Merchant Tailor and Dealer in 
Gents Furnishing Goods. 

MADISON. 


CHAS. B. KENNEDY, 

Abstracts of Title, Land, Loan Insurance 

and Express Agent. 

MADISON. 


T. LANNON, 

BILLIARD PARLOR, 

MADISON. 



P^...!.^ P" ^^^.^ Dakota ReaJ KMate Boiicht, Sold and 
r* fl\A/l rl ^ ^HO^I^ Kxtliaiisrod. TaxcN Paid tor Non>RcMl- 
h^V^VYIII &>•■ \i^Ci^^ doiur*. Sioux Fall)*, I>. T. 



MADISON. 


A. B. HOUTS, 

LIQUOR DEALER, 

MADISON. 


A. J. CORNELYSON, 

Dealer in FURJVITURE 

MADISON. 


J. J. FITZGERALD, 

Dealer in General Merchandise, 

IVIADISON. 


A. A. BROADIE, 

Pharmacist and Dealer in Drugs 
and Medicines, 

MADISON. 


DREW BROS. 

LUMBER DEALERS, 

Bgan, Madison and Dell Kapids, 
ITIADISON. 


McCALLISTER BROS. 

Dealer- in Hardware. Stoves and 
Tinware, 

MADISON. 


COMMERCIAL HOUSE, 

J. J. Craneij. 

MADISON. 


CITIZENS' BANK, 

MADISON. 


J. W. DAVISON, 

PIONEER MERCHANT, 

Dealer in General Merchandise, 

lUADISON. 


Madiisoii Flouring Mills, 

B. D. SPRAGUE, Proprietor. 

MADISON, 


J. M. VAN DERVORT, 

Livery and Feed Stable, 

TIADISON. 


F. L. SOPER, 
ATTORJVEY AT LAW\ 

MADISON. 


A. W. CLARK. 

Livery and Feed Barn, 

niADISON. 


C. S. RAYMOND, 

Dealer in Dry Goods, Groceries, Hats 
Caps, Boots, Shoes, etc. 

MADISON. 


A. E. CLOUGH, 

Physician and. Surgeon 

Also dealer in Drugs and Medicine.s, 
nADISON. 


Lake County Leader, 

i idler & Co , Publishers, 

MADISON 



En lAf in F O B A F Dakota Real Eftate Bought, Sold and 
II ^ I n K O A U Bl Exchanged. Tax eiii Paid for Non-Kesl- 



dentsii. Sioux Falls, D. X. 



MADISON. 


AUGUST PROEHL, 


0. E. BATCHELDER, 


FURNITURE DEALER, 


DEALER IN REAL ESTATE, 


.MADISON. 


MADISON. 


Lake County Bank, 


ALEXAJVDER McKAY 


F. W. THAXTER, W. W. WHITE, 
Cashier. President. 


Dealer in General Merchandise, 


RIADISON. 


MADISON. 


JOHJV BUCKLEY, 
Carpenter and Builder, 


MADISON HOUSE, 

J. D. ANDREWS, Prop. 


MADISON. 


MADISON. 


CLAPiK 4- CAMEROJV, 


Wadsworth & Hart, 


Dealers in 


Dsalers in all kiadi of 


General Merchandise 


FARM MA CHIJiER Y, 


MADISON. 


MADISON. 


O. G. AULEY, 


Gr. K. TIFFANY, 


VI atchmaker & Jeweler 


ATTORJVEY AT LAW, 


MADISON. 


MADISON. 


H. J. PATTERSON, 

DEALEK IN 


D. T. SCOTT, 


Grain, Flour, Feed, Wood 
and Coal, 


Livery and Sale Barn, 


MADISON. 


MAD SON. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Dakota Real IS^tate Bought Sold aud 
l<:xcliaii<;e<l. Taxex Paid lor IVon-Res- 
dciitw. Kioux Fall!«, D. T. 



PARKER. 



W. S. BRANCH & CO. 
Dealers in Drugs and Stationery, 



PARKGK. 



H. H. SCHAFER, 
Dealer in General Merchandise, 

PARKER. 



GEORGE HATCH, 
TOJVSORIAL ARTIST, 



PARKER. 



GEORGE W. HOWARD, 

Dealer in 

Hardware, Stoves, Tinware, Etc. 

PARKER. 



S. HAYWARD & SON, 

Dealers in 

Boots and Shoes, Harness, Horse 
Blankets, Etc. 

PARKER. 



ROBBINS & PRATT, 
Dealers in Lumber, Coal, Wood 

And Building Hardware, 
PARKER. 



VALE p. THIELMAN, 
Attorney at Law & Real Estate Ag't 

PARKER. 



A. L. PETERMAN, 

Physician and Surgeon, 

PARKER. 



FAY & SPECE, 

Proprietors Parker Livery, Feed and 
Sale Stables, 

PARKER. 



H. H. VERNON, 
Furniture Dealer and Undertaker. 

PARKER. 



G. S. RATHBUN, 

CARRIAGE AND WAGON MAKER 

Parker. 



J. A. HAND, 
ATTORNEY AT LAW, 

PARKER. 



L GILBERT. 

Dealer in General Merchandise, 

PARKER. 



W. H. HESELTON, 

Wliobale Dealer in Liiiuors, Cigars, Etc, 



PARKER. 



M. T. HOWARD, 
Dealer in Shelf & Heavy Hardware 

PARKER. 



GUSTAV GILBERT, 
Dealer in General Merchandise, 

PARKER. 



I 



mill III r Oinr l>akola Re^l Estate Boii&lit, Nold and 
rllWIN r NAIir Excliauged. Xaxe^ Paid foi-il^ou-Resi- 
LUIflll Ll UnllL dents. Nionx Falls, 1> X. 


VERMILLION. 


C. C. EVES, 

Drugs and Medicines, Groceries, Paints, 
Oils, Varnishes. Pure Wines and Liq- 
uors for Medicinal Purposes. 

VERMILLION. 


LOWRIE 4^ EUJYJSr, 

CITY MEAT MARKET, 
VERMILLION. 


J. T. ^VHITE, 

Jeweler and dealer in Stationery, Fruits, 

Confectionery, Laces and Ladies 

Fancy Goods. 

VERMILLION. 


F. N. BURDICK, 
PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON, 

VERMILLION. 


ALFRED HELGESOJV. 

DRUGGIST, 

VERMILLION. 


JOHjy- LEDEJVE, 

MERCHANT TAILOR, 
VERMILLION. 


GEO. H. TTHEEIjER, 

BARBER AND HAIR DRESSER, 

VERMILLION. 


Johnson ^ O'Connor, 

HARNESS & SADDLERY, 

VERMILLION. 


GEORGE G. PORTER, 

DI^°CONTRACTOR AND BUILDER, 

VERMILLION. 


LEE S^ PREJVTIS. 

Dry Goods, Clothing. Boots, Shoes, Hats 
Caps, Groceries, Queensware, &c. 

VERMILLION. 


N. HANSEN, 

Farming Machinery and Live Stock, 
VERMILLION. 


G. T. SALMER, 

DRUGS AND STATIONERY, 
VERMILLION. 


Carpenter and Builder, 

VERMILLION. 


H. E. VAUGHN. M. A. VAUGHN. 

VAUGHN BROS. 
General Blachsmithing 

VERMILLION. 


Lumber, Lath, Shingles, and all kinds of 
Building: Material; also, dealer in Faim 
Machinery and agent for MeCormiek Reap- 
ers and J. I. Case Threshing Machines. 
VERMILLION. 


H. J. H. LUJVDE, 

GENBRAl. MEHCHASDlisE, 

VERMILLION. 



Edwin E. Sage 



Dakota Real Estate Bought, Sold and 
Kxcliaii^^ed. Taxet^ Paid lor Nuii-lie»i- 
dentti. Sioux Falls, D. T. 



VERMILLION. 


CHANDLER HOUSE. 


C. F. EOTZE, 


WINTHROP CHANDLER, Proprietor 


WATCHMAKER AND JEWELER 


Veemilliox. 


VERMILLION. 


L. H. BARRON, 


R. M. Rasmussen, 


E^"H A R D W A R E D E A L E R,^ 


Billiard Hall and Sample Room, 


Vermillion. 


VERMILLION. 


H. A. COPELAND, 


V/m. A PAUE, 


Attorney at Law and Judge of Probate, 


Confectionery. Fruits. Cigars, Etc. 


VERMILLION. 


VERMILLION. 


T. S. STANLEY, 


ANDREW PICKETT. 


PROP. CITY FLOURING MILLS, 


CARPENTEH AND BUILDEH, 


VERnniiiiioN. 


VERMILLION. 


Quarnberg & Norelius, 


Wm. SPOWAGE. 


Dealers in Hardware, Stoves and Tin- 
ware, American Shelf and Heavy 
Hardware, 

VERMILLION. 


CARPENTER AND BUIDDER, 
Heckling. 


A. I. CHARREIN, 


John E. Jolley, 


BLACKSMITHING, 


ATTORNEY AT LAW. 


VERMILLION. 


VERMILLION. 


Ed. LACKOUS, 


HART BROS. 


m' EMPIRE MEAT MARKET, ..^ 


LIVERY, FEED AND SALE STABLE 


VERMILLION. 


VERMILLION. 


S. HAYWARD & SON, 


3\Sx-s. .A.. Si. Oa.lsJLe>^, 


Dealers in BOOTS k SHOES, 


MILLINERY AND FANCY GOODS, 


VERMILLION. 


VERMILLION. 



Edwin E. Sage 



Dakota Real Estate Bought, SoUl and 
liixclianaecl. Taxes Paid lor Non-Resi- 
dents. Sioux Falls, I*. X. 



VERMILLION. i 


J. W. GRAJYGE, 

Dry Goods, Groceries, Clothing. Boots 
and Shoes, etc. 

VERMILLION. 


B. F. REEVE, 

Dry Goods, Groceries, Queensware, 

Clothing, Boots, Shoes, Hats, 

Caps, Etc. 

VERMILLION. 


MITCHELL. 


WM. VAJV EPS, 

Dry Goods, Groceries, Clothing, Drugs, 
Hats, Caps, Etc. 

MITCHELL. 


L. W. ADAMS, 

Dealer in Shelf Hardware, Cutlery, 
Iron Nails, Tinware and Agricul- 
tural Implements. 

MITCHELL. 


HAMMER # HAMMER 

PHARMACISTS AND DRUGGISTS, 

MITCHELL. 


ROWLEY # IJ^DRA, 

Meat Market and Provision Store. 
MITCHELL. 


R. a WILLS ^ Co., 

Wines, Liquors, Cigars, and Tobaccos. 
Established 1879. MITCHELL. 


M. FARROW, 

Dealer m Groceries and Provisions. 
MITCHELL. 


E. E. MOSES, 

Dealer in Lumber, Lime, Coal, Sash, 

Doors and Blinds, Lath, Shingles, 

Moulding and Building Paper. 

MITCHELL. 


W. E. CRAJSTE, 

PHARMACIST AND DRUGGIST, 

MITCHELL. 


E. J. BRADLEY 4- SOJV, 

Propi-ietors BRADLEY HOUSE, 
MITCHELL. 


P. T. McGOYERJf, 

Dealer in General Merchandise. 

MITCHELL. 


D. A, MIZNER. A. W. HAGER. 

Negotiate loans on real estate security, 
prosecute contests before District Land 
OflBce and Departments of the Interior, 
buy and sell all kinds of scrip and warrants, 
practice law in Territorial and Federal 
Courts. 

MITCHELL. 


W. H. KNOWLES, W. H. PITWOOO. 

KNOWLES & PITWOOD, 
Dealers in 

BOOT^, SHOES, & GROCERIES. 
MITCHELL. 



EDWIN E, SAGE 



I>:iI<ol» Itesil Kstnte Rouglit, Nol«I and 
lOxfliiiiigtMl. 'l':ix«-!ii l^iiia lor ]Sou-ISe!«i- 
«leul<». ^iuus. I'ulls, 1>. '1'. 



MITCHELL. 



GEO. A. CLARK, 

PROPRIETOR OF CITY BAKERY. 

jniTCHELIi. 



J. HAKRY GREEN, 

Depot Sample Room and Lunch Room. 

iniTCH£L.Ii. 



EEJYRY KOCH, 

Proprietor Mitchell German Grocery. 



L.. O. GALE, 

Land, Loan and Insurance. Also Pro- 
prietor Drug and Book Store. 

MITCHELIi. 



WASHBURN & CURREY, 

Loan, Land, Real Estate and Collection. 

iniTCHEIiL. 



M. F. DUNHAM, 

Furniture & Musical Merchandise 

MlTCHEIili. 



FOSTER & TII.L.OTSON, 

ing, Hats, Caps k Fiiniisiiiiig Goods. 



MITCHELL. 



W. S. WEIiTY, 

af^i and (FQtavco. 

MITCHELL. 



A. M. CAMPBELL, 

PROPRIETOR PIONEER MEAT MARKET, 
MITCHELL. 



MARION JUNCTION. 



LOULS SCHAFER, 

Manufacturer of and Dealer in Boots 
and Shoes, etc. 

MARION JUNCTION. 



FRED, ROEBER, 

Dealer in Hardware, Stoves & Tinware 
MARION JUNCTION. 



T. C. WlJVJy', 

E^ H A R N E S S M A K E R, ^^'S 

MARION JUNCTION. 



HEJTRY ROEBER, 

BOOT AND SHOE MAKER, 

MARION JUNCTION. 



JOHJV RYAJV, 

DEALER IN GENERAL MERCHANDISE, 

MARION JUNCTION. 



EDWIN E. SAGE, 



I>akola Iteal Estate ISoiiglit, Nold andl 
I'^xcliaugetl. Taxes l*ai<l for I^on- 
lfiesi«lents. Nioiix I^alls, liakota. 



LENNOX 


O. P. ASHLEY, 


JOHN M. MUNSIL, 


HARNESS AND SADDLERY, 


Livery, Feed and Sale Stable. 


L.ENNOX. 


L.ENNOX. 


J. F. FERGUSON, 


LOUIS BUTZER, 


LUMBER DEALER 


F URJVIT UEJE DEALER 


LENNOX. 


liENNOX. 


A. BOYNTON, 

Dealer in 


B. GILMORE, 


Shelf and Heavy Hardware, Farm Ma- 
cliinery, etc. 


Dealer in Fruits and Confectionery 


LENNOA. 


liENNOX. 


P. J. HAAS, 


M A. FILION, 


Editor and Proprietor of the Independ- 
ent and Attorney at Law. 


CHOICE WINES AND LIQUORS 


L.ENNOX. 


liENNOX. 


THOS. B. QUIGLEY, 


D. F. DEBELTS, 


Proprietor of Lenox Meat Market 


Blacksmith and Wagonmaker, 


I^ENNOX. 


liENNOX. 


SMITH BROS., 


F. H. TREAT, 


Dri/ Goods and Groceries 


Dealer in General Merchandise, 


LENNOX. 


liENNOX. 


Coiiklin & Carpenter, 


LENNOX WEEKLY STAR 


Dealers in General Merchandise 


CONKLIN & BAYLEY, 


liENNOX. 


PROPRIETORS. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



Dakota Rent CHtate Bought, Sold and 
Exc'liaiifiod. Taxes Paid I'ur Non-Rosl- 
df iitK. Sioux Fh1I8, U. T. 



CANTON. 


ADA 31 HOFF3IAN, 


HERMAN WOERZ, 


PROPRIETOR SAMPLE ROOM. 


D E A L E R IN F U R N 1 T U R E, 


CANTON. 


CANTON. 


KENNEDY BROS., 


GEO. W. HARLAN, 


Attorneys and Counsellors at Law. 


PROPRIETOR HARLAN HOUSE, 


CANTON. 


CANTON. 


A. G. VROMAN, 


A. R. BROWN. 


LIVERY. FEED AND SALE STABLE 


Bu^lsTKIEPt, 


CANTON. 


CANTON. 


W. E CUPPETT, 


THOMAS THORSON & CO. 


E^= ATTORNEY AT LAW.^^ 


ABSTKACTS OF TITLE 


CANTON 


And Real Estate Dealers. Canton. 


E. M. 3IILES, 


CARTER BROTHERS, 


.lEWELER AND MUSIC DEALER. 


PUBLISHERS CANTON ADVOCATE 


CANTON. 


canton. 


J. HORN & CO. 


T. W. HOOD, 


WAGON & CARRIAGE xMAKKRS, 


Dealer in Drugs and Medicines, 


Canton. 


canton. 


GEN. J. B. PATTEE, 


O. S. GIFFORD 


ARCHITECT AND 15U1LDEH. 


ATTORNEY AT LAW, 


CANTON. 


canton. 


OLEY THOMPSON, 
PROPRIETOR THOMPSON HOUSE 

Dealer in Agricultural Implements, 
CANTON. 


G. W. NAYLOR, 

Proprietor NAYLOR HOUSE. 
canton. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Dakota Real Fstate Boui;$lit Sold and 
ExcUanged. Taxes Paid for Non-Kes- 
dentfii. Sioux F»ll!^, 1>. T. 



CANTON. 


0. A. M. E. A. F. RUDOLPH, 


E. H. WILSON, 


ATTORNEY AT LAW 


ATTORNEY AT LAW. 


CANTON. 


canton. 


D. N. MALLORY, 


M. M. CLARK, 


Dealer in Hardware, Stoves & Tinware 


PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON, 


c An TON. 


canton. 

I 


J. W. TAYLOR, President. INCORPORATED. O. N. RUSSKLL, Vice-Prest. 


DAKOTA LOAN AND TRUST COMPANY, 


J. M. Zeller, Secretary. t apittiU $100,000. ('ha;^. E. Judd, Cashier. 


CANTON. 


T8T?iVf'in7«J I'cnnox, J. V. CONKiiiN, Castiier. TArLOa & Russell, 
UKAfv Lnjis -j j;^e„^ g p mackey. Cashier. Attorneys. 


CALLIOPE. 


SAMUEL S. CONRAD, 


GEORGE S. HOLDEN, 


INSURANCE AGENT, 


DEPOT AGENT. 


CAl.l.I02'E. 


CALLIOPE. 


M. LEG-GETT, 


WM. REESE, 


PROPRIETOR LEGGETT HOUSE, 


BLACKS^XITH, 


CAIiLIOPE. 


CALLIOPE. 


JAMES KENNEDY, 


L. H. BAILEY, 


TOBACCONIST, 


Dealer in Agricultural Implements, 


CALLIOPE. 


CALLIOPE. 


. A. W. HEALD, 


DAVID STEPHEN, 


DEALER IN HARDWARE. 


Genekal Merchant, 


CALLIOPE. 


CALLIOPE. 


ELISHA HODGIN, 


HARRISON WAY, 


PROPRIEOR HODGIN HOUSE. 


CONTRACTOH AND BUILDER, 


Built, 1881. CALLIOPE. 


CALLIOPE. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



l>siKotn Real Ilstate ICoii^^flit, Nold and 
l'}x4-Ii«iiig-ed. Xaxcs Paid t'oi- IVoii-Resi- 
d«'iilM. Wioiix l'^all!!<, 1>. '1\ 



BELOIT. 


WILLIAM ROLLER, 


P. J. ANDERSON, 


Dealer in LIQUORS AND CIGARS, 


CARPENTER AND BUILDER, 


BEL.OIT. 


BELOIT. 


HORACE ADEE, 


E. t. CARPENTER, 


Dealer in Clothing, Boots, Shoes and 
Hardware. 

BEIiOIT. 


Real Estate Dealer and Proprietor 
Flouring Mill. 

BELOIT. 


W\ S. SMITH, 


F. M. ROWLEY, 


DEALER IN FURNITURE, 


Dealer in GENERAL MERCHANDISE 


BSIiOIl.. 


BELOIT. 


MICHAEL JYELSOJV, 


C. H. SOGN, 


Dealer in Shelf and Heavy Hardware, 


Dealer in GENERAL MERCAANDISE 


BELiOIT. 


BELOIT. 


HEJYRY SKEWIS, 


E. C. FERRIS, 


Proprietor BELOIT MEAT MARKET, 


PROPRIETOR HOTEL, 


BEIiOIT. 


BELOIT. 


O. T. HELGERSON, 


DEALER IJV AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMEJSTTS, 


BELOIT. 


SPRINGFIELD. 


JAMES H BASKIJV, 


1 

Mrs. MARY E. LOVE, 


PROP. BASKIN HOUSE, 


Proprietress SPRINGFIELD HOTEL, 


SPRINGFIELD. 


SPRINGFIELD. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Dakota Real Estate Bonglit, Sold and 
li:xclianged. Taxes Paid lor Non-Resi- 
deuts. Sioux Falls, I>. T. 



. PORTLAND VILLE. 


JAS. BIDDELCOME, 


Heni'y Waterbiiry, 


BOOT 4^ SHOEMAKER 


BOOT # SHOEMAKER 


POUTLANDVIIiljE. 


PORTliAlMDVIIiliE. 


C. NEWMAN, 


J. W STRONG, 


n^E^^OIiAISTT 


Proprietor Excelsior Meat Market 


PORTI„ANDVIIiliE. 


PORTLANDVILIiE. 


C. E. ROBINSON, 


WM. R. KIDD, 


REAL ESTATE & LOAN AGENT 


BLACKSMITHING 


PORTLANDTI1.L.E:. 


PORTI.A1N »VIL.IiE. 


V. G. FARNHAH, 


PETER MUIR, 


Dealer in HARD WARE 


Wagonna a,ls.er, 


PORTIiA]VD^^LlIil!;. 


PORTLi AN DVIliliE . 


E. AV. SARGENT, 


Bradner Ferguson, 


Proprietor of Portlandville Flouring Mill 


Dealer in HARD WARE 


PORTIiANDVII^liE. 


PORTIi AN D VI LI^E . 


A. P. DOUGLAS, 


J. A. LARKIN, 


Proprietor CITY MEAT MARKET 


Proprietor Billiard Hall and Sample Room 


PORTIiAN UVIIiLE. 


PORTL A N UVlL,Li ii 


A. L. McGINNIS & BRO. 


MUHS & JOHNSON, 


GENERAL MERCHANTS, 


GENERAL MERCHANTS 


PORTliANDVII^I^E. 


PORXL VNI»VIIiL.E. 



Edwin E. Sage 



Dakota Real KNtate Buiiatit, Sold and 
I<^xfliaiiged. Taxetji Paid lor Noii-Kchl- 
dc'iii!^. Sioux Falls, D. T. 



YANKTON. 


H. W. PIKE, 

Dealer in Staple and Fancj^ 

Provisions, Etc. 
THIRD ST. YANKTON. 


TRIPP & BOYLES, 

ATIORMEYS AT LA W 

YANKTON. 


Singer Manufacturing Co. 

Branch Office, 3d, St. 
F. HAMn fNO, MA naffer, 

Yankton. 


Marshall & Odiorne, 

Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Queens- 
ware and French China, also 
Larpfest Assortment of 
Carpets in Da- 
kota. 

YANKTON. 


E. G. SMIMH, 

ATTORJSTEY AT LAW, 

YANKTON. 


GERMAJVIA HOUSE, 

WALLBAUM & BECKER, Proprietors 

Douglas Ave., Bet, 2d, and 3d Sts. 
YANKTON. 


W. H. H. BROWN, 

DENTIST, 

^ Y A N K. T O "S.ls^ 


JOHN SATORI, 

PROPRIETOR 

City Hall Restaurant, 

Broadway, Yankton. 


C. J. B. HARRIS, 

Loans, Lands- Lnsurance 

YANKTON. 


JACOB MAX, 

Wholesale and Retail Dealer in 

DRY G-OODS, GROCERIES 

Hats, Caps, Boots and Shoes, 
Broadway, YANKTON. 


GAMBLE BROS. 

Loan, Land Sr Insurance 

ATTORNEYS AT LAW, 
YANKTON. 


CHICAGO HOUSE, 

Third St., near Broadway, Yankton 

Chas. Broderson, Prop. 



EOWIN E. SAGE 



Excliiiiisert. Xjixes l*ai<l lor iVou- 
I Resirtents. isiioitx f alls», l>a]&ota. 



YANKTON. 



S. J. MORROW, 
PHOTOGRAPHER, 



YANKTON. 



WALTER H. CARR, 

Dealer in 

FANCY GROCERIES, FRUITS 
And Confectionery. 

YANKTON. 



FREDRICK NEUBAUER, 

BLACKSMITH 

AND WAGON MAKER. 

YANKTON. 



J. C. MORMANN, 
HARDWARE DEALER, 

YANKTON. 



GOODWIN & PRATT, 
CONTRACTORS & BUILDERS 

YANKTON. 



W. F. LAUMAN, 

Carpenter and Builder 



YANKTON. 



J. P. REDAELLI, 

Dealer in 

WATCHES, CLOCKS, JEWELRY. 
YANKTON. 



D. McDEVITT, 

Retail Grocer, Feed and Provisions 
YANKTON. 



R. H. FELLOWS. 

Agent for 

WANNAMAKER & BROWN'S GOODS. 

YANKTON. 



SEMPLE & MUNROE, 

House and Sign Painters 

YANKTON. 



F. BERGL 
CARPENTER and BUILDER 

YANKTON, 



THADEUS PISCK, 

Comb Manufacturer 

YANKTON. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Uakota Real C»«tato Bought Sold and 
l<:xeliaii«ed. Xaxett Paid lor Nuu-Ueet- 
dcntM. Sioux Falls, 1>. T. 



YANKTON. 



MARTIN & ANDERSON, 
Iron Founders & Machinists 

Castings of Every Description. 
YANKTON. 



/. PILES, 

Wholesale and Retail Dealer in Boots 

and Shoes, Hats, Caps, Gloves 

and Mittens, Ladies' and 

Children's Furs. 

Sig-n— Buffalo Hf>ad. Highest Caeh Price 
paid for furs. 

YANKTON. 



FRED LERCE, 

ORCHESTRA HALL 

Opposite P. O., YANKTON. 



PHIL. K. FAULK, 
ATTORNEY AT LA^V 

LOANS AND PENSIONS. 
YANKTON. 



JENSEN & OLSEN, 
LIQUOR DEALERS 

Rooms -Old Herald Office, 
YANKTON. 



D. B. COOLEY, 

HARNESS MAKEi^^ 

And Manufacturer of California and 
Tuxas Saddles. 

YANKTON- 



F K. DeLONG. 



YANKTON. 



STIER k FERDINAND, 
Proprietors BROADWAY MEAT MARKET 



YANKTON, 



PETER STEP EN, 
LIVERYMAN, 



YANKTON. 



L. H. ELLIOTT, 

LIVERY AND FEED BARN 



YANKTON. 



JAMES DONAHUE, 


■ THOS. J WILIAMS, 


Billiard Hall and Sample Room 


Jzila-o tLsmitla 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



Dakota Itea] C^itate Uouglit, $>old and 
Exoliauged. Taxes Paid lor INou Kes]- 
denis. Sioux Falls, U. T. 



YANKTON. 



H. V. SMITH, 

TOJ^rSORIAL ARTIST, 



YANKTON. 



E. J. JE^KINSON, 

Oyster Parlor Sr Bahery 

YANKTON. 



JOHN SCHNELL, 

BARBER, 



YANKTON. 



P. J. NYBERG, 

General Blacksmith and Repair Shops, 



YANKTON. 



H. A. Schoregge & Son, 

Fruits, Confectionery^ 

YANKTON. 



ROBT. SCHNEIDER, 

Sample Boom and Bowling Alley, 
YANKTON. 



NILS O. HORE. 

WAGOJV MAKER, 



YANKTON. 



J. H. BALMAT, 

SAMPLE ROOM AND 

BOOT AND SHOE MAKER 

YANKTON. 



C. J. REITZELL, 

DEALER IN 

Blimps and Windmills 



Gottfrecl Burg, 

Carpenter and Builder, 



YANKTON. 



YANKTON. 



THE FA NTA G RA FH 



CAIiDWELL. & STAHl., 

Proprleiors. 



Hloux Falls, n. T. 



Oldest Ne^vspaper Published in the Sioux Valley. 



Constant and Intelligent Attention Given to the Inter- 
ests and Events of Southeastern Dakota. 



EDWIN t. 5Abt .Vi?;.!".-g?;;:;x'f!;jii:."i;'i'/^"^^""«'"'- 



YANKTON. 


WALTER B. DEAN, 


H. D. DODGE, 


Freight and Ticket Agent, 




COUPON TICKETS 


D E ]Sr T I S T, 


TO ALL EASTERN POINTS. 




YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


I. HIRSHSTEIN, 


A. H. SCHROEDER, 


Wholesale and Befall Liquor Dealer-. 


HARDWABE, STOVES 


CIGAKS AND TOBACCO. 


-Aja-ci TiixxTcrar©, 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


MRS. C. A. LYONS, 


GEO. E. HAWLEY, 


FASHIONABr.E 


Dealer in 


MILLINERY d- DRESS-MA KING 


Iroia.. JSteel, aSTails, 


Lyonn' Block, 3d St., near Brourlvvay. 


He.ivy and Shelf Hardware. 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


E. T. "WHITE, 


MINNESOTA HOUSE, 


ATTORJVEY AT LAW, 


Burleigh '^ Block, Broadway. 




JOSEPH BADER, Prorietor, 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


CHAS. EISEMAN, 


ALBERT ZEMLICKA, 




Dealer in 


DRY GOODS AND CLOTFIING. 


GROCERIES, FARMERS' PRODUCE, 
Wines, Liquors and Cioahs. 


YANKTON. 


'J bird St., opposite Merchants Hotel Livery 
YANKTON. 


JOHN O. BATES, 


YANKTON IRON WORKS, 
J. A.' .]. CAMPBELL, Proprretors. 


GENTS' FURNISHIN GG0O[)S 


Maniil'a(;iurers of 

EINGINES AND BOILERS 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



1>akota Real JR^tsit*-^ Koiiglit. NoI«1 an<l 
Kxoliaiigt'tl. Taxes Paid for .^'oii-Resi- 
«len«s. »iionx Falls, 1>. X. 



YANKTON. 


L. M. KEE, 


J. W. EVAMS, 


AO6TI0N AND COMMISSION MERGHANT 


SAMP LE A N D CLUB R () M. 


YANKTON. 


Walnut St., Y.\nkton. 


H. W\ WHITE, 


JOHJV WILS9JV, 


PIONEER GUN STORE 


Sample Room tt Restaurant 


Full Liiie of Hunter's Goods. 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 




C. WEDELL, 


J. L. FOSKETT, 


^VATCHMAKER AND JEWEliER. 


9)eakt in zJuim Mmhinmtj. 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


FELIX CARIVEAU, 


JOHJV M. FOGKBTY, 


BOOT <fe SHOEMAKER. HARNESS and SADDLES. 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


MAX IT ELL 4^ ASHLE Y 


MICHAEL BREJV'JVAJY, 


MEAT MARKET. 


Biitj Jdeai Mmkd. 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


WYMAJY cf JVARD, 


JACOB BRAUCH, 


MEAT MARKET. 


SAMPLE AND BILLIARD ROOM. 


YANKTON. 


YANKTON. 


JOHN E. GIIil^ESPIE, 


3F'XjrL3NriTXJH.:E3 tdx3.^Xj:e::e«.. 


YANKTON. 1 



-SOO SIOUX FALLS UHXtRAPHIES 



BIOGRAPHICAL DlREC'i'ORY, 



Following, in a necessarily condensed form, are biographical 
sketches of the pioneer settlers and leading business and profes- 
sional men of Southeastern Dakota. There are, unavoidably, 
omissions, which the publisher would have been well pleased to sup- 
ply, but to do which, owing to the absence of the gentlemen, or 
from other causes, was impossible. In the main, the somewhat 
lengthy list will be found, however, to be more than usually cor- 
rect. 

$!iIOlJX FAL.L.ii, 



U. L. Anderson — ^Established business in 1878; born in Dane 
county. Wis.; came to this place in 1878; married Jennie Grardner, 
a native of New York State; they have one child- — a son. 

S. D. Alguire — born in Canada in 1854; came to United States 
in '65, and settled in St. Lawrence county, N. Y.; in '68 he remov- 
ed to Grant county, Wis., and settled in Bee Town; came to Dako- 
ta in 1872; he married Ettie Bannigham, anativeof Grant county, 
Wis. They have one child, Edna. 

Wilmot W. Brookings — was born in Woolwich, Lincoln 
County, Maine, on a farm situated at the head of Brooking's Bay, 
one of the many small inlets of the Atlantic Ocean. His boy- 
hood was passed on the farm with the exception of several short 
fishing and sea voyages, made between the ages of thirteen and 
eighteen. He entered Bowdoin College in 1851 and graduated in 
1855; teaching school three months out of each college year, the 
greater portion of teaching terms being at Freeport High School. 
After graduating, and while reading law with Hon. Henry Tall- 
man, of Bath, Maine, and Fessenden & Butler, of Portland, Maine, 
he taught the Litchfield, Maine, Liberal Institute and North Anson, 
Maine, Academy each one term. In May, 1857. was admitted to 
the bar in Portland. Maine. On the 29th of June, 1857, he started 
from Portland to Dubuque, Iowa, in company with Peleg Tall- 
man, of Bath. Maine, intending to open a law office in that city. 
Arrived in Dnl>U(jue. and after remaining there seventeen days, 
concluded to strike out for Sioux Falls with a two horse team. 
The company was made up of four members, Jesse T. Jarrett and 
wife. Dr. J. L. Phillips and Wilmot W. Brookings. This party 
arrived in Sioux City early in August, where, after stopping a few 
days, Mr. Brookings started for Sioux Falls in the employ of the 
Western Iowa Company, as an ox teamster, or in western parlance, 
"bull whacker." Arrived at Sioux Falls in company with nine 



SIOUX FALLS BIOGRAPHIEe. 307 

others, who constituted all the white population of Dakota, Aug. 
27, 1857. Ten days later he was appointed managing and finan- 
cial agent for the company, and during the next five months was 
busily engaged in laying the foundation for the new settlement 
and looking after the affairs of the company. February 2d, 1858, 
was terribly frozen while on an expedition to secure the site of 
the pi'esent city of Yankton for the Westei'n Town Compan}'. 
From thiscalamit}' he was confined to his bed for six months. In 
the aatumn of 1858 he travelled across Iowa by ox team, visited 
Philadelphia and recrossed Iowa, from Dubuque, in mid winter, 
arriving at Sioux Falls about the 5th of February, 1859; lived at 
Sioux Falls during the years 1859-60 to the spring of 1861; dur- 
ing the time was a member of the squatter legislature, acting as 
member of the council and president of the same, also as pro- 
visional (iovernor for a part of this time; was elected a member of 
the Council for the First District to the first Legislature of Da- 
kota, and served two years. Moved to Yankton in August 1862. 
In October, 1862, pre-empted the first land entered in Dakota, it 
being the northwest quarter of section 16, township 101, range 
19, tlie present site of the Queen Bee Mill and Brookings Island, 
Sioux Falls. Was elected a member of the lower branch of the 
Legislature from Yankton County in 1863, and re-elected in 1861, 
and again in 1865; was elected Speaker of the House in 1861, and 
in 1865-6 served as Superintendent and Disbursing Agent for a 
United States Military wagon road from Minnesota to Montana. 
From Yankton County was elected in 1867 a member of the Coun- 
cil for two years, and elected President of the Council in 1868; 
also elected District Attorney for Yankton County for 1867, and 
re-elected in 1868. In March, 1869, was married in Dresden, 
Maine, to Clara, daughter of Capt. Wm. Carney, of that place. In 
April, 1869, was appointed by President Grant, Associate Justice 
of the Supreme Court of Dakota for four years, serving on the 
bench until 1873. Was one of the leading organizers of the Da- 
kota Southern Railroad^ the first railroad to enter Dakota, and 
was its President during construction, and Vice President, or So- 
licitor, up to the time of its consolidation into the Sioux City and 
Dakota road, and the only director from its organization to the 
present time, 1881. In November, 1878, moved back to Sioux 
Falls for the purpose of having the great water power improved. 
In August following succeeded in disposing of the same to what 
is now known as the Sioux Falls Water Power Company, who at 
once commenced extensive improvements. Is now senior mem- 
ber of the firm of W. W. Brookings & Co., large dealers and 
owners in real estate. 

Edward P. Beebe — born in Madison county, N, Y., in 1838; 
in 1813 removed with parents to Kendall count)''. 111., where they 
lived eleven years; he attended college at Galesburg, 111., and for 
a number of years was engaged as teacher in different places; in 



308 SIOUX FALLS UIOGRAPIIIES. 

"65 he went in the grain business in Forest, 111., where he still 
continues; he is also a member of the firm of Hills & Beebe at 
this point; he married M. F. Ross, of Illinois; have two children 
■ — Lottie and Jessie. 

S. M. Bear — born in Seneca county, Ohio, in 1S57; came to 
Olmstead, Minn., in 1859; has been employed as clerk in different 
places; engaged in present business in 1879. 

W. H. Bryan — born in Cataraugas county, N. Y., in 1836, 
and in 1870 came to Sioux City, To., and engaged in the butcher 
business; came to Sioux Falls in 1872 and engaged in buying 
grain, and in 1880 became a member of the present firm; married 
M. J. Howard, a native of New York; they have two daughters. 

Edward Berrean — head book-keeper for the Sioux Falls 
Water Power company, at Queen Bee Mill. 

J. H. Barrelle — agent for Milwaukee K. R.; born in Erie 
county, N. Y., in 1845; came west in 1856 and settled in Amboy, 
111.; came to Dakota in 1871, and was located at Elk Point for 
railroad company until 1879, when he came to Sioux Falls; mar- 
ried Libbie J. Wilson, a native of Scranton, Penn.; has one 
daughter. Mrs. Wilson died August 7th, 1880. 

L. A. Bunnell — millwright; born in Bristol, N. H., 1873; re- 
moved to Owatonna, Minn., in 1878. and came to Sioux Falls Octo- 
ber, 1880. 

P. Bush — born in France in 1854; came to America in 1861, 
and located in Wisconsin; in 1878 he came to Sioux Falls and en- 
gaged in business. 

James Barron — established in 1879; born in England in 
1852; came to America in 1874, and first located in Utica, N. Y. ; 
he spent three years in Charleston, S. C, and a year and a half in 
Milwaukee; he came here in 1879; married Ellen Reid. a native 
of Scotland. They have one son and one daughter. 

John Bippus — born in Tuscarawas county, Ohio, in 1841; 
went to Huntington county, Ind., in 1854, lived there until 1865; 
enlisted in Company E, 75th Indiana regimetit, infantry; then 
came west, and located in 1870 at Sioux Falls and engaged in the 
practice of law; married Eunice Wheeler, a native of Baraboo, 
Wis.; they have one child — Sumner. Mr. B. has been clerk of 
the district court one year^ county superintendent two years, 
register of deeds three years and postmaster four years. 

Thomas Bridge — was born in Liverpool, England, in 1835; 
came to America in October, 1864 and located in Eiecorah, lo.; in 
1 75 he removed to Sioux Falls and engaged in ])resent business; 
marriel Mary Carroll a native of Vermont. They juive one 
daughter. 

[. K. Buck — born in Courtland county, N. Y., in 1830; came 
west; in 1855 he made several moves; and in '78 settled in Sioux 



SIOUX FALLS BIOGRAPHIES. 309 

Falls. He married Sarah E. Councilman, a native of Broome 
county, N. Y.; have three children — Frank, Charles and Lillie E. 

C. V. Booth — architect and builder, plans and specifications 
furnished for public and private buildings; born in Duchess 
county, N. Y., 1833; came to Redwing, Minn., in ''66, and engaged 
in building and contracting; in 1871 he came to Sioux Falls and 
engaofed in same business. Married Lottie Kinney, a native of 
Mt. Morris, N. Y.; they have four sons and three daughters. 

E. Gr. Carter — Tjorn in Canada in 1856; came to the United 
States in 1876 and settled in Austin, Minn.; in 1879 he came to 
Sioux Falls: married Rose Litchfield, a native of Austin, Minn. 

Col. B. F. Campbell— born in Macbias, Me., October, 1838, 
moved to New York in 1852, and to Aurora, 111., in 1856, and was 
engaged in the hardware business until spring, 1861. when he en- 
listed in the U. S. service and served until 1865; in January, 1865, 
he married Abbie L. Weddell, of Aurora, III.; March ,1868 he re- 
moved to Vermillion, D. T., and was appointed register of land 
office in May. '79; continued in said office until June 15, 1880; 
have four children — three sons and one daughter. 

A. Clendenning — farmer; born in New Brunswick in 1830; 
came to the West in '55, and settled at Taylors Falls, and for 
many years was engaged in the lumber business; in 1878 he re- 
moved to Sioux Falls and for a short time sold groceries at 
wholesale and retail; he erected what is known as Clendenning 
Block; he removed to his present farm in 1879; in the same year 
he was elected county commissioner, which position he still holds; 
he married Martha Clendenning, a native of Michigan; they have 
nine children — six sons and three daughters. 

J. B. Cloudas — was born in Tazew.^1! county, 111., in 1852; in 
^66 he went to Missouri, where he remained until 1870, when he 
removed to Yankton and soon after settled here. 

H. H. Carroll — was born in Canada in 1858; in 1865 he came 
to Shabony, Ilk, with his parents; from there he went to Iowa, 
and thence to Rochester, Minn.; he returned to Emmetsburg, lo., 
and was engaged three years in butchering and buying and ship- 
ping stock; in 1880 he removed to Canton, D. T.; here he re- 
mained one year and then located in this city and engaged in his 
present business. 

Gr. P. Cross — attorney at law; born in Rensaeler Falls, N.Y., 
nl850; came to Dakota Territory in 1878, and settled here and 
iengaged in the practice of law; taught school in Ohio four years, 
and was admitted to the bar in St. Croix county, Wis. 

0. N. Dahl — was born in Norway in 1850; came to America 
in 1868 and settled in Austin, Minn.; he went to Minneapolis 
from there and thence to Sioux City, and in 1879 he came to this 
city; married Nelda Wilkinson, a native of Wisconsin; they have 
one daughter — Mattie, 

W. S. Darby — born in Prince Edward Islands in 1850, came 



310 SIOT-X FALLS BIOGHAPUIK.S. 

to United States in June, 1873 and located in IMinneapolis; in 
1879 he removed to Sioux Palls. 

Joseph N. Dickson — sheriff of Minnehaha county, elected in 
1 80; born in Logan conuty, Ohio, in 1840; came to Dakota in 
1871 and settled in this city and engaged in fanning; married R. 
S. Swezey, a native of Ohio; they have six children; three sons 
and three daughters. 

I. C. Dixon — born in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, in 1839; 
came to Dakota in 1871 and settled here. 

L. T. Dunning — born in Jefferson County, Wis., in 1846; came 
to Dakota in 1873 and settled in Sioux Falls. 

H. Easton — ]iainter; born in Norway in 1850; came to Ameri- 
ca in 1852 and settled in Houstin Co., Minn. ;came[to Sioux Falls in 
1878; married Sophia Bergeson. 

L. M. Estabrook — born in Platteville, Wis., in 1852; came to 
Iowa in 1868, and in 1877 came to Sioux Falls. He graduated in 
the law class of 1875, at Ann Arbor, Mich.; he married Mary M. 
Cornwall, a native of Canada. 

John M. Entzminger — born in Germany in 1847; came to 
America in 1868 and located in Chicago; removed here in 1880; 
married Mary Glasser, also a native of German}^; have four chil- 
dren, two sons and two daughters. 

Oscar Errickson — born in Sweden in 1853; came to America 
in 1872 and located in Canada; in 1876 came to the United States, 
and located in Sioux Falls in 1879, and engaged in his present 
business. 

F. W. Farweli — was born in Fond du Lac, Wis., in 1851 ; came 
to Dakota in 1878 and engaged in his present business. 

H. A. Fairbank — bookeeper for Edwin, Sharp & Co. 

A. T. Fleetwood — postmaster and dealer in stationery and 
cigars; born in Sweden in 1828; came to America in 1846 and set- 
tled in Milwaukee, Wis.; lived there a short time and enlisted in 
the Mexican War and served one year; he settled in Stoughton, 
Dane Co., Wis., until 1861, when he enlisted in Co. B 5th Wis. 
Infantry, and served until close of war; he was promoted to 2d 
Lieutenant, and afterwards to 1st Lieutenant in Company K. He 
was in a great many battles during the war and was honorably 
discharged in Halls Hill, Va., on the 12th of June, 1865. After 
war settled in Austin, Minn., where he lived three years; he then 
traveled through the Southern States; in 1872 came to this city, 
and has been here since; first was in tobacco business; in 1876 was 
appointed postmaster. 

M. M. Flaska — bom in Berlin, Germany, in 1840; came to 
America in 1852; in 1868 he came to Dakota and settled in this 
town; married Mary Shoemaker, a native of Wis.; they have two 
children, Louis and Charles. 



SIOUX FALLS BIOGRAPHIES 311 

A. Frizzell — born in Essex Co., Yt.. in 1839; in 1855 went to 
Columbia Co., Wis., and a yenr later to Eau Claire Co., and in ISG-i 
to Wabasha Co.; in 1878 came to Sioux Falls and engaged in the 
practice of law; married Mary C. Barber, a native of New York; 
they have one child, Ethel M. 

A, Grale — born in New Jersey in 1825; went to Albion, N. Y. 
in 1838; came west to St. Paul, Minn., in 1854, and in 1871 to 
Sioux Falls and engaged in present business; was among the first 
settlers of this village; married Louisa E. Churchill, a native of 
New York. 

M. Gerin — born in Ireland; came to America in 1852 and lo- 
cated with parents in Canada; in 1877 he came to United States, 
and his first permanent location was in this city. 

H. Gilbert — born in Germany in 1833; came to America in 
1846, and settled in Washington Co., Wis.: came to Sioux Falls in 
1873. 

J. Grant — bcrn in Montreal. Canada, in 1855: came to Sioux 
Falls Aug. 19th, 1880. 

Murray A. Gould — born in Maine in 1856; came west in 1878 
and settled in Minneapolis, where he was employed in the Wash- 
burne Mills: came to Sioux Falls April, 1881, and engaged in the 
Queen Bee Mill. 

Geo. Gildersleeve — head miller and manager of Queen Bee 
Mill; born in Columbia Co., N. Y., in 1838; came to Minneapolis, 
Minn., in 1878 and was engaged in the construction of Washburne's 
Mill; came to Sioux Falls, August 19th, 1880. 

A. A. Grout — born in Dane Co., Wis., in 1850: came to Sioux 
Falls in 1878. 

Gunder K. Gunderson — was born in Norway m 1825; came to 
America in 1864, and located in Chicago where he remained until 
he came to Sioux Falls in 1880; married Bertha Frank, also a na- 
tive of Norway; they have seven children, four sons and three 
daughters. 

Charles E. Gregory — born in Nanvoo, III, in 1856; came to 
Dakota in 1880, and engaged in the practice of law at Sioux Falls. 

Philo Hall — born in Canada in 1841; came to Sioux Falls in 
March, ISSO; inarried Mary E. Green, a native of New York city; 
they have four children, Philo, Mary, Geo. P. and Nellie May. 

R. C. Hawkins — probate judge; born in Clinton county, N. 
Y., July 23, 1824; in '44 he removed to Aurora, 111.; six years 
later he removed to Richland county, Wis., where he lived until 
1872, when he removed to Sioux Falls; in 1878 he was elected 
probate judge, which office he still holds; has been twice married, 
first to Ada Munroe, a native of Connecticut; they had eight 
children, three of which are now living; married again Hattie 
Albertson. a native of Pennsvlvania: have one child — John R. 



312 SIOUX FALLS BIOGRAPHIES. 

A. J. Hayes — cand}^ factory; born in Albany county, N. Y., 
in 1834; he came to Illinois in about 1852, and in 1874 he re- 
moved to Sioux Falls; married Nellie Long, a native of England; 
they have three children. 

T. Hardiman — machinist, Queen Bee mill; born in Lake Su- 
perior in 1857; came to Sioux Falls in 1879. 

J. B. Hawley — surveyor and city civil engineer; born in 
Osnabrook, Canada, in 1847; he lived in Ogdensburg, N. Y., until 
he was ten years old; he came west with his parents and settled in 
Mankato, Minn.; he came to Sioux Falls in 1880. 

John Henjum — dealer in staple and fancy groceries; born in 
Norway in 1844; came to America in '48 and settled in Dane co., 
Wisconsin; lived there until '61, when hereinoved to Decorah, la., 
and attended Luther College; he afterwards taught school until 
1876, when he moved toSioux Falls; married Christie Bersie, a na- 
tive of Winnesheik Co., Iowa, and they have two children, Han- 
nah, Louisa and John Albert. 

C. 0. Henjum — born in Norway in 1847; came to America in 
1866, and settled in Fillmore county, Minn; came to Dakota in 
1872, and located in Sioux Falls, engaged in present business in 
1878. Married Petrine B. Anderson, a native of Norway. They 
have one child — a daughter. 

Henry L. HoUister — cashier of 1st National Bank, Sioux Falls; 
born in Winnebago county, Ills., in 1856; came to Dakota in 
1877 and engaged in his present business. Married Fanny C. Mer- 
ritt, a native of Winnebago county, Illinois. They have one 
daughter. 

C. K. Howard — dealer in general merchandise and stock; born 
in Delaware Co., N. Y., in 1836; came west in 1856 and settled in 
Sioux City and engaged in steam boating, afterwards in drug bus- 
iness. Came to Sioux Falls in 1869, and engaged in present busi- 
ness. 

John Q. Houts — billard saloon; ])orn in Indianain 1848; went 
to Kansas in 1863, and removed to Sioux Falls in 1877, and en- 
gaged in present business. Married Lulu Dennison a native of 
N. Y. 

J. F. Hopkins — agent for American Express Company. 

J. H. Hutchins — born in New Hampshire in 1842; in 1878 he 
came to Dakota and engaged in his present business. 

C. W. Hul)bard— superintendent of "the Sioux Falls Water 
Power Company. 

H. F. Jackson — millwright and l)uilder, employed at Queen 
Bee Mill. 

Mads Johnson — Sioux Falls millwright, (^ueen Bee mill: born 
in Norway in 1847; came to America in 1872, and settled in Fil- 



SIOUX FALLS BIOGRAPHIES. 313 

more Co., Minn.; came here in 1880; married Nattie Peterson, a 
native of Norwdy; they have three children. 

W. W. Johnson — was born in Williams county, Ohio, in 1847; in 
1872 came to Dakota and settled in this county; married Armena 
Rathbun, a native of New York. They hav^ three children, Jen- 
nie, Harvey and Zeruia. 

C. A, Kampt — proprietor of billiard hall; established in Jan., 
1881; he was born in Sweden in 1834; came to America in 1870, 
and settled in Yankton. Came to Sioux Falls, in Oct., 1880. 

W. R. Kingsbury — dealer in dry goods; born in Connecticut, 
in 1832; was in dry goods business in Chicago, Ills., for a number 
of years; went to Nebraska in 1857, and located in Sioux Falls in 
1878 and established business. 

Geo. A. Knott — proprietor of Sioux Falls Brewery, establish- 
ed in 1874; built at a cost of $20,000 and has a capacity for mak- 
ing 4,000 barrels per year; born in Sussex, England, in 1838; came 
to America in '56 and settled in Belvidere, Ills., where he lived 
until 1860, and removed to Waverly, Iowa, and remained there 
until 1874, he then came to Sioux Falls. He married Mary Beebe, 
a native of New York. They have two children — Jennie and 
Georgia. 

James Krebs — proprietor of Sioux Falls House; born in Penn- 
sylvania in 1843; came to Wisconsin in 3860 and settled in Vernon 
county; removed here in April, 1873. Married Alice Huggins, a 
native of Wisconsin. They have three children, Annetta, Edward, 
Earnest. 

J. M. Leavitt — was born in Waukesha county. Wis., in 1842; 
in 1878 came to Sioux Falls and engaged in present business. 

T. F. Leavitt — was born in Waukesha county. Wis., in 1844; in 
Jan., 1874, he moved to Red Wing, Minn., and two years later 
came here and engaged in his present business; married Ella Stone, 
a native of Wisconsin; have two children, a son and daughter. 

Geo. W.Lewis — insurance; established in 1878; born in Ma- 
lone, Franklin county, N. Y., in 1844; came to Dakota in the 
pring of 1878, and engaged in present business. 

J. B. LeBlond — physician and surgeon; established in May, 
1880; born in Richland county, Ohio, in 1825; came to Minnesota 
in 1856 and settled in Brownsville, where he remained until 1880; 
married Kate Ward, a native of Middletown, Ohio; they have two 
sons. 

Chas. Manouk- stone dresser; born in Smyrna in 1853; came 
to America in 1861 and settled in New York City and remained 
three years; removed to Rochester, N. Y., and stayed; then Avent 
to Chicago, Ills.; stayed there three ye.ars; then went to Milwau- 



314 SIOL'X FALLS BIOGRAPHIES. 

kee, Wis.; stayed one year; and moved to Minneapolis Minn.; 
stayed one and one-half years, and came to Sioux Falls in December, 
1880. 

Thos C. Marson — carpenter and builder; established in 1876; 
born in En<?land in 1^^34; came to America in 1845, and settled in 
Rochester; N. Y.. in 1855 he came to Dayton, Ohio, and soon 
after removed to Illinois; he married Sophia Mayo, a native of Eng- 
land. They have six children, Ida, Jessie, Roger, Mattie, Mayo 
and Sophia. 

A. L. Marcy — born in Springfield, Mass., in 1851: in 1867 he 
came to Chicago, where he lived until he came to Sioux Falls; he 
graduated in the class of 1873, at a Homeopathic Medical College. 
Philadelphia. 

Chas McKinney — born in Athens. Bradford county, Penn., in 
1856; came to Dakota in ISSO and settled in this city; he is a mem- 
ber of the banking firm of McKinney & Scougal. Married Ella 
A. Waterman, a native of Coldwater, Michigan. 

John McKee — born in Belfast, Ireland, i;i 1847; came tc 
America in *6S, and located in New York; in '71 came here. Mar- 
ried Ella Brooks, a native of Wisconsin. They have three child- 
ren. 

John M. Manson — born in Cleveland. Ohio, in 1850: came to 
Dakota in 1878. 

Chas. 0. Natesta — register of deeds and county clerk: elected 
in 1878; born in Rock county, Wis., 1841; in May, 1873 he came 
to this city and engaged in merchandising until elected to this 
office in '78. Married Nellie M. Blair, a native of Dane co., Wis.; 
have one child, Pheba E. 

E. S. Norton — station agent, Chicago, St. Paul & Omaha; 
born in Glenn Falls, New York, in 1846: came to Wisconsin in 
1859, and settled in Rock county: Aug. 31, 1880 he came to Sioux 
Falls; he married Annie E. Stewart, a native of New York. They 
have two sons and one daughter. 

C. L. Norton — assistant cashier First National Bank. 

John T. Norton — born in Schenectady, N. Y., in 1843; came 
to Iowa in '53. and settled in Lansing; in 1878 he came to Sioux 
Falls. Married Catherine Norton; a native of Mass. They have 
one child, Nellie. 

S. Olney — born in Warren county, Pa., in 1846: came west in 
1869 and settled in Sioux Rapids, Iowa; removed to Turner county. 
D. T., in 1875: thence, in 1877. to this city. 

J.W.Parker. Jr. — born in Warren, Illinois in 1851; came 
to Sioux Falls in June, 1881. 

R. (j. Parmley — born in Rock county. Wis., in 1851: came to 
Sioux Falls in March, 1!^78. ]Married Fanny Damm. They have 
two sons and one daughter. 



SIOUX FALLS BIOGRAPHIES. 315 

Edwin Parliman — born in Ohio in 1832. In 1853 went to 
to Decorah. Iowa, and in 1859 removed to Hastings, Minn, and 
came here in 1877; enlisted in 1863 and served three years; com- 
missioned captain. Married Isabel J. North, a native of Ohio. 
They have four children, Anna, Ralph W., Percy and Mary. 

J. B. Peterson — proprietor of 9th street meat market; estab- 
lished in 1878; born in Ontario, Canada, in 1848; came to Sioux 
Falls inl878; married Edith E. Morey, a native of Vermont; they 
have two children; a son and daughter. 

A. Petterson — born in Norway, in 1833; came to America in 
''6Q, and located in Chicago; in '68 became to Ft. Sully, p. T., and. 
removed to Sioux Falls in '72, and was employed as carpenter and 
builder until he engaged in present business; married Betti Nelson, 
a native of Sweden. He has one son by a former wife. 

Wm. Peterson — was born in Denmark in 1852; came to Amer- 
ica in 1872, and settled in Yankton: in 1877 he removed to Sioux 
Falls. 

Porter P. Peck — born in Canada in 1843; came to U. S. when 
he was 10 years old and located with his parents at Kenosha, Wis.; 
in 1872 he came to Sioux Falls and engaged in his present business; 
married Catherine W. Cornue, a native of Wisconsin, 

J. L. Phillips — born in Maine in 1835; came to Dakota in '57 
and settled here; in 1861 he enlisted as surgeon of the 16th Iowa 
Infantry, and served four years; in '69 he returned to Sioux Falls 
and for a number of years practiced medicine. 

Place Bros. & Co.— C. E. Place was born in Maine in 1839; 
came to Dakota in April, 1880. 

Phillip Plaster — proprietor of First and Last Chance, near St. 
Paul depot, 8th Street; born in Niagara county, N. Y., in 1849; 
came to Sioux Falls in November, 1878, and engaged in present 
business. 

Henry Pontz — dealer in cigars and tobacco; established in 1879; 
born in Pennsylvania in 1849; he came to Sioux Falls in 1879; 
married Mary Vrennen. a native of Minn. 

T. H. Prumer — blacksmith. Established business in 1874; 
born in Ohio in 1855; came to Wisconsin in 1860; went to Illinois, 
thence to Iowa and in 1871 came to Sioux Falls; married Jennie 
Knott, a native of Bremer county, Iowa, they have one child, a 
son. 

T. A. Robinson — insurance; established business in 1878 under 
firm name of Briggs & Robinson; born in England in 1847; came 
to America in 1855 and located in Detroit, Mich.; came to Sionx 
•Falls in 1868; has been in the Territory fourteen years. 

Michaels & Roberts — proprietors of meat market opposite Com- 
mercial Hotel. 

Thos. Roberts — born in England in 1841; came to America in 



316 SIOUX FALLS lilOGRAPHIES. 

'43 and settled in New Jersey; he came to Sioux Falls in 1878; 
opened business for himself in August, 1881. 

W. C. Rose — stone dresser: born in Monroe county, N. Y., in 
1847; came to Chicago. 111., in 1868, and thence to West Liberty, 
la.; came to Sioux Falls, January, 1881. 

Edwin E. Sage — real estate dealer, Howard & Taylor's Block. 

Geo. B. Sammons — dealer in general merchandise, Brandon, 
Minnehaha county, D. T.; established business in 1881; born in 
Oneida county, N. Y., in 1834; came to this place in 1873; mar- 
ried Ada Robinson, a native of Gennessee county, N. Y.; they 
"have two. children, a son and daughter. 

Clayton T. Sischo — watchmaker and jeweler; established bus- 
iness in 1879: born in Michigan in 1857; came to Dakota in 1877, 
and settled in Vermillion; removed to Sioux Falls in 1879. 

Edwin Sharp & Co. — dealers in lumber, doors, sash and blinds; 
Edwin Sharp was born in Connecticut in 1843; in 1871 he came 
to Sioux Falls, and engaged in lumber business. 

E. A. Sherman — of firm of Emerson, Sherman & Co: born in 
Massachusetts in 1844; came to Woodbury county, Iowa, in 1872, 
and engaged in teaching; the following year he came to this place 
and engaged in editing the Independent, which he continued one 
and a half years. Then opened real estate and loan office, and in 
1876 was elected Territory Treasurer; and confirmed by governor; 
held two years, and was appointed auditor, which office he held 
two years. He is one of the owners of the Cascade mill prop- 
erty. Married Florence S. Cowdreif, of Melrose, Mass.; they have 
one child, a daughter. Mr. S. has held various town offices; pres- 
ident of school board; at present is president of the Territorial In- 
stitute for Deaf Mutes. 

Charles T. Scheel — grain buyer for Basset, Hunting k Co.i 
McGregor, Iowa. Born in St. Louis in 1851; came to Iowa in 
1872 and settled in Ridgjway; came to Sioux Falls Aug., 1881. 

Christ Skoyen — born in Norway in 1848; came to America in 
1873. and settled in Chicago; in 1877 he came to Sioux Falls; mar- 
ried Lizzie Hansen, a native of Norway; have one child, Josephe- 
nia. 

Geo. D. Smead — was born in Luzerne county, Penn., in '49; 
came to Grant county. Wis., in 1855, and settled near Bee Town; 
in 1878 came to Sioux Falls; married Nancy l^arninghani, a native 
of Grant county; they have two children Frank and Josie. 

Wm. Snell — born in Rice county, Minn., in 1859; spent two 
years in Minneapolis, Minn., in tlie fiour business; came to Sioux 
Falls, July, 1881: married Nettie Thompson, a native of St. 
Cloud, Minn. 

H. M. Stearns, millwright; born in Vermont in 1846; came to 
Wisconsin and settled in Chippewa county; removed to Minneapo- 



SIOUX FALLS BIOGRAPHIES. 317 

lis, Minn., in 1878; came to Sioux Falls in July, 1880. Married 
Frances Gorman, a native of Wisconsin. They have two children. 
Perry A. C. Stevens — Millwright; born in Oswego county, 
N. Y., in 1S47; came west in 1856 and settled in 111. Removed to 
Ft. Dodge, Iowa, in 187<), and in 1881 located inSioux Falls; mar- 
ried Stella Richards, a native of New Hampshire. They have two 
children. 

M. A. Stickney — miller; born in Vermont in 1846 came west in 
1855, and settled in Winona county, Minn; came to Sioux Falls 
in 1877; married Mary E. Roberts, a native of Indiana. They 
have two children. 

John Sundback — of the firm of Johnson & Sundback; born 
in Sweden in 1850; came to America in 1867 and settled in Des 
Moines, lo.; came to this county in 1872 and settled in Edson 
township; entered the first claim in that town; engaged in farm- 
ing until the spring of 1881; married Jennie Bentson, a native of 
Norway. They have three children. 

Albert H. Stites — dealer in drugs and medicines; established 
business in 1881; born in Pennsylvania in 1857; came to Sioux 
Falls in July, 1881 and engaged in business here. 

0. S. Swenson — dealer in hardware, stoves and tinware; es- 
tablished business in 1880; born in Norway in 1845; came to 
America in '57 and settled in Nicollet county, Minn.; came to 
Sioux Falls in 1880; married Eliza S. Ranney, a native of Ken- 
tucky, They have three children; two sons and a daughter. 

L. S. Swezey — attorney at law; established business in 1879; 
had ten years practice in Chicago before coming here; completed 
collegiate course at Beloit college, Wis. 

F. W. Taylor— born in Omro, Wis., in 1857; in 1867 he 
went to Chicago, where he lived thirteen years; in 1880 he came 
to Sioux Falls and engaged in the hardware business. 

K. Thompson — proprietor of Thompson House and dealer in 
agricultural implements; born in Norway in 1847; came to 
America in 1852, and settled in Wisconsin; came to Sioux Falls in 
1875; married Rachael Thompson; they have three children. 

J. P. Tufts — sale stable and dealer in stock; born in Brattle- 
boro, Vt., in 1852; came to Illinois in '56, and lived with his 
parents near Genesseo; he has been engaged in various business, 
until July, 1880, he located at this city and engaged in his present 
business. 

C. H. Vincent — born in Jefferson county, N. Y., in 1845; 
came to Sioux Falls in March, 1877 and engaged in the hardware 
business, which business he still continues; he married C. F. 
Raynor, a native of Wisconsin. 

Edward Watson — physician and surgeon; born in Canada in 
1840; came to the United States in '49 and settled in Ann Arbor, 



318 ELKTON AN'D MARIOX JUNCTION" BIOGRAPHIES. 



Mich., where he received his medical education, graduating in the 
class of 1873: in 1878 he came to Sioux Falls: married Alice J. 
Fralick. a native of Michigan. 

J. B. Watson— miller, Queen Bee mill; born in Nelson, 
Madison county, N. Y., in 1840; came west in I860: located in 
Sioux Fails in 1878; married Mary Nelson, a native of Norway; 
they have three children. 

Cyrus Walts— born in Jefferson county. Wis., in 1844; went 
to Yankton in *69; in the spring of 1870 he came here and en- 
gaged in real estate; was appointed clerk of the district court in 
1874, which position he still holds; he has been superintendent of 
schools one year, county surveyor four years; married Mary A. 
Benton, a native of Columbus, Ohio: have three children— Charles 
C, Hattie L. and Hope. 

Guy C. Weed— collector: born in Racine. Wis., in 1845; 
came to St. Paul. Minn., in 1870, and in 1878 came to Sioux Falls; 
married Helen T. Jones, a native of Wisconsin; have three sons. 

C. H. Winsor — attorney at law; established business in 1870; 
tried the first law-suit in this county; born in Elkhorn, Walworth 
county. Wis., in 1847; came to Canton, D. T., in 1870 and re- 
moved to this city in 1873. 

John Zeutel— proprietor of Cataract saloon, also proprietor of 
billiard hall opposite Commercial House; born in Hessian, Ger- 
many, in 1845; came to America in August, '65 and settled in 
New York; in October, 1879, came to Sioux Falls. 



John Black — general merchandise; born at Canton, 0., in 
1848; moved with parents to Freeport, Ills.; thence in 1871 to 
Tenn.; thence in 1873 to Salt Lake City, where he remained six 
years, when he removed to Rochester, Minn.; came to Elkton in 
the winter of 1880-81; married to Jennie Powers, of St. Paul, 
Minn. 

A. W. Blanchard— general merchandise, firm of Morse & 
Blanchard; born in Vt. in 1854; moved to Iowa in 1872; thence 
to Dakota in 1876; came to Elkton in May, 1880. Mr. Bhmchard 
Avas the first to engage in business in Elkton. 

A. F. Henry — general merchandise: Ijorn in Germany in 1845; 
came to the U. S., in 1852, and located in Wis.: thence to Minn., 
in 1878; came to Elkton in Dec, 1880; married to Winnie Shep- 
pard, of Wis., and has one son Marrion Fink. 

ilIAISI4>.> .II :\CTI03f. 

Louis Sawady — was born in I'russia in 1854; ctime to Amer- 
ica in 1871, and settled in New York, where he resided two and 
one-half vears: he then moved to P>;itavia where he remained four 



PARKER BIOGRAPHIES. 319 



years; from there he movect to Swan Lake, Dakota, and shortly 
afterward located permanently at Marion Junction, where he is at 
present, postmaster. 

John Ryan — was born in Ireland in 18i3; came to America 
in 1851, and settled in Wisconsin; from Wisconsin he moved to 
Idaho, Montana and Colorado; from there to Texas; thence to 
Illinois; thence to Dakota in 1879; he was United States deputy 
marshal in a district in Texas. 

Dr. W. W. Nutting — was born in Windsor county, Vermont 
in 1839; came west in 1877, and settled in Cedar Rapids, Iowa; he 
then removed to Iowa City; and in the fall of 1880, moved to Ma- 
rion Junction, Dakota; he married Jennie W. AVard, of Iowa City, 
Iowa; he has six children; W, W. Jr.. physician in Mitchell; C. E.. 
traveling- man; R. R., clerk in hotel: Cora I., teacher of music; 
Aggie E., and Minnie M. 

Louis Schafer — was born in Wisconsin in 1852; in 1879 he 
came west and settled in Marian Junction. 

Fred Roeber — was bom in Watertown, Wisconsin, in 1853; 
in April, 1879, came to Dakota and settled in Cameron, and soon 
afterward moved to Marion Junction, where he was one of the 
earliest settlers; he has served as justice of the peace, school clerk 
and other town offices; he is now (1881) president of the village; 
he married Ernestine Gosskopf, of Wisconsin; they have one boy 
named William. 

Henry Roeber — was born in Wisconsin in 1855; in May, 1879, 
he came west and settled in Cameron, Dakota; in October, 1879, 
he moved to Marion Junction, where he is now located, (1881). 

T. C. Winn — was born in Wisconsin in 1854; came west in 
1874, where he followed the harness business; he then moved back 
to Wisconsin; in 1879, he again came west and settled in Marion 
Junction; he has served as road supervisor here one term; he mar- 
ried Julia Walters, of Iowa; have one girl, named Maggie. 



PARKER. 

W. S. Branch — was born in Ohio in 1854; came west and set- 
tled in Rochester, Minnesota, in 1876; moved to Dakota in March, 
1880, and settled in Parker, and established his business. 

H. H. Schafer— was born in Bavaria in 1815; came to Amer- 
ica in 1854, and settled in Iowa; from Iowa he came here in 1867; 
he married Ada Tubbs, of New York state. 

S. Hay ward — was born in Wayne county. New York in 1829; 
came west in 1856, and settled in New Lisbon, Wisconsin; in 1874, 
he moved to Vermillion, Dakota; established business in Parker in 
1879; he served in the army fifteen niohths; he married Sarah A. 
Harris, of Ontario county,'New York; has six children, Mary E., 
Franklin E., Maria, Wallace, Nellie, and Willie. 



320 PABKER BIOGRAPHIES. ^j 



Vale p. Tliielman— born in (Termany in 1843; came to Amer- 
ica in 1845. and settled in NeAV York, Avhere lie received his educa 
tion; in 1863, he came west and settled in Illinois; from Illinois 
he came to Dakota in 1864, and settled in Sioux Falls; for some 
time afterwards he traveled up and down the Missouri in the em- 
ploy of the government; he was the first white male settler in 
Turner county: came there in 1869; he -served in the military two 
and a-half years in this Territorv and three years in the regular 
army; he was in the 147th Illinois, company D; was a member of 
the Territorial legislature one term; he has served in almostevery 
capacity as county and town olFicer; was superintendent of immi- 
gration for some time: he married Sarah J. Black, of Galena, III; 
they have one adopted child, named Nora. 

J. A. Hand — was born in Akron, Summit county, Ohio, in 
1845; came to Wisconsin in 1850 and settled in Columbia county; 
he received his education in Wisconsin; in 1862, he moved to Ill- 
inois; he then moved back to Wisconsin in 1865; in the fall of 
1866,' he moved to Yankton, D. T., where he read law and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1869; the fall of 1869, he was elected district 
attorney; in the spring of 1871, he moved to Sioux Falls, Dakota, 
where he practiced law, and Avas appointed district attorney: in the 
fall of 1873. he moved back to Yankton, where he practiced law 
until 1876, when he was elected probate judge; in the spring of 
1877, he was appointed register of deeds, of Lawrence county, in 
which capacity he served eight months; after that he practiced 
law in Crook City, until the fall of 1878; that fall he moved to 
Swan Lake, D. T., and the following fall he moved to Parker, 
where he settled permanently; he was the first attorney to locate 
in Parker; he married a daughter of the Rev. Dr. Hoyt, of Yank- 
ton; they have three children, Russell C, James A., MelancthonR. 

W. H. Heselton — was born in Skowhegan, Maine in 1850; 
came west in 1876, and settled in California, where he remained 
three years; in 1880 he moved to Parker, D. T., where he is now a 
resident. 

Gustav Gilbert— was born in Norway in 1846; came to Amer- 
ica in 1864, and settled in Alaraakee county, Iowa: he from there 
moved to Sioux Rapids and started that town; he was the first 
postmaster in Sioux Rapids; from there he moved to Dakota; he 
married Carrie Hansen, of Norway; they have one boy, named 
Julius C. V. 

C. H. Fay — was born in the state of New York in 1851; in 
1859, he came west, and settled in Wisconsin; in 1869, he moved 
to Iowa, and from Iowa to Parker, Dakota: he married Fmma 
Premo. of Wisconsin; they have three children, Lewis W., Mel- 
ville D., and Mabel L. 

G. S. Rathbun— was born in Dane county, Wisconsin in 1849; 
in 1865, he moved to Floyd county, Iowa; he then moved to Lake 



PARKER BIOGRAPHIES. 321 

Superior, and from there to Sioux Falls, Dakota; from Sioux Falls 
he moved to Parker; he served in the army seven months, in the 
44:th Wisconsin volunteer infantry, under Colonels E. G. Sims and 
Bissell. 

L. Gilbert — was horn in the state of New York in 1827; in 
1857, came west and settled in Minnesota; in 1877, moved to Da- 
kota and settled in Parker in 1879; served in the army eight 
months; went in as lieutenant in the heavy artillery; married 
Miss Brand, of Madison county, New York; they have one child 
named Charles E. 

M. T. Howard — was born in Gennesseo, Henry county, Ills., 
in 1853; in 1870. he went to Wisconsin; he then moved to Sioux 
Falls, Dakota, and from there to Parker: he was one of the first 
settlers of this town; has been deputy sheriff and constable at dif- 
ferent times; he married Julia M. Coon, of Wisconsin; they have 
two children. Lulu D., and Corrinne. 

George Hatch — was born in Michigan in 1859; came west in 
1873, and settled in Yankton, Dakota; in 1880. he moved to Par- 
ker where he established business; he married Christina Smith, of 
Parker, Dakota. 

George W. Howard — was born in Gennesseo, Illinois in 1840; 
in 1862, he moved to Wisconsin and settled in Ft. Atkinson; in 
1868, he moved to Edgerton, Wisconsin; in 1878, he moved to 
Sioux Falls, D. T., and from there to Parker, where he is now 
located; He married Olive D. Coon, of Utica, Wisconsin; they 
have five children, Gladdys C, George W. Jr., Clarence S., Lucy 
and Maud. 

C. G. Pratt — was born in Maine in 1848; came west in the 
spring of 1866, and settled in Milwaukee, AYisconsiu; he then 
moved to Southern Illinois, where he was connected with tlie I. C. 
R. R., for twelve years; he then moved to Waterloo, Iowa, where 
he went into business; from Waterloo he came to Parker, Dakota; 
he was the first white man on the town site; he served in the navy 
the last year of the war; served as a clerk in the postoffice depart- 
ment in'Mihvaukee; he married Anna Harrington, of Oswego, N. 
Y.; they have two children, Robert and Alice. 

Dr. A. L. Peterman — was born in Ripley county, Indiana in 
1852; Avas educated at the Iowa State University; graduated in 
1877; practiced his profession in Iowa, for two years and then 
moved to Swan Lake, Dakota; after the town of Parker started he 
moved there and settled permanently; he has been pension sur- 
geon the past year; is at present county coroner. 

H. H. Vernon — was born in Ohio in 1847; came west in 1851; 
and settled in Illinois; then removed to Iowa, and from Iowa he 
came to Dakota where he settled permanently; he has served as 
justice of the peace one term; he married Ellen Berry, of Penn- 
sylvania; they have two children, Bertie T., and Ernest E. 



322 EGAN BIOGRAPHIES. 



(leo. Bidwell — (lo])uty postmaster; boni in liuliuna. in 1855; 
moved to Iowa in 1870; the followin<if year he came to Dakota and 
settled in Moody county. 

D. Bidwell— merchant; born in Wayne county, Ohio, in 1822; 
moved to Mich, in 1836; thence to Indiana and thence to Iowa; 
came to Moody county in 1878; married to Abbie Roberts, and has 
two children, a son and daughter. 

E. G. Boynton — agent for John Paul, lumber; born in Cort- 
landt county, N. Y.. in 1847; moved to Palmyra. Wis., in 1865; 
thence to Chicago, Ills., where he remained ten years in the lum- 
ber business, and M^as there during the Chicago fire; came to 
Dakota in Feb., 1879; married to Abbie E. Graves, of Cortlandt 
county, N. Y. , 

Alfred Brown — farmer; born in Huron county, Ohio, in 1820; 
located in Illinois, thence to Green Lake, Wis.; thence to Dodds 
county, Minn., and came to Moody county in 1878; married Mary 
Gilbert, of Conn., and has four children, A. L., F. D., Mary and 
A. G. Brown. 

Geo. M. DeGroff — attorney. Was born in Green Lake county, 
Wisconsin, in 1850. Came to Dakota in June, 1881, and settled 
in Egan; he is a graduate of the law department of Kansas State 
University. 

W. E. Gessell — restauranteur; born in Indiana in 1858; came 
to Egan, November, 1880. 

John Hobart — hardware; born in N. H., in 1832; moved to 
Fillmore county, Minn., in 1861; thence to Moody county, Dakota, 
in 1878; married Rebecca Miller, of Cauada, and has one daughter 
Nellie L.. 

Enos Karn — meat market; born in Lansing, N. Y., in 1847. 
Located in Kansas in 1806; thence to Minnesota; thence in spring, 
of 1880 to Egan. Married to Matella D. Thrall, of N. Y.. and has 
one daughter. 

Geo. R Lanning — editor Express; born at Belvidere, N. J., 
Aug. 14th, 1844; moved to Iowa City, Iowa, in 1857; thence to 
Janesville, Clear Lake and Mason City; served two years and eight 
months during the war; returned to Mason City in 1870; thence to 
Garner. Iowa; thence back to Mason City; from the latter place to 
Lime Si)rings, Iowa, and from there to Roscoe, Moody county, D. 
T., in 1878, Avhere he started the Eagan Express. Has been en- 
gaged in the newspaper business twelve years. Married to Mary 
Knadler, at Mason City, Iowa, and has ono son and three daugh- 
ters. 

J. E. Schneider-physician and surgeon; born in France in 
1846; his first location was in Milwaukee; thence to Utica, Minn., 



MADISOX BIOGRAPHIES. 323 



where he lived fifteen years. Came to Moody county in 1877. 
Married to Olive E. Nash, of Ohio, and has three sons and one 
daughter, 

S. S. Taylor — proprietor Taylor House; born in Bedford coun- 
ty. Pa. Came west in 1855 aud settled in Blackhawk countj^Iowa; 
thence to Jessup, Iowa, w'here he was for 22 years in the hotel 
business. Came to Egan, Nov. 25, 1880. Married to Anna Mar- 
garet Clark, of Pennsylvania, and has eight children, five sons and 
three daughters. 

T. H. Vandergrift — agent for Corgil Bros., grain dealers. 
Born in Philadelphia. Pa., in 1842. Moved to Austin, Minn., in 
1857; came to Sioux Falls in 1874; thence to Egan in the spring of 
1881. Married to Agnes Dodge, of Wisconsin, and has two 
daughters. 



]UAl>l!!iO:^. 

0, G. Auley — jeweler; born in Norway in 1839; came to Amer- 
ica in 1861, and settled in Chicago; thence to Iowa; thence here; 
he married Julia Sanderson, also of Norway. 

J. U. Andrews — propr of Madison House, Madison, Dak., es- 
tablished in July, 1880, by Wra. Lee; purchased by Mr. A. in 
Aug. 1881; born in Crawford county, Penn.. in 1831; came west 
in 1855, and settled in Fon du Lac county. Wis.; removed to Wa- 
seca county, Minn., in 1857; came to Flandreau Oct., 1878, and 
kept the Valley House three years; married Eliza L. Nelson, a na- 
tive of Penn.; have four children, Luella, Addie, Nettie and Grace. 

0. E. Batchelder — real estate dealer; born in Orauge count v, 
Vt., in 1837; came west in 1839, and located in Racine county, 
Wis.; thence to Trempealeau, Wis., and to Dak. in 1873; he married 
Martha Seymour, a native of New York; they have two sons and 
one daughter. 

John Buckley — contractor and builder: born in Conn, in 1846; 
he went to Wis. in 1851 and lived there until he came here; he 
married Margaret O'Neil, a native of New York; they have one 
son and two daughters. 

A. A. Broadie — druggist; born in Bremer county, Iowa, in 
1856; from there he removed to Madison, D. T., and engaged in 
the drug business; he alsc deals in books, stationery, wall paper, 
and is a graduate of pharmacy; he married Miss Shephard. 

W. B. Cameron — firm of Clark & Cameron; born in Canada in 
1855; came west in 1868, and settled in Bremer county, Iowa; came 
to Dakota in 1879; married in Wisconsin, Mary G. Brewer, a native 
of Canada; they have one son. 

M. L. Clark — merchant; barn in Canada in 1851; he came to 
Chippewa Falls, Wis., in 1870; removed to Madison, D. T., in Jan., 
1881. 



32 i MADISON BIOGRAPHIES. 

A. W. Clark — liveryman; born iu Winnebago connty, Wis., in 
1852; in 1878, he came to Lake county and engaged in farming 
until spring of 1880; he married Mary J. Davis, a native of Can- 
ada; they have one child, Emily. 

A. E. Clough — physician and surgeon and dealer in drugs; 
born in St. Lawrence county, N. Y., in 1850; came west in 1858, 
and located in Decorah, Iowa; in the spring of 1878 he removed 
to this county. Mr. (-. is a graduate of the Keokuk Medical Col- 
lege; married Mary Matheny; they have one daughter. 

A. J. Cornelyson — furniture dealer; born in Dubuque, Iowa, 
in 1860; came here in Sept., 1881, and established his present 
business. 

J. J. Craney — prop, of Commercial House, established busi- 
ness in 1881; born in Ireland in 1842; came to America in 1845, 
located in New York city; came west in 1878, and located at Lu- 
Verne, Minn., and to this Territory in 1880; married Marian Ryan, 
a native of low i; they have seven children, four sons and three 
daughters. 

J. W. Davison — pioneer merchant; ])orn in Zanesville, Ohio, 
in 1853; in 1869 he came to Floyd county, Iowa; he removed to 
this point in 1880, and 0|)ened up the first stock of goods; he is 
also owner and proprietor of the town hall, and member of board 
of education. 

Frank Drew - lumber dealer; born in Portage, Wis., in 1858; 
in 1873 he removed to Yankton; he soon after returned to Wis., 
and in 1880, again came to Dakota, and settled in Madison; he 
married Lillian White. 

J. J. Fitzgerald — merchant, established business in April, 1880; 
born in Kane county; came west in 1859, and settled in Decorah, 
Iowa; came here in spring of 1880. 

A. E. Fuller — Lake County Leader; born in Allegheny county 
New York, in 1850; came west in 1853, and settled in Columbia 
county, Wis.; from there he went to Mason City, Iowa, in 1870; 
thence to Calhoun county, Iowa, and in 1878, he removed to thi-^ 
county. 

l5. D. Froeliger — proprietor of ten pin alley; born in France, 
in 1852; came to America in 1872, and settled in Marshall, Henry 
county, 111.; came to Jackson county, Minn., in 1879; in duly. 
1881, he came to Madison; he married Charlotte Frances Miller, a 
native of Ohio; they have one child — a daughter. 

N. Grosch, — merchant; born in Bavaria in 1836; came to 
America in 1852, and settled in Kenosha, Wis.; in '79 he went to 
Emmitslmrg, Iowa, thence to Sheldon, and from there to Madison: 
he married Angeline Mischler, of Bavaria. 

H. Gulstiue — lumber dealer; born in Norway Jin 1854; came to 



MADISON' BIOGRAPHIES. 325 



America in 1864; and located ill Decorah; thence in 1878 to this 
county; he married Hannah Sivesvend, a native of Ohio. 

A. B. Houts — liquor dealer; established business Aug., 1881; 
born in Indiana in 1812; came Avest in 1863 to Kansas; from there 
came here in 1881: married Mary M. Smith, a native of Illinois. 
They have two children — Minnie E. and Clara A. 

P. H. Harth — dealer in gen. mdse.; born in Germany in 1842; 
came to America in his infancy with parents and settled near Mil- 
waukee, Wis.; removed to this county in Aug., 1876; married 
Mary A. Stevens, a native of Ohio; they have three children, two 
sons and one daughter. 

E. W. Hart — agricultural dealer; born in York county, Peun., 
in 1849; came west 1878, and settled in Lake Co, 

Wesley Hill — lumber dealer; born in Erie county, Penn., in 
1835; came to Minnesota in '56, and settled in Blue Earth City, 
where he lived 15 years; from there he removed to Delavan, in 
same county, where he lived until he came here; he married Lor- 
etta Stone, a native of Ohio. They have two children, a son and 
daughter. 

S. M. Jenks, M. D. — born in Ohio in 1846; came west in 
1851; fro'Ai there to Minnesota, and thence to Dakota; heisagrad- 
uate of the Rush Medical College, of Chicago; he married Marietta 
Tuttle, a native of Wisconsin; they have two sons and one daugh- 
ter. 

Hon. Chas. B. Kennedy — abstract, land, loan, insurance and 
express agent; born in Maine in 1850; he came to Mower county, 
Minn.; removed here in spring of '78; married May E. William- 
son, a native of Maine; they have two sons. 

T. Lannon — proprietor of billiard parlor; established Jan. 4, 
1881; born in Ireland in 1853; came to America in 1861, and set- 
tled in Brooklyn, N. Y.: came west in 1877 and located at Flan- 
dreau; came from there here in Jan., 1881. 

William Lee — born in Washington county. New York, in 
1840; came to Dakota in 1871, and settled in this county. Mr. L. 
is one of the pioneers of Lake county; he bought and sold furs in 
an early day, and can safely be said to be one of Lake county's 
oldest settlers: he married Sarah Walker, a native of Scotland, 
they liave one daughter, Mabel. 

" A. M. McCallister — dealer in hardware, stoves and tin ware; 
born in Putnam county, Ohio; came to Avoca, Wis., in 1850; 
came to Dakota in 1880; located first at Herman; came from there 
here in Oct., 1880; married A. R. Dimock. a native of Penn.; they 
have three children. Blanche, Nellie and Bruce. 

Alexander McKay — treas. of Lake county, and dealer in gen- 
eral merchandise; established business three years previous in old 
town of Madison; moved store, stock and all, here; born in Scot- 
land in 1833; came to America in 1859, and settled in Waterville, 



326 MADISOX BIOGRAPIIIEP. 



Le Seuer county, Minn.; lived there; then went to Estherville, 
Emmett county, Iowa, was in business there twelve years; then 
moved to Lu Verne, Minn., and put up the first frame building; 
came to this county in 1876; married Mary A. Hammonds, a na- 
tive of England; they have tAvo sons. 

H. J. Patterson — dealer in grain, flour, feed, wood and coal; 
established business in the spring of 1881; born in Pennsylvania 
in 1844; came west in 1865, and settled in Tama county, Iowa; 
came here in August, 1880; married Sophia R. White, a native of 
St. Joe., Mich.; they have one child, Willis AV, 

J. M. Preston — Lake County Leader; born in Bourbon county, 
Ky., in 1841; came to Dubuque, Iowa, in 1863, where he lived until 
1878, when he I'emoved to this county; he has been in the news- 
paper business most of the time since he came to the Territory, 
and at present is acting postmaster for Mr. P. H. Harth; he mar- 
ried Bessie Hall, of Ohio. 

August Proehl — furniture dealer; born in Prussia in 1848; 
came to America in 1873, and settled in Mapleton, Minn.; thence 
to Madison; he married Augusta Drefke, also of Prussia; they have 
five children, Annie, William, Louisa, Minnie and Otto. 

C. S. Raymond — dealer in dry goods, groceries, hats, caps, 
boots, shoes, &c.; established business in Oct., 1880; born in Boone 
county. Ills., in 1848; came to Iowa in 1875, and settled in How- 
ard county; came here in the spring of 1880; married Martha J. 
Prindle, a native of Ills.; they have two children. 

D. T. Scott — livery; established business in September, 
1880; born in^Cataraugus county, N. Y., in 1838; came west in 
1868, and settled in Yankton, Dakota; lived there until May, 
1880. Married Dillian Mellord, a native of N. Y.; they have 
three children — two daughters and one son. 

W. F. Smith, of firm of W. F. Smith & Co., Madison; Citi- 
zens' Bank — born in Franklin county, N. Y., in 1841; came west 
in 1855, and settled in Clayton county, Iowa. Came here in 
March, 1878; engaged in real estate; was- appointed clerk of 
county in 1879. 

H. A. Snyder, head miller Lake County Mill — born in Rock 
county Wisconsin, in 1852; removed to Clayton county, Iowa, with 
parents, and came to Dakota in June, 1881; married Mary L. 
beott, a native of Ohio; they have one son. . 

B. D. Sprague — grain dealer and owner and proprietor of 
Madison Mills; he is a native of New Hampshire, and came west 
in 1859; his first location was i n Lansing, Iowa; he afterwards 
removed to Rushford. Minn., where he still resides. 

F. L. Soper — attorney at law; born in Jones county, Iowa, 
in 1854; he came to Emmet county, Iowa, in 1877, and the fol- 
loAsing year came to this county; he nuirried Cassie jJones, a na- 
tive of New York, 



DELL RAPIDS BIOGRAPHIES. d2 < 

Ct. K. Tiffimy, attorney at law — born in Canada in 1850; 
came to Dakota in 1880. 

Frank W. Thaxter, cashier of Lake County Bank, Madison, 
Dakota, established in April, 1880 — born in Lawrence county, 
Massachusetts, January 27th, 1852: came west in 1855, and set- 
tled in Faribault, Minn.; thence removed to Harding county, 
Iowa. Has been engaged in banking business ten years. 

J. A. Trow, cashier of Citizens' Bank, Madison, Dakota — 
born in Green county, Wisconsin, in 1852; came to Dakota Ter- 
ritory in 1871 and engaged in teaching at o'ld town of Madison; 
engaged in banking when this bank was established; married Eva 
N. Scoggin, a native of Wisconsin. Mr. T. was elected register 
of deeds in 1878, and re-elected in 1880. 

J. M. VanDervort, proprietor of livery and feed stable — born 
in Clinton county, N. Y., in 1833; came to Fon du Lac county, 
Wisconsin, in 1818, where he lived until 1880, when he removed 
to Spring Valley, Minn.; in June, 1881, he came to this county; 
he married Jane Hutchinson, a native of N. Y. ; have four chil- 
dren, three sons and one daughter. 

J. G. Wadsworth, sheriff of Lake county — born in Erie 
county, N. Y., in 1828; came west in 1852 and settled near St. 
Paul, Minn.; in 1877 he removed to Lake county, Dakota; where 
he has since resided; iu 1880 he was elected sheriff of this coun- 
ty, which office he still holds. He married M. A. Wainwright, a 
native of England, and they have two sons and two daughters. 

W, W. White, president Lake County Bank, Madison, D. 
T. — born in Oneida county, N. Y., in 1812; came west in 1815 to 
Racine county, Iowa; removed to Cresco, Iowa, in 1868; thence 
here in 1878; been engaged in banking business since March, 
1881; married Mary C. Selloway, a native of Racine, Wisconsin; 
they have two children, son and daughter. 

I>KI^I. RAP11>««. 

R. S. Alexander -farmer and civil engineer; born in Bedford 
county. Pa., in 1821; located in Dubuque county, Iowa, in 1856; 
came to Dell Rapids in 1871; married to Esther M. Irvin, of Bed- 
ford county. Pa.; have had seven children, five of whom are living, 
two sons and three daughters. Mr. Alexander is one of the orig- 
inal town proprietoi's, is energetic and highly respected, and is pos- 
sessed of large landed interests in and about Dell Rapids. 

W. G. Blow — farmer; born in 1837 at Avon, Mich.; resides 
within three and one-half miles of Dell Rapids; came to Dakota 
in 1874; was married in 1862 to Rebecca Smith, of the town of 
Pickerel Lake, Freeborn county, Minn. Mr. Blow was in Minne- 
sota during 1862, and passed through the horrors of the great In- 
dian massacre; when he came to Minnehaha county, there was but 
one house on the present town site of Dell Rapids. 



328 DELL RAPIDS BIOGRAPHIES. 

Henry Cobb — drugc;ist; came to Dell liapidsin tlie autumn of 
1880; born in 1847 in Ncav York; removed to De ivalb county, 
Illinois, in 1853; located at Sprinpj Valley, Wis., in 1874, from 
which latter place he came to Dell Kapids, entering largely in the 
drug and stationery business. 

J. F. Demeree — livery, feed and sale stable; a native of Clay- 
ton county, Iowa; born in 1858; moved to Mitchell county, Iowa, 
in 1869; thence to Northfield, Minn.; in 1878 came to Dakota, 
and engaged in farming in the vicinity of Dell Rapids; entered 
the livery business in the spring of 1881. 

A. C. Folsom — postmaster; born in Columbus, Wis., Nov. 16, 
1857; moved to West Mitchell, Iowa, in October, 1866, from 
which place he came to Dell Rapids in Feb., 1879; was appointed 
postmaster at Dell Rapids in January, 1880; married Oct. 23, 1879, 
to Cassie A. Ashmore, of Mitchell, Iowa. 

L. C. Harrington — firm of L. C. Harrington & Son, furniture 
and wagon making; born Nov. 3d, 1832, in Windom county, Vt.; 
located in Manitowoc county, Wis., in 1853; in 1856 moved to 
Blue Earth county, Minn.; came to Dell Rapids Sept. 21, 1880; 
his son, E. F. Harrington, is the junior partner of the firm; the 
subject of this sketch w^as married in 1855 to Emma A. Watts, of 
Maple Grove, Wis., and has six children, three sons and three 
daughters, as follows: D. F. aged 25 years, J. L. 23 years, E. F. 
21 years, Gertie M. 14 years, Stella M. 11 years, Nellie M. 9 years. 
The firm of Harrington & Son does an extensive and profitable 
business. 

James H. Hall, Esq. — firm of Wright & Hall, attorneys at 
law and dealers in real estate; born in Montgomery county, town 
of Ft. Plain. N. Y., in Sept., 1840; came to Dell Rapids in the 
spring of 1881, where he entered into partnership in the practice 
of law with E. G. Wright, of Sioux Falls. 

R. W. Harper — restaurant; born in Chautauqua county, N. Y., 
in 1852; moved toMower county, Minn., in 1857; thence to Mitch- 
ell county, Iowa, in 1871; married in April, 1879, to Maria Hirran, 
of Dubuque, Iowa. Came to Dell Jxapids in the spring of 1881. 

George H. Johnson — banker; born in ('ataraugus county, N. 
Y., in 1842; subsequently removed to Rock county, near Janes- 
ville. Wis. ; afterwards returned to Pennsylvania; from wlience he 
removed to Lanesboro, Minn. Mr. Johnson came to Dell Rapids 
in Januarv, 1881, where he has already built u]) a banking business 
of creditable dimensions. 

C. J. Johnson— hardware, stoves and implements; born in 
Christiana. Norway, in 1844; came to the United States in 1860, 
and located at La Crosse, Wis.; in 1866 moved to Rushford, Minn., 
where he lived fifteen years; came to Dell Rapids in June, 1880, 
where he opened an extensive business; married in 1867 to Margit 



DELL KAPIDS BIOGRAPHIES. 329 



Lien; has three sons, Christian Samuel, Frederick and Martin, and 
two daughters, Inga Eleida and Carolina Margitta. 

R. A. Knight — jeweler; a native of Orleans county, N. Y.; 
born in 1855; came to Monticello, Wis., when but a vear old; lived 
in Tennessee in 1860-61; came to Sioux Falls in Nov., 1880, whence 
he moved to Dell Rapids, Jan. 3, 1881; March 5, 1876, was mar- 
ried to Imogene Taft, of Monticello, Wis., and has one child, a 
daughter nearly three years of age. Mrs. Knight died of con- 
sumption, Dec. 15, 1879. 

J. S. Lee — firm of J. S. & J. C. Lee, clothing, boots and shoes, 
hats and caps; born in Lower Canada in 1843; moved to Columbia 
county, Wis., about twenty-five years ago; removed to Spring Val- 
ley, Minn., at the same time with his brother J. C. Lee, and came 
to Dell Rapids in 1880. Mr. Lee has held several offices of public 
trust in Minn.; in 1863 was married to Relief Clark, of Columbia 
county, Wis., and has two sons and two daughters, Emma, aged 
15 years; Robert E., 10 years; Grertie, 7 years; Charles, one year. 

J. C. Lee — firm of J. S. & J. C Lee, clothing, boots and shoes, 
hats and caps: born ia Lower Canada in 1848; removed to Colum- 
bia county. Wis., in 1866, where he remained two years, going 
thence to Spring Valley, Minn.: engaged in business at Spring 
Valley the greater part of the time for twelve years; came to Dell 
Rapids in 1880 with his brother, with whom he engaged in busi- 
ness as above: married in 1872, to Phebe Clark, of Columbia 
county, Wis.; has two sons, Benny, aged 7 years, and Harry, aged 
one year. 

L. N. Loomis — firm of Loomis & Nisbet, harness and saddlery; 
born in 1856 in Olmstead county, Minn.; moved to Lu Verne, 
Minn., in 1877, from which place he came to Dell Rapids in March, 
1878; the firm of Loomis & Nisbet is young, energetic and deserv- 
edly popular. 

M. C. Lyons — dray and express; born in 1841 in New York; 
moved to Corunna, Mich., at an early age; thence to DeKalb Co., 
111., where he remained until 1865, when he moved to Butler Co., 
Iowa; came to Dell Rapids in 1874; married in 1867 to Emma M. 
Funk, of Pennsylvania, and has four children, Frederick, George, 
Myrtie and Cora. 

Peter Morse — the subject of this sketch is one of the original 
town proprietors of Dell Rapids; born in Orleans county, Ver- 
mont, in 1835; came west some twenty-four years ago, and settled 
at Osage, Iowa: from Osage he went to Dubuque, where he re- 
mained three years, after which he returned to Osage; came to the 
present site of Dell Rapids, in June, 1871; returned to Iowa and in 
July of the same year came back to Dell Rapids, bringing others 
with him for the purpose of locating, and was the first ])erson to 
pick out a location for the purpose of actual settlement at Dell 
Rapids, there being no evidence of civilization at that place at that 



330 DELL RAPIDS BIOGRAPHIES. 

time. Devoting his energies to the building up of the future city, 
he laid out a goodly portion of the town; engaged at various times 
in farming and mercantile pursuits, sending the first peddler wagon 
into Dakota, it being mainly through his efforts that the Morse 
Family Medicines, now manufactured by Nois. Cutler & Co., of St. 
Paul, Minn., were introduced in the Northwest. Married in 1857 
to Phebe S. Hinman, at Derby, Vt., and has four sons and one 
daughter as follows: I^. Wesson, aged 22 years, Harry E. 21 
years, Charlie F. 18 years, Isaac N. 16 years. Flora 11 years. Mr. 
Morse has recently made large additional purchases of town prop- 
erty, and is building a handsome residence on an eminence at the 
eastern edge of town. He has always been among the foremost 
in the advocacy of public improvements, and has led a busy life, 
creditable alike to himself and to the community. 

James M. Nisbet — firm of Loomis & Nisbet, harness and sad- 
dlery; born in Wisconsin in 1858, and came to Dell Rapids in 1872; 
lived for some time in Osage county, Iowa, previous to coming 
here. . 

J. E. Nutting- dentist; born in Danville, Vt., in 1822; moved 
to Mass. in 1844; thence to Broome county, N. Y., where he lived 
about 25 years; located at Dell Rapids in April, 1880; married in 
1851 to Floretta P. Pike; has si.K children, four sons and two 
daughters. 

W. B. Parker, M. D. -born at Connellsville, Pa., May 16, 
1830; came to Iowa in 1852, and located in Fayette county. Dr. 
Parker entered the army at the outbreak of the rebellion as 1st 
lieutenant of company F, Ninth I. V. I., in which capacity he 
served about one year, being subsequently transferred to the medi- 
cal department of the Army of the Tennessee, and serving all to- 
gether for a period of more than four years; the war over, the Dr. 
resumed the practice of medicine in Fayette and Winneshiek coun- 
ties, Iowa, and came to Dell Rapids in July, 1873, where he has 
since remained in the enjoyment of an extensive and lucrative 
practice. In 1865, Dr. Parker was married to Lois Chapel, of New 
York: four children being the issue of the marriage, two sons and 
two daughters, named respectively William E., James R., Emily 
Eugenie and Carrie Maud. 

Benjamin Putnam — farmer; born in 1845 in Bradford county. 
Pa.; came to Minnehaha county in the spring of 1876, locating 
within four miles of Dell Rapids; at present rt-sides in T. 104, R. 
51, about sixteen miles west of Dell Rapids; married in 1867 to 
Delphine Case, of Bradford county, Pa.; has one son, aged 11 years. 

E. A. Richardson confectioner; born in July, 1846, at Dela- 
ware, Indiana; moved to Iowa, (Hardin county) where he remained 
until 1867; came to Dell Rapids in Jan., 1878; married Dec. 6, 
1860, to Aner Garrard, of Indiana; has four children, Ernest. Zetta, 
Nellie and Cora. 



SCOTLAND BTOGKAPHIES. 331 

Hon. Albion Thorne — law and real estate; born in Oxford 
county, Maine, in 1836; came to Iowa in 1868 and lived for two 
years at Waterloo, in that state; moved thence to Beloit, Iowa; 
came to Dell llapids in Auo^ust, 1871, and en^^aged in surveying 
and locating land; married Clara M. Bolster, a native of Maine; 
has three children, Bina M., Alice C. and Mabel M. ; is proprietor 
of the Merchants' Hotel; was county superintendent of schools 
from 1873 to 1875; was district attorney for six years, and 
was elected a member to the territorial legislature in 1880. Was 
at one time proprietor and editor of the Dells Rapids Exponent, 
and has in many ways been actively engaged in the' development 
of the industries of the community, holding many minor positions 
of responsibility and trust. Mr. Thorne is a public spirited and 
industrious citizen, and as such is deservedly held in the popular 
estimation. 

Gust. A. Uline — general merchandise; born in Sweden in 
1849; came to the United States in 1867; in July, 1871, located at 
Jackson, Minn., from which place he came to Dell Rapids in the 
early spring of 1873; married to Mina Freborg in 1877; has one 
child, a daughter aged one year. Mr. Uline was one of the pio- 
neer business men of Dell Rapids, as appears elsewhere in the his- 
tory of the town, and is the proprietor of an extensive and prOvS- 
perous business. He is an energetic, enterprising and popular 
merchant, and is at present president of the city council and treas- 
urer of the school district. 

Geo. Whitman — general merchandise; born in Hungary in 
1831, and cam3 to America about the year 1850, locating first in 
New Jersey; afterwards lived in Georgia, and moved to Iowa in 
1853; moved to Faribault, Minn., in 1857, where he lived three 
years, moving thence to Albert Lea, Minn; from Minnesota he 
went to Colorado, where he lived eight years, returning for a year's 
residence in the former state, and came to Deli Rapids in October; 
1880; the business is owned by H. L. Whitman and conducted by 
George Whitman; married Harriet Dunn, June 22, 1862; has three 
sons, Alfred, Ralph and Normand. 



sco'ri.Ai\i>. 

Hiram A. Reeves — was born in Jefferson county, Ncav York, 
in 1850; came west in 1879, and stopped at Yankton, Dakota; the 
following year he moved to Scotland, Dakota; in 1881 he married 
Jennie Girard, of Jefferson county, New York. They have one 
child. 

Gen. C. T. Campbell — was born in Pennsylvania in 1823; he 
served in the United States army during the war with Mexico. 
Also served in the late rebellion; General Campbell has a great 
many battle scars that he will carry to his grave; he left the ser- 
vice in 1866 with rank of brigadier general; that same vear h e 



332 SCOTLAND BIOGRAPHIES. 

moved to Dakota and settled 15 miles above Fort Randall, on the 
Missouri River; in 1871 he moved to the James River Valley and 
settled where Scotland now stands. He married Miss South, of 
Baltimore, Md. 

J. F. Weber — was born in Germany Aug. 12th, 1857; in 
May, 1872, he came to America and settled in Nebraska; from Ne- 
braska he moved to Scotland, Dakota. He married Anna Svey- 
covsky. 

Charles May wold — was born in the town of Schenectady, New 
York; in 1872 he came west and settled in Dakota Territory; in 
1878 he married Anna Mettis, of Dakota. 

John E. Maxwell — was born in Montreal, Canada, May 14th, 
1849; in 1863 moved to Iowa; in 1869 he moved to Dakota and 
settled in Hutchinson county, where he is permanently located. 

John Stafford — retired farmer; came to Scotland from Canada 
in 1872; formerly owned the town site of Scotland, ninety acres of 
which he gave to the railway company; Mr. S. was appointed post 
master by President Grant with a salary of $10 per annum, which 
office he continues to hold; has been a county commissioner for 
five years; Mr. Staffi)rd is one of the leading citizens of Scotland, 
owning fine property adjoining the town. 

Gottlieb Mix — sample room; born in Germany; came to 
America in 1876, and settled in Yankton; came to Scotland in 
1880, in which year he was married to Mary Makrie. 

John C. Dimock; depot agent; came to Prairie du Chien, Wis., 
from Pennsylvania in I860; was employed by the C. M. & St. P. 
R. R. Co., beginning as messenger boy; Mr. D. made the survey 
west of Algona, Iowa, through to the present terminus of the 
road. 

A. J. Cogan, — Sr. proprietor Springfield Times; a native of 
New Jersey; came west in 1869, and settled in Bon Homme coun- 
ty; published tne Dakota Citizen at Bon Homme for three years, 
when the office was moved to Scotland in Feb., 1880. 

W. H. Curtis grain dealer; came to Scotland from Decorah, 
Iowa, in 1879; deals in all kinds of grain, princi))ally in flax, of 
which he shipped, during the past year 15,000 bushels. 

Hugo Spaunagel — manager Lavender's mercantile house: born 
in Prussia in 1857; came to Dakota in 1864; moved to Nebraska; 
thence to Yankton, where he engaged in the mercantile business; 
came to Scotland in 1879. 

Zetus Brown -farming machinery, &c.; came to Dakota from 
Canada in 1876, and settled near Scotland. 

Taylor (). iiogart — banker: born in Jefferson county, N. Y., 
in 1851; was graduated from Potsdam (N. Y.) Normal School in 
1877; for two years after this, acted as principal of Gouverneur 
graded school, St. Lawrence count}^ N. Y.; he also studied law and 



SCOTLAND BIOGRAPHIES. 333 



was graduated from Albany law school in 1880, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws, and admitted to practice law in the courts of 
his native state; in July, 1880, he came to Dakota and entered into 
copartnership with F. A. Gale, of Canton, D. T.; in the banking 
business soon after; commenced business in Scotland May 5, 1881. 

Brink & Whaling — proprs. Dexter livery, feed and sale stables; 
although old settlers in Dakota, are yet young men, and keep a 
first class establishment. 

J. Brinkerhoff — prop, of the stage line; came from Ills, to 
Sioux City in 1865; thence to Nebraska City as master of the Ne- 
braska City transportation company; returned to Sioux City in 
1870, as chief clerk in the freight department of the Illinois Cen- 
tral railroad; thence to Dubuque as agent of the River road; came 
to Yankton in 1876, and purchased the Merchant's hotel, and later 
became proprietor of the Dakota central stage line; came to Scot- 
land in 1881, and engaged in the live stock and livery business; is 
mayor of Scotland, and is also one of the proprietors of the Dakota 
Citizen; is the owner of a large amount of town property. 

Robert DoUand — was born in Fall River, Massachusetts, 
March lltli, 1842; he entered the United States volunteer service 
April 16th, 1861, a? a private and served through the rebellion; 
was twice wounded; was mustered out February 12th, 1866, as 
commander of cavalry; located in Galesburg, Illinois, May 19th, 
1866; April 14th, 1879, he came to Douglas county, Dakota; he 
married Miss Carrie E. Dunn, September 29th, 1875. 

J. Ch. Wenzlaff — hardware dealer and proprietor Jauesville 
Flouring Mill; born in Russia in 1827; came to America in 1874, 
and settled in the hardware business in Yankton; moved his stock 
to Scotland in 1880. 

GeorgiSfceiger — Pioneer Sample Room; came from Germany- 
to America in 1874, and settled in Yankton; came to Scotland in 
1879 and opened the first billiard hall in the place; married in 
1877 to Caroline Oxner, and has one daughter — Katie. 

A. J. Faulk, Jr. — was born in Allegheney City, Pennsylvania, 
the 13th of June, 1858; received his education in Kittanning, Pa., 
and in Yankton, Dakota; studied law in the office of Judge Wheel- 
er and Phil. K-. Faulk, of Yankton; then under the United States 
District Attorney Hugh J. Campbell. and E. G. Smith, district at- 
torney for the 2d judicial district of Dakota. Was admitted to 
the bar May 10th, 1880; in June, 1880, he commenced the prac- 
tice of law in Scotland, Dakota; he is the oldest settler in Scotland 
with the exception of Gen. Campbell; he is now notary public 
and counsel on the board of insanity; be married Miss Mina L. 
Fletcher, of Yankton. 

B. F. Wise — manager Bassett, Huntington & Co."s grain 
house; came from Nora Springs, Iowa, to Scotland; the fiim ship- 
ped about 30,000 bushels of flax during the past season. 



J34 HURON BIOGRAPIIIKS. 



Will B. Robinson — manager OshkoshLnmber Co.; established 
the business at Scotland in 1879, and deals in all kinds of builders' 
supplies; conducts the only first-class hunber yard in the cit3^ 

Rev. H. P. Carson — was born in Illinois in 1845. Received 
his education at Blackburn University; commenced the ministry as 
the work of his life in 1871; he is of the Presbyterian faith; was 
pastor of a church in Illinois about eight years; in May, 1880, he 
came to Dakota and located at Scotland. Served in the army four 
months under (Colonel Phillips, of Illinois; he married Miss Lizzie 
Holliday, of Illinois; has two children — Rollin G. and Elizabeth. 



John Cain — postmaster and editor Huron Times; born in Cana- 
da, May 25th, 1856; located in New York in 1864; came to Dakota 
in 1879; admitted to the bar in Yankton in 1880; located in 
Beadle county, near the town site of Huron, in March, 1880. 

L. Adler & Co. — general merchandise; Mr. Adler, the resident 
partner, came to Huron from Iowa, Sept. 1st, 1881. 

Snedigar & Davis — hardware and farming machinery. Mr. 
Davis is a former resident of Elkader, Iowa; came to Huron in 
1881 and started m the farming machinery business in May; in 
June added a general hardware establishment to his business. 

Edwin a. Wheeler — came w^est from New York in 1865, and 
engaged in the hotel business; settled in Huron April 25th, 1880, 
and built the first store on the first of May of that year. 

I. J. NichoU — superintendent Dakota Central Railroad; born 
in England in 1846; came to America in 1852; located in Chicago 
in 1857; was employed as a civil engineer, and constructed nearly 
700 miles of railway in different states and territories; located in 
Huron in June, 1880. His family consists of a wife and four 
children. 

Richardson Bros, furniture. The Messrs. Richardson were 
born in Australia; moved to South Africa in 1858, and traveled 
extensively through England; moved to Canada, and in October, 
1880, came to Huron, where they opened a furniture establish- 
ment in November of the same year. 

T. J. Mouser deputy register of deeds; law, real estate and 
loan; came to Huron June 1st, 1880, from Moultrie county, Illi- 
nois. 

Dr. A. J. Dickinson — physician and surgeon; came from Ben- 
ton county, low^a, to Huron in 1881; is a graduate of the Univer- 
sity of Michigan, class of 1867. 

Wm. J. Ennis- born in New York, in 1848; moved to Cedar 
Rapids, Iowa, in 1879, and was in the employ of the American 
Express company; came to Huron June 28, 1880, and was fortu- 
nate in securing a fine claim adjoining the city, the town site of 



HURON BIOGRAPHIES. 335 



which was platted but a few days before his arrival. Mr. Ennis 
has the first addition to Huron, consisting of thirteen acres laid 
out with wide streets and containing some of the finest building 
lots to be found near the town, one-half mile south on Dakota 
A-venue, the principal street of the city. 

M. J. Dinneen — propr. Dakota Hotel: born in county Cork, 
Ireland, in 1833; came to the United States in 1836, and settled in 
N. y.; moved to Minn., in 1866, locating in Brown county; came 
to, Huron in May, 1880, and entered business as above. 

W. B. Ingersoll — firm of Ingersoll & Elson, law, real estate 
and loan: a former resident of Iowa; admitted to the practice of 
the law in Iowa City, where he practiced the profession for two 
years; moved to Huron in April, 1880, and with John Cain built 
the first house and published the Settler. 

C. C. Hills— banker; formerly resided in Chicago, and was 
brought up in the banking and mercantile business: came to Hu- 
ron in Dec, 1880. 

G. A. McKinnis — one of the pioneers of Huron; came from 
Ohio to Huron, in July, 1880, and opened the European hotel on 
Dakota Avenue. 

J. I. McWhortor — feed and sale stable; came to Huron, July 
4, 1880, from Vinton, Benton county, Iowa, where he was engaged 
in the stock business. 

Parker Bros. — general merchandise; came to Huron from 
Shellsburg, Iowa, in Oct., 1881, and occupy a fine store stocked 
with dry goods, gent's furnishings and clothing, boots and shoes, 
&c. They carry a twenty thousand dollar stock. 
-^ ~Ei. C. Walton, clerk of district court; born in.j^llinois; moved 
to Yankton county in 1872, thence to Huron^April 20fch, 1880; 
enlisted in the 51th Illinois Infantry and served four years; was 
elected to the 13th legislature by the Republicans of his district, 

J. A. Baker — jeweler; came to Huron from Elgin, III., Dec. 
20th, 1880, and engaged in his present business. 

J. W. Shannon — editor and part proprietor of the Huron 
Tribune; born in Will county, 111., February 19th, 1835; edited the 
Sterling, III., Times, and in 1860 started the Northern Iowa 
Observer, and a few years later started the West Union Gazette; 
subsequently established several other Iowa newspapers; came to 
Huron in Oct., 1880, and June 2d, 1881, started the Huron Tri- 
bune, the firm being at that time Shannon & Hopp: the present 
firm is Davis, Shannon & Hopp. 

G. W. Sterling — law, real estate and loan; a native of Wis- 
consin; moved to Vinton, Iowa, in 1866, and to Springfield in 
1872; came to Huron in 1881, where he opened a law, real estate 
and loan ofiice; was admitted to the bar in March, 1872, at Vinton, 
Iowa. 



336 LEXNOX BIOGRAPHIES. 

Andrew F. Anderson — general merchandise; a native of Nor- 
wa}'; came to America in 1855: settled in Minnesota in 1865 and 
located at Huron in 1881. 

W. T. Love — firm of W. T. & Geo. J. Love, attorneys at law; 
came to Huron from Des Moines, L">wa. in Nov., 1880; Mr. W. T. 
Love is at present attorney for the Dakota Division of the C. & N. 
W. R. R. 

M. F. Wright — proprietor Wright House; moved to Michigan 
from New York in 1847: thence to Illinois in 1854; enlisted in 
the 17th Michigan Regiment, Company I, in 1862, and was dis- 
charged .Tune 14th, 1865, engaging in the mercantile business in 
(Chicago; subsequently went into the real estate business in Kan- 
sas, and in 1874 went into the employ of the Pullman Car 
Company. Opened the Riverside House at Wabashaw in 1878; 
moved to Huron in June, 1880, and built the Wright House, an 
excellent and first-class hotel in all its appointments. 



i.e:^"\<>x. 



B. Gillmore — confectioner: established business 1879; was 
born in Seneca county. New York, 1810; came west in 1852, and 
settled in Dane county, Wisconsin; he then moved to Floyd 
county, Iowa, in 1862; in 1874, he moved to Dakota; he married 
Jane Hemenway, of Italy, New York; he has four children, Elmer 
E., Mary, Emmet B. and Jane. 

M. A. Filion— proprietor Lennox sample room; established bus- 
iness in 1880; was born in Clinton, New York, in 1859; came west 
in 1871, and settled in Lincoln county, Dakota; he then followed 
farming six years; he then railroaded two years, and traveled 
throughout the Avest one year. 

D. F. Debelts — blacksmith and wagon maker; established bus- 
iness 1879; agent for farm machinery and the Briggs & Enoch, 
Rockford, Illinois plows; was born in Germany in 1849; came to 
America in 1868, and settled in Illinois; then moved to Iowa, 
where he lived seven years; then moved to Dakota: he married H. 
P. Yarkin, of Germany; they have five children, Theresa, Bernie, 
Reusste, Diebold, Rudolph. 

Frank H. Treat — general merchant; established business in 
1879; also proprietor and landlord of the INIerchant's house in this 
place; was born in Ohio, in 1843; in 1845 he came west with his 
parents and settled in Wisconsin; he moved to Dakota in 1878, 
and settled at Lennox; he married Ellen J. Case, of Wisconsin; 
have two children, Marcia E., and Clatide M. 

George L. Conklin — editor Lennox AVeekly Star; was born in 
Green Lake county, Wisconsin, and in 1859, came west with his 
y)arents and settled in Minnesota; moved to Dakota in 1874, and set- 
tled in Lincoln county; he edited a paper in AVatertown, Dakota, 



LENNOX BIOGRAPHIES. 337 



for some time, and has now, 1881, taken the editorship of the 
above named paper; was formerly employed on the Waupun, (Wis. 
Times. 

Thomas B. Quigley — proprietor Lennox meat market; estab- 
lished business in August, 1879; was born in Ireland in 1843; 
came to America in 1854, and settled at Rock county, Wisconsin; 
then went to Baraboo, Wisconsin; in March, 1878, he moved to 
Dakota; he served in the army three years, under Generals Grant, 
Sherman, McPherson, and others; during that time he was ser- 
geant and color bearer; he enlisted in the 33d Wis. volunteer in- 
fantry; has been marshal here for two years; married Elizabeth 
Durnin, of Wisconsin; have hve children, Robert, Thomas, Daniel 
Lizzie and Celia. 

A. Boynton — was born in Campton, Grafton county, New 
Hampshire, in 184*3; in 1855 he came west and settled in Mar- 
quette county, Wisconsin; from Wisconsin he came to Dakota in 
1872, and settled in Lincoln county; served in the army four and 
one-half years under Gens. Scott, McClellan, Butler, Banks, Cus- 
ter and others; was commissioned ist lieutenant and commanded 
the company the last years of the war; he went in as a prii-ate; he 
received two commissions, but didn't accept the same; he was a 
prisoner of war at Bell Isle six months. His company went out as 
infantry but they were changed by the order of the department to 
the " 4:t"h Wisconsin Cavalry;"' he married Minnie Shultz, of Wis- 
consin, formerly of Germany. They have one son named A. 
Albert. 

J. F. Ferguson — was born in Hamden, Maine, in 1857; in 
1876 he came west and settled in Minneapolis, Minnesota; in 1879 
he came to Dakota and settled at Lennox, where he has two land 
claims; has served as constable of Lennox township. 

P. F. Haas — was born in 1852; Nov. 23d, 1880, he came to 
Lennox, where he located permanently. He married Miss Mattie 
Kedden, of Parkersburgh, Iowa, in 1878; they have one daughter, 
Grace C. 

Nanno Smith — was born in Germany in 1850; came to Amer- 
ica in 1872, and settled inFreeport, Illinois; in 1873, he moved to 
Iowa, where he resided until 1881, when he moved to Dakota; he 
married Anne Frerich; have three children, John, Kate and Bern- 
hard. 

H. C. Conklin — Avas born in Wisconsin in 1852; in 1859, he 
came west and settled in Minnesota; in 1874, he moved to Dakota 
where he settled permanently; he married Ray Miller, of Wiscon- 
sin; they have one child named Nora H. 

John M. Munsil— was born in Utica, Wisconsin, in 1852; in 
1878, he moved to Iowa; in 1879, he came to Dakota, and the fol- 
lowing year embarked in the livery business; he married Emma E. 
Loope, of Wisconsin; they have one child named 13urdette. 



338 PORTLANDVILLE BIOGRAPHIES. 

Louis Butzer — was born in Germany in 1850; in 1871, he 
came to America and settled in Illinois; in the spring of 1881, he 
went to Minneapolis, Minnesota; the same fall he moved to Da- 
kota and settled in Lennox; he married Lena Scyfer; have one child 
named Clara. 

0. P. Ashley — was born in Ohio in 1838; came west in 1855, 
and settled at Avoca, AVisconsin; in 1856, he was hauling ties and 
met with an accident by which he lost his leg; he then followed 
school teaching about twenty years; in March. 1880, he came to 
Dakota and settled in Lennox; he was clerk of the court one term, 
and register of deeds for the same length of time in Wisconsin; he 
also served as police justice; married Martha S. Vail, of Wisconsin; 
have three children, Eloise, Bessie and Florence. 



I»<HSXI.A.>I>V1I.I.E. 

A. P. Douglas — Avas born in New York state in 1842; came 
west in 1874 and settled in Worthington, Minnesota; then moved 
Portland ville; served in the army one year under Gen. Sherman; 
participated in the battle of Nashville. He married S. E. Lam- 
bert, of Minnesota; they have three children — Clara, Alice, Har- 
vey and an infant, 

V. G. Farnham — born in New York in 1844; came to Illinois 
in 1849, and to Portlandville, Iowa, April 1881, and established his 
present business. 

W. T, McGinnis — was born in Caledonia, Minnesota,in 1857; 
then moved to Hastings, Nebraska, where he was salesman in a 
dry goods and clothing store. In 1881 he came to Portlandville, 
Iowa, and is now a member of the above firm. 

A. L. McGinnis — was born in Wisconsin in 1854; then moved 
to Minnesota; in 1876 he moved to Sioux City, Iowa, where he 
engaged in the fruit and confectionery business; from Sioux City 
he moved to Portlandville, Iowa. He married A. M. Anderson, of 
Minnesota. Have two children — Fern E, and Arthur L. 

C. E. Robison — born in St. Louis, Mo.; resided a number of 
years in Lawrence, Mass. Came to Portlandville Se])t 1st, 1874, 
held office of post master nearly seven years, engaged in land and 
collection business in 1879, married Mary Anna Wood, of New 
Hampshire. They have three children, Edward, Martha F. and 
Elizabeth N. 

C. Newman — born in Pennsylvania Nov. 18th, 1827. Came 
to Portlandville in 1874, married Phoebe Lyons Jan. 20th, 1852. 
They have four children — Mary E., Orland J. Emma L. and 
Edith. 

Miss Anna Hampton — post mistress, born in Waterloo, Iowa, 
Oct., 1857. Was employed in teaching six years, first in Sioux 



PORTLANDVILLE BIOGRAPHIES. 339 

county, Iowa, then in Dakota, and six terms in Portlandville dis- 
trict. Was appointed postmaster in Jul}^ 1881. 

S. B. Gilliland — mail agent, born in Ohio, came to Iowa in the 
spring of 1867, settled on a homestead in Plymouth county, where 
he resided nine years, was elected to the legislature i^i the fall of 
1873, representing the counties of Woodbury, Plymouth, Stone 
and Lyon, was re-elected m fall of 1875. Removed to Portland- 
ville in 1877, taking charge of the public schools. Was appointed 
mail agent Juue 1879, on the C. M. & St. P. Married Isabella J. 
Sheets Oct. 1868, they have four children — Frankie, Gracie, Ad- 
lyth and Samuel Kirkwood. 

Bradner Ferguson — was born in Wyoming county, Pennsyl- 
vania, Feb. 20th. 1811; catne west to Wisconsin, where he lived 
some time, then moved to Iowa — the North East county; thence 
to Wisconsin, thence back to Missouri, where he remained eight 
years; then went back to Pennsylvania; again removed to Iowa, 
and finally settled permanently, in April, 1880, in Portlandville; 
he served two years in the army; married Sarah L. Norris, of 
Pennsylvania; they have one child, named Luther D. 

G. T. Johnson — was born in Burlington, Iowa, in 1858; went 
to St. Louis, and from there to Alton; he then spent two years in 
traveling and settled in Portlandville, Iowa, in March 1881. 

Henry J. Muhs — was born in Germany, in 1851; came to 
America in 1851, and settled in Illinois; from there he removed to 
Minnesota in 1856; then moved to Elk Point, Dakota; in March, 
1881, he came to Portlandville, where he settled permanently. — 
He is a member of the Masonic fraternity; married Minnie A. 
Northup, of Elk Point, D. T. Have buried one child. 

Peter Muir — born in Montreal, Canada; came to the United 
States in 1878, and settled at Portlandville, Iowa; he married 
Hattie La Bar, of Canada. They have eight children — John, 
William, James, Peter, Mattie, Anna, Eliza. 

J. A. Larkin — was born in Dubuque county, Iowa, in 1853; 
came west in 1876 and settled in Plymouth county, Iowa; was 
mail carrier between L^Mars and this place for one year; married 
Margaret McGrath, Dubuque county, Iowa. 

J. W. Strong — was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1832; came 
west to Indiana in 1861; thence to Iowa in 1865; thence to Dako- 
ta in 1879, and at Wessiugton Hills married Elizal)eth Yanney, of 
Ohio; have seven children — Samuel, Truman, Sarah, Miranda, 
Elizabeth, Eva M. and David C. 

R. H. Miller — born in Westchester county, N. Y., in 1836; in 
1861 came west and pre-pmpted a homestead in the Sioux Valley, 
twenty miles north of Elk Point; he was one of the early settlers, 
and broke the first land ever broken in Lincoln county, and has 
been a resident ever since. 



340 CANTON lUOGRAPHIES. 



\Vm. R. Kitld — born in Canada in 1840; came to the U, S. in 
1867; married in Plymouth county, Iowa, to Anna E. Hows, on 
Feb 12th, 1881. 

Henry Waterbury — was born in Westchester county, N. Y., 
in 1828; came west in 1867 and settled in Union county, Dakota; 
served in the army three years under Capt. Kellogg, in the " 17th 
Connecticut volunteers;'' he is now (1881) member of the school 
board in Portlandville Iowa; he married Jane Brower, of Fairfield 
county, Connecticut; they have eight boys — George, Alexander, 
Henry L., Charles E., Alfred, Fred, Frank and Robert. 

Lyman J. Gilbert — born in Union, McHenry county. 111., in 
1859; came to LeMars in Nov., 1880, and to Portlandville, Iowa, 
March 1st, 1881. 



Mrs. Maggie Bailey — was born in Burlington, Vermont, in 
1851; came to Dakota in 1874; in 1876 she -was married to Hon. 
Mark \V. Bailey, of Laporte, Indiana, who came west and settled 
in Wisconsin, where he held different positions of trust. In 1872 
he came to Dakota, and studied law with Judge Smith, of Vermil- 
lion; in 1873 he moved to Canton; he represented his district in 
the Territorial legislature one term. While in the Black Hills he 
contracted a disease which was the cause of his demise. He will 
ever live in the hearts of his people. February 7th, 1879. Mrs. 
Bailey was appointed postmistress at Canton. 

A. P. Dixon — sheriff of Lincoln county, D. T.; born in South 
America, May, 1833; came to Dakota in 1874; elected justice of the 
peace the same year, and in 1875 he was elected sheriff, which office 
he has held ever since. He married Hannah E. Ingham, Kanka- 
kee City, 111.; they have five children, Emma, Elizabeth, Robert 
Andrew P. and Cyrus B. 

J. Q. Fitzgerald — born in Ohio in 1829; came to Wisconsin 
in 1845; from Wisconsin he moved to Oregon; then moved back 
to Wisconsin; thence to Minnesota, and from there to Dakota; 
was a member of the county board, and town clerk in Minnesota 
eight years in succession; he married Maggie S. Martin, of Ohio; 
have two children, Emma J., and Elva A.; have buried two chil- 
dren, Nancy V., who died in 1856, and Fred A., died August 25th, 
1873. 

Gen. J. B. Pattee— born in Vermont Sept. 29th, 1836; enlisted 
in U. S. A. in 1S61, as 1st Lieut. 10th Penn. Vol. Inft.; served 
during the war and rose to Brigadier-General by Brevet; came to 
this Territory 1871. 

J. Horn— born in Pittsburgh, Penn., in 1851; came west and 
settled in Dakota in 1871; he is at present (1881) city alderman of 



CANTON ETOGEAPHIES. 341 



Cunton, D. T.; has been married t'vice; his first wife was Mary L. 
Sims, who died in 1877; he then married Lizzie Babbe, of Monti- 
cello, lovfa; they have two children, Clara and Guy. 

D. H. Hawn — born in Jelferson county. New York, in 1844; 
he came west and settled in Wisconsin. In 1869, he moved to 
Dakota, and is now the partner of J. Horn in the wagon and car- 
riage shop; he served in the army four years under Captain A. B. 
Wheelock; he was chairman of the first town board elected in the 
town of Dayton, D. T.; has also served as justice of the peace the 
past two years. He married Addie E. York, of Wisconsin; they 
have three boys, Fred R., and Frank J., (twins) and Arthur B. 
Mr. H. was one of the first settlers in Lincoln county. 

Filing Opsal — Register of Deeds; born in Norway, in 1850; 
came to America in 1853, and located with his parents in Dane 
county, Wisconsin; removed to this county in 1872. 

T. W. Hood — born in Penn., in 1853; came to Dakota in 
1875, and located in Canton, and engaged in the drug trade. 

G. Skarloedt — born in Norway, in 1852; came to America in 
infancy, and with his parents located in Winneshiek county, Iowa; 
in the winter of 1880 he removed to Canton. 

M. M. Clark — born in Prince Edward's Island in 1849; in 
1859 he came to the United States and located in Grant county. 
Wis.; in 1863 he went to Hampton, Iowa; he is a graduate of the 
Rush Medical College of Chicago; in 1875 he located at Beloit, one 
and one-half miles from this place, and engaged in the practice of 
medicine; in 1879 he came to Canton, where he still resides. He 
married C. K. Reynolds, a native of Beloit, Wis.; they have two 
daughters. 

E. M. Miles — born in Pennsylvania in 1853; came west in 
1866 and settled in Broadhead, Wis.; in 1880 he came to Canton 
and engaged in the jewelry and music business. He married 
Gussie Stewart. 

Hon. W. M. Ciippett — born in Bedford county, Penn., in 
1843; came west in 1850 and_ settled with his parents in Clayton 
county, Iowa; in 1862 he enlisted in the United States army and 
was honorably discharged at Davenport, Iowa; in 1868 he ca'me to 
Canton; in 1871 he was elected Register of Deeds; he has held 
public positions every year since; isat present Clerk of the Dis- 
trict Court. He married N. E. Martin, a native of Ohio, and they 
have two sons and one daughter. 

M. E. Rudolph— born in Chicago, III., ^Sept. 11, 1853; re- 
moved to Manchester, Iowa, in 1854; in 1869 entered the Union 
office at Manchester where heremained three years learning the 
printing business; in 1874 published the Cherokee Leader; gradu- 
ated from the Iowa State Agiicultural College 1875; taught until 
1880, when he entered the law department of the Iowa University 



342 SPRINGFIELD BIOGRAPHIES. 

. ' 

where he graduated witli the highest honors in 1881, being selected 
Valedictorian out of the chis.s of 1881; located at Canton in the 
fall of 1881. 

Oley Thompson — born in Norway, Oct. 11, 1842; came to Can- 
ton from Madison, Wis.; engaged in business in 1875; married 
Mary P. Fusson; they have one child, Clara Matilda. 

Herman Woerz — born in Germany in 1842; came from Sioux 
City to Beloit; from thence to Canton in the spring of 1879; mar- 
ried Catherine Nonnemaker, of McGregor, la.; they have two 
children, Herman and Louisa. 

G. W. Harlan — born in Rock Island, 111.; came west from Clin- 
ton, la., in 1867; settled in Canton in 1870; been engaged in the 
hotel business four years; married Mary Kilrain, of Maquoketa, 
la.; they have three children, Emma, George and Nora. 

A. R. Brown — was born in New Lexington, Ohio, Jan. 29, 
1849; removed to Illinois in 1859; from theiice to Harrison 
county, Mo., in 1865; in 1871 studied law in the office of 
Shanon & Brown, Bowling Green, Ohio; was admitted to the bar 
in 1873; began practicing in Missouri; in 1876 he was chosen 
cashier of the Exchange Bank, which he resigned and came to 
Canton in 1880, where he established the Lincoln County Bank. 

Adam Hoffman — born in Germany; came to America when 
20 years of age; he married Amelia Amsler in Ma}^, 1871; they 
have two children, Amelia and Edith. 

Kennedy Bros. — This firm is composed of C. B. 'Kennedy 
and B. Kennedy; they were born in England in 1849 and 
1851; came to America in 1854, and settled with their par- 
ents in Delaware county, la.; they attended school at Lenox 
College, Hopkinton, also at the Iowa State University at Iowa 
City, from which they both graduated in the law. 

A. G. Vroman — born in Copenhagen, Lewis county, N. Y., in 
1836; came to Canton from Dodge county, Minn., in 1879; he 
married Caroline Pratt, of Dane county. Wis., in 1858; they have 
two children, Walter and Ina. 



H. A. James -general hardware; born m Concord, N. IL; 
moved to Illinois in 1855 and engaged in farming; thence moved 
to Iowa; and was for several years in the employ of the Union Pa- 
cific R. R. Co.; thence to Yankton where he engaged in contract- 
ing and building; moved to Springfield in 1874, and engaged in 
the lumber trade; entered the hardware business in the fall of 
1878. Mrs. James has also the only millinery and dressmaking 
establishment in the city. 

John Fry — proprietor stove and tin store; born in Connecticut; 
came to Springfield in 1872 and engaged in business in 1873. Mr. 



I 



SPBINGFIELD BIOSKAPHIES. 343 

Fry served his country four years in the 5th Conn. Regiment; was 
wounded in North Carolina just previous to the close of the war. 

John A. Lee — came to Springfield, in company with his son 
George, in 1869, and each took a claim near where the town is now 
located, and sold to the Town Site Company, 240 acres where the 
town now stands. George Lee stiil resides at Springfield and is 
engaged in farming. 

J. H. Stephens — dealer in furniture, harness and saddlery; 
came to Springfield in December, 1873; was in the harness busi- 
ness at Yankton previous to coming to Springfield; carries the 
only stock of the kind in the city. 

Robert P. Cowglll — meat market and provision store; came to 
Sioux City, Iowa, from Delavan, Wis., in 1875; moved to Spring- 
field in 1878, and engaged in his present business in 1881. 

Georg3 Hefner — hardware; barn in Detroit, Michigan, in 
1856; came west to Iowa, and in 1870 settled in Yankton, where 
he engaged in farming machinery business; thence to Springfield in 
1878, where he engaged in business as above. 

Dr. Charles Curlin — proprietor city drug store; came to 
Springfield in 1879; is a graduate of the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons at Keokuk, Iowa. 

A. F. MeAuley — proprietor Pioneer Billiard Hall; came to 
Glencoe, Minn., in 1866; went to Ft. Stephenson in the employ 
of A. H. Wilder, of St. Paul, and remained there several years. — 
came to Springfield in 1871, and engaged in general merchandis- 
ing; was postmaster under Hayes and Garfield, and resigned in 
1881. 

L. Schwerdlmann — born in Germany; came to the U. S. in 
1867, and located in Baltimore, Md.; came to Spring-field in 1880, 
and purchased the established business of F. G. Braun. Mr. S. 
has a store in Tyndall, Dak., managed by R. L. Wilson. 

John Todd — editor of Springfield Times, son of Gen. J. B. S. 
Todd; came with Gen. Harney's expedition to Dakota in 1857; 
assumed control of the Times in 1881. 

Bonesteel & Turner — general merchandise; business establish- 
ed by J. L. Turner in 1870, Mr. Bonesteel becoming a partner in 
1871;they carry a stock in general merchandise of about $20,000, the 
firm also have two stores — one general merchandise, the other 
hardware, in Niobrara, Nebraska, under the management of Mr. 
Donesteel. 

E. W. Monfore — groceries and provisions; born in New York 
in 1854; moved to Illinois in 1865; came to Springfield in 1872; 
engaged in his present business in April, 1881. 

J. C. Klemme — firm of Sterling & Klemme, attorneys at 
law; was brought up in the dry goods business; came to Spring_ 



344 EDEN.BIOGRAPHIKS. 



field in 1879, and engaged in the loan, general insurance and col- 
lecting business; is also city marshal. 

J. C. Russell — billiard parlor and sample room; born in New 
York in 1841; came to Minnesota in 1856 and settled at Water- 
ford, Dakota county; enlisted in Co. G, 1st Minnesota Volunteers, 
in 1861; was wounded and ca})tured at the first battle of Bull Run, 
and kept a prisoner a year at Libbcy, Chattanooga and Saulsbury; 
was discharged in Feb., 1863, and re-enlistcd in the 1st New York 
Veteran Cavalry, and was discharged at the end of the war; trav- 
eled extensively for four years in the West; settled at Springfield 
in 1869. 

James H. Baskin — proprietor Baskin House, Springfield, D. 
T.; Avas born in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1845; in June, 1865 he came 
to Dakota, where he settled permanently; in 1875 he married Miss 
S. E. Culver, of this place. 

M. Grifiin — was born in Ireland in 1822; immigrated to Amer- 
ica and is now (1881) postmaster of Springfield, Dakota; he was 
one of the early settlers of this town. 

Mrs. Mary E. Love — proprietress of the Springfield Hotel, 
Springfield, D. T., was born in Burns, Livingstone county, New 
York, in 1835; in 1868 came west and settled in Illinois; in 1870 
she came to Dakota and settled in Springfield in September of that 
year; has been twice married; has two children — Emma A. and 
Alonzo W. Barron. 

Rev. Charles Seccombe — was born in Salem , Massachusetts,iu 
1817; was educated at Dartmouth College and Union Theological 
School, New York; he graduated in 1850 and entered the ministry 
at that time; his first pastoral charge was at Anthony Falls, Min- 
nesota, in 1850; has been in the ministry work throughout his life; 
has been twice married; his first wnfe Avas Anna M. Peabody, of 
New Hampshire; he then married Harriet M. Tohnan, of Massa- 
chusetts; they have five children — Samuel H., Harriet M., Emma 
R., Mary F. and Charles H. 



i:i>i':rv. 

S. B. Culbertson, P. M. — born in Danville, Livingston ecounty, 
N. Y., in 1830; came west in 1856 to Decorah, la.; moved from 
there to Sioux Falls in 1872, and in 1874 came to Eden and 
established business; has been postmaster for six years. 

L. T. Farley— born in Genesee county, N. Y., in 1836; came 
from Wisconsin here in 1868; he married Cora A. Warner; they 
have seven children, Roselle, Lillian, Corlie, Mabel, Florence, 
Luman and Wilford. 

G. W. Mather — born in Bremer county, la., in 1858; came to 
this county in 1870; he married Ida Willmarth. 



CALLIOPE BIOGRAPHIES. 345 



S. P. Mackey — born in Dayton, Ohio, in 1852; been in this 
Territory since 1877, and came to Eden in 1881; he married Carle 
Batchel, of Lincoln county, D. T.; she died 30th of- July, 1881. 

Myron Odell — born in Troy, N, Y., in 1851; came here from 
Fonduiac, Wis., June 19, 1874; he married RosaC. Farley, March 
24, 1880; they have one child, Roy. 

Frank Odell — born in Fondulac. Wis., in 1857; came here 
in 1874. 

James Parkin — P. M., Eden; farmer; born in England in 
1839; came to America in November, 1867; he married Amanda 
Allen, who was a native of Chautauqua count}^ N. Y., in 1860; they 
have three children, OUies, Stella and Roy. 

L. Pritzkan — born in Russia June 26, 1855; came to Amer- 
ica December 1, 1876; came to D. T. April, 1874; he married 
Elizabeth Grad. 

A. Snyder— born in Niagara county, N. Y., June, 1837; came 
to this place November, 1878; he married Hattie Allen, who was 
born in Allegheny county, N. Y.; they were married at Shell Rock, 
la., in February, 1871. 



Samuel S. Conrad — born in Indiana in 1845; came to D. T. in 
1873; he married Mary Coopen, of Union, D. T.; they have three 
children, Daniel A., John C. and Nellie Jane. 

M. Leggett — born in Ohio in 1832: came here in 1872; he 
married Julia Eddelblut at Rockshury, Ohio, in 1857; they have 
seven children, Alta, Mary, Wm., Katie, Harry, Dott and Eddie. 

James Kennedy — born in Ireland; came here from Rutland, 
Vt., in 1867; he married Katie Leonard, a native of Vermont; they 
have seven children, Thomas, Mary, Susie, Winnie, John, James 
and Kate. 

A. W. Heald — born in Washington county, Ohio, in 1850; 
came from there here in the spring of 1870; he married Ann Rosa 
Winters at Calliope; they liave six children, Guy, Edwin, Walter, 
Levi, Alice E. and Arthur G. 

Elisha Hodgin — was bom in Ohio in 1839; came west in 
1856, and settled in Linn county, Iowa; then removed to Clay 
county, Dakota; thence to Calliope, Iowa; served in the army 
three years under Grant and Sheridan; he married Elizabeth Ver- 
non, of Iowa; they have three children, HarrvM., George L. and 
W. E. 

A. Tibbies — was born in Washington county, Ohio, in 1859; 
came to Iowa in 1869; then he moved back to Ohio, where he re- 
mained three years; March 25, 1881, he came to Calliope, Iowa, 
where he settled permanently. 



346 WATEKTOWN' BIOGRAPHIES. 

Wilson Miller — was born in the State of New York in Feb- 
ruary, 1853; came to Wisconsin with his parents in August, 1856; 
in February, 1879, he came to Calliope, la., where he settled per- 
manently; he also deals in live stock; at the present time (1881) he 
has eightj^-five head grazing on the prairies of Western Iowa. 

Wm. Reese —was born in Pennsylvania in 1817: came west to 
Carver county, Minnesota, in 1856; then moved to Calliope, la., 
in 1874; he served as Town Treasurer and School Director 
in Minnesota for several years; he married Elizabeth Mathews; 
his second marriage was with Matilda Cleaster, of Minnesota. 

H. H. Rudd — born in Onondaigua county, N. Y., in 1833; came 
here from Joliet, Will county. III.; married Nancy Shoemaker, of 
Illinois, in 1860; they have iive children, Minnie R., Ettie, Hattie. 
Maud B. and Bell A. 

L. H. Bailey — born in Black Hawk Co., la., in 1855; came to 
Calliope May, 1881; married Lydia A. Blackford in 1875; they have 
two children, Lewis H. and Mandie R. 

David Stephen — born in Aberdeen, Scotland; came to D. T. 
in 1872; came to Calliope in the spring of 1880; he married Mar- 
garet Gibson in 1868; they have six children, Lillie, Mary, David, 
Maggie, Nettie and Cora. Mr. S. has also a store at Sunny Side, 
D. T., eighteen miles west, and resides there. 

D. 0. Stone — editor of the Sioux County Independent, Calli- 
ope, la.; born in Ohio in 1864; has lived in Calliope 13 years; 
proprietor of the Independent, and the youngest editor in the 
state of Iowa. 

Harrison Way — born in 1839; came here in 1880 from Syra- 
cuse, N. Y. 



^v A iKBc row .^ . 



J. B. Alexander, firm of Alexander Bros., — born in Cass 
county, Mich., in 1845; moved to Red W^ing, Minn., in 1866; came 
to Watertown in the spring of 1879; elevator erected in the sum- 
mer of 1879; married to Melissa Odell, of Vandalia, Mich., and 
lias three sons and one daughter. 

M. D. Alexander, firm of Alexander Bros., grain elevator — 
born in Cass county, Mich., in 1853; thence to Red Wing, Minn.; 
thence to Watertown; married to Mary Odell, of Vandalia, Mich., 
and has two sons and one daughter. 

G. E. Bartlett, blacksmith- born in N. Y. in 1838; moved to 
Wis. in 1849; came to Watertown in April, 1879, and engaged in 
business as above; married to Frank E. Tri])]i. of Hiugham, AVis.. 
and has four sons. 

AV. L. Beals, firm of Ulrick & Beals, I'roprs. Central House — 
born in Mass. in 1845; came to Watertown in March, 1879; mar- 



^;^j^/h^-^M^^ 



WATEKTOWN BIOGKAPHIES. 347 

ried to S. A. Farrin^-ton, of Me. The Central House was erected 
in the spring of 1879. 

J. Bennett — physician and surgeon; firm of Bennett h 
Briggs; born in York county, Pa., in 1814; moved with parents to 
Oxford, 0.; thence to Illinois in 1845: thence to Sparta, Wis., in 
1856; came to Watertown in May, 1879; married to Julia Shelley, 
deceased, of Connecticut, and has one son and two danghters;his pres- 
ent wife was Mrs. Emma Mahnus, of Vicksburg, Miss.; he has re- 
cently platted the north addition to Aberdeen, D. T., from land 
owned by him adjoining that town. The Doctor was an old-time 
abolitionist; was eight years clerk of the circuit court and ex-officio 
recorder in Illinois, and a member of the Wisconsin legislature in 
1859 and 1869, besides having held other responsible public posi- 
tions. 

Geo. B. Bennett — Watertown and Jim River Stage Line; born 
in New York in 1836; moved to Bureau county. Ills., in 1855; 
went to Colorado in 1859; returned to Illinois in 1860; thence en- 
tered the army during the Rebellion; returning from the army, en- 
tered the service of the Western Stage Co., with hetidquarters at 
Des Moines, Iowa. In 1863 went west to Ft. Randall and Fort 
Benton; came to Dakota in April, 1880. 

C. H. Bradford — general merchandise; born at Minneapolis, 
Minn., in 1857; came to Watertown in May, 1880, and engaged in 
business as above; married to Anna Larson, of Kasson, Minn. 

E. N. Brann — real estate; born at Gardner, Me., in 1850, 
moved to LaCrosse, Wis., in 1873; came to vicinity of Lake Kam- 
peska in May, 1878, and moved to Watertown at the beginning of 
its settlement; was principal of the Watertown schools and the 
first county superintendent of schools in Codington county. 

M. T. Briggs, M. D. — firm of Bennett & Briggs, physicians 
and surgeons; born in Kalamazoo county, Mich., in 1873; moved 
to Illinois in 1878, thence to Wisconsin; came to Watertown 
March 24, 1879; married to Olive Parson, of Texas, Mich., and 
has two sons and two daughters. 

C. 0. Carpenter — born in New York in 1837; moved to Illi- 
nois in 1860; thence to Minnesota; came to Codington county 
April 22d, 1878; Mr. Carpenter erected a portion of his present 
residence in Watertown in 1878, and kept hotel therein for about 
two years, his being the first place of public entertainment in Wa- 
tertown; married to Charlotte Knapp, of New York, and has two 
daughters; was the first assessor of Codington Co.; Mrs. Carpenter 
and daughters were the first permanent female settlers in Water- 
town. 

C. G. Church, firm of Poore & Church, attorneys, real estate 
and loan — born at Jericho, Vt.. in 1854; came to Watertown in 
April, 1880; married to Carrie J. Bishop, of Burlington, Vt., and 
has one daughter. 



348 WATERTOWJS BIOGRAPHIES. 

M. G. Cobb, insurance and farming, Gary. Dakota — born in 
Chautauqua county, N. Y., in 1838; moved to Wisconsin in 1848; 
thence to Minn.; thence to Gary in 1878; married to KUen A. 
Shellman, of N. Y., and has one son and two daughters. 

Horace Comfort, firm of Campbell & Comfort, attorneys, real 
estate and loan — born at St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada, in 1858; 
located at Chicago, Ills., in 1879; came to Watertovvn in Aug., 1880. 

S. J. Conklin, attorney and editor Dakota News — born in 
Penn Yan. N. Y., in 1829; moved to Waterloo, Wis., in 1857; 
came to Watertown in May, 1879. Mr. Conklin was for three 
terms member of the Wisconsin legislature; served as (Quarter- 
master in a W"is. regiment during the rebellion; was for some time 
Judge Advocate of a general court martial; was for three years 
Supervisor of Internal Revenue in the South, and has he!d other 
positions of trust; practices in the United States courts; married 
to Maria Wait, of Jasper, N. Y., and has two sons and one daughter. 

Frank Crane, principal Watertown schools and county super- 
intendent — born Dec. 14. 1855, at Sparta, Wis.; came to Water- 
town in April, 1880. 

L. S. Deming, clerk of district court, firm of Thomas & Dem- 
ing, real estate — born at Ft. Madison, Iowa, in 1854; moved to 
Vermillion, Dakota, in 1870; thence to Yankton in 1875; came to 
Watertown in May, 1878; married to Laura L. Leach, of Lake 
View, Codington county. 

0. E. Dewey, firm of. 0. E. Dewey & Co., drugs and groceries 
— born in Jefierson county, N. Y., in 1843; moved to Bureau 
county. Ills., in 1871; thence to Watertowai, where he has been in 
business ever since the town w^as started; moved his family to 
Watertown in the spring of 1881; married to Emma Kemp, 
daughter of J. E. Kemp, of AVatertoAvn, N. Y.. and has one 
daughter. 

Geo. A. Edes, editor and propr. (Jodington Co. Courier — born 
in Foxcraft, Me., in 1844; moved in 1857 to Western N. Y.; 
returned to Portland, Me., where he worked at the printer's trade; 
went to California in 1862, where he remained two years, return- 
ing to Me.; thence to Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minn., where be 
resided about nine years. In 1872 he went to Montana; thence to 
Salt Lake City, Council Bluffs, and Omaha, after which he once 
more returned to Me.; going back to Minnea))olis. he subsequently 
pul>lished the Buffalo Co. Journal at i\lma, Wis., the Trenn)ealeau 
Co. Messenger, at Whitehall, AVis., and the Lyon Co. News at 
Marshall, Minn.; came to Watertown in May, 1880, and purchased 
the Independ'^nt, w^hich he jnerged into the Courier; married to 
Nettie Englesby, of Wis., and has one son. 

W. 0. Fraser — firm of Conklin & Eraser, proprietors Dakota 
News; born in Shelby, 0., in'1852; went to California in 1871 ; re- 
turned to Ohio in 1876; thence to Wisconsin in 1877; came to 



WATERTOWN BIOGRAPHIES. 349 

Watertown in 1879; married to Ella Langlotz, of Waterloo, Wis- 
consin. 

0. Gesley — county treasurer, born in Beloit, Wis., in 1854; 
came to Watertown in Februrarj, 1879, and engaged in hardware 
business; elected treasurer in the fall of 1880; married to Anna 
Johnson, of Canby, Minn. 

Moses Greer, Jr. — firm of Cleveland & Greer, general mer- 
chandise; born in Canada in 1853; moved with parents in 1854, to 
Winneshiek county, Iowa; thence in the spring of 1870 to Lanes- 
boro, Minn.; thence to Decoran, Iowa; came to Watertown in the 
fall of 1880. 

H. 0. Hagen — general merchandise; born in Norw^ay in 1848; 
came to the United States in 1873, and located in Marquette coun- 
ty, Mich.; moved to Calumet, Mich., in the spring of 1874; came 
to Watertown April 15, 1881; married to Oline Mary Olson, of 
of Norway, and has three sons and one daughter. 

Louis F. Heintz — firm of Heintz & Hassinger, clothing, boots, 
shoes, etc.; born in Winona, Minn., in 1859; came to Watertown 
in August, 1880, and entered business as above; married to Lizzie 
Rice, of Winona. 

P. E. Higgins — Sheriff of Codington county — livery; born in 
Shenango county, N. Y., iu 1845; moved with his parents to Min- 
eral Point, Wis; thence to Palmira, Wis.; thence to Stevens' 
Point, Wis.; came to Watertown in June, 1880; appointed sheriff 
in the spring of 1881. 

F. W. Hoyt — clothing, hats and caps, gent.'s furnishings; 
born in 1850 at Utica, N. Y.; came to Watertown from New York 
City in July, 1879, and opened the first stock of clothing in 
Watertown; he married Arabella Kemp, of Watertown, N. Y., 
and has one daughter. 

H. Johnson — firm of Johnson & Cartford, proprietors John- 
son House; born in Norway in 1832; came to the LTnited States 
in 1853, and settled at Black River Falls, Wis.; came to Water- 
town in the spring of 1879, and engaged in business as above; 
married to Martha Birch, and has one daughter. 

0. C. Johnson — proprietor Bank of Watertown; born in Nor- 
way in 1838; came to the LTnited States in 1844 and located in 
Walworth county. Wis.; established the Bank of Watertown in 
March, 1880; married to Mrs. Caroline B. Bodtker, and has one 
son: Mr. Johnson's home is at Beloit, Wis. 

Oscar P. Kemp — firm of Kemp Bros., hardware and farming 
machinery; born in 1852, in Watertown, N. Y. ; moved in 1875 to 
Sparta, Wis.; came to Codington county in March, 1878, and lo- 
cated on a farm of 560 acres, one mile west of the present town of 
Watertown, owned by Kemp Bros, and John E. Kemp, of Water- 
town, N. Y.; married Elva M. French, of Neilsville, AVis., and has 
one son. 



350 WATERTOAVN" BIOGRAPHIES. 

John Kemp— born in Watertown, N. Y., in 1853; moved to 
Ohio in 1871; thence to Sparta, Wis., and came to Watertown in 
1879; married to Clara Deringer, of Sparta, AVis. 

D. B. Lovejoy — born in N. Y, in 1835; moved to Wis., in 
1856, and located at Evansville, Rock county; served four years 
and three months in the army during the war of the rebellion; 
from Evansville he moved to Richland county, Wis.; thence to 
New York city, where he was employed in the service of the county 
court; came to Codington county in the spring of 1876, being one 
of the earliest and most sagacious pioneers; married to Nancy 
Briggs, a native of N. Y., and has one son and one daughter. 

William Marshall, manager J. S. Keator's farm, Hamlin 
count3% Dakota — born in Canada in 1834; moved to Wis. in 1861, 
and came to Hamlin county in 1879; married to Mary Shanks, of 
Canada, and has two daughters. Mr. Marshall was appointed post- 
master of Keator post-office, in July, 1879. 

Peter Mauseth, furniture— born in Norway in 1814; came to 
the United States in 1873, and located in Mich.; came to Water- 
town in July, 1879; married to Caroline Olson, of Norwa}^, and 
has one son and three daughters. 

C. C. Maxwell, proprietor temperance billiard hall — born at 
Mt. Pleasant, 0., in 1810; moved to Indianapolis, Ind., in 1860; 
thence to Chicago, Ills.; thence to Plainview, Minn.; came to 
Watertown m the spring of 1879; married to Loenza A. Porter, of 
Plainview, Minn., and has two daughters. 

Wm. Mclntyre — propr. East Watertown House; born in N. 
Y. in 1842. moved with parents to Columbia county. Wis.; thence 
to Monroe county, AVis.; came to Codington county in October, 
1877, and located two miles west of the present town of AVater- 
town; the following spring Mr. Mclntyre located where he now 
resides, opening his hotef March 13, 1880; married to Addie E. 
Blodgett, of Ohio, and has one son and two daughters. 

J. I. ]\Ionks — postmaster; hrm of Monks & AA^iser, hardware 
and farming machinery; born in 1851 at Winchester, Ind.; 
moved to Mankato, Minn., in 1867; came to AA'atertown in Feb- 
ruary. 1879, and began business in March of that year; married to 
May Howard, of Mankato, and has one daughter. 

J. C. Mulholland— propr. Merchant's Hotel; born in Hardin 
county, Ohio, in 1836; moved to Iowa in 1856; thence to Wiscon- 
son; thence to Olmstead county, Minn.; came to Watertown in 
1879, where he engaged in the hotel business in May, 1880: mar- 
ried to Jemima C. Carl, and has six daughters. 

J. J. Owsley, Jr., firm of Owsley Bros. & Co. — born at Osh- 
kosh, AVis., in 1855; thence to Sparta, AVis.; came to Watertown 
in March, 1879; married to Effie Streeter, of Sparta. AVis., and has 
one son. 



WATERTOWN BIOGRAPHIES. 351 

S. M. Owsle}^ firm of Owsley Bros. & Co. — born at Indian- 
apolis, Incl., in 1847; moved with his parents to Oshkosh, Wis.; 
thence to Sparta, Wis., and has charge of. the business of the firm 
at the latter place: married to Anna Walker, of N. Y., and has 
three sons. 

J. J. Owsley, Sr., firm of Owsley Bros. & Co., general mer- 
chandise — born in Indiana in 1816; moved to Oshkosh, Wis., in 
1855; thence to Sparta, Wis., in 1860; came to Watertown in 
March, 1879; married to Amanda Peppard, deceased, of Ohio, by 
whom he has one daughter; his present wife was Hattie Major, of 
Ind. ; they have two sons and one daughter. The firm of Owsley 
Bros. & Co. also carry on an extensive business at Sparta. Wis.; 
have 160 acres oE land near Wihner, Minn.; about 1,200 near 
Watertown, 400 of which are under cultivation, and several quar- 
ter sections in Brown county, D. T. 

Warren W. Pay, Oakwood and Watertown stage line — born 
in New Hartford, N. Y., in 1838; moved to Woodstock, Ills., in 
1853; thence to Wis.; thence to Blue Earth county, Minn.; thence 
to Iowa in 1860; was one of the first volunteers at the outbreak 
of the rebellion; returned to Iowa after the war; came to Brook- 
ings county, Dakota, in 1873. 

William M. Reed, bus. manager Empire Lumber Co. — born 
in N. Y., in 1852; moved to Mich, in 1866; thence to Winona, 
Minn.; thence to Washington Ty., in 1876, whence he returned to 
Winona; came to Watertown in April, 1880; married to Agnes 
Hamilton, of Winona. 

G. F. Rice — firm of Rice Bros., general merchandise; born in 
Wisconsin in 1852; came to Watertown in the spring of 1878 and 
entered into business as above; owns a fine farm of 600 acres one 
mile east of Watertown; the firm have in addition an extensive 
merchandising establishment at Aberdeen. Mr. Rice was married 
to Emma Neber, of Oakdale, Wis., and has one daughter. 

E. C. Rice — firm of Rice Bros., general merchandise; born in 
Wisconsin, in 1855; came to Watertown in the Spring of 1878, 
and has charge of the firm's business at Aberdeen, D. T. 

James Riley — harness and saddlery; born in Monmouth 
county, N. J., in 1848; moved with his parents to Southern Mis- 
souri; thence in 1861 to Omaha, Neb.; thence to Beloit, Wis.; lo- 
cated in 1870 at Missouri Valley Junction, Iowa; thence in 1874 
to Yankton, Dakota; came to Codington county in the spring of 
1877. locating near Lake Kampeska. Engaged in above business 
in Watertown in Jan., 1880; was the first sherifi:' of Codington 
county, having been appointed to that ofiice at the organization of 
the county. 

S. D. Scudder — real estate and loan agent; born in India un- 
der the Americnn flag in January, 1860; when about twelve years 
of age he went to Germany where he was educated; from Germany 



352 WATERTOWN BIOGRAPHIES. 



he went to his home in lirooklyn, N. Y., engaging in business in 
the Bank of Montreal, New York City; came to Sleepy Eye, 
Minn., in 1880, and engaged in tlie banking bussiness; came to 
Watertown in 1881. 

Chas. X. Seward — city clerk and attorney, firm of Seward, 
Glass & Eddy, law. real estate and loan; born at Marengo, Illinois, 
in 1857; came to Watertown in January, 1879. 

S. B. Sheldon — Codington County Bank; born in St. Lawrence 
county, N. Y., in 1842; thence in 1866 to St. Paul, Minn.; thence 
to Anoka, Minn.; came to Watertown in July, 1880; married to 
Catherine Kosterman, of Racine, Wis. 

Carl G. Sherwood — attorney and real estate agent at Clark, 
(Jlark county, D. T.; born in Broome county, N. Y., in 1855; 
moved to Illinois in 1878; came to Clark county in the summer of 
1881. 

R. B. Spicer, County Register of Deeds and Business Mana- 
ager for Youmans Bros. & Hodgins — born in Erie county, Ohio, 
in 1849; thence to Michigan in 1868; to Missouri in 1871, and 
to Minnesota in 1874; came to Codington county in 1878; elected 
Register in the fall of 1880; Mr. Spicer owns a farm of 200 acres 
adjoining Watertown. 

G. H. Stoddart, Civil Engineer— born in Wisconsin in 1854; 
moved to Yankton, Dak., in February, 1873; came to Codington 
county in 1878; is engaged as above in the service of the C. & N. 
W. R.' R. Co.; wa5 the first county surveyor of Codington county. 

H. A. Tarbell, firm of Tarbell Bros.— born in Cavendish, Vt., 
in 1855; moved to Owatonna, Minn; thence to Faribault; thence 
to Waseca, Minn; came to Watertown in the spring of 1879; en- 
gaged in 1881 in prosecuting the study of medicine in the medical 
department of Dartmouth College, N. H. 

0. H. Tarbell, firm of Tarbell Bros., drugs, books and station- 
ery — born in Cavendish, Vt., in 1852; moved to Owatonna, Minn., 
in 1872; thence to Faribault; thence to Waseca, j\Jinn.; came to 
vicinity of Lake Kampeska in May, 1878; moved to Watertown in 
March, 1879; married to Etta Williamson, of Owatonna, Minn., 
and has one son. 

Geo. W. Thoinas, firm of C. C. Wiley & Co., real estate— born 
in New York, in 1844; came to Watertown from New York City 
in 1878; located permanently at Watertown in June, 1879. 

W. R. Thomas, firm of D. C. & W. R. Thomas, attorneys- 
born in Berlin, Wis., in 1853; moved to Sioux Rapids, Iowa,J_n 
1873; graduated from the Iowa law school at Des Moines, in 1877; 
came to Codington county, first in the summer of 1876, and loaated 
here permanently in the spring of 1878; married to Mary Peterson, 
of Rochester, Minn.; has one daughter. 



WATERTOWN BIOGRAPHIES. 353 



D. C. Thomas, attorney— born in Wis. in 1846; graduated at 
the Michigan University, Ann Arbor, Mich., in 1869, and located 
at Sioux Rapids, Iowa, of which town he was one of the origin- 
ators; came to Watertown in 1878; married to Mrs. Mary Clark, 
of Sioux Rapids, and has one daughter. 

H. D. Walrath— Codington County Bank; born in 1842, at 
Morristown, St. Lawrence County, N. Y.; moved in 1870 to Oma- 
ha, Neb.; thence to Indiana; thence to Cherokee, Iowa; came to 
Watertown in July 1880; married to Emma F. Sheldon, of New 
York. 

R. T. Warner — attorney; born in Connecticut in 1842; moved 
to Wisconsin; thence to Dakota in 1878; came to Watertown 
March 20, 1879. 

Archie Weaver — general merchandise; born in Ohio in 1845; 
moved to Grand Rapids, Wis., in 1866, where he engaged in busi- 
ness; came to Watertown April 1, 1879, where he engaged in bus- 
iness as above. 

C. C. Whistler — firm of Stevens & Whistler, meat market, 
born in Morrow county, 0., in 1852; moved to Sparta, is., in 
1859; thence to Watertown in 1879; married to Jennie An- 
drews, of Sparta, and has one son; the firm of Stevens and Whis- 
tler also have a business establishment at Sparta, of which Mr. 
Stevens has personal charge. 

C. C. Wiley — firm of Wiley & Co., real astate and loan; born 
in Massachusetts in 1842; moved in May. 1876, to Yankton, Da- 
kota; came to Codington county. May 8, 1877, having taken a 
claim at Lake Kampeska the fall before; has resided in Codington 
county ever since the spring of 1877; married Harriet P. Sprague, 
of Vermont, and has one son and two daughters. 

E. H. Ulrick — firm of Ulrick & Reals, proprietors Central 
House; born in Canada and is about 30 years of age; Mr. Ulrich 
came to Codington county in the fall of 1871. 



J. H. Bryan — wagon and blacksmith shop; was born in Ash- 
land county, Ohio, on the 18th of December, 1834; came west in 
1853 and settled in Wisconsin; then came to Iowa and from Iowa 
to Dakota. His first wife was Mary C. Hawthorn ; have four chil- 
dren by first wife — Ida. Edwin, Calvin and Laura. Married his 
second wife in April, 1873; have one child — Addie. Mr. Bryan h; s 
served one term as sheriff in this county. 

H. H. Blair — druggist; established business in 1871; was born 
in Buffalo, Erie county, New York, in 1839; came west in 1845, 
and settled in Wisconsin, where he resided until 1869, when he 
removed to Elk Point, Dakota, and two years after established this 



351 ELK POINT BIOGRAPHIES. 

business; serv(?tl in the army one and a half years in the 8th Wis- 
consin, under Col. Murphy; he has served two years as prol)ate 
judge and county treasurer of Union county; he niarrit^d M E. 
Dey, of Wisconsin; they have three children, Winnie M., Frank 
H. and Jennie J. 

J. E. Blair — was born in Wisconsin in 1852; came to Dakota 
in 1864 and h)eated at Elk Point; served as clerk in a drug store 
six years, and was deputy postmaster at the same time; he is now 
postmaster, in which capacity he has served three years; he wa;3 
town treasurer two terms, and lodge treasurer one year; he married 
Permelia Snyder, of Lawler, Iowa. 

Trefle Bail — carpenter and joiner, was born in Canada East, in 
August, 1841, came to the United States in 1861, and settled in 
Rhode Island; in 1875 moved to Dakota; he married Mary Russell, 
of Providence, Rhode Island; they have three children — Louisa, 
Moses and Georgie. 

Benjamin Briggs — furniture dealer; born in LaFayette, N. Y. 
in 1824. Came west in 1866 and settled in this vicinity; in 1844 
was united in marriage to Sarah A. Rose, a native of the state of 
New York; have lost, by death, three children — Emily J., Letitia 
M., and infant not named. 

Rev. D. 0. Darling — born in Madison county, Ohio, August 
21st. 1850; immigrated west in 187 J, and settled at Moiiticello, 
Illinois, and from there he removed to this section of country, where 
he has been stationed the past live years; in 1871 he married Mary 
A. Warford,a native of Ohio; they have three children — IdellaG., 
Charles M. and an infant. 

George Ford — Presbyterian minister, born in Boston, Mass., 
in 1810; received his education at Harvard College, where he grad- 
uated in 1842; he then attended Andover Theological Seminary, 
where he graduated in 1845; he was appointed missionary to India, 
in which capacity he served for six years. After his return he was 
pastor in New York State until 1874, when he removed to Elk 
Point, D. T., where he is now a resident, (1881). He married Miss 
Ann Jennet, a native of Patochogue, Long Island; they have 
three children — George Ford, Jr., who is now a merchant in Elk 
Point; James T. Ford, Presbyterian minister at Oxford, Wis., and 
John S. Ford, a printer and stationer in Chicago. 

Rev. G. W. Freeman — pastor Baptist church; ordained June, 
1844, at Rupert, Vermont, where he lived three yeiirs and then 
removed to Fort Edward, N. Y., where he resided four years; he 
was born in the town of Vernon, M;':lison county, N. Y., August 
10th, 1819; came west in April, 1851, and settled at Whitewater, 
Wis.; he then removed to VVaupun, Wis., and from there to Hori- 
con,in D )dge county; from there he removed to Fox Lake, where 
he remained five years in charge of the Wisconsin Female Col- 



ELK POINT BIOGRAPHIES 355 

lege; from there he moved to Lake City, Minnesota, and took 
charge of the Baptist church; he then removed to New Lisbon, and 
from there to Kilbourne City, and from there to the U. & C. P. 
R. R., as general superintendent of missions, transferred by the 
Board of Home Missions to the charge of home missions 
in Dakota. He married Charlotte Dyer, of Shaftsburv, 
Vt., who died October 21st, 1880, in Elk Point, D. t. 
After coming to Elk Point, Rev. Freeman returned to Fort Dodge, 
Iowa, where their denomination built a very fine church; he was 
appointed by Gov. Randall, of Wisconsin, chaplain of Gen. 
Blake's staff. He has four children — Charlotte M., George R., 
Charles H., Carrie A., (wife of the clerk of court in Elk Point.) 

Warren Fisk — butcher: was born in Washington county, N. 
Y., May 8th, 1837; came to Wisconsin at the age of 19, where he 
resided twelve years; served in the army two years under Gen. 
Sherman, ''Co. F,'' 16th Wisconsin; arrived in Dakota the 11th 
day of October. 1868; in 1858 he married Elizabeth Scott; have 
two children — Frederick and Jennie. Mr. Fisk has been school 
treasurer in Elk Point the past 11 years. 

Dr. J. Griffin Conley — physician; born August 1, 1838, at 
Phinebeck Flats, New York; received his education at Rush Medi- 
cal College, and graduated in 1861; entered the army as assistant 
surgeon with the third Wisconsin regiment, in March, 1862; was 
promoted to surgeon in February, 1864, and served till the close of 
the war; the last six months of the service was promoted to sur- 
geon in chief: served on Gen. Hawley's staff'; married Miss Ella 
Savage, February 20, 1867; have three children. May, Arthur B., 
infant. 

Rev. Almon Gore — Groceries, confectionery and dining hall; 
established business in 1879; was born in Gennessee county, N. Y., 
in 1829; was raised in Michigan; came west to Dakota in 1863; 
was a member of theMichigan annual conference nine years- of the 
M. E. Church; in 1867 he was elected county commissioner of 
Union County, but failed to qualify; he married Ann E. Lee, of 
Ohio; they have five children, Ada A., Clarence S., Terrence A., 
Irwin A. Arvin J.; have buried three children, Ida L., Almon Ty- 
son, and Harriet E. 

Dr. George W. Havens — was born in Hartford, Washington 
county, N. Y.; graduated at Castleton in 1832; came west in 1854, 
and settled in LaCrosse, Wisconsin; while there he was elected 
county superintendent of that county; in 1874 he moved to Elk 
Point, Dakota; he married Catherine A. Woolhiser, a native of Al- 
leghany county, New York. 

H. Halverson- -established business in August, 1881; was born 
in Norway in 1836; came to America in 1862 and settled in Chica- 
go; in 1881 he moved to Elk Point, Dakota; he served in the 



356 ELK point' BIOGRAPHIES. 

military in Norway four years as sergeant; he married Carrie Sel- 
wick, who died in Chicago in 1879; he has four children -Hilmer 
A., Helena C, Maggie M. and Richard M. 

Joshua Vaugchan Himes, Elk Point; was born in Wick- 
ford, K. I., May 19, 1805; in 1822 he went to New Bed- 
ford, where he was converted under the labors of Elder Simon 
Clough; February 2, 1823, he united with the First Christian 
Church; he afterwards became a preacher, holding revival meet- 
ings in the neighboring school houses, and success crowned his ef- 
forts; in 1827 he entered upon the work of the ministry as the 
work of his life; he was then appointed evangelist by the Massa- 
chusetts ('hristian Conference, to labor in Southern Massachusetts 
till the autumn of 1827, when he located at Fall River, Massachu- 
setts; in 1830 he was invited to take the pastoral care of that peo- 
ple; which invitation he accepted and continued with them till 
1837, when he resigned; in 1839 he embraced the views of Mr. 
Miller, relating to the prophecies, the age of the world, and the 
second coming of Christ; he has published numberless papers, 
tracts and books which were distributed gratuitously by. him; he 
has visited England, Ireland and Scotland as a missionary, and has 
traveled in nearly all the States of the Union; opeii. frank, courte- 
ous, liberal and sympathetic, he has a great faculty to enlist the 
attention and hearts of the people; in 1863 he established ''The 
Voice of the West," in Buchanan, Michigan, which was published 
many years, and after Tards transferred to an association; at the 
age of 76 his interest and ardor are still unabated; during his min- 
istry of more that 50 years he has organized over three hundred 
churches, assisted in organizing ll state and sectional conferences, 
and immersed over 1,500 souls; he is now pastor of the P]piscopal 
churches in Elk Point and Vermillion, I). T. (1881.); his first 
marriage was in New Bedford to Miss Mary Hand}'; she died in 
1873; his second marriage was to Hannah C. Harley. June 13. 
1879; he has four children, Joshua V.. Jr., farmer; William L., 
clergyman; Walter J., clerk, Berrien county. Michigan; Arthur 
T., grain merchant, in Indianapolis, Indiana. 

"S. W. Kent — harness maker; was born in Plainfield, WiW 
county, Illinois, on the 17th day of Februar}^ 1849; moved to 
Dakota the 22d of February 1868, and settled here iDcrmanently 
on the 15th of July, 1874; he married Edwiua C. Lull; they have 
two children — Glen C. and Ira M. 

E. W. Miller — attorney at law; established business in 1871; 
was born in Wayne county, Ohio, in 1835; came west on a visit in 
1871 and located permanently; from Ohio he went to Pennsylvania; 
thence to Georgia; has been practicing law since he came to Elk 
Point; has l)een superintendent of public schools for two years; he 
married Ella E. Planner, a native of Huntington. Pa.; liave two 
children — one san and one daughter. 



ELK POINT BIOGRAPHIES. 357 

John Mounsey — Groceries and liquors, Elk Point; born in Can- 
ada in 1837; came west in 1871, and settled in Elk Point; married 
Adeline Lalanne April 4, ISGl; have four children, Adeline, 
Ephriam, Henry and Mary W. 

M. W. Sheaf e — Prop. Dakota Flouring Mills; this mill was 
built in the winter of "73 and '74, by J. W. Hoffman, banker, and 
one of the founders of Elk Point, at the cost of $22,000; it had 
three run of stone at the time it was built, but in 1877 it was 
bought by Mr. Sheaf e, who, at the expense of |5,000, fincreased 
its capacity by another run of stone, so that now its capacity is 
100 barrels of flour every 24 hours; and he added all the modern 
machinery for making the new process flour; Mr. S. has been 
awarded the government contract for furnishing flour to the In- 
dian Department for the past three years; he ships flour to all 
parts of the country, and also does a large exchange business, far- 
mers coming 30 and even 40 miles to exchange their wheat for 
flour; this mill ranks as one of the best mills in this part of the 
country; it is run by steam and therefore is not bothered either by 
lack of or too great a supply of water; Mr. Sheafe was born in 
Boston, Mass., in 1844, came west to Janesville, Wis.; from there 
he moved to Elk Point, Dakota, where he engaged in the lumber 
business, which was the first lumber-yard in Elk Point; he was the 
first man that ever shipped freight, by rail, into the Territory; he 
represented this district in the Territorial Legislature (in the Coun- 
cil) one term; was mayor of the city of Elk Point for four years; 
in politics he figures with the Democratic party; he served in the 
army one year, under Burnside and Foster, in '' the Eighteenth 
Army Corps;" he married Cassie Hall, of Wisconsin; they have 
two children — Anna W. and William W. 

G. B. Steckman — watchmaker; was born in Pennsylvania in 
1839; came west in 1861, and stopped in Iowa six years, and then 
moved to Dakota; he married L. E. Harper; they have one child, 
Helend, one and a half years old. Mr. S. was alderman in Elk Point 
four years. 

F. Stroble — proprietor city meat market; was born in Germany 
in 1846; came to America with parents in 1851 and settled in Ohio; 
then moved to Sioux City, Iowa; thence to Dakota; made one trip 
through to Montana in 1865, and came back by the way of Salt 
Lake by team. He has served as city marshal of Elk Point two 
years; 'he married Mary Snyder, of Dakota, and they have three 
children, Hattie, Harry C. and Arthur. 

F. W. Smythe — harness maker; was born in Huntingdon 
county, Canada, Nov. 10th, 1836; came west as far as Chicago in 
1862;"the year of 1867 he spent in Sioux City, Iowa; in 1868 came 
to this territory, where he settled permanently; on the 13th of 
October, l>i59, he married Dormthilde Turcot; they have nine chil- 
dren — F. Diendonne, Anicet, Dion, Francis, Byron, Henry, An- 



358 ELK POINT BIOGRAPHIES. 

toirie, Josepliine, Martin. Mr. Smythe has served as city and 
county justice for ei<2^ht years. 

Rev. Seymour Snyder — M. E. minister; was born in Salis- 
bury, Connecticut, April 23, 1837; attended Cornell collej^e, and 
became a minister in 1861. At the age of eight years he moved 
to Illinois, where he remained nine years. He then removed to 
Iowa, Avhere he resided until 1879, when he removed to Dakota. 
He married Miss Blanche E. Goo, of Dakota; they have one child, 
named Frank A. Mr. Snyder is a member of the Masonic and 
Odd Fellows lodges. 

P. Vail — carpenter and builder; born inDachess county. New 
York, in 1826; he went to California in 1850 and returned in same 
year; again he went west as far as Colorado, and in 1870 he located 
at Elk Point; married Elmira Horton; they have two children — 
Joseph and Anne Mary. 

Uriah Wood — teamster and liveryman; Avas born in Wiscon- 
sin in 1849; then moved to Minnesota, where he resided three 
years; then moved to Dakota and settled permanently. He served 
in the army three years, under General Sully; then traveled all 
through the west. He married Jennie H. Collins, of New Hamp- 
shire; they have three children — Eddie A., Gertie, Veruie. 

J. A. Wallace — lawyer, was born in Davies county, Indiana, 
July 22d, 18-12; immigrated to Illinois in August, 1865, remained 
there till the spring of 1869, when he moved to Dakota Territory, 
where he arrived the oth day of May; he served in the army and 
was the third man to enlist in " Co. C " from the county from 
which that company went; this company was the 6th Indiana, (3 
months' service) and was the first regiment from that state to par- 
ticipate in the Rebellion; he re-enlisted in '" Co. G " of the 42d In- 
diana and served, until the last day of October, 1864, making three 
and a half years service. In 1868, at Hardin, Illinois, he married 
Martha L. Miller, daughter of Rev. M. Miller; they have three 
children dead and one son living, named Hubert, age 11-1 years. — 
Mr. Wallace has served two terms of two years each as county 
prosecuting attorney in this county, and served one term as a mem- 
ber of the territorial legislature (in the Council); he was also mem- 
ber of the school board for six years; was mayor of Elk Point one 
term and city justice four terms. He is the first attorney that ever 
opened a law office in Union county; he was admitted to the bar 
in 1866, and is a graduate of the Washington high school. 

John R. Wood — liveryman, was born in Montgomery county, 
N. Y., in 1821; immigrated west in 1844; settled at Bristol, Wis., 
(near Kenosha) where he lived two years; he then moved to Col- 
umbia county, where he farmed four years; he then removed to 
Kingston, where he kept hotel two years; he then removed 
to Portage City, where he kept livery stable six months, 
and from there to Minneapolis, where he lived a year and 



BROOKINGS BIOGRAPHIES. 359 

a half; from there he moved to Elk Point, Dakota. He 
served in the army three and a half years, also his two sons; he 
married E valine 0. Farmer, of the state of New York. They have 
eight children — Charles H., Lorenzo, Uriah. Harriet E., Margaret, 
Alfred (deceased), Mary J., Evaline C, Lottie J. 



ISROOKirVQS. 

F. J. Adams — firm of Adams Bros., harness, &c.; born in 
Cologne, Germany, in 1854; came to the United States in 1864 
and located in New York City; thence to Mankato, Minn. Came 
to Brookings in April, 1880; married to Lena Kohl, of St. Panl, 
Minn., and has two sons. 

C. Adams — firm of Adams Bros., harness, &c.; horn in Cologne, 
Germany, in 1856; came to the United States in the spring of 1864 
and located in New York City; thence to Mankato, Minn. Came 
to Brookings in April, 1880; married to Mary Johnson of Rapidan, 
Minn., and has one son. 

E. E. Gaylord — Furniture, books and stationery; born in Ogle 
county, Illinois, in 1853; moved with his parents to the vicinity of 
Red Wing, Minn.; left Minnesota in the spring of 18S0, and came 
to Brookings; married to E. A. Arden. of Massachusetts, and has 
one son and one daughter. 

James Hauxhurst — County register of deeds; born in Queen's 
county, L. L. in 1838; moved to Wisconsin in 1855; thence in 1860 
to Colorado, where he remained until 1866, returning to Wisconsin. 
From Wisconsin he moved to Iowa, and came to Medary, Brookings 
county, in 1871. From Medary he moved to Brookings. Was 
first elected register of deeds in 1873, which office he has ever since 
held; married to Ellen Jones, of Wisconsin, and has three daugh- 
ters. 

C. W. Higgins, M. D., drugs, books and stationery — born in 
Jeiferson county. Wis., in 1849; moved in 1858 to Dodge county, 
Minn. Graduated at Hahnemann Medical College, Chicago, in 1876, 
and located in Adams county, Iowa; came to Brookings county in 
1879, and located at Brookings at the starting of the town ; mar- 
ried to Retta E. Stock well, of Ills., and has one son and one 
daughter. 

Geo. W. Hopp, editor and propr. Brookings County Press — 
born in Pennsylvania in 1854; moved with his parents to Iowa. 
Published the "Corning Union, at Corning, Iowa. Came to Foun- 
tain, Brookings county, in December, 1878, where he started the 
County Press; moved with the Press to Brookings, Oct. 18, 1879. 
First issue of the Press at Fountain, Feb. 20, 1879; first issue at 
Brookings, Oct. 2S, 1879; started the Kingsbury County News at 
DeSmet in March. 1880; the Hamlin County Times at Estelline 



360 BROOKINGS lilOGRAPHIES. 

Mov. of the same year, and the Lake Preston Times in Oct. o£ 
present year, of which papers he is still the proprietor; m June of 

5 resent year, he started the Huron Tribune, in connection with 
. W. Shannon. Mr. Hopp is also P. M. at Brookings, and 
was married to Edith McBride, of Brookings Co., in Nov., 1881. 

P. C. Johnson, hardware — born in Norway, in 1856; came 
to the U. S. in 1867, and settled in Fillmore Co., Minn.; came to 
Brookings county in the spring of 1878, and to Brookings Feb. 
20, 1880, where he engaged in the hardware business. 

L. L. Jones — probate judge, contractor and builder; born in 
Ontario county, N. Y., in 1824; moved to Pennsylvania in 1839; 
thence to Chicago, Ills., in 1871; moved to Minnehaha county, 
Dakota, in 1878, and came to Brookings in the fall of 1879. Mar- 
ried to Elizabeth J. Hartwell, of New York, and has two sons and 
two daughters. 

C. A. Kelsey, M. D. — firm of Kels^y Bros., farming machin- 
ery; born in St. Lawrence county, N. Y., in 1847; left N. Y. in fall 
of 1854, and went to Minnesota in the spring of 1856. Graduated 
from the Chicago Medical College in the spring of 1875, and loca- 
ted at Concord, Minnesota; came to Brookings county in 1878; lo- 
cated at Fountain and moved to Brookings at the beginning of the 
town. Married to Isabel P. Allen, of Maine., and has one son and 
two daughters. 

G. A. Mathews — firm of Mathew^s & Scobey, attorneys; born 
at Potsdam, N. Y., in 1852, and moved to Fayette, Iowa, in 1865; 
came to Brookings in 1879; married to Cora M. Thomas, of West 
Union, Iowa. 

J. M. Miles — editor and proprietor Sioux Valley Journal ; born 
in New York in 1848; moved to Wisconsin: thence to Minnesota; 
came to Brookings in the spring of 1880; married Ella Greenwood, 
of Mankato, Minnesota, and has one daughter, 

C. E. Mudget — firm of Mudget & Roddle, meat market; born 
in Vermont in 1852; thence to Chicago in 1859; thence to Wis- 
consin. Came to Canton, Dakota, and thence to Medary in July, 
1879; came to Brookings in the fall of the latter year. 

H. H. Natwick — firm of Nat wick & Diamond, attorneys; born 
September 13, 1853, in Dane county. Wis.; left Wisconsin in July, 
1879, and came to Brookings county; married to L. M. Haskell, of 
Wisconsin. 

F. H. Newton county surveyor; born in Sherburne. N. Y., 
in 1843; moved to Hennepin county, Minn., in 1855; thence in 
1875 to Zumbrota, Minn. Came to l^rookings county in 1878; 
elected county surveyor in 1880; married to Mary A. AVoodward, 
of Maple Grove, Minn., and has two daughters. 

H. T. Odegard -county treasurer and firm of Thompson & 



BROOKINGS BIOGRAPHIES, 361 



Odegard, farming machinery; born in Norway in 1847; came to 
the United States in 1866 and located in Wisconsin; moved to 
Wattenwan county, Minn., in 1877; thence to Brookings county, 
January 7, 1879; held offices of public trust in Minnesota. 

C. P. Oefstos, firm of Magnusseu & Oefstos, general mer- 
chandise—born in Norway in 1843; came to the TJ. 8. in the 
spring of 1872, and located in LaCrosse, Wis.; came to Brookings 
in July, 1881. Married to Mary Wolla, of Norway, and has one 
son and three daughters. 

Geo. W. Pierce, groceries, provisions, and crockery born in 
1838 in Ohio; moved with his parents to Blinois; thence to Iowa, 
and came to Fountain, Brookings county, in the fall of 1878; 
came to Brookings and opened the first stock of goods in the 
place in November, 1879. Married to Delia L. Bartholomew, of 
Ohio, and has one son and two daughters. 

B. F. Roddle, firm of Mudget & Roddle, meat market — born 
in 1855 in Wisconsin; thence to Minnesota; was city marshal of 
Wauseca, Minn., and held other offices in that county; came to 
Brookings in the spring of 188o. Married to Olive A. Stevens, 
of Wisconsin, and has one son and one daughter. 

W. H. Roddle, hardware — born in 1850 in Wisconsin; thence 
in 1860 to Minnesota; came to Dakota in March, 1879, and to 
Brookings Oct. 13th, of the same year. Married to Fannie R. 
Stevens, of Wisconsin, and has one daughter. 

Geo. G. Rude, propr. Christiana House — born in Norway in 
1856; came to the U. S. in 1870, and settled in Winneshiek Co., 
Iowa; thence in 1878 to Lyle, Minn.; came to Brookings Co. in 
September, 1878, and to Brookings in May, 1880. Married to 
Jenny 0. Rebne. 

T. G. Risum, sheriff of Brookings county — born in Rock 
county, Wis., in 1848; came to Brookings county in 1878; was 
appointed sheriff in the summer of 1880, and elected to that office 
in the fall of the same year. Married to Carrie Halverson, of 
Fillmore county, Minn., and has one daughter. 

Hon. J. O'B. Scobey, firm of Matthews & Scobey, attor- 
neys — born in Scohirie county, N. Y., in 1854; thence to New 
Jersey; thence to Iowa; came to Brookings county, March 30, 
1879, and to Brookings in the fall of that year. Married to Myr- 
tle Walker, of Minnesota. Mr. Scobey is the present member 
of the Territorial Council from this district. 

W. H. Skinner — clerk of courts, real estate and loan agency; 
born in Nova Scotia in 1851; moved to Nashua, Iowa, in 1869; 
came to Brookings county in 1873, and to Brookings in November, 
1879; married to E. A. Laird, of Iowa, and has three sons and one 
daughter. 



362 VERMILLION BIOGRAPHIES. 

(t. L. Smith — druggist; born in 1856, in Dodge count^^ Wis.; 
moved with his parents to Wanseca county, Minn. Came to Me- 
dary, Brookings county, in May, 1877; thence to Brookings in 
November, 1879, wliere he immediately engaged in business as 
above; married to Gertrude Cook, and has one daughter. 

J. 0. Walker — proprietor Brookings house; born in Trumbull 
county, Ohio, in 1835; moved to Wisconsin, and thence in 1863 
to Minnesota. Came to Brookings county in 1877, and to the 
town of Brookings in July, 1880; married to Elizabeth Taylor, of 
Massachusetts, and has one son and four daughters. 



VERiVIlI^L,IO:\. 

I\ev. J. S. Bascom — pastor Congregational church, Vermillion, 
D. T. Was born in Chicago in 1845; was educated at Beloit col- 
lege, Wisconsin; graduated iu 1866; and also a graduate of Chi- 
cago theological seminary in 1870. His first locations were at 
Odell and Peru, Illinois. From there to Vermillion, Dakota, in 
1880. Married Lora E. Whitney, a native of Massachusetts; have 
two children — Mabel P. and Harry W. 

L. H. Barron — Vermillion, D. T. Born in Mount Morris 
New York, in 1844; he came to Dakota Territory in 1876; married 
Miss Yeomans in 186S. 

J. W. Belcher — was born in Tompkins county. New York, in 
1846; came west in 1879 and settled iir Turner cornty, Dakota, 
where Parker i-; now located. 

C. C. Bridgman — was born iir Hardwiek, Vermoirt, in 1846; 
came west in 1S74 and located in Vermillion, Dakota; served in 
the army in the 1st Vermont artillery, iu the army of the Poto- 
mnc, under Colonel Warner. Has beerr county superintendent of 
Clay county. Dakota, thr-ee terms (six years). Was also superirr- 
tendent in Vermont two years, and followed teaching six year*s. 
Has been deputy postmaster the past severr year's. Married M. E. 
Hayward, of New Lisborr, VViscorrsin. 

F. N. Burdick — was born in Windham county, Vermont, iu 
1834. Graduated iu medicine at the University of Vermont, in 
1859; carne west to Sycamore, Illinois, irr 1862; then went into 
the army and served nine months as assrstatrt surgeon of the 88th 
Illinois. After that he moved to Elgin, Illirrois, whei-e he prac- 
ticed medicine tlu'ee years. From there he moved back to the east 
and practiced nredicine irr the city of Pittstield urrtil the latter part 
of 1869, when he enrbarked irr the newspaper busrness irr Lancas- 
ter, Pa. Then went to Philadelphia wlrer-e he ran a grveirback pa- 
per called The Lal)or Tribune, until the campaign iu the fall of 
1872. In 1873 lie nrovod to VermilHoTr. D. T., and is rrow editor 
of the Vermillion Republican, and also practices nredicine. Since 
he has been in Vermillion he has beerr United States examining 



VERMILLION BIOGRAPHIES. ?63 

surgeon; was chairman of the Vermillion delegation to the Terri- 
torial convention. 

A. I. Charrlin — born in Sweden in 1840; came to America m 
1870, and settled in Iowa, then moved to Missouri; from there back 
to Iowa, and from Iowa to Dakota. Served in the military in 
Sweden, five years. Married Annie Martha Anderson, of Norway; 
have four children — Ole, Johnnie, Albert and Julius. 

Winthrop Chandler — born in Courtlandt county. New York, in 
1810. He came to Wisconsin in 18-il; in 1856 he removed to Iowa; 
thence in 1877 to Dakota; he married Margaret Grant in 1857. Mr 
Chandler was engaged in the practice of law at Dubuque, Iowa, for 
some time. 

H. A. Copeland — judge of probate; born in Greenseth, Ind., 
in 1S27; came to Dakota in 1871; has been judge of probate since 
1877; married Elizabeth Head in 1849; they have six children. 

C. C. Eves — was born in Morgan county, Ohio, in 1839; came 
west in 1851, and located in Muscatine county, Iowa. Served in 
the army four years and two month-, under Col. Hatch, in the 2d 
Iowa cavalry, in the army of the Mississippi; served under Gens. 
Grant, Sherman and others. Married Rebecca Lyon, of Indiana; 
have three boys — Lincoln L., Henry H. and Clyde C. 

J. W. Grange — was born in Iowa in 1847, June 20th; came to 
Dakota in 1872; married Frances Oakley, a native of Wisconsin; have 
one child, named Harry. 

H. E. Hansen — register of deeds; born in Norway in 1841; 
came to America in 18(31. His first location was in Chicago, but 
he soon after removed to Columbia county. Wis. In 1862 he en- 
listed in the 23d Wisconsin volunteer infantry and served until 
close of war. Came to Dakota in 1872, and settled in Vermillion; 
was elected to his present position in 1876; married Lena Alston, a 
native of Norway; they have two sons and two daughters. 

N. Hansen — was born in Luxemburg in 1848; came to America 
in 1862 and settled in Dubuque. Came to Dakota in 1872; he has 
served as town treasurer three years, and Avas city alderman three 
years. He married Amelia Zink, of Wurtemberg; they have two 
children — Charles T. and Albert. 

Jonathan S. Hart — was born in Canada West in 1843; came 
to the United States in 1855; settled in Columbia countv, Wis ; 
from Wisconsin he came to Dakota in 1874; married Marietta 
Woodworth, a native of Minnesota; have thie3 children — Carrie 
0., Manda M., Charles A. 

Frank E. Hayward — was born in New York in 1853; came 
west with his parents in 1858, and settled in Wisconsin. From 
Wisconsin he came to Vermillion, Dakota; married R. C. Bradford, 
of Elgin, Illinois; have lost by death, one child. 

Alfred Helgeson — was born in Sweden in 1850; came to Amer- 



364 VERMILLIOX BIOGRAPHIES. 

ica with his parents in 1852, and settled in Wisconsin. Went to 
Philadelphia, where he received his education and studied the drug 
business. From there went to New York, wliere he lived five 
3'ears; then moved to Dakota, arriving there in 1877. 

Conrad Ilunn — was born in Milwaukee, Wis., in 1856; came 
to Dakota in- 1876. Went into business August 30, 1881. He 
formerly ran a meat market in Springfield, D. T. Married Nora 
Robson,of Dakota; have one child, named Bell, aged six months. 

Sivert Johnson- born in Norway in 1852; came to America 
in 1873, and settled in Vermillion, Dakota. Married Caroline 
Skonhovd, a native of Norway; have one son, named Justin E. 

Hon. John L. Jolley — born in Montreal, Canada, in 18-40; in 
1857 he came to Columbia county, Wisconsin; in 1862 he enlisted 
in the 23d Wisconsin volunteer infantry, and served until 1865; he 
then came to Vermillion and was engaged in the land office until 
1873. Although not an office-seeker, Mr. Jolley has been a mem- 
ber of the legislature, two sessions in the house and two sessions 
in council. He married Harriet J. Grange, a native of Iowa. 
They have one son and two daughters. 

A. H. Lathrop — was born in Racine, Wisconsin, in 1842; then 
moved to Sioux City, Iowa, and from there to Dakota, where he 
arrived in 1868. Served in the army thirteen months in the 43d 
Wisconsin volunteers, under Byron E. Paine; Avas sergeant during 
the time; has been register of deeds in Vermillion. Married Mary 
E. Winslow, of Wisconsin. Have four children — Clara. Hattie, 
Mary, Dora. 

Ed. Lackous — was born in Norway iulS46; came to America 
in 1861; settled in Storey county, Iowa. Business transacted at 
the rate of $600 per month. Has served in the official capacity of 
city marshal and road overseer. Married Julia Lewis, of Norway; 
have five children — Minnie, Stewart, Lena, Ed., infant. 

A. E. Lee — was born in Norway in 1847. Came to America 
in 1850, and settled in Madison, Wisconsin. Came to Dakota in 
186;>, and settled in Vermillion. Married Annie Chappell, a na- 
tive of Wisconsin; have one child, named Jessie. 

John Ledene — was born in Sweden in 1846; came to America 
in 1868, and settled in Vermillion. Married Hannah Nelson, a 
native of Sweden; have one child, named Carrie S. 

C. F. Lotze — was born in Ohio in 1851; came west in 1875, 
and settled in Michigan; thence to Vermillion, D. T., in 1879, 
where he embarked in the jewelry business. Was in Vermillion 
at the time of the ice gorge, and suffered great losses by the same. 

Martin J. Lewis — banker; was born in Orleans count}'. New 
York, in 1843. He came to Columbia county, Wis., in 1845, with 
his parents; in 1869 he removed to Vermillion and in company 
with Mr. Thompson engaged in merchandising, which business he 



VERMILLION" BIOGRAPHIES. 365 

continued until 1875, when lie engaged in the banking business 
witb Messrs. Inman and Thompson, establishiag the bank of Ver- 
million. 

A. B. Lovvrie — was born in Scotland in 1845; came to Amer- 
ica Avith parents in 1846, and settled in New York; then moved to 
Pennsylvania; thence to Wisconsin, Fondulac county; and from 
Wisconsin to Dakota in 1872, and settled at Riverside; came to 
Vermillion in 1880. Served four and one-half years in the army, 
under Col. C. C. Washburn. Married Delia G. Wilbur; have 
three children — Susie G., Bell, Frank K., (Sophia, age 8 years, 
died February, 1881.) Mr. L. is also one of the proprietors of the 
City Flouring Mill. 

H. J. H. Lunde — born in Norway in 1847; came to America 
in 1869; settled in Whitew.ater, Wis.; came to Dakota, August 8, 
1877. Married Frina H. Thoresen. 

James H. Lynch — was born in Galena, 111., in 1853; in 1868 
he moved to Dakota: in 1876 he went to the Black Hills, where 
he has been engaged in mining and dealing in mining stocks until 
the present time, 1881. He married Mary J. Lackey, of Canada, 
Province of Ontario. He has served three years as deputy sheriff 
in the Black Hills, and also three years as deputy assessor in that 
place. 

George. H. McDonald — sheriff of Clay county, D. T.; was 
born in Scotland, eight miles from the city of Glascow, in Len- 
noxshire, August 17th, 1846; came to America and settled in 
Buffalo, N. Y.: from Buffalo he moved to Canada; thence to 
Iowa; thence to Dakota, and settled in Vermillion. Have been 
appointed for a time U. S. Deputy Marshal for district of 
Dakota; has been city marshal here for three years; deputy sheriff 
three years and sheriff three terms. He married Sarah Burk, of 
Milwaukee, Wis. She is a daughter of Bernard Burk of Wis- 
consin. 

J. E. Norelius — was born in Sweden in 1857; came to Amer- 
ica in 1869, and settled permanently in Dakota. 

A. S. Oakley — was born in Cayuga coimty, New York, in 1825; 
came west in 1853; came to Vermillion, D, T., in 1869; married 
Sarah A. Bellman ; have two children — Frances 0. and Charles F. 

William A. Paul — was born in New York in 1833; came west 
to Wisconsin, 1845: in 1878 moved to Dakota; served in the army 
three years and two months under General Pope's division; was a 
non-commissioned officer; married Ruth Hopkins, of W'isconsin; 
have three children — Alice M., Eva M., Henry Arthur. 

William Pendergast — station agent, Vermillion; was born in 
Polo, Ogle county, Illinois, in 1860; came west with parents and 
settled at Rockwell. Iowa. Came to Dakota in February, 1880; 



366 VERMILLION BIOGRAPHIES. 

first s':opped nt Canton and Sioux Falls, and in September, 1881' 
came to Vermillion. 

Andrew Pickett — was born in Canada, in the Province of 
Ontario, 1834; came to Dakota in 1869, and settled in Clay county; 
married Ellen Knowles, of Maine; have three children — Annie M., 
Eleanor J., John F. 

George G. Porter — was born in Maine, Nov. 30, 1842; came 
west in 1867 and settled in Dakota in 1868; served in the army ^21 
months, in the 8th Maine infantry, was in the commissary depart- 
ment most of the time. Has been county commissioner three 
years, also a member of the city council. Married Julia Russell, 
a native of Vermillion, D. T.; have two children — Orville G. and 
an infant. 

A. A. Quarnbero; — born in Sweden in August, 1849; came to 
America in June, 1869, and settled in Clay county, Dakota: married 
Lydia M. Norelius, a native of Sweden: have one child, named 
Roland A. 

R. M. Rasmussen — was born in Denmark in 1834; came to 
America in 1862 and settled in New York; then went to Boston. 
Served in army three months, in 2d Mass. Cavalry, " Co. L," 
when he was discharged, owing to an injury received: then 
moved to Chicago; thence to Omaha; thence to Dakota. Married 
Lina Hansen, a native of Denmark: have three children — Charley, 
Mary and Emma. 

Captain J. S. Runyan- was born in Northumberland county. 
Pa., Sept., 1842; came west in 1867, and settled in Sioux City, la.; 
in 1872 he moved to Dakota, and engaged in the livery and hotel 
business; he served in the army four years, in the "93d Pa. 
Infantry, Co. H., Volunteers,'" under Col. C. W. Eckman; was 
Brevet Captain. He married S. E. Brewer, a native of Pa.: have 
three children Charles N., Sharpless R., Bessie C. 

B. F. Reeve — was born in Canada in 1844: came to the U. 
S. in 1850 with parents, and settled at Maquoketa, Iowa; came to 
Dakota in August, 1878. Was postmaster in Iowa two years. 
Married N. Gertie Smith, of Maquoketa, Iowa: liave two chil- 
dren — Alice G. and Estella B. 

G. T. Salmer — was born in Norway, in 1845: came to Amer- 
ica in 1866: settled in Chicago for six months: then moved to 
Wisconsin: thence to Sioux City, Iowa, where he lived three years; 
he then moved to Dakota, and settled in Vermillion. Served in the 
military in the" old country" one year. Married Sarah Hansen, 
of Norway: have two children — ^Joseph and Clara. 

Prof. Samuel Seccombe, principal Vermillicm High Schools-- 
was born in East Minneapolis, Minnesota, July 23d, 1855. Is a 
graduate of Amherst College: graduated in the summer of 1879; 
prior to that he attended Phillips' Academy: has been teaching in 



VERMILLION BIOGRAPHIES. 367 

Colorado, the past two years. Married America J. Hinton, a 
native of Kansas. 

T. S. Stanley — was born in Vermont in 1836; came west in 
1852, and settled in Erie county, N. Y.; then moved to Delevan, 
Wis.; from Wisconsin Avent to Michigan, and settled at Mason; 
from Michigan he moved to Dakota in 1870. Married Maggie 
Newton, of N. Y.; have five children, Mary, Bertie, Lyman, Ray 
and Carl. 

Wm. Shriner, county treasurer of Clay county, Dakota — 
born in Pennsylvania in 1822; came to Dakota ia 1861; was 
elected to his present office in 1876. Married Harriet Pitman in 
1859; they have five children. 

C. G. Shaw, P. M. — born in Galesburg, New Hampshire, in 
1843; came to Dakota in 1866; has been P. M. eight and one- 
half years. Married in 1872 to Abbie M. Laughton, of Maine; 
they have one child. 

H. E. Vaughn — was born in Hlinois, in Gennessee county in 
1852; came west in 1851: with parents, and settled in Decatur 
county, Iowa; came to Dakota in 1867; he is now (1881) deputy 
sheriff of Clay county; he married Christine Oleson, of Illinois; 
have one child, named Raymond A. 

Geo. Wheeler — was born in Illinois, in 1847; from Illinois he 
went to Wisconsin; thence to Omaha, Nebraska; thence to Dako- 
ta, he served in the army two years, under Sylvester, of Castle 
Rock, Wis., in the 12th infantry; he was with Gen. Sherman in 
his great and memorable march; he married Emily Miirdock, of 
Illinois; they have three children, Ida, Renuie and Mattie. 

George Williams — was born in Canada in 1833; came to the 
United States in July 1872, and settled in Vermillion, Dakota; 
married Mary Ann Fletcher, of England; have seven children — 
Davia, Eliza, Noah, Alice, George, Edward, Alfred, Willis. (Have 
buried three children, named Alice, George and Gordon). 

J. T. White — was born in Vermont in 1824; came west in 
1871, and settled in Dakota in 1872; has been tax collector for city 
school; he married M. R. Fox, of N. Y. state; have six children — 
Amy A., Bertha M., Josiah R., Edwin M., Mabel S. and Rose P. 

Wm. Spowage— was born in England 1827; came to America 
in 1854, and settled in Pennsylvania; he then removed to Stephen- 
son county; Illinois, and from there to Dakota in 1867; he served 
in the army one and a half years under Gen. Canby, in the "47th 
Illinois Infantry." At present time (1881) is chairman of the 
board of supervisors for the town of Meckling; has also been 
school director for several terms; married Ann Cox, of England; 
have three children — Annie, John and Nellie: a son, Thomas, was 
drowned in the flood in the spring of 1881. 



368 YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 

Edgar J. Anderson — born in England in 1847; came to Amer- 
ica in 1850, and settled with his parents in Hacine, Wisconsin; in 
1881 he came to Yankton; married Miss E. Kirkman. They have 
three children. 

J. B. Ashley born in Indiana, in Warwick county, in 1856; 
came west in 1879, and settled near the Jim River, in Dakota; came 
to Yankton and established a meat market in 1881, the firm name 
being Maxwell and Ashley. 

J. H. Balmat — Avas born in Ohio, January 3d, 181:8; came to 
Kansas City in 1868, in I860 he went to Des Moines, Iowa; in 
1871 he came to Dakota; married Mary McMackin; she died May 
the 8th, 1879; have two children, Jennie M. and Joseph L. 

Gen. William H. Beadle— born at Kockville, Ind.. in 1838; 
graduated at the University of Michigan, a member of the cele- 
brated class of 1861, nearly all of whom immediately enlisted in 
the service of their country for the war of the Rebellion. Subse- 
quently graduated from the Law Department of the University in 
the class of 1867; enlisted as a private in the 31st Ind. volunteer 
infantry, in 1861; promoted First Lieutenant, Sept 3d. 1861; Cap- 
tain November 9th, 1861; Lieutenant Colonel 1st Michigan sharjj- 
shooters, November, 1862, and Colonel, in 1863; transferred to 
Veteran Reserve Corps for disability, caused by wounds and sick- 
ness June 14th. 1864; Brevet Lieutenant Colonel for "gallantry 
in defense of Washington;" Colonel for " gallant and meritorious 
services," and Brigadier-General for '' gallant and meritorious ser- 
vices during the war;*' Avas private secretary to Gov. A. AY. How- 
ard, of Dakota; Surveyor-General of Dakota from 1869 to 1873; 
commissioner to revise and codify the laws of Dakota 1875 and '76; 
member Dakota legislature in 1877; since February, 1870, Terri- 
torial Superintendent of Instriu-tion: married to Ellen S. Chap- 
man, of Albion, Michigan, May 1863, and has three daughters. 
E. A. Odiorne — born in Vermont m 1853; came west in 1877, and 
settled in Yankton; engaged in his present business in 1881. 

Hon. Nehemiah Ordway — Governor of Dakota; a native of War- 
ner, Merrimac Co., N. H., and is 52 years old: Col. Ordway has 
led a very active, business and political life, engaging when quite 
young in mercantile pursuits, and has subsequently been con- 
nected with numerous important business enterprises, serving for 
many years as president of the Kearsarge National and Kearsarge 
Savings Banks, in his native town; in 1855 was elected Sergeant- 
at Arms in the New Hampshire Legislature, and afterwards serv- 
ing a clerk; in 1857, at the close of the legislative session, was ap- 
pointed High Sheriff of his native county, for five years, which po- 
sition he resigned in 1831 to accept the appointment of Gmetal 
Mail Superintendeut for the New Euglaiid States; in 1862 was 
commissioned as Colonel by the (.Tovernor of New Hampshire, and 



YANKTON KTOGRAPHIES. 369 

in December, 1863, was elected Sergeant-at-Arms of the United 
States House of Representatives for the Thirty-eighth Congress, 
receiving six consecutive elections and filling that office for twelve 
years; at the close of the last session of the Forty-Third Congress 
Col. Ordway returned to New Hampshire, and was elected from 
his native town to the lower House of the New Hampshire legis- 
lature, and was re-elected in 1876-'77, and also served during that 
period in the Constitutional convention, and at the head of a tax 
commissson which re-organized the whole tax system of the state; 
was elected under the amended constitution in November 1878, to 
the State Senate for two years; during the fifteen years since Col. 
Ordway became an officer in the National House of Representa- 
tives he was connected with several important business enterprises 
in the District of Columbia; Col. Ordway was appointed Governor 
of Dakota to fill the vacancy occasioned bythe death of Gov. How- 
ard; his nomination was reported unanimously from the Commit- 
tee on Territories, and promptly and unanimously confirmed by 
the United States Senate: he reached Yankton and assumed office 
June 27, 1880; in July and August of that year he made an ex- 
tended tour through the Territory, and aided in sending an elabo- 
rate exhibition car, containing agricultural and mineral products 
of Dakota, to the New England and other state fairs in the East- 
ern and Middle States; his report to the Secretary of the Interior 
made in November, 1880, gave a comprehensive statement of the 
condition of the Territory; his first biennial message, delivered in 
person to the Legislative Assembly, containing thirty-two closely- 
printed pages, gave a complete and concise history of the condi- 
tion and requirements of the Territory; his recommendations in 
regard to the necessity for the erection of an Insane Asylum and 
a Territorial Penitentiary, were favorably acted upon by the Leg- 
islative Assembly. 

Warren Osborn — Deputy-Sherifi", was born in Erie County, 
Ohio, in 1840; he came west in 1855, and settled in Freeborn 
County, Minnesota, in 1861 he enlisted in Company K, Second 
Minnesota; discharged August 1, 1865, he returned to Minnesota 
and engaged in the mercantile business; in 1866 he removed to 
Yankton; in 1879 he was appointed to his present position; mar- 
ried to Mary J. Thomas; they have four children 

H. W. Pike — grocer; was born in Ohio in 1848; in 1867 he 
came west and located in Yankton ; in 1 878 he engaged in the 
grocery business; he married Sophia Flick; they have three chil- 
dren, M. C, Harry L. and an infant. 

r Piles — was born in Ohio in 1848; he came to Council Bluffs 
and lived until 1873; he then removed to Yanktoii and engaged in 
his present business; he married in 1873. Miss Florence A. King. 

Thaddeus Pisek — comb-maker; established business 1879; born 
in Bohemia; came to iVmerica in 1869 and settled in Dakota; mar- 



\0 YANKTON" BIOGRAPHIES. 



ried Rosa Moe, of Bohemia ; have four children — Annie, Mary, 
Johanna, Bowley. 

J. P. Redaelli — born in northern Itally, in April 1825; came 
to America in 1871 ; served as a volunteer in the old country in the 
revolution; married Jane Revell. 

Wm. Reinhardt — city marshal; born in Wisconsin in 1855; in 
1878 he came to Yankton and was engaged as instructor in the 
Yankton gymnasium; he married in 1877; he has one daughter — 
Hattie. 

Owen Bartlett — born in Ireland in 1815, in 1863 he enlisted 
in the 33d Iowa, and served until the close of the war; came to 
Yankton in 1865 and was engaged in the liquor business until 
1870. In 1873 he engaged in his present business. 

John 0. Bates — dealer in gents' furnishing goods; born in 
Milan, Ohio, in 1818; came to Yankton in 1870; in 1873 he en- 
gaged in his present business. 

Dr. Walter Atwood Burleigh- a native of Waterville, Kenne- 
bec county, Maine; from 1861 to 1861 Dr. Burleigh Avas agent of 
the Yankton Indians, and from 1864 to 1868 was delegate to Con- 
gress from Dakota. In the winter of 1877 he represented Yank- 
ton county in the upper branch of the Territorial Legislature, and 
was chosen president of the council; he has been largely engaged 
in the steamboating trade of the upper Missouri, having owned or 
been interested in the steamboats Miner, Carroll, Black Hills and 
Gren. Terry, and has been quite prominently identified with the 
history of the tertory. His residence is still at Yankton, although 
he has extensive business interests at Miles City, Montana. 

John Becker — born in Germany in 1836; came to America 
in 1865. and the following year settled in Yankton; was engaged 
in the mercantile business until 1871; he then engaged in the ho- 
tel business. 

Leo Biermeyer — was born in Germany, in 1836: came to 
America the 17th day of June, 1866; settled in Dakota in 1869; he 
married Julia tSchenk,a native of Germany; they have six children, 
Emily, Mollie, Josephine, Julia, Johnnie and Lizzie. 

Hon. S. A. Boyles — born in Indiana in 1811; was educated at 
the State University in July, 1861, he enlisted in Company E, 
18 Indiana; promoted to First Lieutenant in the spring of 1862; 
resigned in the winter of 1864, and returned to Indiana; admitted 
to the bar in Illinois in 1868, elected state attorney from Clay 
county. 111., in 1872; resigned the position in 1874 and removed to 
Hudson county; in 1876 he came to Yankton; was a member of 
the legislature in 1880. served as chairman judiciary committee.- - 
In 1869 he married Mattie Dillin. 

Joseph Bader — was born in Germany in 1832; in 1852 he 



YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 371 

came to America, and located in Galena, Illinois, and engaged in 
boot and shoe trade; in 1854 he went to Wal)asha, Minnesota, and 
engaged in mercantile business; in 1874 he went to St. Paul, where 
he lived nntil 1875; he then removed to Yankton and opened up 
the Minnesota Hotel. 

George A. Baker — was born in Waukesha, Wisconsin, in 1847; 
came west and settled in Minnesota in 1854; and from there he 
came west with Ben. Hart's army train, and settled in Dakota; 
served in the army 3 years and 11 months under Robert Cook; was 
a prisoner fourteen months in Andersonville and Bell Islar)d; afte 
he came out he received a commission as 2d Lieutenant;; married 
Lottie Stewart, of Leavenworth, Kansas; have two children, George 
T. and Frances L. 

John Bramsen — born in Schleswig, Germany, in 1848; camo 
to America in 1866; settled in Yankton. Dakota Territory, in 1870; 
married Mary Thompson; have four children, Eric, Dick, Freddie 
and Katie.. 

Jacob Branch — was born in Switzerland in 1826; came to 
America in 1852, and settled in St. Louis; married Annie Brezhlel 
(who died in 1876); then married Mary Rizli; have eight children, 
Adolph, Emil, Gust, Robert, Augustus. Julius, Albert and Frank. 
Mr. Branch served in the army in the old country two years. 

Michael Brennan — was born in Ireland the 19th of July, 1842; 
came to America in August, 1865, and settled in Council Bluffs, 
Iowa; came to Dakota in 1877; married Kate Walsh, of Yankton, 
D. T. ; have one child named Ann, aged live months. 

W. M. Bristoll — princip:d of public schools; was born in Con- 
necticut in 1839; he is a graduate of Yale College of 1860; in 1864 
he enlisted as a private in the 13th Wisconsin Light Battery; he 
was promoted 2,1 Lieutenant, and then 1st Lieutenant; and after- 
wards detailed to go to the ordnance department at New Orleans; 
he remained in New Orleans a year and a halt after tlie close of 
the war; he then entered the Th-'ological Seminary of Andover, 
Massachusetts, remaining two years; he soon alter located at Ripon, 
Wisconsin, where he remained five years as Profet^sor of Latin of 
Ripon College; from there he went to Atlanta, Georgia; thence he 
came to Yankton; he married Rose E. Olds, of Minnesota. 

W. H. H. Brown — dentist; born in Pennsylvania in 1840; 
came wetst in 1879, and located in Yankton; he is one of the lead- 
ing dentists of the city; mirried in 1876 to Miss Adella Van Tas- 
sel, a native of Pennsylvania. 

Chas. Broderson — born in Prussia in 1834; served one year in 
Prussian war, and eiiiliteen months iii the Danish army, receiving 
a medal from the King of Denmark for bravery in the wiir of 1864; 
he came to Yankion in 1869, and went into the mercantile busi- 
ness; in 1873 he engaged in hotel busintss. 



372 YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 

H. J. Brisbine — born in Ohio in 1825; came to Yankton and 
opened first farm west of Yankton; has held the office of Judge of 
Probate and other county offices; he has seven children; Milton 
and H. E. reside in Yankton; H. E. holding a responsible position 
in the store of Jacob Max. 

F. Burgi — born in Monroe. Green county, Wisconsin, in 1855; 
November 17, 1875, moved to Dubuque, where he lived one .>ear; 
from thence lie moved to Dakota Territory, and settled in the vi- 
cinity of Yankton; he married Leora J. llyan, of Indiana, after- 
wards of Dubuque; have one child eight months old, named Fred- 
die. 

Gottfried Burgi — was torn in Switzerlanrl, city of Berne, in 
1845; came to America in 1868, and settled in Monroe, Wisconsin; 
lived in Chicago three years; then came to Dakota; he marripd 
Mary Korth; they have five chidlren, Rosa. Henry, Adolph, Ella 
and Louisa. 

John Campbell — of the Yankton iron works; born in Eng- 
lanrl, and in 1869 he came to America, and locatf^d in Sioux City in 
1872; he removed to Yankton in 1864; he married Ann Huun; 
they have five children, Susan, Joseph, John, Martha and Robert. 

Joseph Campbell — foundry and machinist; born in England; 
he cnme to America in company with his brothers; in 1866 he 
married Helen Eastoe; they have five children, Joseph H., Chas A., 
Charlotte A., John and Constance E. 

Felix Cariveau — born in Canada in 1837; came to the United 
States in 1853; settled in St. Paul, Minnesota; came to Dakota in 
1876; served in the army four years under Gen. Thomas; married 
Elizabeth Conle}', a native of Delaware; iiave four children, 
Blanche A., Mary, Lillian and Robert. 

Walter H. Carr — born in England in 1818; came to America 
in 1851; settled in Utica, New York; came west in the spring of 
1867. and settled in Yankton, Dakota Territory; established busi- 
ness in Yankton in 1876; served in the army eighteen months in 
Hancock's 2d corps; manied Lizzie Allen, a native of England; 
have two boys, Allen C. and Lewis E. 

Hon. L. Congleton — probate judge; was born in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, in 1818; until 1855 he was employed by 
the Pt'unsylvania Canal Company; he then removed to Central 
L)wa; he soon after removed to Spirit Lake, Iowa, and was elected 
judge of probate, which position he held until 1861, when he re- 
moved to Yankton; in 1866, was appointed court commissioner; he 
held the office until October 1, 1881; in 1876 he was elected pro- 
V>ate judge of Yankton county, which position he still holds; in 
1839 he married Rose Stewart; they have two daughters. 

D. B. Cooley — was born in New York, Otsego county, in 1841; 
came west in 18j8 and settled in Illinois; came to Dakota in 1867. 



YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 337 



He made the first set of harness ever made in Dakota Territory; he 
made the first, and only, horse colar ever made in the Territory, 
and also built the first brick house in the Territory. He married 
Minnie Chamberlain, of New York; they have two children, Mat- 
tie T. and George H, Mr. Cooley was the youngest Justice of the 
Peace ever elected in New York, which office he held three years. 

W. H. Curtis — born in New York in 1849; came to Yankton 
in 1868, and was engaged in various pursuits until 1881, when he 
became proprietor of the Brajlley House. Married in 1866 to Miss 
C. M. Tarbox, a native ot New York; have four children, Hattie 
B., Charles F., Dora A. and Cora F. 

W. B. Dean — freight and ticket agent for the Chicago, Mil- 
waukee & St. Paul Raih'oad; was born in Illinois; in 1881, he mar- 
ried Minnie Morrill. 

F. K. DeLong — was born in Ohio November 17th. 1854; came 
to Illinois at the age of two years, where he received his schocjling; 
from Illinois he went to Minnesota, and in 1881 came to Dakota 
Territory, where he fettled permanently; married Jennie Macken- 
zie, a native of Canada. 

T. S. Dickson-county superintendent; born in Glengary county, 
Canada, in 1848; he practiced law in Chicago seven years; in 1676 
he came to Yankton; taught school two years, and wassubsequenly 
elected count}' superintendent of Yankton county. 

R. A. Dickson — borii in Glengary county, Canada, in 1852; in 
1876 he went to Black Hills; in 1879 he returned to Yankton, 
and is at present engaged in teaching. 

H. D. Dodge — dentist; born in New York in 1849; was 
brought up in the mercantile business uutil 1868; studied medi- 
cine one and a half years in Syracuse, New York; then studied 
dentistry and located in Dubuque, where he practiced four years; 
and located in Yankton in 1875. 

James Donahue — born in Rochester, New York, in 1842; 
came west in 1869, and settled in Dakota; married Mary A. Walsh, 
of Wisconsin; have two children. Tommy, aged eleven, and Nellie, 
aged six. 

E. C. Dudley — !;alesman for Richey; born in Illinois in 1845; 
came to Yankton in 1869; following year he engaged in hardware 
business, and continued until 1878; ho married Miss Ruch; they 
have four children, Edna, Mabel, Houora and Julia. 

Hon. Newton Edmunds — born in Niagara county. New York, 
May 31, 1819; moved to Washtenaw county, Michigan, in 1832; 
came to Yankton, Dakota, in 1861, as chief clerk in the Surveyor 
General's office; was appointed Governor of Dakota in August, 
1863, which position he held until Septeml)er, 1866, when he en- 
gaged extensively in farming and sheep raising; engaged in the 
banking business in Yankton in 1873, which business is still con- 



374 YANKTON" BIOGRAPHIES. 

tinned, the firm beinfr Edmunds & Wynn, Leighton Wynn, of 
Pennsylvania, being the junior member thereof; married in 1848 
to Margaret E. Ileartt, of Mit-hiiian, and has three sons and one 
daughter: in 1876 he was a nieml)er of the Government (Jommis- 
sion which made the successful treaty wiHi the Sioux Indians, the 
result of which was the opening of the Bhick Hills to white iuimi- 
gration; at the time of his occupnncy of the chief expcntive's office 
the governor of Dakota was ex-oflicio Superintendent of Indian 
Affairs, and consequently in that ca[>acity Gov. Edmunds had 
charge of all the Indians in the Territory. In this position in 
1865, he made peace with all the Sioux, and also between the lat- 
ter and other Indians; the first general p^ace made after the Min- 
nesota massacre of 1862 Probably no other man in the country 
has had greater experience in Indian negotiations than Gov. Ed- 
munds and certainly no other person has managed so many such 
negotiations Avith so great success. The Governor has also held 
numerous minor positions of public trust. 

Miss B. Eickhoff — dress maker; born in Illinois in 1858; in 1872 
went to Nebraska; in 1879 came to Yankton. 

Chas Eiseman — dealer in dry goods and clothing; born in 
Baden, Germany, in 1835; came to America in 1850; in 1S68 he 
came to Yankton, and engaged in drv goods trade in company with 
his brother; he married in 1866 to Miss Lehman. 

L. H. Eliot — born in New York State in 1826; came west in 
1858; first settled in Indiana; in 1864 he moved to Yankton, Da- 
kota Territory; he was three months in the Quarter Master's de- 
partment in Chattanooga as a civilian; has been deputy sherifitwo 
terras; married Mary Tredway, of the state of New York. 

Ephriam M. Epstein — M. D.; born near Russia; was educated 
in Europe and America; he graduated at Andover (Mass.) Theo- 
logical Seminar}', and the college of physicians and surgeons, of 
the state of New York; came to Dakota Teriitory in 1881; prior 
to this he lived in Ohio twelve years; married Helene Greyer, of 
Hanover; have two children, Frieda and Julia; served in the Aus- 
train navy in the year 1866, in the campaign r gainst Italy; was re- 
ceived there on his American diploma (a very unusual thing); he is 
a thorough American, but still has a bond of sympathy for his 
mother country. Russia. 

D. Frank Etter — M. D.; born in Pennsylvania in 1835; began 
the practice of medicnie in 18 'i6; in 1855 he came to Illinois, and 
in 1873, to Yankton; is U. S. examining physician. 

J. W. Evans — was born in Ohio, Wayne county, January 17, 
1832; came west in 1850, and settled in Indiana; was one of the 
earliest settlers that came to Dakota; he came from St. Paul with 
Dakota Land Company, of which he was a member; this was the 
pioneer party; in 1857 he went to Minnesota; the same year he 
moved to Dakota; served in the provost service; his wife died Feb- 



YANKTON" BIOGRAPHIES. 375 

rufiry 19, 1857; her maiden name was Maria McMuUen; have one 
child named Irene E. 

Hon. Andrew J. Fanlk — born November 26, 1814, at Mil ford, 
Pike county, Pennsylvania; moved with his parents to Kittan- 
ning, Armstrong county, Pennsylvania; came to Dakota in Octo- 
ber, 1861, and became trader at the Yankton Indian agency, which 
post he afterwards sold to C. and D. Hedges, of Sioux City, Iowa; 
returning to Kittanning. Pennsylvania, he embarked in the oil 
business in Oil City from the summer of 1S6J-, to 1866; was super- 
intendent of the Latonia Coal Company, of New Yoik, (which 
company he helped to organize) and also helped organize the Pax- 
ton Oil Company, of West Pithole, Pennsylvania; during his op- 
erations in the oil regions he assisted in sinking some eighteen dif- 
ferent oil wells, meeting with but indifferent financial success, 
however; was appointed governor and superintendent of Indian 
affairs for Dakota. August 4, 1866, and continued in this at that 
time arduous position until May, 1869; was editor of the Arm- 
strong (Pa ) Democrat from 1837 to 1843, and has filled various 
public positions in that state; was mayor of Yankton from the 
spring of 1871 to the spring of 1872, and ofBciated at the public 
reception of Senator Hannibal Hamlin, of Maine, upon tue latter's 
visit to Yankton, during his occupancy of the mayoralty; has been 
clerk of the United States District Court for the Second Judicial 
District for the past eight years, and is Unitpd States commission- 
er; is a great grandson of Gen. Daniel Broad head, of Pennsylvan- 
ia, of Revolutionar}^ fame; married November 26, 1835, to Char- 
lotte McMath, of Pennsylvania, and has one son and five daugh- 
ters, among the members of his family being Hon. W. A. Burleigh, 
his son-in-law; was for about eight years president of the Dakota 
Bar Association; took a large delegation cf Brules, Yanktons, 
Yanktonnais and Santees to Washington in 1867, and has had 
great experience in Indian affairs. 

Phil. K. Faulk — born in Pennsylvania in 1840; enlisted in 
1'61 in the 11th Pennsylvania infantry; was discharged three 
months later; he then re-enlisted and served until Jan. 3,1863; 
he re-enlisted again in 54th Pennsylvania state militia; commis- 
sioned 2d lieutenant of company C; mustered out in August, 1863; 
and re-enlisted in the 11th, February 29, 1864; on the 6th day of 
May, at the battle of the Wilderness, he lost his right arm; in 
1865 he came to Yankton, and was employed in surveyor gener- 
al's office as messenger; he remained there until 1871, reading law 
during the time under Gen. Tripp; admitted to the bar in 1869; 
married in 1879, to Rachael A. Poulton, of Baltimore, Md. 

II. H. Fellows — born in Troy, New York, in 1849; came west 
in 1867: settled in Dakota in 1878. 

John M. Fogarty — was born in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1845; 
came to Yankton in 1871; served in the army three years, in the 
5th Maryland regiment; married Martha W. Ridell, of Pa.; has 
been a member of the city council. 



YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 



J. L. Foskott — was born in New York in 1844:; came west in 
1866, and settled in Iowa; in 1S72 became to Dakota Territory; 
was postmaster about ten years, and has served as president of the 
council of the city oi. Yankton; married Lovina Nestle, of New 
York; have five children, Lewis, Willie, John, Minnie and Charley. 

R. J. Gamble— born iu Genesee county, N. Y.; moved with 
his brother, in 1862, from New York to Wisconsin; remained 
there until 1875, when he removed again to Yankton, and engaged 
in law with his brother, under the tirm name of Gamble Bros.; he 
has held oliice of district attorney. 

.J. R. Gamble— born in Genesee county, N. Y.; located in 
Y'^ankton, 1873; was district attorney from January 1, 1875, to Jan- 
uary 1, 1876, and was acting U. S. attorney after the death of 
Col. Pond until his successor was elected; member of Territorial 
Legislaturein 1879 and^USSO; elected to Territo-iial Council in 1881; 
has been a member of' the Territorial republican committee for 
several yeaes; married in 1875 to Miss Fannie Davis; they have 
two children. 

John E. Gillespie— was born in New Orleans, April 1, 1814; 
was raised in St. Louis, and spent seventeen years in Texas; came 
to Dakota in 1>79; married L(4la Cartwright, of Tennessee; they 
have five children, M. Olivia, Emma J., L. Ella, William and Lula; 
Mr. G. was in the United States service in Texas as a ranger. 

Wilson S. Goodwin— was born iu Newport, Mich., in 1843; 
came to Wisconsin in 1854; from Wisconsin he went to Mini^eso- 
ta, where he lived ten years; he then moved to Dakota; served in 
the ariny three years, under Col. Cobb, of the 5th Wisconsin; he 
went through the regular gradations from private to captain. 

Fred Hammond — manager of the Singer Sewing Machme 
Company for Yankton; born in England; came to America in 1870; 
located in Yankton in 1879. 

Hon. Geo. H. Hand— born at Akron, Summit county, 0., Aug. 
9, 183."; moved to Portage, Wis., iu 1850. where he read law with 
his father, Alvah Hand "Esq.; was admitted to the practice ot the 
profession in the spring of 1859; I'rom Portage he went to St. Jos- 
eph, Mo., where he practiced his profession for a short time, mov- 
ing thence to McGregor, Iowa, where he remained in the practice 
about two and a half years; he afterwards enlisted at Chicago as a 
private in the Chicago Board of Trade Battery, and served about 
one year; came to Yankton in Nov., 1865. and in March, 1866, 
was appointed U. S. Attorney for Dakota, which position he held 
until May, 1869, until which latter year he was engaged in a 
law partnership with the Plon. S. L. Spink, lately deceased; in 
186r he formed a law partnership with Hon. G. C. Moody, which 
continued until the spring of 187-2, when Mr. Hand was appointed 
Register of the newly established U. S. Land OtHce for the Yank- 
ton district; this position he occupied until Nov. 1, 1874, when he 



YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES, 377 

was transferred to the Secretaryship of the Territory, which office 
he has ever since held, and in which capacity he has been frequent- 
ly called upon to be Acting Governor of Dakota; has held in ad- 
dition a number of minor offices. 

C, J. B. Harris — law and real estate; born Feb. 2, 1844, at Dan- 
ville, Vt ; moved to Marshalltown, Iowa, in March, 1870, and 
came to Yankton, July 7, of the same year; was superintendent of 
schools for two years in Vermont, and assistant clerk of the Ver- 
mont House of Representatives in 1863; served in the 6th Ver- 
mont regiment from Dec. 30, 1861, throughout the entire war; has 
been U. S. Commissioner at Yankton; is at present a member of 
the Board of Aldermen, and has held other minor official positions; 
was appointed by the Legislative Assembly Commissioner to revise 
the laws of Dakota in 1873; married in 1881 to Mary Noonan, of 
Yankton cuunty. 

Nils 0. Hove — born in Norway in 1835; came to America in 
1870, and settled in Dakota Territory; married Mina Stavlo in 
1862; have six children, John, Ida, Leina, Mary, William and 
Fena. 

Geo. E. Hawley — born in Wise Jiisin in 1850; came to Yank- 
ton in 1872; in 1874 he enq;aged in the hardware business; in 1876 
he married Mrs. D. K. Dudley. 

R. T. Hoyt— born in NeAv York City in 1833; came west in 
1839 with his parents, and settled in Indiana; in 1860 he came to 
Yankton; from there he wpnt to Sioux City, v/here he remained 
until 1865; then again to Yankton, and was in charge of the busi- 
ness house of L. D. Palmer; has been in various businesses until 
1876, when he engaged in his present business; married Mary E. 
Gurnev, of Watertown, Wis.; they have five children, M. T., Annie 
E., R. T., Mary T. and E. C. 

H. F. Jeucks — was born in New York in 1828; he came to 
Missouri Valley Junction in 1873, and engaged in hotel business; 
two years later his hotel was destroyed by fire, and he went to 
Sioux City, where he kept the D^pot Hotel; in 1877 he came here, 
and has since been proprietor of Jencks Hotel. 

Carl Jensen — of the firm of Jensen & Olson, liquor dealers; 
was born in Norway in 1846; he came to America in 1871, and 
settled in Yankton; he was engaged in various pursuits until 1876, 
when he engaged in his present business. 

E. J. Jenkinson — was born in Wisconsin, January 23, 1863; 
went to Minnesota in 1865; came to Dakota Territory in 1873, 
and settled in Yankton permanently. 

L. M. Kee — born in West Virginia in 1836; brought up in 
the mercantile trade; in 1854 he came to Quincy, 111.; he removed 
to Iowa in 1861, and in 1872 to Yankton. 

W. F. Lauman — was born in Pennsylvania, on the 6th of No- 



378 YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 



vember, 1S53; came west in 1872; settled in Yankton in 1873; 
traveled some before he came here; married Lora A. Ardery on the 
30th of Jnne, 1880; have one child, named Silene A. 

Fred. Lerch— was born in Germany in 1838; in 18fi5 he came 
to America, and settled in Philadelphia; from there to Milwaukee; 
thence to Chicago, and in 1873 he came to Yankton; he was mar- 
ried in 1871, and has lour children; Katie, Louisa, Amelia and 
Fred. 

D. M. Lowell— born in Michigan in 1813; practiced law in 
Romeo, Mich., fourteen years. 

Capt. W. S. Lyons— born in Ohio in 1842; educated at Oberlin 
college; employed on the lakes for twenty-two jears; for eleven 
years as master of different brigs; married in 1871 to Miss C. A. 
Barrager, of Canada; they located in Yankton in 1875, and engag- 
ed in the millinery business. 

John Martin— born in Scotland in 1841; he came to America 
in 1850, and settled in Wisconsin; was married in 1865 to Mary L. 
Jeakins; they have two children. 

Jacob Max— born in Russia; came to America in 1873, at the 
head of a colony of one hundred and eight Russian families: forty 
families settled in Nebraska; the balance in Dakota Territory; he 
settled in Yankton in 1873, and engaged in present business; mar- 
ried in 1854 to Barbara Schweyer; they have seven children; Mar- 
tin, John, Emanuel, Emil, Pauline, Amelia and William. 

W. J. Maxwell— born in Wisconsin in 1857; then went to 
Illinois some years after; thence to Dakota Territory, where he ar- 
rived in July, 18u6; established business in 1881. 

D. McDevitt— born in Ireland, in March, 1844; came to 
America in April, 1866; settled in Yankton, D. T., in 1869. 

F. W. Moldenheauel — was born in Germany in 1854; came t® 
America in 1873, and located in Yankton, and engaged in the 
stock business; is at present engaged in the manufacture of tow, 
the only manufacture of the kind in Dakota. 

E. S. Mosher— born in Saratoga county, N. Y., the 3d of June, 
1815; from New York he came to Winnebago county. Wis., 
whern he lived for twenty years; in July, 186), he moved to Da- 
kota; was postmaster at Utica P. 0., for seven, years; he married 
Christina Hicks (she died Jan.. 1877); he has five children; Sim- 
eon, Emeline, Mary, Nettie and J. Eliza. 

J. C. Mormann — was born in Germany in 1847; came to 
America in 1873, and settled in Ne\)raska; in 1874 he moved to 
Yankton, D. T.; he married Annie Haberman; they have one 
child named Clara. 

W. H. Munroe— born in Bristol, R. I.; came' west in 1876, 
settled in Yankton, D. T.; served in the army fourteen months 



YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 379 

under Foster; married Augusta N. Brooks, of Vermont; have one 
snn, Frank, age twenty-one; Mr. Munroe was a commissioned 
ofBcer five months. 

S. J. Morrow — was born in Ohio, May 3, 1843; came west to 
Madison. Wis., in 1854; served in the army four years and three 
months, in the 7th Wisconsin Regiment of Vohinteers, under Gen. 
Callis; Mr. Morrow has exposed himself to great pnrsonal dangers 
and endured all kinds of hardships in order to obtain views of Gi^n. 
Caster's memorable battle field, and the spot where he fell. Has 
views of scenes on Gen. Crooks battle fields; Indian views taken 
during the Sitting Bull campaign; also views of the ice gorge on 
the Missouri in the spring of 1881, which views can be had by ad- 
dressing him at Yankton, Dakota territory. He married Isadore 
Ketchum, of Portage City, Wisconsin; have three children — 
Nellie, Percy and Earl. 

Frederick Neubauer — was born in Odessa, Russia, in 1840; 
settled in D. T. the 6th of September, 1874; married Eustina By- 
erly; have six children — Carrie, Fred, Ferdinand, Amelia, Willie, 
Richard. 

P. J. Nyberg — ^Yankton, D. T.; born in Sweden in 1857; 
came to America in 1^72 and settled in Dakota; married Seina 
Mathia in 1875; have two children — Mamie and Ernest F. 

C. J. Reitzpll — was born in Pennsylvania in 1837; came with 
his parents to Freeport, Illinois; came to Dakota in 1879; married 
Bell Scott, of Erie, Pennsylvania; have two boys, Walter S. and 
Charles F. 

Jacob Richenberger — was born in Germany in 1831; came to 
America in 1881; served in the military in 1872; married Mary 
Haeeder; have three children — one girl and two boy?. 

John A. Richards — miller — born in Wales in 1842; came to 
America in 1864 and located in Ohio; he came to Dakota in 1869; 
married in 1S63 to Jane Gritfith; have one son — Edward. 

Wm. Roantree — miller — was born in Yorkshire, England, in 
1844; came to America with parents in infancy, and settled in New 
York; in 1869 he went to Broadhead, Wis.; thence to Turner 
county, D. T.; married in 1868 to Alice Addington; have one child. 

Peter Royem — Register of deeds and county clerk; born in 
Norway in 1853; came to America in 1870, and settled in Sioux 
Falls, where he remained two years, and removed to Yankton; he 
has been county surveyor two years, and in the fall of 1880 he was 
elected to his present position; he married Mary Anderson, a native 
of Minnesota; have one daughter. 

John Satori — born in Germany in 1846; came to America in 
1866, and settled in Philadelphia; came to Yankton in 1871; mar- 
ried Caroline Wayne; have three children. 

H. A. Schoreggee — was born in Germany in 1826; came 
to America in 1850, and settled in New Orleans; came to Dakota 



380 YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 

in 1860, Jind estiiblished business and has continuod ever since; 
served in the army in the old country, and served as a militiaman 
in this country; married Barbara Heinrich; have seven children — 
Edward, Louisa, Louis, Theodore, Emma, John and Julius. 

John Schnell — was born in Germany the 11th of August, 1845; 
came to America in 1865, and settled in Schuylkill county. Pa.; 
came to Dakota in 1872; married Kate l\a])pler, of Schuylkill, Co., 
Pa.; have two children, Claude and Eugene J. 

Robert Schneider — was born in "Germany in 1844; came to 
America in Januar3% 1866; settled in Boston, Mass.; was in New 
York seven or eight years, and in Nebraska two years; came to 
Dakota in May, J 881; he was foreman in a cigar factory in Joliet; 
married Amelia Melzer, of Germany; have three children — Lillie, 
Richard and Flora. 

A. H. Schroder — born in Grant county. Wis., in 1855; he came 
to Yankton in 1876; two years later he engaged in the hardware 
business. 

Geo. R. Scougal, banker — was born in Rothsay. Scotland, Nov- 
11th, 1852; came to Ara<^rica in 1878, and located in Lanesboro, 
Minn., w^iere he remained until December, 1880, when removed to 
Yankton, and enafaged in tiie banking business in company with 
Mr. McKinney; do a banking business in Sioux Falls, Yankton and 
Dell Rapids; he married Frances W. Taylor; they have thiee 
daughters. 

B. M. Seniple — was born in Belfast. Ireland, in 1836; came to 
America in 1853, and settled in Peoria, Illinois; came to Dakota in 
the spring of lb70. 

E. G. Smith— district attorney, 2d judicial district; born in 
Ohio in 1851; educated at State university and Lennox college; 
admitted to the bar in 1874 in Iowa; came to Yankton in 1875; 
Mr. S. is present reporter of the supreme court. 

H. V. Smith — was born in New York in the town of German, 
Shenango county, in 1854; came west with U. S. troops and was 
stationed at Randall and at Cantonement on the Yellowstone; 
married Miss Sarah Gillman, of Wisconsin, in the winter of 1875; 
they have one girl, named Maud M. 

lion. S. L. Si)ink — This distinguished citizen of Dakota, who 
died September 22, 1881, at his residence in Yankton, aged al)out 
51 years, had resided in Yankton since June. 1865. coining thither 
from Paris, Illinois, where he published the Paris Beacon, a repub- 
lican pafjer, during the war, and was a member of the Illinois Leg- 
islature during 1864; was appointed Secretary of Dakota in 1865; 
was elected delegate to Congress from Dakota on the repul)lican 
ticket in 1868, and resigned the secretaryshii) in March, lc6!>; was 
again a candidate for delegate in 1870. Dr. Burleigh and Hon. M. 
K. Arns loig being his opponents, and was defeated, Armstrong 
holding the oflice after a contest. In 1872 he joined the liberal 



YANKTON BIOGRAPHIES. 381 

movement, and subsequently identified himself with the democ- 
racy, whose nominee for Congress he was in 1876. He continued 
in the practice of his profession at Yankton to the time of his 
death; his practice was extensive and lucrative, and he was pos- 
sessed of unblemished character and commanding ability. 

Peter Steffen — born in Germany in 1811; came to America in 
1866; settled in D. T. in 1872; in 1877 went to the Black Hills; 
has been dealing in stock for several years; had his barn burned 
with 17 horses on October 29th, 1878. 

William Stier— was born in Germany in 1831; came to Da- 
kota in 1863 and settled near Elk Point; came to Yankton in the 
fall of 1861; served in the army two years and a half in the en- 
gineer corps; enlisted in St. Louis; has been street commissioner 
one year in Yankton; married Madeline Urich. a native of France; 
have five children — William P., Louisa K., Victor C, Alice and 
an infant. 

S. J. Thomas — machinist; born in New York in 1850; he 
came to Minnesota in 1862; in 1869 he removed to Yankton; he 
has been twice married; he has one child, W. J. 

William Ward — born in England in 1851; came to America 
in 1868; came to Dakota in March, 1878, and settled in Yankton 
permanently. 

C. Wedell — was born in Krimp, Russia, in 1851; came to 
America in 1871 and settled in Dakota; married Susie Halsworth; 
have three children, MoUie, Susie, Katie. 

H. W. White— was born in the State of New York in 1820; 
then went to Ohio, where he resided 35 years; from there he re- 
moved to Illinois; thence to D. T. He married Rose Ann; have 
three children. Frances, Hiram W. and Blanche; Mr. W. has been 
a member of the cit3^ council for seven years and school director 
most all his life. 

E. T. White — was born in Woodstock, Vermont, in 1817 
when he was 22 j'ears old he was admitted to the bar; in 1870 h 
came west and settled in Yankton and engaged in the practice of 
law. In 1871 he married Mary Bagle}', of Bethel, Vermont. Mr. 
White was clerk of the house of representatives one session; is at 
present clerk of the city of Yankton. 

Thomas J. Williams — born in New York in 1818; came west 
in 186S; has traveled all through the west; served ten months in 
the army under Capt. Hawley; married Elizabeth Inerney; was a 
non-commissioned officer in the army. 

John Wilson — Norwegian descent; was born in King county, 
Illinois, in 1810. Came vvest to Sioux City, Iowa, in 1867; came 
to Yankton, D. T., in 1877; maried Jennie Iverson. 

C. N. Wright — engineer in Excelsior company flouring mills; 
born in Ohio in 1813; came west in 1867 and settled in Iowa. In 



282 VALLEY SPRINGS BIOGRAPHIES. 

1875 he eDo:age(l in bis present occupation. Married in 1876 to 
Miss N. C. Bancroft; have one child, Frank. 

Frank D. Wyman — born in Essex county, New York, Jn'y 
J4th, 1841. Came lo Wisconsin in 1840 anrl settled in Walworth 
county. Came to Dakota in November, 1871, and settled perma- 
nently. Served in the army tour years in the 8th Wisconsin vet- 
eran volunteers and was honorably discharged. Married Mat tie 
Robertson, of Perry county, Alabanui; have three children — Mat- 
tie M., Alfred L., Lute A. 

A. Zemlicka — Dorn in Bohemia in 1840; he came to America 
in 1802 and located in Milwaukee; in 1804 he removed to Bosco- 
bel, Wisconsin; in 180'J he came to Yankton and engaged in mer- 
chandising; married in 1872 to Josephine Beiba: they have lour 
children — Sylvia, Vesta, Frank, Josephine. 

J. E. Ziebach — manager P. 0. bookstore; born at Sergeant's 
Blufi's in 1858; moved to Sioux City; from there with his parents 
he went to Yankton. 

F. M. Ziebach — foreman Press and Dakotaian; born in 1^30 in 
Union county, Pa. Published the Lewisburg (Pa.) Argus. Moved 
to Sn-gi^aiit Blutfs, Iowa, in 1857, where he established the Wes- 
tern Independent. Moved to Sioux City, Iowa, in the spring of 
1858, and started the Sioux City Register. Came to Yankton in 
ISOI and established the Dakotaian. Went to Dubuque, Iowa, in 
1863, and purchased an interest in the Daily Herald of that place. 
Returned to Sioux City m 1800, and in the fall of that year was 
appointed register of the land office at Sioux City. Was for two 
terms mayor of Sioux City, in 1868-9 and 1809-70. Returned to 
Yankto)! in 1870, where he has ever since been engaged in the 
newspaper business. Was for three terms mayor of Yankton, from 
1870 to 1879, and was a member of the Territorial legislature dur- 
ing the session of 1877. Has held the well known position of 
"Squiitter Governor" of Dakota ever since the organization of the 
Territory. Was a member of Yankton's first Board of Education, 
and has held other minor offices. Married t(j Elizabeth Fisher, of 
Danville. Pa., and has four sons and two daughters. 

F. H. Ziebach — clerk in American Express office; born in Sioux 
City in 1801; in '62 he removed to Yankton with his parents; he is 
a second son of F. M. Ziebach. 



VAi.i.i:v si»Ri:\<,Js. 

Dr. C. P. Bissell— born at DeWitt, Iowa Oct. ISoI; here he 
received a common school education; attended the medical school 
at Ann Arbor durit)<r 1871 and 1S73, took second course at Keokuk. 
Iowa, in 1H74 raid '75. graduating in 1875. In spring of 1878 lo- 
cated at Valley Springs where he has since practiced medicine. 
Married June 8, 1881, to Josephine Brongh. 

W. H. Biddell— born in Boone county. 111., Nov. 17, 1848; 
when young moved with his parents to Winnebago county. 111., 



A'ALLEY SPRINGS BIOGRAPHIES. 353 

living: there until 21 years of age; lie then was encraged m furtning 
in Ogle county one year; afterwanis engaged in surveying for 
governnipnt in Kansas and Indian territory; afterwards came to 
Sheldon, Iowa, and in May, 1878 . to Valley Springs; married in 
May. 1878. to Miss Nnllie Stewart; two children have been born to 
them, Gertrude and Earle. 

Daniel B. Cook— born in Otsego county, N. T., 1847; when 
young moved with his parents to Delaware county; here he re- 
mained until about 21 yeavs of age; thence to Ithica, N. Y., for 8 
years. Came to Valley Springs in May, 1876, and has since been 
engaged in farming and wheat buving. Married August 25, 1879, 
to Isabel A. Henton; one child, Mary C. 

Jonathan Dunham — only son of Nathan Dunham; born Sept. 
24, 1821, at Etna, Tompkins county, N. Y. Received Academic 
instructions at the Homer (N. Y..) Academy; began school teach- 
ing at the age of 19 years, after which he engaged in farming; 
married Harriet Wood, sister to the wife of the Hon. Ezra Corn^il, 
founder of Cornell Universily; learned the art of telegraphv at 
Poughkeepsie, N. Y., in 1849; was operator in the Montreal office, 
after which he fillpd telegraphic positions in the following places: 
Erie, Pa., Painsville and Cleveland. Among his assistants was 
Got. a. B. Cornell, one of the telegraphic '"sound" readers; from 
Cleveland he went to New York City; thence to Columbus. Ohio; 
thence back to Cleveland; he su bsequently Avent into the banking 
office of Wright & Co., of Cleveland; thence to Michigan City, 
Indiana; was in the grain business in Bluomington, 111.; thence to 
Sterling, 111. After a brief season spent in farming he was again 
employed as division superintendent by the Western Union Tele- 
graph Co , for Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky. In 1872. alter exten- 
sive travelling through the west, he locnted at Valley Springs. 

Grove Hemsley — born in England January 19, 1846; came to 
America when young, and remained ]n New York State tifteen 
years. In the spring of 18 72 made a claim ot 160 acres in sec. 33, 
town 102, range 47; followed farming ^bur years: sinc^ that time has 
been engaged in saloon and livery business. March 12, 1870, he 
married Eliza R. Brokaw, by whom he has had three children, 
Nellie, May, and Henry T. 

Perry E. Howe- born in Yorkshire, Cataragus county, N. Y., 
Jan. 28.1851; parents moved to Tompkins county, New Yoik in 
1^53; here he grew to manhood's estate, and in 1873 came to Dako- 
ta and engaged in trade at Valley Springs; has since made this his 
home, and fur the most time followed t'arniing. His marriage with 
Frances H. Acker took place June 27, 1874; one child has been 
born to them. Merritt J. 

H. P. Ljunggren — born in Sweden, July 26, 1841; camefco 
America in '68, landing in New York May 15. He remained one 
year in New Jersey and two in Bridgeport, Ct., then Ciime to Sioux 
City, Iowa, and in the spring of '72 came to what is now Valley 



384 volc'a biographies. 

Spiings and entered a homestead on sec. 33. Keeping his family 
here, he worked in Sioux City at the furniture trade; in '78 he 
opened a hardware and furniture store at Valley Springs in compa- 
ny with J. Iv. Judson. Since 1880 has been alone. Married 1866 
to Sigred Olson; eight children living: Charlotte, Augusta, Os- 
car, Charles, Jennie, Hulda, Harry, andErvin. 

Franklin Mellen— born in Boston, Mass., May 18, 1828. Dur- 
ing his younger days he learned the shoemaker's trade, which he 
followed until 18">8, when he ran an auction store where the pres- 
ent post office of Boston stands. In IST-t he came to Valley 
Springs, and has since been engaged in farming and following his 
trade. Has been twice married, his first wite being Henrietta 
Randall, by whom he had three children; second wite was Laura 
Melinda Fletcher, to whom he was married in 1869. 

Charles Olson — born in Sweden in 1849; came to America in 
1868, and settled in Union county, D. T., and afterwards made a 
claim. In 1874 located in Sioux City in grocery trade, where he 
remained until he came to Valley Springs in 1878; he is present 
postmaster. Married in 1867 to Christina Nelson; two children, 
Emma, and Frank Edward is the result of this union. 

Edson Wheeler — born in Shenango county, N. Y., Jan. 27, 
1836. In 1838 his parents moved to Whitewater, Wis. He re- 
mained here until twenty-one j'^earsof age, then for some years was 
south. At his father's death, which occurred April 1st 1859, he re- 
turned homt, and in the fall of '59 was united in marriage to Miss 
H-leii Wait, lie enlisted Jauuarv 4, 1832, in C ). A., 19ch Wis; 
honorably discharged April 19, 1865. He is one of the pioneers of 
Valley Springs, locating on his claim in 1872, where he has since 
resided. Three children have been born to them, Eunice, Nellie 
and Edbert. 

Paul H. Zimmerman — born in New York Cit}', January 16, 
1850; when small, moved witb parents to Chicago, and afterwards 
to St. Paul. In December, 1878, came to Valley Springs and en- 
gaged in mercantile trade; married May, 1878, to Miss B. Henleiu; 
their children are Ervin and Olive. 



Ed. Achenbach — meat market; born in Buffalo county, Wis., 
in the town of Belvidere, in 1859; went to the Black Hills in 1877; 
thence he returned to Lake Benton, Minn. C.ime to Volga in the 
fall of 1879; entered into his present business in the summer of 
1880. Married to Mary Volmer, of Wis. 

John Albertson — farm machinery and grain; born in Pa. in 
1819; left Pa. in 1855 and settled in Wabasha Co., Minn.; thence 
in 1868 to Alma. Wis. Came to Volga in April, 1880. Married 
to Christina G. Keith, and has two daughters. 



VOLGA BIOGRAPHIES. 385 



James W. Ask — general merchandise; born in Norway in 1845; 
came to the United States in 1869; settled at Rnshford, Minn. 
Came to Volga in March, 1880, Married to Dine Sherlie, also of 
Norway. Their son, Henry Marvin Ask, died in the summer of 
1880, aged 8 months. 

0. L. Anderson — harness and saddles; born in Wis., in 1851; 
moved with his parents to Goodhue Co., Minn., where, and at 
Mankato, Minn., he lived until the spring of 1879, when he moved 
to Oakwood, D. T. In September 1879 he moved to Volga and en- 
tered into business as above. Married to Anna Sophia Johnson, of 
Minn., in Sej^t., 1879, and has one son and one daughter. 

P. Balgord — wagon and carriage fact'ry ; born in Norway in 1851; 
came to the United States in 1869, and located at New Lisbon, Wis. 
Came to Volga in Feb.^ 1880, and entered into busiiness as above. 
Married to Sarah Nelson, of Wis., and has one son and one daugh- 
ter. 

Thomas Bandy — farmer; born in Indiana in 1827, moved with 
his parents to Iowa; left Iowa in 1853 and settled in Minn. Came 
to Brookings Co., in the fall of 1878, and settled one mile north of 
Volga, where !ie built a house in that year, and where ho has since 
resided. Married to Elizabeth D. Ware, a native of Ohio, and has 
had ten children, one son deceased, and six sons and three daugh- 
ters living. 

Jacob Brown — civil engineer and postmaster of Volga; born 
in Columbiana Co., 0., in 1821;_ moved to Fulton. 111., in 1862; 
thence to Volga in 1879. Appointed p^tsfcma^ter in Oot., 1830. 
Married to Sarah Baggs, of Wheeling, W. Va., and has one son 
and two daughters. 

P. Philip Cady — attorney; bora in 1854 at Lamont, Mich. 
Left Mich., April 9, 1880, and cam? to Volga, where he entered in- 
to the practice of the law and the business of real estate, loan and 
collections. 

Joseph Daum — boots and shoes; born in Germany in 1848; 
came to the United States in 1857, and located in Wis. Came to 
Volga Aug 10, 1880, and entered into business as above. Married 
to Catherina Schilling, and has two sons and two daughters. 

C. H. Drinker — druggist; born in 1851 at Clifton. Luzerne Co., 
Pa.; left Pa. in 1870 and settled at Kilbourn City, Wis. Came to 
Volga, April 3, 1880, and entered into the drug business. 

W. H. DeGraff— photographer; born July 4, 1852, at Canada- 
guia, N. Y.; thence to Minneapolis. Minn., in 1871; thence to Man- 
kato, Minn. Came to Volga in', April, 1880. Married to Mary 
Miller, of LaSueur/lMinn., Jan. 6, 1881, 

E. Engleson — firm of Mitchell & Engleson, real estate, loan 
and collections; born in Norway in 1857; came to the United 
States when but four years of age, and settled with his parents at 



3^6 VOLGA BIOGRAPHIES. 

LaCrosse, Wis. Came to Dakota in 187'2, and located in Brook- 
ings Co. Has lived in Volga from the beginning of its settlement. 

I. I"*. FaiTJngton — propr. Farrington House; born in Cum- 
berland count}', Me,, in 1850; moved in July, 1869, to Chat field, 
Minn.; thence in the spring of 1873 to Marshall, Minn. ; thence to 
Tracy, Minn., in Sept. 1878. Came to Volga in Sept. 1879, and 
moved his family here in February, ISSO; engaged in the hotel 
business in Volga, in March. 1880. Married to Carrie M. Ziiniwin- 
kle, ol 111., Oct. 9, 1873, and has one son and three daughters. 

P. C. Ford — propr. Farmers' Home; born in 111., in 1845; 
moved to Allamakee county, Iowa. Entered U. S. Army in 1862, 
and served on Western frontiers. Was discharged from service in 
1865, and in November of that year entered government employ 
as assistant farmer at Fort Thompson, where he remained ten and 
one-half 3'ears. Moved to Brookings county in spring of 1878 and 
took a homestead six miles north of Volga. Came to Volga April 
29, 1881, and entered into the hotel lausiness. Married Nancy 
Faribault, deceased, by whom he has two children. His present 
wife Avas Elizabeth Larson; they have five children. 

G. T. Groodridge — with T. H. Maguire & Co., hardware and 
implement dealers; born in 1852 in Chicago, 111.; came to Volga in 
January, 1880; married to Emma Maguire, of 111., and has two 
daughters. 

W. G. Harkins — firm of Harkins & Rowley, general merchan- 
dise; born in Racine, Wis., in 1857; moved with parents to Wino- 
na, Minn.; thence to Rochester, Minn. . Came to V^'olga in March, 

1880. 

E. M. Hunt — firm of Stewart & Hunt, livery and dray; born 
in New York in 1851; moved to Sheboygan county, Wis. Came 
to Dakota in 1873, and to Volga in the spring of 1880. 

E. S. Johnson — bakery and confectionery; born in Norway, in 
1854; came to the United States, in 1866, and settled in Wisconsin, 
thence to Iowa; thence to Canton, D. T. ; settled two miles east of 
Volga, in 1877, and came to Volga, in April, 1880. Married to 
Julia Aslaeson, of Minn., and has one daughter. 

Lewis Johnson — with E. Snider; born in Norway, in 1852; 
came to the United States, in 1871, and settled in Minnesota. In 
1878 he came the present townsite of Volga, where he took up 
a homestead, being one of the original four who relinquished each 
forty acres, to the railroad compan}', on which the town was 
platted. 

L. Johnson — representing Yon man Bros. & Hodgins, lumber,- 
born in Dodge county., Minn., in 1861; moved with his parents to 
Rochester, Minn.; came to Volga in February, 1880. 

T. R. Jevne — proprietor Skandinavisk House; born in Nor- 
way, in 1852; came to the United States, in 1872, and settled at Al- 



VOLGA BIOGRAPHIES. 3S7 



bert Lea, Minn.; thence to Rock county, Minn., in 1877; thence to 
Brookings county, in 1878; came to Volga in August, 1881. Mar- 
ried to Mary Evenson, of N orway, and has two sons and two 
daughters. 

Charles Keith — dealer in grain, flour and feed, wood and coal; 
born in Scotland, in ISil ; came tothe United States, in 1854, and 
located in Walworth county, Wis.; moved thence to Milwaukee, 
and afterwards for a period of three years was a steamboat officer 
on the Ohio and Mississippi rivers. Subsequently engaged in farm- 
ing in Trempeleau county. Wis., and in the grain business at 
Dodge in that county; came to Volga, in September, 1879, Mar- 
ried to Jane Muir, of Buffalo county. Wis., and has two sons and 
two daughters; is business manager at Volga for G. W. Van 
Dusen & Co., of Rochester, Minn. 

H. Kirby — general merchandise; born in St. Joseph county, 
Mich, in 1849; moved to Wisconsin, in 1866, where he engaged in 
steamboating; came to Dakota, in March, 1879, and settled three 
miles north of Volga; entered the general merchandise business in 
Volga in September, 1879, moving the building which he now oc- 
cupies from Kershaw to Volga. Married to Mrs. Serena Bohlke, 
of New Denmark; they have four sons and two daughters. 

Nils Kjos — hardware; born in Norway, in 1849; came to Bos- 
ton, Mass., in 1869; thence to Chicago, III., whence after a year, 
he returned to Boston; moved from Boston to Winona, Minn.; 
thence to Lauesboro, Minn.; thence to West Salem, Wis.; thence 
to New Denmark P. 0., Brookings county, D. T.; came to Volga, 
September 5, 1879, before the existence of the town, and entered 
the hardware business immediately. 

Otto 0. Ki-ogstad — with A. C. Porter, druggist and jeweler; 
born in Norway, in 1859; came to the United States, in 1870, and 
settled in Fillmore county, Minn.; came to Volga in April, 1880. 

T. H. Maguire — hardware and agricultural implements; born 
in Waukegan, Ills., in 1849; moved to Milwaukee, Wis., in 1869, 
and traveled through the latter state until February, 1880, when 
he came to Volga and entered business as above. Is in business 
also at Lake Preston, which latter town he located. Married to 
Ella M. Clayson, of New York, and has two daughters. 

A. S. Mitchell — Firm of Mitchell & Engleson, real estate, loan 
and collection; born in Oxford county, Maine, in 1840; moved to 
Rockford, Ills., in 1866; thence to Mineral Point, Wis., where he 
lived nearly five years; from Mineral Point he moved to La Crosse; 
thence to Leon, Wis.; came to Oakwood, D. T., where he at present 
resides, in May, 1877; he entered into business as above in Volga, in 
January, 1880. Married to Emma C. Dalton, of Mineral Point, 
Wisconsin. 

W. M. Nichols—flour and feed, wood and coal; born in To- 
ronto, Canada, in 1851; moved with his parents to Fon du Lac, 



888 VOLGA BIOGRAPHIES. 



Wis , when five years of age; settled at Eldora, Iowa, in 1871; 
came to Volga in September, 1879. Married to Clara Gibbs, of 
Eldora, Iowa, and has one son and two daughters. 

Byron E. Pay^deputv U. S. marshal; born in Watertown, 
N. Y., in 1841; moved to Minnesota, in 1854; visited Dakota in 
1864. and settled permanently in Brookings county,.in 1872. Mar- 
ried Hattie M. Youngman, ot Minn., and has two sons; resides at 
Oak wood. 

A. C. Porter — druggist and jeweler; born in North Troy, Vt., 
in 1852; moved to La Crosse, Wis., in 1S69; thence to Jefferson, 
Texas; returned to Hudson, Wis.; thence back to Vermont; came 
to Volga, December 28, 1879, where he entered into-business, start- 
ing the second drug store in Brookings county, and the first in 
Volga. Married to Julia C. Page, of Troy, Vt., and has one sou. 

L. V. Rich—proprietor Rich House; born in Vermont, in 
1819; moved to Portage City, AVis., in 1841, thence to Minnesota, 
in 1850; lived at Plaiuview, Minn., till 1879, when he moved to 
Volga, in October of that year. Married twice; first to Celestia 
Farr, of Vermont, Avho died in that state, and by whom he has one 
daughter. His present wife was Louisa Felton, also of Vermont, 
by which latter marriage he has three daughters living. 

C. M. Rowley — firm of Harkins & Rowley, general merchan- 
dise; born in 1857, in Knox county, Ohio; moved with his parents 
to Wis., where he lived six years, thence to Rochester, Minn.; 
came to Volga in March, 1880. 

Miss K. C. Ryan — milliner and dressmaker; came to Volga, 
March 1, 1880, from Adams county, Wis., and entered into busi- 
ness as above. 

Edward Seielstad — firm of Seielstad & Hansen, general mer- 
chandise; born in Norway, in 1855; came to the United States, in 
1870, and located in Wisconsin; came to Volga in September, 1801. 

E. Snider — saloon; born in Columbia county, Wis., in 1851; 
came to Volga in May, 1880. 

C. J. Spencer — firm of Wm. Fisher & Co., general merchan- 
dise; born in Bradford county, Penn., in 1850; moved to Burling- 
ton, Iowa, in 1871; thence to Chippewa county, Wis. ; thence to 
Mitchell county, Iowa; from Mitchell he raoved to St. Paul, Minn.; 
thence to Buffalo county. Wis.; came to Volga, and entered into 
business as above, in September 10, 1880. Married to Ida Grout, of 
Mitchell county, Iowa, and has one son. 

W. E. Tubbs — contractor, builder and wagon maker; born in 
Pensylvania, in 1850: moved to Iowa, in 1854; thence to western 
Minnesota; came to Volga, in January, 1880. Married to Chris- 
tina Martin, of Austin, Minn. 

F. S. Idell—mason; born in 1842 at Port Washington, Wis.; 
moved to Sioux Falls, D. T.,iu 1876; thence to Watertown, D. T. 
in 1878; thence to Lake Benton. Came to Volga in February, 1880. 



FLAJfDREAU BIOGBAPHIES. 389 

John H. Ike — contractor and builder; born in Norway in 1854; 
came to United States in 1S65, and settled in Minn. Came to 
Brookings county in May, 1879, and to Volga Nov. 15, 1879 : 
Married Sept. 24, 1881, to Caroline Sophia Anderson. 

H. L. Wadsworth — depot agent: born in Berlin Wisconsin, 
in 1849; came to Volga May 4, 1880. 

C. L. Warner — representing Laird, Norton & Co., Inmber; 
born at Portville, New York, in 1859; came to Volga in May, 1881. 



Ft.A.^'»ISEAl 



H. A. Bates — barber and hairdresser; born in Otsego county, 
N. Y..in 1856; moved to Grant county, Wisconsin, in 1864; thence 
to Dakota, in September, 1880. 

J. A. Blilie — Lutheran clergy; born in Norway, in 1852, came to 
America in 1867 and located in Wij\neshiek county, L)wa. He at- 
tended the Norwegian Luth. College at Decorali and a St. Louis 
Theological Seminary; in September, 1880, he came to this town. 
He was married to Lena Faegre. 

James Bray — druggist; born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, in 1855, 
and is a graduate of the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy; engaged 
in the drug business in Flandreau in 1878. 

R. L. Brown — hardware; born in Lafayette count}', Wisconsin, 
in 1851; came to Flandreau, in 1878, and immediately engaged in 
his present business. 

A. D. Bubb — attorney; born in Pennsylvania, in 1853; came to 
Flandreau in December, 1880. 

W. W. Caywood — carpenter; born in Kentucky, in 1824, and 
located at Danville, Indiana, in 1845; came west to Delaware county, 
Iowa, in 1848; came to Dakota, in March, 1880. Married to Sarah 
McVey, a native of Missouri; have six children, four sons and two 
daughters. 

W. A. Clark — harness maker; born in New Hampshir-e, in 1840; 
came to Wisconsin in 1868; in 1878 he came to Flandreau; he mar- 
ried Sarah Coburn, a native of the same state. 

Philip Clark — sheriff of Moody county; born in Scotland, in 
1845; when he was twelve years old his parents emigrated to 
America and settled in Brooklyn N. Y.; in 1S65 he came west, and 
has lived in different places, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska and St. 
Charles, Minn.; in 1877 he came to this county; in the fall of 1880 
he was elected to office of sheriff; he married Sophrona Harding, a 
native of Indiana. 

J. C. Dahl — blacksmith and wagon maker; born in Denmark, 
in 1852; came to America in 1877. and settled in Chicago; moved 
to Olmstead county, Minn., in 187S; the following year he moved 
to Flandreau. Married to Mary Holden, of Norway; have one son. 

F. C. Dickson — merchant; born in Penusjdvania, in 1855; 



390 FLANDREAU BIOGRAPHIES. 



came west in 1866, and settled in Independence, Iowa; he came 
here in 1878. 

William Dunn — blacksmith; born in Ottawa, Canada, in 1846; 
moved to Eau Claire, Wis., in 1867; came to Flandreau in 1878, 
Married to Mary A. Barlow; have two sons. 

J. A. Elliott — Employe in Coleman's lumber yard; born in 
Winona county Minn., in 1856; came to Flandreau in 1878, and 
has been in Mr. "Coleman's employ for the past year and a half. 

George H. Few — hardware; born in Orleans county, N. Y., in 
1855; moved to Independence, Iowa, in 1867, where he resided 
until 1878, when he tame to Flandreau. Married to Ella Marinus, 
of Independence, Iowa. 

A. S. Frink — restauranteur; born in Chautauqua county, N. Y., 
in 1837; located in Winona county, Minn., in 1854; thence to Dell 
Rapids in 1877; came to Flandreau in September, 1881. Married 
Jane Wood, of Indiana; have two children. 

Thomas Freeman — merchant tailor; born in England, in 1829, 
and came to America in 1857; located in New York, thence to 
Long Island, tnence to Chatfield, Fillmore county, Minn.; moved 
to Flandreau in 1878. Married to Sarah Kennady, also of England; 
have ten children, five sons and five daughters. 

C. F. Hall — grocer; born in Vermont, in 1854; came west in 
1879, and located in Flandreau. Married Levina R. Clark, a na- 
tive of Vermont; have a son. 

H. A. Haugan— merchant; born in Norway in 1853; came to 
America in IS 73; settled in Winnesheik county, Iowa; came to 
Flandreau September 30, 1879, and engaged in the business of gen- 
eral merchandise. 

T. J. Haxton — liveryman; born in Indiana, in 1840; moved to 
Illinois in 1865, thence to Madison county^ Iowa, thence to Flan- 
dreau. Married to Millie A. Hayden. and has two sons and three 
daughters. 

S. A. Heath — harness maker; born in Loraine county, Ohio, in 
1845; came west in 1872, and settled in Monroe county, Wis.; 
thence to Sioux Falls, and in April, 1880, came to Flandreau. 
Married Mattie Blaker, a native of Illinois; they have two children, 
a son and daughter. 

A. Higgs — shoe store; born in Berlin, Wis., in 1855; came to 
Flandreau in 1881. He married Med. Hill, a native of Pennsylvania. 

Fred. C. Holden — blacksmith; born in Norway, in 1852; came 
to America in 1870; first settled in Wisconsin, thence to Minne- 
sota, and came to Dakota in the spring of 1880. 

E. Huntington — real estate dealer; born in Norwich, Conn., in 
1845; came west in 1856, and settled in Osage, Iowa; in 1878 he 
came here. Married Miss A. Button, a native of New York; they 
have four children, three daughters and one son. 

W. R. Hyde — agent for Cargill & Bro., grain dealers; born in 



FLANDREAU BIOGRAPHIES. 391 

Fond du Lac, Wis., in 1856; removed to Albert Lea.jMinn.,in 1868, 
thence to Fairmont, and in December, 1880, came to Flandrean. 
Married Lena Pfefer, of Wisconsin, and has one danghter, Emma. 

Henry J. Jacobshagen — manager of Fhiudreau Flouring Mill; 
born in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1851. When he was two years of 
age his parents removed to Maukato, Minn.; he came to Flan- 
drean, in July, 1880. 

R. J. Simenson — attorney at law; born in Norway, in 1848; 
removed with his parents to America in 1851, and settled in Win- 
nesheik county, Iowa; came to Dakota in 1871 ; first located in 
Yankton, where he was admitted to the practice of law; removed 
toFlandreau in June, 1880. Married to Julia Knudson, also of Nor- 
way; have two children. 

T. J. Shields — agricultural implements; born in McHenry 
county, Illinois, in 1856; came to Flandrean in 1877; from Flan- 
drean he moved to Tracy, Minn.; returned with his family and re- 
located in Flandrean in 1880. Married to Alice Chatfield, also of 
Illinois. 

C. E. Thayer—cashier 0. D. Brown & Cc's bank, established 
in 1879; born in Sandusky Ohio, in 1854; came west in infancy 
with his parents and settled in Minneapolis, where he lived until 
May, 1881, when he removed to this point — Flandrean. 

D. S. White — druggist; born in Vermont, in 1837; moved to 
Jefferson county. Wis., in 1874, thence to Flandrean in Aug., 1879. 
Married to Maria Howe, of Ludlow, Vermont, and has one son. 

Benjamin WyckoflT — assistant county treasurer; born in New 
York city, in 1849; moved to Minneapolis, Minn., in 1876, and was 
employed as assistant superintendent of the Minneapolis Harvester 
Works. In 1878, removed to Flandrean; has a large farm ten 
miles northwest of town, which is under his personal management. 
Married to Helen I. Arey, of Quincy, Mass.; have two children, a 
son and daughter. 

William Jones — general merchandise; born in Canada in 1849; 
came to Richland Co., Wis., in 1859; thence to Moody Co., Dako- 
ta, in 1869, and engaged in hunting and trapping until 1874, when 
he engaged in the mercantile business in Flandrean. Mr. Jone» 
has livfrd longer continuously in Moody Co., than any other resi^ 
dent thereof. Married to Miss One Wait. 

W^. A. Lindsay — firm of Bates & Lindsay Bros, proprs. Flandrean 
Flouring Mill; born in Canada West in 1823; located at St. 
Charles, III., in 1840; thence to Sycamore, III. Came to Flandrean 
August 23, 1881, Married to B. J. Collins, of New York; have 
two daughters, 

C. C. Martin — hardware; born in Jefferson Co., N. Y., in 
1839; moved to Austin, Minn., in 1865; thence to Flandreau, 
where he engaged in the hardware business. Married to Celestine 
Lowe, and has one son and two daughters. 



392 FLANDREAU BIOGRAPHIES. 

J. H. McMillan — grain dealer; born in Franklin Co., N. Y., in 
1S37; came to Houstin Co., Minn., in 1857; removed to Flandreau 
in 1879. Married to J. A. Prentiss, of Illinois, and lias one son 
and two daughters. 

Michael McDonnall — butcher; born in Canada in 1843; located 
in Fillmore Co., Minn., in 1855; came to Flandreau in April, 1880. 

Frank Millard — livery, feed and sale stable; born in Steuben 
Co., N. Y., in 1853; settled in Winona Co.. Minn., 1865; came to 
Flandreau in 1873. Married to Lillie J. Parrott, of Illinois; have 
one child. 

A. S. Moulton — furniture and groceries; born in Caledonia 
Co., Vt..; came west in September, 1878, and settled in Flandreau, 
immediately engaging in his present business. Married Susan 
Clark, a native of New Hampshire; they have one daughter. 

S. N. Neperud — merchant; born in Vernon Co., Wis., in 1856; 
came to Flandreau in 1877; engaged in farming until 1880, when 
in company with his brother he euiraged in the business of general 
merchandise. Married MoUie E. Martinson, a native of the same 
county in Wis. 

Hans Olson — register of deeds and county clerk; born in Clay- 
ton Co., Iowa, in 1852; came to D. T., in 1876 and settled in this 
county; elected to present office in 1879. 

M. D. L. Pettigrew — proprietor of Flandreau House; born in 
Ludlow, Windsor Co., Vt., in 1834; came west in 1855 and settled 
in Dane Co., Wis.; lie removed from there to Kenosha; thence to 
Fillmore Co., Minn. In June 1872 he came to D. T. and located in 
this localit}-; in 1876 he built the Flandreau House, which he has 
kept since. He has enlarged same within the last year, and now 
has a large, commodious house. 

F. W. Pettigrew — real estate and loan agency; born in Ver- 
mont in 1850; came west in 1854, and located with his parents at 
Madison, Wis.; thence they removed to Evansville. Came to Da- 
kota in lc71, and settled on the present town site of Flandreau, 
which location he took up as a homestead. Married to Jennie S. 
Pettigrew, and has one daughter. Is Clerk of the District court, 
has been county surveyor, postmaster, president of the village 
board, and is closely identified with the progress of the community. 

George Rice — attorney at law and loan agent; born in Butler 
Co., Iowa in 1855; came here in 1879 and engaged in practicing 
law; in fall of 1880 he was elected to the office of county treasurer 
of Moody Co. 

J. A. Scarnan, M. D. — born in Canada in 1851; came to De- 
troit, Mich.', in 1872; is a graduate of the Detroit Medical College; 
came to Flandreau in April, 1878. Married D. L. Kendall, of Minn. 
Dr. Seaman is the government i)hysician for the Indians of this 
localily, and has otherwise an extensive and lucrative practice. 



EDWIN E, SAG 



l>al£ot:i Real Ki^tate Itoii^Ist. Sol«l aii<l 
llxc'Iiaiigecl. I'axi's I»ai«l lor l^oii-ISesi- 
dc'iits. Sioiix S'\il]»«< 1>. 1". 



DELL RAPIDS, D. T. 


ALBIOX THORNE, 

ATTORNEY AT LAW 

KEAL ESTATE 

Loan and Collection Agency. 

DELiL. RAPII>S. 


H. L. WHIT3IAN, 

Dealer in 

General Merchandise 

GEO. WHITMAN, Agent. 
DELL RAPIDS. 


WRIGHT & HALL, 

ATTORNEYS AT LAW 

DELL, RAPIDS. 


C. J. JOHNSON, 

Dealer in 

AND FAKM IMPLEMENTS, 
DBLL RAPIDS. 


GUST. A. ULINE, 

Dealer in 

General Merchandise 

DELL. IIAPIWS. 


J. F. DEMEREE, 

DELL RAPIDS. 


J. S. & J. C. LEE, 

Dealers in Clothing, 

Hats, Caps, Boots and Shoes, 

DELL KAPIDS, 


R. A. KNIGHT, 

Jeweler & Watclimaker 

DELL RAPIDS. 


HENRY COBB, 

Druggist & Stationer 

Prescriptii;ns Carefully Compounded. 
DELL RAPIDS. 


W. B. PARKER, 

Pliysiciau and Surgeon 

DELL RAPIDS. 


L. N. LOOMIS. ,IOS, M. A'ISBET. 

LOOMIS & NISBET, 

jVIanufacturers of and dealers In Harness, 
Saddles, Whips, and Horse Furnish- 
ings, Trunks. Valises, Etc. 
DELL RAPIDS. 


R W. HARPER, 

RE ST AURANT 

DELL RVPIDS. 


DR. J. E. XUTTIXG, 

DENTIST 


E. A. RICHARDSON, 
CONFE CTIONER. 

DELL RAPIDS. 


L. C. HARRINGTON & SON, 

ALSO MANUFACTUIIEKS OF WACONS. 
DELL RAPIDS. 



EDWIN E. SAGE, 



I>akol:i Keal i:»»latc ICohkIiI. fSoltl and 
ICx4*liau;;:e<l. Xax4>!>> I'iiitl Ibi* ]\ou- 
Ite**i<l4'it<»>. Ni4>iiv I'^iillN, l>iikota. 



SPRINGFIELD, D, T. i 

1 


H. A. JA3IES, 

DEALKIt IN 

HARDWARE 

STOVES AND TINWARE, 
SPR1^GFIEL.1>, - DAKOTA. 


Mrs. James & Cochrane, 

DKAI-ERS IN 

Hi iiifiT^blies'Fiiriiisiiiiff Goods 

DRESS and CLOAK MAKING. 
SPRlNGFIEL,Di - DAKOTA 


J. H. STEPHENS, 

FURNITURE 

OF EVERY I>ESCR PTION. 

-<^MATTRES;ES. MIRRORS and UPHOLSTERED GOODS.S,-^ 
$priii<;iield, Dal ota. 


Boiiesteel & Turner, 

DEALEKS IN 

General Merchandise 

Dry Goods, Clothirin-, Roots, Shoes and 
Drug's. Also Asrriculturiil Imp. 
{^""Branch Store, Niobrarn. 

SFRI.\GFIEL.D, DAKOTA. 


E. W. 3IONFORE, 

DEALER IX 

GROCERIES and PROVISIONS 

SPRI1VGFIEL.D, - DAKOTA. 


Established 1873. 
Geo. W. Sterling'. .Ino. C. Klemmo. 

STERLING & KLEM3IE, 
COLLECTION, IHSURAHCE, 

Real Estate &^ Money Loaniiii^ Aoency 
SPRINGFIELD, DAKOTA. 


ROBT. P. COVVGILL, 

Meat Market ! 

A>D PROVISION STORE. 

SPRINGFIELD, - DAKOTA TERR. 


L. Schwerdlmann, 

Dealer in 

General Merchandise 

Bi*aii«'li Score at TjiKlall. 

SPRINGFIELD, - - DAKOTA. 


CHAS. CURLIN, 

Pliysiciaii and Surgeon 

AND DRIGGIST. 

SPRINGFIELD - - DAKOTA. 


JOHN FRY, 

nE,\LF.R l.N 

StovesTinware 

SPRINGFIELD, MAKOTA. 


J. H. STEPHENS, 

DEALER IN ALL KINDS OF 

LlheiimiHliMES 

AND FURNITURE. 

SPRINGFIELD, - - DAKOTA. 


A. F. 3ICAULEY, 

GITY BILLIARD HALL:^^ 

SPRINGFIELD, DAK. 


Mrs. 3Iary E. Love, 

I'ROl'RIETOR OF 

SPRNGFELD HOUSE! 


JAS. H. RASKIN, 

PROPRIETOR OF 

Baskin House! 


SPRINCiFIELD, - DAKOTA. 


SPRINGE EL.D, DAK. 



Edwin E.Sage 



Dakota Real Estate Bought, Sold and 
Exchanged. Taxes Paid for Nou-Resi- 
deuts. Sioux Falls, 1). T. 



SIOUX FALLS, D. T. 



F. W. TAYLOK, 

Jlmdmwe, Siovei, d inmaM 

AND CUTLERY, 

Wholesale and retail agent for Buffalo 
Scale Co., and Urieutal Powder Mills. 

Howard & Taylor's Block, Sioux Falls. 



E. LARSOX, 

Dealer in 

J{ii'Fdtuaie,Sicpei'and Sinmtim 

Wliolesale and Retail. 
Phillips Avenue, Sioux Falls. 



O. S. SWEXSON, 

Dealer in 



Phillips Avenue, 
SIOUX F A L, Li S. 



LEAVITT & VINCENT, 

Pioneer Ma i 'di ra t 'e, 

Wholesale and Retail. 
Phillips Avenue, Sioux Falls. 



W. H. CORSON & BRO. 
CATARACT HOUSE, 



K. TH03IPS0N, 

Proprietor of 

Thompson House 

And Dealer in Aorricultural Implements. 
Phillips Avenue, Sioux Falls. 



Proprietor 

MERCHAJVTS HOUSE, 

Near Milwaukee Depot, 
Sioux I'^alls*. 



JAMES H. HUTCHINS, 

Proprietor of 

MADISON m DELL RAPIDS STAGE LIKE 

Office: SIOUX FALLS. 



F. W. FARWELL, 

General Music Dealer 

Agent for all Fii st-Class Musical 

Instruments 

One door south of Citizens' Bank. 

SIOl X FAL,L,S. 



PHILO HALL, 

CITY BAKERY 

P]iillip9» Ave, iiiiioiix FalLx. 



JACOB BEECHER, 

MERCHANT TAILOR 

Cloths and Suiting- Always on Hand. 
Sioux Falli^. 



A. T. HAYES, 

Bandy d'actoj'y and SakeUj 

PHILLIPS AVE., SIOUX FALLS. 



DAHL & SCOYEN, 

MERCHANT TAILORS 

A variety of Cloths and Suiting's 
Always on hand. 

Pliillips Aveuue, !>>loux I<^alZs. 



L. T. DUNNING, 

Wholesale and Retail 

Druggist and Stationer 

Paints, Oils, Wall Piper, and Window Shades 
Phillips Ave , Sioux Falls. 



JOHN KREBS, 

Proprietor of 

Siotix Falls House, 

{■iioHX I^alls. 



ALBERT H. STTIES, 

Graduate of Philadelphia College of Phar- 
niacv, 

APOTHECARY AND CHEMIST 

Old Land Office Building, Sioux Falls. 



f^ I ■ l^H ^ Dakota IConI ]^«tate Hoiishi 

HnXA/in H ^^OrC^ Excliauaied. TaxeKPaiaio 
■■■VI VV II I liiMB X^C.4^W dentil. ^SJollx Falls, 1>. T. 



Dakota Itonl ]^«tate Houslit, Sold and 

or Noii-IleMi- 



SIOUX FALLS, D. T. 



> . L. ANDERSON, 

Mamifrtcturer of 

ifgM aaS Mamf ltaffttea§ 

Also, Patentee of Anderson's Patent Trace 

Buckle, Ifo. 2as,018, Pat. 23d. 1881. 

SIOUX FAI.I.S. 



('. V. BOOTH, 

ARCHITECT I BUILDER 

Also INDIiUTVIiEK. 

SIOUX FALLS. 



Dealer in 

Harness, Saddles, Whips 

Sec, &c. 
PliilllpsATe. SlOrX FALLS. 



R, H. BOOTH, 

ARCHITECT^ RUI LEER 

EMERSOX BLOCK. 
!<ioiix I'alls. 



EDAVIN SHARPE & CO. 

Dealers in 

PINE LUMBER, DOORS, SASH 

Aiid Biiildlii"; ITIaterlal. 

Pliillips Ave. SIOL^X FALLS. 



THOS. C. MARSON, 

Contractor and Bnilder 

ALL KINDS OF JOBBING 
Rear 1st Nat. Bank. SIOUX FALLS. 



A. A, GROUT, 
LUMBER DEALER 



SIOUX FALLS. 



F. H, PRUNER, 

General Blacksmith 

Ilorseshoeiug and Plow Work a 

Specialty, 

Pliillil>$« Ave. ^iosix Fall!i<. 



J, AV. Parker & Son, 

Dealers in all ki ads of 

LUMBER >^ BUILDING MATERIAL 

SIOUX FALLS. 



NORTON & 3IURRY, 

Dealers in 

FABM MACHINERY 

And Manf's of Wagons and Carriages. 
Peillips Ave. SIOUX FALLS. 



A, PETTERSON, 



Dealer in 



.\nd Undertakers Goodii, 

10th St. and Phillips Ave. SIOUX FALLS. 



HENJU3I & OLSON, 

General Blacksmiths 

Opp. Cascada Mills. 
SIOUX 1'AI^I.S. 



I. O. I3ICKSOIV, 

Dealer in 

FURNITURE, 3IIRR0RS 

Frames, Pictures, Mouldings, etc. 
Rro^vii\>« ItlU-. Wioiix Fall.s 



Striiigliaiii & Gillctt, 

Dealers in all kinds of 

FARM MACHINERY 

Anloniali;- 'J'lvine Hinders. Kenosha Fan- 
ning Mills, Pumps. Wairons & Carriages. 
Si4Mix I'ailM. 



AV. S. DARBY, 

K.IIERSOTV KLtXK, 
Sioux I'lills. 



JOHN P. HOUTS, 

LIQUOR DEALER 

SIOI X IMI.I.S. 



wm 



Dakota Real Gstate Bo'rglit, Sold and 
Kxflianged. Taxes Paid lor Noii-Resi 
dents. Sioux Falls, M. T. 



SIOUX FALLS, D. T. 



II. €}]I.UE:ii^. 

Wines, Liquors, Cigars 

AND BILLilARD ROO.llS. 

riiillips Ave. SIOUX FALLS. 



Proprietoi- of 

Under Cataract House and opp. 
Commercial Hotel. 

SIOUX FALLS. 



I»IIII^1I» PI^ASI'EK, 
Wholesale and Retail 

LIQUOR DEALER 

8th St. Near St. Paul Depot. 
SIOUX FALLS. 



1{;MIB>C«E & IIAKMI*, 

DEALEKS IN 

PHIL-LiIPS AVENUE, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



«Eo. A. m:\ott. 

Proprietor of 

Sioux Falls Brewery 

SIOUX FALLS. 



IIEY.'^SOM:^ 15ROS. 

Manufacturers of 

SIOUX FALLS. 



II. II. t'ARKOI.I., 

PHILLIPS AVENUE, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



MICIIAKI. A: KOBERXS, 

Proprietors of 

City Meat Market 

Opposite Commercial Hotel, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



r». isijsii, 
DENTAL SURGEON 

Elmerson Bloolc, 
SIOUX FALLS. 



PHOTOGRAPHER 

Pliillips Avenue, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



I. Emerson. E. A. Sherman. G. E. Wheeler 

cascad'e^mills 

Patent and Choice Family Flours from 
Dakota t^pring- Wheat. 

SIOUX FALLS. 



MRpi. II. EASTMAIV, 

Over C'lietkered Front. 

Phillips Avenue, SIOUX FALLS. 



IIE?VRY I»0]\XZ, 
91taim|^acl'urctcf 3^iiteGtc]ar:> 

PHILIilPS AV ENUE. 
SIOUX FALLS. 



.11. «ERir%, 

Dealer in Stajile and Fancv 

Provisions, Crockery, Glass and 
Vl'oodenware. 

Kcd Front. Sioux Falls. 



I. li. IBI CK. 

Dealer in Groceries, Provisions 

CROCKERY, GLASSWARE, Arc. 

Bucks' Block, Sioux Falls. 



JOII.^' IIE.^.II 11, 

Dealer in 

STAPLE and FANCY GROCERIES 

PHILLIPS AVENUE, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



l>:ilKOta Real KNfalc ItoitK'li'i Nold and 
l']x<-liaiiK'«'<l. 'l'ax«'s l*aii4l t'oi* rVon-Ke»ii" 
«l«'nt!<. !<iotix Fall^i, l>. T. 



SIOUX FALLS, D. T. 



LEAVITT BROS., 

STAPLE AND FANCY 



IMiillip!^ Ave, 



Sioux Falliit. 



OSCAR ERICKSOX, 

Dealer in 

yfaiclui, Bhclii and Jemelmj, 

PHILLIPS AVENUE. 
SIOUX FALLS. 



Johnson & Snndbacli, 

DEALERS IN 

flOttiT, fcc9, lIDes f IDcoE 

Iiower PliilUps AT'eiiur, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



J. C. MOROAX, 

Pliysifiau and Surgeon, 

EnniSON BLOCK, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



S. OLNEY, 

Physician and Snrgeon, 

PHILLIPS AVENUE, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



A. L. MARCEY, 

Physician and Surgeon, 

Howard & Taylor's Block, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



EDWARD WARSON, 

Physician and Surgeon, 

Howard A. Taylor's Block, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



J. C. LeBLOND, 

Physician and Surgeon, 

PHILLIPS AVENUE, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



Dr. JAMES BARROW, 

Veterinary Surgeon, 

Vetc'iiniiry .Mi'dii'ine of uU kinds 
lor Sale. 

PliilliPH Avenue, Sioux Falls. 



G. K. GUNDER30N, 

Dealer tii 

Outts oat) Bpoetingj QoaSa 

PHILLIPS AVENUE, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



R. G. PAR3ILEY, 

Wholesale and Ketail 

It In 



iiiiii iiinuuu,ijuai,LiiiiD(x 

North of Elevator, SIOUX F/ LLS. 



PLACE BROS. & CO. 
DEALERS m FUEL OF ALL KINDS 

Coak, Laekawainia, Blossbnrs'. Soft Coal, 
Wood and a General Carta§:e Line. 

Pliillil>s and 7tli Sts. Sioux Falls. 



S31EAD & ALGUIRE, 

Dealers in 

WOOD, COAL, FLOUR and FEED 

Two doors South Citizens' liank. 
SIOUX FALLS. 



W. C. BOYCE & CO. 



Dealers in 



Flour, Fead, Grain, Wood, Goal, 

Wagons and t'arria^cs, 

Phillips Avenue, SIOUX FALLS. 



Jacob Schaetzel, Jr. 

1LI¥EIR¥ IBAieW 

Buys and Sells Horses. 
SIOUX FALLS. 



POHTEH P, PECK, 

ANI> H VrK LINE, 

9th St. roar Cataraet House. Si;nix Falls. 



EDWIN E. SAGE 



]>alcota Real Ktstate Itoiiglit, Nold and 
Kxclianged. Xaxew I»aid i'oi- ]!%oi»-Resi- 
(lents. Nioiix l-^all<4, 1>. 'V. 



SIOUX FALLS, D. T. 



C. H. WINSOR, 

Howard A: Taylor's Buililiiig, 
SIOUX FAIiLS. 



L. 31. ESTABROOK, 

Dealer m Keal Estate. 
Phillips Avenue. SIOUX FALIiS. 



FREE & POLK, 

UVND, LOANS AM> COLLECTIONS 

Attorneys at Lav/. 

A Coicplete Set of Abstracts of Mimie- 
lialia County. 



R. J. WELLS, 

Over First ZS'ational Bank, 



PARLIMAX & FRIZZELL 

Jliiotnetj-i ul ^mv^, 



Brown's Block. 



SIOUX FALLS. 



JOHX BIPPUS, 

ATTORNEY AT LAW 

Second door east of Court House, 

SIOUX FALLS. 



CHAS. E. GREGORY, 

ATTORNEY AT LAW 

Opposite Cataract House, 
SIOUX FALLS. 



SIOUX FALLS. 



C. H. VVYXN, 

Edinison Block, 
SIOUX FAL LS. 



KERSHAW & FLAGG, 

ATTORNEYS AT LAW 

Eeal Estate and Loan Office, 
Opposite Cataract House. Sioux Fall»i. 



THOS. H. FAIRFAX, 

ATTORNEY AT LAAV 

Ninth Street, two doors east of Court 
House. 

SIOUX FALLS. 



D. A. BROWN, 

ATTORNEY AT LAW 

And Real Estate Agent. 
Bro«'n's Block, Sioux Falls. 



L. S. SAVEZEY, 

WERCLU AND REAL ESIAIE LMV 



SIOUX FALLS. 



W. W. BROOKINGS, 

Real Estate Dealer 



SIOUX FALLS. 



EDAVIN E. SAGE, 
Real Estate and Loan Ag't 

SIOUX FALLS. 



G. P. CROSS, 

Law and Real Estate 



S OUX FALLS. 



CYRUS WALTZ, 

ABSTRACTS OF TITLE 

Real Estate Dealer and Clerk of the 
District Court. 

SIOUX FALLS. 



r~^|. .'^ P~ ^^^--k l>i»ko«i K?al KMiite Ki>ii»;lit Sold aiul 
l^flXA/in t_ ^?10^^ E.vclian-ecl. Thxoh I>ai<l lur Noii- Kcsi 
IibbWIVtIII !■— ■ Xi'iA^V^ deiitM. Sioux I'allN, U. T. 



SIOUX FALLS, D. T. 


BRIGGS & ROBINSON, 

Insurance, 

p. O. Block, SIOUX FAL.L,S. 


C. K. HOAVARD, 

Dealer in 

General Merchandise 

SIOUX FALLS. 


L. D. HENRY, 

Jflomtj and J^oan Jl6eni 

Always a Large Amount of Land For Sale 

(Jhcap. 

SIOUX FALLS. 


J. B. CLOUDAS & CO. 

Dculers in 

Clothing, Hats, Caps 

Trunks and Gents' Furi.ishing- Goods. 
SIOUX FALLS. 


GEO. W. LEWIS, 

(Jnimance, ckml SUah ^ ^mn 

AGENT, 

Over First ^lational Bank. 

Sioux Falls. 


A. W. ALLISON, 

Dealer in 

One door nf)rth of Taylor's Hardware, 
SIOUX FALLS. 


GUY C. WEED, 

COLLECTOR 

Howard's Block, Sioux Falls. 


AV. R. KINGSBURY, 

Dealer in 

Di'j GooiLs Nolif]!!,^. Furiiisliiiiff GooJs, 

Merchant Tailoring-. Sewing- Machines. 
Pliillips Ave., Sioux Fall.v. 


FIRST NATIONAL BANK 

Capital and Surplus, ^70,000. 

J. YOUNG, President; H. L. HOLLISTER, 
Cashier; C. L. NORTON, Asst. Cashier. 

SIOUX FALLS. 


W. C. WATERS, 

Dealer in 

JjUj Qood^, yrciioii-5, iBarpeti 

And Furnishing- Goods, 
Cataract Block, Sioux Falls. 


CITIZENS' BANK, 

HILLS & BEEBE, Props. 

LOAN INET ON REAL miESECIRlTIES 

PHILLIPS AVE., SIOUX FALLS. 


JOHN M. ENTZMINGER, 

Manufacturer and Denier in 

BOOTS AND SHOES 

Cataract Block, Sioux Falls. 


McKINNEY & SCOUGAL 

SIOUX FALLS. 

Branches: Dell Rapids and Yankton. 
D. L. McKINNEY. GEO. R. SCOUGAL. 


S. 31. BEAR & CO. 

Dealers in 

Booh, Slationerv, Wall Paper, FaDcy Goods 

NEWS DEPOT, 
Plilllips Avenue, Sioux Falls. 


F. A. KENNARD, 

Dealer in 

DRY OOODS, NOTIONS AND CLOTIIING, 

Cataract Block, Sioux Falls. 


C. F. SISCIIO, 

Biacfi-y 7lrafclie6 and Jmchtj 

Solid and Plated Tableware, 

Repairing: and Engraving- a Specialty. 

Browrn'M Block, Sioux Falln. 



4970