(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Spartanburg County; embracing an account of many important events, and biographical sketches of statesmen, divines and other public men .."

HISTORY 



SPARTANBURG COUNTY 



Embracing an Account op Many Important Events, 

AND BlOGRAPHICAJ^ SkETCPIES OF STATESMEN, 

Divines and other Public Men, and 

THE Names of Many Others 

WORTHY OP Record in the 

History of their 

County 



DR. J. B. 0. LANDRUM 

Author nf ^•('olonhil and KernliUionnnj Hhlory of 
Upper SoKth (kirolino" 



ATLANTA. GA. 

TiiK Franklin Prto. axr Vvn. Co. 

(iEO. W. HaKRISON. (iKN. MUR. 
1900 



Library of Congress 

Two Copies Receivfd 
FEB 13 190] 

FiRsr copy 



Si L3 



^ 



/ 



'^9 



Copyrighted igcx) by 
J. B. O. LANDRUM. 



Ti) the 
Confedcrale heroes, both 
Uvimi (Did dead, and especially 
to those whose names arc identijied 
with Spartanburg County, nearly or quite 
all whose names are herein recorded, who for 
four years performed gallant and noble service in / 

fhearjnies of the (hnfederacy, whose marches and Ijattles, 
wounds and suffering, willing sacrifice, iKitient 
endurance and steadfast devotion to iwinciple 
has never been surpassed throughout the 
civilized world, this volume is con- 
secrated to their lasting honor 
(nut nieniorif by 

THE AUTHOR 



/ 



PREFACE. 

Three years ay;o the author published a vohnue en- 
titled, ''Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper 
South Carolina/'' embracing- for the most part the 
primitive and revolutionary history of the territory- com- 
prising the original county of Spartanburg, S. C. , which 
narrative, so far as active hostilities were concerned, 
ends with the year 1781. 

The present volume, comprising a history of the orig- 
inal county of Spartanburg proper, is intended to be a 
continuation of the first volume, and begins with the 
organization of said county in 17S5. Of the events as 
occurring in the same between the years mentioned 
( 1 781-5) he has been unable to obtain information from 
any source. 

The author, in presenting this volume to the public, 
has no apologies to make for whatever may appear to be 
his shortcomings in the humble but pleasant task which 
he has had before him. Written and compiled one hun- 
dred and fifteen years after the organization of his native 
county, he has labored under many trying difficulties to 
collect the material matter and data found recorded 
herein, most of which, in course of time, would have 
been lost in tradition. If his efforts along this line meet 
with the approval of a generous public, he will feel more 
than gratified. 

Spartanburg county, now one of the most interesting 
and progressive in the vState, has a history behind her 
worthy of preservation. In the advancement which she 
has already made in religious and educational institu- 
tions, in manufactures and agriculture, she has made a 
record inferior to none in the State. In the production 



\iii Preface. 

of heroes, statesmen, divines, public men, and a long- 
list of an honest, upright and industrious citizenship, 
she will compare favorably with other counties in the 
State. 

It has been his intention, as much as possible, to re- 
vive the memories of those in his county, both living 
and dead, whose names are deserving of perpetuation, 
and particularly of the gallant soldiery furnished by 
Spartanburg county in the civil war between the States ; 
to the rolls, or parts of rolls of the same, much time has 
been devoted and much space herein has been appropri- 
ated. Much valuable material, embracing sketches of 
many of the older family connections in Spartanburg 
county, which were carefully prepared by the autiior for 
publication, have been crowded out by reason of circum- 
stances beyond his control and much to his regret. 

If this volume should meet with favor, a future edi- 
tion is contemplated, when, it is hoped, matter now 
omitted, with other material yet to be gathered, will be 
compiled and added. 

For the many favors and courtesies which he has re- 
ceived in the preparation of this work, the author ex- 
tends his grateful thanks. 

J. B. O. L. 

Campobello, S. C, Nov. i, 1900. 



HISTORY OF SPARTANBURG COUNTY. 



CHAPTER I. 

INTRODUCTORY. 



In a former volume, published by the writer, it is 
stated that by virtue of the treaty of Governor Glen 
with the Cherokee Indians in the year 1755, the greater 
portion of the up-country of South Carolina was ceded 
by these people to the whites.* In the subdivisions 
gained by this acquisition, the original territory of the 
county (called district prior to the adoption of the Con- 
stitution of 1868) of Spartanburg (a small portion of 
which now forms a part of Cherokee county) became 
a part of the old district of Ninety-six, which com- 
prised the original counties of Edgefield, Abbeville, 
Newberry, Laurens, Union and Spartanburg, the dis- 
trict site of which was at the present old Star Fort, 
known in former times as Ninety-six, or Cambridge 
Court House. 



*See Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper S. C, p. 23. 
The boundary line between the States North and South Carolina was 
not finally agreed upon until 1815. This was done by commissioners 
appointed on the part of the two States. (See Sims's Histor}' of S. C, 
Appendix. ) Prior to the treaty of Governor Glen with the Cher- 
okee Indians referred to, the dividing line, if agreed upon at all, was 
only made on the map of the original Carolinas. For this reason 
some deeds of execution or instruments of writing in upper South 
Carolina were improperly recorded at Raleigh, N. C. Among the 
same is a deed of conveyance from Wofford to Linsey for a tract of 
land whereon Clifton No. 2 is now located. This old paper is now to 
be found in the office of the clerk of the court at Spartanburg, 
having been transferred from Raleigh to that oifice as its proper place 
of custodv. 



2 History of Spartanburg County. 

The ending of the Revolutionary war with success 
to the American arms doubtless infused new life and 
energy into the people everywhere. The time had 
come for changes to be made to suit the existing condi- 
tions and circumstances. 

In the year 1783 a convention was called by the 
people of South Carolina, which was the first to meet 
after the close of the Revolution.* In the same an 
ordinance was passed to divide the districts of Charles- 
town, Georgetown, Cheraw, Camden, Ninety-six^ 
Orangeburg and Beaufort into counties " of a conve- 
nient size, not more than forty-five miles square," and 
for each and all of these commissioners were ap- 
pointed. Those appointed on the part of the district 
of Ninety-six were Andrew Pickens, Richard Ander- 
son, Thomas Brandon, Levi Casey, Philmon Waters, 
Arthur Simpkins and Simon Burwick. Under this 
ordinance the counties of Edgefield, Abbeville and 
Newberry were laid out in 1783, leaving the remaining 
portion of the district of Ninety-six, composing the 
territory of the original counties of Spartanburg, Union 
and Laurens, as yet undivided, but changing the district 
site or court-house from Cambridge to Pinckneyville, 
on Broad River. 

By virtue of an act of the legislature of South Car- 
olina, passed in 1785, the remainder of Ninety-six dis- 
trict, viz. : Laurens, Union and Spartanburg, w^as di- 
vided. In the same act, which is known in history as 
Judge Pendleton's "County Court Act," it was provided 
for a court to be held in each county once in three 
months by seven justices of the peace, to hold their com- 
missions during: life or g-ood behavior, and to be elected 



* Among the delegates to this convention from the Spartanburg 
region was the Hon. James Jorden. 



History of Spartanburg County. j 

first by joint nomination before the Senate and House of 
Representatives, vacancies among them afterwards occur- 
ring to be filled by themselves. Any three of said jus- 
tices were to constitute a quorum to transact any busi- 
ness coming before the county courts. By an act of 
March lo, 1786, the number of justices was increased 
two, and by an act of March 17, 1787, the number was 
increased to eleven. 

In accordance with the provisions of the act referred 
to Spartanburg county was laid off. The following are 
the statutory words : " One other county bounded by 
Laurens county on the south, the Indian line on the 
west, the North Carolina line and Broad River to Tate's 
Ferry, thence along the road by John Ford's plantation 
on the Enoree, now including the same, and shall be 
called by the name of Spartanburgh." 

The following is a copy from the statutes of our 
State, giving the original boundaries, etc., as already 
stated : 

" Court Commission, Spartanburg County. 

By His Excellency, Wm. Moultrie, Esq., 
[Seal.] Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over 

the State aforesaid. 
Wm. Moultrie. To Baylis Earle, John Thomas, 
Jun'r, Henry White, John Ford, James Jorden, 
William Wood, Henry Machan Wood, Es- 
quires. 
Know ye that in pursuance of an Act of the Legis- 
lature of this State passed the twenty-fourth day of 
March, in the year of our Lord one thousand seven 
hundred and eighty-five, entitled ' An Act for Establish- 
ing County Courts, and for Regulating the Proceedings 
therein, I do by these presents commission you the said 
Baylis Earle, John Thomas, Jun'r, Henry White, John 
Ford, James Jorden, William Wood and Henry Machan 
Wood to be Justices of the Peace in and for the County 



4 History of Spartanburg County. 

of Spartanburg, and yoUj or any three of you, have full 
power and jurisdiction to hold the County Court in and 
for the said County by the aforesaid Act established, 
and you are to hear and determine all causes and other 
matters and controversies properly appertaining and re- 
ferred by law to your jurisdiction. 

This commission to continue in full force during 
good behavior. 

Given under my hand and seal in the City of Charles- 
ton, this twenty-fourth of March, in the year of 
our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty- 
five, and in the sovereignty and independence of 
the United States of America, the ninth. 
By His Excellency's command. 

John Vanderhorst, 

Secretary." 

On the old county court record book in clerk's office, 
we find the following entry : 

" Court Certificate. 

I do hereby certifie that Baylis Earle, John Thomas, 
Jr., Henry White, John Ford, William Wood and Henry 
Machan Wood, appointed justices to sit in the County 
Court of Spartanburg, this day took the oath prescribed 
by law, are therefore qualified to enter on the execution 
of these their respective offices. 
April 29th, 1785. 

Henry Pendleton, 

Judge." 

On the same page in said book is also the following 
entry : 

" JAMES JORDEN'S certificate. 

I do certify that James Jorden, Esquire, one of the 
Justices for the county of Spartanburg, hath taken the 
oath of allegiance agreeable to law before me, Decem- 
ber loth, 1785. 

^denus Burke, Judge." 



History of Spartanburg County. 5 

It will be noticed that in the statntory words of the 
act of the legislature of 1785, by which the original 
county of Spartanburg was laid out as a part of the old 
District of Ninety-six, the name Spartanbuvgli was 
adopted and incorporated into the act. The last sylla- 
ble biirgJi was simply a suffix agreed upon and added 
to the old name Spartan. By common consent and 
modern usage the letter " h " has been dropped, leav- 
ing the word as we now have it, Spa}'ta7iburg. 

But an interesting inquiry is here raised as to how the 
name Spartan originated. We have stated in a former 
work, that in the beginning of the great Revolutionary 
struggle there were a number of people in the upper 
part of South Carolina who were not in sympathy with 
the Patriot cause. The largest number of these disaf- 
fected people were between the Broad and Saluda Rivers. 
At the beginning of hostilities with the government of 
Great Britain the Council of Safety in the year 1775 
commissioned and appointed Hon. Wm. Henry Drayton 
and Rev. William Tennant* to visit the section referred 
to and explain to the inhabitants the nature of the dis- 
putes between the colonies and the mother country. 

In a volume t which we have already published we 



*In diary of Rev. Oliver Hart from A.D. 1740 to A.D. 17S0 
(see Year Book, 1896, City of Charleston, S. C. Review by Mayor 
Smythe), it appears that Mr. Drayton and Mr. Tennant were accom- 
panied by Mr. Hart, although no reference is made to him in Dray- 
ton's Memoirs. Sa3-s Mr. Hart : " On Monday, July 31st, 1775, I set 
off for the Frontiers of this Province, being appointed by the Council 
of Safety to accompany Hon. William Henry Drayton and Rev. Will- 
iam Tennant to tr}^ to reconcile the number of inhabitants who are 
disaffected to the Government. I was out until September ye 6th, fol- 
lowing." Rev. Oliver Hart, a Baptist minister, was a great-grand- 
uncle of Rev. R. F. Whilden, O'Neall, S. C. 

fSee "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper S. C," pp. 
47 to 62. 



6 History of Spartanburg County. 

have given an extended acconnt of the visit of these 
gentlemen to the np-conntry of South Carolina during 
the same year of their appointment (1775). It was about 
August ist when they entered on their mission, the 
first section visited being the Dutch Fork (now Lexing- 
ton county) near the junction of the Broad and Saluda 
Rivers. They continued their journey to the up-country, 
stopping at different places to address the people, which 
they found more or less hostile to the American cause, 
until they reached the settlements on Upper Fair Forest, 
Lawson's Fork, and on the Tygers, all these being, for 
the most part, within the limits of the present county of 
Spartanburg. Here they found a patriotic sentiment 
prevailing among the people, who were fully alive to the 
questions at issue, and with some exceptions all proved 
true to the principles of freedom. We can produce no 
better evidence of this fact than to quote from Mr. 
Drayton's letter to the Council of Safety, written on 
Lawson's Fork (Wofford's Iron Works), August 21st, 
1775.* Says Mr. Drayton: "I had this day a meeting 
with this frontier ; many present were of the other party ; 
but I have the pleasure to acquaint you that these became 
voluntary converts. Every person received satisfaction 
and departed with pleasure. I finished the day with a 
barbecued beef. I have so ordered matters here, that 
the whole frontier will be formed into volunteer com- 
panies, but as they are at present under Fletchall's com- 
mand, they insist in being formed into a regiment inde- 
pendent of him. These people are actife and spirited. 
They are stminch in our favor ; are capable of forming 
a good barrier against the Indians, and of being a severe 
check upon Fletchall's people (upon whom they border) 
if they should think of quitting their habitations under 
*See Drayton's Memoirs. 



History of Spartanburg County. 7 

the banners of Fletchall or his companions. For these 
reasons and to enable him to act with vigor, I shall take 
the liberty to supply them from Fort Charlotte with a 
small quantity of ammunition ; for now they have not 
an ounce, when they shall be formed into regular com- 
panies. Several companies will be formed this day 
week."* 

It will be seen by reference to Mr. Drayton's letter, 
that he refers to the people — the first settlers of the pres- 
ent county of Spartanburg, as bordering on Fletchall's 
people. To explain, at the outbreak of the Revolution, 
all the country between the Broad and Saluda Rivers in 
South Carolina was embraced in one regimental district 
under the command of Colonel Thomas Fletchall, at 
whose house jMessrs. Drayton and Tennant visited on 
their way to the up-country, and who, during the entire 
period of the Revolution, proved hostile to the American 
cause. His residence was on Lower Fair Forest, and 
about six miles west of the present city of Union. 
Holding this important official position at this critical 
period in the history of South Carolina, we can readih' 
understand the overpowering influence which he pos- 
sessed in controlling the sentiments of his surroundings. 

It will be seen by reference to this extract from Mr. 
Drayton's letter, that he ordered the whole frontier to be 
formed into volunteer companies, and that the people 
insisted on being formed into a regiment independent of 
Fletchall's command, a part of which they, at this 
time, composed. We notice further that by the nth 
of the following month (September) this regiment was 
organized under the command of Colonel John Thomas. 



* See Mr. Drayton's Letter — Gibbs's Documentary History of S. C, 
'64 to '76, p. 162. 



8 History of Spartanburg County. 

It was called the Spartan Regiment * (see Gibbs's 
Doc. History, 1 764-1 776, p. 176), and was organized at 
the house of Colonel Thomas. It was made up of ma- 
terial from scattering settlements in the up-country. 
Says Colonel Thomas in a letter to Mr. Drayton : " Your 
Honor must suppose it impossible to raise the whole 
regiment, as several have families, and no man would 
be left about the house if they should be called away. I 
shall make as large a draft as possible from every com- 
pany, and, in short, do everything to the utmost of my 
power, and when encamped shall transmit to your Honor, 
as quick as possible, an account of my proceedings." 

The Spartan Regiment was soon equipped and ready 
for action. Receiving their ammunition from Fort 
Charlotte on the Savannah River, by order of Mr. Dray- 
ton, it formed a part of Colonel Richardson's command 
in the famous " Snow Campaign," December, 1775, an 
account of which is given elsewhere. 

Shortly after this campaign the Provincial Congress 
of South Carolina met in Charleston. It was deemed 
expedient to divide the great section of the country be- 
tween the Broad and Saluda Rivers into three Congres- 
sional or election districts, which the record says was 
" for the convenience of Electors of Congress, as on ac- 
count of the happy influence which it may have upon 
the peace and union of the inhabitants." 

This resolution which divided this great section of 
country was passed on the nth of February, 1776. (See 
map, p. 43, " Colonial and Revolutionary Hist, of South 
Carolina.") The fi.rst was called the Lower or Dutch 
Fork; the second, Middle or Little River ^ and the third, 
Upper or Spa7'ta)i District. It will be observed that 
while the names as applied to the two first have only a 

* See sketch of Colonel John Thomas, Sr., in this volume. 



History of Spartanburg County. g. 

local application, that as applied to the third was in- 
tended, nnqnestionably, to be complijnentary \.Q) the sec- 
tion of the country to which it referred, and was doubt- 
less suggested by the Hon. Wm. Henry Drayton, who 
was at that time president of the Provincial Congress, 
then convened, who desired to express his appreciation 
of the patriotic sentiments which he knew to prevail 
in said section visited by him during the previous year. 

But the inquiry is here raised as to why the people of 
the up-country of South Carolina, inhabiting at that 
time the present region of Spartanburg, were more loyal 
and devoted to the Patriot cause than the people compos- 
ing the settlements in the middle or lower part of said 
State (or colony as it was then called). The answer to 
this question is found in the pages of history. 

Dr. Ramsey, in his " History of South Carolina" (see 
p. ii8), informs us that the extreme up-country of South 
Carolina, was settled by emigrants wdio had advanced 
from north to south and in front of the eastern settlers. 
These settlements did not begin until after the ceding 
of said territory by the Cherokee Indians under the 
treaty of Governor Glen referred to. Dr. Ramsey 
further informs us that as far back as 1736, settlements 
from the seacoast had progressed westward only about 
eighty or ninety miles. In 1755 the population of the 
territory afterwards formed into the county of Spartan- 
burg, including Colonel Clarke the first settler on the 
Pacolet, did not consist of more than eight or ten Scotch- 
Irish families from Pennsylvania, who, says Dr. Ramsey,, 
"settled on the forks of the Tygers." Between these 
settlers and the settlers which had advanced from the sea- 
coast, a considerable tract of country had remained in the 
undisturbed possession of the aborigines. Soon, how- 
ever, emigration began to pour in from Pennsylvania,.. 



lo History of Spartanburg County. 

Maryland, and Virginia, and other colonies, as well as 
from the old countries, and the country began to be 
rapidly settled up. Dr. Howe, in his ' ' History of the 
Presbyterian Church of South Carolina," states that 
many families came directly from North Ireland and 
settled on the Tygers, Fair Forest, and on the Pacolets, 
intending as they did, to find a country — a wilderness^ as 
it was then called — where they could enjoy, by the bless- 
ings of God, that ease and quiet to their consciences 
which was denied them in their native countr>^ Many 
of the early settlers of the up-country were of English 
extraction and disse7iters from the Established Church 
of the mother country. These were mostly immigrants 
from Virginia. 

At the beginning of the Revolution, the two civiliza- 
tions, — one having advanced from the north and the 
other from the seacoast — had barely met, as it were. 
This explains the force of the meaning of Mr. Drayton's 
letter when he speaks of the early settlers of upper Car- 
olina as bordering on FletchaU's people. 

They were, as we have already stated, of a different 
sentiment and mold from the people with whom 
Messrs. Drayton and Tennant had recently been inter- 
mingling. They understood and appreciated the great 
public questions involved, having been educated into 
the great principles of freedom of speech, liberty of con- 
science and right of self-government. Living near the 
frontier line, they were, on the one hand, confronting the 
Indian tomahawk and scalping-knife, while on the other 
they had to contend against the insurgent or malignant 
forces who, says Colonel John Thomas, Sr., were forming 
*' hellish schemes to frustrate the measures of the Conti- 
nental Congress, and to use all those who" were "willing 
.to stand bv their measures in a most cruel manner." 



History of Spartanburg County. ii 

They were indeed a Spartan people, and were willing 
to sacrifice their lives, if necessary, to meet all the diffi- 
culties which surrounded them. They had already, in 
previous wars with the Indians, undergone trials and 
sacrifices which justly entitled them to this honored 
name. Like the ancient Spartans of Greece, they were 
inured to hardship and sacrifices, and cherished the 
heroic virtues of courage, fortitude, patriotism, and public 
spirit. This same spirit, we are proud to say, has been 
imparted and infused into the generations that have 
come after them. 

The present growth and progress in the county of 
Spartanburg in educational institutions, in agriculture, 
manufactures, and business enterprise generally, only 
reflect a brighter splendor upon the exalted virtues, 
lofty patriotism, and devotion to every principle of duty 
to God and country which characterized her first in- 
habitants, — the ancestry of a very large per cent, of her 
present thriving and industrious population. 

Judge Henrys Pendleton, who administered the oaths 
of office to all the justices, except that of James Jorden, 
was an eminent jurist for his day and time. He was a 
judge in South Carolina under the new form of govern- 
ment at the beginning of the Revolution, and was in every 
sense a true patriot. He was a member of the first 
convention of South Carolina, which met after the Rev- 
olution to adopt the Federal Constitution. The vote 
stood for adoption 149 to 73. Among those who voted 
with the minority were Judges Pendleton and Burke. 
On the same side were also Generals Hamilton, Sumter 
and Butler, and also Colonel Taylor. Judge Pendleton 
was the author of the "County Court Act" already re- 
ferred to, and was for a number of years a member of the 
State Legislature. It was while he w^as a member of 



12 History of Spartanburg County. 

this body that the question of calling the convention- 
came lip. It passed by a majority of one vote. The 
old District of Pendleton (now comprising the terri- 
tory of Anderson, Pickens and Oconee) was named in 
his honor. 

Judge a^j^denus Burke, whose name is attached to the 
oath certificate of James Jorden, was an Irishman by 
birth, and came to South Carolina from one of the 
West India Islands. Like all of his countrymen he 
was a republican, espoused the American cause, and en- 
tered the army. In 1778 was elected a judge and also 
a member to Congress. After the Revolution, when the 
State adopted the Federal Constitution, he was elected 
United States Senator, and at a later period, he was one 
of the chancellors for South Carolina. 

The late Governor Perry has published an interesting 
sketch of him, with some amusing reminiscences of life 
and character. He died an old bachelor, and in his will 
left an old lady in Charleston six hundred pounds ster- 
ling, and gave as a reason, by bestowing this legacy, 
that he had been courting her for ten years, and ' 'before 
God he believed, if he had persevered, she would have 
had him." 

It is said that while he was no temperate man, he 
prided himself on drinking good liquors. While hold- 
ing court at some place there could be nothing found to 
drink except corn whisky. Of this he drank as he 
would have done of a bottle of wine, and got gloriously 
drunk. As he was being carried from the table some 
mischievous fellow slipped some silver spoons in his 
pocket. The next morning in dressing he discovered 
the spoons. P'ailing to account for them, he exclaimed : 
"Before God, I thought I was an honest man. I do not 
remember ever to have stolen anvthing when I was 



History of Spartanburg County. 13 

<3runk. It must have been that vile stuff they call corn 
whisky which prompted me to steal these spoons." 

Some time afterward a case of stealing was tried before 
him, in which it appeared that the offender was drunk 
when he committed the theft. His Honor inquired if 
any of the witnesses could tell him whether the prisoner 
had been drinking- corn whisky. Being answered in 
the affirmative, he turned to the jury and said : "Before 
God, gentleman of the jury, you ought to acquit the 
prisoner. I know from my own experience that corn 
whisky does give a man the propensity to steal ; and 
his reason being dethroned, he should not be held respon- 
sible for his larceny." 

It is said that in going into court one morning, he mis- 
took an old black silk dress of the landlady's for his 
judicial robe. As he ascended the judge's seat, he began 
to unfold the dress, and was for some time turning- it 
about, trying in vain to get into it, to the great amuse- 
ment of the bar and spectators. "Before God," he 
exclaimed "some devil has sewed it up in front." 

Judge O'Neall, in his annals of Newberry, also gives a 
short sketch of ^denus Burke. He was educated at St. 
Omens for the priesthood ; he was a major in the 
American army, and elected a judge in South Carolina in 
April, '78. "He long filled with justice and mercy," 
says the writer, "this responsible office. During his 
administration he perpetrated many an Irish bull for his 
own amusement and the people around him." 

Of the commissioners on the part of the District of 
Ninety-six to lay off said district into counties of suffi- 
cient size, says Judge O'Neall in his annals: "It is 
worthy of observation how the commissioners to lay off 
the district of Ninety-six were scattered. General 
Pickens, Richard Anderson and Judge Simpkins were 



14 History of Spartanburg County. 

south of the Sahida River ; General Pickens in the county 
afterwards called Abbeville ; Richard Anderson near the 
line between it and Edgefield ; and Judge Simpkins in 
the latter, and near the present court-house ; Colonel 
Waters and General Casey were between Broad and Saluda 
Rivers, and in Newberry ; Colonel Brandon north of 
Enoree, in the county afterwards called Union ; and 
Simon Berwick in Spartanburg. 

Simon Berwick, one of the commissioners referred to 
as being from Spartanburg county, was proprietor of 
Berwick's Iron Works^ known also in history as IVof- 
ford^s Iron IVorks^ located on Lawson's Fork, a short 
distance above the present town of Glendale, which were 
destroyed by fire by the Tories under "Bloody Bill" Cun- 
ningham, November, 1781, about the close of the Revo- 
lution. He was a branch of the Elliot family in Charles- 
ton, and was one of the first representatives from Nine- 
ty-six District (before the Revolution) to the Legislature, 
(then called Burgesses). He was a brother of John Ber- 
wick, the signer of South Carolina old paper money 
issued by order of the Provincial Congress, 15th of 
November, 1775, one Bill which "entitled the Bearer to 
the sum of Ten Shillings currency," and another 
calling for "One Pound, Fifteen Shillings." 

John Berwick was a man of great respectability and 
genius, originally a mechanic, carrying on an extensive 
and profitable business with his brother Simon. He 
married a Miss Ash, and left one child who married 
Thomas Legare, of John's Island, from which sprang a 
large family. Mr. Berwick was a member from Charles- 
ton to the South Carolina Legislature, and was warmly 
attached to the principles of the Revolution, and for 
this cause, when the British captured Charleston, May, 



History of Spartanburg County. 15, 

1780, he was exiled to St. Augustine, and detained 
there eleven months very unjustly. 

It is stated in "Johnson's Traditions" that Simon 
Berwick was also a signer of this old paper currency. 
He was also an enterprising mechanic, and while return- 
ing from the seat of government (Charleston) soon after 
the close of the Revolution, he was foully murdered by 
two outlaws on the Congaree road when traveling up 
to where Columbia now stands. In his untimely death 
Spartanburg District suffered much loss ; he was an 
active, enterprising man, being almost indispensable to- 
the times in which he lived. 



CHAPTER II. 

'CONTINUED REVIEW OF COUNTY COURT PROCEEDINGS. 

Further investigation of the old County Court Record 
book reveals the fact that the first court ever held in 
Spartanburg county was at Nichols' Mill, which stood 
at or near Anderson's Mill on North Tyger River, near 
the residence of the late Captain David Anderson. 

The following is the entry : 

"June Court, 1785. 

At a Court began to be holden at Nichols' Mill, on 
the third Monday in June, one thousand seven hundred 
and eighty-five, for the county of Spartanburg, in the 
State of South Carolina. 

Present, Baylis Earle, John Thomas, Jun'r, Henry 
White, John Ford and Henry Machan Wood, Gentlemen 
Justices. 

Court being opened John Thomas, Jun'r, being pre- 
viously appointed clerk, the Court proceeded to the 
choice of a sheriff for said county. Thereupon casting 
up the votes, Mr. William Young was duly appointed 
to that office, and Josiah Buffington duly appointed cor- 
oner for said county. 

Court adjourned until Court in coiirse. 

The minutes were signed by Baylis Earle, J." 

This was the only court ever held at Nichols' Mill. 
By reference to the "County Court Act," it will be seen 
that the sessions of the courts were to be held every 
three months. 

The next "Court in course," on the third Monday of 
September of the same year, was held on the plantation 
of Thomas Williamson. This is where the present city 
■ of Spartanburg is located. 

(16) 



History of Spartanburg County. 17 

The Court was opened by the Gentlemen Justices Bay- 
lis Earle, Henry White and John Ford. 

William Young-, who had been appointed sheriff, pro- 
duced his commission under the hand of his Excellency 
the GoYernor; also presented a duly executed bond with 
approved sureties, and was sworn in. The sum for 
which he and his bondsmen were held was fifteen hun- 
dred pounds sterling money in gold or silver specie, at 
the rate of four shillings and eight pence to the dollar^ 
and one pound one shilling and nine pence to the guinea, 
to be paid to the treasurer or his successor in office. The 
bond was necessarily heavy, as it was a part of the duties 
of the sheriff to collect the taxes as well as to discharge 
the functions of his office. It will be observed, further, 
by the wording of the bond of William Young, that the 
onh' possible money in the State at that time was Eng- 
lish specie, as no constitution of the Federal Union had 
yet been adopted, and of course no Federal currency 
established. Even at this time there was no President 
or "United States of America," the constitution of the 
latter not having been adopted until April, 1787. 

At this (December) Court, James Yancey, Esq., after 
taking the required oath, was admitted to plead, being 
the first attorney ever admitted to the practice in the 
courts at Spartanburg. 

James Yancey lived in Laurens district, and was 
county court lawyer, and possibly county attorney. 
He represented Laurens county in the legislature of 
South Carolina in 1812. Removing to Charleston, he 
was afterwards a representative from the same county. 
He was the father of Benjamin C. Yancey, Sr., of Abbe- 
ville county, and grandfather of that distinguished states- 
man William L. Yancey from Alabama, and also Benja- 



iB HisTORA' OF Spartanburg County. 

min C. Yancey, Jr., who was United States minister to 
the Argentine Republic. 

At this term of court the following persons were ap- 
pointed to serve as constables for the period of one year, 
viz.: Richard Nally, Hancock Smith, Thomas Gordon, 
Henry Wolf and Robert Harper. 

We also notice further, that on application, Thomas 
Wadsworth of Bilville, was granted license to retail 
spirituous liquors according to the rates prescribed by 
the Court, the clerk being ordered to issue said license, 
which was the first ever granted in Spartanburg for the 
sale of intoxicating liquors. 

Soon after this, license was granted to George Gordon 
to keep a private house of entertainment on condition 
that he conform to the rules and rates prescribed by the 
court. 

The following is the record as to rates, etc. : 

" Ordered that the following rates be observed by all 
persons who shall have obtained license to keep private 
houses of entertainment : 

To WIT — Common cold dinner or supper, /6 (six pence). 
Hot'd or to do (ditto) neatly cook'd, i/ (one shilling). 
Common breakfast, /8 do. of Green tea and loaf sugar, i/ — 
Bohea do /9, ditto coffee or chocolate, /9 — Lodging in a 
clean bed, /4 — do for 2 in do, /3 each. Jamaca pr gal- 
lon, 12/— pr qt 3/6 (three shillings and six pence), pr pt 
1/9— half do /9, gill /5— 

West India rum pr gallon 6/ qt 2/ pt 1/ yi do /6, 
gill /4— 

North rum, pr Gal 5/ — qt 1/3, pt 1/8, half do /4. — 
Taffia pr qt 1/ and so in larger or smaller quantities. 
Punch made of Jamaca rum and loaf sugar, pr qt 1/4, 
and so in proportion for Larger or Smaller quantities. 

West India rum in punch, pr i/ and so in proportion 
North Ward Rum and Taffia in punch pr qt /8 and so 
in proportion. Nantz Brandy, pr Gallon 10/ pr qt 2/6, 
&c., &c. Good Country Brandy pr Gallon 5/ qt 1/3, 



History of Spartanburg County. 



19 



pt /6, &c. Geneva pr Gallon 8/ qt 2/ pt i/ — half do /6. 
Whiskey, pr Gallon 4/ qt 1/ pt/6 &c. Best Medera 
Wine pr bottle 4/8, draught 4/, &c. Common W^ine, 
pr qt 3/ pr pt 1/6. Port Wine, pr, bottle 3/6. Sherry 
and Lisbon pr qt 3/ Bergundy and Champaign pr 
bottle 4/. Other sweet wines, pr qt 2/. English bot- 
tled Cyder pr Bottle 2/. Home-made do pr qt. /6. — 
Stabling an Horse 24 Hours, with good and sufficient 
fodder or hay, 1/6. Corn /2 pr qt, Oats the same." 

At this term of court it was ordered that the follow- 
ing persons be summoned to attend the next court to 
serve as grand jurors, to wit : Wm. Bensong, George 
Bruton, William Thomson, David Lewis, Charles James, 
John Head, William Lipscomb, James Oliphant, Capt. 
Wm. Smith, Charles Moore, Zadock Ford, Andrew 
Barry, William Poole (Tailor), John Carnick, Thomas 
Jackson, Edward Mitchison, Obediah Trimmier, Isreal 
Morris, Robert Goodlett, Sen'r, David McClain, Vachel 
Dilingham and Wm. Prince. According to the record, 
this is the first Grand Jury that was ever drawn in 
Spartanburg county. 

The following persons were drawn as petit jurors for 
the March term : Isaic Bogan, Wm. Lynch, George 
Robuck, John Stone, John Tremia, James Hughs, James 
White, John Shands, John Leich, Thomas Williamson, 
Samuel Lancaster, David Golightly, Robt. McDowell, 
Thomas Wyatt, Fleming Smith, George Connel, John 
Nesbitt, Isham Foster, Bailey Anderson, John Butler, 
Thomas Davis, Henry Machan, Sam'l Culbertson, John 
Vice, John Banney, John Mapps, John Golightly, Wm. 
Croker, John Redmon and John Davis. 

The following public roads were ordered to be opened, 
as shown by the record which we copy : 

" Road ordered from John Head's Ford on Enoree to 
Isaic Crows ; John Head, overseer, Mathew Couch, war- 



20 History of Spartanburg County. 

ner. From thence to John Patton's on So Tyger; over- 
seer, George Bruton, Alex Alexander, warner. From 
thence to the narrow passage* above Nichols' Mill ; 
overseer, John Barry, Moses Ward, warner. From 
thence to Lawson's Fork at Widow Bishop's ;t over- 
seer, Robert Jamison, warner, John Goodlett. From 
thence to So Pacolette to at Kilpatrick's old place ; 
overseer, James McDowell, warner, William Branham. 
From thence to the State line by Hooper's Ford ; o\er- 
seer, James Hooper, warner, John Earle, Jun'r. From 
Blackstock's Ford on Tyger to opposite Widow Smith's 
at Davis old place; overseer, John Bearden, warner, 
David Pruit. From thence to Miller's old road; over- 
seer, Albutes Bright, warner, Nathanial Davis. From 
thence to a branch on Sand road below Mrs. Prince's; 
overseer, Henry Wells, warner, William Underwood. 
From thence to the jnnction with Head's road ; over- 
seer Isham Foster, warner, Wm. Tinsley. From Tate's 
Ferry to opposite Wm. Hickman's plantation ; overseer, 
Dan'l McClar}', warner, John Fonderin. From thence 
to Byas' Mill ; overseer, William Thomson, warner, 
Renben Smith. From thence to Hammett's Ford on 
Pacolet ; overseer, Malechi Jones, warner, William 
Wooten. From thence to the lower Iron Works ; over- 
seer, William Poole, I. j\I. (Iron Master), warner, Geo. 
Poole. From thence to the Shoal on Fair forest, above 
Mr. Joseph Buffington's; overseer, James Smith, warner, 
Fleming Smith. From thence to Dntchman's 'Creek at 
Widow Smith's ; overseer, Capt. William Smith, warner, 
Thomas Thornton. Thence to Blackstock's road ; the 
same and same. 

Ordered that Major Ford and Samnel Farrow view 
the gronnd and condnct the road from Blackstock's F^'ord 
on Tyger to IVInsgrove's on Enoree; overseer, Sampson 
Bobo, warner, Edward Hooker. 

Ordered that the clerk issue the orders to the several 
overseers. 



*This is near and just below Nazareth Church. 
tAdam Graniliujr place. 



History of Spartanburg County. 21 

Court adjourned until Court in Course. 

The minutes were signed by 

Baylis Earle, ^ 
Henry White, [■ Esq'rs. " 
John Ford, ) 

" December Court." 

" At a County Court began and held for the county of 
Spartanburgh , at the plantation of Thomas Williamson, 
on the third Monday in December, 1785, Court met ac- 
cording to adjournment, at three o'clock, and at four 
o'clock adjourned until to-morrow morning at nine 
o'clock. 

Tuesday, the 20th day of December, 1785, the Court 
met according to adjournment. Present: Baylis Earle, 
John Ford and Henry Machan Wood, Gentlemen Jus- 
tices. 

William Shaw, Esq., produced his commission to 
authorize to be admitted to practice as an attorney in 
this State. Ordered that he be entered on record and 
admitted to practice in this Court. 

Jacob Brown, Esq., produced his license to plead and 
practice in the several courts in this State as an attor- 
ney. Ordered that the said Jacob Brown be admitted 
to practice in this Court. 

Ordered that no attorney be admitted to practice in 
this Court in future unless licensed by the judges of the 
Supreme Court, according to law. 

Daniel Brown, Esq., produced his commission to 
plead and practice as an attorney in this State. Ordered 
that he be entered on the records and be permitted to 
practice in this Court according. 

Mr. Joseph Buffington produced a commission from 
His Excellency the Governor, authorizing to act as 
coroner for the county of Spartanburgh. He was quali- 
fied accordingly. 

On motion, ordered that Thomas Williamson have 
license to retail spirituous liquors and keep a private 
house of entertainment on his applying to the clerk for 



22 History of Spartanburg County. 

the same and conforming to the rates prescribed by the 
Conrt. 

Grand jnrors drawn to serve this Court — Andrew 
Barry, John Barry, Charles Moore, Daniel McClary^ 
William Poole, Israel Morris, Edward Mitchison, David 
Golightly, William Benson, William Lipscomb, Charles 
James, Robert Goodlett, Sr., and George Bruton. 

The grand jury being drawn, empaneled and sworn 
by the county attorney, in behalf of the Court, delivered 
a charge unto them, and forthwith they withdrew. 

Ordered that the court-house and public buildings be 
established and erected on the lands of Mr. John Wood, 
on the waters of Fair Forest, on a small hill near the 
said John Wood's dwelling house,* according to the 
first appointment. 

Court adjourned until the third Monday in March 
next, at Mr. John Wood's, the place appointed. 

The minutes were signed by Baylis Earle, John Ford, 
Henry Machan Wood." 

* According to the best information which the writer has obtained, 
the place referred to above was at or near the present Carver's mill, 
on Fair Forest creek and near the Southern railway crossing of said 
creek. It has been erroneously stated by some writers of local history 
in Spartanburg county, that the John Wood referred to was the same 
that was murdered by the Tories, iinder the leadership of "Bloody 
Bill" Cunningham, on Lawson's F'ork, which occurred in November, 
1781. The census list containing the names of heads of families in 
Spartanburg county for the year 1790, shows that there was a John 
Wood living in said county di:ring that year, and as the record states, 
" on the waters of Fair Forest" (not on Lawson's Fork), we think 
there can be no mistake as to the locality where the county courts 
were at this time convened. 



CHAPTER III. 

In the preceding chapter it is stated, as shown by 
the public records of Spartanburg county, that " the 
court-house and public buildings be established on lands 
of Mr. John Wood, on the waters of Fair Forest, on a 
small hill near said John Wood's dwelling-house." We 
would further state that the county offices and^ public 
records were conveyed and kept there during the time, 
the courts were held there, and the question seemed to 
be settled for a time that this was to be the permanent 
location of the site for the court-house and public build- 
ings for Spartanburg county. We quote further from 
the records as follows : 

"March Court, 1786." 

" At a County Court began to be holden at the j^lan- 
tation of John Wood, on the third Monday in March, 
1786, present John Ford, James Jorden and Henry 
Machan Wood, Gentlemen Justices. The Court pro- 
ceeded to draw a grand jury. They are as follows, to 
wit: Thomas Wadsworth, Joseph Wofford, William 
Tate, Iden Gowan, John McEhemy, John Timmons, 
John Nichols, Wm. Smith (capt.), George Salmon, 
William McDowell, Robert Nelson, William Poole, 
I. M., John Russel, William Foster, Henry Wells. 

Charles Goodwin, Esq., admitted as an attorney to 
practice in this Court on his producing admission in the 
Court of Common Pleas, at our next Court. 

Petit jurors for March Court — Richard Harrison, 
Robert Goodgion, William Simpson, Jesse Council, 
Christopher Casey, Alexander \^ernon, John Smith, less., 
Roland Cornelius, James Wofford, John Ward, James 
White, Isaic Morgan, James Richey, Shands Golightly, 
James Keen and Joseph Venable. 

(23) 



24 History of Spartanburg County. 

Thomas Benson, appointed deputy sheriff, was duly 
sworn in open court. 

Ordered that a road be opened from McDowell's Mill, 
on No Pacolette, to Spartanburg Court House. Over- 
seer, Thomas Bennett ; warner, John Conner. 

Ordered by the Court that a road be laid out and 
opened from the main road at or near Major Farrow's, 
by Belville, to Capt. David McDowell's ; thence the 
nearest and best way across the Forks of Pacolette to 
the State line into the road that leads by David Miller's, 
from Major Farrow's aforesaid to Lawsonfork, overseer, 
John Williams, warner, Christopher Long ; from thence 
to Pacolette, overseer, David McDowell, warner, John 
Conen ; from thence to North Pacolet, overseer, John 
Freeman, warner, John Carrol ; from thence to State 
line aforesaid, overseer, John McKnight, warner, Robert 
McMillen. 

Ordered, that a road be opened from William Jam- 
ison's to widow Bishop's, on Lawson's Fork, overseer, 
William Jamison, warner, Robert Henderson, 

Court adjourned until to-morrow morning, nine 
o'clock. The minutes were signed by 

John Ford, 
James Jorden, 
Henry Machan W^ood. 
•* * * * * * -» * * * 

The June term of court, 1786, was held at John 
Wood's place and was presided over by Baylis Earle, 
Henry White, James Jorden, John Ford and Thomas 
Wadsworth. 

The following were the petit jurors for the term, viz.: 
Richard James, John White, Landon Farrow, Moses 
Timmons, Joseph Barnett, Rowland Johnson, Frances 
Nevil Way land, Isaic Hendrix, Bay ley Taylor, Jere- 
miah Silmon, Peter Smith, W^illiam Smith and Abner 
Timmons. 

" Charles Goodwin, Esq., produced his admission as 
atto." 



History of Spartanburg County. 25 

The September Court, 1786, was held at John Wood's 
and was presided over by James Jorden, Thomas Wads- 
worth and Richard Harrison, esqnires, with the follow- 
ing as grand jurors : Martin Armstrong, Thomas 
James, Josiah Culbertson, William Foster, Wni. Poole, 
William Ivipscomb, John Gowin, George Bruton, Alex- 
ander Ray, Moses Casey, Thomas McKnight, David 
Lewis, Anthoney Coulter, Thomas Williamson, John 
Redman, Sam'l Lancaster, Wm. Tate, xMexander Ver- 
non, Daniel McClain, Wm. Ford (upper), and Thomas 
Farrow\ 

The following were the petit jurors : Robert Mc- 
Dowell, W^m. Bird, David Lewis, Lawson Bobo, George 
Connel, Henry MofTatt, Wm. Crocker, Wm. Melling- 
ham, Thomas Mellingham, Sam'l Jackson, Peter Elder, 
Jason Moore, Thomas Hannah, John Moore, Andrew 
Mellingham, John Golightly, Isham Yearby, John Alex- 
ander, James Jackson, Charles Smith, James Smith, 
Absolem Thomson and James Gilmore. 

William Tenner Thomason was appointed at this 
term to serve the county as constable for one year. 

The September term of court, 1786, convened at 
John Wood's third Monday of same month. 

Thomas Peters Cams, Esq., produced his certificate 
■of admission as an attorney and solicitor in the courts 
of law and equity in this State, which was enrolled on 
the records. 

It was also ordered at this term that William Poole, 
Iron Master, have license to retail spirits and keep a 
public house of entertainment. The same privilege is 
also- granted to iVlexander Alexander. 

But one more term of court was held at John Wood's 
place. This was convened at the regular term, third 
Monday in December, 1786, and was presided over by 



26 History of Spartanburg County. 

Thomas Wadsworth, Richard Harrison and Samuel 
Lancaster, esquires. The following is recorded : 

"The determination of the governor and council 
respecting the court-house being produced and received, 
the court agreed to adjourn to-day and meet at Mr. 
Thomas Williamson's to-morrow, agreeable to said 
order, said order filed in clerk's office. Court then 
adjourned until to-morrow morning nine o'clock, to- 
meet at Thomas Williamson's. Tuesday, 19th Decem- 
ber, 1786, court met according to adjournment." 

It would seem from the following clause in the min- 
utes of the court proceedings that there was some deter- 
mined opposition when the proposition was made to 
remove the county site from John W^ood place to 
Thomas Williamson's plantation. 

" Ordered, That the order respecting the Courthouse 
and other public buildings be reversed until the deter- 
mination of the Legislature. Protested against, be- 
cause it originated in an idea of carrying the Court- 
house back ; and because it is finally determined and 
cannot constitutionally be taken up again. 

Richard Harrison. 

^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ zf^ ^ -i^ 

Ordered, That the clerk's office be kej^t at Mr. Samuel 
Porter's plantation on Lawson's Fork, being the plan- 
tation whereon William McDowell lately lived, until 
otherwise ordered. 

* * ;): >|; ^ :!; ;!; * * 

Ordered, That the Justices meet on the nineteenth 
day of January next, to agree on the plan of the public 
buildings, and on the twentieth of said January to let 
said buildings as commissioners, and that the clerk ad- 
vertise the same as general as he can possibly. And 
that all absent members of the court be notified to 
appear on the above mentioned days at this place." 

The Justices wdiose names are written met on the 
nineteenth day of January, 1787, agreeable to an. 



History of Spartanburg County. 2y 

order of court entered on record 23d December, A. D. 
1786 (to wit) : Baylis Earle, Richard Harrison, Sam'l 
Lancaster, and Obediah Tremmier, Esq's. 

A memorandum of the dimensions of Spartanburg 
Court-liouse as agreed on the 19th of January, A. D. 1787 : 

Pursuant to the above order of court (to wit) : 30 feet 
long by 20 feet wide, 12 feet pitch square roof, the tim- 
bers well proportioned by the rules of architecture, in a 
good and sufficient manner. The shingles of heart pine 
nailed on with 6d. nails, 21 inches long, to show 7 
inches. Weather-boards 6 inches wide of quartered 
plank to show 6 inches, and beaded, nailed with 6d. 
nails. Two doors of a common size, one on each side. 
Good casings and the doors plain. Six twelve-light 
windows, good casings and sashes, with glass 10 by 
6 inches, two in the end of the court-room and one in 
each side, and two in each jury room. Six feet taken 
off the length for jury rooms by a partition of plank 
well confined, and that subdivided into rooms 10 feet 
by 8 by a light partition. The jury rooms elevated 4 
feet above the floor of the court-room, and steps leading 
up into each. The justice's bench to be elevated 4 feet 
above the floor, done up with plain, smooth plank in a 
circular manner, and stairways leading up at each end. 
A jury bench on the floor within the circle and conve- 
nient boxes for the sheriff. A clerk's table and an attor- 
ney's bar at a convenient distance in front of the justice's 
bench. The eaves of the house boxed and corniced and 
the whole done in a workm.anlike manner. 

A GOAL 

of 16 feet square, 10 inches squared oak logs, with a 
partition of square oak timber of the same size crossing 
the front at 6 feet distance from the door. The largest 
room divided by a partition of logs of the same size. 
Through each partition a door of 3 feet wide. Casings 
to the doors 10 inches by 4. Doors of a proportioned 
thickness such as are common to jails, and strengthened, 
by iron bars of a common size. A common -sized jaiL 




u 



History of Spartanburg County. 29 

lock to each door. The two lower back rooms ceiled 
with good two-inch oak jDlank. One of the lower rooms 
in the ceiling to be laid off in checks of 4 inches dis- 
tance and a spike of 4 inches long drove into each 
center section. The other back room ceiled with the 
same kind of plank, and checked at 12 inches distance 
and spiked in like manner. At the height of 7 feet a 
floor of the same kind of plank and sized timber, and 
spiked at fonr inches distance over the back room ; that 
spiked in like manner, the floors of the other to be 
spiked as the wall, five feet from the upper floor to the 
plates whereon the roof is placed. The roof to be 
sheeted with inch plank and shingled with 21-inch 
shingles to show 7 inches. Steps from the front room 
up to the upper floor. Four windows to the goal of 10 
inches square cased with iron bars of half an inch thick- 
ness, two bar grates crossing each other in each window. 
The foundation to be of logs of the same size of the 
walls, raised one foot from the ground, and the under 
part filled up with large stone. 

The whole timbers ta be let into each other. The 
partition to be duf tailed into the wall at each end. The 
upper floor to be let into them by shoulders, and the 
whole to be completed in a workmanlike manner. 

THE PILLORY, WHIPPING-POST AND STOCKS 

to be done in a uniform manner to the other buildings, 
such as is usual and will answer the purpose. The 
Goal, Stocks and Pillory to be finished in the present 
year, and the Court-house to be completed in the space 
of two years, to commence from the first day of this 
instant, January, 1787. 

The sum of twenty-five pounds to be paid at the 
ensuing June court, and the balance to be paid in four 
equal payments at the expiration of each succeeding six 
months. 

And should paper currency become a tender in law 
and a depreciation should ensue, the undertaker not to 
be injured in the payment. 

Ordered, that the sheriff proceed to let the buildings 



History of Spartanburg County. 31 

to the lowest undertaker, and take bond with sufficient 
security for the faithful performance thereof. 

Bayus Earle, "^ 

Richard Harrison, [ p , 
Samuel Lancaster, ' ^^ ^^' 
Obediah Trimmier, J 

Agreeable to the above order, the sheriff proceeded to 
let the buildings, but as the undertaker that attended 
had not time to make proper calculation of the costs, 
the letting said buildings are deferred until the first day 
of February next, at which time the sheriff is directed 
to let said buildings at the lowest terms offered, whether 
the Justices attend or not. And if the sheriff do not 
attend, the attending Justices or Justice is hereby 
authorized to do the same. 

The Justices whose names are after written signed 
this order. 

Bayus Earle, ^ 

Richard Harrison, [ p , 
Obediah Trimmier, [' "^ ^^' 
Sam'l Lancaster, J 

The justices met agreeable to the above order on the 
first day of February, 1787, and let said building to 
Richard Harrison esquire, for the sum of two hundred 
and four pounds, who gave bond, as they required, 
which bond is ordered to be filed in the clerk's office. 
They then received as a donation from Thomas William- 
son two acres of land for the use of the county, which 
they then proceeded to lay off, and ordered that said 
Thomas Williamson be required at the next court to 
convey the same in fee simple to the said court for the 
use of said county." 

The contract being duly signed, the first public build- 
ings for our country were erected. The court-house is 
said to have been erected within a few steps of the Mor- 
gan Monument, on Main street. 

With regard to the permanent location of what is 



32 History of Spartanburg County. 

now the city of Spartan buro-^ which was once the plan- 
tation of Thomas Williamson, there is an ancient tradi- 
tion, which we have always doubted, but which we 
give to the reader for what it is worth. It is said that 
the location of a suitable county-site was placed in the 
hands of a committee, who had been hunting all day 
without agreement. Having previously provided them- 
selves with a jug of whisky, they selected a camp for 
the night at a little spring in the hollow^ in rear of 
the Spartan Inn. Having imbibed freely from the con- 
tents of the jug, they had a social jollification and de- 
clared that the court-house should be located there, and 
they discontinued further search for a better place. 



CHAPTER IV. 

.^SPARTANBURG CITY — BEGINNING OF HER GROWTH AND 
PROSPERITY — THE SUCCESS OF HER BUSINESS ENTER- 
PRISES — PROGRESSIVE INDUSTRY OF HER PEOPLE — 
HER ACHIEVEMENTS AS A COMMERCIAL CENTER, ETC. 

In a former chapter of this work we have shown the 
■circumstances under which the present progressive city 
of Spartanburg acquired its location w^hich, as stated, 
was on the plantation of Thomas Williamson. This 
fact we obtain from examination into the proceedings 
■ of the first county courts held at said place, between the 
years 1785 and 1790. (See page 26.) During the first 
quarter of a century of her existence we have no record 
whatever, and as there was not a newspaper published 
in the town earlier than 1843 or 1844, we have found it 
necessary to gather our information mainly by inter- 
views with some of the older residents who formed a 
part of the -population of the town during the period 
referred to. Among those with whom the writer 
sought an interview was General B. B. Foster, now 
deceased. In 1894 General Foster, then a citizen of 
Union county, S. C, stated to the writer that his 
recollection of the town of Spartanburg reached back 
for nearly three quarters of a century.* In speaking 
of the first buildings of prominence, he said that he 
remembered well the old Tolleson house, the leading 
hotel of the town where the Palmetto House was after- 
wards built (N. E. corner of Main and Church streets 



*He was then seventy-seven years of age. 

(33) 
3 h s c 



34 History of Spartanburg County, 

now known as Palmetto corner). Across the street 
from this stood the grocery store of James Alley (father 
of James and Henry). He also stated that in his early 
recollection, there were no houses between x\lley's store 
and Kirby Hill on which stood the residence of Muse 
Tolleson, and between Tolleson's house and Fair Forest 
creek there was only one house. This was the house 
of Jammie Seay, — a soldier of the Revolution. The 
house stood off a short distance to the left of the road 
leading to the stream. On the road (now Main street) 
leading from the Palmetto corner towards White's mill 
on Lawson's Fork, there were but very few houses. 
Rudisail's shop stood where Cantrell's carriage establish- 
ment was located. The next house was Goldthaits, an 
old lawyer, which stood opposite the old Harris black- 
smith shop, and long before the latter was built. Along 
Main street up and down about the old Walker House, 
on the site of which is the present residence of Colonel 
Joseph Walker, was a race-path, where on public days, 
horses would be run. From Goldthait's house until 
what is now Garrett's spring was reached there was not 
a house, but to the right of this, where Richard Thomson 
afterwards built, there was an old log house. 

General F'oster further stated that from where the old 
court-house stood (corner of Main and Magnolia streets) 
to the residence of Elisha Bomar, which stood between 
the present court-house and graded school, there was 
not a single house, all the land between these points 
being thickly covered with chinkapin bushes and black- 
jack trees. Only one house stood between Mr. Bomar's 
residence and Chinkapin Creek. This was the Willis 
house, which was some distance from the Bomar resi- 
dence. 

After leaving Mr. Jesse Cleveland's residence, which 



History of Spartanburg County. 35 

stood near the spot where the Trimmier bookstore is 
now located, and the public house which was afterwards 
the residence of Colonel G. Cannon, there was not a 
house in that direction for a long ways. 

Colonel Foster further stated that under the adminis- 
tration of Thomas Poole as sheriff, Mr. Jesse Cleveland 
bought all the lands between the present Palmetto 
(Dean's) livery-stable and Wofford College, including 
the place of Colonel J. H. Evins, for $1.37 per acre, and 
used the same as a cow-pasture.* 

Among the old Spartan files, dated March 27th, 1856, 
under an article headed "Historic Views of Spartanburg, 
or F'acts and Memories of Eighty Years," we find much 
interesting information as to the early settlement and 
growth of the town of Spartanburg. In this we find 
that the first settlers were Thomas Williamson, Wm. 
Wells, Thomas Edison, Alexander McKie, David Faust, 
Obadiah Watson, Muse Tolleson, James Brannon, Jesse 



*While in conversation with General Foster, he recalled some pleas- 
ant recollections of Jesse Cleveland, who at that time was the merchant 
of Spartanburg. General F. had seen him mount his old flea-bitten 
gray (a horse upon which he hunted deer) and start to Baltimore to buy 
goods. His teams would start several days ahead of him. Among 
the teams which he employed to haul goods was that of ' ' Old Wag- 
oner," James Ballenger, an honest, genial, whole-souled farmer, resid- 
ing on the waters of North Tyger (now the plantation of Mrs. Marga- 
ret Oeland). Mr. Ballenger at that time kept the finest team of horses 
in the up-country, and spent much of his time in hauling goods to 
Spartanburg and other places from Charleston, Augusta and Balti- 
more. General F''. remembered that when a boy, at his father's old 
place (the present residence of Mrs. E. H. Bobo, near Cedar Spring), 
that the approach of Mr. Ballenger's team was always announced by 
the ringing of the bells, which was then a great attraction to him. 

Referring to the residence of Mrs. Bobo as being the old homestead 
residence of his father, Anthon}^ Foster, General Foster stated that 
this was the first brick-house built in Spartanburg county; that he, 
with others, rode the horses that made the mortar to mold the brick 
that were used in building that stately old mansion. 



36 History of Spartanburg County. 

Cleveland, B. Benson and H. Brown. The first named, 
Thomas Williamson, sold to Wm. Wells, who hailed 
from Mecklenburg county, N. C, his lands upon which 
the town was located. 

"He (Wells) was the father of Jehu Wells, deceased, 
who was the ancestor of Mrs. Allen, wife of Woodard 
Allen and Mrs. Moss. Mr. Wells represented the dis- 
trict in the Legislature about 1800.* He afterwards 
sold his land, or part of it, to Wm. Thomson, and moved 
to the apex of the hill whereon L. B. Bishop and R. 
Bowden and others resided, known as the southern end 
of Hamburg. Thence he came on the north side of the 
ravine and erected a house near where the residence of 
Mrs. Cleveland stood. Thereafter he sold to Obadiah 
Watson, who was a hotel-keeper, and left Spartanburg 
in 1809. Muse Tolleson (half-brother of Alfred and 
J. B. Tolleson) married the 25th of May, 1809, and re- 
tailed goods in the house occupied by Watson, which he 
bought, and in a building that lately stood in front of 
the Palmetto House and afterwards owned by Colonel 
W. W. Harris. Alexander McKie was also a merchant, 
and lived a part of the time in an old house where Lee 
& Briggs had a grocery store. Messrs. Cleveland & Ben- 
son were merchants, and came to Spartanburg in 1808. 
They were both single, and boarded at the time with 
Thos. Ellison, who was a hotel-keeper and merchant. 
Mr. Ellison then resided in a building that stood at the 
lower end of Mrs. Cleveland's lot. He afterwards built 
the house now owned by Mr. Gentry, which at the time 
was regarded as very superior in taste and architecture 
to any building. in town. David Faust was a tailor, and 
lived in a neat little house afterwards owned by Peyton 
Turner, which is about where the opera-house stands. 
James Brannon (or Branon) was also a merchant, and 
sold goods in a house that stood where the late old court- 
house was afterwards built, which is now the site of the 
Duncan building. The land was bought from him for 



*I790 to 1800. See Record of Senators and Representatives. 



History of Spartanburg County. -t^-j 

the location of the court-house. Brannon moved to 
Spartanburo- in t8o8, and left in 1828. He resided on 
the Kirby Hill, which originally belonged to Wm. Poole, 
iron-master, the father of Thomas Poole, senator from 
Spartanburg, and Miss Jane Poole, well remembered by 
the older citizens of the town. This hill was sold by 
Mr, Poole to Wm. Shaw, a stranger, originally from 
England. Mr. Henry Brown came to Spartanburg in 
1809. The house he tenanted was partly in ruins (1856), 
and stood in the hollow adjacent to Mr. O. Burgess's 
residence. Mr. Brown was the grandfather of Alfred 
Brown. His house went to Spartanburg with him. It 
is said that it was fitted together near Mr. John Bomar's 
residence, three miles from the village, and rolled there. 
Where Mr. John Maxwell now lives there stood a hand- 
some house. It was occupied by J. D. Plunkett and 
Wm Hunt successively. They were both lawyers. Be- 
sides them there were John Earle, Isaac Smith, Major 
Wm. Trimmier and Major E. Roddy. 

To 1820 there were no physicians in Spartanburg. 
In that year Dr. R. M. Young moved to that place and 
pursued his profession successfully for many years. In 
the same year Dr. Irby, of Laurens, commenced the 
practice of medicine with bright prospects, and Dr. 
Thomas also, who afterwards became a Methodist min- 
ister. All of these, in course of time, moved toother 
parts. Of the lawyers mentioned, only two were living 
in 1856. One of them (Mr. W. Hunt) had the honor of 
having been the legal preceptor of Hon. James Edward 
Henry." 

It was not until 1839 that a church was organized in 
the town of Spartanburg. This was the present First 
Baptist Church. This was constituted February 23d, 
of said year, the late Rev. John G. Eandrum being 
chosen its first pastor. The First Methodist Church was 
organized soon afterwards, the Rev. Thomas Hutchings 
being its first pastor. The Presbyterian Church, in said 
town was organized 5th Sunday in August, 1843, by the 



38 History of Spartanburg County. 

Rev. S. B. Lewis, but Rev. Z. L. Holmes was installed 
as the first pastor. The corner-stone of the church of 
Advent (Episcopal) was laid July 23d, 1850, and the 
erection of the present substantial rock building soon 
followed. 

From all that can be gathered, it would appear that 
the town of Spartanburg as far as future progress was 
concerned, remained in a state of apathy for a long num- 
ber of years. There were many causes for this, but the 
principal one, doubtless, was the rapid emigration from 
the district from time to time, to the countries of the 
great West. The U. S. census for Spartanburg District 
for 1840 shows a white population of 17,980 ; the same 
for 1850 shows 18,358. During this decade there was 
an increase of only 378 white inhabitants. 

At the beginning of the year '50 the population of 
the town of Spartanburg had not reached more than 
one thousand, and not until about this time did there 
appear to be an increased and active energy on the part 
of the people to advance the business prosperit}^ of the 
town. As an evidence of this, we quote from an edito- 
rial from Spartan files under date of November 20th, 
1849, which reads as follows : 

"Our town (Spartanburg) is improving more rapidly 
than formerly ; homes are going up in almost every 
direction ; building lots are being laid off by purchasers ; 
and more than usual activity and interest are being 
manifested by our citizens in the way of private enter- 
prise. During the past week property in real estate in 
this town has changed hands by way of sale and pur 
chase to the amount of $7,000 and $10,000, and still 
there are large transactions in progress of negotiation. 
The purchasers generally are among our most enter- 
prising citizens." 



History of Spartanburg County. 39 

These facts as stated were significant of a rapidly 
growing prosperit}' due, no doubt, largely to a prospec- 
tive railroad connection which was accomplished ten 
years later. 

As proof of what has been stated above, we gather 
information from other sources. 

Hon. Joseph W. Tucker, on assuming editorial control 
of the Spartan, January, 1851, in a salutatory address, 
after commenting on the prospective fortunes of his 
native district and those of the town in which he had 
the pleasure to reside, stated further as follows : 

"We have in our district (county) a white population 
of about 20,000 persons ; a comparatively large space of 
territor}', say about 40 by 60 miles ; an abundant and 
varied supply of unfailing water-power and other facili- 
ties for manufacturing purposes ; inexhaustible quanti- 
ties of iron and lime embedded in our soil ; a climate for 
health such as is almost unknown in regions less favored 
by nature ; niimerous fountains of mineral water scat- 
tered over the whole territory, having almost every 
medicinal element in chemical union with nature's bev- 
erage ; a population at once sober, industrious and order 
loving ; a railroad in prospect, which we will never give 
up until we hear the noisy engine leading off our prod- 
ucts to the great marts of commerce." 

With regard to the future of the town of Spartanburg^ 
the same eminent writer predicted in language as fol- 
lows : 

"Our town is steadily and rapidly increasing ; and is ex- 
hibiting the unmistakable evidence of vital energy and 
prosperity. We shall soon have a college in the suburbs of 
our pleasant town ; which will have its origin under the 
most favorable auspices ; the Rev. Benjamin Wof- 
FORD having bequeathed the sum of $100,000 for its 
establishment and endowment. This institution will 



40 History of Spartanburg County. 

attract to our quiet and healthy neighborhood its due 
share of wealth, intelligence and refinement of the State ; 
and must induce the expenditure of large sums of money 
annually, proportionate to the increase and prosperity of 
the college. With all the advantages, natural and 
moral, what can prevent the District of Spartanburg 
from becoming prosperous, enlightened, independent 
and influential ? Nothing but want of spirit — her in- 
ability to perceive her own vital interests." 

We have quoted in part this editorial prophecy to 
show how true it has come to light with reference to 
the city of Spartanburg. The final completion of the 
Spartanburg and Union Railroad during the year 1859, 
for which much credit is due to Colonel John L.Young as 
president, and to Colonel Glenn D. Peake and Geo. W. 
Peake, superintendent and engineers,* proved to be a 
new era of prosperity that had dawned upon the district 
and town of Spartanburg, notwithstanding the four 
years of bloody war which soon followed, causing for a. 
time a suspension of all business industry. 



* A notable event in the town of Spartanburg was the great railroad 
barbecue which took place near the old S. & U. R. R. depot, on Fri- 
day, November 25th, 1859. It was indeed a day of rejoicing in Spar- 
tanburg, the day on which the first trains arrived which marked the 
completion of railroad connection with Union, Columbia, Charleston 
and other places. For ten years the completion of the road had been 
an object of cherished hope now realized. The barbecue was attended 
by countless thousands of women, men and children. By common 
consent it was a holiday for the colored people, who turned out en 
masse. The writer was present on that occasion, and cannot express 
the pride, exultation and enthusiasm manifested on the arrival of the 
"iron horse." It was nearly one o'clock before the first train arrived 
from Union. The people waited wearily, but their flagging spirits- 
were revived when nearly four miles away the piercing notes of the 
steam whistle were heard reverberating ever the hills. Soon the 
crowded train and laboring engine approached, shrieking her sum- 
mons to the living masses lining the road to clear the track. Such a 
shout of welcome was never before witnessed in Spartanburg, which. 



History of Spartanburg County. 41 

The war being- over and peace again reigning over 
the country, notwithstanding there were yet many draw- 
backs, a renewed life and energy was imparted to the 
rapidly increasing population of the town of Spartan- 
burg, which in a few years gave a sufficient number of 
inhabitants as to entitle her to become incorporated as a 
city. Since then so rapid has been the upbuilding, prog- 
ress and industry of the city in every line of advance- 
ment and industry that we are unable to follow further 
in detail. With the rapid development of the South 
since the civil wair, the city of Spartanburg has kept 
pace with a majority of other rival cities with equal ad- 
vantages and surroundings, and with the foothold 
already gained it can scarcely be conceived what will be 
her future importance, greatness and magnitude. 

In 1870 Spartanburg had 1,050 inhabitants; in 1880, 
3,258 ; in 1890, 5,550, and it is believed that the com- 
ing U. S. census for 1900 will show a population of more 
than 14,000 inhabitants. 

The educational institutions, churches, manufacturing 
establishments and particularly the cotton mills, within 
the corporate limits of the city of Spartanburg will re- 
ceive proper notice in this work under other headings. 
Suffice it to say that as a city, Spartanburg is scarcely 
excelled as a distributing point for the Piedmont belt, 
of South Carolina, having already railroads in five 

was followed by the enlivening music of the brass band. A rush was 
made for the stand, where a reception was tendered Colonel Young and 
other officials of the road, and which was followed by an appropriate 
response by him. Hon. Bail Edney, of North Carolina, was principal 
orator of the day. Then followed the devouring of the barbecued 
beef and loaves of bread which had been provided in sufficient plenti- 
fulness to feed the multitude. At night a ball was tendered Colonel 
Young and other officials of the road at the Palmetto House, which 
ended the program of the day. 



42 



History of SpartanburCx County. 



different directions, viz. : Charlotte,* Columbia, Augusta, 
Atlanta and Asheville, and is the metropolis of the most 
prosperous county in the state, producing corn, cotton, 
tobacco, grapes and the grasses, and abounding in the 
minerals gold, lead, copper, iron and limestone. 




New Jail at Spartanburg. (Erected 1895.) 

Within the limits of Spartanburg city is the largest 
cotton mill in the South, having 35,000 spindles under 
one roof, and within the circle of a twelve-mile radius are 
nine cotton mills (not including the Lolo mill at Valley 
Falls in course of construction) aggregating over 
141,000 spindles and employing nearly 50,000 operators. 



*The first telegram message ever received at the office at Spartan- 
burg was on the completion of the line from Charlotte to that place 
and was as follows : — 

"Received from Char otte, N. C, Sept. 14th, 1873; addressed to 
Intendant of Spartanburg. 

"The 'Hornets of old Mecklenburg' congratulate the 'Sons of 
Cowpens ' upon your first communication over the telegraph wire of 
the enterprising Southern & Atlantic Telegraph Co. i^i- .-^ 

W. F. Davidson, Mayor. " 



History of vSpartanburg County. 



43 



ii|il» 



The city has gas, electric lights, electric motor cars 
under way to connect with the adjacent villages and 
towns, water- works and a complete system of sewerage ; 
hotels with modern style accommodations ; has an 
abvmdant supply of excellent water ; graded and mac- 
adamized streets ; has some fifteen churches repre- 
senting the various denominations, and besides the col- 
leges Wofford and 
Converse, has the ! 
Wofford fitting 
school and eight 
graded schools, thus 
affording excellent 
educational advan- 
tages. There are 
also five leading 
newspapers in 
Spartanburg. The 
Spartan^ Herald^ 
He a dligh /, Free 
Lance ^ and Even- 
ing Telegram^ all 
doing a good work 
in advancing the best interests of the country. In ad- 
dition Spartanburg has three banks with capital of not 
less than, $300,000 with ecjual amounts of deposits, a 
free public library, an opera-house and a handsome city 
hall ; has within her limits every class of progressive 
enterprise and business industry, including two ice 
plants and bottling works, grist, flour and planing mills, 
door, sash and blind factories, etc. 

Besides these, both the city and county can boast of 
a large and handsome court-house, with all modern con- 
veniences and with offices well fitted up for the conve- 




New Court-house at Spartanburg. 
(Erected 1895.) 



44 History of Spartanburg County. 

nience, comfort and accommodation of all the county 
officials, and further, there is near by a large and com- 
modious jail of recent construction and after the latest 
and most modern style of improve-ment, thus affording 
security and safety to criminals and ample protection 
against assaults from the outside. 

The municipal government of Spartanburg is fully 
alive to the climatic, health and natural advantages of 
the city, possessing as it does an altitude of 1,020 feet 
above the level of the sea, which insures at all times a 
delightful climate and the great blessing of health. 
Truly it may be said that Spartanburg, founded on the 
original plantation of Thomas Williamson in 1787, is a 
growing city, and its immediate future is full of promise. 
In coming years the city is destined to become one of 
the chief inland cities of the southeast. 



CHAPTER V. 

A GENERAI, REVIEW OF THE PROGRESS OF EDUCA- 
TION IN SPARTANBURG COUNTY FROM ITS ORGAN- 
IZATION (1785) TO THE PRESENT TIME. 

For more than a half century from the beginning of 
the history of Spartanburg county proper the educa- 
tional facilities, as provided by law, were very poor as to 
the masses of the people, and the number of schools 
limited. 

We have made inquiries for information and statistics 
at the oflEice of the Superintendent of Education in Colum- 
bia as to the number and character of schools taught in 
Spartanburg county in the early period of her history, 
but could gain no information whatever, and the only 
matter touching upon the same which we have found 
is recorded in Sims's History of South Carolina (see 
Appendix, p. 331), which contains a report of returns 
of the State census for 1839. This report shows that 
for Spartanburg county there ivere taught during said 
year only nine schools^ ivith an attettdance of one Jnindred 
and fifty scholars and an expenditure of Si^joo. It will 
be observed that this report is made fifty-four years from 
the date of the organization of the county. 

For some valuable information, obtained other than 
the sources referred to, we are indebted to Major William 
Hoy for a series of interesting articles contributed to 
the county press, covering a period of many years, 
giving some information as to the first schools and 
school-teachers in the early history of Spartanburg 
county. 

( 45) 



46 History of Spartanburg County. 

In referring to the early school-teachers, Major Hoy 
says : "In making inqniry for the first school-teachers 
in the connty, I find that the first three that there is any 
tradition of were Rev. IV. C. Davi\ Judge Smith and 
Mr. Bhindell. The first tivo rose to national fame^ 
Davis in Theology. He wonld compare favorably with 
Edwards of New England, and Chalmers of Scotland. 
I have heard one of the daughters say, that he taught 
on the Tyger while he was pastor of Nazareth Church. 
It is known that there was a classical school at Rock 
Spring, on Charles Moore's land, several years before 
1800." 

It is further stated that Davis was the teacher of this 
school, and that among the pupils were Postmaster- 
General Barry, under Jackson's administration, and after- 
wards Envoy Extraordinary to Spain. 

It is also stated that Dr. Andrew B. Moore was pre- 
pared for college at this school and that his preparation 
was excellent. 

Davis, while recognized as an eminent minister of 
the Presbyterian Church of South Carolina, yet en- 
tertained peculiar views on some theological questions^ 
of zvhich he had a considerable following.^ and which 
caused for a time a division in his church, for the particu- 
lars of which the reader is referred to " Howe's History 
of the Presbyterian Church of South Carolina." 

Judge William Smith,* another school-teacher men- 
tioned by Major Hoy, had a national reputation, as 
already stated. A sketch of him is presented in 
"O'Neall's Bench and Bar," and also by Governor 
Perry, in his "Sketches of Public Men," etc. The 



*The person here alluded to is not the Judge William Smith of 
Spartanburg county (father of Dr. John Winsmith), a sketch of whom 
will appear at another place. 



History of Spartanburg County, 47 

place where he taught school in Spartanburg county is 
not given, but it is stated that among his pupils was 
Richard Thomson, father of H. H. Thomson. While 
it is said that Mr. Thomson possessed a good business 
education, it is further stated that the school of Judge 
Smith is the only one he ever attended. 

While Judge Smith, it is said, possessed excellent 
learning, yet the statements are conflicting as to where 
he received his education. One is that he was educated 
in Virginia, while Judge O'Neall states that he was a 
schoolmate of Andrew Jackson's which, if true, was 
probably in the Waxhaw settlement, in Lancaster county, 
S. C, where the latter w^as born. 

It is further stated of Judge Smith that in early life 
he was very poor. He married earh', and is described 
as traveling the circuit on foot when he commenced the 
practice of law. His first case was " The State v. El- 
chander," in which he appeared as attorney. Elchan- 
der, it seems, put up all the money he had in gambling ; 
lost it and then put up his horse, wdiich he also lost. 
Afterwards he secured, by some unlawful means, his 
horse, and was charged with clergyable felony, wdiich 
at that time was a hanging crime. He was tried and ac- 
quitted through the efforts of Smith, which soon placed 
him in the front rank as a lawyer. Afterwards he became 
a judge, and later a United States senator. At the age 
of seventy-eight he was tendered by President Van Buren 
a seat on the bench of the United States Supreme 
Court, which he very properly declined. 

At the time of his death, which was about the year 
1838, he was the owner of 800 slaves in Alabama and 
Tennessee. It is further stated that Elchander became 
a prominent man and a member to Congress from the 
State of Ohio, and while in Congress met his old friend 



48 History of Spartanburg County. 

Judge Smith, and amply remunerated him for his timely 
services. 

"Davis, Smith and Blundell," says Major Hoy, 
"taught in this county considerably over one hundred 
years ago. Blundell taught several schools in this 
county and Greenville since the year 1800. One notice- 
able school that he taught was on Tyger River, where 
Commodore Berry now lives. . One of his scholars was 
Nesbitt (Wilson), who went to Congress. Four of the 
Evinses, and several others of his scholars, went to the 
Legislature. One school was taught by him in the bend 
of the Enoree, near Anderson's Bridge, on the Green- 
ville side, and had about an equal number of students 
from each county. This school was very remarkable, 
as I have never heard of a male member of that school 
but what made his mark in the world, which made 
some parts of their lives unusually useful. Five of the 
Kilgores, on the Greenville side, became graduates. In 
the Dean family, on the Spartanburg side, that family 
produced at least five superior business men. This 
school produced a man that was surveyor-general and 
secretary of state. All have passed the dark valley 
long since." 

The writer, in his effort to seek information as to 
the early schools taught in Spartanburg county, and 
particularly as to the Minerva School, mentioned in 
Ramsey's "History of South Carolina," and of the 
Academies, Rocky Spring, Poplar Springs and Pine 
Grove, is indebted to Colonel Thomas J, Moore, of 
Moore, S. C. , for the following interesting letter, which 
we herein subjoin : 

Moore, S. C, March 15th, 1899. 
Dr. J. B. O. Landmim.^ Campobello^ S. C. 

Dear Sir: — As regards the matter of early education 



History of Spartanburg County. 49 

in the Tyger River section of Spartanburg county, 
about which you inquired, I beg leave to say that it is 
involved in a great deal of uncertainty. Scarcely any 
records have been preserved, so that now it is a ques- 
tion of local tradition and speculation. That some 
attention was paid to higher education, even from the 
very beginning, in fact, from the earliest settlement, 
and before the coimty was formed as it now exists, is 
to be inferred from the number of educated men who 
went forth from this section to adorn the different walks 
of life. It is not to be- supposed that all the early set- 
tlers were uneducated men. Tlie fact is, some of them 
were well educated, for instance the Jordans, and prob- 
ably old Alexander Vernon, who settled near Wellford ; 
Charles Moore and Andrew Barry, who settled near 
here, and Andrew Thomson, of the Walnut Grove sec- 
tion. The tradition is that Charles IVIoore was a grad- 
uate of Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland, or of Oxford, 
England. At any rate, he is described, in a deed of 
land on file in North Carolina, as a '-^scJiool-teacJier."' 
Dr. Howe, in his "History of the Presbyterian Church 
in South Carolina," says that Andrew Barrv received a 
liberal English education before he came to this coun- 
try. I have in my library a Greek Testament with this 
inscription, in a beautiful hand, " Andrew Thomson, 
Ejus Liber, Anno Domini 1772," thus showing his 
acquaintance with two classic languages. In the back 
of the same book is inscribed, " Lawson Thomson, 
A.D. 1791," and "Andrew W. Thomson, A.D. 
1809," thus showing for many years they studied the 
Scriptures of the New Testament in the original lan- 
guage. It has already been said that there must have 
been schools of a high order at a very early date, 
wdiich fact is inferred from the number of young men 
who were sent away to distant colleges ; amongst the 
number I may mention, in this connection, only two — 
Wm. Taylor Barry, who went to Kentucky and filled 
many high positions, including the Postmaster-Gen- 
eralship under President Andrew Jackson, and Dr. 

4 h s c 



50 History of Spartanburg County. 

Andrew Barry Moore,* who graduated in Dickinson 
College, Carlisle, Pa., in 1795, and afterwards took his 
degree of M.D. at some medical college and settled 
near here, where he lived and died, celebrated as an 
eminent physician. 

Dr. David Ramsay in his " History of Sonth Caro- 
lina," in writing on edncational matters in Spartan- 
bnrg District as it then was, mentions "the Minerva 
School of a Ingh order of abont twenty scholars," and 
^'a flonrishing school at Rocky Springs." The 
Minerva school location has always been a sort of mys- 
tery to me, bnt I have no donbt now that it was in the 
bounds of Nazareth Church and was presided over or 
fostered by the pastors of that church, who were always 
men of fine education. My old grandmother f once 
pointed out to me the site of an old school, which I 
take to have been the Minerva School. The exact loca- 
tion is on the right of the Saluda Gap road as you go 
north, about midway between Mr. Rowland Gresham's 
and his mother's residences. 

Dr. Howe, before alluded to, further says that James 
Gilleland, Jr., who stood high as a linguist, taught a 
grammar school in Spartanburg District before the be- 
ginning of this century, to which school went Dr. John 
Mcllhenny and Dr. Samuel B. Wilson, Professor of 
Theology in Union Seminary, Prince Edward county, 
Va., both eminent divines. This was in 1798 to 1801. 
This was probably the Minerva School. 

At this time, in fact in 1794, Rev. James Templeton 
b)ecame the supply of Nazareth Church, in which ca- 
pacity he served eight years, devoting much attention 
to educational matters. As head, he organized the 
Philanthropic Society with the view of advancing and 
perpetuating an academy of high order, which society 
was incorporated by the Legislature of South Carolina 
in 1797. I have seen the list of incorporators, but do 
not have it by me now. I think, however, the Jordans 



* Father of Colonel T. J. Moore. 

t Mrs. Margaret Montgomery, wife of John Montgomery, Esq. 



History of Spartanburg County. 51 

of Wellford, General Thomas Moore of this section, 
and Wm. Smith of the Glenn Springs section, were the 
principal ones. This society furnished teachers to des- 
titute neighborhoods, doubtless from the Minerva and 
Rocky Spring schools. The Minerva School must have 
flourished for a good many years, for Colonel Thomas P. 
Brockman, of Greenville county, who was born in 
1799, went to school there, boarding with old Aunt 
Polly Crawford, relict of John Crawford. x\t the time 
he went there, there were a number of young men 
boarding at the same place. I will add that James Gil- 
leland, Jr., was not a preacher when he was first in 
charge of the school, but afterwards studied theology 
and ministered to Nazareth, where he had some consci- 
entious scruples on the subject of African slavery, 
which he held to be wrong in principle. He was en- 
joined by Presbytery in 1806 to be silent in the pulpit 
on this question. Unable to still his conscience he 
moved to a free State. 

Rocky Spring school, of which Dr. Ramsay spoke, 
was located one half mile north of the railroad station 
of Moore, on the left of the Saluda Gap road going 
north, opposite the present residence of Mr. W. J. Otts. 
It was patronized by the Moores, Barrys, Crooks and 
Means, the last two families living on the south side of 
South Tyger River in the vicinity of Switzer. That it 
was a fine school I have no doubt. I have seen many 
an old copy-book, arithmetic and geography in manu- 
script, generally in elegant chirography, which I would 
prize highly now if I had them, but I am sorry to say 
that I was foolish enough in my younger days to allow 
them to be destroyed along with much other valuable 
matter. The names of the teachers even have been lost 
to tradition, except a noted one named Thirlkill, of very 
early date, and Jonathan Haddon and H. D. W. Alex- 
ander, who was the last one, about 1846 or 1847, when 
the school became extinct. 

The location of Poplar Springs school is well known. 
Poplar Springs was the site of a Presbyterian camp 
ground about 1800 to 1802. The water-supply being 



52 History of Spartanburg County. 

deficient, they moved to Samuel Pearson's big spring, 
for the same reason that John was baptizing at ^'Enon — 
because there was "much water" (udata polla) there. 
When the school was established there, we do not know 
at this day. We can only go back to 1816, for in that 
year, Maj. Wm. Hoy and the late Capt. David x^nderson 
went there in their sixth year. About the year 1833 or 
1834, the Rev. John L. Kennedy, a Presbyterian 
minister, commenced a school which he taught for 
several years, four or five at least. Under him the 
school attained some celebrity. It was he who after- 
wards went to Anderson county and spent his life in 
founding and conducting the famous Thalian Academy, 
more familiarly known as "Slabtown," where most of 
the Tyger River boys were sent for preparation for life 
or college. He was succeeded by James K. Dickson, 
who taught several years. He was succeeded by B. F. 
Winslow from Vermont in 1841, who wrote a most 
beautiful hand, and in the language of one of his j^upils 
"was the most accomplished teacher that ever graced 
the academy." The succession after this was George M. 
Broyles, of Tennessee, Rev. Z. L. Holmes and Henry 
M. x\nderson, after which the school became extinct. 

During the time of the Poplar Springs school there 
must have been some years when it was vacant. This 
w^as probably before the school of Rev. J. L. Ken- 
nedy in 1833 or 1834. About this time Tyger James 
Anderson, a patron of Poplar Springs, patronized a 
school at Flint Hill taught by the Rev. John Boggs. 
Flint Hill is one half mile north of the Rocky Spring 
school, before noted, in the fork of the roads just below 
Mrs. J. J. Wood's residence. 

The Rev. John Boggs was of very small stature, but 
with great learning. He had a large family of daughters 
and boarded a number of boys. The joke is still pre- 
served that he had some long family prayers, and on one 
occasion, after the 'Amen' was said, only he and one 
other arose from their knees, the other being the late 
Dr. John C. Anderson of Alabama. When the learned 



History of Spartanburg County. 53 

divine saw the situation he said, "John, I reckon you 
had better wake them up," which he proceeded to do. 

After all these schools had run their courses, a large 
and flourishing school was established at Pine Grove, 
about one mile north of the Rocky Spring location be- 
fore noted, opposite to and a little below the residence 
of Capt. C. A. Barry. It was established in 1848, most 
probably, and was intended mostly for girls, as there 
were quite a number in the neighborhood. I remember 
to have gone there in 1849, ^^^'^ with three more little 
boys constituted the male department. 

Miss Hamilton, of Anderson county, taught in 1848, 
and Miss Mary Juhan in 1849, under both of whom in- 
strumental music on the piano was taught. The school 
these years was filled with girls from the families of 
Evins, Millers, Strobels, IVIoores, Fielders, &c. After 
this it was a mixed school. Mr. Z. D. Cottrell taught 
there in 1850 and 1851, David Jones, 1852 and 1853. 
In 1854 it was vacant. In 1855 Mr. Dick Kennedy, 
son of the old Poplar Springs teacher, taught a fine, 
large school, principally in the classics. In 1856 Mr. 
H. P. Barry taught there, after which the school be- 
came extinct. But the interest of the founders of the 
Minerva School, Rocky Spring Poplar Springs, Flint 
Hill and Pine Grove seemed to be transferred to their 
descendants, for they became, immediately upon the 
extinction of Pine Grove Academy, the founders of 
schools of a still higher order, the Reidville Male and 
Female High Schools, the former intended to prepare 
boys for college and life-work, the latter to graduate 
and confer degrees upon girls. In 1859, under the 
leadership of the Rev. R. H. Reid, these schools were 
founded, having been chartered, with a board of trus- 
tees numbering thirty members, two-thirds of whom 
were to be Presbyterians. Since then the board of trus- 
tees consists of fifteen members, divided into three classes 
of five each, one class going out of office every year. 

In 1858 the male school building having been com- 
pleted was opened as a mixed school, under the Rev. 
Thos. E. Davis, who taught it two years. 



54 History of Spartanburg County. 

The other buildings having been completed, the 
female school was opened with a full corps of teachers 
in 1859. Since then both schools have been flourishing, 
doing great good in educating the minds and hearts of 
a very large number of boys and girls. Some of my 
sweetest recollections cluster around these schools, for 
two years of my life were spent in them. The venera- 
ble R. H. Reid, the founder, is still, after a lapse of 
forty-two years, president of the board of trustees. 

Trusting that what I have said may be of use to you 
in the preparation of your book, I remain, 

Yours truly, 

Thomas J. Moore. 

Colonel Moore in his letter refers to the organization 
of the Philanthropic Society at Nazareth Church in 
1797, the Rev. James Templeton being the pastor of 
said church at the time and the prime mover of the 
steps taken leading to the organization of the society. 

The following is an extract from the first page of the 
minutes of the first meeting, which is as follows : 

April 24th, 1797. 

CONSTITUTION OF THE PHILANTHROPIC SOCIETY. 

The following gentlemen, now members of the Spar- 
tanburg Philanthropic Society, met according to a pre- 
vious appointment at Nazareth meeting-house, viz. : J. 
Jorden, Esq., Major I. Foster, Col. T. Moore, Mr. Samuel 
Nesbitt, the Rev. James Templeton, Mr. G. Benson and 
Mr. Samuel Miller. They agreed to form themselves 
into a society and signed the paper which contains their 
constitution, and is as follows : 

We, the subscribers, inhabitants of Spartanburg 
county, in the State of South Carolina, taking into our 
most serious consideration how we may best contribute 
to the public and general interests of our country, and 
knowing how a much more general diffusion of knowl- 
edge and sound literature amongst our fellow-citizens 
might, with the smiles of a kind and gracious provi- 



History of Spartanburg County, 



55 



dence, contribute to this purpose, especially how much 
it might affect the civil, political and religious interests 
of the rising generation, we do, therefore, voluntarily 
and unanimously agree to form ourselves into a society 
for the benevolent and patriotic purposes of patronizing 
and promoting the interests of learning in our county 
in particular, and throughout the State in general, as 
far as it may be reasonably and conveniently in our 
power, or as far as our influence may extend : 



Jas. Jorden, 
Isham Foster, 
Sam'l Nesbitt, 
Peter Gray, 
Jas. Templeton, 
Thos. Moore, 
Gab Benson, 
Sam'l Miller, 
Isham Harrison, 
Sam'l Farrow, 
Berryman Shumate, 
John Nesbitt, 
Wm. Wells, 
Wm. Smith, 
John Collins, 
A. B. Moore, 
Ab'm Nott, 
D. Golightly, 
Burrell Bobo, 
Christ'ph'r Johnson, 
Osborne West, 
Benj. Peak, 
Thomas Johnson, 
Wm, Farrow, 
John Harrison, 



W^m . 



Thos. Williamson, 
Thos. Patton, 
John Sloane, 
W. Lancaster, 
Hugh Means, 
Wm. Williamson, 
Arch'd Taylor, 
John Thomas, Jr., 
D. Johnson, 
Willis Willeford, 
John O'Neill, 
Samuel Morrow, 
Daniel White, 
Jas. Smith, 
Thomas James, 
John Barnett, 
Aaron Smith, 
W. Golightly, 
Wm. Ross Smith, 
Thos. Hanna, 
Moses Casey, Jr., 
William Palmer, 
Wm. Kingsborough, 
R. S. Saunders, 
A. Casey, 
Wilbanks. 



The writer is indebted to Major A. H. Kirby for a 
manuscript memoranda relating to the early schools 
taught in the village of Spartanburg. In 1837 Major 



56 History of Spartanburg County. 

Kirb}'* became a resident of what is now the city of 
Spartanburg when a boy of only eight summers, and at 
that time the old Male Academy (which was located 
near the old Spartanburg union depot) was in operation. 
It w^as a substantial brick building, which stood for 
many years after the school was discontinued. 

At the time Major Kirby came to Spartanburg this 
school was being taught by Jonathan Hadden, who was 
a fair type of the old schoolmaster of those days. He 
was strict in discipline and always opened the school 
with a short prayer. He was an elder in the old Naza- 
reth (Presbyterian) Church, and resided about half w^ay 
between the court-house of Spartanburg and said church 
(boarding in the Yillage and returning home every Fri- 
day afternoon). 

At an earlier period in his life, perhaps about 1825, 
Jonathan Hadden taught a school in the vicinity of 
Wellford, of which the maternal guardian of the writer, 
was a pupil. In his childhood days he has often heard 
her speak of him as among her early instructors and of 
some amusing incidents in connection with the school. 
Mr. Hadden would not only open his school with prayer, 
but at that day and time, when Sunday-school education 
and training was deficient, he would at its close in the 
afternoon catechize his scholars on the Scriptures. His 
pupils were not always as well posted as he would have 
washed for. On one occasion, in answer to the ques- 
tion, "Who was the wisest man?" a little boy answered 
with a loud and clear voice, " Old Solomon Thompson, 
sir!"t It has been stated by another, however, that 



* Major Kirby received the honorar}- title of Major from the fact 
that he commanded for four years the Lower Battalion, 36th Regi- 
ment South Carolina militia, from 1856 to i860. 

t See Griffith's " Life of Landrum," p. 139. 



History of Spartanburg County. 57 

these offhand shoots from the little urchins nnder his 
charge were by no means indicative of the standard of 
scriptural knowledge in the school, and the good man 
impressed man)- lessons of inspired truth upon his pupils, 
which yielded rich fruit in after years. 

Previous to 1837 Major Kirby learned that E. C. 
Leitner and, perhaps, other teachers, had run the Male 
Academy at Spartanburg successfully, drawing pupils 
from some of the lower districts. 

Major Kirby further states, that at the year referred 
to (1837) there was also a female school in Spartanburg 
village, known as the Spartanburg Female Seminary ^ 
which was located on Main street, on the lot now occu- 
pied by Captain Petty and Mrs. Jennings, which was in 
a fairly flourishing condition. It was taught by the 
Rev. James Boggs of the Presbyterian Church, assisted 
by his wife and daughters. They also kept up a Sun- 
day-school during the spring and summer months, as 
there were then no organized Sunday-schools in the 
churches. 

About 1839, there seems to have been an advanced 
movement in the matter of schools in the town of 
Spartanburg, both for males and females. An effort 
was made to secure the services of an accomplished 
teacher for the Female Seminary, which resulted in the 
choice of Miss Phebe Paine, who landed in Spartan- 
burg during said year as a " Yankee school-teacher. ' ' 
She was a native of one of the New England States, 
and her reputation as an educator was claimed to be 
equal to any in the United States, and by reason of this 
fact she was offered situations where money and pat- 
ronage exceeded that of Spartanburg, notwithstanding 
the Female Seminary then, while under her care, was 
liberally patronized, and she had under her charge some 



58 History of Spartanburg County. 

of the very best young ladies, both in the town and 
country, and about as many as could be boarded in the 
town. 

Miss Paine, when she came to Spartanburg, brought 
with her two sisters and a niece. Miss Webb, from Car- 
lisle, Pa., who assisted in the various departments of 
the school, which was kept up for several years. She 
also brought with her at this, or some subsequent time, 
Miss George Anna Moore, a music teacher, and also a 
pupil and assistant, Miss Mary Owen, who afterwards 
became Mrs. Mary Owen Dean. All of these ladies 
possessed rare accomplishments and intelligence, and 
did their full share to advance the educational interest, 
both in the town and country at that time. 

After Miss Paine had taught in Spartanburg for a 
number of years she accepted a situation at Cokesbury, 
S. C. , where she also taught with success. In late years, 
upon the completion of the Spartanburg Female College, 
she returned to Spartanburg and was employed as one 
of the teachers of that institution. After teaching for 
several years she returned North. Her reputation as a 
female teacher still increased, and her latter days, it is 
said, were more brilliant than the first. She lived to 
the advanced age of ninety years, and among the chroni- 
cles of the illustrious dead, for the year that she died, all 
over the world her name was given prominence as a 
noted instructor of youth. 

Among the lady teachers referred to as coming to 
Spartanburg with Miss Paine, we will state that during 
the forties Miss George Anna Moore married to Mr. A. J. 
Vernon, Aliss Webb to Dr. R. M. Daniel, and Miss Mary 
Owen to Hon. Hosea J. Dean. 

After the retirement of Miss Paine as principal of the 
Female Seminary at Spartanburg, the school was sue- 



History of SpartanburCx County. 59 

cessfully taught for se\-eral years by ]\Iiss Louisa Ham- 
ilton and Miss Rosa Wallace, of Anderson, S. C, and 
also by Miss Foster (afterwards Mrs. D. C. Judd), Miss 
Hood, Miss Harlow and others. The last named was 
also employed by the Drs. Curtis in the Limestone Fe- 
male High School for several years. 

In 1849 the Female Seminary at Spartanburg was 
presided over by Rev. Z. L. Holmes, assisted by Mr. 
C. F. Judd ; and in 1850 an advertisement appears in the 
Spartan files announcing the employment of Miss Tup- 
per, of the Troy (N. Y.) Female Seminary, who had 
been sent out by ]\Iiss Willard, of that celebrated insti- 
tution, to establish one of a similar character in the 
South. She was assisted by Miss Temple, a lady well 
known for her musical attainments and critical knowl- 
edge of the French language. 

Returning again to the Spartanburg Male Academy, 
we will state that about the time ]\Iiss Paine took charge 
of the Female Seminary there, Rev. Erastus Rowley and 
Milton Rowdey (both from the North) were secured as 
teachers for that school, and under their management 
quite a number of boys and young men were drawn to 
the school from the lower districts, among them the 
Keitts, Housers, Dantzlers, Wannamakers and others. 
There was also Matt Wallace and others from Union 
District, for it was then considered a classical school, pre- 
paring young men for college. 

After the withdrawal of the Rowleys from said school, 
the same was taught successfully and successively by 
Elias Hall, Major John A. Leland, Z. D. Cottrell, William 
Irwin, Rev. Clough S. Beard and others, all of whom 
were first-rate teachers. 

Among the early schools taught in Spartanburg county 
was one opened up at Mt. Zion (near Welford) by Rev. 



6o History of Spartanburg County. 

John G. Landrum, in 1836. Mr. Landrum had taught 
successfully schools at Wilbanks schoolhouse in Union 
county and at Clayford Academy, on the waters of Law- 
son's Fork (near the present residence of Mr. Calvin 
Foster), and at Rock Spring, on the waters of North 
Tyger River (near the Isaic Morgan homestead residence), 
prior to the opening of the school at Mt. Zion. His 
biographer states that " he opened a school at Mount 
Zion, into which he gathered the boys and girls of the 
neighborhood, and it was not long before his reputation 
as a teacher had extended beyond his immediate locality, 
and pupils came from other communities to avail them- 
selves of the benefits of his instruction." At one time 
in this school he was assisted by Mr. Memory N. Chap- 
man, who possessed a finished education for that day, 
and enjoyed the reputation of being one of the finest 
penmen in the State. Afterwards he represented Spar- 
tanburg county in the State Legislature for several years. 
Mr. Landrum's biographer further states : " He (Lan- 
drum ) continued in charge of the school at Mount Zion 
for a period of ten or twelve years. His school at this 
place became very popular, and was attended by many 
who afterwards occupied eminent positions in life. His 
house was open to boarders, as were the houses of the 
neighborhood, and on the school-roll were the names of 
the Chapmans, Wingos, Highs, Fosters, Turners, Bomars, 
Ballengers and others."* 

Among the early pioneer school-teachers in Spartan- 
burg county was Christopher Golightly, who taught back 
in the thirties. He was also a land surveyor, and in the 
-capacity of teacher or surveyer he was rather above the 
^average man of his day. Although possessing by nature 



'See Griffith's " Life of Laiidrum," pp. 65 and 143. 



History of Spartanburg County. 6i 

some eccentricities, he was, notwithstanding, a man of in- 
telligence, force of character and sterling integrity. He 
was the father of eight sons, three of whom were known 
personally to the writer, viz.: William, Richard and 
Patillo. All of these tanght in different portions of the 
upper part of Spartanburg district in the forties and per- 
haps in the early part of the fifties. Possessing as they 
did many of the peculiar characteristics that belonged 
to their father, they were nevertheless teachers of more 
than ordinary intelligence and abilit}^, and were not only 
well versed in the English branches but taught Latin 
and the higher mathematics. William, the oldest son 
(father of Mr. J. Calvin Golightly, on South Pacolet), 
was instructed in the schoolroom by his father until he 
was eighteen years old. He then went to the town of 
Union, S. C, to a boarding-school, and learned Latin, 
Greek and Algebra ; but Latin was his favorite through- 
out his life. His instructor at this school was Wm. E. 
Clowney, who afterwards became a representative in 
Congress of the Congressional District of which Spar- 
tanburg formed a part. 

William Golightly also taught music and was at times 
associated with William Walker (A. S. H.), Henry 
White and Isaac Neighbors ; he married when a young 

man a Miss Vaughn, seventh daughter of Vaughn, 

who was also a school-teacher in the early history of 
Spartanburg District. He came from Virginia to South 
Carolina soon after the close of the Revolution peddling 
on cotton cards, and married a Miss Leach, who belong- 
ed to a family representing the early settlers around old 
Fort Prince. 

Christopher Golightly, the progenitor of the Go- 
lightlys referred to, married a jNIiss Harrison, daughter 
of Richard Harrison, one of the first county court 



62 History of Spartanburg County. 

judges for Spartanburg county and whose name is men- 
tioned elsewhere. The late James Moss and Andrew 
Barry were his brothers-in-law, having also married 
daughters of Mr. Harrison. 

As early as 1845 or '46 a good school was taught at 
Ridgefield Academy, a schoolhouse near Hill's old fac- 
tory, at that time, one of the best school buildings in the 
county. The first school taught there was by Professor 
John W. Wofford (brother of Dr. Jos. L. Wofford, Cher- 
okee Springs), who was a graduate of Athens College, 
Georgia. He taught two years and then became a can- 
didate for the legislature to represent Spartanburg 
county, on the side of prohibition, at that time an un- 
popular issue, and was defeated, but received a very hand- 
some vote. He then emigrated to Mississippi and filled 
some important offices. While in charge of the Ridge- 
field Academy, very liberal inducements were offered to 
pupils outside the neighborhood to patronize the school. 
At the house of Mr. Joseph Wofford students were 
boarded at the low rate of $4 per month, washing and 
lights included. It was a very large school ; the teacher 
was employed and pay assured by Thomas Young, 
Samuel Tucker and Joseph Wofford. Among the pupils 
who attended this school was Major John Bankston 
Davis of Campobello, S. C, who was a man of general 
reading and intelligence and possessed a scientific educa- 
tion, particularly in the higher mathematics, and had a 
first-class reputation as a land surveyor and civil 
engineer. 

As early perhaps as 1825, a teacher of some promi- 
nence, whose name • was James Hutchinson, taught 
successfully at an academy in the vicinity of Cross 
Anchor, the school building standing near the present 
New Hope (Baptist) church. Among the pupils who 



History of Spartanburg County. 63 

attended this school was the late Hon. Simpson Bobo, 
Colonel O. E. Edwards, and the children of Col. Thomas 
Farrow, who lived near by. The accidental burning of 
the schoolhouse put an end to the further progress of 
the school.* 

Major Wm. Hoy, in his articles to the county press, 
states that Henry Patillo Barry taught long in the section 
of the present town of Switzer, and that among his pupils 
were several members of the Switzer family, Mr. Miles 
Gentry, Dr. Ward and others. He also states that among 
the girl pupils was Miss Lnla Tucker, who has long 
had the reputation of being among the best educators 
in the State of Florida, and is still engaged in that pro- 
fession. 

Near Trinity Church, in the vicinity of Cross Anchor, 
was taught, in the years gone by, a flourishing school. 
This was called the Pear Field schoolhouse, and among 
the teachers who taught there were Chana Stone and 
Simpson Burnett, and among the chief patrons was 
Mr. Johnny Rhodes. 

Mr. Hezekiah Ducker, who lives within a few miles 
of Cross Anchor, at the advanced age of seventy-eight 
years, was a successful school-teacher in Spartanburg 
county back in the forties. In 1847 or 1848 he taught 
at Davis Academy, on Cane creek, near the home of 
"stone-cutter" John Davis. He, Davis, owned a quarrj- 
on Cane creek, and was noted for his fine millstones. 

Among the pupils who attended the school of Mr. 
Ducker during the year referred to, was Captain John W. 
Wofford, of Henderson ville, N. C. It might be further 
said of Mr. Ducker in this connection, that he was a 
gallant Confederate soldier, though advanced in years. 



*The writer obtains this information from Mrs. Levi vStone, living 
near Cross Anchor, now eighty-seven years old. 



64 History of SpartanburCx County. 

and was among the first volnnteers of Company "D,"~ 
3d S. C. Regiment of Volnnteers. 

Of the schools in the vicinity of Woodrnff we can- 
gather bnt little information. In 1851 the Bethel Acad- 
emy was presided over by Dr. John Dean, and in 1853. 
by Mr. M. D. Kennedy, assisted by Mr. W. F. Pearson,, 
and later by Mr. E. F. Davis, author of a "Universal" 
schoolbook. Hon. Edwin H. Bobo, of Spartanburg, 
who was a graduate of Oxford College, Georgia, also- 
taught there for a few years prior to the civil war. 

Mr. Henry G. Gaffney, now aged about ninety years, 
has recalled some pleasant recollections in connection 
with his schoolboy days in the vicinity of Gaffney. 
Under date of July 25th, 1896, Mr. Gaffney states 
through the county press as follows : 

"I can give a good many dots from my own knowl- 
edge as to Feudal Robertson, the one-legged school- 
teacher, and from other reliable sources. He taught 
school from my boyhood ; for several years at the 
schoolhouse about one mile up the old Georgia road 
and about 200 yards west from the Pole Bridge branch 
in the woods near James Cooper's old place . . .If 
I was able to get out there I could point out the spot 
where the old bull-pen, as it was called, was located, 
where we all played ball under different names, viz.: 
town-ball, cat, etc. The girls also played with us and 
caught the ball in their aprons. , I could give several 
names and where they lived, but would make it very 
lengthy. ' ' 

As early as 1825 Wm. W Hasting began a school 
which lasted about fifteen years near Van Patten's 
Shoals on Enoree. In the course of said time he pre- 
pared students for higher institutions of learning, and, it 
is said, taught as many as fifteen students that after- 
wards graduated in medicine, and among these were 
three Drs. Westmoreland. He was a good scribe, wrote- 



History of Spartanburg County, 65 

-with a quill pen ; had twelve children aiyl gave all of 
them a fair education. 

The writer recalls some pleasant memories in connec- 
tion with his schoolboy days at old Fort Prince Acad- 
emy, and among the teachers there by whom he was 
instructed was Dr. Oliver G. Chapman, afterwards a 
prominent physician in Hunt county, Texas ; Mr. Cal- 
vin Foster, who resides near Campton, S. C; INIrs. M. 
A. Wood, of Rusk county, Texas, who was a first honor 
o;raduate, before the civil war, at the Holstein Confer- 
-ence M. E. College, located at Asheville, N. C, and Mr. 
Leland Jackson, of Jackson Hill, S. C, who subse- 
quently removed to the West. 

The writer also attended a school at Beech Springs 
(near Howell's I\Iill), taught by Mr. Oliver P. Richard- 
son, who might be styled as a typical representative of 
the "old field" school-teacher of his day. He taught 
the English and mathematics only, with considerable 
ability. He was, however, an excellent citizen and 
progressive farmer, a civil magistrate holding the scales 
■of justice equally between all, and was for several years 
judge-advocate of the 36th Regiment South Carolina 
militia on the staffs of Colonels Snoddy and Vandyke. 
He married Miss Hester Wingo, and removed to Texas 
before the civil war ; and by this marriage he had one 
son to graduate at the Military Academj^ at West Point. 

At New Prospect Academy flourishing schools were 
taught during the years '58, '59 and '60. In '58 by the 
Rev. T. J. Earle, a graduate of IMercer University, 
Georgia, assisted by Mr. Wm. H. Ray, a graduate of the 
South Carolina Military Academy at Charleston, Mr. 
Earle afterwards opened up a flourishing seminary for 
hoth sexes at Gowensville, S. C. , which was liberally 
patronized at home and from abroad and which re- 

5 h sc 



66 Hlstory of Spartanburg County. 

mained in a fy^osperous condition for a number of years 
after the close of the war. In 1859, the school at New 
Prospect was presided over by Mr. L. Perrin Foster, a 
graduate of South Carolina College, assisted by Miss 
Angle Edwards, who was a graduate of the Moravian 
college at Salem, N. C. In i860 the same school was 
taught by Mr. Thomas Lee, son of the celebrated 
teacher, Colonel Stephen Lee, of Asheville, N. C, as- 
sisted by Mr. Sanniel Lancaster, a popular teacher in 
the neighborhood. During the years '59 and '60 
the writer attended these schools for a period of ten 
months each year, which ended his days as a pupil 
in the schoolroom. The great civil war coming up, 
both Mr. Foster and Mr. Lee volunteered in the 
service of their country. The former was a lieutenant 
of Company K, 3d Regiment South Carolina Volunteers, 
and was killed at the battle of Fredericksburg, The 
latter (Thos. Lee) , was at first color corporal of the 
5th Regiment South Carolina Volunteers and later 
a corporal of Company D, Palmetto Sharp Shooters, 
commanded by Captain Alfred H. Foster, and died 
of disease at Charlottesville, Va., September i6th, 
1 86 1. Two braver or more patriotic spirits never 
entered the service of their country or sacrificed their 
lives in its defense, than Perrin Foster and Thomas. 
Lee. Their memories will always be cherished by the 
writer, who held both in highest esteem as his instructors 
in the schoolroom and who afterwards suffered with 
them great hardships in the years of the bloody war 
which followed. 

In 1842 or '43 Colonel Stephen Lee, father of Thomas 
Lee, just mentioned, started a select school for young 
men at the homestead residence of Dr. Alfred Moore, 
which subsequently became the town of Welford, S. C. 



History of Spartanburg County. 67 

We have been unable to gather much information in 
reference to this school, but its curriculum was high, the 
object being to prepare young men for college. Col. 
Lee afterwards removed to Asheville, N. C, where he 
conducted a school of the same character for many years. 
During the civil war he was colonel of the i6th Reei- 
ment N. C. Volunteers. 

In 1842 a male academy was opened at Glenn's Spring 
for the benefit of the resident families. The most prom- 
inent of these were Mr. John C. Zimmerman, Dr. David 
Peake, Dr. Maurice A. Moore, Mr. R. A. Gates, and the 
Winsmiths and Smiths who lived near by. The school 
was first taught by Mr. John Eison, a prominent educa- 
tor in his day. Young men from all parts of the State 
went to this academy to be prepared for the South Car- 
olina College. Afterward Rev. Clough Beard, a Metho- 
dist minister, had charge of the school for a number of 
years until his death in the sixties. 

In addition to the schools already mentioned in the 
town of Spartanburg, there were still other good schools 
taught there before the war. One of these was the Odd 
Fellows' school, which was opened up in the old Baptist 
church lot back of where the new court-house now 
stands and near the new jail. This was taught for a 
year or so by Major David R. Duncan, who, after his 
graduation in the Randolph Macon College in Virginia, 
came to Spartanburg, his father then being a professor 
in the Wofford College. 

About the year 1854, or 1855, a good school was 
taught at Fingerville for a number of years, and among 
those who taught successfully there, were Captain 
Samuel C. Means and Esquires Elias Johnson and 
Samuel Lancaster, and among the patrons were the late 
Colonel Gabriel Cannon, Mr. Jos. Finger, the McMillens, 



68 History of Spartanburg County. 

McDowells, Whites, Fosters and other progressive fam- 
ilies on the Pacolets. 

The St. John's College, for young ladies, was opened 
about 1854 or '55 at Spartanburg, under the manage- 
ment of the Episcopal Church at that place. This was 
at a later period changed into a high school for boys, 
with a military feature, under the tutorship of Captain 
J. E. Black. 

WOFFORD COLLEGE. 

In December, 1850, Rev. Benjamin Wofford died, 
leaving one hundred thousand dollars for the establish- 
ment and endowment of a college for literary and scien- 
tific education, to be located in Spartanburg District, to 
be under the control and management of the Conference 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church of South Carolina. 
The town of Spartanburg secured the location of this 
college by donating the land whereon the elegant build- 
ing was afterwards erected. 

The college, known as Wofford College, was named 
in honor of its foiuider. The following gentlemen com- 
prised the first Board of Trustees, viz. : 

Rev. H. A. C. Walker, President ; Revs. W. A. Game- 
well, T. R. Walsh, W. A. McSwain, C. Betts, C. S. 
Walker, J. R. Pickett, Esquires SimjDson Bobo, J. 
Wofford Tucker, Harvey Wofford, George W. Williams, 
Robert Bryce and Dr. J. H. Dogan. 

In 1854 the buildings of the Wofford College were 
completed and in October of the same year the college 
was opened with the following able faculty : 

Rev. W. M. Wightman, D.D,, President ; Professor 
of Mental and Moral Science. 

David Duncan, A.M. , Professor of Ancient Languages. 

Rev. Whiteford Smith, D.D. , Professor of English 
Literature. 



History of Spartanburg County. 69 

James H. Carlisle, A.M., Professor of Mathematics. 

Warren Dupre, A.M., Professor of Natural Science. 

R. W. Boyd, A.B., Principal of Primary Depart- 
ment*. 

After the resignation of Dr. Wightman, about 1858, 
Rev. A. M. Shipp was made President, who served for 
several years, when he was transferred to Vanderbilt 
University, Nashville, Tenn. 

James H. Carlisle, LL.D., was then elected President 
of the college, and has been ever since ably presiding 
in that capacity. 

Wofford College, at this writing, is in a flourishing 
condition, with a faculty of eminence and distinguished 
ability, and with first-class modern equipments, and 
ranks among the first in the South. 

James H. Carlisle, A.M., LL.D., President of Wof- 
ford College, Spartanburg, S. C. , was born in Winnsboro, 
Fairfield county, S. C. , May 4th, 1825. He is a son of 
Dr. William Carlisle, a native of the north of Ireland, 
who was born in 1795, came to America in 1818 and 
located at Winnsboro, S. C. He was a physician by pro- 
fession and practiced in South Carolina for thirty years, 
dying in 1866. He was twice married, his first wife 
being JMary Ann Buchannon, also a native of Ireland, 
who died in 1858, leaving six children — four sons and 
two daughters — the subject of this sketch being the 
second son. He was reared partly at Winnsboro and 
partly at Camden, S. C. In 1844 he graduated from 
the South Carolina College and began the vocation of a 
teacher, which he has since followed. For nine years 
he was an instructor in a classical school in Columbia. 
Upon the opening of the Wofford College, in 1854, he 
was elected professor of mathematics. In July of the 
same year he removed to Spartanburg and has ever 



70 History of Spartanburg County. 

since been a member of the faculty of Wofford College, 
embracing a period. of forty-four years. vSince 1875 he 
has been its President, his immediate predecessor in 
office being Rev. A. M. Shipp, D.D. 




James H. Carlisle, LI^.D. 

Dr. Carlisle is one of the ['few surviving members of 
the State Convention which met in Charleston and 
passed the ordinance of secession, December 20th, i860. 
He was also elected a representative^ from Spartanburg 
to the State Legislature in 1864. This was doubtless 
against his wishes or inclinations, but [it was at a time 
in the history of South Carolina when men of sound 
judgment and eminent ability were needed in her legis- 
lative halls. 

Dr. Carlisle was married December 12th, 1848, to 



History of Spartanburg County. 71 

Miss Margaret Jane, daughter of Robert Bryce, a mer- 
chant of Columbia, S. C. She died in 1891. They 
had three children, two of whom are living. 

Dr. Carlisle is one of the best educators in the South- 
ern States, and has lectured quite extensively. He is 
the author of "The Young Astronomer " and editor of 
a volume in the Chautauqua course containing the lives 
of Thomas Arnold and Roger Ascham. He is an 
honored and distinguished member of the Methodist 
Church South, and has been a member of several of its 
conferences. 

Among the citizens of Spartanburg who have won 
distinction and by their humble walk in life have met 
popular approval, respect and admiration, none are more 
prominent than Dr. Carlisle. He is deeply interested 
in the Sunday-school work and in the moral and intel- 
lectual development of the rising generations of our 
country. In reviewing his great and lofty character 
three distinctive traits appear to be prominent, viz. : 
largeness of heart, nobility of soul and brilliancy of in- 
tellect. 

SPARTANBURG FEMALE COLLEGE. 

While the Wofford College building was in course of 
■ construction the ministers and some of the laymen of 
the South Carolina Conference began to agitate the 
question of building a female college, and Spartanburg, 
by a liberal subscription of money and lands, secured 
the location and very soon after Wofford College was 
opened, the Spartanburg Female College was opened 
also and successfully operated. The first professors and 
teachers of that institution were : 

J. Wofford Tucker, President; Rev. Charles Taylor 
and Miss Phebe Paine, professors, and other assistants 
ibesides the music teachers. 



72 History of Spartanburg County. 

After the resignation of Mr. Tucker, Rev. Charles; 
Taylor was elected President, who served about one- 
year and was succeeded by Rev. Joseph Cross, D.D. 
The latter was succeeded by Professor Wm. K. Blake- 
about the year 1858 or '59, who presided over the insti- 
tution with eminent ability until towards the close of 
the period embraced in the civil war, and then the insti- 
tution was closed for several years. During the time 
that President Blake had charge of the institution pre- 
ceding the war he was assisted by Professor Charles 
Petty, and during the war and perhaps a short time 
before by Professor Falk of Virginia. 

After the war, about 1870, the college revived under 
the management of Rev. S. B. Jones, D.D,, and Rev. 
S. Lander, D.D. The latter withdrew, however, in a 
few months and Dr. Jones remained at the head of the 
institution for several years, when, on being chosen 
President of the Columbia Female College, it was- 
deemed advisable to close up the Female College at 
Spartanburg, which was done. This ended its career. 
The property falling into the hands of Rev. R. C. Oliver^ 
was opened as an orphanage and kept open as such 
for a time, but for want of a liberal patronage, or for 
some other cause, it was closed. Later the same build- 
ings were converted into the Fitting School for the 
Wofford College, but the adjacent location of the fac- 
tory buildings made them no longer desirable for edu- 
cational purposes and the Wofford Fitting School was. 
transferred to another locality. 



CHAPTER VL 

A GENERAL REVIEW OF THE PROGRESS OF EDUCATION^ 
IN SPARTANBURG COUNTY CONTINUED. 

The Limestone Springs Female High School was 
founded in 1846 by Rev. Thomas Curtis, D.D., and his 
son, Rev. Wm. Curtis, D.D. (See sketches elsewhere 
in this work.) The substantial and elegant brick build- 
ing in which said institution was begun was built bv a 
joint stock company, mostly low-country gentlemen, for 
hotel purposes, the famous Limestone Spring near by 
being an attraction, with the Race Paths at the Gaffney 
place, one mile distant, where the finest horses the 
country afforded were groomed, exercised and run, and 
these, together with the close proximity to the moun- 
tain region, offered special inducements to establish a 
popular resort for the summer season ; but a financial 
failure of the company caused the property to be adver- 
tised for sale, which was purchased in the fall of 1845 
by the Drs. Curtis. Here was established for the edu- 
cation of females an institution which acquired a wide 
reputation and liberal patronage, which soon made it 
one of the most popular schools in the South. The 
number of pupils amounted sometimes to nearly three 
hundred, and the roll showed them as representing almost 
every State in the South. The co-principals brought to 
this institution the most distinguished talent that could 
be obtained, and all of the higher branches of literature 
were taught, including music and the fine arts. In 
short, the tone of education was set high, care being 
taken to cultivate the mind to points of refinement and 

(73) 



74 History of Spartanburg County. 

elegance, which was successfully done at this institu- 
tion, and which was operated for about fifteen years, 
when the untimely death of the senior principal and 
the civil war between the States, which came up a few 
years later, put an end to its existence for a time. 
Several 3'ears after the war in the same building a 
school was begun (1874) under the auspices of others, 
but not with any marked success until the opening of 
what was afterwards known as the Cooper-Li?nesto7ie 
Institute^ which had its origin under the following cir- 
cumstances : 

The attention of the Hon. Peter Cooper, of New York, 
being called to the healthful locality and attractive 
features around Limestone Springs, he bought the prop- 
erty, including the buildings and two hundred and sixty 
acres of land. It was his purpose to so model and 
fashion and beautify that it might become his pleasant 
and attractive winter resort from the severity of temper- 
ature of more northern latitudes. Some members of his 
family strenuously objected to its use as originally in- 
tended by Mr. Cooper, and hence he donated the prop- 
erty to the Spartanburg Baptist Association. From 
Griffith's " Life of J. G. Landrum," page 221, we gather 
the following : 

" At a meeting of the Association in 1879, informa- 
tion was received through Major Thomas Bomar, to the 
effect that Hon. Peter Cooper, of New York, had inti- 
mated a willingness to donate the celebrated Limestone 
Springs property ... to some religious or 
benevolent corporation to be used by them for educa- 
tional purposes. Mr. Landrum was appointed chairman 
of a committee to confer with Mr. Cooper, and the final 
result was that Mr. Cooper donated the property, val- 
ued at $22,000, to the Spartanburg Baptist Association, 
with the provision that it is to be used for purposes of 



History of Spartanburg County. 75 

education. The Association was then incorporated bv 
an act of the legislature, a board of trustees was elected 
with J. G. Landrum as president, and in the fall of 1881 
the famous Limestone Springs Female High School was 
reopened under the name of ' The Cooper-Limestone 
Institute for Young Ladies. ' 

"Mr. Landrum worked indefatigably for this enter- 
prise, and gave it the best energies of his declining 
years. He was through life an earnest advocate of ed- 
ucation. . . . The Cooper-Limestone Institute 
was the pet of his old age." 

The Cooper-Limestone Institute was opened, as stated, 
in the fall of 1881, under the management of Professors 
H. P. Griffith and R. O. Sams, co-principals, and was 
successfully operated by them for a number of years. 
Subsequently Professor Sams retired from the Institute, 
leaving Professor Griffith in charge, which he conducted 
with marked success, notwithstanding many drawbacks, 
for ten years or more. Under his management the 
school was liberally patronized and its alumnae are found 
in the faculties of many schools and colleges of South 
Carolina and other States. 

Upon the death of Rev. J. G. Landrum in January, 
1882, Major John Earle Bomar was elected President of 
the Board of Trustees, who served faithfully and with 
efficiency for a number of years, when he was succeeded 
by Captain John H. Montgomery (in 1888), whose 
management and liberal expenditure of his private as 
well as other funds collected have placed the institution 
on safe footing. Besides his last gift of $10,000 in 
moneys and assumption of bonded indebtedness, he 
gave at one time $1,000 and $300 to the library of said 
institution. 

At the meeting of the Spartanburg Baptist Associa- 
tion in 1897 a visiting committee to visit Cooper-Lime- 



76 History of Spartanburg County. 

stone Institute and investigate its condition and needs 
reported at the meeting of the Association a year later 
that some permament arrangement mnst be made as to 
repairs and for snpplying the bnilding with water, etc. 
The Association therenpon resolved that the snm of not 
less than $10,000 be raised for Cooper-Limestone Insti- 
tute by the Association by January ist, 1899. ^^^^ name 
of the institution was changed from Cooper-Limestone 
Institute to Limestone College. 

The committee further reported, voicing its own true 
wishes and expressing the sentiment of the Association, 
that it would prefer to have the college called Mont- 
gomery College, in honor of its generous supporter. 
Captain John H. Montgomery, but solely in deference to 
his feelings and judgment suggested the name Lime- 
stone College. 

It was further provided in said resolutions that said 
committee be fully authorized and empowered to take 
all necessary steps in conjunction with the proper offi- 
cers of the Association of the Cooper- Limestone Insti- 
tute as might be required by law to effect a transfer of 
the institution to a board of fifteen trustees, to be held 
by them in trust for the Baptists of the State. Eight 
members of the first board to be elected by the Associa- 
tion, and when elected to be empowered to select seven 
other members of the board from prominent and influ- 
ential Baptists of the State, said board to be a self-per- 
petuating body, etc. 

Under this new arrangement the trustees during the 
the present year (1899) liave spent $20,000 on equip- 
ments, making it one of the most superbly furnished 
colleges in the State. The Art Department is fitted up 
in a stylish and fascinating manner ; a large historical 
library is being provided, and the trustees have deter- 



History of Spartanburg County. 77 

Tiiined to establish a department of history, to be known 
-as the Winnie Davis School of History, in which, withont 
neglecting other branches of the subject, particular 
attention will be paid to history of the Southern States. 

At the head of the institution is Lee Davis Lodge, 
an A.M. and Ph.D. of Columbian University, assisted by 
Professor H. P. Griffith, an able and popular instructor, 
together with other competent teachers in all its depart- 
ments, and which as a whole compose a strong and 
experienced faculty. 

We would further add, that the location of Limestone 
College is one of the most beautiful and romantic in 
the South, which will always command for it a gener- 
ous support and liberal patronage. 

converse college. 

The marvelous growth of the city of Spartanburg up 
to the beginning of 1889 pointed clearly to the fact 
that the educational advantages were not amply suffi- 
cient to meet the requirements of the rising generations 
in that city, and a number of her more progressive cit- 
izens, appreciating this fact, called a meeting in March 
of the same year. 

The object of said meeting was to inaugurate a move- 
ment for the building up of a high grade female school 
to be located in the city of Spartanburg. Among those 
who were present at this first meeting were D. E. Con- 
verse, Geo. Cofield, C. H. Carlisle, Jos. Walker, Bishop 
Duncan, D. R. Duncan, H. E- Heinisch, Rev. B. F. 
Wilson, Rev. W. T. Devieux, Rev. A. Coke Smith, Dr. 
Geo. R. Dean and W. E. Burnett. Steps were at once 
taken looking to the formation of a joint stock com- 
pany for such a college to start with 1,000 shares, at 
$25 per share. A committee, consisting of D. E. Con- 



78 History of Spartanburg County. 

verse, W. B. Burnett, Jos. Walker, John B, Cleveland 
and Rev. A. C Smith, was appointed to solicit subscrip- 
tions. In the course of a few weeks the requisite 
amount was raised, the beautiful grounds which em- 
braced St. John's College were purchased, and the col- 
lege was organized under the following Board of Direc- 
tors : D. E. Converse, Hon. D. R. Duncan, Dr. C. E. 
Fleming, Col. Joseph Walker, W. S. Manning, Captain 
J. H. Montgomery, Hon. J. B. Cleveland, N. F. Walker 
and W. E. Burnett. Mr. Converse was made President 
and Mr. Manning Secretary and Treasurer of said board. 

Rev. B. F. Wilson, A.B., was chosen as President of 
an able faculty ; the building of Saint John's College 
was repaired and remodeled and the first session of Con- 
verse College (named in honor of Mr. D. E. Converse) 
began Wednesday, October ist, 1890, under favorable 
circumstances and with a liberal patronage. 

In the course of one or two years, however, the main 
college building was destroyed by fire, but other build- 
ings were provided and the school only suspended 
its exercises for a few days. The same public spirit 
which gave rise to the first movement to erect a college 
building caused another, a handsomer and more com- 
modious building to be constructed. 

The institution, which was chartered by the State of 
South Carolina in 1889, was incorporated by enactment 
of the General Assembly of South Carolina in 1896, 
under the name and style of " Converse College." The 
following gentlemen are named in said Act : D. Edgar 
Converse, John B. Cleveland, Joseph Walker, John H. 
Montgomery, David R. Duncan, Newton F. Walker, 
William S. Manning, Wilber E. Burnett, Albert H. 
Twitchell, John Earle Bomar, H. Arthur Ligon and 
Benjamin F, Wilson. 



History of Spartanburg County. 79 

Converse College has at the present writing (1899) 
been in operation for nearly ten years, and has continued 
to grow in patronage and influence from year to year. 
During the past year the attendance amounted to 452 
students from 22 different States, and many applicants 
were refused for want of room space. The college is 
well equipped in every sense, and in connection with 
the buildings is a handsome Conservatory of Music and 
Concert Hall at a cost of $14,000, and an auditorium 
which accommodates 2,000 people. The college has 
purchased and completed its own electric light plant at 
a cost of $5,000, and an elegant dormitory and gymna- 
sium building, constructed of brick and granite, is in 
course of erection, which will soon be completed, at a 
cost of about $12,000. The college plant now represents 
something like $200,000 ; of this amount the citizens 
of Spartanburg contributed about $40,000 and Mr. 
Converse the balance. This does not, however, include 
the amount bequeathed to the college under the last will 
and testament of Mr. Converse, which will amount to at- 
least $100,000 more. The original contributors num- 
ber about 150 of the citizens of Spartanburg. 

Should the college grow in influence and property 
within the next ten years as it has done in the past, it 
will have sufflcient equipment to become a university 
and will continue to rank, as it does now, as one of the 
foremost institutions of learning in the South. 

REV. BENJAMIN F. WILSON, 

President of Converse College, of Spartanburg, was born 
in Sumter county, S. C, March 20th, 1862. He is a 
son of Captain Benjamin F. Wilson, of Sumter county, 
S. C, one of the largest cotton planters in said county. 
The subject of this sketch was reared on his father's 



5o History of Spartanburg County. 

farm until he arrived at the age of seventeen years, re- 
ceiving the benefit of the common schools of his neigh- 
borhood. In the fall of 1880, when eighteen years of 
age, he entered Davidson College, of North Carolina^ 
from which he graduated in 1884 as a Bachelor of Arts. 




Rev. B. F. Wilson. 

So well did he advance during these years that he re- 
■ceived medals both in his junior and senior years, the 
former of which was awarded to him as the best repre- 
sentative of the two literary societies of said college, and 
the latter as the best representative in his own society 
proper. He was elected the valedictorian of his class 
during the senior year by the literary society of which he 
was a member. Having decided to become a minister 
of the gospel, he entered, in the fall of 1884, the Theo- 



History of Spartanburg County. 8i 

logical Seminary at Columbia, S. C, in which he spent 
one year. In the fall of 1885 he entered Princeton Theo- 
logical Seminary, at Princeton, N. J., from which he 
graduated in the summer of 1887. During his first year 
there he took the second scholarship prize in Greek, and 
during his last year he took the first scholarship prize in 
Hebrew. In the summer of 1887 he became pastor of 
the Presbyterian church in Spartanburg. In 1888 he 
spent the summer in the University of Berlin, Germany, 
pursuing philosophical and philological studies. For 
the commencement in '89 he was elected by his ahna 
mater alumnus orator, and during the same year was 
elected pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, Rich- 
mond, Ky., and also, at the same time, to the chair of 
Christian Apologetics of the Central University of Rich- 
mond, Ky., both of which he declined. In the winter 
of 1889 he was elected president of the Converse Col- 
lege, which position he now holds, having presided 
over the institution with distinguished ability, as has 
been shown by its continued upgrowth, equipment and 
prosperity from year to year. Mr. Wilson is a member 
of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. He is yet young 
and talented ; and the achievements which he has already 
attained by his connection with Converse College are 
such as to foreshadow for him a continued useful and 
brilliant career. 

He was joined in marriage, July 30th, 1890, to Mrs. 
Sallie Foster, widow of J. Adolphus Foster, and daughter 
of J. C. Farrer, a resident of Union county. By this 
marriage he has several children. 

DEXTER EDGAR CONVERSE, 

the founder of Converse College, was born in Ver- 
mont in 1828, and died at his home in Spartanburg 

6 h s c 



82 



History of Spartanburg County. 



October 5th, 1899. His father was Orlin Converse, 
also a native of the same State. His grandfather was 
Paine Converse, a farmer of Massachusetts, and direct 
descendant of Edward Converse, who came from Eng- 




Dexter E. Converse. 

land to America with Governor Winthrop in 1620. 
His mother was Louisa Twitchell, a native of Massa- 
chusetts, and daughter of Peter Twitchell. She died in 
1888. 

D. Edgar Converse, when but three years old, was 



History of Spartanburg County. 83 

deprived by death of a father's care, and was placed in 
the care of an uncle in Canada, where he was reared 
and educated. This uncle was, like his father, a woolen 
manufacturer, and it was from him that the subject of 
this sketch received his first lessons in this line of busi- 
ness, which he conducted to the end of his life with mar- 
velous success. In 1850, after reaching his ^-ears of 
maturity, he went to Cohoes, N. Y., where he was em- 
ployed in a cotton mill for five years, and thus obtained 
a good knowledge of that business in all its branches. 

In 1855 he came South, and, after a brief connection 
with a cotton mill at Lincolnton, N. C, he removed to 
the present county of Spartanburg, and was employed 
in a cotton mill at Bivingsville, now known as Glendale, 
of which he soon acquired a proprietary interest, and at 
the time of his death owned a controlling interest in the 
stock. At the beginning of the war he enlisted as a pri- 
vate in Company I, 13th Regiment, S. C. V. His captain 
was D. R. Duncan. There was, however, such need of ac- 
complished manufacturers that the Confederate govern- 
ment detailed him to return -home and conduct the 
business of cotton manufacturing, requiring of his com- 
pany one-third of the product of their mill, which was 
carried out in good faith. 

After the close of the war the old factory building at 
Bivingsville was removed and a fine new establishment 
was built, the business of which grew steadily as the 
ravages of war disappeared. The name of Bivingsville 
w^as changed to Glendale, and Mr. Converse was made 
president of the new mills. In 1880, in connection 
with business associates, he purchased the water privi- 
lege and site of the old South Carolina Iron Works on 
Pacolet River, Spartanburg county, and here three new 
mills have been erected, known as Clifton Nos. i, 2 



84 History of Spartanburg County. 

and 3. The total capacity of these, with Glendale 
Mills, at this writing ( 1899), amonnts to 3,768 looms 
and 118,072 spindles. Of the Clifton Manufacturing 
Company Mr. Converse was president and business 
manager from its organization to the time of his death. 
He was a director in various other cotton mills and in 
several of the banks at Spartanburg. He was a trustee 
of the South Carolina Institute for the deaf, dumb and 
blind, at Cedar Spring, and, as already stated, the 
founder of Converse College for the education of young 
women, which will always rank among the foremost 
institutions of our country and which has added imper- 
ishable honor to his name and character. This insti- 
tution was the pride of his heart, and will endure for 
all time as a monument to his memory as lasting as can 
be carved from stone. By his last will and testament 
he bequeathed one third of his magnificent estate, 
amounting to some $600,000, to Converse College, and 
just before his death made known in writing his pur- 
pose in founding said college, which reads as follows : 

" It is my opinion that the well-being of any country 
depends upon the culture of the women, and I have 
done what I could to found a college that would pro- 
vide for women thorough and liberal culture, so that for 
them the highest motives may become clear purposes 
and fixed habits of life ; and I desire that the instruc- 
tion and influence of Converse College be always such 
that the students may be enabled to see clearly, to decide 
wisely and act justly ; and that they may learn to love 
God and humanity and be faithful to truth and duty, so 
that their influence may be characterized by purity and 
power. 

" It is also my desire and hope that Converse College 
may always be truly religious but never denominational. 
I believe that religion is essential to all that is purest 
and best in life here and hereafter. I wish the college 



History of Spartanburg County. 85 

to be really, but liberally and tolerantly, Christian ; for 
I believe that the revelation of God in Christ is for sal- 
vation, and I commend and commit the college to the 
love and guidance of God and to the care, sympathy 
and fidelity of my fellow men." 

In character Mr. Converse was benevolent and liberal 
in his contributions to all worthy objects which came 
before him. He was temperate, pure and upright, with 
lofty ideas for the elevation of humanity ; but his ex- 
cellent traits of character can be better summed up in 
the address of Dr. Jas. H. Carlisle on the occasion of 
his funeral obsequies, who spoke the following words : 

" Perhaps my acquaintance with our deceased friend 
dates fiirther back than that of almost any one else who 
speaks to-day. More than forty years ago I used to 
meet him at the religious occasions which he loved to 
encourage among his people, near his home. During 
the great war I saw him in his office, where needy 
women, the wives and widows of soldiers, had learned 
to go for help. He was old enough to bear his share in 
the burdens and dangers of the war. He was not too 
old to adjust himself to new and strange conditions 
when peace returned. While some of our citizens were 
eloquently abusing his native section and others were 
sitting down in sullen despair, he threw himself with 
all his energies into needed and honorable work, to 
help in rebuilding the shattered fortunes of our people. 
He depended for his success only on skill, prudence, 
patience and integrity. We suppose it never occurred 
to him that money might be sought in gambling specu- 
lations. He must have been endued to an unusual de- 
gree with the rare qualities to gain wealth honorably, 
and the still rarer qualities to use it wisely and imself- 
ishly. A few years ago, in this growing city, a critical 
opportunity occurred to take a- signal step forward in 
the most important fields of education. The place, the 
time, called for the man. Thrown in early life upon 
the care of a widowed mother, his own fine character 



86 History of Spartanburg County. 

a tribute of her worth, and having been privileged, in 
her case, to ' rock the cradle of reposing age,' our 
friend was well prepared to put a high estimate on 
female influence and character. Quietly, without pre- 
tense of show, he came forward and met the grand 
■occasion grandly. A man of few words, of unusual 
modesty, whose ' virtues were rather felt than seen,' it 
almost seemed easier for him to sign a large check for 
the college than to take his place on the platform on 
Commencement day and receive the congratulations of 
his friends. He took all the precautions that the edu- 
cation imparted to young women here should be safe, 
moral and religious. Perhaps no surer means could be 
taken by any man to embalm his money and give it 
earthly continuance. 

" The orphan stranger came among us without means. 
He has given to his adopted State an offering such as 
very few of her own sons, with ancestral wealth, have 
laid upon her altar." 

The wife of Mr. Converse was Miss Helen A. Twitchell, 
of Cohoes, N. Y., who survives him, with one daughter, 
the issue of said marriage. 

history of the south CAROLINA INSTITUTION FOR 
THE EDUCATION OF THE DEAF AND THE BLIND. 

Cedar Spring, situated four miles south of Spartan- 
burg, is a place of historic and educational interest. It 
was near here that two memorable engagfements took 
place during the Revolution — one on the 12th day of 
July, 1780, and the other on the 7th day of August of 
the same year. The first of these was fought near the 
Cedar Spring (known in the annals of Revolutionary 
history as Green Sprino-\ and the other mainly at the 
old Thomson place, uearGlendale (R. R.) Station, known 
in history as the second battle of Cedar Spring, or Wof- 
ford's Iron Works. In another volume we have eiven 



History of Spartanburg County. 87 

an extended acconnt of both of these battles.* To the 
mind of the present generation it at once snggests the 
home of the Sonth Carolina Institntion for the Deaf and 
the Blind. However, it mnst not be forgotten that the 
educational interest of the place dates back further than 
the establishment of the above mentioned institution. 

In 1824 the Word Academy was erected in the grove 
near the spring. This school was well attended. Rev. 
Porter, a Presbyterian minister, was the first teacher, 
the school being what was then termed a " Latin school. ' ' 
Colonel E. C. Leitner, George Packer, a Mr. Dye, Roland 
Burdette, Mr. Sims, James Smith and Mrs. Betsy Mc- 
Clintock were some of Rev. Porter's successors. Col. 
H. H. Thomson, Madison Thomson, Joel Foster, Barhani 
B. Foster, Mike Whetstone, Charles White, Calvin White, 
Javan Barnett, David Zimmerman, Colonel Joseph 
Walker, and many other well-known men of that day 
attended this academy. 

About the same date that the ffbove named academy 
was established, a number of summer residents erected 
a school building southwest of the present building of 
the School for the Deaf and Blind, and secured the ser- 
vices of Mr. Scarborough to open there an academy for 
girls. Both of these schools were among the best in 
Spartanburg District at that date. 

In 1849, Rev. N. P. Walker, having become interested 
in the education of the deaf, bought the hotel building- 
near the spring, and there established a private school 
for the deaf. On the 22d of January of that year he had 
a class of five deaf children in his school for speaking 
and hearing children. The names of these were John M. 
Hughston, E. Melton Hughston, E. Jane Hughston, 



*See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," pp. no and 135. 



88 History of Spartanburg County. 

Irene A. Cooper and Harvey W. Bennett, all of whom 
were residents of Spartanburg district. 

Before the opening of this school Mr. Walker had at- 
tended for a few months a school at the Cave Spring 
(Georgia) School for the Deaf, in which he had prepared 
himself for this special work. It was not long until this 
school had the cordial patronage of the State, and finally, 
in 1857, became a State institution. The State erected, 
in 1857-59, ^^^ present (1900) buildings. 

The founder of the South Carolina Institution for the 
Deaf and the Blind, and also his son, his successor, de- 
serve more than passing recognition and casual mention. 

REV. NEWTON PINCKNEY WALKER 

was born in Spartanburg county, S. C, November 29th^ 
1816, He, like others who have achieved success, was 
born poor, and was beset in his boyhood days by all the 
drawbacks inseparable from his adverse surroundings. 
There were struggles, to be made, there were peculiar 
difficulties in the way of his success that he had to over- 
come ; but the faithful love and labor in the great cause 
for afflicted humanity has had its reward, for to-day 
the Institution for the Deaf and Blind stands as a mon- 
umental record of his triumph. His wife had some deaf 
relatives, and becoming interested in these, he deter- 
mined to make an effort to do something for the amelio- 
ration of their condition. Hence he visited, as already 
stated, the then little school for the deaf, located at Cave 
Spring, Ga., in a log cabin, to familiarize himself with 
the methods of instructing the deaf, to enable him to 
perform a great work which was before him. But few 
men in so short a time have accomplished a more humane 
and a more Christian work. 

Mr. Richard C. Springs, of York county, S. C, a 



History of Spartanburg County. 



89 



graduate of the New York School for the Deaf, was em- 
ployed by Mr. Walker as his first assistant teacher. In 
1855 he secured the services of Professor James S. Hen- 
derson, a graduate of the Tennessee School for the Blind, 
and opened a department for the blind with Professor 
Henderson as Principal. Professor J. M. Hughston, who 




Rev. N. p. Walker. 



was one of the first graduates of this school, was for 
many years prominently associated with the school. 

Rev. N. P. Walker, the founder of the school, died 
in 1 86 1. His son. Prof. Newton F. Walker, succeeded 
his father in the management of the institution. 
Among the many beautiful tributes to the noble work 
of this father and son may be read the account given. 



90 



History of Spartanburg County. 



in the Century^ by the Rev. A. W. Moore, which we 
quote below : 

''Rev. N. P. Walker was preeminently a self-made 
man, a pioneer in the education of the deaf, a close 
student, clear but advanced in his religious views, and 
a true philanthropist. In his Annual Report of the 




I'ROF. N. F. WaLKKR. 



institution at the time it was being changed from an in- 
dividual enterprise to a State school, he says : ' This 
day, with a soul swelled in thankfulness to Heaven's 
God, I point you, my countrymen, to this institution 
as an offering of my life to the State which gave me 
birth.' 

"Professor Newton F. Walker, eldest son of Rev. 
N. P. Walker, is the present superintendent of the South 
Carolina Institution for the education of the deaf and 



History of Spartanburg County. 91 

"blind. Ha\ing filled in snccession every office in said 
institntion, from clerk in the office to that of snperin- 
tendent, he is eminently qualified for the work, as is evi- 
denced by his successful management of the school in 
all its details. 

" This school might well be termed the Walker 
School, being founded by the present superintendent 
and principally under the management of the subject 
of this sketch since the death of its founder. Few 
schools of its kind have encountered so man}' and so 
great difficulties, but Professor Walker has by his good 
sense and judgment overcome them, and to-day may be 
congratulated in that he presents his State an institu- 
tion of which she may well be proud. As his "father 
left him as a legacy to the educational interests of the 
deaf and blind of South Carolina, so he has fitted two 
sons for the same work, and promises in them to leave 
a legacy to the educational interests of the deaf of the 
United States. 

' ' PROFESSOR HORACE EPPES WALKER, 

the eldest son of Professor N. F Walker, after graduating 
from the South Carolina University with the degree of 
A. B., in 1887, accepted an offer to become a teacher in 
the ^Missouri School for the Deaf, and by close applica- 
tion to his work, has risen to the head of his profession 
as a teacher of the highest class in that institution. 

"PROFESSOR ALBERT H. WALKER, 

the second son of Professor N. F. Walker, since his grad- 
uation from the South Carolina University, with the de- 
gree of A.B., in 1889, has been teaching in the Texas 
School for the Deaf (Austin), and bids fair to make his 
mark in his chosen profession." 

The South Carolina Institution for the Deaf and the 
Blind has become the pride of the State, receiving 
yearly by the legislature an appropriation, which is 
done in a spirit of most cheerful benefaction. " The 
thorough work that is being done by the institution 



92 History of Spartanburg County. 

from year to year in opening sources of enjoyment to 
the deaf and blind, and in preparing numbers of these 
unfortunates for useful and happy lives, is appreciated 
by the people everywhere. The gifted. God-fearing 
founder builded more wisely than he dreained." 

The public school system and the facilities provided 
for public school education have all the while been on 
the increase since the system was first organized in 1870. 

According to the last annual report (1898) of Mr. B. B. 
Chapman, County Superintendent of Education for Spar- 
tanburg county (exclusive of that portion of said county 
cut off into Cherokee county), we find the following 
statement : 

Valuation of taxable property . - $10,206,399 00 

The valuation for present year in office of 

county auditor shows 11,013,841 00 

Enrollment of pupils — white 9^535 

Enrollment of pupils — colored 5,172 

Total . 14, 707 

Number of teachers employed — white . - . . 173 

" " " colored .. 72 

Total 245 

Number of schoolhouses 104 

Number of school districts . 60 

Amount of public school funds, 3 mills and 

polls $45, 200 00 

Length of school session 5 months 

The more prominent public schools* of the county are : 
The Spartanburg City Graded Schools, Reidville Female 

* The present graded school building on Magnolia street is the first 
building erected specifically for graded school purposes in the State 
outside of Charleston. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 93 

College and Male High School, Wofford Graded School, * 
Fair Forest, Clifton, Pacolet Mills, Pacolet, Inman, Lan- 
drumj Campobello, Welford Graded, Cross Anchor, New 
Prospect, Boiling Springs, Cowpens, Philadelphia, 
Glenn Springs, Disputanta, Rnral, Academy, Duncan, 
Holly Springs, Oakland, Hampton, Enoree, Bellevue, 
Center Point, Rich Hill, Glendale, Whitney, Cavins, 
Liberty, Carlisle and Woodruff. 

The Gaffney High School has been in successful op- 
eration for twenty years or more, under Professors Wm. 
S. Mc Arthur, R. M. Sams and others. The academy 
at the same place, taught by Professors Dargan, Surratt 
and others, has also had the reputation of being a good 
school. 

The Legislature of South Carolina has from time to 
time amended the school law by eliminating objectiona- 
ble features and inserting others adapted to the needs of 
the people. 

There is now a public school within easy reach of 
every family in Spartanburg county, with a constantly 
increasing number of commodious schoolhouses of mod- 
ern build, and supplied with modern and improved 
school apparatus. 

The standard of common school education has been 
greatly raised ; a higher standard is required of teach- 
ers, until now many of the public schools give the pu- 
pils not only a practical business education, but prepare 
them for the freshman class in college. 

The average length of session for the whole county is 
about five months, and quite a number of schools are 
supplementing by local tax and run nine months in the 
year. 

The public school has become a popular institution and 
indispensable in the educating of the masses of the people. 



94 History of Spartanburg County. 

Mr. Cliapman was first elected School Commissioner 
for Spartanburg county in 1876. In 1877 his first an- 
nual report shows that there were enrolled in the schools 
of the county 6,543 pupils. The report for 1898 shows 
a gain of 8,264 over said report. The report for the 
present year (1900) will exceed that by at least 1,000, 
making a grand total of about 16,000 children enrolled 
in the public schools. 

The annual report of taxable property for school pur- 
poses for 1898 shows an increase over the report for 
1897 of over $5,000,000. With the continued increase 
of taxable property, with the rapid upbuilding and 
growth of our educational institutions, and the general 
interest which is now being manifested in the cause of 
education, we are scarcely able to grasp what is destined 
to be the future greatness and importance of Spartan- 
burof countv. 



CHAPTER VII. 

A GENERAL REVIEW OF THE PROGRESS OF THE CHRIS- 
TIAN RELIGION IN SPARTANBURG COUNTY, DURING 
THE 19th CENTURY. 

In searching the pages of history as to the spread of 
the Christian religion in Spartanbnrg connty dnring 
the 19th centnry, the first revival occnrring, which we 
find recorded, as attracting special interest was within 
the bounds of the Nazareth (Presbyterian) Clinrch, which 
was held under the auspices of the Second Presbytery 
of South Carolina. The precise place of this meeting 
is said to have been at Poplar Springs, and it made its 
remarkable appearance Friday, July 2d, 1802. It is 
stated that while the District of Spartanburg contained 
at that time no less than twelve thousand souls, there 
were at the meeting of this Presbytery some four or five 
thousand people, mainly from the districts of Union, 
York, Laurens and Greenville, but there were also mem- 
bers attending from the districts of Pendleton, Abbeville, 
Chester and Newberry, and some from the counties of 
Greene, Jackson, Elbert and Franklin, in the State of 
Georgia. 

This great meeting and revival was attended and |)ar- 
ticipated in by not only Presbyterians, but by Baptists 
and Methodists as well, and was conducted on the old 
camp-meeting style, and the camp was pitched in a beau- 
tiful grove on one of the branches of the Tyger River, 
"and being" says a writer, "in a vale, which lay between 
two hills, o-entlv inclinino- towards each other and verv 
suitably adapted for this purpose." 

This interesting occasion was attended by thirteen 

(95) 



■96 History of Spartanburg County. 

Presbyterian preachers, viz.: Messrs. Simpson, Cum- 
mins, Davis, Cunningham, Wilson, Waddel, Williamson, 
Brown, Kenedy, Gilleland Sr., McElhaney, Dixon, 
Gilleland Jr.^ and quite a number of Methodists and 
Baptists. 

The most interesting account of this great revival of 
religion in our county, we find contained in a letter 
written by Ebenezer H. Cummins, dated "Abbeville, 
S. C, July 7th, 1802" (nearly 98 years ago), which the 
reader will find in full by referring to Howe's History 
of the Presbyterian Church of South Carolina, Vol. 11. 
(See page 131.) 

Says this writer : "I have just returned from Naza- 
reth, where I have seen and heard things which no 
tongue can tell, no pen can paint, no language can 
describe, or of which no man can have a just conception 
until he has seen, heard and felt." After describing the 
services of the first day, which was taken up in encamp- 
ment until 2 o'clock, the writer goes on to further say, 
that "the evening was spent in singing and prayer alter- 
nately. About sundown the people were dismissed to 
their respective tents. By this time the countenances 
of all began to be shaded by the clouds of solemnity and 
to assume a very serious aspect. At 10 o'clock two 
young men were lying speechless, motionless and some- 
times to all appearance, except in the mere act of breath- 
ing, dead. Before day five others were down. These 
I did not see. The whole night was employed in read- 
ing and commenting upon the Word of God ; and also 
in singing, praying and exhorting ; scarcely had the 
light of the morning sun dawned upon the people ere 
they were engaged in what we call family worship, 
the adjacent tents collecting in groups here and there 
all around the whole line. The (central) place of wor- 
ship was early repaired to, by a numerous throng. 



History of Spartanburg County. 97 

Divine service commenced at eight, by one of the Meth- 
odist brethren, whom I do not recollect. He was fol- 
lowed by the Rev. Wm. Shackelford, of the Baptist pro- 
fession. Singing, praying and exhorting, by the Pres- 
byterian clergymen continued until two o'clock, when 
.an intermission of some minutes was granted that the 
people might refresh themselves with water, etc. By 
this time the audience became so numerous that it was 
impossible for all to crowd near enough to hear our 
speaker, although the ground rising above the stage, 
theatrically, afforded aid to the voice. Hence the assem- 
bly divided, and afterwards preaching was performed at 
two stages." It would consume too much time and space 
to recount here, as described, all scenes that transpired 
at this great revival meeting and the great power, force 
and effect of the preaching to the vast multitude assem- 
bled, the grace imparted, and the great spiritual good 
resulting therefrom. 

The same writer, in closing his account of this great 
meeting, states further, as follows : 

"I cannot but say that the parting was one of the 
most moving and affecting scenes which presented itself 
throughout the whole. Families, who had never seen 
each other until they met on the ground, would pour 
iorth in tears of sympathy like streams of waters ; many 
friendships were formed and many attachments con- 
tracted which, although the persons may never meet 
again, shall never be dissolved. Not one quarter of an 
hour before I mounted my horse to come away, I saw 
one of the most beautiful sights which ever mortal be- 
held. It would not only have afforded pleasure to the 
plainest observer, but the profoundest philosopher would 
have found it food for imagination. The case to which 
I allude was the exercise of Miss Dean,* one of the three 

* This lady afterwards became the wife of ' ' Sheriff Sam ' ' Miller, 
and the mother of General Joel W. and Dr. Pinckney Miller, both 
■well known and popular citizens of Spartanburg county. 
7 h sc 



98 History of Spartanburg County. 

sisters who fell near the close of the work. Her reflec- 
tions presented mostly objects of pleasure to her view. 
But sometimes, for the space of a minute, she would 
lose them, the consequence of which was painful distress. 
By the very features of her face I could see the afflictive 
sensations approached as plain as I ever saw the sun's 
light obscured by the overpassing clouds. In her happy 
moments she awakened in my recollection Milton's lovely 
picture of Eve when in a state of innocence." 

Says the same writer, further : 

" Another extraordinary case occurred at the very 
moment of departure. Two young men disputing, one 
for, the other against, the work, referred their contest to 
a clergyman of respectability, who happened to be pass- 
ing that way. He immediately took hold of the hand 
of the unbeliever, and thus addressed him : ' If you were 
in your heart's desire to wait on the means of grace, 
God would show you the truth. You may expect mercy 
to visit you ; but remember, my hand for it, it will cost 
you something ; a stroke would now come at a success- 
less hour.' Scarcely had the words dropped from his 
lips, when a man on the ground pleading for an inter- 
est in the Kingdom of Heaven, and begging pardon of 
God for dishonoring him and the cause of religion 
through unbelief. I understood the man to be a pious 
man and his hesitations of a religious and conscientious 
kind. The other men who had been in the crowd, where 
many had been lying under the operations of the work, 
attempted to run off. One, leaving his hat in haste, ran 
about twenty or thirty paces and fell on his face. His 
shrieks declared the terrors of anguish^ under which he 
labored. The other ran a different course about fifty 
yards and fell." 

Says the same writer, further : 

"The number of those stricken could not be ascer- 
tained, but I believe it to be much greater than any one 
would conceive. On Sabbath night, about twelve or 
one o'clock, I stood alone on a spot whence I could see 
and hear all over the camp, and found that the work 
was not confined to one, two or three places, but over- 



History of Spartanburg County. 99 

spread the whole field, and in some large crowds the 
ground appeared almost covered. In the course of one 
single prayer, of duration of about ten minutes, twelve 
persons fell to the ground, the majority of whom de- 
clared, in terms audible and explicit, that they never 
prayed before." 

How long the annual camp-meeting continued under 
the auspices of the Second Presbytery of South Carolina, 
we are not advised ; but as the Presbytery met from 
year to year in other sections within its bounds, it is 
reasonable to suppose, from the good results already 
attained, that they were continued for many years. 

In Logan's ' ' History of the Broad River ' ' and 
"King's Mountain" Associations, and in Griffith's 
" Life of Landrum," we have accounts of a great re- 
vival of religion in 1831, Says the latter writer : 

" In August, 1 83 1, the Saluda Association convened 
with the Brushy Creek church, eight miles from Green- 
ville C. H., and during the meeting there began a re- 
vival of religion, which for extent and duration has 
hardly a parallel in the history of revivals. 

" Several circumstances connected with the begin- 
ning of this revival are worthy of notice. One was the 
death of Rev, Lewis Rector, which took place a short 
time before the commencement. Lewis Rector was a 
man far ahead of the age in which he lived. It is said 
that he had the hillsides of his farm ditched thirty years 
before hillside ditching became generally known and 
practiced in his part of the country. He was a man of 
powerful intellect and unquestionable piety. He had 
preached in the section of country lying along the base of 
the Blue Ridge and extending as far south as the coun- 
ties of Laurens, Newberry and Union, with all the pow- 
ers of his great mind and with all the fervor of his 
warm, devoted heart, ever since about the year 1800 ; 
but to those who judged by the immediate fruits, his 
preaching had seemed almost in vain, yet the good old 
man, strong still in the faith, looked out into the unex- 
plored future, and just before he died, cried out as if 



loo History of Spartanburg County. 

filled with a spirit of prophecy : ' A great revival of 
religion is near at hand. I have labored and prayed 
-for it, but I shall not live to see it.' As Moses from 
the top of Pisgah looked over upon the sweet fields of 
Canaan, so, from the last mount of earthly affliction, 
lyCwis Rector caught a sight of the coming harvest. 

" Another circumstance connected with the beginning 
of this revival, was a strange phenomenon in nature. 
The rays of the sun were dimmed by a dark spot on his 
disk, visible to the natural eye, and men who were not 
alarmed felt humbled, as under the finger of God, when 
they saw the pale, sombre hue that rested on the whole 
face of creation. The preachers, who were at that time 
meeting at Brushy Creek, eager to lay hold of every 
means adapted to the awakening and humbling of sin- 
ners, made happy and forcible allusions to the surround- 
ing scene. Several preachers were there from Georgia, 
who had recently been in a great revival at home, and 
all things being seemingly ready, the work began. Lan- 
drum was then a young man and a stranger. But he 
was appointed to preach, and he did preach with a power 
that astonished his hearers, and caused the most hard- 
ened sinners to treinble. The meeting closed on the 
fourth day, but the revival extended to other parts of 
the country and continued with little or no abatement 
for three years. During these years men and women 
Tode on horseback fifteen, twenty, and frequently as far 
as twenty-five miles, to hear the gospel preached ; the 
preachers went from house to house, preached from 
stands in the woods, and often when these rude accom- 
modations were wanting, stood under the spreading oak 
hy the roadside and ' reasoned of righteousness, temper- 
ance and judgment to come.' It is difficult now to state 
the precise result of this revival. Within an area of 
twenty-five miles square, thirteen new churches were 
formed, while the old ones were filled to overflowing. 
It is safe to estimate that during the whole period there 
were added to these churches between two and three 
thousand souls. Nor was the great work confined to 
the ignorant and excitable ; the best material in the 
country was gathered into the folds of the church and 
a new era dawned upon the Baptists of Upper Carolina." 



History of Spartanburg County. ioi 

Says the same writer further (see Griffith's " Life of 
Landrum," page 79): 

"In the year 1831 Landnim and others began to 
preach in the town of Spartanburg. Spartanburg now 
(1882) numbers between five and six thousand inhabi- 
tants and boasts of its complement of churches, schools 
and colleges, but at that time there were but three Bap- 
tists out of a population of a thousand or fifteen hundred, 
in the whole town. One account says there was but 
one professor of religion, and that lady was upwards of 
seventy years of age.* But Mr. James Harris and wife, 
who still survive, were members of the Baptist Church 
at that time, and there were probably a few others of 
other denominations scattered over the town. But there 
was not a single house of worship and no church organ- 
ization of any kind. If there were more than the num- 
ber stated, pledged to the service of Jesus Christ, they 
were hidden away in the multitude not to be known by 
their fruits. How the people spent their Sabbaths with 
no 'Church-going bell' to summon them to worship ; 
what were the influences brought to bear upon the 
young; what was the character of the amusements and 
employments of a thousand people in the absence of 
Sunday-schools, benevolent societies and all religious 
influences, we are left only to imagine. 

"But the influence of the revival started at Brushy 
Creek soon began to be felt, not definitely at first, but 
vaguely and mysteriously. The manifestations were 
allied to those of presentiment — that unaccountable feel- 
ing, which sometimes weighs heavily upon the heart 
and which, 'men say, heralds the approach of mighty 
events. An observer would have been struck at first 
with an air of restlessness, worn by those he met ; he 
would have seen that restlessness then settle into a deep 



* The person referred to here was Mrs. Rebecca Earle, wife of Col. 
John Earle, and grandmother of the late Hon. John Earle Bomar. 
She was married twice ; her first husband being Col. John Wood, who 
was murdered by "Bloody Bill" Cunningham and his band, for an 
account of which the reader is referred to the "Colonial and Revolu- 
tionary History of Upper South^Carolina,'■' published by the writer. 



I02 History of Spartanburg County. 

solemnity, pervading the entire community, and he 
would have sought in vain for the cause of any outward 
circumstances or condition. It was the troubling of the 
waters of the pool of Bethesda by the angel of God. 

"When Landrum first began to visit the town he 
preached from the judge's stand in the Court House ; 
afterward he stood under the branches of a great oak 
near by and preached to large congregations, so uncom- 
fortably situated that nothing but the intense interest 
of the occasions could have held them together. So 
thrilling were the scenes that transpired here, that the 
spot became enshrined in the hearts of the people, and 
some were known to shed tears when they visited it 
many years after the scenes by which it was hallowed 
had passed away. Samuel Gibson and Thomas Ray, of 
the Baptist, Micheal Dickson, of the Presbyterian, and 
Charles Smith of the Methodist Church, all took part in 
these meetings under the oak, and their labors laid the 
foundations of the present Baptist, Methodist and Pres- 
byterian churches of Spartanburg. 

"At one time, too, during the year 1832, Rev. John 
Watts, of the Methodist Church, and Rev. John G. Lan- 
drum, held a joint meeting in the Court House at which 
meeting twenty-two persons united with the Baptists, 
and a considerable number with the Methodists. The 
preachers would alternately give opportunities for con- 
verts to unite with the denominations of their choice 
and all worked together in perfect harmony." 

The Rev. John Watts was living in Greenville county 
(1882), near Sandy Flat. During this year the writer 
received a letter from his daughter, Miss Sallie Watts. 
In referring to her father, who was then bowed down 
with age and infirmities, she wrote : "Even the state 
of the revival in Spartanburg has escaped my father's 
memory. However, the fact exists clearly in his mind 
that the Rev. John G. Landrum joined Rev. Armstrong, 
Rev. Dr. Lewis and himself on the second or third day 
of the meeting and labored with zeal and power, both 
on the stand and around the altar. ^' 



History of Spartanburg County. 103 

Many of the converts at the meetings just mentioned 
went to Mount Zion and Bethlehem, about seven miles 
from town, and became members of those churches. 
Among those who connected themselves with the former, 
were Maj. Hosea J. Dean and Dr. Robert Young. 

In our researches we gather further information of 
the preaching and revival meetings referred to. Under 
the head of "Kentucky Correspondence" to the Spartan^ 
by Rev. Joseph Cottrell, we find the following para- 
graph : 

"I have been to church since writing the above, and 
now, before dinner call, I'll pen a little mention of 
names of preachers, who, in Spartanburg, ministered 
Ho us boys' effectively. Bond English^ Gamewel'l, J. W. 
Wheeler, Durant, Walker (father of Charlie), and 
Clough Beard were the Methodists ; Holmes, the Pres- 
byterian \ Landrum and the Drs. Curtis from Lime- 
stone Springs, Baptists. These were the preachers who 
held sway by the mystic wand of spirit and vocation 
over the youth of the town." 

Among the material which we have preserved, to form 
a part of the contents of this volume, is an old letter 
written by Samuel F. Hill' to Miss Elizabeth Wright, 
dated "Carrolton, Pickens county, Ala., August 21st, 
1874." After Miss Wright had been dead about a dozen 
years, the letter referred to was found among her papers 
and published in the Spartan. Mr. Hill writes as fol- 
lows : 

" My Dear Old Friend and Sister : 

"Many a day has passed since last I saw you, and many 
a change has occurred. The older citizens have nearly 
all passed away, and many of the young. Little did I 
think when I gave you the parting hand, at Mr. Joseph 
Michals', that you would ever recover ; neither did Dr. 
Vernon, with whom I visited you, but God in his great 
wisdom has spared you thirty-four years longer, no 
doubt, for a wise and good purpose. 



I04 History of Spartanburg County. 

"Thousands upon thousands of times have I thought 
of the little church as it started, and our little prayer- 
meeting as it was in 1838, when there were but your- 
self and I to pray, and the great principal attendants 
were Mrs. Gault and some of her family and Mrs. Row- 
land and some of hers, the whole company comprising 
about eight or ten persons. Yet these prayer-meetings 
were meetings of great interest. The next year the 
Bros. Rowley came and we had the first great ingather- 
ing. Bros. Bobo, Henry, D. W. Moore, and many others 
joined the church. How oft have I referred to that 
good meeting with pleasant reflection, and never had I 
stronger faith than at that meeting. 

" I have never forgotten the kind visit you made me 
when I first went to Spartanburg a boy ; when you, 
learning that I was a member of the church, hunted me 
up at Mr. Brem's and gave me kind advice. A member 
of the church of any name was hard to find, there be- 
ing at that time (1834) only six Baptists, three Metho- 
dists and one Presbyterian in the place. I Avas told 
that if I stayed there twelvemonths I would be wrecked 
and, for fear, I made no associates for over twelve 
months, and there being no church and but little preach- 
ing my Sabbaths were Sabbaths of solitude, but not 
alone, for in my solitary hpurs I had frequent visits 
from the Great Head of the church, and I was per- 
mitted to hold sweet communion with my Heavenly 
Father. I have had frequent occasion to refer to that 
year as one of the happiest I ever spent, and I attributed, 
it to my closer walk with God, my frequent communion 
with Him who always blesses in all our associations 
with Him. 

" I would like to see the church of which I was the 
first class leader, and talk" with one of its first members. 
What a change has taken place since then. I look 
back at that meeting of 1839, and I think of old 
Brother Hutchings, John Watts, Samuel Armstrong, 
Joseph Moore and others of the Methodist church, and 
John G. Landrum, Dr. Lewis and others of the Baptist 
church, and the great interest manifested, the many 



History of Spartanburg County. 105 

tender emotions manifested by almost every one, and 
my heart swells with gratitude to God. I can see in 
my imagination Sister Moore, who was the first con- 
vert, clapping her hands, and then calling for her hus- 
band. It is but yesterday in my imagination. 

" And that long love-feast, when so many told the 
dealings of God with their hearts. 

" There are many interesting recollections con- 
nected with that good meeting. I shall never forget my 
Sabbath-school pupil, John Walker, who professed at 
that meeting and died the next year. 
** * * * * ** 

"I hope to hear from you, if you can possibly write, 
and if we nevelr meet on earth, that we will meet in the 
Haven of rest. Give my kindest regards to any of the 
old citizens who may be still living in the place. 

"I am your friend and brother, 

"Samuel F. Hiix." 

The late David W. Moore, the party referred to in the 
above, once related to the writer the circumstances of 
this revival meeting, of its spirituality, and the deep 
conviction of sin which overcame him. He was at the 
time engaged in the saloon business (possibly in con- 
nection with the grocery business, as was the case in 
many instances at that time) in a frame building which 
stood almost opposite the carriage manufacturing estab- 
lishment of Fowler & Robinson and very near where 
the Herald office was located. He stated that he was so 
thoroughly convinced of the sin and, the sinfulness of 
the business in which he was engaged, that he deter- 
mined at once to put an end to the same. In the 
building referred to, he showed the writer a window^ 
through which he one night emptied the entire con- 
tents of spirituous liquors in his establishment, saving, 
only some wine;, to be used for. sacramental purposes,, 
fearing lest, when the .morning came, he would be over- 



io6 History of Spartanburg County. 

persuaded by his old customers for the tnorning dram^ 
as he expressed it. 

Mr, Moore, having been converted to the principles of 
the Christian religion, ever afterwards remained true and 
faithful, and the subject of religion was always his hap- 
piest theme. 

The great revivals in the Methodist Church at Spar- 
tanburg referred to, in which Mr. Moore and others were 
converted to the Christian religion, were largely due to 
"bread which had been cast upon the waters" by a few 
pioneer ministers of this faith and order who traveled 
through the present county of Spartanburg a few years 
before. It will be remembered that the organization of 
Methodism occurred in Baltimore during the year 1784 
— only one year before said county was laid out and 
organized — and then spread over the Southern States 
reaching South Carolina and Georgia in 1785; and it 
was some time during that year or the year following 
that Bishop Asbury passed through Upper South Caro- 
lina, and doubtless through Spartanburg District to 
Salisbury, N. C. In Shipp's "History of Methodism," it 
is stated that John Turwell and Henry Willis were sent 
to South Carolina to form the circuits in the lower and 
upper portions of said State, and were assisted in so 
doing by James Foster, especially in forming the Broad 
River circuit in 1786, which included Spartanburg 
District (now county). Stephen Johnson also traveled 
that circuit in that year with Mr. Foster. In 1787 
Richard Ivey, John Mason and Thos. Davis were on 
the circuit, including Spartanburg, and were men of 
solid parts and of earnest piety who never thought of 
growing rich by the Gospel — their sole purpose being 
to grow rich in grace and in saving souls to Christ, thus 
promoting and advancing the principles of their Church 
and society. 



History of Spartanburg County. 107 

"In the year 1752 there was born in Pennsylvania a 
daug:hter to Quaker parents, who, moving to Spartan- 
burg District with that child, wrought a great influence 
for good in that community and ultimately for the whole 
district. Being brought up under the example and 
religious influence of that noted and worthy people, the 
Quakers, and educated in the best schools of that day, 
she was prepared to receive the Gospel from the mouths 
of John Mason and Thomas Davis in 1787, whom she 
regarded as the proper exponents of the teachings of 
that Gospel and of her own opinions. They believed 
that Gospel taught a sound conversion, 'justification by 
faith,' and she never rested until she attained that true 
and great position. Shipp's History of Methodism says : 
' She traveled for fifteen years the way to Zion alone, 
her husband and children not giving heed to the teach- 
ings of the Gospel and the divine impressions that the 
Good Spirit always makes, in connection with that 
Gospel.' In the year 1802, however, they were awak- 
ened and converted and brought into the Methodist 
Church, under the preaching of Lewis Meyers and 
George Dougherty. That good woman was Martha 
Lewellyn, the wife of Joseph Wofford, and the mother 
of Rev. Benjamin Wofford, the liberal founder of Wof- 
ford College, in the growing city of his native district 
of Spartanburg, S. C. That good woman after living 
to a ripe old age in prayer and usefulness, went to 
Heaven on the 24th of March, 1826, leaving a gracious 
influence behind her. She being dead still speaks 
through her children and grand and great-grandchil- 
dren, to her Church and people of her native county. 
Wofford College, the gift of her noble son, the Rev. 
Benjamin Wofford, is like, in its gracious influence of a 
proper religious education, its own stream, the beauti- 
ful and fertile Pacolet rising in the mountains not far 
away and growing larger as it rolls on and making every 
hill and valley to rejoice that it touches in its onward 
course to the eternal beyond."* The Wofford family 

*The writer is indebted to Rev. James F. Smith, Spartanburg, S. C, 
for information transmitted herein relating to the introduction and 
spread of Methodism in Spartanburg county. 



io8 History of Spartanburg County. 

has exerted and still exerts a good influence upon their 
native county. 

' ' There are others — preachers and laymen of the 
Methodist Church — within the bounds of Spartanburg- 
District that took up the work and carried it on in their 
own way and with its irresistible doctrines until, with 
the help of other denominations, who are likely to take 
the present large and progressive county of Spartanburg 
for Christ in a saving, personal and experimental reli- 
gion. Some of the names of the ministers on the rolls of 
the past and worthy of perpetuation are the MuUinaxes, * 
the Gramlings (x^ndrew and John), Postells, Capers, 
Wheeler, Hutchings, Samuel Armstrong. David Drum- 
mond, Donelly, Potter, Rev. Henry Wood (who gave 
rise to the name Wood''s Chapel) John Watts, Ben Wof- 
ford , and others not so prominent whose names we cannot 
now gather. The laymen, besides the Woffords, Tuck- 
ers, Simpson Bobo, Tucks, John Bishop, Adam Gram- 
ling, Mack Tinsley, Waters, Fingers, Fosters, Jas. H. 
Carlisle, and a great host who still live, are pressing on 
the victories of the Cross in their children — and children's 



*At the old Foster's meeting-house place, near Fair Forest, S. C, 
is to be found the grave of Rev. John Mullinax. The following is 
the inscription on his tomb : 

"Sacred to the memory of Rev. John Mullinax, who was born 
July 25th, 1769, and died July 14th, 1836, aged 66 years, 11 months 
and 10 days. ■ 

"For the last 33 years of his life he was a devoted heraldof the 
Cross in the Methodist Episcopal Church, and died in 4:he hope of a 
joyful Resurrection. 'Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord- 
from. henceforth ;.yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their 
labors ; and their works do follow them,' 

" The gracious Savior smiles and says well done. 
Enter my rest,my faithful servant thou ; 
The strife is o'er, thou hast the victory won. 
No sin nor sorrow can disturb thee now." . 

His wife lies buried beside him. She was a sister of Rev. Benjamin 
Wofford, founder of Wofford College. The following is the inscrip- 
tion on her tomb : "In memory of Rebecca Mullinax, born August 
4th, 1774. Died in great peace July 26th, 1S58. Having lived over 
50 years in the communion of the M. E. Church. Her record is 
on high." • : 



History of Spartanburg County. 109 

children. In later days Barnett, Dr. Whiteford Smith, 
James F. Smith, Wightman, Shipp, Gamewell, Herbert, 
the Moods, Walkers (Charles and Alexander), the 
Boyds, J. M. Carlisle, and a great many others — some 
of whom have gone to receive their reward and others 
on the way." 

The names of the churches over which these preach- 
ers ministered and to which these leading laymen be- 
longed in the past are Shiloh, Foster's Meeting House, 
the two Antiochs, Spartanburg, Tabernacle, Chapel, 
Liberty, and Cannon's, where is now, and has been for 
nearly eighty years, the famous camp-meeting ground, 
the promoter of much of the spread of Methodism and 
vital piety. Besides these, we would also mention Fin- 
gerville, Lebanon, Rocky IMount, Hebron, Walnut Grove, 
Zoar and Bivingsville. The camp-meetings besides Can- 
non's were at Shiloh, Bird Mountain (near Landrum) , one 
near Lebanon Church, one near Pacolet, and one near 
Fingerville. All these reflected an influence for great 
good, but none exist now except Cannon's, and but few 
in the State, mostly in the low country. 

The great Scotch preacher, Dr. Chalmers, said of 
Methodism, "It is Christianity in earnest" ; and it de- 
serves to prevail, with all true religion, as it always will 
in Spartanburg county. 

In the beginning of the nineteenth century we esti- 
mate that there were about five hundred persons pro- 
fessing the Christian religion in the original county of 
Spartanburg. The following brief statistics will show 
about the present status of the different denominations 
in said county : 

WHITES. 

Baptist — Broad River Association. 
Ofiicial report 1899. 
Cedar Spring 208, Bethesda 63, Zion Hill 
121, Cowpens 143, Pacolet (No. 2) 78, 



no History of Spartanburg County. 

Glendale 164, Clifton 310, Converse ^'j^ 
Brown's Chapel 156, Shiloh 69, Cooley 
Spring 84, State Line 126, Buck Creek 
187, Piedmont 232, Arrowwood 333, 
Mountain View 40 . 2,391 

Approximate increase since Aug. 26, 1899 200 

Cherokee county (Spartanburg portion of 
same) : 

Goucher's Creek 230, Corinth 206, First 
Gaffney 325, Second Gaffney 240, Lime- 
stone 70, Providence 277, Macedonia 240, 
Grassy Pond 200, New Pleasant 122, 

Beaverdam 66, Cherokee Creek 131 2,107-4,698 

Spartanburg Association. 

Statistical report August 27, 1899, exclu- 
sive of Tryon (N. C.) Church 7,iii 

Approximated increase since said date — 200-7,311 

Total 12,009 

Methodist — 

Exclusive of Cherokee county 4,650 

(Reported by Rev. W. P. Meadows, P.E., 
under date May 31, 1899.) 

Probable increase since said date 150 

Cherokee County. 

Gaffney No. i 225 

Gaffney No 2 200 

Grassy Pond 40-5,265 

Presbyterian — 

Report of 89th Session of Enoree Presbytery, April 

4th and 6th, 1899 : 
Nazareth 76, North Pacolet 12, Spartan- 
burg 354, Mt. Calvary 107, Antioch 61, 
Woodruff 67, Glenn's Spring 63, Wel- 
ford 39, Center Point 68, Pacolet 26, 
Clifton 40, Oakland 11, Tucapau 43, 
Becca 13, Spartan Mill 100, Whitney 
16, Mountain Shoals 42, Trough Shoals 

45--- - 1,173 

Gaffney Church added 50 

Approximated increase since April, '99 -- 50-1,283 



History of Spartanburg County. m 

Episcopal — 

Spartanburg 150, Gaffney 20, Glenn's Spring 

30; total .__ 200 

A. R. Presbyterian — 

Woodruff 42 , Welford 24 ; total 66 

Roman Catholic — 

Spartanburg 165, Gaffney 8; total 173 

colored. 
Baptist — 

Spartanburg County Association, official 

report September 8, 1898 — total i)i55 

Approximated increase since said date 100 

Tyger River Association, official report 

August 17, 1899 — total -1)524 

Approximate increase sincesaid date 76- 2,285 

Methodist — 

Approximated entire membership in original 

county of Spartanburg — total i>5oo 

Presbyterian — Approximated 250 

recapitulation. 

White — 

Baptist 1 2,009 

Methodist .. 5,265 

Presbyterian i>283 

Episcopal 200 

A. R. Presbyterian .._ 66 

Roman Catholic 173 — 18,996 

Colored — 

Baptist _ - 2,285 

Methodist . . Ij500 

Presbyterian . 250 — 4,035 

Grand total ._. — 23,031 

Deduct supposed number at beginning of 19th 

century . 500 

Approximated increase during 19th century.- 22,531 

Note. — During the first half of the nineteenth century the emigra- 
tion from Spartanburg county to other States largely exceeded the 
immigration and almost the increase of population during the same 
time, but these conditions have been reversed during the latter half of 
said century. 



CHAPTER VIII. 

A GENERAL REVIEW OF THE PROGRESS OF TEMPERANCE 
IN SPARTANBURG COUNTY FROM TIME TO TIME. 

From the record before us, we notice that the first 
temperance society organized in South Carolina was on 
the call of a meeting of sundry citizens of Columbia on 
the 17th of July, 1829. Several gentlemen of promi- 
nence addressed the meeting, pointing out the evils of 
intemperance and the measures which had been adopted 
in different parts of the Union to check its alarming 
ravages. 

Two committees were appointed at this meeting, 
one consisting of three members to draft a constitution 
for a temperance society, and another consisting of 
seven members to report as to the influence of intem- 
perance on the health, the morals and prosperity of the 
country. 

We notice that a second meeting of this society was 
held on the 8th of October of the same year (1829), ^.t 
which the committees previously appointed made their 
reports. (See Report Permanent Temperance Docu- 
ments, Vol. I, page 10.) A third meeting of the same 
society was held on the 12th of the same month, at 
which permanent officers were elected, Colonel Thomas 
Taylor being chosen President. 

From the documents before us, we find no further 
record of the proceedings of this society outside of the 
published reports of the committees referred to. How 
long it remained organized for work in the good cause in 
which it was engaged we are unable to determine, but it 
may have served a "stepping stone," as it were, to the 

(112) 



History of Spartanburg County. 113 

organization of other temperance societies in the several 
districts comprising our State. 

From Griffith's "Life of Landrum " we find record 
of the first movement looking to the formation of a 
temperance society in Spartanburg district. Says this 
writer : 

" The first public advocates of the temperance cause 
in Spartanburg were Hon. Simpson Bobo, Major H. J. 
Dean and Dr. Young, father of General P. M. B. Young 
of Georgia. The first named of these is still living 
(1883), full of days and honors ; the other two have 
long since passed away. 

"It was about the year 1830, when these three men, 
whose souls were stirred by the ravages that intemper- 
ance was making upon society, and whose hearts were 
sickened by the scenes of debauchery to be witnessed, 
especially on public days, at Spartanburg, came together, 
determined to do something toward stemming the mighty 
torrent and abating the awful scourge. After a consul- 
tation, they concluded to call a public meeting in the 
court-house, without making known the object for which 
such meeting was to be held. Accordingly notices of 
such meeting were posted on the street corners and on 
the highways, and when the day arrived a considerable 
crowd assembled in the court-house, eager to know what 
was to be done. By a preconcerted arrangement, a cer- 
tain prominent citizen, known to be a constant dram- 
drinker, was called to the chair. The object of the 
meeting was then stated by one of the trio to be the 
organization of a temperance society, and while the 
speaker had the floor he made a strong speech against 
the evils everywhere apparent, and called upon all good 
citizens to unite in one effort for their abatement. 
Then, like those who were struck dumb by the an- 
nouncement, ' he that is without sin should cast the first 
stone,' the audience began to disperse. They went out 
one by one, chairman and all, until only four men were 
left to organize the society, the three already named and 
one other. But the movers in the cause were not dis- 



114 History of Spartanburg County. 

coiiraged. They completed the organization — held the 
ground already gained, though it seemed hardly worth 
holding — and vowed they would wage unceasing war 
against the gigantic evil that was nursing crime and 
preying upon the vitals of society. They boldly raised 
the temperance banner in Spartanburg and called upon 
the people of the county to rally beneath its folds. The 
first to respond to the call were Major John Stroble, Dr. 
John W. Lewis and Rev. John G. Landrum. By these 
additions the little band was doubled in number, and 
greatly strengthened in intellectual and moral power. 
The crusade began in earnest.'' 

The society as thus organized was known as the 
Spartanburg Village Temperance Society. 

Soon after the death of Rev. J. G. Landrum (Jan- 
uary, 1882) the writer received a letter from the late 
Hon. Simpson Bobo, in which, among other things, he 
stated as follows : 

" Very early in life, in 1830, I think, he (John G. 
Landrum) joined the first temperance society ever 
formed in the county, and was to his death a noble and 
consistent worker in the temperance cause, going far 
and near to advance it and to break up the drinking 
habits of the people. To show the magnitude of the 
efforts of him and his colaborers in the temperance 
cause, in 1843 there were nearly three thousand persons 
in the county pledged to total abstinence. When Mr. 
Landrum first came among us dram-drinking was com- 
mon with members of the church, so much so that it 
was a matter of constant reproach to the church. 
Treating with whisky at elections by candidates was 
almost universal. A candidate refusing to do so could 
not be elected to office. He and his colaborers never 
ceased to oppose this degrading practice until it was 
entirely broken up, at least before the public, and no 
one could be elected to office who was known to indulge 
in it." (See copv of original letter of Mr. Bobo, 
Griffith's "Life of J. G. Laiidrimi,^' p. 72.) 



History of Spartanburg County. 115 

We find further from the documents before us that 
the first State Temperance Society of South Car- 
olina was organized at a meeting of delegates ap- 
pointed to attend a convention in Columbia on the 
third and fourth days of July, 1838, who met on the 
evening of the third at the Lecture Room of the Baptist 
church, in that city. Hon. Chan Johnson was called 
to the chair and G. T. Snowden was appointed secre- 
tary. This convention was composed of about thirty 
members from the districts of Laurens, Newberry, Dar- 
lington, Marlborough, Lexington, Abbeville and Rich- 
land. The Hon. Job Johnson was elected permanent 
President, G. T. Snowden Secretary, and Robert Bryce 
Treasurer— the last named gentleman at that time a res- 
ident of Columbia, but in later years a resident of the 
city of Spartanburg and proprietor of a book -store,, 
where he died about the year 1876, honored and 
respected by all as a sincere advocate and worker in the 
cause of religion and temperance. 

At this convention, which organized as stated, The 
State Temperance Society of South Carolina, 
a constitution was framed and adopted. The committee 
which prepared the same, reported the following : 

" The promotion of the temperance cause is inti- 
mately connected with the permanence of our free insti- 
tutions, with domestic comfort, with the happiness of 
the human family and with the interests of the Re- 
deemer's Kingdom. It devolves, therefore, on those who 
would be the benefactors of mankind, to aid in spread- 
ing its benign influences over their own country and 
the world, by the exertion of kind and moral influence 
and united public principle." 

The first annual meeting of the State Temperance 
Society met in the Lecture Room of the Baptist church, 
at Columbia, on Wednesday night, 28th of November, 
1838. There were present at this meeting about six- 



ii6 History of Spartanburg County. 

teen members, representing societies from the districts 
of Laurens, Newberry, Darlington, Lexington, Rich- 
land, Williamsbnrgh, Kershaw, Charleston and Ander- 
son. 

Reports and communications from auxiliary societies 
and others requesting to become auxiliary, addressed to 
the Corresponding Secretary, were read, and among the 
latter were three from temperance societies organized in 
the district of Spartanburg, named as follows : Young 
MeiCs Society of Spartanburg^ Nazareth Temperance 
Society dcndi Jefferson Temperance Society. 

The second annual meeting of the South Carolina 
State Temperance Society met in the Lecture Room 
of the Presbyterian church, at Columbia, on Thursday, 
5th of December, 1839. There were present about 
nineteen members from several of the districts in the 
State, among whom was the Hon. Hosea J, Dean, rep- 
resenting the Spartatihnrg Ullage Temperance Society. 

The third annual meeting of the South Carolina 
Temperance Society met at the Lecture Room of the 
Presbyterian church, in Columbia, on Thursday, De- 
cember 3d, 1840, only ten members being present, and 
among them was the Hon. Hosea J. Dean, who again 
represented the Spartanburg Ullage Temperance Soci- 
ety^ and who was also elected at the same time one of 
the Vice-Presidents of said society. 

The fourth annual meeting of the South Carolina 
State Temperance Society met at the Baptist Lec- 
ture Room in Columbia, on Wednesday, November 24, 
1 841, which was presided over by the Hon. John Belton 
O'Neall. Only fourteen members are reported as being 
present from the different organizations in the State, 
of which there was no representation from the District 
of Spartanburg. 

The first State Temperance Convention of 



History of Spartanburg County. 117 

South Carolina was held at Greenville August 8, 
1842, which was in pursuance of a call made by the 
President of the State Temperance Society. The dele- 
gates appointed by the different temperance societies 
throughout the State assembled at the Methodist Church 
at ID o'clock A. M., and after prayer by the Rev. C. C. 
Pinckney, the Hon. John Belton O'Neall, President of 
the State Temperance Society, took the chair and ap- 
pointed J. M. Roberts and E. J. Arthur secretaries of 
the convention. 

The President, after organizing the convention, de- 
livered an eloquent address highly appropriate to the 
occasion, in which he congratulated the members of 
the convention upon the favorable circumstances under 
which they had been permitted to assemble, and the in- 
dications with which they were furnished of the success 
and the prospects of ultimate triumph in the noble 
enterprise in which they were engaged. 

There were present at this convention one hundred and 
eighty-four delegates from the following districts, viz.: 
Charleston, Richland, Abbeville, Greenville, Spartan- 
burg, Laurens, Union, Lexington, Chesterfield, Marl- 
borough, Barnwell, Colleton, Edgefield, Pendleton, 
York, Newberry, Orangeburg, Fairfield, Lancaster, Dar- 
lington, Marion and Chester, besides the Henderson 
County {N. C^ Temperance Society ^ two delegates present, 
and the Clayton Total Abstinefice Society of Georgia, 
one delegate present. 

Of the delegates composing this convention, the fol- 
lowing was the representation from the District of Spar- 
tanburg, viz. : 

Spartanburg Village Temperance Society^ J. Bomar, 
Jr., Simpson Bobo and H. J, Dean. 

Spartanburg Village Washington Society^ A. J. Muir, 



ii8 History of Spartanburg County. 

P. Jordan, J. A. Leland, William B. Seay, G. W. Bomar 
and Frederick Harley. 

Young Men^ s Temperance Society of Spartanburg Dis- 
trict, Thomas O. P. Vernan, J. W. Miller, H. J. Moore, 
W. W. Anderson, H. M. Anderson, John W. Hoy, James 
K. Dickson, R. M. Dickson and Samuel Nesbitt. 

Bivingsville Total Abstinence Society, James Bivings 
and John Simpson. 

Nazareth Temperance Society, A, G. Campbell and 
William M. Gowen. 

Antioch Tempera^ice Society of Spartanburg District, 
H. P. Woodruff. 

Important resolutions were introduced and passed, 
among which was one endorsing the Temperance 
Advocate, the official organ of the State Society, 
another to prepare an address to the people of the State 
on the subject of temperance, and another endorsing the 
formation of a temperance society in the South Carolina 
College, in order to insure its usefulness. 

The following resolutions were passed by the conven- 
tion declaratory of its principles, viz. : 

" ist. That our object is not to force, but to persuade 
men to be sober. 

"2d. That we disclaim, utterly, all sectarian or politi- 
cal combinations and all dependence upon or intention 
to seek legislative aid in the reformation in which we 
are engaged." 

The published reports by the several committees, as well 
as the address of the President, are able and interesting, 
and we regret that we have not space to reproduce them 
in this brief outline of the proceedings of the conven- 
tion. 

Among other facts contained in the statistical re- 
port, it was stated there were about ninety temperance 
societies in the State, of which ffty had adopted the 



History of vSpartanburg County. 119 

total abstinence pledge, twenty the Washington pledge, 
.and t7venty the partial pledge. The number of mem- 
bers belonging to different societies of the State were 
reported to be eleven thousand one hundred and sixty- 
nine^ of whom about three thousand three hundred were 
ladies. 

The fifth annual meeting of the STATE Temperance 
Society was held in the South Carolina Hall, in Co- 
lumbia on Wednesday, the 30th November, 1842, the 
President, Hon. J. B. O'Neall, in the chair. One hundred 
:and forty-one members were present, representing twenty- 
six districts in the State. The Spartanburg Washing- 
.tonia n Society was represented by Col. E. C. Leitner, John 
A. Leland and Wm. K. Barkley. Among the proceed- 
ings of this society, it was set forth that the only object 
•of temperance societies was to improve and direct pub- 
lic opinion, by disseminating such information as will 
exhibit strongly the great evils flowing from the use of 
intoxicating drinks, and resolutions were passed earn- 
estly recommending to the district societies that they 
abstain entirely from all interference with the district 
police. That such was a subject which the Legislature 
liad wisely entrusted to competent boards of commis- 
•sioners, etc. Another resolution was passed to the effect 
that the subject of the license law was one with which 
temperance societies had nothing to do, except by so 
improving public opinion as to make the keeping of a 
•drinking-house or the patronizing the same disrepu- 
table; and further, a resolution was passed declaring 
that there exists no connection between the church and 
temperance societies, and that any attempt to connect 
the cause of religion with the cause of temperance will 
be injurious to both. 

The second meeting of the State temperance conven- 
tion was held at Spartanburg court-house on Wednes- 



I20 History of Spartanburg County. 

day, the 2d of August, 1843. This was in accordance 
with a call made by the president of the State Temper- 
ance Society. At ten o'clock on the date referred to, the 
delegates assembled in the Methodist Church, where, 
after prayer by the Rev. D. McNeill Turner, the Hon. 
John Belton O'Neall, President of the State Temperance 
Society, took the chair and appointed John S. James and 
C. J. Elford secretaries of the convention. 

The convention was composed of three hundred and 
twenty-four delegates from South Carolina, and three 
from North Carolina, making three hundred and twen- 
ty-seven in all. Those from South Carolina repre- 
sented the Districts of Abbeville, Anderson, Charleston, 
Chester, Chesterfield, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenville, 
Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lexington, Marlborough^ 
Newberry, Orangeburg, Pickens, Richland, Spartan- 
burg, Union, Williamsburgh, and York ; and from North 
Carolina, the Henderson County Temperance Society was 
represented by Gen. B. Edney and James M. Edney and 
the Davidson College T. A. Society^ by W. T, Caston. 

It may be observed here that this was probably the 
largest representative body from the various Districts 
in the State that had ever assembled in the present city 
of Spartanburg. 

Of the various society organizations in the District of 
Spartanburg, the following were represented in this 
convention, viz.: 

Spartanburg District Temperance Association^ Z. C. 
Cottrel, Wm. B. Seay, Rev. Elias Rogers. 

Spartanburg Village Washington Society^ Simpson 
Bobo, J. Bomar, Jr., Rev. Z. L. Holms, Col. E. C. Leit- 
ner, A. H. Lancaster, Maj. J. T. Kirby, Dr. J. J. Ver- 
non. 

Lau'son's Fork Washington Society^ Rev. A. Gramling. 



History of Spartanburg County. i2r 

Shiloh Washington Society^ Reuben Gramling, Adam 
Gramling, 

Nezv Prospect JVashington Society^ H. Dodd, J. Ezell,. 
and Rev. P. H. Folker. 

Moinit Zion Total Abstinence Society^ John Chapman, 
G. Foster, Moses Foster, Rev. H. Hawkins, Rev. J. G. 
Landrum and B. F. Montgomery. 

Boiling Spring Total Abstinejice Society^ Wm. Mc- 
Berry, A, Nolen and Lewis J. Patterson. 

Trinity Wasiiington Society^ James Watson. 

Chapel Washington Society^ Coleman C. Layton. 

Foster's Meeting House Total Abstinence Society^ A. 
G. Brannon and Alfred Shores. 

Neiv Hope Washington Society^ Lewis Camp and 
Chesterfield McKinney. 

Young Metis Temperance Society of Spartanburg Dis- 
trict, D. M. Brice, J. K. Dickson, R. M. Dickson, J. S. 
Collins, W. W. Anderson, J. W. Miller and T. O. P. 
Vernon. 

U^ashington Bethlehem Society, Andrew J. Daniel, 
Aaron Smith and Jehu Wells. 

Republican Washington Society, Philip Bruton, J. M. 
Crook, Jared Drummond, S. M. Drnmmond, D. B. Clay- 
ton, R. W. Foster, F. Ward, and J. D. Westmoreland. 

Bivingsville Total Abstinence Society, Dr. James Biv- 
ings, James D. Bivings, G. B. Breni, Newton Haynes, 
Wm. Anderson and Birdsong ToUison. 

Washington Society of Maberryville, Jefferson Bishop, 
W. Dodd and D. F. Maberry. 

Nazareth Temperance Society, John Stroble, Jr., John 
Wingo, Samuel Miller, Stephen Lee, S. N. Evins, 
Thomas B. Collins and John Fielder. 

Tucki's School House Temperance Society, Rev. A.- 
Gramling, J. G. Harris, Wm. Tuck. 



122 History of Spartanburg County. 

Zion Temperance Society^ Reuben Bryant, Stephen 
Kirby, and A. W. T. McBride. 

Ridgefield Washing Ionian Society^ Jos. W. Tucker, Col. 
Harvey Wofford, John Wesley Wofford, Benj. Wofford, 
and Thomas Young. 

Holly Spring Temperance Society^ Thomas Ballenger, 
Ramson Tinsley and Thomas Tucker. 

South Pacolet Total Abstinence Society^ William 
Golightly, John Gramling, Andrew P. Gramling and 
William Stewart. 

Mount Pleasant Temperatice Society^ Wm. L. Hilliard. 

After the organization, it is stated, the convention 
moved in procession, headed by its officers to a beautiful 
grove near the Walker House* where a stand and seats 
were provided for its accommodation. 

It is further stated that "on arriving at the grove, 
the convention was called to order and addressed by the 
President, in his peculiarly eloquent and energetic style. 
He congratulated the friends of temperance on the suc- 
cess of the cause during the past year, and on the increas- 
ing interest felt in its behalf throughout the State, man- 
ifested in the vast assemblage before him." 

Ainong the resolutions introduced and passed was one 
to the effect that the success of the past year called for 
increasing gratitude to God who had so signally blessed 
the cause of the temperance advocates, and that the same 
demanded renewed and more vigorous action for the 
present and coming year. It is further stated that the 
temperance choir of Spartanburg sang a beautiful and 
appropriate ode ; air "Scots wha hae." 

The Spartanburg convention remained in session for 
three successive days, and for a full account of its inter- 
esting proceedings, consisting mainly of resolutions, the 



*The present residence of Col. Jos Walker is on the original site of 
'.the Walker Honse. 



History of Spartanburg County. 123 

appointing of committees, reports and appropriate 
addresses, the reader is referred to "Permanent Temper- 
ance Documents," Vol. i. 

The convention, before its adjournment, passed reso- 
lutions of thanks to the citizens of Spartanburg Village 
and its vicinity for the kindness and hospitality which 
had been extended to its members and to the Spartan- 
burg Village Washington Society for their kindness in 
preparing a stand and seats for the use of the conven- 
tion. 

The convention also resolved that the thanks of the 
same be tendered to the President, 'the Hon. J. B. 
O'Neall, for the able and pleasant manner with which 
he had presided over their deliberations, and to the Sec- 
retaries also for the able and faithful dischargee of the 
arduous duties which devolved upon them. 

An ode was sung to the air of "Auld Lang Syne," and 
after prayer by Rev. D. Humphries, the convention, on 
motion of Col. J. L. Orr, adjourned until the Wednesday 
after the fourth Monday in November following, then 
to meet in Columbia. 

These different organizations of temperance societies 
served a noble purpose in their day, but like all organi- 
zations of a similar character, they had their day and in 
fact at the outbreak of the war between the States, there 
were few or none in existence in the State of South 
Carolina. 

Some time after the close of said war there were many 
organizations of the society known as the Good Temp- 
lars in Spartanburg county and other localities, but 
these, too, had comparatively a brief existence, and there 
are none at present in working order known to the 
writer. 

The great work in the temperance cause in Spartan- 
burg county appears to have been transferred to the 



124 History of Spartanburg County. 

temperance workers among the Christian women irr 
said county who are interested in staying or arresting 
the torrent of intemperance yet prevailing as one of 
the great evils of our land. 

The writer is indebted to the Recording Secretary of 
"Christian Temperance Workers of Spartanburg, S. C. ," 
for the following information (December, 1899) : 

" In one of Miss Francis Willard's tours of the United 
States, she stopped in Spartanburg, March, 1881. The 
women met in the room in Central Methodist church- 
yard, which room had been previously the home of 
' Aunt' Betsy Wright, the first Methodist in the town 
of Spartanburg. 

" Miss Willard organized a society of thirty-three mem- 
bers, making Mrs. W. K. Blake President, and Mrs. 
Mulligan Secretary. There were many plans of work 
suggested and committees were appointed to carry out 
the plans, viz. : Scattering temperance tracts in post- 
offices, depots and other public places, visiting the jail, 
securing space in town papers for temperance extracts, 
asking ministers of the gospel to preach on temperance, 
visiting the county parish two or three times a year and 
carrying a treat in the way of dinner and presents. A Sun- 
day-school was soon organized and a committee appointed 
to write to the members of the Legislature to vote for 
temperance measures and further the cause, also to pass 
a law that scientific temperance and hygiene be taught 
in public schools. The latter law was passed in 1874. 
A work among the children outside of Sunday-schools- 
was begun by forming societies called Bands of Hope,^ 

" As years passed on this society increased to 100 and 
about $100 per year was expended in carrying on the- 
work. Dr. Ben WofTord donated to the society a small- 
plat of land in the upper part of the city. A commit- 
tee collected a sufficient sum to put up a chapel. A. 
Sunday-school numbering about sixty scholars has been 
conducted by Miss Eliza Mulligan and other women 
every Sunday afternoon since its organization, teaching, 
temperance truths." 



History of Spartanburg County. 125 

The members of this society worked in harmony and 
with satisfaction till 1898, when, at the annnal State 
meeting, for snfficient reasons, delegates proposed organ- 
ization of a Woman's Christian Temperance Union No. 
2. A meeting was appointed to organize and elect State 
officers. The National W. C. T. U. sent a delegate to 
inform the society that it conld not have two organiza- 
tions in the State. The society therefore withdrew and 
organized a State society, calling themselves the Chris- 
tian Teniperafice Workers of South Carolina. Under 
this new name they are continuing the same plans of 
work. Mrs. Carrie Wofford, widow of Dr. Ben Wofford, 
organized a W. C. T. U. under the auspices of the na- 
tional organization. There is a wide field of work for 
both the two societies in the constantly growing city of 
Spartanburg. Great good has already been accom- 
plished as shown by the annual report of the Christian 
Temperance Workers. Let us hope that the good work 
already under way by these societies, with the coopera- 
tion of others, may continue from year to year until by 
their reflecting influence on the rising generations, the 
long-prevailing, sin-cursed evil of intemperance may be 
not only stayed, but forever rooted out as one of the 
destroyers of the human race. 



CHAPTER IX. 

A GENERAL REVIEW OF POLITICAL EVENTS, ELECTIONS r 
APPOINTMENTS, ETC., IN SPARTANBURG DISTRICT, 
FROM THE YEAR 183O TO THE YEAR 1860, IN- 
CLUSIVE. 

In the absence of a newspaper in the district of Spar- 
tanburg during the first half century of her existence, 
it is impossible at this time, except by the perusal of 
the pages of history in general to appreciate what must 
have been the political agitations on public issues be- 
fore the people, during the mentioned period, and to 
take up a general consideration of all the great political 
questions, State or National, which have from time to 
time come before the people of South Carolina, is a 
matter which is not contemplated in this volume, being 
solely, as already stated in the outset, a- history intend- 
ing to embrace in a large degree the important events 
as occurring within the county of Spartanburg. 

The first great political agitation affecting the whole 
people of South Carolina and other Southern States, 
began with what is know^n as the Nullification move- 
ment, in 1824, which was the result of an imposition 
of a tariff on certain indispensable articles of import, 
thereby discriminating in favor of similar articles of 
manufacture in the New England States. The South- 
ern States at that time being exclusively agricultural, 
the people of these States felt that such legislation by 
the National Congress was an outrageous proceeding 
and hence the stubborn resistance that followed. 

It is said that during this year (1824) the anti-tariff 
feeling was very strong all over the State of South Car- 

(126) 



History of Spartanburg County. 127- 

olina. There was also about this time a strong feeling 
against internal improvements springing up all over 
the State. These two measures, says Governor Perry,, 
first destroyed the National feeling in South Carolina,, 
which, prior to this, had been one of the strongest 
Federal States in the Union. 

After the passage of the tariff in 1824, there were • 
numerous meetings held in different parts of South 
Carolina protesting against its injustice and inexpe- 
diency. 

In 1828, upon the recommendation of the President,. 
John Quincy Adams, a Tariff Act was passed in Con- 
gress which was bitterly opposed by the South Carolina 
delegation. The latter, however, determined, on their 
return home, after the adjournment of Congress, to call 
public meetings of their constituents and stir them up ■ 
in opposition to the act, which was done all over the 
State. 

In the Legislature of South Carolina, wdiich met in 
1828, the tariff was discussed for two weeks. This was. 
the beginning of the formation of future factional par- 
ties upon which depended the future action of the State. 
All were opposed to the tariff, but they differed very 
widely as to the mode of redress. Governor Perry 
states that from 1828 to the fall of 1830 there was a 
gradual formation of parties in South Carolina for and 
against Nullification ; that in the winter of 1829 and 
1830 Governor Hayne announced the doctrine of Nulli- 
fication and called it the " Carolina Doctrine," which 
gave great popularity to the doctrine during the ensu- 
ing spring and summer. 

In the summer of 1830 the propriety of calling a 
State convention in South Carolina was discussed by 
the candidates for the Legislature all over the State. 
On this question parties ■ were formed for and against, , 



128 History of Spartanburg County. 

which turned the elections in every district. " Noth- 
ing," says Governor Perry, "was advocated beyond the 
expediency of calling a convention, the question of 
Nullification being kept in the background." What- 
ever action the State was to take was dependent on the 
proposed convention, through which the people were to 
decide what course of action should be adopted to resist 
the encroachment of the tariff in South Carolina. 
This, it is said, was the most prudent and politic course 
to be pursued by the advocates of Nullification, and it 
was in this way, it was claimed by Governor Perry, 
who strongly opposed the measure, that the State was 
carried for a Convention and, ultimately. Nullification. 
Says Governor Perry, further : 

"Those who opposed a Convention were denounced 
as Federalists, Aristocrats and Tariff men, who were 
afraid to trust the people. There were a good many 
who were strongly opposed to Nullification, and yet 
went for a Convention on the ground that the people 
ought to decide for themselves on so grave and momen- 
tous a question. There were others, however, who, 
although decided in their opposition to the Tariff, did 
not go for a State Convention. They could not see how 
it was possible for a Convention to remedy an evil 
unless it was by resorting to Nullification, dis-Union 
and civil war. They regarded the Convention as Nul- 
lification in disguise and that Nullification was nothing 
less than destruction of the National Government. 
They were unwilling to break up the Union to get rid 
of the tariff. This class of persons assumed the name 
of ' Union Men,' and the others that of 'States' Rights 
or Free Trade.' " 

From one of Major William Hoy's articles to the 
Spartan^ it appears that the political sentiment in Spar- 
tanburg District on the question of Nullification was 
controlled largely by the visit of Judge Smith to the 
district in the fall of 1831, when he made his great 



History of Spartanburg County. 129 

Union speech. In the same he charged Mr. Calhoun 
with being the originator of the tariff of 1816 and other 
measures of consolidation, all against the interests of 
the South. He stated that all of the South Carolina 
delegation voted for the measure except General Thomas 
Moore of Spartanburg, and in support of this he 
brought up an array of documents and newspaper 
charges to prove it. His contention was that there was 
no need of a separate State action on the tariff, and said 
it was a measure upon which public opinion was reach- 
ing and laid great stress upon an article prepared by 
Mr. Lee, of Boston, against protective tariffs, and said 
that this was the ablest exposition of the subject that 
had been written. He brought up Verplank, the Chair- 
man of the Committee on Ways and Means, in the lower 
house of Congress, as a strong opponent to the protec- 
tive principle, and declared further that Verplank was 
the ablest debater in either house of Congress, notwith- 
standing Clay, Webster, Forsyth and others were in the 
tw^o houses. It is said that it took Judge Smith five 
hours to deliver this speech, and that it was afterwards 
published in book form by a newspaper in Charleston 
called The I n' shut a n^ and sold for twenty-five cents a 
copy. 

In Spartanburg District where the two factions were 
formed and well divided, the result of the fall election 
in 1832 proved the Union men to be largely in the ma- 
jority. In referring to the prevailing sentiment in the 
district at that time. Major Hoy in one of his commu- 
nications to the Spartan states as follows : 

" The celebration of the Fourth of July at Spartan- 
burg in 1832 was partly political, from the fact that 
there was going to be an effort made to raise a strong 
Nullification party in the county (district). Thomas 
Moore, a talented young lawyer, early in the year pub- 

9 h s c 



130 History of Spartanburg County. 

lished an able address to the voters of the county, urging 
them to join the Nullification party. His address was 
signed 'A Descendant of theCowpens.' It was not con- 
cealed who was the author of the appeal, and it was well 
known that his father was a general in the war of 181 2. 
The address strongly hinted that the county needed mis- 
sionary work. He stated that there was not a single 
post-office north of the court-house. Another cause that 
gave uneasiness to those that were inclined to be Union 
men was that Colonel Zachary Edwards, up to that time 
the most popular man in the county, was going to join 
the States' Rights party, as they called themselves. 

' ' A meeting of the leaders of the Union party was 
convened, and the result was the whole county formed 
into a celebration at Spartanburg on the Fourth of July. 
Joshua Richards,* a Baptist preacher and a soldier of the 
Revolution, was president of the meeting ; J. M. Crook, 
a young member of the bar, orator of the day ; James 
E. Henry was to read Washington's Farewell Address 
in place of the Declaration of Independence ; Ber- 
ry man Hicks, chaplain ; Lieutenant-Colonel Evans, 
marshal of the day ; William Trimmier, chairman of 
the committee of arrangements. It is due to his mem- 
ory to say that he made a good one. At sunrise on the 
4th a salute was fired which was heard all over the 
county. The people began early to collect on the pub- 
lic square. At 11 o'clock the line was formed, the 
longest that was ever seen in the place except the Hamp- 
ton meeting in 1876. It was put in motion by the mar- 
shal, headed by the president of the day and several 
Revolutionary soldiers, Collins, Caldwell, Dodd and 
Seay are remembered. When the center of the proces- 
sion was about opposite the Palmetto House a call was 
made to know the length of the line. The call, though 
apparently very simple, caused one of the most ludi- 
crous events of the day. It appeared to start from the 
center and was communicated to the ends of the line, 
causing much laughter and merriment. There were 
two persons who attempted to see the ends ; one was 
John (Jack) S. Collins, well remembered as a very tall 

* See sketch of Joshua Richards at another phice in this vohune. 



History of Spartanburg County. 131 

man. He tiptoed and reported that he could see no ends 
either way. The other effort was made by a perfect 
dwarf. Of course he had nothing to report and received 
a severe rebuke from a free-spoken old gentleman, who 
thought he had a spattering of wit and scripture, but 
perhaps more whisky than either. He called him Zac- 
cheus who climbed the tree and attempted to do what Col- 
lins had failed in. He remarked that if any man could 
reach the North star by tiptoeing a little, Collins was 
the man. The procession reached the stand. Chair- 
man Trimmier, of the committee of arrangements, 
showed his gallantry by seeing that every lady was pro- 
vided for. He then addressed the president of the 
meeting, regretting that they had no Joshua to command 
the sun to stand still until they got through with their 
arrangements. 

"After prayer, Major Henry advanced to the front 
and made an explanation why Washington's Address 
was to be read in place of the Declaration of Independ- 
ence. The orator of the day then came forward and 
made an address that was highly spoken of by his 
audience. 

"In those times what was called regular toasts were 
read. The citizens were called on for their sentiments. 
I remember a few of them. There was a brilliant comet 
and the Asiatic cholera had reached this continent, and 
an elderly gentleman by the name of Spencer said that 
this sentiment occurred to him on hearing the salute 
fired in the morning : 'Black is the heart that would 
from his country depart.' 

"By Major Trimmier: 'Cholera to nullification and 
then a complete nullification to the cholera and the 
comet tail to both.' 

"By S. Bobo : 'The advocates of the new-fangled 
doctrine of nullification may find this sentiment in 
Jefferson's second inaugural : Absolute acquiescence to 
the will of the majority is the vital principle of a repub- 
lic from which there is no appeal but by force.' 

"By Colonel Zachary Edwards: 'Those virtuously 
contending for the Union, may they ever wear the lau- 
rels achieved by their ancestors.' 



132 History of Spartanburg County. 

"Colonel Edwards appeared that day in his brilliant 
uniform, in which he, in addition to his being a verv 
handsome man, made a fine appearance ; but the report 
having gone out that he leaned to the nullification side, 
caused him not being asked to act as marshal of the 
day. He was, without doubt, the greatest militia offi- 
cer in the State. He ever acted after that day wnth the 
Nullifiers. 

"The election in the fall resulted in a large majority 
for the Union candidates. The Union nominee received 
about 1,800 votes. Colonel Moore, leading his ticket, 
received about 800 votes and his colleagues about 700 
each." 

After the fall elections in 1832 were over, the result 
showed that two-thirds of both houses in the Legisla- 
ture were in favor of calling a State convention. Gov- 
ernor Hayne immediately convened the Legislature,, 
which called forthwith a convention of the State which 
embraced the. leading men of the State of both parties. 
Among those elected to represent Spartanburg District 
in that convention were Judges J. B. O'Neall, J. S. 
Richardson and Alfred Huger, none of these residing 
in said district being ardent Union men, but the people 
of Spartanburg composing that faction wisely selected 
them as able standard-bearers to represent their princi- 
ples. The other three delegates elected on the same 
ticket with these gentlemen were John S. Rowland,. 
James Crook and John P. Evins. 

In reference to the election by the people of Spartan- 
burg District of Hon. Alfred Huger of Charleston, one 
of the delegates referred to, Judge Simonton once re- 
lated to the writer a pleasant little incident compli- 
mentary to Spartanburg, and not remembering the par- 
ticulars, he wrote him and received the following reply:. 



History of Spartanburg County. 133 

"Flat Rock, No. Car., 

20th Sept., 1890. 
•'■'■Dr./. B. O. Laiidntm^ Landrum.^ S. C. : 

"Dear Doctor: — Yours of i8th inst. came by last 
mail. The incident to which you refer was this : During 
the Convention of 1865, in a debate under the operation 
of the five-minutes' rule, the Hon. Alfred Huger had 
the floor. When he had been speaking for five minutes 
Judge Wardlaw, the President of the Convention, dropped 
the gavel, and so notified him that his time had expired. 
A member of the Convention rose and moved that the 
rule be suspended as to Mr. Huger, and Judge Ward- 
law put the question, 'The gentleman from Spartan- 
"burg moves that the rule be suspended and the gentle- 
man be permitted to proceed.' This was carried, and 
Mr. Huger resumed his speech thus : ' The gentleman 
from Spartanburg! the gentleman from Spartanburg! 
None of you are old enough to remember, and I will 
never be old enough to forget, that Spartanburg honored 
me, a stranger, with a seat in the Convention of 1832 as 
one of her delegates.' 

"Mr, Huger was postmaster at Charleston from 1830 
to 1 86 1, and was quite an old man in 1865. 
"Yours truly, 

"Charles H. Simonton." 

In the Nullification Convention of 1832 Judge Huger 
was quite a prominent member, and was one of the 
ablest counselors in caucus among the Union men of 
that Convention. In the first caucus he made a speech 
against the delegates taking their seats in the Conven- 
tion. He said : "If we take our seats in the Conven- 
tion we shall be the means of keeping the Nullification 
party together. We shall hear things that will call for 
blood." He said it would be impossible to sit there and 
listen to the speeches of the delegates on the opposite 
side without resenting what was said. "If they talk 
as I suppose they will, blood must be shed ! It cannot 
be avoided." It was believed in the caucus that a test- 



134 History of Spartanburg County. 

oath of allegiance to the State would be required of the 
Union members, which would be inconsistent with their 
allegiance to the Federal Government. 

When, however, the Convention met, it was, indeed, 
a most dignified body, containing most of the great men 
of both parties in South Carolina. They were fine-look- 
ing gentlemen, and showed great respect for each other 
throughout the entire sitting of that body. 

It is well known to every reader of our State history 
that the ordinance of Nullification was passed at this 
Convention. It was drawn by Chancellor Harper, and 
provided for a dissolution of the Union. The tariff laws 
were declared null and void, and judges and juries were 
to be sworn to say so whenever the question came be- 
fore them. The Legislature was authorized to make all 
laws for carrying the ordinance into effect. 

Immediately after the adjournment of the Convention 
the Legislature assembled and appropriated money for 
the purchase of arms, and authorized the raising of an 
army of twenty thousand volunteers to enforce the en- 
actment of the Nullification ordinance, which in its read- 
ing declared that no customs should be collected in 
South Carolina after the first day of February, 1833. 

Soon after this, President Jackson, in a proclamation,, 
declared the proceedings of the State Convention of 
South Carolina treasonable, and that, as the Chief Ex- 
ecutive of the Government of the United States, he would 
enforce absolute obedience to its laws. Forces were at 
once sent to Castle Pinckney and Sullivan's Island. 
These forts were at once put in a proper state of defence. 
General Scott was sent to take command of the United. 
States forces. The sloop Natchez was stationed in the 
port of Charleston, and it was evident that unless there 
was very soon some pacifying measures adopted a bloody 
conflict was inevitable. Virginia deputed a commission 



History of Spartanburg County. 135 

to South Carolina, with the request that the Nullifica- 
tion ordinance be not enforced until the next regular 
session of Congress. The Nullifiers called a meeting of 
their party in Charleston and suspended the operation of 
the ordinance. In the following spring a compromise 
of the tariff question was effected at Washington between 
Mr. Clay and Mr. Calhoun. The protection of domestic 
manufactures was provided for, and a gradual reduction 
of the tariff was to take place for the period of ten years 
until it reached the low point demanded by Mr. Calhoun, 
United States Senator and the exponent of the princi- 
ples of Nullification in South Carolina. 

Immediately after this, the State Convention of South 
Carolina was convened and rescinded the ordinance of 
Nullification. 

With the subsidence of the Tariff agitation in South 
Carolina, other National issues, in the course of time, 
sprung up. The sj^stematic agitation of slavery came 
up as early as 1835, by a party called Abo/itionisis^ 
which, it was claimed, instead of striking at an express 
and specific provision of the Constitution, aimed directly 
to destroy the relation between the two races in the 
South, their avowed intention being to bring about a state 
of things which would force the abolition of slavery. 
As the years advanced, the party grew stronger at the 
North ; so much so, that in 1849 the Southern delegates 
in Congress issued an address to their constituents which, 
among other things, set forth the fact that societies and 
newspapers were everywhere established, debating clubs 
opened, lecturers employed, pamphlets and other publi- 
cations disseminated, pictures and jDetitions to Congress 
resorted to, regardless of truth and decency ; that both 
the object and means were aggressive and dangerous to 
the rights of the South ; that slavery was a domestic 
institution and belonged to the States, each for itself to 



136 History of Spartanburg County. 

decide whether it shall be established or not, etc. ; that 
in the sacrifices and efforts of all the States to maintain 
the National Government the South had contributed 
more than her share of volunteers and money. 

In the same address it was recommended that meetings 
be held in the congressional districts of the Southern 
States in order to give the people an opportunity to 
express themselves on this subject, signifying their 
approbation of their representatives in Congress and, like 
their Revolutionary ancestors, pledge ' 'their lives, their 
fortunes, and their sacred honor" to defend their consti- 
tutional rights. In response to this request, public 
meetings were held all over the Southern States, and 
among the first meetings held in South Carolina was at 
Spartanburg court-house, March 6th, 1849. The num- 
ber of citizens present was unusually large, it being 
court week. 

Dr. John Winsmith, by a unanimous vote, was called 
to preside over the deliberations of the meeting, and 
Z. T. Cottrell and G. W. H. Legg were requested to act as 
secretaries. 

Dr. Winsmith, assuming the chair, stated that the 
meeting had assembled for the purpose of taking under 
consideration the address of the Southern Delegates in 
Congress, and delivered an extended address, and among 
other things stated that when the State of Missouri was 
admitted into the Union in 1816 under a compromise 
known as the Missoitri Compromise., by which the South 
was required to make important concessions for the sake 
of the Union, it was hoped that she would be permitted 
to repose in the enjoyment of her rights. He urged that 
not only the slave interest, but every other interest in 
our country was involved. He stated that the question 
must be met at once, and he hoped all were fully pre- 



History of Spartanburg County. 137 

pared to meet it as became freemen of Carolina and of 
Spartanburg District. 

Hon. J. Edward Henry offered a resolution that a 
committee of twenty-one be appointed by the chair to 
report a preamble and resolutions for the meeting 
responsive to the address of the Southern Delegates in 
Congress, which was adopted, and under the same Mr. 
Henry was made chairman. Very soon a lengthy pre- 
amble and resolutions were reported by the committee, 
which set forth a cordial approval of the action of the 
Southern Delegates ; that no evil whatever could befall 
us more intolerable than submission to the grievances, 
injustice and degradation which had been induced and 
with which the country was threatened, and that the citi- 
zens of Spartanburg District were prepared to imite with 
others in arresting further progress of such injustice, 
oppression, etc. 

The chair appointed the following committee of vigi- 
lance, viz. : Col. H. H. Thomson, Maj. H. J. Dean, S. 
Bobo, Esq., Dr. W. C. Bennett, Hon. G. Cannon, Capt. 
Robert Jackson, Gen. J. W. Miller, Col. S. N. Evins, 
Jonas Brewton, Esq., Dr. C. P. Woodruff, Mr. James 
Nesbitt, Z. D. Bragg, Esq., Messrs. J. Davis, C. P. Smith, 
J. C. Zimmerman, Thomas Littlejohn, Dr. S. Otterson, 
Capt. A. Bonner and Henry Dodd, Esq. 

The preamble and resolutions were adopted by a ris- 
ing vote. 

Upon the assembling of the Legislature of South Car- 
olina, November 27th, 1849, the message of Governor 
Whitemarsh B. Seabrook was received and read. Under 
the head of the subject, Federal Relations^ he transmit- 
ted certain resolutions of the States of Virginia, North 
Carolina, Georgia, Florida and Missouri, on the restric- 
tion of slavery in the Territories of the United States. 
Governor Seabrook in commenting on these, said that 



138 History of Spartanburg County. 

the opinion of South Carolina on the grave matter at 
issue had been repeatedly expressed, that, at its last session , 
the Legislature of South Carolina, unanimously declared 
that the time for discussion by the slave-holding States 
had passed, and that the General Assembly, represent- 
ing the feelings of the State, was prepared to co-operate 
with her sister States in resisting the application of the 
Wilmot Proviso* to the territory acquired from Mexico 
at any and every hazard. Governor Seabrook, also in 
said message, called attention to the fact, that at a con- 
vention held in Columbia the May previous, composed 
of delegates of the Committees of Safety, it was, among 
other things, resolved that, in the passage of the Wil- 
mot Proviso, or an equivalent measure, the Governor 
be requested to convene the Legislature, if not already 
in session, "to consider the mode and measure of redress."' 
The Governor in said message endorsed the project of 
a Southern convention and hailed with satisfaction the 
proposition of Mississippi, for a convention of the peo- 
ple of the Southern States, the permanent object being 
the preservation of the Union, in conformity with the 
principles of the Constitution of the United States, and 
if that could not be attained, then to let it be resolved 



*" The probability that the war with Mexico would result in the 
acquisition of extensive territor}' in the southwest early led to the 
reagitation of the slavery question. In 1846 David Wilmot, of Penn- 
sylvania, introduced into Congress a proposition, called by him the 
Wi/mol Proviso, that slaver\' should be prohibited in all territory that 
might be acquired by treaty. This proviso failed to receive the sanc- 
tion of Congress, and the question being thrown before the country 
for discussion a party holding the views of Mr. Wilmot was organized. 
They took the name of Free-soi/ers, and in June, 1848, nominated 
Martin Van Buren, as their candidate for the presidency. The Dem- 
ocrats nominated Gen. Lewis Cass, of Michigan ; the Whigs, Gen. 
Taylor, whose brilliant victories in Mexico made him the favorite of 
the Nation. Taylor was elected, and with him Millard Fillmore, of 
New York, as Vice-President." See Quackenbos's History, page 444.. 



History of Spartanburg County. 139 

to protect and defend, at all hazards, the sovereignty 
and independence of the members which compose it, 
and if the latter alternative should, by dire necessity, be 
forced upon the South, then, at once, commit its cause 
and destiny to God. 

The attitudes of Alabama, Georgia and other South- 
ern States were similar to South Carolina, the great 
principle being laid down, that, whenever the Congress 
of the United States attempted to exercise control over 
the territory which had been acquired by treaty with 
Mexico, so far as the question of domestic servitude 
was concerned, they had by said act violated the. Con- 
stitution and dissolved the union of the States. 

The Georgia resolutions declared that the Govern- 
ment of the United States was one of limited powers, 
and could not rightfully exercise any authority except 
authorized by the Constitution, and that said Constitu- 
tion granted no power to Congress to prohibit the intro- 
duction of slavery into any territory belonging to the 
United States. 

It was upon this momentous question that, by con- 
certed agreement between all the Southern States, a 
convention was called to meet at Nashville, Tenn., in 
June, 1850, to be composed of two delegates from each 
of the congressional districts in all the Southern States. 

For what was then called the Pinckneyville Congres- 
sional District, composed of the districts of Spartanburg, 
Union, York, and Chester, the names of a number of 
prominent gentlemen were suggested through the press 
as suitable persons to represent said Congressional dis- 
trict in the Nashville convention, and among those men- 
tioned in Spartanburg District were. Dr. C. P. "Wood- 
ruff of Woodruff, and Col. E. C. Leitner. 

The convention to nominate delegates to attend the 
Nashville convention to represent the Pinckneyville- 



140 History of Spartanburg County. 

District met at Union, May 6th, 1850, and selected 
.Hon. David Johnson and Col. B. F. Beatie. 

Dr. Samuel Otterson, of Limestone Springs, and J. A. 
Bradley, of Chester District, were chosen as alternates. 

Hon. David Johnson, on account of ill health, failing 
to attend the said convention, his place was filled in 
that body by Dr. Otterson, who, on his return home, 
delivered an address before the citizens of Spartanburg of 
considerable length (see Spartan files, Oct. 17th, 1850), in 
which, among other things, he stated that, as a member 
of the Southern convention at Nashville, he would 
always treasure it as one of the greatest honors ever 
conferred upon him ; that he received from the citizens 
of that city the most respectful attention. 

An address, called the " Southern Address," was issued 
by the convention to the people of Maryland, Virginia, 
North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Ala- 
bama, Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi, Louisiana, 
Texas, Missouri and Delaware, which contained some 
information as to the results and counsels of the conven- 
tion. (See Spartan files, June 24th and July 4th, 1850.) 
The address stated that it was no ordinary occasion 
which had brought the convention together. The Con- 
stitution and the Union it created, so long dear in the 
hearts of the people, were to be preserved and our liber- 
ties and our institutions maintained. 

In December, 1850, the Legislature of South Carolina 
passed a bill which provided for the election of delegates 
on the second Monday in October of the following year 
to elect delegates to a Southern Congress, to meet 
in Montgomery, Alabama, in January, 1852, pro- 
vided other sister Southern States, or any of them, 
would then and there meet. Also, a bill providing for 
an election, by the people, of delegates to a State con- 
vention, said election to be held on the second Monday 



History of Spartanburg County. 141' 

of February of the following year, and the convention 
to meet by a call of the governor whenever he deemed 
it proper, after the meeting of said Southern Congress, 
provided, that if not sooner convened, the next legisla- 
lature should, by a majority vote, fix the time for the 
meeting of said convention. 

It is said that in the passage of this bill providing for 
the election of delegates to a State convention, there 
was unanimity of feeling. All rejoiced at the happy 
issue of the discussion, and in accordance with its pro- 
visions, providing for the election of delegates, February 
2, 1851, to the said convention, the following gentle- 
men were elected and are herein named, as they were 
highest on the list of votes polled, viz. : 

James G. Landrum, 

James Farrow, 

John Winsmith, 

Peter M. Wallace, 

Robert C. Poole, 

James J. Vernon. 

At the election of delegates second Monday in Octo- 
ber, 1851, to represent the Pinckneyville Congressional 
District in the Southern Congress, to meet at Montgom- 
ery, Ala., January, 1852, the following was the result of 
the vote in Spartanburg District, each gentleman re- 
ceiving the number of votes opposite his name, viz. : 

Thomas N. Dawkins i)448 

Samuel Rainy 1,426 

Peter M. Wallace 1,176 

Thos. O. P.Vernon 1,186 

The two first named (Dawkins and Rainy) represented 
the Southern Rights Cooperative ticket; /. ^., they were 
opposed to separate State action in regard to secession, , 



142 History of Spartanburg County. 

but were in favor of a great Southern Party banded to- 
gether by the ties of affection and interest. 

The two last named (Wallace and Vernon) believed 
in asserting the sovereignty of SoiitJi Carolina by sepa- 
rate State action ; that nothing but the bold and fearless 
action of the State could save the South and preserve the 
liberty, safety and prosperity of our country. 

In searching the pages of history, we have been una- 
ble to gather any information as to the action of the 
Southern Congress, which met according to appointment 
in Montgomery, Ala., in January, 1852, but we believe 
it adjourned without taking any definite action whatever, 
the main reason being the want of a general cooperation 
among the sister Southern States. 

Upon the call of the Governor of South Carolina, the 
delegates which had been elected in February, 1851, 
met in Columbia, S. C, in April, 1852. 

It was composed of three factions, viz. : Secessionists^ 
in favcr of separate vState action, Cooperationists^ favor- 
ing secession along with other sister Southern States, and 
Union men. Prominent among the latter faction was 
Hon. B. F. Perry, of Greenville, and Judge Alfred H. 
Huger, of Charleston, both of whom had figured prom- 
inently in the Nullification Convention of 1832, as we 
have already stated in the preceding pages of our account 
of the proceedings of that convention. 

When the convention met a committee of twenty- 
one was appointed to consider the legality of the Legis- 
lature authorizing the calling of said body together. 
Said committee was composed of twelve Cooperation- 
ists, eight Secessionists and one Union man. The work 
of the convention was practically through this com- 
mittee, in which harmony and good feeling, it is said, 
existed. There was no disposition more than to assert 
the right of sccessiofi. 



History of Spartanburg County. 143 

Judge Huger made a speech before the committee 
in which he said that the present Federal Government, 
as formed by the Constitution, was the most perfect 
system of government in the world, or ever had been, 
and that he was opposed to cooperation because it was 
unconstitutional for States to cooperate or to enter into 
any compact or agreement. 

There was a question raised before the committee as 
to the right of the convention to alter the State Consti- 
tution, and, strange to say. Chancellor Wardlaw, Judges 
Whitner and Evins and a majority of the committee 
voted that the sovereign power of South Carolina had 
no right to alter or change their Constitution. Cer- 
tainly it had this right, if it had the power to throw off 
the Federal Government. 

As to the final action of the committee, it reported to 
the convention an ordinance declaring the constitu- 
tional right of a State to secede from the Union. 

Dr. Bellenger offered an amendment to the report of 
the committee, giving the Legislature the right to 
secede by a vote of two-thirds of that body, which was 
tabled. 

The ordinance, as reported by the committee, being 
ratified, the convention adjourned sine die. 

By virtue of an act of Congress passed in the year 
1846, which enacted that "the Electors of President 
and Vice-President shall be appointed on Tuesday next 
after the first Monday in the month of November of 
the year in which they are to be appointed," and the 
annual meeting of the Legislature of South Carolina, 
by a constitutional provision, not taking place until the 
fourth IMonday of November of each year, the gov- 
ernor, Hon. Wm. H. Gist, called that body together in 
extraordinary session, early in November, i860, stating 
in the message to the same, that under ordinarv circum- 



144 History of Spartanburg County. 

stances the duty of that body would soon be discharged 
by the election of electors representing the choice of 
the people of the State, but in view of the threatening 
aspect of affairs and the strong probability of the elec- 
tion to the presidency of a sectional candidate by a 
party committed to the support of measures which, if 
carried out, would inevitably destroy our equality in 
the Union and ultimately reduce the Southern States to 
mere provinces of a consolidated despotism to be gov- 
erned by a fixed majority in Congress, hostile to our insti- 
tutions and fatally bent upon our ruin, he (the governor), 
respectfully suggested that the Legislature remain in 
session and take such action as would prepare the State 
for any emergency that would arise. 

The Governor further stated that an expression of 
the people should be obtained on a question involving 
such momentous consequences, and earnestly recom- 
mended, in the event of the election of Abraham Lin- 
coln to the presidency, that a convention of the people 
of the State be immediately called to consider and de- 
termine the ' ' mode and measure of redress. ' ' 

Governor Gist, in said message, further declared that 
his own opinions of what the convention should do 
were of little moment ; but believing that the time had 
arrived when every one, however humble he might be, 
should express his opinions in unmistakable language,, 
he was constrained to say that the only alternative left, 
in his judgment, was the secession of South Carolina 
from the Federal Union ; that the indications from 
many of the Southern States justified the conclusion 
that the secession of South Carolina would be immedi- 
ately followed, if not adopted simultaneously by them, 
and ultimately the entire South ; that the long-desired 
cooperation of other States having similar institutions 
for which the State had been waiting, seemed to be- 



History of SpartanburCx County. 145 

near at hand, and if we were true to ourselves would 
soon be realized ; that the State had already declared 
with great unanimity that she had a right peacefully to 
secede, and no power on earth could rightfully pre- 
vent it. 

The governor further declared that, if in the exercise 
of arbitrary power and forgetful of the lessons of his- 
tory, the Government of the United States should at- 
tempt coercion, it would be our solemn duty to meet 
force by force, and whatever might be the decision of 
the convention representing the sovereignty of the 
State — and amenable to no earthly tribunal — should, 
during the remainder of his administration be carried 
out to the letter, regardless of any hazards that might 
surround its execution. 

Governor Gist also, in his message, recommended a 
thorough reorganization of the militia, so as to place 
the whole military force of the State in a position to be 
used at the shortest notice and with the greatest efficiency ; 
that every man in the State between the ages of eighteen 
and forty-five should be well armed with the most effec- 
tive weapons of modern warfare, and all the available 
means of the State used for that purpose. In addition 
to this, the governor recommended that the services of 
ten thousand volunteers be immediately accepted ; that 
they be organized and drilled by officers chosen by them- 
selves in readiness to be called on, upon the shortest 
notice. 

"With this preparation for defence," said the gover- 
nor, "and with all the hallowed memories of past 
achievements, and with our love for liberty and hatred 
for tyranny, and with the knowledge that we are con- 
tending for our homes and firesides, we confidently ap- 
peal to the Disposer of all human events and safely trust 
our cause to His keeping." 

10 h s c 



146 History of Spartanburg County. 

It is unnecessary to relate the excitement, the enthu- 
siasm and the hearty response with which this message 
was approved by the people of South Carolina. In a 
few days, even the quota of volunteers asked for by the 
governor, were already organized and ready to march 
forth, even before the Legislature had time to take action 
on the recommendations contained in the message. That 
body within a few days passed unanimously a joint reso- 
lution providing for the call of a convention, the dele- 
gates to the same to be elected on the 6th of December, 
and the convention to be convened on the 17th of the 
same month. 

The other recommendations set forth in the message 
of Governor Gist were fully carried out by the Legisla- 
ture. A bill was immediately enacted for the organiza- 
tion and equipment of an army in the State, supported 
by a heavy appropriation to maintain the same. 

The scenes of those days are yet fresh in the mem- 
ory of the writer, who was among the first to respond 
to the call foi volunteer troops. The people awaited 
the action of the Legislature with intense interest and 
excitement after the reception, reading and publication 
of th-e message of Governor Gist. The Hon. Gabriel 
Cannon, at that time the senator representing the Dis- 
trict of Spartanburg, issued an address to the people of 
said district, in which he clearly set forth the recent 
action of the Legislature, and urged upon his constitu- 
ents the necessity of making a prudent selection of 
delegates to the approaching State convention ; that 
they should look around for such men as they were 
willing to trust with their destinies ; to let them be wise 
and prudent men who would act cautiously but firmly ; 
that the occasion demanded and the times called for 
harmony and union amongst ourselves, and that we 
shoiild consider well and act like men. 



History of Spartanburg County. 147 

Other prominent political leaders in the State were 
also out, through the press, with a full expression of 
their views and sentiments on the critical situation of 
affairs, and among this number was Hon. Thomas N. 
Dawkins of Union, who had been for years the recog- 
nized leader of the faction known as Cooperationists^ 
which, as we have already stated, carried Spartanburg 
District by a considerable majority in the election of 
delegates in October, '51, to the Southern Congress at 
Montgomery, Alabama. 

Judge Dawkins, in responding to a call made on him 
at the Walker House in Spartanburg, November 15th, 
'60, spoke eloquently of the wrongs which the South 
had suffered in the Union, and said that the Constitution 
had been violated to such an extent by our enemies of 
the Northern States, that we could no longer remain in 
a government with them consistently with our honor 
and with due regard to our cherished institutions. 

The Hon. Simpson Bobo, in a meeting of the citizens 
of the town of Spartanburg, stated that he had at last 
fallen into strange company ; that he had always been 
a Union man; that, in 1832 he belonged to that part}' 
in opposition to Nullification, because he did not believe 
the State had a right to remain in the Union and nul- 
lify its laws; that in 1852 he was a Union man and a 
Cooperationist, as he did not at that time think the 
aggressions of the General Government sufficient to 
warrant extreme measures, but since the Republican 
party had got the rule and control of the Free States 
and had sent their senators and members of Congress 
to the capitol, and tliere proclaiming eternal war on 
the South, avowing "a higher law" than the Constitu- 
tion or even the Bible — that there was an "irrepressi- 
ble conflict" declared by their leaders, between the 
labor of the sections which could never be overcome 



148 History of Spartanburg County. 

"which the churches," said Mr. Bobo, "instead of 
preaching salvation^ have made the institutions of the 
South the subject of their denunciations in every pulpit 
in the Free States ; that the infamous raid of John 
Brown was eulogized by them and their church-bells 
were tolled throughout their land in sympathy for the 
wretch — for his dark and wicked offenses." Said Mr. 
Bobo further, "They have sent their minions abroad 
in the South, with weapons of death in one hand and 
the lighted torch in the other, exciting insurrection in 
the country, thereby working our ruin throughout the 
land." 

Said Mr. Bobo in his closing remarks : "In view of 
all this, I feel that the crisis is upon us, and as painful 
as it is to utter the word, I must say that this Union 
must be dissolved y 

Governor Francis W. Pickens, on assuming the exec- 
utive chair of South Carolina, December, i860, stated 
in his Inaugural Address, that South Carolina had no 
other alternative left but to interpose her sovereignty 
as an independent State, to protect the rights and ancient 
privileges of her people ; that the State was one of the 
parties to the Federal compact of Union ; that we had 
agreed to this as a State, under peculiar circumstances 
when we were surrounded with great external pressure 
for purposes of the national protection and to advance 
the interests and general welfare of the States equally 
and alike, and that when it ceased to do this, it was no 
longer a perpetual union ; that it would be an absurdity 
to suppose it was a perpetual union for our ruin. That 
the Constitution was a compact between co-States and 
not with the Federal Government ; that on questions 
vital and involving the peace and safety of parties to 
the compact, from the very nature of the instrument, 
each State must judge of the mode and measure of pro- 



History of Spartanburg County. 149 

tection necessary for her peace and the preservation of 
her local and domestic institutions, and that South Car- 
olina should, therefore, decide for herself, as she had a 
right to do — to resume her original powers of govern- 
ment as an independent State. 

We cannot here go further — thirty-eight years after 
the scenes we have described were enacted — to relate all 
the particulars of the stirring events as they occurred 
in rapid succession, in the District of Spartanburg, 
as they came under the immediate observation of the 
writer. Liberty poles were raised in different sections 
of the district, upon which were hoisted a red flag with 
the emblem of the palmetto tree on one side and the 
Lone Star on the other, amid the shouting of the mul- 
titude, the pealing of guns and the rattle of the drum. 
Public meetings were held, patriotic speeches were made, 
spirited resolutions were passed, and their proceedings 
sent abroad for publication. 

The most noted mass-meeting, however, held in the 
district during this exciting period was on a general 
call for a meeting at Spartanburg, on Saturday, Novem- 
ber 24th, i860. The writer was present at this meet- 
ing, and, although the day was cold and bleak, there 
was present a large and enthusiastic number of citizens 
from every section of the district. All over this dense 
crowd, which had assembled in front of the Palmetto 
House (the capacity of the court-house being too small 
to accommodate the meeting), were seen, with unmis- 
takable meaning, the blue rosettes or cockades pinned 
on the hats of the Minute Men — a society which had 
already organized and were ready to respond to the very 
first call for their services. Over this meeting Mr. S. 
Bobo, Chairman of Committee of Arrangements, an- 
nounced the following officers had been chosen to pre- 
side, viz. : 



150 History of Spartanburg County. 

President, Rev. John G. Landrum ; Vice-Presidents, 
Samnel N. Evins, John Davis, J. W. Miller, James Nes- 
bitt, Samuel Morgan, John Stroble, O. P. Earle, John B. 
Davis, Rev. Clough S. Beard, Rev. Wm. Curtis, LL.D., 
Dr. Wm. Nott, Andrew Bonner, Edward E. Parker, N. P. 
Walker, Dr. Maurice A. Moore, O. E. Edwards, A. B. 
Woodruff, Harvey Wofford, Jared Drummond, James 
Anderson, Rev. R. H. Reid, Dr. James Bivings, Henry 
Dodd, Wm. Ballenger, A. C. Bomar, Dr. Ibra Cannon, 
Samuel Jackson, J. H. Ezell, Sum Sumner, Rev. A. j\I. 
Shipp, D.D., B. F. Bates, E. P. Smith, Dr. B. F. Kilgore, 
Rev. H. H. Durant, Dr. J. W'insmith, Joel Foster, John D. 
Wright, John M.Crook, John B.Cleveland, Joseph Foster, 
Henry Gaffney and Woodard Allen. 

The President, on taking the chair, made a few brief 
remarks, and stated the object of the meeting. 

After prayer by the Rev. Whiteford Smith, D.D., the 
Hon. James Chesnut, Jr., late United States senator 
from South Carolina, was introduced amidst the wildest 
enthusiasm and cheering, who stated that he had only 
the day previous addressed a number of the patriotic 
citizens of Carolina, sixty miles away ; and that his love 
for South Carolina would not permit him to remain 
quiet and silent when so many from the " Old Iron Dis- 
trict " of South Carolina desired to hear him; and 
through the rain, the dark, wet night, and the chilling 
blasts he had come at their invitation, and was now 
ready to state to them our wrongs and grievances — 
which he did in such a plain and practical manner that 
all who heard him felt the force of his remarks and the 
importance of the occasion. 

Hon. A. G. Magrath, recently judge of the United 
States District Court for South Carolina, was present by 
invitation and introduced. He had laid aside his judi- 
cial robes so soon as the first blast from the North rune 



History of Spartanburg County. 151 

the intelligence in his ears that we were no lonoer free ; 
and in a most eloqnent and effective manner he told 
his andience a tale true, but which many of them had 
never heard before. 

Suitable resolutions to the occasion were introduced 
and passed, and the entire day was consumed in listen- 
ing to the speeches of a number of gentlemen who were 
called out. and who expressed their views, all of them 
favoring immediate separate State action. 

At night there was a torchlight procession of the 
Minute Men. 

On the 6th of December, i860, the election in Spar- 
tanburg District fcr delegates to the State convention 
was held. Each of the following named gentlemen were 
elected, receiving at the polls the number of votes oppo- 
site their respective names : 

John G. Landrum i)326 

B. B. Foster — .. -_ 1^257 

Benj. F. Kilgore -1,254 

Jas. H. Carlisle ._ i)2i7 

Simpson Bobo 1,165 

William Curtis . _- -^1,006 

On the 17th of December, i860, the Convention of 
South Carolina — known in history as the Secession Con- 
vention — according to the time fixed by legislative en- 
actment, met in Columbia and organized, but immedi- 
ately adjourned to meet in Charleston, where, on the 20th 
of the same month, passed the following ordinance: 

State of South Carolina. 
We, the people of SoutJi Carolina, in Conve)ition assembled, 
do declare and ordain that the ordinance adopted by 7is in Con- 
ve?itio?i, on the 2jd day of May, ij88, whereby the Constitii- 
ii07i of the United States was ratified, and also all Acts and 
parts of Acts of the General Assembly of this State ratifying 
amendments of said Constitution, are hereby repealed, a /id that 



152 History of Spartanburg County. 

iJie U?no?i ?iow subsistiftg beiivee?i SontJi Caroliiia a?id other 
States mider the 7ta?ne of the United States of America, is 
hereby dissolved. 

(Signed) D, F. Jamison, 

President. 
(And members of entire Convention.) 
Attest : B. F. Arthur, Clerk. 

It is unnecessary to go further to review the great 
events recorded in the pages of American history, re- 
sulting from the passage of this famous ordinance by a 
convention of the peoj^le of South Carolina assembled 
for that purpose. They are still fresh in the memories 
of the survivors of that period, and it has been an oft- 
repeated story to the generations that have come after 
them. Whatever was the wisdom or justice of this action 
of the State of South Carolina, under all the trying and 
pressing circumstances which surrounded her, remains 
to be recorded by the impartial historian yet unborn. 
We are willing to leave the matter in his hands with no 
fears as to a full vindication of the South in her alleged 
wrongs, and with full justice to the memories, valor and 
patriotism of the brave defenders of a "Lost Cause." 



CHAPTER X. 

REVIEW OF THE PROGRESS OF MANUFACTURES IN 
SPARTANBURG COUNTY DURING THE NINETEENTH 
CENTURY. 

IRON INDUSTRY. 

Ill " Ramsey's History of South Carolina " (Appen- 
dix, p. 307), we learn that the first iron ore works in 
South Carolina were erected within the borders of the 
present county of Spartanburg in 1773. These have 
been called in the pages of history Buffmgtoii's Iron 
Works, Wofford''s Iron Works^ and Berivick^ s Irott Works^ 
but, from what we have been able to gather, they were 
one and the same, possibly a joint stock compau)-. Of 
Buffington we know nothing except that the land grants 
in that immediate vicinity show him to have been one 
of the first settlers there. Of William Wofford, who was 
also one of the proprietors, we have given a sketch else- 
where in connection with the Wofford family. It would 
appear, however, that he had disposed of his interest in 
these works, either before the beginning or during the 
Revolution, for, in 1780, we learn from Draper's "King's 
Mountain" that he was living in the upper Catawba 
Valley, N. C, where he had erected a small fort, which 
the over-mountain men passed on the route to King's 
Mountain, just preceding the battle there. Of Simon 
Berwick, the last proprietor of Wofford's Iron Works, 
we have a notice in an another place in this work. (See 
Chapter I.) 

Wofford's Iron Works, a name that has been made 
famous in the pages of our Revolutionary history, by 
reason of the battle that was fought near by, were located 

(153) 



154 History of Spartanburg County, 

on the left bank of the stream, Lawson's Fork, abont a 
half mile above the present manufacturing village of 
Glendale. This was perhaps the most noted point within 
the territory of the present county of Spartanburg before 
and during the Revolution. It was here that Mr. Dray- 
ton and Mr. Tenant, commissioners sent out by the Coun- 
cil of Safety in 1775, to explain to the people the nature 
of the dispute between the colonies and the mother 
country, repaired for a time ; and it was from this point 
that Mr. Drayton wrote to the Council of Safety, inform- 
ing them of the patriotism of the people comprising the 
early settlements of the up-country, stating, among other 
things, that they were active and spirited, and that he 
was taking steps at once to organize a regiment ; which 
resulted in a short time in the organization of the fa- 
mous Spartan regiment commanded by Colonel John 
Thomas, Sr. It was also to this place that Sumter and 
his gallant followers retreated after the battle of Black- 
stocks. Colonel Sumter, having been seriously wounded 
in said battle, was here placed on a litter between tw^o 
horses and carried to a more secure region in the moun- 
tains, w4iere he remained until after his recovery, when 
he again took the field. 

In another volume* we have given some account of 
the raid of the notorious " Bloody Bill " Cunningham 
to the up-country of South Carolina in November, 1781. 
One of his most infamous acts of oj^en incendiarism was 
the destruction by fire of this valuable property, which, 
doubtless, by reason of the death of Mr. Berwick, a few 
years later, were never rebuilt. 

Besides Wofford's Iron Works, there were other works 
located in the up-country, perhaps less extensive and 
important. It is said that in the Southern colonies 

* See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 341. 



History of Spartanburg County. 155 

iron-making became an important indnstry eYen before 
the beginning of the eighteenth centnry, and it has been 
a well-established fact that the early settlers of what is 
now Spartanburg county understood something of the 
manufacture of iron, and when the Revolution broke 
out there were several forges in the up-country of South 
Carolina, and one of these was Poole's Iron Works, which 
were located somewhere on Pacolet River. Colonel John 
Iv. Black, son of one of the pioneer iron-makers of South 
Carolina, in a letter to Mr. Richard H. Edmonds, editor 
of the Mamifactiirer'' s Record^ in speaking of the early 
days of iron manufacturing in upper South Carolina, 
says : 

" Small quantities of iron were made in Catalan forges 
along the Piedmont slope in the Carolinas prior to and 
during the Revolutionary War. The limonite ores . . . 
were used, and small quantities of iron were made. . . 

"During the Revolutionary war William Hill, father 
of the late General D. H. Hill of the Confederate army, 
operated a forge and a small blast-furnace on Allison's 
Creek, . . . and made iron from these very pure 
ores. Lord Cornwallis, in his advance from upper South 
Carolina to Charlotte, burned Hill's works, and destroyed 
some small iron guns Mr. Hill had cast to aid the colo- 
nial rebellion. Vestiges of this furnace are still to be 
seen, and a fragment of an iron cannon taken lately from 
Allison Creek can now be seen in Yorkville, S. C. 

"A small blast-furnace was erected on King's Creek, 
seven miles southwest of Blacksburg, by one Stroup, in 
1822; also a Catalan forge. In 1824 Stroup left King's 
Creek and moved seven miles to the present site of the 
Cherokee Cotton F'actory, and began to build iron works 
on Broad River. This move was to get alongside the gray 
ores of Blacksburg, S. C. In 1826 a company known as 
E. Graham & Co., composed of James A. Black, Emon 
Graham, Jacob Deal and P. R. Brice, all of Columbia, 
S. C. , and David Johnson, of Union coiinty, bought the 
Stroup interest and proceeded to build an iron works. 



156 History of Spartanburg County. 

E. Graham & Co. 's interests were merged into an in- 
corporated company — the King's Monntain Iron Co. — 
with $100,000 capital, a portion of which was invested 
in slaves as operatives and mechanics. 

"In 1827 the King's Mountain Iron Co. erected a 
blast-furnace. This was replaced by a large furnace on 
the same site in 1837, and was designed for a hot-blast, 
but only cold blasts were ever applied. The present 
Cherokee cotton mill occupies the same site. In 1832 
E. Graham & Co. built a rolling-mill in Union county, 
two miles below their furnace. In 1830 they cast guns — 
six and nine pounders — for the State of South Carolina, 
and quantities of round shot ; also grape and canister. 
In 1837 the King's Mountain Iron Co. built a second 
blast-furnace on King's Creek, four miles southeast of 
the town of Blacksburg. In the same year the Magnetic 
Iron Co., capital $250,000, of which 60 per cent, was 
invested in slaves, was incorporated and built at Chero- 
kee Ford, on Broad River, one mile above King's Moun- 
tain Iron Works and near the present town of Blacks- 
burg, four furnaces, rolling-mill, nail-factory, etc. This 
compau}^ graded and operated a tramway five miles 
long, to bring in ores, limestone, charcoal and supplies. 
This was operated in 1838, and the old grade, in a good 
state of preservation, may now be seen, from Cherokee 
Ford to Gaffney City. 

"In 1837 a furnace was erected by the South Caro- 
lina Manufacturing Company, near the old Cowpens 
battle-ground in Spartanburg county. Wilson Nesbitt, 
afterwards member of Congress, Wm. C. Clark and others 
formed a part of said company. Mr. W^ Mollis was for 
many years the superintendent of these works. So also 
was the Hon. Gabriel Cannon in the early years of his 
manhood. This company also built and operated a mill 
to roll iron, and a nail factory (called the Rolling Mill), 
at Hurricane Shoals on the Pacolet River, now the site 
of the Clifton Cotton Mills (No. i)." . 

The South Carolina Manufacturing Company owned 
more than twenty-five thousand acres of land lying be- 
tween the rivers Pacolet and Broad, and a tramway was 



History of Spartanburg County. 157 

constructed leading out to the ore-beds on these lands, 
which the writer has often seen. The late Hon. Simp- 
son Bobo owned considerable stock, and in some way had 
charge of the business management of this company, 
which was successfully operated until the close of the 
war, when the emancipation of the slaves, and the Con- 
federate securities in which the company had largely in- 
vested, interrupted this and all other companies and put 
an end to the iron industry in upper South Carolina. 

Colonel Black further states that during the late civil 
war between the States the rolling-mill at Hurricane 
Shoals was operated to its fullest capacity, casting bolts, 
shot and shell. No large guns were cast.* 

As early as 1820, Micheal Miller, a native of Penn- 
sylvania, who left behind him a numerous posterity, of 
which the writer is a great-grandson, owned and operated 
an iron forge on Middle Tyger River, near the present 
location of the Gross Oil Mill. It remained in opera- 
tion for a number of years. The old ore-pits are yet to 
be seen in the vicinity of Welford. Mr. Jas. S. Ballen- 
ger, residing near that place, informs the writer that his 
father, Mr. William Ballenger, wagoned ore to this fur- 
nace back in the twenties. 

COTTON FACTORIES.t 
From the best information as to the beginning of the 
manufacture of cotton in Spartanburg county, the writer 

* Colonel Black, in his letter, assigns as a reason why no cannon 
were cast at these works, that Yorkville, S. C, twenty miles, was the 
nearest railway point. This is a mistake : the railroad from Columbia 
to Spartanburg, six miles distant from Hurricane Shoals, was com- 
pleted before the civil war, and in full operation during said war. 

t Since chapter relating to progress of city of Spartanburg was writ- 
ten, in which it was stated that one of the cotton mills in Spartanburg 
contained the largest number of spindles and looms under one roof, 
the writer is informed that this is a mistake ; that this is now claimed 
for some other mills in South Carolina which have been built since 
said article was written. 



158 History of Spartanburg County. 

is indebted to Mr. Wm. A. Hill, Enoree, S. C, who, in 
a letter under date of February 28, 1899, states that he 
has, for some years, been collecting such authentic in- 
formation as could be obtained in reference to Hill's fac- 
tory, the place of his birth. Mr. Hill states it is a mat- 
ter of history that in the years 181 5 and 1816 there were 
great colonies emigrating from " The New England 
States" into "The Southern States," principally cotton 
manufacturers, who dotted our Southern States with 
small yarn-mills. 

With this colony came Mr. Hill's grandfather, Mr. 
Leonard Hill, together with other relatives. They came 
to Charleston, S. C, hired conveyances, and started to 
explore what was then a wild and romantic country. 
They journeyed through the lower and middle belt, 
which brought them into the Piedmont section of South 
Carolina. They arrived on the banks of the main Tyger, 
with her rapid-flowing stream and magnificent shoals, 
and here they put down stakes, and decided to try their 
success at manufacturing cotton into thread. But little 
cotton was then grown in the up-country of South Car- 
olina, but the plant had been found — a most magnifi- 
cent plant, too, as it proved to be. It was here that 
Leonard Hill, George Hill, Wm. B. Shelden and John 
Clark, all parties from near Providence, Rhode Island, 
decided to go no further, but to cast their lot with the 
good people of the "Old Iron District." The remainder 
of the party consisted of William Bates and John 
Weaver.* William Bates pursued his journey into Ruth- 
erford county, N. C, where he erected a building and 

* Major William Hoy, in a communication to the Spartan, under date 
of December 25th, 1895, states that Major James Edward Henry came 
with the Hills to Spartanburg county about 1S17 or 181 8, and was for 
sonie time engaged with them in spinning cotton on Tyger River, but 
that he quit the business, and was a lawyer in full practice as early as 
1822. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



159 



began the spinning of cotton into yarn, while John 
Weaver drove down stakes and began the same bnsiness 
on the banks of Eeaverdam, near O'Neal], S. C. The 
present rnins of the old factory bnildiiig, an illustration 
of which we present herein, was erected in 1820.* 

Mr. Hill further states that some five miles below 




Ruins of Weaver's Old Factory Building, Frected in 1820. 



Hill's factory, on the same stream, another colony of 
New Englanders drove down stakes and began improve- 
ments, preparatory to the erection of a cotton mill. The 

* Major Win. Hoy, in his writings, states that Weaver was for some 
time the proprietor of the cotton mills afterwards known as "Burnt 
Factory " (the same having been destroyed by fire and never rebuilt), 
and became engaged in a lawsuit with one McDowell, of Charleston, 
S. C. McDowell died, and his executor carried on the suit and gained 
it. Weaver afterwards erected a cotton factory on Beaverdam Creek, 
as above stated. 



i6o History of Spartanburg County. 

place referred to is now known as " Burnt Factory," 
and, from the best information that can be gathered, 
these mills were being erected at the same time, but 
which began the spinning of yarn thread first cannot now 
be ascertained, but both probably began in the same 
year. 

In a few years after this William Bates returned to 
South Carolina and took charge of a cotton mill which 
had been erected by local capitalists in Greenville dis- 
trict, afterwards known as " Batesville," which property 
he greatly improved. 

Leonard Hill, George Hill, William B. Shelden and 
John Clark, all being master mechanics and manufac- 
turers, went to work in earnest preparatory to erecting 
the mill, afterwards known as Hill's Factory, Leonard 
Hill being chosen as foreman or business manager. All 
the machinery had to be conveyed by wagons from 
Charleston through a scant settled country when public 
highways were much neglected. In 1816 or 1817 a 
small mill was started up, containing about 700 spindles, 
and people, far and near, went to see " the cotton fac- 
tory." Mr, Hill states that he has often heard his 
grandmother speak of the astonishment exhibited even 
by the best-informed citizens of that day and time. 

From an old chain of titles Mr. Hill gathers the fol- 
lowing facts, viz. : 

"In 1820 William Shelden retired from the firm, sell- 
ing out his interest to the company. In 1825 George 
Hill retired, selling out his interest. He returned to his 
native State, Rhode Island. In 1830 John Clark, of the 
firm of Hill & Clark, sold his interest to Leonard Hill, 
who now became the sole owner, and who conducted the 
business until his death, in 1840. Between the years 
1816 and 1830 the building at Hill's Factory was twice 
consumed by fire, upon which there was not a dollar of 
insurance. After the death of Leonard Hill the prop- 



History of Spartanburg County. i6r 

erty fell into the hands of his four oldest sons, James, 
Albert, Whipple, and Leonard. In 1845 o^ '4^ Whip- 
ple and Leonard retired, selling ont their interest to 
James and Albert, who operated it until 1866, selling- 
out the machinery to Nesbitt & Wright." 

Mr. Hill further states, that on the north side of Ty- 
ger River, at Hill's Factory, now owned by the Enoree 
Manufacturing Co., can be traced an old canal said to be 
once used to convey water to an old iron works which Mr. 
Hill has heard called "The Wofford Iron Works" ; but 
as to this name there may be some mistake, as there had 
been another iron works of the same name on Lawson's 
Fork, of which mention has been already made. This 
supposed name for the iron works referred to doubtless 
grew out of the fact that the old chain of titles to the 
Hills and others shows that "Beard Shoals" was once 
owned by a family of Woffords, and that seven small 
islands were at one time conveyed by title to the Cotton 
Mill Co. at Hill's Factory by one Wofford. 

The present generation of people can never appreciate 
what our pioneer manufacturers had to contend with in 
the introduction of machinery into the up-country of 
South Carolina, and at a time, too, when there was but 
little cotton produced and no cotton-gins in operation to 
prepare it for the machinery, and no transportation but on 
wagons, the nearest market being Charleston, some 250 
miles distant, traversing a thinly settled country and 
over natural cut roads, with little or no attention as to 
the convenience of the traveling public. Such is a part 
of history that belongs to the past. 

Not long after the Hills and others began the business 
of manufacturing cotton into yarn, the Rev. Thomas 
Hutchings came to what is now called Pelham and 
erected a cotton factory, which was in operation as early 
as 1822. Mr. Hutchings continued to operate this fac- 



i62 History of Spartanburg County. 

tory until some time near 1830, when he sold out to 
Philip Lester, who, after a short time, took into partner- 
ship Josiah Kilgore, who had plenty of capital, and they 
made it a success. 

Major Hoy has heard Mr. Kilgore say that it took 
$20,000 a year to buy cotton. Said amount would pay 
for about five hundred bales, which number is now spun 
at Pelham in five days. To turn this $20,000 dollars paid 
out for cotton back into cash was a matter of impor- 
tance, and to make a success of the business the thread 
was transported by wagons to Western North Carolina, 
East Tennessee, and a great quantity to the lower por- 
tion of South Carolina. A quantity of cotton thread 
was bartered in East Tennessee for flax thread, which 
was sold to the shoemakers, but a large amount of it 
was woven in the country looms, the factory paying a 
skein of cotton thread for weaving a yard of flax cloth, 
which had a ready sale. 

Pelham, known in former times as Lester's Factory, 
is located only about sixty yards from the present line be- 
tween the counties of Greenville and Spartanburg. 

When Mr. Hutching-s sold his factory on Enoree, he 
built another on a large creek, a short distance from 
what is now Batesville, which was in operation in 1833. 
He afterwards sold it and was running another on South 
Tyger River in 1837, at what was formerly called Cedar 
Hill but now Arlington. In this factory the late Simpson 
Bobo, James McMaken and David W. Moore were largely 
interested, having furnished most of the money that 
built the factory. A lawsuit in equity sprang up be- 
tween the parties, which resulted in Mr. Hutchings 
losing his case, and the factory in some way fell into 
Mr. Moore's hands. It was subsequently purchased and 
operated for some years by Dr. Peter M. Wallace. Af- 
terwards it was owned and operated by Mr. Lewis Green 



History of Spartanburg County. 163 

and others, and is now owned and operated by Miller, 
Walker and others. 

From information gained from Mr. D. E. Converse, 
who came to " Bivingsville" Febrnary, 1855, we learn 
that the factory at that place started abont 1830. Dr. 
James Bivings was the moving spirit, and conducted the 
business for some years, but eventually had some dis- 
agreement with the stockholders which resulted in liti- 
gation. Dr. Bivings came from Lincolnton, N. C, bring- 
ing with him a full set of competent workmen, such as 
stone-masons, carpenters, machinists, etc. The factory 
building was in those days quite an imposing affair, and 
the arrangement of the machinery was well planned, all 
made in Patterson, N. J. One feature was power, which 
consisted of an overshot wheel of 26 feet diameter and 
12 feet breast, while now the same power is obtained by 
an 18-inch diameter turbine. 

Dr. Bivings, after leaving Bivingsville, started a small 
spinning-mill on the Chincapin Branch, where the Spar- 
tanburg water-works are now located, and not having 
power enough, supplemented by hitching mules to a 
long sweep attached to a revolving wheel. This was a 
primitive way, but only shows what advancements have 
been made in this line of business. 

Dr. James Bivings, after he failed to make a success of 
his cotton mill on Chincapin Branch, with his son, James 
D. Bivings, erected a cotton factory on Middle Tyger, 
which was successfully operated. This he called Cf'aw- 
fordsviUe^ named in honor of Hon. John Crawford, who 
lived near by. The same factory is now called Fairmont, 
owned and managed by Mr. Guy Harris and others. 

After the withdrawal of Dr. James Bivings from Biv- 
ingsville, the property was owned and operated by Mr. 
J. H. Leitner and others, but prior to and up to the 
beginning of the war between the States, Mr. John Bo- 



164 History of Spartanburg County. 

mar, Jr. (sometimes called "Big John," to distinguish 
him from others of the same name), was principal owner 
and manag:er. 

After the war the property was rebuilt ' by Messrs. 
John Bomar, Jr., John C. Zimmerman, and D. E. Con- 
verse, under the firm name of Bomar, Converse & Zim- 
merman, but after the death of Mr. Bomar in the latter 
part of 1868, Mr. D. E. Converse, always the leading 
spirit, became, with Mr. A. H. Twichell, his brother-in- 
law, the manager and principal owner of this valuable 
property. 

About 1880 the name Bivingsville was changed to 
Glendale, which latter name the factory and town 
bears at present. 

In the beginning of the factory at Bivingsville it op- 
erated 1,200 spindles and 24 looms, while the same fac- 
tory, remodeled, now called D. E. Converse & Co., has 
17,280 spindles and 518 looms. 

■ Fingerville cotton factory takes its name from Joseph 
Finger, who came to the District of Spartanburg from 
Lincoln county, N. C, in 1839, and in 1849, in partner- 
ship with Gabriel Cannon, who was at that time engaged 
in merchandizing at New Prospect, began the erection 
of a cotton factory. The factory is located on North 
Pacolet River, near the old homestead residence of oMr. 
Finger. The first investment in buildings, machinery, 
etc., was about $5,000, and the original number of 
spindles was about 400. Within the past ten years (the 
original factory building and machinery having been de- 
stroyed by fire) a new company has been organized, with 
Mr. J. Belton Liles as president, with an investment of 
capital amounting to $50,000. New and elegant build- 
ings have been erected, and the number of spindles at 
present amounts to 10,000. 

The factory at Valley Falls, Eawson Fork, was origi- 



History of Spartanburg County. 



165 



nally built by Mr. James McMakin, of Spartanburg, but 
was subsequently owned and operated by Messrs. Henry 
White and William Finger. The decease of these gen- 
tlemen caused the property to fall into other hands, 
when, about 1891 or '92, it was demolished by a stroke 
of lightning, being at this time the property of Mr. 
F. H. Cash. A new company, however, has been or- 
ganized at this place and the mills rebuilt, with Mr. 
T. R. Trimmer at the head, with a capital stock, spin- 
dles, etc., as shown in table below. 

The following table will show the amount of capital 
invested, spindles and looms in Spartanburg county, in- 
cluding the Gaffney Manufacturing Co., Cherokee Man- 
ufacturing Co., now in Cherokee county, which formerly 
comprised a part of the original county of Spartanburg : 



CAPITAL. 



Arkwright 

Arlington 

Beaumont 

Clifton — I, 2 and 3. . . . 

Cowpens 

Enoree . 

Fingerville 

Fairmont 

Pacolet — I, 2 and 3. .. . 

Pelham 

Spartan Mills i and 2 , 

D. E. Converse Co 

Tucapau 

"Victor — I and 2 

"Whitney — i and 2. . . . 
Island Creek (Private) 
Valley Falls 

CHEROKEE COUNTY. 
Gaffney M'f'g Co. 
Cherokee M'f'g Co 



200,000 

36,000 

60,000 

[,000,000 

60,000 

400,000 

50,000 

50,000 

700,000 

150,000 

:, 000,000 

300,000 

269,200 

360,000 

350,000 

25,000 

100,000 



$ 5,110,200 
800,000 
200,000 



$ 6,110,200 



22,000 

3,500 

3,100 

100,800 

7,072 

30,720 

10,000 

6,000 

57,ooo 

11,000 

74,000 

17,280 

16,656 

25,000 

19-472 

1,040 

6,000 



410,640 
67,000 
10,000 



487,000 



700 
36 

3,250 
250 
820 

168 
2,190 

2,458 
518 
468 
648 
648 

300 



12,454 

1,400 

600 



14,454 



Eighteen corporations; i firm; 26 cotton mills; f6, 110,200 capital; 
487,640 spindles; 14,454 looms; 300,000 bales of cotton consumed an- 
nually. 



CHAPTER XL 

GENERAL ELIJAH CLARKE. 

According to the pages of history, Elijah Clarke was 
the first settler in the territory afterwards embraced in 
the county of Spartanburg (see Ramsey's History of 
South Carolina, page ii8). Spartanburg county has 
every reason to be proud of and revere his memory, not 
only as her " Daniel Boone," but for other acts of hero- 
ism performed on her soil, which we shall mention fur- 
ther on in this narrative devoted to him. 

Elijah Clarke was born in North Carolina, but the pre- 
cise place or date of his birth, we have been unable to 
gather. By the treaty of Governor James Glen with 
the Cherokee Indians in 1755, the particulars of which, 
we have published in another volume,* very nearly 
half of the present territory of South Carolina was ceded 
by them, which comprised the original counties of Edge- 
field, Abbeville, Laurens, Newberry, Union, Spartan- 
burg, York, Chester, Fairfield and Richland. This new 
and beautiful country being thus thrown open to settle- 
ment, there was an immigration of settlers into all of 
these counties, mostly from Virginia, but many from 
North Carolina, Maryland and Pennsylvania, as well also 
as an advance of civilization from the seacoast. The 
settlements in many of the sections thrown open were 
more rapid than in the up-country lying next to the 
Cherokee Indian Nation, which at that time the present 
counties of Greenville, Anderson, Pickens and Oconee 
formed a part. Mills, in his statistics, says that "this 

♦See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina,'.' p. 21. 

(166) 



History of Spartanburg County. 167 

section of the country was settled between 1750 and 
1760, but from its exterior and exposed situation, it did 
not much increase in population until 1776." 

According to Dr. Howe's " History of the Presbyte- 
rian Church of South Carolina," the settlements on the 
rivers, north, middle and south, Tyger did not take 
place earlier than 1755, which was the year of Governor 
Glen's treaty. These were mostly Scotch-Irish and 
embraced, for the most part, the present familiar family 
names of Moore, Barry, Jordan, Nesbitt, Vernon, Col- 
lins, Nichols, Caldwell, Anderson, Snoddy, Miller, Pear- 
son and others. 

Colonel Elijah Clarke, who afterwards became noted 
as a soldier of the Revolution and an officer of distinction, 
settled on Pacolet River at no great distance from the 
present manufacturing town of Clifton, about the year 
referred to (1755). In the course of time he was fol- 
lowed by other families, but at the end of said year there 
were not more than a dozen families residing within the 
present limits of Spartanburg county. 

For about nine or ten years Elijah Clarke remained on 
Pacolet River, spending most of his time, doubtless, in 
building houses, opening roads, clearing lands, and pre- 
paring a future home for himself and family, but the tardy 
progress of civilization and the many disadvantages by 
which he was surrounded, caused him, no doubt, to seek 
another and a more inviting country for his future hab- 
itation, and he removed from South Carolina to Geor- 
gia in the year 1774, settling in Wilkes county. His 
first appearance in the history of Georgia dates with 
1776, as captain of a company entrusted with the care 
of some wagons loaded with provisions for the army. 
Whilst crossing a small stream he was attacked by a 
body of Indians which he put to flight, and thus he won 
his first reputation as a soldier and inspired the confi- 



i68 History of vSpartanburg County. 

dence of the people as a trustworthy leader in those peril- 
ous times. In Howe's expedition against East Florida 
he rendered important service, but we have not time to 
go into the particulars of this. 

In the battle of Kettle Creek his fame was increased. 
(See account of this battle — " White's Historical Collec- 
tions of Georgia/' page 684.) After this battle many 
of the citizens of Georgia who had gone to South Caro- 
lina for safety returned with their families and property 
to Wilkes county, but shortly afterwards were much 
alarmed by the approach of a body of Indians, and to 
Colonel Clarke was committed the highly responsible 
duty of remaining on the frontier to guard the forts. 
This was a trying period, as the enemy had devastated 
the fairest portion of Georgia. Colonel Clark's house 
was pillaged and burnt and his, family ordered to leave 
the State, but these indignities only inspired him the 
more. He recruited his regiment for more active serv- 
ice and entered the field with the avowed determination 
to conquer or die in defence of a cause which he believed 
to be right and just. 

In the battle of Long Cane Colonel Clarke was 
severely wounded and carried off the field. After his 
recovery he again entered the field of active service, but 
was shortly afterwards attacked with smallpox, which 
lasted him but a brief period. 

After the fall of Savannah and Charleston the territory 
of Georgia, like that of South Carolina, was completely 
overrun by the enemy, and it became necessary for Col- 
onel Clarke and his command to retreat to more secure 
regions. While yet remaining in Georgia, he and his 
command had to secrete themselves in the woods and be 
fed by friends. When his command reassembled, how- 
ever, its numbers had increased, and it was the desire of 
all that Colonel Clarke should lead them to North Caro- 



History of Spartanburg County. 169 

lina. The command set out at once along the eastern 
slope of the Blue Ridge Mountains. On the way Col- 
onel Clarke was joined by the command of Captain Joseph 
McCall, consisting of about twenty men, and later he 
was joined by Colonel John Jones's command, which was 
from Burke county, Ga., and which had preceded him 
only a short time before. This junction with Colonel 
Jones's command was near Cherokee Ford on Broad River, 
where Colonel Charles McDowell was encamped, and in 
command of all the forces there, but for want of confi- 
dence in his activity, Colonel Clarke, with his united com- 
mands, pushed on and joined Colonel Sumter on or near 
the Catawba. These different commands having come 
together under brave partisan leaders, it was impossible 
for active military operations to remain idle very long, 
while the phmderings and maraudings of the British 
and Tories were increasing everywhere. 

The next event of importance in which Colonel Clarke 
participated was in the capture of Fort Thickety or An- 
derson, under the command of Captain Patrick Moore, 
an account of which we have related in the volume 
already referred to.* It was from Thickety Fort that 
]\Ioore and his Tory associates would sally forth to 
plunder Whig families in the surroimding country, leav- 
ing women and children often without clothing, shoes, 
bread, meat and salt, and many are the incidents on record 
of these acts of lawlessness and robbery, which we have not 
time or space to recall here; but the inroads of this noted 
character and his followers, reaching the ears of Sumter, 
this officer directed Colonel Clarke and his Georgians to 
gather such persons in his camp as resided in that region 
and who desired to aid in its protection against the out- 
rages of the Tories. It is said that among the first who 

* See " Colonial and Revolutionary Histor}' of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 128. 



170 History of Spartanburg County. 

volunteered to perform this service was Captain William 
Smith (afterwards one of the early judges for Spartan- 
burg county, who will receive further notice) and his 
company. Arriving at Cherokee Ford, they met Colonel 
McDowell just as he was, with Colonels Shelby, Andrew 
Hampton and Major Robinson of Sevier's Regiment, 
organizing a force of six hundred men to surprise and 
capture Thickety Fort, not many miles away.* They 
took up their line of march about sunset on the even- 
ing of the 25th of July, 1780, and surrounded and cap- 
tured the fort the next morning at daybreak. 

In the month of August, 1780, immediately following 
the capture of Fort Thickety, two important engagements 
with the enemy occurred within the limits of the present 
county of Spartanburg, in which Colonel Clarke and his 
command were active participants. One of these was the 
second battle of Cedar Spring or Wofford's Iron Works, 
fought on the 8th, and the other the battle of Musgrove's 
Mill, fought on the i8th of said month. In the volume 
already referred to, in which we have attempted to chron- 
icle the important events as occurring in said county 
during the Revolutionary period, we have dwelt at length, 
and have devoted much time and space in our narrative 
of these battles, which we cannot again reproduce in 
this volume, but which, though insignificant as they 
may appear with some of the battles of a more modern 
date, went very far, in the judgment of the writer, in 
serving as stepping-stones, as it were, in deciding the 
destiny of this great American Republic. They occurred 
at a time when it was believed by many that South Car- 
olina was already subjugated by the British government, 
and when many had already laid down their arms and 
sought British protection, and but for such gallant spir- 

* The site of Thickety Fort is within a few steps of the present res- 
idence of Mr. Ben. Bonner on Thickety creek. 



History of Spartanburg County. 171 

its and daring leaders as Clarke, Shelby, Williams, and 
others, it is very difficult to determine what might have 
been the final result. These little engagements gave an 
important prestige to the strength of the American arms, 
and of the valor, patriotism and determination of her 
soldiers. In the history of the Revolution, these en- 
gagements occurred during a very critical period. For 
instance, the disastrous defeat of General Gates at Cam- 
den (August i6th, 1780), occurred but two days before 
the battle of Musgrove's Mill, and the repulse of the 
enemy at the latter place gave new life and courage to 
the Whigs everywhere and caused many to rejoin the 
ranks, and once more to take up arms in defence of a 
just and righteous cause. 

After the battle of Musgrove's Mill, Colonel Clarke, 
with his command, retreated with the forces of Colonels 
Shelby and Williams to Gilberttown (near Rutherford- 
ton, N. C), where a reunion was made with the remain- 
der of McDowell's forces, considerably reduced in num- 
bers, whom they had left at Cherokee Ford before the 
beginning of the; Musgrove's expedition. Here the 
various commands separated with the understanding 
that, after the over-mountain men returned to their 
homes, an army was to be raised from both sides of the 
mountains sufficient in numbers to cope with Furguson, 
who seemed at this time to be overpowering in strength 
and numbers. The Musgrove's prisoners were turned 
over to Colonel Clarke, who, after continuing some dis- 
tance on the route in the direction of Charlotte, now 
concluded to return to Georgia by the mountain trails. 
The prisoners were turned over to Colonel Williams, 
who, with Captain Hammond, conducted them safely 
to Hillsboro, N. C. ; but it yet remained for Colonel 
Clarke to render gallant service to his county, which 



172 History of Spartanburg County. 

was in connection with the siege of Augusta in the fol- 
lowing year. 

After the fall of Fort Granby only two important Brit- 
ish posts remained commanding the upper part of South 
Carolina, viz.: Augusta and Ninety-six. The defences 
immediately around Augusta consisted of two forts, Corn- 
wallis and Grierson. The former was commanded by 
Colonel Brown and the latter by Colonel Grierson. Lower 
down the Savannah River a few miles was Fort Gilpin 
(or Galpin^ Galphen^ called by some writers). 

Pickens, who had recently been created a brigadier, 
was ordered by General Greene to collect and enlist in his 
commands the Whig elements in upper Carolina, concen- 
trate before Augusta, looking to the reduction of that 
post, and to cut off all communication between Augusta 
and Ninety-six. Lieutenant-Colonel Lee with his legion 
was also ordered, after the fall of Granby, to join Pickens 
at Augusta. The distance between these places was 
about one hundred miles. Lee's Legion had recently 
been recruited by the addition of Colonel Eaton's com- 
mand of two hundred North Carolina militia. 

And now as to the part performed by Colonel Clarke. 
Says Johnson : 

"Among those who hastened into action upon the ap- 
proach of the American army (into South Carolina) was 
Colonel Clarke of Georgia. His followers immediately 
gathered around him, and he found himself at the head 
of a party sufficient to invest Augusta, as soon as Pick- 
ens was able to hold in check the garrison at Ninety- 
six." 

Clarke's approach to Augusta was sudden and unex- 
pected. It was the custom of the British authorities to 
send annually presents to the Cherokee Indians. Sev- 
eral boats loaded with these presents were on their way 
up the Savannah River. Clarke heard of these, and 



History of Spartanburg County. 173 

before they could make good their retreat he waylaid 
them. The stream, though deep, is narrow, and Clarke's 
riflemen among the trees along the banks would soon 
have swept the deck of any boat not provided against 
attack. Unable to ascend or descend, these boats took 
shelter under Fort Gilpin ; and Colonel Clarke was 
carefully guarding this invaluable prize when he was 
joined some days afterward by Lee. 

Immediately upon Lee's arrival he was complimented 
with the task of capturing Fort Gilpin. This was on 
the 2ist of May, 1781. Lee captured the post by strat- 
agem, as it were. iVppearing before it with a small 
force, the garrison marched out to engage it, when Cap- 
tain Rudolph, of Lee's Legion, who was concealed near 
by with a larger force, rushed into the fort and captured 
it. All those outside were taken prisoners. 

By the fall of this fort there were captured one hun- 
dred and twenty-six prisoners of all descriptions, includ- 
ing seventy commissioned officers and privates in the 
regular service, besides the boats on the stream with 
their loaded cargoes. The American casualties were 
small — only twelve wounded. The capture of these 
boats was a valuable acquisition to the American cause. 
They were loaded with a quantity of clothing, blank- 
ets, small arms, rum, salt, and other useful and much- 
needed articles of which the American army had long 
been deprived. There was also a good supply of am- 
munition and some articles of military equipment. 

Notwithstanding the command of General Pickens, 
representing the States of South Carolina and Georgia 
(the latter embracing Colonel Clarke's command), were 
in a naked and destitute condition, yet the distribution 
of these articles exhibited the characters of Pickens and 
Greene transferred into a light that was honorable to 
both. Pickens, with modesty, begged of General Greene, 



174 History of Spartanburg County. 

that his men be allowed to share, in their destitute con- 
dition, a part of the booty captured. Greene, in reply, 
authorized him to divide the same according to his sense 
of justice and the good of the service. Pickens set 
aside the military stores for public service, and loaded 
thirteen wagons with rum, salt, sugar, medicines, etc., 
for the main army. He divided the clothing into three 
equal parts, assigning one lot to Georgia, another to 
South Carolina, and the third to the Continental troops. 
The fowling-pieces were distributed among the militia 
on condition that they would remain in the army for 
specific service. 

In the capture of Fort Gilpin two forts still remained 
in the hands of the British, viz. : Grierson and Corn- 
w^allis. In the capture of these, which occurred soon 
after the fall of Gilpin, Colonel Clarke took an active 
part ; but for the particulars of their capture the reader 
is referred to the first volume of our work* ; time would 
fail us to go into a more extended account of the siege 
and capture of Augusta, to which great credit was due 
Colonel Clarke for having gallantly confined the British 
garrison to their works for weeks before the arrival of 
Lee. 

Colonel Clarke remained in the service until the final 
cessation of active hostilities, which ended at Yorktown, 
in October of the same year. In the course of his bril- 
liant career he was commissioned a brigadier-general, 
and before his death a major-general ; the former com- 
mission doubtless in recognition of his gallant services 
in connection with the fall of forts Gilpin, Grierson and 
Cornwallis. 

After the close of the Revolution General Clarke 
rendered some public service in the State of Georgia, 

*See "Colonial and Revolutionar}' History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," pp. 319-323. 



History of Spartanburg County. 175 

but that which gave him greatest achievement was at 
Jack's Creek in 1787, against the Indians, in which he 
defeated the Creeks. He died upon the dawning of the 
nineteenth century, which was about 1801, leaving a 
name behind him worthy of preservation and perpetua- 
tion by the generations that survive him. 

Mrs. Hannah Clarke, relict of Major-General Elijah 
Clarke, died August 26th, 1829, aged ninety years, 
having outlived her husband twenty-eight years. She 
attended her husband through many interesting periods 
of the American Revolution, and had often experienced 
some of the distressing vicissitudes of the war, having 
had her house burned as stated and all of its contents 
destroyed during the absence of her husband by a plun- 
dering set of British and Tories who ravaged that part 
of the country in which she then resided, and had to 
seek shelter as best she could with a family of children. 
She was afterwards robbed of the horse on which she was 
riding to meet her husband near the North Carolina line. 
During a part of the campaigns of General Clarke she 
accompanied him, and on one occasion in attempting to 
remove from a place of danger, near which an engage- 
ment was soon expected, her horse was shot from under 
her, while two children were on his back with her. She 
was at the siege of Augusta, and was present when 
Brown capitulated, and many of the prisoners there, 
and at other times, taken by her husband, experienced 
her benevolence and hospitality. She lived to behold 
and rejoice over the happiness of her country, which 
she had frequently seen desolated by cruelty and blood- 
shed. Her remains were interred at Woodburn, Ga. , 
near the last resting-place of her husband. 

Having attained a good old age " she entered," says 
her biographer, ^'' ijito a i^esi that remaiiieth for the people 
■of God: ' 



CHAPTER XII. 

COLONEL JOHN THOMAS, SR. 

In presenting to the reader the name of this patriot of 
the Revolution, we desire to say in the outset that full 
justice to his memory, and vahiable services to his coun- 
try in one of its most critical periods, has never been 
done by the historians of the past, and we believe the 
impartial reader will so decide after following us through 
this narrative, which is but a brief outline of his charac- 
ter and of the prominent part he took at the beginning of 
hostilities between the colonies and the mother country. 

From the best information that can be gained, John 
Thomas, Sr., was born in Wales, but was reared in Ches- 
ter county, Pennsylvania. Of his early education and 
training we know but little ; but from his marriage to a 
•a lady of high culture and from the reading of his man- 
uscript letters, still in existence, it is to be presumed 
that he possessed advantages and opportunities equal to 
other youths of his day and time. 

John Thomas married in 1740 to Miss Jane Black, 
who was a native of Chester county, Pennsylvania, and 
the sister of the Rev. John Black of Carlisle, the first 
president of Dickinson College. An interesting sketch 
of the life of Jane Thomas is presented in Mrs. Ellet's 
"Women of the Revolution" (Vol. i, p. 250), to which 
the reader is referred for an extended account of her 
character and heroic service to her countr}\ 

Some ten or fifteen years after this marriage, Mr. 
Thomas, with his family, removed to South Carolina. 
His residence for some time was on Fishing Creek, in 
Chester district. About the year 1762 he removed to 

(176) 



History of Spartanburg County. 177 

the territory now embraced in the county of Spartan- 
burg. His homestead residence, which can yet be pointed 
out, was in the vicinity of Rich Hill. 

We would here state, by way of digression, that by 
reason of the treaty of Gov. Glen with the Cherokee In- 
dians in 1755, the particulars of which we have given in 
another volume,* the upper portion of South Carolina, 
embracing the counties of Edgefield, Abbeville, Laurens, 
Newberry, Union, Spartanburg, York, Chester, Fair- 
field, and Richland, were thrown open to settlement. As 
we have shown in the volume referred to the settlements 
in what is now Spartanburg county did not begin earlier 
than 1755, and it will be seen that John Thomas, in re- 
moving to said region (1762), was only a few years be- 
hind the advance settlers. 

The particulars of the breaking out of the Revolution 
we have given elsewhere, and have not time or space to 
go over the ground again ; but we will say that prior to 
1775 all the country between the Broad and Saluda rivers 
belonged to one regimental district, commanded by Col. 
Thomas Fletchall, whose home was on Fair Forest, in 
the present county of Union. These regimental com- 
manders swayed a wide influence in controlling the po- 
litical sentiment of their surroundings, and as Thomas 
Fletchall proved to be a Tory of the worst type to the 
patriot cause, it can be easily imagined the extent of the 
unwholesome influence which he spread over the region 
of the country which he commanded. The Council of 
Safety at Charleston resolved that an association was 
necessary, to be composed of all those who sided with 
the patriot cause, or the cause of the colony against the 
mother country. There was left now no alternative 
but a mean submission or a manly resistance. The ques- 

*See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 21. 
12 h s c 



178 History of Spartanburg County. 

tion before the people was, " Shall we live slaves or die 
freemen?" The instrument, or Articles of the Associa- 
tio7i were first signed by Henry Laurens, president, and 
members of the Provincial Congress, and then copies of 
the same were afterwards transmitted to the inhabitants 
of the State (or Province^ as it was then called) through 
the different regfimental commanders of the several mili- 
tary districts. The Provincial militia of South Carolina, 
in the early part of 1775, consisted of twelve regiments. 
The copy of the instrument of the association which 
was transmitted through Colonel Fletchall was not by 
him submitted to the inhabitants of his district, but in 
lieu of this, through the assistance of his conferes, he 
drew up another instrument of writing to be submitted 
to the people, which he claimed was suited to their 
wishes and the conditions which surrounded them, and 
which was generally signed by the people from the Broad 
to Savannah rivers. It may be truly said here that the 
up-country of South Carolina was in a peculiar and dis- 
tracted condition. Lord William Campbell, of England, 
who had arrived about this time, holding under the au- 
thority of Great Britain a commission as governor of 
South Carolina, was unremitting in his efforts to per- 
suade the uninformed of the back-settlers that the power 
of Great Britain could never be effectually resisted by 
the American colonies ; that the whole dispute was about 
a trifling tax on tea, which they were not in the habit of 
using, and the matter was of little or no interest to them. 
Through his well-paid emissaries he insisted that the gen- 
tlemen of the seacoast, in order to obtain their tea free, 
were willing to involve the people of the whole of the 
back country in a quarrel that would deprive them of 
salt and other imported necessaries, and that the ex- 
penses of an insignificant tax on tea was nothing com- 
pared to the expenses of a war with the mother country, 



History of Spartanburg County. 179. 

and that the instrument which had been prepared by 
the association for their signatures was intended only to 
dragoon them into submission. These harangues natu- 
rally aroused in the bosoms of many a spirit of resist- 
ance and independence, and they openly declared their 
unwillingness to concur in the measures recommended 
by the Provincial Congress. 

The conduct of Fletchall and the distracted condition 
of the minds of the people in the up-country gave great 
uneasiness to the Council of Safety. An effort was made 
to induce Fletchall to join the common cause or to make 
known his sentiments on the situation of affairs. He was 
written to by the Council of Safety on the 14th day of 
June, 1775. In his reply, on the 24th of the same 
month, he claimed that man}'- reports had been mali- 
ciously circulated against him, which he could prove to 
be false ; he expressed great concern that he was looked 
upon as an enemy to his country, and thought the gov- 
ernment had greater cause to complain of some who 
were less suspected than himself. Upon the main sub- 
ject upon which Fletchall had been approached by the 
Council of Safety, he declared that he would not take 
up arms against his king until it became his duty to do 
so and he was convinced of the propriety of the measure. 

The Council of Safety, feeling the necessity of a full 
explanation to the people of South Carolina of the nature 
of the controversy between the colonies and the mother 
country, sent to the country between the Broad and Sa- 
luda rivers the Hon. William Henry Drayton and Rev. 
William Tennant. The mission of these gentlemen was 
to pacify the inhabitants and to bring them into cooper- 
ation with the Council of Safety and General Committee, 
which had been appointed by the Provincial Congress. 
They set out on their journey in August ; but as we have 
already, in the first chapter of this work, related the 



i8o History of Spartanburg County. 

general particulars of the visit of these gentlemen to the 
up-country, we think repetition here unnecessary.* 

Not long after the departure of Mr. Drayton and Mr. 
Tennant a regiment was organized, made up of inhab- 
itants comprising the sections of what was afterwards 
the counties of Union and Spartanburg. A leader to 
command the newly formed regiment had to be selected, 
which resulted in the choice of John Thomas^ Sr.^ the 
subject of this narrative. Colonel Thomas had been for 
many years a magistrate and captain of militia, but had 
resigned both of these positions. He had now arrived 
at an age beyond the average of the ordinary soldier, 
but he was a man of wide-spread influence and popu- 
larity, and was the man to inspire .the people and over- 
awe the evil influences that were being promulgated by 
Fletchall and his associates. 

The regiment as organized was called The Spartan 
Regiment, which name was doubtless conferred by Mr. 
Drayton, intending the same as a compliment, and com- 
paring the material that composed it to the Greek Spar- 
tans, The number of men who comprised it we are 
unable now to determine, but as the up-country of South 
Carolina was yet sparsely settled, we suppose it was small, 
containing, perhaps, not more than two or three hun- 
dred. 

It was only a few months until the Spartan Regiment 
commanded by Colonel Thomas was called into active 
service. In December of the same year (1775) occurred 
the famous snow campaign,^ a full account of which we 
have presented in another volume. f 



* For a more extended account of the visit of Messrs. Drayton and 
Tennant to the iip-country the reader is referred to "Colonial and 
Revolutionary History of South Carolina," pp. 44-62. 

tSee "Colonial and Revolutionar3'Historyof Upper South Carolina," 
page 71. 



History of Spartanburg County. i8r 

The troops in this campaign were commanded by 
Colonel Richard Richardson, an officer of distingnished 
ability, and who, with his command, performed on this 
occasion important and signal service to his conntry and 
to the common cause by putting a stop to the late alarm- 
ing and dangerous insurrections which the enemies to 
the American cause had excited in the interior part of 
the colony of South Carolina. 

The Provincial Congress of South Carolina met in 
February, 1776, soon after the expedition of Colonel 
Richardson. After the accounts of the campaign were 
audited and arranged, that body voted thanks to Colonel 
Richardson and to the officers and men under his com- 
mand for the signal and patriotic service rendered to 
their country under the most trying circumstances and 
conditions. It was at this session of the Provincial Con- 
gress that this body resolved, "as well for the conve- 
nience of electors of members of Congress, as on account 
of the happy influence which it may have upon the 
peace and union of the inhabitants," to divide the dis- 
trict heretofore spoken of as under Colonel FletchalPs 
command (embracing the country between the Broad 
and Saluda rivers) into three election districts or regi- 
mental divisions. The Lower or Dutch Fork, compre- 
hending one, the country below Little River another, 
and the Upper or Spartan District the third.* 

By this new formation of regimental districts. Colonel 
John Thomas became commander of the territory com- 
prising the Upper or Spartan District, which comprised 
the original county of Spartanburg and almost all of the 
present county of Union. 

During these trying times, when the country was be- 
set by Toryism on the one side and the Nation of Cher- 

*See map showing this division, " Colonial and Revolutionary His- 
tory of Upper South Carolina," p. 43. 



1 82 History of Spartanburg County. 

okee Indians on the other, ready at any time to swoop 
down upon the white settlements with tomahawk or 
scalping-knife, we can readily appreciate the duties and 
responsibilities resting upon Colonel John Thomas in 
his effort to preserve the peace and good order of his 
district. 

From the sketch of Mrs. Jane Thomas, already referred 
to, we learn that Colonel John Thomas furnished his 
quota of men from his regiment to repel the invasion 
and massacres of the Cherokee Indians in 1776,* and 
shared the privations and dangers connected with the 
expedition under General Andrew Williamson into the 
heart of the Indian Nation, in the autumn of that year. 

We have scarcely time here to refer to the Indian out- 
rages of 1776. It was at the very beginning of hostilities 
that these people, under tempting bribes from British 
emissaries or agents, were instigated to commit their 
outrages and massacres upon the innocent of the frontier 
settlements. But for these they might otherwise have 
remained quiet. As an argument to induce them to 
side with Great Britain, they were told of her great 
power in armies, fleets, resources, etc. Principal among 
those who figured among them at this time was John 
Stuart, superintendent, and Alexander Cameron, deputy 
superintendent of the Cherokee Nation. These were 
acting under the authority and direction of Lord William 
Campbell, governor, who clothed them with royal au- 
thority. It is said that Cameron, under the influence of 
Stuart, was a bad and dangerous man. He held a meet- 
ing in the early part of 1776 with the Cherokee war- 
riors, about four hundred in number, in which he ex- 
horted them that the people of America had used the 
king very ill, and had killed a considerable number of 



*For a more extended account of this expedition, see "Colonial and 
Revolutionary History of Upper South Carolina," pp. 84 to 99. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 183 

his army ; that the king was to send out more soldiers 
to suppress them ; that they (the Indians) ought not to 
turn against their father, the king, but that they should 
join the army against the people of America; that fire- 
arms and ammunition would be furnished them, and, in 
short, he did everything in his power to induce the In- 
dians to join the king's forces against the organized 
forces in upper South Carolina, of which Colonel 
Thomas's regiment formed a part. 

At the conclusion of his remarks the Indians turned 
their backs upon him and discharged their arms. The 
whole assembly set up the war-whoop, which was a sig- 
nal that they approved of his discourse. (See Drayton's 
Memoirs, Vol. i, p. 414.) 

It was not long after this until the Cherokees began 
their invasions and massacres upon the defenceless white 
settlements along the borders of upper South Carolina. 
Some of these we have recorded in another volume, in- 
cluding the "Hampton Massacre" and the "Hannon 
Massacre" ; but their barbarities to a great extent have 
faded in tradition. Prompt and decisive measures had to 
be resorted to to quell these people, which was success- 
fully done by the expedition of General Williamson, 
already referred to, assisted by Colonel Griffith Ruther- 
ford and his command from North Carolina. The com- 
bined forces consisted of about two thousand. After 
several serious encounters the Indians were finally put 
to flight. Williamson's command continued the work 
of devastation, destroying the Indian towns and their 
growing crops in the beautiful valleys. The poor deluded 
Indians soon sued for peace, and a treaty was made with 
them by which they ceded all of their lands southeast of 
the mountains of Unacaya. By this treaty the present 
counties of Greenville, Anderson, and Pickens (the last 
two named once forming old Pendleton District) were 



1 84 History of Spartanburg County. 

gained and added to the territory of South Carolina. 
That portion which the Indians reserved to themselves 
embraces for the most part the present county of Oco- 
nee,* which was purchased from them not long after 
the close of the Revolution. 

Peace having been again declared with the Cherokees 
the commands of Williams and Rutherford returned to 
their respective States, and Colonel John Thomas again 
assumed command of the upper or Spartan District. A 
long line of frontier was entrusted to him. With dili- 
gence, fidelity and zeal he performed this duty for several 
years and retained his command until the fall of Charles- 
ton, which was in May, lySo.f South Carolina was now 
practically at the mercy of the British soldiery and the 
Tory element of the colony. The British believed that 
the colony was thoroughly conquered. Subsequent 
events, however, proved that they had conquered the ter- 
ritory only and not the people. The proud spirits of the 
Whigs of upper South Carolina determined not to sub- 
mit without making a manly resistance. Cornwallis, 
who had received the surrender of Lincoln at Charleston, 
determined, to follow up the success already attained and 
to press the conquest into the neighboring province of 
North Carolina, and also into Georgia. To accomplish 
this end three expeditions were formed and sent out. 
The first w^as towards the river Savannah, in Georgia. 
The second was placed under the command of Colonel 
Tarleton, who was ordered to scour the country between 
the Cooper and Santee rivers. In this expedition Tarle- 
ton encountered a body of Whigs under the command of 
Colonel Buford, who had been marching to the succor 
of General Lincoln in Charleston, but having heard of 

* See map frontispiece Ramsey's History South Carolina, 
t See account of particulars of this surrender "Colonial and Revo- 
lutionary History of Upper South Carolina," pp. loo to 104. 



History of Spartanburg County. 185 

his surrender, were now retreating by forced marches. 
He fell upon them and the carnage was dreadful. He 
butchered many who offered to surrender. This hor- 
rible massacre gave a bloody turn to the war, and the 
Americans everywhere ever afterwards remembered this 
engagement with horror, and from that time it became 
a proverbial mode of expressing the cruelties of a bar- 
barous enemy to call them TarletoiCs Quarter. The 
third expedition was that of Colonel Patrick Ferguson, 
who was sent to the District of Ninety-six, and whose 
wicked career after seventeen months ended at King's 
Mountain. 

As soon as the news of the surrender of Lincoln at 
Charleston reached the up-country of South Carolina, 
measures were concerted between the commanders of 
the scattered Whig forces, Colonels Brandon, Thomas 
and Lyles, for the concentration of their forces with tVe 
view of resisting the invasions from the low country. 
Their plans were frustrated by the devices of Colonel 
Fletchall, who had remained at his home since his re- 
lease from imprisonment a few years before. Having 
discovered their intentions, he gave notice to Ferguson's 
forces, who had recently marched into the vicinity of 
his home, and to a body of Tory cavalry thirty miles 
away. These were brought together and surprised the 
force collected by Brandon at the point designated as the 
rendezvous before the others had time to arrive. The 
country was now seemingly overawed and subdued, and 
almost every Whig between the Broad and Saluda rivers 
was compelled to abandon the country or accept British 
protection. By the latter course they hoped to secure per- 
mission to remain at home unmolested with their fami- 
lies. Colonel Thomas, then advanced in life, with An- 
drew Williamson, Isaac Huger, Andrew Pickens, Isaac 
Hayne and others took protection, while others preferred 



i86 History of Spartanburg County. 

to remain in open partizan warfare, among whom were 
Francis Marion, Thomas Sumter, the Hamptons, Wil- 
liams and others. But in the supposition of those who 
had taken British protection, that they were to remain 
at home unmolested, they were lamentably mistaken. 
They could not quietly remain at home and witness the 
scenes of plunder, robbery and murder which surrounded 
them, without lifting their voices in protest. The Tories 
who had espoused the Royal cause were men of no moral 
or political principle, their greatest ambition being 
plunder and robbery. It was the policy of Cornwallis 
to compel submission by the severest measures. The 
bloody slaughter of Buford's command by Tarleton, just 
narrated , was but a foretaste of what those who ventured 
resistance might expect. This course was pursued with 
unscrupulous cruelty, and the unfortunate patriots were 
made to feel the vengeance of an exasperated tyranny. 
Cornwallis, through his emissaries, Ferguson and others, 
hoped "thus eventually," says a writer, " to crush and 
extinguish the spirit still struggling and flashing forth, 
like hidden fire among the people whom the arm of 
power had for a season brought under subjection." 

But the oppressor, though he might overawe for a 
time, could not subdue the spirit of a gallant and out- 
raged people. The proud spirits of John Thomas, Sr., 
Andrew Pickens and others resolved to again take the 
field. They fought through the remainder of the war, 
says Johnson, "with halters around their necks." Some 
were made to pay the penalty of this bold resolve, and 
there is no brighter example on record than the execu- 
tion of Colonel Isaac Hayne of Charleston. 

Colonel Thomas having determined to cast aside the 
pretended protection, was taking steps to organize a regi- 
ment in the Fair Forest region when he was arrested 
and sent to prison at Ninety-six. From thence he was 



History of Spartanburg County. 187 

conveyed to Charleston, where he remained in dnrance 
till the end of the war. The regiment referred to was 
called the Fair Forest regiment, and was commanded 
by Colonel John Thomas, Jr. (son of John Thomas, Sr.), 
and was encamped at Cedar Spring when the first en- 
gagement there took place. 

After the close of the war Colonel Thomas returned to 
his home on Fair Forest, but soon afterwards removed 
to Greenville District, where he and his wife resided 
until their death. 

Colonel and Mrs. Thomas had nine children, and their 
sons and sons-in-law were active in the American service. 
John, the eldest son, rose during the war from the rank 
of captain till he succeeded his father to the colonelcy of 
the regiment, called by Draper the Fair Forest regiment, 
and by the biographer of Mrs. Jane Thomas, in Mrs. 
Ellet's works Spartan regiment.* Robert, another son, 
was killed in Roebuck's defeat, mentioned elsewhere. 
Abram, who was wounded at Ninety-six, and taken 
prisoner, died in the enemy's hands. William, a youth 
who assisted in defending his home, the circumstance 
of which we will mention later, took part in other ac- 
tions. Martha, one of the daughters, married Josiah 
Culbertson, a noted scout, who will receive further at- 
tention. Ann, another daughter, married Joseph 
Mcjunkin, a soldier of the Revolution, whose gallant 
services will be recorded later. Jane, the third daughter, 
married to Captain Joseph McCool, and Letitia, another 
daughter, was the wife. of Major James Lusk. The last 
two mentioned were efficient patriots, but the scenes of 
their exploits and the valuable service they rendered 
their country are remembered now in tradition only, ex- 



* This was undoubtedly a new regiment organized in ijSr. It had 
been six years (1775) since the original Spartan regiment had been 
organized. 



1 88 History of Spartanburg County. 

cept the sketch in connection with Mrs. Jane Thomas in 
Mrs. Ellet's works. It is unfortunate now that history 
is silent of so many that deserve the gratitude of their 
country. It appears that every member of this family 
had a personal interest in the cause of their country. 

It is related in the pages of history that Mrs. Thomas, 
wife of Colonel Thomas, was not only distinguished for 
her indomitable perseverance and ardent spirit of patriot- 
ism, but also for her eminent piety, discretion and in- 
dustry. She is described as rather below the ordinary 
stature, with brown eyes and hair, rounded and pleasing 
features, fair complexion, and countenance sprightly 
and expressive. The daughters also exhibited the same 
loveliness of character and beauty of person, which they 
inherited from their mother. Mrs. Culbertson is repre- 
sented as being a woman of great beauty ; and her sister 
Ann is said to have been little inferior to her in personal 
appearance. More will be said of Mrs. Jane Thomas in 
in another place. 

We have already stated that Colonel Thomas removed 
to Greenville District soon after the close of the Revo- 
lution. Few of his descendants now remain in the sec- 
tion of country where he and his family resided, being 
now scattered over the regions of the great West. 

Let it be the pride of the coming generations to pre- 
serve and perpetuate the name of John Thomas, Sr. At 
the outbreak of the great Revolution he appears to have 
been the right man in the right place to assume a lead- 
ership to counteract the dangerous and unwholesome 
influences which had been spread by others in authority 
who had preceded him ; and the responsibility for the 
preservation and perpetuation of his memory, his lofty 
patriotism, his bold leadership and gallant deeds belong 
to the people of Spartanburg and the generations that 
come after. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

THE MOORE FAMILY. 

f Charles Moore, Sr. 
I Mary Moore. 

Charles Moore was born in 1727, and died in 1805. 
Mary, his wife, was born in 1733, and died in 1805. 

They emigrated from the north of Ireland to Pennsyl- 
vania, from which State they came to Spartanburg 
county, S. C, between the years 1760 and 1764, being 
amongst the very first settlers. They belonged to the 
Scotch-Irish race, and, from the best information now 
possible to obtain, it is thought that the ancestors of 
Charles Moore went down into Ireland from Scotland 
with the Duke of Hamilton, to wlrom large landed pos- 
sessions were given by the English sovereign from the 
confiscated estates of Irish noblemen. Foote, in his 
*' Sketches of North Carolina," says that "along with 
Hamilton went the Moores, Maxwells, Rosses and 
Baileys, whose names hold good to this day." It is sup- 
posed that the Moores were related to the Hamiltons, 
and that either Charles Moore's mother, or his wife's 
mother, was a Hamilton. 

Charles Moore took up a grant of land in 1763 on 
Tyger River, ten miles south of the city of Spartanburg, 
upon which he lived and died, together with his wife, 
and upon which both lie buried, having nice marble 
tombstones to their memories. He is described in a 
deed of land on file in North Carolina as a school-teacher, 
and the tradition is that he was a graduate of Trinity 
College, Dublin, Ireland, or of Oxford, England. What 
important part he took in the war of the Revolution is 

(189) 



190 History of Spartanburg County. 

not now known, further than that his son Thomas and 
the husbands of his daughters all acted prominent parts 
on the side of the colonies, as will appear later on. 

His will is on file in the Spartanburg court-house, 
from which it appears he had ten children, named in the 
following order, viz. : 

I. Margaret, married to Captain x^ndrew Barry. 
2. , married John Lawson. 3. Rosa, married Rich- 
ard Barry. 4. , married Robert Hanna. 5. , 

married Mathew Patton. 6. , married Mathew 

Patton. 7. Thomas, known as General Moore. 8. 
Elizabeth, married Rev. R. M. Cunningham, D.D. 9. 
Andrew Barry Moore. 10. Charles, Jr. 

First Child — Margaret, who married Captain Andrew 
Barry, a sketch of whom see in another place, was born in 
1752, and died in 1823, aged 71 years. She lies buried 
in the Moore cemetery on Tyger River, where her father 
originally settled. It was she who planted the seed chat 
gave rise to the name of the place, viz.. Walnut Grove. 
She outlived her husband, and left a will which is on 
file in the Spartanburg court-house. She .was an im- 
portant character during the Revolution, and tradition 
says was the "Kate Barry" of history, "The Heroine 
of Cowpens. " She was noted as a scout, and was once 
flogged by the Tories to make her tell the whereabouts of 
her husband and his company. Her children will be 
named under the head of Andrew Barry. 

Second Child — Whose name is not known, but who 
married John Lawson, left no descendants in Spartan- 
burg. She is supposed to have been the wife of Colonel 
John Lawson, who died in Twiggs comity, Georgia in 
1 816, after a long life, spent as a soldier in the Revolu- 
tion and in public capacities afterwards. (See histories 
of Georgia by White, McCall and others.) 

Third Child — Rosa married Richard Barry, of whom 



History of Spartanburg County. 191 

a sketch will be given in another place. She outlived 
her husband, and went west with some of her children, 
where she died. She was noted for her piety, and tra- 
dition records that she was a ministering angel in the 
sick chamber and by the dying bedside. Her prayers 
in the hours of trial and bereavement made indelible 
impressions. The children are named under the head 
of Richard Barry. 

Fourth Child — Married Robert Hanna, who lived and 
died in York county, S. C, having many descendants, 
Robert Hanna* was a noted soldier, and it is said acted 
as scout for General Thos. Sumter before the battle of 
Blackstocks, and that, concealed in a tree, he counted 
the enemy as they marched against Sumter, and reported 
the number before the battle. 

Fifth and Sixth Children — Married Mathew Patton, a 
noted continental soldier. If these two daughters had 
any children it is not now known positively, though 
Mathew Patton had one son named William, who is sup- 
posed to have been by one of his Moore wives, and who 
married Sally Means, a sister of the late Jas. K. Means, 
with whom he moved to Crab Orchard, Tenn. Mathew 
Patton married a third wife, of Tory blood, who mis- 
treated him in his old age. 

Seventh Child — General Thomas Moore, who died 
July nth, 1822, in his 63d year. He was quite a young 
man in the Revolution, but played a conspicuous part. 
He lies buried in the Moore burial ground. He served 
several years in Congress, and was a major-general in 
the war ofi8i2toi8i5. He was twice married, the first 
time to Patsey Price, the second time to Mary Reagan. 

By his first wife, Patsey Price, who died 1808, aged 
43 years, he had the following children, viz. : 

*See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 253. 



192 History of Spartanburg County. 

John, died in the Sonth Carolina College. Hamilton, 
went West. Polly (Mary S.), married Dr. Eber Smith, 
born 1788, died 1813. Betsey, married Colonel S. N. 
Evins. Violet, married J. H. Barry of York, S. C. 
Peggy, married Roddy. Rachel, married Means of 
Memphis, Tenn. Patsey, married Benson of Alabama. 

By the second wife, Mary Reagan, he had the follow^- 
ing children, viz. : Barry Moore, Thomas J. Moore, Ann 
and Amanda. Barry Moore went West. Thomas J. 
graduated at Athens College, Ga., studied law, married 
Miss Irwin of Charlotte, N. C. , but soon died, leaving 
a posthumous son, the late Dr. T. J. Moore, of Rich- 
mond, Va. He was one of the most brilliant men Spar- 
tanburg county ever produced. Ann Moore married at 
13 years of age a man named Crump, afterwards to 
Dr. Harrison, and again to Mr. Martin, of Mississippi. 
Amanda Moore married first Henderson, and second Dr. 
Effinger, of Portland, Oregon. She had only one child, 
Emma. 

The only representatives of the family of General 
Thomas Moore now in this county are the families of 
Dr. Alfred Moore, who married Martha, the daughter 
of Colonel S. N. Evins, and his wife Betsey, and of Colo- 
nel John H. Evins, son of Colonel S. N. Evins. 

Eighth Child — Elizabeth, after marrying Dr. R. M. 
Cunningham, soon died, leaving no issue. For a sketch of 
Dr. C. see " Sprague's Annals of the American Pulpit." 

Ninth Child — was Dr. Andrew Barry Moore, born 
February nth, 1771, and died January 23d, 1848, aged 
76 years, 11 months and 12 days. He lies buried in the 
Moore burial ground on Tyger River. He graduated 
in 1795 at Dickinson College, Carlisle, Penn., and after- 
wards studied medicine, in which he attained eminence. 
It was not uncommon for him to have in his home sev- 
eral young men studying medicine at the same time. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



193 



He was twice married. First to Anna A. Maxwell, of 
Pendleton, S. C, who died February gtli, 1831, in her 
43d year. By her he had no children to live. His 
second wife was Nancy Miller Montgomery, who was 
born November 13th, 1804, and died March 14th, 1862. 
She married a second time Colonel S. N. Evins, Decem- 
ber 20th, i860, leaving no children by this last marriage. 
Her children by Dr. A. B. Moore are : 

ist. Margaret 
Anna, born December 
17th, 1834, who was 
married to Captain 
Samuel C. Means, 
December 20th, 1856, 
and died May i8th, 
1879, leaving no is- 
sue, having had an 
only son, Andrew 
James, who was acci- 
dentally killed, March 
ist, 1875, in his i6th 
year. 

2d. Mary Eliza- 
beth, born May 31st, 
1836, died September 
3d^ 1836. 

3d. Andrew Charles, born March nth, 1838, and 
was killed in the second battle of Manassas, August 30th, 
1862. He married Mary J. Foster, of Alabama, on De- 
cember nth, i860, but left no children. He graduated 
in the South Carolina College in 1858, and in law at the 
University of Virginia in i860, in both instances with 
distinguished honor. He was noted for his beauty of 
person, strength of mind, and noble qualities of heart. 
He died universally lamented. '' Whom the gods love 

13 h s c 




Andrew Charles Moore, Sr. 



194 



History of Spartanburg County. 



die young," was applied to him. His remains were 
brought home from Virginia and deposited in Nazareth 
church cemetery, over which has been erected a beauti- 
ful and costly monument, commemorative of his life as 
a soldier of the Southern Confederacy. 

4th. Thomas J. 
Moore, born April 
29th, 1843 ; married 
Mary Elizabeth An- 
derson , February 
27th, 1866. His chil- 
dren are : 

1. Andrew Charles 
(see sketch of) . 

2. James Anderson, 
born November i8th, 
1868; died January 
29th, 1869. 

3. Thomas Brock- 
man, born November 
28th, 1869; died July 
3d, 1871. 

4. Annie Mary, born November i6th, 1871 ; died at 
Charlotte Female Institute June 13th, 1889. 

5. Paul Vernon, born April 2d, 1874 ; graduated in 
South Carolina College 1894. 

6. Harriet Means, born February 5th, 1877 ; graduated 
in Converse College 1897. 

7. Henrietta Sue, born October 7th, 1879; Junior 
Converse College 1899. 

8. Nancy Montgomery, born November 19th, 1882 ; 
preparing for Converse College. 

This Thomas J. Moore is the sole representative of the 
Charles Moore family by the name of Moore in South 
Carolina. He was educated at the South Carolina Col- 




Coi^oNETv Thomas J. Moore. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



195 



lege, leaving there in April, 1S62, permanently (having 
twice in 1861 been called ont at Fort Snmter, when the 
first gun was fired, and when Port Royal fell), in his senior 
year, to enter the Confederate army, in which he served 
as a private for the balance of the war, excepting he was 




Mrs. Marv E. Moore, 
Wife of Colonel Thomas J. Moore. 

made color ensign of the regiment, and carried the colors 
in the last battles. He joined first Co. E, i8th S. C. Regt., 
but afterwards was a member of Co. A, Holcombe Le- 
gion. He was captured at the Five Forks battle, after 
passing the winter in the trenches at Petersburg, Va., 
April ist, 1865, and was carried to prison on Johnson's 
Island, in Lake Erie, from which he was released June 
1 6th, 1865, the war being over. He was never wounded 
or sick in a hospital. 



196 History of Spartanburg County. 

Since then he has been engaged in planting operations, 
living at and owning the original ancestral home. Not 
long after the close of the civil war, he was appointed 
a colonel in the State militia, from which he obtained 
his title. He has always been progressive as a farmer, 
and during the year 1899 he planted rice extensively 
on his low grounds, and has demonstrated the fact be- 
yond a question of doubt that this article of product 
can be successfully grown in the up-country of South 
'Carolina. He was a member of the South Carolina 
House of Representatives in 1872 to 1874, and State 
senator from 1880 to 1884. He served seventeen years 
as chairman of the State Board of Commissioners of the 
State Institution for the education of the deaf and dumb 
and the blind, and has been again elected by the legis- 
lature a member of said board. He was also for a num- 
ber of years a member of the State Board of Agriculture, 
and in 1894 and '95 was president of the State Agricul- 
tural and Mechanical Society, and for many years a 
member of the executive committee thereof. 

In religion he is a Presbyterian, the church of his 
fathers, being an elder therein, and for many years an 
active Sunday-school superintendent. 

ANDREW CHARLES MOORE, JR. 

Son of Colonel T. J. and Mary E. Moore — named in 
lionor of his uncle of the same name whom we have 
already noticed — was born at Fredonia, the old family 
homestead in Spartanburg county, December 27, 1866. 
He was graduated at the South Carolina College, with 
honors, in 1887. 

He adopted teaching as his profession, and did his 
first work in filling the unexpired term (three months) 
of the superintendent of the graded school of Spartan- 
burg. From this place he went to Camden, S. C, where 



History of Spartanburg County. 



197 



he organized the graded school of that town. After three 
years there he was elected to a position in the graded 
schools of Birmingham, Alabama, as principal of the high 
school. After eight years' snccessfnl labor there, he 
resigned, to the regret of the trustees and pupils,- to pur- 
sue his studies in the University of Chicago, which he 
entered in 1898. After one year he was awarded a fel- 
lowship in that insti- 
tution over many com- 
petitors. His chosen 
department is botany, 
along with which he 
is taking the French 
and G e r m a n 1 1 lan- 
guages. His college 
course was the full 
classical, by which he 
became acquainted 
with Latin and Greek, 
and with which he 
became more conver- 
sant in the school- 
room. Besides his em- 
inent abilities men- 
tally, he is of J the 

highest Christian character and exceedingly popular, 
and loved and admired by all with whom he conies in 
contact. He will soon obtain his title of Ph.D. The 
high position which he has already attained not only 
affords pleasure to his family and friends, but reflects 
honor on his native county and State. 

The tenth and last child of Charles Moore, Sr., was 
Charles Moore, Jr., who married Jane Barry of York 
county, S. C, and moved to Perry county, Ala., dying 
there in 1836, aged 62 years and 8 months. 




Ankri'.w Ciiaki.i:s Mooki:, Jr. 
Son of Col. T. J. Moore. 



198 History of Spartanburg County. 

His children are : i. William Moore. 2. Andrew 
Barry Moore, jndge and governor of Alabama in i860. 
3. Charles Hamilton Moore. 4. Alfred. 5. Mary, mar- 
ried to James Evins. 6. Jnliet, married to Dr. Robert 
Foster. 7. Adaline, died yonng and unmarried, and, 8, 
Betsy, who also died yonng and unmarried. 

All these were born in Spartanburg county, but went 
in early life to Alabama. The most of them live in the 
town of Marion, Perry county, or near there. 

Charles Moore, Jr., lies buried in the graveyard of Fair- 
view Church, Perry county, Alabama. "He was noted 
for hospitality and patriotism, and was revered for prob- 
ity and punctuality, and highly esteemed for general 
knowledge and quick discrimination." His wife was 
born May 20th, 1783, and died 20th December, 1857. 

1. His first son William had children, viz.: i. Charles 
Hamilton. 2. Andrew. 3. Rlioda Jane, married to Dr. 
Jas. A. Moore. 4. James A. 5. Samuel. 6. Mittie, 
married to Mr. Wyatt. 

2. His second son, Andrew B., died April 5th, 1873. 
He was governor of x\labama in i860, when the State 
seceded, and had children by his wife, Mary Goree, viz. : 
Martha J., married to Powhattan Lockett ; x-lnnie, mar- 
ried Albert Lockett; Andrew Barry, married Mary Smith. 

3. His third son, Charles Hamilton, married Mary 
Billingslea, and had children, viz. : Dr. James A., An- 
drew Barry, Cornelia Josephine, and Thomas. 

4. His fourth son, Alfred, married Miss Hanna, and 
had children, viz. : William J. and Emma. 

1. His first daughter, Mary, married James Gilleland 
Evans, with children, viz. : Charles Alexander, Thad. 
A., Thomas J., James S., Julia (Graham), Robert Ham- 
ilton, Andrew, Lucius Septimus, and Jane Anna. 

2. His second daughter, Juliet, married Dr. R. Foster, 
with children : Mary J., first married to A. C. Moore and 



History of Spartanburg County. 199 

then to Dr. Wm. R. Barron, by whom she has two 
daughters, Julia and Bessie; Eliza, married Leonard H. 
Seawell ; ]\Iattie, married Caius F. Fennel ; Robena, 
married Lucius S. Evins; Lutie, married David W. 
Pitts ; and Robert, married to Emma Lavinia Barron. 



CHAPTER XIV. 

THE BARRY FAMILY. 

This family was originally from Ireland, but first 
settled in Pennsylvania, coming from there to South 
Carolina about 1760 to 1764. Tradition says that the 
family in Pennsylvania consisted of five sons and five 
daughters. Three sons came to Spartanburg with 
Charles Moore, viz., Andrew, Richard, and John, while 
one son — James, probably — settled in York county, S. C. 
When the family first landed in Pennsylvania is not 
known, nor how long they remained there. They were 
originally from Scotland. 

The three brothers, Andrew, Richard and John, all 
settled on Tyger River, near Charles Moore's. 

Captain Andrew Barry married Margaret Moore, daugh- 
ter of Charles Moore. Dr. Howe, in his "History of 
the Presbyterian Church in South Carolina," says he was 
born in Pennsylvania in 1832, and received before he 
came here a liberal English education. He is in error 
as to the date of his birth, for his tombstone in the 
Moore cemetery shows he died on June 17th, 181 1, aged 
65 years, which would have made him born in 1746. 
Dr. Howe, page 544, describes him as six feet one inch 
high, and of powerful muscular strength, and that he 
married in 1767 or 1768. He was a magistrate under 
George II., and continued to exercise the office until the 
Revolution. He held the office of captain from the same 
power. He was captain of a company during the Rev- 
olution, and was at Musgrove's and Cowpens, and prob- 
ably in several skirmishes, as at Cedar Springs and else- 
where. He was one of the first elders elected by Naza- 

(200) 



History of Spartanburg County. 201 

reth Presbyterian Church, in which capacity he served 
till death. 

The children of Andrew Barry and his wife, Margaret 
Moore, are : 

I. John Barry, who married a Miss Watson of York 
county, S. C. 2. Charles Barry. 3. Andrew Barry, who 
lived and died in Spartanburg county. 4. Hughey, 
who married Malinda Kilgore and went to Mississippi. 
5. Richard, who married Margaret Kilgore and went to 
Mississippi. 6. Polly, who married Thomson Lawson. 
7. Violet, who married James Hanna of York county, 
S. C. 8. Peggy, who married David Thomas, son of 
Colonel Jno. Thomas, Sr. 9. Katy, who married Jesse 
Crook. 10. Alice, who married De Forest Allgood of 
Laurens county, S. C. 

All these moved westward except Katy, who married 
Jesse Crook, and Andrew Barry, known as "Major 
Barry," who located near the home of his father, one 
mile north of Moore, S. C, on Tyger River, dying there 
December i8th, i860, aged ']2^ years, 3 months and 23 
days. He married Sarah P. Harrison, who was born 
January 21st, 1791, and died November 30th, 1843. 
They were married 19th September, 18 15. 

Their children are: i. Margaret Ann, born August 
II, 1818, and married Major Wm. Hoy 1839. 2. 
Richard Albert, born 1821 ; died 1841, unmarried. 
3. Emily Augusta, born 1824; ^i^*^ 1898; married J. 
Wofford Tucker 1844. 4. Henry Patillo, born 1826; 
died 1898; married Mary Jane Evans 1847. 5- Charles 
A., born 1828; married Anna Maria Sudduth July 28, 
1859. 

The first child, Mrs. Hoy, died in 1840, leaving one 
son, Albert A., who, serving the Confederacy as a soldier, 
sealed the cause with his life. 

The third child, Emily A. Tucker, died in Sanford, 



202 History of Spartanburg County. 

Florida, her husband having preceded her a short time. 
Their children were : (i) Louisa, born 1845, now Mrs. 
Phillips, with no children ; (2) Samuel, born 1847, "^^^^^ 
married a Miss Gwin of IMobile, Alabama, but died 
early leaving four children — Gwin (now dead), Wofford, 
Emmie, and Samuel, all of Sanford, Florida; (3) How- 
ard, born 1848, unmarried. 

Henry Patillo Barry's wife was of Chesterfield county. 
South Carolina, where her kindred now reside. They 
moved about 1857 or 1858 to Dardanelle, Arkansas, and 
had several children, viz. : Thomas Jefferson 1848, An- 
drew Evans 1850, Robert Edward 1853, Henry Patillo 
1856 (died 1856), Kolb 1857, William — . He married 
a second time, and died in 1898. 

Charles A. Barry, son of Major Andrew Barry, was the 
representative of the family left in Spartanburg till 1900, 
His children are: 

I. Sallie Maria, died 15th January, 1866, aged 4 years 
3 months and 20 days. 2. Emily Carolina, born nth 
July, 1863. 3. Virginia Major, born 21st March, 1866. 
4. Richard Hugh, born June loth, 1868. 5. Annie 
Selina, born February 23d, 1874; died May 30th, 1875. 

(2) Emily Carolina married Charles Hill of Green- 
ville, S. C, June 2ist, 1888, where she now resides, 
■with children, as follows : Charles, Barry, Sarah Joyce, 

William (died in infancy), and Jesse Brockman. 

(3) Virginia Major married June 21st, 1888, to Jesse 
K. Brockman, now living in Birmingham, Ala., with chil- 
dren as follows, viz. : ]\Iary Barry, Virginia, and Jesse K. 

Emily Carolina and Virginia Major were married at 
the same time and by the same ceremony under their 
father's roof. 

(4) Richard Hugh married Henrietta Buist Anderson, 
who died in early life, leaving one child, John Charles, 
born 28th August, 1892. He lives with his father. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



203 



Charles A., two miles north of Moore, in Spartanburg 
county. 

Charles A. Barry, who was the head of the family, now 
residing in Spartanburg county, played an important 
part both in Church and State. Bereft of a mother's 
care in early life, he grew up a wayward youth, leading 

a wild life till mar- 
riage, when, touched 
by God's grace, he 
became a Christian, 
under many adverse 
circumstances , c o n - 
necting himself with 
the Nazareth Presby- 
terian Church, in 
which he soon became 
an elder, as was his 
father and grandfather 
before him. He 
often represented his 
church in Presbytery, 
and was twice Presby- 
tery's representative 
in the General Assembly. He was an elder of Center 
Point Church, being one of its founders. He died Jan- 
uary, 1900. 

In State affairs, he was a soldier in the Spartan Rifle 
Company while they were State troops, going to Charles- 
ton when F'ort Sumter fell. Afterwards he was a mem- 
ber of the 2 2d Regiment, S. C. V., the Charleston Bat- 
talion, and of Company E, i8th Regiment S. C. V., from 
which last he was discharged. Later he was a member 
of Co. A, Holcombe Legion, in which he served as a 
private till the close of the war, surrendering at Appo- 
mattox. He served on the County Board of Equalization 




Hon. Charles A. Barry. 



204 History of Spartanburg County. 

for sixteen years, and was chairman the most of the time. 
He was county commissioner for twelve years, and most 
of the time chairman of the board. 

He served three terms in the Legislature, and was a 
part of the time chairman of the Ways and Means Com- 
mittee. During the third term, on account of failing 
health, he resigned. He was a member of the State con- 
vention which framed the present constitution. Almost 
blind and worn out, he laid down the burdens of life. 

Richard Barry, brother of Andrew and John, was born 
in 1751 ; died July 29th, 1816, aged 65 years. Coming 
here with Charles Moore, he married his daughter Rosa, 
who survived him and went west with some of her chil- 
dren, where she died. He is buried in the Moore cem- 
etery. What part he took in the Revolution is not 
known. He stuttered in conversation, but it is related 
that in his public prayers, in which he was fluent, he 
never did so. 

His children by Rosa Moore are : Richard Barry, 
familiarly known as "Devil Dick"; Katy, married a 
Sloan and lived about Rome, Ga.; Polly, married Colonel 
Isaac Smith. There may have been other children. 

From Colonel Isaac Smith, who was a prominent man 
in his day, descended some families about Gaffney, S. C. 
The late Colonel Sam Smith was his son. 

Of John Barry, brother of Andrew and Richard, noth- 
ing is now known here, as he left no descendants in this 
county, further than that he lived in the fork of the 
Middle and North Tyger Rivers. His son, William 
Taylor Barry, was given a college education, and be- 
came a statesman from Kentucky, serving as President 
Andrew Jackson's postmaster -general, besides filling 
other high positions. 



CHAPTER XV. 

THE SMITH FAMILY. 

Descendants of the Elder Ralph Smith. 

In Revolutionary times there resided several branches 
of the great Smith family within the limits of the origi- 
nal county of Spartanburg, from which have sprung a 
long and respectable line of posterity. Among the first 
settlers within the territorial limits of Spartanburg 
coimty was Ralph Smith,* son of William Smith, of 
Wrightstown, Pennsylvania. 

Ralph Smith emigrated from Bucks county, Penn., to 
South Carolina in 1765, and was a prominent citizen in 
his day. At the outbreak of the Revolution, he was a 
justice of the peace, and though well advanced in years, 
he threw up his commission and served in the army. 
When he removed to South Carolina he brought with 
him three sons and a daughter. The names of the sons 
were William, Samuel and Aaron ; all these became dis- 
tinguished soldiers during the Revolution. 

William, the eldest, was born in Bucks county, Penn., 
September 20th, 1751. Of his early life but little can 
now be ascertained. From the responsible and ele- 
vated positions which he filled, he must have received 
the very best educational advantages that could be 
offered in his day. His military career began when he 
was twenty-four years old. He served in the snow cam- 



*In a revolutionary sketch published in Spartan June 28tli, 1899, 
Samuel Smith, son of Ralph, states that his father was raised among 
the Quakers in New Jersey, but that he did not follow them; that he 
moved to Pennsylvania before he (Samuel) was born. 

(205) 



2o6 History of Spartanburg County. 

paign in the winter of 1775, as a member of the Spartan 
regiment under the command of Colonel Thomas, Sr., 
and in the next year (1776) in Williamson's expedition 
against the Cherokees. 

In 1777 William Smith was made a captain of the 
militia and was stationed for a time in Wood's Fort, near 
Beaver Dam Creek, between Middle and South Tyger 
rivers. This old fort was constructed near the border 
line of the Cherokee Indian Nation (the present line 
between the counties of Greenville and Spartanburg), as 
a protection to the white settlers living in vicinity of the 
border line, against unexpected outbreaks and invasions 
by the Indians. 

In the Revolutionary sketch by Samuel Smith, brother 
of William Smith, republished in- the Spartan^ June 
28tli, 1899, it is stated that Benjamin Roebuck was First 
Lieutenant in the comjDany of Captain William Smith, 
and that Lieutenant Roebuck was not advanced by pro- 
motion until after the fall of Charleston, May, 1780. 

In December, 1778, Captain Wm. Smith was ordered 
to Georgia with his company, serving under General 
Lincoln, and participated in the battle of Stono, June, 
1779. 

After the surrender of General Lincoln at Charleston, 
the territory of South Carolina was completely overrun 
by the British and Tories, and by many the province 
was considered as completely subjugated to British 
authority. Many of the brave spirits of the Revolution 
sought and accepted British protection. Many of these, 
and among the number General Andrew Pickens, took 
the field again and fought bravely to the end of the war. 
Many, however, like Marion, Sumter, the Hamptons, 
and others preferred to remain in the field and continue 
the struggle. Among the latter class were William, 



History of Spartanburg County. 207 

Samuel and Aaron Smith, who were uncompromising 
patriots and true to the American cause. 

During the year 1780 Captain William Smith partici- 
pated in the capture of Fort Thickety and in the battles 
of Wofford's Iron Works, Musgrove's Mill and Black- 
stocks. It appears that after Sumter recovered from his 
wound received at Blackstocks, Captain Wm. Smith be- 
came attached to his command and was promoted to the 
office of major. He was at Guilford Court-house, the 
siege of Granby, the skirmish at Ouincy Bridge, the 
affair at Juniper, and the capture of some British vessels 
at Watboo Landing under Colonel Wade Hampton, 
whose command formed a part of Sumter's forces. He 
continued in the service of his country until the end of 
the war. * 

Soon after the organization of Spartanburg county in 
1785, by virtue of what was known as Judge Pendleton's 
"County Court Act," William Smith was chosen as one 
of the county court judges for Spartanburg. He served 
in this capacity until 1797, wdien he was elected to the 
Congress of the United States and served several terms in 
that body. Joseph M. Rodgers says of him : " He was 
leader of the House, a solid man of some eloquence, but 

*In searching among the records in the office of Secretary of State, 
Columbia, S. C, January, 1900, the writer ran across the roll of Cap- 
tain Wm. Smith's company while a member of Sumter's command. 
This, the writer was informed, had been picked from the rubbish of a 
vacant room only a few months before. The following names appear 
on said roll: Captain Wm. Smith, Lieutenant Berry Jeffers, George 
Autly, Richard Bearden, Wm. Bearden, Nathan Bird, Jesse Chandler, 
Wm. Caldwell, James Dawkins, Samuel Day, Charles Elliot, James 
Flinn, James Gaston, Thomas Griffis, Robert Glasco, John Harris, 
Wm. Herrie, George Hughes, Wm. Houldich, George Jeffries, Jona- 
than Jones, Samuel Lancaster, Robert Lusk, John Morton, James Neal, 
Benj'n Neighbors, Henry Petitte, John Rest, Rob't Scott, John Steele, 
Wm. Swords, Nathan Smith, James Strother, Zopher Smith, Wm. 
Seigler, Abraham Lowery, Joseph Walliston, Archison White and Wm. 
Young. 



2o8 History of Spartanburg County. 

he lacked the magnetism of true leadership. Had he 
remained longer in Congress he would have become a 
leading figure in American politics." He died June 22, 
1837, in the eighty-sixth year of his age. 

The official records in Columbia, S. C.,sho\v William 
Smith to have been State senator, representing the up- 
per or Spartan District from 1788 to '92. This election 
district embraced all of the territory of the original county 
of Spartanburg, and the larger portion of the county of 
Union (see map " Colonial and Revolutionary History of 
Upper South Carolina," p. 43). He was also senator repre- 
senting Spartanburg District proper from 1792 to 1800, 
and from i8i2to 1816, having served his constituents as 
State senator for a period of sixteen years. Few men 
served the public longer or more faithfully than Judge 
Smith. He married in early life to Miss Mourning, 
daughter of Mrs. Lettice Bearden, who was a sister of 
General Richard Winn of Fairfield District. By this 
marriage fourteen children were born, eight sons and 
six daughters. The names of the sons were Isaac, Eber, 
John Winn, Elihu, Eliphas, Ralph, William and Aaron. 
The names of the daughters were Lettice, Marsey, Polly, 
Jane and two daughters unmarried. Several of the sons 
became prominent in State politics. Colonel Isaac Smith, 
the eldest son, was State senator, representing Spartan- 
burg District from 1818 to '26, a period of eight years, 
and was a representative from the same district in the 
House from 1828 to '30. He married a Miss Barry, and 
by said marriage four sons and four daughters were born. 
The youngest son, Elihu, was a soldier in the civil war 
and is still living. 

Dr. Eber Smith, second son, was a prominent physician 
in his day, and was elected a representative from Spar- 
tanburg District to the State legislature for three times 
consecutiv^ely, which embraced the years 181 8, '20 and 



History of Spartanburg County. 209 

'22. He married a daughter of General Thomas Moore, 
by which marriage one son was born — Mr. Aaron Smith, 
on Dutchman's Creek, who died in 1880, leaving a wife 
and eight children, five sons and three daughters. 

Dr. Smith married a second time to Miss Ashford, of 
Fairfield District. They had one son, George, who died 
of yellow fever in Charleston in 1858. 

Dr. John Winsmith,* third son, was a prominent phy- 
sician and a man of extensive reading. He possessed a 
broad intellect, and figured for a number of years in the 
politics of his native country. He represented Spartan- 
burg District in the State legislature from 1856 to '58, 
and from i860 to '62. 

After the close of the war between the States, he served 
one or two terms in the State legislature, and was also 
elected one term to the State senate. He was also one 
of the delegates to the State Convention of 1852 from 
Spartanburg District. In character he was devoted to 
his friends, but bitter to his political enemies ; but dur- 
ing his life he contributed to many objects of charity, 
and was kind and benevolent in disposition. From his 
extensive library he made a valuable contribution of 
books, both historical and biographical, to the Kenedy 
Library of Spartanburg, which if destroyed, could not 
be replaced. 

Dr. Winsmith was the father of J. Christopher Win- 
smith, a graduate of the Citadel Academy in Charleston, 
S. C, a gallant soldier of the Confederate army, and 
Captain of Co. H, ist Regt. , S. C. V., commanded by 
Colonel Haygood. Dr. Winsmith was also the father of 
Mrs. Baxter Moore, of Charlotte, N. C, these being his 
only children. He married Miss Catharine Faber. 

Major Elihu Penquite Smith, another son of Judge 

■*By special enactment of the Legislature of South Carolina, the 
name John Winn Smith was changed to John Winsmith. 
14 h s c 



2IO 



History of Spartanburg County, 



William Smith, was a prominent and inflnential citizen 
and politician in his day, possessing the same distinctive 
characteristics that belonged to his distinguished father. 
He was a polished gentleman, a true patriot and repre- 
sented his native district (Spartanburg) in the State leg- 
islature for eight years, from 1842 to '50, as shown by 
the official records. He married Miss Christina Faber, 
by w^hich marriage he had nine children, six sons and 
three daughters. 

The eldest, Dr. Wm. 
F. Smith, of Glenn's 
Spring, is a prominent 
citizen and physician, 
well-known to the peo- 
ple of Spartanburg. 
He is well educated and 
a finished gentleman. 
He was in Europe when 
the war between the 
States began, but came 
home immediately and 
volunteered. He was 
for a time a member of 
the cavalry company 
known as the Brooks Troop from Greenville, but being 
a physician, he felt that he could serve his country 
better as an army surgeon, which position he held when 
the war closed. Since then he has practiced his profess- 
ion in and around Glenn's Spring with success. 

The second son, Eliphas, was a successful farmer. He 
entered the army at the commencement of the war and 
remained in service until its close. He then resumed 
planting, and continued this business until his death 
in 1888. 

The third son, Ralph, was in the South Carolina Col- 




HoN. E. P. Smith. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



211 



lege when the war began, and, like thousands of noble 
young men of that period, left the schoolroom and en- 
listed in the service of his country. He was wounded 
in one of the battles around Richmond, and died from 
effects of same shortly afterwards. 




Dr. Wm. F. Smith, 
Ex-Confederate Surgeon. 

The fourth son, Eber C, was also in the South Caro- 
lina College at the outbreak of the war, but quitted the 
schoolroom and entered the army, and remained until 
the close of the war. He is farming successfully near 
Glenn's Spring. 

The fifth son, Elihu, was quite a boy when the war 
began, but during the war he entered the army, and 
towards its close he was captured and carried to prison 
at Elmira, New York, wdiere he died of disease. 



212 History of Spartanburg County. 

The sixth son, Miner, resides near Glenn's Spring, 
and is engaged in planting. 

The eldest danghter, Miss Kate, married to Major 
J. W. Minter of Lanrens. 

The second danghter, Miss Minnie, has been and is 
still a successfnl teacher near Glenn's Spring. 

The third daughter, Miss Bessie,' married Mr. Fra- 
sier of Abbeville county. 

Judge Eliphas Smith, fifth son of Judge Wm. Smith, 
removed to Alabama when quite young, and was a prom- 
inent citizen in that State, and became a captain in the 
Mexican war. He married Miss Elizabeth, daughter of 
General Washinton Earle. Thev had two dauo-hters — 
Miss Lizzie, who married Dr. Durham of Fairfield, and 
Miss Cassie, who 'married-Captain John Sondley of New- 
berry county, S. C. He married a second time to a 
lady in Jacksonville, Ala., from which a daughter was 
born, Miss Jane, who married Eliphas Smith, now de- 
ceased. She survives her husband, and is a successful 
teacher. 

Captain Ralph Smith, sixth son of Judge Smith, was 
also a prominent citizen in his day, though never in 
public life. He was a merchant and farmer, and mar- 
ried Miss Susan Turner of Clarke county, Ga. They 
had four children, one son and three daughters. 

The son. Captain William James Smith, was promi- 
nently known to the people of Spartanburg county as 
an honest, intelligent and patriotic citizen, always taking 
an interest in everything looking to the welfare of his 
country. He was a typical Southern man, courtly in 
appearance, with large, penetrating eyes, which gave 
him the sobriquet of " Big-eyed Bill," only to distin- 
guish him from others of the same name. 

He was the first captain of Company A, Holcombe 
Legion, being selected as the most suitable person to 



History of vSpartanburg County, 



213 



lead that company of gallant yonng men to the army, 
but being well advanced in years at the time, he resigned 
his commission after serving a year or more. This was 
on account of ill health, being unable to withstand the 
fatigues of active camp life ; but after returning home 
and recruiting his health he continued to serve his coun- 
try as best he could until the close of the war. After 
this, to the time of his death, he continued in his farm- 
ing operations on his plantation near Roebuck, S. C, 
where his family now 
reside. He was a prom- 
inent member of the 
Grange organization 
until this was super- 
seded by the Alliance 
movement. He was 
also for a number of 
years the chairman of 
the Democratic Club of 
his township and an 
efficient member of the 
County Democratic 
Executive Committee, 
and tendered impor- 
tant service here in the management of political affairs 
in Spartanburg county when the State was under des- 
potic rule. 

Early in the fifties Captain Smith was married to Miss 
Mary R. Austin, a lady of intelligence and refinement, 
who survives him. She was a daughter of Dr. Thomas 
Austin, of Greenville District, S. C, a soldier of the 
war of 181 2, and granddaughter of Colonel Wm. Austin, 
a Revolutionary soldier, and also a granddaughter, 
on the maternal side, of IVIrs. Jane James, a sketch 
of whom appears at another place in this volume. By 




Capt. Wm. J. Smith. 



214 History of Spartanburg County. 

this marriaofe eisfht children were born — three sons and 
five dano^hters. Of these only five are living. Clifford, 
the eldest, is a planter in Marengo connty, Ala. He 
married a niece of Rev. J. L. M. Curry, D.D., well- 
known in the South. He was a minister to Spain under 
Cleveland's first administration. One daughter. Miss 
Emma, married Mr. G. F. Bobo, near Roebuck, well- 
known to the people of Spartanburg as a progressive 
farmer. Another daughter. Miss Ella, married Mr. W. 
B. McDaniel, of Greenville, where they now live. The 
youngest son, Ralph, resides in Demopolis, Ala., and is 
engaged in planting. He married Miss Evelyn Hatch 
of that place. One daughter, Mourning, is single, and 
lives with her mother. 

Of the daughters of Captain Ralph Smith, Miss Mourn- 
ing, the eldest, married Josiah Smith of Abbeville, S. C. , 
who died a few years after this marriage. She then 
married Mr. Miner Gracey of Newberry county. He 
lived ten years after their marriage. Three years after 
his death she married General W. P. Bocock, of Ap- 
pomattox county, Va. , who was an eminent lawyer and 
attorney-general of the State of Virginia at the time of 
their marriage. She died in 1886 and her husband 
shortly afterwards. The second daughter, Miss Jane, 
married General L. W. Lawler, of Talladega county, 
Ala., a prominent man in that State, where he filled 
various positions of importance. He was appointed one 
of the commissioners to settle the debt of Alabama after 
the close of the war, in which he displayed great finan- 
cial ability. He was also a prominent member of the 
Baptist church, and died in 1892. His widow survives 
him as the only living child of Captain Ralph Smith. 
Two accomplished daughters were the issue of this 
marriage. One, Mrs. Richardson, who died in 1887, 
leaving a daughter, and another, Mrs. General Whiting, 



History of Spartanburg County. 215 

of Mobile, who has two sons and two daughters. The 
third daughter of Captain Ralph Smith, Miss Elizabeth, 
married IVIr. S. N. Steele, of Newberry, S. C, a success- 
ful merchant. They removed to Marengo county, Ala., 
where he died in 1886, leaving two daughters, Mrs. Dr. 
Turk and Mrs. Wm. Spencer. 

Colonel William Smith, another son of Judge Wm. 
Smith, removed to Fairfield District, many years before 
the civil war between the States and engaged in plant-, 
ing. He married a Miss x\shford, of Fairfield District, 
S. C. They had a large family, but most of them died 
young. One son, Mr. Joel Smith, served in the Confed- 
erate army ; was wounded and died not long after the 
close of the war from the effects of the same. Aaron, 
the youngest son, died before he reached the age of 
manhood. 

Among the daughters of William Smith, Lettice, the 
eldest, married to William Jenkins of Chester District, 
S. C, and subsequently removed to Talladega, Ala. 

Of the other daughters mentioned, Marsey married to 
Thomas Rabb of Fairfield District, Polly to Mr. Goel 
Brewton of Spartanburg District, and Jane to Mr. Wil- 
liam Bogan of Union county. 

It is said that during the war the family of William 
Smith were greatly persecuted by the Tories. They 
went to his house, destroyed his property and threatened 
his life. A Tory went to his house one day and told his 
wife that he and some other Tories, who were neighbors, 
had resolved to kill Captain Billy as soon as they laid 
eyes on him. Not long after his departure the captain 
rode up, and learning of the intention of the Tories, 
went immediately to the house of the Tory giving the 
information for the purpose of killing him. When the 
door was opened the Tory was not to be seen, but notic- 
ing that a plank in the floor had recently been moved. 



2i6 History of Spartanburg County. 

he prized it up with his gun and there lay the cowardly 
wretch, who begged most piteously for his life. "Go," 
said the captain, "but iDeware of making any more 
threats. ' ' 

On one occasion Captain William Smith ventured 
home to see his wife. A Mr. West, who was a neigh- 
bor and a member of his company, accompanied him. 
Mr. West and he parted and were to remain a few hours 
.at their homes and then meet to return to their com- 
mand. The wife of Captain Smith prepared a hurried 
meal, and as he was in the act of sitting dow^n to the 
table, he heard a firing in the direction of West's house. 
He immediately left, and when he came to the place of 
meeting, which was near where Philadelphia Church 
now stands, he was horrified to see the dead body of 
West suspended from a hickory tree. The fact has 
been related to the writer that Captain Ralph Smith 
(son of William) said his father had often shown him 
the tree, when they would be deer-hunting, where his 
friend West was placed after they had killed him before 
his wife's eyes. 

Another time William Smith was going home alone, 
and hearing some persons talking, he concealed himself 
in some bushes near the road. The moon was shining 
brightly, and he recognized them as they passed. One 
of them remarked : " What a glorious night to kill Bill 
Smith! " Although he was treated badly by them, after 
the war he befriended them. He would say to their 
persecutors: "Come, men, the war is over; let them 
alone." Many Tories would have been driven from 
their homes had not his peaceful counsel prevailed. In 
after years when old age was growing upon him he 
would call his grandsons around him and tell them to 
always go to the elections and vote early for good and 



History of Spartanburg County. 217 

true men, and preserve the liberty wliicli he fought 
seven years to give them. 

Samuel Smith, second son of Ralph, the ancestor of 
this branch of the Smith family, and brother of Judge 
William Smith, was a resident of Spartanburg District, 
and also a gallant soldier of the Revolution. From a 
fragment of a Revolutionary sketch published in the 
Carolina Spartan under date of June 28th, 1899, con- 
taining recollections of Samuel Smith, we gather much 
valuable information as to his career in the army, and 
particularly as to the battle of Cowpens. He performed, 
however, gallant service against the Tories after the 
retreat of Morgan's army from the Cowpens, he being 
detained at the latter place on account of his wounded 
brother. In his sketch he states : "After the battle of 
Cowpens we stayed a few days in this neighborhood. We 
got word of a company of Tories coming up ; we rallied 
what force we could to meet them. Caj^tain Shelby, 
from the mountains, came along and joined us. There 
were other captains, Carey of Newberry, Elder and 
Berry from up Tyger. The command was given to 
Shelby, and we went after the Tories. The Tories had 
taken up for the night at a house near Enoree, where 
Odle lived. Shelby gave them a fire which the Tories 
returned, but we retired, as they were in the house. Elder 
was shot and a rain came up and our scout went to 
another house ; when our party came back the Tories 
had gone. 

"When Roebuck came back from North Carolina, I 
was with him in several excursions in search of squads 
of Tories. After one of our excursions Roebuck, with 
Captain Mat Patton, went to stay at a neighbor's house 
to get some clothing which was in preparation for him 
but not ready ; so he had to stay through the day and at 
night some Tories came and took him and Patton. I was 



2i8 History of Spartanburg County. 

taken the same night and, perhaps, a dozen others in 
different places. This was the loth of March, 1781. 
We were taken to Little River to a Tory station and 
tried for onr lives. Captain Patton, Charles Bruce and 
two of the Elders were condemned to be hung. The rest 
of ns were taken to Ninety-six, where we remained until 
the day before Greene laid siege to the place. A num- 
ber of us were paroled and started home. We turned 
back at the Saluda River. Major Mcjunkin was of this 
number. I had the smallpox while in the jail at Ninety- 
six. We came near perishing to death while there. The 
reason we turned back was that Colonel Brandon told us 
it was not safe to venture and that he would come back 
with us. After this I kept scouting about after the mis- 
chievous Tories till the war was ended. I was not able 
to do regular service on account of losing the skin from 
the soles of my feet with the smallpox." 

In a manuscript letter before us of this branch of the 
Smith family, it is stated that Ralph Smith, the elder, 
was taken prisoner with his young son Samuel, and in- 
carcerated at Ninety-six, where they were nearly starved 
to death. They chewed bits of leather to appease their 
hunger, and their finger- and toe-nails dropped off in that 
loathsome prison. 

In the sketch of the recollections of Samuel Smith, 
already referred to, he does not allude to his father, 
Ralph Smith, in this connection, but says he "was taken 
the same night " that Roebuck and Patton were taken, 
and, "perhaps, a dozen others in different places," and 
further states that they " came near perishing to death 
while there." Aaron Smith, third son of Ralph Smith, 
Sr., was also a gallant soldier of the Revolution, and was 
among the gallant heroes slain at the battle of Cowpens, 
receiving there a mortal wound, which caused his 
death in a few days. In referring to that battle, says 



History of Spartanburg County. 219 

Samuel Smith, in the sketch already quoted from : "I 
heard one gun fire before the general fire ; after this the 
British infantry commenced a general fire. We pres- 
ently retired behind the line commanded by Pickens. 
Brother Aaron was wounded there about the time we 
began to give back. I remained with him till the next 
day, when we carried him over Broad River where he 
died." 

Let the name and memory of Aaron Smith live and 
be perpetuated in connection with that brilliant achieve- 
ment for American liberty. It has been truthfully said 
that had there been no victory at Cowpens, there would 
have been no surrender at Yorktown. 



CHAPTER XVI. 

THE WOFFORD FAMILY. 

Among the very first settlers of the territory of Spar- 
tanburg county were the families of Wofford which 
name has become illustrous in the annals of the history 
of said county, and deserves more than passing notice. 

From the information which we have gathered, it ap- 
pears that five brothers of this name came from Mary- 
land, and most of them settled in the vicinity of Hill's 
Factory, on Tyger River. The ancestry of these de- 
scended from the North of England, and their names 
were respectively William, Joseph, James, John and 
Benjamin. The tradition in the family is that two 
brothers from the North of England came to America 
and settled in Pennsylvania near the Maryland line, and 
that one of these brothers was the father of these five 
brothers. 

William, the elder, was born near Rock Creek, in 
then Prince George, now Montgomery county, about 
twelve miles above Washington City, October 25, 1728. 
Of his early life but little can be ascertained ; but he 
most likely served among the Maryland troops in the 
French and Indian war, raging on the frontiers of that 
and neighboring colonies, in his younger days, and 
somewhere it seems he obtained the title of colo7iel^ as 
he was called. 

Colonel William Wofford, being a man of enterprise, 
early migrated, as already stated, to the region embraced 
in the present county of Spartanburg, and erected on 
Eawson Fork the noted iron works bearing his name, 
and which became noted in the pages of Revolutionary 

(220) 



History of Spartanburg County. 221 

history by reason of the battle which was fought near 
by and which were destroyed by the raid of the noted 
"Bloody Bill" Cunningham, November, 1781.* He 
was one of the leading patriots of that region and served 
as lieutenant-colonel on Williamson's Cherokee cam- 
paign of 1776 (for which he drew a pension). 

Early in 1779 he was in service in pursuit of the fu- 
gitive Tory party under Colonel John Moore, when flee- 
ing from North Carolina to Georgia, and in the spring 
and summer of that year he served in Georgia and South 
Carolina under General Lincoln, and doubtless shared 
in the battle of Stono. 

It appears that after this campaign Colonel William 
Wofford disposed of his interest in the iron works to 
Simon Berwick and retired to the Upper Catawba in 
the Turkey Creek Cove, purchasing a tract of 900 acres 
with improvements, and on this tract he erected a fort,t 
for his own and his neighbors' protection against the 
Indians. This was on the line of march of the over- 
mountain men to King's Mountain, and Draper, in his 



* See " Colonial and Revolutionar}- Histon- of South Carolina," p. 
356. 

fThe following is a copy of a furlough granted b}' Colonel Wm. 
Wofford, the original of which is now in possession of Mrs. Nevil 
Holcombe, at Hobbysville, vS. C. : 

" Fort Charlks, June i6, 1782. 

" The bearer, James Brown, declares he had a promise from the colo- 
nel that after two weeks' duty at their station he should have leave of 
absence. Therefore he has leave of absence. 

"Signed W. Wofford." 

The following is copied by General W. T. Wofford from a blank leaf 
in Boyer's French Dictionary in his possession, written by Colonel 
Wofford: 

" Wm. Wofford was born in the province, now State of Maryland, 
near Rock Creek, about 12 miles above the federal city, on the 25th 
day of Oct. 1728, then Prince Georges county, now in the ninety-third 
year of his age. Wrote without spectacles the 30tli day of July, 1820." 



2 22 History of Spartanburg County. 

"King's Mountain and its Heroes," refers to Colonel 
Wofford in words complimentary to his character, 

Wm. C. Wofford, son of Colonel Wm. Wofford, was a 
member of the Georgia Legislature for over twenty 
years, was several times Speaker of the House, and for a 
period. President of the Senate. He was a man of strong 
mind ; his advantages of early education were poor, but 
in later years he acquired considerable knowledge and 
experience. 

The Wofford Iron Works referred to were known br- 
other names. In Johnson's Traditions they are called 
Berivick's and in Ramsey's History of South Carolina, 
Buffi-ugton^ s Iron Works. 

After the war of the Revolution was over Colonel 
William Wofford removed to Habersham county, Ga., 
where he gave much attention to surveying lands. 
He was an influential citizen of that State, and left a 
numerous posterity, among whom is General Wm. T. 
Wofford, of the Confederate Army, an officer of distin- 
guished ability. He died at the age of ninety-five years, 
and it is said, was able to read without spectacles to the 
end of his life. 

Joseph Wofford, another brother, is mentioned in his- 
tory as captain of a company in the famous "snow cam- 
paign " which formed a part of the the famous Spartan 
regiment under the command of Colonel John Thomas, 
Sr. He mustered before the war at a place called the 
"Walnut Trees," just beyond James's Creek, near a 
spring, and near Reuman Newman's place. He was 
with the troops in Charleston, in command of a com- 
pany before the fall of that city, and fell back to Ninety- 
six. 

We find no further record of Joseph Wofford as a 
Revolutionary soldier, but there is no doubt but that he 
did valiant service until the end of the struggle. Cer- 



History of Spartanburg County. 223 

tain it is that he remained a devoted Whig ; was always 
true to the patriot cause and was influential among the 
leaders of that cause. Tradition informs us that he 
was a target for the Tories, whose animus for Captahi 
Joe^ as he w^as called, was very bitter and hostile, which 
continued for several years after the war. Some very 
tragic, interesting and exciting episodes, are related to 
this day, which occurred between him and certain Tory 
leaders of that time who were noted for their many acts 
of violence, murder and burnings perpetrated against 
the Whigs and their property. His services to his coun- 
try during these trying times were, therefore, valuable, 
not so much as a soldier in the ranks, but against the 
maraudings of these unscrupulous adherents to the Royal 
cause, whose frequent forays were often made upon un- 
protected settlements. For this reason, while not in 
active service, he was known as an outlyer, for fear of 
being assassinated by the Tories. Assembled oftentimes 
with his compeers in squads, in out-of-the-way places, 
with well understood and recognized signals to come to- 
gether on the approach of danger, he was the recognized 
leader against these plundering excursions of the British 
and Tories; hence the bitter animosity displayed against 
him, which caused his log-cabin to be closely watched. 
It is related that it was the ingenious and womanly tact 
of his devoted wife that saved his neck from the halter 
when arrested by a band of Tories while at home, which 
was the same night she gave birth to Benjaniiji^ the 
founder of the Wofford College. 

Joseph Wofford was a noted hunter and fisherman in 
his day, when game and fish aboimded in plentifulness, 
and there are many interesting traditions lingering among 
his posterity relative to his old hunting grounds, his fish- 
ing holes on the Tyger, and his superior marksmanship. 

James, another brother, lived during the Revolution 



2 24 History of Spartanburg County. 

near the Frank Wofford place on the road between Spar- 
tanburg- and Woodruff. He was small and a very infirm 
man. His wife was a Miss Hoopuck, a Scotch-Irish lady, 
whom he married in Maryland. He was a staunch Whig, 
and his descendants are nearly all Baptists. He was 
buried on his homestead, at his request, under a large 
oak that he himself had planted, which stood until 1890, 
when it was destroyed by a thoughtless tenant. He was 
an ardent supporter of the infant colony, outspoken in 
behalf of the American cause, and the animosity of the 
Tories was very great towards him. Ofttimes he was in 
great danger of losing his life. He was a surveyor, and 
owned at one time 9,000 acres of land in his region. He 
had eight children, four boys and four girls. Their de- 
scendants are very numerous, many of them going west 
at different periods, and some of the staunchest citizens 
around Woodruff are to be found among them. Many 
of the valiant defenders of the ' ' Lost Cause ' ' are to be 
found among them, some of whom laid down their lives 
and lie buried in the soil of the "Old Dominion," while 
under Lee, Jackson and Longstreet. 

Of John Wofford, another of the five brothers, we 
have but little information ; but from the best that can 
be obtained, he was an enlisted soldier in the Revolu- 
tion ; certain it is that he was on the Whig side during 
that great struggle for American liberty. He was the 
father of eleven children, viz. : John, James, Isaac, Wil- 
liam, Hiram, Precilla, Dorcas, Lienor, Clary, Sarah, and 
Syntha. Many of the descendants of these live in Spar- 
tanburg county, many in Georgia and in other States 
out west, some of whom have distinguished themselves 
in war and in peace. Among these was L. J. Wofford, 
chief of artillery under General S. D. Lee in the western 
army. 

As to the fifth brother, Benjamin, while we have no 



History of Spartanburg County. 225 

information that he took up arms on either side during- 
the Revohitionary war, yet, like many good men in the 
early part of 1775, his sympathies were with the king. 
On one occasion he was arrested as a suspect with Colonel 
Fletchall and others, and was released through the in- 
fluence of his brother Joseph. 

There are many extenuating circumstances why many 
of the early and best settlers of the up-country of South 
Carolina adhered to the cause of the king in the begin- 
ning of the Revolution, They lived in remote sections 
of the country where the British oppression complained 
of was barely known, where the circulation of current 
news and literature was unknown, and it was almost im- 
possible to obtain any reliable information. Many good 
men were led off from the path of patriotic duty under 
these circumstances, and especially under the overpow- 
ering influence of Colonel Fletchall, who held the com- 
mission of colonel under royal authority, and whose regi- 
mental district, at the outbreak of hostilities, covered all 
the country between the Broad and Saluda rivers. Fletch- 
all was all the time in constant communication with 
Governor Campbell and other loyalist leaders, and kept 
his people well informed on the existing troubles from 
his standpoint ; but as soon as the true inwardness of the 
situation was well understood, some of them became 
ardent supporters of the rVmerican cause, and it is to be 
hoped that Ben Wofford was one of these, and that the 
pledges he made while his brother Joe was importuning- 
for his release from custody were afterwards faithfully 
kept. 

The children of Captain Joseph Wofford, one of the 
five brothers already mentioned, and Martha Lewellyn, 
his wife, were Martha, Benjamin, Joseph, Jeremiah, 
Rebecca, and Nancy. Only three, Josesph, Nancy and 
Martha, died leaving children. Joseph, the elder, married 

15 h s c 



2 26 History of Spartanburg County. 

Jane Hiickabee. He chose early in life the avocation 
of a farmer, and lived and died near where his father had 
settled before the Revolntion, in the bend of Tyger River 
above Beard's Shoals. His educational advantages were 
limited. He was a very successful farmer, and raised a 
large family of children; was one of the pillars of the 
Methodist Tabernacle Church, near by, and whose mother 
was one of the principal founders. He was loved, hon- 
ored and respected by his neighbors, and one of the lead- 
ing citizens in that part of the country. He was a magis- 
trate, and for a long period one of the Commissioners of 
the Poor for Spartanburg District. His children were 
Harvey, Benjamin, John, Westley, Jerry, Joseph Lewel- 
lyn, Rebecca, Sallie, Nancy, Pattie, and Jane. 

Harvey Wofford, the eldest, married Nellie White, an 
estimable, good woman, and settled across the river from 
the old homestead, near Hebron Church. He was a plain, 
practical, hard-sense farmer. His term in school con- 
sisted of only' three months, yet by dint of perseverance 
around the pine-knot fire at night, studying and reading 
every chance moment he could get, at the age of twenty- 
one he had a fair English education, and was able to 
teach, which he did for a year or so, in a neigborhood 
school. He never sought preferment of any kind, being 
retiring in his disposition. The office of major in the 
militia was thrust upon him nolens volens^ and the office 
of magistrate was held by him nearly all the years of his 
mature life. He was especially noted for his official ca- 
pacity as a magistrate and surveyor, as well as in his 
private capacity, throughout the lower part of the 
county; as an "arbiter" his services in this respect 
were almost constantly in demand, and many a quarrel, 
feud, dispute or misunderstanding was amicably settled 
without appeal to the courts. No one doubted his word, 
and all had implicit confidence in his judgment as to what 



History of Spartanburg County. 227 

ought to be done in all matters of controversy or dis- 
pute. He was a steward in the Hebron M. E. Church 
for over forty years of his life. Also the active execu- 
tor of the estate of Rev. Benjamin Wofford, the founder 
■of the Wofford College, and a trustee of the same to the 
close of his life. Given to hospitality, the rich and poor 
alike were always welcome to his table. He was a well- 
rounded, modest citizen, but, more than all, was estima- 
ted in the community in which he lived for his strong 
Christian character, whose life was a benediction to all. 

His eldest son, Sergeant Wm. B. Wofford, was killed 
at the battle of Fredericksburg, Virginia, being shot 
down with the foremost men on top of Mayre's heights. 

Jerry Wofford, brother of Harvey, married Rachel 
Shands, a lovable good woman, and he, like his elder 
brother, lived the plain, practical life of a farmer, on the 
river Tyger near the old homestead, loved and respected 
by his neighbors and a large number of friends through- 
out the county. 

Rebecca married C. C. Layton, well known in the 
Cross Anchor section, and among her children were Dr. 
J. T. Layton, who died in the city of Spartanburg in 
1894. 

Sallie married John Lanford, of I^anford Station, 
I^aurens county, S. C. She was the mother of Captain 
Benj. W. Lanford, who at one period of the war was 
commander of Company G, 3d South Carolina Regiment 
Volunteers, and for one term sheriff of Laurens county. 

Nancy married Willis Layton of Walnut Grove. 
Among her children was the Hon. A. Baxter Layton, a 
member of the lower house of the South Carolina Legis- 
lature in 1896 and '97. Also, during the civil war, a 
lieutenant in Company K, 3d Regiment S. C. V. 

Pattie married Wm. Burnett, a well-known citizen in 
the county of Spartanburg. 



228 History of Spartanburg County, 

Jane married Isaac Epton of Cherokee Springs, a good 
citizen. 

The descendants of these families are very numerous 
in the county of Spartanburg. 

Martha, daughter of Captain Joseph Wofford, married 
Moses White, who, about the year 1839, moved to Mis- 
sissippi, whose descendants there are very numerous. 
Her son. Captain John W. White, born in Spartanburg 
District, a talented and prominent man, was killed while 
leading his company of Mississippians at the bloody 
battle of Chickamauga, in Georgia. 

Nancy, the only other daughter that died leaving chil- 
dren, married John Tucker, a young Revolutionary soldier 
from Maryland. Of them were born six children, all of 
whom went west except Samuel and Nancy. The latter 
married Emanuel Allen, an estimable and worthy citizen 
in the lower part of the county. They were the parents 
of Drs. Wade and Garland x\llen, both noble young men, 
who gave up their lives in the service of their beloved 
Southland. The former, Dr. Wade, was a brilliant young 
man, and an officer in Company D, 3d Regiment S. C. V., 
and heroically distinguished himself at the battle of 
Knoxville, Tenn., under Longstreet, where he fell. 

Samuel W. Tucker married a daughter of James How- 
ard, a soldier of the Revolution, named Laodicea, His 
education was limited, but being endowed with a strong, 
vigorous intellect, excellent judgment, strong determina- 
tion, and by a liberal use of the pine knots, became one 
of the most prominent citizens of the section of the coun- 
try in which he lived ; was devoted to his church (Meth- 
odist), and was honest and fair in all his dealings. His 
sons were Joseph W., John A., and F. Marion. 

Joseph Wofford Tucker, the eldest, was educated 
at Cokesbury, South Carolina ; studied law and began 
j^ractice in the town of Spartanburg, and was for sev- 



History of Spartanburg County. 



229 



eral years associated with Dr. Peter M. Wallace in the 
editorial management of the CaroliJia Spartan. He 
also, for several terms, represented the district of Spar- 
tanburg in the State Legislature, and was the first pres- 
ident of the Spartanburg Female College. He resigned 
this position and removed to St. Louis, Mo., where he 
resumed the practice of law; became a judge; was edi- 
tor of the Missouri State Journal^ and so pronounced an 
advocate of 
States' rights 
the paper was 
suppressed by 
Federal bayo- 
nets. 

During the 
civil war be- 
t w e e n the 
States he ac- 
companied the 
army of Gen- 
eral Sterling 
Price south- 
ward from St. 
Louis, and 
published reg- 
ularly a paper called "The Army Argus." He soon 
entered the special secret service of the Confederate 
States, in which he remained to the close of the war. 
A reward for his arrest was offered. He went to Ber- 
muda and remained for several years. When the am- 
nesty proclamation was proclaimed he returned to his 
native land and settled in Florida, and remained there 
to the close of his life. He was a lay delegate to the 
great Ecumenical Conference held in London. He was 
a man of varied and extensive information, a ripe 




Hox. J. WoFFORD Tuck 



230 



History of Spartanburg County. 



scholar, a gifted writer, a Christian gentleman, and a 
born leader among men. He married to Miss Emily 
Barry of Spartanburg District. 

John A. Tucker went to Georgia, practiced law and 
was elected to a judgeship. 

Francis Marion Tucker was a physician of ability, 
and at the breaking out of the war he raised a company 
of volunteers, composed of the best material the coun- 
try afforded, 
and fell at the 
second battle 
of Manassas 
while gallant- 
ly leading his 
men in charge, 
loved and 
mourned by 
his comrades. 
He married to 
Miss Addie 
Nesbitt on 
Enoree. 

The daugh- 
ters of Samuel 
Tucker were: 
Louisa D., who married James Madison Eanham ; 
Nancy, who married J. W. Durham; and Annie W., 
who married Capt. John McCravy. They all reared 
quite a number of children, and among them Hon. 
S. W. T. Lanham, now of Texas, who, while }'et a 
beardless boy, joined Company K, 3d Regiment 
S. C. v., under Longstreet in Tennessee, and distin- 
guished himself as a private on a number of battle- 
fields from then to the close of the war. After the 
war he married Miss Sallie Meng of Pacolet, S. C. , 




Captain 1'. M. Tlcki:r. 



History of Spartanburg County. 231 

moved to Texas in a two-horse wagon, taught school 
and read law, was admitted to the bar, elected solicitor 
of his circuit, and entered politics, and for seven terms 
he has represented one of the largest districts in the 
State in the Congress of the United States, and only a 
few 3'ears ago was a prominent candidate for governor, 
and missed the nomination by only a few votes. His 
many friends believe that he will yet preside over the 
destinies of one of the greatest States in the West, and 
occupy the Executive ]\Iansion. 

A younger brother. Dr. J. Marion Lanham, is one of 
the most popular citizens in the county of Spartanburg, 
and also one of its leading physicians, being yet com- 
paratively young, active and progressive in his profes- 
sion. 

Another also, is Samuel Tucker McCravy, Esq., one 
of the leading members of the bar at Spartanburg, and 
one of the progressive, influential members of the city 
council, and efficient secretary of the Wofford Me- 
morial Association, which meets annually at Tabernacle 
church. His great-grandfather was Archibald McCravy, 
a stalwart, sturdy, fearless soldier of the American Rev- 
olution. He was in Captain John Nelson's company in 
the Fourth Regiment in the line of the State of North 
Carolina, commanded by Colonel Polk, who, we have 
stated in another volume, figured prominently in the 
famous "snow campaign," in the winter of 1775. 

Those who can justly claim Captain Joseph Wofford 
and his wife Martha Lewellyn as their common ancestors, 
run into the thousands, and are intermingled with hun- 
dreds of families in Spartanburg county. 

From the Confederate rolls, which we publish in 
another place in this volume, showing the number — as 
we have been enabled to secure — of troops furnished by 
Spartanburg District to the armies of the Confederacy, 



232 



History of Spartanburg County. 



it will be seen that there were about thirty of the Wof- 
ford family that donned the gray, scattered among the 
forces on the seacoast, in Virginia, and in the West, not 
one of whom, so far as known, was not true to the flag 
of his country, and while only a few of them rose to 
higher positions, yet they all possessed and exhibited a 
high degree of bravery well worth the cause which they 
espoused. 

Besides those already mentioned reaching a degree of 

prominence in the Wof- 
ford family, including 
the Tucker branch of 
the same already men- 
tioned, are the late Dr. 
Benjamin Wofford of 
Spartanburg, Dr. Jo- 
seph Lewellyn Wofford 
at Cherokee Springs, 
Hon. John W. Wofford 
at Hendersonville, N. 
C, and Rev. Benjamin 
Wofford , founder of 
Dr. ^>H^7. Wofford. Wofford College. 




DR. BENJAMIN WOFFORD, 

a son of Joseph Wofford, born on Tyger River, attended 
the Methodist High School at Cokesbury, S. C, studied 
medicine under Dr. C. P. Woodruff at Woodruffs, S. C, and 
received his diploma from the medical college at Augusta, 
Ga. He married Miss Julia Woodruff, a lovely, indus- 
trious, frugal woman. He lived and practiced his chosen 
profession near the old homestead for twenty- three years. 
As a physician, he was as faithful in attendance upon 
the poor as he was to the wealthiest slave-owner in his 
large, extensive practice . After the death of his first wife 



History of Spartanburg County. 233 

he married Miss Corrie Farrow, who survives him. 
He was fond of children and they all loved him. He 
served as captain of a company of reserves during the 
latter part of the war, and did some service at Charleston, 
S. C. After the war he removed to the town of Spar- 
tanburg and for a few years engaged in merchandizing. 
He was then elected to the office of probate judge for 
two terms, one term as county auditor, and two terms 
as school commissioner. He was one of the executors 
of his uncle's estate (the Rev. Benjamin Wofford), and 
for quite a number of years was a trustee of the college 
his uncle had founded. Very few people had more good 
staunch friends in the " old iron district " than he had. 
He was the first president of the Wofford Memorial As- 
sociation. He was a total abstainer and a life-long 
advocate of temperance. In his private life, in his ex- 
tended official capacity, in his church relationship, many 
bear witness to his uprightness, and his sterling integ- 
rity of character. He outlived his two sons, Charles 
Pinkney Wofford and John Young Wofford. The former 
was a graduate of Vanderbilt University, Nashville, 
Tenn., and at his death was superintendent of the Cen- 
tral Methodist Sunday-school at Spartanburg, and was a 
young, rising, prominent lawyer at the Spartanburg bar. 
John T. Wofford attended the school at Ridgefield and 
some others in the Hebron neighborhood and prepared 
himself at Marietta, in Greenville county, to enter the 
West Point military school, having received the appoint- 
ment thereto from Hon. J. D. Ashmore, then member of 
Congress from his district. He remained there for nearly 
two years, when his native State passed the ordinance of 
secession. He then sent in his resignation. About this 
time some Northern cadet, in his presence, said some- 
thing unsavory about South Carolina and Cadet Wofford 
resented it and a very severe personal altercation fol- 



234 



History of Spartanburg County. 



lowed. On his return at the organization of Co. K, 3d 
S. C. Regt., S. C v., he was elected first lieutenant and 
served until the expiration of the first twelve months' 
term of enlistment. He then came home, assisted in 
organizing another company, was again elected a lieuten- 
ant in 13th S. C. Regt., and died at Jordan Springs, in 
Virginia. His superior officers speak highly of his effi- 
ciency and his calm, cool bravery in time of action. He 
was a studious, brilliant young man, and stood high in 

his class at the military 
academy at West Point. 

DR. JOS. L. WOFFORD. 

Joseph Lewellyn 
Wofford, whose picture 
we present herein, and 
whose familiar face is 
well known to the peo- 
ple of Spartanburg, is a 
son of Joseph Woft'ord, 
who married Jane 
Huckabee, as stated in a 
preceding page, and 
was born January 17th, 
1833, and received in the schools of his county a good 
education ; after which he read medicine and graduated 
at Augusta, Ga., in 1853. Returning to his native 
county he located in the practice of his profession at 
Cherokee Springs, at which place he still resides. 

When South Carolina called for volunteers at the be- 
ginning of the war between the States, he entered the 
service in Captain Joseph Walker's company (Spartan 
Rifles) , which was attached to the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., 
commanded b\' Colonel Micah Jenkins, and was for 
some time, at the beginning of hostilities, stationed on 
Sullivans Island, S. C. 




Dr. Jos. L. Wofford. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



235 



When the regiment enlisted regnlarly in the Confed- 
erate service, he returned home and raised a company 
which formed a part of the 13th Regt. , S. C. V., com- 
manded by Colonel Oliver E. Edwards, and went to Vir- 
ginia, where it performed gallant service on different 
battle-fields. Dr, Wofford rose by promotion and was 
commissioned as major of the 13th Regt., but was 
wounded in the battle at Fredericksburg, which inca- 
pacitated him from further service in the army. He 
represented his native 
county as a Democrat 
in the State legislature 
of 1871 and '72. He is 
still practicing his pro- 
fession at Cherokee 
Springs. 

HON. JOHN WESLEY 
WOFFORD. 

John W. Wofford, 
the third son of Harvey 
Wofford, was born at 
the old homestead in 
the Wofford settlement ; 

attended the common neighborhood schools, and at the 
breaking oiitof the war was attending school at Antioch, 
near Glenn's Spring, taught by Professor P. J. Oeland ; 
was preparing for college at the breaking out of the 
war between the States. He entered the service at the 
first call for troops and remained a private in Co. K, 3d 
Regt., S. C. v., until the battle of Gettysburg, soon 
thereafter receiving a commission as lieutenant in said 
company, and after the recovery from a wound received 
at the battle of Chickamauga he assumed the command 
of the company from that time to the close of the war. 




Hon. John W. Wofford. 



236 History of Spartanburg County. 

being in command of the infantry and rear-guard that 
brought up the rear from Bentonville, on one of the 
main roads of retreat from the last battle of the war. 

Soon after the war he married Miss Margaret Ann 
Nesbitt, daughter of Mr. Madison Nesbitt, and went to 
farming ; was his father's successor in the office of mag- 
istrate in the neighborhood ; was a delegate (straightout ) 
in the Democratic State Convention that nominated 
Wade Hampton for governor in 1876. Soon thereafter 
he was nominated and participated actively in the cam- 
paign which followed, and which led to the overthrow 
of carpetbag misrule in South Carolina ; was elected and 
became a member of the historic Wallace House ; was 
again elected to the lower house for two more years in 
1880 and '81, and to the State Senate for two years to 
fill the unexpired term of the Hon. Edwin H. Bobo, after 
which he retired from politics, but frequently being 
elected to represent the county in State conventions, 
and devoted his time thereafter to his farm and the 
building up and improvement of his county in agricul- 
tural matters. He was, while he held his residence in 
Spartanburg county, a member of the State Agricultural 
vSociety, and an officer in the State Grange, and for a 
number of years master of the county grange, and was 
the first known advocate in the county for terracing 
lands. 

He is progressive and practical in his ideas. Although 
a Methodist by profession and a useful member in his 
church, yet he is broad-minded and public-spirited in 
all his views. He takes a special interest in preserving 
the history of his ' country, the memory of his Revolu- 
tionary ancestry, and the memories of the heroes of the 
great civil war. He also takes a special interest in col- 
lecting and preserving the battle-flags of the Confederacy, 



History of Spartanburg County. 237 

and other interesting relics, in the relic-room at Spar- 
tanburg. 

REV. BENJAMIN WOFFORD. 

Within a few steps of the residence of Mr. Levi Allen, 
and only a short distance from Chapel (M. E.) Church, 
in the present county of Spartanburg, repose the mor- 
tal remains of Benjamin Wofford beside those of Anna 
Wofford, his wife. 

The memory of no man deserves to be more fondly 
cherished in the pages of history than that of Benjamin 
Wofford, the founder of the Wofford College at Spartan- 
burg — one of the foremost institutions of learning in the 
South, 

Benjamin Wofford was the first Methodist to give 
$100,000 to education, and whose gift, it is said, has 
never been duplicated by any one man in the Southern 
Methodist Church. 

Benjamin Wofford, son of Joseph Wofford, a soldier 
of the Revolution whose memory and patriotic service 
to his country we have already noticed, was born (1780) 
during the stormy period of the Revolution, near the 
south bank of Tyger River, within the limits of Spar- 
tanburg county. He commenced his life of usefulness 
with the beginning and growth of this great American 
Republic. He was born of pious parentage, who, 
doubtless, early impressed upon his mind the principles 
of honesty, integrity, frugality, and the truths of the 
Christian religion. He received only such advantages 
of education as could be afforded in his day and time, 
to which he added by close and constant research into 
the things which alwa}'s tend to adorn and elevate the 
human character. Being called to preach the gospel, he 
was a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church for 
nearly a half century. It is said that he possessed a 



238 History of Spartanburg County. 

strong and active mind, imbned with plain republican 
principles, and always stood firm in his ardor for the 
rights and honor of his native State. He lived, the 
larger portion of his life, at his old homestead place, 
near Chapel Church (the present residence of Mr. 
Allen) , where his remains were interred, as stated, but 
died in the town of Spartanburg, S. C, December, 1850. 
It is recorded of him that, first and last, thousands 
shared his generous hospitality. In his last will and 
testament it was found that he had made one of the most 
magnificent bequests ever made in South Carolina. This 
was for the purpose of establishing and endowing a col- 
lege for literary, classical and scientific education, to be 
located in his native District, Spartanburg, and to be 
under the control and management of the Conference of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church of South Carolina. In 
other words, it was found that, for the benefit of the 
young generations surviving him and for generations 
yet unborn, he had, in order to advance religion and 
science, bestowed the garnered fruits of a long and busy 
life. It has been asserted that one of the causes which 
led him to offer this princely gift to his church was 
largely due to the influence of a good, intelligent mother 
who died in 1826, with a well-read volume of Clarke's 
Commentary on her lap ; and it has also been stated that 
his excellent wife, Anna Todd, who died in 1835, sug- 
gested his impulse to do something for the further pro- 
motion of education. Certain it is this noble beqiiest 
will always prove a sufficient memorial of his affection 
and devotion to the church of which he was a faithful 
member and minister. 

The following is the inscription on his tombstone : 

' ' Entombed beneath are the mortal remains of the 
Rev. Benjamin Wofford, son of Joseph and Martha 
Wofford, who was born the 19th day of October, A. D. 



History of Spartanburg County. 239 

1780, and departed this life, in the full triumphs of the 
Christian faith, the 2d day of December, A.D. 1850, 
aged 70 years, i month and 13 days. 

"For 48 years he was a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church ; for 46 years a minister of the Gos- 
pel. He gave to the country and the church an institu- 
tion for the benefit of which countless thousands yet 
unborn may have reason to be thankful and reverence 
the donor's name. Peace to his ashes." 



CHAPTER XVII. 

THE HAMPTON FAMILY. 

The ancestor of the Hampton family in Sonth Caro- 
lina was Anthony Hampton, who, with his wife and 
daughter, his sons, Preston, Wade,* Edward, Henry and 
Richard, and his son-in-law, James Harrison, emigrated 
in the year 1774 from Virginia to the extreme western 
border of South Carolina, settling in the territory after- 
wards embraced in Spartanburg county. The place of 
his settlement was at what was afterwards known as the 
Asa Cunningham place, about one mile northeast of South 
Tyger River, f which is within a few hundred yards of the 
dividing line between the counties of Greenville and 
Spartanburg, but was at that time the dividing line be- 
tween the old district of Ninety-six and the Cherokee 
Indian Nation. 

While the lower and middle portions of the territory 
in South Carolina, acquired by the treaty of Governor 
Glen in 1756, were being generally settled up, the emi- 
grants from the colonies north were slow to venture to 
make settlement in the western portion of this valuable 
acquisition of territory which was obtained by treaty, as 



* In the account of the Hampton family in Howe's " Histon- of the 
Presbyterian Church of South Carolina" the name Wade Ilampton \s 
omitted, leaving the matter in doubt as to whether he emigrated with 
his father to South Carolina. This doubt is removed in reading the 
account of the Hampton Massacre, in Johnson's Traditions of South 
Carolina. (Seep. 443.) 

t For a more accurate description of the place where the Hampton's 
lived, were murdered and buried, .see Professor Morrison's letter, July 
27th, 1891, in "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upjaer South 
Carolina," p. 87. 

(240) 



History of Spartanburg County. 241 

stated. The reason being that it bordered along the 
frontier line of the Indian Nation, in close proximity to 
the Cherokee villages and at no great distance across said 
line. We notice that Anthony Hampton did not make 
his settlement nntil almost on the verge of the ontbreak 
of the Revolntion. 

Of the early history of Anthony Hampton we can 
gather bnt little. He was a man, unquestionably, of 
the highest respectability, and the tradition of the neigh- 
borhood is that he was a flax-breaker by trade, and well 
up to his business in that line. Major William Hoy, in 
his writings states that he itinerated amongst the Irish 
people and dressed their flax, and that they regarded 
him as one of their most useful citizens. His importance 
and usefulness in this line can be better appreciated 
when it is remembered that at that time cotton was not 
produced in the country, and, with the exception of the 
imported flax spinning-wheel, machinery only of the 
rudest construction was used for the manufacture of flax 
from which the necessary clothing was made. 

It may be truly said of Anthony Hampton that he 
was one of the entering wedges, as it were, of the open- 
ing up of a civilization along the borders of Western 
Carolina. He, with his sons and son-in-law, in their 
manhood, and a few others of like patriotic spirit, with 
the determination to confront the Indian tomahawk and 
scalping-knife, and to brave all the dangers which sur- 
rounded them, settled upon the border line where, here- 
tofore, others had not dared to venture settlement. Liv- 
ing as they did, on the very outskirts of civilization in 
South Carolina, they fully realized the dangers to which 
they were all the time exposed, and as a means of pro- 
tection to their families and defence against unexpected 
outbreaks by the Indians, Wood's Fort on Beaverdam 

16 h sc 



242 History of Spartanburg County. 

Creek, in the immediate neighborhood of Anthony 
Hampton, was built. 

The near approach of hostilities between the colonies 
and the mother conntry admonished these pioneer set- 
tlers of the increased dangers to which they were about 
to be exposed. They believed that whenever war was 
openly declared the Indian, under tempting bribes, would 
in all probability side with Great Britain, in which 
event they would be exposed to impending danger. An 
effort was made to enlist them on the side of the patriots, 
or else make such terms with them as would cause them 
to remain neutral in their attitude toward their neigh- 
boring white settlers. 

To effect this object, Edward and Preston,* sons of 
Anthony Hampton, were sent by the people of the fron- 
tier settlem ents who resided within the present limits of 
Spartanburg county, to invite the nation to " a talk " at 
any convenient town they might propose, and to see if 
they could not be made to comprehend the cause of dif- 
ferences growing between the colonies and the mother 
country. 

Edward and Preston Hampton, upon their arrival in 
the Indian country, found Cameron, deputy superin- 
tendent among the Cherokees under royal authority, and 
other emissaries already at work among them. Cameron 
made prisoners of the Hamptons, and gave their horses, 
guns and a case of pistols and holsters to the Indians. 
By some means they managed to escape with their lives, 
and returning home they reported to the people of the 
settlements the result of their mission. The people 
grew alarmed for their safety, and sought protection in 



* Howe's Ilistor}' states Edward and Preston, but in Johnson's 
" Traditions and Reminiscences," p. 443, it is stated that it was 
Edward, Richard and Henry that were sent on the mission to the 
'Cherokees. 



History of Spartanburg County. 243 

the old forts that were already constructed, and in others, 
perhaps, that were being hurriedly constructed. Through 
the machinations of the British emissaries, the Indians 
commenced their marauding expeditions in 1776 in west- 
ern North Carolina and along the frontier settlements of 
South Carolina. In another volume* we have oriven an 
extended account of these Indian invasions and massa- 
cres, hence we cannot again, in this brief narrative, re- 
count them. 

After the murder of the Hite family on Enoree River 
(see Johnson's Traditions, p. 45S), the Indians visited the 
home of Anthony Hampton, in the month of July, 1776, 
the location of which has already been described. As they 
approached the house they recognized the face of Pres- 
ton Hampton, whom, as we have already stated, had re- 
cently, with his brother Edward, returned from the Indian 
towns and had given warning of the intended rising of the 
Indians. Some of the children of Mr. Hampton were sent 
to give warning to their neighbors. Mr. and Mrs Har- 
rison were at the time absent for a short distance. Old 
Mr. Hampton, it is said, met the Indians cordially. He 
gave the chief a friendly grasp of the hand, but had not 
more than done this, when he saw his son Preston fall 
from the fire of a gun. The same hand which he him- 
self had grasped a moment before sent a tomahawk 
through his skull. In the same way his wife was killed. 
An infant son of Mr. and Mrs. Harrison was dashed 
against the wall of the house, which was spattered with 
its blood and brains. The Indians then set fire to the 
house of Mr. Hampton. Mrs. Harrison, on coming up 
and seeing her father's house in flames, t came very near 



* See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 84 to 89. 

t The particulars of the murders in the Hampton family and the 
burning of Mr. Hampton's house were obtained principally from 



244 History of Spartanburg County.. 

rushing in the midst of the savages ; her husband, antici- 
pating what the trouble was, held her back until the 
savages were gone. Edward Hampton was at this time 
at the house of Baylis Earle, his father-in-law, on North 
Pacolet, and Henry and Wade, the other sons of Mr. 
Hampton, were also absent, and thus preserved to avenge 
this atrocious deed. 

Of the members who escaped this terrible massacre in 
the Hampton family, we would specially refer to Henry, 
Richard, Edward and Wade, the surviving sons of An- 
thony Hampton. 

On account of the Indian depredations occurring at 
different points along the borders of the outer settle- 
ments, it became necessary for the constituted authori- 
ties to take active and decisive steps to protect the peo- 
ple, and it was not long after the massacre in the Hamp- 
ton family before General Williamson's expedition, which 
consisted of about twelve hundred men, was marched 
against the Cherokees. In this famous expedition, Cap- 
tain Henry Hampton commanded a company, and be- 
haved nobly in Williamson's second engagement with 
the Cherokees. He ordered his company to fire by 
platoons and then fall on the ground and reload, while 
the rest advanced in their smoke. He thus led them to 
the charge, advancing in the smoke, and then firing, 
and reloading on their backs. When he came near 
enough he ordered his command to charge with the fixed 
bayonet, and the Indians fled. He himself captured an 
Indian wearing the coat of his brother Preston, who had 

Howe's History of the Presbyterian Church of South Carolina. From the 
Revolutionary sketch of Samuel Smith (see Spartan, June 28, 1S99), 
there seems to be some doubt aboiat the Hampton house being burned. 
In said sketch Mr. Smith states that he has seen the house where the 
Hamptons lived, and the bullet holes shot by the Indians when Pres- 
ton Hampton was killed. 



History of Spartanburg County. 245 

no doubt been murdered by this man when they de- 
stroyed his father's family.* 

Edward Hampton was also engaged in the battle re- 
ferred to with the Cherokee Indians, and when the latter 
were closely pursued, they began first to kill their own 
prisoners and then their own aged and wounded friends. 
Following close on the Indian trail, Edward Hampton 
came close to the bod}- of a white woman, recently mur- 
dered by them and left shockingly exposed. He alighted, 
in the hurry of the moment, covered the body with his 
own shirt (the only one he had), drew it under a bush, 
and resnmed the pursuit. 

Of the career of Edward Hampton we only get faint 
glimpses here and there in the pages of history. In 
that trying period in South Carolina during the Revolu- 
tion we find that he was true and devoted to the Ameri- 
can cause. At the battle of Earle's Ford,t which oc- 
curred on the 15th of July, 1780, he acted a conspicu- 
ous part, and among the slain at this engagement was 
his son Noah, whose remains were interred in an old 
burial ground near by which can still be pointed out. 

Noah Hampton was killed alongside of a companion 
whose name was Andrew Dunn. Young Hampton, 
when aroused from his sleep, was asked his name. He 
replied " Hampton." The very name enraged the Tories, 
who cursed him for a rebel and ran a bayonet through 
him. Young Dunn met with the same fate.f 

The officers in charge of this expedition against the 

*See " Traditions and Reminiscences of the American Revolution," 
P- 443- 

t For an account of the battle of Earle's Ford, see "Colonial and 
Revolutionary History of Upper South Carolina," pp. 11S-123. 

jThe particulars of the killing of young Hampton and Dunn were 
furnished by MS. communications to Hon. Lyman C. Draper, author of 
" Kings IMovintain and her Heroes," by Adam and James J. Hampton, 
grandsons of Colonel Hdward Hampton. 



246 History of Spartanburg County. 

Whig forces on North Pacolet, were Major Dunlap, with 
seventy dragoons, and Colonel Ambrose Mills, with a 
party of loyalists. They had been detached by Colonel 
Innes, in command of the British and loyalists stationed 
at Fort Prince (on the waters of North Tyger, about 
eighteen miles from Earles Ford) to surprise and attack 
what was believed to be a small force under Colonel 
Jones of Georgia, who had been making some bold dashes 
against his enemy at Gowen's Fort and other places. 
On reaching Earles Ford, on the west side in night time, 
Dunlap supposed he was only confronted by Jones's 
command, on the opposite side of the stream, being un- 
apprised of the arrival of Colonel McDowell's command. 
He therefore decided to attack it ; but discovering his 
mistake as to the numbers in front of him, he made a 
hasty retreat across the river, where, with his command, 
he remained for the balance of the night. 

Says Draper : " Before sunrise the ensuing morning, 
fifty-two of the most active men . . . mounted on 
the best horses in camp were ordered to pursue the re- 
treating enemy." This command was placed under Col- 
onel Edward Hampton. Had the forces of the enemy 
retreated immediately it would have been impossible for 
Colonel Hampton's command to have overtaken them 
before reaching Innes's camp'at Fort Prince. The ac- 
count of Draper says that Colonel Hampton, "after a 
rapid pursuit of two hours, overtook the enemy fifteen 
miles away ; and making a sudden and unexpected attack 
completely routed them, killing eight of them at the first 
fire. This attack, according to the traditions which the 
writer gathered years ago, w^as on what is known as 
the old Blackstock road, near Shiloh church and about 
one and one-half miles south of the town of Inman. 
The fight with the enemy continued along this road until 



History of Spartanburg County. 247 

Fort Prince was reached, and several men fell at different 
places along the road. 

The pursuit of Colonel Hampton's forces was con- 
tinued to a point within three hundred yards of the fort, 
where three hundred men were posted. Hampton did 
not pursue them any further as his forces were too weak 
to attack his enemy within the confines of Fort Prince ; 
but his bold dash sent consternation into their ranks. 
They were evidently struck with the same terror that 
Dunlap's forces were, who had been stampeded by 
Hampton's men five miles away. 

Dunlap doubtless thought that IMcDowell's whole com- 
mand was upon him, and beat a hasty retreat from Fort 
Prince, leaving his dead along the roadside unburied. 
The following is the entry in the diary of Allare, an 
English officer, for Sunday the i6th of August : "Dunlap 
with the men under his command marched down to 
Stephen White's plantation where the American volun- 
teers and militia lay." 

It will thus be seen that this daring expedition of Col- 
onel Edward Hampton drove back for a time the British 
and Tory forces to the happy relief of the Whigs of the 
surrounding country, and by 2 o'clock in the same after- 
noon Colonel Hampton, with a heart burdened with 
grief, in the death of a brave and devoted son the night 
previous, had returned to McDowell's camp with thirty- 
five good horses, dragoon equipage, and a considerable 
portion of the enemy's baggage as trophies of the vic- 
tory, and all this, too, without the loss of a single man. 
Draper says that this was a "bold and successful venture, 
worthy of the heroic leader and his intrepid followers." 

But Edward Hampton, in the sad decrees of fate, was 

topermitted to enjoy the precious Liberty which, for 
five years, he had fought for under the most trying cir- 
cumstances, enduring hardships and self-sacrifices to ac- 



248 History of Spartanburg County. 

complish, and which was now about to be realized. Even 
after the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown, when the 
people were rejoicing that the struggle for American 
freedom was at an end, the unexpected raid of " Bloody 
Bill " Cunningham occurred in the up-country of South 
Carolina,* and one of the victims of his rage was Colo- 
nel Edward Hampton 

Colonel Hampton had been to the settlement on the 
Congaree where his family connections lived. He was 
returning to the house of his father-in-law, Baylis Earle, 
on the North Pacolet. The Tories, perchance, got wind 
of his passing near them and pursued him. Colonel 
Hampton, after having traveled all night, stopped at a 
house for breakfast. \"ery soon after he entered the 
building it was surrounded by the Tories. He snatched 
his pistols from the table, thinking to defend himself, 
but it was no use. He fired his pistols in the air. The 
Tories shot him down.f 

A truer patriot than Edward Hampton never lived. 
Like many of the heroes that perished in the Revolu- 
tion, he sleeps in a forgotten grave, but his memory still 
lives and will ever remain imperishable in the annals of 
our country's history. 

Colonels Henry, Richard and Wade acted with con- 
spicuous gallantry to the end of the Revolution. The 
record of their gallant deeds may be found in different 
places in the pages of history, but more especially in 
that part which relates to the closing scenes of Greene's 
operations in South Carolina and of Sumter's move- 

* For an extended account of the raids of the " Blood}- Bills " Cun- 
ningham and Bates see " Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper 
bouth Carolina," pp. 341 to 364. 

fin the Revolutionary sketch of Samuel Smith, published in 
Spartan, June 28, '99, it is stated that Edward Hampton was killed 
by the Tories at the house of John Blassingame, who lived on Middle 
Tvger. 



History of Spartanburg County. 249 

inents also, the particulars of which the reader is re- 
ferred to Johnson's " Life of Greene." (See Vol. II., 
pages 133 to 177.) 

Wade Hampton, one of the brothers referred to, was 
the father of Colonel Wade Hampton, his only surviv- 
ing son, and grandfather of the present Lieutenant-Gen- 
eral Wade Hampton of the Confederate army, than 
whom there is no living Carolinian more loved and re- 
spected for his lofty patriotism and distinguished ser- 
vices to his country both in time of peace and war. The 
name of Wade Hampton has been distinguished for 
three generations for patriotic services, talents, influence 
and wealth in South Carolina. The elder Wade Hamp- 
ton held only the commission of colonel during the 
Revolution. He was a dashing cavalry officer and dis- 
tinguished himself in several engagements with the 
enemy. 

While Greene was retreating before the British army 
in North Carolina, after Morgan's victory at Cowpens 
(January 17, 1781), great efforts were made to excite the 
militia in the enemy's rear, in order to alarm Cornwallis 
for the safety of his posts, which he had left behind him. 
General Sumter, although far from being recovered from 
his wound received at the battle of Blackstocks (Novem- 
ber 20, 1780), resolved to take the field. At that time 
many of his officers and bravest men were in capti\'ity 
after the unfortunate affair at Fishing Creek, and some 
of the former, having been paroled, were scattered over 
the country on their plantations. Of these Colonel Wade 
Hampton was one. A confidential emissary was sent by 
General Sumter into the country through which he in- 
tended very soon to march his command, to prepare the 
Whigs for his reception, and to collect whatever intelli- 
gence necessary to direct his movements. Some treach- 
ery, however, betrayed this intended movement to the 



250 History of Spartanburg County. 

enemy, and apprehensive of trusting Sumter's officers 
at large, an order was issued for seizing them and con- 
veying them to Charleston. Of these Colonel Wade 
Hampton was one. A party of twelve men were trans- 
porting him to a prison ship, but did not confine his 
hands or feet. When the party stopped at a house for 
refreshments, he was made to stand in one corner of a 
room ; the firearms were leaned in the opposite corner, 
diagonally, and the guard sat down between them, in 
the middle of the room. Hampton shuffled a little from 
his corner, sometimes to the right and then to the left. 
At last, by one of those extraordinary efforts, which 
characterized the actions of men of that day, he made 
a spring, seized the arms, and made the guard his pris- 
oners. He then paroled them, secured the captured 
arms, mounted himself and made good his escape.* 

Colonel Wade Hampton, now finding himself released 
from his parole, soon made his way good to join Sumter at 
the head of a little band of gallant followers. Sumter, 
having recruited his command, made expeditions against 
Forts Granby and Watson, and gaining a stock of intel- 
ligence as to the positions and strength of the enemy,, 
he immediately transmitted the same to General Greene 
by Colonel Wade Hampton. 

In Johnson's "Life of Greene," Vol. H., page 52, we 
find the following paragraph : 

"The day after the battle of Guilford, Colonel Hamp- 
ton arrived in the American camp, and the view presented 
of the state of the British posts, by one whose intelli- 
gence could be so thoroughly depended upon, afforded 
General Greene the best grounds on which to decide 
upon his future measures. The project of penetrating 
into the countrv was revived, and in order to give it 



* See Johnson's " Life of Greene," Vol. II., p. 31, and also John- 
son's "Traditions," p. 444, for accounts of the escape of Colonel Wade 
Hampton. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 251 

unerring effect, a letter was addressed to Gov. Jefferson 
to order a detachment of 1,500 men to advance to Salis- 
bury as a support to the army in its intended movement 
to Camden." 

Soon after this the armies of Generals Greene and 
Cornwallis were back to back, and the successes or re- 
verses which attended each are well known to every 
reader of the history of the American Revolution. 

After the close of the Revolutionary war Colonel Wade 
Hampton represented one of the districts in South Caro- 
lina in the National Congress as soon as the Federal 
Government was organized. But he soon abandoned 
political life and devoted his great energies and talents 
to planting. 

He made large investments in Louisiana soon after 
the purchase of that territory by the United States from 
the French Government, which increased in value and 
made him a princely estate. 

In the war of 1812 Colonel Wade Hampton, by reason 
of his distinguished services in the Revolution, was ap- 
pointed a major-general in the United States army and 
commanded on the frontiers of Canada. He was in 
every sense a very remarkable man and lived to a great 
old age. Having been among the first to espouse the 
patriot cause in the territory afterwards embraced in the 
original county of Spartanburg, it should ever be the 
pleasure and pride of the people of said county to pre- 
serve and perpetuate his memory in the annals of her 
history. 

Colonel Wade Hampton, only surviving son of Gen- 
eral Wade Hampton the elder, and father of the present 
General Wade Hampton, was, like his father, a man of 
distinguished ability. He was a volunteer aid of Gen- 
eral Andrew Jackson in the celebrated battle of New 
Orleans, which ended so gloriously to the American 



•252 



History of Spartanburg County. 



arms. He was for a number of years State senator from 
the county of Richland. 

James Harrison, Esq., who married the daughter of 
Anthony Hampton and sister of General Wade Hamp- 
ton of Revolutionary fame, and who with his wdfe so 
narrowly escaped the massacre in the Hampton family 
referred to, settled in Greenville District after the close 
of the Revolution. From him descended a highly re- 
spectable posterity. He had seven sons, one of whom 
was John Hampton Harrison, who represented Green- 
ville for several years in the State Legislature. One of 
his daughters married Samuel Earle. (See Sketch of 
Earle Family.) 

Governor Perry, in his writings, states that there were 
several other sons of Anthony Hampton who survived 
the Revolution and lived in the middle part of South 
Carolina, but none of them accumulated fortunes. In 
our account of the Hampton massacre, just related, it 
is stated that some of the children of Mr. Hampton 
were sent to give warning to their neighbors. These 
having escaped the massacre were doubtless the same 
referred to by Governor Perry. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 

THE ANDERSON FAMILY. 

William Anderson was a Scotch-Irishman, who settled', 
in Pennsylvania, and had a mill on Connechocheange 
Creek. He emigrated from there to the Waxhaws, S. C. , 
and thence to Charleston, S. C, and thence to Spartan- 
bnrg county, S. C, settling on the Tygersin 1763. His 
daughter, Sarah Anderson, remained in Charleston, and 
subsequently became the matron of the Orphan House, 
and on the occasion of the visit of General Washington 
to that city, entertained him at her table as her guest. 
She married Wm. Breaken, and had one son, William, 
In her old age and infirmity, she became an inmate of 
the home of her nephew "Tyger Jim " Anderson, and 
as long as she lived, she always looked back with pride,, 
when it was her pleasure to entertain General Washing- 
ton. After the surrender of General Lincoln in Charles- 
ton, May, 1780, the British took possession of her house. 

William Anderson was a staunch Whig and patriot dur- 
ing the Revolution, and as such incurred the displeasure 
of the Tories. He was a very old man at the time, and 
unable to participate in active warfare. Soon after the- 
close of the Revolution, he was murdered (1783) by a 
band of Tories, painted and disguised as Indians. They 
took him out of the house, and split his head with a 
tomahaw^k and scalped him. He was living at the time 
with his son David Anderson, whose house they burnt, 
and whose wife made her escape to the house of ]\Ir. 
Crawford five or six miles distant, with nothing on but 
her night-clothes, wading two Tygers, South and Middle,. 

(253)- 



254 History of Spartanburg County. 

after binding up the wounds of James Silliman, a lad of 
about thirteen years of age, whom they had in their em- 
ploy, who had been scalped and stabbed in two or three 
places, and had been thrown upon a brush-heap. He re- 
covered and lived to a good old age. 

William Anderson was buried in the Snoddy bottoms 
wrapped in a cow's hide. His remains were afterwards 
removed to a burial ground near James Chamblin's, 
by " Tyger Jim " Anderson, who put neat tombstones to 
his memory and that of his wife. 

The wife of Wm. Anderson was a Miss Denny, and 
by this marriage he had five children, three sons and 
two daughters : i. David, the ancestor of the Tyger 
River Anderson families ; 2. John, the ancestor of the 
Anderson families in York county, S. C. ; 3. Denny, the 
ancestor of the Anderson families on Enoree River ; 4. 
Sallie, who married a Breaken, and, 5, Rebecca, who 
never married. 

Major David Anderson, the eldest son of William 
Anderson, was born August 25th, 1741. He owned 
nearly all the lands around where Major F. L. Anderson 
now lives, and his remains were interred in the family 
graveyard on the Monday Chamblin place. He re- 
ceived a liberal English education, probably in Pennsyl- 
vania, before the removal of his father to South Caro- 
lina. He married Miriam (Maria) Mason, an English 
lady in the city of Charleston, in the year 1772. Her 
father, Major Mason,* emigrated to the Province of 
Carolina a few years before the marriage of his daugh- 
ter, and settled near the Island Ford on Saluda River, 
in the present county of Edgefield. 



*In Drayton's Memoirs, the name of Major Mason is spelled Mayson. 
For an account of the gallant part he performed in the Siege of Wil- 
liamson's fort at Ninety-six, see "Colonial and Revolutionary History 
■of Upper South Carolina," pp. 57 to 68. 



History of Spartanburg County. 255 

INIajor Anderson was engaged for some years before 
the Revolution surveying public lands for the Colonial 
government. When the war commenced, fearing lest 
his house might be burned by the Tories or Indians, he 
prepared a nice buckskin sack and sewed up his plats, sur- 
veys and claims against the government, and suspended 
them in the hollow of a tree in the woods, where he 
thought they would be secure. iVt the close of the war 
he went to hunt for his buckskin, when to his great sur- 
prise and mortification, he found skin and papers cut 
and torn into innumerable fragments lying at the foot of 
the tree, having been devoured by the flying squirrels. 
Thus w^as the labor of years lost. The government 
afterwards offered him thirty or forty negroes to reim- 
burse him for his services, which he refused to accept. 
He preferred the gold eagles — which he never received. 

Before the war he held a commission from the King 
of England as magistrate. Espousing the Whig cause 
he acted a conspicuous part during the Revolution, par- 
ticipating in the siege of Ninety-six, the battle of Eutaw 
Spring, and other engagements. In another volume, we 
have mentioned him in connection with the battle of the 
Cane-brakes, and also as a member of Captain John 
Barry's company, which marched in pursuit of "Bloody 
Bill" Cunningham after his murderous raid to the up- 
country of South Carolina, November, 1781, an ac- 
count of which we have noticed in another volume.* 

By the marriage between Major David and ]\Iiriam 
(Mason) Anderson the following children were born, viz.: 

I. William Anderson, who married Patsey Greer, who 
resided near Greers, S. C. He first settled on Tyger 
River, but afterwards removed to Stone INIountain, Ga. 
His children were (i) David and (2) Robert Anderson of 

*See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," pp. loi and 357. 



256 History of Spartanburg County. 

Cherokee county, Ga., each marrying and having families, 
there ; (3) Samuel Anderson, who was in the Florida war,, 
died near Stone Alountin, Ga., leaving a family; (4) Mary,, 
who married, to whom unknown, leaving two children,, 
a son and daughter ; (5) Maria, who married Isaac Wood- 
ruff, leaving a family ;t (6) Sallie, who never married ; 
(7) Katy, who married an Elam, and (8) Henrietta, who- 
married a Hambrick, both of the two latter leaving 
families, 

James Mason Anderson, known as "Tyger Jim," who- 
married Polly Miller, daughter of Michael Miller, and 
who will receive further notice in this narrative. 

3. Sallie, who married Samuel Jamison, and who, 
having no children, in her will left $1,000 as a donation; 
to Nazareth Church. 

4. Henrietta, who married James Chamblin, called 
"Monday" Chamblin, and lived one mile east of 
"Tyger Jim" Anderson, on the road to Spartanburg. 
His descendants will be noticed in another place. 

James M. (Tyger Jim) and Polly (jMiller) Anderson, 
had the following children, viz. : 

I. Captain David Anderson, who married Harriet 
Brockman, daughter of Colonel Thomas P. Brockman, of 
Greenville District, S. C. ; 2. Henrietta, who married 
Rev. Wm. Harris, a Presbyterian minister in Abbeville 
District, S. C. ; 3. Dr. John Crawford Anderson, a grad- 
uate of Jefferson College, Philadelphia, Pa.., who married 
first a Miss Ale Alpine, of Greene county, Ala., and a second 
time to a Miss McLemore, of the same State. By the 
first marriage referred to is a son, John C. Anderson, at 
present the youngest judge on the bench in Alabama, 
and several daughters. By the second marriage two 
daughters were born, one of whom is the present wife of 

fOne son by this marriage was WrrL Harrison Woodruff. (See 
sketch.) 



History of Spartanburg County. 257 

Charles A. Moore, of Pacolet, S. C, she being his only 
descendant in Spartanburg county. Dr. Anderson, after 
his graduation in Philadelphia, was tendered a position 
in the hospital there. He died in Eutaw, Ala. 

4. Wm. Washington Anderson (son of " Tyger Jim ") 
married Jane Cauble, of Greenville, S. C, and died at 
Bellbuckle, Tenn. 

5. Henry Miller Anderson, who never married, grad- 
uated in Franklin College, Athens, Ga. (now the State 
University) , and died three months after graduation. 

6. Michael Miller Anderson married Margaret Cress- 
well of Anderson county, S. C, and moved to Georgia, 
near Adairsville, where he lived the remainder of his life 
and raised a highly respectable family. 

7. James Alexander Anderson married Rebecca McLe- 
more, of Greene county, Ala., half-sister of the wife of 
his brother. Dr. John C. Anderson. He died, leaving 
two daughters. 

8. Major Franklin Leland Anderson, another son of 
"Tyger Jim," will receive further notice in this article. 

9. Mason Gilliland Anderson married Sarah Gillam, of 
Abbeville county, daughter of Genera.1 James Gillam, 
who was a first cousin of John C. Calhoun, his mother 
being a Caldwell, sister of Calhoun's mother. He had 
four children, three daughters and a son. One daugh- 
ter is the present wife of Maior John A. Lee, at Spar- 
tanburg. 

Mason G. Anderson was a graduate of the South Car- 
olina College of the class of '54. He read law with 
Tucker & Farrow at Spartanburg and after being ad- 
mitted to the bar, his father offered him advantages to 
quit the profession and go to farming, which he did. 
He removed first to Mississippi, thence to Florida, w^here 
he died. 

10. Nancy M. Anderson, third child of "Tyger Jim," 

17 h s c 



258 History of Spartanburg County. 

married Thomas Cunningham, of Anderson, S. C, leav- 
ing two children, viz. : John, now living in INIississippi, 
and Nancy, who died in infancy. 

The children of Captain David and Harriet (Brock- 
man) Anderson are as follows : 

1. General John C. Anderson, who married Emma 
Buist, daughter of Rev. E. T. Buist, D.D., of Greenville 
S. C, and died in 1892 or '93. General Anderson was a 
rnan of more than ordinary intelligence and force of 
character. He was a graduate of the South Carolina 
Military Academy, served for a time during the war as 
adjutant of the 13th South Carolina Regiment, and after 
the war was promoted to a brigadier-generalship in 
the State troops. He was elected to the legislature of 
South Carolina from his native county in 1878, and 
served two years. In 1884 or '85, he was appointed by 
President Cleveland postmaster at Spartanburg, which 
position he held for five years. He then removed ta 
his home, near Moore, S. C, where he lived the remain- 
der of his days, devoting his attention to his farm, or- 
chard and vineyard, in all of which he was successful. 
He was cut down in the prime of his life. He was in. 
every sense of the word a patriotic, progressive and pub- 
lic-spirited citizen. His widow and several children 
survive him. 

2. Mary E., wife of Col. Thos. J. Moore (see sketch 
Moore family). 

3. Henrietta A., wife of C. Eber Smith, of Glenn's 
Spring. They have eight children. 

4. Jas. H. Anderson, married Sallie Watson, of York 
county S. C. — eight children. 

5. Thos, B. Anderson, married Ella Trippe, of Amer- 
icus, Ga. — five children. 

6. Hattie M., married Geo. B. Anderson, of Enoree ; 
lives at Rock Hill, S. C. — seven children. 



History of Spartanburg County. 259 

7. Emma P., married Dr. John C. Oeland, of Spar- 
tanburg — died, leaving one daughter, Margaret. 

James Mason Anderson, " Tyger Jim," whose descend- 
ants we have already noticed, was a prominent citizen and 
a successful farmer and business man in his day. He 
was a man of fine judgment, indomitable perseverance 
and originality in nature. He was as much a wagoner 
as a farmer and accumulated a fine estate of lands and 
other property on Ben's Creek and South Tyger. During 
the war of 181 2 he drove his wagon to Baltimore, Md., 
and stopped the same on the public square in Washing- 
ton, and walked into the capitol where he recognized 
an old friend, Elchendor, then a member of Congress 
from Ohio. 

We have already stated that at the time of the murder 
of William Anderson (1783) , the house of his son Maj. 
David Anderson was burnt. The latter improvised a 
wagon shed to live in until he could erect another dwel- 
ling. It was under this wagon shed that "Tyger Jim" 

was born 1784- The shed blew down the night 

he was moved to the new house. 

John Anderson, son of William Anderson, the 
original settler and brother of Major David and Denny 
Anderson, removed to York county, S. C. He had five 
children, viz. : William, who never married ; John, who 
married a lady unknown to writer ; Sallie, who was mar- 
ried to a Starr ; Elizabeth, who married a Steele, and 
one daughter who never married. 

John Anderson, his son, had two children, viz. : i. Rev. 
J. Monroe Anderson, professor in Davidson College, and, 
2, Mary. The former married a Miss Neil, and had chil- 
dren as follows: Rev. Neil Anderson, Montgomery, Ala.; 
Lois, Barnwell, in California; Mary, unmarried; Sue, 
married Rev. Paul Winn ; and Lizzie, married Major 
John A. Lee, of Spartanburg (second wife). 2. The 



26o History of Spartanburg County. 

daughter (Mary) married Dr. David Watson, of York 
county. They had five children, viz.: Sallie, who mar- 
ried Jas. H. Anderson, of Spartanburg- county (before 
noticed), and David Watson, married and living in Cali- 
fornia, no children ; Dr. John A. Watson, Asheville, 
N. C. ; Emma, married Thos, Neill, now in Texas; and 
Lizzie, who died unmarried. 

Denny Anderson, third son of the original Wil- 
liam Anderson, settled on Enoree River. He was a 
Revolutionary soldier, married and had children as fol- 
lows : 

1. John Anderson, Esq., whomarried Nancy Alexander 
of Fairview, Greenville county, S. C. He was a sur- 
veyor and magistrate, and one of the prominent men of 
his day, and was an elder in the Antioch Presbyterian 
church. 

2. Denny Anderson, who married a Miss McCravy, 
located on Ben's Creek and left a numerous and highly 
respectable family in the vicinity of Reidville, S. C. 
Among his daughters, was the wife of Thos. P. Gaston, 
Esq.; wife of Andrew Collins, still living, and wife of 
James Darby. 

3. Elbert Anderson, who married a Miss Bryson of 
Laurens county. Among the children by said marriage 
is Rev. Elbert Anderson, a minister in the Associate 
Reformed Presbyterian church, his present charge being 
in Rockbridge county, \'a. 

4. Rebecca, who married Hiram Bennett. 

5. Betsey, who married Wm. Leonard of Reidville, 
S. C. 

6. Elizabeth, who married Thomas Leonard, a prom- 
inent member of the Methodist church. William and 
Thomas Leonard and Hiram Bennett raised highly 
respectable families. 

7. Henry Anderson, who married and died early. 



History of Spartanburg County. 261 

8. Samuel A., who married a Miss Nesbitt of Fair- 
view, S. C. 

9. James Anderson (Enoree Jim), who married first 
Peggy Dorah, and second, Jane Mills. He was a success- 
ful farmer, a progressive and highly respected citizen, 
and had children as follows, viz. , all by the first wife : 

1. John Anderson, married a daughter of Congress- 
man A. S. Wallace, removed to Texas, and raised a 
highly respectable family, 

2. Samuel Anderson, who contracted consumption 
before the close of the civil war and died. 

3. Dr. David R. Anderson of Greenville county, S. C, 
a prominent physician and highly respected citizen. He 
is an exemplary member and elder of Fairview (Presby- 
terian) church. Two of his sons-in-law, W. H. Burwell 
and Thomas B. Craig, are prominent ministers of the 
Gospel in the Presbyterian church. Another son-in-law, 
Selden Kenedy, is also a prominent and useful member 
of the Associate Reformed Church. His only son, James 
Anderson, married Lucy Wilson, a sister of Rev. B. F. 
Wilson of Converse College. 

4. Professor James Anderson, graduate of South Caro- 
lina College, i860 ; has been president of several female 
colleges — first at Laurens, S. C, afterwards at Hunts- 
ville, Ala.; he married a Miss Dudley. He has filled 
several distinguished positions, and has quite a reputation 
as an educator. 

5. George Byrd Anderson, married a daughter of Cap- 
tain David Anderson, to whom reference has been made. 

6. Maggie, an only daughter, married Wm. Boyd, one 
of the most highly respected citizens of Laurens county, 
S. C. 

Among the daughters of the original William An- 
derson is Sallie Breaken, already mentioned, and Re- 
becca, who never married. Both of these sisters lived on 



262 History of Spartanburg County, 

Ben's Creek, not far from its confluence with South Tyger. 
Sallie was married to Breaken in Charleston, whilst her 
father lived there, and the one son (William), referred to, 
went to Missouri, about whom nothing is known at this 
time. 

Henrietta, daughter of Major David Anderson, mar- 
ried James Chamblin, called "Monday," and lived one 
mile east of Tyger James Anderson on the road to Spar- 
tanburg. They had children, viz. : 

1. David Chamblin, married four times, first to Miss 
Pearson, second to Miss Jane Corry, third to Miss Cyn- 
thia Darwin, and fourth to Mrs. Eliza Hunter. 

2. Samuel Chamblin, who married a ]\Iiss Boggs of 
Pickens county, S. C, and went there to live, leaving a 
large famly. 

3. William Chamblin, who married Lucinda Drum- 
mond, lived opposite the Monday Chamblin place ; 
removed thence to Pontotoc county, Miss. 

4. James Chamblin, who married Caroline Hill and 
went to Belton, Texas. 

5. Henrietta Chamblin, who married James Meadows 
of Laurens county, S. C, and went to Texas. 

6. Maria Chamblin, who married a Hawkins, who 
died early leaving a widow and children, viz. : Wyatt, 
Nannie and Sallie, all of whom went to Texas. 

Sally Chamblin, who married Samuel Miller at Flint 
Hill, near Moore, S. C. , and had children, viz. : 

W. Thomas Miller, lived and died unmarried at the 
old homestead. Dr. Pinckney Miller, married Belle 
Young, and went to Mississippi, where he died. Samuel 
Wyatt Miller, married Miss Elliott Drummond, and 
went to Texas. Dr. David Miller, married in Texas. 
Charles Miller, married Mrs. Elliot Miller, and lives in 
Texas. Henrietta married Henley N. Mattox, and went 
to Texas. Permelia, married Dr. Sam Knight, Fountain 



History of vSpartanburg County. 



263 



Inn, Greenville county, S. C, and Fannie, married 
Major Thomas Anderson of Anderson county, S. C, 
Avho, soon dying, left her a widow ; she returned to the 
old family homestead, where she now resides. 

major franklin LELAND ANDERSON. 

Among the oldest of the surviving members of the 
Anderson connection in Spartanburg county is Maj. 
Frank L. Anderson, one of the sons mentioned of James 
M. (Tyger Jim) and 
Polly (Miller) Ander- 
son, who was born Jan- 
uary 30th, 1830, at his 
father's old homestead 
place on the waters of 
Ben's Creek and South 
Tyger, where he at 
present resides, which 
has been the home of 
-four generations in his 
family. 

Maj. Anderson re- 
ceived his first school 
instructions in the Pop- 
lar Spring Academy. His teachers were Jas. K. Dick- 
son, Geo. McDuffie Broyles, and others. Afterwards he 
attended the University of Virginia at Charlottesville, 
where he completed a good classical education. After 
this, he gained much practical information by travel and 
observation. 

For some years before the outbreak of the civil war 
"between the States, he was elected and commissioned by 
the governor of South Carolina, as captain of the Cash- 
ville Beat company, which formed a part of the old 
T^hirty-sixtt Regiment South Carolina militia. Subse- 




Maj. F. L. Anderson. 



264 History of Spartanburg County. 

quently he was elected and commissioned as major of 
the lower battalion of said regiment. He served seven 
years as an officer in the State militia, which under . the 
laws of the State at that time, exempted him from fur- 
ther service in the same. 

A few months before the beginning of the civil war, 
he enlisted in the Spartan Rifles (Captain Jos. Walker) , 
one of the first companies organized for the service, and 
was made a sergeant in said company. He left his 
native county with the first troops for the war, and served 
during the first year of the same in the 5th regiment 
South Carolina Volunteers (Col. Micah Jenkins). Upon 
the reorganization of the troops in Virginia in '62, he 
became a member of Company A, Holcomb Legion 
(Col. P. F. Stephens). With the exception of two or 
three days, he kept his health during the entire war, was 
in every battle and skirmish in which his regiment was 
engaged, and escaped without injury. While the siege 
at Petersburg was in progress, during the latter part of 
the war during a fight he planned a traverse on the 
picket line in front of the crater, where orders had been 
given to reverse the enemy's picket line and push it fur- 
ther back. This saved the lives of many of his company 
from an enfilading fire of the enemy, while other compa- 
nies, not having the benefit of a traverse, suffered heavily, 
many being killed. The picket line at this time and 
place was under the command of Capt. A. B. Woodruff, 
who always stood to his post and discharged his duty 
under the most trying dangers and circumstances sur- 
rounding him. In early life, Major Anderson connected 
himself with the Nazareth (Presbyterian) church — the 
mother church of his ancestry — and was some time after 
ordained an elder in the same, which office he still retains. 
He has always been a prominent member of this branch 
of the Christian church, and from first to lasK, has led an 



History of Spartanburg County. 265 

exemplary Christian life. He has often been a delegate to 
the Presbyteries and Synods, and has been twice a delegate 
to the General Assembly, the highest court of the church. 

Upon the reorganization of Antioch church (near Cash- 
ville, S. C), which was removed to Reidville, S. C, he 
connected himself with that church, and was in fact its 
founder under the new organization, which is now in a 
flourishing condition. He is a man of large benevolence, 
a liberal contributor to all the objects of his church, and 
has contributed to the churches of other denominations- 
in the country surrounding him. He takes a lively in- 
terest in everything concerning the welfare of his neigh- 
borhood and country. With Col. T. J. Moore, he edu- 
cated a young minister, who is now making his mark as 
a minister of the gospel in the Presbyterian church. 

Major Anderson, although now about sixty-nine years 
of age, is still in the full vigor of health, maintaining the 
splendid physique, height and dignified bearing which 
belonged to a hardy and robust ancestry. He may be 
classed among the leading agriculturists of Spartanburg 
county, having always been successful in his chosen line 
of occupation. He has always lived above w^ant, is a 
bountiful provider and is hospitable and entertaining in 
his home. He has never aspired to public office or polit- 
ical honors, but has always lived the life of a law-abid- 
ing, progressive and industrious citizen, commanding the 
respect and esteem of all. 

In 1859, Major Anderson married Miss Susan N. 
Norris, daughter of Capt. Wm. Norris, of Union, S. C, 
who died in 1863, leaving two children, Frank Nuckles 
Anderson and William Norris Anderson, both now resi^ 
dents of the State of Tennessee. He married a second 
time IVIiss Ada Eppes, of Sussex county, Va,, by which 
marriage he has the following children : Victor, Rob- 
ert Reid, Ben Mason, Tom Moore, Walter Carey, James- 
Leland, John Marshall and Henrietta Maria. 



CHAPTER XIX. 



THE EARLE FAMILY. 



Among the earliest settlers on North Pacolet were the 
brothers, Baylis and John Earle. The former settled 
about one-half mile south of the North Carolina colony 
line at what was afterwards known as Earlesville, two 
miles northeast of Landrum, S. C. The latter perma- 
nently settled about two miles north of said colony line, 
higher up the river in the present county of Polk, N, C, 
whereon his grandson, Mr. Lafayette Prince, now resides. 
Here he erected a fort in revolutionary times, known as 
Earle's fort. 

After the treaty of Governor Glen with the Cherokee 
Indians in 1755, the upper portion of South Carolina, 
up to the Indian boundary line, was thrown open to set- 
tlement. This line, separating the territory of South 
Carolina proper and the Cherokee Indian Nation, was the 
present dividing line between the counties of Greenville 
and Spartanburg, and the present line between the 
counties of Anderson and Laurens. It is true that while 
the lower portion of this newly acquired territory was rap- 
idly settled up by emigrants from Pennsylvania (mostly 
Scotch-Irish), Maryland, Virginia and other colonies, yet 
there were but few who dared to venture settlement along 
the border line, where they would be constantly exposed 
to the invasions and massacres of the Indians, but 
among those who did venture to open up a civilization 
on North Pacolet were Baylis and John Earle. At the 
time of their emigration from old Virginia to the Caro- 
linas, which was in the early seventies of the eighteenth 
century, the great cane-brakes on North Pacolet were the 

(266) 



History of Spartanburg County. 267 

■favorite hunting-grounds of the Indians, and the latter 
were jealous of the approach of civilization in that sec- 
tion. It was during this trying period that the early 
settlers of that region sheltered themselves in the old 
Block House fort (where the line between Greenville 
and Spartanburg joins the North Carolina line), Earle's 
fort, and other places of refuge. 

Baylis Earle, one of the brothers referred to, was born in 
Virginia (Westmoreland county), August 8th, 1734, O. S. 
He was the son of Samuel Earle and Anna (daughter of 
Thomas and Elizabeth Sorrel) ; grandson of Samuel and' 
Phyllis Earle ; great-grandson of Samuel and Bridget 
Earle ; great-great-grandson of John and Mary Earle, 
who, supposed royalists in the great rebellion just con- 
summated in the death of King Chiarles I., emigrated with 
three children, Samuel, John and Mary, from the south- 
west of England in 1649, first to St. Mary's, Md. (seven- 
teenth year of the founding of the colony), and afterwards, 
in 1652, to Northumberland county, Va. (forty-fifth 
year of the founding of the colony). Between 1652 and 
1660, the year of his death, John Earle received for the 
transportation of the thirty-four persons into the colony 
patents, besides the earlier ones revoked, aggregating 
seventeen hundred acres of land, located on Earle'^ 
creek, Jescomico Neck and Potomac in the latter located 
county of Westmoreland, which, exclusive of others 
subsequently granted by the Lords Proprietors of the 
Northern Neck to his immediate successors, descended 
in a single male representative for one hundred years to 
Samuel, the elder brother of Baylis Earle. His father, 
Samuel Earle, born in Westmoreland county 1692, edu- 
cated at William and Mary College, was a planter, at- 
torney-at-law, member of the house of burgesses from 
Frederick 1746, justice, colleague of Lord Fairfax 
1749 to '52, collector of tobacco 1748, high sheriff, 



268 History of Spartanburg County. 

church warden 1751, and major of George William Fair- 
fax's colonial regiment. He married, as already stated, 
Anna Sorrel, Richmond county, 1726, she being his 
first wife, and had issue : Samuel, Baylis^ John^ Rachel,, 
and Hannah. He married a second time to Elizabeth 
(daughter of Randolph and Jeannette) Holbrook, of 
Prince William, and had issue: Esaias, Samuel, Zioh, 
and Eettie. He died near the present Front Royal, Va., 
at a place called Earle's Ferry, on the Shenandoah River. 

John Earle, brother of Baylis, born June 5th, 1737, 
soon after his first marriage emigrated to South Caro- 
lina, and settled the " old place," Earlesville, on the 
west bank of North Pacolet, and made a crop there in 
1773, before his brother Ba^dis came ; then moving be- 
yond the colony line, on the east side of North Pacolet, 
selling the place already described as Earle's Fort. 

Ba}lis, when he came, entered into the home and im- 
provements made by his brother, where the balance of 
his long life was spent. 

John Earle was a staunch patriot during the Revolu- 
tion, and served as a militia captain a portion of the 
time, repelling the Tory and Indian invasiouG in his 
section. He was doubtless in the expedition of Major 
Howard against " Big Warrior " and his gang at the 
battle of Round Mountain, which occurred soon after 
the " Hannon Massacre," on North Pacolet, in 1776. 
(See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper 
South Carolina," page 353.) 

John Earle, some time during the revolution, obtained 
the title of colonel. He was married twice. A second 
time to Mrs. Rebecca (Berry) Wood, relict of John Wood, 
who was foully murdered by " Bloody Bill " Cunningham 
and his band of Tories, in November, 1781, an account of 
which we have given in the volume referred to. By the 
marriage between Colonel John Earle and Mrs. Rebecca 



History of Spartanburg County. 269 

Wood several children were born, among whom we would 
mention Mrs. Lydia Prince, wife of Wm. Prince, who 
lived and died at the old John Earle homestead on North 
Pacolet, and Mrs. Amaryllis Bomar of Spartanburg, relict 
of Elisha Bomar and mother of Major John Earle Bomar, 
and Mrs. T. O. P. Vernon. 

In referring to the old family Bible of Baylis Earle, it 
is recorded that he " married Mary Prince April i6th, 
1757, aged 13 years nearly." She was born December 
1 744, being a daughter of John Prince, a neighbor family 
in Virginia, who was a descendant of Edmund Prince, 
Gentleman, to whom, for the transportation of persons 
into the colony was issued, on the 4th of October, 1639, 
a patent for 500 acres of land " in the countie of Charles 
citie." 

The issue of the marriage between Baylis and Mary 
(Prince) Earle were fourteen children, of whom eight 
were sons and six daughters, as follows : 

1. Sallie, born January 4th, 1759, in Virginia. In 
South Carolina, after migration, she married Edward 
Hampton (second wife), whose son Noah, by his first 
wife, was killed at the battle of Earle's P'ord, and who him- 
self was foully murdered by the Tories about the close of 
the Revolution. (See Hampton family.) 

Sallie Hampton, after her husband's death, married 
Charles Littleton. Her issue by the first marriage were 
two daughters, Anna and Elizabeth, of whose after-life 
we can learn nothing. By the second marriage was born 
one son, Marcus Littleton. 

2. Samuel Earle, first son, who will receive further 
notice. 

3. Jack Earle, who died in Virginia at the age of five 
years. 

4. Anna (called Nancy), born December 24th, 1764, 



270 



History of Spartanburg County. 



married Epliraim Reese ; had issue : Daniel, Hampton,. 
Samuel, Joseph, Ephraim, Sarah and Rhoda. 

5. John Earle, born September i8th, 1766, married* 
Nancy Holland Burns (called Earle), and had issue : Sam- 
uel, Esaias, Benjamin, Harriet, Messiniah and Eliza- 
beth. The last named married Dr. John ]\I. Johnson of" 
Paducah, Ky., and with him refugeed to Atlanta, in 
1863, where he died soon afterwards. John Earle moved 
from South Carolina to Pontotoc, Mississippi, thence to 
Southwest Kentucky. 

6. Bay lis Earle, born September nth, 1768, married 
Mrs. Hewlett, formerly Miss Moseley, and had issue : 
Thomas, Baylis, Elizabeth, and one or two more, names 
not known. Baylis Earle is said, by the author of " Myra 
Cunningham, Tale of 1780," to have dressed as a lady 
and liberated Captain Harry Wood from the hand of 
the Tories. (See Magnolia, August, 1844.) 

7. Damaris Earle, born January, 1771, died March 
8th, 1804, married Benjamin Dillingham, and had issue : 
John, Rachel, Reese, Providence and Amanda. 

8. Rhoda Earle, born May 25th, 1773 (the last born 
in Virginia), married Benjamin Clark, and had issue :: 
Sallie, Mahala, and the next also named Mahala, then 
Amanda and Baylis. 

9. Miriam Earle, born November 4th, 1775, in South 
Carolina ; married January 28th, 1796, to William Gowen,, 
a Revolutionary soldier, known as Major Buck Gowen 
(see '"Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper 
South Carolina," pages 361-2), had issue : ^Mahala, Ma- 
tilda, John and Letitia. 

10. Thomas Prince Earle, born September i6th, 1778 ;. 
married Mary Stallerd, and had one daughter, Elizabeth. 

11. Edward Hampton Earle, born October 15th, 1780 ;. 
married Susan Davis, and had issue: Ann, Richard,, 
William, John, Berkley,, Thomas and Josephine. 



History of Spartanburg County. 271: 

12. Theron Karle, born March 13th, 1783, who will 
receive further notice. 

13. Aspasia Earle, born February 21st, 1785; mar- 
ried Mary Montegue, and had issue : Charlotte and Henry 
M. The former married John Dodd, had one daughter, 
Ann, who married Richard Bowdoine ; the latter married 
Sophia Rowland, and had issue: William E., Emma, 
Mary, John and Miriam. 

14. Providence Earle, born July loth, 1788; married 
John lyucas, and had issue: Cora, Adelia, Messiniah, 
Benjamin, Nancy and Elizabeth. 

These all married in South Carolina, and eight of 
them, viz., John, Baylis, Thomas P., Edward H., Anna,, 
Damaris, Rhoda and Providence, removed to Kentucky, 
the balance remaining in South Carolina for a time. 
Sallie died on North Pacolet. Theron died at his father's 
old place. Aspasia first settled on the north bank of 
North Pacolet, one mile from his father's old place, in 
the present county of Polk, N. C, and in March, 1846, 
removed to Floyd county, Ga., and settled on Oostanaula 
River. 

Baylis Earle was a staunch Whig during the Rev- 
olution, though he was too far advanced in years to 
take the field as a soldier. In a MS. letter to a friend 
under date September iith, 1814, he states that on "the 
Sunday next before Colonel Ferguson's defeat at King's- 
Mountain, a large party of British and Tbries came to- 
his dwelling and plundered at their pleasure, killed a 
steer and destroyed a large quantity of oats, say four or 
five hundred dozen. It was near his homestead that the 
battle of Earle's Ford took place, an account of which we 
have given in another volume.* 

After the close of the Revolution and upon the organ- 

* See " Colonial and RevokUionary History of Upper South Caro-- 
lina," p. 118. 



272 History of Spartanburg County. 

ization of the county (afterwards called district) of Spar- 
tanburg (1785), Baylis Earle was appointed by the gov- 
ernor as one of the county court judges for Spartanburg, 
which office he served with ability and fidelity to the 
people of said county for several years. His commission 
as such hangs neatly framed in the Kenedy Laboratory 
at Spartanburg, issued from the Executive Department 
at Columbia by Governor Charles Pinckney, on Febru- 
ary 13th, 1791, to continue during good behavior, " to 
be a judge of the County Court in and for the County 
Court of Spartanburg," etc. 

Baylis Earle was one of the founders of Wolf Creek 
(Baptist) Church (at^ Landrum, S. C), organized in 1803. 
He was the first clerk of said church. The old church- 
book, with his record of the proceedings, neatly and legi- 
bly written, is still to be seen among the archives of the 
church, now almost a century old. 

Baylis Earle lost his wife, who had long been his faith- 
ful companion, in 1807, but survived himself until Jan- 
uary 6th, 1825, ^yi^& i^^ his 91st year. It is said that 
he retained to a remarkable degree to the last his strength, 
faculties and suavity, and was perfectly resigned to his 
approaching end. 

HON. SAMUEL E4RLE, 

eldest son of Baylis and Mary (Prince) Earle, was born 
in Frederick county, Va., November 28, 1760. In 1774 
he followed his father's migration to South Carolina, 
settling- with him at the old homestead on North Pacolet 
in what was then Ninety-six District. 

On the 20th May, 1777, when in his 17th year, he re- 
ceived through the unsolicited interest of Major Andrew^ 
Pickens a commission which he took up on the nth of 
June following, of ensign of the 5th S. C. Regiment of 
the Continental Line. He w'as promoted two grades, 



History of Spartanburg County. 273 

second and first lieutenant at the battle of Stono, June 
20th, 1779, and was paroled on the terms of capitulation 
by General Lincoln, of Charleston, June nth, 1780. 
About October of the same year he again took up arms, 
acting independently, but under authority of his Conti- 
nental commission. He acted as a volunteer with differ- 
ent officers or with different corps: with Sumter at Black- 
stocks, November 20th, 1780, and declined a captaincy 
with him in 1781; was at Bush River with Colonel Roe- 
buck, and was in the famous retreat into Virginia with 
General Greene, after Morgan's victory at Cowpens; was 
at the siege of Ninety-six with Lee's Legion, and Ham- 
mond's Cavalry, June, 1781. He was acting on the 
staff of General Pickens, when, during the Cherokee ex- 
pedition in 1782, he was detached to raise a troop of cav- 
alry, South Carolina Rangers, and operated against the 
"authors," one of whom he engaged in a single mortal 
combat, and when his pistol failed to fire was rescued 
from instant death by the timely arrival and interposi- 
tion of his lieutenant, Henry Machan Wood, afterw^ards 
one of the first county court judges for Spartanburg. 
He served to the end of the war, his corps being prob- 
ably the last in arms in the upper part of South Caro- 
lina. 

After the close of the Revolution, as Deputy Pro- 
vost Marshal, he served the first writ ever made re- 
turnable to Old Cambridge or Ninety-six. As deputy to 
John (afterwards general) Martin of Edgefield, the first 
high sheriff for Ninety-six District, Judge Heyward hold- 
ing court under an arbor, and General Thomas Pinckney 
being the only attorney present, Samuel Earle levied on 
a mill on Bush River in Newberry — the first civil proc- 
ess served in the upper part of the State after the war. 

Governor Perry in his "Reminiscences of Public Men," 
gives an interesting sketch of Samuel Earle. He was 



274 History of Spartanburg County. 

elected a member of the State convention which framed, 
the Constitution, and he was also a member of the State 
convention which adopted the Constitution of the United 
States. He Was afterwards elected a member of the-4th 
Congress, from 1795 to '97, for the districts of Green- 
ville, Pendleton, Laurens, Abbeville and Spartanburg 
as the successor of General Andrew Pickens, who was 
the first member to represent said congressional district 
under the Federal Constitution. He was a Federalist, 
and supported Washington's administration and favored 
Jay's treaty. He removed to Pendleton about 1809; was 
elected sheriff of that district by the legislature and 
served in that office for four years. He was appointed 
one of the commissioners, on the part of South Carolina, 
to settle the boundary line between the latter State and 
Georgia — this being about the last public service ren- 
dered by him to his country. 

He married March 12th, 1793, to Harriet, daughter 
of James and Elizabeth (Hampton) Harrison. Issue : 
Bay lis John, Andrew Pickens, James Harrison, Elizabeth 
Hampton, Edward Preston, Morgan Priestly, IMary 
Prince (Maxwell), Damaris Miriam (Mays), Sarah Mariah 
(Lewis), Harriet (Earle), Elias Theron, Samuel Maxcy, 
and Edward Hampton. 

Mr. Earle was a pious member of the Baptist church, 
and all through life was a man of high and pure char- 
acter, his honor, integrity or patriotism never having 
been questioned throughout his long life. 

HON. THERON EARLE, 

son of Baylis and Mary (Prince) Earle, was born at 
Earlesville, the old homestead place of his father, March 
13th, 1783, where he ever afterwards lived and died. He 
was a man of more than ordinary intelligence, honest, 
upright, and progressive as a farmer. He was a repre- 



History of Spartanburg County. 275 

sentative in the State legislature from Spartanburg Dis- 
trict from 1832 to '36. In politics he was a Protectionist. 
Major Hoy, in his writings, states that he issued a sensi- 
ble circular advocating protection for home manufactur- 
ing ; that he admired the logic of Hayne and McDuffie 
and commenced his circular by wishing their ability to 
help him do his subject justice. 

He served for several years as adjutant of the old 36th 
Regiment, South Carolina IMilitia, and made an efficient 
■officer. We hear no more of him in public life. 

He married Hannah, daughter of Michael Miller, an 
estimable lady, and had children : Samuel Earle, who 
died at the age of twelve or thirteen years ; Dr. Michael 
Baylis Earle, an eminent physician, who lived and died 
in Greenville, S. C, married Harriet, daughter of John 
Maxwell of Pendleton, S. C. ; Oliver P. Earle, who will 
receive further notice ; John Chevis Earle, who died 
young ; Elizabeth Earle, who married General Joel W. 
Miller ; Nancy Miller Earle, who married Rev. John G. 
Landrum (second wife); Rev. Thomas J. Earle, an 
earnest, able and humble (Baptist) minister of the Gospel 
for more than a quarter of a century, whose works "fol- 
low him," who married Miss Jane Kenedy of Georgia ; 
Crawford Earle, a promising young man who died in 
Greenville, S. C, and James Earle, who died aged four 
■or five years. Theron Earle died November 3d, 1841. 
His widow survived him for nearly twenty-five years. 

HON. OLIVER PERRY EARLE, 

son of Theron and Hannah (Miller) Earle, was born Sep- 
tember 25th, 1816, at the old homestead (Earlesville) of 
his father and grandfather, where, in after years, he be- 
came the proprietor of this valuable estate, which he 
held up to the time of his death, which took place No- 
v^ember 4th, 1894. He was raised on his father's farm, 



276 



History of Spartanburg County. 



but was educated in the very best common schools of his 
day, and acquired a good, practical, business education, 
which was manifest throughout his life. 

But few men have ever lived in his community or 
county who measured up to his pure and upright stand- 
ard of citizenship. He was a man of the purest motives, 
and unsullied honor and integrity. He was well known 
in a wide locality as a thriving, progressive and success- 
ful planter, and in finan- 
cial judgment and bus- 
iness forethought he 
had but few superiors. 
In a word, he ranked 
among the solid men of 
his county. He was 
rather reserved in de- 
portment, prudent in 
the expression of his 
opinions, and modest 
almost to a fault. 

In 1856, at the ear- 
nest solicitation of 
many friends, he en- 
tered the race and was elected to the State legislature 
as one of the representatives from Spartanburg District, 
his colleagues being J. W. Miller, O. E. Edwards, J. Win- 
smith and James Farrow. On all public questions that 
came before the House of Representatives, while he was 
a member of the same, it was accorded to him that he 
showed excellent judgment in the recording of his vote, 
as he well understood and appreciated the best interests 
of his constituents. 

In 1858 he married Miss Catharine, daughter of Hon. 
Tolliver Davis of Rutherford county, N. C, who still 
survives him. Some time after his marriag^e he con- 




HoN. o. p. Earle. 



History of Spartanburg County. 277 

nected himself with the Wolf Creek Baptist church, 
and was made a deacon of the same, which office he 
filled to the day of his death, with a conscientious dis- 
charge of duty to his Saviour and brethren. 

By his marriage with Miss Davis he had children as 
follows : Tolliver D., married Miss Hallie Lee ; Han- 
nah, married George Harrison ; Sarah Catharine, died 
in infancy ; Nancy Elizabeth, married Rev. Paul Bo- 
mar ; Eliza Harriet, married Joseph Eee ; Mary Miller, 
married Dr. R. G. Christopher, and Bay lis Theron, mer- 
chant at Spartanburg. 



CHAPTER XX. 

SMITH FAMILY. 

Descendants of James^ John and Charles SniitJi. 

Just before the Revolutionary war five brothers came 
from Bull Run, Va., and settled in the vicinity of Glenn's 
Spring, in Spartanburg county, viz.: James, Fleming, 
Thomas, John and Charles. Their father came from 
Wales, and their mother, a Miss Fleming, from France. 
Of these brothers, Thomas was never married, hence he 
has no descendants ; of Fleming we can learn nothing ; 
James had two sons — John and Enoch. Enoch went to 
Alabama and John, his brother, settled in Union county, 
S. C. He was by occupation a farmer, and his home- 
stead residence was about five miles below the court- 
house of said county omthe Spartanburg & Union Rail- 
road. He had two sons — Franklin and Thomas W. 
Franklin died during the war unmarried. Thomas W. 
was a Baptist minister of considerable note and ability^ 
and served acceptably for a number of }*ears churches in 
Union and Spartanburg counties. He was educated at 
the Furman University, at Greenville, S. C. He died 
in 1883, leaving behind him an interesting family who 
still reside at the old homestead place of his father. 

John, one of the original five brothers mentioned, had 
one son, Thomas, who went to Georgia; two daughters, 
one was a cripple and never married, the other, Susanna, 
married Thomas Finch, and became the mother of James, 
Benjamin, Simpson and Enoch Finch, from whom have 
sprung numerous descendants of respectability, many of 
whom yet reside in the present county of Spartanburg. 

(278) 



History of Spartanburg County. 279 

Charles, the youngest of the five Smith brothers re- 
ferred to, from whom a large portion of the Smith family 
now living in Spartanburg county descended, married a 
j\Iiss Rhodes about 1760. He was a soldier of the Rev- 
olution, but owing to a defective eyesight, he was as- 
signed to duty in the commissary department. He was 
a man of eminent piety, having early embraced the 
Christian religion. He was made a deacon in Philadel- 
phia (Baptist) church in 1805. From the death of Rev. 
Christopher Johnson, August, 1809, to the close of 1820, 
the church had no regular pastor, and for several years 
but little preaching. Charles Smith was the mainstay 
of the church through adversity as well as prosperity. 
He enjoyed the confidence of his brethren, for when there 
was no minister present, he was made moderator and 
conducted the services. He died in 1824. He had six 
sons : Elijah, Sanford, William, Daniel, Moses and 
Aaron ; and six daughters : Martha, who married Hugh 
White and lived in the community of Philadelphia 
church ; Abigail, who married Joseph Golightly and 
went west; Elizabeth, who married Robert Page; 
Rachel, who married James Page ; Ann, who married 
William Page ; three sisters marrying three brothers, 
and Mary, who married George Sloan. 

Concerning the sons of Charles Smith, Aaron went to 
INIissouri ; Moses was drowned while a young man, un- 
married ; Daniel married Elizabeth Trail ; they lived in 
the Philadelphia community. The children of Isaac T. 
Smith are the only descendants of this Daniel Smith 
living in Spartanburg county. 

William married Sallie Trail. They had three chil- 
dren; only one remained in Spartanburg; she married 
Giles Bearden, near Friendship church on Dutchman's 
Creek. 
.J Sanford married Mary INIorrow, daughter of the old 



28o History of Spartanburg County. 

Revolutionary soldier. They had three sons : Samuel M., 
David M. and Robert R. Robert R. was a mechanic — 
had a regular shop where he made wagons, buggies, 
carriages, etc. His work was well done. There were 
six daughters : two of them went to Alabama, one to 
Arkansas, one to Illinois, and two married to their cous- 
ins — sons of Elijah. 

William and Sanford had the first and only gun factory 
anywhere in the southern portion of Spartanburg county. 
They manufactured rifles, made the barrel, bored and 
stocked them, and they were of what was known as the 
old time flint and steel, which were much used in their 
day. Their works, which were begun in the early part 
of the 19th century, were on Reedy Fork of Dutchman, 
one and a half miles southwest of Philadelphia church. 
A part of the old rock dam is yet to be seen there. 

Elijah Smith was made a deacon at the organization 
of Philadelphia church in July, 1803. For near two 
years he was the only deacon of said church. He served 
his church faithfully in that capacity until his death in 
1834. He married Diana Ham, sister of Squire James 
Ham. They had twelve children. Three died while 
young. There were three daughters who married and 
lived in the same neighborhood of the six sons, which 
was in the vicinity of Philadelphia church. 

Moses went to Georgia about 1835 ; William S. was a 
mechanic, followed making and repairing wagons, bug- 
gies, carriages, etc., and his work was substantially done. 
He was an active worker in the Philadelphia church, a 
deacon in the same for nearly fifty years, and truly a 
good man. 

Enoch H, was a farmer, had a grist and sawmill, cot- 
ton-gin and thresher, all run by water, one mile west of 
Philadelphia church, and half a mile above the old gun 
factorv referred to, on the same stream. He was an ex- 



History of Spartanburg County. 281 

cellent citizen, a Christian gentleman, and the clerk of 
Philadelphia chnrcli for twenty-five years. Among his 
sons were Dr. Robert M., Elias and Albert Smith, the 
two latter living and residing in the same commnnity. 
They are honest, intelligent and progressive farmers. 
They married two sisters : Elias to Miss Wallace, and 
Albert to Miss Lizzie Pool, now deceased, both edncated, 
refined and intelligent ladies and graduates of the female 
college at Asheville, N. C, before the war. Elias has 
followed teaching a portion of his life. 

Dr. Robert M. Smith, son of Enoch and Nancy Smith, 
was born October 19th, 1833. His boyhood was spent 
on his father's plantation. He received a good educa- 
tion in literature, and in 1856 began the study of medi- 
cine under Dr. G. H. King, at Walnut Grove, S. C. He 
graduated in medicine with distinction from the Atlanta 
Medical College in 1858, and for several years following 
had an extensive and lucrative practice. 

At the outbreak of the civil war he enlisted in Com- 
pany K, 3d Regiment, S. C. V. , and was elected as one of 
its lieutenants. He remained with the company until 
serious illness compelled him to resign. After recovery 
he joined Captain Westfield's company, which formed a 
part of the 2d Regiment, S. C. Cavalry. In the battle on 
John's Island, S. C, in 1864, he was wounded in the right 
arm, which necessitated amputation at the shoulder-joint. 

After the war he became a prominent politician in 
Spartanburg, and was seldom defeated in his political 
aspirations. For fourteen years lie was a prominent mem- 
ber of the House of Representatives and in the Senate. 
He was a good stump orator, an able debater, and a 
strong advocate of home rule against "carpetbag gov- 
ernment," which principle resulted in the election of 
Wade Hampton in 1876. 

In 1862 Dr. Smith married to Adeline Skinner, of 



282 



History of Spartanburg County. 



Walnut Grove, S. C. To them were born eight children^ 
four sons and four daughters, two of which are deceased. 
Those living are Annie Eugenia (Mrs. Dr. S. T. D. 
Lancaster), Carrie Pauline (Mrs. I. P. Mahoney), Mary 
Virginia (Airs. J. F. Alexander), Nannie (Mrs. Henri 
Bernhardt), Charles O'Conner, and Earle Hix. 

David H. Smith, son of Elijah, was a blacksmith and 
woodworkman. Hemade wagons and other vehicles. His 

work would stand the 
test, and always found 
ready sale. He and 
his son, E. E. Smith, 
had a plow patented 
just before the civil 
war. 

Noah H. Smith, an- 
other brother, was a 
farmer. He was a man 
of exemplary character, 
and reared a large fam- 
ily of children, who 
have proven themselves 
worthy citizens. Two 
of his sons, John B. and Lecil, gave their lives in their 
country's defense. Two sons, W. J. and E. B. Smith, 
reside in the county, while the others are either dead or 
have gone west. 

Colonel Daniel H. was the youngest child of Elijah 
Smith. He was a farmer by occupation, and married 
]\Iiss Jane Lanford, a granddaughter of James Lanford, 
a soldier of the Revolution, who in an early day settled 
in Spartanburg county below Woodruff. Her father 
was John Lanford. 

Colonel Smith was clerk of Philadelphia (Baptist) 
church for twenty-five years, a deacon for over fifty, and 




Col. Dan'l H. Smith. 



History of Spartanburg County. 283 

a Sunday-school superintendent for about fifteen years. 
Soon after he attained to military age he became a com- 
missioned officer in one of the companies of the old 45th 
S. C. IMilitia, and served as such for seven consecutive 
years. Then he was elected colonel of said regiment. 
At a later period he was brought out and reelected colonel 
of the same regiment without any desire or effort on his 
part, being already muster free. 

But when the war broke out and the services of every 
available man were needed, though well advanced in 
years, he did not hesitate to volunteer his services to his 
country. He was orderly sergeant in Dr. Ben Wofford's 
company in the winter of 1862-3 at Charleston, and 
was captain of Company A, ist Battalion of S. C. Re- 
serves from August, 1864, to the end of the war. 

The following is an extract of a tribute paid his mem- 
ory after his death by his third lieutenant : 

"No one who knew Captain Smith will doubt his 
high Christian character. I knew him thirty-five years, 
and I knew him best at a time in the history of his life 
when men's souls were tried — in the army. Under all 
circumstances he bore out the same character that he 
built up at home. . . . He was a strict disciplina- 
rian — always the same on picket, on the march, on the 
battle-line or in camp. The same unswerving Christian 
officer and soldier." 

Colonel Daniel Smith had four children, two sons and 
two daughters. One of the sons. Rev. William Pinck- 
ney Smith, is well known to the people of Spartanburg 
as an able, humble and earnest minister of the gospel of 
the Baptist faith. He is well educated for this specific 
work, and has been, at this writing (1900), in the min- 
istry for about twenty-one years, and has served churches 
both in the counties of Union and Spartanburg, and is 
now in the twentieth year of his pastorate at Sulphur 
Springs. 



284 History of Spartanburg County. 

He married Miss O 'Shields, who died in 1898, leav- 
ing fonr children. Of these Fnrman was educated at the 
Furman University ; Lamar is a graduate of Wofford 
College ; Elmore is in business and Falls in school. 

The other son, Marshall G. Smith, who died in 1890, 
was a model and progressive young man and did much 
for the community in which he lived. 

Of the daughters of Colonel Smith, Miss Ella is un- 
married. The other daughter is the wife of Mr. John 
W. Stribling of Spartanburg. They have five children. 
Willie is a graduate of the Citadel Academy at Charles- 
ton, Miss Alice of Converse College, Hickman of Wof- 
ford College, and two daughters at present students in 
Converse College. 

The men of this branch of the Smith family have 
been mostly farmers and mechanics. Some of the fam- 
ily, especially among the females, have followed teach- 
ing. As a whole they have formed a part of the best 
class of citizenship in Spartanburg county, and both in 
times of peace and in war they have always been patri- 
otic and true to their country's welfare. In the civil 
war between the States no less than nine of the grand- 
sons of Elijah Smith gave up their lives in their coun- 
try's defence. Let the descendants of the families men- 
tioned herein be proud to emulate the example of a 
noble ancestry. 



CHAPTER XXI. 

THE FOSTER FAMILY. 
Descendants of JVilliam Foster and Thomas James. 

William Foster (or Major Billie, as he was called) 
moved from Amelia county, Va., to South Carolina in 
1 791 and settled a mile or so east of Mount Zion church 
(near Fort Prince) in Spartanburg District. The plan- 
tation on which he settled has never departed from the 
Foster family ; it is now owned by Mr. Ed. Foster. 

He acquired the title major by reason of the fact 
that he held that title in the American army during 
the Revolutionary war. He married before the close 
of the Revolution to Mrs. ]\Iary Ann James, relict of 
Thomas James, who fills a soldier's grave on the bat- 
tle-field of Stono, S. C, fought in 1779. Her maiden 
name was Jones, a sister of Harrison Jones, who lost a 
leg at the battle of Guilford Court-house, N. C. She 
had one son, John James, by her first husband, and 
James, Elijah, Moses, Garland and Calvin by the second 
husband. She had three daughters, viz.: Annie Young, 
Maiden Smith and Sallie Chapman (wife of Beverly 
Chapman). These have long since passed " over the 
river." 

James Foster was the only one of the sons that ac- 
quired a superior English education, and was for many 
years the best teacher of the section of country in which 
he lived ; he was proverbial as the best arithmetician of 
the county. He studied the classics one year under Mr. 
Gilliland, in which time he read Virgil, Ovid and other 

(285) 



286 History of Spartanburg County. 

authors ; but he never taught them, as there was but 
little demand in those days for higher education. 

James Foster taught school in Abbeville county, on 
the Saluda River, for the period of three years, and at 
the breaking out of the war of 1812 he volunteered and 
went to Charleston, where he remained until the close 
of the war. After this he married Ann Turner in the 
year 1814 and settled on the waters of Pacolet River, 
where he died in 1863, in the 77th year of his age. By 
his marriage with Ann Turner he raised a family of 
seven children, viz.: Jane H,, wife of Turner; Han- 
nah M., wife of Rev. Bryant Bonner ; Thomas Foster, 
Wm. M, Foster (Major), James T. Foster, Jones W. 
Foster, and Mary H., wife of W. J. McDowell, Esq. 
Five of these still live. 

Rev. Wm. Moultrie Foster, one of the sons above 
mentioned (familiarly known as Major Bill), is a native 
of Spartanburg county. He was born July 28th, 1825. 
His father being an educated man and an excellent in- 
structor in the schoolroom, he obtained a fair English 
and classical education, and was himself a successful 
teacher for a number of years. 

Being a young man of bright promise and more than 
ordinary intelligence, his name was announced by his 
friends in 1858 as a candidate for the legislature to rep- 
resent his native district. Being a captivating speaker 
and well posted on all the issues of the day, his popu- 
larity soon spread abroad and he was elected along with 
other popular candidates of that period. His colleagues 
were O. E. Edwards, B. F. Kilgore, J. W. Miller and Jas. 
Farrow. He was again elected in i860 and '62, which 
terms covered almost the entire period of the civil war. 

But in a few months after the outbreak of the civil 
war between the States he raised a company of young 
men for the Confederate service and was chosen as its 



History of Spartanburg County. 287 

captain. This company became Company C, 9th Regt. , 
S. C. v., commanded by Colonel J. D. Blanding. At 
the reorganization of the Sonth Carolina troops in Vir- 
ginia Captain Foster was elected major of the 5th Regt., 
S. C. \\, which office he held nntil the end of the war. 

After he had reached the age of fifty years an over- 
ruling Providence opened the eyes of his understanding. 
He began to work for the IMaster from the day of his 
conversion, and connected himself with the Baptist 
church at Cherokee Springs. Having impressions to 
preach he was soon afterwards ordained to the Gospel 
ministry, and has to the present time been a faithful 
worker in the IMaster 's cause. 

In the year 1887 he was chosen to take charge of the 
People's High School at West's Springs, Union county, 
S. C, and later he was elected school commissioner for 
said county, and served with efficiency for two years. 

Returning to his native county he was again honored 
with a seat in the State legislature in 1890, and served in 
this capacity for one or two terms. He has now retired 
from public life, being well advanced in years, though 
well preserved. He is now devoting much of his time 
to writing and publishing, through the county press, 
poetry in verse, which in course of time will be col- 
lected and compiled and which will reflect additional 
credit to his excellent character and intellectual abilities 
which he has so well sustained throughout his entire 
life. 

Besides James Foster (son of Major Billie), whose 
character we have have already reviewed, the other 
brothers to whom we have referred, viz.: Jones, Elijah, 
Moses, Garland and Calvin, also claim our attention. 

Of these Elijah removed to Tennessee. Calvin, a 
very promising young man, died in the city of Philadel- 
phia, where he was attending medical lectures. Jones 



288 History of Spartanburg County. 

and Moses (called Pacolet Moses) resided on the Pacolets. 
Wm. H. Foster, on South Pacolet, and Mrs. Polly 
Younger, at New Prospect, are the surviving children of 
Jones Foster. Among the children of Moses Foster were 
William H. Sr., John and Mrs. Hunter. Garland Foster 
resided on the plantation where his father settled, which 
is, as stated, the present home of Mr. Ed. Foster. He 
married Miss Moss, by whom he raised a large and re- 
spectable family of sons and daughters, all of whom 
have either died or emigrated to Texas, except Mr. 
Calvin Foster, near Campton, S. C, Mrs. J. W. Simp- 
son of Pendleton, S. C, and Mrs. Mary Foster, who 
married James Foster. 

These brothers were all good and substantial citizens, 
"whose word was their bond." Garland Foster was for 
a long number of years a deacon of Mount Zion church, 
and was exemplary in his walk as a Christian through- 
out his life. 

John James, only son of Mrs. Mary Ann Jones by 
her first marriage, and stepson of Major Billie Foster, 
was born in Appomattox county, Va. He came with his 
father to South Carolina when a boy only ten years old. 
When he reached his majority he returned to \'irginia 
and farmed on his lands there, but eventually sold his 
possessions there and returned to South Carolina and 
settled near his mother. He was a prosperous and suc- 
cessful farmer and accumulated property. He married 
Miss Jane Anderson Turner, a niece of Major Billie 
Foster, who was born in Clarke county, Ga. Her parents 
were Virginians. The bride was only seventeen years 
old at the time of the marriage, and the husband only 
lived two weeks afterwards. 

As a result of this marriage a daughter, Mary Turner 
James, was born November 28th, 1805, a bright and 
beautiful girl, who subsequently became the wife of Dr. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 289 

Thomas Austin, a highly respected citizen of Green- 
ville District, S. C. , a physician of eminence in his day 
and a soldier of the war of 1812. The present surviv- 
ing children of Dr. Austin, including Hon. Thomas W. 
Austin of Greenville, and sister, Mrs. Mary R. Smith 
and family, near Roebuck,. S. C, are the only descend- 
ants of John and Jane A. James. 

The writer, in his boyhood, lived a near neighbor and 
enjoyed a pleasant acquaintance with Mrs. James. He 
was oftentimes the recipient of her kind hospitality, and 
had an opportunity to become acquainted with her ex- 
cellent traits of character. Bereft of her husband in 
two weeks after her marriage, and only at the age of 
seventeen years, with the great battle of life before her,. 
she proved herself to be equal to the emergency. Own- 
ing at the time a valuable negro property, she possessed 
an indomitable will, was excellent in management, pos- 
sessing, as she did, splendid judgment. Being of a su- 
perior mind, she was fond of reading, and had a remark- 
able memory. She was kind and hospitable in her 
home, and enjoyed having young people visit her. She 
was good to the poor and devoted to the church and 
loved to have the ministers of the Gospel visit her. At 
the time of her death she was a member of IMount Zion 
church, and sleeps in the cemetery near by. She died 
at the age of seventy-three years. 



19 h s c 



CHAPTER XXII. 

THE FOSTER FAMILY. 
Descenda?its of Robert^ Richard and William Foster. 

Robert Foster emigrated from Amelia county, Va. , in 
1783, and settled on the waters of Tyger River within 
the present territory of Spartanburg county. His wife 
was Miss Sallie James. He had seven sons, viz. : Thomas, 
Robert, William, John, James, Ransom and Moses. 

Thomas and Robert were residents of Greenville 
coimty, and died in that county. 

William lived and died near Bethlehem church in 
Spartanburg county. He married Miss Exie Wingo. 
James married Patience Benson, daughter of W^m. Ben- 
son, whose wife was Eleanor Key. He lived near the 
historic Fort Prince, and he and his wife are buried near 
by. Mr. Benson died away from home on one of his 
market trips. 

Ransom was a soldier in the war of 181 2. He married 
a Miss Tanner. 

Moses died in Spartanburg county and his family re- 
moved to Alabama. He and Ransom were twins. 

Among the children of Thomas Foster mentioned was 
Jesse Foster, father of Major A. J. and Jesse Foster. 
The former served as major of the Lower Battalion, 36th 
Regiment, S. C. M., before the war, and later, during 
said war, as captain of Co. B, 22d Regiment, S. C. V. 

Among the children of William and Exie (Wingo) 
was Colonel Robert W. Foster, who resided near Holly 
vSpring, who was a man of more than ordinary iutelli- 

(290) 



History of Spartanburg County. 291 

§ence and information, and who from 1848 to '50 was 
a representative from Spartanburg District in the State 
legislature, and was also for several years colonel of the 
36th Regiment, S. C. M. 

Among the children of James Foster was Eleanor,* 
who married Andy Foster and removed to Georgia, 
where he died in 1897 ; Jane, who married Zachariah 
Wingo and removed to Georgia, settling on the Chatta- 
hoochee River, Forsyth county, where he died ; Eliza, 
who married Albert Cunningham; Abner B., who mar- 
ried Oney, a daughter of "Mill Creek" Billy Foster; 
Mary, who married Thomas A. Rogers, — both lived and 
died in Pickens county, S. C; Robert J., who married 
Polly A. Bowdan ; James J., who married Mary, 
daughter of Garland Foster, and was killed near 
Petersburg, March 29th, 1865 ; Theresa, who married 
George F. Steading, killed in the army; and Moses, who 
married Mrs. Brewton, who was Miss Sarah Alexander.! 

The last named. Captain Moses Foster, is well and 
popularly known to the people of Spartanburg county. 
He was born January, 1833, and was raised on his 
father's farm near Bethlehem church. He was educated 
in the schools of his neighborhood taught by Thomas 
Scruggs, Wm. Cooper, Elias Stephens, Hampton Posey 
and others. He connected himself with Bethlehem 
church early in life, and has been a deacon of said church 
since 1866 ; is a useful man in his church and commu- 
nity both by precept and example. He has very often 
been a delegate from his church to the associations to 
which it has belonged, and is an earnest advocate and 

*This was the first lady ever baptized by Rev. John G. Landrum. 
At this time he was pastor of Bethlehem (Baptist) church. On the 
same occasion he baptized David Bray, Sr. , and Malinda P'oster, who 
afterward became Mrs. Asa Cunningham. 

fThe whole nine of these children were baptized by Rev. J. G. Lan- 
drum, at Bethlehem church. 



292 



History of Spartanburg County. 



contributor to all the benevolent objects which come be- 
fore it. 

Before the civil war between the States he was com- 
missioned by the Governor of South Carolina a captain 
of the militia (May's old field), the company which he 
commanded being a part of the 36th Regiment, S. C. M. 
He served seven years as a commissioned officer, which, 
under the law, made him muster free, but at the outbreak 

of said war (or even a 
few months before) he 
volunteered in the 
Spartan Rifles ( Captain 
Joseph Walker), which 
was one of the first 
companies to leave 
Spartanburg for the 
army. While serving 
in Virginia he was 
transferred (1862) to 
Co. D, Palmetto vSharp- 
shooters, commanded 
by Captain A. H. Fos- 
ter. In both of these 
companies he held the position of sergeant. He was in 
nearly all the battles in which his company was en- 
gaged. Was always at his post except when prevented 
by sickness, and was at the surrender at Appomattox 
Court-house. 

After this he returned to his farm, where he has lived 
for sixty years or more. He has never aspired to public 
office, but, by reason of his fitness for the position, was 
nominated and elected by the Democrats of Spartanburg 
county as coroner for said county, which position he 
held for four years. 

By his marriage, referred to, he has three children: 




Capt. Moses Foster. 



History of Spartanburg County. 293 

James Alexander, married Miss Emma, daughter of Vir- 
gil Rogers; John G. Landrum, single, and Mary Patience, 
single — a graduate of Limestone College. 

Richard Foster, a first cousin of Robert Foster, em- 
igrated from Virginia to Spartanburg District and set- 
tled in the Bethlehem neighborhood about the time that 
Robert came. He was married four times. Among his 
children were Spencer B. Foster, who was a deacon and 
prominent member of Bethlehem church. He was also 
captain of a militia company before the civil war, and 
was for a time the captain of the old Tyger band which 
belonged to the 36th Regiment, S. C. M., his favorite 
instrument being the clarionet, which the writer, in his 
boyhood, delighted to hear him play. He was the 
father of Richard and Martin Foster ; the former losing 
an arm at the battle of Frazier's Farm, Virginia, 

William Foster, "Mill Creek Billy," first cousin to 
the first two, also from Amelia county, Va., lived on 
Fair Forest Creek. He had nine children, viz. : Moses, 
who married Polly Hurt ; Ransom, who married a 
daughter of Robert Foster in Greenville county (uncle of 
Captain Moses Foster) ; John ; Jinsey, who married Jesse 
Wingo, father of Wm. J, Wingo, a well-known merchant 
who died in Spartanburg in 1895 or '96 ; Maiden, who 
married Paschal Wingo, father of Rev. I. W. Wingo ; 
Delilah, who married Burrel Wingo, father of Robert 
Wingo and grandfather of Hon, John O. Wingo, Green- 
ville county, S. C, and Stewart Wingo, merchant at 
Spartanburg ; Oney, who married Abner B. Foster ; 
Annie, who married Isham Hurt; and Malinda, who 
married Asa Cunningham. 

The entire families of the Foster connection in Spar- 
tanburg county have always been distinguished for their 
piety and high order of law-abiding citizenship. No- 
where have any people ever been found more patriotic, 



294 History of Spartanburg County, 

true and loyal to their country's best interests than the 
worthy sons which belonged to these families. No 
brighter example can be produced as an evidence of this 
fact than the case of Joseph Foster, son of Moses and 
Polly (Hurt) Foster. In one of the battles in Virginia, 
during the civil war, he was shot through the head with 
a Minie ball. The ball ranging below the brain entered 
near the eyeball and made its exit behind one ear. His 
recovery was one of the most remarkable occurrences in 
the history of surgery. From this dreadful wound he 
recovered in a few months and reentered the service in 
Virginia, and had not been there long when he was cut 
in two by a cannon ball in an engagement on Black- 
water. He was a member of the company of Captain A. H. 
Foster, Palmetto Sharpshooters. James J. Foster, whose 
death we have already mentioned, was killed but a few 
days before the surrender at Appomattox. George Stead- 
ing, brother-in-law of Captain Moses Foster, was killed 
below Richmond in front of Fort Harrison. There 
were several others of these families killed and a con- 
siderable number wounded during the civil war. The 
last one that could shoulder a musket marched boldly to 
the front to defend his country's rights in her hour of 
greatest peril. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 

THE SNODDY FAMILY. 

The families of Snoddy in Spartanburg county, and 
those of the same name who have emigrated from said 
county to other States, are descendants of John and Jane 
Snoddy, who emigrated from Ireland, Antrim county, in 
1773. They first landed in Charleston, S. C, but con- 
tinued their journey to the up-country, and made settle- 
ment on Jimmies Creek, about midway between Welford 
and Nazareth church, in the present county of Spartan- 
burg. According to the best information we can gather, 
John and Jane Snoddy had two sons, John and Isaac, 
both of whom will receive further notice in this article. 

The remains of John and Jane Snoddy, whose maiden 
name was Cowen, lie buried in the cemetery of Nazareth 
church. The husband died in 1806, aged 76 years, and 
the wife in 181 6, aged 96 years. Besides the two sons 
mentioned, it has been stated that an older brother served 
in the Revolution, but of this fact we can gather no 
definite information. 

Near the close of the Revolution (November, 1781) 
John, one of the sons mentioned, was murdered by the 
Tories under " Bloody Bill " Cunningham, at Poole's 
Iron Works, an account of which we have given in an- 
other volume.* He had been an active partisan in the 
service of his country, and as such was an object of 
hatred by the Tories. The maiden name of his wife was 
Elizabeth Riddle, but was known as ' ' Aunt Betsy, ' ' and 
was remarkable for her energy and business judgment. 

*See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 356. 

(295) 



296 History of Spartanburg County, 

After the sad death of her husband she would saddle 
her horse and oversee two plantations, and on Sundays 
drive twelve miles to Nazareth church, being a regular 
attendant of the same. Her children were small when 
her husband was murdered. She had five sons and three 
daughters, viz. : 

Captain John Snoddy, whose homestead residence was 
four miles southwest of the city of Spartanburg, and who 
married Polly Daniel, daughter of Richard Daniel. 

Isaac, second son, who married Elizabeth (Betsy) Ver- 
non, daughter of James Vernon. By this marriage there 
were two children : James A. Snoddy, who met his death 
soon after the close of the civil war, and Mrs. Margaret 
Oeland, relict of Dr. John C. Oeland (see sketch), who 
resides at Spartanburg. Mrs. Snoddy married a second 
time to Richard Ballenger, by which marriage a son, 
Oscar P. Ballenger, near Welford, S. C, was born. 

Two sons of John Snoddy, Andrew and Dr. Samuel, 
removed in early life to Alabama. The latter died while 
attending medical lectures at Lexington, Ky. Dr. Jo- 
seph Thompson, who will receive notice elsewhere, was 
attending lectures at the same time and place, and 
brought home with him his servant Aaron, and Biick^ his 
favorite saddle horse. 

Alexander, the youngest son of John Snoddy, married 
Mary Moore, daughter of Michael Moore of Rutherford 
county, N. C, and sister of Dr. A. L. Moore of Welford, 
S. C. Her mother's maiden name was Winnie Love, of 
Haywood county, a highly respected family. Alexander 
Snoddy died soon after his marriage, the only issue being 
Mrs. Edward L. Miller of Tuccapau, S. C. Mrs. Snoddy, 
her mother, subsequently became the wife of Dr. Pinck- 
ney Miller of Spartanburg county, a prominent physi- 
cian and a highly respected citizen. 

Of the daughters of John Snoddy referred to, Annie 



History of Spartanburg County. 297 

married David Brewton, Polly married Jones Brewton, 
and Peggy married Rev. Warren Drummond. 

Isaac Snoddy, the other son mentioned of John and 
Jane Snoddy, was born in North Ireland, Antrim connty, 
1770, and was bronght to America by his parents when 
only three years old. As already stated, John and his 
family landed in Charleston, and little Isaac was carried 
on the back of Samuel Miller from the ship to the land- 
ing. 

Samuel Miller was a half uncle of Isaac Snoddy, and 
lived with the latter the remainder of his life. He never 
married, and died at the age of 104 years. 

It is related that the Tories had orders to put to death 
every male child in the neighborhood in which John 
Snoddy lived. The tradition is that Isaac Snoddy was 
hidden in the wheat-field near by in the daytime, and 
cautioned by his mother not to shake the straw lest he 
might be discovered, and at night he was concealed about 
the house. The wheat-field where Isaac lay concealed 
was pointed out to Mr. Crawford S. Thompson by Colonel 
S. M. Snoddy about one year before the latter died. 

On his father's farm, the location of which has already 
been described, Isaac Snoddy received a good English 
education in such schools as the country then afforded. 
He taught several years before his marriage. In 1802, 
being then 32 years of age, he married Jane Crawford, 
third child of Patrick Crawford,* 23 years of age. P'^or 
two years following he and his wife lived with his par- 
ents on the very spot where Dr. Samuel T. Snoddy 
lived and died. After the birth of their first child they 
began housekeeping for themselves. They built a house 
of logs, each facing from 12 to 18 inches, on the old 



* Under the heading, " The Caldwell Family," we have given the 
particulars of the killing of Patrick Crawford, to which the reader is 
referred. 



298 History of Spartanburg County. 

Greenville and Spartanburg stage-coach road, near the 
spot where stands the present residence of James R. 
Snoddy. In this house, with some additions subsequently 
made, Isaac Snoddy and his wife died. In the same, for 
many years, was kept a post-office called New Hope. 
This was back in the twenties when letter postage was 
twenty-five cents, and there were no stamps or envelopes. 
Letters at that time were folded and sealed with wafers 
sold for that purpose. His house was also a famous 
stopping-place for the stage-coach, where horses were ex- 
changed. " When the mellow notes of the stage-driver's 
horn were heard it indicated the number of passengers on 
board. Then there was a busy scene in the kitchen and 
stable-yard — the busy housewife preparing meals for 
the tired and hungry travelers, and the negroes getting 
fresh horses ready for the lumbering stage-coach. This 
was a famous stopping-place for emigrants on their way 
from Virginia and North Carolina to the southwest ; 
also, the Creek and Catawba Indians, in passing back 
and forth, would stop here to rest." 

As a citizen Isaac Snoddy "was patriotic, peaceable, 
hospitable, truthful, and kind to the poor, a liberal sup- 
porter of the church, but not a member and rarely at- 
tended. To his log-rollings, corn-shuckings and wed- 
ding feasts of his children all his neighbors, even the 
poorest, were invited. He often said if his poor neigh- 
bors were good enough to come to his log-rollings they 
were good enough to come to his wedding feasts. . . . 
He was a kind husband, father and grandfather." 

From a sketch by Dr. H. R. Black at the union of 
the descendants of Patrick Crawford at Nazareth church 
18 — , we copy the following paragraph : 

"The following descendants (of Isaac Snoddy) are 
mentioned in order of their births: John Snoddy, Jr., 
was born January 28th, 1803, married Thressa R. Danial,. 



History of Spartanburg County. 299 

December 12th, 1833, by Rev. John G. Landruin ; the 
second time, Ellender P. Pearson, July 9th, 1845, by 
Rev. Z. L. Hohnes, and died February 14th, 1846. 
Margaret was born August 23d, 1804, married Joseph 
Thompson October 4th, 1827; ^i^^ May 12th, 1882. 
Elizabeth was born April nth, 1807, and married Joseph 
Nesbitt, September 8th, 1833, by Rev. Michael Dickson ; 
died May 24th, 1867. Patrick Crawford, born January 
i6th, 1809, unmarried, acted as assistant surgeon in the 
U. S. troops on the frontiers about 1829. He died January 
31st, 1830, about one month before his time for gradua- 
tion in Lexington, Ky. Infant son 1810. Mary was 
born January 28th, 181 2, married John H. Hoy, Febru- 
ary 23d, 1837, by Rev. J. G. Landrum. Jane was born 
January 24th, 1814, and married Martin O. Miller, Feb- 
ruary 28th, 1839, by Dr. E. J. Buist, and died January 
2ist, 1885. Samuel M. was born December 12th, 181 5, 
and married Rosa Benson October 5th, 1853, by Rev. 
R. H. Reed ; died 1898. Ann was born January i6th, 
1818, and married S. N. Drummond October 5th, 1843, 
by Rev. Pedan ; second marriage, N. B. Davis, Novem- 
ber 8th, 1859, by Rev. Simpson Drummond; died Janu- 
uary 27th, 1869. Nancy V., born December 27th, 1820, 
married Andrew J. Daniel, April 5th, 1838, by Rev. 
J. G. Landrum; died February 9th, 1895." 

Isaac Snoddy died January 28th, 1842. His widow, 
Jane Snoddy survived her husband twenty-two years and 
died on the 20th day of January, 1864, in the eighty-fifth 
year of her age. She was born on the Crawford place 
about one mile from Nazareth church, on the 27th day 
of February, 1 779. She was a kind and devoted wife, and 
after the death of her husband managed well the busi- 
ness of a large farm, and divided every year the profits 
of the same among her children. 

COLONEL SAMUEL MILLER SNODDY, 

son of Isaac and Jane Snoddy, was born December 12th, 
1815, and was named in honor of Samuel Aliller, his 
great half-uncle, to whom we have already referred. He 



300 



History of Spartanburg County. 



was raised on his father's farm and received a fair En- 
glish education in the best schools of his neighborhood. 
He chose farming for his occupation, and after he grew 
up to manhood purchased a valuable farm on Jorden's 
"Creek, waters of North Tyger, about three miles north- 
east of Welford, S. C, where he resided the remainder 




Col. S. M. Snoddy, 
In uniform as Colonel of 36lh Regiment, S. C. Militia. 

«of his life. From the time that he settled this place 
until he was about thirty-eight years of age, he lived the 
life of a bachelor in a community then more sparsely 
-•settled than at present, and during this time amused 
himself largely in fishing and hunting. Wild deer were 
then plentiful in the section of country between him 
;>and the mountains, and with a trained pack of hounds, 
which he kept all the time, and with his favorite hunt- 



History of Spartanburg County. 301 

ing companions, "Tyger" Moses Fosterand Samuel John- 
son, he kept his table supplied with the choicest venison. . 
He was a good shot and possessed a vigorous and robust 
constitution. In 1849 or '50 lie was elected captain of 
the beat company at Gowen's old muster ground, and 
later major of the upper battalion, 36th Regt., S. C. M., 
and finally to the colonelcy of said regiment. To the 
last two mentioned positions he was elected without op- 
position, and his military career as an officer over the 
militia covered a period of about seven years. 

As commander of the 36th Regiment Colonel Snoddy 
stood high. He seemed to appreciate fully the impend- 
ing danger which threatened the country and the im- 
portance of maintaining good military discipline. The 
36th Regiment mustered about 1,500 strong of men 
between the ages of 18 and 45 years, covering a military 
district of more than, half the present county of Spartan- 
burof. As a further evidence of what we have stated in 
reference to Colonel Snoddy as commander of the 36th 
Regiment, we quote from the Spartan files, August 
2ist, 1856 : 

"On Wednesday the review of the 36th Regiment took 
place. The earh' day gave promise of enjoyment, and 
we estimated the number upon the field at Bomar's at 
about 3,000 persons of all ages and sexes. We were 
pleased to see so many ladies present to heighten the 
charms of the occasion. 

' ' When the line had been formed and preparations for 
review completed by Col. Snoddy, Adjutant Webber was 
dispatched to apprise the commander-in-chief of the fact. 
At the head of his staff he immediately appeared at the 
camp colors, and was saluted by a discharge of artillery. 
The formality of military salute over, the regiment was 
put in motion, and executed the card of manoeuvres pre- 
viously arranged for the day in a manner highly credit- 
able to the officers and men. The regiment was then 
addressed by tlie Governor (Adams). . He complimented 



302 History of Spartanburg County. 

them for their discipline and prompt and cheerful dis- 
charge of dnty, saying, that while he could not award 
them the distinction of the best drilled regiment, he 
could say they were second to none he had reviewed on 
his present tour of duty ; and while not wishing to make 
invidious distinctions where all were praiseworthy, he 
felt impelled to bestow special commendation upon the 
artillery, which he thought equal to any uniformed com- 
pany in the State." 

Not many years after the resignation of Colonel Snoddy 
as colonel of the 36th Regiment, the civil war between 
the States came on, and although he was too far advanced 
in years for active service in the field, yet he did not fail 
to respond to his country's call when men of his age 
were called for. He enlisted, and w^as captain of a com- 
pany in the Battalion of State Reserves commanded by 
Major Joel Ballenger.* He discharged his duty faith- 
fully as an officer and soldier, and bore with patience 
the fatigues and hardships incidental to camp life. 

After the war was over Colonel Snoddy returned home, 
accepting the situation and adapting himself to the con- 
ditions which surrounded him as best he could. He be- 
stowed his attention on his farm, garden, etc. He was 
especially devoted to the culture of select flowering 
plants and trees, and his home was beautiful and attrac- 
tive. He felt a pride in his ancestry, and in 1897, in a 
field near George Bennett's between Reidville and Cash- 
ville, S. C. — the scene of the accidental killing of Pat- 
rick Crawford by Thomas Moore — he erected at his own 
expense a slab or stone to the memory of the former, 
placing his initials thereon. 

Colonel Snoddy kept himself well posted on all the 
current news of the day. He was an honest and up- 

* For the particulars of the service, hardships, etc., performed by 
Major Ballenger's Battalion, the reader is referred to the sketch of 
Captain J. F. Sloan, in this volume 



History of Spartanburg County. 303 

right citizen and a progressive farmer. He was a good 
neighbor, hospitable in his home, was a kind husband 
and affectionate father. His remains repose among his 
ancestors at Nazareth cemetery. By his marriage (1853) 
with Miss Rosa Benson, he had children as follows : — 
James R. Snoddy, who married j\Iary, daughter of Elias 
Richardson ; Nannie, who married David M. Coan ; and 
Mary, who married Dr. H. R. Black. 

THE CALDWELL FAMILY. 

Killing of Patrick Craivford. 

Among the oldest of the present familiar family names 
in Spartanburg county is the Caldwell family, nearly 
all of whom descended from John and Mary Caldwell, 
who emigrated from North Ireland to the present terri- 
tory of Spartanburg county about 1766 or '67, and 
formed a part of the early Scotch-Irish settlement on 
the Tygers. 

John Caldwell secured the ^King's grant to a tract of 
land within a mile of Nazareth Church which is still in 
the possession of some of the regular line of his poster- 
ity. The maiden name of his wife was Mary Young. 
When they came to America they brought with them 
one son, William Caldwell, who was born near Belfast, 
in the county of Antrim, about the year 1760. 

At the breaking out of the Revolutionary war Wil- 
liam Caldwell was about sixteen or seventeen years old 
and took an active part on the side of liberty. He served 
in that struggle in various ways, first as a scout and then 
as a private soldier. At different times he was a mem- 
ber of the companies of Captains John Collins and John 
Barry, which, in 1780, formed a part of the Spartan or 
Fair-forest Regiment under the command of Colonel 
John Thomas, Jr. He was in two regular engagements, 



304 History of Spartanburg County. 

Blackstocks and Cowpens. In the latter battle, one of 
his comrades recognizing a brother in the British ranks, 
standing behind a tree, said : "Don't shoot that man, 
for he is my brother." 

When the enemy had been defeated and nearly all 
of Tarleton's army captured, Wm. Caldwell got leave of 
absence and was the first to carry the glorious news of 
the battle at Cowpens back to his neighbors at home. 
At Nicholl's Ford, on North Tyger, near the present 
Anderson's Mill, he met Mrs. Kate Barry (Margaret 
Catharine) wife of Captain Andrew Barry, swimming the 
river. The first thing she heard after crossing the river 
was one of the Nicholls girls running to meet her and 
shouting, "Glorious news, Peggy Barry, we whipped 
the British yesterday, and I have seen the man (Wm. 
Caldwell) that shook hands with Andrew Barry after the 
battle was over." Mrs. Barry had heard the firing of 
cannons the day before and had left three or four children 
at home, and had ridden out to hear the tidings of the 
battle. Wm. Caldwell assured her that her husband was 
safe, and would soon be home. 

After the war was over and American Independence 
was gained, William Caldwell settled down and went to 
farming. He was a good neighbor and citizen. On 
February 20th, 1792, he married Margaret, second child 
and oldest daughter of Patrick Crawford, whose sad fate 
has been handed down to the present generations by tra- 
dition only. Patrick Crawford, through mistake, was 
killed during the latter part of the Revolution by his 
best friend, Thomas ]\Ioore, in an engagement near Cash- 
ville, in Spartanburg county. They were both members 
of Captain Andrew Barry's company. The company 
was to rendezvous at the two roads above Cashville for 
the purpose of following up a noted Tory scouting party. 
Two parties of said company came in contact, each 



History of Spartanburg County, 305 

believing the other the enemy they were seeking. 
Patrick Crawford was at the head of one of the Whig 
scouts and was killed before the mistake was discovered. 
Thomas Moore took deliberate aim and killed him in 
the fight, which continued until Captain Barry's noted 
dog trotted between the combatants, and seeing old 
Hunter, as the dog was called, they at once realized their 
mistake and ceased firing. It is said that Mr. Crawford's 
name was never mentioned afterward in Thomas Moore's 
jDresence without bringing tears to his eyes (see sketch 
of General Thomas Moore, page 191). 

William Caldwell, when he married to Margaret Craw- 
ford, was about thirty-two, while his bride was only 
about fifteen years of age. The latter was a lifelong 
member of Nazareth Church, and as good a woman as 
any sleeping in the cemetery near by. 

By the marriage between William Caldwell and Mar- 
garet Crawford eleven children were born, four sons and 
seven daughters, and all were raised. The boys grew 
up and became good and useful citizens. Two of them, 
John C. and James, filled the office of magistrate for 
many years, to the credit and satisfaction of the people 
of Spartanburg District. They both, living in different 
sections of the district, did a great deal of business, 
especially James, as he moved to and lived in the upper 
part of the district, on South Pacolet, near Gowensville, 
a section in which there was no other magistrate. 

Patrick Crawford Caldwell, one of the four sons 
referred to, was a blacksmith of good repute and an ex- 
cellent citizen. William Harvey Caldwell, another son, 
was also highly esteemed as a citizen. 

All the daughters of William Caldwell grew to 
womanhood, and all married, making good wives, good 
mothers, and useful women. They, it is said, were all 
noted for their domestic refinement and cleanliness — one 



3o6 History of Spartanburg County. 

of the chief Christian virtues. Their names were Polly 
Miller, Jane McCarley, Katie Young Hadden, Elizabeth 
Hadden, Ann Anderson, Margaret Gaston, and Eleanor 
Wright. 

From these daughters, together with the four sons 
mentioned, the number of descendants, both living and 
dead, will amount to between five and six hundred. Of 
the daughters mentioned, Elizabeth Hadden lived to the 
age of about ninety-five years. With the exception of 
Ann Anderson, burial place unknown, and Elizabeth 
Wright, buried at Woodruff, S. C. , the remains of 
almost the entire Caldwell family repose in the cemetery 
of Nazareth. 

It is said that Wm. Caldwell had an inveterate hatred 
for the Tories. It is further said that among the victims 
of the noted raid of "Bloody Bill" Cunningham and 
his command to the up-country in November, 1780, were 
John Caldwell, brother of William, hacked to pieces, 
and John Snoddy, besides others. (See "Colonial and 
Revolutionary History of Upper South Carolina," pp, 
341-364.) 

On the tombstone of William Caldwell are the follow- 
ing lines placed there at his own request : 

" Remember mie as you pass by, 
As you are now, so once was I. 
As I am now, so you must be. 
Prepare for death and follow me." 



CHAPTER XXIV. 

HON. JAMES JORDEN. 

In the early liistory of Spartanburg county no one 
figured more prominently than James Jorden, who was 
among the first settlers on the Tygers. On his paternal 
side it is said that he was Scotch, and on his maternal 
side Irish. He was doubtless well nurtured and trained 
by his parents, receiving the best education that could 
be obtained at his day and time. His birthplace was 
probably in the State of Pennsylvania, as most of the 
Scotch-Irish settlers on the Tygers came from that 
country. 

In the annals of the documentary history of the im- 
portant events which occurred within the territory em- 
braced in the original county of Spartanburg, which we 
gather in fragments here and there, the first record we 
find of any public service rendered by James Jorden was 
when he was commissary of old F'ort Prince during the 
year 1776. As an evidence of this fact, his old record 
book, w^hile serving in this capacity, was found eighty- 
two years afterwards, and copies of entries made therein 
are at present to be found in Spartan files under date of 
October 7th, 1858. 

The book referred to is described as being two by four 
inches in size, much mutilated, and containing about 
thirty or forty pages. From the appearance of the copies 
made from the original entries, a splendid system of 
bookkeeping is displayed, well worthy of modern imi- 
tation. 

The site of Old Fort Prince is seven miles west of 
Spartanburg, one mile below Mount Zion Church, and 

(307) 



3o8 History of Spartanburg County. 

very near the old historic Blackstock road. It was built 
by the early settlers, says Draper, about twelve years 
before the beginning of the Revolution, as a defence 
against the outbreak and massacres of the Indians on 
the borders during the war between France and Great 
Britain, some particulars of which we have given in an- 
other volume.* It was called from the Princes, who 
lived near by. Among the earliest settlers living in the 
vicinity of Fort Prince were the families Vernons, Jor- 
dens, Timmons, Reas or Rays, Millers, Dodds, Collins, 
Lawrences, Bishops, Goodletts, Jamisons, and others. 
These came to this section before the Revolution, and 
some of their descendants still hover around the home 
of their ancestors. 

It was during the Indian outrages of 1776, instigated 
by Indian emissaries or agents, an account of which we 
have published elsewhere, f that the early settlers in the 
vicinities of Fort Prince, Poole's Fort near Wofford's 
Iron Works (now Glendale), Nicholl's Fort at "Narrow 
Pass" near the residence of the late Captain David An- 
derson, Blockliouse near Landrum, Thickety and other 
forts gathered and erected forts to defend themselves 
from an impending danger. During these trying ordeals 
it was necessary that a proper person be selected to pur- 
chase supjDlies for the maintenance of these people, and 
the person selected for this responsible duty at Fort 
Prince was James Jorden. 

At the period when the entries referred to were made, 
James Jorden was an old bachelor, and lived at the house 
of Robert Goodlett, about one mile from the fort, which 
was sufficiently near for him to attend to his duties as 
commissarv of the fort. 



*Sea "Colonial and Revolutionary Histor}- of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 28. 

fSee "Colonial and Revolutionar}' Histor}- of Upper South Caro- 
lina," pp 84 to 99. 



History of Spartanburg County. 309 

Some time during or after the Revolution James Jor- 
den married to Mrs. Margaret Miller, whose name appears 
in the old commissary book. In another volume* we 
have given an account of the killing of Mr. John IVIiller, 
which occurred during the Indian outrages of 1776, at 
or near Barry's Bridge. The writer is in possession of a 
MS. letter from Mr. Lawrence D. Miller, Jacksonville, 
Ala., under date of July 7th, 1890, which states that at 
the time this murder took place, Mrs. Margaret Miller, 
wife of John Miller (to whom James Jorden afterwards 
married), and her son Samuel were, with other neigh- 
bors, in Fort Nicholls for protection, which was about 
one mile distant. The son Samuel referred to was known 
in late years as Sheriff Sam Miller, whose name and 
character are well known to many of the older citizens 
of Spartanburg county. 

It would appear from the letter of Mr. Miller referred 
to and the old account book of James Jorden, that Mrs. 
Margaret Miller was the inmate, at different times, of the 
two forts during the years 1776-77. It was some time 
during these years that James Jorden, then an old bach- 
elor, became enamored by her charms and made her the 
wife of his bosom. By this union three children were 
born, viz. : Elizabeth, John and Margaret. The latter 
became the wife of James Vernon, son of Alexander, 
whose name also appears in the MS. accounts of James 
Jorden. 

We are unable at this time to state fully the part that 
James Jorden took in the great Revolutionary struggle 
for independence, but can say without fear of contradic- 
tion that it was a prominent one, and that he greatly 
aided in the work of disenthrallment from British tyr- 
anny. It may be truly said of him that he was a prom- 

*See "Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 90. 



3IO History of Spartanburg County. 

inent and distinguished man for his day and generation, 
not only for his advocacy of letters, but as an adminis- 
trator of law, having received the commission of judge 
of the first courts held in Spartanburg county, as shown 
elsewhere. He was also a member from Spartanburg 
county of the first Constitutional Convention of South 
Carolina held after the close of the Revolution ; and he, 
with the entire delegation from his county, voted for a 
form of government that pertained more to a monarchy 
than a republic, the latter being an experiment rather 
than a reality. But, despite the immaturity of public 
opinion which prevailed at that time, he, in this, as in 
all other public acts of his life, consulted not the public 
sentiment of his day, but boldly and independently pur- 
sued the leadings of his own judgment. 

As shown elsewhere, James Jorden was a representa- 
tive to the State Legislature from 1788 to '90, and sena- 
tor from the same county from 1800 to '02. His death 
occurred in 1802. 

During the time that he was a membei of the Legis- 
lature of South Carolina, owing to his high appreciation 
of the advantages of education, he voted for the first ap- 
propriation for the establishment of the South Carolina 
College. 

It has been said of him, that, despite the many virtues 
that shone resplendent in his private character, the Hon. 
James Jorden was not influential alone from private 
worth, but in his day stood preeminently forth as an ora- 
tor. He was not only remarkable for his flow of lan- 
guage, but also for the chasteness of his style, the devel- 
opment of his argumentative power, and the earnestness, 
grace and elegance of his manner. Such is the testi- 
mony handed down by those who heard him in debate 
as well as on the rostrum. 

We are unable to obtain the date of birth of James 



History of Spartanburg County. 311 

Jorden, but we would fix it not far from 1725. His 
wife, Margaret, whose first husband, John Miller, was 
killed by the Tories, as already stated, was born April 
ist, 1740. Her son Samuel Miller (Sheriff Sam), by 
first husband, was born June nth, 1768. The children 
of James and Margaret Jorden, being three, were born 
following dates : Elizabeth, September 8th, 1778 ; John, 
July nth, 1780 ; and Margaret (wife of James Vernon), 
October 13th, 1782. 

THE VERNON FAMILY. 

Among the early settlers on the Tygers in the present 
county of Spartanburg was Alexander Vernon, from 
whom has sprung a long and respectable line of posterit}'. 
He was born in Scotland January 24th, 1732, and emi- 
grated to America when about twenty-one years of age, 
finally, in 1755, settling on North Tyger River at the 
present homestead residence of James J. Vernon. It was 
during this year (1755) that this section of country was 
thrown open to settlement by virtue of the treaty of 
Governor Glen with the Cherokee Indians. His wife 
was Margaret Chesnee, born also in Scotland. He 
brought with him evidences of high respectability and 
Christian character, both for himself and wife. On 
the 29th of May, 1755, he obtained a letter from the 
minister (Sam Brown) of his church in the parish of 
Tarry town, stating that he had lived in said parish "from 
his infancy in an innocent and inoffensive manner in all 
respects" ; that he had "ever been free of any public scan- 
dal or church censure," and was " justly entitled to the 
privileges of any Christian society or congregation where 
Providence" should "order his lot," the samebeingsigned 
not only by his minister, but by Will Hannah and other 
elders. Another letter of a similar character, dated May 
17th, 1760, was obtained for his wife Margaret Chesnee, 



312 History of Spartanburg County. 

and one for his brother James Vernon. The tradition in 
the family is, that five years after he left his native parish 
in Scotland he returned and married Margaret Chesnee. 
His old family Bible is yet in a state of preservation, 
being in the hands of the family of Judge T. O. P. Ver- 
non. He died at the age of 55 years, and his remains 
were interred in the cemetery at Nazareth Church. His 
will was recorded at Ninety-six C. H. 

Alexander and Margaret (Chesnee) Vernon had chil- 
dren as follows : John Vernon, born 1758; Nancy Ver- 
non, born 1761, married ]\Iichael Miller; Margaret Ver- 
non, born 1763, married David Jorden ; James Vernon, 
born 1765, married Margaret, daughter of James Jorden ; 
Mary Vernon, born 1767, married John Crawford. 

Michael and Nancy (Vernon) Miller had children as 
follows: John V. Miller, born 1761 ; Margaret (Peggy) 
Miller, born 1786, married John Montgomery (see Mont- 
gomery family) ; Mary (Polly) Miller, born 1788, married 
James M. Anderson ("Tyger Jim," see Anderson family) ; 
Hannah Miller, born 1793, married Theron Earle (see 
Earle family); Elizabeth (Betsy) Miller, born 1791, 
married David Dantzler ; Henry Miller, born 1795; 
James V. Miller, born 1797, married Mariah Hannon ; 
Alexander Miller, born 1800, married Silvina Whet- 
stone; Clarinda Miller, born 1803, married David Whet- 
stone; and Catharine (Katy) Miller, born 1806, married 
Willis Benson. 

The children of James and Margaret (Jorden) Vernon 
were as follows : Alexander Vernon, born 1799, married 
Ann Gray; Nancy Vernon, born 1802; Mary (Polly) 
Vernon, born 1804, married John Bomar, Jr. (see Bomar 
family); Jas. J. Vernon, born 1806, married Anii Oeland 
(see sketch); John G. Vernon, born 1808, married Miss 
Gault ; Elizabeth (Betsy) Vernon, born 1810, married 
first Isaac Snoddy (see Snoddy family), and second Rich- 



History of Spartanburg County. 313 

ard Ballenger; x'Vndrew J. Vernon, first, born 1815; An- 
drew J. Vernon, second, born 1816, married Georgiana 
Moore; Thomas O. P. Vernon, born 1818, married Har- 
riet Bomar (see sketch of Judge T. O. P. Vernon)'; and 
Henry Franklin Vernon, born 1822, married Letitia 
Blackwell. 

Alexander Miller, son of Michael and Silvina (Whet- 
stone) Miller, had children as follows : William Henry 
Miller, James M. Miller, Andrew B. Miller, Nancy and 
Mary Jane Miller. 

David and Clarinda (Miller) W'hetstone had children 
as follows : Asbiiry Whetstone, Jas. A. Whetstone, Mi- 
chael W' hetstone (married Charity Lites), Dantzler Whet- 
stone, Nancy W. Whetstone (married Dr. Samuel INIeans), 
Mary Whetstone (married L. Weeks), Elizabeth and 
Laura Whetstone. 

Willis and Catharine (Miller) Benson had children as 
follows: Nancy (married Peter Joe Oeland), Henry, Mar- 
garet, Fannie, and Samuel Benson. 

John and Polly (Vernon) Bomar had children as fol- 
lows : Elizabeth (Betty), married Dr. R. E. Cleveland 
(see sketch); Margaret, married Major Thos. H. Bomar; 
Louesa, married Major John Earle Bomar (see sketch). 

David and Betsey (Miller) Dantzler had children as 
follows : Barbary, married Major John Stroble ; Louis, 
married Eliza Shuler ; Cedie, married John Poole ; Mar- 
garet, married Rev. Andrew Pedan ; and Mary, married 
Henry Rush. 

James and Mariah (Hannon) Miller had children as 
follows : Caroline, Elizabeth, Catharine Jane, Eliza, 
James, Michael and Henrietta Miller (now Mrs. Colonel 
Witt of Arkansas). 

Isaac and Betsey (Vernon) Snoddy had children as 
follows : Margaret, married Dr. John C. Oeland (see 
sketch of Dr. J. C. Oeland), and James Snoddy. By mar- 



--314 



History of Spartanburg County, 



triage between Richard and Betsey (Snoddy) Ballenger, 
one son was born, Oscar, who married Miss Staggs. 

JAMES JORDEN VERNON, M.D., 

son of James and Margaret (Jorden) Vernon, was born 
-on North Tyger at the old homestead of his father (now 
the residence of his son, Mr. James J. Vernon) near 
Welford, S. C, March 2d, 1807, and died in Spartanburg, 
■'S. C, vSeptember i8th, 1864, aged fifty-seven years. 

Receiving a good 

English education and 
s o m e fitness in the 
classics, Dr. Vernon be- 
gan the study of medi- 
cine at the age of sev- 
enteen in the office of 
Dr. Robert M. Young, 
then a prominent phy- 
sician in the town of 
Spartanburg, and grad- 
uated at the University 
o f Pennsylvania i n 
1828. 

Returning home from Philadelphia he practiced med- 
"icine at his father's homestead (which subsequently 
became his property) for two years, and then removed to 
Spartanburg, where he built up an extensive practice 
and earned an enviable reputation in medicine, being a 
noted diagnostician. He had a wide scope of labor which 
reached to neighboring towns into North Carolina, a dis- 
tance from Spartanburg upwards of over thirty miles. 
During his professional life he had a number of young 
men in his office preparing for a medical course, and 
among them we would mention the names of Dr. Booker, 
Dr. R. E. Cleveland, Dr. John Anderson, Dr. O. G. 
Chapman (Texas), and Dr. John C. Oeland. 




Dr. J. J. Vernon. 



History of Spartanburg County. 315 

Dr. Vernon married to Miss Ann Eliza Oeland Janu- 
.ary 25th, 1844, danghter of John and Catharine Oeland, 
who resided at Forest Hill (on Fair Forest) in Spartan- 
burg District, S. C. By this marriage two sons and three 
daughters were born, viz. : J. J. Vernon, Dr. John O. 
Vernon, Mary, Hattie and Lizzie. After his marriage 
Dr. Vernon returned to his plantation on North Tyger, 
where he resided and continued in the practice of his 
profession until within a few years prior to the outbreak 
of the civil war, when he removed to Spartanburg, where 
he resided until the day of his death. 

In personal appearance he was tall, well-proportioned, 
and always had a cheerful face ; he was always kind and 
genial in disposition and administered not only as a phy- 
sician, but as a neighbor to the wants and comforts of 
others. He was a consistent member of the Presbyte- 
rian church, and a generous contributor to all of its 
objects. 

He was elected by the people of Spartanburg District 
to the Convention of South Carolina in 1852, and served 
during the session of that body which met in Columbia. 
His colleagues were Rev. J. G. Landrum, Colonel James 
Farrow, Colonel R. C. Poole, Dr. John Winsmith and 
Dr. Peter M. Wallace. 

His remains lie buried in the cemetery of Nazareth 
Church. Let his memory be preserved as a man who 
made the world better by his having lived in it. 

JUDGE THOMAS O. P. VERNON. 

Among the native born sons of the " Old Iron Dis- 
trict ' ' who have figured in a past day in her history, 
none are deserving of more special notice than Judge 
T. O. P. Vernon, the subject of this sketch. 

He was the son of James and Margaret (Jorden) Ver- 
Jtion, born 1818, on North Tyger at the old homestead 



3i6 



History of Spartanburg County. 



place of his father, which was settled by__his grandfather 
Alexander Vernon, and which still remains in the Xer- 
non family. Here he was principally bronght np, and 
when about nineteen years of age he entered the Uni- 
versity of Georgia (Athens), from which institution he 
was graduated. Returning home he read law, was 
admitted to the bar, and his brilliant talents were soon 
recognized by the people of his native county. He was 
specially distinguished for his eloquence as an orator, 

his influence as a jour- 
nalist, his ability as an 
attorney, and his firm- 
ness and impartiality 
as a jurist. 

He had not been long 
at the bar before the 
legislature elected him 
commissioner in equity 
for Spartanburg Dis- 
trict, and he was also 
for many years asso- 
ciate editor of the Caro- 
lina Spartan^ and in 
this capacity always wielded his pen for whatever he 
considered the best interests of his country. As already 
stated, he excelled in brilliant oratory, and " every cele- 
bration of the battle of Cowpens, every Fourth of July 
celebration, every public reception of distinguished vis- 
itors, in fact, every occasion calling for the orator or 
ready speaker within reach, claimed his name as the 
most prominent on the list." In 1858 he was forced out 
against his will as a candidate for Congress, and although 
unsuccessful in the congressional district, he carried his 
native district by an overwhelming majority. He served 
as judge of the inferior (district) court in Spartanburg,, 




Judge T. O. P. Vernon. 



History of Spartanburg County. 317 

soon after the civil war, under the reconstruction meas- 
ures devised under the administration of President 
Johnson. Afterwards he was elected judge of the circuit 
court, and during the time that he served as such won 
the approval and admiration of his countrymen, which 
should always be remembered and preserved in the 
pages of history. 

" It was in the fall of 1870, the day after the election 
in Laurens, where, during the sitting of his (Judge Ver- 
non's) court, the celebrated Laurens riot, the first serious 
revolt in the State against radical oppression, broke out 
and involved the surrounding countr3^ Regardless of 
the presentment of the grand jury, prepared under the 
direction of the court, a command of six hundred troops 
under General Corbin, were sent to Laurens to arrest 
some of her best citizens, who were carried to Columbia 
and imprisoned. 

" After several weeks imprisonment, with the constant 
threat of lynching or assassination hanging over them, 
and after many ineffectual efforts on the part of their 
counsel to secure bail from other judges, and a direct 
refusal to allow them to be brought to Spartanburg to 
appear before Judge Vernon, he determined to go to 
Columbia to hear their cases. Finding it impossible by 
bribe or threats to influence his action, the legislature, 
then in session, determined to impeach him before he 
could act. The prisoners were in the court-room and 
the judge in his seat hearing argument on the writ of 
habeas corpus when the messenger from the House rushed 
in and handed the judge the resolutions of impeachment, 
thinking that would suspend further actions. It was 
then that his true nature asserted itself, as he threw aside 
the resolutions with the indignant remark that it did 
not prevent him from exercising the functions of his 
office, and that he would proceed with the cases and re- 
lease the gentlemen on bond and allow them to return 
to their homes. He knew that this step would cost him 
his position, but, to use the phrase of a distinguished 
spectator, 'he died with the great writ of habeas corpus 



3i8 History of Spartanburg County. 

in his hands,' and the people of the State, particnlarl}^ 
those of Laurens, will always remember it." 

It is needless to say that while this bold and decided 
action of Judge Vernon, which required continuous sit- 
ting on the bench thirty-six hours, did cost him his offi- 
cial head, yet time soon vindicated his action, and the 
political prosecutions against the prisoners released were 
dropped or }ioI-prossed. 

Judge Vernon, in retiring from the bench, was highly 
complimented by a formal address from the members of 
the Abbeville bar and by the press over the entire State. 
He died in the 57tli year of his age. Appropriate reso- 
lutions were passed upon his death in 1877 by the Spar- 
tanburg bar. 

Judge Vernon, as already stated, married Miss 
Harriet, daughter of Elisha Bomar, Esq., and sister of 
Major John Earle Bomar, a congenial and devoted wife, 
who survived him for some ten or fifteen years. By this 
marriage the following children were born : John E. 
Vernon, Paul B. Vernon, Frank P. Vernon, Thomas W. 
Vernon, James Edward Vernon and Misses Ellen L. ani 
Lillie E. Vernon. 



CHAPTER XXV. 

THE MONTGOMERY FAMILY. 

Ill our researches into the "Genealogical History of" 
the Family of Montgomery," including the Montgomery 
pedigree compiled by Thomas Harrison Montgomery 
of Philadelphia, and published in 1863, we find that the 
families referred to in said volume descended from dis- 
tinguished ancestry. The earliest records we have of 
the family place its origin in the north of France in the 
ninth century. Its history leads up to the present 
through an unbroken succession of ten centuries in 
length, as shown by accompanying chart to said vol-- 
ume, the first known of the name being Roger de Mont- 
gomerie, w^ho was "Count of Montgomerie before the 
coming of Rolle" in 912. 

Throughout the entire succession of generations in 
this family w^e find the familiar names of Alexander, 
William, Hugh, James, John and Robert, and among 
the females Mary, Elizabeth and Margaret. 

During the period mentioned a number of these occu- 
pied the distinguished positions of earls, lords, and baro- 
nets in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland. Some 
of the descendants of these were distinguished soldiers 
of the Revolution and in the War of 18 12 with Great 
Britain. Among this number we would mention General 
Richard Montgomery, whose name in Revolutionary 
annals is specially identified with the siege of Quebec,, 
where he lost his life, December, 1775, and Brigadier- 
General John Montgomery, of New Hampshire, who,, 
during the war of 181 2, defended the harbor of Ports- 
mouth against the attacks of the British.. 

(319) 



320 History of Spartanburg County. 

The original ancestor of the Montgomery family that 
made settlement in the present connty of Spartanburg 
was John Montgomery, Scotch-Irish, who emigrated 
from north of Ireland to Pennsylvania before the Revo- 
lution, and subsequently to Spartanburg in 1785, and 
settled on North Tyger River, near Snoddy's Bridge. 
He married in Pennsylvania to Rosa Roddy, and by 
this marriage had seven children, as follows : 

Alexander, who married Miss Samons ; John,* who 
married Margaret Miller ; James, who married a Miss 
Walker ; Robert, who never married ; Hugh, who mar- 
ried a Miss Reynolds ; Margaret, who married Edward 
(Neddy) Clemont ; and Mary, who married James Morton. 

Of the sons mentioned, Alexander had thirteen chil- 
dren, and among these we gather the names of Alfred, 
Anoldus, Robert, Mathias, Edward, Elias, John and 
Minerva. The last named married Curtis Bradley. 

James Montgomery had tM^o sons, viz. : John W. and 
Robert. 

Hugh Montgomery had eight children, viz. : John, 
James, Thomas, Walker, David, Elias, Mary and Eliz- 
abeth. Of these, Mary married Gross, and Eliza- 
beth married Shadrach Barton. 

John Montgomery, Esq., one of the sons mentioned, 
was a man of considerable prominence and influence in 
his day, being above the average in intelligence and 
general information. He was a progressive farmer and 
carried on the business of blacksmithing and woodwork. 
• He was a manufacturer of wagons at a time in the his- 
tory of Spartanburg District when imported wagons 
were unknown. By honest industry he accumulated a 
handsome property. He was a good provider, hospita- 
ble in his home, and a progressive citizen. He was for 
many years a magistrate, appointed by enactment of the 

* Grandfather of the author of the present work. 



History of Spartanburg County. 321 

General Assembly of South Carolina, and was an efficient 
officer in this capacity. He was a soldier of the war of 
181 2, being orderly sergeant in the company of Captain 
James Brannon, which was known as the Old Artillery 
Company, and which paraded for a half century or more 
at Timmon's Old Field prior to the outbreak of the 
civil w^ar. 

His death occurred in 1847 or '48. As already stated, 
he married Margaret Miller, daughter of Michael Miller, 
who was a very remarkable woman for her day and gen- 
eration. She w^as born near the close of the Revolu- 
tionary war, September i6th, 1786, and died in 1882, 
in the 96th year of her age. For eighty years or more 
she had been a consistent and faithful member of the 
Presbyterian Church at Nazareth. Her life was marked 
by her love of the Bible and her intelligent comprehen- 
sion of its contents. As her physical constitution was 
of the iron type, so her mental faculties were strong and 
vigorous. She studied the Bible attentively, carefully 
and prayerfully all through life, and committed to mem- 
ory large portions of it, and also many of Newton's 
hymns. The treasures which she gathered in early 
youth proved to be a great comfort to her in old age. 
All through her long life duty was to her a word full of 
meaning. Living remote from her church (Nazareth), 
she and John Smith, a neighbor and a useful and ac- 
ceptable elder in the same, organized and conducted a 
Sunday-school near her dwelling, which was sustained 
for thirty years. Old and weary of the world, she passed 
away as gently as the wave dies along the shore when 
the storm is over. 

The children of John and Margaret (Miller) Mont- 
gomery were thirteen in number, viz.: Nancy Miller, 
married Dr. Andrew B. Moore first, and Colonel Samuel 
N. Evans second ; Rosa Roddy, married John Chap- 

21 h sc 



322 History of Spartanburg County. 

man, Jr., Esq. ; Mary (Polly), married William Cunning- 
ham, Esq. ; Benjamin Franklin, married Miss Harriet, 
daughter of James Moss ; Elizabeth, married Rev. John 
G. Landrum ; John Crawford, died in childhood ; Mi- 
chael Miller, married Miss Martha Corry of Union Dis- 
trict, S. C. ; Chevis C, married Miss Mary McCarrell of 
Greenville District, S. C. ; Hannah Amanda, married 
Colonel S. N. Evins (second wife) ; Catharine, married 
Edward Ballenger ; Thomas Earle, married Miss vSarali 
Ballenger; Prater Scott, married Miss Catharine (Kate) 
Goudelock of Union District, S. C. ; and Margaret, mar- 
ried William Moore of Morganton, N. C. 

Of these only three are living at this writing (1900) : 
B. F. Montgomery, Rusk county, Texas; Mrs. Hannah 
Evins, Welford, S. C, and Mrs, Margaret Moore at Spar- 
tanburg. One of the sons. Prater S. Montgomery, con- 
tracted disease during the civil war from which he died 
at its close, leaving a wife and three children, viz. : 
James, John, and Mary (Mrs. Daniel, now deceased). 

Of the grandsons of John and Margaret Montgomery 
five gave up their lives on field of battle in the civil war 
between the States, viz.: Andrew Charles Moore (i8th 
Regt., S. C. V.) , son of Dr. A. B. and Nancy Moore, killed 
second Manassas ; W'arren Davis Chapman (Richmond 
Battalion), son of John and Rosa R. Chapman, wounded 
below Richmond and died a few days afterward; Captain 
Michael M. Cunningham (6th Regt., S. C. V.), son of 
William and Mary Cunningham, killed in Virginia; 
Robert Scott Montgomery (Texas Regiment), son of 
B. F. and Harriet Montgomery, killed at Franklin, Tenn.; 
and John Oscar Montgomery (i8th S. C. Regiment), son 
of Michael M. and Martha Montgomery, killed at second 
Manassas. 

B. F'. and Harriet (Moss) Montgomery had twelve 
children, viz.: John Henry, James M., Nancy Elizabeth, 



History of Spartanburg County. 323 

Robert Scott, Benjamin Landrnm, Emily IMargaret, 
Francis B., Mary Crawford, William C., Anna Caroline, 
Sarah Cornelius and Joseph Oscar. At this writing 
(1899) bnly four of these are living, viz. : John H., Ben- 
jamin Iv. (Hillville, near Enoree, S. C), Elizabeth 
McCravy and Anna Rogers, the two latter residing in 
Texas. 

CAPTAIN JOHN HENRY MONTGOMERY, 

eldest of the twelve children referred to of Benj. F. 
and Harriet (Moss) Montgomery, was born fourteen miles 
west of the city of Spartanburg, December 8th, 1833. 
He was brought up on his father's farm, receiving the 
best education that could be afforded in the common 
schools of his neighborhood. One of his instructors 
was Richard Golightly, whom we have mentioned at 
another place in this volume. Not possessing what 
might be called a strong constitution, he was, at the age 
of nineteen years, placed in the country store of James 
Nesbitt, in the southern portion of the present county of 
Spartanburg. He held this position for a year, for 
which he was paid $5 per month and board. During 
this year, without questioning the propriety, he per- 
formed all the requirements of his employer. He worked 
around the house and barn, and though hired as a 
clerk, his first work was to drive a four-horse team loaded 
with flour to the iron works at the present site of Clif- 
ton, S- C, a distance of thirty miles, loading back with 
iron and nails. 

From Mr. Nesbitt's store he went to Columbia and 
worked as a clerk for four months in the store of Robert 
Brice, which w^as during the winter of 1 853-' 54. The 
next spring he entered into a partnership with his 
brother-in-law, Dr. E. R. W. McCrary, in the mercantile 



324 History of Spartanburg County. 

business at Hobby ville, S. C, which was but a few miles 
from the store of his old employer. 

In the fall of 1855 the parents of Mr. Montgomery, 
his four brothers and six sisters, together with his 
brother-in-law and partner, removed to Texas, leaving 
him the sole member of the family remaining in South 
Carolina. With a limited capital he continued in the 




Capt. John H. Montgomkry. 

mercantile business at Hobbyville for three years or 
more, meeting all the obligations which had been con- 
tracted by the firm in good faith, but under trying diffi- 
culties. 

In 1857 he married to Miss Susan A. Holcombe, 
daughter of David Holcombe, a native of Union county, 
S. C, who settled in Spartanburg in 1845. In 1858 he 
moved his stock of merchandise to a store owned bv his 



History of Spartanburg County. 325 

father-in-law two miles distant, where he continued in 
the business of a merchant in connection with a small 
tannery until the outbreak of the civil war. In Decem- 
ber, 1861, he volunteered his services to his country and 
was enrolled as a private in Co. E, i8th Regt., S. C. V. 
Upon the organization 01 said regiment, however, he 
was appointed regimental commissary with the rank of 
captain. This office, under new army regulations, was 
abolished in 1863, and Captain Montgomery was made 
an assistant commissary of the brigade, which office was 
also abolished in 1864, and he was then made an assist- 
ant division commissary, continuing as such until the 
close of the war, surrendering with General Lee at Ap- 
pomattox, April, 1865. 

Returning home after the war, he began life anew as 
it were. Besides owning a small farm, upon which he had 
depended for the support of his family during the war, 
he had a small stock of leather, the accumulation of his 
small tannery, which was the only property he possessed. 

In 1866 he began the use of commercial fertilizers 
upon his farm, and soon demonstrated to his neighbors 
the importance of stimulating plant growth. He at 
once engaged in the sale of fertilizers to his neighbors 
and surrounding country, which was the dawning of a 
new era of prosperity in his business career. He had 
all the while successfully conducted the business of his 
tannery, and in 1870 resumed his merchandizing at the 
same place. 

His sale of commercial fertilizers had assumed such 
proportions as to make it necessary to give up farming, 
and later, all other branches of business. In 1874 he 
removed to Spartanburg and turned his attention ex- 
clusively to fertilizers, associating himself with Colonel 
Joseph Walker and Dr. C. E. Fleming, under the name 
of Walker, Fleming & Co. 



326 History of Spartanburg County. 

In 1 88 1 this firm purchased a water-power on Pacolet 
River, known as Trough Shoals, and in 1882 com- 
menced the erection of the Pacolet Manufacturing Com- 
pany, which was completed the following year.' The 
company was incorporated in 1881, with Captain Mont- 
gomery as its president and treasurer, which position he 
still holds. In 1887 the capacity of this mill was 26,224 
spindles and 840 looms, but it was again enlarged in 
1894, making it the third mill of the company, contain- 
ing in the aggregate 57,000 spindles and 22,000 looms. 
Its annual consumption of cotton is about 30,000 bales, 
and its capital about $500,000. 

In 1889 Captain Montgomery was made the president 
and treasurer of the Spartan mills. For information as 
to the capacity of these mills the reader is referred to 
our review on the progress of manufacturing in Spartan- 
burg at another place in this volume. Captain jNIont- 
gomery is a stockholder and director in the Whitney 
mill, the Lockhart mill and Morgan Iron works, and also 
a stockholder in the Clifton mills. 

Aside from his business relations to the companies 
referred to, he is in every sense of the word a model 
gentleman, fully alive to every enterprise and business 
industry looking to the development and upbuilding of 
his country. Notwithstanding he has been successful in 
his business investments, and has accumulated a hand- 
some fortune, he has been liberal with his means and a 
generous contributor to every worthy object of charity 
with which he has been confronted. 

He has been for nearly a half century a consistent 
member of the Baptist church, which he has most always 
represented in the annual meetings of the association. 
In his church he is among the foremost in the support 
of his pastor, and of all the claims of missions and 
charity coming before it. 



History of Spartanburg County. 327 

In another place in this volume we have endeavored 
to state the circumstances under which the Hon. Peter 
Cooper of New York donated the valuable property 
comprising the institution building and surrounding 
grounds at Limestone Springs to the Spartanburg Baptist 
Association, the history of the progress of which we 
have recorded. In 1888 Captain Montgomery succeeded 
to the presidency of the board of trustees of the Cooper 
Limestone Institute, now known as Limestone College, 
and its marked success from year to year has been mainly 
due to his indomitable energy, excellent judgment and 
contributions from his private means, which have already 
amounted to some $15,000 or more. He still presides at 
the head of an able board of trustees of this college, which, 
by reason of the work of remodeling and its modern equip- 
ment, will, for all time to come, add additional honors to 
his name and character. In all these generous gifts, 
however (at one time the sum of I500 for the library of 
the college), he has had no reference whatever to the 
perpetuation of his name or memory. He has simply 
done what he felt to be a duiij in the distribution of the 
means with which he has been so abundantly blessed by 
his own perseverance and the assistance of a kind Prov- 
idence. 

In the ordinary walks of life he is the same humble 
and unassuming citizen that he was when a country boy 
on his father's farm at the age of eighteen years. The 
humblest operative in his employ can approach him with 
as much freedom as the wealthy capitalist with whom, 
in a business way, he is much associated. 

Captain Montgomery, by his marriage with Miss Hol- 
combe, had eight children, only three of whom are now 
living, viz.: Victor :\I., Walter S., and Benjamin W. 
Those who have died were: David F., Mary, John» 
Katie Lois and an infant unnamed. 



328 History of Spartanburg County. 

A true patriot and philanthropist, Captain Montgom- 
ery still stands before the people of Spartanburg as one 
of her best, most influential and progressive citizens. 

THE CROOK AND NICHOLAS FAMILIES. 

The ancestor of the Crook families in Spartanburg 
county was James Crook, who came from Virginia, and 
was numbered among the early settlers on the Tygers. 
He had six sons, but we have been enabled to gather 
the names of only two, viz. : James and Jesse. 

James Crook, the first mentioned name of the sons, 
was a man of considerable prominence in his day. He 
lived on South Tyger, and built the house in which 
James i\I. Switzer now lives. He was a member of the 
Nullification Convention on the Union side, from Spar- 
tanburg District in 1832. He also served for two terms 
from the same district in the State legislature from 1826 
to '28, and from 1828 to '30. After this he removed to 
Alabama, where his descendants are numerous and 
prominent, among whom we would mention James 
Crook, at present one of the railroad commissioners for 
that State. 

The other brother mentioned, Jesse Crook, married 
Katy Barry, the daughter of Captain Andrew Barry. 
Katy was the little girl who was tied by the leg to the 
bedpost by her mother during the Revolution, whilst she 
went and gave notice of the raid of marauding Tories. 

She died November i, 1844. They lived on South 
Tyger River, near the present railroad station of Switzer, 
S. C. Their children were : 

ist. Dr. Andrew Barry Crook, a noted physician of 
Greenville, S. C, who died in 1862, and whose wife was 
a Miss Hoke of Lincolnton, N. C, by whom he left one 
child, Sallie, married to Wm. Lester, who had only one 
child, Nannie, married to Dr. Black of Greenville, S. C. 



History of Spartanburg County, 329 

Dr. Crook married seoond wife, Catharine Smith of 
Asheville, N. C. , by whom he had two children, viz. : 
Harriet and Jesse. 

2d. Margaret Barry, married Wyllis Dickey and went 
to Texas, and left numerous children. 

3d. Martha, married Newport Bragg, went to Ala- 
bama, thence to Arkansas. Newport Bragg was killed 
in a sawmill disaster ; he left a family of which one 
W. L. Bragg was one of Alabama's most distinguished 
sons, having served in the State in many capacities, and 
finally was United States railroad commissioner. 

4th. James Crook, studied law, went to Alabama ; 
married a Miss Saimders ; no children ; returned to 
Spartanburg after the civil war, and died a few years 
thereafter. 

5th. Violet L. C, married Frank Woodruff ; went to 
Alabama and died childless. 

6th. Williams W. C. , married a French lady from 
Charleston, named Bonneau ; went to Alabama and had 
a large family of children. 

7th. Catharine INIalissa, married George Nicholls. 

8th. Colonel John Moore Crook, born November loth, 
1816 ; married Miss Lou Brewton, November 25, 1867, 
who died July 25th, 1885. The children by this mar- 
riage are Jesse E., died 1890; Janie E., Catherine E., 
John M. , Andrew Barry and Mary Louisa. 

Major George Nicholls married " Katie " Crook, as 
she was known by her friends, January 12th, 1843; 
she was born April 4th, 181 7, and died October 24th, 
1854. George Nicholls was sheriff of Spartanburg four 
years. He died August loth, 1849. Their children 
are: ist, John Moore Nicholls, who will receive further 
notice; 2d, Andrew Barry Crook, born January I4tli, 
1845 ; 3d, Benj. Franklin, born November 3d, 1847 ; 
and 4th, George Williams, born December 5th, 1849. 



330 



History of Spartanburg County, 



JOHN M. NICHOLLS 

was born December 4th, 1843. Being deprived of the 
care of his widowed mother when about twelve years of 
age, he spent, for the most part, the remaining years of 
his life, until he had reached the age of eighteen, with 
his uncle. Colonel John M. Crook, whom we have already 
noticed. 




John M. Nicholls. 



When about eighteen years old he enlisted in Co. H, 
ist. S. C. v., of which he was a sergeant, and partici- 
pated, after becoming a member of said regiment, in all 
the battles and skirmishes in which it was engaged. 

During the period of his service he performed an act 
of distinguished valor, which has given him renown. 
His praises have been sung for a daring deed in crossing 
the breastworks in front of SjDOttsylvania under heavy 
fire to give a dvine Federal soldier some water. In The 



History of Spartanburg County. 331 

Diocese^ February, 1898, we find the following account, 
by a comrade, of this- heroic act : 

"It was a hot July day in 1864 . . . Our men. 
had hurriedly dug rifle pits to protect themselves from 
the sharpshooters, and dead and dying Federals were 
lying up to the very edge of those pits. In one of the 
pits was an ungainly, raw, red-headed boy (John M. 
Nicholls); he was a retiring lad, green as grass, but re- 
liable fighter; we never paid much attention to him, one 
way or the other. The wounded had been lying for 
hours, unattended before the pits, and the sun was get- 
ting hotter and hotter, they were suffering horribly from 
pain and thirst. Not fifteen feet away, outside the rifle 
pit, lay a mortally wounded officer, who was our enemy. 
As the heat grew more intolerable, this officer's cries for 
water increased ; he was evidently dying hard, and his ap- 
peals were of the most piteous nature. The red-headed 
boy found it hard to bear them. He had just joined the 
regiment, and was not yet callous to suffering. At last, 
with tears flooding his grimy face, he cried out, 'I can't 
stand it longer, boys ; I am going to take that poor fel- 
low my canteen.' For answer to this foolhardy speech, 
one of us stuck a cap on a ramrod and hoisted it above the 
pit ; instantly it was pierced with a dozen bullets ; to 
venture outside a step was the maddest suicide, and all 
the while we could hear the officer's moans: 'Water, 
water ; just one drop, for God-sake, somebody ! only 
one drop!' The tender-hearted boy could stand the 
appeal no longer. Once, twice, three times, in spite of 
our utmost remonstrance, he tried unsuccessfully to clear 
the pit. At last he gave a desperate leap over the em- 
bankment, and once on the other side, he threw himself 
flat on the ground and crawled toward his dying foe ; he 
could not get close to him because of the terrible fire ; 
but he broke a sumac bush, tied to the stick his precious 
canteen and landed it in the sufferer's trembling hands. 
You never heard such gratitude in your life — perhaps 
there was never any like it before. The officer was for 
tying his gold watch on the stick and sending it back, 
as a slight return for the disinterested act ; but this the 
boy would not allow\ He only smiled happily and re- 



332 History of Spartanburg County, 

turned as he had gone — crawling amid a hailstorm of 
bullets. When he reached the edge of the pit he called 
out to his comrades to clear the way for him, and with 
a mighty leap he w^as among us once more." 

After the close of the civil war John M. Nicholls re- 
turned to his native county and engaged for a time in 
farming. He was for eight years sheriff of Spartanburg 
county, which office he held to the satisfaction of the 
people. He married Mrs. Ella Bobo, widow of Captain 
Alex Copeland and daughter of Hon. Simpson Bobo, 
May, 1891, and has one child, Catharine, born May, 1892. 

Andrew Barry Crook Nicholls, M.D., married Mary 
Ellen, daughter of Rev. John and Georgia A (Foster) 
Collier, in 1871, in Tuscaloosa county, Alabama, by 
whom he has five children. 

He was a member of the ist Regt., S. C. V., to which 
he joined in 1863, and served as color guard ; was 
wounded in hip in 1864, and surrendered at Appomattox 
April, 1865. After peace he was a farmer ; then went 
to school at Greenville, S. C, under Captain Patrick; 
studied medicine with Dr. A. D. Hoke; graduated in 
medicine in 1869, from Philadelphia University ; went 
to Alabama, Talladega county, then to Tuscaloosa City, 
where he has a large practice, and w^as president of the 
Tuscaloosa Medical Society. 

Benjamin Franklin Nicholls married Elizabeth Louise, 
daughter of Dr. Joseph and Anna Pauline Klapp of 
Philadelphia, Pa., 1875, and died February 15th, 1895, 
leaving several children. 

He studied medicine and settled in Philadelphia, Pa., 
where he gained credit as a medical man, having filled 
several positions in hospitals and colleges and societies. 
He was fast rising to the top, when an untimely death 
cut short his career. He was a soldier of the Southern 
Confederacy. 



History of Spartanburg County. ^t,t, 

George W. Nicholls, Esq., married Mary Lavinia, 
daughter of Rev. Samuel Jones, D.D., on May 29th, 
1884. He is a prominent lawyer in Spartanburg, and 
served Spartanburg county for ten years as probate 
judge. He lives in the city of Spartanburg. He has 
five children. 

These four sons of Major George Nicholls are espe- 
cially worthy of high commendation, for they are em- 
phatically self-made men, having lost both parents in 
early life, and being left to the care of a bachelor uncle. 
They raised themselves from childhood to high stations 
in society, church and state. 



CHAPTER XXVI. 

THE DEAN FAMILY. 

In the list containing the names of heads of families 
in Spartanburg county, as shown by the original census 
returns of first census, taken in 1790, which we publish 
in this volume, we find but one name of the Dean family, 
being that of Joel Dean, Sr., from whom all the families 
of this name in said county have descended. 

Joel Dean, born February i6th, 1755, emigrated from 
Virginia to North Carolina, and from there to South 
Carolina, settling on Enoree River in the territory after- 
wards embraced in Spartanburg county. He was a 
progressive farmer for his day and time and a highly 
respected citizen. He died February 5th, 1842, being 
87 years of age. His wife was Mary Brockman, who 
was born January 7th, 1759, and died October 28tli, 
1825, in the 67th year of her age. They were married 
September 5th, 1775, and to them were born twelve 
children, viz. : 

John, born September 26th, 1776; Amelia, born De- 
cember i8th, 1778; Casandra, born March 19th, 1781 ; 
Frances, born March 23d, 1783; Charles, born May 
5th, 1785; Anna, born July i8th, 1787; Lucy, born 
October 2d, 1789; Thomas, born October 31st, 1791 ; 
Henry, born February nth, 1794; Joel, Jr., born April 
26th, 1796; Alfred, born September 19th, 1798; and 
Alvin, born February nth, 1801. 

Of these sons, John Dean, Esq., the eldest, was the 
father of Major Hosea J. Dean, who will receive further 
notice. One of the daughters, Casandra, married Sheriff 

f334) 



History of Spartanburg County. 335 

Sam Miller, who was the father of Dr. J. Pinckney and 
General Joel W. Miller.* 

Alfred Dean, one of the sons mentioned, was born in 
Spartanburo; county. He resided at or near the old 
homestead place of his father ; was an honest and indus- 
trious farmer, and a member of the Baptist Church at 
Abner's Creek. He died at the age of 77 years. His 
wife was Jane Bobo, daughter of Absolem Bobo, who 
lived on Two-mile Creek, waters of Enoree. She was a 
daughter of a son of Allen Musgrove, who was the father 
of Mary Musgrove, the renowned heroine of Mr. Ken- 
nedy's novel, " Horseshoe Robinson." The children 
by this marriage were : 

(i) Nancy, who married Thomas Sims, leaving one 
daughter, who married Dr. McKown of Gainesville, Ga. 

(2) Jane Elizabeth and (3) Edward, both died of scar- 
let fever at the ages of 9 and 11. 

(4) Dr. Thomas Perry Dean, who died at the age of 
27 years. Read medicine with his uncle, Dr. Alvin 
Dean, of Cobb county, Ga., and graduated at the Charles- 
ton (S. C.) Medical College. Married Mary, daughter 
of Joseph Davis, on South Pacolet (sister of Major John 
Bankston Davis), leaving one daughter, Lula, who is 
the wife of Rev. I. W. Wingo. Pie was a member of 
the Presbyterian Church, and his life, when cut off, 
was one of promise and usefulness. 

(5) Frances C, who married Major William Hoy, who 
died of smallpox, leaving three children. 

(6) Alvin Henry, oldest living son, a sketch of whom 
we present below. 

(7) George Bobo, who will also receive further notice. 



*John Miller, father of Sheriff Sam Miller, it will be remembered, 
was killed by the Indians and Tories during the Revolution. His 
wife, Margaret Miller, subsequently became the wife of James Jorden. 



zz^ 



History of Spartanburg County. 



CAPTAIN ALVIN H. DEAN, 

one of the sons mentioned of Alfred and Jane (Bobo) 
Dean, was born in Spartanburg county in 1837. He 
was educated in the schools of his neighborhood, and 
attended the Davidson College, N, C, when General 
D. H. Hill was one of its faculty. 

Soon after the outbreak of the civil war between the 
States he raised a company of cavalry for the service, 
which subsequently became Company E, 2d Regiment, 

S. C. Cavalry. The first 
officers of this company be- 
sides Captain Dean were 
Dr. Wm. H. Coan, ist lieu- 
tenant; Crawford S. Thomp- 
son, 2d lieutenant; and John 
G. Wham, junior 2d lieu- 
tenant. The first mentioned 
of the lieutenants (Dr. Coan) 
failed in health, but Lieu- 
tenants Thompson a n d 
Wham were in the service 
of their country till the end 
of the war. 
This company, uniting with three others in the State, 
formed the cavalry battalion of Major W^ K. Easley, who 
was succeeded by Major Frank Hampton. During the 
seven days battles around Richmond, this battalion, doing 
service around Charleston, was ordered to Virginia. 
Upon going into camps near Richmond, it united with 
the cavalry of the Hampton Legion and two other cav- 
alry companies, and organized the 2d S. C. Regiment of 
Cavalry, Colonel M. C. Butler commanding, which 
formed a part of the brigade of cavalry under General 
Wade Hampton, Division of J. E. B. Stuart. 




Captain Alvin H. Dean. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 337 

Company E, 2d S. C. Cavalry, commanded by Captain 
Dean, participated in the closing scenes of seven days 
battles, Second Manassas, and all the engagements of 
the Maryland campaign, including Sharpsburg. The 
regiment participated also in the memorable cavalry 
combats of Culpepper Court-house, Brandy vStation and 
Stevensburg, Va. 

In November, 1862, Captain Dean, on account of ill 
health, resigned, and was succeeded to the captaincy of 
Company E by his brother, First Lieutenant Geo. B. Dean. 
In 1864 the 2d S. C. Regiment of Cavalry was ordered 
back to South Carolina, where it encountered the enemy 
on James and Johns Islands. After the return of the regi- 
ment to South Carolina, Captain Dean, having recruited 
his health, was offered the position of major in the 
State troops, but having been re-elected a commissioned 
ofificer in his same old company, he accepted the latter 
position, which was an evidence of the high esteem in 
which he was held by the soldiers wdiom he at first 
had the honor to command. He continued to serve 
until the end of the war. participating in the battles of 
Fort Fisher, Anderson, Bentonville and other engage- 
ments. 

Returning home after the war, Captain Dean has en- 
gaged for the most part in farming. He is at present 
Colonel of Spartanburg Regiment of United Confederate 
\'eterans, and is also a representative in the State Legis- 
lature from his native county. 

In i860 he married Eugenia A. Miller, daughter of 
James A. Miller, whose wife's maiden name was Winnie 
Love, of Haywood county, N. C. She married first to 
a Mr. Moore (father of Dr. Alfred Moore of Welford, 
S. C). Captain and Mrs. Dean have five living chil- 
dren, viz. : James M., Kate A., Alvin H., A. Boyce, and 



338 



History of Spartanburg County. 



Anna Belle. Of these sons, Alvin H. Dean is present 
senator from Greenville county. 

CAPTAIN GEORGE BOBO DEAN, 

present sheriff of Spartanburg county, was born Oc- 
tober 20th, 1839. He was educated in the common 
schools of his neighborhood and attended for a time 




Capt. Geo. B. Dean. 

Erskine College before the outbreak of the civil war. 
He suffered from a severe attack of pneumonia, and be- 
fore he had sufficiently recovered he enlisted as a pri- 
vate in the Spartan Rifles and went to Sullivan's 
Island in April, 1861. After six weeks' service he re- 
turned home to recruit his health. In a few months 
afterwards his brother. Captain Alvin H. Dean, raising 
a company of cavalry, he enlisted in the same as a pri- 



History of Spartanburg County. 339 

vate. The company volunteered at first for State ser- 
vice only, and upon the reorganization for Confederate 
service he was elected first lieutenant. 

In November, 1862, his brother resigning on account 
of ill health, he was made captain of the company, which 
position he held until the close of the war. This com- 
pany was known as Company E, 2d S. C. Cavalry, com- 
manded respectively by Colonels M. C. Butler and T. J. 
Lipscomb. The writer served the three last years of 
the war as a member of this company, and can testify 
to the faithful and arduous service rendered his country 
by Captain Dean and the men belonging to his command. 
In the great battle of Gettysburg, July, '63, Captain 
Dean had his horse shot from under him, and at the 
battle of Brandy Station, August ist of the same year, 
he was seriously wounded. 

After the war Captain Dean resumed farming on the 
old homestead place of his grandfather, near Cashville, 
S. C. This he continued until 1874, when he removed 
to the Price (brick house) place on Tyger River. In 1881 
he purchased land and made improvements near Spar- 
tanburg. Captain Dean while engaged in farming had 
the reputation of being among the foremost and most 
progressive in his county. 

In 1890 he was elected to the State Legislature, re- 
ceiving over four thousand votes, the highest total vote 
cast. In 1892 he w^as elected sheriff of Spartanburg 
county, and re-elected to the same position in 1896, 
which position he still holds, and it is needless to say 
that he has proven himself to be an able and efficient 
officer. 

In 1864 Captain Dean married to Louisa, daughter of 
Madison Alexander. They have had six children : J. 
Madison, Geo. Thomas (deceased), Annie (wife of J. B. 
Liles), Edward, Alfred and Lewis. 



340 



History of Spartanburg County. 



HON. HOSEA J. DEAN. 

In reviewing the lives of the public men of Spartan- 
burg who figured prominently before the j)eople during 
the middle of the 19th century, there are none deserv- 
ing of more special interest than Major Hosea J. Dean, 
the subject of this sketch, who was born July nth, 




Hun. liw 



Dean. 



1806. His father, John Dean, Esq., was the son of Joel 
Dean, a soldier of the Revolution, and, as already stated, 
among the early settlers of Spartanburg District. His 
mother, Mary Farrow, was the eldest daughter of Captain 
Thomas Farrow, a Revolutionary soldier belonging to 
the Continental line. She, it is said, was a lady re- 
markable for her beauty of person as for her noble qual- 
ities of mind and heart. 



History of Spartanburg County. 341 

Major Dean, called Major from the fact that he at 
one time m his life held the office of brigade-major, was 
the only son of a family of thirteen children. The 
carefnl training of a pions parentage and the inflnence of 
a family of devoted sisters did mnch in the formation of 
his character, and made him, while yet a boy, remarka- 
ble for a certain dignified manliness of deportment which 
belonged to him thronghont his entire life. These were 
combined with the most delicate and assidnons care for 
his mother and sisters, which he always manifested. 

Among the most prominent traits in his character 
were self-reliance, fortitude and truth. " But while 
the cultivation of the heart and the growth of every good 
and noble quality were most carefully fostered by his 
judicious parents, they were unable to give him the 
benefits of scholastic education. His labor was abso- 
lutely essential to the support of a family of thirteen 
children ; cheerfully and ungrudgingly he bestowed it, 
though his heart longed and sighed for knowledge!" 

Through his great uncle, Samuel Farrow, a member 
of Congress from the Pinckney Congressional District, 
he received an appointment to West Point, but was pre- 
vented from accepting on account of an unexpected finan- 
cial embarrassment of his father. He received his best 
instruction in the schoolroom from James Bostick, who 
once taught school in his father's neighborhood. This 
gentleman had been a merchant in London, but fail- 
ing in business came to America and supported himself 
by teaching. The boy, listening attentively to his in- 
structions, soon gained an education, including a knowl- 
edge of Greek, Latin and the higher mathematics, 
which, in after years, served him in the important posi- 
tions which he filled. At the age of about twent)'-one 
he entered the law office of Colonel Patillo Farrow, at 
Laurens Court-house, S. C, where he devoted himself 



342 History of Spartanburg County. 

assiduously to the study of law, which for a time im- 
paired his health. He was successful, however, and in 
May, 1828, was admitted to the practice, and at once 
entered into copartnership with Colonel Farrow, his 
preceptor, at Laurens Court-house. Eighteen months 
after this he returned to his native district and settled 
at Spartanburg Court-house, August, 1829, hoping by 
this change to improve the condition of his health. 
It was not long after this removal that, by constant and 
vigilant application to study and prompt and faithful at- 
tention to the business confided to him, he gained the 
good opinion, respect and confidence of all who knew 
him. He entered for a time into partnership with Henry 
C. Young, Esq., of Laurens ; but being elected by the 
State Legislature Commissioner of Equity for Spartan- 
burg district, his partnership with Colonel Young was 
dissolved. He entered upon the duties of the office of 
Commissioner of Equity, was a model officer, equal to 
any in the State. This office he continued to hold, 
being reelected from time to time, until 1844, when he 
resigned and associated himself in the practice of law 
with James Edward Henry, and devoted himself to the 
duties of his profession until the death of the latter, 
which occurred in 1850, after which he continued alone 
in the practice of his profession with eminent ability 
imtil within one or two years of the time of his death, 
which took place at White Sulphur Springs, Va., Au- 
gust 3d, 1855, in the fiftieth year of his age. Notwith- 
standing his health had for a time been recuperated, yet 
in the last years of his life heart disease manifested 
itself, to which he was forced to succumb. 

Major Dean was elected from Spartanburg District to 
a seat in the State Legislature in 1850, and again in 
1852, and during this time showed himself to be an able 
and discreet politician and a popular and useful mem- 



History of Spartanburg County. 343 

ber. He served with eminent ability as a member of 
the Committee on Claims, and shortly after the com- 
mencement of his second term the office of Clerk of 
House of Representatives became vacant. He was put 
in nomination by his friends and was elected by a 
handsome majority. He immediately resigned his seat 
as a member of this body and entered upon the duties 
of his office, which for a number of years he filled with 
honor to himself and the State. 

In our review of the progress of temperance during 
the nineteenth century, at another place in this volume, 
we have shown that Major Dean was among the first 
advocates for this cause in Spartanburg District. He 
" raised the temperance flag and headed the forlorn hope 
in the cause of reform." He was a prominent member 
of the order known as "Sons of Temperance," and was 
nearly always a delegate to the meetings and annual 
conventions of this body. 

In 1830 Major Dean lost his pious mother, who, during 
her dying hours, so deeply impressed him with the truths 
of the Christian religion that he determined to seek the 
same. " For days and months and weeks he sought in 
secret until he found that ' which passeth all understand- 
ing,' " There being at this time no organization in the 
town of Spartanburg of the church of his choice, he, in 
1832, imited with the Baptist Church of Mount Zion, of 
which Rev. John G. Landrum was pastor. Subsequently 
he participated in the organization of the Baptist Church 
at Spartanburg, of which he was made a deacon. The 
Sabbath-school of this church was " the object of his 
special care and attention," and the success of the pres- 
ent large and flourishing church, now known as the First 
Baptist Church of Spartanburg, was largely due to his 
wise counsel and liberal support. His pastor always 
found in him a fast friend and liberal supporter, and for 



344 



lIisToiiY OF Spartanburg County. 



a quarter of a century his house was alwa^'s open to all 
good ministers of the gospel who called to partake of 
the open hospitality extended by him and his devoted 
wife. 

In 1834 Major Dean married Elizabeth Ellen, secoijd 
daughter of Colonel John Mills, of Rutherford, N. C, a 
lady imiversally loved and respected, who died in 1838, 
leaving one son, John Mills Dean, who will receive fur- 
ther notice. 

On the 9th of August, 1840, he again married to Mary, 
only daughter of Edward Owen of Washington Cit\-, a 
lady of talents and education. 

By this marriage there were six children, viz.: Ed- 
ward J., who will receive further notice ; Elizabeth, who 
became the wife of Dr. C. E. Fleming; Mills, who will 
also receive further notice; St. Lawrence ; Hosea J., a 
resident in the city of Spartanburg, occupying the home- 
stead residence of his parents, and Alice. 

Major Dean was not only a lawyer of eminent legal 
attainments, but, as a citizen, was enterprising and 
public-spirited. Whatever promised to be the greatest 
good to the greatest number always found him liberal 
with his purse and prompt with his influence. His 
brill iant;career was one of honor and usefulness, and in 
his death Spartanburg mourned the death of one of her 
most valued citizens. His memory still lives. 

COLONEL JOHN MILLS DEAN, 

Son of Hosea and Elizabeth (Mills) Dean, was born at 
Spartanburg C. H., S. C, August 25th, 1835, descended 
through both parents from English ancestry. At the 
age of twenty-one he graduated at the South Carolina 
Military Academy. Choosing civil engineering as his 
profession, he spent the winter ot 1855-56 as a member 



History of Spartanburg County. 345 

of the engineering corps on the New York and Erie Rail- 
road, perfecting himself in practical work. 

Inheriting a nnniber of slaves, he adopted a planter's 
life, and settled in Van Buren connty, Arkansas. 

"At the first call for volnnteers by the governor of 
Arkansas, he raised a company and went to Little Rock, 
where, in organizing, he was commissioned lieutenant- 
colonel of the 7th (Ark.) Regiment Infantry. The regi- 
ment at once went into active service in the Trans-Mis- 
sissippi Department. . . . Taking part in all the 
important movements of General Hardee's command dur- 
ing 1861, and in the spring of 1862 we find the 7th Ar- 
kansas Regiment lying on their arms near Shiloh, April 
5th, 1862. General Albert Sidney Johnston had con- 
centrated his forces to give battle to the advancing Fed- 
eral army under General Grant. Fighting began early 
Sunday morning the 6th, and the battle raged literally 
from sunrise to sunset. . . . The battle of Shiloh 
was one of the bloodiest in the annals of this continent, 
and was the first great field-fight of the war. It was the 
death-grapple of the Western men of the Western conti- 
nent. . , . Between two fields a quarter of a mile 
apart, on a slight ridge of land covered by oaks and 
patches of brush, lies the historic spot that was made 
rich by the blood of hundreds of human beings. Pass- 
ing through the woods and connecting these fields was an 
old unused road, washed down in places by the rains of 
scores of years ; it served the Federals as a miniature 
breastwork, and is known in their reports as ' The old 
washed-out road.' . . . Here . . . was posted 
a strong force of as hardy troops as ever fought, almost 
perfectly protected by the conformation of the ground, 
by logs and other hastily prepared defences. . . . 
Brigade after brigade was led against it. But valor was 
of no avail. Four times the position was charged. Four 



346 History of Spartanburg County. 

times the assault was imavailing. After hours of this 
slaughter, the enemy's left was turned and they were 
driven from the field and finally captured, two thousand 
surrendering at once. 

"From six in the morning until late in the afternoon 
Colonel Dean's command was in the thickest of the 
fight. Leading an assault across 'The Sunken Road,' 
he fell about 5 p. m. Shot in the neck by a sharpshooter, 
he died instantly. One of his comrades wrote: 'The 
men faltered a little as they reached the road. So 
the colonel ran in front, cheering them on, waving his 
sword, and as he gave the command. Fire ! fell with his 
face to the foe.' General Hardee, in speaking to the 
mother of Colonel Dean, said : ' Madam, your son was a 
brave man. I sometimes thought in action he was almost 
foolhardy, but he was a brave soldier and knew no fear, 
only inspiration under fire. His promotion had been 
approved at headquarters, and the papers reached me 
after his death.' "* 

Colonel Dean died unmarried in his twenty-seventh 
year. • A true Spartan hero — "a better soldier," said Gen- 
eral Hardee, "never lived, a braver man never died." 

CAPTAIN EDWARD JEFFERSON DEAN, 

second son of Major H. J. Dean, was born in Spar- 
tanburg January, 1842. Was attending St. James Col- 
lege in Maryland when a call was made by the governor 
of South Carolina for volunteers. He returned home 
at once and joined one of the first companies raised, 
Company K (Spartan Rifles), Fifth Regiment, South Car- 
olina Volunteers, which left for Charleston April 13th, 
1 861, and after the fall of Fort Sumter went to Vir- 



* That part of this sketch of Colonel Dean under quotation marks 
is copied from Thomas's "History of the South Carolina Military 
Academy." 



History of Spartanburg County. 347 

ginia. He was for one and a half years a corporal in 
Company K, when he obtained a transfer to the Twenty- 
second Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers, and was 
elected captain of Company C of said regiment, which 
occupied the trenches at Petersburg at the time of the 
fearful mine explosion July 30, 1864. Colonel David 
G. Fleming, of the Twenty-second, was in command of 
the line that morning and he, with his adjutant and 
orderly, were buried under the mountain of earth. To 
this day they have never been found. Company C was 
dug out one by one by the enemy and made prisoners. 
Captain Dean, with other officers, was imprisoned at 
Fort Delaware, in the mouth of the Delaware River. 
Here for eleven months he was confined in miserable 
open quarters, exposed to the blazing sun of summer 
and the bitter cold of wiuter, and limited in the supply 
of water, food and coal. When released after the sur- 
render of General Lee Captain Dean's health was a 
wreck. He settled on a plantation in Calhoun county, 
Ala., hoping to regain his health and strength, but 
after several years of suffering, he laid down a life sac- 
rificed for his country. He died in 1883 and is buried 
at Talladega, Ala., in the churchyard of the Baptist 
church, of which he was a deacon. He was a gentle- 
man of fine appearance, measuring six feet and five 
inches, erect and dignified ; was of a genial, generous 
temperament, attracting to himself strong friends wher- 
ever he lived. 

MILLS DEAN, ESQ., 

third son of Major H. J. and Mary (Owen) Dean, 
was born in Spartanburg, S. C, April 3d, 1847, and 
died in Washington, D. C, April 3d, 1897. 

While a student in WolTord College he volunteered 
in his seventeenth year and enlisted in Company C, 



348 



History of SPx\rtanburg County. 



Twenty-second Regiment, Sonth Carolina Volnnteers. 
While on the front lines in Petersburg in 1864, digging 
trenches, cutting trees and throwing up embankments 
in the burning sun, the h.ealth of the slender college 
bov failed, and he was brought home to die by his faith- 
ful servant. After long weeks and months of illness he 
returned to his regiment and served with it until the 
surrender at Aj^pomattox. 

In 1866 he entered 
the law ofhce of 
Fairthorne & Rand, 
in Philadelphia, 
where he remained 
several years as stu- 
dent and clerk. The 
writer, while attend- 
ing his second course 
of medical lectures 
in that city in the 
winter of 1867-68, 
was intimately asso- 
ciated with him and 
can testify to the ex- 
cellent and conge- 
nial traits in his 
character. He also shared his hospitable roof in Wash- 
ington City in 1893, while seeking a government ap- 
pointment which he secured, and learned to appreciate 
more his amiable and lovable qualities, his kindness of 
heart and noble traits of character, which he exempli- 
fied as long as he lived. 

Soon after he finished his law course in Philadelphia 
he settled in Washington City and continued in the 
practice of law up to the time of his death. At his 
death many poor and distressed people in Washington 




Mills Dean, Eso. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 349 

came to take a last look at him, saying, " I have lost 
my best friend," He never said no! when help was 
needed. The order of the Sons of the Confederacy 
attended his fnneral in a body. He was one of the 
original members of this organization in Washington, 
and also the Sons of the Revolution. He was a man 
whom his friends loved. 

Mr. Dean married Miss Annie Fearon, of Philadelphia, 
who still survives him. He left four children : Mary 
Owen, Mildred, Mills, and Paul. 

THE WOODRUFF FAMILY. 

Thomas Woodruff, son of Joseph and Annie (Linsey) 
Woodruff, came to Spartanburg District from the Yad- 
kin Valley, N. C, after the Revolution. He married 
Mary Patillo Harrison, a daughter of Dr. Richard Har- 
rison, one of the early county court judges for Spartan- 
burg. His children were Harrison Patillo, Charles 
Pinckney, Richard, James ]\Ionroe, Andrew Barrv, 
Martha Mariah, Julia Ann, and two children died in 
infancy. 

Of these children, Harrison P. W^oodruff married 
Sarah McHugh ; Dr. Charles P. W^oodruff married Eliza 
Julia Ann Todd ; Rev. Richard Woodruff married 
Elizabeth J. Foster ; James M. W^oodruff married a Miss 
Eockhart ; Captain A. B. Woodruff married Maria 
Louisa Todd, sister to the wife of Dr. W^oodruff ; Martha 
Maria Woodruff married Stephen Grififith, father of 
Professor H. P. Griffith of Limestone College, and Julia 
Ann married Dr. Benjamin W'offord. 

These families have always occupied positions of the 
highest respectability and have ranked among the 
foremost in the communities in which they lived. The 
present town of Woodruff, S. C, takes its name from 
Thomas Woodruff, the first settler at that place, and has 



350 History of Spartanburg County. 

become one of the most flourishing inland towns in 
upper South Carolina and has a bright future before it. 

Among the prominent citizens and physicians of this 
town was Dr. Charles P. Woodruff, well known to many 
of the older citizens of Spartanburg county. He was 
born at Woodruff February 8th, 1808, and died April 
27th, 1887, in his eightieth year. He graduated at the 
Medical College, Cincinnati, Ohio, 1831. He had an 
extensive scope of practice, and was a man of more than 
ordinary intelligence and influence among the people of 
his neighborhood. He was a member of the Bethel 
Baptist church and led a consistent Christian life. 

Rev. Richard W^oodruft' was ordained a minister of 
the gospel in early life and devoted the remainder of 
his life to the advancement of the Saviour's kingdom. 
He supplied during his ministry, covering a period of 
about fifty years, a number of churches in Spartanburg 
county, and expounded the word with zeal and correct- 
ness. During the civil war he served in defense of his 
country and acted for a time as chaplain of the Fifth 
Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers. 

Throughout his entire ministerial career he retained 
many peculiarities of an eventful life. He was a man 
of w^arm heart and deep, earnest piety, and says an- 
other : " But for constitutional eccentricities of disposi- 
tion would have been a wadely useful man." His grand- 
mother, the wife of Dr. Richard Harrison, became a 
widow and subsequently married Captain Thomas 
Farrow, a soldier of the Revolution. His wife was a 
sister to Dr. Iry Foster, an eminent physician who 
removed from Spartanburg district to Alabama, many 
years before the outbreak of the civil war, and who par- 
ticipated in the Florida war and was wounded. 



History of Spartanburg County. 351 

captain andrew barry woodruff 

was born at Woodruff, S. C, February 25th, 1825. 
His educational advantages were limited. One of his 
instructors was Wm. Jones, who taught about one mile 
east of Woodruff. He also attended for a time the 
school of his sister Martha, and then that of her 




Capt. A. B. Woodruff. 

future husband, Stephen Griffith. His parents, consid- 
ering him too delicate to go to school or work on the 
farm, secured a situation for him in a store as clerk, of 
which his brother. Dr. Woodruff, was a partner. He 
remained with this firm for several years, during which 
time he married Miss Maria Todd, a lady of intelli- 
gence and refinement, who was a daughter of Dr. John 
and Mrs. Eliza J. Todd, of Laurens county, S. C. 



352 History of Spartanburg County. 

In 1842 he connected himself with Bethel (Baptist) 
Church and was some years afterwards ordained as one 
of its deacons and has held every office in the church, 
being clerk of the same for thirty-two years. He has 
been nearly always a delegate from his church to the 
Old Tyger River and Spartanburg Associations, and was 
for a long number of years the clerk of these bodies, 
having succeeded C. J. Elford as clerk of the Tyger 
River immediately after the close of the civil war. He 
was also for several years assistant clerk of the State 
(S. C.) Baptist Convention. He was postmaster and a 
magistrate at Woodruff before the civil war. These 
offices would have exempted him from any service in 
the army, perhaps, during the entire war ; but in Jan- 
uary, 1862, he enlisted in Company E, Holcombe 
Legion, and upon the reorganization of said company 
in May of the same year he was elected its captain and 
held this office to the end of the war. During this 
time he was in twelve different engagements, according 
to his estimate, and wounded at the Second Manassas 
battle. At the battle of Five Forks, Va., his company 
formed a part of a detachment under General W. H. 
Wallace, which was overwhelmed by a Federal flank 
movement and was captured. He, with other Confed- 
erate officers, was taken to Johnson's Island, in Lake 
Erie. He states that this was a great grief to him, as 
he loved the battle and was willing at any time to risk 
the danger of losing his life. 

In the absence of the field-officers of the Holcombe 
Legion, he was for a considerable time in command of 
that regiment, and by General Bushrod Johnson, who 
commanded the division to which the Holcombe Legion 
belonged, he was tendered the position of major of his 
regiment, but for honorable reasons he declined it. 
Major Zeigler, who held the commission of major of the 



History of Spartanburg County. 353 

Holcombe Legion, had been captured and was held as a 
hostage by the enemy, being in close confinement. He 
and Captain Woodruff were close friends, and the latter, 
out of a tender sympathy for his suffering and painful 
suspense, refused to be promoted over him. 

Captain Woodruff, after his return home from impris- 
onment, accepted the situation and went to work in 
earnest to bring about a peaceful restoration of the cha- 
otic conditions which confronted him. Under the then 
existing dominant party controlling the affairs of 
the State of South Carolina he was elected as 
a Democrat to the State Legislature in 1865 and in 
1868. While a member of this body he introduced a 
bill, which passed, forbidding the sale of intoxicating 
liquors, either with or without license, within three 
miles of churches and schoolhouses outside of munici- 
palities, which law has never been changed. He was 
again elected to the State Legislature in 1874 and 
served for one term. He held also, for a number of 
years after the close of the civil war, the position of 
trial justice with efficiency and to the satisfaction of 
the people. 

Captain Woodruff, however, has rendered inestimable 
service to his church and denomination, not only in the 
conventions and associations, but also as a trustee of 
Cooper Limestone Institute and Furman University. 

For a long number of years he presided as superin- 
tendent over a large Sunday-school in his church, and 
was at one time secretary of the State Sunday-school 
Convention. Says another of him : "Wherever in our 
county and State there is good to be done and sacrifice 
of time and money to be made, there we may expect 
to find A. B. Woodruff. Quiet, self-sacrificing, patient, 
liopeful, earnest, he toils on, sustained by a lofty faith and 
cheered by the approval of an enlightened conscience." 

23 h s c 



CHAPTER XXVIL 



THE BOMAR FAMILY. 



The first information we have of the Bomar family- 
goes back to their residence in Halifax county, Va., 
whither they had come about the year 1778 in their 
migrations from Essex county, Va. The tradition in 
the family is that there were three brothers who came 
from England, whose names were William, John and 
Thomas. All of these died in the last decade of the 
eighteenth century (except Thomas, who died in 1802). 

Those of the family who came to South Carolina 
from Virginia after the Revolution are all descended 
from William and John. The descendants of Thomas 
Bomar, the youngest of the three brothers referred to, 
are all in Tennessee, Kentucky and in the far West, as 
far as they are known. The tradition is positive that 
the latter, John Bomar, and some of his sons, were 
soldiers of the Revolution. The " Writings of Rev. 
Thomas Bomar" show that all were Whigs. 

Some time in the latter part of the eighteenth century 
Armstead Bomar, son of John, settled in Spartanburg 
district, on South Pacolet, about two miles southwest 
of New Prospect. Subsequently he moved to Georgia, 
where some of his descendants still live. Reuben 
Bomar, another son of John, evidently lived for a short 
time in Spartanburg district, for he left a large tract of 
unimproved land, which was sold and divided among 
his descendants. His brother, Edward Bomar, settled 
on North Tyger River, near the town of Fair Forest. 
About the same time his cousins, Thomas and John 
Bomar, settled near him, and his brother Elisha settled 

(354) 



History of Spartanburg County. 355 

in the village of Spartanburg, with lands on Fair Forest 
creek and Lawson Fork. The present families of Bomar 
in Spartanburg county are all descendants of Edward, 
Thomas and Elisha, except a few of the lineal descend- 
atits of Armstead Bomar, which still remain. 

Thomas Bomar became a minister of the gospel. A 
brief biography of him was written by Wilson N. 
Hunt, Esq., published in 1827, which gives the date of 
his birth April 13th, 1770, in Essex county, Va. In 
1778 his parents moved to Halifax county. He was 
educated in the best schools to be found in his day and 
time. His father, William Bomar, was an Episco- 
palian in his religious profession, and one whose exem- 
plary course of conduct was highly characteristic of 
genuine piety. 

Thomas Bomar was of delicate health, and his afflic- 
tions at last brought him to Christ. He was baptized 
by Rev. Thomas Dobson, united with Hunting Creek 
Baptist church and ordained a minister in 1803, at the 
annual session of Ronoake (Va.) Association. The next 
year he migrated to Spartanburg district, S. C. His 
first charges were Bethlehem and Mount Zion churches, 
the latter being an " arm " (the old name for mission) 
of Bethlehem, Subsequently he became pastor of New 
Prospect church and the citizens of Spartanburg vil- 
lage received a liberal share of his exertions. His life 
was actively given to the cause of Christ and was 
attended with great results. He was an ardent mis- 
sionary in speech, and was for a time president of the 
Spartanburg Auxiliary Bible Society. At one time he 
filled the office of tax-collector in Spartanburg district. 
He died suddenly at the house of John S. Rowland, 
near Boiling Spring, June 13th, 1830. His body lies 
buried in the cemetery of Bethlehem church, his first 
pastoral charge. The vacancy in his ministerial work 



356 History of Spartanburg County. 

caused by his death was filled by Rev. J. G. Landrum. 
He married in October, 1797, Miss Elizabeth C. High, 
and left a family of twelve children, most of whom 
migrated to the West. Among those that remained 
was one son whose name is inseparably connected with 
Spartanburg county ; this was General Alexander C. 
Bomar. He is remembered as the sheriff of said 
county, which office he held for several years. He was 
also brigadier-general of the Ninth Brigade South Car- 
olina Militia, and was an efficient ofhcer and active 
member of Mount Ziori church. He was a man of 
more than ordinary intelligence, firmness and decision 
of character ; was useful to his neighborhood and pos. 
sessed all the traits of character that go to make up a 
good man and gentleman. He was married twice, his 
first wife being Miss Norman, of Cross Keys, Union 
county, by whom he had three children, the eldest son, 
Norman, having lost his life during the civil war. His 
second marriage was to Miss Emily Chapman, by whom 
he also had several children. 

Edward Bomar, already mentioned, was born in Vir- 
ginia 1 769 and emigrated from that State to Spartan- 
burg district* in 1796, with his wife, me Mary Wood, 
and three children, Catharine, Patience and John. He 
settled, as we have already stated, on North Tyger 
River, near the town of Fair Forest. Here, in his 
quiet and hospitable home, near his beloved church, 
Mount Zion, he spent a long and useful life, and his 
remains lie buried in the family graveyard on his estate. 
His life was uneventful ; he bore no part in county 
politics, held no ofhce so far as can be learned, but 

" Along the cool, sequestered vale of life 
He kept the even tenor of his way." 



* The counties in our State were called districls before the outbreak 
of the civil war between the States. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 357 

He is affectionately remembered not only by his de- 
scendants, bnt by others who knew him and still live, 
and his memory is held in high esteem because of his 
pure character, exemplary piety and good works. 

The following are the names and dates of the birth 
of his children : Catherine, born October 31st, 1791 ; 
Patience, October 17th, 1793; John, February 15th, 
1795; Elizabeth, April 6th, 1799; William, August 
5th, 1801 ; Mary, July i6th, 1804; George W., May 
7th, 1807, and Booker, April 26th, 1810. His descend- 
ants number about one thousand, nine-tenths of whom 
are Baptists. 

JOHN BOMAR, JR., 

son of Edward and Mary (Wood) Bomar, was born in 
Halifax county, Va., February 15th, 1796, and while 
an infant was carried by his father to Spartanburg dis- 
trict, where he grew up to manhood and spent all his 
life, with the exception of a few years in early life 
when he resided in Kentucky and taught school, and 
the further exception of a short sojourn in Charleston, 
S. C, wdiither he had gone after his marriage to em- 
bark in the mercantile business. He married Mary 
Crawford Vernon, daughter of James Vernon, and to 
this happy marriage and to the loving sympathy of his 
wife was due much of the success of his earlier years. 
She, the wife of his youth, died at the early age of 
thirty-seven, leaving him with a family of three girls : 
Elizabeth, who became the wife of Dr. R. E. Cleve- 
land ; Margaret, who became the wife of Major Thomas 
Bomar; and Louisa, who became the wife of Major 
John Earle Bomar. Subsequently he married ]\Irs. 
Sarah Blassingame nee Sloan, with whom he lived 
until his death, in 1868. Two children were born of 
this union. Belle V., now Mrs. Trimmier of Georgia, 



358 



History of Spartanburg County. 



and Thomas Converse, who accidentally killed himself 
when but sixteen years of age. 

Perhaps but few men who ever lived in Spartan- 
burg county were more useful than the subject of this 
sketch. In early life he embraced Christianity and 
was an active and useful member of Mt. Zion church. 

He was also one of 
the prominent tem- 
perance w^orkers in 
the county, and was 
one of the first men 
to discontinue the 
old-time practice of 
keeping wines and 
liquors for the hos- 
pitable entertain- 
ment of his friends. 
In the earlier years 
of his life he was a 
farmer, merchant, 
builder, and for a 
time an innkeeper, 
and even then in a 
small way a manu- 
facturer, for he was never without a flour and grist-mill, 
or both, and a tan-yard. His purchase of Bivingsville 
(now Glendale ) cotton factory as bankrupt property was 
one of his business ventures. Success in this enterprise 
would have been difficult, if not impossible even with 
his associates in the business, had it not been for this 
power of knowing men. His hope lay in getting some 
one with practical expert knowledge to "run" the fac- 
tory. This was found in the person of D. E. Converse 
(see sketch), wdiose business management and reputation 
as a manufacturer will alwavs follow- him. 




John Bomar, Jr. 



History of Spartanburg County. 359 

In a notice which appeared in the Spartan soon 
after his death, it is truthfully stated that " he pos- 
sessed in the highest degree the confidence and respect 
of all Avho knew him. , . . He was chosen ordi- 
nary of the district for several years, the responsible 
duties of which he discharged to the utmost public 
satisfaction. ' ' 

In the organization of the Tyger River (Baptist) Asso- 
ciation he bore an active part, being one of a committee 
of four (Rev. John G. Landrum, Dr. John W. Lewis 
and Dr. Robt. M. Young being the other three members) 
who brought about its organization. 

His body was buried in his beloved town, Spartan- 
burg, and his tomb bears this appropriate inscription : 
" Diligent in business, fervent in spirit, serving the 
Lord." 

ELISHA BOMAR, ESQ., 

was the son of William Bomar and his wife Elizabeth 
Hurt, the fifth son and one of seven children. Rev. 
Thomas Bomar, whom we have mentioned, being a full 
brother. One other of his brothers, John, died in 
Spartanburg district, and another, William, in Georgia. 
His father having died in 1790, it was early in life 
when Elisha Bomar moved to Spartanburg district. He 
was nearly all of his life a resident of Spartanburg vil- 
lage, where early in his married life he built the house 
which stood for many years on the site of the present 
court-house grounds. 

On the nth of March, 1823, he was married by Rev. 
Wm. Rector, to Amaryllis Earle, daughter of Colonel 
John Earle, ou Nor.th Pacolet (Polk county, N. C), on 
the present Prince homestead. His father was a soldier 
of the Revolution, a captain of the Rangers, and her 
mother, 7iee Rebecca Berry, was, by her first husband. 



360 History of Spartanburg County. 

the wife of John Wood, who was killed by the Tories 
under "Bloody Bill" Cunningham during his infamous 
raid to the Spartanburg region November, 1781. 

Elisha Bomar was for over twenty years clerk of 
court for Spartanburg district, and died suddenly, March 
27th, 1836, while still in office, as he was preparing ta 
attend Bethlehem church, of which he was an active 
member. A public meeting was held by the citizens of 
Spartanburg to express their appreciation of the de- 
ceased and their sorrow at his sudden death and sym-^ 
pathy for the bereaved family. 

The members of the Spartanburg bar and other mem- 
bers of the court and community generally, Judge 
O'Neall presiding, held a meeting which, after express- 
ing lament in the loss of a valuable friend, resolved that 
the public had "lost an able, impartial and industrious 
officer, and the members of the bar and other officers of 
the court a liberal, high-minded and faithful associate.'^ 

Elisha Bomar took the liveliest interest in the educa- 
tional efforts of his day, and was one of the founders 
and promoters of the high schools in Spartanburg, one 
for the boys and another for the girls, which flourished 
in other days ; besides, part of his estate was donated 
by his widow to found the Spartanburg Female College. 

By his marriage with Miss Earle he raised two chil- 
dren, Harriet and John Earle. The former became the 
wife of Judge T. O. P. Vernon (see sketch). 

HON. JOHN EARLE BOMAR, 

son of Elisha and Amaryllis (Earle) Bomar, was born 
July 29th, 1827. His father having died when he was 
a lad, he was carefully educated and trained by his 
mother. In Spartanburg he was taught by Erastus 
and Milton Rowley. Afterwards he attended the 
Citadel Academy at Charleston, but withdrew in a 



HiGTORY OF Spartanburg County. 



361 



M 



short time on account of the lax discipline which pre- 
vailed and which led to the reorganization of the Cit- 
adel within a few years after his departure. Then for 
a time he attended Erskine College at Due West, S. C, 
where he made a good record, but left for some cause 
shortly before his graduation. 

Ii^ 1855-56 
he was editor 
and one of the 
proprietors of 
the Carolina 
Spartan^ in 
connection 
with M a j o r 
Wm. H. Trim- 
mier. "No 
one," wrote 
one of his suc- 
cessors, " of 
the many who 
had editorial 
control of that 
paper, ever 
wielded a more graceful pen." 

It was while a young editor that he became interested 
in military life. In this he rose to the rank of brigade 
major and thus obtained his title of major, by which 
he was ever afterwards called. 

In 1857 he was elected ordinary of Spartanburg dis- 
trict, to which he was elected by successive elections 
until after the close of the civil war. 

In 1862 he reorganized the Morgan Rifles in Spartan- 
burg, which, as captain, he led to the army and which 
was known as Company C, Holcombe Legion. He 
served faithfully in this capacity for several months, 




Hon. John Earle Bomar. 



362 History of Spartanburg County. 

participating in several engagements on the seacoast. 
His health, however, breaking down, he obtained hon- 
orable discharge. Abont the same time he was re- 
elected ordinary. 

In 1869 he began the practice of law in copartnership 
with Colonel John H. Evins, under the firm name of 
Evins & Bomar ; subsequently, upon the entrance of 
S. J. Simpson, the firm was known as Evins, Bomar & 
Simpson, and upon the death of Colonel Evins in 1884, 
as Bomar & Simpson, till the death of Major Bomar, 
February 3d, 1899. At the time of his death he was 
the Nestor of the Spartanburg bar. 

" He seldom appeared before a jury or judge in an 

argument, not because he did not understand the case 

' in point, but he was modest and retiring in manners 

and always put it upon his partner to do the talking." 

During the time he practiced law he was also for 
several terms county commissioner, being chairman of 
the board. He also served one term in the Legislature 
(1874-76) during that terrible period which preceded 
the revolution of 1876. While he never sought this 
position, yet he held various positions of honor and 
trust. Under the constitution of 1866 he was elected 
by the Legislature and commissioned by Governor Orr 
district judge, but declined to serve. He was for many 
years trustee of the schools which preceded the graded 
school system, vice-president of the Board of Trustees 
of Converse College, a trustee (for many years chairman 
of the Board) of Cooper Limestone Institute, and treas- 
urer of Kenedy Library, in which he took the liveliest 
interest. He was a master mason, but for some years 
before his death, not an active member. For many 
years he was deacon of Spartanburg Baptist Church and 
served for two or three years as moderator of Spartan- 
burg Baptist Association. 



History of Spartanburg County. 363 

Touching his death, appropriate resohitions were 
passed by Boards of Trustees of Kenedy Library and 
Converse College and by the Spartanburg bar, which 
the latter set forth among other things the following: "In 
Major Bomar the elements of character were so blended 
as to make his influence an estimable moral force in 
the community. A gentleman of the old school, he 
kept fully abreast of the movements of the times, 
remaining actively in the practice of his profession to 
the last. His career was a striking example of energy 
and activity, without that inordinate greed for gain 
which is so marked an evil of the times. Major Bomar 
was positive in his convictions, yet kind in his judg- 
ments; a Christian of such ample mould as to be ad- 
mired by all denominations. While his public services 
to the religious and charitable organizations are a part 
of the history of Spartanburg, he exemplified yet more, 

" ' That best portion of a good man's life, 

The little nameless, unrecorded acts of kindness and love.' " 

It was while as yet a young editor that he married 
his distant cousin, Louisa N. Bomar,* daughter of John 
Bomar, Jr. The blessing of heaven rested upon this 
union, for she was one of the loveliest of women. By 
this marrriage the following children survive : Rev. 
E. E. Bomar, D,D. ; Elisha Bomar, Rev. Paul Bomar, 
John Bomar, Horace Bomar, INIamie, wife of Beverly 
Montgomery ; Louise, wife of Dr. J. H. Montgomery, 
and Amaryllis, single. 



*His grandfather William and her great-grandfather John were 
brothers. 



CHAPTER XXVIII. 



THE WILKINS FAMILY, 



The ancestor of the Wilkins families in Spartanburg 
and Union counties, South Carolina, and in Rutherford 
county, North Carolina, was William Wilkins, a native 
of Virginia, who was among the early settlers in the 
territory afterwards embraced in the original county of 
Spartanburg. He came before the outbreak of the Rev- 
olution, and the place of his settlement was in the vicin- 
ity of Goucher Creek, one of the tributaries of Thickety 
Creek. The tradition that we gather with reference to 
him is that he was a most estimable citizen, and raised 
a large and highly respectable family, as we will further 
show. 

The wife of Wm. Wilkins was Elizabeth (called 
Betsey) Terrell, who descended from a distinguished 
ancestry as shown by reference to a compiled genealogy 
of the family in both England and France by General 
W. H. Terrell of Indiana. Elizabeth Wilkins came 
from the Terrell family in Culpepper county, Va. They 
were gentlemen and held large grants of land from the 
King. In the privy council of Charles I. was Sir 
Timothy Terrell, gentleman, the father of Robert Terrell 
(born 1696), who was the father of Edmond Terrell to 
whom he ( Robert) Terrell willed large tracts of land in 
Culpepj)er county. Edmond left seven or nine children, 
of whom Airs. Wilkins is believed to be one, as she was 
a member of the Culpepper branch of this family. 

William and Elizabeth Wilkins had born unto them 
sixteen children as shown by the family record as 
follows : 

(364) 



History of Spartanburg County. 365 

Mary, born November nth, 1769, married Thomas 
Gillenwater ; Elizabeth, born August nth, 1 771, mar- 
ried Wm. Cantrell ; jMilly, born March 5th, 1773, mar- 
ried Davis Goudelock; Terrell, born February 21st, 1775, 
married Sallie Hardin ; Robert (Robin) born December 
5th, 1776, married Sallie Littlejohn ; Jane, born August 
14th, 1778, married Wm. Austell ; vSallie, born July 28th, 
1780, married J. L. Davis ; William, born July 28th, 
1782, married first Patsey Jackson, and second time to 
Frankie Foster; Nancy, born March 17th, 1784, mar- 
ried Joshua Draper ; Moses and Aaron (twins) born 
November 21st, 1785, Moses married Sallie Lipscomb, 
and Aaron married Elinor Jeffries ; Kesiah, born No- 
vember 20th, 1787, married Stephen Tolleson ; John, 
born June ist, 1789, married Polly Lipscomb; George, 
born July 13th, 1791, married Elizabeth Martin ; Ruth, 
born February 26th, 1794, and Rachel, born January 
26th, 1797. 

WILLIAM WILKINS. 

In reviewing the characters of the individual mem- 
bers of the Wilkins family none are more deserving of 
special notice than William Wilkins, who died at his 
home at Greenville, S. C, in 1897, aged about 65 or 70 
years. He was called "New York William" to distin- 
guish him from others of the same name. He was the 
son of John and Polly Wilkins, and was raised on his 
father's farm on Goucher Creek in Spartanburg county, 
receiving such advantages of education as could be 
afforded in the common schools of his neighborhood. 

Soon after reaching the age of manhood, when only 
about twenty years of age, he left his parental roof and 
sought and secured a position in a wholesale mercantile 
house in Charleston, S. C, wdiere he remained a few 
years and then went to New York City, where he secured 



366 



History of Spartanburg County. 



a better position in the same line of bnsiness, and was 
doing a good business when the civil war between the 
States broke out. His love and devotion for his native 
State, however, was stronger than worldly gain, and 
when South Carolina called for her sons to defend her 
proud name and sovereignty, he immediately surrendered 
his lucrative job and returned home and entered the 
Confederate service. He volunteered in 1861 in Co, A 

(Johnson Rifles, Union, 
S. C), 5th Regt., S. C. 
\\, and during this year 
participated in all the 
hardships of this regi- 
ment and was eno;aQ:ed 
in the first Manassas 
battle. 

Upon the reorgani- 
zation of the armies in 
X'irginia in 1862 he re- 
enlisted in the same 
company, which formed 
a part of the Palmetto 
Sharpshooters, and was made its orderly sergeant. In 
a few days thereafter he was wounded at Seven Pines, 
which incapacitated him from further active service. 
He was put on light duty and remained with his com- 
pany and regiment until the end of the war. 

After the war he returned to New York City, where 
he remained for some years, during which time he asso- 
ciated himself with A. H, Foster at Union, S. C, in the 
mercantile business under the name of Foster & Wilkins, 
and in Greenville, S. C, with J. T. Williams and A. H. 
Foster under the name of Wilkins, W^illiams & Co., 
afterwards Wilkins, Poe & Co., in wdiich firms he was 
active and successful. 




WiLi^iAM Wilkins. 



History of Spartanburg County. 367 

Some time after the war Mr. Wilkins married to Miss 
Hattie Cleveland of Greenville, S. C, daughter of Harvey 
Cleveland, who still survives him. After his marriage 
he took up his residence in Greenville, where he re- 
mained the balance of his life. 

William Wilkins was far above the average business 
man of his day. He showed what could be accomplished 
by ambition, pluck, energy and close application to 
business. Notwithstanding he had learned in early life 
lessons of thrift and economy, yet he was liberal, public- 
spirited, and was at all times patriotic and true to the 
welfare and best interests of his country. His character 
for honesty and fair dealing was very high, and as such, 
he will be long remembered. 

captain WILLIAM TERRELL WILKINS, 

son of Colonel William and Martha (Jackson) Wilkins, 
\vas born in Spartanburg county, September 28th, 181 8, 
and died while on a visit to his sons in Texas, May, 
1896. He was reared on his father's farm on North 
Pacolet River within tw^o or three miles of New Prospect, 
where he received the very best education that could be 
afforded in the schools of his neighborhood. He also 
attended for a time the Spartanburg Male Academy. 
Before he reached the age of eighteen years, however, 
he married Miss Adaline Duncan, and not many years 
after this he embarked in the mercantile business near 
New Prospect, w^hicli he successfully conducted in con- 
nection with his farm on South Pacolet River until the 
beginning of the civil w^ar between the States. 

At the outbreak of the civil war he went forth to 
serve his country at the sacrifice of every pecuniary in- 
terest. During the first year of the same (1861) he was 
connected with the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., as an inde- 
pendent volunteer, and the writer, who belonged to the 



368 



History of Spartanburg County. 



same regiment, can testify to the valuable service he 
rendered. 

As the years of the bloody conflict went on there was 
an increased demand for ^very available man to enlist 
in the service. Captain Wilkins, although well ad- 
vanced in years (being then 44 years of age), took it 
upon himself to raise a company of cavalry, which he 
did, in 1862, and which was known as the Spartan 

Rangers, This com- 
pany, though indepen. 
dent of any regimental 
organization, did gal- 
lant and efficient ser- 
vice, both in North and 
South Carolina, during 
the last two years of 
the war. 

Returning home 
after the war he had to 
begin anew to retrieve 
his lost fortune. In 
time of peace he had 
made sales on time of his valuable stock of merchandise, 
which, but for the war, he would have collected, and saved 
much of the financial embarrassment which he suffered ; 
but the devastation and ravages of the war had ruined, 
for the time, the country, and the fortunes of many men 
who were good for their obligations at its beginning 
were now wrecked or destroyed. Captain Wilkins, 
however, did not sulk under the conditions which sur- 
rounded him, but with a renewed energy he put forth 
every effort to meet his honest obligations and to make 
a comfortable support for himself and family. 

It is due to his memory to say that he was an honest, 
upright, and conscientious citizen. During the many 




Capt. Wm. T. Wilkins. 



History of Spartanburg County. 369 

years of his mercantile life he had a wide field of cus- 
tom, was noted for his fair dealing, and had the entire 
confidence of the people with whom he dealt in a busi- 
ness way. 

In early life he embraced the Christian religion, and 
was a steadfast member and deacon of New Prospect 
Church, and was Yery often its representatiYC in the 
Associations and other religious bodies. Especialh" did 
he take an interest and a part in the Sunday-school work, 
and was for a number of years the President of the Campo- 
bello Township (interdenominational) Sunday-school 
Convention, which met annually. 

In the winter of 1859 he lost his devoted wife, by 
whom he had twelve children, nine sons and three 
daughters. The life of one son (Robert) was sacrificed 
on the altar of his country during the civil war. Of his 
twelve children about one-half are deceased. The others 
are living, we believe, in the State of Texas, including 
W. D. Wilkins, a prominent merchant at Honey Grove, 
in that State. 

THE wood family. 

In our efforts to gain some information concerning 
the Wood family we find among the same a prevailing 
tradition that two brothers emigrated from Virginia to 
South Carolina before the Revolution, and during that 
struggle for American independence both entered the 
service of their covnitry. 

At the close of the Revolution they separated; one re- 
turned to Virginia and the other removed to Tennessee, 
The one who returned to Virginia, however, came back 
to South Carolina, settling in the eastern portion of the 
present county of Spartanburg. It is supposed that he 
married in Mrginia, and it is not known how many chil- 
dren he had, but William Wood was one of his sons who 

24 h sc 



3/0 



History of Spartanburg County. 



lived on Pacolet, near Easterwood Shoals. He was a 
prominent and highly respectable citizen in his day and 
time, and married Miss Nancy, danghter of the elder 
William Lipscomb. By this marriage he had seven 
children as follows : Lucinda, who married Wm. Little- 
john (known as Wm. Kink) ; James, who married Har- 
riet E. Wilkins ; N. Lipscomb, who married ]\Iary Aus- 
tell ; David, who married in Alabama; Caroline, who- 
married Daniel Draper; John, who married iVgnes Lip- 
scomb ; and Thomas,, 
who married Addie 
Lipscomb. 

The children of John 
Wood, one of the sons 
mentioned, are as fol- 
lows : Sallie, who mar- 
ried Smith Lipscomb 
(son of Edward Lips- 
comb, Sr.) ; Moses, who 
married J. Elma, 
daughter of G. T. 
]\Ieng, LTnion county^. 
S. C. ; Adolphus N., 
who married Millie Draper ; Atlanta, who married 
W. F. Bryant, Pacolet, S. C; Lou H., who married 
R. R. Brown, Cowpens, S. C, and Miss Terisa E., single 
Of the sons mentioned above, Moses Wood, now a 
resident of Gaffney, S. C, claims special notice. Being 
a native born of Spartanburg county, he has always en- 
joyed a position of respectability, influence and popu- 
larity. 

He was a gallant ofhcer in the Co'.ifederate army, be- 
ine amono- the first to enlist in the service in his native 
county. He was first lieutenant of Co. F, 15th Regt.,. 
S. C. v., an 1 served with said command until the end of 




Lieut. Moses Wood. 



History of Spartanburg County. 371 

the war. At the surrender at Greensboro, N, C, he was 
in command of his company and had been for several 
months. 

It is only necessary to refer to the roll of said company 
with accompanying remarks, as to casualties published 
elsewhere in this volume, to appreciate the splendid 
record it made during the four years of a bloody war, 
and on said roll there is not to be found the name of a 
braver spirit than that of Moses Wood — its last com- 
mander. He was wounded at the battle of the Wilder- 
ness, May, 1864. 

By his marriage with ]\Iiss ^leng, as already stated, 
he has eight living children, as follows : Lula B., who 
married to Dr. R. R. Brown at Pacolet ; Julia E., who 
married W. Oscar Lipscomb, Gaffney, S. C. ; Beona, 
who married W. F. Brown, Gaffney, S. C, and unmar- 
ried children, Nellie H., Lawrence S., James K., Louisa 
and Emma Elizabeth. 

THE LIPSCOMB FAMILY. 

Among the first settlers in the original county of Spar- 
tanburg w^as William Lipscomb, the ancestor of nearly 
all the families of this name who have ever resided in 
said county. 

It is stated that just after the close of the Revolution 
he was moving with his family from Louisa county, Va., 
to Georgia, and that on the way his wagon broke down 
near Thickety Creek. While awaiting repairs he con- 
cluded to look around over the country, and was so well 
pleased that he decided to make settlement in that im- 
mediate vicinity'. He made entry of a large scope of 
lands on Little Thickety and Goucher creeks, which has 
been in the family ever since. He was born in Virginia, 
]\Iarch 28th, 1731, and died March 13th, 1810, aged 79 
vears. He had five sons and two daughters, viz.: Smith 



372 History of Spartanburg County. 

(known as Jndge L.)? John, David, William, Nathan, 
Nancy and Polly. 

Of these sons Smith Lipscomb, the eldest, had fonr 
sons and two daughters, viz. : William (Billy Pete) 
who married a Miss Lockart, daughter of an old settler ; 
Jammie, who married a Miss Ferguson ; Wyatt, who 
married Rebecca Lockart, sister of William's wife; 
David, who married a Miss Macomson ; Betsey, who 
married Hiram Lockart (brother of the wives of William 
and Wyatt), and Nancy, who married Spencer Morgan, 
a Baptist preacher. 

Of these sons, William (or Billy Pete) had eight chil- 
dren, as follows : Agnes, who married John H. Wood ; 
Josaphine (now deceased) who married Crawford INIiller ; 
Christina P., who married John J. Lipscomb; Alexander, 
who married a Miss Jane Finley (daughter of Daniel 
P'inley, Esq.) ; Moses, who died during the war unmar- 
ried ; Smith, who married Miss Sarah Goudelock ; Jim- 
mie, unknown ; Hiram, who married Miss Janie Holmes; 
and Wyatt, who married Miss Mildred vStreetman of 
Texas. 

John Lipscomb, one of the sons of the elder William 
Lipscomb, had four sons and four daughters, viz.: John, 
William, Smith, Edward, Betsey, Agnes, Polly and 
Nancy, Of the four sons, Edward Lipscomb, Esq., had 
eleven children, as follows : Nazareth, who married Rev. 
M. C. Barnett ; Elizabeth, who married Willis Smith; 
Sarah, who married A. N. Poole; Clara, who married 
K. C. Watkins; Evelina, who married Willis Smith 
(second wife); Narcissa, who married Captain A. B. 
Bryant (killed in the army); Elias, who married Artemia 
Golightly; William L. (Billy Cap), who married Nancy 
Elizabeth , daughter of Wyatt Lipscomb ; Smith Lipscomb, 
father of R. S. Lipscomb, who married Sallie Wood, and 
who died in Virginia during the civil war; John J., who 



History of Spartanburg County. 2>72> 

married Christina Lipscomb, and Nathan, who married 
]Mary, danghter of Rnssell Wilkins. Of the fonr daugh- 
ters of John (son of William Lipscomb, the elder) men- 
tioned, Betsy married Frank Littlejohn; Agnes married 
Thomas Littlejohn first and afterwards to Drury Wood 
(cousins) ; Polly married John Wilkins, and Nancy mar- 
ried Dr. Nance. 

Of the daughters of the elder William Lipscomb men- 
tioned, Nancy married William Wood and Polly married 
Thomas Littlejohn. 

William Lipscomb, son of John and grandson of Wil- 
liam Lipscomb the elder, had five sons and three daugh- 
ters, viz. : John W., Martin, Smith, William R., Edward, 
Julia Ann, Nancy W., and Agatha B. 

Of the sons mentioned, William R. Lipscomb of Lime- 
stone Springs (now Gaffney) is a highly respected citizen, 
well known in both the original counties of Spartanburg 
and Union. He was born March ad, 1828, and at this 
writing is seventy-one years of age. He embraced Chris- 
tianity at the age of eleven years, and has always been 
an exemplary member of the Baptist Church. He has 
always been a generous contributor to the cause of re- 
ligion and education. During the war he was a true 
defender of the "Lost Cause," and since then he has fol- 
lowed the avocation of a farmer. 

He has been married three times — first, to Miss 
Nancy Austell ; second, to Mrs. Elmina Jeffries ; and, 
third, to Miss Susan Lafar. By the last marriage he 
has four sons. 

Edward (Pompey Ned ) Lipscomb is also w^ell known 
in the section of the country in which he lives as an 
honest, upright and well-to-do farmer. 

Of the daughters of William (son of John) Lipscomb 
mentioned, Julia Ann married James M. Surratt, Nancy 



374 History of Spartanburg County. 

W. married Luther Poole, and Agatha B. married Hol- 
man R. Smith. 

It may be truly said of the entire Lipscomb family 
that they are and always have been a highly respectable 
and law-abiding generation of people. They have always 
been true, loyal and patriotic, both in times of peace 
and in war ; and in the civil war between the States 
every available man of this large family connection 
shouldered his musket and defended a cause which they 
believed (and was) right and just. Some of them sacri- 
ficed their lives in defense of their country, both in the 
hospital and on the field of battle. 

Amongr the battle-scarred veterans of the families of 
this name referred to, we would mention William R. 
(Billy Cap) Lipscomb, whose jaw was lacerated by an 
explosion of a shell on the battle-field. 

In this connection we would again refer to Captain 
Alfred B. Bryant, who married Miss Narcissa, daughter 
of Edward Lipscomb, Esq. He was a brave and heroic 
officer in the Confederate army. He entered the service 
as lieutenant of Company B, Holcombe Legion, and suc- 
ceeded Captain Sloan (the latter resigning on account of 
ill health) to the captaincy of said company January, 
1863, which he commanded until within about three 
weeks before the surrender at Appomattox. He was 
killed near Fort Steadman, Va., March 25th, 1865. 

WILLIAM SMITH LIPSCOMB. 

In our efforts to preserve tlie history and perpetuate the 
memories of the worthy sons belonging to the Lipscomb 
families, there are none more worthy of our special atten- 
tion than William Smith Lipscomb, eldest son of Wyatt 
and Rebecca (Lockart) Lipscomb, who was born Novem- 
ber 2ist, 1834, and died December loth, 1898, being in 
the sixty-fourth year of his age. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



375 



He was reared on his father's farm on Thickety Creek, 
in the present connty of Cherokee, and only a few miles 
from Gaffney, S. C, where he died. 

Being a son of an honorable and respectable parentage, 
he had instilled into him in early life all the principles 
which go to make np a trne man, gentleman and patriot, 
which he was. Bnt, aside from this, he possessed and 
maintained throughout his entire life a moral character 
that was pure and be- 
yond reproach. He was 
strictly temperate, 
never having during 
his life tasted a drop of 
alcoholic liquors. 

In January, 1862, he 
entered the service of 
the Confederate States 
as a member of Captain 
Felix Walker's com- 
pany, 1 8th Regiment, 
S. C. v., and was 
wounded seriously at 
the battle of Clay's farm, in Virginia, in 1864; and once 
during his career as a soldier, when in the heat of battle, 
the color-bearer of his regiment having been shot down, 
he seized the fallen colors and bore them on to victory. 

After the war, for a quarter of a century or more, he 
maintained the reputation of a first-class hotel man, in 
which business he was engaged at the time of his death. 

He had been a member of the Baptist Church for 
about fifteen years, and was always ready, in an humble 
way, to contribute, when called upon, to all the objects 
of charity and benevolence. 

In i860 he married Miss Albertine Goudelock, of 




\V. S. Lipscomb. 



2>7^ 



History of Spartanburg County. 



Union, fifth daughter of John W. Goudelock, Esq., b>^ 
whom he had eight children, six of whom are living. 

LIEUT. SMITH LIPSCOMB, 

son of William ( Billy Pete) and Sarah (Lockart) Lips- 
comb, was born February 26th, 1840, near the present 
town of Thickety, S. C. He was educated in the com- 
mon schools of his neighborhood, and attended the clas- 
sical school of J. Banks Lyle at Limestone Springs. 

At the outbreak of 
the civil war between 
the States he volun- 
teered for the service ia 
Company F, i8th Regi- 
ment, S. C. V. (Colonel 
Gadbury), commanded 
respectively by Cap- 
tains Felix J. Walker 
and Goodman Jeffries. 
Of this company Smith 
Lipscomb was senior 
2d lieutenant, havings 
been promoted to this 
position from junior 2d lieutenant. Throughout the 
entire war of four years in which he served, he was noted 
for his gallantry and faithfulness, in every sense of the 
word, to his country's cause. 

After his return home from the army in 1865 he 
married Sallie Goudelock, daughter of John W. Goude- 
lock, of Union county, S. C, a congenial and devoted 
companion, and removed to the State of Texas, where 
he has since resided. His home is at Bonham, Fannin 
county, which he has served wnth efficiency for many 
years, both in the office of sheriff and tax-collector. He 
has now returned to private life, but is numbered among 




Lieut. Smith Lipscomb. 



History of Spartanburg County. -x^']^ 

the honest, upright and progressive citizens of his 
adopted State, and has always conducted himself in such 
a way as to reflect credit on his mother State. 

By his marriage with Miss Goudelock he has raised 
an orderly and interesting family of children, one son, 
Wade Hampton, having served in Cuba in the recent 
war with Spain. 



CHAPTER XXIX. 



THE BALLENGER FAMILY. 



From the best information obtainable, two brothers, 
Edward and James Ballenger, migrated to the present 
■county of Spartanburg before the outbreak of the Rev- 
olution. During that struggle for x-lmerican Liberty 
they sided with the patriots, were noted Whigs and ob- 
jects of hatred by the Tory element, so much so that one 
of these brothers came very near being murdered by 
" Bloody Bill " Cunningham and his following during 
his notorious raid to the up-country of South Carolina in 
November, 1781.* 

In the " Genealogy of the Lewis Family of America, " 
by Wm. Terrell Lewis, page 205, it is stated that Ed- 
ward (Neddie) Ballenger was a Revolutionary soldier 
and did good service for his country. He was wounded 
at the siege of Augusta, was in the battle of Cowpens and 
many others. He is described as being six feet in stat- 
ure, was kind and hospitable to his friends, brave and 
fearless, in battle and uncompromising wuth the Tories. 
He married Pleasant, a daughter of David and Elizabeth 
(Lockart) Lewis. They had seven children, viz. : 
Margaret; James, married Mahala Foster; Pressley, 
married Nancy Dodd ; Larkin, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of John (Jackey) Wood ; Rebecca Lavina mar 
Tied Henry Cothran ; Edward J. ; and Elizabeth, married 
Wm. White. t 

James Ballenger, brother of Edward, married Dorcas 

* See " Colonial and Revolutionar\- History of Upper S. C. " Maj. 
Bomar's letter, pp. 355-4. 

7 Father of Mrs. Thos. W. Richardson, Inman, S. C. 

(37S) 



History of Spartanburg Coi'Isty. 379 

Dodson in Virginia, and had sons, John, James (Wagon- 
er Jimmie) , William, Edward (Neddie), Elijah, and 
daughters, Frances (Frankee), Margaret (Peggy) and 
Tabitha. Of these sons, John married Alsie Leachman 
and had children as follows : Joshua, James, Cornier, 
John, William and two daughters, Sarah and Alice. 
Joshua, the eldest, married Mary Davis; James married 
Margaret (Peggy) Turner; John married Rachel Gar- 
rett, and William Tabitha Garrett (sisters); Sarah mar- 
ried Benj. Farmer; and Alice married Thomson Davis. 

The children of Joshua and Mary (Davis) Ballenger 
were eight in number, viz. : Elizabeth, Tinsley, Elijah, 
M argaret, James, Alberry, David and John. Of these, 
Elizabeth, aged 86, Tinsley, aged 84, Elijah, aged 80, 
Margaret, aged 76, and John, aged 66, are all living 
and residing in Greenville county, S. C. The children 
of J ames C. and Margaret (Turner) Ballenger were, 
Jinsey, who married John Wheeler; Turner, who never 
married; Dillingham, who married Saphrona Ponder; 
Margaret Ann, who married Adolphus Turner; and 
Peyton, who will receive further notice. 

James (Wagoner Jimmie), second son of James Ballen- 
ger, born June nth, 1780, married twice : first to 
Judith Foster, and had five children as follows : Richard, 
who married Mrs. Elizabeth (Betsey) Snoddy (relict of 
Isaac Snoddy) ; William, who married first Mary Good- 
lett, and afterwards to Virginia Owens ; Joel, who mar- 
ried jVIary Murph ; Edward (Neddie), who married Catha- 
rine Montgom ery ; Thomas, who married first Mary 
Wingo, and second Mary Landrum ; and Sarah, who mar- 
ried Nathaniel Dodd. Mrs. J. P. Jackson, of Independ- 
ence, Mo., is a surviving heir of Nathaniel Dodd. His 
second marriage was to Susan Davis — no children. 

William Ballenger, third son of the elder James Bal- 
lenger, married first a Miss Wilson, and second to Polly 



380 History of Spartanburg County. 

Wingo. The latter surviving, married a second time to 
Reuben Gramling. By the first marriage there were 
two sons and one daughter, viz. : Edward (Blacksmith 
Neddie), Madison and Phateme. The latter married 
first to Wm. Gentry, and second to Zera Alverson. She 
had one son by each marriag,e, viz. : Wm. Gentry of 
Georgia, and Rev. Edward Alverson. 

Edward and Elijah, the other sons of the elder James 
Ballenger, migrated to Missouri, where they died. 
Of the daughters, Frankie married Isaac Bishop, * 
Peggie married David Lewis and Tabitha married a 
Foster. 

The entire families of Ballenger have always been 
honest, upright and true to their country, both in times 
of peace and in war. Among those who fell in the civil 
war between the States were four sons of John (son of 
Joshua) Ballenger, viz. : Jasper, Lewis, Hamilton and 
John ; Dillingham, son of James C. Ballenger ; one son 
of Benjamin and Sallie (Ballenger) Farmer, and one son 
(Thomas) of Thomson and Halie (Ballenger) Davis. To 
this list might be appropriately added the name of J. 
Smiley Wheeler, son of Capt. John Wheeler and grand- 
son of James C. Ballenger who was a lieutenant in 
Company B, 22d Regiment, S. C. V., and who was killed 
in battle at Jackson, Miss. 

CAPTAIN PEYTON BALLENGER, 

son of James C. and Margaret (Turner) Ballenger, was 
born near Holly Spring, S- C, December 9th, 1831. 
He was raised on his father's farm, was educated in the 
common schools of his neighborhood, and has been all 
his life a progressive citizen and successful farmer. 



*This was the Isaac Bishop who, in 1776, was stolen by the Indians 
after his father had been murdered by them near Shiloh church. ( See 
Colonial and Revolutionary History of Upper S. C, p. 91.) 



History of Spartanburg County, 



381 



He entered the Confederate service as a lientenant in 
Company B, aad Regiment, S. C. V., was in several of the 
battles in which said regiment was engaged, and was in 
command of his company for fifteen months. Subse- 
quently he resigned and entered the cavalry branch of the 
service. He was captured December ist, '64, at Stony 
Creek, Va., and was carried to Point Lookout, where he 
was kept until the 23d of June, '65, when he was re- 
leased. He then returned to his home. 

Before the outbreak 
of the civil war Cap- 
tain Ballenger served 
as a captain in the 
South Carolina militia 
for seven years. 

He connected him- 
self with the Baptist 
Church in early life 
and has been a deacon 
in the same for a num- 
ber of years. No man 
stands higher in the 
community in which 
he lives than Captain 

Peyton Ballenger. He is a popular citizen and a natural 
born gentleman. 

Some time in the fifties he married Carrie, daughter 
of Colonel Spartan Goodlett of Greenville District, 
S. C, with whom he lived about twelve years, when 
she died, leaving six children, viz. : Maggie, who mar- 
ried K. G. Wingo; Carrie, who married P. H. Wheeler; 
Lula, who married John O. Wingo ; Jas. Smiley, who 
married Alice Ballenger ; Mary Emily, single, and Spar- 
tan Goodlett, dead. 

He married a second time to Emily, daughter of Jason 




Captain Peyton Ballenger. 



382 



History of Spartanburg County. 



Wall, By the latter marriage one child is born, Ethel, 
aged twelve years. 

CAPTAIN ADAM WASHINGTON BALLENGER, 

son of Edward B. and Cassia Ann (Hempley) Ballen- 
ger, was born near the present town of Inman, S. C, 
January 17th, 1844. He was raised on his father's farm, 
and soon after the beginning of hostilities of the civil 

war between the States 
he enlisted in Company 
C, 13th Regiment, 
S. C. v., and was a ser- 
geant in said company 
until some time in 1863, 
when, by order of Gen- 
eral R. E. Lee, he was 
promoted for distin- 
guished gallantry on 
the battle-field. At the 
second battle of Cold 
Harbor, in a charge 
against the e n e m v 
when the latter w^ere thrown into confusion and were in 
the act of retreating, young Ballenger, separating him- 
self from his command and alone, rushed forward and 
mounted one of the guns of the enemy's artillery. This 
bold daring caused the driver of the horses conveying 
the piece to jump off on the tongue between the horses 
and make his escape out at the end of the tongue. B:d- 
lenger immediately, in order to secure the capture of the 
gun, jumped off the piece, cut loose the traces and un- 
fastened the off-horse, which he mounted. In returning 
to his command he met his captain (J. W. Carlisle), 
who informed him that his brother Joseph was wounded 
and had been left in the rear. Balleno-er then went in 




Lieut. A. W. Ballenger. 



History of Spartanburg County. 383- 

quest of his brother. But in the meanwhile a party of 
the enemy had whipped around one wing of the Con- 
federate forces, but finding they were liable to be cut off 
retreated, but carried Joseph Ballenger away with them, 
who was imprisoned at Point Lookout, and soon died. 
Lieutenant Ballenger never saw his brother again after 
he left him before the beginning of the charge. 

This gallant conduct on the part of young Ballenger 
had been witnessed by General McGowen, who sent for 
him in a day or two afterwards to report to his head- 
quarters. Young Ballenger obeyed orders and reported, 
having no idea for what purpose he was wanted. On 
arriving at the headquarters of General McGowen, he 
was congratulated by the general, who informed him 
that he had recommended that he be commissioned a first 
lieutenant. Receiving his commission, he was assigned 
to Company H of the 13th Regiment, but in a few months 
thereafter he was appointed to one of the companies of 
Dunlop's Battalion of Lee's Sharpshooters, three compa- 
nies of which were made up out of McGowen's Brigade. 
Here he remained in command of the first company of 
this organization, rendering distinguished service, until 
the 27th of March, 1865, when he was severely wounded 
in the arm and hip on the picket line in front of Pet ers- 
burg. He was conveyed to Richmond, and was there 
when the surrender at Appomattox took place a few days 
afterwards. While in the Jackson Hospital at Richmo nd 
still suffering from his wounds, he was taken with 
typhoid fever, from which he came very near losing his 
life. During this time he was visited and administered 
to by three daughters of General R. E. Lee, a daughter 
of General Ewell, and Miss Rosa Lee Powers. After 
some four months of suffering he recovered sufficiently to 
return home. He was ordered to the State capitol build- 
ing to take the oath of allegiance. Not relishing this,.. 



384 



History of Spartanburg County. 



however, he slipped away, bringing with him his army 
sword, and after walking several miles out of the city 
he boarded the train, and after many trying difficnlties 
reached his home in safety. 

In 1866 Lieutenant Ballenger married Miss Emma Vic- 
toria Wingo. They have had fourteen children, twelve 
of whom are living, viz. : Melton, married Miss Mattie 
Morgan; Joel M. ; Mamie, married John Poole, Esq.; 
Minnie, married Rev. W. F. Sorrels (deceased); Alfred, 

married Miss Bessie 
Hurt; Horace, married 
Miss Swain; Carl, 
( Trace, Clarence, Leila, 
Fred, and Joyce. 

LIEUT. JAMES SPARTAN 
BALLENGER. 

Among those who 
served their country 
with conspicuous gal- 
lantry during the civil 
war between the States 
was Lieutenant James 
S. Ballenger, son of 
"William and Mary (Goodlett) Ballenger, who was born 
December 13th, 1835. He was raised, for the moetpart, 
on his father's farm, near Wellford, S. C, and was educated 
in the schools of his neighborhood. 

At the outbreak of the civil war he enlisted in the 
service of his native State, and was a sergeant in the 
Morgan Light Infantry, which was mustered into the 
service April 13th, 1861, as a part of the 5th Regiment, 
S. C. V. Six weeks later, however, this company reor- 
ganized on Sullivan's Island, S. C, for the Confederate 
-service, electing Alfred H. Foster, captain ; John M. Ben- 




LiKUT. Jas. S. Bai.lenger. 



History of Spartanburg County. 385 

son, first lieutenant; and Robert A. Snoddy and Jas, S. 
Ballenger, senior and junior second lieutenants. The 
company was known as F, 5th Regiment, S. C. V. Ai 
the end of twelve months' enlistment the company again 
reorganized in Virginia, re-electing A. H. Foster captain. 
Lieutenant Benson was promoted in another service. 
Lieutenant Snoddy was made first lieutenant, and James S. 
and Richard D. Ballenger, senior and junior second lieu- 
tenants. The company, known afterwards as Company 
D, formed a part of Colonel Jenkins's regiment of Pal- 
metto Sharpshooters. In 1863 Lieutenant Snoddy died 
of wounds at Campbell's Station, Tenn., and James S. 
Ballenger rose by promotion to first lieutenant of his 
company, which position he held to the end of the war. 
He was never wounded, but participated in nearly or 
quite all the battles in which his regiment was engaged. 
Limited space will not allow here a detailed account of 
the horoic service he rendered his country in her time of 
greatest peril. 

Returning home from the army he settled down, and 
has lived the quiet life of a farmer, never having aspired 
to political life. He is, however, an honest, upright and 
progressive citizen and exemplary deacon of the Baptist 
Church. 

In 1863 ^^ married Mary Amaryllis, daughter of Rev. 
J. G. Landrum. They have four living children, viz. : 
Minnie (Mrs. Hester), Carrie (Mrs. Smiley Ballenger), 
Broadus, and Lida (Mrs. John Jones). 

lieutenant RICHARD D. BALLENGER, 

son of William and Mary Ballenger and brother 6f James 
S. Ballenger, was numbered among the long and count- 
less list of gallant heroes that gave up their lives in de- 
fense of the "Lost Cause." He was -born in 1837, and 
. had reached the best years of his manhood when he en- 

2s h s c 



386 History of Spartanburg County. 

listed in the service of his country, being among the 
very first to vohmteer. He was elected second lieuten- 
ant of Company D, Palmetto Sharpshooters, upon the re- 
organization of the Southern army in Virginia in 1862,. 
and participated in all the battles in which his regiment 
was engaged, including the great battle of the Wilder- 
ness, where he was mortally wounded ]\Iay 6th, 1864.. 



LlhlT. R. i^ BaI.LI'.M.KR. 



He died from his wounds at Orange Court-house a iew 
days afterwards. No braver spirit ever offered up his 
life to his country. Let not his memory be forgotten 
in the annals of his country's history. 



SILAS BENSON 



was born in Greenville District, S. C, in the year 1800, 
his parents being among the early settlers of that dis- 



History of Spartanburg County. 387 

trict. He was educated in the best schools that could 
be afforded in his day and time, but possessed by nature 
an ingenious turn of mind, and was by occupation a 
machinist and millwright. He was a model citizen, 
honest, industrious and progressive, and well-informed 
on all the current topics of the day. 

He married Nancy Miller, daughter of John Miller, 
and granddaughter of Michael IMiller, a woman of do- 
mestic accomplishments and exemplary piety ; both she 
and her husband were consistent members of the Bap- 
tist Church. 

Not many years after this marriage Mr. Benson re- 
moved to Spartanburg District settling on North Tyger 
River, about three miles east of Wellford, where he 
erected a merchant flouring-mill, and in connection 
therewith he conducted the business of sawmilling and 
wool-carding. The latter proved a great convenience 
to the surrounding country during tlie civil war, and 
especially to many of the soldiers in the army, who 
were dependent for clothing and blankets made at home. 

By the marriage of Silas and Nancy (Miller) Benson 
a family of the highest respectability was reared, the 
eldest of whom was Rosa, who married Colonel S. AI. 
Snoddy (see sketch) ; the second, Narcissa, who never 
married ; the third. Captain W. A. Benson, who will re- 
ceive further notice ; the fourth, Frances, who married 
Wm. G. High; the fifth, Harriet, who married a Mr. 
Roe of Greenville county, S. C; the sixth, Captain John 
M. Benson of Wellford, S. C, who married Aliss Fannie 
Bernard of Richmond, Va.; the seventh, Nancy Marinda, 
who married Wm. B. Bennett, a lieutenant in Co. G, 
loth Arkansas Volunteers, during the civil war, who 
was wounded at the battle of Shiloh, necessitating the 
amputation of a part of one foot ; the eighth, Margaret, 
who married Isaac Nesbitt; the ninth, Robert, who died 



388 



History of Spartanburg County. 



in boyhood; the tenth, Antoinette, who married Dr. De 
Bard ; and the eleventh, Henrietta, who married Wm. 
Bomar. 

CAPTAIN WILLIS ALEXANDER BENSON, 

referred to as the son of Silas and Nancy Benson, was 
born May 24th, 1831. He was bronght up on his 
father's homestead and attended the schools of his neigh- 
borhood. He was very 
industrious in his busi- 
ness habits, and possess- 
ing an active mind and 
a vigorous constitution, 
he bid fair to have a 
long and useful life 
before him. Some time 
in the fifties he united 
in marriage with Mar- 
tha, eldest daughter of 
William and Mary 
( Goodlett ) Ballenger. 
By this marriage three 
children were born, 
viz. : INIary, present wife of James D. Norman, master 
in equity, Spartanburg, S. C ; Alexander Benson of 
Greers, S. C, and John Benson of Wellford, S. C. Soon 
after the outbreak of the civil war between the States 
Captain Benson volunteered in Co. B, 2 2d Regiment, 
S. C. V. This company, of which John Wheeler was 
its first captain, was made up, for the most part, of mate- 
rial from Spartanburg District, with a few volunteers 
from Greenville District. Captain Benson in course of 
time was elected as one of its lieutenants, and upon the 
resignation or discharge of Captain Robert G. Fleming, 
who was severelv wounded in a fight between Richmond 




Capt. W. a. Benson. 



History of Spartanburg County. 389 

and Petersburg, May 2 2d, 1864, he became captain of 
his company, which position he held at the time of his 
death, which occurred in the trenches near Petersburg, 
June 1 8th, 1864, caused by the explosion of a shell from 
the enemy's batteries in his front. 

His immediate successor in office was Captain Geo. B. 
Lake (see sketch), who, with thirty-three men in said 
company, was covered up in the crater caused by mine 
explosion near the same place the following month 
(July 30th), from which Captain Lake and two other 
men were dug out alive. 

The writer was born and reared within one and a 
fourth miles of the home of Captain Benson. He at- 
tended the same school with him, and is perfectly familiar 
with the excellent traits that belonged to his character. 
A purer patriot or a more gallant hero never drew his 
sword in defence of his country than Willis Alexander 
Benson, whom his descendants and the generations that 
are to come after him should remember with pride. 



CHAPTER XXX. 



THE BOWDEN FAMILY. 



The original ancestor of the Bowden family in Spar- 
tanburg District was Benjamin Bowden, who was a na- 
tive of Virginia and one of the early settlers. He was 
born in 1770. His wife was Nancy Roach, born 1771. 
They had six sons and no daughters. The names of the 
sons were Reuben, William, George, John, James and 
Benjamin. All of these sons moved West except Reu- 
ben, the eldest, who was well known to the older citizens 
of Spartanburg county. 

Reuben Bowden was born in Virginia, October loth, 
1798, and married i\ugust 21st, 1823, ^^ Nancy Linder, 
daughter of the elder Lee Linder, who was born Octo- 
ber 27th, 1809. He was always prominent in liis neigh- 
borhood, filling such offices as magistrate, officer of the 
militia, deacon in the Baptist Church, etc. Later he 
was elected four continuous terms to the office of ordi- 
nary for the Spartanburg District, and made a most effi- 
cient and accommodating official, saving many lawyers' 
fees to those having business in that office. It is said 
that not one of his decisions during all those years was 
reversed by the higher courts. On account of declin- 
ing health he resigned during his fourth term as ordi- 
nary, and removed to his plantation on South Pacolet 
near Gowersville, where he died in 1866. 

He had six children, as follows : John Ramsey, a captain 
in the Confederate army, who married Miss Lucy Elliot 
of York District, S. S. ; Mary Ann, who married Robert 
J. Foster ; Charity L., who married Thomas Lipscomb, 
a gallant soldier in the Confederate army, killed Second 

(390) 



History of Spartanburg County. 



391 



Manassas ; James Maybin, who married Aliss Virginia 
Nolly ; Romulus L., who married Miss IMary Fleck of 
Creenville, S. C. ; Wm. Jeffries, who never married ; 
and Cleopatra Telulah, who married Thos. C. Davis, 
now resident of Atlanta, Ga. 

CAPTAIN ROMULUS LEE BOWDEN, 

of Spartanburg, S. C, son of Reuben and Nancy (Lin- 
-der) Bowden, was born near that city February 27th, 
1834. His 
mother was, 
as previously 
stated, the 
daughter of 
Lee and 
Mary (Tem- 
pleton) Lin- 
der, his de- 
scent on both 
sides being 
F^nglish. 

Captain 
Bowden, un- 
til he reach- 
ed the age of 
sixteen, was 

reared on his father's farm in Spartanburg county, and 
at that age he became a clerk in a store at Spartanburg, 
which was but the beginning of a long and successful 
business career. In 1855 he went to Martin's Depot, 
Laurens county, S. C, where he was employed as a 
clerk in a mercantile establishment until 1858, when 
he became a partner in the firm, and continued in the 
business of general merchandizing until x\ugust, 1861, 
when he entered as a volunteer from Laurens county, 




Capt. R. L. Bowden. 



392 History of Spartanburg County. 

S. C, joining Company A, 13th Regiment, S. C. V., as 
a first lieutenant. Upon the organization of said regi- 
ment P. L. Calhoun, the captain of Company A, was 
elected lieutenant-colonel of the regiment, and Lieu- 
tenant Bowden succeeded him to the captaincy of the 
company, and commanded the same until disability re- 
sulting from wounds compelled his retirement, in the 
summer of 1864. He commanded his company in the 
battles of ISIechanicsville, Gaines Mill (First Cold Har- 
bor), Frazier's Farm, Malvern Hill, Second Manassas, 
Chancellorsville, and Gettysburg. At Second Manassas 
he was wounded in the left leg, and at Gettysburg he 
was twice wounded, being shot in the left arm and left 
hand. For fifteen years after the war he carried a bullet 
in his left arm, and the loss of the index-finger of his 
left hand is evidence of one of the wounds he received 
at Gettysburg. As already stated, it was by reason of 
these wounds that he was placed on the retired list in 
1864. 

At Chancellorsville Captain Bowden was complimented 
by Colonel E. O. Edwards, the gallant commander of 
the 13th Regiment. It was on that terrible night when 
General Stojiewall Jackson was killed. His corps had 
been on a forced march all day to flank Hooker's army and 
attack his right and rear. It was natural that some should 
straggle. During a halt after dark Colonel Edwards 
passed down the line inquiring of company commanders 
as to any absent officers. On reaching Company A, and 
being informed that all were present, he replied, "Yes, 
and always are." Colonel Edwards himself received 
his death-wound on the following day. 

On returning home Captain Bowden resumed his for- 
mer occupation, and in 1867 began the mercantile busi- 
ness at Gowensville, S. C, where he remained until 
1873, when he removed to Spartanburg, where he has 



History of vSpartanburg County. 393 

since been engaged in the dry-goods business. He is a 
reliable merchant in every respect. He gives his per- 
sonal attention to his business, and his elegant store- 
room on Main street is one of the attractions of the city, 
and will compare favorably in point of size and beauty 
of arrangement with many others in cities larger than 
Spartanburg. 

Captain Bowden not only looks well to his private 
business, but is a progressive and public-spirited citizen 
in every sense of the word. He has been three times 
alderman of his city, is director of a building and loan 
association, and a pillar of Spartanburg's financial 
strength. 

In times of peace he has come up to the standard of 
an upright citizenship, and in time of war, we may say, 
that a more devoted patriot never drew his sword in de- 
fense of the rights of his cherished State. 

By his marriage with Miss Mary Fleck he has five 
children, as follows : 

J. Malcolm Bowden, ist Lieutenant Company K, 2d 
Regiment, S. C. V., served in Cuba in the recent war 
with Spain ; Maggie F., wife of G. W. Hodges ; Melvin 
E., Otis M., Mary R., and Agnes. -"^'''^^ 

THE MCDOWELL FAMILY. 

The families of McDowells were Scotch-Irish, and 
were Covenanters and Presbyterians. They first emi- 
grated from North Ireland to Pennsylvania, and from 
thence to North and South Carolina. Of this numerous 
family connection there were two brothers, Silas and 
Robert. Silas McDowell made settlement in North 
Carolina, while his brother, Robert McDowell, came 
further south and settled on South Pacolet, in the pres- 
ent county of Spartanburg, which was before the out- 
break of the Revolution. He had two sons, Robert and. 



394 History of Spartanburg County. 

James, and five daughters : Elizabeth, who married a 
Mr. Jeffries on Thickety Creek in Union county, S. C. ; 
Sarah, who married Robert Love on Broad River, in the 
same county ; Nancy, who married a Harper and moved 
to Tennessee ; Jane, who married Captain Hugh McMil- 
len ; and Mary, who married John Clark, father of Oliver, 
David, Benjamin, Robert, Foster, James and Mrs. Polly 
Kelso, wife of Henry Kelso. 

Robert ^McDowell, the eldest, who was a soldier in the 
Continental Line, served to the end of the war, and was 
at the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown. His father, 
the elder Robert, was too old to take up arms when the 
Revolution began. 

James McDowell, the other brother, served with the 
partizans, the Whig soldiers, during the Revolution, 
under the command of Captain Barry, who joined 
Morgan's army the day before that battle and partici- 
pated in that battle. He married a IMiss IMcMillen, and 
had nine children — eight boys and one girl : David, 
Robert, James, Andrew, Hugh, William F., John Y. ,. 
Calvin and Jane. David married a daughter of Wm. 
Chapman ; Robert married a Miss Williams ; James 
married a Miss Ferguson of York county ; Andrew mar- 
ried Miss Harriet Liles of Polk county, N. C. ; Hugh 
married a daughter of Wm. Chapman; Wm. F. mar- 
ried a Miss Ramsey ; John Y. married INIiss Polly Ramsey 
(sister); and Calvin married a Miss Ballenger. 

William Chapman, the father-in-law of David and 
Hugh McDowell, was one of the first settlers on the 
Pacolets. His wife was a Miss Jones ; they emigrated 
from Virginia, and had fifteen children — twelve girls 
and three boys. The names of the boys were John 
(called Jackey), William and James. 

Four of Wm. Chapman's daughters married to Cope- 
lands, two to McDowells (David and Hugh, as stated), 



History of Spartanburg County. 395 

one to Lemuel C. Clements, one to Perry Clement, one 
to a Bullington of Tennessee, one to a Nicholls, one to 
Jackson Green, and one to Rice Ramsey. 

David ]McDo\vell had nine children — three boys and 
six girls ; James had eight children — two boys and six 
girls ; Andrew had nine children — four boys and five 
girls ; Hugh had twelve children — seven boys and five 
girls ; William F. had nine children — six boys and three 
girls ; John Y. had five children — one boy and four girls ; 
and Calvin had four children — three girls and one boy. 

Of the seven sons of Hugh McDowell, two died at 
the ages of about eleven and thirteen. The other five : 
James, Marcus, Martin \'an Buren (called Vanney), 
William J. (called Dene), and Hugh J. (called Hugy), 
deserve special notice. 

James, the eldest, a member of Co. I, 5th Regiment, 
S. C. V^, was wounded at the battle of Frazier's Farm, 
in 1862, and died of same at Richmond a short time 
afterwards. 

jMarcus, second lieutenant of same company, died in 
his tent near Richmond, Va., in 1863, of disease con- 
tracted in camps. 

j\Iartin Van Buren was killed at the battle of Seven 
Pines in 1862. 

W^m. J., now residing on South Pacolet, was also 
second lieutenant in Co. I, 5th S. C. Regiment, and was 
wounded in the arm by the explosion of a shell at 
Sharpsburg, which necessitated amputation. He still 
lives within a few miles of his father's old homestead 
place, and is well known in his section as an honest, in- 
telligent and progressive farmer. For quite a number 
of years since the war he has filled the office of trial 
justice. He is a member of the Baptist Church, and as 
3. citizen is highly esteemed by all. 

Husfh A. McDowell volunteered in the Confederate 



396 History of Spartanburg County. 

service at the outset in 1861, and was the only one of 
the brothers referred to that escaped unhurt. 

William F. McDowell (known as fifer Billy) had 
three sons, James, Rice and John, to volunteer in the 
Confederate army at the very beginning- of the strug- 
gle. Rice, a member of the 5th S. C. Regiment, died 
of fever in the camps at Germantown, Va., in 1861. He 
was buried near by in the honors of war, which the 
writer witnessed, being a member of the same company 
and regiment at the time. 

It may be truly said of the entire McDowell connec- 
tion on the Pacolets, that they are, and have always 
been, an honest, industrious, and law-abiding class of 
citizens, never aspiring for public office, but always 
ready to defend their State when called upon. 

Of the older brothers mentioned, William McDowell 
was a deacon of New Prospect (Baptist) church for many 
years, and Calvin McDowell was major of the second 
battalion 36th Regiment, S. C. militia, which office he 
held for several years before the outbreak of the civil 
war. 

CAPTAIN JOSEPH H. MCDOWELL, 

only son of Major Calvin McDowell, was a gallant officer 
in the Confederate army and deserves more than passings 
notice. He was born September 26th, 1839, being at 
this writing (1899) sixty years of age. He was brought 
up on his father's farm on South Pacolet River, in Spar- 
tanburg county, and was educated in the schools of the 
neighborhood, his last attendance being at the New 
Prospect Academy in 1858, taught by Rev. T. J. Earle> 
At the outbreak of the civil war between the States 
he enlisted in the service, having previously served while 
in his teens as an officer in the State militia. He was a 
member of Captain Seay's company, 5th Regiment, 



History of Spartanburg County. 397 

S. C. v., and in August, 1861, was elected a lieutenant in 
the same, which position he held until the following 
December, when he resigned by reason of a severe illness. 
He rejoined his company, however, a short time befo're the 
seven days battle around Richmond, and was in all the 
battles in which his regiment participated. He contin- 




W 




Capt. Joseph H. McDowei.l. 

ued to serve as a private in his company until July, '62, 
when he was again elected a second lieutenant. 

In the second bat tie of Manassas and in the Maryland 
campaign, which soon followed, including the battle of 
Sharpsburg, in which he was engaged, he had command 
of his company, the other officers being absent by reason 
of sickness. He performeed distinguished services during 
the last two years of the war, being assigned to the spe- 
cial command of the skirmishers of the brigade (Brat- 



398 History of Spartanburg County. 

ton's), to which his regiment belonged. At Deep Bottom, 
Va., August 1 6th, '62, he was wounded in the arm and 
shoulder. 

During the Tennessee campaign, in which Longstreet's 
corps was detached, he was wounded again, at Loudon, 
Tenn. He had charge of the skirmish line under the 
command of Lieutenant-Colonel Logan, who, although 
young, was a brave and chivalrous officer. Colonel 
Logan ordered Lieutenant McDowell to charge the Fed- 
eral line, which he did, and was shot down within twent y- 
five yards of their rear-guard or skirmish line. He was 
conveyed to the hospital in x^tlanta, where he remained 
three months. When he had sufficiently recovered, 
however, he rejoined his regiment in '64, and participated 
in the Virginia campaigns which followed. Early in 
'65, by reason of the resignation of Captain Choice, he 
was promoted to the captaincy of his company, and was 
at the surrender at Appomattox. 

The fact has been stated to the writer that Captain 
McDowell discharged his duty in such a way as to meet 
with the highest appreciation of his superior officers, and 
especially with Colonel Coward, his regimental com- 
mander. 

After the close of the civil war Captain McDowell 
married Miss IMartha Dodd, by whom he raised a family. 
For some fifteen or twenty years he continued to reside 
in his native county, but subsequently removed with his 
family to Clifford, Texas, where he at present resides. 



CHAPTER XXXI. 

THE WINGO FAMILY. 

The Wingos are very numerous. Their ancestors 
came either from Cumberland or Halifax counties, \'a. 
John Wingo, a Revolutionary soldier, came to Spar- 
tanburg county just after the close of the Revolutionary 
War and settled about two miles east of Mount Zion 
Church, where John W. Wingo now lives. His wife- 
was Polly Seay, also of Revolutionary stock, whom he 
married in Virginia and brought with him. He was a 
citizen of the highest respectability and a man of ex- 
emplary piety. 

He had twelve children, as follows : Annie, who mar- 
ried Burnel High ; ]\Iayson (daughter), who married 
Moses Foster (Pacolet Moses) ; Polly, who married Swep- 
son High ; Exie, who married William Foster ; Oney, 
who married a Parkerson ; Elenor, who married Wm. 
(Billy) Moore ; Hester, who married a Young on South 
Pacolet ; Jinsey, who married a West and went to Geor- 
gia; Ransom, who married Polly Dodd ; Coleman, who 
married Katy Bomar ; Alberry, who married a Lewis ; 
Elias, who married Jane Finch. 

Ransom, one of these sons, raised ten children, as fol- 
lows : James, who married Herbert Hawkins ; Alexander 
(sheriff), who married Catharine Bivings ; Oliver, who 
married a Chana in Alabama; Elizabeth (Betsy), who 
married Elias Richardson ; John, who never married, and 
died in California ; William, who died a young man 
while studying medicine ; Thouias, who never married, 
and also died in California; Jane (still living), who mar- 

(399) 



400 History of Spartanburg County, 

ried Simpson Wingo; Mary (Polly), who married Calvin 
Wingo; and Nancy, who married James A. Fowler. 

William (Billy) Wingo was a first cousin of John 
Wingo, the ancestor of the families just mentioned. He 
also came to the same neighborhood in Spartanburg 
county after the Revolution. He was married twice, 
and had three children by first marriage. One of these 
was the first wife of Reuben Gramling. The other two 
were Thomas and John Wingo — the latter sometimes 
called Johnnie Crust or Blinkey Johiimc to distinguish 
him from others of the same name. Thomas removed 
to Missouri some time in the forties, and was married four 
times. His brother, John {Cri(st) Wingo, married Cin- 
tha Wood (whose mother was a Seay, sister of wife of 
the first mentioned, John Wingo). He was a substan- 
tial, honest, and upright citizen, and had children as 
follows: Hamilton, who married Caroline Hawkins; 
Calvin, who married Polly Wingo ; Polly, who married 
Manning Ross and went to Texas ; Simpson, who mar- 
ried Jane Wingo ; Franklin, who married Lizzie Roys- 
ton ; Maiden, who never married ; Wiley, who married 
Theresa Cunningham ; Jackson, who married INIargaret 
McMaken ; Lewis Landrum, who married Mary Berry ; 
Memory, who married Mary Pennington ; and Nancy, 
who married Robert Reynolds. Of the eight sons men- 
tioned, all entered the Confederate army, all served their 
country faithfully during its existence, and all survived 
to return to their homes after its close. 

Zachariah Wingo, Abner Wingo, and the first John 
Wingo mentioned were brothers. They also came from 
Virginia to Spartanburg District after the close of the 
Revolution, Zachariah settling on Jorden's Creek waters 
of North Tyger, whose wife was Sallie Fosset, whom 
he married in Virginia before his emigration from that 
State. Bv this marriage he had eight children, as fol- 



History of Spartanburg County. 401 

lows: Betsey, who married Patton Tinsley; iVniia, who 
married Peter Haskins; Dolly, who married David 
Tinsley; Burrel, who married Delilah Foster; Zacha- 
riah, who married Jane Foster; Anderson, who married 
Maiden High; Wilson, who married Mary Chapman; 
and Paschal, who married Maiden Foster. 

Abner Wingo married Elizabeth Seay, and had nine 
children, and among those whose names we are enabled 
to gather were two sons : Willis and John. The former 
was a Methodist minister for a great number of years 
and died "with the harness on " a few years since in 
Texas. He was the father of Mr. Thomas W. Wingo, a 
well-known and highly respected citizen residing at 
Duncans, S. C. 

John Wingo, known as " Fifer John," married Marga- 
ret Thompson and had nine children, viz. : Allen, who 
married a Miss Brice and went to Georgia ; James, who 
also married a Miss Brice and went to Alabama ; John, 
who never married and died out West ; Lewis, who 
married Miss Edwards and went to Illinois, where he 
died ; INIahala, w^ho married David Bettis ; Polly, who 
married Henry Wood, and who died in Tennessee ; 
Betsey, who was a cripple and never married, and 
Rebecca wdio married Simpson Lowe, near Fair Forest, 
S. C. She has recently died. 

John or " Fifer John " Wingo was born in Spartan- 
burg county, and died about the year 1895, in the 
ninety-first year of his age. He was a quiet law-abiding 
citizen, a soldier of the war of 181 2, and an exemplary 
member of Nazareth (Presbyterian) church, where in 
the cemetery his remains repose, 

REV. ISHAM WOODRUFF WINGO. 

Among the prominent representative members of this 
large family connection we would mention Rev. L W. 

26 h s c 



^02 



History of Spartanburg County, 



Wingo, well known to all the people of Spartanburg 
county, both as an educator of her young and as a minis- 
ter of the gospel. He is a son of Paschal and Maiden 
(Foster) Wingo, and was born in Spartanburg county, 
May 2 2d, 1850. 

After attending the common schools of his neighbor- 
hood, he entered the 
Gowensville Semina- 
ry under Rev. T. J. 
Earle, where he re- 
mained three years. 
Afterwards he entered 
the Furman Univer- 
sity at • Greenville, 
S. C. , where, after a 
course of three years, 
he was graduated. He 
then entered the 
Southern Baptist 
Theological Seminary 
while it was still lo- 
cated at Greenville, 
where he attended for 
several years and from 
which he was grad- 
uated. 
His first pastoral work was at Pendleton, S. C, where 
he served from the latter part of 1877 to '81, serving, 
meanwhile, the church at Walhalla one year and also 
other churches in the surrounding country. He then 
went to Camden, S. C, and served the Baptist Church 
fifteen months, when he was called to the Baptist Churcli 
at Gaffney, S. C, where he remained nine years, leav- 
ing there in 1892. While at Gaffney, he served the 
Baptist church at Limestone Springs part of his time,. 




Rev. I. W. Wingo. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



403 



and taught mathematics in the Cooper Limestone Insti- 
tute located at the latter place. From GafEney he went 
to Ridge Spring, S. C, where he remained three years,, 
during which time he was engaged in pastoral and min- 
isterial work. In 1894 he removed to Campobello, S. C y 
when he opened up the present High School, which 
ranks among the best schools of our country, and which 
has had much to do with the upbuilding and business 
prosperity in that thriving town. 




Oak Knob Hotel, Mineral Spring, near Campobello, S. C. 



Mr. Wingo has rendered the country valuable service 
in developing and bringing to the notice of the public 
the valuable medicinal properties of the Chalybeate Sul- 
phur Spring of Campobello, which had been known for 
fifty years or more to a few citizens. The constituent 
elements of the water from this spring, as analyzed, are 
carbonates and sulphates of lime, iron, soda and magnesia, 
a little sulphate of potash, silica, lithia, and carbonic 
acid gas. The spring is surrounded with a substantial 



404 



History of Spartanburg County. 



l)rick wall and building overhead, and a handsome and 
well-equipped hotel has been erected near by, all due to 
the indomitable energy and perseverance of Mr, Wingo. 
Numerous testimonials can be produced as to the value 
and health-giving properties of this spring, which in the 
future is destined to take its place as among the most 
popular summer resorts in the up-country of South Car- 
olina. Mr. Wingo is rendering not only important 
service as an educator, but is also laboring earnestly and 

zealously as a minister 
of the gospel. He is 
at present pastor of 
Wellford, Friendship 
and other churches, 
and is doing a good 
work in the Master's 
vineyard. 

In 1878 or '79 he 
married Miss Lula 
Dean, a graduate of 
the Spartanburg Fe- 
male College. She is 
the only daughter of 
Dr. Thomas P. and 
Mrs. Mary (Davis) Dean. By this marriage lie has had 
six children, viz. : Mary Dean (deceased), Anna Lula, 
Joseph Paschal, Ruth Earle, Isliam Dean, and William 
Wallace. 

GEORGE WASHINGTON WINGO. 

Among those deserving of special notice of the Wingo 
family connection is George Washington Wingo, son of 
Burrel and Delilah (Foster) Wingo, who was born July 
5th, 1838, and died of consumptive disease, contracted 
in the army, February, 1870. He was raised on his 




Sergt. Geo. Washington Wingo. 



History of Spartanburg County. 405 

father's farm and attended tlie schools of his neighbor- 
hood, some of which the writer also attended. He was 
much associated with him in his schoolboy days, and 
can testify to the genial and excellent traits of charac- 
ter with which by nature he was happily endowed. 

He was a sergeant in Company C, 13th Regiment, 
S. C. v., commanded by Captain John W. Carlisle. In 
this battle-scarred company, which has left an unim- 
peachable record behind it, he was among the fore- 
most as a true and valiant soldier, ready at all times to 
discharge every duty which confronted him. He was 
in quite all the battles in which his company was en- 
gaged, and never was known to shirk the post of dan- 
ger or responsibility. Some months before the close of 
the war he was captured and imprisoned, where he was 
held until its close. Returning home it was found that 
he had contracted a consumptive disease, from which he 
never recovered. 

Some time before or during the war he married Mary, 
daughter of Edward Ballenger. By this marriage two 
children survive, viz.: Rhoda, wife of Dr. Wm. H. Chap- 
man, near Brannon, S. C, a prominent and influential 
citizen and physician in Spartanburg county ; and Stew- 
art Wingo, well known as a progressive business man, 
and resident of Spartanburg city. 



CHAPTER XXXIL 

THE TURNER FAMILY. 

James Turner, Sr., migrated from Virginia with his 
father to South Carolina before the Revohition, when 
he was only twelve years of age. He was the only child 
of his mother, whose maiden name was Hannah Middle- 
ton. He had reached the age of manhood wdien the 
Revolution broke out, and was in the service of his 
country. 

His father (whose first name we have been unable to 
obtain) settled on Pacolet River near Coulter's Ford, 
and raised by a second wife three sons and three daugh- 
ters, viz. : Henry, Richard, Samuel, Phebe (Mrs. Solo- 
mon Abbott), Sallie (Mrs. Ephraim Potter), and Betty 
(Mrs. Wm. Garrett). 

James Turner, Sr., married Margaret Heydon, and 
had nine children, viz. : Edward, William, Samuel, Mid- 
dleton, James, Mary, Ann (Mrs. James Foster), Eliza- 
beth and Tamer. His home was on Pacolet River, near 
Coulter's Ford, where his father settled. It was here 
during the bloody scenes of the Revolution that he 
crept into his log cabin one night to get a good rest, but 
dreamed during the night that "there was danger about." 
So he got up and secreted himself in a plum nursery 
near by, and soon a Tory appeared with his gun, when 
James commenced pelting him with rocks, and ran him 
off through a cow-mire. 

At another time he was taken prisoner by a band of 
Tories, who were preparing to kill him at once ; but as 
fortune would have it, one of the Tories said, "The 

(406) 



History of Spartanburg County. 407 

first man that hurts Jimmie Turner I will kill him." 
Turner had done this Tory a kindness heretofore, and 
so his life was saved. 

James Turner, Sr., was a brother-in-law to Horse Shoe 
Robinson, the hero of Mr. Kenedy's famous novel of 
the same name, both of whom were scouts during the 
Revolution and a terror to the Tories, 

Some time after the close of the Revolution James 
Turner, accompanied by his little son Samuel, visited 
Horse Shoe Robinson, who resided in what was then 
Pendleton District, S. C. It is stated that they sat up 
all night discussing their ups and downs, but that Mrs. 
Robinson made them lie down while she was preparing 
breakfast. James Turner, Sr., was a pious and conse- 
crated Christian, and for many years a deacon of Buck 
Creek (Baptist) Church. 

Samuel Turner, son of James Turner, Sr., to whom 
we have referred, was a popular, well-to-do and highly 
respected citizen, whose homestead (near Mount Zion 
Church ) embraced the historic site of old Fort Prince. 
Here he spent the greater portion of his life. The 
writer lived near him till he grew to manhood, and was 
much associated with him. He was a good and intelli- 
gent citizen, an obliging neighbor, kind in disposition, 
scrupulously neat in person, and in deportment as polite 
as a Frenchman. He married Mahala, daughter of 
John Chapman, Sr., and had eleven children, as follows : 

(i) Lenora, married William Rush first, and second 
John D. Cannon ; (2) Adolphus and (3) Ann, both dying 
young ; (4) Augustus John, a distinguished professor of 
music. Was for many years connected with the State 
institution, Deaf, Dumb and Blind, Staunton, Va. Was 
captain and instructor of the famous Stonewall band, 
which ranked among the first in the Confederate army. 
{5) Memory Horatio, who migrated to Georgia and mar- 



4o8 History of Spartanburg County, 

ried Addie Parsons in that State; (6) Randolph, an in- 
telligent, industrious and progressive citizen and farmer, 
who married Eleanor, eldest daughter of Paschal Wingo, 
both now deceased; (7) George Washington, well known 
to the people of Spartanburg county as an upright and 
patriotic citizen and Christian gentleman, fully alive to 
every enterprise looking to the upbuilding of his coun- 
try, devoting much of his time to the garden, orchard, 
and vineyard, who married Maiden Wood, daughter of 
Richard Moss, both living and being in good health, this 
(1900) being the fiftieth anniversary year of their mar- 
riage ; (8) Abigail, who married John Landrum, eldest son 
of Paschal Wingo, and removed to Texas ; (9) Abner 
Benson, who migrated to Texas, and married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Thomas Ballenger; (10) Claudius Calhoun, 
an intelligent and highly respected citizen, well known in 
his native county, who married Nancy Catharine (now 
deceased), daughter of John Chapman, Jr., Esq. He was 
engaged in journalism before the outbreak of the civil 
war, and at the beginning of the same enlisted in Com- 
pany F, 5th Regiment, S. C. V., and upon the reorgani- 
zation of said company in 1862 was elected a lieutenant 
in Company I (Captain W. D. Camp), which position he 
held until the end of the war. Was, upon the reorganiza- 
tion of the State militia, after close of war, elected major. 
Was a representative in the State Legislature from 1868 
to 1870, and was a trial justice for a number of years. 
He is now a resident of Spartanburg city, being engaged 
in the real estate business. (11) Cassius Lewis (young- 
est child of Samuel Turner), died in childhood. 

THE HIGH FAMILY, 

Among the early families that settled in the vicinity 
of old Fort Prince immediately after the close of the 
Revolution were the Highs, Wingos, Chapmans, Bomars,. 



History of Spartanburg County. 409 

Woods, Pollards, Bushes and others. These families all 
emigrated from Virginia. They and their ancestors 
belonged to that class, before the Revolntion in Virginia, 
known as Dissenters from the Established Church of Eng- 
land. Coming from the "Old Dominion," they were thor- 
oughly indoctrinated into the ideas of Thomas Jefferson, 
that the government of the United States was a govern- 
ment "of the people, for the people, and by the people." 
Being opposed to the Established Church, they were all 
Baptists in principle, and were among the founders of 
old Mount Zion Church, organized in 18 10. The gov- 
ernment of the Baptist Church being advisory only, one 
church organization being entirely independent of an- 
other, these good people, in embracing the principles of 
this faith, still held to the ideas of Jefferson, that the 
government of the Baptist churches was ' ' a government 
of the Baptists, for the Baptists, and by the Baptists." 
They were opposed to any form of centralised govern- 
ment, either civil or religious. 

The oldest ancestor among the High family that we can 
learn of was William High, who was the father of five 
children, viz. : Burnel, Swepson, Paschal Benjamin, 
David, and Elizabeth C. (called Betsy). Of these Paschal 
Benjamin and David removed to the great West, and have 
left a numerous posterity behind them ; Betsey married 
Reuben Gramling, an industrious and progressive farmer, 
blacksmith and wood-workman, who settled on South 
Pacolet. and who, as a citizen, occupied a position of 
the highest respectability. He had two sons, the late 
Henry H. Gramling of Gramling Station, on the Ashe- 
ville and Spartanburg Railroad, and David Gramling in 
the neighborhood of IVIacedonia church, Spartanburg 
county. Both of these brothers were well known to the 
people of Spartanburg county, and they left behind 
them a posterity of the highest respectability. Elizabetli 



410 History of Spartanburg County, 

C. married Rev. Thomas Bomar, who is noticed in con- 
nection with the Bomar family in this volume. 

The children of Burnel High were William Giles, 
James Madison, Polly, Rebecca, Maiden, Madora, Fran- 
cis, and Hester. Of these Polly married to Thomas Roe, 
who removed to Texas, Rebecca to Jennings, Maiden to 
Anderson Wingo, Madora to Captain Wm. Caldwell, 
Frances to Henry Turner, and Hester to Turner Cantrel. 
Of these William Giles High was most intimately known 
to the writer, who will always cherish a pleasant recol- 
lection of his memory. He married first Mrs. Thursy 
Oliver, who at the time of her death (i860) had been a 
member of Mount Zion church for near twenty years, 
and was in all respects a lady and true Christian. For 
his second wife he married Miss Francis Benson, daugh- 
ter of Silas Benson, who still survives him, and who is a 
lady of domestic refinement, occupying a position of the 
highest respectability in the neighborhood in which she 
lives. 

Wm. G. High was a typical representative of that 
old Virginia type of hospitality which he by nature in- 
herited. He was an honest and industrious and well-to-do 
farmer and a magnificent entertainer at home. He was 
a good provider, and nothing afforded him so much pleas- 
ure as to have his friends around him, and especially the 
pastor of his church,* to whom he was devoted. 

The children of Swepson High were Thomas P., 
married to Sarah Ann Caldwell ; Benjamin, married first 
to Margaret Caldwell, and second to Amanda Brice; 
James Van Buren, married to Malinda Wingo, daughter 
of Burrel Wingo ; P'ranklin, never married ; Mary, mar- 
ried John Strange. 



* The late Rev. John G. Laiidrum, who occupied the pastorate of 
Mount Zion, with an interval, for thirty-six years, beginning with the 
year 1832. 



History of Spartanburg County. 411 

Of the children of Madison High, brother of William 
■G., there are numerous descendants in the county, which 
have every reason to be proud of a respectable ancestry, 
who have always been faithful to every principle of duty 
and right as law-abiding citizens. 

The sons mentioned of Swepson High are : Thomas 
Benjamin, Van Buren and Franklin, who were all brave 
soldiers in the civil war between the States, true in 
every sense of the word to the cause which they espoused, 
being among the last to yield, and have always sustained 
an enviable reputation as peaceable, honest and patriotic 
•citizens of Spartanburg county. 

CHAPMAN FAMILY. 

Among the early settlers in Spartanburg county was 
John Chapman, Sr., who settled on the waters of North 
Tyger about one-half mile west of the historic Fort 
Prince. He was born in Amelia county, Va. , from 
which State he migrated to South Carolina. He is still 
remembered by many who yet survive the period of 
the latter years of his life, among whom is the writer, 
who can testify to his excellent character as a citizen. 
He was industrious and progressive as a farmer, kind 
and gentle in his manners, and a devout member and 
deacon of the Baptist Church. Living near Mount Zion 
(Baptist) Church, of which he was numbered among its 
founders, he donated the land on which said church is 
located, in all about ten acres. 

He was twice married. His first wife was a Miss 
Dodson, by which marriage he had two children, viz, : 
Edmond, who married a Miss Wood, daughter of John 
Wood (sister of Captain Coleman Wood); and Elizabeth 
(Betsey), who married Moses Richardson. He married 
-a second time to Mary (Polly) Seay, sister to Mrs. John 



412 History of Spartanburg County. 

Wingo, Mrs. John Wood, and Mrs. Wm. Pollard, by 
which marriage he had children as follows : 

ist. Beverly Randolph Chapman, who married Sallie 
Foster, and had thirteen children, viz. : Wm. Pinckney, 
John Calvin, Garland (died in the army), Memory N., 
Dr. Oliver Goldsmith, Virgil Randolph Jackson, Gran- 
ville Washington, Mary (Mrs. Wilson Wingo), Emily 
(Mrs. General A. C. Bomar), Jane (Mrs. Andrew Holtz- 
onser), Louisa (Mrs. Clongh H. Mabry), Ann (Mrs. Henry 
H. Turner), and Bettie (Mrs. Miles Floyd). 

2d. John Chapman, Jr., Esq., married Rose R. Mont- 
gomery, , and had children as follows: W^arren Davis, 
died of wounds received during the war. He volunteered 
at the beginning of the war between the States, and was 
commissioned a lieutenant. He was a surveyor by oc- 
cupation, and was possessed of brilliant literary talents. 
He was cut off in the prime of his manhood. ]\Iarcus 
Brutus, a gentleman. Christian, patriot and soldier, whose 
health was broken down in the service of his country- 
John Newton, Chevis Montgomery (residing in Califor- 
nia), Margaret Ann (Mrs. John Wood, Texas), Memory 
Petigrevv (died in childhood), Nancy Catherine (deceased, 
Mrs. C. C. Turner), Octavia Olivia, single, and Perry Earle, 
who resides at the old homestead place of his father (near 
Mount Zion), and who is well known as an industrious, 
honest, upright and progressive citizen. He married 
Miss Mattie, daughter of Randolph Turner, Esq. John 
Chapman, Jr., Esq., was a man who commanded the 
respect and esteem of the people of Spartanburg District. 
He was for many years a magistrate, and administered the 
law with firmness and impartiality. He was a progres- 
sive business man, and for many years a deacon in the 
Baptist Church. 

3d. Mahala Johnson Chapman, married Samuel Tur- 
ner. (See Turner family.) 



History of Spartanburg County, 413 

4th. Memory Noble Chapman, a prominent and influ- 
ential citizen in his day, and a member of the State 
legislature for a number of years. 

5th. Mary (Polly), married Fortunatus Legg, Esq. 

6th. Ann, married Mathew Evans. 

7th. Lorenzo Dow, who never married, was a man of 
the strictest honor, integrity, truthfulness and Christian 
character. 

RICHARDSON FAMILY. 

]\Ioses Richardson migrated from Virginia to Spar- 
tanburg District, South Carolina, about the year 1820. 
He married Elizal)eth (Betsey), daughter of John Chap- 
man, Sr., and settled on the old Blackstock road on the 
plantation now owned by Mr. Henry Wingo. He was 
an honest and industrious farmer. He and his wife were 
exemplary members of the Baptist church at ]\Iount Zion. 

By his marriage with Elizabeth Chapman he had chil- 
dren as follows : John, who married Harriet Copeland ; 
Mathew, who married Fannie Ramsey ; Pinckney, who 
married Emily, daughter of Garland Foster ; Elias, who 
married Elizabeth, daughter of Ransom Wingo; and 
Oliver Perry, who married Hester, daughter of Paschal 
Wingo. 

These sons were all moral, intelligent, upright and 
highly respected citizens, standing well before the peo- 
ple. Under the head of our review of the progress of 
education in Spartanburg county during the nineteenth 
century, we have noticed O. P. Richardson as a popular 
school-teacher in his day. After his marriage with Miss 
Wingo he removed to Hunt county, Texas, where he 
died. 

Among his children surviving is one son, Willis Preston 
Richardson, who has risen to considerable prominence. 
He competed successfully for a vacancy at West Point, 



414 History of Spartanburg County. 

where he graduated after a four-years course, standing- 
near the head of his class. Since that time he has re- 
mained in the United States army, except four years, 
during which time he was appointed tutor at West Point. 
He is now captain of a company in the Klondike doing 
valiant service for the government. 

Elias and Elizabeth (Wingo) Richardson had children 
as follows : Wm. Henry Harrison, married Miss Anna 
O. Wingo, daughter of Paschal Wingo ; Thomas Wilds, 
married Miss Hallie E. White, daughter of William 
White ; Benjamin Franklin, died in the army during the 
war ; Louisa Josephine, married Samuel W. Keller, 
both deceased ; Emily Elizabeth, married Henry Wingo; 
Mary, married James R. Snoddy. Wm. H. H. Richard- 
son, the only surviving sou of above mentioned sons, 
is a resident of Gaffney, S. C, and is one of the enter- 
prising and influential citizens of that city. 

THOMAS WILDS RICHARDSON, 

second son of Elias and Elizabeth Richardson, to whom 
we have already referred, was born near Campton, S. C, 
March 3d, 1843. He was raised on his father's farm, 
and attended the schools of his neighborhood. 

Soon after the outbreak of the civil war between the 
States he volunteered in Co. D, Palmetto Sharpshooters, 
commanded by Captain A. H. Foster, and was wounded 
at the battle of Seven Pines. Recovering from the 
same he continued in the service of his country, partici- 
pating in all the battles in which his regiment was 
engaged until near the close of the war, when he was 
captured near Petersburg. He was imprisoned at Point 
Lookout, where he was kept until July some four months, 
after the war had ended. 

Returning home after his release from imprisonment 
he adapted himself to the new conditions which sur- 



History of Spartanburg County, 



415 



rounded him. The time had arrived when ahnost every 
young man in the country had to set himself to work to 
make an honest living for himself, and to this end 
Thomas W. Richardson proved himself equal to the 
emergency. He united in marriage with Miss Hattie 
White, and proved himself to be one of the most pro- 
gressive and indu"stri- 
ous farmers in the com- 
munity in which he 
lived. He kept him- 
self well posted on the 
current events of the 
day and was especially 
fond of literature de- 
voted to progressive 
agriculture. He was 
an intelligent thinker, 
always entertaining ad- 
vanced ideas. So 
much so, that he was 
sometimes considered 
eccentric, but no one stood higher in the estimation of 
his fellow citizens as an honest and upright citizen. 
He never sought office promotion, but in times of peace 
as w^ell as in war, he proved himself to be a man of 
the sternest patriotism and integrity, leaving a charac- 
ter behind him well worthy of imitation. He had for 
many years been a member of the Baptist Church. He 
died in 1898. By his marriage with Miss White, who 
survives him, he had one child. Alma Estelle, wife of 
Dr. J. R. Gibson, who resides at Inman, S. C. 




Thos. W. Richakuson. 



CHAPTER XXXIII. 

THE COLLINS FAMILY. 

Dcscenda)its of Thomas Collins^ Sr. 

Among the early settlers on the Tygers was Thomas 
Collins, Sr., who emigrated from York, England, to 
York, Pennsylvania, and from thence to the territory 
embraced in the present connty of Spartanbnrg, and 
took np a large snrvey near Nazareth chnrch on Tyger 
River, covering lands where W. Ellis Collins now lives. 
He married before he left England. He had fonr sons 
and two danghters, viz. : John, Richard, Joseph, Wil- 
liam, Jane (Mrs. William iVnstin*), and Nancy. (Mrs. 
Alexander Thomson). 

The eldest son John was probably born before he left 
England. He had grown np to manhood when the 
Revolntionary war broke ont, and rose to the rank of 
captain in that war, and was distinguished for his gal- 
lantry. He participated in nearly all the battles fought 
in South Carolina, and was in the battle of Cowpens 
January 17, ijSi.f He married Miss Elizabeth Brown, 
of Newberry, S. C. Their i:hildren were ]\Irs. Sallie 
Swansey, Thomas B. Collins (father of wife of Rev. A. A. 
James), John S. Collins, who was known as "Bachelor 

* Colonel William Austin was a soldier of the Revolution. C. S. 
Thompson, Haywood county, N. C, writes that he has seen his uni- 
form and sword hanging by his bedside. 

t In the year 1S25 he revisited the battle-field of Cowpens, and in 
company with Mr. Robert Scruggs, pointed out the place where he 
had a personal encounter with a British officer, in which the latter 
was killed. In the year 1S87 the writer, with T. G. Collins and T. D. 
Uarle of Landrum, in passing through the battle-field were piloted to 
.this spot by Mr. Scruggs, who was then ninety years of age. 

(416) 



History of Spartanburg County. 417 

Jack," and who was put to death by some unknown 
party ; Alexander Collins, who died when sixteen years 
of age; and Mrs. Martha Westmoreland, wife of Sterling 
Westmoreland. Richard and William Collins, second 
and third sons, went to Kentucky after the Revolution 
before it was admitted as a State. Some of their de- 
scendants are quite prominent there. 

Joseph Collins, the fourth son, was born before the 
Revolution, but was not old enough at its outbreak to 
enter the army. He was, however, a true patriot and 
a citizen of the highest respectability. He married Eliza- 
beth Fleming, by whom he had nine children as fol- 
lows : Mary W., who married Samuel Kelso ; Martha 
(Patsey), married Samuel Jackson; Thomas (father of 
James A. Collins, Boiling Springs, S. C), married Mariah 
Foster ; Ann Fleming, married INIathew T, Hudson of 
Greenville district, S. C. ; Rebecca Wells, married West- 
ley Gilreath ; iVndrew Fleming, married Amanda L. An- 
derson ; William Austin, married Margaret P. Jackson, 
daughter of Foster Jackson on North Pacolet ; Joseph 
Alexander, married Nancy Conner of Georgia ; and Nancy 
Thompson, married Colonel Gabriel Cannon (first wife). 

THE THOMPSON FAMILY 

is among the oldest of the early settlers in upper Car- 
olina. It is said that this family, being Scotch-Irish, 
first made settlement in Pennsylvania, coming to South 
Carolina before the outbreak of the Revolution. The 
ancestor of this branch of the family is traced back to 
Joseph Thompson. He made settlement in the forks of 
the T3-gers (near Wellford, S. C), known as the old 
Thompson place on the old Cowpens furnace road, lead- 
ing from the latter place to Greenville, S. C. He had 
two sons, Alexander and John. x\lexander, born 1768, 
after the death of his father, continued to reside at the 

27 h s c 



41 8 History of Spartanburg County. 

old homestead place of his father. His wife was Nancy, 
the daughter of Thomas Collins, and sister of Captain 
John Collins, a Revolntionary soldier. Alexander 
Thompson died at the age of seventy-five. His wife, 
born same year (1768), lived to the age of ninety-one 
years, and conld recite many events of the Revolntion. 
Alexander and Nancy Thompson had three sons and 
three danghters : i. Joseph Thompson, who married 
Margaret Snoddy, danghter of Isaac Snoddy. They had 
two children, Mrs. Nancy Jane Jackson of Wellford, 
S. C, relict of Captain Robert Jackson (mother of Mrs. 
Wm, S. Morrison and Joseph Jackson), and Crawford S. 
Thompson, a highly respected citizen of Haywood 
connty, N. C, who married Miss Lizzie, eldest daugh- 
ter of Samuel Morgan of Spartanburg district. 

2. John Thompson, married a Miss Hamilton of old 
Pendleton ; no children. 

3. ]Madison Lewis Thompson, married a daughter of 
Captain John Snoddy, wdio lived only six months. He 
died a few years afterward at Macon, Ga. 

4. Rosa Thompson, who married John Thompson, 
her cousin. The latter dying soon afterward without 
issue, she married to Wm. G. Smith (called "Mutton 
Ham Billy" to distinguish him from others of the same 
name). They left two daughters : Mary, who married 
Dr. Lee Smith, and Fannie, who died single. 

5. Jane Thompson, who married Elias Fleming ; no 
children. 

John Thompson, the other son of Joseph and brother 
of Alexander (commonly called Aleck), settled in Fair- 
view Township, Greenville county, S. C, and had three 
sons : I. Alexander Thompson, who married first an 
Alexander and raised a large family, and second to a 
Pedan, and raised several more children. 

2. Dr. Joseph Thompson, who practiced medicine in 



History of Spartanburg County. 419 

Greenville county for a while, and then removed to a 
conntry cross-roads town in Georgia, then called ]\Iarthas- 
ville, bnt which afterwards became the great city of 
x\tlanta. He was one of the prime movers of the Kim- 
ball House. He has two danghters in Atlanta, viz. : ]\Irs. 
Richard Peters and ]\Irs. Black. 

3. John Thompson, already referred to as marrying 
Rosa, the danghter of his uncle Alexander Thompson. 

The Thompsons belonged to an honest, hardy class of 
pioneer yeomanry in the early settlement of the territory 
now embraced in the present county of vSpartanburg. 

]\Ir. Crawford S. Thompson, Haywood county, N. C, 
now the only one left to perpetuate this famih' name, 
writes : "Joseph Thompson, my great-grandfather, was 
a blacksmith ; Alexander Thompson, my grandfather, 
was a blacksmith, and Joseph Thompson, my father, was 
a blacksmith — all celebrated for their horse-shoeing. 
My great-grandfather brought his anvil from the old 
country with him. My father had it when he died. I 
suppose it could be seen yet. Had two horns to it. 
The sign of the old blacksmith shop can be seen yet at 
the old Thompson place, in the fork of the road, near 
the two creeks. ' ' 

THE WHITE FAMILY. 

Daniel White lived on South Pacolet. He was a rev- 
olutionary soldier and a citizen of good standing in the 
community in which he li\ed. His oldest son, Berry 
White, married a Miss Booker of Spartanburg and em- 
igrated to Georgia, and represented his county in the 
legislature of that State for several years. He was a 
gallant captain in the Confederate army. 

Henry White, Esq., another son of Daniel White, 
married Margaret, daughter of ]\Iajor John Graves 
McClure, and had eight children, viz. : One daughter, 
who married Robert ]\IcMillen ; Elvira, who married 



420 History of Spartanburg County. 

Will. Chapman, father of B. B. Chapman; Francis M., 
who married Rebecca Copeland, sister of Captain Alex. 
Copeland, and removed to Idaho ; Jane, who married 
Wm. Finger ; John, who married Mary Younger ; IMajor 
Henry, who married Margaret Finger ; Pinckney, who 
married Miss IMartha Robbs, and removed to Georgia; 
and Peggy, who married John Younger and removed 
West. 

THE MCMILLEN FAMILY. 

Captain Hugh TvIciMillen was the father of the broth- 
ers, Robert, David and Love McMillen on North Pacolet, 
who resided in the vicinity of Fingerville, S. C. He 

was also the father of two daughters : Elizabeth 

and Mary Ann. 

Robert McMillen married Susan Bomar, daughter of 
Armstead Bomar, who removed to Campbell county, Ga. 
Love McMillen married a Miss Hannon, and David 
McMillen married Jane Clement, a granddaughter of 
the elder James McDowell. 

Of the daughters mentioned, Elizabeth married \Vil- 
liam McClure, son of Major John Graves McClure, a 
soldier of the Revolution. The son William referred 
to removed to Campbell county, Ga., and was one of 
the pioneer settlers of that county immediately after the 
removal of the Cherokee Indians, which was about the 
year 1836. He was a prominent and influential citizen 
of that county, and left behind him a respectable pos- 
terity. One of his daughters, Jane, married Judge 
Reuben Beavers, who was ordinary of Campbell county 
for forty years, and another daughter married James G. 
Sturdivant, who was judge of the inferior court for 
Chattooga county, Ga., for a number of years. All of 
the family were prominent in official positions and other 
pursuits. His grandson, John C. Camp, represented 



History of Spartanburg County. 421 

Campbell county in the legislature of Georgia for a 
number of years. 

The second daughter of Captain Hugh McMillen 
married Charles ]\IcClure, father of David, Rudisail, 
Marion, John, Jackson, ]\Iadison, and wives of Captain 
John Camp of Georgia, Crawford and Frank Alverson. 

The youngest daughter, Mary Ann, of Captain Hugh 
McMillen married Philip C. Rudisail, who remo\'ed 
from Spartanburg district to Georgia a few years before 
the outbreak of the civil war. He had five children, 
among whom was Dr. R. Y. Rudisail who deserves more 
than passing notice. 

Dr. Robert Young Rudisail was born and reared on 
his father's farm on North Pacolet, near Fingerville, 
S. C. The date of his birth is August 8th, 1832. He 
went to school to the Golightlys, William and Patillo, 
was a diligent student, and under the rigid system and 
training (to use his own words) of these teachers he ac- 
quired a good English and classical education. He 
read medicine with Dr. W. P. Compton, and after two 
courses in the South Carolina Medical College graduated 
in 1855, and soon after removed to Georgia, settling at 
Summerville, in Chattooga county, where he at once en- 
tered into the practice of his profession. 

At the outbreak of the civil war he volunteered in 
the Confederate army and was commissioned as a sur- 
geon. Served as such to the end of the war, and was 
at the surrender of General Johnson at Greensboro, N. C. 
He was elected to the State legislature from his county 
in 1874 and served two years. Was reelected to the 
same body in 1895, and in the reelections that followed, 
has served to the present year (1900). 

He married soon after his removal to Georgia to Miss 
Eliza E. Knox, who is now dead, but who was a gradu- 
ate of the Synodical Female College, Talladega county. 



A 



422 History of Spartanburg County. 

Ala. His only daughter, Madora E., is the present wife 
of Jndge \Vm. M. Henry of the Rome jndicial circnit. 
His eldest son, Charles C. L. Rndisail, is a physician 
of prominence in Georgia. He married Miss Eliza Row- 
land, granddanghter of John S. Rowland, formerly a 
citizen of Spartanburg district. 

Dr. R. Y. Rndisail is a prominent member of the 
Presbyterian Chnrch and a Royal Arch Mason. 

The families of IMc^Millen on the Pacolets and in Spar- 
tanbnrg connty have always maintained positions of the 
highest respectability, and should take a pride in pre- 
serving the memories of a worthy ancestry. 

THE LAXFORD FA:\IILY. 

The ancestor of the Lanford family in Spartanburg 
county was James Lanford, who was a native of \"ir- 
gina and a soldier of the Revolution. He enlisted first 
in the continental ranks and afterwards in the navy. 
His wife was a Miss Lowery, who died before the close 
of the Revolution. Immediately after the Revolution- 
ary war he settled in North Carolina, but subsequently 
removed to the present county of Spartanburg and set- 
tled on Jammie's Creek, near Cavin's Old Field. He 
leased lands and erected a mill on said creek. After his 
lease was out he removed to Two Mile Creek, near Anti- 
och church, where he erected a cotton-gin and lived the 
remainder of his life. He was buried on his premises 
near by. With his bounty mone}-, which he obtained 
from the government, he bought all the lands now owned 
by the Leonards, near Sharon (Methodist) church. He 
had three sons : John, William and Lewis. John was 
born on the day of Gates's defeat at Camden, S. C. (Au- 
gust i6th, 1 780) — a tradition that has come down through 
the family. William Lanford married Jane Leatherwood 
and had eleven children, viz. : Lowery, who married 



History of vSpartanburg County. 423 

Permelia Dean ; Zachary, who married Zillie Posey ; 
James, who married Rachel Page ; William, who moved 
to Alabama, married Betsey Hobby, first wife, and Jane 
Leatherwood, second wife ; Roddy, who married Re- 
becca Calvert ; David, who married Catharine Lee in 
Alabama ; Elias, who married Jane Hobby ; Frances, who 
married James Leatherwood ; Priscilla, who married 
Danial Page ; Mary, who married Martin Parsins ; and 
Jane, who married Pattillo Hanna. 

Lewis Lanford married to a lady nnknown to the 
writer and raised a respectable family. 

The entire Lanford family connection, which the 
writer has been nnable to gather in fnll, have always 
maintained positions of the highest respectability. They 
are specially noted for their piety, uprightness and hon- 
estv, and have always been true to their country's inter- 
est, both in times of peace and in war. 

THE DRUMMOND FAMILY. 

The ancestor of the Drummond families in Spartan- 
burg county was Ephrim Drummond, who married Polly 
Johnson. Both removed from Virginia to South Caro- 
lina in 1789, he from Lunenburg and she from an other 
burg only a few miles away, and settled in the vicinity 
of the present town of Woodruff, S. C. Both he and 
his wife were of Scotch-Irish descent. The wife was a 
relative of General Joseph E. Johnston, who was also a 
native of Virginia. Ephrim Drummond, coming from 
a family that was full of pluck and energy, made his 
start in business by raising tobacco and rolling it to 
Charleston in hogsheads. He was successful in raising 
corn, and his place was often called Egypt. 

He served for a time in the Revolutionary war when 
only fifteen or sixteen years of age. He had twelve 
children, as follows : Jared, who married Sweeney Parks ; 



424 History of Spartanburg County. 

Warren, who married first Margaret Snoddy, second 
Nancy Howell, and third Julia Hammond ; Ephrim, 
who married first Nancy Cox, and second Katy Castle- 
berry ; Simpson, who married Malinda Brewton ; Free- 
man, who married first Nancy Clifton, and second a 
Miss Barton, daughter of Rev. Jesse Barton ; Harrison, 
who married Rebecca Martin ; daughters — Mabel, who 
married Isaac Wofford ; Betsey, who married John Wof- 
ford ; Rebecca, who married Matthew Allen ; Delilah, 
who married Simeon Brewton ; Polly, who married Jesse 
WofTord ; and Martha, who married Franklin Martin of 
Laurens county. 

Jared Drummond had thirteen children, as follows : 
Adaline, who married James Brandenburg of Orange- 
burg, S. C; Mary, who married John Miller and re- 
moved to Mississippi ; Nancy, who married John Switzer ; 
Lucinda, who married Wni. Chamblin ; Elvira, who mar- 
ried A. W. Parks ; Jane, who married Wm. Parks ; Ella, 
who married first to Samuel Wyatt Miller and moved 
to Texas, and afterwards married his brother Charles 
Miller ; Martha, who married Albert Deal ; Emma, who 
married E. H. Bobo, Esq.; Corrie, who married Geo. W. 
Lester ; Lizzie, who married a Mr. Austin ; William L. , 
who was drowned at school when seventeen or eighteen 
years old; and James, who married first, Lizzie Allen, 
and second Drucilla, daughter of Major Melmouth Young 
of Laurens county, S. C. 

Rev. Warren Drummond had six children, as follows : 
Major Samuel N., who married Ann Snoddy ; Harvey, 
who married Mary M. Switzer ; Warren, who was killed 
during the civil war, and Alexander, who never married. 
By second wife. Pierce Howell, who married Nora Arnold. 
By third wife, Susan, who married B. M. Parsons. 

Ephrim Drummond had eight children, as follows : 
Hosea, who married Elizabeth Castleberry ; Freeman, 



History of Spartanburg County. 425 

who married Elizabeth Traiiimell ; and Rowland, who 
married Polly Phillips. By second marriage, Barham, 
who married first Josephine Darby, and second Nancy 
Poole of Laurens county, S. C; Mabel, who married 
first George Reeful, and second W. P. Bragg ; Polly Ann, 
who married first Jesse Cole, and second C. C. Waddel ; 
Nevina, who married Hugh Workman ; and Elvira, who 
married J. N. Brown. 

Rev. Simpson Drummond had seven children, as fol- 
lows : Dr. Madison Wiley, who married first Sallie 
Allen, and second Annie Gertrude Shell ; ]\Iahala Cath- 
arine, who married J. B. Gray ; Fannie, who married 
James Woodruff; Jane, who married S. V. Brockman ; 
Cebern Simpson, who married Margaret Alexander ; 
Ira L., who married Lucy M. Parks ; and Mary Adaline, 
who married L. C. Wofford. 

Among the sons mentioned there were two who were 
noted as ministers of the Gospel, viz. : Warren and 
Simpson. Rev. Warren Drummond is still remembered 
by the older citizens of Spartanburg county as a zealous, 
earnest expounder of the Word, and served for a time 
Bethel and other churches as pastor. "He was an in- 
dependent thinker and preacher, formed his own con- 
clusions, and preached independently what he believed 
to be the truth. He was successful as a revival preacher, 
warming up very often to a height of impassioned elo- 
quence that would captivate and sw^ay a crowd as some 
mighty influence." 

Rev. Simpson Drummond was an acceptable minister 
of the gospel. He was a man of the deepest humility 
and wielded an influence over the churches which he 
ably served the best years of his long life. He was 
modest and retiring, but delighted to hold up the banner 
of the cross and enlist souls to Jesus. He, like his elder 



426 History of Spartanburg County. 

brother Warren, died at a orood old age in the fnll tri- 
umph of the Christian faith. 

Jated, Ephrim and Harrison Drunimond were well 
know as progressive farmers and citizens of the highest 
respectability in Spartanburg district, and a respectable 
and intelligent posterity follows them. 

Dr. Madison W. Drummond, son of Rev. Simpson 
Drnmmond, is now the oldest surviving member of the 
Drummond family in Spartanburg county. He was born 
January 19th, 1834, and has always resided at Woodruff, 
or in that immediate vicinity. Recei\'ing a good educa- 
tion he read and graduated in medicine a few years be- 
fore the beginning of the war between the States, and at 
the outbreak of said war he enlisted as a private, but 
men of his chosen profession being in demand, he was 
commissioned as a surgeon in the Confederate army, 
which position he held until the end of the war, dis- 
charging his duty towards all who come under his care 
and treatment with faithfulness and fidelity to the ' ' Lost 
Cause." Since the war he has more or less been in con- 
stant practice of his profession. He is a useful member of 
Bethel (Baptist) church, and an honest, upright citizen. 

By his marriage with ]\Iiss Sallie Allen he had four 
children : Minnie and ]\Iittie, twins ; Minnie married 
W. W. W^alker, Glendale ; Mittie married J. E. Ward, 
Chattanooga, Tenn. ; Edwin, who lives in Alabama ; and 
Sarah, who married J. M. Sharp. By his second mar- 
riage with Miss Annie G. Shell he has six children, all 
minors, viz. : Henry vSimpson, Charles Manly, James 
Boyce, Willie Laurens, John Broaddus, and Florence 
Tuluia. 

The Drummond family, as a whole, have always been 
true and loyal to their country, both in times of peace 
and war, and among those who lost their lives in de- 
fence of their countrv durino- the civil war we would 



History of Spartanburg County. 427 

mention Warren S. , son of Rev. Warren Drunimond ; 
J. Freeman, son of Ephrim Drummond, and Rowland 
Drnmmond ; the two first named were killed in battle, 
and the last named died of disease in the army the first 
year of the war. 

THE WESTMORELAND FAMILY. 

The tradition which has been handed down in the 
Westmoreland family is that three brothers of this name 
came from England to America between 1740 and 1750. 
Their names were John, Robert and Thomas. John 
settled in Pennsylvania, Robert in Virginia, and Thomas 
on Enoree River, in the neighborhood of Van-Patton's 
Shoals. All of these settlements were made before the 
Revolntion. Thomas took his hatchet and marked out 
six hundred acres of land and obtained a grant from 
King George for the same, which is still retained in the 
family. His death was caused by the bite of a rattle- 
snake. He had two sons, Thomas and John. 

Thomas was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and 
when it ended he was twenty years of age. John was 
too young for the war. 

Thomas Westmoreland had nine children, viz. : John, 
Thomas, Robert, Andrew, Jesse, Dennis, Sallie, Betsey 
and Polly. 

John, the eldest son, married Dice Johnson, and had 
several children, two of whom, Jesse and Sanford, reside 
in Spartanburg county. 

Robert, another brother, had one son, O. P. Westmore- 
land, who married Mollie Fowler, and lived on the orig- 
inal grant of land. 

Andrew Westmoreland married Temperance John- 
son. One of his sons, James R. W'estmoreland, Esq., 
married Rebecca E. Peydon and lived with her fifty-three 
years, and had eight children: John' A., who married 



428 History of Spartanburg County. 

Maggie Rush ; James White, who married Juan Leonard ; 
Thomas, who died ; Nice Tempie, who married J. W. 
Martin; Margaret, who married Professor F. B. Wood- 
ruff ; Mary Jane, who married Hon, H. H. Arnold ; Lolee, 
who married J. Warren Snoddy ; and W^m. W. B., who 
married Minnie Woodruff. 

John A. and IMaggie ( Rush) Westmoreland have five 
children, viz. : James Ripley, Fred Stroble, Nannie Pey- 
don, Goldie Lullen and Bettie Bob. 

The families of Westmoreland, both in the counties of 
Greenville and Spartanburg, have always maintained a 
high standard of citizenship. They have been specially 
noted for intelligence, uprightness and honesty, and 
have always been true to the best interests of their 
country, both in times of peace and in war. 

THE ARCHER FAMILY. 

The name "Archer" is English. It is stated that 
three brothers emigrated from England to America be- 
fore the war of 1776. One was killed at the battle of 
of Brandy wine. After the war, one settled in Virginia, 
and one in North Carolina, near the foothills of the 
Blue Ridge. From the latter descended William Archer, 
who was born near Try on Mountain. He was a consist- 
ent member of the Baptist Church, and a saddler by 
trade, as was also his father. He moved to Spartanburg 
about 1835. Was a member of the first temperance 
society organized in the place. After a few years he 
removed to " the new purchase " of Indian land in Geor- 
gia in 1840; reared nine children to mature age, all of 
whom remained in Georgia except one son, John Bank- 
ston Archer, who was born on South Pacolet at the o'd 
homestead, April 19th, 1822. His educational advan- 
tages were limited, having attended only one session of 
a nine months school. Learning the saddler's trade, he. 



History of Spartanburg County. 429 

at the age of nineteen, returned to Spartanburg from 
Georgia and hired to work at his trade with David W. 
Moore, for one year at sixty dollars and board. At the 
end of one year (having performed extra work enough 
to buy his clothes) Mr. Moore paid him the promised 
sixty dollars. His being a churchman and clerk thereof, 
gave all' his children a hymn-book. The first meeting 
day thereafter John swapped his book for a hat. 

With only sevent}'-five dollars in his pocket he married 
Rachel Thomas of New Jersey, a lady of intelligence 
and exemplary piety. By this marriage the following 
children were born : Leonidas Archer, living in Arkan- 
sas ; Mrs. Florence Mulligan, wife of A. B. Mulligan • 
John C. Archer of Spartanburg ; E. L. Archer, whom 
we will further notice ; and Mrs. Julia Switzer, wife of 
James N. Switzer. 

John B. Archer is still remembered by the people of 
Spartanburg as a man of decided force of character, in- 
dustry, perseverance and strict integrity. He possessed 
a clear judgment of men and business measures. He 
was clean in life and language, and a total abstainer 
from alcoholic drinks. 

He died suddenly at the place of his birth, December 
4th, 1893, in the seventy-second year of his age, and is 
buried at Spartanburg, Having felt the disadvantages 
3f lack of education, he spent freely of his money to 
benefit his children therewith. His son, Hon. Edgar L. 
Archer, is well known to the people of Spartanburg 
county, being at present State senator from said county. 
He was born in 1852 in the town of Spartanburg. He 
graduated in 1871, and taught school for a few years. In 
1875 he joined the South Carolina Conference and did 
regular work for a few years, but owing to failing 
health he was compelled to give up circuit preaching. 
At present he is engaged in farming aboiit three miles 



430 



History of Spartanburg County. 



from the city of Spartanburg. He has served in the 
House of Representatives, and in 1895 ^e was elected 
State senator to fill out the unexpired term of Hon. Stan- 
yearne Wilson, the latter elected to Congress, and was 
elected again (1896) to serve four years longer. He is 
an ardent advocate of the temperance cause, and as a 
public officer an advocate of economy in all the depart- 
ments of county and State. He married ]\Iiss Sleigh of 
Oconee county, S. C, a lady of intelligence and re- 
finement. 

TRIBUTE to the MEMORY OF COLONEL B. B. FOSTER 
BY HIS DAUGHTER, MRS. BEN KENNEDY. 

General Barham Bobo Foster, the son of Anthony 
Foster and Elizabeth Bobo, was born in Spartanburg 
county, at the "Cross Roads," February 22d, 1817. 
When quite a boy he took an active part in politics, be- 
ing an ardent nullifier. He was elected captain of a com- 
pany before he was eighteen years of age. In his 
twentieth year he married ]\Iary Ann Perrin, daughter 
of Samuel Perrin and Eunice Chiles. His marriage, he 
was wont to say, was his salvation. Full of vim and 
spirit, he would have been wild, but his accomplished 
Christian wife was the guiding-star whose steady bril- 
liance pointed him ever heavenward. Happy for him 
that he was wise to follow her gentle guidance. His life- 
long friend, Rev. J. G. Eandrum, often said that Colonel 
Foster's wife made a man of him. After his marriage 
he lived for several years near Cedar Springs. Thence 
he moved near Glenn Springs, where he resided until 
after the war. His home was ever noted for cordial hos- 
pitality, and was a favorite resort for the young. He 
was a wide-awake successful farmer. I remember he 
used the first guano ever seen in his community. His 
nearest neighbor and true friend used to chaff him for 



History of Spartanburg County. 



431 



subsoiling, telling him that " God knew which side of 
the ground to put on top." His neighbors honored him 
with every office he ever sought. He was a magistrate 
for years, and he held every office in the State militia 
from a captaincy to a major-generalshiiD. In my childish 
eyes there was no grander sight than my father mounted 




Lt.-Col. B. p.. Foster. 

on his parade horse "Dinah,'' dressed in his brigadier- 
general's uniform, drilling his men. I do not remember 
when he was not a legislator. I do remember when he 
ceased to be one ; when his high sense of Southern honor 
would not allow him to swallow the iron-clad oath of 
office, for truly he had " aided and abetted the rebellion " 
with all his strength and resources. 

In his youth he studied medicine under Dr. Young in 
Spartanburg. This was his chosen profession, but when 



432 History of Spartanburg County. 

his father's health failed he went home and took charge 
of the farm without a murmur. As long as he lived 
people sent for him far and near in sickness. He was a 
noted nurse, with splendid judgment and untiring vigi- 
lance. 

He was a strong advocate of States' rights, hence- 
when the State seceded he signed the secession ordi- 
nance, and never faltered once from his allegiance to 
this constitutional right. The signers of the secession 
ordinance from Spartanburg district were J. G. Landrum, 
a devout Baptist preacher of wonderful ability ; James 
H. Carlisle, the great educator and devout Christian ; 
Barham Bobo Foster, equally devout in his Christianity 
and fidelity to State ; Dr. B. F. Kilgore, famous for his 
love of his State and of his people and of his God ; 
Simpson Bobo, whose name still lives as a great leader 
of Methodism in Piedmont Carolina ; Rev. Wm. Curtis, 
a leading female educator of the South ; these were the 
sigfuers, and their names have been enrolled for all time 
to come as men who were faithful in all things, who 
were discreet, wise, just and honorable. 

As spon as South Carolina seceded he at once raised 
and drilled a company. Shortly afterwards he was 
elected lieutenant-colonel of the Third South Carolina 
Volunteers, went to Virginia and stayed until his health 
failed. He was sent home a constitutional wreck the 
winter of 1861 and 1862, but he did everything in 
his power for the soldiers and their families. When, 
in the fortunes of war, his sons both fell he bore it with 
proud agony. First his baby boy, Anthony, fell at Mary- 
land Heights, and then the eldest, his pride and joy, fell 
in the leaden hail of Fredericksburg ; and later, when the 
fortunes of war took his slaves and his home, he went 
with fire in his eye and a firm step and toiled in a new 
sphere for his loved ones. His energy was wonderful. 



History of Spartanburg County. 433 

In his boyhood he sought and found his Savior during 
a meeting at Cedar Spring, I think, conducted by Rev. 
J. G. Landrum. Many years after he joined the Cedar 
Spring Baptist Church, his mother's church, and was 
baptized by Rev. Richard Woodruff, "Uncle Dickey." 
Afterwards he moved his membership to the Philadelphia 
church near his home. He was a very zealous, liberal 
member of that church until he moved to Union county, 
when he joined Sulphur Springs church. He moved to 
Jonesville and was instrumental in building the Baptist 
church at that place. He was one of its first deacons, 
and devoted to the church. When he went to Union to 
live with his daughter, Mrs. I. G. McKissick, he joined 
that cluirch. He was always sent to every association 
and union meeting. 

Two years before his death he 4iad a stroke of paraly- 
sis. In June, 1897, Colonel Foster suffered with another 
stroke of paralysis at the home of his daughter, Mrs. 
Benjamin Kennedy, while he was on a visit there. 
Everything, of course, was done for him, but on the 
ninth of June, just one year from the time that his son-in- 
law. Colonel I. G. McKissick, had died, he passed away. 
The next day he was buried at the old Forest graveyard, 
noted in the history of Union county as containing the 
remains of Kennedys, Gists, Brandons, Thomsons, 
Fosters, Notts, Clowneys, Moores, Means, and others of 
the old families of that section of the State. Rev. A. A. 
James, himself a gallant Confederate soldier, conducted 
the funeral ceremonies. It was a pathetic scene that 
forced itself upon those who were present in the twilight 
of the summer's evening. There were gathered around 
the bier of the old soldier relatives and friends, old 
slaves and those who were strangers. In the midst of 
the tall old oaks that formed an amphitheater the funeral 
party listened with awe and admiration to the beautiful 

28 h s c 



434 History of Spartanburg County. 

tribute paid Colonel Foster by his old friend and neigh- 
bor. One sentence uttered by Mr. James is treasured 
by the descendants of Colonel Foster. Speaking of his 
worthy qualities, of his unfaltering faith in the cause 
for which he fought, of his Christian bearing, of his 
wonderful resignation in the face of trying ordeals, the 
preacher said : " The descendants of this grand old man 
ought to catch the inspiration of this moment. His 
greatest loyalty to the South and his faith in the here- 
after was that he never murmured, but bore with mar- 
velous fortitude the terrible blow that came to him when 
his two children gave up their lives for the cause for 
which he had fought and lost everything but honor. 
No greater page of honor did he ever wish or crave 
than that it should be known that he was a Confederate 
soldier, and that he gave his all to save his State." In 
the quiet of this country graveyard, undisturbed even 
by the music of a church or the voice of a preacher^ 
save when the funeral rites are being said, Colonel Foster 
sleeps his last sleep by the side of his wife. Near by is 
the grave of Major Benjamin Kennedy, his son-in-law ^ 
who preceded him to this churchyard two years before. 

I love to think of my father best ministering to the 
sick and helping his poor neighbors. Mother used to 
say : ' ' Your father will certainly be delivered in time of 
trouble, for the Bible says ' Blessed is he that considereth 
the poor, the Lord will deliver him in time of trouble."* 
Dear, brave old father! He could not be a blank. I 
believe he would have preferred to be a blot, so averse 
was he to sloth. 

Colonel Foster was survived by three daughters. The 
eldest was Mrs. I. G. McKissick, the next Mrs. Benjamin 
Kennedy, and the youngest Mrs. James Andrew Thom- 
son. 

Louis Perrin Foster, eldest son of Barham Boba 



History of Spartanburg County. 



435 



Foster and Mary Ann Perrin, was born at his grand- 
father Foster's in the old " brick honse " near Spartan- 
burg Court-house, November 4th, 1837. He was pre- 
pared to enter the sophomore class of South Carolina. 
College by Rev. C. S. Beard and Captain A. F. Edwards- 
Captain Edwards taught the Spartanburg Male Academy 
for a number of years. Perrin boarded at Simpson 
Bobo's and at- 
tended school. 
While in this 
school he at- 
tended a meet- 
ing conducted 
by Rev. Dan- 
iel Baker and 
was converted 
under a ser- 
mon preached 
from the text : 
" What shall 
it profit a man 
if he gain the 
whole world 
and lose his 
own soul." 

He joined the Philadelphia Baptist Church and was 
baptized by Rev. M. C. Barnett. He was prominent in 
church work and taught a Bible class of eighteen young 
men, all of whom volunteered, and I think only six sur- 
vived the war. 

He took a firm stand in college, remaining there dur- 
ing the students' rebellion when so many were expelled. 
After his graduation in 1857 he taught a year at the 
New Prospect Academy, in Spartanburg county, where 
he made many friends. He studied law under Bobo» 




Capt. h. Pkrrin Foster. 



436 History of Spartanburg County. 

Edwards & Carlisle, and was ready to be admitted to 
the bar when the war commenced. With characteristic 
energy and decision, he dropped every interest and vol- 
unteered at once. He was elected lieutenant in Captain 
Benjamin Kennedy's company, went to Columbia to 
camp of instruction, and thence to Virginia. At the 
reorganization he volunteered for the war, and at the 
death of Captain Landford was made captain of Co. K, 
Third Regiment, S. C. V. He made a brave, faithful 
and popular officer. Once in 1862 he came home on 
furlough with a terrible abscess on his right elbow. 
During his stay his only brother was killed, and though 
suffering with his arm he immediately returned to his 
command. Just three months later he fell while lead- 
ing a charge at Fredericksburg. There never lived a 
truer man, and a braver never died for freedom. Every- 
body loved him. Mothers would exhort their sons to 
emulate his virtues. The mother of one of our most 
faithful pastors told him she wanted him to take Perrin 
Foster as his model. 

Ah, it is worth while to have lived as he lived, and to 
have died and gone from honor to glory. His remains 
were brought home and interred in the family burying- 
ground, where they rest unmarked by marble or stone, 
neglected for want of a few paltry dollars. 

His funeral sermon, together with that of his soldier 
brother, " Toney " Foster, was preached by Rev. J. G. 
Eandrum from the text, " I have fought a good fight 
and have kept the faith ; from henceforth there is laid 
up for me a crown of life." Loving hands bore him to 
rest, and many tearful eyes wept for the neighbor and 
friend whom they loved to honor. 

Colonel Foster's youngest son, James Anthony Foster, 
as already stated, was the other sacrifice offered from this 
family on the altar of the Lost Cause. He had scarcely 



History of Spartanburg County. 437 

reached the age required for admission into the army 
when he vohinteered as a private in Capt. J. W. Carlisle's 
company, in the 13th Regiment, S. C. V. Later, through 
the efforts of his brother, Captain L. P. Foster, he was 
transferred to his company in the 3d Regiment, S. C. V. 
In the terrific battle at Maryland Heights on September 
13th, 1862, this young hero fell on the front of the fir- 
ing line. His remains were buried on the field, and 
afterwards they were transferred to Hollywood cemetery 
in Richmond. 

It was related of him by a fellow soldier, John Hyatt, 
of Union county. South Carolina, that just as they were 
going into battle he saw Toney Foster divide his last 
hardtack cracker with a comrade. The next moment 
the charge was ordered, and the young boy offered -up 
willingly his life for the cause of the South. 

There was something fatal about the number 13 in 
this family. Perrin Foster was killed on the 13th of 
December at Fredericksburg, and Toney Foster was 
killed on the 13th of September at Maryland Heights. 

The South was then engaged in fighting against fate 
and a losing struggle, and the death of Anthony Foster 
is another illustration of the fact that the South was 
robbing its very cradle for defenders. 

HON. GABRIEL CANNON. 

This distinguished son of the " Old Iron District " 
was born August 25th, 1S06, near the present site of 
Clifton No. 2, Spartanburg county. He was a son of 
John Cannon. His mother was a Miss Moore. He was 
a grandson of Ellis Cannon, who, in the early settlement 
of Spartanburg district, came from Virginia to South 
Carolina. 

Gabriel Cannon was educated above the average man 
of his day. He attended the Word Academy at Cedar 



438 



History of Spartanburg County. 



Spring — a classical school where he studied Latin, Alge- 
bra, Geometry, etc. At that time this school was prob- 
ably the best in Spartanburg district. 

After completing his education, which was about 1826 
or 1827, he began, business at the old Cowpens Furnace 
Iron Foundry either as an office clerk or a business man- 
ager of some kind. His principal employers were 
William Clark, for whom he named a son, and Wilson 
Nesbitt, who was for a time a representative in Congress. 

After remaining at 
the Cowpens Furnace 
for a few years he en- 
gaged successfully in 
the mercantile business 
at New Prospect, S. C. 
Later he, with Joseph 
Finger, began the bus- 
iness of cotton and 
grist-milling and mer- 
chandizing at Finger- 
ville, S. C, and carried 
on a successful business 
until interrupted by the 
civil war. 
After the war Colonel Cannon disposed of his interest 
at Fingerville and removed to Spartanburg, where he 
remained until his death, which occurred December 21, 
1893. 

From 1842 to 1846, and from 1866 to 1870 Colonel 
Cannon was a representative from Spartanburg in the 
House of Representatives. From 1846 to 1862, and 
from 1876 to 1880 he represented the same county in 
the State Senate. During the administration of Governor 
R. F. W. Alston, he was the lieutenant-governor of 




Hon. Gabrib;l Cannon. 



History of vSpartanburg' County. 439 

South Carolina, having been elected by the General 
Assembly in joint session to this honorable position. 

He derived his title " colonel " from the fact that he 
was promoted from the captaincy of a cavalry company 
on Sonth Pacolet to a colonelcy of a cavalry regiment 
some )ears before the ontbreak of the civil war. 

Colonel Cannon was a man who was popnlar and 
commanded great influence among the people of his 
native county, being a man of excellent judgment in 
all matters pertaining to the public interest. He was a 
trusted leader and true to his constituents, and always 
standing squarely up to their rights in the legislative 
halls. 

He was the first president of the National Bank of 
Spartanburg, and was among the first directors of the 
Asheville and Spartanburg Railroad. He was a con- 
sistent member of the Methodist Church, and all through 
his life was strictly temperate, and a man of unimpeach- 
able moral character. 

Colonel Cannon married first Miss Nancy Collins, 
daughter of Joseph Collins (see Collins family), by which 
marriage he had four sons: William Clarke Cannon, 
merchant at Spartanburg ; Ellis Butler Cannon, now 
deceased ; Albert Cannon, a progressive farmer on Broad 
River, in Henderson county, N. C; and Lewis Cass 
Cannon, of Spartanburg, S. C. 

He married a second time to Miss Mary Caldwell, 
sister of Chancellor Caldwell of Newberry, S- C. No 
•children. 

JOHN FIELDER 

was born in Virginia between Lynchburg and the Natural 
Bridge, on May nth, 1780, and died in Laurens county, 
S. C, April nth, 1889, ^S^'^ o'^^ hundred and nine years 
lacking one month. 



440 



History of Spartanburg County. 



His father dying when he was qnite young, his mother 
removed to South Carolina and settled below Ott's 
Shoals on Tyger River, where she married a Lanham. 
Yonng John was thrown upon his own resources at an 
early age, and found employment amongst the surround- 
ing farmers, working for six dollars per month and board- 
Amongst his employers was a Mr. Means, living near 
Switzer's Station, who treated him kindly, and paid him 

for a year's service in a 
horse, saddle and bridle, 
which horse he worked 
for thirty years. 

In course of time he 
bought some land, and 
married Miss Mary Miller, 
with whom he settled his 
future homestead three 
miles northwest of the 
town of Moore, where he 
lived happily many years 
and acquired a handsome 
property. By this mar- 
riage he raised a family 
of nine children, four sons and five daughters. Shortly 
after his marriage he enlisted as a soldier and served 
during the war of 1812 in Captain Dawkins's com- 
pany, for whom he named his oldest child, who was 
born during the war. 

His first wife dying in 1844 he married a second time 
a Mrs. Charlotte Fulton of Laurens county, wuth whom 
he lived happily several years upon her place near Mus- 
grove's Mills. 

This second wife dying he married a third wife, a 
Miss Mary Anderson of Laurens county, who proved a 
helpmeet indeed, caring tenderly for him in his old age. 




John Fielder. 



History of Spartanburg County. 441 

There were no children by the second and third mar- 
riages. He, with his first and third wives, lies buried in 
Nazareth cemetery, where also rest the remains of all 
his sons. 

Of his four sons all died in early manhood unmarried 
except Thomas F. James was a farmer, Newton a phy- 
sician, and William a student. Thomas F. married Miss 
Nancy Anderson, a daughter of Enoree James Anderson, 
who died in 1865, leaving no children. He settled ad- 
joining his father's homestead. In 1866 he married a 
second wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Byrd, me Craig, of Laurens 
county, by whom he had an only son, John P., who 
married Miss Hetty Lake of Newberry, S. C, in 1895, 
and has two children, viz. : Thomas Franklin and Wil- 
ton Ward, and resides at IMcore, being engaged in rail- 
road, cotton business and farming operations. 

Thomas F., son of John, like his father, was a soldier. 
He served the Southern Confederacy in Co. A, Holcombe 
Legion, and was captured with his entire regiment on 
April ist, 1865, and confined in Point Lookout prison 
till the war ended a few weeks afterwards. He was a 
good soldier, a fine citizen, perfectly honest and upright 
in all his dealings, energetic in business, and faithful to 
his friends and country. He was born in 1830 and died 
in 1888. Of the five daughters of John Fielder, the 
eldest, Elizabeth Dawkins, married J. M. Nesbitt, both 
of whom lived and died at Nesbitt's mills on Tyger River. 
She left three sons and four daughters. The sons were 
Wm. A. (see sketch), S. Newton, and Thomas M., the 
latter two living near and owning the mills on Tyger 
River. S. Newton married Miss Iris Jackson and has 
three children, John, Annie and Carrie. Thomas M. 
married Miss Nannie Parks and has four children, Peal, 
Alfred, Louisa and William. 

Of the four daughters, Carrie, eldest daughter, married 



442 History of Spartanburg County. 

S. E. Mason (see sketch), both now deceased. Addie, 
second daughter, married Amos Shands; they have two 
children, Lula and Jesse; Annie, third daughter, mar- 
ried Captain John W. Wofford (see sketch). Louise, 
fourth daughter, married Wm. Rogers; they have four 
daughters, Lizzie, May, Lillian and Lucia. 

Caroline, the second daughter of John Fielder, mar- 
ried a Wofford and moved to Mississippi, where his de- 
scendants are numerous. Elvira, the third daughter, 
married A. Carouth Jackson, and had four sons and two 
daughters: John A., Storeville, vS. C, unmarried; Ma- 
nilla M., married James M. Reed, Abbeville; S. C, has 
one daughter, Lucia (Mrs. Rev. W. C. Ewart). 

Thomas C, merchant, Iva, S. C, married Miss Leila 
Bsaty ; has two children, Louis F., and Thomas C, Jr. 
Alice F. (now deceased), married J. H. Brooks, leaving 
one child, Alice Jackson. Samuel O., married first Miss 
Aseneth Clinkscales (who died leaving six children), 
and second to Miss Sallie Reid, by whom he has six 
children ; and James L., fourth son and youngest child, 
married Miss Rosa INIadge and has six children. The 
fourth daughter, Mary Ann, married Wm. Parks, and 
moved to Mississippi, and has no children. The fifth 
daughter, Addie, married Robert W. West of Greenville 
county, S. C, but they lived near the Fielder home, 
stead, where the widow still lives, Mr. West dying sud- 
denly a few years since. She has only two children 
living, viz. : Lula, married to J. Laurence Berry, resid- 
ing near her mother, and has three children, viz. : Fielder, 
Mary and Robert W. ; and second one son, William J., 
unmarried. 

John Fielder was a remarkable man, especially so in 
his longevity and the many difficulties he encountered 
in life, all of which he overcame. Commencing poor 
and friendless, and without education, nothing but in- 



History of Spartanburg County. 443 

herent abilities enabled him to overcome. He laid 
foundations wide and broad and deep for his children, 
and thongli denied early advantages, as his means in- 
creased he gave his children fair edncation, which was 
denied him. His descendants to-day are amongst the 
honored of the conntry. 

He joined the church, Nazareth Presbyterian, in mid- 
dle life, became one of its first board of deacons, and 
continued till his removal to Laurens, S. C. A few years 
before death he connected himself again with Nazareth, 
saying that he desired to die a member of the church in 
which he had spent most of his life. He was one of the 
mainstays of the celebrated Poplar Springs School. He 
was a true man in all the relations of life, and did much 
for his country, church, family and friends. 

JOHN CONRAD ZIMMERMAN 1802-1875. 

The subject of this sketch was born in St. ]\Iatthew's 
parish, Orangeburg county, September 26th, 1802. His 
ancestors emigrated from Germany in the early part of 
the eighteenth century, and were among the early pio- 
neers of Orangeburg, who rendered material service in. 
building up and settling that county. 

In 1825 ^^^' Zimmerman was married to Miss Selina 
Wannamaker of Orangeburg, a granddaughter of Lieu- 
tenant Jacob Wannamaker of the continental army — a 
name prominent in the history of Orangeburg. Five 
childfen survive this union. 

In 1830 Mr. Zimmerman, at the earnest solicitation 
of a relative who had come to Spartanburg in quest of 
health, was induced to sell his estate in St. IMatthew's 
and remove to the up-country. He purchased a farm on 
the Fair Forest, a few miles from Glenn's Springs, and 
devoted his time to planting with such success, that he 
was enabled every few years to add a tract of land to his 



444 



History of Spartanburg County. 



possessions, until finally he became the largest land 
owner in the country. 

In 1845, having become sole proprietor of Glenn's 
Springs, Mr. Zimmerman devoted much of his time 
to improving the property, which in his hands became 
what it has continued to be, the most popular and fre- 
quented watering-place in the State, perhaps in the 

South. 

In 1856 Mr. Zim- 
merman associated 
himself with Mr. John 
Bomar and Mr. D. E. 
Converse in the pur- 
chase of what was then 
known as the Bivings- 
ville factory. This fac- 
tory was most success- 
fully managed by Mr. 
Converse, and during 
the four years of the 
civil war the company 
distributed to the poor 
of the county thou- 
sands of dollars' worth of yarn and cloth. Immediately 
after the cessation of hostilities the erection of a new 
and larger mill was commenced, and under the name of 
Glendale the old Bivingsville factory became the pioneer 
and mother of all the large and flourishing cotton fac- 
tories which are the pride and boast of Spartanburg. 

In disposition Mr. Zimmerman was frank, genial and 
generous, ever ready to lend a helping hand to the poor 
and needy, and most gentle and considerate in his inter- 
course with all men. His modesty, his gentleness, his 
unvarying courtesy, his kindness of heart and word, 
made him not only respected, but, perhaps, the best 



^-^-^ 


|H 


^^ 


1: -^H 




% 




IT^ 


^~i 


r.^^^^l 


^^ 


^ik- ' 



John C. Zimmerman. 



History of Spartanburg County. 445 

loved man in his county. He was a gentleman of un- 
bounded hospitality, the door of his elegant mansion 
was ever open, and he delighted to have his friends 
around him. 

He died as he had lived, a devoted member of the 
Episcopal Church, without fear and without reproach 
and in perfect charity with the world. 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 

CAPTAIN BENJAMIN KILGORE 

Was a Revolutionary soldier who was among the early 
settlers of upper South Carolina, after the treaty of Gov- 
ernor Glenn with the Cherokee Indians in 1755. He 
had one son, James, who married Harriet Benson of 
Columbia, S. C, and had children as follows : Josiah 
Kilgore, who was a graduate of the South Carolina Col- 
lege ; Jesse Kilgore, who moved to Kershaw county, 
S. C. ; Dr. Benjamin Kilgore, who moved to North Mis- 
sissippi ; James Kilgore of Newberry, S. C. ; Mary, wife 
of Colonel T. B. Brockman of Greenville, S. C, who be- 
came the mother of Mrs. Harriet Anderson, wife of Cap- 
tain David Anderson; and Margaret and IMalinda, both of 
whom married Barrys of Tyger River. 

Josiah Kilgore was the father of Dr. B. F. Kilgore, a 
sketch of whom we present herein ; May, the wife of 
John Stokes, Esq. ; Harriet, wife of Dr. Melmoth Hunter, 
of Laurens county, S. C. ; Dr. William Kilgore and 
Clayton Kilgore. 

In the office of Secretary of State, Columbia, S. C, 
the following papers are on file, showing the public ser- 
vice rendered by Benjamin Kilgore during the Revolu- 
tion. These papers were copied by Dr. B. F. Kilgore 
while a member of the House of Representatives, pre- 
vious to i860. 

" State of South Carolina, 

To Benjamin Kilgore Dr. 

" 1780, May 27th. To captain's pay from March 6th, 
1779, to this day in Colonel Williams' Regiment, 96 

(446) 



History of Spartanburg County. 447 

District, having been on duty the whole of that time as 
horseman, 432 days (5 7 F. 151 2." 

"September 27th. To ditto from May 27th, 1780, 
when I was made a prisoner of while on duty, as above, 
and sent to Charleston and there kept until I made my 
escape returned home. I took command of the regi- 
ment this day, all my superiors being killed, /. ^., 124 
days at 7 F, 434 

Old currency F. 1496 

Sterling 278 

" This is to certify that the above services was actu- 
ally done by Captain Benjamin Kilgore. 

By me, 
Robert M. Craig, 
Lieutenant-Colonel." 

"September 25th, 1785. 
South Carolina, 
Laurens District. 

" Personally appeared Benjamin Kilgore before me, 
W. Mitchison, a Justice of the Peace of said county, and 
made oath as the law directs that the above account is 
just and true, and that he never has received anything 
of the same, and subscribed before me September 25th, 

1785- 

Wm. Mitchison, N. P. )> Benj. Kilgore. 

" Received full satisfaction of the within on an inter- 
est N. 14 X." 

DR. BENJAMIN FRANKLIN KILGORE 

was a son of Josiah Kilgore, whose ancestors came from 
Ireland ; these settled first in Pennsylvania, but subse- 
quently moved South. 

Dr. Kilgore was born in Greenville county, near the 
Spartanburg line, August 6th, 1820. He attended the 
schools of his neighborhood, and afterwards attended the 
high schools in the districts of both Greenville and Spar- 
tanburg. 

In 1837 he read' medicine with his preceptor. Dr. A. B. 
Crook of Greenville, and graduated in the South Carolina 



448 



History of Spartanburg County. 



Medical College, at Charleston, in 1840. He then took 
a postgraduate course at Lexington, Ky., and began the 
practice of medicine in 1841 in Kershaw district. 

In the fall of 1846 he returned to Greenville district 
and soon afterwards purchased a valuable farm on Enoree 
River, a few miles below Woodruff, to which place he 
moved February, 1847, and began to farm as well as to 
do an extensive practice of medicine. 

This place he owned at the time of his death, which 

occurred February 
20th, 1897. From the 
time of his removal to 
Spartanburg district, he 
became closely identi- 
fied with the interests 
of the district, serving 
as commissioner of 
roads, and was elected 
twice (1854 and 1858) 
as a representative from 
Spartanburg to the 
State legislature. In 
i860 he was elected a 
delegate to the convention of South Carolina which de- 
clared the ordinance of secession. 

At the beginning of the civil war he enlisted as a pri- 
vate in Co. K, 3d Regiment, S. C. V. Shortly after he 
was appointed assistant surgeon of the 13th Regiment, 
S. C. V. (of which Dr. L. C. Kennedy was surgeon, 
whose health failing resigned), and September 23d, 1862, 
was promoted to surgeon of the same regiment, a posi- 
tion which he held until 1865, when he was made a di- 
rector in charge of a hospital. After his return from 
the army he did only a limited practice and removed to 
Woodruff, where, from paralysis he died on the date 




Dr. B. F. Kilgore. 



History of Spartanburg County. 449 

already referred to, and was buried in the new cemetery 
near by. 

While Dr. Kilgore was located in Kershaw district in 
1 84 1, he met Miss Fannie A. Massey of the Waxhaw 
neighborhood, in Lancaster district, whom he married, 
and who, with two sons and three daughters, survives 
him, the names of which are John Bel ton Kilgore, who 
married Lora Westmoreland ; Samuel M. Kilgore, who 
married Lilly Hunter ; Jane, who married W. W. Simp- 
son ; Annie Virginia, who married Professor A. M. Stall- 
worth, and Miss Hattie, unmarried. 

Dr. Kilgore was a progressive citizen and an earnest 
patriot, and was endowed with an exceptionally fine 
mind, and used his time and talent for any measure he 
thought was for the progress and advancement of his 
county and State. It was largely due to his untiring 
energy and zeal that the Augusta and Spartanburg Rail- 
road was built. At first he met with many discourage- 
ments, but lived to see his cherished hope consummated. 

As a farmer he was specially devoted to sheep-raising 
and had among his extensive flock the finest breeds of 
Southdowns and Broadtails. 

Dr. Kilgore was a true patriot, honest in the expres- 
sion of his opinions and bold in his denunciations of 
wrong. A devoted husband and kind father, he was 
unselfish in disposition, magnanimous and warm in 
nature, and true and lo)-al in his friendships. These 
excellent traits in his character made a strong impress 
on the community in which he lived. 

COLONEL WILLIAM WASHINGTON HARRIS. 

Among those of the citizens of Spartanburg who 
belonged to a past generation in her history, and whose 
early life embraced a career that was remarkable, there 

29 h s c 



450 



History of Spartanburg County. 



are none more deserving of our special notice than Col- 
onel W. W. Harris, the subject of this sketch. 

Of the early life and ancestry of Colonel Harris we 
can gather but little. 

He was born about 1795, and doubtless received the 
very best education that could be afforded in his day 
and generation. As soon as he grew to manhood he 
took up the study of surveying, and the State of Ten- 
nessee being then a frontier country and an inviting- 

field for this busi- 
ness, he went thither^ 
but how much work 
he did in this line 
we are not advised. 
It appears that not 
long after he went tO' 
Tennessee the war 
with Great Britain 
broke out. This is 
known as the war of 
t8i2. He enlisted 
in the army under 
the leadership of 
General Andrew 
Jackson, and participated -in the expedition against the 
Creeks in Alabama in 1813. In the latter part of 
August of said year, Fort Minis, forty miles north of 
]\Iobile, was surprised by the savages, who appeased 
their thirst for blood with the murder of nearly four 
hundred people ; they did not spare even a woman or 
child, and but very few of the men in the fort escaped.. 
The news of this dreadful massacre spread consternation 
throughout the country, and the governors of Tennessee^ 
Georgia and Mississippi Territory made preparations at 
once for organizing expeditions to march against and 




Col. W. W. Harris. 



History of Spartanburg County. 451 

invade the country of the Creeks. The Tennesseeans 
under General Jackson were . the first to the rescue. 
Several battles ensued, in which the Indian towns were 
destroyed, many of them put to death, and the whole 
nation routed. 

In this expedition Colonel Harris either enlisted as an 
officer or became such soon afterwards. It is not defi- 
nitely known what rank he held, but it is likely that it 
was in this expedition that he obtained the title of colo- 
nel^ for his position, as we will show further on, was of 
such prominence as to cause him to be personally known 
and remembered by General Jackson. He used to relate 
some interesting incidents in connection with his army 
life under Jackson. He was officer of the day one night 
when Jackson was expecting an attack, and he came 
across a youthful sentinel who had been stationed to 
guard a bridge, an important point. This sentinel did 
not challenge him, and he stepped softly up and found 
him asleep. To report him as sleeping at such a time 
and to such an officer as Jackson meant death to the 
sentinel. To wake him and reveal himself and then not 
report him would show a lack of discipline, and this 
idea could not be entertained. Circumstances favored 
him in this dilemma. The sentinel was sitting on the 
" stringer '' of the bridge with his gun lying beside him, 
his back to the deep water below. So Colonel Harris 
just took hold of the man's foot and turned him back- 
wards into the water. While the young man was swim- 
ming out Colonel Harris concealed himself and waited 
until he saw the astonished sentinel resume his watch, 
it is supposed, to sleep no more till he was relieved. 

Colonel Harris came to Spartanburg district while yet 
a young man without means, but with indomitable pluck 
and ambition. He married a daughter of Rev. David 
Golightly, who was a gentleman of considerable means. 



452 History of Spartanburg County. 

Although not pleased with the match he gave his son- 
in-law a small piece of land, but did not otherwise supply 
him with the necessary housekeeping utensils. To his 
grandson, George H. Camp, Esq., he stated that he first 
lived in a cabin, and that his only cooking utensils 
were a small skillet and oven. He plowed with grape- 
vine traces, and the first thing he did on the morning 
after his marriage was to cut a maul, and in relating 
this circumstance to his grandson, he said : " Son, I have 
been busy ever since." Being a practical surveyor he 
soon found employment that was remunerative. After 
several years he went to Spartanburg, built a house and 
continued the business of surveying, and by honest in- 
dustry and a reasonable amount of economy he accumu- 
lated a vast amount of real estate that would sell at this 
writing (1900) for $150,000. 

Many years ago Wm. C. Camp, Esq., son-in-law of 
Colonel Harris, visited General (Old Hickory) Jackson 
at his residence, called "The Hermitage," in Tennessee. 
When informed that Mr. Camp was a son-in-law of Col- 
onel Harris, he was glad to see him and to hear from 
his old friend. He sent him, through Mr. Camp, as a 
present a polished hickory walking-cane with a silver 
head, bearing an appropriate inscription, which was 
highly prized by Colonel Harris. His army sword is 
still in possession of some of his grandchildren. 

Colonel Harris was a man of great firmness and deci- 
sion of character, and no citizen in Spartanburg was 
more highly esteemed as a gentleman than he was. He 
was a consistent member of the Baptist church at Spar- 
tanburg, and the lifelong friend of his pastor. Rev. John G. 
Landrum, under whose ministrations he attended for a 
quarter of a century or more. 

Colonel Harris had eight children, as follows : Julia, 
who married Rev. Elijah Ray of Union district, S. C, 



History of Spartanburg County, 453 

father of Wm. H. Ray of Hendersonville, S. C. ; Sabrina, 
who married Andrew Holtsoiizer ; Harriet, who married 
Hiram Mitchell ; Adaline, who married W. C. Bennett ; 
Cornelia, who married Adam S. Camp; David G., who 
married Emily Lyles ; and Tabitha, who married Wm. C. 
Camp, Esq. 

The sons-in-law above mentioned were gentlemen of 
the highest respectability, honor and integrity. Mr. 
Hiram Mitchell was for many years a prominent mer- 
chant in Spartanburg, and an influential member of the 
Baptist church in that town, and died a steadfast Chris- 
tian. Dr. W. C. Bennett, a dentist of repute, was also 
a prominent member of the Baptist church at Spartan- 
burg, where he resided most of his married life. He 
was a man of public spirit and took an interest in every 
enterprise looking to the internal development of his 
country. 

David G. Harris, only son of Colonel Harris, was a 
man much like his father in business energy and perse- 
verance. He lived near Golightly on Fair Forest, and 
was a successful farmer. He had children as follows : 
W. W. Harris, chief clerk constabulary force in Colum- 
bia, who married a Miss Nevins ; J. West Harris, a 
farmer in Spartanburg, who married a daughter of Mr. 
Miles Gentry; E. G. Harris, Professor of Mathematics 
and Civil Engineering in a school at Rolla, Mo.; Julia, 
who married Wm. H. Ray; Laura, who married J. Gwinn 
Harris of Forest City, Ark. ; Ella, who married L. K. 
Ford near Golightly; James G. Harris, who lost both 
eyes from an explosion in a well, who subsequently died 
of fever, and who married a Miss Lee, a relative of Gen- 
eral Stephen D. Lee ; and Mary, who married Mack C. 
Poole, a merchant at Cross Anchor. 



454 



History of Spartanburg County. 



DAVID COOK JUDD 

was born at Northampton, Mass., December 13th, 1809, 
being the youngest of six children born of his parents. 
" He was trained from infancy to habits of industry, 
sobriety and self-reliance, and his character was early 
formed upon the principles of stern integrity and moral- 
ity. He sprang, too, from a pious ancestr}-, and grew 
up in the bosom of that church which has been made 

famous in our land by 
the pastorates of Ed- 
wards and Stodard and 
Spencer. Under these 
influences he early be- 
came a professor of re- 
ligion, himself uniting 
with the church of his 
fathers." 

He was educated in 
the common schools of 
his town ; but when 
quite a youth he en- 
tered upon the mercan- 
tile pursuits to which 
he devoted his long life. His first position was that 
of a clerk in a mercantile house in Boston, but soon 
after he entered the store of his brother in Springfield, 
Mass. , where he acquired the habits of system, accuracy 
and thoroughness which strikingly characterized him 
through life. After he had attained his maturity he 
removed to Columbus, Ohio, where he spent a few 
years. Thence he turned his eyes southward and mi- 
grated to what was then the little village of Spartan- 
burg, where he settled and began the business of mer- 
chandizing in 1842, which business he steadily continued 




D. C. JUDD. 



History of Spartanburg County. 455 

aintil within about six months of the time of his death. 
In 1847 or 1848 he entered into a partnership in said 
lousiness with his brother-in-law, Mr. Joseph Foster, 
Avhich comprised the well-known firm of Foster & Judd. 
Besides his regular business as a merchant, he also, in 
connection with it, conducted for many years prior to 
the civil war between the States, the Spartanburg 
Agency of the Bank of the State of South Carolina, and 
served also for six years after said war as president of 
the National Bank of Spartanburg, which office he 
Tesigned on account of failing health. In all his busi- 
ness career and dealings he was honest, upright and con- 
scientious, and as such he. was eminently successful. No 
business man in Spartanburg was more distinguished 
than he for his diligence, integrity and fidelity. 

Soon after he came to Spartanburg he became a mem- 
l3er of the Presbyterian church at that place, which church 
organization was only in the second year of its existence ; 
^' performed an interested and active part in the erection 
■of the church building ; was ordained a ruling elder 
August 15th, 1845, and served as teacher, superintend- 
•ent and librarian of the Sabbath-school, relinquishing 
the latter office " only a few years before his death on 
account of the infirmities of advancing age. 

He also served during his day upon the city council 
of Spartanburg, and in other positions of responsibility 
and trust besides those already mentioned, and in all 
lie proved himself to be a man of eminent ability and 
uprightness. 

Mr. Judd was twice married, first to Miss Catharine 
Foster, who died in 1858, and subsequently to Miss 
F^liza Attleton, who survives him. 

Having lived a life of spotless integrity, Christian 
-consistency and official fidelity, he died, ministered to 
by loving hands, at his home in Spartanburg, February 



456 



History of Spartanburg County. 



25th, 1882, in his seventy-third year. His remains were 
followed by a large concourse of people to the spot where 
for over thirty-five years he had been accustomed to 
worship God. 

HON. WILLIAM KENEDY BLAKE. 

One of the best known and representative citizens of 
Spartanburg was William K. Blake. He was born in 

Fayetteville, 
N. C, Febru- 
ary nth, 1824, 
and died at his 
residence at 
Spartanburg, 
S. C, January 
9th, 1898. He 
descended 
from one of 
the old colo- 
nial families 
that settled on 
Cape Fear 
R i \' e r and 
from a noble 
Revolutionary 
ancestry. His 
grandfather, Ishani Blake, was personally known to 
Lafayette, and was one of his body-guard at the sur- 
render of Cornwallis at Yorktown, and in 1825, when 
this distinguished Frenchman visited the United States 
upon an invitation from Congress, he visited the town 
of Fayetteville, which was named in his honor. Great 
preparations were made for his reception. Military 
companies, civic societies, schools and the citizens of 
the town and county turned out to welcome the gen- 




HoN. Wm. K. Blake. 



History of Spartanburg County. 457 

eroiis friend of America from a foreign shore. During 
the presentation of a beautiful silken flag to Lafayette, 
wrought by the skillful hands of the ladies of Fayette- 
ville, a touching scene occurred. The old hero was told 
that an old comrade, Isham Blake, a fifer in the conti- 
nental army, was present. His eyes beaming with joy 
he begged to see him. Soon a tall and venerable man 
appeared. He needed no introduction ; they embraced, 
wept and fought anew the battles of Brandywine and 
Yorktown. 

Wm. K. Blake, after attending the common schools of 
his town, not having the means of his own, sought the 
assistance of his friends, who promptly remitted to him 
from time to time till his graduation in 1846, which was 
returned with his first earnings out of college. 

Mr. Blake attended Randolph Macon College, Virginia, 
two years and then entered the University of North Car- 
olina in 1844 and graduated from said institution, as 
already stated, in 1846. He "began the study of law and 
remained in Fayetteville until after his marriage in 1848 
to Miss Ella Hawley, when he moved to Texas, where 
he had a brother living and where he intended practic- 
ing law. A residence of six months being required, 
however, before license could be obtained, he decided to 
open a school, which, in the meanwhile, would give him 
an opportunity to familiarize himself with the pleadings 
and practice of the courts of Texas. 

Shortly after, he entered upon the practice of law, but 
his wife was taken sick, and not being able to secure 
the necessary medical treatment, he removed to Nash- 
ville, Tenn., and accepted a position in the High School 
in that city. A year later the cholera epidemic visited 
the city and he was one of its victims ; he barely 
escaped with his life. Upon his partial recovery he re- 
turned to his native State, and as soon as his health per- 



458 History of Spartanburg County. 

mitted accepted a position in the Female College at 
Ansonville, and from the latter place he moved to Greens- 
boro, where, in 1854, he was elected to a professorship. 
Here he was associated with Dr. Deems, who was then 
president of the college, and later was in charge of a 
large chnrch in New York City, and who remained a 
personal friend. 

In 1857 he was elected president of the Female Semi- 
nary at Fayetteville, his native town, and spent two 
years pleasantly there until he resigned to accept the 
presidency of the Female College at Spartanburg. Soon 
after he arrived in Spartanburg his wife died. She had 
been an invalid for many years. 

He continued in charge of the Female College at 
Spartanburg until some time during the year 1863, when 
it suspended on account of the war. 

In 1 86 1 he married Miss IMarina Gregg Jones of Edge- 
field, S. C, who had been a pupil in his school, and 
whose influence as a consecrated Christian for a third of 
a century is felt and appreciated by the people of Spar- 
tanburg. 

When the war closed Mr. Blake began the mercantile 
business in vSpartanburg. He was successful and remained 
in this business until failing health forced him to retire 
and transfer his store to others. 

In 1868 he was elected chairman of the board of 
county commissioners for Spartanburg county, which 
position he held for four years, discharging the duties of 
the office with faithfulness and fidelity to the people. 
About this time he was elected and served for two years 
as chairman of the county Democratic Executive Com- 
mittee, which was at a time when the State was at her 
greatest peril from Radical misrule and tyranny ; and 
until the State was redeemed from said domination, which 
was in 1876, he was always foremost in the political 



History of Spartanburg County. 459 

campaigns of his county, contending for honesty of gov- 
ernment and Anglo-Saxon supremacy. 

Mr. Blake was never, however, a politician in the strict 
sense, of the word, but in 1880 the people called him to 
serve one term in the legislature. He was an excellent 
representative and attended to all the duties before him. 

In 1875 he became secretary and treasurer of the 
Spartanburg and Asheville Railroad, which position he 
held for two years, discharging the duties of the office 
under the most trying circumstances with the same in- 
domitable energy and perseverance which always char- 
acterized him. Lack of funds to prosecute the further 
work of the road for a time, caused him to retire from 
this office. 

Having received his first degrees in Freemasonry 
while residing in Ansonville, N. C, Mr. Blake became 
an earnest and most enthusiastic member of this order. 
He had attained next to the highest degree in Masonry, 
and upon this being offered him he declined in favor of 
a man in Charleston, who was on his death-bed, only one 
IVIason in the State being granted this degree. He was 
for one or two years, beginning with about 1870, the 
Grand Master of the Grand Lodge A. F. M. of South 
Carolina. No one ever occupied this chair with more 
eminence and ability than Mr. Blake. In the confer- 
ring of degrees, and especially the Eastern Star, he had 
no superior. 

Mr. Blake was a loyal IMethodist, a Christian gentle- 
man and an honest advocate for the cause of temperance. 
He was at the time of his death, and had been for a 
number of years, one of the trustees of the Wofford Col- 
lege. He succeeded Mr. Bobo as superintendent of the 
Methodist Sunday-school at Spartanburg, and for several 
years he gave it his best thought and effort. For a long 
time he was a member of the " Legal Conference," and 



460 History of Spartanburg County. 

was treasurer and general manager for that body, and 
attended all of its meetings but the last, which met dur- 
ing his last illness. 

It may be truly said of Mr. Blake that he was a good 
all-round man. For an impromptu speech on Fourth of 
July, Sunday-school, political, educational, Masonic, or 
any other live issue, he scarcely had an equal in the State 
of South Carolina. He was eloquent in the selection of 
language, musical in voice, and graceful in gesture. 
Born without means, with no security to obtain the nec- 
essary funds to procure an education except upon a 
pledge of honor, reared and trained by a pious parent- 
age, which, by the blessings of God, established for him 
a character for industry, honesty and good habits, Wil- 
liam Kenedy Blake lived a life and has left an exam- 
ple behind him worthy of imitation by the generations 
that come after him. 

JOSEPH FOSTER 

was born at Canterbury, N. H., November 7, 1804. 
Having received a common school education in his na- 
tive State, he was trained in early life to habits of indus- 
try and self-reliance. When about twenty-one years of 
age came to South Carolina, located at Greenville, and 
taught school for a year in connection with his brother 
Abiel Foster. The next year, 1827, he went to Union 
district and located near Fair Forest church ; continued 
teaching and farming for some years. 

On the 27th of December, 1831, he was married to 
Miss Minerva Margery Means. He was a member of 
the Fair Forest church (Presbyterian), and was elected 
elder in this church about 1835. The duties of this 
office he faithfully discharged until his removal to Spar- 
tanburg Court-house in August, 1847. He identified 
himself with the church there (which was in its infancy), 



History of vSpartanburg County. 461 

soon after was made elder, and held the office as long as 
he lived. After his removal to Spartanburg he went 
into the mercantile business in partnership with his 
brother-in-law, Mr. D. C. Judd. This business connec- 
tion, known as the firm of Foster & Judd, continued 
until his death, January 31, 1877. He was gifted with 




Joseph Foster. 

rare business talents and a pleasant address, which en- 
abled him to succeed in his enterprises. 

He was an energetic, progressive man, temperate in 
his habits, always bright and cheerful in the home cir- 
cle. His ancesters on his father's side were English, 
he was also through his grandmother, Mary Rogers 
Foster, in the direct line of descent from Rev. John 
Rogers, who was burned at Smithfield, the first martyr 
in Queen Mary's reign. His grandfather, Hon. Abiel 



462 History of Spartanburg County. 

Foster, was a member to Congress fourteen years under 
the confederation and the constitution ; was a friend of 
General Washington, was chosen delegate tp Congress 
under the confederation, F'ebruary 18, 1783. Attended 
July 29, 1783. Was present when General Washington 
resigned his commission as Commander-in-Chief of the 
American Army, December 23d, 1783. This event is 
commemorated in an oil-painting hanging in the ro- 
tunda of the capitol at Washington. In this painting the 
Hon. Abiel Foster occupies a conspicuous position in the 
foreground. 

Joseph Foster's children are Susan E., married Samuel 
C. Means ; Alfred H., married Henrietta V. Brandon of 
Union — their children are Isabel, Mary Emma and 
Louise. Isabella J., married Robert H. Chapman of 
Asheville, N. C. , died October loth, 1866, leaving two 
sons, James A. Chapman, lawyer, Robert H. F. Chap- 
man, merchant. S. Laura, married E. C. McLaughlin ; 
J. Adolphus, married Sallie G. Farrar of Union county, 
and died November 15th, 1886. His descendants are all 
living in Spartanburg and Union counties. 

CAPTAIN ALFRED HARRISON FOSTER, 

eldest son of Joseph and M. M. Foster, was born in Union 
county, S. C, in 1835. Being instructed by his father 
and others he receixed a good education, and after he 
grew up to manhood, spent several years as salesman in 
the store of F'oster & Judd at Spartanburg, S. C. 

For several years prior to the outbreak of the civil 
war Captain Foster was a member of the Morgan Rifles 
at Spartanburg (named in honor of Daniel Morgan, the 
hero of Cowpens), a splendidly uniformed, equipped and 
drilled company under the command of Captain G. W. 
H. Legg, which formed a part of the old 36tli Regiment, 
S. C. M. The State failing to receive this organization 
as a rifle company to form a part of a new regiment to 



History of Spartanburg County. 



463 



be made up from the districts of York, Union and Spar- 
tanburg, the services of the Spartan Rifles, a new organ- 
ization in the town of Spartanburg, having been already 
accepted by the State authorities before a general call 
was made for volunteer troops from the 36th Regiment, 
the Morgan Rifles divided on the day of said call (Jan- 
uary, 1861) at the annual parade ground (Bomar's Old 
Field), about one-half offering their services on the 




Capt. a. H. Foster. 



ground, while the remaining part waited until the organ- 
ization should be received and mustered in as a rifle 
company.* That part of said company which volun- 
teered on the occasion referred to, recruited at once and 
orgaiiized under the name of Morgan Light Infantry. 
With this organization Captain Foster volunteered as a 

*The remaining membership of the old Morgan Rifles recruited, 
reorganized and volunteered in the Confederate service the month of 
November following tinder the leadership of Captain John Earle 
Bomar, and was known as Company C, in the Holcombe Legion. 



464 History of Spartanburg County. 

private. Captain Legg, of the Morgan Rifles, was elected 
captain of this new organization, which drilled every 
two weeks at Spartanbnrg until called into active service. 

Under the organization of the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., 
from companies in the counties referred to Major Micah 
Jenkins, of York, was elected colonel ; Captain G. W. 
H. Legg, of Spartanburg, was elected lieutenant-colonel, 
and Captain W. T. Thomson (Johnson Rifles), of Union, 
was elected major. This left a vacancy for the captaincy 
in the Morgan Light Infantry, and to this position Mr, 
John M. Benson was elected. 

The company left Spartanburg for Charleston April 
13th, 1 86 1, the day of the fall of Sumter, and reached 
Sullivan's Island about one week later, where it remained 
encamped for six weeks. In the organization of the 
5th Regiment, which at this time consisted of twelve 
companies, the Morgan Light Infantry was known as 
Company I. During the period that the company was 
encamped ou Sullivan's Island much time was spent in 
drilling, and Captain Foster, the second sergeant of. the 
company, had committed to his charge a number of young 
recruits called the "Awkward Squad," to which the 
writer, yet in his teens, belonged, and here was mani- 
fested his excellent qualifications as a drill-master. 

Up to about the 25th of May, 1861, the 5th Regiment 
only formed a part of the State volunteer organization. 
To enter the service of the Confederate States a new 
enlistment and reorganization became necessary, which 
was done for the period of twelve months. The reputa- 
tion which Captain Foster had already made for himself 
as a competent drill officer pointed him out as the most 
suitable man to lead the Morgan Light Infantry through 
the Virginia campaigns, wdiere it was destined to go, 
and he was accordingly elected its captain, which posi- 
tion he held to the end of the war. His promotion, 



HisTORY OF Spartanburg County. 465 

however, to this responsible position was done with due 
respect to Captain Benson, who was elected first lien- 
tenant of the company, and at the end of his twelve 
months' enlistment was promoted to a higher rank in 
another service. The other officers elected were James 
S. Ballenger second lieutenant, and Robert A. Snoddy 
third lieutenant. 

Upon the reorganization of the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., 
for the Confederate service, the Morgan Light Infantry, 
under Captain Foster, was known as Company F, and 
as such participated in the first battle of Manassas, and 
the subsequent service of the regiment for the period of 
enlistment. 

At the reorganization in 1862, for three years or the 
war, part of the 5th Regiment, with other reenlisted 
companies, formed the new regiment known as the Pal- 
metto Sharpshooters, of which Micah Jenkins was made 
colonel, and Captain Foster's company, with such new 
recruits as were added, became Company D in said regi- 
ment. 

Captain Foster was in all the engagements of this gal- 
lant regiment except Williamsburg, Va., and Dandridge, 
Tenn. His personal record was part of that of the 
Sharpshooters, who were never driven from a position, 
and never failed to drive the enemy when they charged, 
with one or two exceptions. He took part in battles of 
First Manassas, Seven Pines, Mechanicsville, Gaines 
Mill, Fraser's Farm, Rappahannock Station, Thorough- 
fare Gap, Second Manassas, Ox Hill, Boonsboro, Sharps- 
burg, Fredericksburg, the Suffolk and Blackwater cam- 
paign, the Chattanooga and Knoxville campaign under 
Longstreet, including the fights at Campbells Station, 
Knoxville and Beans Station, Wilderness, Spottsylvania 
Court-house, Hanover Junction, Cold Harbor, Bermuda 
Hundred, Petersburg, Fort Harrison, New Market 

30 h s c 



^66 History of Spartanburg County. 

Heights, Darbytowii Road, Williamsburg Road, and at 
the evacuation of Petersburg brought up the rear, and 
commanded the regiment during the frequent skirmishes 
on the road to Appomattox, and in all these engagements 
he was slightly wounded twice. At the surrender the 
regiment was in good discipline and would have made 
as good a company, numbers considered, as it ever did. 

It surrendered more men than any other regiment in 
the army. Of Captain Foster's company, which was 
composed of the best material the country afforded, the 
total number enrolled from its last organization (1862) 
was about 134. Of this number t^j were killed and died 
of wounds received on battle-fields; 21 were wounded, 
and 20 died of disease, making a total of 78. At the 
surrender at Appomattox the company numbered be- 
tween 10 and 25. Captain Foster left Appomattox April 
13th, 1865, just four years to a day after he left home 
for the war. 

In 1868 he established his business as a merchant in 
Union, S. C, which he has successfully conducted for 
thirty years. He is deeply interested in every enterprise 
looking to the upbuilding of his country, having assisted 
with his influence and financially in organizing and 
promoting cotton manufacturing in Spartanburg and 
Union counties, and especially is he interested in the 
welfare of his comra(Jes, being at present the commander 
of Camp Giles, U. C. V., which meets in his city. 

A truer patriot, a braver soldier or a more devoted son 
of Carolina never went forth to battle for his country 
than Alfred Harrison Foster, and what we say of him 
personally may be also truly said of his heroic band of 
followers through four long years of a bloody war. 



History of Spartanburg County. 467 

the choice family, 

The Choices are of Welsh descent. The first to land 
in this country came with the early English settlers to 
Virginia and engaged in the cultivation of tobacco. 

The founder of the South Carolina family, William 
Choice, was a patriot soldier in the Revolutionary war, 
and soon after the surrender of Cornwallis he settled on 
Reedy River, in the lower part of Greenville county. 
He was one of the three commissioners to locate Green- 
ville Court-house at the falls of Reedy River. He lived 
to be eighty-nine years old and drew a military pension 
from the government for many years. He was the father 
of William Choice, who attained eminent success at the 
bar of Greenville city, his contemporaries being Judges 
O'Neall, Earle, Dawkins, Hon. B. F. Perry and others ; 
also of Josiah Choice, who was killed at his home, near 
Paris Mountain, just at the close of the civil war, while 
defending his stock from a lawless raid of Federal 
cavalry. 

His youngest son, Jefferson, having married a daugh- 
ter of Jesse Cleveland, moved to Spartanburg to practice 
law, forming the firm of Thomson & Choice. Served 
one ter<in as intendant of the town of Spartanburg. He 
died in i860 much lamented. 

CAPTAIN WILLIAM CHOICE, SR., 

son of JelTerson Choice, Esq., was born in Spartanburg. 
He attended the University at Georgetown, D. C, and 
received a good education. At the outbreak of the civil 
war he enlisted and was made a sergeant in the Spartan 
Rifles (Captain Joseph Walker). He served four years 
in the war, rising to the captaincy of Co. K, 5th Regi- 
ment, S. C. v., which formed a part of Longstreet's corps, 
and took part in many of the great battles in Virginia 
with conspicuous gallantry, as has been stated to the 



468 



History of Spartanburg County. 



writer by his comrades in arms. He is a quiet and up- 
right citizen, and resides in the city of Spartanburg, 
never having aspired to public life. His son, William 

Choice, Jr., a young 
man just grown, served 
through the late Span- 
ish-American war as a 
private in the United 
States Marine Corps. 
He was on duty aboard 
the artillery cruiser 
Yosemite, which did 
service in the West 
India waters. While 
blockading the port of 
San Juan, Porto Rico, 
the Yosemite, while 
there alone, was attack- 
ed by four Spanish gunboats. The battle raged for five 
hours with most tremendous cannonading, when the 
Spanish boats retired, being badly hurt. One of them, 
the Antoine- Lope, was beached and destroyed. After 
ten months service, the war being over, he was honor- 
ably discharged. 




Capt. \Vm. Choice. 



CHAPTER XXXV. 



PROFESSOR DAVID DUNCAN. 



This eminent educator was born in the county of Don- 
egal, Ireland, in 1790,- and was graduated from Glasgow 
University at eighteen years of age, after which he spent 
four years in the English navy. He was at St. Peters- 
burg at the time Napoleon burned Moscow. He came 
to America in 181 7 and landed in Norfolk, Va. , and 
from that time until his death he devoted his attention 
to educational work. From 181 7 to 1835, he was the 
principal of the Norfolk Academy, and from the latter 
date until 1854 he was professor of ancient languages 
in the Randolph-Macon College, and from 1854 to 1881, 
in which year he died, he was professor of ancient lan- 
guages in the Wofford College at Spartanburg, being 
among the first of the faculty of that institution. 

He was twice married. His first wife was Miss Ann 
Shirley, who only lived one year after her inarriage, 
leaving no children. His second marriage was to ]\Iiss 
Alice A. Peimont. She was reared in Norfolk, and was 
the daughter of Thomas and Alice (Robinson) Peimont. 
The latter was a niece of speaker John Robinson of the 
Virginia house of burgesses, of which Patrick Henry 
was a member, and it was during this time that he made 
his celebrated speech, in which among other things he 
said : " Tarquin and Caesar had each his Brutus . 
Charles I. his Cromwell, and George HI. — " and when 
the speaker and terrified loyalists shouted " Treason ! 
Treason!'' finished the sentence — " and George HI, may 
profit by their example. If that be treason, make the 

(469) 



4/0 History of Spartanburg County. 

most of it." The Robinson family was of English de- 
scent and the Peimont of French. 

By the marriage between Professor David Dnncan and 
Alice A. Peimont seven children were born, viz. : Mary 
Elizabeth, who married Lucien H. Eomax ; William 
Wallace, a sketch of whom we present in this volume ; 
James Armstrong, Alice Amanda ; David Robinson, who 
will receive further notice ; Thomas C. and D'^^rcy 
Paul. Onl}- three of the above are living, viz. : David 
R., William W., and D'Arcy P. 

James Armstrong Duncan became a doctor of divinity, 
and was one of the most distinguished and eloquent 
Methodist divines in the country. At the time of his 
death he was president of Randolph-Macon College, Va. 
Thomas Carey Duncan was killed in battle, in the seven 
days fight in front of Richmond, a brave and gallant 
soldier, being a member of Co. K., Palmetto Sharp- 
shooters. D'Arcy P. Duncan is a prominent citizen in 
the State, being at present clerk of the railroad commis- 
sioners, and resides at Sumter, S. C. 

BISHOP WILLIAM WALLACE DUNCAN. 

This distinguished divine of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, now a resident of the city of Spartan- 
burg, S. C, is the son of Professor David Duncan, a 
sketch of whom we present herein. He was born at 
Randolph-Macon College, Mecklenburg county, Va., 
December 20th, 1839, his father being at the time a pro- 
fessor in said college, but resigning the same in 1854 to 
accept the chair of Greek and Latin in the Wofford Col- 
lege at Spartanburg, The son, the subject of this sketch, 
came with him. He entered the freshman class the 
year of his father's removal, graduating four years after- 
wards. 

Soon after his graduation he returned to his native 



History of Spartanburg County. 471 

State where he entered the ministry. He was admitted 
to the Virginia Conference in 1859. '' He served as 
chaplain in the army dnring the war, both in Virginia 
and in South Carolina ; and in the ten years that fol- 
lowed he did a Methodist preacher's work in the pulpit 
and on the pastorate, on circuits and stations ranging 




Bishop W. W. Duncan, D.D. 

from the peaks of O'Her on the Blue Ridge to the surf- 
beaten shores of the Chesapeake.'" Among the stations 
in Virginia which lie served during this period were 
Leesville, Danville, Norfolk and Petersburg, While 
stationed at the last mentioned place he was called to 
the professorship) of Mental and Moral Philosophy in 
Wofford College, which position he accepted and served 
with conspicuous success until he was elected bishop by 
the General Conference in 1886. In connection with the 



472 History of Spartanburg County. 

Wofford professorship he served as the representative of 
the college, soliciting contributions and delivering mas- 
terly educational addresses, which were well received 
everywhere, and which are still bearing fruit and will 
for generations to come. 

The selection of Bishop Duncan by the Conference 
gave great satisfaction, and he has now for about four- 
teen years, with great faithfulness and fidelity, served 
his church and the Master's cause, visiting every part 
of the continent over which the jurisdiction of his 
church extends, and is warmly welcomed everywhere. 

In the chair he is the master of assemblies, and wields 
the oravel p-racefullv but firmlv. He is a man of busi- 
ness and the work of the Conference runs along smoothly 
and with dispatch under his efficient guidance. 

In 1 86 1 Bishop Duncan was married to Miss Medora, 
daughter of Hon. Ben Rice of Union, S. C, and they are 
the happy parents of three children : Colonel T. C. Dun- 
can of Union, Mrs. Warren Du Pre, and Mrs. A. G. Rem- 
bert of Spartanburg. 

In many respects Bishop Duncan is a remarkable 
man: " As a preacher he is practical and powerful. He 
despises the tricks of oratory, but ever has the eloquence 
of thought. He strives to correct the evil in the hearts 
and lives of his hearers rather than please them with 
rhetorical productions. . . . He is a man of deep 
convictions, and has the courage necessary to fearlessly 
express them." He " makes no loud professions of spir- 
itual attainments, but illustrates by a life of continual 
and arduous labors the highest type of Christian conse- 
cration." His labors are not only such as to meet the 
praises of men, but will receive the approbation of the 
Divine Master, whom he faithfully serves. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



473 



JESSE CLEVELAND. 

The Clevelands, it is said, were an ancient family de- 
riving their name from a tract of country in North Rid- 




ing of Yorkshire, England, still called Cleveland. In 
history there appear the names of two Alexander Cleve- 
lands. The junior of this name was the father of John 
Cleveland of Prince William county, Va., who was the 
father of several sons, among whom we would mention 



474 History of Spartanburg County. 

the names of Benjamin, John and Robert. The first men- 
tioned, Colonel Benjamin Cleveland, lives in history as 
one of the heroes of King Mountain, a sketch of whom 
we have presented in another volume.* 

The second son referred to, John Cleveland, was a 
Baptist minister of good standing, influence and ability. 

The third mentioned, Robert Cleveland, was a captain 
in his brother's regiment at the battle of King's Moun- 
tain. Among his children he had two sons, viz. : Jere- 
miah and Jesse. The former resided in Greenville, S. C, 
and left behind him numerous descendants. The latter, 
Jesse Cleveland, the subject of this sketch, emigrated 
from Wilkes county, N. C, in 1810, and settled in Spar- 
tanburg. In the beginning and growth of said town no 
one was more identified with its business interests than 
Jesse Cleveland. He began and continued for many 
years the business of merchandizing, and was in truth 
the merchant of the town. Purchasing his goods in 
Charlestf^n, Baltimore, Augusta and other places, and 
bringing them overland in wagons to Spartanburg, he 
had an extensive trade and business, and was noted not 
only for his superior business judgment, but fair and 
honorable dealing. 

He married Mary Blassingame, and had children as 
follows: Mrs. Emily Choice, John B. Cleveland, Sr. , 
Wm. B, Cleveland, Mrs. Elizabeth Bivings, Dr. Robert 
E. Cleveland, and Mrs. IVIary H. Cleveland, the last 
named the only one surviving who resides at Green- 
ville, S. C. ' 

DR. ROBERT EASLEY CLEVELAND, 

son of Jesse Cleveland, was born in Spartanburg, S. C, 
January 6th, 1822. Receiving a good education, he 



* See "Colonial and Revolntionary History of Upper South Caro- 
lina," p. 224. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



475 



read medicine and was graduated from the Charleston 
Medical College in 1843. Immediately he began prac- 
tice in his native county, which was extensive, reaching 
into North Carolina, and his work was remunerative. 
"To his knowledge as a physician he brought the aid of 
common sense ; always conservative in his views, he was 
never carried away by any new theories in his profession. 
His cardinal belief was in nature, and to assist her was 
his chief object. . . . His treatment was especially 
successful in typhoid 
cases." As a surgeon he 
was conservative in the 
use of the knife. 

Dr. Cleveland retired 
from the practice of medi- 
cine in 1870. After that 
time he gave his attention 
to extensive private busi- 
ness. He took great in- 
terest in the growth and 
prosperity of his native 
town and county. 

He was particularly in- 
terested in railroad development, and forwarded in every 
way the building and success of the Spartanburg and 
Asheville and Air Line roads. 

Dr. Cleveland, though not a graduate of any literary 
institution, his education having been confined to the 
high schools then common in the State, was a man of 
extensive reading and information, was social in his 
nature, hospitable in his home, and his store of anec- 
dotes and conversational qualities caused his society to 
be much sought after. 

In 1844 he married Miss Elizabeth, eldest daughter 
of John Bomar, Jr. , who was one of the early and suc- 




Dr. Robert E. Cleveland. 



476 



History of Spartanburg County. 



cessfiil manufacturers of cotton in Spartanburg district. 
By this marriage two children survive, Dr. Jesse F. and 
Hon. John B. Cleveland, well known and popular citizens 
in Spartanburg county. 

REV. JOHN D. MCCOLLOUGH. 

The first Episcopal clergyman resident in Spartan- 
burg county was Rev, John D. McCollough. Air. 
McCollough was from Society Hill, on the Pee Dee, a 

planter of land inher- 
ited from an ancestor, 
one of the old Welsh 
colonists. 

Having determined 
to enter the sacred 
ministry, he sold his 
property and removed 
to Columbia in 1847. 
He was elected princi- 
pal of the Glenn 's 
Spring Academy and 
removed to that place 
in J a n u a r \- , 1848. 
Among his pupils of that year who still survive are 
William Means, Dr. J. N. Moore and Dr. Wm. F. Smith. 
There were no Episcopalians at Glenn's Spring and 
no Sunday services. There were, however, several mem- 
bers of the Church at Spartanburg, and to furnish these 
with the worship of their Church and to know the 
Lord's Day, Mr. McCollough was made a deacon with 
license to preach, and divided the Sundays between these 
two points. 

The following information in quotation marks are 
extracts from a sermon preached in Spartanburg in 1897, 




Rev. Johx D. McCollough. 



History of Spartanburg County. 477 

by Mr, McCollotigh, which was published in the 
Spartan : 

" There were then two clergymen of the Episcopal 
Church in the upper part of South Carolina-, at Pendle- 
ton and Greenville, where congregations were organized 
by Episcopalians from the 'Low Country.' " A few ser- 
vices had been held in Spartanburg district by clergy- 
men traveling in the summer. These were by the "Rev. 
C. C. Pinckey, who reports that in 1840 he spent a Sun- 
day at Glenn's Spring and one at Limestone Springs, 
preaching on both occasions to very respectable congre- 
gations." 

In 1 84 1 Rev. R. H. Shindler, a deacon, was sent for 
the summer "to Limestone Springs, Glenn's Spring 
and Spartanburg Court-house." He reports "divine 
services twenty times at the places designated." . 
" Baptized two whites and three colored children. There 
is but one family in full communion with the church." 

This family was that of Major L. H. Kennedy, residing 
near Cedar Spring. One of the children baptized was 
]\lary Hamilton Legg, who was also the first married in 
the church of the Advent, and the first buried from its 
portals. The others are unknown. In 1843 Rev. C. P. 
Elliot was in Spartanburg district four months. He re- 
ports fifteen Sundays. . . . "A single family who re- 
side in the vicinity in Spartanburg" were the only Epis- 
copalians in the district. This was the family of Major 
Kennedy. Mr. Elliot organized a congregation and 
reports the following names of vestrymen: Colonel H. H. 
Thomson, Charles Wear, G. W. H. Legg, L. H. Kennedy, 
Dr. L. C.Kennedy, A. S. Camp and W. L. Rowland. 
An application was made the next year to be received 
into the union with the Church in South Carolina, but 
was rejected on account of incompleteness and insuffi- 
ciency of the organization. 



478 History of Spartanburg County. 

In 1844 Rev. Mr. Phillips was in Spartanburg district. 
He reports : "I held service and preached in the Meth- 
odist house of wo;'ship of the village ... on five 
Sundays. On one administered the Lord's Supper to 
three persons of our own and about twenty of the Meth- 
odist communion. An individual has offered to give us 
a lot for the church. . . . The congregation con- 
sists . . . nominally of no more than six families 
and about the same number of communicants." He 
preached also at Glenn's Spring, Cedar Spring and Lime- 
stone Springs. 

In 1845 Rev. R. D. Shindler reports "services at Spar- 
tanburg Court-house, and near there five." In 1847 
Rev. M. H. Lance says : "I officiated twice at Spartan- 
burg on Sunday to a large and respectful congregation 
in the Presbyterian church, kindly tendered, and admin- 
istered the Lord's Supper to a respectable number of 
devout communicants. , . . On the following day 
I baptized two children of our little flock." In the 
same year, 1847, Rev. L. C. Johnson says: "At the 
Court-house there are eleven communicants." These 
were the Kennedys, Irwins, J. M. Elford, Esq., and Major 
James E. Henry. Mr. Elford alone survives, a sketch 
of whom we present in another part of this work. 

"In this missionary district, embracing eleven coun- 
ties, there were in 1848 three well-organized congrega- 
tions, viz. : at Pendleton, Greenville and Abbeville, 
composed chiefly of colonists from the lower part of the 
State. Four more congregations organized were what 
we now call missions, and very feeble ones at that, viz. : 
at Landsford, Chester county, Laurens, Newberry and 
Spartanburg. 

"In 1848 the aggregate number of white communi- 
cants reported was 115 ; probably 25 were omitted, say 
140. In 1899 there are 11 clergy, 20 church buildings 



History of Spartanburg County. 479 

(six in Spartanburg district); 17 churches and organized 
missions. 

" We are still a feeble folk, but the ratio of increase is 
not discouraging. In the whole United States during 
this period it has been fourfold ; in this district, fivefold. 
Increase of communicants in the United States fivefold.'^ 

Mr. McCollough, made a deacon in 1848, divided the 
Sundays between Spartanburg, and Glenn's Spring. His 
first sermon "was in Spartanburg, July 2d, 1848, in 
what was then known as the Female Academy, now the 
residence of Captain Petty. This and the old brick 
building, near the old Spartanburg and Union depot, then 
the Male Academy, furnished places of worship for us 
until the 13th of September, 1851. On that day the 
first service was held in the little chapel, afterwards re- 
moved to Wellford. On the next day, Sunday the 14th, 
Bishop Gadsden made his first visit, and confirmed four- 
teen persons. This chapel continued to be our place of 
worship, until 1854, when we removed to the chapel of 
''St. John's School,' and occupied it until 1857, when I 
removed to Winnsboro." Meantime a lot for the church, 
where it now stands, had been set off by Major J. E. 
Henry, and the corner-stone of church was laid in 1849. 
But the contractor for the brick church having left the 
State after only laying the foundation, and Major Henry 
dying before the deed was executed, matters were left in 
statu quo and the congregation gathered elsewhere. " Mr. 
McCollough removed to Spartanburg in 1851, and 
opened a school in a small wooden building on the main 
street. "The school was well attended, and he procured 
the assistance of J. H. (afterwards Judge) Hudson, while 
the building of St. John's School was being erected. 
This was occupied in 1852, and was so filled with boys 
as to induce the enlargement of the building on a scale 
which was never entirely completed. 



480 History of Spartanburg County. 

"In 1848 there were eleven communicants in Spartan- 
burg, but when I was ordained, July 28th, 1850, they 
had been reduced by death and removal to five. One of 
these. Major J. M. Elford, referred to. From 1848 to 
1857, there had been baptized 37 — 11 adults and 26 
children ; confirmed 22; married 9 ; buried 6. . . . 
During these years I visited Laurens, Newberry, York- 
ville, Anderson, and Pendleton while it was vacant. 
. . . In 1 85 1 regular services were held at Lime- 
stone Springs. . . . In 1855 regular services were 
held at Union, and the corner-stone of the beautiful 
church there was laid May ist of that year. There 
were two communicants in the district when I first 
visited it." 

The corner-stone of the Episcopal church in Spar- 
tanburg was laid by Bishop C. E. Gadsden July 23d, 
1850, and an address delivered by A. H. Cornish. Work 
on the building was suspended owing to complications 
mentioned until about i860. It was finished under diffi- 
culties during ''the war," and was consecrated to the 
worship of Almighty God. 

The present number of communicants in said church, 
in round numbers, has been reported (January, 1900) 
to the writer as one hundred and fifty. It may be truly 
said that its present flourishing condition is due largely 
to the indefatigable work, in the Lord's vineyard in the 
early years of its existence, of Rev. John D. McCollough, 
whose name not only deserved to be preserved and per- 
petuated in the pages of the history of his church, but 
also in the annals of the history of Spartanburg as an 
educator and an humble minister of the gospel. 

REV. ALBERT ALLISON JAMES 

was born in Yorkville, S. C, July 26th, 1824. He was 
educated mainly at Ebenezer Academy under the in- 



History of Spartanburg County 



481 



struction of Rev. P. E. Bishop, and while yet a pupil 
united with the Presbyterian Church under the ministry 
of Rev. Ferdinand Jacobs in 1843. " ^^ entered the 
Junior Class of Davidson College in 1846 and graduated 
two years later. . . . Leaving college he entered 
the Theological Seminary at Columbia, S. C, in 1848, 
and graduated from that institution in 1851. He was 
licensed by the Bethel Presbytery the same year. His 
first charge was Fair Forest church in connection with 
the Spartanburg 
church, now in P^no- 
ree Presbytery, and 
he was installed pastor 
of Fair Forest in No- 
vember, I 85 I , but 
continued to supply 
the Spartanburg 
church for three and a 
half years. Giving 
up the Spartanburg 
church, he supplied 
Salem church in 
Union district in con- 
nection with his Fair Forest pastorate for five years." 
Later he organized the Grindal Shoals church, which 
he supplied in connection with Fair Forest pastorate. 

" When the war came on Mr. James was elected chap- 
lain of the 1 8th South Carolina Volunteers, and served 
with this regiment throughout the war. When the war 
closed he returned to the same section of country from 
which he had gone, and taking up his work at Fair 
Forest he began to serve other contiguous churches. He 
was pastor of Alt. Calvary for sixteen years. Daring 
the period since the war he organized the Glenn's Spring, 
Pacolet, Jonesville, Trough Shoals and Enoree churches, 

31 h s c 




Rev. a. a. James. 



482 History of Spartanburg County. 

and has supplied them all in connection with his work 
with the mother church." 

Mr. James commands the love and esteem of the 
people of all churches. He is now in the forty-ninth 
year of his pastorate and in the seventy-sixth year of 
his age, but is still strong and active and " carries on a 
wonderful work of ministering to six churches widely 
separated from each other. . . . He was for twenty 
years a director of Davidson College, and for eleven 
years a director of Columbia Seminary. He has been 
a member of four General Assemblies," and he was 
elected moderator of the meeting of the Synod of South 
Carolina which met at Lancaster, S. C, in 1888. 

In 1853 ^^^- James married Miss Sarah M., daughter 
of T. B, Collins, one of the first elders of Spartanburg 
church, which "union still exists, and is a happy one. 
Mrs. James is still spared to bless and help the labors of 
her husband." 

Mr. James has done a great work in the ministry. 
Under the light of his preaching many souls have been 
converted and many afflicted hearts comforted. He has 
visited many sick-beds and ministered comfort and con- 
solation in the dying hours. He has performed the mar- 
riage ceremony to about two hundred and thirty couples, 
and, as already stated, is universally popular with the 
entire people, and it is to be hoped that there are many 
bright years before him in the discharge of the great 
work in the Master's cause yet unfinished. 

COLONEL THOMAS STOBO FARROW. 

Colonel T. Stobo Farrow was born in Laurens, S. C, 
in 1832, was educated at the South Carolina College, and 
settled in Spartanburg, and commenced the study of law 
in 1853, and soon after became editor and proprietor of 
the Spartanburg Express^ which paper he edited for 



History of Spartanburg County, 



483 



three or four years. He was three times elected by the 
Legislature of South Carolina to the office of Commis- 
sioner in Equity for Spartanburg district, and served as 
such three full terms. 

At the outbreak of the civil war between the States 
he enlisted for the service in the Spartan Rifles and was 
elected a second lieutenant in the same, which office he 
resigned to accept the 
position of major on the 
staff of General A. C. 
Garlington in the South 
Carolina Army. When 
the State troops were 
transferred to the Confed- 
erate army he raised a 
company (Forest Rifles) 
and entered service, hold- 
ing successively the posi- 
tions of captain, major 
and lieutenant-colonel of 
the 13th Regt., S. C. V., 

and was wounded in the Second Manassas battle. Soon 
after the war he removed to Atlanta, Ga. , where he 
practiced law for four years, but returned to his native 
State, and was one of the proprietors and editor of the 
Spartanburg Herald^ established in 1875. This he con- 
ducted for eight years, which did much to redeem the 
misrule and corruption of a dominant political party at 
the time. 

He was a member of the State Democratic Executive 
Committee that called the straight-out convention that 
nominated Wade Hampton in 1876, and served as a 
member of same committee during these exciting cam- 
paigns. 

When the Democrats orot control of the State Senate 




IviEuT.-CoL. T. Stobo Farrow, 



484 History of Spartanburg County. 

in 1877, he was elected clerk of the Senate to fill the 
unexpired term of Josephus Woodruff, and was reelected 
in 1882 for the same position for four successive terms, 
which office he resigned in 1885 to accept the position of 
Chief of Division in the office of Auditor for the Post- 
office Department in Washington during Cleveland's 
first administration, which office he resigned after four 
years' service. 

In 1893, soon after Cleveland's second inauguration he 
was appointed Auditor for the War Department, which 
office he resigned after four years' service, returning to 
his home in Gaff nay, S. C, to resume the practice of 
law. 

Colonel Farrow has always taken interest in the de- 
velopment of railroad enterprises. The writer served 
with him as a member of the Cowpens Centennial Com- 
mittee, which supervised the erection of the monument 
of Daniel Morgan on the public square at Spartanburg, 
S. C.,'in 1881. He is a prominent nember of the Pres- 
byterian Church. 

In 1854 Colonel Farrow married Miss Laura A., 
daughter of Hon. James Edward Henry of Spartanburg, 
who died in 1858, leaving no children. Afterwards, in 
1 86 1, he married Miss Jeannie Bedon of Walter boro^ 
S. C, who died in 1892, leaving four children : Jennie B., 
Julia D., Patillo, Hyder B., all of whom are living ex- 
cept Hyder B. Farrow, who died in 1898 at twenty-one 
years of age, just as he was entering upon a prosperous 
business career. 

Recently (in 1900) Colonel Farrow was united in mar- 
riage with Mrs. E. A. Ellerbee of Gaffney, S. C, for- 
merly Miss Ellenor Adalae LaCostae of Cheraw, S. C. 
He is still in the full vigor of health, and it is hoped 
that there are yet many years of happiness and usefulness 
before him. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



485 



JOSEPH MARSH ELFORD 

was born in the city of Charleston, S. C, on the 21st 
day of January, 1822. He was the seventh son of James 
Maud Elford, the inventor and publisher of the Marine 
Signal Telegraph in nautical and marine education. 




J. M. Elford, Esq. 



Joseph was left an orphan at eight years of age, and 
was taken charge of by elder brothers and placed in the 
boarding-school of E. S. Courteney of Charleston, where 
he remained until about ten years of age, and was then 
carried away and placed in the care of Spencer Bobo of 
Cross Keys, Union county, and was by him sent to an 
old field school and remained there one year, and was 
thence removed to the wilds of the far West, in Panola 
county. Miss., a county then inhabited mostly with In- 



486 History of Spartanburg County. 

dians, and there remained assisting on the farm and in 
farm work for about six years, when, heaUh failing and 
becoming dissatisfied, he returned to Greenville, S. C, 
and entered as a clerk in the mercantile firm of McBee 
& Irwin ; from thence he removed to Spartanburg 
in 1847, and assisted as copartner in the firm of McBee 
& Bomar, where he remained until 1848, when he mar- 
ried the stepdaughter of one of the firm. Miss Elizabeth 
Blassingame, daughter of John and Sarah Blassingame, 
and then purchased all of the interests of the concern 
and continued the same for four years or more, when he 
was made a magistrate and trial justice by the appoint- 
ment of the governor, and served as such officer for 
over forty years. 

In 1854 he entered the oflfice of Dean & Trimmier, 
attorneys, as their assistant in office work, pursuing the 
study of law until 1855, when he was admitted to prac- 
tice in the law and equity courts. He practiced his 
profession for nearly thirty years, when he retired and 
entered into the business of real estate and general in- 
surance, in which he is yet employed, and, although now 
seventy-nine years of age, is daily in his office from 9 
A.M. to 6 P.M., and is employed in clerical and other 
duties. 

Mr. Elford claims no real title to the major only from 
serving as county or home commissary during the period 
of the civil war between the States. Thrice he attempted 
to become a volunteer soldier and to join some company 
in the army, but the strong petitions sent into head- 
quarters from the widows and wives of soldiers, as well 
as home-sta3ang citizens, to attend on them and assist in 
their home comforts and living, prevented and kept him 
at home as their assistant, and he now has letters and 
papers innumerable stored away in old trunks and boxes 



History of Spartanburg County. 487 

of compliments and satisfaction in the discharge of his 
duties. 

Major Elford never had any aspiration for any public 
office. Repeatedly in his younger days was he announced 
by his friends as a candidate for the Legislature, but 
always entered up with thanks his disinclination to serve 
as such in the next paper issued. In his long line of 
citizenship he has served in the public capacity as chair- 
man of the Board of Commissioners, in which position 
he was placed by choice of the Democratic county con- 
vention, and not at his desire or solicitation, and yet in 
all city and home affairs he has taken an active interest, 
and has served as city clerk and treasurer for upwards 
of forty years. 

After the close of the civil war he became the trusted 
agent for all the old pensioners in the county, receiving 
only a small per cent, of their pensions for his services. 
He proved himself to be their faithful friend and coun- 
selor, performing his duty to their entire satisfaction. 
From the time that he accepted this agency all of them 
departed before the expiration of ten years. Some of 
them left their wives to his care, and he drew and arrano-- 
ed the'obtainment of their pensions. 

The following soldiers of the war of 181 2 in Spartan- 
burg county in obtaining their pensions from the gov- 
ernment were represented by Mr. Elford, viz. : James C. 
Ballenger, first drawing March, 1872, and continued to 
death. Arthur Crocker, first drawing September 4th, 
1871 ; died December, 1873. Lewis Camp, first drawing 
March 27th, 1872 ; afterwards he left the State and died 
in Georgia. Jesse Casey, near Hobby's, first drawing 
December, 1872 ; died December ist, 1876. Daniel 
Epps, near Walnut Grove, first drawing May ist, 1872 ; 
died August, 1872. John Fielder, formerly in Spartan- 
burg county, first drawing October 7th, 1872 ; died in 



488 History of Spartanburg County. 

Laurens county. James N. Gaston, near Reidville, first 
drawing December, 1871 ; died 1876. W. W. Harris, 
Spartanburg City, first drawing December, 1871 ; died 
May, 1875. Wm, Johnson, near Holly Springs, first 
drawing June, 1871 ; died 1873. James K. Means, near 
Glenn's Spring, first drawing July,. 1873; '^^^^^ ^^75- 
Hezekiah Pollard,* near Mount Zion, first drawing De- 
cember, 187 1 ; died at home. Wm. Reynolds, near 
Cashville, first drawing March, 1872; died 1876. Benja- 
min Vinson, near White Plains, first drawing September 
4th, 1871 ; died, 1876. Judson Wilson, near Reidville, 
first drawing December 2 ist, 1871 ; died 1876. Robert 
West, near Glenn's Spring, first drawing March 28th, 
1872; died March 25th, 1873. Isham Wilson, near 
Reidville, first drawing December 22d, 1871; died Sep- 
tember 27th, 1876. John Vehorn, near Campobello, 
first drawing May 17th, 1872; died January 26th, 1876. 
John Wingo, near Mount Zion, first drawing December 
4th, i87i;died at home. Coleman Wingo, near Mount 
Zion, first drawing April 9th, 1872 ; died at home. John 
Wilkins, near White Plains; first drawing October, 1871 ; 
died August, 1872. Isaac Young, near Poor's Ford, 
first drawing April, 1872 ; died November 15th, -1873. 

Major Elford is now ripening into a good old age of 
seventy-nine years, but, blessed with health and abun- 
dant will-power, is active and young, to all outward ap- 
pearances, as many a one of only three score and ten. 
But of all his rejoicings, he seems to rejoice more over 
the fact that, for fift}' years or more, he has been elected 
annually without an intermission as one of the vestry 
officers of his church. 

Major Elford has been prominent in the societies of 



* Hezekiah Pollard during the Civil War lost an only son, Willis, 
father of Boyce Pollard, who, on the coast of South Carolina, gave up 
his life in defense of his country. 



History of Spartanburg County, 



489 



the Odd Fellows and Free Masons, and in his younger 
years was a lieutenant in Spartanburg \'olunteer Com- 
pany, and, as such, took command of his company in 
the burial services of James Seay, who, as a soldier of 
the Revolution, was buried in the honors of war. 

DR. WILLIAM THOMAS RUSSELL. 

In our humble efforts to preserve the memories of tlie 
dead none are more worthy of special notice in this vol- 
ume than Dr. Wm. T. 
Russell, who was born 
in the State of Dela- 
ware, June 17th, 1827, 
and died at his home in 
the city of Spartanburg, 
F"ebruary 4th, 1899, ^^^ 
the seventy-second year 
of his age. 

Dr. Russell was of 
Knglish and Scotch- 
Irish parentage, with 
sturdy Presbyterian 
convictions. His boy- 
liood was spent on the 

farm at the village school, until the age of fifteen, when 
he was sent to a boarding-school or academy at Newark, 
Del., where he remained two years, and then entered 
Delaware College, in the same city, graduating in 1847. 
It was while a student at this college that he made a 
public profession of religion. 

Entering the University of Pennsylvania at Philadel- 
phia as a medical student, he graduated with the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine in 1850. The same year he be- 
gan the practice of his profession at Canandaigua, N. Y., 
where he remained three years. 




I)K. \\ M. i . KlSSliUL. 



490 History of Spartanburg County. 

In 1853 he entered the Baltimore College of Dental 
Surgery, where he won the first prize for efficiency in 
dentistry. 

He came to Spartanburg in 1854 and commenced the 
practice of medicine in connection with dentistry, and 
as a professional and finished gentleman he soon gained 
a popular reputation among the people, which he main- 
tained to an eminent degree throughout the remaining 
years of his life. After coming to Spartanburg he mar- 
ried Miss Mary E. Stevens, a sister of Brigadier-General 
Clement H. Stevens, also of Bishop P. F. Stevens, who 
was known as the gallant commander of the Holcombe 
Legion in the war between the States. She, with two 
sons and four daughters, survives him. 

Dr. Russell entered the Confederate service and was 
made surgeon of the Holcombe Legion, and served faith- 
fully until the end of the war. By his unremitting 
kindness and attention to the sick, wounded and dying 
his comrades manifested their appreciation of the same 
by presenting him with a fine horse, which was done in 
camp with appropriate ceremony. 

He was elected a ruling elder of the Presbyterian 
Church in 1857, and filled this office until his death. 

Being especially interested in education he was for 
manv years chairman of the board of trustees of the city 
schools. 

Dr. Russell was positive in his convictions and ag- 
gressive in his undertakings. When he believed he 
was right it was difficult to convince him to the con- 
trary. He was honest and progressive in his ideas, not 
only in medicine but in all matters of public interest. 
Only a short time prior to his death he advocated to the 
writer the idea of cleaning out all the streams in the 
county at the expense of the convict system, which he 



History of Spartanburg County. 491 

said would not only advance the farming interest but 
would prove a o-ood hyg-ienic measure. 

As a physician and an humble professor of the Chris- 
tian religion, he often ministered to troubled minds as 
well as diseased bodies, and his words of comfort and 
consolation carried solace to many a stricken home. 
This fact was peculiarly manifested by the large con- 
course who attended the funeral ceremonies, many of 
whom had received benefits and kindness from him, and 
who wished to emphasize their regard for him by paying 
this last honor to his memory. He was buried with ma- 
sonic honors at Oak wood Cemetery, Spartanburg, S. C. 

professor WILLIAM WALKER, A. S. H., 

was born in Union county, S. C, May 6th, 1809, on 
Tyger River and near the village of Cross Keys in the 
same county. He was of Welsh descent, his father emi- 
grating from Wales in the eighteenth century. His 
mother was a Miss Jackson, granddaughter of Ralph 
Jackson, Esq., who w^as elected by the State Legislature 
a justice of the quorum in Union district, S. C, only a 
few years after the close of the Revolution. It is said 
that she was a relative of General Stoneivall Jackson, 
with whom Mr. Walker during the civil war became 
quite familiar. During his service as hospital nurse he 
he visited the general quite frequently, from whom he 
learned his mother's kinship to the illustrious general. 

When about eighteen years of age the parents of Mr. 
Walker, who were in straitened circumstances, migrated 
to Spartanburg district and settled in the neighborhood 
of Cedar Spring. The scholastic education of the son, 
the subject of this sketch, was of an elementary kind. 
He made good use of the advantages afforded him and in 
course of time " gratified a larg^e ambition which he had 
worthily imbibed to advance the psalmody of his church. 



492 



History of Spartanburg County. 



He joined the Baptist Church at a very early age, and 
amid the ebullitions of his early Christian piety and re- 
ligious fervor he conceived the idea ' Praise the Lord ' 
on 'stringed instruments,' the 'psaltery and harp,' as 
well as with the human voice, were not only requisites, 
but grand concomitants of religious worship. 

"To perfect the vocal modes of praise became the lead- 
ing ambition of his long, laborious and useful life. De- 




Prof. Wm. Walker, A. S. H. 



terniined, at once he resorted to pen and paper. From 
the deep minstrels of his own bosom he gathered and 
arranged into meter and melody a wonderful book suit- 
ably adapted to the praise and glory of God." 

He soon published a musical work entitled " The 
Southern Harmony." This popular book comprised the 
shaped notes or that peculiar style of musical notation 
which contradistinguishes the same from the more cur- 
rent literature of the present age. 



History of Spartanburg County. 493 

Notwithstanding some depreciation by the press he 
adhered to his original system, and his reputation for at- 
tainments in his science soon spread all through the 
South and Southwest. "Everywhere his popularity as a 
music teacher went and his work received a most popu- 
lar indorsement." 

To distinguish him from others of the same name he 
was known as Wm. Walker, A. S. H, (author Southern 
Harmony ) . 

Says a w'riter in The Musical Million : '' Scarcely a 
hamlet, scarcely a church in the wooded coverts of those 
several sections, have not been made to reverberate the 
praises of God in accordance with the metrical spirit of 
that system he originated. ' The Southern Harmony ' 
and his name, the name of the distinguished author, are 
as familiar as household duties in the habitations of the 
South." 

Mr. Walker, not content with his first publication, 
determined to prepare and publish a more elaborate and 
thoroughly revised musical work, which he did under 
the title of the "Christian Harmony.'" 

This book "has met with a like popular currency, and 
the two conjointly have given him -a most enviable rep- 
utation as author, vocalist and teacher. Everywhere 
within the limitations of the South and West he organ- 
ized 'singing schools,' as they were popularly denom- 
inated, and in each prepared, qualified and commissioned 
ill persona many of the brightest of his pupils as in- 
structors in the department of music." 

He was author and copublisher with the Miller Pub- 
lishing House of Philadelphia, Pa., in publishing his 
musical works, and realized a large sum from the sale 
of his books throughout the country. 

Mr. Walker w^as devoted to the service of a religious 
and pious life from early youth, and steadfastly held to 



494 History of Spartanburg County. ■ 

it during his sojourn here on earth. His faith in his 
great Redeemer was of an intensely strong and abiding 
nature, and no misfortunes in life, of which he had 
many, ever caused him to despair or falter in the course 
he had chosen to guide him through the vicissitudes of 
life. He possessed in an eminent degree a happy dis- 
position, an elastic feeling that all would be well in the 
end, and would never suffer his buoyancy of mind and 
heart to yield to any gloomy foreboding whatever might 
befall him. He quoted his great Psalmist : " That the 
righteous would never be forsaken nor his seed begging 
bread.'' He was possessed of a mind of a literary turn, 
and had a large and valuable library, and having been 
engaged for some years in the introduction and sale of 
books in the town of Spartanburg, he became possessed 
of many rare and valuable books of general interest. 

He was a man of quite liberal views, and was ever 
ready with his means and influence to advance the cause 
of any enterprise which seemed to be a public benefit. 

At the age of about twenty-four years Mr. Walker 
married Miss Am}- Golightly and settled near Spartan- 
burg. ' ' His marriage was a happy one, their tastes being 
congenial and their dispositions naturally equable and 
uniform." 

By this marriage ten children were born, five sons 
and five daughters, nine of whom survived him. Four 
sons are still living, Joseph D. Walker living in Arkan- 
sas, Absalom and Miles T. Walker residing in Texas, 
the latter being a Baptist minister. Franklin B. Walker, 
the youngest son, is a resident of Elberton, Ga. The 
daughters are Mrs. J. B. Davis, of Greenville, S. C. ; Mrs. 
Emma Logan, of Forest City, N. C, and Mrs. Lou 
Lynch and Mrs. Flora Justice, of Rutherfordton, N. C. 
Miss Mary Walker, his third daughter, died in Spartan- 
burg some years after the death of her father, which 



History of Spartanburg County. 495 

took place September 24th, 1875, She was laid to rest 
beside her father in Magnolia Cemetery, Spartanburg, 
S. C. His wife died in 1897 or '98 at the home of her 
youngest daughter, Mrs. Justice, in Rutherfordton, N. C. 
It is said that Mr. Walker died, as it were, " with 
melodies on his tongue for the goodness and tender mer- 
cies of God."* 

DR. JOHN CHRISTIAN OELAND, 

son of John and Mrs. Catharine Louisa (Faber) Oeland, 
was born November 8th, 1829, "ear Glenn's Spring, 
Spartanburg District, S. C. 

The father, John Oeland, was born November 6th, 
1771, "in Denmark, Jutland State, Town Baebu. He 
emigrated to Charleston, S. C, date unknown, and en- 
gaged in the mercantile business successfully," and sub- 
sequently removed to his home near Glenn's Spring, 
February 8th, 1843. His first wife was Ann, third 
daughter of Mr. J. Hodge, married May loth, 1798. No 
children. The second marriage was to Miss Faber, 
already mentioned, June 5th, 1826. By this marriage 
were born two sons and a daughter. 

One of the sons was Professor Peter J. Oeland, a grad- 
uate of South Carolina College, who for many years was 
a successful school-teacher in Spartanburg county. The 
daughter. Miss Ann, became the wife of Dr. J, J. Vernon, 
a sketch of whom appears at another place in this vol- 
ume. The other son is the subject of this sketch. 

Dr. J. C. Oeland, living near Glenn's Spring, was 
instructed by Mr. Isham and Mr. Clough Beard, as well 
as at the Academy at Spartanburg, and prepared for the 



* That part of the foregoing sketch of Mr. Walker, A.S.H., under 
quotation marks is extracted from a beautiful tribute to his memory 
by Judge T. O. P. Vernon, which was published in the " Musical Mil- 
lion," vSinging Glen, Virginia, January, 1876. 



49^ 



History of Spartanburg County, 



South Carolina College, which he entered in 1846 
and graduated in 1849. ^^ ^^5° ^^ began the study of 
medicine with Dr. J. J. Vernon as his preceptor, and in 
the fall of the same year entered the South Carolina 
Medical College at Charleston, where in two years he 
took the degree of M.D. He purchased a plantation on 
the waters of the North Tyger about two miles north- 
east of Wellford. Here he engaged in a successful prac- 
tice extending for many 
miles around him. 
After practicing several 
years, h o wever, h i s 
health failed ; and be- 
ing possessed of ample 
means he gradually 
gave up professional 
duties. 

Dr. Oeland, being 
naturally endowed with 
the gift of ingenuity, 
devoted much of his 
time to the bent of his 
inclination — the study 
of chemistry, metallurgy and mechanical science. Dur- 
ing his college days his interest in these studies gave 
him the appointment of "assistant" to the professor of 
these branches, and afforded him opportunities for prac- 
tice and manipulation, of which he was quick to avail 
himself. His room was a fairly equipped laboratory, 
where he experimented more or less to the gratification 
of his fellow-students. Dr. Oeland, after entering on 
his professional work, availed himself of the appliances 
of the day and prosecuted the investigation and analysis 
of substances and waters brought to his notice. 

Durins: his life as a student in Charleston he was 




Dr. John C. Oeland. 



History of Spartanburg County. 497 

moved to know something of dentures manufactured 
from the gold base, and often made his way to the office 
of Dr. J. B. Patrick, where he had object-lessons and 
free instruction. He made several successful sets of 
teeth, refining and rolling the gold in his laboratory. 

The writer in the earlier years of his life lived only 
about three miles from Dr. Oeland and saw much of him, 
and was impressed with his advanced and progressive 
ideas in everything pertaining to his profession, farm, 
garden and orchard. He was an up-to-date man in all 
that pertained to a beautiful and well improved country 
home. He sought the most improved varieties of fruits, 
grapes and melons. He was the first man in his neigh- 
borhood to introduce Peruvian guano in the cultivation 
of wheat. His apiary, to the uninitiated, was not only 
a matter of wonder and curiosity, but to his earnest and 
zealous mind it became a noble study, and as such he 
pursued it, bringing to the service the most improved 
hives and modern appliances in the culture. 

Dr. John C. Oeland whilst in college had an attack of 
measles followed by pneumonia, and subsequently phthi- 
sis pulmonalis. He died August 7th, 1862, in the thirty- 
third year of his age. He was a Christian gentleman, 
a kind neighbor, a true friend, and a good physician. 

October 23d, i85i,Dr. Oeland married Miss Margaret 
Snoddy, who still survives him. They had five chil- 
dren, viz. : Dr. John C. Oeland, well-known citizen and 
dentist in Spartanburg, standing at the head of his pro- 
fession ; James Snoddy Oeland, died in infancy ; Isaac 
Raymond Oeland, Esq., attorney at law. New York City; 
Mrs. Mary Ellen Hammond, of Wellford, S. C. ; and 
Miss Lizzie Oeland, who resides with her mother in 
Spartanburg. 

32 h s c 



498 



History of Spartanburg County. 



DR. WILLIAM POOLE COMPTON. 

was born in the year 1818 near Glenn's, Spring, S. C, on a 
plantation snbseqnently owned by Joseph Montgomery, 
deceased. From this place his father with his family 
moved to Giles connty, Tenn., in 1821, where William P. 
grew up to manhood, receiving the best education that 
the common schools of that State at the time afforded. 
Returning to his native district, Spartanburg, he, in 

^^ 1839, began the study 

of medicine in the of- 
fice of Dr. J. J. Vernon 
at Spartanburg, and 
graduated in the South 
Carolina Medical Col- 
lege at Charleston in 
the sj^ring of 1842. He 
settled in the practice 
at New Prospect, S. C, 
laboring on the North 
and South Pacolets. 

In 1849 ^^^ went to 
the gold regions of 
California in company 
with Alexander Copeland, J. Madison Jackson, Watson 
Robbs, William Dodd and Calvin Foster. They traveled 
by an overland route, and were eleven months on the 
road before they reached the gold region. They re- 
mained there for about three years and were successful 
in their business operations, and most of the party re- 
turned home, together with Dr. Compton, richly rewarded 
for their labors. 

After his return from California Dr. Compton married 
Miss Louisa Jackson, of South Pacolet, an accomplished 
lady, who died in 1871 or '72 leaving four sons and a 
daughter, all of whom are now dead. 




Dr. W. p. Compton. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 499 

At the commencement of the war between the States 
Dr. Compton organized a company composed of the 
young men on the Pacolets, of which he was made cap- 
tain, and joined the 13th Regiment, S. C. V. After two 
years in the field he returned home on account of failing 
health, where his services were in constant demand as a 
physician. 

On account of his personal worth and standing as a 
citizen he was twice elected to the Legislature of South 
Carolina, first in 1872 and again in 1876. He was a 
member of the famous " Wallace House," and was a 
member of the House of Representatives at the time of 
his death, which occurred on the 30th day of May, 1878. 

During the year 1876 Dr. Compton married a second 
time to Miss Lizzie C. Landrum, a most estimable lady 
and second living daughter of Rev. J. G. Landrum, by 
which marriage a son (J. G. Landrum Compton) and a 
daughter were born. 

Dr. Compton was an eminent physician and a man of 
sterling and solid worth, of a superior and well-balanced 
mind. He was a consistent member of the Baptist 
church at New Prospect, and also a member of the 
Masonic lodge at the same place, having served in the 
chair as Worshipful Master. 

His death was deeply deplored, having a large field of 
practice at the time. For more than a quarter of a 
century he had served many households faithfully, and 
some in their most trying hours of affliction. 

DR. THOMAS JOHN COMPTON, 

eldest son of Dr. W. P. and Louisa Compton, was 
born at his father's old homestead on South Pacolet, 
Spartanburg county, S. C, November 23d, 1857, and 
died at the same place, September 30th, 1890, being 
thirty-three years of age. 



500 History of Spartanburg County. 

He received his literary education mainly at New 
Prospect Academy under Professor John G. Clinkscales, 
and at Gowensville Seminary under Rev. T. J. Earle. 
After this he went West and spent several years, but 
learning of his father's death he returned home, and 
soon after began the study of medicine. He attended a 
course of five months in the Jefferson Medical College 
at Philadelphia, and two courses for the same length of 
time at the Medical College at New Orleans, and gradu- 
ated there in the spring of 1883. 

He located for practice at Pacolet Mills (Trough 
Shoals) and remained there for one or two years, and 
later for a few months at Landrum, S. C. But pulmo- 
nary disease had taken a deep root on his system, and 
he was compelled to give up practice. After a linger- 
ing illness for a few months he passed away. 

Having received a finished medical education, he had 
already, at the time of his death, won a good reputation 
as a physician, and had he lived and retained his health 
he would doubtless have distinguished himself in the 
profession. 

DR. LIONEL CHALMERS KENNEDY, 

was born June 17th, 1816, in Charleston, S. C. He 
was the second son of Mr. Lionel Henry Kennedy, a 
lawyer by profession. He was a grandson of Jarves 
Henry Stephens, a man of mark in the Revolution under 
General Francis Marion. His father, in consequence of 
failing health, relinquished his profession and purchased 
a farm near Cedar Spring, to which he moved in 1836. 
Here he resided until his death, January 17th, i^/^y be- 
ing in the fifty-ninth year of his age. 

Dr. Kennedy received his literary education mainly 
at the "South Carolina School," Meeting street, Charles- 
ton, read medicine in the office of Dr. B, F. Simmons 



History of Spartanburg County. 



501 



in said city, and graduated in medicine from the Medi- 
cal College at Charleston in 1834. In 1837 he came to 
Spartanburg and entered into a copartnership with Dr. 
J. J. Boyd . They had a broad scope of practice extend- 
ing into all parts of the county. 

In April, 1842, Dr. Kennedy married Miss Helen F. 
Stephens, sister of Mrs. Wm. T. Russell, and daughter 
of C. W. and Sarah F. Stephens, of Pendleton, S. C. 

During the civil war 
between the States he 
was surgeon of the 13th 
Regiment, S. C. V. , and 
endured the hardships 
of camp life with 
manly zeal and courage 
until his health failed, 
when he resigned and 
returned home. 

After the war he con- 
tinued in practice to 
the time of his death. 
No physician in Spar- 
tanburg county ever at- 
tained greater eminence as such than Dr. Kennedy, He 
was thoroughly conversant with the literature of practice, 
both in medicine and surgery, and in his profession he 
was earnest, sympathetic and kind. In the social circle 
he was always charming. There was a magnetism 
about him which always attracted old and young. His 
influence was felt in every circle in which he moved, 
and this influence was always for good. 

REV. ROBERT HARDEN REID. 

In an address delivered before the Reidville Female 
College, June 20th, 1882, by Governor B. F. Perry, the 




Dr. L. C. Kennedy. 



502 



History of Spartanburg County. 



latter stated that, at the commencement of the South 
Carolina College in 1846, he was seated on the platform 
of the chapel with Colonel Wade Hampton, Governor 
Alston, Judge Whitner and other trustees of the college, 
listening to the addresses of the graduates, when one of 
them, a tall, slender youth, mounted the rostrum to de- 




rev. r. h. reid. 



liver his valedictory. The first words he uttered with 
a tremblinof voice were characterized with so much earn- 
estness and sincerity of tone that the attention of all 
were attracted to his eloquent and appropriate address, 
and it was then predicted for him a brilliant career at 
the bar and in politics. It was soon apparent, however, 
that he did not care for popular honors or distinction, 
but had chosen rather to exert his talents, eloquence and 
learning in the gospel ministry, where he thought his 



History of Spartanburg County. 503 

ability and usefulness would be productive of greater 
good to his fellow men. This man was Rev. R. H. Reid^ 
the subject of this sketch. 

He was the son of Andrew Reid, who was an elder of 
the Good Hope (Presbyterian) church for nearly a half 
century. He was born in Anderson county, S. C, near 
Moffettsville, July 17th, 182 1, and is of Scotch-Irish de- 
scent. 

He was prepared for college by Professor Westly 
Leverett, a famous teacher in his day, and he graduated 
from the South Carolina College, as already stated, in 
1846. After this he took a regular course in the Theo- 
logical Seminary at Columbia, S. C, and was licensed 
to preach by the Presbytery of South Carolina while in 
the middle class, that he might serve as chaplain of the 
Barhamville Collegiate Institute (near Columbia) during 
his last year in the seminary, which was his first minis- 
terial work. 

His first call was from the Presbyterian church at 
Anderson, S. C, which he accepted, and after passing 
a time in fasting and prayer, was ordained and installed 
in 1850. 

In November, 185 1, he was married to Miss Mary 
Julia, third daughter of Dr. William Anderson of Orr- 
ville, S. C, who has made for him a good wife and a 
hospitable home. She is distinguished for her Sunday- 
school work, never having, for more than thirty years ^ 
been absent from her post unless providentially hindered. 

In the spring of 1852 Mr. Reid had two calls for his 
ministerial services, one from Liberty Springs and one 
from Nazareth, and after prayerful consideration he ac- 
cepted the latter and moved to Spartanburg district, 
January, 1853, In the same year he was installed as 
pastor of Nazareth church, which office he held for forty 
years. After passing "his three score and ten" he 



504 History of Spartanburg County. 

tendered his resignation in consequence of diseases from 
which he had suffered for nearly a quarter of a century. 
Having grown into the affections of his congregation 
by a long and laborious work among them, his resigna- 
tion was reluctantly accepted. 

At the time of his installation as pastor of Nazareth 
church there were but four other Presbyterian churches 
in Spartanburg district, viz. : Antioch, North Pacolet, 
Mt. Calvary and First Church at Spartanburg. Since 
then quite a number have been organized in Spartan- 
burg county, including Wellford, Center Point and Reid- 
ville, the material for which was largely made up of the 
original membership of Nazareth church. Mr. Reid 
was for several years the only resident minister of his 
denomination in Spartanburg district. 

His coming to Nazareth greatly strengthened the 
membership and usefulness of that church. Preaching, 
which had been had only twice a month, was now 
changed to a service every Sunday, and an annual collec- 
tion for Home and Foreign Missions and Bible Society 
was changed from an annual to a quarterly, and later on 
to monthly, and finally every Sabbath. 

In his New Year's sermon in 1857 Mr. Reid brought 
before his congregation the subject of education. They 
took it up for consideration in a business meeting the 
following week, which resulted in receiving a large 
number of subscriptions for the building of an institu- 
tion of learning. A building committee was appointed, 
a board of trustees elected, a site was chosen, and in 
October of the same year the corner-stone of the Reid- 
ville Female College (named in honor of Mr. Reid) and 
Male High School was laid. He is the founder of these 
schools and the first and only president of the Board of 
Trustees. These schools, now in their forty-first annual 
session, are in a prosperous and promising condition. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 505 

Mr. Reid first inaugurated the movement which led 
to the Enoree Presbytery and selected the name which 
was adopted. He presided over the first Democratic con- 
vention held in Spartanburg county after the close of the 
civil war, and served for four years as the first county 
school commissioner, laying off the school districts and 
establishing the public schools. He is public-spirited, 
taking interest in everything that has concerned the 
welfare of the county, while his whole life has been spent 
in the advancement of the cause of religion and edu- 
cation. 

He still resides at Reidville, having in a measure re- 
covered from diseases which afflicted him for a long time. 
Being now in his seventy-ninth year, he is thankful for 
all his opportunities of getting good and of having done 
a great and noble work. 

By his marriage, referred to, he has three children : 
Rev. B. Palmer Reid, residing at Pendleton, S. C. ; 
J. Whitner Reid, residing at Reidville ; and Mrs. Ella 
Smith, wife of Rev. Robert P. Smith. 

WILLIAM CARNEY CAMP, ESQ., 

was born near Warm Springs, N. C, in the year 
181 5, and died February 15th, 1900, having reached 
the advanced age of eighty-five years. He was a son 
of Stephen A. and Annie (Alexander) Camp. His 
father was for many years a resident of Rutherford 
county, N. C, and was a citizen of prominence and in- 
fluence in that county. His grandfather was Elias 
Alexander, wdio was born in 1749 and died in 1818. He 
emigrated from Maryland to North Carolina before the 
Revolution. His wife's maiden name was Nancy Agnes 
McCall. 

The Alexanders w^ere staunch Whigs and valiant 
soldiers during the Revolution, and five of this name 



5o6 



History of Spartanburg County. 



were signers of the Mecklenburg Declaration of Inde- 
pendence, some of whom were uncles of the subject of 
this sketch. 

The grandfather of Wm. C. Camp on his paternal side 
was Thomas A. Camp, who had twenty-four children by 
two wives. 

Wm. C. Camp came to the present county of Spar- 
tanburg about the year 1835 or '36, and commenced the 
carpenter's trade under his kinsman, Adam S. Camp, 

but possessing a 
mind of more than 
ordinary intelligence 
he began the study 
of surveying, which 
he mastered in course 
of time, and enjoyed 
the reputation of be- 
ing among the best in 
this line of his chosen 
profession. When in 
the prime of life he 
possessed great pow- 
ers of physical en- 
durance, was a good woodsman and has surveyed 
more acres of land and has been the means of settling 
more disputed lines among neighbors than any one 
who has ever surveyed in Spartanburg county. He has 
often been assigned by the courts to make surveys of 
lands in litigation, and the result of his work and re- 
ports thereon have seldom been overturned by the ver- 
dicts or decrees that followed. 

He served for many years as a magistrate or trial 
justice, and was for several years a member of the Board 
of county commissioners for Spartanburg county, hav- 
ing been elected by the people to that responsible posi- 




Wm. C. Camp, Eso. 



History of Spartanburg County. 507 

tion. He resided for the last thirty-three years of his life 
near the town of Campton, which was named for him. 

Soon after his removal to Spartanbnrg district, Mr. 
Camp married Miss Tabitha, yonngest daughter of Col- 
onel W. W. Harris of Spartanbnrg, Among the surviv- 
ing children by this marriage are George H. Camp, Esq., 
Inman, S. C. ; Mrs. Hattie Dean, wife of Dr. George R. 
Dean, Spartanburg, S. C. ; Wm. W. Camp, Campobello, 
S. C. ; C. Frank Camp, conductor, Asheville and Spar- 
tanburg Railroad; Mrs. Lizzie Monk, wife of R. B. 
Monk, Campton, S. C. ; Stephen E. Camp, Kansas City, 
Mo. ; and Thomas A. Camp, Spartanburg, S. C. 

Wm. C. Camp was for many years a consistent mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church, and always occupied before 
the people of his county a position of influence and 
popularity. The excellent traits of his character, how- 
ever, may be summed up in the following tribute to him 
from the pen of Dr. Carlisle, of Wofford College : 

" Soon after the college opened a stranger came to my 
study one day and introduced himself as William Camp, a 
surveyor. He very clearly and briefly stated the object 
of his visit. His school life had been very short, covering 
only a very few months. He finds some things in his 
practical work as a surveyor that trouble him. Espe- 
cially there is a ' fifty-seven and three tenths (57.3),' 
which he often has occasion to use. By using it he can 
get good results. But where does this mysterious num- 
ber come from ? How does it have such useful meaning 
in it? He had asked older surveyors questions like 
these, but had received no satisfactory answers. One 
had said to him : ' Billy, that's none of your business 
where it comes from. Use it as I tell you, and go on 
with your business.' But the squire was not a man to 
rest in an answer like that. It was striking to see how 
clearly his quick, practical mind seized explanations. 
As if by intuition he seemed to anticipate mathematical 
laws and truths, such as he had never learned from books. 
I soon felt that I was dealing with a man of rare abili- 



5o8 History of Spartanburg County. 

ties in some directions. This conviction was strength- 
ened in frequent interviews through many years. What 
he might have become with full training in early life 
will never be known, As it was he showed strong qual- 
ities which fully met the expectations raised by a care- 
ful study of his fine head and face. These were strongly 
marked. Intelligence, sincerity, wit, good sense, and 
positive character were plainly written there, as all these 
traits were surely displayed in his long life. He was gen- 
ial, full of life, a good talker, ready with an apt illustra- 
tion or striking anecdote at every turn in conversation. 
He had rare insight into character, relieved by a dis- 
position to be gentle rather than severe, and quick to 
see the playful, amusing features of life and conduct. 
There was no dullness or languor in company where he 
had the right of way. His business, during the active 
years of his life, threw him into free associatious with 
the dwellers in several counties. Few men had more 
human beings to meet them pleasantly and familiarly. 
He was a welcome visitor in many a country home. 
And he was always ready to return the kindness at his 
own hospitable fireside. 

Lately a younger generation has been touched to see 
the weight of years pressing down the manly form of 
the venerable ' squire.' But his kindly qualities of mind 
and heart remain. May the wintry frosts of prolonged 
life gather slowly around him. May it be granted to 
our old friend to have a gentle decline into the deepen- 
ing shadows of age, and then a peaceful transition to 
' the rest that remaineth.' James H. Carlisle. 

October i8th, 1899." 

[Note. — The foregoing tribute to Wm. C. Camp by 
Dr. Carlisle was written a few months before his death.] 

COLONEL OLIVER EVANS EDWARDS. 

In searching among the list of departed heroes of a 
"Lost Cause " in Spartanburg district, the memory of 
no one is dearer in the hearts of his surviving country- 
men than Oliver Evans Edwards, who was born in the 
southwestern portion of said district, November 9th, 



History of Spartanburg County. 



509 



1 81 9. He was the eldest son of the marriage between 
Zachary Edwards and Nancy Bobo, the latter a native 
of Spartanburg district. When about ten or twelve 
years old his father emigrated to Cass county, Ga., 
where he grew up to manhood. 




Col. U. E. Edwards. 

Reared under the guardianship of a pious parentage, 
he joined the Baptist church at Pettits Creek, Ga., in 
the year 1831, and later transferred his membership to 
the Baptist church in the town of Spartanburg, where 
he continued an active, zealous and devoted member to 
the day of his death. He was also one of its officers, 
and it was during his time that the present commodious 
brick structure of the First Baptist church on Church 
street was erected, through his liberality and business 
management. 



5IO History of Spartanburg County. 

Reaching the age of manhood he returned to his 
native State, and for one scholastic year he boarded at 
the house of General B. B. Foster and attended the 
flourishing school of Rev. Clough Beard at Glenn's 
Spring. 

After this (about 1848 or '49) he selected the law as 
a profession and commenced its study under the legal 
tuition of Simpson Bobo, Esq., and by close application 
he was soon admitted and taken by his distinguished 
predecessor into partnership, which not only proved 
profitable but endured during his lifetime. As a lawyer 
he was prompt, decisive and indefatigable, always look- 
ing to the interest of his client. 

In 1850 he was elected colonel of the 36th Regiment, 
S. C. M., which his father had commanded many years 
before. Prior to his promotion to office he was captain 
for several years of a volunteer company at Spartanburg. 

In 1854 Colonel Edwards was chosen to the office of 
brigadier-general of the 9th Brigade, S. C. M., which 
position he held for a few years. In these offices he 
exhibited the tastes and talents that afterwards proved 
themselves on the stern arena of the battle-field. 

General Edwards was elected to the House of Repre- 
sentatives from Spartanburg district ; first in 1856, and 
also in '58 and '60. In his second canvass he received 
the largest popular vote, at that time, ever cast for any 
one candidate for that office by the people of Spartan- 
burg. As a member of the Legislature he was active, 
useful and influential ; being chairman of the military 
Committee during the last two terms of his service in 
that body. His labors in that capacity were arduous in 
consequence of the approaching revolution into which 
the country was drifting, making it necessary to remodel 
the militia system of the State. His duties were per- 
formed with fidelity to his country and honor to himself ; 



History of Spartanburg County. 511 

though the overshadowing events of the times obscured 
and obliterated much of the work. It w^as while he 
was yet a member of the Legislature the latter called a 
convention which enacted the famous ordinance of 
secession ; and, also, while in attendance upon the ses- 
sions of the House and absent from home on business, 
that the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., was organized imder 
the command of Colonel Micah Jenkins, who led the 
regiment, after a few weeks' service on Sullivans Island, 
S. C, to Virginia, which was early in June, 1861, and 
soon after this Colonel Edwards joined him as a volun- 
teer. The writer w^as with him in the part this regi- 
ment performed on that ever memorable day, July 21st, 
1861, the date of the first battle of Manasses, which 
was the first great battle of the war, and the first test of 
the heroism, valor and patriotism that ever afterwards 
characterized the Southern soldier on many hard-fought 
battle-fields. 

Remaining for a few weeks in Virginia and observing 
the gathering war cloud, he returned to South Carolina 
and organized the 13th Regiment, S. C. V., of which 
he was elected colonel in the fall of 1861, and from 
that time until the glorious but terrible morning of " his 
last battle " he gave himself a true soldier to the cause 
which he had so ardently espoused ; first on the coast of 
South Carolina and afterwards in Virginia. His regi- 
ment, which he could trust implicitly when the test of 
courage came, never faltered under his leadership. 

Colonel Edwards died of a mortal wound received at 
Chancellorsville, Va., on the morning after Jackson's 
famous flank march on Hooker's right and rear. Pre- 
vious to this he had been slightly wounded at the second 
battle of Manassas. 

General McGowen had been taken wounded from the 
field, and the condition of the brigade was critical when 



512 History of Spartanburg County. 

Colonel Edwards took command. But he soon brought 
it to efficient action again and inspired the men by his 
own ingenious bearing till the fatal missile found its dis- 
tinguished mark. 

In Griffith's "■ Life of John G. Landrmn," page 89, 
the author, who was captain of a company in McGowen's 
Brigade, refers to Colonel Edwards in the following com- 
plimentary words : 

" He (Edwards) was known and loved and honored 
by the whole people of his county, and no truer, nobler, 
braver man fell in all the great civil war than this w^arm- 
hearted Christian hero. The writer,* though not a 
member of his regiment, saw him receive his death- 
wound at Chancellorsville. McGowen's Brigade had just 
driven the enemy from a line of breastworks and were 
holding them against a furious charge for their recap- 
ture. McGowen had been wounded, and Edwards, as 
senior colonel, had assumed command of the brigade. 
He was walking dauntlessly on top of the breastworks 
a conspicuous mark for the enemy's bullets, one of which 
did not long shun the mark." 

An officer who shared the casualties of Chancellors- 
ville, and who was near him when he was wounded, 
being then under his command said : " He just loved to 
Jighty Said another : "It is known that on one occa- 
sion when the contest was ended and the mastery won, 
reviewing the sad work of passion, folly and sin, his 
heart was moved within him and he retired to a secret 
place and wept." 

On the 23d of January, 1851, Colonel Edwards was 
married to Miss R. Jane Gary, daughter of Dr. Charles 
and Mrs. Mary Gary of Laurens district, S. C. She 
survives him as the present wife of Dr. J. J. Boyd of 
Spartanburg. It was with her that Colonel Edwards 

* Captain Harrison P. Griffith, Limestone College, Gaffney, S. C. 



History of Spartanburg County. 513 

.-spent the happier moments of his imnsiially eventful 
life, and who was, throughout their entire married life, 
.a constant and devoted companion. 

After Colonel Edwards had been wounded at Chancel- 
lorsville. May 3d, 1863, ^^ lived until the 21st of June 
following, and during this time he was tenderly waited 
upon by liis devoted wife. In the effort to bring him 
back to his home in Spartanburg, it was apparent that 
his vitality was growing weaker, and he was carefully 
lifted from the train at Goldsboro, N, C, and carried to 
the house of a friend, where he expired in a few days in 
the presence of his wife and others who had constantly 
.and tenderly waited about his bedside during his last 
hours of suffering. 

Like a Christian he lived, like a Christian he died. 
He was wounded on Sunday morning, and after seven 
weeks of painful suffering he passed on Sunday morning 
to the Sabbath of rest in heaven. His immortal spirit, 
like that of Stonewall Jackson, who received his mortal 
wound on the same field, "crossed over the river to rest 
under the shade of the trees." 

COLONEL JOSEPH WALKER. 

In the great w^ar between the States between three 
and four thousand men were enlisted in the service from 
Spartanburg district, and of this number only about 
three rose to the rank of colonel in the regular volun- 
teer service of the Confederate States, viz. : O. E. Ed- 
w^ards, Benjamin T. Brockman and Joseph Walker, the 
latter the subject of this sketch. 

Colonel Walker was born on Fair Forest Creek within 
two miles of the city of Spartanburg. He is a son of 
Jacob A. and Susan (Cannon) Walker, both natives of 
Spartanburg county, born respectively in 181 1 and '14. 

33 h s c 



514 



History of Spartanburg County. 



The father was a son of Colonel John Walker, a native of 
Virginia, and the mother the danghter of John Cannon 
(sister of Hon. Gabriel Cannon), also a native of Vir- 
ginia. They were married in 1833 and had four chil- 




CoT^. Joseph Walker. 



dren, two sons and two daughters, of whom Colonel 
Walker was the eldest. The mother of this family died 
in 1850 and subsequently the father married Miss Ada- 
line Patterson, who bore him five children, four sons- 
and one daughter. Of these all are living except one 
son. 



History of Spartanburg County. 515 

Colonel Walker was reared on his father's plantation, 
receiving a good common school edncation. In 1853 
he secured a position as clerk in the store of John B. 
Cleveland, Sr., and remained with him for three years^ 
during which time he received a good business education. 
From 1856 to i860 he did business on his own account, 
availing himself of the means he had accumulated while 
a clerk. In i860 he was united in marriage with Miss 
Susan E., daughter of Alexander Wingo, who was once 
sheriff of Spartanburg district. Mrs. Walker died in 
April, 1900. 

A few months before the outbreak of the civil war 
the Spartan Rifles was organized at Spartanburg, com- 
posed as it was of the very best material which could 
be brought together in that town and surrounding 
country. To the command of this gallant company, 
numbering at first nearly one hundred men, Joseph 
Walker was elected captain ; the lieutenants of the same 
being John H. Evins, T. Stobo Farrow,* and Dr. C. E. 
Fleming. 

Upon the organization of the 5th Regiment, S. C. V. 
(Colonel Micah Jenkins), the Spartan Rifles formed a 
part of the same, being known as Company K. Colonel 
Walker commanded this company for one year, which 
was the term for which the company had enlisted. In 
April, 1862, upon the reorganization of the South Caro- 
lina troops, in Virginia, he was elected lieutenant-colonel 
of the Palmetto Sharpshooters, composed of twelve com- 
panies, and upon the promotion of Colonel Jenkins to a 
brigadier-generalship, he was promoted to the colonelcy 



* Ivieutenant Farrow resigned soon after the organization of this 
company. Henrj- H. Thomson was elected to fill the vacancy occa- 
sioned by the same. He served until the battle of Sharpsburg, Md., 
where he was wounded and lost a leg. 



5i6 History of Spartanburg County. 

of the regiment and served as sncli nntil the end of the 
war. 

It would occupy considerable space in this volume to 
recount the distinguished service rendered the Southern 
cause by Colonel Walker at the head of the Palmetto 
Sharpshooters. When the record of that regiment is 
properly written and recorded in the pages of history, 
it will disclose his military career also. He participated 
in nearly all the battles in which Lee's army was en- 
gaged, and also in the Chattanooga and Knoxville cam- 
paigns under Longstreet, in all of which he proved him- 
self to be a brave and loyal soldier and an able and effi- 
cient officer. 

In referring to the battles of South Mountain and 
Sharpsburg, A. L. Walsh, in the Chester Reporter^ says : 
" It was my privilege to be with him (Colonel Walker) 
as courier through that campaign, though he had two 
extra couriers detailed from cavalry, from South Moun- 
tain till we reached Shepherdstown. I never served 
under a more courteous, brave, and generous officer than 
Colonel Joseph Walker of Spartanburg, and but for the 
termination when it did, he would have been a brigadier- 
general."* 

Colonel Walker and his regiment surrendered with 
Lee at Appomattox, and on his return to Spartanburg 
he engaged in business as a merchant until 1875 ; then 
was in the cotton and fertilizer trade until 1889, when 
he took part in the organization of the Merchants and 
Farmers Bank, and has since served as president of the 
same. 

For ten years or more after the war he was the mayor 
of the city of Spartanburg, during which it commenced 
a new era of progress, which it still continues. He is 

* Colonel Walker informs the writer that Mr. Walsh had as many as 
two horses shot from under him while he was serving him as courier. 



History of Spartanburg County. 517 

a director in the Pacolet, Whitney, Beanmont and Pro- 
dnco Mills, and holds the same office in the Iron District, 
Fire Insurance, Converse College, Spartanburg Herald^ 
Fidel ty Loan and Trust, People's Building and Loan, 
and Columbia Phosphate companies, all this showing 
him to be a progressive business man, fully alive to the 
best interests of his county and State. 

Colonel Walker was elected by the people of Spartan- 
burg and the soldiers in the army from said county eli- 
gible to vote a representative to the State Legislature 
from 1864 to '66, and whatever service he rendered in 
that body was in the winter season when the armies 
were inactive and in winter quarters. 

By his marriage in i860 to Miss Wingo, he has two 
daughters living : Alice May, wife of J. Boyce Lee, mer- 
chant in Spartanburg ; and Susan J., wife of L. Guy 
Harris, a manufacturer at Fairmount, S. C. 

Colonel Walker was the first commander of Camp 
Joseph Walker, named in his honor. His only full 
brother, Felix Walker, was killed in the civil war at the 
battle of Seven Pines. A gallant young man, let his 
memory be preserved along with other heroes that per- 
ished in that great struggle for Southern liberty. 



CHAPTER XXXVL 

HON. JOHN HAMILTON EVINS, 

vSon of Colonel Sam'l N. Evins, was born on the Tygers 
Jnly 1 8th, 1830. He descended from distingnished an- 
cestry. His grandfather, Alexander Evins, served nnder 
Mad Anthony Wayne and was wounded severely at the 
storming of Stony Point. He was one of the founders 
of Nazareth (Presbyterian) church, and was a ruling elder. 
His remains repose in the cemetery near-by. 

The mother of our sketch was a daughter of General 
Thomas Moore, who fought in the battle of Cowpens 
against the British when a boy of only sixteen years. 
In later years he became prominent in the politics of the 
State and was a member of Congress from 1801 to '13, 
and from 181 5 to '17. During the interval between 
these two periods in Congress he was in the field of the 
war of 181 2 as a brigadier-general, commanding troops 
on the seacoast of South Carolina. 

In early life John H. Evins received not only good 
ediicational advantages, but received what was better, 
the precept and example of parents who were distin- 
guished for high-toned principles, broad views, liberal 
hospitality and earnest Christian character. He received 
his higher education at the South Carolina College, 
graduating from that institution in the class of 1853. 

Selecting the law as his chosen profession, he was in 
course of time admitted to practice in the courts of 
South Carolina, after which he was associated in practice 
with that distinguished jurist, Hon. Thomas N. Daw- 
kins, afterward one of the judges of the circuit courts 

• (51S) 



History of Spartanburg County. 



519 



of South Carolina, and with Jefferson Choice, Esq., an 
able and experienced lawyer at Spartanburg. 

At the outbreak of hostilities between the States he 
was a lieutenant in one of the first companies (Spartan 
Rifles) raised in Spartanburg, and was gallant at the 
iirst battle of Manassas and other enofao-enients of the 




Hon. J. H. Evins. 



war. At the battle of Seven Pines in 1862 he was 
so severely wounded in the left arm that amputation 
was proposed. He, however, sternly opposed this, and 
through the skill and attention of his brother, who was 
a surgeon in the army, his arm was saved. Upon his 
partial recovery, being permanently disabled from further 
;active duties in the field, he continued in the perform- 
ance of light military duty with the rank of colonel, 



520, History of Spartanburg County. 

until his election to the State Legislature in 1864, wheit 
he served two years. 

At the close of the war Colonel Evins reopened his- 
law office in Spartanburg, associating himself in the 
practice, after a time, with Major John Earle Bomar,. 
under the name of Evins & Bomar, and later Evins,.. 
Bomar & Simpson, with whom he devoted himself closely 
and successfully to his profession until 1876, when he 
was called to a higher sphere of usefulness. 

In 1876 he was tendered the nomination for Congress- 
from his district, and was elected to the forty-fifth Con- 
gress, and served continuously as the Representative of 
the Fourth Congressional district of South Carolina 
until his death, which took place October 20th, 1884. 

In the memorial addresses delivered in Congress on 
the life and character of Hon. John H. Evins, January 
20th and 2ist, 1885, Congressman Dibble said : "In the 
death of Mr. Evins we have lost one with a character for 
honesty so high that slander could not reach it, a merit 
so modest that envy never assailed it, a public spirit so 
uniform that suspicion of self-interest never impugned 
it, a Christian consistency so unassuming that it escaped 
the sneers of the scoffer." 

Mr. Hardeman of Georgia said : " Born on Southern 
soil and under sunny skies he imbibed in his nature 
their genial attributes as evidenced by the gentleness of 
his manner, the warmth of his nature and the purity of 
his life. Devoted to the South, his whole being was 
fired with an ardent love for the welfare of his people^ 
the honor of his section and the glory of his State." 

General Hampton, among other things, said : " The 
example left by such a life and the lessons taught by it 
ear of higher value to the world than all the prizes that 
ambition, wealth and power can win. These latter may 
for a time sway mankind, but in the balance, held by 



History of Spartanburg County, 521 

the hand of the Great Judge at the last day, they will 
weigh but as a feather against integrity, virtue and 
piety. " 

In early life Colonel Evins made a public profession 
of religion, joining Nazareth, the church of his fathers. 
In later years he transferred his membership to the Pres- 
byterian church at Spartanburg, of which he was an 
elder, and also the superintendent of the Sabbath-school 
from 1868 until he entered Congress in 1877. " ^^^ 
unswerving fidelity to religion, his genuine and practical 
loyalty to his own church, and his eminent purity of 
life ever shone out brightly in all the circumstances in 
which he was placed." 

In 1865 he married ]\Iiss Hattie D., daughter of Jeffer- 
son Choice, Esq., by whom he had eight children, viz. : 
Mary Elizabeth, Jefferson Choice, Samuel Nesbitt, Flor- 
ence Moore, Margaret Emily, John Hamilton, Andrew 
Cleveland and Cleveland. 

MAJOR DAVID ROBINSON DUNCAN, 

son of Professor David Duncan, and one of the leading- 
members of the Spartanburg bar, was born at Randolph- 
Macon College, Mecklenburg county, Va. , September 
27, 1836. He received his early education at Randolph- 
Macon College, at which his father was a professor and 
from which he himself graduated in June, 1855. He at 
once came to Spartanburg, whither his father had re- 
moved in 1854, and here, for one year, taught the Odd 
Fellows' High School as its first teacher. At the same 
time he devoted his leisure hours to the study of law, 
and at the age of twenty-one was admitted to the bar. 
He at once took up the practice of his profession in 
Spartanburg, where he has ever since practiced with the 
exception of four years during the civil war. In August^ 
1 86 1, he entered the service of the Confederate army as 




I Major D. R. Duncan. 2 Capt. J. \V. Carlisle. 

3 LiEur. A. S. Djuglass. 4 Lieut. Chas. Petty. 

SURVIVING OFFICERS CO. "C," 13 S. C. V. 



History of Spartanburg County. 523 

first lieutenant of Co. C, 13th Regiment, S. C. V. Upon 
the organization of the regiment he was made captain 
of his company, and was thus the junior captain of his 
regiment. He served in this capacity till the spring of 
1864, when he was promoted to the rank of major. He 
was a brave soldier and a faithful conscientious officer. 
He was in the battles before Richmond, at Sharpsburg, 
Fredericksburg, Second Manassas, Cold Harbor, Chan- 
cellorsville, Gettysburg, Wilderness, 'Spottsylvania Court- 
house, Second Cold Harbor and the engagements about 
Petersburg, he being in McGowan's brigade. Hill's di- 
vision, and Jackson's corps. 

At the close of the war he resumed his law practice. 
In 1865 he was elected a member of the lower house of 
the State legislature, and was reelected in 1S70, and in 
1872 was elected a member of the State Senate, serving 
in that body four years. In August, 1875, ^^^ ^^'^^ elected 
president of the Spartanburg and Asheville Railroad Com- 
pany, and served as such four years, during which time 
the road was completed. This was the first railway 
built across the Blue Ridge in South Carolina. 

In 1880 Major Duncan was elected solicitor of the 
seventh judicial circuit, and served eight years, being 
reelected for a second term in 1884. He is assistant 
division counsel of the Southern Railway Company. 
His law practice has been general in character, and he 
is recognized as one of the ablest practitioners in the 
State. Whether viewed from a civil, military or legal 
standpoint, he holds an enviable position, and one that 
does him great honor. 

]\Iajor Duncan was married July 9th, 1856, to Miss 
Virginia, daughter of William and Martha Nelson, for- 
merly of Alecklenburg county, Va. Mrs. Duncan is a de- 
scendant of Governor Thomas Nelson, of Virginia, who 
was one of the signers of the Declaration of Independ- 



524 History of Spartanburg County. 

ence. The marriage of Major Duncan has resulted in 
the birth of four children, whose respective names are 
Mary Elizabeth, now the wife of John D. Garlington, of 
Laurens county ; Martha Nelson, now the wife of John 
E. Wannamaker, of St. Matthews, Orangeburg county ; 
William Nelson, a resident of Spartanburg county, and 
Carrie Virginia, whose home is with her parents. 

Major Duncan and wife are members of the INIethodist 
Episcopal Church, and in politics he is a Democrat of 
the true stamp and in the best sense of the word. He is 
a Royal Arch Mason, and Eminent Commander of 
Spartanburg Commandery of Knights Templar and a 
Knight of Pythias. He is one of the directors of the 
Spartan Mills Company, located at Spartanburg, vS. C. 

captain JOHN WILSON CARLISLE 
(See picture grouped with Duncan, Pett}- and Douglass.) 

was born in Fairfield county, S. C, May 14th, 1S27, 
entered the South Carolina College at Columbia, S. C, 
October, 1846, and graduated December, 1849. 

He taught school for several years, and while teach- 
ing at Lancaster Court-house, S. C, he read law with 
Minor Clinton of the Lancaster bar, who kindly gave 
him the benefit of his law library. He was admitted to 
the bar in 1854, and removed to Spartanburg in 1855 
and began the practice of law. 

February 5th, 1856, he married Louisa, daughter of 
Hon. Simpson Bobo, and became one of the firm of 
Bobo, Edwards & Carlisle. 

In the summer of 1861 he assisted in raising a com- 
pany which was organized at Spartanburg called the 
Forest Rifles. T. Stobo Farrow was elected captain, 
David R. Duncan first lieutenant, John W. Carlisle sec- 
ond lieutenant, and Alexander S. Douglass junior second 
lieutenant. This company, known as Co. C, entered inta 



History of vSpartanburg County. 525 

the organization of the 13th Regt., S. C. V. (Colonel O. E. 
Edwards), which belonged to Gregg's brigade, Hill's di- 
vision and Jackson's corps. Army of Northern Virginia. 
Upon the organization of the 13th Regiment Captain Far- 
row was made major, Lieutenant Duncan was promoted 
captain, and Lieutenant Carlisle was promoted first lieu- 
tenant of Co. C. During the progress of the war Captain 
Duncan became major of the 13th Regiment, and Lieu- 
tenant Carlisle was promoted captain of his company, 
which position he held until the end of the war, sur- 
rendering the same at Appomattox, April loth, 1865, 
with some twenty guns. All the commissioned officers 
of this company surrendered and are still living. 

There was no company during the great civil war that 
rendered more gallant service or endured greater sacri- 
fices than Co. C, 13th S. C. Regiment. From the company 
roll which we publish in this volume, it will be seen 
that, first and last, the number of men enrolled was 122. 
Of this number 26 were either killed outright or died 
of wounds received on field of battle, 35 were wounded 
and a number died of diseases. Captain Carlisle, during 
the great contest for Southern independence, proved 
himself to be an efficient and gallant officer, and his 
men were devoted to him. 

Returning home after the close of the civil war Cap- 
tain Carlisle resumed the practice of law. He was a 
member of the Constitutional Convention of South Caro- 
lina in 1865, and has served two terms in the State Legis- 
lature. He is still in good health and is practicing law 
with his son, Howard Bobo Carlisle. 

HON. ALEXANDER SIMONTON DOUGLASS, 

son of Alexander and Janet (Simonton) Douglass, was 
born in Fairfield district, S. C, December 25th, 1833. 
His grandparents, Alexander and Grace Douglass, emi- 



526 History of Spartanburg County. 

grated from the county Antrim, Ireland, to South Caro- 
lina about 1790, and settled in Fairfield district. His 
maternal grandfather, John Simonton, when about 
seventeen years old, came from Pennsylvania to South 
Carolina in 1779 in search of his brother Robert, who 
was enlisted in the Southern army. Not meeting his 
brother, he joined the command of Captain John McClure 
and was in the battle of Houck's defeat July 12th, 1780, 
and other engagements. 

John Simonton married Margaret Strong, daughter of 
Charles and Janet Strong, whose maiden name was Janet 
Gaston, and who was the Mrs. Strong referred to in 
Mrs. Ellet's " Women of the Revolution," and iu 
Howe's " History of the Presbyterian Church in South 
Carolina." 

Alexander S. Douglass, after receiving his preparatory 
education in the neighborhood schools, entered the soph- 
omore class in Erskine College at Due West, S. C, in 
1850, from which he graduated in 1853 in a class of 
thirteen members. Dr. Grier, the president, informed 
the class that the faculty could not distinguish between 
the scholarship of four members who stood highest in 
the class. Mr. Douglass was the youngest of the four 
named by him. 

After studying law under ex-Governor B. F. Perr\-, in 
Greenville, S. C, for about ten months, Mr. Douglass 
entered the University of Virginia at Charlottesville, in 
October, 1854, and took a full law course under profes- 
sors of distinguished ability. Returning home from 
Virginia he read law in the office of Hon. R. B. Bozle- 
ton, at Winnsboro, S. C, for a few months, and was ad- 
mitted to practice law in court of appeals in Columbia 
in December of the same year. He located in Spartan- 
burg in January, 1856, and in December of the same 



History of Spartanburg County. 527 

year was admitted to practice in the court of equity in 
South Carolina by the equity court of appeals. 

In January, 1857, Hon. John H. Evins and himself 
became the proprietors and editors of the Spartanburg 
Express^ and continued together with that paper until 
]\Ir. Evins formed a law partnership with Jefferson 
Choice, Esq., in 1859, when he purchased his interest 
and became sole proprietor and editor. The paper was 
ably edited and gained popular favor from year to year, 
and no paper in the up-country did more in influencing 
the thoughts and sentiments of the people, being as it 
was, sound in Democratic principles. 

In April, i860, I\Ir. Douglass was a delegate from Spar- 
tanburg to the State Democratic Convention, which met 
in Columbia and appointed delegates to represent South 
Carolina in the National Democratic Convention, which 
met in Charleston, S. C. , in the spring of the same year 
to nominate candidates for president and vice-president 
of the United States. What followed after the meeting 
of this convention is well known to every reader of our 
political history. 

In August, 1861, Air. Douglass became a member of 
Co. C, 13th Regiment, S. C. V., and was elected junior 
second lieutenant at its organization. The company 
left Spartanburg on the 27th day of August, 1861, for 
Lightwood Knot Springs, near Columbia, where the 
13th Regiment was organized and mustered into Con- 
federate service, with O. E. Edwards, colonel ; P. E. 
Calhoun, lieutenant-colonel, and T. Stobo Farrow (the 
first captain of Co. C), major. Then D. R. Duncan 
became, by promotion, captain ; J. W. Carlisle, first 
lieutenant ; A. S. Douglass, senior second lieutenant, 
and Charles Petty was elected junior second lieutenant. 

In October, 1861, the 13th Regiment left Lightwood 



528 History of Spartanburg County. 

Knot Springs for the coast, and were distributed at 
different points, to watch the movements of the enemy. 

After the capture of Hilton Head and Bay Point by 
the Federal fleet, the companies of this regiment 
reunited at Coosawhatchie, and changing encampments 
from place to place — to Old Pocotaligo, Combahee 
Ferry, and Green Pond — it was finally consolidated 
(April, 1862) into a brigade consisting of the 12th, 
13th and 14th S. C. Regiments, commanded by General 
i\Iaxcy Gregg. Soon after, this brigade was ordered to 
Virginia, where it rendered distinguished service. 

Lieutenant Douglass was with his regiment during 
the Seven Days around Richmond, and was engaged 
in battles of Gaines Mill and Cold Harbor, but soon 
after this was taken sick with fever, and was sent back 
to camp by the regimental surgeon. He recovered in a 
short while, and rejoined his regiment below Richmond 
opposite Harrison's Landing. He was with the army 
in its advance up the Rappahannock river, and was 
with General Jackson in his great movement to Manassas 
Junction in the rear of General Pope's army, and was in 
the second battle of Manassas. 

After this, having had fever for several days, he was 
unable to accompany the army further ; was sent back, 
and got a furlough ; went home, and was unable to 
return for duty until October, when he joined his com- 
mand at Bunker Hill, near Winchester, Va. He was in 
the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettys- 
burg, Falling Waters, Mine Run, Wilderness, Spottsyl- 
vania C. H., Jericho Ford, Second Cold Harbor, Rid- 
dle's Shop, attack at Petersburg in front of line. Deep 
Bottom, Fussell's Mill, in which last engagement he 
was wounded, and in consequence of which he was 
absent from the army until October of the same }'ear, 
when he returned to his command, after which he was 



History of Spartanburg County. 529 

in all the battles and marches in which his regiment 
was engaged, including the march to Jarrett's Station 
on the Weldon Railroad, in December, 1864, to meet 
movement of Federals ; battles of Gravelly Run, and 
Sunderland Station, April 2d, 1865 (the day that the 
Confederate lines were broken around Petersburg) ; and 
^fter this his command was constantly exposed to shells 
and Minie balls, and was about to go into an engage- 
ment at Appomattox, C. H., on April 9th, 1865, when 
it was recalled and it was announced that General Lee 
was about to surrender the army. General Custer of 
the Federal army passed in front of the old 13th Regi- 
ment with a white flag as it was going into the engage- 
ment. 

Lieutenant Douglass witnessed that memorable scene 
^which is too deeply impressed upon the memory of all 
Avho witnessed it ever to be forgotten, when General 
Lee returned from his interview with General Grant, 
.and his soldiers gathered around him in many ranks 
•deep — some climbing trees the better to hear and see — 
and in sorrow and in tears heard from his lips the sad 
result. 

At the battle of Gettysburg Lieutenant Douglass had 
command of the ambulance corps of his brigade, which 
was composed of two men (selected for their faithful- 
ness in the discharge of duty) from each company in 
each regiment, whose duty it was to march in rear of 
their respective commands in every battle and carry off 
the wounded as they fell to the ambulance, which car- 
ried them to the field hospital. He mentions an inci- 
dent which took place at Gettysburg, which illustrates 
the bravery and character of the men who composed the 
ambulance corps : On the 2d of July, 1863, ^ Federal 
soldier was lying wounded in the hot sun, some distance 

34 h sc 



530 History of Spartanburg County. 

in front of the Confederate lines, and was crying pite- 
ously to be removed. The brigade was lying behind 
some temporary breastworks made of fence-rails piled 
up in front of the men, and as soon as a soldier rose ta 
an upright position he became the target of the Federal 
sharpshooters. Lieutenant Douglass got four men to 
volunteer to go with him and carry off this wounded 
Federal soldier to the Federal hospital at the Lutheran 
Seminary, which was within the Confederate lines. 
They were the target of the Federal sharpshooters until 
the four men got the wounded Federal on the litter,, 
when, seeing the mission of mercy of Lieutenant Doug- 
lass and his men to their wounded comrade, they ceased 
firing at them. Two of these four men were fiom Spar- 
tanburg — Isham Kirby of Co. C, and A. Willis of Co. 
I, 13th Regiment, S. C. V. The other two were David 
Suber of Co. D, from Newberry, and Dick Taylor of 
Co. K, from Lexington — all members of the 13th Regi- 
ment. 

In January, 1866, Mr. Douglass commenced the prac- 
tice of law in Winnsboro, S. C, where he has resided ever 
since, and has been engaged in the active practice of his 
profession. He was a member of the State Legislature 
from Fairfield county during the sessions of 1882-83. 

In November, i860, he married Miss Mary E. Byers, 
daughter of James M. Byers of Union District, and by 
this marriage has two sons living, one of whom, W. D. 
Douglass, is associated with him in the practic of law. 
The other, J. B. Douglass, is a merchant in Gainesville,. 
Florida. His first wife died in 1867. 

He subsequently married Miss Sallie M. McCants,. 
daughter of James B. McCants of Winnsboro, who was 
his law partner until his death in 1880, and by this 
marriage he has three children living — two daughters 
and a son. 



History of Spartanburg County. 531 

He is now an elder in the Presbyterian Cluirch at 
Winnsboro, and has been the superintendent of its Snn- 
day-school since i860. He is yet in the vigor of heahh, 
and it is hoped that many long years of usefulness are 
yet before him. 

HON. CHARLES PETTY 
(See picture grouped with Duncan, Carlisle and Douglas.) 

was born January 15th, 1835, near Gaffney, S. C. 
He was raised on his father's farm, and began his educa- 
tion in the "old field schools" of his neighborhood. 
He graduated at Wofford College in the class of 1857. 
Was teaching in the Spartanburg Female College when 
the civil war came on. He volunteered in Co. C, 13th 
Regiment, S. C. V., which rendered distinguished ser- 
vice during the war, and suffered heavy casualties. Mr. 
Petty was a lieutenant in this company during the entire 
war, and surrendered with General Lee's army at Appo- 
mattox. 

After the war he engaged in farming, and teaching 
occasionally. In 1879 he became proprietor and editor 
of the Carolina Spartan (established in 1844 or '45), 
which position he now holds., and as such he has always 
advocated such measures as he believed to be for the 
best interests of his country. Mr. Petty (or Captain 
Petty, as he is now called) was, while a resident of 
Union county, chosen to represent said county in the 
Provisional Legislature of 1865-66, and was elected 
from Spartanburg county to the State Legislature in 
1876, being a member of the famous "Wallace House." 

In 1859 he married Miss Julia Davis of Wilkinsville, 
Union county, S. C. They have five children : Mrs. 
J. T. Calvert, Paul Petty, Mrs. Eva Petty Shearn 
(N. Y.), Mrs. C. H. Henry, and Miss Agnes Petty. 



532 



History of Spartanburg County. 



DR. CHARLES KDWARD FLEMING, 

son of James David and Sara Boatwright Fleming, 
was born in Columbia, S. C, August 29th, 1835, 
Graduated in the South Carolina College in 1855, with 
the degrees of A.B. and AM. In March, 1858, he grad- 
uated from the Medical Department of the University 
of Pennsylvania, and began practice in Spartanburg 




Dr. C. E. Fi.eming. 



in 1859, which he continued until the outbreak of the 
civil war. He responded to the first call for volunteers 
by the governor of the State, and in the spring of '61 
became second lieutenant of Co. K (Spartan Rifles) , 5th 
Regiment, S. C. V., which was among the first compa- 
nies to leave Spartanburg for the service. He served 
with this company for one year, when he was appointed 
surgeon of the 2 2d Regiment, S. C. V., which position 
he held until the surrender at Appomattox. At the 
close of the war he resumed the practice for a few 



History of Spartanburg County. 533 

months in Spartanburg, but subsequently gave up his 
profession and went to Philadelphia, where he took a 
full course in the Business College of Bryant & Stratton. 
Graduating there, he returned to Spartanburg and en- 
gaged in the business of hardware and in buying and 
selling cotton, in 1866, and for the following twenty- 
eight years was fully identified with the business en- 
terprises of the growing city and county. 

After dealing largely for years in cotton and fertil- 
izers, he, being a member of the firm of Walker, Flem- 
ing & Montgomery, decided, with the firm, to build a 
cotton mill, and in 1881 purchased the fine water-power 
at Trough Shoals on Pacolet river. Armed with suita- 
ble letters of introduction, he went North and secured 
large sums of money, which, since that time, has led to 
the building of other extensive cotton mills in Spartan- 
burg city and county. 

After the dissolution of the firm, a few years later, 
Dr. Fleming was instrumental in building the Whitney 
Cotton Mills, and was interested in the building of 
Tucapau Mills at the time of his death, having organ- 
ized and being president and treasurer of both. 

Dr. Fleming was president of Pacolet Manufacturing 
Company, director of Merchants and Farmers Bank, 
Spartanburg, trustee and treasurer of the Kennedy Li- 
brary, president of the first board of trustees of the 
graded school system of the city, trustee of the Converse 
College, and had filled every office given to laymen in 
his church. His death occurred June 23d, 1894. The 
following is an extract from the Spartanburg Herald^ 
of date June 24th : 

"Dr. Fleming was a man whose life and character 
was that of a typical South Carolina gentleman : the 
soul of honor — high in all his words, deeds and thoughts, 
but tender and sympathetic as a woman. In all the 



534 History of Spartanburg County. 

relations of life he was the exemplar of exalted man- 
hood, beloved by all who knew him. . . . Broad 
and liberal in all matters of a pnblic nature, his advice 
and counsel was respected. ... It seldom happens 
that truth will allow so much to be said of a man ; but 
his was a life worthy of emulation." 

Dr. Fleming was married in 1862 to Lizzie, daughter 
of Hon. H. J. Dean of Spartanburg. He left four 
daughters and a son : St. lyawrence, Sara, Mabel, 
Edwin and Gladys. 

CO LONEL BENJAMIN T. BROCKMAN. 

In recording the names and gallant deeds of the 
heroes of Spartanburg there are none more deserving of 
special mention in the annals of our country's history 
than Colonel Benjamin T. Brockman, the subject of this 
notice. 

He w^as a native of Greenville district, S. C, being 
the son of Hon. Thomas P. Brockman, a prominent and 
estimable citizen of that district, who, for some years be- 
fore the beginning of the civil war, represented the same 
in the Senate of South Carolina. On his maternal side 
he is the great-grandson of Benjamin Kilgore, a distin- 
guished captain in the Revolution, mentioned elsewhere 
in this volume. 

Colonel Brockman was born December nth, 1831, 
and received as he grew up a first-class education. Some 
time in the fifties he removed to Spartanburg district, 
purchased lands and bsgan the business of merchandiz- 
ing on the old Bancombs road about two miles south- 
west of Reidville. 

At the outbreak of the civil war Colonel Brockman 
was elected captain of Co. B, 13th Regiment, S. C. V., 
and by gradual promotion become the colonel of said 
regiment. Having lost his life in defence of a " Lost 



History of Spartanburg County. 



535 



Cause," it is due to his memory to state that no man 
stood closer to the people of his district than he did. 
He was a man of great benevolence and broad charity, 
contributing liberally of his means to relieve distress 
and suffering humanity wherever found. He was no 
respecter of persons, and would do as much for the poor 
of his surrounding country as he would do for the rich. 
He was everybody's friend and everybody was his friend. 
His public spirit was evi- 
dent from the manner in 
which he built up his 
community. He was 
never married. Was pro- 
moted to the colonelcy of 
the 13th Regiment in 
May, 1863, succeeding the 
brave and fearless Colonel 
O. E. Edwards, who re- 
ceived his mortal wound 
at Chancellorsville, Va., 
■on the third day of the 
same month. 

No braver or more daring spirit ever led troops in 
battle than Colonel Brocknian. He is vividly remem- 
bered by his comrades on the 12th of May, 1864, when 
he led that bloody charge near Spottsylvania Court-house, 
known to all veterans of that battle as the "Bloody 
Bend." Here he received wdiat proved to be his death- 
wound. He was carried to a hospital in Richmond, Va., 
where he had an arm amputated.* He lived one month. 
He was expected home when the sad news came that gan- 




Coi.. Benjamin T. Brockman. 



*The writer has before him wh at possibly is the last letter ever written 
by Colonel Brockman. It is addressed to his sister, Mrs. Dr. Harris, of 
Hutherfordton, N. C, and reads as follows: "Richmond, May 24th, 
'^6\. Dear Sister Mary: — I have been unfortunate in losing my left arm 



536 History of Spartanburg County. 

grene had set in and his brilliant career was ended. His 
remains were deposited in Hollywood Cemetery in Rich- 
mond, where they still rest, 

CAPTAIN JESSE K, BROCKMAN, 

Colonel Brockman was succeeded as captain of Co. B,. 
13th Regiment, by his only brother, Captain Jesse K, 
Brockman, born April 23d, 1839, who fell in the same 
battle (Spottsylvania) as Colonel Brockman, He was 
carried after several days from the field of battle to a 
field hospital, where he lingered for one week. He was 
buried by a noted spring near the battle-field, where he 
now sleeps. 

Colonel Brockman and Captain Brockman " volun- 
teered in the summer of 1861 (their commissions bear- 
ing date of August) and were made respectively captain 
and first lieutenant of the company which they had been 
active in getting up for service, which in compliment 
to the name was known as the 'Brockman Guards,' 

The fall of these young patriots was a heart- 
sickening blow, not only to the seven sisters and nu- 
merous other relatives, but also to the whole community. 
The wound of Captain Jesse K. Brockman was from 
the first reported mortal, and his young wife, leaving 
at home her two little boys, the elder scarcely out of 
arms, the younger a babe, made all possible haste to 
reach him. His wound was too severe to admit of his 
removal, and our troops having fallen back, he was left 



in the battle of the 12th of May, the bloodiest fight of the war. Jesse 
was wounded, I expect dangerously, and fell into the hands of the 
enemy. Poor fellow, the only brother I had is now, perhaps, cold 
in death, but we have to submit to these things. He was, as I am in- 
formed, acting with distinguished valor when he was shot. . . 
Excuse short note. My respects to the Doctor and a kiss to Edgar. 
Truly your brother, B. T. Brockman." 



History of Spartanburg County. 



537" 



in the hands of the enemy at Spottsylvania. Before he 
was taken to the hospital he is said to have lain three 
days weltering in his blood on the battle-field, with no 
attention whatever except a little water which had been 
placed within his reach by the hand of some hnmane 
stranger. 

" One friend was with him in his last days to witness 
his Christian resignation 
to his fate, and to bear his 
dying message to his de- 
spairing wife and helpless 
little sons. He was the 
youngest of a large family, 
and was from childhood 
the pet and darling of the 
household. His sensibili- 
ties were delicate and 
tender, his sympathies 
strong, his friendships 
ardent and sincere. He 
possessed much firmness 
and stability of character, and his patriotism was pure 
and unsullied. He forsook the smiles of a bride to en- 
counter the perils and hardships of war. After nearly 
three years of sacrifice, toil and danger, and after pass- 
ing through many terrible battles, he received his fatal 
stroke while waving his hat and cheering his men on 
to the deadly conflict. He expired May 28th, 1864,. 
aged 25 years and 35 days." 

Captain Brockman married January loth, i86r, Miss 
Kittie Bryson, who still survives him. The two sons- 
referred to arfe still living, viz. : Thomas P. Brock- 
man, who married Ada Haynes of Spartanburg city, 
and now lives at Pacolet Mills with an interesting 
family, and Jesse K. Brockman, who married Jennie. 




Captain Jesse K. Brockman. 



538 History of Spartanburg County. 

Barry, daug-hter of Captain C. A. Barry, deceased, of 
Spartanburg county ; now resides in Birmingham, Ala., 
with his wife and three children, viz.: Mary, Virginia 
and Jesse. He is at the head of a large and prosperous 
land abstract company, and ranks high as a business 
man, and is an elder in the Presbyterian church at 
Birminofham. He was raised and educated from his 
fourteenth year by Colonel T. J. Moore of Moore, S. C, 
whose wife is a near kinswoman. 

CAPTAIN BENJAMIN KENNEDY 

was born November 21st, 1821, about four miles east 
of Union, S. C. He descended from distinguished Rev- 
olutionarv ancestry. His grandfather, William Ken- 
nedy, Esq., emigrated from Virginia and settled in 
Union county some years before the Revolution. He 
married a Miss Brandon, a sister of General Thomas 
Brandon of Revolutionary fauie. In Howe's "History 
of the Presbyterian Church in South Carolina" we find 
the following: "William Kennedy was active in the 
war as a soldier, and subsequently filled various places 
of honor and trust. He was a member of the Legisla- 
ture as long as he would consent to serve." He was for 
a long time countv judge ; was an elder in Brown's 
Creek (afterwards Union) Presbyterian Church. He 
reared eleven children, the youngest of whom was Ben- 
jamin, who married Lucie Gilbert of Abbeville, S. C. 
Lucie Gilbert was of French Huguenot descent. Her 
father, Pierre Gilbert, and mother, Elizabeth Bienaime, 
came to South Carolina in i 764 with a colony of Hugue- 
nots who left their native land on account of relig- 
ious persecution. They came to this country under the 
leadership of Rev. Jean Souri Gilbert, an uncle of Pierre 
Oilbert. This colony settled in Abbeville county at a 
place on Little River which they called New Bordeaux. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



539 



After the death of Rev. Jean Soiiri Gilbert, Pierre Gil- 
bert was the acknowledg'ed leader of the colony, in both 
religious and political affairs. 

Benjamin Kennedy and Lncie Gilbert were married 
about the year 1818. One son, John Louis, was born 




Capt. Bkn. Kennedy. 

to them. But it was not long before the home was sad- 
dened by the death of the father. After the father's 
death another son came to cheer the widowed mother. 
He was named Benjamin for his father. Mrs. Kennedy 
lived to be an old woman, but she never married again. 
She devoted her life to the rearing and training of her 
two boys, and in a few )ears after her husband's death 
she removed to the vicinity of the present town of 
Jonesville, S. C, where she and her sons remained dur- 
ino; their lives. 



540 History of Spartanburg County. 

Young Benjamin, the subject of our sketch, was fond 
of his books and made rapid progress in Greek, Latin 
and mathematics, under such teachers as Rev. Jas. H, 
Saye and Abiel Foster. 

The two brothers (John and Benjamin) did business 
together until after the civil war. They built a mer- 
chant mill on Fair Forest known as Kennedy's Mill, 
which received a good custom. 

Benjamin Kennedy, before the war, was a major in 
the State militia, which office he held for several years. 

At the opening of the civil war he volunteered, and 
went out as captain of Co. K, 3d Regiment, S. C. V. 

At the end of twelve months, the term for which he 
volunteered, he resigned his commission and returned 
home for a short time. He then revolunteered, and was 
placed in the 3d Regiment, S. C. Reserves, under 
Colonel Wilson. Here he was acting adjutant for sev- 
eral months. He afterwards went to Florida with the 
1 8th S. C. Regiment, and from that State to Virginia 
with the same regiment. He was in the trenches at 
Petersburg during the time of the explosion of the mine 
(1864), and narrowly escaped losing his life. 

Before the fall of Petersburg Captain Kennedy was 
transferred to the cavalry in Johnston's army, because 
he was fortunate in possessing a horse. 

He was present at the surrender of General Johnston's 
army in North Carolina. He then left immediately for 
his home. 

After the war, Captain Kennedy married Miss Eunice 
Foster, daughter of Colonel B. B. Foster. He spent the 
remainder of his life on his farm, near Jonesville, S. C.^ 
where he died June 7th, 1894, aged seventy-two years. 
He left a wife and seven children to mourn the loss of 
a noble husband and father. 

Captain Kennedy was a member and elder of the Fair 



History of Spartanburg County, 



541 



T'orest Presbyterian Church until shortly after the war, 
when he joined the Sulphur Spring Baptist Church, of 
which he was a consistent member and deacon at the 
time of his death. 

He was a pure, virtuous and upright man all his days. 
"A good name is rather to be chosen than riches." 

JOHN A. LEE. 

Among the present resident population of the city of 
Spartanburg, there are none who have been longer iden- 
tified with the business 
and material prosperity 
of said city than John 
A. Lee, or Majoi^ Lee^ as 
he is familiarly known 
and called b)- the peo- 
ple. He won the title 
of major from the fact 
that during the civil 
war he was commis- 
sioned and appointed 
by authority of the 
government of the 
Confederate States 
agent for the purchase of commissary supplies. He was 
born in 1824 near Pacolet, S. C, was raised on his 
father's farm, and received a good education in the 
common schools of his neighborhood. 

Beginning business in Spartanburg in 1847, he is at 
present the eldest merchant in that city. He was at 
first associated with B. F. Bates in the mercantile busi- 
ness, the firm being known as Lee & Bates, which co- 
partnership only lasted two years. He then did business 
for himself in the same line until 1853, when the firm 
name became Lee & Twitty, succeeded in 1855 by 




Major John A. Lee. 



542 History of Spartanburg County. 

Lee «& Briggs. After the war the same house reopened, 
and from 1867 to 187 1 was known as J. A. Lee & Co. 
From then until 1883, when he took his son, Mr. Boyce 
Lee, into partnership with him, he was alone in business 
and succeeded in placing his mercantile house as the 
leading one in the city. 

The present firm of J. A. Lee & Son ranks among 
the foremost in the city of Spartanburg, carrying a stock 
of merchandise not much short of $50,000, which con- 
sists of foreign, domestic and other first-class goods, 
together with a full line of groceries in a separate com- 
partment of the extensive mercantile establishment, the 
trade of which extends through Spartanburg, LTnion 
and Laurens counties in South Carolina, and also in 
Polk, Rutherford and Cleveland counties in North Car- 
olina. 

In all his business relations, at home and abroad, no 
one stands higher in the estimation of the people as a 
gentleman and business man than John A. Lee. He and 
his son have deservedly gained their present position as 
the most solid business men of the county, the father 
especially having won his reputation by industry, good 
management and economy — having started life, figura- 
tively speaking, on nothing at all ; and that he is a 
high-toned merchant lies in the fact that during his fifty- 
three years of business life he has not compromised a 
single debt. 

Major Lee has not only been a successful business 
man, proving himself to be at all times high-minded and 
honorable, but he has always been liberal and public- 
spirited. From 1850 to 1865 he was postmaster at 
Spartanburg, which embraced the entire jjeriod of the 
civil war, and is familiarly known to the survivors of 
that period as the "War Postmaster." He is a consist- 



History of Spartanburg County. 543 

ent member of the Methodist Church and a generous 
supporter to all its benevolent objects. 

He has been married three times : First to Miss 
Rosanna Briggs, by whom he has two children, viz. : 
Mr. J. Boyce Lee and Mrs. D. E. Hydrick. 

Second, to Miss Lizzie Anderson, daughter of Rev. 
J. Monroe Anderson, who was a professor in Davidson 
College, N. C. 

His third marriage was to Corrie, daughter of Mason 
G. Anderson. (See Anderson family.) 

GEORGE COFIELD 

was born in Union county, S. C, February i6th, 1834. 
He is the second child in order of birth of nine children 
of Thomas K. and Anna (Caldwell) Cofield, the latter a 
native of Newberry county, born February 17th, 181 1, 
being the daughter of Joseph Caldwell, and who mar- 
ried August 20th, 1831. His father, Thomas K. Cofield^ 
born February 17th, 181 1, a farmer, was the only child 
of Edward Cofield, a native of Virginia. 

George Cofield was reared on his father's farm where 
he was born, receiving his early education in the com- 
mon schools of his neighborhood. In 1855 entered the 
Wofford College, from which he graduated in 1858. He 
was engaged in school-teaching one year before his grad- 
uation and taught three years afterwards. 

In the spring of 1862 he enlisted in the service of the 
Confederate States, being a member of the Holcombe 
Legion, where he served until the latter part of 1863, 
holding the rank of second lieutenant. Returning home 
he remained a year, when in the autumn of 1864 he re- 
entered the service in the Holcombe Legion, where he 
remained until the close of the war. 

Returning to Spartanburg after this he engaged in 
merchandizing until 1870, when he went into the bank- 



544 History of Spartanburg County. 

ing business. He was made assistant cashier of the 
Spartanburg branch of the Citizens Savings Bank of 
South Carolina. Upon the organization of the National 
Bank of Spartanburg, July, 1871, he was made its cash- 
ier, which position he held until 1885, when, upon the 
death of Mr. D. C Judd, he was made president, which 
position he still holds. In 1887, upon the organization 




Geo. Cofield, Esq , 
President National Bank, Spartanburg, S. C. 

-of the Spartanburg Fidelity Loan and Trust Company 
he was made president, which position he still retains. 
For the past twenty-six years he has been secretary, 
treasurer and manager of various building and loan 
associations in Spartanburg, having wound up several 
during that time, while others are still in successful 
operation. He is one of the principal originators and 
president of the Iron District Fire Insurance Company 
organized in 1890 with a capital of $100,000. For many 



History of Spartanburg County. 545 

years he has been superintendent of the fire insurance 
company at Spartanburg, and is at present a stockholder 
in the Spartan mills and the Converse College Company. 

In 1859 Mr. Cofield was married to Miss Mary C, 
daughter of David W. Moore, a well-known and popular 
citizen who resided in Spartanburg. By this marriage 
ten children were born, only three sons and three daugh- 
ters of whom are now living. Their names are James, 
Clemintina, George, Margaret, Ruth and Robert. 

Mr. and Mrs. Cofield are members of the Methodist 
Church. Mr. Cofield has filled several positions of re- 
sponsibility in his church relationship, being at present 
a member of the board of stewards and of the board of 
trustees of the church. In the organization of the 
South Carolina Conference he was made a member of 
the legal conference and is also a member of the board 
of trustees of Wofford College at Spartanburg. 

Mr. Cofield is in every sense a progressive and public- 
spirited citizen. While he has been closely identified 
with various financial operations, he has not held these 
for selfish gain, but in the broad sense of a public spirit. 
In the various institutions and industries which have 
gone to make up the material growth and prosperity of 
the city of Spartanburg, Mr. Cofield has always taken 
a leading part and her citizens have been benefited 
thereby. 

GENERAL HUGH LEGARE FARLEY, 

son of Wm. ly. and Phebe M. (Downs) Farley, was born 
in Laurens, S. C, June 15th, 1844. He received his 
early education at Laurens Academy and afterwards at- 
tended the King's Mountain Institute, and was a cadet 
in that institution when the war broke out. At the age 
of sixteen he enlisted as a private in Co. G, 3d Regi- 
3511SC 



546 



History of Spartanburg County. 



ment, S. C. V., and soon after enlistment was made a 
sergeant of his company, and at the expiration of twelve 
months' service he was promoted to orderly sergeant of 
his company, having in the meantime acted as its drill 
officer. Just before the battle of Fredericksburg he was 
elected ensign of his company. Beginning with the 
battle of Gettysburg, he served as adjutant of his regi- 
ment, and continued to serve as such until just before 
the battle of Chickamauga, at which time he was or- 
dered to report to Gen- 
eral J. B. Kershaw of 
McLaw's division, and 
through the memora- 
ble battle that followed 
he served as staff-officer 
to General Kershaw, 
and was sent to Rich- 
mond in company with 
two non-commissioned 
officers to represent 
Longstreet's corps to 
bear the official report 
of the battle of Chicka- 
mauga, and also to convey to the seat of government the 
colors captured of the enemy in that battle. In this 
battle he performed brave and gallant service, for which 
he was recommended for promotion. 

Returning from Richmond he rejoined his regiment 
then before Chattanooga, serving through the winter 
campaign in East Tennessee, and was wounded before 
Knoxville. 

After the battle of Knoxville he marched with his 
command to Gordonsville, Va., and was engaged in the 
battle of the Wilderness, where he was shot through the 
face. Recovering after a time, he took part in the en- 




Cai'Tain Hugh L,. Fari^ey 



History of Spartanburg County. 547 

gagement at Cold Harbor, and remained with his regi- 
ment until Grant invested Richmond and Petersburg. 
Then, under the recommendation which had been ten- 
dered him for promotion, he was transferred to the cavalry 
division of the Army of Northern Virginia, and was as- 
signed the duty of drilling and organizing the dismounted 
cavalry of that branch of the army. In this service he 
acted as adjutant-general of the dismounted corps, re- 
maining there until Sherman reached Savannah, at 
which time he was ordered to Columbia, S. C, on de- 
tached service. On the evacuation of Columbia, Gen- 
eral Farley organized a company of scouts and marched 
in rear of Sherman's army, harassing his outposts, and 
served in this capacity until the end of the war, report- 
ing in the meantime to General Johnston. 

At the close of the war General Farley returned to 
his home at Laurens, S. C, and was the same winter 
(1865) chosen reading clerk of the House of Represen- 
tatives of his native State. 

In 1870 he took an active part in the disturbance of 
that year, which ended in the famous riot at Laurens, 
caused by the resistance of the people to Radical rule. 
Though not engaged in the riot, he was arrested, charged 
with participation therein, and was kept in confinement 
for two weeks, but was never brought to trial. He then 
moved to Spartanburg, where he engaged in the service 
of the Spartanburg, Union and Columbia Railroad for 
four years. After this he assumed the editorial manage- 
ment of the Carolina Spartan for four years, conducting 
that paper with marked ability, which embraced the 
period of the campaign of 1876, and during this time 
he was a spirited writer and an active canvasser in the 
campaign of that year. 

In 1880 he was admitted to the practice of law and 
opened a law office at Spartanburg. In 1882 he was 



548 History of Spartanburg County. 

nominated in a primary election by the people of Spar- 
tanburg county for the Legislature, and was elected and 
served during the sessions of 1882-3. 

In 1890 the farmer's movement swept the State and 
General Farley, as the candidate of that movement, was 
triumphantly elected adjutant and inspector-general, 
which office he held for four years. He was subse- 
quently assigned to the work of making up the rolls of 
Confederate soldiers of South Carolina, but did not live 
to perfect that important work. 

General Farley was a fearless man, a brave soldier 
and a genuine scion of the old Virginia stock from 
which he descended. 

He was never married. His brothers and sisters were : 
Emma, wife of R. W. Boyd, attorney at law, Darling- 
ton, S. C. , now deceased ; Mary, wife of General R. P. 
Todd, Laurens, S. C, now deceased ; Wm. Downs Far- 
ley, independent scout of General J. E. B. Stuart, killed 
at Brandy Station, who has made a name in history ; 
Colonel H. S. Farley, an ex-Confederate soldier and pro- 
fessor of military tactics and mathematics at Sing-Sing 
Military Institute, N. Y., where he has been for many 
years; and L. E. Farley, a well-known and popular citizen 
of Spartanburg, who was a representative in the State 
Legislature from 1890 to '94. Both of the sisters referred 
to were educated before the civil war at Limestone 
Springs, under the Drs. Curtis, graduated and received 
gold medals. 

COLONEL GEORGE WASHINGTON HAMILTON LEGG 

was born in Spartanburg county on the 26th of Novem- 
ber, 1 814. He was the son of Fortunatus Legg, Esq., 
a citizen of prominence in his day. The son, after he 
grew up to manhood, engaged for a time in the mercan- 
tile business. He selected the law, however, as a pro- 



History of Spartanburg County. 



549 



fession, and after studying one or two years was admitted 
to practice in the courts of his State. 

On the 2 2d of June, 1840, he married to Miss Clem- 
antine S. Kennedy, daughter of Lionel Henry Kennedy 
of Charleston, S. C, a learned lawyer of that city, who 
was the grandson of the celebrated Dr. Lionel Chalmers, 




Col. G. W. H. Legg. 

a nephew of the Duke of Argyle of Scotland. His wife 
was Miss Mary Ann Jane Stephens, the daughter of J. 
Henry Stephens, an Englishman born in London, whose 
mother was a Miss Walpole, relative of Sir Robert Wal- 
pole, and whose father was Captain John Stephens of 
the British navy. 

George W. H. Legg from the time he grew up to man- 
hood occupied a position of prominence before the people 
of Spartanburg. Back in the forties he was postmaster 



550 History of Spartanburg County. 

in the town, and dnring his administration occnrred an 
exciting incident, which possibly never happened in the 
experience of any other post-office official in the State. 

A noted abolitionist from the North appeared in Spar- 
tanbnrg district and other places and made some incen- 
diary pnblications which were against the peace and dig- 
nity of the vState. It was believed that his purpose was 
to incite an insurrection among the negroes, and he was 
accordingly arrested and imprisoned in the jail at Spar- 
tanburg, where he was held for a time. He was having 
an extensive correspondence in and out of the State with 
persons believed to be in full sympathy and cooperation 
with his movements, and his mail was addressed to the 
post-office at Spartanburg. 

A public meeting of the citizens of Spartanburg, 
both of the town and country, was called, and a vigilance 
committee was appointed, who demanded of Postmaster 
Legg the possession of the undelivered letters addressed 
to the individual referred to. This he refused to give, as 
his instructions from the government were to not '•''de- 
liver letters i?i his possession to any but those to zvhom they 
are directed or upon order.'' '' 

A warrant for his arrest was accordingly issued (Au- 
gust, 1849), which was a purely technical proceeding to 
which he readily submitted, referring the matter, however, 
to the postmaster-general of the United States. As this 
was a conflict between the State and Federal authorities 
the matter was referred to the attorney-general of the 
United States. It is needless to say that after a thorough 
investigation of the facts and the law bearing upon the 
same. Postmaster Legg was fully sustained for having 
carried out in good faith what he understood to be his 
official duty. 

Colonel Legg was also for a number of years the in- 
tendant of the town of Spartanburg, and as such wel- 



History of Spartanburg County. 551 

•coined, in April, 1856, in behalf of the town, the Wash- 
ington Light Infantry of Charleston, on the occasion of 
their visit to the battle-field of Cowpens. 

He was public-spirited in every sense of the word, 
and took a lively interest in everything looking to the 
npbuilding of his town and country. Especially was he 
•active and interested in the Spartanburg and Union 
Railroad, and upon its completion to Spartanburg in 
1859 he was depot agent at the latter place until the 
•outbreak of the civil war between the States. 

Colonel Legg, although having received no military 
education or training, was nevertheless an accomplished 
and graceful commander of military organizations. He 
was first elected captain over the old Spartanburg Vol- 
unteers, and after this was elected major of the lower 
battalion, 36th Regiment, S. C. M., which office he held 
for several years. He was subsequently elected the first 
captain of the Morgan Rifles of Spartanburg, a hand- 
somely uniformed and equipped company, which he 
commanded for about four years, until within a few 
months before the outbreak of the civil war, when he 
was elected colonel of the 36th Regiment, S. C M. Un- 
der his call as commander of this regiment the first com- 
panies volunteered for the Confederate service. Over 
one of these companies, Morgan Light Infantry, Colonel 
Legg was elected captain, but upon the organization of 
the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., for active service, he was 
elected lieutenant-colonel, which position he held until 
the expiration of his term of service. Being well ad- 
vanced in years, and afflicted with rheumatism, he was 
forced to retire from the service. 

After the close of the war and up to, possibly, the 
time of his death, which took place on the 15th of May, 
1880, he served as one of the trial justices for Spartan- 
burg county. Having read law and been admitted to 



552 History of Spartanburg County. 

practice in earlier life, lie was made a referee of some 
knotty court cases, and it is said his legal opinions were 
well thought of, and in special cases his views were 
sought by older lawyers. 

As a public servant, whether in a civil or military 
capacity. Colonel Legg was faithful, honest and trust- 
w^orthy. He was possessed of a kind heart and a mag- 
nanimous nature, which every one with whom he was 
associated felt and appreciated. 

By his marriage with Miss Kennedy he had seven 
children, four of whom are living, occupying impor- 
tant positions. Among the latter we would mention 
Dr. George Legg of Greenville, and Professor Claude L. 
I^^g&» president of the Bennett School, a very large 
public institution in Charleston, S. C. Professor Legg 
is the youngest son, with whom the surviving widow 
resides. 



CHAPTER XXXVII. 

CAPTAIN HARRISON P. GRIFFITH 

Was born in Laurens county in 1837. He is of South 
Carolina descent, the paternal line extending through 
Stephen, his father, and Benjamin, his grandfather, to 
Ezekiel Grifhth, his great-grandfather, who was a native 
of Wales and a soldier of the Revolution. His mother, 
Martha Woodruff, was a daughter of Thomas Woodruff,, 
the first settler of the town of Woodruff, who married 
Mary Patillo, daughter of Dr. Richard Harrison, a soldier 
of the Revolution and one of the first .county court 
judges for Spartanburg, whose name is mentioned else- 
where. 

Captain Griffith was reared on his father's farm in 
Laurens county, and educated at the Furman University. 
"In August, i86t, he enlisted in Co. E, 14th S. C. Regi- 
ment, brigade of General Maxey Gregg, was elected 
first lieutenant at the organization, and in the fall of 
1862 was promoted to captain. His first battle was at 
Port Royal on the coast, and then going to \'irginia he 
took part in the great combats of Gaines' Mill, Frazier's 
Farm and Malvern Hill ; fought through the Maryland 
campaign and the famous battles of Fredericksburg, 
Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, in the latter battle re- 
ceiving a wound in the leg. At the battle of the Wilder- 
ness, May, 1864, he was shot through both feet and dis- 
abled for further duty on the field. After his recovery 
he attempted to report for light duty, but the war came 
to an end before he could reach the field." 

After the close of the civil war he engaged in farm- 

(553) 



554 



History of Spartanburg County 



ing for a few years, and in 1872 he established a school 
at Woodruff, called the Bethel High School, which he 
conducted successfully for eight years. He was then 
made first president of the Cooper Limestone Institute, 
now Limestone College, which position he held for fif- 
teen years. 

Under the head of our Education Review, we have 
already noticed him in connection with this institution. 

Since retiring from the 
ofiice of president, he 
occupies the chair of 
English and Latin in 
what is now Limestone 
College. 

Professor Griffith is 
a frequent contributor 
to current literature. 
In 1883 he published 
a volume, " Life of 
John G. Landrum," 
which was well re- 
ceived. More recently 
he has i^ublished in pamphlet form a thrilling account 
of his recollections of the battle of Chancellorsville and 
of Jackson's famous flank movement, which is the best 
this writer has ever met with. 

In 1897 he was elected colonel of the Cherokee Regi- 
ment United Confederate Veterans, an honor which was 
worthily bestowed. Captain (or Colonel as we now pre- 
fer to call him) Griffith is still in the full vigor of health 
and strength, and we trust there are still awaiting him 
many years of usefulness and prosperity. 

ROBISON bishop MONK. 

Among the representative agriculturists and progres- 
sive business men of Spartanburg county, there are 




Captain Harrison P. Griffith. 



History of Spartanburg County, 



555 



none worthy of more prominence than R. B. Monk, the 
subject of this sketch, who, by honest industry and 
perseverance, has accumulated a handsome competency 
for himself and family, thus proving what may be ac- 
complished in this day and generation by conducting 
the business of the farm in a systematic and methodical 
manner. 

He is a son of Thomas O. and Jane (McElreathy 
Monk, and was born in 
Spartanburg county, 
October 27th, 1833. He- 
was reared to appreciate 
what it is to make an 
honest dollar by the 
sweat of his brow, and 
was educated in tlu 
schools of his neigh- 
borhood. He married 
first Miss Fannie Clif- 
ton, by whom he had 
one child, a daughter, 
who subsequently be- 
came the wife of Mr. 

James Geddes, a merchant at Spartanburg. Mr. Geddes 
and his wife are both dead. Three children survive 
them. He married a second time to Miss Lizzie, second 
daughter of William C. Camp, Esq., by whom he has a 
son — Robbie. 

It may be said of ]\Ir. Monk that his success as a 
farmer has been largely due to his excellent judgment 
and close attention to business. He would prove a suc- 
cess where others would fail. 

In early life he embraced the Christian religion and 
became a member of the Presbyterian Church, but for 
reasons satisfactory to himself he subsequently joined 




R. B. Monk. 



55^ History ok Spartanburg County. 

the Baptist Church, of which he is a prominent member 
and deacon. He has been a regular attendant as a dele- 
gate upon the associations to which his church belonged 
for thirty-five years or more, and has often been a mem- 
ber of the State and Southern Baptist conventions and 
other religious bodies. He calculates first and last that 
he has spent as much time in these religious bodies as 
would make two and a half months. 

Before the outbreak of the civil war between the 
States he was a captain of a militia company in Green- 
ville district, S. C, and at the beginning of said war in 
1861 he enlisted in Co. B, 22d Regiment, S. C. V., and 
continued with said regiment, participating in all the 
battles in which it was engaged until 1863, when, on 
account of a severe illness of typhoid fever, he was re- 
tired from the service. 

Since the war he has lived the life of a quiet and in- 
dustrious citizen. Although giving close attention to 
his private business, he is nevertheless liberal, benevo- 
lent and public-spirited in all matters looking to the up- 
building of his county and State. He is especially in- 
terested in the spread of a liberal education among the 
rising generations of his country, and is one of the trus- 
tees of Limestone College, Gaffney, S. C, which is one 
of the leading educational institutions of the South. 
To this honorable position he was selected with refer- 
ence to his eminent fitness and business management. 

WILSON HENRY MOORE, 

son of Peter and Rosa (Wood) Moore, was born June 13, 
1835, in the immediate neighborhood where he now re- 
sides, which is near Arlington Mills in the present 
county of Spartanburg. He was educated in the Zoar 
Academy, taught at different periods by Lew Cocorel^ 



History of Spartanburg County. 



557 



Thomas W. Wingo, Wm. K. Dickson, Zera Green and 
others. 

Public interest centers in Mr. Moore largely owing 
to the fact that he is one of the survivors of the terrible 
mine explosion near Petersburg, Vi., July 30th, 1864. 

In January, 1862, he volunteered in Co. B, 22d Regi- 
ment, S. C. v., commanded respectively by captains 
John Wheeler, Payton Ballenger, Robert G. Fleming, 
W. Alex Benson and George B. Lake, and was in the 
service all the time until 
he became a victim of the 
mine explosion. Besides 
Captain George B. Lake, 
Lieutenant W. K. Lake, 
and one private (Ransom 
Lee) , Wilson Moore and 
Bee Keller, who was tem- 
porarily absent at the time 
of the explosion, were the 
only persons left in Co. B, 
2 2d S. C. Regiment, to 
tell the horrors of the 
crater. Thirty-two men 
in this company were buried for eternity. 

It is known to every reader of the history of the civil 
war that the explosion of the mine near Petersburg was 
the result of an effort on the part of the Federal army 
to break through the Confederate lines near that place, 
and the horrors resulting therefrom can never be accu- 
rately described on the pages of American history. A 
Federal officer who was an eye-witness states : "It was 
a magnificent spectacle, and as the mass of earth went 
into the air, carrying with it men, guns, carriages and 
timbers, and spreading out like an immense cloud as it 
reached its altitude, so close were the Union lines that 




Wilson Henry Moore. 



558 History of Spartanburg County. 

the mass appeared as if it would descend immediately- 
upon the troops waiting to make the charge. 
Little did those men anticipate what they would see 
upon arriving there : an enormous hole in the ground 
about 30 feet deep, 60 feet wide and 1 70 feet long, filled 
with dust, great blocks of clay, guns, broken carriages, 
projecting timbers and men buried in various ways — 
some up to their necks, others to their waists, and some 
with only their feet and legs protruding from the earth." 
Just a few hours before the springing of the mine at 
Petersburg Wilson H. Moore had just come ofT guard 
duty. Finding his comrades all lying lengthwise of the 
ditch for the convenience of room, he lay down cross- 
wise of the same. He thinks that it was this position 
which saved his life, that he was thrown upward by the 
effect of the explosion. Being asleep at the time he 
was thrown upward, his first consciousness was the fall- 
ing of clods of dirt upon his head ; this caused him to 
throw up his hands, which were discovered protruding 
above the earth when the cloud of dust had passed off. 
Bee Keller, who was absent when the mine was sprung 
as stated, returning, found him in this position, and at- 
tempted to rescue him, when he was arrested by the 
enemy who had already entered the crater. He (Keller), 
with Captain Lake and Lieutenant Lake, who had been 
dug out alive, was carried to the rear and sent to prison. 
One of the legs of Wilson H. Moore, who was also dug 
out by the troops of the enemy, being fractured, he could 
not be removed. He says but for the protection of three 
white Federal soldiers, he would have been clubbed to 
death by the negro soldiers as they entered the crater. 
All day long from the hour of the explosion until 9 
o'clock at night he lay in the earth with his limb frac- 
tured and undressed, without a drop of water and only 
with shirt and drawers on, having undresserl before he 



History of Spartanburg County. 559 

laid down to repose with his comrades. The officers 
and litter-bearers of his own regiment having^ all been 
killed in the explosion, there was no one whose special 
duty it was to look after him after the crater had been 
recaptured by the Confederates. His sufferings were 
almost intolerable, and through a kind providence his 
life was miraculously saved. 

Bee Keller, whom we have stated escaped this terrible 
explosion, was never permitted to return to his home. 
He died in prison a few months afterward. Lieutenant 
W. J. Lake, one of the officers already referred to, lived 
until the past year (1899), when he, too, "crossed over the 
river " to rejoin the spirits of his brave companions who 
had gone before him. Only two survivors, members of 
this company of brave heroes, are now living, Wilson 
H. Moore, the subject of this sketch, and Captain Geo. B.. 
Lake. (See sketch. ) 

After the close of the civil war Wilson H. Moore re- 
turned home to pursue the life of an honest and indus- 
trious farmer, which character he has always maintained, 
commanding the respect and esteem of his neighbors. 

October 20th, 1855, he married Martha Jane, daughter 
of Joseph Smith near Holly Springs, by whom he has 
children, viz.: Josiah Pinckney, Jesse Oliver, Laura Abbe 
and Wm. Henry. 

DR. MARCUS OBADIAH ROWLAND 

was born June 4th, 1836, in Spartanburg county, S. C. 
His ancestors were of Revolutionary stock. He is a son 
of H. J. and L. VV. (Trimmier) Rowland. His paternal 
grandfather was George Rowland and his maternal grand- 
father was Obadiah Trimmier, from whom he derives 
his middle name, who was among the first county court 
judges for Spirtanburg. He obtained a good education 
in the common schools of his neighborhood ; studied 



s6o 



History of Spartanburg County. 



medicine with Dr. L. C. Kennedy at Spartanburg, and 
graduated at the Medical College of South Carolina at 
Charleston in 1859, and began the practice at his fath- 
er's old homestead place, near Boiling Spring, S. C, 
where he now resides. 

In April, 1 861, he entered the service as a member of 
the Lawson Fork Volunteers (Captain Rial B. Seay); 
was elected surgeon of said company, but after a time 
was discharged by a petition to return home and prac- 
tice medicine, which 
he did for awhile ; but 
being yet young in 
years, and there being 
an increasing demand 
for soldiers in the army, 
he revolunteered and 
entered the cavalry arm 
of the service, where he 
remained until the end 
of the war. Returning 
home he resumed the 
practice of medicine in 
connection with his 
farming operations. He was elected and served as a 
representative in the State Legislature from his native 
county from 1890 to '96, and was a member of the 
Constitutional Convention of South Carolina which met 
in 1865. 

During the present year (1899) Dr. Rowland was ap- 
pointed by the governor as one of the Board of Direc- 
tors of the S. C. Penitentiary to fill the unexpired term 
of Cunningham resigned. A better selection to fill 
this important office could not have been made among 
the citizens of Spartanburg county or anywhere else. 
Dr. Rowland, outside of the fact that he has always 




Dr. M. O. Rowland 



History of Spartanburg County. 561 

stood well as a physician, is a progressive citizen and 
farmer; a man of sound judgment and conservative 
ideas; a popular and safe adviser among his neighbors 
and people, and a useful citizen and an obliging neighbor. 
He is a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity 
and has been Worshipful Master of New Prospect Lodge 
for a number of years. He is still in his years of activity 
and usefulness. He has never married. 

LIEUT. WM. A. NESBITT, 

son of Jas. Madison and Elizabeth Dawkins (Fielder) 
Nesbitt, was born June 14th, 1840, and was killed at 
the Second Battle of Manassas, August 30th, 1862. 

He was reared with industrious habits and educated 
in the best schools of his neighborhood, and when he 
had about reached the full years of his maturity he 
volunteered in the service of his country. He first joined 
the Blackstock Company (K), Third Regiment, S. C. V., 
and passed safely through the battles of Bull Run (Black- 
burn's Ford) and First Manassas ; subsequently joined 
Company H, Hagood's ist South Carolina Regiment 
(Captain J. C. Winsmith), of which he was elected first 
lieutenant, which office he held at the time of his death. 
In the great battle in which he was numbered among 
the killed he acted with distinguished bravery. His 
colonel said that "Young Nesbitt acted witli such signal 
gallantry that the sharpshooters of the enemy seemed to 
single him out as the victim of their wrath. ' ' 

Lieutenant Nesbitt was pure in morals and was pos- 
sessed of a pleasing disposition. Young, mauly, indus- 
trious and temperate, he promised to be the comfort and 
roof-tree of his widowed mother and fatherless sisters. 

His father's death preceded his a little more thau a 
year, which took place October 3d, 1861, caused from 

36 h s c 



562 History of Spartanburg County. 

illness which he contracted at Richmond, Va., while at- 
tending his son, who was prostrated with typhoid fever. 
He was a ruling elder in the Mount Calvary (Presbyte- 
rian) Church, and in a quiet, unostentatious manner 
discharged the various duties of his station in life. In 
this capacity "he was pious, faithful and self-denying; 
as a citizen, exemplary, benevolent and charitable ; as 




Lieut. W. A. Nesbitt. 

a master, judicious, humane and kind. An affectionate 
husband and father, he left behind him a devoted wife, 
who survived him many years, and seven children to 
mourn his loss." 

DR. GEORGE R. DEAN, 

a prominent member of the medical profession in the 
city of Spartanburg, S. C, was born January 25th, 1844, 



History of Spartanburg County. 



563 



in Anderson county, S. C. His father, a Baptist minis- 
ter, descended from Charles Dean, one of two brothers 
who landed at Alexandria, Va., in 1670, and settled near 
Mt. Vernon. His mother was descended from the Broyles 
(Scotch-Irish), a prominent family in Anderson county. 
His education was of the common school until i860, 
when he entered Fnrman University at Greenville, S. C. 
In 1 86 1 he went to 
the Citadel at 
Charleston, S. C, 
where he, with that 
gallant corps, fought 
the battles up and 
down the coast with 
other Confederate 
soldiers ; and when 
the days of danger 
were over, he and 
his fellow comrades 
were recalled to the 
institution, and thus 
pursued their studies 
while the soldiers 
were passing weary 
hours in the camps. He was graduated from the Citadel 
after the war as captain of Co. A, the highest office to 
which a cadet could attain, and stood second in a class 
of thirty-six. 

After the war he taught school at Bel ton, S. C. , and 
read medicine at the same time. He entered the South 
Carolina Medical College at Charleston in the fall of 
1866, and graduated in the Jefferson Medical College, 
Philadelphia, in the spring of 1868. 

Soon after this he married Miss Hattie, eldest daughter 
of Wm. C. Camp, Esq., of Spartanburg county, and two 




Dk. Geo. R. Dkan. 



564 History of Spartanburg County. 

years afterwards removed to Spartanburg county, where 
he began the practice of medicine near Campton in con- 
nection with farming, proving successful in both. He 
was the pioneer of redeeming the old fields in his sec- 
tion thought to be worthless, and, as a result, cotton soon; 
became a large business in that portion of the county 
(Campton) where it was only grown a few years before 
in small quantities. 

Ill 1886 Dr. Dean was elected and served as a repre- 
sentative in the State lyCgislature from Spartanburg- 
county, but having no special inclination to politics he 
declined reelection. In 1889 he moved to Spartanburg,, 
where he has practied his profession ever since. He is 
now president of the Southern Railway Surgeons' Asso- 
ciation, member of the State Board of Health, and mem- 
ber of other medical associations. He is among the first 
in his profession, is a progressive and public-spirited 
citizen and a deacon of the first Baptist church at Spar- 
tanburg. 

CAPTAIN JOHN HAYNE BLASSINGAME 

was born at Pendleton, S. C. , in 1831. His father was 
John Blassingame and his mother was a Miss Sloan, sis- 
ter of the late Colonel John T. Sloan of Columbia, for 
many years clerk of House of Representatives. His 
paternal grandfather. General John Blassingame, served 
in the war of 1812. When quite a boy the parents of 
Captain Blassingame removed to Alabama, where they 
lived for several years, during which time the father 
died. After this the family returned to South Carolina, 
when Mrs. Blassingame married John Bomar, Jr., one of 
the proprietors of Bivingsville (now Glendale) cotton 
factory. 

At the age of twenty-three Captain Blassingame went 
West, and during the bloody riots in Kansas, when Gen- 



I 



History of Spartanburg County. 



565 



<eral Albert Sidney Johnston of U. S. A. was ordered 
to that State to quell the disturbances, he joined his 
forces and was promoted for bravery. 

After the riots were over he went farther west and 
settled in the Rockies, where he passed an eventful life 
full of interesting incidents. 

When South Carolina seceded in December, i860, and 
■called for her sons to volunteer in her defence, he felt 
that he owed his allegiance to his mother State and im- 
mediately returned 
liome to defend her 
rights. He rode all the 
way from Pike's Peak, 
a distance of 2,000 
miles, on horseback, 
and upon his arrival in 
his native State he en- 
listed in Co. K (Spar- 
tan Rifles), 5th Regi- 
ment, S. C. V. He went 
to Charleston and after- 
wards to Virginia, 
where he served faith- 
fully, rising from a private to the position of captain of 
his company, which subsequently formed a part of the 
Palmetto Sharpshooters. 

While fighting bravely in one of the battles in Vir- 
ginia he was dangerously wounded, but recovered after 
careful treatment. After recovery he returned to the 
army, where he served with distinguished gallantry until 
the end of the war. 

Returning home after the war he was elected sheriff 
of his native county, but under the reconstruction meas- 
ures of Congress, having served as captain in the Con- 
federate army, he resigned before the end of his term. 




Capt. John H. Blassingame. 



566 History of Spartanburg County. 

After the reconstruction days had passed he was elected 
county treasurer by a large majority. This was in 1877, 
and two years later he was reelected and the following- 
year was chosen sheriff. After serving one term as- 
sheriff he retired from public life. 

"On August i6th, 1896, while guarding the house of 
a relative and neighbor during the temporary absence 
of the occupants he was shot down in cold blood by a 
colored burglar, who narrowly escaped being lynched."' 

As a gentleman, soldier and public citizen. Captain 
Blassingame was true and devoted to the best interests 
of his country ; he was an exalted type of the gentleman 
of the old school, and was beloved and honored by alL 

HON. STEPHEN ELLIOTT MASON 

was born in Spartanburg county, December 29th, 1835,. 
and died at his home at Cavins in his sixty-first year. 

Being the mainstay of a widowed mother his educa- 
tion was limited. He attended for awhile the high 
school at Woodruff taught by Elijah Davis, Esq.. but by 
dint of perseverance, gathering a little here and there at 
mature manhood, his education was far superior to many 
who had better facilities. While a young man the civil 
war broke out. Living at the time in Louisiana and 
engaged in farming, he at once entered the service in a 
Louisiana battalion in Starke's Brigade, doing valiant 
service for his country. His comrades testify that he 
was a gallant, faithful soldier, always ready to do his 
duty, however hard or dangerous. 

After the war was over he returned to his native 
county and continued the avocation of a farmer on the 
old homestead. He was wide-awake, progressive and 
successful in his farming operations. The people of 
Spartanburg county, appreciating his worth as a citizen,, 
elected him county commissioner (from 1876 to 1880 in- 



History of Spartanburg County. 



567 



elusive), and in 1884 he was elected a representative in 
the State Legislature. 

He was a courteous and cheerful companion, given to 
hospitality, a just and honorable man, and a consistent 
member of the Presbyterian Church. At the time of 
his death he was a faithful, earnest teacher in the Bap- 
tist church (Unity) near where he lived. He was a 
prominent Mason in the Cavins Lodge ; was one of the 
originators and officers 
of the Woodruff Agri- 
cultural Fair. 

In every relation of 
life, as a man, as a citi- 
zen, host or neighbor, 
Mason or teacher, in 
the conduct of a pri- 
vate citizen, in the ser- 
vice of his State and 
county, in war and in 
peace, in all of the 
vicissitudes of life, his 
influence was always 
exerted for the eleva- 
tion and betterment of his fellow man. As an evidence 
of all this, after his death, in consideration of his worth 
and service, the Baptist Sunday-school, the Masonic 
lodge and the session of his church, of which he was an 
elder, passed heartfelt, appropriate resolutions and en- 
tered them upon their minutes. 

He married Miss Carrie, eldest daughter of Jas. Mad- 
ison Nesbitt. Three children survive this marriage. 

Mrs. Mason survived her husband two years. She 
was a lady of the highest type of Christian character. 
Her gentle and unassuming nature, her conscious recti- 
tude of purpose and her zealous advocacy of all good 




Hon. S. E Mason. 



568 



History of Spartanburg County. 



causes made her a favored one in her community. 
" works do follow her." 



Her 



HON. EBER SYLVESTER ALLEN 

was born September 4th, 1827. ^^ was a son of Caleb 
Allen, a highly respected citizen, who left a good record 
behind him for devoted piety, honest industry and a 
true Southern public spirit and patriotism. His moth- 
er's maiden name was Elizabeth Woodruff, a woman of 

sterling worth and 
filial duty, who was 
a daughter of Joseph 
Woodruff, the first 
settler in the present 
flourishing town of 
Woodruff, S. C, and 
from whom it derived 
its name. His only 
brother was Woodard 
Allen, a prominent, 
pious and influential 
citizen, who resided 
near Cedar Spring, 
S. C, whose wife was a Miss Wells, daughter of Jehu 
Wells, who still survives as a lady of the highest re- 
spectability and consistent Christian character and ex- 
ample. He had three sisters who arrived at the age of 
womanhood, viz. : Amanda, who married Wm. Todd; 
Louisa v., who married Dr. Wright, and Sarah H., 
who married Dr. M. W. Drummond. All these, now 
deceased, were ladies of sterling worth and refinement. 
Eber S. Allen was educated in the best schools of his 
day, and was a man of more than ordinary intelligence 
and force of character, being well-informed on all the 
current topics of the day. When a young man he was 




Hon. E. S. Ai,i,kn. 



History of Spartanburg County. 569 

elected captain of a militia company, and snbseqnently 
became colonel of the 45th Regiment, S. C. M. When 
the civil war between the States broke out he was among 
the first to enlist. He went as a private in the company 
of Captain F. M. Tucker, i8th Regiment, S. C. V., and 
was soon promoted to the position of quartermaster-ser- 
geant of said regiment, and served in this capacity until 
the surrender at Appomattox, Like many others of 
that period he returned home much disheartened and 
broken down financially ; but being gifted by nature 
with push and energy he soon accumulated a comforta- 
ble living for himself and family. 

During the exciting political period of 1876 in South 
Carolina, when men of solid worth were needed to rep- 
resent the people in the legislative halls. Colonel E. S. 
Allen was nominated and elected by the people of Spar- 
tanburg county a representative in the State Legislature, 
and was a member of the historic " Wallace House." 
He was elected a second time in 1880. He was also 
elected a director in the State Penitentiary, which posi- 
tion he held for eight years. In the various public posi- 
tions which he held, both civil and military, he was 
always a trustworthy servant of the people 

He was a consistent and influential member of the 
Baptist Church for nearly forty years ; was treasurer of 
the old Tyger River (afterwards Spartanburg) Associa- 
tion for a number of years. He was also for a consider- 
able time treasurer of Bethel Church at Woodruff, S. C, 
of which he was a member, and was also the teacher of 
the young men's Bible class for more than a quarter of 
a century, with great and lasting results. 

In 1858 he married Miss Mollie A., second daughter 
of Harrison Drummond, by which marriage he had two 
daughters, both of whom preceded him to the grave. 



570 



History of Spartanburg County. 



One daughter (Mrs. Sullivan) left four children, two 
sons and two daughters. 

Colonel Allen died some time early in the nineties, a 
Christian strong in faith with no fears of death. His 
widow survives him as a resident of his old homestead 
near Woodruff, S. C. 

captain DAVID ADAM SWITZER 

was born in Orangeburg county, S. C, July 28th, 1831. 
He is a son of Frederick and Rosa (Brandenburg) Swdtzer,. 

who removed from 
Orangeburg county to 
Spartanburg district 
about 1835 and settled 
on South Tyger River, 
near present Switzer 
Station, on the same 
estate now^ occupied by 
his family. 

The name of his 
paternal grandfather 
was Frederick Switzer, 
who was a soldier of 
the Revolution. He 
emigrated from Germa- 
ny to Orangeburg district about twelve months before 
the Revolution. His first landing in America was in 
Charleston. He was a farmer by occupation, and died 
and was buried in Orangeburg county. 

Some interesting incidents in connection with his 
soldier life during the Revolution are related by his de- 
scendants. 

The maternal grandfather of Captain D. A. Switzer 
was John Brandenburg, who was a Revolutionary soldier,. 




Captain D. A. Switzer. 



History of Spartanburg County. 571 

and as such his life was also eventful and replete with 
interest. 

He was a merchant after the Revolution, and it is 
stated that he was a very ingenious man. Both of the 
grandfathers referred to suffered many hardships and 
dangers during the Revolution and were in several bat- 
tles and skirmishes in that great struggle for American, 
liberty. 

Referring again to Frederick Switzer, the father of 
Captain D. A. Switzer, he was twice married, first to 
Katy Brandenburg. By this marriage one son was born : 
John R. Switzer of Laurens county, S. C, who at this 
writing (1900) is about ninety years of age. By the 
second marriage to a Miss Brandenburg, sister or cousin 
of the first wife, he had children as follows : Fred- 
erick, who married Julia, daughter of Rev. Warren 
Drummond, both living in Arkansas, where they reared 
a highly respectable family and own large possessions ; 
David A., the subject of this sketch; Mary, who mar- 
ried Harvey Drummond, a highly respected citizen and 
son of Rev. Warren Drummond. Both Harvey Drum- 
mond and his wife are now dead, but they reared a 
family of high respectability and social position. The 
next child in order was Luther Switzer, who died while 
reading medicine with Dr. L. C. Kennedy at Spartan- 
burg. He was never married. 

Henry, another son, was a resident of the State of 
Arkansas at the outbreak of the civil war. He volun- 
teered and entered the Confederate service as captain of 
a company in a regiment organized in his State, as did 
also his brother Frederick, This regiment belonged to 
Holmes's division and did gallant service in the capture 
of Fort Helena on the Mississippi River. He was sub- 
sequently captured, and was kept for a time in close con- 
finement where he contracted disease and died. He was 



^72 History of Spartanburg County. 

a promising and orallant young man and was never mai- 
ried. One daughter, Barbary, of Frederick Switzer 
married Sanford Mahaffey of Laurens county, S. C. 
She died about fifteen months after her marriage. 

James, the youngest son of Frederick, lives at the old 
homestead of his father. He is a progressive farmer 
and married Julia, daughter of John B. Archer of Spar- 
tanburg. They have six sons, viz. : James, John, Ed- 
gar, Paul, Wells and Carroll, all with him. 

Captain David A. Switzer, the subject of our sketch, 
was educated mainly at Slabtown, S. C, under John L. 
Kennedy, an able instructor in his day and time. Before 
the civil war he was commissioned as captain of the 
Concord Beat company, which paraded near his present 
residence (Switzer, S. C), and as such served with effi- 
ciency for eight years. This company formed a part of 
the old 36th Regiment, S. C. M. During the period 
that he commanded this company it was a part of his 
duty to preserve the peace and keep good order in his 
beat by the appointment of patrols, which duty he per- 
formed to the entire satisfaction of all. 

At the beginning of the civil war Captain Switzer 
volunteered for the Confederate service, but being seri- 
ously afflicted with rheumatism he was rejected. He 
soon after went to Hot Springs, Ark., to restore his 
health, and after remaining there for a time returned 
home and volunteered a second time, but was again re- 
jected by a board of examining surgeons. While at 
home he rendered valuable service to his country in 
providing for the poor and needy, and especially for the 
wives of the soldiers in his section who were in the 
army. 

Since the war he has remained on his farm attending 
strictly to his private business, but is broad- and liberal- 
Tninded, and is a consistent member of the Baptist church. 



History of vSpartanburg County. 573 

He has never aspired to politics or public office, but has 
always been classed as a progressive and industrious 
farmer and a useful citizen. 

In the latter part of the seventies he married Miss 
Katy Mahaffey of Laurens county. By this marriage 
four children were born, viz. : Rosa, who married Dr. 
J. B. Stepp, one child, Katy G. ; Willie, who died in 
childhood ; Minnie, who married Ralph Jorden, one 
child, Catharine; and David A., youngest child, twenty- 
one years, unmarried. 

COLONEL FLAVIUS JEFFERSON POOLE 

was born in Lexington county, S. C, October 19th, 
1834. His grandfather, William Poole, was born in 
Westmoreland county, Va., and in early manhood moved 
to Lexington county, where he reared a family of two 
boys and three girls. The eldest of the sons was Aaron 
Poole, the father of the subject of this sketch, who mar- 
ried a daughter of George Crim of Lexington county. 
Of the five children that resulted from this marriage 
only Colonel Poole and one sister (Mrs. Carrie Jackson 
of Spartanburg) survive. 

Both the grandparents of Colonel Poole were Revo- 
lutionary soldiers. When he was a lad his father died, 
but his mother married again and removed to Spartan- 
burg county, where he was reared, living on a farm 
near Reidville and receiving a limited education at the 
Reidville High School, which he attended for three ses- 
sions, paying his tuition and board out of the limited 
funds which he had accumulated before entering. 

Professor Davis, who was then his instructor, was very 
anxious that he should continue at school, and learn- 
ing that he was not in a position financially to pay board 
and tuition, proposed to instruct him free of tuition as 
long as he could continue in school. For this token ot 



574 



History of Spartanburg County. 



kindness and interest taken in him he has always had a 
loving remembrance of Professor Davis. 

One day while realizing the awkwardness of his posi- 
tion — being without a job and without means with which 
to create one — he received a message from a kind friend 
asking him to call at his home, that he would like to see 
him, with which request he complied at once. This kind 
friend was none other than Colonel B. T. Brockman, 

who was then mer- 
chandizing about two 
miles from Reidville. 
A short time after 
this he learned that 
he had been recom- 
mended to Colonel 
Brockman by his good 
friend Wm. W. Cal- 
vert, with whom he 
had boarded while at 
school, and also w^th 
whom he had lived 
before. To this day 
Mr. and Mrs. Calvert 
-are as dear to him as father and mother. 

Colonel Brockman offered him a position in his store, 
which he accepted and went to work at once. This was 
in the year 1858. 

Here he remained until the breaking out of the war 
between the States, when a company was raised in that 
community for the Confederate service. This was called 
the " Brockman Guards " and became subsequently Co. 
B, 13th Regiment, S. C. V., of which F. J. Poole be- 
came second sergeant, and which was organized near 
Reidville, S. C, being composed of the very best mate- 
rial in that community. 




Col. F. J. PootE. 



History of Spartanburg County. 575 

Soon after the seven days' battle around Richmond 
Sergeant Poole was elected junior second lieutenant of 
his company vice T. A. Baswell resigned, and upon the 
death of Captain Jesse R. Brockman from wounds re- 
ceived in battle, he was promoted to the captaincy of his 
company, his commission dating from the I2tli of May, 
1864. 

Captain Poole was wounded three times. First at 
Chancellorsville, which disabled him for three or four 
months ; second, Jericho Ford ; and third, at Jones's Farm, 
near Petersburg, He also suffered during the war from 
a severe attack of typhoid fever. 

Company B, 13th S. C. Regiment, which Captain 
Poole had the honor of commanding, succeeding the 
gallant Brockman, slain in battle, had enlisted from 
first to last about 150 men. Of this number about 28 
were killed and died from wounds received on battle- 
field. About 31 died of disease, and about 36 were 
wounded in battle and survived. At present about 38 
or 40 members are living. 

From Appomattox, after the surrender of General 
Lee, Captain Poole marched on foot to his home in Spar- 
tanburg. He was seventeen days on the road, having 
to lie over two or three days on account of the painful- 
ness of the wound received at Chancellorsville. 

After returning home in May, 1865, he began teach- 
ing, which he continued through the following year — 
1866. In 1881 he removed to Piedmont, S. C, where 
he has since been employed in a mercantile firm. 

Colonel Poole derives his present title of colonel 
from the fact that on the 5th of May, 1899, as com- 
mander of Camp Crittenden, No. 707, U. C. V., Pied- 
mont, S. C, he was unanimously elected colonel by the 
camps of Greenville county, S. C, vice Colonel James A. 
Hoyt, resigned, which position he at present holds. 



576 



History of Spartanburg County, 



On the 1 8th June, 1863, Colonel Poole was married 
to Miss Mary E.Johnson, eldest daughter of Rev. Wash- 
ington Johnson, a Baptist minister. Six children have 
been born unto them — two boys and four girls. 

CAPT. ANDREW KENDRE SMITH. 

The subject of this sketch was the second son of Rev.. 
Bornette Smith, a pioneer Methodist minister, who, with 




Capt. Andrew K. Smith. 

his father Charles Smith, a soldier of the Revolution,, 
emigrated to South Carolina soon after the close of the 
Revolutionary War. 

Andrew was born May 15th, 1823, and was killed on 
the field of the second sattle of Manassas, August 29th, 
1862, being in the thirty-seventh year of his age. His 
early education was equal to that of many boys of his- 



History of Spartanburg County. 577 

day and generation, but being the son of a pious parent- 
age, he not only received good moral training, but hav- 
ing descended from Revolutionary stock, he inherited 
by inspiration, as it were, the principles fostered and 
maintained by a patriotic ancestry ; and when the time 
came for South Carolina to call upon her sons, in her 
time of greatest peril, to defend her proud name and 
sovereignty, Andrew K. Smith was among the first to 
volunteer. He left Pacolet, S. C, for Charleston, April 
15th, 1861, two days after the fall of Sumter, as first 
lieutenant in the company of Captain John J. Brown, 
which formed a part of the 5tli Regiment, S. C. V., which 
was among the first volunteers from Spartanburg. He 
remained on Sullivan's Island until June of the same 
year, when he returned home with fever. Recovering 
from his sickness, he organized a company in Septem- 
ber following, which was known as Company I, i3tli 
Regiment, S. C. V., which went to the coast, but in April 
following enlisted for the war and went to Virginia, • 
where it did valiant service. 

On the second day of the second battle of jManassas 
Captain Smith was pierced through the temple by a 
Minie ball, and thus he gave up his life a sacrifice for 
the country he so dearly loved. He left a devoted wife, 
Mrs. Manerva Littlejohn Smith, and five little children 
to mourn the loss of husband and father. But like hun- 
dreds, nay thousands, of noble mothers that so illu- 
minate those dark days in our country's history, ]\Irs. 
Smith was equal to the duties devolving upon her ; and 
now, after a third of a century, we find her and her five 
children — two sons and three daughters — still living. 
The oldest son, H. C. Smith, is a merchant of Sherman, 
Texas. The other son is Dr. S. B. Smith, of Naples, 
Texas. The daughters are Mrs. G. W. Whitman, F. C. 
Haynes and N. G. Littlejohn. 

37 h s c 



578 



History of Spartanburg County. 



No bosom ever carried a truer heart, no spirit was 
ever animated more with love of home and country's 
welfare than his ; and in summing up its illustrious 
martyrs Spartanburg county may well be proud to en- 
roll amonof her fallen heroes the name of Andrew K. 
Smith. 

major JOHN JONES BROWN 

was born near Pacolet, S. C, October 2d, 1833. His 
educational advantages were limited, but he was raised 

by a highly respecta- 
ble parentage. 

In 1857 when the 
trouble arose be- 
tween the States as 
to whether Kansas, 
on her admission in- 
to the Union, should 
be a slave or non- 
slaveholding State, 
he volunteered in a 
c o m p a n }^ fro m 
Union, S. C, went 
to Kansas and staid 
about a year, under- 
going many hardships, but returned home in safety and 
resumed his work on his farm, where he remained until 
the outbreak of tlie war between the States. He was a 
strong secessionist, and in a few months after South 
Carolina passed the ordinance dissolving her relations 
with the Federal Union, he raised a company and vol- 
unteered in the service of his native State. His com- 
pany formed a part of the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., the 
first service of which was on Sullivan's Island during 
the latter part of April and month of May, 1861. 




]Major John J. Brown. 



History of Spartanburg County. 579 

Upon a call of the company which had enlisted in the 
State service to reenlist for the Confederate service, it 
refused, and was consequently disbanded. This was a 
matter of disappointment and mortification to Captain 
Brown. His company refusing to go to Virginia, he 
enlisted as a private in the company of Captain Wm. M. 
Foster's company, from Cowpens, which formed a part 
of the 9th Regiment S. C. V. (Colonel Blanding), and 
went to Virginia, where he served out his twelve months' 
enlistment. 

When he joined Captain Foster's company at Pacolet 
depot, where the company took the cars for Virginia, fifteen 
of his original company on Sullivan's Island went with 
him, making, with himself, sixteen. Only four of this 
number ever returned to their homes at Pacolet, the 
other twelve having been killed or having died of disease, 
Captain Brown and two of his brothers being three of the 
four, all bearing wounds received in battle. Franklin 
Harvey was the other one of the four that returned. 

In the spring of 1862, upon the reorganization of the 
army in Virginia, he, with Captain John Martin, raised 
a company and joined the regiment of Palmetto Sharp- 
-shooters under Colonel Micah Jenkins. Martin was 
made captain and J. J. Brown first lieutenant. 

Captain Brown was wounded slightly in the foot at 
Seven Pines, Va, , and in the seven days' battle around 
Richmond he was wounded in the ankle. In this battle 
Captain ■Martin was wounded so badly that he died. 
J. J. Brown was then made captain of the company, but on 
account of the severity of the wound in his ankle received 
at White Oak Swamp was unable to take command of 
the same. Consequently he resigned, but remained with 
his regiment as sutler until the end of the war. 

Returning home he resumed the business of farming- 
dn connection with merchandizing. Upon the location 



580 History of Spartanburg County. 

of the town of Gaffney, S. C, on the Air Line (now- 
Southern Railroad), he removed there with his family, 
where he continued the business of merchandizing until' 
his death, which took place November 25th, 1886. 

In November, 1864, he married Elizabeth Agnes,, 
daughter of Gen. B. F. Bates, a congenial and devoted 
companion, who survived him a few years. By this 
marriage ten children were born, nine of whom are liv- 
ing, viz. : Jane, who married J. N. Cudd, merchant at 
Spartanburg ; Carrie, who married W. C. Carpenter, of 
Carroll & Carpenter, merchants, Gaffney, S. C. ; Lan- 
drum, who married Mary Wilson, of Charlotte, N. C. ; 
William F., who married Beona, daughter of Captain 
Moses Wood, of Gaffney, S. C. ; Thomas, Mary S., Annie 
W., Paul and Idelle. 

Major John J. Brown was an upright and progressive 
business man, a pure patriot and Christian, being at the 
time of his death an acceptable member of the Baptist 
Church. At the time of his death he was a trustee in 
the Cooper Limestone Institute, and the revival of this 
institution, known in former times as Limestone Springs- 
Female High School, was largely due to his untiring 
enerev and liberalitv. 



'fe.' 



CAPTAIN JACOB QUICKLE CARPENTER. 

This distinguished soldier of two wars was born in 
Lincolnton, N. C, about the year 1827. Upon the 
declaration of war against Mexico by the United States 
in 1846, being then only in his nineteenth year, he vol- 
unteered and went to Mexico as a member of a North 
Carolina regiment, and remained in the service for sev- 
eral years, returning home after peace was declared. 

It is said of young Carpenter that in "a bloody and 
almost savage engagement that took place between the 
city of Vera Cruz and Mexico, a United States battery 



History of Spartanburg County. 



58r 



"had been left on a bridge that was commanded by Mex- 
ican artillery. That battery had to be taken, and into the 
smoke and carnage " young Carpenter "flung himself, 
the echo of his dauntless words reaching down these 
years, 'battery or a soldier's grave.' The deed was glo- 
xious, and thrice glorious was the victory ! " 

Soon after the close of the Mexican war he settled in 
Spartanburg county, and began merchandizing at Grassy 
Pond, which business 
"he continued at said 
place with success 
until the outbreak of 
the war between the 
States. 

At its beginning a 
■company was organ- 
ized embracing for the 
most part the territory 
•of the Spartanburg 
portion of the present 
county of Cherokee. 
This company was 
•composed of the very 

best young men that this section afforded. Its first cap- 
tain was J. O. Carpenter, the subject of this sketch. 
T'he company organized with the 5th Regiment, S. C. V., 
and was known as Company G of said regiment. It 
served in Virginia for the most part during the first 
year of the war, and participated in all the active cam- 
paigns and marches of that year. At the expiration of 
his term of twelve months' enlistment, and upon the 
reorganization of the armies of the Confederacy in 1862, 
'Captain Carpenter was again elected captain of a newly- 
organized company, known as Company M, Palmetto 
Sharpshooters, but was permitted to serve only a few 




Capt. J. O. Carpenter. 



582 History of Spartanburg County. 

weeks. While gallantly leading his men into action he 
was killed at the battle of Seven Pines, May 31st o£ 
said year. 

Thus fell a valiant son of Carolina, possessed with 
nerve and vigor to battle for his country's rights, heart 
within and foes without. 

In 1850 Captain Carpenter married Miss Allie G. 
Clarke, daughter of Wm. G. Clarke, of Spartanburg dis- 
trict, by whom he had four children, viz.: Alice, who 
married I. C. Surratt ; Sarah, who married J. I. Smith ;. 
Wm. C. Carpenter, of the firm of Carroll & Carpenter,. 
Gaffney, S. C; and Jones Keith Carpenter, who married 
a Miss Bullock. 

These " children were too young ever to recall the 
season when father enveloped them with strong, loving 
arms, and sadly do they realize how deprived they have 
been of lessons of wisdom and that flood of impulse and 
interest that can only flow from a father's heart. All 
honor to the mother who, with grand endurance, held 
the key of the souls of her precious immortals and 
stamped their character with father's image." 

LIEUTENANT BENSON B. CHAPMAN, 

son of William and Elvira (White) Chapman, was born 
near New Prospect, S. C, January 25th, 1844. His 
father was married twice. First to a daughter of Major 
John Graves McClure, who was a valiant soldier of the 
Revolution, and second to a granddaughter of Daniel 
White (father of Henry White, Esq.), who also served in 
the Revolution. 

The subject of this sketch was raised on his father's 
farm and received his academic education at New Pros- 
pect. For several years just preceding the civil war^ 
he was employed as clerk in the general merchandise 
store of Mr. Aaron Cannon on South Pacolet River. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



583 



When the State called for troops he volunteered as a 
private in the Pacolet Volunteers (Captain W. P. Comp- 
ton), which subsequently became Co. F, 13th Regiment, 
S. C. v., and for meritorious service in Jackson's corps 
of Lee's army he was promoted to a lieutenancv. He 
participated in that thrilling flank movement of Jack- 
son's corps to the rear of Hooker's army at Chancellors- 
ville, Va. , May 2d, 1863, and early on Sunday morning 
of May 3d,, when his regiment was advancing on the 
Federal batteries, his 
left leg was severed by 
a cannon ball. 

After the war he 
finished his education 
at Wofford College. 
After that he taught a 
few years. Was elected 
school commissioner 
for Spartanburg in 
1876, which position 
he has held to the pres- 
ent year (1900), with 
the exception of four 
years. 

In 1886 Mr. Chaj^man united in marriage with Miss 
Montie M. Clemont, who died in 1892, leaving one son, 
Malcolm Malcolm, now twelve years of age. 

In 1894 Mr. Chapman was fortunate in recovering the 
beautiful silk flag which had been presented to the Pa- 
colet Volunteers by the ladies of the Pacolets, North and 
South. Upon the adoption of a battle-flag by the Con- 
federacy this flag was not used, and during the war was 
placed for safe keeping in the court-house at Spartan- 
burg. When the Federal cavalry raided that town early 
in 1865 a soldier by the name of Cahalan carried off the 




Lieut. B. 



Chapman. 



584 History of Spartanburg County. 

banner to Patterson, N. J., and presented it to his sister, 
Miss Cahalan, who, in 1894, made inquiries through the 
press for representatives of the Pacolet Volunteers. Mr. 
Chapman noticed the inquiry and answered it, and re- 
covered the banner in October, 1894, by paying $5 for 
it, and has it now in his possession. 

LIEUTENANT WILLIAM M. CHAPMAN, JR., 

the only brother and two years the senior of B. B. Chap- 
man, was reared on his father's farm under the same 
conditions as his brother. He received an academic 
education at New Prospect. 

At the breaking out of the civil war he was employed 
as a clerk in the general merchandise store of Dr. W. P. 
Compton, where the Pacolet Volunteers first organized 
in 1 86 1, in which company he enlisted, and by his faith- 
fulness to all his duties as a soldier and his gallant 
service on the field of battle in the corps of Stonewall 
Jackson, he was promoted to a lieutenancy, and remained 
true and faithful in the discharge of his duties as a sol- 
dier throughout the entire war of four years. 

On Sunday morning, April 2d, 1865, but five days 
1 efore the surrender of Lee at Appomattox, on the 
Southside Railway, near Petersburg, when McGowen's 
brigade made its last stand, there was an individual 
tragedy that caused grim soldiers, long inured to hard- 
ships and horrible tragedies of war, to shudder. The 
Federals were making an onslaught on the Confederate 
line in overwhelming numbers in front and also by 
flank. The commanding officer of the 13th Regiment 
gave the order to change front by companies to check 
the onslaught pressing from several directions. Lieu- 
tenant Chapman drew his sword to execute his part of 
this maneuver. The shriek and crash of a shell from a 
Federal battery firing down the line on the flank, and a 



History of Spartanburg County. 585 

soldier is seen with outstretched arm grasping his sword 
standing erect and rigid for a brief moment with his 
head completely severed from his body. This was Lieu- 
tenant W. H. Chapman. Some of his faithful comrades, 
who were captured a few minutes later when the lines 
were completely broken, tenderly wrapped him in a 
blanket and buried him under an oak tree near the spot 
where he fell. 

" No useless coffin enclosed his breast, 

Nor in sheet nor in shroud they wound him; 
But he lay like a soldier taking his rest, 
With his grey jacket around him." 

LIEUTENANT RUFUS MARION CROCKER, 

son of Arthur and Lucinda Crocker, was born in Spar- 
tanburg county, February ist, 1838. 

At the very outbreak of the civil war he volunteered 
in the service of his country, and was elected junior 
second lieutenant in Co. I, 13th Regiment, S. C. V., 
commanded by Captain Andrew K. Smith. 

Lieutenant Crocker was a brave and gallant officer. We 
have before us his war diary, which is a valuable docu- 
ment, and gives an interesting account of the movements 
of the 13th Regiment up to the time of the battle of sec- 
ond jManassas, where he was seriously wounded. He par- 
ticipated in Stonewall Jackson's famous march around 
Pope's right and rear, a detailed account of which, to- 
gether with his personal sacrifices, we copy from his 
diary as follows : 

" 1862, August 25th, crossed the Rappahannock and 
marched towards Manassas; got there 27th and took 
possession ; lay there that night and burnt the cars and 
provisions that we could not use nor take along. Next 
day, 28th, we marched to Centerville, and from there 
by the Stone Bridge ; met the enemy at railroad cut and 
fought that evening and lay on the battle-field and re- 



586 



History of Spartanburg County. 



newed the fight next morning and fought all day until 
about 3 o'clock in the evening. Captain Smith was 
killed soon after I was wounded in the left leg, breaking 
one bone. My regiment lost half their number. I lay 
in the woods until the 5th of September. I hired con- 
veyance to Warrenton, Va., to a hospital, and was taken 
down with fever ; lay there until the 20th, and went to 
Culpepper Court-house and stayed there two nights and 
went to Gordensville and lay there one night, and went 

to Richmond ; ist of 
October started for 
home ; got home the 
4th, and had a severe 
time with my leg. 
January 21st, 1863, 
went to Columbia and 
caught erysipelas. 
June went to Colum- 
bia. Again August 
went to Columbia . 
September 25th start- 
ed back to my regi- 
ment." 

Lieutenant Crocker 
continued to serve his 
country until the end 
of the war, when he returned to his home. He met 
bravely all the battles of this life until his death, which 
took place some years after the close of the civil war. 
He lived the life of an honest, industrious and pro- 
gressive citizen ; was a prominent member of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, and for thirty years a deacon of the 
Baptist Church, leading an exemplary Christian life. 
Soon after he grew up to manhood he married to ]\Iifs 
Isabel Besaner of Lincoln county, N. C, who survives. 
By this marriage several children were born, and among 
this number is Rev. Wm. E- Crocker, a Baptist minister, 
who is now a missionary in China, and who, though yet 




Lieut. R. M. Crockkr. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



587 



young in years, has £ bright and promising future before 
him. 

colonel WILLIAM P. BISHOP, 

familiarly known as "Captain Buck," was born August 
25th, 1828, in the present county of Spartanburg, being 
the son of Barney Bishop, a highly respected citizen, 
who resided on the waters of Lawson's Fork. 

Colonel Bishop descends from a Revolutionary ances- 
try. His great-grand- 
father and -mother 
came from Ireland in 
the early settlement 
of the western portion 
of the Carolina s, and 
made settlement at or 
near Lincolnton, N. C. 
Two of their sons, 
Edward and William 
(the latter being the 
grandfather of the 
subject of our sketch), 
removed to the terri- 
tory afterwards em- 
braced in Spartanburg county, and settled on Standing- 
stone Creek, five miles west of Spartanburg, where they 
lived and died, after raising large families. Edward 
settled on what was afterwards known as the Mabry 
Place, near New Pisgah Church, and William settled on 
the opposite side of said creek. They were both Revo- 
lutionary soldiers. 

At the outbreak of the war with Mexico, in 1847, his 
brother Simpson Bishop enlisted and went to Mexico. 
After the war, while en route home, he died at Mobile > 




Col. \Vm. P. Bishop. 



588 History of Spartanburg County. 

Ala., of wounds and disease contracted in the service, 
and was buried in that city. 

Several years before the outbreak of the civil war be- 
tween the States Colonel Bishop was elected and commis- 
sioned captain of the Lawson Fork Volunteers (Red Legs), 
and from this position he was promoted, by election, to 
major of the Upper Battalion, 36th Regiment, S. C. M., 
and after a few years he was elected to the colonelcy of his 
regiment. This last promotion, however, was after the 
ordinance of secession was passed by South Carolina, but 
before hostilities broke out. On the 24th day of De- 
cember, 1 86 1, he assembled the 36th Regiment at its 
usual place of rendezvous (Bomar's old field) pursuant 
to orders from the governor, and urgently called for vol- 
unteers for the defense of the State. On this occasion 
four companies volunteered defense, of one of which 
Colonel Bishop was elected captain, which entered ser- 
vice January, 1862. Colonel (or Captain^ as he was now 
called) Bishop remained in command of his company 
for over a year, and until after it had been transferred to 
Virginia and had been into Maryland and back to Vir- 
ginia, when he resigned and came home, where he re- 
mained during the severe winter months, when he re- 
turned to the front in Virginia. He was wounded twice 
at the siege of Petersburg: first slightly, the second 
time it was thought mortally, being shot through his 
right arm and through the body with a large Minie 
ball. At the hospital in Richmond he recovered suffi- 
ciently to be brought home. He was on his way to the 
front the third time when he received news of Lee's sur- 
render. 

In early life Colonel Bishop connected himself with 
the Baptist Church, and was made a deacon in the same 
some years afterwards; and to the present day has led a 
consistent and exemplary Christian life, is an upright 



History of Spartanburg County. 589* 

citizen, a good neighbor, a kind husband and an affec- 
tionate father. He is to be classed amongst the leading 
progressive and successful farmers in his native county. 
On the loth of November, 1847, Colonel Bishop mar- 
ried Miss Polly Brannon, a most estimable and lovable 
woman, who is also a descendant of Revolutionary an- 
cestry. Her grandfather, Reuben Seay, was wounded 
at the siege of Yorktown. Fifteen children were born to 
Colonel Bishop and his wife — nine daughters and six 
sons. 

CAPTAIN GEORGE BLOCKER LAKE 

was born in Edgefield county, S. C, January, 1841. His 
father, Dr. John Lake, was an eminent physician and 
zealous Christian. His mother excelled in literary at- 
tainments. 

At the beginning of the civil war he enlisted in Com- 
pany C, ist South Carolina (Gregg's) Regiment, and was 
at Fort Sumter when the first gun of the war was fired. 
At the end of six months, the time for which it enlisted, 
young Lake reenlisted for the Confederate service in the 
ad Regiment, S. C. V., of which he was made sergeant- 
major. In the organization of this regiment one com- 
pany (B) was composed of volunteers from Spartanburg, 
which was commanded respectively by Captains John 
Wheeler, Peyton Ballinger, Adolphus J. Foster, Robert 
G. Fleming and W. Alexander Benson. 

Some time toward the end of the war, in the scarcity 
of officers, young Lake was created a lieutenant in this 
company, and upon the death of Captain Benson, caused 
by the explosion of a shell at Petersburg in 1864, he 
was promoted to the captaincy of the company. 

Not long after this occurred one of the most noted 
events of the war — the mine explosion near Petersburg. 
Captain Lake and his company were immediately over 



590 



History of Spartanburg County. 



what now forms the crater. When the mine, charged 
with 8,000 pounds of powder, was fired Captain Lake 
and thirty-one of his thirty-four men present were killed. 
He, with Lieutenant W. J. Lake and Wilson Moore (see 
sketch), was dug up and rescued by the Federals after 
two hours. He was then sent to Fort Delaware, where 
he was kept until the end of the war. 

Captain Lake, in his account of this terrible explo- 
sion, says : 

"My command was in the rear line of works, and we 

were asleep. I knew 
i nothing of what had 
happened until most of 
the dirt had been taken 
( )ff of us. Before I was 
taken out, however, I 
came to consciousness, 
and talked to Lieuten- 
ant Lake by my side. 
When I found 
that nearly all my men 
had been killed and the 
remaining few with my- 
self were prisoners, it 
was gloomy indeed. We 
were kept in the crater 
for a considerable time 
exposed to shells from our own batteries. These shells 
made terrible havoc with the Federal troops who had 
charged through the break, but after being driven back 
stopped in the crater for protection. 

"I was in some of the hardest fought battles of the 
Confederate war, was for two weeks in Fort Sumter, 
where all the Federal iron-clads would steam up to 
within 800 or 1,000 yards of the fort, and they and the 
land batteries on Morris Island would hurl shell and 
shot by the ton, but I have never seen anything to equal 
the horror of the crater." 

After the war was over Captain Lake returned to his 




Capt. Geo. B. Lake. 



History of Spartanburg County. 591 

liome in Edgefield, and his valued service in that county 
since the war can be better appreciated by the perusal 
of the following letter, which the writer received from 
General M. C. Butter, of which the following is a cor- 
rect copy : 

"Kellogg Building, 
"Washington, D. C, October 4, 1899. 
'•''Dr.J. B. O. Landriim^ Campobello^ S. C. 

"My Dear Sir: — I want to add a word to the sketch 
I understand you are preparing of my old friend Cap- 
tain Geo. B. Lake of Edgefield. I presume you have a 
pretty full history of his services in the Confederate 
army, where his conspicuous gallantry attracted a great 
deal of attention, and received the encomiums of his 
superior officers. 

" After the cessation of hostilities he returned to his 
home in Edgefield county, and, with the rest of us, took 
the responsibilities of citizenship in the trying days of 
reconstruction. He bore his share of those responsibili- 
ties with courage and patriotism, and never faltered in 
the line of his duty to his State any more than he did 
in his career as a soldier. In the exciting times of 
1874 he organized. a rifle company at Edgefield, and was 
always on hand on occasions of excitement and peril at 
the head of his company. The fact that Captain Lake 
was at the head of a military company in that commu- 
nity gave confidence and assurance of public order among 
abiding people, and was notice to the lawless that if they 
disturbed the peace they did so at their own peril. They 
knew that Lake, although an unassuming citizen, would 
shoot to kill if an occasion should make it necessary. 

"In brief, throughout the entire reconstruction pe- 
riod and since Lake has been true to his colors. He 
never struck them before radical reconstruction or in 
later days before sham "reform" or hypocritical dema- 
gogism. Poverty could not cow him, nor could bluster 
or threats intimidate him. 

Very truly yours, 

M. C. Butler." 



592 



History of Spartanburg County. 



Captain Lake and his family are now residents of 
Lexington, Ky. Wliile he remained in the State, how- 
ever, he was a member of the S. C. Division, U. C. V., 
with the rank of lieutenant-coloneh 

His son Rev. John Lake is an able minister of the 
gospel of the Baptist faith. 

LIEUTENANT WM. J. LAKE, 

whom we have already noticed in connection with the 
sketch of Captain Geo. B. Lake as one of the survivors 
of the mine explosion at Petersburg, was a native of 
Newberry, S. C, and was born about the year 1832. He 
volunteered in the service of his country when about 
twenty-eight years of age, and was elected first lieuten- 
ant of Co. D, 13th Regiment, S. C. V., afterwards join- 
ing Co. C, 23d Regiment, S. C. V., where he remained 
until he was elected lieutenant in Co. B, 22d Regiment, 
S. C. V. He remained with this company until he was 
wounded in the crater disaster at Petersburg in July, 
1864.'^ He was then so disabled that he was compelled 
to retire, and bore till his death the suffering consequent 
upon the fracture of the hip caused by the mine disaster 
and sciatica superinduced by the same. C)ut of thirty- 
six men there were only five of his men that survived 
this disaster, only two of whom are now living : Captain 
George B. Lake and Wilson H. Moore. (See sketches.) 

Lieutenant Lake was rescued from the crater at Pe- 
tersburg after several hours of intense suffering, having 
been completely covered up by timbers and earth. Who 
can imagine the agony he must have suffered in such a 
living grave with a broken hip? 

His death took place January 27th, 1899, in jNIiami, 



* For the particulars of this mine explosion and the casualties sus- 
tained by Co. B, 22d South Carolina Regiment, the reader is referred 
to the sketches of Captain Geo. B. Lake and Wilson H. Moore. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



593 



Florida, where he had gone in quest of a more agreeable 
climate. His remains were brought back to his native 
State and buried in her sacred soil, Rosemount Ceme- 
tery, Newberry. This was eminently proper, from the 
fact of his having served her so faithfully and gallantly 
and having suffered more for her sake than rarely ever 
falls to the lot of a soldier. 

Among his surviving children are Forest Lake of 
Florida, Thos. D. Lake of Laurens, S. C, and Mrs. 
John P. Fielder of 
Moore, S. C. 

No man in South 
Carolina stood higher 
in the estimation of his 
fellow citizens than 
William J. Lake. He 
was an honest and up- 
right citizen, a consis- 
tent Christian and a 
member of the Metho- 
dist Church. He was 
well-read and well-in- 
formed on all matters 
pertaining to the pub- 
lic interest. "He was of gentle manners, kind and 
affable, and especially affectionate in his family. He 
died as he lived, true to his State, a noble Confederate to 
the last, and, above all, had his life embellished with 
the Christian virtues and graces." 

CAPTAIN JAMES FOWLER SLOAN 

was born in Laurens county, S. C, August, 1819, being 
at this writing (August, 1900) eighty-one years of age. 
His educational advantages were limited, but he was an 
apt student and by the time he had reached the age of 

38h sc 




Lieut. W. J. Lake. 



594 



History cf Spartanburg County. 



manhood he had acquired a good, practical education, 
and by dint of hard study mastered the theory of the 
system of surveying and learned the use of instruments 
from John Epton, Esq. Captain Sloan came to Spartan- 
burg county in 1843 ^^^ settled near Rich Hill, where 
he now resides. Some time after this he was elected 




Capt. J. F. Sloan. 

captain of a militia company which formed a part of the 
37th Regiment, S. C. M., in which capacity and that of 
adjutant of said regiment he served until the outbreak 
of the civil war between the States. 

Upon the approach of hostilities between the States 
he was elected second lieutenant of the Batesville Vol- 
unteers (Captain John J. Brown), which company vol- 
unteered as mimtte men., and upon receiving the news of 
the bombardment of Fort Sumter, entered the service 



History of Spartanburg County. 595 

upon a notice of two days. After six weeks' service on 
Sullivan's Island, S. C, the company disbanded and 
^went home. 

When, however, in 1861, the Confederate government 
had called for troops. Captain Sloan raised a company 
of 80 odd men, which eventually reached 115, and was 
elected its captain, which was known as Co. B, Hol- 
combe Legion.* 

In 1862 when the army was reorganized in Virginia 
this company revolunteered, reelecting Captain Sloan 
as its commander. For being the best drilled and dis- 
ciplined company in the Holcombe Legion, it received 
the first distribution of Enfield Rifles, which the sur- 
vivors carried to the end of the war. 

Captain Sloan, on account of ill health, and by the 
advice and certificate of his regimental surgeon, resigned 
and returned home. 

After his resignation Lieutenant Alfred B. Bryant 
became (January, 1863) captain of the company, who 
served until March 25th, 1865, when he was killed near 
pVrt Steadman, Va. He was succeeded on the same 
date by Lieutenant E. Henry Bates, who was promoted 
captain by General W. H. Wallace. 

As soon, however, as he had recovered, he reentered 
the service, and became adjutant of Major Joel Ballinger's 
Battalion of State (S. C.) Reserves, which formed a part 
of Blanchard's brigade, and which performed during 
the last days of the Confederacy distinguished and fa- 
tiofuin^ service, confronting: the armv of General Sher- 
man, marching four or five hundred miles, and being 
among the last to yield in that great struggle for South- 
ern liberty. In this famous march Captain Sloan per- 



*The Legion was named in honor of Mrs. Governor F. W. Pickens, 
whose maiden name was Lucy Holcombe. 



596 History of Spartanburg County. 

formed his part of it in a pair of wooden-bottomed 
shoes. 

Captain Sloan has always lived the life of a farmer. 
He has never aspired to politics or public life, except 
that he held for sixteen years or more the ofhce of a civil 
magistrate. He has always been an honest and upright 
citizen and a staunch Democrat. He is a consistent 
member of the Presbyterian Church, and is held in higli 
esteem by all whose pleasure it is to know him. 

CAPTAIN THOMAS BOOKER MARTIN 

was born near the town of Fair Forest, S. C. (which is 
near his present home), May 25th, 1833. His father was 
John P. Martin, who, with a twin brother Thomas, was 
brought from Virginia to Spartanburg district, S. C, by 
their grandmother High (wife of Wm. High, the ancestor 
of all the families of this name in Spartanburg county), 
their mother having died while they were infants. 

The mother of Captain T. B. Martin was a daughter 
of Edward Bomar, and being a woman of great piety 
made early religious impressions on the mind of her son. 

Thomas B. Martin was raised on his father's farm, 
and attended the schools of his neighborhood. As he 
grew up to manhood, he learned the cabinet trade under 
his father and George Brem ; he also learned house- 
painting, which he followed until some time after the 
civil war. He has always farmed and run public cotton- 
ginning and saw-milling. 

In October, 1854, he married Miss N. A. Finch, daugh- 
ter of John S. Finch. They have raised nine children, 
three boys and six girls. Soon after their marriage 
Captain Martin and his wife joined the Oak Grove (Bap- 
tist) church. All their children are members of the 
church of the same denomination. Captain IVIartin has 
been a deacon in his church for upwards of thirty years. 



History of Spartanburg County. 



597 



In 1861 Captain Martin volunteered in the service of 
his country, and was made orderly sergeant of Captain 
W. P. Bishop's company, which joined the Holcombe 
Legion under Colonel P. F. Stephens. This regiment 
remained about Adams Run, S. C, until August of the 
same year, when it was ordered to Virginia, and imme- 




Capx. Thus. B. Martin. 



diately entered into almost daily fighting until the 
second Manassas battle came off. Here the brother of 
Captain Martin, J. W. Martin, was mortally wounded 
and died in a few days afterwards. 

Captain Martin having been detained at Adams Run, 
S. C, on account of typhoid fever did not return to his 
command until its return from the Maryland campaign. 
After this the commissioned officers of his company re- 



598 History of Spartanburg County. 

signed, and a new election was ordered, which resulted 
in the election of Thomas B. Martain captain. 

In 1863 the Legion was ordered to the Western armyr 
then under the command of General Joseph E. Johnston. 
Meeting General Grant's army at Big Black River, Gen- 
eral Johnston's army fell back to Jackson, Miss., where 
it was besieged for seven days and nights under a con- 
tinual fire, suffering terribly from exposure, lack of 
rations and water. The army was safely conducted out 
in night time. The command returned to Georgia and 
remained there for a time and then was again ordered 
to Virginia, reaching Weldon, N. C, May 7th, 1864, 
from which place companies were sent out along the 
railroad leading to Petersburg to guard railroad bridges, 
a portion of companies I and K of the Holcombe Legion 
being sent to Stony Creek Station, Va., under the com- 
mand of Major Zeigler to guard the bridge there. They 
had not been there long before their force and number 
were betrayed, and they were surrounded and captured by 
a large force of Federals, Captain Martin being among 
the number captured. 

Captain Martin has published a graphic account of 
his life in a Northern prison (see Spartan files, March 
22d, 1893). After his capture at Stoney Creek Station 
he, with the other captured prisoners, was marched nearly 
all night to City Point on the James River. Here, after 
being guarded for a time by negro troops, the prisoners 
were packed in a steamboat and conveyed to Fortress 
Monroe, where they were landed and securely locked up 
for one night. From Fortress Monroe they were con- 
veyed to Point Lookout, where they were searched. Cap- 
tain Martin, being near the middle of the line, managed 
to conceal a gold watch and pistol by sitting flat on the 
ground and burying the same in a hole made therein 
until the searcher passed. The officers and privates 



History of Spartanburg County. 599 

were separated by a plaiik fence and were ordered not to 
communicate with each other. It was nevertheless done 
by writing on paper, tying to a rock, and at night when 
the back of the nearest guard was turned the written 
communication would be thrown over the fence. In 
this way the prisoners would get fresh news from home 
and the army by the arrival of new prisoners. After 
five or six weeks at Point Lookout Captain Martin and 
other officers were sent to Fort Delaware. He was again 
searched, but saved his gold watch by fastening the chain 
to his drawers' button. 

The latter part of July or early in August of the same 
year five hundred officers, including Captain Martin, 
were drawn and sent to Charleston, S. C They were 
packed almost to suffocation in an old sea-going vessel 
called the Crescent. The poor prisoners, suffering from 
seasickness and vomiting, could scarcely find room to 
stand or lie. The weather was very hot, and they could 
scarcely get any fresh air, as there was only one opening 
or hatchway to the lower deck. The supply of water 
gave out on the way, and afterwards evaporated sea- 
water was furnished sparingly. The prisoners were so 
eager for it that they would fill their canteens with it 
while it was yet hot, and those who had strings or could 
procure strips of cloth, would tie the same around the 
necks of their canteens and throw them out through 
pigeon-holes to float along the water and cool. As the 
men were famishing for water it was hardly ever allowed 
to get cooler than blood-heat. 

After days and nights, which seemed weeks to the 
prisoners, they were landed on Morris Island, S. C, and 
marched to a stockade fort between Batteries Gregg and 
Wagner. Here in small army tents they were fed on 
cooked rations. Their evening meal consisted of a 
scrap of bacon and a pint of mush made of spoiled 



6oo History of Spartanburg County. 

corn-meal, which was himpy, sour and wormy. One 
evening Captain Martin counted in the portion of mush 
set apart to him 365 worms, some of them being woolly, 
and fourteen bugs. He says that he could have counted 
more, but thought he could not afford to lose more of 
one meal, upon which, no doubt in his perishing condi- 
tion, his life depended. He ravenously devoured the 
balance. The supply of water was from holes made in 
the sand on the island, which was salty and unpalatable. 
After about six weeks' imprisonment in the stockade 
fort, in which some of the prisoners died, the remaining 
ones were conveyed to Fort Pulaski — an old, battered, 
deserted, leaky fort at the mouth of the Savannah River — 
there to winter, perish and freeze, as many did. The 
weather was cold, which increased their suffering. Col- 
onel Brown, in charge of the Federal garrison and guard 
at that place, informed the prisoners that he had orders 
not to give them a bite of meat for forty days, which 
order was nearly carried out. The citizens had aban- 
doned the island, and the cats which had been left by 
them would go about the fort at night in search of some- 
thing to eat. Occasionally one would venture in, and the 
door would be closed upon it immediately, and then 
a scramble for the cat would follow. Soon he would be 
captured and killed and dressed and in the pot or frying- 
pan to be devoured by the mess that caught him. The 
prisoners on another island reported that their only 
chance for meat was dogs, and they ate several of them. 
A small amount of fuel was allowed for cooking pur- 
poses only, and as they did but little of that they received 
but little warmth. Many of the prisoners were at all 
times prostrated with colds, pneumonia, and every dis- 
ease which exposure and confinement subjected them to. 
Captain Martin was prostrated for days and nights with 



History of Spartanburg County. 6oi 

pleurisy, resting on a bunk of plank made with only two 
blankets. 

After spending a part of the winter at this place he 
and the other prisoners were sent back to Fort Delaware. 
His health was so bad at that time that he does not re- 
member leaving, nor anything of the voyage. His 
most intimate friends failed to recognize him on his 
arrival at that prison. In course of time, however, he 
regained his health and strength, and, becoming more 
reconciled to his surroundings, went to work making 
jewelry, such as finger-rings, breast-pins, watch chains, 
charms, etc., from sticks of gutta-percha purchased from 
Yankee sutlers. He was kept in prison until July i6th, 
1865. After a circuitous journey of some weeks, via 
New York City, he landed safely home, in the embrace 
of loved ones who had mourned him as dead, six months 
having elapsed since he had last been heard from. 

HON. JOHN A. HENNEMAN 

was born in Kranach, Bavaria, Germany, on February 
3d, 1835. His father having died he turned his eyes to 
America as the country of his future habitation. He 
had a cousin, Balser Weber, residing in Center county. 
Pa., and the young lad first betook himself thither to 
his relative. This was in 1854, when he was only nine- 
teen years of age. Later he located in Norfolk, Va., in 
the late fifties, working at the jeweler's bench, his chosen 
occupation. Here he met, for the first time. Miss Louisa 
Rate, an estimable English lady, who was destined to 
become his future wife. Determining to start out in 
business for himself, he heard through a commercial 
traveler of a possible opening at Spartanburg, S. C, to 
which place he went in 1859. Being pleased with the 
town and what appeared to be its future outlook, he 
returned to Norfolk for his wife, to whom he was mar- 



6o2 



History of Spartanburg County. 



ried in the Granby Street Methodist church, in that city, 
September, i860, and henceforth, as residents of Spar- 
tanburg, their lives were identified with town, county 
and State. 

It was but a few months, however, after their marriage 
and location in Spartanburg when the civil war between 
the States broke out. Although not a naturalized citi- 
zen, Mr. Heuneman volunteered his services to the 
Confederate goverument at the beginning of active 

hostilities. He was elect- 
"' ' ed and commissioned as 

second lieutenant in Co. 
E , H o 1 c o m b e Legion 
(Colonel P. F. Stevens), 
commanded first by Cap- 
tain Wm. P. Roebuck, 
and later by Captain An- 
drew B. Woodruff. As an 
officer of this organiza- 
tion, he was always found 
in the thickest of the 
fights in which his regi- 
ment was engaged. At 
the second Manassas bat- 
tle his arm was shot to pieces, which necessitated his 
retirement for a time. He was sent to the hospital at 
the University of Virginia, Charlottesville — a circum- 
stance in which his son. Professor J. B. Henneman, 
became interested as a student there years later. 

Upon his partial recovery from his wound, his arm 
being yet too frail for infantry service, he resigned his 
commission as lieutenant in the Holcombe Legion and 
enlisted in the cavalry branch of the service, where he 
remained until the end of the war. In one of the cam- 
paigns on the coast of South Carolina he was a second 




Hon. John A. Henneman. 



History of Spartanburg County. 605 

time dangerously wounded. It is recorded of him that 
he was a gallant soldier, noted for his courage and ob- 
servance of army discipline. 

"After the hard years of fighting and hardship he was 
among the golden-hearted band of ragged men who, 
with a courage no less dauntless and a fortitude no less 
enduring than they evinced on the battle-field, returned 
to their impoverished and ruined homes manfully to 
take up the burdens of defeat and oppression and create 
a new South from the ashes of the old one. He entered 
the jewelry business, in which he was an expert, and 
by years of strict attention and honest toil, made his 
house one of the leading firms of the up-country. His 
efforts were not without their reward ; for he had won, 
in addition to his good name, an independent fortune, 
which made itself manifest in the unexampled prosper- 
ity of the city." 

Mr. Henneman was a man of unusual brain-power 
and strength of mind and will, and as such, made a 
strong impression on all those with whom he came in 
contact. 

In 1889 he was nominated by a number of his fellow 
citizens for mayor of Spartanburg city, and notwith- 
standing the fact that he made the race against one of 
the most popular men who ever held that office in that 
city, he was elected by a handsome majority. It was 
whilst attempting nobly to fulfill the duty enjoined upon 
him by the high office which he filled, that he met his 
untimely death. Walking the streets of his city his at- 
tention was called to a wife-beater — a negro brakeman. 
Commanding the peace and calling for a policeman, he 
was shot in the back and killed by the assassin, who was 
tried, convicted and suffered the penalty of death on the 
scaffold. 

At one time while he was mayor of Spartanburg, Mr. 
Henneman exposed himself to great personal danger 



6o4 History of Spartanburg County. 

in the conscientious discharo^e of his duty, which proved 
again his sterling qualities of bravery and regard for 
the law. An infuriated mob, stirred to frenzy by crimes 
of atrocity, dragged a loaded cannon into the street in 
front of the jail for the purpose, by open violence, of 
battering down and taking the life of a prisoner incar- 
cerated therein. By cool and fearless forethought Mayor 
Henneman walked into their midst, commanded the 
peace and mounting the cannon spiked it with a 20- 
penny nail, thus rendering it harmless. 

His election as mayor was the beginning of the mod- 
ern development of Spartanburg, giving the town an 
honest and progressive administration. Everywhere, 
during the same, was shown that equity, judgment and 
careful thought which portrayed unusual executive 
ability. In the midst of a bitter campaign he guaran- 
teed to a noted politician in South Carolina an orderly 
hearing in Spartanburg. 

In other walks of life Mr. Henneman won distinction. 
He was a member of the Masonic fraternity, and as 
such, was well known throughout the State. He was 
for a number of years the Worshipful Master of the 
Spartan Lodge, and was also a member of the Knights 
of Honor and other orders, in all of which he was highly 
esteemed. 

By his marriage with Miss Louisa Rate he had chil- 
dren as follows : Rutledge, who has been in the jewelry 
business in South Carolina, New York and Virginia ; 
John Bell, Professor of English Literature at the Uni- 
versity of Tennessee, Knoxville ; George, who volun- 
teered for the Cuban war and was captain of a company 
in the loth Volunteers; Martha, who is at present in 
New York City ; and Louise, wife of Dr. L. J. Blake. 



IIisroRv OF Spartanburg County. 



605 



HON. ARCH B. CALVERT, 

present mayor of Spartanburg, son of W. W. and 
Martha (Leonard) Calvert of Reidsville, S. C, was 
born May 31st, 1857. He attended the Male Academy 
at Reidville, and entered Wofford College October, 




Hon. Arch B. Calvert. 



1876, and graduated in June, 1880. He read law 
in the office of Evins & Bomar at Spartanburg, and was 
admitted to practice in 1881. 

From 1882 to '84 he served as^a trial justice in the 
city of Spartanburg. He was electected mayor in Oc- 
tober, 1893, and is now serving his fourth term. He 
has also served as United States Commissioner since 
1884. 

The present growth and prosperity of the city of 



'6o6 History of Spartanburg County. 

Spartanburg is largely due to the splendid business man- 
agement and executive ability of Mayor Calvert. He is 
the right man in the right place and takes a pride in 
every modern improvement looking to the future great- 
ness and importance of the city over which he has the 
honor to preside, and which is soon destined to be one 
of the chief inland cities of the southeast. 

Dr. J. T. Calvert (dentist), at Spartanburg, is the only 
brother of Mayor Calvert. He has two sisters, Mrs. 
O. P. Morgan, Spartanburg, and Mrs. Spencer, wife of 
A. M. Spencer, president of Clinton Presbyterian Col- 
lege. 

JOSEPH SIMPSON AMOS 

was born September 3d, 1849, ^^ Cherokee Creek, near 
Gaffney, S. C. His father, Charles Amos, born June i, 
1790, descended from Revolutionary ancestry, who emi- 
grated from Virginia to South Carolina and made settle- 
ment on Thickety Creek, Cherokee county, obtaining 
title to a large body of land. He served as a soldier of 
the war of 181 2. After this he did business for Michael 
Gaffney, at Gaffney 's old field (now Gaffney City), for 
several years, and built the first mercantile house in that 
place. After this he was employed as manager for the 
Cowpens Iron Furnace Company, which business he 
continued for twenty-five years. He was married twice. 
First to a daughter of Rev. Joshua Richards, a Revolu- 
tionary soldier. By this marriage he had five sons, viz. : 
Franklin, Ross, Benjamin F., Rufus and James, who 
were gallant soldiers in the Confederate army. Frank- 
lin, the eldest, was a soldier in the Mexican war and 
served as commissary agent for the Confederate army. 
Ross was killed at the battle of Seven Pines. Benjamin 
F., member of the 5th S. C. Regiment, died in the 
service. Rufus, of a Georgia regiment, promoted to 



History of Spartanburg County. 



607 



captain, was also killed at the battle of Seven Pines, 
and James, member of Captain Cleary's company, i3tli 
Regiment, S. C. V., was killed at mine explosion at 
Petersburg (1864). 

Charles Amos married a second time to Mary McEl- 
reath, whose ancestors were among the original settlers 
of Scotch-Irish on the Tygers. By this marriage two 
sons and several daughters were born. The sons re- 
ferred to are Charles 
]\I. and Joseph S. Amos. 
The former was a gal- 
lant soldier in the Con- 
federate army and was 
severely wounded. The 
latter, when only fifteen 
years of age, enlisted 
in Captain Cleary's 
company and was drill- 
ed for the army, but the 
war ended before he 

was called into active 

Joseph Simpson Amos. 
service. ■' 

The war thus ending 
adversely to the South, he, like thousands of others, 
found himself with nothing to depend upon but his 
honest industry and perseverance ; and his remarkable 
success as a business man should serve as an incentive 
and inspiration to the rising generations of our country, 
not only to imitate, but to emulate the pluck, energy, 
judgment and management which he has displayed as a 
successful business man. 

Mr. Amos at present resides in the city of Spartan- 
burg, and was for four years a member of the city coun- 
cil at a time when a new era dawned upon her business 
prosperity. As a member of the street committee he 




6o8 History of Spartanburg County. 

rendered valuable service in straightening the streets 
and in beautifying the city, which service he rendered 
without remuneration. As a progressive citizen of Spar- 
tanburg, he is fully alive to every interest that concerns 
her welfare. 

Mr. Amos is a member of the Baptist Church and a 
generous supporter to all of its objects. 

In 1876 he married Miss Mary Gramling, a congenial 
companion. They have eight children, viz.: Ella, 
Sallie, Fannie, Joseph, Grace, Charles, Frank and John 
Edwin. 



CHAPTER XXXVIII. 



REV. J. S. BURNETT 

Was born in Knox county, Tenn., in 1821, and died at 
Asheville, N. C., at the age of seventy-three years. He 
received a fair education, but did not enjoy in early life 
the advantages which wealth affords. His first work was 
on the farm, and his 
next service was a 
clerkship in a mer- 
cantile house ; but 
neither agriculture 
nor commerce were 
destined to elevate 
his life service, but a 
nobler and higher 
calling, that of the 
ministry, lay before 
him. He joined the 
Holstein Conference 
of the M. E. Church, 
South, and removed to Asheville, N. C, and was the 
first pastor to minister to the Methodist congregation at 
that place, and soon won the hearts of his little flock 
and the friendship and admiration of every one who 
knew him, of whatever denomination. 

He was married four times. First, to Miss Eliza 
Alexander, daughter of Colonel Mitchell Alexander, of 
Buncombe county, N, C. She died in i860. His sec- 
ond marriage was to Mrs. Woodfin, of Asheville, N. C. 
His third marriage was to Miss Tucker, of Statesville, 
N. C, and his fourth wife was Miss Susie Spain. 

(609) 

39 h s c 




Rev. J. S. Burnett. 



6io History of Spartanburg County. 

Soon after the close of the civil war between the 
States Mr. Burnett took up his residence at Spartan- 
burg, where he remained for several years, but subse- 
quently returned to Asheville, where he resided the re- 
mpinder of his life. 

Mr. Burnett was truly a good and self-made man, up- 
right and conscientious in the discharge of his duty in 
directing souls to Christ, and did a great and noble 
work in his vineyard. He possessed a heart overflow- 
ing wdth kindness and love for every man, and a nature 
that attracted to it and influenced for good every one 
with whom it came in contact. He occupied the best 
appointments in the conference, in Asheville for the 
most part, but for a while at Knoxville, Tenn. 

Mr. Burnett had six children by his first marriage, of 
whom two are now living : W. B. Burnett, a prominent 
lawyer of Athens, Ga. , and W. E. Burnett, of vSpartan- 
burg, S. C. 

WILBER E. BURNETT, 

whom we have already noticed as the son of Rev. J. S. 
Burnett, was born at Alexanders on the French Broad 
River, in 1854. He came to Spartanburg when quite a 
small boy, and graduated at Wofford College. Soon 
after this he entered the National Bank of Spartanburg 
as bookkeeper, and is now cashier of the same bank. 
He is also treasurer of the Fidelity Loan and Trust 
Company ; was originator of the Spartan Mills and was 
elected its first president, and also had the offer of the 
presidency of several other cotton mills. He is a direc- 
tor and one of the originators of Converse College and 
president of Wofford College Alumnse Association, and 
has been a generous contributor to Converse and Wof- 
ford Colles'es. 



History of Spartanburg County. 6ii 

Mr. Burnett is in every sense a progressive and up- 
right citizen, being fully alive to every business enter- 
prise looking to the upbuilding of his city and county ; 
and being yet )-oung and active, he is destined to per- 




\Viiji]:K !•;. BiRXKTT, 
Cashier National Bank, Spartanburg, S. C. 

form a still greater work than that which he has already 
accomplished. 

He married Miss Gertrude Du Pre, youngest daugh- 
ter of Dr. Warren Du Pre of Spartanburg. 

HON. STANYEARN?: WILSON, 

present representative in the National Congress from 
the 4th (S. C.) Congressional District, was born at York- 
ville, S. C, January loth, 1859. 



6l2 



History of Spartanburg County. 



His father was W. B. Wilson of York county, who 
was a lawyer of eminent ability, a graceful and eloquent 
speaker and stood at the head of the York bar. 

The maiden name of the mother of the subject of 
this sketch was Arrah Minerva Lowry of Yorkville. 
She was descended from the Lowry family of York 
county and the Miller families of Cleveland and Ruther- 
ford counties. North Carolina, of whom several were en- 
gaged in the battles 
of King's Mountain 
and in western North 
Carolina. One of 
them was Susan Twit- 
ty , the seventeen-year- 
old heroine mentioned 
in Draper's King's 
Mountain, in the fight 
at her stepfather's 
house (Colonel Gra- 
ham). 

The name of the 
grandfather of Stan- 
yearne Wilson was 
Wm. Stanyearne Wilson, whose mother's maiden name 
was Anna Eliza Blackburn, daughter of Professor 
George Blackburn of South Carolina College, who came 
from Ireland. He was one of the commissioners who 
established, in 1815, the boundary line between North 
and South